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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between March 16, 2005, 12:00 a.m., and April 1, 2005, 
11:59 p.m. are included in this, the April 15, 2005, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least May 16, 2005.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63-46a-5 
(1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through August 13, 2005, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-17a 
Pharmacy Practice Act Rules 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27786 

FILED:  03/31/2005, 14:08 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  During the 
2004 General Session of the Legislature, a new statute (Title 
58, Chapter 17b) governing the practice of pharmacy was 
enacted and the existing statute (Title 58, Chapter 17a) was 
repealed effective July 1, 2004 (S.B. 114 (2004)).  Since a 
new rule and subsequent change in proposed rule (CPR) 
filings have been proposed for Rule R156-17b (DAR No. 
27529) to clarify the provisions of the newly enacted statute, 
this rule is no longer necessary.  It should be noted that the 
first repeal filing (DAR No. 27528) affecting this rule lapsed on 
03/31/2005.  However, the Division is filing this second repeal 
filing as additional amendments affecting the proposed 
changes to Rule R156-17b are still in process and the Division 
could not make the first repeal rule filing effective on 
03/31/2005 because there would not be a new rule to take its 
place.  (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 114 is found at UT L 2004 Ch 280, 
and was effective 07/01/2004.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is being repealed 
in its entirety.  Most of the provisions being deleted in this rule 
can now be found in the new proposed rule and subsequent 
CPRs for Rule R156-17b (DAR File No. 27529).  (DAR NOTE: 
 The second CPR filing on Rule R156-17b is under DAR No. 
27529 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 58-17a-101 and 58-37-1, and Subsections 58-
1-106(1)(a) and 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Deletes the following:  The American 
Pharmaceutical Association Code of Ethics, October 1994; 
Food and Drug Administration Compliance Policy Guideline 
460.200, March 16, 1992; and the United States 
Pharmacopeia/National Formulary (USP/NF), 2003 edition, 
January 1, 2004, through Supplement 2, dated August 1, 2003 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division does not anticipate any 
costs or savings from this rule being repealed in its entirety.  
Any costs or savings associated with implementing the newly 
enacted Pharmacy Practice Act are identified in the new rule 
filing and subsequent CPRs for Rule R156-17b. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule being repealed does not 
apply to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The Division does not anticipate any costs 
or savings from this rule being repealed in its entirety.  Any 
costs or savings associated with implementing the newly 

enacted Pharmacy Practice Act are identified in the new rule 
filing and subsequent CPRs for Rule R156-17b. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The Division does 
not anticipate any costs or savings from this rule being 
repealed in its entirety.  Any costs or savings associated with 
implementing the newly enacted Pharmacy Practice Act are 
identified in the new rule filing and subsequent CPRs for Rule 
R156-17b. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing repeals the rule 
associated with Title 58, Chapter 17a, which has been 
repealed by passage of S.B. 114 in the 2004 Legislative 
Session.  There appears to be no fiscal impact to businesses 
as a result of this repeal.  The fiscal impact associated with 
the enactment of the new rule to administer the new 
Pharmacy Practice Act (Title 58, Chapter 17b) adopted by 
passage of S.B. 114 is addressed in a separate rule filing.  
Russell C. Skousen, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Diana Baker at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6179, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dbaker@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
[R156-17a.  Pharmacy Practice Act Rules. 
R156-17a-101.  Title. 
 These rules are known as the "Pharmacy Practice Act Rules". 
 
R156-17a-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 17a, as 
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 17a or these rules: 
 (1)  "Dispense", as defined in Subsection 58-17a-102(9), does 
not include transferring medications for a patient from a legally 
dispensed prescription for that particular patient into a daily or 
weekly drug container to facilitate the patient taking the correct 
medications. 
 (2) "NAPLEX" means North American Pharmacy Licensing 
Examination. 
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 (3)  "NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 
Pharmacy. 
 (4)  "Qualified continuing education" as used in these rules, 
means continuing education that meets the standards set forth in 
Section R156-17a-313. 
 (5)  "Unprofessional conduct", as defined in Title 58, Chapters 
1 and 17a, is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-
203(5), in Section R156-17a-502. 
 
R156-17a-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 These rules are adopted by the division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1) to enable the division to administer Title 58, 
Chapter 17a. 
 
R156-17a-104.  Organization - Relationship to Rules R156-1. 
 The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule R156-
1 is as described in Section R156-1-107. 
 
R156-17a-301.  Licensure - Pharmacist - Pharmacy Internship 
Standards. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-302(1)(d), the standards 
for the internship required for licensure as a pharmacist include the 
following: 
 (1)  The internship shall consist of at least 1500 hours obtained 
in Utah, in another state or territory of the United States, or in Utah 
and another state or territory of the United States. 
 (a)  Internship hours completed in Utah shall include at least 
360 hours but not more than 900 hours in a college coordinated 
practical experience program as an integral part of the curriculum 
which shall include a minimum of 120 hours in each of the 
following practices: 
 (i)  community pharmacy; 
 (ii)  hospital pharmacy; and 
 (iii)  another pharmacy setting. 
 (b)  Internship hours completed in another state or territory of 
the United States shall be accepted based on the approval of hours 
by the state pharmacy board of that jurisdiction. 
 (2)  Evidence of completed internship hours shall be 
documented to the division by the pharmacy intern at the time 
application is made for a Utah pharmacist license or at the 
completion of the Utah internship, if not seeking Utah licensure. 
 
R156-17a-302.  Licensure - Pharmacist - Examinations. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-302(1)(e), the 
examinations which must be successfully passed by applicants for 
licensure as a pharmacist are: 
 (1)  the NAPLEX with a passing score as established by the 
NABP; 
 (2)  the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination with a 
minimum passing score as established by the NABP. 
 
R156-17a-303.  Licensure - Pharmacist by Endorsement. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2) and 58-1-301(3), 
an applicant for licensure as a pharmacist by endorsement shall 
apply through the "Licensure Transfer Program" administered by 
NABP. 
 

R156-17a-304.  Licensure - Pharmacy Technician - Education 
Standards. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-302(4)(e), the 
standards for the program of education and training which is a 
requirement for licensure as a pharmacy technician shall include: 
 (a)  The program shall consist of at least 300 hours of combined 
didactic and clinical training to include at a minimum the following 
topics: 
 (i)  legal aspects of pharmacy practice such as laws and rules 
governing practice; 
 (ii)  hygiene and aseptic technique; 
 (iii)  terminology, abbreviations and symbols; 
 (iv)  pharmaceutical calculations; 
 (v)  identification of drugs by trade and generic names, and 
therapeutic classifications; 
 (vi)  filling of orders and prescriptions including packaging and 
labeling; 
 (vii)  ordering, restocking, and maintaining drug inventory; and 
 (viii)  computer applications in the pharmacy. 
 (b)  The program of education and training shall be outlined in 
a written plan and shall include a final examination covering at a 
minimum the topics listed in Subsection (1)(a) above. 
 (2)  The written outline of the training program including the 
examination shall be available to the division and board upon 
request. 
 
R156-17a-305.  Licensure - Pharmacy Technician - 
Examinations. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-302(4)(e)((ii)(B), 
the examinations which must be passed by all applicants applying 
for licensure as a pharmacy technician are: 
 (a)  the Utah Pharmacy Technician Law and Rule Examination 
with a passing score of at least 75; and 
 (b)  the National Pharmacy Technician Certification 
Examination with a passing score as established by the Pharmacy 
Technician Certification Board. 
 
R156-17a-306.  Licensure - Pharmacy Intern - Education. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-302(5)(a)(i), the 
approved program is one which is accredited by the American 
Council on Pharmaceutical Education. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-302(5)(b), the 
preliminary educational qualifications are as defined in Subsection 
58-17a-302(5)(b). 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-302(5)(b), a 
recognized college or school of pharmacy is one which has a 
pharmacy program accredited by the American Council on 
Pharmaceutical Education. 
 
R156-17a-307.  Licensure - Preceptor Approval. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-102(45), the 
requirements which must be met by a licensed pharmacist to be 
approved as a preceptor are: 
 (1)  hold a Utah pharmacist license that is active and in good 
standing; 
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 (2)  have been engaged in active practice as a licensed 
pharmacist for not less than two years immediately preceding the 
application for approval as a preceptor, except if employed as a 
professional experience program coordinator in a pharmacy program 
accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education; 
and 
 (3)  have not been under any sanction at any time which 
sanction is considered by the division or board to have been of such 
a nature that the best interests of the intern and the public would not 
be served by approving the licensee as a preceptor. 
 
R156-17a-308.  Licensure - Administrative Inspection. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2), 58-1-301(3), 58-
17a-303(4)(d) and Section 58-17a-103, an administrative inspection 
may be: 
 (1)  an onsite inspection; or 
 (2)  a self-report inspection completed by the pharmacist-in-
charge on an audit form supplied by the division. 
 
R156-17a-309.  Licensure - Meet with the Board. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2) and 58-1-301(3), 
an applicant for licensure under Title 58, Chapter 17a may be 
required to meet with the State Board of Pharmacy for the purpose 
of evaluating the applicant's qualifications for licensure. 
 
R156-17a-310.  Licensure - Out-of-state Mail Order Pharmacy. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2), 58-1-301(3), 58-
17a-303(2)(e) and 58-17a-303(4)(d), the application for licensure as 
an out-of-state mail order pharmacy shall supply sufficient 
information concerning the applicant's standing in its state of 
domicile to permit the division and the board to determine the 
applicant's qualification for licensure in Utah.  Such information 
shall include the following: 
 (1)  a certified letter from the licensing authority of the state in 
which the pharmacy is located attesting to the fact that the pharmacy 
is licensed in good standing and is in compliance with all laws and 
regulations of that state; 
 (2)  an affidavit affirming that the applicant will cooperate with 
all lawful requests and directions of the licensing authority of the 
state of domicile relating to the shipment, mailing or delivery of 
dispensed legend drugs into Utah; and 
 (3)  a copy of the most recent state inspection showing the 
status of compliance with laws and regulations for physical facility, 
records, and operations. 
 
R156-17a-311.  Licensure - Branch Pharmacy. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2), 58-1-301(3) and 
Section 58-17a-614, the qualifications for licensure as a branch 
pharmacy include the following: 
 (1)  The division in collaboration with the board shall designate 
the location of each branch pharmacy.  The following shall be 
considered in granting such designation: 
 (a)  the distance between or from nearby alternative pharmacies 
and all other factors affecting access of persons in the area to 
alternative pharmacy resources; 
 (b)  the availability at the location of qualified persons to staff 
the pharmacy consistent with Section R156-17a-609 of these rules; 
 (c)  the availability and willingness of a parent pharmacy and 
supervising pharmacist to assume responsibility for the branch 
pharmacy; 

 (d)  the availability of satisfactory physical facilities in which 
the branch pharmacy may operate; and 
 (e)  the totality of conditions and circumstances which surround 
the request for designation. 
 (2)  A branch pharmacy shall be licensed as a retail pharmacy 
branch of an existing retail, hospital, or institutional pharmacy 
licensed by the division. 
 (3)  The application for designation of a branch pharmacy shall 
be submitted by the licensed pharmacy seeking such designation.  In 
the event more than one licensed pharmacy makes application for 
designation of a branch pharmacy location at a previously 
undesignated location, the division in collaboration with the board, 
shall review all applications for designation of the branch pharmacy 
and, if the location is approved, shall approve for licensure the 
applicant determined best able to serve the public interest. 
 (4)  The application shall include the following: 
 (a)  complete identifying information concerning the applying 
parent pharmacy; 
 (b)  complete identifying information concerning the designated 
supervising pharmacist employed at the parent pharmacy; 
 (c)  address and description of the facility in which the branch 
pharmacy is to be located; 
 (d)  a specific formulary to be stocked indicating with respect to 
each prescription drug the name, the dosage strength and dosage 
units in which the drug will be prepackaged; 
 (e)  complete identifying information concerning each person 
located at the branch pharmacy who will dispense prescription drugs 
in accordance with the approved protocol; and 
 (f)  protocols under which the branch pharmacy will operate 
and its relationship with the parent pharmacy to include the 
following: 
 (i)  the conditions under which prescription drugs will be 
stored, used, and accounted for; 
 (ii)  the method by which the drugs will be transported from 
parent pharmacy to the branch pharmacy and accounted for by the 
branch pharmacy; 
 (iii)  a description of how records will be kept with respect to: 
 (A)  formulary; 
 (B)  changes in formulary; 
 (C)  record of drugs sent by the parent pharmacy; 
 (D)  record of drugs received by the branch pharmacy; 
 (E)  record of drugs dispensed; 
 (F)  periodic inventories; and 
 (G)  any other record contributing to an effective audit trail 
with respect to prescription drugs provided to the branch pharmacy. 
 
R156-17a-312.  Licensure - Pharmaceutical 
Wholesaler/Distributor and Pharmaceutical Manufacturer. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2), 58-1-301(3), and 
58-17a-303(2)(h) and (i), the requirements for licensure as a 
pharmaceutical wholesaler/distributor or pharmaceutical 
manufacturer are defined, clarified, or established as follows: 
 (1)  Each applicant for licensure as a pharmaceutical 
wholesaler/distributor or pharmaceutical manufacturer shall provide 
the following information: 
 (a)  the name, full business address and telephone number; 
 (b)  identification of all trade and business names used by the 
applicant; 
 (c)  addresses, telephone number and the names of contact 
persons at all locations in the state in which prescription drugs are 
located, stored, handled, distributed or manufactured; 
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 (d)  a full description of the ownership of the applicant 
including business type/form, names and identifying information 
concerning owners, partners, stockholders if not a publicly held 
company, names and identifying information concerning company 
officers, and directors and management; and 
 (e)  other information necessary to enable the division in 
collaboration with the board to evaluate the requirements in 
Subsection (2) below. 
 (2)  In considering whether to grant a license to an applicant as 
a pharmaceutical wholesaler/distributor or pharmaceutical 
manufacturer, the division shall consider the public interest by 
examining: 
 (a)  any convictions of the applicant under any federal, state or 
local laws relating to the distribution or manufacturing of 
prescription drugs, drug samples, controlled substances or controlled 
substance precursors; 
 (b)  any convictions of a criminal offense or a finding of 
unprofessional conduct which when considered with the activity of 
distributing or manufacturing prescription drugs indicates there is or 
may reasonably be a threat to the public health, safety or welfare if 
the applicant were to be granted a license; 
 (c)  the applicant's past experience in the distribution or 
manufacture of prescription drugs including controlled substances to 
determine whether the applicant might reasonably be expected to be 
able to engage in the competent and safe distribution and 
manufacture of prescription drugs; 
 (d)  whether the applicant has ever furnished any false or 
misleading information in connection with the application or the past 
activities of the applicant in connection with the distribution or 
manufacture of prescription drugs; 
 (e)  whether the applicant has been the subject of any action 
against any license to engage in distribution or manufacture of 
prescription drugs; 
 (f)  compliance with licensing requirements under any 
previously granted license to engage in distribution or manufacture 
of prescription drugs; 
 (g)  compliance with requirements under federal, state or local 
law to make available to any regulatory authority those records 
concerning distribution or manufacture of prescription drugs; and 
 (h)  any other factors upon which a reasonable and prudent 
person would rely to determine the suitability of the applicant to 
safely and competently engage in the practice of distributing or 
manufacturing prescription drugs. 
 (3)  The responsible officer or management employee who is 
responsible for the supervision of the applicant consistent with 
Section R156-17a-612 shall be identified on the application. 
 
R156-17a-313.  Continuing Education - Pharmacist. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(7) and 58-1-
308(3)(b), there is created a continuing education requirement as a 
condition for renewal or reinstatement of pharmacist licenses issued 
under Title 58, Chapter 17a. 
 (2)  Continuing education shall consist of 24 hours of qualified 
continuing professional education in each preceding renewal period. 
 (3)  The required number of hours of qualified continuing 
professional education for an individual who first becomes licensed 
during the two year period shall be decreased in a pro-rata amount 
equal to any part of that two year period preceding the date on which 
that individual first became licensed. 
 (4)  Qualified continuing professional education shall consist 
of: 

 (a)  institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, workshops, 
various forms of mediated instruction, and programmed learning 
courses presented by an institution, individual, organization, 
association, corporation, or agency that has been approved by the 
American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE); 
 (b)  programs accredited by other nationally recognized 
healthcare accrediting agencies; and 
 (c)  educational meetings sponsored by the Utah 
Pharmaceutical Association or Utah Society of Health-System 
Pharmacists. 
 (5)  Credit for qualified continuing professional education shall 
be recognized in accordance with the following: 
 (a)  a minimum of eight hours shall be obtained through 
attendance at lectures, seminars or workshops; and 
 (b)  a minimum of six hours shall be in drug therapy or patient 
management. 
 (6)  A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining competent 
records of completed qualified continuing professional education for 
a period of four years after close of the two year period to which the 
records pertain.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain 
such information with respect to qualified continuing professional 
education to demonstrate it meets the requirements under this 
section. 
 
R156-17a-314.  Continuing Education - Pharmacy Technician. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(7) and 58-1-
308(3)(b), there is created a continuing education requirement as a 
condition for renewal or reinstatement of pharmacy technician 
licenses issued under Title 58, Chapter 17a. 
 (2)  Continuing education shall consist of eight hours of 
qualified continuing professional education in each preceding 
renewal period. 
 (3)  The required number of hours of qualified continuing 
professional education for an individual who first becomes licensed 
during the two year period shall be decreased in a pro-rata amount 
equal to any part of that two year period preceding the date on which 
that individual first became licensed. 
 (4)  Qualified continuing professional education shall consist 
of: 
 (a)  institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, workshops, 
various forms of mediated instruction, and programmed learning 
courses sponsored or approved by an institution, individual, 
organization, association, corporation, or agency that has been 
approved by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education 
(ACPE); 
 (b)  programs accredited by other nationally recognized 
healthcare accrediting agencies; and 
 (c)  educational meetings sponsored by the Utah 
Pharmaceutical Association or the Utah Society of Health-System 
Pharmacists. 
 (5)  Documentation of current Pharmacy Technician 
Certification Board certification will count as meeting the 
requirement for continuing education. 
 (6)  Credit for qualified continuing professional education shall 
be recognized in accordance with the following: 
 (a)  a minimum of four hours shall be obtained through 
attendance at lectures, seminars or workshops. 
 (7)  A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining competent 
records of completed qualified continuing professional education for 
a period of four years after close of the two year period to which the 
records pertain.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain 
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such information with respect to qualified continuing professional 
education to demonstrate it meets the requirements under this 
section. 
 
R156-17a-315.  Renewal Cycle - Procedures. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal 
date for the two-year renewal cycle applicable to licensees under 
Title 58, Chapter 17a is established by rule in Section R156-1-308. 
 (2)  Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with Section 
R156-1-308. 
 
R156-17a-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  violating any provision of the American Pharmaceutical 
Association Code of Ethics, October 1994, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference; 
 (2)  failing to comply with the Food and Drug Administration 
Compliance Policy Guideline 460.200, March 16, 1992, which is 
hereby incorporated by reference; 
 (3)  failing to comply with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in these rules; 
 (4)  failing to provide the division with a current mailing 
address within a reasonable period of time following any change of 
address; 
 (5)  defaulting on a student loan; 
 (6)  failing to abide by all applicable federal and state law 
regarding the practice of pharmacy; and 
 (7)  failing to comply with administrative inspections. 
 
R156-17a-601.  Operating Standards - Pharmacy Technician - 
Scope of Practice. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-102(42), the scope of 
practice of a pharmacy technician is defined as follows: 
 (1)  The pharmacy technician may perform any task associated 
with the physical preparation and processing of prescription and 
medication orders including: 
 (a)  receiving written prescriptions; 
 (b)  taking refill orders; 
 (c)  entering and retrieving information into and from a 
database, or patient profile; 
 (d)  preparing labels; 
 (e)  retrieving medications from inventory; 
 (f)  counting and pouring into containers; 
 (g)  placing medications into patient storage containers; 
 (h)  affixing labels; 
 (i)  compounding; and 
 (j)  other non-judgmental tasks. 
 (2)  The pharmacy technician shall not receive new oral 
prescriptions or medication orders nor perform drug utilization 
reviews. 
 (3)  The licensed pharmacist on duty can at his discretion 
provide general supervision as defined in Subsection 58-17a-102(17) 
to no more than three pharmacy technicians, only one of which can 
be an unlicensed technician, who are actually on duty at any one 
time. 
 
R156-17a-602.  Operating Standards - Pharmacy Intern - Scope 
of Practice. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17a-102(41) and 58-17a-
102(41), the scope of practice of a pharmacy intern includes the 
following: 

 (1)  If a pharmacy intern ceases to meet all requirements for 
intern licensure, he shall surrender his pharmacy intern license to the 
division within 60 days unless an extension is requested and granted 
by the Division in collaboration with the Board. 
 (2)  A pharmacy intern may act as a pharmacy intern only 
under the supervision of an approved preceptor as set forth in 
Subsection 58-17a-102(45) and Section R156-17a-603. 
 
R156-17a-603.  Operating Standards - Approved Preceptor. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), the following 
shall apply to an approved preceptor: 
 (1)  He may supervise more than one intern, however, a 
preceptor may supervise only one intern actually on duty in the 
practice of pharmacy at any one time. 
 (2)  He shall maintain adequate records to demonstrate the 
number of internship hours completed by the intern and an 
evaluation of the quality of the intern's performance during the 
internship. 
 (3)  The preceptor shall complete the preceptor section of a 
"Utah Pharmacy Intern Experience Affidavit:"at the conclusion of 
the preceptor/intern relationship regardless of the time or 
circumstances under which that relationship is concluded and 
provide that affidavit to the division. 
 (4)  The preceptor shall be responsible for the intern's acts 
related to the practice of pharmacy while practicing as a pharmacy 
intern under his or her supervision. 
 (5) The preceptor shall use "The Internship Experience, A 
Manual for Pharmacy Preceptors and Interns", August 1980, 
published by the NABP or an equivalent manual while providing the 
intern experience for the intern. 
 
R156-17a-604.  Operating Standards - Supportive Personnel. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-102(50)(a), the 
duties of supportive personnel are further defined as follows: 
 (a)  Supportive personnel may assist in any tasks not related to 
drug preparation or processing including: 
 (i)  stock ordering and restocking; 
 (ii)  cashiering; 
 (iii)  billing; 
 (iv)  filing; 
 (v)  housekeeping; and 
 (vi)  delivery. 
 (b)  Supportive personnel shall not enter information into a 
patient profile nor accept refill information. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-102(50)(b), the 
supervision of supportive personnel is defined as follows: 
 (a)  All supportive personnel shall be under the supervision of a 
licensed pharmacist. 
 (b)  The licensed pharmacist shall be present in the area where 
the person being supervised is performing services and shall be 
immediately available to assist the person being supervised in the 
services being performed. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), a 
pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician whose license 
has been revoked or is suspended shall not be allowed to provide 
any support services in a pharmacy. 
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R156-17a-605.  Operating Standards - Medication Profile 
System. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17a-601(1) and 58-17a-
604(1), the following operating standards shall apply with respect to 
medication profile systems: 
 (1)  Patient profiles, once established, shall be maintained by a 
pharmacist in a pharmacy dispensing to patients on a recurring basis 
for a minimum of one year from the date of the most recent 
prescription filled or refilled; except that a hospital pharmacy may 
delete the patient profile for an inpatient upon discharge if a record 
of prescriptions is maintained as a part of the hospital record. 
 (2)  Information to be included in the profile shall be 
determined by a responsible pharmacist at the drug outlet but shall 
include as a minimum: 
 (a)  full name of patient, address, telephone number, date of 
birth or age and gender; 
 (b)  patient history where significant, including known allergies 
and drug reactions, and a comprehensive list of medications and 
relevant devices; 
 (c)  a list of all prescription drugs obtained by the patient at the 
pharmacy including; 
 (i)  name of prescription drug; 
 (ii)  strength of prescription drug; 
 (iii)  quantity dispensed; 
 (iv)  date of filling or refilling; 
 (v)  charge for the prescription drug as dispensed to the patient; 
and 
 (d)  any additional comments relevant to the patient's drug use. 
 (3)  Patient medication profile information shall be recorded by 
a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician. 
 
R156-17a-606.  Operating Standards - Patient Counseling. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), standards for 
patient counseling established in Section 58-17a-612 include the 
following: 
 (1)  Patient counseling shall include when appropriate the 
following elements: 
 (a)  the name and description of the prescription drug; 
 (b)  the dosage form, dose, route of administration, and duration 
of drug therapy; 
 (c)  intended use of the drug and expected action; 
 (d)  special directions and precautions for preparation, 
administration, and use by the patient; 
 (e)  common severe side or adverse effects or interactions and 
therapeutic contraindications that may be encountered, including 
their avoidance, and the action required if they occur; 
 (f)  techniques for self-monitoring drug therapy; 
 (g)  proper storage; 
 (h)  prescription refill information; 
 (i)  action to be taken in the event of a missed dose; 
 (j)  pharmacist comments relevant to the individual's drug 
therapy, including any other information peculiar to the specific 
patient or drug; and 
 (k)  the date after which the prescription should not be taken or 
used. 
 (2)  Patient counseling shall not be required for inpatients of a 
hospital or institution where other licensed health care professionals 
are authorized to administer the drugs. 
 (3)  A pharmacist shall not be required to counsel a patient or 
patient's agent when the patient or patient's agent refuses such 
consultation. 

 (4)  The offer to counsel shall be documented and said 
documentation shall be available to the division and the board. 
 
R156-17a-607.  Operating Standards - Prescriptions. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), the following 
shall apply to prescriptions: 
 (1)  A prescription issued by an authorized licensed 
practitioner, if communicated by an agent or employee of that 
practitioner upon that practitioner's specific instruction and 
authorization, may be accepted by a pharmacist or pharmacy intern. 
 (2)  Prescription files, including refill information, shall be 
maintained for a minimum of five years by either a manual filing of 
written prescriptions or by permanent electronic record. 
 (3)  Prescriptions having a remaining authorization for refill 
may be transferred by the pharmacist at the outlet holding the 
prescription to a pharmacist at another outlet upon the authorization 
of the patient to whom the prescription was issued.  The transferring 
pharmacist and receiving pharmacist shall act diligently to ensure 
that the total number of authorized refills is not exceeded. 
 (4)  Prescriptions for terminal patients in licensed hospices, 
home health agencies, or nursing homes may be partially filled if the 
patient has a medical diagnosis documenting a terminal illness. 
 
R156-17a-608.  Operating Standards - Pharmacist-in-charge. 
 All drug outlets, except pharmaceutical manufacturers and 
pharmaceutical wholesaler/distributors, and all pharmaceutical 
administration facilities shall have a pharmacist-in-charge. 
 
R156-17a-609.  Operating Standards - Branch Pharmacy. 
 In accordance with Section 58-17a-614, the operating standards 
for branch pharmacies include the following: 
 (1)  Branch pharmacies may be staffed only by the following 
persons holding current licenses to practice: 
 (a)  physicians and surgeons; 
 (b)  osteopathic physicians and surgeons; 
 (c)  advanced practice registered nurses; and 
 (d)  physician assistants. 
 (2)  Prescription drugs supplied to the branch pharmacy by the 
parent pharmacy shall be prepackaged having a label affixed to the 
container by a licensed pharmacist at the parent pharmacy.  The label 
shall contain all information required by law on a prescription label 
except the date dispensed, identifying information concerning the 
patient, specific dosage instructions and identification of the dispensing 
person.  Excepted information shall be added to the label by a branch 
pharmacy person in one of the licensure classifications listed above at 
the time the prescription drug is dispensed. 
 (3)  The branch pharmacy shall be personally visited by the 
supervising pharmacist or his designee who is also a licensed Utah 
pharmacist not less than once in each month for the purpose of auditing 
the prescription drug inventory and branch pharmacy procedures 
against the approved protocol.  A record of each visit and the findings 
shall be maintained at the branch pharmacy and at the parent pharmacy. 
 (4)  The parent pharmacy shall notify the division in writing and 
receive approval for any change in branch pharmacy licensure 
qualifications or operating standards. 
 
R156-17a-610.  Operating Standards - Drug Outlets. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), standards for the 
operations of drug outlets include the following: 
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 (1)  Any drug outlet licensed under the Pharmacy Practice Act, 
Title 58, Chapter 17a, shall be well lighted, well ventilated, clean 
and sanitary. 
 (2)  The dispensing area, if any, shall have a sink with hot and 
cold culinary water separate and apart from any rest room facilities. 
 (3)  The drug outlet shall be equipped to permit the orderly 
storage of prescription drugs and devices in a manner to permit clear 
identification, separation, and easy retrieval of products, and an 
environment necessary to maintain the integrity of the product 
inventory. 
 (4)  The drug outlet shall be equipped to permit practice within 
the standards and ethics of the profession as dictated by the usual 
and ordinary scope of practice to be conducted within that facility. 
 (5)  The drug outlet shall be stocked with the quality and 
quantity of product necessary for the facility to meet it's scope of 
practice in a manner consistent with the public health, safety and 
welfare. 
 (6)  The drug outlet shall be equipped with a security system to 
permit detection of entry at all times when the facility is closed. 
 (7)  Drug outlets engaged in extensive compounding activities 
shall be required to maintain proper records and procedure manuals 
and establish quality control measures to ensure stability, 
equivalency where applicable and sterility. 
 (8)  The drug outlet shall have recent editions of the following 
reference publications in such quantity and in such places as to make 
them readily available to facility personnel: 
 (a)  the Utah Pharmacy Practice Act; 
 (b)  the Utah Pharmacy Practice Act Rules; 
 (c)  the Utah Controlled Substance Act; 
 (d)  the Utah Controlled Substance Act Rules; 
 (e)  Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 21, Food and Drugs, 
Part 1300 to end or equivalent such as the USPDI; 
 (f)  current FDA Approved Drug Products (orange book); 
 (g)  any other general drug references necessary to permit 
practice dictated by the usual and ordinary scope of practice to be 
conducted within that facility; and 
 (h)  "The Intern Experience, A Manual for Pharmacy 
Preceptors and Interns", August 1980, published by the National 
Association of Boards of Pharmacy, if pharmacy interns are present. 
 (9)  The drug outlet shall post in view of the public the license 
of the facility and the license or a copy of the license of each 
pharmacist, pharmacy intern, and pharmacy technician who is 
employed in the facility, but may not post the license of any 
pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician not actually 
employed in the facility. 
 (10)  Drug outlets initially licensed or substantially remodeled 
on or after September 1, 1992, shall have a counseling area to allow 
for confidential patient counseling, when appropriate. 
 (11)  If the pharmacy is located within a larger facility such as a 
grocery or department store, and a licensed Utah pharmacist is not 
immediately available in the facility, the pharmacy shall not remain 
open to pharmacy patients and shall be locked in such a way as to 
bar entry to the public or any non-pharmacy personnel. 
 (12)  All pharmacies located within a larger facility shall be 
locked and enclosed in such a way as to bar entry to the public or 
any non-pharmacy personnel when the pharmacy is closed. 
 (13)  Only a licensed Utah pharmacist or his designee shall 
have access to the pharmacy when the pharmacy is closed. 
 

R156-17a-611.  Operating Standards - Nuclear Pharmacy. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17a-303(4)(d) and 58-17a-
601(1), the operating standards for nuclear pharmacies include the 
following: 
 (1)  A nuclear pharmacy shall have the following: 
 (a)  a current Utah Radioactive Materials License; and 
 (b)  adequate space and equipment commensurate with the 
scope of services required and provided. 
 (2)  Nuclear pharmacies shall only dispense 
radiopharmaceuticals which comply with acceptable standards of 
quality assurance. 
 (3)  Nuclear pharmacies shall maintain a library commensurate 
with the level of radiopharmaceutical service to be provided. 
 (4)  A licensed Utah pharmacist shall be immediately available 
on the premises at all times when the facility is open or available to 
engage in the practice of pharmacy. 
 (5)  In addition to Utah licensure, the pharmacist shall be 
currently certified by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties in 
Nuclear Pharmacy or have equivalent classroom and laboratory 
training and experience as required by the Utah Radiation Control 
Rules. 
 (6)  This rule does not prohibit: 
 (a)  a licensed pharmacy intern or technician form acting under 
the direct supervision of an approved preceptor who meets the 
requirements to supervise a nuclear pharmacy; or 
 (b)  a Utah Radioactive Materials licensee from possessing and 
using radiopharmaceuticals for medical use. 
 (7)  A hospital nuclear medicine department or an office of a 
physician/surgeon, osteopathic physician/surgeon, veterinarian, 
podiatric physician, or dentist that has a current Utah Radioactive 
Materials License does not require licensure as a nuclear pharmacy. 
 
R156-17a-612.  Operating Standards - Pharmaceutical 
Wholesaler/Distributor and Pharmaceutical Manufacturer 
located in Utah. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), the operating 
standards for pharmaceutical wholesaler/distributor and 
pharmaceutical manufacturer licensee includes the following: 
 (1)  A separate license shall be obtained for each separate 
location engaged in the distribution or manufacturing of prescription 
drugs. 
 (2)  A separate license shall be obtained for wholesale 
distribution activity and manufacturing activity. 
 (3)  The licensee need not be under the supervision of a 
licensed pharmacist, but shall be under the supervision of a 
responsible officer or management employee. 
 (4)  There has not been established minimum requirements for 
persons employed by persons engaged in the distribution or 
manufacture of prescription drugs; however, this does not relieve the 
person who engages in the distribution of prescription drugs within 
the state or in interstate commerce into or from the state, or those 
engaged in the manufacture of prescription drugs in the state or in 
interstate commerce into or from the state from ensuring that 
persons employed by them have appropriate education, experience, 
or both to engage in the duties to which they are assigned and do so 
in a manner which does not jeopardize the public health, safety or 
welfare. 
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 (5)  All facilities associated with the distribution or 
manufacture of prescription drugs shall: 
 (a)  be of suitable size and construction to facilitate cleaning, 
maintenance and proper operations; 
 (b)  have storage areas designed to provide adequate lighting, 
ventilation, sanitation, space, equipment and security conditions; 
 (c)  have the ability to control temperature and humidity within 
tolerances required by all prescription drugs and prescription drug 
precursors handled or used in the distribution or manufacturing 
activities of the applicant or licensee; 
 (d)  provide for a quarantine area for storage of prescription 
drugs and prescription drug precursors that are outdated, damaged, 
deteriorated, misbranded, adulterated, opened or unsealed containers 
that have once been appropriately sealed or closed, or in any other 
way unsuitable for use or entry into distribution or manufacture; 
 (e)  be maintained in a clean and orderly condition, and 
 (f)  be free from infestation by insects, rodents, birds, or vermin 
of any kind. 
 (6)  In regard to security, all facilities used for wholesale drug 
distribution or manufacturing of prescription drugs shall: 
 (a)  be secure from unauthorized entry; 
 (b)  limit access from the outside to a minimum in conformance 
with local building and life/safety codes, and control access of 
persons to ensure unauthorized entry is not made; 
 (c)  limit entry into areas where prescription drugs or 
prescription drug precursors are held to authorized persons who have 
a need to be in those areas; 
 (d)  be well lighted on the outside perimeter; 
 (e)  be equipped with an alarm system to permit detection of 
entry and notification to appropriate authorities at all times when the 
facility is not occupied for the purpose of engaging in distribution or 
manufacture of prescription drugs; and 
 (f)  be equipped with security measures, systems and 
procedures necessary to provide reasonable security against theft 
and diversion of prescription drugs or alteration or tampering with 
computers and records pertaining to prescription drugs or 
prescription drug precursors. 
 (7)  In regard to storage, all facilities shall provide for storage 
of prescription drugs and prescription drug precursors in accordance 
with the following: 
 (a)  all prescription drugs and prescription drug precursors shall 
be stored at appropriate temperature, humidity and other conditions 
in accordance with labeling of such prescription drugs or 
prescription drug precursors or with requirements in the United 
States Pharmacopeia/National Formulary (USP/NF), 2003 edition, 
which is official from January 1, 2004 through Supplement 2, dated 
August 1, 2003, which is hereby incorporated by reference; 
 (b)  if no storage requirements are established for a specific 
prescription drug or prescription drug precursor, the products shall 
be held in a condition of controlled temperature and humidity as 
defined in the USP/NF to ensure that its identity, strength, quality, 
and purity are not adversely affected; and 
 (c)  there shall be established a system of manual, 
electromechanical or electronic recording of temperature and 
humidity in the areas in which prescription drugs or prescription 
drug precursors are held to permit review of the record and ensure 
that the products have not been subjected to conditions which are 
outside of established limits. 
 (8)  In regard to examination of materials, each facility shall 
provide that: 

 (a)  upon receipt, each outside shipping container containing 
prescription drugs or prescription drug precursors shall be visually 
examined for identity and to prevent the acceptance of prescription 
drugs or prescription drug precursors that are contaminated, reveal 
damage to the containers or are otherwise unfit for distribution; and 
 (b)  each outgoing shipment shall be carefully inspected for 
identity of the prescription drug products and to ensure that there is 
no delivery of prescription drugs that have been damaged in storage 
or held under improper conditions. 
 (9)  In regard to returned, damaged, and outdated prescription 
drugs, each facility shall provide that: 
 (a)  prescription drugs or prescription drug precursors that are 
outdated, damaged, deteriorated, misbranded, adulterated, or in any 
other way unfit for distribution or use in manufacturing shall be 
quarantined and physically separated from other prescription drugs 
or prescription drug precursors until they are appropriately destroyed 
or returned to their supplier; 
 (b)  any prescription drug or prescription drug precursor whose 
immediate sealed or outer secondary sealed container has been 
opened or in any other way breached shall be identified as such and 
shall be quarantined and physically separated from other 
prescription drugs and prescription drug precursors until they are 
appropriately destroyed or returned to their supplier; and 
 (c)  if the condition or circumstances surrounding the return of 
any prescription drug or prescription drug precursor cast any doubt 
on the product's safety, identity, strength, quality, or purity, then the 
drug shall be appropriately destroyed or returned to the supplier, 
unless examination, testing, or other investigation proves that the 
product meets appropriate and applicable standards related to the 
product's safety, identity, strength, quality, and purity. 
 (10)  In regard to record keeping, pharmaceutical 
wholesaler/distributors and pharmaceutical manufacturers shall 
establish and maintain records of all transactions regarding the 
receipt and distribution or other disposition of prescription drugs and 
prescription drug precursors and shall make inventories of 
prescription drugs and prescription drug precursors and required 
records available for inspection by authorized representatives of the 
federal, state and local law enforcement agencies in accordance with 
the following: 
 (a)  there shall be a record of the source of the prescription 
drugs or prescription drug precursors to include the name and 
principal address of the seller or transferor, and the address of the 
location from which the drugs were shipped; 
 (b)  there shall be a record of the identity and quantity of the 
prescription drug or prescription drug precursor received, 
manufactured, distributed or shipped, or otherwise disposed of by 
specific product and strength; 
 (c)  there shall be a record of the dates of receipt and 
distribution or other disposal of any product; 
 (d)  there shall be a record of the identity of persons to whom 
distribution is made to include name and principal address of the 
receiver, and the address of the location to which the products were 
shipped; 
 (e)  inventories of prescription drugs and prescription drug 
precursors shall be made available during regular business hours to 
authorized representatives of federal, state and local law 
enforcement authorities; 
 (f)  required records shall be made available for inspection 
during regular business hours to authorized representatives of 
federal, state and local law enforcement authorities, and such records 
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shall be maintained for a period of two years following disposition 
of the products; and 
 (g)  records that are maintained on site or immediately 
retrievable from computer or other electronic means shall be made 
readily available for authorized inspection during the retention 
period; or if records are stored at another location, they shall be 
made available within two working days after request by an 
authorized law enforcement authority during the two year period of 
retention. 
 (11)  In regard to written policies and procedures, 
pharmaceutical wholesaler/distributors and pharmaceutical 
manufacturers shall establish, maintain, and adhere to written 
policies and procedures which shall be followed for the receipt, 
security, storage, inventory, manufacture, distribution or other 
disposal of prescription drugs or prescription drug precursors, 
including policies and procedures for identifying, recording, and 
reporting losses or thefts, and for correcting all errors and 
inaccuracies in inventories.  In addition, the policies shall include 
the following: 
 (a)  a procedure whereby the oldest approved stock of a 
prescription drug or precursor product is distributed or used first, 
with a provision for deviation from the requirement if such deviation 
is temporary and appropriate; 
 (b)  a procedure to be followed for handling recalls and 
withdrawals of prescription drugs adequate to deal with recalls and 
withdrawals due to: 
 (i)  any action initiated at the request of the Food and Drug 
Administration of other federal, state or local law enforcement or 
other authorized administrative or regulatory agency; 
 (ii)  any voluntary action by the pharmaceutical 
wholesaler/distributor or pharmaceutical manufacturer to remove 
defective or potentially defective drugs from the market; or 
 (iii)  any action undertaken to promote public health, safety or 
welfare by replacing of existing product with an improved product 
or new package design; 
 (c)  a procedure to ensure that a pharmaceutical 
wholesaler/distributor or pharmaceutical manufacturer prepare for, 
protect against, and handle any crisis that affects security or 
operation of any facility in the event of strike, fire, flood, or other 
natural disaster, or other situations of local, state or national 
emergency; 
 (d)  a procedure to ensure that any outdated prescription drugs 
or prescription drug precursors shall be segregated from other drugs 
or precursors and either returned to the manufacturer, other 
appropriate party or appropriately destroyed; 
 (e)  a procedure providing for documentation of the disposition 
of outdated, adulterated or otherwise unsafe prescription drugs or 
prescription drug precursors and the maintenance of that 
documentation available for inspection by authorized federal, state, 
or local authorities for a period of two years after disposition of the 
product. 
 (12)  In regard to responsible persons, pharmaceutical 
wholesaler/distributors and pharmaceutical manufacturers shall 
establish, maintain and make available for inspection by authorized 
federal, state and local law enforcement authorities, lists of all 
officers, directors, managers, and other persons in charge of 
wholesale drug distribution, manufacture, storage, and handling, 
which lists shall include a description of their duties and a summary 
of their background and qualifications. 
 (13)  In regard to compliance with law, pharmaceutical 
wholesalers/distributors and pharmaceutical manufacturers shall: 

 (a)  operate in compliance with applicable federal, state and 
local laws and regulations; 
 (b)  permit the state licensing authority and authorized federal, 
state, and local law enforcement officials, upon presentation of 
proper credentials, to enter and inspect their premises and delivery 
vehicles, and to audit their records and written operating policies and 
procedures, at reasonable times and in a reasonable manner, to the 
extent authorized by law; and 
 (c)  obtain a controlled substance license from the division and 
register with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) if they 
engage in distribution or manufacture of controlled substances, and 
shall comply with all federal, state and local regulations applicable 
to the distribution or manufacture of controlled substances. 
 (14)  In regard to salvaging and processing, pharmaceutical 
wholesalers/distributors and pharmaceutical manufacturers shall be 
subject to and shall abide by applicable federal, state and local laws 
that relate to the salvaging or reprocessing of prescription drug 
products. 
 (15)  A person who is engaged in the wholesale distribution or 
manufacturing of prescription drugs but does not have a facility 
located within Utah in which prescription drugs are located, stored, 
distributed or manufactured is exempt from Utah licensure as a 
pharmaceutical wholesaler/distributor or a pharmaceutical 
manufacturer, if said person is currently licensed and in good 
standing in each state of the United States in which that person has a 
facility engaged in distribution or manufacturing of prescription 
drugs entered into interstate commerce. 
 
R156-17a-613.  Operating Standards - Animal Euthanasia 
Agency. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), operating 
standards for an animal euthanasia agency concerning the use of 
prescription drugs shall include: 
 (1)  A veterinarian licensed in Utah shall supervise the use of 
prescription drugs used for animal euthanasia. 
 (2)  The veterinarian shall be responsible for: 
 (a)  identifying each euthanasia drug for which authorization is 
requested; 
 (b)  identifying the location where euthanasia drugs and records 
will be maintained; 
 (c)  identifying each person to be authorized to purchase, 
possess, or administer euthanasia drugs; 
 (d)  describing the training program for each person authorized 
to purchase, possess, or administer euthanasia drugs as well as 
attesting to be responsible for that training; and 
 (e)  maintaining euthanasia drug records. 
 
R156-17a-614.  Operating Standards - Analytical Laboratory. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), operating 
standards for an analytical laboratory concerning the use of 
prescription drugs shall include: 
 (1)  the supervising laboratory director is identified; and 
 (2)  the protocols describing how authorized prescription drugs 
will be purchased, stored, used, and accounted for are available for 
division inspection. 
 
R156-17a-615.  Operating Standards - Pharmaceutical 
Researcher. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), operating 
standards for a pharmaceutical researcher concerning the use of 
prescription drugs shall include: 
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 (1)  requesting and receiving authorization for each drug to be 
bought or used; and 
 (2)  the protocols describing how authorized prescription drugs 
will be purchased, stored, used, and accounted for are available for 
division inspection. 
 
R156-17a-616.  Operating Standards - Pharmaceutical Dog 
Trainer. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), operating 
standards for a pharmaceutical dog trainer concerning the use of 
prescription drugs shall include: 
 (1)  affiliation with a law enforcement official from a Utah law 
enforcement agency who is responsible for the purchase, storage, 
and use of the authorized prescription drugs; 
 (2)  requesting and receiving authorization for each drug to be 
bought or used; and 
 (3)  the protocols describing how authorized prescription drugs 
will be purchased, stored, used, and accounted for are available for 
division inspection. 
 
R156-17a-617.  Operating Standards - Issuing Prescription 
Orders by Electronic Means. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-102(46), prescription 
orders may be issued by electronic means of communication 
according to the following: 
 (1)  Prescription orders for Schedule II - V controlled 
substances received by electronic means of communication shall be 
handled according to the rules of the federal Drug Enforcement 
Administration. 
 (2)  Prescription orders for noncontrolled substances received 
by electronic means of communication may be dispensed by a 
pharmacist or pharmacy intern only if all of the following conditions 
are satisfied: 
 (a)  All electronically transmitted prescription orders shall 
include the following: 
 (i)  all information that is required to be contained in a 
prescription order pursuant to Section 58-17a-602; 
 (ii)  the time and date of the transmission, and if a facsimile 
transmission, the electronically encoded date, time, and fax number 
of the sender; and 
 (iii)  the name of the pharmacy intended to receive the 
transmission. 
 (b)  The prescription order shall be transmitted by an authorized 
prescriber or his designated agent. 
 (c)  The pharmacist shall exercise professional judgment 
regarding the accuracy and authenticity of the transmitted 
prescription.  The pharmacist is responsible for assuring that each 
electronically transferred prescription order is valid and shall 
authenticate a prescription order issued by a licensed prescriber 
which has been transmitted to the dispensing pharmacy before filling 
it, whenever there is a question. 
 (d)  An electronically transmitted prescription order that meets 
the requirements above shall be deemed to be the original 
prescription. 
 (3)  This section does not apply to the use of electronic 
equipment to transmit prescription orders within inpatient medical 
facilities. 
 (4)  No agreement between a prescriber and a pharmacy shall 
require that prescription orders be transmitted by electronic means 
from the prescriber to only that pharmacy. 

 (5)  Wholesalers, distributors, manufacturers, pharmacists and 
pharmacies shall not supply electronic equipment to any prescriber 
for transmitting prescription orders. 
 (6)  An electronically transmitted prescription order shall be 
transmitted to the pharmacy of the patient's choice and shall be 
directed at the option of the patient. 
 (7)  Prescription orders electronically transmitted to the 
pharmacy by the patient shall not be filled or dispensed. 
 (8)  A prescription order may be transferred between 
pharmacies by computer but not by facsimile transmission.  A 
prescription must be transmitted by facsimile from the site of 
origination to the dispensing pharmacy.  Transmission by facsimile 
between pharmacies is not allowed except that a branch pharmacy 
may fax to its parent pharmacy. 
 
R156-17a-618.  Operating Standards - Sterile Pharmaceuticals. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), the following 
applies with respect to sterile pharmaceuticals: 
 (1)  Pharmacies in general acute hospitals as defined in Title 26 
that prepare sterile pharmaceuticals shall conform to the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organization standards, 
the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists guidelines, or 
other standards approved by the board and division. 
 (2)  The following standards shall apply to all other pharmacies 
preparing sterile pharmaceuticals: 
 (a)  Pharmacies are responsible for correct preparation of sterile 
products, notwithstanding the location of the patient.  All sterile 
products must be prepared according to the current standards and 
ethics of the profession. 
 (b)  As a minimum each pharmacy preparing parenteral 
products shall: 
 (i)  prepare and maintain a policy and procedure manual for the 
compounding, dispensing and delivery of sterile pharmaceutical 
prescription drug orders including lot numbers of the components 
used in compounding sterile prescriptions except for large volume 
parenterals; 
 (ii)  have a laminar flow hood certified at least annually by an 
independent contractor; 
 (iii)  have appropriate disposal procedures and containers; 
 (iv)  have biohazard cabinetry when cytotoxic drug products are 
prepared; 
 (v)  have temperature-controlled delivery container; 
 (vi)  have infusion devices, if appropriate; 
 (vii)  have supplies and other necessary resources adequate to 
maintain an environment suitable for the aseptic preparation of 
sterile products; 
 (viii)  have sufficient current reference materials related to 
sterile products to meet the needs of pharmacy staff; and 
 (ix)  have written procedures requiring sampling for microbial 
contamination. 
 (c)  The pharmacist-in-charge of each pharmacy preparing 
parenteral products shall assure that any compounded sterile 
pharmaceutical be shipped or delivered to a patient in appropriate 
temperature-controlled delivery containers with appropriate 
monitors and stored appropriately in the patient's home.  If 
appropriate, the pharmacist must demonstrate or document the 
patient's or patient's agent's training and competency in managing 
this type of therapy provided by the pharmacist to the patient in the 
home environment.  A pharmacist must be involved in the patient's 
or patient's agent's training process in any area that relates to drug 
compounding, labeling, storage, stability, or incompatibility.  The 
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pharmacist must be responsible for seeing that the patient's or 
patient's agent's competency in the above areas is reassessed on an 
ongoing basis. 
 
R156-17a-619.  Operating Standards - Pharmaceutical 
Administration Facility. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-601(1), the following 
applies with respect to prescription drugs which are held, stored, or 
otherwise under the control of a pharmaceutical administration 
facility for administration to patients: 
 (1)  The licensed pharmacist shall provide consultation on all 
aspects of pharmacy services in the facility; establish a system of 
records of receipt and disposition of all controlled substances in 
sufficient detail to enable an accurate reconciliation; and determine 
that drug records are in order and that an account of all controlled 
substances is maintained and periodically reconciled. 
 (2)  Authorized destruction of all prescription drugs shall be 
witnessed by the medical or nursing director or a designated 
physician or registered nurse employed in the facility and the 
supervising pharmacist and must be in compliance with DEA 
regulations. 
 (3)  Prescriptions for patients in the facility can be verbally 
requested by a licensed medical practitioner and may be entered as 
the physician's order; but, the practitioner must personally sign the 
order in the facility record within 72 hours, if a Schedule II 
controlled substance, and within 30 days if another prescription 
drug.  The physician's verbal order may be copied and forwarded to 
a pharmacy for dispensing and may serve as the pharmacy's record 
of the prescription order. 
 (4)  Prescriptions for controlled substances for patients in 
pharmaceutical administration facilities shall be dispensed according 
to the Utah Controlled Substance Act, Title 58, Chapter 37, and the 
Controlled Substance Rules of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing, R156-37. 
 (5)  Emergency drug kit. 
 (a)  An emergency drug kit may be used by pharmaceutical 
administration facilities.  The emergency drug kit shall be 
considered to be a physical extension of the pharmacy supplying the 
emergency drug kit and shall at all times remain under the 
ownership of that pharmacy. 
 (b)  The contents and quantity of drugs and supplies in the 
emergency drug kit shall be determined by the Medical Director or 
Director of Nursing of the pharmaceutical administration facility and 
the pharmacist-in-charge of the pharmacy. 
 (c)  A copy of the approved list of contents shall be 
conspicuously posted on or near the kit. 
 (d)  The emergency kit shall be used only for bona fide 
emergencies and only when medications cannot be obtained from a 
pharmacy in a timely manner. 
 (e)  Records documenting the receipt and removal of drugs in 
the emergency kit shall be maintained by the facility and the 
pharmacy. 
 (f)  The pharmacy shall be responsible for ensuring proper 
storage, security and accountability of the emergency kit and shall 
ensure that: 
 (i)  the emergency kit is stored in a locked area and is locked 
itself; and 
 (ii)  emergency kit drugs are accessible only to licensed 
physicians, physician assistants, and nurses employed by the facility. 
 (g)  The contents of the emergency kit, the approved list of 
contents, and all related records shall be made freely available and 

open for inspection to appropriate representatives of the division and 
the Utah Department of Health. 
 
R156-17a-620.  Operating Standards - Pharmacist 
Administration - Training. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17a-502(9), appropriate 
training for the administration of a prescription drug includes: 
 (a)  having current BCLS certification; and 
 (b)  having successfully completed a training program which 
includes at a minimum: 
 (i)  didactic and practical training for administering injectable 
drugs; 
 (ii)  the current Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices (ACIP) of the United States Center for Disease Control 
and Prevention guidelines for the administration of immunizations; 
and 
 (iii)  the management of an anaphylactic reaction. 
 (2)  Sources for the appropriate training include: 
 (a)  ACPE approved programs; 
 (b)  curriculum-based programs from an ACPE accredited 
college of pharmacy; and 
 (c)  state or local health department programs. 
 
KEY:  pharmacists, licensing, pharmacies* 
February 19, 2004 
Notice of Continuation April 26, 2001 
58-17a-101 
58-37-1 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-102-1 
Application 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27797 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 13:37 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Some 
applicants obtain permission to sit for the examination, and 
then do not do so for several years, by which time their 
prelicensing education has become outdated.  In order to 
remedy this situation, the Utah Appraiser Licensing and 
Certification Board desires a limit on how long applicants have 
to take the examination once they have registered to sit for the 
examination. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The permission granted by 
the Division of Real Estate to sit for an appraiser licensing or 
certification examination will only be valid for 24 months after 
issuance. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2-6(1)(l) 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--State government is not affected 
by requiring appraiser applicants to sit for the licensing or 
certification examination within 24 months after seeking 
permission to do so. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Although local county 
assessors' offices do have appraisers on staff, a rule that 
requires appraiser candidates to take an examination within 
24 months after seeking permission to do so should not cost 
or save local government.   Appraiser candidates have control 
over this process; they should not seek permission to take the 
examination until they anticipate taking it within the next 24 
months. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The only other persons affected by this 
rule amendment are candidates for the appraiser licensing or 
certification examinations.  They would not realize any savings 
because of this rule amendment.  They could lose the fees 
($68) that they pay to obtain permission to sit for examinations 
if they don't follow through and take the examinations. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Candidates for the 
appraiser licensing and certification examinations could lose 
the fees ($68) that they pay to obtain permission to sit for 
examinations if they don't follow through and take the 
examinations.  However, these parties have control over the 
examination process; they should not seek permission to take 
an examination until they are ready to do so. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  No fiscal impact to businesses 
is anticipated as a result of this rule filing other than the loss of 
fees mentioned above for applicants who apply for approval to 
take the examination and then wait more than two years to do 
so.  Russell C. Skousen, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dexter Bell, Director 
 
 
 

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-102.  Application Procedures. 
R162-102-1.  Application. 
 102.1.1  Initial Review - An applicant for licensure or certification 
as an appraiser will be required to submit, on forms provided by the 
Division, documentation indicating successful completion of the 
education and experience required by the state of Utah. 
 102.1.1.1  The application may be reviewed by an Appraiser 
Education Review Committee appointed by the Real Estate Appraiser 
Licensing and Certification Board to determine if the education 
requirement has been met. 
 102.1.1.2  The candidate will provide evidence of meeting the 
experience requirement by completing the form required by the 
Division. 
 102.1.1.3  The candidate will submit the appropriate license or 
certification fee at the time of submission of the education and 
experience forms. 
 102.1.2  Exam Application 
 102.1.2.1  Upon determining the candidate has completed the 
education and experience requirements, the Division will issue [an 
examination application form ]to the candidate a form permitting the 
candidate to register to sit for the examination.  The permission to 
register to sit for the examination shall be valid for twenty-four months 
after issuance, or twenty-four months after May 17, 2005, whichever is 
longer. 
 102.1.2.1.1  Effective January 1, 2003, as a prerequisite to sitting 
for the licensing/certification examination, the applicant will be 
required to submit proof of successful completion of the 15-hour 
National USPAP Course or its equivalent from an instructor or 
instructors, at least one of whom is a State-Certified Residential or 
State-Certified General Appraiser and has been certified by the 
Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation.  
Equivalency to the 15-hour National USPAP Course will be 
determined through the Course Approval Program of the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation. 
 102.1.2.2  The candidate will make application to take the 
examination by returning the application form and the appropriate 
testing fee to the testing service designated by the Division. If the 
applicant fails to take the examination, the fee will be forfeited. 
 102.1.3  Final Application 
 102.1.3.1  Within 90 days after successful completion of the 
exam, the appraiser applicant must return to the Division each of the 
following: 
 102.1.3.1.1  A report from the testing service indicating successful 
completion of the exam. 
 102.1.3.1.2  The license application form required by the Division. 
The application form shall include the applicant's business and home 
addresses. A post office box without a street address is unacceptable as 
a business or home address. The applicant may designate either address 
to be used as a mailing address. 
 102.1.3.1.3  The fee for the federal registry. 
 
KEY:  real estate appraisals, licensing 
[December 2, 2002]2005 
Notice of Continuation March 27, 2002 
61-2b-[23]6(1)(l) 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-107 
Unprofessional Conduct 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27788 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 08:44 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  It has come 
to the attention of the Division of Real Estate investigators that 
unlicensed persons are getting around appraiser licensing 
requirements by acting as trainees and accepting appraisal 
assignments (and payment for those assignments), doing the 
appraisals, and then hiring a properly licensed appraiser to 
sign their appraisal reports.  Prohibiting a trainee from 
accepting an appraisal assignment and prohibiting the trainee 
from accepting payment for appraisal work from anyone other 
than his supervising appraiser should help to curb this abuse. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Appraisals trainees would 
be forbidden from accepting appraisal assignments, and 
would be forbidden from being paid for their services 
performed in connection with appraisals by anyone other than 
their supervising appraisers or the supervisors' appraisal 
firms. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2b-6(1)(l) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--A requirement that only the 
supervising appraiser may accept an appraisal assignment 
instead of the supervisor's trainee, and a requirement that a 
trainee may only receive payment from his supervisor will 
neither cost the State nor save the State on any appraisals it 
may order. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local governments who use 
appraiser trainees in their assessors' offices would already 
pay those trainees through the "firm" (the local government).  
Appraisers who work for county assessors' offices do not 
solicit appraisal work in their capacity as government 
appraisers, and so the part of the rule regarding accepting 
appraisal assignments does not apply to trainees who work for 
local government agencies. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The only persons affected by this rule 
change are supervising appraisers and their trainees.  It is not 
anticipated that there will be either cost or savings from 
requiring that the trainee's compensation is paid to him by his 
supervisor.  The trainee is already forbidden by the licensing 
law to appraise on his own, and therefore should not be 
accepting appraisal assignments anyway, and therefore the 
part of the rule forbidding the trainee from accepting 
assignments does not impose any new requirements on the 
supervisor or the trainee. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule 
amendment should not cost appraisers or appraiser trainees 

any money since all the rule amendment does is clarify what 
the licensing law already requires: that it is the supervisor who 
must accept the appraisal assignment.  It is not anticipated 
that requiring the trainee to be paid by his supervisor, as 
opposed to the party who pays for the appraisal, will impose 
any compliance costs on either the supervising appraiser or 
their trainees. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing defines 
"unprofessional conduct" to include allowing a non-appraiser 
to accept an appraisal assignment and requires any payment 
to trainees to be made directly by the licensed supervisor.  
This definition is a further clarification of the existing 
provisions prohibiting unlicensed practice by trainees.  
Therefore, there is no anticipated fiscal impact to businesses 
as a result of this rule filing.  Russell C. Skousen, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dexter Bell, Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-107.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
R162-107-1.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 107.1  Unprofessional conduct includes the following specific 
acts or omissions: 
 107.1.1  Violating or disregarding a disciplinary order of the 
Utah Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board or the division; 
 107.1.2  Signing an appraisal report containing a statement 
indicating that an appraiser has inspected a property if the appraiser 
has not inspected the property; 
 107.1.3  Signing an appraisal report as the supervising appraiser 
without having given adequate supervision to the registered 
appraiser or the unclassified assistant; 
 107.1.4  Allowing an appraiser in his employ, or an appraiser 
whom he is otherwise responsible to supervise, to: 
 (a)  exceed the authority of the subordinate appraiser's 
classification; 
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 (b)  engage in conduct which is a violation of Title 61, Chapter 
2b. 
 107.1.5  Allowing a non-appraiser to: 
 (a)  exceed the authority granted to an unclassified person by 
these rules; 
 (b)  engage in conduct which would be a violation of Title 61, 
Chapter 2b if done by an appraiser; or 
 (c)  accept an appraisal assignment. 
 107.1.6  Splitting appraisal fees with any person who is not a 
State-Licensed Appraiser or a State-Certified Appraiser, except that 
an appraisal trainee may be paid a reasonable salary or a reasonable 
hourly rate for lawful services actually performed in connection with 
appraisals.  Such payment must be paid to the trainee by the trainee's 
supervisor or the supervisor's appraisal firm and not by any other 
person or entity. 
 107.2  The Board may appoint members of the appraisal 
industry to serve as a Technical Advisory Panel to provide advice to 
the Division concerning technical appraisal issues and conduct 
constituting unprofessional conduct. 
 
KEY:  real estate appraisals, conduct 
[September 10, 2004]2005 
Notice of Continuation January 21, 2003 
61-2b-8 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-407 
School Fees 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27798 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 17:11 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
amended to eliminate inconsistencies between the Utah State 
Board of Education rule and Utah High School Activities 
Association (UHSAA) by-laws and rules.  The amendment 
also removes responsibility from the State Board of Education 
for high school athletic eligibility requirements.  It is necessary 
to remove all references to the UHSAA from this rule to allow 
the UHSAA to govern athletics and specified athletic eligibility 
in the high schools consistent with its own policies and by-
laws. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendment removes 
all references to the UHSAA. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-12-102(1) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  The amendment removes references to 
the UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that may have 
existed between the State Board of Education rule and 
UHSAA rules and by-laws but does not involve any funding. 

❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  The amendment removes 
references to the UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that 
may have existed between the State Board of Education rule 
and UHSAA rules and by-laws but does not involve any 
funding. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There are no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  The amendment removes references to the 
UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that may have existed 
between the State Board of Education rule and UHSAA rules 
and by-laws but does not involve any funding. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  The amendment 
simply removes references to the UHSAA and does not 
require any additional compliance requirements. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses.  Patti Harrington, State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-407.  School Fees. 
R277-407-4.  School Activities Outside of the Regular School 
Day. 
 A.  Fees may be charged, subject to the provisions of Section 
R277-407-6, in connection with any school-sponsored activity 
which does not take place during the regular school day, regardless 
of the age or grade level of the student, if participation is voluntary 
and does not affect a student's grade or ability to participate fully in 
any course taught during the regular school day. 
 B.  Fees related to extracurricular activities [sponsored by the 
Utah High School Activities Association ]may not exceed limits 
established by the [Association]local board.  Schools shall collect 
these fees consistent with [school district]local board policies and 
state law. 
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R277-407-5.  General Provisions. 
 A.  No fee may be charged or assessed in connection with any 
class or school-sponsored or supported activity, including 
extracurricular activities, unless the fee has been set and approved 
by the local board of education and distributed in an approved fee 
schedule or notice in accordance with this rule. 
 B.  Fee schedules and policies for the entire district shall be 
adopted at least once each year by the local board of education in a 
regularly scheduled public meeting of the local board.  Provision 
shall be made for broad public notice and participation in the 
development of fee schedules and waiver policies.  Minutes of local 
board meetings during which fee and waiver policies are developed 
or adopted, together with copies of approved policies, shall be kept 
on file by the local board of education and made available upon 
request. 
 C.  Each [district]local board shall adopt procedures to 
reasonably ensure that the parent or guardian of each child who 
attends school within the district receives written notice of all 
current and applicable fee schedules and fee waiver policies, 
including easily understandable procedures for obtaining waivers 
and for appealing a denial of waiver, as soon as possible prior to the 
time when fees become due.  Copies of the schedules and waiver 
policies shall be included with all registration materials provided to 
potential or continuing students. 
 D.  No present or former student may be denied receipt of 
transcripts or a diploma for failure to pay school fees.  A reasonable 
charge may be made to cover the cost of duplicating or mailing 
transcripts and other school records.  No charge may be made for 
duplicating or mailing copies of school records to an elementary or 
secondary school in which the student is enrolled or intends to 
enroll. 
 E.  To preserve equal opportunity for all students and to limit 
diversion of money and school and staff resources from the basic 
school program, each [district's]local board's fee policies shall be 
designed to limit student expenditures for school-sponsored 
activities, including expenditures for activities, uniforms, clubs, 
clinics, travel, and subject area and vocational leadership 
organizations, whether local, state, or national. 
 F.  Donations or contributions may be solicited and accepted in 
accordance with [district]local board policies, but all such requests 
must clearly state that donations and contributions are voluntary.  A 
donation is a fee if a student [must]is required to make a donation in 
order to participate in an activity. 
 G.  In the collection of school fees, [districts must]local boards 
shall comply with statutes and State Tax Commission rules 
regarding the collection of state sales tax. 
 
R277-407-6.  Waivers. 
 A.  A local board of education shall provide, as part of any fee 
policy or schedule, for adequate waivers or other provisions in lieu 
of fee waivers to ensure that no student is denied the opportunity to 
participate in a class or school-sponsored or supported activity 
because of an inability to pay a fee. 
 The waiver policy shall include procedures to ensure that: 
 (1)  a person is designated in each school to administer the 
policy and grant waivers; 
 (2)  the process for obtaining waivers or pursuing alternatives is 
administered fairly, objectively, and without delay, and avoids 
stigma and unreasonable burdens on students and parents; 

 (3)  students who have been granted waivers or provisions in 
lieu of fee waivers are not treated differently from other students or 
identified to persons who do not need to know; 
 (4)  fee waivers or other provisions in lieu of fee waivers are 
available to any student whose parent is unable to pay the fee in 
question; 
 (5)  Eligibility 
 (a)  inability to pay is presumed for those who are in state 
custody or foster care, or receiving public assistance in the form of 
Aid to Families with Dependent Children, or Supplemental Security 
Income, or are eligible for free school lunch; and 
 (b)  CASE BY CASE DETERMINATIONS ARE MADE FOR 
THOSE WHO DO NOT QUALIFY UNDER ONE OF THE 
FOREGOING STANDARDS but who, because of extenuating 
circumstances such as, but not limited to, exceptional financial 
burdens such as loss or substantial reduction of income or 
extraordinary medical expenses, are not reasonably capable of 
paying the fee; 
 (6)  textbook fees are waived for all eligible students in 
accordance with Sections 53A-12-201 and 53A-12-204 of the Utah 
Code and this Section; 
 (7)  parents are given the opportunity to review proposed 
alternatives to fee waivers; 
 (8)  a timely appeal process is available, including the 
opportunity to appeal to the local board or its designee; 
 (9)  any requirement that a given student pay a fee is suspended 
during any period during which the student's eligibility for waiver is 
being determined or during which a denial of waiver is being 
appealed; and 
 (10)  the local board provides for balancing of financial 
inequities among district schools so that the granting of waivers and 
provisions in lieu of fee waivers do not produce significant 
inequities through unequal impact on individual schools. 
 B.  Expenditures for uniforms, costumes, clothing, and 
accessories, other than items of typical student dress, which are 
required for participation in choirs, pep clubs, drill teams, athletic 
teams, bands, orchestras, and other student groups, and expenditures 
for student travel as part of a school team, student group, or other 
school-approved trip, are fees requiring approval of the local board 
of education, and are subject to the provisions of this section. 
 C.  The requirements of fee waiver and availability of other 
provisions in lieu of fee waiver do not apply to charges assessed 
pursuant to a student's damaging or losing school property.  Schools 
may pursue reasonable methods for obtaining payment for such 
charges, but may not exclude students from school or withhold 
UNOFFICIAL transcripts or diplomas to obtain payment of those 
charges, consistent with Section 53A-11-806(2), and the Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA), 20 USC 
1232g, which regulation is hereby incorporated by reference within 
this rule. 
 D.  Charges for class rings, letter jackets, and similar articles 
not required for participation in a class or activity are not fees and 
are not subject to the waiver requirements. 
 
R277-407-7.  Fee Waiver Reporting Requirements. 
 Beginning with fiscal year 1990-91, each school district shall 
attach to its annual S-3 statistical report for inclusion in the State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction's annual report the following: 
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 (1)  a summary of the number of students in the district given 
fee waivers, the number of students who worked in lieu of a waiver, 
and the total dollar value of student fees waived by the district; 
 (2)  a copy of the [district's]local board's fee and fee waiver 
policies; 
 (3)  a copy of the [district's]local board's fee schedule for 
students; and 
 (4)  the notice of fee waiver criteria provided by the district to a 
student's parent or guardian. 
 
KEY:  education, educational tuition[s], education finance 
[1994]2005 
Notice of Continuation September 12, 2002 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-12-102 
53A-12-201 
53A-12-204 
53A-11-806(2) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-437 
Student Enrollment Options 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27799 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 17:11 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
amended to eliminate inconsistencies between the Utah State 
Board of Education rule and the Utah High School Activities 
Association (UHSAA) by-laws and rules.  The amendment 
also removes responsibility from the State Board of Education 
for high school athletic eligibility requirements.  It is necessary 
to remove all references to the UHSAA from this rule to allow 
the UHSAA to govern athletics and specified athletic eligibility 
in the high schools consistent with its own policies and by-
laws. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendment removes 
all references to the UHSAA. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 53A-2-207 through 53A-2-213 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  The amendment removes references to 
the UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that may have 
existed between the State Board of Education rule and 
UHSAA rules and by-laws but does not involve any funding. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  The amendment removes 
references to the UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that 
may have existed between the State Board of Education rule 
and UHSAA rules and by-laws but does not involve any 
funding. 

❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There are no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  The amendment removes references to the 
UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that may have existed 
between the State Board of Education rule and UHSAA rules 
and by-laws but does not involve any funding. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  The amendment 
simply removes references to the UHSAA and does not 
require any compliance requirements. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses.  Patti Harrington, State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-437.  Student Enrollment Options. 
R277-437-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Available school or program" means a school or program 
currently designated under this rule by a district as open to 
nonresident students. 
 B.  "Average daily membership threshold" means 90% of the 
maximum capacity of a school. 
 C.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 [C]D.  "Core class" means a class specifically required as part 
of the Core Curriculum established by the Board under R277-700-
11. 
 [D]E.  "District of residence" means a student's school district 
of residence under Section 53A-2-201. 
 [E]F.  "Instructional station" means a classroom, laboratory, 
shop, study hall, or physical education facility to which a local board 
of education has assigned a class, teacher or program during a given 
class period.  For example, if two P.E. classes were assigned to meet 
in the gymnasium simultaneously, the gymnasium would represent 
two instructional stations. 
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 [F]G.  "Nonresident district" means a school district other than 
the district of residence of the student in question. 
 [G]H.  "Nonresident student" means a student attending or 
seeking to attend a school other than the school of residence. 
 [H]I.  "Projected average daily membership" means the current 
year enrollment of a school as of October 1, adjusted for projected 
growth for the coming school year. 
 [I]J.  "Residual per student expenditure" means the expenditure 
based on the most recent State Superintendent's Annual Report 
according to the following formula: 
 (1)  Take total expenditures before interfund transfer for: 
 (a)  maintenance and operation; 
 (b)  tort liability; and 
 (c)  capital projects. 
 (2)  Subtract from the sum of (1), above: 
 (a)  resident district's taxes collected under the Minimum 
School Program; 
 (b)  state revenue; 
 (c)  federal revenue; and 
 (d) expenditures for site acquisition or new facility construction 
(new facility construction includes remodeling that increases 
building square footage or other major remodeling, if approved by 
the USOE Director of Finance). 
 (3)  Divide the remainder of (1) and (2) above by the total 
student membership of the district as reported in the most recent 
State Superintendent's Annual Report. 
 [J]K.  "School capacity" or "maximum capacity" means the 
total number of students who could be served in a given school 
building if each of the building's instructional stations were to serve 
at least the following number of students: 
 (1)  kindergarten: 10 students per room, per session -- typically 
two one-half day sessions per day; 
 (2)  grades one through three: 15 students per room; 
 (3)  grades four through six: 20 students per room; 
 (4)  junior high and middle school: 20 students per Core class; 
 (5)  junior high/senior high combinations: 20 students per Core 
class; 
 (6)  senior high: 20 students per Core class; 
 (7)  instructional station capacity for laboratories, physical 
education facilities, shops, study halls, self-contained special 
education classrooms, facilities jointly financed by school districts 
and another community agency for joint use and similar rooms must 
be calculated individually. Capacity for self-contained special 
education classrooms shall be based upon students per class as 
defined by Board and federal special education standards. (The 
above standards are based upon the UTAH STATE PUBLIC 
EDUCATION STRATEGIC PLAN, January 1992, page 19; and 
Section 53A-17a-124.5) 
 [K]L.  "School of residence" means the school which a student 
would normally attend in the student's district of residence. 
 [L]M.  "Serious infraction of the law or school rules" means 
any behavior which could, under rules of the nonresident district in 
which enrollment is sought, subject a student to suspension for more 
than ten days or expulsion.[ 
 M.  "UHSAA" means the Utah High School Activities 
Association.] 
 N.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-437-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which places general control and supervision of the public 

school system under the Board, by 53A-1-402(1)(b) which directs 
the [Utah State ]Board [of Education ]to establish rules and 
minimum standards for access to programs and by 53A-2-207 
through 213 which directs the Board to develop rules for student 
enrollment options. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to provide: definitions relating to 
school choice; standards for transferring students; rules for 
participation in interscholastic competition; a form for students to 
use when applying for open enrollment; and an explanation for use 
of the form, "Application for Student to Attend School in 
Nonresident School or District," in seeking permission for a student 
to attend school in a school other than the school of residence. 
 
R277-437-3.  Local School Board and District Responsibilities. 
 A.  Prior to November 30 of each school year a local board 
shall announce policies describing procedures for students to follow 
in applying to attend schools other than their respective schools of 
residence, and designate which schools and programs will be 
available for open enrollment during the coming school year. 
 (1)  A local board shall designate each school which has a 
projected daily membership below the average daily membership 
threshold as available for open enrollment, and may designate 
schools as available even though projected daily membership 
exceeds threshold levels. 
 (2)  If construction, remodeling, or other circumstances beyond 
the control of the local board do not reasonably permit the local 
board to make sufficiently accurate enrollment projections for a 
given school to determine whether the school should be designated 
as available for open enrollment for the coming year, the local board 
shall permit submission of enrollment applications for that school 
during the application period and notify applicants that approval will 
be delayed until additional information is available. 
 (3)  Whether applications are received for schools designated as 
open, or for schools for which the local board was unable to make a 
designation, the local board must give applicants written notification 
of acceptance or rejection of their applications by March 1 (for new 
nonresident students) or March 15 (for current nonresident students). 
 B.  As required under Subsection 53A-2-210(2), a resident 
district shall pay to a nonresident district one-half of the resident 
district's residual per student expenditure for each resident student 
properly registered in the nonresident district. 
 C.  A district shall allow an enrolled nonresident student to 
remain enrolled in the district, subject to the conditions noted under 
Subsections 53A-2-207(6) and (7), provided: 
 (1)  if a nonresident student is to be excluded from continued 
enrollment in a school because current or projected resident student 
enrollment meets or exceeds maximum school capacities, and there 
is another school which the student could attend within the district 
which has not reached maximum enrollment, the nonresident student 
shall be given the opportunity to enroll in that school. 
 (2)  nonresident students who must be relocated under 
Subsection (1) due to increased enrollment of resident students, and 
siblings of nonresident students who are currently attending a school 
within the district, shall have priority in enrollment over other 
nonresident students who are seeking enrollment in the district for 
the first time. 
 (3)  a school district may designate the schools which students 
shall attend as they move from elementary school to middle school 
to high school. Attendance at a specific elementary, junior high or 
middle school does not guarantee attendance at a specific junior high 
or high school. 
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 D.  Each local board shall establish a procedure to consider 
appeals of any denial of initial or continued enrollment of a 
nonresident student under Subsection 53A-2-209(1). 
 E.  A local board of education may limit open enrollment 
options when they negatively affect the capacity, programs, class 
size, grade levels or school buildings of the resident or the receiving 
school. 
 
[R277-437-4.  Student Participation in Interscholastic 
Competition. 
 A.  A student in the ninth grade or above who transfers between 
schools shall be ineligible for varsity level interscholastic 
competition for one year after the first day of attendance following 
completion of transfer to the new school unless: 
 (1)  The transfer results from a change of residence as defined 
under Section 53A-2-201; 
 (2)  The transfer results from promotion to a grade not offered 
in the student's previous school, provided the receiving school is the 
one designated by the district to receive transfer students from the 
previous school; 
 (3)  The student is required to transfer by the local board of 
education; 
 (4)  The transfer occurs under a special group "block" permit 
established by one or more districts; or 
 (5)  The UHSAA Transfer Committee grants an exception 
based upon exceptional circumstances and undue hardship. 
 B.  A student's transfer between schools shall not extend 
eligibility for interscholastic competition beyond the eight 
consecutive semesters allowed under UHSAA by-laws. 
 C.  If a student is transferred pursuant to a judicial order, the 
student shall immediately become eligible for interscholastic 
competition in the court-designated resident district for a period not 
to exceed the eight consecutive semesters under UHSAA By-laws. 
 D.  A student is only eligible for interscholastic competition 
through the school of attendance; i.e., a student may not attend one 
school for academic classes and participate in interscholastic 
competition at a different school, except that a local board of 
education may allow ninth grade students to participate with the 
high school to which they would normally be assigned upon 
completion of the ninth grade. 
 
]R277-437-[5]4.  Transportation. 
 A school district may transport its students to schools in other 
districts under Subsection 53A-2-210(3)(b)(i). 
 
KEY:  public education, enrollment options[*] 
[January 5, 1999]2005 
Notice of Continuation January 5, 2004 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(1)(b) 
53A-2-207 through 53A-2-213 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-438 
Dual Enrollment 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27800 
FILED:  04/01/2005, 17:11 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
amended to eliminate inconsistencies between the Utah State 
Board of Education rule and the Utah High School Activities 
Association (UHSAA) by-laws and rules.  The amendment 
also removes responsibility from the State Board of Education 
for high school athletic eligibility requirements.  It is necessary 
to remove all reference to the UHSAA from this rule to allow 
the UHSAA to govern athletics and specified athletic eligibility 
in the high school consistent with its own policies and by-laws. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendment removes 
all references to the UHSAA. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53A-11-102.5 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  The amendment removes references to 
the UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that may have 
existed between the State Board of Education rule and 
UHSAA rules and by-laws but does not involve any funding. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  The amendment removes 
references to the UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that 
may have existed between the State Board of Education rule 
and UHSAA rules and by-laws but does not involve any 
funding. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There are no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  The amendment removes references to the 
UHSAA thereby removing any conflicts that may have existed 
between the State Board of Education rule and UHSAA rules 
and by-laws but does not involve any funding. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  The amendment 
simply removes references to the UHSAA and does not 
require any additional compliance requirements. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses.  Patti Harrington, State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-438.  Dual Enrollment. 
R277-438-1.  Definitions. 
 [G]A.  "Accredited" means evaluated and approved under the 
standards of the Northwest Accrediting Association or the 
accreditation standards of the Board, available from the USOE 
Accreditation Specialist. 
 [F]B.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 [I]C.  "Dual enrollment student" means a student who is 
enrolled simultaneously in public school and in a home school or a 
regularly established private school. 
 [J]D.  "Eligibility" means a student's fitness and availability to 
participate in school activities governed by this rule.  Eligibility is 
determined by a number of factors including residency (of student 
and legal guardian), scholarship, age, and number of semesters of 
participation in a particular activity. 
 [D]E.  "Full-time student" means a student earning the school 
district designated number(s) and type(s) of credits required for 
participation in extracurricular or interscholastic activities in the 
school district in which the student's parent or legal guardian resides. 
 [C]F.  "Home school" means a school comprised of one or 
more students officially excused from compulsory public school 
attendance under Section 53A-11-102. 
 [H]G.  "Previous academic grading period" means the most 
recent period as defined by the school district for which a student 
received a recorded grade. 
 [B]H.  "Private school" means a school satisfying the following 
criteria: 
 (1)  maintained by private individuals or corporations; 
 (2)  maintained and operated not at public expense; 
 (3)  generally supported, in part at least, by tuition fees or 
charges; 
 (4)  operated as a substitute for, and giving the equivalent of, 
instruction required in public schools; 
 (5)  employing teachers able to provide the same quality of 
education as public school teachers; 
 (6)  established to operate indefinitely and independently, not 
dependent upon age of the students available or upon individual 
family situations; and 
 (7)  licensed as a business by the Utah Department of Business 
Regulations. 
 [A]I.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
[ E.  "Utah High School Activities Association (UHSAA)" 
means the organization designated by the state to administer and 

supervise interscholastic activities among its member schools 
according to its constitution and by-laws. 
 K.  "Transfer Committee" means a committee consisting of 
four principals, one UHSAA staff member, and two UHSAA Board 
of Trustees members, authorized and functioning under UHSAA by-
laws. 
] 
R277-438-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which places general control and supervision of the public 
school system under the board, by 53A-1-402(1)(b) which directs 
the Board to establish rules and minimum standards for access to 
programs and by Section 53A-11-102.5 directing the Board to make 
rules for transferability of credits toward graduation that are earned 
in a private or home school and to make rules necessary to permit 
home school students and private school students to participate in 
public school activities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to provide consistent statewide 
procedures and criteria for home school and private school students' 
participation in public school activities. 
 
R277-438-3.  Credit. 
 A.  Utah school districts shall accept credits toward graduation 
from an accredited regularly established private school. 
 B.  Utah school districts shall provide two or more options to 
earn credit toward graduation.  At least one option shall be provided 
from among those listed in R277-700-6B(1), and at least one option 
shall be provided from those listed in R277-700-6B(2). 
 
R277-438-4.  Private and Home School Student Participation in 
Public School Extracurricular Activities. 
 A.  Students exempted from compulsory public school 
education by the local board for instruction in private or home 
schools may be eligible for participation in extracurricular public 
school activities provided they are taking courses comparable to 
traditional school courses or earning credit under options outlined in 
R277-700-6 in at least as many of the designated courses as required 
by the local board of students for participation in that activity. 
 B.  The private or home school student may only participate in 
extracurricular or school day activities at the school within whose 
boundaries the student's custodial parent(s) or legal guardian resides. 
 C.  [Any public or regularly established private school student 
who has not maintained scholastic eligibility shall be ineligible to 
participate in extracurricular activities as a dual enrollment student 
consistent with eligibility standards for all students as defined in the 
Utah High School Activities Association by-laws.  The Utah High 
School Activities Association by-laws are available from the Utah 
State Office of Education Deputy Superintendent, the Utah High 
School Activities Association and most school district offices.]Dual 
enrollment students shall be eligible for extracurricular activities 
consistent with eligibility standards for fully enrolled students.[ 
 D.  Eligibility of transfer students, with the exception of R277-
438-4C students, shall be decided consistent with the Utah High 
School Activities Association Handbook which provides: 
 (1)  If a student's parents move, the student may remain at the 
high school where the student has established eligibility.  Once this 
decision is made, the student may not at any later date transfer to 
another school without being considered a transfer student. 
 (2)  The transfer rule does not apply to activities other than 
athletics. 
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 (3)  All transfers from public or private schools shall be 
considered the same.  No distinction shall be made with regard to 
public or private nature of any school involved with any such 
transfer. 
 (4)  If a school discontinues the sport or activity in which the 
student had previously participated while attending that school, 
eligibility in transferring to a different school which offers that sport 
or activity shall not be challenged.  The student shall meet all other 
UHSAA eligibility requirements. 
 (5)  In transfers which are specifically mandated by court order 
of any court having jurisdiction to so order, the eligibility of that 
student shall not be challenged, provided that the student meets all 
other UHSAA eligibility requirements. 
 (6)  Dormitory students and Indian Placement Program students 
are immediately eligible if they are in school the first day of the 
school year.  After the first day, such students are to be considered 
as transfers. 
 (7)  Foreign students are to be considered as any other transfer 
student.  In assessing the UHSAA by-law requirements, principals 
shall attempt to determine from appropriate officials if the transfer 
was motivated by athletic reasons or if any undue influence affected 
the transfer. 
 (8)  The exception created for guardians is intended to apply 
only to those situations in which a bona fide guardian has been 
appointed for the best interests of the student.  Should it appear that 
a guardian has been appointed or established for the purpose of 
avoiding the transfer rule, the school administration, consistent with 
UHSAA by-laws, may ignore the guardianship and examine the 
transfer as if no guardian existed. 
 (9)  When a given sport or activity is not available at a student's 
high school of eligibility, the student may become eligible for that 
specific sport or activity at another member high school.  In order to 
activate that eligibility, the student shall: 
 (a)  transfer and gain full time status at the new school; and 
 (b)  secure written approval of both principals. 
 After the conclusion of that sport season, the student may not 
remain at the new school without loss of eligibility in sports that are 
offered at the original school for up to one year as stipulated in the 
UHSAA by-laws.  Upon re-enrolling at the original school of 
eligibility, the student is immediately eligible for other sports within 
that school.  All other eligibility rules apply. 
 (10)  If a principal determines a transfer was sought for 
impermissible reasons, the principal may limit the student's athletic 
participation to sub-varsity levels. 
 (11)  Initial eligibility is established when a student enters high 
school for the fist time regardless of whether or not that entrance is 
in Utah or out of state. 
 E.  Eligibility shall be established in the previous academic 
grading period, as defined by the school within whose boundaries 
the student lives.] 
 
R277-438-5.  Fees. 
 A.  Private and home school students are responsible for school 
fees in the same manner as full-time public school students. 
 B.  School fees for private or home school students shall be 
waived by the school or school district if required under Section 
53A-12-103 and R277-407, School Fees. 
 

R277-438-6.  Miscellaneous Issues. 
 A.  A student attending activities or a portion of the school day 
under the provisions of Section 53A-11-102.5 shall be subject to the 
same behavior and discipline rights and requirements of a full-time 
student. 
 B.  A student who attends an activity or a portion of the school 
day shall be subject to administrative scheduling and teacher 
discretion of the traditional school. 
 C.  A student with disabilities may participate as a dual 
enrollment student consistent with Utah law, this rule and Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR) Vol. 64, No. 48, Section 300.450 
through 300.455. 
 (1)  The student shall have a services plan in place prior to 
participation in dual enrollment using comparable procedures to 
those required for identifying and evaluating public school students; 
 (2)  Students with disabilities seeking dual enrollment shall be 
entitled to services only in the same proportional amount that the 
number of private school students residing in the district is to the 
total number of students with disabilities in the district. 
 (3)  Decisions about the scheduling and manner of services 
provided shall be the responsibility of school and district personnel. 
 (4)  Schools and districts are not prohibited from providing 
services to students who are not enrolled full time in excess of those 
required by R277-438-6. 
 
KEY:  public education, dual enrollment[*] 
[September 1, 2000]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 1, 2004 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-402(1)(b) 
53A-11-102.5 
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RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Illegal 
Drug Operations Site Reporting and Decontamination Act, 
Title 19, Chapter 6, Part 9, requires that properties 
contaminated by illegal drug manufacturing be placed on a 
contamination list.  The purpose of this proposed rule is to 
establish certification criteria for any private person, firm, or 
entity who perform decontamination of property that is on the 
contamination list. 
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Decontamination 
Specialist Certification Program is designed to assist in 
helping ensure that personnel in charge of decontamination 
are trained to perform cleanups and knowledgeable of 
established decontamination standards; to develop methods 
whereby an applicant can demonstrate competency and 
obtain certification to become a Certified Decontamination 
Specialist; to protect the public health and the environment; 
and to provide for the health and safety of personnel involved 
in decontamination activities. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-6-901 et seq. 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule provides procedures for the 
state to certify a decontamination specialist.  A fee is required 
at the time of initial application and re-certification.  It is 
anticipated that application fees will sustain this program and 
the personnel time involved.  Additional costs relative to 
personnel time will be covered through existing funding.  It is 
anticipated that the fiscal impact to the state for administration 
of the certification program will be limited. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no requirements for local 
government personnel to certify a decontamination specialist 
under Rule R311-500.  There is no anticipated fiscal impact to 
local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting 
and Decontamination Act, Decontamination Specialist 
Certification Program will apply to individuals seeking a 
Certificate or to those that are currently certified under the 
program.  It is unknown how many prospective applicants will 
apply for certification.  It is estimated that initial certification 
relating to a decontamination specialist may cost an individual 
approximately $850.  This includes a cost of $700 for the 
Occupational Safety Health Agency (OSHA) Hazardous 
Waste Operation and Emergency Response (HAZWOPER, 29 
CFR 1910.120) safety training required in Section R311-500-5 
and $150 for the applicable fees described in Section R311-
500-4.  This estimate does not include the individual's time or 
costs for training they may seek in preparation for certification 
and re-certification, time to study for and take the examination 
required under Section R311-500-5 or time required to 
maintain compliance with current rules and regulations.  It is 
estimated that re-certification relating to a decontamination 
specialist may cost an individual approximately $325.  This 
includes a cost of $175 for the OSHA HAZWOPER refresher 
training required in Section R311-500-5 and $150 for the 
applicable fees required in Section R311-500-7.  This estimate 
does not include the individual's time or costs for training they 
may seek in preparation for certification and re-certification, 
time to study for and take the examination required under 
Sections R311-500-5 and R311-500-7 or time required to 
maintain compliance with current rules and regulations. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It is estimated that 
initial certification relating to a decontamination specialist may 
cost an individual approximately $850.  This includes a cost of 
$700 for the OSHA HAZWOPER (29 CFR 1910.120) safety 
training required in Section R311-500-5 and $150 for the 
 

applicable fees described in Section R311-500-4.  This 
estimate does not include the individual's time or costs for 
training they may seek in preparation for certification and re-
certification, time to study for and take the examination 
required under Section R311-500-5, or time required to 
maintain compliance with current rules and regulations.  It is 
estimated that re-certification relating to a decontamination 
specialist may cost an individual approximately $325.  This 
includes a cost of $175 for the OSHA HAZWOPER refresher 
training required in Section R311-500-5 and $150 for the 
applicable fees required in Section R311-500-7.  This estimate 
does not include the individual's time or costs for training they 
may seek in preparation for certification and re-certification, 
time to study for and take the examination required under 
Sections R311-500-5 and R311-500-7 or time required to 
maintain compliance with current rules and regulations. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rule R311-500 provides 
certification criteria for any private person, firm, or entity 
performing decontamination of property on the contamination 
list specified in the statute.  Individuals conducting cleanups 
should be able to reasonably meet the requirements 
established in the rule since the OSHA HAZWOPER 
certification standard is common in the environmental cleanup 
field and the examination required in the rule will be based on 
current, accepted procedures and information.  Standardized 
training requirements and certification provide consistency 
across the state, which will likely increase the effectiveness of 
assessment and cleanup.  Without this rule, property owners 
with contaminated property may be left with an unmarketable 
piece of property.  Decontamination of clandestine drug 
laboratories will mitigate risk to human health and the 
environment while removing the stigma attached to 
contaminated sites, allowing impacted properties to be 
returned to beneficial use.  Dianne Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
ENVIRONMENTAL RESPONSE AND REMEDIATION 
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Bill Rees or Brent Everett at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4167 or 801-536-4171, by FAX at 801-536-4242 or 
801-536-4242, or by Internet E-mail at brees@utah.gov or 
beverett@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
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R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-500.  Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting and 
Decontamination Act, Decontamination Specialist Certification 
Program. 
R311-500-1.  Objective, Scope and Authority. 
 (a)  Objective.  The Decontamination Specialist Certification 
Program is designed to assist in helping ensure that personnel in 
charge of decontamination are trained to perform cleanups and 
knowledgeable of established decontamination standards; to develop 
methods whereby an applicant can demonstrate competency and 
obtain certification to become a Certified Decontamination 
Specialist; to protect the public health and the environment; and to 
provide for the health and safety of personnel involved in 
decontamination activities. 
 (b)  Scope.  These certification rules apply to individuals who 
perform decontamination of property that is on the contamination 
list specified in Section 19-6-903(3)(b) of the Illegal Drug 
Operations Site Reporting and Decontamination Act. 
 (c)  Authority.  Section 19-6-906 directs the Department of 
Environmental Quality Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board, 
in consultation with the Department of Health and local Health 
Departments, to make rules to establish within the Division of 
Environmental Response and Remediation: 
 (1)  certification standards for any private person, firm, or 
entity involved in the decontamination of contaminated property; 
and 
 (2)  a process for revoking the certification of a 
Decontamination Specialist who fails to maintain the certification 
standards. 
 
R311-500-2.  Definitions. 
 (a)  Refer to Section 19-6-902 for definitions not found in this 
rule. 
 (b)  For the purposes of the Decontamination Specialist 
Certification Program rules: 
 (1)  "Applicant" means any individual who applies to become a 
Certified Decontamination Specialist or applies to renew the existing 
certificate. 
 (2)  "Board" means the Solid and Hazardous Waste Control 
Board. 
 (3)  "Certificate" means a document that evidences 
certification. 
 (4)  "Certification" means approval by the Executive Secretary 
or the Board to perform decontamination of contaminated property 
under Title 19 Chapter 6, Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting and 
Decontamination Act. 
 (5)  "Certification Program" means the Division's process for 
issuing and revoking the Certification. 
 (6)  "Confirmation Sampling" means collecting samples during 
a preliminary assessment or upon completion of decontamination 
activities to confirm that contamination is below the 
decontamination standards outlined in R392-600, Illegal Drug 
Operations Decontamination Standards. 
 (7)  "Decontamination" means treatment or removal of 
contamination by a decontamination specialist or as otherwise 
allowed in the Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting and 
Decontamination Act to reduce concentrations below the 
decontamination standards defined in R392-600 and to remove 
property from the contamination list specified in Subsection 19-6-
903(3)(b). 

 (8)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality. 
 (9)  "Division" means the Division of Environmental Response 
and Remediation. 
 (10)  "Executive Secretary" means the Executive Secretary 
(UST)  of the Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board or the 
Executive Secretary's designated representative. 
 (11)  "Lapse" in reference to the Certification, means to 
terminate automatically. 
 (12)  "UAPA" means the Utah Administrative Procedures Act, 
Title 63 Chapter 46b. 
 
R311-500-3.  Delegation of Powers and Duties to the Executive 
Secretary. 
 (a)  The Executive Secretary is delegated authority by the 
Board to administer the Decontamination Specialist Certification 
Program established within the Division. 
 (b)  The Executive Secretary may take any action necessary or 
incidental to develop certification standards and issue or revoke a 
certificate.  These actions include but are not limited to: 
 (1)  Establishing certification standards; 
 (2)  Establishing and reviewing applications, certifications, or 
other data; 
 (3)  Establishing and conducting testing and training; 
 (4)  Denying applications; 
 (5)  Issuing certifications; 
 (6)  Evaluating compliance with the performance standards 
established in Section R311-500-8 through observations in the field, 
review of sampling methodologies and records or other means; 
 (7)  Renewing certifications; 
 (8)  Revoking certifications; 
 (9)  Issuing notices and initial orders; 
 (10)  Enforcing notices, orders and rules on behalf of the 
Board; and 
 (11)  Requiring a Certified Decontamination Specialist or 
applicant to furnish information or records relating to his or her 
fitness to be a Certified Decontamination Specialist. 
 
R311-500-4.  Application for Certification. 
 (a)  Any individual may apply for certification by paying the 
applicable fees and by submitting an application to the Executive 
Secretary to demonstrate that the applicant: 
 (1)  meets the eligibility requirements specified in R311-500-5; 
and 
 (2)  will comply with the performance standards specified in 
R311-500-8 after receiving a certificate. 
 (b)  Applications submitted under R311-500-4 shall be on a 
form approved by the Executive Secretary and shall be reviewed by 
the Executive Secretary to determine if the applicant is eligible for 
certification. 
 
R311-500-5.  Eligibility for Certification. 
 (a)  For initial and renewal certification, an applicant must: 
 (1)  Meet Occupational Safety and Health Agency safety 
training requirements in accordance with 29 CFR 1910.120 and any 
other applicable safety training, including refresher training, as 
required by federal and state law; and 
 (2)  Successfully pass a certification examination developed 
and administered under the direction of the Executive Secretary. 
 (A)  The contents of the initial certification examination and the 
renewal certification examination as well as the percentage of 
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correct answers required to pass the examinations shall be 
determined by the Executive Secretary before the tests are 
administered.  The Executive Secretary may offer a less 
comprehensive renewal certification examination to those 
individuals that have completed a Division sponsored renewal-
training course. 
 (B)  The Executive Secretary shall determine the frequency and 
dates of the certification examinations. 
 (C)  For applicants that fail the initial certification examination 
or the renewal certification examination, the Executive Secretary 
may offer one additional examination within one month of the 
original test date without requiring submittal of a new application.  
The applicant shall pay a fee determined by the Executive Secretary 
to cover the cost of the additional testing.  Applicants that fail the re-
examination shall wait six months prior to submitting a new 
application in accordance with R311-500-4. 
 
R311-500-6.  Certification. 
 (a)  Initial certification for all certificate holders shall be 
effective for a period of two years from the date of issuance, unless 
revoked before the expiration date pursuant to R311-500-9.  
Certificates shall be subject to periodic renewal pursuant to R311-
500-7. 
 
R311-500-7.  Renewal. 
 (a)  A certificate holder may apply for certificate renewal by 
successfully completing the following prior to the expiration date of 
the current certificate: 
 (1)  Submitting a completed renewal application on a form 
approved by the Executive Secretary within the dates specified by 
the Executive Secretary; 
 (2)  Paying any applicable fees; and 
 (3)  Passing a certification renewal examination. 
 (A)  If the Executive Secretary determines that the applicant 
meets the eligibility requirements of R311-500-5 and will comply 
with the performance standards of R311-500-8, the Executive 
Secretary shall reissue the certificate to the applicant. 
 (B)  If the Executive Secretary determines that the applicant 
does not meet the eligibility requirements described in R311-500-5 
or will not comply or has not complied with the performance 
standards of R311-500-8, the Executive Secretary may issue a notice 
to deny certification in a manner consistent with R311-500-9. 
 (b)  Renewal certificates shall be valid for two years and shall 
be subject to revocation under R311-500-9. 
 (c)  Any individual who is not a Certified Decontamination 
Specialist on the date the renewal certification examination is given 
because the applicant's certification was revoked or expired prior to 
completing a renewal application must successfully meet the 
application and eligibility criteria for initial certification as specified 
in R311-500-4 and R311-500-5 prior to issuance of a certificate. 
 
R311-500-8.  Performance Standards. 
 (a)  A Certified Decontamination Specialist performing 
decontamination activities at contaminated property: 
 (1)  shall be certified prior to engaging in any decontamination 
activities for the purpose of removing the contaminated property 
from the list referenced in Section 19-6-903(3)(b)  and display the 
certificate upon request; 
 (2)  shall report to the local Health Department the location of 
any property that is the subject of decontamination work by the 
Decontamination Specialist; 

 (3)  shall file a workplan with the local Health Department; 
 (4)  shall perform work in accordance with the workplan; 
 (5)  shall perform work meeting applicable local, state and 
federal laws, including certification and licensing requirements for 
performing construction work; 
 (6)  shall oversee and supervise all decontamination activities 
and ensure any person(s)  assisting with decontamination work at 
contaminated property meets Occupational Safety and Health 
Agency safety training requirements in accordance with 29 CFR 
1910.120; 
 (7)  shall make all decisions regarding decontamination and be 
the only individual conducting confirmation sampling; 
 (8)  shall follow scientifically sound and accepted sampling 
procedures; 
 (9)  shall submit a Final Report to the local Health Department, 
which includes an affidavit stating that the property has been 
decontaminated to the standards outlined in R392-600; 
 (10)  shall maintain a current address and phone number on file 
with the Division; 
 (11)  shall not participate in fraudulent, unethical, deceitful or 
dishonest activity with respect to performance of work for which 
certification is granted; and 
 (12)  shall not participate in any other activities regulated under 
R311-500 without meeting all requirements of that certification 
program. 
 
R311-500-9.  Denial of Application and Revocation of 
Certification. 
 (a)  The Executive Secretary may issue a notice denying an 
application or an initial order or notice of intent to revoke a 
certification.  The initial order or notice shall become final unless 
contested as outlined in R311-501. 
 (b)  Grounds for denial of an application or revocation of a 
certification may include any of the following: 
 (1)  Failure to meet any of the application and eligibility criteria 
established in R311-500-4 and R311-500-5; 
 (2)  Failure to submit a completed application; 
 (3)  Evidence of past or current criminal activity; 
 (4)  Demonstrated disregard for the public health, safety or the 
environment; 
 (5)  Misrepresentation or falsification of figures, reports and/or 
data submitted to the local Health Department or the State; 
 (6)  Cheating on a certification examination; 
 (7)  Falsely obtaining or altering a certificate; 
 (8)  Negligence, incompetence or misconduct in the 
performance of duties as a Certified Decontamination Specialist; 
 (9)  Failure to furnish information or records required by the 
Executive Secretary to demonstrate fitness to be a Certified 
Decontamination Specialist; or 
 (10)  Violation of any certification or performance standard 
specified in this rule. 
 
R311-500-10.  No Preemption. 
 (a)  Certification to work as a Certified Decontamination 
Specialist does not relieve an individual from any requirement to 
obtain additional licenses or certificates in different specialties to the 
extent required by other agencies whose jurisdiction and authority 
may overlap the decontamination work.  The Certified 
Decontamination Specialist shall obtain the additional licenses or 
certificates prior to performing the work for which the additional 
license or certificate is required.  The Illegal Drug Operations Site 
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Reporting and Decontamination Act Decontamination Specialist 
Certification Program rules do not preempt or supercede rules or 
standards promulgated by other regulatory programs in the State of 
Utah. 
 
R311-500-11.  Certified Decontamination Specialist List. 
 (a)  The Executive Secretary shall maintain a current list of 
Certified Decontamination Specialists that shall be made available to 
the public upon request. 
 
KEY:  meth lab contractor certification 
2005 
19-6-901 et seq. 
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Response and Remediation 

R311-501 
Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting 
and Decontamination Act, Contesting 

an Initial Order or Notice 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27783 
FILED:  03/30/2005, 14:53 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
proposed new rule outlines processes to contest a decision by 
the Executive Secretary to deny an application submitted 
under Title 19, Chapter 6, Illegal Drug Operations Site 
Reporting and Decontamination Act, or revoke a Certificate 
issued under Section R311-500-6, Decontamination Specialist 
Certification Program. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule outlines a process 
to contest a decision by the Executive Secretary to deny an 
application submitted under Title 19, Chapter 6, or revoke a 
Certificate issued under Section R311-500-6.  (DAR NOTE:  
The proposed new Rule R311-500 is under DAR No. 27782 in 
this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-6-901 et seq. 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule provides procedures for an 
individual to contest a decision by the Executive Secretary to 
deny an application submitted under Title 19, Chapter 6,  or 
revoke a Certificate issued under Section R311-500-6.  
Personnel costs relating to this matter will be covered by 
existing funding.  It is anticipated that the fiscal impact to the 
state will be limited. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no requirements for local 
government personnel to certify a decontamination specialist. 
 There is no anticipated fiscal impact to local government. 

❖  OTHER PERSONS:  A certified decontamination specialist or 
individual applying for certification may be affected by the 
subject rule if they need to contest a decision by the Executive 
Secretary to deny an application or revoke a Certificate 
previously issued.  The fiscal impact of this activity to an 
individual is unknown. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  A certified 
decontamination specialist or individual applying for 
certification may be affected by the subject rule if they need to 
contest a decision by the Executive Secretary to deny an 
application or revoke a Certificate previously issued.  The 
fiscal impact of this activity to an individual is unknown. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rule R311-501 clarifies the 
due process afforded an individual contesting a decision by 
the Executive Secretary to deny an application submitted 
under Title 19, Chapter 6, or revoking a Certificate issued 
under Section R311-500-6.  It is believed that the fiscal impact 
to individuals and businesses will be limited.  The rules are an 
important element of the Decontamination Specialist 
Certification Program and in conjunction with cleanup rules 
established by the Department of Health will provide a fully 
functioning drug lab cleanup program in Utah.  Dianne 
Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
ENVIRONMENTAL RESPONSE AND REMEDIATION 
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Bill Rees or Brent Everett at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4167 or 801-536-4171, by FAX at 801-536-4242 or 
801-536-4242, or by Internet E-mail at brees@utah.gov or 
beverett@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-501.  Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting and 
Decontamination Act, Contesting an Initial Order or Notice. 
R311-501-1.  Objective, Scope and Authority. 
 (a)  Objective.  The rules outline a process to contest a decision 
by the Executive Secretary to deny an application submitted under 
Title 19 Chapter 6, Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting and 
Decontamination Act, or revoke a Certificate issued under R311-
500-6. 
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 (b)  Scope.  These rules apply to proceedings under Title 19, 
Chapter 6, Illegal Drug Operations Site Reporting and 
Decontamination Act, Subsection 906(2)  (Decontamination 
Specialist Certification and Revocation). 
 (c)  Authority.  Section 19-6-906 directs the Department of 
Environmental Quality Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board, 
in consultation with the Department of Health and local Health 
Departments, to make rules to establish within the Division of 
Environmental Response and Remediation: 
 (1)  certification standards for any private person, firm, or 
entity involved in the decontamination of contaminated property; 
and 
 (2)  a process for revoking the certification of a 
Decontamination Specialist who fails to maintain the certification 
standards. 
 
R311-501-2.  Orders, Notices and Other Decisions by the 
Executive Secretary. 
 (a)  The initial order and notice described in R311-500-9 shall 
be issued by the Executive Secretary. 
 (b)  An initial order or notice shall become final in 30 days 
unless contested as described in R311-501-3.  Failure to contest an 
initial order or notice waives any right of administrative review or 
judicial appeal. 
 
R311-501-3.  Contesting an Initial Order or Notice Issued by the 
Executive Secretary. 
 (a)  The validity of an initial order or notice described in R311-
500-9 may be contested by filing a written Request for Agency 
Action with the Board: 
 Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board 
 Division of Solid and Hazardous Waste 
 288 North 1460 West 
 PO Box 144880 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4880. 
 (b)  Any such request is governed by and shall comply with the 
requirements of Section 63-46b-3(3)  of UAPA, and shall be 
received for filing within 30 days of the issuance of the Executive 
Secretary's order or notice. 
 (c)  Notice of the time and place for a hearing shall be provided 
in the response to a request for Agency Action, or shall be provided 
promptly after the hearing is scheduled. 
 (d)  A Request for Agency Action, and all subsequent 
proceedings acting on that request, are governed by UAPA 
 
R311-501-4.  Intervention. 
 (a)  Intervention shall not be allowed. 
 
R311-501-5.  Conduct of Proceedings. 
 (a)  The Board is the "agency head" as that term is used in 
UAPA. The Board is also the "presiding officer," as that term is used 
in UAPA, except: 
 (1)  The Chair of the Board shall be considered the Presiding 
Officer to the extent that these rules allow; and 
 (2)  The Board may by order appoint a Presiding Officer to 
preside over all or a portion of the proceedings. 
 (b)  The Chair of the Board may delegate his/her authority as 
specified in this Rule to another Board member or Department 
employee. 
 (c)  Unless otherwise explicitly provided in an order of 
appointment, any appointment of a Presiding Officer or Presiding 

Officers shall be for the purpose of conducting all aspects of an 
adjudicative proceeding, except issuance of the final order. See also 
R311-501-7 regarding orders of Presiding Officers. 
 (d)  Proceedings pursuant to a Request for Agency Action shall 
be conducted formally if the Request for Agency Action is made to 
contest the validity of the following: 
 (1)  An order or notice revoking a certification; 
 (2)  A notice denying an application; or 
 (3)  A consent order. 
 (e)  The Board may convert proceedings, which are designated 
to be formal to informal, and proceedings, which are designated as 
informal to formal, if conversion is in the public interest and rights 
of all parties are not unfairly prejudiced. See Section 63-46b-4(3)  of 
UAPA. 
 (f)  The Presiding Officer(s)  may direct the Parties to appear at 
a specified time and place for a pre- hearing conference(s)  for the 
purposes of clarifying the issues, simplifying the evidence, 
facilitating discovery, expediting proceedings, or encouraging 
settlement. 
 (g)  Unless otherwise directed by the Presiding Officer(s), 
parties to the proceeding may submit a pre-hearing brief at least five 
business days before the hearing. Post-hearing briefs will be allowed 
only as authorized by the Board. Parties are not required to submit 
pre-hearing or post-hearing briefs unless directed to do so by the 
Presiding Officer(s).  Pre-hearing and post-hearing briefs shall not 
exceed 15 pages unless otherwise provided by the Presiding Officer 
for all Parties. 
 (1)  Response briefs may not be filed unless permitted by the 
Presiding Officer(s). 
 (h)  Parties to a proceeding are encouraged to prepare a joint 
proposed schedule addressing the matters specified in subparagraph 
(i).  If the parties cannot agree on a joint proposed schedule, the 
Presiding Officer(s)  may consider proposals by any party. 
 (i)  The Presiding Officer(s)  shall establish schedules for 
discovery and other pre-hearing proceedings, for the hearing, and for 
any post-hearing proceedings. 
 (j)  Except as otherwise provided by statute, the Presiding 
Officer(s)  may approve extensions of time limits established by this 
rule, and may extend time limits adopted in schedules established 
under subparagraph (i). The Presiding Officer(s)  may also postpone 
hearings. The Chair of the Board may act as Presiding Officer for 
purposes of this paragraph. 
 (k)  Time shall be computed as provided in Rule 6(a)  of the 
Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. No additional time shall be allowed 
for service by mail. 
 (l)  All motions shall be filed a minimum of ten days before a 
scheduled hearing, unless otherwise allowed or required by the 
Presiding Officer(s). A memorandum in opposition to a motion may 
be filed within eight days of the filing of the motion, or at least one 
day before any scheduled hearing, whichever is earlier. Memoranda 
in support of or in opposition to motions may not exceed 15 pages 
unless otherwise provided by the Presiding Officer. 
 (m)  The original of any motion, brief, request for intervention, 
or other submission shall be filed with the Executive Secretary. In 
addition, the submitter shall provide a copy to each Presiding Officer 
and, through counsel of record if applicable, to each party. 
 
R311-501-6.  Hearings. 
 (a)  The Presiding Officer(s)  shall govern the conduct of a 
hearing, and may establish reasonable limits on the length of witness 
testimony and cross-examination, and on the length of argument. 
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 (b)  Unless otherwise directed by the Presiding Officer(s), the 
Petitioner shall present its case first, followed by the Executive 
Secretary, unless the Executive Secretary is the petitioner, and any 
other Parties. Rebuttal, if any, shall follow the same order. 
 (c)  If a party desires to employ a court reporter to make a 
record of the hearing, the original transcript of the hearing shall be 
filed with the presiding officer at no cost to the agency to enable the 
Presiding Officer to refer to the transcript in drafting the proposed 
order for the Board. 
 
R311-501-7.  Orders. 
 (a)  Unless otherwise directed by the Presiding Officer(s), each 
party may provide proposed orders for the Presiding Officer(s)  
within three days of the conclusion of the hearing. 
 (b)  A Presiding Officer or Presiding Officers appointed for the 
purpose of conducting all aspects of an adjudicative proceeding, 
except issuance of the final order, shall prepare a draft order. A copy 
of the draft order shall be provided to all Parties. 
 (c)  Any Party may, within 10 days of the date the draft order is 
mailed, delivered, or published, comment on the draft order. Such 
comments shall be limited to 15 pages, and shall cite to specific 
parts of the record, which support the comments. 
 (d)  The Board shall review the draft order, comments on the 
draft order, and those specific parts of the record cited by the Parties 
in any comments. The Board shall then determine whether to accept 
or modify the draft order, to remand the matter to an appointed 
Presiding Officer or Presiding Officers for further proceedings, or to 
act as Presiding Officers for further proceedings. 
 (e)  The Board may modify this procedure with notice to all 
Parties. 
 (f)  An order shall include the information required by Sections 
63-46b-10 or 63-46b-5(1)(i)  of UAPA. 
 
R311-501-8.  Stays of Orders. 
 (a)  A Party seeking a Stay of the Order of the Executive 
Secretary shall file a motion with the Presiding Officer(s). A Stay, if 
granted, would suspend the effect of the challenged Order. 
 (b)  The Presiding Officer(s)  may order a stay of the Executive 
Secretary's Order if the Party seeking the Stay demonstrates that: 
 (1)  The Party seeking the Stay will suffer irreparable harm 
unless the stay issues; 
 (2)  The threatened injury to the Party seeking the Stay 
outweighs whatever damage the proposed stay is likely to cause the 
Party restrained or enjoined; 
 (3)  The Stay, if issued, would not be adverse to the public 
interest; and 
 (4)  There is substantial likelihood that the Party seeking the 
Stay will prevail on the merits of the underlying claim, or the case 
presents serious issues on the merits which should be the subject of 
further evaluation by the Presiding Officer(s). 
 (c)  The Board as Presiding Officer may grant a stay of its order 
(or the Order of its appointed Presiding Officer)  during the 
pendency of judicial review if the standards of R311-501-8(b)  are 
met. 
 
R311-501-9.  Reconsideration. 
 (a)  No agency review under Section 63-46b-12 of UAPA is 
available. A Party may request reconsideration of an order of the 
Presiding Officer(s)  as provided in Section 63-46b-13 of UAPA. 
 

R311-501-10.  Disqualification of Presiding Officer(s). 
 (a)  A member of the Board or other Presiding Officer shall 
disqualify him/herself from performing the functions of the 
Presiding Officer regarding any matter in which: 
 (1)  He/she, or his/her spouse, or a person within the third 
degree of relationship to either of them, or the spouse of such 
person: 
 (A)  Is a party to the proceeding, or an officer, director, or 
trustee of a Party; 
 (B)  Has acted as an attorney in the proceeding or served as an 
attorney for, or otherwise represented a Party concerning the matter 
in controversy; 
 (C)  Knows that he/she has a financial interest, either 
individually or as a fiduciary, in the subject matter in controversy or 
in a Party to the proceeding; 
 (D)  Knows that he/she has any other interest that could be 
substantially affected by the outcome of the proceeding; or 
 (E)  Is likely to be a material witness in the proceeding. 
 (b)  The Presiding Officer is subject to disqualification under 
principles of due process and administrative law. 
 (c)  A motion for disqualification shall be made first to the 
Presiding Officer or Presiding Officers. If the Presiding Officer is or 
Presiding Officers are appointed, any determination of the Presiding 
Officer or Presiding Officers upon a motion for disqualification may 
be appealed to the Board. 
 (a)  Nothing in these rules shall prevent any person from 
requesting an opportunity to address the Board as a member of the 
public, rather than as a party. An opportunity to address the Board 
shall be granted at the discretion of the Board. However, addressing 
the Board in this manner does not constitute a request for agency 
action under R311-501-3. 
 (a)  Requests for records under the Utah Government Record 
Access and Management Act, Title 63, Chapter 2, Utah Code Ann., 
are not governed by R311-501. See R305-1, U.A.C. 
 
KEY:  meth lab certification revocation 
2005 
19-6-901 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Pursuant to 
Subsection 62A-4a-208(4), the Office of Child Protection 
Ombudsman is required to make rules regarding the 
receiving, processing, and investigation of complaints 
regarding the Utah Division of Child and Family Services 
(DCFS). 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This proposed rule outlines 
the receiving and processing of complaints; notification to 
complainants and DCFS regarding a decision to investigate or 
to decline to investigate a complaint; prioritizing workload; 
investigative timeframes; notifying complainants and the 
DCFS regarding the results of investigations; and making 
recommendations based on the findings and results of 
recommendations. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 62A-4a-208(4) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--This is an existing process that 
already has an existing budget.  Therefore there are no costs 
or savings to the state. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This process only affects 
DCFS and has no affect on local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  None--This rule is related only to the 
receiving and processing of complaints from persons with a 
grievance regarding DCFS.  There is no cost to the individuals 
filing a complaint. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--This rule is 
related only to the receiving and processing of complaints 
from persons with a grievance regarding DCFS.  There is no 
cost to the individuals filing a complaint. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule does not have any 
fiscal impact on any businesses as it is a rule related only to 
the receiving and processing of complainants regarding 
DCFS.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
CHILD PROTECTION OMBUDSMAN (OFFICE OF) 
Room 422  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Cook at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4626, 
by FAX at 801-538-3942, or by Internet E-mail at 
cacook@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 

AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R515.  Human Services, Child Protection Ombudsman (Office 
of). 
R515-1.  Processing Complaints Regarding the Utah Division of 
Child and Family Services. 
R515-1-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to outline the processing of 
complaints regarding the Utah Division of Child and Family 
Services. 
 
R515-1-2.  Statutory Authority. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 62A-4a-208, the Office of Child 
Protection Ombudsman is authorized to receive and investigate 
complaints regarding the Utah Division of Child and Family 
Services. 
 
R515-1-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Ombudsman's Office" means the Office of Child 
Protection Ombudsman. 
 (2)  "Complainant" means any person who files a complaint 
with the Ombudsman's Office. 
 (3)  "Division" means the Utah Division of Child and Family 
Services. 
 (4)  "Services Review Analyst" means an employee of the 
Ombudsman's Office assigned to conduct investigations of 
complaints. 
 (5)  "Complaint" means a grievance filed with the 
Ombudsman's Office regarding the Division or its employees. 
 
R515-1-4.  Receiving and Processing Complaints. 
 (1)  The complainant may file a written, oral, or electronic 
complaint with the Ombudsman's Office no later than 18 months 
from the date of the alleged circumstances giving rise to the 
complaint. 
 (2)  An electronic complaint may be filed at 
http://www.hsocpo.utah.gov/file_complaint.htm. 
 (3)  The complaint will include: 
 (a)  A summary of the alleged circumstances giving rise to the 
complaint. 
 (b)  The persons involved in the complaint. 
 (c)  A summary of the actions taken by the complainant to 
resolve the complaint. 
 (i)  If there has been no attempt to resolve the complaint with 
the Division, the Ombudsman's Office may refer the complaint to 
the Division for a response. 
 (d)  The anticipated outcome the complainant is seeking. 
 (e)  The complainant may request that the Ombudsman's Office 
conduct an investigation of the complaint. 
 (4)  The Ombudsman's Office will send the complainant a 
Notice of Agency Action regarding the decision made to accept or 
deny an investigation request. 
 (a)  If an investigation request is accepted the Services Review 
Analyst shall: 
 (i)  Interview the complainant and gather information as 
necessary to determine the validity of the complaint. 
 (ii)  Document the findings of the investigation. 
 (iii)  May make recommendations to the Division to address the 
complaints found to be valid. 
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 (b)  The investigation will be completed within 180 days from 
the date of file the complaint, taking into consideration extenuating 
circumstances such as the complexity of the case or workload. 
 (6)  The Ombudsman's Office will notify the complainant upon 
the completion of the investigation by issuing a Notice of Agency 
Action. 
 (7)  If a complaint indicates there is an immediate risk to the 
safety of a child or children, the Ombudsman's Office will 
immediately notify the Division. 
 
KEY:  complaint, DCFS, ombudsman, investigation 
2005 
62A-4a-208(4) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Human Services, Services for People 
with Disabilities 

R539-2-6 
Entry Into and Movement Within 

Service System 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27792 
FILED:  04/01/2005, 12:47 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
amendment makes two minor grammatical changes and 
removes the requirement for receiving Providers to be notified 
and present at the discharge meeting. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Support Coordinators are 
not required to notify the receiving Provider of the person's 
discharge meeting. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-5-102 and 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no anticipated cost.  The 
amendment does not reflect a change in Division 
methodology.  These procedures are already in practice. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No local government funding is used. 
 There is no cost to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no additional cost to other 
persons.  The circumstances surrounding the person's 
discharge will determine if a receiving Provider is notified.  
The Support Coordinator and person in services will make that 
determination. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The circumstances 
surrounding the person's discharge will determine if a 
receiving Provider is notified.  The Support Coordinator and 
person in services will make that determination. 
 

COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Service Providers may lose or 
gain funding due to the movement of people among Providers. 
This is not a change to Division methodology.  No other fiscal 
impacts are identified beyond Service Providers under 
contract with the Division.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzie Totten at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
stotten@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
R539-2.  Service Coordination. 
R539-2-6.  Entry Into and Movement Within Service System. 
 (1)  The Division shall assure that an appropriate choice of 
supports and Providers exist for Persons entering or moving within 
the support system in accordance with Subsections 62A-5-103(1) 
and 62A-5-103(12).  The Division shall coordinate, approve, and 
oversee all out-of-home placements. 
 (2)  Entry into Division-funded supports: 
 (a)  Once a Person's application for waiver services is processed 
by the Division, the Person is referred to the local financial 
eligibility office. 
 (b)  Prior to the provision of community living supports, a 
Person may be required to complete a medical examination and, if 
under the age of 18, provide a current immunization record. 
 (c)  Admission to Division programs from a nursing facility 
will be coordinated by the Region office with the Person, the nursing 
facility social worker, the Support Coordinator, and the prospective 
Provider. 
 (d)  The Division shall provide Persons with a choice of 
Providers by: 
 (i)  sending Providers notice and invitation to submit offers to 
provide services via use of Division Form 1-6; and 
 (ii)  assisting the Person to make an informed choice of 
Provider. 
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 (e)  Interested Providers may schedule and coordinate a service 
entry meeting that involves the Person, the Representative, Support 
Coordinator, and invited guests, ([i.]e.g., Developmental Center 
staff, school representative, and Division staff).  The meeting should 
be held at the prospective site of placement whenever possible. 
 (f)  The Provider shall submit an acceptance or denial letter 
within ten business days of the service entry meeting to the Support 
Coordinator and the Person. An acceptance letter shall include a 
written description of the following: 
 (i)  services to be provided; 
 (ii)  location of the service; 
 (iii)  name and address of the primary care physician, or other 
medical specialists, including, for example, neurologist or dentist, if 
applicable; 
 (iv)  a training and in-service schedule for the staff to meet with 
the Person; 
 (v)  proposed date services will begin; and 
 (vi)  agreed upon rate and level of support. 
 (g)  The physical move of the Person shall be the responsibility 
of the Provider who is accepting the Person. 
 (h)  The Division shall send the Person's information to the 
Provider five business days prior to the move. 
 (3)  Any Team Member may initiate a request to change 
Provider or Developmental Center residence by asking the Support 
Coordinator to arrange a meeting. 
 (4)  If a Person requests a change of Provider, the Support 
Coordinator shall arrange a discharge meeting that provides a ten-
business-day written notice to the Person, present Provider, and 
Support Coordinator[, and receiving Provider]. 
 (a)  The present Provider may request the opportunity to make 
changes in the existing relationship to address the concerns that 
initiated the discharge meeting. 
 (b)  The Region Director shall make the final decision 
concerning the discharge if the parties cannot come to agreement. 
 (5)  A Provider initiated request for discharge of a Person shall 
require 90 calendar days prior notification to the Person and the 
Division. 
 (6)  Emergency Services Management Committee (ESMC): 
 (a)  An Emergency Services Management Committee 
chairperson shall be appointed by the Division Director.  
Membership shall include: 
 (i)  Division Specialists; 
 (ii)  a representative from each Region who is skilled in crisis 
intervention and knowledgeable of local resources; 
 (iii)  a representative from the Developmental Center; and 
 (iv)  others as appointed by the Division Director. 
 (b)  The Emergency Services Management Committee shall 
ensure that Persons are placed in the least restrictive most 
appropriate living situation as per Sections 62A-5-302 through 62A-
5-312 and Subsection 62A-5-402(2)(a).  Exceptions to the statute 
requiring children under age 11 to live only in family-like 
environments, as per Section 62A-5-403, require Emergency 
Services Management Committee review and recommendation to 
the Division Director for final written approval. 
 
KEY:  services, people with disabilities 
[March 12, ]2005 
62A-5-102 
62A-5-103 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Human Services, Services for People 
with Disabilities 

R539-3-10 
Prohibited Procedures 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27793 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 12:49 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment clarifies the procedures Providers are restricted in 
practicing while providing services to people receiving Home 
and Community-Based services funded by the Division. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment prohibits 
physical punishment, locked confinement, and the withholding 
of meals and assistive devices for people receiving funding by 
the Division. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-5-102 and 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no anticipated cost.  The 
new section does not reflect any change in methodology 
within the Division.  These standards are already in practice 
and will not require any additional funding. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No local government funding is used. 
 Therefore, there is no cost to local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no additional cost to other 
persons.  This rule clarifies the rights of people receiving 
services through Division funding.  It does not reflect a change 
in methodology within the Division or the Division's 
expectations of Service Providers. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule clarifies 
the rights of people receiving Home and Community-Based 
services through the Division.  It does not reflect a change in 
methodology within the Division or the Division's expectations 
of Service Providers. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule does not reflect a 
change in methodology within the Division or the Division's 
expectations of Service Providers.  No fiscal impacts are 
identified.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzie Totten at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
stotten@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
R539-3.  Rights and Protections. 
R539-3-10.  Prohibited Procedures. 
 (1)  The following procedures are prohibited for Division staff 
and Providers, including staff hired for Self-Administered Services, 
in all circumstances in supporting Persons receiving Division 
funding: 
 (a)  Physical punishment, such as slapping, hitting, and 
pinching. 
 (b)  Demeaning speech to a Person that ridicules or is abusive. 
 (c)  Locked confinement in a room. 
 (d)  Denial or restriction of access to assistive technology 
devices, except where removal prevents injury to self, others, or 
property as outlined in Sections R539-3-6 and R539-4-7. 
 (e)  Withholding or denial of meals, or other supports for 
biological needs, as a consequence or punishment for problems. 
 (f)  Any Level II or Level III Intervention, as defined in R539-
4-3(n) and R539-4-3(o), used as coercion, as convenience to staff, or 
in retaliation. 
 (g)  Any procedure in violation of R495-876, R512-202, R510-
302, 62A-3-301 thru 62A-3-321, and 62A-4a-402 thru 62A-4a-412 
prohibiting abuse. 
 
KEY:  people with disabilities, rights 
[March 12, ]2005 
62A-5-102 
62A-5-103 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Human Services, Services for People 
with Disabilities 

R539-5 
Preparation and Maintenance of Client 

Records 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27802 
FILED:  04/01/2005, 20:46 

 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
repealing of this rule is proposed after a comprehensive 
revision and consolidation of the Division's rules. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes involve 
repealing the current rule and replacing it with a new rule 
moving some information into the Provider's service contract 
with the Division.  The rule is repealed in its entirety.  (DAR 
NOTE:  The proposed new rule for R539-5 is under DAR No. 
27801 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-5-102 and 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--This revision does not alter the 
basic operations or functions of the Division and, therefore, 
does not result in either a cost or savings to the state. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local government funding is 
not used.  Therefore, there is no cost to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  None--This revision does not alter the 
basic operations or functions of the Division and, therefore, 
does not result in either a cost or savings to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This revision does 
not alter the basic operations or functions of the Division.  
Provider requirements now appear in their current service 
contracts.  This does not result in either cost or savings to 
Providers or other affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  None--This revision does not 
alter the basic operations or functions of the Division.  
Provider requirements now appear in their current service 
contracts.  This does not have a fiscal impact on service 
Providers.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzie Totten at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
stotten@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
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R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
[R539-5.  Preparation and Maintenance of Client Records. 
R539-5-1.  Provider Records for Individuals. 
 A.  Policy. 
Each provider shall be required to maintain an individual record for 
each person receiving services. Each record will contain all 
information required by the Office of Licensing (OL), Division of 
Services for People with Disabilities (DSPD), DSPD Regional 
Office, and Medicaid Provider Manual for Home and Community-
Based Services. All record information will be treated as 
confidential, locked and secured to protect the primary interests of 
the recipient. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  Each individual record will contain the following 
demographic and program information, unless the competent 
recipient objects to the inclusion of any item: 
 a.  Name, birth date, individual I.D. and Medicaid numbers (if 
applicable); 
 b.  Photo of individual receiving services; 
 c.  Name, address, and telephone number of the individual's 
guardian, or other emergency contact person, and instructions on 
how to contact that person; 
 d.  Name and telephone number of the individual's primary care 
physician, and medical insurance, if any; 
 e.  Health information to include, for example, prescribed 
medication(s), allergies, and chronic complaints; 
 f.  Reports of physical and dental examinations, and records of 
illness, accidents, or injuries; 
 g.  Reports of behavioral or other incidents involving the 
recipient; 
 h.  Authorization for emergency medical treatment; 
 i.  Administration of medication, first aid, and referrals to 
health care facility (if applicable); 
 j.  A social history, psychological evaluation, and 
documentation of eligibility for services; 
 k.  Annual Individual Program Plan (IPP), including semi-
annual review; 
 l.  Admission and termination dates and documentation; 
 m.  Monthly progress notes and supporting data collection 
sheets. Data collection sheets not maintained in the individual's 
record shall be available for review; 
 n.  Documentation of persons reviewing an individual's record 
to include signature, title, date, and reason for examining the record. 
Provider staff shall have access to those portions of the record which 
directly relates to their work assignment; 
 o.  Release of information forms when appropriate. DSPD 
approval must be obtained prior to release of records to anyone 
except the recipient of services and legal representative. 
 2.  The purchase of service provider must develop and maintain 
written documentation for each Home and Community-Based 
Services Waiver for which billing is made, that includes at least the 
following: 
 a.  Name of the recipient; 
 b.  The specific services rendered; 
 c.  The date and hours of attendance; 
 d.  Who rendered the services; 
 e.  The setting in which the services were rendered to include, 
for example, day treatment facility, recipient's home; 
 f.  The relationship of the services to the treatment regimen 
described in the IPP; 

 g.  Updates or description of the recipient's progress (semi-
annual and annual reviews). 
 3.  The provider will deliver the individual records to the DSPD 
regional office upon written request. 
 4.  When the records contain information which would be 
classified as confidential or private, pursuant to 63-2-101 through 
108, the Provider will observe the requirements of 63-2-202 in 
safeguarding and releasing information. 
 
R539-5-2.  Personal Funds Management. 
 A.  Policy. 
Each individual receiving services shall receive training, support, 
and opportunities to manage finances to the maximum extent 
possible. Acknowledging that individuals served in DSPD have 
income sources not originating with DSPD/DHS (including for 
example, SSI, SSA, employment income), the Division requires 
Providers to document the handling of the personal funds in a 
fashion that is least intrusive to the individual, and in a manner that 
is in keeping with the intent of the income source. 
 
R539-5-3.  Provider Policy and Records. 
 A.  Policy. 
Providers shall set up written policies which include a description of 
the program services to be offered, philosophy, objectives and the 
population to be served. The Provider will comply with the OL and 
DSPD policy and record requirements. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  The Provider shall maintain service records which include 
the following information: 
 a.  Name and address of the facility, and owner or sponsoring 
agency; 
 b.  Agency or corporate organizational chart including names of 
consultants and employees; 
 c.  Job descriptions for all personnel including volunteers with 
ongoing involvement; 
 d.  Policy specifying the amount of time family or friends may 
stay as overnight guests; 
 e.  Grievance procedures for individuals receiving services. 
 (1)  A copy shall be given to each individual which will be read 
and explained to each individual and guardian, and shall be 
documented by a statement signed by the individual and guardian 
and maintained in the individual's record. 
 (2)  Individuals receiving services shall be provided with the 
telephone number of the DSPD case manager and the 24-hour 
emergency number of the DSPD regional office at which the case 
manager works; 
 f.  Financial policy regarding management of the finances of 
the individuals receiving services, room and board charges, and food 
stamps consistent with R539-5-2.A. The policy must ensure that all 
individual funds managed by the Provider are released at the time of 
discharge, or upon demand to the individual or legal guardian after 
outstanding bills are paid. 
 (1)  The Provider shall have a written agreement signed by the 
recipient and legal representative which specifies in advance the 
fees, absenteeism, vacations, leave policy, extra costs charged for 
care and services, obligations concerning payment of such charges 
and the Provider's refund policy. 
 (2)  Providers will assist individuals, receiving their services, in 
applying for unearned income benefits for which an individual may 
be entitled, including Food Stamp benefits. 
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 (a)  Food Stamp benefits shall be managed as per Office of 
Family Support (OFS) Regulations, and may be used to supplement 
food costs of the group home and supervised apartment services in 
which the recipient of food stamps resides; 
 (b)  The receipt and disbursement of food stamps will be 
properly documented by the Provider. 
 (3)  Where a parent or guardian is representative payee for an 
individual, the Provider shall receive all service fees from the payee. 
 (4)  The Provider may act as representative payee for an 
individual receiving group home or supervised apartment services, if 
necessary and when requested in writing by the individual or the 
individual's guardian. 
 g.  Civil Rights Policy, to include R539-2-1, R539-2-3, Section 
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (P.L. 93-112), and the 
American with Disabilities Act of 1990 (P.L. 101-336); 
 h.  Emergency procedures for injury, illness, and death of an 
individual receiving services, that are readily accessible in the 
facility. These procedures shall include instructions on when to 
notify the guardian, DSPD, and DSPD regional office; 
 i.  Emergency procedures for fire and disaster including a plan 
for evacuation shall be posted at each facility. 
 (1)  A training program covering these procedures for 
individuals receiving services shall be developed, and conducted 
quarterly; 
 (2)  Documentation of quarterly evacuation drills shall be 
maintained by the Provider; 
 j.  R539-2-6 regarding abuse or neglect of individuals with 
disabilities. This policy shall be available in the facility. Each 
employee shall read and sign a statement indicating that the 
employee has read the policy. This statement must be maintained in 
the employee's personnel file; 
 k.  Operating policies, procedures, and personnel practices. 
 2.  The Provider shall orient the prospective service recipient 
regarding the Individual Program Plan (IPP) process and the 
involvement of the individual receiving services in that process; 
 3.  Individuals who are sponsored by agencies or individuals 
other than DSPD shall receive the same level of service from the 
Provider as individuals who are sponsored by DSPD. 
 4.  Each Provider shall maintain the following records where 
applicable. 
 a.  A license stating the maximum number of individuals 
allowed to reside in the facility; 
 b.  Documentation of compliance with zoning, life safety, 
health, and fire inspections as required for licensure, if appropriate; 
 c.  Copies of any contracts or agreements with other service 
agencies or individuals in the community regularly providing 
services through the auspices of the Provider to the individuals 
receiving services in the program; 
 d.  Records of operational costs and revenue according to 
accounting principles acceptable to the Department of Human 
Services; 
 e.  Individual service documentation shall include: sponsorship 
of each individual, DSPD, and private; record of payments to the 
Division; and reimbursement requests (Forms 520, 1032). These 
records must be maintained for five years from the date of discharge; 
 f.  Accurate records on each individual receiving services shall 
be maintained in locked files or otherwise secured. The records shall 
contain at least the items stated in R539-5-1. 

 g.  A Provider who contracts with federal, state, county, city or 
other agencies to utilize facilities for which the Provider realizes a 
financial benefit shall ensure those benefits are used to benefit the 
individuals receiving services from the Provider. The provider shall 
maintain documentation of this in its administrative fiscal record. 
 
KEY:  disabled persons*, social services 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27801 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 20:43 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This new 
rule is submitted after a comprehensive revision of the 
Division's Administrative Rules as a result of S.B. 30 from the 
2003 Legislative Session.  The rule clarifies the rights and 
responsibilities of people receiving Self-Administered 
Services.  A repeal of the current rule has also been filed.  
(DAR NOTES:  S.B. 30 is found at UT L 2003 Ch 197, and 
was effective 05/05/2003.  The proposed repeal of the current 
Rule R539-5 is under DAR No. 27802 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule outlines the 
responsibilities of people receiving Self-Administered 
Services, such as the required documentation people must 
submit to a fiscal agent, employee documentation, incident 
reporting, and the right to obtain both Provider Agency 
services and Self-Administered Services.  In addition, the rule 
outlines requirements for employees hired by people receiving 
Self-Administered Services. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-5-102 and 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no anticipated cost.  The 
new rule does not reflect any change in methodology within 
the Division.  These procedures are already in practice and 
will not require additional funding. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No local government funding is used. 
 Therefore, there is no cost to local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no additional cost to other 
persons.  This rule clarifies the rights and requirements for 
people participating in Self-Administered Services and does 
not reflect a change within the Division.  Requirements within 
this rule reflect current practice. 
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The Self-
Administered Services structure allows people to hire, train, 
and fire their own employees to provide direct service care.  
This rule clarifies the rights and requirements for people 
participating in that program and does not reflect a change 
within the Division. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule does not reflect a 
change in methodology within the Division.  No fiscal impacts 
are identified.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzie Totten at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
stotten@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
R539-5.  Self-Administered Services. 
R539-5-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures and 
standards for Persons and their families receiving Self-Administered 
Services. 
 
R539-5-2.  Authority. 
 (1)  This rule establishes procedures and standards for Self-
Administered Services as required by Subsection 62A-5-103(8). 
 
R539-5-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 62A-5-101 
and R539-1-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Employee" means any individual hired to provide services 
to a Person receiving Self-Administered Services. 
 (b)  "Fiscal Agent" means an individual or entity contracted by 
the Division to perform fiscal, legal, and management duties. 
 (c)  "Grant" means a budget allocated by the Division to the 
Person through which Self-Administered Services are purchased. 
 (d)  "Grant Agreement" means a written agreement between the 
Person and the Division that outlines requirements the Person must 
follow while receiving Self-Administered Services. 

 (e)  "Self-Administered Services" means a structure for a 
Person or Representative to administer Division paid services. This 
program allows the Person to hire, train, and supervise employees 
who will provide direct services from selected services as outlined in 
the State of Utah Home and Community Based Services Waivers 
(Medicaid 1915C), dated July 1, 2003 for mental retardation and 
related conditions and July 1, 2004 for acquired brain injury. Once 
the Person is allocated a budget, a Grant is issued for the purpose of 
purchasing specific services. Grant funds are only disbursed to pay 
for actual services rendered. All payments are made through a Fiscal 
Agent under contract with the Division. Payments are not issued to 
the Person, but to and in the name of the Employee. 
 
R539-5-4.  Participant Requirements. 
 (1)  In addition to Division Rule, a Person receiving Self-
Administered Services must adhere to the terms of their Grant 
Agreement. 
 (2)  If the Person does not meet the requirements in Rule and 
the Grant Agreement, the Division may require the Person to use a 
contracted Provider. 
 (3)  The Person shall ensure that each Employee completes the 
requirements outlined in R539-5-5. 
 (4)  The Person shall provide the Fiscal Agent with the 
following documents for each Employee hired to provide services: 
 (a)  Original Form W-4; 
 (b)  Original Form I-9 (including supporting documentation); 
 (c)  Copy of the signed Employment Agreement; and 
 (d)  Original signed Timesheets, verifying the time worked is 
true and accurate. 
 (5)  The Person or Representative shall complete a Monthly 
Summary of services for each month in which services are rendered 
and submit it to the Support Coordinator by the 15th of the month 
following the month of services. 
 (a)  If the Person does not provide this information to the 
Division for a three month period, the fourth month's payment shall 
be withheld  until the monthly summaries are submitted. 
 (b)  If the Person submits all required monthly summaries 
within the fourth month, payment will be reinstated. 
 (c)  If monthly summaries are not provided for the fifth month, 
then at the sixth month, the Division will require the Person to use a 
contracted Provider and not participate in Self-Administered 
Services. 
 (6)  The Division may require the Person to use some form of 
technical assistance, if needed (i.e. Behaviorist, Accountant, 
Division Supervisor, etc.).  Technical assistance is available to the 
Person, even if not required by the Division. 
 (7)  The Person's Representative shall notify the Support 
Coordinator if any of the following occurs: 
 (a)  If the Person moves; 
 (b)  If the Person is in the hospital or nursing home; or 
 (c)  Death of the Person. 
 
R539-5-5.  Employee Requirements. 
 (1)  All Employees hired by the Person must be 16 years of age 
or older.  Employees under age 18 must have the Employee 
Agreement co-signed by their parent/Guardian. 
 (2)  Parents, Guardians, or step-parents shall not be paid to 
provide services to the Person, nor shall an individual be paid to 
provide services to a spouse. 



DAR File No. 27795 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 15, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 8 35 

 (3)  Employees must complete the following prior to working 
with the Person and receiving payment from the Fiscal Agent: 
 (a)  Complete and sign Form W-4; 
 (b)  Complete and sign Form I-9 (including supporting 
documentation); 
 (c)  Complete and sign the Employee Agreement Form; 
 (d)  Read and sign the Department and Division Code of 
Conduct (Department Policy 05-03 and Division Directive 1.20); 
and 
 (e)  Review the approved and prohibited Behavior Supports as 
identified in  Administrative Rule R539-4-4, the Support Book, and 
other best practice sources recommended by the Division, if 
applicable.  Behavior Supports shall not violate R495-876, R512-
202, UCA 62A-3-301 thru 62A-3-321, and 62A-4a-402 thru 62A-4-
412 prohibiting abuse. 
 (f)  Review the Person's Support Book. 
 (g)  Complete any screenings and trainings necessary to provide 
for the health and safety of the Person (i.e., training for any 
specialized medical needs of the Person). 
 (h)  If applicable, be trained on the Person's Behavior Support 
Plan. 
 (i)  Complete and sign the Application for Certification Form. 
 
R539-5-6.  Incident Reports. 
 (1)  The Person or Representative shall notify the Division by 
phone, email, or fax of any reportable incident that occurs while the 
Person is in the care of an Employee, within 24 hours of the 
occurrence. 
 (2)  Within five business days of the occurrence of an incident, 
the Person or Representative shall complete a Form 1-8, Incident 
Report, and file it with the Division. 
 (3)  The following incidents require the filing of a report: 
 (a)  Actual and suspected incidents of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, or maltreatment per the DHS/DSPD Code of Conduct 
and Utah Code Annotated Sections 62-A-3-301 through 321 for 
adults and Utah Code Annotated Sections 62-4a-401 through 412 for 
children; 
 (b)  Drug or alcohol abuse; 
 (c)  Medication overdoses or errors reasonably requiring 
medical intervention; 
 (d)  Missing Person; 
 (e)  Evidence of seizure in a Person with no seizure diagnosis; 
 (f)  Significant property destruction (Damage totaling $500.00 
or more is considered significant); 
 (g)  Physical injury reasonably requiring a medical 
intervention; 
 (h)  Law enforcement involvement; 
 (i)  Use of mechanical restraints, time-out rooms or highly 
noxious stimuli that is not outlined in the Behavior Support Plan, as 
defined in R539-4; or 
 (j)  Any other instances the Person or Representative 
determines should be reported. 
 (4)  After receiving an incident report, the Support Coordinator 
shall review the report and determine if further review is warranted. 
 
R539-5-7.  Service Delivery Methods. 
 (1)  Persons authorized to receive Self-Administered Services 
may also receive services through a Provider Agency in order to 
obtain the array of services that best meet the Person's needs. 
 

KEY:  disabilities, self administered services 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27795 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 12:55 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
repealing of this rule is proposed after a comprehensive 
revision and consolidation of the Division's rules. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The change involves 
repealing the current rule and placing these service 
descriptions in the Provider's service contracts with the 
Division.  The Division's internal processes are outlined in 
Internal Directives for staff.  This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-5-102 and 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--The repeal of this rule does not 
alter the basic operations or functions of the Division and, 
therefore, does not result in either a cost or savings to the 
state. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local government funding is 
not used.  Therefore, there is no cost to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  None--The repeal of this rule does not alter 
the basic operations or functions of the Division and, 
therefore, does not result in either a cost or savings to other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--The repeal 
of this rule does not alter the basic operations or functions of 
the Division.  Provider requirements now appear in their 
current service contracts.  Division staff requirements appear 
in Internal Directives.  This does not change the fiscal impact 
on service providers. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  None--The repeal of this rule 
does not alter the basic operations or functions of the Division. 
 Provider requirements now appear in their current service 
contracts.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzie Totten at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
stotten@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
[R539-8.  Community-Based Services. 
R539-8-1A.  Day Training. 
 A.  Policy. 
 The Division of Services for People with Disabilities shall 
provide habilitative services to Division eligible individuals who 
require training and support in the acquisition of independent living 
skills.  Day Training services are designed to prevent institutional 
placement and should include opportunities to enhance self-esteem, 
maximize independent functioning, facilitate skill development, 
increase utilization of community resources, and relieve isolation. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  Individuals are referred to the service provider by the region 
case manager.  Individuals shall be presented with all available 
service options and personal preference and choice shall be honored 
within resource constraints.  Unmet service needs are documented 
on the waiting list and the case manager prioritizes referrals to the 
day training program using the waiting list in accordance with R539-
3-1, Waiting List. 
 2.  The provider will comply with: 
 a.  The Home and Community Based Waiver (if applicable), 
 b.  Division policies which apply, 
 c.  General Department standards, and 
 d.  Office of Licensing standards if site-based or Division 
Certification standards if non-site based. 
 e.  All services must be provided by staff who meet Division 
provider qualification, and 
 f.  Other standards identified in the contract. 
 3.  The Purchase of Service Provider will develop a plan of 
services based on the individual's needs as identified through the 
individual assessment and planning process and agreed to at the 
Individual Plan meeting (See R539- 3-2, The Individual Plan). 
 
R539-8-1B.  School Vacation Habilitation Services. 
 A.  Policy. 
School Vacation Habilitation services provides assistance with 
acquisition, retention, or improvement in self-direction, 

socialization, and adaptive skills which takes place during school 
vacation time and when no other education programs are available.  
Vacation services for children will focus on the individual attaining 
and maintaining his/her maximum functional level in self-direction, 
in addition may serve to reinforce acquisition of skills as defined in 
therapy or other settings. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  Services may be furnished four to six hours per day. 
 2.  Services must be provided in accordance with the recipient's 
plan of care. 
 3.  The provider will comply with all standards and policies as 
outlined in the contract. 
 4.  School Vacation Habilitation service is not available when 
programs funded by the Department of Education are available. 
 
R539-8-2.  Senior Habilitative Alternatives. 
 A.  Policy. 
 DSPD shall provide Habilitative Alternatives to DSPD eligible 
individuals who are 55 years of age or older or who have chronic or 
acute medical conditions that significantly impede the individual's 
ability to participate in traditional day training programs.  Services 
may also include transportation to enable an individual to attend a 
day training program.  Habilitative Alternatives are designed to 
promote the ongoing development or skill maintenance for 
individuals who require alternatives to day training. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 Individuals must be determined eligible for DSPD services.  
The need for Habilitative Alternatives is determined by the 
individual, and the Individual Support Plan/Individual Program Plan 
(ISP/IPP) team who develops a written plan of care.  The case 
manager coordinates the services with the residential or day training 
provider.  Placement is reviewed semi-annually. 
 
R539-8-3.  Supported Employment. 
 A.  Policy. 
 The Division of Services for People with Disabilities will assist 
eligible individuals who want to work to obtain opportunities for 
supported employment. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  Supported employment can be full or part time and is in a 
work setting where the Person works with others without 
disabilities, not including staff or contracted co-workers paid to 
support the Person.  Supported employment may occur anytime 
during a 24 hour day.  Supports assist the Person to achieve 
competitive employment.  Competitive employment is defined as 
work compensated at or above the minimum wage, but not less than 
the customary wage and level of benefits paid by the employer for 
the same or similar work performed by employees who are not 
disabled.  Persons in supported employment are supported and 
employed consistent with the strengths, resources, priorities, 
concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed choice of the 
Person as indicated in the Person's individual service plan.  A Person 
may be supported one-on-one or in a group.  When appropriate, the 
provider may contract with a co-worker to provide additional 
support, under the direction of a job coach, as a natural extension of 
the workday. 
 2.  Payment will only be made for adaptations, supervision and 
training required by a Person as a result of the Person's disability and 
will not include payment for the supervisory activities rendered as a 
normal part of the business setting.  Documentation must be 
maintained, for all Persons whose supports are funded by the 
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Waiver, showing that supported employment services rendered are 
not available under a program funded by either the Rehabilitation 
Act of 1973 or the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act.  
Federal financial participation will not be claimed for incentive 
payments, subsidies, or unrelated vocational training expenses such 
as incentive payments made to an employer or beneficiaries to 
encourage or subsidize an employer's participation in a supported 
employment program, payments that are passed through to a 
beneficiary of supported employment programs, or for payments for 
vocational training that is not directly related to a beneficiary's 
supported employment program. 
 3.  Provider agency standards: 
 a.  Persons shall be employed for a significant number of hours, 
at a level optimal for the Person and in accordance with the Person's 
capabilities and desires.  This should be determined at the person 
centered plan meeting.  The hours worked by Persons receiving 
supported employment should approximate the hours worked by 
other employees; 
 b.  Persons shall be compensated at minimum wage or better.  
If minimum wage is not feasible, compensation shall be at a 
commensurate wage based on a Person's productivity.  Persons shall 
be provided benefits by the employer, which are comparable to 
workers who are not disabled. 
 c.  There shall be no more than eight Persons in any one 
workgroup. 
 d.  Assistive technology shall be used to enhance productivity 
when appropriate in accordance with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 
 e.  An individual assessment of work interests shall be 
conducted within 30 days of the Person's referral to the provider 
agency.  To increase the Person's performance on the job, provider 
staff ensure that the job is appropriate for the Person, that the Person 
has had input into the decision of employment, and that the most 
effective training and support techniques are used.  Techniques 
should foster the use of natural supports such as family, friends, and 
co-workers. 
 f.  Supported employment direct service staff and their 
immediate superiors shall be trained in the support strategies 
required for each Person's particular supported employment 
placement or job. 
 
R539-8-4.  Transportation. 
 A.  Policy. 
Individuals receiving services shall be trained, assisted and provided 
opportunities to use generic transportation services available in their 
community.  Whenever possible, public transportation, or 
transportation services without charge will be utilized.  Whenever a 
Division Contracted Provider provides transportation as any part of a 
day or residential program, the Provider must comply with all State 
safety, licensure, inspection and training requirements. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  All drivers shall have the appropriate license as specified in 
Utah Code Section 53-3-202 and any vehicle used must be insured, 
as required by Utah Code Sections 41-12a-401 through 41-12a-412. 
 2.  All drivers shall have current First Aid training. 
 3.  Written procedures for accidents and emergencies must be 
kept in the vehicle(s) at all times. 
 4.  All drivers, staff, and volunteers shall be trained to 
implement specific techniques for safe transportation of individuals 
who have unique medical or physical considerations. 

 5.  A signed consent form shall be obtained prior to 
transporting a child (ages 0 through 17).  The consent form must be 
completed by the appropriate parent, guardian, or legal 
representative. 
 a.  The signed form shall be maintained in the child's file. 
 b.  Children three years of age and younger being transported 
shall be protected by using a child safety seat or an approved 
restraint device.  Children over three years of age may be 
transported using only seat belts, unless their developmental 
disability has caused them to be less than the average size of a three 
year old. 
 c.  Any vehicle used for the transportation of children shall be 
provided with door locks.  Doors are to be locked at all times while 
the vehicle is moving. 
 6.  Contractor must have current licenses, safety inspections 
and State Department of Transportation safety requirements on all 
vehicles used to transport people. 
 7.  All vehicles shall be reasonably accessible if persons have 
physical disabilities.  Special lifts and other equipment must be in 
safe working order. 
 8.  The provider shall do the following when transporting 
individuals: 
 a.  No individual shall be permitted to remain unattended in the 
vehicle; 
 b.  Persons shall remain seated while the vehicle is in motion; 
 c.  Keys will be removed from the vehicle at all times when the 
driver is not in the driver's seat; and 
 d.  All persons shall use seat belts; vehicles serving individuals 
who use wheelchairs must have locking mechanisms to immobilize 
wheelchairs during travel. 
 
R539-8-5.  Residential Services. 
 A.  Policy. 
 The Division of Services for People with Disabilities will 
provide training, support, and opportunities for individuals with 
disabilities to reside as independently as possible in community 
settings which are typical of those in which persons without 
disabilities reside.  Each individual who resides in a community 
residential living setting funded through the Division must also be 
enrolled in a day service or education program. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  Providers shall maintain compliance with all requirements 
of the Department of Human Services, Office of Licensing standards 
as defined in the Home and Community Based Services Waiver 
Provider Manual, the Division Policy Manual, and the Department 
Manual. 
 2.  Division staff shall complete an on-site certification review 
of a proposed facility prior to final selection.  The Office of 
Licensing must license the facility prior to individuals moving in, if 
required. 
 3.  The array of community residential living settings include 
but are not limited to group homes, supervised apartment settings, 
Supported Living services, and Professional Parent services. 
 a.  A group home means a single residence (home) where four 
or more individuals reside.  No more than eight individuals are 
allowed to reside in a single residence. 
 b.  A supervised apartment means an apartment setting in which 
individuals with disabilities reside either alone, or with one or two 
roommates who may or may not have a disability.  No more than 
three individuals are allowed to reside in a single supervised 
apartment. 
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 c.  Supported Living services are individually tailored to meet 
the desires and needs of the individuals who are receiving services in 
their own home or apartment.  Supported Living services shall be 
developed to integrate individuals into services that are available to 
individuals in their community, rather than to set up a duplicate 
system of services (see R539-8-8, Supported Living). 
 d.  Professional Parent services shall be provided in a private 
residence, not the individual's own home or apartment, for one or 
two Division eligible individuals.  Trained staff and trained 
professional parents provide opportunities for the individuals to be 
as independent and self-sufficient as possible in a home setting (see 
R539-8-7, Professional Parent Services). 
 4.  The level and method of supervision required by each 
individual receiving services (as determined by the Individual Plan 
team) determines the level and method of supervision provided by 
the Contractor in each setting. 
 5.  An individual receiving Residential services must have a 
source of income (such as Supplemental Security Income) which 
will allow the individual to contribute toward expected living 
expenses. 
 
R539-8-6.  Extended Residential Habilitation. 
 A.  Policy. 
 Extended Residential Habilitation shall be provided by the 
residential provider and is in lieu of traditional out of home 
programs (day services or school) when the individual's age, chronic 
or acute medical condition significantly impedes the individual's 
ability to participate in an out-of-home program. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  DSPD eligible individuals, who are recipients of residential 
services and who are not enrolled in full day programs may be 
considered for this specialized service. 
 2.  Recommendation for an Extended Residential Habilitation 
services shall require the consensus of the IPP team.  Long-term 
goals and objectives are written to document that the service offers a 
therapeutic alternative to the formal environment. 
 3.  The service shall be time-limited and is to be reviewed by 
the IPP team at a minimum, semi- annually. 
 4.  The service shall be subject to approval from the Division 
based on the identification of individual's need and the fiscal 
limitations of the Regional budget. 
 
R539-8-7.  Professional Parent Services. 
 A.  Policy. 
 All children receiving residential services funded by the 
Division of Services for People with Disabilities will receive 
services in a family-like setting and in accordance with the 
professional parent service model.  The Division will contract with 
service providers to locate and train professional parents and support 
staff to provide residential services in a private home to one to two 
individuals with disabilities.  Professional parent homes shall assist 
and provide opportunities for individuals with disabilities to be as 
independent and self-sufficient as possible in a family-like setting. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  The contractor, in conjunction with region staff, shall 
explain to all recipients of services and legal representatives the 
service offered, program objectives, basic policies and entrance 
criteria. 
 2.  A person will be eligible for professional parent services as 
long as the Individual Service Plan team determines the placement is 
in the individual's best interest. 

 3.  The purchase of service contractor will comply with: 
 a.  The Home and Community Based Waiver. 
 b.  Division Policy Manual and standards which apply. 
 c.  Office of Licensing standards, as applicable. 
 d.  Staff providing services must meet the qualifications 
specified in the Division contract, as well as all other standards 
identified by the contract. 
 4.  The home shall be adequately maintained to meet the 
Facility Requirements (R539-6-11). 
 5.  Professional parents must conform with the following: 
 a.  Professional parents must be at least 21 years of age. 
 b.  Professional parents must meet all personnel and training 
requirements. 
 c.  Professional parents and persons 18 years or older living in 
the home where services are provided to children must comply with 
R539-6-1, Personnel Requirements, in regards to Bureau of Criminal 
Identification screening (Utah Code Annotated Section 62A-4-514), 
and child and adult abuse screening (in accordance with R501-6-7).  
This requirement also applies to support staff not living in the home 
who work with children.  Professional parents and persons 18 years 
or older living in the home where services are provided to adults 
with disabilities must also comply with R539-6-1, in regards to child 
and adult abuse screening (in accordance with R501-6-7).  This 
requirement also applies to support staff not living in the home who 
work with adults with disabilities. 
 6.  Support staff are professionals who are responsible for 
giving technical support and assistance to the professional parents in 
the day to day operation of the home.  Support staff provide 
consultation, and hands on training for the individual as well as 
relief to the professional parent.  Support staff must who are 16-17 
years of age must be accompanied and supervised by an adult during 
training. 
 
R539-8-8.  Supported Living. 
 A.  Policy. 
 Supported Living services shall be provided for individuals 
who reside in their own home or apartment who require support to 
live independently.  Individuals who receive Supported Living 
services may live alone, with roommates, a spouse, or children.  
Services may also be provided to individuals living in a family 
member's home if the individual is 18 years of age or older and 
Supported Living services are being used to assist the individual to 
transition into independent living.  Services may include supportive 
assistance, habilitative training, support services that allow 
individuals to participate in community activities of their choice, and 
any other specialized, generic, or natural supports needed to promote 
independence.  Individuals receiving residential services in other 
community residential living settings are not eligible for this service. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  Services and supports provided shall fall within one of the 
following two categories: 
 a.  Habilitative Training-includes any training in independent 
living skills or community access skills. 
 b.  Supportive Assistance-includes any type of assistance 
needed to support the individual to live as independently as possible. 
 2.  The level of services provided to each individual will be 
determined by the Individual Plan team, and is expected to be 
flexible to meet the needs of the individual.  The level of services 
may be reduced, maintained, or increased based upon changes in the 
individual's skills or changes in natural and generic supports.  
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Changes in the level of service shall be determined by the Individual 
Plan team and documented on the Individual Plan as they occur. 
 3.  An individual receiving Supported Living services must 
have a source of income which will allow the individual to meet 
expected living expenses. 
 4.  The Provider shall develop policy and procedures that 
recognize self-determination and choice for individuals receiving 
services, which shall include the following guidelines: 
 a.  In the event the individual's behavior threatens employment, 
residence, physical or mental health, or safety, the Provider shall 
first meet with the individual to resolve any concerns.  If concerns 
still are not resolved, the Provider shall convene a meeting of the 
Individual Plan team to discuss the issue with the individual. 
 b.  The individual shall be offered additional services, support, 
or supervision (as appropriate) to assist the individual to remedy the 
threatening situation. 
 c.  The decision as to whether to accept the additional services, 
support, or supervision rests entirely with the individual.  The 
Individual Plan team must respect the decision of the individual. 
 d.  The Provider shall maintain documentation of each situation 
in which additional services, support, or supervision is offered to an 
individual; and documentation of the individual's decision.  The 
Individual Plan team may be convened as often as necessary to 
ensure that the individual has adequate opportunities to receive 
additional services. 
 
R539-8-9.  Assistive Technology/Environmental Modifications. 
 A.  Policy. 
 When an individual who is eligible for Division services 
requires assistive technology/environmental modifications, region 
staff coordinating services shall assist the person in exploring 
possible alternatives and funding to obtain the needed assistive 
technology/environmental modifications.  If the person is eligible for 
services from more than one agency or organization, region staff 
shall meet with and ensure service coordination across agencies. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  An Assistive Technology Device is any item, piece of 
equipment, or product system whether commercially produced, 
modified, or customized, that is used to increase, maintain, or 
improve functional capabilities of individuals with disabilities.  
Environmental modifications are any modifications needed to the 
individual's living and/or working environment to improve the 
person's functional capabilities. 
 2.  Region staff shall assist the individual in contacting 
agencies/organizations which provide assistive technology 
devices/environmental modifications and arranging for an 
assessment of the individual's needs.  Assistive 
technology/environmental modifications funded by regions shall 
adhere to the following expenditure guidelines.  The need for 
assistive technology/environmental modifications shall be 
documented in the Individual Plan and the total amount expended 
annually shall receive the following prior approval as well as adhere 
to the State Purchasing Policy: 
 a.  Under $500.00, shall be approved by the region case 
manager. 
 b.  $500.00 to $1999.00, shall be approved by the region 
supervisor. 
 c.  $2000.00 to $4999.00, shall be approved by the region 
director. 
 d.  $5000.00 and above, shall be approved by the Division 
director. 

R539-8-10.  Personal Emergency Response Systems. 
 A.  Policy. 
 A Personal Emergency Response System is an electronic 
device which enables individuals at high risk, to secure help in the 
event of an emergency.  Individuals eligible for this service are those 
eligible for Division services and, who live alone, live with others 
who are not able to respond to an emergency, or are alone for 
significant parts of the day and have no regular caretaker for 
extended periods of time. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  Services must be provided through an authorized vendor 
who is on contract with the Division and licensed either as a Home 
Health Agency or by the Federal Communications Commission as 
an alarm system network. 
 2.  Services must be listed on and provided in accordance with 
the individual's plan of care. 
 
KEY:  disabled persons, social services 
May 5, 2003 
Notice of Continuation December 18, 2002 
62A-5-103] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 

Entry 

R912-6 
Ports-of-Entry By-Pass Permit 

Provisions 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27790 
FILED:  04/01/2005, 12:35 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
proposed new rule establishes procedures that allow the 
Motor Carrier Division to issue a temporary port-of-entry by-
pass permit to accommodate multi-trip, highway transportation 
needs. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule carries out an 
amendment passed by the Utah Legislature in the 2005 
session (S.B. 144) that directed the Motor Carrier Division to 
adopt a method by which certain motor carriers could get 
permits allowing them to by-pass ports-of-entry based on their 
route and the number of trips they make.  (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 
144 is found at UT L 2005 Ch 162, and was effective 
03/16/2005.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 72-9-301 and 72-9-502 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Motor Carrier believes that this program 
will carry some costs for the state budget based upon an 
increase in mail received and processed by the division. The 
increase in mail is associated with the initial receipt of 
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applications. There will also be additional staff time required to 
review the applications. Finally, there will be additional mail 
received and processed and additional staff time required for 
review in the event that applicants elect to file an appeal. 
Because this program has never existed before, the division 
currently has no data upon which to base an estimated cost. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No additional costs.  Local 
governments are not affected by the rule. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Motor carriers may obtain savings in their 
overall operations because they would no longer have to 
make multiple stops at a port. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
additional compliance costs for motor carriers receiving by-
pass privileges. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule will have no affect on 
businesses, except possibly a positive one, as discussed 
above.  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TRANSPORTATION 
MOTOR CARRIER, PORTS OF ENTRY 
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119-5998, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
James Beadles at the above address, by phone at 801-965-
4168, by FAX at 801-965-4796, or by Internet E-mail at 
jbeadles@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R912.  Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports-of-Entry. 
R912-6.  Ports-of-Entry By-Pass Permit Provisions. 
R912-6-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes procedures that allow the Motor Carrier 
Division to issue a temporary port-of-entry by-pass permit to 
accommodate multi-trip, highway transportation needs. 
 
R912-6-2.  Definitions. 
 Except for the following, this rule uses the same definitions as 
those listed in R909-16: 
 (1)  "Commercial Vehicle" means a motor vehicle, vehicle, 
trailer, or semi trailer used or maintained for business, 
compensation, or profit to transport passengers or property on a 
highway if the commercial vehicle: 
 (a)  has a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating or gross 
combination weight rating of 10,001 or more pounds; 

 (b)  is designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including 
the driver; or 
 (c)  is used in the transportation of hazardous materials found 
by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous under 49 U.S.C. 
5103 and transported in a quantity requiring placarding under 
regulations prescribed by the Secretary under 49 CFR, subtitle B, 
chapter I, subchapter C; 
 (2)  "Intrastate" means transportation movement entirely within 
the state. 
 (3)  "Multi-Trip" means two or more daily or weekly trips in 
the proximity of a port-of-entry. 
 
R912-6-3.  Port-of-Entry By-Pass Permits. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Substitute Senate Bill 144, Motor Vehicle 
Ports-of-Entry, enacted during the 2005 General Session of the 
Legislature, by-pass privileges will be granted to a motor carrier for 
multiple motor vehicles.  Decals will be issued to individual vehicles 
within a motor carrier's fleet. 
 (2)  By-pass permit privileges expire one year after they are 
issued. 
 (3)  Motor Carriers shall meet the "Multi-Trip" definition to 
receive and maintain by-pass privileges.  A motor carrier may be 
excused from this requirement on a case-by-case basis if the carrier 
does not meet the "Multi-Trip" definition but is able to demonstrate 
to the Department that denial of a permit will cause a hardship if the 
vehicle has to be diverted to a port-of-entry.  A Motor Carrier may 
appeal a denial pursuant to R912-6-7. 
 (4)  By-pass privileges may be granted to carriers traversing 
multiple ports-of-entry within the same route. 
 (5)  Unless otherwise authorized by the Department, Motor 
Carriers that have by-pass privilege must have a weight ticket, from 
a scale certified by the Department of Agriculture, available for 
inspection by law enforcement.  Scale tickets must be electronically 
printed and shall specify the time, date, and unit-specific 
information. 
 (6)  The Department will notify local law enforcement agencies 
of those carriers meeting the criteria for by-pass privileges. 
 
R912-6-4.  Enrollment Criteria. 
 A Motor Carrier requesting a port-of-entry by-pass permit from 
the Department shall have an overall company safety fitness rating 
of satisfactory standing, as set forth under R909-16. 
 
R912-6-5.  Assignment of Provisional Standing. 
 The Department may issue provisional standing to a Motor 
Carrier for which there is insufficient data to determine compliance 
with the Safety Standard or if the Motor Carrier has not received a 
safety rating in accordance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations, Title 49 Part 385. 
 
R912-6-6.  Application Process. 
 (1)  Motor Carriers requesting a port-of-entry by-pass annual 
permit shall make application to the Motor Carrier Division by 
contacting the Central Permitting Office at (801) 965-4880. 
 (2)  Motor Carriers are required to submit routing information 
including point of origin, destination, and routine routes traveled. 
 (3)  Carriers denied by-pass privileges by the Department for 
reasons other than conditions constituting a satisfactory standing, 
such as proximity, travel pattern, number of trips, etc., may appeal 
the Department's decision by providing additional documentation as 
to why the by-pass privilege should be authorized. 
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End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
 

R912-6-7.  Steering Committee - Appeal Process. 
 When an application for a by-pass permit is denied for reasons 
other than the conditions set forth in R912-6-3, the Motor Carrier 
may file an appeal.  The appeals shall be handled by a steering 
committee created by the Motor Carrier Division.  The steering 
committee shall have the powers granted to the Deputy Director in 
R907-1-3 for appeals from other Motor Carrier Division 
administrative actions.  This committee's decision, if adopted by the 
Director of the Motor Carrier Division, will be considered a final 
agency order under the Utah Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
R912-6-8.  Suspensions and Revocations of Port-of-Entry By-
Pass Permit. 
 The Department may suspend or revoke the Motor Carrier's by-
pass permit if the Motor Carrier fails to meet conditions set forth 
under R909-16-3.  If a Motor Carrier is denied by-pass privileges as 
 

a result of the assessment of an unsatisfactory standing issued by the 
Department, the Motor Carrier must appeal that standing assessment 
pursuant to R909-16-11. 
 
R912-6-9.  Audits. 
 As a condition of receiving a by-pass permit, a Motor Carrier is 
subject to compliance reviews, safety assessments, and inspections 
as the Department considers necessary in order to carry out state and 
federal law, including Utah Code Ann. § 72-9-301. 
 
KEY:  motor carrier, permits, ports of entry, trucks 
2005 
72-9-301 
72-9-502 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency 
to respond to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only 
those changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  
Additions made to the rule appear underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with 
brackets surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · ·) indicates that unaffected text was 
removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules 
will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print is available from the agency or from the 
Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
While a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE does not have a formal comment period, there is a 30-day waiting period during 
which interested parties may submit comments.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
published in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends May 16, 2005.  At its option, the agency may hold public 
hearings. 
 
From the end of the waiting period through August 13, 2005, the agency may notify the Division of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor 
more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may 
file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Division of 
Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the 
process over. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-6 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code 
Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, R15-4-7, and R15-4-9. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-17b 
Pharmacy Practice Act Rules 

 
NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 

DAR File No.:  27529 
Filed:  03/31/2005, 13:01 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Following a 
public rule hearing and further review by the Division and the 
Pharmacy Board, additional amendments are being proposed. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Throughout the rule, 
various grammatical and spelling changes have been made.  
In Section R156-17b-102, deleted the definitions for "Internet 
pharmacy" and "VIPPS" and renumbered the remaining 
subsections.  Also added to the definition of "USP-NF" so that 
it includes Supplement 1, dated April 1, 2005.  In Subsection 
R156-17b-301(1), regarding Class A pharmacies, deleted 
reference to Internet pharmacies.  In Subsection R156-17b-
301(2), regarding Class B pharmacies, added that methadone 
clinics are included in this classification.  In R156-17b-301(4), 
regarding Class D pharmacies, deleted reference to Internet 
pharmacies.  In Subsection R156-17b-304(3)(c)(i), deleted 
language regarding dates that have passed regarding 
pharmacy technician eligibility and training.  In Subsection 
R156-17b-304(4)(c), added an option to use an additional 
certification body.  In Section R156-17b-402, deleted that 
failing to wear a name tag was cause for an administrative 
penalty and renumbered remaining subsections.  In Section 
R156-17b-612, updated Subsection R156-17b-612(13) by 
adding "legend drugs" for limited transfer of prescriptions with 
exceptions.  In Section R156-17b-616, updated title of section 
for clarity.  (DAR NOTE:  This is the second change in 
proposed rule (CPR) for Rule R156-17b.  The original 
proposed new rule upon which the first CPR was based was 
published in the December 1, 2004, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 20.  The first CPR upon which this second 
CPR is based was published in the February 15, 2005, issue 
of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 31.  Underlining in the rule 
below indicates text that has been added since the publication 
of the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates text 
that has been deleted.  You must view the first CPR, the 
second CPR, and the proposed new rule together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable should 
the agency make this rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 58-17b-101 and 58-37-1, and Subsections 58-
17b-601(1), 58-1-106(1)(a), and 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Deletes the VIPPS (Verified Internet 
Pharmacy Practice Sites) Criteria Document, dated 
September 14, 2004, as established by NABP (National 
Association of Board of Pharmacy); and adds Supplement 1, 
dated April 1, 2005, to the USP 28-NF 23 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division does not anticipate any 
additional costs or savings beyond those previously identified 
in the original rule filing as a result of these additional 
proposed amendments. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This proposed rule does not affect 
local governments.  The rule only affects licensed 
pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy technicians and 
pharmacies.  Therefore, there is no anticipated costs or 
savings to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The Division does not anticipate any 
additional costs or savings beyond those previously identified 
in the original rule filing and the subsequent change in 
proposed rule filing as a result of these additional proposed 
amendments. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The Division does 
not anticipate any additional costs or savings beyond those 
previously identified in the original rule filing and the 
subsequent change in proposed rule filing as a result of these 
additional proposed amendments. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  No fiscal impact to businesses 
is expected as a result of this change in proposed rules 
beyond the original rule filing.  Russell C. Skousen, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Diana Baker at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6179, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dbaker@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-17b.  Pharmacy Practice Act Rules. 
R156-17b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 17b, as 
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 17b or these rules: 
 (1)  "ACPE" means the American Council on Pharmaceutical 
Education or Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. 
 (2)  "Drugs", as used in these rules, means drugs or devices. 
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 (3)  "Dispense", as defined in Subsection 58-17b-102(23), does 
not include transferring medications for a patient from a legally 
dispensed prescription for that particular patient into a daily or 
weekly drug container to facilitate the patient taking the correct 
medication. 
 (4)  "Drug therapy management" means the review of a drug 
therapy regimen of a patient by one or more pharmacists for the 
purpose of evaluating and rendering advice to one or more 
practitioners regarding adjustment of the regimen. 
 (5)  "High-risk, medium-risk, and low-risk drugs" refers to the 
risk to a patient's health from compounding sterile preparations, as 
referred to in USP-NF Chapter 797, for details of determining risk 
level. 
 (6)  "Hospice facility pharmacy" means a pharmacy that 
supplies drugs to patients in a licensed healthcare facility for 
terminal patients. 
 (7)  "Hospital clinic pharmacy" means a pharmacy that is 
located in an outpatient treatment area where a pharmacist or 
pharmacy intern is compounding, admixing, or dispensing 
prescription drugs, and where: 
 (a)  prescription drugs or devices are under the control of the 
pharmacist, or the facility for administration to patients of that 
facility; 
 (b)  prescription drugs or devices are dispensed by the 
pharmacist or pharmacy intern; or 
 (c)  prescription drugs are administered in accordance with the 
order of a practitioner by an employee or agent of the facility.[ 
 (8)  "Internet pharmacy" means a pharmacy licensed as either a 
Class A or Class D pharmacy that meets the VIPPS criteria as 
established by NABP and provides the following services via an 
Internet website, regardless of the quantum of the services: 
 (a)  receives and fills valid prescription orders from a 
prescriber; or 
 (b)  receives and fills refill requests from a patient who has a 
valid prescription order.] 
 ([9]8)  "Legend drug" means any drug or device that has been 
determined to be unsafe for self-medication or any drug or device 
that bears or is required to bear the legend: 
 (a)  "Caution: federal law prohibits dispensing without 
prescription"; 
 (b)  "Caution: federal law restricts this drug to use by or on the 
order of a licensed veterinarian"; or 
 (c)  "Rx only". 
 ([10]9)  "Maintenance medications" means medications the 
patient takes on an ongoing basis. 
 ([11]10)  "MPJE" means the Multistate Jurisprudence 
Examination. 
 ([12]11)  "NABP"  means the National Association of Boards 
of Pharmacy. 
 ([13]12)  "NAPLEX"  means North American Pharmacy 
Licensing Examination. 
 ([14]13)  "Parenteral" means a method of drug delivery injected 
into body tissues but not via the gastrointestinal tract. 
 ([15]14)  "PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician 
Certification Board. 
 ([16]15)  "Qualified continuing education", as used in these 
rules, means continuing education that meets the standards set forth 
in Section R156-17b-309. 
 ([17]16)  "Sterile products preparation facility" means any 
facility, or portion of the facility, that compounds sterile products 
using aseptic technique. 

 ([18]17)  "Unauthorized personnel" means any person who is 
not participating in the operational processes of the pharmacy who 
in some way would interrupt the natural flow of pharmaceutical 
care. 
 ([19]18)  "Unit dose" means the ordered amount of a drug in a 
dosage form prepared for a one-time administration to an individual 
and indicates the name, strength, lot number and expiration date for 
the drug. 
 ([20]19)  "Unprofessional conduct", as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 17b, is further defined, in accordance with 
Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section R156-17b-502. 
 ([21]20)  "USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-
National Formulary (USP 28-NF 23), 2004 edition, which is official 
from January 1, 2005 through Supplement 1, dated April 1, 2005, 
which is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference.[ 
 (22)  "VIPPS" means Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites. 
 Pharmacies displaying the VIPPS seal have demonstrated to NABP 
their compliance with VIPPS criteria including patient rights to 
privacy, authentication and security of prescription orders, 
adherence to a recognized quality assurance policy, and provision of 
meaningful consultation between patients and pharmacists.  The 
VIPPS Criteria document, dated September 14, 2004, as established 
by NABP is adopted and incorporated by reference.] 
 
R156-17b-301.  Pharmacy Licensure Classifications - 
Pharmacist-in-Charge Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-302(4), the classification 
of pharmacies holding licenses are clarified as: 
 (1)  Class A pharmacy includes all retail operations[, including 
pharmacies] located in Utah [that fill from Internet prescriptions, 
]and requires a pharmacist-in-charge. 
 (2)  Class B pharmacy includes an institutional pharmacy that 
provides services to a target population unique to the needs of the 
healthcare services required by the patient.  All Class B pharmacies 
require a pharmacist-in-charge except for pharmaceutical 
administration facilities and methadone clinics.  Examples of Class 
B pharmacies include: 
 (a)  closed door; 
 (b)  hospital clinic pharmacy; 
 (c)  methadone clinics; 
 ([c]d)  nuclear; 
 ([d]e)  branch; 
 ([e]f)  hospice facility pharmacy; 
 ([f]g)  veterinarian pharmaceutical facility; 
 ([g]h)  pharmaceutical administration facility; and 
 ([h]i)  sterile product preparation facility. 
 ([i]j)  A retail pharmacy that prepares sterile products does not 
require a separate license as a Class B pharmacy. 
 (3)  Class C pharmacy includes [all ]pharmacies located in Utah 
that are involved in: 
 (a)  manufacturing; 
 (b)  producing; 
 (c)  wholesaling; and 
 (d)  distributing 
 (4)  Class D pharmacy includes [non-resident ]pharmacies 
located outside the state of Utah.  Class D pharmacies require a 
pharmacist-in-charge licensed in the state where the pharmacy is 
located and[.  Class D pharmacies] include[: 
 (a) ] Out-of-state mail order pharmacies.  Facilities that have 
multiple locations must have licenses for each facility and every 
component part of a facility[; and 
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 (b)  Out-of-state Internet pharmacies]. 
 (5)  Class E pharmacy includes those pharmacies that do not 
require a pharmacist-in-charge and include: 
 (a)  medical gases providers; and 
 (b)  analytical laboratories. 
 (6)  All pharmacy licenses will be converted to the appropriate 
classification by the Division as identified in Section 58-17b-302. 
 (7)  Each Class A and each Class B pharmacy required to have 
a pharmacist-in-charge shall have one pharmacist-in-charge who is 
employed on a full-time basis as defined by the employer, who acts 
as a pharmacist-in-charge for one pharmacy.  However, the 
pharmacist-in-charge may be the pharmacist-in-charge of more than 
one Class A pharmacy, if the additional Class A pharmacies are not 
open to provide pharmacy services simultaneously. 
 (8)  The pharmacist-in-charge shall comply with the provisions 
of Section R156-17b-603. 
 
R156-17b-304.  Licensure - Education Requirements. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-303(2) and 58-17b-
304(7)(c), the credentialing agency recognized to provide 
certification and evaluate equivalency of a foreign educated 
pharmacy graduate is the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination 
Committee of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 
Foundation, or an equivalent credentialing agency as approved by 
the Division. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-304(6), the 
preliminary education qualification for licensure as a pharmacy 
intern include: 
 (a)  a current pharmacy student who has completed at least 15 
semester hours of pharmacy course work in a college or school of 
pharmacy accredited by the ACPE; 
 (b)  a graduate who has received a degree from a school or 
college of pharmacy which is accredited by the ACPE; or 
 (c)  a graduate of a foreign pharmacy school who has received a 
certificate of equivalency from an approved credentialing agency 
defined in Subsection (1). 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-305(1)(f), a 
pharmacy technician must complete an approved program of 
education and training that meets the following standards: 
 (a)  The didactic training program must be approved by the 
Division in collaboration with the Board and must address, at a 
minimum, the following topics: 
 (i)  legal aspects of pharmacy practice including federal and 
state laws and rules governing practice; 
 (ii)  hygiene and aseptic techniques; 
 (iii)  terminology, abbreviations and symbols; 
 (iv)  pharmaceutical calculations; 
 (v)  identification of drugs by trade and generic names, and 
therapeutic classifications; 
 (vi)  filling of orders and prescriptions including packaging and 
labeling; 
 (vii)  ordering, restocking, and maintaining drug inventory; 
 (viii)  computer applications in the pharmacy; and 
 (ix)  non-prescription products including cough and cold, 
nutritional, analgesics, allergy, diabetic testing supplies, first aid, 
ophthalmic, family planning, foot, feminine hygiene, gastrointestinal 
preparations, and pharmacy care over-the-counter drugs, except 
those over-the-counter drugs that are prescribed by a practitioner. 
 (b)  This training program's curriculum and a copy of the final 
examination shall be submitted to the Division for approval by the 
Board prior to starting any training session with a pharmacy 

technician in training.  The final examination must include questions 
covering each of the topics listed in Subsection (3)(a) above. 
 (c)  Approval must be granted by the Division in collaboration 
with the Board before a student may start a program of study.  
[Specific guidelines include: 
 (i)  an individual currently participating in a program of study 
that was approved prior to July 1, 2004, must complete the program 
by April 1, 2005 to be eligible for licensure. 
 (ii)  a training program that accepts an individual into a 
program on or after January 1, 2005 must submit a copy of the 
curriculum no later than November 1, 2004 and have the program 
approved by the Division in collaboration with the Board. 
 (iii)  a]An individual who completes a non-approved program is 
not eligible for licensure. 
 (d)  The training program must require at least 180 hours of 
practical training supervised by a licensed pharmacist in good 
standing with the Division and must include written protocols and 
guidelines for the teaching pharmacist outlining the utilization and 
supervision of pharmacy technicians in training that includes: 
 (i)  the specific manner in which supervision will be completed; 
and 
 (ii)  an evaluative procedure to verify the accuracy and 
completeness of all acts, tasks and functions performed by the 
pharmacy technician in training. 
 (e)  An individual must complete an approved training program 
and successfully pass the required examinations as listed in 
Subsection R156-17b-302(3) within one year from the date of the 
first day of the training program, unless otherwise approved by the 
Division in collaboration with the Board. 
 (4)  An applicant for licensure as a pharmacy technician is 
deemed to have met the qualification for licensure in Subsection 58-
17b-305(f) if the applicant: 
 (a)  is currently licensed and in good standing in another state 
and has not had any adverse action taken on that license; 
 (b)  has engaged in the practice as a pharmacy technician for a 
minimum of 1,000 hours or equivalent experience as approved by 
the Division in collaboration with the Board; and 
 (c)  has passed and maintained current the PTCB certification 
or a Board approved equivalent and passed the Utah law exam. 
 
R156-17b-402.  Administrative Penalties. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-401(6), unless otherwise 
ordered by the presiding officer, the following fine and citation 
schedule shall apply. 
 (1)  Preventing or refusing to permit any authorized agent of the 
Division to conduct an inspection: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $5,000 
 (2)  Failing to deliver the license or permit or certificate to the 
Division upon demand: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $2,000 
 (3)  Using the title pharmacist, druggist, pharmacy intern, 
pharmacy technician or any other term having a similar meaning or 
any term having similar meaning when not licensed to do so: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (4)  Conducting or transacting business under a name which 
contains as part of that name the words drugstore, pharmacy, drugs, 
medicine store, medicines, drug shop, apothecary, prescriptions or 
any other term having a similar meaning or in any manner 
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advertising otherwise describing or referring to the place of the 
conducted business or profession when not licensed to do so: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (5)  Buying, selling, causing to be sold, or offering for sale any 
drug or device which bears the inscription sample, not for resale, 
investigational purposes, or experimental use only or other similar 
words: 
 initial offense:  $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $10,000 
 (6)  Using to the licensee's own advantage or revealing to 
anyone other than the Division, Board or its authorized 
representatives, any information acquired under the authority of this 
chapter concerning any method or process which is a trade secret: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000 
 (7)  Illegally procuring or attempting to procure any drug for 
the licensee or to have someone else procure or attempt to procure a 
drug: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (8)  Filling, refilling or advertising the filling or refilling of 
prescription drugs when not licensed do to so: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (9)  Requiring any employed pharmacist, pharmacy intern, 
pharmacy technician or authorized supportive personnel to engage in 
any conduct in violation of this chapter: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,500 - $10,000 
 (10)  Being in possession of a drug for an unlawful purpose: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $1,500 - $5,000 
 (11)  Dispensing a prescription drug to anyone who does not 
have a prescription from a practitioner or to anyone who is known or 
should be known as attempting to obtain drugs by fraud or 
misrepresentation: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,500 - $10,000 
 (12)  Selling, dispensing or otherwise trafficking in prescription 
drugs when not licensed to do so or when not exempted from 
licensure: 
 initial offense:  $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $10,000 
 (13)  Using a prescription drug or controlled substance for the 
licensee that was not lawfully prescribed for the licensee by a 
practitioner: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $1,000 - $2,5000 
 (14)  Willfully deceiving or attempting to deceive the Division, 
the Board or its authorized agents as to any relevant matter regarding 
compliance under this chapter: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,500 - $10,000 
 (15)  Paying rebates to practitioners or any other health care 
provider, or entering into any agreement with a medical practitioner 
or any other person for the payment or acceptance of compensation 
for recommending the professional services of either party: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,500 - $10,000 

 (16)  Misbranding or adulteration of any drug or device or the 
sale, distribution or dispensing of any outdated, misbranded, or 
adulterated drugs or devices: 
 initial offense:  $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $10,000 
 (17)  Accepting back and redistributing any unused drugs, with 
the exception as provided in Section 58-17b-503: 
 initial offense:  $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $10,000 
 (18)  Violating Federal Title II, PL 91, Controlled Substances 
Act or Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances Act, or 
rules and regulations adopted under either act: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,500 - $10,000 
 (19)  Failure to follow USP-NF Chapter 797 guidelines: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,500 - $10,000 
 (20)  Failure to follow USP-NF Chapter 795 guidelines: 
 initial offense:  $250 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $750 
 (21)  Administering without appropriate guidelines or lawful 
order: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (22)  Disclosing confidential patient information in violation of 
the provision of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act of 1996 or other applicable law: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $1,000 
 (23)  Engaging in the practice of pharmacy without a licensed 
pharmacist designated as the pharmacist in charge: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (24)  Failing to report to the Division any adverse action taken 
by another licensing jurisdiction, government agency, law 
enforcement agency or court: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $1,000 
 (25)  Compounding a prescription drug for sale to another 
pharmaceutical facility: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $1,000 
 (26)  Preparing a prescription drug in a dosage form which is 
regularly and commonly available from a manufacturer in quantities 
and strengths prescribed by a practitioner: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,500 - $5,000 
 (27)  Violating any ethical code provision of the American 
Pharmaceutical Association Code of Ethics for Pharmacists, October 
27, 1994: 
 initial offense:  $250 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([29]28)  Failing to comply with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in these rules: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $1,000 
 (29)  Failing to provide the Division with a current mailing 
address within 10 days following any change of address: 
 initial offense:  $50 - $100 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $300 
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 (30)  Defaulting on a student loan: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $200 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $500 
 (31)  Failing to abide by all applicable federal and state law 
regarding the practice of pharmacy: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (32)  Failing to comply with administrative inspections: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (33)  Abandoning a pharmacy and/or leaving drugs accessible 
to the public: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 (34)  Failure to return or providing false information on a self-
inspection report: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $250 
 subsequent offense(s):  $300 - $500 
 (35)  Failure to pay an administrative fine: 
 Double the original penalty amount up to $10,000 
 (36)  Any other conduct which constitutes unprofessional or 
unlawful conduct: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000[ 
 (37)  Failure to wear a name tag: 
 Individual initial:  $50 
 Subsequent offense:  $100 
 Pharmacy any offense:  $100 - $200] 
 ([38]37)  Failure to maintain an appropriate ratio of personnel: 
 Pharmacist initial offense:  $100 - $250 
 Pharmacist subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $2,500 
 Pharmacy initial offense:  $250 - $1,000 
 Pharmacy subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $5,000 
 ([39]38)  Unauthorized people in the pharmacy: 
 Pharmacist initial offense:  $50 - $100 
 Pharmacist subsequent offense(s):  $250 - $500 
 Pharmacy initial offense:  $250 - $500 
 Pharmacy subsequent offense(s):  $1,000 - $2,000 
 ([40]39)  Failure to offer to counsel: 
 Pharmacy personnel initial offense:  $500 - $2,500 
 Pharmacy personnel subsequent offense(s):  $5,000 - $10,000 
 Pharmacy:  $2,000 per occurrence 
 ([41]40)  Violations of the laws and rules regulating operating 
standards (security system, unkempt facility, no hot water, etc.) in a 
pharmacy discovered upon inspection by the Division: 
 initial violation:  $50 - $100 
 failure to comply within determined time:  $250 - $500 
 subsequent violations:  $250 - $500 
 failure to comply within established time:  $750 - $1,000 
 ([42]41)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacist intern, or pharmacy technician or operating a pharmacy 
without a license: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([43]42)  Impersonating a licensee or practicing under a false 
name: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([44]43)  Knowingly employing an unlicensed person: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $1,000 - $5,000 

 ([45]44)  Knowingly permitting the use of a license by another 
person: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $1,000 - $5,000 
 ([46]45)  Obtaining a passing score, applying for or obtaining a 
license or otherwise dealing with the Division or Board through the 
use of fraud, forgery, intentional deception, misrepresentation, 
misstatement, or omission: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([47]46)  Violating or aiding or abetting any other person to 
violate any statute, rule or order regulating pharmacy: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([48]47)  Violating or aiding or abetting any other person to 
violate any generally accepted professional or ethical standard: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([49]48)  Engaging in conduct that results in conviction of, or a 
plea of nolo contendere, or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere held 
in abeyance to a crime: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([50]49)  Engaging in conduct that results in disciplinary action 
by any other jurisdiction or regulatory authority: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000 
 ([51]50)  Engaging in conduct, including the use of intoxicants 
or drugs, to the extent that the conduct does or may impair the 
ability to safely engage in practice as a pharmacist, pharmacy intern 
or pharmacy technician: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000 
 ([52]51)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician when physically or 
mentally unfit to do so: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000 
 ([53]52)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician through gross 
incompetence, gross negligence or a pattern of incompetency or 
negligence: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([54]53)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician by any form of action or 
communication which is false, misleading, deceptive or fraudulent: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000 
 ([55]54)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician beyond the individual's 
scope of competency, abilities or education: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000 
 ([56]55)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician beyond the scope of 
licensure: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s):  $200 - $1,000 
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 ([57]56)  Verbally, physically or mentally abusing or exploiting 
any person through conduct connected with the licensee's practice: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $500 - $2,000 
 ([58]57)  Failure to comply with the pharmacist-in-charge 
standards: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s) $2,000 - $10,000 
 ([59]58)  Failure to resolve identified drug therapy management 
problems: 
 initial offense:  $500 - $2,500 
 subsequent offense:  $5,000 - $10,000 
 
R156-17b-605.  Operating Standards - Inventory Requirements. 
 (1)  General requirements for inventory of a pharmacy shall 
include the following: 
 (a)  the pharmacist-in-charge shall be responsible for taking all 
required inventories, but may delegate the performance of the 
inventory to another person or persons; 
 (b)  the inventory records must be maintained for a period of 
five years and be readily available for inspection; 
 (c)  the inventory records shall be filed separately from all other 
records; 
 (d)  the inventory records shall be in a typewritten or printed 
form and include all stocks of legend drugs and controlled 
substances on hand on the date of the inventory including any that 
are out of date drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy systems.  An 
inventory taken by use of a verbal recording device must be 
promptly transcribed; 
 (e)  the inventory may be taken either as of the opening of the 
business or the close of business on the inventory date; 
 (f)  the person taking the inventory and the pharmacist-in-
charge shall indicate the time the inventory was taken and shall sign 
and date the inventory with the date the inventory was taken.  The 
signature of the pharmacist-in-charge and the date of the inventory 
shall be documented within 72 hours or three working days of the 
completed initial, annual, change of ownership and closing 
inventory; 
 (g)  the person taking the inventory shall make an exact count 
or measure all controlled substances listed in Schedule I or II; 
 (h)  the person taking the inventory shall make an estimated 
[court]count or measure all Schedule III, IV or V controlled 
substances and legend drugs, unless the container holds more than 
1,000 tablets or capsules in which case an exact count of the 
contents must be made; 
 (i)  the inventory of Schedule I and II controlled substances 
shall be listed separately from the inventory of Schedule III, IV and 
V controlled substances which shall be listed separately from the 
inventory of the legend drugs; and 
 (j)  if the pharmacy maintains a perpetual inventory of any of 
the drugs required to be inventoried, the perpetual inventory shall be 
reconciled on the date of the inventory. 
 (2)  Requirement for taking the initial inventory shall include 
the following: 
 (a)  all pharmacies having any stock of legend drugs or 
controlled substances shall take an inventory on the opening day of 
business.  Such inventory shall include all stock of legend drugs and 
controlled substances including any out-of-date drugs and drugs in 
automated pharmacy systems; 

 (b)  in the event a pharmacy commences business with none of 
the drugs specified in paragraph (2)(a) of this section on hand, the 
pharmacy shall record this fact as the initial inventory; and 
 (c)  the initial inventory shall serve as the pharmacy's inventory 
until the next completed inventory as specified in Subsection (3) of 
this section. 
 (3)  Requirement for annual inventory shall be 12 months 
following the inventory date of each year and may be taken within 
four days of the specified inventory date and shall include all stocks 
including out-of-date drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy 
systems. 
 (4)  Requirements for change of ownership shall include the 
following: 
 (a)  a pharmacy that changes ownership shall take an inventory 
of all legend drugs and controlled substances including out-of-date 
drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy systems on the date of the 
change of ownership; 
 (b)  such inventory shall constitute, for the purpose of this 
section, the closing inventory for the seller and the initial inventory 
for the buyer; and 
 (c)  transfer of Schedule I and II controlled substances shall 
require the use of official DEA order forms (Form 222). 
 (5)  Requirement for taking inventory when closing a pharmacy 
includes the pharmacist-in-charge, owner, or the legal representative 
of a pharmacy that ceases to operate as a pharmacy shall forward to 
the Division, within ten days of cessation of operation, a statement 
attesting that an inventory has been conducted, the date of closing 
and a statement attesting the manner by which legend drugs and 
controlled substances possessed by the pharmacy were transferred or 
disposed. 
 (6)  Requirements specific to taking inventory in a Class B 
pharmacy shall include the following: 
 (a)  all Class B pharmacies shall maintain a perpetual inventory 
of all Schedule II controlled substances which shall be reconciled 
according to facility policy; and 
 (b)  the inventory of the institution shall be maintained in the 
pharmacy; if an inventory is conducted in other departments within 
the institution, the inventory shall be listed separately as follows: 
 (i)  the inventory of drugs on hand in the pharmacy shall be 
listed separately from the inventory of drugs on hand in the other 
areas of the institution; and 
 (ii)  the inventory of the drugs on hand in all other departments 
shall be identified by department. 
 
R156-17b-609.  Operating Standards - Medication Profile 
System. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-601(1) and 58-17b-
604(1), the following operating standards shall apply with respect to 
medication profile systems: 
 (1)  Patient profiles, once established, shall be maintained by a 
pharmacist in a pharmacy dispensing to patients on a recurring basis 
for a minimum of one year from the date of the most recent 
prescription filled or refilled; except that a hospital pharmacy may 
delete the patient profile for an inpatient upon discharge if a record 
of prescriptions is maintained as a part of the hospital record. 
 (2)  Information to be included in the profile shall be 
determined by a responsible pharmacist at the pharmaceutical 
facility but shall include as a minimum: 
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 (a)  full name of the patient, address, telephone number, date of 
birth or age and gender; 
 (b)  patient history where significant, including known allergies 
and drug reactions, and [a list of medications and relevant devices 
obtained at the pharmacy; 
 (c)  ]a list of prescription drugs obtained by the patient at the 
pharmacy including: 
 (i)  name of prescription drug; 
 (ii)  strength of prescription drug; 
 (iii)  quantity dispensed; 
 (iv)  date of filling or refilling; 
 (v)  charge for the prescription drug as dispensed to the patient; 
and 
 ([d]c)  any additional comments relevant to the patient's drug 
use. 
 (3)  Patient medication profile information shall be recorded by 
a pharmacist, pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician. 
 
R156-17b-612.  Operating Standards - Prescriptions. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1), the following 
shall apply to prescriptions: 
 (1)  Prescription order shall be handled according to the rules of 
the Federal Drug Enforcement Administration. 
 (2)  A prescription issued by an authorized licensed 
practitioner, if verbally communicated by an agent of that 
practitioner upon that practitioner's specific instruction and 
authorization, may be accepted by a pharmacist or pharmacy intern. 
 (3)  A prescription issued by a licensed prescribing practitioner, 
if electronically communicated by an agent of that practitioner, upon 
that practitioner's specific instruction and authorization, may be 
accepted by a pharmacist, pharmacy intern and pharmacy technician. 
 (4)  In accordance with Section 58-17b-609, prescription files, 
including refill information, shall be maintained for a minimum of 
five years [by either a manual filing of written prescriptions or by an 
]and shall be immediately retrievable in written or electronic 
[record]format. 
 (5)  Prescriptions having a remaining authorization for refill 
may be transferred by the pharmacist at the pharmacy holding the 
prescription to a pharmacist at another pharmacy upon the 
authorization of the patient to whom the prescription was issued.  
The transferring pharmacist and receiving pharmacist shall act 
diligently to ensure that the total number of authorized refills is not 
exceeded. 
 (6)  Prescriptions for terminal patients in licensed hospices, 
home health agencies or nursing homes may be partially filled if the 
patient has a medical diagnosis documenting a terminal illness and 
may not need the full prescription amount. 
 (7)  Refills may be dispensed only in accordance with the 
prescriber's authorization as indicated on the original prescription 
drug order; 
 (8)  If there are no refill instructions on the original prescription 
drug order, or if all refills authorized on the original prescription 
drug order have been dispensed, authorization from the prescribing 
practitioner must be obtained prior to dispensing any refills. 
 (9)  Refills of prescription drug orders for legend drugs may not 
be refilled after one year from the date of issuance of the original 
prescription drug order without obtaining authorization from the 
prescribing practitioner prior to dispensing any additional quantities 
of the drug. 

 (10)  Refills of prescription drug orders for controlled 
substances shall be done in accordance with Subsection 58-37-
6(7)(f). 
 (11)  A pharmacist may exercise his professional judgment in 
refilling a prescription drug order for a drug, other than a controlled 
substance listed in Schedule II, without the authorization of the 
prescribing practitioner, provided: 
 (a)  failure to refill the prescription might result in an 
interruption of a therapeutic regimen or create patient suffering; 
 (b)  either: 
 (i)  a natural or manmade disaster has occurred which prohibits 
the pharmacist from being able to contact the practitioner; or 
 (ii)  the pharmacist is unable to contact the practitioner after a 
reasonable effort, the effort should be documented and said 
documentation should be available to the Division; 
 (c)  the quantity of prescription drug dispensed does not exceed 
a 72-hour supply, unless the packaging is in a greater quantity; 
 (d)  the pharmacist informs the patient or the patient's agent at 
the time of dispensing that the refill is being provided without such 
authorization and that authorization of the practitioner is required for 
future refills; 
 (e)  the pharmacist informs the practitioner of the emergency 
refill at the earliest reasonable time; 
 (f)  the pharmacist maintains a record of the emergency refill 
containing the information required to be maintained on a 
prescription as specified in this subsection; and 
 (g)  the pharmacist affixes a label to the dispensing container as 
specified in Section 58-17b-602. 
 (12)  If the prescription was originally filled at another 
pharmacy, the pharmacist may exercise his professional judgment in 
refilling the prescription provided: 
 (a)  the patient has the prescription container label, receipt or 
other documentation from the other pharmacy which contains the 
essential information; 
 (b)  after a reasonable effort, the pharmacist is unable to contact 
the other pharmacy to transfer the remaining prescription refills or 
there are no refills remaining on the prescription; 
 (c)  the pharmacist, in his professional judgment, determines 
that such a request for an emergency refill is appropriate and meets 
the requirements of (a) and (b) of this subsection; and 
 (d)  the pharmacist complies with the requirements of 
Subsections (11)(c) through (g) of this section. 
 (13)  The transfer of original prescription drug order 
information for legend drugs and Schedule III through V controlled 
substances is permissible between pharmacies on a one time basis, 
except transfers back to the pharmacy making the original transfer 
and transfers within the same corporate pharmacy chain with a 
computer pharmacy system which accounts for the transfer to all 
sites, only for the valid remaining refills except as described in 
Subsection R156-17b-613(9). 
 (a)  the transfer shall be communicated directly between 
pharmacists or pharmacy interns or as authorized under Subsection 
R156-17b-613(9): 
 (b)  both the original and the transferred prescription drug 
orders shall be maintained for a period of five years from the date of 
the last refill; 
 (c)  the pharmacist or pharmacy intern transferring the 
prescription drug order shall void the prescription electronically or 
write void on the face of the invalidated prescription manually; 
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 (d)  the pharmacist or pharmacy intern receiving the transferred 
prescription drug order shall: 
 (i)  indicate on the prescription record that the prescription was 
transferred electronically or manually; and 
 (ii)  record on the transferred prescription drug order the 
following information: 
 (A)  original date of issuance and date of dispensing or receipt, 
if different from date of issuance; 
 (B)  original prescription number and the number of refills 
authorized on the original prescription drug order; 
 (C)  number of valid refills remaining and the date of last refill, 
if applicable; 
 (D)  the name, address and, if a controlled substance, the DEA 
registration number of the pharmacy to which such prescription is 
transferred; and 
 (E)  the name of the pharmacist or pharmacy intern transferring 
the prescription drug order information; 
 (e)  the data processing system shall have a mechanism to 
prohibit the transfer or refilling of legend or controlled substance 
prescription drug orders which have been previously transferred; and 
 (f)  a pharmacist or pharmacy intern may not refuse to transfer 
original prescription information to another pharmacist or pharmacy 
intern who is acting on behalf of a patient and who is making a 
request for this information as specified in Subsections (12) and (13) 
of this section. 
 
R156-17b-616.  Operating Standards - Class D Pharmacy - 
[Non-Residence]Out of State Mail Order Pharmacies. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-301(3) and 58-17b-
306(2), an application for licensure as a Class D pharmacy shall 
include: 
 (a)  a pharmacy care protocol that includes the operating 
standards established in Subsections R156-17b-610(1) and (8) and 
R156-17b-614(1) through (4); 
 (b)  a copy of the pharmacist's license for the pharmacist-in-
charge; and 
 (c)  a copy of the most recent state inspection showing the 
status of compliance with the laws and regulations for physical 
facility, records and operations. 
 
KEY:  pharmacists, licensing, pharmacies 
2005 
58-17b-101 
58-17b-601(1) 
58-37-1 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-231 
Workers' Compensation Market of Last 

Resort 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
DAR File No.:  27488 

Filed:  03/24/2005, 10:32 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this change is to make changes suggested during 
the last comment period. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The definition of 
"Reasonable Rating Plan" is being deleted since it is not used 
elsewhere in the rule.  In Subsection R590-231-6(1), the word 
"and" is being replaced with "or" in the requirement to file a 
separate underwriting and rating criteria "or" separate rating 
plan for the market of last resort.  In Subsection R590-231-
6(2), the word "may" is being replaced with "shall" to 
strengthen the requirement to include all items listed in the 
underwriting criteria.  Also in the same subsection, the 
wording "but are not limited to" is being eliminated to comply 
with the state's rulemaking requirements that this type of 
wording not be included in rules.  (DAR NOTE:  This is the 
second change in proposed rule (CPR) for Rule R590-231.  
The original proposed new rule upon which the first CPR was 
based was published in the November 1, 2004, issue of the 
Utah State Bulletin, on page 15.  The first CPR upon which 
this second CPR is based was published in the February 1, 
2005, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 55.  
Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has been 
added since the publication of the proposed rule mentioned 
above; strike-out indicates text that has been deleted.  You 
must view the first CPR, the second CPR, and the proposed 
new rule together to understand all of the changes that will be 
enforceable should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-19a-404, 31A-20-103, 31A-22-1010, and 
31A-2-201 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  These changes will have no impact on 
the work of public employees or the state's budget.  No fees 
will be charged or eliminated and no additional filings required. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The changes in this rule will have no 
impact on local governments since the rule deals with the 
regulatory requirements of the department on their licensees. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The changes made to this rule will have no 
fiscal impact on the industry other than the Workers' 
Compensation Fund who will be required to file one less 
report with the department.  Much of this information is 
computer generated.  The work of creating these reports 
initially did not anticipate the hiring of additional help and as a 
result the elimination of producing one of these reports should 
only save them time. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The changes 
made to this rule will have no fiscal impact on the industry 
other than the Workers' Compensation Fund who will be 
required to file one less report with the department.  Much of 
this information is computer generated. The work of creating 
these reports initially did not anticipate the hiring of additional 
help and as a result the elimination of producing one of these 
reports should only save them time. 
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COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The elimination of one of these 
reports will create no fiscal impact on the insurance industry, 
the Workers' Compensation Fund or businesses associated 
with these insurers.  Kent Michie, Insurance Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/16/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/17/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance Administration. 
R590-231.  Workers' Compensation Market of Last Resort. 
R590-231-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to the following statutes: 
 (1)  31A-19a-404, rulemaking authority for the recording and 
reporting of statistical data and experience rating data; 
 (2)  31A-20-103, rulemaking authority to define lines and 
classes of insurance; 
 (3)  31A-22-1010, rulemaking authority for reporting 
requirements for workers' compensation deductible policies; and 
 (4)  31A-2-201, rulemaking authority to implement the 
provision of Title 31A. 
 
R590-231-2.  Findings and Interpretation. 
 (1)  The commissioner finds that the legislature intended that 
the Workers' Compensation Fund created under Title 31A, Chapter 
33, was to provide workers' compensation insurance for Utah 
employers who are not able to obtain such insurance in the voluntary 
marketplace. 
 (2)  Based upon this finding, the commissioner interprets 
Section 31A-22-1001 to mean that the Workers' Compensation 
Fund, created under Title 31A, Chapter 33, is the insurer that 
provides workers' compensation insurance for the market of last 
resort in Utah. 
 
R590-231-3.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule, regarding the workers' 
compensation market of last resort, is to: 
 (a)  define the workers' compensation market of last resort; 
 (b)  provide eligibility criteria; 

 (c)  provide requirements for designation of existing insured 
employers; and 
 (d)  provide reporting requirements to the department and the 
designated rate service organization. 
 (2)  This rule applies to the insurer for the market of last resort. 
 
R590-231-4.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Insurer for the market of last resort" means the Workers' 
Compensation Fund. 
 (2)  "Market of Last Resort" means the workers' compensation 
class of risk that cannot be placed with a voluntary workers' 
compensation insurer because of certain underwriting restrictions or 
class codes. 
 (3)  ["Reasonable rating plan" means a rating plan approved by 
the department. 
 (4)  ]"Voluntary workers' compensation insurer" means an 
admitted workers' compensation insurer actively seeking workers' 
compensation business in Utah, including the Workers' 
Compensation Fund. 
 
R590-231-5.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  To be eligible for the workers' compensation market of last 
resort, an employer must meet the underwriting and rating criteria 
established by the insurer for the market of last resort. 
 (2)  An employer being insured by the insurer for the market of 
last resort remains eligible for the market of last resort until the 
employer obtains workers' compensation insurance from a voluntary 
workers' compensation insurer. 
 
R590-231-6.  Underwriting and Rating. 
 (1)  The insurer for the market of last resort shall file separate 
underwriting and rating criteria for the market of last resort[, and] or 
a separate rating plan for the market of last resort. 
 (2)  Underwriting criteria for eligibility in the market of last 
resort [may]shall include[ but are not limited to]: 
 (a)  premium size; 
 (b)  class code and risk characteristics; and 
 (c)  loss and payroll experience. 
 (3)  Policy files for employers eligible for the market of last 
resort must include the underwriting criteria or follow underwriting 
protocols used for placement in the market of last resort. 
 
R590-231-7. Designation and Reporting. 
 (1)  Because the Workers' Compensation Fund is a voluntary 
workers' compensation insurer, and the insurer for the market of last 
resort, the Workers' Compensation Fund shall: 
 (a)  Designate its existing insured employers as insured in the 
voluntary workers' compensation market or in the market of last 
resort; and 
 (b)  Such designation can be done: 
 (i)  immediately; or 
 (ii)  as each employer renews; or 
 (iii)  at the time a new application is made for workers' 
compensation coverage. 
 (2)  The insurer for the market of last resort shall report its data, 
including market of last resort data to the designated rate service 
organization.  Such reporting shall be timely and consistent with the 
designated rate service organization's reporting requirements for all 
workers' compensation insurance carriers operating in Utah. 
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 (3)  Upon request, the insurer for the market of last resort shall 
make available to the Insurance Department, information about the 
market of last resort.  Requested information may include the market 
of last resort data reported to the designated rate service 
organization. 
 
R590-231-8.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the revised provisions 
of this rule 45 days from the effective date of the rule. 
 
R590-231-9.  Severability. 
 If any provision or clause of this rule or the application of it to 
any person is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the 

rule and the application of any provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected. 
 
KEY:  workers' compensation insurance 
2005 
31A-2-201 
31A-19a-404 
31A-20-103 
31A-22-1010 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES  

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that the regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 

(a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
(b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
(c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Utah Code Subsection 63-46a-7(1) (2001)). 

 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · ·) indicates that 
unaffected text was removed to conserve space.   
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective at the moment the Division of Administrative Rules receives the filing, or on a later date 
designated by the agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule. 
 
Because 120-DAY RULES are effective immediately, the law does not require a public comment period.  However, 
when an agency files a 120-DAY RULE, it usually files a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements 
permanent.  Comment may be made on the proposed rule.  Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Utah 
Code Section 63-46a-7 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Section R15-4-8. 
  
 

Commerce, Securities 

R164-9-1 
Registration by Coordination 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  27777 
FILED:  03/25/2005, 11:12 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this emergency rule is to provide a means for the 
sale of real estate-related private placements as "securities" 
within the state of Utah. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The change adds an 
additional registration category, the Limited Purpose 
Registration, to the existing rule governing securities 
registrations by coordination. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 61-1-9 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No material effect.  The rule merely 
allows an existing category of private placement securities 
offerings to be treated as "registered" securities solely for the 
purpose of qualifying for the exemptive provision given in 
Subsection 61-2-3(3)(a)(ii) of the Utah Real Estate Act.  It 
merely allows promoters to continue existing sales practices 
pending further legislative action. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No material effect.  The rule merely 
allows an existing category of private placement securities 
offerings to be treated as "registered" securities solely for the 
purpose of qualifying for the exemptive provision given in 
Subsection 61-2-3(3)(a)(ii) of the Utah Real Estate Act.  It 

merely allows promoters to continue existing sales practices 
pending further legislative action. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  No material effect.  The rule merely allows 
an existing category of private placement securities offerings 
to be treated as "registered" securities solely for the purpose 
of qualifying for the exemptive provision given in Subsection 
61-2-3(3)(a)(ii) of the Utah Real Estate Act.  It merely allows 
promoters to continue existing sales practices pending further 
legislative action. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  No material effect. 
The rule merely allows an existing category of private 
placement securities offerings to be treated as "registered" 
securities solely for the purpose of qualifying for the exemptive 
provision given in Subsection 61-2-3(3)(a)(ii) of the Utah Real 
Estate Act.  It merely allows promoters to continue existing 
sales practices pending further legislative action. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule will have no material 
adverse fiscal impact on businesses.  As stated above, this 
rule merely allows promoters and their securities dealers to 
continue to sell certain real estate-related investments as 
private placement securities under Utah law.  S.B. 64, in its 
current form, may allow many such private placement 
promoters to comply with state law governing real estate or 
with federal law governing securities, but not both 
simultaneously.  This rule simply preserves existing sales 
procedures in anticipation of additional clarifying action by the 
legislature.  Russell Skousen, Executive Director 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD cause an imminent peril to the 
public health, safety, or welfare. 
S.B. 64, passed in the recent legislative session, excluded 
many real estate-related transactions from the definition of 
"security" under the Utah Uniform Securities Act and instead 
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classified the transactions as real estate.  Federal law, 
however, still classifies the transactions as securities.  Prior to 
the passage of S.B. 64, many major interstate promoters of 
these types of investment offerings had already taken steps to 
comply with state and federal securities laws by setting up 
selling networks of licensed securities broker-dealers.  
However, as a result of this unintended conflict between how 
these transactions are defined in state and in federal law, an 
entire class of commercial transactions has been revealed to 
be at risk of violating either federal securities laws or state real 
estate licensing law absent the creation of some form of 
temporary safe harbor.  Promoters' securities dealers can no 
longer sell the offering in this state without violating applicable 
local real estate licensing laws.  However, if promoters place 
their offerings in the hands of real estate licensees for 
commissioned selling within Utah, they will, under federal law, 
be placing their securities in the hands of persons who are not 
licensed to sell them.  Thus, commerce in this area cannot be 
conducted in a manner that gives the participants confidence 
that they will be in full compliance with all relevant state and 
federal rules.  In anticipation of follow-up legislative action that 
should effectively remedy this difficulty within the applicable 
120-day period, the Division, under the authority of Subsection 
61-1-9(9) and Section 61-1-24, is proposing to promulgate this 
Emergency Rule amending Section R164-1-9 to provide for a 
"Limited Purpose Registration."  The sole purpose of this new 
registration type is to provide to promoters and to securities 
broker-dealers who sell private placement securities 
containing a real estate component the means to qualify for 
the exemption from real estate licensure contained in 
Subsection 61-2-3(3)(a)(ii) of the Utah Real Estate Act.  
Registering a security under the Limited Purpose Registration 
provision will not otherwise change the character of the private 
placement offering in any other way.  (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 64 is 
found at UT L 2005 Ch 258, and will be effective 05/02/2005.) 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING 
REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
SECURITIES 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

 
DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Benjamin N Johnson at the above address, by phone at 801-
530-6134, by FAX at 801-530-6980, or by Internet E-mail at 
bnjohnson@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  03/25/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David Preece, Director 
 
 
 
R164.  Commerce, Securities. 
R164-9.  Registration by Coordination. 
R164-9-1.  Registration by Coordination. 
 (A)  Authority and purpose 

 (1)  The Division enacts this rule under authority granted by 
Sections 61-1-9, 61-1-11 and 61-1-24. 
 (2)  This rule sets forth the procedure and requirements to be met 
when applying for registration by coordination in Utah.  Any security 
for which a registration statement under the Securities Act of 1933 or a 
notification under Regulation A, 17 C.F.R. sections 230.251 through 
230.263 (1994), has been filed with the SEC in connection with the 
same offering, or any security for which a Form D (17 CFR section 
239.500) has been filed with the SEC pursuant to Regulation D, Rule 
506 (17 CFR section 230.506) may be registered by coordination under 
Section 61-1-9.  A registration by coordination in connection with 
securities for which a Form D has been filed with the SEC pursuant to 
Regulation D, Rule 506 shall be limited in its scope and effectiveness 
by the Limited Purpose Registration provisions in paragraph (J) of this 
rule. 
 (3)  The rule also authorizes optional electronic filing of 
registration statements and allows an optional modification of the term 
of effectiveness to facilitate simultaneous electronic filing. 
 (4)  [Offerings]Except for Limited Purpose Registrations under 
paragraph (J), offerings which are registered, as opposed to being 
exempt from registration, in less than 20 states, including the state of 
Utah, are subject to the requirements of Section R164-11-1.  Failure to 
comply with the requirements of Section R164-11-1 may be grounds 
for denial, suspension or revocation of effectiveness of a registration 
statement filed under Section 61-1-9. 
 (B)  Definitions 
 (1)  "Designee" means any person or entity authorized and 
recognized by the Division in this rule to accept filings on behalf of the 
Division by electronic or other means of communication. 
 (2)  "Division" means the Division of Securities, Utah Department 
of Commerce. 
 (3)  "NASAA" means the North American Securities 
Administrators Association, Inc. 
 (4)  "Registration Statement" means the registration statement 
filed under the Securities Act of 1933 or the notification filed under 
Regulation A, 17 C.F.R. sections 230.251 through 230.263 (1994), or 
SEC Form D, 17 C.F.R. section 239.500, filed under Regulation D, 
Rule 506, 17 C.F.R. section 230.506. 
 (5)  "SEC" means the United States Securities and Exchange 
Commission. 
 (6)  "SRD" means the Securities Registration Depository, Inc. 
 (C)  Registration requirements 
 (1)  An issuer may register securities by submitting to the Division 
or its designee the following: 
 (1)(a)  One original application on NASAA Form U-1 - Uniform 
Application to Register Securities; 
 (1)(b)  One copy of the registration statement, including exhibits, 
together with all amendments as filed with the SEC under the Securities 
Act of 1933[ or], SEC Regulation A, or SEC Form D and such other 
documents as the SEC may require to be filed in connection with Form 
D; 
 (1)(c)  One original NASAA Form U-2 - Uniform Consent to 
Service of Process; 
 (1)(d)  A fee as specified in the Division's fee schedule; and 
 (1)(e)  Any additional documents or information which the 
Division requests. 
 (2)  No document or application shall be deemed to be filed, and 
the ten working day period referred to in Subsection 61-1-9(3)(b) shall 
not begin, until all items required by Subparagraph (C)(1) have been 
received by the Division or its designee. 
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 (3)  Where the Division notifies the registrant in writing of any 
missing or incomplete documents or information, or other deficiencies 
in the registration statement, registrant must respond promptly.  If the 
registrant does not respond to the Division in writing within 30 
calendar days of the mailing date of the Division's letter, the registration 
statement will be deemed incomplete and action may be taken to deny 
the effectiveness of the registration statement, and to impose a fine. 
 (D)  Additional notification to the Division 
 The registrant shall notify the Division within two business days 
upon the receipt of any stop order, denial, order to show cause, 
suspension or revocation order, injunction or restraining order, or 
similar order entered or issued by any state or other regulatory authority 
or by any court, concerning the securities covered by this application or 
other securities of the issuer currently being offered to the public. 
 (E)  Effective date 
 (1)  The registration statement becomes effective as set forth in 
Subsection 61-1-9(3). 
 (2)  The registration statement is effective for one year from its 
effective date with the Division. 
 (3)  A registration statement which does not become effective 
within one year from the filing date may be deemed materially 
incomplete and action may be taken to deny effectiveness to the 
registration statement. 
 (4)  To facilitate the coordination of expiration dates with other 
states, the issuer may request a specific term of effectiveness which 
does not exceed one year. 
 (F)  Post effective amendments 
 A registration statement or a Form D may be amended by filing 
with the Division or its designee an amended NASAA Form U-1 - 
Uniform Application to Register Securities, and an amended 
registration statement.  The amendment becomes effective when the 
Division so orders. 
 (G)  Re-registration 
 The registrant may re-register securities, for which a registration 
statement or Form D is about to expire, by submitting to the Division or 
its designee, a NASAA Form U-1, an updated registration statement or 
Form D and the filing fee specified in the Division's fee schedule. 

 (H)  Closing report 
 Within 30 days of the close of the offering or the expiration of the 
registration statement, whichever occurs first, the registrant shall file a 
closing report.  The closing report must be filed on Division Form 9-1. 
 (I)  Recognized designee 
 (1)  The Division authorizes and recognizes the SRD as designee 
to receive filings under this rule on behalf of the Division, including but 
not limited to applications, registration statements and fees. 
 (2)  The designation provided in this rule is for the sole purpose of 
receiving filings on behalf of the Division and then transmitting those 
documents to the Division, or for any other purpose which the Division 
may prescribe by order or release. 
 (J)  Limited Purpose Registration 
 (1)  An effective registration by coordination for which an 
application was made in reliance upon the filing of Form D with the 
SEC pursuant to Regulation D, Rule 506 shall be referred to as a 
Limited Purpose Registration. 
 (2)  A security registered by coordination as a Limited Purpose 
Registration shall be regarded as a security registered under the Utah 
Uniform Securities Act solely for the purpose of applying the 
exemptive provision found in Section 61-2-3(3)(a)(ii). 
 (3)  Except with regards to the application of the exemptive 
provision referenced in subparagraph (J)(2), a security registered by 
coordination as a Limited Purpose Registration shall otherwise retain 
its character as a private placement under SEC Regulation D, Rule 506 
and shall be offered and sold within this state in full compliance with 
Regulation D and all other federal and state regulations applicable to 
such offerings. 
 
KEY:  securities, securities regulation 
March 25, 2005 
Notice of Continuation December 19, 2002 
61-1-9 
61-1-11 
61-1-24 
 
▼ ▼ 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 
Agriculture and Food, Marketing and 

Conservation 

R65-10 
Agriculture Resource Development 

Loans (ARDL) 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27787 
FILED:  03/31/2005, 16:16 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 4-18-5(2)(d), 
authorizes the commission to adopt rules to carry out the 
duties outlined in Subsections 4-18-5(1)(d), (e), and (f).  
Subsection 4-8-15(1)(e) authorizes the commission to 
approve and make loans from the Agriculture Resource 
Development Fund. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule establishes the 
general operating practices by which the Agriculture Resource 
Development Loan (ARDL) program shall function and the 
responsibility of the Loan Coordinator or Loan Administrator in 
issuing contracts for agriculture development.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD 
MARKETING AND CONSERVATION 
350 N REDWOOD RD 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3087, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Richard Sandberg or Marolyn Leetham at the above address, 
by phone at 801-538-7030 or 801-538-7114, by FAX at 801-
538-4940 or 801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at 
rsandberg@utah.gov or mleetham@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Leonard M. Blackham, Commissioner 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/31/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-140 
Reference Filings of Rate Service 

Organization Prospective Loss Costs 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27785 
FILED:  03/31/2005, 13:50 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsections 31A-2-201(1) 
and 31A-2-201(3)(a) provide general rulewriting authority to 
the commissioner to adopt rules that will implement provisions 
of the insurance code.  This rule focuses on the requirements 
for a rate service organization filing loss cost factors for 
property and casualty insurers as specified in Sections 31A-
19a-203 and 31A-19a-205. 
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SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The department has 
received no written comments regarding this rule in the past 
five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is important that this rule 
continue in force.  It is a key component in the regulation of 
loss cost filings developed by rate service organizations such 
as the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI), 
Insurance Services Office (ISO) and other rating organizations 
licensed to do business in Utah.  This rule applies to all lines 
of property and casualty insurance coverages. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/31/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-164 
Uniform Health Billing Rule 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27784 

FILED:  03/31/2005, 13:43 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 31A-22-614.5 
requires all insurers that offer health insurance to use a 
uniform claim form and uniform billing and claim codes 
adopted by the commissioner in accordance with the Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act.  In Subsection R590-164-4(A), 
the rule sets the electronic claim forms to be used uniformly 
and Section R590-164-6 sets the standards for electronic data 
interchange transaction between providers of health services 
and health insurers. 
 

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  On October 28, 2002, the 
department filed this rule correcting definitions and 
incorporating additional electronic interchange standards.  
During the comment period, the department received three 
written comments.  One explained the process being used to 
set the health billing standards, who was involved, and how 
the information was being exposed to the public.  Another 
comment expressed concern that the process amounted to a 
monopoly and that the process did not allow for public 
comment.  An insurer who was not aware that their company 
was represented on the committee setting standards 
suggested that the state adopt Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act (HIPAA) standards and that only a few 
members of the standards committee are affected by those 
same standards. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule eliminates the 
need for every insurer to create their own billing form that 
health providers are required to complete and file before 
receiving reimbursement for their services.  Uniformity in 
health billing forms reduces confusion, processing time, and 
cost.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.  It should be 
noted that the organization that sets the standards has 
representation from major insurance carriers and health care 
providers.  Before adopting standards, they are exposed to 
the insurance industry and medical organizations for their 
input.  As many as 700 responses have been received 
regarding a change in standards.  Utah exceeds the national 
average of those participating electronically in the exchange of 
health billings.  Ninety percent of medical billings in Utah are 
sent electronically. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/31/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and 
Mining; Coal 
R645-105 

Blaster Training, Examination and 
Certification 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27778 

FILED:  03/25/2005, 11:50 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 40-10-1 et seq. 
contains the Utah Coal Regulatory Program statutory 
authority.  The entire regulatory program is a collection of laws 
and rules which constitute the basis of the State's primacy 
under the aegis of the (federal) Office of Surface Mining.  A 
major component of the coal primacy program is the blaster 
certification segment which is formed by the rule that is the 
subject of this five-year review notice. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been 
received since the last five year review of this rule in June of 
2000. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is needed to 
maintain the structure of the Blaster Certification Program, an 
important safety training measure for the use of explosives at 
Utah coal mines.  Blaster training is an integral part of the coal 
regulatory program.  The continuation of this rule will also 
assure that the State maintains the Utah Coal Regulatory 
Program and the State's primacy role in the regulation of coal 
mining and reclamation.  State primacy keeps regulatory 
decision making at the State and not the Federal level and 
within the Utah view of natural resources management. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
OIL, GAS AND MINING; COAL 
Room 1210  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ron Daniels at the above address, by phone at 801-538-5316, 
by FAX at 801-359-3940, or by Internet E-mail at 
rondaniels@utah.gov 
 

AUTHORIZED BY:  Ron Daniels, Coordinator of Minerals 
Research 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/25/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and 
Mining; Coal 
R645-400 

Inspection and Enforcement:  Division 
Authority and Procedures 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27779 

FILED:  03/25/2005, 11:51 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 40-10-1 et seq. 
contains the Coal Regulatory Program statutory authority for 
the State of Utah.  The entire regulatory program is a 
collection of laws and rules which constitute the State's 
primacy program under the aegis of the (federal) Office of 
Surface Mining.  A major component of the coal primacy 
program is the inspection and enforcement segment which is 
formed by the rule that is the subject of this five-year review 
notice. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received on this rule since it was last reviewed in June of 
2000. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is needed to 
maintain the structure of the Inspection and Enforcement 
segment of the Utah Coal Regulatory Program and will, in 
turn, assure State primacy in the regulation of coal mining and 
reclamation.  State primacy keeps regulatory decision making 
at the State and not the Federal level and within the Utah view 
of natural resources management.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
OIL, GAS AND MINING; COAL 
Room 1210  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ron Daniels at the above address, by phone at 801-538-5316, 
by FAX at 801-359-3940, or by Internet E-mail at 
rondaniels@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Ron Daniels, Coordinator of Minerals 
Research 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/25/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-204 
Included Employment 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27789 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 11:06 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 35A-4-204 defines 
employment and describes what types of employment are 
covered by the Employment Security Act.  Rule R994-204 is 
necessary to define terms used or implied by that section.  
Section 35A-1-104 authorizes the Department of Workforce 
Services to adopt rules.  Subsection 35A-1-104(4) authorizes 
the Department to establish eligibility standards for its 
programs.  Subsection 35A-4-502(1)(b) authorizes the 
Department to make rules necessary for the administration of 
the Employment Security Act. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  We have received no 
written comments during the last five years on this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is essential for an 
employer to know when it must pay unemployment taxes and 
benefits.  A claimant also needs to know when he or she is 
covered under the Act.  An employer, for instance, cannot just 
call an "employee" an independent contractor to avoid 
compliance with the Act.  The rule describes a true 
independent contractor relationship to insure uniform 
application of the statute and notice to the party of what they 
need to do to comply.  Section 35A-4-204 defines employment 
covered by the Employment Security Act.  The rule is 
necessary to describe how the Department of Workforce 
Services determines when the statute applies in situations like 
domestic service, independent contractor, and outside 
commissioned salesmen.  It also defines when an employer, 

doing business in Utah and other states, will be covered in 
Utah.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Tani Downing, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/01/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-205 
Exempt Employment 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27791 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 12:44 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 35A-4-205 provides 
that some types of employment are exempt from the 
Employment Security Act.  Section 35A-1-104 authorizes the 
Department of Workforce Services to adopt rules.  Subsection 
35A-1-1-4(4) authorizes the Department to establish eligibility 
standards for its programs.  Subsection 35A-4-502(1)(b) 
authorizes the Department to make rules necessary for the 
administration of the Employment Security Act. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  We have received no 
written comments during the last five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is necessary to 
explain when employment is not covered under the Act.  It 
defines necessary terms like "domestic service" and when 
family members are exempt.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued.  There has been no opposition to this rule. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Tani Downing, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/01/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-206 
Agricultural Labor 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27796 

FILED:  04/01/2005, 13:35 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 35A-4-206 provides 
that services performed in agricultural labor are not covered 
by the Employment Security Act except under certain 
circumstances.  This rule helps define what is considered 
agriculture so employers, employees, and Department of 

Workforce Services employees know how to determine which 
claimants are covered and which are not.  Section 35A-1-104 
authorizes the Department of Workforce Services to adopt 
rules.  Subsection 35A-1-104(4) authorizes the Department to 
establish eligibility standards for its programs.  Subsection 
35A-4-502(1)(b) authorizes the Department to make rules 
necessary for the administration of the Employment Security 
Act. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received since the last five-year review. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The rule is necessary to 
determine which services are performed in "agriculture" and 
whether or not those services are covered under the Act.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Tani Downing, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/01/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 
  
 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 (1996)).  If the agency finds that 
it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file an extension with the 
Division of Administrative Rules.  The extension permits the agency to file the review up to 120 days beyond the 
anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed extensions for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the 
anniversary date.  The five-year review extension is governed by Utah Code Subsection 63-46a-9(4) and (5) (1996). 
  
 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
 Drinking Water 

No. 27780 (filed 03/28/2005 at 3:30 p.m.):  R309-305 (was R309-302).  Certification Rules for Backflow 
Technicians. 
ENACTED OR LAST REVIEWED:  04/10/2000 (No. 22730, 5YR, filed 04/10/2000 at 10:27 a.m., published 
05/01/2000) 
EXTENDED DUE DATE:  08/08/2005 

 
No. 27781 (filed 03/28/2005 at 3:33 p.m.):  R309-405.  Compliance and Enforcement:  Administrative Penalty. 
ENACTED OR LAST REVIEWED:  04/17/2000 (No. 22604, NEW, filed 01/14/2000 at 8:32 a.m., published 
02/01/2000) 
EXTENDED DUE DATE:  08/15/2005 

 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 

Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Agriculture and Food 

Animal Industry 
No. 27687 (AMD): R58-1-7.  Swine. 
Published:  February 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 18, 2005 
 

Regulatory Services 
No. 27569 (AMD): R70-540-14.  Exemptions. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  March 18, 2005 
 
 

Education 
Administration 

No. 27705 (AMD): R277-410.  Accreditation of Schools. 
Published:  March 1, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27706 (AMD): R277-411.  Elementary School 
Accreditation. 
Published:  March 1, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27707 (AMD): R277-412.  Junior High and Middle 
School Accreditation. 
Published:  March 1, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 

 
No. 27708 (AMD): R277-413.  Accreditation of 
Secondary Schools, Alternative or Special Purpose 
Schools. 
Published:  March 1, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27710 (AMD): R277-705-6.  Utah Basic Skills 
Competency Testing Requirements and Procedures. 
Published:  March 1, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27662 (AMD): R277-713.  Concurrent Enrollment of 
High School Students in College Courses. 
Published:  February 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 21, 2005 
 
 

Money Management Council 
Administration 

No. 27689 (AMD): R628-11.  Maximum Amount of Public 
Funds Allowed to be Held by any Qualified Depository. 
Published:  February 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 22, 2005 
 
 

Regents (Board Of) 
Administration 

No. 27666 (AMD): R765-604.  New Century Scholarship. 
Published:  February 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 22, 2005 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 1, 2005, including notices of effective date received through April 1, 
2005, the effective dates of which are no later than April 15, 2005.  The Rules Index is published in the Utah State 
Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the Bulletin, do 
become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) 
rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and Keyword 
(Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  The index may contain inaccurate page number references.  Also the index is incomplete in the sense 
that index entries for Changes in Proposed Rules (CPRs) are not preceded by entries for their parent Proposed 
Rules.  Bulletin issue information and effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our 
knowledge, complete and accurate.  If you have any questions regarding the index and the information it contains, 
please contact Nancy Lancaster (801 538-3218), Mike Broschinsky (801 538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801 
538-3777). 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
 
 
 
 
 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  

 
 
 
CODE 
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ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Administrative Services 

Facilities Construction and Management 
R23-1 Procurement of Construction 27603 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

R23-2 Procurement of Architect-Engineer Services 27605 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

R23-3 Planning and Programming for Capital Projects 27615 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

R23-4 Suspension/Debarment and Contract 
Performance Review Committee 

27610 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

R23-26 Dispute Resolution 27614 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

Fleet Operations 
R27-1-2  Definitions 27546 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/3  

R27-3-6  Application for Commute or Take Home Use 27599 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R27-4 Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State 
Fleet 

27543 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

R27-4-1  Authority 27594 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R27-6 Fuel Dispensing Program 27544 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/7  
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Records Committee 
R35-1a State Records Committee Definitions 27621 NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

R35-2 Declining Appeal Hearings 27625 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

R35-3 Prehearing Conferences 27622 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  

R35-4 Compliance with State Records Committee 
Decisions and Orders 

27624 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

R35-5 Subpoenas Issued by the Records Committee 27623 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

R35-6 Expedited Hearing 27620 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

 
Agriculture and Food 

Animal Industry 
R58-1 Admission and Inspection of Livestock, Poultry, 

and Other Animals 
27570 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-24/5  

R58-1-7  Swine 27687 AMD 03/18/2005 2005-4/8  

R58-2 Diseases, Inspections and Quarantines 27581 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/9  

R58-7 Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock 
Auction Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and 
Livestock Market Weighpersons 

27688 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/47  

R58-10 Meat and Poultry Inspection 27693 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

R58-17 Aquaculture and Aquatic Animal Health 27696 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

R58-21 Trichomoniasis 27694 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

R58-22 Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) 27695 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

Marketing and Conservation 
R65-10 Agriculture Resource Development Loans 

(ARDL) 
27787 5YR 03/31/2005 2005-8/56  

Plant Industry 
R68-3 Utah Fertilizer Act Governing Fertilizers and 

Soil Amendments 
27645 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/58  

R68-20 Utah Organic Standards 27697 5YR 02/04/2005 2005-5/30  

Regulatory Services 
R70-440 Egg Products Inspection 27514 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R70-440-2  Adopt by Reference 27628 AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/23  

R70-440-2  Adopt by Reference 27667 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

R70-540-14  Exemptions 27569 AMD 03/18/2005 2004-24/7  

R70-960-7  Registration Certificate Displayed 27523 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Capitol Preservation Board (State) 

Administration 
R131-1 Procurement of Architectural and Engineering 

Services 
27711 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

R131-2 Capitol Hill Facility Use 27712 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

R131-7 State Capitol Preservation Board Master 
Planning Policy 

27713 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

R131-8 CPB Facilities and Grounds:  Maintenance of 
Aesthetics 

27631 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

R131-9 State Capitol Preservation Board Art Program 
and Policy 

27632 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
Commerce 

Administration 
R151-1 Department of Commerce General Provisions 27633 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

R151-46b Department of Commerce Administrative 
Procedures Act Rules 

27636 AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  
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Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-1 General Rules of the Division of Occupational 

and Professional Licensing 
27499 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R156-22 Professional Engineers and Professional Land 
Surveyors Licensing Act Rules 

27698 AMD 04/04/2005 2005-5/2  

R156-31b Nurse Practice Act Rules 27600 AMD 02/17/2005 2005-2/36  

R156-38 Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery 
Fund Rules 

27752 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

R156-47b Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules 27548 AMD 03/07/2005 2004-24/7  

R156-47b Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules 27548 CPR 03/07/2005 2005-3/51  

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules 27435 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules 27435 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 27489 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

R156-56-704  Statewide Amendments to the IBC 27490 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

R156-60c Professional Counselor Licensing Act Rules 27749 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/75  

R156-61-502  Unprofessional Conduct 27538 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

R156-71-202  Naturopathic Physician Formulary 27533 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

Securities 
R164-2 Investment Adviser - Unlawful Acts 27732 5YR 02/28/2005 2005-6/34  

R164-9-1  Registration by Coordination 27777 EMR 03/25/2005 2005-8/53  

 
Community and Economic Development 

Community Development, Community Services 
R202-202-202  Opening and Closing Dates for HEAT Program 27418 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

R202-203-324  Income Deductions 27421 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

R202-203-328  Self-Employment Income 27419 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

R202-207-702  Records Management 27420 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
Education 

Administration 
R277-400 School Emergency Response Plans 27539 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-410 Accreditation of Schools 27705 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/8  

R277-411 Elementary School Accreditation 27706 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/10  

R277-412 Junior High and Middle School Accreditation 27707 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/13  

R277-413 Accreditation of Secondary Schools, 
Alternative or Special Purpose Schools 

27708 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/16  

R277-422 State Supported Voted Leeway, Local Board-
Approved Leeway and Local Board Leeway for 
Reading Improvement Programs 

27702 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-473 Testing Procedures 27547 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/43  

R277-501 Educator Licensing Renewal, Highly Qualified 
and Timelines 

27722 5YR 02/23/2005 2005-6/35  

R277-705-6  Utah Basic Skills Competency Testing 
Requirements and Procedures 

27710 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/19  

R277-713 Concurrent Enrollment of High School Students 
in College Courses 

27662 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

R277-725 Electronic High School 27507 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-733 Adult Education Programs 27592 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/10  

R277-746 Driver Education Programs for Utah Schools 27520 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 



RULES INDEX 
 

  
66 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 15, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 8 

CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Environmental Quality 

Air Quality 
R307-110-11  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 

Point Sources, Part B, Sulfur Dioxide 
27429 AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

R307-110-11  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 
Point Sources, Part B, Sulfur Dioxide 

27429 CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

R307-110-12  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 
Point Sources, Part C, Carbon Monoxide 

27343 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

R307-110-12  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 
Point Sources, Part C, Carbon Monoxide 

27343 CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

Drinking Water 
R309-305 Certification Rules for Backflow Technicians 27617 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

Radiation Control 
R313-34 Requirements for Irradiators 27738 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

R313-34-1  Requirements for Irradiators 27646 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

Water Quality 
R317-4 Onsite Wastewater Systems 27699 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

R317-7 Underground Injection Control (UIC) Program 27596 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Governor 

Planning and Budget, Chief Information Officer 
R365-101 Utah Geographic Information Systems 

Advisory Council 
27545 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
Health 

Administration 
R380-40 Local Health Department Minimum 

Performance Standards 
27571 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-1B Prohibition of Payment for Certain Abortion 

Services 
27582 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R414-7D Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally 
Retarded Transition Project 

27505 NEW 01/03/2005 2004-22/15  

R414-10A-6  Prior Authorization 27486 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R414-33C Targeted Case Management for the Homeless 27703 NEW 04/07/2005 2005-5/23  

R414-34-6  Qualified Providers 27589 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/21  

R414-36-6  Qualified Providers 27591 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/22  

R414-61 Home and Community Based Waivers 27741 5YR 03/11/2005 2005-7/77  

R414-61-2  Incorporation by Reference 27586 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/23  

R414-63 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Reimbursement 27549 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

R414-90 Diabetes Self-Management Training 27557 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/15  

R414-200 Non-Traditional Medicaid Health Plan Services 27588 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

R414-507 Medicaid Long Term Care Managed Care 27629 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/42  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-12 Emergency Medical Services Training and 

Certification Standards 
27519 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-22/26  

R426-13 Emergency Medical Services Provider 
Designations 

27521 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/47  

R426-14-303  Ambulance Service and Paramedic Service 
Licensure 

27584 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R426-15 Licensed and Designated Provider Operations 27522 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/48  
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Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-7 Specialty Hospital - Psychiatric Hospital 

Construction 
27674 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/47  

R432-8 Specialty Hospital - Chemical 
Dependency/Substance Abuse Construction 

27675 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

R432-9 Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation Construction 
Rule 

27676 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

R432-10 Specialty Hospital - Long-Term Acute Care 
Construction Rule 

27677 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

R432-11 Specialty Hospital - Orthopedic Hospital 
Construction 

27678 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

R432-12 Small Health Care Facility (Four to Sixteen 
Beds) Construction Rule 

27679 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

R432-13 Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Center 
Construction Rule 

27680 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

R432-14 Birthing Center Construction Rule 27681 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

R432-30 Adjudicative Procedure 27682 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

R432-270 Assisted Living Facilities 27683 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/52  

 
Human Services 

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 
R501-18 Abuse Background Screening 27673 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  

Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
R523-1 Policies and Procedures 27638 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-3/28  

Recovery Services 
R527-10 Disclosure of Information to the Office of 

Recovery Services 
27640 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

R527-40 Retained Support 27642 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

R527-40 Retained Support 27648 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  

R527-210 Guidelines for Setting Child Support Awards 27534 REP 01/04/2005 2004-23/49  

R527-255 Substantial Change in Circumstances 27647 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  

R527-475 State Tax Refund Intercept 27641 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

Services for People with Disabilities 
R539-1 Eligibility 27568 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

R539-2 Civil Rights 27651 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/31  

R539-2 Service Coordination 27626 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/45  

R539-3 Rights and Protections 27627 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/47  

R539-3 Service Coordination 27652 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/34  

 
Insurance 

Administration 
R590-88 Prohibited Transactions Between Agents and 

Unauthorized Multiple Employer Trusts 
27684 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

R590-128 Unfair Discrimination Based Solely on the 
Failure to Maintain Auto Insurance (Revised) 

27685 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

R590-132 Insurance Treatment of Human 
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Infection 

27686 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/54  

R590-140 Reference Filings of Rate Service Organization 
Prospective Loss Costs 

27785 5YR 03/31/2005 2005-8/56  

R590-147 Annual and Quarterly Statement Filing 
Instructions 

27556 R&R 02/10/2005 2004-24/21  

R590-163 Filing Quarterly Statements 27554 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/23  

R590-164 Uniform Health Billing Rule 27784 5YR 03/31/2005 2005-8/57  

R590-174 Diskette Filing of Annual and Quarterly 
Statements 

27555 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/24  
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R590-196 Bail Bond Surety Fee Standards, Collateral 
Standards, and Disclosure Form 

27644 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/60  

R590-196 Bail Bond Surety Fee Standards, Collateral 
Standards, and Disclosure Form 

27558 AMD 02/10/2005 2004-24/25  

 
Judicial Conduct Commission 

Administration 
R595-1 General Provisions 27330 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/18  

R595-1 Rules of Procedure 27580 REP 02/01/2005 2005-1/26  

R595-1 General Provisions 27330 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/59  

R595-2 Administration 27331 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/60  

R595-2 Administration 27331 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/23  

R595-3 Procedure 27332 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/24  

R595-3 Procedure 27332 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/61  

R595-3-10  Discipline by Consent 27668 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R595-4 Sanctions 27333 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/26  

R595-4 Sanctions 27333 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/64  

 
Labor Commission 

Safety 
R616-2-3  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels 
27616 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

R616-3-3  Safety Codes for Elevators 27590 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
Money Management Council 

Administration 
R628-11 Maximum Amount of Public Funds Allowed to 

be Held by any Qualified Depository 
27689 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/18  

 
Natural Resources 

Oil, Gas and Mining; Coal 
R645-105 Blaster Training, Examination and Certification 27778 5YR 03/25/2005 2005-8/58  

R645-400 Inspection and Enforcement:  Division Authority 
and Procedures 

27779 5YR 03/25/2005 2005-8/58  

Parks and Recreation 
R651-202 Boating Advisory Council 27560 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/28  

R651-205-7  Palisade Lake 27559 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

R651-206 Carrying Passengers for Hire 27561 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

R651-206 Carrying Passengers for Hire 27664 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R651-209 Registration Expiration 27562 REP 01/15/2005 2004-24/32  

R651-211 Assigned Numbers 27563 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/33  

R651-212 Display of Yearly Registration Decals and 
Month of Expiration Decals 

27564 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/34  

R651-215 Personal Flotation Devices 27565 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/35  

R651-401 Off-Highway Vehicle and Registration Stickers 27566 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/37  

Water Rights 
R655-3 Reports of Water Right Conveyance 27690 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27392 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27691 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27475 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 
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Wildlife Resources 
R657-5 Taking Big Game 27550 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 27432 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 27432 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

R657-33 Taking Bear 27649 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  

R657-37 Cooperative Wildlife Management Units for Big 
Game 

27551 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

R657-38 Dedicated Hunter Program 27552 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

R657-42-4  Surrenders 27553 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

R657-47 Trust Fund Permits 27639 REP 03/04/2005 2005-3/39  

R657-47 Trust Fund Permits  (5YR EXTENSION) 27637 NSC 03/04/2005 Not Printed 

 
Professional Practices Advisory Commission 

Administration 
R686-100 Professional Practices Advisory Commission, 

Rules of Procedure:  Complaints and Hearings 
27542 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Public Safety 

Driver License 
R708-41 Requirements for Acceptable Documentation 27808 EMR 04/11/2005 Not Printed 

Fire Marshal 
R710-3-3  Amendments and Additions 27654 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/42  

R710-4-3  Amendments and Additions 27653 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/44  

R710-6 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules 27573 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/54  

R710-8 Day Care Rules 27574 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R710-9-6  Amendments and Additions 27655 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/47  

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-200-6  Termination of Service 27587 AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

R746-360-9  One-Time Distributions from the Fund 27302 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

R746-360-9  One-Time Distributions from the Fund 27302 CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

R746-409-1  General Provisions 27527 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Regents (Board Of) 

Administration 
R765-604 New Century Scholarship 27663 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

R765-604 New Century Scholarship 27666 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 
School and Institutional Trust Lands 

Administration 
R850-20 Mineral Resources 27611 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

R850-21 Oil, Gas and Hydrocarbon Resources 27612 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

R850-22 Bituminous-Asphaltic Sands and Oil Shale 
Resources 

27613 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

R850-23 Sand, Gravel and Cinders Permits 27609 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

R850-24 General Provisions:  Mineral and Material 
Resources, Mineral Leases and Material 
Permits 

27607 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

R850-25 Mineral Leases and Materials Permits 27606 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

R850-26 Coal Leases 27604 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  
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R850-27 Geothermal Steam 27601 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

R850-130 Materials Permits 27602 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
Tax Commission 

Auditing 
R865-16R Severance Tax 27739 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/77  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-100 Employment Support Programs 27661 AMD 04/07/2005 2005-4/24  

R986-500-501  Authority for Adoption Assistance (AA) and 
Other Applicable Rules 

27491 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/31  

R986-700 Child Care Assistance 27660 AMD 04/07/2005 2005-4/26  

Workforce Information and Payment Services 
R994-204 Included Employment 27789 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/59  

R994-205 Exempt Employment 27791 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/59  

R994-206 Agricultural Labor 27796 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/60  

 
 
 
 

 RULES INDEX - BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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abortion 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
acceptable documentation 
Public Safety, Driver License 27808 R708-41 EMR 04/11/2005 Not Printed 

 
accreditation 
Education, Administration 27705 R277-410 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/8  

 27706 R277-411 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/10  

 27707 R277-412 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/13  

 27708 R277-413 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/16  

 
adjudicative proceedings 
Commerce, Administration 27636 R151-46b AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  

 
administrative procedures 
Commerce, Administration 27636 R151-46b AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  

 27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  
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 27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

 27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

 27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

 27602 R850-130 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
adoption assistance 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

27491 R986-500-501  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/31  

 
adult education 
Education, Administration 27592 R277-733 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/10  

 
aesthetics 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
alternative onsite wastewater systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

 
aquaculture 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27696 R58-17 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

 
architects 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27605 R23-2 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
architecture 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 
art 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
assisted living facilities 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27654 R710-3-3  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/42  

 
backflow assembly tester 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 27617 R309-305 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
banking law 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

27689 R628-11 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/18  

 
bear 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27649 R657-33 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  
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benefits 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 
bituminous-asphaltic sands 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

 
board members 
Commerce, Administration 27633 R151-1 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

 
boating 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 27560 R651-202 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/28  

 27559 R651-205-7  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

 27664 R651-206 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27561 R651-206 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

 27562 R651-209 REP 01/15/2005 2004-24/32  

 27563 R651-211 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/33  

 27564 R651-212 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/34  

 27565 R651-215 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/35  

 
boilers 
Labor Commission, Safety 27616 R616-2-3  AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

 
building codes 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
building inspection 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
capitol-preservation 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
certification 
Labor Commission, Safety 27616 R616-2-3  AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
child care 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

27660 R986-700 AMD 04/07/2005 2005-4/26  

 
child support 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 27648 R527-40 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  

 27642 R527-40 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

 27534 R527-210 REP 01/04/2005 2004-23/49  

 27647 R527-255 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  
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 27641 R527-475 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

 
cinders 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
coal 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

 27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

 
coal mines 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

27778 R645-105 5YR 03/25/2005 2005-8/58  

 
coal mining 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

27779 R645-400 5YR 03/25/2005 2005-8/58  

 
conduct 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
construction 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27610 R23-4 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

 
construction disputes 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27610 R23-4 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

 
contractors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27752 R156-38 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

 27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
contracts 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27603 R23-1 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

 27610 R23-4 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

 
conveyance 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 
cooperative wildlife management unit 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27551 R657-37 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

 
cost sharing 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 
counselors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/75  

 
CPB 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
cross connection control 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 27617 R309-305 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 
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curricula 
Education, Administration 27710 R277-705-6  AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/19  

 27662 R277-713 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

 
day care 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27574 R710-8 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
definitions 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27546 R27-1-2  AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/3  

 
design 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

 
disability 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27568 R539-1 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

 
disabled persons 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27651 R539-2 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/31  

 27652 R539-3 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/34  

 
disasters 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
disease control 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27570 R58-1 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-24/5  

 27687 R58-1-7  AMD 03/18/2005 2005-4/8  

 27694 R58-21 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

 
dispute 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27614 R23-26 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

 
diversion programs 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
drinking water 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 27617 R309-305 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
driver education 
Education, Administration 27520 R277-746 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
education 
Education, Administration 27702 R277-422 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
educational program evaluations 
Education, Administration 27722 R277-501 5YR 02/23/2005 2005-6/35  

 
educational testing 
Education, Administration 27547 R277-473 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/43  

 
educator license renewal 
Education, Administration 27722 R277-501 5YR 02/23/2005 2005-6/35  

 
electronic high school 
Education, Administration 27507 R277-725 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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elevators 
Labor Commission, Safety 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

27519 R426-12 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-22/26  

 27521 R426-13 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/47  

 27584 R426-14-303  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27522 R426-15 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/48  

 
emergency preparedness 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
employment support procedures 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

27661 R986-100 AMD 04/07/2005 2005-4/24  

 
employment tests 
Workforce Services, Workforce Information 
and Payment Services 

27789 R994-204 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/59  

 27791 R994-205 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/59  

 27796 R994-206 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/60  

 
energy assistance 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
engineers 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27605 R23-2 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27698 R156-22 AMD 04/04/2005 2005-5/2  

 
facilities use 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27712 R131-2 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
fertilizers 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 27645 R68-3 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/58  

 
finance 
Education, Administration 27702 R277-422 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
financial information 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 
financial institutions 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

27689 R628-11 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/18  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27653 R710-4-3  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/44  

 27574 R710-8 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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 27655 R710-9-6  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/47  

 
fish 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 
fishing 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 
fleet expansion 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27543 R27-4 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

 
fleet expansion vehicle replacement 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27594 R27-4-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
food inspection 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27693 R58-10 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 27514 R70-440 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27628 R70-440-2  AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/23  

 27667 R70-440-2  NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27569 R70-540-14  AMD 03/18/2005 2004-24/7  

 
fuel dispensing 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27544 R27-6 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/7  

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 27649 R657-33 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  

 
geothermal steam 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

 
government documents 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

27621 R35-1a NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

 27625 R35-2 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

 27622 R35-3 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  

 27624 R35-4 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

 27623 R35-5 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

 27620 R35-6 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
government hearings 
Commerce, Administration 27636 R151-46b AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  

 
gravel 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

27674 R432-7 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/47  

 27675 R432-8 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  
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 27676 R432-9 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

 27677 R432-10 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

 27678 R432-11 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

 27679 R432-12 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

 27680 R432-13 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

 27681 R432-14 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

 27682 R432-30 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

 27683 R432-270 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/52  

 
health insurance 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 
hearings 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
HEAT 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
higher education 
Education, Administration 27662 R277-713 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

 27666 R765-604 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

 
hospitals 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
human services 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

27673 R501-18 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  

Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27568 R539-1 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

 
hunting 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
income eligibility 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
independent contractor 
Workforce Services, Workforce Information 
and Payment Services 

27789 R994-204 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/59  

 
inspections 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27695 R58-22 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 27697 R68-20 5YR 02/04/2005 2005-5/30  

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 27523 R70-960-7  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
insurance 
Insurance, Administration 27785 R590-140 5YR 03/31/2005 2005-8/56  

 27556 R590-147 R&R 02/10/2005 2004-24/21  

 27554 R590-163 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/23  
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 27644 R590-196 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/60  

 27558 R590-196 AMD 02/10/2005 2004-24/25  

 
insurance companies 
Insurance, Administration 27685 R590-128 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

 
insurance law 
Insurance, Administration 27684 R590-88 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

 27686 R590-132 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/54  

 27784 R590-164 5YR 03/31/2005 2005-8/57  

 27555 R590-174 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/24  

 
investigators 
Commerce, Administration 27633 R151-1 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

 
irradiator 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
IT bid committee 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
IT standards council 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
judicial conduct commission 
Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration 

27580 R595-1 REP 02/01/2005 2005-1/26  

 27330 R595-1 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/18  

 27330 R595-1 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/59  

 27331 R595-2 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/60  

 27331 R595-2 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/23  

 27332 R595-3 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/24  

 27332 R595-3 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/61  

 27668 R595-3-10  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27333 R595-4 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/26  

 27333 R595-4 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/64  

 
law 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27655 R710-9-6  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/47  

 
lease operations 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

 
lease provisions 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

 27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

 27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  
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licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27600 R156-31b AMD 02/17/2005 2005-2/36  

 27752 R156-38 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

 27548 R156-47b CPR 03/07/2005 2005-3/51  

 27548 R156-47b AMD 03/07/2005 2004-24/7  

 27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/75  

 27538 R156-61-502  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

 27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

27673 R501-18 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  

Natural Resources, Water Rights 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 27475 R655-4 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
liens 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27752 R156-38 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

 
liquefied petroleum gas 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27573 R710-6 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/54  

 
livestock 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27688 R58-7 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/47  

 
loans 
Agriculture and Food, Marketing and 
Conservation 

27787 R65-10 5YR 03/31/2005 2005-8/56  

 
local health departments 
Health, Administration 27571 R380-40 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

 
maintenance 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 
massage therapy 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27548 R156-47b CPR 03/07/2005 2005-3/51  

 27548 R156-47b AMD 03/07/2005 2004-24/7  

 
material permit 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

 
materials handling 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27602 R850-130 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 



RULES INDEX 
 

  
80 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 15, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 8 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 27505 R414-7D NEW 01/03/2005 2004-22/15  

 27486 R414-10A-6  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27703 R414-33C NEW 04/07/2005 2005-5/23  

 27589 R414-34-6  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/21  

 27591 R414-36-6  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/22  

 27741 R414-61 5YR 03/11/2005 2005-7/77  

 27586 R414-61-2  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/23  

 27549 R414-63 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

 27557 R414-90 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/15  

 27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 27629 R414-507 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/42  

 
mental health 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/75  

Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

27638 R523-1 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-3/28  

 
mineral classification 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 
mineral lease 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

 
mineral resources 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

Tax Commission, Auditing 27739 R865-16R 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/77  

 
naturopathic physician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

 
naturopaths 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

 
non-traditional 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 
nonpublic schools 
Education, Administration 27705 R277-410 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/8  

 
nurses 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27600 R156-31b AMD 02/17/2005 2005-2/36  

 
oath 
Commerce, Administration 27633 R151-1 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

 
occupational licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
off-highway vehicles 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 27566 R651-401 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/37  
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oil gas and hydrocarbons 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 
oil shale 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

 
onsite wastewater systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

 
opening and closing dates 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
operations 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 
ownership 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 
ozone 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
payment determination 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
people with disabilities 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27626 R539-2 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/45  

 27627 R539-3 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/47  

 
performance standards 
Health, Administration 27571 R380-40 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

 
permit provisions 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
permit terms 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 
permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27553 R657-42-4  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27602 R850-130 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
physicians 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 
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pipeline 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
plan of operation 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

 27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

 
planning 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

 
planning-budgeting 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27713 R131-7 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

 
PM10 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
PM2.5 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
policies and procedures 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

27638 R523-1 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-3/28  

 
policy 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
prescriptions 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27549 R414-63 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

 
primary term 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

 
private probation provider 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 
probation 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 
procurement 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27603 R23-1 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

 27605 R23-2 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

 27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  
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Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
professional counselors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/75  

 
professional engineers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27698 R156-22 AMD 04/04/2005 2005-5/2  

 
professional land surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27698 R156-22 AMD 04/04/2005 2005-5/2  

 
program 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
psychologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27538 R156-61-502  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

 
public buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27603 R23-1 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27712 R131-2 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 27713 R131-7 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27653 R710-4-3  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/44  

 
public schools 
Education, Administration 27705 R277-410 AMD 04/01/2005 2005-5/8  

 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27587 R746-200-6  AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 
quarantines 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27581 R58-2 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/9  

 
radiation 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
radiation safety 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
reclamation 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

27778 R645-105 5YR 03/25/2005 2005-8/58  

 27779 R645-400 5YR 03/25/2005 2005-8/58  

 
records appeal hearings 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

27621 R35-1a NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

 27625 R35-2 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

 27622 R35-3 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  
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 27624 R35-4 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

 27623 R35-5 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

 27620 R35-6 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

 
recreation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
repository 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
residency requirements 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
resolution 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27614 R23-26 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

 
rights 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27627 R539-3 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/47  

 
royalties 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

 
rules 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27587 R746-200-6  AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

 
rules and procedures 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
safety 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Safety 27616 R616-2-3  AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
safety education 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
sand 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
scholarship 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

 
scholarships 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27666 R765-604 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 
secondary education 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27666 R765-604 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

 
securities 
Commerce, Securities 27732 R164-2 5YR 02/28/2005 2005-6/34  
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 27777 R164-9-1  EMR 03/25/2005 2005-8/53  

 
securities regulation 
Commerce, Securities 27732 R164-2 5YR 02/28/2005 2005-6/34  

 27777 R164-9-1  EMR 03/25/2005 2005-8/53  

 
self-employment income 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
septic tanks 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

 
services 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27626 R539-2 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/45  

 
settlement 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27614 R23-26 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

 
social services 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27651 R539-2 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/31  

 27652 R539-3 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/34  

 
state buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27713 R131-7 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

 
state HEAT office records 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
state records committee 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

27621 R35-1a NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

 27625 R35-2 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

 27622 R35-3 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  

 27624 R35-4 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

 27623 R35-5 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

 27620 R35-6 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

 
state vehicle use 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27599 R27-3-6  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
students 
Education, Administration 27662 R277-713 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

 
survey 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 
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surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27698 R156-22 AMD 04/04/2005 2005-5/2  

 
taxation 
Tax Commission, Auditing 27739 R865-16R 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/77  

 
teacher certification 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
technology best practices 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 
underground injection control 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27596 R317-7 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
unemployment compensation 
Workforce Services, Workforce Information 
and Payment Services 

27789 R994-204 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/59  

 27791 R994-205 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/59  

 27796 R994-206 5YR 04/01/2005 2005-8/60  

 
universal service 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 
utility service shutoff 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27587 R746-200-6  AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

 
vehicle replacement 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27543 R27-4 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

 
waste water 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

 
water quality 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27596 R317-7 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
water rights 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 27475 R655-4 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
well drillers 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
well drilling 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27475 R655-4 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  
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wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 27649 R657-33 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  

 27551 R657-37 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 27553 R657-42-4  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

 27637 R657-47 NSC 03/04/2005 Not Printed 

 27639 R657-47 REP 03/04/2005 2005-3/39  

 
wildlife conservation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
wildlife law 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 
wildlife permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27637 R657-47 NSC 03/04/2005 Not Printed 

 27639 R657-47 REP 03/04/2005 2005-3/39  
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