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SPECIAL NOTICES 
 

 
 

Health 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

 
Public Meeting for the Proposed Amendments to the 1115 Waiver 

 
The Division of Health Care Financing will hold a public meeting to discuss proposed amendments to its 1115 Waiver.  These 
proposed changes prohibit children from enrolling in the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) if their parents qualify for 
Utah’s Premium Partnership for Health Insurance (UPP), expand UPP to individual policies, expand UPP to cover individuals 
going into Health Insurance Pool (HIP) Utah, expand UPP to cover individuals under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act (COBRA), extend CHIP and UPP crowd out requirement from 90 days to 6 months, increase the deductible 
allowed for policies that qualify for UPP, and increase the UPP subsidy amount. 
 
These changes will be discussed at a public meeting to be held on Tuesday, July 29, 2008, from 4 to 6 p.m. in Room 125 of the 
Cannon Health Building, 288 North 1460 West, Salt Lake City, Utah. 
 
Questions may be directed to: Craig Devashrayee by phone: 801-538-6641, or FAX: 801-538-6099, or by e-mail: 
cdevashrayee@utah.gov.  Individuals requiring an accommodation to fully participate in this meeting should contact Heidi Weaver 
at 801-538-6806 before July 22. 
 
 
 
 

Health 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

 
Notice for August Medicaid Rate Changes 

 
Effective August 1, 2008, Utah Medicaid will adjust its rates consistent with approved methodologies.  Rate adjustments include 
new codes priced consistent with approved Medicaid methodologies, as well as potential adjustments to existing codes.  No 
significant reimbursement change to impacted providers is expected.  All rate changes are posted to the web and can be viewed 
at:  http://health.utah.gov/medicaid/stplan/bcrp.htm.  A copy of the changes may also be obtained through local health 
departments. 
 
Questions may be directed to: Craig Devashrayee by phone: 801-538-6641, or FAX: 801-538-6099, or by e-mail: 
cdevashrayee@utah.gov. 
 
 
 

 
 

End of the Special Notices Section 
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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between June 17, 2008, 12:00 a.m., and July 1, 2008, 
11:59 p.m. are included in this, the July 15, 2008, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text 
between paragraphs (· · · · · ·) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  
Unaffected sections are not printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules will 
include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from 
the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least August 14, 2008.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-
302 requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through November 12, 2008, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a 
NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must 
start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301; and Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, 
R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

R23-22 
General Procedures For Acquisition 

and Selling of Real Property 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31606 
FILED:  06/23/2008, 17:04 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
defines procedures for the acquisition and selling of real 
property. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  H.B. 354, 2008 General 
Session, requires procedures be defined for the acquisition 
and selling of real property.  This is to ensure that the value is 
congruent with the proposed price and other terms of the 
purchase, sale, or exchange.  This rule defines these 
procedures.  (DAR NOTES:  H.B. 354 (2008) is found at 
Chapter 203, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
05/05/2008.  A corresponding 120-day (emergency) rule for 
Rule R23-22 is under DAR No. 31607 in this issue, July 15, 
2008, of the Bulletin, and was effective 06/25/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 63A-5-103(1)(e), and Chapter 203, Laws of 
Utah 2008 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule should assist the state budget 
by assuring proper values for real estate transactions. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In accordance with H.B. 354, this 
rule defines and codifies procedures the Division of Facilities 
and Construction Management (DFCM) will follow in 
assessing property value.  There will be no effect on local 
governments because many of the procedures are already 
DFCM's practice.  Therefore, the rule has no affect on cost for 
these entities. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Again, in accordance with H.B. 354, this rule defines and 
codifies procedures DFCM will follow in assessing property 
value.  There will be no effect on small businesses and 
persons other than businesses because many of the 
procedures are already DFCM's practice.  Therefore, the rule 
has no affect on cost for these entities. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule defines 
procedures only and does not have any financial impact. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule will assure fair and 
equitable DFCM real estate practices.  Kimberly K. Hood, 
Executive Director 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 
FACILITIES CONSTRUCTION AND MANAGEMENT 
Room 4110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Priscilla Anderson at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-9595, by FAX at 801-538-3378, or by Internet E-mail at 
phanderson@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  D. Gregg Buxton, Director 
 
 
 
R23.  Administrative Services, Facilities Construction and 
Management. 
R23-22.  General Procedures for Acquisition and Selling of Real 
Property. 
R23-22-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule defines the procedures of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management for acquisition and selling of real 
property. 
 
R23-22-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5-103(1)(e), 
which directs the Building Board to make rules necessary for the 
discharge of the duties of the Division of Facilities Construction and 
Management (hereinafter referred to as the "Division") as well as 
pursuant to H.B. 354 of the 2008 General Session of the Utah 
Legislature. 
 
R23-22-3.  Policy. 
 It is the general policy of the Board that, except as otherwise 
allowed by the Utah Code, the Division shall buy, sell or exchange 
real property in accordance with this Rule to ensure that the value of 
the real property is congruent with the proposed price and other 
terms of the purchase, sale or exchange. 
 
R23-22-4.  Scope of This Rule. 
 This Rule shall apply to all purchases, sales, donations and 
exchanges of DFCM, as applicable in this Rule, except as otherwise 
allowed by the Utah Code.  The requirements of this Rule shall also 
not apply to a contract or other written agreement prior to May 5, 
2008; or to any contract or to any purchase, sale or exchange of real 
property where the value is determined to be less than $100,000 as 
estimated by DFCM. 
 
R23-22-5.  Requirements for Purchase or Exchanges of Real 
Property. 
 DFCM shall comply with the following in regard to the 
purchase or exchange of real property that is subject to this Rule: 
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 (1)  DFCM must find that all necessary approvals have been 
obtained from State and other applicable authorities.  DFCM will 
assist other State agencies in obtaining these approvals when it is 
deemed by DFCM to be in the interest of the State. 
 (2)  DFCM shall coordinate as required any necessary financing 
requirements through the State Building Ownership Authority, or 
other relevant bonding authority, as authorized by the Legislature. 
 (3)  DFCM shall assist other State agencies in accordance with 
DFCM's governing statutes, through financial analysis and other 
appropriate means, in selecting the appropriate or particular real 
property to be purchased and/or exchanged. 
 (4)  DFCM shall, in accordance with DFCM's governing 
statutes, negotiate, draft and execute the applicable Real Estate 
Contract with due consideration to the State agency's comments.  
The State agency may be required by DFCM to be a signatory to the 
Contract. 
 (5)  DFCM shall obtain and review the following documents 
when such is determined by DFCM to be customary in the industry 
for the size and type of transaction or if required by another 
provision of this Rule or State law: 
 a  title insurance commitment; 
 b.  an environmental assessment; 
 c.  an engineering assessment; 
 d.  a code review; 
 e.  an appraisal; 
 f.  an analysis of past maintenance and operational expenses, 
when available and relevant; 
 g.  the situs, zoning and planning information; 
 h.  an ALTA land survey; and 
 i.  other requirements determined necessary by DFCM, this 
Rule or State law. 
 (6)  DFCM shall review, approve and execute when in the 
interest of the State, closing documents as prepared by the selected 
title company. 
 (7)  DFCM may use boiler plate documents approved as to 
form by the Utah Attorney General or shall consult with the Utah 
Attorney General regarding provisions of the sale or significant 
changes to the boiler plate documents approved as to the form by the 
Utah Attorney General. 
 (8)  DFCM shall endeavor to monitor the distribution of closing 
documents. 
 
R23-22-6.  Additional Requirements Regarding R23-22-5(5). 
 DFCM shall comply with the provisions below.  None of the 
provisions below shall restrict the Director from requiring or not 
requiring any of the following if in the Director's opinion such is 
advantageous to the State or if such is required or allowed by State 
law: 
 (1)  Title insurance commitment.  The following applies to real 
property that may become State property by purchase, donation or 
exchange:  DFCM shall obtain an Owner's Policy of Title Insurance 
for real property valued by DFCM at $500,000 or above.  For real 
property valued by DFCM at less than $500,000, DFCM shall obtain 
a title report and may obtain an Owner's Policy of Title Insurance if, 
in the judgment of DFCM, title insurance is advantageous to the 
State. 
 (2)  Phase I Environmental Assessment or Greater.  The 
following applies to real property that may become State property by 
purchase, donation or exchange:  A Phase I or greater Environmental 
Assessment may be required by DFCM prior to a purchase or 
exchange of real property when the property considered to become 

State property has a use and/or occupancy history which in the 
opinion of DFCM indicates the possibility of environmental issues 
that would materially affect the DFCM's purchase of the property or 
the State agency's use of the property. 
 (3)  Engineering Assessment.  The following applies to real 
property that may become State property by purchase, donation or 
exchange:  For all improved real property valued by DFCM at 
$250,000 or above, DFCM shall obtain an engineering assessment of 
mechanical systems and structural integrity of improvements located 
on the property.  An engineering assessment may be waived by the 
DFCM Director if an engineering assessment has already been 
performed within the past 12 months or if the land is unimproved.  
The State may perform an engineering assessment for real property 
valued at less than $250,000 if, in the judgment of the Director, such 
an assessment is advantageous to the State. 
 (4)  Code and Requirements Review.  DFCM shall review the 
real property that may potentially become State property through 
purchase, donation or exchange to ascertain its suitability under all 
applicable codes and requirements, including any applicable 
provisions of State law. 
 (5)  Appraisal.  For real property that may potentially become 
State property through purchase or exchange, the State shall arrive at 
a fair market valuation of the property prior to purchase that is 
agreeable to the seller and the State.  The fair market value 
determination used by DFCM in the negotiation shall be based upon 
an appraisal completed by an appraiser that specializes in the type of 
the subject real property and is a state-certified general appraiser 
under Section 61-2B-2  or by a State of Utah licensed MAI appraiser 
who also has such a certificate, except as follows: 
 (a)  When this rule is not applicable under its scope; 
 (b)  When State law otherwise provides that DFCM does not 
have to use fair market value; or 
 (c)  When the Director has determined by a writing filed with 
DFCM, that the cost of obtaining the appraisal is not justified in the 
economic interest of the State of Utah. 
 (6)  Past maintenance and operational expenses.  DFCM shall 
endeavor to obtain, past maintenance and operational expense 
histories attached to any real property that may be acquired by the 
State, including real property that is acquired by purchase, donation 
or exchange, unless it is determined by the Director that the 
obtaining of such records is not justified in the economic interest of 
the State of Utah. 
 (7)  Situs, zoning and planning information.  DFCM shall 
endeavor to obtain preexisting situs, zoning and planning 
information regarding the real property that may be acquired by 
purchase, donation or exchange when required by State law, or if the 
Director determines that the obtaining of such information is 
advantageous to the State. 
 (8)  ALTA land survey.  For all real property acquired by 
DFCM through purchase, donation or exchange, and the property to 
become State property is valued by DFCM at $250,000 or above, 
DFCM shall obtain an ALTA/ACSM Land Title Survey, current 
revision, of the subject property.  An ALTA survey shall not be 
required if an ALTA survey has already been performed within the 
past 12 months unless otherwise determined by the Director.  The 
State may perform an ALTA survey for real property valued less 
than $250,000 if the Director determines that such a survey is in the 
interest of the State. 
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R23-22-6.  Requirements for the Disposition of Real Property by 
DFCM. 
 In addition to the policy of R23-22-3, it is the policy of this 
Board to efficiently and economically dispose of real property that is 
determined by DFCM or the State to be surplus in accordance with 
State law.  In accordance with State law, DFCM may recommend to 
the Board that certain real property be declared as surplus.  After the 
appropriate determination is made that the real property is surplus, 
then DFCM shall endeavor to sell the surplus real property on the 
open market, unless such property is to be conveyed to another State 
agency or public entity in accordance with Utah law.  If there is such 
a sale, it shall be as follows: 
 (1)  DFCM shall confirm that all necessary approvals have been 
sought for the declaration of surplus property. 
 (2)  Unless otherwise allowed by State law, DFCM shall obtain 
at least fair market value for the real property to be sold.  This shall 
be accomplished by the following: 
 (a)  DFCM shall determine a fair market valuation of the 
property prior to the offer for sale.  The fair market value 
determination used by DFCM in offer for sale shall be based upon 
an appraisal completed by an appraiser that specializes in the type of 
the subject real property and is a state-certified general appraiser 
under Section 61-2B-2, or by a Utah licensed MAI appraiser who 
also has such a certificate, except as follows: 
 (i)  When this rule is not applicable under its scope; 
 (ii)  When State law otherwise provides that DFCM does not 
have to use fair market value; or 
 (iii)  When the Director has determined by a writing filed with 
DFCM, that the cost of obtaining the appraisal is not justified in the 
economic interest of the State of Utah. 
 (b)  DFCM shall establish a listing price based on the appraisal 
obtained under this Rule or, if there is no appraisal based on the 
above, based upon DFCM's knowledge of prevailing market 
conditions and other circumstances customarily used in the industry 
for such sales. 
 (c)  DFCM shall advertise the property for sale in such a 
manner that is commercially reasonable in the discretion of the 
Director.  DFCM may set a time deadline for the submission of bids 
for the real property based upon the economic conditions at the time 
of the sale. 
 (d)  DFCM shall endeavor to enter into a contract for sale to the 
highest reasonable bidder, unless the DFCM Director files a written 
justification statement as to why a lower bidder is more 
advantageous to the State or if there is a sole bidder, that such bid is 
unreasonable.  If after a reasonable timeline set by the Director of 
public advertisement, no acceptable bid is submitted, then DFCM 
may sell the property through a private negotiated sale, provided that 
any sale below the fair market value initially established by DFCM 
for the subject property is accompanied by a written justification 
statement filed by the Director and a copy of which is provided to 
the Board prior to execution of the contract for sale. 
 (e)  DFCM shall, in accordance with DFCM's governing 
statutes, negotiate, draft and execute the applicable Real Estate 
Contract, with due consideration to the comments of the affected 
State agency.  The affected State agency may be required by DFCM 
to be a signatory to the Contract. 
 (f)  DFCM shall review, approve, and execute when 
appropriate, closing documents as prepared by the selected title 
company. 
 (g)  DFCM may use boiler plate documents approved as to 
form by the Utah Attorney General or shall consult with the Utah 

Attorney General regarding provisions of the sale or significant 
changes to the boiler plate documents approved as to the form by the 
Utah Attorney General. 
 (h)  DFCM shall endeavor to monitor the distribution of the 
closing documents. 
 
KEY:  real estate, property transactions 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-5-
103(1)(e); Chapter 203, Laws of Utah 2008 
 

  
 

Alcoholic Beverage Control, 
Administration 

R81-1-27 
Label Approvals 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31640 

FILED:  06/30/2008, 14:27 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
amendment is being proposed to implement S.B. 211 that was 
passed by the 2008 legislature in Title 32, Chapter 1, Part 8, 
Malted Beverages Act.  (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 211 (2008) is 
found at Chapter 211, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
05/05/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This proposed rule:  1) 
establishes administrative fees that may be assessed by the 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) to process 
applications for the approval of malt beverage labels and 
packaging; 2) provides supplemental procedures for applying 
for and processing label and package approvals; 3) defines 
the meaning of certain terms in the Malted Beverages Act; 
and 4) establishes the format of certain words and phrases 
required on the containers and packaging of certain flavored 
malt beverages. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 32A-1-107 and 32A-1-807 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  DABC staff will be required to approve 
the labels for all malted beverages sold in the state.  This will 
be a cost to the state budget, though it is not clear what the 
cost will be because it is unknown how many applications for 
label approval will be received each year.  At the same time, 
the DABC will assess a cost incurred. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This rule amendment only 
affects the DABC and does not affect local governments since 
local governments do not enforce product labeling laws in 
Utah. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
The only small businesses that will be affected by this rule 
amendment are small businesses that manufacture malted 
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beverages.  There will be a cost of $30 to these businesses 
for each label approval application submitted to the DABC.  
For those small manufacturers that produce flavored malt 
beverages, there will be other costs associated with printing 
and affixing required labeling on containers and product 
packaging.  The exact dollar amount cannot be determined.  
Persons other than businesses will not be impacted by this 
proposed rule amendment. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The only 
businesses that will be affected by this rule amendment are 
businesses that manufacture malted beverages.  There will be 
a cost of $30 to these businesses for each label approval 
application submitted to DABC.  For those manufacturers that 
produce flavored malt beverages, there will be other costs 
associated with printing and affixing required labeling on 
containers and product packaging.  The exact dollar amount 
cannot be determined. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  DABC recognizes that this rule 
amendment will have a fiscal impact on businesses that 
produce malt beverages by way of costs assessed for label 
approvals and the need for additional labeling on products that 
are look-alikes for nonalcoholic beverages.  DABC feels the 
costs to manufacturers are justified since these labeling 
restrictions will almost certainly help in the state's fight to 
eliminate the accessibility of alcoholic beverages to Utah's 
young people.  Dennis R. Kellen, Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
ADMINISTRATION 
1625 S 900 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84104-1630, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sharon Mackay at the above address, by phone at 801-977-
6800, by FAX at 801-977-6889, or by Internet E-mail at 
smackay@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dennis R. Kellen, Director 
 
 
 
R81.  Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration. 
R81-1.  Scope, Definitions, and General Provisions. 
R81-1-27.  Label Approvals. 
 (1)  Authority.  This rule is pursuant to 32A-1-806(2)(c) and (d) 
and 32A-1-807 which give the commission the authority to adopt 
rules necessary to fully implement certain aspects of the Malted 
Beverages Act , 32A-1-801 to -809. 

 (2)  Purpose. 
 (a)  Pursuant to 32A-1-804, effective October 1, 2008, a 
manufacturer may not distribute or sell in this state any malted 
beverage including beer, heavy beer, and flavored malt beverage 
unless the label and packaging of the beverage has been first 
approved by the department. 
 (b)  The requirements and procedures for applying for label and 
packaging approval are set forth in 32A-1-804 to -806. 
 (c)  This rule: 
 (i)  establishes administrative fees that may be assessed by the 
department to  process applications for the approval of malt 
beverage labels and packaging; 
 (ii)  provides supplemental procedures for applying for and 
processing label and package approvals; 
 (iii)  defines the meaning of certain terms in the Malted 
Beverages Act; and 
 (iv)  establishes the format of certain words and phrases 
required on the containers and packaging of certain flavored malt 
beverages. 
 (3)  Application of Rule. 
 (a)  The department shall assess a fee of $30.00 made payable 
to the "Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control" for each 
application submitted for label and packaging approval. 
 (b)  A complete set of original labels for each size of container 
must accompany each application for label and packaging approval. 
 (i)  This includes all band, strip, front and back labels appearing 
on any individual container. 
 (ii)  Original containers will not be accepted. 
 (iii)  If original labels cannot be obtained, the following will be 
accepted: 
 (A)  color reproductions that are exact size; or 
 (B)  a copy of the federal certificate of label approval (COLA) 
from the Department of Treasury, Tax and Trade Bureau (Form TTB 
F5100.31) with the exact size label if printed in color. 
 (c)  Because a heavy beer and flavored malt beverage product 
may be sold only by the department to consumers and on-premise 
retailers in this state, label approval for a heavy beer or flavored malt 
beverage need not be applied for until the department has decided to 
list the product for sale in this state.  Any listing will be contingent 
on label and packaging approval. 
 (d)  An application for approval is required for any revision of a 
previously approved label. 
 (e)  An application for approval is required for any revision to 
packaging that significantly modifies the notice that the product is 
an alcoholic beverage. 
 (f)  An application for approval is not required for any revision 
to packaging that relates to subject matter other than the required 
notice that the product is an alcoholic beverage such as temporary 
seasonal or promotional themes. 
 (g)  Pursuant to 32A-1-805(6): 
 (i)  the department may revoke any label and packaging 
approved by the department prior to October 1, 2008, that does not 
comply with the label and packaging requirements of the Malted 
Beverage Act; 
 (ii)  the department may delist any heavy beer or flavored malt 
beverage product listed by the department prior to October 1, 2008, 
that does not meet the label and packaging requirements of the 
Malted Beverage Act; 
 (iii)  any heavy beer or flavored malt beverage product listed by 
the department prior to October 1, 2008, that did not receive prior 
label and packaging approval need not submit an application for 
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label and packaging approval if the label and packaging meet the 
requirements of the Malted Beverage Act. 
 (h)  Pursuant to 32A-1-806, effective October 1, 2008, a 
flavored malt beverage that is packaged in a manner that is similar to 
a label or package used for a nonalcoholic beverage must bear a 
prominently displayed label or a firmly affixed sticker on the 
container that includes the statement "alcoholic beverage" or 
"contains alcohol".   Any packaging of a flavored malt beverage 
must also prominently include, either imprinted on the packaging or 
imprinted on a sticker firmly affixed to the packaging the statement 
"alcoholic beverage" or "contains alcohol".  The words in the 
statement must appear: 
 (i)  in capital letters and bold type; 
 (ii)  in a solid contrasting background; 
 (iii)  on the front of the container and packaging; 
 (iv)  in a format that is readily legible; 
 (v)  separate and apart from any descriptive or explanatory 
information; and 
 (vi)  in a type size no smaller than 3 millimeters wide and 3 
millimeters high. 
 (i)  Pursuant to 32A-1-806, effective October 1, 2008, the label 
on a flavored malt beverage container shall state the alcohol content 
as a percentage of alcohol by volume or by weight.  The alcohol 
content statement may not be abbreviated, but shall use the complete 
words "alcohol," "volume," or "weight".  The words in the alcohol 
content statement must appear: 
 (i)  in capital letters and bold type; 
 (ii)  in a solid contrasting background; 
 (iii)  in a format that is readily legible; and 
 (iv)  separate and apart from any descriptive or explanatory 
information. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 27, 
2007]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  August 31, 2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32A-1-107; 
32A-1-119(5)(c); 32A-1-807; 32A-3-103(1)(a); 32A-4-103(1)(a); 
32A-4-106(22); 32A-4-203(1)(a); 32A-4-304(1)(a); 32A-4-307(22); 
32A-4-401(1)(a); 32A-4-403(1)(a); 32A-5-103(1)(a); 32A-5-107(40); 
32A-6-103(2)(a); 32A-7-103(2)(a); 32A-7-106(5); 32A-8-103(1)(a); 
32A-8-503(1)(a); 32A-9-103(1)(a); 32A-10-203(1)(a); 32A-10-
206(14); 32A-10-303(1)(a); 32A-10-306(5); 32A-11-103(1)(a) 
 

  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-31b 
Nurse Practice Act Rule 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31614 

FILED:  06/24/2008, 10:43 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and Nursing Board are proposing amendments to the rule to 

implement H.B. 399 which was passed during the 2008 
General Session of the Legislature with respect to Medication 
Aides-Certified.  The proposed amendments establish and 
clarify the requirements for certification as a medication aide 
and establish a process for training programs to be approved 
by the Division.  The proposed amendments also establish a 
model curriculum based upon the model curriculum adopted 
by the 2007 Delegate Assembly of the National Council of 
State Boards of Nursing.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 399 (2008) is 
found at Chapter 214, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
05/05/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-31b-102, 
adds the acronym "MA-C" to mean a medication aide-certified. 
 In Section R156-31b-302, establishes the examination 
required to become a MA-C as the Utah Medication Aide 
Certification Examination and sets the minimum pass rate at 
75%.  In Section R156-31b-303, establishes the requirement 
for a MA-C to complete 16 contact hours of continuing 
education related to medication administration and 
medications to qualify for renewal of the certification.  The new 
Section R156-31b-801 establishes the protocols that must be 
followed by a MA-C when administering medications and 
establishes routes of medication administration that cannot be 
used by the MA-C.  The new Section R156-31b-802, 
establishes the process and standards that must be met in 
order for a facility, association, or educational institution to 
offer a MA-C training program.  The new Section R156-31b-
803, establishes a model curriculum that must be followed, as 
a minimum, to be approved as a training program.  The 
curriculum is based on a national model adopted by the 
National Council of State Boards of Nursing. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-31b-101 and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) 
and 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs of 
approximately $100 to reprint the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the division's current budget.  State schools 
desiring to offer the MA-C training program will need to follow 
the model curriculum and have the necessary human and 
fiscal resources necessary to offer the program.  The cost to 
operate an MA-C training program is unknown at this time.  
However, the schools who have indicated an interest in 
offering a program, currently offer the certified nurse aide 
program and can use the same facilities, supplies, and faculty 
currently involved in the assistant program so the costs should 
be minimal. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There should be little or no effect on 
local government as a result of the proposed amendments.  
Local governments do not operate nursing education 
programs and few operate any kind of health care facilities.  
However, if a local government ran a regulated facility, the use 
of an MA-C may save money because the MA-C could 
administer medications under the supervision of a nurse and 
the facility would not be required to hire another nurse to 
administer medications. 
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  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Small business and Persons:  A regulated facility may use the 
MA-C in addition to existing staff, thus lessening the burden 
on the nurses.  Given there is a shortage of nurses throughout 
the state, the utilization of an MA-C under appropriate nurse 
supervision could save facilities personnel costs.  If a 
regulated facility chooses to cover the costs of the training and 
examination as a benefit to their staff or as a 
recruitment/retention incentive, the facility would be 
responsible for those costs.  Otherwise, the MA-C would be 
responsible to pay the costs incurred to become certified.  It is 
estimated that the cost of the MA-C training and examination 
will be similar to that of the certified nurse aide.  Training 
programs offered within educational institutions and 
associations/organizations charge between $280 and $400 for 
the course.  The examination is estimated to cost between 
$58 and $70.  Although the training and examination to 
become a MA-C will cost approximately between $360 and 
$470, the ability to utilize this type of provider to help with the 
administration of medications will more than offset any of the 
certification costs.  The Division is not able to determine how 
many persons will apply for certification as a medication aide-
certified. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  As indicated 
above, the training and examination costs are expected 
between $360 and $470 per applicant for certification as a 
medication aide-certified.  The MA-C application fee is $89 
and the two year renewal fee is $42.  However, a person 
certified as an MA-C is expected to make at least $1 per hour 
more than a certified nursing assistant.  Hence, costs incurred 
could be recouped within a two month period of time. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing implements H.B. 
399 passed during the 2008 Legislative Session regarding 
Medication Aides-Certified.  No fiscal impact to businesses is 
anticipated beyond those addressed by the Legislature in 
passing H.B. 399 and those addressed in the rule summary.  
Francine A. Giani, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Laura Poe at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6789, 
by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
lpoe@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  7/18/2008 at 1:00 PM, Heber Wells Bldg, 160 E 
300 S, Conference Room 474 (fourth floor), Salt Lake City, 
UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  F. David Stanley, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-31b.  Nurse Practice Act Rule. 
R156-31b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 31b, as 
defined or used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Affiliated with an institution of higher education", as used 
in Subsection 58-31b-601(1), means the general and science 
education courses required as part of a nursing education program 
are provided by an educational institution which is approved by the 
Board of Regents or an equivalent governmental agency in another 
state or a private educational institution which is regionally 
accredited by an accrediting board recognized by the Council for 
Higher Education Accreditation of the American Council on 
Education; and the nursing program and the institution of higher 
education are affiliated with each other as evidenced by a written 
contract or memorandum of understanding. 
 (2)  "APRN" means an advanced practice registered nurse. 
 (3)  "APRN-CRNA" means an advanced practice registered 
nurse specializing and certified as a certified registered nurse 
anesthetist. 
 (4)  "Approved continuing education" in Subsection R156-31b-
303(3) means: 
 (a)  continuing education that has been approved by a 
professional nationally recognized approver of health related 
continuing education; 
 (b)  nursing education courses taken from an approved 
education program as defined in Section R156-31b-601; and 
 (c)  health related course work taken from an educational 
institution accredited by a regional institutional accrediting body 
identified in the "Accredited Institutions of Postsecondary 
Education", 2006-2007 edition, published by the American Council 
on Education. 
 (5)  "Approved education program" as defined in Subsection 
58-31b-102(3) is further defined to include any nursing education 
program published in the documents entitled "Directory of 
Accredited Nursing Programs", 2006-2007, published by the 
National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission, which are 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference as a part of this rule. 
 (6)  "CCNE" means the Commission on Collegiate Nursing 
Education. 
 (7)  "CGFNS" means the Commission on Graduates of Foreign 
Nursing Schools. 
 (8)  "COA", as used in this rule, means the Council of 
Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Education Programs. 
 (9)  "Clinical mentor/preceptor", as used in Section R156-31b-
607, means an individual who is employed by a clinical health care 
facility and is chosen by that agency, in collaboration with the 
Parent-Program, to provide direct, on-site supervision and direction 
to a nursing student who is engaged in a clinical rotation, and who is 



DAR File No. 31614 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 9 

accountable to both the clinical agency and the supervisory clinical 
faculty member. 
 (10)  "Comprehensive nursing assessment", as used in Section 
R156-31b-704, means an extensive data collection (initial and 
ongoing) for individuals, families, groups and communities 
addressing anticipated changes in patient conditions as well as 
emergent changes in patient's health status; recognizing alterations 
to previous patient conditions; synthesizing the biological, 
psychological, spiritual and social aspects of the patient's condition; 
evaluating the impact of nursing care; and using this broad and 
complete analysis to make independent decisions and identification 
of health care needs; plan nursing interventions, evaluate need for 
different interventions and the need to communicate and consult 
with other health team members. 
 (11)  "Contact hour" means 60 minutes. 
 (12)  "Delegatee", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 701a, 
means one or more competent persons receiving a delegation who 
acts in a complementary role to the delegating nurse, who has been 
trained appropriately for the task delegated, and whom the 
delegating nurse authorizes to perform a task that the delegates is not 
otherwise authorized to perform. 
 (13) "Delegation" means transferring to delegates the authority 
to perform a selected nursing task in a selected situation.  The 
delegating nurse retains accountability for the delegation. 
 (14)  "Delegation", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means the nurse making the delegation. 
 (15)  "Diabetes medical management plan (DMMP), as used in 
this rule, means an individualized plan that describes the health care 
services that the student is to receive at school.  The plan is 
developed and signed by the student's parent or guardian and health 
care team.  It provides the school with information regarding how 
the student will manage diabetes at school on a daily basis.  The 
DMMP shall be incorporated into and shall become a part of the 
student's IHP. 
 (16)  "Direct supervision" is the supervision required in 
Subsection 58-31b-306(1)(a)(iii) and means: 
 (a)  the person providing supervision shall be available on the 
premises at which the supervisee is engaged in practice; or 
 (b)  if the supervisee is specializing in psychiatric mental health 
nursing, the supervisor may be remote from the supervisee if there is 
personal direct voice communication between the two prior to 
prescribing a prescription drug. 
 (17)  "Disruptive behavior", as used in this rule, means conduct, 
whether verbal or physical, that is demeaning, outrageous, or 
malicious and that places at risk patient care or the process of 
delivering quality patient care.  Disruptive behavior does not include 
criticism that is offered in good faith with the aim of improving 
patient care. 
 (18)  "Focused nursing assessment", as used in Section R156-
31b-703, means an appraisal of an individual's status and situation at 
hand, contributing to the comprehensive assessment by the 
registered nurse, supporting ongoing data collection and deciding 
who needs to be informed of the information and when to inform. 
 (19)  "Individualized healthcare plan (IHP), as used in Section 
R156-31b-701a, means a plan for managing the health needs of a 
specific student, written and reviewed at least annually by a school 
nurse.  The IHP is developed by a nurse working in a school setting 
in conjunction with the student and the student's parent or guardian 
to guide school personnel in the care of a student with medical 
needs.  The plan shall be based on the student's practitioner's orders 

for the administration of medications or treatments for the student, 
or the student's DMMP. 
 (20) "Licensure by equivalency" as used in this rule means 
licensure as a licensed practical nurse after successful completion of 
course work in a registered nurse program which meets the criteria 
established in Sections R156-31b-601 and R156-31b-603. 
 (21)  "LPN" means a licensed practical nurse. 
 (22)  "MA-C" means a medication aide - certified. 
 ([22]23)  "Medication", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means any prescription or nonprescription drug as defined in 
Subsections 58-17b-102(39) and (61) of the Pharmacy Practice Act. 
 ([23]24)  "NLNAC" means the National League for Nursing 
Accrediting Commission. 
 ([24]25)  "NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 
Examination of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. 
 ([25]26)  "Non-approved education program" means any 
foreign nurse education program. 
 ([26]27)  "Nurse", as used in this rule, means an individual 
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 31b as a licensed practical nurse, 
registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, or advanced 
practice registered nurse-certified registered nurse anesthetist, or a 
certified nurse midwife licensed under Title 58, Chapter 44a. 
 ([27]28)  "Other specified health care professionals", as used in 
Subsection 58-31b-102(15), who may direct the licensed practical 
nurse means: 
 (a)  advanced practice registered nurse; 
 (b)  certified nurse midwife; 
 (c)  chiropractic physician; 
 (d)  dentist; 
 (e)  osteopathic physician; 
 (f)  physician assistant; 
 (g)  podiatric physician; 
 (h)  optometrist; 
 (i)  naturopathic physician; or 
 (j)  mental health therapist as defined in Subsection 58-60-
102(5). 
 ([28]29)  "Parent-program", as used in Section R156-31b-607, 
means a nationally accredited, Board of Nursing approved nursing 
education program that is providing nursing education (didactic, 
clinical or both) to a student and is responsible for the education 
program curriculum, and program and student policies. 
 ([29]30)  "Patient", as used in this rule, means a recipient of 
nursing care and includes students in a school setting or clients of a 
health care facility, clinic, or practitioner. 
 ([30]31)  "Patient surrogate", as used in Subsection R156-31b-
502(4), means an individual who has legal authority to act on behalf 
of the patient when the patient is unable to act or decide for himself, 
including a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or a person 
designated in a power of attorney. 
 ([31]32)  "Psychiatric mental health nursing specialty", as used 
in Subsection 58-31b-302(4)(g), includes psychiatric mental health 
nurse specialists and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners. 
 ([32]33)  "Practitioner", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means a person authorized by law to prescribe treatment, 
medication, or medical devices, and who acts within the scope of 
such authority. 
 ([33]34)  "RN" means a registered nurse. 
 ([34]35)  "School", as used in Section R156-31b-701a, means 
any private or public institution of primary or secondary education, 
including charter schools, pre-school, kindergarten, and special 
education programs. 
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 ([35]36)  "Supervision", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means the provision of guidance and review by a licensed 
nurse for the accomplishment of a nursing task or activity, including 
the provision for the initial direction of the task, periodic inspection 
of the actual act of accomplishing the task or activity, and evaluation 
of the outcome. 
 ([36]37)  "Supervisory clinical faculty", as used in Section 
R156-31b-607, means one or more individuals employed by an 
approved nursing education program who meet the accreditation and 
Board of Nursing specific requirements to be a faculty member and 
are responsible for the overall clinical experiences of nursing 
students and may supervise and coordinate clinical 
mentors/preceptors who provide the actual direct clinical experience. 
 ([37]38)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 31b, is further defined in Section R156-31b-502. 
 
R156-31b-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-31b-302, the examination 
requirements for graduates of approved nursing programs are as 
follows. 
 (a)  An applicant for licensure as an LPN or RN shall pass the 
applicable NCLEX examination. 
 (b)  An applicant for licensure as an APRN shall pass one of the 
following national certification examinations consistent with the 
applicant's educational specialty: 
 (i)  one of the following examinations administered by the 
American Nurses Credentialing Center Certification: 
 (A)  Adult Nurse Practitioner; 
 (B)  Family Nurse Practitioner; 
 (C)  Pediatric Nurse Practitioner; 
 (D)  Gerontological Nurse Practitioner; 
 (E)  Acute Care Nurse Practitioner; 
 (F)  Clinical Specialist in Medical-Surgical Nursing; 
 (G)  Clinical Specialist in Gerontological Nursing; 
 (H)  Clinical Specialist in Adult Psychiatric and Mental Health 
Nursing; 
 (I)  Clinical Specialist in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric and 
Mental Health Nursing; 
 (J)  Psychiatric and Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Adult 
and Family); 
 (ii)  Pediatric Nursing Certification Board; 
 (iii)  American Academy of Nurse Practitioners; 
 (iv)  the National Certification Corporation for the Obstetric, 
Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing Specialties; 
 (v)  the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation Advanced 
Oncology Certified Nurse if taken on or before July 1, 2005; 
 (vi)  the Advanced Practice Certification for the Clinical Nurse 
Specialist in Acute and Critical Care; or 
 (vii)  the Advanced Critical Care Examination administered by 
the American Association of Critical Care Nurses; or 
 (viii)  the national certifying examination administered by the 
American Midwifery Certification Board, Inc.; or 
 (ix)  the examination of the Council on Certification of Nurse 
Anesthetists. 
 (2)  In accordance with Section 58-31b-303, an applicant for 
licensure as an LPN or RN from a non-approved nursing program 
shall pass the applicable NCLEX examination. 
 (3)(a)  An applicant for certification as an MA-C shall pass the 
Utah Medication Aide Certification Examination with a score of 
75% of greater; and 

 (b)  the certification examination must be taken within six 
months of completion of the approved training program and cannot 
be taken more than two times without repeating an approved training 
program. 
 
R156-31b-303.  Renewal Cycle - Procedures. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal 
date for the two year renewal cycle applicable to licensees under 
Title 58, Chapter 31b, is established by rule in Section R156-1-308. 
 (2)  Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with Section 
R156-1-308. 
 (3)  Each applicant for renewal shall comply with the following 
continuing competence requirements: 
 (a)  An LPN or RN shall complete one of the following during 
the two years immediately preceding the application for renewal: 
 (i)  licensed practice for not less than 400 hours; 
 (ii)  licensed practice for not less than 200 hours and 
completion of 15 contact hours of approved continuing education; or 
 (iii)  completion of 30 contact hours of approved continuing 
education hours. 
 (b)  An APRN shall complete the following: 
 (i)  be currently certified or recertified in their specialty area of 
practice; or 
 (ii)  if licensed prior to July 1, 1992, complete 30 hours of 
approved continuing education and 400 hours of practice. 
 (c)  An MA-C shall complete 16 contact hours of approved 
continuing education related to medications or medication 
administration during the two years immediately preceding the 
application for renewal. 
 
R156-31b-801.  Medication Aide - Certified - Formulary and 
Protocols. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-31b-102(12)(b)(i), the 
formulary and protocols for an MA-C to administer routine 
medications are as follows. 
 (1)  Under the supervision of a licensed nurse as defined in 
Subsection R156-31b-102(26), an MA-C may: 
 (a)  administer medication: 
 (i)  via approved routes as listed in Subsection 58-31b-
102(17)(b); 
 (ii)  that includes turning oxygen on and off at a predetermined, 
established flow rate; and 
 (iii)  that is prescribed as PRN (as needed), if expressly 
instructed to do so by the nurse, or the medication is an over-the-
counter medication; 
 (b)  destroy medications per facility policy; and 
 (c)  assist a patient with self administration. 
 (2)  An MA-C shall not administer medications via the 
following routes: 
 (a)  central lines; 
 (b)  colostomy; 
 (c)  intramuscular; 
 (d)  subcutaneous; 
 (e)  intrathecal; 
 (f)  intravenous; 
 (g)  nasogastric; 
 (h)  nonmetered inhaler; 
 (i)  intradermal; 
 (j)  urethral; 
 (k)  epidural; 
 (l)  endotracheal; or 
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 (m)  gastronomy or jejunostomy tubes. 
 (3)  An MA-C shall not administer the following kinds of 
medications: 
 (a)  barium and other diagnostic contrast; 
 (b)  chemotherapeutic agents except oral maintenance 
chemotherapy; 
 (c)  medication pumps including client controlled analgesia; 
and 
 (d)  nitroglycerin paste. 
 (4)  An MA-C shall not: 
 (a)  administer any medication which requires nursing 
assessment or judgment prior to administration, on-going evaluation, 
or follow-up; 
 (b)  receive written or verbal orders; 
 (c)  transcribe orders from the medical record; 
 (d)  conduct patient or resident assessments or evaluations; 
 (e)  engage in patient or resident teaching activities unless 
expressly instructed to do so by the nurse; 
 (f)  calculate drug doses, or administer any medication that 
requires a medication calculation to determine the appropriate dose; 
 (g)  administer the first dose of a new medication or a dosage 
change, unless expressly instructed to do so by the nurse; and 
 (h)  account for controlled substances, unless assisted by 
another MA-C or a nurse. 
 (5)  In accordance with Section R156-31b-701, a nurse may 
refuse to delegate the administration of medications to a specific 
patient or in a specific situation. 
 (6)  A nurse shall not supervise more than two MA-Cs per shift. 
 
R156-31b-802.  Medication Aide - Certified - Approval of 
Training Programs. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-31b-601(3), the minimum 
standards for an MA-C training program to be approved by the 
Division in collaboration with the Board and the process to obtain 
approval are established as follows. 
 (1)  All training programs shall be approved by the Division in 
collaboration with the Board and shall obtain approval prior to 
implementing the program. 
 (2)  Training programs may be offered by an educational 
institution, a health care facility, or a health care association. 
 (3)  The program shall consist of a minimum of 60 clock hours 
of didactic (classroom) training which is consistent with the model 
curriculum in Section R156-31b-803, and at least 40 hours of 
practical training within a long-term care facility. 
 (4)  The classroom instructor shall: 
 (a)  have a current, active, unencumbered RN or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (b)  be a faculty member of an approved nursing education 
program, or an approved certified nurse aide (CNA) instructor who 
has completed the Department of Health's "Train the Trainer" 
program; and 
 (c)  have at least two years of clinical experience and at least 
one  year of long-term care nursing experience in the past five years. 
 (5)  The on-site practical training experience instructor shall be 
available at all times during the practical training experience and 
shall meet the following criteria: 
 (a)  have a current, active, unencumbered RN or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (b)(i)  be a faculty member of an approved nursing education 
program with at least one year of experience in long-term care 
nursing; or 

 (ii)  be an approved CNA instructor who has completed the 
Department of Health's "Train the Trainer" program with at least one 
year of experience in long-term care nursing, and at least three 
months experience in the specific training facility; 
 (c)  shall not delegate supervisory responsibilities when 
providing practical experience training to a student; 
 (d)  may not perform any other duties while providing practical 
experience training and observation to a medication aide student; 
and 
 (e)  the practical training instructor to student ratio shall be 1:1 
in the clinical setting. 
 (6)  An entity desiring to be approved to provide an MA-C 
training program to qualify a person for certification as a medication 
aide shall: 
 (a)  submit to the Division an application form prescribed by 
the Division; 
 (b)  provide evidence of adequate and appropriate trainers and 
resources to provide the training program including a well-stocked 
clinical skills lab or the equivalent; 
 (c)  submit a copy of the proposed training curriculum and an 
attestation that the proposed curriculum is consistent with the model 
curriculum in Section R156-31b-803; 
 (d)  document minimal admission requirements including, but 
not limited to: 
 (i)  an earned high school diploma or successful passage of the 
general educational development (GED) test; 
 (ii)  current certification as a nursing aide, in good standing, 
from the Utah Nursing Assistant Registry, with at least 2,000 hours 
of experience within the two years prior to application to the training 
program, working as a certified nurse aide in a long-term care 
setting; and 
 (iii)  current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification. 
 
R156-31b-803.  Medication Aide - Certified - Model Curriculum. 
 Module 1:  Medication Fundamentals, recommend 16 hours 
classroom instruction and four hours of skills lab. 
 (1)  Objectives - the learner will: 
 (a)  describe the different documents on which medications can 
be ordered and recorded; 
 (b)  detail the elements of a complete medication order for safe 
administration; 
 (c)  discuss the various tasks to be performed for medications to 
be safely stored; 
 (d)  identify conditions necessitating disposal of medications or 
questioning an incomplete medication order; 
 (e)  state the ways to measure medications; 
 (f)  state the different forms in which medications can be 
manufactured; 
 (g)  recognize that the same medication may have different 
names; 
 (h)  identify accepted abbreviations; 
 (i)  recognize the abbreviations that should not be used; 
 (j)  list the different effects medications can cause, locally and 
systemically; 
 (k)  state the types of information that should be known about a 
specific medication prior to giving that medication; 
 (l)  list the three safety checks of medication administration; 
 (m)  identify the six rights of medication administration; and 
 (n)  describe basic steps of medication preparation prior to 
administration. 
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 (2)  Content Outline - medication orders, documentation, 
storage and disposal: 
 (a)  medication prescription or order: 
 (i)  recorded on patient record; 
 (ii)  complete order must be signed, legible, and include the 
drug name, dose, route, time, and frequency; 
 (iii)  MA-C should not take verbal or telephone orders; and 
 (iv)  questioning an incomplete medication order; 
 (b)  medication documentation system: 
 (i)  documentation of orders onto agency's medication 
document; 
 (ii)  medication administration record (MAR); and 
 (iii)  controlled substance medication log; 
 (c)  medication storage: 
 (i)  storage area; 
 (ii)  medication room; 
 (iii)  medication cart; and 
 (iv)  medication tray; and 
 (d)  disposal of outdated, contaminated or unused medication. 
 (3)  Content Outline - mathematics, weights and measures: 
 (a)  MA-C does not convert medications dosages; and 
 (b)  systems of measurement: 
 (i)  apothecaries' system; 
 (ii)  metric system; 
 (iii)  common household measures; 
 (iv)  roman numerals - drams or grains; 
 (v)  weight is grain; and 
 (vi)  volume is minim. 
 (4)  Content Outline - forms of medication: 
 (a)  liquid: 
 (i)  aerosol; 
 (ii)  inhalant; 
 (iii)  drops; 
 (iv)  elixir; 
 (v)  spray; 
 (vi)  solution; 
 (vii)  suspension (needs mixing or shaking); 
 (viii)  syrup; and 
 (ix)  tincture; and 
 (b)  solid and semi-solids: 
 (i)  capsules; 
 (ii)  tablet (dissolve); 
 (iii)  scored versus unscored; 
 (iv)  caplets; 
 (v)  time-released; 
 (vi)  covered with a special coating (not to be crushed); 
 (vii)  lozenges (dissolve); 
 (viii)  ointment; 
 (ix)  paste; 
 (x)  powder; 
 (xi)  cream; 
 (xii)  lotion; and 
 (xiii)  linament. 
 (5)  Content Outline - medication basics: 
 (a)  terminology: 
 (i)  medication names: 
 (A)  generic; and 
 (B)  brand or trade name; 
 (b)  abbreviations: 
 (i)  use standardized abbreviations, acronyms and symbols; and 
 (ii)  do not use abbreviations that should no longer be in use; 

 (c)  dosage range; 
 (d)  actions (how drug causes chemical changes in body); 
 (e)  implications for administration (what medical conditions 
are treated by the drug); 
 (f)  therapeutic effects (desired effect); 
 (g)  side effects (reaction not part of main effect desired); 
 (h)  precautions (anticipate or prepare for conditions that may 
change effect of drug); 
 (i)  contraindications (condition making drug dangerous to use); 
 (j)  allergic reactions (life threatening - anaphylaxis); 
 (k)  adverse reactions (unpleasant or serious side effects, other 
than desired); 
 (l)  tolerance (body adapts to drug and may be resistant or less 
effective); 
 (m)  interactions: 
 (i)  specific administration information such as do not take with 
grapefruit juice; and 
 (ii)  certain classes of medications that should not be prescribed 
at the same time; 
 (n)  additive (synergistic) or antagonist effect; 
 (o)  idiosyncratic effect (drug has unusual effect); and 
 (p)  paradoxical effect (drug works in opposite way). 
 (6)  Content Outline - safety and rights of medication 
administration: 
 (a)  three safety checks: 
 (i)  when removing the medication package from storage 
(drawer or shelf); 
 (ii)  when removing medication from the package or container 
it is kept in; and 
 (iii)  when returning the package to where it is stored; and 
 (b)  six rights of medication administration: 
 (i)  right client; 
 (ii)  right drug; 
 (iii)  right dose; 
 (iv)  right route; 
 (v)  right time; and 
 (vi)  right documentation. 
 (7)  Content Outline - preparation and actual medication 
administration: 
 (a)  wash hands; 
 (b)  review medications that require checking of pulse or blood 
pressure before administering; 
 (c)  identify the patient; 
 (d)  introduce yourself; 
 (e)  explain what you are going to do; 
 (f)  glove if necessary; 
 (g)  position the client; 
 (h)  do what you explained; 
 (i)  wash your hands; 
 (j)  special considerations; and 
 (k)  document. 
 Module 2:  Safety, recommend six hours of classroom 
instruction and one hour of skills lab. 
 (1)  Objectives - the learner will: 
 (a)  identify information needed about the patient and the 
medication prior to medication administration; 
 (b)  identify common causes of medication errors; and 
 (c)  state what steps should be taken when a medication error 
occurs. 
 (2)  Content Outline - prevention of medication errors: 
 (a)  know the following before administering medications: 
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 (i)  name, generic and trade; 
 (ii)  purpose; 
 (iii)  effect; 
 (iv)  length of time to take effect; 
 (v)  side effects; 
 (vi)  adverse effects; 
 (vii)  interactions; 
 (viii)  special instructions; and 
 (ix)  where to get help. 
 (3)  Content Outline - causes and reporting of medication 
errors: 
 (a)  failure to follow prescriber's orders exactly; 
 (b)  failure to follow manufacturer's specifications or directions 
for use; 
 (c)  failure to follow accepted standards for medication 
administration; 
 (d)  failure to listen to a patient's or family's concerns; 
 (e)  notify the agency's nurse, supervisor, pharmacist, physician 
or other prescriber, according to the agency policy; and 
 (f)  complete a medication error or incident report. 
 Module 3:  Communication and documentation, recommend six 
hours of classroom instruction and two hours of skills lab: 
 (1)  Objectives - the learner will: 
 (a)  discuss building relationships (review from CNA training); 
 (b)  state when the nurse must be notified of a change in the 
patient's normal condition; 
 (c)  discuss when the nurse should be notified about vital sign 
changes; 
 (d)  state when the nurse should be notified of a patient's pain; 
 (e)  identify other alterations or conditions that should be 
reported to the nurse; 
 (f)  state documentation requirements for medication 
administration; and 
 (g)  explain the responsibilities of the delegating nurse when 
delegating medication administration to the MA-C. 
 (2)  Content Outline - building relationships: 
 (a)  review the communication process; 
 (b)  review barriers to effective listening and communication; 
 (c)  setting boundaries; and 
 (d)  review team building. 
 (3)  Content Outline - reporting of symptoms or side effects: 
 (a)  observe, monitor and report any change that is different 
from the patient's normal condition; 
 (b)  notify the nurse as soon as possible with as much 
information as available; and 
 (c)  record changes. 
 (4)  Content Outline - report any change from the patient's 
normal condition: 
 (a)  temperature; 
 (b)  pulse; 
 (c)  respirations; 
 (d)  blood pressure; 
 (e)  observe and report complaints of pain; and 
 (f)  other changes in condition such as urinary output, mental 
status, and activity. 
 (5)  Content Outline - documentation of medication 
administration: 
 (a)  identifying initials and time on the medication 
administration record (MAR); 
 (b)  circle and document the reasons that a patient may not take 
a medication; and 

 (c)  prn medication, delegated by the licensed nurse, per facility 
or agency policy. 
 (6)  Content Outline - role of the delegating nurse: 
 (a)  the nurse must determine the level of supervision, 
monitoring and accessibility he must provide for nursing assistive 
personnel; 
 (b)  the nurse continues to have responsibility for the overall 
nursing care; 
 (c)  to delegate effectively, nurses need to be able to rely on 
nursing assistive personnel's credentials and job descriptions, 
especially for a first time assignment; 
 (d)  nursing administration has the responsibility for validating 
credentials and qualifications of employees; 
 (e)  both nurse and MA-C need the appropriate interpersonal 
and communication skills and organizational support to successfully 
resolve delegation issues; and 
 (f)  trust is central to the working relationships between nurses 
and assistive personnel; good relationships have two-way 
communication, initiative, appreciation, and willingness to help each 
other. 
 Module 4 - Medication administration, recommend 18 hours of 
classroom instruction and two hours of skills lab: 
 (1)  Objectives - the learner will: 
 (a)  identify common methods of medication administration; 
 (b)  identify factors that may affect how the body uses 
medication; and 
 (c)  identify the classifications of medications, state common 
effects of medications on the body, and identify resource materials 
and professionals to contact for clarification of medication 
questions. 
 (2)  Content Outline - routes of administration: 
 (a)  oral; 
 (b)  buccal; 
 (c)  sublingual; 
 (d)  inhaler (metered dose); 
 (e)  nebulizer; 
 (f)  nasal; 
 (g)  eye (ophthalmic); 
 (h)  ear (otic); 
 (i)  topical; 
 (j)  dressings; 
 (k)  soaks; 
 (l)  transdermal such as patches; and 
 (m)  suppositories, rectal and vaginal. 
 (3)  Content Outline - factors affecting how the body uses 
medication: 
 (a)  age; 
 (b)  size; 
 (c)  family traits; 
 (d)  diet; 
 (e)  disease; 
 (f)  psychological issues; 
 (g)  gender and basic metabolic rate; and 
 (h)  dosage. 
 (4)  Content Outline - classes of medications related to body 
systems and common actions: 
 (a)  antimicrobials control or prevent growth of bacteria, 
fungus, virus or other microorganisms; 
 (b)  cardiovascular: 
 (i)  corrects an irregular, fast or slow heart rate; 
 (ii)  prevents blood from clotting; and 
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 (iii)  lowers blood pressure; 
 (c)  dermatological: 
 (i)  antiinfective; and 
 (ii)  anti-inflammatory; 
 (d)  endocrine: 
 (i)  antidiabetic; 
 (ii)  reduces inflammation; and 
 (iii)  hormones; 
 (e)  gastrointestinal: 
 (i)  promotes bowel movements; 
 (ii)  antacids; 
 (iii)  antidiarrheal; and 
 (iv)  reduces gastric acid; 
 (f)  musculoskeletal relaxes muscles; 
 (g)  neurological: 
 (i)  prevents seizures; 
 (ii)  relieves pain; 
 (iii)  lowers body temperature; 
 (iv)  anti-parkinsonian; 
 (v)  antidepressants; 
 (vi)  promotes sleep; 
 (vii)  relieves anxiety; 
 (viii)  antipsychotics; and 
 (ix)  mood stabilizer; 
 (h)  nutrients, vitamins, and minerals replace chemicals missing 
or low in the body; 
 (i)  respiratory: 
 (i)  decreases mucus production; 
 (ii)  broncholilation; 
 (iii)  cough depressant or expectorant; and 
 (iv)  decongestant; 
 (j)  sensory: 
 (i)  antiglaucoma; 
 (ii)  artificial terms; and 
 (iii)  earwax emulsifiers; and 
 (k)  urinary increases water loss through kidneys. 
 (5)  Content Outline - location of resources and references: 
 (a)  nurse; 
 (b)  pharmacist; 
 (c)  physician; 
 (d)  package or drug insert; and 
 (e)  drug reference manuals. 
 Module 5 - Ethical and Legal, recommend four hours 
classroom instruction and one hour skills lab: 
 (1)  Objectives - the learner will: 
 (a)  identify when a delegated task should or should not be 
performed by the MA-C; 
 (b)  recognize when and how to report errors; 
 (c)  recognize what should be reported to the licensed nurse; 
 (d)  distinguish between the tasks an MA-C can and cannot 
accept; 
 (e)  define redelegation; 
 (f)  identify skills that enhance the delegation process; 
 (g)  describe the rights of the client; 
 (h)  discuss the types of abuse that must be reported; 
 (i)  describe examples of the types of legal problems that can 
occur; 
 (j)  list the three steps to take before medication is safe to give; 
and 
 (k)  recognize the numerous rights that must be followed before 
and after medication is administered. 

 (2)  Content Outline - role of the MA-C: 
 (a)  MA-C may perform a task involving administration of 
medications if: 
 (i)  MA-C's assignment is to administer medications under the 
supervision of a licensed nurse in accordance with provisions of the 
Nurse Practice Act and Rule; and 
 (ii)  the delegation is not prohibited by any provision of this act 
and rule; 
 (b)  role of the MA-C includes medication administration as a 
delegated nursing function under nursing supervision.  The 
following shall not be delegated to an MA-C: 
 (i)  conversion or calculation of medication dosage; 
 (ii)  assessment of patient need for or response to medications; 
 (iii)  nursing judgment regarding the administration of PRN 
medications; or 
 (iv)  medications to be given via parenteral routes and through 
nasogastric, gastrostomy, or jejunostomy routes; 
 (c)  MA-C shall not perform a task involving the administration 
of medications if: 
 (i)  the medication administration requires an assessment of the 
patient's need for medication, a calculation of the dosage of the 
medication or the conversion of the dosage; 
 (ii)  the supervising nurse is unavailable to monitor the progress 
of the patient and the effect of the medication on the patient; or 
 (iii)  the patient is not stable or has changing needs; 
 (d)  any MA-C who has any reason to believe that he has made 
an error in the administration of medication shall follow facility 
policy and procedure to report the possible or known error to the 
appropriate superior and shall assist in completing any required 
documentation of the medication error; and 
 (e)  medication administration policies: 
 (i)  MA-C shall report to the supervising nurse: 
 (A)  signs or symptoms that appear life-threatening; 
 (B)  events that appear health-threatening; and 
 (C)  medications that produce no results or undesirable effects 
as reported by the patient; 
 (ii)  a licensed nurse shall supervise an MA-C; and 
 (iii)  a licensed nurse shall review periodically the following: 
 (A)  authorized provider orders; and 
 (B)  patient medication records. 
 (3)  Content Outline - the responsibility of the MA-C when 
accepting delegation tasks: 
 (a)  the MA-C has the responsibility not to accept a delegation 
that he knows is beyond his knowledge and skills; 
 (b)  delegation is patient specific; having done a task for one 
patient does not automatically mean assistive personnel can do the 
task for all patients, additionally, delegation is also situation 
specific, doing a task for one patient in one situation does not mean 
the nursing assistive personnel may perform that task for this patient 
in all situations; 
 (c)  a task delegated to assistive personnel cannot be redelegatd 
by the nursing assistive personnel; 
 (d)  the MA-C is expected to speak up and ask for training and 
assistance in performing the delegation, or request not to be 
delegated a particular task, function, or activity; and 
 (e)  both nurse and MA-C need the appropriate interpersonal 
and communication skills and organizational support to successfully 
resolve delegation issues. 
 (4)  Content Outline - rights of individuals: 
 (a)  maintain confidentiality; 
 (b)  respect patient's rights; 
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 (c)  respect patient's privacy; 
 (d)  respect patient's individuality and autonomy; 
 (e)  communicate respectfully; 
 (f)  respect patient's wishes whenever possible; 
 (g)  right to refuse medication; and 
 (h)  right to be informed. 
 (5)  Content Outline - specific legal and ethical issues: 
 (a)  abuse or neglect: 
 (i)  identify types of abuse: 
 (A)  physical; 
 (B)  verbal; 
 (C)  psychological; 
 (D)  sexual; and 
 (E)  financial; 
 (ii)  preventive measures; and 
 (iii)  duty to report; 
 (b)  exposure to medical malpractice, negligence claims, or 
lawsuits; 
 (c)  fraud; 
 (d)  theft; and 
 (e)  diversion. 
 (6)  Content Outline - safety and rights of medication 
administration: 
 (a)  review the three safety checks; and 
 (b)  review the six rights of medication administration. 
 Module 6 - Practicum: 
 (1)  Objective - the learner will demonstrate safe administration 
of medications to patients in a clinical setting. 
 (2)  Content Outline - forty hours of supervised clinical 
practicum, which should be progressive, where the instructor 
observes medication administration, and gradually, the instructor 
increases the number of patients to whom the student administers 
medications. 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and Nursing Board are proposing amendments to change the 
standards and process for approval of nursing education 
programs.  This filing also includes other various amendments 

which have been suggested by Board members, licensees, 
employers, education programs, and Division staff. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-31b-102, 
definitions are updated and amended to be consistent with 
language used throughout the rule including "academic year", 
"equivalent to an approved practical nursing education 
program", "nurse accredited", and "parent academic 
institution".  The definition for "licensure by equivalency" is 
deleted and included in the "equivalent to an approved 
practical nursing education program" definition.  In Section 
R156-31b-302a, amendments clarify that only students 
enrolled in a registered nurse (RN) program with full approval 
status are eligible for licensure as an licensed practical nurse 
(LPN) by equivalency.  In Section R156-31b-302c, 
amendments establish a new standard by which an 
examination for licensure under this chapter must be taken 
within three years form the date of completion or within four 
attempts.  Adds the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner 
Certification exam to the list of approved exams for licensure 
as an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN).  Deletes 
the Advance Critical Care Examination which is no longer 
available from the list of approved exams.  Indicates the 
Division will not authorize any review or challenge to any 
exam required for licensure or certification under this chapter. 
 In Section R156-31b-304, amendments clarify that an 
applicant for a temporary LPN or RN must be a graduate from 
a nursing program with full approval status.  Shortens the time 
an RN or LPN temporary license is issued from 120 days to 
90 days to match the same length of time the authorization to 
test is valid.  Clarifies that a temporary license issued to a 
foreign graduate may be issued for up to one year, but the 
time cannot be extended, thus allowing the person at least two 
opportunities to test.  In Section R156-31b-306, amendments 
change the time frame by which a person without an active 
license may reapply and the manner in which current 
competency will be measured.  In Section R156-31b-309, 
amendments clarify that an Intern license is issued for 90 days 
unless the applicant is specializing in psychiatric mental health 
nursing, then the Intern license is issued for one year and can 
be extended in yearly increments not to exceed five years.  
Clarifies it is the responsibility of the APRN Intern to report 
examination results to the Division.  In Section R156-31b-310, 
amendments establish the standard that an applicant for 
licensure by endorsement must have a current, active license 
in another state or have passed the required examination 
within six months of making application for licensure in Utah.  
In Section R156-31b-601, current language is deleted and 
new language establishes the standards that must be met by 
the parent academic institution in order to offer a nursing 
education program that can be approved by the Division in 
collaboration with the Nursing Board.  In Section R156-31b-
602, current language is deleted and new language 
establishes three categories of approval status: full, 
provisional, and probationary.  All programs that have full 
approval status must meet the criteria established in the rule.  
Establishes a timeline that must be followed by a provisionally 
approved program in order to become nationally accredited 
and obtain full approval status.  In Section R156-31b-603, 
current language is deleted and new language establishes the 
general standards that all nursing education programs leading 
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toward licensure must meet to receive and maintain full 
approval status.  Establishes quality improvement evaluation 
criteria. Delineates curriculum standards.  Clarifies the 
qualifications for the nursing program administrator, faculty, 
preceptors, clinical adjunct faculty, and interdisciplinary 
faculty.  Establishes a minimum pass rate of the National 
Council Licensure Examination of the National Council of 
State Board of Nursing (NCLEX) examinations that must be 
consistently met to maintain approval status.  Clarifies 
requirement for hands-on, supervised clinical experiences 
throughout the life span.  Clarifies additional requirements for 
APRN programs.  In Section R156-31b-604, current language 
is deleted and new language clarifies the reasons a nursing 
education program may be disciplined and establishes the 
process that must be followed for a program to be disciplined. 
 In Section R156-31b-606, amendments clarify that all 
programs granted provisional approval status shall submit all 
correspondence between the school and the nurse accrediting 
body to the Division.  Section R156-31b-607, amendments 
clarify the criteria a nursing program must meet in order for its 
graduates to qualify for a license in Utah.  Section R156-31b-
608 is renumbered from Section R156-31b-607.  In Sections 
R156-31b-703 and R156-31b-704, amendments eliminate the 
word "client" leaving only the term "patient".  In a prior rule 
filing, the term "patient" was defined to include a "client".  
These two sections were overlooked and not included in the 
prior rule filing. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-31b-101 and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) 
and 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Deletes the Directory of Accredited 
Nursing Programs, 2006-2007 edition, published by the 
National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs of 
approximately $100 to reprint the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the division's current budget.  State schools with 
nursing education programs will not be held to the same 
standards as programs with provisional approval.  Schools 
may find it difficult to hire enough qualified faculty and may 
have to increase salaries to entice graduate prepared nurses 
to become faculty members.  Additional costs should be 
minimal because the national accreditation standards 
(currently required of all programs with full approval status) 
already require the graduate prepared nurse for faculty. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There should be little or no effect on 
local government as a result of the proposed amendments.  
Local governments do not operate nursing education 
programs and few operate any kind of health care facility. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Small business and Persons:  A proprietary school which is 
not regionally accredited and offers a nursing education 
program would be required to develop an articulation 
agreement or contract with a regionally accredited institution 
to offer the pre-requisite and co-requisite courses.  Currently, 
all the schools offering nursing education courses meet this 

standard so there should not be an effect on the school.  Also, 
Utah has one proprietary school with a nursing education 
program that has full approval status.  Once these proposed 
amendments are adopted, the program would be required to 
only hire graduate prepared faculty or someone who is 
currently enrolled in a graduate program.  Given this is already 
the standard for national accreditation, there should be little or 
no effect on the school.  The proposed changes to the nursing 
education approval standards and the requirement that all 
schools meet these standards may have a financial effect on 
the schools offering nursing education programs.  Compliance 
may require the addition of qualified faculty members or 
changes to curriculum.  The cost of any such changes are 
unknown.  Also, if a program loses its approval status due to 
noncompliance with the standards, such as the NCLEX exam 
pass rate, the program would be forced to stop accepting 
students and close causing a loss of income.  However, a 
student who pays $50,000 for a nursing program who cannot 
pass the licensure examination and thus become licensed has 
lost a significant amount of money in tuition and time.  The 
proposed amendments also shorten the length of time a nurse 
can be out of practice and still reinstate a license.  A nurse out 
of practice 10 or more years would incur the cost of 
completing a current nursing education program ($2,500 - 
$10,000 depending on the type of program and the 
educational institution), apply for licensure which includes 
application fees of $98 for LPN/RN and $139 for APRN and 
retake the examination which includes (examination fees of 
$200 for LPN/RN and $600 for APRN.  An applicant who 
cannot pass the licensure examination within the three years 
or four tries would also be required to pay the additional 
examination fees and application fee.  The Division is not able 
to determine how many nurses would be affected by these 
two requirements due to varying factors. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Nursing education 
programs that cannot meet the new standards would not be 
allowed to accept new students until the standards are met, or 
would need to close if the standards cannot be met.  This 
would have a significant effect on the school.  A graduate of a 
program who cannot pass the licensure exam and become 
licensed experiences a significant loss of money and time and 
still cannot provide a livelihood for herself.  It is better to 
remediate or close a program that cannot meet outcomes than 
to continue to allow students to enroll in the program with a 
high probability of failing to become licensed.  The proposed 
amendments also shorten the length of time a nurse can be 
out of practice and still reinstate a license.  A nurse out of 
practice 10 or more years would incur the cost of completing a 
current nursing education program ($2,500 - $10,000) 
depending on the type of program and the educational 
institution), apply for licensure which includes application fees 
of $98 for LPN/RN and $139 for APRN and retake the 
examination which includes examination fees of $200 for 
LPN/RN and $600 for APRN.  An applicant who cannot pass 
the licensure examination within the three years or four tries 
would also be required to pay the additional examination fees 
and application fee. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing generally adopts 
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nursing education approval standards already used for 
national accreditation.  Thus the costs to the schools should 
be minimal are discussed in the rule filing, and such costs are 
likely outweighed by the positive impact to students who will 
receive better preparation for examinations and to the public 
who receives better nursing care.  The amendments which 
shorten the length of time a nurse can be out of practice and 
still reinstate a license and that limit the number of times a 
person may take an examination will result in costs to 
licensees or applicants, but such costs are again outweighed 
by the benefit to the public in receiving services from properly 
educated and trained individuals.  Francine A. Giani, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Laura Poe at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6789, 
by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
lpoe@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  7/18/2008 at 1:00 PM, Heber Wells Bldg, 160 E 
300 S, Conference Room 474 (fourth floor), Salt Lake City, 
UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  F. David Stanley, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-31b.  Nurse Practice Act Rule. 
R156-31b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 31b, as 
defined or used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Academic year", as used in Section R156-31b-601, means 
three quarters or two semesters.  A quarter is defined to be equal to 
ten weeks and a semester is defined to be equal to 14 or 15 weeks. 
 ([1]2)  "Affiliated with an institution of higher education", as 
used in Subsection 58-31b-601(1), means the general and science 
education courses required as part of a nursing education program 
are provided by an educational institution which is approved by the 
Board of Regents or an equivalent governmental agency in another 
state or a private educational institution which is regionally 
accredited by an accrediting board recognized by the Council for 
Higher Education Accreditation of the American Council on 
Education; and the nursing program and the institution of higher 

education are affiliated with each other as evidenced by a written 
contract or memorandum of understanding. 
 ([2]3)  "APRN" means an advanced practice registered nurse. 
 ([3]4)  "APRN-CRNA" means an advanced practice registered 
nurse specializing and certified as a certified registered nurse 
anesthetist. 
 ([4]5)  "Approved continuing education" in Subsection R156-
31b-303(3) means: 
 (a)  continuing education that has been approved by a 
professional nationally recognized approver of health related 
continuing education; 
 (b)  nursing education courses taken from an approved 
education program as defined in Subsection R156-31b-[601]102(6); 
and 
 (c)  health related course work taken from an educational 
institution accredited by a regional institutional accrediting body 
identified in the "Accredited Institutions of Postsecondary 
Education", 2006-2007 edition, published by the American Council 
on Education. 
 ([5]6)  "Approved education program" as defined in Subsection 
58-31b-102(3) is further defined to include any nursing education 
program located within the state of Utah which meets the standards 
established in Sections R156-31b-601, 602 and 603; and any nursing 
education program located outside of Utah which meets the 
standards established in Section R156-31b-607[published in the 
documents entitled "Directory of Accredited Nursing Programs", 
2006-2007, published by the National League for Nursing 
Accrediting Commission, which are hereby adopted and 
incorporated by reference as a part of this rule]. 
 ([6]7)  "CCNE" means the Commission on Collegiate Nursing 
Education. 
 ([7]8)  "CGFNS" means the Commission on Graduates of 
Foreign Nursing Schools. 
 ([8]9)  "COA", as used in this rule, means the Council of 
Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Education Programs. 
 ([9]10)  "Clinical [mentor/]preceptor", as used in Section R156-
31b-60[7]8, means an individual who is employed by a clinical 
health care facility and is chosen by that agency, in collaboration 
with the Parent Nursing Education-Program, to provide direct, on-
site supervision and direction to a nursing student who is engaged in 
a clinical rotation, and who is accountable to both the clinical 
agency and the supervisory clinical faculty member. 
 ([10]11)  "Comprehensive nursing assessment", as used in 
Section R156-31b-704, means an extensive data collection (initial 
and ongoing) for individuals, families, groups and communities 
addressing anticipated changes in patient conditions as well as 
emergent changes in patient's health status; recognizing alterations 
to previous patient conditions; synthesizing the biological, 
psychological, spiritual and social aspects of the patient's condition; 
evaluating the impact of nursing care; and using this broad and 
complete analysis to make independent decisions and identification 
of health care needs; plan nursing interventions, evaluate need for 
different interventions and the need to communicate and consult 
with other health team members. 
 ([11]12)  "Contact hour" means 60 minutes. 
 ([12]13)  "Delegatee", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means one or more competent persons receiving a delegation 
who acts in a complementary role to the delegating nurse, who has 
been trained appropriately for the task delegated, and whom the 
delegating nurse authorizes to perform a task that the delegates is not 
otherwise authorized to perform. 
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 ([13]14) "Delegation" means transferring to delegates the 
authority to perform a selected nursing task in a selected situation.  
The delegating nurse retains accountability for the delegation. 
 ([14]15)  "Delegation", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means the nurse making the delegation. 
 ([15]16)  "Diabetes medical management plan (DMMP), as 
used in this rule, means an individualized plan that describes the 
health care services that the student is to receive at school.  The plan 
is developed and signed by the student's parent or guardian and 
health care team.  It provides the school with information regarding 
how the student will manage diabetes at school on a daily basis.  The 
DMMP shall be incorporated into and shall become a part of the 
student's IHP. 
 ([16]17)  "Direct supervision" is the supervision required in 
Subsection 58-31b-306(1)(a)(iii) and means: 
 (a)  the person providing supervision shall be available on the 
premises at which the supervisee is engaged in practice; or 
 (b)  if the supervisee is specializing in psychiatric mental health 
nursing, the supervisor may be remote from the supervisee if there is 
personal direct voice communication between the two prior to 
prescribing a prescription drug. 
 ([17]18)  "Disruptive behavior", as used in this rule, means 
conduct, whether verbal or physical, that is demeaning, outrageous, 
or malicious and that places at risk patient care or the process of 
delivering quality patient care.  Disruptive behavior does not include 
criticism that is offered in good faith with the aim of improving 
patient care. 
 (19)  "Equivalent to an approved practical nursing education 
program", as used in Subsection 58-31b-302(2)(e), means the 
applicant for licensure as an LPN by equivalency is currently 
enrolled in an RN education program with full approval status, and 
has completed course work which is equivalent to the course work 
of an NLNAC accredited practical nursing program. 
 ([18]20)  "Focused nursing assessment", as used in Section 
R156-31b-703, means an appraisal of an individual's status and 
situation at hand, contributing to the comprehensive assessment by 
the registered nurse, supporting ongoing data collection and deciding 
who needs to be informed of the information and when to inform. 
 ([19]21)  "Individualized healthcare plan (IHP), as used in 
Section R156-31b-701a, means a plan for managing the health needs 
of a specific student, written and reviewed at least annually by a 
school nurse.  The IHP is developed by a nurse working in a school 
setting in conjunction with the student and the student's parent or 
guardian to guide school personnel in the care of a student with 
medical needs.  The plan shall be based on the student's 
practitioner's orders for the administration of medications or 
treatments for the student, or the student's DMMP. 
 ([20]22) "Licensure by equivalency" as used in this rule means 
licensure as a licensed practical nurse after successful completion of 
course work in a registered nurse program which meets the criteria 
established in Sections R156-31b-601 and R156-31b-603. 
 ([21]23)  "LPN" means a licensed practical nurse. 
 ([22]24)  "Medication", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means any prescription or nonprescription drug as defined in 
Subsections 58-17b-102(39) and (61) of the Pharmacy Practice Act. 
 ([23]25)  "NLNAC" means the National League for Nursing 
Accrediting Commission. 
 ([24]26)  "NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 
Examination of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. 
 ([25]27)  "Non-approved education program" means any 
foreign nurse education program. 

 ([26]28)  "Nurse", as used in this rule, means an individual 
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 31b as a licensed practical nurse, 
registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, or advanced 
practice registered nurse-certified registered nurse anesthetist, or a 
certified nurse midwife licensed under Title 58, Chapter 44a. 
 (29)  "Nurse accredited", as used in this rule, means 
accreditation issued by NLNAC, CCNE or COA. 
 ([27]30)  "Other specified health care professionals", as used in 
Subsection 58-31b-102(15), who may direct the licensed practical 
nurse means: 
 (a)  advanced practice registered nurse; 
 (b)  certified nurse midwife; 
 (c)  chiropractic physician; 
 (d)  dentist; 
 (e)  osteopathic physician; 
 (f)  physician assistant; 
 (g)  podiatric physician; 
 (h)  optometrist; 
 (i)  naturopathic physician; or 
 (j)  mental health therapist as defined in Subsection 58-60-
102(5). 
 (31)  "Parent academic institution", as used in this rule, means 
the educational institution which grants the academic degree or 
awards the certificate of completion. 
 ([28]32)  "Parent nursing education-program", as used in 
Section R156-31b-607, means a nationally accredited, Board of 
Nursing approved nursing education program that is providing 
nursing education (didactic, clinical or both) to a student and is 
responsible for the education program curriculum, and program and 
student policies. 
 ([29]33)  "Patient", as used in this rule, means a recipient of 
nursing care and includes students in a school setting or clients of a 
health care facility, clinic, or practitioner. 
 ([30]34)  "Patient surrogate", as used in Subsection R156-31b-
502[(4)](1)(d), means an individual who has legal authority to act on 
behalf of the patient when the patient is unable to act or decide for 
himself, including a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or a person 
designated in a power of attorney. 
 ([31]35)  "Psychiatric mental health nursing specialty", as used 
in Subsection 58-31b-302(4)(g), includes psychiatric mental health 
nurse specialists and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners. 
 ([32]36)  "Practitioner", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means a person authorized by law to prescribe treatment, 
medication, or medical devices, and who acts within the scope of 
such authority. 
 ([33]37)  "RN" means a registered nurse. 
 ([34]38)  "School", as used in Section R156-31b-701a, means 
any private or public institution of primary or secondary education, 
including charter schools, pre-school, kindergarten, and special 
education programs. 
 ([35]39)  "Supervision", as used in Sections R156-31b-701 and 
701a, means the provision of guidance and review by a licensed 
nurse for the accomplishment of a nursing task or activity, including 
the provision for the initial direction of the task, periodic inspection 
of the actual act of accomplishing the task or activity, and evaluation 
of the outcome. 
 ([36]40) "Supervisory clinical faculty", as used in Section 
R156-31b-60[7]8, means one or more individuals employed by an 
approved nursing education program who meet the accreditation and 
Board of Nursing specific requirements to be a faculty member and 
are responsible for the overall clinical experiences of nursing 
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students and may supervise and coordinate clinical 
[mentors/]preceptors who provide the actual direct clinical 
experience. 
 ([37]41)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 31b, is further defined in Section R156-31b-502. 
 
R156-31b-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education 
Requirements. 
 In accordance with Sections 58-31b-302(2)(e) and 58-31b-303, 
the education requirements for licensure are defined as follows: 
 (1)  Applicants for licensure as a LPN by equivalency shall 
submit written verification from a[n approved] registered nurse 
education program with full approval status, verifying the applicant 
is currently enrolled and has completed course work which is 
equivalent to the course work of an NLNAC accredited practical 
nurse program. 
 (2)  Applicants from foreign education programs who are not 
currently licensed in another state shall submit a credentials 
evaluation report from one of the following credentialing services 
which verifies that the program completed by the applicant is 
equivalent to an approved practical nurse or registered nurse 
education program. 
 (a)  Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools for 
an applicant who is applying for licensure as a registered nurse; or 
 (b)  Foundation for International Services, Inc. for an applicant 
who is applying for licensure as a licensed practical nurse. 
 
R156-31b-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
 (1)  An applicant for licensure under Title 58, Chapter 31b shall 
pass the applicable licensure examination within three years from 
the date of completion or graduation from a nursing education 
program or four attempts whichever is sooner.  An individual who 
does not pass the applicable licensure examination within three years 
of completion or graduation or four attempts is required to complete 
another approved nursing education program. 
 ([1]2)  In accordance with Section 58-31b-302, the examination 
requirements for graduates of approved nursing programs are as 
follows. 
 (a)  An applicant for licensure as an LPN or RN shall pass the 
applicable NCLEX examination. 
 (b)  An applicant for licensure as an APRN shall pass one of the 
following national certification examinations consistent with the 
applicant's educational specialty: 
 (i)  one of the following examinations administered by the 
American Nurses Credentialing Center Certification: 
 (A)  Adult Nurse Practitioner; 
 (B)  Family Nurse Practitioner; 
 (C)  Pediatric Nurse Practitioner; 
 (D)  Gerontological Nurse Practitioner; 
 (E)  Acute Care Nurse Practitioner; 
 (F)  Clinical Specialist in Medical-Surgical Nursing; 
 (G)  Clinical Specialist in Gerontological Nursing; 
 (H)  Clinical Specialist in Adult Psychiatric and Mental Health 
Nursing; 
 (I)  Clinical Specialist in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric and 
Mental Health Nursing; or 
 (J)  Psychiatric and Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Adult 
and Family); 
 (ii)  Pediatric Nursing Certification Board; 
 (iii)  American Academy of Nurse Practitioners; 

 (iv)  the National Certification Corporation for the Obstetric, 
Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing Specialties; 
 (v)  the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation Advanced 
Oncology Certified Nurse if taken on or before July 1, 2005; 
 (vi)  one of the following examinations administered by the 
American Association of Critical Care Nurses Certification 
Corporation Inc.: 
 (A)  the Advanced Practice Certification for the Clinical Nurse 
Specialist in Acute and Critical Care; or 
 (B)  the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certification; 
 (vii)  [the Advanced Critical Care Examination administered by 
the American Association of Critical Care Nurses; or 
 (viii)  ]the national nurse midwifery certifying examination 
administered by the [American Midwifery Certification Board, 
Inc.]Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education; or 
 ([ix]viii)  the examination of the Council on Certification of 
Nurse Anesthetists. 
 ([2]3)  In accordance with Section 58-31b-303, an applicant for 
licensure as an LPN or RN from a non-approved nursing program 
shall pass the applicable NCLEX examination. 
 (4)  The examinations required under this Section are national 
exams and cannot be challenged before the Division. 
 
R156-31b-304.  Temporary Licensure. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-303(1), the division 
may issue a temporary license to a person who meets all 
qualifications for licensure as either an LPN or RN, except for the 
passing of the required examination, if the applicant: 
 (a)  is a graduate of or has completed a Utah-based, [approved 
]nursing education program with full approval status within two 
months immediately preceding application for licensure; 
 (b)  has never before taken the specific licensure examination; 
 (c)  submits to the division evidence of having secured 
employment conditioned upon issuance of the temporary license, 
and the employment is under the direct, on-site supervision of a fully 
licensed registered nurse; and 
 (d)  has registered for the appropriate NCLEX examination. 
 (2)  The temporary license issued under Subsection (1) expires 
the earlier of: 
 (a)  the date upon which the division receives notice from the 
examination agency that the individual failed the examination; 
 (b)  [four months]90 days from the date of issuance; or 
 (c)  the date upon which the division issues the individual full 
licensure. 
 (2)  A temporary license issued in accordance with Section 58-
1-303 to a graduate of a foreign nursing education program may be 
issued for a period of time not to exceed one year from the date of 
issuance and shall not be renewed or extended. 
 
R156-31b-306.  Inactive Licensure, Reinstatement or 
Relicensure. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-305(1), an individual 
seeking activation of an inactive RN or LPN license must document 
current competency to practice as a nurse as defined in Subsection 
(3) below. 
 (2)  An individual seeking reinstatement of RN or LPN 
licensure or relicensure as a RN or LPN in accordance with 
Subsection R156-1-308g(3)(b), R156-1-308i(3), R156-1-308j(3) and 
R156-1-308k(2)(c) shall document current competence as defined in 
Subsection (3) below. 
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 (3)  Documentation of current competency to practice as a 
nurse is established as follows: 
 (a)  an individual who has not practiced as a nurse for five years 
or less must document current compliance with the continuing 
competency requirements as established in Subsection R156-31b-
303(3); 
 (b)  an individual who has not practiced as a nurse for more 
than five years but less than [10]eight years must pass the required 
examinations as defined in Section R156-31b-302c within six 
months prior to making application for licensure or successfully 
complete an approved re-entry program; 
 (c)  an individual who has not practiced as a nurse for more 
than [10]eight years but less than [15]10 years must pass the 
required examinations as defined in Section R156-31b-302c within 
six months prior to making application for licensure and successfully 
complete an approved re-entry program; 
 (d)  an individual who has not practiced as a nurse for [more 
than 15]10 years shall repeat an approved nursing education 
program and pass the required examinations as defined in Section 
R156-31b-302c within six months prior to making application for 
licensure. 
 (4)  To document current competency for activation, 
reinstatement or relicensure as an APRN, an individual must pass 
the required examinations as defined in Section R156-31b-302c and 
be currently certified or recertified in the specialty area. 
 
R156-31b-309.  Intern Licensure. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-31b-306, an intern license 
shall expire the earlier of: 
 (a)  [immediately upon failing to take the first available 
examination]90 days from the date of issuance, unless the applicant 
is applying for licensure as an APRN specializing in psychiatric 
mental health nursing, then the intern license shall be issued for a 
period of one year and can be extended in one year increments not to 
exceed five years; 
 (b)  30 days after notification from the applicant or the 
examination agency, if the applicant fails the [first available 
]examination; or 
 (c)  upon issuance of an APRN license. 
 (2)  Regardless of the provisions of Subsection (1) of this 
section, the division in collaboration with the board may extend the 
term of any intern license upon a showing of extraordinary 
circumstances beyond the control of the applicant. 
 (3)  It is the professional responsibility of the APRN Intern to 
inform the Division of examination results and to cause to have the 
examination agency send the examination results directly to the 
Division. 
 
R156-31b-310.  Licensure by Endorsement. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-1-302, an individual who 
moves from a Nurse Licensure Compact party state does not need to 
hold a current license, but the former home state license must have 
been in good standing at the time of expiration. 
 (2)  An individual under Subsection (1) who has not been 
licensed or practicing nursing for three years or more is required to 
retake the licensure examination to demonstrate good standing 
within the profession. 
 (3)  An applicant for licensure by endorsement must have a 
current, active license in another state, or pass the required 
examinations as defined in Section R156-31b-302c, within six 
months prior to making application for licensure. 

R156-31b-601.  [Nursing Education Program 
Standards]Standards for Parent Academic Institution Offering 
Nursing Education Program. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-31b-601(2), the minimum 
standards that a parent academic institution offering a nursing 
education program must meet to qualify graduates for licensure 
under this chapter are as follows[set forth in Sections R156-31b-601, 
602, 603, and 604].[ 
 (1)  Standards for programs located within Utah leading to 
licensure as a registered nurse or advanced practice registered nurse: 
 (a)  be accredited or preaccredited regionally by a professional 
accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation of the American Council on Education, or one of the 
following national accrediting bodies: the Accrediting Bureau of 
Health Education Schools (ABHES), the Accrediting Commission 
of Career Schools and Colleges of Technology (ACCSCT), or the 
Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training 
Council (DETC); 
 (b)  admit as students, only persons having a certificate of 
graduation from a school providing secondary education or the 
recognized equivalent of such a certificate; 
 (c)  be legally authorized by the State of Utah to provide a 
program of education beyond secondary education; 
 (d)  provide not less than a two academic year program of study 
that awards a minimum of an associate degree that is transferable to 
another institution of higher education; 
 (e)  provide an academic program of study that awards a 
minimum of a master's degree that is transferable to another 
institution of higher education if providing education toward 
licensure as an advanced practice registered nurse; 
 (f)  meet the accreditation standards of either CCNE, NLNAC, 
or COA as evidenced by accreditation by one of the organizations as 
required under Subsection R156-31b-602; and 
 (g)  have at least 20 percent of the school's revenue from 
sources that are not derived from funds provided under title IV, 
HEA program funds or student fees, including tuition if a proprietary 
school. 
 (2)  Standards for programs located within Utah leading to 
licensure as a licensed practical nurse: 
 (a)  be accredited or preaccredited regionally by a professional 
accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation of the American Council on Education; or one of the 
following national accrediting bodies: the Accrediting Bureau of 
Health Education Schools (ABHES) or the Accrediting Commission 
of Career Schools and Colleges of Technology (ACCSCT); 
 (b)  admit as nursing students, only persons having a certificate 
of graduation from a school providing secondary education or the 
recognized equivalent of such a certificate; 
 (c)  be legally authorized by the State of Utah to provide a 
program of education beyond secondary education; 
 (d)  provide not less than one academic year program of study 
that leads to a certificate or recognized educational credential and 
provides courses that are transferable to an institution of higher 
education; 
 (e)  meet the accreditation standards of either CCNE or 
NLNAC as evidenced by accreditation by either organization as 
required under Subsection R156-31b-602. 
 (f)  have at least 20 percent of the school's revenue from 
sources that are not derived from funds provided under title IV, 
HEA program funds or student fees, including tuition if a proprietary 
school. 
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 (3)  Programs located outside of Utah leading toward licensure 
as a nurse must be: 
 (a)  accredited by the CCNE, NLNAC or COA; and 
 (b) approved by the Board of Nursing or duly recognized 
agency in the state in which the program is offered.] 
 (1)  The parent academic institution shall be legally authorized 
by the State of Utah to provide a program of education beyond 
secondary education. 
 (2)  The parent academic institution shall admit as students only 
persons having a certificate of graduation from a school providing 
secondary education or the recognized equivalent of such a 
certificate. 
 (3)  At least 20 percent of the parent academic institution's 
revenue shall be from sources that are not derived from funds 
provided under title IV, HEA program funds or student fees, 
including tuition if a proprietary school. 
 (4)  In addition to the standards established in Subsections (1), 
(2), and (3) above, a parent education institution offering a nursing 
education program leading toward licensure as an LPN shall: 
 (a)  be accredited or preaccredited regionally by a professional 
accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation of the American Council on Education, or one of the 
following national accrediting bodies: the Accrediting Bureau of 
Health Education Schools (ABHES), the Accrediting Commission 
of Career Schools and Colleges of Technology (ACCSCT), Council 
on Occupational Education, or the Accrediting Commission of the 
Distance Education and Training Council (DETC); and 
 (b)  provide not less than one academic year program of study 
that leads to a certificate or recognized educational credential. 
 (5)  In addition to the standards established in Subsections (1), 
(2), and (3) above, a parent education institution offering a nursing 
education program leading toward licensure as an RN shall: 
 (a)  be accredited or preaccredited regionally by a professional 
accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation of the American Council on Education, or one of the 
following national accrediting bodies: the Accrediting Bureau of 
Health Education Schools (ABHES), the Accrediting Commission 
of Career Schools and Colleges of Technology (ACCSCT), or the 
Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training 
Council (DETC); and 
 (b)  provide or require not less than a two academic year 
program of study that awards a minimum of an associate degree. 
 (6)  In addition to the standards established in Subsections (1), 
(2), and (3) above, a parent education institution offering a nursing 
education program leading toward licensure as an APRN or APRN-
CRNA shall: 
 (a)  be accredited or preaccredited regionally by a professional 
accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation of the American Council on Education; 
 (b)  admit as students, only persons having completed at least 
an associate degree in nursing or baccalaureate degree in a related 
discipline; and 
 (c)  provide or require not less than a two academic year 
program of study that awards a minimum of a master's degree. 
 
R156-31b-602.  [Nursing Education Program Full 
Approval]Categories of Nursing Education Programs Approval 
Status. 
 [(1)  Full approval of a nursing program shall be granted when 
it becomes accredited by the NLNAC or the CCNE. 

 (2)  Programs which have been granted full approval as of the 
effective date of this rule and are not accredited, must become 
accredited by December 31, 2005, or be placed on probationary 
status.](1)  Full approval status of a nursing program shall be 
granted and maintained by adherence to the following: 
 (a)  current accreditation by the NLNAC, CCNE, or COA; and 
 (b)  compliance with the standards established in Sections 
R156-31b-601 and 603 and the nurse accrediting body in which the 
program chooses to become accredited. 
 (2)  The Division may place on probationary approval status a 
nursing education program for a period not to exceed three years 
provided the program: 
 (a)  is located or available within the state; 
 (b)  is found to be out of compliance with the standards for 
approval to the extent that the ability of the program to competently 
educate nursing students is impaired; and 
 (c)  provides a plan of correction which is reasonable and 
includes an adequate safeguard of the student and public. 
 (3)  The Division may grant provisional approval status to a 
nursing education program for a period not to exceed two years after 
the date of the first graduating class, provided the program: 
 (a)  is located or available within the state; 
 (b)  is newly organized; 
 (c)  meets all standards established in Sections R156-31b-601 
and 603; and 
 (d)  is progressing in a timely manner to qualify for full 
approval status by obtaining accreditation from a nurse accrediting 
body. 
 (4)(a)  A nursing education program seeking accreditation from 
NLNAC shall demonstrate progression toward accreditation and 
qualifying for full approval status by becoming a Candidate for 
Accreditation by the NLNAC no later than six months from the date 
of the first day a nursing course is offered. 
 (b) A program that fails to obtain NLNAC Candidacy Status as 
required in this Subsection shall: 
 (i)  immediately cease accepting any new students; 
 (ii)  the approval status of the program shall be changed to 
"Probationary" and if the program fails to become a Candidate for 
NLNAC accreditation within one year from the date of the first day 
a nursing course is offered, the program shall cease operation at the 
end of the current academic term such as at the end of the current 
semester or quarter; and 
 (iii) a nursing education program that ceases operation under 
this Subsection, is eligible to submit a new application for approval 
status of a nursing education program to the Division for review and 
action no sooner than one calendar year from the date the program 
ceased operation. 
 (5)  A nursing education program that has been granted 
provisional approval status and fails to become accredited by a nurse 
accrediting body within two years of the first graduating class, shall 
cease operation at the end of the two year period of time and the 
academic term, such as a semester or quarter, of that time period. 
 (6)  After receiving notification from a nurse accrediting body 
of a failed site visit or denied application for accreditation by the 
nurse accrediting body, a nursing education program on provisional 
approval status shall: 
 (i)  notify the Division and Board within 10 days of being 
notified of the failed site visit or denied application for accreditation; 
 (ii)  cease operation at the end of the current academic term; 
and 
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 (iii)  be eligible to submit a new application for approval status 
of a nursing education program to the Division for review and action 
no sooner than one calendar year from the date the program ceased 
operation. 
 (7)(a)  A nursing education program on provisional approval 
status shall schedule a nurse accreditation site visit no later than one 
calendar year from the graduation date of the first graduating class. 
 (b)  A program that fails to schedule a site visit within one year 
of the first graduating class shall: 
 (i)  cease to accept any new students; 
 (ii)  no later than two years after the first graduating class, cease 
operation; and 
 (iii)  if ceasing operation under this Subsection, be eligible to 
submit a new application for approval status of a nursing education 
program to the Division for review and action no sooner than one 
calendar year from the date the program ceased operation. 
 
R156-31b-603.  Nursing Education Program [Provisional 
Approval]Standards. 
 [(1)  The division may grant provisional approval to a nursing 
education program for a period not to exceed three years after the 
date of the first graduating class, provided the program: 
 (a)  is located or available within the state; 
 (b)  is newly organized; 
 (c)  meets all standards for provisional approval as required in 
this section; and 
 (d)  is progressing in a reasonable manner to qualify for full 
approval by obtaining accreditation. 
 (2)  The general standards for provisional approval include: 
 (a)  the purpose and outcomes of the nursing program shall be 
consistent with the Nurse Practice Act and Rule and other relevant 
state statutes; 
 (b)  the purpose and outcomes of the nursing program shall be 
consistent with generally accepted standards of nursing practice 
appropriate for graduates of the type of nursing program offered; 
 (c)  the input of consumers shall be considered in developing 
and evaluating the purpose and outcomes of the program; 
 (d)  the nursing program shall implement a comprehensive, 
systematic plan for ongoing evaluation that is based on program 
outcomes and incorporates continuous improvement; 
 (e)  the curriculum shall provide diverse didactic and clinical 
learning experiences consistent with program outcomes; 
 (f)  faculty and students shall participate in program planning, 
implementation, evaluation, and continuous improvement; 
 (g)  the nursing program administrator shall be a professionally 
and academically qualified registered nurse with institutional 
authority and administrative responsibility for the program; 
 (h)  professionally and academically qualified nurse faculty 
shall be sufficient in number and expertise to accomplish program 
outcomes and quality improvement; 
 (i)  the fiscal, human, physical, clinical and technical learning 
resources shall be adequate to support program processes, security 
and outcomes; 
 (j)  program information communicated by the nursing program 
shall be fair, accurate, complete, consistent, and readily available; 
 (k)  the program must meet the criteria for nursing education 
programs established in Section R156-31b-601; and 
 (l) the nursing education program shall be an integral part of a 
governing academic institution accredited by an accrediting body 
that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 

 (3)  Programs which have been granted provisional approval 
status shall submit an annual report to the Division on the form 
prescribed by the Division. 
 (4)  Programs which have been granted provisional approval 
prior to the effective date of this rule and are not accredited, must 
become accredited by December 31, 2005. 
 (5)  A comprehensive nursing education program evaluation 
shall be performed annually for quality improvement and shall 
include but not be limited to: 
 (a)  students' achievement of program outcomes; 
 (b)  evidence of adequate program resources including fiscal, 
physical, human clinical and technical learning resources, and the 
availability of clinical sites and the viability of those sites to meet 
the objectives of the program; 
 (c)  multiple measures of program outcomes for graduates such 
as NCLEX pass rate, student and employer survey, and successful 
completion of national certification programs; 
 (d)  evidence that accurate program information for consumers 
is readily available; 
 (e)  the head of the academic institution and the administration 
support meet program outcomes; 
 (f)  the program administrator and program faculty meet board 
qualifications and are sufficient to achieve program outcomes; and 
 (g)  evidence that the academic institution assures security of 
student information. 
 (6)  The curriculum of the nursing education program shall 
enable the student to develop the nursing knowledge, skills and 
competencies necessary for the level, scope and standards of nursing 
practice consistent with the level of licensure.  The curriculum shall 
include: 
 (a)  content regarding legal and ethical issues, history and 
trends in nursing and health care, and professional responsibilities; 
 (b)  experiences that promote the development of leadership 
and management skills and professional socialization consistent with 
the level of licensure, including the  demonstration of the ability to 
supervise others and provide leadership of the profession; 
 (c)  learning experiences and methods of instruction, including 
distance education methods are consistent with the written 
curriculum plan; 
 (d)  coursework including, but not limited to: 
 (i)  content in the biological, physical, social and behavioral 
sciences to provide a foundation for safe and effective nursing 
practice; 
 (ii)  didactic content and supervised clinical experience in the 
prevention of illness and the promotion, restoration, and 
maintenance of health in clients across the life span and in a variety 
of clinical settings, to include: 
 (A)  using informatics to communicate, manage knowledge, 
mitigate error and support decision making; 
 (B)  employing evidence-based practice to integrate best 
research with clinical expertise and client values for optimal care, 
including skills to identify and apply best practices to nursing care; 
 (C)  providing client-centered, culturally competent care: 
 (1)  respecting client differences, values, preferences and 
expressed needs; 
 (2)  involving clients in decision-making and care management; 
 (3)  coordinating and managing continuous client care; and 
 (4)  promoting healthy lifestyles for clients and populations; 
 (D)  working in interdisciplinary teams to cooperate, 
collaborate, communicate and integrate client care and health 
promotion; and 
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 (E)  participating in quality improvement processes to measure 
client outcomes, identify hazards and errors, and develop changes in 
processes of client care; and 
 (e)  supervised clinical practice which include development of 
skill in making clinical judgments, management and care of groups 
of clients, and delegation to and supervision of other health care 
providers; 
 (i)  clinical experience shall be comprised of sufficient hours to 
meet these standards, shall be supervised by qualified faculty and 
ensure students' ability to practice at an entry level; 
 (ii)  delivery of instruction by distance education methods must 
be consistent with the program curriculum plan and enable students 
to meet the goals, competencies and objectives of the educational 
program and standards of the division; and 
 (iii)  all student clinical experiences, including those with 
preceptors, shall be directed by nursing faculty. 
 (7)  Students rights and responsibilities: 
 (a)  students shall be provided the opportunity to acquire and 
demonstrate the knowledge, skills and abilities for safe and effective 
nursing practice, in theory and clinical experience with faculty 
oversight; 
 (b)  all policies relevant to applicants and students shall be 
available in writing; 
 (c)  students shall be required to meet the health standards and 
criminal background checks as required in Utah; 
 (d)  students shall receive faculty instruction, advisement and 
oversight; and 
 (e)  students shall maintain the integrity of their work. 
 (8)  The qualifications for the administrator of a nursing 
education program shall include: 
 (a)  the qualifications for an administrator in a program 
preparing an individual for licensure as an LPN shall include: 
 (i)  a current, active, unencumbered RN license or multistate 
privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)  a minimum of a masters degree in nursing or a nursing 
doctorate; 
 (iii)  educational preparation or experience in teaching and 
learning principles for adult education, including curriculum 
development and administration, and at least two years of clinical 
experience; and 
 (iv)  a current knowledge of nursing practice at the practical 
nurse level; 
 (b)  the qualifications for an administrator in a program 
preparing an individual for licensure as an RN shall include: 
 (i)  a current, active unencumbered RN license or multistate 
privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)(A)  associate degree program:  a minimum of a masters 
degree in nursing or a nursing doctorate; 
 (B)  baccalaureate degree program:  a minimum of a masters 
degree in nursing and an earned doctorate or a nursing doctorate; 
 (iii)  education preparation or experience in teaching and 
learning principles for adult education, including curriculum 
development and administration, and at least two years of clinical 
experience; and 
 (iv)  a current knowledge of RN practice; 
 (c)  the qualifications for an administrator/director in a graduate 
program preparing an individual for licensure as an APRN shall 
include: 
 (i)  a current, active unencumbered APRN license or multistate 
privilege to practice as an APRN in Utah; 

 (ii)  a minimum of a masters in nursing or a nursing doctorate 
in an APRN specialty; 
 (iii)  educational preparation or experience in teaching and 
learning principles for adult education, including curriculum 
development and administration, and at least two years of clinical 
experience; and 
 (iv)  a current knowledge of APRN practice. 
 (9)  The qualifications for faculty in a nursing education 
program shall include: 
 (a)  a sufficient number of qualified faculty to meet the 
objectives and purposes of the nursing education program; 
 (b)  the nursing faculty shall hold a current, active, 
unencumbered RN license or multistate privilege, or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice in Utah; and 
 (c)  clinical faculty shall hold a license or privilege to practice 
and meet requirements in the state of the student's clinical site. 
 (10)  The qualifications for nursing faculty who teach in a 
program leading to licensure as a practical nurse include: 
 (a)  a minimum of a baccalaureate degree with a major in 
nursing; 
 (b)  two years of clinical experience; and 
 (c)  preparation in teaching and learning principles for adult 
education, including curriculum development and implementation. 
 (11)  The qualifications for nursing faculty who teach in a 
program leading to licensure as a RN include: 
 (a)  a minimum of a masters degree with a major in nursing or a 
nursing doctorate degree; 
 (b)  two years of clinical experience; and 
 (c)  preparation in teaching and learning principles for adult 
education, including curriculum development and implementation. 
 (12)  The qualifications for nursing faculty who teach in a 
program leading to licensure as an APRN include: 
 (a)  a minimum of a masters degree with a major in nursing or a 
nursing doctorate degree; 
 (b)  holding a license or multistate privilege to practice as an 
APRN; 
 (c)  two years of clinical experience practicing as an APRN; 
and 
 (d)  preparation in teaching and learning principles for adult 
education, including curriculum development and implementation. 
 (13)  Adjunct clinical faculty employed solely to supervise 
clinical nursing experiences of students shall meet all the faculty 
qualifications for the program level they are teaching. 
 (14)  Interdisciplinary faculty who teach non-clinical nursing 
courses shall have advanced preparation appropriate to the area of 
content. 
 (15)  Clinical preceptors shall have demonstrated competencies 
related to the area of assigned clinical teaching responsibilities and 
will serve as a role model and educator to the student.  Clinical 
preceptors may be used to enhance faculty-directed clinical learning 
experiences after a student has received clinical and didactic 
instruction in all basic areas for that course or specific learning 
experience.  Clinical preceptors should be licensed as a nurse at or 
above the level for which the student is preparing. 
 (16)  Additional required components of graduate education 
programs, including post-masters certificate programs, leading to 
APRN licensure include: 
 (a)  Each student enrolled shall be licensed or have a multistate 
privilege to practice as an RN in Utah; 
 (b)  The curriculum shall be consistent with nationally 
recognized APRN roles and specialties and shall include: 
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 (i)  graduate nursing program core courses; 
 (ii)  advanced practice nursing core courses including legal, 
ethical and professional responsibilities of the APRN, advanced 
pathophysiology, advanced health assessment, 
pharmacotherapeutics, and management and treatment of health care 
status; and 
 (iii)  coursework focusing on the APRN role and specialty. 
 (c)  Dual track APRN graduate programs (preparing for two 
specialties) shall include content and clinical experience in both 
functional roles and specialties. 
 (d)  Instructional track/major shall have a minimum of 500 
hours of supervised clinical.  The supervised experience shall be 
directly related to the knowledge and role of the specialty and 
category.  Specialty tracks that provide care to multiple age groups 
and care settings will require additional hours distributed in a way 
that represents the populations served. 
 (e)  There shall be provisions for the recognition of prior 
learning and advanced placement in the curriculum for individuals 
who hold a masters degree in nursing who are seeking preparation in 
a different role and specialty.  Post-masters nursing students shall 
complete the requirements of the masters APRN program through a 
formal graduate level certificate or master level track in the desired 
role and specialty.  A program offering a post-masters certificate in a 
specialty area must also offer a master degree course of study in the 
same specialty area.  Post-master students must master the same 
APRN outcome criteria as the master level students and are required 
to complete a minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours. 
 (f)  A lead faculty member who is educated and nationally 
certified in the same specialty area and licensed as an APRN or 
possessing a APRN multistate privilege shall coordinate the 
educational component for the role and specialty in the APRN 
program.]In accordance with Subsection 58-31b-601(2), the 
minimum standards that a nursing education program must meet to 
qualify graduates for licensure under this chapter are set forth as 
follows. 
 (1)  A nursing education program shall meet the following 
standards: 
 (a)  purposes and outcomes shall be consistent with the Nurse 
Practice Act and Rule and other relevant state statutes; 
 (b)  purposes and outcomes shall be consistent with generally 
accepted standards of nursing practice appropriate for graduates of 
the type of nursing program offered; 
 (c)  consumer input shall be considered in developing and 
evaluating the purpose and outcomes of the program; 
 (d)  the program shall implement a comprehensive, systematic 
plan for ongoing evaluation that is based on program outcomes and 
incorporates continuous improvement; 
 (e)  the curriculum shall provide diverse, integrated didactic 
and clinical learning experiences across the lifespan, consistent with 
program outcomes; 
 (f)  the faculty and students shall participate in program 
planning, implementation, evaluation, and continuous improvement; 
 (g)  the nursing program administrator shall be professionally 
and academically qualified as a registered nurse with institutional 
authority and administrative responsibility for the program; 
 (h)  professionally and academically qualified nurse faculty 
shall be sufficient in number and expertise to accomplish program 
outcomes and quality improvement; 
 (i)  fiscal, human, physical, clinical and technical learning 
resources shall be adequate to support program processes, security 
and outcomes; 

 (j)  program information communicated by the nursing program 
shall be fair, accurate, complete, consistent, and readily available; 
 (k)  the program shall meet all the criteria established in this 
rule; 
 (l) the program shall be an integral part of a parent academic 
institution which is accredited by an accrediting body that is 
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education; and 
 (m)  the program shall require students to obtain general 
education, pre-requisite, and co-requisites courses from a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education, or have in place an 
articulation agreement with a regionally accredited institution of 
higher education. 
 (2)  A comprehensive nursing education program evaluation 
shall be performed annually for quality improvement and shall 
include but not be limited to: 
 (a)  students' achievement of program outcomes; 
 (b)  evidence of adequate program resources including fiscal, 
physical, human, clinical and technical learning resources, and the 
availability of clinical sites and the viability of those sites to meet 
the objectives of the program; 
 (c)  multiple measures of program outcomes for graduates such 
as NCLEX pass rate, student and employer survey, and successful 
completion of national certification programs; 
 (d)  evidence that accurate program information for consumers 
is readily available; 
 (e)  evidence that the head of the academic institution and the 
administration support program outcomes; 
 (f)  evidence that the program administrator and program 
faculty meet board qualifications and are sufficient to achieve 
program outcomes; and 
 (g)  evidence that the academic institution assures security of 
student information. 
 (3)  The curriculum of the nursing education program shall 
enable the student to develop the nursing knowledge, skills and 
competencies necessary for the level, scope and standards of nursing 
practice consistent with the level of licensure.  The curriculum shall 
include: 
 (a)  content regarding legal and ethical issues, history and 
trends in nursing and health care, and professional responsibilities; 
 (b)  experiences that promote the development of leadership 
and management skills and professional socialization consistent with 
the level of licensure, including the  demonstration of the ability to 
supervise others and provide leadership of the profession; 
 (c)  learning experiences and methods of instruction, including 
distance education methods, consistent with the written curriculum 
plan; 
 (d)  coursework including, but not limited to: 
 (i)  content in the biological, physical, social and behavioral 
sciences to provide a foundation for safe and effective nursing 
practice; 
 (ii)  didactic content integrated with supervised clinical 
experience in the prevention of illness and the promotion, 
restoration, and maintenance of health in patients across the life span 
and in a variety of clinical settings, to include: 
 (A)  using informatics to communicate, manage knowledge, 
mitigate error and support decision making; 
 (B)  employing evidence-based practice to integrate best 
research with clinical expertise and patient values for optimal care, 
including skills to identify and apply best practices to nursing care; 
 (C)  providing patient-centered, culturally competent care: 
 (1)  respecting patient differences, values, preferences and 
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expressed needs; 
 (2)  involving patients in decision-making and care 
management; 
 (3)  coordinating and managing continuous patient care; and 
 (4)  promoting healthy lifestyles for patients and populations; 
 (D)  working in interdisciplinary teams to cooperate, 
collaborate, communicate and integrate patient care and health 
promotion; and 
 (E)  participating in quality improvement processes to measure 
patient outcomes, identify hazards and errors, and develop changes 
in processes of patient care; 
 (e)  supervised clinical practice which includes development of 
skill in making clinical judgments, management and care of groups 
of patients, experience with interdisciplinary teamwork, working 
with families in the provision of care, managing crisis situations, and 
delegation to and supervision of other health care providers: 
 (i)  clinical experience shall be comprised of sufficient hours, 
shifts, variety of populations, and hands-on practice to meet these 
standards, and ensure students' ability to practice at an entry level; 
 (ii)  no more than 25% of the clinical hours can be obtained in a 
nursing skills laboratory, or by clinical simulation or virtual clinical 
excursions; 
 (iii)  all student clinical experiences, including those with 
preceptors, shall be  supervised by qualified nursing faculty at a ratio 
of not more than 10 students to one faculty member unless the 
experience includes students working with preceptors who can be 
supervised at a ratio of not more than 15 students to one faculty 
member; and 
 (iv)  nursing faculty, must be on-site with students during all 
fundamental, medical-surgical and acute care clinical experiences; 
 (f)(i)  clinical preceptors may be used to enhance faculty-
directed clinical learning experiences after a student has completed 
didactic and clinical instruction in all foundational courses including 
introduction to nursing, fundamentals, medical-surgical, obstetrics, 
and pediatrics.  Therefore, clinical preceptors shall not be utilized in 
LPN nursing programs. 
 (ii) a clinical preceptor shall: 
 (A)  demonstrate competencies related to the area of assigned 
clinical teaching responsibilities; 
 (B)  serve as a role model and educator to the student; 
 (C)  be licensed as a nurse at or above the level for which the 
student is preparing; 
 (D)  not be used to replace clinical faculty; 
 (F)  be provided with a written document defining the functions 
and responsibilities of the preceptor; 
 (G)  confer with the clinical faculty member and student for 
monitoring and evaluating learning experiences, but the clinical 
faculty member shall retain responsibility for student learning; and 
 (H)  not supervise more than two students during any one 
scheduled work time or shift; and 
 (g)  delivery of instruction by distance education methods must 
be consistent with the program curriculum plan and enable students 
to meet the goals, competencies and objectives of the educational 
program and standards of the division. 
 (4)  Students rights and responsibilities: 
 (a)  opportunities to acquire and demonstrate the knowledge, 
skills and abilities for safe and effective nursing practice, in theory 
and clinical experience with faculty oversight shall be provided to 
students; 
 (b)  all policies shall be written and available to students; 

 (c)  students shall be required to meet the health standards and 
criminal background checks as required in Utah; 
 (d)  students shall receive faculty instruction, advisement and 
oversight; 
 (e)  students shall maintain the integrity of their work; 
 (f)(i) an applicant accepted into a nursing education program 
that has received provisional approval status from the Division, must 
sign a disclaimer form indicating the applicant's knowledge of the 
provisional approval status of the program, and the lack of a 
guarantee that the program will achieve national nursing 
accreditation and full approval status from the Division; and 
 (ii) the disclaimer shall also contain a statement regarding the 
lack of a guarantee that the credit received from the provisionally 
approved program will be accepted by or transferable to another 
educational facility; and 
 (g)  an applicant accepted into a nursing education program or a 
student of a nursing education program that is on or receives 
probationary approval status from the Division, must sign a 
disclaimer form indicating the applicant or student has knowledge of 
the program's probationary approval status, and the lack of a 
guarantee that the program will maintain any approval status or will 
be able to offer the complete program. 
 (5)  An administrator of a nursing education program shall meet 
the following requirements: 
 (a)  a program preparing an individual for licensure as an LPN: 
 (i)  have a current, active, unencumbered RN or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)  have a minimum of an earned graduate degree with a major 
in nursing, or a baccalaureate degree in nursing and an earned 
doctoral degree in a related discipline from a nurse accredited 
education program or regionally accredited institution; 
 (iii)  have academic preparation in curriculum and instruction; 
 (iv)  have at least three years of experience teaching in an 
accredited nursing education program; 
 (v)  have knowledge of current LPN practice; and 
 (vi)  have adequate time to fulfill the role and responsibilities of 
a program administrator; 
 (b)  a program preparing an individual for licensure as an RN: 
 (i)  have a current, active, unencumbered RN or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)(A)  associate degree program:  have a minimum of an 
earned graduate degree with a major in nursing from a nurse 
accredited education program; 
 (B)  baccalaureate degree program:  have a minimum of an 
earned graduate degree in nursing and an earned doctorate in nursing 
or a related discipline from a nurse accredited program or regionally 
accredited institution; 
 (iii)  have academic preparation in curriculum and instruction; 
 (iv)  have at least three years of experience teaching in an 
accredited nursing education program; 
 (v)  have knowledge of current RN practice; and 
 (vi)  have adequate time to fulfill the role and responsibilities of 
a program administrator; 
 (c)  a program preparing an individual for licensure as an 
APRN: 
 (i)  have a current, active, unencumbered RN or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)  have a minimum of an earned graduate degree with a major 
in nursing and an earned doctorate in nursing or a related discipline 
from a nurse accredited program or regionally accredited institution; 
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 (iii)  have academic preparation in curriculum and instruction; 
 (iv)  have at least three years of experience teaching in an 
accredited nursing education program; 
 (v)  have knowledge of current nursing practice; 
 (vi)  have adequate time to fulfill the role and responsibilities of 
a program administrator; and 
 (v)  if the program administrator is not a licensed APRN, then 
the program must also have a director that meets the qualifications 
of Subsection (d) below; 
 (d)  the director of a graduate program preparing an individual 
for licensure as an APRN shall meet the following requirements: 
 (i)  have a current, active, unencumbered APRN license or 
multistate privilege to practice as an APRN in Utah; 
 (ii)  have a minimum of an earned graduate degree with a major 
in nursing in an APRN role and specialty from a nurse accredited 
program; 
 (iii)  have educational preparation in curriculum and 
instruction; 
 (iv)  have at least three years of experience teaching in an 
accredited nursing education program; 
 (v)  have knowledge of current APRN practice; and 
 (vi)  have adequate time to fulfill the role and responsibilities of 
a program director. 
 (6)  The qualifications for nursing faculty who teach didactic, 
clinical, or in a skills practice laboratory, in a nursing education 
program shall include: 
 (a)  a program preparing an individual for licensure as an LPN: 
 (i)  have a current, active, unencumbered RN or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)  have a baccalaureate degree in nursing or an earned 
graduate degree with a major in nursing from a nurse accredited 
program, the majority of faculty (at least 51%) shall have an earned 
graduate degree with a major in nursing from a nurse accredited 
program; 
 (iii)  have at least two years of clinical experience; 
 (iv)  (A) have educational preparation in curriculum and 
instruction; or 
 (B)  have at least three years of experience teaching in an 
accredited nursing education program; and 
 (v)  the majority of faculty shall have documented educational 
preparation as specified in Subsection (iv)(A) above; 
 (b)  a program preparing an individual for licensure as an RN: 
 (i)  have a current, active, unencumbered RN or APRN license 
or multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)  have an earned graduate degree with a major in nursing 
from a nurse accredited program or be currently enrolled in a 
graduate level accredited nursing education program with graduation 
from the program no later than three years from the date of hire; 
 (iii)  have at least two years of clinical experience; 
 (iv)  (A)  have educational preparation in curriculum and 
instruction; or 
 (B)  have at least three years of experience teaching in an 
accredited nursing education program; and 
 (v)  the majority of faculty shall have documented educational 
preparation as specified in Subsection (iv)(A) above; 
 (c)  a program preparing an individual for licensure as an 
APRN: 
 (i)  have a current, active, unencumbered APRN license or 
multistate privilege to practice nursing in Utah; 
 (ii)  have an earned graduate degree with a major in nursing in 
an APRN role and specialty from a nurse accredited program or 

regionally accredited institution; the majority of the faculty shall 
have an earned doctorate from a regionally accredited institution; 
 (iii)  have at least two years of clinical experience practicing as 
an APRN; 
 (iv)(A)  have educational preparation in curriculum and 
instruction; or 
 (B)  have at least three years of experience teaching in an 
accredited nursing education program; and 
 (v)  the majority of faculty shall have documented educational 
preparation as specified in Subsection (iv)(A) above. 
 (7)  At the time this Rule becomes effective, any currently 
employed nursing faculty member who does not meet the criteria 
established in Subsection (6), shall have until July 1, 2011 to meet 
the criteria. 
 (8)  Adjunct clinical faculty, except clinical associates, 
employed solely to supervise clinical nursing experiences of 
students shall meet all the faculty qualifications for the program 
level they are teaching.  A clinical associate is a staff member of a 
health care facility with an earned graduate degree or a student 
currently enrolled in a graduate nursing education program, who is 
given release time from the facility to provide clinical supervision to 
other students.  The clinical associate is supervised by a graduate 
prepared mentor faculty member. 
 (9)  Interdisciplinary faculty who teach non-clinical nursing 
courses shall have advanced preparation appropriate to the area of 
content. 
 (10)  A nursing education program preparing graduates for 
licensure as either an LPN or RN must maintain an average pass rate 
on the applicable NCLEX examination that is no more than 5% 
below the national average pass rate for the same time period. 
 (11)  A program that has received full approval status from the 
Division in collaboration with the board and is accredited by either 
CCNE or NLNAC: 
 (a)  if the low NCLEX pass rate occurs twice, either after two 
consecutive graduation cycles or over a two year period of time, the 
program shall be issued a letter of warning by the Division in 
collaboration with the Board, and within 30 days from the date of 
the letter of warning, the program administrator shall submit a 
written remediation plan to the Board for approval; 
 (b)  if the low NCLEX pass rate occurs three times either after 
three consecutive graduation cycles or over a two year period of 
time, the program administrator shall schedule and participate in a 
meeting with the Board to discuss the approved remediation plan 
and its implementation, and the program's approval status shall be 
changed to "Probationary"; and 
 (c)  if the low NCLEX pass rate occurs four times either after 
four consecutive graduation cycles or over a two year period of time, 
the program shall cease accepting new students; 
 (i)  if the program is unable to raise the pass rate to the required 
level after five consecutive graduation cycles or over a two year 
period of time, the program shall cease operation at the end of the 
current academic timeframe such as at the end of the current 
semester or quarter; and 
 (ii)  a nursing education program that ceases to operate under 
this Subsection, may submit a new application for approval status of 
a nursing education program to the Division for review and action 
no sooner than one year from the date the program ceases to operate. 
 (12)  A program that has been granted provisional approval 
status by the Division in collaboration with the Board, but has not 
received either CCNE or NLNAC accreditation: 
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 (a)  if a low NCLEX pass rate occurs after any one graduation 
cycle, the program shall be issued a letter of warning by the Division 
in collaboration with the Board, and within 30 days from the date of 
the letter of warning, the program administrator shall submit a 
written remediation plan to the Board for approval; 
 (b)  if the low NCLEX pass rate occurs twice, either after two 
consecutive graduation cycles, or a two year period of time, the 
program administrator shall schedule and participate in a meeting 
with the Board to discuss the approved remediation plan and its 
implementation and the program's approval status shall be changed 
to "Probationary"; and 
 (c)  if the low NCLEX pass rate occurs three times either after 
three consecutive graduation cycles or over a two year period of 
time, the program shall cease accepting new students; 
 (i)  if the program is unable to raise the pass rate to the required 
level after four consecutive graduation cycles or over a two year 
period of time, the program shall cease operation at the end of the 
current academic timeframe such as at the end of the current 
semester or quarter; and 
 (ii)  a nursing education program that ceases operation under 
this Subsection, may submit a new application for approval status of 
a nursing education program to the Division for review and action 
no sooner than one year from the date the program ceases to operate. 
 (13)  Additional required components of graduate education 
programs, including post-masters certificate programs, leading to 
APRN licensure include: 
 (a)  each student enrolled shall be licensed or have a multistate 
privilege to practice as an RN in Utah; 
 (b)  the curriculum shall be consistent with nationally 
recognized APRN roles and specialties and shall include: 
 (i)  graduate level advanced practice nursing core courses 
including legal, ethical and professional responsibilities of the 
APRN, advanced pathophysiology, advanced health assessment, 
pharmacotherapeutics, and management and treatment of health care 
status; and 
 (ii)  coursework focusing on the APRN role and specialty; 
 (c)  dual track APRN graduate programs (preparing for two 
specialties) shall include content and clinical experience in both 
functional roles and specialties; 
 (d)  instructional track/major shall have a minimum of 500 
hours of supervised clinical experience directly related to the 
recognized APRN role and specialty; 
 (e)  specialty tracks that provide care to multiple age groups 
and care settings shall require additional hours distributed in a 
manner that represents the populations served; 
 (f)  there shall be provisions for the recognition of prior 
learning and advanced placement in the curriculum for individuals 
who hold a masters degree in nursing who are seeking preparation in 
a different role and specialty; 
 (g)  post-masters nursing students shall complete the 
requirements of the APRN masters program through a formal 
graduate level certificate or master level track in the desired role and 
specialty; 
 (i)  a program offering a post-masters certificate in a specialty 
area must also offer a master degree course of study in the same 
specialty area; and 
 (ii)  post-master students must master the same APRN outcome 
criteria as the master level students and are required to complete a 
minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours; and 
 (h)  a lead faculty member who is educated and nationally 
certified in the same specialty area and licensed as an APRN or 

possessing an APRN multistate privilege shall coordinate the 
educational component for the role and specialty in the APRN 
program. 
 
R156-31b-604.  Nursing Education Program  - Disciplinary 
Action[Probationary Approval]. 
 [(1)  The division may place on probationary approval status a 
nursing education program for a period not to exceed three years 
provided the program: 
 (a)  is located or available within the state; 
 (b)  is found to be out of compliance with the standards for 
provisional or full approval to the extent that the ability of the 
program to competently educate nursing students is impaired; and 
 (c)  provides a plan of correction which is reasonable and 
includes an adequate safeguard of the student and public. 
 (2)  The division may place on probationary approval status a 
program which implements an outreach program or satellite program 
without prior notification to the Division. 
 (3)  Programs which have been granted probationary approval 
status shall submit an annual report to the division on the form 
prescribed by the division.](1)  The Division, in collaboration with 
the Board, may conduct an administrative hearing or issue a 
Memorandum of Understanding and Order placing a nursing 
program on probationary status for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  change in nurse accreditation status; 
 (b)  failure to maintain the standards established by the nurse 
accreditation bodies such as receiving significant deficiencies during 
a review as evidenced by conditions being placed on the program; 
 (c)  failure to maintain the standards established in this rule; 
 (d)  pass rate of more than 5% below the national average; 
 (e)  low graduation rate defined as the percent of first-time, 
degree seeking students who graduate longer than 150% of the 
designated time for graduation; 
 (f)  sudden, high, or frequent faculty attrition; 
 (g)  frequent program administrator turnover; 
 (h)  national certification pass rate less than 80%; and 
 (i)  implementation of a new education program, or an outreach 
or satellite nursing education program without prior notification to 
the Division. 
 (2)  The Division, in collaboration with the Board, may take 
any of the following actions upon a nursing education program: 
 (a)  issue an Order changing the approval status of the program; 
 (b)  limit or restrict enrollment of new students or require the 
program to cease accepting new students within a specified 
timeframe; 
 (c)  require the program director to meet with the Board or its 
designee, and present a remediation plan to correct any problems 
within a specified time frame; 
 (d)  establish specific criteria that must be met within a specific 
length of time; 
 (e)  withdraw approval status; or 
 (f)  issue a cease and desist Order. 
 (3)  Any adjudicative proceeding in regards to a nursing 
education program shall be classified as a formal adjudicative 
proceeding and shall comply with Title 63G, Chapter 4, the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
R156-31b-605.  Nursing Education Program Notification of 
Change. 
 (1)  Educational institutions wishing to begin a new nursing 
education program shall submit an application to the division for 
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approval status at least one year prior to the implementation of the 
program. 
 (2)  An approved program that expands onto a satellite campus 
or implements an outreach program shall notify the Division at least 
one semester before the intended change. 
 
R156-31b-606.  Nursing Education Program Surveys. 
 (1)  The [d]Division [may]shall conduct an annual survey of 
nursing education programs to monitor compliance with this rule.  
The survey may include the following: 
 ([1]a)  a copy of the program's annual report to a nurse 
accrediting body; 
 ([2]b)  a copy of any changes submitted to any nurse 
accrediting body; and 
 ([3]c)  a copy of any accreditation self study summary report. 
 (2)  Programs which have been granted provisional approval 
status shall submit to the Division a copy of all correspondence 
between the program and the nurse accrediting body within 10 days 
of receipt or submission. 
 
R156-56-607.  Approved Nursing Education Programs Located 
Outside of Utah. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-31b-302, an approved 
nursing education program located outside of Utah must meet the 
following requirements in order for a graduate to meet the 
educational requirement for licensure in this state: 
 (a)  be accredited by the CCNE, NLNAC or COA; or 
 (b)  be approved by the Board of Nursing or an equivalent 
agency in the state in which the nursing education program is 
offered. 
 
R156-31b-60[7]8.  Standards for Out-of-State Programs 
Providing Clinical Experiences in Utah. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-31b-601(2), the minimum 
standards that a nursing education program which is located outside 
the state must meet to allow students to obtain clinical experiences 
in Utah are set forth as follows. 
 (1)  An entry level distance learning nursing education program 
which leads to licensure utilizing precepted clinical experiences in 
Utah must meet the following criteria: 
 (a)  parent nursing education-program must be Board of 
Nursing approved in the state of primary location (business), be 
nationally accredited by either NLNAC, CCNE, or COA, and must 
be affiliated with an institution of higher education; 
 (b)  parent nursing education-program clinical faculty 
supervisor must be licensed in Utah or a Compact state; 
 (c)  preceptors within the health care facilities must be licensed 
in good standing, in Utah or a Compact State; 
 (d)  parent nursing education-program must have a contract 
with the Utah health care facilities that provide the clinical sites; and 
 (e)  parent nursing education-program must document 
compliance with the above stated criteria, along with a request to be 
approved to have a student who is exempt from licensure under 
Subsection 58-1-307(c). 
 (2)  A nursing education program located in another state that 
desires to use Utah health care facilities for clinical experiences for 
one or more students must meet the following criteria: 
 (a)  be approved by the home state Board of Nursing, be 
nationally accredited by [either ]NLNAC, [or ]CCNE, or COA and 
[must ]be affiliated with an institution of higher education; 

 (b)  clinical faculty must be employed by the nursing education 
program, meet the requirements to be a faculty member as 
established by the accrediting body and the program's Board of 
Nursing, and must be licensed, in good standing in Utah or a 
Compact state; 
 (c)  preceptors within the health care facilities must be licensed, 
in good standing, in Utah or a Compact state; 
 (d)  have a contract with the Utah health care facilities that 
provide the clinical sites; 
 (e) submit an annual report on forms provided by the Division 
of Occupational and Professional Licensing and Utah Board of 
Nursing; and 
 (f)  document compliance with the above stated criteria, along 
with a request to be approved to have a student(s) who is exempt 
from licensure under Subsection 58-1-307(c)[ of the Utah Code]. 
 (3)  A distance learning didactic nursing education program 
with a Utah based [proprietary ]postsecondary school which 
provides tutoring services, facilitates clinical site selection, and 
provides clinical site faculty must meet the following criteria: 
 (a)  parent nursing education-program must be approved by the 
Board of Nursing in the state of primary location (business), be 
nationally accredited by [either ]NLNAC, [or ]CCNE, or COA and 
must be affiliated with an institution of higher education; 
 (b)  a formal contract must be in place between the parent 
nursing education-program and the Utah postsecondary school; 
 (c) parent nursing education-program and Utah postsecondary 
school must submit an application for program approval status by 
the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing in 
collaboration with the Board of Nursing in Utah, utilizing the parent-
program's existing curriculum.  Approval status is granted to the 
parent nursing education-program, not to the postsecondary school; 
 (d)  clinical faculty [(mentors) ]must be employed by the parent 
nursing education-program (this can be as a contractual faculty 
member), meet the requirements to be a faculty member as 
established by the accrediting body and the parent nursing 
education-program's Board of Nursing, and must be licensed, in 
good standing in Utah or a Compact state; 
 (e)  clinical faculty supervisor(s) located at the parent nurse 
education-program must be licensed, in Utah or a Compact state; 
 (f)  parent nursing education-program [is]shall be responsible 
for conducting the nursing education program, the program's 
policies and procedures, and the selection of the students; 
 (g)  parent nursing education-program must have a contract 
with the Utah health care facilities that provide the clinical sites; and 
 (h)  the parent nursing education-program shall submit an 
annual report on forms provided by the Division of Occupational 
and Professional Licensing and Utah Board of Nursing. 
 
R156-31b-703.  Generally Recognized Scope of Practice of an 
LPN. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-31b-102(15), the LPN 
practicing within the generally recognized LPN scope of practice 
practices as follows: 
 (1)  In demonstrating professional accountability, shall: 
 (a)  practice within the legal boundaries for practical nursing 
through the scope of practice authorized in statute and rule; 
 (b)  demonstrate honesty and integrity in nursing practice; 
 (c)  base nursing decisions on nursing knowledge and skills, 
and the needs of patients[/clients]; 
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 (d)  accept responsibility for individual nursing actions, 
competence, decisions and behavior in the course of practical 
nursing practice; and 
 (e)  maintain continued competence through ongoing learning 
and application of knowledge in the [client's]patient's interest. 
 (2)  In demonstrating the responsibility for nursing practice 
implementation shall: 
 (a)  conduct a focused nursing assessment; 
 (b)  plan for episodic nursing care; 
 (c)  demonstrate attentiveness and provides patient[/client] 
surveillance and monitoring; 
 (d)  assist in identification of [client]patient needs; 
 (e)  seek clarification of orders when needed; 
 (f)  demonstrate attentiveness and provides observation for 
signs, symptoms and changes in [client]patient condition; 
 (g)  assist in the evaluation of the impact of nursing care, and 
contributes to the evaluation of patient[/client] care; 
 (h)  recognize [client]patient characteristics that may affect the 
patient's[/client's] health status; 
 (i)  obtain orientation/training competency when encountering 
new equipment and technology or unfamiliar care situations; 
 (j)  implement appropriate aspects of [client]patient care in a 
timely manner[;]: 
 (i)  provide assigned and delegated aspects of patient's[/client's] 
health care plan; 
 (ii)  implement treatments and procedures; and 
 (iii)  administer medications accurately; 
 (k)  document care provided; 
 (l)  communicate relevant and timely [client]patient information 
with other health team members including: 
 (i)  patient[/client] status and progress; 
 (ii)  patient[/client] response or lack of response to therapies; 
 (iii)  significant changes in patient[/client] condition; or 
 (iv)  patient[/client] needs; 
 (m)  participate in nursing management[;]: 
 (i)  assign nursing activities to other LPNs; 
 (ii)  delegate nursing activities for stable patients[/clients] to 
unlicensed assistive personnel; 
 (iii)  observe nursing measures and provide feedback to nursing 
manager; and 
 (iv)  observe and communicate outcomes of delegated and 
assigned activities; 
 (n)  take preventive measures to protect patient[/client], others 
and self; 
 (o)  respect patient's[/client's] rights, concerns, decisions and 
dignity; 
 (p)  promote a safe [client]patient environment; 
 (q)  maintain appropriate professional boundaries; and 
 (r)  assume responsibility for own decisions and actions. 
 (3)  In being a responsible member of an interdisciplinary 
health care team shall: 
 (a)  function as a member of the health care team, contributing 
to the implementation of an integrated health care plan; 
 (b)  respect [client]patient property and the property of others; 
and 
 (c)  protect confidential information unless obligated by law to 
disclose the information. 
 

R156-31b-704.   Generally Recognized Scope of Practice of an 
RN. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-31b-102(16), the RN 
practicing within the generally recognized RN scope of practice 
practices as follows: 
 (1)  In demonstrating professional accountability, shall: 
 (a)  practice within the legal boundaries for nursing through the 
scope of practice authorized in statute and rule; 
 (b)  demonstrate honesty and integrity in nursing practice; 
 (c)  base professional decisions on nursing knowledge and 
skills, and the needs of patients[/clients]; 
 (d)  accept responsibility for judgments, individual nursing 
actions, competence, decisions and behavior in the course of nursing 
practice; and 
 (e)  maintain continued competence through ongoing learning 
and application of knowledge in the patient's[/client's] interest. 
 (2)  In demonstrating the responsibility for nursing practice 
implementation shall: 
 (a)  conduct a comprehensive nursing assessment; 
 (b)  detect faulty or missing patient[/client] information; 
 (c)  apply nursing knowledge effectively in the synthesis of the 
biological, psychological, spiritual and social aspects of the 
patient's[/client's] condition; 
 (d)  utilize this broad and complete analysis to plan strategies of 
nursing care and nursing interventions that are integrated within the 
patient's[/client's] overall health care plan; 
 (e)  provide appropriate decision making, critical thinking and 
clinical judgment to make independent nursing decisions and 
identification of health care needs; 
 (f)  seek clarification of orders when needed; 
 (g)  implement treatments and therapy, including medication 
administration, delegated medical and independent nursing 
functions; 
 (h)  obtain orientation/training for competence when 
encountering new equipment and technology or unfamiliar 
situations; 
 (i)  demonstrate attentiveness and provides [client]patient 
surveillance and monitoring; 
 (j)  identify changes in patient's[/client's] health status and 
comprehends clinical implications of patient[/client] signs, 
symptoms and changes as part of expected and unexpected 
patient[/client] course or emergent situations; 
 (k)  evaluate the impact of nursing care, the patient's[/client's] 
response to therapy, the need for alternative interventions, and the 
need to communicate and consult with other health team members; 
 (l)  document nursing care; 
 (m)  intervene on behalf of patient[/client] when problems are 
identified and revises care plan as needed; 
 (n)  recognize patient[/client] characteristics that may affect the 
patient's[/client's] health status; and 
 (o)  take preventive measures to protect patient[/client], others 
and self. 
 (3)  In demonstrating the responsibility to act as an advocate for 
patient[/client] shall: 
 (a)  respect the patient's[/client's] rights, concerns, decisions 
and dignity; 
 (b)  identify patient[/client] needs; 
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 (c)  attend to patient[/client] concerns or requests; 
 (d)  promote safe patient[/client] environment; 
 (e)  communicate patient[/client] choices, concerns and special 
needs with other health team members regarding: 
 (i)  patient[/client] status and progress; 
 (ii)  patient[/client] response or lack of response to therapies; 
and 
 (iii)  significant changes in patient[/client] condition; 
 (f)  maintain appropriate professional boundaries; 
 (g)  maintain patient[/client] confidentiality; and 
 (h)  assume responsibility for own decisions and actions. 
 (4)  In demonstrating the responsibility to organize, manage 
and supervise the practice of nursing, shall: 
 (a)  assign to another only those nursing measures that fall 
within that nurse's scope of practice, education, experience and 
competence or unlicensed person's role description; 
 (b)  delegate to another only those nursing measures which that 
person has the necessary skills and competence to accomplish 
safely; 
 (c)  match patient[/client] needs with personnel qualifications, 
available resources and appropriate supervision; 
 (d)  communicate directions and expectations for completion of 
the delegated activity; 
 (e)  supervise others to whom nursing activities are delegated or 
assigned by monitoring performance, progress and outcome, and 
assures documentation of the activity; 
 (f)  provide follow-up on problems and intervenes when 
needed; 
 (g)  evaluate the effectiveness of the delegation or assignment; 
 (h)  intervene when problems are identified and revises plan of 
care as needed; 
 (i)  retain professional accountability for nursing care as 
provided; 
 (j)  promote a safe and therapeutic environment by: 
 (i)  providing appropriate monitoring and surveillance of the 
care environment; 
 (ii)  identifying unsafe care situations; and 
 (iii)  correcting problems or referring problems to appropriate 
management level when needed; and 
 (k)  teach and counsel patient[/client] families regarding health 
care regimen, which may include general information about health 
and medical condition, specific procedures and wellness and 
prevention. 
 (5)  In being a responsible member of an interdisciplinary 
health care team shall: 
 (a)  function as a member of the health care team, collaborating 
and cooperating in the implementation of an integrated 
patient[/client]-centered health care plan; 
 (b)  respect patient[/client] property, and the property of others; 
and 
 (c)  protect confidential information. 
 (6)  In being the chief administrative nurse shall: 
 (a)  assure that organizational policies, procedures and 
standards of nursing practice are developed, kept current and 
implemented to promote safe and effective nursing care; 
 (b)  assure that the knowledge, skills and abilities of nursing 
staff are assessed and that nurses and nursing assistive personnel are 
assigned to nursing positions appropriate to their determined 
competence and licensure/certification/registration level; 
 (c)  assure that competent organizational management and 
management of human resources within the nursing organization are 

established and implemented to promote safe and effective nursing 
care; and 
 (d)  assure that thorough and accurate documentation of 
personnel records, staff development, quality assurance and other 
aspects of the nursing organization are maintained. 
 (7)  When functioning in a nursing program educator (faculty) 
role shall: 
 (a)  teach current theory, principles of nursing practice and 
nursing management; 
 (b)  provide content and clinical experiences for students 
consistent with statutes and rule; 
 (c)  supervise students in the provision of nursing services; and 
 (d)  evaluate student scholastic and clinical performance with 
expected program outcomes. 
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RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
of Water Quality (DWQ) is required to review its water quality 
standards at least once every three years.  This process, 
called triennial review, is required by Section 303(c) of the 
Clean Water Act and must include the opportunity for public 
and EPA review of the standards as well as DWQ internal 
review.  The review is intended to ensure that standards meet 
public concerns, reflect new scientific and technical 
information, and follow EPA guidelines. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes are:  Triennial 
review wording added; total dissolved solids (TDS) standard 
modified; E. coli standard modified; beneficial uses for several 
waterbodies revised; word "High Quality" deleted; 
Antidegradation review procedures revised; Great Salt Lake 
segmented into five areas; a tissue-based selenium standard 
of 12.5 mg/kg added to Gilbert Bay; recreational 
classifications re-defined; chronic ammonia standard added to 
all waters of the state; assessment procedures described; site 
specific classifications for TDS given; site specific standard for 
South Fork of Spring Creek, (Cache County) added; dissolved 
oxygen concentration changed from one-day average to 
minimum value; two organics added to pollutants; approved 
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laboratory methods approved over instrumentation; and the 
State Canal given same standards as Jordan River. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-5-105 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  No costs or savings to the state budget 
are anticipated.  The proposed amendments will be addressed 
with existing resources. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Impacts to local governments will 
generally be limited to entities that operate Publicly Owned 
Treatment Works (POTWs).  POTWs may or may not incur 
additional costs to implement the chronic ammonia standard.  
Cost estimates for individual facilities will vary based on a 
number of site-specific factors such as individual treatment 
processes, classification and quality of the receiving 
waterbody, and current limits.  Dischargers that are required 
to implement provisions of an Antidegradation Level II Review 
(ADR) may incur additional costs.  The Level II ADR Review 
consists of an evaluation of whether there are any reasonable 
nondegrading or less degrading alternatives for the proposed 
activity.  This question will be addressed by the Division based 
on information provided by the project proponent.  These 
costs are unknown as they will vary as a function of site 
specific factors and discharge alternative(s) imposed during 
the ADR process.  The current ADR rule allows costs to be no 
more than 20% higher than the cost of the discharging 
alternative, and (for POTW) where the projected cost per 
connection is not greater than 1.4% of the median adjusted 
gross household income (MAGHI).  There may be additional 
costs associated with removing selenium from discharges if 
an increase in selenium in waterfowl eggs nesting on the 
Great Salt Lake is observed.  The addition of language 
allowing a site-specific adjustment of TDS limits could result in 
either a potential cost or savings depending on the specific 
conditions found in each waterbody and locale.  Actual costs 
cannot be projected without conducting the analysis required 
for each individual standard change request. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Impacts to businesses and other persons will be limited to 
entities holding or seeking permits to discharge to the waters 
of the state.  Dischargers may or may not incur additional 
costs to implement the chronic ammonia standard.  Cost 
estimates for individual facilities will vary based on a number 
of site-specific factors such as individual treatment processes, 
classification and quality of the receiving waterbody and 
current limits.  Dischargers that are required to implement 
provisions of an ADR may incur additional costs.  The Level II 
ADR Review consists of an evaluation of whether there are 
any reasonable nondegrading or less degrading alternatives 
for the proposed activity.  This question will be addressed by 
the Division based on information provided by the project 
proponent.  These costs are unknown as they will vary as a 
function of site specific factors and discharge alternative(s) 
imposed during the ADR process.  The current ADR rule 
allows costs to be no more than 20% higher than the cost of 
the discharging alternative, and (for POTW) where the 
projected cost per connection is not greater than 1.4% of the 
MAGHI.  There may be additional costs associated with 
removing selenium from discharges if an increase in selenium 

in waterfowl eggs nesting on the Great Salt Lake is observed. 
 The addition of language allowing a site-specific adjustment 
of TDS limits could result in either a potential cost or savings 
depending on the specific conditions found in each waterbody 
and locale.  Actual costs cannot be projected without 
conducting the analysis required for each individual standard 
change request. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Compliance costs 
for affected persons will be limited to entities holding or 
seeking permits to discharge to the waters of the state.  
Dischargers may or may not incur additional costs to 
implement the chronic ammonia standard.  Cost estimates for 
individual facilities will vary based on a number of site-specific 
factors such as individual treatment processes, classification 
and quality of the receiving waterbody, and current limits.  
Dischargers that are required to implement provisions of an 
ADR may incur additional costs.  The Level II ADR Review 
consists of an evaluation of whether there are any reasonable 
nondegrading or less degrading alternatives for the proposed 
activity.  This question will be addressed by the Division based 
on information provided by the project proponent.  These 
costs are unknown as they will vary as a function of site 
specific factors and discharge alternative(s) imposed during 
the ADR process.  The current ADR rule allows costs to be no 
more than 20% higher than the cost of the discharging 
alternative, and (for POTW) where the projected cost per 
connection is not greater than 1.4% of the MAGHI.  There 
may be additional costs associated with removing selenium 
from discharges if an increase in selenium in waterfowl eggs 
nesting on the Great Salt Lake is observed.  The addition of 
language allowing a site-specific adjustment of TDS limits 
could result in either a potential cost or savings depending on 
the specific conditions found in each waterbody and locale.  
Actual costs cannot be projected without conducting the 
analysis required for each individual standard change request. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Potential impacts to 
businesses will be limited to entities holding or seeking 
permits to discharge to the waters of the state.  Dischargers 
may or may not incur additional costs to implement the 
chronic ammonia standard.  Cost estimates for individual 
facilities will vary based on a number of site-specific factors 
such as individual treatment processes, classification and 
quality of the receiving waterbody, and current limits.  
Dischargers that are required to implement provisions of an 
ADR may incur additional costs.  The Level II ADR Review 
consists of an evaluation of whether there are any reasonable 
non-degrading or less degrading alternatives for the proposed 
activity.  This question will be addressed by the Division based 
on information provided by the project proponent.  These 
costs are unknown as they will vary as a function of site 
specific factors and discharge alternative(s) imposed during 
the ADR process.  The current ADR rule allows costs to be no 
more than 20% higher than the cost of the discharging 
alternative, and (for POTW) where the projected cost per 
connection is not greater than 1.4% of the MAGHI.  There 
may be additional costs associated with removing selenium 
from discharges if an increase in selenium in waterfowl eggs 
nesting on the Great Salt Lake is observed.  The addition of 
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language allowing a site-specific adjustment of TDS limits 
could result in either a potential cost or savings depending on 
the specific conditions found in each waterbody and locale.  
Actual costs cannot be projected without conducting the 
analysis required for each individual standard change request. 
 Richard Sprott, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
WATER QUALITY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dave Wham at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6052, by FAX at 801-538-6016, or by Internet E-mail at 
dwham@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/20/2008 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  8/19/2008 at 6:30 PM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 150 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT and 8/14/2008 at 1:00 PM, 
Southeast District Health Department, 28 S 100 E, Price, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/22/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Walter Baker, Director 
 
 
 
R317.  Environmental Quality, Water Quality. 
R317-2.  Standards of Quality for Waters of the State. 
R317-2-1C.  Triennial Review. 
 The water quality standards shall be reviewed and updated, if 
necessary, at least once every three years.  The Executive Secretary will 
seek input through a cooperative process from stakeholders 
representing state and federal agencies, various interest groups, and the 
public to develop a preliminary draft of changes.  Proposed changes 
will be presented to the Water Quality Board for information.  Informal 
public meetings may be held to present preliminary proposed changes 
to the public for comments and suggestions.  Final proposed changes 
will be presented to the Water Quality Board for approval and 
authorization to initiate formal rulemaking. Public hearings will be held 
to solicit formal comments from the public.  The Executive Secretary 
will incorporate appropriate changes and return to the Water Quality 
Board to petition for formal adoption of the proposed changes 
following the Division of Administrative Rules' rulemaking procedures. 
 
R317-2-3.  Antidegradation Policy. 
 3.1  Maintenance of Water Quality 
 Waters whose existing quality is better than the established 
standards for the designated uses will be maintained at high quality 
unless it is determined by the Board, after appropriate 
intergovernmental coordination and public participation in concert with 
the Utah continuing planning process, allowing lower water quality is 

necessary to accommodate important economic or social development 
in the area in which the waters are located.  However, existing instream 
water uses shall be maintained and protected.  No water quality 
degradation is allowable which would interfere with or become 
injurious to existing instream water uses. 
 In those cases where potential water quality impairment associated 
with a thermal discharge is involved, the antidegradation policy and 
implementing method shall be consistent with Section 316 of the 
Federal Clean Water Act. 
 3.2  [High Quality Waters - ]Category 1 Waters 
Waters of high quality which have been determined by the Board to be 
of exceptional recreational or ecological significance or have been 
determined to be a State or National resource requiring protection, shall 
be maintained at existing high quality through designation, by the 
Board after public hearing, as [High Quality Waters - ]Category 1 
Waters.  New point source discharges of wastewater, treated or 
otherwise, are prohibited in such segments after the effective date of 
designation.  Protection of such segments from pathogens in diffuse, 
underground sources is covered in R317-5 and R317-7 and the 
Regulations for Individual Wastewater Disposal Systems (R317-501 
through R317-515).  Other diffuse sources (nonpoint sources) of wastes 
shall be controlled to the extent feasible through implementation of best 
management practices or regulatory programs. 
 Projects such as, but not limited to, construction of dams or roads 
will be considered where pollution will result only during the actual 
construction activity, and where best management practices will be 
employed to minimize pollution effects. 
 Waters of the state designated as [High Quality Waters -] 
Category 1 Waters are listed in R317-2-12.1. 
 3.3  [High Quality Waters - ]Category 2 Waters 
 [High Quality Waters - ]Category 2 Waters are designated surface 
water segments which are treated as [High Quality Waters -] Category 
1 Waters except that a point source discharge may be permitted 
provided that the discharge does not degrade existing water quality.  
Waters of the state designated as [High Quality Waters - ]Category 2 
Waters are listed in R317-2-12.2. 
 3.4  Category 3 Waters 
 For all other waters of the state, point source discharges are 
allowed and degradation may occur, pursuant to the conditions and 
review procedures outlined [below:]in Section 3.5. 
 3.5  Antidegradation Review (ADR) 
 An antidegradation review will determine whether the proposed 
activity complies with the applicable antidegradation requirements 
for receiving waters that may be affected. 
 An antidegradation review (ADR) may consist of two parts or 
levels. A Level I review is conducted to insure that existing uses will be 
maintained and protected. In addition, a Level I review evaluates the 
criteria in Section 3.5b to determine if any degradation is de minimis in 
nature and therefore does not require a Level II review. A Level II 
review as described in Section 3.5c is needed when the impacts are not 
de minimus. 
 Both Level I and Level II reviews will be conducted on a 
parameter-by-parameter basis. A decision to move to a Level II 
review for one parameter does not require a Level II review for other 
parameters. Discussion of parameters of concern are those expected 
to be affected by the proposed activity. 
 Antidegradation reviews shall include opportunities for public 
participation, as described in Section 3.5e. 
 a.  Activities Subject to Antidegradation Review (ADR) 
 1.  For all State waters, antidegradation reviews will be conducted 
for proposed federally regulated activities, such as those under Clean 
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Water Act Sections 401 (FERC and other Federal actions), 402 
(UPDES permits), and 404 (Army Corps of Engineers permits).  The 
Executive Secretary may conduct an ADR on other projects with the 
potential for major impact on the quality of waters of the state.  The 
review will determine whether the proposed activity complies with the 
applicable antidegradation requirements for the particular receiving 
waters that may be affected. 
 2.  For [High Quality ]Category 1 Waters and [High Quality 
]Category 2 W[w]aters, reviews shall be consistent with the 
requirement established in Sections 3.2 and 3.3, respectively. 
 [For State waters that do not have a High Quality Category 1 or 
High Quality Category 2 designation, reviews shall be consistent with 
the procedures identified in Section 3.4 a.-3.4 b. 
 The antidegradation review consists of two parts. An 
antidegradation Level I review will be to determine if the proposed 
activity requires an antidegradation Level II review as described in 
Section 3.4 b. below.  If so, further review will be required.]3.  For 
Category 3 Waters, reviews shall be consistent with the requirements 
established in this section 
 b.  An Anti-degradation Level II review is not required where any 
of the following conditions apply: 
 1.  Water quality will not be lowered by the proposed activity 
(e.g., a UPDES permit is being renewed and the proposed effluent 
concentration value and pollutant loading is equal to or less than the 
existing effluent concentrations value and pollutant loading). 
 2.  [Discharge limits are established in an approved TMDL that 
is consistent with the current water quality standards for the 
receiving water (e.g., where TMDLs are established, changes in 
effluent limits that are consistent with the existing load allocation 
would not trigger an anti-degradation review), or]Assimilative 
capacity (based upon concentration) is not available or has 
previously been allocated, as indicated by water quality monitoring 
or modeling information.  This includes situations where: 
 (a)  the water body is included on the current 303(d) list for the 
parameter of concern; or 
 (b)  existing water quality for the parameter of concern does not 
satisfy applicable numeric or narrative water quality criteria; or 
 (c)  discharge limits are established in an approved TMDL that 
is consistent with the current water quality standards for the 
receiving water (i.e., where TMDLs are established, and changes in 
effluent limits that are consistent with the existing load allocation 
would not trigger an antidegradation review). 
 Under conditions (a) or (b) the effluent limit in an UPDES 
permit may be equal to the water quality numeric criterion for the 
parameter of concern. 
 3.  Water quality impacts will be temporary and related only to 
sediment or turbidity and fish spawning will not be impaired, or 
 [4.  The discharge is to a water quality limited water, and 
assimilative capacity is essentially allocated to existing discharges. 
 5]4.  The water quality effects of the proposed activity are 
expected to be temporary and limited.  As general guidance, CWA 
Section 402 general permits, CWA Section 404 nationwide and general 
permits, or activities of short duration, will be deemed to have a 
temporary and limited effect on water quality where there is a 
reasonable factual basis to support such a conclusion.  The 404 
nationwide permits decision will be made at the time of permit 
issuance, as part of the Division's water quality certification under 
[DWA]CWA Section 401.  Where it is determined that the category of 
activities will result in temporary and limited effects, subsequent 
individual activities authorized under such permits will not be subject 
to further antidegradation review.  Factors to be considered in 

determining whether water quality effects will be temporary and 
limited may include the following: 
 (a)  Length of time during which water quality will be lowered. 
 (b)  Percent change in ambient concentrations of pollutants of 
concern 
 (c)  Pollutants affected 
 (d)  Likelihood for long-term water quality benefits to the segment 
(e.g., dredging of contaminated sediments) 
 (e)  Potential for any residual long-term influences on existing 
uses. 
 (f)  Impairment of the fish spawning, survival and development 
of aquatic fauna excluding fish removal efforts. 
 5.  The proposed concentration downstream of the mixing zone: 
 (a)  would be equal to or less than 50% of the applicable 
criterion, and the project would consume less than 20% of remaining 
assimilative capacity; or 
 (b)  is greater than 50% and less than 75% of the criterion, and 
the project would consume less than 10% of the remaining 
assimilative capacity. 
 Exception:  Level II reviews are required if the proposed 
concentration below the mixing zone is equal to or greater than 75% 
of the criterion.[ 
 6.  The affected waters are classified as 3C, 3D (and not 3A or 
3B), or 3E waters, or are classified only as Class 4. 
 7.  The affected waters are considered to be poor quality fisheries 
as indicated by Utah Division of Wildlife Resource (UDWR) Classes 
IV, V, and VI with the exception of those waters which add a letter (P, 
R, N, B, X, or C) to the numerical rating and those which have a 
"unique rating". 
 8.  The water body is listed on the current 303(d) list for the 
parameters of concern. 
 9.  Existing water quality for the parameters of concern does  not 
satisfy applicable numeric and narrative water quality criteria. 
 10.  Water quality impacts are expected to be minor.  For 
example: (a) for discharge permit renewals, if the increase in project 
loading over the prior permit is less than 20%; or (b) if the increase in 
pollutant loading to the stream is less than 20% over existing 
background. 
 11.  The volume of the discharge is small as compared to the flow 
of the receiving stream.  In general, this would be considered where the 
ratio of the average stream flow to the discharged flow is expected to be 
greater than 100:1, the ratio of the 7Q10 (7 day-10 year) low flow to the 
discharge flow is expected to be greater than 25:1, and where the 
increase in concentration of the pollutants in the stream at 7Q10 at low 
flow is expected to be less than 10%, or based upon other site specific 
criteria. 
 Both Level I and Level II reviews will be conducted on a 
parameter-by-parameter basis.  A decision to move to a Level II review 
for one parameter may not require a Level II review for other 
parameters that will be affected by the proposed activity.  An 
antidegradation review may be required by the Executive Secretary if 
the receiving water is a drinking water source, if the receiving water has 
a special value for recreation or fisheries, if an existing use may be 
impaired, or based on other site-specific factors as appropriate.] 
 c.  Anti-degradation Review Process 
 For all activities requiring a Level II review, the Division will 
notify affected agencies and the public with regards to the requested 
proposed activity and discussions with stakeholders may be held.  In 
the case of Section 402 discharge permits, if it is determined that a 
discharge will be allowed, the Division of Water Quality will develop 
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any needed UPDES permits for public notice following the normal 
permit issuance process. 
 The ADR will cover the following requirements or 
determinations: 
 1.  Will all Statutory and regulatory requirements be met? 
 The Executive Secretary will review to determine that there will 
be achieved all statutory and regulatory requirements for all new and 
existing point sources and all required cost-effective and reasonable 
best management practices for nonpoint source control in the area of 
the discharge.  If point sources exist in the area that have not achieved 
all statutory and regulatory requirements, the Executive Secretary will 
consider whether schedules of compliance or other plans have been 
established when evaluating whether compliance has been assured.  
Generally, the "area of the discharge" will be determined based on the 
parameters of concern associated with the proposed activity and the 
portion of the receiving water that would be affected. 
 2.  Are there any reasonable less-degrading alternatives? 
 There will be an evaluation of whether there are any reasonable 
non-degrading or less degrading alternatives for the proposed activity.  
This question will be addressed by the Division based on information 
provided by the project proponent.  Control alternatives for a proposed 
activity will be evaluated in an effort to avoid or minimize degradation 
of the receiving water.  Alternatives to be considered, evaluated, and 
implemented to the extent feasible, could include pollutant trading, 
water conservation, water recycling and reuse, land application, total 
containment, etc. 
 For proposed UPDES permitted discharges, the following list of 
alternatives should be considered, evaluated and implemented to the 
extent feasible: 
 (a)  innovative or alternative treatment options 
 (b)  more effective treatment options or higher treatment levels 
 (c)  connection to other wastewater treatment facilities 
 (d)  process changes or product or raw material substitution 
 (e)  seasonal or controlled discharge options to minimize 
discharging during critical water quality periods[ 
 (f)  seasonal or controlled discharge options to minimize 
discharging during critical water quality periods] 
 ([g]f)  pollutant trading 
 ([h]g)  water conservation 
 ([i]h)  water recycle and reuse 
 ([j]i)  alternative discharge locations or alternative receiving 
waters 
 ([k]j)  land application 
 ([l]k)  total containment 
 ([m]l)  improved operation and maintenance of existing treatment 
systems 
 ([n]o)  other appropriate alternatives 
 An option more costly than the cheapest alternative may have to 
be implemented if a substantial benefit to the stream can be realized.  
Alternatives would generally be considered feasible where costs are no 
more than 20% higher than the cost of the discharging alternative, and 
(for POTWs) where the projected per connection service fees are not 
greater than 1.4% of MAGHI (median adjusted gross household 
income), the current affordability criterion now being used by the 
Water Quality Board in the wastewater revolving loan program.  
Alternatives within these cost ranges should be carefully considered by 
the discharger.  Where State financing is appropriate, a financial 
assistance package may be influenced by this evaluation, i.e., a less 
polluting alternative may receive a more favorable funding 
arrangement in order to make it a more financially attractive alternative. 

 It must also be recognized in relationship to evaluating options 
that would avoid or reduce discharges to the stream, that in some 
situations it may be more beneficial to leave the water in the stream for 
instream flow purposes than to remove the discharge to the stream. 
 3.  Special Procedures for 404 Permits. 
 For 404 permitted activities, all appropriate alternatives to avoid 
and minimize degradation should be evaluated.  Activities involving a 
discharge of dredged or fill materials that are considered to have more 
than minor adverse affects on the aquatic environment are regulated by 
individual CWA Section 404 permits.  The decision-making process 
relative to the 404 permitting program is contained in the 404(b)(1) 
guidelines (40 CFR Part 230).  Prior to issuing a permit under the 
404(b)(1) guidelines, the Corps of Engineers: 
 (a)  makes a determination that the proposed activity discharges 
are unavoidable (i.e., necessary): 
 (b)  examines alternatives to the proposed activity and authorize 
only the least damaging practicable alternative; and 
 (c)  requires mitigation for all impacts associated with the activity. 
 A 404(b)(1) finding document is produced as a result of this procedure 
and is the basis for the permit decision.  Public participation is provided 
for in the process.  Because the 404(b)(1) guidelines contains an 
alternatives analysis, the executive secretary will not require 
development of a separate alternatives analysis for the anti-degradation 
review.  The division will use the analysis in the 404(b)(1) finding 
document in completing its anti-degradation review and 401 
certification. 
 4.  Does the proposed activity have economic and social 
importance? 
 Although it is recognized that any activity resulting in a discharge 
to surface waters will have positive and negative aspects, information 
must be submitted by the applicant that any discharge or increased 
discharge will be of economic or social importance in the area. 
 The factors addressed in such a demonstration may include, but 
are not limited to, the following: 
 (a)  employment (i.e., increasing, maintaining, or avoiding a 
reduction in employment); 
 (b)  increased production; 
 (c)  improved community tax base; 
 (d)  housing; 
 (e)  correction of an environmental or public health problem; and 
 (f)  other information that may be necessary to determine the 
social and economic importance of the proposed surface water 
discharge. 
 5.  The applicant may submit a proposal to mitigate any adverse 
environmental effects of the proposed activity (e.g., instream habitat 
improvement, bank stabilization).  Such mitigation plans should 
describe the proposed mitigation measures and the costs of such 
mitigation.  Mitigation plans will not have any effect on effluent limits 
or conditions included in a permit (except possibly where a previously 
completed mitigation project has resulted in an improvement in 
background water quality that affects a water quality-based limit).  
Such mitigation plans will be developed and implemented by the 
applicant as a means to further minimize the environmental effects of 
the proposed activity and to increase its socio-economic importance.  
An effective mitigation plan may, in some cases, allow the Executive 
Secretary to authorize proposed activities that would otherwise not be 
authorized. 
 6.  Will water quality standards be violated by the discharge? 
 Proposed activities that will affect the quality of waters of the state 
will be allowed only where the proposed activity will not violate water 
quality standards. 
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 7.  Will existing uses be maintained and protected? 
 Proposed activities can only be allowed if "existing uses" will be 
maintained and protected.  No UPDES permit will be allowed which 
will permit numeric water quality standards to be exceeded in a 
receiving water outside the mixing zone.  In the case of nonpoint 
pollution sources, the non-regulatory Section 319 program now in place 
will address these sources through application of best management 
practices to ensure that numeric water quality standards are not 
exceeded. 
 8.  If a situation is found where there is an existing use which is a 
higher use (i.e., more stringent protection requirements) than that 
current designated use, the Division will apply the water quality 
standards and anti-degradation policy to protect the existing use.  
Narrative criteria may be used as a basis to protect existing uses for 
parameters where numeric criteria have not been adopted.  Procedures 
to change the stream use designation to recognize the existing use as 
the designated use would be initiated. 
 d.  Special Procedures for Drinking Water Sources 
 An Antidegradation Review may be required by the Executive 
Secretary for discharges to waters with a Class 1C drinking water use 
assigned, irrespective of whether any of the conditions in Section 3.4 b. 
applies.  Factors to be considered may include the volume of the 
discharge compared to the flow of the receiving stream, or where the 
pollutants discharged may have potentially adverse impact on the 
drinking water supply. 
 Depending upon the locations of the discharge and its proximity to 
downstream drinking water diversions, additional treatment or more 
stringent effluent limits or additional monitoring, beyond that which 
may otherwise be required to meet minimum technology standards or 
in stream water quality standards, may be required by the Executive 
Secretary in order to adequately protect public health and the 
environment.  Such additional treatment may include additional 
disinfection, suspended solids removal to make the disinfection process 
more effective, removal of any specific contaminants for which 
drinking water maximum contaminant levels (MCLs) exists, and/or 
nutrient removal to reduce the organic content of raw water used as a 
source for domestic water systems. 
 Additional monitoring may include analyses for viruses, [giardia, 
cryptosporidium]Giardia, Cryptosporidium, other pathogenic 
organisms, and/or any contaminant for which drinking water MCLs 
exist. Depending on the results of such monitoring, more stringent 
treatment may then be required. 
 The additional treatment/effluent limits/monitoring which may be 
required will be determined by the Executive Secretary after 
consultation with the Division of Drinking Water and the downstream 
drinking water users. 
 e.  Public Notice 
 The public will be provided notice and an opportunity to comment 
on the conclusions of all completed antidegradation reviews.  Where 
possible, public notice on the antidegradation review conclusions will 
be combined with the public notice on the proposed permitting action.  
In the case of UPDES permits, public notice will be provided through 
the normal permitting process, as all draft permits are public noticed for 
30 days, and public comment solicited, before being issued as a final 
permit.  The Statement of Basis for the draft UPDES permit will 
contain information on how the ADR was addressed including results 
of the Level I and Level II reviews. In the case of Section 404 permits 
from the Corps of Engineers, the Division of Water Quality will 
develop any needed 401 Certifications and the public notice will be 
published in conjunction with the US Corps of Engineers public notice 
procedures. Other permits requiring a Level II review will receive a 

separate public notice according to the normal State public notice 
procedures. 
 
R317-2-4.  Colorado River Salinity Standards. 
 In addition to quality protection afforded by these regulations to 
waters of the Colorado River and its tributaries, such waters shall be 
protected also by requirements of "Proposed Water Quality Standards 
for Salinity including Numeric Criteria and Plan of Implementation for 
Salinity Control, Colorado River System, June 1975" and a supplement 
dated August 26, 1975, entitled "Supplement, including Modifications 
to Proposed Water Quality Standards for Salinity including Numeric 
Criteria and Plan of Implementation for Salinity Control, Colorado 
River System, June 1975", as approved by the seven Colorado River 
Basin States and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, as updated 
by the 1978 Revision and the 1981, 1984, 1987, 1990, 1993, 1996, 
1999, 2002, 2005, and [2002]2008 Reviews of the above documents. 
 
R317-2-6.  Use Designations. 
 The Board as required by Section 19-5-110, shall group the waters 
of the state into classes so as to protect against controllable pollution 
the beneficial uses designated within each class as set forth below.  
Surface waters of the state are hereby classified as shown in R317-2-13. 
 6.1  Class 1 -- Protected for use as a raw water source for domestic 
water systems. 
 a.  Class 1A -- Reserved. 
 b.  Class 1B -- Reserved. 
 c.  Class 1C -- Protected for domestic purposes with prior 
treatment by treatment processes as required by the Utah Division of 
Drinking Water 
 6.2 Class 2 -- Protected for recreational use and aesthetics. 
 a.  Class 2A -- Protected for frequent primary contact recreation 
[such as swimming.]where there is a high likehood of ingestion of 
water or a high degree of bodily contact with the water. Examples 
include, but are not limited to, swimming, rafting, kayaking, diving, 
and water skiing. 
 b.  Class 2B -- Protected for infrequent primary contact recreation. 
 Also protected for secondary contact recreation [such as boating, 
wading, or similar uses.]where there is a low likelihood of ingestion of 
water or a low degree of bodily contact with the water.  Examples 
include, but are not limited to, wading, hunting, and fishing. 
 6.3  Class 3 -- Protected for use by aquatic wildlife. 
 a.  Class 3A -- Protected for cold water species of game fish and 
other cold water aquatic life, including the necessary aquatic organisms 
in their food chain. 
 b.  Class 3B -- Protected for warm water species of game fish and 
other warm water aquatic life, including the necessary aquatic 
organisms in their food chain. 
 c.  Class 3C -- Protected for nongame fish and other aquatic life, 
including the necessary aquatic organisms in their food chain. 
 d.  Class 3D -- Protected for waterfowl, shore birds and other 
water-oriented wildlife not included in Classes 3A, 3B, or 3C, 
including the necessary aquatic organisms in their food chain. 
 e.  Class 3E -- Severely habitat-limited waters. Narrative standards 
will be applied to protect these waters for aquatic wildlife. 
 6.4  Class 4 -- Protected for agricultural uses including irrigation 
of crops and stock watering. 
 6.5  Class 5 -- The Great Salt Lake.[  Protected for primary and 
secondary contact recreation, waterfowl, shore birds and other water-
oriented wildlife including their necessary aquatic organisms in their 
food chain, and mineral extraction.] 
 a.  Class 5A Gilbert Bay 
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 Geographical Boundary -- All open waters at or below 4,208-
foot elevation south of the Union Pacific Causeway, excluding all of 
the Farmington Bay south of the Antelope Island Causeway and salt 
evaporation ponds. 
 Beneficial Uses -- Protected for primary and secondary contact 
recreation, waterfowl, shore birds and other water-oriented wildlife 
including their necessary food chain. 
 b.  Class 5B Gunnison Bay 
 Geographical Boundary -- All open waters at or below 4,208-
foot elevation north of the Union Pacific Causeway and west of the 
Promontory Mountains, excluding salt evaporation ponds. 
 Beneficial Uses -- Protected for secondary contact recreation, 
waterfowl, shore birds and other water-oriented wildlife including 
their necessary food chain. 
 c.  Class 5C Bear River Bay 
 Geographical Boundary -- All open waters at or below 4,208-
foot elevation north of the Union Pacific Causeway and east of the 
Promontory Mountains, excluding salt evaporation ponds. 
 Beneficial Uses -- Protected for secondary contact recreation, 
waterfowl, shore birds and other water-oriented wildlife including 
their necessary food chain. 
 d.  Class 5D Farmington Bay 
 Geographical Boundary -- All open waters at or below 4,208-
foot elevation east of Antelope Island and south of the Union Pacific 
Causeway, excluding salt evaporation ponds. 
 Beneficial Uses -- Protected for secondary contact recreation, 
waterfowl, shore birds and other water-oriented wildlife including 
their necessary food chain. 
 e.  Class 5E Transitional Wetlands along the Shoreline of the 
Great Salt Lake Geographical Boundary -- All wetlands below 
4,208-foot elevation to the current lake elevation of the open water 
of the Great Salt Lake receiving their source water from naturally 
occurring springs, streams, impounded wetlands, or facilities 
requiring a UPDES permit. The geographical areas of these 
transitional wetlands change corresponding to the fluctuation of 
open water elevation. 
 Beneficial Uses -- Protected for secondary contact recreation, 
waterfowl, shore birds and other water-oriented wildlife including 
their necessary food chain. 
 
R317-2-7.  Water Quality Standards. 
 7.1  Application of Standards 
 The numeric criteria listed in R317-2-14 shall apply to each of the 
classes assigned to waters of the State as specified in R317-2-6.  It shall 
be unlawful and a violation of these regulations for any person to 
discharge or place any wastes or other substances in such manner as 
may interfere with designated uses protected by assigned classes or to 
cause any of the applicable standards to be violated, except as provided 
in R317-1-3.1.  At a minimum, assessment of the beneficial use support 
for waters of the state will be conducted biannually and available for a 
30-day period of public comment and review.  Monitoring locations 
and target indicators of water quality standards shall be prioritized and 
published yearly. For water quality assessment purposes (with the 
exception of  TABLE 2.14.5 LIST OF HUMAN HEALTH CRITERIA 
(CONSUMPTION)), up to 10% of representative samples may exceed 
the standard.  The Board may allow site specific modifications based 
upon bioassay or other tests performed in accordance with standard 
procedures determined by the Board. 
 7.2  Narrative Standards 
 It shall be unlawful, and a violation of these regulations, for any 
person to discharge or place any waste or other substance in such a way 

as will be or may become offensive such as unnatural deposits, floating 
debris, oil, scum or other nuisances such as color, odor or taste; or 
cause conditions which produce undesirable aquatic life or which 
produce objectionable tastes in edible aquatic organisms; or result in 
concentrations or combinations of substances which produce 
undesirable physiological responses in desirable resident fish, or other 
desirable aquatic life, or undesirable human health effects, as 
determined by bioassay or other tests performed in accordance with 
standard procedures. 
 
R317-2-12.  [High Quality]Category 1 and Category 2 Waters. 
 12.1  [High Quality Waters -] Category 1 Waters. 
 In addition to assigned use classes, the following surface waters of 
the State are hereby designated as [High Quality Waters -] Category 1 
Waters: 
 a.  All surface waters geographically located within the outer 
boundaries of U.S. National Forests whether on public or private lands 
with the following exceptions: 
 All High Quality Waters - Category 2 as listed in R317-2-12.2. 
 Weber River, a tributary to the Great Salt Lake, in the Weber 
River Drainage from Uintah to Mountain Green. 
 b. Other surface waters, which may include segments within U.S. 
National Forests as follows: 
 1.  Colorado River Drainage 
 Calf Creek and tributaries, from confluence with Escalante River 
to headwaters. 
 Sand Creek and tributaries, from confluence with Escalante River 
to headwaters. 
 Mamie Creek and tributaries, from confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters. 
 Deer Creek and tributaries, from confluence with Boulder Creek 
to headwaters (Garfield County). 
 Indian Creek and tributaries, through Newspaper Rock State Park 
to headwaters. 
 2.  Green River Drainage 
 Price River (Lower Fish Creek from confluence with White River 
to Scofield Dam. 
 Range Creek and tributaries, from confluence with Green River to 
headwaters. 
 Strawberry River and tributaries, from confluence with Red Creek 
to headwaters. 
 Ashley Creek and tributaries, from Steinaker diversion to 
headwaters. 
 Jones Hole Creek and tributaries, from confluence with Green 
River to headwaters. 
 Green River, from state line to Flaming Gorge Dam. 
 Tollivers Creek, from confluence with Green River to headwaters. 
 Allen Creek, from confluence with Green River to headwaters. 
 3.  Virgin River Drainage 
 North Fork Virgin River and tributaries, from confluence with 
East Fork Virgin River to headwaters. 
 East Fork Virgin River and tributaries from confluence with North 
Fork Virgin River to headwaters. 
 4.  Kanab Creek Drainage 
 Kanab Creek and tributaries, from irrigation diversion at 
confluence with Reservoir Canyon to headwaters. 
 5.  Bear River Drainage 
 Swan Creek and tributaries, from Bear Lake to headwaters. 
 North Eden Creek, from Upper North Eden Reservoir to 
headwaters. 
 Big Creek and tributaries, from Big Ditch diversion to headwaters. 
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 Woodruff Creek and tributaries, from Woodruff diversion to 
headwaters. 
 6.  Weber River Drainage 
 Burch Creek and tributaries, from Harrison Boulevard in Ogden  
to headwaters. 
 Hardscrabble Creek and tributaries, from confluence with East 
Canyon Creek to headwaters. 
 Chalk Creek and tributaries, from U.S. Highway 189 to 
headwaters. 
 Weber River and tributaries, from U.S. Highway 189 near Oakley 
to headwaters. 
 7.  Jordan River Drainage 
 City Creek and tributaries, from City Creek Water Treatment 
Plant to headwaters (Salt Lake County). 
 Emigration Creek and tributaries, from Hogle Zoo to headwaters 
(Salt Lake County). 
 Red Butte Creek and tributaries, from Foothill Boulevard in Salt 
Lake City to headwaters. 
 Parley's Creek and tributaries, from 13th East in Salt Lake City to 
headwaters. 
 Mill Creek and tributaries, from Wasatch Boulevard in Salt Lake 
City to headwaters. 
 Big Cottonwood Creek and tributaries, from Wasatch Boulevard 
in Salt Lake City to headwaters. 
 Little Willow Creek and tributaries, from diversion to headwaters 
(Salt Lake County.) 
 Bell Canyon Creek and tributaries, from Lower Bells Canyon 
Reservoir to headwaters (Salt Lake County). 
 South Fork of Dry Creek and tributaries, from Draper Irrigation 
Company diversion to headwaters (Salt Lake County). 
 8.  Provo River Drainage 
 Upper Falls drainage above Provo City diversion (Utah County). 
 Bridal Veil Falls drainage above Provo City diversion (Utah 
County). 
 Lost Creek and tributaries, above Provo City diversion (Utah 
County). 
 9.  Sevier River Drainage 
 Chicken Creek and tributaries, from diversion at canyon mouth to 
headwaters. 
 Pigeon Creek and tributaries, from diversion to headwaters. 
 East Fork of Sevier River and tributaries, from Kingston diversion 
to headwaters. 
 Parowan Creek and tributaries, from Parowan City to headwaters. 
 Summit Creek and tributaries, from Summit City to headwaters. 
 Braffits Creek and tributaries, from canyon mouth to headwaters. 
 Right Hand Creek and tributaries, from confluence with Coal 
Creek to headwaters. 
 10.  Raft River Drainage 
 Clear Creek and tributaries, from state line to headwaters (Box 
Elder County). 
 Birch Creek (Box Elder County), from state line to headwaters. 
 Cotton Thomas Creek from confluence with South Junction Creek 
to headwaters. 
 11.  Western Great Salt Lake Drainage 
 All streams on the south slope of the Raft River Mountains above 
7000' mean sea level. 
 Donner Creek (Box Elder County), from irrigation diversion to 
Utah-Nevada state line. 
 Bettridge Creek (Box Elder County), from irrigation diversion to 
Utah-Nevada state line. 
 Clover Creek, from diversion to headwaters. 

 All surface waters on public land on the Deep Creek Mountains. 
 12.  Farmington Bay Drainage 
 Holmes Creek and tributaries, from Highway US-89 to 
headwaters (Davis County). 
 Shepard Creek and tributaries, from Height Bench diversion to 
headwaters (Davis County). 
 Farmington Creek and tributaries, from Height Bench Canal 
diversion to headwaters (Davis County). 
 Steed Creek and tributaries, from Highway US-89 to headwaters 
(Davis County). 
 12.2  [High Quality Waters -] Category 2 Waters. 
 In addition to assigned use classes, the following surface waters of 
the State are hereby designated as [High Quality Waters -] Category 2 
Waters: 
 a.  Green River Drainage 
 Deer Creek, a tributary of Huntington Creek, from the forest 
boundary to 4800 feet upstream. 
 Electric Lake. 
 
R317-2-13.  Classification of Waters of the State (see R317-2-6). 
 13.1  Upper Colorado River Basin 
 a.  Colorado River Drainage 
 

TABLE 
 
Paria River and tributaries, 
from state line to headwaters                 2B       3C       4 
All tributaries to Lake 
Powell, except as listed below                2B    3B          4 
      Escalante River and 
      tributaries, from Lake 
      Powell to headwaters except 
      as listed below [confluence with 
      Boulder Creek]                         2B     3B   [3C]   4 
[Escalante River and 
tributaries, from confluence 
with Boulder Creek, including 
Boulder Creek, to headwaters                  2B 3A             4] 
 
Boulder Creek and tributaries                 2B 3A              4 
From confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters 
 
Calf Creek and tributaries                    2B 3A              4 
From confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters 
 
Sand Creek and tributaries                    2B 3A              4 
From confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters 
 
Death Hollow Creek and tributaries            2B 3A              4 
From confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters 
 
Pine Creek and tributaries                    2B 3A              4 
From confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters 
 
North Creek and tributaries                   2B 3A              4 
From confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters 
 
Birch Creek and tributaries                   2B 3A              4 
From confluence with Escalante 
River to headwaters 
 
Dirty Devil River and 
tributaries, from Lake 
Powell to Fremont River                       2B        3C      4 
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Deer Creek and tributaries, 
from confluence with Boulder 
Creek to headwaters                           2B 3A             4 
 
Fremont River and 
tributaries, from confluence 
with Muddy Creek to Capitol 
 
Reef National Park, except as 
listed below                            1C    2B       3C       4 
 
   Pleasant Creek and 
   tributaries, from confluence 
   with Fremont Rive to East 
   boundary of Capitol Reef 
   National Park                              2B       3C       4 
 
Pleasant Creek and 
   tributaries, from East 
   boundary of Capitol Reef 
   National Park to headwaters          1C    2B 3A 
 
Fremont River and 
tributaries, through Capitol 
Reef National Park to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A             4 
 
Muddy Creek and tributaries, 
from confluence with Fremont 
River to Highway U-10 
crossing, except as listed 
below                                         2B       3C       4 
 
   Quitchupah Creek and 
   Tributaries, from Highway 
   U-10 crossing to headwaters                2B 3A             4 
 
   Ivie Creek and tributaries, 
   from Highway U-10 to 
   headwaters                                 2B 3A             4 
 
Muddy Creek and tributaries, 
from Highway U-10 crossing 
to headwaters                           1C    2B 3A             4 
 
San Juan River and 
Tributaries, from Lake 
Powell to state line except As 
listed below:                           1C 2A [2B]   3B         4 
 
    Johnson Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Recapture Creek to 
    headwaters                          1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    Verdure Creek and tributaries, 
    from Highway US-191 crossing 
    to headwaters                             2B 3A             4 
 
    North Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Montezuma 
    Creek to headwaters                 1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    South Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Montezuma 
    Creek to headwaters                 1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    Spring Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Vega 
    Creek to headwaters                       2B 3A             4 
 
    Montezuma Creek and tributaries, 
    from U.S. Highway 191 to 
    headwaters                          1C    2B 3A             4 
 
Colorado River and tributaries, 
from Lake Powell to state line 

except as listed below                  1C 2A [2B]    3B        4 
 
      Indian Creek and tributaries, 
      through Newspaper Rock State 
      Park to headwaters                1C    2B 3A             4 
 
      Kane Canyon Creek and 
      tributaries, from confluence with 
      Colorado River to headwaters            2B         3C     4 
 
      Mill Creek and tributaries, from 
      confluence with Colorado River to 
      headwaters                        1C    2B 3A             4 
 
      Dolores River and tributaries, 
      from confluence with Colorado 
      River to state line                     2B         3C     4 
 
      Roc Creek and tributaries, from 
      confluence with Dolores River to 
      headwaters                              2B 3A             4 
 
      LaSal Creek and tributaries, 
      from state line to headwaters           2B 3A             4 
 
      Lion Canyon Creek and 
      tributaries, from state line to 
      headwaters                              2B 3A             4 
 
      Little Dolores River and 
      tributaries, from confluence 
      with Colorado River to state line       2B      3C        4 
 
      Bitter Creek and tributaries, 
      from confluence with Colorado 
      River to headwaters                     2B      3C        4 

 
 b.  Green River Drainage 
 

TABLE 
 
Green River and tributaries, from 
confluence with Colorado River to 
state line except as listed below:      1C  2A [2B]  3B         4 
 
    Thompson Creek and tributaries 
    from Interstate Highway 70 to 
    headwaters                                2B       3C       4 
 
    San Rafael River and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to confluence 
    with Ferron Creek                         2B       3C       4 
 
    Ferron Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with San 
 
    Rafael River to Millsite 
    Reservoir                                 2B       3C       4 
 
    Ferron Creek and tributaries, 
    from Millsite Reservoir to 
    headwaters                           1C   2B 3A             4 
 
    Huntington Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Cottonwood Creek to 
    Highway U-10 crossing                     2B       3C       4 
 
    Huntington Creek and 
    tributaries, from Highway 
    U-10 crossing to headwaters          1C   2B 3A             4 
 
    Cottonwood Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Huntington Creek to 
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    Highway U-57 crossing                     2B       3C       4 
    Cottonwood Creek and 
    tributaries, from Highway 
    U-57 crossing to headwaters          1C   2B 3A             4 
 
    Cottonwood Canal, Emery 
    County                               1C   2B             3E 4 
 
    Price River and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Green 
    River to Carbon Canal 
    Diversion at Price City Golf Course       2B       3C       4 
 
    Except as listed below 
    Grassy Trail Creek and 
    tributaries, from Grassy 
 
    Trail Creek Reservoir to 
    headwaters                          1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    Price River and tributaries, 
    from Carbon Canal Diversion at Price 
    City Golf Course to Price City Water 
    Water Treatment Plant intake.             2B 3A             4 
 
    Price River and tributaries, 
    from Price 
    City Water Treatment Plant 
    intake to headwaters                1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    Range Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Green 
    River to Range Creek Ranch                2B 3A             4 
 
    Range Creek and tributaries, 
    from Range Creek Ranch to 
    headwaters                          1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    Rock Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Green 
    River to headwaters                       2B 3A             4 
 
    Nine Mile Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to headwaters            2B 3A             4 
 
    Pariette Draw and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to headwaters            2B    3B    3D    4 
 
    Willow Creek and tributaries 
    (Uintah County), from 
    confluence with Green River 
    to headwaters                             2B 3A             4 
 
    White River and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Green 
    River to state line, except 
    as listed below                           2B    3B          4 
 
    Bitter Creek and Tributaries 
    from White River to Headwaters            2B 3A             4 
 
    Duchesne River and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to Myton 
    Water Treatment Plant intake, except 
    as listed below                           2B    3B          4 
 
    Uinta River and tributaries, 
    From confluence with Duchesne 
    River to Highway US-40 crossing           2B    3B          4 
 
    Uinta River and tributaries, 
    From Highway US-4- crossing 
    to headwaters                             2B 3A             4 

 
    Power House Canal from 
    Confluence with Uinta River 
    to headwaters                             2B 3A             4 
 
    Whiterocks River and Canal, 
    From Tridell Water 
    Treatment Plant to 
    Headwaters                          1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    Duchesne River and 
    tributaries, from Myton 
    Water Treatment Plant intake 
    to headwaters                       1C    2B 3A             4 
 
    Lake Fork River and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Duchesne River to 
    headwaters                           1C   2B 3A             4 
 
    Lake Fork Canal from Dry 
    Gulch Canal Diversion to 
    Moon Lake                            1C   2B             3E 4 
 
    Dry Gulch Canal, from 
    Myton Water Treatment 
    Plant to Lake Fork Canal             1C   2B             3E 4 
 
    Ashley Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to 
    Steinaker diversion                       2B    3B          4 
 
    Ashley Creek and tributaries, 
    from Steinaker diversion to 
    headwaters                           1C   2B 3A             4 
 
    Big Brush Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to Tyzack 
    (Red Fleet) Dam                           2B    3B          4 
 
    Big Brush Creek and 
    tributaries, from Tyzack 
    (Red Fleet) Dam to 
    headwaters                           1C   2B 3A             4 
 
    Jones Hole Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to 
    headwaters                                2B 3A 
 
    Diamond Gulch Creek and 
    tributaries, from confluence 
    with Green River to 
    headwaters                                2B 3A             4 
 
    Pot Creek and tributaries, 
    from Crouse Reservoir to 
    headwaters                                2B 3A             4 
 
Green River and tributaries, from 
Utah-Colorado state line to Flaming Gorge Dam 
except as listed below:                       2A [2B] 3A        4 
 
Sears Creek and tributaries, 
    Daggett County                            2B 3A 
 
    Tolivers Creek and 
    tributaries, Daggett County               2B 3A 
 
    Red Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Green 
    River to state line                       2B       3C       4 
 
    Jackson Creek and 
    tributaries, Daggett County               2B 3A 
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    Davenport Creek and 
    tributaries, Daggett County               2B 3A 
 
    Goslin Creek and tributaries, 
    Daggett County                            2B 3A 
 
    Gorge Creek and tributaries, 
    Daggett County                            2B 3A 
 
    Beaver Creek and tributaries, 
    Daggett County                            2B 3A 
 
    O-Wi-Yu-Kuts Creek and 
    tributaries, County                       2B 3A 
 
Tributaries to Flaming Gorge 
Reservoir, except as listed below             2B 3A             4 
 
Birch Spring Draw and 
tributaries, from Flaming 
Gorge Reservoir to headwaters                 2B       3C       4 
 
Spring Creek and tributaries, 
from Flaming Gorge Reservoir 
to headwaters                                 2B 3A 
 
All Tributaries of Flaming Gorge 
Reservoir from Utah-Wyoming state line 
to headwaters                                 2B 3A             4 

 
 13.2  Lower Colorado River Basin 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 13.3  Bear River Basin 
 a.  Bear River Drainage 
 

TABLE 
 
Bear River and tributaries, from 
Great Salt Lake to Utah-Idaho 
border, except as listed below:               2B    3B    3D    4 
 
Perry Canyon Creek from U.S. 
Forest boundary to headwaters                 2B 3A             4 
 
Box Elder Creek from confluence 
with Black Slough to Brigham 
City Reservoir (the Mayor's Pond)            2B        3C       4 
 
Box Elder Creek, from Brigham 
City Reservoir (the Mayor's Pond) 
to headwaters                                2B 3A              4 
 
Salt Creek, from confluence with 
Bear River to Crystal Hot Springs            2B        3C 
 
Malad River and tributaries, 
from confluence with Bear River 
to state line                                2B        3C 
 
Little Bear River and 
tributaries, from Cutler 
Reservoir to headwaters                       2B 3A        3D   4 
 
Logan River and tributaries, 
from Cutler Reservoir to 
headwaters                                    2B 3A       3D    4 
 
Blacksmith Fork and tributaries, 
from confluence with Logan River 
to headwaters                                 2B 3A             4 
 
 
 

Newton Creek and tributaries, 
from Cutler Reservoir to Newton 
Reservoir                                     2B 3A             4 
 
Clarkston Creek and tributaries, 
from Newton Reservoir to 
headwaters                                    2B 3A             4 
 
Birch Creek and tributaries, from 
confluence with Clarkston Creek 
to headwaters                                 2B 3A             4 
 
Summit Creek and tributaries, 
from confluence with Bear River 
to headwaters                                 2B 3A             4 
 
Cub River and tributaries, from 
confluence with Bear River to 
state line, except as listed 
below:                                        2B    3B          4 
 
    High Creek and tributaries, 
    from confluence with Cub River 
    to headwaters                             2B 3A             4 
 
All tributaries to Bear Lake from 
Bear Lake to headwaters, except as 
listed below                                  2B 3A             4 
 
   Swan Springs tributary to Swan 
   Creek                                1C    2B 3A 
 
Bear River and tributaries in 
Rich County, except as listed 
below                                         2B 3A             4 
 
   Saleratus Creek, from confluence 
   with Bear River to Deseret Ranch 
   high Ditch Diversion                       2B         3C 3D  4 
 
   Saleratus Creek from Deseret Ranch 
   High Ditch Diversion to Headwaters         2B 3A             4 
 
Bear River and tributaries, from 
Utah-Wyoming state line to 
headwaters (Summit County)                    2B 3A             4 
 
Mill Creek and tributaries, from 
state line to headwaters (Summit 
County)                                       2B 3A             4 

 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 13.5  Utah Lake-Jordan River Basin 
 a.  Jordan River Drainage 
 

TABLE 
 
Jordan River, from Farmington 
Bay to North Temple Street, 
Salt Lake City                                2B    3B *  3D    4 
 
State Canal, from Farmington 
Bay to confluence with the 
Jordan River                                  2B    3B *  3D    4 
 
Jordan River, from North Temple 
Street in Salt Lake City to 
confluence with Little 
Cottonwood Creek                              2B    3B *        4 
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Surplus Canal from Great Salt 
Lake to the diversion from the 
Jordan River                                  2B    3B *  3D    4 
 
Jordan River from confluence with 
Little Cottonwood Creek to 
Narrows Diversion                             2B 3A             4 
 
Jordan River, from Narrows 
Diversion to Utah Lake                  1C    2B    3B          4 
 
City Creek, from Memory Park 
in Salt Lake City to City Creek 
Water Treatment Plant                         2B 3A 
 
City Creek, from City Creek Water 
Treatment Plant to headwaters           1C    2B 3A 
 
Red Butte Creek and tributaries, 
from Red Butte Reservoir to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A 
 
Emigration Creek and tributaries, 
from Foothill Boulevard in Salt 
Lake City to headwaters                       2B 3A 
 
Parley's Creek and tributaries, 
from 1300 East in Salt Lake City 
to Mountain Dell Reservoir to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A 
 
Parley's Creek and tributaries, 
from Mountain Dell Reservoir to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A 
 
Mill Creek (Salt Lake County) 
from confluence with Jordan 
River to Interstate Highway 15                2B       3C       4 
 
Mill Creek (Salt Lake County) 
and tributaries from Interstate 
Highway 15 to headwaters                      2B 3A             4 
 
Big Cottonwood Creek and 
tributaries, from confluence 
with Jordan River to Big Cottonwood 
Water Treatment Plant                         2B 3A             4 
 
Big Cottonwood Creek and 
tributaries, from Big Cottonwood 
Water Treatment Plant to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A 
Deaf Smith Canyon Creek and 
tributaries                             1C    2B 3A             4 
 
Little Cottonwood Creek and 
tributaries, from confluence 
with Jordan River to Metropolitan 
Water Treatment Plant                         2B 3A             4 
 
Little Cottonwood Creek and 
tributaries, from Metropolitan 
Water Treatment Plant to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A 
 
Bell Canyon Creek and tributaries, 
from lower Bell's Canyon reservoir 
to headwaters                           1C    2B 3A 
 
Little Willow Creek and 
tributaries, from Draper 
Irrigation Company diversion to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A 
 
Big Willow Creek and tributaries, 
from Draper Irrigation Company 
diversion to headwaters                 1C    2B 3A 

South Fork of Dry Creek and 
tributaries, from Draper 
 
Irrigation Company diversion to 
headwaters                              1C    2B 3A 
All permanent streams on east 
slope of Oquirrh Mountains (Coon, 
Barney's, Bingham, Butterfield, 
and Rose Creeks)                              2B          3D    4 
 
Kersey Creek from confluence of C-7 
Ditch to headwaters                           2B          3D 
 
* Site specific criteria for dissolved oxygen.  See Table 2.14.5. 

 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 13.11  National Wildlife Refuges and State Waterfowl 
Management Areas, and other Areas Associated with the Great Salt 
Lake 
 

TABLE 
 
Bear River National Wildlife 
Refuge, Box Elder County[                      2B    3B    3D] 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5C 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Bear River Bay 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5C 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Brown's Park Waterfowl Management 
Area, Daggett County                          2B 3A       3D 
 
Clear Lake Waterfowl Management 
Area, Millard County                          2B       3C 3D 
 
Desert Lake Waterfowl Management 
Area, Emery County                            2B       3C 3D 
 
Farmington Bay Waterfowl 
Management Area, Davis and 
Salt Lake Counties[                            2B      3C 3D] 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5D 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Farmington Bay 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5C 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Fish Springs National 
Wildlife Refuge, Juab County                  2B       3C 3D 
 
Harold Crane Waterfowl 
Management Area, Box Elder 
County                                        2B       3C 3D 
 
Gilbert Bay 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5A 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Gunnison Bay 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5B 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Howard Slough Waterfowl 
Management Area, Weber County[                2B        3C 3D] 
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      Open Water below 4,208                                  5C 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Locomotive Springs Waterfowl 
Management Area, Box Elder County[            2B        3B 3D] 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5B 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Ogden Bay Waterfowl Management 
Area, Weber County[                           2B       3C 3D] 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5C 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Ouray National Wildlife Refuge, 
Uintah County                                 2B    3B    3D 
 
Powell Slough Waterfowl 
Management Area, Utah County                  2B       3C 3D 
 
Public Shooting Grounds Waterfowl 
Management Area, Box Elder County[            2B       3C 3D] 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5C 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Salt Creek Waterfowl Management 
Area, Box Elder County[                       2B       3C 3D] 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5C 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 
 
Stewart Lake Waterfowl Management 
Area, Uintah County                           2B    3B    3D 
 
Timpie Springs Waterfowl 
Management Area, Tooele County[               2B       3B 3D] 
      Open Water below 4,208                                  5B 
      Transitional Wetlands 4,208 ft. to Open Water           5E 
      Open Water above 4,208 ft.              2B     3B    3D 

 
 13.12  Lakes and Reservoirs [(20 Acres or Larger)].  All lakes and 
any reservoirs greater than 10 acres not listed in 13.12 are assigned by 
default to the classification of the stream with which they are 
associated. 
 

. . . . . . . 
R317-2-14.  Numeric Criteria. 
 

TABLE 2.14.1 
NUMERIC CRITERIA FOR DOMESTIC, 

RECREATION, AND AGRICULTURAL USES 
 
Parameter           Domestic       Recreation and    Agri- 
                     Source          Aesthetics      culture 
                           1C        2A     2B         4 
     BACTERIOLOGICAL 
     (30-DAY GEOMETRIC 
     MEAN) (NO.)/100 ML)  (7) 
E. coli                   206       126    206 
 
MAXIMUM 
     (NO.)/100 ML)  (7) 
 
[E. coli                   940       576    940] 
E. coli                   668       409    668 
 
     PHYSICAL 
 
     pH (RANGE)            6.5-9.0   6.5-9.0  6.5-9.0  6.5-9.0 
     Turbidity Increase 
       (NTU)                         10       10 
 

     METALS  (DISSOLVED, MAXIMUM 
     MG/L) (2) 
     Arsenic               0.01                        0.1 
     Barium                1.0 
     Beryllium             <0.004 
     Cadmium               0.01                        0.01 
     Chromium              0.05                        0.10 
     Copper                                            0.2 
     Lead                  0.015                       0.1 
     Mercury               0.002 
     Selenium              0.05                        0.05 
     Silver                0.05 
 
     INORGANICS 
     (MAXIMUM MG/L) 
     Bromate               0.01 
     Boron                                             0.75 
     Chlorite              <1.0 
     Fluoride (3)          1.4-2.4 
     Nitrates as N         10 
     Total Dissolved 
       Solids (4)          [Irrigation]               1200 
                           [Stock Watering          2000]     
RADIOLOGICAL 
     (MAXIMUM pCi/L) 
     Gross Alpha           15                          15 
     Gross Beta             4 mrem/yr 
     Radium 226, 228 
       (Combined)          5 
     Strontium 90          8 
     Tritium               20000 
     Uranium               30 
 
     ORGANICS 
     (MAXIMUM UG/L) 
 
     Chlorophenoxy 
       Herbicides 
     2,4-D                 70 
     2,4,5-TP              10 
     Methoxychlor          40 
 
     POLLUTION 
     INDICATORS (5) 
 
     BOD (MG/L)                      5        5       5      
     Nitrate as N (MG/L)             4        4 
     Total Phosphorus as P 
       (MG/L)(6)                     0.05     0.05 
 
     FOOTNOTES: 
     (1)  Reserved 
     (2)  The dissolved metals method involves filtration of the 
sample in the field, acidification of the sample in the field, no 
digestion process in the laboratory, and analysis by [atomic 
absorption or inductively coupled plasma (ICP) spectrophotometry] 
approved laboratory methods for the required detection levels. 
     (3)  Maximum concentration varies according to the daily 
maximum mean air temperature. 
 
     TEMP (C)       MG/L 
 
     12.0           2.4 
     12.1-14.6      2.2 
     14.7-17.6      2.0 
     17.7-21.4      1.8 
     21.5-26.2      1.6 
     26.3-32.5      1.4 
 
     (4)  [Total dissolved solids (TDS) limits may be adjusted if 
such adjustment does not impair the designated beneficial use of 
the receiving water.  The total dissolved solids (TDS) standards 
shall be at background where it can be shown that natural or 
un-alterable conditions prevent its attainment.  In such cases 
rulemaking will be undertaken to modify the standard accordingly.] 
Site-specific criteria for total dissolved solids may be adopted 
by rulemaking where it is demonstrated that: (a) a less stringent 
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criterion is appropriate because of natural or un-alterable 
conditions; or (b) a less stringent, site-specific criterion 
and/or date-specified criterion is protective of existing and 
attainable agricultural uses; or (c) a more stringent criterion 
is attainable and necessary for the protection of sensitive crops. 
For water quality assessment purposes, up to 10% of representative 
samples may exceed the standard. 
 
[Site Specific Standards for Total Dissolved Solids (TDS)] 
SITE SPECIFIC STANDARDS FOR TOTAL DISSOLVED SOLIDS (TDS) 
 
Antelope Creek and tributaries from confluence with Duchesne River 
to headwaters: 2,655 mg/l; 
 
Castle Creek from confluence with the Colorado River to Seventh Day 
Adventist Diversion: 1,800 mg/l; 
 
Cottonwood Creek from the confluence with Huntington Creek to I-57: 
3,500 mg/l; 
 
Ferron Creek from the confluence with San Rafael River to Highway 
10: 3,500 mg/l; 
 
[Gordon Creek from the confluence with Price River to headwaters: 
3,800 mg/l;] 
 
Huntington Creek and tributaries from the confluence with Cottonwood 
Creek to U-10: 4,800 mg/l; 
 
Indian Canyon Creek and tributaries from confluence with Duchesne River 
to headwaters: 2,180 mg/l; 
 
Ivie Creek and its tributaries from the confluence with Muddy Creek to 
U-10: 2,600 mg/l; 
 
Lost Creek from the confluence with Sevier River to U.S. Forest 
Service Boundary: 4,600 mg/l; 
 
Muddy Creek and tributaries from the confluence with [Quitchupah] 
Ivie Creek to U-10: 2,600 mg/l; 
 
Muddy Creek from confluence with Fremont River to confluence with 
Quitchupah Creek: 5,800 mg/l; 
 
North Creek from the confluence with Virgin River to headwaters: 
2,035 mg/l; 
 
Onion Creek from the confluence with Colorado River to road crossing 
above Stinking Springs: 3000 mg/l; 
 
Brine Creek-Petersen Creek, from the confluence with the Sevier 
River to U-119 Crossing: 9,700 mg/l; 
 
Paria River from the Utah/Arizona border to confluence of Cottonwood 
 Wash: 1,500 mg/l; 
 
Paria River from confluence of Rock Springs Creek to headwaters: 2,500 
mg/l; 
 
[Pinnacle Creek from the confluence with Price River to headwaters: 
3,800 
 mg/l;] 
 
Price River and tributaries up to 7,500 feet in elevation from 
confluence 
with Green River to confluence with Soldier Creek:  3,000 mg/l; 
 
Price River and tributaries up to 7,500 feet in elevation from the 
confluence with [Coal]Soldier Creek to Carbon Canal Diversion: 
1,700 mg/l[;]with the following exceptions: 
 
Soldier Creek and tributaries to 7,200 feet in elevation from 
confluence with Price River: 1,700 mg/l; 
 
Coal Creek and tributaries to 7,200 feet in elevation from 
confluence with Price River: 1,700 mg/l; 
 

Pinnacle Creek and tributaries to 7,500 feet in elevation from 
confluence with Price River: 3,800 mg/l; 
 
Gordon Creek Creek and tributaries to 7,500 feet in elevation from 
confluence with Price River: 3,800 mg/l; 
 
Price River and tributaries from the confluence with Green River to 
confluence with Soldier Creek: 3,000 mg/l; 
 
Quitchupah Creek from the confluence with Ivie Creek to U-10: 
[2,600]1,700 mg/l; 
 
Rock Canyon Creek from the confluence with Cottonwood Creek to 
headwaters: 3,500 mg/l; 
 
San Pitch River from below Gunnison Reservoir to the Sevier River: 
2,400 mg/l; 
 
San Rafael River from the confluence with the Green River to 
Buckhorn Crossing: 4,100 mg/l; 
 
San Rafael River from the Buckhorn Crossing to the confluence with 
Huntington Creek and Cottonwood Creek: 3,500 mg/l; 
 
Sevier River between Gunnison Bend Reservoir and DMAD Reservoir: 
1,725 mg/l; 
 
Sevier River from Gunnison Bend Reservoir to Clear Lake: 3,370 mg/l; 
 
South Fork Spring Creek and Spring Creek from the confluence with 
Cutler Reservoir  to US 89:  1,600 mg/l (March-Sept.) 
2,400 mg/l (Oct.-Feb.) 
 
Virgin River from the Utah/Arizona border to Pah Tempe Springs: 
2,360 mg/l 
 
     (5)  Investigations should be conducted to develop more 
information where these pollution indicator levels are exceeded. 
     (6)  Total Phosphorus as P (mg/l) indicator for 
lakes and reservoirs shall be 0.025. 
     (7) Where the criteria are exceeded and there is a 
reasonable basis for concluding that the indicator 
bacteria E. coli are primarily from natural sources (wildlife), 
e.g., in National Wildlife Refuges and State Waterfowl 
Management Areas, the criteria may be considered attained 
provided the density attributable to non-wildlife sources is less 
than the criteria. Exceedences of [bacteriological numeric 
criteria] E. coli from nonhuman nonpoint sources will 
generally be addressed through appropriate Federal, 
State, and local nonpoint source programs. 
     Measurement of E. coli using the "Quanti-Tray 2000" procedure is 
approved as a field analysis. Other EPA approved methods may also 
be used. 
     For water quality assessment purposes, up to 10% of representative 
samples may exceed the 668 per 100 ml criterion (for 1C and 2B waters) 
and 409 per 100 ml (for 2A waters). For small datasets, where 
exceedences of these criteria are observed, follow-up ambient 
monitoring 
should be conducted to better characterize water quality. 

 
 

TABLE 2.14.2 
NUMERIC CRITERIA FOR AQUATIC WILDLIFE 

 
     Parameter              Aquatic Wildlife 
                            3A       3B       3C       3D        5 
     PHYSICAL 
 
     Total Dissolved 
       Gases                (1)      (1) 
 
     Minimum Dissolved Oxygen 
       (MG/L) (2) 
       30 Day Average       6.5      5.5      5.0      5.0 
       7 Day Average        9.5/5.0  6.0/4.0 
       [1 Day Average        8.0/4.0  5.0/3.0  3.0      3.0] 
       Minimum              8.0/4.0  5.0/3.0  3.0      3.0 
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     Max. Temperature(C)(3) 20       27       27 
 
     Max. Temperature 
       Change (C)(3)        2        4        4 
 
     pH (Range)             6.5-9.0  6.5-9.0  6.5-9.0  6.5-9.0 
 
     Turbidity Increase 
       (NTU)                10       10       15       15 
 
     METALS (4) 
     (DISSOLVED, 
     UG/L)(5) 
     Aluminum 
     4 Day Average (6)      87       87       87       87 
     1 Hour Average         750      750      750      750 
 
     Arsenic (Trivalent) 
     4 Day Average          150      150      150      150 
     1 Hour Average         340      340      340      340 
 
     Cadmium (7) 
     4 Day Average          0.25    0.25      0.25     0.25 
     1 Hour Average         2.0     2.0       2.0      2.0 
 
     Chromium 
       (Hexavalent) 
     4 Day Average          11       11       11       11 
     1 Hour Average         16       16       16       16 
     Chromium 
       (Trivalent) (7) 
     4 Day Average          74       74       74       74 
     1 Hour Average         570      570      570      570 
 
     Copper (7) 
     4 Day Average          9        9        9        9 
     1 Hour Average         13       13       13       13 
 
     Cyanide (Free) 
     4 Day Average          5.2      5.2      5.2 
     1 Hour Average         22       22       22       22 
     Iron (Maximum)         1000     1000     1000     1000 
 
     Lead (7) 
     4 Day Average          2.5      2.5      2.5      2.5 
     1 Hour Average         65       65       65       65 
 
     Mercury 
     4 Day Average          0.012    0.012    0.012    0.012 
     1 Hour Average         2.4      2.4      2.4      2.4 
 
     Nickel (7) 
     4 Day Average          52       52       52       52 
     1 Hour Average         468      468      468      468 
 
     Selenium 
     4 Day Average          4.6      4.6      4.6      4.6 
     1 Hour Average         18.4     18.4     18.4     18.4 
 
     Selenium (14)  
     Gilbert Bay (Class 5A)  
     Great Salt Lake 
     Geometric Mean over 
     Nesting Season (mg/kg dry wt)                            12.5 
 
     Silver 
     1 Hour Average (7)     1.6      1.6      1.6      1.6 
 
     Zinc (7) 
     4 Day Average          120      120      120      120 
     1 Hour Average         120      120      120      120 
 
     INORGANICS 
     (MG/L) (4) 
     Total Ammonia as N (9) 
     30 Day Average         (9a)     (9a)     (9a)     (9a) 
     1 Hour Average         (9b)     (9b)     (9b)     (9b) 

     Chlorine (Total 
       Residual) 
     4 Day Average          0.011    0.011    0.011    0.011 
     1 Hour Average         0.019    0.019    0.019    0.019 
 
     Hydrogen Sulfide (13) 
     (Undissociated, 
       Max. UG/L)           2.0      2.0      2.0      2.0 
     Phenol(Maximum)       0.01      0.01     0.01    0.01 
     RADIOLOGICAL 
     (MAXIMUM pCi/L) 
 
     Gross Alpha (10)       15       15       15       15 
 
     ORGANICS (UG/L) (4) 
     Aldrin 
     1 Hour Average         1.5      1.5      1.5      1.5 
 
     Chlordane 
     4 Day Average          0.0043   0.0043   0.0043   0.0043 
     1 Hour Average         1.2      1.2      1.2      1.2 
 
     4,4' -DDT 
     4 Day Average          0.0010   0.0010   0.0010   0.0010 
     1 Hour Average         0.55     0.55     0.55     0.55 
 
     Diazinon 
     4 Day Average          0.17     0.17     0.17     0.17 
     1 Hour Average         0.17     0.17     0.17     0.17 
 
     Dieldrin 
     4 Day Average          0.056    0.056    0.056    0.056 
     1 Hour Average         0.24     0.24     0.24     0.24 
 
     Alpha-Endosulfan 
     4 Day Average          0.056    0.056    0.056    0.056 
     1 Hour Average         0.11     0.11     0.11     0.11 
 
     beta-Endosulfan 
     4 Day Average          0.056    0.056    0.056    0.056 
     1 Day Average          0.11     0.11     0.11     0.11 
 
     Endrin 
     4 Day Average          0.036    0.036    0.036    0.036 
     1 Hour Average         0.086    0.086    0.086    0.086 
 
     Heptachlor 
     4 Day Average          0.0038   0.0038   0.0038   0.0038 
     1 Hour Average         0.26     0.26     0.26     0.26 
 
     Heptachlor epoxide 
     4 Day Average          0.0038   0.0038   0.0038   0.0038 
     1 Hour Average    0.26     0.26     0.26     0.26 
 
     Hexachlorocyclohexane 
       (Lindane) 
     4 Day Average          0.08     0.08     0.08     0.08 
     1 Hour Average         1.0      1.0      1.0      1.0 
 
     Methoxychlor 
       (Maximum)            0.03     0.03     0.03     0.03 
     Mirex (Maximum)        0.001    0.001    0.001    0.001 
 
     Nonylphenol 
     4 Day Average          6.6      6.6      6.6      6.6 
     1 Hour Average         28.0     28.0     28.0     28.0 
 
     Parathion 
     4 Day Average          0.013    0.013    0.013    0.013 
     1 Hour Average         0.066    0.066    0.066    0.066 
 
     PCB's 
     4 Day Average          0.014    0.014    0.014    0.014 
 
     Pentachlorophenol (11) 
     4 Day Average          15       15       15       15 
     1 Hour Average         19       19       19       19 
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     Toxaphene 
     4 Day Average          0.0002   0.0002   0.0002   0.0002 
     1 Hour Average         0.73     0.73     0.73     0.73 
 
     POLLUTION 
     INDICATORS (11) 
     Gross Beta (pCi/L)     50       50       50       50 
     BOD (MG/L)             5        5        5        5 
     Nitrate as N (MG/L)    4        4        4 
     Total Phosphorus as P 
       (MG/L) (12)          0.05     0.05 
 
FOOTNOTES: 
    (1)  Not to exceed 110% of saturation. 
    (2)  These limits are not applicable to lower water levels 
in deep impoundments.  First number in column is for when 
early life stages are present, second number is for when all 
other life stages present. 
    (3)  The temperature standard shall be at background where 
it can be shown that natural or un-alterable conditions 
prevent its attainment.  In such cases rulemaking will be 
undertaken to modify the standard accordingly. 
     Site Specific Standards for Temperature 
     Ken's Lake: From June 1st - September 20th, 27 degrees C. 
    (4)  Where criteria are listed as 4-day average and 
1-hour average concentrations, these concentrations should not 
be exceeded more often than once every three years on the 
average. 
    (5)  The dissolved metals method involves filtration of 
the sample in the field, acidification of the sample in the 
field, no digestion process in the laboratory, and analysis by 
[atomic absorption spectrophotometry or inductively coupled 
plasma (ICP).] EPA approved laboratory methods for the required 
detection levels. 
    (6)  The criterion for aluminum will be implemented as follows: 
Where the pH is equal to or greater than 7.0 and the 
hardness is equal to or greater than 50 ppm as CaC03 in the 
receiving water after mixing, the 87 ug/1 chronic criterion 
(expressed as total recoverable) will not apply, and aluminum 
will be regulated based on compliance with the 750 ug/1 acute 
aluminum criterion (expressed as total recoverable). 
    (7)  Hardness dependent criteria.  100 mg/l used. 
Conversion factors for ratio of total recoverable metals to 
dissolved metals must also be applied.   In waters with a 
hardness greater than 400 mg/l as CaC03, calculations will 
assume a hardness of 400 mg/l as CaC03.  See Table 2.14.3 for 
complete equations for hardness and conversion factors. 
    (8)  Reserved 
    (9)  The following equations are used to calculate Ammonia 
criteria concentrations: 
    (9a)  The thirty-day average concentration of total ammonia 
nitrogen (in mg/l as N) does not exceed, more than once every 
three years on the average, the chronic criterion calculated 
using the following equations. 
Fish Early Life Stages are Present: 
  mg/l as N (Chronic)= ((0.0577/1+107.688-pH)+ (2.487/1+10PH-7.688)) 
  * MIN (2.85, 1.45*100.028*(25-T) ) 
Fish Early Life Stages are Absent: 
  mg/1 as N (Chronic) = ((0.0577/1+107.688-pH) + (2.487/1+10pH-7.688)) 
  * 1.45*100.028* (25-MAX(T,7))) 
    (9b) The one-hour average concentration of total ammonia 
nitrogen (in mg/l as N) does not exceed, more than once every 
three years on the average the acute criterion calculated 
using the following equations. 
Class 3A: 
    mg/l as N (Acute) = (0.275/(1+107.204-pH)) + (39.0/1+10pH-7.204)) 
Class 3B, 3C, 3D: 
    mg/l as N (Acute) = 0.411/(1+107.204-pH)) + (58.4/(1+10pH-7.204)) 
In addition, the highest four-day average within the 30-day 
period should not exceed 2.5 times the chronic criterion. 
The "Fish Early Life Stages are Present" 30-day average total 
ammonia criterion will be applied by default unless it is 
determined by the Division, on a site-specific basis, that it 
is appropriate to apply the "Fish Early Life Stages are 
Absent" 30-day average criterion for all or some portion of 
the year.  At a minimum, the "Fish Early Life Stages are 
Present" criterion will apply from the beginning of spawning 

through the end of the early life stages.  Early life stages 
include the pre-hatch embryonic stage, the post-hatch free 
embryo or yolk-sac fry stage, and the larval stage for the 
species of fish expected to occur at the site.  The division 
will consult with the Division of Wildlife Resources in making 
such determinations.  The Division will maintain information 
regarding the waterbodies and time periods where application 
of the "Early Life Stages are Absent" criterion is determined 
to be appropriate. 
    (10)  Investigation should be conducted to develop more 
information where these levels are exceeded. 
    (11)  pH dependent criteria.  pH 7.8 used in table.  See 
Table 2.14.4 for equation. 
    (12)  Total Phosphorus as P (mg/l) as a pollution indicator 
for lakes and reservoirs shall be 0.025. 
    (13)  Formula to convert dissolved sulfide to un-disassociated 
hydrogen sulfide is:  H2S = Dissolved Sulfide * e

((-1.92 + pH) + 12.05) 

    (14)  The selenium water quality standard of 12.5 (mg/kg 
dry weight) for Gilbert Bay is a tissue based standard using the 
complete egg/embryo based upon a minimum of five samples over the 
nesting season.  Assessment procedures are incorporated as a part of 
this standards as follows: 
 
 
g      Sampling        Egg            Response 
                            Concentration 
                               (% of 
                              Standard) 
 
Water column,    Eggs mg/kg 
Brine Shrimp, 
and Brine 
Shrimp Eggs 
 
4 Locations     1 Location   Up to 40%           None 
prior to           for 1 
nesting           Species 
season 
 
4 Locations     2 Locations     40%       Level II 
With             for 1                    Antidegradation Review 
Quarterly        Species                  required for all new 
Frequency                                 permits and renewals 
 
8 Locations     2 Locations     60%       Implementation of 
With             for 2                    annual selenium 
Quarterly      Species                    loading caps of GSL 
Frequency                                 permits 
 
8 Locations    3 Locations      80%       Preliminary studies of 
With           for 2                      load reductions 
Quarterly      Species; 
Frequency      Hatchability 
               on 2 
               species 
 
                              100%        Impairment: TMDL 
                                              required 
 
    Additional assessment procedures associated with this standard 
are 
referenced at R317-2-7.1 Application of Standards. Antidegradation 
Level II Review procedures associated with this standard are 
referenced 
at R317-2-3.5.C 

 
 

TABLE 
1-HOUR AVERAGE (ACUTE) CONCENTRATION OF 

TOTAL AMMONIA AS N (MG/L) 
 
     pH                  Class 3A         Class 3B, 3C, 3D 
     6.5                   32.6                 48.8 
     6.6                   31.3                 46.8 
     6.7                   29.8                 44.6 
     6.8                   28.1                 42.0 
     6.9                   26.2                 39.1 
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     7.0                   24.1                 36.1 
     7.1                   22.0                 32.8 
     7.2                   19.7                 29.5 
     7.3                   17.5                 26.2 
     7.4                   15.4                 23.0 
     7.5                   13.3                 19.9 
     7.6                   11.4                 17.0 
     7.7                   9.65                 14.4 
     7.8                   8.11                 12.1 
     7.9                   6.77                 10.1 
     8.0                   5.62                 8.40 
     8.1                   4.64                 6.95 
     8.2                   3.83                 5.72 
     8.3                   3.15                 4.71 
     8.4                   2.59                 3.88 
     8.5                   2.14                 3.20 
     8.6                   1.77                 2.65 
     8.7                   1.47                 2.20 
     8.8                   1.23                 1.84 
     8.9                   1.04                 1.56 
     9.0                   0.89                 1.32 

 
 

. . . . . . . 
 

TABLE 2.14.5 
SITE SPECIFIC CRITERIA FOR 

DISSOLVED OXYGEN FOR JORDAN RIVER,[ AND ]SURPLUS CANAL, [SEGMENTS]AND 
STATE CANAL 

(SEE SECTION 2.13) 
 
     DISSOLVED OXYGEN: 
     May-July 
     7-day average                5.5 mg/l 
     30-day average               5.5 mg/l 
     Instantaneous minimum        4.5 mg/l 
 
     August-April 
     30-day average               5.5 mg/l 
     Instantaneous minimum        4.0 mg/l 

 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
KEY:  water pollution, water quality standards 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [June 1, 
2005]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  October 2, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-5 
 

  
 

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

R414-54 
Speech-Language Pathology Services 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal and Reenact) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31644 

FILED:  07/01/2008, 09:36 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this change is to repeal and reenact Rule R414-54 

to clarify speech-language pathology services for Medicaid 
recipients. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The reenacted rule clarifies 
that speech-language pathology services are optional and 
refers Medicaid recipients to the Speech-Language Pathology 
Services Provider Manual for a complete list of service criteria. 
 The previous rule only lists in general terms some of the 
services and criteria for speech-language pathology services. 
 In addition, the new rule refers providers and recipients to the 
State Plan for reimbursement information. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 26-1-5 and 26-18-3 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  No significant impact to the state 
budget is expected.  The rule clarifies ongoing Medicaid policy 
for speech-language pathology services.  The majority of 
Medicaid recipients will receive the same services under this 
rule.  On balance it is expected to be budget neutral. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no budget impact because 
local governments do not fund or provide speech-language-
pathology hearing services to Medicaid recipients. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  No 
significant impact to business is expected.  The rule clarifies 
ongoing Medicaid policy for speech-language pathology 
services.  The majority of Medicaid recipients will receive the 
same services under this rule.  Providers and recipients 
should find it easier to determine what is available. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs because this change only clarifies ongoing 
Medicaid policy for speech-language pathology services. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Speech-Language Pathology 
Services are an optional service in Medicaid.  This rule should 
make it easier for providers and recipients to know what 
services are authorized and may have a small positive fiscal 
impact on business.  The current level of authorized funding in 
this category should not change as a result of this rule.  A. 
Richard Melton, Acting Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Craig Devashrayee at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-6641, by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
cdevashrayee@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Melton, Deputy Director 
 
 
 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-54.  Speech-Language Pathology Services. 
[R414-54-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  The Speech-Language Pathology Program provides speech-
language services to meet the basic speech-language pathology needs 
of Medicaid clients. 
 (2)  Speech-language pathology services are described in 42 CFR, 
subsection 440.110(c)(1)(2), October 1997 edition, which is adopted 
and incorporated by reference. 
 
R414-54-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in the Speech-language Pathology and 
Audiology Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 41, apply to this rule. 
 (2)  In addition, "Client", "Categorically Needy", and "Medically 
Needy" have the same meanings as defined in R414-1. 
 
R414-54-3.  Client Eligibility Requirements. 
 Speech-language pathology services are available to Categorically 
Needy and Medically Needy individuals. 
 
R414-54-4.  Program Access Requirements. 
 A physician must refer clients to a speech-language pathologist 
before any service may be provided. 
 
R414-54-5.  Service Coverage. 
 (1)  Speech-language services for individuals or groups with 
speech or language disorders or dysphagia include: evaluative, 
diagnostic, screening, treatment, preventive, and corrective processes.  
Only speech-language pathologists, or speech-language pathology 
aides under supervision of speech-language pathologists, may provide 
these services. 
 (2)  All services must be related to a medical need.  Treatments for 
social, educational, and developmental needs, while important to the 
individual, are not covered services. 
 (3)  Only speech-language pathologists may bill for reimbursable 
services. 
 
R414-54-6.  Reimbursement. 
 (1)  The Department pays for speech and language pathology 
services according to an established fees schedule, based on CPT codes 
as described in the State Plan, Attachment 4.19-B.  Fee schedules were 
initially established after consultation with provider representatives.  
Adjustments to the schedule are made in accordance with 
appropriations and to produce efficient and effective services. 
 (2)  The Department pays the lower of the amount billed and the 
rate on the schedule.  A provider shall not charge the Department a fee 
that exceeds the provider's usual and customary charges for the 
provider's private-pay patients.] 

R414-54-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule governs the provision of speech-language 
pathology services. 
 (2)    This rule is authorized by Sections 26-18-3 and 26-18-5. 
 (3)  As required by Section 26-18-3, the Department provides 
these services in an efficient, economical manner, safeguarding against 
unnecessary, unreasonable, or inappropriate use of these services. 
 
R414-54-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in the Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 41, apply to this rule. 
 
R414-54-3.  Services. 
 (1)  Speech-language pathology services are optional. 
 (2)  Speech-language pathology services are limited to services 
described in the Speech-Language Pathology Services Provider 
Manual. 
 (3)  The Speech-Language Pathology Services Provider Manual 
specifies the reasonable and appropriate amount, duration, and scope 
of the service sufficient to reasonably achieve its purpose. 
 (4)  Speech-language pathology services may be provided by 
licensed speech-language pathologists, or speech-language 
pathology aides under the supervision of speech-language 
pathologists. 
 
R414-54-4.  Services for Individuals Eligible for Optional 
Services. 
 (1)  An individual receiving speech-language pathology 
services may receive speech-language pathology services as 
described in the Speech-Language Pathology Provider Manual. 
 (2)  An individual receiving speech-language pathology 
services must meet the criteria established in the Speech-Language 
Pathology Provider Manual and obtain prior approval if required. 
 
R414-54-5.  Reimbursement. 
 Speech-language pathology services are reimbursed using the 
fee schedule in the Utah Medicaid State Plan and incorporated by 
reference in R414-1-5. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid, speech-language pathology services 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 25, 
2004]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  March 23, 2004 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-18-
3 
 

  
 

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

R414-59 
Audiology-Hearing Services 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal and Reenact) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31645 

FILED:  07/01/2008, 09:43 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this change is to repeal and reenact Rule R414-59 
to clarify audiology-hearing services for Medicaid recipients. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The reenacted rule clarifies 
that audiology-hearing services are optional and refers 
Medicaid recipients to the Audiology Provider Manual for a 
complete list of service criteria.  The previous rule only lists in 
general terms some of the services and criteria for audiology-
hearing services.  In addition, the new rule adds a 
reimbursement section that refers providers and recipients to 
the State Plan for reimbursement information. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 26-1-5 and 26-18-3 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  No significant impact to the state 
budget is expected.  The rule clarifies ongoing Medicaid policy 
for audiology-hearing services.  The majority of Medicaid 
recipients will receive the same services under this rule.  On 
balance it is expected to be budget neutral. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no budget impact because 
local governments do not fund or provide audiology-hearing 
services to Medicaid clients. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  No 
significant impact to business is expected.  The rule clarifies 
ongoing Medicaid policy for audiology-hearing services.  The 
majority of Medicaid recipients will receive the same services 
under this rule.  Providers and recipients should find it easier 
to determine what is available. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs because this change only clarifies ongoing 
Medicaid policy for audiology-hearing services. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Audiology-Hearing Services 
are an optional service in Medicaid.  This rule should make it 
easier for providers and recipients to know what services are 
authorized and may have a small positive fiscal impact on 
business.  The current level of authorized funding in this 
category should not change as a result of this rule.  A. Richard 
Melton, Acting Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Craig Devashrayee at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-6641, by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
cdevashrayee@utah.gov 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Melton, Deputy Director 
 
 
 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-59.  Audiology-Hearing Services. 
[R414-59-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  The Audiology-Hearing Program provides audiology and 
hearing services to meet the basic audiology and hearing needs of 
Medicaid clients. 
 (2)  Audiology-hearing services are authorized by 42 CFR, 
Subsection 440.110(c)(1)(2), October 1994 edition, which is adopted 
and incorporated by reference. 
 
R414-59-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in the Speech-language Pathology and 
Audiology Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 41, apply to this rule. 
 (2)  In addition, "Client," "Categorically Needy", "Medically 
Needy", and "Provider" have the same meanings as defined in R414-1-
1. 
 
R414-59-3.  Client Eligibility Requirements. 
 Audiology-hearing services are available to Categorically Needy 
and Medically Needy individuals. 
 
R414-59-4.  Program Access Requirements. 
 (1)  A physician provider must refer a client for audiology-hearing 
services before the client can receive these services. 
 (2)  The referral form must state that the medical examination 
determined that the conditions causing the hearing loss are not 
medically correctable.  It must also state that conditions medically 
treatable were identified and treated prior to this referral. 
 (3)  The referral form must also state that there is no medical 
reason, dysfunction, or hearing impairment that would preclude the use 
of a hearing aid. 
 
R414-59-5.  Service Coverage. 
 (1)  A provider may provide audiology-hearing services for a 
client, including: testing, examination, evaluation, recommendations, 
hearing aid evaluation, prescription for a hearing aid, ear mold, fitting, 
orientation, and follow-up. Audiological habilitation includes, but is not 
limited to, speech, hearing, and gestural communications.  All services 
must be related to medical need.  Treatments for social, educational, 
and developmental needs, while important to the individual, are not 
covered services. 
 (2)  Only a licensed audiologist may perform audiology 
examinations and hearing aid assessments. 
 (3)  Hearing aids are a covered service when hearing loss criteria 
are met, as outlined in the provider manual. 
 (4)  Either an audiologist or a hearing aid supplier may provide 
hearing aids.  All requests for hearing aids must include the results of 
audiology examinations performed by a licensed audiologist. 
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 (5)  Medicaid shall not reimburse an audiologist or a hearing aid 
supplier for hearing aids that are not guaranteed by the manufacturer for 
at least one year.] 
R414-59-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule governs the provision of audiology-hearing services. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Sections 26-18-3 and 26-1-5. 
 (3)  As required by Section 26-18-3, the Department provides 
these services in an efficient, economical manner, safeguarding against 
unnecessary, unreasonable, or inappropriate use of these services. 
 
R414-59-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in the Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 41, apply to this rule. 
 
R414-59-3.  Services. 
 (1)  Audiology-hearing services are optional services. 
 (2)  Audiology-hearing services are limited to services 
described in the Audiology Services Provider Manual. 
 (3)  The Audiology Services Provider Manual specifies the 
reasonable and appropriate amount, duration, and scope of the 
service sufficient to reasonably achieve its purpose. 
 (4)  Audiology-hearing services may be provided to an 
individual only after being referred by a physician.  All audiology-
hearing services must be provided by a licensed audiologist. 
 
R414-59-4.  Services for Individuals Eligible for Optional 
Services. 
 (1)  An individual receiving audiology-hearing services may 
receive audiology services as described in the Audiology Provider 
Manual. 
 (2)  An individual receiving audiology-hearing services must 
meet the criteria established in the Audiology Provider Manual and 
obtain prior approval if required. 
 
R414-59-5.  Reimbursement. 
 Audiology services are reimbursed using the fee schedule in the 
Utah Medicaid State Plan and incorporated by reference in R414-1-
5. 
 
KEY:  [m]Medicaid, audiology 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 24, 
1996]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  November 22, 2005 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-18-
3 
 

  
 

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

R414-304 
Income and Budgeting 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31622 

FILED:  06/25/2008, 13:11 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Federal 
regulators recently clarified that they will allow states to 
exclude earned income paid by the United States (U.S.) 
Census Bureau, for temporary census takers to all categories 
of Medicaid eligible individuals.  This will eliminate a small 
spenddown requirement that occurs only once every 10 years 
and costs more to administer than is generated from the 
requirement. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment expands 
the exclusion of income paid to temporary census takers to 
include medically needy individuals.  Temporary census 
takers work for a few months during the census, which is done 
one time each 10 years. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 26-18-3 and Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social 
Security Act 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Department estimates an overall 
cost of $31,350 due to a loss in the amount the state might 
otherwise collect in spenddown amounts based on an 
estimate of about 35 recipients who may have earned income 
as a temporary census worker.  This would occur during late 
2009 and early 2010.  This small cost is offset by a much 
larger expense that the Department would incur to program 
data systems to deal with this spenddown. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This change does not impact local 
governments as they do not determine eligibility nor receive 
monies collected as spenddowns from Medicaid recipients. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This change does not impact small businesses because they 
do not receive funds collected as spenddowns.  The impact on 
Medicaid clients is that their spenddowns will not increase if 
they choose to work as temporary census workers.  The 
estimated aggregate savings for Medicaid clients is $31,500. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs because this change does not require an 
individual to pay more for Medicaid coverage. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Recent federal interpretations 
permit Utah Medicaid the option of excluding this nominal 
source of income that occurs only once every 10 years when 
a census is taken.  This change will have no negative fiscal 
impact on businesses that serve Medicaid recipients.  David 
N. Sundwall, MD, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 31622 

 
50 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Kimi McNutt at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6381, 
by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
KMCNUTT@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/01/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-304.  Income and Budgeting. 
R414-304-5.  A, B and D Medicaid and A, B and D Institutional 
Medicaid Earned Income Provisions. 
 (1)  The Department adopts 42 CFR 435.725, 435.726, 435.811 
through 435.832, 2001 ed., and 20 CFR 416.1110 through 416.1112, 
2002 ed., which are incorporated by reference.  The department 
adopts Subsection 1612(b)(4)(A) and (B) of the Compilation of the 
Social Security Laws, in effect January 1, 2001, which is 
incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  If an SSI recipient has a plan for achieving self- support 
approved by the Social Security Administration, the Department 
shall not count income set aside in the plan that allows the individual 
to purchase work-related equipment or meet self support goals.  This 
income shall be excluded and may include earned and unearned 
income. 
 (3)  Expenses relating to the fulfillment of a plan to achieve 
self-support shall not be allowed as deductions from income. 
 (4)  For A, B and D Medicaid, earned income used to compute 
a needs-based grant is not countable. 
 (5)  For A, B and D Institutional Medicaid, $125 shall be 
deducted from earned income before contribution towards cost of 
care is determined. 
 (6)  For A, B and D Institutional Medicaid impairment-related 
work expenses shall be allowed as an earned income deduction. 
 (7)  Capital gains shall be included in the gross income from 
self-employment. 
 (8)  To determine countable net income from self-employment, 
the state shall allow a 40 percent flat rate exclusion off the gross 
self-employment income as a deduction for business expenses.  For 
self-employed individuals who have actual allowable business 
expenses greater than the 40 percent flat rate exclusion amount, if 
the individual provides verification of the actual expenses, the self-
employment net profit amount will be calculated using the same 
deductions that are allowed under federal income tax rules. 
 (9)  No deductions shall be allowed for the following business 
expenses: 
 (a)  transportation to and from work; 
 (b)  payments on the principal for business resources; 
 (c)  net losses from previous tax years; 
 (d)  taxes; 
 (e)  money set aside for retirement; 
 (f)  work-related personal expenses. 
 (10)  Net losses of self-employment from the current tax year 
may be deducted from other earned income. 

 (11)  The Department disregards [E]earned income paid by the 
U.S. Census Bureau to temporary census takers to prepare for and 
conduct the census, [shall be excluded for any A, B, or D category 
programs that use a percentage of the federal poverty guideline as an 
eligibility income limit]for individuals defined in 42 CFR 435.120, 
435.122, 435.130 through 435.135, 435.137, 435.138, 435.139, 
435.211, 435.301, 435.320, 435.322, 435.324, 435.340, 435.350 and 
435.541.  This income is also excluded for individuals described in 
1634(b), (c) and (d), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II), 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(X), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XII), 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIII) 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII), and 1902(a)(10)(E)(i) through (iv)(I) of 
Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  The Department does not 
exclude earnings paid to temporary census takers from the post-
eligibility process of determining the person's cost-of-care 
contribution for long-term care recipients. 
 (12)  Deductions from earned income such as insurance 
premiums, savings, garnishments or deferred income is counted in 
the month when it could have been received. 
 
R414-304-6.  Family Medicaid and Family Institutional 
Medicaid Earned Income Provisions. 
 This section provides eligibility criteria governing earned 
income for the determination of eligibility for Family Medicaid and 
Institutional Family Medicaid coverage groups. 
 (1)  The Department adopts 42 CFR 435.725, 435.726, 435.811 
through 435.832, 2001 ed. and 45 CFR 233.20(a)(6)(iii) through 
(iv), 233.20(a)(6)(v)(B), 233.20(a)(6)(vi) through (vii), and 
233.20(a)(11), 2003 ed., which are incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  The following definitions apply to this section: 
 (a)  "Full-time student" means a person enrolled for the number 
of hours defined by the particular institution as fulfilling full-time 
requirements. 
 (b)  "Part-time student" means a person who is enrolled for at 
least one-half the number of hours or periods considered by the 
institution to be customary to complete the course of study within 
the minimum time-period.  If no schedule is set by the school, the 
course of study must be no less than an average of two class periods 
or two hours a day, whichever is less. 
 (c)  "School attendance" means enrollment in a public or 
private elementary or secondary school, a university or college, 
vocational or technical school or the Job Corps, for the express 
purpose of gaining skills that lead to gainful employment. 
 (d)  "Full-time employment" means an average of 100 or more 
hours of work a month or an average of 23 hours a week. 
 (e)  "Aid to Families with Dependent Children" (AFDC) means 
a state plan for aid that was in effect on June 16, 1996. 
 (f)  "1931 Family Medicaid" is Medicaid coverage required by 
Subsection 1931(a), (b), and (g) of the Compilation of Social 
Security Laws. 
 (3)  The income of a dependent child is not countable income if 
the child is: 
 (a)  in school or training full-time; 
 (b)  in school or training part-time, if employed less than 100 
hours a month; 
 (c)  in a job placement under the federal Workforce 
[Information]Investment Act (WIA). 
 (4)  For Family Medicaid, the AFDC $30 and 1/3 of earned 
income deduction is allowed if the wage earner has received 1931 
Family Medicaid in one of the four previous months and this 
disregard has not been exhausted. 
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 (5)  The Department determines countable net income from 
self-employment by allowing a 40 percent flat rate exclusion off the 
gross self-employment income as a deduction for business expenses. 
 If a self-employed individual provides verification of actual 
business expenses greater than the 40 percent flat rate exclusion 
amount, the Department allows actual expenses to be deducted.  The 
expenses must be business expenses allowed under federal income 
tax rules. 
 (6)  Items such as personal business and entertainment 
expenses, personal transportation, purchase of capital equipment, 
and payments on the principal of loans for capital assets or durable 
goods, are not business expenses. 
 (7)  For Family Medicaid, the Department shall deduct child-
care costs, and the costs of providing care for an incapacitated adult 
who is included in the Medicaid household size, from the earned 
income of clients working 100 hours or more in a calendar month.  
A maximum of up to $200.00 per month per child under age 2 and 
$175.00 per month per child age 2 and older or incapacitated adult, 
may be deducted.  A maximum of up to $160.00 per month per child 
under age 2 and $140.00 per month per child age 2 and older or 
incapacitated adult, may be deducted from the earned income of 
clients working less than 100 hours in a calendar month. 
 (8)  For Family Institutional Medicaid, the Department shall 
deduct child-care costs from the earned income of clients working 
100 hours or more in a calendar month.  A maximum of up to $160 a 
month per child may be deducted.  A maximum of up to $130 a 
month is deducted from the earned income of clients working less 
than 100 hours in a calendar month. 
 (9)  The Department excludes [E]earned income paid by the 
U.S. Census Bureau to temporary census takers to prepare for and 
conduct the census, [is excluded for any family Medicaid programs 
that use a percentage of the federal poverty guideline as an eligibility 
income limit, and for determining eligibility for 1931 Family 
Medicaid.]for individuals defined in 42 CFR 435.110, 435.112 
through 435.117, 435.119, 435.210 for groups defined under 
201(a)(5) and (6), 435.211, 435.222, 435.223, and 435.300 through 
435.310 and individuals defined in Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act Sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV), (VI), (VII), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVII), 1902(a)(47), 1902(e)(1), (4), (5), (6), (7), 
and 1931(b) and (c), 1925 and 1902(l).  The Department does not 
exclude earnings paid to temporary census takers from the post-
eligibility process of determining the person's cost-of-care 
contribution for long-term care recipients. 
 (10)  Under 1931 Family Medicaid, for households that pass the 
185% gross income test, if net income does not exceed the 
applicable BMS, the household is eligible for 1931 Family 
Medicaid.  No health insurance premiums or medical bills are 
deducted from gross income to determine net income for 1931 
Family Medicaid. 
 (11)  For Family Medicaid recipients who otherwise meet 1931 
Family Medicaid criteria, who lose eligibility because of earned 
income that does not exceed 185% of the federal poverty guideline, 
the state shall disregard earned income of the specified relative for 
six months to determine eligibility for 1931 Family Medicaid.  
Before the end of the sixth month, the state shall conduct a review of 
the household's earned income.  If the earned income exceeds 185% 
of the federal poverty guideline, the household is eligible to receive 
Transitional Medicaid following the provisions of R414-303 as long 
as it meets all other criteria. 
 (12)  After the first six months of disregarding earned income, 
if the average monthly earned income of the household does not 

exceed 185% of the federal poverty guideline for a household of the 
same size, the state shall continue to disregard earned income for an 
additional six months to determine eligibility for 1931 Family 
Medicaid.  In the twelfth month of receiving such income disregard, 
if the household continues to have earned income, the household is 
eligible to receive Transitional Medicaid following the provisions of 
R414-303 as long as it meets all other criteria. 
 
KEY:  financial disclosures, income, budgeting 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
28], 2008 
Notice of Continuation:  January 25, 2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-18-1 
 

  
 

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

R477-14 
Substance Abuse and Drug-Free 

Workplace 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31621 
FILED:  06/25/2008, 08:37 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  These 
amendments replace current language with language found in 
the Utah Code.  Nonsubstantive changes are also made to 
comply with rulemaking style. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Subsections R477-14-
1(6) through R477-14-1(13), the term "safety sensitive" is 
replaced with "highly sensitive". 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 67-19-6, 67-19-18, 67-19-34, 67-19-37, and 
67-19-38 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no impact to the state budget 
as these amendments merely clarify intent and remove 
unnecessary language. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government and will have no impact on local 
governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule only affects the executive branch of state 
government and will have no impact on other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule only 
affects agencies of the executive branch of state government. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Rules published by the 
Department of Human Resource Management (DHRM) have 
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no direct effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the Utah Personnel Management Act, Title 
67, Chapter 19.  This act limits the provisions of career service 
and these rules to employees of the executive branch of state 
government.  The only possible impact may be a very slight, 
indirect effect if an agency passes costs or savings on to 
business through fees.  However, it is anticipated that the 
minimal costs associated with these changes will be absorbed 
by agency budgets and will have no effect on business.  Jeff 
Herring, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
J.J. Acker at the above address, by phone at 801-537-9096, 
by FAX at 801-538-3081, or by Internet E-mail at 
jacker@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director 
 
 
 
R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration. 
R477-14.  Substance Abuse and Drug-Free Workplace. 
R477-14-1.  Rules Governing a Drug-Free Workplace. 
 (1)  This rule implements the federal Drug-Free Workplace Act of 
1988, Omnibus Transportational Employee Testing Act of 1991, 49 
USC 2505; 49 USC 2701; and 49 USC 3102, and Section 67-19-36 
authorizing drug and alcohol testing, in order to: 
 (a)  Provide a safe and productive work environment that is free 
from the effect of unlawful use, distribution, dispensing, manufacture, 
and possession of controlled substances or alcohol use during work 
hours.  See the Federal Controlled Substance Act, 41 USC 701. 
 (b)  Identify, correct and remove the effects of drug and alcohol 
abuse on job performance. 
 (c)  Assure the protection and safety of employees and the public. 
 (2)  State employees may not unlawfully manufacture, dispense, 
possess, distribute or use any controlled substance or alcohol during 
working hours, on state property, or while operating a state vehicle at 
any time, or other vehicle while on duty except where legally 
permissible. 
 (a)  Employees shall follow Subsection R477-14-1(2) outside of 
work if any violations directly affect the eligibility of state agencies to 
receive federal grants or to qualify for federal contracts of $25,000 or 
more. 
 (3)  All drug or alcohol testing shall be done in compliance with 
applicable federal and state regulations and policies. 

 (4)  All drug or alcohol testing shall be conducted by a federally 
certified or licensed physician or clinic, or testing service approved by 
DHRM. 
 (5)  Drug or alcohol tests with positive results or a possible false 
positive result shall require a confirmation test. 
 (6)  Employees in non [safety]highly sensitive positions are 
subject to one or more of the following drug or alcohol tests: 
 (a)  reasonable suspicion; 
 (b)  critical incident; 
 (c)  post accident; 
 (d)  return to duty; 
 (e)  follow up. 
 (7)  For employees in non [safety]highly sensitive positions, the 
State of Utah will use the same cut off levels for positive drug tests as 
the federal government.  This rule incorporates by reference the 
requirements of 49 CFR 40.40, Sections 85 to 87 (2002), Laboratory 
Analysis Procedures. 
 (8)  For employees in non [safety]highly sensitive positions, the 
State of Utah will use a blood alcohol concentration level of .08 as the 
cut off for a positive alcohol test. 
 (9)  Employees who hold [safety]highly sensitive positions, are 
final candidates for, are transferred to, or are assigned the duties of a 
[safety]highly sensitive position, and final applicants for [safety]highly 
sensitive positions are subject to one or more of the following drug or 
alcohol tests: 
 (a)  reasonable suspicion; 
 (b)  critical incident; 
 (c)  post accident; 
 (d)  return to duty; 
 (e)  follow up; 
 (f)  preemployment; 
 (g)  random. 
 (10)  For employees in [safety]highly sensitive positions, the State 
of Utah will use the same cutoff levels for positive drug and alcohol 
tests as the federal government.  This rule incorporates by reference the 
requirements of 49 CFR 40.40, Sections 85 to 87 (2002), Laboratory 
Analysis Procedures, 49 CFR 382.107 (2002), Definitions, 49 CFR 
382.201 (2002), Alcohol Concentration and 49 CFR 382.505 (2002), 
Other Alcohol Related Conduct. 
 (11)  Employees in [safety]highly sensitive positions, as approved 
by DHRM, are subject to random drug or alcohol testing without 
justification of reasonable suspicion or critical incident.  Except when 
required by federal regulation or state policy, random drug or alcohol 
testing of employees in [safety]highly sensitive positions shall be 
conducted at the discretion of the employing agency. 
 (12)  Employees in [safety]highly sensitive positions whose 
confirmation test for alcohol results are .02 or greater, when tested 
before, during, or immediately after performing [safety]highly sensitive 
functions, must be removed from performing [safety]highly sensitive 
duties for 8 hours, or until another test is administered and the result is 
less than .02. 
 (13)  Employees in [safety]highly sensitive positions whose 
confirmation test for alcohol results are .04 or greater when tested 
before, during or after performing [safety]highly sensitive duties, may 
be subject to corrective action or discipline. 
 (14) Agencies with employees in positions requiring a commercial 
driver license shall administer testing and prohibition requirements and 
conduct training on these requirements as outlined in the current 
DHRM Drug and Alcohol Testing Manual. 
 (15)  Management may take disciplinary action if: 
 (a)  there is a positive confirmation test for controlled substances; 
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 (b)  results of a confirmation test for alcohol meet or exceed the 
established alcohol concentration cutoff level; 
 (c)  management determines an employee is unable to perform his 
assigned job tasks, even when the results of a confirmation test for 
alcohol shows less than the established alcohol concentration cutoff 
level. 
 (16)  The agency['s] human resource field office or authorized 
official shall keep a separate, private record of drug or alcohol test 
results.  The employee's official personnel file shall only contain a 
document making reference to the existence of the drug or alcohol test 
record. 
 
R477-14-2.  Management Action. 
 (1)  [Pursuant to ]Under Rules R477-10, R477-11 and Section 
R477-14-2, supervisors and managers who receive notice of a 
workplace violation of these rules shall take immediate action. 
 (2)  Management may take disciplinary action which may include 
dismissal. 
 (3)  An employee who refuses to submit to drug or alcohol testing 
may be subject to disciplinary action which may include dismissal. See 
Section 67-19-33. 
 (4)  An employee who substitutes, adulterates, or otherwise 
tampers with a drug or alcohol testing sample, or attempts to do so, is 
subject to disciplinary action which may include dismissal. 
 (5)  Management may also take disciplinary action against 
employees who manufacture, dispense, possess, use, sell or distribute 
controlled substances or use alcohol, per Rule R477-11, under the 
following conditions: 
 (a)  if the employee's action directly affects the eligibility of the 
agency to receive grants or contracts in excess of $25,000.00; 
 (b)  if the employee's action puts employees, clients, customers, 
patients or co-workers at physical risk. 
 (6)  An employee who has a confirmed positive test for use of a 
controlled substance or alcohol in violation of these rules may be 
required to participate, at his expense, in a rehabilitation program, [as 
provided for in]under Subsection 67-19-38(3).  If this is required, the 
following shall apply: 
 (a)  An employee participating in a rehabilitation program shall be 
granted accrued leave or leave without pay for inpatient treatment. 
 (b)  The employee must sign a release to allow the transmittal of 
verbal or written compliance reports between the state agency and the 
inpatient or outpatient rehabilitation program provider. 
 (c)  All communication shall be classified as private in accordance 
with Title 63, Chapter 2. 
 (d)  An employee may be required to continue participation in an 
outpatient rehabilitation program prescribed by a licensed practitioner 
on the employee's own time and expense. 
 (e)  An employee, upon successful completion of a rehabilitation 
program shall be reinstated to work in his previously held position, or a 
position with a comparable or lower salary range. 
 (7)  An employee who fails to complete the prescribed treatment 
without a valid reason shall be subject to disciplinary action. 
 (8)  An employee who has a confirmed positive test for use of a 
controlled substance or alcohol is subject to follow up testing. 
 (9)  An employee who is convicted for a violation occurring in the 
workplace, under federal or state criminal statute which regulates 
manufacturing, distributing, dispensing, possessing, selling or using a 
controlled substance, shall notify the agency head of the conviction no 
later than five calendar days after the conviction. 

 (a)  The agency head shall notify the federal grantor or agency for 
which a contract is being performed within ten calendar days of 
receiving notice from: 
 (i)  the judicial system; 
 (ii)  other sources; 
 (iii)  an employee performing work under the grant or contract 
who has been convicted of a controlled substance violation in the 
workplace. 
 
R477-14-4.  Policy Exceptions. 
 The Executive Director, DHRM, may authorize exceptions to [the 
provisions of ]this rule consistent with Subsection R477-2-2(1). 
 
KEY:  personnel management, drug/alcohol education, drug 
abuse, discipline of employees 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 1, 
2006]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  December 6, 2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6; 67-
19-18; 67-19-34; 63-19-37; 67-19-38 
 

  
 

Human Services, Administration 

R495-876 
Provider Code of Conduct 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31629 

FILED:  06/27/2008, 10:08 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended to add the section for the department's 
rulemaking authority and to update the statutory citations 
impacted by H.B. 63 and H.B. 78.  (DAR NOTES:  H.B. 63 
(2008) is found at Chapter 382, Laws of Utah 2008, and was 
effective 05/05/2008.  H.B. 78 (2008) is found at Chapter 3, 
Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 02/07/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment adds a 
new Section R495-876-1 that gives the department's 
rulemaking authority.  The following sections of the rule are 
renumbered to conform to the format prescribed by the 
Division of Administrative Rules.  The citations within the rule 
that were impacted by H.B. 63 and H.B. 78 are updated.  
Some minor grammatical errors have been corrected.  Two 
websites were updated to provide the reader with the accurate 
websites. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 62A-1-111 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated costs or savings 
to the state budget by this amendment because they are 
nonsubstantive formatting changes. 
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  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated costs or 
savings to the local governments by this amendment because 
they are nonsubstantive formatting changes. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
There is no anticipated cost or saving to small businesses and 
persons other than businesses by this amendment because 
they are nonsubstantive formatting changes. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There is no 
anticipated compliance cost for affected persons by this 
amendment because they are nonsubstantive formatting 
changes. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no fiscal impact on 
businesses by the amendment to this rule because the 
changes to this rule are nonsubstantive formatting changes.  
Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
ADMINISTRATION 
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
L Ray Winger at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4319, by FAX at 801-538-4424, or by Internet E-mail at 
raywinger@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R495.  Human Services, Administration. 
R495-876.  Provider Code of Conduct. 
R495-876-1.  Authority. 
 The Department of Human Services promulgates this rule 
pursuant to the rulemaking authority granted in Section 62A-1-111. 
 
R495-876-[1]2.  Statement of Purpose. 
 (1)  The Department of Human Services ("DHS") adopts this 
Code of Conduct to: 
 (a)  Protect its clients from abuse, neglect, maltreatment and 
exploitation; and 
 (b)  Clarify the expectation of conduct for DHS Providers and 
their employees and volunteers who interact in any way with DHS 
clients, DHS staff and the public. 
 (2)  The Provider shall distribute a copy of this Code of Conduct 
to each employee and volunteer, regardless of whether the employees 
or volunteers provide direct care to clients, indirect care, administrative 
services or support services.  The Provider shall require each employee 
and volunteer to read the Code of Conduct and sign a copy of the 

attached "Certification of Understanding" before having any contact 
with DHS clients.  The Provider shall file a copy of the signed 
Certificate of Understanding in each employee and volunteer's 
personnel file.  The Provider shall also maintain a written policy that 
adequately addresses the appropriate treatment of clients and that 
prohibits the abuse, neglect, maltreatment or exploitation of clients.  
This policy shall also require the Provider's employees and volunteers 
to deal with DHS staff and the public with courtesy and 
professionalism. 
 (3)  This Code of Conduct supplements various statutes, policies 
and rules that govern the delivery of services to DHS clients.  The 
Providers and the DHS Divisions or Offices may not adopt or enforce 
policies that are less-stringent than this Code of Conduct unless those 
policies have first been approved in writing by the Office of Licensing 
and the Executive Director of the Utah Department of Human Services. 
 Nothing in this Code of Conduct shall be interpreted to mean that 
clients are not accountable for their own misbehavior or inappropriate 
behavior, or that Providers are restricted from imposing appropriate 
sanctions for such behavior. 
 
R495-876-[2]3.  Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation, and Maltreatment 
Prohibited. 
 Providers shall not abuse, neglect, exploit or maltreat clients in 
any way, whether through acts or omissions or by encouraging others 
to act or by failing to deter others from acting. 
 
R495-876-[3]4.  General Definitions. 
 (1)  "Client" means anyone who receives services from DHS or 
from a Provider pursuant to an agreement with DHS or funding from 
DHS. 
 (2)  "DHS" means the Utah Department of Human Services or any 
of its divisions, offices or agencies. 
 (3)  "Domestic-violence-related child abuse" means any domestic 
violence or a violent physical or verbal interaction between cohabitants 
in the physical presence of a child or having knowledge that a child is 
present and may see or hear an act of domestic violence. 
 (4)  "Emotional maltreatment" means conduct that subjects the 
client to psychologically destructive behavior, and includes conduct 
such as making demeaning comments, threatening harm, terrorizing the 
client or engaging in a systematic process of alienating the client. 
 (5)  "Provider" means any individual or business entity that 
contracts with DHS or with a DHS contractor to provide services to 
DHS clients.  The term "Provider" also includes licensed or certified 
individuals who provide services to DHS clients under the supervision 
or direction of a Provider.  Where this Code of Conduct states (as in 
Sections III-VII) that the "Provider" shall comply with certain 
requirements and not engage in various forms of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation or maltreatment, the term "Provider" also refers to the 
Provider's employees, volunteers and subcontractors, and others who 
act on the Provider's behalf or under the Provider's control or 
supervision. 
 (6)  "Restraint" means the use of physical force or a mechanical 
device to restrict an individual's freedom of movement or an 
individual's normal access to his or her body.  "Restraint" also includes 
the use of a drug that is not standard treatment for the individual and 
that is used to control the individual's behavior or to restrict the 
individual's freedom of movement. 
 (7)  "Seclusion" means the involuntary confinement of the 
individual in a room or an area where the individual is physically 
prevented from leaving. 
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 (8)  "Written agency policy" means written policy established by 
the Provider.  If a written agency policy contains provisions that are 
more lenient than the provisions of this Code of Conduct, those 
provisions must be approved in writing by the DHS Executive Director 
and the Office of Licensing. 
 
R495-876-[4]5.  Definitions of Prohibited Abuse, Neglect, 
Exploitation, and Maltreatment. 
 [A.](1)  "Abuse" includes, but is not limited to: 
 [1.](a)  Harm or threatened harm, to the physical or emotional 
health and welfare of a client. 
 [2.](b)  Unlawful confinement. 
 [3.](c)  Deprivation of life-sustaining treatment. 
 [4.](d)  Physical injury, such as contusion of the skin, laceration, 
malnutrition, burn, fracture of any bone, subdural hematoma, injury to 
any internal organ, any injury causing bleeding, or any physical 
condition which imperils a client's health or welfare. 
 [5.](e)  Any type of unlawful hitting or corporal punishment. 
 [6.](f)  Domestic-violence-related child abuse. 
 [7.](g)  Any Sexual abuse and sexual exploitation including but 
not be limited to: 
 [a.](i)  Engaging in sexual intercourse with any client. 
 [b.](ii)  Touching the anus or any part of the genitals or otherwise 
taking indecent liberties with a client, or causing an individual to take 
indecent liberties with a client, with the intent to arouse or gratify the 
sexual desire of any person. 
 [c.](iii)  Employing, using, persuading, inducing, enticing, or 
coercing a client to pose in the nude. 
 [d.](iv)  Engaging a client as an observer or participation in sexual 
acts. 
 [e.](v)  Employing, using, persuading, inducing, enticing or 
coercing a client to engage in any sexual or simulated sexual conduct 
for the purpose of photographing, filming, recording, or displaying in 
any way the sexual or simulated sexual conduct.  This includes 
displaying, distributing, possessing for the purpose of distribution, or 
selling material depicting nudity, or engaging in sexual or simulated 
sexual conduct with a client. 
 [f.](vi)  Committing or attempting to commit acts of sodomy or 
molestation with a client. 
 [B.](2)  "Neglect" includes but is not limited to: 
 [1.](a)  Denial of sufficient nutrition. 
 [2.](b)  Denial of sufficient sleep. 
 [3.](c)  Denial of sufficient clothing, or bedding. 
 [4.](d)  Failure to provide adequate client supervision; including 
situations where the Provider's employee or volunteer is a sleep or ill on 
the job, or is impaired due to the use of alcohol or drugs. 
 [5.](e)  Failure to provide care and treatment as prescribed by the 
client's services, program or treatment plan, including the failure to 
arrange for medical or dental care or treatment as prescribed or as 
instructed by the client's physician or dentist, unless the client or the 
Provider obtains a second opinion from another physician or dentist, 
indicating that the originally-prescribed medical or dental care or 
treatment is unnecessary. 
 [6.](f)  Denial of sufficient shelter, where shelter is part of the 
services the Provider is responsible for providing to the client. 
 [7.](g) Educational neglect (i.e. willful failure or refusal to make a 
good faith effort to ensure that a child in the Provider's care or custody 
receives an appropriate education). 
 [C.](3)  "Exploitation" will includes but is not limited to: 

 [1.](a)  Using a client's property without the client's consent or 
using a client's property in a way that is contrary to the client's best 
interests, such as expending a client's funds for the benefit of another. 
 [2.](b)  Making unjust or improper use of clients or their 
resources. 
 [3.](c)  Accepting [a] gifts in exchange for preferential treatment 
of a client or in exchange for services that the Provider is already 
obliged to provide to the client. 
 [4.](d)  Using the labor of a client for personal gain. 
 [5.](e)  Using the labor of a client without paying the client a fair 
wage or without providing the client with just or equivalent non-
monetary compensation, except where such use is consistent with 
standard therapeutic practices and is authorized by DHS policy or the 
Provider's contract with DHS. 
 [a.](i)  Examples: 
 ([i]A)  It is not "exploitation" for a foster parent to assign an extra 
chore to a foster child who has broken a household rule, because the 
extra chore is reasonable discipline and teaches the child to obey the 
household rules. 
 ([ii]B)  It is not "exploitation" to require clients to help serve a 
meal at a senior center where they receive free meals and are 
encouraged to socialize with other clients.  The meal is a non-monetary 
compensation, and the interaction with other clients may serve the 
clients' therapeutic needs. 
 ([iii]C)  It is usually "exploitation" to require a client to provide 
extensive janitorial or household services without pay, unless the 
services are actually an integral part of the therapeutic program, such as 
in "clubhouse" type programs that have been approved by DHS. 
 [D.](4)  "Maltreatment" includes but is not limited to: 
 [1.](a)  Physical exercises, such as running laps or performing 
pushups, except where such exercises are consistent with an 
individual's service plan and written agency policy and with the 
individual's health and abilities. 
 [2.](b)  Any form of Restraint or Seclusion used by the Provider 
for reasons of convenience or to coerce, discipline or retaliate against a 
client.  The Provider may use a Restraint or Seclusion only in 
emergency situations where such use is necessary to ensure the safety 
of the client or others and where less restrictive interventions would be 
ineffective, and only if the use is authorized by the client's service plan 
and administered by trained authorized personnel.  Any use of Restraint 
or Seclusion must end immediately once the emergency safety situation 
is resolved.  The Provider shall comply with all applicable laws about 
Restraints or Seclusions, including all federal and state statutes, 
regulations, rules and policies. 
 [3.](c)  Assignment of unduly physically strenuous or harsh work. 
 [4.](d)  Requiring or forcing the individual to take an 
uncomfortable position, such as squatting or bending, or requiring or 
forcing the individual to repeat physical movements as a means of 
punishment. 
 [5.](e)  Group punishments for misbehaviors of individuals. 
 [6.](f)  Emotional maltreatment, bullying, teasing, provoking or 
otherwise verbally or physically intimidating or agitating a client. 
 [7.](g)  Denial of any essential program service solely for 
disciplinary purposes. 
 [8.](h)  Denial of visiting or communication privileges with family 
or significant others solely for disciplinary purposes. 
 [9.](i)  Requiring the individual to remain silent for long periods 
of time for the purpose of punishment. 
 [10.](j)  Extensive withholding of emotional response or 
stimulation. 
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 [11.](k)  Denying a current client from entering the client's 
residence, where such denial is for disciplinary or retaliatory purposes 
or for any purpose unrelated to the safety of clients or others. 
 
R495-876-[5]6.  Provider's Compliance with Conduct 
Requirements Imposed by Law, Contract or Other Policies. 
 In addition to complying with this Code of Conduct, the Provider 
shall comply with all applicable laws (such as statutes, rules and court 
decisions) and all policies adopted by the DHS Office of Licensing, by 
the DHS Divisions or Offices whose clients the Provider serves, and by 
other state and federal agencies that regulate or oversee the Provider's 
programs.  Where the Office of Licensing or another DHS entity has 
adopted a policy that is more specific or restrictive than this Code of 
Conduct, that policy shall control.  If a statute, rule or policy defines 
abuse, neglect, exploitation or maltreatment as including conduct that is 
not expressly included in this Code of Conduct, such conduct shall also 
constitute a violation of this Code of Conduct.  See, e.g., Title 62A, 
Chapter 3 of the Utah Code (definition of adult abuse) and Title 78A, 
Chapter [3a]6 and Title 76, Chapter 5 of the Utah Code (definitions of 
child abuse). 
 
R495-876-[6]7.  The Provider's Interactions with DHS Personnel 
and the Public. 
 In carrying out all DHS-related business, the Provider shall 
conduct itself with professionalism and shall treat DHS personnel, the 
members of the Provider's staff and members of the public courteously 
and fairly.  The Provider shall not engage in criminal conduct or in any 
fraud or other financial misconduct. 
 
R495-876-[7]8.  Sanctions for Non-compliance. 
 If a Provider or its employee or volunteer fail to comply with this 
Code of Conduct, DHS may impose appropriate sanctions (such as 
corrective action, probation, suspension, disbarment from State 
contracts, and termination of the Provider's license or certification) and 
may avail itself of all legal and equitable remedies (such as money 
damages and termination of the Provider's contract).  In imposing such 
sanctions and remedies, DHS shall comply with the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act and applicable DHS rules.  In 
appropriate circumstances, DHS shall also report the Provider's 
misconduct to law enforcement and to the Provider's clients and their 
families or legal representatives (e.g., a legal guardian).  In all cases, 
DHS shall also report the Provider's misconduct to the licensing 
authorities, including the DHS Office of Licensing. 
 
R495-876-[8]9.  Providers' Duty to Help DHS Protect Clients. 
 [A.](1)  Duty to Protect Clients' Health and Safety.  If the Provider 
becomes aware that a client has been subjected to any abuse, neglect, 
exploitation or maltreatment, the Provider's first duty is to protect the 
client's health and safety. 
 [B.](2)  Duty to Report Problems and Cooperate with 
Investigations.  Providers shall document and report any abuse, neglect, 
exploitation or maltreatment and exploitation as outlined in this Code 
of Conduct, and they shall cooperate fully in any investigation 
conducted by DHS, law enforcement or other regulatory or monitoring 
agencies. 
 [1.](a)  Except as provided in [Section (B)(1)(a) and 
(B)(3)]subsection(b) below, Providers shall immediately report abuse, 
neglect, exploitation or maltreatment by contacting the local Regional 
 
 
 

Office of the appropriate DHS Division or Office.  During weekends 
and on holidays, Providers shall make such reports to the on-call 
worker of that Regional Office. 
 [a.](i)  Providers shall report any abuse or neglect of disabled or 
elder adults to the Adult Protective Services intake office of the 
Division of Aging and Adult Services. 
 [b.](ii)  The Provider shall make all reports and documentation 
about abuse, neglect, exploitation, and maltreatment available to 
appropriate DHS personnel and law enforcement upon request. 
 [2.](b)  Providers shall document any client injury (explained or 
unexplained) that occurs on the Providers' premises or while the client 
is under the Provider's care and supervision, and the Provider shall 
report any such injury to supervisory personnel immediately.  Providers 
shall cooperate fully in any investigation conducted by DHS, law 
enforcement or other regulatory or monitoring agencies.  If the client's 
injury is extremely minimal, the Provider has 12 hours to report the 
injury.  The term "extremely minimal" refers to injuries that obviously 
do not require medical attention (beyond washing a minor wound and 
applying a band-aid, for example) and which cannot reasonably be 
expected to benefit from advice or consultation from the supervisory 
personnel or medical practitioners. 
 [a.](i)  Example:  If a foster child falls off a swing and skins her 
knee slightly, the foster parent shall document the injury and report to 
the foster care worker within 12 hours. 
 [b.](ii)  Example:  If a foster child falls off a swing and sprains or 
twists her ankle, the foster parent shall document the injury and report it 
immediately to supervisory personnel because the supervisor may want 
the child's ankle X-rayed or examined by a physician. 
 [C.](3)  Duty to Report Fatalities and Cooperate in Investigations 
and Fatality Reviews.  If a DHS client dies while receiving services 
from the Provider, the Provider shall notify the supervising DHS 
Division or Office immediately and shall cooperate with any 
investigation into the client's death.  In addition, some Providers are 
subject to the Department of Human Services' Fatality Review Policy.  
(See the "Eligibility" section of DHS Policy No. 05-02 for a description 
of the entities subject to the [fatal-]fatality review requirements.  A 
copy of the policy is available at the DHS web site at:  
[http://www.dhs.state.ut.us/policy.htm ]http://www.hspolicy.utah.gov)  
If the Provider is subject to the Fatality Review Policy, it shall comply 
with that policy (including all reporting requirements) and the Provider 
shall cooperate fully with any fatality reviews and investigations 
concerning a client death. 
 [D.](4)  Duty to Display DHS Poster.  The Provider shall 
prominently display in each facility a DHS poster that notifies 
employees of their responsibilities to report violations of this Provider 
Code of Conduct, and that gives phone numbers for the Regional 
Office or Intake Office of the relevant DHS Division(s).  
Notwithstanding the foregoing, if the Provider provides its services in a 
private home and if the Provider has fewer than three employees or 
volunteers, the Provider shall maintain this information in a readily-
accessible place but it need not actually display the DHS poster.  DHS 
shall annually provide the Provider with a copy of the current DHS 
poster or it shall make the poster available on the DHS web site: 
[http://www.dhs.state.ut.us] 
http://www.hspolicy.utah.gov/pdf/poster_provider_code_of_conduct.p
df. 
 
KEY:  social services, provider conduct[*] 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 15, 
2001]2008 
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Notice of Continuation:  August 22, 2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-110, 
62A-1-111 
 

  
 

Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

R512-500 
Kinship Services 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal and Reenact) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31590 

FILED:  06/18/2008, 09:14 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for this rule change is to implement changes in legislation 
passed during the FY 2008 legislative session (H.B. 36) 
specific to kinship services.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 36 (2008) is 
found at Chapter 36, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
03/13/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule replaces the 
previous rule, and establishes standards for kinship placement 
for a child who is in Child and Family Services custody, 
including Preliminary Placement, evaluation of kinship 
caregiver capacity for ongoing care, and background 
screening.  (DAR NOTE:  A corresponding 120-day 
(emergency) rule for Rule 512-500 is under DAR No. 31589 in 
this issue, July 15, 2008, of the Bulletin, and was effective 
06/18/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-4a-102, 62A-4a-209, 78A-6-307, and 
78A-6-307.5; the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA); and 25 
U.S.C. Section 1903.1 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  $147,400 cost through the loss of 
Federal funds.  These funds were replaced through a fiscal 
note attached to the bill. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be no cost or savings to 
local government because funding for this program comes out 
of state and federal funds and this rule does not apply to local 
government. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
There will be no cost or savings to small businesses and 
persons other than businesses because it was determined 
that funding for this program comes out of state and federal 
funds and this rule does not apply to small businesses and 
persons other than businesses. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Compliance costs 
will be minimal for affected persons.  Primary caregivers in the 
relatives' home will be required to complete an FBI fingerprint-
based check and will be charged $10 per person for the 
fingerprints to be scanned.  Any other adults age 18 and older 

living in the home will also be required to have this fingerprint 
based check and to pay the $10 fee for scanning.  In addition, 
relatives who voluntarily care for a relative child will incur 
costs for caring for the child.  The relatives will be given 
information about how to access public resources of support 
through Department of Workforce Services or through the 
Department of Human Services, if they choose to become a 
licensed foster parent. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no cost or 
savings on businesses because it was determined that this 
rule does not apply to businesses.  Lisa-Michele Church, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Room 225  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4451, 
by FAX at 801-538-3993, or by Internet E-mail at 
CAROLMILLER@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Duane Betournay, Director 
 
 
 
R512.  Human Services, Child and Family Services. 
[R512-500.  Kinship Services. 
R512-500-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 A.  The purpose of Kinship care is to: 
 1.  make it possible for children who cannot remain safely at home 
to live with persons they may already know and trust; 
 2.  reduce the trauma children may experience when placed with a 
non-relative caregiver who is not known to the child; 
 3.  maintain children's family history, culture, and sense of 
identity; 
 4.  assist families to consider and rely on family resources and 
strengths; and 
 5.  support families to provide children the support they need. 
 b.  Pursuant to Sections 62A-4a-209 and 78-3a-307, the Division 
of Child and Family Services (DCFS) is authorized to provide kinship 
placements and services. 
 
R512-500-2.  Qualifications. 
 A.  Relatives will be considered for an emergency kinship 
placement when they meet the requirements of Sections 62A-4a-209 
and 78-3a-307 and the following: 
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 1.  When the relative agrees to care for the child on an emergency 
basis under the following conditions: 
 a.  The relative agrees not to allow the custodial parent or guardian 
to have any unauthorized contact with the child to contact law 
enforcement and DCFS if the custodial parent or guardian attempts to 
make unauthorized contact with the child; 
 b.  The relative will agree not to talk to the child about the events 
that led to the removal, if the child wishes to talk about the events 
leading to the removal, refer to a therapist or other trusted individual 
who is not the relative caregiver; 
 c.  The relative has been informed and understands that while they 
may be asked to be a potential long-term placement, DCFS will 
continue to search for other possible potential kinship placements for 
long-term care, if needed; 
 d.  The relative is willing to assist the custodial parent or guardian 
in reunification efforts at the request of DCFS and to follow all court 
orders. 
 B.  Criteria for an emergency kinship placement: 
 1.  A relative will be considered as an emergency placement only 
if willing to provide the following: 
 a.  Full names of all persons living in their household, including 
maiden names; 
 b.  Social Security Numbers for all persons living in the 
household; 
 c.  driver licenses or other identification for all persons living in 
the household, as applicable. 
 C.  Assessment -- Non-custodial Parent 
 1.  The region in which the non-custodial parent resides will 
conduct an assessment of the non-custodial parent as follows: 
 a.  home inspection that will assess space, accommodations, and 
safety. 
 b.  interview of the non-custodial parent to determine the 
following: 
 i.  nature and quality of the relationship between the child and 
non-custodial parent; 
 ii.  ability and desire to protect the child from further abuse and 
neglect. 
 D.  The DCFS worker will interview the child (when age 
appropriate) regarding the child's relationship and comfort level with 
the non-custodial parent. 
 E.  Deciding between Relatives. 
 1.  If more than one relative requests consideration for temporary 
or permanent placement of the child, the DCFS worker: 
 a.  Will provide each relative with specific information on the 
methods and criteria used to assess suitability of a relative's home for 
the placement of the child; 
 b.  May conduct a child and family team meeting for the purpose 
of assisting the relatives to come to consensus regarding which relative 
would be the most appropriate placement for the child; 
 c.  Will determine which relative has the closest existing personal 
relationship with the child before making the recommendation to the 
court. 
 d.  Will determine which placement should be made and make a 
recommendation to the court consistent with that determination.] 
R512-500.  Kinship Services.  Placement and Background 
Screening. 
R512-500-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish standards for kinship 
placement for a child who is in Child and Family Services custody, 
including Preliminary Placement, evaluation of kinship caregiver 
capacity for ongoing care, and background screening. 

 (2)  This rule is authorized by Sections 62A-4a-209, 78A-6-
307, 78A-6-307.5, and the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA), 25 
U.S.C. Sections 1901-63. 
 
R512-500-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Abuse" is defined in Section 78A-6-105. 
 (2)  "Child" is defined in Section 62A-4a-101. 
 (3)  "Child and Family Services" means the Division of Child 
and Family Services, Department of Human Services. 
 (4)  "Friend" means an individual, other than a non-custodial 
parent or relative as defined in Section 78A-6-307, who is licensed as a 
foster parent and is designated for preference for care of a child by a 
custodial parent or guardian of the child in accordance with Section 
62A-4a-209. 
 (5)  "Kinship caregiver" means a non-custodial parent, relative, 
or friend, as defined in this section, who is selected for placement 
and care of a child in Child and Family Services custody. 
 (6)  "Neglect" is defined in Section 78A-6-105. 
 (7)  "Non-custodial parent" is a natural parent as defined in 
Section 78A-6-307 who is a biological or adoptive mother, an 
adoptive father, or a biological father who was married to the child's 
biological mother at the time the child was conceived or born, or 
who has had paternity established, who has not been granted legal 
custody of the child. 
 (8)  "Non-relative" is defined in Section 62A-4a-209. 
 (9)  "Preliminary Placement" means an out-of-home placement 
with a non-custodial parent or relative, or with a friend who is a 
licensed foster parent, which is referred to in statute as an 
emergency placement with a non-custodial parent or relative as 
authorized in Section 62A-4a-209 or a post-shelter hearing 
placement with a non-custodial parent or relative as authorized in 
Section 78A-6-307.5. 
 (10)  "Relative" is defined in Section 78A-6-307 as the child's 
"grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt, great-aunt, uncle, great-uncle, 
brother-in-law, sister-in-law, stepparent, first cousin, stepsibling, or 
sibling of the child."  For an Indian child, relative also includes 
"extended family members" as defined by the ICWA, 25 U.S.C. 
Section 1901-63, which is "by the law or custom of the Indian 
child's tribe or, in the absence of such law or custom, shall be a 
person who has reached the age of eighteen and who is the Indian 
child's grandparent, aunt, or uncle, brother or sister, brother-in-law 
or sister-in-law, niece or nephew, first or second cousin, or 
stepparent." 
 (11)  "severe type of child abuse or neglect" is defined in 
Section 62A-4a-1002. 
 (12)  "substantiated" is defined in Section 62A-4a-101. 
 (13)  "ssupported" is defined in Section 62A-4a-101. 
 
R512-500-3.  Philosophy. 
 (1)  All children need permanency through enduring 
relationships that provide stability, familiarity, and support for the 
culture of the child; support the child's sense of self based on 
existing attachments; provide for the child's safety and physical care; 
and connect the child to their past, present, and future through 
continuing family relationships.  First priority is to maintain a child 
safely at home.  However, if a child cannot safely remain at home, 
kinship care has the potential for providing these elements of 
permanency by virtue of the kin's knowledge of and relationship to 
the family and child. 
 (2)  All kinship work is done in the context of a Child and 
Family Team.  Kinship care includes elements of child protection, 
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in-home services, family preservation, and foster care.  When a child 
cannot safely remain home, kinship care is preferable to other out-
of-home placements if the kinship caregiver can keep the child safe 
and appropriately meet the child's needs. 
 (3)  The caregiver's willingness and ability to care for and keep 
the child safe are fundamental.  The kinship caregiver must have or 
acquire knowledge of the child, be able to meet the child's needs, 
support reunification efforts, and be able to provide the child access 
to parents, siblings, and other family members through visits or 
caring for the child and siblings as a group. 
 (4)  Ongoing assessment of the child's safety, permanence, and 
well-being is important to the stability and value of kinship care.  
Ongoing assessment of safety is based on the components of safety 
decision-making, which include threats of harm, vulnerabilities of 
the child, and protective capacities of the kinship caregiver and their 
support system. 
 (5)  Providing for kinship care in the Child and Family Services 
spectrum of services requires active efforts to identify and locate kin 
families with whom children may form or continue relationships at 
home or in temporary or permanent placements.  Support to kinship 
caregivers is essential to the success of the child's placement with 
the family and to the family's ability to respond to the needs of the 
child.  As members of the Child and Family Team, kinship 
caregivers will seek support from other family members and from 
informal and formal supports to provide for the child. 
 
R512-500-4.  Preferences for Placement. 
 (1)  The following order of preference applies to placement of a 
child in the custody of Child and Family Services, and is subject to 
the child's best interest: 
 (a)  A non-custodial parent of the child in accordance with 
Section 78A-6-307; 
 (b)  A relative of the child; 
 (c)  A friend designated by the custodial parent or guardian of 
the child, if the friend is a licensed foster parent; and 
 (d)  A former foster placement, shelter facility, or other foster 
placement designated by Child and Family Services. 
 (2)  Preferential consideration given to kinship caregivers in 
Subsection 78A-6-307(18) expires 120 days from the date of the 
shelter hearing.  Prospective kinship caregivers may be considered 
for placement after the 120 days has lapsed, if it is in the best 
interest of the child. 
 
R512-500-5.  Preliminary Placement. 
 (1)  The requirements specified in Section 62A-4a-209 must be 
met for Preliminary Placement of a child with a kinship caregiver. 
 (2)  A decision to make a Preliminary Placement of a child with 
a kinship caregiver will include background screening, assessment 
of the kinship caregiver's willingness and ability to care for a child 
and to keep the child safe, a limited home inspection, and 
background screening. 
 (3)  A kinship caregiver must meet the background check 
requirements specified in R512-500-7(1). 
 (4)  Assessment of safety will be based on safety decision-
making principles, which include: 
 (a)  Potential threats of harm; 
 (b)  Vulnerabilities of the child; and 
 (c)  Protective capacities of the potential kinship caregiver and 
their support system. 
 (5)  The limited home inspection specified in Section 62A-4a-
209 is required for a non-custodial parent or relative. The limited 

home inspection is conducted in the home of the prospective kinship 
caregiver to determine if there are apparent safety risks in the home that 
present a potential threat of harm to the child.  The limited home 
inspection determines if the following are met: 
 (a)  The home is free from observable health and fire hazards. 
 (b)  There are adequate sleeping arrangements to meet the 
specific needs of each child. 
 (c)  Any firearms, ammunition, hazardous chemicals, and/or 
medications are secured and not accessible to children. 
 (6)  References may be contacted to obtain input regarding 
placing the child with the potential kinship caregiver or information 
about other available relatives or friends who may care for the child. 
 
R512-500-6.  Evaluation of Capacity for Ongoing Care of a 
Child. 
 (1)  Child and Family Services will evaluate with the family 
their capacity for ongoing care of the child.  The components of the 
evaluation process include: 
 (a)  Results of the background screening specified in R512-500-
7(2). 
 (b)  The child-specific home study, including: 
 (i)  Physical and emotional ability of the kinship caregiver to 
provide adequate care for the child; 
 (ii)  Understanding of family dynamics and how placement will 
impact relationships within the family; 
 (iii)  Ability to provide for the child's safety and well-being 
needs and to support a plan for permanency; 
 (iv)  Analysis of the type of resources and support needed by 
the kinship caregiver to care for the child. 
 (v)  Ability of the home to meet required safety standards of the 
Office of Licensing. 
 (c)  Providing information to the kinship caregiver to assist 
with considering options for ongoing care of the child, including: 
 (i)  Educating the kinship caregiver of the expectations of 
caring for a child who is under the jurisdiction of the court. 
 (ii)  Assessing the resources that may be available to assist the 
kinship caregiver in providing a stable placement for the child. 
 (iii)  Becoming a licensed foster care placement for the child. 
 (iv)  Requesting temporary custody and guardianship from the 
court. 
 (2)  A kinship caregiver who meets the definition of friend must 
be licensed as a foster parent in order for a child in the custody of 
Child and Family Services to be placed with them. 
 (3)  Obtain positive written references from two different 
people known to the kinship caregiver expressing the referent's 
opinion about the family's ability to care for the child. 
 
R512-500-7.  Background Screening. 
 (1)  Background Screening Procedure for Preliminary 
Placements. 
 (a)  In order for a non-custodial parent or relative to be 
considered for Preliminary Placement of a child, background 
screening must be completed that meets the requirements of Sections 
62A-4a-209, 78A-6-307, and 78A-6-308.  If any non-relative adults 
live in the household, applicable background screening requirements 
in Sections 62A-4a-209, 78A-6-307, and 78A-6-308 must be met. 
 (b)  A non-custodial parent or relative and all persons 18 years 
of age and older living in the household must provide the following 
information in order for background screening to be conducted: 
 (i)  Full first, middle, last, maiden, alias, and all previous 
married names. 
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 (ii)  Social Security number, if a number has been issued. 
 (iii)  Proof of identity verified by a government-issued photo 
identification. 
 (iv)  Date of birth. 
 (2)  Background Screening Procedure for Ongoing Care of a 
Child. 
 (a)  As part of the evaluation of capacity for ongoing care of a 
child, in addition to background screening required for Preliminary 
Placement, a relative and spouse or partner must complete an FBI 
national criminal history records check as prospective foster or 
adoptive parents.  A non-custodial parent will complete an FBI 
national criminal history check if Utah criminal history or SAFE 
child abuse checks result in concerns about potential threats of harm 
to the child or if ordered by the court. 
 (b)  If a non-relative 18 years of age or older is residing in the 
home and has lived outside of the state of Utah in the five years 
immediately preceding the date of the application, the individual 
must complete an FBI national criminal history records check. 
 (c)  If any person 18 years of age or older residing in the home 
has lived out of the state of Utah in the five years immediately 
preceding the date of the application, a child abuse and neglect 
registry check must be completed for any state in which the 
individual resided. 
 (d)  A non-custodial parent or relative and all persons 18 years 
of age and older living in the household must provide the following 
information on a form provided by Child and Family Services in 
order for background screening to be conducted: 
 (i)  Full first, middle, last, maiden, alias, and all previous 
married names. 
 (ii)  Social Security number, if a number has been issued. 
 (iii)  Proof of identity verified by a government-issued photo 
identification. 
 (iv)  Date of birth. 
 (v)  The potential kinship caregiver and applicable adults living 
in the household shall provide fingerprints from an authorized law 
enforcement agency or designated electronic scanning site. 
 (vi)  The child abuse registry for each state in which a potential 
kinship caregiver or other adult in the household has lived will be 
checked. 
 
KEY:  child welfare, kinship 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [September 
3, 2003]2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-4a-209; 
[78-3a-307]78A-6-307; 78A-6-307.5 
 

  
 

Human Services, Services for People 
with Disabilities 

R539-15 
Time-Limited Respite Care Program 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31593 

FILED:  06/19/2008, 09:18 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to provide respite care for Persons on 
the Division Waiting List. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule provides the 
standards and procedures to establish a Time-Limited Respite 
Care Program for persons on the Division's Waiting List.  
(DAR NOTE:  A corresponding 120-day (emergency) rule for 
Rule R539-15 is under DAR No. 31594 in this issue, July 15, 
2008, of the Bulletin, and was effective 07/01/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Time-Limited Respite Care 
Program is funded by a legislative appropriation for fiscal year 
2009. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The respite program does not affect 
the budgets of local governments.  The agency has reviewed 
the programs and services provided by local governments and 
concluded that none of them provide respite services and this 
rule will not cause local governments any costs or savings. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Small businesses will provide respite care services either as 
employees of the Person served or by contract with the 
Department of Human Services.  This rule does not apply to 
small businesses, it only applies to the individuals eligible for 
respite car services. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There should be 
no compliance costs for affected individuals.  If an individual 
applies for this service and is denied eligibility, they may incur 
the cost of appealing the decision, such as expenses to retain 
a lawyer to represent them. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Respite care services are 
provided by small businesses either as employees of the 
Person being served or under contract with the Department of 
Human Services.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Steven Bradford at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
sbradford@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  George Kelner, Director 
 
 
 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
R539-15.  Time-Limited Respite Care Program. 
R539-15-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide: 
 (a)  procedures and standards for the determination of eligibility 
for the Division's Time-Limited Respite Care Program for Persons 
on the Division's Waiting List as specified in R539-2-4. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized from July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009 
by Legislative appropriation and established under Section 62A-5-
103. 
 
R539-15-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 62A-5-101, 
and 
 (2)  "Person":  Individual who meets eligibility requirements in 
Rule R539-1. 
 (3)  "Active Status":  Has a current Needs Assessment Score on 
the Division wait list. 
 (4)  "Respite":  A service to give relief to the Person's primary 
caregiver. 
 
R539-15-3.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  A Person is eligible for the Time-Limited Respite Care 
Program who meets the eligibility requirements listed in Rule 539-1, 
provided that: 
 (2)  the Person is not receiving ongoing services with the 
Division, 
 (3)  the Person is currently in active status on the Division 
waiting list. 
 
R539-15-4.  Limitations. 
 (1)  A Person who meets eligibility requirements for the Time-
Limited Respite Care Program is limited to no more than $1,000 for 
respite care services from July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009. 
 (2)  Funds are granted for 12 months.  After six months, the 
Person must report the expenditure of funds to the Division.  The use 
of the respite care funds will be evaluated  by the Division.  If there 
is no plan to use the funds or funds are unused, those funds may be 
reallocated to another eligible Person. 
 (3)  Persons receiving ongoing services are not eligible for 
time-limited respite services. 
 
R539-15-5.  Priority. 
 (1)  As of July 1, 2008, the first 250 persons who are not 
brought into ongoing services and who remain on the Division 
waiting list will receive priority for respite care services.  If any of 
the first 250 choose not to use time-limited respite care services, 
then Persons will be offered this service in the order of their position 
on the waiting list. 
 
R539-15-6.  Respite Care Services Providers. 
 (1)  Respite services may be provided by an employee of the 
Person or through an agency or program that provides respite care 
services. 

 (2)  If the Person elects to hire an employee, Division 
requirements for a background check must be met. 
 (3)  Payments to an employee must be made through a fiscal 
agent. 
 
KEY:  disabilities 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-5-103 
 

  
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-238 
Captive Insurance Companies 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31649 

FILED:  07/01/2008, 15:31 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
changes are in response to H.B. 63 from the 2008 General 
Session, the agency is required to change the code citations 
to match the recodification of Title 63, and to allow greater 
latitude in year-end dates and hearing requirements.  (DAR 
NOTE:  H.B. 63 (2008) is found at Chapter 382, Laws of Utah 
2008, and was effective 05/05/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R590-238-4, 
clarifies that an actuarial opinion is required with an annual 
statement.  In Section R590-238-6, removes the reference to 
a December 31 year-end since captives may have a different 
year end.  In Section R590-238-16, allows the commissioner 
to waive public notice and hearings for control changes and 
mergers.  In Section R590-238-17, updates a reference. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-37-106 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no change in filing 
requirements or fees that would impact the department or the 
state's budget.  Control changes and merger hearings for 
captives are very rare and would be handled by in-house staff. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule will have no fiscal impact 
on local governments since the rule deals solely with the 
relationship between the department and its licensees. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  A 
captive mainly insures a parent and/or its affiliate companies.  
The nature of captives does not usually require public 
involvement, especially in the case of mergers and 
acquisitions since they deal with related parties. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  A captive mainly 
ensures a parent and/or its affiliate companies.  The nature of 
captives does not usually require public involvement, 
especially in the case of mergers and acquisitions since 
ownership they deal with related parties. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 31649 

 
62 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes to this rule will 
have negligible fiscal impact on businesses.  D. Kent Michie, 
Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-238.  Captive Insurance Companies. 
R590-238-4.  Annual Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  A captive insurance company authorized in this state shall file 
an annual report of its financial condition with the commissioner as 
required by Section 31A-37-501.  The report shall be verified by oath 
of two of its executive officers and shall be prepared using generally 
accepted accounting principles ("GAAP").  The annual report may be 
filed electronically consistent with directions from the commissioner. 
 (2)  An association captive insurance company, a sponsored 
captive insurance company, and an industrial insured captive insurance 
company shall observe the requirements of Section 31A-4-113 when 
they file an annual report on its financial condition.  In addition, an 
industrial insured group shall observe the requirements of Section 31A-
4-113.5 when it files an annual report. 
 (3)  All captive insurance companies, except those noted in 
Subsection R590-238-4(2), are to use the "Captive Insurance Company 
Annual Statement Form." 
 (4)  The Report of the Financial Condition shall include a 
statement of a qualified Actuary entitled "Statement of Actuarial 
Opinion," setting forth his or her opinion relating to loss and loss 
adjustment expense reserves. 
 
R590-238-6.  Annual Audit. 
 (1)  All companies shall have an annual audit by an independent 
certified public accountant, approved by the commissioner, and shall 
file such audited financial report with the commissioner on or before 
June 30 for the preceding year[ ending December 31].  Financial 
statements furnished under this section shall be prepared in accordance 
with generally accepted auditing standards as determined by the 
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants ("AICPA"). 

 (2)  The annual audit report shall be considered part of the 
company's annual report of financial condition except with respect to 
the date by which it must be filed with the commissioner. 
 (3)  The annual audit shall consist of the following: 
 (a)  Opinion of Independent Certified Public Accountant 
 (i)  Financial statements furnished pursuant to this section shall be 
examined by independent certified public accountants in accordance 
with generally accepted auditing standards as determined by the 
AICPA. 
 (ii)  The opinion of the independent certified public accountant 
shall cover all years presented. 
 (iii)  The opinion shall be addressed to the company on stationery 
of the accountant showing the address of issuance, shall bear original 
manual signatures and shall be dated. 
 (b)  Report of Evaluation of Internal Controls 
 (i)  This report shall include an evaluation of the internal controls 
of the company relating to the methods and procedures used in the 
securing of assets and the reliability of the financial records, including 
but not limited to, controls as the system of authorization and approval 
and the separation of duties. 
 (ii)  The review shall be conducted in accordance with generally 
accepted auditing standards and the report shall be filed with the 
commissioner. 
 (c)  Accountant's Letter 
 The accountant shall furnish the company, for inclusion in the 
filing of the audited annual report, a letter stating: 
 (i)  that he is independent with respect to the company and 
conforms to the standards of his profession as contained in the Code of 
Professional Ethics and pronouncements of the AICPA and 
pronouncements of the Financial Accounting Standards Board; 
 (ii)  the general background and experience of the staff engaged in 
the audit, including their experience in auditing captive or other 
insurance companies; 
 (iii)  that the accountant understands that the audited annual report 
and his opinions thereon will be filed in compliance with this rule. 
 (iv)  that the accountant consents to the requirements of R590-
238-10; 
 (v)  that the accountant consents and agrees to make the work 
papers as defined in R590-238-3(3) available for review by the 
commissioner, his designee or his appointed agent; and 
 (vi)  that the accountant is properly licensed by an appropriate 
state licensing authority. 
 (d)  Financial Statements 
 (i)  The financial statements required shall be as follows: 
 (A)  balance sheet; 
 (B)  statement of gain or loss from operations; 
 (C)  statement of changes in financial position; 
 (D)  statement of cash flow; 
 (E)  statement of changes in capital paid up, gross paid in and 
contributed surplus and unassigned funds (surplus); and 
 (F)  notes to financial statements. 
 (ii)  The notes to financial statements shall be those required by 
GAAP and shall include: 
 (A)  a reconciliation of differences, if any, between the audited 
financial report and the statement or form filed with the commissioner; 
 (B)  a summary of ownership and relationship of the company and 
all affiliated corporations or companies insured by the captive; and 
 (C)  a narrative explanation of all material transactions with the 
company.  For purposes of this provision, no transaction shall be 
deemed material unless it involves 3% or more of a company's 
admitted assets as of the December 31 next preceding. 
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 (e)  Certification of Loss Reserves and Loss Expense Reserves of 
the company's opining actuary 
 (i)  The annual audit shall include an actuarial opinion as to the 
reasonableness of the company's loss reserves and loss expense 
reserves, unless waived by the commissioner. 
 (ii)  The individual who certifies as to the reasonableness of 
reserves shall be approved by the Commissioner and shall be a Fellow 
or Associate of the Casualty Actuarial Society and a member in good 
standing of the American Academy of Actuaries, for property and 
casualty companies or a Fellow or Associate of the Society of Actuaries 
and a member in good standing of the American Academy of Actuaries 
for life and health companies. 
 (4)  Certification under Subsection R590-238-6(3)(e) shall be in 
such form as the commissioner deems appropriate. 
 
R590-238-16.  Acquisition of Control of or Merger with Domestic 
Company. 
 The acquisition of control of or merger of a domestic captive 
insurance company shall be regulated pursuant to Section 31A-16-103, 
notwithstanding the Commissioner may waive or modify the 
requirements for public notice and hearing when the Commissioner 
concludes the public hearing is not necessary due to limited public 
interest in the change of control. 
 
R590-238-17.  Suspension or Revocation. 
 (1) The commissioner may by order suspend or revoke the license 
of a company or place the same on probation on the following grounds: 
 (a)  the company has not commenced business according to its 
plan of operation within two years of being licensed; 
 (b)  the company has ceased to carry on insurance business in or 
from within Utah; 
 (c)  at the request of the company; or 
 (d)  any reason provided in Section 31A-37-505. 
 (2)  Before the commissioner takes any action set forth under 
R590-238-17(1) the commissioner shall give the company notice in 
writing of the grounds on which the commissioner proposes to act, and 
shall afford the company a hearing as to such proposed action in 
accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 4[6b], Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act. 
 
KEY:  captive insurance 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [May 25, 
2007]2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-37-106 
 

  
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-250 
PEO Assurance Organization 

Designation 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31647 
FILED:  07/01/2008, 14:03 

 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this proposed rule is to establish a process by 
which an assurance organization can be designated for 
certifying the qualifications of a professional provider 
organization. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule establishes a 
process by which an assurance organization can be 
designated for certifying the qualifications of a professional 
provider organization. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 31A-40-303 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will require no change in 
filings or fees to the department. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule will not affect local 
government since it deals only with the relationship between 
the department and its licensees. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Assurance organization certification is an alternative 
qualification process for a Professional Employer Organization 
(PEO).  PEOs choosing this method will pay fees to the 
assurance organization for this service. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Assurance 
organization certification is an alternative qualification process 
for a PEO.  PEOs choosing this method will pay fees to the 
assurance organization for this service. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no mandated 
fiscal impact on businesses.  D. Kent Michie, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
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R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-250.  PEO Assurance Organization Designation. 
R590-250-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to Subsection 31A-40-303(2) 
wherein the commissioner is given authority to designate by rule one 
or more assurance organizations for certifying the qualifications of a 
professional employer organization. 
 
R590-250-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish a process by which 
an assurance organization can be designated for certifying the 
qualifications of a professional provider organization. 
 (2)  This rule applies to any assurance organization certifying 
the qualifications of a professional employer organization with 
operations in Utah. 
 
R590-250-3.  Designation Process. 
 (1)  An assurance organization desiring to be designated by the 
commissioner to certify professional employer organizations in Utah 
shall: 
 (a)  apply by letter requesting designation by the commissioner; 
 (b)  include in the letter or as an attachment to the letter: 
 (i)  an explanation of how the assurance organization will 
certify each of the qualification criteria listed in Section 31A-40-303 
(3); and 
 (ii)  evidence that the assurance organization is licensed by one 
or more states to certify the qualifications of a professional employer 
organization. 
 (2)  The commissioner will designate approved assurance 
organizations by rule. 
 
R590-250-4.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 45 days from 
the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-250-5.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or its application to any person or 
circumstance is, for any reason, held to be invalid, the remainder of 
this rule and its application to other persons and circumstances are 
not affected. 
 
KEY:  insurance, assurance organization designation 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-40-
303(3) 
 

  
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-251 
Preneed Life Insurance Minimum 

Standards for Determining Reserve 
Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Values 

Rule. 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31641 
FILED:  06/30/2008, 15:32 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purposes of this rule for preneed life insurance products are to 
establish minimum mortality standards for reserves and 
nonforfeiture values, and to require the use of the 1980 
Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) Life Valuation Table 
for us in determining reserve liabilities and nonforfeiture 
values. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This regulation protects the 
public interest by increasing necessary reserves to an 
appropriate level, promotes a responsible competitive 
environment by ensuring all insurers are acting responsibly, 
creates equitable value for consumers by increasing cash 
values, promotes the reliability, solvency and financial solidity 
of insurance institutions by increasing the reserve requirement 
on preneed policies. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-17-402, and 31A-22-408 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  2001 CSO Mortality Table, adopted by 
the NAIC in December 2002 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no significant impact on 
filings or additional workload for insurance department 
employees and will create no change in the department's or 
state's budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not affect local 
governments since it deals with the relationship between the 
department and their life insurance licensees. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule deals with reserving at the company level.  It should 
have no fiscal impact on insurance agencies and other 
businesses.  These increased insurer reserves for preneed 
policies will ensure that these policies are honored when 
claims are brought against them. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule will 
require life insurers to increase reserves on preneed policies 
they sell.  It is very unlikely that the increased reserves will 
financially impact agencies selling these policies or 
consumers purchasing them. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule will have no fiscal 
impact on businesses in Utah.  D. Kent Michie, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
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450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-251.  Preneed Life Insurance Minimum Standards For 
Determining Reserve Liabilities And Nonforfeiture Values Rule. 
R590-251-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner of insurance 
pursuant to Subsections 31A-2-201(3), 31A-17-402(1), and 31A-22-
408(11). 
 
R590-251-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purposes of this rule for preneed life insurance 
products are to: 
 (a)  establish minimum mortality standards for reserves and 
non-forfeiture values; and 
 (b)  require the use of the 1980 Commissioners Standard 
Ordinary (CSO) Life Valuation Table for use in determining: 
 (i)  reserve liabilities; and 
 (ii)  nonforfeiture values. 
 (2)  This rule applies to preneed insurance contracts, as defined 
in Section R590-251-3, and to similar policies and certificates as 
determined by the commissioner. 
 
R590-251-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in 31A-1-301 the following 
definitions shall apply for the purposes of this rule. 
 (1)(a)  "2001 CSO Mortality Table" means that mortality table, 
consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female lives, 
developed by the American Academy of Actuaries CSO Task Force 
from the Valuation Basic Mortality Table developed by the Society 
of Actuaries Individual Life Insurance Valuation Mortality Task 
Force, and adopted by the NAIC in December 2002. 
 (b)  The 2001 CSO Mortality Table is included in the 
Proceedings of the NAIC, 2nd Quarter 2002. 
 (c)  Unless the context indicates otherwise, the 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table includes: 
 (i)  the ultimate form of that table; 
 (ii)  the select and ultimate form of that table; 
 (iii)  the smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables; and 
 (iv)  the composite mortality tables. It also includes both the 
age-nearest-birthday and age-last-birthday bases of the mortality 
tables. 
 (2)  "Ultimate 1980 CSO" means the Commissioners' 1980 
Standard Ordinary Life Valuation Mortality Tables (1980 CSO) 

without ten-year (10-year) selection factors, incorporated into the 1980 
amendments to the NAIC Standard Valuation Law approved in 
December 1983. 
 (3)  Preneed insurance contract means any life insurance policy 
or certificate that is issued in combination with, in support of, with 
an assignment to, or as a guarantee for a prearrangement agreement 
for goods and services to be provided at the time of and immediately 
following the death of the insured. 
 (a)  Goods and services may include, but are not limited to 
embalming, cremation, body preparation, viewing or visitation, 
coffin or urn, memorial stone, and transportation of the deceased. 
 (b)  The status of the policy or contract as preneed insurance is 
determined at the time of issue in accordance with the policy form 
filing. 
 (4)  The tables identified in Subsections R590-251-3(1) and 
R590-251-3(2) are hereby incorporated by reference within this rule 
and are available for public inspection at the Insurance Department 
during normal business hours. 
 
R590-251-4.  Minimum Standards. 
 This section sets minimum standards for determining reserve 
liabilities and nonforfeiture values for policies subject to the rule. 
 (1)  Mortality. The mortality used in determining the minimum 
standard for valuation and the minimum standard for nonforfeiture 
values for both male and female insureds shall be the Ultimate 1980 
CSO. 
 (2)  Interest rates. 
 (a)  The interest rates used in determining the minimum 
standard for valuation shall be the calendar year statutory valuation 
interest rates as defined in 31A-17-506. 
 (b)  The interest rates used in determining the minimum 
standard for nonforfeiture values shall be the calendar year statutory 
nonforfeiture interest rates as defined in 31A-22-408. 
 (3)  Methods. 
 (a)  The method used in determining the minimum standard for 
valuation shall be the method defined in 31A-17, Part 5, Standard 
Valuation Law. 
 (b)  The method used in determining the minimum standard for 
nonforfeiture values shall be the method defined in 31A-22-408. 
 
R590-251-5.  Transition Rules. 
 (1)  For policies subject to this rule issued before January 1, 
2012, the 2001 CSO may be used as the minimum mortality 
standard for valuation and minimum mortality standard for 
nonforfeiture values for both male and female insureds. 
 (2)  If an insurer elects to use the 2001 CSO as a minimum 
mortality standard for any policy subject to this rule issued before 
January 1, 2012, the insurer shall provide, as a part of the actuarial 
opinion memorandum submitted in support of the company's asset 
adequacy testing, an annual written notification to the domiciliary 
commissioner.  The notification shall include: 
 (a)  A complete list of all policy forms that use the 2001 CSO 
as a minimum mortality standard; 
 (b)  A certification signed by the appointed actuary stating that 
the reserve methodology employed by the company in determining 
reserve liabilities for the policies subject to this rule and using the 
2001 CSO as a minimum mortality standard, develops adequate 
reserves; and 
 (c)  Supporting information regarding the adequacy of reserves 
for policies subject to this rule and using the 2001 CSO as a 
minimum mortality standard for reserve liabilities. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 31599 

 
66 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

 (3)  For the purpose of the certification required under 
Subsection R590-251-5(2)(b), the policies subject to this rule and 
using the 2001 CSO as a minimum mortality standard cannot be 
aggregated with any other policies. 
 (4)  Policies subject to this rule issued on or after January 1, 
2012, must use the Ultimate 1980 CSO in the calculation of 
minimum reserve liabilities and minimum nonforfeiture values. 
 
R590-251-6.  Effective Date. 
 This rule applies to policies issued on or after January 1, 2009. 
 
R590-251-7.  Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to 
be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided 
under 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-251-8.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 45 days from 
the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-251-9.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or its application to any person or 
circumstance is, for any reason, held to be invalid, the remainder of 
this rule and its application to other persons and circumstances are 
not affected. 
 
KEY:  preneed life insurance standards 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-17-402; 31A-22-408 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-611 
Fee Schedule 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31599 

FILED:  06/20/2008, 12:42 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  In Section 
R651-611-2, a $25 fee for Pedestrian/Cyclist Permit that is 
good for all parks was added because of the demand for more 
walking and bicycle trails in our state parks and as the parks 
are becoming more "urbanized" as residential housing 
development has created this demand.  In Section R651-611-
4, since there is a limited number of yurts in the state park 
campgrounds, and the demand is very high, the state feels it 
necessary to increase the rental fee from $45 to $60.  This 
increase will still be within the market and will generate more 
income for the state.  Added Subsection R651-611-4(F) which 
is the rental of the Jordanelle Visitor Center to include 
weddings, business meetings, and other group functions. 
 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Local residents or 
timeshare owners are showing more interest in using walking 
and bicycle trails on a regular basis.  This creates very little 
impact on facilities and use of the trail less than one hour on 
an average.  The annual pass would be nontransferable for 
the individual purchaser only.  Yurts are becoming so popular 
and demand so high, the fee is requested to be increased to 
$60 per night to accommodate those and perhaps add to the 
number of park system yurts.  The Visitor Center at Jordanelle 
State Park is being renovated to accommodate uses stated 
above.  Demand from the Park City, Salt Lake, and Heber 
areas for these types of function is growing rapidly.  The fee 
that is requested to be charged has come after meetings with 
local caterers and for large affairs, including the outside 
grassy area.  Most events will be between $500 and $1,000 
and the $2,500 is a cap for utilizing the conference room, 
atrium, and outside grass area.  Events requiring less facility 
and/or park staff will be negotiated with division 
representatives. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 63-11-17(8) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  For this annual pass the purchase 
would be $25 per pass;it is estimated there would be an 
additional $7,500 to $10,000 in revenue per year for all parks 
using the pedestrian/bicyclist paths/walkways.  Any savings or 
cost regarding the yurts cannot be estimated at this time as 
the yurts are new to the park system and we have no history 
yet to get figures or even estimate.  The average on the 
increase for the building and facilities rental at Jordanelle is 
estimated to be around $800 and some can be lower and 
some large affairs up to $2,500.  Based on the average of 
$800, that would be an increase in revenue of $32,000. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  State-owned areas for lodging, 
building rental, and trails and walkways for 
pedestrians/bicyclists should not affect local government, as 
this rule is for the recreating public in state parks and facilities. 
 No costs or savings to local government since this rule is for 
state parks and does not involve local government.  There is 
no costs or savings to local government unless they chose to 
rent a state facility for an event. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  In 
certain areas, businesses such as hotels and condominium 
associations will purchase these passes for the benefit of their 
users.  Staff estimates these businesses will spend 
approximately $5,000 per year.  Part of that figure will be paid 
to the state.  Those renting yurts will pay a fee of $60 per 
night.  Those renting the building/facilities at Jordanelle State 
Park will pay a fee to use those facilities. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Individuals who 
use the pedestrian/bicycle paths and do not pay the fee could 
be warned and if it reoccurred, fined. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  These rule changes should 
have little or no impact on businesses.  Michael Styler, 
Executive Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Forbes, Deputy Director (Legislation) 
 
 
 
R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
R651-611.  Fee Schedule. 
R651-611-2.  Day Use Entrance Fees. 
 Permits the use of all day activity areas in a state park.  These fees 
do not include overnight camping facilities or special use fees. 
 A.  Annual Permits 
 1.  $75.00 Multiple Park Permit (good for all parks) 
 2.  $35.00 Senior Multiple Park Permit (good for all parks) 
 3.  $200.00 Commercial Dealer Demonstration Pass 
 4.  Duplicate Annual Permits may be purchased if originals are 
lost, destroyed, or stolen, upon payment of a $10.00 fee and the 
submittal of a signed affidavit to the Division office.  Only one 
duplicate is allowed. 
 5.  $25 Pedestrian/Cyclist Permit (good at all parks) 
 B.  Special Fun Tag - Available free to Utah residents, who are 
disabled, as defined by the Special Fun Tag permit affidavit. 
 

. . . . . . 
 
R651-611-4.  Special Fees. 
 A.  Golf Course Fees 
 1.  Palisade rental and green fees. 
 a.  Nine holes general public - weekends and holidays - $13.00 
 b.  Nine holes weekdays (except holidays) - $11.00 
 c.  Nine holes Jr/Sr weekdays (except holidays) - $8.00 
 d.  20 round card pass - $180.00 
 e.  20 round card pass (Jr only) - $125.00 
 f.  Promotional pass - single person (any day) - $500.00 
 g.  Promotional pass - single person (weekdays only) - $350.00 
 h.  Promotional pass - couples (any day) - $700.00 
 i.  Promotional pass - family (any day) - $900.00 
 j.  Promotional pass - annual youth pass - $150.00 
 k.  Companion fee - walking, non -player - $4.00 
 l.  Motorized cart (18 holes) - $10.00 
 m.  Motorized cart (9 holes ) - $5.00 
 n.  Pull carts (9 holes) - $2.00 
 o.  Club rental (9 holes) - $5.00 

 p.  School teams - No fee for practice rounds with coach and team 
roster.  Tournaments are $3.00 per player. 
 q.  Driving range - small bucket - $2.50 
 r.  Driving range - large bucket - $3.50 
 2.  Wasatch Mountain and Soldier Hollow rental and green fees. 
 a.  Nine holes general public - $13.50 
 b.  Nine holes general public (weekends and holidays) - $13.50 
 c.  Nine holes Jr/Sr weekdays (except holidays) - $11.00 
 d.  20 round card pass - $220.00 - no holidays or weekends 
 e.  Annual Promotional Pass (except holidays) - $1,000.00 
 f.  Business Class Membership Pass - $1,000.00 
 g.  Companion fee - walking, non-player - $4.00 
 h. Motorized cart (9 holes - mandatory on Mt. course) - $13.00 
 i.  Motorized cart (9 holes single rider) - $6.50 
 j.  Pull carts (9 holes) - $2.25 
 k.  Club rental (9 holes) - $6.00 
 l.  School teams - No fee for practice rounds with coach and team 
roster (Wasatch County only). 
 Tournaments are $3.00 per player. 
 m.  Tournament fee (per player) - $5.00 
 n.  Driving range - small bucket - $2.50 
 o.  Driving range - large bucket - $5.00 
 p.  Advance tee time booking surcharge - $15.00 
 q.  Gift Certificate Fee (Per Player) - $5.00 
 3.  Green River rental and green fees. 
 a.  Nine holes general public - $10.00 
 b.  Nine holes Jr/Sr weekdays (except holidays) - $8.00 
 c.  Eighteen holes general public - $16.00 
 d.  20 round card pass - $160.00 
 e.  Promotional pass - single person (any day)- $375.00 
 f.  Promotional pass - personal golf cart - $350.00 
 g.  Promotional pass - single person (Jr/Sr weekdays)- $275.00 
 h.  Promotional pass - couple (any day) - $600.00 
 i.  Promotional pass - family (any day) - $750.00 
 j.  Promotional pass - annual youth pass - $150.00 
 k.  Companion fee - walking, non-player - $4.00 
 l.  Motorized cart (9 holes) - $10.00 
 m.  Motorized cart (9 holes single rider) - $5.00 
 n.  Pull carts (9 holes) - $2.25 
 o.  Club rental (9 holes) - $5.00 
 p.  School teams - No fee for practice rounds with coach and team 
roster.  Tournaments are $3.00 per player. 
 4.  Golf course hours are daylight to dark 
 5.  No private, motorized golf carts are allowed, except where 
authorized by existing contractual agreement. 
 6.  Jr golfers are 17 years and under.  Sr golfers are 62 and older. 
 B.  Boat Mooring and Dry Storage 
 1.  Mooring Fees: 
 a.  Day Use - $5.00 
 b.  Overnight Boat Parking - $7.00 (until 8:00 a.m.) 
 c.  Overnight Boat Camping - $15.00 (until 2:00 p.m.) 
 d.  Monthly - $4.00/ft. 
 e.  Monthly with Utilities - (Bear Lake and Jordanelle - Hailstone) 
$7.00/ft. 
 f.  Monthly with Utilities - (Other Parks) $5.00/ft. 
 g.  Monthly Off Season - $3.00/ft 
 h.  Monthly (Off Season with utilities) - $4.00/ft 
 2.  Dry Storage Fees: 
 a.  Overnight (until 2:00 p.m.) - $5.00 
 b.  Monthly During Season - $75.00 
 c.  Monthly Off Season - $50.00 
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 d.  Monthly (unsecured) - $25.00 
 C.  Application Fees - Non - refundable PLUS Negotiated Costs. 
 1.  Grazing Permit - $20.00 
 2.  Easement - $250.00 
 3.  Construction/Maintenance - $50.00 
 4.  Special Use Permit - $50.00 
 5.  Waiting List - $10.00 
 D.  Assessment and Assignment Fees. 
 1.  Duplicate Document - $10.00 
 2.  Contract Assignment - $20.00 
 3.  Returned checks - $30.00 
 4.  Staff time - $50.00/hour 
 5.  Equipment Maintenance and Repair: 
 - Snow Cat - $100.00/hour 
 - Boat - $50.00/per hour 
 - ATV/Snowmobile - $50.00/hour 
 - Other Heavy Equipment - $100.00/hour 
 - Vehicle - $50.00/hour 
 6.  Researcher - $5.00/hour 
 7.  Photo copy - $ .30/each - Black and White 
 - $1.00/each - Color 
 8.  Fee collection - $10.00 
 E.  Lodging Fees. 
 1.  Cabins: 
 (a)  Basic:  No indoor plumbing or kitchenette 
 $60 per night - weekend 
 $40 per night - Sunday through Thursday 
 (b)  Deluxe:  Indoor plumbing and kitchenette 
 $80 per night - weekend 
 $60 per night - Sunday through Thursday 
 2.  Yurt - (circular, domed portable tent) 
 $60 per night [- weekend 
 $45 per night - Sunday through Thursday] 
 F.  Facility Rental Fees. 
 Jordanelle Visitor Center - Up to $2,500 per day. 
 
KEY:  parks, fees 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 10, 
2008]August 21, 2008 
Notice of Continuation:  February 13, 2006 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63-11-17(8) 
 

  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-617 
Permit Violation 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31602 

FILED:  06/20/2008, 13:26 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  There has 
been a noticeable increase in the alteration of the annual park 
passes by the purchasers.  This rule amendment will add a 
permit violation if a permit is found to be intentionally altered 

or changed and a fee of $500 may be assessed.  This is to 
halt intentional permit violations, by imposing the loss of the 
permit for time stated in the rule and/or a fine of $500. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Upon purchase of an 
annual pass, park staff "notches" out the month (printed on 
the sides of the pass), in which the pass was purchased.  This 
notch entitles the pass holder to enter into any state park for 
the next 12 months.  A number of pass holders have been 
notching a future month out, and replacing the original notch 
with that month, by carefully taping it into the old notch.  
Without careful scrutiny, the pass appears to be legitimate.  
The division does not currently have a rule in place that 
directly addresses this issue.  This amendment will address 
the issue and we believe stop some of this altering of the park 
permits/passes. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 63-11-2 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated costs or savings 
to the state budget as this rule is to impose penalties on those 
who alter state park passes/permits.  With a $500 fine 
available to impose, we have no history but the impact would 
be little or none to the state budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This is a state park pass/permit for 
state parks only.  Therefore it has no aggregate anticipated 
costs or savings to local government. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
There is no costs or savings to small businesses as this is a 
permit violation for a state park pass to visit state parks in the 
system. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It could cost a 
person who violates a permit, the revocation or suspension of 
the permit and a fine of $500 may be imposed. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule should have little or 
no impact on businesses.  Michael Styler, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Forbes, Deputy Director (Legislation) 
 
 
 
R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
R651-617.  Permit Violation. 
R651-617-1.  Revocation or Suspension of Permit. 
 A permit may be revoked or suspended for a time, from a 
minimum of seven (7) days to a maximum of the duration of the permit 
by the division director or individual designated by the division director 
if one or more of the following actions are found to have occurred, 
based on their severity:  (1) false or fictitious statements or 
qualifications were provided to obtain the permit; (2) the terms or 
conditions of the permit were violated; or (3) the permit holder allowed 
the permit to be used by an unauthorized person; or (4) the permit is 
found to be intentionally altered or changed.  In addition, a fine of $500 
may be assessed. 
 
KEY:  parks 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [December 2, 
1999]August 21, 2008 
Notice of Continuation:  October 23, 2003 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63-11-17(2)(b) 
 

  
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-6 
Taking Upland Game 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31609 

FILED:  06/24/2008, 08:43 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory Council 
meetings and the Wildlife Board meeting conducted for taking 
public input and reviewing the upland game program as 
approved by the Wildlife Board. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed revisions to 
the above listed rules:  1) change the sandhill crane 
application to online only; and 2) remove the 8:00 a.m. 
restriction to take pheasant and quail on the opening day of 
the seasons. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--This amendment changes the 
sandhill crane application to online only, bringing it in line with 
all of the other division applications, and removes the 8:00 
a.m. start time for pheasant and quail on opening day.   The 
proposed changes to the rule do not create a cost or savings 

impact to the state budget or the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (DWR) budget and can be carried out with current 
personnel and budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This amendment changes the 
sandhill crane application to online only and removes a 8:00 
a.m. shooting restriction.  The proposed change does not 
create any direct cost or savings impact to local governments 
because they are not directly affected by the rule. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
None--This amendment changes the application process for 
the sandhill crane drawing and removes a 8:00 a.m. shooting 
restriction.  This change does not impose any additional 
requirements on other persons, nor generate a cost or savings 
impact to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This amendment 
changes the application process for the sandhill crane drawing 
and removes a 8:00 a.m. shooting restriction on opening day 
for pheasant and quail.  The proposed change to the rule does 
not create additional compliance costs. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-6.  Taking Upland Game. 
R657-6-5.  Application Procedure for Sandhill Crane. 
 (1)(a)  Applications will be available [from]through the 
Division[ offices and license agents]'s internet address.  Applications 
must be [mailed]submitted online by the date prescribed in the 
proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking upland game. 
 (b)  Residents and nonresidents may apply. 
 (c)  The application period for Sandhill Crane is published in 
the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking upland game. 
 (2)[(a)  Applications completed incorrectly or received after the 
date prescribed in the upland game proclamation may be rejected. 
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 (b)]  If an error is found on the application, the applicant may 
be contacted for correction. 
 (3[)(a)  Late applications, received by the date published in the 
proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking upland game, will not 
be considered in the drawing, but will be processed for the purpose 
of entering data into the Division's draw database to provide: 
 (i)  future pre-printed applications; 
 (ii)  notification by mail of late application and other draw 
opportunities; and 
 (iii)  re-evaluation of Division or third-party errors. 
 (b)  The handling fee will be used to process the late 
application.  Any Utah hunting or combination license fees 
submitted with the application will be refunded. 
 (c)  Late applications, received after the date published in the 
proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking upland game, shall not 
be processed and shall be returned to the applicant. 
 (4])  Group applications for Sandhill Crane will not be 
accepted. 
 ([5]4)(a)  A person may obtain only one Sandhill Crane permit 
each year. 
 (b)  A person may not apply more than once annually. 
 ([6]5)  Each application must include: 
 (a)  a nonrefundable handling fee; and 
 (b)  the hunting or combination license fee, if it has not yet 
been purchased. 
 ([7]6)  A hunting or combination license may be purchased 
before applying, or the hunting or combination license will be issued 
upon successful drawing results.  Fees must be submitted with the 
application. 
 ([8]7)  The posting date of the drawing results is published in 
the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking upland game. 
 ([9]8)  Any permits remaining after the drawing are available[ 
by mail-in application] on a first-come, first-served basis beginning 
on the date published in the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for 
taking upland game. 
 ([10]9)  To apply for a resident permit or license, a person must 
establish residency at the time of purchase. 
 ([11]10)  The posting date of the drawing shall be considered 
the purchase date of a permit. 
 ([12]11)(a)  An applicant may withdraw their application for 
the Sandhill Crane Drawing by requesting such in writing by the 
date published in the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking 
upland game. 
 (b)  The applicant must send their notarized signature with a 
statement requesting that their application be withdrawn to the Salt 
Lake Division office. 
 (c)  An applicant may reapply in the Sandhill Crane Drawing 
provided: 
 (i)  the original application is withdrawn; 
 (ii)  the new application is submitted with the request to 
withdraw the original application; 
 (iii)  both the new application and request to withdraw the 
original application are received by the initial application deadline; 
and 
 (iv)  both the new application and request to withdraw the 
original application are submitted to the Salt Lake Division office. 
 (d)  Handling fee will not be refunded. 
 ([13]12)(a)  An applicant may amend their application for the 
Sandhill Crane Drawing by requesting such in writing by the initial 
application deadline. 

 (b)  The applicant must send their notarized signature with a 
statement requesting that their application be amended to the Salt 
Lake Division office. 
 (c)  The applicant must identify in their statement the requested 
amendment to their application. 
 
R657-6-10.  Shooting Hours. 
 (1)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (b), shooting hours for 
upland game are as follows: 
 (i)  Band-tailed Pigeon, Mourning Dove, White-winged Dove, 
and Sandhill Crane may be taken only between one-half hour before 
official sunrise through official sunset. 
 (ii)  Sage-grouse, Ruffed Grouse, Blue Grouse, Sharp-tailed 
Grouse, White-tailed Ptarmigan, Chukar Partridge, Hungarian 
Partridge, pheasant, quail, cottontail rabbit, and snowshoe hare may 
be taken only between one-half hour before official sunrise through 
one-half hour after official sunset. 
 (b)  A person must add to or subtract from the official sunrise 
and sunset depending on the geographic location of the state.  
Specific times are provided in a time zone map in the proclamation 
of the Wildlife Board for taking upland game. 
 (2)  [Pheasant and quail may not be taken prior to 8 a.m. on the 
opening day of the pheasant and quail seasons. 
 (3)  ]A person may not discharge a firearm on state owned 
lands adjacent to the Great Salt Lake, state waterfowl management 
areas or on federal refuges between official sunset through one-half 
hour before official sunrise. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, birds, rabbits, game laws 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Change:  [August 7, 
2007]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  July 8, 2005 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 23-14-18; 
23-14-19 
 

  
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-16 
Aquaculture and Fish Stocking 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31611 

FILED:  06/24/2008, 09:03 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory Council and 
Wildlife Board meetings conducted for taking public input and 
reviewing the division's program by which live aquatic wildlife 
may be possessed or transported. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Provisions of this rule are 
being amended to exclude private fish ponds which are now 
regulated under Rule R657-59.  Provisions are being 
amended to allow the division to take aquatic wildlife from the 
wild for placement in an aquarium for purposes of display or 
education.  Other changes are being made for consistency 
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and clarity.  (DAR NOTE:  The 120-day (emergency) rule filing 
for Rule R657-59 is under DAR No. 31625 in this issue, July 
15, 2008, of the Bulletin, and was effective 06/27/2008.  The 
proposed new Rule R657-59 is under DAR No. 31612 in this 
issue of the Bulletin.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-15-9 and 23-15-10 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment removes private fish 
ponds from the text and makes the appropriate reference to 
Rule R657-59.  It also allows for the Division of Wildlife 
Resources (DWR) to take aquatic wildlife from the wild for 
placement in an aquarium for purposes of display or 
education, and makes other changes for consistency and 
clarity.  DWR has determined that this amendment does not 
create a cost or savings impact to DWR's budget or the state 
budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they are not directly affected by the amendment.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the amendment 
does not create a situation requiring services from local 
governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This amendment removes private fish ponds from the text and 
makes the appropriate reference to Rule R657-59.  It also 
allows for DWR to take aquatic wildlife from the wild for 
placement in an aquarium for purposes of display or 
education, and makes other changes for consistency and 
clarity.  DWR determines the amendment does not impose 
any additional requirements on other persons, nor generate a 
cost or savings impact to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This amendment 
removes private fish ponds from the text and makes the 
appropriate reference to Rule R657-59.  It also allows for 
DWR to take aquatic wildlife from the wild for placement in an 
aquarium for purposes of display or education, and makes 
other changes for consistency and clarity.  There are not any 
additional compliance costs associated with this amendment. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-16.  Aquaculture and Fish Stocking. 
R657-16-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under the authority of Sections 23-15-9 and 23-15-10 of 
the Utah Code, this rule provides the standards and procedures for: 
 (a)  institutional aquaculture; 
 (b)  [private fish ponds; 
 (c)  ]short-term fishing events; 
 ([d]c)  private fish stocking; and 
 ([e]d)  displaying aquaculture products or aquatic wildlife in 
aquaria. 
 (2)  This rule does not cover private fish ponds as provided in 
R657-59, or fee fishing and commercial aquaculture as provided in 
Title 4, Chapter 37, Parts 2 and 3; and the Department of Agriculture 
Rule R58-17. 
 (3)  A person engaging in any activity provided in Subsection 
(1) must also comply with the provisions set forth in Rule R657-3 
and the Department of Agriculture Rule R58-17. 
 (4)  Any violation of, or failure to comply with, any provision 
of this rule or any specific requirement contained in a certificate of 
registration issued pursuant to this rule may be grounds for 
revocation or suspension of the certificate of registration or denial of 
future certificates of registration, as determined by a division 
hearing officer. 
 
R657-16-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Aquaculture" means the husbandry, production, harvest, 
and use of aquatic organisms under controlled, artificial conditions. 
 (b)  "Aquaculture facility" means any facility used for 
propagating, rearing, or producing aquatic wildlife or aquaculture 
products. Facilities that are separated by more than 1/2 mile, or 
facilities that drain to, or are modified to drain to, different drainages 
are considered to be separate aquaculture facilities, regardless of 
ownership. 
 (c)(i)  "Aquaculture product" means privately purchased 
aquatic wildlife or their gametes. 
 (ii)  "Aquaculture product" does not include aquatic wildlife 
obtained from the wild. 
 (d)  "Aquarium" means any container located in an indoor 
facility that is used to hold fish from which no water is discharged, 
except during periodic cleaning, and which discharged water is 
passed through a filtering system capable of removing all fish and 
fish eggs and is disposed of only in a septic tank approved by the 
county or in a municipal wastewater treatment system approved by 
either the state or local health department. 
 (e)  "Display" means to hold live aquaculture products or 
aquatic wildlife in an aquarium for the purpose of viewing for 
commercial or noncommercial purposes. 
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 (f)  "FEMA" means Federal Emergency Management 
Administration. 
 (g)  "Institutional aquaculture" means aquaculture engaged in 
by any institution of higher learning, school, or other educational 
program, or public agency. 
 (h)  "Ornamental fish" means fish that are raised or held for 
their beauty rather than use, or that arouse interest for their 
uncommon or exotic characteristics, including tropical fish, goldfish, 
and koi, but not including those species listed as prohibited or 
controlled in Rule R657-3-34. 
 (i)  "Private fish pond" means a pond, reservoir, or other body 
of water, or any fish culture system which is contained on privately 
owned land and used for holding or rearing fish for a private, 
noncommercial purpose. 
 (j)  "Private stocking" means noncommercial stocking of live 
aquaculture products in waters of the state not [covered by a 
certificate of registration for]eligible as a private fish pond under 
R657-59 or other private fish facility. 
 (k)  "Purchase" means to buy, or otherwise acquire or obtain 
through barter, exchange, or trade for pecuniary consideration or 
advantage. 
 (l)  "Short-term fishing event" means any event where privately 
acquired fish are held or confined for a period not to exceed seven 
days for the purpose of providing fishing or recreational opportunity 
and where no fee is charged as a requirement to fish. 
 
R657-16-6.  Failure to Renew Certificates of Registration 
Annually. 
 (1)  If an operator of an aquaculture facility, [or private fish 
pond ]fails to renew the certificate of registration annually, or the 
hearing officer suspends the certificate of registration, all live 
aquatic wildlife or aquaculture products permitted under the 
certificate of registration shall be disposed of as follows: 
 (a)  Unless the Wildlife Board orders otherwise, all aquatic 
wildlife or aquaculture products must be removed within 30 days of 
revocation or the expiration date of the certificate of registration, or 
within 30 days after ice-free conditions on the water; or 
 (b)  At the discretion of the division, aquatic wildlife or 
aquaculture products may remain in the waters at the facility, but 
shall only be taken as prescribed within Rule R657-13 for Taking 
Fish and Crayfish. 
 (2)  Aquatic wildlife or aquaculture products from a facility not 
health approved under Section 4-37-501 may not be moved alive. 
 (3)  Aquatic wildlife or aquaculture products from an aquatic 
facility infected with any of the pathogens specified in the 
Department of Agriculture Rule R58-17 must be disposed of as 
directed by the division to prevent further spread of such diseases. 
 
R657-16-10.  Private Fish Ponds. 
 [(1)  A certificate of registration is required to produce, 
propagate, rear, or possess any aquatic wildlife or aquaculture 
product in a private fish pond for private, noncommercial purposes.  
A separate certificate of registration is required for each private fish 
pond as defined under aquaculture facility. 
 (2)  A private fish pond owner or operator may not sell, donate, 
or transfer live fish or live fish eggs, except approved species may 
be transferred to the private fish pond from an approved source. 
 (3)  A fishing license is not required to take fish from a 
certificated private fish pond. 
 (4)(a)  To transport dead fish without a license, a person must 
have a receipt which contains the following information: 

 (i)  species and number of fish; 
 (ii)  date caught; 
 (iii)  certificate of registration number of the private fish pond; 
and 
 (iv)  name, address, and telephone number of the owner of the 
private fish pond. 
 (b)  Any person that has a valid fishing license may transport 
up to a legal limit of dead fish from a private fish pond without 
further documentation. 
 (5)(a)  A certificate of registration for a private fish pond may 
be obtained by submitting an application and paying a fee in the 
amount established by the Wildlife Board. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration may be issued after a division 
representative inspects the private fish pond, and confirms that the 
pond: 
 (i)  meets all requirements stipulated in this rule and Title 23 of 
the Utah Code; and 
 (ii)  poses no identifiable adverse threat to other wildlife 
species or their habitat. 
 (c)  The following conditions apply to the stocking of nonnative 
fish in the Upper Colorado River Basin: 
 (i)  private ponds within the 50-year flood plain may be stocked 
with largemouth bass, bluegill, mosquitofish, or triploid grass carp 
provided the pond is bermed in accordance with FEMA standards; 
and 
 (ii)  outlets must be screened with 1/4 inch or smaller mesh, or 
other anti-escapement device acceptable to the division, to prevent 
the escape of fish; or 
 (iii)  isolated fish ponds, having no connection to the river that 
are above the 50-year flood plain, may be stocked with largemouth 
bass, bluegill, mosquitofish, or triploid grass carp; or 
 (iv)  isolated private ponds, having no connection to the river 
that are above 6,500-foot mean sea level (msl) and above the 100-
year flood plain may be stocked with fathead minnow or channel 
catfish; and 
 (v)  outlets must be screened with 1/4 inch or smaller mesh, or 
other anti-escapement device acceptable to the division, to prevent 
the escape of fish. 
 (d)  A certificate of registration may be renewed annually for 
six consecutive years by submitting an application each year, paying 
a fee in the amount established by the Wildlife Board and submitting 
the records described in Subsection (6).  After a period of six years, 
or in the event the annual renewals are not maintained for any 
reason, the water shall again undergo original application, 
inspection, and payment of a fee in the amount established by the 
Wildlife Board. 
 (6)(a)  Any person that possesses a certificate of registration for 
a private fish pond must submit to the division a report of all live 
fish purchased or acquired during the year.  This report must contain 
the following information: 
 (i)  name, address, and certificate of registration number of the 
seller or supplier; 
 (ii)  number and weight, by species; 
 (iii)  date of sale or transfer; and 
 (iv)  name, address, and certificate of registration number of the 
receiver. 
 (b)  A form for this information is provided by the division. 
 (c)  This record must be sent to the division no later than 
January 30, and must be received before the certificate of 
registration may be renewed.]Private fish ponds are regulated under 
the provisions in R657-59. 
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R657-16-12.  Private Stocking. 
 (1)  An individual wishing to stock fish for private, 
noncommercial purposes in a body of water not [covered by a 
certificate of registration]eligible as a private fish pond under R657-
59 must first obtain a certificate of registration for private stocking. 
 (2)  Fish released in a state water [which is not covered by a 
certificate of registration]not eligible as a private fish pond under 
R657-59 are considered wild aquatic wildlife and may be taken only 
as provided in Rule R657-13 and the fishing proclamation. 
 (3) A water that does not qualify as a private fish pond may not 
be screened to contain fish stocked (pursuant to a certificate of 
registration for private stocking), except that a water stocked with 
grass carp to control aquatic weeds must be adequately screened to 
prevent the grass carp from escaping. 
 (4)(a)  Private stocking is limited only to those species 
approved on the certificate of registration. 
 (b)  Species approval will be based on the biological suitability 
of the requested species compared to the needs of the fish and other 
wildlife in the drainage. 
 (c)  An amendment to the certificate of registration is required 
each time fish are stocked, except the division may allow a person to 
stock fish more than once if the request is made on the application, 
and is approved by the division. 
 (d)  Fish may be acquired only from a source that has a valid 
fish health approval number assigned by the Department of 
Agriculture. 
 (5)(a)  An application for a certificate of registration for private 
stocking to stock fish other than grass carp may be approved only if: 
 (i)  on privately owned land; 
 (ii)  the body of water is a reservoir, the reservoir is wholly 
contained on the land owned by the applicant; and 
 (iii)  the body of water is not stocked or otherwise actively 
managed by the division. 
 (b)  An application for a certificate of registration for private 
stocking of fish other than grass carp shall not be approved if: 
 (i)  the fish to be stocked are for a commercial purpose; or 
 (ii)  in the opinion of the division, stocking would cause harm 
to other species of fish or wildlife. 
 (6)  An application for a certificate of registration for private 
stocking of triploid grass carp for control of aquatic weeds will be 
evaluated based upon: 
 (a)  the severity of the weed problem; 
 (b)  availability of other suitable means of weed control; 
 (c)  adequacy of screening to contain the grass carp; and 
 (d)  potential for conflict or detrimental interactions with other 
species of fish or wildlife. 
 (7)  A certificate of registration for private stocking may be 
issued after review of the appropriateness of the requested species 
and inspection of the water to be stocked by a division representative 
to ensure compliance with the stipulations of this rule and the 
absence of any threat to other fish or wildlife species. 
 (8)  A certificate of registration for private stocking may be 
obtained by submitting an application and paying a fee in the 
amount established by the Wildlife Board. 
 
R657-16-14.  Display. 
 (1)(a)  A certificate of registration is required to hold live 
aquatic wildlife or aquaculture products in an aquarium for the 
purpose of viewing or displaying for commercial or noncommercial 
purposes, except the division may hold live aquatic wildlife or 
aquaculture products in an aquarium for educational viewing or 

display without a certificate of registration.  A certificate of 
registration is not required to display ornamental fish. 
 (b)  Live aquatic wildlife or aquaculture products that are 
displayed must meet the health approval standards described in 
Section 4-37-501. 
 (2)(a)  Aquatic wildlife taken from the wild may not be 
displayed or held in an aquarium. 
 (b)  The division may take aquatic wildlife from the wild for 
placement in an aquarium for purposes of display or education. 
 (3)  Live aquaculture products held in an aquarium for display 
may not be transferred, sold alive, released, or stocked.  They may 
be sold as long as they are first killed and prepared for consumption. 
 (4)(a)  A certificate of registration for display of live 
aquaculture products in an aquarium may be obtained by submitting 
an application and paying a fee in the amount established by the 
Wildlife Board. 
 (b)  The certificate of registration is renewable every five years 
on or before the renewal date as specified on the certificate of 
registration by submitting an application, paying a fee in the amount 
established by the Wildlife Board, and submitting the records 
described in Subsection (5). 
 (5)(a)  A person possessing a certificate of registration for 
display must submit to the division an annual report of each 
purchase or acquisition of live aquaculture products.  This report 
must include the following information: 
 (i)  name, address, certificate of registration number, and health 
approval number of the source; and 
 (ii)  number and weight acquired, by species. 
 (b)  This record must be submitted to the division no later than 
January 30 each year, and must be received before the certificate of 
registration can be renewed. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, aquaculture, fish 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
[November 15, 2002]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  October 9, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 23-15-9; 23-
15-10 
 

  
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-23 
Utah Hunter Education Program 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31613 

FILED:  06/24/2008, 09:15 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended to add text to clarify the definition of "Hunter 
Education Registration Certificate" and to add an exemption 
allowed by H.B. 427 for members of the United States Armed 
Forces or Utah National Guard from having to complete the 
shooting practical test.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 427 (2008) is 
found at Chapter 217, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
05/05/2008.) 
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  "Hunter Education 
Registration Certificate" definition was revised to better reflect 
a valid period of 365 days.  An exemption was added for 
members of the United States Armed Forces or Utah National 
Guard from having to complete the shooting practical test. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-19-11 and 23-19-12 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule is being amended to clarify 
definitions and to add an exemption for military personnel.  
The Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) determines that this 
amendment does not create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or DWR's budget and can be implemented with 
current budget and personnel. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they are not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule is only clarifying an existing definition and adding an 
exemption for military personnel.  Therefore, this amendment 
does not impose any additional requirements on other 
persons, nor generate a cost or savings impact to other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule is only 
clarifying an existing definition and adding an exemption for 
military personnel.  Therefore, the division determines that 
there are not any additional compliance costs associated with 
this amendment. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-23.  Utah Hunter Education Program. 
R657-23-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Approved hunter education course" means any hunter 
education course that qualifies a person to receive a resident hunting 
license in the state, province, or country in which the hunter 
education course is offered. 
 (b)  "Authorized division representative" means a volunteer 
hunter education instructor who has been approved by the division 
to issue duplicate blue cards. 
 (c)  "Blue Card" means the certificate of completion issued by 
the division for having passed a Utah hunter education course or an 
approved hunter education course. 
 (d)  "Certificate of completion" means a card, certificate, or 
other document issued by the wildlife agency of a state, province, or 
country, and signed by a hunter education instructor, verifying 
successful completion of an approved hunter education course. 
 (e)  "Hunter Education Registration Certificate" means a 
document purchased from the division that is valid for 365 days 
from date of purchase which is required to sign up for and graduate 
from the hunter education course.  This document becomes a valid 
hunting license upon validation of course completion by a certified 
hunter education instructor. 
 (f)  "Practical exercise and testing day" means a student has 
successfully completed the hunter education course online and shall 
participate in taking a written test, a practical shooting test, and 
instruction on firearms safety and hunter responsibility during a 
minimum of five hours with a hunter education instructor. 
 ([f]g)  "Trainer" means a volunteer hunter education instructor 
or Division employee who has been certified by the division to train 
hunter education instructors. 
 ([g]h)  "Instructor" means a volunteer hunter education 
instructor or division employee who has been certified by the 
division to teach the hunter education program to students. 
 ([h]i)  "Online hunter education course" means a hunter 
education course that is completed online substituting the minimum 
12 hours classroom requirement, and is taken through the division's 
Internet address. 
 ([i]j)  "Student" means a person who is registered in a hunter 
education course being taught by a certified hunter education 
instructor. 
 ([j]k)  "Traditional hunter education course" means a hunter 
education course that is a minimum of 12 classroom hours, a written 
test and a practical shooting test. 
 
R657-23-3.  Hunter Education Required. 
 (1)(a)  To obtain a hunting license, any person born after 
December 31, 1965, must present proof of having passed a division 
approved hunter education course. 
 (b)  A person may take a hunter education course offered by the 
division as provided in Subsection (2), (3), or (4). 
 (2)  Completion of a traditional hunter education course 
requires students to: 
 (a)  purchase a hunter education [voucher]registration 
certificate from a Division authorized licensed vendor; 
 (b)  attend the minimum 12-hour classroom course; 
 (c)  behave in a safe and responsible manner in class; 
 (d)  obtain a passing score of at least 75% on a written test; and 
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 (e)  obtain a passing score of at least 50% on a shooting 
practical test. 
 (3)  Completion of the online hunter education course requires 
students to: 
 (a)  purchase a hunter education [voucher]registration 
certificate from a Division authorized licensed vendor. 
 (b)  pre-register for the field day by contacting the instructor by 
mail, e-mail or telephone; 
 (c)  comprehensively read each chapter of the online workbook, 
and complete and obtain a passing score of at least 80% of each quiz 
that is provided after each chapter of the workbook; 
 (d)  behave in a safe and responsible manner while attending 
the field day; 
 (e)  obtain a passing score of at least 75% on a written test; and 
 (f)  obtain a passing score of at least 50% on a shooting 
practical test. 
 (4)(a)  The division will issue a Blue Card to each individual 
who successfully completes the hunter education course. 
 (b)  A Blue Card shall not be issued to a person who has not 
successfully completed the hunter education requirements. 
 (5)  A member of the United States Armed Forces or Utah 
National Guard is exempt from the shooting practical test required in 
Subsections 2 and 3 above if they can provide a copy of their federal 
form 201 from the military outlining their firearms training to the 
hunter education instructor prior to the firearms practical test. 
 (6)  The division shall accept other states, provinces, and 
countries criteria and qualifications for their respective courses, 
which meet or exceed the International Hunter Education 
Association hunter education standards. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, game laws, hunter education 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April 7], 
2008 
Notice of Continuation:  December 6, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implementing or Interpreted Law:  23-19-11 
 

  
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-55 
Wildlife Convention Permits 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31608 

FILED:  06/24/2008, 08:40 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory Council and 
Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually for taking public 
input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife's rule pursuant to 
convention permits. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed revisions to 
the above listed rule:  1) add definition of "Special nonresident 
convention permit"; and 2) make technical corrections for 
consistency and accuracy. 
 

STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment defines the criteria for 
a nonresident permit to be awarded through the recognized 
convention.  Since there is already an electronic system in 
place for the issuing of convention permits, the Division of 
Wildlife Resources (DWR) determines that these amendments 
do not create a cost or savings impact to the state budget or 
DWR's budget since the changes will not increase workload 
and can be carried out with existing budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Since this amendment only defines 
the criteria for an additional nonresident convention permit, 
this should have little to no effect on the local government.  
This filing does not create any direct costs or savings impact 
to local governments because they are not directly affected by 
the rule.  Nor are local governments indirectly impacted 
because the rule does not create a situation requiring services 
from local governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This amendment allows additional opportunity for 
nonresidents to acquire once-in-a-lifetime permits through the 
recognized annual convention.  It has the potential to increase 
the cost to those sportsman wanting to participate. Therefore, 
the amendments have the potential to generate a cost or 
savings impact to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR determines 
that these amendments will create additional costs for 
nonresidents wishing to apply for a once-in-a-lifetime hunt in 
Utah at the annual convention.  Participation is voluntary and 
the rule amendments do not create a cost or savings impact to 
individuals who do not participate in hunting in Utah. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule does not create an 
impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
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R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-55.  Wildlife Convention Permits. 
R657-55-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under the authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 of 
the Utah Code, this rule provides the standards and requirements for 
issuing wildlife convention permits. 
 (2)  Wildlife convention permits are authorized by the Wildlife 
Board and issued by the division to a qualified conservation 
organization for purposes of generating revenue to fund wildlife 
conservation activities and attracting a regional or national wildlife 
convention to Utah. 
 (3)  The selected conservation organization will conduct a 
random drawing at a convention held in Utah to distribute the 
opportunity to receive wildlife convention permits. 
 (4)  This rule is intended as authorization to issue one series of 
wildlife convention permits per year beginning in 2007 through 
2011 to one qualified conservation organization. 
 
R657-55-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Conservation organization" means a nonprofit chartered 
institution, corporation, foundation, or association founded for the 
purpose of promoting wildlife conservation. 
 (b)  "Special nonresident convention permit" means one 
wildlife convention permit for each once-in-a-lifetime species that is 
only available to a nonresident hunter legally eligible to hunt in 
Utah. 
 (c)  "Wildlife Convention" means a multi-day event held within 
the state of Utah that is sponsored by multiple wildlife conservation 
organizations as their national or regional convention or event that is 
open to the general public and designed to draw nationwide 
attendance of more than 10,000 individuals.  The wildlife 
convention may include wildlife conservation fund raising activities, 
outdoor exhibits, retail marketing of outdoor products and services, 
public awareness programs, and other similar activities. 
 ([c]d)  "Wildlife Convention Permit" means a permit which: 
 (i)  is authorized by the Wildlife Board to be issued to 
successful applicants through a drawing or random selection process 
conducted at a Utah wildlife convention; and 
 (ii)  allows the permittee to hunt for the designated species on 
the designated unit during the respective season for each species as 
authorized by the Wildlife Board. 
 ([d]e)  "Wildlife Convention Permit series" means a single 
package of permits to be determined by the Wildlife Board for: 
 (i)  deer; 
 (ii)  elk; 
 (iii)  pronghorn; 
 (iv)  moose; 
 (v)  bison; 
 (vi)  rocky mountain goat; 
 (vii)  desert bighorn sheep; 
 (viii)  rocky mountain bighorn sheep; 
 (ix)  wild turkey; 
 (x)  cougar; or 
 (xi)  black bear. 
 ([e]f)  "Secured Opportunity" means the opportunity to 
participate in a specified hunt that is secured by an eligible applicant 
through the drawing process. 
 ([f]g)   "Successful Applicant" means an individual selected to 
receive a wildlife convention permit through the drawing process. 

R657-55-3.  Wildlife Convention Permit Allocation. 
 (1)  The Wildlife Board may allocate wildlife convention 
permits by May 1 of the year preceding the wildlife convention. 
 (2)  Wildlife convention permits shall be issued as a single 
series to one conservation organization. 
 (3)  The number of wildlife convention permits authorized by 
the Wildlife Board shall be based on: 
 (a)  the species population trend, size, and distribution to 
protect the long-term health of the population; 
 (b)  the hunting and viewing opportunity for the general public, 
both short and long term; and 
 (c)  a percentage of the permits available to nonresidents in the 
annual big game drawings matched by a proportionate number of 
resident permits. 
 (4)  Wildlife convention permits, including special nonresident 
convention permits, shall not exceed 200 total permits. 
 (5)  Wildlife convention permits designated for the convention 
each year shall be deducted from the number of public drawing 
permits. 
 
R657-55-5.  Hunter Application Procedures. 
 (1)  Any hunter legally eligible to hunt in Utah may apply for a 
wildlife convention permit except that only a nonresident of Utah 
may apply for a special nonresident convention permit. 
 (2)  Any handling fee assessed by the conservation organization 
to process applications shall not exceed $5 per application submitted 
at the convention. 
 (3)  Applicants must validate their application in person at the 
wildlife convention to be eligible to participate in the random 
drawing process, for wildlife convention permits, and no person may 
submit an application in behalf of another. 
 (4)  Applicants may apply for each individual hunt for which 
they are eligible. 
 (5)  Applicants may apply only once for each hunt, regardless 
of the number of permits for that hunt. 
 (6)  Applicants must submit an application for each desired 
hunt. 
 (7)  Applicants must possess a current Utah hunting or 
combination license in order to apply for a permit. 
 
R657-55-6.  Drawing Procedures. 
 (1)  A random drawing or selection process must be conducted 
for each wildlife convention permit. 
 (2)  No preference or bonus points shall be awarded in the 
drawings. 
 (3)  Waiting periods do not apply, except any person who 
obtains a wildlife convention permit for a once-in-a-lifetime species 
is subject to the once-in-a-lifetime restrictions applicable to 
obtaining a subsequent permit for the same species through a 
division application and drawing process, as provided in Rule R657-
5 and the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking big game. 
 (4)  No predetermined quotas or restrictions shall be imposed in 
the application or selection process for wildlife convention permits 
between resident and nonresident applicants, except that special 
nonresident convention permits may only be awarded to a 
nonresident of Utah. 
 (5)  Drawings will be conducted at the close of the convention. 
 (6)  Applicants do not have to be present at the drawing to be 
awarded a wildlife convention permit. 
 (7)  The conservation organization shall draw twenty five 
eligible alternates for each wildlife convention permit and provide 
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the division with a finalized list.  This list will be maintained by the 
conservation organization until all permits are issued. 
 (8)  The division shall contact successful applicants by phone 
or mail, and the conservation organization may post results on a 
designated website. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, wildlife permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Change:  [November 21, 
2007]2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19 
 

  
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-57 
Division Variance Rule 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31610 

FILED:  06/24/2008, 08:54 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
established to provide authority, standards, and procedures 
for granting remedial relief to persons precluded from 
obtaining or using a wildlife document because of an event or 
condition beyond their control. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule provides the 
standards and procedures for granting variance requests to 
qualified individuals.  This rule outlines the authority scope of 
the Wildlife Board and the Division of Wildlife Resources 
(DWR). 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This new rule will set the criteria for 
granting remedial relief to persons precluded from obtaining or 
using a wildlife document because of an event or condition 
beyond their control.  DWR determines that these 
amendments do not create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or DWR's budget since the changes will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This filing does not create any direct 
cost or savings impact to local governments because they are 
not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local governments 
indirectly impacted because the rule does not create a 
situation requiring services from local governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule outlines criteria and scope of authority used to grant 
remedial relief to persons precluded from obtaining or using a 
wildlife document because of an event or condition beyond 
their control.  Therefore, the amendments do not impose any 
additional requirements on other persons, nor generate a cost 
or savings impact to other persons. 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR determines 
that these amendments do not create a cost or savings impact 
to individuals who participate in wildlife related activities. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-57.  Division Variance Rule. 
R657-57-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 this 
rule is established to provide authority, standards and procedures for 
granting remedial relief to persons precluded from obtaining or 
using a wildlife document because of an event or condition beyond 
their control. 
 
R657-57-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "CWMU" means cooperative wildlife management unit, as 
defined in Section 23-23-2; 
 (b)  "Event or condition" means a circumstance in a person's 
life beyond their control that precludes or substantially limits their 
ability to obtain or use a wildlife document; 
 (c)  "Immediate family member" means a person's spouse, 
child, stepchild, grandchild, brother, sister, parent, stepparent, 
grandparent, mother-in-law, or father-in-law; 
 (d)  "Variance" means remedial relief granted by the Division 
or Wildlife Board to restore a person's opportunity to obtain or use a 
wildlife document which is completely lost or substantially impaired 
because of an intervening event or condition; and 
 (e)  "Wildlife document" means any license, permit, tag, or 
certificate of registration issued by the Division. 
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R657-57-3.  Division Variance Authority. 
 (1)  The Division may issue variances to qualified individuals, 
subject to the standards, limitations, requirements, and procedures in 
this rule. 
 
R657-57-4.  Division Variance Authority Scope. 
 (1)(a)  The Division may grant a season extension variance 
extending the hunting season on an applicant's wildlife document to 
the same or substantially similar hunt in the following year, 
provided: 
 (i)  the variance request involves a wildlife document 
authorized in R657-57-5; 
 (ii)  the applicant was completely precluded during the 
prescribed hunting season from using a wildlife document because 
of a qualifying event or condition set forth in R657-57-6; and 
 (A)  the qualifying event or condition was not the result of the 
applicant's willful misconduct or gross negligent acts or omissions; 
 (iii)  the season extension is restricted to the same species, 
gender, unit, weapon type, and season as the original wildlife 
document; 
 (iv)  any changes in unit descriptions and season dates in the 
extension year are applied; and 
 (v)  the variance is otherwise requested and issued in 
compliance with the standards, requirements and procedures set 
forth in this rule. 
 (b)  Any waiting period associated with a wildlife document for 
which a season extension variance is granted begins on the date the 
original wildlife document is obtained. 
 (2)(a)  The Division may grant a variance by awarding a bonus 
or preference point to a person who filed an untimely wildlife 
document application in a Division administered drawing, provided: 
 (i)  the variance request involves a wildlife document 
authorized in R657-57-5; 
 (ii)  the applicant was precluded or substantially impaired from 
filing a timely application because of a qualifying event or condition 
set forth in R657-57-6; 
 (iii)  the untimely application was rejected and a bonus or 
preference point was not awarded for the selected species; 
 (iv)  the applicant would have been eligible to receive the bonus 
or preference point had the application been timely filed; and 
 (v)  the variance is otherwise requested and issued in 
compliance with the standards, requirements and procedures set 
forth in this rule. 
 (3)  A Division administered drawing for purposes of 
subsection (2)  does not include a drawing conducted at a wildlife 
convention pursuant to R657-55. 
 
R657-57-5.  Eligible Wildlife Documents. 
 (1)  The Division's authority to grant a variance consistent with 
the requirements of this rule extends to all resident and nonresident 
wildlife documents, excluding the following: 
 (a)  hunting licenses; 
 (b)  fishing licenses; 
 (c)  combination licenses; 
 (d)  waterfowl permits; 
 (e)  sandhill crane permits; 
 (f)  upland game permits; 
 (g)  furbearer licenses; 
 (h)  bobcat and marten permits; 
 (i)  cougar harvest objective permits; 
 (j)  cougar and bear pursuit permits; and 

 (k)  certificates of registration. 
 (2)  A season extension variance for a CWMU permit may not 
be granted without the concurrence of the CWMU operator. 
 
R657-57-6.  Qualifying Events and Conditions. 
 (1)  The Division's authority to grant a variance consistent with 
the requirements of this rule is limited to persons that are completely 
precluded during the prescribed season from participating in the 
hunting activity authorized by an eligible wildlife document, or 
precluded or substantially impaired from filing a timely wildlife 
document application in a Division administered drawing because 
of: 
 (a)  personal illness or injury; 
 (b)  the death, or significant injury or illness of an immediate 
family member; or 
 (c)  mobilization or deployment under orders of the United 
States Armed forces, a public health organization, or public safety 
organization in the interest of national defense or a national 
emergency. 
 
R657-57-7.  Variance Application. 
 (1)  A person may request a variance pursuant to the 
requirements of this rule by filing an application with the Division 
within 200 days of the: 
 (a)  last day of the hunting season for which a season extension 
variance is requested; or 
 (b)  drawing application deadline for which a bonus or 
preference point variance is sought. (2)  An application for a 
season extension variance shall contain the following information 
and documentation: 
 (a)  name, address and telephone number of the applicant; 
 (b)  a brief statement of the variance relief sought; 
 (c)  a description of the wildlife document for which a season 
extension variance is sought, including the permit number, species 
and sex, season dates, and weapon type; 
 (d)  the original wildlife document for which a season extension 
variance is sought with an undetached and unnotched tag; 
 (e)  a statement verifying the applicant was completely 
precluded from participating in a qualified hunt because of: 
 (i)  personal illness or injury; 
 (ii)  the death, or significant injury or illness of an immediate 
family member; or 
 (iii)  mobilization or deployment under orders of the United 
States Armed Forces, or a public health or public safety organization 
in the interest of national defense or a national emergency. 
 (f)  corroborating documentation of the qualifying event or 
condition listed in Subsection (2)(e), in the form of: 
 (i)  a physician's written statement describing and confirming 
the qualifying injury or illness of the applicant or an immediate 
family member; 
 (ii)  a photocopy of the deceased immediate family member's 
certified death certificate; or 
 (iii)  a photocopy of the military orders, or a letter from an 
employment supervisor on official public health or public safety 
organization letterhead stating: 
 (A)  the branch of the United States Armed Forces, or name of 
the public health organization or public safety organization from 
which the applicant is deployed or mobilized; and 
 (B)  the nature and length of duty while deployed or mobilized. 
 (3)  An application for a bonus or preference point variance 
shall contain the following information and documentation: 
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 (a)  name, address and telephone number of the applicant; 
 (b)  a brief statement of the variance relief sought; 
 (c)  a description of the wildlife document application and 
permit type for which a bonus or preference point variance is sought, 
including the wildlife species and sex, season dates, and weapon 
type; 
 (d)  a statement verifying the applicant was precluded or 
substantially impaired from submitting a wildlife document 
application because of: 
 (i)  personal illness or injury; 
 (ii)  the death, or significant injury or illness of an immediate 
family member; or 
 (iii)  mobilization or deployment under orders of the United 
States Armed Forces, or a public health or public safety organization 
in the interest of national defense or a national emergency. 
 (e)  corroborating documentation of the qualifying event or 
condition listed in Subsection (3)(d), in the form of: 
 (i)  a physician's written statement describing and confirming 
the qualifying injury or illness of the applicant or an immediate 
family member; 
 (ii)  a photocopy of the deceased immediate family member's 
certified death certificate; or 
 (iii)  a photocopy of the military orders, or a letter from an 
employment supervisor on official public health or public safety 
organization letterhead stating: 
 (A)  the branch of the United States Armed Forces, or name of 
the public health organization or public safety organization from 
which the applicant is deployed or mobilized; and 
 (B)  the nature and length of their duty while deployed or 
mobilized. 
 (4)  The Division may reject an application that is incomplete 
or that contains false or misleading information. 
 (5)  The Division may require the applicant to provide 
additional information, documentation, or clarification in 
conjunction with an application to determine eligibility for a 
variance. 
 (6)  The Division shall make its written decision within 30 days 
of receiving an application for variance and mail a copy of the 
decision to the applicant. 
 
R657-57-8.  Division Variance Committee. 
 (1)  The Division shall establish a variance committee 
consisting of the Wildlife Chief, Administrative Services Chief, 
Licensing Coordinator, and Rules Coordinator, or their designees, 
which shall: 
 (a)  review variance applications submitted to the Division 
pursuant to this rule; 
 (b)  determine facts relative to variance requests; 
 (c)  apply the provisions of this rule to relevant facts; and 
 (d)  grant or deny variance requests in accordance with this 
rule. 
 (2)  Any variance request granted or denied shall be reviewed 
and approved by the Division director/designee before notice of 
decision is provided to the variance request applicant. 
 
R657-57-9.  Variance Denial. 
 (1)  The variance committee and Division director shall deny a 
variance request where the applicant: 
 (a)  fails to satisfy the variance criteria set forth in this rule; 
 (b)  is under a judicial or administrative order suspending 
his/her Utah hunting privileges for the species at the time: 

 (i)  the variance request is filed or at any time during a 
extension season; or 
 (ii)  the wildlife document application period expired for a 
bonus or preference point variance; 
 (c)  was legally ineligible to receive or use the wildlife 
document for which a season extension variance is sought; 
 (d)  is legally ineligible to hunt during the extension season; 
 (e)  is legally ineligible to use the weapon type authorized by 
the wildlife document during the original hunting season or the 
extension season; 
 (f)  provides false or misleading information on a material fact 
in the variance request application; or 
 (g)  provides false or misleading information on a material fact 
in a previous variance request application. 
 (2)  The Division may deny a variance request when it is 
contrary to sound public policy, wildlife management objectives, 
Division policies and interests, or the interests sought to be served 
by this rule. 
 
R657-57-10.  Wildlife Board Appeals. 
 (1)  A person may appeal the Division's decision on a variance 
application to the Wildlife Board pursuant to the requirements of 
this rule.  The appeal request must be in writing and received by the 
Wildlife Board within 30 calendar days of the issuance date on the 
Division's decision. 
 (2)  The appeal shall contain the following information and 
documentation: 
 (a)  name, address and telephone number of the petitioner; 
 (b)  a statement of the variance relief sought and justification 
for the relief; 
 (c)  a description of the wildlife document for which the 
variance is sought, including the document number, species and sex, 
season dates, and weapon type; 
 (d)  the original wildlife document for which the variance is 
sought; 
 (e)  a statement describing the degree of lost opportunity 
because of an event or condition; and 
 (f)  corroborating documentation of the event or condition listed 
in R657-57-7(2)(e)  and (3)(d), which may include: 
 (i)  a physician's written statement; 
 (ii)  a certified death certificate photocopy; 
 (iii)  a photocopy of the military orders; 
 (iv)  a letter from an employment supervisor on official 
letterhead; or 
 (v)  court documentation. 
 (3)  The Wildlife Board may reject a variance appeal that is 
incomplete or that contains false or misleading information. 
 (4)  The Wildlife Board may require the petitioner to provide 
additional information, documentation, or clarification in 
conjunction with the variance appeal. 
 (5)  The Wildlife Board may set a time and date for a hearing 
on the variance appeal where the petitioner will be given an 
opportunity to address the Wildlife Board concerning the appeal. 
 (a)  The Wildlife Board will provide the petitioner notice of the 
date, time, and location of the hearing, and the petitioner or a 
representative shall be present at the hearing, in person or 
telephonically, to advance the merits of the variance appeal. 
 (b)  Failure to participate in the hearing may result in dismissal 
of the variance appeal. 
 (6)  The Wildlife Board may sustain, overturn, or modify the 
Division's order which is the subject of the variance appeal, 
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provided the relief granted is consistent with the standards, 
limitations, requirements, and procedures in R657-57-11 through 
R657-57-13. 
 (7)  The Wildlife Board will prepare a written decision on the 
variance appeal and mail a copy to the petitioner. 
 
R657-57-11.  Wildlife Board Variance Authority. 
 (1)  The Wildlife Board may grant a variance to any regulation 
promulgated in Title R657 of the Administrative Code or in 
proclamation concerning the acquisition or use of a wildlife 
document, provided the event or condition justifying the variance: 
 (a)  is not the result of the applicant's willful misconduct or 
gross negligent acts or omissions; 
 (b)  precludes the applicant from participating in: 
 (i)  the activity authorized by the wildlife document during a 
substantial portion of the authorized season; or 
 (ii)  the application or drawing procedures for receiving a 
wildlife document; and 
 (c)  is of a nature that it deprives opportunity from the applicant 
in a substantially more severe manner than other similarly situated 
individuals. 
 (2)  The Wildlife Board is limited to considering only those 
variance applications on which the Division has issued a letter 
indicating the variance relief sought is beyond its legal authority to 
grant. 
 (3)  The Wildlife Board may grant a variance that extends a 
wildlife document season no more than five years into the future. 
 (4)  The Wildlife Board may award a bonus or preference point 
pursuant to a variance request only when the applicant would have 
received such a point had the event or condition not intervened. 
 (5)  The Wildlife Board may not grant a variance in direct 
conflict with any provision of the Wildlife Code or elsewhere in 
statute. 
 (6)  The Wildlife Board may not refund wildlife document fees, 
except as authorized in Sections 23-19-38 and 23-19-38.2. 
 
R657-57-12.  Variance Guidelines. 
 (1)  The Wildlife Board may use the following guidelines in 
considering and deciding variance appeals and requests submitted 
pursuant to this rule: 
 (a)  monetary cost of the wildlife document; 
 (b)  degree of difficulty in obtaining the original wildlife 
document; 
 (c)  future opportunity to obtain the same or similar wildlife 
document; 
 (d)  extent of lost opportunity; 
 (e)  time actually engaged in the activity authorized by the 
wildlife document relative to the overall season length; 
 (f)  time available to engage in the activity authorized by the 
wildlife document prior to the event or condition precluding further 
activity; 
 (g)  impact on wildlife management objectives; 
 (h)  degree of difficulty in tracking and monitoring season 
extensions into the future; 
 (i)  applicant's fault or contribution in failing to mitigate the 
degree of lost opportunity; 
 (j)  nature of the event or condition contrasted against the 
advisability of  attempting to insure optimal opportunity; 
 (k)  objective of a variance is to restore lost opportunity, not 
provide increased opportunity; and 
 (l)  consistency with previous variance request decisions. 

 (2)  Nothing herein shall be construed as limiting or prohibiting 
the Wildlife Board from considering additional factors in its 
discussions and deliberations concerning variance appeals and 
requests. 
 
R657-57-13.  Wildlife Board Variance Denial. 
 (1)  The Wildlife Board shall deny a variance appeal or request 
where the applicant: 
 (a)  fails to satisfy the variance criteria set forth in this rule; 
 (b)  is under a judicial or administrative order suspending 
his/her wildlife document privileges at the time the variance request 
is filed or at any time while the variance would be in effect; 
 (c)  was legally ineligible to apply for, obtain, or use the 
original wildlife document for which a variance is sought; 
 (d)  is legally ineligible to engage in the activity proposed for 
authorization in  a variance; 
 (e)  is legally ineligible to use the weapon type or implement 
authorized by a wildlife document during the original season or the 
proposed substitute season; 
 (f)  provides false or misleading information on a material fact 
in the variance request application or the appeal; or 
 (g)  provides false or misleading information on a material fact 
in a previous variance request application or appeal. 
 (2)  The Wildlife Board may deny a variance appeal or request 
when it is contrary to sound public policy, wildlife management 
objectives, Division policies and interests, or the interests sought to 
be served by this rule. 
 
R657-57-14.  Fraud, Deceit, or Misrepresentation. 
 Any variance obtained under this rule by fraud, deceit or 
misrepresentation is void. 
 
R657-57-15.  Finality of Decision. 
 (1)  The decision of the Wildlife Board on any variance appeal 
or request under this rule constitutes final agency action and is not 
subject to: 
 (a)  further administrative review; or 
 (b)  judicial review under Title 63G, Chapter 4 of the Utah 
Code, Utah Administrative Procedures Act. 
 (2)  The variance relief authorized in this rule is discretionary 
and neither a right nor entitlement in form or substance.  The 
Division and Wildlife Board shall exercise sole discretion in 
determining whether relief will be granted and to what extent. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31612 
FILED:  06/24/2008, 09:11 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This is a 
new rule to regulate the stocking of privately propagated fish 
into privately-owned ponds in the state of Utah.  It is in 
compliance with H.B. 148 which was passed during the 2008 
Utah Legislative Session.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 148 (2008) is 
found at Chapter 69, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
05/05/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule provides the 
standards and procedures for private fishponds.  (DAR NOTE: 
 A corresponding 120-day (emergency) rule filing for Rule 
R657-59 is under DAR No. 31625 in this issue, July 15, 2008, 
of the Bulletin, and was effective 06/27/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-15-9 and 23-15-10 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This new rule will regulate the stocking 
of privately propagated fish into privately-owned ponds.  It will 
also simplify criteria which was previously defined in Rule 
R657-16.  The Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) 
determines that these amendments do not create a cost or 
savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget since the 
changes will not increase workload and can be carried out 
with existing budget.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment for Rule R657-16 is under DAR No. 31611 in this 
issue, July 15, 20088, of the Bulletin.) 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Since this new rule only clarifies 
restrictions already in place in a separate rule, this should 
have little to no effect on the local government.  This filing 
does not create any direct costs or savings impact to local 
governments because they are not directly affected by the 
rule.  Nor are local governments indirectly impacted because 
the rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
local governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule may impose additional financial requirements on 
persons requesting to stock a private pond in certain areas of 
the state in that they would be required to pay a Certificate of 
Registration (COR) and inspection fee, however, other 
individuals who wish to stock fish in ponds not located in an 
area of concern will see a savings by not having to pay the 
COR or inspection fee. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR determines 
that these amendments may create a cost or savings impact 
to individuals who wish to stock game fish in a private pond 
depending on whether a COR and inspection fee will be 
required.  Areas requiring a COR and inspection fee are areas 
where special concerns have been identified. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 

do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-59.  Private Fish Ponds. 
R657-59-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under the authority of Sections 23-15-9 and 23-15-10 of 
the Utah Code, this rule provides the standards and procedures for 
private fish ponds. 
 (2)  This rule does not regulate fee fishing or private 
aquaculture as provided in Title 4, Chapter 37 of the Utah Code, and 
Department of Agriculture Rule R58-17. 
 (3)  Any violation of, or failure to comply with, any provision 
of Title 23 of the Utah Code, this rule, or any specific requirement 
contained in a certificate of registration or exemption certificate 
issued pursuant to this rule may be grounds for suspension of the 
certificate or denial of future certificates, as determined by the 
division. 
 
R657-59-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Aquaculture" means the husbandry, production, harvest, 
and use of aquatic organisms under controlled, artificial conditions. 
 (b)  "Aquaculture facility" means any facility used for 
propagating, rearing, or producing aquatic wildlife or aquaculture 
products. Facilities that are separated by more than 1/2 mile, or 
facilities that drain to, or are modified to drain to, different drainages 
are considered to be separate aquaculture facilities, regardless of 
ownership. 
 (c)(i)  "Aquaculture product" means privately purchased 
aquatic wildlife, or their eggs or gametes. 
 (ii)  "Aquaculture product" does not include aquatic wildlife 
obtained from the wild. 
 (d)  "Certified sterile salmonid" means any salmonid fish or 
gamete that originates from a health certified source and is incapable 
of reproduction due to triploidy or hybridization. 
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 (i)  Triploid salmonids accepted as sterile under this subsection 
shall originate from a source that is certified as incapable of 
reproduction using the following protocols: 
 (A)  fish samples shall be collected, prepared, and submitted to 
a certified laboratory by an independent veterinarian, certified fish 
health professional, or other professional approved by the division; 
 (B)  certified laboratories shall be limited to independent, 
professional laboratories capable of reliably testing fish sterility and 
approved by the division; and 
 (C)  sterility shall be determined by sampling and testing 60 
fish from each egg lot with procedures generally accepted in the 
scientific community as reliable for verifying tripoidy with a 95% or 
greater success rate. 
 (ii)  An aquaculture facility that receives certified sterile 
salmonid aquaculture product is not required to conduct additional 
sterility testing prior to stocking the aquaculture product in a private 
fish pond, provided the sterile salmonids are kept segregated from 
other fertile salmonids. 
 (iii)  Hybrid salmonid fish species accepted as sterile under this 
subsection are limited to splake trout (lake trout/brook trout cross)  
and tiger trout (brown trout/brook trout cross)  . 
 (e)  "Exemption certificate" means a document issued by the 
division pursuant to R657-59-7 that exempts a designated private 
fish pond from the requirement of obtaining a certificate of 
registration to stock aquaculture product in the pond. 
 (f)(i)  "HUC" or "Hyrologic Unit Code" means a cataloging 
system developed by the US Geological Survey and the Natural 
Resource Conservation Service to identify watersheds in the United 
States. HUCs are typically reported at the large river basin (6-digit 
HUC) or smaller watershed (11-digit and 14-digit HUC) scale. 
 (ii)  HUC maps and other associated information are available 
at http://water.usgs.gov/wsc/sub/1602.html. 
 (g)  "Ornamental fish" means fish that are raised or held for 
their beauty rather than use, or that arouse interest for their 
uncommon or exotic characteristics, including tropical fish, goldfish, 
and koi, but not including those species listed as prohibited or 
controlled in Rule R657-3-34. 
 (h)  "Private fish pond" means a pond, reservoir, or other body 
of water, or any fish culture system which is contained on privately 
owned land and used for holding or rearing fish for a private, 
noncommercial purpose. 
 (i)  "Purchase" means to buy, or otherwise acquire or obtain 
through barter, exchange, or trade for pecuniary consideration or 
advantage. 
 (j)  "Salmonid" means any fish belonging to the trout/salmon 
family. 
 
R657-59-3.  Certificate of Registration Not Required. 
 (1)  A certificate of registration is not required to receive and 
stock an aquaculture product in a private fish pond, provided the 
following conditions are satisfied: 
 (a)  the pond is not located on a natural lake, natural flowing 
stream, or reservoir constructed on a natural stream channel; 
 (b)  the pond is properly screened consistent with the 
requirements in R657-59-15 to prevent the movement of aquatic 
wildlife into the pond or the movement of any aquaculture product 
out of the pond; 
 (c)  the aquaculture product is delivered to the pond by a 
licensed aquaculture facility as defined in Section 4-37-103; 
 (d)  the owner, lessee, or operator of the pond obtains from the 
aquaculture facility delivering the aquaculture product a valid health 

approval number issued by the Utah Department of Agriculture and 
Food pursuant to Section 4-37-501 authorizing the aquaculture 
facility to culture and transport the species of aquaculture product 
received at the pond; 
 (e)  the species, strain, and reproductive capability of the 
aquaculture product received is authorized for stocking in the area 
where the pond is located consistent with the requirements in R657-
59-16; 
 (f)  the aquaculture product received is of sufficient size to be 
incapable of escaping the pond through or around the screen; 
 (g)  the owner or operator of the private fish pond provides the 
aquaculture facility a signed written statement that the pond and 
aquaculture product received are in compliance with this section; 
and 
 (h)  the owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond or an 
invitee has not previously been found in violation of any provision 
of Title 4, Chapter 37 or Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this rule. 
 
R657-59-4.  Aquaculture Facility Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  A person who owns or operates an aquaculture facility shall 
file an annual report with the division documenting each sale or 
transfer of live aquaculture product made pursuant to R657-59-3 and 
R657-59-7 to a private fish pond owner, lessee, or operator. 
 (2)  The report shall contain: 
 (a)  the name, address, and Utah health approval number of the 
person; 
 (b)  the name, address, and phone number of the private fish 
pond's owner, lessee, or operator; 
 (c)  the number and weight of aquaculture product by: 
 (i)  species; 
 (ii)  strain; and 
 (iii)  reproductive capability; 
 (d)  date of sale or transfer; 
 (e)  description of the private fish pond location, including 
UTM coordinates; and 
 (f)  written verification for each live sale or transfer that the 
private fish pond was inspected and is in compliance with the 
requirements of Sections 23-15-10(2)  and (3)  (c)  and this rule. 
 (3)  The report required in this Subsection shall be submitted to 
and received by the division no later than December 31. 
 
R657-59-5.  Certificate of Registration Required. 
 (1)  A certificate of registration must be obtained from the 
division to receive, stock, or possess an aquaculture product in a 
private fish pond where: 
 (a)  the aquaculture product is classified under R657-59-16 as 
an unauthorized species, strain, or reproductive capability for the 
area where the pond is located; 
 (b)  the aquaculture facility does not deliver the aquaculture 
product directly to the private fish pond; or 
 (c)  the owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond or an 
invitee is found in violation of any provision of Title 4, Chapter 37 
or Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this rule. 
 (2)  A separate certificate of registration is required for each 
private fish pond as defined under "aquaculture facility" in R657-59-
2. 
 
R657-59-6.  Application for a Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)  A person may apply to receive a certificate of registration 
for a private fish pond by submitting an application with the required 
handling and inspection fee to the Wildlife Registration Office, Utah 
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Division of Wildlife Resources, 1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake 
City, Utah 84114. 
 (a)  Application forms are available at all division offices and at 
the division's internet address. 
 (2)  A certificate of registration may be issued after a division 
representative inspects the private fish pond and confirms that the 
pond and the aquaculture products requested for stocking in the 
pond meet all requirements in this rule and Title 23 of the Utah 
Code. 
 (3)  The application may require up to 30 days for processing. 
 (4)  The division may deny a private fish pond application 
where: 
 (a)  the application is incomplete, filled out incorrectly, or 
submitted without the appropriate fee; 
 (b)  the pond is located on a natural lake, natural flowing 
stream, or a reservoir constructed on a natural stream channel; 
 (c)  the pond is not screened consistent with the requirements in 
R657-59-15; 
 (d)  the source of the aquaculture product is not an authorized 
aquaculture facility with a health approval number issued pursuant 
to Section 4-37-501; 
 (e)  the applicant or its agents or invitees have previously 
violated of any provision of Title 4, Chapter 37 of the Utah Code, 
Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this rule; 
 (f)  receiving or stocking the aquaculture product in the pond 
may: 
 (i)  violate any federal, state or local law or any agreement 
between the state and another party; 
 (ii)  negatively impact native wildlife species listed by the 
division as sensitive or by the federal government as threatened or 
endangered; 
 (iii)  pose an identifiable adverse threat to other wildlife species 
or their habitat; or 
 (iv)  pose an identifiable adverse impact to the division's game 
fish stocking regimes or wildlife management objectives; 
 (g)  the aquaculture product received is sufficiently small to be 
capable of escaping the pond through or around the screen; or 
 (h)  non-salmonid aquaculture product will be stocked in a 
pond within the 100 year flood plain (below 6500 feet in elevation) 
in the Green River and Colorado River drainages and the pond does 
not meet FEMA standards on construction and screening. 
 (5)  An application for private fish pond certificate of 
registration may not be denied without the review and consent of the 
division director or a designee. 
 (6)  A private fish pond certificate of registration shall remain 
effective for 5 years from the date of issuance, unless: 
 (a)  amended by the division at the request of private fish pond 
owner, lessee, or operator; 
 (b)  terminated or modified by the division pursuant to R657-
59-17; or 
 (c)  suspended by the division or a court pursuant to Section 23-
19-9. 
 (7)  Certificates of registration are renewable on or before the 
expiration date identified on the certificate of registration and upon 
payment of the prescribed handling, and inspection fees. 
 
R657-59-7.  Exemption Certificate. 
 (1)  Upon application for a private fish pond certificate of 
registration and a risk assessment of the pond by the division under 
R657-59-6, the Division may issue an exemption certificate in lieu 
of a certificate of registration where the following conditions exist: 

 (a)  The pond is eligible to receive a certificate of registration 
under the requirements of this chapter; 
 (b)  The pond and species, strain and reproductive capability of 
aquaculture product requested present no risk to native aquatic 
wildlife species because: 
 (i)  the location and configuration of the pond physically 
eliminate the possibility of aquaculture product escaping into the 
surface waters of the state; 
 (ii)  the pond has no inflow or outflow connection with the 
surface waters of the state; 
 (iii)  the pond is located in an area where escapement of 
aquaculture product will cause no ecological damage to native 
aquatic wildlife species; or 
 (iv)  the pond is located in an area where no Tier I or II aquatic 
wildlife species on the division's sensitive species list or threatened 
or endangered species listed under the Endangered Species Act will 
be threatened by the risk of escapement; and 
 (c)  the aquaculture product is delivered directly to the pond by 
the aquaculture facility. 
 (2)  The exemption certificate shall have the legal effect of a 
certificate of registration for purposes of stocking the pond with the 
species, strain and reproductive capability of aquaculture product 
authorized in the exemption certificate. 
 (3)  Aquaculture facilities supplying aquaculture product to 
private fish ponds operating under an exemption certificate shall 
comply with: 
 (a)  the written terms of the exemption certificate; and 
 (b)  the inspection and reporting requirements in R657-59-4. 
 (4)  The exemption certificate will: 
 (a)  designate the species, strain and reproductive capability of 
aquaculture product that may be stocked in the pond; 
 (b)  identify any restrictions or conditions relative to stocking 
and maintaining aquaculture product in the pond; 
 (c)  identify the owner, lessee, or operator of the private fish 
pond; and 
 (d)  describe the private fish pond's location, including UTM 
coordinates. 
 (5)  The private fish pond exemption certificate shall remain 
effective, without the requirement of renewal, for the useful life of 
the pond, provided: 
 (a)  the ownership of the pond does not change; 
 (b)  the pond, screen, and inflow and outflow structures remain 
in the same state that existed when inspected; 
 (c)  the species, strain, and reproductive capability of 
aquaculture product stocked and maintained in the pond remains 
consistent with the that authorized in the exemption certificate; and 
 (d)  the exemption certificate is not modified, terminated, or 
suspended by the division pursuant to Section 23-19-9, R657-59-
1(3), or R657-59-17 or a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 (6)  Any private fish pond operating under authority of an 
exemption certificate which is modified, terminated, or suspended 
pursuant to Section 23-19-9, R657-59-1(3), or R657-59-17 shall be 
subject to the aquaculture product depopulation requirements in 
R657-59-8. 
 
R657-59-8.  Failure to Renew Certificates of Registration. 
 (1)  If an owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond fails 
to renew the certificate of registration upon expiration, or the 
division suspends or terminates the certificate of registration, all live 
aquaculture products permitted under the certificate of registration 
shall be disposed of as follows: 
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 (a)  Unless the Wildlife Board orders otherwise, all aquaculture 
products must be removed within 30 days of suspension or the 
expiration date of the certificate of registration, or within 30 days 
after ice-free conditions on the water; or 
 (b)  At the discretion of the division, aquaculture products may 
remain in the waters at the facility, but shall only be taken as 
prescribed within Rule R657-13 for Taking Fish and Crayfish. 
 (2)  Aquaculture products in a private fish pond may not be 
moved alive unless the pond has received disease testing and is 
issued a health approval number from the Department of Agriculture 
and Food pursuant to Section 4-37-501. 
 (3)  Aquaculture products from a private fish pond infected 
with any pathogen specified in the Department of Agriculture Rule 
R58-17 must be disposed of as directed by the division to prevent 
further spread of such  pathogen. 
 
R657-59-9.  Reporting Requirements for Private Fish Ponds 
Authorized by Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)  Any person that possesses a certificate of registration for a 
private fish pond must submit to the division an annual report of all 
live aquaculture products purchased or acquired during the year. 
This report must contain the following information: 
 (a)  the name, address, and phone number of the private fish 
pond's owner, lessee, or operator; 
 (b)  name, address, and certificate of registration number of the 
seller or supplier; 
 (c)  the number and weight of aquaculture product by: 
 (i)  species; 
 (ii)  strain; and 
 (iii)  reproductive capability; 
 (d)  date of sale or transfer; 
 (2)  A form for this information is provided by the division. 
 (3)  The annual report must be received by the division no later 
than January 30. 
 
R657-59-10.  Importation. 
 (1)(a)  The species, strains, and reproductive capabilities of live 
aquaculture products that may be imported and stocked in a private 
fish pond without a certificate of registration are provided in R657-
59-16; 
 (b)  A certificate of registration or exemption certificate is 
required to import and stock all species, strains and reproductive 
capabilities of live aquaculture products not specifically exempted 
from licensure in R657-59-16. 
 (2)  Applications to import aquaculture products are available 
from all division offices and must be submitted to the division's 
Wildlife Registration Office in Salt Lake City.  Applications may 
require up to 30 days for action. 
 
R657-59-11.  Acquiring and Transferring Aquaculture Products. 
 (1)  Live aquaculture products, other than ornamental fish, may 
be: 
 (a)  purchased or acquired only from sources that have a valid 
certificate of registration from the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food to sell such products or from a person located outside Utah 
if that person is approved by the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food to import the particular aquaculture product; and 
 (b)  acquired, purchased or transferred only from sources which 
have been health approved by the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food and assigned a fish health approval number as provided in 
Section 4-37-501. This also applies to separate facilities owned by 

the same entity since each facility is treated separately, regardless of 
ownership. 
 (2)(a)  Any person who has been issued a valid certificate of 
registration may transport live aquaculture products as specified on 
the certificate of registration to the private fish pond. 
 (b)  All transfers or shipments of live aquaculture products 
must be accompanied by documentation of the source and 
destination of the product, including: 
 (i)  name, address, certificate of registration number, and fish 
health approval number of the source; 
 (ii)  number and weight being shipped, by species; and 
 (iii)  name, address, and certificate of registration number, if 
applicable, of the destination. 
 
R657-59-12.  Inspection of Records and Facilities. 
 (1)  The following records and information must be maintained 
for a period of two years and must be available for inspection by a 
division representative during reasonable hours: 
 (a)  records of purchase and acquisition of aquaculture 
products, including records maintained in connection with the 
reporting requirements in R657-59-9; 
 (b)  certificates of registration; and 
 (c)  valid identification of stocks. 
 (2)  The division and its authorized representatives may inspect 
a private fish pond at any time to verify compliance with the 
requirements of Title 23 of the Utah Code and this rule, and to 
conduct pathological testing. 
 
R657-59-13.  Prohibited Activities. 
 (1)  A private fish pond may not be developed on a natural lake; 
natural flowing stream; or reservoir constructed on a natural stream 
channel. 
 (2)  Live aquatic wildlife may not be collected from the wild 
and placed in a private fish pond. 
 (3)  Any aquaculture product received or held in a private fish 
pond may not be released from the pond or transported live to 
another location. 
 (4)  A private fish pond owner, lessee, or operator may not sell, 
donate, or transfer from the pond live aquaculture product, including 
gametes and eggs. 
 
R657-59-14.  Fishing License and Transportation of Dead 
Aquaculture Product. 
 (1)  A fishing license is not required to take fish from a legally 
recognized private fish pond. 
 (2)  A fishing license is not required to transport dead 
aquaculture product from a private fish pond, provided the person 
possesses a receipt with the following information: 
 (a)  species and number of fish; 
 (b)  date caught; 
 (c)  certificate of registration number or exemption certificate 
number of the private fish pond, where applicable; and 
 (d)  name, address, and telephone number of the owner, lessee, 
or operator of the private fish pond. 
 (3)  Any person that has a valid fishing license may transport 
up to a legal limit of dead aquaculture product from a private fish 
pond without further documentation. 
 
R657-59-15.  Screen Requirements. 
 (1)  All inlets and outlets of a private fish pond must be 
screened as follows to prevent the movement of aquatic wildlife into 
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the pond or the escapement of any aquaculture product from the 
pond: 
 (a)  the screen shall be constructed of durable materials that are 
capable of maintaining integrity in a water and air environment for 
an extended period of time; 
 (b)  the screen shall have no openings, seams or mesh width 
greater than the width of the fish being stocked; 
 (c)  screen construction and placement shall eliminate any 
movement of aquaculture product into or out of the pond; 
 (d)  screen dimensions shall be based on precluding escapement 
of the size of the fish being stocked; 
 (e)  all water entering or leaving the pond, including run off and 
other high water events, shall flow through a screen consistent with 
the requirements of this subsection; and 
 (f)  the screen shall be maintained and in place at all times 
while any aquaculture product remains in the pond. 
 (2)  Ponds with no inlet or outlet to the surface waters of the 
state are not required to have a screen or device to restrict movement 
of aquaculture product. 
 
R657-59-16.  Species, Strains, and Reproductive Capabilities of 
Aquaculture Product Authorized by Area for Stocking in 
Private Fish Ponds Without a Certificate of Registration or 
Exemption Certificate. 
 (1)  A certificate of registration or exemption certificate must 
be obtained from the division pursuant to R657-59-6 and R657-59-7 
prior to stocking in any private fish pond: 
 (a)  non-salmonid aquaculture product; or 
 (b)  any other species or reproductive capability of aquaculture 
product not specifically authorized in this Section. 
 (2)(a)  The following subsections designate areas closed to 
stocking aquaculture product in private fish ponds using a general 
area identifier such canyon, creek, spring, or location and then 
followed by a specific area identifier in the form of hydrologic unit 
code (HUC) or township and range. 
 (b)  The general area identifier is included for purposes of 
reference only and may include all or part of the associated drainage. 
 (c)  The HUC or township and range designations constitute the 
legal descriptions of the actual closed areas. 
 (3)   Certified sterile salmonid aquaculture product may be 
stocked without a certificate of registration or exemption certificate 
in any private fish pond within the state consistent with R657-59-3, 
except for ponds located within the following areas: 
 (a)  Washington County - stocking is prohibited in the 
following areas: 
 (i)  Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405; 
 (ii)  Beaver Dam Wash - HUC 15010010; 
 (iii)  Laverkin Creek - HUC 150100080302; 
 (iv)  Leeds Creek - HUC 150100080906; 
 (v)  Baker Dam Reservoir/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080704; 
 (vi)  Tobin Wash - HUC 150100080802; 
 (vii)  Sand Cove Wash - HUC 150100080801; 
 (viii)  Manganese Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080804; 
 (ix)  Wittwer Canyon/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080808; 
 (x)  Cove Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080809; 
 (xi)  Moody Wash - HUC 150100080603; 
 (xii)  Upper Moody Wash - HUC 150100080602; 
 (xiii)  Magotsu Creek - HUC 150100080704; 
 (xiv)  South Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405)  ; 

 (xv)  Water Canyon - HUC 150100080701)  ; 
 (xvi)  Chinatown Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xvii)  Lower Gould Wash - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xviii)  Grapevine Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080903; 
 (xix)  Cottonwood Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080909; 
 (xx)  Middleton Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080910; 
 (xxi)  Lower Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 150100080605; 
 (xxii)  Atkinville Wash - HUC 150100080303; 
 (xxiii)  Lizard Wash - HUC 150100080302; 
 (xxiv)  Val Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080307; 
 (xxv)  Bulldog Canyon - HUC 150100080310; and 
 (xxvi)  Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 15010009. 
 (4)  Fertile rainbow trout may be stocked without a certificate 
of registration or exemption certificate in any private fish pond 
within the state consistent with R657-59-3, except for ponds located 
within the following areas and elevations: 
 Beaver County - stocking is prohibited in the following: 
 (i)  North Creek - HUCs 160300070203, 160300070208; and 
 (ii)  Pine Creek (near Sulphurdale)  - HUC 160300070501. 
 (b)  Box Elder County - stocking is prohibited in the following: 
 (i)  Morison Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (ii)  Bettridge Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (iii)  Death Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (iv)  Camp Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (v)  Goose Creek - HUC 17040211; 
 (vi)  Raft River - HUC 17040210; 
 (vii)  Fat Whorled Pond Snail Springs - Township 10 North, 
Ranges 4 and 5 West; and 
 (viii)  Mantua Reservoir - HUC 16010204. 
 (c)  Cache County - stocking is prohibited in the following: 
 (i)  Logan River - HUC 16010203; 
 (ii)  Blacksmith Fork - HUC 16010203; 
 (iii)  East Fork Little Bear River - HUC 16010203; and 
 (iv)  Little Bear River - HUC 16010203. 
 (d)  Carbon County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (e)  Daggett County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (f)  Davis County - no areas closed to stocking fertile rainbow 
trout. 
 (g)  Duchesne County - stocking is prohibited in any private 
fish pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (h)  Emery County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (i)  Garfield County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Birch Creek/Main Canyon - HUC 140700050102; 
 (ii)  Cottonwood Creek - HUC 160300020406; 
 (iii)  East Fork of Boulder Creek/ West Fork Boulder Creek - 
HUC 140700050206; and 
 (iv)  Ranch Creek (East Fork Sevier River drainage)  - HUC 
160300020405. 
 (j)  Grand County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (k)  Iron County - no areas closed to stocking fertile rainbow 
trout. 
 (l)  Juab County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Sulphur Wash - HUC 160203011303; 
 (ii)  Middle Pleasant Valley Draw - HUC 160203011402; 
 (iii)  Lower Pleasant Valley Draw - HUC 160203011403; 
 (iv)  Cookscomb Ridge - HUC 160203011501; 
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 (v)  Outlet Salt Marsh Lake - HUC 160203011502; 
 (vi)  Deep Creek Range - HUC 160203011503; 
 (vii)  Snake Valley - HUC 160203011504; 
 (viii)  Little Red Cedar Wash - HUC 160203011505; 
 (ix)  Trout Creek - HUC 160203060101; 
 (x)  Smelter Knolls - HUC 160203060104; 
 (xi)  Toms Creek - HUC 160203060201; 
 (xii)  Goshute Canyon - HUC 160203060202; 
 (xiii)  Indian Farm Creek - HUC 160203060204; 
 (xiv)  Spring Creek - HUC 160203060803; 
 (xv)  Fifteenmile Creek - HUC 160203060804; 
 (xvi)  East Creek/East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060805; 
 (xvii)  East Creek/East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060806; 
 (xviii)  West Deep Creek - HUC 160203060808; 
 (xix)  Horse Valley - HUC 160203060304; 
 (xx)  Starvation Canyon - HUC 160203060305; 
 (xxi)  Cane Springs - HUC 160203060307; 
 (xxii)  Fish Springs Range - HUC 160203060308; 
 (xxiii)  Middle Fish Springs Wash - HUC 160203060309; 
 (xxiv)  Lower Fish Springs Wash - HUC 160203060403; 
 (xxv)  Fish Springs - HUC 160203060405; 
 (xxvi)  Wilson Health Springs - HUC 160203060407; 
 (xxvii)  Vernon Creek - HUC 160203040102; 
 (xxviii)  Outlet Chicken Creek - HUC 160300050206; 
 (xxix)  Little Valley/Sevier River - HUC 160300050403; 
 (xxx)  Pole Creek/Salt Creek - HUC 160202010104; and 
 (xxxi)  West Creek/Current Creek - HUC160202010107. 
 (m)  Kane County - no areas closed to stocking fertile rainbow 
trout. 
 (n)  Millard County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Outlet Salt Marsh Lake - HUC 160203011502; 
 (ii)  Sulphur Wash - HUC160203011303; 
 (iii)  Cockscomb Ridge - HUC 160203011501; 
 (iv)  Tungstonia Wash - HUC 160203011302; 
 (v)  Salt Marsh Lake - HUC 160203011304; 
 (vi)  Indian George Wash - HUC 160203011301 
 (vii)  Outlet Bishop Springs - HUC 160203011203; 
 (viii)  Warm Creek - HUC 160203011204; 
 (ix)  Headwaters Bishop Springs - HUC 160203011202; 
 (x)  Indian Pass - HUC 160203011107; 
 (xi)  Chevron Ridge - HUC 160203011110; 
 (xii)  Petes Knoll - HUC 160203011109; 
 (xiii)  Red Gulch - HUC 160203011102; 
 (xiv)  Horse Canyon - HUC 160203011106; 
 (xv)  Hampton Creek - HUC 160203011105; 
 (xvi)  Knoll Springs - HUC 160203011103; 
 (xvii)  Browns Wash - HUC 160203011101; 
 (xviii)  Outlet Baker Creek - HUC 160203011004; 
 (xix)  Outlet Old Mans Canyon - HUC 160203011003; 
 (xx)  Hendrys Creek - HUC 160203011104; 
 (xxi)  Headwaters Old Mans Canyon - HUC 160203011002; 
 (xxii)  Rock Canyon - HUC 160203011001 
 (xxiii)  Silver Creek - Baker Creek - HUC 160203010806; 
 (xxiv)  Outlet Weaver Creek - HUC 160203010804; 
 (xxv)  Conger Spring - HUC 160203010702; and 
 (xxvi)  Sheepmens Little Valley - HUC 160203010607. 
 (o)  Morgan County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Weber River - HUC 16020102; 
 (ii)  East Canyon Creek - HUC 16020102; and 

 (iii)  Lost Creek - HUC 16020101. 
 (p)  Piute County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Manning Creek - HUC 160300030203. 
 (q)  Rich County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Bear Lake including all its tributaries - HUC 16010201; 
 (ii)  Big Creek - HUC 16010101; 
 (iii)  Woodruff Creek - HUC 16010101; and 
 (iv)  Home Canyon and Meachum Canyon (Deseret Ranch)  - 
HUC 16010101. 
 (r)  Salt Lake County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Big Cottonwood Canyon Creek - HUC 160202040201; 
 (ii)  Little Cottonwood Canyon Creek - HUC 160202040202; 
 (iii)  Mill Creek - HUC 160202040301; 
 (iv)  Parleys Creek - HUC 160202040302; 
 (v)  Emigration Creek - HUC 160202040303; 
 (vi)  City Creek - HUC 160202040304; and 
 (vii)  Red Butte Creek/Emigration Creek - HUC 
160202040306. 
 (s)  San Juan County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (t)  Sanpete County: 
 (i)  stocking is prohibited in the following areas west of the 
Manti Mountain Range divide: 
 (A)  Dry Creek/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040201; 
 (B)  Oak Creek/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040202; 
 (C)  Cottonwood Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 
160300040203; 
 (D)  Birch Creek/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040204; 
 (E)  Pleasant Creek - HUC 160300040205; 
 (F)  Dublin Wash/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040206; 
 (G)  Cedar Creek - HUC 160300040207; 
 (H)  Spring Hollow/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040208; 
 (I)  Upper Oak Creek - HUC 160300040302; 
 (J)  Petes Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040306; 
 (K)  Uinta Gulch - HUC 160202020201; 
 (L)  Upper Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020202; 
 (M)  Nebo Creek - HUC 160202020203; 
 (N)  Middle Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020204; 
 (O)  Dry Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040308; 
 (P)  Maple Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040309; 
 (Q)  Gunnison Reservoir/San Pitch River - HUC 
160300040503; 
 (R)  Outlet San Pitch River - HUC 160300040505; 
 (S)  Beaver Creek - HUC 140700020201; 
 (T)  Box Canyon/Muddy Creek - HUC 140700020203; 
 (U)  Skumpah Creek-Salina Creek - HUC 160300030402; and 
 (V)  Headwaters Twelvemile Creek - HUC 160300040402. 
 (ii)  stocking is prohibited in any private fish pond above 7000 
feet in elevation east of the Manti Mountain Range divided. 
 (u)  Sevier County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Pole Creek (tributary to Clear Creek) - HUC 
160300030103; 
 (ii)  Salina Creek - HUC 160300030402; and 
 (iii)  U M Creek - HUC 140700030101. 
 (v)  Summit County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Bear River and all tributaries - HUC 16010101; 
 (ii)  Mill Creek and all tributaries - HUC 16010101; 
 (iii)  Muddy Creek and Van Tassel Creek - HUC 14040108; 
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 (iv)  Little West Fork/Blacks Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (v)  Black Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (vi)  Archie Creek - HUC 14040107; 
 (vii)  West Fork Smiths Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (viii)  Gilbert Creek - HUC 14040107; 
 (ix)  East Fork Smiths Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (x)  Dahalgreen Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xi)  Henrys Fork - HUC 14040106; 
 (xii)  Spring Creek and Poison Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xiii)  West Fork Beaver Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xiv)  Middle Fork Beaver Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xv)  Echo Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xvi)  Chalk Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xvii)  Silver Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xviii)  Weber River - HUC 16020101; 
 (xix)  Beaver Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xx)  Provo River - HUC 16020101; 
 (xxi)  Kimball Creek - HUC 160201020101; 
 (xxii)  Big Dutch Hollow/East Canyon Creek - HUC 
160201020103; 
 (xxiii)  Silver Creek - HUC 160201010403; and 
 (xxiv)  Toll Canyon/East Canyon Creek - HUC 160201020102. 
 (w)  Tooele County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Toms Creek - HUC 160203060201; 
 (ii)  Goshute Canyon - HUC 160203060202; 
 (iii)  Eightmile Wash - HUC 160203060203; 
 (iv)  Indian Farm Creek - HUC 160203060204; 
 (v)  Willow Spring Wash HUC 160203060205; 
 (vi)  Willow Canyon - HUC 160203080104; 
 (vii)  Bettridge Creek - HUC 160203080106; 
 (viii)  East Creek/East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060806; 
 (ix)  East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060807; 
 (x)  West Deep Creek - HUC 160203060808; 
 (xi)  Gullmette Gulch/Deep Creek - HUC 160203060902; 
 (xii)  Pony Express Canyon/Deep Creek - HUC 160203060904; 
 (xiii)  Badlands - HUC 160203060905; 
 (xiv)  White Sage Flat/Deep Creek - HUC 160203060907; 
 (xv)  Lower Fish Springs Wash - HUC 160203060403; 
 (xvi)  Fish Springs - HUC 160203060405; 
 (xvii)  Wilson Health Springs - HUC 160203060407; 
 (xviii)  East Government Creek - HUC 160203040101; 
 (xix)  Vernon Creek - HUC 160203040102; and 
 (xx)  Faust Creek - HUC 160203040105. 
 (x)  Uintah County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (y)  Utah County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Starvation Creek - HUC 160202020101; 
 (ii)  Upper Soldier Creek - HUC 160202020102; 
 (iii)  Tie Fork - HUC 160202020103; 
 (iv)  Middle Soldier Creek - HUC 160202020105; 
 (v)  Lake Fork - HUC 160202020106; 
 (vi)  Lower Soldier Creek - HUC 160202020107; 
 (vii)  Upper Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020202; 
 (viii)  Nebo Creek - HUC 160202020203; 
 (ix)  Middle Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020204; 
 (x)  Lower Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020205; 
 (xi)  Sixth Water Creek - HUC 160202020301; 
 (xii)  Cottonwood Canyon - HUC 160202020302; 
 (xiii)  Fifth Water Creek - HUC160202020303; 
 (xiv)  Upper Diamond Fork - HUC 160202020304; 

 (xv)  Wanrhodes Canyon - HUC 160202020305; 
 (xvi)  Middle Diamond Fork - HUC 160202020306; 
 (xvii)  Lower Diamond Fork - HUC 160202020307; 
 (xviii)  Headwaters Left Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 
160202020401; 
 (xix)  Headwaters Right Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 
160202020402; 
 (xx)  Outlet Left Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 160202020403; 
 (xxi)  Outlet Right Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 160202020404; 
 (xxii)  Upper Spanish Fork Creek - HUC 160202020501; 
 (xxiii)  Middle Spanish Fork Creek - HUC 160202020502; 
 (xxiv)  Peteetneet Creek - HUC 160202020601; 
 (xxv)  Spring Creek - HUC 160202020602; 
 (xxvi)  Beer Creek - HUC 160202020603; 
 (xxvii)  Big Spring Hollow/South Fork Provo River - HUC 
160202030502; 
 (xxviii)  Pole Creek/Salt Creek - HUC 160202010104; 
 (xxix)  Middle American Fork Canyon - HUC 160202010802; 
 (xxx)  Mill Fork - HUC 160202020104; and 
 (xxxi)  Upper American Fork Canyon - HUC 160202010801. 
 (z)  Wasatch County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Willow Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040101; 
 (ii)  Clyde Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040102; 
 (iii)  Indian Creek - HUC140600040104; 
 (iv)  Trout Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040105; 
 (v)  Soldier Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040106; 
 (vi)  Willow Creek - HUC 140600040301; 
 (vii)  Current Creek Reservoir - HUC 140600040401; 
 (viii)  Little Red Creek - HUC 140600040402; 
 (ix)  Outlet Current Creek - HUC 140600040403; 
 (x)  Water Hollow/Current Creek - HUC 140600040404; 
 (xi)  Headwaters West Fork Duchesne River - HUC 
140600030101; 
 (xii)  Little South Fork Provo River - HUC 160202030201; 
 (xiii)  Bench Creek/Provo River - HUC160202030202; 
 (xiv)  Lady Long Hollow/Provo River - HUC 160202030203; 
 (xv)  Charcoal Canyon/Provo River - HUC 160202030204; 
 (xvi)  Drain Tunnel Creek - HUC 160202030301; 
 (xvii)  Lake Creek - HUC 160202030302; 
 (xviii)  Center Creek - HUC 160202030303; 
 (xix)  Cottonwood Canyon/Provo River - HUC 160202030304; 
 (xx)  Snake Creek - HUC 160202030305; 
 (xxi)  Spring Creek/Provo River - HUC 160202030306; 
 (xxii)  Daniels Creek - HUC 160202030401; 
 (xxiii)  Upper Main Creek - HUC 160202030403; 
 (xxiv)  Lower Main Creek - HUC 160202030404; 
 (xxv)  Deer Creek Reservoir-Provo River - 
HUC160202030405; 
 (xxvi)  Provo Deer Creek - HUC 160202030501; 
 (xxvii)  Little Hobble Creek - HUC 160202030402; 
 (xxviii)  Mill Hollow/South Fork Provo River - HUC 
160202030104; and 
 (xxix)  Mud Creek - HUC 140600040103. 
 (aa)  Washington County - stocking is prohibited in the 
following areas: 
 (i)  Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405; 
 (ii)  Beaver Dam Wash - HUC 15010010; 
 (iii)  Laverkin Creek - HUC 150100080302; 
 (iv)  Leeds Creek - HUC 150100080906; 
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 (v)  Baker Dam Reservoir/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080704; 
 (vi)  Tobin Wash - HUC 150100080802; 
 (vii)  Sand Cove Wash - HUC 150100080801; 
 (viii)  Manganese Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080804; 
 (ix)  Wittwer Canyon/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080808; 
 (x)  Cove Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080809; 
 (xi)  Moody Wash - HUC 150100080603; 
 (xii)  Upper Moody Wash - HUC 150100080602; 
 (xiii)  Magotsu Creek - HUC 150100080704; 
 (xiv)  South Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405)  ; 
 (xv)  Water Canyon - HUC 150100080701)  ; 
 (xvi)  Chinatown Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xvii)  Lower Gould Wash - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xviii)  Grapevine Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080903; 
 (xix)  Cottonwood Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080909; 
 (xx)  Middleton Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080910; 
 (xxi)  Lower Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 150100080605; 
 (xxii)  Atkinville Wash - HUC 150100080303; 
 (xxiii)  Lizard Wash - HUC 150100080302; 
 (xxiv)  Val Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080307; 
 (xxv)  Bulldog Canyon - HUC 150100080310; and 
 (xxvi)  Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 15010009. 
 (bb)  Wayne County - no areas closed to stocking fertile 
rainbow trout. 
 (cc)  Weber County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  North Fork Ogden River - HUC 16020102; 
 (ii)  Middle Fork Ogden River and Gertsen Creek - HUC 
16020102; and 
 (iii)  South Fork Ogden River and Gertsen Creek - HUC 
16020102. 
 
R657-59-17.  Division Authority to Restrict Private Fish Ponds. 
 (1)(a)  Stocking and maintaining aquaculture products in 
private fish ponds pursuant to this rule is a conditional privilege that 
is subject to unilateral modification or termination by the division or 
other competent legal authority. 
 (b)  Those who establish and maintain private fish ponds under 
this rule do so with the understanding that the laws and regulations 
governing private fish ponds are subject to change and that such 
changes may require: 
 (i)  discontinuation of stocking particular species, strains, or 
reproductive capabilities of aquaculture product in the pond; 
 (ii)  partial or complete depopulation of the aquaculture product 
in the pond; 
 (iii)  modifications in screen requirements and other structural 
elements associated with the pond; or 
 (iv)  new restrictions and requirements in connection with 
operating the pond and maintaining the aquaculture product within 
it. 
 (2)  The division may unilaterally restrict a private fish pond 
operating with or without a certificate of registration or exemption 
certificate from receiving or possessing particular species, strains 
and reproductive capabilities of aquaculture product previously 
authorized when stocking or continued possession of the product in 
the pond: 
 (a)  violates any federal, state or local law or any agreement 
between the state and another party; 

 (b)  negatively impacts native wildlife species listed by the 
division as sensitive or by the federal government as threatened or 
endangered; 
 (c)  poses an identifiable adverse threat to other wildlife species 
or their habitat; or 
 (d)  poses an identifiable adverse impact to the division's game 
fish stocking regimes or wildlife management objectives. 
 (3)  Any costs or losses incurred as the result of future 
modifications to this rule or the operational status of a private fish 
pond made pursuant to this section, including terminations and 
depopulations, shall be borne exclusively by the owner, lessee or 
operator of the private fish pond. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, aquaculture, fish 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 23-15-9; 23-
15-10 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to define procedures and regulations 
designed to prevent and control the spread of aquatic invasive 
species within the State of Utah. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule sets the guidelines 
and regulations designed to prevent and control the spread of 
Dreissena mussels in Utah.  (DAR NOTE:  A 120-day 
(emergency) rule filing for Rule R657-60 is under DAR No. 
31624 in this issue, July 15, 2008, of the Bulletin, and was 
effective 06/27/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-27-401, 23-14-18, and 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division of Wildlife Resources 
(DWR) determines that these amendments do create a cost 
impact to the state budget or DWR's budget.  The 2008 Utah 
Legislative Session appropriated $2,500,000 to aid in the 
implementation costs associated with this rule. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not create any direct 
cost or savings impact to local governments because they are 
not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local governments 
indirectly impacted because the rule does not create a 
situation requiring services from local governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule may create a cost impact to boat owners and other 
water enthusiasts in Utah in that if Dreissena Mussels are 
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found in Utah the cost to decontaminate boats and other 
conveyances will be at the expense of the owner. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR determines 
that this rule may create a cost impact to individuals who own 
water vessels and boat in infested waters, because they 
would be required to decontaminate the conveyance. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-60.  Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction. 
R657-60-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to define procedures and 
regulations designed to prevent and control the spread of aquatic 
invasive species within the State of Utah. 
 (2)  This rule is promulgated pursuant to authority granted to 
the Wildlife Board in Sections 23-27-401, 23-14-18, and 23-14-19. 
 
R657-60-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2 and 
23-27-101. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Conveyance" means a terrestrial or aquatic vehicle, 
including a vessel, or a vehicle part that may carry or contain a 
Dreissena mussel. 
 (b)  "Decontaminate" means to: 
 (i)  Self-decontaminate equipment or a conveyance that has 
been in an infested water in the previous 30 days by: 
 (A)  removing all plants, fish, mussels and mud from the 
equipment or conveyance; 
 (B)  draining all water from the equipment or conveyance, 
including water held in ballast tanks, bilges, livewells, and motors; 
and 

 (C)  drying the equipment or conveyance for no less than 7 
days in June, July and August;18 days in September, October, 
November, March, April and May; 30 days in December, January 
and February; or expose the equipment or conveyance to sub-
freezing temperatures for 72 consecutive hours; or 
 (ii)  Professionally decontaminate equipment or a conveyance 
that has been in an infested water in the previous 30 days by: 
 (A)  Using a professional decontamination service approved by 
the division to apply scalding water (140 degrees Fahrenheit) to 
completely wash the equipment or conveyance and flush any areas 
where water is held, including ballast tanks, bilges, livewells, and 
motors. 
 (c)  "Dreissena mussel" means a mussel of the genus Dreissena 
at any life stage, including a zebra mussel, a quagga mussel and a 
Conrad's false mussel. 
 (d)  "Controlling entity" means the owner, operator, or manager 
of a water body, facility, or a water supply system. 
 (e)  "Equipment" means an article, tool, implement, or device 
capable of carrying or containing water or Dreissena mussel. 
 (f)  "Facility" means a structure that is located within or 
adjacent to a water body 
 (g)  "Infested water" includes all the following: 
 (i)  lower Colorado River between Lake Mead and the Gulf of 
California; 
 (ii)  Lake Mead in Nevada and Arizona; 
 (iii)  Lake Mohave in Nevada and Arizona; 
 (iv)  Lake Havasu in California and Arizona; 
 (v)  Lake Pueblo in Colorado; 
 (vi)  Lake Pleasant in Arizona; 
 (vii)  San Justo Reservoir in California; 
 (viii)  Southern California inland waters in Orange, Riverside, 
San Diego, Imperial, and San  Bernardino counties; 
 (ix)  coastal and inland waters east of the100th Meridian in 
North America; and 
 (x)  other waters established by the Wildlife Board and 
published on the DWR website. 
 (h)  "Vessel" means every type of watercraft used or capable of 
being used as a means of transportation on water. 
 (i)  "Water body" means natural or impounded surface water, 
including a stream, river, spring, lake, reservoir, pond, wetland, tank, 
and fountain. 
 (j)  "Water supply system" means a system that treats, conveys, 
or distributes water for irrigation, industrial, wastewater treatment, 
or culinary use, including a pump, canal, ditch or, pipeline. 
 (i)  "Water supply system" does not included a water body. 
 
R657-60-3.  Possession of Dreissena Mussels. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Subsections R657-60-3(2) and R657-
60-5(2), a person may not possess, import, ship, or transport any 
Dreissena mussel. 
 (2)  Dreissena mussels may be imported into and possessed 
within the state of Utah with prior written approval of the Director 
of the Division of Wildlife Resources or a designee. 
 
R657-60-4.  Reporting of Invasive Species Required. 
 (1)  A person who discovers a Dreissena mussel within this 
state or has reason to believe a Dreissena mussel may exist at a 
specific location shall immediately report the discovery to the 
division. 
 (2)  The report shall include the following information: 
 (a)  location of the Driessena mussels; 
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 (b)  date of discovery; 
 (c)  identification of any conveyance or equipment in which 
mussels may be held or attached; and 
 (d)  identification of the reporting party with their contact 
information. 
 (3)  The report shall be made in person or in writing: 
 (a)  at any division regional or headquarters office or; 
 (b)  to the division's toll free hotline at 1-800-662-3337; or 
 (c)  on the division's website at 
www.wildlife.utah.gov/law/hsp/pf.php. 
 
R657-60-5.  Transportation of Equipment and Conveyances 
That Have Been in Infested Waters. 
 (1)  The owner, operator, or possessor of any equipment or 
conveyance that has been in an infested water shall: 
 (a)  immediately drain all water from the equipment or 
conveyance at the take out site, including water held in ballast tanks, 
bilges, livewells, motors, and other areas of containment; and 
 (b)  immediately inspect the interior and exterior of the 
equipment or conveyance at the take out site for the presence of 
Dreissena mussels. 
 (2)  If all water in the equipment or conveyance is drained and 
the inspection undertaken pursuant to Subsection (1)(b) reveals the 
equipment and conveyance are free from mussels or shelled 
organisms, fish, plants and mud, the equipment and conveyance may 
be transported in or through the state directly from the take out site 
to the location where it will be: 
 (a)  professionally decontaminated; or 
 (b)  stored and self-decontaminated. 
 (3)  If all the water in the equipment or conveyance is not 
drained or the inspection undertaken pursuant to Subsection (1)(b) 
reveals the equipment or conveyance has attached mussels or shelled 
organisms, fish, plants, or mud, the equipment and conveyance shall 
not be moved from the take out site until the division is contacted 
and written or electronic authorization received to move the 
equipment or conveyance to a designated location for professional 
decontamination. 
 (4)  A person shall not place any equipment or conveyance that 
has been in an infested water in the previous 30 days into any other 
water body or water supply system in the state without first 
decontaminating the equipment or conveyance. 
 
R657-60-6.  Certification of Decontamination. 
 (1)  The owner, operator or possessor of a vessel desiring to 
launch on a water body in Utah must: 
 (a)  verify the vessel and any launching device have not been in 
an infested water in the previous 30 days; or 
 (b)  certify the vessel and launching device have been 
decontaminated. 
 (2)  Certification of decontamination is satisfied by: 
 (a)  previously completing self-decontamination since the 
vessel and launching device were last in an infested water and 
completely filling out and dating a decontamination certification 
form which can be obtained from the division; or 
 (b)  providing a signed and dated certificate by a division 
approved professional decontamination service verifying the vessel 
and launching device were professionally decontaminated since the 
vessel and launching device were last in an infested water. 
 (3)  Both the decontamination certification form and the 
professional decontamination certificate, where applicable, must be 

signed and placed in open view in the window of the launching 
vehicle prior to launching or placing the vessel in a body of water. 
 (4)  It is unlawful under Section 76-8-504 to knowing falsify a 
decontamination certification form. 
 
R657-60-7.  Wildlife Board Designations of Infested Waters. 
 (1)  The Wildlife Board may designate a geographic area, water 
body, facility, or water supply system as infested with Dreissena 
mussels pursuant to Section 23-27-102 and 23-27-401 without 
taking the proposal to or receiving recommendations from the 
regional advisory councils. 
 
R657-60-8.  Closure Order for a Water Body, Facility, or Water 
Supply System. 
 (1)(a)  If the division detects or suspects a Dreissena mussel is 
present in a water body, facility, or water supply system, the division 
director or designee may, with the concurrence of the executive 
director, issue an order closing the water body, facility, or water 
supply system to the introduction or removal of conveyances or 
equipment. 
 (b)  The director shall consult with the controlling entity of the 
water body, facility, or water supply system when determining the 
scope, duration, level and type of closure that will be imposed in 
order to avoid or minimize disruption of economic and recreational 
activities. 
 (2)(a)  A closure order issued pursuant to Subsection (1)  shall 
be in writing and identify the: 
 (i)  water body, facility, or water supply system subject to the 
closure order; 
 (ii)  nature and scope of the closure or restrictions; 
 (iii)  reasons for the closure or restrictions; 
 (iv)  conditions upon which the order may be terminated or 
modified; and 
 (v)  sources for receiving updated information on the status of 
infestation and closure order. 
 (b)  The closure order shall be mailed, electronically 
transmitted, or hand delivered to: 
 (i)   the controlling entity of the water body, facility, or water 
supply system; and 
 (ii)  any governmental agency or private entity known to have 
economic, political, or recreational interests significantly impacted 
by the closure order; and 
 (iii)  any person or entity requesting a copy of the order. 
 (c)  The closure order or its substance shall further be: 
 (i)  posted on the division's web page; and 
 (ii)  published in a newspaper of general circulation in the state 
of Utah or the affected area. 
 (3)  If a closure order lasts longer than seven days, the division 
shall provide the controlling entity and post on its web page a 
written update every 10 days on its efforts to address the Dreissena 
mussel infestation. 
 (a)  The 10 day update notice cycle will continue for the 
duration of the closure order. 
 (4)(a)  Notwithstanding the closure authority in Subsection (1), 
the division may not unilaterally close or restrict a water supply 
system infested with Dreissena mussels where the controlling entity 
has prepared and implemented a control plan in cooperation with the 
division that effectively eradicates or controls the spread of 
Dreissena mussels from the water supply system. 
 (b)  The control plan shall comply with the requirements in 
R657-60-9. 
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R657-60-9.  Control Plan Required. 
 (1)  The controlling entity of a water body, facility, or water 
supply system may develop and implement a control plan in 
cooperation with the division prior to infestation designed to: 
 (a)  avoid the infestation of Dreissena mussels; and 
 (b)  control or eradicate an infestation of Dreissena mussels that 
might occur in the future. 
 (2)  A pre-infestation control plan developed consistent with the 
requirements in Subsection (3) and approved by the division will 
eliminate or minimize the duration and impact of a closure order 
issued pursuant to Section 23-27-303 and R657-60-8. 
 (3)  Upon detection of a Dreissena mussel and issuance of a 
division closure order involving a water body, facility, or water 
supply system without an approved control plan, the controlling 
entity shall cooperate with the division in developing and 
implementing a control plan to address the: 
 (a)  scope and extent of the infestation; 
 (b)  actions proposed to control the pathways of spread of the 
infestation; 
 (c)  actions proposed to control or eradicate the infestation; 
 (d)  methods to decontaminate the water body, facility, or water 
supply system, if possible; 
 (e)  actions required to systematically monitor the level and 
extent of the infestation; and 
 (f)  requirements and methods to update and revise the plan 
with scientific advances. 
 (4)  Any post-infestation control plan prepared pursuant to 
Subsection (3)  shall be approved by the Division before 
implementation. 
 
R657-60-10.  Procedure for Establishing a Memorandum of 
Understanding with the Utah Department of Transportation. 
 (1)  The division director or designee shall negotiate an 
agreement with the Utah Department of Transportation for use of 
ports of entry for detection and interdiction of Dreissena Mussels 
illegally transported into and within the state. Both the Division of 
Wildlife Resources and the Department of Transportation must 
agree upon all aspects of Dreissena Mussel interdiction at ports of 
entry. 
 (2)  The Memorandum shall include the following: 
 (a)  methods and protocols for reimbursing the department for 
costs associated with Dreissena Mussel interdiction; 
 (b)  identification of ports of entry suitable for interdiction 
operations; 
 (c)  identification of locations at a specific port of entry suitable 
for interdiction operations; 
 (d)  methods and protocols for disposing of wastewater 
associated with decontamination of equipment and conveyances; 
 (e)  dates and time periods suitable for interdiction efforts at 
specific ports of entry; 
 (f)  signage notifying motorists of the vehicles that must stop at 
the port of entry for inspection; 
 (g)  priorities of use during congested periods between the 
department's port responsibilities and the division's interdiction 
activities; 
 (h)  methods for determining the length, location and dates of 
interdiction; 
 (i)  training responsibilities for personnel involved in 
interdiction activities; and 
 (j)  methods for division regional personnel to establish 
interdiction efforts at ports within each region. 

R657-60-11.  Penalty for Violation. 
 A violation of any provision of this rule is punishable as 
provided in Section 23-13-11. 
 
KEY:  fish, wildlife, wildlife law 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 23-27-401; 
23-14-18; 23-14-19 
 

  
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-349 
Competitive Entry and Reporting 

Requirements 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31628 
FILED:  06/26/2008, 16:27 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Numerous 
Competitive Local Exchange Carriers (CLECs) have entered 
into the Utah market since the passage, in 1995, of statutory 
changes in Utah's telecommunications regulatory scheme.  
With the influx of additional carriers, mergers, acquisitions, 
and consolidations of telecommunications service providers 
have increased.  Requests have been made to the Public 
Service Commission (PSC) to outline a simple procedural 
process for merger and acquisition proceedings before the 
PSC.  The PSC proposes Section R746-349-7 to provide 
guidance on how the PSC will address simple CLEC mergers 
and acquisitions. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R746-349-7 adds 
provisions addressing the procedural process to be followed 
for simple CLEC mergers and acquisitions through informal 
adjudication.  Additional changes are included to conform rule 
definition to statutory definitions and clean up the style/format 
of the rule's language. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 54-4-1, 54-4-28, 54-4-29, and 54-4-30 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no cost or savings to state 
government agency budgets as the rule amendment simply 
addresses procedural aspects of agency actions already 
performed under Title 54 provisions. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No costs or savings impact will occur 
to local government entities as the rule amendment does not 
cover or affect any local government activity. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
The PSC is not aware of any CLECs operating in the state 
that have fewer than 50 employees, so it believes there will be 
no cost or savings effect on any "Small Business" from the 
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proposed rule amendment.  For CLECs whose mergers or 
acquisitions could be affected through the rule amendment, 
the PSC anticipates some cost savings could be realized as 
the rule amendment provides a simple procedural process the 
PSC will follow for simple unopposed CLEC mergers or 
acquisitions.  As the rule amendment allows these CLECs to 
provide information and documentation which they have 
already prepared for federal and other states' regulatory 
entities, rather than require items unique for proceedings in 
Utah, some savings could be realized by CLEC mergers or 
acquistions affected by the rule amendment.  Quantification of 
the specific dollar amounts is difficult as the PSC has no 
information concerning costs incurred by CLECs for their past 
mergers or acquisitions and obtaining such information to 
estimate possible savings amount is considered to be more 
costly than the savings that could result from the rule 
amendment. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There should be 
no additional costs incurred as a result from the rule 
amendment.  Sections 54-4-28, 54-4-29, and 54-4-30 require 
utilities to obtain PSC approval of their mergers and 
acquistions.  The rule amendment simply outlines the 
procedural process through which the PSC will make its rules 
to comply with these statutory provisions. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  As explained in the analysis 
provided above, the PSC does not anticipate there will be any 
fiscal impact on businesses that could possibly be affected by 
the rule amendment.  Any effect is anticipated to be a slight 
reduction in CLEC costs of complying with statutory 
requirements to obtain PSC approval of a merger, acquisition, 
or consolidation.  Ted Boyer, Chairman 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sheri Bintz at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6714, 
by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
sbintz@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Sandy Mooy, Legal Counsel 
 
 
 

R746.  Public Service Commission, Administration. 
R746-349.  Competitive Entry and Reporting Requirements. 
R746-349-1.  Applicability. 
 These rules shall be applicable to each telecommunications 
corporation applying to be a [competitor in providing]provider of 
local exchange services or other public telecommunications services 
in all or part of the service territory of an incumbent telephone 
corporation. 
 
R746-349-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in [these]this rule[s]: 
 A.  "CLEC" means [competitive local exchange carrier]a public 
telecommunications service provider that did not hold a certificate to 
provide public telecommunications service as of May 1, 1995.. 
 B.  "Division" means the Division of Public Utilities. 
 C.  "GAAP" means generally accepted accounting principles. 
 D.  "ILEC" means a telephone corporation which held a 
certificate to provide public teleocmmunications service as of May 
1, 1995. 
 
R746-349-3.  Filing Requirements. 
 A.  In addition to any other requirements of the Commission or 
of 63-46b and pursuant to 54-8b-2.1, each applicant for a certificate 
shall file, in addition to its application: 
 1.  testimony and exhibits in support of the company's 
technical, financial, and managerial abilities to provide the 
telecommunications services applied for and a showing that the 
granting of a certificate is in the public interest.  Informational 
requirements made elsewhere in these rules can be included in 
testimony and exhibits; 
 2.  proof of a bond in the amount of $100,000.  This bond is to 
provide security for customer deposits or other liabilities to 
telecommunications customers of the telecommunications 
corporation or liabilities to the Utah Public Telecommunications 
Service Support Fund, 54-8b-15, or the Hearing and Speech 
Impaired Fund, 54-8b-10.  An applicant may request a waiver of this 
requirement from the Commission if it can show that adequate 
provisions exist to protect customer deposits or other customer and 
state fund liabilities; 
 3.  a statement as to whether the telecommunications 
corporation intends to construct its own facilities or acquire use of 
facilities from other than the incumbent local exchange carrier, or 
whether it intends to resell an incumbent local exchange carrier's and 
other telecommunications corporation's services; 
 4.  a statement regarding the services to be offered including: 
 a.  which classes of customer the applicant intends to serve, 
 b.  the locations where the applicant intends to provide service, 
 c.  the types of services to be offered; 
 5.  a statement explaining how the applicant will provide access 
to ordinary intralata and interlata message toll calling, operator 
services, directory assistance, directory listings and emergency 
services such as 911 and E911; 
 6. an implementation schedule pursuant to 47 U.S.C. 252(c)(3) 
of the Telecommunications Act of 1996 which shall include the date 
local exchange service for residential and business customers will 
begin; 
 7.  summaries of the professional experience and education of 
all managerial personnel who will have responsibilities for the 
applicant's proposed Utah operations; 
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 8.  an organization chart listing all the applicant's employees 
currently working or that plan to be working in or for Utah 
operations and their job titles; 
 9.  a chart of accounts that includes account numbers, names 
and brief descriptions; 
 10.  financial statements that at a minimum include: 
 a.  the most recent balance sheet, income statement and cash 
flow statement and any accompanying notes, prepared according to 
GAAP, 
 b.  a letter from management attesting to their accuracy, 
integrity and objectivity, and that the statements were prepared in 
accordance with GAAP, 
 c.  if the applicant is a start-up company, a balance sheet 
following the above principles must be filed, 
 d.  if the applicant is a subsidiary of another corporation, 
financial statements following the above principles must also be 
filed for the parent corporation; 
 11.  financial statements to demonstrate sufficient financial 
ability on the part of the applicant.  At a minimum, the applicant's 
statements must show: 
 a.  positive net worth for the applicant CLEC, 
 b.  sufficient projected and verifiable cash flow to meet cash 
needs as shown in a five-year projection of expected operations, 
 c.  proof of bond as specified in R746-349-3(A)(2); 
 12.  a five-year projection of expected operations including the 
following: 
 a.  proforma income statements and proforma cash flow 
statements, 
 b.  when applicable, a technical description of the types of 
technology to be deployed in Utah including types of switches and 
transmission facilities, 
 c.  when applicable, detailed maps of proposed locations of 
facilities including a description of the specific facilities and services 
to be deployed at each location; 
 13.  an implementation schedule pursuant to 47 U.S.C. 
252(c)(3) of the Telecommunications Act of 1996 which shall 
include the date local exchange service for residential and business 
customers will begin; 
 14.  evidence of sufficient managerial and technical ability to 
provide the public telecommunications services contemplated by the 
application must be demonstrated by a showing of at least the 
following: 
 a.  proof of certification in other jurisdictions; and that service 
is currently being offered in other jurisdictions by the applicant, 
 b.  or the corporation has had at least two years of recent 
experience in providing telecommunications services related to the 
type of services the CLEC intends to provide; 
 15.  a statement as to why entry by the applicant is in the public 
interest; 
 16.  proof of authority to conduct business in Utah; 
 17.  a statement regarding complaints or investigations of 
unauthorized switching, otherwise known as slamming, or other 
illegal activities of the applicant or any of its affiliates in any 
jurisdiction.  This statement should include the following: 
 a.  sanctions imposed against the applicant for any of these 
activities, 
 b.  copies of any written documents related to these complaints, 
investigations, or sanctions, including: orders or other materials 
from the FCC or state commissions, any courts, or other government 
bodies, and any complaint letters or other documents from any non-
government entities or persons, 

 c.  the applicant's responses to any of these issues; 
 18.  statement about the applicant's written policies regarding 
the solicitation of new customers and a description of efforts made 
by the applicant's to prevent unauthorized switching of Utah local 
service by the applicant, its employees or its agents. 
 B.  Additional questions relating to the technical, financial, and 
managerial capabilities of the applicant and public interest issues 
may be submitted by the Division or other parties in accordance with 
R746-100-8, Discovery. 
 
R746-349-4.  Reporting Requirements. 
 A.  When a telecommunications corporation files a request for 
negotiation with another telecommunications corporation for 
interconnection, unbundling or resale, the requesting 
telecommunications corporation shall file a copy of the request with 
the Commission. 
 B.  Each certificated telecommunications corporation shall file 
an updated chart of accounts by March 31, of each year. 
 C.  Each certificated telecommunications corporation with 
facilities located in Utah shall maintain network route maps that 
include all areas where the corporation is providing or offering to 
provide service in Utah.  These maps will, at a minimum, include 
central office locations, types of switches, hub locations, ring 
configurations, and facility routes, accompanied by detailed written 
explanations.  These route maps will be provided to the Division or 
the Commission upon request. 
 D.  Each certificated telecommunications corporation shall file 
a map with the Division that identifies the areas within the state 
where the corporation is offering service.  The map should 
separately identify areas being served primarily through resale and 
by facilities owned by the carrier. This map shall be updated within 
10 days after changes to the service territory occur. The map shall be 
made available for public inspection. 
 E.  At least five days before offering any telecommunications 
service through pricing flexibility, a telecommunications corporation 
shall file with the Commission [a]its proposed price list or if ordered 
by the Commission, the prices, terms, and conditions of a 
competitive contract.  Each filing may be made electronically and 
shall: 
 1.  describe the public telecommunications services being 
offered; 
 2.  set forth the terms and conditions upon which the public 
telecommunications service is being offered; 
 3.  list the prices to be charged for the telecommunications 
service or the basis on which the service will be priced; and 
 4.  be made available to the public through the Division. 
 F.  The certificated CLEC shall file an annual report with the 
Division on or before March 31 for the preceding year, unless the 
CLEC requests and obtains an extension from the Commission.  The 
annual report shall contain the following information, unless specific 
forms are provided by the Division: 
 1.  annual revenues from operations attributable to Utah by 
major service categories.  That information would be provided on a 
"Total Utah" and "Utah Intrastate" basis.  "Total Utah" will consist 
of the total of interstate and intrastate revenues.  "Utah Intrastate" 
will reflect only revenues derived from intrastate tariffs, price lists, 
or contracts.  Both Total Utah and Utah Intrastate revenues shall be 
reported according to at least the following classes of service: 
 a.  private line and special access, 
 b.  business local exchange, 
 c.  residential local exchange, 
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 d.  measured interexchange, 
 e.  vertical services, 
 f.  business local exchange, residential local exchange and 
vertical service revenue will be reported by geographic area, to the 
extent feasible; 
 2.  annual expenses and estimated taxes attributed to operations 
in Utah; 
 3.  year-end balances by account for property, plant, equipment, 
annual depreciation, and accumulated depreciation for 
telecommunications investment in Utah.  The actual depreciation 
rates which were applied in developing the annual and accumulated 
depreciation figures shall also be shown; 
 4.  financial statements prepared in accordance with GAAP.  
These financial statements shall, at a minimum, include an income 
statement, balance sheet and statement of cash flows and include a 
letter from management attesting to their accuracy, integrity and 
objectivity and that the statements follow GAAP; 
 5.  list of services offered to customers and the geographic 
areas in which those services are offered.  This list shall be current 
and shall be updated whenever a new service is offered or a new 
area is served; 
 6.  number of access lines in service by geographic area, 
segregated between business and residential customers; 
 7.  number of messages and minutes of services for measured 
services billed to end users; 
 8.  list of officers and responsible contact personnel updated 
annually; 
 9.  a report of gross revenue on a form supplied by the Division. 
 This report shall be used in calculating the Public Utility Regulation 
Fee owed by the CLEC. 
 G.  The annual report and the report of gross revenue filed by a 
CLEC [shall]may be considered protected documents under the 
Government Records Access Management Act, if the CLEC 
complies with the requirements of that act.[The CLEC shall 
prominently mark in red each report with the word "Confidential."] 
 
R746-349-6.  CLEC and ILEC Subject to Pricing Flexibility 
Exemptions. 
 A.  Unless otherwise ordered by the Commission either in the 
CLEC's [or ILEC's ]certificate proceeding or in a proceeding 
instituted by an ILEC, the Commission or other party, a CLEC or 
ILEC subject to pricing flexibility pursuant to 54-8b-2.3 is exempt 
from the following statues and rules.  All other rules of the 
Commission and all other duties of public utilities not specifically 
exempted by these rules or by a Commission order apply to a CLEC 
or ILEC subject to pricing flexibility pursuant to 54-8b-2.3.  All 
powers of the Commission not specifically altered by these rules 
apply to a CLEC or ILEC subject to pricing flexibility pursuant to 
54-8b-2.3. 
 1.  Exemptions from Title 54: 
 54-3-8, 54-3-19 -- Prohibitions of discrimination 
 54-7-12 -- Rate increases or decreases 
 54-4-21 -- Establishment of property values 
 54-4-24 -- Depreciation rates 
 54-4-26 -- Approval of expenditures 
 2.  Exemptions from Commission rules: 
 R746-340-2 (D) -- Uniform System of Accounts (47 CFR 32) 
 R746-340-2 (E) (1) -- Tariff filings required 
 R746-340-2 (E) (2) -- Exchange Maps 
 R746-34l -- Lifeline (CLEC with ETC status) 
 R746-344 -- Rate case filing requirements 

 R746-401 -- Reporting of construction, acquisition and 
disposition of assets 
 R746-405 -- Tariff formats 
 R746-600 -- Accounting for post-retirement benefits 
 3.  The CLEC will be exempted from the Lifeline rule, R746-
341, only until the Commission establishes Lifeline rules that may 
include the CLEC or until the CLEC begins to provide residential 
local exchange service.  The ILEC will not be exempted from the 
R746-341. Lifeline Rule. 
 
R746-349-7.  Informal Adjudication of Certain CLEC Merger 
and Acquisition Transactions. 
 A.  A CLEC may obtain approval of a transaction subject to  
54-4-28 (merger, consolidation or combination), 54-4-29 (acquiring 
voting stock or securities), and 54-4-30 (acquiring properties) in the 
following manner. Such adjudicative proceedings are designated as 
informal adjudicative proceedings pursuant to 63-46b-5 unless 
converted to formal adjudicative proceedings. 
 1.  The CLEC shall submit an application which includes, but is 
not limited to: 
 a.  identification that it is not an ILEC, 
 b.  identification that it seeks approval of the application 
pursuant to this rule, 
 c.  a reasonably detailed description of the transaction for which 
approval  is sought, 
 d.  a copy of any filings required by the Federal 
Communications Commission or any other state utility regulatory 
agency in connection with the transaction, and 
 e.  copies of any notices, correspondence or orders from any 
federal agency or any other state utility regulatory agency  reviewing 
the transaction which is the subject of the application. 
 2.  Upon receipt of the CLEC's application, the Commission 
will issue a public notice stating that the application has been filed, 
that any interested party may submit comments on the application 
within 14 days following public notice and may submit reply 
comments within 21 days following public notice, and provide 
notice of the date and time for a hearing on the application, which 
shall be scheduled to occur within 30 days following the issuance of 
the public notice. 
 3.  If no objection to the proposed transaction is submitted in 
any filed comments or reply comments, the Commission will 
presume that approval of the transaction is in the public interest and 
use the information contained in the application and accompanying 
documents as evidence to support a Commission order. 
 4.  The Commission may convert the proceeding on an 
application into a formal adjudicative proceeding  based upon an 
objection made in comments or reply comments, evidence 
submitted, other reasonable basis, which may include failure of the 
transaction to qualify for streamlined treatment from a federal 
agency, or its own motion and may continue the hearing on the 
application as needed. 
 
R746-349-8.  CLEC's Obligations with Respect to Provision of 
Services. 
 A.  The CLEC agrees to provide service within specified 
geographic areas upon reasonable request and subject to the 
following conditions: 
 1.  the CLEC's obligation to furnish service to customers is 
dependent on the availability of suitable facilities on its network at 
company-designated locations as identified in its annual network 
route map filing; 
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 2.  the CLEC will only be responsible for the installation, 
operation, and maintenance of services that it provides; 
 3.  the CLEC will furnish service if it is able to obtain, retain 
and maintain suitable access rights and facilities, without 
unreasonable expense, and to provide for the installation of those 
facilities required incident to the furnishing and maintenance of that 
service; 
 4.  at its option, the CLEC may require payment of construction 
or line-extension charges by the customer ordering telephone 
service.  Those charges will be in addition to the normal rates and 
charges applicable to the service being provided; 
 5.  when potential customers are so located that it is necessary 
or desirable to use private or government right-of-way to furnish 
service, those potential customers may be required, at the CLEC's 
option, to provide or pay the cost of providing the right-of-way in 
addition to any other charges; 
 6.  all construction of facilities will be undertaken at the 
discretion of the CLEC, consistent with budgetary responsibilities 
and consideration for the impact on the CLEC's other customers and 
contractual responsibilities. 
 
R746-349-9.  Pricing Flexibility Revocation, Conditions, or 
Restrictions. 
 A.  The Commission may initiate[, or the Division, the 
Committee,] or any interested person may request agency action for 
the Commission to initiate, a proceeding to revoke or impose 
conditions or restrictions on a telecommunications corporation's 
pricing flexibility as authorized by [section ]54-8b-2.3(8). 
 1.  A request to initiate any proceeding pursuant to this rule 
shall: 
 a.  Identify the telecommunications corporation or corporations 
and the public telecommunications service or services whose pricing 
flexibility the requesting party believes may be subject to revocation 
or imposition of conditions or restrictions; 
 b.  The basis for the belief; and 
 c.  The relief sought. 
 2.  A request to initiate a proceeding shall be served upon the 
telecommunications corporation or corporations the requesting party 
has identified in the request, the Division and the Committee. 
 3.  The telecommunications corporation or corporations against 
whom the request is directed and any other interested party may 
respond to the request in accordance with the Commission's 
procedural rules and standard practices. 
 4.  If a proceeding is initiated, an interested party may request 
to review confidential information retained by the Commission or 
the Division that is reasonably related to any potential grounds for 
revocation, conditioning or restriction under section 54-8b-2.3(8). 
The party shall certify that it seeks to review that confidential 
information solely for purposes of determining whether a sufficient 
factual basis exists to and that the confidential information will not 
be used for any other purpose or disclosed to any persons who may 
be able to use the confidential information in business decisions to 
any party's competitive advantage.  Prior to disclosing any 
confidential information, the Commission or the Division: 
 a.  Shall require the requesting party to execute an appropriate 
nondisclosure agreement; 
 b.  Shall notify any telecommunications corporation whose 
company-specific information would be disclosed of the request at 
least 14 calendar days before the planned date for disclosing such 
information; and 

 c.  Shall not disclose the company-specific information of any 
telecommunications corporation that objects to disclosure of its 
confidential information, if such telecommunications corporation 
files with the Commission or Division and serves upon other parties 
an objection to the disclosure of such confidential information 
within 10 calendar days after receiving the notice required by 349-
9.4.b. The Commission shall conduct a hearing at which the 
telecommunications corporation whose confidential information 
may be disclosed is given the opportunity to present its objections or 
request terms and conditions for disclosure and during which other 
parties may respond to the telecommunications corporation whose 
confidential information is sought to be disclosed. 
 5.  In any proceeding conducted, the Commission will enter an 
appropriate protective order to ensure protection for confidential, 
proprietary, and competitively sensitive information that has been or 
is provided to the Commission, the Division, the Committee, or 
another party to the proceeding. 
 6.  Nothing in this rule limits the ability of any party or the 
Commission to raise or address any issue in any other proceeding or 
as permitted by law. 
 
KEY:  essential facilities, imputation, public utilities, 
telecommunications 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 
11, 2005]2008 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  54-7-25 
through 28; 54-8b-2; 54-8b-3.3; 63G-4[6b] 
 

  
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-800 
Working 4 Utah Operations 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31642 

FILED:  06/30/2008, 15:32 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this new rule is to provide direction for filing of 
documents and procedural processes while state agencies 
are participating in the Working 4 Utah Initiative with state 
offices closed on Fridays. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule provides directions 
on how to compute time periods and to how submit 
documents to the Public Service Commission and serve them 
on other parties while the PSC participates in the Working 4 
Utah Initiative with offices closed on Fridays. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 54-3-21, 54-3-22, 54-4-1, and 54-4-2 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--The rule only addresses how to 

submit documents and calculate time periods to determine 
action dates.  No state agency activity is changed. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--The rule provisions have no 
application to local government activities or actions, it 
addresses only proceedings before the PSC. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
None--The rule only addresses how to submit documents and 
calculate time periods to determine action dates.  No business 
activities will be affected beyond a possible change in a date 
on which they otherwise may have taken an action. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--If a person 
were going to file a document with the PSC prior to the rule's 
effective date, the rule provisions only indicate the time a 
document may be filed or to calculate the date upon which a 
document would be filed. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impacts 
from the rule as it only directs how to determine a date upon 
which an action would be due under existing statutes, rules or 
orders, or designates how and when to file documents during 
state agency office hours under the Working 4 Utah Initiative.  
Ted Boyer, Chairman 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sandy Mooy at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6708, by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
smooy@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/15/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/23/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Sandy Mooy, Legal Counsel 
 
 
 
R746.  Public Service Commission, Administration. 
R746-800.  Working 4 Utah Operations. 
R746-800-1.  Purpose. 
 The Working 4 Utah Initiative is an office-hour schedule 
effective August 3, 2008.  While Working 4 Utah is in effect, state 
offices and agencies will be open 7 a.m. through 6 p.m., Monday 
through Thursday and will be closed all day Friday.  This rule 
addresses how the Commission will operate and how documents are 
to be submitted to the Commission and served upon other parties to 

comply with other Commission rules or statutory provisions when 
state offices are closed on a Friday which is not a legal holiday. 
 
R746-800-2.  Requests for Agency Action or Other Initiatory 
Documents. 
 The paper original, required paper copies and electronic 
document versions of a Request for Agency Action, other 
documents which initiate administrative proceedings or which are 
initial documents submitted to the Commission will only be received 
during the Working 4 Utah office hours on Mondays through 
Thursdays; they will not be accepted on a Friday. 
 
R746-800-3.  Motions, Response Documents and Other Similar 
Documents. 
 Documents which would not initiate agency proceedings or 
which are to be submitted or served during the pendency of a 
Commission proceeding, e.g., comments, motions, responses or 
replies to previously filed documents, etc., and whose filing date or 
service date fall on a Friday should be filed or served as follows. 
 A.  Fridays which are a legal holiday.  If the Friday is a legal 
holiday under state law, documents are to be filed with the 
Commission and may be served upon parties on the first subsequent 
week-day (likely the following Monday or Tuesday) which is not a 
legal holiday. 
 B.  Fridays which are not a legal holiday.  If the Friday is not a 
legal holiday but is a Friday on which the Commission's office is 
closed under the Working 4 Utah Initiative, the electronic document 
version should be submitted to the Commission's electronic filing 
email address before 11:59 p.m. of that Friday, and the paper 
original and required paper copies are to be filed with the 
Commission on the first subsequent week-day (likely Monday or 
Tuesday) which is not a legal holiday.  Service of a paper copy or 
electronic document version of a document required to be made 
upon other persons shall continue to be made as governed by statute, 
rule or order. 
 
R746-800-4.  Commission Action Falling on a Friday. 
 If Commission action required by a statute, rule or order is to 
occur on a date which falls on or from a time period which ends on a 
Friday which is not a legal holiday, the Commission action will still 
be required on such Friday, even though it is a Work 4 Utah Friday 
on which the Commission's office is closed. 
 
KEY:  utilities, office hours, filing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  54-3-21; 54-3-
22; 54-4-1; 54-4-2 
 

  
 

Tax Commission, Administration 

R861-1A-16 
Utah State Tax Commission 

Management Plan Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 59-1-207 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31633 
FILED:  06/27/2008, 14:05 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
proposed amendment updates statutory references that have 
changed through legislation, and updates Tax Commission 
structure. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed amendment 
updates statutory citations in light of H.B. 63 (2008), reflects 
that Technology Management is no longer a division of the 
Tax Commission, and that the executive director shall oversee 
service agreements from other departments.  (DAR NOTE:  
H.B. 63 (2008) is found at Chapter 382, Laws of Utah 2008, 
and was effective 05/05/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 59-1-207 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--The proposed amendment 
updates statutory references and divisions within the Tax 
Commission. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--The proposed amendment 
updates statutory references and divisions within the Tax 
Commission. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
None--The proposed amendment updates statutory 
references and divisions within the Tax Commission. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--The 
proposed amendment reflects changes in the Tax 
Commission structure. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no fiscal impacts.  
D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TAX COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
210 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84134-0002, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Cheryl Lee at the above address, by phone at 801-297-3900, 
by FAX at 801-297-3919, or by Internet E-mail at 
clee@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R861.  Tax Commission, Administration. 
R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures. 
R861-1A-16.  Utah State Tax Commission Management Plan 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-1-207. 
 [A.](1)  The executive director reports to the commission.  The 
executive director shall meet with the commission periodically to report 
on the status and progress of this agreement, update the commission on 
the affairs of the agency and seek policy guidance.  The chairman of the 
commission shall designate a liaison of the commission to coordinate 
with the executive director in the execution of this agreement. 
 [B.](2)  The structure of the agency is as follows: 
 [1.](a)  The Office of the Commission, including the 
commissioners and the following units that report to the commission: 
 [a)](i)  Internal Audit; 
 [b)](ii)  Appeals; 
 [c)](iii)  Economic and Statistical; and 
 [d)](iv)  Public Information. 
 [2.](b)  The Office of the Executive Director, including the 
executive director's staff and the following divisions that report to the 
executive director: 
 [a)](i)  Administration; 
 [b)](ii)  Taxpayer Services; 
 [c)](iii)  Motor Vehicle; 
 [d)](iv)  Auditing; 
 [e)](v)  Property Tax; 
 [f)  Technology Management; 
 g)](vi)  Processing; and 
 [h)](vii)  Motor Vehicle Enforcement. 
 (3)  The Executive Director shall oversee service agreements from 
other departments, including the Department of Human Resources and 
the Department of Technology Services. 
 [C.](4)  The commission hereby delegates full authority for the 
following functions to the executive director: 
 [1.](a)  general supervision and management of the day to day 
management of the operations and business of the agency conducted 
through the Office of the Executive Director and through the divisions 
set out in [B.2]Subsection (2)(b); 
 [2.](b)  management of the day to day relationships with the 
customers of the agency; 
 [3.](c)  all original assessments, including adjustments to audit, 
assessment, and collection actions, except as provided in 
[C.4.]Subsections (4)(d)  and [D](5); 
 [4.](d)  waivers of penalty and interest or offers in compromise 
agreements in amounts under $10,000, in conformance with standards 
established by the commission; 
 [5.](e)  except as provided in [D.7.]Subsection (5)(g), voluntary 
disclosure agreements with companies, including multilevel marketers; 
 [6.](f)  determination of whether a county or taxing entity has 
satisfied its statutory obligations with respect to taxes and fees 
administered by the [Tax Commission]commission; 
 [7.](g)  human resource management functions, including 
employee relations, final agency action on employee grievances, and 
development of internal policies and procedures; and 
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 [8.](h)  administration of Title [63]63G, Chapter 2, Government 
Records Access and Management Act. 
 [D.](5)  The executive director shall prepare and, upon approval 
by the commission, implement the following actions, agreements, and 
documents: 
 [1.](a)  the agency budget; 
 [2.](b)  the strategic plan of the agency; 
 [3.](c)  administrative rules and bulletins; 
 [4.](d)  waivers of penalty and interest in amounts of $10,000 or 
more as per the waiver of penalty and interest policy; 
 [5.](e)  offer in compromise agreements that abate tax, penalty and 
interest over $10,000 as per the offer in compromise policy; 
 [6.](f)  stipulated or negotiated agreements that dispose of matters 
on appeal; and 
 [7.](g)  voluntary disclosure agreements that meet the following 
criteria: 
 [a)](i)  the company participating in the agreement is not licensed 
in Utah and does not collect or remit Utah sales or corporate income 
tax; and 
 [b)](ii)  the agreement forgives a known past tax liability of 
$10,000 or more. 
 [E.](6)  The commission shall retain authority for the following 
functions: 
 [1.](a)  rulemaking; 
 [2.](b)  adjudicative proceedings; 
 [3.](c)  private letter rulings issued in response to requests from 
individual taxpayers for guidance on specific facts and circumstances; 
 [4.](d)  internal audit processes; 
 [5.](e)  liaison with the governor's office; 
 [a)](i)  Correspondence received from the governor's office 
relating to tax policy will be directed to the Office of the Commission 
for response.  Correspondence received from the governor's office that 
relates to operating issues of the agency will be directed to the Office of 
the Executive Director for research and appropriate action.  The 
executive director shall prepare a timely response for the governor with 
notice to the commission as appropriate. 
 [b)](ii)  The executive director and staff may have other contact 
with the governor's office upon appropriate notice to the commission; 
and 
 [6.](f)  liaison with the Legislature. 
 [a)](i)  The commission will set legislative priorities and 
communicate those priorities to the executive director. 
 [b)](ii)  Under the direction of the executive director, staff may be 
assigned to assist the commission and the executive director in 
monitoring legislative meetings and assisting legislators with policy 
issues relating to the agency. 
 [F.](7)  Correspondence that has been directed to the commission 
or individual commissioners that relates to matters delegated to the 
executive director shall be forwarded to a staff member of the Office of 
the Executive Director for research and appropriate action.  A log shall 
be maintained of all correspondence and periodically the executive 
director will review with the commission the volume, nature, and 
resolution of all correspondence from all sources. 
 [G.](8)  The executive director's staff may occasionally act as 
support staff to the commission for purposes of conducting research or 
making recommendations on tax issues. 
 [1.](a)  Official communications or assignments from the 
commission or individual commissioners to the staff reporting to the 
executive director shall be made through the executive director. 
 [2.](b)  The commissioners and the Office of the Commission 
staff reserve the right to contact agency staff directly to facilitate a 

collegial working environment and maintain communications within 
the agency.  These contacts will exclude direct commands, specific 
policy implementation guidance, or human resource administration. 
 [H.](9)  The commission shall meet with the executive director 
periodically for the purpose of exchanging information and 
coordinating operations. 
 [1.](a)  The commission shall discuss with the executive director 
all policy decisions, appeal decisions or other commission actions that 
affect the day to day operations of the agency. 
 [2.](b)  The executive director shall keep the commission apprised 
of significant actions or issues arising in the course of the daily 
operation of the agency. 
 [3.](c)  When confronted with circumstances that are not covered 
by established policy or by instances of real or potential conflicts of 
interest, the executive director shall refer the matter to the commission. 
 
KEY:  developmentally disabled, grievance procedures, taxation, 
disclosure requirements 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
25], 2008 
Notice of Continuation:  March 20, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  59-1-207 
 

  
 

Tax Commission, Administration 

R861-1A-23 
Designation of Adjudicative 

Proceedings Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Section 63-46b-4 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31634 

FILED:  06/27/2008, 14:27 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
proposed amendment updates statutory references that have 
changed through legislation, and updates appeal procedures. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed amendment 
updates statutory citations in light of H.B. 63 (2008), and  
deletes "prehearing" and inserts "status" conference to match 
recent commission changes to practice.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 
63 (2008) is found at Chapter 382, Laws of Utah 2008, and 
was effective 05/05/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 63G-4-202 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--The proposed amendment 
reflects changes to the appeals procedures. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--The proposed amendment 
reflects changes to the appeals procedures. 
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  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
None--The proposed amendment reflects changes to the 
appeals procedures. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--The 
amendment reflects changes to the appeals procedures. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no fiscal impacts 
with this procedural update.  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TAX COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
210 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84134-0002, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Cheryl Lee at the above address, by phone at 801-297-3900, 
by FAX at 801-297-3919, or by Internet E-mail at 
clee@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R861.  Tax Commission, Administration. 
R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures. 
R861-1A-23.  Designation of Adjudicative Proceedings Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Section [63-46b-4]63G-4-202. 
 [A.](1)  All matters shall be designated as formal proceedings and 
set for a [prehearing conference,] an initial hearing, a status conference, 
or a scheduling conference pursuant to R861-1A-26. 
 [B.](2)  A matter may be diverted to a mediation process pursuant 
to R861-1A-32 upon agreement of the parties and the presiding officer. 
 
KEY:  developmentally disabled, grievance procedures, taxation, 
disclosure requirements 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
25], 2008 
Notice of Continuation:  March 20, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [63-46b-
4]63G-4-202 
 

  
 

Tax Commission, Administration 

R861-1A-26 
Procedures for Formal Adjudicative 
Proceedings Pursuant to Utah Code 

Ann. Sections 59-1-501 and 63-46b 6 
through 63-46b-11 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31635 

FILED:  06/27/2008, 16:17 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
proposed amendment updates statutory references that have 
changed through legislation, and updates appeals procedures. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed amendment 
updates statutory citations in light of H.B. 63 (2008), and 
deletes reference to a pre-hearing conference since the 
commission no longer holds pre-hearing conferences.  (DAR 
NOTE:  H.B. 63 (2008) is found at Chapter 382, Laws of Utah 
2008, and was effective 05/05/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 63G-4-204 through 63G-4-209 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--The proposed amendment 
reflects changes to the appeals procedures. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--The proposed amendment 
reflects changes to the appeals procedures. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
None--The proposed amendment reflects changes to the 
appeals procedures. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--The 
amendment reflects changes made to the appeals 
procedures. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no impacts with this 
procedural update.  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TAX COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
210 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84134-0002, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Cheryl Lee at the above address, by phone at 801-297-3900, 
by FAX at 801-297-3919, or by Internet E-mail at 
clee@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R861.  Tax Commission, Administration. 
R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures. 
R861-1A-26.  Procedures for Formal Adjudicative Proceedings 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-1-501 and [63-46b-6 
through 63-46b-11]63G-4-204 through 63G-4-209. 
 (1)  A [prehearing, ]scheduling[,] or status conference may be 
held. 
 (a)  At the conference, the parties and the presiding officer may: 
 (i)  establish deadlines and procedures for discovery; 
 (ii)  discuss scheduling; 
 (iii)  clarify other issues; 
 (iv)  determine whether to refer the action to a mediation process; 
and 
 (v)  determine whether the initial hearing will be waived. 
 (b)  The [prehearing, ]scheduling[,] or status conference may be 
converted to an initial hearing upon agreement of the parties. 
 (2)  Notice of Hearing.  At least ten days prior to a hearing date, 
the Commission shall notify the petitioning party or the petitioning 
party's representative by mail, e-mail, or facsimile of the date, time and 
place of any hearing or proceeding. 
 (3)  Proceedings Conducted by Telephone.  Any proceeding may 
be held with one or more of the parties on the telephone if the presiding 
officer determines that it will be more convenient or expeditious for one 
or more of the parties and does not unfairly prejudice the rights of any 
party.  Each party to the proceeding is responsible for notifying the 
presiding officer of the telephone number where contact can be made 
for purposes of conducting the hearing. 
 (4)  Representation. 
 (a)  A party may pursue  an appeal before the commission without 
assistance of legal counsel or other representation.  However, a party 
may be represented by legal counsel or other representation at every 
stage of adjudication.  Failure to obtain legal representation shall not be 
grounds for complaint at a later stage in the adjudicative proceeding or 
for relief on appeal from an order of the commission. 
 (i)  For appeals concerning Utah corporate franchise and income 
taxes or Utah individual income taxes, legal counsel must file a power 
of attorney or the taxpayer must submit a signed petition for 
redetermination (Tax Commission form TC-738) on which the 
taxpayer has authorized legal counsel to represent him or her in the 
appeal.  For all other appeals, legal counsel may, as an alternative, 
submit an entry of appearance. 
 (ii)  Any representative other than legal counsel must submit a 
signed power of attorney authorizing the representative to act on the 
party's behalf and binding the party by the representative's action, 
unless the taxpayer submits a signed petition for redetermination (Tax 
Commission form TC-738) on which the taxpayer has authorized the 
representative to represent him or her in the appeal. 
 (iii)  If a party is represented by legal counsel or other 
representation, all documents will be directed to the party's 
representative.  Documents will be mailed to the representative's street 
or other address as shown in documents submitted by the 

representative.  Documents may also be transmitted by facsimile 
number, e-mail address or other electronic means.  A request by a party 
that documents be transmitted by e-mail shall constitute a waiver of 
confidentiality of any confidential information disclosed in that e-mail. 
 (b)  Any division of the commission named as party to the 
proceeding may be represented by the Attorney General's Office upon 
an attorney of that office submitting an entry of appearance. 
 (5)  Subpoena Power. 
 (a)  Issuance.  Subpoenas may be issued to secure the attendance 
of witnesses or the production of evidence. 
 (i)  If all parties are represented by counsel, an attorney admitted 
to practice law in Utah may issue and sign the subpoena. 
 (ii)  In all other cases, the party requesting the subpoena must 
prepare it and submit it to the presiding officer for review and, if 
appropriate, signature.  The presiding officer may inform a party of its 
rights under the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 (b)  Service. Service of the subpoena shall be made by the party 
requesting it in a manner consistent with the Utah Rules of Civil 
Procedure. 
 (6)  Motions. 
 (a)  Consolidation.  The presiding officer has discretion to 
consolidate cases when the same tax assessment, series of assessments, 
or issues are involved in each, or where the fact situations and the legal 
questions presented are virtually identical. 
 (b)  Continuance.  A continuance may be granted at the discretion 
of the presiding officer. 
 (i)  In the absence of a scheduling order: 
 (A)  Each party to an appeal may receive one continuance, upon 
request, prior to the initial hearing. 
 (B)  If the initial hearing is waived or a formal hearing is timely 
requested after an initial hearing decision is issued, each party may 
receive one continuance, upon request, prior to the formal hearing. 
 (C)  A request must be submitted no later than ten days prior to 
the proceeding for which the continuance is requested and may be 
denied if a party is prejudiced by the continuance. 
 (ii)  If a scheduling order has been issued or the requesting party 
has already been granted a continuance, a continuance request must be 
submitted in writing to the presiding officer.  The request must set forth 
specific reasons for the continuance.  After reviewing the request with 
one or more commissioners, the presiding officer shall grant the request 
only if the presiding officer determines that adequate cause has been 
shown and that no other party or parties will be unduly prejudiced. 
 (c)  Default.  The presiding officer may enter an order of default 
against a party in accordance with Section [63-46b-11]63G-4-209. 
 (i)  The default order shall include a statement of the grounds for 
default and shall be delivered to all parties. 
 (ii)  A defaulted party may seek to have the default set aside 
according to procedures set forth in the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 (d)  Ruling on Motions.  Motions may be made during the hearing 
or by written motion. 
 (i)  Each motion shall include the grounds upon which it is based 
and the relief or order sought.  Copies of written motions shall be 
served upon all other parties to the proceeding. 
 (ii)  Upon the filing of any motion, the presiding officer may: 
 (A)  grant or deny the motion; or 
 (B)  set the matter for briefing, hearing, or further proceedings. 
 (iii)  If a hearing on a motion is held that may dispose of all or a 
portion of the appeal or any claim or defense in the appeal, the 
commission shall make a record of the proceeding, which may include 
a written record or an audio recording of the proceeding. 
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 (e)  Requests to Withdraw Locally-Assessed Property Tax 
Appeals. 
 (i)  A party who appeals a county board of equalization decision to 
the commission may unilaterally withdraw its appeal if: 
 (A)  it submits a written request to withdraw the appeal 20 or more 
days prior to: 
 (I)  the initial hearing; or 
 (II)  the formal hearing, if the parties waived the initial hearing or 
participated in a mediation conference in lieu of the initial hearing; and 
 (B)  no other party has filed a timely appeal of the county board of 
equalization decision. 
 (ii)  A party who appeals an initial hearing decision issued by the 
commission may unilaterally withdraw its appeal if: 
 (A)  it submits a written request to withdraw 20 or more days prior 
to the formal hearing, regardless of whether the party who appealed the 
initial hearing order is also the party who appealed the county board of 
equalization decision; and 
 (B)  no other party has filed a timely appeal of the initial hearing 
decision. 
 
KEY:  developmentally disabled, grievance procedures, taxation, 
disclosure requirements 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
25], 2008 
Notice of Continuation:  March 20, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  59-1-501; [63-
46b-6 through 63-46b-11]63G-4-204 through 63G-4-209 
 

  
 

Tax Commission, Administration 

R861-1A-27 
Discovery Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 

Section 63-46b-7 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31638 
FILED:  06/27/2008, 16:48 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
proposed amendment updates statutory references that have 
changed through legislation, and updates discovery 
procedures to match changes in practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed amendment 
updates statutory citations in light of H.B. 63 (2008), and 
deletes "prehearing" and adds "status" conference to match 
recent changes to Tax Commission practice.  (DAR NOTE:  
H.B. 63 (2008) is found at Chapter 382, Laws of Utah 2008, 
and was effective 05/05/2008.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 63G-4-205 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--The proposed amendment 
reflects changes to the appeals procedures. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--The proposed amendment 
reflects changes to the appeals procedures. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
None--The proposed amendment reflects changes to the 
appeals procedures. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--The 
amendments reflect changes made to the appeals 
procedures. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no impacts with this 
procedural update.  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TAX COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
210 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84134-0002, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Cheryl Lee at the above address, by phone at 801-297-3900, 
by FAX at 801-297-3919, or by Internet E-mail at 
clee@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R861.  Tax Commission, Administration. 
R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures. 
R861-1A-27.  Discovery Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section [63-
46b-7]63G-4-205. 
 [A.](1)  Discovery procedures in formal proceedings shall be 
established during the [prehearing and ]scheduling, and status 
conference in accordance with the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and 
other applicable statutory authority. 
 [B.](2)  The party requesting information or documents may be 
required to pay in advance the costs of obtaining or reproducing such 
information or documents. 
 
KEY:  developmentally disabled, grievance procedures, taxation, 
disclosure requirements 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
25], 2008 
Notice of Continuation:  March 20, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [63-46b-
7]63G-4-205 
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Tax Commission, Auditing 

R865-6F-8 
Allocation and Apportionment of Net 

Income (Uniform Division of Income for 
Tax Purposes Act) Pursuant to Utah 

Code Ann. Sections 59-7-302 through 
59-7-321 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31632 

FILED:  06/27/2008, 13:37 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
proposed amendments are necessary to match changes to 
the model rule this rule is based on. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed amendment 
of a model Multistate Tax Commission (MTC) rule updates the 
definition of business income and unitary business in 
accordance with changes to the MTC model rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 59-7-302 through 59-7-321 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--These amendments codify the 
state's practice. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--These amendments codify the 
state's practice. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
None--These amendments codify the state's practice. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--The 
proposed amendments reflect current Tax Commission 
practice. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no anticipated 
impacts.  D'Arcy Dixon, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TAX COMMISSION 
AUDITING 
210 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84134, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Cheryl Lee at the above address, by phone at 801-297-3900, 
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R865.  Tax Commission, Auditing. 
R865-6F.  Franchise Tax. 
R865-6F-8.  Allocation and Apportionment of Net Income 
(Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act) Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-7-302 through 59-7-321. 
 [(1)  Business and Nonbusiness Income Defined. Section 59-7-
302 defines business income as income arising from transactions and 
activity in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business 
operations. In essence, all income that arises from the conduct of trade 
or business operations of a taxpayer is business income. For purposes 
of administration of the Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes 
Act (UDITPA), the income of the taxpayer is business income unless 
clearly classifiable as nonbusiness income. 
 (a)  Nonbusiness income means all income other than business 
income and shall be narrowly construed. 
 (b)  The classification of income by the labels occasionally 
used, such as manufacturing income, compensation for services, 
sales income, interest, dividends, rents, royalties, gains, operating 
income, and nonoperating income, is of no aid in determining 
whether income is business or nonbusiness income. Income of any 
type or class and from any source is business income if it arises from 
transactions and activity occurring in the regular course of a trade or 
business. Accordingly, the critical element in determining whether 
income is business income or nonbusiness income is the 
identification of the transactions and activity that are the elements of 
a particular trade or business. In general, all transactions and 
activities of the taxpayer that are dependent upon or contribute to the 
operation of the taxpayer's economic enterprise as a whole constitute 
the taxpayer's trade or business and will be transactions and activity 
arising in the regular course of business, and will constitute integral 
parts of a trade or business. 
 (c)  Business and Nonbusiness Income. Application of 
Definitions. The following are rules for determining whether 
particular income is business or nonbusiness income: 
 (i)  Rents from real and tangible personal property. Rental 
income from real and tangible property is business income if the 
property with respect to which the rental income was received is 
used in the taxpayer's trade or business or is incidental thereto and 
therefore is includable in the property factor under Subsection 
(7)(a)(i). 
 (ii)  Gains or Losses from Sales of Assets. Gain or loss from the 
sale, exchange or other disposition of real or tangible or intangible 
personal property constitutes business income if the property while 
owned by the taxpayer was used in the taxpayer's trade or business. 
However, if the property was utilized for the production of nonbusiness 
income the gain or loss will constitute nonbusiness income. See 
Subsection (7)(a)(ii). 
 (iii)  Interest. Interest income is business income where the 
intangible with respect to which the interest was received arises out of 
or was created in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business 
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operations or where the purpose for acquiring and holding the 
intangible is related to or incidental to trade or business operations. 
 (iv)  Dividends. Dividends are business income where the stock 
with respect to which the dividends are received arises out of or was 
acquired in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business 
operations or where the purpose for acquiring and holding the stock 
is related to or incidental to the trade or business operations. 
Because of the regularity with which most corporate taxpayers 
engage in investment activities, because the source of capital for 
those investments arises in the ordinary course of a taxpayer's 
business, because the income from those investments is utilized in 
the ordinary course of the taxpayer's business and because those 
investment assets are used for general credit purposes, income 
arising from the ownership or sale or other disposition of 
investments is presumptively business income. This presumption 
may be rebutted if the taxpayer can prove that the investment is 
unrelated to the regular trade or business activities. 
 (v)  Proration of Deductions. In most cases an allowable deduction 
of a taxpayer will be applicable only to the business income arising 
from the trade or business or to a particular item of nonbusiness 
income. In some cases an allowable deduction may be applicable to the 
business income and to nonbusiness income. In those cases the 
deduction shall be prorated among the business and nonbusiness 
income in a manner that fairly distributes the deduction among the 
classes of income to which it is applicable. 
 (vi)  A schedule must be submitted with the return showing: 
 (A)  the gross income from each class of income being allocated; 
 (B)  the amount of each class of applicable expenses, together 
with explanation or computations showing how amounts were arrived 
at; 
 (C)  the total amount of the applicable expenses for each income 
class; and 
 (D)  the net income of each income class. The schedules should 
provide appropriate columns as set forth above for items allocated to 
this state and for items allocated outside this state. 
 (vii)  In filing returns with this state, if the taxpayer departs 
from or modifies the manner of prorating any such deduction used in 
returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the return for 
the current year the nature and extent of the modification. 
 (viii)  If the returns or reports filed by a taxpayer with all states to 
which the taxpayer reports under UDITPA are not uniform in the 
application or proration of any deduction, the taxpayer shall disclose in 
its return to this state the nature and extent of the variance. 
 (2)](1)  Definitions. 
 (a)  ["Taxpayer," for purposes of this rule, is as defined in Section 
59-7-101]"Allocation" means the assignment of nonbusiness income to 
a particular state. 
 (b)  "Apportionment" means the division of business income 
between states by the use of a formula containing apportionment 
factors. 
 (c)  ["Allocation" means the assignment of nonbusiness income to 
a particular state]"Base of operations" means the place of more or less 
permanent nature from which the employee starts work and to which 
the employee customarily returns in order to receive instructions from 
the taxpayer or communications from customers or other persons, or to 
 replenish stock or other materials, repair equipment, or perform any 
other function necessary to the exercise of his trade or profession at 
some other point or points. 
 (d)  "Business activity" refers to the transactions and 
[activity]activities occurring in the regular course of [the]a particular 
trade or business of a taxpayer, or to the acquisition, management, and 

disposition of property that constitute integral parts of the taxpayer's 
regular trade or business operations. 
 (e)  "Business income" means income of any type or class, and 
from any activity, that meets the relationship described in Subsection 
(2)(b), the transactional test, or Subsection (2)(c), the functional test.  
The classification of income by the labels occasionally used, such as 
manufacturing income, compensation for services, sales income, 
interest, dividends, rents, royalties, gains, operating income, and 
nonoperating income is of no aid in determining whether income is 
business or nonbusiness income. 
 (f)  "Compensation" means wages, salaries, commissions, and any 
other form of remuneration paid to employees for personal services. 
 (g)  "Employee" means an: 
 (i)  officer of a corporation; or 
 (ii)  individual who, under the usual common law rules applicable 
in determining the employer-employee relationship, has the status of an 
employee. 
 [(e)](h)  "Gross receipts" are the gross amounts realized (the sum 
of money and the fair market value of other property or services 
received)  on the sale or exchange of property, the performance of 
services, or the use of property or capital (including rents, royalties, 
interest and dividends)  in a transaction that produces business income, 
in which the income or loss is recognized (or would be recognized if 
the transaction were in the United States)  under the Internal Revenue 
Code. Amounts realized on the sale or exchange or property are not 
reduced for the cost of goods sold or the basis of property sold. 
 (i)  Gross receipts, even if business income, do not include such 
items as, for example: 
 (A)  repayment, maturity, or redemption of the principal of a loan, 
bond, or mutual fund or certificate of deposit or similar marketable 
instrument; 
 (B)  the principal amount received under a repurchase 
agreement or other transaction properly characterized as a loan; 
 (C)  proceeds from issuance of the taxpayer's own stock or 
from sale of treasury stock; 
 (D)  damages and other amounts received as the result of 
litigation; 
 (E)  property acquired by an agent on behalf of another; 
 (F)  tax refunds and other tax benefit recoveries; 
 (G)  pension reversions; 
 (H)  contributions to capital (except for sales of securities by 
securities dealers); 
 (I)  income from forgiveness of indebtedness; or 
 (J)  amounts realized from exchanges of inventory that are not 
recognized by the Internal Revenue Code. 
 (ii)  Exclusion of an item from the definition of "gross receipts" is 
not determinative of its character as business or nonbusiness income. 
Nothing in this definition shall be construed to modify, impair or 
supersede any provision of [J]Subsection (11). 
 (i)  "Nonbusiness income" means all income other than business 
income. 
 (j)  "Place from which the service is directed or controlled" means 
the place from which the power to direct or control is exercised by the 
taxpayer. 
 (k)  "Taxpayer" means a corporation as defined in Section 59-7-
101. 
 (l)  "To contribute materially" includes being used operationally in 
the taxpayer's trade or business.  Whether property contributes 
materially is not determined by reference to the property's value or 
percentage of use.  If an item of property contributes materially to the 
taxpayer's trade or business, the attributes, rights, or components of that 
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property are also operationally used in that business.  However, 
property that is held for mere financial betterment is not operationally 
used in the taxpayer's trade or business. 
 (m)  "Trade or business" means the unitary business of the 
taxpayer, part of which is conducted within Utah. 
 (2)  Business and Nonbusiness Income. 
 (a)  Apportionment and Allocation.  Section 59-7-303 requires 
that every item of income be classified as either business income or 
nonbusiness income.  Income for purposes of classification as business 
or nonbusiness includes gains and losses.  Business income is 
apportioned among jurisdictions by use of a formula.  Nonbusiness 
income is specifically assigned or allocated to one or more specific 
jurisdictions pursuant to express rules.  An item of income is classified 
as business income if it falls within the definition of business income.  
An item of income is nonbusiness income only if it does not meet the 
definitional requirements for being classified as business income. 
 (b)  Transactional Test.  Business income includes income arising 
from transactions and activity in the regular course of the taxpayer's 
trade or business. 
 (i)  If the transaction or activity is in the regular course of the 
taxpayer's trade or business, part of which trade or business is 
conducted within the state, the resulting income of the transaction or 
activity is business income for Utah purposes.  Income may be business 
income even though the actual transaction or activity that gives rise to 
the income does not occur in this state. 
 (ii)  For a transaction or activity to be in the regular course of the 
taxpayer's trade or business, the transaction or activity need not be one 
that frequently occurs in the trade or business.  Most, but not all, 
frequently occurring transactions or activities will be in the regular 
course of that trade or business and will, therefore, satisfy the 
transactional test.  It is sufficient to classify a transaction or activity as 
being in the regular course of a trade or business if it is reasonable to 
conclude transactions of that type are customary in the kind of trade or 
business being conducted, or are within the scope of what that kind of 
trade or business does.  However, even if a taxpayer frequently or 
customarily engages in investment activities, if those activities are for 
the taxpayer's mere financial betterment rather than for the operations 
of the trade or business, those activities do not satisfy the transactional 
test.  The transactional test includes income from sales of inventory, 
property held for sale to customers, and services commonly sold by the 
trade or business.  The transactional test also includes income from the 
sale of property used in the production of business income of a kind 
that is sold and replaced with some regularity, even if replaced less 
frequently than once a year. 
 (c)  Functional Test.  Business income also includes income from 
tangible and intangible property if the acquisition, management, and 
disposition of the property constitute integral parts of the taxpayer's 
regular trade or business operations. 
 (i)  The following definitions apply to this Subsection (2)(c). 
 (A)  "Acquisition" means the act of obtaining an interest in 
property. 
 (B)  "Disposition" means the act, or the power, of relinquishing or 
transferring an interest in or control over property to another, either in 
whole or in part. 
 (C)  "Integral part" means property that constitutes a part of the 
composite whole of the trade or business, each part of which gives 
value to every other part, in a manner that materially contributes to the 
production of business income. 
 (D)  "Management" means the oversight, direction, or control, 
whether directly or by delegation, of the property for the use or benefit 
of the trade or business. 

 (E)  "Property" includes an interest in, control over, or use of 
property, whether the interest is held directly, beneficially, by contract, 
or otherwise, that materially contributes to the production of business 
income. 
 (ii)  Under the functional test, business income need not be 
derived from transactions or activities that are in the regular course of 
the taxpayer's own particular trade or business.  It is sufficient, if the 
property from which the income is derived is or was an integral, 
functional, or operative component used in the taxpayer's trade or 
business operations, or otherwise materially contributed to the 
production of business income of the trade or business, part of which 
trade or business is or was conducted within the state.  Property that has 
been converted to nonbusiness use through the passage of a sufficiently 
lengthy period of time, generally five years, or that has been removed 
as an operational asset and is instead held by the taxpayer's trade or 
business exclusively for investment purposes, has lost its character as a 
business asset and is not subject to this subsection.  Property that was 
an integral part of the trade or business is not considered converted to 
investment purposes merely because it is placed for sale. 
 (iii)  Income that is derived from isolated sales, leases, 
assignments, licenses, and other infrequently occurring dispositions, 
transfers, or transactions involving property, including transactions 
made in liquidation or the winding-up of business, is business income if 
the property is or was used in the taxpayer's trade or business 
operations. 
 (A)  Property that has been converted to nonbusiness use has lost 
its character as a business asset and is not subject to Subsection 
(2)(c)(iii). 
 (B)  Income from the licensing of an intangible asset, such as a 
patent, copyright, trademark, service mark, know-how, trade secrets, or 
the like, that was developed or acquired for use by the taxpayer in its 
trade or business operations, constitutes business income whether or not 
the licensing itself constituted the operation of a trade or business, and 
whether or not the taxpayer remains in the same trade or business from 
or for which the intangible asset was developed or acquired. 
 (iv)  Under the functional test, income from intangible property is 
business income when the intangible property serves an operational 
function as opposed to solely an investment function.  The relevant 
inquiry focuses on whether the property is or was held in furtherance of 
the taxpayer's trade or business, that is, on the objective characteristics 
of the intangible property's use or acquisition and its relation to the 
taxpayer and the taxpayer's activities.  The functional test is not 
satisfied where the holding of the property is limited to solely an 
investment function as is the case where the holding of the property is 
limited to mere financial betterment of the taxpayer in general. 
 (v)  If the property is or was held in furtherance of the taxpayer's 
trade or business beyond mere financial betterment, income from that 
property may be business income even though the actual transaction or 
activity involving the property that gives rise to the income does not 
occur in this state. 
 (vi)  If with respect to an item of property a taxpayer takes a 
deduction from business income that is apportioned to this state, or 
includes the original cost in the property factor, it is presumed that the 
item of property is or was integral to the taxpayer's trade or business 
operations.  No presumption arises from the absence of any of these 
actions. 
 (vii)  Application of the functional test is generally unaffected by 
the form of the property, whether tangible or intangible, real or 
personal.  Income arising from an intangible interest, for example, 
corporate stock or other intangible interest in a business or a group of 
assets, is business income when the intangible itself or the property 
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underlying or associated with the intangible is or was an integral, 
functional, or operative component of the taxpayer's trade or business 
operations. 
 (A)  Property that has been converted to nonbusiness use has lost 
its character as a business asset and is not subject to this Subsection 
(2)(c)(vii). 
 (B)  While apportionment of income derived from transactions 
involving intangible property as business income may be supported by 
a finding that the issuer of the intangible property and the taxpayer are 
engaged in the same trade or business, that is, the same unitary 
business, establishment of that relationship is not the exclusive basis for 
concluding that the income is subject to apportionment. 
 (C)  It is sufficient to support the finding of apportionable income 
if the holding of the intangible interest served an operational rather than 
an investment function of mere financial betterment. 
 (d)  Relationship of Transactional Test and Functional Tests to the 
United States Constitution. 
 (i)  The due process clause and the commerce clause of the United 
States Constitution restrict states from apportioning income as business 
income that has no rational relationship with the taxing state.  The 
protection against extra-territorial state taxation afforded by these 
clauses is often described as the unitary business principle.  The unitary 
business principle requires apportionable income to be derived from the 
same unitary business that is being conducted as least in part in the 
state. 
 (ii)  The unitary business conducted in this state includes both a 
unitary business that the taxpayer alone may be conducting and a 
unitary business the taxpayer may conduct with any other person.  
Satisfaction of either the transactional test or the functional test 
complies with the unitary business principle, because each test requires 
that the transaction or activity, in the case of the transactional test, or 
the property, in the case of the functional test, to be tied to the same 
trade or business that is conducted within the state.  Determination of 
the scope of the unitary business conducted in the state is without 
regard to the extent to which this state requires or permits combined 
reporting. 
 (e)  Business and Nonbusiness Income Application of Definitions. 
 (i)  Rents From Real and Tangible Personal Property.  Rental 
income from real and tangible property is business income if the 
property with respect to which the rental income was received is or was 
used in the taxpayer's trade or business and therefore is includable in 
the property factor under Subsection (8)(a)(i).  Property that has been 
converted to nonbusiness use has lost its character as a business asset 
and is not subject to this subsection. 
 (ii)  Gains or Losses From Sales of Assets.  Gain or loss from the 
sale, exchange, or other disposition of real property or of tangible or 
intangible personal property constitutes business income if the property 
while owned by the taxpayer was used in, or was otherwise included in 
the property factor of the taxpayer's trade or business. However, if the 
property was utilized for the production of nonbusiness income or it 
was previously included in the property factor and later removed from 
the property factor before its sale, exchange, or other disposition, the 
gain or loss constitutes nonbusiness income.  See Subsection (8)(a)(ii). 
 (iii)  Interest.  Interest income is business income where the 
intangible with respect to which the interest was received arises out of 
or was created in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business 
operations, or where the purpose for acquiring and holding the 
intangible is an integral, functional, or operative component of the 
taxpayer's trade or business operations, or otherwise materially 
contributes to the production of business income of the trade or 
business operations. 

 (iv)  Dividends.  Dividends are business income where the stock 
with respect to which the dividends were received arose out of or was 
acquired in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business 
operations or where the acquiring and holding of the stock is an 
integral, functional, or operative component of the taxpayer's trade or 
business operations, or otherwise materially contributes to the 
production of business income of the trade or business operations. 
 (v)  Patent and Copyright Royalties.  Patent and copyright 
royalties are business income where the patent or copyright with 
respect to which the royalties were received arose out of or was created 
in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business operations or 
where the acquiring and holding of the patent or copyright is an 
integral, functional, or operational component of the taxpayer's trade or 
business operations, or otherwise materially contributes to the 
production of business income of the trade or business operations. 
 (vi)  Proration of Deductions.  In most cases, an allowable 
deduction of a taxpayer will be applicable only to the business income 
arising from a particular trade or business or to a particular item of 
nonbusiness income.  In some cases, an allowable deduction may be 
applicable to the business incomes of more than one trade or business 
or several items of nonbusiness income.  In those cases, the deduction 
shall be prorated among those trades or businesses and those items of 
nonbusiness income in a manner that fairly distributes the deduction 
among the classes of income to which it is applicable. 
 (f)(i)  A schedule must be submitted with the return showing the: 
 (A)  gross income from each class of income being allocated; 
 (B)  amount of each class of applicable expenses, together with 
explanation or computations showing how amounts were arrived at; 
 (C)  total amount of the applicable expenses for each income 
class; and 
 (D)  net income of each income class. 
 (ii)  The schedule shall indicate items of income and expenses 
allocated both to the state and outside the state. 
 (g)  Year to Year Consistency.  In filing returns with the state, if 
the taxpayer departs from or modifies the manner of prorating any 
deduction used in returns for prior years in a material way, the taxpayer 
shall disclose in the return for the current year the nature and extent of 
the modification. 
 (h)  State to State Consistency.  If the returns or reports filed by a 
taxpayer with all states to which the taxpayer reports under the Uniform 
Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act are not uniform in the 
application or proration of any deduction, the taxpayer shall disclose in 
its return to this state the nature and extent of any material variance. 
 (3)  Unitary Business. 
 (a)  Unitary Business Principle. 
 (i)  The Concept of a Unitary Business.  A unitary business is a 
single economic enterprise that is made up of either separate parts of a 
single business entity or a group of business entities related through 
common ownership that are sufficiently interdependent, integrated and 
interrelated through their activities so as to provide a synergy and 
mutual benefit that produces a sharing or exchange of value among 
them and a significant flow of value to the separate parts.  This flow of 
value to a business entity located in this state that comes from being 
part of a unitary business conducted both within and without the state is 
what provides the constitutional due process definite link and minimum 
connection necessary for the state to apportion business income of the 
unitary business, even if that income arises in part form activities 
conducted outside the state.  The business income of the unitary 
business is then apportioned to this state using an apportionment 
percentage provided by Section 59-7-311.  This sharing or exchange of 
value may also be described as requiring that the operation of one part 
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of the business be dependent upon, or contribute to, the operation of 
another part of the business.  Phrased in the disjunctive, the foregoing 
means that if the activities of one business either contribute to the 
activities of another business or are dependent upon the activities of 
another business, those businesses are part of a unitary business. 
 (ii)  Constitutional Requirement for a Unitary Business.  The 
sharing or exchange of value described in Subsection (3)(a)(i)  that 
defines the scope of a unitary business requires more than the mere 
flow of funds arising out of a passive investment or from the financial 
strength contributed by a distinct business undertaking that has no 
operational relationship to the unitary business.  In this state, the unitary 
business principle shall be applied to the fullest extent allowed by the 
United States Constitution.  The unitary business principle shall not be 
applied to result in the combination of business activities or entities 
under circumstances where, if it were adverse to the taxpayer, the 
combination of those activities or entities would not be allowed by the 
United States Constitution. 
 (iii)  Separate Trades or Businesses Conducted Within a Single 
Entity.  A single entity may have more than one unitary business.  In 
those cases, it is necessary to determine the business, or apportionable, 
income attributable to each separate unitary business as well as its 
nonbusiness income, which is specifically allocated.  The business 
income of each unitary business is then apportioned by a formula that 
takes into consideration the in-state and out-of-state factors that relate 
to the respective unitary business whose income is being apportioned. 
 (iv)  Unitary Business Unaffected by Formal Business 
Organization.  A unitary business may exist within a single business 
entity or among a group of business entities related through common 
ownership, as defined in Section 59-7-101. 
 (b)  Determination of a Unitary Business. 
 (i)  A unitary business is characterized by significant flows of 
value evidenced by factors such as those described in Mobil Oil Corp. 
v. Vermont, 445 US 425 (1980): functional integration, centralization 
of management, and economies of scale.  These factors provide 
evidence of whether the business activities operate as an integrated 
whole or exhibit substantial mutual interdependence.  Facts suggesting 
the presence of the factors mentioned above should be analyzed in 
combination  for their cumulative effect and not in isolation.  A 
particular characteristic of a business operation may be suggestive of 
one or more of the factors mentioned above. 
 (ii)  Description and Illustration of Functional Integration, 
Centralization of Management, and Economies of Scale. 
 (A)  Functional Integration.  Functional integration refers to 
transfers between, or pooling among, business activities that 
significantly affect the operation of the business activities.  Functional 
integration includes transfers or pooling with respect to the unitary 
business's products or services, technical information, marketing 
information, distribution systems, purchasing, and intangibles such as 
patents, trademarks, service marks, copyrights, trade secrets, know-
how, formulas, and processes.  There is no specific type of functional 
integration that must be present.  The following is a list of examples of 
business operations that support the finding of functional integration.  
The order of the list does not establish a hierarchy of importance. 
 (I)  Sales, Exchanges, or Transfers.  Sales, exchanges, or transfers 
(collectively "sales")  of products, services, and intangibles between 
business activities provide evidence of functional integration.  The 
significance of the intercompany sales to the finding of functional 
integration will be affected by the character of what is sold and the 
percentage of total sales or purchases represented by the intercompany 
sales.  For example, sales among business entities that are part of a 
vertically integrated unitary business are indicative of functional 

integration.  Functional integration is not negated by the use of a readily 
determinable market price to effect the intercompany sales, because 
those sales can represent an assured market for the seller or an assured 
source of supply for the purchaser. 
 (II)  Common Marketing.  The sharing of common marketing 
features among business entities is an indication of functional 
integration when the marketing results in significant mutual advantage. 
 Common marketing exists when a substantial portion of the business 
entities' products, services, or intangibles are distributed or sold to a 
common customer, when the business entities use a common trade 
name or other common identification, or when the business entities 
seek to identify themselves to their customers as a member of the same 
enterprise.  The use of a common advertising agency or a commonly 
owned or controlled in-house advertising office does not by itself  
establish common marketing that is suggestive of functional 
integration.  That activity, however, is relevant to determining the 
existence of economies of scale and centralization of management. 
 (III)  Transfer or Pooling of Technical Information or Intellectual 
Property.  Transfers or pooling of technical information or intellectual 
property, such as patents, copyrights, trademarks and service marks, 
trade secrets, processes or formulas, know-how, research, or 
development provide evidence of functional integration when the 
matter transferred is significant to the businesses' operations. 
 (IV)  Common Distribution System.  Use of a common 
distribution system by the business entities, under which inventory 
control and accounting, storage, trafficking, or transportation are 
controlled through a common network provides evidence of functional 
integration. 
 (V)  Common Purchasing.  Common purchasing of substantial 
quantities of products, services, or intangibles from the same source by 
the business entities, particularly where the purchasing results in 
significant cost savings and is significant to each entity's operations or 
sales, provides evidence of functional integration. 
 (VI)  Common or Intercompany Financing.  Significant common 
or intercompany financing, including the guarantee by, or the pledging 
of the credit of, one or more business entities for the benefit of another 
business entity or entities provides evidence of functional integration, if 
the financing activity serves an operational purpose of both borrower 
and lender.  Lending that serves an investment purpose of the lender 
does not necessarily provide evidence of functional integration. 
 (B)  Centralization of Management.  Centralization of 
management exists when directors, officers, and other management 
employees jointly participate in the management decisions that affect 
the respective business activities and that may also operate to the 
benefit of the entire economic enterprise.  Centralization of 
management can exist whether the centralization is effected from a 
parent entity to a subsidiary entity, from a subsidiary entity to a parent 
entity, from one subsidiary entity to another, from one division within a 
single business entity to another division within a business entity, or 
from any combination of the foregoing.  Centralization of management 
may exist even when day-to-day management responsibility and 
accountability has been decentralized, so long as the management has 
an ongoing operational role with respect to the business activities.  An 
operational role may be effected through mandates, consensus building, 
or an overall operational strategy of the business, or any other 
mechanism that establishes joint management. 
 (I)  Facts Providing Evidence of Centralization of Management.  
Evidence of centralization of management is provided when common 
officers participate in the decisions relating to the business operations 
of the different segments.  Centralization of management may exist 
when management shares or applies knowledge and expertise among 
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the parts of the business.  Existence of common officers and directors, 
while relevant to a showing of centralization of management, does not 
alone provide evidence of centralization of management.  Common 
officers are more likely to provide evidence of centralization of 
management than are common directors. 
 (II)  Stewardship Distinguished.  Centralized efforts to fulfill 
stewardship oversight are not evidence of centralization of 
management.  Stewardship oversight consists of those activities that 
any owner would take to review the performance of or safeguard an 
investment.  Stewardship oversight is distinguished from those 
activities that an owner may take to enhance value by integrating one or 
more significant operating aspects of one business activity with the 
other business activities of the owner.  For example, implementing 
reporting requirements or mere approval of capital expenditures may 
evidence only stewardship oversight. 
 (C)  Economies of Scale.  Economies of scale refers to a relation 
among and between business activities resulting in a significant 
decrease in the average per unit cost of operational or administrative 
functions due to the increase in operational size.  Economies of scale 
may exist from the inherent cost savings that arise from the presence of 
functional integration or centralization of management.  The following 
are examples of business operations that support the finding of 
economies of scale.  The order of the list does not establish a hierarchy 
of importance. 
 (I)  Centralized Purchasing.  Centralized purchasing designed to 
achieve savings due to the volume of purchases, the timing of 
purchases, or the interchangeability of purchased items among the parts 
of the business engaging in the purchasing provides evidence of 
economies of scale. 
 (II)  Centralized Administrative Functions.  The performance of 
traditional corporate administrative functions, such as legal services, 
payroll services, pension and other employee benefit administration, in 
common among the parts of the business may result in some degree of 
economies of scale.  A business entity that secures savings in the 
performance of corporate administrative services due to its affiliation 
with other business entities that it would not otherwise reasonably be 
able to secure on its own because of its size, financial resources, or 
available market provides evidence of economies of scale. 
 (c)  Indicators of a Unitary Business. 
 (i)  Business activities that are in the same general line of business 
generally constitute a single unitary business, as for example, a 
multistate grocery chain. 
 (ii)  Business activities that are part of different steps in a 
vertically structured business almost always constitute a single unitary 
business.  For example, a business engaged in the exploration, 
development, extraction, and processing of a natural resource and the 
subsequent sale of a product based upon the extracted natural resource, 
is engaged in a single unitary business, regardless of the fact that the 
various steps in the process are operated substantially independently of 
each other with only general supervision from the business's executive 
offices. 
 (iii)  Business activities that might otherwise be considered as part 
of more than one unitary business may constitute one unitary business 
when the factors outlined in Subsection (3)(b)  are present.  For 
example, some businesses conducting diverse lines of business may 
properly be considered as engaged in only one unitary business when 
the central executive officers are actively involved in the operations of 
the various business activities and there are centralized offices that 
perform for the business the normal matters a truly independent 
business would perform for itself, such as personnel, purchasing, 
advertising, or financing. 

 [(3)](4)  Apportionment and Allocation. 
 (a)(i)  If the business activity with respect to the trade or business 
of a taxpayer occurs both within and without this state, and if by reason 
of that business activity the taxpayer is taxable in another state, the 
portion of the net income (or net loss)  arising from the trade or 
business derived from sources within this state shall be determined by 
apportionment in accordance with Sections 59-7-311 to 59-7-319. 
 (ii)  For purposes of determining the fraction by which business 
income shall be apportioned to this state under Section 59-7-311: 
 (A)  Except as provided in Subsection [(3)](4)(a)(ii)(B), if a 
taxpayer does not make an election to double weight the sales factor 
under Subsection 59-7-311(3)  and one or more of the factors listed in 
Subsection 59-7-311(2)(a)  is missing, the fraction by which business 
income shall be apportioned to the state shall be determined by adding 
the factors present and dividing that sum by the number of factors 
present. 
 (B)  If a taxpayer has made an election to double weight the sales 
factor under Section 59-7-311(3)  and if the sales factor is present, the 
denominator of the fraction described in Subsection [(3)](4)(a)(ii)(A)  
shall be increased by one. 
 (b)  Allocation. Any taxpayer subject to the taxing jurisdiction of 
this state shall allocate all of its nonbusiness income or loss within or 
without this state in accordance with Sections 59-7-306 to 59-7-310. 
 [(4)](5)  Consistency and Uniformity in Reporting. In filing 
returns with this state, if the taxpayer departs from or modifies the 
manner in which income has been classified as business income or 
nonbusiness income in returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall 
disclose in the return for the current year the nature and extent of the 
modification. If the returns or reports filed by a taxpayer for all states to 
which the taxpayer reports under UDITPA are not uniform in the 
classification of income as business or nonbusiness income, the 
taxpayer shall disclose in its return to this state the nature and extent of 
the variance. 
 [(5)](6)  Taxable in Another State. 
 (a)  In General. Under Section 59-7-303 the taxpayer is subject 
to the allocation and apportionment provisions of UDITPA if it has 
income from business activity that is taxable both within and 
without this state. A taxpayer's income from business activity is 
taxable without this state if the taxpayer, by reason of business 
activity (i.e., the transactions and activity occurring in the regular 
course of the trade or business), is taxable in another state within the 
meaning of Section 59-7-305. A taxpayer is taxable within another 
state if it meets either one of two tests: 
 (i)  if by reason of business activity in another state the 
taxpayer is subject to one of the types of taxes specified in Section 
59-7-305(1), namely: a net income tax, a franchise tax measured by 
net income, a franchise tax for the privilege of doing business, or a 
corporate stock tax; or 
 (ii)  if by reason of business activity another state has jurisdiction 
to subject the taxpayer to a net income tax, regardless of whether the 
state imposes that tax on the taxpayer. A taxpayer is not taxable in 
another state with respect to the trade or business merely because the 
taxpayer conducts activities in that state pertaining to the production of 
nonbusiness income or business activities relating to a separate trade or 
business. 
 (b)  When a Taxpayer Is Subject to a Tax Under Section 59-7-
305. A taxpayer is subject to one of the taxes specified in Section 
59-7-305(1)  if it carries on business activity in a state and that state 
imposes such a tax thereon. Any taxpayer that asserts that it is 
subject to one of the taxes specified in Section 59-7-305(1)  in 
another state shall furnish to the Tax Commission, upon its request, 
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evidence to support that assertion. The Tax Commission may 
request that the evidence include proof that the taxpayer has filed the 
requisite tax return in the other state and has paid any taxes imposed 
under the law of the other state. The taxpayer's failure to produce 
that proof may be taken into account in determining whether the 
taxpayer is subject to one of the taxes specified in Section 59-7-
305(1)  in the other state. If the taxpayer voluntarily files and pays 
one or more taxes when not required to do so by the laws of that 
state or pays a minimal fee for qualification, organization, or for the 
privilege of doing business in that state, but 
 (i)  does not actually engage in business activity in that state, or 
 (ii)  does actually engage in some business activity, not 
sufficient for nexus, and the minimum tax bears no relation to the 
taxpayer's business activity within that state, the taxpayer is not 
subject to one of the taxes specified within the meaning of Section 
59-7-305(1). 
 (c)  When a State Has Jurisdiction to Subject a Taxpayer to a 
Net Income Tax. The second test, that of Section 59-7-305(2), 
applies if the taxpayer's business activity is sufficient to give the 
state jurisdiction to impose a net income tax by reason of business 
activity under the Constitution and statutes of the United States. 
Jurisdiction to tax is not present where the state is prohibited from 
imposing the tax by reason of the provisions of Public Law 86-272, 
15 U. S. C. A. Sec. 381-385 (P.L. 86-272). In the case of any state as 
defined in Section 59-7-302(6), other than a state of the United 
States or political subdivision of a state, the determination of 
whether a state has jurisdiction to subject the taxpayer to a net 
income tax shall be made as though the jurisdictional standards 
applicable to a state of the United States applied in that state. If 
jurisdiction is otherwise present, the state is not considered as 
without jurisdiction by reason of the provisions of a treaty between 
that state and the United States. 
 [(6)](7)  Apportionment Formula. All business income of the 
taxpayer shall be apportioned to this state by use of the apportionment 
formula set forth in Section 59-7-311. The elements of the 
apportionment formula are the property factor, see Subsection [(7)](8), 
the payroll factor, see Subsection [(8)](9), and the sales factor, see 
Subsection [(9)](10) of the trade or business of the taxpayer. For 
exceptions see Subsection [(10)](11). 
 [(7)](8)  Property Factor. 
 (a)  In General. 
 (i)  The property factor of the apportionment formula shall 
include all real and tangible personal property owned or rented by 
the taxpayer and used during the tax period in the regular course of 
its trade or business. Real and tangible personal property includes 
land, buildings, machinery, stocks of goods, equipment, and other 
real and tangible personal property but does not include coin or 
currency. 
 (ii)  Property used in connection with the production of 
nonbusiness income shall be excluded from the property factor. 
Property used both in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or 
business and in the production of nonbusiness income shall be included 
in the factor only to the extent the property is used in the regular course 
of the taxpayer's trade or business. The method of determining the 
portion of the value to be included in the factor will depend upon the 
facts of each case. 
 (iii)  The property factor shall reflect the average value of property 
includable in the factor. Refer to Subsection [(7)(f)](8)(g). 
 (b)  Property Used for the Production of Business Income. 
Property shall be included in the property factor if it is actually used or 
is available for or capable of being used during the tax period in the 

regular course of the trade or business of the taxpayer. Property held as 
reserves or standby facilities or property held as a reserve source of 
materials shall be included in the factor. For example, a plant 
temporarily idle or raw material reserves not currently being processed 
are includable in the factor. Property or equipment under construction 
during the tax period, except inventoriable goods in process, shall be 
excluded from the factor until the property is actually used in the 
regular course of the trade or business of the taxpayer. If the property is 
partially used in the regular course of the trade or business of the 
taxpayer while under construction, the value of the property to the 
extent used shall be included in the property factor.  Property used in 
the regular course of the trade or business of the taxpayer shall remain 
in the property factor until its permanent withdrawal is established by 
an identifiable event such as its conversion to the production of 
nonbusiness income, its sale, or the lapse of an extended period of time, 
normally five years, during which the property is no longer held for use 
in the trade or business. 
 (c)  Consistency in Reporting. In filing returns with this state, if 
the taxpayer departs from or modifies the manner of valuing 
property, or of excluding or including property in the property 
factor, used in returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in 
the return for the current year the nature and extent of the 
modification. If the returns or reports filed by the taxpayer with all 
states to which the taxpayer reports under UDITPA are not uniform 
in the valuation of property and in the exclusion or inclusion of 
property in the property factor, the taxpayer shall disclose in its 
return to this state the nature and extent of the variance. 
 (d)  Property Factor Numerator. The numerator of the property 
factor shall include the average value of the real and tangible personal 
property owned or rented by the taxpayer and used in this state during 
the tax period in the regular course of the trade or business of the 
taxpayer. Property in transit between locations of the taxpayer to which 
it belongs shall be considered to be at the destination for purposes of 
the property factor. Property in transit between a buyer and seller that is 
included by a taxpayer in the denominator of its property factor in 
accordance with its regular accounting practices shall be included in the 
numerator according to the state of destination. The value of mobile or 
movable property such as construction equipment, trucks, or leased 
electronic equipment that are located within and without this state 
during the tax period shall be determined for purposes of the numerator 
of the factor on the basis of total time within the state during the tax 
period. An automobile assigned to a traveling employee shall be 
included in the numerator of the factor of the state to which the 
employee's compensation is assigned under the payroll factor or in the 
numerator of the state in which the automobile is licensed. 
 (e)  Valuation of Owned Property. 
 (i)  Property owned by the taxpayer shall be valued at its 
original cost. As a general rule original cost is deemed to be the 
basis of the property for state franchise or income tax purposes 
(prior to any adjustments)  at the time of acquisition by the taxpayer 
and adjusted by subsequent capital additions or improvements 
thereto and partial disposition thereof, by reasons including sale, 
exchange, and abandonment. However, capitalized intangible 
drilling and development costs shall be included in the property 
factor whether or not they have been expensed for either federal or 
state tax purposes. 
 (ii)  Inventory of stock of goods shall be included in the factor in 
accordance with the valuation method used for state tax purposes. 
 (iii)  Property acquired by gift or inheritance shall be included in 
the factor at its basis for determining depreciation. 
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 (f)  Valuation of Rented Property. 
 (i)  Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at eight times its 
net annual rental rate. The net annual rental rate for any item of 
rented property is the annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer for the 
property, less the aggregate annual subrental rates paid by 
subtenants of the taxpayer. See Subsection [(10)](11)(b)  for special 
rules where the use of the net annual rental rate produces a negative 
or clearly inaccurate value or where property is used by the taxpayer 
at no charge or rented at a nominal rental rate. 
 (ii)  Subrents are not deducted when the subrents constitute 
business income because the property that produces the subrents is used 
in the regular course of the trade or business of the taxpayer when it is 
producing the income. Accordingly there is no reduction in its value. 
 (iii)  Annual rental rate is the amount paid as rental for property 
for a 12-month period; i.e., the amount of the annual rent. Where 
property is rented for less than a 12-month period, the rent paid for the 
actual period of rental shall constitute the annual rental rate for the tax 
period. However, where a taxpayer has rented property for a term of 12 
or more months and the current tax period covers a period of less than 
12 months (due, for example, to a reorganization or change of 
accounting period), the rent paid for the short tax period shall be 
annualized. If the rental term is for less than 12 months, the rent shall 
not be annualized beyond its term. Rent shall not be annualized because 
of the uncertain duration when the rental term is on a month to month 
basis. 
 (iv)  Annual rent is the actual sum of money or other 
consideration payable, directly or indirectly, by the taxpayer or for 
its benefit for the use of the property and includes: 
 (A)  Any amount payable for the use of real or tangible personal 
property, or any part thereof, whether designated as a fixed sum of 
money or as a percentage of sales, profits or otherwise. 
 (B)  Any amount payable as additional rent or in lieu of rents, such 
as interest, taxes, insurance, repairs or any other items that are required 
to be paid by the terms of the lease or other arrangement, not including 
amounts paid as service charges, such as utilities, and janitor services. 
If a payment includes rent and other charges unsegregated, the amount 
of rent shall be determined by consideration of the relative values of the 
rent and other items. 
 (v)  Annual rent does not include: 
 (A)  incidental day-to-day expenses such as hotel or motel 
accommodations, or daily rental of automobiles; 
 (B)  royalties based on extraction of natural resources, whether 
represented by delivery or purchase. For this purpose, a royalty 
includes any consideration conveyed or credited to a holder of an 
interest in property that constitutes a sharing of current or future 
production of natural resources from that property, irrespective of the 
method of payment or how that consideration may be characterized, 
whether as a royalty, advance royalty, rental, or otherwise. 
 (vi)  Leasehold improvements shall, for the purposes of the 
property factor, be treated as property owned by the taxpayer regardless 
of whether the taxpayer is entitled to remove the improvements or the 
improvements revert to the lessor upon expiration of the lease. Hence, 
the original cost of leasehold improvements shall be included in the 
factor. 
 (g)  Averaging Property Values. As a general rule, the average 
value of property owned by the taxpayer shall be determined by 
averaging the values at the beginning and end of the tax period. 
However, the Tax Commission may require or allow averaging by 
monthly values if that method of averaging is required to properly 
reflect the average value of the taxpayer's property for the tax 
period. 

 (i)  Averaging by monthly values will generally be applied if 
substantial fluctuations in the values of the property exist during the tax 
period or where property is acquired after the beginning of the tax 
period or disposed of before the end of the tax period. 
 (ii)  Example: The monthly value of the taxpayer's property was as 
follows: 
 

TABLE 
 
 January   $ 2,000 
 February    2,000 
 March       3,000 
 April       3,500 
 May         4,500 
 June       10,000 
 July       15,000 
 August     17,000 
 September  23,000 
 October    25,000 
 November   13,000 
 December    2,000 
 Total    $120,000 

 
 The average value of the taxpayer's property includable in the 
property factor for the income year is determined as follows: 
 $120,000 / 12 = $10,000 
 (iii)  Averaging with respect to rented property is achieved 
automatically by the method of determining the net annual rental rate of 
the property as set forth in Subsection [(7)(f)(i)](8)(g). 
 [(8)](9)  Payroll Factor. 
 (a)  The payroll factor of the apportionment formula shall include 
the total amount paid by the taxpayer in the regular course of its trade 
or business for compensation during the tax period. 
 (b)  The total amount paid to employees is determined upon the 
basis of the taxpayer's accounting method. If the taxpayer has adopted 
the accrual method of accounting, all compensation properly accrued 
shall be deemed to have been paid. Notwithstanding the taxpayer's 
method of accounting, at the election of the taxpayer, compensation 
paid to employees may be included in the payroll factor by use of the 
cash method if the taxpayer is required to report compensation under 
that method for unemployment compensation purposes. The 
compensation of any employee on account of activities that are 
connected with the production of nonbusiness income shall be excluded 
from the factor. 
 (c)  [The term "compensation" means wages, salaries, 
commissions and any other form of remuneration paid to employees for 
personal services.  ]Payments made to an independent contractor or any 
other person not properly classifiable as an employee are excluded 
from the payroll factor.  Only amounts paid directly to employees are 
included in the payroll factor. Amounts considered paid directly include 
the value of board, rent, housing, lodging, and other benefits or services 
furnished to employees by the taxpayer in return for personal services.[ 
 (i)  The term "employee" means: 
 (A)  any officer of a corporation; or 
 (B)  any individual who, under the usual common law rules 
applicable in determining the employer-employee relationship, has 
the status of an employee.] 
 (d)  Generally, a person will be considered to be an employee if 
he is included by the taxpayer as an employee for purposes of the 
payroll taxes imposed by the Federal Insurance Contributions Act. 
However, since certain individuals are included within the term 
employees in the Federal Insurance Contributions Act who would 
not be employees under the usual common law rules, it may be 
established that a person who is included as an employee for 
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purposes of the Federal Insurance Contributions Act is not an 
employee for purposes of this rule. 
 [(ii)](e)(A)  In filing returns with this state, if the taxpayer departs 
from or modifies the treatment of compensation paid used in returns for 
prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the return for the current year 
the nature and extent of the modification. 
 (B)  If the returns or reports filed by the taxpayer with all states to 
which the taxpayer reports under UDITPA are not uniform in the 
treatment of compensation paid, the taxpayer shall disclose in its return 
to this state the nature and extent of the variance. 
 [(d)](f)  Denominator. The denominator of the payroll factor is the 
total compensation paid everywhere during the tax period. 
Accordingly, compensation paid to employees whose services are 
performed entirely in a state where the taxpayer is immune from 
taxation, for example, by P.L. 86-272, are included in the denominator 
of the payroll factor. 
 [(e)](g)  Numerator. The numerator of the payroll factor is the 
total amount paid in this state during the tax period by the taxpayer for 
compensation. The tests in Section 59-7-316 to be applied in 
determining whether compensation is paid in this state are derived from 
the Model Unemployment Compensation Act. Accordingly, if 
compensation paid to employees is included in the payroll factor by use 
of the cash method of accounting or if the taxpayer is required to report 
compensation under that method for unemployment compensation 
purposes, it shall be presumed that the total wages reported by the 
taxpayer to this state for unemployment compensation purposes 
constitute compensation paid in this state except for compensation 
excluded under [H]this Subsection (9).  The presumption may be 
overcome by satisfactory evidence that an employee's compensation is 
not properly reportable to this state for unemployment compensation 
purposes. 
 [(f)](h)  Compensation Paid in this State. Compensation is paid in 
this state if any one of the following tests applied consecutively are 
met: 
 (i)  The employee's service is performed entirely within the state. 
 (ii)  The employee's service is performed [entirely]both within and 
without the state, but the service performed without the state is 
incidental to the employee's service within the state. The word 
incidental means any service that is temporary or transitory in nature, or 
that is rendered in connection with an isolated transaction. 
 (iii)  If the employee's services are performed both within and 
without this state, the employee's compensation will be attributed to this 
state: 
 (A)  if the employee's base of operations is in this state; or 
 (B)  if there is no base of operations in any state in which some 
part of the service is performed, but the place from which the service is 
directed or controlled is in this state; or 
 (C)  if the base of operations or the place from which the service is 
directed or controlled is not in any state in which some part of the 
service is performed but the employee's residence is in this state.[ 
 (iv)  The term "base of operations" is the place of more or less 
permanent nature from which the employee starts his work and to 
which he customarily returns in order to receive instructions from the 
taxpayer or communications from his customers or other persons or to 
replenish stock or other materials, repair equipment, or perform any 
other functions necessary to the exercise of his trade or profession at 
some other point or points. The term "place from which the service is 
directed or controlled" means the place from which the power to direct 
or control is exercised by the taxpayer.] 

 [(9)](10)  Sales Factor. In General. 
 (a)  Section 59-7-302(5)  defines the term "sales" to mean all gross 
receipts of the taxpayer not allocated under Section 59-7-306 through 
59-7-310. Thus, for purposes of the sales factor of the apportionment 
formula for the trade or business of the taxpayer, the term sales means 
all gross receipts derived by the taxpayer from transactions and activity 
in the regular course of the trade or business. The following are rules 
determining sales in various situations. 
 (i)  In the case of a taxpayer engaged in manufacturing and 
selling or purchasing and reselling goods or products, sales includes 
all gross receipts from the sales of goods or products (or other 
property of a kind that would properly be included in the inventory 
of the taxpayer if on hand at the close of the tax period)  held by the 
taxpayer primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of its 
trade or business. Gross receipts for this purpose means gross sales, 
less returns and allowances and includes all interest income, service 
charges, carrying charges, or time-price differential charges 
incidental to sales. Federal and state excise taxes (including sales 
taxes)  shall be included as part of receipts if taxes are passed on to 
the buyer or included as part of the selling price of the product. 
 (ii)  In the case of cost plus fixed fee contracts, such as the 
operation of a government-owned plant for a fee, sales includes the 
entire reimbursed cost, plus the fee. 
 (iii)  In the case of a taxpayer engaged in providing services, such 
as the operation of an advertising agency, or the performance of 
equipment service contracts, or research and development contracts, 
sales includes the gross receipts from the performance of services 
including fees, commissions, and similar items. 
 (iv)  In the case of a taxpayer engaged in renting real or tangible 
property, sales includes the gross receipts from the rental, lease or 
licensing of the use of the property. 
 (v)  In the case of a taxpayer engaged in the sale, assignment, or 
licensing of intangible personal property such as patents and 
copyrights, sales includes the gross receipts therefrom. 
 (vi)  If a taxpayer derives receipts from the sale of equipment used 
in its business, those receipts constitute sales. For example, a truck 
express company owns a fleet of trucks and sells its trucks under a 
regular replacement program. The gross receipts from the sales of the 
trucks are included in the sales factor. 
 (vii)  In some cases certain gross receipts should be disregarded in 
determining the sales factor in order that the apportionment formula 
will operate fairly to apportion to this state the income of the taxpayer's 
trade or business. See Subsection [(10)](11)(c). 
 (viii)  In filing returns with this state, if the taxpayer departs from 
or modifies the basis for excluding or including gross receipts in the 
sales factor used in returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in 
the return for the current year the nature and extent of the modification. 
 (ix)  If the returns or reports filed by the taxpayer with all states to 
which the taxpayer reports under UDITPA are not uniform in the 
inclusion or exclusion of gross receipts, the taxpayer shall disclose in its 
return to this state the nature and extent of the variance. 
 (b)  Denominator. The denominator of the sales factor shall 
include the total gross receipts derived by the taxpayer from 
transactions and activity in the regular course of its trade or business, 
except receipts excluded under Subsection [(10)](11)(c). 
 (c)  Numerator. The numerator of the sales factor shall include 
gross receipts attributable to this state and derived by the taxpayer from 
transactions and activity in the regular course of its trade or business. 
All interest income, service charges, carrying charges, or time-price 
differential charges incidental to gross receipts shall be included 



DAR File No. 31632 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 111 

regardless of the place where the accounting records are maintained or 
the location of the contract or other evidence of indebtedness. 
 (d)  Sales of Tangible Personal Property in this State. 
 (i)  Gross receipts from the sales of tangible personal property 
(except sales to the United States government; see Subsection 
[(9)](10)(e)  are in this state: 
 (A)  if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within 
this state regardless of the f.o.b. point or other conditions of sale; or 
 (B)  if the property is shipped from an office, store, warehouse, 
factory, or other place of storage in this state and the taxpayer is not 
taxable in the state of the purchaser. 
 (ii)  Property shall be deemed to be delivered or shipped to a 
purchaser within this state if the recipient is located in this state, even 
though the property is ordered from outside this state. 
 (iii)  Property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within this 
state if the shipment terminates in this state, even though the property is 
subsequently transferred by the purchaser to another state. 
 (iv)  The term "purchaser within this state" shall include the 
ultimate recipient of the property if the taxpayer in this state, at the 
designation of the purchaser, delivers to or has the property shipped 
to the ultimate recipient within this state. 
 (v)  When property being shipped by a seller from the state of 
origin to a consignee in another state is diverted while en route to a 
purchaser in this state, the sales are in this state. 
 (vi)  If the taxpayer is not taxable in the state of the purchaser, the 
sale is attributed to this state if the property is shipped from an office, 
store, warehouse, factory, or other place of storage in this state. 
 (vii)  If a taxpayer whose salesman operates from an office 
located in this state makes a sale to a purchaser in another state in 
which the taxpayer is not taxable and the property is shipped directly 
by a third party to the purchaser, the following rules apply: 
 (A)  If the taxpayer is taxable in the state from which the third 
party ships the property, then the sale is in that state. 
 (B)  If the taxpayer is not taxable in the state from which the 
property is shipped, the sale is in this state. 
 (e)(i)  Sales of Tangible Personal Property to United States 
Government in this state. 
 (ii)  Gross receipts from the sales of tangible personal property to 
the United States government are in this state if the property is shipped 
from an office, store, warehouse, factory, or other place of storage in 
this state. For purposes of this rule, only sales for which the United 
States government makes direct payment to the seller pursuant to the 
terms of a contract constitute sales to the United States government. 
Thus, as a general rule, sales by a subcontractor to the prime contractor, 
the party to the contract with the United States government, do not 
constitute sales to the United States government. 
 (f)  Sales Other than Sales of Tangible Personal Property in this 
State. 
 (i)  In general, Section 59-7-319(1)  provides for the inclusion 
in the numerator of the sales factor of gross receipts from 
transactions other than sales of tangible personal property (including 
transactions with the United States government). Under Section 59-
7-319(1), gross receipts are attributed to this state if the income 
producing activity that gave rise to the receipts is performed wholly 
within this state. Also, gross receipts are attributed to this state if, 
with respect to a particular item of income, the income producing 
activity is performed within and without this state but the greater 
proportion of the income producing activity is performed in this 
state, based on costs of performance. 
 (ii)  The term "income producing activity" applies to each separate 
item of income and means the transactions and activity directly 

engaged in by the taxpayer in the regular course of its trade or business 
for the ultimate purpose of obtaining gains or profit. Income producing 
activity does not include transactions and activities performed on behalf 
of a taxpayer, such as those conducted on its behalf by an independent 
contractor. Accordingly, the income producing activity includes the 
following: 
 (A)  the rendering of personal services by employees or the 
utilization of tangible and intangible property by the taxpayer in 
performing a service; 
 (B)  the sale, rental, leasing, or licensing or other use of real 
property; 
 (C)  the rental, leasing, licensing or other use of intangible 
personal property; or 
 (D)  the sale, licensing or other use of intangible personal 
property. The mere holding of intangible personal property is not, of 
itself, an income producing activity. 
 (iii)  The term "costs of performance" means direct costs 
determined in a manner consistent with generally accepted accounting 
principles and in accordance with accepted conditions or practices in 
the trade or business of the taxpayer. 
 (iv)  Receipts (other than from sales of tangible personal property) 
 in respect to a particular income producing activity are in this state if: 
 (A)  the income producing activity is performed wholly within this 
state; or 
 (B)  the income producing activity is performed both in and 
outside this state and a greater proportion of the income producing 
activity is performed in this state than in any other state, based on costs 
of performance. 
 (v)  The following are special rules for determining when receipts 
from the income producing activities described below are in this state: 
 (A)  Gross receipts from the sale, lease, rental or licensing of real 
property are in this state if the real property is located in this state. 
 (B)  Gross receipts from the rental, lease, or licensing of 
tangible personal property are in this state if the property is located 
in this state. The rental, lease, licensing or other use of tangible 
personal property in this state is a separate income producing 
activity from the rental, lease, licensing or other use of the same 
property while located in another state. Consequently, if the property 
is within and without this state during the rental, lease or licensing 
period, gross receipts attributable to this state shall be measured by 
the ratio that the time the property was physically present or was 
used in this state bears to the total time or use of the property 
everywhere during the period. 
 (C)  Gross receipts for the performance of personal services are 
attributable to this state to the extent services are performed in this 
state. If services relating to a single item of income are performed 
partly within and partly without this state, the gross receipts for the 
performance of services shall be attributable to this state only if a 
greater portion of the services were performed in this state, based on 
costs of performance. Usually where services are performed partly 
within and partly without this state, the services performed in each state 
will constitute a separate income producing activity. In that case, the 
gross receipts for the performance of services attributable to this state 
shall be measured by the ratio that the time spent in performing services 
in this state bears to the total time spent in performing services 
everywhere. Time spent in performing services includes the amount of 
time expended in the performance of a contract or other obligation that 
gives rise to gross receipts. Personal service not directly connected with 
the performance of the contract or other obligations, as for example, 
time expended in negotiating the contract, is excluded from the 
computations. 
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 [(10)](11)  Special Rules: 
 (a)  Section 59-7-320 provides that if the allocation and 
apportionment provisions of UDITPA do not fairly represent the extent 
of the taxpayer's business activity in this state, the taxpayer may 
petition for, or the tax administrator may require, in respect to all or any 
part of the taxpayer's business activity, if reasonable: 
 (i)  separate accounting; 
 (ii)  the exclusion of any one or more of the factors; 
 (iii)  the inclusion of one or more additional factors that will fairly 
represent the taxpayer's business activity in this state; or 
 (iv)  the employment of any other method to effectuate an 
equitable allocation and apportionment of the taxpayer's income. 
 (b)  Property Factor. 
 The following special rules are established in respect to the 
property factor of the apportionment formula: 
 (i)  If the subrents taken into account in determining the net annual 
rental rate under [G.6.b)]Subsection (8)(f)(ii) produce a negative or 
clearly inaccurate value for any item of property, another method that 
will properly reflect the value of rented property may be required by the 
Tax Commission or requested by the taxpayer. In no case however, 
shall the value be less than an amount that bears the same ratio to the 
annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer for property as the fair market 
value of that portion of property used by the taxpayer bears to the total 
fair market value of the rented property. 
 (ii)  If property owned by others is used by the taxpayer at no 
charge or rented by the taxpayer for a nominal rate, the net annual 
rental rate for the property shall be determined on the basis of a 
reasonable market rental rate for that property. 
 (c)  Sales Factors. 
 The following special rules are established in respect to the sales 
factor of the apportionment formula: 
 (i)  Where substantial amounts of gross receipts arise from an 
incidental or occasional sale of a fixed asset used in the regular course 
of the taxpayer's trade or business, those gross receipts shall be 
excluded from the sales factor. For example, gross receipts from the 
sale of a factory or plant will be excluded. 
 (ii)  Insubstantial amounts of gross receipts arising from 
incidental or occasional transactions or activities may be excluded 
from the sales factor unless exclusion would materially affect the 
amount of income apportioned to this state. For example, the 
taxpayer ordinarily may include or exclude from the sales factor 
gross receipts from such transactions as the sale of office furniture, 
and business automobiles. 
 (iii)  Where the income producing activity in respect to business 
income from intangible personal property can be readily identified, that 
income is included in the denominator of the sales factor and, if the 
income producing activity occurs in this state, in the numerator of the 
sales factor as well. For example, usually the income producing activity 
can be readily identified in respect to interest income received on 
deferred payments on sales of tangible property, see Subsection 
[(9)](10)(a)(i), and income from the sale, licensing or other use of 
intangible personal property, see Subsection [(9)](10)(f)(ii)(D). 
 (A)  Where business income from intangible property cannot 
readily be attributed to any particular income producing activity of 
the taxpayer, the income cannot be assigned to the numerator of the 
sales factor for any state and shall be excluded from the denominator 
of the sales factor. For example, where business income in the form 
of dividends received on stock, royalties received on patents or 
copyrights, or interest received on bonds, debentures or government 
securities results from the mere holding of the intangible personal 

property by the taxpayer, such dividends and interest shall be 
excluded from the denominator of the sales factor. 
 (B)  Exclude from the denominator of the sales factor, receipts 
from the sales of securities unless the taxpayer is a dealer therein. 
 (iv)  Where gains and losses on the sale of liquid assets are not 
excluded from the sales factor by other provisions under Subsections 
[(10)](11)(c)(i) through (iii), such gains or losses shall be treated as 
provided in this Subsection [(10)](11)(c)(iv). This Subsection 
[(10)](11)(c)(iv) does not provide rules relating to the treatment of other 
receipts produced from holding or managing such assets. 
 (A)  If a taxpayer holds liquid assets in connection with one or 
more treasury functions of the taxpayer, and the liquid assets 
produce business income when sold, exchanged or otherwise 
disposed, the overall net gain from those transactions for each 
treasury function for the tax period is included in the sales factor. 
For purposes of this Subsection [(10)](11)(c)(iv), each treasury 
function will be considered separately. 
 (B)  For purposes of this  Subsection [(10)](11)(c)(iv), a liquid 
asset is an asset (other than functional currency or funds held in bank 
accounts)  held to provide a relatively immediate source of funds to 
satisfy the liquidity needs of the trade or business. Liquid assets 
include: 
 (I)  foreign currency (and trading positions therein) other than 
functional currency used in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or 
business; 
 (II)  marketable instruments (including stocks, bonds, debentures, 
options, warrants, futures contracts, etc.); and 
 (III)  mutual funds which hold such liquid assets. 
 (C)  An instrument is considered marketable if it is traded in an 
established stock or securities market and is regularly quoted by 
brokers or dealers in making a market. Stock in a corporation which is 
unitary with the taxpayer, or which has a substantial business 
relationship with the taxpayer, is not considered marketable stock. 
 (D)  For purposes of this [J.3.d)]Subsection (11)(c)(iv)(D), a 
treasury function is the pooling and management of liquid assets for the 
purpose of satisfying the cash flow needs of the trade or business, such 
as providing liquidity for a taxpayer's business cycle, providing a 
reserve for business contingencies, business acquisitions, etc. A 
taxpayer principally engaged in the trade or business of purchasing and 
selling instruments or other items included in the definition of liquid 
assets set forth herein is not performing a treasury function with respect 
to income so produced. 
 (E)  Overall net gain refers to the total net gain from all 
transactions incurred at each treasury function for the entire tax period, 
not the net gain from a specific transaction. 
 (d)  Domestic International Sales Corporation (DISC). In any case 
in which a corporation, subject to the income tax jurisdiction of Utah, 
owns 50 percent or more of the voting power of the stock of a 
corporation classified as a DISC under the provisions of Sec. 992 
Internal Revenue Code, a combined filing with the DISC corporation is 
required. 
 (e)  Partnership or Joint Venture Income. Income or loss from 
partnership or joint venture interests shall be included in income and 
apportioned to Utah through application of the three-factor formula 
consisting of property, payroll and sales. For apportionment 
purposes, the portion of partnership or joint venture property, payroll 
and sales to be included in the corporation's property, payroll and 
sales factors shall be computed on the basis of the corporation's 
ownership interest in the partnership or joint venture, and otherwise 
in accordance with other applicable provisions of this rule. 
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KEY:  taxation, franchises, historic preservation, trucking 
industries 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 14], 
2008 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2007 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  59-7-302 
through 59-7-321 
 

  
 

Transportation, Administration 

R907-40 
External Relations 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31591 

FILED:  06/18/2008, 12:08 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because it no longer serves a substantial purpose. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 72-1-201 and 72-1-204 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The information-sharing principles 
outlined in Rule R907-40 are already addressed in other parts 
of statute, rule, and department policy.  As a result, the repeal 
of Rule R907-40 will have no substantive effect on the state 
budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The information-sharing principles 
outlined in Rule R907-40 are already addressed in other parts 
of statute, rule, and department policy.  As a result, the repeal 
of Rule R907-40 will have no substantive effect on local 
government. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
The information-sharing principles outlined in Rule R907-40 
are already addressed in other parts of statute, rule, and 
department policy.  As a result, the repeal of Rule R907-40 
will have no substantive effect on small businesses or persons 
other than businesses. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The information-
sharing principles outlined in Rule R907-40 are already 
addressed in other parts of statute, rule, and department 
policy.  As a result, the repeal of Rule R907-40 will have no 
substantive effect on affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This repeal will have no fiscal 
impact on businesses.  John Njord, Executive Director 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TRANSPORTATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119-5998, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Maureen Short at the above address, by phone at 801-965-
4026, by FAX at 801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at 
maureenshort@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/02/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/09/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R907.  Transportation, Administration. 
[R907-40.  External Relations. 
R907-40-1.  Informing Citizens, Government Agencies, 
Nondiscrimination. 
 The citizens of the State of Utah shall be kept informed by the 
Office of Community Relations of the plans and programs of the Utah 
Department of Transportation and the Department's progress in 
accomplishing these plans and programs. 
 Other government agencies, officials, interested citizens and 
citizen groups affected by the Department's plans and programs shall be 
informed and consulted with through the Office of Community 
Relations to insure a high degree of coordination by all parties 
interested in the development of Utah's highway system. 
 Particular effort shall be taken by the Office of Community 
Relations to notify and involve minority groups.  The Department shall 
insure that its programs do not have the purpose or effect of excluding 
persons from or denying them the benefits of departmental programs on 
the grounds of race, color, creed, national origin, age or disability. 
 
KEY:  public information, government information resources 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  1987 
Notice of Continuation:  November 4, 2003 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-1-201; 72-
1-204] 
 

  
 
Transportation, Program Development 

R926-9 
Establishment Designation and 

Operation of Hot Lanes or Toll Lanes 
on State Highways 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  31636 
FILED:  06/27/2008, 16:41 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment provides the basis to establish tollways in Utah in 
greater specificity. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes provides how 
tollways are designated, how the Utah Department of 
Transportation (UDOT) and the Transportation Commission 
work together, and how tollway revenue is handled by UDOT. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 72-1-201 and 72-6-118 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  No costs or savings are anticipated with 
this rule change.  No new requirements were created with this 
rule change that impact the state budget.  Any UDOT and/or 
Transportation Commission responsibilities will be 
administered by existing staff within existing budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No costs or savings are anticipated 
with this rule change.  No new requirements were created with 
this rule change that impact local government. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  No 
costs or savings are anticipated with this rule change.  No new 
requirements were created with this rule change that impact 
small businesses or persons other than businesses. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There is no 
compliance cost here. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no significant fiscal 
impact on businesses.  John Njord, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TRANSPORTATION 
PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT 
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119-5998, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Maureen Short at the above address, by phone at 801-965-
4026, by FAX at 801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at 
maureenshort@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/02/2008. 
 

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/09/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R926.  Transportation, Program Development. 
R926-9.  Establishment Designation and Operation of [HOT 
Lanes or Toll Lanes on State High]Tollways. 
R926-9-1.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commission" means the Transportation Commission, 
which is created in Utah Code Section 72-1-301[.]; 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Transportation; 
 (3)  "Executive Director" means the Executive Director of the 
Utah Department of Transportation; 
 (4)  "HOT Lane" [means a High Occupancy Vehicle lane 
designated under Utah Code Ann. Section 41-6a-702 that may be 
used by an operator of a vehicle carrying less than the number of 
persons specified for the high occupancy vehicle lane if the operator 
of the vehicle pays a toll or fee;]has the meaning described in Utah 
Code Ann. Section 72-6-118 for "High occupacy toll lane"; 
 (5)  "HOV Lane" means a lane that has been designated for the 
use of high occupancy vehicles pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 
41-6a-702; 
 (6)  "Toll" means the toll or user fees [or charge assessed for 
the use of a HOT Lane or Toll Lane]that the operator of a motor 
vehicle must pay for the privilege of driving on a tollway, including 
the toll or user fees that the operator of a single occupant motor 
vehicle must pay for the privilege of driving on a HOT Lane;[.] 
 (7)  "Toll Lane" [means a designated new highway or 
additional lane capacity that is constructed, operated, or maintained 
for which a toll is charged for its use.]has the meaning described in 
Utah Code Ann. Section 72-6-118; 
 (8)  "Tollway" has the meaning described in Utah Code Ann. 
Section 72-6-118.  Tollways include, but are not limited to, HOT 
Lanes and Toll Lanes; and 
 (9)  "Tollway development agreement" has the meaning 
described in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-6-202. 
 
R926-9-2.  [Establishment]Designation of [a HOT 
Lane]Tollways. 
 (1)  The Department may consider designating tollways 
including, but not limited to, the designation of existing HOV Lanes 
as HOT Lanes or may widen existing highways to add [a]one or 
more Toll Lane(s).  In deciding whether to designate a [HOT Lane 
or add a Toll Lane]tollway, the Department may evaluate whether: 
 (a)  [a HOT Lane or Toll Lane]the tollway would make the 
specific highway or the highway system more efficient; 
 (b)  the designation or addition would increase available funds, 
reduce operational costs, or expedite project delivery; and 
 (c)  the project will be consistent with the overall policies, 
strategies, and actions of the Department, including those strategies 
that are developed through the regular transportation planning 
process. 
 (2)  Commission approval is required for designation of HOT 
Lanes on existing state highways and establishment of tollways on 
new state highways or additional capacity lanes.  Legislative 
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approval is required prior to designation of any other types of 
tollways provided the Commission may provide interim approvals to 
establish such tollways, between sessions of the Legislature, subject 
to approval or disapproval by the Legislature during the subsequent 
session. 
 (3)  If t[T]he Department wishes to designate a tollway, it shall 
submit its recommendations to the Commission and request 
approval. 
 ([3]4)  The Commission will evaluate the recommendations and 
make a final [approval]decision. 
 ([4]5)  The Commission will issue its decision in a public 
meeting. 
 ([5]6)  [HOT Lanes and ]Tollways[ Lanes] shall comply with 
all design and construction standards and specifications normally 
applicable to Department projects, except as may be otherwise 
agreed to by the Department in writing. 
 ([6]7)  Automatic tolling systems used for the collection of tolls 
shall meet or exceed the minimum criteria established by the United 
States Department of Transportation pursuant to United States 
Public Law 105-59, Section 1604, Safe, Accountable, Flexible, 
Efficient Transportation Equity Act:  A Legacy for Users 
(SAFETEA-LU) if procured and deployed after the adoption of such 
criteria. 
 ([7]8)  The Commission will set Tolls in [administrative 
rule]accordance with Utah Admin. Code R940-1 and [as allowed by 
]Utah Code Ann. Section 72-6-118. 
 
R926-9-3.  [Use of ]Tollway Restricted Revenue Fund - 
Enforcement. 
 (1)  [Monies collected from tolls shall be deposited in the 
account established in Utah Code Annotated Section 72-2-120.  The 
Commission may use funds from that account to: 
 (a)  Pay the annual cost of enforcement, operation, 
maintenance, snow removal, and improvement of the highway 
where the fund is generated; or 
 (b)  Add capacity or purchase right-of-way within the corridor 
served by the HOT Lane or Toll Lane where the funds are 
generated.]Pursuant to state law, tolls collected by the Department 
and certain funds received by the Department through a tollway 
development agreement are deposited in the Tollway Restricted 
Special Revenue Fund established in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-2-
120. 
 (2)  [The costs of enforcement that are eligible for payment 
with money from this account include: 
 (a)  costs incurred to enforce compliance on HOT Lanes and 
Toll Lanes of generally applicable laws and ordinances; and 
 (b)  costs incurred to collect unpaid Tolls from people who 
drive on a HOT Lane or Toll Lane without having paid.]Monies 
from the fund may be used to establish and operate tollways and 
related facilities, including design, construction, reconstruction, 
operation (including snow removal), maintenance, enforcement, 
impacts from tollways, and acquisition of right-of-way, pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Section 72-2-120. 
 
KEY:  transportation, tolls, highways, tollways 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April 20, 
2006]2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-2-120; 
72-6-118 
 

  

Transportation Commission, 
Administration 

R940-1 
Establishment of HOT Lane Toll Rates 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  31637 

FILED:  06/27/2008, 16:46 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for the change is to clarify and update the responsibilities of 
the Transportation Commission in regards to toll roads. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule defines tollway to 
correspond with Utah statute, sets forth the criteria used by 
the Transportation Commission to set toll rates, HOT lanes, 
and generally set for Transportation Commission 
responsibilities in regards to tolling. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 72-6-118, 72-6-202, and 72-1-201 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  No costs or savings are anticipated with 
this rule change.  No new requirements were created with this 
rule change that impact the state budget.  Any UDOT and/or 
Transportation Commission responsibilities will be 
administered by existing staff within existing budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No costs or savings are anticipated 
with this rule change.  No new requirements were created with 
this rule change that impact local government. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  No 
costs or savings are anticipated with this rule change.  No new 
requirements were created with this rule change that impact 
small businesses or persons other than businesses. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There is no 
compliance cost here. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no substantial fiscal 
impacts on businesses.  John Njord, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Maureen Short at the above address, by phone at 801-965-
4026, by FAX at 801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at 
maureenshort@utah.gov 
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End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/02/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/09/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John R. Njord, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R940.  Transportation Commission, Administration. 
R940-1.  Establishment of [HOT-Lane ]Toll Rates. 
R940-1-1.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commission" means the Transportation Commission, 
which is created in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-1-301; 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Transportation, which is created in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-1-
101; 
 (3)  "HOT Lane" means a High Occupancy Vehicle Lane as 
designated pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-6a-702 and Utah 
Admin. Code R926-9. 
 (4)  "Toll" means the toll or user fees [or charge ]that the 
operator of a motor vehicle must pay for the privilege of driving on a 
tollway, including the toll or user fees that the operator of a single-
occupant motor vehicle must pay for the privilege of driving on a 
HOT Lane. 
 (5)  "Tollway" has the meaning described in Utah Code Ann. 
Section 72-6-118. 
 (6)  "Tollway development agreement" has the meaning 
described in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-6-202. 
 
R940-1-2.  [Factors To Be Used in Setting Tolls]Setting Toll 
Rates. 
 [In deciding what Toll is appropriate, the Commission balances 
the need to obtain revenue for enforcement and maintenance of the 
HOT Lane against the effect that a certain Toll amount will have on 
demand.  The goal is to set a price that encourages optimal use of the 
HOT Lane.](1)  The Commission shall be responsible for setting toll 
rates on state highways as specified in this Section R940-1. 
 (2)  Toll rates for facilities included in a tollway development 
agreement shall be set in accordance with the terms and conditions 
of the tollway development agreement.  Terms and conditions 
relating to toll rates are required to be presented to the Commission 
in connection with award of the tollway development agreement, 
and any modifications to such terms and conditions will be 
considered a substantial modification or amendment requiring 
Commission approval under Section R941-1-5. 
 (3)  The Commission may, in its sole discretion, increase the 

toll rates for a facility subject to a tollway development agreement 
above the amount allowed under the tollway development 
agreement. 
 
R940-1-3.  Base Toll Rate and Range for HOT Lanes. 
 (1)  In deciding what Toll is appropriate for HOT Lanes that are 
not subject to tollway development agreements, the Commission 
balances the need to obtain revenue against the effect that a certain 
Toll amount will have on demand.  The goal is to set a price that 
encourages optimal use of the HOT Lane. 
 (2)  For HOT Lanes that are not subject to a tollway 
development agreement t[T]he initial [Toll]toll for the HOT Lane is 
$50 per month. 
 ([2]3)  With the Commission's approval, the Department may 
increase the [Toll]toll described in subsection (2) from $50 per 
month [to an amount not to exceed $100 per month ]if it finds that 
demand on the HOT Lane is too high and needs to be reduced in 
order to keep the lane freely flowing.  Evidence of demand can be 
shown by traffic counts and evidence of traffic congestion. 
 (4)  Toll rates for HOT Lanes that are subject to a tollway 
development agreement shall be set in the tollway development 
agreement. 
 
R940-1-4.  [Use of Toll Revenues]Tollway Restricted Special 
Revenue Fund. 
 (1)  Pursuant to state law, [T]tolls collected by the department 
and certain funds receivd by the department through a tollway 
development agreement are deposited in the Tollway Restricted 
Special Revenue Fund established in Utah Code Ann. Section 72-2-
120. 
 (2)  Monies from the fund may be used to establish and operate 
tollways and related facilities, including[for acquisition of right-of-
way and the] design, construction, reconstruction, operation, 
maintenance, [and ]enforcement, impacts from tollways, and 
acquisition of right-of-way, [of transportation facilities within the 
corridor served by the HOT Lane ]pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 72-[6]2-[118]120. 
 
KEY:  transportation, tolls, HOT Lanes, [motor 
vehicles]tollways 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [June 22, 
2006]2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-2-120, 
72-6-118 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency 
to respond to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only 
those changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  
Additions made to the rule appear underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with 
brackets surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (· · · · · ·) indicates that 
unaffected text, either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules 
that are too long to print is available from the agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
While a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE does not have a formal comment period, there is a 30-day waiting period during 
which interested parties may submit comments.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
published in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends August 14, 2008.  At its option, the agency may hold public 
hearings. 
 
From the end of the waiting period through November 12, 2008, the agency may notify the Division of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor 
more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may 
file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Division of 
Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the 
process over. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303; and Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, 
R15-4-7, and R15-4-9. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Insurance, Administration 

R590-245 
Self-Service Storage Insurance 

 
NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 

DAR File No.:  31081 
Filed:  07/01/2008, 16:12 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Changes 
are being made to this proposed rule as a result of comments 
received during the original comment period and hearing. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  One major change is being 
made to this rule:  the elimination of the requirement to have a 
licensed insurance agent to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance 
at each self-service storage location.  (DAR NOTE:  This 
change in proposed rule has been filed to make additional 
changes to a proposed new rule that was published in the 
April 15, 2008, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 28.  
Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has been 
added since the publication of the proposed rule mentioned 
above; strike out indicates text that has been deleted.  You 
must view the change in proposed rule and the proposed new 
rule together to understand all of the changes that will be 
enforceable should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-23a-106, 31A-23a-104, and 
31A-23a-111 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  Deleting the requirement for a licensed 
agent at each storage location will reduce the initial revenue to 
the department and state budget by $87 per license per 
location, which includes $15 for fingerprinting.  The total 
number of storage locations throughout the state is unknown 
to the department. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule deals solely with the 
relationship between the department and their licensees, in 
this case, self-service storage insurance licensees.  It will 
have no impact on local governments. 

   SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Self-service storage businesses will incur a reduced fiscal 
impact as a result of the elimination of the requirement to pay 
$72 to license and $34.25 to fingerprint an individual for each 
self-service storage location. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Self-service 
storage businesses will incur a reduced fiscal impact as a 
result of the elimination of the requirement to pay $72 to 
license and $34.25 to fingerprint an individual for each self-
service storage location. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes to this rule will 
reduce fiscal impact to self-service storage business owners 
in the state of Utah.  Instead of licensing an individual for each 

of their storage locations, they will just need one licensed 
agent per agency.  D. Kent Michie, Commissioner 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 08/14/2008. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  08/21/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-245.  Self-Service Storage Insurance. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
R590-245-4.  Licensing and Renewal. 
 (1)  All persons and entities involved in the sale, solicitation, or 
negotiation of self-service storage insurance must be licensed in 
accordance with Chapter 31A-23a, applicable department rules 
regarding individual and agency licensing, and this rule. 
 (2)  A self-service storage insurance license is issued for a two-
year license period and requires no examination or continuing 
education. 
 (3)  A self-service storage insurance license must be renewed at 
the end of the two-year licensing period in accordance with Chapter 
31A-23a and any applicable department rules regarding license 
renewal. 
 (4)  A self-service storage insurance license may be held by an 
individual or by an agency, such as a self-service storage facility or 
franchisee of a self-service storage facility. 
 (5)  An individual licensed under this rule must either be 
appointed by an insurance company underwriting the insurance 
policy the individual sells, or be designated to act by an agency 
licensed under this rule. 
 (6)  An agency licensed under this rule must: 
 (a)  be appointed by an insurance company underwriting the 
insurance policies the agency sells; 
 (b)  designate a licensed individual to be responsible for the 
regulatory compliance of the agency in Utah.[; and 
 (c)  designate at least one licensed individual at each location to 
sell, solicit, or negotiate self-service storage insurance.] 
 (7)  An agency licensed under this rule may employ non-
licensed personnel employed as self-service storage counter sales 
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representatives to sell, solicit, or negotiate self-service storage 
insurance.  Such non-licensed employees must: 
 (a)  be trained and supervised in the sale of self-service storage 
insurance products; and 
 (b)  be responsible to a licensed individual designated by the 
agency.[ at each location where these insurance products are sold, 
solicited, or negotiated.] 
 (8)  No self-service storage facility, or franchisee of a self-
service storage facility, may offer or sell self-service storage 
insurance unless it has complied with the requirements of this rule 
and has been issued a license by the commissioner. 

 
. . . . . . . 

 
KEY:  self-service storage, insurance 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201, 
31A-23a-104, 31A-23a-106, 31A-23a-110, 31A-23a-111, 31A-1-
301 and 31A-23a-102 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES  

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that the regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 

(a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
(b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
(c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 

 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · ·) indicates that 
unaffected text was removed to conserve space.   
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective at the moment the Division of Administrative Rules receives the filing, or on a later date 
designated by the agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule. 
 
Because 120-DAY RULES are effective immediately, the law does not require a public comment period.  However, 
when an agency files a 120-DAY RULE, it usually files a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements 
permanent.  Comment may be made on the proposed rule.  Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 
63G-3-304; and Section R15-4-8. 
  
 

Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

R23-22 
General Procedures For Acquisition 

and Selling of Real Property 
 

NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 
DAR FILE NO.:  31607 

FILED:  06/23/2008, 17:05 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to define procedures for the acquisition 
and selling of real property. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  H.B. 354, 2008 General 
Session, requires procedures be defined for the acquisition 
and selling of real property.  This is to ensure that the value is 
congruent with the proposed price and other terms of this 
purchase, sale, or exchange.  This rule defines these 
procedures.  (DAR NOTES:  H.B. 354 (2008) is found at 
Chapter 203, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
05/05/2008.  A corresponding proposed new Rule R23-22 is 
under DAR No. 31606 in this issue, July 15, 2008, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 63A-5-103(1)(e), and Chapter 203, Laws of 
Utah 2008 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule should assist the state budget 
by assuring proper values for real estate transactions. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In accordance with H.B. 354, this 

rule defines and codifies procedures DFCM will follow in 
assessing property value.  There will be no effect on local 
governments because many of the procedures are already 
DFCM's practice.  Therefore, the rule has no affect on costs 
for these entities. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Again, in accordance with H.B. 354, this rule defines and 
codifies procedures DFCM will follow in assessing property 
value.  There will be no effect on small businesses and 
persons other than businesses because many of the 
procedures are already DFCM's practice.  Therefore, the rule 
has no affect on costs for these entities. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule defines 
procedures only and does not have any financial impact. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule will assure fair and 
equitable DFCM real estate practices.  Kimberly K. Hood, 
Executive Director 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 
H.B. 354 requires rules be established for the Division of 
Facilities Construction and Management (DFCM) real estate 
transactions.  The bill went into effect on 05/05/2008.  DFCM 
was advised by the Division of Administrative Rules that prior 
to DFCM being able to sell, purchase, or exchange real 
property, that it needed to establish rules implementing this 
statute.   As there are required transactions pending, it is 
necessary that this rule be in effect immediately. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 
FACILITIES CONSTRUCTION AND MANAGEMENT 
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Room 4110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

 
DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Priscilla Anderson at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-9595, by FAX at 801-538-3378, or by Internet E-mail at 
phanderson@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  06/25/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  D. Gregg Buxton, Director 
 
 
 
R23.  Administrative Services, Facilities Construction and 
Management. 
R23-22.  General Procedures for Acquisition and Selling of Real 
Property. 
R23-22-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule defines the procedures of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management for acquisition, selling and the 
exchanging of real property.  This rule also affects donations of real 
property as so specified. 
 
R23-22-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5-103(1)(e), 
which directs the Building Board to make rules necessary for the 
discharge of the duties of the Division of Facilities Construction and 
Management (hereinafter referred to as the "Division") as well as 
pursuant to H.B. 354 of the 2008 General Session of the Utah 
Legislature. 
 
R23-22-3.  Policy. 
 It is the general policy of the Board that, except as otherwise 
allowed by the Utah Code, the Division shall buy, sell or exchange 
real property in accordance with this Rule to ensure that the value of 
the real property is congruent with the proposed price and other 
terms of the purchase, sale or exchange. 
 
R23-22-4.  Scope of This Rule. 
 This Rule shall apply to all purchases, sales, donations and 
exchanges of DFCM, as applicable in this Rule, except as otherwise 
allowed by the Utah Code.  The requirements of this Rule shall also 
not apply to a contract or other written agreement prior to May 5, 
2008; or to any contract or to any purchase, sale or exchange of real 
property where the value is determined to be less than $100,000 as 
estimated by DFCM. 
 
R23-22-5.  Requirements for Purchase or Exchanges of Real 
Property. 
 DFCM shall comply with the following in regard to the 
purchase or exchange of real property that is subject to this Rule: 
 (1)  DFCM must find that all necessary approvals have been 
obtained from State and other applicable authorities.  DFCM will 
assist other State agencies in obtaining these approvals when it is 
deemed by DFCM to be in the interest of the State. 
 (2)  DFCM shall coordinate as required any necessary financing 
requirements through the State Building Ownership Authority, or 
other relevant bonding authority, as authorized by the Legislature. 

 (3)  DFCM shall assist other State agencies in accordance with 
DFCM's governing statutes, through financial analysis and other 
appropriate means, in selecting the appropriate or particular real 
property to be purchased and/or exchanged. 
 (4)  DFCM shall, in accordance with DFCM's governing 
statutes, negotiate, draft and execute the applicable Real Estate 
Contract with due consideration to the State agency's comments.  
The State agency may be required by DFCM to be a signatory to the 
Contract. 
 (5)  DFCM shall obtain and review the following documents 
when such is determined by DFCM to be customary in the industry 
for the size and type of transaction or if required by another 
provision of this Rule or State law: 
 a.  a title insurance commitment; 
 b.  an environmental assessment; 
 c.  an engineering assessment; 
 d.  a code review; 
 e.  an appraisal; 
 f.  an analysis of past maintenance and operational expenses, 
when available and relevant; 
 g.  the situs, zoning and planning information; 
 h.  an ALTA land survey; and 
 i.  other requirements determined necessary by DFCM, this 
Rule or State law. 
 (6)  DFCM shall review, approve and execute when in the 
interest of the State, closing documents as prepared by the selected 
title company. 
 (7)  DFCM may use boiler plate documents approved as to 
form by the Utah Attorney General or shall consult with the Utah 
Attorney General regarding provisions of the sale or significant 
changes to the boiler plate documents approved as to the form by the 
Utah Attorney General. 
 (8)  DFCM shall endeavor to monitor the distribution of closing 
documents. 
 
R23-22-6.  Additional Requirements Regarding R23-22-5(5). 
 DFCM shall comply with the provisions below.  None of the 
provisions below shall restrict the Director from requiring or not 
requiring any of the following if in the Director's opinion such is 
advantageous to the State or if such is required or allowed by State 
law: 
 (1)  Title insurance commitment.  The following applies to real 
property that may become State property by purchase, donation or 
exchange:  DFCM shall obtain an Owner's Policy of Title Insurance 
for real property valued by DFCM at $500,000 or above.  For real 
property valued by DFCM at less than $500,000, DFCM shall obtain 
a title report and may obtain an Owner's Policy of Title Insurance if, 
in the judgment of DFCM, title insurance is advantageous to the 
State. 
 (2)  Phase I Environmental Assessment or Greater.  The 
following applies to real property that may become State property by 
purchase, donation or exchange:  A Phase I or greater Environmental 
Assessment may be required by DFCM prior to a purchase or 
exchange of real property when the property considered to become 
State property has a use and/or occupancy history which in the 
opinion of DFCM indicates the possibility of environmental issues 
that would materially affect the DFCM's purchase of the property or 
the State agency's use of the property. 
 (3)  Engineering Assessment.  The following applies to real 
property that may become State property by purchase, donation or 
exchange: For all improved real property valued by DFCM at 
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$250,000 or above, DFCM shall obtain an engineering assessment of 
mechanical systems and structural integrity of improvements located 
on the property.  An engineering assessment may be waived by the 
DFCM Director if an engineering assessment has already been 
performed within the past 12 months or if the land is unimproved.  
The State may perform an engineering assessment for real property 
valued at less than $250,000 if, in the judgment of the Director, such 
an assessment is advantageous to the State. 
 (4)  Code and Requirements Review.  DFCM shall review the 
real property that may potentially become State property through 
purchase, donation or exchange to ascertain its suitability under all 
applicable codes and requirements, including any applicable 
provisions of State law. 
 (5)  Appraisal.  For real property that may potentially become 
State property through purchase or exchange, the State shall arrive at 
a fair market valuation of the property prior to purchase that is 
agreeable to the seller and the State.  The fair market value 
determination used by DFCM in the negotiation shall be based upon 
an appraisal completed by an appraiser that specializes in the type of 
the subject real property and is a state-certified general appraiser 
under Section 61-2B-2  or by a State of Utah licensed MAI appraiser 
who also has such a certificate, except as follows: 
 (a)  When this rule is not applicable under its scope; 
 (b)  When State law otherwise provides that DFCM does not 
have to use fair market value; or 
 (c)  When the Director has determined by a writing filed with 
DFCM, that the cost of obtaining the appraisal is not justified in the 
economic interest of the State of Utah. 
 (6)  Past maintenance and operational expenses.  DFCM shall 
endeavor to obtain, past maintenance and operational expense 
histories attached to any real property that may be acquired by the 
State, including real property that is acquired by purchase, donation 
or exchange, unless it is determined by the Director that the 
obtaining of such records is not justified in the economic interest of 
the State of Utah. 
 (7)  Situs, zoning and planning information.  DFCM shall 
endeavor to obtain preexisting situs, zoning and planning 
information regarding the real property that may be acquired by 
purchase, donation or exchange when required by State law, or if the 
Director determines that the obtaining of such information is 
advantageous to the State. 
 (8)  ALTA land survey.  For all real property acquired by 
DFCM through purchase, donation or exchange, and the property to 
become State property is valued by DFCM at $250,000 or above, 
DFCM shall obtain an ALTA/ACSM Land Title Survey, current 
revision, of the subject property.  An ALTA survey shall not be 
required if an ALTA survey has already been performed within the 
past 12 months unless otherwise determined by the Director.  The 
State may perform an ALTA survey for real property valued less 
than $250,000 if the Director determines that such a survey is in the 
interest of the State. 
 
R23-22-6.  Requirements for the Disposition of Real Property by 
DFCM. 
 In addition to the policy of R23-22-3, it is the policy of this 
Board to efficiently and economically dispose of real property that is 
determined by DFCM or the State to be surplus in accordance with 
State law.  In accordance with State law, DFCM may recommend to 
the Board that certain real property be declared as surplus.  After the 
appropriate determination is made that the real property is surplus, 
 

then DFCM shall endeavor to sell the surplus real property on the 
open market, unless such property is to be conveyed to another State 
agency or public entity in accordance with Utah law.  If there is such 
a sale, it shall be as follows: 
 (1)  DFCM shall confirm that all necessary approvals have been 
sought for the declaration of surplus property. 
 (2)  Unless otherwise allowed by State law or as otherwise 
provided in this Rule, DFCM shall obtain at least fair market value 
for the real property to be sold.  This shall be accomplished by the 
following: 
 (a)  DFCM shall determine a fair market valuation of the 
property prior to the offer for sale.  The fair market value 
determination used by DFCM in offer for sale shall be based upon 
an appraisal completed by an appraiser that specializes in the type of 
the subject real property and is a state-certified general appraiser 
under Section 61-2B-2, or by a Utah licensed MAI appraiser who 
also has such a certificate, except as follows: 
 (i)  When this rule is not applicable under its scope; 
 (ii)  When State law otherwise provides that DFCM does not 
have to use fair market value; or 
 (iii)  When the Director has determined by a writing filed with 
DFCM, that the cost of obtaining the appraisal is not justified in the 
economic interest of the State of Utah. 
 (b)  DFCM shall establish a listing price based on the appraisal 
obtained under this Rule or, if there is no appraisal based on the 
above, based upon DFCM's knowledge of prevailing market 
conditions and other circumstances customarily used in the industry 
for such sales. 
 (c)  DFCM shall advertise the property for sale in such a 
manner that is commercially reasonable in the discretion of the 
Director.  DFCM may set a time deadline for the submission of bids 
for the real property based upon the economic conditions at the time 
of the sale. 
 (d)  DFCM shall endeavor to enter into a contract for sale to the 
highest reasonable bidder, unless the DFCM Director files a written 
justification statement as to why a lower bidder is more 
advantageous to the State or if there is a sole bidder, that such bid is 
unreasonable.  If after a reasonable timeline set by the Director of 
public advertisement, no acceptable bid is submitted, then DFCM 
may sell the property through a private negotiated sale, provided that 
any sale below the fair market value initially established by DFCM 
for the subject property is accompanied by a written justification 
statement filed by the Director and a copy of which is provided to 
the Board prior to execution of the contract for sale. 
 (e)  DFCM shall, in accordance with DFCM's governing 
statutes, negotiate, draft and execute the applicable Real Estate 
Contract, with due consideration to the comments of the affected 
State agency.  The affected State agency may be required by DFCM 
to be a signatory to the Contract. 
 (f)  DFCM shall review, approve, and execute when 
appropriate, closing documents as prepared by the selected title 
company. 
 (g)  DFCM may use boiler plate documents approved as to 
form by the Utah Attorney General or shall consult with the Utah 
Attorney General regarding provisions of the sale or significant 
changes to the boiler plate documents approved as to the form by the 
Utah Attorney General. 
 (h)  DFCM shall endeavor to monitor the distribution of the 
closing documents. 
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KEY:  real estate, property transactions 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 25, 
2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-5-
103(1)(e); Chapter 203, Laws of Utah 2008 
 

  
 

Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

R512-500 
Kinship Services 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  31589 
FILED:  06/18/2008, 09:07 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for this rule change is to implement changes in legislation 
passed during the FY 2008 legislative session (H.B. 36) 
specific to kinship services.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 36 (2008) is 
found at Chapter 36, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
03/13/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule replaces the 
previous rule, and establishes standards for kinship placement 
for a child who is in Child and Family Services custody, 
including Preliminary Placement, evaluation of kinship 
caregiver capacity for ongoing care, and background 
screening.  (DAR NOTE:  A corresponding proposed repeal 
and reenactment for Rule R512-500 is under DAR No. 31590 
in this issue, July 15, 2008, of the Bulletin.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-4a-102, 62A-4a-209, 78A-6-307, and 
78A-6-307.5; the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA); and 25 
U.S.C. Section 1903.1 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  $147,400 cost through the loss of 
Federal funds.  These funds were replaced through a fiscal 
note attached to the bill. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be no costs or savings to 
local government because funding for this program comes out 
of state and federal funds and this rule does not apply to local 
government. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
There will be no costs or savings to small businesses and 
persons other than businesses because it was determined 
that funding for this program comes out of state and federal 
funds and this rule does not apply to small businesses and 
persons other than businesses. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Compliance costs 
will be minimal for affected persons.  Primary caregivers in the 
relatives' home will be required to complete an FBI fingerprint- 
 
 

based check and will be charged $10 per person for the 
fingerprints to be scanned.  Any other adults age 18 and older 
living in the home will also be required to have this fingerprint-
based check and to pay the $10 fee for scanning.  In addition, 
relatives who voluntarily care for a relative child will incur 
costs for caring for the child.  The relatives will be given 
information about how to access public resources of support 
through Department of Workforce Services or through the 
Department of Human Services, if they choose to become a 
licensed foster parent. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no cost or 
savings on businesses because it was determined that this 
rule does not apply to businesses.  Lisa-Michele Church, 
Executive Director 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 
H.B. 36 passed during the 2008 legislative session became 
effective on 03/13/2008.  This emergency filing is needed to 
bring the agency into compliance with state law. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Room 225  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

 
DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4451, 
by FAX at 801-538-3993, or by Internet E-mail at 
CAROLMILLER@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  06/18/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Duane Betournay, Director 
 
 
 
R512.  Human Services, Child and Family Services. 
[R512-500.  Kinship Services. 
R512-500-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 A.  The purpose of Kinship care is to: 
 1.  make it possible for children who cannot remain safely at home 
to live with persons they may already know and trust; 
 2.  reduce the trauma children may experience when placed with a 
non-relative caregiver who is not known to the child; 
 3.  maintain children's family history, culture, and sense of 
identity; 
 4.  assist families to consider and rely on family resources and 
strengths; and 
 5.  support families to provide children the support they need. 
 b.  Pursuant to Sections 62A-4a-209 and 78-3a-307, the Division 
of Child and Family Services (DCFS) is authorized to provide kinship 
placements and services. 
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R512-500-2.  Qualifications. 
 A.  Relatives will be considered for an emergency kinship 
placement when they meet the requirements of Sections 62A-4a-209 
and 78-3a-307 and the following: 
 1.  When the relative agrees to care for the child on an emergency 
basis under the following conditions: 
 a.  The relative agrees not to allow the custodial parent or guardian 
to have any unauthorized contact with the child to contact law 
enforcement and DCFS if the custodial parent or guardian attempts to 
make unauthorized contact with the child; 
 b.  The relative will agree not to talk to the child about the events 
that led to the removal, if the child wishes to talk about the events 
leading to the removal, refer to a therapist or other trusted individual 
who is not the relative caregiver; 
 c.  The relative has been informed and understands that while they 
may be asked to be a potential long-term placement, DCFS will 
continue to search for other possible potential kinship placements for 
long-term care, if needed; 
 d.  The relative is willing to assist the custodial parent or guardian 
in reunification efforts at the request of DCFS and to follow all court 
orders. 
 B.  Criteria for an emergency kinship placement: 
 1.  A relative will be considered as an emergency placement only 
if willing to provide the following: 
 a.  Full names of all persons living in their household, including 
maiden names; 
 b.  Social Security Numbers for all persons living in the 
household; 
 c.  driver licenses or other identification for all persons living in 
the household, as applicable. 
 C.  Assessment -- Non-custodial Parent 
 1.  The region in which the non-custodial parent resides will 
conduct an assessment of the non-custodial parent as follows: 
 a.  home inspection that will assess space, accommodations, and 
safety. 
 b.  interview of the non-custodial parent to determine the 
following: 
 i.  nature and quality of the relationship between the child and 
non-custodial parent; 
 ii.  ability and desire to protect the child from further abuse and 
neglect. 
 D.  The DCFS worker will interview the child (when age 
appropriate) regarding the child's relationship and comfort level with 
the non-custodial parent. 
 E.  Deciding between Relatives. 
 1.  If more than one relative requests consideration for temporary 
or permanent placement of the child, the DCFS worker: 
 a.  Will provide each relative with specific information on the 
methods and criteria used to assess suitability of a relative's home for 
the placement of the child; 
 b.  May conduct a child and family team meeting for the purpose 
of assisting the relatives to come to consensus regarding which relative 
would be the most appropriate placement for the child; 
 c.  Will determine which relative has the closest existing personal 
relationship with the child before making the recommendation to the 
court. 
 d.  Will determine which placement should be made and make a 
recommendation to the court consistent with that determination.] 

R512-500.  Kinship Services.  Placement and Background 
Screening. 
R512-500-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish standards for kinship 
placement for a child who is in Child and Family Services custody, 
including Preliminary Placement, evaluation of kinship caregiver 
capacity for ongoing care, and background screening. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Sections 62A-4a-209, 78A-6-
307, 78A-6-307.5, and the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA), 25 
U.S.C. Sections 1901-63. 
 
R512-500-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Abuse" is defined in Section 78A-6-105. 
 (2)  "Child" is defined in Section 62A-4a-101. 
 (3)  "Child and Family Services" means the Division of Child 
and Family Services, Department of Human Services. 
 (4)  "Friend" means an individual, other than a non-custodial 
parent or relative as defined in Section 78A-6-307, who is licensed as a 
foster parent and is designated for preference for care of a child by a 
custodial parent or guardian of the child in accordance with Section 
62A-4a-209. 
 (5)  "Kinship caregiver" means a non-custodial parent, relative, 
or friend, as defined in this section, who is selected for placement 
and care of a child in Child and Family Services custody. 
 (6)  "Neglect" is defined in Section 78A-6-105. 
 (7)  "Non-custodial parent" is a natural parent as defined in 
Section 78A-6-307 who is a biological or adoptive mother, an 
adoptive father, or a biological father who was married to the child's 
biological mother at the time the child was conceived or born, or 
who has had paternity established, who has not been granted legal 
custody of the child. 
 (8)  "Non-relative" is defined in Section 62A-4a-209. 
 (9)  "Preliminary Placement" means an out-of-home placement 
with a non-custodial parent or relative, or with a friend who is a 
licensed foster parent, which is referred to in statute as an 
emergency placement with a non-custodial parent or relative as 
authorized in Section 62A-4a-209 or a post-shelter hearing 
placement with a non-custodial parent or relative as authorized in 
Section 78A-6-307.5. 
 (10)  "Relative" is defined in Section 78A-6-307 as the child's 
"grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt, great-aunt, uncle, great-uncle, 
brother-in-law, sister-in-law, stepparent, first cousin, stepsibling, or 
sibling of the child."  For an Indian child, relative also includes 
"extended family members" as defined by the ICWA, 25 U.S.C. 
Section 1901-63, which is "by the law or custom of the Indian 
child's tribe or, in the absence of such law or custom, shall be a 
person who has reached the age of eighteen and who is the Indian 
child's grandparent, aunt, or uncle, brother or sister, brother-in-law 
or sister-in-law, niece or nephew, first or second cousin, or 
stepparent." 
 (11)  "severe type of child abuse or neglect" is defined in 
Section 62A-4a-1002. 
 (12)  "substantiated" is defined in Section 62A-4a-101. 
 (13)  "ssupported" is defined in Section 62A-4a-101. 
 
R512-500-3.  Philosophy. 
 (1)  All children need permanency through enduring 
relationships that provide stability, familiarity, and support for the 
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culture of the child; support the child's sense of self based on 
existing attachments; provide for the child's safety and physical care; 
and connect the child to their past, present, and future through 
continuing family relationships.  First priority is to maintain a child 
safely at home.  However, if a child cannot safely remain at home, 
kinship care has the potential for providing these elements of 
permanency by virtue of the kin's knowledge of and relationship to 
the family and child. 
 (2)  All kinship work is done in the context of a Child and 
Family Team.  Kinship care includes elements of child protection, 
in-home services, family preservation, and foster care.  When a child 
cannot safely remain home, kinship care is preferable to other out-
of-home placements if the kinship caregiver can keep the child safe 
and appropriately meet the child's needs. 
 (3)  The caregiver's willingness and ability to care for and keep 
the child safe are fundamental.  The kinship caregiver must have or 
acquire knowledge of the child, be able to meet the child's needs, 
support reunification efforts, and be able to provide the child access 
to parents, siblings, and other family members through visits or 
caring for the child and siblings as a group. 
 (4)  Ongoing assessment of the child's safety, permanence, and 
well-being is important to the stability and value of kinship care.  
Ongoing assessment of safety is based on the components of safety 
decision-making, which include threats of harm, vulnerabilities of 
the child, and protective capacities of the kinship caregiver and their 
support system. 
 (5)  Providing for kinship care in the Child and Family Services 
spectrum of services requires active efforts to identify and locate kin 
families with whom children may form or continue relationships at 
home or in temporary or permanent placements.  Support to kinship 
caregivers is essential to the success of the child's placement with 
the family and to the family's ability to respond to the needs of the 
child.  As members of the Child and Family Team, kinship 
caregivers will seek support from other family members and from 
informal and formal supports to provide for the child. 
 
R512-500-4.  Preferences for Placement. 
 (1)  The following order of preference applies to placement of a 
child in the custody of Child and Family Services, and is subject to 
the child's best interest: 
 (a)  A non-custodial parent of the child in accordance with 
Section 78A-6-307; 
 (b)  A relative of the child; 
 (c)  A friend designated by the custodial parent or guardian of 
the child, if the friend is a licensed foster parent; and 
 (d)  A former foster placement, shelter facility, or other foster 
placement designated by Child and Family Services. 
 (2)  Preferential consideration given to kinship caregivers in 
Subsection 78A-6-307(18) expires 120 days from the date of the 
shelter hearing.  Prospective kinship caregivers may be considered 
for placement after the 120 days has lapsed, if it is in the best 
interest of the child. 
 
R512-500-5.  Preliminary Placement. 
 (1)  The requirements specified in Section 62A-4a-209 must be 
met for Preliminary Placement of a child with a kinship caregiver. 
 (2)  A decision to make a Preliminary Placement of a child with 
a kinship caregiver will include background screening, assessment 
of the kinship caregiver's willingness and ability to care for a child 
and to keep the child safe, a limited home inspection, and 
background screening. 

 (3)  A kinship caregiver must meet the background check 
requirements specified in R512-500-7(1). 
 (4)  Assessment of safety will be based on safety decision-
making principles, which include: 
 (a)  Potential threats of harm; 
 (b)  Vulnerabilities of the child; and 
 (c)  Protective capacities of the potential kinship caregiver and 
their support system. 
 (5)  The limited home inspection specified in Section 62A-4a-
209 is required for a non-custodial parent or relative. The limited 
home inspection is conducted in the home of the prospective kinship 
caregiver to determine if there are apparent safety risks in the home that 
present a potential threat of harm to the child.  The limited home 
inspection determines if the following are met: 
 (a)  The home is free from observable health and fire hazards. 
 (b)  There are adequate sleeping arrangements to meet the 
specific needs of each child. 
 (c)  Any firearms, ammunition, hazardous chemicals, and/or 
medications are secured and not accessible to children. 
 (6)  References may be contacted to obtain input regarding 
placing the child with the potential kinship caregiver or information 
about other available relatives or friends who may care for the child. 
 
R512-500-6.  Evaluation of Capacity for Ongoing Care of a 
Child. 
 (1)  Child and Family Services will evaluate with the family 
their capacity for ongoing care of the child.  The components of the 
evaluation process include: 
 (a)  Results of the background screening specified in R512-500-
7(2). 
 (b)  The child-specific home study, including: 
 (i)  Physical and emotional ability of the kinship caregiver to 
provide adequate care for the child; 
 (ii)  Understanding of family dynamics and how placement will 
impact relationships within the family; 
 (iii)  Ability to provide for the child's safety and well-being 
needs and to support a plan for permanency; 
 (iv)  Analysis of the type of resources and support needed by 
the kinship caregiver to care for the child. 
 (v)  Ability of the home to meet required safety standards of the 
Office of Licensing. 
 (c)  Providing information to the kinship caregiver to assist 
with considering options for ongoing care of the child, including: 
 (i)  Educating the kinship caregiver of the expectations of 
caring for a child who is under the jurisdiction of the court. 
 (ii)  Assessing the resources that may be available to assist the 
kinship caregiver in providing a stable placement for the child. 
 (iii)  Becoming a licensed foster care placement for the child. 
 (iv)  Requesting temporary custody and guardianship from the 
court. 
 (2)  A kinship caregiver who meets the definition of friend must 
be licensed as a foster parent in order for a child in the custody of 
Child and Family Services to be placed with them. 
 (3)  Obtain positive written references from two different 
people known to the kinship caregiver expressing the referent's 
opinion about the family's ability to care for the child. 
 
R512-500-7.  Background Screening. 
 (1)  Background Screening Procedure for Preliminary 
Placements. 
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 (a)  In order for a non-custodial parent or relative to be 
considered for Preliminary Placement of a child, background 
screening must be completed that meets the requirements of Sections 
62A-4a-209, 78A-6-307, and 78A-6-308.  If any non-relative adults 
live in the household, applicable background screening requirements 
in Sections 62A-4a-209, 78A-6-307, and 78A-6-308 must be met. 
 (b)  A non-custodial parent or relative and all persons 18 years 
of age and older living in the household must provide the following 
information in order for background screening to be conducted: 
 (i)  Full first, middle, last, maiden, alias, and all previous 
married names. 
 (ii)  Social Security number, if a number has been issued. 
 (iii)  Proof of identity verified by a government-issued photo 
identification. 
 (iv)  Date of birth. 
 (2)  Background Screening Procedure for Ongoing Care of a 
Child. 
 (a)  As part of the evaluation of capacity for ongoing care of a 
child, in addition to background screening required for Preliminary 
Placement, a relative and spouse or partner must complete an FBI 
national criminal history records check as prospective foster or 
adoptive parents.  A non-custodial parent will complete an FBI 
national criminal history check if Utah criminal history or SAFE 
child abuse checks result in concerns about potential threats of harm 
to the child or if ordered by the court. 
 (b)  If a non-relative 18 years of age or older is residing in the 
home and has lived outside of the state of Utah in the five years 
immediately preceding the date of the application, the individual 
must complete an FBI national criminal history records check. 
 (c)  If any person 18 years of age or older residing in the home 
has lived out of the state of Utah in the five years immediately 
preceding the date of the application, a child abuse and neglect 
registry check must be completed for any state in which the 
individual resided. 
 (d)  A non-custodial parent or relative and all persons 18 years 
of age and older living in the household must provide the following 
information on a form provided by Child and Family Services in 
order for background screening to be conducted: 
 (i)  Full first, middle, last, maiden, alias, and all previous 
married names. 
 (ii)  Social Security number, if a number has been issued. 
 (iii)  Proof of identity verified by a government-issued photo 
identification. 
 (iv)  Date of birth. 
 (v)  The potential kinship caregiver and applicable adults living 
in the household shall provide fingerprints from an authorized law 
enforcement agency or designated electronic scanning site. 
 (vi)  The child abuse registry for each state in which a potential 
kinship caregiver or other adult in the household has lived will be 
checked. 
 
KEY:  child welfare, kinship 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 18, 
2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-4a-209, 
[78-3a-307]78A-6-307, 78A-6-307.5 
 

  
 

Human Services, Services for People 
with Disabilities 

R539-15 
Time-Limited Respite Care Program 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  31594 
FILED:  06/19/2008, 09:39 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to provide respite care for Persons on 
the Division Waiting List. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule provides the 
standards and procedures to establish a Time-Limited Respite 
Care Program for Persons on the Division Waiting List.  (DAR 
NOTE:  A corresponding proposed new Rule R539-15 is 
under DAR No. 31593 in this issue, July 15, 2008, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  The cost to the state budget will be the 
$500,000 appropriated by the Legislature for this program. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The program does not affect the 
budgets of local governments.  The agency has reviewed the 
programs and services provided by local governments and 
concluded that none of them provide respite services and this 
rule will not cause local governments any costs or savings. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Small businesses will provide respite care services either as 
employees of the Person served or by contract with the 
Department of Human Services.  This rule does not apply to 
small businesses, it only applies to the individuals eligible for 
respite care services. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There should be 
no compliance costs for affected individuals.  If an individual 
applies for this service and is denied eligibility, they may incur 
the cost of appealing the decision, such as expenses to retain 
a lawyer to represent them. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Respite care services are 
provided by small businesses either as employees of the 
Person or by contract with the Department of Human 
Services. This will bring more business to providers of respite 
care services.  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD cause an imminent budget 
reduction because of budget restraints or federal 
requirements. 
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The Legislature appropriated funds for this program only for 
fiscal year 2009 with the expectation that the funds would be 
spent for services beginning 07/01/2008. 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

 
DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Steven Bradford at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
sbradford@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Georgia Baddley, Acting Director 
 
 
 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
R539-15.  Time-Limited Respite Care Program. 
R539-15-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide: 
 (a)  procedures and standards for the determination of eligibility 
for the Division's Time-Limited Respite Care Program for Persons 
on the Division's Waiting List as specified in R539-2-4. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized from July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009 
by Legislative appropriation and established under Section 62A-5-
103. 
 
R539-15-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 62A-5-101, 
and 
 (2)  "Person":  Individual who meets eligibility requirements in 
Rule R539-1. 
 (3)  "Active Status":  Has a current Needs Assessment Score on 
the Division wait list. 
 (4)  "Respite":  A service to give relief to the Person's primary 
caregiver. 
 
R539-15-3.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  A Person is eligible for the Time-Limited Respite Care 
Program who meets the eligibility requirements listed in Rule 539-1, 
provided that: 
 (2)  the Person is not receiving ongoing services with the 
Division, 
 (3)  the Person is currently in active status on the Division 
waiting list. 
 
R539-15-4.  Limitations. 
 (1)  A Person who meets eligibility requirements for the Time-
Limited Respite Care Program is limited to no more than $1,000 for 
respite care services from July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009. 
 (2)  Funds are granted for 12 months.  After six months, the 
Person must report the expenditure of funds to the Division.  The use 
of the respite care funds will be evaluated  by the Division.  If there 

is no plan to use the funds or funds are unused, those funds may be 
reallocated to another eligible Person. 
 (3)  Persons receiving ongoing services are not eligible for 
time-limited respite services. 
 
R539-15-5.  Priority. 
 (1)  As of July 1, 2008, the first 250 persons who are not 
brought into ongoing services and who remain on the Division 
waiting list will receive priority for respite care services.  If any of 
the first 250 choose not to use time-limited respite care services, 
then Persons will be offered this service in the order of their position 
on the waiting list. 
 
R539-15-6.  Respite Care Services Providers. 
 (1)  Respite services may be provided by an employee of the 
Person or through an agency or program that provides respite care 
services. 
 (2)  If the Person elects to hire an employee, Division 
requirements for a background check must be met. 
 (3)  Payments to an employee must be made through a fiscal 
agent. 
 
KEY:  disabilities 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  July 1, 2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-5-103 
 

  
 

Labor Commission, Adjudication 

R602-4 
Procedures for Termination of 

Temporary Total Disability 
Compensation Pursuant to 

Reemployment under Section 34A-2-
410.5 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  31643 
FILED:  06/30/2008, 16:41 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
implements H.B. 384, effective 07/01/2008, which added 
Section 34A-2-410.5 to the Utah Workers' Compensation Act. 
 Section 34A-2-410.5 requires the Labor Commission to 
accept and adjudicate employer and insurance company 
requests to terminate or reduce temporary disability 
compensation payments in cases of alleged employee 
misconduct.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 384 (2008) is found at 
Chapter 349, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
07/01/2008.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule defines terms and 
establishes the process by which employers or insurance 
carriers can institute proceedings to request permission to 
terminate or reduce temporary disability compensation.  The 
rule establishes alternative methods by which the employer or 
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insurance carrier can notify the injured worker of proceedings 
to terminate or reduce benefits.  The rule also establishes 
standards for discovery, hearings, and decisions.  In 
particular, the rule implements Section 34A-2-410.5's 
requirement that administrative law judges issue decisions in 
these cases within 45 days after the employer or insurance 
carrier has filed its request with the Labor Commission. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 34A-1-104(1) et seq., and Section 34A-2-
410.5 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule implements a new Section 
34A-2-410.5 that allow employers and insurance carriers to 
request Labor Commission permission to reduce or terminate 
temporary disability benefits in cases of employee 
misconduct.  The Labor Commission believes there will be a 
relatively small number of these requests and that the costs of 
adjudicating them can be absorbed with existing resources 
and without any impact on the state budget. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Section 34A-2-410.5 permits, but 
does not require, local governments in their capacity as 
employers to request permission in cases of employee 
misconduct to terminate or reduce temporary disability 
compensation otherwise payable to the employee.  By 
providing simplified procedures for adjudicating such requests, 
the Labor Commission anticipates that this rule will reduce 
costs that local governments would otherwise incur if more 
formal procedures were applied to these proceedings. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
Section 34A-2-410.5 permits, but does not require, small 
businesses to request permission in cases of employee 
misconduct to terminate or reduce temporary disability 
compensation otherwise payable to the employees.  By 
providing simplified procedures for adjudicating such requests, 
the Labor Commission anticipates that this rule will reduce 
costs that small businesses would otherwise incur if more 
formal procedures were applied to these proceedings. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule 
establishes simple, expedited procedures for filing and 
adjudicating employer/insurance carrier requests to terminate 
or reduce temporary disability compensation payments in 
cases of employee misconduct.  By eliminating or modifying 
the procedural and evidentiary standards that would otherwise 
apply, the Labor Commission anticipates that compliance 
costs such as personnel and attorney expenses will be 
reduced. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Section 34A-2-410.5 of the 
Utah Workers' Compensation Act, and this rule implementing 
that statutory provision, provide businesses with a practical 
means to reduce or terminate temporary disability payments 
to workers who are unemployed due to work-related 
misconduct.  While businesses will incur some costs in 
proving that such benefits payments should be reduced or 
terminated, I anticipate that the procedures established by this 
rule will allow the Commission to resolve these cases fairly 
and efficiently.  However, at this time it is uncertain whether 

businesses will experience a net fiscal benefit from this new 
procedure.  Sherrie Hayashi, Commissioner 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 
H.B. 384 creates a new right for employers and insurance 
carriers to assert that certain disability benefits should be 
terminated to injured employees who have been guilty of 
work-related misconduct.  The statute requires the Labor 
Commission to adopt such procedural and adjudicative 
standards as are necessary to implement these new 
proceedings. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

LABOR COMMISSION 
ADJUDICATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

 
DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Richard M. Lajeunesse at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-7928, by FAX at 801-530-6333, or by Internet E-mail 
at rlajeunesse@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  07/01/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Sherrie Hayashi, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R602.  Labor Commission, Adjudication. 
R602-4.  Procedures for Termination of Temporary Total 
Disability Compensation Pursuant to Reemployment Under 
Section 34A-2-410.5. 
R602-4-1.  Purpose, Authority and Scope. 
 Section 34A-2-410.5 allows an employer or its insurance 
carrier ("employer" hereafter) to request Labor Commission 
permission to reduce or terminate an employee's temporary 
disability compensation.  Under authority of section 34A-2-410.5(7), 
the Commission establishes these rules to govern the adjudication of 
such requests.  This rule supersedes the provisions of R602-2, 602-3, 
R602-5, R602-7 and R602-8 R602-4-3 as to any actions brought 
pursuant to section 34A-2-410.5. 
 
R602-4-2.  Commission Permission Required. 
 An employer shall not terminate or reduce an employee's 
temporary disability compensation pursuant to section 34A-2-410.5 
prior to issuance of a final order by the Commission ordering the 
reduction or termination. 
 
R602-4-3.  Mediation. 
 Prior to filing a request to terminate or reduce temporary 
disability compensation pursuant to section 34A-2-410.5, the parties 
are encouraged to request assistance from the Mediation Unit of the 
Commission's Industrial Accidents Division. 
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R602-4-4.  Pleadings and Discovery. 
 A.  Definitions. 
 1.  "Application" means an Application for Hearing for 
Termination or Reduction of Compensation (Adjudication Form 
402), all supporting documents, proof of service and Notice of 
Request for Termination or Reduction of Compensation 
(Adjudication Form 404) which together constitute the request for 
agency action regarding termination or reduction of benefits 
pursuant to Section 34A-2-410.5. 
 2.  "Supporting medical documentation" means any medical 
provider's report or treatment note that addresses the employee's 
medical condition or functional restrictions. 
 3.  "Supporting documents" means supporting medical 
documentation, Persons with Knowledge List (Adjudication Form 
403), any documents related to reasons for the requested termination 
or reduction, and any documents describing the employee's work 
duties. 
 4.  "Proof of Service" means any of the following: 1) the 
employee's signed and dated acceptance of service of the 
Application and all supporting documents; 2) a certificate of service 
of the Application and all supporting documents signed by the 
employer or insurer's counsel and accompanied by a return receipt 
signed by the employee; or 3) a return of service showing personal 
service of the Application and all supporting documents on the 
employee according to Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 4(d)(1). 
 5.  "Persons with Knowledge List" (Adjudication Form 403) 
means a party's list of all persons who have material knowledge 
regarding the reasons for the request to terminate or reduce 
compensation.  The list must specify the full name of the person, a 
summary of the knowledge possessed by the person, and a statement 
whether the party will produce the person as a witness at hearing. 
 6.  "Notice of Request for Termination or Reduction of 
Compensation" means Adjudication Form 404. 
 B.  Application for Hearing. 
 1.  An employer may request Commission approval to 
terminate or reduce an employee's temporary disability 
compensation under section 34A-2-410.5 by filing an Application 
with the Commission's Adjudication Division. 
 2.  An Application is not deemed filed with the Division until 
the employer submits a completed Application with all required 
documentation. 
 C.  Discovery. 
 1.  At least 15 days prior to a hearing on an Application, each 
party shall mail or otherwise serve on the opposing party a list of all 
witnesses that party will produce at the hearing.  Because it is 
presumed that the employee will appear at the hearing, the employee 
is not required to list himself or herself on the list.  The employer 
will also mail to or otherwise serve on the employee a copy of all 
exhibits the employer intends to submit at the hearing. 
 2.  Testimony of witnesses and exhibits not disclosed as 
required by this Rule shall not be admitted into evidence at the 
hearing.  A party's failure to subpoena or otherwise produce an 
individual previously identified by that party as an intended witness 
may give rise to an inference that the individual's testimony would 
have been adverse to the party failing to produce the witness. 
 3.  Other than disclosures required by this rule and voluntary 
exchanges of information, the parties may not engage in any other 
discovery procedures. 
 4.  Subpoenas may be used only to compel attendance of 
witnesses at hearing, and not for obtaining documents or compelling 

attendance at depositions.  All subpoenas shall be signed by an 
administrative law judge. 
 D.  Defaults and Motions. 
 1.  Defaults shall only be issued at the time of hearing based on 
nonattendance of a party. Motions will only be considered at the 
time of hearing. 
 
R602-4-5.  Hearings. 
 A.  Scheduling and Notice. 
 A hearing will be held within 30 days after an Application is 
filed with the Commission's Adjudication Division.  The Division 
will send notice of hearings by regular mail to the addresses of the 
employer and employee set forth on the Application.  A party must 
immediately notify the Division of any change or correction of the 
addresses listed on the Application.  The Division will also mail 
notice to the address of any party's attorney as disclosed on the 
Application or by an Appearance of Counsel filed with the Division. 
 Notice by the Division to a party's attorney is considered notice to 
the party itself. 
 B.  Hearings. 
 Each hearing pursuant to section 34A-2-410.5 shall be 
conducted by an administrative law judge as a formal evidentiary 
hearing.  The evidentiary record shall be deemed closed at the 
conclusion of the hearing, and no additional evidence will be 
accepted thereafter. After hearing, the administrative law judge shall 
issue a decision within 45 days from the date the Application was 
filed. 
 C.  Motions for Review. 
 Commission review of an administrative law judge's decision is 
subject to the provisions of section 63G-4-301, section 34A-1-303, 
and R602-2.M. 
 
KEY:  worker's compensation, administrative procedures, 
hearings, settlements 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  July 1, 
2008 
Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law:  34A-1-104(1) et 
seq.; 34A-2-410.5 
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Private Fish Ponds 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  31625 
FILED:  06/26/2008, 10:23 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this proposed new emergency rule is to provide the 
standards and procedures required to stock and maintain 
privately-owned aquatic animals in a private fish pond. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule provides the 
standards and procedures for private fishponds.  (DAR NOTE: 
 A corresponding proposed new Rule R657-59 is under DAR 
No. 31612 in this issue, July 15, 2008, of the Bulletin.) 
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STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-15-9 and 23-15-10 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  This new rule will regulate the stocking 
of privately propagated fish into privately-owned ponds, it will 
simplify criteria which was previously defined in Rule R657-16. 
 DWR determines that these amendments do not create a 
cost or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget 
since the changes will not increase workload and can be 
carried out with existing budget.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment for Rule R657-16 is under DAR No. 31611 in this 
issue, July 15, 20088, of the Bulletin.) 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Since this new rule only clarifies 
restrictions already in place in a separate rule, this should 
have little to no effect on the local government.  This filing 
does not create any direct costs or savings impact to local 
governments because they are not directly affected by the 
rule.  Nor are local governments indirectly impacted because 
the rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
local governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule may impose additional financial requirements on 
persons requesting to stock a private pond in certain areas of 
the state. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR determines 
that these amendments may create a cost or savings impact 
to individuals who wish to stock game fish in a private pond. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD cause an imminent peril to the 
public health, safety, or welfare. place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 
H.B. 148 eliminated the requirement of a certificate of 
registration (COR) for private fish ponds to receive and 
maintain privately-owned aquatic animals provided the pond 
and aquatic animals satisfy the criteria established by the 
Wildlife Board in rule.  H.B 148 became effective on 
05/05/2008 and charged the Division of Wildlife Resources 
(DWR) and the Wildlife Board to promulgate an administrative 
rule to:  1) establish pond screening requirements; 2) define 
geographic areas where privately-owned aquatic animals may 
be stocked in private fish ponds without first obtaining a COR; 
and 3) delineate species, strain, and reproductive capability of 
aquatic animals that may be stocked in defined areas without 
a COR.  The rule took considerable effort and time to create 
and is represented in the Private Fish Pond rule submitted 
herewith for emergency rulemaking.  Without emergency 
rulemaking and immediate implementation of the rule, public 
welfare will be placed in imminent peril and DWR will be in 
violation of H.B. 148.  The earliest possible effective date for 
the rule under traditional rulemaking is 08/21/2008.  The 
aquaculture industry has produced fish and solicited private 
pond customers for delivery in early summer.  The 
aquaculture industry did not anticipate rulemaking to be so 

protracted.  The ideal time to stock salmonid fish is early 
summer while water temperatures are cooler and private pond 
owners anxious to receive fish for summer fishing activities.  
By late August, the demand for fish will have dissipated 
greatly leaving aquaculture facilities with product they cannot 
sell.  This will cause a significant economic impact on 
aquaculture facilities that may imperil fiscal viability.  This 
impact presents an immediate threat to public welfare.  The 
bill eliminated the requirement of a COR for private fish ponds 
under specified circumstances.  The bill remains effective but 
without application until the rule is in place.  This creates 
confusion for the public with an increased possibility of 
constructing ponds and stocking fish in violation of criteria 
defined in the rule.  DWR will then be caught between the 
mandates of H.B. 148 and the pending rule waiting to become 
effective.  Public confusion on private pond regulations will 
likely result in illicit fish stocking in areas of the state that 
present an imminent threat to sensitive and endangered 
species of native aquatic wildlife.  Hybridization, competition, 
and predation with non-native fish are frequently the primary 
contributing factors leading to native fish population declines.  
Extirpation and extinction of native fish species is harmful to 
public welfare, as is native species listing under the 
Endangered Species Act.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 148 (2008) is 
found at Chapter 69, Laws of Utah 2008, and was effective 
05/05/2008.) 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

 
DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  06/27/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-59.  Private Fish Ponds. 
R657-59-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under the authority of Sections 23-15-9 and 23-15-10 of 
the Utah Code, this rule provides the standards and procedures for 
private fish ponds. 
 (2)  This rule does not regulate fee fishing or private 
aquaculture as provided in Title 4, Chapter 37 of the Utah Code, and 
Department of Agriculture Rule R58-17. 
 (3)  Any violation of, or failure to comply with, any provision 
of Title 23 of the Utah Code, this rule, or any specific requirement 
contained in a certificate of registration or exemption certificate 
issued pursuant to this rule may be grounds for suspension of the 
certificate or denial of future certificates, as determined by the 
division. 
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R657-59-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Aquaculture" means the husbandry, production, harvest, 
and use of aquatic organisms under controlled, artificial conditions. 
 (b)  "Aquaculture facility" means any facility used for 
propagating, rearing, or producing aquatic wildlife or aquaculture 
products. Facilities that are separated by more than 1/2 mile, or 
facilities that drain to, or are modified to drain to, different drainages 
are considered to be separate aquaculture facilities, regardless of 
ownership. 
 (c)(i)  "Aquaculture product" means privately purchased 
aquatic wildlife, or their eggs or gametes. 
 (ii)  "Aquaculture product" does not include aquatic wildlife 
obtained from the wild. 
 (d)  "Certified sterile salmonid" means any salmonid fish or 
gamete that originates from a health certified source and is incapable 
of reproduction due to triploidy or hybridization. 
 (i)  Triploid salmonids accepted as sterile under this subsection 
shall originate from a source that is certified as incapable of 
reproduction using the following protocols: 
 (A)  fish samples shall be collected, prepared, and submitted to 
a certified laboratory by an independent veterinarian, certified fish 
health professional, or other professional approved by the division; 
 (B)  certified laboratories shall be limited to independent, 
professional laboratories capable of reliably testing fish sterility and 
approved by the division; and 
 (C)  sterility shall be determined by sampling and testing 60 
fish from each egg lot with procedures generally accepted in the 
scientific community as reliable for verifying tripoidy with a 95% or 
greater success rate. 
 (ii)  An aquaculture facility that receives certified sterile 
salmonid aquaculture product is not required to conduct additional 
sterility testing prior to stocking the aquaculture product in a private 
fish pond, provided the sterile salmonids are kept segregated from 
other fertile salmonids. 
 (iii)  Hybrid salmonid fish species accepted as sterile under this 
subsection are limited to splake trout (lake trout/brook trout cross)  
and tiger trout (brown trout/brook trout cross)  . 
 (e)  "Exemption certificate" means a document issued by the 
division pursuant to R657-59-7 that exempts a designated private 
fish pond from the requirement of obtaining a certificate of 
registration to stock aquaculture product in the pond. 
 (f)(i)  "HUC" or "Hyrologic Unit Code" means a cataloging 
system developed by the US Geological Survey and the Natural 
Resource Conservation Service to identify watersheds in the United 
States. HUCs are typically reported at the large river basin (6-digit 
HUC) or smaller watershed (11-digit and 14-digit HUC) scale. 
 (ii)  HUC maps and other associated information are available 
at http://water.usgs.gov/wsc/sub/1602.html. 
 (g)  "Ornamental fish" means fish that are raised or held for 
their beauty rather than use, or that arouse interest for their 
uncommon or exotic characteristics, including tropical fish, goldfish, 
and koi, but not including those species listed as prohibited or 
controlled in Rule R657-3-34. 
 (h)  "Private fish pond" means a pond, reservoir, or other body 
of water, or any fish culture system which is contained on privately 
owned land and used for holding or rearing fish for a private, 
noncommercial purpose. 

 (i)  "Purchase" means to buy, or otherwise acquire or obtain 
through barter, exchange, or trade for pecuniary consideration or 
advantage. 
 (j)  "Salmonid" means any fish belonging to the trout/salmon 
family. 
 
R657-59-3.  Certificate of Registration Not Required. 
 (1)  A certificate of registration is not required to receive and 
stock an aquaculture product in a private fish pond, provided the 
following conditions are satisfied: 
 (a)  the pond is not located on a natural lake, natural flowing 
stream, or reservoir constructed on a natural stream channel; 
 (b)  the pond is properly screened consistent with the 
requirements in R657-59-15 to prevent the movement of aquatic 
wildlife into the pond or the movement of any aquaculture product 
out of the pond; 
 (c)  the aquaculture product is delivered to the pond by a 
licensed aquaculture facility as defined in Section 4-37-103; 
 (d)  the owner, lessee, or operator of the pond obtains from the 
aquaculture facility delivering the aquaculture product a valid health 
approval number issued by the Utah Department of Agriculture and 
Food pursuant to Section 4-37-501 authorizing the aquaculture 
facility to culture and transport the species of aquaculture product 
received at the pond; 
 (e)  the species, strain, and reproductive capability of the 
aquaculture product received is authorized for stocking in the area 
where the pond is located consistent with the requirements in R657-
59-16; 
 (f)  the aquaculture product received is of sufficient size to be 
incapable of escaping the pond through or around the screen; 
 (g)  the owner or operator of the private fish pond provides the 
aquaculture facility a signed written statement that the pond and 
aquaculture product received are in compliance with this section; 
and 
 (h)  the owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond or an 
invitee has not previously been found in violation of any provision 
of Title 4, Chapter 37 or Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this rule. 
 
R657-59-4.  Aquaculture Facility Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  A person who owns or operates an aquaculture facility shall 
file an annual report with the division documenting each sale or 
transfer of live aquaculture product made pursuant to R657-59-3 and 
R657-59-7 to a private fish pond owner, lessee, or operator. 
 (2)  The report shall contain: 
 (a)  the name, address, and Utah health approval number of the 
person; 
 (b)  the name, address, and phone number of the private fish 
pond's owner, lessee, or operator; 
 (c)  the number and weight of aquaculture product by: 
 (i)  species; 
 (ii)  strain; and 
 (iii)  reproductive capability; 
 (d)  date of sale or transfer; 
 (e)  description of the private fish pond location, including 
UTM coordinates; and 
 (f)  written verification for each live sale or transfer that the 
private fish pond was inspected and is in compliance with the 
requirements of Sections 23-15-10(2)  and (3)  (c)  and this rule. 
 (3)  The report required in this Subsection shall be submitted to 
and received by the division no later than December 31. 
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R657-59-5.  Certificate of Registration Required. 
 (1)  A certificate of registration must be obtained from the 
division to receive, stock, or possess an aquaculture product in a 
private fish pond where: 
 (a)  the aquaculture product is classified under R657-59-16 as 
an unauthorized species, strain, or reproductive capability for the 
area where the pond is located; 
 (b)  the aquaculture facility does not deliver the aquaculture 
product directly to the private fish pond; or 
 (c)  the owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond or an 
invitee is found in violation of any provision of Title 4, Chapter 37 
or Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this rule. 
 (2)  A separate certificate of registration is required for each 
private fish pond as defined under "aquaculture facility" in R657-59-
2. 
 
R657-59-6.  Application for a Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)  A person may apply to receive a certificate of registration 
for a private fish pond by submitting an application with the required 
handling and inspection fee to the Wildlife Registration Office, Utah 
Division of Wildlife Resources, 1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake 
City, Utah 84114. 
 (a)  Application forms are available at all division offices and at 
the division's internet address. 
 (2)  A certificate of registration may be issued after a division 
representative inspects the private fish pond and confirms that the 
pond and the aquaculture products requested for stocking in the 
pond meet all requirements in this rule and Title 23 of the Utah 
Code. 
 (3)  The application may require up to 30 days for processing. 
 (4)  The division may deny a private fish pond application 
where: 
 (a)  the application is incomplete, filled out incorrectly, or 
submitted without the appropriate fee; 
 (b)  the pond is located on a natural lake, natural flowing 
stream, or a reservoir constructed on a natural stream channel; 
 (c)  the pond is not screened consistent with the requirements in 
R657-59-15; 
 (d)  the source of the aquaculture product is not an authorized 
aquaculture facility with a health approval number issued pursuant 
to Section 4-37-501; 
 (e)  the applicant or its agents or invitees have previously 
violated of any provision of Title 4, Chapter 37 of the Utah Code, 
Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this rule; 
 (f)  receiving or stocking the aquaculture product in the pond 
may: 
 (i)  violate any federal, state or local law or any agreement 
between the state and another party; 
 (ii)  negatively impact native wildlife species listed by the 
division as sensitive or by the federal government as threatened or 
endangered; 
 (iii)  pose an identifiable adverse threat to other wildlife species 
or their habitat; or 
 (iv)  pose an identifiable adverse impact to the division's game 
fish stocking regimes or wildlife management objectives; 
 (g)  the aquaculture product received is sufficiently small to be 
capable of escaping the pond through or around the screen; or 
 (h)  non-salmonid aquaculture product will be stocked in a 
pond within the 100 year flood plain (below 6500 feet in elevation) 
in the Green River and Colorado River drainages and the pond does 
not meet FEMA standards on construction and screening. 

 (5)  An application for private fish pond certificate of 
registration may not be denied without the review and consent of the 
division director or a designee. 
 (6)  A private fish pond certificate of registration shall remain 
effective for 5 years from the date of issuance, unless: 
 (a)  amended by the division at the request of private fish pond 
owner, lessee, or operator; 
 (b)  terminated or modified by the division pursuant to R657-
59-17; or 
 (c)  suspended by the division or a court pursuant to Section 23-
19-9. 
 (7)  Certificates of registration are renewable on or before the 
expiration date identified on the certificate of registration and upon 
payment of the prescribed handling, and inspection fees. 
 
R657-59-7.  Exemption Certificate. 
 (1)  Upon application for a private fish pond certificate of 
registration and a risk assessment of the pond by the division under 
R657-59-6, the Division may issue an exemption certificate in lieu 
of a certificate of registration where the following conditions exist: 
 (a)  The pond is eligible to receive a certificate of registration 
under the requirements of this chapter; 
 (b)  The pond and species, strain and reproductive capability of 
aquaculture product requested present no risk to native aquatic 
wildlife species because: 
 (i)  the location and configuration of the pond physically 
eliminate the possibility of aquaculture product escaping into the 
surface waters of the state; 
 (ii)  the pond has no inflow or outflow connection with the 
surface waters of the state; 
 (iii)  the pond is located in an area where escapement of 
aquaculture product will cause no ecological damage to native 
aquatic wildlife species; or 
 (iv)  the pond is located in an area where no Tier I or II aquatic 
wildlife species on the division's sensitive species list or threatened 
or endangered species listed under the Endangered Species Act will 
be threatened by the risk of escapement; and 
 (c)  the aquaculture product is delivered directly to the pond by 
the aquaculture facility. 
 (2)  The exemption certificate shall have the legal effect of a 
certificate of registration for purposes of stocking the pond with the 
species, strain and reproductive capability of aquaculture product 
authorized in the exemption certificate. 
 (3)  Aquaculture facilities supplying aquaculture product to 
private fish ponds operating under an exemption certificate shall 
comply with: 
 (a)  the written terms of the exemption certificate; and 
 (b)  the inspection and reporting requirements in R657-59-4. 
 (4)  The exemption certificate will: 
 (a)  designate the species, strain and reproductive capability of 
aquaculture product that may be stocked in the pond; 
 (b)  identify any restrictions or conditions relative to stocking 
and maintaining aquaculture product in the pond; 
 (c)  identify the owner, lessee, or operator of the private fish 
pond; and 
 (d)  describe the private fish pond's location, including UTM 
coordinates. 
 (5)  The private fish pond exemption certificate shall remain 
effective, without the requirement of renewal, for the useful life of 
the pond, provided: 
 (a)  the ownership of the pond does not change; 
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 (b)  the pond, screen, and inflow and outflow structures remain 
in the same state that existed when inspected; 
 (c)  the species, strain, and reproductive capability of 
aquaculture product stocked and maintained in the pond remains 
consistent with the that authorized in the exemption certificate; and 
 (d)  the exemption certificate is not modified, terminated, or 
suspended by the division pursuant to Section 23-19-9, R657-59-
1(3), or R657-59-17 or a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 (6)  Any private fish pond operating under authority of an 
exemption certificate which is modified, terminated, or suspended 
pursuant to Section 23-19-9, R657-59-1(3), or R657-59-17 shall be 
subject to the aquaculture product depopulation requirements in 
R657-59-8. 
 
R657-59-8.  Failure to Renew Certificates of Registration. 
 (1)  If an owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond fails 
to renew the certificate of registration upon expiration, or the 
division suspends or terminates the certificate of registration, all live 
aquaculture products permitted under the certificate of registration 
shall be disposed of as follows: 
 (a)  Unless the Wildlife Board orders otherwise, all aquaculture 
products must be removed within 30 days of suspension or the 
expiration date of the certificate of registration, or within 30 days 
after ice-free conditions on the water; or 
 (b)  At the discretion of the division, aquaculture products may 
remain in the waters at the facility, but shall only be taken as 
prescribed within Rule R657-13 for Taking Fish and Crayfish. 
 (2)  Aquaculture products in a private fish pond may not be 
moved alive unless the pond has received disease testing and is 
issued a health approval number from the Department of Agriculture 
and Food pursuant to Section 4-37-501. 
 (3)  Aquaculture products from a private fish pond infected 
with any pathogen specified in the Department of Agriculture Rule 
R58-17 must be disposed of as directed by the division to prevent 
further spread of such  pathogen. 
 
R657-59-9.  Reporting Requirements for Private Fish Ponds 
Authorized by Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)  Any person that possesses a certificate of registration for a 
private fish pond must submit to the division an annual report of all 
live aquaculture products purchased or acquired during the year. 
This report must contain the following information: 
 (a)  the name, address, and phone number of the private fish 
pond's owner, lessee, or operator; 
 (b)  name, address, and certificate of registration number of the 
seller or supplier; 
 (c)  the number and weight of aquaculture product by: 
 (i)  species; 
 (ii)  strain; and 
 (iii)  reproductive capability; 
 (d)  date of sale or transfer; 
 (2)  A form for this information is provided by the division. 
 (3)  The annual report must be received by the division no later 
than January 30. 
 
R657-59-10.  Importation. 
 (1)(a)  The species, strains, and reproductive capabilities of live 
aquaculture products that may be imported and stocked in a private 
fish pond without a certificate of registration are provided in R657-
59-16; 

 (b)  A certificate of registration or exemption certificate is 
required to import and stock all species, strains and reproductive 
capabilities of live aquaculture products not specifically exempted 
from licensure in R657-59-16. 
 (2)  Applications to import aquaculture products are available 
from all division offices and must be submitted to the division's 
Wildlife Registration Office in Salt Lake City.  Applications may 
require up to 30 days for action. 
 
R657-59-11.  Acquiring and Transferring Aquaculture Products. 
 (1)  Live aquaculture products, other than ornamental fish, may 
be: 
 (a)  purchased or acquired only from sources that have a valid 
certificate of registration from the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food to sell such products or from a person located outside Utah 
if that person is approved by the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food to import the particular aquaculture product; and 
 (b)  acquired, purchased or transferred only from sources which 
have been health approved by the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food and assigned a fish health approval number as provided in 
Section 4-37-501. This also applies to separate facilities owned by 
the same entity since each facility is treated separately, regardless of 
ownership. 
 (2)(a)  Any person who has been issued a valid certificate of 
registration may transport live aquaculture products as specified on 
the certificate of registration to the private fish pond. 
 (b)  All transfers or shipments of live aquaculture products 
must be accompanied by documentation of the source and 
destination of the product, including: 
 (i)  name, address, certificate of registration number, and fish 
health approval number of the source; 
 (ii)  number and weight being shipped, by species; and 
 (iii)  name, address, and certificate of registration number, if 
applicable, of the destination. 
 
R657-59-12.  Inspection of Records and Facilities. 
 (1)  The following records and information must be maintained 
for a period of two years and must be available for inspection by a 
division representative during reasonable hours: 
 (a)  records of purchase and acquisition of aquaculture 
products, including records maintained in connection with the 
reporting requirements in R657-59-9; 
 (b)  certificates of registration; and 
 (c)  valid identification of stocks. 
 (2)  The division and its authorized representatives may inspect 
a private fish pond at any time to verify compliance with the 
requirements of Title 23 of the Utah Code and this rule, and to 
conduct pathological testing. 
 
R657-59-13.  Prohibited Activities. 
 (1)  A private fish pond may not be developed on a natural lake; 
natural flowing stream; or reservoir constructed on a natural stream 
channel. 
 (2)  Live aquatic wildlife may not be collected from the wild 
and placed in a private fish pond. 
 (3)  Any aquaculture product received or held in a private fish 
pond may not be released from the pond or transported live to 
another location. 
 (4)  A private fish pond owner, lessee, or operator may not sell, 
donate, or transfer from the pond live aquaculture product, including 
gametes and eggs. 
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R657-59-14.  Fishing License and Transportation of Dead 
Aquaculture Product. 
 (1)  A fishing license is not required to take fish from a legally 
recognized private fish pond. 
 (2)  A fishing license is not required to transport dead 
aquaculture product from a private fish pond, provided the person 
possesses a receipt with the following information: 
 (a)  species and number of fish; 
 (b)  date caught; 
 (c)  certificate of registration number or exemption certificate 
number of the private fish pond, where applicable; and 
 (d)  name, address, and telephone number of the owner, lessee, 
or operator of the private fish pond. 
 (3)  Any person that has a valid fishing license may transport 
up to a legal limit of dead aquaculture product from a private fish 
pond without further documentation. 
 
R657-59-15.  Screen Requirements. 
 (1)  All inlets and outlets of a private fish pond must be 
screened as follows to prevent the movement of aquatic wildlife into 
the pond or the escapement of any aquaculture product from the 
pond: 
 (a)  the screen shall be constructed of durable materials that are 
capable of maintaining integrity in a water and air environment for 
an extended period of time; 
 (b)  the screen shall have no openings, seams or mesh width 
greater than the width of the fish being stocked; 
 (c)  screen construction and placement shall eliminate any 
movement of aquaculture product into or out of the pond; 
 (d)  screen dimensions shall be based on precluding escapement 
of the size of the fish being stocked; 
 (e)  all water entering or leaving the pond, including run off and 
other high water events, shall flow through a screen consistent with 
the requirements of this subsection; and 
 (f)  the screen shall be maintained and in place at all times 
while any aquaculture product remains in the pond. 
 (2)  Ponds with no inlet or outlet to the surface waters of the 
state are not required to have a screen or device to restrict movement 
of aquaculture product. 
 
R657-59-16.  Species, Strains, and Reproductive Capabilities of 
Aquaculture Product Authorized by Area for Stocking in 
Private Fish Ponds Without a Certificate of Registration or 
Exemption Certificate. 
 (1)  A certificate of registration or exemption certificate must 
be obtained from the division pursuant to R657-59-6 and R657-59-7 
prior to stocking in any private fish pond: 
 (a)  non-salmonid aquaculture product; or 
 (b)  any other species or reproductive capability of aquaculture 
product not specifically authorized in this Section. 
 (2)(a)  The following subsections designate areas closed to 
stocking aquaculture product in private fish ponds using a general 
area identifier such canyon, creek, spring, or location and then 
followed by a specific area identifier in the form of hydrologic unit 
code (HUC) or township and range. 
 (b)  The general area identifier is included for purposes of 
reference only and may include all or part of the associated drainage. 
 (c)  The HUC or township and range designations constitute the 
legal descriptions of the actual closed areas. 
 (3)   Certified sterile salmonid aquaculture product may be 
stocked without a certificate of registration or exemption certificate 

in any private fish pond within the state consistent with R657-59-3, 
except for ponds located within the following areas: 
 (a)  Washington County - stocking is prohibited in the 
following areas: 
 (i)  Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405; 
 (ii)  Beaver Dam Wash - HUC 15010010; 
 (iii)  Laverkin Creek - HUC 150100080302; 
 (iv)  Leeds Creek - HUC 150100080906; 
 (v)  Baker Dam Reservoir/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080704; 
 (vi)  Tobin Wash - HUC 150100080802; 
 (vii)  Sand Cove Wash - HUC 150100080801; 
 (viii)  Manganese Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080804; 
 (ix)  Wittwer Canyon/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080808; 
 (x)  Cove Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080809; 
 (xi)  Moody Wash - HUC 150100080603; 
 (xii)  Upper Moody Wash - HUC 150100080602; 
 (xiii)  Magotsu Creek - HUC 150100080704; 
 (xiv)  South Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405)  ; 
 (xv)  Water Canyon - HUC 150100080701)  ; 
 (xvi)  Chinatown Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xvii)  Lower Gould Wash - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xviii)  Grapevine Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080903; 
 (xix)  Cottonwood Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080909; 
 (xx)  Middleton Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080910; 
 (xxi)  Lower Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 150100080605; 
 (xxii)  Atkinville Wash - HUC 150100080303; 
 (xxiii)  Lizard Wash - HUC 150100080302; 
 (xxiv)  Val Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080307; 
 (xxv)  Bulldog Canyon - HUC 150100080310; and 
 (xxvi)  Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 15010009. 
 (4)  Fertile rainbow trout may be stocked without a certificate 
of registration or exemption certificate in any private fish pond 
within the state consistent with R657-59-3, except for ponds located 
within the following areas and elevations: 
 Beaver County - stocking is prohibited in the following: 
 (i)  North Creek - HUCs 160300070203, 160300070208; and 
 (ii)  Pine Creek (near Sulphurdale)  - HUC 160300070501. 
 (b)  Box Elder County - stocking is prohibited in the following: 
 (i)  Morison Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (ii)  Bettridge Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (iii)  Death Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (iv)  Camp Creek - HUC 16020308; 
 (v)  Goose Creek - HUC 17040211; 
 (vi)  Raft River - HUC 17040210; 
 (vii)  Fat Whorled Pond Snail Springs - Township 10 North, 
Ranges 4 and 5 West; and 
 (viii)  Mantua Reservoir - HUC 16010204. 
 (c)  Cache County - stocking is prohibited in the following: 
 (i)  Logan River - HUC 16010203; 
 (ii)  Blacksmith Fork - HUC 16010203; 
 (iii)  East Fork Little Bear River - HUC 16010203; and 
 (iv)  Little Bear River - HUC 16010203. 
 (d)  Carbon County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (e)  Daggett County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (f)  Davis County - no areas closed to stocking fertile rainbow 
trout. 
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 (g)  Duchesne County - stocking is prohibited in any private 
fish pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (h)  Emery County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (i)  Garfield County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Birch Creek/Main Canyon - HUC 140700050102; 
 (ii)  Cottonwood Creek - HUC 160300020406; 
 (iii)  East Fork of Boulder Creek/ West Fork Boulder Creek - 
HUC 140700050206; and 
 (iv)  Ranch Creek (East Fork Sevier River drainage)  - HUC 
160300020405. 
 (j)  Grand County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (k)  Iron County - no areas closed to stocking fertile rainbow 
trout. 
 (l)  Juab County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Sulphur Wash - HUC 160203011303; 
 (ii)  Middle Pleasant Valley Draw - HUC 160203011402; 
 (iii)  Lower Pleasant Valley Draw - HUC 160203011403; 
 (iv)  Cookscomb Ridge - HUC 160203011501; 
 (v)  Outlet Salt Marsh Lake - HUC 160203011502; 
 (vi)  Deep Creek Range - HUC 160203011503; 
 (vii)  Snake Valley - HUC 160203011504; 
 (viii)  Little Red Cedar Wash - HUC 160203011505; 
 (ix)  Trout Creek - HUC 160203060101; 
 (x)  Smelter Knolls - HUC 160203060104; 
 (xi)  Toms Creek - HUC 160203060201; 
 (xii)  Goshute Canyon - HUC 160203060202; 
 (xiii)  Indian Farm Creek - HUC 160203060204; 
 (xiv)  Spring Creek - HUC 160203060803; 
 (xv)  Fifteenmile Creek - HUC 160203060804; 
 (xvi)  East Creek/East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060805; 
 (xvii)  East Creek/East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060806; 
 (xviii)  West Deep Creek - HUC 160203060808; 
 (xix)  Horse Valley - HUC 160203060304; 
 (xx)  Starvation Canyon - HUC 160203060305; 
 (xxi)  Cane Springs - HUC 160203060307; 
 (xxii)  Fish Springs Range - HUC 160203060308; 
 (xxiii)  Middle Fish Springs Wash - HUC 160203060309; 
 (xxiv)  Lower Fish Springs Wash - HUC 160203060403; 
 (xxv)  Fish Springs - HUC 160203060405; 
 (xxvi)  Wilson Health Springs - HUC 160203060407; 
 (xxvii)  Vernon Creek - HUC 160203040102; 
 (xxviii)  Outlet Chicken Creek - HUC 160300050206; 
 (xxix)  Little Valley/Sevier River - HUC 160300050403; 
 (xxx)  Pole Creek/Salt Creek - HUC 160202010104; and 
 (xxxi)  West Creek/Current Creek - HUC160202010107. 
 (m)  Kane County - no areas closed to stocking fertile rainbow 
trout. 
 (n)  Millard County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Outlet Salt Marsh Lake - HUC 160203011502; 
 (ii)  Sulphur Wash - HUC160203011303; 
 (iii)  Cockscomb Ridge - HUC 160203011501; 
 (iv)  Tungstonia Wash - HUC 160203011302; 
 (v)  Salt Marsh Lake - HUC 160203011304; 
 (vi)  Indian George Wash - HUC 160203011301 
 (vii)  Outlet Bishop Springs - HUC 160203011203; 
 (viii)  Warm Creek - HUC 160203011204; 
 (ix)  Headwaters Bishop Springs - HUC 160203011202; 

 (x)  Indian Pass - HUC 160203011107; 
 (xi)  Chevron Ridge - HUC 160203011110; 
 (xii)  Petes Knoll - HUC 160203011109; 
 (xiii)  Red Gulch - HUC 160203011102; 
 (xiv)  Horse Canyon - HUC 160203011106; 
 (xv)  Hampton Creek - HUC 160203011105; 
 (xvi)  Knoll Springs - HUC 160203011103; 
 (xvii)  Browns Wash - HUC 160203011101; 
 (xviii)  Outlet Baker Creek - HUC 160203011004; 
 (xix)  Outlet Old Mans Canyon - HUC 160203011003; 
 (xx)  Hendrys Creek - HUC 160203011104; 
 (xxi)  Headwaters Old Mans Canyon - HUC 160203011002; 
 (xxii)  Rock Canyon - HUC 160203011001 
 (xxiii)  Silver Creek - Baker Creek - HUC 160203010806; 
 (xxiv)  Outlet Weaver Creek - HUC 160203010804; 
 (xxv)  Conger Spring - HUC 160203010702; and 
 (xxvi)  Sheepmens Little Valley - HUC 160203010607. 
 (o)  Morgan County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Weber River - HUC 16020102; 
 (ii)  East Canyon Creek - HUC 16020102; and 
 (iii)  Lost Creek - HUC 16020101. 
 (p)  Piute County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Manning Creek - HUC 160300030203. 
 (q)  Rich County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Bear Lake including all its tributaries - HUC 16010201; 
 (ii)  Big Creek - HUC 16010101; 
 (iii)  Woodruff Creek - HUC 16010101; and 
 (iv)  Home Canyon and Meachum Canyon (Deseret Ranch)  - 
HUC 16010101. 
 (r)  Salt Lake County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Big Cottonwood Canyon Creek - HUC 160202040201; 
 (ii)  Little Cottonwood Canyon Creek - HUC 160202040202; 
 (iii)  Mill Creek - HUC 160202040301; 
 (iv)  Parleys Creek - HUC 160202040302; 
 (v)  Emigration Creek - HUC 160202040303; 
 (vi)  City Creek - HUC 160202040304; and 
 (vii)  Red Butte Creek/Emigration Creek - HUC 
160202040306. 
 (s)  San Juan County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (t)  Sanpete County: 
 (i)  stocking is prohibited in the following areas west of the 
Manti Mountain Range divide: 
 (A)  Dry Creek/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040201; 
 (B)  Oak Creek/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040202; 
 (C)  Cottonwood Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 
160300040203; 
 (D)  Birch Creek/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040204; 
 (E)  Pleasant Creek - HUC 160300040205; 
 (F)  Dublin Wash/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040206; 
 (G)  Cedar Creek - HUC 160300040207; 
 (H)  Spring Hollow/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040208; 
 (I)  Upper Oak Creek - HUC 160300040302; 
 (J)  Petes Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040306; 
 (K)  Uinta Gulch - HUC 160202020201; 
 (L)  Upper Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020202; 
 (M)  Nebo Creek - HUC 160202020203; 
 (N)  Middle Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020204; 
 (O)  Dry Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040308; 
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 (P)  Maple Canyon/San Pitch River - HUC 160300040309; 
 (Q)  Gunnison Reservoir/San Pitch River - HUC 
160300040503; 
 (R)  Outlet San Pitch River - HUC 160300040505; 
 (S)  Beaver Creek - HUC 140700020201; 
 (T)  Box Canyon/Muddy Creek - HUC 140700020203; 
 (U)  Skumpah Creek-Salina Creek - HUC 160300030402; and 
 (V)  Headwaters Twelvemile Creek - HUC 160300040402. 
 (ii)  stocking is prohibited in any private fish pond above 7000 
feet in elevation east of the Manti Mountain Range divided. 
 (u)  Sevier County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Pole Creek (tributary to Clear Creek) - HUC 
160300030103; 
 (ii)  Salina Creek - HUC 160300030402; and 
 (iii)  U M Creek - HUC 140700030101. 
 (v)  Summit County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Bear River and all tributaries - HUC 16010101; 
 (ii)  Mill Creek and all tributaries - HUC 16010101; 
 (iii)  Muddy Creek and Van Tassel Creek - HUC 14040108; 
 (iv)  Little West Fork/Blacks Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (v)  Black Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (vi)  Archie Creek - HUC 14040107; 
 (vii)  West Fork Smiths Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (viii)  Gilbert Creek - HUC 14040107; 
 (ix)  East Fork Smiths Fork - HUC 14040107; 
 (x)  Dahalgreen Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xi)  Henrys Fork - HUC 14040106; 
 (xii)  Spring Creek and Poison Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xiii)  West Fork Beaver Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xiv)  Middle Fork Beaver Creek - HUC 14040106; 
 (xv)  Echo Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xvi)  Chalk Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xvii)  Silver Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xviii)  Weber River - HUC 16020101; 
 (xix)  Beaver Creek - HUC 16020101; 
 (xx)  Provo River - HUC 16020101; 
 (xxi)  Kimball Creek - HUC 160201020101; 
 (xxii)  Big Dutch Hollow/East Canyon Creek - HUC 
160201020103; 
 (xxiii)  Silver Creek - HUC 160201010403; and 
 (xxiv)  Toll Canyon/East Canyon Creek - HUC 160201020102. 
 (w)  Tooele County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Toms Creek - HUC 160203060201; 
 (ii)  Goshute Canyon - HUC 160203060202; 
 (iii)  Eightmile Wash - HUC 160203060203; 
 (iv)  Indian Farm Creek - HUC 160203060204; 
 (v)  Willow Spring Wash HUC 160203060205; 
 (vi)  Willow Canyon - HUC 160203080104; 
 (vii)  Bettridge Creek - HUC 160203080106; 
 (viii)  East Creek/East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060806; 
 (ix)  East Deep Creek - HUC 160203060807; 
 (x)  West Deep Creek - HUC 160203060808; 
 (xi)  Gullmette Gulch/Deep Creek - HUC 160203060902; 
 (xii)  Pony Express Canyon/Deep Creek - HUC 160203060904; 
 (xiii)  Badlands - HUC 160203060905; 
 (xiv)  White Sage Flat/Deep Creek - HUC 160203060907; 
 (xv)  Lower Fish Springs Wash - HUC 160203060403; 
 (xvi)  Fish Springs - HUC 160203060405; 

 (xvii)  Wilson Health Springs - HUC 160203060407; 
 (xviii)  East Government Creek - HUC 160203040101; 
 (xix)  Vernon Creek - HUC 160203040102; and 
 (xx)  Faust Creek - HUC 160203040105. 
 (x)  Uintah County - stocking is prohibited in any private fish 
pond above 7000 feet in elevation. 
 (y)  Utah County - stocking is prohibited in the following areas: 
 (i)  Starvation Creek - HUC 160202020101; 
 (ii)  Upper Soldier Creek - HUC 160202020102; 
 (iii)  Tie Fork - HUC 160202020103; 
 (iv)  Middle Soldier Creek - HUC 160202020105; 
 (v)  Lake Fork - HUC 160202020106; 
 (vi)  Lower Soldier Creek - HUC 160202020107; 
 (vii)  Upper Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020202; 
 (viii)  Nebo Creek - HUC 160202020203; 
 (ix)  Middle Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020204; 
 (x)  Lower Thistle Creek - HUC 160202020205; 
 (xi)  Sixth Water Creek - HUC 160202020301; 
 (xii)  Cottonwood Canyon - HUC 160202020302; 
 (xiii)  Fifth Water Creek - HUC160202020303; 
 (xiv)  Upper Diamond Fork - HUC 160202020304; 
 (xv)  Wanrhodes Canyon - HUC 160202020305; 
 (xvi)  Middle Diamond Fork - HUC 160202020306; 
 (xvii)  Lower Diamond Fork - HUC 160202020307; 
 (xviii)  Headwaters Left Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 
160202020401; 
 (xix)  Headwaters Right Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 
160202020402; 
 (xx)  Outlet Left Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 160202020403; 
 (xxi)  Outlet Right Fork Hobble Creek - HUC 160202020404; 
 (xxii)  Upper Spanish Fork Creek - HUC 160202020501; 
 (xxiii)  Middle Spanish Fork Creek - HUC 160202020502; 
 (xxiv)  Peteetneet Creek - HUC 160202020601; 
 (xxv)  Spring Creek - HUC 160202020602; 
 (xxvi)  Beer Creek - HUC 160202020603; 
 (xxvii)  Big Spring Hollow/South Fork Provo River - HUC 
160202030502; 
 (xxviii)  Pole Creek/Salt Creek - HUC 160202010104; 
 (xxix)  Middle American Fork Canyon - HUC 160202010802; 
 (xxx)  Mill Fork - HUC 160202020104; and 
 (xxxi)  Upper American Fork Canyon - HUC 160202010801. 
 (z)  Wasatch County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  Willow Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040101; 
 (ii)  Clyde Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040102; 
 (iii)  Indian Creek - HUC140600040104; 
 (iv)  Trout Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040105; 
 (v)  Soldier Creek/Strawberry River - HUC 140600040106; 
 (vi)  Willow Creek - HUC 140600040301; 
 (vii)  Current Creek Reservoir - HUC 140600040401; 
 (viii)  Little Red Creek - HUC 140600040402; 
 (ix)  Outlet Current Creek - HUC 140600040403; 
 (x)  Water Hollow/Current Creek - HUC 140600040404; 
 (xi)  Headwaters West Fork Duchesne River - HUC 
140600030101; 
 (xii)  Little South Fork Provo River - HUC 160202030201; 
 (xiii)  Bench Creek/Provo River - HUC160202030202; 
 (xiv)  Lady Long Hollow/Provo River - HUC 160202030203; 
 (xv)  Charcoal Canyon/Provo River - HUC 160202030204; 
 (xvi)  Drain Tunnel Creek - HUC 160202030301; 
 (xvii)  Lake Creek - HUC 160202030302; 
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 (xviii)  Center Creek - HUC 160202030303; 
 (xix)  Cottonwood Canyon/Provo River - HUC 160202030304; 
 (xx)  Snake Creek - HUC 160202030305; 
 (xxi)  Spring Creek/Provo River - HUC 160202030306; 
 (xxii)  Daniels Creek - HUC 160202030401; 
 (xxiii)  Upper Main Creek - HUC 160202030403; 
 (xxiv)  Lower Main Creek - HUC 160202030404; 
 (xxv)  Deer Creek Reservoir-Provo River - 
HUC160202030405; 
 (xxvi)  Provo Deer Creek - HUC 160202030501; 
 (xxvii)  Little Hobble Creek - HUC 160202030402; 
 (xxviii)  Mill Hollow/South Fork Provo River - HUC 
160202030104; and 
 (xxix)  Mud Creek - HUC 140600040103. 
 (aa)  Washington County - stocking is prohibited in the 
following areas: 
 (i)  Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405; 
 (ii)  Beaver Dam Wash - HUC 15010010; 
 (iii)  Laverkin Creek - HUC 150100080302; 
 (iv)  Leeds Creek - HUC 150100080906; 
 (v)  Baker Dam Reservoir/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080704; 
 (vi)  Tobin Wash - HUC 150100080802; 
 (vii)  Sand Cove Wash - HUC 150100080801; 
 (viii)  Manganese Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 
150100080804; 
 (ix)  Wittwer Canyon/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080808; 
 (x)  Cove Wash/Santa Clara River - HUC 150100080809; 
 (xi)  Moody Wash - HUC 150100080603; 
 (xii)  Upper Moody Wash - HUC 150100080602; 
 (xiii)  Magotsu Creek - HUC 150100080704; 
 (xiv)  South Ash Creek - HUC 150100080405)  ; 
 (xv)  Water Canyon - HUC 150100080701)  ; 
 (xvi)  Chinatown Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xvii)  Lower Gould Wash - HUC 150100080508; 
 (xviii)  Grapevine Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080903; 
 (xix)  Cottonwood Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080909; 
 (xx)  Middleton Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080910; 
 (xxi)  Lower Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 150100080605; 
 (xxii)  Atkinville Wash - HUC 150100080303; 
 (xxiii)  Lizard Wash - HUC 150100080302; 
 (xxiv)  Val Wash/Virgin River - HUC 150100080307; 
 (xxv)  Bulldog Canyon - HUC 150100080310; and 
 (xxvi)  Fort Pierce Wash - HUC 15010009. 
 (bb)  Wayne County - no areas closed to stocking fertile 
rainbow trout. 
 (cc)  Weber County - stocking is prohibited in the following 
areas: 
 (i)  North Fork Ogden River - HUC 16020102; 
 (ii)  Middle Fork Ogden River and Gertsen Creek - HUC 
16020102; and 
 (iii)  South Fork Ogden River and Gertsen Creek - HUC 
16020102. 
 
R657-59-17.  Division Authority to Restrict Private Fish Ponds. 
 (1)(a)  Stocking and maintaining aquaculture products in 
private fish ponds pursuant to this rule is a conditional privilege that 
is subject to unilateral modification or termination by the division or 
other competent legal authority. 
 (b)  Those who establish and maintain private fish ponds under 
this rule do so with the understanding that the laws and regulations 

governing private fish ponds are subject to change and that such 
changes may require: 
 (i)  discontinuation of stocking particular species, strains, or 
reproductive capabilities of aquaculture product in the pond; 
 (ii)  partial or complete depopulation of the aquaculture product 
in the pond; 
 (iii)  modifications in screen requirements and other structural 
elements associated with the pond; or 
 (iv)  new restrictions and requirements in connection with 
operating the pond and maintaining the aquaculture product within 
it. 
 (2)  The division may unilaterally restrict a private fish pond 
operating with or without a certificate of registration or exemption 
certificate from receiving or possessing particular species, strains 
and reproductive capabilities of aquaculture product previously 
authorized when stocking or continued possession of the product in 
the pond: 
 (a)  violates any federal, state or local law or any agreement 
between the state and another party; 
 (b)  negatively impacts native wildlife species listed by the 
division as sensitive or by the federal government as threatened or 
endangered; 
 (c)  poses an identifiable adverse threat to other wildlife species 
or their habitat; or 
 (d)  poses an identifiable adverse impact to the division's game 
fish stocking regimes or wildlife management objectives. 
 (3)  Any costs or losses incurred as the result of future 
modifications to this rule or the operational status of a private fish 
pond made pursuant to this section, including terminations and 
depopulations, shall be borne exclusively by the owner, lessee or 
operator of the private fish pond. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, aquaculture, fish 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 27, 
2008 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 23-15-9; 23-
15-10 
 

  
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-60 
Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  31624 
FILED:  06/26/2008, 10:12 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
purpose of this rule is to define procedures and regulations to 
prevent and control the spread of aquatic invasive species 
within the State of Utah. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule sets the guidelines 
and regulations designed to prevent and control the spread of 
Dreissena mussels in Utah.  (DAR NOTE:  A corresponding 
proposed new Rule R657-60 is under DAR No. 31623 in this 
issue, July 15, 2008, of the Bulletin.) 
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STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-27-401, 23-14-18, and 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 

  THE STATE BUDGET:  DWR determines that these 
amendments do create a cost impact to the state budget or 
DWR's budget. The 2008 Utah Legislative Session 
appropriated $2,500,000 to aid in the implementation costs 
associated with this rule. 

  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not create any direct 
cost or savings impact to local governments because they are 
not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local governments 
indirectly impacted because the rule does not create a 
situation requiring services from local governments. 

  SMALL BUSINESSES AND PERSONS OTHER THAN BUSINESSES:  
This rule may create a cost impact to boat owners and other 
water enthusiasts in Utah in that if Dreissena Mussels are 
found in Utah the cost to decontaminate boats and other 
conveyances will be at the expense of the owner. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR determines 
that this rule may create a cost impact to individuals who own 
water vessels and boat in infested waters because they would 
be required to decontaminate the conveyance. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses.  Michael R. Styler, 
Executive Director 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD cause an imminent peril to the 
public health, safety, or welfare. 
Dreissena mussels, specifically Quagga and Zebra mussels, 
are invasive aquatic wildlife species from the European 
continent.  The two species became established in the 
Eastern United States a decade ago by transatlantic ocean 
liners taking on ballast water in European ports and then 
discharging the water in North American ports.  Since then the 
species have spread throughout the Mississippi River basin 
causing millions of dollars in damage each year to 
hydroelectric facilities, heavy industry, irrigation companies, 
and wild fisheries.  The mussels attach to solid objects in the 
water and colonize by building layer upon layer of shells.  
Their prolific reproduction and colonization characteristics plug 
water lines in reservoirs, hydroelectric plants, industrial 
facilities, boat engines, irrigation systems, etc.  The mussels 
spread from one water to another primarily by attaching to 
boats.  Last year, lower Colorado River reservoirs, such as 
Lake Mead and Lake Havasu, were found infested with 
Quagga mussels.  Many recreationists that boat in these 
waters also boat in Utah waters which presents an imminent 
threat to Utah's industrial and agricultural infrastructure that 
uses and transports water through pipeline.  S.B. 238 was 
passed into law during the 2008 General Legislative Session 
which makes it unlawful to transport a boat from an infested 
water without first decontaminating it and gives the state 
specialized interdiction tools to prevent the spread of the 
mussels into Utah waters.  S.B. 238 charges the Division of 
Wildlife Resources (DWR) to promulgate administrative rules 
designating the waters that are considered infested for 

purposes of boat decontamination and to establish 
decontamination requirements and procedures.  Without these 
regulatory components in rule, S.B. 238 is largely 
unenforceable.  Given the recreational boat traffic between 
Lower Colorado River waters and Utah waters, the threat of 
Quagga mussels spreading to Utah is imminent without the 
rule's interdiction elements that give S.B. 238 traction to move 
forward and fulfill its purpose.  Emergency rulemaking is 
necessary to effectively protect Utah waters from Quagga 
mussel infestation and the imminent peril infestation presents 
to public health, safety, and welfare.  (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 238 
(2008) is found at Chapter 284, Laws of Utah 2008, and was 
effective 05/05/2008.) 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

 
DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Staci Coons at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4718, 
by FAX at 801-538-4709, or by Internet E-mail at 
stacicoons@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  06/27/2008 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  James F Karpowitz, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-60.  Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction. 
R657-60-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to define procedures and 
regulations designed to prevent and control the spread of aquatic 
invasive species within the State of Utah. 
 (2)  This rule is promulgated pursuant to authority granted to 
the Wildlife Board in Sections 23-27-401, 23-14-18, and 23-14-19. 
 
R657-60-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2 and 
23-27-101. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Conveyance" means a terrestrial or aquatic vehicle, 
including a vessel, or a vehicle part that may carry or contain a 
Dreissena mussel. 
 (b)  "Decontaminate" means to: 
 (i)  Self-decontaminate equipment or a conveyance that has 
been in an infested water in the previous 30 days by: 
 (A)  removing all plants, fish, mussels and mud from the 
equipment or conveyance; 
 (B)  draining all water from the equipment or conveyance, 
including water held in ballast tanks, bilges, livewells, and motors; 
and 
 (C)  drying the equipment or conveyance for no less than 7 
days in June, July and August;18 days in September, October, 
November, March, April and May; 30 days in December, January 
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and February; or expose the equipment or conveyance to sub-
freezing temperatures for 72 consecutive hours; or 
 (ii)  Professionally decontaminate equipment or a conveyance 
that has been in an infested water in the previous 30 days by: 
 (A)  Using a professional decontamination service approved by 
the division to apply scalding water (140 degrees Fahrenheit) to 
completely wash the equipment or conveyance and flush any areas 
where water is held, including ballast tanks, bilges, livewells, and 
motors. 
 (c)  "Dreissena mussel" means a mussel of the genus Dreissena 
at any life stage, including a zebra mussel, a quagga mussel and a 
Conrad's false mussel. 
 (d)  "Controlling entity" means the owner, operator, or manager 
of a water body, facility, or a water supply system. 
 (e)  "Equipment" means an article, tool, implement, or device 
capable of carrying or containing water or Dreissena mussel. 
 (f)  "Facility" means a structure that is located within or 
adjacent to a water body 
 (g)  "Infested water" includes all the following: 
 (i)  lower Colorado River between Lake Mead and the Gulf of 
California; 
 (ii)  Lake Mead in Nevada and Arizona; 
 (iii)  Lake Mohave in Nevada and Arizona; 
 (iv)  Lake Havasu in California and Arizona; 
 (v)  Lake Pueblo in Colorado; 
 (vi)  Lake Pleasant in Arizona; 
 (vii)  San Justo Reservoir in California; 
 (viii)  Southern California inland waters in Orange, Riverside, 
San Diego, Imperial, and San  Bernardino counties; 
 (ix)  coastal and inland waters east of the100th Meridian in 
North America; and 
 (x)  other waters established by the Wildlife Board and 
published on the DWR website. 
 (h)  "Vessel" means every type of watercraft used or capable of 
being used as a means of transportation on water. 
 (i)  "Water body" means natural or impounded surface water, 
including a stream, river, spring, lake, reservoir, pond, wetland, tank, 
and fountain. 
 (j)  "Water supply system" means a system that treats, conveys, 
or distributes water for irrigation, industrial, wastewater treatment, 
or culinary use, including a pump, canal, ditch or, pipeline. 
 (i)  "Water supply system" does not included a water body. 
 
R657-60-3.  Possession of Dreissena Mussels. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Subsections R657-60-3(2) and R657-
60-5(2), a person may not possess, import, ship, or transport any 
Dreissena mussel. 
 (2)  Dreissena mussels may be imported into and possessed 
within the state of Utah with prior written approval of the Director 
of the Division of Wildlife Resources or a designee. 
 
R657-60-4.  Reporting of Invasive Species Required. 
 (1)  A person who discovers a Dreissena mussel within this 
state or has reason to believe a Dreissena mussel may exist at a 
specific location shall immediately report the discovery to the 
division. 
 (2)  The report shall include the following information: 
 (a)  location of the Driessena mussels; 
 (b)  date of discovery; 
 (c)  identification of any conveyance or equipment in which 
mussels may be held or attached; and 

 (d)  identification of the reporting party with their contact 
information. 
 (3)  The report shall be made in person or in writing: 
 (a)  at any division regional or headquarters office or; 
 (b)  to the division's toll free hotline at 1-800-662-3337; or 
 (c)  on the division's website at 
www.wildlife.utah.gov/law/hsp/pf.php. 
 
R657-60-5.  Transportation of Equipment and Conveyances 
That Have Been in Infested Waters. 
 (1)  The owner, operator, or possessor of any equipment or 
conveyance that has been in an infested water shall: 
 (a)  immediately drain all water from the equipment or 
conveyance at the take out site, including water held in ballast tanks, 
bilges, livewells, motors, and other areas of containment; and 
 (b)  immediately inspect the interior and exterior of the 
equipment or conveyance at the take out site for the presence of 
Dreissena mussels. 
 (2)  If all water in the equipment or conveyance is drained and 
the inspection undertaken pursuant to Subsection (1)(b) reveals the 
equipment and conveyance are free from mussels or shelled 
organisms, fish, plants and mud, the equipment and conveyance may 
be transported in or through the state directly from the take out site 
to the location where it will be: 
 (a)  professionally decontaminated; or 
 (b)  stored and self-decontaminated. 
 (3)  If all the water in the equipment or conveyance is not 
drained or the inspection undertaken pursuant to Subsection (1)(b) 
reveals the equipment or conveyance has attached mussels or shelled 
organisms, fish, plants, or mud, the equipment and conveyance shall 
not be moved from the take out site until the division is contacted 
and written or electronic authorization received to move the 
equipment or conveyance to a designated location for professional 
decontamination. 
 (4)  A person shall not place any equipment or conveyance that 
has been in an infested water in the previous 30 days into any other 
water body or water supply system in the state without first 
decontaminating the equipment or conveyance. 
 
R657-60-6.  Certification of Decontamination. 
 (1)  The owner, operator or possessor of a vessel desiring to 
launch on a water body in Utah must: 
 (a)  verify the vessel and any launching device have not been in 
an infested water in the previous 30 days; or 
 (b)  certify the vessel and launching device have been 
decontaminated. 
 (2)  Certification of decontamination is satisfied by: 
 (a)  previously completing self-decontamination since the 
vessel and launching device were last in an infested water and 
completely filling out and dating a decontamination certification 
form which can be obtained from the division; or 
 (b)  providing a signed and dated certificate by a division 
approved professional decontamination service verifying the vessel 
and launching device were professionally decontaminated since the 
vessel and launching device were last in an infested water. 
 (3)  Both the decontamination certification form and the 
professional decontamination certificate, where applicable, must be 
signed and placed in open view in the window of the launching 
vehicle prior to launching or placing the vessel in a body of water. 
 (4)  It is unlawful under Section 76-8-504 to knowing falsify a 
decontamination certification form. 
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R657-60-7.  Wildlife Board Designations of Infested Waters. 
 (1)  The Wildlife Board may designate a geographic area, water 
body, facility, or water supply system as infested with Dreissena 
mussels pursuant to Section 23-27-102 and 23-27-401 without 
taking the proposal to or receiving recommendations from the 
regional advisory councils. 
 
R657-60-8.  Closure Order for a Water Body, Facility, or Water 
Supply System. 
 (1)(a)  If the division detects or suspects a Dreissena mussel is 
present in a water body, facility, or water supply system, the division 
director or designee may, with the concurrence of the executive 
director, issue an order closing the water body, facility, or water 
supply system to the introduction or removal of conveyances or 
equipment. 
 (b)  The director shall consult with the controlling entity of the 
water body, facility, or water supply system when determining the 
scope, duration, level and type of closure that will be imposed in 
order to avoid or minimize disruption of economic and recreational 
activities. 
 (2)(a)  A closure order issued pursuant to Subsection (1)  shall 
be in writing and identify the: 
 (i)  water body, facility, or water supply system subject to the 
closure order; 
 (ii)  nature and scope of the closure or restrictions; 
 (iii)  reasons for the closure or restrictions; 
 (iv)  conditions upon which the order may be terminated or 
modified; and 
 (v)  sources for receiving updated information on the status of 
infestation and closure order. 
 (b)  The closure order shall be mailed, electronically 
transmitted, or hand delivered to: 
 (i)   the controlling entity of the water body, facility, or water 
supply system; and 
 (ii)  any governmental agency or private entity known to have 
economic, political, or recreational interests significantly impacted 
by the closure order; and 
 (iii)  any person or entity requesting a copy of the order. 
 (c)  The closure order or its substance shall further be: 
 (i)  posted on the division's web page; and 
 (ii)  published in a newspaper of general circulation in the state 
of Utah or the affected area. 
 (3)  If a closure order lasts longer than seven days, the division 
shall provide the controlling entity and post on its web page a 
written update every 10 days on its efforts to address the Dreissena 
mussel infestation. 
 (a)  The 10 day update notice cycle will continue for the 
duration of the closure order. 
 (4)(a)  Notwithstanding the closure authority in Subsection (1), 
the division may not unilaterally close or restrict a water supply 
system infested with Dreissena mussels where the controlling entity 
has prepared and implemented a control plan in cooperation with the 
division that effectively eradicates or controls the spread of 
Dreissena mussels from the water supply system. 
 (b)  The control plan shall comply with the requirements in 
R657-60-9. 
 
R657-60-9.  Control Plan Required 
 (1)  The controlling entity of a water body, facility, or water 
supply system may develop and implement a control plan in 
cooperation with the division prior to infestation designed to: 

 (a)  avoid the infestation of Dreissena mussels; and 
 (b)  control or eradicate an infestation of Dreissena mussels that 
might occur in the future. 
 (2)  A pre-infestation control plan developed consistent with the 
requirements in Subsection (3) and approved by the division will 
eliminate or minimize the duration and impact of a closure order 
issued pursuant to Section 23-27-303 and R657-60-8. 
 (3)  Upon detection of a Dreissena mussel and issuance of a 
division closure order involving a water body, facility, or water 
supply system without an approved control plan, the controlling 
entity shall cooperate with the division in developing and 
implementing a control plan to address the: 
 (a)  scope and extent of the infestation; 
 (b)  actions proposed to control the pathways of spread of the 
infestation; 
 (c)  actions proposed to control or eradicate the infestation; 
 (d)  methods to decontaminate the water body, facility, or water 
supply system, if possible; 
 (e)  actions required to systematically monitor the level and 
extent of the infestation; and 
 (f)  requirements and methods to update and revise the plan 
with scientific advances. 
 (4)  Any post-infestation control plan prepared pursuant to 
Subsection (3)  shall be approved by the Division before 
implementation. 
 
R657-60-10.  Procedure for Establishing a Memorandum of 
Understanding with the Utah Department of Transportation. 
 (1)  The division director or designee shall negotiate an 
agreement with the Utah Department of Transportation for use of 
ports of entry for detection and interdiction of Dreissena Mussels 
illegally transported into and within the state. Both the Division of 
Wildlife Resources and the Department of Transportation must 
agree upon all aspects of Dreissena Mussel interdiction at ports of 
entry. 
 (2)  The Memorandum shall include the following: 
 (a)  methods and protocols for reimbursing the department for 
costs associated with Dreissena Mussel interdiction; 
 (b)  identification of ports of entry suitable for interdiction 
operations; 
 (c)  identification of locations at a specific port of entry suitable 
for interdiction operations; 
 (d)  methods and protocols for disposing of wastewater 
associated with decontamination of equipment and conveyances; 
 (e)  dates and time periods suitable for interdiction efforts at 
specific ports of entry; 
 (f)  signage notifying motorists of the vehicles that must stop at 
the port of entry for inspection; 
 (g)  priorities of use during congested periods between the 
department's port responsibilities and the division's interdiction 
activities; 
 (h)  methods for determining the length, location and dates of 
interdiction; 
 (i)  training responsibilities for personnel involved in 
interdiction activities; and 
 (j)  methods for division regional personnel to establish 
interdiction efforts at ports within each region. 
 
R657-60-11.  Penalty for Violation. 
 A violation of any provision of this rule is punishable as 
provided in Section 23-13-11. 
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KEY:  fish, wildlife, wildlife law 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 27, 
2008 
 
 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 23-27-401; 
23-14-18; 23-14-19 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
  
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-630 
Unsupervised Children 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  31601 

FILED:  06/20/2008, 13:20 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 63-11-17 allows the 
board to make rules for the governing of the state park system 
and for public safety issues as well.  This rule prohibits 
children under the age of 16 to go unsupervised in the state 
park system. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  For safety reasons for 
children under the age of 16 who could be lost or could be 
hurt and for those children under the age of 16 who could be 
creating mischief or damage to natural and cultural resources, 
this rule should be continued to define that any child under the 
age of 16 must be supervised. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Forbes, Deputy Director (Legislation) 
 
EFFECTIVE:  06/20/2008 
 

  
 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards 

and Training 

R728-501 
Career Development Courses 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  31648 

FILED:  07/01/2008, 15:08 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is authorized by 
Subsection 53-6-105(k) which gives authority to the director to 
make rules for Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST). 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  There have been no 
written comments submitted to POST in the last five years in 
support or opposition to this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule outlines career 
development courses and requirements that are beyond the 
basic training provided by POST.  These courses allow 
officers to enhance their careers and prepare them for 
management positions.  This rule outlines the available 
courses, and minimum requirements to pass off the courses.  
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This rule is important for POST to provide these courses to all 
agencies.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING 
410 W 9800 S 
SANDY UT 84070, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Steve Winward at the above address, by phone at 801-256-
2326, by FAX at 801-256-0600, or by Internet E-mail at 
swinward@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Scott T Duncan, Commissioner 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/01/2008 
 

  
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-110 
Uncontested Matters to be Adjudicated 

Informally 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  31620 
FILED:  06/24/2008, 16:07 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 54-4-1 gives the 
Public Service Commission (PSC) general jurisdiction to 
regulate every public utility in Utah and to supervise all of the 
business of every such public utility in Utah, and to do all 
things necessary or convenient in the exercise of that power 
and jurisdiction.  Section 63-46b-5 requires the PSC to enact 
rules designating one or more categories of adjudicative 
proceedings as informal adjudicative proceedings, and to, by 
rule, prescribe procedures for informal adjudicative 
proceedings. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments were 
received since the last five-year review. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued so the PSC can continue to comply with Sections 
54-4-1 and 63G-4-203. 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sheri Bintz at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6714, 
by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
sbintz@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Sandy Mooy, Legal Counsel 
 
EFFECTIVE:  06/24/2008 
 

  
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-210 
Utility Service Rules Applicable Only to 

Electric Utilities 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  31617 
FILED:  06/24/2008, 15:26 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Sections 113 and 115 of the 
Public Utility Regulatory Policy Act (PURPA) 16 USCA 
standards for Master Metered Multiple Tenancy Dwellings 
make it necessary for the Public Service Commission (PSC) 
to set the standards and exemptions in this rule.  Sections 54-
4-1 and 54-3-1 direct the Commission and utilities to provide 
"just and reasonable service" which includes reduction of 
periodic variations in demand and encouraging conservation 
of resources and energy. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been 
received in the last five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The standards in this rule, 
for master metered multiple tenancy dwellings, continue to be 
relevant and necessary to the Commission's duty to supervise 
and regulate electric utility companies in Utah so the rule 
should be continued. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sheri Bintz at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6714, 
by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
sbintz@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Sandy Mooy, Legal Counsel 
 
EFFECTIVE:  06/24/2008 
 

  
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-240 
Telecommunication Service Rules 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  31619 

FILED:  06/24/2008, 15:33 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 54-4-1 authorizes the 
Public Service Commission (PSC) to regulate every public 
utility in Utah and supervise the business of those public 
utilities necessary to accomplish that regulation and 
supervision.  Section 54-4-7 requires that the PSC provide 
rules to ensure that utility service and equipment is just, safe, 
proper, and adequate. Subsection 54-4-18(10) states that, 
"the commission may promulgate rules: (a) necessary to 
implement this section; (b) consistent with any rules 
promulgated by the Federal Communications Commission; 
and (c) in a nondiscriminatory and competitively neutral 
manner."  Subsection 54-4-37(23) states, "The commission is 
granted authority to: (a) enforce this section; and (b) 
implement rules to carry out the requirements of the section." 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  In November 2003, the 
Division of Public Utilities (DUP) made the comment that the 
rule should be amended to provide specific guidelines as to 
what would be considered in commission approval of a 
customer statement.  The recommendation by DUP was made 
that the rule be amended to include certain basic 
specifications that must be contained in each company's 
statement in order to be approved by the PSC.  The comment 

was taken under consideration, but no rule amendment was 
made by the PSC in order to allow each utility to fashion their 
customer statements to each company's possible unique 
circumstances. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule remains necessary 
to provide guidelines for telecommunication service and 
resolution of customer complaints and should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sheri Bintz at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6714, 
by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
sbintz@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Sandy Mooy, Legal Counsel 
 
EFFECTIVE:  06/24/2008 
 

  
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-340 
Service Quality for Telecommunications 

Corporations 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  31618 
FILED:  06/24/2008, 15:28 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 54-4-1 gives the 
Public Service Commission (PSC) general jurisdiction to 
regulate every public utility in Utah and to supervise all of the 
business of every such public utility in Utah, and to do all 
things necessary or convenient in the exercise of that power 
and jurisdiction.  Section 54-4-14 authorizes the PSC to make 
rules that require every public utility to construct, maintain, 
and operate its line, plant, system, equipment, apparatus, 
tracks and premises that promote and safeguard the health 
and safety of its employees, customers, and the public, and 
the installation, use, maintenance, and operation of 
appropriate safety or other devices or appliances and to 
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establish standards of construction and equipment, and to 
require the performance of any other acts which the health or 
safety of its employees, customers, or the public may 
demand.  Section 54-4-23 authorizes the PSC to establish a 
system of accounts to be kept by public utilities subject to its 
jurisdiction and to determine the manner in which such 
accounts shall be kept.  It may also, in its discretion, prescribe 
the forms of accounts, records, and memoranda to be kept by 
such public utilities and any forms, records, and memoranda 
which in the judgment of the commission may be necessary to 
comply with the provisions of this section. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments were 
received in the last five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule continues to be 
necessary to ensure that adequate and satisfactory service 

will be rendered to the public by telecommunications utilities 
under the jurisdiction of the PSC and should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sheri Bintz at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6714, 
by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
sbintz@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Sandy Mooy, Legal Counsel 
 
EFFECTIVE:  06/24/2008 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  Statute permits an agency to make a rule effective "on any date specified by the agency that 
is no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period . . . , nor more than 120 days after 
the publication date."  Subsection 63G-3-301(9).  
 
 

Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Administrative Services 

Finance 
No. 31320 (AMD): R25-7.  Travel-Related 
Reimbursements for State Employees. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31321 (AMD): R25-8.  Meal Allowance. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 

Risk Management 
No. 31347 (AMD): R37-2.  Risk Management State 
Workers' Compensation Insurance Administration. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 23, 2008 
 
No. 31150 (R&R): R37-4.  Adjusted Utah Governmental 
Immunity Act Limitations on Judgments. 
Published:  May 1, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
 

Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Administration 

No. 31254 (AMD): R81-1-2.  Definitions. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31273 (AMD): R81-1-9.  Liquor Dispensing Systems. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31275 (AMD): R81-1-10.  Wine Dispensing. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31279 (AMD): R81-1-11.  Multiple-Licensed Facility 
Storage and Service. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 

No. 31289 (AMD): R81-1-26.  Criminal History 
Background Checks. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
No. 31291 (AMD): R81-3-1.  Definitions. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31328 (AMD): R81-3-9.  Promotion and Listing of 
Products. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31329 (AMD): R81-3-13.  Operational Restrictions. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31330 (AMD): R81-3-14.  Type 5 Package Agencies. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31287 (AMD): R81-5-11.  Price Lists. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31332 (AMD): R81-7-1.  Application Guidelines. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
No. 31334 (NEW): R81-10.  Off-Premise Beer Retailers. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
 

Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 

No. 31288 (AMD): R156-1.  General Rules of the 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 23, 2008 
 
No. 31156 (AMD): R156-31b.  Nurse Practice Act Rules. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 23, 2008 
 
No. 31292 (AMD): R156-55a.  Utah Construction Trades 
Licensing Act Rule. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 24, 2008 
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No. 31139 (AMD): R156-56.  Utah Uniform Building 
Standard Act Rules. 
Published:  May 1, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31142 (AMD): R156-56-701.  Specific Editions of 
Uniform Building Standards. 
Published:  May 1, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 

Real Estate 
No. 31277 (AMD): R162-9.  Continuing Education. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 23, 2008 
 
No. 31278 (AMD): R162-208.  Continuing Education. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 23, 2008 
 
 

Community and Culture 
History 

No. 31290 (R&R): R212-4.  Archaeological Permits. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 25, 2008 
 
 

Health 
Children's Health Insurance Program 

No. 31357 (AMD): R382-10.  Eligibility. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 

Community and Family Health Services, Children with 
Special Health Care Needs 

No. 31350 (AMD): R398-1.  Newborn Screening. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 25, 2008 
 

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement 
Policy 

No. 31359 (AMD): R414-1-5.  State Plan. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31360 (AMD): R414-27.  Medicare Nursing Home 
Certification. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31135 (R&R): R414-40.  Nursing Service. 
Published:  May 1, 2008 
Effective:  June 23, 2008 
 
No. 31356 (AMD): R414-310.  Medicaid Primary Care 
Network Demonstration Waiver. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31358 (AMD): R414-320.  Medicaid Health 
Insurance Flexibility and Accountability Demonstration 

Waiver. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31362 (AMD): R414-504.  Nursing Facility 
Payments. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31361 (NEW): R414-508.  Requirements for Transfer 
of Bed Licenses. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical 
Services 

No. 30954 (AMD): R426-15-203.  Vehicle Supply 
Requirements. 
Published:  March 1, 2008 
Effective:  June 24, 2008 
 
 

Human Resource Management 
Administration 

No. 31186 (AMD): R477-1.  Definitions. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31187 (AMD): R477-2.  Administration. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31188 (AMD): R477-3.  Classification. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31189 (AMD): R477-4.  Filling Positions. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31190 (AMD): R477-5.  Employee Status and 
Probation. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31191 (AMD): R477-6.  Compensation. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31192 (AMD): R477-7.  Leave. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31193 (AMD): R477-8.  Working Conditions. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31194 (AMD): R477-9.  Employee Conduct. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
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No. 31195 (AMD): R477-10.  Employee Development. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31209 (AMD): R477-11.  Discipline. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31210 (AMD): R477-12.  Separations. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31208 (AMD): R477-15.  Unlawful Harassment 
Policy and Procedure. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
 

Human Services 
Recovery Services 

No. 31152 (NEW): R527-260.  Driver License 
Suspension for Failure to Pay Support. 
Published:  May 1, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
No. 31163 (AMD): R527-302.  Income Withholding Fees. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 25, 2008 
 
No. 31162 (AMD): R527-475.  State Tax Refund 
Intercept. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 25, 2008 
 
No. 31159 (NEW): R527-920.  Mandatory Disbursement 
to Obligee through Electronic Funds Transfer. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 
 

Insurance 
Administration 

No. 31335 (NEW): R590-247.  Universal Individual 
Health Insurance Application Rule. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 30, 2008 
 
 

Labor Commission 
Industrial Accidents 

No. 31333 (AMD): R612-2-5.  Regulation of Medical 
Practitioner Fees. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 
 

Tax Commission 
Auditing 

No. 31258 (AMD): R865-19S-105.  Procedures for 
Refund of Sales and Use Taxes Paid on Food Donated 
to a Qualified Emergency Food Agency Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 59-12-902. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  July 1, 2008 
 

Motor Vehicle 
No. 31264 (AMD): R873-22M-41.  Issuance of Salvage 
Certificate in Certain Circumstances Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 41-1a-1005. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
 

Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
No. 31255 (AMD): R877-23V-19.  Disclosure of Vehicles 
Initially Delivered for Sale in a Country Other than the 
United States Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-
1a-712. 
Published:  May 15, 2008 
Effective:  June 27, 2008 
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RULES INDEX 
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 

AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)  

 
The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 2, 2008, including notices of effective date received through July 1, 
2008, the effective dates of which are no later than July 15, 2008.  The Rules Index is published in the Utah State 
Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the Bulletin, do 
become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) 
rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and Keyword 
(Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  The index may contain inaccurate page number references.  Also the index is incomplete in the sense 
that index entries for Changes in Proposed Rules (CPRs) are not preceded by entries for their parent Proposed 
Rules.  Bulletin issue information and effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our 
knowledge, complete and accurate.  If you have any questions regarding the index and the information it contains, 
please contact Nancy Lancaster (801-538-3218), Mike Broschinsky (801-538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801-
538-3777). 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
 
 
 
 
 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  

 
 
 
CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Administrative Services 

Administration 
R13-1 Public Petitions for Declaratory Orders 31342 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R13-2 Access to Records 31343 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Administrative Rules 
R15-1 Administrative Rule Hearings 31143 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R15-2 Public Petitioning for Rulemaking 31144 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R15-3 Definitional Clarification of Administrative Rule 31145 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R15-4 Administrative Rulemaking Procedures 31146 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R15-5 Administrative Rules Adjudicative Proceedings 31147 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Facilities Construction and Management 
R23-13 State of Utah Parking Rules for Facilities 

Managed by the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31063 5YR 03/17/2008 2008-8/50  
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

R23-14 Management of Roofs on State Buildings 31064 5YR 03/17/2008 2008-8/50  

R23-22 General Procedures For Acquisition and 
Selling of Real Property 

31607 EMR 06/25/2008 2008-14/122  

Finance 
R25-2 Finance Adjudicative Proceedings 31318 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R25-5 Payment of Per Diem to Boards 31317 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

R25-6 Relocation Reimbursement 31316 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

R25-7 Travel-Related Reimbursements for State 
Employees 

31319 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/144  

R25-7 Travel-Related Reimbursements for State 
Employees 

31320 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/4  

R25-8 Meal Allowance 31321 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/7  

R25-14 Payment of Attorneys' Fees in Death Penalty 
Cases 

31363 EMR 05/05/2008 2008-10/140  

Fleet Operations 
R27-3 Vehicle Use Standards 31137 AMD 06/17/2008 2008-9/3  

R27-4 Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State 
Fleet 

30618 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-22/9  

Fleet Operations, Surplus Property 
R28-3 Utah State Agency for Surplus Property 

Adjudicative Proceedings 
31117 5YR 04/04/2008 2008-9/52  

Purchasing and General Services 
R33-1 Utah State Procurement Rules Definitions 31477 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R33-2-101  Delegation of Authority of the Chief 
Procurement Officer 

31478 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R33-3 Source Selection and Contract Formation 31479 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R33-4 Specifications 31480 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R33-5 Construction and Architect-Engineer Selection 31481 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R33-7 Cost Principles 31482 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R33-8-101  Quality Assurance, Inspection, and Testing 31483 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

Risk Management 
R37-2 Risk Management State Workers' 

Compensation Insurance Administration 
31347 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/8  

R37-4 Adjusted Utah Governmental Immunity Act 
Limitations on Judgments 

31150 R&R 07/01/2008 2008-9/5  

 
Agriculture and Food 

Conservation and Resource Management 
R64-2 Utah Conservation Commission Electronic 

Meetings 
31079 NEW 06/03/2008 2008-8/4  

Marketing and Development 
R65-2 Utah Cherry Marketing Order 31007 5YR 02/15/2008 2008-5/38  

R65-5 Utah Red Tart and Sour Cherry Marketing 
Order 

31008 5YR 02/15/2008 2008-5/38  

Plant Industry 
R68-5 Grain Inspection 31006 5YR 02/15/2008 2008-5/39  

R68-7 Utah Pesticide Control Act 30611 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-22/11  

R68-8-2  Noxious Weed Seeds and Weed Seed 
Restrictions 

31127 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-9/7  

R68-9 Utah Noxious Weed Act 31544 5YR 06/09/2008 2008-13/147  

R68-9 Utah Noxious Weed Act 31128 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-9/8  

R68-14 Quarantine Pertaining to Gypsy Moth - 
Lymantria Dispar 

31125 5YR 04/04/2008 2008-9/52  
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

R68-16 Utah Quarantine Pertaining to Pine Shoot 
Beetle, Tomicus Piniperda 

31543 5YR 06/09/2008 2008-13/147  

R68-16 Quarantine Pertaining to Pine Shoot Beetle, 
Tomicus piniperda 

31126 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-9/11  

R68-17 Quarantine Pertaining to Necrotic Strain of the 
Potato Virus Y 

31009 REP 04/11/2008 2008-5/4  

 
Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Administration 
R81-1-2  Definitions 31254 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/10  

R81-1-9  Liquor Dispensing Systems 31273 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/11  

R81-1-10  Wine Dispensing 31275 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/13  

R81-1-11  Multiple-Licensed Facility Storage and Service 31279 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/14  

R81-1-26  Criminal History Background Checks 31289 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/16  

R81-3-1  Definitions 31291 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/18  

R81-3-9  Promotion and Listing of Products 31328 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/19  

R81-3-13  Operational Restrictions 31329 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/20  

R81-3-14  Type 5 Package Agencies 31330 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/21  

R81-4C Limited Restaurant Licenses 31154 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R81-4D On-Premise Banquet License 31155 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R81-5-11  Price Lists 31287 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/25  

R81-7-1  Application Guidelines 31332 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/26  

R81-10 Off-Premise Beer Retailers 31334 NEW 06/27/2008 2008-10/27  

 
Auditor 

Administration 
R123-3-1  Definitions 31257 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R123-3-2  Designation 31260 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R123-3-3  Adjudicative Proceedings 31261 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R123-4-1  Authority 31262 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R123-4-2  Definitions 31263 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R123-4-5  Intervention 31265 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R123-4-6  Petition Review and Disposition 31266 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R123-4-7  Administrative Review 31267 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
Capitol Preservation Board (State) 

Administration 
R131-1 Procurement of Architectural and Engineering 

Services 
30591 AMD 02/29/2008 2007-21/11  

R131-4 Procurement of Construction 30590 R&R 02/29/2008 2007-21/13  

 
Career Service Review Board 

Administration 
R137-2 Government Records Access and 

Management Act 
31473 5YR 05/21/2008 2008-12/50  

 
Commerce 

Administration 
R151-2 Government Records Access and 

Management Act Rule 
31345 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R151-2-4  Forms 31385 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/49  

R151-3-1  Authority and Purpose 31346 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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R151-14-3  Adjudicative Proceedings 31354 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R151-35-3  Adjudicative Proceedings 31355 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Consumer Protection 
R152-1 Utah Division of Consumer Protection: "Buyer 

Beware List" 
31184 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R152-11 Utah Consumer Sales Practices Act Rules 31213 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R152-15-2  Filing Requirements. Filing Fees 31214 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R152-20 New Motor Vehicle Warranties Rules 31215 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R152-22-9  Grounds for Denial, Suspension or Revocation 
Procedure 

31216 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R152-23-1  Authority 31217 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R152-34-10  Rules Relating to Suspension, Termination or 
Refusal to Register under Section 13-34-111 

31218 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Corporations and Commercial Code 
R154-10 Utah Digital Signatures Act Rules 30642 REP 03/03/2008 2007-22/16  

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-1 General Rules of the Division of Occupational 

and Professional Licensing 
31288 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/30  

R156-1-102a  Global Definitions of Levels of Supervision 30655 AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/3  

R156-3a-303  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements 

30935 AMD 03/27/2008 2008-4/5  

R156-11a Barber, Cosmetologist/Barber, Esthetician, 
Electrology, and Nail Technician Licensing Act 
Rule 

30953 AMD 04/10/2008 2008-5/5  

R156-11a-601  Standards for Accreditation 31174 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-22-305  Inactive Status 31175 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-26a Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act 
Rules 

30715 AMD 03/31/2008 2007-23/4  

R156-26a Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act 
Rules 

30715 CPR 03/31/2008 2008-4/35  

R156-28 Veterinary Practice Act Rules 31396 AMD 07/10/2008 2008-11/56  

R156-31b Nurse Practice Act Rules 31094 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/51  

R156-31b Nurse Practice Act Rules 31156 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/34  

R156-38a Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery 
Fund Rules 

30654 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/14  

R156-38a-
105a  

Adjudicative Proceedings 31176 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-38b-703  SCR Record Classification 31177 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-40-302e  Qualifications for Temporary License as a TRS 
- Supervision Required 

31178 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-46b Division Utah Administrative Procedures Act 
Rules 

31179 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-47b Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules 30853 AMD 02/21/2008 2008-2/4  

R156-49 Dietitian Certification Act Rules 31073 5YR 03/24/2008 2008-8/52  

R156-49 Dietitian Certification Act Rules 31180 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-53 Landscape Architect Licensing Act Rules 31074 5YR 03/24/2008 2008-8/52  

R156-55a Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule 30892 AMD 03/11/2008 2008-3/3  

R156-55a Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule 31292 AMD 06/24/2008 2008-10/42  

R156-55d Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act 
Burglar Alarm Licensing Rules 

31181 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 30574 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/38  

R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 31139 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/23  

R156-56-420  Administration of Building Code Training Fund 30573 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/57  

R156-56-701  Specific Editions of Uniform Building Standards 31142 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/30  
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R156-61 Psychologist Licensing Act Rules 30915 CPR 05/08/2008 2008-7/55  

R156-61 Psychologist Licensing Act Rules 30915 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-3/6  

R156-63 Security Personnel Licensing Act Rule 31182 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-67 Utah Medical Practice Act Rules 31183 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-68 Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act Rules 31083 5YR 03/27/2008 2008-8/53  

R156-68 Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act Rules 31185 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R156-69 Dentist and Dental Hygienist Practice Act 
Rules 

31136 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/35  

R156-71 Naturopathic Physician Practice Act Rules 30854 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-2/6  

R156-71 Naturopathic Physician Practice Act Rules 30854 CPR 07/08/2008 2008-11/121  

R156-76 Professional Geologist Licensing Act Rules 30694 AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/17  

R156-78A Prelitigation Panel Review Rules 31055 NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

Real Estate 
R162-2-2  Licensing Procedure 31003 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/7  

R162-8-4  School Conduct and Standards of Practice 31001 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/10  

R162-9 Continuing Education 31277 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/48  

R162-12 Utah Housing Opportunity Restricted Account 31000 NEW 04/07/2008 2008-5/11  

R162-207-6  Determining Fitness for Renewal 31002 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/12  

R162-208 Continuing Education 31278 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/50  

R162-210-4  Rules of Conduct for Certified Schools 31004 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/13  

 
Community and Culture 

Home Energy Assistance Target (HEAT) 
R195-1 Energy Assistance:  General Provisions 31331 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Housing and Community Development 
R199-8 Permanent Community Impact Fund Board 

Review and Approval of Applications for 
Funding Assistance 

30451 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-19/6  

History 
R212-4 Archaeological Permits 31290 R&R 06/25/2008 2008-10/52  

 
Corrections 

Administration 
R251-112 Americans With Disabilities Act Implementation 

and Complaint Process 
30713 AMD 03/11/2008 2007-23/19  

R251-114 Offender Long-Term Health Care - Notice 30803 NEW 03/11/2008 2008-1/6  

R251-304 Contract Procedures 30952 5YR 02/05/2008 2008-5/39  

R251-304 Contract Procedures 30980 AMD 05/20/2008 2008-5/15  

 
Crime Victim Reparations 

Administration 
R270-1 Award and Reparation Standards 31322 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R270-1-11  Collateral Source 30593 AMD 01/02/2008 2007-22/33  

R270-1-22  Sexual Assault Forensic Examinations 31013 AMD 05/19/2008 2008-6/3  

R270-2 Crime Victim Reparations Adjudicative 
Proceedings 

31323 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R270-4 Government Records Access and 
Management Act 

31324 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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Education 

Administration 
R277-104 USOE ADA Compliant Procedure 31517 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/50  

R277-109 One-time Signing Bonuses 31439 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/67  

R277-113 One-time Performance-based Compensation 
Program 

31440 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/69  

R277-423 Delivery of Flow Through Money 30845 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/8  

R277-436 Gang Prevention and Intervention Programs in 
the Schools 

31518 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  

R277-460 Distribution of Substance Abuse Prevention 
Account 

31519 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  

R277-469 Instructional Materials Commission Operating 
Procedures 

30781 AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/4  

R277-469 Instructional Materials Commission Operating 
Procedures 

31035 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/62  

R277-470-7  Timelines - Charter School Starting Date 30846 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/9  

R277-471 Oversight of School Inspections 31441 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/70  

R277-483 Persistently Dangerous Schools 31036 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/62  

R277-484 Data Standards 31005 AMD 04/11/2008 2008-5/17  

R277-484 Data Standards 31520 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/52  

R277-485 Loss of Enrollment 31037 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/63  

R277-488 Critical Languages Pilot Program 31442 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/72  

R277-490 Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts 
Learning Program 

31443 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/74  

R277-502 Educator Licensing and Data Retention 30944 AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/6  

R277-504 Early Childhood, Elementary, Secondary, 
Special Education (K-12), Communication 
Disorders, Speech-Language Pathologist and 
Speech-Language Technician, and Special 
Education (Birth-Age 5) Certification 

31444 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/77  

R277-508 Employment of Substitute Teachers 31038 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/63  

R277-515-3  Educator as a Role Model of Civic and Societal 
Responsibility 

30976 NSC 02/27/2008 Not Printed 

R277-518 Applied Technology Education Licenses 30878 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/72  

R277-525 Special Educator Stipends 31445 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/82  

R277-600 Student Transportation Standards and 
Procedures 

30879 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/72  

R277-605 Coaching Standards and Athletic Clinics 30880 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/73  

R277-609 Standards for School District Discipline Plans 30847 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/10  

R277-609-5  Parent/Guardian Notification and Court 
Referral 

30958 NSC 02/29/2008 Not Printed 

R277-610 Released-Time Classes for Religious 
Instruction 

30881 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/73  

R277-700 The Elementary and Secondary School Core 
Curriculum 

30882 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/74  

R277-702 Procedures for the Utah General Educational 
Development Certificate 

30883 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/74  

R277-703-6  Funding Provisions 30977 NSC 02/27/2008 Not Printed 

R277-709 Education Programs Serving Youth in Custody 30884 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

R277-718 Utah Career Teaching Scholarship Program 30885 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

R277-719 Standards for Selling Foods Outside of the 
Reimbursable Meal in Schools 

30848 NEW 02/07/2008 2008-1/12  

R277-721 Deadline for CACFP Sponsor Participation in 
Food Distribution Program 

30886 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/76  

R277-721 Deadline for CACFP Sponsor Participation in 
Food Distribution Program 

31014 REP 04/21/2008 2008-6/5  
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R277-722 Withholding Payments and Commodities in the 
CACFP 

30887 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/76  

R277-722 Withholding Payments and Commodities in the 
CACFP 

31015 REP 04/21/2008 2008-6/6  

R277-730 Alternative High School Curriculum 30888 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/77  

R277-746 Driver Education Programs for Utah Schools 31039 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/64  

R277-747 Private School Student Driver Education 31040 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/64  

R277-751 Special Education Extended School Year 31041 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/65  

Rehabilitation 
R280-200 Rehabilitation 31042 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/65  

 
Environmental Quality 

Administration 
R305-3 Emergency Meetings 30766 REP 02/15/2008 2007-24/6  

R305-3 Emergency Meeting  (5YR EXTENSION) 30506 NSC 02/15/2008 Not Printed 

Air Quality 
R307-101 General Requirements 30697 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/21  

R307-101 General Requirements 30959 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/40  

R307-102 General Requirements:  Broadly Applicable 
Requirements 

30960 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/40  

R307-102 General Requirements:  Broadly Applicable 
Requirements 

31462 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R307-103 Administrative Procedures 31461 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R307-115 General Conformity 30698 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/28  

R307-115 General Conformity 30961 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

R307-121-3  Procedures for OEM Vehicles 30889 NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

R307-170 Continuous Emission Monitoring Program 30962 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

R307-170-7  Performance Specification Audits 30699 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/29  

R307-202 Emission Standards:  General Burning 30963 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/42  

R307-203 Emission Standards: Sulfur Content of Fuels 30964 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

R307-214 National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants 

30895 5YR 01/11/2008 2008-3/77  

R307-214 National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants 

30430 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/12  

R307-215 Acid Rain Requirements 30700 REP 02/08/2008 2007-23/31  

R307-220 Emission Standards: Plan for Designated 
Facilities 

30965 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

R307-221 Emission Standards: Emission Controls for 
Existing Municipal Solid Waste Landfills 

30701 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/32  

R307-221 Emission Standards:  Emission Controls for 
Existing Municipal Solid Waste Landfills 

30966 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

R307-221-2  Definitions and References 30832 NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 

R307-222 Emission Standards: Existing Incinerators for 
Hospital, Medical, Infectious Waste 

30967 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

R307-222 Emission Standards:  Existing Incinerators for 
Hospital, Medical, Infectious Waste 

30702 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/36  

R307-222-1  Purpose and Applicability 30833 NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 

R307-223 Existing Incinerators for Hospital, Medical, 
Infectious Waste 

30703 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/38  

R307-223 Emission Standards:  Existing Small Municipal 
Waste Combustion Units 

30968 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

R307-224 Mercury Emission Standards:  Coal-Fired 
Electric Generating Units 

30969 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

R307-224-2  Emission Guidelines and Compliance Times for 
Coal-Fired Electric Generating Units 

30704 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/39  
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R307-250 Western Backstop Sulfur Dioxide Trading 
Program 

30970 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  

R307-310 Salt Lake County: Trading of Emission Budgets 
for Transportation Conformity 

30971 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  

R307-310-2  Definitions 30705 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/40  

R307-401-14  Used Oil Fuel Burned for Energy Recovery 30709 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/42  

R307-405 Permits:  Major Sources in Attainment or 
Unclassified Areas (PSD) 

30431 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/15  

R307-417 Acid Rain Sources 30706 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/43  

R307-801 Asbestos 30707 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/45  

R307-801 Asbestos 30972 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

R307-840 Lead-Based Paint Accreditation, Certification 
and Work Practice Standards 

30708 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/48  

R307-840 Lead-Based Paint Accreditation, Certification 
and Work Practice Standards 

30973 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

Drinking Water 
R309-352 Capacity Development Program 31157 5YR 04/18/2008 2008-10/144  

Environmental Response and Remediation 
R311-200 Underground Storage Tanks:  Definitions 31486 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R311-201 Underground Storage Tanks:  Certification 
Programs 

31487 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R311-210 Administrative Procedures for Underground 
Storage Tank Act Adjudicative Proceedings 

31488 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R311-401-2  Utah Hazardous Substances Priority List 30567 AMD 01/02/2008 2007-21/59  

Radiation Control 
R313-12-1  Authority 31170 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R313-12-111  Submission of Electronic Copies 30774 AMD 04/11/2008 2007-24/8  

R313-12-111  Submission of Electronic Copies 30774 CPR 04/11/2008 2008-5/34  

R313-15 Standards for Protection Against Radiation 30865 AMD 03/17/2008 2008-2/10  

R313-17 Administrative Procedures 31171 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Solid and Hazardous Waste 
R315-2 General Requirements - Identification and 

Listing of Hazardous Waste 
31377 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R315-3 Application and Permit Procedures for 
Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage, and 
Disposal Facilities 

31065 NSC 04/11/2008 Not Printed 

R315-12 Administrative Procedures 31376 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R315-15-1  Applicability, Prohibitions, and Definitions 30907 AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/16  

R315-15-10  Liability/Financial Requirements 30908 AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/19  

R315-15-11  Closure 30909 AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/21  

R315-15-12  Reclamation Surety 30910 AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/23  

R315-15-17  Wording of Financial Assurance Mechanisms 30911 AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/29  

R315-301 Solid Waste Authority, Definitions, and General 
Requirements 

30990 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/48  

R315-302 Solid Waste Facility Location Standards, 
General Facility Requirements, and Closure 
Requirements 

30986 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/49  

R315-303 Landfilling Standards 30992 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/49  

R315-305 Class IV and VI Landfill Requirements 30991 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/50  

R315-306 Incinerator Standards 30985 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/51  

R315-307 Landtreatment Disposal Standards 30993 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/51  

R315-308 Ground Water Monitoring Requirements 30995 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/52  

R315-309 Financial Assurance 30994 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/52  
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R315-310 Permit Requirements for Solid Waste Facilities 30996 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/53  

R315-311 Permit Approval For Solid Waste Disposal, 
Waste Tire Storage, Energy Recovery, And 
Incinerator Facilities 

30983 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/53  

R315-312 Recycling and Composting Facility Standards 30997 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/54  

R315-313 Transfer Stations and Drop Box Facilities 30998 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/54  

R315-314 Facility Standards for Piles Used for Storage 
and Treatment 

30999 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/55  

R315-315 Special Waste Requirements 30989 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/55  

R315-316 Infectious Waste Requirements 30988 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/56  

R315-317 Other Processes, Variances, Violations, and 
Petition for Rule Change 

30984 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/57  

R315-318 Permit by Rule 30987 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/57  

Water Quality 
R317-1-4  Utilization and Isolation of Domestic 

Wastewater Treatment Works Effluent 
30639 AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/52  

R317-3-11  Land Application of Wastewater Effluents 30638 AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/57  

R317-9 Administrative Procedures 30948 5YR 02/01/2008 2008-4/42  

R317-13 Approvals and Permits for a Water Reuse 
Project 

30637 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/61  

R317-14 Approval in Change in Point of Discharge of 
POTW 

30636 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/62  

R317-101 Utah Wastewater Project Assistance Program 31103 5YR 04/02/2008 2008-9/53  

 
Financial Institutions 

Administration 
R331-20 Designation of Adjudicative Proceedings as 

Informal 
31256 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R331-22-1  Authority, Scope, and Purpose 31315 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
Governor 

Economic Development 
R357-2 Rural Broadband Service Fund 30788 NEW 01/30/2008 2007-24/9  

R357-2-7  Ranking and Approval of Applications 30859 NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

R357-3 Refundable Economic Development Tax Credit 31153 NEW 06/18/2008 2008-9/37  

 
Health 

Administration 
R380-1 Petitions for Department Declaratory Orders 31281 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R380-5 Petitions for Declaratory Orders on Orders 
Issued by Committees 

31282 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R380-10 Informal Adjudicative Proceedings 31283 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R380-20 Government Records Access and 
Management 

31284 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R380-100 Americans with Disabilities Act Grievance 
Procedures 

31285 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R380-200 Patient Safety Sentinel Event Reporting 31286 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R380-210-6  Penalties 31280 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R380-250 HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation 31455 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/52  

Children's Health Insurance Program 
R382-1 Benefits and Administration 31503 5YR 05/30/2008 2008-12/53  

R382-10 Eligibility 31454 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/53  

R382-10 Eligibility 31357 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/55  
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Epidemiology and Laboratory Services, Epidemiology 
R386-702-12  Official References 31099 AMD 06/11/2008 2008-8/5  

Epidemiology and Laboratory Services, Environmental Services 
R392-302 Design, Construction, and Operation of Public 

Pools 
31097 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/6  

R392-700 Indoor Tanning Bed Sanitation 30612 NEW 05/16/2008 2007-22/65  

R392-700 Indoor Tanning Bed Sanitation 30612 CPR 05/16/2008 2008-7/58  

Community and Family Health Services, Children with Special Health Care Needs 
R398-1 Newborn Screening 31350 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/60  

R398-2 Newborn Hearing Screening 31651 5YR 07/02/2008 Not Printed 

R398-5 Birth Defects Reporting 31070 AMD 07/03/2008 2008-8/16  

Health Care Financing 
R410-14-17  Agency Review 30981 EMR 02/15/2008 2008-5/36  

R410-14-17  Agency Review 31129 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/38  

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-1-5  State Plan 31359 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/64  

R414-5 Reduction in Hospital Payments 31424 5YR 05/13/2008 2008-11/125  

R414-6 Reduction in Certain Targeted Case 
Management Services 

31169 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/145  

R414-21 Physical and Occupational Therapy 30653 R&R 01/10/2008 2007-23/50  

R414-27 Medicare Nursing Home Certification 30920 5YR 01/17/2008 2008-4/42  

R414-27 Medicare Nursing Home Certification 31046 NSC 03/25/2008 Not Printed 

R414-27 Medicare Nursing Home Certification 31360 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/65  

R414-40 Nursing Service 31135 R&R 06/23/2008 2008-9/39  

R414-51 Dental, Orthodontia 31452 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/53  

R414-52 Optometry Services 30775 AMD 02/01/2008 2007-24/12  

R414-52 Optometry Services 31453 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/54  

R414-53 Eyeglasses Services 30776 AMD 02/01/2008 2007-24/13  

R414-53 Eyeglasses Services 31528 5YR 06/05/2008 2008-13/148  

R414-71 Medical Supplies -- Parenteral, Enteral, and IV 
Therapy 

30378 AMD 03/31/2008 2007-18/40  

R414-71 Medical Supplies - Parenteral, Enteral, and IV 
Therapy 

30378 CPR 03/31/2008 2008-3/66  

R414-301 Medicaid General Provisions 30936 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/43  

R414-302 Eligibility Requirements 30921 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/43  

R414-303 Coverage Groups 30925 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

R414-304 Income and Budgeting 30924 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

R414-304 Income and Budgeting 30652 AMD 01/28/2008 2007-23/54  

R414-305 Resources 30937 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/45  

R414-305 Resources 30945 AMD 04/01/2008 2008-4/9  

R414-306 Program Benefits 30922 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/45  

R414-308 Application, Eligibility Determinations and 
Improper Medical Assistance 

30938 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/46  

R414-308-7  Change Reporting and Benefit Changes 30927 AMD 04/01/2008 2008-4/16  

R414-310 Medicaid Primary Care Network Demonstration 
Waiver 

31356 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/66  

R414-320 Medicaid Health Insurance Flexibility and 
Accountability Demonstration Waiver 

31358 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/68  

R414-504 Nursing Facility Payments 31362 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/71  
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R414-508 Requirements for Transfer of Bed Licenses 31361 NEW 07/01/2008 2008-10/78  

R414-510 Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with 
Mental Retardation Transition Program 

30917 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/30  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-5-3  Trauma Center Categorization Guidelines 31068 AMD 06/04/2008 2008-8/17  

R426-6 Emergency Medical Services Competitive 
Grants Program Rules 

30758 AMD 02/07/2008 2007-24/14  

R426-8-4  Application and Award Formula 31096 AMD 06/05/2008 2008-8/22  

R426-15-203  Vehicle Supply Requirements 30954 AMD 06/24/2008 2008-5/19  

Center for Health Data, Health Care Statistics 
R428-11 Health Data Authority Ambulatory Surgical 

Data Reporting Rule 
31167 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  

R428-11 Health Data Authority Ambulatory Surgical 
Data Reporting Rule  (5YR EXTENSION) 

31021 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

R428-13 Health Data Authority, Audit and Reporting of 
HMO Performance Measures 

31168 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  

R428-13 Health Data Authority.  Audit and Reporting of 
HMO Performance Measures  (5YR 
EXTENSION) 

31022 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

R428-13-4  Submission of Performance Measures 30956 AMD 05/16/2008 2008-5/25  

Health Systems Improvement, Child Care Licensing 
R430-4 General Certificate Provisions 31537 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/148  

R430-50 Residential Certificate Child Care Standards 31538 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/149  

R430-60 Hourly Child Care Center 31539 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/149  

R430-90 Licensed Family Child Care 31540 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/150  

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-16 Hospice Inpatient Facility Construction 30975 5YR 02/11/2008 2008-5/58  

R432-35 Background Screening 31489 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/54  

 
Human Resource Management 

Administration 
R477-1 Definitions 31186 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/79  

R477-2 Administration 31187 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/84  

R477-3 Classification 31188 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/87  

R477-4 Filling Positions 31189 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/88  

R477-5 Employee Status and Probation 31190 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/90  

R477-6 Compensation 31191 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/91  

R477-7 Leave 31192 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/95  

R477-8 Working Conditions 31193 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/101  

R477-8-5  Overtime 30778 AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/16  

R477-9 Employee Conduct 31194 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/104  

R477-10 Employee Development 31195 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/106  

R477-11 Discipline 31209 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/108  

R477-12 Separations 31210 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/110  

R477-13 Volunteer Programs 31211 NSC 06/19/2008 Not Printed 

R477-15 Unlawful Harassment Policy and Procedure 31208 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/112  

 
Human Services 

Administration 
R495-810 Government Records Access and 

Management Act 
31368 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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R495-861 Requirements for Local Discretionary Social 
Services Block Grant Funds 

30773 AMD 01/30/2008 2007-24/18  

R495-878 Department of Human Services Civil Rights 
Complaint Procedure 

31367 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R495-878 Department of Human Services Civil Rights 
Complaint Procedure 

31067 AMD 06/13/2008 2008-8/23  

R495-879 Parental Support for Children in Care 31465 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R495-881 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act (HIPAA) Privacy Rule Implementation 

31484 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/55  

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 
R501-16 Intermediate Secure Treatment Programs for 

Minors 
31017 5YR 02/22/2008 2008-6/25  

R501-17 Adult Foster Care 31026 5YR 02/27/2008 2008-6/25  

Aging and Adult Services 
R510-105 "Out and About" Homebound Transportation 

Assistance Fund Rules 
31027 5YR 02/27/2008 2008-6/26  

R510-110-5  Monitoring by the State Division of Aging and 
Adult Services 

31378 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R510-200-3  Local LTCO Program Administrative Standards 31379 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Child and Family Services 
R512-20 Protective Payee for Recipients of Cash 

Assistance from the Department of Workforce 
Services  (5YR EXTENSION) 

30720 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

R512-20 Protective Payee for Recipients of Cash 
Assistance from the Department of Workforce 
Services 

30716 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/58  

R512-50 Fee Collection for Clients Served by Pre-
School Day Treatment Contract  (5YR 
EXTENSION) 

30721 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

R512-50 Fee Collection for Clients Served by Pre-
School Day Treatment Contract 

30718 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/60  

R512-204 Child Protective Services, New Caseworker 
Training 

31043 NEW 05/08/2008 2008-7/31  

R512-500 Kinship Services 31589 EMR 06/18/2008 2008-14/125  

Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
R523-1 Procedures  (5YR EXTENSION) 30767 NSC 03/31/2008 Not Printed 

R523-1 Procedures 31089 5YR 03/31/2008 2008-8/53  

R523-22-9  Redress Procedures for Programs or 
Instructors 

31352 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R523-23-13  Procedure for Denial, Suspension, or 
Revocation 

31351 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R523-24-13  Procedure for Denial, Suspension, or 
Revocation 

31353 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health, State Hospital 
R525-2 Patient Rights 31450 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/55  

R525-3 Medication Treatment of Patients 31449 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/56  

R525-4 Visitors 31447 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/56  

R525-5 Background Checks 31448 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/57  

R525-6 Prohibited Items and Devices 31031 NEW 05/01/2008 2008-6/7  

R525-6 Prohibited Items and Devices  (EXPIRED - 
Legislative Nonreauthorization) 

31348 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R525-7 Complaints/Suggestions/Concerns 31451 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/57  

Recovery Services 
R527-34 Non-IV-A Services 31151 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/43  

R527-39 Applicant/Recipient Cooperation 30891 5YR 01/10/2008 2008-3/78  

R527-39-2  Request for Review 31498 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 
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R527-56 In-Kind support 30939 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/46  

R527-56 In-Kind Support 31134 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/44  

R527-231 Review and Adjustment of Child Support Order 31061 AMD 05/15/2008 2008-7/32  

R527-257 Enforcing Child Support When the Obligor is 
Incarcerated 

31133 REP 06/09/2008 2008-9/45  

R527-258 Enforcing Child Support When the Obligor is an 
Ex-Prisoner or in a Treatment Program 

31054 AMD 05/14/2008 2008-7/33  

R527-260 Driver License Suspension for Failure to Pay 
Support 

31152 NEW 07/01/2008 2008-9/46  

R527-302 Income Withholding Fees 31160 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/147  

R527-302 Income Withholding Fees 31163 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/120  

R527-305 High-Volume, Automated Administrative 
Enforcement in Interstate Child Support Cases 

30978 5YR 02/12/2008 2008-5/58  

R527-305 High-Volume, Automated Administrative 
Enforcement in Interstate Child Support Cases 

31025 AMD 04/21/2008 2008-6/8  

R527-430 Administrative Notice of Lien-Levy Procedures 30905 5YR 01/14/2008 2008-3/78  

R527-475 State Tax Refund Intercept 31161 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/147  

R527-475 State Tax Refund Intercept 31162 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/121  

R527-920 Mandatory Disbursement to Obligee through 
Electronic Funds Transfer 

31159 NEW 06/27/2008 2008-10/122  

R527-928 Lost Checks 30982 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/26  

Services for People with Disabilities 
R539-1-8  Non-Waiver Services for People with Brain 

Injury 
30926 EMR 01/28/2008 2008-4/38  

R539-1-8  Non-Waiver Services for People with Brain 
Injury 

30877 AMD 04/01/2008 2008-3/32  

R539-9 Supported Employment Pilot Program 31084 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/26  

R539-15 Time-Limited Respite Care Program 31594 EMR 07/01/2008 2008-14/128  

 
Insurance 

Administration 
R590-91 Credit Life Insurance and Credit Accident and 

Health Insurance 
31059 AMD 05/29/2008 2008-7/35  

R590-94 Rule Permitting Smoker/Nonsmoker Mortality 
Tables for Use in Determining Minimum 
Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits 

31132 5YR 04/09/2008 2008-9/53  

R590-154 Unfair Marketing Practices Rule 31131 5YR 04/09/2008 2008-9/54  

R590-157 Surplus Lines Insurance Premium Tax and 
Stamping Fee 

30890 5YR 01/10/2008 2008-3/79  

R590-164 Uniform Health Billing Rule 31030 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-6/10  

R590-167-11  Individual, Small Employer, and Group Health 
Benefit Plan Rule 

30462 CPR 05/20/2008 2008-3/68  

R590-167-11  Actuarial Certification and Additional Filing 
Requirements 

30462 AMD 05/20/2008 2007-20/23  

R590-175 Basic Health Care Plan Rule 30508 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-20/24  

R590-191 Unfair Life Insurance Claims Settlement 
Practices Rule 

31077 AMD 05/29/2008 2008-8/27  

R590-218 Permitted Language for Reservation of 
Discretion Clauses 

30897 5YR 01/11/2008 2008-3/80  

R590-219 Credit Scoring 31525 5YR 06/04/2008 2008-13/150  

R590-222 Viatical Settlements 31523 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/58  

R590-223 Rule to Recognize the 2001 CSO Mortality 
Table for Use in Determining Minimum Reserve 
Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits 

31552 5YR 06/12/2008 2008-13/151  

R590-243 Commercial Motor Vehicle Insurance Coverage 30490 NEW 01/11/2008 2007-20/28  

R590-247 Universal Individual Health Insurance 
Application Rule 

31335 NEW 06/30/2008 2008-10/124  
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Labor Commission 

Administration 
R600-1 Declaratory Orders 31232 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/148  

R600-1 Declaratory Orders 31237 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Adjudication 
R602-1 General Provisions 31250 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R602-2-1  Pleadings and Discovery 31236 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R602-2-4  Attorney Fees 30811 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/14  

R602-3 Procedure and Standards for Approval of 
Assignment of Benefits 

31238 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R602-3-3  Procedure for Requesting Approval 30810 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/16  

R602-4 Procedures for Termination of Temporary Total 
Disability Compensation Pursuant to 
Reemployment under Section 34A-2-410.5 

31643 EMR 07/01/2008 2008-14/129  

Antidiscrimination and Labor, Antidiscrimination 
R606-1 Antidiscrimination 31241 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R606-2 Pre-Employment Inquiry Guide 31242 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Antidiscrimination and Labor, Fair Housing 
R608-1 Utah Fair Housing Rules 31240 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Antidiscrimination and Labor, Labor 
R610-1 Minimum Wage, Clarify Tip Credit, and 

Enforcement 
31247 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R610-1-4  Tips, Gratuities, and Commissions 31149 AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/48  

R610-2 Employment of Minors 31245 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R610-2-6  Filing Procedure and Commencement of 
Agency Action 

30942 AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/19  

R610-3 Filing, Investigation, and Resolution of Wage 
Claims 

31243 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R610-3-4  Filing Procedure and Commencement of 
Agency Action 

30876 EMR 01/03/2008 2008-3/70  

R610-3-4  Filing Procedure and Commencement of 
Agency Action 

30941 AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/20  

R610-3-10  Attorney Fees 31148 AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/50  

R610-4 Employment Agency Licensing 31239 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R610-4 Employment Agency Licensing 31438 REP 07/08/2008 2008-11/101  

Industrial Accidents 
R612-1 Workers' Compensation Rules - Procedures 31235 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R612-2 Workers' Compensation Rules-Health Care 
Providers 

31234 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/148  

R612-2-5  Regulation of Medical Practitioner Fees 31333 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/130  

R612-3 Workers' Compensation Rules - Self Insurance 31230 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

R612-4-2  Premium Rates for the Uninsured Employers' 
Fund and the Employers' Reinsurance Fund 

30594 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-22/76  

R612-5 Employee Leasing Company Workers' 
Compensation Insurance Policy Endorsements 

31229 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

R612-7 Impairment Ratings for Industrial Injuries and 
Diseases 

31231 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/150  

R612-9-1  Authority 31251 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R612-10 HIV, Hepatitis B and C Testing and Reporting 
for Emergency Medical Services Providers 

31252 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Occupational Safety and Health 
R614-1 General Provisions 31244 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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R614-1-4  Incorporation of Federal Standards 31102 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/30  

R614-3-1  Authority, Method of Adoption, and Effective 
Date 

31248 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Safety 
R616-1 Coal, Gilsonite, or other Hydrocarbon Mining 

Certification 
31233 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/150  

R616-1 Coal, Gilsonite, or other Hydrocarbon Mining 
Certification 

31249 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R616-2 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules 31246 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R616-3 Elevator Rules 31253 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R616-3-3  Safety Codes for Elevators 30943 AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/21  

 
Natural Resources 

Administration 
R634-1 Americans With Disabilities Complaint 

Procedure 
30923 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/47  

R634-1 Americans with Disabilities Complaint 
Procedure  (5YR EXTENSION) 

30875 NSC 01/25/2008 Not Printed 

Geological Survey 
R638-2-6  Investment Tax Credit, Eligible Costs for 

Commercial and Residential Systems, Active 
Solar Thermal 

30902 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/35  

Oil, Gas and Mining Board 
R641-100 General Provisions 31196 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R641-104-100  Pleadings Enumerated 31197 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R641-112 Rulemaking 31198 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R641-114 Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies 31199 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R641-115 Deadline for Judicial Review 31200 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R641-116 Judicial Review of Formal Adjudicative 
Proceedings 

31201 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Oil, Gas and Mining; Administration 
R642-100 Records of the Division and Board of Oil, Gas 

and Mining 
31202 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R642-200 Applicability 31203 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Oil, Gas and Mining; Coal 
R645-100-200  Definitions 30932 AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/23  

R645-100-500  Petition to Initiate Rulemaking 31204 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R645-102 Exemption for Coal Extraction Incidental to 
Government-Financed Highway or Other 
Construction 

31509 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/58  

R645-300-100  Review, Public Participation, and Approval or 
Disapproval of Permit Applications and Permit 
Terms and Conditions 

30934 AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/24  

R645-301 Coal Mine Permitting:  Permit Application 
Requirements 

30933 AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/25  

Oil, Gas and Mining; Non-Coal 
R647-1 Minerals Regulatory Program 31510 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/59  

R647-1-106  Definitions 31205 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R647-2 Exploration 31511 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/59  

R647-3 Small Mining Operations 31512 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/60  

R647-4 Large Mining Operations 31513 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/60  

R647-5 Administrative Procedures 31206 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R647-5 Administrative Procedures 31514 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/61  
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Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas 
R649-10-3  Commencement of Informal Adjudicative 

Proceedings 
31207 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Parks and Recreation 
R651-205-17  Cutler Reservoir 30900 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/36  

R651-301 State Recreation Fiscal Assistance Programs 30899 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/37  

R651-407 Off-Highway Vehicle Advisory Council 31690 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-408 Off-Highway Vehicle Education Curriculum 
Standards 

31691 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-601 Definitions as Used in These Rules 31661 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-602 Aircraft and Powerless Flight 31662 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-603 Animals 31663 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-604 Audio Devices 31664 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-605 Begging and Soliciting 31665 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-606 Camping 31666 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-607 Disorderly Conduct 31667 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-608 Events of Special Uses 31668 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-609 Explosives and Fireworks 31669 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-610 Expulsion 31670 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-611 Fee Schedule 30621 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-22/80  

R651-611 Fee Schedule 30898 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/39  

R651-612 Firearms, Traps and Other Weapons 31012 NSC 03/10/2008 Not Printed 

R651-612 Firearms, Traps and Other Weapons 30901 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/42  

R651-612 Firearms, Traps and Other Weapons 31671 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-613 Fires 31672 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-614 Fishing, Hunting and Trapping 31673 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-615 Motor Vehicle Use 31674 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-616 Organized Sports 31675 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-617 Permit Violation 31676 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-618 Picnicking 31677 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-619 Possession of Alcoholic Beverages or 
Controlled Substances 

31678 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-620 Protection of Resources Park System Property 31679 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-621 Reports of Injury or Damage 31680 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-622 Rock Climbing 31681 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-623 Sale or Distribution of Printed Material 31682 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-624 Sanitation 31683 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-625 Shirts and Shoes 31684 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-626 Skating, Skateboards and Motorized 
Transportation Devices 

31660 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-627 Swimming 31685 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-628 Trails and Walks 31686 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-629 Unattended Property 31687 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-630 Unsupervised Children 31601 5YR 06/20/2008 2008-14/144  

R651-631 Winter Sports 31688 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

R651-632 Enforcement 31689 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 



RULES INDEX 
 

  
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 165 

CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

Forestry, Fire and State Lands 
R652-6 Government Records Access and 

Management 
31259 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R652-7 Public Petitions for Declaratory Orders 31268 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R652-8 Adjudicative Proceedings 31269 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R652-9-100  Authority 31110 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R652-30-500  Application Procedures 31270 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R652-60-1000  Records 31271 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R652-120 Wildland Fire 31112 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R652-121 Wildland Fire Suppression Fund 31108 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R652-122-100  Authority 31109 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R652-123 Exemptions to Wildland Fire Suppression Fund 31111 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

Water Resources 
R653-2 Financial Assistance from the Board of Water 

Resources 
30855 NEW 02/25/2008 2008-2/20  

R653-2 Financial Assistance from the Board of Water 
Resources 

30940 NSC 02/25/2008 Not Printed 

Water Rights 
R655-5 Maps Submitted to the Division of Water Rights 31130 5YR 04/08/2008 2008-9/54  

R655-7 Administrative Procedures for Notifying the 
State Engineer of Sewage Effluent Use or 
Change in the Point of Discharge for Sewage 
Effluent 

30947 5YR 02/01/2008 2008-4/47  

R655-14 Administrative Procedures for Enforcement 
Proceedings Before the Division of Water 
Rights 

31431 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/104  

Wildlife Resources 
R657-2 Adjudicative Proceedings 31219 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-3 Collection, Importation, Transportation, and 
Possession of Zoological Animals 

31047 5YR 03/11/2008 2008-7/65  

R657-3 Collection, Importation, Transportation, and 
Possession of Zoological Animals 

31220 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-3 Collection, Importation, Transportation, and 
Possession of Zoological Animals 

31053 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/45  

R657-5 Taking Big Game 30829 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/18  

R657-12 Hunting and Fishing Accommodations for 
Disabled People 

30777 AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/19  

R657-12-1  Purpose and Authority 31221 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 30676 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/61  

R657-13-3  Fishing License Requirements and Free 
Fishing Day 

31048 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/47  

R657-13-4  Fishing Contests 30904 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/43  

R657-22-1  Purpose and Authority 31222 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-23 Utah Hunter Education Program 30828 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/25  

R657-23-5  Hunter Education Instructor Training 30955 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/31  

R657-26 Adjudicative Proceedings for a License, Permit 
or Certificate of Registration 

31223 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-27-11  Revocation of License Agent Authorization 31224 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-29 Government Records Access Management Act 31225 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-33 Taking Bear 30906 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/44  

R657-34 Procedures for Confirmation of Ordinances on 
Hunting Closures 

31398 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/125  

R657-37 Cooperative Wildlife Management Units for Big 
Game or Turkey 

31401 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/126  
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R657-42 Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Wildlife Documents 

31400 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/126  

R657-42-8  Accepted Payment of Fees 31049 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/48  

R657-45 Wildlife License, Permit, and Certificate of 
Registration Forms 

31399 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/127  

R657-45-2  Information Listed on the License, Permit, and 
Certificate of Registration Forms 

31050 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/49  

R657-48-7  Wildlife Species of Concern Designation 
Process 

31226 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-52-6  Certificate of Registration Renewal 31227 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-53 Amphibian and Reptile Collection, Importation, 
Transportation and Possession 

31228 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R657-53 Amphibian and Reptile Collection, Importation, 
Transportation, and Possession 

31051 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/50  

R657-53 Amphibian and Reptile Collection, Importation, 
Transportation, and Possession 

31508 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/61  

R657-58 Fishing Contests and Clinics 30903 NEW 03/10/2008 2008-3/47  

R657-58 Fishing Contests and Clinics 31052 NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

R657-59 Private Fish Ponds 31625 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/131  

R657-60 Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction 31624 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/139  

 
Pardons (Board Of) 

Administration 
R671-403 Restitution 30949 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

R671-509 Parole Progress/Violation Reports 31656 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

R671-510 Evidence for Issuance of Warrants 31658 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

R671-512 Execution of the Warrant 31657 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

R671-514 Waiver and Pleas of Guilt 31654 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

R671-515 Timeliness of Parole Revocation Hearings 31659 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

R671-516 Parole Revocation Hearings 31655 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
Professional Practices Advisory Commission 

Administration 
R686-100 Professional Practices Advisory Commission, 

Rules of Procedure:  Complaints and Hearings 
30951 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

R686-101 Alcohol Related Offenses 31521 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/62  

R686-102 Drug Related Offenses 31522 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/62  

R686-103 Professional Practices and Conduct for Utah 
Educators 

31016 REP 04/21/2008 2008-6/12  

 
Public Safety 

Driver License 
R708-2-25  Grounds for Revocation, Probation or Refusal 

to Issue or Renew Instructor License, Operator 
License, or School License 

31105 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-3-2  Authority 31106 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-10 Classified License System 31436 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/116  

R708-14 Adjudicative Proceedings For Driver License 
Actions Involving Alcohol and Drugs 

31107 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-16 Pedestrian Vehicle Rule 31437 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/117  

R708-18-1  Authority 31113 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-22 Commercial Driver License Administrative 
Proceedings 

31114 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-30-14  Revocation 31115 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-34 Medical Waivers for Intrastate Commercial 
Driving Privileges 

31116 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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R708-35 Adjudicative Proceedings For Driver License 
Offenses Not Involving Alcohol or Drug Actions 

31118 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-36-1  Purpose 31119 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-37-11  Refusal to Certify, Grounds for Cancellation, 
Suspension, or Probation of a Tester's 
Certification 

31120 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-38 Anatomical Gift 31124 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R708-42-4  Procedures 31121 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-43 YES or NO Notification 31122 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R708-44-4  Procedures 31123 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Fire Marshal 
R710-1-4  Certificates of Registration 31076 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/31  

R710-2-4  Indoor Sales 30918 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/50  

R710-2-7  Importer, Wholesaler, Display or Special 
Effects Operator Licenses 

31078 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/34  

R710-5 Automatic Fire Sprinkler System Inspecting 
and Testing 

31088 5YR 03/28/2008 2008-8/54  

R710-5-1  Adoption, Title, Purpose, and Prohibitions 30896 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/51  

R710-5-3  Certificates of Registration 31080 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/35  

R710-6 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules 30862 AMD 02/21/2008 2008-2/22  

R710-6-4  LP Gas Certificates 31082 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/37  

R710-7 Concerns Servicing Automatic Fire 
Suppression Systems 

31085 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/40  

R710-9-6  Amendments and Additions 30919 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/52  

R710-10 Rules Pursuant to Fire Service Training, 
Education, and Certification 

30894 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/56  

R710-11-3  Certificates of Registration 31086 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/42  

R710-12 Hazardous Materials Training and Certification 30893 NEW 03/10/2008 2008-3/58  

R710-12-4  Training 31087 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/44  

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification 
R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit Rule (5YR 

EXTENSION) 
30928 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit Rule  (EXPIRED - 
Legislative Nonreauthorization) 

31349 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

R722-320 Undercover Identification (5YR EXTENSION) 30929 NSC 05/14/2008 Not Printed 

R722-320 Undercover Identification 31434 5YR 05/14/2008 2008-11/127  

R722-340 Emergency Vehicles (5YR EXTENSION) 30930 NSC 05/14/2008 Not Printed 

R722-340 Emergency Vehicles 31433 5YR 05/14/2008 2008-11/128  

Peace Officer Standards and Training 
R728-501 Career Development Courses 31648 5YR 07/01/2008 2008-14/144  

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-100 Practice and Procedure Governing Formal 

Hearings 
31373 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R746-101-4  Petition Review and Disposition 31372 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R746-110 Uncontested Matters to be Adjudicated 
Informally 

31369 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R746-110 Uncontested Matters to be Adjudicated 
Informally 

31620 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/145  

R746-210 Utility Service Rules Applicable Only to Electric 
Utilities 

31617 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/145  

R746-240 Telecommunication Service Rules 31619 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/146  
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R746-330 Rules for Water and Sewer Utilities Operating 
in Utah 

31044 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

R746-331 Determination of Exemption of Mutual Water 
Corporations 

31095 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  

R746-332 Depreciation Rates for Water Utilities 31091 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  

R746-340 Service Quality for Telecommunications 
Corporations 

31618 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/147  

R746-342 Rule on One-Way Paging 31092 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

R746-347 Extended Area Service (EAS) 31045 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

R746-349-3  Filing Requirements 31374 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R746-400-7  Confidentiality 31371 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R746-402 Rules Governing Reports of Accidents by 
Electric, Gas, Telephone, and Water Utilities 

31093 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

R746-405 Filing of Tariffs for Gas, Electric, Telephone, 
and Water Utilities 

31101 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/57  

R746-440 Significant Energy Resource Solicitation 31072 NSC 04/11/2008 Not Printed 

R746-500 Americans With Disabilities Act Complaint 
Procedure 

31370 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R746-510 Funding for Speech and Hearing Impaired 
Certified Interpreter Training 

31375 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
Regents (Board Of) 

Administration 
R765-134 Informal Adjudicative Procedures Under the 

Utah Administrative Procedures Act 
31325 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R765-136 Language Proficiency in the Utah System of 
Higher Education 

31326 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

R765-136 Language Proficiency in the Utah System of 
Higher Education 

31490 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/63  

R765-254 Secure Area Hearing Rooms 31492 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/63  

R765-555 Policy on Colleges and Universities Providing 
Facilities, Goods and Services in Competition 
with Private Enterprise  (5YR EXTENSION) 

31104 NSC 06/02/2008 Not Printed 

R765-555 Policy on Colleges and Universities Providing 
Facilities, Goods and Services in Competition 
with Private Enterprise 

31515 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/64  

R765-605 Utah Centennial Opportunity Program for 
Education 

31402 5YR 05/09/2008 2008-11/128  

R765-606 Utah Leveraging Educational Assistance 
Partnership Program 

31405 5YR 05/09/2008 2008-11/129  

R765-607 Utah Higher Education Tuition Assistance 
Program 

30957 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/60  

R765-993 Records Access and Management 31327 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Salt Lake Community College 
R784-1 Government Records Access and 

Management Act Rules 
31344 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

University of Utah, Administration 
R805-2 Government Records Access and 

Management Act Procedures 
31340 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

University of Utah, Parking and Transportation Services 
R810-1 University of Utah Parking Regulations 30712 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-23/65  

R810-2 Parking Meters 30722 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-23/67  

R810-3 Visitor Parking 30727 REP 03/06/2008 2007-24/21  

R810-4 Registration Policies 30728 REP 03/06/2008 2007-24/22  

R810-5 Permit Types, Eligibility and Designated 
Parking Areas 

30779 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-24/23  

R810-6 Permit Prices and Refunds 30809 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/26  

R810-7 Nonresidents and Out-of-State Plates 30831 REP 03/06/2008 2008-1/27  
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R810-8 Vendor Regulations 30834 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/28  

R810-9 Contractors and Their Employees 30836 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/29  

R810-10 Enforcement System 30839 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/30  

R810-11 Appeals System 30840 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/31  

R810-12 Bicycles, Skateboards and Other Toy Vehicles 30843 NEW 03/06/2008 2008-1/32  

 
Sports Authority (Utah) 

Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission 
R859-1 Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule 31028 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/15  

R859-1-102  Definitions 31172 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

R859-1-302  Renewal Cycle - Procedure 31029 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/16  

 
Tax Commission 

Administration 
R861-1A-20  Time of Appeal Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 

Sections 59-1-301, 59-1-501, 59-2-1007, 59-7-
517, 59-10-532,9-10-533, 59-10-535, 59-12-
114, 59-13-210, 63-46b-3, 63-46b-14 

30688 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/68  

R861-1A-24  Formal Adjudicative Proceedings Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-1-502.5, 63-46b-
8, and 63-46b-10 

30589 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-21/69  

R861-1A-26  Procedures for Formal Adjudicative 
Proceedings Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 59-1-501 and 63-46b-6 and 63-46b-
11 

30717 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/69  

R861-1A-40  Waiver of Requirement to Post Security Prior to 
Judicial Review Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 59-1-611 

30838 AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/32  

R861-1A-42  Waiver of Penalty and Interest for Reasonable 
Cause Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-
1-401 

30835 AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/33  

R861-1A-43  Electronic Meetings Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Section 52-4-207 

30780 AMD 01/25/2008 2007-24/24  

Auditing 
R865-6F-28  Enterprise Zone Corporate Franchise Tax 

Credits Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 
9-2-401 through 9-2-415 

30913 AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/61  

R865-6F-37  Disclosure of Reportable Transactions and 
Material Advisor List Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Sections 59-1-1301 through 59-1-1309 

30842 AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/35  

R865-9I-37  Enterprise Zone Individual Income Tax Credits 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 63-38f-
401 through 63-38f-414 

30916 AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/63  

R865-9I-53  Disclosure of Reportable Transactions and 
Material Advisor List Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Sections 59-1-1301 through 59-1-1309 

30849 AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/36  

R865-19S-99  Sales and Use Taxes on Vehicles Purchased 
in Another State Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 59-12-103 and 59-12-104(26), (28) 

31272 NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

R865-19S-105  Procedures for Refund of Sales and Use Taxes 
Paid on Food Donated to a Qualified 
Emergency Food Agency Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 59-12-902 

31258 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/132  

R865-19S-121  Sales and Use Tax Exemptions for Certain 
Purchases by a Mining Facility Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Section 59-12-104 

30841 AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/37  

Motor Vehicle 
R873-22M-34  Rule for Denial of Personalized License Plate 

Requests Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 41-1a-104 and 41-1a-411 

30844 AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/38  
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R873-22M-41  Issuance of Salvage Certificate in Certain 
Circumstances Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 41-1a-1005 

31264 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/133  

Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
R877-23V-19  Disclosure of Vehicles Initially Delivered for 

Sale in a Country Other than the United States 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-1a-712 

31255 AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/135  

Property Tax 
R884-24P-62  Valuation of State Assessed Unitary Properties 

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-201 
30931 AMD 03/28/2008 2008-4/30  

R884-24P-62  Valuation of State Assessed Unitary Properties 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-201 

31274 NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 
Transportation 

Motor Carrier 
R909-1-1  Adoption of Federal Regulations 30783 AMD 02/15/2008 2007-24/25  

R909-19 Safety Regulations for Tow Truck Operations - 
Tow Truck Requirements for Equipment, 
Operations and Certification 

30785 AMD 02/12/2008 2007-24/26  

R909-75 Safety Regulations for Motor Carriers 
Transporting Hazardous Materials and/or 
Wastes 

31090 AMD 05/27/2008 2008-8/45  

Preconstruction 
R930-5 Establishment and Regulation of At-Grade 

Railroad Crossings 
31066 AMD 06/10/2008 2008-8/46  

 
Treasurer 

Unclaimed Property 
R966-1-2  Proof Requirements and Bonds 30596 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-22/87  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-200 Family Employment Program 31032 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/18  

R986-200-214  Assistance for Specified Relatives 30864 AMD 02/26/2008 2008-2/25  

R986-200-240  Additional Payments Available Under Certain 
Circumstances 

31365 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-10/135  

R986-300-303  Eligibility, Income Standards, and Amount of 
Assistance 

31060 AMD 05/20/2008 2008-7/52  

R986-400-406  Failure to Comply with the Requirements of an 
Employment Plan 

31034 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/20  

R986-700 Child Care Assistance 31033 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/21  

R986-700 Child Care Assistance 31364 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-10/136  

Unemployment Insurance 
R994-106-106  Non-Monetary Eligibility Determination 31075 AMD 05/30/2008 2008-8/48  

R994-201 Definition of Terms in Employment Security Act 31467 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/64  

R994-202 Employing Units 31468 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/65  

R994-208 Wages 31469 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/65  

R994-306 Charging Benefit Costs to Employers 31547 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/151  

R994-307 Social Costs -- Relief of Charges 31548 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/152  

R994-315 Centralized New Hire Registry Reporting 31549 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/152  

R994-508 Appeal Procedures 30771 AMD 02/15/2008 2007-24/30  

R994-508 Appeal Procedures 31546 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/153  

R994-508-117  Failure to Participate in the Hearing and 
Reopening the Hearing After the Hearing Has 
Been Concluded 

31020 NSC 03/11/2008 Not Printed 
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R994-508-118  What Constitutes Grounds to Reopen a 
Hearing 

31071 NSC 04/14/2008 Not Printed 

 
 
 
 

 RULES INDEX - BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
 

 
 
KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 
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BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
access 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 31324 R270-4 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
access to information 
Administrative Services, Administration 31343 R13-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
accountants 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30715 R156-26a AMD 03/31/2008 2007-23/4  

 30715 R156-26a CPR 03/31/2008 2008-4/35  

 
accreditation 
Education, Administration 31444 R277-504 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/77  

 
acid rain 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30700 R307-215 REP 02/08/2008 2007-23/31  

 30706 R307-417 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/43  

 
adjudicative procedures 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31325 R765-134 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
adjudicative proceedings 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31269 R652-8 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Public Safety, Driver License 31107 R708-14 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31118 R708-35 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
administrative law 
Administrative Services, Administrative 
Rules 

31143 R15-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31144 R15-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31145 R15-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31146 R15-4 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31147 R15-5 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Human Services, Recovery Services 31133 R527-257 REP 06/09/2008 2008-9/45  

 31054 R527-258 AMD 05/14/2008 2008-7/33  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
172 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
administrative penalties 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 31431 R655-14 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/104  

 
administrative procedures 
Administrative Services, Administration 31342 R13-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Administrative Services, Administrative 
Rules 

31147 R15-5 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Auditor, Administration 31257 R123-3-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31260 R123-3-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31261 R123-3-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31179 R156-46b NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 31323 R270-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 31461 R307-103 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31171 R313-17 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30948 R317-9 5YR 02/01/2008 2008-4/42  

Health, Administration 31281 R380-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31282 R380-5 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31283 R380-10 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31188 R477-3 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/87  

 31210 R477-12 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/110  

 31208 R477-15 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/112  

Labor Commission, Adjudication 31250 R602-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31236 R602-2-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30811 R602-2-4  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/14  

 31238 R602-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30810 R602-3-3  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/16  

 31643 R602-4 EMR 07/01/2008 2008-14/129  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31235 R612-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31252 R612-10 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining 
Board 

31196 R641-100 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31197 R641-104-100  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31198 R641-112 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31199 R641-114 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31200 R641-115 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31201 R641-116 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31268 R652-7 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31269 R652-8 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31110 R652-9-100  NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 31270 R652-30-500  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31112 R652-120 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 31108 R652-121 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 31111 R652-123 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31219 R657-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
administrative proceedings 
Public Safety, Driver License 31114 R708-22 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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administrative responsibility 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31187 R477-2 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/84  

 
administrative rules 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31211 R477-13 NSC 06/19/2008 Not Printed 

 
adult education 
Education, Administration 30883 R277-702 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/74  

 
advertising 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31213 R152-11 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
agency 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31378 R510-110-5  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30697 R307-101 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/21  

 30959 R307-101 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/40  

 30960 R307-102 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/40  

 31462 R307-102 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31461 R307-103 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 30698 R307-115 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/28  

 30961 R307-115 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

 30889 R307-121-3  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

 30962 R307-170 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

 30699 R307-170-7  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/29  

 30963 R307-202 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/42  

 30964 R307-203 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

 30430 R307-214 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/12  

 30895 R307-214 5YR 01/11/2008 2008-3/77  

 30965 R307-220 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

 30701 R307-221 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/32  

 30966 R307-221 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

 30832 R307-221-2  NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 

 30702 R307-222 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/36  

 30967 R307-222 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

 30833 R307-222-1  NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 

 30703 R307-223 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/38  

 30968 R307-223 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

 30969 R307-224 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

 30704 R307-224-2  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/39  

 30970 R307-250 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  

 30971 R307-310 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  

 30705 R307-310-2  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/40  

 30709 R307-401-14  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/42  

 30431 R307-405 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/15  

 30972 R307-801 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

 30707 R307-801 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/45  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
174 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 30973 R307-840 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

 30708 R307-840 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/48  

 
air quality 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30700 R307-215 REP 02/08/2008 2007-23/31  

 30706 R307-417 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/43  

 
air travel 
Administrative Services, Finance 31319 R25-7 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/144  

 31320 R25-7 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/4  

 
aircraft 
Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle 30844 R873-22M-34  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/38  

 31264 R873-22M-41  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/133  

 
alarm company 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31181 R156-55d NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
alcoholic beverages 
Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration 31254 R81-1-2  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/10  

 31273 R81-1-9  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/11  

 31275 R81-1-10  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/13  

 31279 R81-1-11  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/14  

 31289 R81-1-26  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/16  

 31291 R81-3-1  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/18  

 31328 R81-3-9  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/19  

 31329 R81-3-13  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/20  

 31330 R81-3-14  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/21  

 31154 R81-4C NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 31155 R81-4D NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 31287 R81-5-11  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/25  

 31332 R81-7-1  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/26  

 31334 R81-10 NEW 06/27/2008 2008-10/27  

 
allegation 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31654 R671-514 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
allowance 
Administrative Services, Finance 31321 R25-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/7  

 
alternative fuels 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30889 R307-121-3  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

 
alternative school 
Education, Administration 30888 R277-730 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/77  

 
Americans with Disabilities Act 1992 
Human Services, Administration 31067 R495-878 AMD 06/13/2008 2008-8/23  

 31367 R495-878 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
amphibians 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31051 R657-53 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/50  
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 31508 R657-53 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/61  

 31228 R657-53 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
anatomical gift 
Public Safety, Driver License 31124 R708-38 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
ancient human remains 
Community and Culture, History 31290 R212-4 R&R 06/25/2008 2008-10/52  

 
animal protection 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31047 R657-3 5YR 03/11/2008 2008-7/65  

 31053 R657-3 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/45  

 
animal protections 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31220 R657-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
appellate procedures 
Administrative Services, Administration 31342 R13-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Administrative Services, Fleet Operations, 
Surplus Property 

31117 R28-3 5YR 04/04/2008 2008-9/52  

Auditor, Administration 31257 R123-3-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31260 R123-3-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31261 R123-3-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31323 R270-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

30771 R994-508 AMD 02/15/2008 2007-24/30  

 31546 R994-508 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/153  

 31020 R994-508-117  NSC 03/11/2008 Not Printed 

 31071 R994-508-118  NSC 04/14/2008 Not Printed 

 
application 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30938 R414-308 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/46  

 30927 R414-308-7  AMD 04/01/2008 2008-4/16  

 
applications 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 31130 R655-5 5YR 04/08/2008 2008-9/54  

 
applied technology education 
Education, Administration 30878 R277-518 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/72  

 
appraisals 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 31274 R884-24P-62  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 30931 R884-24P-62  AMD 03/28/2008 2008-4/30  

 
approval orders 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30709 R307-401-14  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/42  

 
aquaculture 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31625 R657-59 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/131  

 
archaeology 
Community and Culture, History 31290 R212-4 R&R 06/25/2008 2008-10/52  
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architects 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

30591 R131-1 AMD 02/29/2008 2007-21/11  

Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30935 R156-3a-303  AMD 03/27/2008 2008-4/5  

 
area 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31378 R510-110-5  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
arts program 
Education, Administration 31443 R277-490 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/74  

 
asbestos 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30972 R307-801 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

 30707 R307-801 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/45  

 
asbestos hazard emergency response 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30972 R307-801 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

 30707 R307-801 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/45  

 
assistance 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 30899 R651-301 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/37  

 
attorneys 
Administrative Services, Finance 31363 R25-14 EMR 05/05/2008 2008-10/140  

 
audiologist 
Health, Community and Family Health 
Services, Children with Special Health 
Care Needs 

31651 R398-2 5YR 07/02/2008 Not Printed 

 
auditing 
Auditor, Administration 31257 R123-3-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31260 R123-3-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31261 R123-3-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
automatic fire sprinklers 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 31088 R710-5 5YR 03/28/2008 2008-8/54  

 30896 R710-5-1  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/51  

 31080 R710-5-3  AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/35  

 
automobile repair 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31215 R152-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
automobiles 
Commerce, Administration 31354 R151-14-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Commerce, Consumer Protection 31215 R152-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
background checks 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31448 R525-5 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/57  

 
bait and switch 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31213 R152-11 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
banks and banking 
Human Services, Recovery Services 30982 R527-928 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/26  
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bear 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30906 R657-33 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/44  

 
bed allocations 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31089 R523-1 5YR 03/31/2008 2008-8/53  

 30767 R523-1 NSC 03/31/2008 Not Printed 

 
benefits 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30921 R414-302 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/43  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31230 R612-3 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

 
big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30829 R657-5 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/18  

 
birth defect reporting 
Health, Community and Family Health 
Services, Children with Special Health 
Care Needs 

31070 R398-5 AMD 07/03/2008 2008-8/16  

 
birth defects 
Health, Community and Family Health 
Services, Children with Special Health 
Care Needs 

31070 R398-5 AMD 07/03/2008 2008-8/16  

 
board meetings 
Environmental Quality, Administration 30506 R305-3 NSC 02/15/2008 Not Printed 

 30766 R305-3 REP 02/15/2008 2007-24/6  

 
boards 
Administrative Services, Finance 31317 R25-5 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

 
boating 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 30900 R651-205-17  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/36  

 
boilers 
Labor Commission, Safety 31246 R616-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
bonds 
Treasurer, Unclaimed Property 30596 R966-1-2  AMD 01/07/2008 2007-22/87  

 
boxing 
Sports Authority (Utah), Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission 

31028 R859-1 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/15  

 31172 R859-1-102  NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31029 R859-1-302  AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/16  

 
breaks 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31193 R477-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/101  

 30778 R477-8-5  AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/16  

 
brine shrimp 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31227 R657-52-6  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
broadband 
Governor, Economic Development 30788 R357-2 NEW 01/30/2008 2007-24/9  

 30859 R357-2-7  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 
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budgeting 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30652 R414-304 AMD 01/28/2008 2007-23/54  

 30924 R414-304 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

 
building codes 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30574 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/38  

 31139 R156-56 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/23  

 30573 R156-56-420  AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/57  

 31142 R156-56-701  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/30  

 
building inspection 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30574 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/38  

 31139 R156-56 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/23  

 30573 R156-56-420  AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/57  

 31142 R156-56-701  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/30  

 
burglar alarms 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31181 R156-55d NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
burns 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31112 R652-120 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
capacity development 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 31157 R309-352 5YR 04/18/2008 2008-10/144  

 
capital punishment 
Administrative Services, Finance 31363 R25-14 EMR 05/05/2008 2008-10/140  

 
capitol preservation 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

30591 R131-1 AMD 02/29/2008 2007-21/11  

 
career development courses 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

31648 R728-501 5YR 07/01/2008 2008-14/144  

 
career education 
Education, Administration 30885 R277-718 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

 
case 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31378 R510-110-5  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
case management 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31169 R414-6 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/145  

 
caseworker training 
Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

31043 R512-204 NEW 05/08/2008 2008-7/31  

 
CERCLA 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

30567 R311-401-2  AMD 01/02/2008 2007-21/59  
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cerfitication 
Labor Commission, Safety 31253 R616-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
certificate of registration 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31399 R657-45 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/127  

 31050 R657-45-2  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/49  

 
certification 
Labor Commission, Safety 31233 R616-1 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/150  

 31249 R616-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31246 R616-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30943 R616-3-3  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/21  

 
certification of instructors 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31352 R523-22-9  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
certifications 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 30785 R909-19 AMD 02/12/2008 2007-24/26  

 
charities 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31216 R152-22-9  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Tax Commission, Auditing 31272 R865-19S-99  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 31258 R865-19S-105  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/132  

 30841 R865-19S-121  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/37  

 
charter schools 
Education, Administration 30846 R277-470-7  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/9  

 
child abuse 
Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

30720 R512-20 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30716 R512-20 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/58  

 31043 R512-204 NEW 05/08/2008 2008-7/31  

 
child care 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

31364 R986-700 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-10/136  

 31033 R986-700 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/21  

 
child care facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Child Care Licensing 

31537 R430-4 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/148  

 31538 R430-50 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/149  

 31539 R430-60 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/149  

 31540 R430-90 5YR 06/06/2008 2008-13/150  

 
child support 
Human Services, Administration 31465 R495-879 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

Human Services, Recovery Services 31151 R527-34 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/43  

 30891 R527-39 5YR 01/10/2008 2008-3/78  

 31498 R527-39-2  NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 30939 R527-56 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/46  

 31134 R527-56 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/44  
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 31061 R527-231 AMD 05/15/2008 2008-7/32  

 31133 R527-257 REP 06/09/2008 2008-9/45  

 31054 R527-258 AMD 05/14/2008 2008-7/33  

 31152 R527-260 NEW 07/01/2008 2008-9/46  

 31163 R527-302 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/120  

 30978 R527-305 5YR 02/12/2008 2008-5/58  

 31025 R527-305 AMD 04/21/2008 2008-6/8  

 30905 R527-430 5YR 01/14/2008 2008-3/78  

 31161 R527-475 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/147  

 31162 R527-475 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/121  

 31159 R527-920 NEW 06/27/2008 2008-10/122  

 
child welfare 
Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

30720 R512-20 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30716 R512-20 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/58  

 31043 R512-204 NEW 05/08/2008 2008-7/31  

 31589 R512-500 EMR 06/18/2008 2008-14/125  

 
children's health benefits 
Health, Children's Health Insurance 
Program 

31503 R382-1 5YR 05/30/2008 2008-12/53  

 31357 R382-10 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/55  

 31454 R382-10 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/53  

 
childs support 
Human Services, Recovery Services 31160 R527-302 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/147  

 
CHIP 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31358 R414-320 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/68  

 
chronically ill 
Corrections, Administration 30803 R251-114 NEW 03/11/2008 2008-1/6  

 
citation monitoring service 
Public Safety, Driver License 31123 R708-44-4  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
civil rights 
Natural Resources, Administration 30875 R634-1 NSC 01/25/2008 Not Printed 

 30923 R634-1 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/47  

 
Civil Rights Act 1964 
Human Services, Administration 31067 R495-878 AMD 06/13/2008 2008-8/23  

 31367 R495-878 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
Class I area 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30431 R307-405 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/15  

 
classified license 
Public Safety, Driver License 31436 R708-10 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/116  

 
client rights 
Community and Culture, Home Energy 
Assistance Target (HEAT) 

31331 R195-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30936 R414-301 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/43  

 
coal mines 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

30932 R645-100-200  AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/23  

 31204 R645-100-500  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31509 R645-102 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/58  

 30934 R645-300-100  AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/24  

 30933 R645-301 AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/25  

 
colleges 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31325 R765-134 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31515 R765-555 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/64  

 31104 R765-555 NSC 06/02/2008 Not Printed 

 31327 R765-993 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
commerce 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

30642 R154-10 REP 03/03/2008 2007-22/16  

 
commercial motor vehicle insurance 
Insurance, Administration 30490 R590-243 NEW 01/11/2008 2007-20/28  

 
commercialization 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31227 R657-52-6  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
communicable diseases 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Epidemiology 

31099 R386-702-12  AMD 06/11/2008 2008-8/5  

 
complaint procedures 
Corrections, Administration 30713 R251-112 AMD 03/11/2008 2007-23/19  

 
complaints 
Education, Administration 31517 R277-104 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/50  

Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31451 R525-7 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/57  

Public Service Commission, Administration 31370 R746-500 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
concealed firearm permit 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

31349 R722-300 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 30928 R722-300 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
concerns 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31451 R525-7 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/57  

 
conduct 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

30951 R686-100 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

 
confidentiality of information 
Administrative Services, Administration 31343 R13-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Community and Culture, Home Energy 
Assistance Target (HEAT) 

31331 R195-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30960 R307-102 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/40  

 31462 R307-102 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 
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Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31187 R477-2 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/84  

 
conflict of interest 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31194 R477-9 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/104  

 
consumer protection 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31184 R152-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31213 R152-11 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31214 R152-15-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31215 R152-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31216 R152-22-9  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31217 R152-23-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
contamination 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 30865 R313-15 AMD 03/17/2008 2008-2/10  

 
contests 
Sports Authority (Utah), Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission 

31172 R859-1-102  NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 
continuing education 
Commerce, Real Estate 31277 R162-9 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/48  

 
continuing professional education 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30715 R156-26a AMD 03/31/2008 2007-23/4  

 30715 R156-26a CPR 03/31/2008 2008-4/35  

 
continuous monitoring 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30962 R307-170 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

 30699 R307-170-7  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/29  

 
contractors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30654 R156-38a AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/14  

 31176 R156-38a-105a  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31292 R156-55a AMD 06/24/2008 2008-10/42  

 30892 R156-55a AMD 03/11/2008 2008-3/3  

 30574 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/38  

 31139 R156-56 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/23  

 30573 R156-56-420  AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/57  

 31142 R156-56-701  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/30  

 
contracts 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

30590 R131-4 R&R 02/29/2008 2007-21/13  

 30952 R251-304 5YR 02/05/2008 2008-5/39  

 30980 R251-304 AMD 05/20/2008 2008-5/15  

 
cooperative agreement 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31109 R652-122-100  NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
cooperative wildlife management unit 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31401 R657-37 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/126  
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corrections 
Corrections, Administration 30952 R251-304 5YR 02/05/2008 2008-5/39  

 30980 R251-304 AMD 05/20/2008 2008-5/15  

 
cosmetologists/barbers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30953 R156-11a AMD 04/10/2008 2008-5/5  

 31174 R156-11a-601  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
costs 
Administrative Services, Finance 31316 R25-6 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

Financial Institutions, Administration 31315 R331-22-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
coverage groups 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30925 R414-303 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

 
covered-at-work 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31356 R414-310 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/66  

 
credit scoring 
Insurance, Administration 31525 R590-219 5YR 06/04/2008 2008-13/150  

 
criminal investigation 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

30929 R722-320 NSC 05/14/2008 Not Printed 

 31434 R722-320 5YR 05/14/2008 2008-11/127  

 
critical languages 
Education, Administration 31442 R277-488 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/72  

 
cultural resources 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31271 R652-60-1000  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
curricula 
Education, Administration 30882 R277-700 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/74  

 30977 R277-703-6  NSC 02/27/2008 Not Printed 

 
custody of children 
Human Services, Administration 31465 R495-879 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 
data standards 
Education, Administration 31520 R277-484 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/52  

 31005 R277-484 AMD 04/11/2008 2008-5/17  

 
deadlines 
Education, Administration 31520 R277-484 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/52  

 31005 R277-484 AMD 04/11/2008 2008-5/17  

 
declaratory orders 
Auditor, Administration 31262 R123-4-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31263 R123-4-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31265 R123-4-5  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31266 R123-4-6  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31267 R123-4-7  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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 31281 R380-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31282 R380-5 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31232 R600-1 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/148  

 31237 R600-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
definitions 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30697 R307-101 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/21  

 30959 R307-101 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/40  

Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31170 R313-12-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30774 R313-12-111  AMD 04/11/2008 2007-24/8  

 30774 R313-12-111  CPR 04/11/2008 2008-5/34  

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31186 R477-1 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/79  

 31211 R477-13 NSC 06/19/2008 Not Printed 

Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

31467 R994-201 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/64  

 
demonstration 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31356 R414-310 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/66  

 
dental 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31452 R414-51 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/53  

 
dental hygienists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31136 R156-69 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/35  

 
dentists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31136 R156-69 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/35  

 
developmentally disabled 
Commerce, Administration 31346 R151-3-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31067 R495-878 AMD 06/13/2008 2008-8/23  

 31367 R495-878 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30688 R861-1A-20  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/68  

 30589 R861-1A-24  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-21/69  

 30717 R861-1A-26  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/69  

 30838 R861-1A-40  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/32  

 30835 R861-1A-42  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/33  

 30780 R861-1A-43  AMD 01/25/2008 2007-24/24  

 
dietitians 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31180 R156-49 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31073 R156-49 5YR 03/24/2008 2008-8/52  

 
digital signature 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

30642 R154-10 REP 03/03/2008 2007-22/16  

 
disabilities 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

30877 R539-1-8  AMD 04/01/2008 2008-3/32  

 30926 R539-1-8  EMR 01/28/2008 2008-4/38  
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 31084 R539-9 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/26  

 31594 R539-15 EMR 07/01/2008 2008-14/128  

 
disabled persons 
Corrections, Administration 30713 R251-112 AMD 03/11/2008 2007-23/19  

 31517 R277-104 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/50  

 31285 R380-100 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30777 R657-12 AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/19  

 31221 R657-12-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Public Service Commission, Administration 31370 R746-500 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
disables 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31027 R510-105 5YR 02/27/2008 2008-6/26  

 
discharge 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30636 R317-14 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/62  

 
disciplinary actions 
Education, Administration 30847 R277-609 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/10  

 30958 R277-609-5  NSC 02/29/2008 Not Printed 

 31521 R686-101 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/62  

 31522 R686-102 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/62  

 31016 R686-103 REP 04/21/2008 2008-6/12  

 
disciplinary problems 
Education, Administration 31518 R277-436 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  

 
discipline of employees 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31209 R477-11 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/108  

 
disclosure requirements 
Tax Commission, Administration 30688 R861-1A-20  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/68  

 30589 R861-1A-24  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-21/69  

 30717 R861-1A-26  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/69  

 30838 R861-1A-40  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/32  

 30835 R861-1A-42  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/33  

 30780 R861-1A-43  AMD 01/25/2008 2007-24/24  

 
discretion clauses 
Insurance, Administration 30897 R590-218 5YR 01/11/2008 2008-3/80  

 
discrimination 
Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Antidiscrimination 

31241 R606-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31242 R606-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Fair Housing 

31240 R608-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
dismissal of employees 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31209 R477-11 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/108  

 
disruptive students 
Education, Administration 30958 R277-609-5  NSC 02/29/2008 Not Printed 
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diversion programs 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31288 R156-1 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/30  

 30655 R156-1-102a  AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/3  

 
drinking water 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 31157 R309-352 5YR 04/18/2008 2008-10/144  

 
driver address record 
Public Safety, Driver License 31121 R708-42-4  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
driver education 
Education, Administration 31039 R277-746 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/64  

 31040 R277-747 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/64  

Public Safety, Driver License 31105 R708-2-25  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31113 R708-18-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
driver license 
Human Services, Recovery Services 31152 R527-260 NEW 07/01/2008 2008-9/46  

Public Safety, Driver License 31119 R708-36-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31123 R708-44-4  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
driver license verification 
Public Safety, Driver License 31122 R708-43 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
driver training 
Public Safety, Driver License 31120 R708-37-11  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
dual employment 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31193 R477-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/101  

 30778 R477-8-5  AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/16  

 
due process 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31089 R523-1 5YR 03/31/2008 2008-8/53  

 30767 R523-1 NSC 03/31/2008 Not Printed 

 
DUI programs 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31352 R523-22-9  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
economic development 
Governor, Economic Development 31153 R357-3 NEW 06/18/2008 2008-9/37  

 
education 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31218 R152-34-10  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Education, Administration 30846 R277-470-7  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/9  

 30884 R277-709 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

 30885 R277-718 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

 30888 R277-730 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/77  

 
education finance 
Education, Administration 30845 R277-423 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/8  
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educational facilities 
Education, Administration 31441 R277-471 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/70  

 
educational policy 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31515 R765-555 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/64  

 31104 R765-555 NSC 06/02/2008 Not Printed 

 
educational testing 
Education, Administration 30883 R277-702 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/74  

 
educational tuition 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31195 R477-10 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/106  

 
educator 
Education, Administration 30976 R277-515-3  NSC 02/27/2008 Not Printed 

 
educator licensing 
Education, Administration 30944 R277-502 AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/6  

 30878 R277-518 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/72  

 
educators 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

31016 R686-103 REP 04/21/2008 2008-6/12  

 
effluent standards 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30639 R317-1-4  AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/52  

 30637 R317-13 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/61  

 
eldercare 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31378 R510-110-5  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
elderly 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31379 R510-200-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
electric generating unit 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30965 R307-220 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

 30969 R307-224 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

 30704 R307-224-2  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/39  

 
electric utility industries 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31617 R746-210 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/145  

 
electrologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30953 R156-11a AMD 04/10/2008 2008-5/5  

 31174 R156-11a-601  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
electronic commerce 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

30642 R154-10 REP 03/03/2008 2007-22/16  

 
electronic communication 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

30642 R154-10 REP 03/03/2008 2007-22/16  

 
electronic funds transfer 
Human Services, Recovery Services 31159 R527-920 NEW 06/27/2008 2008-10/122  
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electronic meetings 
Agriculture and Food, Conservation and 
Resource Management 

31079 R64-2 NEW 06/03/2008 2008-8/4  

 
electronic preliminary lien filing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31177 R156-38b-703  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
elevators 
Labor Commission, Safety 31253 R616-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30943 R616-3-3  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/21  

 
eligibility 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30938 R414-308 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/46  

 30927 R414-308-7  AMD 04/01/2008 2008-4/16  

Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

30721 R512-50 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30718 R512-50 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/60  

 
emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

31068 R426-5-3  AMD 06/04/2008 2008-8/17  

 30758 R426-6 AMD 02/07/2008 2007-24/14  

 31096 R426-8-4  AMD 06/05/2008 2008-8/22  

 30954 R426-15-203  AMD 06/24/2008 2008-5/19  

 
emergency meetings 
Environmental Quality, Administration 30506 R305-3 NSC 02/15/2008 Not Printed 

 30766 R305-3 REP 02/15/2008 2007-24/6  

 
emergency vehicles 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

31433 R722-340 5YR 05/14/2008 2008-11/128  

 30930 R722-340 NSC 05/14/2008 Not Printed 

 
employee benefit plans 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31191 R477-6 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/91  

 
employee performance evaluations 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31195 R477-10 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/106  

 
employee productivity 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31195 R477-10 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/106  

 
employees' rights 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31210 R477-12 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/110  

 
employer 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31229 R612-5 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

 
employment 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31189 R477-4 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/88  

 31190 R477-5 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/90  
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Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Antidiscrimination 

31241 R606-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31242 R606-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

31468 R994-202 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/65  

 
employment agencies 
Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Labor 

31438 R610-4 REP 07/08/2008 2008-11/101  

 31239 R610-4 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
endangered species 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31112 R652-120 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
energy 
Natural Resources, Geological Survey 30902 R638-2-6  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/35  

 
energy utility 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31072 R746-440 NSC 04/11/2008 Not Printed 

 
enforcement 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 31431 R655-14 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/104  

 
engineers 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

30591 R131-1 AMD 02/29/2008 2007-21/11  

Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31175 R156-22-305  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
English proficiency 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31490 R765-136 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/63  

 31326 R765-136 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
enrollment 
Education, Administration 31037 R277-485 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/63  

 
enterprise zones 
Tax Commission, Auditing 30916 R865-9I-37  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/63  

 30849 R865-9I-53  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/36  

 
environmental protection 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30698 R307-115 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/28  

 30961 R307-115 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

 
essential facilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31374 R746-349-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
estheticians 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30953 R156-11a AMD 04/10/2008 2008-5/5  

 31174 R156-11a-601  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
exceptional children 
Education, Administration 31041 R277-751 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/65  

 
exemptions 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31170 R313-12-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30774 R313-12-111  AMD 04/11/2008 2007-24/8  
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 30774 R313-12-111  CPR 04/11/2008 2008-5/34  

 
exemptions to wildland fire suppression fund 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31111 R652-123 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
expelled 
Education, Administration 31036 R277-483 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/62  

 
extended area service 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31045 R746-347 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

 
extinguishers 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 31076 R710-1-4  AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/31  

 
extracurricular activities 
Education, Administration 30880 R277-605 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/73  

 
eyeglasses 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30776 R414-53 AMD 02/01/2008 2007-24/13  

 31528 R414-53 5YR 06/05/2008 2008-13/148  

 
facility notice 
Corrections, Administration 30803 R251-114 NEW 03/11/2008 2008-1/6  

 
fair employment practices 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31187 R477-2 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/84  

 31189 R477-4 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/88  

 
fair housing 
Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Fair Housing 

31240 R608-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
family employment program 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

31032 R986-200 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/18  

 30864 R986-200-214  AMD 02/26/2008 2008-2/25  

 31365 R986-200-240  AMD 07/02/2008 2008-10/135  

 
fees 
Administrative Services, Finance 31363 R25-14 EMR 05/05/2008 2008-10/140  

Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

30721 R512-50 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30718 R512-50 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/60  

Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31089 R523-1 5YR 03/31/2008 2008-8/53  

 30767 R523-1 NSC 03/31/2008 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31234 R612-2 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/148  

 31333 R612-2-5  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/130  

Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 30621 R651-611 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-22/80  

 30898 R651-611 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/39  

Public Safety, Driver License 31113 R708-18-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
filing deadlines 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 31250 R602-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31235 R612-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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filing requirements 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31072 R746-440 NSC 04/11/2008 Not Printed 

 
finance 
Administrative Services, Finance 31318 R25-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31316 R25-6 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

 31321 R25-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/7  

 
financial aid 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31402 R765-605 5YR 05/09/2008 2008-11/128  

 30957 R765-607 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/60  

 
financial disclosures 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30652 R414-304 AMD 01/28/2008 2007-23/54  

 30924 R414-304 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

 
financial institutions 
Financial Institutions, Administration 31256 R331-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31315 R331-22-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
fire alarm systems 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 31086 R710-11-3  AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/42  

 
fire marshal 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30963 R307-202 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/42  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 31076 R710-1-4  AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/31  

 31085 R710-7 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/40  

 30919 R710-9-6  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/52  

 
fire training 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 30894 R710-10 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/56  

 
firearms 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 30901 R651-612 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/42  

 
fireworks 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 30918 R710-2-4  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/50  

 31078 R710-2-7  AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/34  

 
fiscal 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 30899 R651-301 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/37  

 
fish 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30676 R657-13 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/61  

 31048 R657-13-3  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/47  

 30904 R657-13-4  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/43  

 30903 R657-58 NEW 03/10/2008 2008-3/47  

 31052 R657-58 NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

 31625 R657-59 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/131  

 31624 R657-60 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/139  
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fishing 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30676 R657-13 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/61  

 31048 R657-13-3  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/47  

 30904 R657-13-4  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/43  

 30903 R657-58 NEW 03/10/2008 2008-3/47  

 31052 R657-58 NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

 
fleet expansion 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 30618 R27-4 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-22/9  

 
food aid programs 
Education, Administration 30886 R277-721 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/76  

 31014 R277-721 REP 04/21/2008 2008-6/5  

 30887 R277-722 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/76  

 31015 R277-722 REP 04/21/2008 2008-6/6  

 
foods 
Education, Administration 30848 R277-719 NEW 02/07/2008 2008-1/12  

 
franchises 
Commerce, Administration 31354 R151-14-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31355 R151-35-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Commerce, Consumer Protection 31214 R152-15-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Tax Commission, Auditing 30913 R865-6F-28  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/61  

 30842 R865-6F-37  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/35  

 
fraud 
Human Services, Recovery Services 30982 R527-928 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/26  

 
free enterprise 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31104 R765-555 NSC 06/02/2008 Not Printed 

 
freedom of information 
Administrative Services, Administration 31343 R13-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31345 R151-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31385 R151-2-4  AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/49  

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31225 R657-29 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
fuel composition 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30964 R307-203 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

 
fuel oil 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30964 R307-203 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

 
funding 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 31157 R309-352 5YR 04/18/2008 2008-10/144  

 
game birds 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31222 R657-22-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30829 R657-5 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/18  

 30828 R657-23 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/25  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 193 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 30955 R657-23-5  AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/31  

 30906 R657-33 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/44  

 31398 R657-34 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/125  

 
gangs 
Education, Administration 31518 R277-436 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  

 
general assistance 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

31034 R986-400-406  AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/20  

 
general conformity 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30698 R307-115 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/28  

 30961 R307-115 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

 
geology 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30694 R156-76 AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/17  

 
good cause 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31659 R671-515 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
government documents 
Commerce, Administration 31345 R151-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31385 R151-2-4  AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/49  

 31284 R380-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31368 R495-810 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31259 R652-6 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31225 R657-29 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
government ethics 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31194 R477-9 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/104  

 
government hearings 
Administrative Services, Administrative 
Rules 

31143 R15-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Administrative Services, Finance 31318 R25-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31179 R156-46b NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Financial Institutions, Administration 31256 R331-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31209 R477-11 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/108  

 30949 R671-403 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

 31373 R746-100 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31372 R746-101-4  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
government purchasing 
Administrative Services, Purchasing and 
General Services 

31477 R33-1 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31478 R33-2-101  NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31479 R33-3 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31480 R33-4 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31481 R33-5 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31482 R33-7 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31483 R33-8-101  NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 
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government records 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 31324 R270-4 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
governmental immunity act caps 
Administrative Services, Risk Management 31150 R37-4 R&R 07/01/2008 2008-9/5  

 
graduation requirements 
Education, Administration 30977 R277-703-6  NSC 02/27/2008 Not Printed 

 
GRAMA 
Health, Administration 31284 R380-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31259 R652-6 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Regents (Board Of), Salt Lake Community 
College 

31344 R784-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

31340 R805-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
grants 
Community and Culture, Housing and 
Community Development 

30451 R199-8 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-19/6  

Education, Administration 31443 R277-490 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/74  

 
grievance procedures 
Health, Administration 31285 R380-100 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30688 R861-1A-20  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/68  

 30589 R861-1A-24  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-21/69  

 30717 R861-1A-26  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/69  

 30838 R861-1A-40  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/32  

 30835 R861-1A-42  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/33  

 30780 R861-1A-43  AMD 01/25/2008 2007-24/24  

 
grievances 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31188 R477-3 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/87  

 31209 R477-11 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/108  

 31210 R477-12 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/110  

 
habitat designation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31226 R657-48-7  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
halfway houses 
Human Services, Recovery Services 31133 R527-257 REP 06/09/2008 2008-9/45  

 
Hatch Act 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31194 R477-9 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/104  

 
hazardous air pollutant 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30430 R307-214 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/12  

 30895 R307-214 5YR 01/11/2008 2008-3/77  

 
hazardous materials 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 30893 R710-12 NEW 03/10/2008 2008-3/58  

 31087 R710-12-4  AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/44  
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hazardous materials transportation 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 31090 R909-75 AMD 05/27/2008 2008-8/45  

 
hazardous substances 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

31487 R311-201 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

Transportation, Motor Carrier 31090 R909-75 AMD 05/27/2008 2008-8/45  

 
hazardous substances priority list 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

30567 R311-401-2  AMD 01/02/2008 2007-21/59  

 
hazardous waste 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

31377 R315-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31065 R315-3 NSC 04/11/2008 Not Printed 

 31376 R315-12 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30907 R315-15-1  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/16  

 30908 R315-15-10  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/19  

 30909 R315-15-11  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/21  

 30910 R315-15-12  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/23  

 30911 R315-15-17  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/29  

Transportation, Motor Carrier 31090 R909-75 AMD 05/27/2008 2008-8/45  

 
health 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

31167 R428-11 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  

 31021 R428-11 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

 31168 R428-13 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  

 31022 R428-13 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

 30956 R428-13-4  AMD 05/16/2008 2008-5/25  

 
health administration 
Health, Administration 31283 R380-10 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
health care 
Health, Community and Family Health 
Services, Children with Special Health 
Care Needs 

31350 R398-1 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/60  

 
health care facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

31489 R432-35 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/54  

 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

30975 R432-16 5YR 02/11/2008 2008-5/58  

 
health insurance 
Insurance, Administration 30462 R590-167-11  AMD 05/20/2008 2007-20/23  

 30462 R590-167-11  CPR 05/20/2008 2008-3/68  

 
health planning 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

31167 R428-11 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  

 31021 R428-11 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

 31168 R428-13 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
196 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 31022 R428-13 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

 30956 R428-13-4  AMD 05/16/2008 2008-5/25  

 
health policy 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

31021 R428-11 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

 31168 R428-13 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  

 31022 R428-13 NSC 04/21/2008 Not Printed 

 30956 R428-13-4  AMD 05/16/2008 2008-5/25  

 
health spas 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31217 R152-23-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
hearing 
Health, Community and Family Health 
Services, Children with Special Health 
Care Needs 

31651 R398-2 5YR 07/02/2008 Not Printed 

 
hearing impaired 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31375 R746-510 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
hearings 
Community and Culture, Home Energy 
Assistance Target (HEAT) 

31331 R195-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 31461 R307-103 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30948 R317-9 5YR 02/01/2008 2008-4/42  

Labor Commission, Adjudication 31236 R602-2-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30811 R602-2-4  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/14  

 31238 R602-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30810 R602-3-3  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/16  

 31643 R602-4 EMR 07/01/2008 2008-14/129  

Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31655 R671-516 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 30951 R686-100 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

 
higher education 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31325 R765-134 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31490 R765-136 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/63  

 31326 R765-136 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31515 R765-555 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/64  

 31104 R765-555 NSC 06/02/2008 Not Printed 

 31402 R765-605 5YR 05/09/2008 2008-11/128  

 30957 R765-607 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/60  

 31327 R765-993 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

31340 R805-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
higher education assistance 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31405 R765-606 5YR 05/09/2008 2008-11/129  

 
HIPAA 
Health, Administration 31455 R380-250 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/52  

 31484 R495-881 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/55  
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hiring practices 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31189 R477-4 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/88  

 
historic preservation 
Tax Commission, Auditing 30913 R865-6F-28  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/61  

 30842 R865-6F-37  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/35  

 30916 R865-9I-37  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/63  

 30849 R865-9I-53  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/36  

 
holidays 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31192 R477-7 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/95  

 
hospital 
Health, Administration 31286 R380-200 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31280 R380-210-6  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31424 R414-5 5YR 05/13/2008 2008-11/125  

 
hospital policy 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

31167 R428-11 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/146  

 
hospitals 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30702 R307-222 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/36  

 30967 R307-222 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

 30833 R307-222-1  NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 

 
hostile work environment 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31208 R477-15 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/112  

 
housing 
Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Fair Housing 

31240 R608-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
human services 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

31017 R501-16 5YR 02/22/2008 2008-6/25  

 31026 R501-17 5YR 02/27/2008 2008-6/25  

Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

30877 R539-1-8  AMD 04/01/2008 2008-3/32  

 30926 R539-1-8  EMR 01/28/2008 2008-4/38  

 
hunter education 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30828 R657-23 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/25  

 30955 R657-23-5  AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/31  

 
hunting closures 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31398 R657-34 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/125  

 
impairment ratings 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31231 R612-7 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/150  

 
implements of husbandry 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 30783 R909-1-1  AMD 02/15/2008 2007-24/25  
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import restrictions 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31047 R657-3 5YR 03/11/2008 2008-7/65  

 31220 R657-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31053 R657-3 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/45  

 31051 R657-53 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/50  

 31508 R657-53 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/61  

 31228 R657-53 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
imputation 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31374 R746-349-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
in-service training 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

31648 R728-501 5YR 07/01/2008 2008-14/144  

 
incident 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31656 R671-509 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
incinerators 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30965 R307-220 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

 
income 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30921 R414-302 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/43  

 30925 R414-303 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

 30652 R414-304 AMD 01/28/2008 2007-23/54  

 30924 R414-304 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

 
income distribution 
Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

30720 R512-20 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30716 R512-20 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/58  

 
income tax 
Tax Commission, Auditing 30916 R865-9I-37  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/63  

 30849 R865-9I-53  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/36  

 
income withholding fees 
Human Services, Recovery Services 31163 R527-302 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/120  

 31160 R527-302 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/147  

 
independent foster care adolescent 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30925 R414-303 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/44  

 
industrial waste 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30639 R317-1-4  AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/52  

 30637 R317-13 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/61  

 
infectious waste 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30702 R307-222 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/36  

 30967 R307-222 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

 30833 R307-222-1  NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 



RULES INDEX 
 

  
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 199 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
informal adjudicative proceedings 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31251 R612-9-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
injury prevention 
Health, Administration 31280 R380-210-6  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
inspections 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 31006 R68-5 5YR 02/15/2008 2008-5/39  

 30611 R68-7 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-22/11  

 31127 R68-8-2  AMD 07/02/2008 2008-9/7  

Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31170 R313-12-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30774 R313-12-111  AMD 04/11/2008 2007-24/8  

 30774 R313-12-111  CPR 04/11/2008 2008-5/34  

 
instructional materials 
Education, Administration 30781 R277-469 AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/4  

 31035 R277-469 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/62  

 
insurance 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31191 R477-6 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/91  

 31131 R590-154 5YR 04/09/2008 2008-9/54  

 30508 R590-175 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-20/24  

 30897 R590-218 5YR 01/11/2008 2008-3/80  

 31525 R590-219 5YR 06/04/2008 2008-13/150  

 31523 R590-222 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/58  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31229 R612-5 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

 
insurance fee 
Insurance, Administration 30890 R590-157 5YR 01/10/2008 2008-3/79  

 
insurance law 
Insurance, Administration 31059 R590-91 AMD 05/29/2008 2008-7/35  

 31132 R590-94 5YR 04/09/2008 2008-9/53  

 31030 R590-164 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-6/10  

 31077 R590-191 AMD 05/29/2008 2008-8/27  

 
insurance reserves and nonforfeitures 
Insurance, Administration 31552 R590-223 5YR 06/12/2008 2008-13/151  

 
interpreters 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31375 R746-510 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
interstate 
Human Services, Recovery Services 30978 R527-305 5YR 02/12/2008 2008-5/58  

 31025 R527-305 AMD 04/21/2008 2008-6/8  

 
interstate compacts 
Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

31075 R994-106-106  AMD 05/30/2008 2008-8/48  

 
intrastate driver license waivers 
Public Safety, Driver License 31116 R708-34 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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job creation 
Governor, Economic Development 30788 R357-2 NEW 01/30/2008 2007-24/9  

 30859 R357-2-7  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

 
job descriptions 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31188 R477-3 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/87  

 
jobs 
Governor, Economic Development 31153 R357-3 NEW 06/18/2008 2008-9/37  

 
juvenile courts 
Education, Administration 30884 R277-709 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

 
kinship 
Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

31589 R512-500 EMR 06/18/2008 2008-14/125  

 
labor 
Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Labor 

31247 R610-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31149 R610-1-4  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/48  

 31245 R610-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30942 R610-2-6  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/19  

 31243 R610-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30876 R610-3-4  EMR 01/03/2008 2008-3/70  

 30941 R610-3-4  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/20  

 31148 R610-3-10  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/50  

Labor Commission, Safety 31233 R616-1 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/150  

 31249 R616-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
labor commission 
Labor Commission, Administration 31232 R600-1 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/148  

 31237 R600-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
landfills 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30965 R307-220 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/43  

 
landscape architects 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31074 R156-53 5YR 03/24/2008 2008-8/52  

 
language proficiency 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31490 R765-136 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/63  

 31326 R765-136 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
law 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 30919 R710-9-6  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/52  

 
law enforcement 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

30929 R722-320 NSC 05/14/2008 Not Printed 

 31434 R722-320 5YR 05/14/2008 2008-11/127  

 
law enforcement officers 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

31648 R728-501 5YR 07/01/2008 2008-14/144  
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lead-based paint 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30973 R307-840 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

 30708 R307-840 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/48  

 
LEAP 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31405 R765-606 5YR 05/09/2008 2008-11/129  

 
leases 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31270 R652-30-500  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
leave benefits 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31192 R477-7 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/95  

 
liberties 
Natural Resources, Administration 30875 R634-1 NSC 01/25/2008 Not Printed 

 30923 R634-1 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/47  

 
license 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31399 R657-45 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/127  

 31050 R657-45-2  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/49  

 
license plates 
Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle 30844 R873-22M-34  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/38  

 31264 R873-22M-41  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/133  

 
licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31288 R156-1 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/30  

 30655 R156-1-102a  AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/3  

 30935 R156-3a-303  AMD 03/27/2008 2008-4/5  

 30715 R156-26a AMD 03/31/2008 2007-23/4  

 30715 R156-26a CPR 03/31/2008 2008-4/35  

 31396 R156-28 AMD 07/10/2008 2008-11/56  

 31156 R156-31b AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/34  

 31094 R156-31b 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/51  

 30654 R156-38a AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/14  

 31176 R156-38a-105a  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31178 R156-40-302e  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30853 R156-47b AMD 02/21/2008 2008-2/4  

 31180 R156-49 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31073 R156-49 5YR 03/24/2008 2008-8/52  

 31074 R156-53 5YR 03/24/2008 2008-8/52  

 31292 R156-55a AMD 06/24/2008 2008-10/42  

 30892 R156-55a AMD 03/11/2008 2008-3/3  

 31181 R156-55d NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30574 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/38  

 31139 R156-56 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/23  

 30573 R156-56-420  AMD 01/01/2008 2007-21/57  

 31142 R156-56-701  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-9/30  

 30915 R156-61 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-3/6  
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 30915 R156-61 CPR 05/08/2008 2008-7/55  

 31182 R156-63 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31183 R156-67 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31083 R156-68 5YR 03/27/2008 2008-8/53  

 31185 R156-68 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31136 R156-69 AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/35  

 30854 R156-71 CPR 07/08/2008 2008-11/121  

 30854 R156-71 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-2/6  

 30694 R156-76 AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/17  

Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

31017 R501-16 5YR 02/22/2008 2008-6/25  

 31026 R501-17 5YR 02/27/2008 2008-6/25  

Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Labor 

31438 R610-4 REP 07/08/2008 2008-11/101  

 31239 R610-4 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31224 R657-27-11  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Public Safety, Driver License 31436 R708-10 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/116  

 31113 R708-18-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Sports Authority (Utah), Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission 

31028 R859-1 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/15  

 31172 R859-1-102  NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31029 R859-1-302  AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/16  

 
liens 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30654 R156-38a AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/14  

 31176 R156-38a-105a  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
limitation on judgments 
Administrative Services, Risk Management 31150 R37-4 R&R 07/01/2008 2008-9/5  

 
liquefied petroleum gas 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 30862 R710-6 AMD 02/21/2008 2008-2/22  

 31082 R710-6-4  AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/37  

 
loans 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 31103 R317-101 5YR 04/02/2008 2008-9/53  

 
LTCO 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31379 R510-200-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
MACT 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30430 R307-214 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/12  

 30895 R307-214 5YR 01/11/2008 2008-3/77  

 
maps 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 31130 R655-5 5YR 04/08/2008 2008-9/54  

 
market trading program 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30970 R307-250 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  

 
marketing 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31214 R152-15-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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massage therapy 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30853 R156-47b AMD 02/21/2008 2008-2/4  

 
match requirement 
Human Services, Administration 30773 R495-861 AMD 01/30/2008 2007-24/18  

 
Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing 30981 R410-14-17  EMR 02/15/2008 2008-5/36  

 31129 R410-14-17  AMD 06/09/2008 2008-9/38  

Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31359 R414-1-5  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/64  

 31424 R414-5 5YR 05/13/2008 2008-11/125  

 31169 R414-6 5YR 04/21/2008 2008-10/145  

 30653 R414-21 R&R 01/10/2008 2007-23/50  

 31046 R414-27 NSC 03/25/2008 Not Printed 

 30920 R414-27 5YR 01/17/2008 2008-4/42  

 31360 R414-27 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/65  

 31135 R414-40 R&R 06/23/2008 2008-9/39  

 31452 R414-51 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/53  

 30775 R414-52 AMD 02/01/2008 2007-24/12  

 31453 R414-52 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/54  

 30776 R414-53 AMD 02/01/2008 2007-24/13  

 31528 R414-53 5YR 06/05/2008 2008-13/148  

 30378 R414-71 CPR 03/31/2008 2008-3/66  

 30378 R414-71 AMD 03/31/2008 2007-18/40  

 30936 R414-301 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/43  

 30937 R414-305 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/45  

 30945 R414-305 AMD 04/01/2008 2008-4/9  

 30938 R414-308 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/46  

 30927 R414-308-7  AMD 04/01/2008 2008-4/16  

 31356 R414-310 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/66  

 31358 R414-320 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/68  

 31362 R414-504 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/71  

 31361 R414-508 NEW 07/01/2008 2008-10/78  

 30917 R414-510 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/30  

 
medical incinerator 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30702 R307-222 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/36  

 30967 R307-222 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

 30833 R307-222-1  NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 

 
medical malpractice 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31055 R156-78A NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

 
medical practitioner 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31234 R612-2 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/148  

 31333 R612-2-5  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/130  
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medical transportation 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30922 R414-306 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/45  

 
medication treatment 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31449 R525-3 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/56  

 
mercury 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30969 R307-224 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

 30704 R307-224-2  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/39  

 
minerals reclamation 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Non-Coal 

31510 R647-1 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/59  

 31205 R647-1-106  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31511 R647-2 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/59  

 31512 R647-3 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/60  

 31513 R647-4 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/60  

 31514 R647-5 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/61  

 31206 R647-5 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
minimum standards 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31109 R652-122-100  NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
mining 
Labor Commission, Safety 31233 R616-1 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/150  

 31249 R616-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
minors 
Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Labor 

31247 R610-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31149 R610-1-4  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/48  

 31245 R610-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30942 R610-2-6  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/19  

 31243 R610-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30876 R610-3-4  EMR 01/03/2008 2008-3/70  

 30941 R610-3-4  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/20  

 31148 R610-3-10  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/50  

 
monitoring 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30962 R307-170 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/41  

 30699 R307-170-7  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/29  

 
motor vehicle record 
Public Safety, Driver License 31119 R708-36-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31123 R708-44-4  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
motor vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 31354 R151-14-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Commerce, Consumer Protection 31215 R152-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30889 R307-121-3  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle 30844 R873-22M-34  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/38  
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 31264 R873-22M-41  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/133  

Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle 
Enforcement 

31255 R877-23V-19  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/135  

 
motorcycle rider training schools 
Public Safety, Driver License 31115 R708-30-14  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
motorcycles 
Commerce, Administration 31355 R151-35-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
municipal landfills 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30701 R307-221 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/32  

 30966 R307-221 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/44  

 30832 R307-221-2  NSC 02/08/2008 Not Printed 

 
municipal waste incinerator 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30703 R307-223 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/38  

 30968 R307-223 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

 
mutual water corporations 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31095 R746-331 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  

 
nail technicians 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30953 R156-11a AMD 04/10/2008 2008-5/5  

 31174 R156-11a-601  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
naturopathic physician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30854 R156-71 CPR 07/08/2008 2008-11/121  

 30854 R156-71 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-2/6  

 
naturopaths 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30854 R156-71 CPR 07/08/2008 2008-11/121  

 30854 R156-71 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-2/6  

 
new hire registry 
Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

31549 R994-315 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/152  

 
newborn screening 
Health, Community and Family Health 
Services, Children with Special Health 
Care Needs 

31350 R398-1 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/60  

 31651 R398-2 5YR 07/02/2008 Not Printed 

 
notice of commencement 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31177 R156-38b-703  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
notice of completion 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31177 R156-38b-703  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
nurses 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31156 R156-31b AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/34  

 31094 R156-31b 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/51  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
206 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
nutrition 
Education, Administration 30848 R277-719 NEW 02/07/2008 2008-1/12  

 
occupational licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31288 R156-1 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/30  

 30655 R156-1-102a  AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/3  

 31179 R156-46b NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31292 R156-55a AMD 06/24/2008 2008-10/42  

 30892 R156-55a AMD 03/11/2008 2008-3/3  

 
off road vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 31355 R151-35-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
off-premise 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31353 R523-24-13  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
OHV 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 31690 R651-407 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31691 R651-408 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 
oil and gas law 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Oil and Gas 

31207 R649-10-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
ombudsman 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31379 R510-200-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
one-time signing bonuses 
Education, Administration 31439 R277-109 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/67  

 
open burning 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30963 R307-202 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/42  

 
operating permits 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30700 R307-215 REP 02/08/2008 2007-23/31  

 30706 R307-417 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/43  

 
optometry 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30775 R414-52 AMD 02/01/2008 2007-24/12  

 31453 R414-52 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/54  

 
orders 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31171 R313-17 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
orthodontia 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31452 R414-51 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/53  

 
osteopathic physician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31083 R156-68 5YR 03/27/2008 2008-8/53  

 31185 R156-68 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
osteopaths 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31083 R156-68 5YR 03/27/2008 2008-8/53  
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 31185 R156-68 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
overtime 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31193 R477-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/101  

 30778 R477-8-5  AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/16  

 
paint 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30973 R307-840 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

 30708 R307-840 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/48  

 
parking facilities 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31063 R23-13 5YR 03/17/2008 2008-8/50  

Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Parking and Transportation Services 

30712 R810-1 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-23/65  

 30722 R810-2 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-23/67  

 30727 R810-3 REP 03/06/2008 2007-24/21  

 30728 R810-4 REP 03/06/2008 2007-24/22  

 30779 R810-5 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-24/23  

 30809 R810-6 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/26  

 30831 R810-7 REP 03/06/2008 2008-1/27  

 30834 R810-8 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/28  

 30836 R810-9 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/29  

 30839 R810-10 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/30  

 30840 R810-11 AMD 03/06/2008 2008-1/31  

 30843 R810-12 NEW 03/06/2008 2008-1/32  

 
parks 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 30900 R651-205-17  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/36  

 31690 R651-407 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31691 R651-408 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31661 R651-601 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31662 R651-602 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31663 R651-603 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31664 R651-604 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31665 R651-605 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31666 R651-606 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31667 R651-607 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31668 R651-608 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31669 R651-609 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31670 R651-610 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30621 R651-611 AMD 01/01/2008 2007-22/80  

 30898 R651-611 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/39  

 31012 R651-612 NSC 03/10/2008 Not Printed 

 31671 R651-612 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30901 R651-612 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/42  

 31672 R651-613 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31673 R651-614 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31674 R651-615 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 
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 31675 R651-616 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31676 R651-617 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31677 R651-618 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31678 R651-619 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31679 R651-620 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31680 R651-621 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31681 R651-622 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31682 R651-623 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31683 R651-624 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31684 R651-625 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31660 R651-626 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31685 R651-627 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31686 R651-628 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31687 R651-629 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31601 R651-630 5YR 06/20/2008 2008-14/144  

 31688 R651-631 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 31689 R651-632 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 
parole 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 30949 R671-403 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

 31656 R671-509 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 31658 R671-510 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 31657 R671-512 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 31654 R671-514 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 31659 R671-515 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 31655 R671-516 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
patient rights 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31450 R525-2 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/55  

 
patient safety 
Health, Administration 31286 R380-200 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31280 R380-210-6  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
paying standards 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31092 R746-342 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

 
PCN 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31358 R414-320 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/68  

 
peer review 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30715 R156-26a AMD 03/31/2008 2007-23/4  

 30715 R156-26a CPR 03/31/2008 2008-4/35  

 
penalties 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31251 R612-9-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
per diem allowance 
Administrative Services, Finance 31317 R25-5 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  
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per diem allowances 
Administrative Services, Finance 31319 R25-7 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/144  

 31320 R25-7 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/4  

 
performance-based compensation program 
Education, Administration 31440 R277-113 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/69  

 
permit 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31399 R657-45 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/127  

 31050 R657-45-2  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/49  

 
permits 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30709 R307-401-14  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/42  

Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31112 R652-120 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31400 R657-42 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/126  

 31049 R657-42-8  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/48  

 
permitting authority 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30700 R307-215 REP 02/08/2008 2007-23/31  

 30706 R307-417 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/43  

 
persistently dangerous schools 
Education, Administration 31036 R277-483 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/62  

 
personal property 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 31274 R884-24P-62  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 30931 R884-24P-62  AMD 03/28/2008 2008-4/30  

 
personnel management 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31186 R477-1 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/79  

 31190 R477-5 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/90  

 31191 R477-6 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/91  

 31194 R477-9 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/104  

 31211 R477-13 NSC 06/19/2008 Not Printed 

 
petroleum 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

31486 R311-200 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31487 R311-201 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31488 R311-210 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 
physically handicapped persons 
Commerce, Administration 31346 R151-3-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
physicians 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31183 R156-67 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
pleas 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31654 R671-514 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
PM10 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30971 R307-310 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  
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 30705 R307-310-2  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/40  

 
point-system 
Public Safety, Driver License 31106 R708-3-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
pools 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Environmental Services 

31097 R392-302 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/6  

 
position classifications 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31188 R477-3 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/87  

 
post-conviction 
Administrative Services, Finance 31363 R25-14 EMR 05/05/2008 2008-10/140  

 
postsecondary proprietary school 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31218 R152-34-10  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
POTW 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30636 R317-14 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/62  

 
powersport vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 31355 R151-35-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
preenterprise 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31515 R765-555 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/64  

 
preliminary notice 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31177 R156-38b-703  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
prelitigation 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31055 R156-78A NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

 
primary care 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

31356 R414-310 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/66  

 
privacy 
Health, Administration 31455 R380-250 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/52  

 31484 R495-881 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/55  

Public Safety, Driver License 31119 R708-36-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
private schools 
Education, Administration 31040 R277-747 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/64  

 
private security officers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31182 R156-63 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
probable cause 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31658 R671-510 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
procedures 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31617 R746-210 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/145  

 31619 R746-240 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/146  

 31618 R746-340 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/147  
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procurement 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

30591 R131-1 AMD 02/29/2008 2007-21/11  

 30590 R131-4 R&R 02/29/2008 2007-21/13  

 
professional 
Education, Administration 30976 R277-515-3  NSC 02/27/2008 Not Printed 

 
professional competency 
Education, Administration 30944 R277-502 AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/6  

 31038 R277-508 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/63  

 
professional education 
Education, Administration 31444 R277-504 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/77  

 30878 R277-518 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/72  

 
professional engineers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31175 R156-22-305  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
professional geologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30694 R156-76 AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/17  

 
professional land surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31175 R156-22-305  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
program benefits 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30922 R414-306 5YR 01/25/2008 2008-4/45  

 
prohibited items and devices 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31089 R523-1 5YR 03/31/2008 2008-8/53  

 30767 R523-1 NSC 03/31/2008 Not Printed 

Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31031 R525-6 NEW 05/01/2008 2008-6/7  

 
promotions 
Agriculture and Food, Marketing and 
Development 

31007 R65-2 5YR 02/15/2008 2008-5/38  

 31008 R65-5 5YR 02/15/2008 2008-5/38  

 
proof 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 31130 R655-5 5YR 04/08/2008 2008-9/54  

 
property claims 
Treasurer, Unclaimed Property 30596 R966-1-2  AMD 01/07/2008 2007-22/87  

 
property tax 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 31274 R884-24P-62  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 30931 R884-24P-62  AMD 03/28/2008 2008-4/30  

 
property transactions 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31607 R23-22 EMR 06/25/2008 2008-14/122  

 
PSD 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30431 R307-405 AMD 01/11/2008 2007-19/15  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
212 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 15, 2008, Vol. 2008, No. 14 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
psychologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

30915 R156-61 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-3/6  

 30915 R156-61 CPR 05/08/2008 2008-7/55  

 
public assistance programs 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

30938 R414-308 5YR 01/31/2008 2008-4/46  

 30927 R414-308-7  AMD 04/01/2008 2008-4/16  

Human Services, Recovery Services 30982 R527-928 AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/26  

 
public buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31064 R23-14 5YR 03/17/2008 2008-8/50  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

30590 R131-4 R&R 02/29/2008 2007-21/13  

 
public comments 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31171 R313-17 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
public hearings 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31171 R313-17 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
public information 
Administrative Services, Administration 31343 R13-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31187 R477-2 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/84  

 
public petitions 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31268 R652-7 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
public records 
Career Service Review Board, 
Administration 

31473 R137-2 5YR 05/21/2008 2008-12/50  

 31345 R151-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31385 R151-2-4  AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/49  

 31284 R380-20 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Administration 

31202 R642-100 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31203 R642-200 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31259 R652-6 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31225 R657-29 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
public schools 
Education, Administration 31518 R277-436 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  

 31519 R277-460 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  

 31443 R277-490 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/74  

 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31373 R746-100 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31372 R746-101-4  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31620 R746-110 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/145  

 31369 R746-110 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31044 R746-330 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

 31095 R746-331 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  
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 31091 R746-332 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  

 31092 R746-342 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

 31045 R746-347 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

 31374 R746-349-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31371 R746-400-7  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31093 R746-402 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

 31101 R746-405 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/57  

 
quality improvement 
Health, Administration 31286 R380-200 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31280 R380-210-6  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
quarantine 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 31125 R68-14 5YR 04/04/2008 2008-9/52  

 31543 R68-16 5YR 06/09/2008 2008-13/147  

 31126 R68-16 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-9/11  

 31009 R68-17 REP 04/11/2008 2008-5/4  

Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Epidemiology 

31099 R386-702-12  AMD 06/11/2008 2008-8/5  

 
rabies 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Epidemiology 

31099 R386-702-12  AMD 06/11/2008 2008-8/5  

 
radioactive material 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 30865 R313-15 AMD 03/17/2008 2008-2/10  

 
railroads 
Transportation, Preconstruction 31066 R930-5 AMD 06/10/2008 2008-8/46  

 
rates 
Administrative Services, Finance 31317 R25-5 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

 31321 R25-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/7  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 30594 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2008 2007-22/76  

Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

31547 R994-306 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/151  

 31548 R994-307 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/152  

 
real estate 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31607 R23-22 EMR 06/25/2008 2008-14/122  

 
real estate business 
Commerce, Real Estate 31003 R162-2-2  AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/7  

 31001 R162-8-4  AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/10  

 
reclamation 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

30932 R645-100-200  AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/23  

 31204 R645-100-500  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31509 R645-102 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/58  

 30934 R645-300-100  AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/24  

 30933 R645-301 AMD 03/26/2008 2008-4/25  
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records 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

31340 R805-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
records access 
Career Service Review Board, 
Administration 

31473 R137-2 5YR 05/21/2008 2008-12/50  

 31327 R765-993 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
records management 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31327 R765-993 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
recreation 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 30899 R651-301 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/37  

 
recreation therapy 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31178 R156-40-302e  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
recreational therapy 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31178 R156-40-302e  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
recreational vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 31354 R151-14-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
refugee resettlement program 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

31060 R986-300-303  AMD 05/20/2008 2008-7/52  

 
regionalization 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 31157 R309-352 5YR 04/18/2008 2008-10/144  

 
registration 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31218 R152-34-10  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
rehabilitation 
Education, Rehabilitation 31042 R280-200 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/65  

 
Rehabilitation Act 1973 
Human Services, Administration 31067 R495-878 AMD 06/13/2008 2008-8/23  

 31367 R495-878 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
reimbursements 
Administrative Services, Finance 31316 R25-6 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

 
religious activities 
Tax Commission, Auditing 31272 R865-19S-99  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 31258 R865-19S-105  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/132  

 30841 R865-19S-121  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/37  

 
religious education 
Education, Administration 30881 R277-610 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/73  

 
relocation benefits 
Administrative Services, Finance 31316 R25-6 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

 
renewable 
Natural Resources, Geological Survey 30902 R638-2-6  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/35  
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reporting 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

31068 R426-5-3  AMD 06/04/2008 2008-8/17  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31252 R612-10 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
reports 
Education, Administration 31520 R277-484 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/52  

 31005 R277-484 AMD 04/11/2008 2008-5/17  

 31371 R746-400-7  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
reptiles 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31051 R657-53 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/50  

 31228 R657-53 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31508 R657-53 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/61  

 
residential mortgage loan origination 
Commerce, Real Estate 31002 R162-207-6  AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/12  

 31278 R162-208 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/50  

 31004 R162-210-4  AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/13  

 
resource decision 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31072 R746-440 NSC 04/11/2008 Not Printed 

 
restitution 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 30949 R671-403 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

 
retirement 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31210 R477-12 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/110  

 
revocation 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31655 R671-516 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
right of petition 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31110 R652-9-100  NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
risk management 
Administrative Services, Risk Management 31347 R37-2 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/8  

 31150 R37-4 R&R 07/01/2008 2008-9/5  

 
roofs 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31064 R23-14 5YR 03/17/2008 2008-8/50  

 
rules 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31617 R746-210 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/145  

 
rules and procedures 
Health, Administration 31281 R380-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31282 R380-5 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Epidemiology 

31099 R386-702-12  AMD 06/11/2008 2008-8/5  

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31186 R477-1 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/79  

 31211 R477-13 NSC 06/19/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31224 R657-27-11  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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Public Safety, Driver License 31105 R708-2-25  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Public Service Commission, Administration 31373 R746-100 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31372 R746-101-4  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31620 R746-110 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/145  

 31369 R746-110 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31091 R746-332 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  

 31092 R746-342 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

 31371 R746-400-7  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31093 R746-402 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

 31101 R746-405 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/57  

 
Rural Broadband Service Fund 
Governor, Economic Development 30788 R357-2 NEW 01/30/2008 2007-24/9  

 30859 R357-2-7  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

 
rural economic development 
Governor, Economic Development 30788 R357-2 NEW 01/30/2008 2007-24/9  

 30859 R357-2-7  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

 
safety 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 30865 R313-15 AMD 03/17/2008 2008-2/10  

Labor Commission, Occupational Safety 
and Health 

31244 R614-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31102 R614-1-4  AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/30  

 31248 R614-3-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Safety 31246 R616-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31253 R616-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30943 R616-3-3  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/21  

Transportation, Preconstruction 31066 R930-5 AMD 06/10/2008 2008-8/46  

 
safety regulations 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 30785 R909-19 AMD 02/12/2008 2007-24/26  

 31090 R909-75 AMD 05/27/2008 2008-8/45  

 
salaries 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31191 R477-6 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/91  

 
sales tax 
Tax Commission, Auditing 31272 R865-19S-99  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 31258 R865-19S-105  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/132  

 30841 R865-19S-121  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/37  

 
salons 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Environmental Services 

30612 R392-700 CPR 05/16/2008 2008-7/58  

 30612 R392-700 NEW 05/16/2008 2007-22/65  

 
sanitation 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Environmental Services 

30612 R392-700 CPR 05/16/2008 2008-7/58  

 30612 R392-700 NEW 05/16/2008 2007-22/65  
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school buses 
Education, Administration 30879 R277-600 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/72  

 
school choice 
Education, Administration 31036 R277-483 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/62  

 
school personnel 
Education, Administration 31038 R277-508 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/63  

 
school transportation 
Education, Administration 30879 R277-600 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/72  

 
school year 
Education, Administration 31041 R277-751 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/65  

 
schools 
Education, Administration 30848 R277-719 NEW 02/07/2008 2008-1/12  

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30972 R307-801 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/47  

 30707 R307-801 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/45  

Public Safety, Driver License 31105 R708-2-25  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
secure area hearing rooms 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31492 R765-254 5YR 05/27/2008 2008-12/63  

 
secure areas 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31031 R525-6 NEW 05/01/2008 2008-6/7  

 
security 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31064 R23-14 5YR 03/17/2008 2008-8/50  

 
security guards 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31182 R156-63 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
self insurance plans 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31230 R612-3 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

 
seminars 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31353 R523-24-13  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
seniors 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31027 R510-105 5YR 02/27/2008 2008-6/26  

 
sentinel event 
Health, Administration 31286 R380-200 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
server training 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31351 R523-23-13  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
settlements 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 31236 R602-2-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30811 R602-2-4  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/14  

 31238 R602-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30810 R602-3-3  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/16  
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 31643 R602-4 EMR 07/01/2008 2008-14/129  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31252 R612-10 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
sewage effluent use 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 30947 R655-7 5YR 02/01/2008 2008-4/47  

 
sewage treatment 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 31103 R317-101 5YR 04/02/2008 2008-9/53  

 
sewerage 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31044 R746-330 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

 
skills tests 
Public Safety, Driver License 31120 R708-37-11  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
SLCC 
Regents (Board Of), Salt Lake Community 
College 

31344 R784-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
SLEAP 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 31405 R765-606 5YR 05/09/2008 2008-11/129  

 
social security numbers 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

30877 R539-1-8  AMD 04/01/2008 2008-3/32  

 30926 R539-1-8  EMR 01/28/2008 2008-4/38  

 
social services 
Human Services, Administration 30773 R495-861 AMD 01/30/2008 2007-24/18  

Human Services, Child and Family 
Services 

30721 R512-50 NSC 01/07/2008 Not Printed 

 30718 R512-50 REP 01/07/2008 2007-23/60  

 
solar 
Natural Resources, Geological Survey 30902 R638-2-6  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/35  

 
solicitations 
Commerce, Consumer Protection 31216 R152-22-9  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
solid waste management 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

30990 R315-301 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/48  

 30986 R315-302 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/49  

 30992 R315-303 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/49  

 30991 R315-305 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/50  

 30985 R315-306 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/51  

 30993 R315-307 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/51  

 30995 R315-308 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/52  

 30994 R315-309 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/52  

 30996 R315-310 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/53  

 30983 R315-311 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/53  

 30997 R315-312 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/54  

 30998 R315-313 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/54  

 30999 R315-314 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/55  

 30989 R315-315 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/55  
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 30988 R315-316 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/56  

 30984 R315-317 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/57  

 30987 R315-318 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/57  

 
spas 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Environmental Services 

31097 R392-302 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/6  

 
special educators 
Education, Administration 31445 R277-525 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/82  

 
special use 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 31668 R651-608 5YR 07/07/2008 Not Printed 

 
species of concern 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31226 R657-48-7  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
speech impaired 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31375 R746-510 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
standards 
Education, Administration 30976 R277-515-3  NSC 02/27/2008 Not Printed 

 
state employees 
Administrative Services, Finance 31317 R25-5 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/143  

 31319 R25-7 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/144  

 31320 R25-7 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/4  

 31321 R25-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/7  

Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31190 R477-5 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/90  

 
state hospital 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31031 R525-6 NEW 05/01/2008 2008-6/7  

 
state vehicle use 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 31137 R27-3 AMD 06/17/2008 2008-9/3  

 
stipends 
Education, Administration 31445 R277-525 NEW 07/08/2008 2008-11/82  

 
stocks 
Treasurer, Unclaimed Property 30596 R966-1-2  AMD 01/07/2008 2007-22/87  

 
student 
Education, Administration 31037 R277-485 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/63  

 
student competency 
Education, Administration 30883 R277-702 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/74  

 
student financial aid 
Education, Administration 30885 R277-718 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

 
students 
Education, Administration 30884 R277-709 5YR 01/08/2008 2008-3/75  

 
students at risk 
Education, Administration 31518 R277-436 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  
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substance abuse 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31351 R523-23-13  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
substance abuse prevention 
Education, Administration 31519 R277-460 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/51  

 
suggestions 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31451 R525-7 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/57  

 
sulfur dioxide 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30970 R307-250 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  

 
superfund 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

30567 R311-401-2  AMD 01/02/2008 2007-21/59  

 
supervision 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31288 R156-1 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/30  

 30655 R156-1-102a  AMD 01/08/2008 2007-23/3  

 
supported employment 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

31084 R539-9 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/26  

 
surplus property 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations, 
Surplus Property 

31117 R28-3 5YR 04/04/2008 2008-9/52  

 
surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31175 R156-22-305  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
suspensions 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31223 R657-26 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
systems 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 31085 R710-7 AMD 05/23/2008 2008-8/40  

 
tanning beds 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Environmental Services 

30612 R392-700 CPR 05/16/2008 2008-7/58  

 30612 R392-700 NEW 05/16/2008 2007-22/65  

 
tariffs 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31101 R746-405 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/57  

 
tax credit 
Governor, Economic Development 31153 R357-3 NEW 06/18/2008 2008-9/37  

 
tax credits 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30889 R307-121-3  NSC 01/30/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Geological Survey 30902 R638-2-6  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/35  

 
tax exemptions 
Tax Commission, Auditing 31272 R865-19S-99  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 31258 R865-19S-105  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/132  

 30841 R865-19S-121  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/37  
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tax returns 
Tax Commission, Auditing 30916 R865-9I-37  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/63  

 30849 R865-9I-53  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/36  

 
taxation 
Tax Commission, Administration 30688 R861-1A-20  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/68  

 30589 R861-1A-24  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-21/69  

 30717 R861-1A-26  AMD 01/11/2008 2007-23/69  

 30838 R861-1A-40  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/32  

 30835 R861-1A-42  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/33  

 30780 R861-1A-43  AMD 01/25/2008 2007-24/24  

Tax Commission, Auditing 30913 R865-6F-28  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/61  

 30842 R865-6F-37  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/35  

Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle 30844 R873-22M-34  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/38  

 31264 R873-22M-41  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/133  

Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle 
Enforcement 

31255 R877-23V-19  AMD 06/27/2008 2008-10/135  

Tax Commission, Property Tax 31274 R884-24P-62  NSC 06/23/2008 Not Printed 

 30931 R884-24P-62  AMD 03/28/2008 2008-4/30  

 
taxes 
Human Services, Recovery Services 31162 R527-475 AMD 06/25/2008 2008-10/121  

Insurance, Administration 30890 R590-157 5YR 01/10/2008 2008-3/79  

 
teacher licensing 
Education, Administration 31444 R277-504 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/77  

 30951 R686-100 5YR 02/04/2008 2008-5/59  

 
teachers 
Education, Administration 31038 R277-508 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/63  

 31521 R686-101 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/62  

 31522 R686-102 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/62  

 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31619 R746-240 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/146  

 31618 R746-340 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/147  

 31092 R746-342 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/56  

 31045 R746-347 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

 31374 R746-349-3  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
telecommuting 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31193 R477-8 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/101  

 30778 R477-8-5  AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/16  

 
telephone utility regulations 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31618 R746-340 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/147  

 
telephones 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31619 R746-240 5YR 06/24/2008 2008-14/146  
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terminally ill 
Corrections, Administration 30803 R251-114 NEW 03/11/2008 2008-1/6  

 
time 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 31250 R602-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Antidiscrimination 

31241 R606-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31242 R606-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Fair Housing 

31240 R608-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Labor 

31247 R610-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31149 R610-1-4  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/48  

 31245 R610-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30942 R610-2-6  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/19  

 31243 R610-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30876 R610-3-4  EMR 01/03/2008 2008-3/70  

 30941 R610-3-4  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/20  

 31148 R610-3-10  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/50  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31235 R612-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
timeliness 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31659 R671-515 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
towing 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 30785 R909-19 AMD 02/12/2008 2007-24/26  

 
traffic regulations 
Public Safety, Driver License 31437 R708-16 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/117  

 
traffic violations 
Public Safety, Driver License 31106 R708-3-2  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
training 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

31353 R523-24-13  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

Public Service Commission, Administration 31375 R746-510 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
training programs 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31195 R477-10 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/106  

 
transportation 
Administrative Services, Finance 31319 R25-7 5YR 04/29/2008 2008-10/144  

 31320 R25-7 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/4  

Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 31027 R510-105 5YR 02/27/2008 2008-6/26  

Transportation, Preconstruction 31066 R930-5 AMD 06/10/2008 2008-8/46  

 
transportation conformity 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30971 R307-310 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/46  

 30705 R307-310-2  AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/40  

 
transportation law 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

31063 R23-13 5YR 03/17/2008 2008-8/50  
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transportation safety 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 30783 R909-1-1  AMD 02/15/2008 2007-24/25  

 
trauma 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

31068 R426-5-3  AMD 06/04/2008 2008-8/17  

 
trucking industries 
Tax Commission, Auditing 30913 R865-6F-28  AMD 03/14/2008 2008-3/61  

 30842 R865-6F-37  AMD 02/25/2008 2008-1/35  

 
trucks 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 30783 R909-1-1  AMD 02/15/2008 2007-24/25  

 30785 R909-19 AMD 02/12/2008 2007-24/26  

 
ultraviolet light safety 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Environmental Services 

30612 R392-700 CPR 05/16/2008 2008-7/58  

 30612 R392-700 NEW 05/16/2008 2007-22/65  

 
unarmed combat 
Sports Authority (Utah), Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission 

31028 R859-1 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/15  

 31029 R859-1-302  AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/16  

 
undercover identification 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

30929 R722-320 NSC 05/14/2008 Not Printed 

 31434 R722-320 5YR 05/14/2008 2008-11/127  

 
underground storage tanks 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

31486 R311-200 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31487 R311-201 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 31488 R311-210 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 
unemployment compensation 
Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

31075 R994-106-106  AMD 05/30/2008 2008-8/48  

 31467 R994-201 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/64  

 31468 R994-202 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/65  

 31469 R994-208 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/65  

 31547 R994-306 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/151  

 31548 R994-307 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/152  

 30771 R994-508 AMD 02/15/2008 2007-24/30  

 31546 R994-508 5YR 06/10/2008 2008-13/153  

 31020 R994-508-117  NSC 03/11/2008 Not Printed 

 31071 R994-508-118  NSC 04/14/2008 Not Printed 

 
uninsured employers 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31251 R612-9-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
units 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 31170 R313-12-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30774 R313-12-111  AMD 04/11/2008 2007-24/8  
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 30774 R313-12-111  CPR 04/11/2008 2008-5/34  

 
universal individual health application 
Insurance, Administration 31335 R590-247 NEW 06/30/2008 2008-10/124  

 
used oil 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

30907 R315-15-1  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/16  

 30908 R315-15-10  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/19  

 30909 R315-15-11  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/21  

 30910 R315-15-12  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/23  

 30911 R315-15-17  AMD 03/13/2008 2008-3/29  

 
Utah Housing Opportunity Restricted Account 
Commerce, Real Estate 31000 R162-12 NEW 04/07/2008 2008-5/11  

 
utility regulation 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31101 R746-405 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/57  

 
vacations 
Human Resource Management, 
Administration 

31192 R477-7 AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/95  

 
variances 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30960 R307-102 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/40  

 31462 R307-102 NSC 06/18/2008 Not Printed 

 
vehicle replacement 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 30618 R27-4 AMD 03/06/2008 2007-22/9  

 
vending machines 
Education, Administration 30848 R277-719 NEW 02/07/2008 2008-1/12  

 
veterinary medicine 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

31396 R156-28 AMD 07/10/2008 2008-11/56  

 
viatical 
Insurance, Administration 31523 R590-222 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/58  

 
victim compensation 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 31322 R270-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30593 R270-1-11  AMD 01/02/2008 2007-22/33  

 31013 R270-1-22  AMD 05/19/2008 2008-6/3  

 
victims of crime 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 31322 R270-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
victims of crimes 
Crime Victim Reparations, Administration 30593 R270-1-11  AMD 01/02/2008 2007-22/33  

 31013 R270-1-22  AMD 05/19/2008 2008-6/3  

 
violations 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31223 R657-26 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
visitors 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31447 R525-4 5YR 05/19/2008 2008-12/56  
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vocational education 
Education, Rehabilitation 31042 R280-200 5YR 03/03/2008 2008-7/65  

 
wages 
Labor Commission, Antidiscrimination and 
Labor, Labor 

31247 R610-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31149 R610-1-4  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/48  

 31245 R610-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30942 R610-2-6  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/19  

 31243 R610-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30876 R610-3-4  EMR 01/03/2008 2008-3/70  

 30941 R610-3-4  AMD 03/24/2008 2008-4/20  

 31148 R610-3-10  AMD 06/13/2008 2008-9/50  

Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance 

31469 R994-208 5YR 05/20/2008 2008-12/65  

 
warrants 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 31658 R671-510 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 31657 R671-512 5YR 07/03/2008 Not Printed 

 
waste disposal 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 30865 R313-15 AMD 03/17/2008 2008-2/10  

Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

30990 R315-301 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/48  

 30986 R315-302 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/49  

 30992 R315-303 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/49  

 30991 R315-305 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/50  

 30985 R315-306 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/51  

 30993 R315-307 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/51  

 30995 R315-308 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/52  

 30994 R315-309 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/52  

 30996 R315-310 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/53  

 30983 R315-311 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/53  

 30997 R315-312 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/54  

 30999 R315-314 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/55  

 30989 R315-315 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/55  

 30988 R315-316 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/56  

 30984 R315-317 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/57  

 30987 R315-318 5YR 02/14/2008 2008-5/57  

Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30639 R317-1-4  AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/52  

 30637 R317-13 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/61  

 
waste to energy plant 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 30703 R307-223 AMD 02/08/2008 2007-23/38  

 30968 R307-223 5YR 02/08/2008 2008-5/45  

 
wastewater 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30638 R317-3-11  AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/57  

 30636 R317-14 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/62  

 31103 R317-101 5YR 04/02/2008 2008-9/53  
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water 
Public Service Commission, Administration 31044 R746-330 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

 31095 R746-331 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  

 31091 R746-332 5YR 04/01/2008 2008-8/55  

 
water funding 
Natural Resources, Water Resources 30855 R653-2 NEW 02/25/2008 2008-2/20  

 30940 R653-2 NSC 02/25/2008 Not Printed 

 
water pollution 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30639 R317-1-4  AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/52  

 30638 R317-3-11  AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/57  

 30948 R317-9 5YR 02/01/2008 2008-4/42  

 30637 R317-13 NEW 02/04/2008 2007-22/61  

 
water quality 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 30638 R317-3-11  AMD 02/04/2008 2007-22/57  

 31103 R317-101 5YR 04/02/2008 2008-9/53  

Public Service Commission, Administration 31044 R746-330 5YR 03/07/2008 2008-7/66  

 
water rights 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 31130 R655-5 5YR 04/08/2008 2008-9/54  

 31431 R655-14 AMD 07/08/2008 2008-11/104  

 
waterslides 
Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Environmental Services 

31097 R392-302 AMD 05/22/2008 2008-8/6  

 
weapons 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health, State Hospital 

31031 R525-6 NEW 05/01/2008 2008-6/7  

 31348 R525-6 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 31012 R651-612 NSC 03/10/2008 Not Printed 

 
weed control 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 31544 R68-9 5YR 06/09/2008 2008-13/147  

 31128 R68-9 AMD 07/02/2008 2008-9/8  

 
white-collar contests 
Sports Authority (Utah), Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission 

31028 R859-1 AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/15  

 31029 R859-1-302  AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/16  

 
wildland fire fund 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31108 R652-121 NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
wildland urban interface 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

31109 R652-122-100  NSC 05/01/2008 Not Printed 

 
wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31219 R657-2 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31047 R657-3 5YR 03/11/2008 2008-7/65  

 31220 R657-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 
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 31053 R657-3 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/45  

 30829 R657-5 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/18  

 30777 R657-12 AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/19  

 31221 R657-12-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30676 R657-13 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/61  

 31048 R657-13-3  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/47  

 30904 R657-13-4  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/43  

 31222 R657-22-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30828 R657-23 AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/25  

 30955 R657-23-5  AMD 04/07/2008 2008-5/31  

 31223 R657-26 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31224 R657-27-11  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30906 R657-33 AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/44  

 31398 R657-34 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/125  

 31401 R657-37 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/126  

 31400 R657-42 5YR 05/08/2008 2008-11/126  

 31049 R657-42-8  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/48  

 31051 R657-53 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/50  

 31508 R657-53 5YR 06/02/2008 2008-12/61  

 31228 R657-53 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30903 R657-58 NEW 03/10/2008 2008-3/47  

 31052 R657-58 NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

 31625 R657-59 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/131  

 31624 R657-60 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/139  

 
wildlife law 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 30777 R657-12 AMD 01/22/2008 2007-24/19  

 31221 R657-12-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30676 R657-13 AMD 01/07/2008 2007-23/61  

 31048 R657-13-3  AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/47  

 30904 R657-13-4  AMD 03/10/2008 2008-3/43  

 31222 R657-22-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31224 R657-27-11  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30903 R657-58 NEW 03/10/2008 2008-3/47  

 31052 R657-58 NSC 03/26/2008 Not Printed 

 31624 R657-60 EMR 06/27/2008 2008-14/139  

 
witness fees 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 31250 R602-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
workers' compensation 
Administrative Services, Risk Management 31347 R37-2 AMD 06/23/2008 2008-10/8  

Labor Commission, Adjudication 31236 R602-2-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30811 R602-2-4  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/14  

 31238 R602-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 30810 R602-3-3  AMD 02/07/2008 2008-1/16  

 31643 R602-4 EMR 07/01/2008 2008-14/129  
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Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 31235 R612-1 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31234 R612-2 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/148  

 31333 R612-2-5  AMD 07/01/2008 2008-10/130  

 31230 R612-3 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

 30594 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2008 2007-22/76  

 31229 R612-5 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/149  

 31231 R612-7 5YR 04/28/2008 2008-10/150  

 31251 R612-9-1  NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31252 R612-10 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 
working toward employment 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

31034 R986-400-406  AMD 05/01/2008 2008-6/20  

 
youth 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

31017 R501-16 5YR 02/22/2008 2008-6/25  

 
zoological animals 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 31047 R657-3 5YR 03/11/2008 2008-7/65  

 31220 R657-3 NSC 05/05/2008 Not Printed 

 31053 R657-3 AMD 05/08/2008 2008-7/45  

 
 
 


	TABLE OF CONTENTS 
	SPECIAL NOTICES 
	PROPOSED RULES 
	CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
	120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 
	FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
	NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
	RULES INDEX 


<<
  /ASCII85EncodePages false
  /AllowTransparency false
  /AutoPositionEPSFiles true
  /AutoRotatePages /All
  /Binding /Left
  /CalGrayProfile (Dot Gain 20%)
  /CalRGBProfile (sRGB IEC61966-2.1)
  /CalCMYKProfile (U.S. Web Coated \050SWOP\051 v2)
  /sRGBProfile (sRGB IEC61966-2.1)
  /CannotEmbedFontPolicy /Warning
  /CompatibilityLevel 1.4
  /CompressObjects /Tags
  /CompressPages true
  /ConvertImagesToIndexed true
  /PassThroughJPEGImages true
  /CreateJDFFile false
  /CreateJobTicket false
  /DefaultRenderingIntent /Default
  /DetectBlends true
  /DetectCurves 0.0000
  /ColorConversionStrategy /LeaveColorUnchanged
  /DoThumbnails false
  /EmbedAllFonts true
  /EmbedOpenType false
  /ParseICCProfilesInComments true
  /EmbedJobOptions true
  /DSCReportingLevel 0
  /EmitDSCWarnings false
  /EndPage -1
  /ImageMemory 1048576
  /LockDistillerParams false
  /MaxSubsetPct 100
  /Optimize true
  /OPM 1
  /ParseDSCComments true
  /ParseDSCCommentsForDocInfo true
  /PreserveCopyPage true
  /PreserveDICMYKValues true
  /PreserveEPSInfo true
  /PreserveFlatness true
  /PreserveHalftoneInfo false
  /PreserveOPIComments false
  /PreserveOverprintSettings true
  /StartPage 1
  /SubsetFonts true
  /TransferFunctionInfo /Apply
  /UCRandBGInfo /Preserve
  /UsePrologue false
  /ColorSettingsFile ()
  /AlwaysEmbed [ true
  ]
  /NeverEmbed [ true
  ]
  /AntiAliasColorImages false
  /CropColorImages true
  /ColorImageMinResolution 300
  /ColorImageMinResolutionPolicy /OK
  /DownsampleColorImages true
  /ColorImageDownsampleType /Bicubic
  /ColorImageResolution 300
  /ColorImageDepth -1
  /ColorImageMinDownsampleDepth 1
  /ColorImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000
  /EncodeColorImages true
  /ColorImageFilter /DCTEncode
  /AutoFilterColorImages true
  /ColorImageAutoFilterStrategy /JPEG
  /ColorACSImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /ColorImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /JPEG2000ColorACSImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /JPEG2000ColorImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /AntiAliasGrayImages false
  /CropGrayImages true
  /GrayImageMinResolution 300
  /GrayImageMinResolutionPolicy /OK
  /DownsampleGrayImages true
  /GrayImageDownsampleType /Bicubic
  /GrayImageResolution 300
  /GrayImageDepth -1
  /GrayImageMinDownsampleDepth 2
  /GrayImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000
  /EncodeGrayImages true
  /GrayImageFilter /DCTEncode
  /AutoFilterGrayImages true
  /GrayImageAutoFilterStrategy /JPEG
  /GrayACSImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /GrayImageDict <<
    /QFactor 0.15
    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]
  >>
  /JPEG2000GrayACSImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /JPEG2000GrayImageDict <<
    /TileWidth 256
    /TileHeight 256
    /Quality 30
  >>
  /AntiAliasMonoImages false
  /CropMonoImages true
  /MonoImageMinResolution 1200
  /MonoImageMinResolutionPolicy /OK
  /DownsampleMonoImages true
  /MonoImageDownsampleType /Bicubic
  /MonoImageResolution 1200
  /MonoImageDepth -1
  /MonoImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000
  /EncodeMonoImages true
  /MonoImageFilter /CCITTFaxEncode
  /MonoImageDict <<
    /K -1
  >>
  /AllowPSXObjects false
  /CheckCompliance [
    /None
  ]
  /PDFX1aCheck false
  /PDFX3Check false
  /PDFXCompliantPDFOnly false
  /PDFXNoTrimBoxError true
  /PDFXTrimBoxToMediaBoxOffset [
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
  ]
  /PDFXSetBleedBoxToMediaBox true
  /PDFXBleedBoxToTrimBoxOffset [
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
    0.00000
  ]
  /PDFXOutputIntentProfile ()
  /PDFXOutputConditionIdentifier ()
  /PDFXOutputCondition ()
  /PDFXRegistryName ()
  /PDFXTrapped /False

  /Description <<
    /CHS <FEFF4f7f75288fd94e9b8bbe5b9a521b5efa7684002000500044004600206587686353ef901a8fc7684c976262535370673a548c002000700072006f006f00660065007200208fdb884c9ad88d2891cf62535370300260a853ef4ee54f7f75280020004100630072006f0062006100740020548c002000410064006f00620065002000520065006100640065007200200035002e003000204ee553ca66f49ad87248672c676562535f00521b5efa768400200050004400460020658768633002>
    /CHT <FEFF4f7f752890194e9b8a2d7f6e5efa7acb7684002000410064006f006200650020005000440046002065874ef653ef5728684c9762537088686a5f548c002000700072006f006f00660065007200204e0a73725f979ad854c18cea7684521753706548679c300260a853ef4ee54f7f75280020004100630072006f0062006100740020548c002000410064006f00620065002000520065006100640065007200200035002e003000204ee553ca66f49ad87248672c4f86958b555f5df25efa7acb76840020005000440046002065874ef63002>
    /DAN <>
    /DEU <>
    /ESP <>
    /FRA <>
    /ITA <>
    /JPN <>
    /KOR <FEFFc7740020c124c815c7440020c0acc6a9d558c5ec0020b370c2a4d06cd0d10020d504b9b0d1300020bc0f0020ad50c815ae30c5d0c11c0020ace0d488c9c8b85c0020c778c1c4d560002000410064006f0062006500200050004400460020bb38c11cb97c0020c791c131d569b2c8b2e4002e0020c774b807ac8c0020c791c131b41c00200050004400460020bb38c11cb2940020004100630072006f0062006100740020bc0f002000410064006f00620065002000520065006100640065007200200035002e00300020c774c0c1c5d0c11c0020c5f40020c2180020c788c2b5b2c8b2e4002e>
    /NLD (Gebruik deze instellingen om Adobe PDF-documenten te maken voor kwaliteitsafdrukken op desktopprinters en proofers. De gemaakte PDF-documenten kunnen worden geopend met Acrobat en Adobe Reader 5.0 en hoger.)
    /NOR <>
    /PTB <>
    /SUO <>
    /SVE <>
    /ENU (Use these settings to create Adobe PDF documents for quality printing on desktop printers and proofers.  Created PDF documents can be opened with Acrobat and Adobe Reader 5.0 and later.)
  >>
  /Namespace [
    (Adobe)
    (Common)
    (1.0)
  ]
  /OtherNamespaces [
    <<
      /AsReaderSpreads false
      /CropImagesToFrames true
      /ErrorControl /WarnAndContinue
      /FlattenerIgnoreSpreadOverrides false
      /IncludeGuidesGrids false
      /IncludeNonPrinting false
      /IncludeSlug false
      /Namespace [
        (Adobe)
        (InDesign)
        (4.0)
      ]
      /OmitPlacedBitmaps false
      /OmitPlacedEPS false
      /OmitPlacedPDF false
      /SimulateOverprint /Legacy
    >>
    <<
      /AddBleedMarks false
      /AddColorBars false
      /AddCropMarks false
      /AddPageInfo false
      /AddRegMarks false
      /ConvertColors /NoConversion
      /DestinationProfileName ()
      /DestinationProfileSelector /NA
      /Downsample16BitImages true
      /FlattenerPreset <<
        /PresetSelector /MediumResolution
      >>
      /FormElements false
      /GenerateStructure true
      /IncludeBookmarks false
      /IncludeHyperlinks false
      /IncludeInteractive false
      /IncludeLayers false
      /IncludeProfiles true
      /MultimediaHandling /UseObjectSettings
      /Namespace [
        (Adobe)
        (CreativeSuite)
        (2.0)
      ]
      /PDFXOutputIntentProfileSelector /NA
      /PreserveEditing true
      /UntaggedCMYKHandling /LeaveUntagged
      /UntaggedRGBHandling /LeaveUntagged
      /UseDocumentBleed false
    >>
  ]
>> setdistillerparams
<<
  /HWResolution [2400 2400]
  /PageSize [612.000 792.000]
>> setpagedevice


