Executive Document

This document was published in the December 15, 2017, issue (Vol. 2017, No. 24) of the Utah State Bulletin.

Governor, Administration: Creating a Community Development Block Grant Program Board, Utah Exec. Order No. 2017-9

Issued: November 15, 2017


Creating a Community Development Block Grant Program Board

WHEREAS, the State of Utah administers the Small Cities Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program in accordance with the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974 as found in 24 CFR 570;

WHEREAS, to achieve the goals of the State of Utah's CDBG Program, it is important to involve local governments at the policy making level; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the federal, state and local governments to advocate, facilitate, and promote the coordination and cooperation among all government agencies for the common well being of those of low and moderate income in the State of Utah.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Gary R. Herbert, Governor of the State of Utah, by the authority vested in me by the Constitution and the laws of this State do hereby establish the CDBG Board of the State of Utah and order as follows:

1. The purpose of the CDBG Board shall be as follows:

a. To function as the official policy-making body for the CDBG Program for the non- entitlement areas of the state;

b. To act as a public participation forum to identify public attitudes, desires, needs and priorities within the seven regions of the state so that they can be reflected within the framework of the CDBG Program;

c. To assist in the preparation and adoption of the annual "Utah Community Development Block Grant Application Policies and Procedures" and the "Utah Community Development Block Grant Grantee Handbook," which document the Method of Distribution and program guidance; and

d. To serve as a communication channel and to promote positive relationships between the CDBG Program staff and all levels of local government.

2. Membership.

a. The CDBG Board shall consist of seven members. The members of the Board shall be appointed by the Governor from a list of two names submitted by the chair of each of the respective seven associations of governments listed below, after executive board action.

b. The seven regions which shall have representatives on the Board are:

Bear River Association of Governments;

Five County Association of Governments;

Six County Association of Governments;

Mountainland Association of Governments;

Uintah Basin Association of Governments;

Southeastern Utah Association of Local Governments; and

Wasatch Front Regional Council

c. Each member must be an elected official and a member of the Regional Review Committee constituted at the association of governments level;

d. Members shall be appointed to serve four year terms. The terms shall be staggered so that, if reasonably possible, no more than two members shall complete a term each year;

e. If a member resigns or is removed before completing a term, a new member shall be appointed for a new four year term;

f. Members may serve no more than two four year terms; and

g. The Governor may remove board members for cause.

3. The CDBG Board shall develop and adopt by-laws, consistent with this Executive Order, for the purposes of organization and administration of the CDBG Board and Program.

4. This order replaces and supersedes the executive order executed by Governor Norman H. Bangerter on November 1, 1985, "To create a Small Cities' Community Development Block Grant Policy Committee of the State of Utah."

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have here unto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Utah. Done at the State Capitol in Salt Lake City, Utah, this 15th day of November, 2017.

(State Seal)

Gary R. Herbert

Spencer J. Cox
Lieutenant Governor


Additional Information

Each executive document is published from an electronic version provided by the Governor's office. Occasionally, special symbols or characters may appear in the original document (e.g., a section character for the word "section", a publishing quote for a regular quote, etc.). These special symbols or characters may not translate well across computer systems or applications. In cases where special symbols or characters have been used in the original, the Office has substituted the full word or the standard character.

The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull_pdf/2017/b20171215.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.

For questions regarding the content or application of this document, please contact Ashlee Buchholz, by phone at 801-538-1621, by FAX at 801-538-1528, or by Internet E-mail at Abuchholz@utah.gov.