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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between April 15, 2006, 12:00 a.m., and May 1, 2006, 
11:59 p.m. are included in this, the May 15, 2006, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least June 14, 2006.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63-46a-5 
(1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through September 12, 2006, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Administrative Services, Finance 

R25-7 
Travel-Related Reimbursements for 

State Employees 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28702 
FILED:  05/01/2006, 15:52 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The rule is 
being revised as the result of a division review of current 
reimbursement rates and practices.  The review showed the 
following:  1) because Finance adopts the federal mileage rate 
as the state reimbursement rate for a private vehicle if a fleet 
vehicle is not available to the employee, Finance needs to 
increase the state mileage reimbursement rate.  Although the 
federal government changed its rate in January 2006, Finance 
changes the state rate only once a year, at the beginning of 
the fiscal year; 2) because the Division of Fleet Operations 
has determined that their cost of operating a fleet vehicle has 
not changed, Finance does not need to increase the 
reimbursement rate for an employee who chooses to drive a 
private vehicle when a state fleet vehicle is available; 3) 
because the current standard lodging maximum 
reimbursement rate is no longer sufficient for several 
locations, such as Ephriam, Logan, Roosevelt, and Vernal, 
and because the lodging rates for most of the state's larger 
cities are already above the standard lodging rate, the 
standard maximum reimbursement rate is being increased 
from $55 to $60 per night.  The rates for other areas that are 
already above $60, Moab, Cedar City, St. George, 
metropolitan Salt Lake City (Draper to Centerville), Ogden, 
Layton, Park City, Tooele, Heber City, Midway, and 
Provo/Orem will remain the same.  Price, UT will no longer 
need to be listed as an exception so it is being eliminated from 
the list; and 4) a correction needs to be made changing the 
word "dinner" to "lunch" in Subsection R25-7-6(4)(b)(iii).  
Subsection R25-7-6(4)(b)(iii) should state:  "If dinner is 
provided deduct $23, leaving a premium allowance for 
breakfast and lunch of actual up to $27." 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule was amended to:  
1) change the reimbursement rate for private vehicle mileage 
to 44-1/2 cents per mile, the federal mileage rate, when a 
state fleet vehicle is not available to the employee; 2) increase 
the lodging for nonconference hotels from $55 per night plus 
tax to $60 per night plus tax; 3) eliminate Price, UT from the 
exceptions for the nonconference hotel list; and 4) correct an 
error in Section R25-7-6. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 63A-3-107 and 63A-3-106 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  Amending this rule will result in a cost 
to the state budget.  State agencies will spend more to 
reimburse some travel expenses.  They will spend four cents 

more for each private vehicle mile they reimburse when a fleet 
vehicle is not available to the employee.  They will also spend 
$5 more per night when they reimburse lodging for cities other 
than those shown as being exceptions.  Finance does not 
know how many state employees agencies will reimburse for 
mileage when a fleet vehicle is not available.  Finance does 
not know how many total miles agencies will reimburse.  
Finance does not know how many nights lodging to cities 
other than the exceptions that the agencies will reimburse. 
Finance does not know how many employees will use the rule 
for premium cities allowance. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule applies only to state 
agencies and state employees and, therefore, will have no 
impact on local government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The amendments to this rule may result 
in additional reimbursement (savings) to employees who 
travel on business.  Employees who drive a personal vehicle 
for business will receive four cents more per mile driven when 
a fleet vehicle is not available.  Employees will now receive $5 
more for each night's lodging in cities other than those listed 
as exceptions.  Finance cannot anticipate the aggregate 
savings or cost impact on employees for the following 
reasons: 1) Finance does not know how many state 
employees will receive a mileage reimbursement when a fleet 
vehicle is not available; 2) Finance does not know how many 
total miles those employees will drive; and 3) Finance does 
not know how many nights lodging to cities other than the 
exceptions that the agencies will reimburse. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs associated with revisions to Rule R25-7.  If 
an agency chooses to permit employees to travel, any other 
costs resulting from compliance with these amendments will 
be paid by the agency, not by employees (the affected 
persons).  In fact, employees who are allowed to travel will 
actually receive additional reimbursement as a result of the 
amendments. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Amendments to Rule R25-7 
apply only to state agencies and state employees and have no 
impact on businesses.  D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 
FINANCE 
Room 2110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Nanette Moyar at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3020, by FAX at 801-538-3244, or by Internet E-mail at 
nmoyar@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John Reidhead, Director 
 
 
 
R25.  Administrative Services, Finance. 
R25-7.  Travel-Related Reimbursements for State Employees. 
R25-7-6.  Reimbursement for Meals. 
 (1)  State employees who travel on state business may be eligible 
for a meal reimbursement. 
 (2)  The reimbursement will include tax, tips, and other expenses 
associated with the meal. 
 (3)  Allowances for in-state travel differ from those for out-of-
state travel. 
 (a)  The daily travel meal allowance for in-state travel is $30.00 
and is computed according to the rates listed in the following table. 
 

TABLE 1 
 

In-State Travel Meal Allowances 
 
Meals                Rate 
Breakfast           $6.00 
Lunch               $9.00 
Dinner             $15.00 
Total              $30.00 

 
 (b)  The daily travel meal allowance for out-of-state travel is 
$38.00 and is computed according to the rates listed in the following 
table. 
 

TABLE 2 
 

Out-of-State Travel Meal Allowances 
 
Meals                Rate 
Breakfast           $9.00 
Lunch              $11.00 
Dinner             $18.00 
Total              $38.00 

 
 (4)  When traveling to premium cities (New York, Los Angeles, 
Chicago, San Francisco, Washington DC, Boston, and Arlington), the 
traveler may choose to accept the per diem rate for out-of-state travel or 
to be reimbursed at the actual meal cost, with original receipts, up to 
$50 per day. 
 (a)  The traveler will qualify for premium rates on the day the 
travel begins and/or the day the travel ends only if the trip is of 
sufficient duration to qualify for all meals on that day. 
 (b)  Complimentary meals of a hotel, motel and/or association and 
meals included in registration costs are deducted from the $50 premium 
allowance as follows: 
 (i)  If breakfast is provided deduct $12, leaving a premium 
allowance for lunch and dinner of actual up to $38. 
 (ii)  If lunch is provided deduct $15, leaving a premium allowance 
for breakfast and dinner of actual up to $35. 
 (iii)  If dinner is provided deduct $23, leaving a premium 
allowance for breakfast and [dinner]lunch of actual up to $27. 
 (c)  The traveler must use the same method of reimbursement for 
an entire day. 
 (d)  Actual meal cost includes tips. 
 (e)  Alcoholic beverages are not reimbursable. 

 (5)  When traveling in foreign countries, the traveler may choose 
to accept the per diem rate for out-of-state travel or to be reimbursed at 
the reasonable, actual meal cost, with original receipts. 
 (a)  The traveler may combine the reimbursement methods during 
a trip; however, he must use the same method of reimbursement for an 
entire day. 
 (b)  Actual meal cost includes tips. 
 (c)  Alcoholic beverages are not reimbursable. 
 (6)  The meal reimbursement calculation is comprised of three 
parts: 
 (a)  The day the travel begins.  The traveler's entitlement is 
determined by the time of day he leaves his home base (the location the 
employee leaves from and/or returns to), as illustrated in the following 
table. 
 

TABLE 3 
 

The Day Travel Begins 
 
1st Quarter     2nd Quarter    3rd Quarter     4th Quarter 
a.m.            a.m.           p.m.            p.m. 
12:01-6:00      6:01-noon      12:01-6:00      6:01-midnight 
*B, L, D        *L, D          *D              *no meals 
In-State 
$30.00          $24.00         $15.00          $0 
Out-of-State 
$38.00          $29.00         $18.00          $0 
*B=Breakfast, L=Lunch, D=Dinner 

 
 (b)  The days at the location. 
 (i)  Complimentary meals of a hotel, motel, and/or association and 
meals included in the registration cost are deducted from the total daily 
meal allowance. 
 (ii)  Meals provided on airlines will not reduce the meal 
allowance. 
 (c)  The day the travel ends.  The meal reimbursement the traveler 
is entitled to is determined by the time of day he returns to his home 
base, as illustrated in the following table. 
 

TABLE 4 
 

The Day Travel Ends 
 
1st Quarter     2nd Quarter    3rd Quarter     4th Quarter 
a.m.            a.m.           p.m.            p.m. 
12:01-6:00      6:01-noon      12:01-7:00      7:01-midnight 
*no meals       *B             *B, L           *B, L, D 
In-State 
$0              $6.00          $15.00          $30.00 
Out-of-State 
$0              $9.00          $20.00          $38.00 
*B=Breakfast, L=Lunch, D=Dinner 

 
 (7)  An employee may be authorized by his Department Director 
or designee to receive a meal allowance when his destination is at least 
100 miles from his home base and he does not stay overnight. 
 (a)  Breakfast is paid when the employee leaves his home base 
before 6:01 a.m. 
 (b)  Lunch is paid when the trip meets one of the following 
requirements: 
 (i)  The employee is on an officially approved trip that warrants 
entitlement to breakfast and dinner. 
 (ii)  The employee leaves his home base before 10 a.m. and 
returns after 2 p.m. 
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 (iii)  The Department Director provides prior written approval 
based on circumstances. 
 (c)  Dinner is paid when the employee leaves his home base and 
returns after 7 p.m. 
 (d)  The allowance is not considered an absolute right of the 
employee and is authorized at the discretion of the Department Director 
or designee. 
 
R25-7-8.  Reimbursement for Lodging. 
 State employees who travel on state business may be eligible for a 
lodging reimbursement. 
 (1)  Lodging is reimbursed for single occupancy only. 
 (2)  For non-conference hotel in-state travel, where the 
department/traveler makes reservations through the State Travel 
Agency, the state will reimburse the actual cost up to $[55]60 per night 
plus tax except in Moab, Cedar City, St. George, metropolitan Salt 
Lake City (Draper to Centerville), Ogden, Layton, Park City, Tooele, 
Heber City, Midway, [Price, ]and Provo/Orem.  In these areas, the rates 
are: 
 (a)  Moab, Cedar City, and St. George - $65 per night plus tax 
 (b)  Metropolitan Salt Lake City (Draper to Centerville), Park 
City, Tooele, Heber City, and Midway - $68 per night plus tax 
 (c)  Ogden, Layton, and Provo/Orem - $63 per night plus tax 
[ (d)  Price - $60 per night plus tax 
] (3)  The state will reimburse the actual cost per night plus tax for 
out-of-state travel where the department/traveler makes reservations 
through the State Travel Agency. 
 (4)  The same rates apply for in-state travel for stays at a non-
conference hotel where the department/traveler makes their own 
reservations. 
 (5)  For out-of-state travel, the state will reimburse the actual cost 
up to $65 per night plus tax. 
 (6)  Exceptions will be allowed for unusual circumstances when 
approved in writing by the Department Director or designee prior to the 
trip. 
 (a)  For out-of-state travel, the approval may be on the form FI 5. 
 (b)  Attach the written approval to the Travel Reimbursement 
Request, form FI 51B or FI 51D. 
 (7)  For stays at a conference hotel, the state will reimburse the 
actual cost plus tax for both in-state and out-of-state travel.  The 
traveler must include the conference registration brochure with the 
Travel Reimbursement Request, form FI 51A or FI 51B. 
 (8)  A proper receipt for lodging accommodations must 
accompany each request for reimbursement. 
 (a)  The tissue copy of the MasterCard Corporate charge receipt is 
not acceptable. 
 (b)  A proper receipt is a copy of the registration form generally 
used by motels and hotels which includes the following information:  
name of motel/hotel, street address, town and state, telephone number, 
current date, name of person/persons staying at the motel/hotel, date of 
occupancy, amount and date paid, signature of agent, number in the 
party, and single or double occupancy. 
 (9)  Travelers may also elect to stay with friends or relatives or use 
their personal campers or trailer homes instead of staying in a hotel. 
 (a)  With proof of staying overnight away from home on approved 
state business, the traveler will be reimbursed the following: 
 (i)  $20 per night with no receipts required or 
 (ii)  Actual cost up to $30 per night with a signed receipt from a 
facility such as a campground or trailer park, not from a private 
residence. 

 (10)  Travelers who are on assignment away from their home base 
for longer than 90 days will be reimbursed as follows: 
 (a)  First 30 days - follow regular rules for lodging and meals.  
Lodging receipt is required. 
 (b)  After 30 days - $46 per day for lodging and meals.  No receipt 
is required. 
 
R25-7-10.  Reimbursement for Transportation. 
 State employees who travel on state business may be eligible for a 
transportation reimbursement. 
 (1)  Air transportation is limited to Air Coach or Excursion class. 
 (a)  All reservations (in-state and out-of-state) should be made 
through the State Travel Office for the least expensive air fare available 
at the time reservations are made. 
 (b)  Only one change fee per trip will be reimbursed. 
 (c)  The explanation for the change and any other exception to this 
rule must be given and approved by the Department Director or 
designee. 
 (d)  In order to preserve insurance coverage, travelers must fly on 
tickets in their names only. 
 (2)  Travelers may be reimbursed for mileage to and from the 
airport and long-term parking or away-from-the-airport parking. 
 (a)  The maximum reimbursement for parking, whether travelers 
park at the airport or away from the airport, is the airport long-term 
parking rate. 
 (b)  The parking receipt must be included with the Travel 
Reimbursement Request, form FI 51A or FI 51B. 
 (c)  Travelers may be reimbursed for mileage to and from the 
airport to allow someone to drop them off and to pick them up. 
 (3)  Travelers may use private vehicles with prior approval from 
the Department Director or designee. 
 (a)  Only one person in a vehicle may receive the reimbursement, 
regardless of the number of people in the vehicle. 
 (b)  Reimbursement for a private vehicle will be at the rate of 32 
cents per mile, or [40]44 1/2 cents per mile if a state fleet vehicle is not 
available to the employee. 
 (c)  Agencies may establish a reimbursement rate that is more 
restrictive than the rate established in this Section. 
 (d)  Exceptions must be approved in writing by the Director of 
Finance. 
 (e)  Mileage will be computed from the latest official state road 
map and will be limited to the most economical, usually traveled 
routes. 
 (f)  If the traveler uses a private vehicle on official state business 
and is reimbursed for mileage, parking charges may be reimbursed as 
an incidental expense. 
 (g)  An approved Private Vehicle Usage Report, form FI 40, 
should be included with the department's payroll documentation 
reporting miles driven on state business during the payroll period. 
 (h)  Departments may allow mileage reimbursement on an 
approved Travel Reimbursement Request, form FI 51A or FI 51B, if 
other costs associated with the trip are to be reimbursed at the same 
time. 
 (4)  A traveler may choose to drive instead of flying if approved 
by the Department Director. 
 (a)  If the traveler drives a state-owned vehicle, the traveler may 
be reimbursed for meals and lodging for a reasonable amount of travel 
time; however, the total cost of the trip must not exceed the equivalent 
cost of the airline trip. The traveler may also be reimbursed for 
incidental expenses such as toll fees and parking fees. 
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 (b)  If the traveler drives a privately-owned vehicle, 
reimbursement will be at the rate of 32 cents per mile or the airplane 
fare, whichever is less, unless otherwise approved by the Department 
Director. 
 (i)  The lowest fare available within 30 days prior to the departure 
date will be used when calculating the cost of travel for comparison to 
private vehicle cost. 
 (ii)  An itinerary printout which is available through the State 
Travel Office is required when the traveler is taking a private vehicle. 
 (c)  The traveler may be reimbursed for meals and lodging for a 
reasonable amount of travel time; however, the total cost of the trip 
must not exceed the equivalent cost of an airline trip. 
 (d)  If the traveler uses a private vehicle on official state business 
and is reimbursed for mileage, parking charges may be reimbursed as 
an incidental expense. 
 (e)  When submitting the reimbursement form, attach a schedule 
comparing the cost of driving with the cost of flying.  The schedule 
should show that the total cost of the trip driving was less than or equal 
to the total cost of the trip flying. 
 (f)  If the travel time taken for driving during the employee's 
normal work week is greater than that which would have occurred had 
the employee flown, the excess time used will be taken as annual leave 
and deducted on the Time and Attendance System. 
 (5)  Use of rental vehicles must be approved in writing in advance 
by the Department Director. 
 (a)  An exception to advance approval of the use of rental vehicles 
shall be fully explained in writing with the request for reimbursement 
and approved by the Department Director. 
 (b)  Detailed explanation is required if a rental vehicle is requested 
for a traveler staying at a conference hotel. 
 (c)  When making rental car arrangements through the State 
Travel Agency, reserve the vehicle you need.  Upgrades in size or 
model made when picking up the rental vehicle will not be reimbursed. 
 (i)  State employees should rent vehicles to be used for state 
business in their own names, using the state contract so they will have 
full coverage under the state's liability insurance. 
 (ii)  Rental vehicle reservations not made through the travel 
agency must be approved in advance by the Department Director. 
 (iii)  The traveler will be reimbursed the actual rate charged by the 
rental agency. 
 (iv)  The traveler must have approval for a rental car in order to be 
reimbursed for rental car parking. 
 (6)  Travel by private airplane must be approved in advance by the 
Department Director or designee. 
 (a)  The pilot must certify to the Department Director that he is 
certified to fly the plane being used for state business. 
 (b)  If the plane is owned by the pilot/employee, he must certify 
the existence of at least $500,000 of liability insurance coverage. 
 (c)  If the plane is a rental, the pilot must provide written 
certification from the rental agency that his insurance covers the 
traveler and the state as insured.  The insurance must be adequate to 
cover any physical damage to the plane and at least $500,000 for 
liability coverage. 
 (d)  Reimbursement will be made at 50 cents per mile. 
 (e)  Mileage calculation is based on air mileage and is limited to 
the most economical, usually-traveled route. 
 (7)  Travel by private motorcycle must be approved prior to the 
trip by the Department Director or designee.  Travel will be reimbursed 
at 16 cents per mile. 
 (8)  A car allowance may be allowed in lieu of mileage 
reimbursement in certain cases.  Prior written approval from the 

Department Director, the Department of Administrative Services, and 
the Governor is required. 
 
KEY:  air travel, per diem allowances, state employees, 
transportation 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 1, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  May 1, 2003 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-3-107; 
63A-3-106 
 

  
 

Administrative Services, Risk 
Management 

R37-4 
Adjusted Utah Governmental Immunity 

Limitations on Judgments 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal and Reenact) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28667 

FILED:  04/21/2006, 16:50 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Subsection 
63-30d-604(4)(b) requires the Utah State Risk Manager to 
calculate and establish, every other year, new limitations on 
judgments based on increases or decreases to the Consumer 
Price Index (CPI) and to submit these changes in 
administrative rule.  The rule reflects the calculations of the 
changes in the CPI.  The increase in the CPI is reflected in an 
increase in the maximum dollar amounts that the court can 
award in cases involving the State of Utah and local 
government entities.  A 5.5% increase in the CPI is reflected 
in this rule. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The substantive difference 
between the old rule and the new rule are as follows. This 
rulemaking changes the calendar years that the CPI is based 
upon to 2003 and 2005.  Also, the rulemaking will increase the 
maximum dollar amount that the courts can award in judgment 
against a Utah governmental entity.  The CPI increase is 
5.5%.  This increase means that one person in any one 
occurrence can be awarded $583,900.  If the case involves 
two or more persons in any one occurrence, the maximum 
amount that can be awarded is $1,167,900.  In addition, a new 
section, R37-4-3, establishes the limitations of judgments by 
calendar date and dollar amount for easy reference. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 63-30d-604(4)(b) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The implementation of this rule will 
result in the maximum amount that a court can award for one 
person in any one occurrence to increase by $30,400 or a 
maximum of $583,900.  The implementation of this rule will 
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also result in an increase of $60,900 to the maximum that a 
court can award to two or more persons in any one 
occurrence.  The maximum will increase from $1,107,000 to 
$1,167,900.  These changes will result in higher costs to the 
State. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The increases in local governments 
will be the same as for State government.  The caps on 
awards will increase from $553,500 for one person in any one 
occurrence to $583,900 and from $1,107,000 for two or more 
persons in any one occurrence to $1,167,900.  These 
changes will likely result in higher costs to local governments. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  No impact because the rule only applies 
to entities covered by the Utah Governmental Immunity Act. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  No impact 
because the rule only applies to entities covered by the Utah 
Governmental Immunity Act. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule has no impact on 
business.  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 
RISK MANAGEMENT 
Room 5120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Stephen Hewlett at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
9572, by FAX at 801-538-9597, or by Internet E-mail at 
SHEWLETT@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Roger Livingston, Director 
 
 
 
R37.  Administrative Services, Risk Management. 
R37-4.  Adjusted Utah Governmental Immunity Act Limitations 
on Judgments. 
[R37-4-1.  Authority and Calculation Process. 
 Pursuant to UCA 63-30-34(4)(b) the Risk Manager hereby 
establishes a new limitation of judgment. 
 Accordingly, the Risk Manager has calculated the consumer 
price index for calendar years 1999 and 2001 using standards 
provided in Sections 1(f)(4) and 1(f)(5) of the Internal Revenue 
Code. Section 1(f)(4) has defined the CPI for any calendar year to 
mean the average of the consumer price index as of the close of the 
12-month period ending on August 31 of such calendar year. Section 
1(f)(5) has defined "consumer price index" to mean the index used 
for all-urban consumers published by the Department of Labor.  By 
applying these standards, the consumer price index for calendar year 

1999 is calculated to be 165.14 and the index for 2001 is 175.88.  
The percentage difference between the 1999 index and the 2001 
index was then computed to be 6.5%. 
 
R37-4-2.  New Limitation of Judgement Amounts. 
 As a result of the above required calculations, the new 
limitation of judgment amounts currently required by UCA 63-30-
34(1) has been increased as follows, and is effective September 23, 
2002: 
 1)  In accordance with UCA 63-30-34(1)(a), the limit for 
damages for personal injury against a governmental entity, or an 
employee whom a governmental entity has a duty to indemnify is 
$532,500 for one person in any one occurrence (instead of 
$500,000), or $1,065,000  for two or more persons in any one 
occurrence (instead of $1,000,000); 
 2)  In accordance with UCA 63-30-34(1)(b), the limit for 
damages for injury or death to one person is $532,500, (instead of 
$500,000) regardless of whether or not the function giving rise to the 
injury is characterized as governmental; and 
 3)  In accordance with UCA 63-30-34(1)(c), the limit for 
property damages (excluding damages awarded as compensation 
when a governmental entity has taken or damaged private property 
for public use without just compensation) against a governmental 
entity, or an employee whom a governmental entity has a duty to 
indemnify is $213,000 in any one occurrence (instead of $200,000).] 
R37-4-1.  Authority and Calculation Process. 
 Pursuant to UCA 63-30d-604(4)(b) the Risk Manager hereby 
establishes a new limitation of judgment. 
 Accordingly, the Risk Manager has calculated the consumer 
price index (CPI) for calendar years 2003 and 2005 using the 
standards provided in Sections 1(f)(4) and 1 (f)(5) of the Internal 
Revenue Code.  Section 1(f)(4) has defined the CPI for any calendar 
year to mean the average of the consumer price index as of the close 
of the 12-month period ending on August 31 of such calendar year.  
Section 1(f)(5) has defined "consumer price index" to mean the 
index used for all-urban consumers published by the Department of 
Labor.  By applying these standards, the consumer price index for 
the calendar year 2003 is calculated to be 182.75 and the index for 
2005 is 192.77.  The percentage difference between the 2003 index 
and the 2005 index was then computed to be 5.5%. 
 
R37-4-2.  New Limitation of Judgment Amounts. 
 As a result of the above required calculations, the new 
limitation of judgment amounts currently required by UCA 63-30d-
604(1)(a) has been increased as follows, and is effective July 1, 
2006: 
 1)  In accordance with UCA 63-30d-604(1)(a), the limit for 
damages for personal injury against a governmental entity, or an 
employee who a governmental entity has a duty to indemnify is 
$583,900 for one person in any one occurrence (instead of 
$553,500), or $1,167,900 for two or more persons in any one 
occurrence (instead of $1,107,000); 
 2)  In accordance with UCA 63-30d-604(1)(b), the limit for 
damages for injury or death is $583,900, (instead of $553,500) 
regardless of whether or not the function giving rise to the injury is 
characterized as governmental; and 
 3)  In accordance with UCA 63-30d-604(1)(c), the limit for 
property damages (excluding damages awarded as compensation 
when a governmental entity has taken or damaged private property 
for public use without just compensation) against a governmental 
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entity, or an employee whom a governmental entity has a duty to 
indemnify is $233,600 in any one occurrence (instead of $221,400). 
 
R37-4-3.  Limitations of Judgments by Calendar Date. 
 The limitation on judgments are established by the date of the 
occurrence.  The dates and dollar amounts are as follows: 
 1)  Incident(s) occurring before July 1, 2001 - $250,000 for one 
person in an occurrence, $500,000 for two or more persons in an 
occurrence; and $100,000 for property damage for any one 
occurrence as explained in R37-4-2(3). 
 2)  Incident(s) occurring on or after July 1, 2001 - $500,000 for 
one person in an occurrence, $1,000,000 for two or more persons in 
an occurrence; and $200,000 for property damage for any one 
occurrence as explained in R37-4-2(3). 
 3)  Incident(s) occurring on or after July 1, 2002 - $532,000 for 
one person in an occurrence, $1,065,000 for two or more persons in 
an occurrence; and $213,000 for property damage for any one 
occurrence as explained in R37-4-2(3). 
 4)  Incident(s) occurring on or after July 1, 2004 - $553,500 for 
one person in an occurrence, $1,107,000 for two or more persons in 
an occurrence, and $221,400 for property damage for any one 
occurrence as explained in R37-4-2(3). 
 5)  Incident(s) occurring on or after July 1, 2006 - $583,900 for 
one person in an occurrence, $1,167,900 for two or more persons in 
an occurrence, and $233,600 for property damage for any one 
occurrence as explained in R37-4-2(3). 
 
KEY:  limitation on judgments, risk management, governmental 
immunity act caps 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
[November 16, 2002]2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63-30-
34(4)(b) 
 

  
 

Commerce, Administration 

R151-1-2 
Electronic Meetings 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28664 

FILED:  04/21/2006, 14:11 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this new section is to establish standards 
governing the use of electronic meetings. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This section provides that 
the agencies within the Department of Commerce may hold 
electronic meetings, and it addresses procedures for 
requesting and establishing an electronic meeting. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 52-4-7.8(3) 
 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
  THE STATE BUDGET:  The state budget should not be 

affected by this section, which codifies existing procedures 
regarding electronic meetings.  In addition, any fiscal impact 
would have been considered in the passage of S.B. 12 in the 
2006 General Session, which bill requires this rule filing.  
(DAR NOTE:  S.B. 12 is found at Chapter 17, Laws of Utah 
2006, and was effective 05/01/2006.) 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The local governments should not be 
affected by this rule, which deals with electronic meetings held 
by a state executive branch agency. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  Other persons and those regulated by the 
agencies within the Department of Commerce should not be 
affected by this rule, which codifies existing procedures 
regarding electronic meetings.  In addition, any fiscal impact 
would have been considered in the passage of S.B. 12 in the 
2006 General Session, which bill requires this rule filing. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Other persons and 
those regulated by the agencies within the Department of 
Commerce should not be affected by this rule, which codifies 
existing procedures regarding electronic meetings.  In 
addition, any fiscal impact would have been considered in the 
passage of S.B. 12 in the 2006 General Session, which bill 
requires this rule filing. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  No fiscal impact to businesses 
is anticipated by this rule filing beyond those considered in the 
passage of S.B. 12.  Moreover, it merely codifies existing 
procedures regarding electronic meetings.  Francine A. Giani, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Masuda Medcalf at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
7663, by FAX at 801-530-6446, or by Internet E-mail at 
mmedcalf@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Francine Giani, Executive Director 
 
 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 28621 

 
8 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 

R151.  Commerce, Administration. 
R151-1.  Department of Commerce General Provisions. 
R151-1-2.  Electronic Meetings. 
 In compliance with Utah Code Ann. Section 52-4-207, the 
following shall apply to electronic meetings held by any "public body" 
(as defined in Utah Code Ann. Section 52-4-103) within the 
Department of Commerce. 
 (1)  Electronic meetings are not prohibited but may be limited by 
an agency director or designee based on budget, public policy, or 
logistical considerations. 
 (2)(a)  An agency director or designee, on his/her own initiative, 
may establish an electronic meeting. 
 (b)  Any member of a public body may also request an agency 
director to establish an electronic meeting. 
 (i)  Any such request shall be made as far in advance as possible, 
but not less than three business days prior to a meeting to allow for 
arrangements to be made for the electronic meeting.  The agency 
director or designee may shorten this time frame upon a determination 
of reasonable need. 
 (ii)  The agency director or designee may determine whether such 
a request should be granted.  No vote of the public body is required. 
 (3)  A quorum of the public body is not required to be present at a 
single anchor location for an electronic meeting. 
 (4)  Any number of separate connections for members of a public 
body is allowed for an electronic meeting, unless an agency director or 
designee limits the number of separate connections based on available 
equipment capability or other relevant and reasonable considerations. 
 
KEY:  oath, board members, investigators, electronic meetings 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
15, 2005]2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. IV, Sec. 
10; 53-13-101(12); 13-1-6(1); 13-1-2(1)(b); 52-4-103; 52-4-207 
 

  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-1 
General Rules of the Division of 
Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28621 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 10:20 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule filing is to:  1) establish renewal dates for 
the athletic trainers and medication aide certified license 
classifications added by the 2006 Legislature in H.B. 74 and 
H.B. 137, respectively; 2) change the renewal date of 
construction trades instructor from July 31 of odd years to 
November 30 of odd years so it is consistent with other 
Construction Trades Licensing Act license classification  
 

renewal dates that were recently changed; and 3) permit 
conditional licensure to be issued to applicants for initial 
licensure.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 74 (2006) is found at Chapter 
206, Laws of Utah 2006, and was effective 05/01/2006.  H.B. 
137 is found at Chapter 291, Laws of Utah 2006, and was 
effective 05/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The change in Subsection 
R156-1-308a(6) establishes the renewal date for athletic 
trainers as May 31 of odd years; in Subsection R156-1-
308a(19), changes the renewal date for construction trades 
instructors from July 31 of odd years to November 30 of odd 
years; and in Subsection R156-1-308a(48), establishes the 
renewal date for medication aides certified as March 31 of odd 
years.  In Section R156-1-308f, additions are made to permit 
conditional licensure to be issued to an applicant for initial 
licensure who is selected for audit or is under investigation, 
pending the completion of the audit or investigation.  The rule 
previously limited conditional licensure to applicants for 
renewal or reinstatement of licensure.  The current procedural 
requirements and consequences of conditional licensure also 
apply to initial licensure and remain unchanged. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-1-308 and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) and 
58-1-501(4) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs of 
approximately $100 to reprint the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the Division's current budget.  The proposed 
amendments:  establish the renewal date for the new license 
classifications created by the 2006 Legislature; change the 
renewal date for construction trades instructors making it 
consistent with other changes recently made in renewal dates; 
and extend greater flexibility to the Division in responding to 
applicants for initial licensure who are selected for audit or are 
under investigation. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The proposed amendments do not 
apply to local governments; therefore, no costs or savings are 
anticipated.  The proposed amendments only apply to 
licensees and potential licensees in regulated professions of 
the Division. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  Initial license application and renewal 
fees required for athletic trainers and mediation aides certified 
were included in the fiscal notes in H.B. 74 and H.B. 137, 
respectively.  However, those fees are noted here for 
information only. The fees are:  Athletic Trainer - initial license 
$70/renewal $47; and Medication Aide Certified - initial license 
$50/renewal $42.  In H.B. 74, the Division estimated 
approximately 150-200 applicants would apply for licensure as 
an athletic trainer and in H.B. 137 the Division estimated 
approximately 30 applicants would apply for licensure as a 
medication aide certified.  Licensed construction trades 
instructors will receive a several month extension of licensure 
at no cost as noted above.  Applicants for initial licensure that 
receive a conditional license sooner than they would receive a 
regular license may experience some savings in that they can 
begin to practice their respective profession sooner.  Potential 
employers of the applicant may also benefit.  However, exact 
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savings cannot be determined due to a wide range of 
circumstances. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Initial license 
application and renewal fees required for athletic trainers and 
mediation aides certified were included in the fiscal notes in 
H.B. 74 and H.B. 137, respectively.  However, those fees are 
noted here for information only.  The fees are:  Athletic Trainer 
- initial license $70/renewal $47; and  Medication Aide 
Certified - initial license $50/renewal $42. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing establishes 
renewal dates for license classifications added during the 
2006 General Session and permits conditional licensure for 
new license applicants while an audit or investigation of the 
applicant is pending.  Other than a possible positive impact to 
applicants in obtaining conditional licensure prior to the 
completion of the audit or investigation, no fiscal impact to 
businesses is anticipated.  Francine A. Giani, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
W. Ray Walker at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6256, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
raywalker@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-1.  General Rules of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing. 
R156-1-308a.  Renewal Dates. 
 (1)  The following standard two-year renewal cycle renewal 
dates are established by license classification in accordance with the 
Subsection 58-1-308(1): 
 

TABLE 
RENEWAL DATES 

 
(1)  Acupuncturist                         May 31       even years 
(2)  Advanced Practice Registered Nurse    January 31   even years 
(3)  Alternate Dispute Resolution Provdr   September 30 even years 
(4)  Architect                             May 31       even years 
(5)  Athlete Agent                         September 30 even years 
(6)  Athletic Trainer                      May 31       odd years 

([6]7)  Audiologist                        May 31       odd years 
([7]8)  Building Inspector                 November 30  odd years 
([8]9)  Burglar Alarm Security             November 30  even years 
([9]10)  C.P.A. Firm                       September 30  even years 
([10]11)  Certified Court Reporter         May 31       even years 
([11]12)  Certified Dietitian              September 30 even years 
([12]13)  Certified Nurse Midwife          January 31   even years 
([13]14)  Certified Public Accountant      September 30 even years 
([14]15)  Certified Registered 
      Nurse Anesthetist                    January 31   even years 
([15]16)  Certified Social Worker          September 30 even years 
([16]17)  Chiropractic Physician           May 31       even years 
([17]18)  Clinical Social Worker           September 30 even years 
([18]19)  Construction Trades Instructor [July 31]November 30 odd 
years 
([19]20)  Contractor                       November 30  odd years 
([20]21)  Controlled Substance 
            Precursor Distributor          May 31       odd years 
([21]22)  Controlled Substance 
            Precursor Purchaser            May 31       odd years 
([22]23)  Controlled Substance Handler     May 31       odd years 
([23]24)  Cosmetologist/Barber             September 30 odd years 
([24]25)  Cosmetology/Barber School        September 30 odd years 
([25]26)  Deception Detection              November 30  even years 
([26]27)  Dental Hygienist                 May 31       even years 
([27]28)  Dentist                          May 31       even years 
([28]29)  Direct-entry Midwife             September 30 odd years 
([29]30)  Electrician 
            Apprentice, Journeyman, Master, 
            Residential Journeyman, 
            Residential Master             November 30  even years 
([30]31)  Electrologist                    September 30 odd years 
([31]32)  Electrology School               September 30 odd years 
([32]33)  Environmental Health Scientist   May 31       odd years 
([33]34)  Esthetician                      September 30 odd years 
([34]35)  Esthetics School                 September 30 odd years 
([35]36)  Factory Built Housing Dealer     September 30 even years 
([36]37)  Funeral Service Director         May 31       even years 
([37]38)  Funeral Service                  May 31       even years 
            Establishment 
([38]39)  Genetic Counselor                September 30 even years 
([39]40)  Health Facility                  May 31       odd years 
            Administrator 
([40]41)  Hearing Instrument               September 30 even years 
            Specialist 
([41]42)  Landscape Architect              May 31       even years 
([42]43)  Licensed Practical Nurse         January 31   even years 
([43]44)  Licensed Substance Abuse         May 31       odd years 
            Counselor 
([44]45)  Marriage and Family              September 30 even years 
            Therapist 
([45]46)  Massage Apprentice,              May 31       odd years 
            Therapist 
([46]47)  Master Esthetician               September 30 odd years 
(48)  Medication Aide Certified            March 31     odd years 
([47]49)  Nail Technologist                September 30 odd years 
([48]50)  Nail Technology School           September 30 odd years 
([49]51)  Naturopath/Naturopathic          May 31       even years 
            Physician 
([50]52)  Occupational Therapist           May 31       odd years 
([51]53)  Occupational Therapy             May 31       odd years 
            Assistant 
([52]54)  Optometrist                      September 30 even years 
([53]55)  Osteopathic Physician and        May 31       even years 
            Surgeon 
([54]56)  Pharmacy (Class A-B-C-D-E)       September 30 odd years 
([55]57)  Pharmacist                       September 30 odd years 
([56]58)  Pharmacy Technician              September 30 odd years 
([57]59)  Physical Therapist               May 31       odd years 
([58]60)  Physician Assistant              May 31       even years 
([59]61)  Physician and Surgeon            January 31   even years 
([60]62)  Plumber 
            Apprentice, Journeyman, 
            Residential Apprentice, 
            Residential Journeyman         November 30  even years 
([61]63)  Podiatric Physician              September 30 even years 
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([62]64)  Pre Need Funeral 
            Arrangement Provider           May 31       even years 
([63]65)  Pre Need Funeral Arrangement 
            Sales Agent                    May 31       even years 
([64]66)  Private Probation Provider       May 31       odd years 
([65]67)  Professional Counselor           September 30 even years 
([66]68)  Professional Engineer            March 31     odd years 
([67]69)  Professional Geologist           March 31     odd years 
([68]70)  Professional Land Surveyor       March 31     odd years 
([69]71)  Professional Structural          March 31     odd years 
            Engineer 
([70]72)  Psychologist                     September 30 even years 
([71]73)  Radiology Practical              May 31       odd years 
            Technician 
([72]74)  Radiology Technologist           May 31       odd years 
([73]75)  Recreational Therapy 
            Technician, Specialist, 
            Master Specialist              May 31       odd years 
([74]76)  Registered Nurse                 January 31   odd years 
([75]77)  Respiratory Care                 September 30 even years 
            Practitioner 
([76]78)  Security Personnel               November 30  even years 
([77]79)  Social Service Worker            September 30 even years 
([78]80)  Speech-Language Pathologist      May 31       odd years 
([79]81)  Veterinarian                     September 30 even years 

 
 (2)  The following non-standard renewal terms and renewal or 
extension cycles are established by license classification in 
accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1) and in accordance with 
specific requirements of the license: 
 (a)  Certified Marriage and Family Intern licenses shall be 
issued for a three year term and may be extended if the licensee 
presents satisfactory evidence to the division and the board that 
reasonable progress is being made toward passing the qualifying 
examinations or is otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead 
to licensure; but the period of the extension may not exceed two 
years past the date the minimum supervised experience requirement 
has been completed. 
 (b)  Certified Professional Counselor Intern licenses shall be 
issued for a three year term and may be extended if the licensee 
presents satisfactory evidence to the division and the board that 
reasonable progress is being made toward passing the qualifying 
examinations or is otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead 
to licensure; but the period of the extension may not exceed two 
years past the date the minimum supervised experience requirement 
has been completed. 
 (c)  Certified Social Worker Intern licenses shall be issued for a 
period of six months or until the examination is passed whichever 
occurs first.  An intern license may be extended if the licensee 
presents satisfactory evidence to the Division and the board that 
reasonable progress is being made toward passing the qualifying 
examinations or is otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead 
to licensure; but the period of the extension may not exceed two 
years past the date the minimum supervised experience requirement 
has been completed. 
 (d)  Funeral Service Apprentice licenses shall be issued for a 
two year term and may be extended for an additional two year term 
if the licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the division and the 
board that reasonable progress is being made toward passing the 
qualifying examinations or is otherwise on a course reasonably 
expected to lead to licensure. 
 (e)  Professional Employer Organization registrations expire 
every year on September 30. 
 (f)  Psychology Resident licenses shall be issued for a two year 
term and may be extended if the licensee presents satisfactory 
evidence to the division and the board that reasonable progress is 

being made toward passing the qualifying examinations or is 
otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead to licensure; but 
the period of the extension may not exceed two years past the date 
the minimum supervised experience requirement has been 
completed. 
 (g)  Hearing Instrument Intern licenses shall be issued for a 
three year term and may be extended if the licensee presents 
satisfactory evidence to the Division and the Board that reasonable 
progress is being made toward passing the qualifying examination, 
but a circumstance arose beyond the control of the licensee, to 
prevent the completion of the examination process. 
 
R156-1-308f.  Denial of Renewal of Licensure - Classification of 
Proceedings - Conditional Renewal of Licensure During[or 
Reinstatement During Pendency of] Adjudicative Proceedings[,] 
- Conditional Initial, Renewal, or Reinstatement Licensure 
During Audit or Investigation. 
 (1)  Denial of renewal of licensure shall be classified as a 
formal adjudicative proceeding under Rule R156-46b. 
 (2)  When a renewal application is denied and the applicant 
concerned requests a hearing to challenge the division's action as 
permitted by Subsection 63-46b-3(3)(d)(ii), unless the requested 
hearing is convened and a final order is issued prior to the expiration 
date shown on the applicant's current license, the division shall 
conditionally renew the applicant's license during the pendency of 
the adjudicative proceeding as permitted by Subsection 58-1-
106(1)(h). 
 (3)(a)  When an initial, renewal [applicant ]or [a ]reinstatement 
applicant under Subsections 58-1-301(2) through (3) or 58-1-308(5) 
or (6)(b) is selected for audit or is under investigation, the division 
may conditionally issue an initial license to an applicant for initial 
licensure, or renew or reinstate the license of an applicant pending 
the completion of the audit or investigation. 
 (b)  The undetermined completion of a referenced audit or 
investigation rather than the established expiration date shall be 
indicated as the expiration date of a conditionally issued, renewed, 
or reinstated license. 
 (c)  A conditional issuance, renewal, or reinstatement shall not 
constitute an adverse licensure action. 
 (d)  Upon completion of the audit or investigation, the division 
shall notify the initial license, renewal, or reinstatement applicant 
whether the applicant's license is unconditionally issued, renewed, 
reinstated, denied, or partially denied or reinstated. 
 (e)  A notice of unconditional denial or partial denial of 
licensure to an applicant [licensee who ]the division [determines 
may be ]conditionally licensed, renewed, or reinstated shall include 
the following: 
 (i)  that the [licensee's]applicant's unconditional initial issuance, 
renewal, or reinstatement of licensure is denied or partially denied 
and the basis for such action; 
 (ii)  the division's file or other reference number of the audit or 
investigation; 
 (iii)  that the denial or partial denial of unconditional initial 
licensure, renewal, or reinstatement of licensure is subject to review 
and a description of how and when such review may be requested; 
 (iv)  that the [licensee's]applicant's conditional license 
automatically will or did expire on the expiration date shown on the 
conditional license, and that the [license]applicant will not be issued, 
renewed, or reinstated unless or until the applicant timely requests 
review; and 
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 (v)  that if the [licensee]applicant timely requests review, the 
[licensee's]applicant's conditionally issued, renewed, or reinstated 
license does not expire until an order is issued unconditionally 
issuing, renewing, reinstating, denying, or partially denying the 
initial issuance, renewal, or reinstatement of the 
[licensee's]applicant's license. 
 
KEY:  diversion programs, licensing, occupational licensing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
[November 15, 2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  May 2, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-308; 58-1-501(4) 
 

  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-40 
Recreational Therapy Practice Act 

Rules 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28674 
FILED:  04/25/2006, 11:21 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and the Recreational Therapy Board have reviewed the rule 
and need to update the rule with respect to definitions, 
educational requirements, experience requirements, 
examination requirements, and supervision requirements. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-40-102, 
amendments are made to update the definition of an 
"approved graduate degree" and also "supervision" definitions 
as identified in Subsections R156-40-102(7) and (8) to provide 
consistency with statutory requirements.  New definitions for 
"full-time, on-site" and "maintain the on-going documentation" 
have been added to clarify wording that appears in the statute. 
 In Section R156-40-103, a statutory citation has been 
updated.  In Section R156-40-302a, amendments are being 
proposed to provide consistency with the statute on 
educational requirements necessary to obtain licensure for all 
levels of the recreational therapy practitioner.  The proposed 
additions clarify that a master therapeutic recreational 
specialist (MTRS) and therapeutic recreational specialist 
(TRS) require certification as a Certified Therapeutic 
Recreation Specialist (CTRS), documentation of education 
and completion of a practicum.  The proposed additions also 
clarify the number of hours and content required in an 
education program for a therapeutic recreational technician 
(TRT).  Section R156-40-302b is being added to clarify statute 
requirements with respect to experience required for licensure 
as a MTRS, TRS, and TRT.  Section R156-40-302c has been 
renumbered due to the addition of a new section identified 
above.  The names of the required examinations have also 

been updated.  Section R156-40-302d is being added to 
clarify statute requirements with respect to the responsibilities 
of a MTRS or TRS supervisor when supervising a TRT.  
Section R156-40-302e has been renumbered due to the 
addition of new sections identified above and minor grammar 
changes have been made in the section. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-40-1 and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) and 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs of 
approximately $100 to reprint the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the Division's current budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Proposed amendments do not apply 
to local governments.  The proposed amendments only apply 
to individuals who are licensed or who may apply for licensure 
in one of the three license classifications of recreational 
therapy. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The proposed amendments only apply to 
individuals who are licensed or who may apply for licensure in 
one of the three license classifications of recreational therapy. 
 The Division does not anticipate any costs or savings as the 
proposed amendments better define qualification 
requirements for licensure and standards for the profession 
and make the rules more consistent with statutory 
requirements. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The proposed 
amendments only apply to individuals who are licensed or 
who may apply for licensure in one of the three license 
classifications of recreational therapy.  The Division does not 
anticipate any costs or savings as the proposed amendments 
better define qualification requirements for licensure and 
standards for the profession and make the rules more 
consistent with statutory requirements. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing contains 
substantive amendments for the purposes of better defining 
qualification requirements for licensure and standards for the 
profession, and making the rule consistent with the authorizing 
statute.  No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated as a 
result of these amendments.  Francine A. Giani, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Noel Taxin at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6621, 
by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
ntaxin@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/20/2006 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  6/20/2006 at 9:00 AM, Heber Wells Bldg, 160 E 
300 S,  Conference Room 428 (fourth floor), Salt Lake City, 
UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/21/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-40.  Recreational Therapy Practice Act Rules. 
R156-40-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 40, as 
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 40 or these rules: 
 (1)  ["Approved equivalent experience" for licensure as a 
MTRS, as used in Subsection 58-40-5(1)(a)(ii), means two years of 
full time paid experience obtained outside Utah while certified by 
NCTRC as a CTRS. 
 (2)  ]"Approved [masters]graduate degree in recreation[al] 
therapy or a [masters]graduate degree with an approved emphasis in 
recreation[al] therapy", as used in Subsection 58-40-5(1)(a)(i), 
means an earned [masters]graduate degree which includes a 
minimum of nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours of upper 
division or graduate level course work in recreation[al] therapy.[ 
 (3)  "An approved training program" for licensure as a TRT, as 
used in Subsection 58-40-5(3)(a), means 200 hours of education and 
training under the supervision or direction of a MTRS, which will 
include instruction in the theories and concepts of recreational 
therapy from recognized colleges or universities, work shops or 
seminars, a minimum of ten hours of face to face consultation, and a 
structured practical experience in a facility.] 
 ([4]2)  "CTRS" means a person certified as a Certified 
Therapeutic Recreation Specialist by the National Council for 
Therapeutic Recreation Certification. 
 (3)  "Full-time, on-site", as used in Subsections 58-40-5(3)(c), 
58-40-6(3)(a)(i) and (3)(b)(i), means an individual who is employed 
on the premises with the hiring agency for a minimum of 30 hours 
per week. 
 (4)  "Maintain the on-going documentation", as used in 
Subsection 58-40-6(3)(b), means: 
 (a)  collecting data for the assessment process; 
 (b)  documenting the on-going treatment or intervention 
provided to clients according to the treatment plan; and 
 (c)  providing periodic review of client status according to 
agency regulations. 
 (5)  "MTRS" means a person licensed as a master therapeutic 
recreational specialist. 
 (6)  "NCTRC" means the National Council for Therapeutic 
Recreation Certification. 
 (7)  "Supervision", as used in Subsections 58-40-5(3)(c), 58-40-
6(1)(a), (2)(b), (3)(a)(i) and (3)(b)(i), means full-time, on-site 
oversight by a MTRS or TRS of the recreation therapy services 
offered. 
 ([7]8)  "Supervision of a [therapeutic recreational technician", 
as used in Subsection 58-40-6(3)(a) and (b), or "supervision of a 

]temporary TRS", as used in Subsection R156-40-302[c]e(d), means 
that the MTRS or TRS supervisor is responsible for the recreational 
therapy activities performed by the [TRT]temporary TRS and will 
review and approve the treatment plans as well as any modifications 
to the treatment plans as evidenced by the signature of the MTRS or 
TRS in the treatment plan. 
 ([8]9)  "TRS" means a person licensed as a therapeutic 
recreational specialist. 
 ([9]10)  "TRT" means a person licensed as a therapeutic 
recreational technician. 
 ([10]11)  "Unprofessional conduct" is defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 40. 
 
R156-40-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 These rules are adopted by the division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 40. 
 
R156-40-302a.  [Education and Practicum Requirements for 
Licensure as a Therapeutic Recreational Specialist] 
Qualifications of Licensure - Education Requirements. 
 In accordance with Section 58-40-5, the educational 
requirements for licensure include: 
 (1)  A MTRS applicant shall: 
 (a)  have a current NCTRC certification as a CTRS; and 
 (b)  document that he has completed the education and 
practicum requirements for licensure as a TRS. 
 (2)  A TRS applicant shall: 
 (a)  have a[In accordance with Subsections 58-40-5(2)(a) and 
(b), a] current NCTRC certification as a CTRS; and 
 (b)  [is required to ]document that he[a person] has completed 
the education and practicum requirements for licensure as a TRS. 
 (3)  A TRT applicant shall: 
 (a)  have an approved educational course in therapeutic 
recreation taught by a MTRS, as required by Subsection 58-40-
5(3)(b)(i), which shall consist of 90 hours of structured education 
under the instruction and direction of a licensed MTRS, or if 
completed out of state, under the direction of a nationally certified 
CTRS, which includes: 
 (i)  theories and concepts of recreation therapy; 
 (ii)  the therapeutic recreation process; 
 (iii)  characteristics of illness and disability and their effects on 
leisure; 
 (iv)  medical and psychiatric terminology including psychiatric, 
pharmacology and abbreviations; 
 (v)  ethics; 
 (vi)  role and function of other health and human service 
professionals including agencies, medical specialists and allied 
health professionals; and 
 (vii)  health and safety. 
 
R156-40-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Experience 
Requirements. 
 In accordance with Section 58-40-5, the experience 
requirements for licensure include: 
 (1)  A MTRS is required to complete 4000 hours of paid 
experience, as required by Subsection 58-40-5(1)(a)(ii), which 
means an individual must work as a TRS in Utah in a paid position 
practicing recreation therapy and/or work outside of Utah as a CTRS 
in a paid position practicing recreation therapy as defined in 
Subsection 58-40-2(4)(a) and (b) for 4000 hours. 
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 (2)  A TRS is required to complete an approved practicum, as 
required by Subsection 580-40-5(2)(b), which means a practicum 
verified on the graduate degree transcript. 
 (3)  A TRT is required to complete an approved practicum, as 
required by Subsection 58-40-5(3)(c), which means 125 hours of 
field work experience to be completed over a duration of not more 
than nine months under the direction of a licensed MTRS or TRS 
supervisor that includes: 
 (a)  a minimum of ten hours of face to face supervision by the 
MTRS or TRS supervisor; 
 (b)  training in the therapeutic recreation process as defined in 
Subsections 58-40-2(4)(a) and (b); 
 (c)  interdisciplinary contact; 
 (d)  administration contact; and 
 (e)  community relations. 
 
R156-40-302[b]c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-40-5(1)(e), 58-40-5(2)(f) 
and 58-40-5(3)(e), applicants for licensure shall pass the following 
examinations: 
 (1)  Applicants for licensure as a MTRS, TRS or TRT shall 
pass the Utah Recreation[al] Therapy Law and Rule Examination 
with a minimum passing score of 75%. 
 (2)  Applicants for licensure as a MTRS or TRS shall pass the 
NCTRC certification examination as evidenced by a current NCTRC 
certification as a CTRS. 
 (3)  Applicants for licensure as a TRT shall pass the Utah 
Recreation[al] Therapy Theory Examination for TRT with a 
minimum passing score of 70%. 
 
R156-40-302d.  Qualifications for Supervision. 
 Supervision of a therapeutic recreation technician, as used in 
Subsection 58-40-6(3)(a)(i) and (3)(b)(i), means that the MTRS or 
TRS supervisor is responsible for: 
 (1)  providing on-site training, observation, direction and 
evaluation, as defined in Subsection 58-40-2(4)(b), to include: 
 (a)  reviewing the recreation therapy intervention as defined by 
the treatment plan performed by the TRT; 
 (b)  demonstrating periodic review and evaluation of ongoing 
documentation; 
 (c)  reviewing the recreation therapy program according to 
administrative and governing regulations; and 
 (d)  reviewing and evaluating adherence to the standards of the 
profession. 
 
R156-40-302[c]e.  Qualifications for Temporary License as a 
TRS - Supervision Required. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-1-303, an applicant for 
temporary licensure as a TRS shall: 
 (a)  submit an application for temporary license in the form 
prescribed by the division which includes a verification that the 
applicant has registered and been approved to take the next available 
NCTRC examination; 
 (b)  pay[s] a fee determined by the department under Section 
63-38-3.2; 
 (c)  meet[s] all the requirements for licensure, except passing 
the NCTRC examination; and 
 (d)  practice[s] recreation[al] therapy under the supervision of a 
Utah licensed TRS or MTRS as defined in Subsection R156-40-
102([7]8). 

 (2)  The temporary license will not be issued for a period 
greater than ten months. 
 (3)  The temporary license will not be renewed or extended for 
any purpose. 
 
KEY:  licensing, recreational therapy[*] 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 16, 
1998]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  November 6, 2001 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-40-1; 58-
1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 

  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-60b 
Marriage and Family Therapist 

Licensing Act Rules 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28672 
FILED:  04/25/2006, 10:12 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and the Marriage and Family Therapy Board have reviewed 
the rule and need to update the rule with respect to definitions, 
qualifications for supervision, continuing education, and 
applicable code of ethics. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-60b-102, 
amendments are made to the definition of  "face to face 
supervision" and added definitions for "group supervision" and 
"individual supervision".  In Section R156-60b-103, a statutory 
citation to Section 58-1-106 was updated.  In Section R156-
60b-302b, the proposed amendments provide consistency 
with the statute on the required number of hours of face to 
face supervision and clarify misunderstanding of statutory 
requirements.  Proposed amendments also delete the term 
"conjoint" in Subsection R156-60b-302b(1)(e) which has 
confused applicants and uses more recognized terms of 
couple and family therapy.  In Section R156-60b-302d, the 
proposed amendments are added to create consistency with 
national and state association requirements to be qualified as 
a supervisor.  In Section R156-60b-304, the amendment is 
made to eliminate the requirement for a certified marriage and 
family therapist intern to complete continuing education hours. 
 The intern is under supervision and in a learning capacity and 
does not require continuing education to maintain 
competency.  In Section R156-60b-502, amendments are 
made to update the American Association for Marriage and 
Family Therapy (AAMFT) Code of Ethics from the July 1, 
1998, edition to the July 1, 2001, edition. 
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STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) and 58-1-202(1)(a) and 
Section 58-60-301 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Deletes the July 1, 1998, edition of the 
AAMFT Code of Ethics, and adds the July 1, 2001, edition of 
the AAMFT Code of Ethics 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs of 
approximately $100 to reprint the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the Division's current budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Proposed amendments do not apply 
to local governments.  The proposed amendments only apply 
to individuals who are licensed or who may apply for licensure 
as a marriage and family therapist or as a certified marriage 
and family therapist intern. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The proposed amendments only apply to 
individuals who are licensed or who may apply for licensure as 
a marriage and family therapist or certified marriage and 
family therapist intern.  With respect to the updated Code of 
Ethics, no costs or savings are anticipated as a result of this 
amendment since the current edition of the Code of Ethics can 
be obtained via the American Association for Marriage and 
Family Therapy website.  With respect to the amendment 
which deletes certified marriage and family therapist interns 
from completing 40 continuing education hours every 2 years, 
the Division anticipates each certified marriage and family 
therapist intern will see some savings as a result of not having 
to complete 40 continuing education hours every 2 years.  The 
Division is unable to determine an exact amount of savings 
due to the varying costs involved with obtaining continuing 
education hours.  The Division currently has 76 individuals 
who are licensed as a certified marriage and family therapist 
intern.  The Division anticipates no further costs or savings as 
a result of the additional amendments being proposed to the 
rule beyond those identified above. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  No compliance 
costs are anticipated as a result of the proposed amendments; 
only savings are anticipated by the Division as identified 
above. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing contains 
substantive amendments for the purposes of better defining 
standards for the profession and making the rule consistent 
with the authorizing statute and national standards.  Other 
than the possible savings to regulated certified marriage and 
family therapist interns, resulting from the elimination of the 
continuing education requirement, no fiscal impact to 
businesses is anticipated.  Francine A. Giani, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 

160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Noel Taxin at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6621, 
by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
ntaxin@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  6/02/2006 at 9:00 AM, Heber Wells Bldg, 160 E 
300 S, Conference Room 428 (fourth floor), Salt Lake City, 
UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-60b.  Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act Rules. 
R156-60b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, as 
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, or these rules: 
 (1)  "AAMFT" means the American Association for Marriage 
and Family Therapy. 
 (2) "Face to face supervision" [means one to one supervision 
between the supervisor and the supervisee or group supervision 
between the supervisor and up to two supervisees.  During group 
supervision, one and a half hours is equivalent to one clock hour of 
supervision.]as described in Subsection R156-60b-302a(1)(b)(vii) 
includes both individual and group supervision. 
 (3)  "Group supervision" means supervision between the 
supervisor and no more than three supervisees, unless preapproved 
by the Board. 
 (4)  "Individual supervision" means supervision between the 
supervisor and one or two supervisees in accordance with standards 
set forth in Subsection R156-60b-302b(1)(d). 
 ([3]5)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 60, is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 
58-1-203(5), in Section R156-60b-502. 
 
R156-60b-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 These rules are adopted by the division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 60, Part 3. 
 
R156-60b-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Experience 
Requirements. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Subsections 58-60-305(1)(e) and (f), an 
applicant shall complete marriage and family therapy and mental 
health therapy training consisting of a minimum of 4,000 hours of 
supervised training which shall: 
 (a)  be completed in not less than two years; 
 (b)  be completed while the applicant is an employee of a 
public or private agency engaged in mental health therapy; 
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 (c)  be completed under the supervision of a marriage and 
family therapist supervisor meeting the requirements under Section 
58-60-307; 
 (d)  include at least [200]100 hours of clinical face to face 
supervision spread uniformly throughout the training period[of 
which at least 100 hours must be individual supervision]; 
 (e)  in accordance with Subsection 58-60-305(1)(f), include a 
minimum of 1000 hours of mental health therapy of which at least 
500 hours are in [conjoint, ]couple or family therapy with two or 
more clients present[sessions]; and 
 (f)  hours completed in a group therapy session may count only 
if the supervisee functions as the primary therapist. 
 (2)  An applicant for licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist, who is not seeking licensure by endorsement based upon 
licensure in another jurisdiction, who has completed all or part of the 
marriage and family therapy training requirements outside the state, 
may receive credit for that training completed outside of the state if 
it is demonstrated by the applicant that the training completed 
outside the state is equivalent to and in all respects meets the 
requirements for training under Subsections 58-60-305(1)(e) and (f), 
and Subsection R156-60b-302b(1).  The applicant shall have the 
burden of demonstrating by evidence satisfactory to the division and 
board that the training completed outside the state is equivalent to 
and in all respects meets the requirements under this subsection. 
 
R156-60b-302d.  Qualifications to be a Marriage and Family 
Therapist Training Supervisor and Mental Health Therapist 
Training Supervisor. 
 Pursuant to the provisions of Subsection 58-60-307(1), to be 
qualified as a marriage and family therapist supervisor for training 
required under Subsections 58-60-305(1)(e) and (f), an individual 
shall: 
 (1)  be currently approved by AAMFT as a marriage and family 
therapist supervisor; or 
 (2)  be currently licensed [or certified ]in good standing as a 
marriage and family therapist in the state in which the supervised 
training is being performed; and meet the following requirements: 
 (a)  have lawfully engaged in the practice of mental health 
therapy for not less than two years; and 
 (b)(i)  have successfully completed [30 clock hours of 
instruction approved by the division in collaboration with the board 
in the theory, practice, and process of supervision; and]a supervision 
course in a Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family 
Therapy Education (COAMFTE) accredited marriage and family 
therapy (MFT) program at an accredited university; or 
 (ii)  have successfully completed 20 clock hours of instruction 
sponsored by AAMFT or the Utah Association of Marriage and 
Family Therapists (UAMFT) as follows: 
 (A)  four hours of review of models of MFT and supervision; 
 (B)  eight hours of MFT supervision processes and practice; 
 (C)  four hours of research on effective outcomes and processes 
of supervision; and 
 (D)  four hours of AAMFT Code of Ethics, state rules and case 
studies related to MFT supervision; or 
 (3)  be currently licensed as a clinical social worker, 
psychologist, or professional counselor in Utah and meet the 
following requirements: 
 (a)  have lawfully engaged in the practice of mental health 
therapy for not less than two years; 
 (b)  produce certified transcripts from a program accredited by 
a professional accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher 

Education Accreditation of the American Council on Education, 
which includes courses in the following areas: 
 (i)  six semester hours/nine quarter hours in theoretical 
foundations of marriage and family therapy; 
 (ii)  nine semester hours/12 quarter hours in assessment and 
treatment in marriage and family therapy; and 
 (iii)  six semester hours/nine quarter hours in human 
development and family studies which includes ethnic minority and 
gender issues, including sexuality, sexual functioning and sexual 
identity; and 
 (c)(i)  have successfully completed a supervision course in a 
COAMFTE accredited MFT program at an accredited university; or 
 (ii)  have successfully completed 20 clock hours of instruction 
sponsored by AAMFT or UAMFT in the following areas: 
 (A)  four hours in review of models of marriage and family 
therapy and supervision; 
 (B)  eight hours in MFT supervision processes and practice; 
 (C)  four hours in research on effective outcomes and processes 
of supervision; and 
 (D)  four hours in AAMFT Code of Ethics, state rules and case 
studies related to MFT supervision.[ 
 (c)  have successfully completed 36 clock hours of training 
related to the practice of supervision under the direction of a 
qualified marriage and family therapist training supervisor.] 
 
R156-60b-304.  Continuing Education. 
 (1)  [There]In accordance with Section 58-60-105, there is 
hereby established a continuing professional education requirement 
for all individuals licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 3, as a 
marriage and family therapist[ and as a certified marriage and family 
therapist intern]. 
 (2)  During each two year period commencing September 30th 
of each even numbered year, a marriage and family therapist [and as 
a certified marriage and family therapist intern ]shall be required to 
complete not less than 40 hours of qualified professional education 
directly related to the licensee's professional practice with at least 15 
hours thereof being directly related to marriage and family therapy. 
 (3)  The required number of hours of professional education for 
an individual who first becomes licensed during the two year period 
shall be decreased in a pro-rata amount equal to any part of that two 
year period preceding the date on which that individual first became 
licensed. 
 (4)  Qualified professional education under this section shall: 
 (a)  have an identifiable clear statement of purpose and defined 
objective for the educational program directly related to the practice 
of a mental health therapist; 
 (b)  be relevant to the licensee's professional practice; 
 (c)  be presented in a competent, well organized, and sequential 
manner consistent with the stated purpose and objective of the 
program; 
 (d)  be prepared and presented by individuals who are qualified 
by education, training, and experience; and 
 (e)  have associated with it a competent method of registration 
of individuals who actually completed the professional education 
program and records of that registration and completion are 
available for review. 
 (5)  Credit for professional education shall be recognized in 
accordance with the following: 
 (a)  unlimited hours shall be recognized for professional 
education completed in blocks of time of not less than one hour in 
formally established classroom courses, seminars, or conferences; 
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 (b)  a maximum of 14 hours per two year period may be 
recognized for teaching in a college or university, teaching qualified 
continuing professional education courses in the field of mental 
health therapy, or supervision of an individual completing his 
experience requirement for licensure in a mental health therapist 
license classification; 
 (c)  a maximum of six hours per two year period may be 
recognized for clinical readings directly related to practice as a 
mental health therapist; 
 (6)  A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining competent 
records of completed qualified professional education for a period of 
four years after close of the two year period to which the records 
pertain.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain such 
information with respect to qualified professional education to 
demonstrate it meets the requirements under this section. 
 (7)  A licensee who documents he is engaged in full time 
activities or is subjected to circumstances which prevent that 
licensee from meeting the continuing professional education 
requirements established under this section may be excused from the 
requirement for a period of up to three years; however, it is the 
responsibility of the licensee to document the reasons and justify 
why the requirement could not be met. 
 
R156-60b-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision of a 
supervisor without complying with or ensuring the compliance with 
the requirements of Sections R156-60b-302d and R156-60b-302e; 
 (2)  engaging in the supervised practice of mental health 
therapy when not in compliance with Subsections R156-60b-302b; 
 (3)  engaging in and aiding or abetting conduct or practices 
which are dishonest, deceptive or fraudulent; 
 (4)  engaging in or aiding or abetting deceptive or fraudulent 
billing practices; 
 (5)  failing to establish and maintain appropriate professional 
boundaries with a client or former client; 
 (6)  engaging in dual or multiple relationships with a client or 
former client in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 
harm to the client; 
 (7)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a client 
with or without client consent; 
 (8)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
former client within two years of documented termination of 
services; 
 (9)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact at any time 
with a former client who is especially vulnerable or susceptible to 
being disadvantaged because of the client's personal history, current 
mental status, or any condition which could reasonably be expected 
to place the client at a disadvantage recognizing the power 
imbalance which exists or may exist between the marriage and 
family therapist and the client; 
 (10)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with client's 
relatives or other individuals with whom the client maintains a 
relationship when that individual is especially vulnerable or 
susceptible to being disadvantaged because of his personal history, 
current mental status, or any condition which could reasonably be 
expected to place that individual at a disadvantage recognizing the 
power imbalance which exists or may exist between the marriage 
and family therapist and that individual; 

 (11)  physical contact with a client when there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the 
contact; 
 (12)  engaging in or aiding or abetting sexual harassment or any 
conduct which is exploitive or abusive with respect to a student, 
trainee, employee, or colleague with whom the licensee has 
supervisory or management responsibility; 
 (13)  failing to render impartial, objective, and informed 
services, recommendations or opinions with respect to custodial or 
parental rights, divorce, domestic relationships, adoptions, sanity, 
competency, mental health or any other determination concerning an 
individual's civil or legal rights; 
 (14)  exploiting a client for personal gain; 
 (15)  use of a professional client relationship to exploit a person 
that is known to have a personal relationship with a client for 
personal gain; 
 (16)  failing to maintain appropriate client records for a period 
of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (17)  failing to obtain informed consent from the client or legal 
guardian before taping, recording or permitting third party 
observations of client care or records; 
 (18)  failure to cooperate with the Division during an 
investigation; and 
 (19)  failure to abide by provisions 1 to 8.[7]8 of the Code of 
Ethics of the American Association for Marriage and Family 
Therapy (AAMFT) as adopted by the AAMFT effective July 1, 
[1998]2001, which is adopted and incorporated by reference. 
 
KEY:  licensing, therapists, marriage and family therapist[*] 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [June 1, 
2001]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  October 21, 2004 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-60-301 
 

  
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-10 
Administrative Procedures 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28668 

FILED:  04/21/2006, 16:55 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Utah 
Division of Real Estate and the Utah Real Estate Commission 
have decided to conduct disciplinary proceedings as informal 
adjudicative proceedings instead of formal adjudicative 
proceedings. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Disciplinary proceedings 
are changed from formal adjudicative proceedings (which 
have been conducted by an administrative law judge) to 
informal adjudicative proceedings before the Utah Real Estate 
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Commission.  Procedural rules for various types of informal 
proceedings are also provided. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 61-2-5.5 and Subsection 63-46b-1(5) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--The only State agency that 
would be impacted would be the Division of Real Estate.  The 
Division of Real Estate anticipates that there will be no 
significant cost or savings in its budget by conducting more 
informal adjudicative proceedings that are subject to de novo 
review instead of formal adjudicative proceedings that are 
subject to a review on the record. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--The rules on administrative 
proceedings before the Utah Real Estate Commission do not 
impact local government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  It is anticipated that persons who are the 
subject of proceedings before the Utah Real Estate 
Commission will save money because the proceedings will be 
informal proceedings as opposed to formal proceedings.  It is 
unknown whether the appeal from an informal proceeding, 
which is a trial de novo in district court, will cost these persons 
money or save them money as compared to the cost of an 
appeal from a formal proceeding, which is a review on the 
record of what occurred at the agency level.  Therefore, the 
costs or savings to those persons cannot be determined or 
quantified. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  As set forth above 
under "Other persons," it is unknown whether the change from 
formal proceedings to informal proceedings for disciplinary 
actions will cost the persons involved in these proceedings 
any money, or whether the change will save them money. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing changes the 
designation of disciplinary actions from formal adjudicative 
proceedings to informal adjudicative proceedings.  It also 
codifies existing procedures for adjudicative proceedings 
conducted by the agency.  It is not clear whether in the long 
run there will be a cost savings or cost increase to the industry 
as a result of the change in the designation of adjudicative 
proceedings.  However, no fiscal impact to other businesses is 
anticipated by such change or by the codification of existing 
procedures.  Francine A. Giani, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Derek Miller, Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-10.  Administrative Procedures. 
R162-10-1.  Formal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 10.1.  Any adjudicative proceeding as to the following matters 
shall be conducted as a formal adjudicative proceeding:[ 
 10.1.1.  A disciplinary action commenced by the Division 
following investigation of a complaint.] 
 10.1.[2]1.  The revocation or suspension of any registration issued 
pursuant to the Time Share and Camp Resort Act, or the imposition of 
a fine against the registrant. 
 10.1.[3]2.  The revocation or suspension of any registration issued 
pursuant to the Utah Uniform Land Sales Practices Act, or the 
imposition of a fine against the registrant. 
 10.1.[4]3.  Any proceedings conducted subsequent to the issuance 
of cease and desist orders. 
 
R162-10-2.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 10.2.  Any adjudicative proceedings as to the following matters 
shall be conducted on an informal basis: 
 10.2.1.  The issuance of a real estate license, the renewal of an 
active, inactive or expired license, or the activation of an inactive 
license. 
 10.2.2.  Any action on a sales agent's license based upon the 
revocation or suspension of a principal broker's license or the failure of 
the principal broker to renew his license. 
 10.2.3.  The issuance of renewal or certification of real estate 
schools or instructors. 
 10.2.4.  The revocation of a real estate license due to payment 
made from the Real Estate Recovery Fund. 
 10.2.5.  The issuance[,] or renewal[, suspension or revocation] of 
registration pursuant to the Land Sales Practices Act. 
 10.2.6.  The exemption from, or the amendment of, registration 
pursuant to the Land Sales Practices Act. 
 10.2.7.  The issuance or renewal of any registration pursuant to the 
Time Share and Camp Resort Act. 
 10.2.8.  Any waiver of, or exemption from, registration 
requirements pursuant to the Time Share and Camp Resort Act. 
 10.2.9.  The issuance of any declaratory order determining the 
applicability of a statute, rule or order when enforcement or 
implementation of the statute, rule or order lies within the jurisdiction 
of the Division of Real Estate. 
 10.2.10.  The post-revocation hearing following the revocation of 
license pursuant to Utah Code Section 61-2-9(1)(e)(i) for failure to 
accurately disclose a criminal history. 
 10.2.11.  A hearing on whether or not a licensee or certificate 
holder whose license or certificate was issued or renewed on 
probationary status has violated the condition of that probation. 
 10.2.12.  Except as provided in Section 63-46b-20, a disciplinary 
action commenced by the Division following investigation of a 
complaint. 
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R162-10-3.  Proceedings Not Designated. 
 10.3.  All adjudicative proceedings as to any other matters not 
specifically listed herein shall be conducted on an informal basis. 
 
R162-10-4.  Hearings Required in Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 10.4.1  A post-revocation hearing will be held if a licensee whose 
license has been automatically revoked pursuant to U.C.A. Section 61-
2-9(1)(e)(i) files a timely request for a hearing to challenge the 
revocation. 
 10.4.2  Hearings will be held in all proceedings commenced by 
the Division for disciplinary action pursuant to U.C.A. Section 61-2-12 
following investigation of a complaint by the Division. 
 
R162-10-5.  Procedures for Hearings in All Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 10.5.1  The procedures to be followed in all informal adjudicative 
proceedings shall be as set forth in Title 63, Chapter 46b, Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act, the Department of Commerce 
Administrative Procedures Act Rules, Utah Administrative Code 
Section R151-46b, and in this Section R162-10-5. 
 10.5.2  Assistance of Administrative Law Judge.  In any 
proceeding under this subsection, the Commission and the Division 
may, but shall not be required to, delegate a hearing to an 
Administrative Law Judge or request that an Administrative Law Judge 
assist the Commission and the Division in conducting the hearing.  Any 
delegation of a hearing to an Administrative Law Judge or any request 
for assistance from an Administrative Law Judge shall be in writing. 
 10.5.3  Discovery.  Discovery is prohibited, but the Division may 
issue subpoenas or other orders to compel production of necessary and 
relevant evidence upon written request to the Division.  Parties shall 
have access to information gathered during an investigation by the 
Division to the extent permitted by Title 63, Chapter 2, Government 
Records Access and Management Act, and other applicable laws.  The 
Division shall provide the information within 15 days of receipt of the 
written request.  Information that will not be provided by the Division 
to a party includes the Division's Investigative Report, draft documents, 
attorney/client communications, materials containing an attorney's 
work product, materials containing the investigators' thought processes 
or analysis, or internal Division forms and memoranda.  The Division 
may decline to provide a party with information it has already provided 
to that party. 
 10.5.4  Intervention.  Intervention is prohibited. 
 10.5.5  Notice of hearing.  Upon the scheduling of a hearing by 
the Division, the Division shall mail written notice of the date, time, 
and place scheduled for the hearing.  If the respondent in a proceeding 
commenced by the Division is an actively licensed sales agent or 
associate broker, the Division shall mail a copy of the notice of hearing 
to the principal broker with whom the respondent is licensed. 
 10.5.6  Hearings.  Hearings shall be open to all parties, except that 
a hearing may be conducted in a closed session which is not open to the 
public if the presiding officer closes the hearing pursuant to Title 63, 
Chapter 46b, the Utah Administrative Procedures Act or Title 52, 
Chapter 4, the Open and Public Meetings Act. 
 10.5.7  Witnesses.  A party to a proceeding may request that the 
Division subpoena witnesses or documents on the party's behalf by 
making a written request to the Division.  The Division will thereafter 
generate the witness subpoenas and furnish them to the party requesting  
 
 
 

them.  The party who has requested that a witness be subpoenaed shall 
bear the cost of service of the subpoena upon the witness, and the 
witness fee and mileage to be paid to the witness. 
 10.5.8  Representation by counsel.  The respondent in a 
proceeding commenced by the Division, or the requestor in a 
proceeding commenced by a request for agency action, may be 
represented by counsel and shall have the opportunity to testify, present 
witnesses and other evidence, and comment on the issues. 
 10.5.9  Record.  The Division shall cause a  record to be made of 
the hearing by audio or video recorder, or by a certified shorthand 
reporter.   Any party to the proceeding, at his own expense, may have a 
reporter approved by the Division prepare a transcript from the 
Division's record of the proceedings. 
 10.5.10  Orders.  Within a reasonable time after the close of a 
proceeding, the presiding officer shall issue a signed order in writing 
that states the decision, the reasons for the decision, a notice of any 
right of administrative or judicial review available to the parties, and 
the time limits for filing an appeal or requesting a review.  The Order 
shall be based on the facts appearing in the Division's files and on the 
facts presented in evidence at the hearing.  A copy of the Order shall be 
promptly mailed or delivered to each of the parties. 
 
R162-10-6.  Additional Procedures for Disciplinary Proceedings 
Commenced by the Division. 
 10.6  The following additional procedures shall apply to 
disciplinary proceedings commenced by the Division pursuant to 
U.C.A. Section 61-2-12 following the investigation by the Division of a 
complaint: 
 10.6.1  Notice of Agency Action and Petition.  The proceeding 
shall be commenced by the Division filing and serving a Notice of 
Agency Action and a Petition setting forth the allegations made by the 
Division. 
 10.6.2  Answer.  The presiding officer at the time the Petition is 
filed may, upon a determination of good cause, require a person against 
whom a disciplinary proceeding has been initiated pursuant to U.C.A. 
Section 61-2-12 to file an Answer to the Petition by ordering in the 
Notice of Agency Action that the respondent shall file an Answer with 
the Division.  All Answers are required to be filed with the Division 
within thirty days after the mailing date of the Notice of Agency Action 
and Petition. 
 10.6.3  Witness and Exhibit Lists.  The Division shall provide its 
Witness and Exhibit Lists to the respondent at the time it mails its 
Notice of Hearing to the respondent.  The respondent shall provide its 
Witness and Exhibits Lists to the Division no later than thirty days after 
the mailing date of the Division's Notice of Agency Action and 
Petition. 
 10.6.3.1  Contents of Witness List.  A Witness List shall contain 
the name, address, and telephone number of each witness the party 
intends to call to testify at the hearing, and a summary of the testimony 
expected from the witness. 
 10.6.3.2  Contents of Exhibit List.  An Exhibit List shall contain 
an identification of each document or other exhibit that the party 
intends to use at the hearing, and shall be accompanied by copies of the 
exhibits. 
 10.6.4  Pre-hearing Motions.  Any pre-hearing motion permitted 
by Utah Administrative Code Section R151-46b, the Department of 
Commerce Administrative Procedures Act Rules, shall be made in 
accordance with those rules.  The Director of the Division shall receive 
and rule upon any pre-hearing motions. 
 



DAR File No. 28665 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 19 

KEY:  real estate business 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April 19, 
]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  October 7, 2005 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  61-2-5.5; 63-
46b-1(5) 
 

  
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-102-3 
Renewal 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28665 

FILED:  04/21/2006, 16:42 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose for this rule change is to provide a process by which 
an appraiser who is called to active military service can avoid 
loss of license or certification due to inability to complete the 
required continuing education while on active duty. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  An appraiser who is unable 
to renew a license or certification because active military 
service has prevented the completion of the continuing 
education required for renewal may have a timely application 
for renewal held in suspense pending the return from military 
service and the completion of the continuing education. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2b-6(1)(l) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no savings anticipated in the 
State budget because of this rule change.  The only State 
agency that it is anticipated would be affected by the rule 
change is the licensing agency for appraisers, which is the 
Division of Real Estate.  There may be a slight increased cost 
to the Division of Real Estate because it will be required to 
hold a few applications in a suspended status, but the cost of 
that would be minuscule. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No cost is anticipated for local 
government since local governments do not license or 
regulate appraisers.  However, local governments do employ 
appraisers, and could conceivably save money if a staff 
appraiser is called to active duty and does not lose his or her 
license or certification while on active duty.  This rule change 
could save the appraiser (or his or her employing agency) the 
cost of the appraiser starting over to obtain a new license or 
certification after return from military service. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The only other persons affected by this 
rule change are appraisers who are called to active military 
service and might lose their licenses or certifications while on 
active duty because of inability to complete the continuing 
education required for renewal.  Those persons could be 
saved hundreds or thousands of dollars by not having to start 

over to obtain a new license or certification on their return 
from active duty. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There would be no 
compliance costs for the appraisers affected by this rule 
change; it would potentially save money for appraisers who 
are called to active duty. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  No fiscal impact to businesses 
is anticipated as a result of this rule filing, and licensees who 
are called to active duty may experience a cost-savings due to 
these renewal amendments.  Francine A. Giani, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Derek Miller, Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-102.  Application Procedures. 
R162-102-3.  Renewal. 
 102.3.1  At least 30 days before expiration, a renewal notice shall 
be sent by the Division to the registered, licensed or certified appraiser 
at the mailing address shown on the Division records.  The applicant 
for renewal must return the completed renewal notice and the 
applicable renewal fee to the Division on or before the expiration 
shown on the notice. 
 102.3.1.1  The licensed or certified appraiser must return proof of 
completion of 28 hours of continuing education taken during the 
preceding two years. 
 102.3.1.1.1  Even though the appraiser may have changed 
licensing categories, every third time the appraiser with a renewal date 
before January 1, 2004 renews, the appraiser will provide evidence of 
having completed, within the two years prior to the third renewal, a 
course in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.  
This USPAP course may be either a 7-hour National USPAP course or 
any 15-hour USPAP course that includes passing of a final exam.  The 
hours of credit from USPAP courses may be used to meet part of the 
continuing education requirement for that renewal period.  The 
appraiser must obtain and study the Utah Real Estate Appraiser 
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Licensing and Certification Act and the rules promulgated thereunder 
and must sign an attestation that he understands and will abide by them. 
 Appraisers with a renewal date after January 1, 2004 will be required 
to comply with Section 102.3.1.1.4. 
 102.3.1.1.2  Those State-Licensed Appraisers who were Senior 
Appraisers prior to May 3, 1999 and who completed a USPAP course 
after January 1, 1993 will not be required to complete the USPAP 
course again in order to renew until their third renewal following the 
date upon which they completed the USPAP course as long as their 
renewal date is before January 1, 2004.  Those State-Licensed 
Appraisers who have a renewal date that is after January 1, 2004 will be 
required to comply with Section 102.3.1.1.4. 
 102.3.1.1.3  Those appraisers who were State-Registered 
Appraisers prior to May 3, 2001 and who completed a USPAP course 
after January 1, 1993 will not be required to complete the USPAP 
course again in order to renew until their third renewal following the 
date upon which they completed the USPAP course as long as their 
renewal date is before January 1, 2004.  Those formerly State-
Registered Appraisers who have a renewal date that is after January 1, 
2004 will be required to comply with Section 102.3.1.1.4. 
 102.3.1.1.4  Effective January 1, 2004, all appraisers must take the 
7-hour National USPAP Update Course or its equivalent at least once 
every two years in order to maintain a license or certification.  In order 
to qualify as continuing education for renewal, the course must have 
been taken from an instructor or instructors, at least one of whom is a 
State-Certified Residential or State-Certified General Appraiser and has 
been certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the 
Appraisal Foundation.  Equivalency to the 7-hour National USPAP 
Update Course will be determined through the Course Approval 
Program of the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal 
Foundation. 
 102.3.2  If the renewal fee and documentation are not received 
within the prescribed time period, the license or certification shall 
expire. 
 102.3.2.1  A license or certification may be renewed for a period 
of 30 days after the expiration date upon payment of a late fee in 
addition to the requirements of Section 102.3.1. 
 102.3.2.2  After this 30-day period and until six months after the 
expiration date, the license or certification may be reinstated upon 
payment of a reinstatement fee in addition to the requirements of 
Section 102.3.1. It shall be grounds for disciplinary sanction if, after the 
expiration date, the individual continues to perform work for which a 
license or certification is required. 
 102.3.2.3  A person who does not renew a license or certification 
within six months after the expiration date shall be relicensed or 
recertified as prescribed for an original application. The applicant will 
receive credit for previously credited prelicensing education. 
Applicants for a new license or certification will be required to 
complete a USPAP course and retake the examination for the 
classification for which they are applying. 
 102.3.3  If the Division has received renewal documents in a 
timely manner but the information is incomplete, the appraiser shall be 
extended a 15-day grace period to complete the application. 
 102.3.4  Renewal while on active military service.  An appraiser 
who is unable to renew a license or certification because active military 
service has prevented the completion of the appraiser's required 
continuing education may submit a timely application for renewal that 
is complete, except for proof of continuing education, and may request 
that the application for renewal be held in suspense pending the 
completion of the continuing education requirement. 

 102.3.4.1 The appraiser will have 120 days after completion of 
active military service to complete the continuing education required 
for the renewal and submit proof of the continuing education to the 
Division. 
 102.3.4.2  An appraiser may not act as an appraiser in Utah after 
the expiration of the appraiser's current license while the appraiser's 
application for renewal is held in suspense by the Division pending the 
completion of military service and the completion of the continuing 
education required for renewal.  The appraiser may not act as an 
appraiser in Utah until the appraiser submits proof of completion of the 
required continuing education and the appraiser's application for 
renewal is processed by the Division. 
 
KEY:  real estate appraisals, licensing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [May 25, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  March 27, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  61-2b-6(1)(l) 
 

  
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-105-1 
Scope of Authority 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28666 

FILED:  04/21/2006, 16:45 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
investigators have realized that there is a loophole in the 
existing rule that would allow a person whose application for 
renewal has been denied for professional misconduct to go to 
work as a trainee for another appraiser.  The Division also 
believes that a supervising appraiser should have a duty to 
refrain from employing as trainees parties whose appraiser 
licenses or certifications have been suspended for disciplinary 
reasons. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  A person whose application 
for renewal of a license or certification was denied would be 
ineligible to go to work for another appraiser as a trainee for 
five years after the denial of the person's application for 
renewal.  The rule change would also prohibit an appraiser 
from employing as a trainee a person whose appraiser license 
has been suspended while that person's license is in 
suspended status. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2b-6(1)(l) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The rules on who may act as an 
appraisal trainee do not impact any State agency except the 
licensing agency for appraisers, which is the Division of Real 
Estate.  These rule changes will not cost the Division of Real 
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Estate any money.  Prohibiting persons who have had 
licenses or certifications denied or suspended for disciplinary 
reasons from working as appraisal trainees may save the 
Division investigative costs in that these persons will not be 
able to commit additional bad acts in appraisals that would 
result in additional complaints that would have to be 
investigated by the Division.  However, these potential savings 
cannot be estimated since it is unknown how many persons 
would be eliminated from acting as trainees because of this 
rule change. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--A rule precluding a person 
whose application for renewal of an appraiser license or 
certification has been denied from acting as an appraisal 
trainee has no effect on local government and therefore will 
result in neither costs nor savings for local government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The only persons affected by this rule 
change are appraisers and their trainees.  This rule change 
will not result in savings to those parties.  It may result in a 
very minimal cost increase for supervising appraisers since it 
would be prudent for them to check on whether an applicant 
for a trainee position is an appraiser whose renewal has been 
denied or whose license or certification has been suspended 
by the Division.  However, this may be done at no charge by 
checking the licensee database on the Division's web site. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  As stated above, it 
would be prudent for a supervising appraiser to protect him or 
herself by checking on whether an applicant for a trainee 
position is an appraiser whose renewal has been denied or 
whose license or certification has been suspended by the 
Division.  However, the increased cost of evaluating 
candidates should be minimal since this check may be done 
at no charge on the Division's web site. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing clarifies existing 
standards.  No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated 
beyond those addressed in the rule summary.  Francine A. 
Giani, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 

AUTHORIZED BY:  Derek Miller, Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-105.  Scope of Authority. 
R162-105-1.  Scope of Authority. 
 105.1  Transaction value.  "Transaction value" means: 
 105.1.1  For loans or other extensions of credit, the amount of 
the loan or extension of credit; 
 105.1.2  For sales, leases, purchases, and investments in or 
exchanges of real property, the market value of the real property 
interest involved; and 
 105.1.3  For the pooling of loans or interests in real property for 
resale or purchase, the amount of the loan or market value of the real 
property calculated with respect to each such loan or interest in real 
property. 
 105.2  State-Licensed Appraisers.  In federally-related 
transactions, the Utah Real Estate Appraiser Licensing Act and the 
Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 
1989 and related federal regulations allow State-Licensed Appraisers 
to perform the appraisal of non-complex one to four residential units 
having a transaction value of less than $1,000,000 and complex one 
to four residential units having a transaction value of less than 
$250,000. 
 105.2.1  Subject to the transaction value limits in Section 105.2, 
State-Licensed Appraisers may also perform appraisals in federally-
related transactions of vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for 
one to four family purposes, or for which the highest and best use is 
1-4 family purposes, so long as net income capitalization analysis is 
not required by the terms of the assignment. 
 105.2.2  State-Licensed Appraisers may not perform appraisals 
of subdivisions in federally-related transactions for which a 
development analysis/appraisal is necessary or for which discounted 
cash flow analysis is required by the terms of the assignment. 
 105.3  Trainees. 
 105.3.1  For the purposes of these rules, "trainee" means a 
person who is working under the direct supervision of a State-
Licensed or State-Certified Appraiser to earn points for licensure. 
 105.3.2  Appraisal-related duties by unlicensed persons.  
Unlicensed persons who have not qualified as trainees as provided in 
Subsection 105.3.3 may perform only clerical duties in connection 
with an appraisal.  For the purposes of this rule, appraisal-related 
clerical duties include typing an appraiser's research notes or an 
appraiser's report, taking photographs of properties, and obtaining 
copies of public records.  Only those persons who have properly 
qualified as trainees as provided in Subsection 105.3.3 may perform 
the following appraisal-related duties:  participating in property 
inspections, measuring or assisting in the measurement of properties, 
performing appraisal-related calculations, participating in the 
selection of comparables for an appraisal assignment, making 
adjustments to comparables, and drafting or assisting in the drafting 
of an appraisal report.  The supervising appraiser shall be 
responsible to determine the point at which a trainee is competent to 
participate in each of these activities. 
 105.3.2.1  A trainee may not solicit an assignment or accept an 
assignment on behalf of anyone other than the trainee's supervisor or 
the supervisor's appraisal firm.  All engagement letters shall be 
addressed to the supervisor or the supervisor's appraisal firm, not to 
the trainee.  In all appraisal assignments, the supervisor shall 
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delegate only such duties as are appropriate to the trainee and shall 
directly supervise the trainee in the performance of those duties. 
 105.3.3  In order to become a trainee, the person must have 
successfully completed 75 classroom hours of State-approved 
education in subjects related to real estate appraisal, including the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP), 
must have passed the final examination in the USPAP course, and 
must file a notification with the Division as provided in Subsection 
105.3.3.1.  The education required by this Subsection must have 
been completed within the 5 years preceding the filing of the 
notification required by Subsection 105.3.3.1. 
 105.3.3.1 Trainee Notification.  Prior to performing any of the 
appraisal-related activities for which points will be claimed toward 
licensure, a trainee must file with the Division a notification in the 
form required by the Division.  In addition to any identifying 
information about the trainee required by the Division, the 
notification shall contain the name and business address of the 
appraiser(s) who will supervise the trainee in the performance of the 
appraisal-related duties, and shall be signed by the supervisor.  The 
notification shall also contain the course names, course provider 
names, and course completion dates for the 75 hours of education 
required by Subsection 105.3.3.  The original course completion 
certificates shall be submitted to the Division with the notification. 
 105.3.3.2  Except as provided in Subsection 105.3.3.3, no 
experience points will be granted toward licensure for trainee 
experience that is claimed to have been earned prior to the date the 
notification was filed with the Division. 
 105.3.3.3  Until five years after the effective date of this rule, 
points that were earned prior to the effective date of this rule may be 
claimed and will be awarded to applicants who are able to document 
those points on the forms required by the Division, notwithstanding 
the fact that the points were earned prior to the date a trainee 
notification was filed with the Division. 
 105.3.4 Supervising Appraisers. A trainee may have more than 
one supervising appraiser.  Effective January 1, 2008, a supervising 
appraiser may supervise a maximum of three trainees at one time. 
 105.3.5  Residential Property Inspections.  A trainee, including 
a trainee who was previously a state-registered appraiser, must be 
accompanied by a supervising State-Licensed Appraiser, State-
Certified Residential Appraiser, or State-Certified General Appraiser 
on all inspections of residential property until the trainee has 
performed 100 inspections of residential properties in which both the 
interior and the exterior of the properties are inspected.  All reports 
in appraisals in which a trainee participated in the inspection of the 
subject property shall comply with the requirements of Section 
106.9. 
 105.3.6 Non-Residential Property Inspections.  A trainee, 
including a trainee who was previously a state-registered appraiser, 
must be accompanied by a supervising State-Certified General 
Appraiser on all inspections of non-residential property until the 
trainee has performed 20 inspections of non-residential properties in 
which both the interior and the exterior of the properties are 
inspected.  All reports in appraisals in which a trainee participated in 
the inspection of the subject property shall comply with the 
requirements of Section 106.9. 
 105.3.7  Points for Licensure.  A trainee may accumulate 
experience points for each duty listed below at the rate of 33.3% of 
the total points awarded from the Appraisal Experience Points 
Schedule under Section 104-18.1 or 104-18.2, not to exceed the 
maximum number of points awarded for each property. Trainee 
experience must be earned in at least three of the following 

categories. No more than one-third of the experience points 
submitted toward licensure may come from any one of the following 
categories: 
 (a)  participation in selecting comparables for an appraisal 
assignment - 33.3% of total points 
 (b)  participation in making adjustments to comparables - 
33.3% of total points 
 (c)  drafting appraisal reports - 33.3% of total points 
 (d)  as provided in Sections 105.3.5 and 105.3.6, inspecting a 
property that is the subject of an appraisal or that may be used as a 
comparable in an appraisal, and measuring the property - 33.3% of 
total points as long as both an interior and exterior inspection of the 
property is performed.  No points will be granted for inspections that 
do not include both an interior and an exterior inspection. 
 105.3.8  Credit will be given for appraisal experience earned 
only within five years immediately preceding the licensure or 
certification application.  Applicants who believe the Experience 
Points Schedules do not adequately reflect their experience may 
refer to Section 104-17. 
 105.3.9  All trainees are prohibited from signing an appraisal 
report or discussing an appraisal assignment with anyone other than 
the appraiser responsible for the assignment, state enforcement 
agencies and such third parties as may be authorized by due process 
of law, or a duly authorized professional peer review committee. 
 105.3.10  A state-licensed or state-certified appraiser who 
supervises a trainee shall be responsible for the training and direct 
supervision of the trainee. 
 105.3.10.1  Direct supervision shall consist of critical 
observation and direction of all aspects of the appraisal process and 
accepting full responsibility for the appraisal and the contents of the 
appraisal report.  The supervising appraiser shall be responsible to 
personally inspect each residential property that is appraised with a 
trainee until the trainee has performed 100 residential inspections as 
provided in Subsection 105.3.5 and 20 non-residential inspections as 
provided in Subsection 105.3.6.  The supervising appraiser must 
actively supervise those inspections and the resulting appraisals. 
 105.3.11  A supervising appraiser shall require the trainee to 
maintain a log in a form satisfactory to the Board which shall 
contain, at a minimum, the following information for each appraisal. 
 (a)  Type of property; 
 (b)  Address of appraised property; 
 (c)  Description of work performed; 
 (d)  Number of work hours; 
 (e)  Signature and state license/certification number of the 
supervising appraiser; and 
 (f)  Client name and address. 
 105.3.12  The trainee shall maintain a separate appraisal log for 
each supervising appraiser. 
 105.4.  Trainee Status after Revocation, Surrender, Denial, or 
Suspension of License or Certification. 
 105.4.1  Trainee Status after Revocation, [or ]Surrender, or 
Denial of License or Certification.  Unless otherwise ordered by the 
Board, an appraiser whose appraiser certification or license has been 
revoked by the Board, whose application for renewal of a 
certification or license has been denied by the Board, or who has 
surrendered a certification or license as a result of an investigation 
by the Division, may not serve as a trainee for a period of five years 
after the date of the revocation, denial, or surrender, nor may a 
licensed or certified appraiser employ or supervise the former 
appraiser [him during that period] in the performance of the 
activities permitted trainees for that same period of time. 
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 105.4.2  Trainee Status while License or Certification is 
Suspended.  Unless otherwise ordered by the Board, any appraiser 
whose appraiser license or certificate has been suspended by the 
Board as a result of an investigation by the Division may not serve 
as a trainee during the period of suspension.  While an appraiser is 
suspended, [nor may ]a licensed or certified appraiser may not 
employ or supervise the suspended appraiser[him during that period] 
in the performance of the activities permitted trainees. 
 
KEY:  real estate appraisals 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
[September 29, 2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  January 13, 2004 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  61-2b-
6(1)(l) 
 

  
 

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

R414-303-7 
Foster Care 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28698 

FILED:  05/01/2006, 10:53 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
rulemaking is needed to add a Medicaid coverage group of 
independent foster care adolescents who are age 18 but not 
yet 21.  This is to comply with H.B. 288 passed by the Utah 
State Legislature in its 2006 General Session.  (DAR NOTE:  
H.B. 288 (2006) is found at Chapter 110, Laws of Utah 2006, 
and was effective 05/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R414-303-7, this 
change adds a new coverage group of independent foster 
care adolescents and defines the criteria for Medicaid 
eligibility for the group. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 26-18-403 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVII) of the Social 
Security Act 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The state anticipates the annual cost to 
be about $1,514,500 of which $450,000 are state funds and 
$1,064,500 are federal funds. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no impact on local 
governments, because local governments do not determine 
eligibility for Medicaid. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  There are no anticipated costs to others.  
Individuals who qualify for services under this new coverage 
 

group could save up to $1,514,500 in medical expenses they 
would otherwise have to pay for themselves.  Medicaid 
providers will receive up to $1,514,500 for services they 
perform for Medicaid patients extended coverage by this rule. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs because this rulemaking does not require 
individuals who meet the criteria for coverage to pay anything 
to receive this coverage.  This rulemaking does not impose 
any costs on individuals, businesses, or other government 
agencies. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule implements H.B. 288 
which extends Medicaid coverage to young adults who were 
in foster care upon becoming adults.  It provides additional 
funding to pay health care providers.  A. Richard Melton, 
Acting Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ross Martin at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6592, 
by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
rmartin@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/22/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Melton, Deputy Director 
 
 
 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-303.  Coverage Groups. 
R414-303-7.  Foster Care and Independent Foster Care 
Adolescents. 
 (1)  The Department adopts 42 CFR 435.115(e)(2), 2001 ed., 
which is incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  Eligibility for foster children who meet the definition of a 
dependent child under the State Plan for Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children in effect on July 16, 1996, is not governed by 
this rule.  The Department of Human Services determines eligibility 
for foster care Medicaid. 
 (3)  The Department covers individuals who are 18 years old 
but not yet 21 years old as described in 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVII) of 
the Social Security Act.  This coverage is the Independent Foster 
Care Adolescents program.  The Department determines eligibility 
according to the following requirements. 
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 (a)  At the time the individual turns 18 years of age, the 
individual must be in the custody of the Division of Child and 
Family Services, or the Department of Human Services if the 
Division of Child and Family Services was the primary case 
manager, or a federally recognized Indian tribe, but not in the 
custody of the Division of Youth Corrections. 
 (b)  Income and assets of the child are not counted to determine 
eligibility under the Independent Foster Care Adolescents program. 
 (c)  Medicaid eligibility under this coverage group is not 
available for any month before July 1, 2006. 
 (d)  When funds are available, an eligible independent foster 
care adolescent can receive Medicaid under this coverage group 
until he or she reaches 21 years of age, and through the end of that 
month. 
 
KEY:  income, coverage groups, independent foster care 
adolescent 
Date of Enactment of Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 
16, 2004]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  January 31, 2003 
Authorizing and Implemented or interpreted law:  26-18-3; 26-
1-5 
 

  
 

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

R414-304-11 
Income Standards 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28680 

FILED:  04/27/2006, 14:23 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
rulemaking amends the way the Department calculates the 
premium for the Medicaid Work Incentive program.  It changes 
the Medicaid Work Incentive premium calculation so that 
clients with income under 120% of the federal poverty 
guideline will pay a smaller percentage of income for their 
premium. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  A new Subsection R414-
304-11(1) is added and other subsections are renumbered.  
Subsection R414-304-11(3) is modified to remove the 
language that says a person who qualifies for the Medicaid 
Work Incentive (MWI) program can choose coverage under 
either the Medicaid Work Incentive program or under a 
medically needy coverage group depending on whether the 
spenddown under medically needy is lower than the MWI 
premium.  This must be changed because if a person is 
eligible under the MWI program, then the person does not 
have the option of coverage under a medically needy 
coverage group.  Subsection R414-304-11(4) is modified to 
explain that the premium for the Medicaid Work Incentive 
program will use three different percentages to calculate the 
premium depending on how much income a client has.  For 

clients with income over 100% but not over 110% of the 
federal poverty guideline, the MWI premium will be 5% of the 
client's income.  For clients with income over 110% but not 
over 120% of the federal poverty guideline, the MWI premium 
will be 10% of the client's income.  For clients with income 
over 120% of the federal poverty guideline, the MWI premium 
will be 15% of the client's income.  This makes the transition 
from the spenddown Medicaid program easier because 
currently a client whose income is between 100% and 120% 
of the federal poverty guideline would pay a lower spenddown 
than what the current MWI premium would be at these income 
levels.  Adding these two steps for the lower income levels 
may increase a client's cost for Medicaid, but it increases it in 
smaller steps until their income reaches 120% of poverty.  At 
that point, the MWI premium is always lower than a 
spenddown would be. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 18 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Sections 1902(a)(10)(E), 1902(l), 
1902(m), 1903(f) and 1905(p) of the Compilation of the Social 
Security Laws, in effect January 1, 2003 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This change will result in some MWI 
individuals paying a lower premium, while others will pay a 
higher premium.  The combined cost to the department is 
about $1608 annually because of reduced net collections from 
these recipients.  The federal match would be about $1,142. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This does not impact local 
governments because Medicaid eligibility is not a local 
government function. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The 34 current recipients will be affected 
by this change.  About 19 will pay less than they are now, 
while 15 will pay more.  The aggregate savings for this group 
of clients is about $134 per month or about $1,608 annually. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The increased 
cost for individual clients who will have to pay more to receive 
Medicaid ranges between $3 to $37 per month; or $36 to $444 
annually.  The savings for individual clients who will pay less 
to receive Medicaid ranges between $2 to $37 per month or 
$24 to $444 annually. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change is necessary 
to coordinate benefits between the Medicaid Work Incentive 
program and the medically needy coverage group.  A. Richard 
Melton, Acting Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ross Martin at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6592, 
by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
rmartin@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/22/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Melton, Deputy Director 
 
 
 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-304.  Income and Budgeting. 
R414-304-11.  Income Standards. 
 (1)  This rule sets forth the income standards the Department 
uses to determine eligibility for Medicaid coverage groups. 
 ([1]2)  The Department adopts Sections 1902(a)(10)(E), 
1902(l), 1902(m), 1903(f) and 1905(p) of the Compilation of the 
Social Security Laws, in effect January 1, [2001]2003, which are 
incorporated by reference. 
 ([2]3)  The Department calculates the Aged and Disabled 
poverty-related Medicaid income standard [shall be calculated ]as 
100% of the federal non-farm poverty guideline.  If an Aged or 
Disabled person's income exceeds this amount, the current Medicaid 
Income Standards (BMS) [shall ]apply unless the disabled individual 
or a disabled aged individual has earned income.  In this case, the 
income standards of [either the Medically Needy (BMS) program or 
]the Medicaid Work Incentive program [may be applied]apply.[  The 
individual may choose coverage under either program if the 
individual meets all other eligibility criteria for both programs.] 
 ([3]4)  The income standard for the Medicaid Work Incentive 
Program [shall be](MWI)for disabled individuals with earned 
income is equal to 250% of the federal poverty guideline for a 
family of the size involved.  If income exceeds this amount, the 
current Medicaid Income Standards (BMS) [shall ]apply. 
 (a)  The Department [shall ]charges a MWI buy-in premium for 
the Medicaid Work Incentive Program when the countable income 
of the eligible individual, or the eligible individual and spouse, when 
the spouse is also eligible or has deemable income, exceeds 100% of 
the federal poverty guideline for the Aged and Disabled 100% 
poverty-related coverage group.  When the eligible individual is a 
minor child, the Department [shall ]charges a MWI buy-in premium 
when the child's countable income, including income deemed from 
parents, exceeds 100% of the federal poverty guideline for a one-
person household. 
 (b)  The premium [will be calculated as]is equal to 5% of 
income when income is over 100% but not more than 110% of the 
federal poverty guideline, 10% of income when income is over 
110% but not over 120% of the federal poverty guideline, or 15% of 
income when income is over 120% of the federal poverty 
guideline.[percent of]  The premium is calculated using only the 
eligible individual's[,] or eligible couple's[,] countable income 
multiplied by the applicable percentage. 

 ([4]5)  The income limit for pregnant women, and children 
under one year of age, shall be equal to 133% of the federal poverty 
guideline for a family of the size involved.  If income exceeds this 
amount, the current Medicaid Income Standards (BMS) [shall 
]apply. 
 ([5]6)  The current Medicaid Income Standards (BMS) are as 
follows: 
 

TABLE 
 
Household Size     Medicaid Income Standard (BMS) 
 
    1                       382 
    2                       468 
    3                       583 
    4                       683 
    5                       777 
    6                       857 
    7                       897 
    8                       938 
    9                       982 
   10                     1,023 
   11                     1,066 
   12                     1,108 
   13                     1,150 
   14                     1,192 
   15                     1,236 
   16                     1,277 
   17                     1,320 
   18                     1,364 

 
KEY:  financial disclosures, income, budgeting 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  January 31, 2003 
Authorizing and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-18-1 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28699 

FILED:  05/01/2006, 11:16 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
rulemaking is necessary to simplify and improve the accuracy 
of nursing facility rate calculations. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rulemaking amends 
the nursing facility payments rule by removing outdated 
verbiage and adding clarifying reimbursement information 
previously included only in the Medicaid State Plan. 
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STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 26-1-5 and 26-18-3 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no impact to the state budget 
because the clarifications in this rulemaking do not change the 
amount of state and federal funds that will be distributed to 
regulated health care facilities. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no impact to the local 
governments because the clarifications in this rulemaking do 
not change the amount of state and federal funds that will be 
distributed to local government operated health care facilities. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no budget impact to other 
persons because the clarifications in this rulemaking do not 
change the amount of state and federal funds that will be 
distributed to regulated health care facilities. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs to other persons because the clarifications 
in this rulemaking do not change the amount of state and 
federal funds that will be distributed to regulated health care 
facilities. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Inasmuch as the changes in 
this rule making are for clarification only, they will have no 
fiscal impact on businesses.  A. Richard Melton, Acting 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ross Martin at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6592, 
by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
rmartin@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/22/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Melton, Deputy Director 
 
 
 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-504.  Nursing Facility Payments. 
R414-504-1.  Introduction. 
 (1)  This rule adopts a case mix or severity based payment 
system, commonly referred to as RUGS (Resource Utilization Group 
System) for nursing facilities that are not ICF/MRs.  This system 

reimburses facilities based on the case mix index of the facility.  It 
also establishes rates for ICF/MR facilities. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Utah Code sections 26-1-5, 26-
18-3, and 26-35a. 
 
R414-504-2.  Definitions. 
 The definitions in R414-1-2 and R414-501-2 apply to this rule. 
 In addition: 
 (1)  "Behaviorally complex resident" means a long-term care 
resident with a severe, medically based behavior disorder, including 
traumatic brain injury, dementia, Alzheimer's, Huntington's Chorea, 
which causes diminished capacity for judgment, retention of 
information or decision-making skills, or a resident, who meets the 
Medicaid criteria for nursing facility level of care and who has a 
medically-based mental health disorder or diagnosis and has a high 
level resource use in the nursing facility not currently recognized in 
the case mix. 
 (2)  "Case Mix Index" means a score assigned to each facility 
based on the average of the Medicaid patients' RUGS scores for that 
facility. 
 (3)  "Facility Case Mix Rate" means the rate the Department 
issues to a facility for a specified period of time.  This rate utilizes 
the case mix index for a provider, labor wage index application and 
other case mix related costs. 
 (4)  "FCP" means the Facility Cost Profile [cost ]report filed by 
the provider on an annual basis. 
 (5)  "Minimum Data Set" (MDS) means a set of screening, 
clinical and functional status elements, including common 
definitions and coding categories, that form the foundation of the 
comprehensive assessment for all residents of long term care 
facilities certified to participate in Medicaid. 
 (6)  "Nursing Costs" means the most current costs from the 
annual FCP report reported on lines 070-012 Nursing Admin 
Salaries and Wages; 070-013 Nursing Admin Tax and Benefits; 070-
040 Nursing Direct Care Salaries and Wages; 070-041 Nursing 
Direct Care Tax and Benefits, and 070-050 Purchased Nursing 
Services. 
 (7)  "Nursing facility" or "facility" means a Medicaid-
participating NF, SNF, or a combination thereof, as defined in 42 
USC 1396r (a) (1988), 42 CFR 440.150 and 442.12 (1993), and 
UCA 26-21-2(15). 
 (8)  "Patient day" means the care of one patient during a day of 
service, excluding the day of discharge. 
 (9) "Property costs" means the [most current property costs 
from the annual FCP report reported on lines 230 (Rent and Leases 
Expense), 240 (Real Estate and Personal Property Taxes), 250 
(Depreciation - Building and Improvement), 260 (Depreciation - 
Transportation Equipment), 270 (Depreciation - Equipment), 280 
(Interest - Mortgage, Personal Property Furniture and Equipment - 
Small Items), 300 (Property Insurance).  Under a fair rental value 
(FRV) system, a facility is reimbursed on the basis of the estimated 
current value of its capital assets in lieu of direct reimbursement for 
depreciation, amortization, interest, and rent/lease expenses.  The 
FRV system establishes a nursing facility's bed value based on the 
age of the facility and total square footage]fair rental value (FRV) 
established by this rule. 
 (10)  "RUGS" means the 34 RUG identification system based 
on the Resource Utilization Group System established by Medicare 
to measure and ultimately pay for the labor, fixed costs and other 
resources necessary to provide care to Medicaid patients.  Each 
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"RUG" is assigned a weight based on an assessment of its relative 
value as measured by resource utilization. 
 (11)  "RUGS score" means a total number based on the 
individual RUGS derived from a resident's physical, mental and 
clinical condition, which projects the amount of relative resources 
needed to provide care to the resident.  RUGS is calculated from the 
information obtained through the submission of the MDS data. 
 (12)  "Sole community provider" means a facility that is not an 
urban provider and is not within 30 paved road miles of another 
existing facility and is the only facility: 
 (a)  within a city, if the facility is located within the 
incorporated boundaries of a city; or 
 (b)  within the unincorporated area of the county if it is located 
in an unincorporated area. 
 (13)  "Urban provider" means a facility located in a county 
which has a population greater than[of more than] 90,000 
[population]persons. 
 (14)  "FRV Data Report" means a report that provides the 
Department with information relating to capital improvements to be 
included in the FRV calculation. 
 (15)  "Banked beds" means beds that have been taken off-line 
by the provider, through the process defined by Utah Department of 
Health, Bureau of Facility Licensing, to reduce the operational 
capacity of the facility, but does not reduce the licensed bed 
capacity.  This is used in the FRV calculation. 
 
R414-504-3.  Principles of Facility Case Mix Rates and Other 
Payments. 
 The following principles apply to the payment of freestanding 
and provider based nursing facilities for services rendered to nursing 
care level I, II, and III Medicaid patients, as defined in R414-502.  
This rule does not affect the system for reimbursement for intensive 
skilled Medicaid patient[s] add-on amounts. 
 (1)  Approximately 59% of total payments in aggregate to 
nursing facilities for nursing care level I, II and III Medicaid patients 
are based on a prospective facility case mix rate.  In addition, these 
facilities shall be paid a flat basic operating expense payment equal 
to approximately 29% of the total payments.  The balance of the 
total payments will be paid in aggregate to facilities as required by 
R414-504-3 based on other authorized factors, including property 
and behaviorally complex residents, in the proportion that the 
facility qualifies for the factor. 
[ (2)  Pending federal approval of the Medicaid rate adjustment, 
the request to allow the implementation of the Utah Nursing Care 
Facility Assessment Act, and consequent rules, the case mix rate in 
effect on July 2, 2004, as well as other components of the total rate 
will be the same as those in effect on June 30, 2004. 
] ([4]2)  Each quarter, t[T]he Department shall calculate[s] a new 
case mix index for each nursing facility[ quarterly].  The case mix 
index is based on [3]three months of MDS assessment data.  The 
newly calculated case mix index is applied to a new rate at the 
beginning of a quarter according to the following schedule: 
 (a)  January, February and March MDS assessments are used 
for July 1 rates. 
 (b)  April, May and June MDS assessments are used for 
October 1 rates. 
 (c)  July, August and September MDS assessments are used for 
January 1 rates. 
 (d)  October, November and December MDS assessments are 
used for April 1 rates. 

[ (e)  To ensure the inclusion of all MDS assessments, the initial 
MDS dataset used to calculate case mix under this section includes 
all months not previously used in a case mix calculation. 
 (3)  Upon federal approval of the nursing care facility rate 
adjustment and the assessment pursuant to R414-504-3(2), rate 
components will be adjusted retroactively to July 2, 2004, to reflect 
the additional funding made available.  The adjusted rate will be 
further adjusted retroactive to September 15, 2004 to include the 
application of a Fair Rental Value reimbursement system for 
property as addressed in R414-504-3(7). 
] (3)  MDS data is used in calculating each facility's case mix 
index.  This information is submitted by each facility and, as such, 
each facility is responsible for the accuracy of its data.  The 
Department may exclude inaccurate or incomplete MDS data from 
the calculation. 
 (4)  MDS assessments for recipients who are eligible for the 
"Intensive Skilled" add-on are excluded from the case mix 
calculation.  A facility with less than 20 percent of its total census 
days as Medicaid days, as reported on its FCP or FRV data report, is 
excluded from the state case mix average.  The state average case 
mix index is used to set the rate for that facility. 
 (5)  A facility may apply for a special add-on rate for 
behaviorally complex residents by filing a written request with the 
Division of Health Care Financing.  The Department may approve 
an add-on rate if an assessment of the acuity and needs of the patient 
demonstrates that the facility is not adequately reimbursed by the 
RUGS score for that patient.  The rate is added on for the specific 
resident's payment and is not subsumed as part of the facility case 
mix rate.  Utah's Bureau of Health Facility Licensure Certification 
and Resident Assessment[The Resident Assessment Section] will 
make the determination as to qualification for any additional 
payment.  The Division of Health Care Financing shall determine 
the amount of any add-on. 
 (6)  Property costs are paid separately from the RUGS rate. 
[ (7)  Each facility's reimbursement interim rate effective July 2, 
2004, includes a property payment of $11.19 per patient day. 
 (a)  A facility with property costs greater than $11.19 per 
patient day as reported on the most recent FCP may receive a 
property differential payment, as follows: 
 (i)  For facilities with the most recent FCP-reported occupancy 
greater than 75%, the property differential is the FCP-reported 
property cost divided by the sum of the number of Medicaid patient 
days and non-Medicaid patient days from which the $11.19 base is 
subtracted.  This can be algebraically stated as:  (FCP-reported 
property cost / (total number of Medicaid patient days + non-
Medicaid patient days)) - $11.19 = property differential. 
 (ii)  For facilities with an FCP-reported occupancy less than 
75%, the property differential is the FCP-reported property cost 
divided by the number of licensed beds times 365 times .75 from 
which the $11.19 base is subtracted.  This can be algebraically stated 
as:  (FCP-reported property cost / (total number of licensed beds x 
365 x .75)) - $11.19 = property differential. 
 (b)  Regardless of the result produced under subsection (b), the 
property differential payment shall not exceed $8.81 per patient day. 
] ([8]7) [Upon federal approval, p]Property costs [will]shall be 
calculated once per year, each July 1, and reimbursed as a 
component of the facility rate based on an FRV System[, effective 
September 15, 2004]. 
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 (a)  Under this FRV system, the Department reimburses a 
facility based on the estimated current value of its capital assets in 
lieu of direct reimbursement for depreciation, amortization, interest, 
and rent or lease expenses.  The FRV system establishes a nursing 
facility's bed value based on the age of the facility and total square 
footage. 
 (i)  The initial age of each nursing facility used in the FRV 
calculation is determined as of September 15, 2004, using each 
facility's initial year of construction. 
 (ii)  The age of each facility is adjusted each July 1 to make the 
facility one year older. 
 (iii)  The age is reduced for replacements, major renovations, or 
additions placed into service since the facility was built, as reported 
on the FRV Data Report, provided there is sufficient documentation 
to support the historical changes. 
 (A)  If a facility adds new beds, these new beds are averaged 
into the age of the original beds to arrive at the facility's age. 
 (B)  If a facility completed a major renovation (defined as a 
project with capitalized cost equal to or greater than $500 per bed) 
or replacement project, the cost of the project is represented by an 
equivalent number of new beds. 
 (I)  The renovation or replacement project must have been 
completed during a 24-month period and reported on [the FCP (due 
March 31st) ]an FRV Data Report for the reporting period used for 
the [calendar year prior to a ]July 1 rate year and be related to the 
reasonable functioning of the nursing facility.  Renovations 
unrelated to either the direct or indirect functioning of the nursing 
facility shall not be used to adjust the facility's age. 
 (II)  The equivalent number of new beds is determined by 
dividing the cost of the project by the accumulated depreciation per 
bed of the facility's existing beds immediately before the project. 
 (III)  The equivalent number of new beds is then subtracted 
from the total actual beds.  The result is multiplied by the difference 
in the year of the completion of the project and the age of the 
facility, which age is based on the initial construction year or the last 
reconstruction or renovation project.  The product is then divided by 
the actual number of beds to arrive at the number of years to reduce 
the age of the facility. 
 (b)  A nursing facility's fair rental value per diem is calculated 
as follows: 
 As used in this subsection (b), "capital index" is the percent 
change in the nursing home "Per bed or person, total cost" row and 
"3/4" column as found in the two most recent annual R.S. Means 
Building Construction Cost Data as adjusted by the weighted 
average total city cost index for Salt Lake City, Utah. 
 (i)  The buildings and fixtures value per licensed bed is 
$50,000, which is based upon a standard facility size of at least 450 
square feet determined using the R.S. Means Building Construction 
Cost Data adjusted by the weighted average total city cost index for 
Salt Lake City, Utah.  To this $50,000 is added 10% ($5,000) for 
land and 10% ($5,000) for movable equipment.  Each nursing 
facility's total licensed beds are multiplied by this amount to arrive 
at the "total bed value."  The total bed value is trended forward by 
multiplying it by the capital index and adding it to the total bed 
value to arrive at the "newly calculated total bed value."  The newly 
calculated total bed value is depreciated, except for the portion 
related to land, at 1.50 percent per year according to the weighted 
age of the facility.  The maximum age of a nursing facility shall be 
35 years.  Therefore, nursing facilities shall not be depreciated to an 
amount less than 47.50 percent or 100 percent minus (1.50 percent 
times 35) of the newly calculated bed value.  There shall be no 

recapture of depreciation. 
 (ii)  A nursing facility's annual FRV is calculated by 
multiplying the facility's newly calculated bed value times a rental 
factor.  The rental factor is the sum of the 20-year Treasury Bond 
Rate as published in the Federal Reserve Bulletin using the average 
for the calendar year preceding the rate year and a risk value of 
[3]three percent.  Regardless of the result produced in this 
subsection (ii), the rental factor shall not be less than [9]nine percent 
or more than 12 percent. 
 (iii)  [t]The facility's annual FRV is divided by the greater of: 
 (A)  the facility's annualized actual resident days during the 
cost reporting period; and 
 (B)  [75]Seventy-five percent of the annualized operational bed 
capacity of the facility; however, the Department recognizes banked 
beds only as reported in the most recent FRV Data Report.  For 
example, banked beds as reported on the FRV Data Report for the 
period ending February 28th/29th would be incorporated in the 
following July 1 FRV calculation. 
 (iv)  The FRV per diem determined under this fair rental value 
system shall be no lower than $8 per patient day. 
[ (v)  The FRVper diem determined under this fair rental value 
system shall be phased-in using a hold-harmless method over a one-
year period,as follows: 
 (A)  Nursing facility property rates are calculated under the fair 
rental value system and compared to rates in effect on July 2, 2004. 
 (B)  If the fair rental value system property rate is less than the 
nursing facility's July 2, 2004 rate, the nursing facility's rate is 
adjusted to additionally pay the nursing facility the difference 
between the September 15, 2004 rate and the July 2, 2004 rate, but 
not to exceed $5 per patient day; and 
 (C)  the hold harmless method expires on June 30, 2005.] 
 (c)  A pass-through component of the rate is applied and is 
calculated as follows: 
[ (i)  As used in this subsection (c), "property tax and property 
insurance index" is the percent change in the combined property tax 
and property insurance costs reported by the facility on its two most 
recent FCPs. 
 (ii)  For a newly constructed facility that has not made two FCP 
reports, the property tax and property insurance index is the average 
percent change in the combined property tax and property insurance 
costs reported by all facilities on their two most recent FCPs. 
 (iii)  The property tax and property insurance pass-through is 
trended forward by multiplying it by the property tax and property 
insurance index and adding it to the combined property tax and 
property insurance costs as reported on the most recent FCP to arrive 
at the pass-through amount. 
] ([iv]i)  The nursing facility's per diem property tax and property 
insurance cost is determined by dividing the sum of the facility's 
[pass-through amount ]allowable property tax and property 
insurance costs, as reported in the most recent FCP or FRV Data 
Report, as applicable, by the facility's actual total patient days. 
 (ii)  For a newly constructed facility that has not submitted an 
FCP or FRV Data Report that would be used in the rate period, the 
per diem property tax and property insurance is the state average 
daily property tax and property insurance cost of all facilities. 
 (8)  Newly constructed facilities' case mix component of the 
rate shall be paid using the average case mix index.  This average 
case mix index remains in place until sufficient MDS data exist for 
the facility to calculate the case mix as described in R414-504-3(2).  
At the following quarter's rate setting, the Department shall issue a 
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new case mix adjusted rate.  The property payment to the facility is 
controlled by R414-504-3(7). 
[ (9)  Newly constructed facilities' case mix component of the 
rate shall be paid at the average rate.  This average rate shall remain 
in place for a new facility for six months, whereupon the provider's 
case mix index and property payment is established.  At this point, 
the Department shall issue a new case mix adjusted rate.  The 
property payment to the facility is controlled by R414-504-3(6).  
Prior to implementation of a fair rental value system, a newly 
constructed facility's property payment may not exceed $20.00 per 
patient day. 
] (9)  An existing facility acquired by a new owner will continue 
at the same case mix index and property cost payment established 
for the facility under the previous ownership for the remainder of the 
quarter. 
 (a)  The subsequent quarter's case mix index is established 
using the prior ownership facility MDS data until sufficient MDS 
data exist for the facility to calculate the case mix as described in 
R414-504-3(2). 
 (b)  The property component is calculated for the facility at the 
beginning of the next state fiscal year, as noted in R414-504-3(7). 
[ (10)  An existing facility acquired by a new owner will 
continue at the same case mix index and property cost payment 
established for the facility under the previous ownership for the 
remainder of the quarter.  Prior to implementation of a fair rental 
value system, the new owners property payment may not exceed 
$20.00 per patient day. 
] (1[1]0)  A sole community provider that is financially 
distressed may apply for a payment adjustment above the case mix 
index established rate.  The maximum increase will be [the lesser of 
the facility's reasonable costs (as defined in CMS publication 15-1, 
Section 2102.2), or ]7.5% above the average of the most recent [FCP 
]Medicaid daily rate for all Medicaid residents in all freestanding 
nursing facilities in the state.  The maximum duration of this 
adjustment is for no more than a total of 12 months per facility in 
any five-year period. 
 (a)  The application shall propose what the adjustment should 
be and include a financial review prepared by the facility 
documenting: 
 (i)  the facility's income and expenses for the past 12 months; 
and 
 (ii)  specific steps taken by the facility to reduce costs and 
increase occupancy. 
 (b)  Financial support from the local municipality and county 
governing bodies for the continued operation of the facility in the 
community is a necessary prerequisite to an acceptable application.  
The Department, the facility and the local governing bodies may 
negotiate the amount of the financial commitment from the 
governing bodies, but in no case may the local commitment be less 
than 50% of the state share required to fund the proposed 
adjustment.  Any continuation of the adjustment beyond 6 months 
requires a local commitment of 100% of the state share for the rate 
increase above the base rate.  The applicant shall submit letters of 
commitment from the applicable municipality or county, or both, 
committing to make an intergovernmental transfer for the amount of 
the local commitment. 
 (i)  If the governmental agency receives donations in order to 
provide the financial contribution, it must document that the 
donations are "bona fide" as set forth in 42 CFR 433.54. 

 (c)  The Department may conduct its own independent financial 
review of the facility prior to making a decision whether to approve 
a different payment rate. 
 (d)  If the Department determines that the facility is in 
imminent peril of closing, it may make an interim rate adjustment 
for up to 90 days. 
 (e)  The Department's determination shall be based on 
maintaining access to services [on ]and maintaining economy and 
efficiency in the Medicaid program. 
 (f)  If the facility desires an adjustment for more than 90 days, 
it must demonstrate that: 
 (i)  the facility has taken all reasonable steps to reduce costs, 
increase revenue and increase occupancy; 
 (ii)  despite those reasonable steps the facility is currently 
losing money and forecast to continue losing money; and 
 (iii)  the amount of the approved adjustment will allow the 
facility to meet expenses and continue to support the needs of the 
community it serves, without unduly enriching any party. 
 (g)  If the Department approves an interim or other adjustment, 
it shall notify the facility when the adjustment is scheduled to take 
effect and how much contribution is required from the local 
governing bodies.  Payment of the adjustment is contingent on the 
facility obtaining a fully executed binding agreement with local 
governing bodies to pay the contribution to the Department. 
 (h)  The Department may withhold or deny payment of the 
interim or other adjustment if the facility fails to obtain the required 
agreement prior to the scheduled effective date of the adjustment. 
 (1[2]1)  A provider may challenge the rate set pursuant to this 
rule using the appeal in R410-14.  A provider must exhaust 
administrative remedies before challenging rates in any other forum. 
 (1[3]2)  In developing payment rates, the Department may 
adjust urban and non-urban rates to reflect differences in urban and 
non-urban labor costs.  The urban labor costs reimbursement cannot 
exceed 106% of the non-urban labor costs.  Labor costs are as 
reported on the most recent FCP but do not include FCP-reported 
management, consulting, director, and home office fees. 
 (13)  The Department reimburses swing beds, transitional care 
unit beds, and small health care facility beds that are used as nursing 
facility beds, using the prior calendar year state-wide average of the 
daily nursing facility rate. 
 (14)  Withholding of Title XIX payments 
 (a)  The Department may withhold Title XIX payments from 
providers if: 
 (i)  there is a shortage in a resident trust account managed by 
the facility; 
 (ii)  the facility fails to submit a complete FCP as required by 
Utah State Plan Attachment 4.19-D, Section 332; 
 (iii)  the facility fails to submit timely, accurate Minimum Data 
Set (MDS) data; 
 (iv)  the facility owes money to the Division of Health Care 
Financing because of an overpayment, nursing care facility 
assessment, civil money penalty, or other offset. 
 (b)  For ongoing operations, the Department will provide a 30-
day notice before withholding payments.  The Department may 
immediately withhold Title XIX payments without giving 30-days 
notice if it believes the delay may jeopardize the recovery.  The 
Department and provider may negotiate a repayment schedule 
acceptable to the Department for monies owed to the Department 
listed in subsection(a)(iv).  The repayment schedule may not exceed 
180 days. 
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R414-504-4.  Quality Improvement Incentive. 
 (1)  Upon federal approval of the Nursing Care Facilities State 
Plan Amendment, funds in the amount of $500,000 shall be set aside 
annually to reimburse non-ICF/MR facilities that have a quality 
improvement plan and have no violations that are at an "immediate 
jeopardy" level, as determined by the Department, at the most recent 
re-certification survey and during the incentive period.  The 
Department shall distribute incentive payments to qualifying 
facilities based on the proportionate share of the total Medicaid 
patient days in qualifying facilities.  If a facility appeals the 
determination of a survey violation, the incentive payment will be 
withheld pending the final administrative appeal.  On appeal, if 
violations are found not to have occurred at a severity level of 
"immediate jeopardy" or higher, the incentive payment will be paid 
to the facility.  If the survey findings are upheld, the remaining 
incentive payments will be distributed to all qualifying facilities. 
 (2)  A facility that receives a substandard quality of care level 
F, H, I, J, K, or L during the July 1 through June 30 incentive period 
is eligible for only 50% of the possible payout. 
 
R414-504-5.  Reimbursement for Intermediate Care Facilities 
for the Mentally Retarded. 
 The following principles apply to the payment of community-
based intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded 
(ICF/MRs) that are licensed under Utah Code 26-21-13.5: 
 (1)  [Approximately 93% of total payments paid in aggregate to 
ICF/MRs are based on a prospective flat rate.  The balance of the 
total payments is attributable to a property cost component of the 
rate as]The Department pays approximately 93% of the aggregate 
payments to ICF/MR s based on a prospective flat rate established in 
Utah State Plan Attachment 4.19-D.  The Department pays the 
balance as a property cost component calculated by the Fair Rental 
Value system pursuant to R414-504-3[(8)]. 
[ (2)  Pending federal approval of the Medicaid rate adjustment 
for ICF/MRs, the rates in effect on July 1, 2005, will be the same as 
those in effect on June 30, 2005, inflated by 1%. 
 (3)  Upon federal approval of the ICF/MR rate adjustment, rate 
components will be adjusted retroactively to July 1, 2005, to reflect 
additional funding made available. 
] 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
16, 2005]2006 
Authorizing and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
18-3 
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R432-6 
Assisted Living Facility General 

Construction 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28679 
FILED:  04/27/2006, 07:38 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
rulemaking removes the requirement for assisted living 
facilities to build a two-room laundry facility.  The proposed 
rule would only require one room for laundry processing, 
combining the soiled and clean processes into the same 
room. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed rule 
amendments will change the requirements for assisted living 
facility construction of laundry facilities.  It will take out the 
requirement for these facilities to have two separate rooms for 
laundry processing.  The rule will still require that all other 
laundry processing requirements remain the same, and will 
add a dimension to the pre-wash sink to ensure that it is large 
enough to meet the needs of the facilities.  The rule currently 
requires a soiled and clean laundry room to process laundry. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to the state 
budget.  This rule amendment will only affect providers of new 
assisted living facilities. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost to the 
local governments.  This rule amendment will only affect 
providers of new assisted living facilities.  No local 
governments operate assisted living facilities. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  There will be an anticipated cost savings 
to assisted living providers that are building new facilities.  The 
average size of a soiled linen room is approximately 12’ X 12’. 
 The average construction cost per square foot is $100, which 
adds up to a savings of approximately $14,400 per new 
project.  There are about five new assisted living projects that 
submit plans to the Department of Health every year.  The 
overall savings to new providers is estimated at $72,000 per 
year. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
cost to any persons from this rule amendment.  The rule will 
decrease the construction requirements of assisted living 
facilities, resulting in a cost savings to new providers. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will decrease 
construction costs without compromising resident safety.  A. 
Richard Melton, Acting Executive Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R432.  Health, Health Systems Improvement, Licensing. 
R432-6.  Assisted Living Facility General Construction. 
R432-6-22.  Mechanical, Heating, Cooling and Ventilation Systems. 
 (1)  The HVAC system design shall prevent large temperature 
differentials, high velocity supply, excessive noise, and air stagnation. 
 (2)  Air supply and exhaust in rooms for which no minimum total 
air change rate is mandated by Table 2 may vary to zero in response to 
room load. 
 (3)  Mechanical ventilation shall be provided for interior spaces 
independent of thermostat-controlled demands. 
 (a)  Minimum total air change, room temperature, and temperature 
control shall comply with standards in Table 2. 
 (b)  To maintain asepsis and odor control, airflow supply and 
exhaust shall be controlled to ensure movement of air from clean to less 
clean areas. 
 (c)  Rooms containing heat-producing equipment shall be 
insulated and ventilated to prevent the floor surface above or the walls 
of adjacent occupied areas from exceeding a temperature of ten degrees 
Fahrenheit above ambient room temperature. 
 (d)  All rooms and occupiable areas in the facility shall have 
provisions for ventilation.  Natural window ventilation may be used for 
ventilation of nonsensitive areas and resident rooms when weather 
conditions permit, but mechanical ventilation shall be provided during 
periods of temperature extremes. 
 (e)  The heating system shall be capable of maintaining 
temperatures of 80 degrees F. in areas occupied by residents. 
 (f)  The cooling system shall be capable of maintaining 
temperatures of 72 degrees F. in areas occupied by residents. 
 (g)  Equipment must be available to provide essential heating 
during a loss of normal heating capability.  All emergency heating 
devices shall be approved by the local fire jurisdiction. 
 (h)  Fans serving exhaust systems shall be located at the discharge 
end and shall be readily serviceable.  Exhaust fans may be on the inlet 
side if individually ducted directly to the outside. 
 (i)  Fresh air intakes shall be located at least 10 feet from exhaust 
outlets of ventilating systems, combustion equipment stacks, plumbing 
vents, or areas subject to vehicular exhaust or other noxious fumes. 

 (j)  All ventilation, air conditioning systems and air delivery 
equipment, including through wall units, shall be equipped with filters 
in accordance with Table 2. 
 (k)  Gravity exhaust may be used where conditions permit for 
boiler rooms, central storage, and other nonresident areas. 
 (l)  The ventilation system shall be air tested and balanced prior to 
the final Department construction inspection.  The initial test results 
and air balancing report shall be maintained for Department review. 
 

TABLE 2 
Ventilation Requirements 

 
AREA          AIR         MINIMUM    MINIMUM      ALL AIR 
DESIGNATION   MOVEMENT    AIR        TOTAL AIR    EXHAUSTED 
              IN          CHANGES    CHANGES      OUTSIDE 
              RELATION    OF         PER HOUR 
              TO          OUTDOOR 
              ADJACENT    AIR PER 
              AREAS       HOUR TO 
                          ROOM 
 
Bath and      N           Optional    10           YES 
Shower 
Rooms 
 
Clean         P           Optional     2           Optional 
Linen 
Storage 
 
Dietary       V           Optional      2          Optional 
Day 
Storage 
 
Food          E           2            10          YES 
Preparation 
Center 
 
Janitors'     N           Optional     10          YES 
Closets 
 
Laundry       V           2            10          YES 
 
Corridor      E           Optional      2          Optional 
 
Grooming      N           2             2          YES 
Area 
 
Resident      E           Greater       2          Optional 
Room                                               of one air 
                                                   change or 
                                                   minimum 20 CFM/ 
                                                   person 
 
Soiled        N           Optional     10          YES 
Linen 
[Sorting 
and 
Storage]holding 
 
Toilet        N           Optional      10         YES 
Rooms 
Ware          N           Optional      10         YES 
Washing 
 
Common        E           2              2         Optional 
 
Areas 
 
E = Equal; N = Negative; P = Positive; V = Variable 

 
 (m)  The requirements of Table 2 do not apply to limited capacity 
facilities.  Limited capacity facilities shall provide exhaust for kitchens 
and bathrooms. 
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 (n)  If an existing building bathroom or toilet room is not 
exhausted to the outside, the licensee may submit a Request for Agency 
Action Variance to the Table 2 requirements at the time of initial 
licensing. 
 (4)  All areas for resident care, and those areas providing direct 
service or clean supplies shall provide at least one filter bed with a 
minimum of 30% efficiency. 
 (5)  All administrative, bulk storage, soiled holding, food 
preparation and laundries shall provide at least one filter bed with a 
minimum of 25% efficiency. 
 
R432-6-210.  Linen Services. 
 (1)  Each facility shall have space and equipment to store and 
process clean and soiled linen as required for resident care.  Laundry 
may be done within the facility, in a building on or off-site, or in a 
commercial or shared laundry. 
 (2)  If laundry is done off the site, the following shall be provided: 
 (a)  a room for receiving and holding soiled linen until ready for 
pickup or processing; 
 (b)  a central, clean linen storage room(s); and 
 (c)  a lavatory in each area where unbagged, soiled linen is 
handled. 
 (3)  If a large or small facility processes its own laundry on-site, 
the following shall be provided: 
 (a)  a laundry room for receiving, holding, washing, drying, and 
sorting soiled linens, with the following: 
 (i)  a pre-wash [clinical ]sink at least 13 inches deep by 20 inches 
wide;[facilities] 
 (ii)  [and]a separate hand washing [facilities ]sink; 
 [(b)](iii)  [a laundry processing room with ]washer(s) and dryer(s); 
and 
 [(c)  rooms (a) and (b) above must be separated by a door with a 
self closing device installed; 
 (d)](iv)  storage for laundry supplies; 
 [(e)](b)  arrangement of equipment that will permit an orderly 
workflow and minimize cross-traffic that might mix clean and soiled 
operations; and 
 [(f)](c)  a central, clean linen storage room(s);[ 
 (g)  Facilities may provide holding rooms on each level for 
bagged, soiled linen.] 
 (4)  If a limited capacity facility processes its own laundry on-site, 
the following shall be provided: 
 (a)  a room to store and process both clean and soiled linen; 
 (b)  a washer and dryer; and 
 (c)  a utility sink in the laundry room. 
 (5)  Each facility shall provide a minimum of one washing 
machine, one clothes dryer, and ironing equipment in good working 
order for resident use. 
 
KEY:  health facilities 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [December 
19, 2002]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  January 8, 2004 
Authorizing and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-
21-16 
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R477-1 
Definitions 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28692 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 12:14 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
adds definitions and modifies others in order to be consistent 
with changes made to the Personnel Management Act in the 
2006 General Session with the passage of H.B. 269 and 
modifies definitions to coincide with changes in the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) 
policies for corrective action, reassignment, transfer, and 
underfill.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 269 (2006) is found at Chapter 
139, Laws of Utah 2006, and will be effective 07/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  There are two new 
definitions.  The first in Subsection R477-1-1(3) reflects a new 
term added to Section 67-19-3 by H.B. 269 passed in the 
2006 General Session.  The use of this term is reflected in 
multiple changes in the DHRM rules and to two other 
definitions in Subsections R477-1-1(6) and R477-1-1(7).  The 
second new definition is in Subsection R477-1-1(119) and is 
added to reflect a new definition in Section 67-19-3 which only 
effects Section R477-12-3.  Two definitions are deleted: 
"Active Duty" which is a term that will no longer be used in the 
policy on military leave in Section R477-7-10; and "Constant 
Review" which is a management action that will no longer be 
part of the state policy for corrective action in Section R477-
10-2.  Modified definitions include:  in Subsection R477-1-
1(28) constant review is removed as a part of corrective 
action; Subsection R477-1-1(31) reflects a definition added to 
Section 67-19-3 by H.B. 269; Subsections R477-1-1(36) and 
R477-1-1(107) removes references to outdated recruitment 
practices; Subsection R477-1-1(89) is amended to reflect 
current practice in setting salary and retirement benefits; 
Subsections R477-1-1(102) and R477-1-1(121) reflect policy 
changes for these two Human Resource actions made 
possible by amendments to Title 67, Chapter 19 in H.B. 269; 
in Subsection R477-1-1(116) is a clarification of DHRM policy 
for employees with health conditions covered by the federal 
Americans with Disabilities Act and the Family and Medical 
Leave Act; and in Subsection R477-1-1(122) is an 
amendment that further restricts how management may use 
underfill status to fill vacant positions. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 67-19-6 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
  THE STATE BUDGET:  Changes to the state policy on 

corrective action are designed to speed up this process.  This 
has the possibility of relieving agencies of administrative  time 
and cost when dealing with employees with performance 
issues. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by DHRM 
have no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Conroy Whipple or Linda Cooper at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3067 or 801-538-3208, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
cwhipple@utah.gov or LKCOOPER@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-1.  Definitions. 
R477-1-1.  Definitions. 
 The following definitions apply throughout these rules unless 
otherwise indicated within the text of each rule. 
 (1)  Abandonment of Position:  An act of resignation resulting 
from an employee's unexcused absence from work or failure to come to 
work for three consecutive days when the employee is capable, but 
does not properly notify his supervisor.[ 
 (2)  Active Duty:  Full-time active military or reserve duty; a term 
used for veteran's preference adjustments.  It does not include active or 
inactive duty for training or initial active duty for training.] 
 ([3]2)  Actual Hours Worked:  Time spent performing duties and 
responsibilities associated with the employee's job assignments. 
 (3)  Actual Wage:  The employee's assigned salary rate in the 
central personnel record maintained by the Department of Human 
Resource Management. 
 (4)  Administrative Leave:  Leave with pay granted to an 
employee at management discretion that is not charged against the 
employee's leave accounts. 
 (5)  Administrative Adjustment:  A DHRM approved change of a 
position from one job to another job or salary range change for 
administrative purposes that is not based on a change of duties and 
responsibilities. 
 (6)  Administrative Salary Decrease:  A [salary ]decrease in the 
current actual wage of one or more [pay]salary steps based on non-
disciplinary administrative reasons determined by an agency head or 
commissioner. 
 (7)  Administrative Salary Increase:  [A salary]An increase in the 
current actual wage of one or more [pay]salary steps based on special 
circumstances determined by an agency head or commissioner. 
 (8)  Agency:  An entity of state government that is: 
 (a)  directed by an executive director, elected official or 
commissioner defined in Chapter 67-22 or in other sections of the code 
; 
 (b)  authorized to employ personnel; and 
 (c)  subject to DHRM rules. 
 (9)  Agency Head:  The executive director or commissioner of 
each agency or their designated appointee. 
 (10)  Agency Management:  The agency head and all other 
officers or employees who have responsibility and authority to 
establish, implement, and manage agency policies and programs. 
 (11)  Appeal:  A formal request to a higher level review for 
consideration of an unacceptable grievance decision. 
 (12)  Appointing Authority:  The officer, board, commission, 
person or group of persons authorized to make appointments in their 
agencies. 
 (13)  Bumping:  A procedure that may be applied prior to a 
reduction in force action (RIF).  It allows employees with higher 
retention points to bump other employees with lower retention points as 
identified in the work force adjustment plan, as long as employees meet 
the eligibility criteria outlined in interchangeability of skills. 
 (14)  Career Mobility:  A time limited assignment of an employee 
to a position of equal or higher salary range for purposes of 
professional growth or fulfillment of specific organizational needs. 
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 (15)  Career Service Employee:  An employee who has 
successfully completed a probationary period in a career service 
position. 
 (16)  Career Service Exempt Employee:  An employee appointed 
to work for an unspecified period of time or who serves at the pleasure 
of the appointing authority and may be separated from state 
employment at any time without just cause. 
 (17)  Career Service Exempt Position:  A position in state service 
exempted by law from provisions of competitive career service as 
prescribed in 67-19-15 and in R477-2-1(1). 
 (18)  Career Service Status:  Status granted to employees who 
successfully complete a probationary period for competitive career 
service positions. 
 (19)  Category of Work:  A job series within an agency that is 
designated by the agency head as having positions to be eliminated 
agency wide through a reduction in force. Category of work may be 
further reduced after review by DHRM as follows: 
 (a) a unit smaller than the agency upon providing justification and 
rationale for approval, for example: 
 (i)  low org; 
 (ii)  cost centers; 
 (iii)  geographic locations; 
 (iv)  agency programs. 
 (b)  positions identified by a set of essential functions, for 
example: 
 (i)  position analysis data; 
 (ii)  certificates; 
 (iii)  licenses; 
 (iv)  special qualifications; 
 (v)  degrees that are required or directly related to the position. 
 (20)  Certifying:  The act of verifying the qualifications and 
availability of individuals on the hiring list. The number of individuals 
certified shall be based on standards and procedures established by the 
Department of Human Resource Management. 
 (21)  Change of Workload:  A change in position responsibilities 
and duties or a need to eliminate or create particular positions in an 
agency caused by legislative action, financial circumstances, or 
administrative reorganization. 
 (22)  Classification Grievance:  The approved procedure by which 
an agency or a career service employee may grieve a formal 
classification decision regarding the classification of a position. 
 (23)  Classified Service:  Positions that are subject to the 
classification and compensation provisions stipulated in Section 67-19-
12 of the Utah Code Annotated. 
 (24)  Classification Study: A Classification review conducted by 
DHRM or an approved contract agency, under the rules outlined in 
R477-3-4.  A study may include single or multiple job or position 
reviews. 
 (25)  Compensatory Time:  Time off that is provided to an 
employee in lieu of monetary overtime compensation.[ 
 (26)  Constant Review:  A period of formal review of an 
employee, not to exceed six months, resulting from substandard 
performance or behavior, as defined by Utah law and contained in these 
rules.  Removal from constant review requires a formal evaluation.] 
 ([27]26)  Contract Agency: An agency with authority to perform 
specific HR functions as outlined in a formal delegation agreement 
with DHRM under authority of section 67-19-7. 
 ([28]27)  Contractor:  An individual who is contracted for service, 
is not supervised by a state supervisor, but is responsible for providing 
a specified service for a designated fee within a specified time.  The 

contractor shall be responsible for paying all taxes and FICA payments, 
and shall not accrue benefits. 
 ([29]28)  Corrective Action:  A [written]documented 
administrative action to address substandard performance [or behavior 
]of an employee as described in R477-10-2.[  Corrective action 
includes a period of constant review.] 
 ([30]29)  Critical Incident Drug or Alcohol Test:  A drug or 
alcohol test conducted on an employee as a result of the behavior, 
action, or inaction of an employee that is of such seriousness it requires 
an immediate intervention on the part of management. 
 ([31]30)  Demeaning Behavior:  Any behavior which lowers the 
status, dignity or standing of any other individual. 
 ([32]31)  Demotion:  [An action resulting in a salary reduction on 
the current salary range or the movement of an incumbent from one job 
or position to another job or position having a lower salary range, 
which may include a reduction in salary.  Administrative adjustments 
and reclassifications are not included in the definition of a demotion.]A 
disciplinary action resulting in a reduction of an employee's current 
actual wage. 
 ([33]32)  Department:  The Department of Human Resource 
Management. 
 ([34]33)  Derisive Behavior:  Any behavior which insults, taunts, 
or otherwise belittles or shows contempt for another individual. 
 ([35]34)  Designated Hiring Rule:  A rule promulgated by DHRM 
that defines which individuals on a certification are eligible for 
appointment to a career service position. 
 ([36]35)  DHRM:  The Department of Human Resource 
Management. 
 ([37]36)  DHRM Approved Recruitment and Selection System:  
The state's recruitment and selection system, which [includes:]is a 
centralized and automated computer system administered by the 
Department of Human Resource Management.[ 
 (a)  continuous recruitment of all positions; 
 (b)  a centralized and automated computer database of resumes 
and related information administered by the Department of Human 
Resource Management; 
 (c)  decentralized access to the database based on delegation 
agreements.] 
 ([38]37)  Disability:  Disability shall have the same definition 
found in the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, 42 USC 
12101 (1994); Equal Employment Opportunity Commission regulation, 
29 CFR 1630 (1993); including exclusions and modifications. 
 ([39]38)  Disciplinary Action:  Action taken by management 
under the rules outlined in R477-11. 
 ([40]39)  Discrimination:  Unlawful action against an employee or 
applicant based on race, religion, national origin, color, sex, age, 
disability, protected activity under the anti-discrimination statutes, 
political affiliation, military status or affiliation, or any other non-merit 
factor, as specified by law. 
 ([41]40)  Dismissal:  A separation from state employment for 
cause. 
 ([42]41)  Drug-Free Workplace Act:  A 1988 congressional act, 
34 CFR 85 (1993), requiring a drug-free workplace certification by 
state agencies that receive federal grants or contracts. 
 ([43]42)  Employee Personnel Files: For purposes of Titles 67-18 
and 67-19, the files maintained by DHRM and agencies as required by 
R477-2-6.  This does not include employee information maintained by 
supervisors. 
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 ([44]43)  Employment Eligibility Certification:  A requirement of 
the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, 8 USC 1324 (1988) 
that employers verify the identity and eligibility of individuals for 
employment in the United States. 
 ([45]44)  "Escalator" Principle:  Under the Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), returning 
veterans are entitled to return back onto their seniority escalator at the 
point they would have occupied had they not left state employment. 
 ([46]45)  Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO):  
Nondiscrimination in all facets of employment by eliminating patterns 
and practices of illegal discrimination. 
 ([47]46)  Excess Hours:  A category of compensable hours 
separate and apart from compensatory or overtime hours that accrue at 
straight time only when an employee's actual hours worked, plus 
additional hours paid, exceed an employee's normal work period. 
 ([48]47)  Fair Employment Opportunity and Practice:  Assures 
fair treatment of applicants and employees in all aspects of human 
resource administration without regard to age, disability, national 
origin, political or religious affiliation, race, sex, or any non-merit 
factor. 
 ([49]48)  Fitness For Duty Evaluation:  Evaluation, assessment or 
study by a licensed professional to determine if an individual is able to 
meet the performance or conduct standards required by the position 
held, or is a direct threat to the safety of self or others. 
 ([50]49)  FLSA:  Fair Labor Standards Act.  The federal statute 
that governs overtime.  See 29 USC 201 (1996). 
 ([51]50)  FLSA Exempt:  Employees who are exempt from the 
Fair Labor Standards Act. 
 ([52]51)  FLSA Nonexempt:  Employees who are not exempt 
from the Fair Labor Standards Act. 
 ([53]52)  Follow Up Drug or Alcohol Test:  Unannounced drug or 
alcohol tests conducted for up to five years on an employee who has 
previously tested positive or who has successfully completed a 
voluntary or required substance abuse treatment program. 
 ([54]53)  Full Time Equivalent (FTE):  The budgetary equivalent 
of one full time position filled for one year. 
 ([55]54)  Furlough:  A temporary leave of absence from duty 
without pay for budgetary reasons or lack of work. 
 ([56]55)  Grievance:  A career service employee's claim or charge 
of the existence of injustice or oppression, including dismissal from 
employment resulting from an act, occurrence, omission, condition, 
discriminatory practice or unfair employment practice not including 
position classification or schedule assignment. 
 ([57]56)  Grievance Procedures:  The statutory process of 
grievances and appeals as set forth in Sections 67-19a-101 through 67-
19a-408 and the rules promulgated by the Career Service Review 
Board. 
 ([58]57)  Gross Compensation:  Employee's total earnings, taxable 
and nontaxable, as shown on the employee's paycheck stub. 
 ([59]58)  Hiring List:  A list of qualified and interested applicants 
who are eligible to be considered for appointment or conditional 
appointment to a specific position. 
 ([60]59)  Hostile Work Environment:  A work environment or 
work related situation where an individual suffers physical or emotional 
stress due to the unwelcome behavior of another individual which is 
motivated by race, religion, national origin, color, sex, age, disability or 
protected activity under the anti-discrimination statutes. 
 ([61]60)  HRE:  Human Resource Enterprise; the state human 
resource management information system. 

 ([62]61)  Immediate Supervisor:  The employee or officer who 
exercises direct authority over an employee and who appraises the 
employee's performance. 
 ([63]62)  Incompetence:  Inadequacy or unsuitability in 
performance of assigned duties and responsibilities. 
 ([64]63)  Inefficiency:  Wastefulness of government resources 
including time, energy, money, or staff resources or failure to maintain 
the required level of performance. 
 ([65]64)  Interchangeability of Skills:  Employees are considered 
to have interchangeable skills only for those positions they have 
previously held successfully in Utah state government employment or 
for those positions which they have successfully supervised and for 
which they satisfy job requirements. 
 ([66]65)  Intern:  An individual in a college degree program 
assigned to work in an activity where on-the-job training is accepted. 
 ([67]66)  Job:  A group of positions similar in duties performed, in 
degree of supervision exercised or required, in requirements of training, 
experience, or skill and other characteristics.  The same salary range 
and test standards are applied to each position in the group. 
 ([68]67)  Job Description:  A document containing the duties, 
distinguishing characteristics, knowledge, skills, and other requirements 
for a job. 
 ([69]68)  Job Identification Number:  A unique number assigned 
to a job by DHRM. 
 ([70]69)  Job Proficiency Rating:  An average of the last three 
annual performance evaluation ratings used in reduction in force 
proceedings. 
 ([71]70)  Job Requirements:  Skill requirements defined a the job 
level. 
 ([72]71)  Job Series:  Two or more jobs in the same functional 
area having the same job class title, but distinguished and defined by 
increasingly difficult levels of duties and responsibilities and 
requirements. 
 ([73]72)  Legislative Salary Adjustment:  A legislatively approved 
salary increase for a specific category of employees based on criteria 
determined by the Legislature. 
 ([74]73) Malfeasance: Intentional wrongdoing, deliberate 
violation of law or standard, or mismanagement of responsibilities. 
 ([75]74)  Market Based Bonus:  One time lump sum monies given 
to a new hire or a current employee to encourage employment with the 
state. 
 ([76]75)  Market Comparability Adjustment:  Legislatively 
approved reallocation of a salary range for a job based on a 
compensation survey conducted by DHRM. 
 ([77]76)  Merit Increase:  A legislatively approved and funded 
salary increase for employees to recognize and reward successful 
performance. 
 ([78]77)  Misfeasance:  The improper or unlawful performance of 
an act that is lawful or proper. 
 ([79]78)  Nonfeasance:  Failure to perform either an official duty 
or legal requirement. 
 ([80]79)  Performance Evaluation:  A formal, periodic evaluation 
of an employee's work performance. 
 ([81]80)  Performance Evaluation Date:  The date when an 
employee's performance evaluation shall be conducted.  An evaluation 
shall be conducted at least once during the probationary period and no 
less than once annually thereafter consistent with the common review 
date. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 28692 

 
36 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 

 ([82]81) Performance Management:  The ongoing process of 
communication between the supervisor and the employee which 
defines work standards and expectations, and assesses performance 
leading to a formal annual performance evaluation. 
 ([83]82)  Performance Plan:  A written summary of the standards 
and expectations required for the successful performance of each job 
duty or task.  These standards normally include completion dates and 
qualitative and quantitative levels of performance expectations. 
 ([84]83)  Performance Standard:  Specific, measurable, observable 
and attainable objectives that represent the level of performance to 
which an employee and supervisor are committed during an evaluation 
period. 
 ([85]84)  Personnel Adjudicatory Proceedings:  The informal 
appeals procedure contained in Title 63, Chapter 46b, for all human 
resource policies and practices not covered by the state employees 
grievance procedure promulgated by the Career Service Review Board, 
or the classification appeals procedure. 
 ([86]85)  Position:  A unique set of duties and responsibilities 
identified by DHRM authorized job and position management 
numbers. 
 ([87]86)  Position Description:  A document that describes the 
detailed tasks performed, as well as the knowledge, skills, abilities, and 
other requirements of a specific position. 
 ([88]87)  Position Identification Number:  A unique number 
assigned to a position for FTE management. 
 ([89]88)  Position Management Report:  A document that lists an 
agency's authorized positions including job identification numbers, 
salaries, and schedules.  The list includes occupied or vacant positions 
and full or part-time positions. 
 ([90]89)  Position Sharing:  A situation where two employees 
share the duties and responsibilities of one full-time career service 
position.  [Salary, retirement service credits and leave]Leave benefits 
for position sharing employees are pro-rated according to the number 
of hours worked.  To be eligible for benefits, position sharing 
employees must work at least 50% of a full-time equivalent. 
 ([91]90)  Post Accident Drug or Alcohol Test:  A Drug or alcohol 
test conducted on an employee who is involved in a vehicle accident 
while on duty: 
 (a)  where a fatality occurs; 
 (b)  where the employee receives a citation under state or local law 
for a moving traffic violation arising from the accident and the accident 
involves bodily injury to any person who, as a result of the injury, 
immediately receives medical treatment away from the scene of the 
accident; 
 (c)  where the employee receives a citation under state or local law 
for a moving traffic violation arising from the accident and the accident 
involves one or more motor vehicles that incur disabling damage as a 
result of the accident that must be transported away from the scene by a 
tow truck or other vehicle; 
 (d)  where there is reasonable suspicion that the employee had 
been driving while under the influence of a controlled substance. 
 ([92]91)  Preemployment Drug Test:  A drug test conducted on 
final candidates for a safety sensitive position or on a current employee 
prior to assuming safety sensitive duties. 
 ([93]92)  Probationary Employee:  An employee hired into a 
career service position who has not completed the required 
probationary period for that position. 
 ([94]93)  Probationary Period:  A period of time considered part of 
the selection process, identified at the job level, the purpose of which is 
to allow management to evaluate an employee's ability to perform 

assigned duties and responsibilities and to determine if career service 
status should be granted. 
 ([95]94)  Productivity Step Adjustment:  A management 
authorized salary increase of one to four steps.  Management and 
employees agree to the adjustment for employees who accept an 
increased workload resulting from FTE reductions and agency base 
budget reduction. 
 ([96]95)  Promotion:  An action moving an employee from a 
position in one job to a position in another job having a higher 
maximum salary step. 
 ([97]96)  Protected Activity:  Opposition to discrimination or 
participation in proceedings covered by the antidiscrimination statutes 
or the Utah State Grievance and Appeal Procedure.  Harassment based 
on protected activity can constitute unlawful retaliation. 
 ([98]97)  Random Drug or Alcohol Test:  Unannounced drug or 
alcohol testing of a sample of safety sensitive employees done in 
accordance with federal regulations or state rules, policies, and 
procedures, and conducted in a manner such that each safety sensitive 
employee has an equal chance of being selected for testing. 
 ([99]98)  Reappointment:  Return to work of an individual from 
the reappointment register.  Accrued annual leave, converted sick leave, 
compensatory time and excess hours in the employee's former position 
were cashed out upon separation. 
 ([100]99)  Reappointment Register:  A register of individuals who 
have: 
 (a)  held career service positions and been separated in a reduction 
in force; 
 (b)  held career service positions and accepted career service 
exempt positions without a break in service and were not retained, 
unless discharged for cause; 
 (c)  by Career Service Review Board decision been placed on the 
reappointment register. 
 ([101]100)  Reasonable Suspicion:  Knowledge sufficient to 
induce an ordinary, reasonable and prudent person to arrive at a 
conclusion of thought or belief based on factual, non-subjective and 
substantiated observations or reported circumstances.  Factual 
situations verified through personal visual observation of behavior or 
actions, or substantiated by a reliable witness. 
 ([102]101)  Reasonable Suspicion Drug or Alcohol Test: A drug 
or alcohol test conducted on an employee based on reasonable 
suspicion that the employee may be under the influence of drugs or 
alcohol. 
 ([103]102) Reassignment:  A management initiated action moving 
an employee from his current job or position to a different job or 
position[ of an equal salary range] for administrative[, corrective action 
or other] reasons not included in the definition of promotion or 
demotion[, transfer or reclassification].[  Management may also move 
an employee to a job or position with a lower salary range with 
employee written consent, when permitted by applicable federal or 
state law, including, but not limited to the Americans with Disabilities 
Act.  A reassignment may be to one or more of the following: 
 (a)  a different job or position; 
 (b)  a different work location; 
 (c)  a different organizational unit; or 
 (d)  a different agency.] 
 ([104]103)  Reclassification:  A DHRM or an approved contract 
agency reallocation of a single position or multiple positions from one 
job to another job to reflect management initiated changes in duties and 
responsibilities as determined by a classification study. 
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 ([105]104)  Reduction in Force:  (RIF)  Abolishment of positions 
resulting in the termination of career service staff.  RIFs can occur due 
to inadequate funds, a change of workload, or a lack of work. 
 ([106]105)  Reemployment:  Return to work of an employee who 
resigned from state employment to join the uniformed services covered 
under USERRA.  Accrued annual leave, converted sick leave, 
compensatory time and excess hours may have been cashed out at 
separation. 
 ([107]106)  Rehire:  Return to work of a former career service 
employee who resigned from state employment.  Accrued annual leave, 
converted sick leave, compensatory time and excess hours in their 
former position were cashed out at separation. 
 (107)  Requisition:  An electronic document used for Utah Job 
Match recruitment, selection and tracking purposes that includes 
specific information for a particular position, job seekers' applications, 
and a hiring list. 
 (108)  Retaliation:  An adverse employment action taken against 
an employee who has engaged in a protected activity.  The adverse 
action must have a causal link.[ 
 (109)  Return to Duty Drug or Alcohol Test:  A drug or alcohol 
test conducted on an employee prior to allowing the employee to return 
to duty after successfully completing a drug or alcohol treatment 
program. 
 (110)  Requisition:  An electronic document used for Utah Skill 
Match search and tracking purposes that includes specific information 
for a particular position.] 
 ([111]109)  Return from LWOP:  A return to work from any leave 
without pay status.  Accrued annual leave, converted sick leave, 
compensatory time and excess hours may have been cashed out before 
the leave without pay period began. 
 (110)  Return to Duty Drug or Alcohol Test:  A drug or alcohol 
test conducted on an employee prior to allowing the employee to return 
to duty after successfully completing a drug or alcohol treatment 
program. 
 ([112]111)  Ridiculing Behavior:  Any behavior specifically 
performed to cause humiliation or to mock, taunt or tease another 
individual. 
 ([113]112)  RIF'd Individual:  A former employee who is 
terminated as a result of a reduction in force. 
 ([114]113)  Safety Sensitive Position:  A position approved by 
DHRM that includes the performance of functions: 
 (a)  directly related to law enforcement; or 
 (b)  involving direct access or having control over direct access to 
controlled substance; or 
 (c)  directly impacting the safety or welfare of the general 
public;or 
 (d) which require an employee to carry or have access to firearms. 
 ([115]114)  Salary Range:  The segment of an approved pay plan 
assigned to a job. 
 ([116]115)  Schedule:  The determination of whether a position 
meets criteria stipulated in the Utah Code Annotated to be career 
service (Schedule B) or career service exempt (Schedule A). 
 ([117]116)  Serious Health Condition:  An illness, injury, 
impairment, physical or mental condition that involves: 
 (a)  inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care 
facility; or 
 (b)  outpatient care with continuing treatment by a health care 
provider. 
 ([118]117)  Sexual Harassment: 

 (a)  A form of unlawful discrimination of a sexual nature which is 
unwelcome and pervasive, demeaning, ridiculing, derisive or coercive 
and results in a hostile, abusive or intimidating work environment. 
 (i)  Level One:  sex role stereotyping 
 (ii)  Level Two:  targeted gender harassment/discrimination 
 (iii)  Level Three:  targeted or individual harassment 
 (iv)  Level Four:  criminal touching of another's body parts or 
taking indecent liberties with another. 
 (b)  Any quid pro quo behavior which requires an employee to 
submit to sexual conduct in return for increased employment benefits 
or under threat of adverse employment repercussions. 
 ([119]118)  Tangible Employment Action:  Any significant 
change in employment status e.g. hiring, firing, promotion, failure to 
promote, demotion, undesirable assignment, a decision causing a 
significant change in benefits, compensation decisions, and work 
assignment.  Tangible employment action does not include insignificant 
changes in employment status such as a change in job title without a 
change in salary, benefits or duties. 
 (119)  Temporary employee:  A career service exempt employee 
on schedule AI, AJ, or AL. 
 (120)  Temporary Transitional Assignment:  An assignment on a 
temporary basis to a position or duties of lesser responsibility and 
salary range to accommodate an injury or illness or to provide a 
temporary reasonable accommodation. 
 (121)  Transfer:  An employee initiated movement from one job or 
position to another job or position for which the employee qualifies in 
response to a recruitment for reasons not included in the definition of 
promotion.[  A transfer may be to one or more of the following: 
 (a)  a job or position with the same salary range; 
 (b)  a job or position with a lower salary range; 
 (c)  a different work location; 
 (d)  a different organizational unit; or 
 (e)  a different agency.] 
 (122)  Underfill:  DHRM authorization[ for an agency] to fill a 
position [at a lower salary range within]below the designated working 
level within the same job series. 
 (123)  Uniformed Services:  The United States Army, Navy, 
Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard; Reserve units of the Army, 
Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard; Army National Guard 
or Air National Guard; Commissioned Corps of Public Health Service, 
or any other category of persons designated by the President in time of 
war or emergency.  Service in Uniformed Services includes: voluntary 
or involuntary duty, including active duty; active duty for training; 
initial active duty for training; inactive duty training; full-time National 
Guard duty; absence from work for an examination to determine fitness 
for any of the above types of duty. 
 (124)  Unlawful Harassment:  Any behavior or conduct of an 
unlawful nature based on race, religion, national origin, color, sex, age, 
disability or protected activity under the anti-discrimination statutes that 
is unwelcome, pervasive, demeaning, derisive or coercive and results in 
a hostile, abusive or intimidating work environment or tangible 
employment action. 
 (125)  USERRA:  Uniformed Services Employment and 
Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (P.L. 103-353), requires state 
governments to re-employ eligible veterans who left state employment 
to enter the uniformed services and who return to work within a 
specified time period after military discharge.  Employees covered 
under USERRA are in a leave without pay status from their state 
position. 
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 (126)  Veteran:  An individual who has served on active duty in 
the armed forces for more than 180 consecutive days, or was a member 
of a reserve component who served in a campaign or expedition for 
which a campaign medal has been authorized.  Individuals must have 
been separated or retired under honorable conditions. 
 (127)  Volunteer:  Any person who donates services to the state or 
its subdivisions without pay or other compensation except actual and 
reasonable expenses incurred, as approved by the supervising agency. 
 (128)  Volunteer Experience Credit:  Credit given in meeting job 
requirements to participants who gain experience through unpaid or 
uncompensated volunteer work with the state, its subdivisions or other 
public and private organizations. 
 
KEY:  personnel management, rules and procedures, definitions 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2004]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-2 
Administration 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28689 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 11:02 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment updates the naming of state and federal agencies 
referenced in the rule, implements a policy change governing 
medical records in the employee file, and eliminates the 
Quality Service Award. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R477-2-1 replaces 
references to the Department of Community and Economic 
Development with the Governor's Office of Economic 
Development and lists the Medical Education Council as an 
agency exempt from these rules.  The change in Section 
R477-2-5 deletes references to the Immigration and 
Naturalization Services replacing it with the United States 
Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services.  Agencies 
are required to begin keeping a separate file for results of 
fitness for duty and drug tests and requires agencies to 
transfer this file and the confidential medical file to the 
receiving agency when the employee transfers to another 
state agency.  Section R477-5-10 is deleted.  H.B. 269 
eliminated the mandate given to the Department of Human 
Resource Management (DHRM) to implement and administer 
this award.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 269 (2006) is found at Chapter 
139, Laws of Utah 2006, and will be effective 07/01/2006.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 52-3-1; Subsections 63-2-204(5) and 63-2-
903(4); and Sections 67-19-3 and 67-19-18 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
  THE STATE BUDGET:  These amendments can be handled 

within existing administrative procedures and will not result in 
additional costs for agencies. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  These 
amendments will only affect state agencies within the 
executive branch of government and can be handled within 
existing administrative procedures.  DHRM has authority to 
write rules only to the extent allowed by the Utah Personnel 
Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the 
provisions of career service and these rules to employees of 
the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by DHRM 
have no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-2.  Administration. 
R477-2-1.  Rules Applicability. 
 These rules apply to all career and career service exempt state 
employees except those specifically exempted in Section 67-19-12. 
 (1)  Certificated employees of the State Board of Education are 
covered by these rules except for rules governing classification and 
compensation, found in R477-3 and R477-6. 
 (2)  Nonstate agencies with employees protected by the career 
service provisions of these rules in R477-4, R477-5, R477-9 and R477-
11 are exempted by contract from any provisions deemed inappropriate 
in their jurisdictions by the Executive Director, DHRM. 
 (3)  Unless employees in exempt positions have written contracts 
of employment for a definite period of time, they are career service 
exempt employees.  The following employees are exempt from 
mandatory compliance with these rules: 
 (a)  members of the Legislature and legislative employees; 
 (b)  members of the judiciary and judicial employees; 
 (c)  elected members of the executive branch and their direct staff 
who are career service-exempt employees; 
 (d)  officers, faculty, and other employees of state institutions of 
higher education; 
 (e)  any positions for which the salary is set by law; 
 (f)  attorneys in the Attorney General's Office; 
 (g)  agency heads and other persons appointed by the governor 
when authorized by statute; 
 (h)  employees of the [Department of Community and Economic 
Development]Governor's Office of Economic Development whose 
positions have been designated executive/professional by the executive 
director of the [Department of Community and Economic 
Development]Governor's Office of Economic Development with the 
concurrence of the Executive Director, DHRM[.]; 
 (i)  employees of the Medical Education Council. 
 (4)  All other exempt positions are covered by provisions of these 
rules except rules governing career service status in R477-4, R477-5, 
R477-9 and R477-11. 
 (5)  The above positions may or may not be exempt from federal 
and other state regulations. 
 
R477-2-5.  Records. 
 (1)  DHRM shall maintain a computerized file for each employee 
that contains the following, as appropriate: 
 (a)  performance ratings; 
 (b)  records of actions affecting employee salary, current 
classification, title and salary range, salary history, and other personal 
data, status or standing. 
 (2)  Agencies shall maintain the following records in each 
employee's personnel file: 
 (a)  applications for employment, Employment Eligibility 
Certification record, Form I-9, and other documents required by the 
United States Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration 
Services[Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS)] Regulations, 
under the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, employee 
signed overtime agreement, personnel action records, notices of 
 

corrective or disciplinary actions, new employee orientation form, 
performance evaluation records, separation and leave without pay 
records, including employee benefits notification forms for PEHP and 
URS; 
 (b)  references to or copies of transcripts of academic, 
professional, or training certification or preparation; 
 (c)  copies of items recorded in the DHRM computerized file and 
other materials required by agency management to be placed in the 
personnel file.  The agency personnel file shall be considered a 
supplement to the DHRM computerized file and shall be subject to the 
rules governing personnel files; 
 (d)  leave and time records; and 
 (e)  copies of any documents affecting the employee's conduct, 
status or salary.  The agency shall inform employees of any changes in 
their records based on conduct, status or salary no later than when 
changes are entered into the file. 
 (3)  Agencies shall maintain a separate file from the personnel file 
containing[if the agency obtains] confidential employee medical 
information. 
 (a)  Information in this file shall include all written and orally 
obtained information pertaining to medical issues, including Family 
Medical and Leave Act forms, medical and dental enrollment forms 
which contain health related information, health statements, 
applications for additional life insurance,[ fitness for duty evaluations, 
drug testing results,] and any other medical information. 
 (b)  Information regarding the results from fitness for duty 
evaluations and drug testing shall be maintained in a file separate from 
the personnel file and from the file containing confidential employee 
medical information. 
 ([b]c)  Information in this file is considered private or controlled 
information. Communication shall adhere to the Government Records 
Access and Management Act, Section 63-2-101. 
 ([c]d)  An employee who violates confidentiality is subject to state 
disciplinary procedures. 
 (4)  An employee has the right to review the employee's personnel 
file, upon request, in DHRM or the agency, as governed by law and as 
provided through agency policy. 
 (a)  An employee may correct, amend, or challenge any 
information in the DHRM computerized or agency personnel file, 
through the following process: 
 (i)  The employee shall request in writing that changes occur. 
 (ii)  The employing agency shall be given an opportunity to 
respond. 
 (iii)  Disputes over information that are not resolved between the 
employing agency and the employee shall be decided in writing by the 
Executive Director, DHRM.  DHRM shall maintain a record of the 
employee's letter, the agency's response, and the DHRM Executive 
Director's decision. 
 (5)  When a disciplinary action is rescinded or disapproved upon 
appeal, forms, documents and records pertaining to the case shall be 
removed from the personnel file. 
 (a)  When the record in question is on microfilm, a seal will be 
placed on the record and a suitable notice placed on the carton or 
envelope.  This notice shall indicate the limits of the sealed section and 
the authority for the action. 
 (6)  Upon employee separation, DHRM and agencies shall retain 
computerized records for thirty years.  Agency hard copy records shall 
be retained by the agency for a minimum of two years, then transferred 
to the State Record Center to be retained according to the record 
retention schedule. 
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 (7)  Information classified as private in both DHRM and agency 
personnel and payroll files shall be available only to the following 
people: 
 (a)  the employee; 
 (b)  users authorized by the Executive Director, DHRM, who have 
a legitimate need to know; 
 (c)  individuals who have the employee's written consent. 
 (8)  Utah is an open records state, according to Chapter 2, Title 63, 
the Government Records Access and Management Act.  Requests for 
information shall be in writing.  The following information concerning 
current or former state employees, volunteers, independent contractors, 
and members of advisory boards or commissions shall be given to the 
public upon written request where appropriate with the exception of 
employees whose records are private or protected: 
 (a)  the employee's name; 
 (b)  gross compensation; 
 (c)  salary range; 
 (d)  contract fees; 
 (e)  the nature of employer paid benefits; 
 (f)  the basis for and the amount of any compensation in addition 
to salary, including expense reimbursement; 
 (g)  job title; 
 (h)  performance plan; 
 (i)  education and training background as it relates to qualifying 
the individual for the position; 
 (j)  previous work experience as it relates to qualifying the 
individual for the position; 
 (k)  date of first and last employment in state government; 
 (l)  the final disposition of any appeal action by the Career Service 
Review Board; 
 (m)  the final disposition of any disciplinary action; 
 (n)  work location; 
 (o)  a work telephone number; 
 (p)  city and county of residence, excluding street address; 
 (q)  honors and awards as they relate to state government 
employment; 
 (r)  number of hours worked per pay period; 
 (s)  gender; 
 (t)  other records as approved by the State Records Committee. 
 (9)  When an employee transfers from one agency to another, the 
former agency shall transfer the employee's personnel and 
medical[original] file to the new agency.  The file shall contain a record 
of all actions that have affected the employee's status and standing. 
 (10)  An employee may request a copy of any documentary 
evidence used for disciplinary purposes in any formal hearing, 
regardless of the document's source, prior to such use.  This shall not 
apply to documentary evidence used for rebuttal. 
 (11)  Employee medical information obtained orally or 
documented in separate confidential files is considered private or 
controlled information.  Communication must adhere to the 
Government Records Access and Management Act, Section 63-2-101.  
Employees who violate confidentiality are subject to state disciplinary 
procedures and may be personally liable for slander or libel. 
 (12)  In compliance with the Government Records Access and 
Management Act, only information classified as public or private 
which can be determined to be related to and necessary for the 
disposition of a long term disability or unemployment insurance 
determination shall be approved for release on a need to know basis.  
The agency human resource manager or authorized manager in DHRM 
shall make the determination. 

 (13)  An employee may verbally request the release of information 
for personal use, or authorize in writing the release of personal 
performance records for use by an outside agent based on a need to 
know authorization. Private data shall only be released, except to the 
employee, after a written request has been evaluated and approved. 
 
R477-2-7.  Employment Eligibility Certification (Immigration 
Reform and Control Act - 1986). 
 (1)  All career and career service exempt employees appointed on 
and after November 7, 1986, as a new hire, rehire, agency transfer or 
through reciprocity with or assimilation from another career service 
jurisdiction must provide verifiable documentation of their identity and 
eligibility for employment in the United States as required under the 
Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986. 
 (2)  Agency hiring officials are responsible for verifying the 
identity and employment eligibility of these employees, by completing 
all sections of the Employment Eligibility Certification Form I-9 in 
conformance with United States Bureau of Citizenship and 
Immigration Services (BCIS) Regulations.  The I-9 form shall be 
maintained in the agency personnel file. 
 
R477-2-9.  Employee Liability. 
 An employee who becomes aware of any occurrence which may 
give rise to a law suit, who receives notice of claim, or is sued because 
of an incident related to his employment, shall give immediate notice to 
his supervisor and to the Department of Administrative Services, 
[Office]Division of Risk Management. 
 (1)  In most cases, under provisions of the Governmental 
Immunity Act (GIA), Sections 63-30-36, 63-30-37, an employee shall 
receive defense and indemnification unless the case involves fraud, 
malice or the use of alcohol or drugs by the employee. 
 (2)  If a law suit results against an employee, the GIA stipulates 
that the employee must request a defense from his agency head in 
writing within ten calendar days. 
 
[R477-2-10.  Quality Service Award. 
 When requested by the Director, agencies shall assign employees 
to serve on the Utah Quality Award Evaluation Panel according to 
criteria established by section 67-19-6.4 and DHRM. 
] 
R477-2-[11]10.  Alternative Dispute Resolution. 
 Agency management may establish a voluntary alternative dispute 
resolution program in accordance with Chapter 63-46C, Utah Code 
Annotated. 
 
KEY:  administrative responsibility, confidentiality of information, 
fair employment practices, public information 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  52-3-1; 63-2-
204(5); 63-2-903(4); 67-19-6; [67-19-6.4; ]67-19-18 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-4 
Filling Positions 



DAR File No. 28691 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 41 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28691 
FILED:  04/28/2006, 11:07 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Amendments to this rule implement some aspects of a policy 
change for reassignment and transfer, implement selected 
provisions of H.B. 213 passed in the 2005 General Session 
and H.B. 269 passed in the 2006 General Session, and 
include federal guidelines for veterans preference in hiring.  
(DAR NOTE:  H.B. 213 (2005) is found at Chapter 15, Laws of 
Utah 2005, and was effective 01/01/2006.  H.B. 269 (2006) is 
found at Chapter 139, Laws of Utah 2006, and will be effective 
07/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R477-4-6 now 
provides for an employee to be reassigned to another position 
without a reduction in the current actual wage, and defines a 
transfer or reassignment.  Section R477-4-7 clarifies that an 
employee who returns to work within a year will have sick 
leave reinstated but it will be placed in the employee's 
program II account.  Sections R477-4-8 and R477-4-9 are 
amended to remove the option to negotiate delegation 
agreements with agencies for recruitment and testing and 
include federal guidelines for providing veterans preference on 
the final hiring lists. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 67-19-6 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  Agencies can implement these 
amendments within existing administrative procedures and no 
additional cost is anticipated. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies within the executive branch of state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 

COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) have 
no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-4.  Filling Positions. 
R477-4-6.  Transfer and Reassignment. 
 (1)  Positions may be filled by reassigning an employee without a 
reduction in[ pay] the current actual wage [for administrative reasons or 
corrective action pursuant to R477-10-2]except as provided in R477-6-
4(6). 
 (2)  The agency that receives a transfer or reassignment of an 
employee shall verify his career status and that the employee meets the 
job requirements for the position. 
 (a)  An employee with a disability who is otherwise qualified may 
be eligible for transfer or reassignment to a vacant position within the 
agency as a reasonable accommodation measure. 
 (3)  Agencies receiving a transfer or reassignment of an employee 
shall accept all of that employee's previously accrued sick, annual, and 
converted sick leave on the official leave records. 
 (4)  A career service employee assimilated from another career 
service jurisdiction shall accrue leave at the same rate as a career 
service employee with the same seniority. 
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 (5)  A reassignment or transfer may be to one or more of the 
following: 
 (a)  a different job or position; 
 (b)  a different work location; 
 (c)  a different organizational unit; or 
 (d)  a different agency. 
 
R477-4-7.  Rehire. 
 (1)  A former career service employee may be eligible for rehire to 
any career service position for which he is qualified. 
 (a)  A rehired employee must compete through the DHRM 
approved recruitment and selection system and must serve a new 
probationary period, as designated in the official job description. 
 (i)  The annual leave accrual rate for an employee who is rehired 
to a position which receives leave benefits shall be based on all state 
employment in which the employee was eligible to accrue leave. 
 (ii)  An employee who is rehired within 12 months of separation 
to a position which receives sick leave benefits shall have his 
previously accrued sick leave credit reinstated as program II sick leave. 
 (b)  A rehired employee may be offered any salary within the[ 
regular] salary range for the position. 
 (2)  Career Service exempt employees cannot be rehired to career 
service positions, except as prescribed by Section 67-19-17. 
 
R477-4-8.  Examinations. 
 (1)  Examinations shall be designed to measure and predict 
success of individuals on the job.  Appointment to career service 
positions shall be made through open, competitive selection. 
 (2)  The Executive Director, DHRM, shall establish the standards 
for the development, approval and implementation of examinations.  
Examinations shall include the following: 
 (a)  a documented job analysis; 
 (b)  an initial, unbiased screening of the individual's qualifications; 
 (c)  security of examinations and ratings; 
 (d)  timely notification of individuals seeking positions; 
 (e)  elimination from further consideration of individuals who 
abuse the process; 
 (f)  unbiased evaluation and results; 
 (g)  reasonable accommodation for qualified individuals with 
disabilities. 
 (3)  When examinations utilizing ratings of training and 
experience are administered, agencies may establish maximum years of 
credit for training and experience for the purpose of rating qualified 
applicants.  Separate maximums may be set for years of training and 
years of experience.  These maximums shall be included in the agency's 
recruitment notice.[ 
 (4)  The Executive Director, DHRM, may enter into delegation 
agreements with agencies to develop and administer examination 
instruments, subject to periodic administrative audits by DHRM.] 
 
R477-4-9.  Hiring Lists. 
 (1)  The hiring list shall include the names of qualified and 
interested applicants who are eligible to be considered for appointment 
or conditional appointment to a specific position. 
 (a)  Hiring lists shall be constructed using the DHRM approved 
recruitment and selection system.  All competitive processes shall be 
based on job related criteria. 
 (b)  All applicants included on a hiring list shall be examined with 
the same examination or examinations. 

 (c)  An individual shall be considered an applicant when he is 
determined to be both qualified for and interested in a particular 
position identified through a specific requisition. 
 (2)  An applicant may be removed from further consideration 
when he, without valid reason, does not pursue appointment to a 
position. 
 (3)  An individual who falsifies any information in the job 
application, examination or evaluation processes may be disqualified 
from further consideration prior to hire, or disciplined if already hired. 
 (4)  Five percent of the total possible score shall be added to [the 
rating or an appropriate adjustment shall be made on the hiring list]the 
exam score or an appropriate adjustment shall be made when 
examination results are other than a numeric score for any applicant 
claiming veterans preference who: 
 (a)  has served more than 180 consecutive days of active duty in 
and honorably discharged or released from the armed forces of the 
United States; or 
 (b)  is the spouse[ or unremarried surviving spouse ], unremarried 
widow or widower of any veteran. 
 (5)  Ten percent of the total possible score shall be added to [the 
rating or an appropriate adjustment shall be made on the hiring list]the 
exam score or an appropriate adjustment shall be made when 
examination results are other than a numeric score for any applicant 
claiming veterans preference who: 
 (a)  was honorably discharged or released from active duty with a 
disability incurred in the line of duty or is a recipient of a Purple Heart, 
whether or not that person completed 180 days of active duty;or 
 (b)  is the spouse[ or unremarried surviving spouse], unremarried 
widow or widower of any disabled veteran.[ 
 (6)  The Executive Director, DHRM, may enter into delegation 
agreements with agencies to develop and maintain hiring lists and 
certify eligible applicants to their appointing authorities, subject to 
periodic administrative audits by DHRM.] 
 (7)  When more than one RIF employee is certified by DHRM, 
the appointment shall be made from the most qualified. 
 (8)  The appointing authority shall demonstrate and document that 
equal consideration was given to all applicants whose final score or 
rating is equal to or greater than that of the applicant hired. 
 (9)  The appointing authority shall ensure that any employee hired 
meets the job requirements as outlined in the official job description. 
 
KEY:  employment, fair employment practices, hiring practices 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment changes one word to ensure consistency 
throughout the Department of Human Resource Management 
(DHRM) rules. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R477-5-3, the 
word "pay" is changed to "salary".  This is part of a change 
throughout the DHRM rules to distinguish between the words 
pay and salary and ensure consistency in their usage. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 67-19-3 and Subsection 67-19-16(5)(b) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  DHRM enforcement and practice will 
continue as before with this change; the amendment simply 
changes one word for the sake of consistency throughout the 
DHRM rules. Thus, there are no costs or savings. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19. This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19. This act limits the provisions of career service and 
these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies in the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by DHRM 
have no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 

SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-5.  Employee Status and Probation. 
R477-5-3.  Temporary Transitional Position. 
 (1)  An employee on probation who is temporarily disabled may 
be placed in another position with lighter duty or reduced responsibility 
and [pay]salary. 
 (a)  This accommodation shall occur for no longer than one year 
from the date of disability. 
 (b)  Time spent in a transitional position does not reduce the 
required probationary period in the primary position. 
 
KEY:  employment, personnel management, state employees 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 1, 
2003]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 67-
19-16(5)(b) 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-6 
Compensation 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28688 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 10:57 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Amendments to this rule remove language that is obsolete or 
no longer required by Utah Code; make multiple wording 
adjustments to ensure consistent usage in the rules; 
implement portions of the changes to the state policy for 
transfer and reassignment; make nonsubstantive changes to 
the wording in the section for incentive awards; and provide a 
severance benefit for schedule AT employees. 
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R477-6-4 is 
amended to remove the Highest Level Performer program 
from rules and the mandate for market comparability 
increases (MCI).  The language for MCIs was required by the 
2005 legislature but is not needed for 2006.  There are also 
multiple changes in the use of the words "pay", "salary", and 
"actual wage" in order to gain consistency and more precision 
in the rules governing compensation.  These words are being 
used interchangeably throughout this section and in other 
parts of the rules.  Nonsubstantive amendments to the 
wording in Section R477-6-5 ensure consistent usage of the 
terms agency and award.  The amendment to Section R477-
6-9 gives the same severance benefit to an AT employee who 
is reassigned to a position with a lower salary range as certain 
other schedule A employees receive. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 63F-1-106, 67-19-6, 67-19-12, and 67-19-
12.5; and Subsection 67-19-15.1(4) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The severance benefit provided to 
schedule AT employees in Section R477-6-9 will add cost to 
the Department of Technology Services if management elects 
to lower the salary of a reassigned employee in those 
situations where this is allowed by law.  It is anticipated that 
these situations will be few and it is impossible to predict what 
the cost may be. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) have 
no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 

minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-6.  Compensation. 
R477-6-4.  Salary. 
 (1)  Merit increases. The following are applicable if merit 
increases are authorized and funded by the legislature: 
 (a)  Employees who are not on a longevity step and who are not at 
the maximum step of their salary range, who receive a successful or 
higher rating on their performance evaluations and who have been in a 
paid status by the state for at least six months shall receive a merit 
increase of one or more salary steps at the beginning of the new fiscal 
year. 
 (b)  Employees designated as schedule AE, AI and AL who are 
receiving benefits are eligible for merit step increases. 
 (c)  Employees designated as schedule AJ are not eligible for 
merit step increases.[ 
 (2)  Highest Level Performer. 
 (a)  Employees designated by the agency as a highest level 
performer consistent with subsection R477-10-1(2) shall receive, as 
determined by the agency head, either: 
 (i)  a salary step increase; or 
 (ii)  a bonus; or 
 (iii) administrative leave; or 
 (iv)  other appropriate recognition as determined by the agency. 
 (b)  An employee who is on a longevity step or at the maximum 
step of the salary range is not eligible for a salary step increase but may 
receive a bonus, administrative leave or other appropriate recognition 
as determined by the agency.] 
 ([3]2)  Promotions and Reclassifications. 
 (a)  An employee promoted or reclassified to a job with a salary 
range exceeding the employee's current salary range maximum by one 
salary step shall receive a salary increase of a minimum of one salary 
step and a maximum of four salary steps.  An employee who is 
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promoted or reclassified to a job with a salary range exceeding the 
employee's current salary range maximum by two or more salary steps 
shall receive a salary increase of a minimum of two salary steps and a 
maximum of four salary steps. 
 (i)  An employee may not be placed higher than the maximum 
salary step or lower than the minimum salary step in the new salary 
range.  Placement of an employee in longevity shall be consistent with 
subsection R477-6-4(4). 
 (ii)  An employee who remains in longevity status after a 
promotion or reclassification shall retain the same salary by being 
placed on the corresponding longevity step. 
 (b)  To be eligible for a promotion, an employee shall: 
 (i)  meet the job requirements and skills specified in the job 
description and position specific criteria as determined by the agency 
for the position unless the promotion is to a career service exempt 
position. 
 (c)  An employee whose position is reclassified or changed by 
administrative adjustment to a job with a lower salary range shall retain 
the current salary.  The employee shall be placed on the corresponding 
longevity step if the salary exceeds the maximum of the new salary 
range. 
 ([4]3)  Longevity. 
 (a)  An employee shall receive a longevity increase of 2.75 
percent when: 
 (i)  the employee has been in state service for eight years or more. 
 The employee may accrue years of service in more than one agency 
and such service is not required to be continuous; and 
 (ii)  the employee has been at the maximum salary step in the 
current salary range for at least one year and received a performance 
appraisal rating of successful or higher within the 12-month period 
preceding the longevity increase. 
 (b)  An employee on a longevity step shall be eligible for the same 
across the board pay plan adjustments authorized for all other employee 
pay plans. 
 (c)  An employee on a longevity step shall only be eligible for 
additional step increases every three years.  To be eligible, an employee 
must receive a performance appraisal rating of successful or higher 
within the 12-month period preceding the longevity increase. 
 (d)  An employee on a longevity step who is reclassified to a 
lower salary range shall retain the current [salary]actual wage. 
 (e)  An employee on a longevity step who is promoted or 
reclassified to a higher salary range shall only receive an increase if the 
current [salary step]actual wage is less than the highest salary step of 
the new range. 
 (f)  Agency heads or time limited exempt employees identified in 
R477-4-[11]10 are not eligible for the longevity program. 
 ([5]4)  Administrative Adjustment. 
 (a)  An employee whose position has been allocated by DHRM 
from one job to another job or salary range for administrative purposes, 
shall not receive an adjustment in [salary]the current actual wage. 
 (b)  Implementation of new job descriptions as an administrative 
adjustment shall not result in [a salary]an increase in the current actual 
wage unless the employee is below the minimum step of the new range. 
 ([6]5)  Reassignment. 
 [When]An employee's current actual wage may only be lowered 
when permitted by federal or state law, including but not limited to the 
Americans with Disabilities Act[, management may lower the salary of 
an employee one or more steps when the employee is reassigned to a 
position with a salary range having a lower maximum step]. 
 ([7]6)  Transfer. 

 Management may increase or decrease the [salary]current actual 
wage of an employee who initiates a transfer to another position 
consistent with R477-6-4. 
 ([8]7)  Demotion. 
 An employee demoted consistent with R477-11-2 shall receive a 
[salary ]reduction in the current actual wage of one or more salary steps 
as determined by the agency head or designee.  The agency head or 
designee may move an employee to a position with a lower salary 
range concurrent with the [salary ]reduction in the current actual wage. 
 ([9]8)  Productivity step adjustment. 
 Agency management may establish policies to reward an 
employee who assumes additional workloads which result from the 
elimination of a position for at least one year with [a salary]an increase 
of up to four salary steps.  An employee at the maximum step of the 
salary range or in longevity shall be given a one time lump sum bonus 
award of 2.75% of their annual salary. 
 (a)  To implement this program, agencies shall apply the 
following criteria: 
 (i)  either the employee or management can make the suggestion; 
 (ii)  the employee and management agree; 
 (iii)  the agency head approves; 
 (iv)  a written program policy achieves increased productivity 
through labor and management collaboration; 
 (v)  the agency human resource representative approves; 
 (vi)  the position will be abolished from the position authorization 
plan for a minimum of one year; 
 (vii)  staff receive additional duties which are substantially above 
a normal full workload; 
 (viii)  the same or higher level of service or productivity is 
achieved without accruing additional overtime hours; 
 (ix)  the total dollar increase, including benefits, awarded to the 
workgroup as a result of the additional salary steps does not exceed 50 
percent of the savings generated by eliminating the position. 
 ([10]9)  Administrative Salary Increase. 
 The agency head authorizes and approves administrative salary 
increases under the following parameters: 
 (a)  An employee shall receive one or more steps up to the 
maximum of the salary range. 
 (b)  Administrative salary increases shall only be granted when the 
agency has sufficient funding within their annualized base budgets for 
the fiscal year in which the adjustment is given. 
 (c)  Justifications for Administrative Salary Increases shall be: 
 (i)  in writing; 
 (ii)  approved by the agency head; 
 (iii) supported by issues such as: special agency conditions or 
problems or other unique situations or considerations in the agency. 
 (d)  The agency head is the final authority for salary actions 
authorized within these guidelines.  The agency head or designee shall 
answer any challenge or grievance resulting from an administrative 
salary increase. 
 (e)  Administrative salary increases may be given during the 
probationary period.  These increases alone do not constitute successful 
completion of probation or the granting of career service status. 
 (f)  An employee at the maximum step of the range or on a 
longevity step may not be granted administrative salary increases. 
 ([11]10)  Administrative Salary Decrease. 
 The agency head authorizes and approves administrative salary 
decreases for nondisciplinary reasons according to the following: 
 (a)  An employee shall receive a one or more step decrease not to 
exceed the minimum of the salary range. 
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 (b)  Justification for administrative salary decreases shall be: 
 (i)  in writing; 
 (ii)  approved by the agency head; and 
 (iii) supported by issues such as previous written agreements 
between the agency and employees to include career mobility; 
reasonable accommodation, special agency conditions or problems, or 
other unique situations or considerations in the agency. 
 (c)  The agency head is the final authority for salary actions within 
these guidelines.  The agency head or designee shall answer any 
challenge or grievance resulting from an administrative salary 
decrease.[ 
 (12)  Market comparability adjustments shall be given on July 2, 
2005 to all career service employees who qualify.  Non career service 
employees who receive benefits and whose job title is assigned to a 
benchmark job shall also receive this increase. 
 (a)  A one step increase shall be given to employees whose 
benchmark job is determined to be 15 percent to 30 percent below the 
market based on actual average pay. 
 (b)  A two step increase shall be given to employees whose 
benchmark job is determined to be 30.1 percent or more below the 
market based on actual average pay. 
 (c)  Employees on the top of the established pay range or in 
longevity are not eligible for this increase.] 
 
R477-6-5.  Incentive Awards. 
 (1)  Only agencies with written and published incentive award and 
bonus policies may reward employees with incentive awards or 
bonuses.  Incentive awards and bonuses are discretionary, not an 
entitlement, and are subject to the availability of funds in the agency. 
 (a)  Policies shall be approved annually by DHRM and be 
consistent with standards established in these rules and the Department 
of Administrative Services, Division of Finance, rules and procedures. 
 (b)  Individual awards shall not exceed $4,000 per occurrence and 
$8,000 in a fiscal year. In exceptional circumstances, an award may 
exceed these limits upon application to DHRM and approval by the 
Governor. 
 (c)  All cash incentive awards and bonuses shall be subject to 
payroll taxes. 
 (2)  Performance Based Incentive Awards. 
 (a)  Cash Incentive Awards 
 (i)  [Agencies]An agency may grant a cash incentive award to an 
employee or group of employees who: 
 (A)  demonstrate exceptional effort or accomplishment beyond 
what is normally expected on the job for a unique event or over a 
sustained period of time. 
 (ii)  All cash awards must be approved by the agency head or 
designee.  They must be documented and a copy shall be maintained in 
the agency's individual employee file. 
 (b)  Noncash Incentive Awards 
 (i)  [Agency heads]An agency may recognize an employee or 
group of employees with noncash incentive awards. 
 (ii)  Individual noncash incentive awards shall not exceed a value 
of $50 per occurrence and $200 for each fiscal year. 
 (iii)  Noncash incentive awards may not include cash equivalents 
such as gift certificates or tickets for admission. 
 (3)  Cost Savings Bonus 
 (a)  An agency may establish a bonus policy to increase 
productivity, generate savings within the agency, or reward an 
employee who submits a cost savings proposal. 
 (i)  The agency shall document the cost savings involved. 

 (4)  Market Based Bonuses 
 [Agencies]An agency may [give]award a cash bonus to an 
employee as an incentive to acquire or retain an employee with job 
skills that are critical to the state and difficult to recruit in the market. 
 (a)  Retention Bonus 
 An agency may [pay]award a bonus to an employee who has 
unusually high or unique qualifications that are essential for the agency 
to retain. 
 (b)  Recruitment or Signing Bonus 
 An agency may [pay]award a bonus to a qualified job candidate to 
convince the candidate to work for the state. 
 (c)  Scarce Skills Bonus 
 An agency may [pay]award a bonus to a qualified job candidate 
that has the scarce skills required for the job. 
 (d)  Relocation Bonus 
 An agency may [pay]award a bonus to a current employee who 
must relocate to accept a position in a different commuting area. 
 (e)  Referral Bonus 
 An agency may [pay]award a bonus to a current employee who 
refers a job applicant who is subsequently selected and is successfully 
employed for at least six months. 
 
R477-6-9.  Severance Benefit. 
 (1)  A benefits eligible career service exempt employee on 
schedule AB, AD, AR or AT who is separated from state service 
through an action initiated by management, to include resignation in 
lieu of termination, shall receive at the time of severance a benefit equal 
to: 
 (a)  one week of [pay]salary, up to a maximum of 12 weeks, for 
each year of consecutive exempt service in the executive branch; and 
 (b)  if eligible for COBRA, one month of health insurance 
coverage, up to a maximum of six months, for each year of consecutive 
exempt service, at the level of coverage the employee has at the time of 
severance, to be paid in a lump sum payment to the state's health care 
provider. 
 (2)  A severance benefit shall not be paid to an employee: 
 (a)  whose statutory term has expired without reappointment; 
 (b)  who is retiring from state service; or 
 (c)  who is discharged for cause. 
 (3)  A benefits eligible career service exempt employee on 
schedule AB, AD, [or ]AR or AT who accepts reassignment to a 
position with a lower salary range, without a break in service, shall 
receive a severance benefit equal to the difference between the current 
[hourly rate of pay]actual wage and the new [hourly rate of pay]actual 
wage multiplied by the number of accrued annual leave, converted sick 
leave, and excess hours on the date of reassignment. 
 (4)  An employee on schedule AC, AK, AM or AS may be 
provided these same severance benefits at the discretion of the 
appointing authority. 
 
KEY:  salaries, employee benefit plans, insurance, personnel 
management 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63F-1-106; 
67-19-6; 67-19-12; 67-19-12.5; 67-19-15.1(4) 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28690 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 11:06 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
amendments to this rule make several clarifications and 
revisions to the state policies on leave benefits.  These 
include clarifications on: policy changes with the 
implementation of H.B. 213 as passed in the 2005 General 
Session; administrative leave to vote in an election; and 
funeral leave.  Significant amendments are made to the 
annual leave conversion program, military leave, and family 
and medical leave.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 213 (2005) is found at 
Chapter 15, Laws of Utah 2005, and was effective 
01/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Sections R477-7-1 and 
R477-7-17 are amended to make it clear that an employee 
who retires will no longer be paid in cash for converted sick 
leave.  This is one of the provisions of H.B. 213 (2005).  In 
Section R477-7-3, the annual leave conversion program is 
deleted from rule.  This program is contingent on funding by 
the legislature which has not happened since the first year this 
provision was placed in code (1993).  This is creating much 
confusion among employees.  If the legislature funds this 
program at some point in the future, these section will be 
placed back in rule.  The amendment to Section R477-7-4 
clarifies that sick leave is accrued in proportion to time paid.  
This clarification will aid payroll technicians in the agencies.  
Section R477-7-7 is amended with new language granting 
employees in certain situations administrative leave to vote in 
an election.  This language is moved from here from Section 
R477-8-2.  There are three policy changes to the state's leave 
benefits.  First, Section R477-7-9 is changed to bereavement 
leave.  This amendment gives management discretion to grant 
up to 24 hours to grieve the death of a family member, not just 
attend the funeral.  Second, Section R477-7-10 is almost 
completely revised to comply with changes in federal 
guidelines.  These amendments mostly clarify an employees 
rights for military service of less than 31 days, 31 to 181 days, 
and more than 180 days.  Third, Section R477-7-15 is 
amended at the request of state agencies to reverse a policy 
implemented in 2005.  In January 2005, the state adopted a 
"rolling" year method of tracking the use of family and medical 
leave.  This proved to be difficult for agencies to administer 
and several requested that the state return to the "calendar 
year" method.  In order to do this, the rule must be effective at 
the beginning of the calendar year or on January 1, 2007.  
This new policy also gives an employee the option to use the 
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave in conjunction 
with other leave to maintain an income while on leave or to 
use FMLA leave as leave without pay. 

 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 34-43-103, 49-9-203, 63-13-2, 67-19-6, 67-19-
12.9, and 67-19-14.5 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The current FMLA policy requires 
agencies to invest a great deal of staff time to administer.  It is 
anticipated that the new policy will be less demanding of staff 
resources thus creating administrative savings.  This will not 
likely translate into budget savings however.  It will be treated 
as opportunity savings and staff time will be diverted into other 
needed activities. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) have 
no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 28690 

 
48 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-7.  Leave. 
R477-7-1.  Conditions of Leave. 
 (1)  An employee who normally works 40 hours or more per pay 
period, except those identified as career service exempt in R477-4-10, 
is eligible for leave benefits. An employee receives leave benefits in 
proportion to the time paid. 
 (a)  An eligible employee who works 40 or more hours per pay 
period shall accrue annual and sick leave in proportion to the time paid. 
 (b)  An employee shall use leave in no less than quarter hour 
increments. 
 (2)  A seasonal, temporary, or part-time employee working less 
than 40 hours per pay period is not eligible for paid leave. 
 (3)  Accrual rates for sick, holiday and annual leave are 
determined on the Annual, Sick and Holiday Leave Accrual table 
available through DHRM. 
 (4)  An employee may not use annual, sick, excess or holiday 
leave before accrued. 
 (5)  An employee may not use compensatory, annual, converted 
sick leave used as annual, or excess leave without advance approval by 
management. 
 (6)  An employee transferring from one agency to another is 
entitled to transfer all accrued annual, sick, and converted sick leave to 
the new agency. 
 (7)  An employee on paid leave shall continue to accrue annual 
and sick leave. 
 (8)  An employee separating from state service shall be paid in a 
lump sum for all annual leave[,] and excess hours[, and converted sick 
leave].  An FLSA nonexempt employee shall also be paid in a lump 
sum for all compensatory hours.[  A retiring employee shall be paid for 
all eligible accrued leave.] 
 (a)(i)  An employee separating from state service for reasons other 
than retirement shall be paid in a lump sum for all converted sick leave. 
 (ii)  Converted sick leave for a retiring employee shall be subject 
to R477-7-5. 
 ([a]b)  An employee may transfer this payout, minus all 
nondeferred taxes, to a 401(k) or 457 account up to the amount allowed 
by IRS regulation. 
 ([b]c)  No leave on leave may accrue or be paid on the cashed out 
leave. 
 ([c]d)  Leave cannot be used or accrued after the last day worked, 
except for FMLA or other medical reasons, or administrative leave 
specifically approved by management to be used after the last day 
worked. 

 (9)  Contributions to benefits may not be paid on cashed out leave, 
other than FICA tax, except as it applies to converted sick leave in 
R477-7-5(2) and the Retirement Benefit in R477-7-6. 
 
R477-7-3.  Annual Leave. 
 (1)  An employee eligible for annual leave shall accrue leave 
based on the following years of state service: 
 (a)  less than 5 years -- four hours per pay period; 
 (b)  at least 5 and less than 10 years -- five hours per pay period; 
 (c)  at least 10 and less than 20 years --six hours per pay period; 
 (d)  20 years or more -- seven hours per pay period. 
 (2)  The accrual rate for an employee rehired to a position which 
receives leave benefits shall be based on all state employment in which 
the employee was eligible to accrue leave. 
 (3)  An eligible employee may begin to use annual leave after 
completing the equivalent of two full pay periods of employment. 
 (4)  The first eight hours of annual leave used by an employee in 
the calendar leave year shall be the employee's personal preference day. 
 (5)  Agency management shall allow every employee the option to 
use annual leave each year for at least the amount accrued in the year.[ 
 (6)  An employee may elect to convert unused annual leave to a 
401(k) or 457 deferred compensation program sponsored by the Utah 
State Retirement Board when funded by the legislature. 
 (a)  Only hours accrued in excess of 320 hours after the end of the 
last pay period of the leave year are eligible for conversion. 
 (b)  The election to convert may only be made after the end of the 
last pay period of the leave year as determined by the Division of 
Finance. 
 (c)  The conversion shall be in whole hour increments. 
 (d)  An employee may convert up to 20 hours or $250 in value, 
whichever is less. 
 (e)  The value of the converted leave may not cause the 
contribution to the 401(k) or 457 account to exceed the maximum 
authorized by the Internal Revenue Code.] 
 ([7]6)  [After the conversion in R477-7-3(5), unused]Unused 
accrued annual leave time in excess of 320 hours shall be forfeited [at 
the beginning of the first full pay period of]during year end processing 
for each calendar year. 
 ([8]7)  The maximum annual leave accrual rate shall be granted to 
a certain employee under the following conditions: 
 (a)  an employee on the Executive Pay Plan, as described in 67-
22-2, an employee in schedule AB, and agency deputy directors and 
division directors appointed to career service exempt positions. 
 (b)  an employee who is schedule A, FLSA exempt and who has a 
direct reporting relationship to an elected official, executive director, 
deputy director, commissioner or board. 
 (c)  The maximum accrual rate shall be effective from the day the 
employee is appointed through the duration of the appointment. 
Employees in these positions on July 1, 2003, shall have the leave 
accrual rate adjusted prospectively. 
 (d)  The employee may not be eligible for any transfer of leave 
from other jurisdictions. 
 (e)  Other provisions of leave shall apply as defined in R477-7-1. 
 
R477-7-4.  Sick Leave. 
 (1)  An employee shall accrue sick leave with pay [at the rate of 
four hours]in proportion to the time paid each pay period, not to exceed 
four hours. Sick leave shall accrue without limit. 
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 (2)  An employee may begin to use accrued sick leave after 
completing the equivalent of at least two full pay periods of 
employment. 
 (3)  Sick leave shall be granted for: 
 (a)  preventive health and dental care, maternity, paternity, and 
adoption care, or for absence from duty because of illness, injury or 
temporary disability of the employee, a spouse or dependents living in 
the employee's home; 
 (b)  FMLA purposes under R477-7-15; or 
 (c)  exceptions for other unique medical situations. 
 (4)  An employee shall arrange for a telephone report to 
supervisors at the beginning of the scheduled workday the employee is 
absent due to illness or injury. Management may require reports for 
serious illnesses or injuries. 
 (5)  Any application for a grant of sick leave to cover an absence 
that exceeds four successive working days shall be supported by 
administratively acceptable evidence. If there is reason to believe that 
an employee is abusing sick leave, a supervisor may require an 
employee to produce evidence regardless of the number of sick hours 
used. 
 (6)  Any absence for illness beyond the accrued sick leave credit 
may continue under the following provisions: 
 (a)  an approved leave without pay status, not to exceed 12 
months; 
 (b)  an approved Family Medical Leave Status; or 
 (c)  in an annual or other accrued leave status. 
 (7)  After filing a resignation notice, an employee must support a 
sick leave request with a doctor's certificate. 
 (8)  An employee separating from state service may not receive 
compensation for accrued unused sick leave unless retiring. 
 (a)  An employee who is rehired within 12 months of separation to 
a position that receives sick leave benefits shall have previously 
accrued unused sick leave credit reinstated. 
 (b)  An employee who retires from state service and is rehired 
may not reinstate unused sick leave credit. 
 
R477-7-7.  Administrative Leave. 
 (1)  Administrative leave may be granted consistent with agency 
policy for the following reasons: 
 (a)  administrative; 
 (i)  governor approved holiday leave; 
 (ii)  during management decisions that benefit the organization; 
 (iii)  when no work is available due to unavoidable conditions or 
influences; or 
 (iv)  other reasons consistent with agency policy. 
 (b)  protected; 
 (i)  suspension with pay pending hearing results; 
 (ii)  personal decision making prior to discipline; 
 (iii)  removal from adverse or hostile work environment situations; 
 (iv)  fitness for duty or employee assistance; or 
 (v)  other reasons consistent with agency policy. 
 (c)  reward in lieu of cash; 
 (i)  the agency head or designee may grant paid administrative 
leave up to eight hours per occurrence; 
 (ii)  administrative leave in excess of eight hours may be granted 
with written approval by the agency head. 
 (iii)  administrative leave given as a reward in lieu of cash may not 
exceed 40 hours in a fiscal year. 
 (d)  student educational assistance. 

 (e)  An employee who satisfies the criteria in this subsection shall 
be granted up to two hours of administrative leave to vote in an official 
election. 
 (i)  The employee must: 
 (A)  have fewer than three total hours off the job between the time 
the polls open and close, and; 
 (B)  apply for the time in the previous 24 hours. 
 (ii)  Management may specify the hours when the employee may 
be absent. 
 (f)  Administrative leave shall be given for non-performance 
based purposes to employees who are on Family and Medical Leave 
or a military leave of absence if the leave would have been given 
had the employee been in a working status. 
 (2)  With the exception of administrative leave used as a reward, 
as described in R477-7(1)(c), the agency head or designee may grant 
paid administrative leave up to ten consecutive working days per 
occurrence.  Administrative leave in excess of ten consecutive working 
days per occurrence may be granted by the agency head. 
 (3)  Administrative leave taken must be documented in the 
employee's leave record. 
 
R477-7-9.  [Funeral]Bereavement Leave. 
 An employee may receive a maximum of 24 hours 
[funeral]bereavement leave per occurrence with pay, at management's 
discretion, [to attend the funeral]following the death of a member of the 
employee's immediate family.  [Funeral]Bereavement leave may not be 
charged against accrued sick or annual leave. 
 (1)  The immediate family means relatives of the employee or 
spouse including in-laws, step-relatives, or equivalent relationship[ of 
the same degree] as follows: 
 (a)  spouse; 
 (b)  parents; 
 (c)  siblings; 
 (d)  children; 
 (e)  all levels of grandparents; or 
 (f)  all levels of grandchildren. 
 
R477-7-10.  Military Leave. 
 One day of military leave is the equivalent to the employee's 
normal workday but not to exceed eight hours. 
 (1)  An employee who is a member of the National Guard or 
Military Reserves is entitled to paid military leave not to exceed 15 
days per calendar year[ without loss of pay, annual leave or sick 
leave].  An employee shall be on official military orders and may not 
claim salary for nonworking days spent in military training or for 
traditional weekend training. 
 (2)  After the first 15 days, officers and employees of the state 
shall be granted military leave without pay for the period of active 
service or duty, including travel time, Section 39-3-1. 
 (a)  An employee may use accrued leave while on active duty. 
 (i)  Accrued sick leave may only be used if the reason for leave 
meets the conditions in R477-7-4. 
 (3)  An employee on military leave is eligible for any service 
awards or non-performance administrative leave he would otherwise 
be eligible to receive. 
 ([3]4)  An employee shall give notice of [active military 
service]official military orders as soon as [notified]possible. 
 ([4]5)  Upon [separation ]release from active military service 
under honorable conditions, an employee shall be [placed in the 
original position or one of like seniority, status and pay.  The 
cumulative length of time allowed for reemployment may not 
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exceed five years.  An employee is entitled to reemployment rights 
and benefits including increased pension and leave accrual.  An 
employee entering military leave may elect to have payment for 
annual leave deferred.  In order to be reemployed, an employee shall 
present evidence of military service and leave without pay status, 
and:]placed in a position in the following order of priority. 
 (a)  [for service less than 31 days, return at the beginning of the 
next regularly scheduled work period on the first full day after 
release from service, taking into account safe travel home plus an 
eight hour rest period;]If the period of service was for less than 91 
days, the employee shall be placed: 
 (i)  in the same position the employee held on the date of the 
commencement of the service in the uniformed services; or 
 (ii)  in the same position the employee would have held if the 
continuous employment of the employee had not been interrupted by 
the service. 
 (b)  [for service of more than 31 days but less than 181 days, 
submit an application for reemployment within 14 days of release 
from service; or]If the period of service was for more than 90 days, 
the employee shall be placed: 
 (i)  in a position of like seniority, status and salary, of the 
position the employee held on the date of the commencement of the 
service in the uniformed services; or 
 (ii)  in a position of like seniority, status, and salary the 
employee would have held if the continuous employment of the 
employee had not been interrupted by the service. 
 (c)  [for service of more than 180 days, submit an application 
for reemployment within 90 days of release from service.]The 
cumulative length of time allowed for reemployment may not 
exceed five years.  An employee is entitled to reemployment rights 
and benefits including increased pension and leave accrual.  An 
employee entering military leave may elect to have payment for 
annual leave deferred. 
 (6)  In order to be reemployed, an employee shall present 
evidence of military service, and: 
 (a)  for service less than 31 days, return at the beginning of the 
next regularly scheduled work period on the first full day after 
release from service unless impossible or unreasonable through no 
fault of the employee; 
 (b)  for service of more than 30 days but less than 181 days, 
submit a request for reemployment within 14 days of release from 
service, unless impossible or unreasonable through no fault of the 
employee; or 
 (c)  for service of more than 180 days, submit a request for 
reemployment within 90 days of release from service. 
 
R477-7-11.  Disaster Relief Volunteer Leave. 
 (1)  An employee may be granted leave from work with pay for an 
aggregate of 15 working days or 120 work hours in any 12 month 
period to participate in disaster relief services for the American Red 
Cross.  To request this leave an employee must be a certified disaster 
relief volunteer and file a written request with the employing agency. 
The request shall include: 
 (a)  a copy of a written request for the employee's services from an 
official of the American Red Cross; 
 (b)  the anticipated duration of the absence; 
 (c)  the type of service the employee is to provide for the 
American Red Cross; and 
 (d)  the nature and location of the disaster where the employee's 
services will be provided. 
 

R477-7-15.  Family and Medical Leave. 
 These sections, R477-7-15(1) through R477-7-15(10), are 
effective until January 1, 2007. 
 (1)  An employee is entitled to 12 weeks of family and medical 
leave in a 12 month period. 
 (a)  The amount of FMLA leave available to an employee shall be 
12 weeks minus any FMLA leave used in the immediately preceding 
12 month period. 
 (b)  Agency management shall approve FMLA leave for any of 
the following reasons: 
 (i)  birth of a child; 
 (ii)  adoption of a child; 
 (iii)  placement of a foster child; 
 (iv)  a serious health condition of the employee; or 
 (v)  care of a spouse, dependent child, or parent with a serious 
medical condition. 
 (c)  An employee on FMLA leave shall continue to receive the 
same health insurance benefits the employee was receiving prior to the 
commencement of FMLA leave. 
 (2)  To be eligible for family medical leave, the employee must: 
 (a)  be employed by the state for at least 12 months; 
 (b) be employed by the state for a minimum of 1250 hours worked 
as determined under FMLA during the 12 month period immediately 
preceding the commencement of leave; and 
 (c)  apply in writing to the agency when the reason for requesting 
family medical leave changes in the course of a year. 
 (3)  An employee, or an appropriate spokesperson, shall submit a 
leave request: 
 (a)  thirty days in advance for foreseeable needs; or 
 (b)  as soon as possible in emergencies. 
 (4)  Agency Responsibility 
 (a)  Agency management shall be responsible for: 
 (i)  documenting employee leave requests which qualify as FMLA 
leave; and 
 (ii)  designating any qualifying leave taken by an employee as 
FMLA leave.  All leave requests which qualify as FMLA leave shall be 
designated as such and shall be subject to all provisions of this rule; and 
 (iii)  notifying an employee orally or in writing of the designation 
within two business days, or as soon as a determination can be made 
that the leave request qualifies as FMLA leave if the agency does not 
initially have sufficient information to make a determination. 
 (A)  An oral notice must be confirmed in writing no later than the 
following payday. 
 (B)  If the payday is less than one week after the oral notice, then 
written notice must be issued by the subsequent payday. 
 (b)  Written notification to an employee shall include the 
following information: 
 (i)  that the leave will be counted against the employee's annual 
FMLA entitlement; 
 (ii)  any requirements for the employee to furnish medical 
certification of a serious health condition and the consequences of 
failing to do so; 
 (iii)  a statement explaining which types of leave the employee 
will be required to exhaust before going into a LWOP status; 
 (iv)  the requirement for the employee to make premium payments 
to maintain health benefits, the arrangements for making such 
payments, and the possible consequences of failure to make such 
payments on a timely basis; 
 (v)  the employee's potential liability for payment of health 
insurance premiums paid by the employer during the employee's 
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unpaid FMLA leave if the employee fails to return to work after taking 
FMLA leave; 
 (vi)  any requirement for the employee to present a fitness for duty 
certificate to be restored to employment; and 
 (vii)  the employee's rights to restoration to the same or an 
equivalent job upon return from leave. 
 (c)  Agencies may designate FMLA leave after the fact only: 
 (i)  if the reason for leave was previously unknown, provided the 
reason for leave is made known within two business days after the 
employee's return to work; or 
 (ii)  the agency has preliminarily designated the leave as FMLA 
leave and is awaiting medical certification. 
 (d)  Agencies shall allow the employee at least 15 calendar days to 
provide medical certification if FMLA leave is not foreseeable. 
 (e)  Agencies shall inform Group Insurance that an employee is 
approved for FMLA leave. 
 (5)  An employee shall be required to exhaust accrued annual 
leave, sick leave, converted sick leave and excess hours prior to going 
into leave without pay status for the family and medical leave period.  
An employee who takes family and medical leave in a leave without 
pay status must comply with R477-7-13. 
 (a)  An employee may choose to use compensatory time for an 
FMLA reason.  Any period of leave paid from the employee's accrued 
compensatory time account may not be counted against the employee's 
FMLA leave entitlement. 
 (6)  An employee shall be eligible to return to work under R477-7-
13. 
 (a)  If an employee has gone into leave without pay status and fails 
to return to work after FMLA leave has ended, an agency may recover, 
with certain exceptions, the health insurance premiums paid by the 
agency on the employee's behalf.  An employee is considered to have 
returned to work if the employee returns for at least 30 calendar days. 
 (b)  Exceptions to this provision include: 
 (i)  an FLSA exempt and schedule AB, AD and AR employee 
who has been denied restoration upon expiration of their leave time; 
 (ii)  an employee whose circumstances change unexpectedly 
beyond the employee's control during the leave period preventing the 
return to work at the end of 12 weeks. 
 (7)  Leave taken for purposes of childbirth, adoption, placement 
for adoption or foster care shall not be taken intermittently or on a 
reduced leave schedule unless the employee and employer mutually 
agree. 
 (8)  Leave required for certified medical reasons may be taken 
intermittently. 
 (9)  Leave taken for a serious health condition covered under 
workers' compensation may be counted towards an employee's FMLA 
entitlement.  Use of accrued paid leave shall not be required for FMLA 
leave at the same time the employee is collecting a workers' 
compensation benefit. 
 (10)  Medical records created for purposes of FMLA and the 
Americans with Disabilities Act must be maintained in accordance with 
confidentiality requirements of R477-2-5(6). 
 These sections, R477-7-15(1) through R477-7-15(11), are 
effective on January 1, 2007. 
 (1)  An employee is entitled to 12 weeks of family and medical 
leave each calendar year for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  birth of a child; 
 (b)  adoption of a child; 
 (c)  placement of a foster child; 
 (d)  a serious health condition of the employee; or 

 (e)  care of a spouse, dependent child, or parent with a serious 
medical condition. 
 (2)  An employee on FMLA leave shall continue to receive the 
same health insurance benefits the employee was receiving prior to the 
commencement of FMLA leave. 
 (3)  An employee on FMLA leave shall receive any administrative 
leave given for non-performance based reasons if the leave would 
have been given had the employee been in a working status. 
 (4)  To be eligible for family and medical leave, the employee 
must: 
 (a)  be employed by the state for at least 12 months; 
 (b) be employed by the state for a minimum of 1250 hours 
worked, as determined under FMLA, during the 12 month period 
immediately preceding the commencement of leave. 
 (5)  When an employee chooses to use FMLA leave, the 
employee or an appropriate spokesperson, shall apply in writing for 
the initial leave and when the reason for requesting family medical 
leave changes: 
 (a)  thirty days in advance for foreseeable needs; or 
 (b)  as soon as possible in emergencies. 
 (6)  An employee may use accrued annual leave, sick leave, 
converted sick leave, excess hours and compensatory time prior to 
going into leave without pay status for the family and medical leave 
period.  An employee who takes family and medical leave in a leave 
without pay status must comply with R477-7-13. 
 (7)  Any period of leave without pay for an employee with a 
serious health condition who is determined by a health care provider 
to be incapable of applying for Family and Medical Leave and has 
no agent or designee shall be designated as FMLA leave. 
 (8)  An employee with a serious health condition covered under 
workers' compensation may use FMLA leave concurrently with the 
workers' compensation benefit. 
 (9)  An employee shall be eligible to return to work under R477-7-
13. 
 (a)  If an employee has gone into leave without pay status and fails 
to return to work after FMLA leave has ended, an agency may recover, 
with certain exceptions, the health insurance premiums paid by the 
agency on the employee's behalf.  An employee is considered to have 
returned to work if the employee returns for at least 30 calendar days. 
 (b)  Exceptions to this provision include: 
 (i)  an FLSA exempt and schedule AB, AD and AR employee 
who has been denied restoration upon expiration of their leave time; 
 (ii)  an employee whose circumstances change unexpectedly 
beyond the employee's control during the leave period preventing the 
return to work at the end of 12 weeks. 
 (10)  Leave taken for purposes of childbirth, adoption, placement 
for adoption or foster care shall not be taken intermittently or on a 
reduced leave schedule unless the employee and employer mutually 
agree. 
 (11)  Medical records created for purposes of FMLA and the 
Americans with Disabilities Act must be maintained in accordance with 
confidentiality requirements of R477-2-5(7). 
 
R477-7-17.  Long Term Disability Leave. 
 (1)  An employee who is determined eligible for the Long Term 
Disability Program (LTD) shall be granted up to one year of medical 
leave, if warranted by a medical condition. 
 (a)  The medical leave begins on the last day the employee 
worked. LTD requires a three month waiting period before benefit 
payments begin.  During this period, an employee may use available 
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sick and converted sick leave.  When those balances are exhausted, an 
employee may use other leave balances available. 
 (b)  An employee determined eligible for Long Term Disability 
benefits shall be eligible for health insurance benefits the day after the 
last day worked.  The employee is responsible for 10% of the health 
insurance premium during the first year of disability, 20% during the 
second year of disability, and 30% thereafter until the employee is no 
longer covered by the long term disability program. 
 Upon approval of the LTD claim: 
 (i)  Biweekly salary payments that the employee may be receiving 
shall cease.  If the employee received any salary payments after the 
three month waiting period, the LTD benefit shall be offset by the 
amount received. 
 (ii)  The employee shall be paid for remaining balances of annual 
leave, compensatory hours and excess hours in a lump sum payment.  
This payment shall be made at the time LTD is approved unless the 
employee requests in writing to receive it upon separation from state 
employment.  No reduction of the LTD payment shall be made to offset 
this payment.  If the employee returns to work prior to one year after 
the last day worked, the employee has the option of buying back annual 
leave at the current hourly rate. 
 (iii)  An employee with a converted sick leave balance at the time 
of LTD eligibility shall have the option to receive a lump sum payout 
of all or part of the balance or to keep the balance intact to pay for 
health and life insurance upon retirement.  The payout shall be at the 
rate at the time of LTD eligibility. 
 (iv)  An employee who retires from state government directly 
from LTD may be eligible for[ up to five years] health and life 
insurance as provided in Subsection 67-19-14(2)(b)(ii). 
 (v)  Unused sick leave balance shall remain intact until the 
employee retires.  At retirement, the employee shall be eligible for the 
[cash payout]401(k) contribution and the purchase of health and life 
insurance as provided in Subsection 67-19-14(2)(c)(i). 
 (2)  An employee shall continue to accrue service credit for 
retirement purposes while receiving long term disability benefits. 
 (3)  Conditions for return from leave without pay shall include: 
 (a)  If an employee is able to return to work within one year of the 
last day worked, the agency shall place the employee in the previously 
held position or similar position in a comparable salary range provided 
the employee is able to perform the essential functions of the job with 
or without a reasonable accommodation. 
 (b)  If an employee is unable to perform the essential functions of 
the position because of a permanent disability that qualifies as a 
disability under the ADA, the agency shall offer the employee a 
reassignment to one or more immediately available vacant positions, 
for which the employee qualifies, and whose essential functions the 
employee is able to perform without a reasonable accommodation. 
 (c)  If an employee is unable to return to work within one year 
after the last day worked, the employee shall be separated from state 
employment. 
 (4)  An employee who files a fraudulent long term disability claim 
shall be disciplined according to the provisions of R477-11. 
 
KEY:  holidays, leave benefits, vacations 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34-43-103; 49-
9-203; 63-13-2; 67-19-6; 67-19-12.9; 67-19-14.5 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Amendments to this rule adjust the state policy on the setting 
of the overtime year and the payout of compensatory hours to 
exempt employees. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  A subsection is deleted 
from Section R477-8-2 and reinserted in Section R477-7-7.  
Section R477-8-6 is amended to allow agencies to establish 
an overtime year by division rather than for the agency and 
provides that an overtime year can only be changed when the 
current overtime year has lapsed.  The amendment also 
provides that compensatory time for a Fair Labor Standards 
Act (FLSA) exempt employee shall lapse at the end of the 
overtime year, when the employee transfers to another 
agency or terminates state employment.  Other amendments 
are nonsubstantive changes to the use of terms in order to be 
consistent through out the Department of Human Resource 
Management (DHRM) rules. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 20A-3-103, 67-19-6, and 67-19-6.7 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  No cost savings will accrue to the state 
with this amendment even though a transferring or terminating 
employee will be required to lapse compensatory time.  The 
state only pays for compensatory time if the employee has 
over 80 hours.  Current policy requires that these be paid out 
regardless. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by DHRM 
have no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Conroy Whipple or Linda Cooper at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3067 or 801-538-3208, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
cwhipple@utah.gov or LKCOOPER@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-8.  Working Conditions. 
R477-8-2.  Work Period. 
 (1)  Tasks shall be assigned and wages paid in return for work 
completed.  During the state's standard work week, each employee is 
responsible for fulfilling the essential functions of his job. 
 (a)  The state's standard work week begins Saturday and ends the 
following Friday. 
 (b)  State offices are typically open Monday through Friday from 
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  Agencies may adopt extended business hours to 
enhance service to the public, consistent with overtime provisions of 
R477-8-6. 
 (c)  An employee may negotiate for flexible starting and quitting 
times with the immediate supervisor as long as scheduling is consistent 
with overtime provisions of the rules R477-8-6. 

 (d)  Agencies may implement alternative work schedules 
approved by the Director. 
 (e)  An employee is required to be at work on time.  An employee 
who is late, regardless of the reason including inclement weather, shall 
make up the lost time by using accrued leave, leave without pay or, 
with management approval, adjust their work schedule. 
 (f)  An employee must work in increments of 15 minutes or more 
to receive [pay]salary for hours worked and overtime hours worked.  
This rule incorporates by reference 29 CFR 785.48 for rounding 
practices when calculating time worked.[ 
 (g)  An employee who satisfies the criteria in this subsection shall 
be granted up to two hours of administrative leave to vote in an official 
election. 
 (i)  The employee must: 
 (A)  have fewer than three total hours off the job between the time 
the polls open and close, and; 
 (B)  apply for the time in the previous 24 hours. 
 (ii)  Management may specify the hours when the employee may 
be absent.] 
 
R477-8-6.  Overtime. 
 The state's policy for overtime is adopted and incorporated from 
the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 CFR Parts 500 to 899(2002) and Utah 
Code Section 67-19-6.7. 
 (1)  Management may direct an employee to work overtime.  Each 
agency shall develop internal rules and procedures to ensure overtime 
usage is efficient and economical.  These policies and procedures shall 
include: 
 (a)  prior supervisory approval for all overtime worked; 
 (b)  recordkeeping guidelines for all overtime worked; 
 (c)  verification that there are sufficient funds in the budget to 
compensate for overtime worked. 
 (2)  Overtime compensation standards are identified for each job 
title in HRE as either FLSA nonexempt, or FLSA exempt. 
 (a)  An employee may appeal the FLSA designation to the agency 
human resource office and DHRM concurrently.  Further appeals must 
be filed directly with the United States Department of Labor, Wage and 
Hour Division.  The provisions of Sections 67-19-31 and 67-19a-301 
and Title 63, Chapter 46b shall not apply for FLSA appeals purposes. 
 (3)  An FLSA nonexempt employee may not work more than 40 
hours a week without management approval.  Overtime shall accrue 
when the employee actually works more than 40 hours a week.  Leave 
and holiday time taken within the work period shall not count as hours 
worked when calculating overtime accrual.  Hours worked over two or 
more weeks shall not be averaged with the exception of certain types of 
law enforcement, fire protection, and correctional employees. 
 (a)  An FLSA nonexempt employee shall sign a prior overtime 
agreement authorizing management to compensate the employee for 
overtime worked by actual payment or time off at time and one half. 
 (b)  An FLSA nonexempt employee may receive compensatory 
time for overtime up to a maximum of 80 hours.  Only with prior 
approval of the Executive Director, DHRM, may compensatory time 
accrue up to 240 hours for regular employees or up to 480 hours for 
peace or correctional officers, emergency or seasonal employees.  Once 
an employee reaches the maximum, additional overtime shall be paid 
on the payday for the period in which it was earned. 
 (4)  An FLSA exempt employee may not work more than 80 
hours in a pay period without management approval. Compensatory 
time shall accrue when the employee actually works more than 80 
hours in a work period.  Leave and holiday time taken within the work 
period may not count as hours worked when calculating compensatory 
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time.  Each agency shall compensate an FLSA exempt employee who 
works overtime by granting time off.  For each hour of overtime 
worked, an FLSA exempt employee shall accrue an hour of 
compensatory time.  Except for Schedule AB, Schedule AD Deputy 
and Division Directors[ and equivalents], and Schedule AQ, 
compensatory hours earned in excess of a base of 80 shall be paid down 
to 80. 
 (a)  Agencies shall establish in written policy a uniform overtime 
year either for the agency as a whole or by division and communicate 
it to employees.  If an agency fails to establish a uniform overtime year, 
the Executive Director, DHRM, and the Director of Finance, 
Department of Administrative Services, will determine the date for the 
agency at the end of one of the following pay periods: Five, Ten, 
Fifteen, Twenty, or the last pay period of the calendar year.  An agency 
may change the established overtime year only after the current 
overtime year has lapsed, unless justifiable reasons exist and the 
Executive Director, DHRM, has granted a written exception. 
 (b)  Any compensatory time earned by an FLSA exempt 
employee is not an entitlement, a benefit, nor a vested right. 
 (c)  Any compensatory time earned by an FLSA exempt employee 
shall lapse upon occurrence of any one of the following events: [when 
an employee transfers to another agency, terminates, retires, or 
otherwise does not return to work before the end of the overtime year.] 
 (i)  at the end of the employee's established overtime year; 
 (ii)  when an employee transfers to another agency; or 
 (iii)  when an employee terminates, retires, or otherwise does not 
return to work before the end of the overtime year. 
 ([i]d)  If an FLSA exempt employee's status changes to 
nonexempt, that employee's compensatory time earned while in exempt 
status shall lapse if not used by the end of the current overtime year. 
 ([d]e)  The agency head may approve overtime for career service 
exempt deputy and division directors, but overtime shall not be 
compensated with actual payment.  Schedule AB employees shall not 
be compensated for compensatory time except with time off. 
 (5)  Law enforcement, correctional and fire protection employees 
 (a)  To be considered for overtime compensation under this rule, a 
law enforcement or correctional officer must meet the following 
criteria: 
 (i)  be a uniformed or plainclothes sworn officer; 
 (ii)  be empowered by statute or local ordinance to enforce laws 
designed to maintain public peace and order, to protect life and 
property from accident or willful injury, and to prevent and detect 
crimes; 
 (iii)  have the power to arrest; 
 (iv)  be POST certified or scheduled for POST training; and 
 (v)  perform over 80 percent law enforcement duties. 
 (b)  Agencies shall select one of the following maximum work 
hour thresholds to determine when overtime compensation is granted to 
law enforcement or correctional officers designated FLSA nonexempt 
and covered under this rule. 
 (i)  171 hours in a work period of 28 consecutive days; or 
 (ii)  86 hours in a work period of 14 consecutive days. 
 (c)  Agencies shall select one of the following maximum work 
hour thresholds to determine when overtime compensation is granted to 
fire protection employees. 
 (i)  212 hours in a work period of 28 consecutive days; or 
 (ii)  106 hours in a work period of 14 consecutive days. 
 (d)  Agencies may designate a lesser threshold in a 14 day or 28 
day consecutive work period as long as it conforms to the following: 
 (i)  the Fair Labor Standards Act, Section 207(k); 
 (ii)  29 CFR 553.230; 

 (iii)  the state's payroll period; 
 (iv)  the approval of the Executive Director, DHRM. 
 (6)  Compensatory Time 
 (a)  Agency management shall arrange for an employee's use of 
compensatory time as soon as possible without unduly disrupting 
agency operations or endangering public health, safety or property. 
 (b)  Compensatory time balances for an FLSA nonexempt 
employee shall be paid down to zero in the same pay period that the 
employee is transferred from one agency to a different agency, 
promoted, reclassified, reassigned, or transferred to an FLSA exempt 
position.  The pay down for unused compensatory time balances shall 
be based on the employee's hourly rate of pay in the old position. 
 (7)  Time Reporting 
 (a)  An FLSA nonexempt employee must complete and sign a 
state approved biweekly time [sheet]record.  Time [sheets]records 
developed by the agency shall have the same elements of the state 
approved time [sheet]record and be approved by the Department of 
Administrative Services, Division of Finance. 
 (b)  An FLSA exempt employee who works more than 80 hours in 
a work period must record the total hours worked and the 
compensatory time used on a biweekly time [sheet]record.  All hours 
must be recorded in order to claim overtime.  Completion of the time 
[sheet]record is at agency discretion when no overtime is worked 
during the work period. 
 (8)  Hours Worked:  An FLSA nonexempt employee shall be 
compensated for all hours worked.  An employee who works 
unauthorized overtime may be subject to disciplinary action. 
 (a)  All time that an FLSA nonexempt employee is required to 
wait for an assignment while on duty, before reporting to duty, or 
before performing activities is counted towards hours worked. 
 (b)  Time spent waiting after being relieved from duty is not 
counted as hours worked if one or more of the following conditions 
apply: 
 (i)  the employee arrives voluntarily before their scheduled shift 
and waits before starting duties; 
 (ii)  the employee is completely relieved from duty and allowed to 
leave the job; 
 (iii)  the employee is relieved until a definite specified time; 
 (iv)  the relief period is long enough for the employee to use as the 
employee sees fit. 
 (c)  On-call time:  An employee required by agency management 
to be available for on-call work shall be compensated for on-call time at 
a rate of one hour for every 12 hours the employee is on-call. 
 (i)  Time is considered on-call time when the employee has 
freedom of movement in personal matters as long as the employee is 
available for call to duty. 
 (ii)  An employee must be directed by his supervisor, either 
verbally or in writing, that he is on call for a specified time period.  
Carrying a beeper or cell phone shall not constitute on-call time without 
a specific directive from a supervisor. 
 (iii)  The employee shall record the hours spent in on-call status on 
his time sheet in order to be paid. 
 (d)  Stand-by time:  An employee restricted to stand-by at a 
specified location ready for work must be paid full-time or overtime, as 
appropriate.  An employee must be paid for stand-by time if required to 
stand by the post ready for duty, even during lunch periods, equipment 
breakdowns, or other temporary work shutdowns. 
 (e)  The meal periods of guards, police, and other public safety or 
correctional officers and firefighters who are on duty more than 24 
consecutive hours must be counted as working time, unless an express 
agreement excludes the time. 
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 (f)  Commuting and Travel Time: 
 (i)  Normal commuting time from home to work and back shall 
not count towards hours worked. 
 (ii)  Time an employee spends traveling from one job site to 
another during the normal work schedule shall count towards hours 
worked. 
 (iii)  Time an employee spends traveling on a special one day 
assignment shall count towards hours worked except meal time and 
ordinary home to work travel. 
 (iv)  Travel that keeps an employee away from home overnight 
does not count towards hours worked if it is time spent outside of 
regular working hours as a passenger on an airplane, train, boat, bus, or 
automobile. 
 (v)  Travel as a passenger counts toward hours worked if it is time 
spent during regular working hours.  This applies to nonworking days, 
as well as regular working days.  However, regular meal period time is 
not counted. 
 (g)  Excess Hours:  An employee may use excess hours the same 
way as annual leave. 
 (i)  Agency management shall approve excess hours before the 
work is performed. 
 (ii)  Agency management may deny the use of any leave time, 
other than holiday leave, that results in an employee accruing excess 
hours. 
 (iii)  An employee on schedule AB may not accumulate more than 
80 excess hours. 
 (iv)  Agency management may pay out excess hours under one of 
the following: 
 (A)  paid off automatically in the same pay period accrued; 
 (B)  all hours accrued above 80; or 
 (C)  an employee on schedule AB shall only be paid for excess 
hours at separation. 
 
KEY:  breaks, telecommuting, overtime, dual employment 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 67-
19-6.7; 20A-3-103 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-9 
Employee Conduct 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28687 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 10:55 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Amendments to this rule will make an employee responsible 
for compliance with the federal Hatch Act when participating in 
covered political activity. 
 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendments to 
Section R477-9-4 require an employee who participates in 
political activity to comply with the federal Hatch Act and 
mandates that an agency shall terminate any employee who is 
in violation of the Act.  Nonsubstantive amendments to 
Section R477-9-5 change the term "pay" to "salary" for 
consistency in the use of these terms throughout the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) rules. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 67-19-6 and 67-19-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will impact only a few state 
employees and will have no cost impact on agencies of the 
state. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by DHRM 
have no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-9.  Employee Conduct. 
R477-9-4.  Political Activity. 
 A state career service employee may voluntarily participate in 
political activity according to the provisions in this rule or other federal 
laws.  The employee shall comply with the provisions of the federal 
Hatch Act, 5 U.S.C. Sec. 1501 through 1508.  The following rules 
apply to a career service employee in any salary range and position. 
 (1)  Any state career service employee elected to any partisan or 
full-time nonpartisan political office shall be granted a leave of absence 
without pay while being monetarily compensated for service in political 
office.  An employee shall not receive annual leave while serving in a 
political office. 
 (2)  During work time, no career service employee may engage in 
any political activity.  No person shall solicit political contributions 
from employees of the executive branch during hours of employment.  
However, a state employee may voluntarily contribute to any party or 
any candidate. 
 (3)  Decisions regarding employment, promotion, demotion or 
dismissal or any other human resource actions shall not be based on 
partisan political activity. 
 (4)  Regardless of other provisions in these rules, no member of 
the Utah State Highway Patrol may use official authority or influence 
to interfere with an election or to affect election results.  No person may 
induce or attempt to induce any member of the Utah State Highway 
Patrol to participate in any prohibited activity. 
 (5)  This rule shall not apply to an employee who is restricted or 
prevented from engaging in political activity through the provisions of 
the federal Hatch Act.  [To determine whether an employee shall 
adhere to the federal Hatch Act, an employee may contact DHRM or 
the employing agency's human resource office for guidelines.]Agency 
management shall dismiss any employee whose employment is found 
to be in violation of the provisions of this law by the Merit Systems 
Protection Board.[ 
 (6)  Violations of law governing political activity shall be reported 
in writing to the Executive Director, DHRM, who shall investigate the 
validity of any allegation and assess the extent to which any activity 
was knowingly and willfully conducted in violation of law.] 
 
R477-9-5.  Employee Indebtedness to the State. 
 (1)  An employee indebted to the state because of an action or 
performance in official duties may have a portion of [pay]salary that 
exceeds the minimum federal wage withheld.  Overtime [pay]salary 
shall not be withheld. 

 (a)  The following three conditions must be met before 
withholding of [pay]salary may occur: 
 (i)  The debt must be a legitimately owed amount which can be 
validated through physical documentation or other evidence. 
 (ii)  The employee must know about and, in most cases, 
acknowledge the debt.  As much as possible, the employee should 
provide written authorization to withhold the [pay]salary. 
 (iii)  An employee must be notified of this rule which allows the 
state to withhold [pay]salary. 
 (b)  An employee separating from state service will have 
[pay]salary withheld from the last paycheck. 
 (c)  An employee going on leave without pay for more than two 
pay periods may have [pay]salary withheld from their last paycheck. 
 (d)  The state may withhold an employee's [pay]salary to satisfy 
the following specific obligations: 
 (i)  travel advances where travel and reimbursement for the travel 
has already occurred; 
 (ii)  state credit card obligations where the state's share of the 
obligation has been reimbursed to the employee but not paid to the 
credit card company by the employee; 
 (iii)  evidence that the employee negligently caused loss or 
damage of state property; 
 (iv)  payroll advance obligations that are signed by the employee 
and that the Division of Finance authorizes; 
 (v)  misappropriation of state assets for unauthorized personal use 
or for personal financial gain.  This includes reparation for employee 
theft of state property or use of state property for personal financial gain 
or benefit; 
 (vi)  overpayment of [pay]salary determined by evidence that an 
employee did not work the hours for which they received [pay]salary or 
was not eligible for the benefits received and paid for by the state; 
 (vii)  excessive reimbursement of funds from flexible 
reimbursement accounts; 
 (viii)  other obligations that satisfy the requirements of R477-9-
4(1) above. 
 (2) This rule does not apply to state employee obligations to other 
state agencies where the obligation was not caused by their actions or 
performance as an employee. 
 
KEY:  conflict of interest, government ethics, Hatch Act, personnel 
management 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2004]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 67-
19-19 
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Employee Development 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28684 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 10:52 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Amendments to this rule eliminate the highest level performer 
program, make substantial changes to the state policy on 
corrective action, and clarify what monies are reimbursed to 
an employee who participates in an agency educational 
assistance program. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Amendments to Section 
R477-10-1 delete the option for an agency to establish a 
highest level performer program.  Amendments to Section 
R477-10-2 are a significant change in state policy.  Agencies 
will now be required to consult with the Department of Human 
Resource Management (DHRM) prior to imposing corrective 
action.  A written plan will now be just one of several options 
for corrective action.  Criteria are provided in rule that define 
an appropriate written plan.  Other options for corrective 
action are deleted; referral for personal counseling, career 
counseling and outplacement, and a period of constant 
review.  Agency management will also be required to notify an 
employee who successfully completes corrective action that 
discipline will be imposed if the employee reverts back to the 
behavior that resulted in the corrective action.  Amendments 
to Section R477-10-5 clarify that an employee will not be 
reimbursed for educational expenses paid with scholarships, 
subsidies, or grants while participating in the state-sponsored 
education assistance program. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 67-19-6 and 67-19-12.4 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  A small savings may accrue to the state 
because an employee will no longer be eligible for educational 
reimbursement for expenses paid with scholarships, subsidies 
or grants. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by DHRM 
have no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 

government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-10.  Employee Development. 
R477-10-1.  Performance Evaluation. 
 Agency management shall develop an employee performance 
management system consistent with these rules and subject to approval 
by the Executive Director, DHRM.  The Executive Director, DHRM, 
may authorize exceptions to provisions of this rule consistent with 
R477-2-2.  For this rule, the word employee refers to a career service 
employee, unless otherwise indicated. 
 (1)  An acceptable performance management system shall satisfy 
the following criteria: 
 (a)  Performance standards and expectations for each employee 
shall be specifically written in a performance plan by August 30 of each 
fiscal year. 
 (b)  Managers or supervisors provide employees with regular 
verbal and written feedback based on the standards of performance and 
conduct outlined in the performance plan. 
 (c)  Each employee shall be informed concerning the actions to be 
taken, time frames, and the supervisor's role in providing assistance to 
improve performance and increase the value of service. 
 (d)  Each employee shall have the right to include written 
comment with his performance evaluation. 
 (e)  Agency management shall select a performance management 
rating system or a combination of systems by August 30 to be effective 
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for the entire fiscal year.  The rating system shall be one or more of the 
following: 
 

TABLE 
 
SYSTEM      # RATING               POINTS 
  1           Pass                   2 
              Fail                   0 
  2           Exceptional            3 
              Successful             2 
              Unsuccessful           0 
  3           Exceptional            3 
              Highly Successful      2.5 
              Successful             2 
              Unsuccessful           0 
  4           Exceptional            3 
              Highly Successful      2.5 
              Successful             2 
              Marginal               1 
              Unsuccessful           0 

 
 [(2)  In addition to the above ratings, agency management may 
establish a rating category for highest level performers under the 
following conditions: 
 (a)  Each employee who receives this rating shall receive a 
performance rating of 4. 
 (b)  Agencies shall devise and publish the criteria they will use to 
select the highest level performers by August 30 of each year.  
Selection criteria for non-supervisory employees shall be comparable to 
the Utah Code 67-19c-101(3)(c).  Selection criteria for supervisory or 
management employees shall be comparable to "The Manager of the 
Year Award." 
 (3)](2)  Each state employee shall receive a performance 
evaluation effective on or before the beginning of the first pay period of 
each fiscal year. 
 (a)  A probationary employee shall receive a performance 
evaluation at the end of the probationary period and again prior to the 
beginning of the first pay period of the fiscal year. 
 [(4)](3)  The employee shall sign the evaluation.  Signing the 
evaluation only means that the employee has reviewed the evaluation.  
Refusal to sign the evaluation shall constitute insubordination, subject 
to discipline. 
 (a)  The evaluation form shall include a space for the employee's 
comments.  The employee may comment in writing, either in the space 
provided or on a separate attachment. 
 
R477-10-2.  Corrective Action. 
 When an employee's performance does not meet established 
standards due to failure to maintain skills, incompetence, or 
inefficiency, and after consulting with DHRM, agency management 
[shall]may take appropriate, and documented[, and clearly labeled] 
corrective action in accordance with the following rules: 
 (1)  The supervisor shall discuss the substandard performance 
with the employee [to discover the reasons and to develop ]and 
determine[ an] appropriate[ written] corrective action[ plan].  [The]If a 
written corrective action plan is developed or a written warning issued, 
the employee shall sign the[ written corrective action] plan or the 
warning to certify that it has been reviewed.  Refusal to sign the 
corrective action plan or warning shall constitute insubordination 
subject to discipline.[  An employee shall have the right to submit 
written comment to accompany the corrective action plan.] 
 (2)  An employee shall have the right to submit written comment 
to accompany the corrective action plan. 
 ([a]3)  Corrective actions shall include one or more of the 
following: 

 (a)  a written plan to include the following elements; 
 (i)  a designated period of time for improvement; 
 (ii)  performance expectations; 
 (iii)  closer supervision to include regular feedback of the 
employee's progress; 
 (iv)  disciplinary action for failure to improve; and, 
 (v)  written performance evaluation at the conclusion of the 
corrective action plan. 
 ([i]b)  closer supervision; 
 ([ii]c)  training;[ 
 (iii)  referral for personal counseling by an agency head's 
approved designee;] 
 ([iv]d)  reassignment; 
 ([v]e)  use of appropriate leave;[ 
 (vi)  career counseling and outplacement; 
 (vii)  period of constant review;] 
 ([viii]f)  opportunity for remediation; 
 ([ix]g)  written warnings. 
 [(2)  The supervisor shall designate an appropriate corrective 
action period and shall provide periodic evaluation of the employee's 
progress. 
 (3)  At the conclusion of corrective action, a formal performance 
evaluation shall be written and documented in the personnel record. 
 (4)  When the corrective action plan is completed and the 
employee has not demonstrated improved performance that is 
satisfactory, the employee shall be disciplined according to R477-11.  
The written record of the corrective action shall satisfy the requirement 
of Section 67-19-18(1).](4)  Following successful completion of 
corrective action, the supervisor shall notify the employee of 
disciplinary consequences for a recurrence of the deficient work 
performance.[ 
 (5)  DHRM shall provide assistance to agency management upon 
request.] 
 
R477-10-5.  Education Assistance. 
 State agencies may assist an employee in the pursuit of 
educational goals by granting administrative leave to attend classes, a 
subsidy of educational expenses, or both. 
 (1)  Prior to granting education assistance, agencies shall establish 
policies which shall include the following conditions: 
 (a)  The educational program will provide a benefit to the state. 
 (b)  The employee shall successfully complete the required course 
work or the educational requirements of a program. 
 (c)  The employee shall agree to repay any assistance received if 
the employee resigns from state employment within 12 months of 
completing educational work. 
 (d)  Education assistance shall not exceed $5,250 per employee in 
any one calendar year unless approved in advance by the agency head. 
 (e)  The employee shall disclose all [sources of funding being 
received]scholarships, subsidies and grant monies provided to the 
employee for the educational program. 
 (i)  Except for funding that must be repaid by the employee, the 
amount reimbursed by the State may not include funding received 
from[ other] sources in R477-10-5(1)(e). 
 (2)  Agency management shall be responsible for determining the 
taxable or nontaxable status of educational assistance reimbursements. 
 (3)  Agencies may offer educational assistance to law enforcement 
and correctional officers consistent with section 67-19-12.2 and with 
these criteria: 
 (a)  The program shall comply with R477-10-5(1) and R477-10-
5(2). 
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 (b)  The program shall be published and available to all qualified 
employees.  To qualify: 
 (i)  The employee's job duties shall satisfy the conditions of 
subsection 67-19-12.2 (1). 
 (ii)  The employee shall have completed probation. 
 (iii)  The employee shall maintain a grade point average of at least 
3.0 or equivalent from an accredited college or university. 
 (c)  The program may provide additional compensation for an 
employee who completes a higher degree on or after April 30, 2001, in 
a subject area directly related to the employee's duties.  If this policy is 
adopted, then: 
 (i)  Two steps shall be given for an associate's degree. 
 (ii)  Two steps shall be given for a bachelor's degree. 
 (iii)  Two steps shall be given for a master's degree. 
 
KEY:  educational tuition, employee performance evaluations, 
employee productivity, training programs 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 67-
19-12.4 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-11 
Discipline 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28683 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 10:51 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Amendments to this rule change the state policy on discipline 
and add clarifying language for leave with pay status. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R477-11-1 is 
amended to add noncompliance with standards of conduct as 
a reason for which an employee may be disciplined and 
stipulate that an employee who is demoted shall receive a 
reduction in the current actual wage.  The mandatory 
reduction in current actual wage is required by H.B. 269 which 
passed in the 2006 General Session.  Other changes are 
nonsubstantive amendments in the use of the terms "salary", 
"pay", and "current actual wage" in order to be consistent in 
their usage throughout the Department of Human Resource 
Management (DHRM) rules.  One amendment to Section 
R477-11-2 clarifies that an employee may be placed on paid 
administrative leave rather than suspended with pay when an 
appeal is pending.  This terminology is more consistent with 
definitions used in the DHRM rules.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 269 is 
found at Chapter 139, Laws of Utah 2006, and will be effective 
07/01/2006.) 
 

STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 63, Chapter 2; and Sections 67-19-1 and 67-19-18 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  Policy changes in this rule will be 
handled through existing administrative procedures and will 
not impose any additional administrative or cost burden on 
agencies. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by DHRM 
have no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Conroy Whipple or Linda Cooper at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3067 or 801-538-3208, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
cwhipple@utah.gov or LKCOOPER@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-11.  Discipline. 
R477-11-1.  Disciplinary Action. 
 (1)  Agency management may discipline any employee for any of 
the following causes or reasons: 
 (a)  noncompliance with these rules, agency or other applicable 
policies, including but not limited to safety policies, agency 
professional standards, standards of conduct and workplace policies; 
 (b)  work performance that is inefficient or incompetent; 
 (c)  failure to maintain skills and adequate performance levels; 
 (d)  insubordination or disloyalty to the orders of a superior; 
 (e)  misfeasance, malfeasance, nonfeasance or failure to advance 
the good of the public service; 
 (f)  any incident involving intimidation, physical harm, or threats 
of physical harm against co-workers, management, or the public; 
 (g)  no longer meets the requirements of the position. 
 (2)  All disciplinary actions of career service employees shall be 
governed by principles of due process and Title 67, Chapter 19a.  The 
disciplinary process shall include all of the following, except as 
provided under Subsection 67-19-18(4): 
 (a)  The agency representative notifies the employee in writing of 
the proposed discipline and the underlying reasons supporting the 
intended action. 
 (b)  The employee's reply must be received within five working 
days in order to have the agency representative consider the reply 
before discipline is imposed. 
 (c) If an employee waives the right to respond or does not reply 
within the time frame established by the agency representative or 
within five days, whichever is longer, discipline may be imposed in 
accordance with these rules. 
 (3)  After a career service employee has been informed of the 
reasons for the proposed discipline and has been given an opportunity 
to respond and be responded to, the agency representative may 
discipline that employee, or any career service exempt employee not 
subject to the same procedural rights, by imposing one or more of the 
following: 
 (a)  written reprimand; 
 (b)  suspension without pay up to 30 calendar days per incident 
requiring discipline; 
 (c)  demotion of any employee through one of the following 
methods: 
 (i)  An employee may be moved from a position in one job to a 
position in another job having a lower maximum salary range and 
[may]shall receive a reduction in [pay]the current actual wage. 
 (ii)  A demotion within the employee's current [pay]salary range 
may be accomplished by lowering the employee's[ salary rate back on 
the range]current actual wage, as determined by the agency head or 
designee. 

 (d)  dismissal. 
 An agency head shall dismiss or demote a career service 
employee only in accordance with the provisions of Subsection 67-19-
18(5) and R477-11-2. 
 (4)  If agency management determines that a career service 
employee endangers or threatens the peace and safety of others or poses 
a grave threat to the public service or is charged with aggravated or 
repeated misconduct, the agency may impose the following actions, as 
provided by subsection 67-19-18-(4), pending an investigation and 
determination of facts: 
 (a)  paid administrative leave; or 
 (b)  temporary reassignment to another position or work location 
at the same [rate of pay]current actual wage. 
 (5)  At the time disciplinary action is imposed, the employee shall 
be notified in writing of the discipline, the reasons for the discipline, the 
effective date and length of the discipline. 
 (6)  Disciplinary actions are subject to the grievance and appeals 
procedure as provided by law for career service employees only.  The 
employee and the agency representative may agree in writing to waive 
or extend any grievance step, or the time limits specified for any 
grievance step. 
 
R477-11-2.  Dismissal or Demotion. 
 An employee may be dismissed or demoted for cause as explained 
under R477-10-2 and R477-11-1, and through the process outlined in 
this rule. 
 (1)  An agency head or appointing officer may dismiss or demote 
a probationary employee or career service exempt employee without 
right of appeal.  Such dismissal or demotion may be for any reason or 
for no reason. 
 (2)  No career service employee shall be dismissed or demoted 
from a career service position unless the agency head or designee has 
observed the Grievance Procedure Rules and law cited in R137-1-13 
and Title 67, Chapter 19a, and the following procedures: 
 (a)  The agency head or designee shall notify the employee in 
writing of the specific reasons for the proposed dismissal or demotion. 
 (b)  The employee shall have up to five working days to reply.  
The employee must reply within five working days for the agency head 
or designee to consider the reply before discipline is imposed. 
 (c)  The employee shall have an opportunity to be heard by the 
agency head or designee.  The hearing before the department head or 
designee shall be strictly limited to the specific reasons raised in the 
notice of intent to demote or dismiss. 
 (i)  At the hearing the employee may present, either in person, in 
writing, or with a representative, comments or reasons as to why the 
proposed disciplinary action should not be taken.  The agency head or 
designee is not required to receive or allow other witnesses on behalf of 
the employee. 
 (ii) The employee may present documents, affidavits or other 
written materials at the hearing.  However, the employee is not entitled 
to present or discover documents within the possession or control of the 
department or agency that are private, protected or controlled under 
Chapter 63-2, the Governmental Access and Records Management Act. 
 (d)  Following the hearing, the employee may be dismissed or 
demoted if the agency head finds adequate cause or reason. 
 (e)  The employee shall be notified in writing of the agency head's 
decision.  Specific reasons shall be provided if the decision is a 
demotion or dismissal. 



DAR File No. 28685 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 61 

 (3)  Agency management may [suspend an employee with 
pay]place an employee on paid administrative leave pending the 
administrative appeal to the agency head. 
 
KEY:  discipline of employees, dismissal of employees, grievances, 
government hearings 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 67-
19-18; 63-2 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-12 
Separations 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28685 

FILED:  04/28/2006, 10:53 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Amendments to this rule add clarity to the state policy on 
voluntary terminations from state employment and the 
employee right to rescind the termination.  This is at the 
request of agencies.  The amendments also implement a 
change to Section 67-19-3 required by the passage of H.B. 
269 in the 2006 General Session.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 269 
(2006) is found at Chapter 139, Laws of Utah 2006, and will 
be effective 07/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Amendments to Section 
R477-12-1 clarify that a notice of retirement is a resignation 
that may be rescinded within 24 hours by the employee.  
Amendments to Section R477-12-3 implement the new 
definition of temporary employee placed in Section 67-19-3 by 
the passage of H.B. 269 (2006).  This is an important fine 
tuning of the reduction in force process that will prevent the 
termination of all new schedule AT employees in the new 
Department of Technology Services if there is ever a 
reduction in force in that agency. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 67-19-6, 67-19-17, and 67-19-18 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The amendments to this rule simply 
clarify due process and will have no impact on agency 
budgets. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the  
 
 
 

extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) have 
no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Conroy Whipple or Linda Cooper at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3067 or 801-538-3208, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
cwhipple@utah.gov or LKCOOPER@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
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R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-12.  Separations. 
R477-12-1.  Resignation. 
 A career service employee may resign or retire by giving written 
or verbal notice to the immediate supervisor or an appropriate 
representative of management in the work unit. 
 (1)  Agency management may accept an employee's notice of 
resignation or retirement without prejudice when[ the resignation is] 
received at least ten working days before its effective date. 
 (2)  After submitting a notice of resignation or retirement, an 
employee may withdraw it on the next working day by notifying the 
immediate supervisor or an appropriate representative of management 
in the work unit.[ 
 (a)  After the close of the next working day following submission, 
withdrawal of a resignation may occur only with the consent of agency 
management.] 
 ([b]a)  If the[ resignation] withdrawal notice is verbal, the 
employee shall submit a written notification within 24 hours of the 
verbal notice. 
 (b)  After the close of the next working day following submission, 
withdrawal of a resignation or retirement may occur only with the 
consent of agency management. 
 
R477-12-3.  Reduction in Force. 
 Reductions in force shall be required when there are inadequate 
funds, a change of workload, or lack of work. Reductions in force shall 
be governed by DHRM business practices, standards and the following 
rules: 
 (1)  When staff will be reduced in one or more categories of work, 
agency management shall develop a work force adjustment plan 
(WFAP).  A career service employee shall only be given formal written 
notification of separation after a WFAP has been reviewed and 
approved by the Executive Director, DHRM, or designee.  The 
following items shall be considered in developing the work force 
adjustment plan: 
 (a)  the categories of work to be eliminated, including positions 
impacted through bumping, as determined by management; 
 (b)  a decision by agency management allowing or disallowing 
bumping; 
 (c)  specifications of measures taken to facilitate the placement of 
affected employees through normal attrition, retirement, reassignment, 
relocation, and movement to vacant positions for which the employee 
qualifies; 
 (d)  a list of all affected employees showing the retention points 
for each employee. 
 (2)  Eligibility for RIF. 
 (a)  Only career service employees who have been identified in an 
approved WFAP and given an opportunity for a hearing with the 
agency head may be RIF'd. 
 (b)  An employee covered by USERRA and in a leave without 
pay status must be identified, assigned retention points, and notified of 
the RIF of the previous position in the same manner as a career service 
employee. 
 (3)  Retention points shall be calculated for all affected employees 
within a category of work as follows: 
 (a)  Seniority shall be determined by the length of total state career 
service, which commenced in a competitive career service position for 
which the probationary period was successfully completed. 
 (i)  For part-time work, length of service shall be determined in 
proportion to hours actually worked. 

 (ii)  Exempt service time subsequent to attaining career service 
tenure with no break in service shall also be counted for purposes of 
seniority. 
 (iii)  In the event of ties in retention points, the amount of time 
employed in the affected agency or department serves as the tie 
breaker. 
 (b)  Length of state service shall be measured in years and 
additional days shown as a fraction of a year. 
 (c)  Time spent in a leave without pay status for service in the 
uniformed services covered under USERRA shall be counted for 
purposes of seniority. 
 (d)  Any time spent in leave without pay status, to include 
worker's compensation leave, may not be counted for purposes of 
seniority. 
 (e)  An employee within a category of work, including employees 
covered under USERRA in a leave without pay status, shall be assigned 
a job proficiency rating.  The job proficiency rating shall be an average 
of the last three annual performance evaluation ratings as described in 
R477-10-1(1)(e).  If employees have had fewer than three annual 
performance evaluations, the proficiency ratings shall be an average of 
all ratings received as of that time. 
 (f)  The numeric values of each employee's job proficiency rating 
and that employee's actual length of service shall be added together to 
produce the retention points. 
 (g)  Retention points shall be calculated for an employee covered 
under USERRA and in a leave without pay status in the same manner 
as for current employees in the affected class.  If there are no 
performance evaluation ratings for an employee covered under 
USERRA, no proficiency rating shall be included in the retention 
points. 
 (4)  The order of separation shall be: 
 (a)  [career service exempt employees]temporary employees; 
 (b)  probationary employees; 
 (c)  career service employees with the lowest retention points are 
released first.  In the event of ties in retention points, the amount of 
seniority in the affected agency serves as the tie breaker. 
 (5)  An employee, including one covered under USERRA in a 
leave without pay status, who is separated due to a reduction in force 
shall be given formal written notification of separation, allowing for a 
minimum of 20 working days prior to the effective date of the RIF. 
 (6)  Appeals. 
 (a)  An employee notified of separation due to a reduction in force 
may appeal to the agency head for an administrative review by 
submitting a written notice of appeal within 20 working days after the 
receipt of written notification of separation. 
 (b)  The employee may appeal the decision of the agency head 
according to the appeals procedure of the Career Service Review 
Board. 
 (7)  Reappointment of RIF'd individual. 
 (a)  A RIF'd individual is eligible for reappointment into a half 
time or greater career service position for which he qualifies in a salary 
range comparable to or less than the last career service position held, 
for a period of one year following the date of separation.  R477-4-4 
applies for selection of individuals from the reappointment register. 
 (i)  The Executive Director, DHRM, shall maintain a 
reappointment register and shall make the final determination on 
whether an eligible RIF'd individual meets the job requirements for 
position vacancies. 
 (ii)  A RIF'd individual shall remain on the state reappointment 
register for 12 months from the date of separation, unless reappointed 
sooner. 
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 (b)  During a statewide mandated freeze on hiring wherein the 
Governor disallows increases in each agency's FTEs, eligibility for the 
reappointment register shall be extended for the entire length of time 
covered by a freeze. 
 (c)  When determining comparable salary ranges in cases of RIF 
eligibility, a comparison of the previous career service salary range to 
the current career service salary range maximum step is required.  A 
RIF'd individual shall have RIF rights to any vacant position for which 
he qualifies.  The basis for comparison shall be: 
 (i)  The current salary range of a vacant position if it is equal to or 
lesser than the individual's previous salary range, or; 
 (ii)  If the maximum step of the position previously held by the 
RIF'd individual has moved upward, the new range shall be used. 
 (d)  A RIF'd individual who is reappointed to a career service 
position shall not be required to serve a probationary period.  The RIF'd 
individual shall enjoy all the rights and privileges of a regular career 
service employee. 
 (e)  At agency discretion, an individual reappointed from a 
reappointment register may buy back part or all accumulated annual 
and converted sick leave that was cashed out when RIF'd. 
 (8)  Appeal rights of RIF'd individual.  An individual whose name 
is on the reappointment register as a result of a reduction in force may 
use the grievance procedure regarding their reappointment rights. 
 (9)  A career service employee in an exempt position.  Any career 
service employee accepting an exempt position without a break in 
service, who is later not retained by the appointing officer, unless 
discharged for cause as provided for by these rules, shall be placed on 
the reappointment register. 
 (a)  The Executive Director, DHRM, shall maintain a 
reappointment register for this purpose. An individual on this register 
shall: 
 (i)  be appointed to any half time or greater career service position 
for which the individual qualifies in a [pay]salary range comparable to 
the individual's last position in the career service, provided an opening 
exists; or 
 (ii)  be appointed to any lesser career service position for which 
the individual qualifies, pending the opening of a position at the last 
career service salary range held. 
 (b)  The Executive Director, DHRM, shall make the final 
determination on whether an eligible individual meets the job 
requirements for position vacancies. 
 (c)  The individual shall declare a desire to remain on the 
reappointment register upon inquiry by DHRM. 
 (d)  In lieu of placement on the reappointment register, 
management may place an employee in a vacant career service position 
consistent with R477-12-3(7)(c) for which he qualifies.  A 
memorandum of understanding waiving all appeal rights concerning 
the reassignment shall be signed by the employee. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, employees' rights, grievances, 
retirement 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2005]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  June 11, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 
[69]67-19-17; [69]67-19-18 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-14 
Substance Abuse and Drug-Free 

Workplace 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28686 
FILED:  04/28/2006, 10:54 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This will 
amend the state policy on the options available to an agency 
when an employee has a positive confirmation test for a 
controlled substance.  The intent is to speed up due process 
when dealing with these employees. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendment to Section 
R477-14-1 will eliminate the option for agencies to place an 
employee on corrective action when there is a positive 
confirmation test for a controlled substance.  The only option 
available to agencies will be discipline or no action. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 67-19-6, 67-19-18, 67-19-34, 67-19-37, and 
67-19-38 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This change in policy will impact just a 
few employees and will have no impact on an agencies 
budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent 
allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 DHRM has authority to write rules only to the extent allowed 
by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 67, Chapter 19. 
 This act limits the provisions of career service and these rules 
to employees of the executive branch of state government. 
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COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) have 
no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or saving on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no affect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Linda Cooper or Conroy Whipple at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-3208 or 801-538-3067, by FAX at 801-538-
3081 or 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
LKCOOPER@utah.gov or cwhipple@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-14.  Substance Abuse and Drug-Free Workplace. 
R477-14-1.  Rules Governing a Drug-Free Workplace. 
 (1)  This rule implements the federal Drug-Free Workplace Act of 
1988, Omnibus Transportational Employee Testing Act of 1991, 49 
USC 2505; 49 USC 2701; and 49 USC 3102, and Section 67-19-36 
authorizing drug and alcohol testing, in order to: 
 (a)  Provide a safe and productive work environment that is free 
from the effect of unlawful use, distribution, dispensing, manufacture, 
and possession of controlled substances or alcohol use during work 
hours.  See the Federal Controlled Substance Act, 41 USC 701. 
 (b)  Identify, correct and remove the effects of drug and alcohol 
abuse on job performance. 
 (c)  Assure the protection and safety of employees and the public. 
 (2)  State employees may not unlawfully manufacture, dispense, 
possess, distribute or use any controlled substance or alcohol during 
working hours, on state property, or while operating a state vehicle at 
any time, or other vehicle while on duty except where legally 
permissible. 

 (a)  Employees shall follow R477-14-1(2) outside of work if any 
violations directly affect the eligibility of state agencies to receive 
federal grants or to qualify for federal contracts of $25,000 or more. 
 (3)  All drug or alcohol testing shall be done in compliance with 
applicable federal and state regulations and policies. 
 (4)  All drug or alcohol testing shall be conducted by a federally 
certified or licensed physician or clinic, or testing service approved by 
DHRM. 
 (5)  Drug or alcohol tests with positive results or a possible false 
positive result shall require a confirmation test. 
 (6)  Employees in non safety sensitive positions are subject to one 
or more of the following drug or alcohol tests: 
 (a)  reasonable suspicion; 
 (b)  critical incident; 
 (c)  post accident; 
 (d)  return to duty; 
 (e)  follow up. 
 (7)  For employees in non safety sensitive positions, the State of 
Utah will use the same cut off levels for positive drug tests as the 
federal government.  This rule incorporates by reference the 
requirements of 49 CFR 40.40, Sections 85 to 87 (2002), Laboratory 
Analysis Procedures. 
 (8)  For employees in non safety sensitive positions, the State of 
Utah will use a blood alcohol concentration level of .08 as the cut off 
for a positive alcohol test. 
 (9)  Employees who hold safety sensitive positions, are final 
candidates for, are transferred to, or are assigned the duties of a safety 
sensitive position, and final applicants for safety sensitive positions are 
subject to one or more of the following drug or alcohol tests: 
 (a)  reasonable suspicion; 
 (b)  critical incident; 
 (c)  post accident; 
 (d)  return to duty; 
 (e)  follow up; 
 (f)  preemployment; 
 (g)  random. 
 (10)  For employees in safety sensitive positions, the State of Utah 
will use the same cutoff levels for positive drug and alcohol tests as the 
federal government.  This rule incorporates by reference the 
requirements of 49 CFR 40.40, Sections 85 to 87 (2002), Laboratory 
Analysis Procedures, 49 CFR 382.107 (2002), Definitions, 49 CFR 
382.201 (2002), Alcohol Concentration and 49 CFR 382.505 (2002), 
Other Alcohol Related Conduct. 
 (11)  Employees in safety sensitive positions, as approved by 
DHRM, are subject to random drug or alcohol testing without 
justification of reasonable suspicion or critical incident.  Except when 
required by federal regulation or state policy, random drug or alcohol 
testing of employees in safety sensitive positions shall be conducted at 
the discretion of the employing agency. 
 (12)  Employees in safety sensitive positions whose confirmation 
test for alcohol results are .02 or greater, when tested before, during, or 
immediately after performing safety sensitive functions, must be 
removed from performing safety sensitive duties for 8 hours, or until 
another test is administered and the result is less than .02. 
 (13)  Employees in safety sensitive positions whose confirmation 
test for alcohol results are .04 or greater when tested before, during or 
after performing safety sensitive duties, may be subject to corrective 
action or discipline. 
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 (14) Agencies with employees in positions requiring a commercial 
driver license shall administer testing and prohibition requirements and 
conduct training on these requirements as outlined in the current 
DHRM Drug and Alcohol Testing Manual. 
 (15)  Management may take[ corrective or] disciplinary action if: 
 (a)  there is a positive confirmation test for controlled substances; 
 (b)  results of a confirmation test for alcohol meet or exceed the 
established alcohol concentration cutoff level; 
 (c)  management determines an employee is unable to perform his 
assigned job tasks, even when the results of a confirmation test for 
alcohol shows less than the established alcohol concentration cutoff 
level. 
 (16)  The agency's human resource office or authorized official 
shall keep a separate, private record of drug or alcohol test results.  The 
employee's official personnel file shall only contain a document making 
reference to the existence of the drug or alcohol test record. 
 
KEY:  personnel management, drug/alcohol education, drug 
abuse, discipline of employees 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 1, 
2003]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  December 11, 2001 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 67-
19-18; 67-19-34; 63-19-37; 67-19-38 
 

  
 

Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

R512-305 
Out of Home Services, Independent 

Living Services 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28662 
FILED:  04/21/2006, 13:48 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
needs to change the wording "Independent Living" to 
"Transition to Adult Living" and make minor changes to the 
rule to better reflect the Transition to Adult Living Services 
program. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Division will change the 
rule from Independent Living Services to Transition to Adult 
Living Services to better accommodate youth who are enrolled 
in the Transition to Adult Living Services. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 62A-4a-105 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Finance Director for the Division 
reviewed possible anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget due to this rule amendment.  It was determined that  
 

this rule amendment will not increase costs or savings to the 
Division because this is a change in wording only.  Services 
will be provided within the current budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  After a careful review of possible 
impact of costs or savings on local government by the Finance 
Director for the Division, it was determined that there will be 
no increased costs or savings due to this rule amendment 
because this is a wording change only. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The Finance Director for the Division 
reviewed possible anticipated costs or savings to other 
persons due to this rule amendment.  It was determined that 
the families affected by this rule amendment will not see an 
increase in costs or savings because this is a wording change 
only. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  After careful 
review by the Division's Finance Director of possible 
compliance costs for affected persons, it was determined that 
there will be no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no impact on 
businesses.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Room 225  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Miller or Adam F Trupp at the above address, by phone 
at 801-538-4451 or 801-538-4462, by FAX at 801-538-3993 or 
801-538-4016, or by Internet E-mail at 
CAROLMILLER@utah.gov or AFTRUPP@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Anderson, Director 
 
 
 
R512.  Human Services, Child and Family Services. 
R512-305.  Out of Home Services, [Independent Living]Transition 
to Adult Living Services. 
R512-305-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 A.  The purpose of [independent living]Transition to Adult Living 
(TAL) services is to help prepare a youth who is receiving out of home 
services in accordance with R512-300 to transition to self-sufficiency in 
adulthood and to provide support to youth upon leaving agency 
custody.  TAL is a continuum of services that begins while youth are in 
care and continues through post-discharge with the Young Adult 
Resource Network (YARN). 
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 B.  [Independent living]TAL services, which includes the 
Education and Training Voucher Program, are authorized by the John 
H. Chafee Foster Care Independence Program, 42 USC 677 (1999), 
incorporated by reference. 
 
R512-305-2.  Scope of Services. 
 [A.  Qualification for and Duration of Services.  Independent 
living services are offered to all youth age 14 or older who are 
receiving out of home services, regardless of permanency goal as 
specified in R512-300-4.D, or who formerly received out of home 
services.  Services are: 
 1.  Optional for a youth receiving out of home services who is age 
14 or 15, when the Child and Family Team determines that services are 
appropriate; 
 2.  Required for a youth receiving out of home services who is age 
16 or older until agency custody is terminated; 
 3.  Optional for a youth who attained age 18 while in agency 
custody, but who is no longer in agency custody, and may continue 
until the last day of the month in which the youth attains age 21, in 
accordance with R512-305-5. 
 B.  Service Description.  Independent living services consist of a 
variety of personalized strategies and resources that assist a youth to 
prepare for adult living, such as strength and needs assessment, 
planning, educational and employment guidance, basic skills training, 
personal and emotional support, and independent living placement. 
 C.  Availability.  Independent living services are available in all 
geographic regions of the state.]A.  Qualification for and duration of 
services: 
 1.  TAL services are required for all youth receiving out of 
home services, age 14 or older, until agency custody is terminated 
regardless of permanency goal, as specified in R512-300-4.D. 
 2.  The YARN provides services for youth if they are no longer in 
care and are not yet 21, and the youth: 
 a.  Ages out of foster care, or 
 b.  While in foster care, after the age of 14, the youth received at 
least 12 consecutive months of TAL services and the court terminated 
reunification. 
 B.  Service description: 
 1.  TAL services build on the youth's individual strengths and 
develop personal assets in order to help young people acquire the 
motivation and the means to be successful throughout their lives.  The 
strategies are aimed at helping foster youth achieve five fundamental 
aspects of adult life, including safe and affordable housing, educational 
attainment and stable employment, health care access, positive sense of 
self, and supportive and enduring relationships. 
 2.  YARN consists of time-limited support to youth.  This 
assistance can be provided through support, financial aid, or Basic Life 
Skills Classes and may include housing, counseling, employment 
education, and other appropriate support and services to complement a 
youth's efforts to achieve self-sufficiency. 
 C.  Availability: 
 1.  TAL services and YARN are available in all geographic 
regions of the state. 
 2.  TAL services and YARN are available on the same basis to 
Indian youth who are or were formerly in Tribal custody within the 
boundaries of the state. 
 

R512-305-3.  [Independent Living]Transition to Adult Living 
Services for a Youth in Agency Custody. 
 [A.  The Child and Family Team determines the independent 
living plan, with a youth age 16 or older taking the lead and setting 
goals. 
 B.  The caseworker, with the assistance of the youth and Child and 
Family Team, completes an assessment to identify the strengths and 
needs of the youth. 
 C.  Based upon the assessment, a plan is developed that identifies 
the youth's strengths and specific services and needs. 
 D.  The plan includes a continuum of training and services to be 
completed by the youth in such settings as the foster home, with a 
therapist, at school, or through other community-based resources and 
programs. 
 E.  Basic Living Skills training shall be offered to each youth who 
attains age 16.  The training shall include human hygiene and sexuality 
and a basic knowledge of community resources.  Other topics included 
in basic living skills training may include: 
 1.  Communication, socialization and relationships 
 2.  Job seeking information, assistance and maintenance skills 
 3.  Money management 
 4.  Housing 
 5.  Food preparation and planning 
 6.  Legal rights and responsibilities 
 7.  Health care and counseling 
 8.  Substance abuse 
 9.  Decision making 
 10.  Educational planning 
 11.  Housekeeping 
 12.  Transportation 
 F.  Each youth who completes basic living skills training is 
entitled to receive a completion payment.]A.  The caseworker, with 
the assistance of the youth and Child and Family Team, ensure 
completion of the empirically validated life skills assessment to 
identify the strengths and needs of the youth. 
 B.  Based upon the empirically validated life skills assessment, a 
plan is developed that identifies the youth's strengths, needs, and 
specific services. 
 C.  The Child and Family Team determines the TAL plan.  Youth 
aged 14 or older are required to have a TAL plan, with youth 16 or 
older taking the lead in setting goals and facilitating the Child and 
Family Team with staff guidance. 
 D.  The TAL plan includes a continuum of training and services to 
be completed by the youth, and designated team members, in such 
settings as the foster home, with a therapist, at school, or through other 
community-based resources and programs. 
 E.  Basic Living Skills training shall be offered to each youth who 
attains age 16.  The training may include training in daily living skills, 
budgeting, career development and financial management skills, 
substance abuse prevention, and preventive health activities (including 
smoking avoidance, nutrition education, and pregnancy prevention). 
 F.  Each youth who completes Basic Living Skills training may 
receive a completion payment. 
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R512-305-4.  [Independent]Transition to Adult Living Placement 
for a Youth in Agency Custody. 
 A TAL placement may be used as an alternative to out of home 
care when it is determined that such a placement is in the best 
interest of the youth.  The appropriate types of living arrangements 
for youth in this situation include living with kin; living with former 
out of home caregivers while paying rent; living in the community 
with roommates of the same sex; living alone; living in a group 
facility, YWCA, boarding house, or dorm; living with an adult who 
has passed a background check or the placement was assessed and 
approved by the regional director or designee.  This 
recommendation will be presented to the Child and Family Team, 
who will work to ensure that this type of placement is appropriate 
and that the following practice guidelines are met: 
 A.  [An independent living]A TAL placement may be used as an 
out-of-home care placement. 
 B.  A youth must be at least 16 years of age to be in [an 
independent living]a TAL placement. 
 C.  The Child and Family Team is responsible to determine if a 
recommendation for [an independent living]a TAL placement for a 
youth is appropriate. 
 D.  The regional director or designee is authorized to approve [an 
independent living]a TAL placement. 
 E.  The worker and youth shall complete a contract outlining 
responsibilities and expectations while in the placement. 
 F.  The worker shall visit with and monitor progress of the youth 
at an interval determined by the Child and Family Team, but no less 
frequently than once per month. 
 G.  The youth may receive [an independent living]a TAL stipend 
while in the [independent living]TAL placement. 
 H.  If the [independent living]TAL placement is not successful, 
the Child and Family Team shall meet to determine, with the youth, a 
more appropriate living arrangement in accordance with R512-305-4.E. 
 
R512-305-5.  Division Responsibility to a Youth Leaving Out of 
Home Services[ at Age 18 or Older]. 
 A.  [A youth who attained age 18 while in state custody, but who 
is no longer in state custody, may request independent living services 
from the Division until the last day of the month in which the youth 
attains age 21.]The YARN provides support to youth who leave out of 
home care, as specified in R512-305-2. 
 B.  A youth may access services by contacting a Division office 
and being referred to a regional [independent living]TAL coordinator. 
 C.  [If services will stabilize the youth's living situation and no 
other reasonable alternative exists to meet the needs, independent living 
services will be provided. 
 D.  ]Services may include additional basic life skills training, 
information and referral, mentoring, computer access for resources, 
[including word processing, employment and educational counseling, 
information and referral,]and follow-up support[, and assistance with 
costs of room and board, subject to the limits of available Division 
funding designated for this purpose].  Funds may also assist eligible 
youth in the four areas listed below: 
 1.  Education, Training, and Career Exploration. 
 2.  Physical, Mental Health and Emotional Support. 
 3.  Transportation. 
 4.  Housing Support. 
 [E]D.  Funds used for room and board are subject to federal 
limits.[Room and board includes rent, utilities, food, clothing, 
transportation costs, personal care items and other expenses related to 
daily living.  Room and board does not include medical care, dental 

care, mental health care, tuition payments, or the purchase of 
automobiles. 
 F.  The amount that a youth may receive for room and board is 
$500 per month, with a maximum of $2,000 per year. 
 G.  Independent living services are available on the same basis to 
Indian youth who were formerly in tribal custody within the boundaries 
of the State, and whose tribal custody was terminated at age 18 or older, 
as they are for youth who received out of home services from the 
Division until age 18 or older.] 
 
KEY:  social services, child welfare, foster care, Transition to Adult 
Living 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
[September 3, 2003]2006 
Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law:  62A-4a-105 
 

  
 

Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

R512-306 
Independent Living Services, Education 

and Training Voucher Program 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28663 
FILED:  04/21/2006, 13:55 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
needs to change the wording "Independent Living" to 
"Transition to Adult Living" and make minor changes to the 
rule to better reflect the Transition to Adult Living Services, 
Education and Training Voucher Program. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Division will change the 
rule from "Independent Living Services" to "Transition to Adult 
Living Services" to better accommodate youth who are 
enrolled in the Transition to Adult Living Services and to clarify 
the use of the Education and Training Voucher Program. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 62A-4a-105 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Finance Director for the Division 
reviewed possible anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget due to this rule amendment.  It was determined that 
this rule amendment will not increase costs or savings to the 
Division because this is a change in wording only.  Services 
will be provided within the current budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  After a careful review of possible 
impact of costs or savings on local government by the 
Division's Finance Director, it was determined that there will 
be no increased costs or savings due to this rule amendment 
because this is a wording change only. 
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  OTHER PERSONS:  The Finance Director for the Division 
reviewed possible anticipated costs or savings to other 
persons due to this rule amendment.  It was determined that 
the families affected by this rule amendment will not see an 
increase in costs or savings because this is a wording change 
only. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  After careful 
review by the Division's Finance Director of possible 
compliance costs for affected persons, it was determined that 
there will be no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no impact on 
businesses.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Room 225  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Miller or Adam F Trupp at the above address, by phone 
at 801-538-4451 or 801-538-4462, by FAX at 801-538-3993 or 
801-538-4016, or by Internet E-mail at 
CAROLMILLER@utah.gov or AFTRUPP@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Anderson, Director 
 
 
 
R512.  Human Services, Child and Family Services. 
R512-306.  [Independent]Transition to Adult Living Services, 
Education and Training Voucher Program. 
R512-306-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 1)  The Education and Training Voucher Program[ (ETV)] assists 
individuals in foster care to make a more successful transition to self-
sufficiency in adulthood. The Education and Training Voucher 
p[P]rogram provides the financial resources for postsecondary 
education and vocational training necessary to obtain employment or to 
support the individual's employment goals. 
 2)  The Education and Training Voucher Program is authorized by 
Pub. L. No. 107-133, which is incorporated by reference.  20 USC 
1087kk and 20 USC 108711 (2001) are also incorporated by reference. 
 
R512-306-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  The following terms are defined for the purposes of this rule: 
 a)  Institution of higher education means a school that: 
 i.  Awards a bachelor's degree or not less than a two-year program 
that provides credit towards a degree, or 

 ii.  Provides not less than one year of training towards gainful 
employment, or 
 iii.  Is a vocational program that provides training for gainful 
employment and has been in existence for at least two years, and that 
also meets all of the following: 
 A.  Admits as regular students only persons with a high school 
diploma or equivalent; or who are beyond the age of compulsory 
school attendance (Section 53A-11-101 and 53A-11-102). 
 B.  Public or non-profit facility; and 
 C. Accredited or pre-accredited by a recognized accrediting 
agency that the Secretary of Education determines to be reliable and is 
authorized to operate in the state. 
 b)  Satisfactory progress means maintaining at least a C grade 
average or 2.0 on a 4.0 scale on a cumulative basis or equivalent 
passing status as determined by the educational institution. 
 c)  GED means General Education Development. 
 d)  Division means Division of Child and Family Services. 
 e)  Foster care means substitute care for children in the custody of 
the Department of Human Services/Division of Child and Family 
Services[and provided by families licensed by the Department of 
Human Services, Office of Licensing] and/or Indian Tribes. 
 f)  Full-time means enrollment in the standard number of credit 
hours for each semester or quarter as defined by the educational 
institution. 
 g)  Part-time means enrollment in fewer credit hours than the full-
time standard as defined by the educational institution. 
 
R512-306-3.  Scope of Program. 
 1)  To be eligible for the Education and Training Voucher 
Program, an individual must meet all of the following requirements: 
 a)  An individual in foster care who has not yet reached 21 years 
of age, or 
 b)  An individual no longer in foster care, but who received 12 
months of Transition to Adult Living services after the age of 14 while 
in foster care and the court terminated reunification, or 
 [b]c)  An individual no longer in foster care who reached 18 
years of age while in foster care and who has not yet reached 21 
years of age, or 
 [c]d)  An individual adopted from foster care after reaching 16 
years of age and who has not yet attained 21 years of age, and[; 
 d)  Have graduated from high school or earned a GED;] 
 e)  [Have]Has an individual educational assessment and individual 
education plan completed by [DCFS]the Division or their designee; 
 f)  Submit a completed application for the Education and Training 
Voucher Program; 
 g)  Be accepted to a qualified college, university, or vocational 
program; 
 h)  Apply for and accept available financial aid from other sources 
before obtaining funding from the Education and Training Voucher 
Program; 
 i)  Enroll as a full-time or part-time student in the college, 
university or vocational program; and 
 j)  Maintain a 2.0 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale or 
equivalent as determined by the educational institution. 
 2)  The application and attachments will be reviewed and 
approved by regional [independent living]Transition to Adult Living 
program staff or their designee.  Individuals meeting all requirements 
will be accepted for program participation when [ETV]Education and 
Training Voucher Program funding is available. If demand exceeds 
available funding, the Division may establish a waiting list, which will 
then be awarded to the applicants in the order received on a first come 
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first serve basis for funding or the Division may approve applications 
for lesser amounts of funding.  The individual will receive written 
notice of approval or denial of the application.  If denied or terminated, 
a written reason for denial will be provided. 
 3)  If an application for benefits under the Education and Training 
Voucher[s] program is denied, the applicant has the right to appeal the 
decision through an administrative hearing in accordance with Section 
as per 63-46b-3 et seq. 
 4)  The individual may participate in the Education[Employment] 
and Training Voucher Program until the completion of: 
 a)  the degree or vocational program; or 
 b) reach age 21. 
 [i]c)  If [you]an individual attains age [reach ]21 while enrolled in 
the [ETV]Education and Training Voucher Program[ program on the 
date age 21 is attained], the individual may continue in the program 
until age 23 as long as the individual is attending an accredited or pre-
accredited college, university, or vocational program full-time or part-
time, is making satisfactory progress, and funding continues to be 
available.  The individual must make a written request and receive a 
written approval prior to his or her 21st birthday to be continued for 
eligibility for the [ETV program]Education and Training Voucher 
Program. 
 5)  The individual must provide ongoing documentation of full-
time or part-time enrollment, satisfactory progress as detailed in the 
individual education plan, additional requests for funding, and any 
changes in total costs for attendance or other financial aid to the 
Division in order to continue receiving benefits under the program. 
 6)  A program participant [will receive written notice that they are 
on probationary status if the following condition applies:]who receives 
less than a 2.0 GPA in a single grading period will be placed on 
probationary status and, 
 a)  [An individual that receives less than a 2.0 GPA in a single 
grading period]The individual will receive written notice [that they are 
on]of probationary status.  The individual will have one subsequent 
grading period to regain or show significant progress toward[at least] a 
2.0 GPA to continue in the program. 
 b)  Upon completion of a satisfactory grading period, the 
participant[s] will be notified that the probation period is over. 
 c)  The [P]participant[s] that does not receive satisfactory grades 
while on probation will receive written notice [that they are no longer 
eligible for]of loss of eligibility for the [ETV program]Education and 
Training Voucher Program. 
 7)  An individual under age 21 who has previously been denied 
acceptance to the program or who lost eligibility for the program due to 
not making satisfactory progress [or not attending full-time ]may 
reapply for the program at any time. 
 8)  An individual may receive vouchers up to a maximum amount 
of $5,000 per year through the Education and Training Voucher 
Program.  Amounts are determined by the cost of tuition at specific 
educational institutions and enrollment status. 
 a)  In accordance with 20 USC 1087kk, the total amount awarded 
may not exceed the total cost of attendance, as described in R512-306-
4, minus: 
 i)  expected contributions from the individual's family; and 
 ii)  estimated financial assistance from other State or Federal 
grants or programs. 
 b)  Awards are subject to the availability of Division 
[ETV]Education and Training Voucher Program funds appropriated for 
this program. 

 c)  In accordance with 42 USC 677(i)(5), the amount of benefits 
received through the Education and Training Voucher Program may be 
disregarded in determining an individual's eligibility for, or amount of, 
any other Federal or Federally supported assistance. 
 
[R512-306-4.  Cost of Attendance. 
 1)  The cost of attendance, is authorized in 20 USC 1087ll. 
 
]KEY:  foster care, Transition to Adult Living[independent living] 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 3, 
2005]2006 
Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law:  62A-4a-105 
 

  
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-178 
Securities Custody 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28696 

FILED:  05/01/2006, 10:45 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
needs to be updated to conform with conditions and 
procedures in holding and transferring of securities, with the 
changes made in H.B. 33, passed during the 2006 General 
Session, and to conform more closely with the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners Model Securities 
regulation.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 33 (2006) is found at Chapter 
176, Laws of Utah 2006, and was effective 05/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes to this rule 
allow broker/dealers to also function as custodians of 
insurance company assets. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-206, and 31A-4-108 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will create no change to the 
work of the department.  The number of filings made with the 
department will not change.  Department revenues will not 
change. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule will not affect local 
governments since it deals solely with the relationship of the 
department and its licensees. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The changes to this rule allow 
broker/dealers to also function as custodians of insurance 
company assets, which will allow broker/dealers to compete 
against state and national banks and trust companies who 
previously were the only ones who could act as custodians.  
This will expand the marketplace for securities custodians, 
give insurers more choice of who to put their securities with, 
may increase business for some broker/dealers and may 
reduce custody business of some banks and trust companies. 
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Changes to this 
rule allow broker/dealers to also function as custodians of 
insurance company assets, which will allow broker/dealers to 
compete against state and national banks and trust 
companies who previously were the only ones who could act 
as custodians.  This will expand the marketplace for securities 
custodians, give insurers more choice of who to put their 
securities with, may increase business for some 
broker/dealers and may reduce custody business of some 
banks and trust companies. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Whereas broker/dealers are 
now able to function as custodians of insurance company 
assets they will be able to compete against state and national 
banks and trust companies who previously were the only ones 
who could act as custodians.  Kent Michie, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  6/06/2006 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building 
(behind the Capitol), Room 3112, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/22/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-178.  Securities Custody. 
R590-178-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Insurance Commissioner 
pursuant to Utah Insurance Code Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-206, 
and 31A-4-108. 
 
R590-178-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 T[he purpose of t]his rule [is to ]authorizes domestic insurance 
companies[insurers] to utilize modern systems for holding and 
transferring securities without physical delivery of securities 
certificates.  This rule establishes standards for national banks, state 
banks, trust companies and broker/dealers to qualify and operate as 
custodians for insurance company securities.[This rule applies to all 
Utah domestic insurers.] 

R590-178-3.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 [A.  "Adequately Capitalized" means the capital threshold level 
determined by the standards adopted by United States banking 
regulators. 
 ]A[B].  "Agent" means a national bank, state bank, [or ]trust 
company or broker/dealer that maintains an account in its name in a 
clearing corporation or that is a member of the Federal Reserve 
System and through which a custodian participates in a clearing 
corporation.[ or the Federal Reserve book-entry system.] 
 B[C].  "Clearing [C]corporation" means a corporation, as 
defined in Subsection 70A-8-101(1)[(e)], that is organized for the 
purpose of effecting transactions in securities by computerized 
book-entry.  Clearing corporation also includes "Treasury/Reserve 
Automated Debt Entry Securities System" and "Treasury Direct" 
book-entry securities systems established pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 
Section 3100 et seq., 12 U.S.C. pt. 391 and 5 U.S.C. pt. 301. 
 C[D].  "Custodian" means: 
 1.  a national bank, [or ]state bank, or trust company that shall 
at all times during which it acts as a custodian pursuant to this rule, 
be no less than adequately capitalized as determined by the 
standards adopted by United States banking regulators and that is 
regulated by either state banking laws or is a member of the Federal 
Reserve System and that is legally qualified to accept custody of 
securities in accordance with the standards set forth below; or 
 2.  a trust company [that is, at all times during which it acts as 
custodian, no less than adequately capitalized or a trust company 
]with minimum net worth of $1,500,000 at all times during which it 
acts as a custodian, is[.  Custodians shall be] licensed by the United 
States or any state thereof[, and] as a trust company, and is in 
compliance with the regulatory authority as verified through regular 
examination by the regulatory authority[ shall be regularly examined 
by the licensing authority.]; or 
 3.  A broker/dealer that shall be registered with and subject to 
jurisdiction of the Securities and Exchange Commission, maintains 
membership in the Securities Investor Protection Corporation, and 
has a tangible net worth equal to or greater than two hundred fifty 
million dollars ($250,000,000). 
 D.  "Custodied securities" means securities held by the 
custodian or its agent or in a clearing corporation, including the 
Treasury/Reserve Automated Debt Equity Securities System 
(TRADES) or Treasury Direct systems. 
 [E.  "Federal Reserve book-entry system" means the 
computerized systems sponsored by the United States Department of 
the Treasury and other agencies and instrumentalities of the United 
States for holding and transferring securities of the United States 
government and the agencies and instrumentalities.]E.  "Security" 
has the same meaning as that defined in 70A-8-101(1). 
 F.  "Securities' certificate" has the same meaning as that defined 
in 70A-8-101(1). 
 G.  "Tangible net worth" means shareholders equity, less 
intangible assets, as reported in the broker/dealer's most recent 
Annual or Transition Report pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the 
Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (S.E.C. Form 10-K) filed with the 
Securities and Exchange Commission. 
 H.  "Treasury/Reserve Automated Debt Entry Securities 
System" (TRADES) and "Treasury Direct" mean the book entry 
securities systems established pursuant to 31 U.S.C. Section 3100 et 
seq., 12 U.S.C. pt. 391 and 5 U.S.C. pt. 301.  The operation of 
TRADES and Treasury Direct are subject to 31 C.F.R. pt. 357 et 
seq. 
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R590-178-4.  [Rule]Use of Book-Entry Systems. 
 A domestic insurance company may deposit or arrange for the 
deposit of securities held in or purchased for its general account and 
its separate accounts in a clearing corporation.  When securities are 
deposited with a clearing corporation, certificates representing 
securities of the same class of the same issuer may be merged and 
held in bulk in the name of the nominee of such clearing corporation 
with any other securities deposited with such clearing corporation by 
any person, regardless of the ownership of such securities, and 
certificates representing securities of small denominations may be 
merged into one or more certificates of larger denominations.  The 
records of any custodian through which an insurance company holds 
securities in a clearing corporation shall at all times show that such 
securities are held for such insurance company and for which 
accounts thereof.  Ownership of, and other interests in, such 
securities may be transferred by bookkeeping entry on the books of 
such clearing corporation without physical delivery of certificates 
representing such securities. 
 
R590-178-5.  Requirements for Custodial Agreements. 
 A.  An insurance company[insurer] may, by written agreement 
with a custodian, provide for the custody of its securities with that 
custodian.  The securities that are the subject of the agreement may 
be held by the custodian or its agent or be held in a clearing 
corporation[ or the Federal Reserve book-entry system].  Securities 
so held are referred to in this rule as "[Custodial]Custodied 
Securities." 
 B.  Agreements shall be in writing and shall be authorized by a 
resolution of the Board of Directors of the [insurer]insurance 
company or of an[by a committee] authorized committee of the 
board pursuant to 31A-5-412.  The terms of the agreement shall 
comply with the following: 
 1.  [Certificated securities]Securities' certificates held by the 
custodian shall be held separate from the securities' certificates of 
the custodian and of all of its other customers.[ or in a fungible bulk 
of securities as part of a Filing of Securities by Issue arrangement.] 
 2.  Securities held [in fungible bulk]indirectly by the custodian 
and securities in a clearing corporation [or in the Federal Reserve 
book-entry system ]shall be separately identified on the custodian's 
[books and]official records as being owned by the [insurer]insurance 
company.  The records shall identify which [custodial ]securities are 
held by the custodian or by its agent and which securities are in a 
clearing corporation[ or in the Federal Reserve book-entry system].  
If the securities are in a clearing corporation[ or in the Federal 
Reserve book-entry system], the records shall also identify [the 
location of]where the securities are[,] and if in a clearing 
corporation, the name of the clearing corporation[,] and if through 
an agent, the name of the agent. 
 3.  All [custodial]custodied securities [that are registered ]shall 
be registered in the name of the [insurer]company or in the name of 
a nominee of the [insurer]company or in the name of the custodian 
or its nominee or, if in a clearing corporation, in the name of the 
clearing corporation or its nominee. 
 4.  [Custodial]Cutodied securities shall be held subject to the 
instructions of the insurance[insurer]company and shall be 
withdrawable upon the demand of the insurance company, except 
that [custodial]custodied securities used to meet the deposit 
requirements set forth in Subsection 31A-2-206(2) shall, to the 
extent required by Subsection 31A-2-206(2), be under the control of 
the[subject to the] Insurance Commissioner['s exclusive direction 
until control is released by the commissioner] and shall not be 

withdrawn by the insurance[insurer] company without the prior 
written approval of the Insurance Commissioner. 
 5.  The custodian shall be required to send[,] or cause to be 
sent[,] to the insurance[insurer] company a confirmation[s] of all 
transfers of [custodial]custodied securities to or from the account of 
the insurance[insurer] company.  In addition, the custodian shall be 
required to furnish no less than monthly the insurance company 
with[and] reports of holdings of [custodial]custodied securities at 
[such ]times and containing [such ]information [as may be 
]reasonably requested by the insurance[insurer] company.  The 
custodian's trust committee's annual report of its review of the 
insurer's trust accounts shall also be provided to the insurer.  Reports 
and verifications may be transmitted in electronic or paper form. 
 6.  During the course of the custodian's regular business hours, 
an officer or employee of the insurance[insurer] company, an 
independent accountant selected by the insurance[insurer] 
company[,] or a representative of the Insurance Department shall be 
entitled to examine, on the premises of the custodian, the custodian's 
records relating to [custodial]custodied securities, but only upon 
furnishing the custodian with written instructions to that effect from 
an appropriate officer of the insurance[insurer] company. 
 7.  Upon written request from the [insurer]insurance company, 
the custodian and its agents shall be required to send to the 
insurance[insurer] company: 
 (a)  all reports they receive from a clearing corporation on their 
respective systems of[a copy of the most recent available 
information on the] internal accounting control[s of the clearing 
corporation or the Federal Reserve system;], and 
 (b)  reports prepared by[a copy of the most recent available] 
outside auditors [report that addresses ]on the custodian's or its 
agent's internal accounting control of [custodial]custodied securities 
that the insurance company may reasonably request. 
 8.  The [insurer shall identify and require the ]custodian [to 
]shall maintain records sufficient to determine and verify 
information relating to custodied securities that may be reported in 
the insurance company's annual statement and supporting schedules 
and information required in an audit of the financial statements of 
the insurance company[meet the insurer's regulatory reporting 
requirements]. 
 9.  The custodian shall provide, upon written request from an 
appropriate officer of the insurance[insurer] company, the 
appropriate affidavits with respect to [custodial]custodied securities. 
 These shall be substantially in the form of Custodian Affidavits, 
Form A, 298-6, Form B, 298-7, and Form C, 298-8, published by 
NAIC Model Regulation Service. 
 a.  "Form A" is to be used by a custodian [bank or trust 
company ]where securities entrusted to its care have not been 
redeposited elsewhere; 
 b.  "Form B" is to be used in instances where a custodian [bank 
or trust company]corporation maintains securities on deposit with 
The Depository Trust Company or like entity; and 
 c.  "Form C" is to be used where ownership is evidenced by 
book entry at a Federal Reserve Bank. 
 10.  A national bank, state bank or trust company shall secure 
and maintain insurance protection in an adequate amount covering 
the bank's or trust company's duties and activities as custodian for 
the insurer's assets, and shall state in the custody agreement that 
protection is in compliance with the requirements of the custodian's 
banking regulator or other regulator of a trust company.  A 
broker/dealer shall secure and maintain insurance protection for each 
insurance company's custodied securities in excess of that provided 
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by the Securities Investor Protection Corporation in an amount equal 
to or greater than the market value of each respective insurance 
company's custodied securities.  The commissioner may determine 
whether the type of insurance is appropriate and the amount of 
coverage is adequate. 
 [10]11.  The custodian shall be obligated to indemnify the 
insurance[insurer] company for any loss of [custodial]custodied 
securities occasioned by the negligence or dishonesty of the 
custodian's officers or employees, and for burglary, robbery, holdup, 
theft and mysterious disappearance, including loss by damage or 
destruction. 
 12.  In the event that there is loss of [indemnified 
custodial]custodied securities, for which the custodian shall be 
obligated to indemnify the insurance company as provided in 
paragraph (11) above, the custodian shall promptly replace the 
securities or the[ir] fair [market ]value thereof and the value of any 
loss of rights or privileges resulting from the loss of securities. 
 [11]13.  The agreement may provide that the custodian will not 
be liable for failure to take an action required under the agreement in 
the event and to the extent that the taking of such action is prevented 
or delayed by war, whether declared or not and including existing 
wars, revolution, insurrection, riot, civil commotion, act of God, 
accident, fire, explosion, stoppage of labor, strikes or other 
differences with employees, laws, regulations, orders,[ or] other acts 
of any governmental authority, or any other cause beyond its 
reasonable control. 
 [12]14.  In the event that the custodian gains entry in a clearing 
corporation [or in the Federal Reserve book-entry system ]through 
an agent, there shall be an agreement between the custodian and the 
agent under which the agent shall be subject to the same[provisions 
of] liability for loss of [custodial]custodied securities 
as[substantially similar to the liability provisions applicable to] the 
custodian.  However, if the agent shall be subject to regulation under 
the laws of a jurisdiction that is different from the jurisdiction the 
laws of which regulate the custodian, the Commissioner of 
Insurance of the state of domicile of the insurance company may 
accept a standard of liability applicable to the agent that is different 
from the standard of liability applicable to the custodian. 
 15.  The custodian shall provide written notification to the 
insurance company's domiciliary commissioner if the custodial 
agreement with the insurance company has been terminated or if 
100% of the account assets in any one custody account have been 
withdrawn.  This notification shall be remitted to the insurance 
commissioner within three (3) business days of the receipt by the 
custodian of the insurer's written notice of termination or within 
three (3) business days of the withdrawal of 100% of the account 
assets. 
[ 13.  Banks shall be required to report their capital threshold 
level, as determined by the standards adopted by United States 
banking regulators, to the insurer and the Insurance Commissioner.  
The bank's current capital threshold level shall be reported on 
enactment of the agreement and within 45 days after the end of each 
calendar year. 
 14.  Trust companies shall be required to provide current annual 
financial statements to the insurer and the Insurance Commissioner 
within 45 days after the end of each calendar year.] 
 
R590-178-6.  Requirements for Deposits with Affiliates. 
 A.  Nothing in this rule shall prevent an insurance company 
from depositing securities with another insurance company with 
which the depositing insurance company is affiliated, provided that 

the securities are deposited pursuant to a written agreement 
authorized by the board of directors of the depositing insurance 
company or an authorized committee thereof and that the receiving 
insurance company is organized under the laws of one of the states 
of the United States of America or of the District of Columbia.  If 
the respective states of domicile of the depositing and receiving 
insurance companies are not the same, the depositing insurance 
company shall have given notice of the deposit to the insurance 
commissioner in the state of its domicile and the insurance 
commissioner shall not have objected to it within thirty (30) days of 
the receipt of the notice. 
 B.  The terms of the agreement shall comply with the 
following: 
 1.  The insurance company receiving the deposit shall maintain 
records adequate to identify and verify the securities belonging to 
the depositing insurance company. 
 2.  The receiving insurance company shall allow representatives 
of an appropriate regulatory body to examine records relating to 
securities held subject to the agreement. 
 3.  The depositing insurance company may authorize the 
receiving insurance company: 
 a.  To hold the securities of the depositing insurance company 
in bulk, in certificates issued in the name of the receiving insurance 
company or its nominee, and to commingle them with securities 
owned by other affiliates of the receiving insurance company, and 
 b.  To provide for the securities to be held by a custodian, 
including the custodian of securities of the receiving insurance 
company or in a clearing corporation. 
 
R590-178-[5]7.  Penalties and Prohibitions. 
 A.  Insurers found to be or to have been in violation of this rule 
shall be subject to fine, suspension, and revocation of license or 
other penalties permitted by Section 31A-2-308. 
 B.  Insurers are not authorized to provide for the custody of 
their securities except as granted in this rule.  Custodial securities 
held in violation of this rule shall be disregarded in determining and 
reporting the financial condition of an insurer. 
 
R592-3-8.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 90 days from 
the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-178-9[6].  Separability. 
 If any provision of this rule or the application to any person or 
circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of 
the rule and the application of such provisions may not be affected. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 
1, 1996]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  September 12, 2001 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-4-108 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28678 
FILED:  04/27/2006, 07:55 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being changed to update the publication date of an 
incorporation by reference document and to make changes to 
the filing correction and withdrawal instructions in Section 
R590-225-5. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Subsection R590-225-
3(2), the publication dates of three NAIC documents are being 
updated.  In Section R590-225-5, the department is 
eliminating the requirement for insurers to submit a transmittal 
in the case of punctuation or spelling errors on previously filed 
forms. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-201.1, 31A-2-202, and 31A-
19a-203 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  a) "NAIC Uniform Property and Casualty 
Transmittal Document", dated January 1, 2006; b) "NAIC 
Instruction Sheet for Property and Casualty Transmittal 
Document", dated January 1, 2006; and c) "NAIC Uniform 
Property and Casualty Coding Matrix", dated March 1, 2006 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The changes to this rule will not change 
the number of policy forms filed with the department but it will 
just reduce the need to attach a transmittal form to those 
minor spelling or punctuation form changes filed with the 
department.  This will not increase or decrease our workload 
or revenues. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule and its changes deal solely 
with the relationship between the department and its licensees 
and not local governments. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  The changes to this rule will allow 
property and casualty insurers to file minor changes in their 
policy and endorsement forms with the department without a 
transmittal form.  Since the transmittal form is now six pages 
long this change will save companies time but not money 
except for the minor cost of the form itself. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The changes to 
this rule will allow property and casualty insurers to file with 
the department minor changes to their policies and 
endorsement forms without a transmittal form.  Since the 
transmittal form is now six pages long it will save companies 
time but probably not money, except the minor cost of the 
form itself. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes to this rule will 
have only a minor fiscal impact on businesses.  D. Kent 
Michie, Commissioner 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-225.  Submission of Property and Casualty Rate and Form 
Filings. 
R590-225-3.  Documents Incorporated by Reference. 
 (1)  The department requires that the documents described in this 
rule shall be used for all filings.  Actual copies may be used or you may 
adapt them to your word processing system.  If adapted, the content, 
size, font, and format must be similar. 
 (2)  The following filing documents are hereby incorporated by 
reference and are available on the department's web site, 
http://www.insurance.utah.gov/RF-Flgs.html. 
 (a)  "NAIC Uniform Property and Casualty Transmittal 
Document", dated January 1, 200[5]6; 
 (b)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet for Property and Casualty 
Transmittal Document", dated January 1, 200[3]6; 
 (c)  "NAIC Uniform Property and Casualty Coding Matrix", dated 
[January 1, 2005]March 1, 2006; 
 (d)  "Utah Insurer Loss Cost Multiplier and Expense Constant 
Supplement Filing Forms", dated October 2003; 
 (e)  "Utah Workers Compensation Insurer Loss Cost Multiplier 
Filing Form", dated October 2003. 
 
R590-225-5.  General Filing Information. 
 (1)  Each filing submitted must be accurate, consistent, complete, 
and contain all required documents in order for the filing to be 
processed in a timely and efficient manner.  The commissioner may 
request any additional information deemed necessary. 
 (2)  Insurers and filers are responsible for assuring compliance 
with Utah laws and rules.  Filings not in compliance with Utah laws 
and rules are subject to regulatory action under Section 31A-2-308. 
 (3)  Rates, supplementary information, and forms applying to a 
specific program or product may be submitted as one filing. 
 (4)  A filing that does not comply with this rule will be rejected as 
incomplete and returned to the filer. A rejected filing is not considered 
filed with the department. 
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 (5)  Prior filings will not be researched to determine the purpose of 
the current filing. 
 (6)  The department does not review or proofread every filing. 
 (a)  A filing may be reviewed: 
 (i)  when submitted; 
 (ii)  as a result of a complaint; 
 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or 
 (iv)  at any other time the department deems necessary. 
 (b)  If a filing is reviewed and is not in compliance with Utah laws 
and rules, an ORDER TO PROHIBIT USE will be issued to the filer.  
The commissioner may require the filer to disclose deficiencies in 
forms or rating practices to affected consumers. 
 (7)  Filing correction: 
 (a)  No filing transmittal is required when making a correction to 
misspelled words and punctuation in [clerical or typographical 
corrections are made to] a filing[ previously filed if the corrected filing 
is submitted within 30 days of the date "Filed" with the department. 
The filer will need to reference the original filing].  This filing will be 
considered informational. 
 (b)  No transmittal is required when a clerical correction is 
made to a previous filing if submitted within 30 days of the date 
"Filed" with the department. The filer must reference the original 
filing or include a copy of the original transmittal. 
 [(b)](c)  A new filing is required if [the]a clerical [or typographical 
]correction[s are] is made more than 30 days after the [filed ]date 
"Filed" with the department[of the original filing]. The filer [will need 
to]must reference the original filing or include a copy of the original 
transmittal. 
 (8)  Filing withdrawal. A filer must notify the department when 
[the filer withdraws]withdrawing a previously filed form, rate, or 
supplementary information. 
 
KEY:  property casualty insurance filing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 22, 
2005]2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-2-201.1; 31A-2-202; 31A-19a-203 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-406 
Off-Highway Vehicle Registration Fees 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28669 

FILED:  04/24/2006, 08:37 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
follows Section 41-22-8 that states the board shall establish 
the registration fees to be paid.  These fees are for the 
development and maintenance of the Off-Highway Vehicle 
(OHV) Division of State Parks and Recreation. 
 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This change will allow the 
fee to be raised from $14 to $17 covering increased expenses 
by the OHV section of Parks and Recreation. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 41-22-8 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  With this change from $14 to $17 for 
the annual OHV registration fee, there will be an anticipated 
$540,000 per year to the OHV Restricted Fund for the state. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule change will not affect the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to local government as 
it applies only to state rules and parks. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  Persons registering their OHVs will pay 
an extra $3 for the annual fee for OHVs in the State. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  If a person, 
residing in Utah, does not register their OHV, and is cited by 
an officer, they will pay a Class C misdemeanor fine for not 
having a registered OHV in the State of Utah. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no significant impact 
to businesses.  Michael Styler, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
 
 
R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
R651-406.  Off-Highway Vehicle Registration Fees. 
R651-406-1.  Annual Registration Fee. 
 The annual registration fee is [$14]$17. 
 
R651-406-2.  Fee For Duplicate Registration. 
 The fee for a duplicate certificate of registration is $3. 
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R651-406-3.  Fee For Duplicate Numbered Stickers. 
 The fee for duplicate numbered stickers is $5. 
 
KEY:  off-highway vehicles 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [October 1, 
2004]July 1, 2006 
Notice of Continuation:  April 18, 2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-22-8 
 

  
 

Public Lands Policy Coordinating 
Office, Administration 

R694-1 
Archeological Permits 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28697 

FILED:  05/01/2006, 10:46 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  H.B. 139, 
2006 General Session, transferred the authority to issue 
permits for the survey and excavation of archeological 
resources on state lands from the Division of State History to 
the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office effective 
07/01/2006.  This proposed rule will allow the Public Lands 
Policy Coordination Office to administer the permit program.  
(DAR NOTE:  H.B. 139 (2006) is found at Chapter 292, Laws 
of Utah 2006, and was effective 05/01/2006.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This is a proposed rule 
which establishes supplementary criteria and process for the 
issuance and revocation of the permits necessary to work with 
archeological resources. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 9-8-305 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  H.B. 139 transferred the existing 
authority to issue permits from the Division of State History to 
the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office.  Because the 
authority was simply transferred, there will be no effect to the 
state budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local government was not affected 
by the permit process before the permitting authority was 
transferred, and similarly will not be affected after the transfer. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  Individuals who were required to obtain a 
permit from the Division of State History will now be required 
to obtain a permit from the Public Lands Policy Coordination 
Office.  Because permits were also issued to corporations 
before the transfer of authority and the corporations might 
have had a number of qualified individuals covered by that 
permit, and because only individuals will be able to obtain a 
permit after the transfer, some individuals who did not need to 
obtain a permit before will be required to obtain a permit after 

the transfer of authority.  This will require the time and effort to 
apply for the permit. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Individuals who 
wish to obtain a permit to survey or excavate archeological 
resources in the state will be required to apply for the permit 
from the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office, and comply 
with the terms of its provisions.  The proposed rule provides 
for a process to suspend or revoke a permit for 
noncompliance, and individuals who do not comply may be 
affected by the cost of a noncompliance proceeding. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The rule will allow independent 
operators and businesses with qualified employees who work 
with archeological resources to obtain the necessary permits 
to operate.  The businesses and independent operators 
currently must obtain this permit from another state agency 
with the necessary cost in time and effort to apply.  There is 
no cost for the permit, so the only fiscal impact will be the 
ongoing requirement of the time necessary to apply for the 
permit.  Additionally, because permits may now be granted for 
an additional year, total time of compliance may be 
decreased.  Any noncompliance proceedings which may be 
initiated pursuant to the rule will require the time to participate. 
 Lynn Stevens, Public Lands Policy Coordinator 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC LANDS POLICY COORDINATING OFFICE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 5110 STATE OFFICE BUILDING 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
John Harja at the above address, by phone at 801-537-9275, 
by FAX at 801-537-9226, or by Internet E-mail at 
JOHNHARJA@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  5/24/2006 at 6:00 PM, Division of State History, 
300 Rio Grande, Zephyr Room, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/23/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John Harja, Assistant Director for Planning 
and Policy 
 
 
 
R694.  Public Lands Policy Coordination Office, Administration. 
R694-1.  Archeological Permits. 
R694-1-1.  Authority. 
 These rules are authorized by Section 9-8-305(5). 
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R694-1-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of these rules is to establish requirements for the 
issuance of survey and excavation permits for all lands in the State 
of Utah, and to insure compliance with permit provisions and the 
underlying rules and law. 
 
R694-1-3.  Definitions. 
 (a)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 9-8-302. 
 (b)  In addition: 
 (i)  "Full-time professional experience" means work within a 
position requiring responsibility for progress and completion of a 
project involving archeological resources. 
 
R694-1-4.  Qualifications of Permit Holders. 
 (a)  Permits will be issued to those individuals who qualify as a 
principal investigator, except for those who may otherwise qualify 
but who have had a permit suspended or revoked pursuant to R694-
1-11. 
 (b)  As authorized by Section 9-8-305(2)(b), in lieu of a 
graduate degree in anthropology, archeology or history, a person 
requesting a permit may submit evidence demonstrating the ability 
to design and execute a research project in anthropology, archeology 
or history, including the collection and analysis of information, 
presentation of results in an approved and reviewed format, and the 
subsequent curation of specimens. 
 (c)(i)  As authorized by Section 9-8-305(2)(iii), applicants for a 
permit may submit evidence of training related to proper 
methodologies for field procedures, laboratory analysis and 
reporting within projects involving archeological resources. 
 (ii)  An applicant for a permit wishing to submit evidence 
pursuant to R694-1-4(c)(i) must demonstrate that the training was of 
a sufficient duration and a sufficiently broad scope of subject matter 
to substitute for a full year of full time professional experience. 
 (d)  Experience in Utah prehistoric or historic archeology shall 
include basic field, associated laboratory analysis and reporting 
work based within any portion of the general physiographic and 
cultural regions found within the state boundaries. 
 
R694-1-5.  Application for Permit to Survey. 
 (a)  A person who wishes to obtain a permit to survey shall 
obtain and complete an application form and submit the form and all 
other information required by the form to the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office. 
 (b)  Other required information may include: 
 (i)  Projects initiated under previous permits issued by the State 
of Utah which remain incomplete as of the date of application. 
 (ii)  The applicant's employer or the name of the applicant's 
business, if self-employed. 
 (iii)  A copy of an agreement to curate with an authorized 
curation facility in the name of the applicant or the applicant's 
employer. 
 
R694-1-6.  Application for Permit to Excavate. 
 (a)(i)  A person who wishes to obtain a permit to excavate shall 
complete an application form and submit the original and two copies 
of the form and all other information required by the form to the 
Public Lands Policy Coordination Office. 
 (ii)  The application form shall require the applicant to provide 
the information required by Section 9-8-305(3)(a). 

 (b)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall forward 
one copy of the form and all other information requested to the 
Antiquities Section and one copy to the agency. 
 (c)  If the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office has 
delegated the authority to issue a permit to excavate to another state 
agency, pursuant to Rule R694-1-8, a person who wishes to obtain a 
permit to excavate on the lands owned by that agency shall submit 
an application to that agency. 
 
R694-1-7.  Review of Permit Applications. 
 (a)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may, at its 
sole discretion, seek the advice of one or more principal 
investigators as part of the review of an application for a permit to 
survey or a permit to excavate. 
 (b)  Principal investigators who are authorized to provide 
advice on permits must hold a valid permit issued by the Public 
Lands Policy Coordination Office and must volunteer for the task. 
 (c)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall keep a 
list of those principal investigators who volunteer, and shall make 
use of their services on a rotational basis, except that the Office shall 
avoid using the advice of any particular volunteer if a conflict of 
interest would thereby arise. 
 (d)(i)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall notify 
the applicant within 30 calendar days whether or not the application 
is approved. 
 (ii)  This time may be extended if additional information is 
required from the applicant. 
 
R694-1-8.  Delegation of Authority to Issue a Permit to 
Excavate. 
 (a)  An agency which owns land within the state of Utah may 
request the delegation of the authority to issue permits to excavate 
for the lands it owns. 
 (b)  The agency shall request the delegation by letter signed by 
the agency's authorized representative. 
 (c)  The letter shall contain the proposed terms and conditions 
of the delegation, which shall include the information required by 
Section 9-8-305(3)(c)(ii), and agreement with the following 
conditions: 
 (i)  each person approved for a permit to excavate by the 
agency shall hold a valid permit to survey from the Public Lands 
Policy Coordination Office at all times prior to and including the 
expiration date of the permit, including any extensions; and 
 (ii)  the agency shall consult with the Antiquities Section 
regarding the research design of the proposed project prior to issuing 
the permit, and 
 (iii)  permits issued by the agency pursuant to delegation shall 
contain the provisions required by R694-1-10(a), and for purposes of 
compliance and enforcement of the provisions of R694-1-10(a), a 
permit issued by the agency shall be considered a permit issued by 
the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office, and 
 (iv)  the agency shall refer issues about performance of work by 
the permit holder to the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office 
through the process described in R694-1-11, and shall agree to 
amend, suspend, or revoke a permit according to the final results of 
that process, and to reinstate a permit only with the concurrence of 
the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office after compliance with 
the provisions of R694-1-12, and 
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 (v)  the agency and the Public Lands Policy Coordination 
Office shall review the operations of the delegation agreement at 
least annually, and 
 (vi)  the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may revoke 
the delegation at any time without cause, as provided by Section 9-
8-305(3)(d). 
 (d)  The agency and the Public Lands Policy Coordination 
Office shall formalize the terms of the delegation through a 
Memorandum of Understanding. 
 
R694-1-9.  Time Period for Permits. 
 (a)  A Permit to Survey shall be effective for either 
 (i)  three years from the date of issuance specified in the permit, 
or 
 (ii)   for any other period of time 
 (A)  as part of the response to an action initiated under Rule 
R694-1-11, or 
 (B)  for other administrative needs. 
 (b)(i)  A Permit to Excavate shall be effective for the amount of 
time reasonably necessary to complete the research design's 
excavation, laboratory analysis, reporting and curation, as specified 
by a date of expiration in the Permit. 
 (ii)  The time period of a Permit to Excavate may be extended, 
upon a showing of good cause to the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office, for a period of time to be specified by a new 
expiration date. 
 
R694-1-10.  Permit Provisions. 
 (a)  The following provisions shall be included within each 
permit issued by the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office: 
 (i)  Professional and Ethical Standards 
 (A)  Permit holders shall comply with the individual provisions 
of the "Code of Conduct" and the "Standards of Research 
Performance" promulgated by the Register of Professional 
Archeologists. 
 (B)  If any of the provisions of the Code or Standards is altered, 
superseded or otherwise affected in any manner by these rules or 
other law, the rules and law shall take precedence, and permit 
holders shall comply with the rule or law. 
 (ii)  Persons Employed by the Principal Investigator to Assist in 
the Field or Laboratory 
 By engaging in any field or laboratory work under any permit 
issued by the Public Lands Office, the principal investigator shall 
insure that persons hired or otherwise engaged to perform such 
work, or supervise field or laboratory work in the principal 
investigator's absence, are fully qualified to perform such work, and 
shall comply with the "Code of Conduct" and "Standards of 
Research Performance" as required by Rule R694-1-10(a)(i). 
 (iii)  Principal Investigators who are Employed by Others 
 (Reserved.) 
 (iv)  Survey Methodologies 
 (Reserved.) 
 (v)  Report and Data Format and Standards 
 (A)  Reports of projects undertaken pursuant to permits issued 
by the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall conform to the 
format and standards which are attached to and made an integral part 
of the permit. 
 (B)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may amend 
the format and standards at any time during the time period of a 
permit, however, the permit holder shall have the option to continue 

to use the original format and standards for projects which are well 
into the reporting phase. 
 (C)  Reports for individual projects and sites must contain an 
identification number obtained from the Division of State History 
prior to the commencement of fieldwork. 
 (D)  Reports for individual projects must list all individuals 
who served in a supervisory capacity on the project. 
 (vi)  Completion of Reports in a Timely Manner 
 (A)  Reports of projects undertaken pursuant to any permit 
issued by the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall be 
completed and submitted to the agency and the Division of State 
History in a timely manner. 
 (B)(1)  An agency may establish the parameters of timely 
manner through an agreement with the Division of State History and 
the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office. 
 (2)  If an agreement has been finalized, the permit shall 
reference the agreement as the requirement for submission of reports 
for projects involving that agency's lands. 
 (3)  For purposes of the requirements of R694-1-
10(a)(vi)(B)(1), the term agency shall include an agency or other 
entity of the federal government. 
 (vii)  Curation of Specimens 
 (A)  The holder of any permit issued by the Public Lands 
Policy Coordination Office shall either hold a valid agreement with 
an authorized curation facility, or be covered under the authority of a 
curation agreement held by the employer of the permit holder, at all 
times during the time period of the permit. 
 (B)  The holder of any permit issued by the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office shall keep the Office notified of any changes to 
the expiration date of the curation agreement required by R694-1-
10(a)(vii)(A), or a change in employment. 
 (C)  All specimens collected pursuant to any permit issued by 
the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall be deposited with 
the appropriate curation facility in a timely manner. 
 (viii)  Discovery of Human Remains 
 Any person working under the authority of any permit issued 
by the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office who discovers 
human remains shall cease further activity in the area and shall 
notify the landowner, the antiquities section, and the appropriate law 
enforcement agencies, as required by Section 9-9-403 and 76-9-704. 
 (ix)  Access to Sites and Site Records 
 The holder of any permit issued by the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office agrees to cooperate with the Office to allow 
authorized Office employees access, at any reasonable time, to field 
and workings and records for the purpose of assuring compliance 
with the law, rules or permit provisions, subject to the provisions of 
other law, regulation or rule. 
 (x)  Compliance with Law, Rule, and Permit Conditions 
 (A)  Any person working under the authority of a permit issued 
by the Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall comply with 
all laws, rules and permit conditions. 
 (B)  Failure to comply may result in amendments to or the 
suspension or revocation of the permit, in addition to any other 
penalties authorized by law or rule. 
 (xi)  The holder of the permit shall keep the Public Lands 
Policy Coordination Office apprised of any changes in the 
permittee's employment or business address and phone number, and 
changes in other business information as the Office may require. 
 (b)  Permits issued by the Public Lands Policy Coordination 
Office may include such other provisions as the Office may deem 
necessary based on an individual's application. 
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 (c)  Permits to excavate issued by the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office shall require that the permit holder also hold a 
valid permit to survey issued by the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office at all times prior to and including the expiration 
date of the permit to excavate, including any extensions. 
 
R694-1-11.  Amendment, Suspension or Revocation of Permits. 
 (a)(i)  Permits may be amended, suspended or revoked pursuant 
to the terms of this rule. 
 (ii)  Permits may be amended, suspended, or revoked for 
violations of law, rule or permit provisions, or upon a finding by the 
Public Lands Policy Coordination Office that a permit holder is unfit 
to hold a permit due to a judicial or administrative determination 
concerning the character or competence of the individual. 
 (b)(i)  Any agency may file a petition with the Public Lands 
Policy Coordination Office concerning the work performed under 
the provisions of any Permit to Survey or Permit to Excavate if the 
agency believes the work has been done in a manner which is 
contrary to law, rule or permit provisions. 
 (ii)  The petition shall state with specificity the facts and 
circumstances involved and the law, rule or permit provision at 
issue, and shall be signed by the agency's authorized representative. 
 (iii)  Each agency shall keep the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office informed of the name of the agency's 
authorized representative on an ongoing basis. 
 (c)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall 
investigate the issues raised by the petition. 
 (d)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may initiate 
investigations into a permit holder's compliance with law, rule and 
permit provisions at its sole discretion, and may initiate a proceeding 
to amend, suspend or revoke a permit as a result of those 
investigations. 
 (e)(i)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may, at its 
sole discretion, seek the advice of one or more principal 
investigators as part of an investigation initiated by either petition or 
itself. 
 (ii)  Principal investigators who are authorized to provide this 
advice must hold a valid permit issued by the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office and must volunteer for the task. 
 (iii)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office shall keep a 
list of those principal investigators who volunteer, and shall make 
use of their services on a rotational basis, except that the Office shall 
avoid using the advice of any particular volunteer if a conflict of 
interest would thereby arise. 
 (f)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may choose 
to employ either informal or formal hearings as authorized by 
Section 63-46b-3(a)(v). 
 (g)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may resolve 
issues raised by a petition or by its own proceedings by 
 (i)  dismissing the petition or otherwise terminating the 
proceedings, or 
 (ii)  amending any of the provisions of an existing permit, or 
 (iii)  imposing new conditions within an existing permit, or 
 (iv)  suspending the permit, or 
 (v)  revoking the permit, or 
 (vi)  any other relief the Office may consider appropriate. 
 (h)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office will 
immediately inform the Division of State History if a permit is 
suspended or revoked. 
 (i)  The final notice of suspension or revocation shall state the 
reasons for the suspension or revocation. 

R694-1-12.  Reinstatement of Permits. 
 (a)  The final notice of suspension or revocation from a 
proceeding held pursuant to R694-1-11 shall specify the conditions 
for reinstatement of the permit. 
 (b)  The holder of the suspended or revoked permit may request 
reinstatement by submitting a letter to the Public Lands Policy 
Coordination Office indicating the reasons the reinstatement should 
be granted. 
 (c)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may request 
additional information. 
 (d)  Reinstatement shall be granted at the sole discretion of the 
Public Lands Policy Coordination Office. 
 (e)  A principal investigator who has had a permit suspended or 
revoked shall not be eligible for another permit until the principal 
investigator becomes eligible for reinstatement of the original 
permit. 
 
R694-1-13.  Waiver of Provisions. 
 (a)  The Public Lands Policy Coordination Office may grant a 
waiver of the provisions of these rules, except for statutory 
provisions, in the interest of fairness, impossibility of performance, 
or other exigent or extenuating circumstances. 
 (b) This provision is to be employed to allow the Public Lands 
Policy Coordination Office to deal with generally unforseen 
circumstances, and should not be employed to grant broad scale 
general exceptions to the requirements of Rule 694-1. 
 
R694-1-14.  Confidentiality. 
 (Reserved.) 
 
KEY:  archeological permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  9-8-305 
 

  
 
Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 

Entry 

R912-8 
Minimum Tire, Axle and Suspension 

Ratings for Heavy Vehicles and the Use 
of Retractable or Variable Load 

Suspension Axles in Utah 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28703 
FILED:  05/01/2006, 20:08 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
was accidentally allowed to expire on 04/28/2006.  This filing 
puts the rule back in place. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed rule sets 
minimum ratings for heavy vehicles. 
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STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 72-1-102, 72-7-404, 72-7-406, and 72-1-201 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will have no new effect, either 
positive or negative on the state budget.  The rule has been in 
effect up until 04/28/2006. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not effect local 
governments because in Utah they do not operate trucks of 
the size regulated by this administrative rule; therefore, there 
is no cost to them. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule will have no new effect, either 
positive or negative on the budget of other persons.  The rule 
has been in effect up until 04/28/2006. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule will have 
no new effect, either positive or negative on the budget of 
other persons.  The rule has been in effect up until 
04/28/2006. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule will have no new 
affect, either positive or negative on the budget of businesses. 
 The rule has been in effect up until 04/28/2006.  John R. 
Njord, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TRANSPORTATION 
MOTOR CARRIER, PORTS OF ENTRY 
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119-5998, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
James Beadles at the above address, by phone at 801-965-
4168, by FAX at 801-965-4796, or by Internet E-mail at 
jbeadles@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/22/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R912.  Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports-of-Entry. 
R912-8.  Minimum Tire, Axle and Suspension Ratings for Heavy 
Vehicles and the Use of Retractable or Variable Load Suspension 
Axles in Utah. 
R912-8-1.  Authority. 
 Sections 72-1-102, 72-7-404, 72-7-406, 72-1-201. 
 
R912-8-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Axle Group" means any axles on a vehicle that are within 
eight feet of each other. 

 (2)  "Bridge Formula" as defined in Section 72-7-404 of the Utah 
Code Annotated. 
 (3)  "Fixed Axle" means an axle that is not steerable, self steering 
or retractable. 
 (4)  "Legal Weight" as defined in Section 72-7-404 of the Utah 
Code Annotated. 
 (5)  "Load Rating" means the maximum load that the equipment is 
rated to carry as designated by the Federal Motor Carrier standards. 
 (6)  "Variable Load Suspension (VLS) Axle" means an axle that 
can be loaded mechanically to various capacities. 
 (7)  "Retractable Axles" means an axle that can be lifted from the 
pavement surface, but cannot mechanically vary its weight-bearing 
capability. 
 (8)  "Tire Scrubbing" means side movement of the tire associated 
with the turning movement of a vehicle. 
 (9)  "Quad Axle Group" means a group of four consecutive fixed 
axles. 
 
R912-8-3.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to promote safety and reduce the 
pavement damage resulting from operating with underrated tires or 
suspensions and/or retractable or VLS axles.  Some trucking firms have 
utilized underrated tires, axles and suspensions systems which cannot 
safely and practically support excess weight, and adjacent axles 
become overloaded.  Fixed axles scrub sideways to some degree when 
a vehicle is operated through a turning movement.  This scrubbing is 
damaging to the pavement surface.  The degree to which a tire scrubs is 
related tot he distance between the extreme fixed axles in an axle group. 
 Quad axle groups increase tire scrubbing considerably because of the 
extreme axle spacings involved. 
 (2)  Some companies utilize retractable of VLS axles to improve 
the load-carrying flexibility of their vehicles.  These axles increase the 
weight that the vehicle can legally carry, while providing needed 
maneuverability at loading and unloading sites.  Concrete and 
construction companies have used these axles on their vehicles to 
transport materials to construction sites, causing a minimum of 
pavement and bridge damage.  These axles can then be retracted or 
"unloaded" to allow a driver to more easily back up or steer.  Since they 
can be misused and abused, it is in the best interest of safety and 
infrastructure preservation to establish and enforce specific operating 
requirements for vehicles so equipped in the state of Utah. 
 
R912-8-4.  Provisions. 
 (1)  Vehicles with a gross vehicle rating exceeding 26,000 pounds 
are limited as follows: 
 (A)  Axles shall not exceed their designed load capacity.  
Documentation of axle capacity, such as an attached data plate or 
written certification from a vendor, shall be available with each vehicle. 
 (B)  Single tires shall be a minimum size of 8.25 x 20.  All tires 
shall meet Federal Motor Carrier Safety load rating requirements. 
 (C)  No more than three fixed axles shall be allowed in any group. 
 Retractable or VLS axles installed after January 1990 shall be self-
steering on power units and when augmenting a tridem group on 
trailers.  Non-divisible loads may be exempt from these restrictions 
with written approval from the Utah Department of Transportation 
(UDOT). 
 (D)  No axle in a group with a retractable or VLS axle shall 
exceed legal or bridge formula weight requirements. 
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 (E)  Controls for raising and lowering retractable or VLS axles 
may be located in the cab of the power unit, but the controls regulating 
pressure to such axles shall be positioned outside the cab so as to be 
inaccessible to the driver when the vehicle is in motion. 
 (F)  Tires, axles or suspension systems which are unusual or 
which vary from these requirements shall be reviewed and approved by 
UDOT prior to operation. 
 
KEY:  transportation, weight, ratings, permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-1-102; 72-
7-404; 72-7-406; 72-1-201 
 

  
 

Transportation, Preconstruction 

R930-3 
Highway Noise Abatement 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  28677 

FILED:  04/26/2006, 16:31 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rulemaking action is to clarify that only 
interstate or limited access highways qualify for noise walls. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule limits Type 1 noise 
abatement projects to interstate and limited access highways 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 72-6-111 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule amendment will result in 
savings because it eliminates a category of road eligible for 
noise walls. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not apply to local 
governments since only the department can build noise walls 
on state roads; therefore, there should be no cost or savings. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule does not affect costs of other 
persons since only the department can build noise walls on 
state roads. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule does not 
affect costs of other persons since only the department can 
build noise walls on state roads. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule does not affect 
businesses since only the department can build noise walls on 
state roads.  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TRANSPORTATION 
PRECONSTRUCTION 

CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119-5998, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
James Beadles at the above address, by phone at 801-965-
4168, by FAX at 801-965-4796, or by Internet E-mail at 
jbeadles@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/15/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/16/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R930.  Transportation, Preconstruction. 
R930-3.  Highway Noise Abatement. 
R930-3-0.  Purpose. 
 The following is generally consistent with the Federal Highway 
Administration's Procedures for Abatement of Highway Traffic Noise, 
23 CFR 772, which is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference, 
and in accordance with Utah Code Ann. Section 72-6-111.  It is 
provided to address highway noise impacts and to determine the 
conditions under which noise abatement may be approved. 
 
R930-3-2.  Applicability. 
 (1)  Type I Projects.  Noise abatement shall be considered for 
Type I projects that are on Interstate or Limited Access Highways 
where noise impacts are identified.  A new or proposed subdivision or 
other development must have obtained a formal building permit from 
the appropriate local government agency for final plans for 
development before the issuance of the final environmental decision 
document. 
 (2)  Type II Projects.  UDOT does not provide a noise retrofit 
(Type II) program to construct noise abatement measures along existing 
state transportation facilities. 
 
KEY:  transportation, barrier, traffic noise abatement, highways 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 20, 
2004]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  January 22, 2002 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-1-201; 72-
7-101 
 

  
 

Transportation Commission, 
Administration 

R940-1 
Establishment of HOT-Lane Toll Rates 

 



DAR File No. 28675 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 81 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  28675 
FILED:  04/25/2006, 12:06 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The rule is 
needed in order to comply with the statutory directive for the 
transportation commission to set tolls in administrative rule. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed rule sets the 
initial toll rate at $50 a month, with the Department allowed to 
raise it up to $100 a month depending on demand. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 72-6-118 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will add money to the state 
budget, but it is all dedicated to the Tollway Restricted 
Account.  There will be some costs for the infrastructure 
needed for the tolls, but it is impossible to estimate what it will 
be. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not affect local 
governments unless a local government uses the HOT Lane 
and then it will be subject to the same requirement. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule will cost people who choose to 
use the HOT Lane $50 a month. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule will cost 
people who choose to use the HOT Lane $50 a month. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Whether a business incurs the 
$50 cost is voluntary.  The rule will only affect a business if it 
chooses to take advantage of the time-savings by using the 
HOT Lane.  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
James Beadles at the above address, by phone at 801-965-
4168, by FAX at 801-965-4796, or by Internet E-mail at 
jbeadles@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/15/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/16/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
 

R940.  Transportation Commission, Administration. 
R940-1.  Establishment of HOT-Lane Toll Rates. 
R940-1-1.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commission" means the Transportation Commission, 
which is created in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-1-301; 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Transportation, which is created in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-1-
101; 
 (3)  "HOT Lane" means a High Occupancy Vehicle Lane as 
designated pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-6a-702 and Utah 
Admin. Code R926-9. 
 (4)  "Toll" means the fee or charge that the operator of a single-
occupant motor vehicle must pay for the privilege of driving on a 
HOT Lane. 
 
R940-1-2.  Factors To Be Used in Setting Tolls. 
 In deciding what Toll is appropriate, the Commission balances 
the need to obtain revenue for enforcement and maintenance of the 
HOT Lane against the effect that a certain Toll amount will have on 
demand.  The goal is to set a price that encourages optimal use of the 
HOT Lane. 
 
R940-1-3.  Base Toll Rate and Range. 
 (1)  The initial Toll for the HOT Lane is $50 per month. 
 (2)  With the Commission's approval, the Department may 
increase the Toll from $50 per month to an amount not to exceed 
$100 per month if it finds that demand on the HOT Lane is too high 
and needs to be reduced in order to keep the lane freely flowing.  
Evidence of demand can be shown by traffic counts and evidence of 
traffic congestion. 
 
R940-1-4.  Use of Toll Revenues. 
 (1)  Pursuant to state law, Tolls are deposited in the Tollway 
Restricted Special Revenue Fund established in Utah Code Ann. 
Section 72-2-120. 
 (2)  Monies from the fund may be used for acquisition of right-
of-way and the design, construction, reconstruction, operation, 
maintenance, and enforcement of transportation facilities within the 
corridor served by the HOT Lane pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 72-6-118. 
 
KEY:  transportation, tolls, HOT Lanes, motor vehicles 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-6-118 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
proposed amendment makes several clarifications to existing 
language. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  An individual should not be 
ineligible if he or she has dependent children in the home but 
if the children are in the home 50% of the time or more, the 
client will be placed on the Family Employment Program 
(FEP) and not General Assistance (GA).  The incapacity for 
work must be expected to last 30 days after the date of 
application.  Several changes were made to more closely 
align GA to FEP to make it easier to administer such as the 
$500 threshold must be in the Utah market and we will accept 
disability determinations from mental health therapists and a 
minor must have been living independently for 12 months, not 
six.  Liens for workers' compensation will no longer be 
required since we have no means to require carriers to 
reimburse us.  Section R986-400-11 will be moved to Rule 
R986-200 where it will apply to FEP and GA customers. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 35A-3-401 and 35A-3-402, and Subsection 
35A-1-104(4) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
state budget because these changes are not expected to 
affect our case load and many reflect current practice. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be no costs or savings to 
local governments because this is a state funded program and 
local governments do not pay into this program. 

  OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs or savings to any 
other persons.  These changes are clarifications and reflect 
current practice. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
costs to any other persons.  These changes are clarifications 
and reflect current practice. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impact 
by these changes on business as these changes are only 
being made to programs financed by the state which in no 
way affects businesses monetarily.  Tani Downing, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/14/2006. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/15/2006 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Tani Downing, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-400.  General Assistance and Working Toward 
Employment. 
R986-400-402.  General Provisions. 
 (1)  GA provides temporary financial assistance to single 
persons and married couples who have no dependent children 
residing with them 50% or more of the time and who are 
unemployable due to a physical or mental health condition. 
 (2)  Unemployable is defined to mean the individual is not 
capable of earning $500 per month in the Utah labor market.  The 
incapacity must be expected to last 30 days after the date of 
application or more. 
 (3)  Drug addiction and/or alcoholism alone is insufficient to 
prove the unemployable requirement for GA as defined in Public 
Law 104-121. 
 (4)  For a married couple living together only one must meet 
the unemployable criteria.  The spouse who is employable will be 
required to meet the work requirements of WTE unless the spouse 
can provide medical proof that he or she is needed at home to care 
for the unemployable spouse.  Medical proof, consisting of a 
medical statement from a medical doctor, a doctor of osteopathy, a 
licensed Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, a licensed Physician's 
Assistant, a licensed Mental Health Therapist as defined in UCA 58-
60-102, or a licensed psychologist, is required.  The medical 
statement must include all of the following: 
 (a)  the diagnosis of the spouse's condition; 
 (b)  the recommended treatment needed or being received for 
the condition; 
 (c)  the length of time the client will be required in the home to 
care for the spouse; and 
 (d)  whether the client is required to be in the home full time or 
part time. 
 (5)  GA is only available to a client who is at least 18 years old 
or legally or factually emancipated.  Factual emancipation means the 
client has lived independently from his or her parents or guardians 
and has been economically self-supporting for a period of at least 
[six]twelve consecutive months, and the client's parents have refused 
financial support. 
 (6)  A client claiming factual emancipation must cooperate with 
the Department in locating his or her parents.  The parents, once 
located, will be contacted by the Department.  If the parents continue 
to refuse to support the client, a referral will be made to ORS to 
enforce the parents' child support obligations. 
 (7)  A person eligible for Bureau of Indian Affairs assistance is 
not eligible for GA financial assistance. 
 (8)  In addition to the residency requirements in R986-100-106, 
residents in a group home that is administered under a contract with 
a governmental unit or administered by a governmental unit are not 
eligible for financial assistance. 



DAR File No. 28693 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 83 

 (9) An individual receiving SSI is not eligible for GA.  This 
ineligibility includes persons whose SSI is in suspense status, as 
defined by 20 CFR Part 416.1321 through 416.1330. 
 
R986-400-403.  Proof of Unemployability. 
 (1)  An applicant must provide current medical evidence that he 
or she is not capable of working and earning $500 per month due to 
a physical or mental health condition and that the condition is 
expected to last at least 30 days from onset.  Evidence consists of a 
statement from a medical doctor, a doctor of osteopathy, a licensed 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, a licensed Physician's 
Assistant, a licensed Mental Health Therapist as defined in UCA 58-
60-102[, or an agency involved in disability determination, such as 
VA or the State Office of Rehabilitation]. 
 (2)  An applicant must cooperate in the obtaining of a second 
opinion if requested by the Department.  Only the costs associated 
with a second opinion requested by the Department will be paid for 
by the Department.  The Department will not pay the costs 
associated with obtaining a second opinion if the client requests the 
second opinion. 
 (3)  If the illness or incapacity is expected to last longer than 12 
months, the client must apply for SSDI/SSI benefits. 
 (4)  Full-time or part-time participation in post-high school 
education or training is considered evidence of employability 
rendering the client ineligible for GA financial assistance.  If the 
Department believes work readiness or occupational skills 
enhancement opportunities will lead to employability, those services 
can be offered for a maximum of three months if the client is 
otherwise eligible. 
 
R986-400-404.  Participation Requirements. 
 (1)  The client and spouse must participate, to the maximum 
extent possible, in an assessment and an employment plan as 
provided in R986-200. The only education or training supported by 
an employment plan for GA recipients is short term skills training as 
described in R986-400-403. 
 (2)  The employment plan must include obtaining appropriate 
medical or mental health treatment, or both, to overcome the 
limitations preventing the client from becoming employable.  The 
employment plan must provide that all adults age 19 and above who 
do not qualify for coverage under any other category of Medicaid 
and who are not covered by or do not have access to private health 
insurance, Medicare or the Veterans Administration Health Care 
System must enroll in the Primary Care Network (PCN) through the 
Department of Health.  If a client cannot enroll in PCN because the 
Department of Health has placed a cap on PCN enrollment, the 
requirement will be excused during the period enrollment is 
impossible.  The Department may, at its discretion, develop a 
program whereby eligible clients will be allowed to pay the 
enrollment fee in installments. 
 (3)  A client must accept any and all offers of appropriate 
employment as determined by the Department.  "Appropriate 
employment" means employment that pays a wage which meets or 
exceeds the applicable federal or state minimum wage law and has 
daily and weekly hours customary to the occupation.  If the 
minimum wage laws do not apply, the wage must equal what is 
normally paid for similar work and in no case less than three-fourths 
of the minimum wage rate. The employment is not appropriate 
employment if the client is unable, due to physical or mental 
limitations, to perform the work. 

 (4)  A client is exempt from the requirements of paragraphs (1) 
and (2) of this section if the client has been approved for SSI, is 
waiting for the first check, and has signed an "Agreement to Repay 
Interim Assistance" Form. 
 (5)  A client must cooperate in obtaining any and all other 
sources of income to which the client may be entitled including, but 
not limited to UI, SSI/SSDI, VA Benefits, and Worker[']s' 
Compensation. 
 
[R986-400-406.  Lien Agreement for Workers Compensation 
Applicants. 
 (1)  A client who has applied and appears eligible for Workers 
Compensation benefits may be provided with GA financial 
assistance pending a determination on the application for Workers 
Compensation.  To be eligible under this paragraph, the client must 
sign a "Repayment of General Assistance and Lien Agreement" 
form and agree to reimburse the Department, or allow the 
Department to recover, from either the insurance carrier or the 
employer, the GA financial assistance paid to the client pending the 
determination on the Workers Compensation claim. 
 (2)  If the Workers Compensation insurance carrier or the 
employer denies the claim for benefits, the client must file and 
cooperate to the maximum extent possible in pursuing a claim 
through the Labor Commission. 
] 
R986-400-40[7]6.  Failure to Comply with the Requirements of 
an Employment Plan. 
 (1)  If a client fails to comply with the requirements of the 
employment plan without [good]reasonable cause, financial 
assistance will be terminated immediately.  Reasonable cause under 
this section means the client was prevented from participating 
through no fault of his or her own or failed to participate for reasons 
that are reasonable and compelling[Good cause under this paragraph 
means] and may include reasons like verified illness[,] or 
extraordinary transportation problems[, or extraordinary 
circumstances as determined by the employment counselor]. 
 (2)  If a client's financial assistance has been terminated under 
this section, the client is not eligible for further assistance as 
follows: 
 (a)  the first time financial assistance is terminated, the client 
must reapply and participate to the maximum extent possible in all 
of the required activities of the employment plan; 
 (b)  the second time financial assistance is terminated, the client 
will be ineligible for financial assistance for a minimum of one 
month and can only become eligible again upon completing a new 
application and participating to the maximum extent possible in the 
required employment activity; and 
 (c)  the third time financial assistance is terminated, the client 
will be ineligible for a minimum of six months and can only become 
eligible again upon completing a new application and actively 
participating in the required employment activity. 
 
R986-400-40[8]7.  Income and Assets Limits and Amount of 
Assistance. 
 (1)  The provisions of R986-200 are used for determining asset 
and income eligibility except; 
 (a) the income and assets of an SSI recipient living in the 
household are counted if that individual is legally responsible for the 
client; 
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 (b) the total gross income of an alien's sponsor and the 
sponsor's spouse is counted as unearned income for the alien.  If a 
person sponsors more than one alien, the total gross income of the 
sponsor and the sponsor's spouse is counted for each alien.  Indigent 
aliens, as defined by 7 CFR 273.4(c)(3)(iv), are not exempt.[ 
 (2)  An individual receiving SSI is not eligible for GA.  This 
ineligibility includes persons whose SSI is in suspense status, as 
defined by 20 CFR Part 416.1321 through 416.1330.] 
 ([3]2)  The financial assistance payment level is set by the 
Department and available for review at all Department local offices. 
 
R986-400-40[9]8.  Time Limits. 
 (1)  An individual cannot receive GA financial assistance for 
more than 24 months out of any 60-month period.  Months which 
count toward the 24-month limit include any and all months during 
which any client who currently resides in the household received a 
full or partial financial assistance payment beginning with the month 
of March, 1998. 
 (2)  There are no exceptions or extensions to the time limit. 
 (3)  Advanced written notice for termination of GA financial 
assistance due to time limits is not required. 
 
[R986-400-411.  GA for Transient Individuals. 
 A Department Regional Director or designee may approve 
assistance, as funding allows, for the emergency needs of a non-
resident who is transient, temporarily stranded in Utah, and who 
does not intend to stay in Utah. 
] 
R986-400-452.  General Provisions. 
 (1)  Working Toward Employment (WTE) provides financial 
assistance on a short term basis to single persons and married 
couples who have no dependent children residing with them 50% or 
more of the time and who are unemployable because they lack 
employment skills. 
 (2)  At least one household member must be at least 18 years 
old or legally or factually emancipated.  Factual emancipation is 
defined in R986-400-402. 
 (3)  As a condition of eligibility, a client claiming factual 
emancipation must cooperate with the Department in locating his or 
her parents.  The parents, once located, will be contacted by the 
Department.  If the parents continue to refuse to support the client, a 
referral will be made to ORS to enforce the parents' child support 
obligations. 
 (4)  All clients must cooperate in obtaining any and all other 
benefits or sources of income to which the client may be entitled 
except that a client who has applied for SSI benefits is ineligible for 
WTE.  If a client applies for SSI, WTE financial assistance is 
terminated. 
 (5)  A person eligible for Bureau of Indian Affairs assistance is 
not eligible for WTE financial assistance. 
 (6)  If an applicant appears to be eligible for the Refugee 
Resettlement Program (RRP) the applicant must comply with the 
requirements of RRP and will be paid out of funds for that program. 
 If found eligible for RRP, the applicant is ineligible for WTE. 
 
R986-400-453.  Participation Requirements. 
 (1)  All applicants and spouses must participate in an 
assessment and an employment plan as found in R986-200. In 
addition to the requirements of an employment plan as found in 
R986-200-210, a client must, as a condition of receipt of financial 
assistance, register for work and accept any and all offers of 

appropriate employment, as determined by the Department.  
Appropriate employment is defined in R986-400-404. 
 (2)  The employment plan of each recipient of WTE financial 
assistance must contain the requirement that the client participate 40 
hours per week.  The client must spend those hours in the same 
activities described for a primary parent under FEPTP as found in 
R986-200-215(3).  Married couples cannot share the performance 
requirements and each client must participate a minimum of 40 
hours per week. 
 (3)  Participation may be excused only if the client can[: 
 (a)  verify illness; or 
 (b) ] show [other good]reasonable cause as defined in R986-
400-406(1)[determined by the Department.  Good cause may 
include, but is not limited to, such things as death or grave illness in 
the immediate family or extraordinary transportation problems]. 
 
R986-400-454.  Failure to Comply with the Requirements of an 
Employment Plan. 
 (1)  If a client fails to comply with the requirements of the 
employment plan without [good]reasonable cause as defined in 
R986-400-406(a), financial assistance will be terminated 
immediately.[  Good cause under this paragraph means verified 
illness, lack of transportation, or extraordinary circumstances as 
determined by the employment counselor.] 
 (2)  Advanced notice of termination is not required. 
 (3)  If there are two clients in the household and only one client 
fails to comply, financial assistance for both will be terminated. 
 (4)  Once a client or household's financial assistance has been 
terminated for failure to comply with the employment plan, the 
client is not eligible for further assistance as follows: 
 (a)  the first time financial assistance is terminated, the client or 
couple must reapply and actively participate in all of the required 
activities of the employment plan; 
 (b)  the second time financial assistance is terminated, the client 
or couple will be ineligible for financial assistance for a minimum of 
one month and can only become eligible again upon completing a 
new application and actively participating in the required 
employment activity; 
 (c)  the third time financial assistance is terminated, the client 
will be ineligible for a minimum of six months and can only become 
eligible again upon completing a new application and actively 
participating in the required employment activity. 
 
R986-400-455.  Income and Assets Limits and Calculation of 
Assistance Payment. 
 (1)  Income and asset determination and limits are the same as 
for FEP found in R986-200. 
 (2)  The amount of financial assistance available for payment to 
a client is based on the number of hours of participation.  Payment is 
made twice per month and only after proof of participation.  The 
base amount of assistance is equal to the GA financial assistance 
payment for the household size.  The base GA payment is then 
prorated based on the number of hours of participation for each 
household member, up to a maximum of 40 hours of participation 
per household member per week.  In no event can the financial 
assistance payment per month for a WTE household be more than 
for the same size household receiving financial assistance under GA. 
 Payment of financial assistance cannot be made for any period 
during which the client does not participate. 
 (3)  The base GA financial assistance payment level is 
determined by the State Legislature and available upon request. 
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End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
 

 (4)  Each WTE household member will receive the sum of $45 
per month regardless of number of hours the client 
participates[participation].  This sum is intended to be used for 
participation expenses. 
 
R986-400-456.  Time Limits. 
 (1)  An individual cannot receive WTE financial assistance for 
more than seven months out of any 18-month period. 
 (2) In addition to the seven months out of any 18-month period 
time limit, there is a 24-month life time limit for WTE financial 
assistance. 
 (3) Months which count toward the seven month time limit and 
the 24-month limit include any and all months during which any 

client who currently resides in the household received a full or 
partial financial assistance payment. 
 (4)  There are no exceptions or extensions to the time limit. 
 (5) If WTE financial assistance is terminated due to the time 
limit, advanced written notice is not required. 
 
KEY:  general assistance, working toward employment 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
1, 2004]2006 
Notice of Continuation:  September 14, 2005 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-401; 
35A-3-402 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-46b 
Division Utah Administrative 

Procedures Act Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28673 
FILED:  04/25/2006, 10:17 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) 
provides that the Division may adopt and enforce rules to 
administer Title 58.  Subsection 63-46b-1(6) provides that 
agencies may enact rules affecting or governing adjudicative 
proceedings. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since the rule was last 
reviewed in 2001, no written comments have been received 
by the Division with respect to this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The rule clarifies the 
provisions of Title 63, Chapter 46b, as it applies to the 
Division's adjudicative proceedings.  Therefore, the rule 
should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
W. Ray Walker at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6256, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
raywalker@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/25/2006 
 

  
 
Community and Culture, Housing and 

Community Development 
R199-11 

Community Development Block Grants 
(CDBG) 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28647 

FILED:  04/19/2006, 08:13 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is authorized under 
executive order dated November 1, 1985, by Governor 
Norman Bangerter; as authorized by section 102(a)(1) of the 
Housing and Community Development Act of 1974, as 
amended; and Subsection 9-4-202(2) et seq.  This rule 
permits the state to receive and distribute to units of general 
local government community development block grants 
(CDBG) from the federal department of Housing and Urban 
Development; and to assist in developing viable communities 
by providing decent housing, a suitable living environment and 
expanding economic opportunities, principally for persons of 
low and moderate income. 
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SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued:  1) to continue the purposes of the CDBG program 
which is to receive and distribute to units of general local 
government CDBGs from the federal department of Housing 
and Urban Development; and 2) to assist in developing viable 
communities by providing decent housing, a suitable living 
environment and expanding economic opportunities, 
principally for persons of low and moderate income. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMUNITY AND CULTURE 
HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT 
Room 500  
324 S STATE ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2388, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Keith Heaton at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
8700, by FAX at 801-538-8888, or by Internet E-mail at 
kheaton@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Bradford, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/19/2006 
 

  
 

Education, Administration 

R277-513 
Dual Certification 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28700 

FILED:  05/01/2006, 14:14 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 53A-6-104(1)(a) 
permits the Utah State Board of Education to issue licenses 
for educators. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Upon review of this rule, it 
was determined that the rule needs to be continued to provide 
the Utah State Office of Education Educator Licensing Section 
an opportunity to recommend and the State Board of 
Education an opportunity to consider amendments or repeal. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
carol.lear@schools.utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Director, School Law and 
Legislation 
 
EFFECTIVE:  05/01/2006 
 

  
 

Education, Administration 

R277-517 
Athletic Coaching Certification 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28701 

FILED:  05/01/2006, 14:14 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 53A-6-104(1)(a) 
permits the Utah State Board of Education to issue licenses 
for educators. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule needs to be 
continued because the athletic coaching certification is a valid 
process to ensure that coaches receive necessary preparation 
and training in the specific areas of their assignment including 
basic first aid and adult CPR training.  Also, because many 
coaches are not licensed, specific training is necessary.  This 
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rule may be amended in the near future to update educator 
licensing terminology and statute changes. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
carol.lear@schools.utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Director, School Law and 
Legislation 
 
EFFECTIVE:  05/01/2006 
 

  
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Primary Care and Rural Health 

R434-30 
Primary Care Grants Program for 

Medically Underserved Populations 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28644 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:12 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 26-18-304 states the 
department shall establish rules in accordance with Title 63, 
Chapter 46a, governing the process and criteria for awarding 
grants. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received.  No opposition is expected.  A verbal comment 
was received requesting the expansion of the Primary Care 
Grants Program to include model practices in the delivery of 
primary care, in order for them to have a mechanism to 
promote and improve statewide health care delivery. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Continuation of the rule 
allows the department to proceed in awarding grants to public 
and nonprofit entities to provide primary health care services 
to medically underserved populations. 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, 
PRIMARY CARE AND RURAL HEALTH 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Erin L Olsen or Don Beckwith at the above address, by phone 
at 801-538-6214 or 801-538-6818, by FAX at 801-538-6387 or 
801-536-0940, or by Internet E-mail at elolsen@utah.gov or 
dbeckwith@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Human Services, Recovery Services 

R527-200 
Administrative Procedures 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28670 

FILED:  04/24/2006, 10:48 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule establishes 
procedures for informal adjudicative proceedings as required 
by Section 63-46b-5 of the Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule must be continued 
in order for the Office of Recovery Services to continue 
utilizing informal adjudicative proceedings. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
RECOVERY SERVICES 
515 E 100 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84102-4211, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Kristen Lowe at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
0347, by FAX at 801-536-8833, or by Internet E-mail at 
klowe@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Brasher, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/24/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-201 
Definitions 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28622 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 14:59 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 73, Chapter 18, states, 
"It is the policy of this state to regulate and promote safety for 
persons and property in and connected with the use, 
operation and equipment of vessels and to promote uniformity 
of laws and to adopt and pursue an educational program in 
relation thereto."  In order to accomplish these goals, terms 
used most frequently in the rules on boating and vessels need 
to be defined for users of Utah waters. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Definitions of terms needs 
to be continued in order to alert and educate the recreational 
user of state properties and facilities.  This will help protect 
state parks and their natural and cultural resources from 
misuse or damage.  Such items could include watersheds, 
park amenities, wildlife and flora and fauna.  The board is 
given the authority to make rules for the public to follow. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-202 
Boating Advisory Council 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28623 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:00 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 73-18-3.5 states, 
"The board may appoint an advisory council representing 
various boating interests to seek recommendations on state 
boating policies."  The board appoints those who are 
representative of the contingency for the interest(s) they 
represent.  This rule allows them to do so. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  With so many water safety 
issues in the State of Utah, this rule is necessary to help with 
boating safety and should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
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AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-203 
Waterway Marking System 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28626 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:02 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 73-18-4 allows the 
board to promulgate rules in creating a uniform waterway 
marking system that shall be obeyed by all vessel operators 
and follows with the placement of waterway markers, zoning 
areas, and fees to be paid by such operators who carry 
passengers for hire on the waters of Utah. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule will always be 
necessary for the safety of the public operating vessels on the 
waters of Utah in an appropriate manner and in designated 
areas and should be continued.  In doing so, this helps to 
protect all users of the waters here for recreational purposes. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-204 
Regulating Waterway Markers 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28624 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:00 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-4(2) allows 
the board to promulgate rules regarding placement of 
waterway markets and other permanent or anchored objects 
on the waters of Utah. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is currently in force 
to give direction for all vessel operators using the waterways 
of Utah.  It is a viable and important rule for safety and should 
be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-205 
Zoned Waters 
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FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28625 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:00 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-4(1)(c) 
allows the board to promulgate rules, such as zoning certain 
waters of the state of Utah to prohibit the operation of vessels 
or motors for safety and health purposes only. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Zoning waterways protects 
boaters on certain, identified waters in Utah.  This rule is for 
safety of recreational activities on the water and should be 
continued.  It varies from types of bodies of water where 
actual footage is used for restrictions (i.e., Deer Creek) to 
smaller bodies of water where no motors can be used at all 
(i.e., Palisade).  Safety of the recreating public should 
continue to be supported. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-207 
Registration Fee 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28627 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:02 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-7(2) states 
that under Registration Requirements, the owner of each 
motorboat and sailboat is required to be registered by Utah, 
and shall file an application for registration on forms approved 
by the Division.  The board is required to set fees for services 
and/or products.  The board is has the power by statute, to set 
rules identifying specific fees, Subsection 63-11-17(8)(a).  
This rule clearly identifies the $10 fee for the recreating public 
who own a motorboat or sailboat. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  In order to make sure that 
those who use motorboats and sailboats know and 
understand the registration requirements for Utah, this rule 
should be continued.  Registration is an important tool that is 
used to keep a record of motorboat and sailboat users in 
Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-208 
Backing Plates 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28628 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:02 
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NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-7(4) 
explains assigned numbers and their placement on vessels so 
they will be visible to law enforcement officers.  If the decals 
cannot be seen, they may be mounted on a backing plate and 
displayed where appropriate.  This rule defines where the 
decals are displayed on backing plates, and gives that 
information in a concise, condensed manner of the statute, 
readily available for those who register motorboats or 
sailboats. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is necessary and 
needed for ease of identification, safety issues, law 
enforcement matters, etc., and should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-210 
Change of Address 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28629 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:04 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 

AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-7(13) 
instructs the registered owner to notify the Division within 15 
days when the address listed on the register card becomes 
invalid or inaccurate.  This rule makes it clear what a 
registered owner needs to do to keep his address current with 
the state.  It summarizes the text in the statute for better 
understanding by registered owners of motorboats and/or 
sailboats. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should continue as 
it gives the Division the ability to track a registered owner of a 
motorboat or sailboat, and states that it is the owner's 
responsibility to notify the Division or agent of the Division of 
the change of address. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-211 
Assigned Numbers 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28630 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:04 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 73-18-7 explains 
registration requirements, exemptions, agents, pubic records, 
period of registration and renewal expiration, notice of transfer 
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of interest or change of address, duplicate registration, invalid 
registration and powers of the board to designate the suffix to 
assigned numbers.  The rule more clearly defines what the 
board can do to govern the use of the state park system. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  A motorboat or sailboat 
registration and number are necessary for the tracking of 
vessels while being used on the waters of Utah.  The 
registration and number designate the state, county, and type 
of vessel that is owned.  This is an important tool in tracking 
and showing the powers of the board and should continue. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-212 
Display of Yearly Registration Decals 

and Month of Expiration Decals 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28631 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:04 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-7(18)(b) 
states that the board may adopt rules for the display of 
registration decals. 
 

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Displaying registration 
decals makes it easy for identification of vessels by law 
enforcement officers.  If a registration is not displayed in plain 
sight, the officers have to stop the vessel to make sure the 
decal is current and identify the operators.  For safety and 
ease of identification of vessels on the waters in Utah, this rule 
should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-213 
Dealer Numbers and Registrations 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28632 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:05 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-7(18)(c) 
states that the board may adopt rules for issuing dealer 
numbers and registrations. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
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REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Any person acting as a 
vessel dealer who has established a place of business selling 
motorboats and/or sailboats, shall make an application to the 
Division of Motor Vehicles, who acts as an agent for the 
Division, in obtaining dealer numbers and registration decals.  
This rule to be continued as it is necessary for the 
identification of the person acting as a vessel dealer for 
motorboats and/or sailboats. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-214 
Temporary Registration 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28633 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:05 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-7(17)(d) 
states, "The board may adopt rules for the issuance and 
display of temporary registrations." 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is designed to 
show how and when temporary registrations may be used 
 

when dealing with motorboats or sailboats used on the waters 
in Utah.  This rule should be continued as it provides a means 
of accountability for safety on Utah's waters. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-216 
Navigation Lights - Note:  Figures 1 

through 7 mentioned below are on file 
with the Utah Division of Parks and 

Recreation 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28634 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:07 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-8(2) states 
that when a vessel is on the waters of Utah, between sunset 
and sunrise, it will display navigation lights.  This rule follows 
the statute and is necessary for the safety of the recreating 
public in the state of Utah. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued for safety reasons, as it requires those recreating 
public, who use the waters of Utah to keep their boats visible 
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at all times with lights that can be seen from a distance of one 
to three miles. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-217 
Fire Extinguishers 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28635 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:07 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-8(4) 
requires each vessel to have fire extinguishing equipment on 
board.  Section 73-18-1 states the policy that promotes 
uniformity of laws for educational programs and promotion of 
safety for persons and property connected with boating in 
Utah.  Public safety is of primary concern to Parks personnel, 
and while the public recreates in the state on Utah waters, 
they should be aware of safety requirements and equipment 
they need. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Utah State Parks holds 
public safety as a prime concern for the recreating public on 
Utah waters.  This rule should continue as it helps educate the 
public and inform them of safety equipment and requirements 
they need to have a good experience while they visit. 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-218 
Carburetor Backfire Flame Control 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28636 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:08 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-8(5) states 
that vessels with inboard gasoline engines should be 
equipped with a carburetor backfire control device.  The board 
may adopt rules conforming with the requirements of safety 
equipment mentioned in statute that govern specifications for 
the use of safety equipment. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This control device 
(carburetor backfire flame control) will disperse backfire and 
flame outside the vessel in a manner that the flame will not 
endanger the vessel or passengers.  For safety reasons, this 
rule should be continued. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-219 
Additional Safety Equipment 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28637 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:08 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 17-18-8 explains 
what the Board may do regarding safety equipment on 
vessels.  One of the conditions is to require additional safety 
equipment by this rule, as it summarizes the additional 
equipment and exemptions as well. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  All safety equipment is 
required for vessels to protect and promote well-being for the 
public using the waters of the state of Utah for recreational 
purposes.    This rule includes additional safety concerns by 
addressing airboat requirements, bailing devices, sound 
devices, equipment condition, law enforcement vessels and 
any kind of exemption, such as sailboards, etc.  This rule 
should be continued as it is a key in safety of recreators on 
waters in Utah. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-220 
Registration and Numbering 

Exemptions 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28638 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:08 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-9(5) states 
that non-residents of Utah are exempt from registration and 
numbering requirements of this chapter if the board finds that 
the registration of motorboats or sailboats of this class will not 
materially aid in their identification.  Since Parks (boating) is 
over the safety of waters in the state, and the parks board 
makes the rules governing park services, it is appropriate for 
Parks to put into rule any information that will help to make the 
recreating public aware of the rules and regulations for owning 
and operating vessels on the waters of Utah, and any 
exceptions to such rules.  Rules are easier to access and 
understand as they cite the statute, but summarize and clearly 
explain each section in rule. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
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REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  A motorboat or sailboat 
belonging to a class of vessels is exempted from registration 
by the board after the board finds that registration will not 
materially aid in identification, and therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-221 
Boat Livery Agreements 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28639 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:09 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 73-18-10(2) 
states that neither the owner of a boat livery nor his agent or 
employee may permit any vessel to depart from the premises 
of the boat livery unless the owner has equipped it as required 
under this chapter, and unless he has advised the lessee or 
renter of the vessel of all rules promulgated under this chapter 
which the lessee or renter must obey.  It also states that it is 
required that unless the owner of a boat livery has advised the 
lessee or renter of the vessel of all rules promulgated under 
this chapter which the lessee or renter must obey.  Rules set 
up to instruct or more clearly define a statute should be 
continued, and Rule R651-221 accomplishes that purpose. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule lists items to be 
carried on a vessel for the period of time for which the vessel 
is leased or rented such as lease or rental agreements and 
the information they contain.  A check-off list must be kept of 
the required safety equipment.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-226 
Regattas and Races 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28640 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:09 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 73-18-16 authorizes 
the Division to hold regattas, motorboat, or other boat races, 
marine parades, tournaments, or exhibitions on any waters of 
Utah.  The board is allowed to adopt rules concerning the 
safety of vessels and persons either as observers or 
participants. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Any time a race or regatta is 
held, there are safety issues involved.  In order to keep the 
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race/regatta organized and safe, this rule should be continued 
as it creates a check list of authorized events and users that is 
used as an important tool to help keep participants and the 
recreating public safe and able to utilize the waters of Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-401 
Off-Highway Vehicle and Registration 

Stickers 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28642 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:11 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule details the 
placement of registration stickers and OHV identification 
numbers for the State of Utah.  Both are currently required by 
statute (Sections 41-22-3 and 41-22-3.1), and the Board is 
charged under statute with determining placement of those 
stickers and numbers 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Placement of numbers and 
stickers is very important, especially for immediate recognition 
of expired registration, or in the case of lost or stolen vehicles. 
 It gives easy visual access to the numbers and registration by 

officers in case of accident, and therefore, this rule be 
continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-405 
Off-Highway Implement of Husbandry 

Sticker Fee 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  28641 
FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:10 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule details the cost and 
placement of the OHV implement of Husbandry permit and 
sticker.  The board is specifically instructed to make rules 
specifying permit cost and sticker placement by Section 41-
22-5.5. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  To continue to be in 
compliance with Section 41-22-5.5, this rule should be 
continued because it allows the Board to make rules 
specifying permit cost and sticker placement.  The husbandry 
sticker rule gives special agricultural privileges that are not 
available to the general user.  The Board needs to specify 
sticker placement so that law enforcement knows where to 
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look immediately and the public who have the stickers on their 
OHVs will not be stopped or hassled by law enforcement 
because the stickers are placed for easy view.  The cost is a 
legislative demand. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-406 
Off-Highway Vehicle Registration Fees 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28643 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:12 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 41-22-8 allows the 
Board to establish fees which shall be paid and the amounts 
to be charged.  There is a maximum prescribed in the code, 
however, the fee itself shall be established by the Board in 
rule, according to Section 41-22-8. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The cost of off-highway 
vehicle (OHV) registration is allowed and required by statute 
(Section 41-22-8) that states the board shall establish fees for 
registration of OHV vehicles.  This cost defrays expenses for 
the OHV division of Parks and Recreation, and therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-801 
Swimming Prohibited 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28645 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:12 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 73-18b-1 states that 
the board is authorized to adopt, make, promulgate, amend, 
and repeal all rules and regulations necessary or convenient 
to promote safety in swimming, scuba diving, and related 
activities on any waters where public boating is permitted. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Utah State Parks and 
Recreation works with other agencies and owners or 
operators of Utah waters, to continue making them safe for 
the public.  Placing signs and designating certain areas as "no 
swimming" areas is to help protect the public and resources 
as well, and therefore, this rule should be continued. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-802 
Scuba Diving 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28646 

FILED:  04/18/2006, 15:12 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 73-18b-1 states that 
water safety is everyone's concern.  Utah State Parks 
oversees the safety issues regarding the waters in Utah.  The 
board is authorized to make, adopt, promulgate, amend, and 
repeal all rules and regulations necessary. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule was set to help the 
recreating public deal with safety of equipment and sports, 
and it needs to be continued as it is a guideline for those who 
scuba dive in Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116 
 
 

1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/18/2006 
 

  
 

Regents (Board Of), Administration 

R765-649 
Utah Higher Education Assistance 
Authority (UHEAA) Privacy Policy 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  28676 

FILED:  04/25/2006, 13:25 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 53B-12-101 
authorizes the Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority 
(UHEAA)to act as the guarantor in Utah of student loans.  
These loans provide funds for students to attend an eligible 
institution of higher education.  The business carried out by 
UHEAA involves processing applications for student loans 
which require personal identifying information.  A privacy 
policy is needed to assure the safeguarding of such personal 
information. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been 
received during or since the last five-year review. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Personal identifying 
information is received by UHEAA from each customer.  The 
security of that information is necessary to protect and 
safeguard the identity of UHEAA's customers which include 
resident students and nonresident students and/or borrowers 
receiving student loan funds guaranteed by UHEAA.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
ADMINISTRATION 
BOARD OF REGENTS BUILDING, THE GATEWAY 
60 SOUTH 400 WEST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101-1284, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ronell Crossley at the above address, by phone at 801-321-
7291, by FAX at 801-321-7299, or by Internet E-mail at 
rcrossley@utahsbr.edu 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark H. Spencer, Associate Commissioner 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/25/2006 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section 
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NOTICES OF EXPIRED RULES 
  
 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 (1996)).   If the agency finds that 
it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file an extension with the 
Division of Administrative Rules (Division).  However, if the agency fails to file either the review or the extension by 
the five-year anniversary date of the rule, the rule expires.  Upon expiration of the rule, the Division is required to 
remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the rule, and it must follow 
regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if necessary. 
 
The rules listed below were not reviewed in accordance with Section 63-46a-9 (1996).  These rules have expired 
and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code.  The expiration of administrative rules for failure to 
comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by Utah Code Subsection 63-46a-9(8) (1996). 
  
 
 
 
Transportation 
 Motor Carrier, Ports of Entry 
  No. 28695 (filed 05/01/2006 at 8:20 a.m.):  R912-8.  Minimum Tire, Axle and Suspension Ratings for Heavy 

Vehicles and the Use of Retractable or Variable Load Suspension Axles in Utah. 
  Enacted or Last Five-Year Review:  04/27/2001 (No. 23698, 5YR, filed 04/27/2001 at 11:19 a.m., published 

05/15/2001) 
  Due Date:  04/27/2006 
  Expired Date:  04/28/2006 
 
 
(DAR NOTE:  The Department of Transportation accidently let this rule expire.  A proposed new rule to put Rule R912-8 back in 
place is under DAR No. 28703 in this issue.) 
 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Expired Rules Section 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 

Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Commerce 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No. 28530 (AMD): R156-17b.  Pharmacy Practice Act 
Rules. 
Published:  March 15, 2006 
Effective:  April 17, 2006 
 

Real Estate 
No. 28494 (AMD): R162-10-1.  Formal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
Published:  March 1, 2006 
Effective:  April 19, 2006 
 
 

Transportation 
Program Development 

No. 28538 (NEW): R926-9.  Establishment and 
Operation of HOT Lanes or Toll Lanes on State 
Highways. 
Published:  March 15, 2006 
Effective:  April 20, 2006 
 

Preconstruction 
No. 28489 (R&R): R930-5.  Establishment and 
Regulation of At-Grade Railroad Crossings. 
Published:  February 15, 2006 
Effective:  April 25, 2006 
 
 

Workforce Services 
Employment Development 

No. 28537 (AMD): R986-200.  Family Employment 
Program. 
Published:  March 15, 2006 
Effective:  May 1, 2006 
 

 
 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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RULES INDEX 
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 

AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)  

 
The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 2, 2006, including notices of effective date received through May 1, 
2006, the effective dates of which are no later than May 15, 2006.  The Rules Index is published in the Utah State 
Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the Bulletin, do 
become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) 
rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and Keyword 
(Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  The index may contain inaccurate page number references.  Also the index is incomplete in the sense 
that index entries for Changes in Proposed Rules (CPRs) are not preceded by entries for their parent Proposed 
Rules.  Bulletin issue information and effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our 
knowledge, complete and accurate.  If you have any questions regarding the index and the information it contains, 
please contact Nancy Lancaster (801 538-3218), Mike Broschinsky (801 538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801 
538-3777). 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
 
 
 
 
 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  

 
 
 
CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Administrative Services 

Administrative Rules 
R15-4 Administrative Rulemaking Procedures 28586 EMR 04/15/2006 2006-8/57  

Finance 
R25-5 Payment of Per Diem to Boards 28384 AMD 01/25/2006 2005-24/2  

Fleet Operations 
R27-1 Definitions 28474 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/33  

R27-1 Definitions  (5YR EXTENSION) 28279 NSC 01/30/2006 Not Printed 

R27-1-2  Definitions 28368 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R27-2 Fleet Operations Adjudicative Proceedings 28475 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/33  

R27-3 Vehicle Use Standards 28477 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/34  

R27-3 Vehicle Use Standards  (5YR EXTENSION) 28280 NSC 01/30/2006 Not Printed 

R27-7 Safety and Loss Prevention of State Vehicles 28469 5YR 01/20/2006 2006-4/34  
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

Fleet Operations, Surplus Property 
R28-2 Surplus Firearms 28496 5YR 02/07/2006 2006-5/47  

Purchasing and General Services 
R33-1 Utah State Procurement Rules Definitions 28436 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

R33-1-1  Definitions 28445 AMD 02/21/2006 2006-2/3  

R33-2-101  Delegation of Authority of the Chief 
Procurement Officer 

28437 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

R33-3 Source Selection and Contract Formation 28447 AMD 02/21/2006 2006-2/5  

R33-4 Specifications 28438 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

R33-5 Construction and Architect-Engineer Selection 28448 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

R33-7 Cost Principles 28439 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

R33-8 Property Management 28440 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

Records Committee 
R35-1 State Records Committee Appeal Hearing 

Procedures 
28462 AMD 03/14/2006 2006-3/3  

Risk Management 
R37-1 Risk Management General Rules 28413 AMD 03/31/2006 2006-1/4  

 
Agriculture and Food 

Administration 
R51-3 Government Records Access and 

Management Act 
28552 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  

R51-4 ADA Complaint Procedure 28553 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  

Animal Industry 
R58-10 Meat and Poultry Inspection 28506 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/2  

Marketing and Development 
R65-8 Management of the Junior Livestock Show 

Appropriation 
28558 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/70  

Plant Industry 
R68-4 Standardization, Marketing, and Phytosanitary 

Inspection of Fresh Fruits, Vegetables, and 
Other Plant and Plant Products 

28504 5YR 02/10/2006 2006-5/47  

R68-7 Utah Pesticide Control Act 28554 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/70  

R68-8 Utah Seed Law 28452 5YR 01/09/2006 2006-3/38  

R68-18 Quarantine Pertaining to Karnal Bunt 28505 5YR 02/10/2006 2006-5/48  

Regulatory Services 
R70-101 Bedding, Upholstered Furniture and Quilted 

Clothing 
28503 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/3  

R70-330 Raw Milk for Retail 28555 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/71  

R70-370 Butter 28556 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/71  

R70-380 Grade A Condensed and Dry Milk Products 
and Condensed and Dry Whey 

28557 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/72  

R70-410 Grading and Inspection of Shell Eggs With 
Standard Grade and Weight Classes 

28471 5YR 01/24/2006 2006-4/35  

R70-410-1  Authority 28485 AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/4  

 
Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Administration 
R81-10A-7  Draft Beer Sales/Minors on Premises 28431 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Commerce 

Administration 
R151-14 New Automobile Franchise Act Rule 28542 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/2  

R151-35 Powersport Vehicle Franchise Act Rule 28543 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/3  

R151-46b Department of Commerce Administrative 
Procedures Act Rules 

28709 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-3a Architect Licensing Act Rules 28429 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/15  

R156-3a Architect Licensing Act Rules 28429 CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/44  

R156-3a Architect Licensing Act Rules 28604 5YR 04/10/2006 2006-9/39  

R156-17b Pharmacy Practice Act Rules 28530 AMD 04/17/2006 2006-6/2  

R156-22 Professional Engineers and Professional Land 
Surveyors Licensing Act Rules 

28444 CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/45  

R156-22 Professional Engineers and Professional Land 
Surveyors Licensing Act Rules 

28444 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/17  

R156-31b Nurse Practice Act Rules 28365 AMD 01/23/2006 2005-24/3  

R156-37 Utah Controlled Substances Act Rules 28310 AMD 02/16/2006 2005-22/8  

R156-37 Utah Controlled Substances Act Rules 28310 CPR 02/16/2006 2006-2/35  

R156-44a Nurse Midwife Practice Act Rules 28352 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/4  

R156-46b Division Utah Administrative Procedures Act 
Rules 

28673 5YR 04/25/2006 2006-10/86  

R156-47b Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules 28478 5YR 01/31/2006 2006-4/35  

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules 28550 5YR 03/13/2006 2006-7/33  

R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 28286 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/6  

R156-56-707  Statewide Amendments to the IPC 28285 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/25  

R156-56-711  Statewide Amendments to the IRC 28427 NSC 02/23/2006 Not Printed 

R156-60d Substance Abuse Counselor Act Rules 28605 5YR 04/10/2006 2006-9/39  

R156-63-503  Administrative Penalties 28345 AMD 01/10/2006 2005-23/5  

R156-74 Certified Shorthand Reporters Licensing Act 
Rules 

28428 AMD 02/16/2006 2006-2/24  

Real Estate 
R162-10-1  Formal Adjudicative Proceedings 28494 AMD 04/19/2006 2006-5/7  

R162-202-10  Principal Lending Manager Experience 
Requirement 

28499 AMD 04/05/2006 2006-5/7  

R162-203 Status Changes 28450 AMD 03/09/2006 2006-3/4  

R162-204 Residential Mortgage Record Keeping 
Requirements 

28497 AMD 04/05/2006 2006-5/8  

R162-205 Residential Mortgage Unprofessional Conduct 28498 AMD 04/05/2006 2006-5/9  

R162-207-3  Renewal Process 28451 AMD 03/09/2006 2006-3/5  

R162-209 Administrative Proceedings 28476 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/36  

 
Community and Culture 

Housing and Community Development 
R199-11 Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) 28647 5YR 04/19/2006 2006-10/86  

Indian Affairs 
R230-1 Native American Grave Protection and 

Repatriation 
28479 5YR 01/31/2006 2006-4/37  

Olene Walker Housing Trust Fund 
R235-1 Olene Walker Housing Loan Fund (OWHLF) 28492 NSC 03/01/2006 Not Printed 

R235-1 Olene Walker Housing Loan Fund (OWHLF) 28402 NEW 03/01/2006 2006-1/9  
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Community and Economic Development 

Administration 
R182-1 Government Records Access and 

Management Act Rules 
28442 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community Development 
R199-8 Permanent Community Impact Fund Board 

Review and Approval of Applications for 
Funding Assistance 

28347 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R199-9 Policy Concerning Enforceability and Taxability 
of Bonds Purchased 

28348 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R199-10 Procedures in Case of Inability to Formulate 
Contract for Alleviation of Impact 

28349 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R199-11 Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) 28350 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community Development, Community Services 
R202-100 Community Services Block Grant Rules 28353 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-201 Energy Assistance:  General Provisions 28359 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-202 Energy Assistance Programs Standards 28385 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-203 Energy Assistance Income Standards, Income 
Eligibility, and Payment Determination 

28386 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-204 Energy Assistance:  Asset Standards 28387 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-205 Energy Assistance:  Program Benefits 28388 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-206 Energy Assistance:  Eligibility Determination 28389 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-207 Energy Assistance:  Records and Benefit 
Management 

28390 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R202-208 Energy Assistance:  Special State Programs 28391 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community Development, Energy Services 
R203-4 Utah Public Building Energy Loan and Grant 

Programs 
28433 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R203-5 Utah Energy Technology Demonstration 
Program 

28434 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community Development, Fine Arts 
R207-1 Utah Arts Council General Program Rules 28361 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R207-2 Policy for Commissions, Purchases, and 
Donations to, and Loans from, the Utah State 
Art Collections 

28362 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community Development, History 
R212-1 Adjudicative Proceedings 28404 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-3 Memberships, Sales, Gifts, Bequests, 
Endowments 

28406 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-4 Archaeological Permits 28407 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-6 State Register for Historic Resources and 
Archaeological Sites 

28405 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-7 Cultural Resource Management 28403 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-8 Preservation Easements 28408 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-9 Board of State History as the Cultural Sites 
Review Committee Review Board 

28409 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-11 Historic Preservation Tax Credits 28410 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R212-12 Computerized Record of Cemeteries, Burial 
Locations and Plots, and Granting Matching 
Funds 

28411 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community Development, Library 
R223-1 Adjudicative Procedures 28343 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R223-2 Public Library Online Access for Eligibility to 
Receive Public Funds 

28344 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

Indian Affairs 
R230-1 Native American Grave Protection Repatriation 

Act 
28441 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
Corrections 

Administration 
R251-104 Declaratory Orders 28576 5YR 03/28/2006 2006-8/72  

R251-111 Governmant Records Access and 
Management 

28713 5YR 05/04/2006 Not Printed 

R251-702 Inmate Communication: Telephones 28705 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

R251-708 Perimeter Patrol 28706 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

R251-711 Admission and Intake 28707 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

R251-712 Release 28577 5YR 03/28/2006 2006-8/72  

 
Crime Victim Reparations 

Administration 
R270-1 Award and Reparations Standards 28355 AMD 01/04/2006 2005-23/6  

R270-1-4  Counseling Awards 28473 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
Education 

Administration 
R277-410 Accreditation of Schools 28463 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/7  

R277-477 Distribution of Funds from the School Trust 
Lands Account and Implementation of the 
School LAND Trust Program 

28464 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/8  

R277-501 Educator Licensing Renewal, Highly Qualified 
and Timelines 

28465 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/10  

R277-510 Educator Licensing - Highly Qualified Teachers 28466 NEW 03/06/2006 2006-3/15  

R277-510 Educator Licensing - Highly Qualified Teachers 28592 NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

R277-513 Dual Certification 28700 5YR 05/01/2006 2006-10/87  

R277-517 Athletic Coaching Certification 28701 5YR 05/01/2006 2006-10/87  

R277-602 Special Needs Scholarships - Funding and 
Procedures 

28446 AMD 02/15/2006 2006-2/25  

R277-705 Secondary School Completion and Diplomas 28467 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/18  

R277-716 Alternative Language Services for Utah 
Students 

28522 NEW 04/03/2006 2006-5/10  

R277-717 Mathematics, Engineering, Science 
Achievement (MESA) 

28523 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/13  

Rehabilitation 
R280-204 Utah State Office of Rehabilitation Employee 

Background Check Requirement 
28521 NEW 04/03/2006 2006-5/16  

 
Environmental Quality 

Air Quality 
R307-170 Continuous Emission Monitoring Program 28226 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-19/6  

R307-204 Emission Standards:  Smoke Management 28602 5YR 04/07/2006 2006-9/40  

R307-204 Emission Standards:  Smoke Management 28501 AMD 04/07/2006 2006-5/18  

R307-204 Emission Standards:  Smoke Management  
(5YR EXTENSION) 

28459 NSC 04/07/2006 Not Printed 

R307-415-7d  Permit Revision:  Changes That Do Not 
Require a Revision 

28549 NSC 03/28/2006 Not Printed 

R307-801-5  Company Certifications 28468 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

Drinking Water 
R309-105-9  Minimum Water Pressure 28416 AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/11  
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R309-150-6  Physical Facilities 28417 AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/12  

R309-405-4  Assessment of a Penalty and Calculation of 
Settlement Amounts 

28418 AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/14  

R309-510-9  Distribution System Sizing 28419 AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/16  

R309-540-6  Hydropneumatic Systems 28420 AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/18  

R309-545-7  Location of Tanks 28421 AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/19  

R309-550-5  Water Main Design 28422 AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/20  

R309-600 Drinking Water Source Protection for Ground-
Water Sources 

28392 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R309-605 Source Protection:  Drinking Water Source 
Protection for Surface Water Sources 

28380 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Radiation Control 
R313-26 Generator Site Access Permit Requirements 

for Accessing Utah Radioactive Waste 
Disposal Facilities. 

28720 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

R313-32 Medical Use of Radioactive Material 28541 AMD 05/10/2006 2006-7/13  

Solid and Hazardous Waste 
R315-102 Penalty Policy 28346 AMD 01/20/2006 2005-23/38  

 
Governor 

Planning and Budget 
R361-1 Rule for Implementation of the Resource 

Development Coordinating Committee Act, 
1981 

28295 REP 01/03/2006 2005-22/36  

 
Health 

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-2A Inpatient Hospital Services 28258 R&R 03/03/2006 2005-20/11  

R414-2A Inpatient Hospital Services 28258 CPR 03/03/2006 2006-2/36  

R414-3A Outpatient Hospital Services 28414 R&R 02/01/2006 2006-1/22  

R414-60 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Copayment 
Procedures 

28357 R&R 01/04/2006 2005-23/42  

R414-63 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Reimbursement 28356 REP 01/04/2006 2005-23/44  

R414-305 Resources 28595 EMR 04/01/2006 2006-8/58  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-7 Emergency Medical Services Prehospital Data 

System Rules 
28470 5YR 01/24/2006 2006-4/37  

R426-8 Emergency Medical Services Per Capita 
Grants Program Rules 

28472 5YR 01/24/2006 2006-4/38  

Health Systems Improvement, Child Care Licensing 
R430-2 General Licensing Provisions, Child Care 

Facilities 
28245 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/14  

R430-2 General Licensing Provisions, Child Care 
Facilities 

28245 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/33  

R430-3 General Child Care Facility Rules Inspection 
and Enforcement 

28246 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/18  

R430-3 General Child Care Facility Rules Inspection 
and Enforcement 

28246 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/35  

R430-4 General Certificate Provisions 28248 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/23  

R430-4 General Certificate Provisions 28248 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/37  

R430-6 Background Screening 28249 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/26  

R430-6 Background Screening 28249 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/41  

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-31 Transferable Physician Order for Life-

Sustaining Treatment 
28500 AMD 04/13/2006 2006-5/35  
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R432-100-24  Pharmacy Services 28312 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/34  

R432-100-33  Medical Records 28313 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/35  

R432-100-38  Emergency and Disaster Plan 28311 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/38  

R432-106 Specialty Hospital - Critical Access 28301 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/39  

R432-106 Specialty Hospital - Critical Access 28449 5YR 01/06/2006 2006-3/38  

Health Systems Improvement, Primary Care and Rural Health 
R434-30 Primary Care Grants Program for Medically 

Underserved Populations 
28644 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/88  

R434-100-6  Contract Requirements 28331 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
Human Resource Management 

Administration 
R477-7 Leave 28443 EMR 01/01/2006 2006-2/40  

R477-7 Leave 28571 EMR 04/01/2006 2006-8/64  

 
Human Services 

Administration 
R495-862 Communicable Disease Control Act 28598 5YR 04/04/2006 2006-9/41  

Aging and Adult Services 
R510-401 Utah Caregiver Support Program 28190 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-18/37  

R510-401 Utah Caregiver Support Program (UCSP) 28190 CPR 02/23/2006 2005-22/46  

Child Protection Ombudsman (Office of) 
R515-1 Processing Complaints Regarding the Utah 

Division of Child and Family Services 
28401 NEW 02/01/2006 2006-1/26  

Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
R523-21 Division of Substance Abuse and Mental 

Health Rules 
28599 5YR 04/06/2006 2006-9/41  

Recovery Services 
R527-35 Non-IV-A Fee Schedule 28412 AMD 02/22/2006 2006-1/27  

R527-200 Administrative Procedures 28670 5YR 04/24/2006 2006-10/88  

Services for People with Disabilities 
R539-1-8  Non-waiver Services for People with Brain 

Injury 
28716 EMR 05/05/2006 Not Printed 

R539-9 Supported Employment Pilot Program 28715 EMR 05/05/2006 Not Printed 

Juvenile Justice Services 
R547-13 Guidelines for Admission to Secure Youth 

Detention Facilities Review 
28378 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/8  

 
Insurance 

Administration 
R590-85 Individual Accident and Health Insurance and 

Individual and Group Medicare Supplement 
Rates 

28117 AMD 01/31/2006 2005-16/18  

R590-85 Individual Accident and Health Insurance and 
Individual and Group Medicare Supplement 
Rates 

28117 CPR 01/31/2006 2005-20/61  

R590-85 Individual Accident and Health Insurance and 
Individual and Group Medicare Supplement 
Rates 

28117 CPR 01/31/2006 2005-24/44  

R590-93-6  Duties of Replacing Insurers that Use 
Producers 

28527 NSC 03/06/2006 Not Printed 

R590-98 Unfair Practice in Payment of Life Insurance 
and Annuity Policy Values 

28267 CPR 01/31/2006 2005-24/46  
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R590-98 Unfair Practice in Payment of Life Insurance 
and Annuity Policy Values 

28267 AMD 01/31/2006 2005-20/39  

R590-99 Delay or Failure to Record Documents and the 
Insuring of Properties with the False 
Appearance of Unmarketability as Unfair Title 
Insurance Practices 

28528 NSC 03/06/2006 Not Printed 

R590-131-4  Rules for Coordination of Benefits 28495 NSC 02/24/2006 Not Printed 

R590-144 Commercial Aviation Insurance Exemption 
From Rate and Form Filing 

28551 5YR 03/14/2006 2006-7/34  

R590-166-4  Rule 28269 AMD 01/24/2006 2005-20/40  

R590-177 Life Insurance Illustrations Rule 28587 5YR 03/31/2006 2006-8/73  

R590-177 Life Insurance Illustrations Rule 28588 NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

R590-200 Diabetes Treatment and Management 28589 5YR 03/31/2006 2006-8/73  

R590-234 Single Risk Limitation 28486 NEW 03/22/2006 2006-4/12  

Title and Escrow Commission 
R592-2-5  Imposition of Penalties 28529 NSC 03/06/2006 Not Printed 

 
Judicial Conduct Commission 

Administration 
R595-4-1  Dismissals with Warning or upon Stated 

Conditions 
28351 AMD 02/10/2006 2005-23/45  

 
Labor Commission 

Adjudication 
R602-2-1  Pleadings and Discovery 28547 AMD 05/05/2006 2006-7/14  

Industrial Accidents 
R612-4 Premium Rates 28458 5YR 01/12/2006 2006-3/39  

R612-4-2  Premium Rates for the Uninsured Employers' 
Fund and the Employers' Reinsurance Fund 

28298 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-22/41  

Occupational Safety and Health 
R614-1-4  Incorporation of Federal Standards 28548 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/18  

R614-1-5  Adoption and Extension of Established Federal 
Safety Standards and State of Utah General 
Safety Orders 

28514 NSC 02/27/2006 Not Printed 

Safety 
R616-2 Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels 
28515 NSC 02/27/2006 Not Printed 

R616-2-3  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 
Pressure Vessels 

28257 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-20/43  

R616-3-3  Safety Codes for Elevators 28256 AMD 02/08/2006 2005-20/44  

 
Money Management Council 

Administration 
R628-4-2  Fidelity Bond 28533 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

R628-10 Rating Requirements to Be a Permitted 
Depository 

28606 5YR 04/11/2006 2006-9/42  

R628-16 Certification as a Dealer 28534 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
Natural Resources 

Oil, Gas and Mining; Non-Coal 
R647-1-106  Definitions 28337 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/46  

R647-2 Exploration 28338 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/48  

R647-3 Small Mining Operations 28339 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/51  

R647-4 Large Mining Operations 28340 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/55  
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R647-5-101  Formal and Informal Proceeding 28341 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/58  

Parks and Recreation 
R651-201 Definitions 28622 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/89  

R651-202 Boating Advisory Council 28623 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/89  

R651-203 Waterway Marking System 28626 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/90  

R651-204 Regulating Waterway Markers 28624 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/90  

R651-205 Zoned Waters 28625 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/91  

R651-206 Carrying Passengers for Hire 28509 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/48  

R651-207 Registration Fee 28627 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/91  

R651-208 Backing Plates 28628 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/92  

R651-210 Change of Address 28629 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/92  

R651-211 Assigned Numbers 28630 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/93  

R651-212 Display of Yearly Registration Decals and 
Month of Expiration Decals 

28631 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/93  

R651-213 Dealer Numbers and Registrations 28632 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/94  

R651-214 Temporary Registration 28633 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/94  

R651-215 Personal Floatation Devices 28510 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/49  

R651-216 Navigation Lights - Note:  Figures 1 through 7 
mentioned below are on file with the Utah 
Division of Parks and Recreation 

28634 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/95  

R651-217 Fire Extinguishers 28635 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/95  

R651-218 Carburetor Backfire Flame Control 28636 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/96  

R651-219 Additional Safety Equipment 28637 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/96  

R651-220 Registration and Numbering Exemptions 28638 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/97  

R651-221 Boat Livery Agreements 28639 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/97  

R651-222 Muffling Requirements 28511 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/49  

R651-224 Towed Devices 28512 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/50  

R651-226 Regattas and Races 28640 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/98  

R651-401 Off-Highway Vehicle and Registration Stickers 28642 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/98  

R651-405 Off-Highway Implement of Husbandry Sticker 
Fee 

28641 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/99  

R651-406 Off-Highway Vehicle Registration Fees 28643 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/99  

R651-611 Fee Schedule 28169 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-18/46  

R651-611 Fee Schedule 28513 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/50  

R651-801 Swimming Prohibited 28645 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/100  

R651-802 Scuba Diving 28646 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/100  

Forestry, Fire and State Lands 
R652-122 County Cooperative Agreements with State for 

Fire Protection 
28525 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

Water Rights 
R655-10 Dam Safety Classifications, Approval 

Procedures and Independent Reviews. 
28710 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

R655-11 Requirements for the Design, Construction and 
Abandonment of Dams. 

28711 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

R655-12 Requirements for Operational Dams. 28712 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

Wildlife Resources 
R657-5 Taking Big Game 28379 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/11  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 28303 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-22/41  

R657-17 Lifetime Hunting and Fishing License 28382 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/17  
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R657-19 Taking Nongame Mammals 28454 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/22  

R657-23 Utah Hunter Education Program 28377 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/19  

R657-24 Compensation for Mountain Lion and Bear 
Damage 

28455 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/24  

R657-33 Taking Bear 28457 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/25  

R657-38 Dedicated Hunter Program 28371 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/22  

R657-39 Regional Advisory Councils 28453 5YR 01/09/2006 2006-3/39  

R657-40 Wildlife Rehabilitation 28456 5YR 01/10/2006 2006-3/40  

R657-42 Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Wildlife Documents 

28376 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/27  

 
Public Safety 

Driver License 
R708-6 Renewal By Mail 28569 5YR 03/23/2006 2006-8/74  

R708-14-5  Authority for Conducting Adjudicative 
Proceedings 

28580 NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

R708-16 Pedestrian Vehicle Rule 28568 5YR 03/23/2006 2006-8/74  

R708-18 Regulatory and Administrative Fees 28565 5YR 03/20/2006 2006-8/75  

R708-19 Automobile No-Fault Self-Insurance 28572 5YR 03/23/2006 2006-8/75  

R708-20 Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course 
Standards 

28567 5YR 03/21/2006 2006-8/76  

R708-33 Electric Assisted Bicycle Headgear 28560 5YR 03/17/2006 2006-8/76  

R708-38 Anatomical Gift 28566 5YR 03/20/2006 2006-8/77  

Fire Marshal 
R710-6 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules 28584 5YR 03/30/2006 2006-8/77  

R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 
Law 

28292 AMD 01/10/2006 2005-21/38  

R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 
Law 

28461 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/27  

R710-10 Rules Pursuant to Fire Service Training, 
Education, and Certification 

28460 NEW 03/06/2006 2006-3/33  

R710-10-7  Utah Fire and Rescue Academy 28581 NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

Highway Patrol 
R714-500 Chemical Analysis Standards and Training 28342 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/59  

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification 
R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit Rule 28250 AMD 01/09/2006 2005-20/48  

R722-300-13  Concealed Firearm Permit Instructors 28296 NSC 01/09/2006 Not Printed 

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-345 Pole Attachments for Cable Television 

Companies 
28139 AMD 02/08/2006 2005-17/31  

R746-345 Pole Attachments for Cable Television 
Companies 

28139 CPR 02/08/2006 2005-24/47  

 
Regents (Board Of) 

Administration 
R765-649 Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority 

(UHEAA) Privacy Policy 
28676 5YR 04/25/2006 2006-10/101  

 
School and Institutional Trust Lands 

Administration 
R850-21-900  Failure of Agency's Title 28482 AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/14  

R850-22-900  Failure of Agency's Title 28483 AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/15  
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R850-24-300  Failure of Agency's Title 28484 AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/16  

 
Tax Commission 

Administration 
R861-1A-37  Provisions Relating to Disclosure of 

Commercial Information Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 59-1-404 

28430 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/29  

Auditing 
R865-21U Use Tax 28540 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/34  

Collections 
R867-2B Delinquent Tax Collection 28539 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/35  

Property Tax 
R884-24P-19  Appraiser Designation Program Pursuant to 

Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-2-701 and 59-2-
702 

28432 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/31  

 
Transportation 

Administration 
R907-68 Prioritization of New Transportation Capacity 

Projects 
28358 NEW 01/04/2006 2005-23/61  

Motor Carrier, Ports of Entry 
R912-8 Minimum Tire, Axle and Suspension Ratings 

for Heavy Vehicles and the Use of Retractable 
or Variable Load Suspension Axles in Utah  
(EXPIRED RULE) 

28695 NSC 04/28/2006 Not Printed 

R912-11 Overweight and/or Oversize Permitted Vehicle 
Restrictions on Certain Highways Throughout 
the State of Utah 

28415 AMD 02/08/2006 2006-1/28  

Operations, Traffic and Safety 
R920-50-1  Utah Ropeway Rules for Passenger Ropeways 28524 AMD 04/04/2006 2006-5/40  

Program Development 
R926-9 Establishment and Operation of HOT Lanes or 

Toll Lanes on State Highways 
28538 NEW 04/20/2006 2006-6/17  

Preconstruction 
R930-5 Establishment and Regulation of At-Grade 

Railroad Crossings 
28489 R&R 04/25/2006 2006-4/18  

R930-6 Manual of Accommodation of Utility Facilities 
and the Control and Protection of State 
Highway Rights-of-Way 

28360 AMD 01/27/2006 2005-24/31  

Preconstruction, Right-of-Way Acquisition 
R933-2-3  Definitions 28490 AMD 03/31/2006 2006-4/29  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-200 Family Employment Program 28537 AMD 05/01/2006 2006-6/19  

R986-300-305  Failure to Comply with an Employment Plan 28425 AMD 03/01/2006 2006-1/31  

R986-600-604  Adults, Youth, and Dislocated Workers 28400 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

R986-700-705  Eligible Providers and Provider Settings 28561 NSC 04/17/2006 Not Printed 

R986-700-709  Employment Support (ES) CC 28481 AMD 04/12/2006 2006-4/31  

Unemployment Insurance 
R994-302 Payment by Employer 28721 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

R994-308 Bond or Security Requirement. 28722 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

R994-406-302  Repayment and Collection of Fault 
Overpayments 

28480 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 
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 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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access 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28421 R309-545-7  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/19  

 
accident prevention 
Public Safety, Driver License 28567 R708-20 5YR 03/21/2006 2006-8/76  

 
accidents 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28469 R27-7 5YR 01/20/2006 2006-4/34  

 
accounts 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28533 R628-4-2  NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
accreditation 
Education, Administration 28463 R277-410 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/7  

 
adjudicative procedures 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Library 

28343 R223-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
adjudicative proceedings 
Commerce, Administration 28709 R151-46b 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28404 R212-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Public Safety, Driver License 28580 R708-14-5  NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

 
administrative law 
Administrative Services, Administrative 
Rules 

28586 R15-4 EMR 04/15/2006 2006-8/57  

Human Services, Recovery Services 28670 R527-200 5YR 04/24/2006 2006-10/88  

 
administrative procedures 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28475 R27-2 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/33  

Commerce, Administration 28709 R151-46b 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28673 R156-46b 5YR 04/25/2006 2006-10/86  

Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28404 R212-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28406 R212-3 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28407 R212-4 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Library 

28343 R223-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28417 R309-150-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/12  

 28418 R309-405-4  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/14  

Labor Commission, Adjudication 28547 R602-2-1  AMD 05/05/2006 2006-7/14  

School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28482 R850-21-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/14  

 28483 R850-22-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/15  

 
admission guidelines 
Human Services, Juvenile Justice Services 28378 R547-13 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/8  

 
affordable housing 
Community and Culture, Olene Walker 
Housing Trust Fund 

28492 R235-1 NSC 03/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28402 R235-1 NEW 03/01/2006 2006-1/9  

 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28226 R307-170 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-19/6  

 28549 R307-415-7d  NSC 03/28/2006 Not Printed 

 28468 R307-801-5  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
air quality 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28501 R307-204 AMD 04/07/2006 2006-5/18  

 28602 R307-204 5YR 04/07/2006 2006-9/40  

 28459 R307-204 NSC 04/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
alcohol 
Public Safety, Highway Patrol 28342 R714-500 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/59  

 
alcoholic beverages 
Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration 28431 R81-10A-7  NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
alternative language services 
Education, Administration 28522 R277-716 NEW 04/03/2006 2006-5/10  

 
anatomical gift 
Public Safety, Driver License 28566 R708-38 5YR 03/20/2006 2006-8/77  

 
annuity replacement 
Insurance, Administration 28527 R590-93-6  NSC 03/06/2006 Not Printed 

 
antipoverty programs 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28353 R202-100 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
appellate procedures 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28475 R27-2 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/33  

Corrections, Administration 28576 R251-104 5YR 03/28/2006 2006-8/72  

 
appraisals 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 28432 R884-24P-19  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/31  

 
ARC 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28469 R27-7 5YR 01/20/2006 2006-4/34  
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archaeology 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28407 R212-4 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
architects 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28604 R156-3a 5YR 04/10/2006 2006-9/39  

 28429 R156-3a CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/44  

 28429 R156-3a AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/15  

 
art donations 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Fine Arts 

28362 R207-2 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
art financing 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Fine Arts 

28361 R207-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
art in public places 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Fine Arts 

28361 R207-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28362 R207-2 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
art loans 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Fine Arts 

28362 R207-2 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
art preservation 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Fine Arts 

28361 R207-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
art work 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Fine Arts 

28362 R207-2 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
asbestos 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28468 R307-801-5  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
asbestos hazard emergency response 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28468 R307-801-5  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
athletics 
Education, Administration 28701 R277-517 5YR 05/01/2006 2006-10/87  

 
automobiles 
Commerce, Administration 28542 R151-14 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/2  

 
banking law 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28606 R628-10 5YR 04/11/2006 2006-9/42  

 
bear 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28457 R657-33 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/25  

 
benefits 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28388 R202-205 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28390 R202-207 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28379 R657-5 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/11  

 
bituminous-asphaltic sands 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28483 R850-22-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/15  

 
boards 
Administrative Services, Finance 28384 R25-5 AMD 01/25/2006 2005-24/2  

 
boating 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 28622 R651-201 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/89  

 28623 R651-202 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/89  

 28626 R651-203 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/90  

 28624 R651-204 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/90  

 28625 R651-205 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/91  

 28509 R651-206 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/48  

 28627 R651-207 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/91  

 28628 R651-208 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/92  

 28629 R651-210 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/92  

 28630 R651-211 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/93  

 28631 R651-212 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/93  

 28632 R651-213 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/94  

 28633 R651-214 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/94  

 28510 R651-215 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/49  

 28634 R651-216 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/95  

 28635 R651-217 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/95  

 28636 R651-218 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/96  

 28637 R651-219 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/96  

 28638 R651-220 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/97  

 28639 R651-221 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/97  

 28511 R651-222 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/49  

 28512 R651-224 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/50  

 28640 R651-226 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/98  

 
boilers 
Labor Commission, Safety 28515 R616-2 NSC 02/27/2006 Not Printed 

 28257 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-20/43  

 
bonding requirements 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28533 R628-4-2  NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

28722 R994-308 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

 
brachytherapy 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 28541 R313-32 AMD 05/10/2006 2006-7/13  

 
brain injury 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

28716 R539-1-8  EMR 05/05/2006 Not Printed 
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breath testing 
Public Safety, Highway Patrol 28342 R714-500 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/59  

 
building codes 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28286 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/6  

 28285 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/25  

 28427 R156-56-711  NSC 02/23/2006 Not Printed 

 
building inspection 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28286 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/6  

 28285 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/25  

 28427 R156-56-711  NSC 02/23/2006 Not Printed 

 
burial 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28411 R212-12 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
capacity 
Transportation, Administration 28358 R907-68 NEW 01/04/2006 2005-23/61  

 
care receiver 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 28190 R510-401 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-18/37  

 28190 R510-401 CPR 02/23/2006 2005-22/46  

 
caregiver 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 28190 R510-401 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-18/37  

 28190 R510-401 CPR 02/23/2006 2005-22/46  

 
cash management 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28534 R628-16 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
cemetery 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28411 R212-12 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
certification 
Labor Commission, Safety 28515 R616-2 NSC 02/27/2006 Not Printed 

 28257 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-20/43  

 28256 R616-3-3  AMD 02/08/2006 2005-20/44  

 
certified court reporter 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28428 R156-74 AMD 02/16/2006 2006-2/24  

 
certified nurse midwife 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28352 R156-44a AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/4  

 
child care 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

28561 R986-700-705  NSC 04/17/2006 Not Printed 

 28481 R986-700-709  AMD 04/12/2006 2006-4/31  

 
child care facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Child Care Licensing 

28245 R430-2 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/14  
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 28245 R430-2 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/33  

 28246 R430-3 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/18  

 28246 R430-3 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/35  

 28248 R430-4 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/23  

 28248 R430-4 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/37  

 28249 R430-6 AMD 02/06/2006 2005-20/26  

 28249 R430-6 CPR 02/06/2006 2005-24/41  

 
child support 
Human Services, Recovery Services 28412 R527-35 AMD 02/22/2006 2006-1/27  

 28670 R527-200 5YR 04/24/2006 2006-10/88  

 
client rights 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28359 R202-201 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
communicable diseases 
Human Services, Administration 28598 R495-862 5YR 04/04/2006 2006-9/41  

 
community action programs 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28353 R202-100 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
community development 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development 

28350 R199-11 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community and Culture, Housing and 
Community Development 

28647 R199-11 5YR 04/19/2006 2006-10/86  

 
complaint 
Human Services, Child Protection 
Ombudsman (Office of) 

28401 R515-1 NEW 02/01/2006 2006-1/26  

 
concealed firearm permit 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

28250 R722-300 AMD 01/09/2006 2005-20/48  

 28296 R722-300-13  NSC 01/09/2006 Not Printed 

 
confidentiality of information 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28359 R202-201 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
connections 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28422 R309-550-5  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/20  

 
continuous monitoring 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28226 R307-170 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-19/6  

 
contractors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28286 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/6  

 28285 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/25  

 28427 R156-56-711  NSC 02/23/2006 Not Printed 

 
controlled substances 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28310 R156-37 AMD 02/16/2006 2005-22/8  
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 28310 R156-37 CPR 02/16/2006 2006-2/35  

Tax Commission, Collections 28539 R867-2B 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/35  

 
cooperative agreement 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

28525 R652-122 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
corrections 
Corrections, Administration 28576 R251-104 5YR 03/28/2006 2006-8/72  

 28705 R251-702 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28706 R251-708 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28707 R251-711 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28577 R251-712 5YR 03/28/2006 2006-8/72  

 
court reporting 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28428 R156-74 AMD 02/16/2006 2006-2/24  

 
criminal background checks 
Education, Rehabilitation 28521 R280-204 NEW 04/03/2006 2006-5/16  

 
criminal records 
Corrections, Administration 28713 R251-111 5YR 05/04/2006 Not Printed 

 
cultural resources 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28403 R212-7 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
curricula 
Education, Administration 28467 R277-705 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/18  

 
dam safety 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 28710 R655-10 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28712 R655-12 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 
damages 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28455 R657-24 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/24  

 
dams 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 28710 R655-10 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28711 R655-11 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28712 R655-12 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 
DCFS 
Human Services, Child Protection 
Ombudsman (Office of) 

28401 R515-1 NEW 02/01/2006 2006-1/26  

 
definitions 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28474 R27-1 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/33  

 28279 R27-1 NSC 01/30/2006 Not Printed 

 28368 R27-1-2  NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
depository 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28606 R628-10 5YR 04/11/2006 2006-9/42  

 
developmentally disabled 
Agriculture and Food, Administration 28553 R51-4 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  
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 28430 R861-1A-37  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/29  

 
disabilities 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

28716 R539-1-8  EMR 05/05/2006 Not Printed 

 28715 R539-9 EMR 05/05/2006 Not Printed 

 
disclosure requirements 
Tax Commission, Administration 28430 R861-1A-37  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/29  

 
discrimination 
Agriculture and Food, Administration 28553 R51-4 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  

 
drinking water 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28416 R309-105-9  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/11  

 28417 R309-150-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/12  

 28418 R309-405-4  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/14  

 28419 R309-510-9  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/16  

 28420 R309-540-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/18  

 28421 R309-545-7  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/19  

 28422 R309-550-5  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/20  

 28392 R309-600 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28380 R309-605 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
driver education 
Public Safety, Driver License 28565 R708-18 5YR 03/20/2006 2006-8/75  

 
driver licenses 
Public Safety, Driver License 28569 R708-6 5YR 03/23/2006 2006-8/74  

 
drug stamps 
Tax Commission, Collections 28539 R867-2B 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/35  

 
earthquakes 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 28711 R655-11 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 
educational program evaluation 
Education, Administration 28465 R277-501 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/10  

 
educator 
Education, Administration 28592 R277-510 NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

 28466 R277-510 NEW 03/06/2006 2006-3/15  

 
educator license renewal 
Education, Administration 28465 R277-501 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/10  

 
elderly 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 28190 R510-401 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-18/37  

 28190 R510-401 CPR 02/23/2006 2005-22/46  

 
electric assisted bicycle headgear 
Public Safety, Driver License 28560 R708-33 5YR 03/17/2006 2006-8/76  

 
elevators 
Labor Commission, Safety 28256 R616-3-3  AMD 02/08/2006 2005-20/44  
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emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

28470 R426-7 5YR 01/24/2006 2006-4/37  

 28472 R426-8 5YR 01/24/2006 2006-4/38  

 
emission fee 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28549 R307-415-7d  NSC 03/28/2006 Not Printed 

 
employer liability 
Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

28721 R994-302 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

 
employment 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

28715 R539-9 EMR 05/05/2006 Not Printed 

 
energy assistance 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28385 R202-202 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28386 R202-203 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28387 R202-204 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28388 R202-205 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28389 R202-206 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28390 R202-207 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28391 R202-208 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
energy industries 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28391 R202-208 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
energy loans 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Energy Services 

28433 R203-4 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28434 R203-5 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
engineering 
Education, Administration 28523 R277-717 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/13  

 
engineers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28444 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/45  

 28444 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/17  

 
environmental health 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28392 R309-600 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28380 R309-605 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
environmental protection 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28549 R307-415-7d  NSC 03/28/2006 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28417 R309-150-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/12  

 28418 R309-405-4  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/14  

 
exhibitions 
Agriculture and Food, Marketing and 
Development 

28558 R65-8 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/70  
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family employment program 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

28537 R986-200 AMD 05/01/2006 2006-6/19  

 
fees 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 28513 R651-611 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/50  

 28169 R651-611 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-18/46  

Public Safety, Driver License 28565 R708-18 5YR 03/20/2006 2006-8/75  

 
financial disclosures 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28387 R202-204 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
fire 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28602 R307-204 5YR 04/07/2006 2006-9/40  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 28292 R710-9 AMD 01/10/2006 2005-21/38  

 28461 R710-9 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/27  

 
fire training 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 28460 R710-10 NEW 03/06/2006 2006-3/33  

 28581 R710-10-7  NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

 
firearms 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations, 
Surplus Property 

28496 R28-2 5YR 02/07/2006 2006-5/47  

 
fires 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28459 R307-204 NSC 04/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
fish 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28303 R657-13 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-22/41  

 
fishing 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28303 R657-13 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-22/41  

 
floods 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 28711 R655-11 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 
food inspection 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 28506 R58-10 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/2  

Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 28504 R68-4 5YR 02/10/2006 2006-5/47  

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 28555 R70-330 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/71  

 
food inspections 
Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 28556 R70-370 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/71  

 28557 R70-380 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/72  

 28471 R70-410 5YR 01/24/2006 2006-4/35  

 28485 R70-410-1  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/4  

 
food sales tax refunds 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28353 R202-100 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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franchises 
Commerce, Administration 28542 R151-14 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/2  

 28543 R151-35 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/3  

 
freedom of information 
Agriculture and Food, Administration 28552 R51-3 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  

 28442 R182-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28379 R657-5 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/11  

 28382 R657-17 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/17  

 28454 R657-19 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/22  

 28377 R657-23 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/19  

 28457 R657-33 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/25  

 
generator 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 28720 R313-26 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

 
government documents 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

28462 R35-1 AMD 03/14/2006 2006-3/3  

Agriculture and Food, Administration 28552 R51-3 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  

 28442 R182-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28390 R202-207 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
government hearings 
Commerce, Administration 28709 R151-46b 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28673 R156-46b 5YR 04/25/2006 2006-10/86  

 
government purchasing 
Administrative Services, Purchasing and 
General Services 

28436 R33-1 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 28445 R33-1-1  AMD 02/21/2006 2006-2/3  

 28437 R33-2-101  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 28447 R33-3 AMD 02/21/2006 2006-2/5  

 28438 R33-4 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 28448 R33-5 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 28439 R33-7 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 28440 R33-8 NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
government records* 
Corrections, Administration 28713 R251-111 5YR 05/04/2006 Not Printed 

 
grant programs 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Energy Services 

28433 R203-4 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28434 R203-5 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
grants 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development 

28347 R199-8 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28348 R199-9 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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 28350 R199-11 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Community and Culture, Housing and 
Community Development 

28647 R199-11 5YR 04/19/2006 2006-10/86  

Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28353 R202-100 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Primary Care and Rural Health 

28644 R434-30 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/88  

 
grievance procedures 
Tax Commission, Administration 28430 R861-1A-37  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/29  

 
grievances 
Agriculture and Food, Administration 28553 R51-4 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  

 
hazardous waste 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

28346 R315-102 AMD 01/20/2006 2005-23/38  

 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

28500 R432-31 AMD 04/13/2006 2006-5/35  

 28312 R432-100-24  AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/34  

 28313 R432-100-33  AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/35  

 28311 R432-100-38  AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/38  

 28301 R432-106 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-22/39  

 28449 R432-106 5YR 01/06/2006 2006-3/38  

 
hearings 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28359 R202-201 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Adjudication 28547 R602-2-1  AMD 05/05/2006 2006-7/14  

 
HEAT 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28385 R202-202 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
higher education 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 28676 R765-649 5YR 04/25/2006 2006-10/101  

 
highly qualified 
Education, Administration 28592 R277-510 NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

 28466 R277-510 NEW 03/06/2006 2006-3/15  

 
highways 
Transportation, Program Development 28538 R926-9 NEW 04/20/2006 2006-6/17  

 
historic preservation 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28403 R212-7 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28408 R212-8 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28409 R212-9 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
historic sites 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28405 R212-6 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28408 R212-8 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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historical society 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28406 R212-3 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
holidays 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

28443 R477-7 EMR 01/01/2006 2006-2/40  

 28571 R477-7 EMR 04/01/2006 2006-8/64  

 
housing 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28410 R212-11 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
housing development 
Community and Culture, Olene Walker 
Housing Trust Fund 

28492 R235-1 NSC 03/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28402 R235-1 NEW 03/01/2006 2006-1/9  

 
hunter education 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28377 R657-23 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/19  

 
hunting 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28371 R657-38 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/22  

 
hunting and fishing licenses 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28382 R657-17 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/17  

 
hydropneumatic systems 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28420 R309-540-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/18  

 
impacted area programs 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development 

28349 R199-10 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
incidents 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28469 R27-7 5YR 01/20/2006 2006-4/34  

 
income eligibility 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28386 R202-203 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
Indian affairs 
Community and Economic Development, 
Indian Affairs 

28441 R230-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28479 R230-1 5YR 01/31/2006 2006-4/37  

 
individual home booster pumps 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28420 R309-540-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/18  

 
informal procedures 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Library 

28343 R223-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
inmates 
Corrections, Administration 28705 R251-702 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 
inspections 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 28554 R68-7 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/70  

 28452 R68-8 5YR 01/09/2006 2006-3/38  
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insurance 
Insurance, Administration 28551 R590-144 5YR 03/14/2006 2006-7/34  

 28269 R590-166-4  AMD 01/24/2006 2005-20/40  

 28587 R590-177 5YR 03/31/2006 2006-8/73  

 28588 R590-177 NSC 04/12/2006 Not Printed 

 
insurance law 
Insurance, Administration 28117 R590-85 AMD 01/31/2006 2005-16/18  

 28117 R590-85 CPR 01/31/2006 2005-20/61  

 28117 R590-85 CPR 01/31/2006 2005-24/44  

 28267 R590-98 CPR 01/31/2006 2005-24/46  

 28267 R590-98 AMD 01/31/2006 2005-20/39  

 28528 R590-99 NSC 03/06/2006 Not Printed 

 28495 R590-131-4  NSC 02/24/2006 Not Printed 

 28589 R590-200 5YR 03/31/2006 2006-8/73  

 
Internet access 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Library 

28344 R223-2 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
intoxilyzer 
Public Safety, Highway Patrol 28342 R714-500 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/59  

 
investigation 
Human Services, Child Protection 
Ombudsman (Office of) 

28401 R515-1 NEW 02/01/2006 2006-1/26  

 
judicial conduct commission 
Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration 

28351 R595-4-1  AMD 02/10/2006 2005-23/45  

 
juvenile corrections 
Human Services, Juvenile Justice Services 28378 R547-13 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/8  

 
juvenile detention 
Human Services, Juvenile Justice Services 28378 R547-13 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/8  

 
land manager 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28501 R307-204 AMD 04/07/2006 2006-5/18  

 28602 R307-204 5YR 04/07/2006 2006-9/40  

 
land managers 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28459 R307-204 NSC 04/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
law 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 28292 R710-9 AMD 01/10/2006 2005-21/38  

 28461 R710-9 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/27  

 
lease operations 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28484 R850-24-300  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/16  

 
lease provisions 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28482 R850-21-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/14  

 28483 R850-22-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/15  
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leave benefits 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

28443 R477-7 EMR 01/01/2006 2006-2/40  

 28571 R477-7 EMR 04/01/2006 2006-8/64  

 
libraries 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Library 

28344 R223-2 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28604 R156-3a 5YR 04/10/2006 2006-9/39  

 28429 R156-3a AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/15  

 28429 R156-3a CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/44  

 28530 R156-17b AMD 04/17/2006 2006-6/2  

 28365 R156-31b AMD 01/23/2006 2005-24/3  

 28310 R156-37 AMD 02/16/2006 2005-22/8  

 28310 R156-37 CPR 02/16/2006 2006-2/35  

 28352 R156-44a AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/4  

 28478 R156-47b 5YR 01/31/2006 2006-4/35  

 28550 R156-50 5YR 03/13/2006 2006-7/33  

 28286 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/6  

 28285 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-21/25  

 28427 R156-56-711  NSC 02/23/2006 Not Printed 

 28605 R156-60d 5YR 04/10/2006 2006-9/39  

 28345 R156-63-503  AMD 01/10/2006 2005-23/5  

 28428 R156-74 AMD 02/16/2006 2006-2/24  

Public Safety, Driver License 28565 R708-18 5YR 03/20/2006 2006-8/75  

 
life insurance 
Insurance, Administration 28527 R590-93-6  NSC 03/06/2006 Not Printed 

 
liquefied petroleum gas 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 28584 R710-6 5YR 03/30/2006 2006-8/77  

 
livestock 
Agriculture and Food, Marketing and 
Development 

28558 R65-8 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/70  

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28455 R657-24 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/24  

 
management 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28403 R212-7 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
massage therapy 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28478 R156-47b 5YR 01/31/2006 2006-4/35  

 
material permits 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28484 R850-24-300  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/16  

 
mathematics 
Education, Administration 28523 R277-717 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/13  
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Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

28258 R414-2A R&R 03/03/2006 2005-20/11  

 28258 R414-2A CPR 03/03/2006 2006-2/36  

 28414 R414-3A R&R 02/01/2006 2006-1/22  

 28357 R414-60 R&R 01/04/2006 2005-23/42  

 28356 R414-63 REP 01/04/2006 2005-23/44  

 28595 R414-305 EMR 04/01/2006 2006-8/58  

 
medically underserved 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Primary Care and Rural Health 

28644 R434-30 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/88  

 
methadone programs 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

28599 R523-21 5YR 04/06/2006 2006-9/41  

 
midwifery 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28352 R156-44a AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/4  

 
mineral leases 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28484 R850-24-300  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/16  

 
mineral resources 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28484 R850-24-300  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/16  

 
minerals reclamation 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Non-Coal 

28337 R647-1-106  AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/46  

 28338 R647-2 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/48  

 28339 R647-3 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/51  

 28340 R647-4 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/55  

 28341 R647-5-101  AMD 02/23/2006 2005-23/58  

 
minimum sizing 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28419 R309-510-9  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/16  

 
minimum standards 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

28525 R652-122 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
minority education 
Education, Administration 28523 R277-717 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/13  

 
monitoring 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28226 R307-170 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-19/6  

 
motor vehicle safety 
Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

28695 R912-8 NSC 04/28/2006 Not Printed 

 
motor vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 28542 R151-14 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/2  

Public Safety, Driver License 28567 R708-20 5YR 03/21/2006 2006-8/76  
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motorboat noise 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 28511 R651-222 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/49  

 
motorcycles 
Commerce, Administration 28543 R151-35 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/3  

 
national register 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28405 R212-6 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
Native American remains 
Community and Economic Development, 
Indian Affairs 

28441 R230-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28479 R230-1 5YR 01/31/2006 2006-4/37  

 
natural resources 
Governor, Planning and Budget 28295 R361-1 REP 01/03/2006 2005-22/36  

 
nonpublic schools 
Education, Administration 28463 R277-410 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/7  

 
nuclear medicine 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 28541 R313-32 AMD 05/10/2006 2006-7/13  

 
nurses 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28365 R156-31b AMD 01/23/2006 2005-24/3  

 
occupational licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28673 R156-46b 5YR 04/25/2006 2006-10/86  

 
off road vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 28543 R151-35 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/3  

 
off-highway vehicles 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 28642 R651-401 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/98  

 28641 R651-405 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/99  

 28643 R651-406 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/99  

 
oil gas and hydrocarbons 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28482 R850-21-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/14  

 
oil shale 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28483 R850-22-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/15  

 
Olene Walker Housing Loan Fund 
Community and Culture, Olene Walker 
Housing Trust Fund 

28492 R235-1 NSC 03/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28402 R235-1 NEW 03/01/2006 2006-1/9  

 
ombudsman 
Human Services, Child Protection 
Ombudsman (Office of) 

28401 R515-1 NEW 02/01/2006 2006-1/26  

 
opening and closing dates 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28385 R202-202 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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operating permit 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28549 R307-415-7d  NSC 03/28/2006 Not Printed 

 
operations 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

28482 R850-21-900  AMD 03/20/2006 2006-4/14  

 
operator certification 
Public Safety, Highway Patrol 28342 R714-500 AMD 01/05/2006 2005-23/59  

 
overflow and drains 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28421 R309-545-7  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/19  

 
overpayments 
Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

28480 R994-406-302  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
parks 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 28513 R651-611 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/50  

 28169 R651-611 AMD 01/01/2006 2005-18/46  

 
payment determination 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28386 R202-203 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
penalties 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28418 R309-405-4  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/14  

 
per diem allowance 
Administrative Services, Finance 28384 R25-5 AMD 01/25/2006 2005-24/2  

 
performing arts 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Fine Arts 

28361 R207-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
permit 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 28720 R313-26 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

 
permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28376 R657-42 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/27  

Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

28415 R912-11 AMD 02/08/2006 2006-1/28  

 
personal property 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 28432 R884-24P-19  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/31  

 
pharmacies 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28530 R156-17b AMD 04/17/2006 2006-6/2  

 
pharmacists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28530 R156-17b AMD 04/17/2006 2006-6/2  

 
physicians 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Primary Care and Rural Health 

28331 R434-100-6  NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
plant disease 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 28505 R68-18 5YR 02/10/2006 2006-5/48  
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plots 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28411 R212-12 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
powersport vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 28543 R151-35 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/3  

 
prescriptions 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

28356 R414-63 REP 01/04/2006 2005-23/44  

 
preservation 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28410 R212-11 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
primary health care 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Primary Care and Rural Health 

28644 R434-30 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/88  

 
prisons 
Corrections, Administration 28705 R251-702 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28706 R251-708 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28707 R251-711 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28577 R251-712 5YR 03/28/2006 2006-8/72  

 
private probation provider 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28550 R156-50 5YR 03/13/2006 2006-7/33  

 
private security officers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28345 R156-63-503  AMD 01/10/2006 2005-23/5  

 
probation 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28550 R156-50 5YR 03/13/2006 2006-7/33  

 
professional competency 
Education, Administration 28700 R277-513 5YR 05/01/2006 2006-10/87  

 28606 R628-10 5YR 04/11/2006 2006-9/42  

 
professional engineers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28444 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/45  

 28444 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/17  

 
professional land surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28444 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/45  

 28444 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/17  

 
property tax 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 28432 R884-24P-19  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/31  

 
public buildings 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Energy Services 

28433 R203-4 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28434 R203-5 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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public investments 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28606 R628-10 5YR 04/11/2006 2006-9/42  

 28534 R628-16 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
public library 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Library 

28344 R223-2 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
public meetings 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28453 R657-39 5YR 01/09/2006 2006-3/39  

 
public records 
Agriculture and Food, Administration 28552 R51-3 5YR 03/16/2006 2006-8/69  

 28442 R182-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
public schools 
Education, Administration 28463 R277-410 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/7  

 
public treasurers 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28533 R628-4-2  NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 28139 R746-345 AMD 02/08/2006 2005-17/31  

 28139 R746-345 CPR 02/08/2006 2005-24/47  

 
pumps 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28420 R309-540-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/18  

 
quality control 
Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 28503 R70-101 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/3  

 
radioactive materials 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 28541 R313-32 AMD 05/10/2006 2006-7/13  

 
radioactive waste 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 28720 R313-26 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

 
radiopharmaceutical 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 28541 R313-32 AMD 05/10/2006 2006-7/13  

 
railroads 
Transportation, Preconstruction 28489 R930-5 R&R 04/25/2006 2006-4/18  

 
rates 
Administrative Services, Finance 28384 R25-5 AMD 01/25/2006 2005-24/2  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 28458 R612-4 5YR 01/12/2006 2006-3/39  

 28298 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-22/41  

 
real estate business 
Commerce, Real Estate 28494 R162-10-1  AMD 04/19/2006 2006-5/7  

 
records appeal hearings 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

28462 R35-1 AMD 03/14/2006 2006-3/3  
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recreation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28371 R657-38 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/22  

 
recreational vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 28542 R151-14 AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/2  

 
refugee resettlement program 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

28425 R986-300-305  AMD 03/01/2006 2006-1/31  

 
regional advisory councils 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28453 R657-39 5YR 01/09/2006 2006-3/39  

 
rehabilitation 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28410 R212-11 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28456 R657-40 5YR 01/10/2006 2006-3/40  

 
reservoirs 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 28710 R655-10 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28711 R655-11 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 28712 R655-12 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 
residency requirements 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28385 R202-202 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
residential mortgage loan origination 
Commerce, Real Estate 28499 R162-202-10  AMD 04/05/2006 2006-5/7  

 28450 R162-203 AMD 03/09/2006 2006-3/4  

 28497 R162-204 AMD 04/05/2006 2006-5/8  

 28498 R162-205 AMD 04/05/2006 2006-5/9  

 28451 R162-207-3  AMD 03/09/2006 2006-3/5  

 28476 R162-209 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/36  

 
Resource Development Coordinating Committee (RDCC) 
Governor, Planning and Budget 28295 R361-1 REP 01/03/2006 2005-22/36  

 
respite 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 28190 R510-401 AMD 02/23/2006 2005-18/37  

 28190 R510-401 CPR 02/23/2006 2005-22/46  

 
right of petition 
Corrections, Administration 28576 R251-104 5YR 03/28/2006 2006-8/72  

 
risk management 
Administrative Services, Risk Management 28413 R37-1 AMD 03/31/2006 2006-1/4  

 
roads 
Transportation, Administration 28358 R907-68 NEW 01/04/2006 2005-23/61  

 
ropeways 
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and 
Safety 

28524 R920-50-1  AMD 04/04/2006 2006-5/40  



RULES INDEX 
 

 
136 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2006, Vol. 2006, No. 10 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
rules and procedures 
Public Service Commission, Administration 28139 R746-345 AMD 02/08/2006 2005-17/31  

 28139 R746-345 CPR 02/08/2006 2005-24/47  

 
safety 
Labor Commission, Occupational Safety 
and Health 

28548 R614-1-4  AMD 05/02/2006 2006-7/18  

 28514 R614-1-5  NSC 02/27/2006 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Safety 28515 R616-2 NSC 02/27/2006 Not Printed 

 28257 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-20/43  

 28256 R616-3-3  AMD 02/08/2006 2005-20/44  

Transportation, Preconstruction 28489 R930-5 R&R 04/25/2006 2006-4/18  

 
safety regulations 
Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

28415 R912-11 AMD 02/08/2006 2006-1/28  

 
scholarships 
Education, Administration 28446 R277-602 AMD 02/15/2006 2006-2/25  

 
school personnel 
Education, Administration 28700 R277-513 5YR 05/01/2006 2006-10/87  

 
schools 
Education, Administration 28464 R277-477 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/8  

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28468 R307-801-5  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
science 
Education, Administration 28523 R277-717 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-5/13  

 
securities regulation 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28534 R628-16 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
security guards 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28345 R156-63-503  AMD 01/10/2006 2005-23/5  

 
security measures 
Corrections, Administration 28713 R251-111 5YR 05/04/2006 Not Printed 

 28706 R251-708 5YR 05/03/2006 Not Printed 

 
seizure of property 
Tax Commission, Collections 28539 R867-2B 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/35  

 
self insurance plans 
Public Safety, Driver License 28572 R708-19 5YR 03/23/2006 2006-8/75  

 
self-employment income 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28386 R202-203 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
settlements 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 28547 R602-2-1  AMD 05/05/2006 2006-7/14  
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shorthand reporter 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28428 R156-74 AMD 02/16/2006 2006-2/24  

 
signs 
Transportation, Preconstruction, Right-of-
Way Acquisition 

28490 R933-2-3  AMD 03/31/2006 2006-4/29  

 
single risk limitation 
Insurance, Administration 28486 R590-234 NEW 03/22/2006 2006-4/12  

 
smoke 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28501 R307-204 AMD 04/07/2006 2006-5/18  

 28602 R307-204 5YR 04/07/2006 2006-9/40  

 28459 R307-204 NSC 04/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
social services 
Human Services, Administration 28598 R495-862 5YR 04/04/2006 2006-9/41  

 
special needs students 
Education, Administration 28446 R277-602 AMD 02/15/2006 2006-2/25  

 
standards 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28456 R657-40 5YR 01/10/2006 2006-3/40  

 
state and local affairs 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28533 R628-4-2  NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
state employees 
Administrative Services, Finance 28384 R25-5 AMD 01/25/2006 2005-24/2  

 
state HEAT office records 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

28390 R202-207 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
state lands 
Community and Economic Development, 
Indian Affairs 

28441 R230-1 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 28479 R230-1 5YR 01/31/2006 2006-4/37  

 
state records committee 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

28462 R35-1 AMD 03/14/2006 2006-3/3  

 
state register 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28405 R212-6 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
state vehicle use 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28477 R27-3 5YR 01/30/2006 2006-4/34  

 28280 R27-3 NSC 01/30/2006 Not Printed 

 
stock brokers 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

28534 R628-16 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
storage tanks 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28421 R309-545-7  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/19  
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student loans 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 28676 R765-649 5YR 04/25/2006 2006-10/101  

 
substance abuse counselors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28605 R156-60d 5YR 04/10/2006 2006-9/39  

 
surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

28444 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2006 2006-5/45  

 28444 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2006 2006-2/17  

 
tax credit 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

28410 R212-11 NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
taxation 
Tax Commission, Administration 28430 R861-1A-37  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/29  

Tax Commission, Auditing 28540 R865-21U 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/34  

Tax Commission, Collections 28539 R867-2B 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/35  

Tax Commission, Property Tax 28432 R884-24P-19  AMD 03/06/2006 2006-2/31  

 
teacher certification 
Education, Administration 28700 R277-513 5YR 05/01/2006 2006-10/87  

 28701 R277-517 5YR 05/01/2006 2006-10/87  

 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 28139 R746-345 AMD 02/08/2006 2005-17/31  

 28139 R746-345 CPR 02/08/2006 2005-24/47  

 
telephone utility regulation 
Public Service Commission, Administration 28139 R746-345 AMD 02/08/2006 2005-17/31  

 28139 R746-345 CPR 02/08/2006 2005-24/47  

 
terms of office 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28453 R657-39 5YR 01/09/2006 2006-3/39  

 
tickets 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 28469 R27-7 5YR 01/20/2006 2006-4/34  

 
title insurance 
Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission 28529 R592-2-5  NSC 03/06/2006 Not Printed 

 
tolls 
Transportation, Program Development 28538 R926-9 NEW 04/20/2006 2006-6/17  

 
traffic regulations 
Public Safety, Driver License 28568 R708-16 5YR 03/23/2006 2006-8/74  

 
tramway permits 
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and 
Safety 

28524 R920-50-1  AMD 04/04/2006 2006-5/40  

 
tramways 
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and 
Safety 

28524 R920-50-1  AMD 04/04/2006 2006-5/40  
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transmission and distribution pipelines 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28422 R309-550-5  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/20  

 
transportation 
Transportation, Administration 28358 R907-68 NEW 01/04/2006 2005-23/61  

Transportation, Program Development 28538 R926-9 NEW 04/20/2006 2006-6/17  

Transportation, Preconstruction 28489 R930-5 R&R 04/25/2006 2006-4/18  

 
transportation commission 
Transportation, Administration 28358 R907-68 NEW 01/04/2006 2005-23/61  

 
transportation safety 
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and 
Safety 

28524 R920-50-1  AMD 04/04/2006 2006-5/40  

 
trucks 
Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

28415 R912-11 AMD 02/08/2006 2006-1/28  

 
trust lands funds 
Education, Administration 28464 R277-477 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/8  

 
underserved 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Primary Care and Rural Health 

28331 R434-100-6  NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
unemployment compensation 
Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

28721 R994-302 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

 28722 R994-308 5YR 05/09/2006 Not Printed 

 28480 R994-406-302  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
user tax 
Tax Commission, Auditing 28540 R865-21U 5YR 03/07/2006 2006-7/34  

 
utility rules 
Transportation, Preconstruction 28360 R930-6 AMD 01/27/2006 2005-24/31  

 
vacations 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

28443 R477-7 EMR 01/01/2006 2006-2/40  

 28571 R477-7 EMR 04/01/2006 2006-8/64  

 
victim compensation 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 28355 R270-1 AMD 01/04/2006 2005-23/6  

 28473 R270-1-4  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
victims of crime 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 28355 R270-1 AMD 01/04/2006 2005-23/6  

 
victims of crimes 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 28473 R270-1-4  NSC 02/22/2006 Not Printed 

 
waiver 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Primary Care and Rural Health 

28331 R434-100-6  NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 

 
water conservation 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28419 R309-510-9  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/16  
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water hauling 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28422 R309-550-5  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/20  

 
water safety rules 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 28645 R651-801 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/100  

 28646 R651-802 5YR 04/18/2006 2006-10/100  

 
water skiing 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 28512 R651-224 5YR 02/13/2006 2006-5/50  

 
water system rating 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28417 R309-150-6  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/12  

 
watershed management 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 28416 R309-105-9  AMD 03/08/2006 2006-1/11  

 
wildland fire 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 28501 R307-204 AMD 04/07/2006 2006-5/18  

 
wildland urban interface 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

28525 R652-122 NSC 03/07/2006 Not Printed 

 
wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28379 R657-5 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/11  

 28303 R657-13 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-22/41  

 28382 R657-17 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/17  

 28454 R657-19 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/22  

 28377 R657-23 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/19  

 28455 R657-24 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/24  

 28457 R657-33 AMD 03/06/2006 2006-3/25  

 28371 R657-38 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/22  

 28456 R657-40 5YR 01/10/2006 2006-3/40  

 28376 R657-42 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/27  

 
wildlife conservation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28371 R657-38 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-24/22  

 
wildlife law 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 28303 R657-13 AMD 01/18/2006 2005-22/41  

 
workers' compensation 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 28547 R602-2-1  AMD 05/05/2006 2006-7/14  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 28458 R612-4 5YR 01/12/2006 2006-3/39  

 28298 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2006 2005-22/41  

 
Workforce Investment Act 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

28400 R986-600-604  NSC 01/01/2006 Not Printed 
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