This document was published in the July 1, 2012, issue (Vol. 2012, No. 13) of the Utah State Bulletin.
Governor, Administration: Governor's Executive Order EO/005/2012: Automotive Idling Reduction
Issued: May 31, 2012
Automotive Idling Reduction
WHEREAS, air quality is an issue of great concern to Utah residents;
WHEREAS, air quality impacts many aspects of life in Utah, including health, quality of life and economic development;
WHEREAS, vehicle exhaust contributes to air pollution by emitting Nitrogen Oxides, Volatile Organic Compounds, Particulate Matter, Carbon Monoxide and Carbon Dioxide into the atmosphere;
WHEREAS, an idling engine may produce more exhaust emissions than an engine in motion;
WHEREAS, areas where there are many idling vehicles can create pockets of concentrated exhaust pollution;
WHEREAS, simply turning off a vehicle when it is idling will reduce emissions and promote better air quality;
WHEREAS, a reduction in idling reduces fuel use and promotes cost savings;
WHEREAS, the State of Utah's fleet currently has 7,300 vehicles that travel more than 78,000,000 miles a year;
WHEREAS , the Utah Clean Air Partnership (U-CAIR) initiative calls on all Utah residents to take affirmative action to reduce their contribution to air pollution and recognizes that the State of Utah must lead by example;
NOW, THEREFORE, I, Gary R. Herbert, Governor of the State of Utah, by the authority vested in me by the laws and constitution of the State, do hereby order that:
1. Every driver of a State of Utah fleet vehicle shall turn off the vehicle's engine when the vehicle will be stopped for more than 30 seconds.
2. The requirement that a vehicle's engine be turned off shall not apply:
(a) when the vehicle is stopped in traffic, such as at a red light;
(b) when idling is necessary to promote the safety or well-being of vehicle occupants or others;
(c) when idling is necessary to operate vehicle equipment, such as lift equipment for people with disabilities or warning lights on Utah Highway Patrol and Utah Department of Transportation vehicles;
(d) when idling is necessary to inspect or service the vehicle;
(e) when manufacturers recommend that an engine be permitted to idle for a certain period of time prior to shutdown;
(f) in emergency situations.
3. Each agency of the State of Utah shall develop a policy consistent with this Executive Order that requires compliance with this Order for drivers of State-owned fleet vehicles and encourages compliance in privately-owned vehicles. These policies may permit the agency to recognize and/or reward employees for compliance.
4. Each agency shall ensure that each of its employees is aware of its idling policy.
5. On or before July 1, 2012, the Department of Administrative Services shall develop and implement a six-month pilot project that tests the effectiveness of agency anti-idling policies by using telematic equipment to measure the influence on reducing idling in state vehicles.
6. Within 15 days of the conclusion of the pilot project, the Department of Administrative Services shall prepare a report that details the efficacy of agency idle-reduction policies as measured by telematic equipment in the reduction of idling and any cost savings attributable to a decline in engine idling.
IN WITNESS, WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and cause to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Utah. Done at the State Capitol in Salt Lake City, Utah, this 31st day of May, 2012.
Gary R. Herbert
Each executive document is published from an electronic version provided by the Governor's office. Occasionally, special symbols or characters may appear in the original document (e.g., a section character for the word "section", a publishing quote for a regular quote, etc.). These special symbols or characters may not translate well across computer systems or applications. In cases where special symbols or characters have been used in the original, the division has substituted the full word or the standard character.
The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull-pdf/2012/b20120701.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.
For questions regarding the content or application of this document, please contact Ashlee Buchholz, by phone at 801-538-1621, by FAX at 801-538-1528, or by Internet E-mail at Abuchholz@utah.gov.