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SPECIAL NOTICES 
 

 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

 
PUBLIC NOTICE OF AMENDMENT TO THE 2003 TURKEY ADDENDUM ESTABLISHED BY THE WILDLIFE BOARD 

FOR TAKING UPLAND GAME 
 
 
Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 of the Utah Wildlife Resources Code, we, the Wildlife Board hereby amend 
the 2003 Turkey Addendum to correct season dates as follows: 
 
Juab (A), 04/19/2003 - 05/01/2003, Hunt Numbers 131, 531 
Utah County North (A), 04/19/2003 - 05/01/2003, Hunt Numbers 156, 556 
Utah County South (A), 04/19/2003 - 05/01/2003, Hunt Numbers 159, 559 
 
All other provisions of the 2003 Turkey Addendum to the Upland Game Proclamation for taking upland game for 2003 remain in 
full force and effect. 
 
Adopted by the Utah Wildlife Board on the 3rd day of April 2003. 
 
 
UTAH WILDLIFE BOARD 
DIVISION OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
By:  Max Morgan, M.D. 
Chairman of the Wildlife Board 
 
By:  Kevin Conway 
Board Secretary/Director 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this 3rd day of April 2003 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

End of the Special Notices Section 
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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between April 2, 2003, 12:00 a.m., and April 15, 2003, 
11:59 p.m. are included in this, the May 1, 2003, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least June 2, 2003.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63-46a-5 
(1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through August 29, 2003, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-3a 
Architect Licensing Act Rules 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26174 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 13:22 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and the Utah Architect Licensing Board need to make 
changes to reorganize the Architect IDP (Intern Development 
Program) Committee to improve operational efficiency and 
effectiveness and to update the edition of the National Council 
of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Rules of 
Conduct. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-3a-201:  
changes are made to reorganize the Architect IDP Committee 
with five members representing the following: one State IDP 
Coordinator, one Education Coordinator, two Intern IDP 
Coordinators, and one member of the Utah Architects 
Licensing Board.  In Section R156-3a-501:  Updates the 
NCARB Rules of Conduct to the August 2002 edition. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-3a-101, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) 
and 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Deletes July 2000 edition of the NCARB 
Rules of Conduct, and adds the August 2002 edition of the 
NCARB Rules of Conduct 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur a minimal cost of 
approximately $50 to reprint this rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the Division's current budget.  No costs are 
associated with the IDP Committee since it is a peer advisory 
committee and its members serve voluntarily without 
compensation. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Proposed amendments do not apply to 
local governments. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  The Division anticipates no costs or savings 
to licensed architects or applicants for licensure as an 
architect in Utah as a result of these proposed amendments.  
There is no cost to obtain the updated edition of the NCARB 
Rules of Conduct as the publication is available at no cost on 
the NCARB website (www.ncarb.org).  The reorganization of 
the IDP Committee is projected to improve operational 
efficiency and effectiveness by streamlining government with 
respect to the state IDP program.  Since there are no costs or 
savings associated with these proposed amendments, an 
aggregate amount is not available. 
 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The Division 
anticipates no costs to licensed architects or applicants for 
licensure as an architect in Utah as a result of these proposed 
amendments.  There is no cost to obtain the updated edition 
of the NCARB Rules of Conduct as the publication is available 
at no cost on the NCARB website (www.ncarb.org). 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule filing changes the 
organization of the Intern Development Program Committee 
and adopts the updated version of the NCARB Rules of 
Conduct.  These amendments do not appear to create any 
perceivable fiscal impact to businesses.  Ted Boyer, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Douglas Vilnius at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6621, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dvilnius@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-3a.  Architect Licensing Act Rules. 
R156-3a-201.  Advisory Peer Committee Created - Membership 
- Duties. 
 (1)  There is created in accordance with Subsection 58-1-
203([6]1)(f), the IDP Committee as an advisory peer committee to 
the Architect Licensing Board consisting of [six]five members as 
follows: 
 (a)  one State IDP Coordinator[three members representing the 
Utah Society of the American Institute of Architects ("AIA"), of 
which one member to be designated as the IDP State Coordinator]; 
 (b)  one Education Coordinator[faculty member from the 
University of Utah representing the University of Utah Graduate 
School of Architecture]; 
 (c)  two Intern IDP Coordinators[one student from the 
University of Utah who is currently enrolled in the University of 
Utah Graduate School of Architecture]; and 
 (d)  one member of the Utah Architects Licensing Board[one 
IDP intern from the State of Utah]. 
 (2)  The committee shall be appointed and serve in accordance 
with Section R156-1-205. 
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 (3)  The duties and responsibilities of the committee shall 
include assisting the board in its duties, functions, and 
responsibilities defined in Subsection 58-1-202([5]1)(e) as follows: 
 (a)  promote an awareness of IDP by holding meetings and 
seminars on IDP; 
 (b)  establish a network of sponsors and advisors for IDP 
interns; 
 (c)  encourage firms to support IDP; 
 (d)  act as a resource to respond to questions on IDP received 
from advisors, sponsors, and interns; and 
 (e)  report to the board as directed. 
 
R156-3a-501.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  submitting an incomplete final plan, specification, report, 
or set of construction plans to: 
 (a)  a client, when the licensee represents, or could reasonably 
expect the client to consider, the plan, specification, report, or set of 
construction plans to be complete and final; or 
 (b)  a building official for the purpose of obtaining a building 
permit; 
 (2)  failing as a principal to exercise reasonable charge; 
 (3)  failing as a supervisor to exercise supervision of an 
employee, subordinate, associate or drafter; or 
 (4)  failing to conform to the generally accepted and recognized 
standards and ethics of the profession including those established in 
the [July 2000]August 2002 edition of the NCARB "Rules of 
Conduct", which is hereby incorporated by reference. 
 
KEY:  architects, licensing 
[May 3, 2001]2003 
Notice of Continuation June 11, 2001 
58-3a-101 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-28 
Veterinary Practice Act Rules 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26150 

FILED:  04/03/2003, 08:55 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and the Utah Veterinary Licensing Board need to make a 
change to the rule to provide another evaluator of licensure 
track for foreign-trained veterinarians. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-28-102:  
definitions for "AAVSB" (American Association of Veterinary 
State Boards), "AVMA" (American Veterinary Medical 
Association) and "PAVE" (Program for the Assessment of 
Veterinary Education Equivalence) have been added.  In 

Sections R156-28-302a and R156-28-302b:  added in both 
sections that the PAVE certification would also be accepted 
for foreign education veterinarians, in addition to the ECFVG 
(AVMA Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary 
Graduates) certification.  The Utah Veterinary Licensing Board 
and the AAVSB believes a national foreign graduate program 
in veterinary medicine should be independent of any 
professional association, which the PAVE certification 
program is. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-28-1, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) and 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs, less 
than $100, to reprint the rule once the proposed amendments 
are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be absorbed in the 
Division's current budget. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Proposed rule does not apply to local 
governments. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no additional costs or savings 
to foreign-trained veterinarians as they will continue to meet 
current requirements for licensure.  The proposed 
amendments merely offer an alternative track to qualify for a 
veterinarian license in Utah.  The Division is unable to predict 
how many foreign-trained veterinarians may apply for 
licensure in the future. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
additional costs or savings to foreign-trained veterinarians as 
they will continue to meet current requirements for licensure.  
The proposed amendments merely offer an alternative track to 
qualify for a veterinarian license in Utah. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There appears to be no 
measurable fiscal impact to businesses from this rule change. 
 The amendment adds an alternative track for licensure of 
those educated in a foreign veterinary school, and as a result, 
could be a positive fiscal impact to foreign educated 
applicants.  However, it is impossible to foresee the amount of 
the fiscal impact at this time.  Ted Boyer, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Daniel T. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6767, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dantjones@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-28.  Veterinary Practice Act Rules. 
R156-28-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 28, as 
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 28 or these rules: 
 (1)  "AAVSB", as used in these rules, means the American 
Association of Veterinary State Boards. 
 (2)  "AVMA", as used in these rules, means the American 
Veterinary Medical Association. 
 (3)  "Direct supervision" means the supervising licensed 
veterinarian shall be present at the point and time at which 
professional services are being provided by the student or unlicensed 
person being supervised. 
 ([2]4) "In association with licensed veterinarians" as used in 
Subsection 58-28-8(6) means providing consultation, performing a 
special procedure, or providing special expertise for a specialized 
case in the same facility as the Utah licensed veterinarian who 
requested the professional services. 
 ([3]5)  "Indirect supervision" means the supervising licensed 
veterinarian shall be available for immediate voice contact by 
telephone, radio, or other means and shall provide daily face-to-face 
consultation and review of cases at the veterinary facility for the 
veterinary intern or unlicensed person being supervised. 
 ([4]6)  "NAVLE", as used in these rules, means the North 
American Veterinary Licensing Examination. 
 ([5]7)  "NBEC", as used in these rules, means the National 
Board Examination Committee of the American Veterinary Medical 
Association. 
 (8)  "PAVE", as used in these rules, means Program for the 
Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence. 
 ([6]9)  "Practice of veterinary medicine, surgery, and dentistry" 
means those acts and practices defined in Subsection 58-28-2(4) and 
includes the implantation of any electronic device for the purpose of 
establishing or maintaining positive identification of animals. 
 ([7]10)  "Qualified continuing education" means continuing 
education that meets the standards set forth in Section R156-28-304. 
 ([8]11)  "RACE", as used in these rules, means the Registry of 
Approved Continuing Education. 
 ([9]12)  "Supervision" as used in Subsection 58-28-8(2) means 
direct supervision. 
 ([10]13)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 28, is further defined in accordance with Subsection 
58-1-203(5) in Section R156-28-502. 
 ([11]14) "Veterinarian-client-patient relationship" means that 
the veterinarian has assumed the responsibility for making medical 
judgments regarding the health of the animal and the need for 
medical treatment, and the client who is the owner or other caretaker 
has agreed to follow the instruction of the veterinarian.  In addition, 
there is sufficient knowledge of the animal by the veterinarian to 
initiate at least a general or preliminary diagnosis of the medical 
condition of the animal.  This means that the veterinarian has 
recently seen and is personally acquainted with the keeping and care 
of the animal by virtue of an examination of the animal, or by 
medically appropriate and timely visits to the premises where the  
 

animal is kept.  In addition, the practicing veterinarian is readily 
available for follow-up in case of adverse reactions or failure of the 
regimen of therapy. 
 
R156-28-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education 
Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2) and 58-1-301(3), 
the education requirements for licensure in Subsection 58-28-4(3) 
are defined, clarified, or established as follows. 
 (1)  Each applicant must have graduated from a veterinary 
college which held current accreditation by the Council on 
Education of the American Veterinary Medical Association 
(AVMA) at the time of his graduation as evidenced by an official 
transcript documenting the degree earned and the date of graduation 
or a notarized diploma. 
 (2)  Each applicant who has received his veterinary education 
in a foreign veterinary school shall demonstrate educational 
equivalency of his foreign veterinary school with an accredited 
domestic veterinary school by submitting a Certificate of 
Competence issued by the AVMA Educational Commission for 
Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) or the AAVSB Program for 
Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE) 
Certificate. 
 
R156-28-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Experience 
Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2) and 58-1-301(3), 
the experience requirements for licensure in Subsection 58-28-4(4) 
are defined, clarified, or established as follows. 
 (1)  Each applicant for licensure as a veterinarian shall 
complete an approved internship which includes a minimum of 1000 
hours of supervised veterinary practice to be earned in not less than 
six consecutive months and not more than 12 consecutive months. 
Successful completion of an approved internship shall be 
documented and submitted to the division in a form provided by the 
division. 
 (2)  Each veterinary intern shall have a valid Utah veterinary 
internship license before beginning his 1000 hour internship. 
 (3)  An applicant for a veterinary internship license must make 
application to the division on a form provided by the division. 
 (4)  A veterinary intern shall practice under the indirect 
supervision of the licensed Utah veterinarian approved by the 
division in consultation with the board or a licensed Utah 
veterinarian designated by the supervising veterinarian.   The 
veterinary intern must reapply to the division for any change of 
supervising veterinarian. 
 (5)  The 1000 hour internship shall not begin before the 
applicant has graduated from an AVMA accredited veterinary 
college, passed the Utah Veterinary Law and Rules Examination and 
obtained his Utah internship license. 
 (6)  If the applicant is a graduate of a foreign college of 
veterinary medicine, he must document ECFVG or PAVE 
certification or acceptance to take the ECFVG or PAVE examination 
and meet with the board before obtaining a Utah internship license 
and beginning his 1000 hour internship. 
 (7)  Evidence of a completed internship shall be documented by 
the supervising veterinarian and the veterinary intern to the division 
at the time application is made for Utah licensure as a veterinarian 
on a form provided by the division. 
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KEY:  veterinary medicine, licensing 
[March 8, 2001]2003 
Notice of Continuation April 15, 2002 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
58-28-1 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-55a 
Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act 

Rules 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26175 
FILED:  04/15/2003, 13:25 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and Construction Services Commission are proposing 
amendments to incorporate into the rule changes made in 
Title 58, Chapter 55, as a result of H.B. 48 passed during the 
2003 legislative session.  H.B. 48 mandates that compliance 
agencies that issue building permits to sole owners report 
those issuance to the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing.  The Division also needed to clarify 
that the only plumbers exempted from natural gas technician 
certification are Utah licensed Journeyman and Residential 
Journeyman plumbers.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 48 is found at UT 
L 2003 Ch 104, and will be effective on May 5, 2003.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Added Section R156-55a-
305 regarding compliance agency reporting of sole owner 
building permits issued.  The new section provides what 
information is to be provided to the Division within 30 days of 
the building permit issuance date and how that information is 
to be provided to the Division.  In Subsection R156-55a-
308b(5), added that the residential journeyman plumber exam 
is considered an equivalent examination.  In Subsection 
R156-55a-308b(7)(b), added that a "licensed" journeyman or 
"residential journeyman" plumber is exempt from natural gas 
technician certification. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-55-101, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a), 
58-1-202(1)(a), 58-55-308(1) and 58-55-102(35) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division does not anticipate any 
costs associated with the proposed amendments.  The 
increased workload from the compliance agency reporting will 
be absorbed by existing personnel in the Division.  Since all 
Division rules are available on the Division's website or 
through the Division's contract testing agency, there will be no 
 
 

need for the Division to reprint this rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective, thus resulting in a minimal 
savings of approximately $100 to the Division. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Compliance agencies will incur some 
minimal costs to comply with the new statute and rule 
requirements.  Compliance agencies will need to fax, email or 
mail a copy of building permits issued to the Division.  
Depending on the reporting process used by each compliance 
agency, costs will vary from almost zero for emailed 
information, to a few cents for faxing, or the costs of copying, 
envelopes and postage for mailed reports.  The information 
being required by the Division is the same as the information 
typically required from an applicant for a building permit.  The 
Division is unable to determine an aggregate cost amount 
since the costs can vary greatly depending on what method 
each compliance agency uses to provide the information to 
the Division and how many building permits are issued to sole 
owners of property. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  The Division does not anticipate any costs 
or savings to other persons.  Mostly only compliance agencies 
will be affected by the change in statute and these proposed 
amendments. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Compliance 
agencies will incur some minimal costs to comply with the new 
statute and rule requirements.  Compliance agencies will need 
to fax, email or mail a copy of building permits issued to the 
Division.  Depending on the reporting process used by each 
compliance agency, costs will vary from almost zero for 
emailed information, to a few cents for faxing, or the costs of 
copying, envelopes and postage for mailed reports. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Other than general clarification 
language, this rule change adds a substantive provision to 
implement the compliance agency reporting requirement 
established by H.B. 48, which was passed in the 2003 
Legislative Session.  Thus, there is no fiscal impact to 
businesses beyond that which resulted from the passage of 
H.B. 48.  Ted Boyer, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Craig Cottle at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6375, 
by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
ccottle@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 



DAR File No. 26154 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 1, 2003, Vol. 2003, No. 9 7 

AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-55a.  Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rules. 
R156-55a-305.  Compliance Agency Reporting of Sole Owner 
Building Permits Issued. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-55-305(2), all compliance 
agencies that issue building permits to sole owners of property must 
submit information concerning each building permit issued in their 
jurisdiction within 30 days of the issuance, with the building permit 
number, date issued, name, address and phone number of the issuing 
compliance agency, sole owner's full name, home address, phone 
number, and subdivision and lot number of the building site, to a fax 
number, email address or written mailing address designated by the 
division. 
 
R156-55a-308b.  Natural Gas Technician Certification. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-308(1), the scope of 
practice defined in Subsection 58-55-308(2)(a) requiring 
certification is further defined as the installation, modifications, 
repair or replacement of the gas piping, combustion air vents, 
exhaust venting system or derating of gas input for altitude of a 
residential or commercial gas appliance. 
 (2)  An approved training program shall include the following 
course content: 
 (a)  general gas appliance installation codes; 
 (b)  venting requirements; 
 (c)  combustion air requirements; 
 (d)  gas line sizing codes; 
 (e)  gas line approved materials requirements; 
 (f)  gas line installation codes; and 
 (g)  methods of derating gas appliances for elevation. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-308(2)(c)(i), the 
following programs are approved to provide natural gas technician 
training, and to issue certificates or documentation of exemption 
from certification: 
 (a)  Federal Bureau of Apprenticeship Training; 
 (b)  Utah college apprenticeship program; and 
 (c)  Trade union apprenticeship program. 
 (4)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-308(2)(e), the 
approved programs set forth in paragraphs (2)(b) and (2)(c) herein 
shall require program participants to pass the Rocky Mountain Gas 
Association Gas Appliance Installers Certification Exam or 
approved equivalent exams established or adopted by a training 
program, with a minimum passing score of 80%. 
 (5)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-308(2)(e), a person 
who has not completed an approved training program, but has 
passed the Rocky Mountain Gas Association Gas Exam or approved 
equivalent exam established or adopted by an approved training 
program, with a minimum passing score of 80%, or the Utah 
licensed Journeyman or Residential Journeyman Plumber Exam, 
with a minimum passing score of 70%, shall be exempt from the 
certification requirement set forth in Subsection 58-55-308(2)(c)(i). 
 (6)  Content of certificates of completion.  An approved 
program shall issue a certificate, including a wallet certificate, to 
persons who successfully complete their training program containing 
the following information: 
 (a)  name of the program provider; 
 (b)  name of the approved program; 

 (c)  name of the certificate holder; 
 (d)  the date the certification was completed; and 
 (e)  signature of an authorized representative of the program 
provider. 
 (7)  Documentation of exemption from 
[registration]certification.  The following shall constitute 
documentation of exemption from certification: 
 (a)  certification of completion of training issued by the Federal 
Bureau of Apprenticeship Training; 
 (b)  current Utah licensed [j]Journeyman or Residential 
Journeyman plumber license; or 
 (c)  certification from the Rocky Mountain Gas Association or 
approved equivalent exam which shall include the following: 
 (i)  name of the association, school, union, or other organization 
who administered the exam; 
 (ii)  name of the person who passed the exam; 
 (iii)  name of the exam; 
 (iv)  the date the exam was passed; and 
 (v)  signature of an authorized representative of the test 
administrator. 
 (8)  Each person engaged in the scope of practice defined in 
Subsection 58-55-308(2)(a) and as further defined in Subsection (1) 
herein, shall carry in their possession documentation of certification 
or exemption. 
 
KEY:  contractors, occupational licensing, licensing 
[July 16, 2002]2003 
Notice of Continuation January 15, 2002 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
58-55-101 
58-55-308(1) 
58-55-102(3[4]5) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-56 
Utah Uniform Building Standard Act 

Rules 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26154 
FILED:  04/03/2003, 09:11 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and Uniform Building Code Commission are proposing 
changes to:  1) change references from ICBO (International 
Conference of Building Officials) to ICC (International Code 
Council).  ICBO has merged into ICC and codes are now 
published by ICC rather than ICBO; 2) make several technical 
amendments; and 3) implement the semi-annual proposed 
changes to building codes that have been approved by the 
Uniform Building Code Commission after review by the 
appropriate subcommittee. 
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-56-102:  
deleted definition of "permanently affixed to real property".  In 
Section R156-56-302:  deleted some transitional provisions 
regarding building inspectors that no longer apply.  In 
Subsection R156-56-302(2)(c)(i), changes were made to 
reflect that state administered examinations upon which prior 
licenses were granted or upon which new limited inspector 
licenses may be granted shall be considered as current 
certification until March 1, 2004.  Changes were also made to 
reflect the name change from ICBO to ICC.  ICBO was 
merged into the ICC.  In Section R156-56-701:  changes were 
made to reflect the name change from ICBO to ICC.  In 
Section R156-56-704: changes to the International Building 
Code in Section R156-56-704 include the following:  in 
Section 310.1., this change allows boarding houses 
accommodating 10 persons or fewer to be classified as R-3 
which will allow them to build to less restrictive requirements.  
In Section 1607.1., this is a technical amendment changing 
the requirement for the ability to hold live loads on decks.  In 
Section 1608.1., this is a technical amendment to correct 
elevations in the table for Park City and to note that actual 
elevations may vary from table.  In Section 1805.21., this 
amendment relaxes the footing requirements for certain 
freestanding buildings of less than 1,000 square feet.  In 
Section 2902.1, the amendment to this section provides that if 
an owner places diaper changing stations in the ladies 
restroom, the owner must put an equal number of stations in 
the men's restroom.  Changes to the International Building 
Code in Section R156-56-705 which only apply to certain local 
jurisdictions include the following:  the Park City amendment 
was changed to also apply to the Park City Fire District, which 
was inadvertently left out of prior amendment.  Park City and 
Park City Fire District:  this change allows wood roof in certain 
applications which was not allowed by previous code 
amendment.  In Section R156-56-707:  changes to the 
International Plumbing Code include the following changes:  
Section 202 is a technical amendment defining S-traps; 
Section 305.5 is a technical amendment which changes how 
pipes passing through footings or foundation are protected 
from structural settling; Section 403.1 provides that if an 
owner places diaper changing stations in the ladies restroom, 
the owner must put an equal number of stations in the men's 
restroom; Section 406.3 allows gravity discharge clothes 
washers to be directly connected to the drainage system; 
Section 406.4 is a technical amendment regarding the 
requirements for safe pans for clothes washers; Section 412.5 
is a technical amendment regarding floor drain requirements; 
Section 417.5.2 is a technical amendment regarding the 
requirements for shower liners; Section 424.5 clarifies that 
water heater temperature settings cannot be used to temper 
water.  Water kept at warm temperature is a dangerous health 
condition allowing disease growth.  When tempered water is 
required, it must be obtained by mixing hot water and cold 
water; Section 502.4 is a technical amendment regarding gas 
fired water heaters, which coordinates the requirement with 
the International Fuel Gas Code; Section 504.6.2 is a 
technical amendment regarding relief valve discharge piping; 
Section 608.15.4.2 clarifies the plumbing requirements for 
urinals.  Some plumbers have not been following the 
manufacturers requirements and plumbing requirements.  This 
section makes it clear what is required; Sections 608.16.4, 

608.16.4.1, and 608.16.4.1 delete prior amendments 
regarding connections to automatic fire sprinklers system 
which is therefore going to the requirements under the 
published building code with the exception of clarifying the use 
of chemical additives.  This change is the result of a 
compromise that has been worked on by the State Fire 
Marshall, the Health Department, Water Quality Department, 
and the fire sprinkler contractors; and Section 1002.4.1 is a 
technical amendment which deletes a prior amendment 
regarding emergency floor drains, thereby returning this 
section to the published code.  In Section R156-56-709:  
changes to the IFGC are as follows:  Section 401.9 clarifies 
that gas meter locations must be protected from falling snow 
from roofs or similar types of damage.  In Section R156-56-
710:  changes to the IECC include the following:  Section 
504.7 prohibits heat traps in water heaters unless a means of 
thermal expansion is allowed.  Heat traps are an energy 
saving device; however, certain types of heat traps are very 
dangerous if installed in a manner which does not allow for the 
expansion of water caused by the heat.  If the expansion is 
now allowed, the expansion could crush critical parts of the 
water heater, which is damaged could cause carbon 
monoxide to be released into the living area of a home.  In 
Section R156-56-711: changes to the International Residential 
Code include the following:  in Section R202, a definition for 
S-trap is added; Section R301.4 is a technical amendment 
changing the requirement for the ability to hold live loads on 
decks; in Section R403.1.4, an amendment relaxes the footing 
requirements for certain freestanding buildings of less that 
1,000 square feet; Section P2801.7 deletes seismic bracing of 
water heaters in certain areas of the state which have low 
seismic risks; and Section G2411.9 clarifies that gas meter 
locations must be protected from falling snow from roofs or 
similar types of damage.  In Section R156-56-712:  changes 
to the International Residential Code which only apply to 
certain local jurisdictions include the following:  the Park City 
amendment was changed to also apply to the Park City Fire 
District, which was inadvertently left out of prior amendment.  
(DAR NOTE:  The four filings affecting Rule R156-56 are:  an 
amendment to Section R156-56-704 under DAR No. 26151; 
an amendment to Section R156-56-707 under DAR No. 
26152; an amendment to Rule R156-56 under DAR No. 
26153; and an amendment to Rule R156-56 under DAR No. 
26154 all in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-56-1, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a), 58-1-
202(1)(a), 58-56-4(2), and 58-56-6(2)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no cost to the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing to print this rule once 
all proposed amendments are made effective as this rule is no 
longer printed by the Division, but the rule is available on the 
Division's website.  There is no direct effect of these 
amendments on the state budget. However, there may be an 
indirect effect on the state budget, if the state were involved in 
construction projects which are subject to the particular code 
amendments.  Overall the proposed amendments do not 
appear to add substantially to costs of construction.  Many of 
the amendments will allow savings.  See the costs or savings 
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impact itemized below for the estimated item by item impact to 
owners of building projects. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no direct effect of these 
amendments on local governments.  However, there may be 
an indirect effect on local governments, if the local 
government was involved in construction projects which are 
subject to the particular code amendments.  Overall the 
proposed amendments to no appear to add substantially to 
costs of construction.  Many of the amendments will allow 
savings.  See the costs or savings impact itemized below for 
the estimated item by item impact to owners of building 
projects. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  It is impossible to estimate the impact on 
either individuals or aggregate impact, because the cost may 
vary depending on the type of project involved.  Overall, the 
proposed amendments do not appear to add substantially to 
costs of construction.  Many of the amendments will allow 
savings.  The estimated item-by-item impact to owners of 
building projects is estimated as follows: 1) under Sections 
R156-56-302 and R156-56-701, Name change of ICBO to 
ICC--No  impact; 2) changes to the International Building 
Code in Section R156-56-704: Section 310.1., boarding 
houses requirements, substantial cost savings in complying to 
new requirements.  Could vary from several hundred to a few 
thousand dollars per project.  Section 1607.1., live loads on 
decks, in many cases there would be no additional costs.  In 
large decks cost could increase by $0.20 per square foot of 
deck.  Section 1608.1., correct elevations, no impact.  Section 
1805.21., footing requirements for small freestanding 
buildings, saving could vary from $0 up to as much as $1,000 
for a freestanding garage. Section 2902.1, diaper changing 
stations are not required in any building, therefore, this 
change does result in a mandatory cost to any owner to 
include the diaper changing facilities in a men's restroom, as 
well as a ladies restroom.  The Division is unable to determine 
an exact cost as it may vary greatly from project to project;  3) 
changes to the International Building Code in Section R156-
56-705 which only apply to certain local jurisdictions include 
the following:  Park City and Park City Fire District:  change 
allowing a wood roof in certain applications.  This allows 
certain business owners to choose another option which may 
provide a certain look however the cost of the option may in 
fact cost more to owners.  Impact for required code is none 
while optional changes which are costs to be incurred at the 
discretion of the owner may be substantial; 4) changes to the 
International Plumbing Code in Section R156-56-707 include 
the following:  Section 202 defining S-traps--no impact.  In 
Section 305.5, pipes passing through footings or foundation, 
savings vary from no impact up to a potential savings of $20 
for each time a pipe passes through a foundation.  In Section 
403.1, diaper changing stations are not required in any 
building.  Therefore, this change does result in a mandatory 
cost to any owner to include the diaper changing facilities in a 
men's restroom as well as a ladies restroom.  The Division is 
unable to determine an exact cost as it may vary greatly from 
project to project.  In Section 406.3, clothes washers directly 
connection to the drainage system, there are no additional 
costs or savings.  This simply allows another option for 
drainage.  In Section 406.4, safe pans for clothes washers, no 
impact on installation costs but cost savings of repairing 
failures could be substantial.  In Section 412.5, floor drain 

requirements, no impact.  In Section 417.5.2, shower liners, 
no impact or minor additional costs.  In Section 424.5, 
clarifying water heater temperature, the additional cost to mix 
water would be minimal. In Section 502.4, coordinate 
requirements for water heaters with the International Fuel Gas 
Code, no impact.  In Section 504.6.2, relief valve discharge 
piping, no impact.  In Section 608.15.4.2, plumbing 
requirements for urinals, no additional cost.  This is already 
required but is simply clarified.  In Sections 608.16.4, 
608.16.4.1, and 608.16.4.1, connections to automatic fire 
sprinklers system and use of chemical additives, impact 
unknown.  It has been argued both ways, that this alternative 
is both less costly or more costly than the current 
requirements.  In Section 1002.4.1, emergency floor drains, 
no impact; 5) changes to the IFGC in Section R156-56-709 
include the following:  Section 401.9 clarifies gas meter 
locations.  Damages to meters have been caused when 
protection is not provided.  There will be some minor addition 
costs that cannot be determined, but costs are likely offset in 
the long term with savings prevented repairing damages to 
meters; 6) changes to the IECC in Section R156-56-710 
include the following: in Section 504.7, prohibits heat traps in 
water heaters, there is no cost or savings from this 
requirement; 7) changes to the International Residential Code 
in Section R156-56-711 include the following:  Section 
R301.4, live loads on decks, in many cases, there would be 
no additional costs. In large decks, cost could increase by 
$0.20 per square foot of deck.  In Section R403.1.4, footing 
requirements for small freestanding buildings, saving could 
vary from $0 up to as much as $1,000 for a freestanding 
garage.  In Section P2801.7, deletes seismic bracing of water 
heaters.  Savings by deleting this requirement is about $50 
per home affected.  This change only applies to a very limited 
part of the state; and 8) changes to the International 
Residential Code in Section R156-56-712, which only apply to 
certain local jurisdictions, include the following:  the Park City 
amendment is changed to also apply to the Park City Fire 
District, which was inadvertently left out of prior amendment, 
no impact.  Section G2411.9 clarifies gas meter locations.  
Damages to meters have been caused when protection is not 
provided.  There will be some minor addition costs that cannot 
be determined, but costs are likely offset in the long term with 
savings prevented repairing damages to meters. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  See "Other 
persons" above for an estimated item by item impact to 
owners of building projects. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  In addition to nonsubstantive 
reference corrections, the proposed amendments contain 
substantive changes including: allowing boarding houses that 
accommodate 10 or fewer residents to comply with less 
restrictive requirements; relaxing the frost protection required 
for footings in building of less than 1,000 square feet; allowing 
wood roofs in certain applications; requiring safe pan 
installation for clothes washers; deletion of prior amendments 
regarding connections to automatic fire sprinkler systems and 
use of chemical additives; and adding footing requirements for 
small freestanding buildings.  The fiscal impact to businesses 
is undeterminable and dependent upon the number of projects 
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at issue.  The amendments as a whole do not create a 
substantial negative fiscal impact to the construction industry, 
and some of the amendments are in fact a cost savings, such 
as less restrictive requirements for small boarding houses and 
the exemption from footing frost protection for smaller 
freestanding buildings.  In addition, some amendments may 
result in savings to the owner of the buildings, such as the 
installation of safe pans for clothes washers, which should 
reduce costs of repairs, thereby more than offsetting the cost 
of the safe pans.  Ted Boyer, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dan S. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6720, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dsjones@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  5/15/2003 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building,  Room 
4112,  Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-56.  Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules. 
R156-56-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1, 55 and 56, 
as used in Title 58, Chapter 56 or these rules: 
 (1)  "Building permit" means, for the purpose of determining 
the building permit surcharge under Subsection 58-56-9(4), a 
warrant, license or authorization to build or construct a building or 
structure or any part thereof. 
 (2)  "Building permit fee" means, for the purpose of 
determining the building permit surcharge under Subsection 58-56-
9(4), fees assessed by an agency of the state or political subdivision 
of the state for the issuance of permits for construction, alteration, 
remodeling, and repair and installation including building, electrical, 
mechanical and plumbing components. 
 (3)  "Employed by a local regulator, state regulator or 
compliance agency" means, with respect to Subsection 58-56-9(1), 
the hiring of services of a qualified inspector whether by an 
employer/employee relationship, an independent contractor 
relationship, a fee-for-service relationship or any other lawful 
arrangement under which the regulating agency purchases the 
services of a qualified inspector. 

 (4)  "Inspector" means a person employed by a local regulator, 
state regulator or compliance agency for the purpose of inspecting 
building, electrical, plumbing or mechanical construction, alteration, 
remodeling, repair or installation in accordance with the codes 
adopted under these rules and taking appropriate action based upon 
the findings made during inspection. 
 (5)  ["Permanently affixed to real property" means a 
manufactured home or mobile home which has complied with all of 
the provisions of Section 59-2-602 at the date possession of the 
manufactured home or mobile home is changed from the dealer to 
the purchaser. 
 (6)  ]"Refuses to establish a method of appeal" means with 
respect to Subsection 58-56-8(3), that a compliance agency does not 
in fact adopt a formal written method of appealing uniform building 
standard matters in accordance with generally recognized standards 
of due process; or, that the compliance agency does not convene an 
appeals board and render a decision in the matter within ninety days 
from the date on which the appeal is properly filed with the 
compliance agency. 
 ([7]6)  "Uniform Building Standards" means the codes 
identified in Section R156-56-701 and as amended under these rules. 
 ([8]7)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, Chapter 
1 is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(5), in 
Section R156-56-502. 
 
R156-56-302.  Licensure of Inspectors. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-56-9(1), the licensee 
classifications, scope of work, qualifications for licensure, and 
application for license are established as follows: 
 (1)  License Classifications.  Each inspector employed by a 
local regulator, state regulator, compliance agency, or private agency 
providing inspection services to a regulator or compliance agency, 
shall qualify for licensure and be licensed by the division in one of 
the following classifications: 
 (a)  Combination Inspector; or 
 (b)  Limited Inspector. 
 (2)  Scope of Work.  The scope of work permitted under each 
inspector classification is as follows: 
 (a)  Combination Inspector. 
 (i)  Inspect the components of any building, structure or work 
for which a standard is provided in the specific edition of the codes 
adopted under these rules or amendments to these codes as included 
in these rules. 
 (ii)  Determine whether the construction, alteration, 
remodeling, repair or installation of all components of any building, 
structure or work is in compliance with the adopted codes. 
 (iii)  After determination of compliance or noncompliance with 
the adopted codes take appropriate action as is provided in the 
aforesaid codes. 
 (b)  Limited Inspector. 
 (i)  A Limited Inspector may only conduct activities under 
Subsections (ii), (iii) or (iv) for which the Limited Inspector has 
maintained current certificates under the adopted codes as provided 
under Subsections R156-56-302(3)(b) and R156-56-302(2)(c)(ii). 
 (ii)  Subject to the limitations of Subsection (i), inspect the 
components of any building, structure or work for which a standard 
is provided in the specific edition of the codes adopted under these 
rules or amendments to these codes as included in these rules. 
 (iii)  Subject to the limitations under Subsection (i), determine 
whether the construction, alteration, remodeling, repair or 
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installation of components of any building, structure or work is in 
compliance with the adopted codes. 
 (iv)  Subject to the limitations under Subsection (i), after 
determination of compliance or noncompliance with the adopted 
codes, take appropriate action as is provided in the adopted codes. 
 (c)  Transitional Provisions. 
 (i)  [A license issued to an inspector trainee which license is 
active at the time of this rule change shall remain effective 
throughout the term of the original license and shall have authority 
as specified under the prior rules in effect on July 1, 1999.  
Thereafter, all persons must qualify for licensure under these rules. 
 (ii)  An inspector granted a license as a Building Inspector I, 
Electrical Inspector I, Plumbing Inspector I, Mechanical Inspector I, 
Combination Inspector II - Limited Commercial Combination, 
Combination Inspector III, Building Inspector III, Electrical 
Inspector III, Plumbing Inspector III or Mechanical Inspector III 
under the prior rules, which license is active at the time of this rule 
change, shall be issued a replacement license as a Limited Inspector. 
 (iii)  ]The state administered examinations upon which prior 
licenses were granted or upon which new limited inspector licenses 
may be granted shall be considered as current certification until [two 
years after a national organization offers certification as a residential 
building inspector, residential electrical inspector, residential 
plumbing inspector or residential mechanical inspector for codes 
adopted under these rules.  After the state administered examinations 
are no longer considered current certification,]March 1, 2004.  
Thereafter, licenses may not be granted or renewed unless the person 
has obtained current certificates issued by a national organization. 
 (3)  Qualifications for Licensure.  The qualifications for 
licensure for each inspector classification are as follows: 
 (a)  Combination Inspector. 
 Has passed the examination for and maintained as current the 
following national certifications for codes adopted under these rules: 
 (i)  the "Building Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council; 
 (ii)  the "Electrical Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council or the 
"General Electrical Certification" issued by the International 
Association of Electrical Inspectors; 
 (iii)  the "Plumbing Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council, 
International Code Council or the International Association of 
Plumbing and Mechanical Officials or the "Commercial Plumbing 
Inspector Certification" issued by the International Code Council or 
International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials; and 
 (iv)  the "Mechanical Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council or the 
"Commercial Mechanical Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials. 
 (b)  Limited Inspector. 
 Has passed the examination for and maintained as current one 
or more of the following national certifications for codes adopted 
under these rules: 
 (i)  the "Building Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council; 
 (ii)  the "Electrical Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council or the 
"General Electrical Certification" issued by the International 
Association of Electrical Inspectors; 
 (iii)  the "Plumbing Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council, 

International Code Council or the International Association of 
Plumbing and Mechanical Officials or the "Commercial Plumbing 
Inspector Certification" issued by the International Code Council or 
International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials; 
 (iv)  the "Mechanical Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International [Conference of Building Officials]Code Council or the 
"Commercial Mechanical Inspector Certification" issued by the 
International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials; 
 (v) the "Combination Dwelling Inspector Certification" issued 
by the International [Conference of Building Officials]Code 
Council; 
 (vi)  the "Limited Commercial Combination Certification" 
issued by the International [Conference of Building Officials]Code 
Council; 
 (vii)  the "Residential Building Inspector Certification" issued 
by the International [Conference of Building Officials]Code 
Council; 
 (viii)  the "Residential Electrical Inspector Certification" issued 
by the International [Conference of Building Officials]Code 
Council; 
 (ix)  the "Residential Plumbing Inspector Certification" issued 
by the International [Conference of Building Officials]Code 
Council; or 
 (x)  the "Residential Mechanical Inspector Certification" issued 
by the International [Conference of Building Officials]Code 
Council. 
 (4)  Application for License. 
 (a)  An applicant for licensure shall: 
 (i)  submit an application in a form prescribed by the division; 
and 
 (ii)  pay a fee determined by the department pursuant to Section 
63-38-3.2. 
 
R156-56-701.  Specific Editions of Uniform Building Standards. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-56-4(3), and subject to 
the limitations contained in Subsection (6), (7), and (8), the 
following codes are hereby incorporated by reference and adopted as 
the construction standards to be applied to building construction, 
alteration, remodeling and repair and in the regulation of building 
construction, alteration, remodeling and repair in the state: 
 (a)  the 2000 edition of the International Building Code (IBC) 
as modified by Chapter 11 and Chapter 16 of the 2001 edition of the 
Supplement to the International Building Code, promulgated by the 
International Code Council, and amendments adopted under these 
rules together with standards incorporated into the IBC by reference, 
including but not limited to, the 2000 edition of the International 
Energy Conservation Code (IECC) promulgated by the International 
Code Council and the 2000 edition of the International Residential 
Code (IRC) promulgated by the International Code Council shall 
become effective on January 1, 2002; 
 (b)  the 2002 edition of the National Electrical Code (NEC) 
promulgated by the National Fire Protection Association, to become 
effective January 1, 2003; 
 (c)  the 2000 edition of the International Plumbing Code (IPC) 
promulgated by the International Code Council and amendments 
adopted under these rules in Section R156-56-707 shall become 
effective on January 1, 2001; 
 (d)  the 2000 edition of the International Mechanical Code 
(IMC) together with all applicable standards set forth in the 2000 
International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC) (formerly included as part of 
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the IMC) and amendments adopted under these rules in Section 
R156-56-708 shall become effective on January 1, 2002; 
 (e)  subject to the provisions of Subsection (4), the Federal 
Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act 
(HUD Code) as promulgated by the Department of Housing and 
Urban Development and published in the Federal Register as set 
forth in 24 CFR parts 3280 and 3282 as revised April 1, 1990; and 
 (f)  subject to the provisions of Subsection (4), the 1994 edition 
of NCSBCS A225.1 Manufactured Home Installations promulgated 
by the National Conference of States on Building Codes and 
Standards (NCSBCS). 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-56-4(4), and subject to 
the limitations contained in Subsection 58-56-4(5), the following 
codes are hereby incorporated by reference and approved for use and 
adoption by a compliance agency as the construction standards 
which may be applied to existing buildings in the regulation of 
building alteration, remodeling, repair, removal and rehabilitation in 
the state: 
 (a)  the 1997 edition of the Uniform Code for the Abatement of 
Dangerous Buildings (UCADB) promulgated by the International 
[Conference of Building Officials]Code Council; 
 (b)  the 1997 edition of the Uniform Code for Building 
Conservation (UCBC) promulgated by the International [Conference 
of Building Officials]Code Council; 
 (c)  Guidelines for the Seismic Retrofit of Existing Buildings 
(GSREB) promulgated by the International [Conference of Building 
Officials]Code Council; 
 (d)  Guidelines for the Rehabilitation of Existing Buildings 
(GREB) promulgated by the International [Conference of Building 
Officials]Code Council. 
 (3)  Amendments adopted by rule to prior editions of the 
Uniform Building Standards shall remain in effect until specifically 
amended or repealed. 
 (4)  The manufacturer, dealer or homeowner shall be permitted 
to design for unusual installation of a manufactured home not 
provided for in the manufacturer's standard installation instruction or 
NCSBCS/ANSI 225.1, Manufactured Home Installations, provided 
the design is approved in writing by a professional engineer or 
architect licensed in Utah.  Guidelines for Manufactured Housing 
Installation as promulgated by the International [Conference of 
Building Officials]Code Council may be used as a reference guide. 
 (5)  Pursuant to the Federal Manufactured Home Construction 
and Safety Standards Section 604(d), a manufactured home may be 
installed in the state of Utah which does not meet the local snow 
load requirements as specified in Subsection R156-56-704; however 
all such homes which fail to meet the standards of Subsection R156-
56-704 shall have a protective structure built over the home which 
meets the International Building Code and the snow load 
requirements under Subsection R156-56-704. 
 (6)  To the extent that the building codes adopted under 
Subsection (1) establish local administrative functions or establish a 
method of appeal which pursuant to Section 58-56-8 are designated 
to be established by the compliance agency, such provisions are not 
included in the codes adopted hereunder but authority over such 
provisions are reserved to the compliance agency to establish such 
provisions. 
 (7)  To the extent that the building codes adopted under 
Subsection (1) establish provisions, standards or references to other 
codes which by state statutes are designated to be established or 
administered by other state agencies or local city, town or county 
 

jurisdictions, such provisions are not included in the codes adopted 
herein but authority over such provisions are reserved to the agency 
or local government having authority over such provisions.  
Provisions excluded under this Subsection include but are not 
limited to: 
 (a)  the International Property Maintenance Code; 
 (b)  the International Private Sewage Disposal Code, authority 
over which would be reserved to the Department of Health and the 
Department of Environmental Quality; 
 (c)  the International Fire Code which pursuant to Section 58-3-
7 authority is reserved to the Utah Fire Prevention Board; and 
 (d)  day care provisions which are in conflict with the Child 
Care Licensing Act, authority over which is designated to the Utah 
Department of Health. 
 (8)  To the extent that the codes adopted under Subsection (1) 
establish provisions that exceed the authority granted to the 
Division, under the Utah Uniform Building Standards Act, to adopt 
codes or amendments to such codes by rulemaking procedures, such 
provisions, to the extent such authority is exceeded, are not included 
in the codes adopted. 
 
R156-56-704.  Statewide Amendments to the IBC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IBC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  All references to the International Electrical Code are 
deleted and replaced with the National Electrical Code adopted 
under Subsection R156-56-701(1)(b). 
 (2)  Section 101.4.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 101.4.1 Electrical.  The provisions of the National Electrical 
Code (NEC) shall apply to the installation of electrical systems, 
including alterations, repairs, replacement, equipment, appliances, 
fixtures, fittings and appurtenances thereto. 
 (3)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.  See Section 308.1.1. 
 (4)  Section 302.3.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 302.3.3  Separated uses.  Each portion of the building shall be 
individually classified as to use and shall be considered separated 
from other occupancies when completely separated from adjacent 
areas by fire barrier walls or horizontal assemblies or both having a 
fire-resistance rating determined in accordance with this sections. 
 302.3.3.1  All occupancies. Each fire area shall be separated 
from other occupancies in other fire areas in accordance with Table 
302.3.3 based on the occupancy in the fire areas, and shall comply 
with the height limitations based on the use of that space and the 
type of construction classification.  In each story the building area 
shall be such that the sum or the ratios of the floor area of each use 
divided by the allowable area for each use shall not exceed 1. 
 Exceptions for R-3 and U Groups: 
 1.  The private garage shall be separated from the residence and 
its attic area by means of materials approved for one-hour fire 
resistive construction applied to the garage side.  Door openings 
between the garage and the residence shall be equipped with either 
solid wood doors not less than 1 3/8 inches (35 mm) thick or doors 
in compliance with Section 714.2.3.  Openings from a private garage 
directly into a room used for sleeping purposes shall not be 
permitted. 
 2.  Ducts in the private garage and ducts penetrating the walls 
or ceilings separating the dwelling from the garage shall be 
constructed of a minimum No. 26 gage (.48 mm) sheet steel and 
shall have no openings into the garage. 
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 3.  A separation is not required between a Group R-3 and 
Group U carport provided the carport is entirely open on two or 
more sides and there are not enclosed spaces above. 
 Where the building is equipped throughout with an automatic 
sprinkler system, the fire resistance ratings in Table 302.3.3 shall be 
reduced by one hour but not to less than one hour and to not less 
than that required for floor construction according to the type of 
construction.  The one hour reduction shall not apply to fire area 
separations when H-1, H-2, H-3, or I-2 occupancies are included in 
the areas being separated. 
 Table 302.3.3 is deleted and replaced with: 
 Table 302.3.3, entitled "Required Separation of Occupancies", 
dated January 1, 2002, published by the Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference.  Table 302.3.3 identifies 
what type of separation of occupancies requirements are mandated 
in various types of property use classifications. 
 (5)  A new Section 302.4 is added as follows: 
 302.4  Spaces used for different purposes.  A room or space 
that is intended to be occupied at different times for different 
purposes shall comply with all requirements that are applicable to 
each of the purposes for which the room or space will be occupied. 
 (6)  Section 305.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 305.2 Day care.  The building or structure, or portion thereof, 
for educational, supervision, child day care centers, or personal care 
services of more than four children shall be classified as a Group E 
occupancy.  See Section 419 for special requirements for Group E 
child day care centers. 
 Exception:  Areas used for child day care purposes with a 
Residential Certificate, Family License or Family Group License 
may be located in a Group R-2 or R-3 occupancy as provided in 
Section 310.1 and as applicable in Section 101.2. 
 Child day care centers providing care for more than 100 
children 2 1/2 years or less of age shall be classified as Group I-4. 
 (7)  In Section 308 the following definitions are added: 
 308.1.1 Definitions.  The following words and terms shall, for 
the purposes of this section and as used elsewhere in this code, have 
the meanings shown herein. 
 TYPE 1 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.  A residential facility 
that provides a protected living arrangement for ambulatory, non-
restrained persons who are capable of achieving mobility sufficient 
to exit the facility without the assistance of another person. 
 TYPE 2 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.   A residential 
facility that provides an array of coordinated supportive personal and 
health care services to residents who meet the definition of semi-
independent. 
 SEMI-INDEPENDENT.  A person who is: 
 A.  Physically disabled but able to direct his or her own care; or 
 B.  Cognitively impaired or physically disabled but able to 
evacuate from the facility with the physical assistance of one person. 
 (8)  Section 308.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.2 Group I-1.  This occupancy shall include a building or 
part thereof housing more than 16 persons, on a 24-hour basis, who 
because of age, mental disability or other reasons, live in a 
supervised residential environment that provides personal care 
services.  The occupants are capable of responding to an emergency 
situation without physical assistance from staff.  This group shall 
include, but not be limited to, the following: residential board and 
care facilities, type 1 assisted living facilities, half-way houses, 
group homes, congregate care facilities, social rehabilitation 
facilities, alcohol and drug centers and convalescent facilities.  A 

facility such as the above with five or fewer persons shall be 
classified as a Group R-3.  A facility such as above, housing at least 
six and not more than 16 persons, shall be classified as a Group R-4. 
 (9)  Section 308.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.3 Group I-2.  This occupancy shall include buildings and 
structures used for medical, surgical, psychiatric, nursing or 
custodial care on a 24-hour basis of more than three persons who are 
not capable of self-preservation.  This group shall include, but not be 
limited to the following: hospitals, nursing homes (both intermediate 
care facilities and skilled nursing facilities), mental hospitals, 
detoxification facilities, ambulatory surgical centers with two or 
more operating rooms where care is less than 24 hours and type 2 
assisted living facilities.  Type 2 assisted living facilities with five or 
fewer persons shall be classified as a Group R-4.  Type 2 assisted 
living facilities as defined in 308.1.1 with at least six and not more 
than sixteen residents shall be classified as a Group I-1 facility. 
 (10)  Section 308.3.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 308.3.1 Child care facility.  A child care facility that provides 
care on a 24 hour basis to more than four children 2 1/2 years of age 
or less shall be classified as Group I-2. 
 (11)  Section 308.5 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.5  Group I-4, day care facilities.  This group shall include 
buildings and structures occupied by persons of any age who receive 
custodial care less than 24 hours by individuals other than parents or 
guardians, relatives by blood, marriage, or adoption, and in a place 
other than the home of the person cared for.  A facility such as the 
above with four or fewer persons shall be classified as an R-3.  
Places of worship during religious functions and Group E child day 
care centers are not included. 
 (12)  Section 308.5.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 308.5.2 Child care facility.  A facility that provides supervision 
and personal care on less than a 24 hour basis for more than 100 
children 2 1/2 years of age or less shall be classified as Group I-4. 
 (13)  Section 310.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 310.1 Residential Group "R". Residential Group R includes, 
among others, the use of a building or structure, or a portion thereof, 
for sleeping purposes when not classed as an Institutional Group I.  
Residential occupancies shall include the following: 
 R-1  Residential occupancies where the occupants are primarily 
transient in nature (less than 30 days) including: Boarding Houses 
(transient), Hotels (transient), and Motels (transient). 
 Exception: Boarding houses accommodating 10 persons or less 
shall be classified as a Residential Group R-3. 
 R-2  Residential occupancies containing sleeping units or more 
than two dwelling units where the occupants are primarily 
permanent in nature, including: Apartment Houses, Boarding houses 
(not transient), Convents, Dormitories, Fraternities and Sororities, 
Monasteries, Vacation timeshare properties, Hotels (non transient), 
and Motels (non transient). 
 Exception: Boarding houses accommodating 10 persons or less 
shall be classified as a Residential Group R-3. 
 R-3  Residential occupancies where the occupants are primarily 
permanent in nature and not classified as R-1, R-2, R-4 or I and 
where buildings do not contain more than two dwelling units, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, or adult and child care facilities that 
provide accommodations for five or fewer persons of any age for 
less than 24 hours. Adult and child care facilities that are within a 
single family home are permitted to comply with the International 
Residential Code in accordance with Section 101.2.  Areas used for 
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day care purposes may be located in a Residential Group, R-3 
occupancy provided the building substantially complies with the 
requirements for a dwelling unit and under all of the following 
conditions: 
 1. Compliance with the Utah Administrative Code, R710-8, 
Day Care Rules, as enacted under the authority of the Utah Fire 
Prevention Board. 
 2. Use is approved by the State Department of Health, as 
enacted under the authority of the Utah Child Care Licensing Act, 
UCA, Sections 26-39-101 through 26-39-110, and in any of the 
following categories: 
 a. Utah Administrative Code, R430-50, Residential Certificate 
Child Care Standards. 
 b. Utah Administrative Code, R430-90, Licensed Family Child 
Care. 
 3. Compliance with all zoning regulations of the local regulator. 
 R-4  Residential occupancies shall include buildings arranged 
for occupancy as Residential Care/Assisted Living Facilities 
including more than five but not more than 16 occupants, excluding 
staff. 
 Group R-4 occupancies shall meet the requirements for 
construction as defined for Group R-3 except as otherwise provided 
for in this code or shall comply with the International Residential 
Code in accordance with Section 101.2. 
 (14)  A new section 310.4 is added as follows: 
 310.4  Floor-level exit signs.  Where exit signs are required by 
section 1003.2.10.1, additional approved exit signs that are 
internally or externally illuminated, photoluminescent or self-
luminous, shall be provided in all corridors serving guest rooms of 
R-1 occupancies.  The bottom of such signs shall not be less than 6 
inches (152 mm) nor more than 8 inches (203 mm) above the floor 
level and shall indicate the path of exit travel.  For exit and exit 
access doors, the sign shall be on the door or adjacent to the door 
with the closest edge of the sign with 8 inches (203 mm) of the door 
frame. 
 (15)  In section 403.10.1.1 the exception is deleted. 
 (16)  A new Section 403.9.1 is added as follows: 
 403.9.1 Elevator lobby.  Elevators on all floors shall open into 
elevator lobbies that are separated from the remainder of the 
building, including corridors and other means of egress by smoke 
partitions complying with Section 710.  Elevator lobbies shall have 
at least one means of egress complying with Chapter 10 and other 
provisions within the code.  Elevator lobbies separated from a fire 
resistance rated corridor shall have walls of not less than one-hour 
fire resistance rating and openings shall conform to Section 714. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Separations are not required from a street floor elevator 
lobby. 
 2.  In atria complying with the provisions of Section 404 
elevator lobbies are not required. 
 (17)  A new section 419 is added as follows: 
 Section 419 Group E Child Day Care Centers. Group E child 
day care centers shall comply with Section 419. 
 419.1 Location at grade. Group E child day care centers shall 
be located at the level of exit discharge. 
 Exception: Child day care spaces for children over the age of 
24 months may be located on the second floor of buildings equipped 
with automatic fire protection throughout and an automatic fire 
alarm system. 
 
 

 419.2 Egress. All Group E child day care spaces with an 
occupant load of 10 or more shall have a second means of egress.  If 
the second means of egress is not an exit door leading directly to the 
exterior, the room shall have an emergency escape and rescue 
window complying with Section 1009. 
 (18)  Section 706.3.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 706.3.5 Separation of mixed occupancies. Where the provisions 
of Section 302.3.3 are applicable, the fire barrier separating mixed 
occupancies shall have a fire-resistance rating of not less than that 
indicated in Section 302.3.3 based on the occupancies being 
separated. 
 (19)  A new Section 706.3.6 is added as follows: 
 706.3.6. Single occupancy fire areas. The fire barrier separating 
a single occupancy into different fire areas shall have a fire 
resistance rating of not less than that indicated in Table 706.3.6. 
 

TABLE 706.3.6 
FIRE-RESISTANCE RATING REQUIREMENTS 
FOR FIRE BARRIER ASSEMBLIES BETWEEN 

FIRE AREAS 
 
OCCUPANCY GROUP           FIRE-RESISTANCE RATING (IN HOURS) 
H-1, H-2                          4 
F-1, H-3, S-1                     3 
A, B, E, F-2, H-4, H-5, I 
  M, R, S-2                       2 
U                                 1 

 
 (20)  In Section 707.14.1 Exception 4 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 4.  See Section 403.9.1 for high rise buildings. 
 (21)  Section 710.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 710.3 Fire-resistance rating.  The fire-resistance rating of floor 
and roof assemblies shall not be less than that required by the 
building type of construction. Where the floor assembly separates 
mixed occupancies, the assembly shall have a fire-resistance rating 
of not less than that required in Section 302.3.3 based on the 
occupancies being separated. Where the floor assembly separates a 
single occupancy into different fire areas, the assembly shall have a 
fire-resistance rating of not less than that required by Section 
706.3.6.  Floor assemblies separating dwelling units or guestrooms 
shall be a minimum of 1-hour fire-resistance-rated construction. 
 Exception: Dwelling unit and guestroom separations in 
buildings of Type IIB, IIIB and VB construction shall have fire-
resistance ratings of not less than 1/2 hour in buildings equipped 
throughout with an automatic sprinkler system in accordance with 
Section 903.3.1.1. 
 (22)  In Section 902, the definition for record drawings is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 RECORD DRAWINGS.  Drawings ("as builts") that document 
all aspects of a fire protection system as installed. 
 (23)  Section 903.2.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 903.2.5 Group I. An automatic sprinkler system shall be 
provided throughout buildings with Group I fire areas.  Listed quick 
response or residential sprinkler heads shall be installed in patient or 
resident sleeping areas. 
 (24)  Section 903.2.9 Group R-4 is deleted and replaced with 
the following: 
 An automatic sprinkler system shall be provided throughout all 
buildings with Group R-4 fire areas that contain more than eight 
occupants. 
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 Exception: 
 1.  An automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with 
Section 903.3.1.2 or Section 903.3.1.3. shall be allowed in Group R-
4 facilities. 
 2.  Buildings not more than 4,500 gross square feet and not 
containing more than 16 residents, provided the building is equipped 
throughout with an approved fire alarm system that is interconnected 
and receives its primary power from the building wiring and a 
commercial power system. 
 (25)  Section 905.5.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 905.5.3 Class II system 1-inch hose. A minimum 1-inch (25.4 
mm) hose shall be permitted to be used for hose stations in light-
hazard occupancies where investigated and listed for this service and 
where approved by the code official. 
 (26)  In Section 1002, the definition for exit discharge is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 EXIT DISCHARGE.  That portion of a means of egress system 
between the termination of an exit and a public way or safe dispersal 
area. 
 (27)  In Section 1003.2.12.1 the exception is deleted and 
replaced with the following: 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  For occupancies in Group R-3 and within individual 
dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in Section 
101.2, guards whose top rail serves as a handrail shall have a height 
not less than 34 inches (864 mm)and not more than 38 inches (965 
mm) measured vertically from the leading edge of the stair tread 
nosing. 
 2.  For occupancies in Group R-3 and within individual 
dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in section 
101.2, guards shall form a protective barrier not less than 36 inches 
(914 mm). 
 (28)  Section 1003.2.12.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1003.2.12.2 Opening limitations.  Open guards shall have 
balusters or ornamental patterns such that a 4-inch-diameter (102 
mm) sphere cannot pass through any opening up to a height of 34 
inches (864 mm).  From a height of 34 inches (864 mm) to 42 inches 
(1067 mm) above the adjacent walking surface, a sphere 8 inches 
(203 mm) in diameter shall not pass.  For occupancies in Group R-3 
and within individual dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, required guards shall not be constructed 
with horizontal rails or other ornamental pattern that results in a 
ladder effect. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  The triangular openings formed by the riser, tread and 
bottom rail at the open side of a stairway shall be of a maximum size 
such that a sphere of 6 inches (152 mm) in diameter cannot pass 
through the opening. 
 2.  At elevated walking surfaces for access to and use of 
electrical, mechanical, or plumbing systems or equipment, guards 
shall have balusters or be of solid materials such that a sphere with a 
diameter of 21 inches (533 mm) cannot pass through any opening. 
 3.  In occupancies in Group I-3, F, H or S, balusters, horizontal 
intermediate rails or other construction shall not permit a sphere 
with a diameter of 21 inches (533 mm) to pass through any opening. 
 4.  In assembly seating areas, guards at the end of aisles where 
they terminate at a fascia of boxes, balconies, and galleries shall 
have balusters or ornamental patterns such that a 4-inch-diameter 
(102 mm) sphere cannot pass through any opening up to a height of 

26 inches (660 mm).  From a height of 26 inches (660 mm) to 42 
inches (1067 mm) above the adjacent walking surfaces, a sphere 8 
inches (203 mm) in diameter shall not pass. 
 (29)  Section 1003.3.3.3, Exception #5 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 5.  In occupancies in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, 
within dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in 
Section 101.2, and in occupancies in Group U, which are accessory 
to an occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, the 
maximum riser height shall be 8 inches (203 mm) and the minimum 
tread depth shall be 9 inches (229 mm).  A nosing not less than 0.75 
inch (19.1 mm) but not more than 1.25 inches (32 mm) shall be 
provided on stairways with solid risers where the tread depth is less 
than 10 inches (254 mm). 
 (30)  Section 1003.3.3.11 Exemption #4 is deleted and replaced 
with the  following: 
 4.  In occupancies in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2 
and in occupancies in Group U, which are accessory to an 
occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, handrails 
shall be provided on at least one side of stairways consisting of four 
or more risers. 
 (31)  Section 1003.3.3.11.3 is amended to include the following 
exception at the end of the section: 
 Exception.  Non-circular handrails serving an individual unit in 
a Group R-1, Group R-2 or Group R-3 occupancy shall be permitted 
to have a maximum cross sectional dimension of 3.25 inches (83 
mm) measured 2 inches (51 mm) down from the top of the crown.  
Such handrail is required to have an indention on both sides between 
0.625 inch (16 mm) and 1.5 inches (38 mm) down from the top or 
crown of the cross section.  The indentation shall be a minimum of 
0.25 inch (6 mm) deep on each side and shall be at least 0.5 (13 mm) 
high.  Edges within the handgrip shall have a minimum radius of 
0.0625 inch (2 mm).  The handrail surface shall be smooth with no 
cusps so as to avoid catching clothing or skin. 
 (32)  In Section 1004.3.2.5 Exception 2 is deleted. 
 (33)  New Sections 1006.2.3, 1006.2.3.1 and 1006.2.3.2 are 
added as follows: 
 1006.2.3  Safe dispersal areas.  Where approved by the code 
official, the exit discharge is permitted to lead to a safe dispersal 
area on the same property as the structure being discharged.  The 
proximity and size of such safe dispersal area shall be based on such 
factors as the occupant load served, the mobility of occupants, the 
type of construction of the building, the fire protection systems 
installed in the building, the height of the building and the degree of 
hazard of the occupancy.  In any case, the entire safe dispersal area 
shall be located not less than 50 feet (15 420 mm) from the structure 
served. 
 1006.2.3.1  School ground fences and gates.  School grounds 
shall be permitted to be fenced and gates therein equipped with 
locks, provided safe dispersal areas are located between the school 
and fence with the entire dispersal area no less than 50 feet (15 
420mm) from school buildings. Safe dispersal area capacity shall be 
determined by providing a minimum of 3 square feet (0.28 m2) of 
net clear area per occupant. 
 1006.2.3.2  Reviewing stands, grandstands and bleachers.  Safe 
dispersal areas serving reviewing stands, grandstands and bleachers 
shall accommodate a number of persons equal to the total capacity 
of the stand or building served.  Safe dispersal area capacity shall be 
determined by providing a minimum of 3 square feet (0.28 m2) of 
net clear area per occupant. 
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 (34)  Section 1109.7 of Chapter 11 in the 2001 Supplement to 
the International Building Code is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 1109.7 Lifts. Platform (wheelchair) lifts shall not be a 
part of a required accessible route in new construction. Platform 
(wheelchair) lifts shall be installed in accordance with ASME A18.1. 
 Exceptions: Platform (wheelchair) lifts are permitted for: 
 1.  An accessible route to a performing area and speaker's 
platforms in occupancies in Group A. 
 2.  An accessible route to wheelchair spaces required to comply 
with the wheelchair space dispersion and line-of-sight requirements 
of Section 1108.2.2. 
 3.  An accessible route to spaces that are not open to the general 
public with an occupant load of not more than five. 
 4.  An accessible route within a dwelling or sleeping unit. 
 5.  An accessible route to wheelchair seating spaces located in 
outdoor dining terraces in A-5 occupancies where the means of 
egress from the dining terrace to a public way is open to the 
outdoors. 
 6.  An accessible route to raised judges' benches, clerks' 
stations, jury boxes, witness stands and other raised or depressed 
areas in a court. 
 7.  An accessible route where existing exterior site constraints 
make use of a ramp or elevator infeasible. 
 8.  Wheelchair access where an accessible route is not required 
per the exceptions to Section 1104.4 and/or Section 1107.4. 
 All platform (wheelchair) lifts shall be capable of independent 
operation without a key. 
 Standby power shall be provided for platform lifts permitted to 
serve as part of the accessible means of egress. 
 (35)  Section 1207.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1207.2 Minimum ceiling heights.  Occupiable spaces, habitable 
spaces and corridors shall have a ceiling height of not less than 7 
feet 6 inches (2286 mm). Rooms in one- and two-family dwellings, 
bathrooms, toilet rooms, kitchens, storage rooms and laundry rooms 
shall be permitted to have a ceiling height of not less than 7 feet 
(2134 mm). 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  In one- and two-family dwellings, beams or girders spaced 
not more than 4 feet (1219 mm) on center or projecting not more 
than 6 inches (152 mm) below the required ceiling height. 
 2.  Basement rooms without habitable spaces in one- and two-
family dwellings having a ceiling height of not less than 6 feet 8 
inches (2033mm) with not less than 6 feet 4 inches (1932 mm) of 
clear height under beams, girders, ducts and similar obstructions. 
 3.  If any room in a building has a sloping ceiling, the 
prescribed ceiling height for the room is required in one-half the area 
thereof.  Any portion of the room measuring less than 5 feet (1524 
mm) from the finished floor to the finished ceiling shall not be 
included in any computation of the minimum area thereof. 
 4.  Mezzanines constructed in accordance with Section 505.1. 
 (36)  Section 1207.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1207.3 Room area.  Every dwelling unit shall have at least one 
room that shall have not less than 120 square feet (11.2 m2) of net 
floor area.  Other habitable rooms shall have a net floor area of not 
less than 70 square feet (6.5 m2). 
 Exception:  Every kitchen in a one- and two-family dwelling 
shall have not less than 50 square feet 4.64 m2) of gross floor area. 
 (37)  Section 1207.4 subparagraph 1 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 

 1.  The unit shall have a living room of not less than 165 square 
feet (15.3 m) of floor area.  An additional 100 square feet (9.3 m) of 
floor area shall be provided for each occupant of such unit in excess 
of two. 
 (38)  Section 1604.5, footnote "c" is added to Table 1604.5 
Classification of Buildings and Other Structures for Importance 
Factors: 
 c.  For determining "W" per sections 1616.4.1, 1617.4.1, 
1617.5.1, or 1618.4, the Snow Factor I, may be taken as 1.0. 
 (39)  In Section 1605.2.1, the formula shown as "f2 = 0.2 for 
other roof configurations" is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 f2 = 0.20 + .025(A-5) for other configurations where roof snow 
load exceeds 30 psf 
 f2 = 0 for roof snow loads of 30 psf (1.44kN/m2) or less. 
 Where A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the 
structure (ft/1000). 
 (40)  In Section 1605.3.1 and section 1605.3.2, Exception 
number 2 in each section is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Flat roof snow loads of 30 pounds per square foot (1.44 kNm2) 
or less need not be combined with seismic loads.  Where flat roofs 
exceed 30 pounds per square foot (1.44 kNm2), the snow loads may 
be reduced in accordance with the following in load combinations 
including both snow and seismic loads. 
 Ws = (0.20 + 0.025(A-5))Pf 
 Where 
 Ws = Weight of snow to be included, psf 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the structure 
(ft/1000) 
 Pf = Design roof snow load, psf 
 (41)  In Table 1607.1 number 6 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 

TABLE 1607.1 NUMBER 6 
Occupancy or Use                     Uniform    Concentrated 
                                      (psf)          (lbs) 
6. Decks, except residential     Same as occupancy 
                                      servedh 
6.1 Residential decks                  60 psf 

 
 (42)  In Table 1607.1 number 27 is deleted and replaced with 
the following: 
 

TABLE 1607.1 NUMBER 27 
Occupancy or Use                     Uniform    Concentrated 
                                      (psf)          (lbs) 
27. Residential 
Group R-3 as applicable in Section 101.2              - 
 Uninhabitable attics without storage   10i 
 Uninhabitable attics with storage      20 
 Habitable attics and sleeping areas    30 
 All other areas except balconies 
  and decks                             40 
Hotels and multifamily dwellings 
 Private rooms                          40 
 Public rooms and corridors serving them 100 

 
 (4[2]3)  In Notes to Table 1607.1, Note i is added as follows: 
 i.  This live load need not be considered as acting 
simultaneously with other live loads imposed upon the ceiling 
framing or its supporting structure. 
 (4[3]4)  Section 1608.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Except as modified in section 1608.1.1, design snow loads shall 
be determined in accordance with Section 7 of ASCE 7, but the 
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design roof load shall not be less than that determined by Section 
1607. 
 (4[4]5)  Section 7.4.5 of Section 7 of ASCE 7 referred to in 
Section 1608.1 of the IBC is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 7.4.5 Ice Dams and Icicles Along Eaves. Where ground 
snow loads exceed 75 psf, eaves shall be capable of sustaining a 
uniformly distributed load of 2pf on all overhanging portions. No 
other loads except dead loads shall be present on the roof when this 
uniformly distributed load is applied. All building exits under down-
slope eaves shall be protected from sliding snow and ice. 
 (4[5]6)  Section 1608.1.1 is added as follows: 
 1608.1.1  Utah Snow Loads.  The ground snow load, Pg, to be 
used in the determination of design snow loads for buildings and 
other structures shall be determined by using the following formula: 
 Pg = (Po

2 + S2(A-Ao)2)0.5 for A greater than Ao, and Pg = Po for A 
less than or equal to Ao. 
 WHERE 
 Pg = Ground snow load at a given elevation (psf) 
 Po = Base ground snow load (psf) from Table No. 1608.1.1(a) 
 S = Change in ground snow load with elevation (psf/100 ft.) 
From Table No. 1608.1.1(a) 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the site (ft./1000) 
 Ao = Base ground snow elevation from Table 1608.1.1(a) 
(ft./1000) 
 The building official may round the roof snow load to the 
nearest 5 psf.  The ground snow load, Pg, may be adjusted by the 
building official when a licensed engineer or architect submits data 
substantiating the adjustments.  A record of such action together 
with the substantiating data shall be provided to the division for a 
permanent record. 
 The building official may also directly adopt roof snow loads in 
accordance with Table 1608.1.1(b), provided the site is no more than 
100 ft. higher than the listed elevation. 
 Where the minimum roof live load in accordance with section 
1607.11 is greater than the design roof snow load, such roof live 
load shall be used for design, however, it shall not be reduced to a 
load lower than the design roof snow load.  Drifting need not be 
considered for roof snow loads less than 20 psf. 
 (4[6]7)  Table 1608.1.1(a) and Table 1608.1.1(b) are added as 
follows: 
 

TABLE NO. 1608.1.1(a) 
STATE OF UTAH - REGIONAL SNOW LOAD FACTORS 

 
     COUNTY       Po     S     Ao 
 
     Beaver       43     63     6.2 
     Box Elder    43     63     5.2 
     Cache        50     63     4.5 
     Carbon       43     63     5.2 
     Daggett      43     63     6.5 
     Davis        43     63     4.5 
     Duchesne     43     63     6.5 
     Emery        43     63     6.0 
     Garfield     43     63     6.0 
     Grand        36     63     6.5 
     Iron         43     63     5.8 
     Juab         43     63     5.2 
     Kane         36     63     5.7 
     Millard      43     63     5.3 
     Morgan       57     63     4.5 
     Piute        43     63     6.2 
     Rich         57     63     4.1 
     Salt Lake    43     63     4.5 
     San Juan     43     63     6.5 

     Sanpete      43     63     5.2 
     Sevier       43     63     6.0 
     Summit       86     63     5.0 
     Tooele       43     63     4.5 
     Uintah       43     63     7.0 
     Utah         43     63     4.5 
     Wasatch      86     63     5.0 
     Washington   29     63     6.0 
     Wayne        36     63     6.5 
     Weber        43     63     4.5 

 

 
TABLE NO. 1608.1.1(b) 

RECOMMENDED SNOW LOADS FOR SELECTED UTAH CITIES AND TOWNS 
 
                                  Roof Snow      Ground Snow 
                                  Load (PSF)     Load (PSF) 
 
     Beaver County 
        Beaver          5920 ft.     43              62 
     Box Elder County 
        Brigham City    4300 ft.     30              43 
        Tremonton       4290 ft.     30              43 
     Cache County 
        Logan           4530 ft.     35              50 
        Smithfield      4595 ft.     35              50 
     Carbon County 
        Price           5550 ft.     30              43 
     Daggett County 
        Manila          5377 ft.     30              43 
     Davis County 
        Bountiful       4300 ft.     30              43 
        Farmington      4270 ft.     30              43 
        Layton          4400 ft.     30              43 
        Fruit Heights   4500 ft.     40              57 
     Duchesne County 
        Duchesne       5510 ft.      30              43 
        Roosevelt      5104 ft.      30              43 
     Emery County 
        Castledale     5660 ft.      30              43 
        Green River    4070 ft.      25              36 
     Garfield County 
        Panguitch      6600 ft.      30              43 
     Grand County 
        Moab           3965 ft.      25              36 
     Iron County 
        Cedar City     5831 ft.      30              43 
     Juab County 
        Nephi          5130 ft.      30              43 
     Kane County 
        Kanab          5000 ft.      25              36 
     Millard County 
        Millard        5000 ft.      30              43 
        Delta          4623 ft.      30              43 
     Morgan County 
        Morgan         5064 ft.      40              57 
     Piute County 
        Piute          5996 ft.      30              43 
     Rich County 
        Woodruff       6315 ft.      40              57 
     Salt Lake County 
        Murray         4325 ft.      30              43 
        Salt Lake City 4300 ft.      30              43 
        Sandy          4500 ft.      30              43 
        West Jordan    4375 ft.      30              43 
        West Valley    4250 ft.      30              43 
     San Juan County 
        Blanding       6200 ft.      30              43 
        Monticello     6820 ft.      35              50 
     Sanpete County 
        Fairview       6750 ft.      35              50 
        Mt. Pleasant   5900 ft.      30              43 
        Manti          5740 ft.      30              43 
        Ephraim        5540 ft.      30              43 
        Gunnison       5145 ft.      30              43 
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     Sevier County 
        Salina         5130 ft.      30              43 
        Richfield      5270 ft.      30              43 
     Summit County 
        Coalville      5600 ft.      60              86 
        Kamas          6500 ft.      70             100 
        [Park City      6400 ft.      85             121] 
        Park City      6800 ft.     100             142 
        Park City      8400 ft.     162             231 
        Summit Park    7200 ft.      90             128 
     Tooele County 
        Tooele         5100 ft.      30              43 
     Uintah County 
        Vernal         5280 ft.      30              43 
     Utah County 
        American Fork  4500 ft.      30              43 
        Orem           4650 ft.      30              43 
        Pleasant Grove 5000 ft.      30              43 
        Provo          5000 ft.      30              43 
       Spanish Fork   4720 ft.       30              43 
     Wasatch County 
       Heber          5630 ft.       60              86 
     Washington County 
       Central        5209 ft.       25              36 
       Dameron        4550 ft.       25              36 
       Leeds          3460 ft.       20              29 
       Rockville      3700 ft.       25              36 
       Santa Clara    2850 ft.       15 (1)          21 
       St. George     2750 ft.       15 (1)          21 
     Wayne County 
       Loa            7080 ft.       30              43 
       Hanksville     4308 ft.       25              36 
     Weber County 
       North Ogden    4500 ft.       40              57 
       Ogden          4350 ft.       30              43 
NOTES 
    (1) The IBC requires a minimum live load - See 1607.11.2. 
    (2) This table is informational only in that actual site 
elevations may vary.  Table is only valid if site elevation is 
within 100 feet of the listed elevation. 

 
 (4[7]8)  Section 1608.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1608.2  Ground Snow Loads.  The ground snow loads to be 
used in determining the design snow loads for roofs in states other 
than Utah are given in Figure 1608.2 for the contiguous United 
States and Table 1608.2 for Alaska.  Site-specific case studies shall 
be made in areas designated CS in figure 1608.2.  Ground snow 
loads for sites at elevations above the limits indicated in Figure 
1608.2 and for all sites within the CS areas shall be approved.  
Ground snow load determination for such sites shall be based on an 
extreme value statistical analysis of data available in the vicinity of 
the site using a value with a 2-percent annual probability of being 
exceeded (50-year mean recurrence interval).  Snow loads are zero 
for Hawaii, except in mountainous regions as approved by the 
building official. 
 (4[8]9)  Section 1614.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1614.2  Change in Occupancy.  When a change of occupancy 
results in a structure being reclassified to a higher Seismic Use 
Group, or when such change of occupancy results in a design 
occupant load increase of 100% or more, the structure shall conform 
to the seismic requirements for a new structure. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  This is not required if the design occupant load increase is 
less than 25 persons and the Seismic Use Group does not change. 
 2.  Specific detailing provisions required for a new structure are 
not required to be met where it can be shown an equivalent level of 
performance and seismic safety contemplated for a new structure is 
obtained.  Such analysis shall consider the regularity, overstrength, 

redundancy and ductility of the structure within the context of the 
specific detailing provided.  Alternatively, the building official may 
allow the structure to be upgraded in accordance with the latest 
edition of the "Guidelines for Seismic Rehabilitation of Existing 
Buildings" or another nationally recognized standard for retrofit of 
existing buildings. 
 ([49]50)  In Section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads of 30 psf or less need not be included.  
Where the roof snow load exceeds 30 psf, the snow load shall be 
included, but may be adjusted in accordance with the following 
formula:  Ws = (0.20 + 0.025(A-5))Pf 
 WHERE: 
 Ws = Weight of snow to be included in seismic calculation; 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the structure 
(ft/1000) 
 Pf = Design roof snow load, psf 
 For the purposes of this section, snow load shall be assumed 
uniform on the roof footprint without including the effects of drift or 
sliding. 
 (5[0]1)  In Section 1617.2.2, the fourth definition of rmaxi is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 =For shear walls, rmaxi shall be taken as the maximum value of 
the product of the shear in the wall or wall pier and 10/1w (3.3/1wfor 
SI), divided by the story shear, where lw is the length of the wall or 
wall pier in feet (m).  The ratio 10/1w need not be taken greater than 
1.0 for buildings of light frame construction. 
 (5[1]2)  In Section 1617.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (5[2]3)  In Section 1617.5.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (5[3]4)  In Section 1618.4, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (5[4]5)  Section 1805.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1805.5  Foundation walls.  Concrete and masonry foundation 
walls shall be designed in accordance with Chapter 19 or 21.  
Foundation walls that are laterally supported at the top and bottom 
and within the parameters of Tables 1805.5(1) through 1805.5(4) are 
permitted to be designed and constructed in accordance with 
Sections 1805.5.1 through 1805.5.4 and 1805.5.8 through 
1805.5.8.2.  Concrete foundation walls may also be constructed in 
accordance with Section 1805.5.9. 
 (56)  Section 1805.2.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Sections 1805.2.1  Frost protection. Except where otherwise 
protected from frost, foundation walls, piers and other permanent 
supports of buildings and structures shall be protected from frost by 
one or more of the following methods: 
 (1)  Extending below the frost line of the locality; 
 (2)  Constructed in accordance with ASCE-32; and 
 (3)  Erected on solid rock. 
 Exception: Freestanding buildings meeting all of the following 
conditions shall not be required to be protected: 
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 1.  Classified in Importance Category IV, in accordance with 
Table 1604.5, or Occupancy Group U; 
 2.  Area of 1,000 square feet (93m2) or less; 
 3.  Eave height of 10 feet (3048 mm) or less; 
 4.  Constructed of light-wood-framed construction. 
 Footings shall not bear on frozen soil unless such frozen 
condition is of a permanent character. 
 (5[5]7)  New Sections 1805.5.8, 1805.5.8.1 1805.5.8.2 and 
1805.5.9 are added as follows: 
 1805.5.8  Seismic requirements.  Tables 1805.5(1) through 
1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following limitations based on the 
seismic design category assigned to the structure as defined in 
Section 1616. 
 1805.5.8.1  Seismic requirements for concrete foundation walls. 
 Concrete foundation walls constructed using Tables 1805.5(1) 
through 1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following: 
 1.  Seismic Design Category A and B.  Provide two No. 5 bars 
around window and door openings.  Such bars shall extend at least 
24 inches (610 mm) beyond the corners of the openings. 
 2.  Seismic Design Category C.  Tables shall not be used except 
as permitted for plain concrete members in Section 1910.4. 
 3.  Seismic Design Categories D, E and F.  Tables shall not be 
used except as allowed for plain concrete members in ACI 318, 
Section 22.10. 
 1805.5.8.2  Seismic requirements for masonry foundation 
walls.  Masonry foundation walls constructed using Tables 
1805.5(1) through 1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following: 
 1.  Seismic Design Category A and B.  No additional seismic 
requirements. 
 2.  Seismic Design Category C.  The requirements of Section 
2106.4 shall apply. 
 3.  Seismic Design Category D.  The requirements of Section 
2106.5 shall apply. 
 4.  Seismic Design Categories E and F.  The requirements of 
Section 2106.6 shall apply. 
 1805.5.9  Empirical foundation design.  Group R, Division 3 
Occupancies three stories or less in height, and Group U 
Occupancies, which are constructed in accordance with Section 
2308, or with other methods employing repetitive wood-frame 
construction or repetitive cold-formed steel structural member 
construction, shall be permitted to have concrete foundations 
constructed in accordance with Table 1805.5.9. 
 (5[6]8)  Table 1805.5.9 is added as follows: 
 Table 1805.5.9, entitled "Empirical Foundation Walls, dated 
September 1, 2002, published by the Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference. Table 1805.5.9 identifies 
foundation requirements for empirical walls. 
 (5[7]9)  Table 2305.3.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 

TABLE 2305.3.3 
MAXIMUM SHEAR WALL ASPECT RATIOS 

 
                 TYPE                    MAXIMUM 
                                       HEIGHT-WIDTH 
                                          RATIO 
Wood structural panels or 
particleboard, nailed edges           For wind: 3 1/2:1 
                                      For seismic: 2:1a 
Diagonal sheathing, single                2:1 
Fiberboard                                1 1/2:1 
 
 

  a. For design to resist seismic forces, shear wall 
aspect ratios greater than 2:1, but not exceeding 
3 1/2:1, are permitted provided the allowable shear 
capacities in Table 2306.4.1 are multiplied by 2w/h. 

 
 ([58]60)  A new section 2306.1.4 is added as follows: 
 2306.1.4  The allowable stress increase of 1.15 for snow load, 
shown in Table 2.3.2, Load Duration Factors, Cd, of the National 
Design Specifications, shall not be utilized at elevations above 5,000 
feet (1524 M). 
 ([59]61)  Section 2308.6 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 2308.6 Foundation plates or sills. Foundations and footings 
shall be as specified in Chapter 18. Foundation plates or sills resting 
on concrete or masonry foundations shall comply with Section 
2304.3.1 and shall be bolted or anchored by one of the following: 
 1.  Foundation plates or sill shall be bolted or anchored to the 
foundation with not less than 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) diameter steel bolts 
or approved anchors. Bolts shall be embedded at least 7 inches (178 
mm) into concrete or masonry, and spaced not more than 6 feet 
(1829 mm) apart.  There shall be a minimum of two bolts or anchor 
straps per piece with one bolt or anchor strap located not more than 
12 inches (305 mm) or less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each end 
of each piece. 
 2.  Foundation plates or sills shall be bolted or anchored to the 
foundation with not less than 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) diameter steel bolts 
or approved anchors.  Bolts shall be embedded at least 7 inches (178 
mm) into concrete or masonry, and spaced not more than 32 inches 
(816 mm) apart.  There shall be a minimum of two bolts or anchor 
straps per piece located not less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each 
end of each piece. 
 A properly sized nut and washer shall be tightened on each bolt 
to the plate. 
 (62)  In Section 2902.1, the title for Table 2902.1 is deleted and 
replaced with the following and footnote g is added as follows: 
 

TABLE 2902.1 
MINIMUM NUMBER OF PLUMBING FACILITIESa, g 
(see Sections 403.2 and 403.3) 
 FOOTNOTE: g.  When provided, in public toilet facilities there 
shall be an equal number of diaper changing facilities in male 
toilet rooms and female toilet rooms. 

 
 (6[0]3)  A new section 2902.1.1 is added as follows: 
 2902.1.1  Unisex toilets and bath fixtures.  Fixtures located 
within unisex toilet and bathing rooms complying with section 2902 
are permitted to be included in determining the minimum number of 
fixtures for assembly and mercantile occupancies. 
 (6[1]4)  Section 3006.5 Shunt Trip, the following exception is 
added: 
 Exception: Hydraulic elevators and roped hydraulic elevators 
with a rise of 50 feet or less. 
 (6[2]5)  In Section 3104.2, a second exception is added as 
follows: 
 2.  For the purposes of calculating the number of Type B units 
required by Chapter 11, structurally connected buildings and 
buildings with multiple wings shall be considered one structure. 
 (6[3]6)  A new section 3402.5 is added as follows: 
 3402.5  Parapets and other appendages.  Building constructed 
prior to 1975 with parapet walls, cornices, spires, towers, tanks, 
signs, statuary and other appendages shall have such appendages 
evaluated by a licensed engineer to determine resistance to design 
loads specified in this code when said building is undergoing 
reroofing, or alteration of or repair to said feature. 
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 EXCEPTION:  Group R-3 an U occupancies. 
 Original Plans and/or structural calculations may be utilized to 
demonstrate that the parapet or appendages are structurally adequate. 
 When found to be deficient because of design or deteriorated 
condition, the engineer shall prepare specific recommendations to 
anchor, brace, reinforce or remove the deficient feature. 
 The maximum height of an unreinforced masonry parapet 
above the level of the diaphragm tension anchors or above the 
parapet braces shall not exceed one and one-half times the thickness 
of the parapet wall.  The parapet height may be a maximum of two 
and one-half times its thickness in other than Seismic Design 
Categories D, E, or F.  If the required parapet height exceeds this 
maximum height, a bracing system designed using the coefficients 
specified in Table 1621.2 shall support the top of the parapet.  When 
positive diaphragm connections are absent, tension roof anchors 
shall be added.  Approved alternative methods of equivalent strength 
will be considered when accompanied by engineer sealed drawings, 
details and calculations. 
 (6[4]7)  Section 3408.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 3408.1  Scope:  The provision of sections 3408.2 through 
3408.5 apply to maintenance, change of occupancy, additions and 
alterations to existing buildings, including those identified as historic 
buildings. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  When maintenance, additions or alteration occur, Type B 
dwelling units required by section 1107.5.4 are not required to be 
provided in existing buildings and facilities. 
 2.  When a change of occupancy in a building or portion of a 
building results in multiple dwelling units as determined in section 
1107.5.4, not less than 20 percent of the dwelling units shall be Type 
B dwelling units.  These dwelling units may be located on any floor 
of the building provided with an accessible route.  Two percent, but 
not less than one, of the dwelling units shall be Type A dwelling 
units. 
 (6[5]8)  Referenced standards number 1557-91 under ASTM in 
chapter 35 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 

TABLE 
Standard Number      Title                     Code Section 
D1557-91 E01     Laboratory Compaction          1508.15.2 
                 Characteristics of soil          K1.1.2, 
                 using Modified Effort            K1.7.5 

 
 (6[6]9)  A new appendix K, Grading, is added as follows: 
 APPENDIX K - GRADING 
 K1.1  GENERAL 
 K1.1.1  Scope.  The provisions of this chapter apply to grading, 
excavation and earthwork construction, including fills and 
embankments.  Where conflicts occur between the technical 
requirements of this chapter and the soils report, the soils report 
shall govern. 
 K1.1.2  Standards.  The following standards of quality shall 
apply: 
 1.  ASTM D1557-91 E01, Test Method for Laboratory 
Compaction Characteristics of Soil Using Modified Effort (56,000 
ft-lb/ft). 
 K1.2  DEFINITIONS 
 K1.2.1  Definitions.  For the purposes of this appendix chapter, 
the terms, phrases and words listed in this section and their 
derivatives shall have the indicated meanings. 
 BENCH.  A relatively level step excavated into earth material 
on which fill is to be placed. 

 COMPACTION.  The densification of a fill by mechanical 
means. 
 CUT.  See Excavation. 
 DOWN DRAIN.  A device for collecting water from a swale or 
ditch located on or above a slope, and safely delivering it to an 
approved drainage facility. 
 EROSION.  The wearing away of the ground surface as a result 
of the movement of wind, water or ice. 
 EXCAVATION.  The removal of earth material by artificial 
means, also referred to as a cut. 
 FILL.  Deposition of earth materials by artificial means. 
 GRADE.  The vertical location of the ground surface. 
 GRADE, EXISTING.  The grade prior to grading. 
 GRADE, FINISHED.  The grade of the site at the conclusion of 
all grading efforts. 
 GRADING.  An excavation or fill or combination thereof. 
 KEY.  A compacted fill placed in a trench excavated in earth 
material beneath the toe of a slope. 
 SLOPE.  An inclined surface, the inclination of which is 
expressed as a ratio of horizontal distance to vertical distance. 
 TERRACE.  A relatively level step constructed in the face of a 
graded slope for drainage and maintenance purposes. 
 K1.3  PERMITS REQUIRED 
 K1.3.1  Permits required.  Except as exempted in Section 
K1.3.2, no grading shall be performed without first having obtained 
a permit therefor from the building official. A grading permit does 
not include the construction of retaining walls or other structures. 
 K1.3.2  Exemptions.  A grading permit shall not be required for 
the following: 
 1.  Grading in an isolated, self-contained area, provided there is 
no danger to the public, and that such grading will not adversely 
affect adjoining properties. 
 2.  Excavation for construction of a structure permitted under 
this code. 
 3.  Cemetery graves. 
 4.  Refuse disposal sites controlled by other regulations. 
 5.  Excavations for wells, or trenches for utilities. 
 6.  Mining, quarrying, excavating, processing or stockpiling 
rock, sand, gravel, aggregate or clay controlled by other regulations, 
provided such operations do not affect the lateral support of, or 
significantly increase stresses in, soil on adjoining properties. 
 7.  Exploratory excavations performed under the direction of a 
registered design professional for the sole purpose of preparing a 
soils report. 
 Exemption from the permit requirements of this appendix shall 
not be deemed to grant authorization for any work to be done in any 
manner in violation of the provisions of this code or any other laws 
or ordinances of this jurisdiction.  The listed exemptions shall not 
apply to areas located in a floodway or floodplain regulated under 
Appendix G. 
 K1.4  PERMIT APPLICATION AND SUBMITTALS 
 K1.4.1  Submittal requirements.  In addition to the provisions 
of Section 105.3, the applicant shall state the estimated quantities of 
excavation and fill. 
 K1.4.2  Site plan requirements. In addition to the provisions of 
Section 106, a grading plan shall show the existing grade and 
finished grade in contour intervals of sufficient clarity to indicate the 
nature and extent of the work and show in detail that it complies 
with the requirements of this code. The plans shall show the existing 
grade on adjoining properties in sufficient detail to identify how 
grade changes will conform to the requirements of this code. 
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 K1.4.3  Soils report.  A soils report prepared by registered 
design professionals shall be provided which shall identify the 
nature and distribution of existing soils; conclusions and 
recommendations for grading procedures; soil design criteria for any 
structures or embankments required to accomplish the proposed 
grading; and, where necessary, slope stability studies, and 
recommendations and conclusions regarding site geology. 
 Exception:  A soils report is not required where the building 
official determines that the nature of the work applied for is such 
that a report is not necessary. 
 K1.4.4  Liquefaction study.  For sites with mapped maximum 
considered earthquake spectral response accelerations at short period 
(Ss) greater than 0.5g as determined by Section 1615, a study of the 
liquefaction potential of the site shall be provided, and the 
recommendations incorporated in the plans. 
 Exception:  A liquefaction study is not required where the 
building official determines from established local data that the 
liquefaction potential is low. 
 K1.5  INSPECTIONS 
 K.1.5.1  General.  Inspections shall be governed by Section 109 
of this code. 
 K1.5.2  Special inspections.  The special inspection 
requirements of Section 1704.7 shall apply to work performed under 
a grading permit where required by the building official. 
 K1.6  EXCAVATIONS 
 K1.6.1  Maximum slope.  The slope of cut surfaces shall be no 
steeper than is safe for the intended use, and shall be no steeper than 
2 horizontal to 1 vertical (50%) unless the applicant furnishes a soils 
report justifying a steeper slope. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  A cut surface may be at a slope of 1.5 horizontal to 1 
vertical (67%) provided that all the following are met: 
 (a)  it is not intended to support structures or surcharges; 
 (b)  it is adequately protected against erosion; 
 (c)  it is no more than 8 feet (2438 mm) in height; and 
 (d)  it is approved by the building official. 
 2.  A cut surface in bedrock shall be permitted to be at a slope 
of 1 horizontal to 1 vertical (100%) 
 K1.7  FILLS 
 K1.7.1  General.  Unless otherwise recommended in the soils 
report, fills shall conform to provisions of this section. 
 K1.7.2  Surface preparation.  The ground surface shall be 
prepared to receive fill by removing vegetation, topsoil and other 
unsuitable materials, and scarifying the ground to provide a bond 
with the fill material. 
 K1.7.3  Benching.  Where existing grade is at a slope steeper 
than 5 horizontal to 1 vertical (20%) and the depth of the fill exceeds 
five feet (1524 mm) benching shall be provided in accordance with 
Figure K1.7.3 dated July 1, 2001, published by State and Local 
Building Codes Amendments, Department of Commerce, Division 
of Occupational and Professional Licensing, which is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference.  A key shall be provided 
which is at least 10 feet (3048 mm) in width and two feet (610 mm) 
in depth. 
 K1.7.4  Fill material.  Fill material shall not include organic, 
frozen or other deleterious materials.  No rock or similar irreducible 
material greater than 12 inches (305mm) in any dimension shall be 
included in fills. 
 K1.7.5  Compaction. All fill material shall be compacted to 
90% of maximum density as determined by ASTM D1557, 

Modified Proctor, in lifts not exceeding 12 inches (305 mm) in 
depth. 
 K1.7.6  Maximum slope.  The slope of fill surfaces shall be no 
steeper than is safe for the intended use.  Fill slopes steeper than 2 
horizontal to 1 vertical (50%) shall be justified by soils reports or 
engineering data. 
 K1.8  SETBACKS 
 K1.8.1  General.  Cut and fill slopes shall be set back from the 
property lines in accordance with this section.  Setback dimensions 
shall be measured perpendicular to the property line and shall be as 
shown in Figure K1.8.1, dated July 1, 2001, published by State and 
Local Building Codes Amendments, Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, which is 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference. unless substantiating 
data is submitted justifying reduced setbacks. 
   K1.8.2  Top of slope.  The setback at the top of a cut slope shall 
not be less than that shown in Figure K1.8.1, or than is required to 
accommodate any required interceptor drains, whichever is greater. 
 K1.8.3  Slope protection.  Where required to protect adjacent 
properties at the toe of a slope from adverse effects of the grading, 
additional protection, approved by the building official, shall be 
included.  Such protection may include but shall not be limited to: 
 1.  Setbacks greater than those required by Figure K1.8.1. 
 2.  Provisions for retaining walls or similar construction. 
 3.  Erosion protection of the fill slopes. 
 4.  Provision for the control of surface waters. 
 K1.9  DRAINAGE AND TERRACING 
 K1.9.1  General.  Unless otherwise recommended by a 
registered design professional, drainage facilities and terracing shall 
be provided in accordance with the requirements of this section. 
 Exception:  Drainage facilities and terracing need not be 
provided where the ground slope is not steeper than 3 horizontal to 1 
vertical (33%). 
 K1.9.2  Terraces.  Terraces at least six feet (1829 mm) in width 
shall be established at not more than 30-foot (9144 mm) vertical 
intervals on all cut or fill slopes to control surface drainage and 
debris. Suitable access shall be provided to allow for cleaning and 
maintenance. 
 Where more than two terraces are required, one terrace, located 
at approximately mid-height, shall be at least 12 feet (3658 mm) in 
width. 
 Swales or ditches shall be provided on terraces.  They shall 
have a minimum gradient of 20 horizontal to 1 vertical (5%) and 
shall be paved with concrete not less than three inches (76 mm) in 
thickness, or with other materials suitable to the application.  They 
shall have a minimum depth of 12 inches (305 mm) and a minimum 
width of five feet (1524 mm). 
 A single run of swale or ditch shall not collect runoff from a 
tributary area exceeding 13,500 square feet (1256 m2) (projected) 
without discharging into a down drain. 
 K1.9.3  Interceptor drains.  Interceptor drains shall be installed 
along the top of cut slopes receiving drainage from a tributary width 
greater than 40 feet, measured horizontally.  They shall have a 
minimum depth of one foot (305 mm) and a minimum width of three 
feet (915 mm).  The slope shall be approved by the building official, 
but shall not be less than 50 horizontal to 1 vertical (2%).  The drain 
shall be paved with concrete not less than three inches (76 mm) in 
thickness, or by other materials suitable to the application. Discharge 
from the drain shall be accomplished in a manner to prevent erosion 
and shall be approved by the building official. 
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 K1.9.4  Drainage across property lines.  Drainage across 
property lines shall not exceed that which existed prior to grading.  
Excess or concentrated drainage shall be contained on site or 
directed to an approved drainage facility.  Erosion of the ground in 
the area of discharge shall be prevented by installation of non-
erosive down drains or other devices. 
 K1.10  EROSION CONTROL 
 K1.10.1  General.  The faces of cut and fill slopes shall be 
prepared and maintained to control erosion.  This control shall be 
permitted to consist of effective planting. 
 Exception:  Erosion control measures need not be provided on 
cut slopes not subject to erosion due to the erosion-resistant 
character of the materials. 
 Erosion control for the slopes shall be installed as soon as 
practicable and prior to calling for final inspection. 
 K1.10.2  Other devices.  Where necessary, check dams, 
cribbing, riprap or other devices or methods shall be employed to 
control erosion and provide safety. 
 
R156-56-705.  Local Amendments to the IBC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IBC to be 
applicable to the following jurisdictions: 
 (1)  City of Farmington: 
 Section 903.2.16 is adopted as follows: 
 903.2.16  Group R, Division 3 Occupancies.  An automatic 
sprinkler system shall be installed throughout every dwelling in 
accordance with NFPA 13-D, when any of the following conditions 
are present: 
 1.  The structure is over two stories high, as defined by the 
building code; 
 2.  The nearest point of structure is more than 150 feet from the 
public way; 
 3.  The total floor area of all stories is over 5,000 square feet 
(excluding from the calculation the area of the basement and/or 
garage); or 
 4.  The structure is located on a street constructed after March 
1, 2000 that has a gradient over 12% and, during fire department 
response, access to the structure will be gained by using such street.  
(If the access is intended to be from a direction where the steep 
gradient is not used, as determined by the Chief, this criteria shall 
not apply). 
 Such sprinkler system shall be installed in basements, but need 
not be installed in garages, under eves or in enclosed attic spaces, 
unless required by the Chief. 
 (2)  City of North Salt Lake 
 Section 903.2.16 is adopted as follows: 
 903.2.16 Group R, Division 3 Occupancies.  An automatic 
sprinkler system shall be installed throughout every dwelling in 
accordance with NFPA 13-D, when the following condition is 
present: 
 1.  The structure is over 6,200 square feet. 
 Such sprinkler system shall be installed in basements, but need 
not be installed in garages, under eves, or in enclosed attic spaces, 
unless required by the fire chief. 
 (3)  Park City Corporation and Park City Fire District: 
 Section 903.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 903.2  Where required.  Approved automatic sprinkler systems 
in new buildings and structures shall be provided in the location 
described in this section. 
 All new construction having more than 6,000 square feet on 
any one floor, except R-3 occupancy. 

 All new construction having more than two (2) stories, except 
R-3 occupancy. 
 All new construction having three (3) or more dwelling units, 
including units rented or leased, and including condominiums or 
other separate ownership. 
 All new construction in the Historic Commercial Business zone 
district, regardless of occupancy. 
 All new construction and buildings in the General Commercial 
zone district where there are side yard setbacks or where one or 
more side yard setbacks is less than two and one half (2.5) feet per 
story of height. 
 All existing building within the Historic District Commercial 
Business zone. 
 In [Section]Table 1505.1, the following is added as footnotes d 
and e: 
 d.  Wood roof covering assemblies are [is ]prohibited in R-3 
occupancies in areas with a combined rating of more than 11 using 
Tables 1505.1.1 and 1505.1.2 [the following tables ]with a score of 9 
for weather factors. 
 e.  Wood roof covering assemblies shall have a Class A rating 
in occupancies other than R-3 in areas with a combined rating of 
more than 11 using Tables 1505.1.1 and 1505.1.2 with a score of 9 
for weather factors.  The owner of the building shall enter into a 
written and recorded agreement that the Class A rating of the roof 
covering assembly will not be altered through any type of 
maintenance process. 
 

TABLE 1505.1.1 
WILDFIRE HAZARD SEVERITY SCALE 

 
     RATING              SLOPE               VEGETATION 
       1         less than or equal to 10%  Pinion-juniper 
       2         10.1 - 20%                 Grass-sagebrush 
       3         greater than 20%    Mountain brush or softwoods 
[ 
PROHIBITION/EXEMPTION TABLE 
 
     RATING                       WOOD ROOF PROHIBITION 
     less than or equal to 11     wood roofs are allowed 
     greater than or equal to 12  wood roofs are prohibited] 

 

 
TABLE 1505.1.2 

PROHIBITION/ALLOWANCE OF WOOD ROOFING 
 
  Rating             R-3 Occupancy      All Other Occupancies 
 
less than or 
equal to 11       wood roof covering      wood roof covering 
                  assemblies per          assemblies per 
                  Table 1505.1 are        Table 1505.1 are 
                  allowed                 allowed 
 
greater than or 
equal to 12       wood roof covering      wood roof covering 
                  is prohibited           assemblies with a 
                                          Class A rating are 
                                          allowed 

 
 Appendix C is adopted. 
 
R156-56-707.  Statewide Amendments to the IPC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IPC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  In Section 202, the definition for "Backflow Backpressure, 
Low Head" is deleted in its entirety. 
 (2)  In Section 202, the definition for "Backsiphonage" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
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 Backsiphonage. The backflow of potentially contaminated, 
polluted or used water into the potable water system as a result of 
the pressure in the potable water system falling below atmospheric 
pressure of the plumbing fixtures, pools, tanks or vats connected to 
the potable water distribution piping. 
 (3)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 Certified Backflow Preventer Assembly Tester. A person who 
has shown competence to test Backflow prevention assemblies to the 
satisfaction of the authority having jurisdiction under Subsection 19-
4-104(4), Utah Code Ann. (1953), as amended. 
 (4)  In Section 202, the definition for "Cross Connection" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Cross Connection. Any physical connection or potential 
connection or arrangement between two otherwise separate piping 
systems, one of which contains potable water and the other either 
water of unknown or questionable safety or steam, gas or chemical, 
whereby there exists the possibility for flow from one system to the 
other, with the direction of flow depending on the pressure 
differential between the two systems (see "Backflow"). 
 (5)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 Heat Exchanger (Potable Water). A device to transfer heat 
between two physically separated fluids (liquid or steam), one of 
which is potable water. 
 (6)  In Section 202, the definition for "Potable Water" is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 Potable Water. Water free from impurities present in amounts 
sufficient to cause disease or harmful physiological effects and 
conforming to the Titles 19-4 and 19-5, Utah Code Ann. (1953), as 
amended and the regulations of the public health authority having 
jurisdiction. 
 (7)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 S-Trap.  A trap having its weir installed above the inlet of the 
vent connection. 
 ([7]8)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 Trap Arm. That portion of a fixture drain between a trap weir 
and the vent fitting. 
 ([8]9)  In Section 202, the definition for "Water Heater" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Water Heater. A closed vessel in which water is heated by the 
combustion of fuels or electricity and is withdrawn for use external 
to the system at pressures not exceeding 160 psig (1100 kPa (gage)), 
including the apparatus by which heat is generated, and all controls 
and devices necessary to prevent water temperatures from exceeding 
210 degrees Fahrenheit (99 degrees Celsius). 
 ([9]10)  Section 304.3 Meter Boxes is deleted. 
 (1[0]1)  Section 304.4 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 304.4 Opening of Pipes. In or on the exterior habitable envelop 
of structures where openings have been made in walls, floors, or 
ceilings for the passage of pipes, the annular space between the 
opening and the pipe shall not exceed 1/2 inch (12.7 mm).  Openings 
exceeding 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) shall be closed and protected by the 
installation of approved metal collars that are securely fastened to 
the adjoining structure. 
 (1[1]2)  Section 305.8 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 305.8 Protection against physical damage. In concealed 
locations where piping, other than cast-iron or galvanized steel, is 
installed through holes or notches in studs, joists, rafters or similar 
members less than 1 1/2 inches (38 mm) from the nearest edge of the 
member, the pipe shall be protected by shield plates.  Protective 

shield plates shall be minimum of 1/16 inch-thick (1.6 mm) steel, 
shall cover the area of the pipe where the member is notched or 
bored, and shall be at least the thickness of the framing member 
penetrated. 
 (13)  Section 305.5 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 305.5 Pipes through or under footings or foundation walls.  
Any pipe that passes under or through a footing or through a 
foundation wall shall be protected against structural settlement. 
 (1[2]4)  Section 305.10 is added as follows: 
 Section 305.10 Improper Connections. No drain, waste, or vent 
piping shall be drilled and tapped for the purpose of making 
connections. 
 (1[3]5)  Section 311.1 is deleted. 
 (1[4]6)  Section 312.9 is deleted in its entirety and replaced 
with the following: 
 312.9  Backflow assembly testing.  The premise owner or his 
designee shall have backflow prevention assemblies operation tested 
at the time of installation, repair and relocation and at least on an 
annual basis thereafter, or more frequently as required by the 
authority having jurisdiction.  Testing shall be performed by a 
Certified Backflow Preventer Assembly Tester.  The assemblies that 
are subject to this paragraph are the Spill Resistant Vacuum Breaker, 
the Pressure Vacuum Breaker Assembly, the Double Check 
Backflow Prevention Assembly, the Double Check Detector 
Assembly Backflow Preventer, the Reduced Pressure Principle 
Backflow Preventer, and Reduced Pressure Detector Assembly, and 
the spring loaded check valve assembly described in Section 
608.16.4. 
 (17)  In Section 403.1, the title for Table 403.1 is deleted and 
replaced with the following title and footnote g is added as follows: 
 

TABLE 403.1 
MINIMUM NUMBER OF PLUMBING FACILITIESa, g 

(see Sections 403.2 and 403.3) 
     FOOTNOTE: g.  When provided, in public toilet 
facilities there shall be an equal number of diaper 
changing facilities in male toilet rooms and female 
toilet rooms. 

 
 (1[5]8)  A new section 403.7 is added as follows: 
 403.7 Hand sink location.  Hand sinks in commercial food 
establishments shall be located accessible to food preparation areas, 
food service areas, dishwashing areas, and toilet rooms in 
accordance with Rule R392-100, Utah Administrative Code.  Hand 
sinks in child care facilities shall be installed in accordance with 
R430-100-21, Utah Administrative Code. 
 (19)  In Section 406.3, an exception is added as follows: 
 Exception:  Gravity discharge clothes washers, when properly 
trapped and vented, shall be allowed to be directly connected to the 
drainage system or indirectly discharge into a properly sized catch 
basin, trench drain, or other approved indirect waste receptor 
installed for the purpose of receiving such waste. 
 (20)  A new section 406.4 is added as follows: 
 406.4 Automatic clothes washer metal safe pans.  Metal safe 
pans, when installed under automatic clothes washers, shall only be 
allowed to receive the unintended discharge from a leaking 
appliance, valve, supply hose, or overflowing waste water from the 
clothes washer standpipe.  Clothes washer metal safe pans shall not 
be used as indirect waste receptors to receive the discharge of waste 
water from any other equipment, appliance, appurtenance, drain 
pipe, etc.  Each safe pan shall be provided with an approved trap seal 
primer, conforming to ASSE 1018 or 1044 or a deep seal trap.  The 
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sides of the safe pan shall be no less than 1 1/2" high and shall be 
soldered at the joints to provide a water tight seal. 
 406.4.1 Safe pan outlet. The safe pan shall be no less than 1 
1/2" in diameter and shall be located in a visible and accessible 
location to facilitate cleaning and maintenance.  The outlet shall be 
flush with the surface of the pan so as not to allow water retention 
within the pan. 
 ([16]21)  Section 412.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 412.1 Approval. Floor drains shall be made of ABS, PVC, cast-
iron, stainless steel, brass, or other approved materials that are listed 
for the use. 
 ([17]22)  Section 412.5 is added as follows: 
 412.5  Public toilet rooms. All public toilet rooms shall be 
equipped with at least one floor drain[of the following: 
 1.  one floor drain with a wall mounted hose bibb; 
 2.  one floor drain with a deep seal trap; or 
 3.  at least one emergency floor drain with trap primer]. 
 (23)  Section 417.5.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 417.5.2 Shower lining.  Floors under show compartments, 
except where prefabricated receptors have been provided, shall be 
lined and made water tight utilizing material complying with 
Sections 417.5.2.1 through 417.5.2.4.  Such liners shall turn up on 
all sides at least three inches (76.2 mm) above the finished threshold 
level.  Liners shall be recessed and fastened to an approved backing 
so as not to occupy the space required for wall covering, and shall 
not be nailed or perforated at any point less than two inches (50.8 
mm) above finished threshold.  Liners shall be pitched one-fourth 
unit vertical in 12 units horizontal (2-percent slope) and shall be 
sloped towards the fixture drains and be securely fastened to the 
waste outlet at the seepage entrance, making a watertight joint 
between the liner and the outlet. 
 ([18]24)  Section 418.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 418.1  Approval. Sinks shall conform to ANSI Z124.6, ASME 
A112.19.1, ASME A112.19.2, ASME A112.19.3, ASME 
A112.19.4, ASME A112.19.9, CSA B45.1, CSA B45.2, CSA B45.3, 
CSA B45.4 or NSF 2. 
 (25)  Section 424.5 (in the fourth printing) is deleted and 
replaced with the following: 
 424.5 Shower Valves.  Shower and tub-shower combination 
valves shall be balanced pressure, thermostatic or combination 
balanced-pressure/thermostatic valves that conform to the 
requirements of ASSE 1016 or CSA B125.  Multiple (gang) showers 
supplied with a single tempered water supply pipe shall have the 
water supply for such showers controlled by an approved master 
thermostatic mixing valve.  Shower and tub-shower combination 
valves and master thermostatic mixing valves required by this 
section shall be equipped with a means to limit the maximum setting 
of the valve to 120 degrees F (49 degrees C), which shall be field 
adjusted in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.  The 
water heater thermostat shall not be used as a water tempering 
device to meet this requirement. 
 ([19]26)  [Section 502.4 is deleted in its entirety.]The exception 
to Section 502.4 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Exceptions:  The exceptions are specified in exceptions 1 to 5 
listed in the IFGC Section 303.3. 
 (2[0]7)  Section 502.6 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 

 502.6  Water Heater Seismic Bracing.  Water heaters shall be 
anchored or strapped in the upper third of the appliance to resist a 
horizontal force equal to one third the operating weight of the water 
heater, acting in any horizontal direction, or in accordance with the 
appliance manufacturers recommendations. 
 (2[1]8)  Section 504.6.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 504.6.2  Material. Relief valve discharge piping shall be of 
those materials listed in [Section]Table 605.5 and meet the 
requirements for Section 605.5 or shall be tested, rated and approved 
for such use in accordance with ASME A112.4.1.  Piping from 
safety pan drains shall meet the requirements of Section 804.1 and 
be constructed [be ]of those materials listed in Section 702[Table 
605.5 and Table 701.1]. 
 (2[2]9)  Section 504.7.1 is amended as follows: 
 The measurement of "3/4 inch" in the last sentence of the 
paragraph is replaced with the measurement "1 1/2 inch". 
 ([23]30)  Section 504.7.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 504.7.2 Pan drain termination.  The pan drain shall extend full-
size and terminate over a suitably located indirect waste receptor, 
floor drain or extend to the exterior of the building and terminate not 
less than 6 inches (152 mm) and not more than 24 inches (610 mm) 
above the adjacent ground surface.  When permitted by the 
administrative authority, the pan drain may be directly connected to 
a soil stack, waste stack, or branch drain.  The pan drain shall be 
individually trapped and vented as required in Section 907.1.  The 
pan drain shall not be directly or indirectly connected to any vent.  
The trap shall be provided with a trap primer conforming to ASSE 
1018 or ASSE 1044. 
 ([24]31)  A new section 504.7.3 is added as follows: 
 504.7.3 Pan Designation.  A water heater pan shall be 
considered an emergency receptor designated to receive the 
discharge of water from the water heater only and shall not receive 
the discharge from any other fixtures, devises or equipment. 
 ([25]32)  Section 602.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 602.3 Individual water supply.  Where a potable public water 
supply is not available, individual sources of potable water supply 
shall be utilized provided that the source has been developed in 
accordance with Sections 73-3-1, 73-3-3, and 73-3-25, Utah Code 
Ann. (1953), as amended, as administered by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Division of Water Rights. In addition, the quality 
of the water shall be approved by the local health department having 
jurisdiction.  The source shall supply sufficient quantity of water to 
comply with the requirements of this chapter. 
 ([26]33)  Sections 602.3.1, 602.3.2, 602.3.3, 602.3.4, 602.3.5 
and 602.3.5.1 are deleted in their entirety. 
 ([27]34)  Section 604.4.1 is added as follows: 
 604.4.1  Metering faucets. Self closing or metering faucets shall 
provide a flow of water for at least 15 seconds without the need to 
reactivate the faucet. 
 ([28]35)  Section 606.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 606.2  Location of shutoff valves. Shutoff valves shall be 
installed in the following locations: 
 1.  On the fixture supply to each plumbing fixture. 
 Exceptions: 
 A.  bath tubs and showers. 
 B.  in individual guest rooms that are provided with unit shutoff 
valves in hotels, motels, boarding houses and similar occupancies. 
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 2.  On the water supply pipe to each appliance or mechanical 
equipment. 
 ([29]36)  Section 606.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 606.5  Water pressure booster systems. Water pressure booster 
systems shall be provided as required by Section 606.5.1 through 
606.5.11. 
 (3[0]7)  Section 606.5.11 is added as follows: 
 606.5.11  Prohibited installation. In no case shall a booster 
pump be allowed that will lower the pressure in the public main to 
less than 20 psi. 
 (3[1]8)  In Section 608.1, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 Connection without an air gap between potable water piping 
and sewer-connected waste shall not exist under any condition. 
 (3[2]9)  Table 608.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 

TABLE 608.1 
General Methods of Protection 

 
Assembly     Degree     Application     Installation Criteria 
(applicable    of 
standard)    Hazard 
Air Gap      High or     Backsiphonage    See Table 608.15.1 
(ASME A112.1.2) Low 
 
Reduced      High or     Backpressure or  a. The bottom of each 
Pressure       Low       Backsiphonage       RP assembly shall 
Principle Backflow       1/2" - 16"          be a minimum of 12 
Preventer (AWWA                              inches above the 
C511, USC-FCCCHR,                            ground or floor. 
ASSE 1013                                 b. RP assemblies shall 
CSA CNA/CSA-B64.4)                           NOT be installed in 
and Reduced Pressure                         a pit. 
Detector Assembly                         c. The relief valve on 
(ASSE 1047, USC-                             each RP assembly 
FCCCHR)                                      shall not be 
                                             directly connected 
                                             to any waste 
                                             disposal line, 
                                             including sanitary 
                                             sewer, storm drains, 
                                             or vents. 
                                          d. The assembly shall 
                                             be installed in a 
                                             horizontal position 
                                             only unless listed 
                                             or approved for 
                                             vertical 
                                             installation. 
 
Double Check   Low       Backpressure or  a. If installed in a 
Backflow                 Backsiphonage       pit, the DC assembly 
Prevention               1/2" - 16"          shall be installed 
Assembly                                     with a minimum of 
(AWWA C510,                                  12 inches of 
USC-FCCCHR,                                  clearance between 
ASSE 1015)                                   all sides of the 
Double Check                                 vault including 
Detector Assembly                            the floor and roof 
Backflow Preventer                           or ceiling with 
(ASSE 1048,                                  adequate room for 
USC-FCCCHR)                                  testing and 
                                             maintenance. 
                                          b. Shall be installed 
                                             in a horizontal 
                                             position unless 
                                             listed or approved 
                                             for vertical 
                                             installation. 
 
 
 

Pressure     High or     Backsiphonage    a. Shall not be 
Vacuum         Low       1/2" - 2"           installed in an 
Breaker                                      area that could be 
Assembly                                     subjected to 
(ASSE 1020,                                  backpressure or 
USC-FCCCHR)                                  back drainage 
                                             conditions. 
                                          b. Shall be installed 
                                             a minimum of 12 
                                             inches above all 
                                             downstream piping 
                                             and the highest 
                                             point of use. 
                                          c. Shall not be 
                                             installed below 
                                             ground or in a 
                                             vault or pit. 
                                          d. Shall be installed 
                                             in a vertical 
                                             position only. 
 
Spill        High or     Backsiphonage    a. Shall not be 
Resistant      Low       1/4" - 2"           installed in an 
Vacuum                                       area that could 
Breaker                                      be subjected to 
(ASSE 1056,                                  backpressure or 
USC-FCCCHR)                                  back drainage 
                                             conditions. 
                                          b. Shall be installed 
                                             a minimum of 12 
                                             inches above all 
                                             downstream piping 
                                             and the highest 
                                             point of use. 
                                          c. Shall not be 
                                             installed below 
                                             ground or in a 
                                             vault or pit. 
                                          d. Shall be installed 
                                             in a vertical 
                                             position only. 
 
Atmospheric  High or     Backsiphonage    a. Shall not be 
Vacuum         Low                           installed in an 
Breaker                                      area that could be 
(ASSE 1001                                   subjected to 
USC-FCCCHR,                                  backpressure or back 
CSA CAN/CSA-B64.1.1                          drainage conditions. 
                                          b. Shall not be 
                                             installed where it 
                                             may be subjected to 
                                             continuous pressure 
                                             for more than 12 
                                             consecutive hours 
                                             at any time. 
                                          c. Shall be installed 
                                             a minimum of six 
                                             inches above all 
                                             downstream piping 
                                             and the highest 
                                             point of use. 
                                          d. Shall be installed 
                                             on the discharge 
                                             (downstream) side 
                                             of any valves. 
                                          e. The AVB shall be 
                                             installed in a 
                                             vertical position 
                                             only. 
 
General                                      The assembly owner, 
Installation                                 when necessary, 
Criteria                                     shall provide 
                                             devices or 
                                             structures to 
                                             facilitate testing, 
                                             repair, and/or 
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                                             maintenance and to 
                                             insure the safety 
                                             of the backflow 
                                             technician. 
                                             Assemblies shall 
                                             not be installed 
                                             more than five feet 
                                             off the floor unless 
                                             a permanent platform 
                                             is installed. 
 
                                             The body of the 
                                             assembly shall not 
                                             be closer than 12 
                                             inches to any wall, 
                                             ceiling or 
                                             incumbrance, and 
                                             shall be accessible 
                                             for testing, repair 
                                             and/or maintenance. 
 
                                             In cold climates, 
                                             assemblies shall be 
                                             protected from 
                                             freezing by a means 
                                             acceptable to the 
                                             code official. 
 
                                             Assemblies shall 
                                             be maintained as 
                                             an intact assembly. 

 
 ([33]40)  Table 608.1.1 is added as follows: 
 

TABLE 608.1.1 
Specialty Backflow Devices for low hazard use only 

 
     Device          Degree of     Application     Applicable 
                     Hazard                        Standard 
 
Antisiphon-type         Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1002 
Water Closet Flush                                 CSA CAN/ 
Tank Ball Cock                                     CSA-B125 
 
Dual check valve        Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1024 
Backflow Preventer                 or Backpressure 
                                   1/4" - 1" 
 
Backflow Preventer      Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1012 
with Intermediate     Residential  or Backpressure CSA CAN/ 
Atmospheric Vent      Boiler       1/4" - 3/4"     CSA-B64.3 
 
Dual check valve        Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1032 
type Backflow                      or Backpressure 
Preventer for                      1/4" - 3/8" 
Carbonated Beverage 
Dispensers/Post 
Mix Type 
 
Hose-connection         Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1011 
Vacuum Breaker                     1/2", 3/4", 1"  CSA CAN/ 
                                                   CSA-B64.2 
 
Vacuum Breaker          Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1019 
Wall Hydrants,                     3/4", 1"        CSA CAN/ 
Frost-resistant,                                   CSA-B64.2.2 
Automatic Draining 
Type 
 
Laboratory Faucet       Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1035 
Backflow Preventer                                 CSA CAN/ 
                                                   CSA-B64.7 
 
Hose Connection         Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1052 
Backflow Preventer                 1/2" - 1" 
 
 

Installation Guidelines:  The above specialty devices shall be 
installed in accordance with their listing and the manufacturer's 
instructions and the specific provisions of this chapter. 

 
 ([34]41)  In Section 608.3.1, the following sentence is added at 
the end of the paragraph: 
 All piping and hoses shall be installed below the atmospheric 
vacuum breaker. 
 ([35]42)  Section 608.7 is deleted in its entirety. 
 ([36]43)  In Section 608.8, the following sentence is added at 
the end of the paragraph: 
 In addition each nonpotable water outlet shall be labeled with 
the words "CAUTION:  UNSAFE WATER, DO NOT DRINK". 
 ([37]44)  In Section 608.11, the following sentence is added at 
the end of the paragraph: 
 The coating shall conform to NSF Standard 61 and application 
of the coating shall comply with the manufacturers instructions. 
 ([38]45)  Section 608.13.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.13.3  Backflow preventer with intermediate atmospheric 
vent.  Backflow preventers with intermediate atmospheric vents 
shall conform to ASSE 1012 or CAS CAN/CAS-B64.3.  These 
devices shall be permitted to be installed on residential boilers only 
where subject to continuous pressure conditions.  The relief opening 
shall discharge by air gap and shall be prevented from being 
submerged. 
 ([39]46)  Section 608.13.4 is deleted in its entirety. 
 (4[0]7)  Section 608.15.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.15.3  Protection by a backflow preventer with intermediate 
atmospheric vent. Opening and outlets to residential boilers only 
shall be protected by a backflow preventer with an intermediate 
atmospheric vent. 
 (4[1]8)  Section 608.15.4 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.15.4  Protection by a vacuum breaker. Openings and 
outlets shall be protected by atmospheric-type or pressure-type 
vacuum breakers.  The critical level of the atmospheric vacuum 
breaker shall be set a minimum of 6 inches (152 mm) above the 
flood level rim of the fixture or device.  The critical level of the 
pressure vacuum breaker shall be set a minimum of 12 inches (304 
mm) above the flood level rim of the fixture or device. Ball cocks 
shall be set in accordance with Section 425.3.1. Vacuum breakers 
shall not be installed under exhaust hoods or similar locations that 
will contain toxic fumes or vapors. Pipe-applied vacuum breakers 
shall be installed not less than 6 inches (152 mm) above the flood 
level rim of the fixture, receptor or device served.  No valves shall 
be installed downstream of the atmospheric vacuum breaker. 
 (4[2]9)  [In ]Section 608.15.4.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following:[, the following is added at the end of the paragraph: 
 In climates where freezing temperatures occur, a listed, self-
draining frost proof hose bibb with an integral backflow preventer 
shall be used.] 
 608.15.4.2 Hose connections.  Sillcocks, hose bibbs, wall 
hydrants and other openings with a hose connection shall be 
protected by an atmospheric-type or pressure-type vacuum breaker 
or a permanently attached hose connection vacuum breaker.  Add-
on-type backflow prevention devices shall be non-removable.  In 
climates where freezing temperatures occur, a listed self-draining 
frost proof hose bibb with an integral backflow preventer shall be 
used. 
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 ([43]50)  Section 608.16.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.1  Beverage dispensers. Potable water supply to 
carbonators shall be protected by a vented dual check valve meeting 
ASSE Standard 1022 and installed according to the requirements of 
this chapter. 
 ([44]51)  In Section 608.16.2, the first sentence of the 
paragraph is deleted and replaced as follows: 
 608.16.2  The potable water supply to the residential boiler 
shall be equipped with a backflow preventer with an intermediate 
atmospheric vent complying with ASSE 1012 or CSA CAN/CSA 
B64.3. 
 ([45]52)  Section 608.16.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.3  Heat exchangers.  Heat exchangers shall be separated 
from potable water by double-wall construction.  An air gap open to 
the atmosphere shall be provided between the two walls. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Single wall heat exchangers shall be permitted when all of 
the following conditions are met: 
 a.  Utilize a heat transfer medium of potable water or contains 
only substances which are recognized as safe by the United States 
Food and Drug Administration (FDA); 
 b.  The pressure of the heat transfer medium is maintained less 
than the normal minimum operating pressure of the potable water 
system; and 
 c.  The equipment is permanently labeled to indicate only 
additives recognized as safe by the FDA shall be used. 
 2.  Steam systems that comply with paragraph 1 above. 
 3.  Approved listed electrical drinking water coolers. 
[ (46)  Section 608.16.4 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 608.16.4  Connections to automatic fire sprinkler 
systems and standpipe systems.  The potable water supply to 
automatic fire sprinkler and standpipe systems shall be protected 
against backflow by an alarm check valve and spring loaded check 
valve assembly as shown on the diagram entitled "Riser Detail", 
dated July 1, 1999, published by State and Local Building Codes 
Amendments, Department of Commerce, Division of Occupational 
and Professional Licensing, which is hereby adopted and 
incorporated by reference. 
 EXCEPTIONS: 
 1.  When systems are installed as a portion of the water 
distribution system in accordance with the requirements of this code 
and are not provided with a fire department connection, isolation of 
the water supply system shall not be required. 
 2.  Isolation of the water distribution system is not required for 
deluge, preaction or dry pipe systems. 
 3.  When the sprinkler supply line is less than four inches in 
diameter and a resilient seated spring loaded single check valve, 
approved and testable for back flow prevention is not available, then 
an alternate, approved for fire sprinkler system use, spring loaded 
check valve is allowed. 
 (47)  Section 608.16.4.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 608.16.4.1  Additives or nonpotable source.  Where 
systems contain chemical additives or antifreeze, or where systems 
are connected to a nonpotable secondary water supply, the potable 
water supply shall be protected against backflow by a reduced 
pressure principle backflow preventor. Where chemical additives or 
antifreeze are added to only a portion of an automatic fire sprinkler 

or standpipe system, the reduced pressure principle backflow 
preventer shall be permitted to be located so as to isolate that portion 
of the system. 
 Exception: 
 1.  For systems that use antifreeze only consisting of strictly 
pure glycerine (C.P. or U.S.P. 96.5 percent grade) or propylene 
glycol, equipment specified in Section 608.16.4 shall be used. 
 (48)  Section 608.16.4.2 is added as follows: 
 Section 608.16.4.2  Testing Procedures. The testing procedures 
are as follows: 
 1.  The check valves are to be tested by a currently certified 
Class II Backflow Technician in accordance with Rule R309-302 
available from the Department of Environmental Quality. 
 2.  All other mechanical devices attached to or part of a class I 
or class II fire sprinkler system shall be tested by a licensed fire 
sprinkler contractor.] 
 (53)  In Section 608.16.4.1, add the following exception: 
 Exception: All class 1 and 2 systems containing chemical 
additives consisting of strictly glycerine (C.P. or U.S.P. 96.5 percent 
grade) or propylene glycol shall be protected against backflow with 
a double check valve assembly.  Such systems shall include written 
certification of the chemical additives at the time of original 
installation and service or maintenance. 
 ([49]54)  Section 608.16.6 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.6  Connections to lawn irrigation systems. The potable 
water supply to lawn irrigation systems shall be protected against 
backflow by an atmospheric-type vacuum breaker, a pressure-type 
vacuum breaker, a double check valve backflow preventer or a 
reduced pressure principle backflow preventer.  A valve shall not be 
installed downstream from an atmospheric vacuum breaker.  Where 
chemicals are introduced into the system, the potable water supply 
shall be protected against backflow by a reduced pressure principle 
backflow preventer. 
 (5[0]5)  Section 608.16.7 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.7  Chemical dispensers. Where chemical dispensers 
connect to the water distribution system, the water supply system 
shall be protected against backflow in accordance with Section 
608.13.1, Section 608.13.2, Section 608.13.5, Section 608.13.6 or 
Section 608.13.8. 
 (5[1]6)  Section 608.16.8 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.8  Portable cleaning equipment. Where the portable 
cleaning equipment connects to the water distribution system, the 
water supply system shall be protected against backflow in 
accordance with Section 608.13.1, Section 608.13.2 or Section 
608.13.8. 
 (5[2]7)  Section 608.16.9 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.9  Dental pump equipment or water syringe. Where 
dental pumping equipment or water syringes connects to the water 
distribution system, the water supply system shall be protected 
against backflow in accordance with Section 608.13.1, Section 
608.13.2, Section 608.13.5, Section 608.13.6 or Section 608.13.8. 
 (5[3]8)  Section 608.16.10 is added as follows: 
 608.16.10  Automatic and coin operated car washes. The water 
supply to an automatic or coin operated car wash shall be protected 
in accordance with Section 608.13.1 or Section 608.13.2. 
 (5[4]9)  Section 608.17 is deleted in its entirety. 
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 ([55]60)  Section 701.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 701.2  Sewer required. Every building in which plumbing 
fixtures are installed and all premises having drainage piping shall 
be connected to a public sewer where the sewer is within 300 feet of 
the property line in accordance with Section 10-8-38, Utah Code 
Ann., (1953), as amended; or an approved private sewage disposal 
system in accordance with Rule R317-5501 through R317-513 and 
Rule R317-5, Utah Administrative Code, as administered by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Water Quality. 
 ([56]61)  Section 802.1.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 802.1.1 Food handling. Equipment and fixtures utilized for the 
storage, preparation and handling of food shall discharge through an 
indirect waste pipe by means of an air gap. 
 Exception: This requirement shall not apply to dishwashing 
machines and dishwashing sinks.  If used for dishwashing and food 
preparation, a minimum of one compartment of the dishwashing 
sink shall be drained through an indirect waste pipe by means of an 
air gap or an air break. 
 ([57]62)  Section 802.3 is amended as follows: 
 The term "waste receptors" in the last sentence of the paragraph 
is replaced with the term "floor sinks". 
 ([58]63)  Section 802.3.2 is deleted in its entirety and replaced 
with the following: 
 802.3.2  Open hub waste receptors.  Waste receptors for clear 
water waste shall be permitted in the form of a hub or pipe extending 
not more than 1/2 inch above a water impervious floor and are not 
required to have a strainer. 
 ([59]64)  Section 803.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 803.2 Neutralizing device required for corrosive wastes.  
Corrosive liquids, spent acids or other harmful chemicals that 
destroy or injure a drain, sewer, soil or waste pipe, or create noxious 
or toxic fumes or interfere with sewage treatment processes, shall 
not be discharged into the plumbing system without being 
thoroughly diluted, neutralized or treated by passing through an 
approved dilution or neutralizing device.  Such devices shall be 
provided with a sufficient supply of diluting water or neutralizing 
medium as to make the contents non-injurious before discharge into 
the drainage system.  The nature of the corrosive or harmful waste 
and the method of its treatment or dilution shall be approved prior to 
installation. 
 (6[0]5)  Section 904.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 904.1 Roof extensions.  All open vent pipes that extend through 
a roof shall be terminated at least 12 inches (304.8 mm) above the 
roof, except that where a roof is to be used for any purpose other 
than weather protection, the vent extension shall be run at least 7 
feet (2134 mm) above the roof. 
 (6[1]6)  In Section 904.6, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 Vents extending through the wall shall terminate not less than 
12 inches from the wall with an elbow pointing downward. 
 (6[2]7)  In Section 905.4, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 

 Horizontal dry vents below the flood level rim shall be 
permitted for floor drain and floor sink installations when installed 
in accordance with Sections 702.2, 905.2 and 905.3 and provided 
with a wall clean out. 
 (6[3]8)  Section 1002.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1002.2 Design of traps.  Fixture traps shall be self-scouring.  
Fixture traps shall not have interior partitions, except where such 
traps are integral with the fixture or where such traps are constructed 
of an approved material that is resistant to corrosion and 
degradation.  Slip joints shall be made with an approved elastomeric 
gasket and shall only be installed on the trap inlet, trap outlet and 
within the trap seal.  One slip joint fitting shall be allowed to be 
installed downstream of the trap. 
 (6[4]9)  Section 1002.8 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1002.8 Recess for trap connection.  A recess provided for 
connection of the underground trap, such as one serving a bathtub in 
slab-type construction, shall have sides and a bottom of corrosion-
resistant, insect- and vermin-proof construction.  The annular space 
between the pipe and the penetration shall not exceed 1/2 inch (12.7 
mm). 
[ (65)  Section 1002.4.1 is added as follows: 
 1002.4.1  Emergency floor drains. Each emergency floor drain 
shall be installed with a trap seal primer.  Trap seal primer shall 
conform to ASSE 1018 or ASSE 1044.] 
 ([66]70)  Section 1003.3.5 is added as follows: 
 1003.3.5  Grease trap restriction.  Unless specifically required 
or permitted by the code official, no food waste grinder or 
dishwasher shall be connected to or discharge into any grease trap. 
 ([67]71)  Section 1104.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1104.2  Combining storm and sanitary drainage prohibited. The 
combining of sanitary and storm drainage systems is prohibited. 
 ([68]72)  Section 1108 is deleted in its entirety. 
 ([69]73)  Section 1204 is amended to read: 
 1204  Fuel gas piping systems. All fuel gas piping systems shall 
be sized, installed, tested and placed in operation in accordance with 
the requirements of the International Mechanical Code. 
 ([70]74)  Section 1205 is amended to read: 
 Section 1205 CNG GAS-DISPENSING SYSTEMS 
 1205.1  Dispenser protection. The gas dispenser shall have an 
emergency switch to shut off the power to the dispenser.  An 
approved backflow device that prevents the reverse flow of gas shall 
be installed on the gas supply pipe or in the gas dispenser. 
 1205.2  Ventilation. Gas-dispensing systems installed inside the 
structure shall be ventilated by mechanical means in accordance 
with the 1998 International Mechanical Code. 
 1205.3  Compressed natural gas vehicular fuel systems. 
Compressed natural gas (CNG) fuel-dispensing systems for CNG-
fueled vehicles shall be designed and installed in accordance with 
NFPA 52 and the fire code as adopted by the State Fire Marshal. 
 (7[1]5)  Chapter 14, Referenced Standards, is amended as 
follows: 
 NSF - Standard Reference Number 61-99 - The following 
referenced in code section number is added:  608.11 
 The following reference standard is added: 
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TABLE 
 
USC-     Foundation for Cross-Connection  Table 608.1 
FCCCHR   Control and Hydraulic Research 
9th      University of Southern California 
Edition  Kaprielian Hall 300 
Manual   Los Angeles CA 90089-2531 
of Cross 
Connection 
Control 

 
 (7[2]6)  Appendix C of the IPC, Gray Water Recycling 
Systems, shall not be adopted by any jurisdiction until approved by 
the Department of Health and the Department of Environmental 
Quality. 
 
R156-56-709. Statewide Amendments to the IFGC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IFGC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  Chapter 3, Section 306.5 Appliances on roofs or elevated 
structures is amended by adding the following exception at the end 
of the paragraph: 
 Exception: R-3 occupancies. 
 (2)  Chapter 3, Section 306.6 Guards is amended by adding the 
following exception at the end of the paragraph: 
 Exception: R-3 occupancy. 
 (3)  Chapter 4, Section 401 General, a new section 401.9 is 
added as follows: 
 401.9 Meter location. Gas meters shall be located so as to be 
protected from physical damage, including ice and snow falling 
from roofs. 
 ([3]4)  Chapter 5, Section 503.10.13 Inspection is amended as 
follows: 
 503.10.13 Inspection. The entire length of a single wall vent 
connector shall be provided with ready access for inspection, 
cleaning, and replacement. 
 ([4]5)  Chapter 5, Section 504.3.5 is deleted and replaced with 
the following: 
 504.3.5 Common vertical vent offset. Where the common 
vertical vent is offset as shown in Figure B-12, the maximum 
common vent capacity listed in the common venting tables shall be 
reduced by 5% per fitting for all offsets of 45 degrees or less and 
10% per fitting for all offsets greater than 45 degrees.  The total 
horizontal length of the common vent offsets (LM) shall not exceed 1 
1/2 feet for each inch (18 mm per mm) of common vent diameter 
(D). 
 
R156-56-710.  Statewide Amendments to the IECC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IECC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  In Section 504.7, the following exception is added: 
 Exception:  Heat traps, other than the arrangement of piping 
and fittings, shall be prohibited unless a means of controlling 
thermal expansion can be ensured as required in the IPC Section 
607.3. 
 (2)  Section 801.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 801.2 Application.  The requirements in Section 802, 803, 804, 
and 805 shall each be satisfied on an individual basis.  Where one or 
more of these sections is not satisfied, compliance with that section 
shall be demonstrated in accordance with the applicable provisions 
of ANSI/ASHRAE/IESNA Standard 90.1-1999 Energy Standard for 
Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings. 
 ([2]3)  Chapter 9 Reverence Standards, ASHRAE, Item 4 is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 

 ANSI/ASHRAE/IESNA - Energy Standard for Buildings 
Except Low Rise Residential Buildings 503.1, 701.101.2, 802.1 and 
802.2. 
 
R156-56-711.  Statewide Amendments to the IRC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IRC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  All amendments to the IBC under Section R156-56-704, 
local amendments under Section R156-56-705, the NEC under 
Section R156-56-706, the IPC under Section R156-56-707, the IMC 
under Section R156-56-708, the IFGC under Section R156-56-709 
and the IECC under Section R156-56-710 which may be applied to 
detached one and two family dwellings and multiple single family 
dwellings shall be applicable to the corresponding provisions of the 
IRC.  All references to the International Electrical Code are deleted 
and replaced with the National Electrical Code adopted under 
Section R156-56-701(1)(b).  Should there be any conflicts between 
the NEC and the IRC, the NEC shall prevail. 
 (2)   In Section R202, the definition of "Backsiphonage" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 BACKSIPHONAGE:  The backflow of potentially 
contaminated, polluted or used water into the potable water system 
as a result of the pressure in the potable water system falling below 
atmospheric pressure of the plumbing fixtures, pools, tanks or vats 
connected to the potable water distribution piping. 
 (3)  In Section R202 the following definition is added: 
 CERTIFIED BACKFLOW PREVENTER ASSEMBLY 
TESTER:  A person who has shown competence to test Backflow 
prevention assemblies to the satisfaction of the authority having 
jurisdiction under Subsection 19-4-104(4), Utah Code Ann. (1953), 
as amended. 
 (4)   In Section R202 the definition of "Cross Connection" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 CROSS CONNECTION.  Any physical connection or potential 
connection or arrangement between two otherwise separate piping 
systems, one of which contains potable water and the other either 
water of unknown or questionable safety or steam, gas or chemical, 
whereby there exists the possibility for flow from one system to the 
other, with the direction of flow depending on the pressure 
differential between the two systems(see "Backflow, Water 
Distribution"). 
 (5)  In Section R202 the following definition is added: 
 HEAT exchanger (Potable Water).  A device to transfer heat 
between two physically separated fluids (liquid or steam), one of 
which is potable water. 
 (6)   In [s]Section R202 the definition of "Potable Water" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 POTABLE WATER.  Water free from impurities present in 
amounts sufficient to cause disease or harmful physiological effects 
and conforming to the Titles 19-4 and 19-5, Utah Code Ann. (1953), 
as amended and the regulations of the public health authority having 
jurisdiction. 
 (7)  In Section R202, the following definition is added: 
 S-Trap.  A trap having it's weir installed above the inlet of the 
vent connection. 
 ([7]8)  In Section R202 the definition of "Water Heater" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 WATER HEATER.  A closed vessel in which water is heated 
by the combustion of fuels or electricity and is withdrawn for use 
externally to the system at pressures not exceeding 160 psig (1100 
kPa (gage)), including  the apparatus by which heat is generated, and 
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all controls and devices necessary to prevent water temperatures 
from exceeding 210 degrees Fahrenheit (99 degrees Celsius). 
 ([8]9)  Section R301.4 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R301.4 Live Load.  The minimum uniformly distributed live 
load shall be as provided in Table R301.4. 
 

TABLE R301.4 
MINIMUM UNIFORMLY DISTRIBUTED LIVE LOADS 

(in pounds per square foot) 
 
               USE                        LIVE LOAD 
Exterior balconies                            60 
Decks (f)                                     [40]60 
Fire escapes                                  40 
Passenger vehicle garages (a)                 50(a) 
Attics without storage (b), (e), (g)          10 
Attics with storage (b), (e)                  20 
Rooms other than sleeping rooms               40 
Sleeping rooms                                30 
Stairs                                        40(c) 
Guardrails and handrails (d)                 200 

 
 For SI: 1 pound per square foot = 0.0479kN/m2, 1 square inch = 
645 mm2  1 pound = 4.45N. 
 (a)  Elevated garage floors shall be capable of supporting a 
2,000-pound load applied over a 20-square-inch area. 
 (b)  No storage with roof slope not over 3 units in 12 units. 
 (c)  Individual stair treads shall be designed for the uniformly 
distributed live load or a 300-pound concentrated load acting over an 
area of 4 square inches, whichever produces the greater stresses. 
 (d)  A single concentrated load applied in any direction at any 
point along the top. 
 (e)  Attics constructed with wood trusses shall be designated in 
accordance with Section R802.10.1. 
 (f)  See Section R502.2.1 for decks attached to exterior walls. 
 (g)  This live load need not be considered as acting 
simultaneously with other live loads imposed upon the ceiling 
framing or its supporting structure. 
 ([9]10)  Section R304.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R304.3 Minimum dimensions.  Habitable rooms shall not be 
less than 7 feet (2134 mm) in any horizontal dimension. 
 Exception:  Kitchens shall have a clear passageway of not less 
than 3 feet (914 mm) between counter fronts and appliances or 
counter fronts and walls. 
 ([10]11)  Section R309.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R309.2 Separation required.  The garage shall be separated 
from the residence and its attic area by installation of materials 
approved for one-hour fire-resistive construction applied to the 
garage side.  Where the separation is a floor-ceiling assembly, the 
structure supporting the separation shall also be protected by 
installation of materials approved for one-hour fire-resistive 
construction. 
 ([11]12)  Section R312.1.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R312.1.2 Landings at doors. There shall be a floor or landing 
on each side of each exterior door. 
 Exception: At the exterior side of all non required exit doors. 
The floor or landing at a door shall not be more than 1.5 inches (38 
mm) lower than the top of the threshold. 
 Exception: The landing of an exterior doorway shall not be 
more than 8 inches (197 mm) below the top of the threshold, 

provided that the door, other than an exterior storm or screen door, 
does not swing over the landing. 
 ([12]13)  Section R314.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R314.2 [Trends]Treads and risers. The maximum riser height 
shall be 8 inches (203 mm) and the minimum tread depth shall be 9 
inches (229 mm). The riser height shall be measured vertically 
between leading edges of the adjacent treads.  The tread depth shall 
be measured horizontally between the vertical planes of the foremost 
projection of adjacent treads and at a right angle to the tread's 
leading edge.  The walking surface of treads and landings of a 
stairway shall be sloped no steeper than one unit vertical in 48 units 
horizontal (2-percent slope).  The greatest riser height within any 
flight of stairs shall not exceed the smallest by more than 3/8 inch 
(9.5 mm).  The greatest tread depth within any flight of stairs shall 
not exceed the smallest by more than 3/8 inch (9.5 mm). 
 R314.2.1 Profile.  The radius of curvature at the leading edge of 
the tread shall be no greater than 9/16 inch (14.3 mm).  A nosing not 
less than 3/4 inch (19.1 mm) but not more than 1 1/4 inches (32 mm) 
shall be provided on stairways with solid risers.  The greatest nosing 
projection shall not exceed shall not exceed the smallest nosing 
projection by more than 3/8 inches (9.5 mm) between two stories, 
including the nosing at the level of floors and landings.  Beveling of 
nosing shall not exceed 1/2 inch (12.7 mm).  Risers shall be vertical 
or sloped from the underside of the leading edge of the tread above 
at an angle not more than 30 degrees from the vertical. Open risers 
are permitted, provided that the opening between treads does not 
permit the passage of a 4-inch diameter (102 mm) sphere. 
 Exceptions. 
 1.  A nosing is not required where the tread depth is a minimum 
of 10 inches (254 mm). 
 2.  The opening between adjacent treads is not limited on stairs 
with a total rise of 30 inches (762 mm) or less. 
 ([13]14)  Section R315.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R315.1 Handrails. Handrails shall be provided on at least one 
side of stairways consisting of four or more risers.  Handrails shall 
have a minimum height of 34 inches (864 mm) and a maximum 
height of 38 inches (965 mm) measured vertically from the nosing of 
the treads.  All required handrails shall be continuous the full length 
of the stairs from a point directly above the top riser to a point 
directly above the lowest riser of the stairway.  The ends of the 
handrail shall be returned into a wall or shall terminate in newel post 
or safety terminals.  A minimum clear space of 1 1/2 inches (38 mm) 
shall be provided between the wall and the handrail. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Handrails shall be permitted to be interrupted by a newel 
post at a turn. 
 2.  The use of a volute, turnout or starting easing shall be 
allowed over the lowest tread. 
 (1[4]5)  Section R315.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R315.2 Handrail grip size.  The handgrip portion of handrails 
shall have a circular cross section of 1 1/4 inches (32mm) minimum 
to 2 5/8 inches (67mm) maximum.  Edges shall have a minimum 
radius of 1/8 inch (3.2mm). 
 Exception:  Non-circular handrails shall be permitted to have a 
maximum cross sectional dimension of 3.25 inches (83mm) 
measured 2 inches (51 mm) down from the top of the crown.  Such 
handrail is required to have an indentation on both sides between 
0.625 inch (16mm) and 1.5 inches (38mm) down from the top or 
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crown of the cross section.  The indentation shall be a minimum of 
0.25 inch (6mm) deep on each side and shall be at least 0.5 inch (13 
mm)high.  Edges within the handgrip shall have a minimum radius 
of 0.0625 inch (2 mm).  The handrail surface shall be smooth with 
no cusps so as to avoid catching clothing or skin. 
 (1[5]6)  In Section 321.3.2 Exception 1.1 is deleted and 
replaced with the following: 
 1.1  By a horizontal distance of not less than the width of a stud 
space regardless of stud spacing, or 
 (17)  Section R403.1.4 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R403.1.4 Minimum depth. All exterior footings shall be placed 
at least 12 inches (305 mm) below the undisturbed ground.  Where 
applicable, the depth of footings shall also conform to Section 
R403.1.4.1. 
 R403.1.4.1 Frost Protection.  Except where otherwise protected 
from frost, foundation walls, piers and other permanent supports of 
buildings and structures shall be protected from frost by one or more 
of the following methods: 
 1.  Extended below the frost line specified in Table R301.2(1); 
 2.  Constructed in accordance with Section R403.3; 
 3.  Constructed in accordance with ASCE 32-01; and 
 4.  Erected on solid rock. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Freestanding accessory structures, not intended for human 
occupancy, with an area of 1,000 square feet (93m2) or less, of wood 
framed construction, with an eave height of 10 feet (3080 mm) or 
less shall not be required to be protected. 
 2.  Decks not supported by a dwelling need not be provided 
with footings that extend below frost line. 
 Footings shall not bear on frozen soil unless such frozen 
condition is of a permanent character. 
 (1[6]7)  Section R403.1.6.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R403.1.6.1 Foundation anchorage in Seismic Design Categories 
D1and D2.  In addition to the requirements of Section R403.1.6, the 
following requirements shall apply to light-wood frame structures in 
Seismic Design Categories D1and D2. Anchor bolts shall be located 
within 12 inches (305 mm) from the ends of each plate section at 
interior bearing walls, interior braced wall lines and at all exterior 
walls. Plate washers a minimum of 2 inches by 2 inches by 3/16 inch 
(51 mm by 4.8 mm) thick shall be used on each bolt. 
 Exceptions: 
 a.  When anchor bolt spacing does not exceed 32 inches (816 
mm) apart, anchor bolts may be placed with a minimum of two bolts 
per plate section located not less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each 
end of each plate section at interior bearing walls, interior braced 
wall lines and at all exterior walls. 
 b.  When anchor bolt spacing does not exceed 32 inches (816 
mm) apart, a properly sized round washer may be used. 
 The maximum anchor bolt spacing shall be 4 feet (1219 mm) 
for two-story structures. 
 (1[7]8)  Section R703.6 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R703.6 Exterior plaster. 
 R703.6.1 Lath. All lath and lath attachments shall be of 
corrosion-resistant materials.  Expanded metal or woven wire lath 
shall be attached with 1 1/2 inch-long (38 mm), 11 gage nails having 
7/16 inch (11.1 mm) head, or 7/8-inch-long (22.2 mm), 16 gage 
staples, spaced at no more than 6 inches (152 mm), or as otherwise 
approved. 

 R703.6.2 Weather-resistant barriers.  Weather-resistant barriers 
shall be installed as required in Section R703.2 and, where applied 
over wood-based sheathing, shall include a weather-resistive vapor 
permeable barrier with a performance at least equivalent to two 
layers of Grade D paper. 
 R703.6.3 Plaster.  Plastering with portland cement plaster shall 
be not less than three coats when applied over metal lath or wire lath 
and shall be not less than two coats when applied over masonry, 
concrete or gypsum backing.  If the plaster surface is completely 
covered by veneer or other facing material or is completed 
concealed, plaster application need be only two coats, provided the 
total thickness is as set forth in Table R702.1(1).  On wood-frame 
construction with an on-grade floor slab system, exterior plaster 
shall be applied in such a manner as to cover, but not extend below, 
lath, paper and screed. 
 The proportion of aggregate to cementitious materials shall be 
as set forth in Table R702.1(3). 
 (1[8]9)  In Section R703.7 Stone and masonry veneer, general 
the following exceptions are added: 
 Exceptions: 
 3.  For detached one- or two-family dwellings with a maximum 
nominal thickness of 4 inches (102 mm) of exterior masonry veneer 
with a backing of wood frame located in Seismic Design Category 
D1, the masonry veneer shall not exceed 20 feet (6096 mm) in height 
above a noncombustible foundation, with an additional 8 feet (2438 
mm) permitted for gabled ends, or 30 feet (9144 mm) in height with 
an additional 8 feet (2438 mm) permitted for gabled ends where the 
lower 10 feet (3048 mm) has a backing of concrete or masonry wall, 
provided the following criteria are met: 
 (a)   Braced wall panels shall be constructed with a minimum of 
7/16 inch (11.1 mm)thick sheathing fastened with 8d common nails 
at 4 inches (102 mm) on center on panel edges and at 12 inches (305 
mm) on center on intermediate supports. 
 (b)   The bracing of the top story shall be located at each end 
and at least every 25 feet (7620 mm) on center but not less than 45% 
of the braced wall line.  The bracing of the first story shall be as 
provided in Table R602.10.3. 
 (c)  Hold down connectors shall be provided at the ends of 
braced walls for the second floor to first floor wall assembly with an 
allowable design of 2100 lbs (952.5 kg).  Hold down connectors 
shall be provided at the ends of each wall segment of the braced 
walls for the first floor to foundation assembly with an allowable 
design of 3700 lbs. (1678 kg).  In all cases, the hold down connector 
force shall be transferred to the foundation. 
 (d)  Cripple walls shall not be permitted. 
 4.  For detached one- and two-family dwellings with a 
maximum actual thickness of 3 inches (76 mm) of exterior masonry 
veneer with a backing of wood frame located in Seismic Design 
Category D2, the masonry veneer shall not exceed 20 feet (6096 
mm) in height above a noncombustible foundation, with an 
additional 8 feet (2438 mm) permitted for gabled ends, or 30 feet 
(9144 mm) in height with an additional 8 feet (2438 mm) permitted 
for gabled ends where the lower 10 feet (3048 mm)has a backing of 
concrete on masonry wall, provided the following criteria are met: 
 (a)  Braced wall panels shall be constructed with a minimum of 
7/16 inch (11.1 mm)thick sheathing fastened with 8d common nails 
at 4 inches (102 mm) on center on panel edges and at 12 inches (305 
mm) on center on intermediate supports. 
 (b)   The bracing of the top story shall be located at each end 
and at least every 25 feet (7620 mm) on center but not less than 55% 
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of the braced wall line.  The bracing of the first story shall be as 
provided in Table R602.10.3. 
 (c)   Hold down connectors shall be provided at the ends of 
braced walls for the second floor to first floor wall assembly with an 
allowable design of 2300 lbs (1043 kg).  Hold down connectors shall 
be provided at the ends of each wall segment of the braced walls for 
 the first floor to foundation assembly with an allowable design of 
3900 lbs. (1769 kg).  In all cases, the hold down connector force 
shall be transferred to the foundation. 
 (d)  Cripple walls shall not be permitted. 
 ([19]20)  Section P2602.2 is added as follows: 
 P2602.2 Individual water supply.  Where a potable public water 
supply is not available, individual sources of potable water supply 
shall be utilized provided that the source has been developed in 
accordance with Sections 73-3-1 and 73-3-25, Utah Code Ann. 
(1953), as amended, as administered by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Division of Water Rights.  In addition, the quality of the 
water shall be approved by the local health department having 
jurisdiction. 
 (2[0]1)  Section P2602.3 is added as follows: 
 P2602.3 Sewer required.  Every building in which plumbing 
fixtures are installed and all premises having drainage piping shall 
be connected to a public sewer where the sewer is within 300 feet of 
the property line in accordance with Section 10-8-38, Utah Code 
Ann, (1953), as amended; or an approved private sewage disposal 
system in accordance with Rule R317-5501 through R317-513 and 
Rule R317-5, Utah Administrative Code, as administered by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Water Quality. 
 (2[1]2)  Section P2603.2.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 P2603.2.1 Protection against physical damage.  In concealed 
locations where piping, other than cast-iron or galvanized steel, is 
installed through holes or notches in studs, joists, rafters, or similar 
members less than 1 1/2 inch (38 mm) from the nearest edge of the 
member, the pipe shall be protected by shield plates.  Protective 
shield plates shall be a minimum of 1/16 inch-thick (1.6 mm) steel, 
shall cover the area of the pipe where the member is notched or 
bored, and shall be at least the thickness of the framing member 
penetrated. 
 (2[2]3)  Section P2710.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 P2710.1 Finished.  Shower walls shall be finished in 
accordance with Section R307.2. 
 (2[3]4)  Section P2801.[2]7 is added as follows: 
 P2801.[2]7 Water heater seismic bracing.  In Seismic Design 
Categories C, D  1 and D  2, water[Water] heaters shall be anchored or 
strapped in the upper third of the appliance to resist a horizontal 
force equal to one third the operating weight of the water heater, 
acting in any horizontal direction, or in accordance with the 
appliance manufacturers recommendations. 
 (2[4]5)  Section P2902.1.1 is added as follows: 
 P2902.1.1 Backflow assembly testing.  The premise owner or 
his designee shall have backflow prevention assemblies operation 
tested at the time of installation, repair and relocation and at least on 
an annual basis thereafter,  or more frequently as required by the 
authority having jurisdiction.  Testing shall be performed by a 
Certified Backflow Preventer Assembly Tester.  The assemblies that 
are subject to this paragraph are the Spill Resistant Vacuum Breaker, 
the Pressure Vacuum Breaker Assembly, the Double Check 
Backflow Prevention Assembly, the Double Check Detector 
Assembly Backflow Preventer, the Reduced Pressure Principle 

Backflow Preventer, and Reduced Pressure Detector Assembly, and 
the spring loaded check valve assembly described in amended 
Section 608.16.4 of the International Plumbing Code. 
 (2[5]6)  Section P2903.9.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 P2903.9.3 Valve requirements.  Valves serving individual 
fixtures, appliances, risers, and branches shall be provided with 
access.  An individual shutoff valve shall be required on the water 
supply pipe to each water closet, lavatory, kitchen sink, and 
appliance. 
 (2[6]7)  Section P3003.2.1 is added as follows: 
 Section P3003.2.1 Improper Connections.  No drain, waste, or 
vent piping shall be drilled and tapped for the purpose of making 
connections. 
 (2[7]8)  In Section P3103.6, the following sentence is added at 
the end of the paragraph: 
 Vents extending through the wall shall terminate not less than 
12 inches from the wall with an elbow pointing downward. 
 (2[8]9)  In Section P3104.4, the following sentence is added at 
the end of the paragraph: 
 Horizontal dry vents below the flood level rim shall be 
permitted for floor drain and floor sink installations when installed 
below grade in accordance with Chapter 30, and Sections P3104.2  
and P3104.3.  A wall cleanout shall be provided in the vertical vent. 
 ([29]30)  Chapter 43, Referenced Standards, is amended as 
follows: 
 The following reference standard is added: 
 

TABLE 
 
USC-     Foundation for Cross-Connection          Section P2902 
FCCCHR   Control and Hydraulic Research 
9th      University of Southern California 
Edition  Kaprielian Hall 300 
Manual   Los Angeles CA 90089-2531 
of Cross 
Connection 
Control 

 
 (31)  A new Section G2411.9 is added as follows: 
 G2411.9 Meter location.  Gas meters shall be located so as to 
be protected from physical damage, including ice and snow falling 
from roofs. 
 
R156-56-712.  Local Amendments to the IRC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IRC to be 
applicable to the following jurisdictions: 
 (1)  City of Farmington: 
 Sections R328.1 and R328.2 are added as follows: 
 R328.1  When required.  An automatic sprinkler system shall 
be installed throughout every dwelling in accordance with NFPA 13-
D, when any of the following conditions are present: 
 1.  the structure is over two stories high, as defined by the 
building code; 
 2.  the nearest point of structure is more than 150 feet from the 
public way; 
 3.  the total floor area of all stories is over 5,000 square feet 
(excluding from the calculation the area of the basement and/or 
garage); or 
 4.  the structure is located on a street constructed after March 1, 
2000 that has a gradient over 12% and, during fire department 
response, access to the structure will be gained by using such street.  
(If the access is intended to be from a direction where the steep 
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gradient is not used, as determined by the Chief, this criteria shall 
not apply). 
 R328.2  Installation requirements and standards. Such sprinkler 
system shall be installed in basements, but need not be installed in 
garages, under eves or in enclosed attic spaces, unless required by 
the Chief. Such system shall be installed in accordance with NFPA 
13-D. 
 (2)  Morgan City Corp: 
 Section R105.2 Work Exempt From Permit, the following is 
added: 
 10.  Structures intended to house farm animals, or for the 
storage of feed associated with said farm animals when all the 
following criteria is met: 
 a.  The parcel of property involved is zoned for the keeping of 
farm animals or has grand fathered animal rights. 
 b.  The structure is setback not less than 50 feet from the rear or 
side of dwellings, and not less than 10 feet from property lines and 
other structures. 
 c.  The structure does not exceed 1000 square feet of floor area, 
and is limited to 20 feet in height.  Height is measured from the 
average grade to the highest point of the structure. 
 d.  Before construction, a site plan is submitted to, and 
approved by the building official. 
 Electrical, plumbing, and mechanical permits shall be required 
when that work is included in the structure. 
 (3)  Morgan County: 
 Section R105.2 Work Exempt From Permit, the following is 
added: 
 10.  Structures intended to house farm animals, or for the 
storage of feed associated with said farm animals when all the 
following criteria is met: 
 a.  The parcel of property involved is zoned for the keeping of 
farm animals or has grand fathered animal rights. 
 b.  The structure is set back not less than required by the 
Morgan County Zoning Ordinance for such structures, but not less 
than 10 feet from property lines and other structures. 
 c.  The structure does not exceed 1000 square feet of floor area, 
and is limited to 20 feet in height.  Height is measured from the 
average grade to the highest point of the structure. 
 d.  Before construction, a Land Use Permit must be applied for, 
and approved, by the Morgan County Planning and Zoning 
Department. 
 Electrical, plumbing, and mechanical permits shall be required 
when that work is included in the structure. 
 (4)  City of North Salt Lake: 
 Sections R328.1 and R328.2 are added as follows: 
 R328.1 When Required. An automatic sprinkler system shall be 
installed throughout every dwelling when the following condition is 
present: 
 1.  The structure is over 6,200 square feet. 
 R328.2 Installation requirements and standards. Such sprinkler 
system shall be installed in basements, but need not be installed in 
garages, under eves, or in enclosed attic spaces, unless required by 
the fire chief.  Such system shall be installed in accordance with 
NFPA 13-D. 
 (5)  Park City Corporation and Park City Fire District: 
 Section R905.7 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R905.7  Wood shingles. The installation of wood shingles shall 
comply with the provisions of this section. 

 Wood roof covering is prohibited in areas with a combined 
rating of more than 11 using the following tables with a score of 9 
for weather factors. 
 

TABLE 
WILDFIRE HAZARD SEVERITY SCALE 

 
     RATING              SLOPE               VEGETATION 
       1         less than or equal to 10%  Pinion-juniper 
       2         10.1 - 20%                 Grass-sagebrush 
       3         greater than 20%    Mountain brush or softwoods 
 
PROHIBITION/EXEMPTION TABLE 
     RATING                       WOOD ROOF PROHIBITION 
     less than or equal to 11     wood roofs are allowed 
     greater than or equal to 12  wood roofs are prohibited 

 
 Section R905.8 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R905.8  Wood Shakes.  The installation of wood shakes shall 
comply with the provisions of this section.  Wood roof covering is 
prohibited in areas with a combined rating of more than 11 using the 
following tables with a score of 9 for weather factors. 
 

TABLE 
WILDFIRE HAZARD SEVERITY SCALE 

 
     RATING              SLOPE               VEGETATION 
       1         less than or equal to 10%  Pinion-juniper 
       2         10.1 - 20%                 Grass-sagebrush 
       3         greater than 20%    Mountain brush or softwoods 
 
PROHIBITION/EXEMPTION TABLE 
 
     RATING                       WOOD ROOF PROHIBITION 
     less than or equal to 11     wood roofs are allowed 
     greater than or equal to 12  wood roofs are prohibited 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and Uniform Building Code Commission are proposing 
changes regarding the flashing requirements to prevent 
moisture from entering structures.  Due to the potential 
controversy regarding these changes, this rule change is 
being made as a separate filing so as not to affect the larger 
main proposed rule filing. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Under Section R156-56-
704 which is the Statewide Amendments to the IBC:  added 
amendments affecting Section 109 and Section 1405.3.  
Under Section R156-56-711 which is the Statewide 
Amendments to the IRC:  added amendments affecting 
Section 109 and Section R703.8.  The proposed amendments 
impose additional requirements to flashings to prevent 
moisture from entering structures.  Proponents of this 
requirement state the failure to moist proof may result in costly 
deterioration to structures including black mold.  Proponents 
claim if damage occurs cost to repair could be up to $100,000. 
 NOTE: Paragraph numbering will be corrected via a 
nonsubstantive rule filing once the Division and Uniform 
Building Code Commission have determined which rule 
amendment filings should be made effective as there are four 
rule filings all affecting the same rule.  (DAR NOTE:  The four 
filings affecting Rule R156-56 are:  an amendment to Section 
R156-56-704 under DAR No. 26151; an amendment to 
Section R156-56-707 under DAR No. 26152; an amendment 
to Rule R156-56 under DAR No. 26153; and an amendment 
to Rule R156-56 under DAR No. 26154 all in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-56-1, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a), 58-1-
202(1)(a), 58-56-4(2) and 58-56-6(2)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no cost to the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing to print this rule once 
all proposed amendments are made effective as this rule is no 
longer printed by the Division, but the rule is available on the 
Division's website.  The Division is unable to determine if 
these proposed amendments will affect the state budget.  The 
proposed changes would primarily affect homeowners, but the 
changes may also apply to other buildings which may be built 
with state funds. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The Division is unable to determine if 
these proposed amendments will affect local government 
budgets.  The proposed changes would primarily affect 
homeowners, but the changes may also apply to other 
buildings which may be built with local government funds.  
The cost to administer additional inspections that may be 
required could be up to $50 per home.  This cost may or may 
not be passed on to the homeowner by the local jurisdiction. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  To homeowners:  the cost of additional 
flashing could be up to an additional $1,000 on a home.  
However, this cost to the homeowner may be offset by 
savings of repairing damages which proponents of the 
 
 
 
 

proposed amendment claim could be up to $100,000.  To 
other building owners:  the Division is unable to determine if 
these proposed amendments will affect other building owners. 
 The proposed changes would primarily affect homeowners, 
but the changes may also apply to other buildings.  The 
aggregate costs or savings of the proposed amendments are 
impossible to determine except on a project-by-project basis. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  To homeowners:  
the cost of additional flashing could be up to an additional 
$1,000 on a home.  However, this cost to the homeowner may 
be offset by savings of repairing damages which proponents 
of the proposed amendment claim could be up to $100,000.  
To other building owners:  the Division is unable to determine 
if these proposed amendments will affect other building 
owners.  The proposed changes would primarily affect 
homeowners, but the changes may also apply to other 
buildings. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The purpose of this rule filing is 
to amend the International Building Code (IBC) and the 
International Residential Code (IRC) by adding a requirement 
for inspections of flashing and weatherproofing that would 
prevent moisture from entering structures.  This amendment 
could create a business fiscal impact of $1,000 per home or 
structure and would thereby be a negative fiscal impact to the 
construction industry and to buyers of homes and businesses. 
 However, these costs might be outweighed by the damages 
incurred and the cost of repairs if moisture enters structures 
through lack of proper weatherproofing, which could amount 
to $100,000 per structure.  Ted Boyer, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dan S. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6720, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dsjones@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  5/15/2003 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building, Room 
4112, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
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R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-56.  Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules. 
R156-56-704.  Statewide Amendments to the IBC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IBC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  All references to the International Electrical Code are 
deleted and replaced with the National Electrical Code adopted 
under Subsection R156-56-701(1)(b). 
 (2)  Section 101.4.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 101.4.1 Electrical.  The provisions of the National Electrical 
Code (NEC) shall apply to the installation of electrical systems, 
including alterations, repairs, replacement, equipment, appliances, 
fixtures, fittings and appurtenances thereto. 
 (3)  In Section 109, a new section is added as follows: 
 109.3.5 Weather-resistive barrier and flashing.  After all 
framing, firestopping, draftstopping, and bracing are in place; and 
after the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough inspections are 
approved; and before brick veneer, masonry, lath, or stucco is 
installed on the exterior of a structure, an inspection shall be made of 
the weather-resistive barrier as required by Section 1403.2 and 
flashing as required by Section 1405.3 to prevent water from 
entering the weather-resistant exterior wall envelope. 
 The remaining sections will be renumbered as follows: 
 109.3.6 Lath or gypsum board inspection 
 109.3.7 Fire-resistant penetrations 
 109.3.8 Energy efficiency inspections 
 109.3.9 Other inspections 
 109.3.10 Special inspections 
 109.3.11 Final inspection. 
 (3)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.  See Section 308.1.1. 
 (4)  Section 302.3.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 302.3.3 Separated uses.  Each portion of the building shall be 
individually classified as to use and shall be considered separated 
from other occupancies when completely separated from adjacent 
areas by fire barrier walls or horizontal assemblies or both having a 
fire-resistance rating determined in accordance with this sections. 
 302.3.3.1 All occupancies. Each fire area shall be separated 
from other occupancies in other fire areas in accordance with Table 
302.3.3 based on the occupancy in the fire areas, and shall comply 
with the height limitations based on the use of that space and the 
type of construction classification.  In each story the building area 
shall be such that the sum or the ratios of the floor area of each use 
divided by the allowable area for each use shall not exceed 1. 
 Exceptions for R-3 and U Groups: 
 1.  The private garage shall be separated from the residence and 
its attic area by means of materials approved for one-hour fire 
resistive construction applied to the garage side.  Door openings 
between the garage and the residence shall be equipped with either 
solid wood doors not less than 1 3/8 inches (35 mm) thick or doors 
in compliance with Section 714.2.3.  Openings from a private garage 
directly into a room used for sleeping purposes shall not be 
permitted. 
 2.  Ducts in the private garage and ducts penetrating the walls 
or ceilings separating the dwelling from the garage shall be 
constructed of a minimum No. 26 gage (.48 mm) sheet steel and 
shall have no openings into the garage. 
 3.  A separation is not required between a Group R-3 and 
Group U carport provided the carport is entirely open on two or 
more sides and there are not enclosed spaces above. 

 Where the building is equipped throughout with an automatic 
sprinkler system, the fire resistance ratings in Table 302.3.3 shall be 
reduced by one hour but not to less than one hour and to not less 
than that required for floor construction according to the type of 
construction.  The one hour reduction shall not apply to fire area 
separations when H-1, H-2, H-3, or I-2 occupancies are included in 
the areas being separated. 
 Table 302.3.3 is deleted and replaced with: 
 Table 302.3.3, entitled "Required Separation of Occupancies", 
dated January 1, 2002, published by the Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference.  Table 302.3.3 identifies 
what type of separation of occupancies requirements are mandated 
in various types of property use classifications. 
 (5) A new Section 302.4 is added as follows: 
 302.4 Spaces used for different purposes.  A room or space that 
is intended to be occupied at different times for different purposes 
shall comply with all requirements that are applicable to each of the 
purposes for which the room or space will be occupied. 
 (6)  Section 305.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 305.2 Day care.  The building or structure, or portion thereof, 
for educational, supervision, child day care centers, or personal care 
services of more than four children shall be classified as a Group E 
occupancy.  See Section 419 for special requirements for Group E 
child day care centers. 
 Exception: Areas used for child day care purposes with a 
Residential Certificate, Family License or Family Group License 
may be located in a Group R-2 or R-3 occupancy as provided in 
Section 310.1 and as applicable in Section 101.2. 
 Child day care centers providing care for more than 100 
children 2 1/2 years or less of age shall be classified as Group I-4. 
 (7)  In Section 308 the following definitions are added: 
 308.1.1 Definitions.  The following words and terms shall, for 
the purposes of this section and as used elsewhere in this code, have 
the meanings shown herein. 
 TYPE 1 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.  A residential facility 
that provides a protected living arrangement for ambulatory, non-
restrained persons who are capable of achieving mobility sufficient 
to exit the facility without the assistance of another person. 
 TYPE 2 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.   A residential 
facility that provides an array of coordinated supportive personal and 
health care services to residents who meet the definition of semi-
independent. 
 SEMI-INDEPENDENT.  A person who is: 
 A.  Physically disabled but able to direct his or her own care; or 
 B.  Cognitively impaired or physically disabled but able to 
evacuate from the facility with the physical assistance of one person. 
 (8)  Section 308.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.2 Group I-1.  This occupancy shall include a building or 
part thereof housing more than 16 persons, on a 24-hour basis, who 
because of age, mental disability or other reasons, live in a 
supervised residential environment that provides personal care 
services.  The occupants are capable of responding to an emergency 
situation without physical assistance from staff.  This group shall 
include, but not be limited to, the following: residential board and 
care facilities, type 1 assisted living facilities, half-way houses, 
group homes, congregate care facilities, social rehabilitation 
facilities, alcohol and drug centers and convalescent facilities.  A 
facility such as the above with five or fewer persons shall be 
classified as a Group R-3.  A facility such as above, housing at least 
six and not more than 16 persons, shall be classified as a Group R-4. 
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 (9)  Section 308.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.3 Group I-2.  This occupancy shall include buildings and 
structures used for medical, surgical, psychiatric, nursing or 
custodial care on a 24-hour basis of more than three persons who are 
not capable of self-preservation.  This group shall include, but not be 
limited to the following: hospitals, nursing homes (both intermediate 
care facilities and skilled nursing facilities), mental hospitals, 
detoxification facilities, ambulatory surgical centers with two or 
more operating rooms where care is less than 24 hours and type 2 
assisted living facilities.  Type 2 assisted living facilities with five or 
fewer persons shall be classified as a Group R-4.  Type 2 assisted 
living facilities as defined in 308.1.1 with at least six and not more 
than sixteen residents shall be classified as a Group I-1 facility. 
 (10)  Section 308.3.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 308.3.1 Child care facility.  A child care facility that provides 
care on a 24 hour basis to more than four children 2 1/2 years of age 
or less shall be classified as Group I-2. 
 (11)  Section 308.5 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.5  Group I-4, day care facilities.  This group shall include 
buildings and structures occupied by persons of any age who receive 
custodial care less than 24 hours by individuals other than parents or 
guardians, relatives by blood, marriage, or adoption, and in a place 
other than the home of the person cared for.  A facility such as the 
above with four or fewer persons shall be classified as an R-3.  
Places of worship during religious functions and Group E child day 
care centers are not included. 
 (12)  Section 308.5.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 308.5.2 Child care facility.  A facility that provides supervision 
and personal care on less than a 24 hour basis for more than 100 
children 2 1/2 years of age or less shall be classified as Group I-4. 
 (13)  Section 310.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 310.1 Residential Group "R". Residential Group R includes, 
among others, the use of a building or structure, or a portion thereof, 
for sleeping purposes when not classed as an Institutional Group I.  
Residential occupancies shall include the following: 
 R-1  Residential occupancies where the occupants are primarily 
transient in nature (less than 30 days) including: Boarding Houses 
(transient), Hotels (transient), and Motels (transient). 
 R-2  Residential occupancies containing sleeping units or more 
than two dwelling units where the occupants are primarily 
permanent in nature, including: Apartment Houses, Boarding houses 
(not transient), Convents, Dormitories, Fraternities and Sororities, 
Monasteries, Vacation timeshare properties, Hotels (non transient), 
and Motels (non transient). 
 R-3  Residential occupancies where the occupants are primarily 
permanent in nature and not classified as R-1, R-2, R-4 or I and 
where buildings do not contain more than two dwelling units, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, or adult and child care facilities that 
provide accommodations for five or fewer persons of any age for 
less than 24 hours. Adult and child care facilities that are within a 
single family home are permitted to comply with the International 
Residential Code in accordance with Section 101.2.  Areas used for 
day care purposes may be located in a Residential Group, R-3 
occupancy provided the building substantially complies with the 
requirements for a dwelling unit and under all of the following 
conditions: 
 1. Compliance with the Utah Administrative Code, R710-8, 
Day Care Rules, as enacted under the authority of the Utah Fire 
Prevention Board. 

 2. Use is approved by the State Department of Health, as 
enacted under the authority of the Utah Child Care Licensing Act, 
UCA, Sections 26-39-101 through 26-39-110, and in any of the 
following categories: 
 a. Utah Administrative Code, R430-50, Residential Certificate 
Child Care Standards. 
 b. Utah Administrative Code, R430-90, Licensed Family Child 
Care. 
 3. Compliance with all zoning regulations of the local regulator. 
 R-4  Residential occupancies shall include buildings arranged 
for occupancy as Residential Care/Assisted Living Facilities 
including more than five but not more than 16 occupants, excluding 
staff. 
 Group R-4 occupancies shall meet the requirements for 
construction as defined for Group R-3 except as otherwise provided 
for in this code or shall comply with the International Residential 
Code in accordance with Section 101.2. 
 (14)  A new section 310.4 is added as follows: 
 310.4  Floor-level exit signs.  Where exit signs are required by 
section 1003.2.10.1, additional approved exit signs that are 
internally or externally illuminated, photoluminescent or self-
luminous, shall be provided in all corridors serving guest rooms of 
R-1 occupancies.  The bottom of such signs shall not be less than 6 
inches (152 mm) nor more than 8 inches (203 mm) above the floor 
level and shall indicate the path of exit travel.  For exit and exit 
access doors, the sign shall be on the door or adjacent to the door 
with the closest edge of the sign with 8 inches (203 mm) of the door 
frame. 
 (15)  In section 403.10.1.1 the exception is deleted. 
 (16)  A new Section 403.9.1 is added as follows: 
 403.9.1 Elevator lobby.  Elevators on all floors shall open into 
elevator lobbies that are separated from the remainder of the 
building, including corridors and other means of egress by smoke 
partitions complying with Section 710.  Elevator lobbies shall have 
at least one means of egress complying with Chapter 10 and other 
provisions within the code.  Elevator lobbies separated from a fire 
resistance rated corridor shall have walls of not less than one-hour 
fire resistance rating and openings shall conform to Section 714. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Separations are not required from a street floor elevator 
lobby. 
 2.  In atria complying with the provisions of Section 404 
elevator lobbies are not required. 
 (17)  A new section 419 is added as follows: 
 Section 419 Group E Child Day Care Centers. Group E child 
day care centers shall comply with Section 419. 
 419.1 Location at grade. Group E child day care centers shall 
be located at the level of exit discharge. 
 Exception: Child day care spaces for children over the age of 
24 months may be located on the second floor of buildings equipped 
with automatic fire protection throughout and an automatic fire 
alarm system. 
 419.2 Egress. All Group E child day care spaces with an 
occupant load of 10 or more shall have a second means of egress.  If 
the second means of egress is not an exit door leading directly to the 
exterior, the room shall have an emergency escape and rescue 
window complying with Section 1009. 
 (18)  Section 706.3.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 706.3.5 Separation of mixed occupancies. Where the provisions 
of Section 302.3.3 are applicable, the fire barrier separating mixed 
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occupancies shall have a fire-resistance rating of not less than that 
indicated in Section 302.3.3 based on the occupancies being 
separated. 
 (19)  A new Section 706.3.6 is added as follows: 
 706.3.6. Single occupancy fire areas. The fire barrier separating 
a single occupancy into different fire areas shall have a fire 
resistance rating of not less than that indicated in Table 706.3.6. 
 

TABLE 706.3.6 
FIRE-RESISTANCE RATING REQUIREMENTS 
FOR FIRE BARRIER ASSEMBLIES BETWEEN 

FIRE AREAS 
 
OCCUPANCY GROUP           FIRE-RESISTANCE RATING (IN HOURS) 
H-1, H-2                          4 
F-1, H-3, S-1                     3 
A, B, E, F-2, H-4, H-5, I 
  M, R, S-2                       2 
U                                 1 

 
 (20)  In Section 707.14.1 Exception 4 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 4.  See Section 403.9.1 for high rise buildings. 
 (21)  Section 710.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
710.3 Fire-resistance rating.  The fire-resistance rating of floor and 
roof assemblies shall not be less than that required by the building 
type of construction. Where the floor assembly separates mixed 
occupancies, the assembly shall have a fire-resistance rating of not 
less than that required in Section 302.3.3 based on the occupancies 
being separated. Where the floor assembly separates a single 
occupancy into different fire areas, the assembly shall have a fire-
resistance rating of not less than that required by Section 706.3.6.  
Floor assemblies separating dwelling units or guestrooms shall be a 
minimum of 1-hour fire-resistance-rated construction. 
 Exception: Dwelling unit and guestroom separations in 
buildings of Type IIB, IIIB and VB construction shall have fire-
resistance ratings of not less than 1/2 hour in buildings equipped 
throughout with an automatic sprinkler system in accordance with 
Section 903.3.1.1. 
 (22)  In Section 902, the definition for record drawings is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 RECORD DRAWINGS.  Drawings ("as builts") that document 
all aspects of a fire protection system as installed. 
 (23)  Section 903.2.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 903.2.5 Group I. An automatic sprinkler system shall be 
provided throughout buildings with Group I fire areas.  Listed quick 
response or residential sprinkler heads shall be installed in patient or 
resident sleeping areas. 
 (24)  Section 903.2.9 Group R-4 is deleted and replaced with 
the following: 
 An automatic sprinkler system shall be provided throughout all 
buildings with Group R-4 fire areas that contain more than eight 
occupants. 
 Exception: 
 1.  An automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with 
Section 903.3.1.2 or Section 903.3.1.3. shall be allowed in Group R-
4 facilities. 
 2.  Buildings not more than 4,500 gross square feet and not 
containing more than 16 residents, provided the building is equipped 
throughout with an approved fire alarm system that is interconnected 
and receives its primary power from the building wiring and a 
commercial power system. 

 (25)  Section 905.5.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 905.5.3 Class II system 1-inch hose. A minimum 1-inch (25.4 
mm) hose shall be permitted to be used for hose stations in light-
hazard occupancies where investigated and listed for this service and 
where approved by the code official. 
 (26)  In Section 1002, the definition for exit discharge is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 EXIT DISCHARGE.  That portion of a means of egress system 
between the termination of an exit and a public way or safe dispersal 
area. 
 (27)  In Section 1003.2.12.1 the exception is deleted and 
replaced with the following: 
 Exceptions: 
 1. For occupancies in Group R-3 and within individual 
dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in Section 
101.2, guards whose top rail serves as a handrail shall have a height 
not less than 34 inches (864 mm)and not more than 38 inches (965 
mm) measured vertically from the leading edge of the stair tread 
nosing. 
 2. For occupancies in Group R-3 and within individual 
dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in section 
101.2, guards shall form a protective barrier not less than 36 inches 
(914 mm). 
 (28)  Section 1003.2.12.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1003.2.12.2 Opening limitations.  Open guards shall have 
balusters or ornamental patterns such that a 4-inch-diameter (102 
mm) sphere cannot pass through any opening up to a height of 34 
inches (864 mm).  From a height of 34 inches (864 mm) to 42 inches 
(1067 mm) above the adjacent walking surface, a sphere 8 inches 
(203 mm) in diameter shall not pass.  For occupancies in Group R-3 
and within individual dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, required guards shall not be constructed 
with horizontal rails or other ornamental pattern that results in a 
ladder effect. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  The triangular openings formed by the riser, tread and 
bottom rail at the open side of a stairway shall be of a maximum size 
such that a sphere of 6 inches (152 mm) in diameter cannot pass 
through the opening. 
 2.  At elevated walking surfaces for access to and use of 
electrical, mechanical, or plumbing systems or equipment, guards 
shall have balusters or be of solid materials such that a sphere with a 
diameter of 21 inches (533 mm) cannot pass through any opening. 
 3.  In occupancies in Group I-3, F, H or S, balusters, horizontal 
intermediate rails or other construction shall not permit a sphere 
with a diameter of 21 inches (533 mm) to pass through any opening. 
 4.  In assembly seating areas, guards at the end of aisles where 
they terminate at a fascia of boxes, balconies, and galleries shall 
have balusters or ornamental patterns such that a 4-inch-diameter 
(102 mm) sphere cannot pass through any opening up to a height of 
26 inches (660 mm).  From a height of 26 inches (660 mm) to 42 
inches (1067 mm) above the adjacent walking surfaces, a sphere 8 
inches (203 mm) in diameter shall not pass. 
 (29)  Section 1003.3.3.3, Exception #5 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 5.  In occupancies in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, 
within dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in 
Section 101.2, and in occupancies in Group U, which are accessory 
to an occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, the 
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maximum riser height shall be 8 inches (203 mm) and the minimum 
tread depth shall be 9 inches (229 mm).  A nosing not less than 0.75 
inch (19.1 mm) but not more than 1.25 inches (32 mm) shall be 
provided on stairways with solid risers where the tread depth is less 
than 10 inches (254 mm). 
 (30)  Section 1003.3.3.11 Exemption #4 is deleted and replaced 
with the  following: 
 4.  In occupancies in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2 
and in occupancies in Group U, which are accessory to an 
occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, handrails 
shall be provided on at least one side of stairways consisting of four 
or more risers. 
 (31)  Section 1003.3.3.11.3 is amended to include the following 
exception at the end of the section: 
 Exception.  Non-circular handrails serving an individual unit in 
a Group R-1, Group R-2 or Group R-3 occupancy shall be permitted 
to have a maximum cross sectional dimension of 3.25 inches (83 
mm) measured 2 inches (51 mm) down from the top of the crown.  
Such handrail is required to have an indention on both sides between 
0.625 inch (16 mm) and 1.5 inches (38 mm) down from the top or 
crown of the cross section.  The indentation shall be a minimum of 
0.25 inch (6 mm) deep on each side and shall be at least 0.5 (13 mm) 
high.  Edges within the handgrip shall have a minimum radius of 
0.0625 inch (2 mm).  The handrail surface shall be smooth with no 
cusps so as to avoid catching clothing or skin. 
 (32)  In Section 1004.3.2.5 Exception 2 is deleted. 
 (33)  New Sections 1006.2.3, 1006.2.3.1 and 1006.2.3.2 are 
added as follows: 
 1006.2.3  Safe dispersal areas.  Where approved by the code 
official, the exit discharge is permitted to lead to a safe dispersal 
area on the same property as the structure being discharged.  The 
proximity and size of such safe dispersal area shall be based on such 
factors as the occupant load served, the mobility of occupants, the 
type of construction of the building, the fire protection systems 
installed in the building, the height of the building and the degree of 
hazard of the occupancy.  In any case, the entire safe dispersal area 
shall be located not less than 50 feet (15 420 mm) from the structure 
served. 
 1006.2.3.1  School ground fences and gates.  School grounds 
shall be permitted to be fenced and gates therein equipped with 
locks, provided safe dispersal areas are located between the school 
and fence with the entire dispersal area no less than 50 feet (15 
420mm) from school buildings. Safe dispersal area capacity shall be 
determined by providing a minimum of 3 square feet (0.28 m2) of 
net clear area per occupant. 
 1006.2.3.2  Reviewing stands, grandstands and bleachers.  Safe 
dispersal areas serving reviewing stands, grandstands and bleachers 
shall accommodate a number of persons equal to the total capacity 
of the stand or building served.  Safe dispersal area capacity shall be 
determined by providing a minimum of 3 square feet (0.28 m2) of 
net clear area per occupant. 
 (34)  Section 1109.7 of Chapter 11 in the 2001 Supplement to 
the International Building Code is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 1109.7 Lifts. Platform (wheelchair) lifts shall not be a 
part of a required accessible route in new construction. Platform 
(wheelchair) lifts shall be installed in accordance with ASME A18.1. 
 Exceptions: Platform (wheelchair) lifts are permitted for: 
 1.  An accessible route to a performing area and speaker's 
platforms in occupancies in Group A. 

 2.  An accessible route to wheelchair spaces required to comply 
with the wheelchair space dispersion and line-of-sight requirements 
of Section 1108.2.2. 
 3.  An accessible route to spaces that are not open to the general 
public with an occupant load of not more than five. 
 4.  An accessible route within a dwelling or sleeping unit. 
 5.  An accessible route to wheelchair seating spaces located in 
outdoor dining terraces in A-5 occupancies where the means of 
egress from the dining terrace to a public way is open to the 
outdoors. 
 6.  An accessible route to raised judges' benches, clerks' 
stations, jury boxes, witness stands and other raised or depressed 
areas in a court. 
 7.  An accessible route where existing exterior site constraints 
make use of a ramp or elevator infeasible. 
 8.  Wheelchair access where an accessible route is not required 
per the exceptions to Section 1104.4 and/or Section 1107.4. 
 All platform (wheelchair) lifts shall be capable of independent 
operation without a key. 
 Standby power shall be provided for platform lifts permitted to 
serve as part of the accessible means of egress. 
 (35)  Section 1207.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1207.2 Minimum ceiling heights.  Occupiable spaces, habitable 
spaces and corridors shall have a ceiling height of not less than 7 
feet 6 inches (2286 mm). Rooms in one- and two-family dwellings, 
bathrooms, toilet rooms, kitchens, storage rooms and laundry rooms 
shall be permitted to have a ceiling height of not less than 7 feet 
(2134 mm). 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  In one- and two-family dwellings, beams or girders spaced 
not more than 4 feet (1219 mm) on center or projecting not more 
than 6 inches (152 mm) below the required ceiling height. 
 2.  Basement rooms without habitable spaces in one- and two-
family dwellings having a ceiling height of not less than 6 feet 8 
inches (2033mm) with not less than 6 feet 4 inches (1932 mm) of 
clear height under beams, girders, ducts and similar obstructions. 
 3.  If any room in a building has a sloping ceiling, the 
prescribed ceiling height for the room is required in one-half the area 
thereof.  Any portion of the room measuring less than 5 feet (1524 
mm) from the finished floor to the finished ceiling shall not be 
included in any computation of the minimum area thereof. 
 4.  Mezzanines constructed in accordance with Section 505.1. 
 (36)  Section 1207.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1207.3 Room area.  Every dwelling unit shall have at least one 
room that shall have not less than 120 square feet (11.2 m2) of net 
floor area.  Other habitable rooms shall have a net floor area of not 
less than 70 square feet (6.5 m2). 
 Exception:  Every kitchen in a one- and two-family dwelling 
shall have not less than 50 square feet 4.64 m2) of gross floor area. 
 (37)  Section 1207.4 subparagraph 1 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 1.  The unit shall have a living room of not less than 165 square 
feet (15.3 m) of floor area.  An additional 100 square feet (9.3 m) of 
floor area shall be provided for each occupant of such unit in excess 
of two. 
 (38)  Section 1405.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1405.3 Flashing.  Flashing shall be installed in such a manner 
as to prevent moisture from entering the top and sides of exterior 
window and door openings.  Flashing shall be installed in such a 
manner as to prevent moisture from entering at the intersection of 
chimneys or other masonry construction with frame or stucco walls, 
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with projecting flanges on both sides under stucco copings; under 
and at the ends of masonry, wood or metal copings and sills, 
continuously above projecting wood trim; at the intersection of 
exterior walls and porches and decks; at wall and roof intersections 
with the step-flashing methods; at built-in gutters; and at the 
intersection of foundation to stucco, masonry, siding, or brick veneer 
with an approved corrosive-resistance flashing with a 1/2" drip leg 
extending past exterior side of the foundation. 
 (38)  Section 1604.5, footnote "c" is added to Table 1604.5 
Classification of Buildings and Other Structures for Importance 
Factors: 
 c.  For determining "W" per sections 1616.4.1, 1617.4.1, 
1617.5.1, or 1618.4, the Snow Factor I, may be taken as 1.0. 
 (39)  In Section 1605.2.1, the formula shown as "f2 = 0.2 for 
other roof configurations" is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 f2 = 0.20 + .025(A-5) for other configurations where roof snow 
load exceeds 30 psf 
 f2 = 0 for roof snow loads of 30 psf (1.44kN/m2) or less. 
 Where A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the 
structure (ft/1000). 
 (40)  In Section 1605.3.1 and section 1605.3.2, Exception 
number 2 in each section is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Flat roof snow loads of 30 pounds per square foot (1.44 kNm2) 
or less need not be combined with seismic loads.  Where flat roofs 
exceed 30 pounds per square foot (1.44 kNm2), the snow loads may 
be reduced in accordance with the following in load combinations 
including both snow and seismic loads. 
 Ws = (0.20 + 0.025(A-5))Pf 
 Where 
 Ws = Weight of snow to be included, psf 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the structure 
(ft/1000) 
 Pf = Design roof snow load, psf 
 (41)  In Table 1607.1 number 27 is deleted and replaced with 
the following: 
 

TABLE 1607.1 NUMBER 27 
 
Occupancy or Use                     Uniform    Concentrated 
                                      (psf)          (lbs) 
27. Residential 
Group R-3 as applicable in Section 101.2              - 
 Uninhabitable attics without storage   10i 

 Uninhabitable attics with storage      20 
 Habitable attics and sleeping areas    30 
 All other areas except balconies 
  and decks                             40 
Hotels and multifamily dwellings 
 Private rooms                          40 
 Public rooms and corridors serving them 100 

 
 (42)  In Notes to Table 1607.1, Note i is added as follows: 
 i.  This live load need not be considered as acting 
simultaneously with other live loads imposed upon the ceiling 
framing or its supporting structure. 
 (43)  Section 1608.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Except as modified in section 1608.1.1, design snow loads shall 
be determined in accordance with Section 7 of ASCE 7, but the 
design roof load shall not be less than that determined by Section 
1607. 
 (44)  Section 7.4.5 of Section 7 of ASCE 7 referred to in 
Section 1608.1 of the IBC is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 

 Section 7.4.5 Ice Dams and Icicles Along Eaves. Where ground 
snow loads exceed 75 psf, eaves shall be capable of sustaining a 
uniformly distributed load of 2pf on all overhanging portions. No 
other loads except dead loads shall be present on the roof when this 
uniformly distributed load is applied. All building exits under down-
slope eaves shall be protected from sliding snow and ice. 
 (45)  Section 1608.1.1 is added as follows: 
 1608.1.1  Utah Snow Loads.  The ground snow load, Pg, to be 
used in the determination of design snow loads for buildings and 
other structures shall be determined by using the following formula: 
 Pg = (Po

2 + S2(A-Ao)2)0.5 for A greater than Ao, and Pg = Po for A 
less than or equal to Ao. 
 WHERE 
 Pg = Ground snow load at a given elevation (psf) 
 Po = Base ground snow load (psf) from Table No. 1608.1.1(a) 
 S = Change in ground snow load with elevation (psf/100 ft.) 
From Table No. 1608.1.1(a) 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the site (ft./1000) 
 Ao = Base ground snow elevation from Table 1608.1.1(a) 
(ft./1000) 
 The building official may round the roof snow load to the 
nearest 5 psf.  The ground snow load, Pg, may be adjusted by the 
building official when a licensed engineer or architect submits data 
substantiating the adjustments.  A record of such action together 
with the substantiating data shall be provided to the division for a 
permanent record. 
 The building official may also directly adopt roof snow loads in 
accordance with Table 1608.1.1(b), provided the site is no more than 
100 ft. higher than the listed elevation. 
 Where the minimum roof live load in accordance with section 
1607.11 is greater than the design roof snow load, such roof live 
load shall be used for design, however, it shall not be reduced to a 
load lower than the design roof snow load.  Drifting need not be 
considered for roof snow loads less than 20 psf. 
 (46)  Table 1608.1.1(a) and Table 1608.1.1(b) are added as 
follows: 
 

TABLE NO. 1608.1.1(a) 
STATE OF UTAH - REGIONAL SNOW LOAD FACTORS 

 
     COUNTY       Po     S     Ao 
 
     Beaver       43     63     6.2 
     Box Elder    43     63     5.2 
     Cache        50     63     4.5 
     Carbon       43     63     5.2 
     Daggett      43     63     6.5 
     Davis        43     63     4.5 
     Duchesne     43     63     6.5 
     Emery        43     63     6.0 
     Garfield     43     63     6.0 
     Grand        36     63     6.5 
     Iron         43     63     5.8 
     Juab         43     63     5.2 
     Kane         36     63     5.7 
     Millard      43     63     5.3 
     Morgan       57     63     4.5 
     Piute        43     63     6.2 
     Rich         57     63     4.1 
     Salt Lake    43     63     4.5 
     San Juan     43     63     6.5 
     Sanpete      43     63     5.2 
     Sevier       43     63     6.0 
     Summit       86     63     5.0 
     Tooele       43     63     4.5 
     Uintah       43     63     7.0 
     Utah         43     63     4.5 
     Wasatch      86     63     5.0 
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     Washington   29     63     6.0 
     Wayne        36     63     6.5 
     Weber        43     63     4.5 

 

 
TABLE NO. 1608.1.1(b) 

RECOMMENDED SNOW LOADS FOR SELECTED UTAH CITIES AND TOWNS 
 
                                  Roof Snow      Ground Snow 
                                  Load (PSF)     Load (PSF) 
 
     Beaver County 
        Beaver          5920 ft.     43              62 
     Box Elder County 
        Brigham City    4300 ft.     30              43 
        Tremonton       4290 ft.     30              43 
     Cache County 
        Logan           4530 ft.     35              50 
        Smithfield      4595 ft.     35              50 
     Carbon County 
        Price           5550 ft.     30              43 
     Daggett County 
        Manila          5377 ft.     30              43 
     Davis County 
        Bountiful       4300 ft.     30              43 
        Farmington      4270 ft.     30              43 
        Layton          4400 ft.     30              43 
        Fruit Heights   4500 ft.     40              57 
     Duchesne County 
        Duchesne       5510 ft.      30              43 
        Roosevelt      5104 ft.      30              43 
     Emery County 
        Castledale     5660 ft.      30              43 
        Green River    4070 ft.      25              36 
     Garfield County 
        Panguitch      6600 ft.      30              43 
     Grand County 
        Moab           3965 ft.      25              36 
     Iron County 
        Cedar City     5831 ft.      30              43 
     Juab County 
        Nephi          5130 ft.      30              43 
     Kane County 
        Kanab          5000 ft.      25              36 
     Millard County 
        Millard        5000 ft.      30              43 
        Delta          4623 ft.      30              43 
     Morgan County 
        Morgan         5064 ft.      40              57 
     Piute County 
        Piute          5996 ft.      30              43 
     Rich County 
        Woodruff       6315 ft.      40              57 
     Salt Lake County 
        Murray         4325 ft.      30              43 
        Salt Lake City 4300 ft.      30              43 
        Sandy          4500 ft.      30              43 
        West Jordan    4375 ft.      30              43 
        West Valley    4250 ft.      30              43 
     San Juan County 
        Blanding       6200 ft.      30              43 
        Monticello     6820 ft.      35              50 
     Sanpete County 
        Fairview       6750 ft.      35              50 
        Mt. Pleasant   5900 ft.      30              43 
        Manti          5740 ft.      30              43 
        Ephraim        5540 ft.      30              43 
        Gunnison       5145 ft.      30              43 
     Sevier County 
        Salina         5130 ft.      30              43 
        Richfield      5270 ft.      30              43 
     Summit County 
        Coalville      5600 ft.      60              86 
        Kamas          6500 ft.      70             100 
        Park City      6400 ft.      85             121 
        Summit Park    7200 ft.      90             128 
 

     Tooele County 
        Tooele         5100 ft.      30              43 
     Uintah County 
        Vernal         5280 ft.      30              43 
     Utah County 
        American Fork  4500 ft.      30              43 
        Orem           4650 ft.      30              43 
        Pleasant Grove 5000 ft.      30              43 
        Provo          5000 ft.      30              43 
       Spanish Fork   4720 ft.       30              43 
     Wasatch County 
       Heber          5630 ft.       60              86 
     Washington County 
       Central        5209 ft.       25              36 
       Dameron        4550 ft.       25              36 
       Leeds          3460 ft.       20              29 
       Rockville      3700 ft.       25              36 
       Santa Clara    2850 ft.       15 (1)          21 
       St. George     2750 ft.       15 (1)          21 
     Wayne County 
       Loa            7080 ft.       30              43 
       Hanksville     4308 ft.       25              36 
     Weber County 
       North Ogden    4500 ft.       40              57 
       Ogden          4350 ft.       30              43 
 
NOTES 
    (1) The IBC requires a minimum live load - See 1607.11.2. 

 
 (47)  Section 1608.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1608.2  Ground Snow Loads.  The ground snow loads to be 
used in determining the design snow loads for roofs in states other 
than Utah are given in Figure 1608.2 for the contiguous United 
States and Table 1608.2 for Alaska.  Site-specific case studies shall 
be made in areas designated CS in figure 1608.2.  Ground snow 
loads for sites at elevations above the limits indicated in Figure 
1608.2 and for all sites within the CS areas shall be approved.  
Ground snow load determination for such sites shall be based on an 
extreme value statistical analysis of data available in the vicinity of 
the site using a value with a 2-percent annual probability of being 
exceeded (50-year mean recurrence interval).  Snow loads are zero 
for Hawaii, except in mountainous regions as approved by the 
building official. 
 (48)  Section 1614.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1614.2  Change in Occupancy.  When a change of occupancy 
results in a structure being reclassified to a higher Seismic Use 
Group, or when such change of occupancy results in a design 
occupant load increase of 100% or more, the structure shall conform 
to the seismic requirements for a new structure. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  This is not required if the design occupant load increase is 
less than 25 persons and the Seismic Use Group does not change. 
 2.  Specific detailing provisions required for a new structure are 
not required to be met where it can be shown an equivalent level of 
performance and seismic safety contemplated for a new structure is 
obtained.  Such analysis shall consider the regularity, overstrength, 
redundancy and ductility of the structure within the context of the 
specific detailing provided.  Alternatively, the building official may 
allow the structure to be upgraded in accordance with the latest 
edition of the "Guidelines for Seismic Rehabilitation of Existing 
Buildings" or another nationally recognized standard for retrofit of 
existing buildings. 
 (49)  In Section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads of 30 psf or less need not be included.  
Where the roof snow load exceeds 30 psf, the snow load shall be 
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included, but may be adjusted in accordance with the following 
formula:  Ws = (0.20 + 0.025(A-5))Pf 
 WHERE: 
 Ws = Weight of snow to be included in seismic calculation; 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the structure 
(ft/1000) 
 Pf = Design roof snow load, psf 
 For the purposes of this section, snow load shall be assumed 
uniform on the roof footprint without including the effects of drift or 
sliding. 
 (50)  In Section 1617.2.2, the fourth definition of rmaxi is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 =For shear walls, rmaxi shall be taken as the maximum value of 
the product of the shear in the wall or wall pier and 10/1w (3.3/1wfor 
SI), divided by the story shear, where lw is the length of the wall or 
wall pier in feet (m).  The ratio 10/1w need not be taken greater than 
1.0 for buildings of light frame construction. 
 (51)  In Section 1617.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (52)  In Section 1617.5.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (53)  In Section 1618.4, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted and 
replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (54)  Section 1805.5 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1805.5  Foundation walls.  Concrete and masonry foundation 
walls shall be designed in accordance with Chapter 19 or 21.  
Foundation walls that are laterally supported at the top and bottom 
and within the parameters of Tables 1805.5(1) through 1805.5(4) are 
permitted to be designed and constructed in accordance with 
Sections 1805.5.1 through 1805.5.4 and 1805.5.8 through 
1805.5.8.2.  Concrete foundation walls may also be constructed in 
accordance with Section 1805.5.9. 
 (55)  New Sections 1805.5.8, 1805.5.8.1 1805.5.8.2 and 
1805.5.9 are added as follows: 
 1805.5.8  Seismic requirements.  Tables 1805.5(1) through 
1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following limitations based on the 
seismic design category assigned to the structure as defined in 
Section 1616. 
 1805.5.8.1  Seismic requirements for concrete foundation walls. 
 Concrete foundation walls constructed using Tables 1805.5(1) 
through 1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following: 
 1.  Seismic Design Category A and B.  Provide two No. 5 bars 
around window and door openings.  Such bars shall extend at least 
24 inches (610 mm) beyond the corners of the openings. 
 2.  Seismic Design Category C.  Tables shall not be used except 
as permitted for plain concrete members in Section 1910.4. 
 3.  Seismic Design Categories D, E and F.  Tables shall not be 
used except as allowed for plain concrete members in ACI 318, 
Section 22.10. 
 1805.5.8.2  Seismic requirements for masonry foundation 
walls.  Masonry foundation walls constructed using Tables 
1805.5(1) through 1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following: 
 1.  Seismic Design Category A and B.  No additional seismic 
requirements. 

 2.  Seismic Design Category C.  The requirements of Section 
2106.4 shall apply. 
 3.  Seismic Design Category D.  The requirements of Section 
2106.5 shall apply. 
 4.  Seismic Design Categories E and F.  The requirements of 
Section 2106.6 shall apply. 
 1805.5.9  Empirical foundation design.  Group R, Division 3 
Occupancies three stories or less in height, and Group U 
Occupancies, which are constructed in accordance with Section 
2308, or with other methods employing repetitive wood-frame 
construction or repetitive cold-formed steel structural member 
construction, shall be permitted to have concrete foundations 
constructed in accordance with Table 1805.5.9. 
 (56)  Table 1805.5.9 is added as follows: 
 Table 1805.5.9, entitled "Empirical Foundation Walls, dated 
September 1, 2002, published by the Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference. Table 1805.5.9 identifies 
foundation requirements for empirical walls. 
 (57)  Table 2305.3.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 

TABLE 2305.3.3 
MAXIMUM SHEAR WALL ASPECT RATIOS 

 
                 TYPE                    MAXIMUM 
                                       HEIGHT-WIDTH 
                                          RATIO 
Wood structural panels or 
particleboard, nailed edges           For wind: 3 1/2:1 
                                      For seismic: 2:1a 
Diagonal sheathing, single                2:1 
Fiberboard                                1 1/2:1 
 
  a. For design to resist seismic forces, shear wall 
aspect ratios greater than 2:1, but not exceeding 
3 1/2:1, are permitted provided the allowable shear 
capacities in Table 2306.4.1 are multiplied by 2w/h. 

 
 (58)  A new section 2306.1.4 is added as follows: 
 2306.1.4  The allowable stress increase of 1.15 for snow load, 
shown in Table 2.3.2, Load Duration Factors, Cd, of the National 
Design Specifications, shall not be utilized at elevations above 5,000 
feet (1524 M). 
 (59)  Section 2308.6 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 2308.6 Foundation plates or sills. Foundations and footings 
shall be as specified in Chapter 18. Foundation plates or sills resting 
on concrete or masonry foundations shall comply with Section 
2304.3.1 and shall be bolted or anchored by one of the following: 
 1.  Foundation plates or sill shall be bolted or anchored to the 
foundation with not less than 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) diameter steel bolts 
or approved anchors. Bolts shall be embedded at least 7 inches (178 
mm) into concrete or masonry, and spaced not more than 6 feet 
(1829 mm) apart.  There shall be a minimum of two bolts or anchor 
straps per piece with one bolt or anchor strap located not more than 
12 inches (305 mm) or less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each end 
of each piece. 
 2.  Foundation plates or sills shall be bolted or anchored to the 
foundation with not less than 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) diameter steel bolts 
or approved anchors.  Bolts shall be embedded at least 7 inches (178 
mm) into concrete or masonry, and spaced not more than 32 inches 
(816 mm) apart.  There shall be a minimum of two bolts or anchor 
straps per piece located not less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each 
end of each piece. 
 A properly sized nut and washer shall be tightened on each bolt 
to the plate. 
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 (60)  A new section 2902.1.1 is added as follows: 
 2902.1.1  Unisex toilets and bath fixtures.  Fixtures located 
within unisex toilet and bathing rooms complying with section 2902 
are permitted to be included in determining the minimum number of 
fixtures for assembly and mercantile occupancies. 
 (61)  Section 3006.5 Shunt Trip, the following exception is 
added: 
 Exception: Hydraulic elevators and roped hydraulic elevators 
with a rise of 50 feet or less. 
 (62)  In Section 3104.2, a second exception is added as follows: 
 2.  For the purposes of calculating the number of Type B units 
required by Chapter 11, structurally connected buildings and 
buildings with multiple wings shall be considered one structure. 
 (63)  A new section 3402.5 is added as follows: 
 3402.5  Parapets and other appendages.  Building constructed 
prior to 1975 with parapet walls, cornices, spires, towers, tanks, 
signs, statuary and other appendages shall have such appendages 
evaluated by a licensed engineer to determine resistance to design 
loads specified in this code when said building is undergoing 
reroofing, or alteration of or repair to said feature. 
 EXCEPTION:  Group R-3 an U occupancies. 
 Original Plans and/or structural calculations may be utilized to 
demonstrate that the parapet or appendages are structurally adequate. 
 When found to be deficient because of design or deteriorated 
condition, the engineer shall prepare specific recommendations to 
anchor, brace, reinforce or remove the deficient feature. 
 The maximum height of an unreinforced masonry parapet 
above the level of the diaphragm tension anchors or above the 
parapet braces shall not exceed one and one-half times the thickness 
of the parapet wall.  The parapet height may be a maximum of two 
and one-half times its thickness in other than Seismic Design 
Categories D, E, or F.  If the required parapet height exceeds this 
maximum height, a bracing system designed using the coefficients 
specified in Table 1621.2 shall support the top of the parapet.  When 
positive diaphragm connections are absent, tension roof anchors 
shall be added.  Approved alternative methods of equivalent strength 
will be considered when accompanied by engineer sealed drawings, 
details and calculations. 
 (64)  Section 3408.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 3408.1  Scope:  The provision of sections 3408.2 through 
3408.5 apply to maintenance, change of occupancy, additions and 
alterations to existing buildings, including those identified as historic 
buildings. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  When maintenance, additions or alteration occur, Type B 
dwelling units required by section 1107.5.4 are not required to be 
provided in existing buildings and facilities. 
 2.  When a change of occupancy in a building or portion of a 
building results in multiple dwelling units as determined in section 
1107.5.4, not less than 20 percent of the dwelling units shall be Type 
B dwelling units.  These dwelling units may be located on any floor 
of the building provided with an accessible route.  Two percent, but 
not less than one, of the dwelling units shall be Type A dwelling 
units. 
 (65)  Referenced standards number 1557-91 under ASTM in 
chapter 35 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 

TABLE 
Standard Number      Title                     Code Section 
D1557-91 E01     Laboratory Compaction          1508.15.2 
                 Characteristics of soil          K1.1.2, 
                 using Modified Effort            K1.7.5 

 

 (66)  A new appendix K, Grading, is added as follows: 
 APPENDIX K - GRADING 
 K1.1  GENERAL 
 K1.1.1  Scope.  The provisions of this chapter apply to grading, 
excavation and earthwork construction, including fills and 
embankments.  Where conflicts occur between the technical 
requirements of this chapter and the soils report, the soils report 
shall govern. 
 K1.1.2  Standards.  The following standards of quality shall 
apply: 
 1.  ASTM D1557-91 E01, Test Method for Laboratory 
Compaction Characteristics of Soil Using Modified Effort (56,000 
ft-lb/ft). 
 K1.2  DEFINITIONS 
 K1.2.1  Definitions.  For the purposes of this appendix chapter, 
the terms, phrases and words listed in this section and their 
derivatives shall have the indicated meanings. 
 BENCH.  A relatively level step excavated into earth material 
on which fill is to be placed. 
 COMPACTION.  The densification of a fill by mechanical 
means. 
 CUT.  See Excavation. 
 DOWN DRAIN.  A device for collecting water from a swale or 
ditch located on or above a slope, and safely delivering it to an 
approved drainage facility. 
 EROSION.  The wearing away of the ground surface as a result 
of the movement of wind, water or ice. 
 EXCAVATION.  The removal of earth material by artificial 
means, also referred to as a cut. 
 FILL.  Deposition of earth materials by artificial means. 
 GRADE.  The vertical location of the ground surface. 
 GRADE, EXISTING.  The grade prior to grading. 
 GRADE, FINISHED.  The grade of the site at the conclusion of 
all grading efforts. 
 GRADING.  An excavation or fill or combination thereof. 
 KEY.  A compacted fill placed in a trench excavated in earth 
material beneath the toe of a slope. 
 SLOPE.  An inclined surface, the inclination of which is 
expressed as a ratio of horizontal distance to vertical distance. 
 TERRACE.  A relatively level step constructed in the face of a 
graded slope for drainage and maintenance purposes. 
 K1.3  PERMITS REQUIRED 
 K1.3.1  Permits required.  Except as exempted in Section 
K1.3.2, no grading shall be performed without first having obtained 
a permit therefor from the building official. A grading permit does 
not include the construction of retaining walls or other structures. 
 K1.3.2  Exemptions.  A grading permit shall not be required for 
the following: 
 1.  Grading in an isolated, self-contained area, provided there is 
no danger to the public, and that such grading will not adversely 
affect adjoining properties. 
 2.  Excavation for construction of a structure permitted under 
this code. 
 3.  Cemetery graves. 
 4.  Refuse disposal sites controlled by other regulations. 
 5.  Excavations for wells, or trenches for utilities. 
 6.  Mining, quarrying, excavating, processing or stockpiling 
rock, sand, gravel, aggregate or clay controlled by other regulations, 
provided such operations do not affect the lateral support of, or 
significantly increase stresses in, soil on adjoining properties. 
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 7.  Exploratory excavations performed under the direction of a 
registered design professional for the sole purpose of preparing a 
soils report. 
 Exemption from the permit requirements of this appendix shall 
not be deemed to grant authorization for any work to be done in any 
manner in violation of the provisions of this code or any other laws 
or ordinances of this jurisdiction.  The listed exemptions shall not 
apply to areas located in a floodway or floodplain regulated under 
Appendix G. 
 K1.4  PERMIT APPLICATION AND SUBMITTALS 
 K1.4.1  Submittal requirements.  In addition to the provisions 
of Section 105.3, the applicant shall state the estimated quantities of 
excavation and fill. 
 K1.4.2  Site plan requirements. In addition to the provisions of 
Section 106, a grading plan shall show the existing grade and 
finished grade in contour intervals of sufficient clarity to indicate the 
nature and extent of the work and show in detail that it complies 
with the requirements of this code. The plans shall show the existing 
grade on adjoining properties in sufficient detail to identify how 
grade changes will conform to the requirements of this code. 
 K1.4.3  Soils report.  A soils report prepared by registered 
design professionals shall be provided which shall identify the 
nature and distribution of existing soils; conclusions and 
recommendations for grading procedures; soil design criteria for any 
structures or embankments required to accomplish the proposed 
grading; and, where necessary, slope stability studies, and 
recommendations and conclusions regarding site geology. 
 Exception:  A soils report is not required where the building 
official determines that the nature of the work applied for is such 
that a report is not necessary. 
 K1.4.4  Liquefaction study.  For sites with mapped maximum 
considered earthquake spectral response accelerations at short period 
(Ss) greater than 0.5g as determined by Section 1615, a study of the 
liquefaction potential of the site shall be provided, and the 
recommendations incorporated in the plans. 
 Exception:  A liquefaction study is not required where the 
building official determines from established local data that the 
liquefaction potential is low. 
 K1.5  INSPECTIONS 
 K.1.5.1  General.  Inspections shall be governed by Section 109 
of this code. 
 K1.5.2  Special inspections.  The special inspection 
requirements of Section 1704.7 shall apply to work performed under 
a grading permit where required by the building official. 
 K1.6  EXCAVATIONS 
 K1.6.1  Maximum slope.  The slope of cut surfaces shall be no 
steeper than is safe for the intended use, and shall be no steeper than 
2 horizontal to 1 vertical (50%) unless the applicant furnishes a soils 
report justifying a steeper slope. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  A cut surface may be at a slope of 1.5 horizontal to 1 
vertical (67%) provided that all the following are met: 
 (a)  it is not intended to support structures or surcharges; 
 (b)  it is adequately protected against erosion; 
 (c)  it is no more than 8 feet (2438 mm) in height; and 
 (d)  it is approved by the building official. 
 2.  A cut surface in bedrock shall be permitted to be at a slope 
of 1 horizontal to 1 vertical (100%) 
 K1.7  FILLS 
 K1.7.1  General.  Unless otherwise recommended in the soils 
report, fills shall conform to provisions of this section. 

 K1.7.2  Surface preparation.  The ground surface shall be 
prepared to receive fill by removing vegetation, topsoil and other 
unsuitable materials, and scarifying the ground to provide a bond 
with the fill material. 
 K1.7.3  Benching.  Where existing grade is at a slope steeper 
than 5 horizontal to 1 vertical (20%) and the depth of the fill exceeds 
five feet (1524 mm) benching shall be provided in accordance with 
Figure K1.7.3 dated July 1, 2001, published by State and Local 
Building Codes Amendments, Department of Commerce, Division 
of Occupational and Professional Licensing, which is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference.  A key shall be provided 
which is at least 10 feet (3048 mm) in width and two feet (610 mm) 
in depth. 
 K1.7.4  Fill material.  Fill material shall not include organic, 
frozen or other deleterious materials.  No rock or similar irreducible 
material greater than 12 inches (305mm) in any dimension shall be 
included in fills. 
 K1.7.5  Compaction. All fill material shall be compacted to 
90% of maximum density as determined by ASTM D1557, 
Modified Proctor, in lifts not exceeding 12 inches (305 mm) in 
depth. 
 K1.7.6  Maximum slope.  The slope of fill surfaces shall be no 
steeper than is safe for the intended use.  Fill slopes steeper than 2 
horizontal to 1 vertical (50%) shall be justified by soils reports or 
engineering data. 
 K1.8  SETBACKS 
 K1.8.1  General.  Cut and fill slopes shall be set back from the 
property lines in accordance with this section.  Setback dimensions 
shall be measured perpendicular to the property line and shall be as 
shown in Figure K1.8.1, dated July 1, 2001, published by State and 
Local Building Codes Amendments, Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, which is 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference. unless substantiating 
data is submitted justifying reduced setbacks. 
   K1.8.2  Top of slope.  The setback at the top of a cut slope shall 
not be less than that shown in Figure K1.8.1, or than is required to 
accommodate any required interceptor drains, whichever is greater. 
 K1.8.3  Slope protection.  Where required to protect adjacent 
properties at the toe of a slope from adverse effects of the grading, 
additional protection, approved by the building official, shall be 
included.  Such protection may include but shall not be limited to: 
 1.  Setbacks greater than those required by Figure K1.8.1. 
 2.  Provisions for retaining walls or similar construction. 
 3.  Erosion protection of the fill slopes. 
 4.  Provision for the control of surface waters. 
 K1.9  DRAINAGE AND TERRACING 
 K1.9.1  General.  Unless otherwise recommended by a 
registered design professional, drainage facilities and terracing shall 
be provided in accordance with the requirements of this section. 
 Exception:  Drainage facilities and terracing need not be 
provided where the ground slope is not steeper than 3 horizontal to 1 
vertical (33%). 
 K1.9.2  Terraces.  Terraces at least six feet (1829 mm) in width 
shall be established at not more than 30-foot (9144 mm) vertical 
intervals on all cut or fill slopes to control surface drainage and 
debris. Suitable access shall be provided to allow for cleaning and 
maintenance. 
 Where more than two terraces are required, one terrace, located 
at approximately mid-height, shall be at least 12 feet (3658 mm) in 
width. 
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 Swales or ditches shall be provided on terraces.  They shall 
have a minimum gradient of 20 horizontal to 1 vertical (5%) and 
shall be paved with concrete not less than three inches (76 mm) in 
thickness, or with other materials suitable to the application.  They 
shall have a minimum depth of 12 inches (305 mm) and a minimum 
width of five feet (1524 mm). 
 A single run of swale or ditch shall not collect runoff from a 
tributary area exceeding 13,500 square feet (1256 m2) (projected) 
without discharging into a down drain. 
 K1.9.3  Interceptor drains.  Interceptor drains shall be installed 
along the top of cut slopes receiving drainage from a tributary width 
greater than 40 feet, measured horizontally.  They shall have a 
minimum depth of one foot (305 mm) and a minimum width of three 
feet (915 mm).  The slope shall be approved by the building official, 
but shall not be less than 50 horizontal to 1 vertical (2%).  The drain 
shall be paved with concrete not less than three inches (76 mm) in 
thickness, or by other materials suitable to the application. Discharge 
from the drain shall be accomplished in a manner to prevent erosion 
and shall be approved by the building official. 
 K1.9.4  Drainage across property lines.  Drainage across 
property lines shall not exceed that which existed prior to grading.  
Excess or concentrated drainage shall be contained on site or 
directed to an approved drainage facility.  Erosion of the ground in 
the area of discharge shall be prevented by installation of non-
erosive down drains or other devices. 
 K1.10  EROSION CONTROL 
 K1.10.1  General.  The faces of cut and fill slopes shall be 
prepared and maintained to control erosion.  This control shall be 
permitted to consist of effective planting. 
 Exception:  Erosion control measures need not be provided on 
cut slopes not subject to erosion due to the erosion-resistant 
character of the materials. 
 Erosion control for the slopes shall be installed as soon as 
practicable and prior to calling for final inspection. 
 K1.10.2  Other devices.  Where necessary, check dams, 
cribbing, riprap or other devices or methods shall be employed to 
control erosion and provide safety. 
 
R156-56-711.  Statewide Amendments to the IRC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IRC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  All amendments to the IBC under Section R156-56-704, 
local amendments under Section R156-56-705, the NEC under 
Section R156-56-706, the IPC under Section R156-56-707, the IMC 
under Section R156-56-708, the IFGC under Section R156-56-709 
and the IECC under Section R156-56-710 which may be applied to 
detached one and two family dwellings and multiple single family 
dwellings shall be applicable to the corresponding provisions of the 
IRC.  All references to the International Electrical Code are deleted 
and replaced with the National Electrical Code adopted under 
Section R156-56-701(1)(b).  Should there be any conflicts between 
the NEC and the IRC, the NEC shall prevail. 
 (2)  In Section 109, a new section is added as follows: 
 R109.1.5 Weather-resistive barrier and flashing inspections.  
After the roof, masonry, all framing, firestopping, draftstopping and 
bracing are in place; and after the plumbing, mechanical and 
electrical rough inspections are approved; and before brick veneer, 
masonry or stucco is installed on the exterior of a structure, an 
inspection shall be made of the weather-resistive barrier as required 
by Section R703.1 and flashings as required by Section R703.8 to 

prevent water from entering the weather-resistant exterior wall 
envelope. 
 The remaining sections are renumbered as follows: 
 R109.1.6 Other inspections 
 R109.1.6.1 Fire-resistance-rated construction inspection 
 R109.1.7 Final inspection. 
 (2)   In Section R202, the definition of "Backsiphonage" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 BACKSIPHONAGE:  The backflow of potentially 
contaminated, polluted or used water into the potable water system 
as a result of the pressure in the potable water system falling below 
atmospheric pressure of the plumbing fixtures, pools, tanks or vats 
connected to the potable water distribution piping. 
 (3)  In Section R202 the following definition is added: 
 CERTIFIED BACKFLOW PREVENTER ASSEMBLY 
TESTER:  A person who has shown competence to test Backflow 
prevention assemblies to the satisfaction of the authority having 
jurisdiction under Subsection 19-4-104(4), Utah Code Ann. (1953), 
as amended. 
 (4)   In Section R202 the definition of "Cross Connection" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 CROSS CONNECTION.  Any physical connection or potential 
connection or arrangement between two otherwise separate piping 
systems, one of which contains potable water and the other either 
water of unknown or questionable safety or steam, gas or chemical, 
whereby there exists the possibility for flow from one system to the 
other, with the direction of flow depending on the pressure 
differential between the two systems(see "Backflow, Water 
Distribution"). 
 (5)  In Section R202 the following definition is added: 
 HEAT exchanger (Potable Water).  A device to transfer heat 
between two physically separated fluids (liquid or steam), one of 
which is potable water. 
 (6)   In section R202 the definition of "Potable Water" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 POTABLE WATER.  Water free from impurities present in 
amounts sufficient to cause disease or harmful physiological effects 
and conforming to the Titles 19-4 and 19-5, Utah Code Ann. (1953), 
as amended and the regulations of the public health authority having 
jurisdiction. 
 (7)  In Section R202 the definition of "Water Heater" is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 WATER HEATER.  A closed vessel in which water is heated 
by the combustion of fuels or electricity and is withdrawn for use 
externally to the system at pressures not exceeding 160 psig (1100 
kPa (gage)), including  the apparatus by which heat is generated, and 
all controls and devices necessary to prevent water temperatures 
from exceeding 210 degrees Fahrenheit (99 degrees Celsius). 
 (8)  Section R301.4 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R301.4 Live Load.  The minimum uniformly distributed live 
load shall be as provided in Table R301.4. 
 

TABLE R301.4 
MINIMUM UNIFORMLY DISTRIBUTED LIVE LOADS 

(in pounds per square foot) 
 
               USE                        LIVE LOAD 
Exterior balconies                            60 
Decks (f)                                     40 
Fire escapes                                  40 
Passenger vehicle garages (a)                 50(a) 
Attics without storage (b), (e), (g)          10 
Attics with storage (b), (e)                  20 
Rooms other than sleeping rooms               40 
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Sleeping rooms                                30 
Stairs                                        40(c) 
Guardrails and handrails (d)                 200 

 
 For SI: 1 pound per square foot = 0.0479kN/m2, 1 square inch = 
645 mm2  1 pound = 4.45N. 
 (a)  Elevated garage floors shall be capable of supporting a 
2,000-pound load applied over a 20-square-inch area. 
 (b)  No storage with roof slope not over 3 units in 12 units. 
 (c)  Individual stair treads shall be designed for the uniformly 
distributed live load or a 300-pound concentrated load acting over an 
area of 4 square inches, whichever produces the greater stresses. 
 (d)  A single concentrated load applied in any direction at any 
point along the top. 
 (e)  Attics constructed with wood trusses shall be designated in 
accordance with Section R802.10.1. 
 (f)  See Section R502.2.1 for decks attached to exterior walls. 
 (g)  This live load need not be considered as acting 
simultaneously with other live loads imposed upon the ceiling 
framing or its supporting structure. 
 (9)  Section R304.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R304.3 Minimum dimensions.  Habitable rooms shall not be 
less than 7 feet (2134 mm) in any horizontal dimension. 
 Exception:  Kitchens shall have a clear passageway of not less 
than 3 feet (914 mm) between counter fronts and appliances or 
counter fronts and walls. 
 (10)  Section R309.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R309.2 Separation required.  The garage shall be separated 
from the residence and its attic area by installation of materials 
approved for one-hour fire-resistive construction applied to the 
garage side.  Where the separation is a floor-ceiling assembly, the 
structure supporting the separation shall also be protected by 
installation of materials approved for one-hour fire-resistive 
construction. 
 (11)  Section R312.1.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R312.1.2 Landings at doors. There shall be a floor or landing 
on each side of each exterior door. 
 Exception: At the exterior side of all non required exit doors. 
The floor or landing at a door shall not be more than 1.5 inches (38 
mm) lower than the top of the threshold. 
 Exception: The landing of an exterior doorway shall not be 
more than 8 inches (197 mm) below the top of the threshold, 
provided that the door, other than an exterior storm or screen door, 
does not swing over the landing. 
 (12)  Section R314.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R314.2 [Trends]Treads and risers. The maximum riser height 
shall be 8 inches (203 mm) and the minimum tread depth shall be 9 
inches (229 mm). The riser height shall be measured vertically 
between leading edges of the adjacent treads.  The tread depth shall 
be measured horizontally between the vertical planes of the foremost 
projection of adjacent treads and at a right angle to the tread's 
leading edge.  The walking surface of treads and landings of a 
stairway shall be sloped no steeper than one unit vertical in 48 units 
horizontal (2-percent slope).  The greatest riser height within any 
flight of stairs shall not exceed the smallest by more than 3/8 inch 
(9.5 mm).  The greatest tread depth within any flight of stairs shall 
not exceed the smallest by more than 3/8 inch (9.5 mm). 
 R314.2.1 Profile.  The radius of curvature at the leading edge of 
the tread shall be no greater than 9/16 inch (14.3 mm).  A nosing not 
less than 3/4 inch (19.1 mm) but not more than 1 1/4 inches (32 mm) 
shall be provided on stairways with solid risers.  The greatest nosing 

projection shall not exceed shall not exceed the smallest nosing 
projection by more than 3/8 inches (9.5 mm) between two stories, 
including the nosing at the level of floors and landings.  Beveling of 
nosing shall not exceed 1/2 inch (12.7 mm).  Risers shall be vertical 
or sloped from the underside of the leading edge of the tread above 
at an angle not more than 30 degrees from the vertical. Open risers 
are permitted, provided that the opening between treads does not 
permit the passage of a 4-inch diameter (102 mm) sphere. 
 Exceptions. 
 1.  A nosing is not required where the tread depth is a minimum 
of 10 inches (254 mm). 
 2.  The opening between adjacent treads is not limited on stairs 
with a total rise of 30 inches (762 mm) or less. 
 (13)  Section R315.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R315.1 Handrails. Handrails shall be provided on at least one 
side of stairways consisting of four or more risers.  Handrails shall 
have a minimum height of 34 inches (864 mm) and a maximum 
height of 38 inches (965 mm) measured vertically from the nosing of 
the treads.  All required handrails shall be continuous the full length 
of the stairs from a point directly above the top riser to a point 
directly above the lowest riser of the stairway.  The ends of the 
handrail shall be returned into a wall or shall terminate in newel post 
or safety terminals.  A minimum clear space of 1 1/2 inches (38 mm) 
shall be provided between the wall and the handrail. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Handrails shall be permitted to be interrupted by a newel 
post at a turn. 
 2.  The use of a volute, turnout or starting easing shall be 
allowed over the lowest tread. 
 (14)  Section R315.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R315.2 Handrail grip size.  The handgrip portion of handrails 
shall have a circular cross section of 1 1/4 inches (32mm) minimum 
to 2 5/8 inches (67mm) maximum.  Edges shall have a minimum 
radius of 1/8 inch (3.2mm). 
 Exception:  Non-circular handrails shall be permitted to have a 
maximum cross sectional dimension of 3.25 inches (83mm) 
measured 2 inches (51 mm) down from the top of the crown.  Such 
handrail is required to have an indentation on both sides between 
0.625 inch (16mm) and 1.5 inches (38mm) down from the top or 
crown of the cross section.  The indentation shall be a minimum of 
0.25 inch (6mm) deep on each side and shall be at least 0.5 inch (13 
mm)high.  Edges within the handgrip shall have a minimum radius 
of 0.0625 inch (2 mm).  The handrail surface shall be smooth with 
no cusps so as to avoid catching clothing or skin. 
 (15)  In Section 321.3.2 Exception 1.1 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 1.1  By a horizontal distance of not less than the width of a stud 
space regardless of stud spacing, or 
 (16)  Section R403.1.6.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 R403.1.6.1 Foundation anchorage in Seismic Design Categories 
D1and D2.  In addition to the requirements of Section R403.1.6, the 
following requirements shall apply to light-wood frame structures in 
Seismic Design Categories D1and D2. Anchor bolts shall be located 
within 12 inches (305 mm) from the ends of each plate section at 
interior bearing walls, interior braced wall lines and at all exterior 
walls. Plate washers a minimum of 2 inches by 2 inches by 3/16 inch 
(51 mm by 4.8 mm) thick shall be used on each bolt. 
 Exceptions: 
 a.  When anchor bolt spacing does not exceed 32 inches (816 
mm) apart, anchor bolts may be placed with a minimum of two bolts 
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per plate section located not less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each 
end of each plate section at interior bearing walls, interior braced 
wall lines and at all exterior walls. 
 b.  When anchor bolt spacing does not exceed 32 inches (816 
mm) apart, a properly sized round washer may be used. 
 The maximum anchor bolt spacing shall be 4 feet (1219 mm) 
for two-story structures. 
 (17)  Section R703.6 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 R703.6 Exterior plaster. 
 R703.6.1 Lath. All lath and lath attachments shall be of 
corrosion-resistant materials.  Expanded metal or woven wire lath 
shall be attached with 1 1/2 inch-long (38 mm), 11 gage nails having 
7/16 inch (11.1 mm) head, or 7/8-inch-long (22.2 mm), 16 gage 
staples, spaced at no more than 6 inches (152 mm), or as otherwise 
approved. 
 R703.6.2 Weather-resistant barriers.  Weather-resistant barriers 
shall be installed as required in Section R703.2 and, where applied 
over wood-based sheathing, shall include a weather-resistive vapor 
permeable barrier with a performance at least equivalent to two 
layers of Grade D paper. 
 R703.6.3 Plaster.  Plastering with portland cement plaster shall 
be not less than three coats when applied over metal lath or wire lath 
and shall be not less than two coats when applied over masonry, 
concrete or gypsum backing.  If the plaster surface is completely 
covered by veneer or other facing material or is completed 
concealed, plaster application need be only two coats, provided the 
total thickness is as set forth in Table R702.1(1).  On wood-frame 
construction with an on-grade floor slab system, exterior plaster 
shall be applied in such a manner as to cover, but not extend below, 
lath, paper and screed. 
 The proportion of aggregate to cementitious materials shall be 
as set forth in Table R702.1(3). 
 (18)  In Section R703.7 Stone and masonry veneer, general the 
following exceptions are added: 
 Exceptions: 
 3.  For detached one- or two-family dwellings with a maximum 
nominal thickness of 4 inches (102 mm) of exterior masonry veneer 
with a backing of wood frame located in Seismic Design Category 
D1, the masonry veneer shall not exceed 20 feet (6096 mm) in height 
above a noncombustible foundation, with an additional 8 feet (2438 
mm) permitted for gabled ends, or 30 feet (9144 mm) in height with 
an additional 8 feet (2438 mm) permitted for gabled ends where the 
lower 10 feet (3048 mm) has a backing of concrete or masonry wall, 
provided the following criteria are met: 
 (a)   Braced wall panels shall be constructed with a minimum of 
7/16 inch (11.1 mm)thick sheathing fastened with 8d common nails 
at 4 inches (102 mm) on center on panel edges and at 12 inches (305 
mm) on center on intermediate supports. 
 (b)   The bracing of the top story shall be located at each end 
and at least every 25 feet (7620 mm) on center but not less than 45% 
of the braced wall line.  The bracing of the first story shall be as 
provided in Table R602.10.3. 
 (c)  Hold down connectors shall be provided at the ends of 
braced walls for the second floor to first floor wall assembly with an 
allowable design of 2100 lbs (952.5 kg).  Hold down connectors 
shall be provided at the ends of each wall segment of the braced 
walls for the first floor to foundation assembly with an allowable 
design of 3700 lbs. (1678 kg).  In all cases, the hold down connector 
force shall be transferred to the foundation. 
 (d)  Cripple walls shall not be permitted. 

 4.  For detached one- and two-family dwellings with a 
maximum actual thickness of 3 inches (76 mm) of exterior masonry 
veneer with a backing of wood frame located in Seismic Design 
Category D2, the masonry veneer shall not exceed 20 feet (6096 
mm) in height above a noncombustible foundation, with an 
additional 8 feet (2438 mm) permitted for gabled ends, or 30 feet 
(9144 mm) in height with an additional 8 feet (2438 mm) permitted 
for gabled ends where the lower 10 feet (3048 mm)has a backing of 
concrete on masonry wall, provided the following criteria are met: 
 (a)  Braced wall panels shall be constructed with a minimum of 
7/16 inch (11.1 mm)thick sheathing fastened with 8d common nails 
at 4 inches (102 mm) on center on panel edges and at 12 inches (305 
mm) on center on intermediate supports. 
 (b)   The bracing of the top story shall be located at each end 
and at least every 25 feet (7620 mm) on center but not less than 55% 
of the braced wall line.  The bracing of the first story shall be as 
provided in Table R602.10.3. 
 (c)   Hold down connectors shall be provided at the ends of 
braced walls for the second floor to first floor wall assembly with an 
allowable design of 2300 lbs (1043 kg).  Hold down connectors shall 
be provided at the ends of each wall segment of the braced walls for 
 the first floor to foundation assembly with an allowable design of 
3900 lbs. (1769 kg).  In all cases, the hold down connector force 
shall be transferred to the foundation. 
 (d)  Cripple walls shall not be permitted. 
 (19)  In Section R703.8, number 8 is added as follows: 
 8.  At the intersection of foundation to stucco, masonry, siding, 
or brick veneer with an approved corrosive-resistance flashing with 
a 1/2" drip leg extending past exterior side of the foundation. 
 (19)  Section P2602.2 is added as follows: 
 P2602.2 Individual water supply.  Where a potable public water 
supply is not available, individual sources of potable water supply 
shall be utilized provided that the source has been developed in 
accordance with Sections 73-3-1 and 73-3-25, Utah Code Ann. 
(1953), as amended, as administered by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Division of Water Rights.  In addition, the quality of the 
water shall be approved by the local health department having 
jurisdiction. 
 (20)  Section P2602.3 is added as follows: 
 P2602.3 Sewer required.  Every building in which plumbing 
fixtures are installed and all premises having drainage piping shall 
be connected to a public sewer where the sewer is within 300 feet of 
the property line in accordance with Section 10-8-38, Utah Code 
Ann, (1953), as amended; or an approved private sewage disposal 
system in accordance with Rule R317-5501 through R317-513 and 
Rule R317-5, Utah Administrative Code, as administered by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Water Quality. 
 (21)  Section P2603.2.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 P2603.2.1 Protection against physical damage.  In concealed 
locations where piping, other than cast-iron or galvanized steel, is 
installed through holes or notches in studs, joists, rafters, or similar 
members less than 1 1/2 inch (38 mm) from the nearest edge of the 
member, the pipe shall be protected by shield plates.  Protective 
shield plates shall be a minimum of 1/16 inch-thick (1.6 mm) steel, 
shall cover the area of the pipe where the member is notched or 
bored, and shall be at least the thickness of the framing member 
penetrated. 
 (22)  Section P2710.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
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 P2710.1 Finished.  Shower walls shall be finished in 
accordance with Section R307.2. 
 (23)  Section P2801.2 is added as follows: 
 P2801.2 Water heater seismic bracing.  Water heaters shall be 
anchored or strapped in the upper third of the appliance to resist a 
horizontal force equal to one third the operating weight of the water 
heater, acting in any horizontal direction, or in accordance with the 
appliance manufacturers recommendations. 
 (24)  Section P2902.1.1 is added as follows: 
 P2902.1.1 Backflow assembly testing.  The premise owner or 
his designee shall have backflow prevention assemblies operation 
tested at the time of installation, repair and relocation and at least on 
an annual basis thereafter,  or more frequently as required by the 
authority having jurisdiction.  Testing shall be performed by a 
Certified Backflow Preventer Assembly Tester.  The assemblies that 
are subject to this paragraph are the Spill Resistant Vacuum Breaker, 
the Pressure Vacuum Breaker Assembly, the Double Check 
Backflow Prevention Assembly, the Double Check Detector 
Assembly Backflow Preventer, the Reduced Pressure Principle 
Backflow Preventer, and Reduced Pressure Detector Assembly, and 
the spring loaded check valve assembly described in amended 
Section 608.16.4 of the International Plumbing Code. 
 (25)  Section P2903.9.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 P2903.9.3 Valve requirements.  Valves serving individual 
fixtures, appliances, risers, and branches shall be provided with 
access.  An individual shutoff valve shall be required on the water 
supply pipe to each water closet, lavatory, kitchen sink, and 
appliance. 
 (26)  Section P3003.2.1 is added as follows: 
 Section P3003.2.1 Improper Connections.  No drain, waste, or 
vent piping shall be drilled and tapped for the purpose of making 
connections. 
 (27)  In Section P3103.6, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 Vents extending through the wall shall terminate not less than 
12 inches from the wall with an elbow pointing downward. 
 (28)  In Section P3104.4, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 Horizontal dry vents below the flood level rim shall be 
permitted for floor drain and floor sink installations when installed 
below grade in accordance with Chapter 30, and Sections P3104.2  
and P3104.3.  A wall cleanout shall be provided in the vertical vent. 
 (29)  Chapter 43, Referenced Standards, is amended as follows: 
 The following reference standard is added: 
 

TABLE 
 
USC-     Foundation for Cross-Connection          Section P2902 
FCCCHR   Control and Hydraulic Research 
9th      University of Southern California 
Edition  Kaprielian Hall 300 
Manual   Los Angeles CA 90089-2531 
of Cross 
Connection 
Control 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and Uniform Building Code Commission are proposing 
changes regarding the requirement to prevent accumulation of 
water, ice, or snow at walking surfaces near entries to 
buildings.  Due to the potential controversy regarding these 
changes, this rule change is being made as a separate filing 
so as not to affect the larger main proposed rule filing. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Under Section R156-56-
704 which is the Statewide Amendments to the IBC:  added 
amendments affecting Sections 1003.3.3.5.2, 1003.3.4.6.2, 
1004.3.3. and 1005.2.4.  The proposed amendments change 
the wording of "prevent" to "minimize".  Proponents of this 
amendment state it is impossible to prevent snow or ice 
accumulation unless the walking surfaces are heated to melt 
the snow.  That alternative would use a lot of energy and may 
not comply with the energy conservation code.  Section 
1005.2.4 is worded to clearly address sliding snow coming off 
of roofs.  The building should be designed so that the potential 
of snow sliding off of roofs, particularly on metal roofs will be 
minimized.  NOTE: Paragraph numbering will be corrected via 
a nonsubstantive rule filing once the Division and Uniform 
Building Code Commission have determined which rule 
amendment filings should be made effective as there are four 
rule filings all affecting the same rule.  (DAR NOTE:  The four 
filings affecting Rule R156-56 are:  an amendment to Section 
R156-56-704 under DAR No. 26151; an amendment to 
Section R156-56-707 under DAR No. 26152; an amendment 
to Rule R156-56 under DAR No. 26153; and an amendment 
to Rule R156-56 under DAR No. 26154 all in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-56-1, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a), 58-1-
202(1)(a), 58-56-4(2), and 58-56-6(2)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no cost to the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing to print this rule once 
all proposed amendments are made effective as this rule is no 
longer printed by the Division, but the rule is available on the 
Division's website.  It has been impossible to determine if 
these proposed amendments will add costs or save costs to 
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most construction.  Most buildings would be designed to 
prevent this type of problem.  On existing buildings, owners 
have had to install snow guards after construction was 
completed to prevent snow from sliding off the roof because it 
became apparent that a particular design was dangerous. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  It has been impossible to determine if 
these proposed amendments will add costs or save costs to 
most construction.  Most buildings would be designed to 
prevent this type of problem.  On existing buildings, owners 
have had to install snow guards after construction was 
completed to prevent snow from sliding off the roof because it 
became apparent that a particular design was dangerous. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  It has been impossible to determine if these 
proposed amendments will add costs or save costs to most 
construction.  Most buildings would be designed to prevent 
this type of problem.  On existing buildings, owners have had 
to install snow guards after construction was completed to 
prevent snow from sliding off the roof because it became 
apparent that a particular design was dangerous.  The 
aggregate costs or savings of these proposed amendments 
are impossible to determine except on a project-by-project 
basis. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It has been 
impossible to determine if these proposed amendments will 
add costs or save costs to most construction.  Most buildings 
would be designed to prevent this type of problem.  On 
existing buildings, owners have had to install snow guards 
after construction was completed to prevent snow from sliding 
off the roof because it became apparent that a particular 
design was dangerous. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The proposed rule change 
modifies certain International Building Code provisions to 
prevent water accumulation at exits and to minimize the snow 
sliding off from roofs of buildings.  At this time, it is unclear 
what fiscal impact there will be to the construction industry 
and to business in general.  Ted Boyer, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dan S. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6720, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dsjones@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  5/15/2003 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building, Room 
4112, Salt Lake City, UT. 

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-56.  Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules. 
R156-56-704.  Statewide Amendments to the IBC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IBC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  All references to the International Electrical Code are 
deleted and replaced with the National Electrical Code adopted 
under Subsection R156-56-701(1)(b). 
 (2)  Section 101.4.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 101.4.1 Electrical.  The provisions of the National Electrical 
Code (NEC) shall apply to the installation of electrical systems, 
including alterations, repairs, replacement, equipment, appliances, 
fixtures, fittings and appurtenances thereto. 
 (3)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.  See Section 308.1.1. 
 (4)  Section 302.3.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 302.3.3 Separated uses.  Each portion of the building shall be 
individually classified as to use and shall be considered separated 
from other occupancies when completely separated from adjacent 
areas by fire barrier walls or horizontal assemblies or both having a 
fire-resistance rating determined in accordance with this sections. 
 302.3.3.1 All occupancies. Each fire area shall be separated 
from other occupancies in other fire areas in accordance with Table 
302.3.3 based on the occupancy in the fire areas, and shall comply 
with the height limitations based on the use of that space and the 
type of construction classification.  In each story the building area 
shall be such that the sum or the ratios of the floor area of each use 
divided by the allowable area for each use shall not exceed 1. 
 Exceptions for R-3 and U Groups: 
 1.  The private garage shall be separated from the residence and 
its attic area by means of materials approved for one-hour fire 
resistive construction applied to the garage side.  Door openings 
between the garage and the residence shall be equipped with either 
solid wood doors not less than 1 3/8 inches (35 mm) thick or doors 
in compliance with Section 714.2.3.  Openings from a private garage 
directly into a room used for sleeping purposes shall not be 
permitted. 
 2.  Ducts in the private garage and ducts penetrating the walls 
or ceilings separating the dwelling from the garage shall be 
constructed of a minimum No. 26 gage (.48 mm) sheet steel and 
shall have no openings into the garage. 
 3.  A separation is not required between a Group R-3 and 
Group U carport provided the carport is entirely open on two or 
more sides and there are not enclosed spaces above. 
 Where the building is equipped throughout with an automatic 
sprinkler system, the fire resistance ratings in Table 302.3.3 shall be 
reduced by one hour but not to less than one hour and to not less 
than that required for floor construction according to the type of 
construction.  The one hour reduction shall not apply to fire area 
separations when H-1, H-2, H-3, or I-2 occupancies are included in 
the areas being separated. 
 Table 302.3.3 is deleted and replaced with: 
 Table 302.3.3, entitled "Required Separation of Occupancies", 
dated January 1, 2002, published by the Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing is hereby 



DAR File No. 26151 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 1, 2003, Vol. 2003, No. 9 49 

adopted and incorporated by reference.  Table 302.3.3 identifies 
what type of separation of occupancies requirements are mandated 
in various types of property use classifications. 
 (5) A new Section 302.4 is added as follows: 
 302.4 Spaces used for different purposes.  A room or space that 
is intended to be occupied at different times for different purposes 
shall comply with all requirements that are applicable to each of the 
purposes for which the room or space will be occupied. 
 (6)  Section 305.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 305.2 Day care.  The building or structure, or portion thereof, 
for educational, supervision, child day care centers, or personal care 
services of more than four children shall be classified as a Group E 
occupancy.  See Section 419 for special requirements for Group E 
child day care centers. 
 Exception: Areas used for child day care purposes with a 
Residential Certificate, Family License or Family Group License 
may be located in a Group R-2 or R-3 occupancy as provided in 
Section 310.1 and as applicable in Section 101.2. 
 Child day care centers providing care for more than 100 
children 2 1/2 years or less of age shall be classified as Group I-4. 
 (7)  In Section 308 the following definitions are added: 
 308.1.1 Definitions.  The following words and terms shall, for 
the purposes of this section and as used elsewhere in this code, have 
the meanings shown herein. 
 TYPE 1 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.  A residential facility 
that provides a protected living arrangement for ambulatory, non-
restrained persons who are capable of achieving mobility sufficient 
to exit the facility without the assistance of another person. 
 TYPE 2 ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY.   A residential 
facility that provides an array of coordinated supportive personal and 
health care services to residents who meet the definition of semi-
independent. 
 SEMI-INDEPENDENT.  A person who is: 
 A.  Physically disabled but able to direct his or her own care; or 
 B.  Cognitively impaired or physically disabled but able to 
evacuate from the facility with the physical assistance of one person. 
 (8)  Section 308.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.2 Group I-1.  This occupancy shall include a building or 
part thereof housing more than 16 persons, on a 24-hour basis, who 
because of age, mental disability or other reasons, live in a 
supervised residential environment that provides personal care 
services.  The occupants are capable of responding to an emergency 
situation without physical assistance from staff.  This group shall 
include, but not be limited to, the following: residential board and 
care facilities, type 1 assisted living facilities, half-way houses, 
group homes, congregate care facilities, social rehabilitation 
facilities, alcohol and drug centers and convalescent facilities.  A 
facility such as the above with five or fewer persons shall be 
classified as a Group R-3.  A facility such as above, housing at least 
six and not more than 16 persons, shall be classified as a Group R-4. 
 (9)  Section 308.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.3 Group I-2.  This occupancy shall include buildings and 
structures used for medical, surgical, psychiatric, nursing or 
custodial care on a 24-hour basis of more than three persons who are 
not capable of self-preservation.  This group shall include, but not be 
limited to the following: hospitals, nursing homes (both intermediate 
care facilities and skilled nursing facilities), mental hospitals, 
detoxification facilities, ambulatory surgical centers with two or 
more operating rooms where care is less than 24 hours and type 2 
assisted living facilities.  Type 2 assisted living facilities with five or 
fewer persons shall be classified as a Group R-4.  Type 2 assisted 

living facilities as defined in 308.1.1 with at least six and not more 
than sixteen residents shall be classified as a Group I-1 facility. 
 (10)  Section 308.3.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 308.3.1 Child care facility.  A child care facility that provides 
care on a 24 hour basis to more than four children 2 1/2 years of age 
or less shall be classified as Group I-2. 
 (11)  Section 308.5 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 308.5  Group I-4, day care facilities.  This group shall include 
buildings and structures occupied by persons of any age who receive 
custodial care less than 24 hours by individuals other than parents or 
guardians, relatives by blood, marriage, or adoption, and in a place 
other than the home of the person cared for.  A facility such as the 
above with four or fewer persons shall be classified as an R-3.  
Places of worship during religious functions and Group E child day 
care centers are not included. 
 (12)  Section 308.5.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 308.5.2 Child care facility.  A facility that provides supervision 
and personal care on less than a 24 hour basis for more than 100 
children 2 1/2 years of age or less shall be classified as Group I-4. 
 (13)  Section 310.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 310.1 Residential Group "R". Residential Group R includes, 
among others, the use of a building or structure, or a portion thereof, 
for sleeping purposes when not classed as an Institutional Group I.  
Residential occupancies shall include the following: 
 R-1  Residential occupancies where the occupants are primarily 
transient in nature (less than 30 days) including: Boarding Houses 
(transient), Hotels (transient), and Motels (transient). 
 R-2  Residential occupancies containing sleeping units or more 
than two dwelling units where the occupants are primarily 
permanent in nature, including: Apartment Houses, Boarding houses 
(not transient), Convents, Dormitories, Fraternities and Sororities, 
Monasteries, Vacation timeshare properties, Hotels (non transient), 
and Motels (non transient). 
 R-3  Residential occupancies where the occupants are primarily 
permanent in nature and not classified as R-1, R-2, R-4 or I and 
where buildings do not contain more than two dwelling units, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, or adult and child care facilities that 
provide accommodations for five or fewer persons of any age for 
less than 24 hours. Adult and child care facilities that are within a 
single family home are permitted to comply with the International 
Residential Code in accordance with Section 101.2.  Areas used for 
day care purposes may be located in a Residential Group, R-3 
occupancy provided the building substantially complies with the 
requirements for a dwelling unit and under all of the following 
conditions: 
 1. Compliance with the Utah Administrative Code, R710-8, 
Day Care Rules, as enacted under the authority of the Utah Fire 
Prevention Board. 
 2. Use is approved by the State Department of Health, as 
enacted under the authority of the Utah Child Care Licensing Act, 
UCA, Sections 26-39-101 through 26-39-110, and in any of the 
following categories: 
 a. Utah Administrative Code, R430-50, Residential Certificate 
Child Care Standards. 
 b. Utah Administrative Code, R430-90, Licensed Family Child 
Care. 
 3. Compliance with all zoning regulations of the local regulator. 
 R-4  Residential occupancies shall include buildings arranged 
for occupancy as Residential Care/Assisted Living Facilities 
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including more than five but not more than 16 occupants, excluding 
staff. 
 Group R-4 occupancies shall meet the requirements for 
construction as defined for Group R-3 except as otherwise provided 
for in this code or shall comply with the International Residential 
Code in accordance with Section 101.2. 
 (14)  A new section 310.4 is added as follows: 
 310.4  Floor-level exit signs.  Where exit signs are required by 
section 1003.2.10.1, additional approved exit signs that are 
internally or externally illuminated, photoluminescent or self-
luminous, shall be provided in all corridors serving guest rooms of 
R-1 occupancies.  The bottom of such signs shall not be less than 6 
inches (152 mm) nor more than 8 inches (203 mm) above the floor 
level and shall indicate the path of exit travel.  For exit and exit 
access doors, the sign shall be on the door or adjacent to the door 
with the closest edge of the sign with 8 inches (203 mm) of the door 
frame. 
 (15)  In section 403.10.1.1 the exception is deleted. 
 (16)  A new Section 403.9.1 is added as follows: 
 403.9.1 Elevator lobby.  Elevators on all floors shall open into 
elevator lobbies that are separated from the remainder of the 
building, including corridors and other means of egress by smoke 
partitions complying with Section 710.  Elevator lobbies shall have 
at least one means of egress complying with Chapter 10 and other 
provisions within the code.  Elevator lobbies separated from a fire 
resistance rated corridor shall have walls of not less than one-hour 
fire resistance rating and openings shall conform to Section 714. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Separations are not required from a street floor elevator 
lobby. 
 2.  In atria complying with the provisions of Section 404 
elevator lobbies are not required. 
 (17)  A new section 419 is added as follows: 
 Section 419 Group E Child Day Care Centers. Group E child 
day care centers shall comply with Section 419. 
 419.1 Location at grade. Group E child day care centers shall 
be located at the level of exit discharge. 
 Exception: Child day care spaces for children over the age of 
24 months may be located on the second floor of buildings equipped 
with automatic fire protection throughout and an automatic fire 
alarm system. 
 419.2 Egress. All Group E child day care spaces with an 
occupant load of 10 or more shall have a second means of egress.  If 
the second means of egress is not an exit door leading directly to the 
exterior, the room shall have an emergency escape and rescue 
window complying with Section 1009. 
 (18)  Section 706.3.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 706.3.5 Separation of mixed occupancies. Where the provisions 
of Section 302.3.3 are applicable, the fire barrier separating mixed 
occupancies shall have a fire-resistance rating of not less than that 
indicated in Section 302.3.3 based on the occupancies being 
separated. 
 (19)  A new Section 706.3.6 is added as follows: 
 706.3.6. Single occupancy fire areas. The fire barrier separating 
a single occupancy into different fire areas shall have a fire 
resistance rating of not less than that indicated in Table 706.3.6. 
 

TABLE 706.3.6 
FIRE-RESISTANCE RATING REQUIREMENTS 
FOR FIRE BARRIER ASSEMBLIES BETWEEN 

FIRE AREAS 
 
OCCUPANCY GROUP           FIRE-RESISTANCE RATING (IN HOURS) 
H-1, H-2                          4 
F-1, H-3, S-1                     3 
A, B, E, F-2, H-4, H-5, I 
  M, R, S-2                       2 
U                                 1 

 
 (20)  In Section 707.14.1 Exception 4 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 4.  See Section 403.9.1 for high rise buildings. 
 (21)  Section 710.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
710.3 Fire-resistance rating.  The fire-resistance rating of floor and 
roof assemblies shall not be less than that required by the building 
type of construction. Where the floor assembly separates mixed 
occupancies, the assembly shall have a fire-resistance rating of not 
less than that required in Section 302.3.3 based on the occupancies 
being separated. Where the floor assembly separates a single 
occupancy into different fire areas, the assembly shall have a fire-
resistance rating of not less than that required by Section 706.3.6.  
Floor assemblies separating dwelling units or guestrooms shall be a 
minimum of 1-hour fire-resistance-rated construction. 
 Exception: Dwelling unit and guestroom separations in 
buildings of Type IIB, IIIB and VB construction shall have fire-
resistance ratings of not less than 1/2 hour in buildings equipped 
throughout with an automatic sprinkler system in accordance with 
Section 903.3.1.1. 
 (22)  In Section 902, the definition for record drawings is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 RECORD DRAWINGS.  Drawings ("as builts") that document 
all aspects of a fire protection system as installed. 
 (23)  Section 903.2.5 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 903.2.5 Group I. An automatic sprinkler system shall be 
provided throughout buildings with Group I fire areas.  Listed quick 
response or residential sprinkler heads shall be installed in patient or 
resident sleeping areas. 
 (24)  Section 903.2.9 Group R-4 is deleted and replaced with 
the following: 
 An automatic sprinkler system shall be provided throughout all 
buildings with Group R-4 fire areas that contain more than eight 
occupants. 
 Exception: 
 1.  An automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with 
Section 903.3.1.2 or Section 903.3.1.3. shall be allowed in Group R-
4 facilities. 
 2.  Buildings not more than 4,500 gross square feet and not 
containing more than 16 residents, provided the building is equipped 
throughout with an approved fire alarm system that is interconnected 
and receives its primary power from the building wiring and a 
commercial power system. 
 (25)  Section 905.5.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 905.5.3 Class II system 1-inch hose. A minimum 1-inch (25.4 
mm) hose shall be permitted to be used for hose stations in light-
hazard occupancies where investigated and listed for this service and 
where approved by the code official. 
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 (26)  In Section 1002, the definition for exit discharge is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 EXIT DISCHARGE.  That portion of a means of egress system 
between the termination of an exit and a public way or safe dispersal 
area. 
 (27)  In Section 1003.2.12.1 the exception is deleted and 
replaced with the following: 
 Exceptions: 
 1. For occupancies in Group R-3 and within individual 
dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in Section 
101.2, guards whose top rail serves as a handrail shall have a height 
not less than 34 inches (864 mm)and not more than 38 inches (965 
mm) measured vertically from the leading edge of the stair tread 
nosing. 
 2. For occupancies in Group R-3 and within individual 
dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in section 
101.2, guards shall form a protective barrier not less than 36 inches 
(914 mm). 
 (28)  Section 1003.2.12.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 1003.2.12.2 Opening limitations.  Open guards shall have 
balusters or ornamental patterns such that a 4-inch-diameter (102 
mm) sphere cannot pass through any opening up to a height of 34 
inches (864 mm).  From a height of 34 inches (864 mm) to 42 inches 
(1067 mm) above the adjacent walking surface, a sphere 8 inches 
(203 mm) in diameter shall not pass.  For occupancies in Group R-3 
and within individual dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, required guards shall not be constructed 
with horizontal rails or other ornamental pattern that results in a 
ladder effect. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  The triangular openings formed by the riser, tread and 
bottom rail at the open side of a stairway shall be of a maximum size 
such that a sphere of 6 inches (152 mm) in diameter cannot pass 
through the opening. 
 2.  At elevated walking surfaces for access to and use of 
electrical, mechanical, or plumbing systems or equipment, guards 
shall have balusters or be of solid materials such that a sphere with a 
diameter of 21 inches (533 mm) cannot pass through any opening. 
 3.  In occupancies in Group I-3, F, H or S, balusters, horizontal 
intermediate rails or other construction shall not permit a sphere 
with a diameter of 21 inches (533 mm) to pass through any opening. 
 4.  In assembly seating areas, guards at the end of aisles where 
they terminate at a fascia of boxes, balconies, and galleries shall 
have balusters or ornamental patterns such that a 4-inch-diameter 
(102 mm) sphere cannot pass through any opening up to a height of 
26 inches (660 mm).  From a height of 26 inches (660 mm) to 42 
inches (1067 mm) above the adjacent walking surfaces, a sphere 8 
inches (203 mm) in diameter shall not pass. 
 (29)  Section 1003.3.3.3, Exception #5 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 5.  In occupancies in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, 
within dwelling units in occupancies in Group R-2, as applicable in 
Section 101.2, and in occupancies in Group U, which are accessory 
to an occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, the 
maximum riser height shall be 8 inches (203 mm) and the minimum 
tread depth shall be 9 inches (229 mm).  A nosing not less than 0.75 
inch (19.1 mm) but not more than 1.25 inches (32 mm) shall be 
provided on stairways with solid risers where the tread depth is less 
than 10 inches (254 mm). 

 (30)  Section 1003.3.3.5.2 Outdoor Conditions is deleted in its 
entirety. 
 (30)  Section 1003.3.3.11 Exemption #4 is deleted and replaced 
with the  following: 
 4.  In occupancies in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2 
and in occupancies in Group U, which are accessory to an 
occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2, handrails 
shall be provided on at least one side of stairways consisting of four 
or more risers. 
 (31)  Section 1003.3.3.11.3 is amended to include the following 
exception at the end of the section: 
 Exception.  Non-circular handrails serving an individual unit in 
a Group R-1, Group R-2 or Group R-3 occupancy shall be permitted 
to have a maximum cross sectional dimension of 3.25 inches (83 
mm) measured 2 inches (51 mm) down from the top of the crown.  
Such handrail is required to have an indention on both sides between 
0.625 inch (16 mm) and 1.5 inches (38 mm) down from the top or 
crown of the cross section.  The indentation shall be a minimum of 
0.25 inch (6 mm) deep on each side and shall be at least 0.5 (13 mm) 
high.  Edges within the handgrip shall have a minimum radius of 
0.0625 inch (2 mm).  The handrail surface shall be smooth with no 
cusps so as to avoid catching clothing or skin. 
 (31)  Section 1003.3.4.6.2 Outdoor Conditions is deleted in its 
entirety. 
 (32)  Section 1004.3.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 1004.3.3 Egress Balconies. Balconies used for egress 
purposes shall conform to the same requirements as corridors for 
width, headroom, dead ends and projections. 
 (32)  In Section 1004.3.2.5 Exception 2 is deleted. 
 (33)  A new Section 1005.2.4 is added as follows: 
 Section 1005.2.4 Outdoor Conditions.  Exits and approaches to 
exits shall be designed to minimize the accumulation of water on 
walking surfaces.  Exits shall be designed to minimize the 
accumulation of sliding snow from roofs. 
 Exception: Group U that are accessory to an occupancy in 
Group R-3. 
 (33)  New Sections 1006.2.3, 1006.2.3.1 and 1006.2.3.2 are 
added as follows: 
 1006.2.3  Safe dispersal areas.  Where approved by the code 
official, the exit discharge is permitted to lead to a safe dispersal 
area on the same property as the structure being discharged.  The 
proximity and size of such safe dispersal area shall be based on such 
factors as the occupant load served, the mobility of occupants, the 
type of construction of the building, the fire protection systems 
installed in the building, the height of the building and the degree of 
hazard of the occupancy.  In any case, the entire safe dispersal area 
shall be located not less than 50 feet (15 420 mm) from the structure 
served. 
 1006.2.3.1  School ground fences and gates.  School grounds 
shall be permitted to be fenced and gates therein equipped with 
locks, provided safe dispersal areas are located between the school 
and fence with the entire dispersal area no less than 50 feet (15 
420mm) from school buildings. Safe dispersal area capacity shall be 
determined by providing a minimum of 3 square feet (0.28 m2) of 
net clear area per occupant. 
 1006.2.3.2  Reviewing stands, grandstands and bleachers.  Safe 
dispersal areas serving reviewing stands, grandstands and bleachers 
shall accommodate a number of persons equal to the total capacity 
of the stand or building served.  Safe dispersal area capacity shall be 
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determined by providing a minimum of 3 square feet (0.28 m2) of 
net clear area per occupant. 
 (34)  Section 1109.7 of Chapter 11 in the 2001 Supplement to 
the International Building Code is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 1109.7 Lifts. Platform (wheelchair) lifts shall not be a 
part of a required accessible route in new construction. Platform 
(wheelchair) lifts shall be installed in accordance with ASME A18.1. 
 Exceptions: Platform (wheelchair) lifts are permitted for: 
 1.  An accessible route to a performing area and speaker's 
platforms in occupancies in Group A. 
 2.  An accessible route to wheelchair spaces required to comply 
with the wheelchair space dispersion and line-of-sight requirements 
of Section 1108.2.2. 
 3.  An accessible route to spaces that are not open to the general 
public with an occupant load of not more than five. 
 4.  An accessible route within a dwelling or sleeping unit. 
 5.  An accessible route to wheelchair seating spaces located in 
outdoor dining terraces in A-5 occupancies where the means of 
egress from the dining terrace to a public way is open to the 
outdoors. 
 6.  An accessible route to raised judges' benches, clerks' 
stations, jury boxes, witness stands and other raised or depressed 
areas in a court. 
 7.  An accessible route where existing exterior site constraints 
make use of a ramp or elevator infeasible. 
 8.  Wheelchair access where an accessible route is not required 
per the exceptions to Section 1104.4 and/or Section 1107.4. 
 All platform (wheelchair) lifts shall be capable of independent 
operation without a key. 
 Standby power shall be provided for platform lifts permitted to 
serve as part of the accessible means of egress. 
 (35)  Section 1207.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1207.2 Minimum ceiling heights.  Occupiable spaces, habitable 
spaces and corridors shall have a ceiling height of not less than 7 
feet 6 inches (2286 mm). Rooms in one- and two-family dwellings, 
bathrooms, toilet rooms, kitchens, storage rooms and laundry rooms 
shall be permitted to have a ceiling height of not less than 7 feet 
(2134 mm). 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  In one- and two-family dwellings, beams or girders spaced 
not more than 4 feet (1219 mm) on center or projecting not more 
than 6 inches (152 mm) below the required ceiling height. 
 2.  Basement rooms without habitable spaces in one- and two-
family dwellings having a ceiling height of not less than 6 feet 8 
inches (2033mm) with not less than 6 feet 4 inches (1932 mm) of 
clear height under beams, girders, ducts and similar obstructions. 
 3.  If any room in a building has a sloping ceiling, the 
prescribed ceiling height for the room is required in one-half the area 
thereof.  Any portion of the room measuring less than 5 feet (1524 
mm) from the finished floor to the finished ceiling shall not be 
included in any computation of the minimum area thereof. 
 4.  Mezzanines constructed in accordance with Section 505.1. 
 (36)  Section 1207.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1207.3 Room area.  Every dwelling unit shall have at least one 
room that shall have not less than 120 square feet (11.2 m2) of net 
floor area.  Other habitable rooms shall have a net floor area of not 
less than 70 square feet (6.5 m2). 
 Exception:  Every kitchen in a one- and two-family dwelling 
shall have not less than 50 square feet 4.64 m2) of gross floor area. 

 (37)  Section 1207.4 subparagraph 1 is deleted and replaced 
with the following: 
 1.  The unit shall have a living room of not less than 165 square 
feet (15.3 m) of floor area.  An additional 100 square feet (9.3 m) of 
floor area shall be provided for each occupant of such unit in excess 
of two. 
 (38)  Section 1604.5, footnote "c" is added to Table 1604.5 
Classification of Buildings and Other Structures for Importance 
Factors: 
 c.  For determining "W" per sections 1616.4.1, 1617.4.1, 
1617.5.1, or 1618.4, the Snow Factor I, may be taken as 1.0. 
 (39)  In Section 1605.2.1, the formula shown as "f2 = 0.2 for 
other roof configurations" is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 f2 = 0.20 + .025(A-5) for other configurations where roof snow 
load exceeds 30 psf 
 f2 = 0 for roof snow loads of 30 psf (1.44kN/m2) or less. 
 Where A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the 
structure (ft/1000). 
 (40)  In Section 1605.3.1 and section 1605.3.2, Exception 
number 2 in each section is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Flat roof snow loads of 30 pounds per square foot (1.44 kNm2) 
or less need not be combined with seismic loads.  Where flat roofs 
exceed 30 pounds per square foot (1.44 kNm2), the snow loads may 
be reduced in accordance with the following in load combinations 
including both snow and seismic loads. 
 Ws = (0.20 + 0.025(A-5))Pf 
 Where 
 Ws = Weight of snow to be included, psf 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the structure 
(ft/1000) 
 Pf = Design roof snow load, psf 
 (41)  In Table 1607.1 number 27 is deleted and replaced with 
the following: 
 

TABLE 1607.1 NUMBER 27 
Occupancy or Use                     Uniform    Concentrated 
                                      (psf)          (lbs) 
27. Residential 
Group R-3 as applicable in Section 101.2              - 
 Uninhabitable attics without storage   10i 
 Uninhabitable attics with storage      20 
 Habitable attics and sleeping areas    30 
 All other areas except balconies 
  and decks                             40 
Hotels and multifamily dwellings 
 Private rooms                          40 
 Public rooms and corridors serving them 100 

 
 (42)  In Notes to Table 1607.1, Note i is added as follows: 
 i.  This live load need not be considered as acting 
simultaneously with other live loads imposed upon the ceiling 
framing or its supporting structure. 
 (43)  Section 1608.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Except as modified in section 1608.1.1, design snow loads shall 
be determined in accordance with Section 7 of ASCE 7, but the 
design roof load shall not be less than that determined by Section 
1607. 
 (44)  Section 7.4.5 of Section 7 of ASCE 7 referred to in 
Section 1608.1 of the IBC is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 7.4.5 Ice Dams and Icicles Along Eaves. Where ground 
snow loads exceed 75 psf, eaves shall be capable of sustaining a 
uniformly distributed load of 2pf on all overhanging portions. No 
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other loads except dead loads shall be present on the roof when this 
uniformly distributed load is applied. All building exits under down-
slope eaves shall be protected from sliding snow and ice. 
 (45)  Section 1608.1.1 is added as follows: 
 1608.1.1  Utah Snow Loads.  The ground snow load, Pg, to be 
used in the determination of design snow loads for buildings and 
other structures shall be determined by using the following formula: 
 Pg = (Po

2 + S2(A-Ao)2)0.5 for A greater than Ao, and Pg = Po for A 
less than or equal to Ao. 
 WHERE 
 Pg = Ground snow load at a given elevation (psf) 
 Po = Base ground snow load (psf) from Table No. 1608.1.1(a) 
 S = Change in ground snow load with elevation (psf/100 ft.) 
From Table No. 1608.1.1(a) 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the site (ft./1000) 
 Ao = Base ground snow elevation from Table 1608.1.1(a) 
(ft./1000) 
 The building official may round the roof snow load to the 
nearest 5 psf.  The ground snow load, Pg, may be adjusted by the 
building official when a licensed engineer or architect submits data 
substantiating the adjustments.  A record of such action together 
with the substantiating data shall be provided to the division for a 
permanent record. 
 The building official may also directly adopt roof snow loads in 
accordance with Table 1608.1.1(b), provided the site is no more than 
100 ft. higher than the listed elevation. 
 Where the minimum roof live load in accordance with section 
1607.11 is greater than the design roof snow load, such roof live 
load shall be used for design, however, it shall not be reduced to a 
load lower than the design roof snow load.  Drifting need not be 
considered for roof snow loads less than 20 psf. 
 (46)  Table 1608.1.1(a) and Table 1608.1.1(b) are added as 
follows: 
 

TABLE NO. 1608.1.1(a) 
STATE OF UTAH - REGIONAL SNOW LOAD FACTORS 

 
     COUNTY       Po     S     Ao 

 

     Beaver       43     63     6.2 
     Box Elder    43     63     5.2 
     Cache        50     63     4.5 
     Carbon       43     63     5.2 
     Daggett      43     63     6.5 
     Davis        43     63     4.5 
     Duchesne     43     63     6.5 
     Emery        43     63     6.0 
     Garfield     43     63     6.0 
     Grand        36     63     6.5 
     Iron         43     63     5.8 
     Juab         43     63     5.2 
     Kane         36     63     5.7 
     Millard      43     63     5.3 
     Morgan       57     63     4.5 
     Piute        43     63     6.2 
     Rich         57     63     4.1 
     Salt Lake    43     63     4.5 
     San Juan     43     63     6.5 
     Sanpete      43     63     5.2 
     Sevier       43     63     6.0 
     Summit       86     63     5.0 
     Tooele       43     63     4.5 
     Uintah       43     63     7.0 
     Utah         43     63     4.5 
     Wasatch      86     63     5.0 
     Washington   29     63     6.0 
     Wayne        36     63     6.5 
     Weber        43     63     4.5 

 

 
TABLE NO. 1608.1.1(b) 

RECOMMENDED SNOW LOADS FOR SELECTED UTAH CITIES AND TOWNS 
 
                                  Roof Snow      Ground Snow 
                                  Load (PSF)     Load (PSF) 
 
     Beaver County 
        Beaver          5920 ft.     43              62 
     Box Elder County 
        Brigham City    4300 ft.     30              43 
        Tremonton       4290 ft.     30              43 
     Cache County 
        Logan           4530 ft.     35              50 
        Smithfield      4595 ft.     35              50 
     Carbon County 
        Price           5550 ft.     30              43 
     Daggett County 
        Manila          5377 ft.     30              43 
     Davis County 
        Bountiful       4300 ft.     30              43 
        Farmington      4270 ft.     30              43 
        Layton          4400 ft.     30              43 
        Fruit Heights   4500 ft.     40              57 
     Duchesne County 
        Duchesne       5510 ft.      30              43 
        Roosevelt      5104 ft.      30              43 
     Emery County 
        Castledale     5660 ft.      30              43 
        Green River    4070 ft.      25              36 
     Garfield County 
        Panguitch      6600 ft.      30              43 
     Grand County 
        Moab           3965 ft.      25              36 
     Iron County 
        Cedar City     5831 ft.      30              43 
     Juab County 
        Nephi          5130 ft.      30              43 
     Kane County 
        Kanab          5000 ft.      25              36 
     Millard County 
        Millard        5000 ft.      30              43 
        Delta          4623 ft.      30              43 
     Morgan County 
        Morgan         5064 ft.      40              57 
     Piute County 
        Piute          5996 ft.      30              43 
     Rich County 
        Woodruff       6315 ft.      40              57 
     Salt Lake County 
        Murray         4325 ft.      30              43 
        Salt Lake City 4300 ft.      30              43 
        Sandy          4500 ft.      30              43 
        West Jordan    4375 ft.      30              43 
        West Valley    4250 ft.      30              43 
     San Juan County 
        Blanding       6200 ft.      30              43 
        Monticello     6820 ft.      35              50 
     Sanpete County 
        Fairview       6750 ft.      35              50 
        Mt. Pleasant   5900 ft.      30              43 
        Manti          5740 ft.      30              43 
        Ephraim        5540 ft.      30              43 
        Gunnison       5145 ft.      30              43 
     Sevier County 
        Salina         5130 ft.      30              43 
        Richfield      5270 ft.      30              43 
     Summit County 
        Coalville      5600 ft.      60              86 
        Kamas          6500 ft.      70             100 
        Park City      6400 ft.      85             121 
        Summit Park    7200 ft.      90             128 
     Tooele County 
        Tooele         5100 ft.      30              43 
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     Uintah County 
        Vernal         5280 ft.      30              43 
     Utah County 
        American Fork  4500 ft.      30              43 
        Orem           4650 ft.      30              43 
        Pleasant Grove 5000 ft.      30              43 
        Provo          5000 ft.      30              43 
       Spanish Fork   4720 ft.       30              43 
     Wasatch County 
       Heber          5630 ft.       60              86 
     Washington County 
       Central        5209 ft.       25              36 
       Dameron        4550 ft.       25              36 
       Leeds          3460 ft.       20              29 
       Rockville      3700 ft.       25              36 
       Santa Clara    2850 ft.       15 (1)          21 
       St. George     2750 ft.       15 (1)          21 
     Wayne County 
       Loa            7080 ft.       30              43 
       Hanksville     4308 ft.       25              36 
     Weber County 
       North Ogden    4500 ft.       40              57 
       Ogden          4350 ft.       30              43 
 
NOTES 
    (1) The IBC requires a minimum live load - See 1607.11.2. 

 
 (47)  Section 1608.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1608.2  Ground Snow Loads.  The ground snow loads to be 
used in determining the design snow loads for roofs in states other 
than Utah are given in Figure 1608.2 for the contiguous United 
States and Table 1608.2 for Alaska.  Site-specific case studies shall 
be made in areas designated CS in figure 1608.2.  Ground snow 
loads for sites at elevations above the limits indicated in Figure 
1608.2 and for all sites within the CS areas shall be approved.  
Ground snow load determination for such sites shall be based on an 
extreme value statistical analysis of data available in the vicinity of 
the site using a value with a 2-percent annual probability of being 
exceeded (50-year mean recurrence interval).  Snow loads are zero 
for Hawaii, except in mountainous regions as approved by the 
building official. 
 (48)  Section 1614.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1614.2  Change in Occupancy.  When a change of occupancy 
results in a structure being reclassified to a higher Seismic Use 
Group, or when such change of occupancy results in a design 
occupant load increase of 100% or more, the structure shall conform 
to the seismic requirements for a new structure. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  This is not required if the design occupant load increase is 
less than 25 persons and the Seismic Use Group does not change. 
 2.  Specific detailing provisions required for a new structure are 
not required to be met where it can be shown an equivalent level of 
performance and seismic safety contemplated for a new structure is 
obtained.  Such analysis shall consider the regularity, overstrength, 
redundancy and ductility of the structure within the context of the 
specific detailing provided.  Alternatively, the building official may 
allow the structure to be upgraded in accordance with the latest 
edition of the "Guidelines for Seismic Rehabilitation of Existing 
Buildings" or another nationally recognized standard for retrofit of 
existing buildings. 
 (49)  In Section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads of 30 psf or less need not be included.  
Where the roof snow load exceeds 30 psf, the snow load shall be 
included, but may be adjusted in accordance with the following 
formula:  Ws = (0.20 + 0.025(A-5))Pf 
 

 WHERE: 
 Ws = Weight of snow to be included in seismic calculation; 
 A = Elevation above sea level at the location of the structure 
(ft/1000) 
 Pf = Design roof snow load, psf 
 For the purposes of this section, snow load shall be assumed 
uniform on the roof footprint without including the effects of drift or 
sliding. 
 (50)  In Section 1617.2.2, the fourth definition of rmaxi is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 =For shear walls, rmaxi shall be taken as the maximum value of 
the product of the shear in the wall or wall pier and 10/1w (3.3/1wfor 
SI), divided by the story shear, where lw is the length of the wall or 
wall pier in feet (m).  The ratio 10/1w need not be taken greater than 
1.0 for buildings of light frame construction. 
 (51)  In Section 1617.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (52)  In Section 1617.5.1, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (53)  In Section 1618.4, Definition of W, Item 4 is deleted and 
replaced with the following: 
 4.  Roof snow loads to be included shall be as outlined in 
section 1616.4.1, Definition of W, Item 4, as amended. 
 (54)  Section 1805.5 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1805.5  Foundation walls.  Concrete and masonry foundation 
walls shall be designed in accordance with Chapter 19 or 21.  
Foundation walls that are laterally supported at the top and bottom 
and within the parameters of Tables 1805.5(1) through 1805.5(4) are 
permitted to be designed and constructed in accordance with 
Sections 1805.5.1 through 1805.5.4 and 1805.5.8 through 
1805.5.8.2.  Concrete foundation walls may also be constructed in 
accordance with Section 1805.5.9. 
 (55)  New Sections 1805.5.8, 1805.5.8.1 1805.5.8.2 and 
1805.5.9 are added as follows: 
 1805.5.8  Seismic requirements.  Tables 1805.5(1) through 
1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following limitations based on the 
seismic design category assigned to the structure as defined in 
Section 1616. 
 1805.5.8.1  Seismic requirements for concrete foundation walls. 
 Concrete foundation walls constructed using Tables 1805.5(1) 
through 1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following: 
 1.  Seismic Design Category A and B.  Provide two No. 5 bars 
around window and door openings.  Such bars shall extend at least 
24 inches (610 mm) beyond the corners of the openings. 
 2.  Seismic Design Category C.  Tables shall not be used except 
as permitted for plain concrete members in Section 1910.4. 
 3.  Seismic Design Categories D, E and F.  Tables shall not be 
used except as allowed for plain concrete members in ACI 318, 
Section 22.10. 
 1805.5.8.2  Seismic requirements for masonry foundation 
walls.  Masonry foundation walls constructed using Tables 
1805.5(1) through 1805.5(4) shall be subject to the following: 
 1.  Seismic Design Category A and B.  No additional seismic 
requirements. 
 2.  Seismic Design Category C.  The requirements of Section 
2106.4 shall apply. 
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 3.  Seismic Design Category D.  The requirements of Section 
2106.5 shall apply. 
 4.  Seismic Design Categories E and F.  The requirements of 
Section 2106.6 shall apply. 
 1805.5.9  Empirical foundation design.  Group R, Division 3 
Occupancies three stories or less in height, and Group U 
Occupancies, which are constructed in accordance with Section 
2308, or with other methods employing repetitive wood-frame 
construction or repetitive cold-formed steel structural member 
construction, shall be permitted to have concrete foundations 
constructed in accordance with Table 1805.5.9. 
 (56)  Table 1805.5.9 is added as follows: 
 Table 1805.5.9, entitled "Empirical Foundation Walls, dated 
September 1, 2002, published by the Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference. Table 1805.5.9 identifies 
foundation requirements for empirical walls. 
 (57)  Table 2305.3.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 

TABLE 2305.3.3 
MAXIMUM SHEAR WALL ASPECT RATIOS 

 
                 TYPE                    MAXIMUM 
                                       HEIGHT-WIDTH 
                                          RATIO 
Wood structural panels or 
particleboard, nailed edges           For wind: 3 1/2:1 
                                      For seismic: 2:1a 
Diagonal sheathing, single                2:1 
Fiberboard                                1 1/2:1 
 
  a. For design to resist seismic forces, shear wall 
aspect ratios greater than 2:1, but not exceeding 
3 1/2:1, are permitted provided the allowable shear 
capacities in Table 2306.4.1 are multiplied by 2w/h. 

 
 (58)  A new section 2306.1.4 is added as follows: 
 2306.1.4  The allowable stress increase of 1.15 for snow load, 
shown in Table 2.3.2, Load Duration Factors, Cd, of the National 
Design Specifications, shall not be utilized at elevations above 5,000 
feet (1524 M). 
 (59)  Section 2308.6 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 2308.6 Foundation plates or sills. Foundations and footings 
shall be as specified in Chapter 18. Foundation plates or sills resting 
on concrete or masonry foundations shall comply with Section 
2304.3.1 and shall be bolted or anchored by one of the following: 
 1.  Foundation plates or sill shall be bolted or anchored to the 
foundation with not less than 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) diameter steel bolts 
or approved anchors. Bolts shall be embedded at least 7 inches (178 
mm) into concrete or masonry, and spaced not more than 6 feet 
(1829 mm) apart.  There shall be a minimum of two bolts or anchor 
straps per piece with one bolt or anchor strap located not more than 
12 inches (305 mm) or less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each end 
of each piece. 
 2.  Foundation plates or sills shall be bolted or anchored to the 
foundation with not less than 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) diameter steel bolts 
or approved anchors.  Bolts shall be embedded at least 7 inches (178 
mm) into concrete or masonry, and spaced not more than 32 inches 
(816 mm) apart.  There shall be a minimum of two bolts or anchor 
straps per piece located not less than 4 inches (102 mm) from each 
end of each piece. 
 A properly sized nut and washer shall be tightened on each bolt 
to the plate. 
 (60)  A new section 2902.1.1 is added as follows: 

 2902.1.1  Unisex toilets and bath fixtures.  Fixtures located 
within unisex toilet and bathing rooms complying with section 2902 
are permitted to be included in determining the minimum number of 
fixtures for assembly and mercantile occupancies. 
 (61)  Section 3006.5 Shunt Trip, the following exception is 
added: 
 Exception: Hydraulic elevators and roped hydraulic elevators 
with a rise of 50 feet or less. 
 (62)  In Section 3104.2, a second exception is added as follows: 
 2.  For the purposes of calculating the number of Type B units 
required by Chapter 11, structurally connected buildings and 
buildings with multiple wings shall be considered one structure. 
 (63)  A new section 3402.5 is added as follows: 
 3402.5  Parapets and other appendages.  Building constructed 
prior to 1975 with parapet walls, cornices, spires, towers, tanks, 
signs, statuary and other appendages shall have such appendages 
evaluated by a licensed engineer to determine resistance to design 
loads specified in this code when said building is undergoing 
reroofing, or alteration of or repair to said feature. 
 EXCEPTION:  Group R-3 an U occupancies. 
 Original Plans and/or structural calculations may be utilized to 
demonstrate that the parapet or appendages are structurally adequate. 
 When found to be deficient because of design or deteriorated 
condition, the engineer shall prepare specific recommendations to 
anchor, brace, reinforce or remove the deficient feature. 
 The maximum height of an unreinforced masonry parapet 
above the level of the diaphragm tension anchors or above the 
parapet braces shall not exceed one and one-half times the thickness 
of the parapet wall.  The parapet height may be a maximum of two 
and one-half times its thickness in other than Seismic Design 
Categories D, E, or F.  If the required parapet height exceeds this 
maximum height, a bracing system designed using the coefficients 
specified in Table 1621.2 shall support the top of the parapet.  When 
positive diaphragm connections are absent, tension roof anchors 
shall be added.  Approved alternative methods of equivalent strength 
will be considered when accompanied by engineer sealed drawings, 
details and calculations. 
 (64)  Section 3408.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 3408.1  Scope:  The provision of sections 3408.2 through 
3408.5 apply to maintenance, change of occupancy, additions and 
alterations to existing buildings, including those identified as historic 
buildings. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  When maintenance, additions or alteration occur, Type B 
dwelling units required by section 1107.5.4 are not required to be 
provided in existing buildings and facilities. 
 2.  When a change of occupancy in a building or portion of a 
building results in multiple dwelling units as determined in section 
1107.5.4, not less than 20 percent of the dwelling units shall be Type 
B dwelling units.  These dwelling units may be located on any floor 
of the building provided with an accessible route.  Two percent, but 
not less than one, of the dwelling units shall be Type A dwelling 
units. 
 (65)  Referenced standards number 1557-91 under ASTM in 
chapter 35 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 

TABLE 
Standard Number      Title                     Code Section 
D1557-91 E01     Laboratory Compaction          1508.15.2 
                 Characteristics of soil          K1.1.2, 
                 using Modified Effort            K1.7.5 
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 (66)  A new appendix K, Grading, is added as follows: 
 APPENDIX K - GRADING 
 K1.1  GENERAL 
 K1.1.1  Scope.  The provisions of this chapter apply to grading, 
excavation and earthwork construction, including fills and 
embankments.  Where conflicts occur between the technical 
requirements of this chapter and the soils report, the soils report 
shall govern. 
 K1.1.2  Standards.  The following standards of quality shall 
apply: 
 1.  ASTM D1557-91 E01, Test Method for Laboratory 
Compaction Characteristics of Soil Using Modified Effort (56,000 
ft-lb/ft). 
 K1.2  DEFINITIONS 
 K1.2.1  Definitions.  For the purposes of this appendix chapter, 
the terms, phrases and words listed in this section and their 
derivatives shall have the indicated meanings. 
 BENCH.  A relatively level step excavated into earth material 
on which fill is to be placed. 
 COMPACTION.  The densification of a fill by mechanical 
means. 
 CUT.  See Excavation. 
 DOWN DRAIN.  A device for collecting water from a swale or 
ditch located on or above a slope, and safely delivering it to an 
approved drainage facility. 
 EROSION.  The wearing away of the ground surface as a result 
of the movement of wind, water or ice. 
 EXCAVATION.  The removal of earth material by artificial 
means, also referred to as a cut. 
 FILL.  Deposition of earth materials by artificial means. 
 GRADE.  The vertical location of the ground surface. 
 GRADE, EXISTING.  The grade prior to grading. 
 GRADE, FINISHED.  The grade of the site at the conclusion of 
all grading efforts. 
 GRADING.  An excavation or fill or combination thereof. 
 KEY.  A compacted fill placed in a trench excavated in earth 
material beneath the toe of a slope. 
 SLOPE.  An inclined surface, the inclination of which is 
expressed as a ratio of horizontal distance to vertical distance. 
 TERRACE.  A relatively level step constructed in the face of a 
graded slope for drainage and maintenance purposes. 
 K1.3  PERMITS REQUIRED 
 K1.3.1  Permits required.  Except as exempted in Section 
K1.3.2, no grading shall be performed without first having obtained 
a permit therefor from the building official. A grading permit does 
not include the construction of retaining walls or other structures. 
 K1.3.2  Exemptions.  A grading permit shall not be required for 
the following: 
 1.  Grading in an isolated, self-contained area, provided there is 
no danger to the public, and that such grading will not adversely 
affect adjoining properties. 
 2.  Excavation for construction of a structure permitted under 
this code. 
 3.  Cemetery graves. 
 4.  Refuse disposal sites controlled by other regulations. 
 5.  Excavations for wells, or trenches for utilities. 
 6.  Mining, quarrying, excavating, processing or stockpiling 
rock, sand, gravel, aggregate or clay controlled by other regulations, 
provided such operations do not affect the lateral support of, or 
significantly increase stresses in, soil on adjoining properties. 

 7.  Exploratory excavations performed under the direction of a 
registered design professional for the sole purpose of preparing a 
soils report. 
 Exemption from the permit requirements of this appendix shall 
not be deemed to grant authorization for any work to be done in any 
manner in violation of the provisions of this code or any other laws 
or ordinances of this jurisdiction.  The listed exemptions shall not 
apply to areas located in a floodway or floodplain regulated under 
Appendix G. 
 K1.4  PERMIT APPLICATION AND SUBMITTALS 
 K1.4.1  Submittal requirements.  In addition to the provisions 
of Section 105.3, the applicant shall state the estimated quantities of 
excavation and fill. 
 K1.4.2  Site plan requirements. In addition to the provisions of 
Section 106, a grading plan shall show the existing grade and 
finished grade in contour intervals of sufficient clarity to indicate the 
nature and extent of the work and show in detail that it complies 
with the requirements of this code. The plans shall show the existing 
grade on adjoining properties in sufficient detail to identify how 
grade changes will conform to the requirements of this code. 
 K1.4.3  Soils report.  A soils report prepared by registered 
design professionals shall be provided which shall identify the 
nature and distribution of existing soils; conclusions and 
recommendations for grading procedures; soil design criteria for any 
structures or embankments required to accomplish the proposed 
grading; and, where necessary, slope stability studies, and 
recommendations and conclusions regarding site geology. 
 Exception:  A soils report is not required where the building 
official determines that the nature of the work applied for is such 
that a report is not necessary. 
 K1.4.4  Liquefaction study.  For sites with mapped maximum 
considered earthquake spectral response accelerations at short period 
(Ss) greater than 0.5g as determined by Section 1615, a study of the 
liquefaction potential of the site shall be provided, and the 
recommendations incorporated in the plans. 
 Exception:  A liquefaction study is not required where the 
building official determines from established local data that the 
liquefaction potential is low. 
 K1.5  INSPECTIONS 
 K.1.5.1  General.  Inspections shall be governed by Section 109 
of this code. 
 K1.5.2  Special inspections.  The special inspection 
requirements of Section 1704.7 shall apply to work performed under 
a grading permit where required by the building official. 
 K1.6  EXCAVATIONS 
 K1.6.1  Maximum slope.  The slope of cut surfaces shall be no 
steeper than is safe for the intended use, and shall be no steeper than 
2 horizontal to 1 vertical (50%) unless the applicant furnishes a soils 
report justifying a steeper slope. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  A cut surface may be at a slope of 1.5 horizontal to 1 
vertical (67%) provided that all the following are met: 
 (a)  it is not intended to support structures or surcharges; 
 (b)  it is adequately protected against erosion; 
 (c)  it is no more than 8 feet (2438 mm) in height; and 
 (d)  it is approved by the building official. 
 2.  A cut surface in bedrock shall be permitted to be at a slope 
of 1 horizontal to 1 vertical (100%) 
 K1.7  FILLS 
 K1.7.1  General.  Unless otherwise recommended in the soils 
report, fills shall conform to provisions of this section. 



DAR File No. 26152 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 1, 2003, Vol. 2003, No. 9 57 

 K1.7.2  Surface preparation.  The ground surface shall be 
prepared to receive fill by removing vegetation, topsoil and other 
unsuitable materials, and scarifying the ground to provide a bond 
with the fill material. 
 K1.7.3  Benching.  Where existing grade is at a slope steeper 
than 5 horizontal to 1 vertical (20%) and the depth of the fill exceeds 
five feet (1524 mm) benching shall be provided in accordance with 
Figure K1.7.3 dated July 1, 2001, published by State and Local 
Building Codes Amendments, Department of Commerce, Division 
of Occupational and Professional Licensing, which is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference.  A key shall be provided 
which is at least 10 feet (3048 mm) in width and two feet (610 mm) 
in depth. 
 K1.7.4  Fill material.  Fill material shall not include organic, 
frozen or other deleterious materials.  No rock or similar irreducible 
material greater than 12 inches (305mm) in any dimension shall be 
included in fills. 
 K1.7.5  Compaction. All fill material shall be compacted to 
90% of maximum density as determined by ASTM D1557, 
Modified Proctor, in lifts not exceeding 12 inches (305 mm) in 
depth. 
 K1.7.6  Maximum slope.  The slope of fill surfaces shall be no 
steeper than is safe for the intended use.  Fill slopes steeper than 2 
horizontal to 1 vertical (50%) shall be justified by soils reports or 
engineering data. 
 K1.8  SETBACKS 
 K1.8.1  General.  Cut and fill slopes shall be set back from the 
property lines in accordance with this section.  Setback dimensions 
shall be measured perpendicular to the property line and shall be as 
shown in Figure K1.8.1, dated July 1, 2001, published by State and 
Local Building Codes Amendments, Department of Commerce, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, which is 
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference. unless substantiating 
data is submitted justifying reduced setbacks. 
   K1.8.2  Top of slope.  The setback at the top of a cut slope shall 
not be less than that shown in Figure K1.8.1, or than is required to 
accommodate any required interceptor drains, whichever is greater. 
 K1.8.3  Slope protection.  Where required to protect adjacent 
properties at the toe of a slope from adverse effects of the grading, 
additional protection, approved by the building official, shall be 
included.  Such protection may include but shall not be limited to: 
 1.  Setbacks greater than those required by Figure K1.8.1. 
 2.  Provisions for retaining walls or similar construction. 
 3.  Erosion protection of the fill slopes. 
 4.  Provision for the control of surface waters. 
 K1.9  DRAINAGE AND TERRACING 
 K1.9.1  General.  Unless otherwise recommended by a 
registered design professional, drainage facilities and terracing shall 
be provided in accordance with the requirements of this section. 
 Exception:  Drainage facilities and terracing need not be 
provided where the ground slope is not steeper than 3 horizontal to 1 
vertical (33%). 
 K1.9.2  Terraces.  Terraces at least six feet (1829 mm) in width 
shall be established at not more than 30-foot (9144 mm) vertical 
intervals on all cut or fill slopes to control surface drainage and 
debris. Suitable access shall be provided to allow for cleaning and 
maintenance. 
 Where more than two terraces are required, one terrace, located 
at approximately mid-height, shall be at least 12 feet (3658 mm) in 
width. 
 Swales or ditches shall be provided on terraces.  They shall 

have a minimum gradient of 20 horizontal to 1 vertical (5%) and 
shall be paved with concrete not less than three inches (76 mm) in 
thickness, or with other materials suitable to the application.  They 
shall have a minimum depth of 12 inches (305 mm) and a minimum 
width of five feet (1524 mm). 
 A single run of swale or ditch shall not collect runoff from a 
tributary area exceeding 13,500 square feet (1256 m2) (projected) 
without discharging into a down drain. 
 K1.9.3  Interceptor drains.  Interceptor drains shall be installed 
along the top of cut slopes receiving drainage from a tributary width 
greater than 40 feet, measured horizontally.  They shall have a 
minimum depth of one foot (305 mm) and a minimum width of three 
feet (915 mm).  The slope shall be approved by the building official, 
but shall not be less than 50 horizontal to 1 vertical (2%).  The drain 
shall be paved with concrete not less than three inches (76 mm) in 
thickness, or by other materials suitable to the application. Discharge 
from the drain shall be accomplished in a manner to prevent erosion 
and shall be approved by the building official. 
 K1.9.4  Drainage across property lines.  Drainage across 
property lines shall not exceed that which existed prior to grading.  
Excess or concentrated drainage shall be contained on site or 
directed to an approved drainage facility.  Erosion of the ground in 
the area of discharge shall be prevented by installation of non-
erosive down drains or other devices. 
 K1.10  EROSION CONTROL 
 K1.10.1  General.  The faces of cut and fill slopes shall be 
prepared and maintained to control erosion.  This control shall be 
permitted to consist of effective planting. 
 Exception:  Erosion control measures need not be provided on 
cut slopes not subject to erosion due to the erosion-resistant 
character of the materials. 
 Erosion control for the slopes shall be installed as soon as 
practicable and prior to calling for final inspection. 
 K1.10.2  Other devices.  Where necessary, check dams, 
cribbing, riprap or other devices or methods shall be employed to 
control erosion and provide safety. 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and Uniform Building Code Commission are proposing 
changes regarding eliminating the anchoring requirements of 
certain drain pipes.  Due to the potential controversy regarding 
these changes, this rule change is being made as a separate 
filing so as not to affect the larger main proposed rule filing. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Under Section R156-56-
707 which is the Statewide Amendments to the IPC:  added 
amendments affecting Sections 308.7 and 308.7.1.  The 
proposed amendments eliminate the requirement for 
anchoring certain pipes.  Proponents of this requirement state 
this requirement is not necessary.  NOTE:  Paragraph 
numbering will be corrected via a nonsubstantive rule filing 
once the Division and Uniform Building Code Commission 
have determined which rule amendment filings should be 
made effective as there are four rule filings all affecting the 
same rule.  (DAR NOTE:  The four filings affecting Rule R156-
56 are:  an amendment to Section R156-56-704 under DAR 
No. 26151; an amendment to Section R156-56-707 under 
DAR No. 26152; an amendment to Rule R156-56 under DAR 
No. 26153; and an amendment to Rule R156-56 under DAR 
No. 26154 all in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-56-1, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a), 58-1-
202(1)(a), 58-56-4(2), and 58-56-6(2)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no cost to the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing to print this rule once 
all proposed amendments are made effective as this rule is no 
longer printed by the Division, but the rule is available on the 
Division's website.  The Division anticipates by eliminating the 
anchoring requirement that there would be a savings of 
approximately $15 per fitting.  The number of fittings is 
variable depending on the project.  The savings to the state 
budget as a result of this proposed amendment would depend 
on the projects in which the state may be involved. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The Division anticipates by eliminating 
the anchoring requirement that there would be a savings of 
approximately $15 per fitting.  The number of fittings is 
variable depending on the project.  The savings to local 
governments as a result of this proposed amendment would 
depend on the projects in which the local governments may 
be involved. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  The Division anticipates by eliminating the 
anchoring requirement that there would be a savings of 
approximately $15 per fitting.  The number of fittings is 
variable depending on the project.  The savings to owners of 
building projects as a result of this proposed amendment 
would depend on the projects in which they may be involved.  
The aggregate savings of this amendment is impossible to 
determine except on a project-by-project basis. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The Division 
anticipates by eliminating the anchoring requirement that there 
would be a savings of approximately $15 per fitting.  The 
number of fittings is variable depending on the project.  The 
savings to owners of building projects as a result of this 

proposed amendment would depend on the projects in which 
they may be involved. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The purpose of this rule 
change is to make amendments to the International Plumbing 
Code, by eliminating the anchoring and restraining 
requirements for certain drain pipes.  There is an estimated 
$15 savings per fitting; the number of fittings depends on the 
project.  Thus, there will be a positive fiscal impact to the 
construction business.  Proponents of this amendment claim 
that there will be no cost to homeowners from eliminating the 
anchor requirements, as the joints for pipes no longer required 
to be anchored are strong and would probably last longer than 
the pipes themselves.  The Uniform Building Code 
Commission will take comments on this rule filing at the public 
hearing and determine whether the amendment is 
appropriate.  Ted Boyer, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dan S. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6720, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dsjones@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  5/15/2003 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building, Room 
4112, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-56.  Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules. 
R156-56-707.  Statewide Amendments to the IPC. 
 The following are adopted as amendments to the IPC to be 
applicable statewide: 
 (1)  In Section 202, the definition for "Backflow Backpressure, 
Low Head" is deleted in its entirety. 
 (2)  In Section 202, the definition for "Backsiphonage" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Backsiphonage. The backflow of potentially contaminated, 
polluted or used water into the potable water system as a result of 
the pressure in the potable water system falling below atmospheric 
pressure of the plumbing fixtures, pools, tanks or vats connected to 
the potable water distribution piping. 
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 (3)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 Certified Backflow Preventer Assembly Tester. A person who 
has shown competence to test Backflow prevention assemblies to the 
satisfaction of the authority having jurisdiction under Subsection 19-
4-104(4), Utah Code Ann. (1953), as amended. 
 (4)  In Section 202, the definition for "Cross Connection" is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 
 Cross Connection. Any physical connection or potential 
connection or arrangement between two otherwise separate piping 
systems, one of which contains potable water and the other either 
water of unknown or questionable safety or steam, gas or chemical, 
whereby there exists the possibility for flow from one system to the 
other, with the direction of flow depending on the pressure 
differential between the two systems (see "Backflow"). 
 (5)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 Heat Exchanger (Potable Water). A device to transfer heat 
between two physically separated fluids (liquid or steam), one of 
which is potable water. 
 (6)  In Section 202, the definition for "Potable Water" is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 Potable Water. Water free from impurities present in amounts 
sufficient to cause disease or harmful physiological effects and 
conforming to the Titles 19-4 and 19-5, Utah Code Ann. (1953), as 
amended and the regulations of the public health authority having 
jurisdiction. 
 (7)  In Section 202, the following definition is added: 
 Trap Arm. That portion of a fixture drain between a trap weir 
and the vent fitting. 
 (8)  In Section 202, the definition for "Water Heater" is deleted 
and replaced with the following: 
 Water Heater. A closed vessel in which water is heated by the 
combustion of fuels or electricity and is withdrawn for use external 
to the system at pressures not exceeding 160 psig (1100 kPa (gage)), 
including the apparatus by which heat is generated, and all controls 
and devices necessary to prevent water temperatures from exceeding 
210 degrees Fahrenheit (99 degrees Celsius). 
 (9)  Section 304.3 Meter Boxes is deleted. 
 (10)  Section 304.4 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 304.4 Opening of Pipes. In or on the exterior habitable envelop 
of structures where openings have been made in walls, floors, or 
ceilings for the passage of pipes, the annular space between the 
opening and the pipe shall not exceed 1/2 inch (12.7 mm).  Openings 
exceeding 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) shall be closed and protected by the 
installation of approved metal collars that are securely fastened to 
the adjoining structure. 
 (11)  Section 305.8 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 305.8 Protection against physical damage. In concealed 
locations where piping, other than cast-iron or galvanized steel, is 
installed through holes or notches in studs, joists, rafters or similar 
members less than 1 1/2 inches (38 mm) from the nearest edge of the 
member, the pipe shall be protected by shield plates.  Protective 
shield plates shall be minimum of 1/16 inch-thick (1.6 mm) steel, 
shall cover the area of the pipe where the member is notched or 
bored, and shall be at least the thickness of the framing member 
penetrated. 
 (12)  Section 305.10 is added as follows: 
 Section 305.10 Improper Connections. No drain, waste, or vent 
piping shall be drilled and tapped for the purpose of making 
connections. 
 (13)  Sections 308.7 and 308.7.1 are deleted and replaced with 
the following: 

 308.7 Anchorage.  All draining piping except ABS, PVC, 
CPVC, PP or any other approved piping material having solvent 
weld or heat fused joints shall be anchored and restrained to prevent 
axial movement. 
 308.7.1 Location.  Restraints specified by an engineer and 
approved by the code official shall be provided for pipe sizes greater 
than 4 inches (102 mm), having changes in direction greater than 45 
degrees and at all changes in diameter greater than two pipe sizes. 
 (13)  Section 311.1 is deleted. 
 (14)  Section 312.9 is deleted in its entirety and replaced with 
the following: 
 312.9  Backflow assembly testing.  The premise owner or his 
designee shall have backflow prevention assemblies operation tested 
at the time of installation, repair and relocation and at least on an 
annual basis thereafter, or more frequently as required by the 
authority having jurisdiction.  Testing shall be performed by a 
Certified Backflow Preventer Assembly Tester.  The assemblies that 
are subject to this paragraph are the Spill Resistant Vacuum Breaker, 
the Pressure Vacuum Breaker Assembly, the Double Check 
Backflow Prevention Assembly, the Double Check Detector 
Assembly Backflow Preventer, the Reduced Pressure Principle 
Backflow Preventer, and Reduced Pressure Detector Assembly, and 
the spring loaded check valve assembly described in Section 
608.16.4. 
 (15)  A new section 403.7 is added as follows: 
 403.7 Hand sink location.  Hand sinks in commercial food 
establishments shall be located accessible to food preparation areas, 
food service areas, dishwashing areas, and toilet rooms in 
accordance with Rule R392-100, Utah Administrative Code.  Hand 
sinks in child care facilities shall be installed in accordance with 
R430-100-21, Utah Administrative Code. 
 (16)  Section 412.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 412.1 Approval. Floor drains shall be made of ABS, PVC, cast-
iron, stainless steel, brass, or other approved materials that are listed 
for the use. 
 (17)  Section 412.5 is added as follows: 
 412.5  Public toilet rooms. All public toilet rooms shall be 
equipped with at least one of the following: 
 1.  one floor drain with a wall mounted hose bibb; 
 2.  one floor drain with a deep seal trap; or 
 3.  at least one emergency floor drain with trap primer. 
 (18)  Section 418.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 418.1  Approval. Sinks shall conform to ANSI Z124.6, ASME 
A112.19.1, ASME A112.19.2, ASME A112.19.3, ASME 
A112.19.4, ASME A112.19.9, CSA B45.1, CSA B45.2, CSA B45.3, 
CSA B45.4 or NSF 2. 
 (19)  Section 502.4 is deleted in its entirety. 
 (20)  Section 502.6 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 502.6  Water Heater Seismic Bracing.  Water heaters shall be 
anchored or strapped in the upper third of the appliance to resist a 
horizontal force equal to one third the operating weight of the water 
heater, acting in any horizontal direction, or in accordance with the 
appliance manufacturers recommendations. 
 (21)  Section 504.6.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 504.6.2  Material. Relief valve discharge piping shall be of 
those materials listed in Section 605.5 or shall be tested, rated and 
approved for such use in accordance with ASME A112.4.1.  Piping 
from safety pan drains shall be of those material listed in Table 
605.5 and Table 701.1. 
 (22)  Section 504.7.1 is amended as follows: 
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 The measurement of "3/4 inch" in the last sentence of the 
paragraph is replaced with the measurement "1 1/2 inch". 
 (23)  Section 504.7.2 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 504.7.2 Pan drain termination.  The pan drain shall extend full-
size and terminate over a suitably located indirect waste receptor, 
floor drain or extend to the exterior of the building and terminate not 
less than 6 inches (152 mm) and not more than 24 inches (610 mm) 
above the adjacent ground surface.  When permitted by the 
administrative authority, the pan drain may be directly connected to 
a soil stack, waste stack, or branch drain.  The pan drain shall be 
individually trapped and vented as required in Section 907.1.  The 
pan drain shall not be directly or indirectly connected to any vent.  
The trap shall be provided with a trap primer conforming to ASSE 
1018 or ASSE 1044. 
 (24)  A new section 504.7.3 is added as follows: 
 504.7.3 Pan Designation.  A water heater pan shall be 
considered an emergency receptor designated to receive the 
discharge of water from the water heater only and shall not receive 
the discharge from any other fixtures, devises or equipment. 
 (25)  Section 602.3 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 602.3 Individual water supply.  Where a potable public water 
supply is not available, individual sources of potable water supply 
shall be utilized provided that the source has been developed in 
accordance with Sections 73-3-1, 73-3-3, and 73-3-25, Utah Code 
Ann. (1953), as amended, as administered by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Division of Water Rights. In addition, the quality 
of the water shall be approved by the local health department having 
jurisdiction.  The source shall supply sufficient quantity of water to 
comply with the requirements of this chapter. 
 (26)  Sections 602.3.1, 602.3.2, 602.3.3, 602.3.4, 602.3.5 and 
602.3.5.1 are deleted in their entirety. 
 (27)  Section 604.4.1 is added as follows: 
 604.4.1  Metering faucets. Self closing or metering faucets shall 
provide a flow of water for at least 15 seconds without the need to 
reactivate the faucet. 
 (28)  Section 606.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 606.2  Location of shutoff valves. Shutoff valves shall be 
installed in the following locations: 
 1.  On the fixture supply to each plumbing fixture. 
 Exceptions: 
 A.  bath tubs and showers. 
 B.  in individual guest rooms that are provided with unit shutoff 
valves in hotels, motels, boarding houses and similar occupancies. 
 2.  On the water supply pipe to each appliance or mechanical 
equipment. 
 (29)  Section 606.5 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 606.5  Water pressure booster systems. Water pressure booster 
systems shall be provided as required by Section 606.5.1 through 
606.5.11. 
 (30)  Section 606.5.11 is added as follows: 
 606.5.11  Prohibited installation. In no case shall a booster 
pump be allowed that will lower the pressure in the public main to 
less than 20 psi. 
 (31)  In Section 608.1, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 Connection without an air gap between potable water piping 
and sewer-connected waste shall not exist under any condition. 
 (32)  Table 608.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 

TABLE 608.1 
General Methods of Protection 

 
Assembly     Degree     Application     Installation Criteria 
(applicable    of 
standard)    Hazard 
Air Gap      High or     Backsiphonage    See Table 608.15.1 
(ASME A112.1.2) Low 
 
Reduced      High or     Backpressure or  a. The bottom of each 
Pressure       Low       Backsiphonage       RP assembly shall 
Principle Backflow       1/2" - 16"          be a minimum of 12 
Preventer (AWWA                              inches above the 
C511, USC-FCCCHR,                            ground or floor. 
ASSE 1013                                 b. RP assemblies shall 
CSA CNA/CSA-B64.4)                           NOT be installed in 
and Reduced Pressure                         a pit. 
Detector Assembly                         c. The relief valve on 
(ASSE 1047, USC-                             each RP assembly 
FCCCHR)                                      shall not be 
                                             directly connected 
                                             to any waste 
                                             disposal line, 
                                             including sanitary 
                                             sewer, storm drains, 
                                             or vents. 
                                          d. The assembly shall 
                                             be installed in a 
                                             horizontal position 
                                             only unless listed 
                                             or approved for 
                                             vertical 
                                             installation. 
 
Double Check   Low       Backpressure or  a. If installed in a 
Backflow                 Backsiphonage       pit, the DC assembly 
Prevention               1/2" - 16"          shall be installed 
Assembly                                     with a minimum of 
(AWWA C510,                                  12 inches of 
USC-FCCCHR,                                  clearance between 
ASSE 1015)                                   all sides of the 
Double Check                                 vault including 
Detector Assembly                            the floor and roof 
Backflow Preventer                           or ceiling with 
(ASSE 1048,                                  adequate room for 
USC-FCCCHR)                                  testing and 
                                             maintenance. 
                                          b. Shall be installed 
                                             in a horizontal 
                                             position unless 
                                             listed or approved 
                                             for vertical 
                                             installation. 
 
Pressure     High or     Backsiphonage    a. Shall not be 
Vacuum         Low       1/2" - 2"           installed in an 
Breaker                                      area that could be 
Assembly                                     subjected to 
(ASSE 1020,                                  backpressure or 
USC-FCCCHR)                                  back drainage 
                                             conditions. 
                                          b. Shall be installed 
                                             a minimum of 12 
                                             inches above all 
                                             downstream piping 
                                             and the highest 
                                             point of use. 
                                          c. Shall not be 
                                             installed below 
                                             ground or in a 
                                             vault or pit. 
                                          d. Shall be installed 
                                             in a vertical 
                                             position only. 
 
Spill        High or     Backsiphonage    a. Shall not be 
Resistant      Low       1/4" - 2"           installed in an 
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Vacuum                                       area that could 
Breaker                                      be subjected to 
(ASSE 1056,                                  backpressure or 
USC-FCCCHR)                                  back drainage 
                                             conditions. 
                                          b. Shall be installed 
                                             a minimum of 12 
                                             inches above all 
                                             downstream piping 
                                             and the highest 
                                             point of use. 
                                          c. Shall not be 
                                             installed below 
                                             ground or in a 
                                             vault or pit. 
                                          d. Shall be installed 
                                             in a vertical 
                                             position only. 
 
Atmospheric  High or     Backsiphonage    a. Shall not be 
Vacuum         Low                           installed in an 
Breaker                                      area that could be 
(ASSE 1001                                   subjected to 
USC-FCCCHR,                                  backpressure or back 
CSA CAN/CSA-B64.1.1                          drainage conditions. 
                                          b. Shall not be 
                                             installed where it 
                                             may be subjected to 
                                             continuous pressure 
                                             for more than 12 
                                             consecutive hours 
                                             at any time. 
                                          c. Shall be installed 
                                             a minimum of six 
                                             inches above all 
                                             downstream piping 
                                             and the highest 
                                             point of use. 
                                          d. Shall be installed 
                                             on the discharge 
                                             (downstream) side 
                                             of any valves. 
                                          e. The AVB shall be 
                                             installed in a 
                                             vertical position 
                                             only. 
 
General                                      The assembly owner, 
Installation                                 when necessary, 
Criteria                                     shall provide 
                                             devices or 
                                             structures to 
                                             facilitate testing, 
                                             repair, and/or 
                                             maintenance and to 
                                             insure the safety 
                                             of the backflow 
                                             technician. 
                                             Assemblies shall 
                                             not be installed 
                                             more than five feet 
                                             off the floor unless 
                                             a permanent platform 
                                             is installed. 
                                             The body of the 
                                             assembly shall not 
                                             be closer than 12 
                                             inches to any wall, 
                                             ceiling or 
                                             incumbrance, and 
                                             shall be accessible 
                                             for testing, repair 
                                             and/or maintenance. 
 
                                             In cold climates, 
                                             assemblies shall be 
                                             protected from 

                                             freezing by a means 
                                             acceptable to the 
                                             code official. 
 
                                             Assemblies shall 
                                             be maintained as 
                                             an intact assembly. 

 
 (33)  Table 608.1.1 is added as follows: 
 

TABLE 608.1.1 
Specialty Backflow Devices for low hazard use only 

 
     Device          Degree of     Application     Applicable 
                     Hazard                        Standard 
 
Antisiphon-type         Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1002 
Water Closet Flush                                 CSA CAN/ 
Tank Ball Cock                                     CSA-B125 
 
Dual check valve        Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1024 
Backflow Preventer                 or Backpressure 
                                   1/4" - 1" 
 
Backflow Preventer      Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1012 
with Intermediate     Residential  or Backpressure CSA CAN/ 
Atmospheric Vent      Boiler       1/4" - 3/4"     CSA-B64.3 
 
Dual check valve        Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1032 
type Backflow                      or Backpressure 
Preventer for                      1/4" - 3/8" 
Carbonated Beverage 
Dispensers/Post 
Mix Type 
 
Hose-connection         Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1011 
Vacuum Breaker                     1/2", 3/4", 1"  CSA CAN/ 
                                                   CSA-B64.2 
 
Vacuum Breaker          Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1019 
Wall Hydrants,                     3/4", 1"        CSA CAN/ 
Frost-resistant,                                   CSA-B64.2.2 
Automatic Draining 
Type 
 
Laboratory Faucet       Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1035 
Backflow Preventer                                 CSA CAN/ 
                                                   CSA-B64.7 
 
Hose Connection         Low        Backsiphonage   ASSE 1052 
Backflow Preventer                 1/2" - 1" 
Installation Guidelines:  The above specialty devices shall be 
installed in accordance with their listing and the manufacturer's 
instructions and the specific provisions of this chapter. 

 
 (34)  In Section 608.3.1, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 All piping and hoses shall be installed below the atmospheric 
vacuum breaker. 
 (35)  Section 608.7 is deleted in its entirety. 
 (36)  In Section 608.8, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 In addition each nonpotable water outlet shall be labeled with 
the words "CAUTION:  UNSAFE WATER, DO NOT DRINK". 
 (37)  In Section 608.11, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 The coating shall conform to NSF Standard 61 and application 
of the coating shall comply with the manufacturers instructions. 
 (38)  Section 608.13.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.13.3  Backflow preventer with intermediate atmospheric 
vent.  Backflow preventers with intermediate atmospheric vents 
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shall conform to ASSE 1012 or CAS CAN/CAS-B64.3.  These 
devices shall be permitted to be installed on residential boilers only 
where subject to continuous pressure conditions.  The relief opening 
shall discharge by air gap and shall be prevented from being 
submerged. 
 (39)  Section 608.13.4 is deleted in its entirety. 
 (40)  Section 608.15.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.15.3  Protection by a backflow preventer with intermediate 
atmospheric vent. Opening and outlets to residential boilers only 
shall be protected by a backflow preventer with an intermediate 
atmospheric vent. 
 (41)  Section 608.15.4 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.15.4  Protection by a vacuum breaker. Openings and 
outlets shall be protected by atmospheric-type or pressure-type 
vacuum breakers.  The critical level of the atmospheric vacuum 
breaker shall be set a minimum of 6 inches (152 mm) above the 
flood level rim of the fixture or device.  The critical level of the 
pressure vacuum breaker shall be set a minimum of 12 inches (304 
mm) above the flood level rim of the fixture or device. Ball cocks 
shall be set in accordance with Section 425.3.1. Vacuum breakers 
shall not be installed under exhaust hoods or similar locations that 
will contain toxic fumes or vapors. Pipe-applied vacuum breakers 
shall be installed not less than 6 inches (152 mm) above the flood 
level rim of the fixture, receptor or device served.  No valves shall 
be installed downstream of the atmospheric vacuum breaker. 
 (42)  In Section 608.15.4.2, the following is added at the end of 
the paragraph: 
 In climates where freezing temperatures occur, a listed, self-
draining frost proof hose bibb with an integral backflow preventer 
shall be used. 
 (43)  Section 608.16.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.1  Beverage dispensers. Potable water supply to 
carbonators shall be protected by a vented dual check valve meeting 
ASSE Standard 1022 and installed according to the requirements of 
this chapter. 
 (44)  In Section 608.16.2, the first sentence of the paragraph is 
deleted and replaced as follows: 
 608.16.2  The potable water supply to the residential boiler 
shall be equipped with a backflow preventer with an intermediate 
atmospheric vent complying with ASSE 1012 or CSA CAN/CSA 
B64.3. 
 (45)  Section 608.16.3 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.3  Heat exchangers.  Heat exchangers shall be separated 
from potable water by double-wall construction.  An air gap open to 
the atmosphere shall be provided between the two walls. 
 Exceptions: 
 1.  Single wall heat exchangers shall be permitted when all of 
the following conditions are met: 
 a.  Utilize a heat transfer medium of potable water or contains 
only substances which are recognized as safe by the United States 
Food and Drug Administration (FDA); 
 b.  The pressure of the heat transfer medium is maintained less 
than the normal minimum operating pressure of the potable water 
system; and 
 c.  The equipment is permanently labeled to indicate only 
additives recognized as safe by the FDA shall be used. 
 2.  Steam systems that comply with paragraph 1 above. 

 3.  Approved listed electrical drinking water coolers. 
 (46)  Section 608.16.4 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 608.16.4  Connections to automatic fire sprinkler 
systems and standpipe systems.  The potable water supply to 
automatic fire sprinkler and standpipe systems shall be protected 
against backflow by an alarm check valve and spring loaded check 
valve assembly as shown on the diagram entitled "Riser Detail", 
dated July 1, 1999, published by State and Local Building Codes 
Amendments, Department of Commerce, Division of Occupational 
and Professional Licensing, which is hereby adopted and 
incorporated by reference. 
 EXCEPTIONS: 
 1.  When systems are installed as a portion of the water 
distribution system in accordance with the requirements of this code 
and are not provided with a fire department connection, isolation of 
the water supply system shall not be required. 
 2.  Isolation of the water distribution system is not required for 
deluge, preaction or dry pipe systems. 
 3.  When the sprinkler supply line is less than four inches in 
diameter and a resilient seated spring loaded single check valve, 
approved and testable for back flow prevention is not available, then 
an alternate, approved for fire sprinkler system use, spring loaded 
check valve is allowed. 
 (47)  Section 608.16.4.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 Section 608.16.4.1  Additives or nonpotable source.  Where 
systems contain chemical additives or antifreeze, or where systems 
are connected to a nonpotable secondary water supply, the potable 
water supply shall be protected against backflow by a reduced 
pressure principle backflow preventor. Where chemical additives or 
antifreeze are added to only a portion of an automatic fire sprinkler 
or standpipe system, the reduced pressure principle backflow 
preventer shall be permitted to be located so as to isolate that portion 
of the system. 
 Exception: 
 1.  For systems that use antifreeze only consisting of strictly 
pure glycerine (C.P. or U.S.P. 96.5 percent grade) or propylene 
glycol, equipment specified in Section 608.16.4 shall be used. 
 (48)  Section 608.16.4.2 is added as follows: 
 Section 608.16.4.2  Testing Procedures. The testing procedures 
are as follows: 
 1.  The check valves are to be tested by a currently certified 
Class II Backflow Technician in accordance with Rule R309-302 
available from the Department of Environmental Quality. 
 2.  All other mechanical devices attached to or part of a class I 
or class II fire sprinkler system shall be tested by a licensed fire 
sprinkler contractor. 
 (49)  Section 608.16.6 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.6  Connections to lawn irrigation systems. The potable 
water supply to lawn irrigation systems shall be protected against 
backflow by an atmospheric-type vacuum breaker, a pressure-type 
vacuum breaker, a double check valve backflow preventer or a 
reduced pressure principle backflow preventer.  A valve shall not be 
installed downstream from an atmospheric vacuum breaker.  Where 
chemicals are introduced into the system, the potable water supply 
shall be protected against backflow by a reduced pressure principle 
backflow preventer. 
 (50)  Section 608.16.7 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
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 608.16.7  Chemical dispensers. Where chemical dispensers 
connect to the water distribution system, the water supply system 
shall be protected against backflow in accordance with Section 
608.13.1, Section 608.13.2, Section 608.13.5, Section 608.13.6 or 
Section 608.13.8. 
 (51)  Section 608.16.8 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.8  Portable cleaning equipment. Where the portable 
cleaning equipment connects to the water distribution system, the 
water supply system shall be protected against backflow in 
accordance with Section 608.13.1, Section 608.13.2 or Section 
608.13.8. 
 (52)  Section 608.16.9 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 608.16.9  Dental pump equipment or water syringe. Where 
dental pumping equipment or water syringes connects to the water 
distribution system, the water supply system shall be protected 
against backflow in accordance with Section 608.13.1, Section 
608.13.2, Section 608.13.5, Section 608.13.6 or Section 608.13.8. 
 (53)  Section 608.16.10 is added as follows: 
 608.16.10  Automatic and coin operated car washes. The water 
supply to an automatic or coin operated car wash shall be protected 
in accordance with Section 608.13.1 or Section 608.13.2. 
 (54)  Section 608.17 is deleted in its entirety. 
 (55)  Section 701.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 701.2  Sewer required. Every building in which plumbing 
fixtures are installed and all premises having drainage piping shall 
be connected to a public sewer where the sewer is within 300 feet of 
the property line in accordance with Section 10-8-38, Utah Code 
Ann., (1953), as amended; or an approved private sewage disposal 
system in accordance with Rule R317-5501 through R317-513 and 
Rule R317-5, Utah Administrative Code, as administered by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Water Quality. 
 (56)  Section 802.1.1 is deleted and replaced with the 
following: 
 802.1.1 Food handling. Equipment and fixtures utilized for the 
storage, preparation and handling of food shall discharge through an 
indirect waste pipe by means of an air gap. 
 Exception: This requirement shall not apply to dishwashing 
machines and dishwashing sinks.  If used for dishwashing and food 
preparation, a minimum of one compartment of the dishwashing 
sink shall be drained through an indirect waste pipe by means of an 
air gap or an air break. 
 (57)  Section 802.3 is amended as follows: 
 The term "waste receptors" in the last sentence of the paragraph 
is replaced with the term "floor sinks". 
 (58)  Section 802.3.2 is deleted in its entirety and replaced with 
the following: 
 802.3.2  Open hub waste receptors.  Waste receptors for clear 
water waste shall be permitted in the form of a hub or pipe extending 
not more than 1/2 inch above a water impervious floor and are not 
required to have a strainer. 
 (59)  Section 803.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 803.2 Neutralizing device required for corrosive wastes.  
Corrosive liquids, spent acids or other harmful chemicals that 
destroy or injure a drain, sewer, soil or waste pipe, or create noxious 
or toxic fumes or interfere with sewage treatment processes, shall 
not be discharged into the plumbing system without being 
thoroughly diluted, neutralized or treated by passing through an 
approved dilution or neutralizing device.  Such devices shall be 
provided with a sufficient supply of diluting water or neutralizing 

medium as to make the contents non-injurious before discharge into 
the drainage system.  The nature of the corrosive or harmful waste 
and the method of its treatment or dilution shall be approved prior to 
installation. 
 (60)  Section 904.1 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 904.1 Roof extensions.  All open vent pipes that extend through 
a roof shall be terminated at least 12 inches (304.8 mm) above the 
roof, except that where a roof is to be used for any purpose other 
than weather protection, the vent extension shall be run at least 7 
feet (2134 mm) above the roof. 
 (61)  In Section 904.6, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 Vents extending through the wall shall terminate not less than 
12 inches from the wall with an elbow pointing downward. 
 (62)  In Section 905.4, the following sentence is added at the 
end of the paragraph: 
 Horizontal dry vents below the flood level rim shall be 
permitted for floor drain and floor sink installations when installed 
in accordance with Sections 702.2, 905.2 and 905.3 and provided 
with a wall clean out. 
 (63)  Section 1002.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1002.2 Design of traps.  Fixture traps shall be self-scouring.  
Fixture traps shall not have interior partitions, except where such 
traps are integral with the fixture or where such traps are constructed 
of an approved material that is resistant to corrosion and 
degradation.  Slip joints shall be made with an approved elastomeric 
gasket and shall only be installed on the trap inlet, trap outlet and 
within the trap seal.  One slip joint fitting shall be allowed to be 
installed downstream of the trap. 
 (64)  Section 1002.8 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1002.8 Recess for trap connection.  A recess provided for 
connection of the underground trap, such as one serving a bathtub in 
slab-type construction, shall have sides and a bottom of corrosion-
resistant, insect- and vermin-proof construction.  The annular space 
between the pipe and the penetration shall not exceed 1/2 inch (12.7 
mm). 
 (65)  Section 1002.4.1 is added as follows: 
 1002.4.1  Emergency floor drains. Each emergency floor drain 
shall be installed with a trap seal primer.  Trap seal primer shall 
conform to ASSE 1018 or ASSE 1044. 
 (66)  Section 1003.3.5 is added as follows: 
 1003.3.5  Grease trap restriction.  Unless specifically required 
or permitted by the code official, no food waste grinder or 
dishwasher shall be connected to or discharge into any grease trap. 
 (67)  Section 1104.2 is deleted and replaced with the following: 
 1104.2  Combining storm and sanitary drainage prohibited. The 
combining of sanitary and storm drainage systems is prohibited. 
 (68)  Section 1108 is deleted in its entirety. 
 (69)  Section 1204 is amended to read: 
 1204  Fuel gas piping systems. All fuel gas piping systems shall 
be sized, installed, tested and placed in operation in accordance with 
the requirements of the International Mechanical Code. 
 (70)  Section 1205 is amended to read: 
 Section 1205 CNG GAS-DISPENSING SYSTEMS 
 1205.1  Dispenser protection. The gas dispenser shall have an 
emergency switch to shut off the power to the dispenser.  An 
approved backflow device that prevents the reverse flow of gas shall 
be installed on the gas supply pipe or in the gas dispenser. 
 1205.2  Ventilation. Gas-dispensing systems installed inside the 
structure shall be ventilated by mechanical means in accordance 
with the 1998 International Mechanical Code. 
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 1205.3  Compressed natural gas vehicular fuel systems. 
Compressed natural gas (CNG) fuel-dispensing systems for CNG-
fueled vehicles shall be designed and installed in accordance with 
NFPA 52 and the fire code as adopted by the State Fire Marshal. 
 (71)  Chapter 14, Referenced Standards, is amended as follows: 
 NSF - Standard Reference Number 61-99 - The following 
referenced in code section number is added:  608.11 
 The following reference standard is added: 
 

TABLE 
 
USC-     Foundation for Cross-Connection  Table 608.1 
FCCCHR   Control and Hydraulic Research 
9th      University of Southern California 
Edition  Kaprielian Hall 300 
Manual   Los Angeles CA 90089-2531 
of Cross 
Connection 
Control 

 
 (72)  Appendix C of the IPC, Gray Water Recycling Systems, 
shall not be adopted by any jurisdiction until approved by the 
Department of Health and the Department of Environmental Quality. 
 
KEY:  contractors, building codes, building inspection, licensing 
[January 1, ]2003 
Notice of Continuation May 16, 2002 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
58-56-1 
58-56-4(2) 
58-56-6(2)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 

R309-405 
Compliance and Enforcement:  

Administrative Penalty 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26171 
FILED:  04/15/2003, 10:36 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the rule change is to clarify the fining authority of 
the Drinking Water Board and to incorporate comments 
received during public hearings on the proposed changes held 
in January 2003. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendments make the 
rule more specific in the assessment and calculation of 
settlement amounts. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-4-104; and the Safe Drinking Water Act 
(amended Aug. 6, 1996), Title XIV, Section 1419 
 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  No impact--The rule change clarifies the 
fining authority of the Drinking Water Board. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No impact--The rule change clarifies 
the fining authority of the Drinking Water Board. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  No impact--The rule change clarifies the 
fining authority of the Drinking Water Board. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The compliance 
costs for affected persons will not change as a result of this 
rule change.  The amendment only clarifies the fining authority 
of the Drinking Water Board. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The Department of 
Environmental Quality agrees with the comments listed under 
the Cost or Savings statements and the Compliance costs for 
affected persons above.  The State is required to have 
administrative penalty authority in order to maintain primacy.  
Dianne R. Nielson, PhD., Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
DRINKING WATER 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ken Bousfield or Patti Fauver at the above address, by phone 
at 801-536-4207 or 801-536-4196, by FAX at 801-536-4211 or 
801-536-4211, or by Internet E-mail at kbousfield@utah.gov 
or pfauver@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Brown, Director 
 
 
 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 
R309-405.  Compliance and Enforcement:  Administrative 
Penalty. 
R309-405-4.  Assessment of a Penalty and Calculation of 
Settlement Amounts. 
 (1)  Where the Executive Secretary determines that a penalty 
may be appropriate, the Executive Secretary shall propose a penalty 
amount by sending a notice of agency action, under Title 63, chapter 
46b of the Administrative Procedures Act, to the public water 
system.  The notice of agency action shall provide that the public 
water system may submit comments and/or information on the 
proposed penalty to the Executive Secretary within 30 days.  The 
criteria the Executive Secretary will use in establishing a proposed 
penalty amount shall be as follows: 
 (a)[(1)]  Major Violations:  [$3,000 to $5,000]$600 to $1000 
per day for each day of violation.  This category includes violations 
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with high potential for impact on drinking water users, major 
deviations from the requirements of the rules or Safe Drinking 
Water Act, intentional fraud, falsification of data, violations which 
result in a public water system being considered by the 
Environmental Protection Agency to be: "Significant Non-
Compliers" (SNC), or violations that may have a substantial adverse 
effect on the regulatory program.  [This category also includes 
violations which result in an accumulation of 400 or more 
Improvement Priority System (IPS) points based on Section R309-
150, the Water System Rating Criteria.]Specific violations that are 
subject to a major violation category include but are not limited to 
the following: 
 (i)  Violations subject to $1000 per day penalty: 
 (A)  Any violation defined by R309-220-5 which would trigger 
a Tier 1 public notification. 
 (B)  Not having any elements of a source protection plan as 
required in R309-600 for ground water sources and R309-605 for 
surface water sources. 
 (C)  Failure to respond to an Administrative Order issued by the 
Drinking Water Board. 
 (D)  Introduction by the water system of a source water that has 
not been evaluated and approved for use as a public drinking water 
source under R309-204. 
 (E)  Construction or use of an interconnection to another public 
water system which has not been reviewed and approved in 
accordance with R309-550-9. 
 (F)  Having over 20 IPS points (Improvement Priority System 
points based on R309-150, the Water System Rating Criteria) 
specifically for operating pressures below 20 psi as required by 
R309-105-9. 
 (G)  Having 50 IPS points specifically for an inadequate well 
seal as required in R309-204. 
 (H)  Having over 50 IPS points (not including the deficiencies 
in (F) and (G) above) specifically assessed in the physical facility 
section of an IPS report. 
 (I)  Use of a surface water source without proper filtration 
treatment in accordance with R309-525 or 530. 
 (J)  Exceeding the rated water treatment plant capacity as 
determined by review under R309-525 or 530. 
 (K)  Insufficient disinfection contact time as evaluated under 
R309-215-7. 
 (ii)  Violations subject to $800 per day penalty: 
 (A)  Not having any of the required  components of a cross 
connection control program in place as required by R309-105-12. 
 (B)  Any violation of the turbidity requirements outlined in 
R309-215-9(4)(b)(iii -iv) for individual filter turbidities using 
consecutive readings taken 15 minutes apart. 
 (b)[(2)]  Moderate Violations:  [$2,000 to $3,000]$400 to $600 
per day for each day of violation. This category includes violations 
with a moderate potential for impact on drinking water users, 
moderate deviations from the requirements of the rules or Safe 
Drinking Water Act with some requirements implemented as 
intended, or violations that may have a significant notable adverse 
effect on the regulatory program.  [This category also includes 
violations which result in an accumulation of 300 or more IPS points 
based on Section R309-150, the Water System Rating 
Criteria.]Specific violations that are subject to a moderate violation 
category include but are not limited to the following: 
 (i)  Violations subject to $600 penalty: 
 (A)  Any violation defined by R309-220-6 which would trigger 
a Tier 2 public notification. 

 (B)  Having a disapproved status on a source protection plan 
(R309-600 and 605) for a period longer than 90 days. 
 (C)  Installation or use of disinfection equipment that has not 
been evaluated and approved for use under R309-520. 
 (D)  Having measured turbidity spikes of greater than 0.5 or 1.0 
NTU in two consecutive fifteen minute readings as defined in R309-
215-9(4)(b)(i) or (ii) respectively. 
 (E)  Insufficient source capacity, storage capacity, or delivery 
capacity as established by review of the system design under R309-
500 through 550. 
 (F)  Not complying with plan approval requirements as set forth 
in R309-500.  The term infrastructure includes but is not limited to 
the disinfection process, surface water treatment process, and 
physical facilities such as water treatment plants, storage reservoirs, 
sources and distribution piping. 
 (c)[(3)]  Minor Violations:  Up to [$2,000]$400 per day for 
each day of violation.  This category includes violations with a 
minor potential for impact on drinking water users, slight deviations 
from the rules or Act with most of the requirements implemented, or 
violations that may have a minor adverse effect on the regulatory 
program.  [This category also includes violations which result in an 
accumulation of 200 or more IPS points based on Section R309-150, 
the Water System Rating Criteria.]Specific violations that are 
subject to a minor violation category include but are not limited to 
the following: 
 (i)  Violations subject to $400 per day penalty: 
 (A)  Any violation defined by R309-220-7 which would trigger 
a Tier 3 public notification or a violation of the monitoring 
requirements of R309-204-4(5), except for turbidity monitoring for 
surface water treatment facilities and violations termed as minor 
monitoring as outlined in R309-150-3 (minor bacteriological routine 
monitoring violation, minor bacteriological repeat monitoring 
violation and minor chemical monitoring violation). 
 (B)  Failure to upgrade a Preliminary Evaluation Report for a 
source protection plan as required in R309-600 and 605. 
 (C)  Failure to update a source protection plan as required in 
R309-600 and 605. 
 (D)  Construction or use of a storage reservoir that has not been 
evaluated for use under R309-545. 
 (ii)  Violations subject to $200 per day penalty: 
 (A)  Lacking individual components of a cross connection 
control program as required by R309-105-12. 
 (B)  Not having a certified operator on staff as required in 
R309-300-5(10) after 1 year or 4 operator certification exam cycles. 
 (C)  Any minor monitoring violation as defined by R309-150-3 
 (minor bacteriological routine monitoring violation, minor 
bacteriological repeat monitoring violation and minor chemical 
monitoring violation). 
 (D)  Any violation of the turbidity requirements outlined in 
R309-215-9(4)(b)(i-ii) for individual filter turbidities using 
consecutive readings taken 15 minutes apart. 
 (2)  The Executive Secretary will assess the penalty, if any, 
after reviewing information submitted by the public water system.  
The public water system may appeal the assessment of the penalty to 
the Board by requesting a formal hearing under R309-115 and the 
Utah Administrative Procedures Act within 30 days of the date of 
assessment of the penalty. 
 
R309-405-7.  Penalty Policy for Civil Proceedings 
 Pursuant to Utah Code Annotated Section 19-4-109(2)(b), any 
person who willfully violates any rule or order made or issued 
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pursuant to the Utah Safe Drinking Water Act, Utah Code Annotated 
Section 19-4-101 et seq, is subject to a civil penalty of not more than 
$5000 per day for each day of violation.  The Board and Executive 
Secretary shall apply the provisions of R309-405-4, 5, and 6 in 
pursuing or resolving willful violations except that the penalty range 
per day for each day of violation for major violations shall be $3000 
to $5,000, for moderate violations shall be $2000 to $3000, and for 
minor violations shall be up to $2000. 
 
KEY:  drinking water, environmental protection, administrative 
procedures, penalt[y]ies 
[April 17, 2000]June 15, 2003 
19-4-104 
63-46b-4 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 

R309-700 
Financial Assistance:  State Drinking 

Water Project Revolving Loan Program 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26172 
FILED:  04/15/2003, 11:09 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Add 
application and initiation procedure for planning grants, as well 
as adding criteria to receive a planning grant and make minor 
changes in section numbering to allow the insertion of the 
above. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Add Subsection R309-700-
4(5) wherein the application and initiation procedures are 
outlined for planning grants.  Add Section R309-700-6 
outlining the criteria for planning grants and limits for such. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-4-104, and Title 73, Chapter 10c 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  None--Since the proposed amendments 
simply outline conditions under which applicants may be 
eligible to receive grant money to perform planning for future 
drinking water projects and such financial assistance is from a 
revolving fund separate from the general fund of the State 
there is no cost to the State Budget. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Little to None--Some community 
planning studies that previously would not have been 
considered for grant money may now be considered eligible 
for such. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  None--There is no increase or reduction in 
the impact these changes will have on persons performing 
engineering work or financial consulting for loan applicants. 
 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Some loan 
applicants may receive financial assistance for planning 
purposes without need to repay as a result of the changes. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The department agrees that 
the proposed changes to this rule will have no detrimental 
impact on water systems applying for or receiving financial 
assistance, nor will it impact any of the affiliated businesses 
such as engineering firms, escrow agents, bond counselors, 
or financial advisors which provide services to the applicants. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
DRINKING WATER 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Michael Georgeson or Bill Birkes at the above address, by 
phone at 801-536-4197 or 801-536-4201, by FAX at 801-536-
4211 or 801-536-4211, or by Internet E-mail at 
mgeorgeson@utah.gov or bbirkes@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Brown, Director 
 
 
 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 
R309-700. Financial Assistance: State Drinking Water Project 
Revolving Loan. 
R309-700-3.  Definitions and Eligibility. 
 Title 73, Chapter 10c, subsection 4(2)(a) limits eligibility for 
financial assistance under this section to political subdivisions. 
 Definitions for terms used in this rule are given in R309-110.  
Definitions for terms specific to this rule are given below. 
 "Board" means the Drinking water Board. 
 "Drinking Water Project" means any work or facility necessary 
or desirable to provide water for human consumption and other 
domestic uses.  Its scope includes collection, treatment, storage, and 
distribution facilities. 
 "Project Costs" include the cost of acquiring and constructing 
any project including, without limitation: the cost of acquisition and 
construction of any facility or any modification, improvement, or 
extension of such facility; any cost incident to the acquisition of any 
necessary project, easement or right of way, except property 
condemnation cost, which are not eligible costs; engineering or 
architectural fees, legal fees, fiscal agents' and financial advisors' 
fees; any cost incurred for any preliminary planning to  determine 
the economic and engineering feasibility of a proposed project; costs 
of economic investigations and studies, surveys, preparation of 
designs, plans, working drawings, specifications and the inspection 
and supervision of the construction of any facility; Hardship Grant 
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Assessments and interest accruing on loans made under this program 
during acquisition and construction of the project; and any other cost 
incurred by the Board or the Department of Environmental Quality, 
in connection with the issuance of obligation to evidence any loan 
made to it under the law. 
 "Drinking Water Project Obligation" means any bond, note or 
other obligation issued to finance all or part of the cost of acquiring, 
constructing, expanding, upgrading or improving a drinking water 
project, including, but not limited to, preliminary planning, studies, 
surveys, engineering or architectural fees, and preparation of plans 
and specifications. 
 "Credit Enhancement Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an 
eligible water system for the purpose of providing methods and 
assistance to eligible water systems to improve the security for and 
marketability of drinking water project obligations. 
 "Eligible Water System" means any community drinking water 
system which is owned by a political subdivision of the State. 
 "Interest Buy-Down Agreement" means any agreement entered 
into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible water 
system, for the purpose of reducing the cost of financing incurred by 
an eligible water system on bonds issued by the subdivision for 
project costs. 
 "Financial Assistance" means a project loan, credit 
enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or technical 
assistance. 
 "Interest" means an assessment applied to loan recipients.  The 
assessment shall be calculated as a percentage of principal. 
 "Emergency" means an unexpected, serious occurrence or[of] 
situation requiring urgent or immediate action.  With regard to a 
water system this would be a situation resulting from the failure of 
equipment or other infrastructure, or contamination of the water 
supply, which threatens the health and / or safety of the public / 
water users. 
 "Technical Assistance" means financial assistance provided for 
a feasibility study or master plan, to identify and / or correct system 
deficiencies, to help a water system overcome other technical 
problems.  The system receiving said technical assistance may or 
may not be required to repay the funds received.  If repayment is 
required, the Board will establish the terms of repayment. 
 
R309-700-4.  Application and Project Initiation Procedures. 
 The following procedures must normally be followed to obtain 
financial assistance from the Board: 
 (1)  It is the responsibility of the applicant to obtain the 
necessary financial, legal and engineering counsel to prepare an 
effective and appropriate financial assistance agreement, including 
cost effectiveness evaluations of financing methods and alternatives, 
for consideration by the Board. 
 (2)  A completed application form, project engineering report 
as appropriate, and financial capability assessment are submitted to 
the Board.  Comments from the local health department and/or 
district engineer shall accompany the application.  Comments from 
other interested parties such as an association of governments will 
also be accepted. 
 (3)  The staff prepares an engineering and financial feasibility 
report on the project for presentation to the Board. 
 (4)  The Board "Authorizes" financial assistance for the project 
on the basis of the feasibility report prepared by the staff, designates 
whether a loan, credit enhancement agreement, interest buy-down 
agreement, hardship grant or any combination thereof, is to be 

entered into, and approves the project schedule (see R309-700-
13[12]).  The Board shall authorize a hardship grant only if it 
determines that other financing alternatives are unavailable or 
unreasonably expensive to the applicant.  If the applicant seeks 
financial assistance in the form of a loan of amounts in the security 
account established pursuant to Chapter 10c, Title 73 "Utah Code", 
which loan is intended to provide direct financing of projects costs, 
then the Board shall authorize such loan only if it determines that 
credit enhancement agreements, interest buy-down agreements and 
other financing alternatives are unavailable or unreasonably 
expensive to the applicant or that a loan represents the financing 
alternative most economically advantageous to the state and the 
applicant; provided, that for purposes of this paragraph and for 
purposes of Section 73-10c-4(2), Utah Code, the term "loan" shall 
not include loans issued in connection with interest buy-down 
agreements as described in R309-700-11[10](2) or in connection 
with any other interest buy-down arrangement. 
 (5)  Planning Grant - The applicant must submit an application 
provided by the Division and attach a scope of work, cost estimates, 
and a draft contract for planning services. 
 (6)[(5)]  Planning [Advance]Loan - The applicant requesting a 
Planning [Advance]Loan must [attend a preapplication meeting, 
]complete an application for a Planning [Advance]Loan, prepare a 
plan of study, satisfactorily demonstrate procurement of planning 
services, and prepare a draft contract for planning services including 
financial evaluations. 
 (7)[(6)] Design [Advance]Grant or Loan - The applicant 
requesting a Design [Advance]Grant or Loan must have completed 
an engineering plan which meets program requirements. 
 (8)[(7)] The project applicant must demonstrate public support 
for the project. 
 (9)[(8)] For financial assistance mechanisms when the 
applicant's bond is purchased by the Board, the project applicant's 
bond documentation, including an opinion from legal counsel 
experienced in bond matters that the drinking water project 
obligation is a valid and binding obligation of the applicant (see 
R309-700-14[13](3)), must be submitted to the Assistant Attorney 
General for preliminary approval and the applicant shall publish a 
Notice of Intent to issue bonds in a newspaper of general circulation 
pursuant to the Utah Code, Section 11-14-21.  For financial 
assistance mechanisms when the applicant's bond is not purchased 
by the Board, the applicant shall submit a true and correct copy of an 
opinion from legal counsel experienced in bond matters that the 
drinking water project obligation is a valid and binding obligation of 
the applicant. 
 (10)[(9)]  Hardship Grant - The Board executes a grant 
agreement setting forth the terms and conditions of the grant. 
 (11)[(10)]  The Board issues a Plan Approval for plans and 
specifications and concurs in bid advertisement. 
 (12)[(11)]  If a project is designated to be financed by a loan or 
an interest buy-down agreement as described in R309-700-
11[10](2), from the Board, to cover any part of project costs an 
account supervised by the applicant and the Board will be 
established by the applicant to assure that loan funds are used only 
for qualified project costs. If financial assistance for the project is 
provided by the Board in the form of a credit enhancement or 
interest buy-down agreement as described in R309-700-11[10](1) all 
project funds will be maintained in a separate account and a 
quarterly report of project expenditures will be provided to the 
Board. 
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 (13)[(12)]  For a revenue bond a User Charge Ordinance must 
be submitted to the Board for review and approval to insure 
adequate provisions for debt retirement and/or operation and 
maintenance.  For a general obligation bond, a User Charge 
Ordinance must be submitted to the Board for review and approval 
to insure the system will have adequate resources to provide 
acceptable service. 
 (14)[(13)]  A plan of operation, for the project after 
construction is complete, including adequate staffing with an 
operator, certified at the appropriate level in accordance with R309-
300[301] in responsible charge, training, and start up procedures to 
assure efficient operation and maintenance of the facilities, must be 
submitted by the applicant and approved by the Board. 
 (15)[(14)]  The applicant's contract with its engineer must be 
submitted to the Board for review to determine that there will be 
adequate engineering involvement, including project supervision and 
inspection, to successfully complete the project. 
 (16)[(15)]  The applicant's attorney must provide an opinion to 
the Board regarding legal incorporation of the applicant, valid legal 
title to rights-of-way and the project site, and adequacy of bidding 
and contract documents. 
 (17)[(16)]  A position fidelity bond must be provided for the 
treasurer or other local staff handling the repayment funds and 
revenues produced by the applicant's system. 
 (18)[(17)]  CREDIT ENHANCEMENT AGREEMENT AND 
INTEREST BUY-DOWN AGREEMENT ONLY - The Board 
issues the credit enhancement agreement or interest buy-down 
agreement setting forth the terms and conditions of the security or 
other forms of assistance provided by the agreement and notifies the 
applicant to sell the bonds (See R309-700-10[9] and -11[10]). 
 (19)[(18)]  CREDIT ENHANCEMENT AGREEMENT AND 
INTEREST BUY-DOWN AGREEMENT ONLY - The applicant 
sells the bonds on the open market and notifies the Board of the 
terms of sale.  If a credit enhancement agreement is being utilized, 
the bonds sold on the open market shall contain the legend required 
by Section 73-10c-6(3)(d), Utah Code.  If an interest buy-down 
agreement is being utilized, the bonds sold on the open market shall 
bear a legend which makes reference to the interest buy-down 
agreement and states that such agreement does not constitute a 
pledge of or charge against the general revenues, credit or taxing 
powers of the state and that the holder of any such bond may look 
only to the applicant and the funds and revenues pledged by the 
applicant for the payment of interest and principal on the bonds. 
 (20)[(19)]  The applicant opens bids for the project. 
 (21)[(20)]  LOAN ONLY - The Board gives final approval to 
purchase the bonds and execute the loan contract (see R309-700-
4(24[23])). 
 (22)[(21)]  LOAN ONLY - The final closing of the loan is 
conducted. 
 (23)[(22)]  A preconstruction conference shall be held. 
 (24)[(23)]  The applicant issues a written notice to proceed to 
the contractor. 
 (25)[(24)]  The applicant must have in place a Water 
Management and Conservation Plan. 
 
R309-700-5.  Loan, Credit Enhancement, Interest Buy-Down, 
and Hardship Grant Consideration Policy. 
 (1)  Board Priority Determination.  In determining the priority 
for financial assistance the Board shall consider: 

 (a)  The ability of the applicant to obtain funds for the drinking 
water project from other sources or to finance such project from its 
own resources; 
 (b)  The ability of the applicant to repay the loan or other 
project obligations; 
 (c)  Whether a good faith effort to secure all or part of the 
services needed from the private sector through privatization has 
been made; and 
 (d)  Whether the drinking water project: 
 (i)  meets a critical local or state need; 
 (ii)  is cost effective; 
 (iii)  will protect against present or potential hazards; 
 (iv)  is needed to comply with the minimum standards of the 
Federal Safe Drinking Water Act, 42 USC, 300f, et. seq. or similar 
or successor statute; 
 (v)  is needed to comply with the minimum standards of the 
Utah Safe Drinking Water Act, Title 19, Chapter 4 or similar or 
successor statute. 
 (vi) is needed as a result of an Emergency. 
 (e)  The overall financial impact of the proposed project on the 
citizens of the community, including direct and overlapping 
indebtedness, tax levies, user charges, impact or connection fees, 
special assessments, etc., resulting from the proposed project, and 
anticipated operation and maintenance costs versus the median 
income of the community; 
 (f)  Consistency with other funding source commitments which 
may have been obtained for the project; 
 (g)  The point total from an evaluation of the criteria listed in 
Table 1; 
 

TABLE 1 
 
NEED FOR PROJECT 
                                           POINTS 
1. PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. There is evidence that waterborne 
   illnesses have occurred                     15 
B. There are reports of illnesses which 
   may be waterborne                           10 
C. No reports of waterborne illness, but 
   high potential for such exists               5 
D. No reports of possible waterborne 
   illness and low potential for such exists    0 
 
2. WATER QUALITY RECORD (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Primary Maximum Contaminant Level (MCL) 
   violation more than 6 times in preceding 
   12 months                                    15 
B. In the past 12 months violated a primary 
   MCL 4 to 6 times                             12 
C. In the past 12 months violated a primary 
   MCL 2 to 3 times or exceeded the Secondary 
   Drinking Water Standards by double            9 
D. In the past 12 months violated MCL 1 time     6 
E. Violation of the Secondary Drinking Water 
   Standards                                     5 
F. Does not meet all applicable MCL goals        3 
G. Meets all MCLs and MCL goals                  0 
 
3. VERIFICATION OF POTENTIAL SHORTCOMINGS (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Has had sanitary survey within the last 
   year                                          5 
B. Has had sanitary survey within the last 
   five years                                    3 
C. Has not had sanitary survey within last 
   five years                                    0 
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4. GENERAL CONDITIONS OF EXISTING FACILITIES (SELECT ALL 
   THOSE WHICH ARE TRUE AND PROJECT WILL REMEDY) 
A. The necessary water treatment facilities do 
   not exist, not functioning, functioning but 
   do not meet the requirements of the Utah 
   Public Drinking Water Rules (UPDWR)          10 
B. Sources are not developed or protected 
   according to UPDWR                           10 
C. Source capacity is not adequate to meet 
   current demands and system occasionally 
   goes dry or suffers from low pressures       10 
D. Significant areas within distribution 
   system have inadequate fire protection        8 
E. Existing storage tanks leak excessively 
   or are structurally flawed                    5 
F. Pipe leak repair rate is greater than 
   4 leaks per 100 connections per year          2 
G. Existing facilities are generally sound 
   and meeting existing needs                    0 
 
5. ABILITY TO MEET FUTURE DEMANDS (Select One) 
 
A. Facilities have inadequate capacity and 
   cannot reliably meet current demands         10 
B. Facilities will become inadequate within 
   the next three years                          5 
C. Facilities will become inadequate within 
   the next five to ten years                    3 
 
6. OVERALL URGENCY  (Select One) 
 
A. System is generally out of water.  There 
   is no fire protection or water for 
   flushing toilets                             10 
B. System delivers water which cannot be 
   rendered safe by boiling                     10 
C. System delivers water which can be 
   rendered safe by boiling                      8 
D. System is occasionally out of water           5 
E. Situation should be corrected, but is 
   not urgent                                    0 
 
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR NEED FOR 
PROJECT                                        100 

 
 (h)  Other criteria that the Board may deem appropriate. 
 (2)  Drinking Water Board Financial Assistance Determination. 
 The amount and type of financial assistance offered will be based 
on the following considerations: 
 (a)  An evaluation based upon the criteria in Tables 2 and 3 of 
the applicant's financial condition, the project's impact on the 
community, and the applicant's commitment to operating a 
responsible water system. 
 The interest rate to be charged by the Board for its financial 
assistance will be computed using the number of points assigned to 
the project from Table 2 to reduce, in a manner determined by Board 
resolution from time to time, the most recent market yields for "A" 
rated, tax exempt, 20 year municipal revenue bonds.  The interest 
rate so calculated will be assigned to the financial assistance.  This 
interest rate may be further reduced, in a manner determined by 
Board resolution from time to time, by the ratio of the number of 
points assigned to the applicant's water system from Table 3 to the 
total points available. 
 For hardship grant consideration, exclusive of planning and 
design grants or loans described in Sections R309-700-6, 7 and 
8[advances for planning and design], the estimated annual cost of 
drinking water service for the average residential user should exceed 
1.75% of the median adjusted gross household income from the 
most recent available State Tax Commission records.  The Board 
will also consider the applicant's level of contribution to the project. 

 
TABLE 2 

 
FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS 

                                                  POINTS 
1. COST EFFECTIVENESS RATIO (SELECT ONE) 
A. Project cost $0 to $500 per benefitting 
   connection                                       15 
B. $501 to $1,500                                   12 
C. $1,501 to $2,000                                  9 
D. $2,001 to $3,000                                  6 
E. $3,001 to $5,000                                  3 
F. $5,001 to $10,000                                 1 
G. Over $10,000                                      0 
 
2. PRIVATE SECTOR OR OTHER FUNDING, BUT NOT OWN CONTRIBUTION (SELECT 
ONE) 
 
A. A reasonable search for it has been made without 
   success                                          10 
B. Will provide greater than 50% of project cost    10 
C. Will provide 25 to 49% of project cost            8 
D. Will provide 10 to 24% of project cost            5 
E. Will provide 1 to 9% of project cost              3 
F. Has not been investigated                         0 
 
3. CURRENT LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Less than 70% of State Median AGI                15 
B. 71 to 90% of State Median AGI                    12 
C. 91 to 115% of State Median AGI                    9 
D. 116 to 135% of State Median AGI                   6 
E. 136 to 160% of State Median AGI                   3 
F. Greater than 161% of State Median AGI             0 
 
4. APPLICANT'S COMMITMENT TO PROJECT 
4A. PROJECT FUNDING CONTRIBUTED BY APPLICANT (SELECT ONE) 
 
a. Greater than 25% of project funds                15 
b. 10 to 25% of project funds                       12 
c. 5 to 9% of project funds                          9 
d. 2 to 4% of project funds                          6 
e. Less than 2% of project funds                     0 
 
4B. RESIDENTS ARE WILLING TO (AND IT IS CONFIRMED BY RESIDENTS) 
INCREASE WATER BILL BY (SELECT ONE) 
a. Greater than $10.00 per month per connection     15 
b. $5.01 to $10.00 per month per connection         11 
c. $2.51 to $5.00 per month per connection           7 
d. $1.00 to $2.50 per month per connection           3 
e. Less than $1.00 per month per connection          0 
 
5. ABILITY TO REPAY LOAN 
5A. WATER BILL (INCLUDING TAXES) AFTER PROJECT IS 
    BUILT RELATIVE TO LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS 
    INCOME (SELECT ONE) 
 
a. Greater than 2.50% of local median AGI           15 
b. 2.01 to 2.50% of local median AGI                11 
c. 1.51 to 2.00% of local median AGI                 7 
d. 1.01 to 1.50% of local median AGI                 3 
e. 0 to 1.00% of local median AGI                    0 
 
5B. TOTAL DEBT LOAD (PRINCIPAL ONLY) OF APPLICANT 
    AFTER PROJECT IS CONSTRUCTED (INCLUDING WATER 
    AND SEWER DEBT, LIGHTING DEBT, SCHOOL DEBT, 
    ETC.) (SELECT ONE) 
 
a. Greater than 12% of fair market value            15 
b. 8.1 to 12% of fair market value                  12 
c. 4.1 to 8.0% of fair market value                  9 
d. 2.1 to 4.0% of fair market value                  6 
e. 1.0 to 2.0% of fair market value                  3 
f. Less than 1% of fair market value                 0 
 
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR FINANCIAL NEED           100 
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TABLE 3 
 

SPECIAL INCENTIVES 
 
                                              POINTS 
1. Applicant has secured adequate protection 
   zones for all existing drinking water 
   sources                                           5 
2. Applicant has developed a master plan to 
   guide water system growth in the 
   next 20 years                                     5 
3. Applicant has an established replacement fund     5 
4. Project will create a new regionalization 
   plan or maintain integrity of existing 
   regionalization plan if regionalization 
   is possible in the judgement of the Board. 
   If not, the points will not be assigned and 
   the total possible points will be 35.              5 
5. Applicant has established a backflow 
   prevention program                                5 
6. Applicant has established a rate structure to 
   encourage water conservation                      5 
7. Project is necessary because of unforeseen 
   circumstances                                     5 
8. Applicant has a written emergency response 
   plan                                              5 
 
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR SPECIAL INCENTIVES        40 

 
 (b)  Optimizing return on the security account while still 
allowing the project to proceed. 
 (c)  Local political and economic conditions. 
 (d)  Cost effectiveness evaluation of financing alternatives. 
 (e)  Availability of funds in the security account. 
 (f)  Environmental need. 
 (g)  Other criteria the Board may deem appropriate. 
 
R309-700-6.  Planning Grant. 
 (1)  A Planning Grant can only be made to a political 
subdivision with a population less than 10,000 people which 
demonstrates an urgent need to evaluate its drinking water system's 
technical, financial and managerial capacity, meet the Hardship 
Grant Criteria and lacks the financial means to accomplish such an 
evaluation.  A Planning Grant will be limited to $10,000 or the 
estimated cost of the planning effort, whichever is less unless 
otherwise approved by the Board. 
 (2)  The applicant must demonstrate that all funds necessary to 
complete project planning will be available prior to commencing the 
planning effort.  The Planning Grant will be deposited with these 
other funds into a supervised escrow account at the time the grant 
agreement between the applicant and the Board is executed. 
 (3)  Failure on the part of the recipient of a Planning Grant to 
implement the findings of the plan may prejudice any future 
applications for drinking water project funding. 
 (4)  The recipient of a Planning Grant must first receive written 
approval for any cost increases or changes to the scope of work. 
 (5)  The Planning Grant recipient must provide a copy of the 
planning project results to the Division.  The planning effort shall 
conform to rules R309. 
 
R309-700-7[6].  Planning Advance. 
 (1)  A Planning [advance]Loan can only be made to a political 
subdivision which demonstrates a financial hardship which prevents 
the completion of project planning. 
 (2)  A Planning [Advance]Loan is made to a political 
subdivision with the intent to provide interim financial assistance for 
project planning until the long-term project financing can be 

secured.  [Once the long-term project financing has been secured, 
the]The Planning [Advance]Loan must be [expeditiously ]repaid to 
the Board unless the payment obligation is waived by the Board. 
 (3)  The applicant must demonstrate that all funds necessary to 
complete project planning will be available prior to commencing the 
planning effort.  The Planning [Advance]Loan will be deposited 
with these other funds into a supervised escrow account at the time 
the [grant]loan agreement between the applicant and the Board is 
executed.[ 
 (4)  Failure on the part of the recipient of a Planning Advance 
to implement the construction project may authorize the Board to 
seek repayment of the Advance on such terms and conditions as it 
may determine.] 
 (4)[(5)]  The recipient of a Planning [Advance]Loan must first 
receive written approval for any cost increases or changes to the 
scope of work. 
 
R309-700-8[7].  Design [Advance]Grant or Loan. 
 (1)  A Design [Advance]Grant or Loan can only be made to a 
political subdivision which demonstrates a financial hardship which 
prevents the completion of project design.  For purposes of this 
Section R309-700-8, project design means engineering plans and 
specifications, construction contracts, and associated work. 
 (2)  A Design [Advance]Grant or Loan is made to a political 
subdivision with the intent to provide interim financial assistance for 
the completion of the project design until the long-term project 
financing can be secured.  [Once the long-term project financing has 
been secured, the]The [Project ]Design [Advance]Grant or Loan 
must be [expeditiously ]repaid to the Board unless the payment 
obligation is waived by the Board. 
 (3)  The applicant must demonstrate that all funds necessary to 
complete the project design will be available prior to commencing 
the design effort.  The Design [Advance]Grant or Loan will be 
deposited with these other funds into a supervised escrow account at 
the time the grant or loan agreement between the applicant and the 
Board is executed.[ 
 (4)  Failure on the part of the recipient of a Design Advance to 
implement the construction project may authorize the Board to seek 
repayment of the Advance on such terms and conditions as it may 
determine.] 
 (4)[(5)]  The recipient of a Design [Advance]Grant or Loan 
must first receive written approval for any cost increases or changes 
to the scope of work. 
 
R309-700-9[8].  Technical Assistance. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R309-700-10[9].  Credit Enhancement Agreements. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R309-700-11[10].  Interest Buy-Down Agreements. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R309-700-12[11].  Loans. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R309-700-13[12].  Project Authorization (Reference R309-700-
4(4)). 
. . . . . . . 
 
R309-700-14[13].  Financial Evaluations. 
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 (1)  The Board considers it a proper function to assist and give 
direction to project applicants in obtaining funding from such State, 
Federal or private financing sources as may be available to achieve 
the most effective utilization of resources in meeting the needs of the 
State.  This may also include joint financing arrangements with 
several funding agencies to complete a total project. 
 (2)  Hardship Grants will be evidenced by a grant agreement. 
 (3)  In providing any form of financial assistance in the form of 
a loan, the Board may purchase bonds of the applicant only if the 
bonds are accompanied by a legal opinion of recognized municipal 
bond counsel to the effect that the bonds are legal and binding under 
applicable Utah law (including, if applicable, the Utah Municipal 
Bond Act).  For bonds of $150,000 or less the Board will not require 
this opinion. 
 (a)  In providing any form of financial assistance in the form of 
a loan, the Board may purchase either a taxable or non-taxable 
bonds; provided that it shall be the general preference of the Board 
to purchase bonds issued by the applicant only if the bonds are tax 
exempt and are accompanied by a legal opinion of recognized 
municipal bond counsel to the effect that interest on the bonds is 
exempt from federal income taxation.  Such an opinion must be 
obtained by the applicant in the following situations: 
 (i)  Bonds which are issued to finance a project which will also 
be financed in part at any time by the proceeds of other bonds which 
are exempt from federal income taxation. 
 (ii)  Bonds which are not subject to the arbitrage rebate 
provisions of Section 148 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or 
successor provision of similar intent), including, without limitation, 
bonds covered by the "small governmental units" exemption 
contained in Section 148(f)(4)(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986 (or any successor provision of similar intent) and bonds which 
are not subject to arbitrage rebate because the gross proceeds from 
the loan will be completely expended within six months after the 
issuance of such bonds. 
 (b)  In any other situations, the Board may purchase taxable 
bonds if it determines, after evaluating all relevant circumstances 
including the applicant's ability to pay, that the purchase of the 
taxable bonds is in the best interests of the State and applicant. 
 (c)  If more than 25 percent of the project is to serve industry, 
bond counsel must evaluate the loan to ensure the tax exempt status 
of the loan fund. 
 (d)  Revenue bonds purchased by the Board shall be secured by 
a pledge of water system revenues, and it is the general policy of the 
Board that the pledge of water revenues for the payment of debt 
service (principal and/or interest) on a particular revenue bond be on 
a parity with the pledge of those water revenues as security for the 
debt service payments on all other bonds or other forms of 
indebtedness which are secured by the water revenues. 
 (4)  The Board will consider the financial feasibility and cost 
effectiveness evaluation of the project in detail.  The financial 
capability assessment must be completed as a basis for the review. 
The Board will generally use these reports to determine whether a 
project will be Authorized to receive a loan, credit enhancement 
agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or hardship grant 
(Reference R309-700-10, -11 and -12[8, -9 and -10]).  If a project is 
Authorized to receive a loan, the Board will establish the portion of 
the construction cost to be included in the loan and will set the terms 
for the loan.  The Board will require the applicants to repay the loan 
as rapidly as is reasonably consistent with the financial capability of 
the applicant.  It is the Board's intent to avoid repayment schedules 
which would exceed the design life of the project facilities. 

 (5)  Normal engineering and investigation costs incurred by the 
Department of Environmental Quality or Board during preliminary 
project investigation and prior to Board Authorization will not 
become a charge to the applicant if the project is found infeasible, 
denied by the Board, or if the applicant withdraws the Application 
prior to the Board's Authorization.  If the credit enhancement 
agreement or interest buy-down agreement does not involve a loan 
of funds from the Board, then administrative costs will not be 
charged to the project.  However, if the project is Authorized to 
receive a loan or grant of funds from the Board, all costs from the 
beginning of the project will be charged to the project and paid by 
the applicant as a part of the total project cost.  If the applicant 
decides not to build the project after the Board has Authorized the 
project, all costs accruing after the Authorization will be reimbursed 
by the applicant to the Board. 
 (6)  The Board shall determine the date on which the scheduled 
payments of principal and interest will be made.  In fixing this date, 
all possible contingencies shall be considered, and the Board may 
allow the system user one year of actual use of the project facilities 
before the first repayment is required. 
 (7)  The applicant shall furnish the Board with acceptable 
evidence that the applicant is capable of paying its share of the 
construction costs during the construction period. 
 (8)  LOANS AND INTEREST BUY-DOWN AGREEMENTS 
ONLY - The Board may require, as part of the loan or interest buy-
down agreement, that any local funds which are to be used in 
financing the project be committed to construction prior to or 
concurrent with the committal of State funds. 
 (9)  The Board will not forgive the applicant of any payment 
after the payment is due. 
 (10)  The Board will require a debt service reserve account be 
established by the applicant at or before the loan is closed.  Deposits 
to that account shall be made at least annually in the amount of one-
tenth of the annual payment on the bond(s) purchased by the Board 
and shall continue until the total amount in the debt service reserve 
fund is equal to the annual payment.  The debt service reserve 
account shall be continued until the bond is retired.  Annual 
reports/statements will be required.  Failure to maintain the reserve 
account will constitute a technical default on the bond(s) and may 
result in penalties being assessed.  Annual reports/statements will be 
required. 
 (11)  The Board will require a capital facilities replacement 
reserve account be established at or before the loan is closed.  
Deposits to that account shall be made at least annually in the 
amount of five percent (5%) of the applicant's annual drinking water 
system budget, including depreciation, unless otherwise specified by 
the Board at the time of loan authorization, until the loan is repaid.  
This fund shall not serve as security for the payment of principal or 
interest on the loan.  The applicant shall adopt such resolutions as 
necessary to limit the use of the fund to construct capital facilities 
for its water system and to notify the Board prior to making any 
disbursements from the fund so the Board can confirm that any 
expenditure is for an acceptable purpose.  The applicant will not 
need the consent of the Board prior to making any expenditure from 
the fund.  Failure to maintain the reserve account will constitute a 
technical default on the bond(s) and may result in penalties being 
assessed. Annual reports/statements will be required. 
 (12)  If the Board is to purchase a revenue bond, the Board will 
require that the applicant's water rates be established such that 
sufficient net revenue will be raised to provide at least 125% (or 
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such other amount as the Board may determine) of the total annual 
debt service. 
 
R309-700-15[14].  Committal of Funds and Approval of 
Agreements. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R309-700-16[15].  Construction. 
. . . . . . . 
 
KEY:  loans, interest buy-downs, credit enhancements, hardship 
grants 
[November 15, 2002]2003 
Notice of Continuation September 16, 2002 
19-4-104 
73-10c 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Health, Administration 

R380-250 
HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26162 

FILED:  04/14/2003, 12:50 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Implements 
provisions required by the federal Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Privacy Rule, 45 CFR Part 
164, subpart E, dealing with the treatment of certain 
individually identifiable health information held by the Utah 
Department of Health (UDOH). 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The HIPAA Privacy Rule 
requires that covered programs implement administrative 
safeguards and policies to protect the rights of individuals to 
access and control access to their protected health 
information.  This rule adopts those requirements for UDOH 
programs covered by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Standards for Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health 
Information found in 45 CFR Part 160, and 45 CFR Part 164, 
subparts A and E; and Section 26-1-5 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  Implementation of the federal HIPAA 
privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on the Utah 
Department of Health.  Costs are predicted to exceed those 
experienced with the Y2K phenomenon.  This federal 
mandate is unfunded, so UDOH has no choice but to 
implement these requirements within existing budgets.  This 
rulemaking should streamline and simplify, to the extent 
possible, compliance with the federal mandate. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Implementation of the federal HIPAA 
privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on local 
governments.  Costs are predicted to exceed those 

experienced with the Y2K phenomenon.  This federal 
mandate is unfunded.  This rule will clearly communicate to 
other parties, including local governments, how the UDOH will 
implement certain requirements, which should assist local 
governments in their efforts to comply. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  Implementation of the federal HIPAA 
privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on covered 
health care providers, plans and clearinghouses.  Costs are 
predicted to exceed those experienced with the Y2K 
phenomenon.  This federal mandate is unfunded.  This rule 
will clearly communicate to other parties how the UDOH will 
implement certain requirements, which should assist those 
parties with their efforts to comply. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule clearly 
outlines the policies of the UDOH on HIPAA Privacy Rule 
implementation standards.  Those persons seeking to 
exercise their rights under the HIPAA Privacy Rule will have 
clear guidance on the process they should follow to exercise 
those rights.  The only compliance cost is to require that some 
of those rights be exercised in writing.  The overall cost to 
persons should be minimal. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Implementation of the federal 
HIPAA privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on all 
covered health care providers, plans and clearinghouses.  
Costs are predicted to exceed those experienced with the Y2K 
phenomenon.  This federal mandate is unfunded.  This rule 
will clearly communicate to other parties how the UDOH will 
implement certain requirements, which should assist those 
parties with their efforts to comply.  UDOH has attempted to 
streamline and simplify the cost of compliance by offering free 
training to government agencies throughout state and local 
government.  This rule supports those efforts and should have 
an overall positive impact of businesses.  Rod L. Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
ADMINISTRATION 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Doug Springmeyer at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-6971, by FAX at 801-538-6306, or by Internet E-mail at 
dspringm@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod L. Betit, Executive Director 
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R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-250.  HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation. 
R380-250-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule implements provisions required by 45 CFR Part 
164, subpart E, dealing with the treatment of certain individually 
identifiable health information held by the Department of Health. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Utah Code Sections 26-1-5 and 
26-1-17. 
 
R380-250-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Covered program" means the smallest agency or program 
unit within the Department responsible for carrying out a covered 
function as that term is used in 45 CFR 164.501. 
 (2)  "HIPAA Privacy Rule" means the Standards for Privacy of 
Individually Identifiable Health Information found in 45 CFR Part 
160 and Subparts A and E of Part 164. 
 (3)  "Individual" means a natural person.  In the case of a 
individual without legal capacity or a deceased person, the personal 
representative of the individual. 
 
R380-250-3.  General Compliance. 
 (1)  This rule  applies only to those functions of the Department 
that are covered functions as that term is used in 45 CFR Part 164. 
 (2)  Covered programs shall comply with the privacy 
requirements of 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E in dealing with 
individually identifiable health information and the subjects of that 
information. 
 
R380-250-4.  Changes to Rule. 
 The Department reserves the right to alter this rule and its 
notices of privacy practices required by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. 
 
R380-250-5.  Sanctions, Retaliation. 
 (1)  An employee of a covered program may be disciplined for 
failure to comply with the HIPAA Privacy Rule requirements found 
in 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E.  Discipline may include termination 
and civil or criminal prosecution. 
 (2)  An employee of a covered program may not intimidate, 
threaten, coerce, discriminate against, or take other retaliatory action 
against any person for exercising any right established by the 
HIPAA Privacy Rule or for opposing in good faith any act or 
practice made unlawful by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. 
 
R380-250-6.  Waiver of Rights Prohibited. 
 A covered program may not require individuals to waive their 
rights under 45 CFR 160.306 or 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E as a 
condition of the provision of treatment, payment, health plan 
enrollment, or eligibility for benefits. 
 
R380-250-7.  Complaints. 
 (1)  An individual may seek a review of a covered program's 
policies and procedures or its compliance with such policies and 
procedures through informal contact with the covered program. 
 (2)  An individual may file a formal complaint concerning a 
covered program's policies and procedures implementing 45 CFR 
Part 164, Subpart E or its compliance with such policies and 
procedures or the requirements of 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E by 
filing with the Office of the Executive Director of the Department a 
request for program action meeting the requirements of the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 

R380-250-8.  Right to Request Privacy Protection. 
 (1)  An individual may request restrictions on use and 
disclosure of protected health information as permitted in 45 CFR 
164.522 by submitting a written request to the designated privacy 
officer for the covered program. 
 (2)  The decision whether to grant the request, documentation 
of any restrictions, alternate communication methods, and conditions 
on providing confidential communications shall be in accordance 
with 45 CFR 164.522. 
 
R380-250-9.  Individual Access to Protected Health Information. 
 (1)  An individual may request access to protected health 
information as permitted in 45 CFR 164.524 by submitting a written 
request to the designated privacy officer for the covered program. 
 (2)  The right to access, decision whether to grant access, 
review of denials, timeliness of responses, form of access, time and 
manner of access, documentation and other required responses shall 
be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.524. 
 
R380-250-10.  Amendment of Protected Health Information. 
 (1)  An individual may request amendment to protected health 
information about that individual that the individual believes is 
incorrect as permitted in 45 CFR 164.526 by submitting a written 
request to the designated privacy officer for the covered program. 
 (2)  The decision whether to grant the request, the time frames 
for action by the covered program, amendment of the record, 
requirements for denial, and acting on notices of amendment from 
third parties shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.526. 
 
R380-250-11.  Accounting for Disclosures. 
 (1)  An individual may request an accounting of disclosures of 
protected health information as permitted in 45 CFR 164.528 by 
submitting a written request to the designated privacy officer for the 
covered program. 
 (2)  The content of the accounting and the provision of the 
accounting, shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.528. 
 
KEY:  HIPAA, privacy 
2003 
26-1-5 
26-1-17 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Emergency Medical Services 

R426-16-2 
Maximum Ambulance Transportation 

Rates and Charges 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26163 
FILED:  04/14/2003, 18:24 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Gold Cross 
Ambulance petitioned the Department to approve a surcharge 
for the maximum charge for ambulance calls in Juab, Salt 
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Lake, Uintah, and Utah County.  The Utah Department of 
Health by statute sets the maximum allowable charge for 
ambulance calls throughout the state.  The current rate 
reflected revenue from private health maintenance 
organizations that contracted with the Utah Department of 
Health to serve Medicaid recipients.  These contracts were 
terminated due to budget constraints.  Reimbursement for 
Medicaid recipients served is now based on the Medicaid 
standard fee schedule, which will result in a projected loss of 
over $1,000,000 in revenue for Gold Cross.  Department 
audits have reviewed financial documents supplied by Gold 
Cross.  This information was shared with the Emergency 
Medical Services Committee.  The Committee voted to 
support this rule change and to approve the surcharge. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Allow a surcharge to be 
added by private ambulance services operating in Juab, Salt 
Lake, Uintah, and Utah County.  The surcharge is $66.48 per 
transport. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 26-8a-105 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  The Utah Department of Health can 
handle the added audit requirements imposed by this rule 
within current appropriations.  State agencies that sponsor 
health plans will pay a share of the projected $1,190,922.  The 
exact amount that state agencies will pay is impossible to 
predict. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments that sponsor health 
plans will pay a share of the projected $1,190,922.  The exact 
amount that state agencies will pay is impossible to predict. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  Private health plans and individuals are 
projected to bear the biggest share of the projected 
$1,190,922.  The exact amount that individuals will pay is 
impossible to predict. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There is a cost of 
$1,190,922 to persons who are transported by an ambulance 
service that is allowed to charge the surcharge as verified by 
the Utah Department of Health auditors. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The Utah Department of Health 
looks forward to public comment regarding this surcharge.  
Auditors have verified that Gold Cross reports costs that could 
justify the surcharge.  Emergency medical services are a core 
public service which must remain financially viable.  Rod L. 
Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, 
EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Paul Patrick at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6291, 
by FAX at 801-538-6808, or by Internet E-mail at 
paulpatrick@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  5/21/2003 at 4:00 PM, Utah Department of Health, 
Cannon Health Building, Room 125, 288 North 1460 West, 
Salt Lake City, Utah. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod L. Betit, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R426.  Health, Health Systems Improvement, Emergency 
Medical Services. 
R426-16.  Emergency Medical Services Maximum Ambulance 
Transportation Rates and Charges. 
R426-16-2.  Maximum Ambulance Transportation Rates and 
Charges. 
 (1)  Licensed services operating under R426-3 shall not charge 
more than the maximum rates described is this rule.  In addition, the 
net income of licensed services, including subsidies of any type, 
shall not exceed the net income limit set by this rule. 
 (a)  The net income limit shall be the greater of eight percent of 
gross revenue or 14 percent return on average assets. 
 (b)  Licensed Services may change rates at their discretion after 
notifying the Department, provided that the rates do not exceed the 
maximums specified in this rule. 
 (2)  The initial regulated rates established in this rule shall be 
adjusted annually on July 1, based on an annual review of the most 
recent 12 month percentage change in price levels from the 
following sources: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational 
Employment and Wage Data, the National Consumer Pricing Index 
(CPI), the State of Utah Governor's Office of Planning and Budget 
economic report; the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics seasonally 
adjusted CPI for Urban Consumers transportation and medical care 
categories, and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics seasonally 
adjusted CPI for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers 
transportation and medical categories. The adjustment shall be made 
effective and published by order of the Department prior to June 1 of 
each year and become effective July 1, of each year.  As of the 
beginning of fiscal year 2000, all licensed services will collect 
financial data as delineated by the department to be submitted as 
detailed under R426-8-2(10).  This data shall then be used as the 
basis for the annual rate adjustment beginning July 1, 2001. 
 (3)  Base Rates 
 (a)  Basic ambulance - $235.68 per transport. 
 (b)  Intermediate ambulance - $279.88 per transport. 
 (c)  Paramedic Ambulance Transfer Service inter-facility 
transports, and Paramedic Ambulance transports that provide basic 
life support - $353.54 per transport. 
 (d)  Paramedic ambulance transports that, under physician 
medical direction, provide basic or intermediate ambulance 
transports that have paramedics on-board to continue advanced life 
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support initiated by a paramedic rescue service - Basic ambulance 
service - $424.24 per transport, Intermediate ambulance service - 
$468.44 per transport.  Any ambulance service that interfaces with a 
paramedic rescue service must have an interlocal or equivalent 
agreement in place, dealing with reimbursing the paramedic agency 
for services provided up to the maximum of $147.31 per transport. 
 (4)  $10.32 per mile or fraction thereof.  In all cases mileage 
shall be computed from the point of pickup to the point of delivery. 
 (5)  Surcharges - 
 (a)  A surcharge of $23.38 per transport may be assessed for 
emergency responses. 
 (b)  A surcharge of $23.38 per transport may be assessed for 
ambulance service between the hours of 8:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. 
 (c)  Where the ambulance is required to travel for ten miles or 
more on unpaved roads, a surcharge of $19.48 per transport may be 
assessed. 
 (d)  Private ambulance services operating in Juab, Salt Lake, 
Uintah and Utah County may assess a surcharge of $66.48 per 
transport to recover for a temporary escalation of costs. 
 (6)  Special Provisions - 
 (a)  If more than one patient is transported from the same point 
of origin to the same point of delivery in the same ambulance, the 
charges to be assessed to each individual will be determined as 
follows: 
 (i)  Each patient will be assessed the transportation rate. 
 (ii)  The emergency surcharge, night surcharge and mileage rate 
will be computed as specified, the sum to be divided equally 
between the total number of patients. 
 (b)  A round trip may be billed as two one-way trips. 
 (c)  An ambulance shall provide 15 minutes of time at no 
charge at both point of pickup and point of delivery, and may charge 
$12.99 per quarter hour or fraction thereof thereafter.  On round 
trips, 30 minutes at no charge will be allowed from the time the 
ambulance reaches the point of delivery until starting the return trip. 
 At the expiration of the 30 minutes, the ambulance service may 
charge $12.99 per quarter hour or fraction thereof thereafter. 
 (7)  Where an ambulance is summoned to a medical emergency 
by a dispatch agency, but does not transport, a charge of $194.88 
may be assessed. 
 (8)  Supplies shall be priced fairly and competitively with 
similar products in the local area. 
 (9)  Uncontrollable Cost Escalation - 
 (a)  In the event of a temporary escalation of costs, an 
ambulance service may petition the EMS Committee for permission 
to make a temporary service-specific surcharge.  The petition shall 
specify the amount of the proposed surcharge, the reason for the 
surcharge, and provide sufficient financial data to clearly 
demonstrate the need for the proposed surcharge.  Since this is 
intended to only provide temporary relief, the petition shall also 
include a recommended time limit. 
 (b)  The petition shall be submitted to the Department, which 
shall within 30 days, notify the ambulance service of the date and 
time of the next EMS Committee meeting and the disposition of the 
petition.  Prior to the EMS Committee meeting, the Department shall 
evaluate the petition for reasonableness and prepare a written 
response for consideration by the EMS Committee.  The EMS 
Committee may reject, modify or adopt the proposed surcharge as a 
proposed rule and direct the Department to submit a notice of rule 
change to the Division of Administrative Rules in accordance with 
the Rulemaking Act.  The public comment period shall include a 
public hearing. 

 (10)  The licensed service shall file with the Department within 
five months of the end of each licensed service's fiscal year, an 
operating report in accordance with the instructions, guidelines and 
review criteria specified in the EMS Committee's "Department of 
Health Uniform Licensed Service Fiscal Reporting Guide".  The 
Department shall provide a summary of operating reports received 
during the previous state fiscal year to the EMS Committee in the 
October quarterly meeting, beginning 2001. 
 (11)  Fiscal audits 
 (a)  Upon receipt of licensed service fiscal reports, the 
Department shall review them for compliance to standards 
established in the "Department of Health Uniform Licensed Service 
Fiscal Reporting Guide."  The Department, or its representative, may 
audit licensed services to verify the information given in the report. 
 (b)  Where the Department determines that the audited service 
is not in compliance with this rule, the Department shall proceed in 
accordance with Section 26-8a-504. 
 
KEY:  emergency medical services 
[October 4, 1999]2003 
26-8a 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Laboratory Improvement 

R444-14 
Rule for the Certification of 
Environmental Laboratories 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26144 

FILED:  04/02/2003, 13:56 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment will incorporate the major technical parts of the 
National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference 
(NELAC) standards into the state rule.  With the incorporation, 
all incompatibilities between the state rule and national 
standards are eliminated and the state program remains 
eligible to be a National Environmental Laboratory 
Accreditation Program (NELAP) accrediting authority. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment will 
incorporate the latest NELAC standards (2001) by reference.  
With this amendment, the major technical parts of the national 
standard become part of the State rule.  Large parts of the 
existing rule are thereafter unnecessary and are being 
eliminated. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 26-1-30(2)(m) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  40 CFR 136, 141, 142, and 261 (July 
1992-2002); and National Environmental Laboratory 
Conference Standards (May 2001) 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment does not change the 
substantive requirements or the process for certification.  
Therefore, no impact on the state budget is predicted. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This amendment does not change the 
substantive requirements or the process for certification.  
Therefore, no impact on local governments that operate labs 
is predicted 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  This amendment does not change the 
substantive requirements or the process for certification.  
Therefore, no impact on private parties that operate labs is 
predicted. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The compliance 
cost will not change with the incorporation of the national 
standards. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  For Utah to maintain primacy 
under United States Environmental Protection Agency rules 
(especially for drinking water) there must exist a laboratory 
certification program within the state.  This rule is the 
foundation of the certification program.  The NELAP has 
recognized the Utah certification program as an accrediting 
authority.  To continue as a recognized accrediting authority, 
this rule must be revised to incorporate changes to the 
NELAC standards.  The NELAC standards take the industry to 
the next level of quality by focusing on the quality system that 
operates in the laboratory.  The uniform standard ensures the 
consistency in the quality of results submitted to the 
Department of Environmental Quality for regulatory purposes. 
 No adverse fiscal impact is predicted for business.  Rod L. 
Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
EPIDEMIOLOGY AND LABORATORY SERVICES, 
LABORATORY IMPROVEMENT 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
David Mendenhall at the above address, by phone at 801-
584-8470, by FAX at 801-584-8501, or by Internet E-mail at 
davidmendenhall@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod L. Betit, Executive Director 
 
 
 

R444.  Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory Services, 
Laboratory Improvement. 
R444-14.  Rule for the Certification of Environmental 
Laboratories. 
R444-14-1.  Introduction. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Utah Code Section 26-1-
30(2)(m). 
 (2)  This rule applies to laboratories that analyze samples for 
compliance with Federal Safe Drinking Water Act, Federal Clean 
Water Act, and the Federal Resource Conservation and Recovery 
Act. 
 (3)  A laboratory that analyzes samples for compliance with 
rules established by the Utah Department of Environmental Quality 
that require that the analysis be conducted by a certified laboratory, 
must become certified under this rule and comply with its 
provisions. 
 (4)  A laboratory that, under subcontract with another 
laboratory, analyzes samples for compliance with rules established 
by the Utah Department of Environmental Quality that require that 
the analysis be conducted by a certified laboratory, must become 
certified under this rule and comply with its provisions. 
 (5)  A laboratory certified under this rule to analyze samples for 
compliance with rules established by the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality that require that the analysis be conducted by 
a certified laboratory must also obtain approval under this rule for 
each[ method used to analyze each analyte] analyte analyzed by a 
specific method. 
 
R444-14-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  ["Accuracy" means the degree of agreement between an 
observed value and an accepted reference value. 
 (2)  ]"Analyte" means the substance or thing for which a 
sample is analyzed to determine its presence or quantity. 
 (2[3])  "Approved" means the determination by the department 
that a certified laboratory may analyze for an analyte[ or 
interdependent analyte group] under this rule.[ 
 (4)  "Assessment" means the process of inspecting, testing and 
documenting findings for purposes of certification or to determine 
compliance with this rule. 
 (5)  "Batch" means a group of analytical samples of the same 
matrix processed together, including extraction, digestion, 
concentration and the application of the analytic method, using the 
same process, personnel, and lot(s) of reagents. 
 (6)  "Certification officer" means a representative of the 
department who conducts assessments.  This representative may be a 
third party contractor who conducts assessments and acts under the 
authority of the department.] 
 (3[7])  "Clean Water Act" means U.S.  Public Law 92-500, as 
amended, governing water pollution control programs.[ 
 (8)  "Contamination" means the effect caused by the 
introduction of the target analyte from an outside source into the test 
system. 
 (9)  "Deny" means to totally or partially refuse to certify a 
laboratory.] 
 (4[10])  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health.[ 
 (11)  "Equipment blank" means sample that is known not to 
contain the target analyte and that is used to check the cleanliness of 
sampling devices, collected in a sample container from a clean 
sample-collection device and returned to the laboratory as a sample. 
 (12)  "Field blank" means a sample that is known not to contain 
the target analyte and that is used to check for analytical artifacts or 
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contamination introduced by sampling and analytical procedures, 
carried to the sampling site, exposed to sampling conditions and 
returned to the laboratory and treated as an environmental sample. 
 (13)  "Holding time" means the maximum time that a sample 
may be held prior to preparation or analysis. 
 (14)  "Interdependent analyte group" means a group of 
analytes, as determined by the department, for which the ability to 
correctly identify and quantify a single analyte in the group indicates 
the ability to correctly identify and quantify other analytes in the 
group. 
 (15) "Initial demonstration of analytical capability" means the 
procedure described in the method 40 CFR Part 136, Appendix A, 
used to determine a laboratory's accuracy and precision in applying 
an analytical method. 
 (16)  "Instrument blank" means a sample that is known not to 
contain the target analyte, processed through the instrumental steps 
of the measurement process used to determine the absence of 
instrument contamination for the determinative method. 
 (17)  "Interference" means the effect on the final result caused 
by the sample matrix. 
 (18)  "Key personnel" means the technical director, and 
laboratory quality assurance officer, all of whom meet the 
qualification requirements of this rule. 
 (19)  "Matrix" means a surrounding substance within which 
something originates, develops, or is contained, such as:  drinking 
water, saline/estuarine water, aqueous substance other than drinking 
water or saline/estuarine water, non-aqueous liquid, biological 
tissue, solids, soils, chemical waste, and air. 
 (20)  "Matrix spike" means a sample prepared to determine the 
effect of the matrix on a method's recovery efficiency by adding a 
known amount of the target analyte to a specified amount of matrix 
sample for which an independent estimate of the target analyte 
concentration is available. 
 (21)  "Method detection limit" means the minimum 
concentration of a substance that can be measured and reported with 
99% confidence that the analyte concentration is greater than, zero 
as determined from analysis of a sample containing the analyte in a 
given matrix as described in 40 CFR Part 136, Appendix B, 1 July 
1995 edition. 
 (22)  "Precision" means the degree to which a set of 
observations or measurements of the same property, usually 
obtained under similar conditions, conform to themselves.  Precision 
is usually expressed as standard deviation, variance or range, in 
either absolute or relative terms. 
 (23)  "Preservation" means the temperature control or the 
addition of a substance to maintain the chemical or biological 
integrity of the target analyte. 
 (24)  "Proficiency testing audit" means the event, including the 
receiving, analyzing, and reporting of results from a set of samples 
that a proficiency testing provider sends to a laboratory, for the 
laboratory to comply with the proficiency testing requirements of 
this rule. 
 (25)  "Proficiency testing program" means a program that meets 
the National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 
Conference(NELAC) proficiency testing standards and that is 
provided by a National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 
Program(NELAP)-authorized proficiency testing provider or a 
program that is provided by the EPA as part of its WS and WP 
audits.] 

 ([26]5) "Revoke" means to withdraw a certified laboratory's 
certification or the approval for a certified laboratory to perform one 
or more specified methods. 
 (6[27])  "Resource Conservation and Recovery Act" means 
U.S.  Public Law 94-580, as amended, governing solid and 
hazardous waste programs. 
 ([28]7)  "Safe Drinking Water Act" means U.S.  Public Law 
93-523 94-580, as amended, governing drinking water programs.[ 
 (29)  "Selectivity" means the capability of a method or 
instrument to respond to the target analyte in the presence of other 
substances or things. 
 (30)  "Sensitivity" means the capability of a method or 
instrument to discriminate between measurement responses 
representing different levels of a target analyte. 
 (31)  "Standard operating procedures (SOPs)" means a written 
document which details the steps of an operation, analysis or action 
whose techniques and procedures are thoroughly prescribed and is 
accepted as the procedure for performing certain routine or repetitive 
tasks. 
 (32)  "Surrogate" means a substance which is unlikely to be 
found in the environment and which has properties that mimic the 
target analyte and that is added to a sample to check for quality 
control. 
 (33)  "Suspend" means to temporarily remove a laboratory's 
certification or the approval for a certified laboratory to perform one 
or more specified methods for a defined period not to exceed six 
months. 
 (34)  "Target analyte" means the analyte that a test is designed 
to detect or quantify. 
 (35)  "Technical employee" means a designated individual who 
performs the analytical method and associated techniques. 
 (36)  "Trip blank" means a sample known not to contain the 
target analyte that is carried to the sampling site and transported to 
the laboratory for analysis without having been exposed to sampling 
procedures.] 
 
R444-14-3.  Laboratory Certification. 
 (1)  A laboratory is the organization and facilities established 
for testing samples. 
 (2)  A laboratory that conducts tests that are required by 
Department of Environmental Quality rules to be conducted by a 
certified laboratory must be certified under this rule. 
 (3)  To become certified, to renew certification, or to become 
recertified under this rule, a laboratory must adhere to the 
requirements found in Chapter 4, "Accreditation Process", of the 
National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference 
Standards approved May 2001, which are incorporated by 
reference.[: 
 (a)  submit a completed application to the Division of 
Epidemiology and Laboratory Services, Bureau of Laboratory 
Improvement, on forms provided by the department; the application 
shall include: 
 (i)  the legal name of the laboratory; 
 (ii)  the name of the laboratory owner; 
 (iii)  the laboratory mailing address; 
 (iv)  the full address of location of the laboratory; 
 (v)  the laboratory hours of operation; 
 (vi)  a description of qualifications of key personnel and 
technical employees; 
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 (vii)  the name and day-time phone number of the laboratory 
director; 
 (viii)  the name and day-time phone number of the quality 
assurance officer; 
 (ix)  the name and day-time phone number of the laboratory 
contact person; 
 (x)  an indication of class of laboratory for which the laboratory 
is applying for certification under this rule; and 
 (xi)  the laboratory's quality assurance plan and documentation 
of the laboratory's implementation and adherence to the quality 
assurance plan. 
 (b)  be enrolled in a proficiency testing program; 
 (c)  apply for approval to analyze at least one analyte or 
interdependent analyte group by a method the department may 
approve under this rule; and 
 (d)  pay all fees prior to the department's processing of the 
application. 
 (e)  submit a statement of assurance of compliance signed and 
dated by the laboratory owner, director, and quality assurance 
officer, which shall include: 
 (i)  an acknowledgment that the applicant understands that, 
once certified, the laboratory must continually comply with this rule 
and shall be subject to the penalties provided in this rule for failure 
to maintain compliance; 
 (ii)  an acknowledgment that the department may make 
unannounced assessments and that a refusal to allow entry by the 
department's representatives is grounds for denial or revocation of 
certification; 
 (iii)  a statement that the applicant laboratory will perform all 
proficiency testing audits according to the accepted method and in 
accordance with department requirements; and 
 (iv)  a statement that there is no misrepresentation in the 
information provided in the application. 
 (4)  Upon satisfaction of the requirements of subsection (4): 
 (a)  the department shall conduct an on-site assessment at a date 
and time agreed to by the laboratory director to determine whether 
the laboratory complies with the minimum requirements of this rule 
and that the laboratory can produce valid results; 
 (b)  the department shall provide the laboratory director a 
written report of the department's findings from the on-site 
assessment; and 
 (c)  if the department determines that the laboratory does not 
meet the requirements for certification, the laboratory shall develop 
and submit a plan of correction acceptable to the department. 
 (5)  The department shall issue a final decision and letter upon 
a satisfactory on-site assessment or within 30 days of acceptance of 
the plan or portions of a plan of correction.  The letter shall state 
whether the laboratory is certified or not certified.  It shall also state 
the approval status of the analyte or interdependent analyte group for 
which the laboratory applied for approval. The department may 
certify a laboratory for up to one year. 
 (6)  A certification expires at the expiration date listed on the 
certificate, unless otherwise revoked.  To avoid a lapse in 
certification, a laboratory must submit a completed application for 
renewal and the required fees for certification at least three months 
prior to the expiration of the certificate.] 
 
[R444-14-4.  Method Approval. 
 (1)  An applicant laboratory must request approval to analyze 
for an analyte or interdependent analyte group as part of its 
application for certification or renewal of certification.  Approval to 

analyze for an analyte or interdependent analyte group upon 
application for certification or renewal of certification may be 
granted only after an on-site assessment.  The applicant laboratory 
shall submit: 
 (a)  documentation that it has the necessary equipment and 
trained technical employees to perform the tests; 
 (b)  documentation that the laboratory has passed two 
proficiency testing audits for the analyte in question in a proficiency 
testing program; 
 (c)  its standard operating procedure for the method used to 
analyze for the analyte in question; 
 (d)  documentation of its initial demonstration of analytical 
capability; and 
 (e)  documentation establishing the laboratory's method 
detection limit for the analyte. 
 (2)  At a time other than at application for certification or 
renewal of certification, a certified laboratory may request approval 
to analyze for an additional analyte or interdependent analyte group 
by submitting a written request together with the documentation 
required in subsection (1). 
 (3)  If the department is satisfied from its assessment that the 
applicant laboratory can produce valid results, it shall grant approval 
for the analyte or interdependent analyte group by a specific method. 
 (4)  The department shall not grant approval to a laboratory that 
does not certify under this rule. 
 
R444-14-5.  Change in Name or Ownership. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory that changes its name, business 
organizational status, or ownership must report the change in writing 
to the department within 30 days of the change. 
 (2)  A certified laboratory that assumes a new business 
organizational status or ownership must maintain all the records 
required under this rule that the certified laboratory was required to 
maintain prior to the change in status or ownership. 
 
R444-14-6.  Access and Sample Testing. 
 (1)  Applicants and certified laboratories shall allow department 
representatives access to the laboratory facility and records during 
laboratory operating hours to determine initial or continued 
compliance with this rule. 
 (2)  The department may submit samples to applicant and 
certified laboratories in a manner that the applicant or certified 
laboratory is unaware of the expected values of the analytes in the 
samples. 
 
R444-14-7.  Quality Assurance. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory must develop and implement a 
quality assurance program that is an integrated system of activities 
involving planning, quality control, quality assessment, reporting 
and quality improvement to ensure that its services meet its 
standards of quality with its stated level of confidence. 
 (2)  The quality assurance program must meet the type and 
volume of testing activities the certified laboratory undertakes.  The 
quality assurance program must include a quality assurance plan and 
the documentation of the quality assurance activities. 
 (3)  As part of its quality assurance program, each certified 
laboratory must develop and adhere to a quality assurance plan.  The 
quality assurance plan must be a written document and may 
incorporate other documents by reference.  All technical employees 
must have easy access to the quality assurance plan.  The certified 
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laboratory must include and address the following essential items in 
the quality assurance plan: 
 (a)  General quality control procedures; 
 (b)  Frequency of proficiency testing; 
 (c)  Proficiency testing audit handling; 
 (d)  Reporting of proficiency testing results; 
 (e)  Evaluation of staff competency; 
 (f)  Staff training; 
 (g)  Equipment operation and calibration; 
 (h)  Analytical methods and SOPs; 
 (i)  Physical facility factors that may affect quality; 
 (j)  Sample acceptance policies and sample receipt policies; 
 (k)  Sample tracking; 
 (l)  Record keeping, quality assurance review of data, and 
reporting of results; 
 (m)  Corrective action policy and procedures; 
 (n)  Definitions of terms; 
 (o)  Frequency and procedure of quality reviews and the 
content of reports to the director; and 
 (p)  Frequency, procedure, and documentation of preventive 
maintenance. 
 (4)  As part of the quality assurance program, the certified 
laboratory must document and retain records demonstrating 
compliance with its quality assurance program. 
 
R444-14-8.  Personnel Requirements and Responsibilities. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory must: 
 (a)  have a laboratory director who meets the qualification 
requirements of this section; 
 (b)  have a laboratory quality assurance officer who meets the 
qualification requirements of this section, who may also serve as the 
laboratory director; 
 (c)  specify and document the responsibility, authority, and 
interrelation of all personnel who manage, perform or verify work 
affecting the quality of testing; 
 (d)  have sufficient technical employees with the educational 
background and training necessary to perform all tests which the 
certified laboratory is approved to perform; 
 (e)  adequately supervise its technical employees to assure 
quality test results; 
 (f)  have a job a description for all key personnel and technical 
employees; 
 (g)  maintain documentation of the qualifications of all key 
personnel; 
 (h)  maintain a record of training for all key personnel and 
technical employees; and 
 (i)  document and clearly describe the lines of responsibility of 
all key personnel and technical employees. 
 (2)  The technical director is responsible for the administrative 
oversight and overall operation of the certified laboratory and must: 
 (a)  define minimum qualifications, experience, and skills 
necessary for all technical employees; 
 (b)  ensure and document through an annual competency check 
that each technical employee demonstrates initial and ongoing 
proficiency for the tests performed by the technical employee; and 
 (c)  supervise the quality assurance officer and ensure the 
production and quality of all results reported by the certified 
laboratory. 
 (3)  An individual may be the technical director of one certified 
laboratory. 

 (4)  A technical director of a laboratory must have a bachelor's 
degree in the biological, chemical, or physical sciences, plus two 
years work experience in a certified laboratory or in a laboratory that 
the prospective technical director demonstrates to the department as 
one that substantially meets equivalent quality standards for a 
certified laboratory. 
 (5)  The technical director is responsible for the day-to-day 
operation of the certified laboratory and: 
 (a)  must supervise all technical employees of the certified 
laboratory; 
 (b)  must assure that all samples are accepted in accordance 
with the requirement of this rule; and 
 (c)  is responsible for the production and quality of all data 
reported by the certified laboratory. 
 (6)  A quality assurance officer must: 
 (a)  have documented training or experience in quality 
assurance procedures and be knowledgeable in the quality assurance 
requirements of this rule; 
 (b)  have a knowledge of the approved methods the certified 
laboratory uses in order to allow him to verify that the certified 
laboratory is following the approved methods; 
 (c)  not analyze samples as part of the regular analyses 
performed by the certified laboratory; 
 (d)  have direct access to the highest level of management at 
which decisions are taken on laboratory policy and resources, and to 
the technical director; 
 (e)  serve as the focal point for quality assurance and oversee 
and review quality control data; 
 (f)  objectively evaluate data and objectively perform 
assessments; 
 (g)  oversee all aspects of sample handling, testing, report 
collation and distribution with the purpose of the production of high 
quality results; and 
 (h)  conduct or oversee and be responsible for an annual review 
of the entire technical operation of the certified laboratory. 
 (7)  One individual may be the quality assurance officer of up 
to three certified laboratories. 
 
R444-14-9.  Physical Facilities. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory must occupy physical facilities that 
have suitable space, energy sources, lighting, heating and ventilation 
to allow for proper performance of the testing. 
 (2)  A certified laboratory must maintain the physical facilities 
to permit the production of quality results.  The certified laboratory 
must assure that contamination is unlikely, and must control 
variables that might adversely affect test results, such as: 
temperature; humidity; electrical power; vibration; electromagnetic 
fields; dust; direct sunlight; ventilation; and lighting. 
 (3)  A certified laboratory must make available to technical 
employees an unencumbered work area to ensure that adequate 
working conditions are available for the tests. 
 (4)  A certified laboratory must: 
 (a)  control access to the laboratory; 
 (b)  separate incompatible tests, analyses, procedures, materials, 
and the like; and 
 (c)  have separate sample receipt, sample storage, chemical 
storage, waste storage, and data handling and storage areas. 
 
R444-14-10.  Equipment and Reference Materials. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory must have on-site all equipment and 
apparatus, reagents, reference materials, and glassware necessary for 
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the tests it performs.  All equipment used to analyze samples must 
be in good working order. 
 (2)  A certified laboratory must have SOPs on the use, 
operation, and maintenance of all equipment necessary for the 
analyses it performs. 
 (3)  A certified laboratory must document and retain a record of 
the maintenance of its equipment.  The documentation must include: 
 (a)  name of item; 
 (b)  manufacturer name; 
 (c)  model and serial number; 
 (d)  manufacturer's instructions; 
 (e)  date received; 
 (f)  date placed in service; 
 (g)  current physical location; 
 (h)  date and description of each maintenance activity; and 
 (i)  date and description of each repair. 
 (4)  In preparing or verifying all standard curves, a certified 
laboratory must use reference materials of documented high purity 
and traceability.  The certified laboratory must document and retain 
a record of the origin, purity, traceability of all reference materials.  
The record must include the date the reference material was 
received, the date the reference material was opened, and the 
expiration date of the reference material. 
 (5)  A certified laboratory must use water that is free from 
constituents that could potentially interfere with the sample 
preparation or testing.  The certified laboratory must monitor and 
document and retain a record of the quality of the laboratory water 
used in testing. 
 (6)  For water used in microbiological methods, a certified 
laboratory must analyze and document its laboratory water annually 
for bactericidal properties.  For water used in microbiological 
testing, a certified laboratory must also analyze its laboratory water 
monthly and document the results for pH, chlorine residual, standard 
plate count, and conductivity, and the certified laboratory must also 
analyze the water annually and document the results for trace metals. 
 (7)  A certified laboratory must use no less than analytical 
grade reagents. The certified laboratory must document and retain a 
record of the origin and purity of all reagents.  The record must 
include the date of receipt of the reagent, the date the reagent was 
opened, and the expiration date of the reagent.] 
 
R444-14-4[11].  Analytical Methods. 
 (1)  [A certified laboratory must have and maintain an in-house 
methods manual and SOPs.  The methods manual and any associated 
reference works must be readily available to all technical employees. 
 (a)  For each approved analyte or interdependent analyte group, 
the method used by the certified laboratory must be described in the 
methods manual.  The method description or separate SOP must 
address the following: 
 (i)  analyte name; 
 (ii)  applicable matrix or matrices; 
 (iii)  method detection limit; 
 (iv)  scope and application; 
 (v)  summary of the method; 
 (vi)  any change to the approved method: 
 (vii)  definitions; 
 (viii)  interferences; 
 (ix)  safety; 
 (x)  equipment and supplies; 
 (xi)  reagents and calibration standards; 
 (xii)  sample collection, preservation, shipment and storage; 

 (xiii)  quality control; 
 (xiv)  calibration, validation and standardization procedures; 
 (xv)  data analysis and calculations; 
 (xvi)  method performance; 
 (xvii)  pollution prevention; 
 (xviii)  data review and acceptance criteria for QC measures; 
 (xix)  waste management; 
 (xx)  method identifier and references; and 
 (xxi)  any tables, diagrams, flowcharts and validation data. 
 (2)  ]The department may only approve a certified laboratory to 
analyze an analyte [or interdependent analyte group ]by specific 
method.  The department may [only ]approve a certified laboratory 
for an analyte [or interdependent analyte group ]using methods 
described in the July 1, 1992 through 2002,[ 1993, 1994, 1995, 
1996, 1997, 1998 and 1999] editions of 40 CFR Parts 141, 142, and 
143 (Safe Drinking Water Act); 40 CFR Parts 136 and 503.8 (Clean 
Water Act); 40 CFR Parts 260 and 261 (Resource Conservation and 
Recovery Act). 
 (2[3])  In analyzing a sample for compliance with the Safe 
Drinking Water Act, the Clean Water Act, or the Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act, a certified laboratory must follow 
the method that it reports on its final report to have used.[ 
 (4)  The department may approve a single method for analysis 
of an interdependent analyte group.] 
 
[R444-14-12. Sample Management and Documentation. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory must develop, document and 
implement a sample acceptance policy that clearly outlines the 
certified laboratory's sample acceptance requirements.  The certified 
laboratory must make the sample acceptance policy readily available 
to all employees who accept samples and available to personnel who 
collect samples in the field.  The sample acceptance policy must 
include that: 
 (a)  the person submitting the sample must provide full 
documentation with the sample, which must include: 
 (i)  sample identification; 
 (ii)  the location, date, and time of collection; 
 (iii)  collector's name; preservative added; 
 (iv)  matrix; and 
 (v)  any special remarks concerning the sample; 
 (b)  each sample or group of samples must include trip blanks, 
field blanks, equipment blanks, duplicates or other field-submitted 
quality control measures as required by the method; 
 (c)  each sample must be labeled with unique, durable, and 
indelible identification; 
 (d)  each sample must show evidence of proper preservation 
and use of sample containers allowed by the test method; and 
 (e)  each sample must be of adequate volume for the requested 
testing. 
 (2)  A certified laboratory must develop, document and 
implement procedures that clearly outline the process to receive 
samples. 
 (3)  A certified laboratory must check samples upon receipt for 
thermal and prior to analysis for chemical preservation as required 
by the method. 
 (a)  The certified laboratory must document the results of 
preservation checks. 
 (b)  For each sample that does not meet the preservation 
requirements of the test method, the certified laboratory must flag it 
upon receipt and continually throughout all phases of the analysis. 
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 (4)  A certified laboratory must properly store samples in 
containers and at temperatures specified by the method.  The 
certified laboratory must document storage temperatures. 
 (5)  A certified laboratory must develop and implement 
procedures to ensure and document that all samples and subsamples 
are analyzed within holding times. 
 (6)  A certified laboratory must develop and implement a 
chronological log to document the receipt of each sample.  The 
certified laboratory must record the following in the log: 
 (a)  date of receipt at the laboratory; 
 (b)  date the sample was collected; 
 (c)  unique laboratory identification code required in R444-14-
12(7)(a); 
 (d)  field identification code if supplied by the submitter; 
 (e)  requested analysis, including method number, if applicable; 
and 
 (f)  comments documenting sample rejection. 
 (7)  A certified laboratory must uniquely identify all samples 
and all subsamples. 
 (a)  The certified laboratory must assign and document a unique 
identification code to each sample container received in the 
laboratory and attach a durable label with the unique identification 
code to the sample container. 
 (b)  The certified laboratory must establish and document a link 
from subsamples back to the original sample. 
 (c)  The certified laboratory shall treat all samples from public 
water supplies as routine compliance samples, except those samples 
for which the request clearly indicates that the samples are submitted 
as repeat or noncompliance samples. 
 (8)  Each certified laboratory must have a record keeping 
system that allows historical reconstruction of all laboratory 
activities that produce analytical data. 
 (a)  The certified laboratory must document, either in hard copy 
or machine readable format, all original raw data for each sample 
and subsample for the testing performed on each sample and 
subsample. 
 (b)  The certified laboratory must associate the raw data from 
the test with a laboratory sample identification number, the date of 
analysis, instrument used, method used, actual calculations, and the 
technical employee's initials or signature. 
 (c)  The certified laboratory must document which procedures, 
methods, laboratory forms, policies, equipment, personnel were used 
to produce the result for each test. 
 (9)  A certified laboratory must retain all correspondence and 
notes from conversations concerning the final disposition of samples 
that the certified laboratory has rejected and must document any 
decision to proceed with the analysis of compromised samples 
which were improperly sampled, or were received with insufficient 
documentation, were improperly preserved, were received in the 
wrong containers, or were received beyond the holding time. 
 (10)  The certified laboratory must produce a final report of its 
analysis. 
 (a)  The final report must document the method used to produce 
each result.  If the certified laboratory deviated from the test method 
used in producing the result, the method description on the final 
report must indicate that the method was modified.  The certified 
laboratory must describe on the final report any abnormal condition 
of the sample, deviation from holding time, or preservation 
requirements that in the judgement of the certified laboratory might 
affect the result.  The certified laboratory must produce the final 
report in such a way that the information required by this subsection 

is unambiguous, is inseparable from the final result, and that clearly 
defines the nature and substance of the variation. 
 (b)  The certified laboratory must make a final report in a single 
identifiable document.  It shall accurately, clearly, unambiguously, 
and objectively give the results in a manner that is understandable to 
the client.  The basic information in the final report must include the 
following: 
 (i)  report title with the name, address and phone number of the 
certified laboratory; 
 (ii)  the name of client or project, and the client identification 
number; 
 (iii)  description and laboratory identification code of the 
sample; 
 (iv)  the dates of sample collection, sample receipt, sample 
preparation, and sample analysis; 
 (v)  the time of either sample preparation or analysis or both if 
the required holding time for either activity is 48 hours or less; 
 (vi)  a method identifier for each method, including methods for 
preparation steps, used to produce the test result; 
 (vii)  the MDL or minimum reporting limit for the test result; 
 (viii)  the test result; 
 (ix)  a description of any quality control failures and deviations 
from the accepted method or methods; 
 (x)  the signature and title of the individuals who accept 
responsibility for the content of the report; 
 (xi)  date of issue; and 
 (xii)  a clear identification of any result generated by a 
laboratory other than the laboratory producing the report, with the 
name and address of the subcontracted laboratory. 
 (c)  The certified laboratory must support by supplementary 
documentation any correction, addition or deletion from an original 
final report after it has been issued.  Any correction, addition or 
deletion must clearly identify its purpose, and must meet all 
reporting requirements of this rule. 
 (d)  If authorized by the public water system, the certified 
laboratory must also report the results of routine compliance 
drinking water samples from the public water system to the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Drinking Water.  
Reports to the Department of Environmental Quality, Division of 
Drinking Water may be filed electronically or by other means 
acceptable to Department of Environmental Quality, Division of 
Drinking Water. 
 (11)  If a certified laboratory offers that it can document chain 
of custody in its testing to meet legal and evidentiary standards, the 
certified laboratory must establish procedures to establish and 
document chain of custody sufficient to meet legal and evidentiary 
standards. 
 (12)  A certified laboratory must retain for five years all 
documentation required by this rule. 
 (a)  If the certified laboratory retains in a machine readable 
format any documentation required by this rule, the certified 
laboratory must maintain it in a protected form that either prohibits 
or clearly indicates any deletion or alteration to the documentation. 
 (b)  All documentation required by this rule must be available 
to the department.] 
 
R444-14-5[13]. Proficiency Testing. 
 For a certified laboratory to become approved and to maintain 
approval for an analyte[ or an interdependent analyte group] by a 
specific method, the certified laboratory must, at its own expense, 
meet the proficiency testing requirements of this rule.  A certified 
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laboratory must adhere to the requirements found in Chapter 2, 
"Proficiency Testing", of the National Environmental Laboratory 
Accreditation Conference Standards approved May 2001, which are 
incorporated by reference.[ 
 (1)  The certified laboratory must enroll and participate in a 
proficiency testing program for each analyte or interdependent 
analyte group.  For each analyte or interdependent analyte group for 
which proficiency testing is not available, the certified laboratory 
must establish, maintain, and document the accuracy and reliability 
of its procedures through a system of internal quality management. 
 (a)  The certified laboratory must participate in more than one 
proficiency testing program if necessary to be evaluated to obtain or 
maintain approval to analyze an analyte or interdependent analyte 
group. 
 (b)  The certified laboratory must, prior to obtaining approval, 
notify the department of the authorized proficiency testing program 
or programs in which it has enrolled for each analyte or 
interdependent analyte group. 
 (2)  The certified laboratory must follow the proficiency testing 
provider's instructions for preparing the proficiency testing sample 
and must analyze the proficiency testing sample as if it were a client 
sample. 
 (a)  The certified laboratory must notify the department before 
the certified laboratory changes enrollment in an authorized 
proficiency testing program. 
 (b)  The certified laboratory must direct the proficiency testing 
provider to send, either in hard copy or electronically, a copy of each 
evaluation of the certified laboratory's proficiency testing audit 
results to the department.  The certified laboratory must allow the 
proficiency testing provider to release all information necessary for 
the department to assess the certified laboratory's compliance with 
this rule. 
 (c)  The following are strictly prohibited: 
 (i)  performing multiple analyses (replicates, duplicates)  which 
are not normally performed in the course of analysis of routine 
samples; 
 (ii)  averaging the results of multiple analyses for reporting 
when not specifically required by the method; or 
 (iii)  permitting anyone other than bona fide laboratory 
employees who perform the analyses on a day-to-day basis for the 
certified laboratory to participate in the generation of data or 
reporting of results. 
 (3)  In each calendar year, the certified laboratory must 
complete at least two separate proficiency testing audits for each 
analyte or interdependent analyte group. 
 (4)  The certified laboratory may not: 
 (a)  discuss the results of a proficiency testing audit with any 
other laboratory until after the deadline for receipt of results by the 
proficiency testing provider; 
 (b)  if the certified laboratory has multiple testing sites or 
separate locations, discuss the results of a proficiency testing audit 
across sites or locations until after the deadline for receipt of results 
by the proficiency testing provider; 
 (c)  send proficiency testing samples or portions of samples to 
another laboratory to be tested; or 
 (d)  knowingly receive a proficiency testing sample from 
another laboratory for analysis and fail to notify the department of 
the receipt of the other laboratory's sample within five business days 
of discovery. 
 (5)  The certified laboratory must maintain a copy of all 
proficiency testing records, including analytical worksheets.  The 

proficiency testing records must include a copy of the authorized 
proficiency testing provider report forms used by the laboratory to 
record proficiency testing results, 
 (a)  The director of the certified laboratory must sign and retain 
an attestation statement stating that the certified laboratory followed 
the proficiency testing provider's instructions for preparing the 
proficiency testing sample and analyzed the proficiency testing 
sample as if it were a client sample. 
 (b)  The certified laboratory must analyze and report the results 
of the proficiency testing test by the deadline set by the proficiency 
testing provider. 
 (6)  Upon receipt of the evaluation of the results from the 
proficiency testing provider, the department shall assign a grade for 
each analyte where: 
 (a)  "Acceptable" equals 100; 
 (b)  "Not acceptable" equals zero; and 
 (c)  "Nonparticipation" equals zero. 
 (7)  The certified laboratory must receive a grade of 100 for any 
single analyte to pass a proficiency testing audit for that analyte.  
The certified laboratory must receive an average grade of 80 for any 
interdependent analyte group to pass a proficiency testing audit for 
the interdependent analyte group. 
 (a)  If the proficiency testing evaluation is to obtain or maintain 
approval for an interdependent analyte group by a single method, the 
grade for the interdependent analyte group is the average of the 
grades for the individual analytes in the evaluation of the results 
from the proficiency testing provider. 
 (b)  If the proficiency testing evaluation is of multiple 
concentrations of a single analyte, the department shall average the 
grades for individual concentrations and assign the average as the 
grade for the analyte. 
 (8)  If the certified laboratory fails a proficiency testing audit, it 
must submit a corrective action plan to the department.] 
 
R444-14-6[14].  Quality System. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory must adhere to the requirements 
found in Chapter 5, Quality Systems, of the National Environmental 
Laboratory Accreditation Conference Standards approved May 
2001[July 1999], which are incorporated by reference. 
 
[R444-14-15.  Corrective Action Procedure. 
 (1)  A certified laboratory must develop written SOPs that 
govern its response to quality control results that are outside 
acceptance ranges that the certified laboratory has established to 
meet the requirements of the method or this rule.  The SOPs must 
address the following: 
 (a)  identification of anticipated problems and the anticipated or 
recommended corrective action to correct or eliminate the problem 
and future occurrences of the problem; and 
 (b)  requirements for written records that document both 
anticipated and unanticipated problems, the corrective measures 
taken, and the final outcome of the corrective action. 
 (2)  A certified laboratory must have written policy and 
procedures for the resolution of complaints it receives about the 
laboratory's activities.  The certified laboratory must document and 
maintain records of complaints and of the actions taken by the 
laboratory in response to each complaint. 
 (3)  A certified laboratory must document a response to each 
deficiency noted on the department written report of the 
department's findings from an on-site assessment. 
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 (4)  A certified laboratory must have written policy and 
procedures to identify the cause and resolve the cause for a failed 
proficiency testing audit.  The certified laboratory must document 
and maintain records of its actions taken to resolve the cause for the 
failure. 
 
R444-14-16.  Denial, Suspension and Revocation. 
 (1)  The department may suspend the certificate of a certified 
laboratory for an approved analyte or interdependent analyte group 
if the certified laboratory fails two of three of its most recent 
proficiency testing audits required by section R444-14-13.  The 
department may remove the suspension of a certified laboratory for 
an analyte or an interdependent analyte group if the certified 
laboratory passes the next two proficiency testing audits required by 
section R444-14-13. 
 (2)  The department shall revoke approval for a an analyte or an 
interdependent analyte group if the approval for the analyte or the 
interdependent analyte group is under department suspension and if 
the certified laboratory fails a proficiency testing audit required by 
section R444-14-13. 
 (3)  If a certified laboratory fails to submit a corrective action 
plan to the department within thirty days of the department's sending 
a notice of failure of a proficiency testing audit required by section 
R444-14-13, the department shall revoke the approval for the 
analyte or interdependent analyte group. 
 (4)  If the department has revoked a certified laboratory's 
approval for an analyte or interdependent analyte group because of 
failure of a proficiency testing audit in three of the last four 
proficiency testing audits required under section R444-14-13, the 
certified laboratory may seek approval, but not prior to 6 months 
from the revocation of approval.  The certified laboratory may seek 
this approval by: 
 (a)  requesting approval in writing for the analyte or 
interdependent analyte group; and 
 (b)  passing two proficiency testing audits under section R444-
14-13. 
 (5)  The department may revoke approval for an analyte or 
interdependent analyte group if a certified laboratory does not 
adhere to the approved method or to the quality system requirements 
of this rule. 
 (6)  The department may deny certification if the applicant 
laboratory: 
 (a)  fails to meet the personnel qualifications for key personnel, 
including the education, training and experience requirements as 
required by the department; 
 (b)  refuses the certification officer entry to the laboratory for 
any on-site assessment; 
 (c)  refuses the certification officer access to the laboratory 
records for any assessment; or 
 (d)  fails to correct deficiencies identified in a prior on-site 
assessment. 
 (7)  If the department denies certification because the applicant 
laboratory submitted an unacceptable corrective action plan, the 
applicant laboratory may submit only one additional corrective 
action plan to remedy the deficiencies.  If the department determines 
that the corrective action plan is insufficient to correct the 
deficiencies, the applicant laboratory must wait six months before 
again applying for certification. 
 (8)  The department may suspend a certified laboratory if the 
certified laboratory fails to notify the department within 30 calendar 
days of changes in key personnel or laboratory location. 

 (9)  The department may revoke a certified laboratory's 
certification for a minimum of one year if it: 
 (a)  submits a proficiency testing sample to another laboratory 
for analysis; 
 (b)  submits proficiency testing sample results generated by 
another laboratory as its own; 
 (c)  receives a proficiency testing sample from another 
applicant or certified laboratory for analysis and fails to notify the 
department of the receipt of other certified laboratory's sample 
within five business days of discovery; 
 (d)  falsifies data on any report or is involved in any other 
deceptive practice; 
 (e)  misrepresents any material fact pertinent to receiving 
certification; or 
 (f)  fails to correct deficiencies from an on-site assessment by 
the date agreed to in the corrective action plan. 
 (10)  The department may revoke a certified laboratory's 
certification if it: 
 (a)  refuses the certification officer entry to the certified 
laboratory for an on-site assessment; 
 (b)  permits persons other than its employees to perform or 
report results of analyses governed by this rule; 
 (c)  does not meet the personnel requirements and 
responsibilities under R444-14-8; or 
 (11)  The department shall revoke a certified laboratory's 
certification if it fails to pay its annual certification or approval fee 
within 90 calendar days of invoice.  The department may revoke a 
certified laboratory's certification if it fails to pay any approval fee 
within 90 calendar days of invoice.  A laboratory whose certification 
has been revoked for failure to pay certification or approval fees 
may not reapply for certification until it pays past due fees. 
 (12) The Department may suspend the laboratory's certification 
if the department finds the public interest, safety, or welfare requires 
emergency action.] 
 
R444-14-[1]7.  Recognition of NELAP Accreditation. 
 The department may certify a laboratory that is NELAP-
accredited.  A laboratory seeking certification because of its NELAP 
accreditation must provide evidence of its accreditation and apply 
for certification on that basis.  A laboratory certified on the basis of 
NELAP accreditation must obtain approval from the department for 
each analyte [or interdependent analyte group ]and meet the 
approval requirements of this rule. 
 
R444-14-[1]8.  Penalties. 
 A laboratory violates this rule and is subject to the penalties 
provided in Title 26, Chapter 23, including administrative and civil 
penalties of up to $5,000.00 for each offense, criminal sanctions of a 
class B misdemeanor on the first offense and a class A misdemeanor 
on the second offense, and criminal penalties of up to $5,000.00 for 
each offense if it: 
 (1)  without being certified under this rule, holds itself out as 
one capable of testing samples for compliance with Federal Safe 
Drinking Water Act, Federal Clean Water Act, Federal Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act; or 
 (2)  without being approved to analyze for the analyte [or 
interdependent analyte group], analyzes samples for the analyte [or 
interdependent analyte group ]for compliance with rules established 
by the Utah Department of Environmental Quality that require that 
the analysis be conducted by a certified laboratory. 
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RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose for the rule changes is to become compliant with 
federal claims regulations.  These changes will speed up the 
claims process. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule now regulates all 
accident and health, as well as, income replacement 
insurance claims.  Section R590-192-4 adds federal claims 
definitions.  Section R590-192-5 updates the requirements of 
what "sufficient information" is.  The new Section R590-192-8 
sets notification requirements for insurers to their insureds.    
The new Section R590-192-9 outlines standards for 
processing claims.  The new Section R590-192-10 outlines 
standards for processing income replacement claims.    The 
new Section R590-192-11 requires insurers to provide 
substantive responses to the department.  Section R590-192-
12 conforms the legal interest rate provisions in the rule to the 
requirements in Utah's Title 15.  In addition, insurers are 
required to follow the prompt payment requirements in Section 
31A-26-301.6.  Section R590-192-14 has been added to allow 
compliance time for insurers affected by these rule changes. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-2-201, 31A-2-204, 31A-2-
308, 31A-21-312, and 31A-26-303 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  The state budget will not be affected by 
these changes.  There will be a small increase in workload as 
a result of the filings required but not enough to require the 
hiring of part-time help nor will fees be required with the 
filings. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule will not affect local 
government.  It deals with the relationship between health and 
accident insurers and those filing a claim against one of their 
insured's policies. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  Insurers are already following the 
requirements of this rule except possibly in the area of income 
replacement claims.  Insurers not already in compliance  will 
need to make changes to forms and file them with the 
department.  There would be no cost for the filing but would 

be some minor costs to redo the forms, print, and mail them.  
These changes should have no fiscal impact on insureds and 
would probably not be passed on to their consumers. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Insurers are 
already following the requirements of this rule except possibly 
in the area of income replacement claims.  Insurers not 
already in compliance  will need to make changes to forms 
and file them with the department.  There would be no cost for 
the filing but would be some minor costs to redo the forms, 
print, and mail them.  These changes should have no fiscal 
impact on insureds and would probably not be passed on to 
their consumers. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Insurers not already following 
the requirements of this rule will be required to make some 
changes in their forms which will need to be filed with the 
department.    This would just be considered a cost of doing 
business and would not require additional help or a filing fee.  
This rule will speed up the claim payment process of health 
insurance companies when dealing with income replacement 
claims. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  5/28/2003 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building 
(behind the Capitol), Room 1112, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-192.  Unfair [Health and Disability]Accident and Health 
Income Replacement Claims Settlement Practices Rule. 
R590-192-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to Subsections 31A-2-201(1) 
and 31A-2-201(3)(a) in which the commissioner is empowered to 
administer and enforce this title and to make rules to implement the 
provisions of this title.  Further authority to provide for timely 
settlement of claims is provided by Subsection 31A-26-301(1).  Matters 
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relating to proof and notice of loss are promulgated pursuant to Section 
31A-26-301 and Subsection 31A-21-312(5).  Authority to promulgate 
rules defining unfair claims settlement practices or acts is provided in 
Subsection 31A-26-303(4). The authority to require a timely, accurate, 
and complete response to the [insurance ]department is provided by 
[Section]Subsection [31A-2-204]31A-2-202(4) and (6). 
 
R590-192-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule sets forth minimum standards for the investigation and 
disposition of [health and disability claims]accident and health 
insurance claims, which include income replacement claims, arising 
under policies or certificates issued [to residents of]in the State of Utah. 
These standards include fair and rapid settlement of claims, protection 
of claimants under insurance policies from unfair claims settlement 
practices, and the promotion of the professional competence of those 
engaged in processing of claims.  The various provisions of this rule are 
intended to define procedures and practices which constitute unfair 
claim practices and responses to the department.  This rule is regulatory 
in nature and is not intended to create a private right of action. 
 
R590-192-3.  [Definitions]Applicability and Scope. 
 (1)  This rule applies to all accident and health insurance policies, 
as defined by Section 31A-1-301 covering individual and group 
accident and health plans issued or renewed after January 1, 2003. 
 (2)  This rule incorporates by reference the Department of Labor, 
Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration Rules and Regulations 
for Administration and Enforcement: Claims Procedure, 29 CFR 
2560.503-1, excluding 2560.503-1(a). 
 
R590-192-4.  Definitions. 
 For the purpose of this rule the commissioner adopts the 
definitions as set forth in Section 31A-1-301, 29 CFR 2560.503-1(m), 
and the following: 
 (1)  "Adverse benefit determination" means any of the following: 
a denial, reduction, or termination of, or a failure to provide or make 
payment, in whole or in part, for a benefit, including any such denial, 
reduction, termination, or failure to provide or make payment that is 
based on a determination of a participant's or beneficiary's eligibility to 
participate in a plan, and including, with respect to group health plans, a 
denial, reduction, or termination of or failure to provide or make 
payment, in whole or in part, for a benefit resulting from the application 
of any utilization review, as well as a failure to cover an item or service 
for which benefits are otherwise experimental or investigational or not 
medically necessary or appropriate. 
 [(1)](2)  "Beneficiary" means the party entitled to receive the 
proceeds or benefits occurring under the policy. 
 [(2)](3)  "Claim File" means any record either in its original form 
or as recorded by any process which can accurately and reliably 
reproduce the original material regarding the claim, its investigation, 
adjustment and settlement. 
 [(3)](4)  "Claim Representative" means any individual, 
corporation, association, organization, partnership, or other legal entity 
authorized to represent an insurer with respect to a claim, whether or 
not licensed within the State of Utah to do so. 
 [(4)](5)  "Claimant" means an insured, the beneficiary or legal 
representative of the insured, including a member of the insured's 
immediate family designated by the insured, making a claim under a 
policy. 
 (6)  "Concurrent care decision" means an insurer has approved an 
ongoing course of treatment to be provided over a period of time or 
number of treatments. 

 [(5)](7)  "Days" means calendar days. 
 [(6)](8)  "Documentation" [includes all communication records, 
transactions, notes, work papers, claim forms, bills and explanation of 
benefits forms relative to the claim, the claim investigation, the claim 
adjustment and the claim settlement.]means a document, record, or 
other information that is considered "relevant" to a claimant's claim 
because such document, record, or other information: 
 (a)  was relied upon in making the benefit determination; 
 (b)  was submitted, considered, or generated in the course of 
making the benefit determination, without regard to whether such 
document, record, or other information was relied upon in making the 
benefit determination; and 
 (c)  in the case of an insurer providing income replacement 
benefits, constitutes a statement of policy or guidance with respect to 
the insurer concerning the denied treatment option or benefit for the 
claimant's diagnosis, without regard to whether such advice or 
statement was relied upon in making the benefit determination. 
 [(7)](9)  "General business practice" means a pattern of conduct. 
 [(8)](10)  "Investigation" means all activities of an insurer directly 
or indirectly related to the determination of liabilities under coverages 
afforded by an insurance policy[ or insurance contract]. 
 (11)  "Medical necessity" means: 
 (a)  health care services or product that a prudent health care 
professional would provide to  a patient for the purpose of preventing, 
diagnosing or treating an illness, injury, disease or it symptoms in a 
manner that is: 
 (i)  in accordance with generally accepted standards of medical 
practice in the United States; 
 (ii)  clinically appropriate in terms of type, frequency, extent, site, 
and duration; 
 (iii)  not primarily for the convenience of the patient, physician, or 
other health care provider; and 
 (iv)  covered under the contract; and 
 (b)  when a medical question-of-fact exists, medical necessity 
shall include the most appropriate available supply or level of service 
for the individual in question, considering potential benefits and harms 
to the individual, and known to be effective. 
 (i)  For interventions not yet in widespread use, the effectiveness 
shall be based on scientific evidence. 
 (ii)  For established interventions, the effectiveness shall be based 
on: 
 (A)  scientific evidence; 
 (B)  professional standards; and 
 (C)  expert opinion. 
 [(9)](12)  "Notice of Loss" means that notice which is in 
accordance with policy provisions and insurer practices.  Such notice 
shall include any notification, whether in writing or other means, which 
reasonably apprizes the insurer of the existence of or facts relating to a 
claim. 
 (13)  "Pre-service claim" means any claim for a benefit under an 
accident and health policy or income replacement policy with respect to 
which the terms of the plan condition receipt of the benefit, in whole or 
in part, on approval of the benefit in advance of obtaining medical care. 
 (14)  "Post-service claim" means any claim for a benefit that is not 
a pre-service claim or urgent care claim. 
 (15)  "Scientific evidence" means: 
 (a)  scientific studies published in or accepted for publication by 
medical journals that meet nationally recognized requirements for 
scientific manuscripts and that submit most of their published articles 
for review by experts who are not part of the editorial staff; or 
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 (b)  findings, studies or research conducted by or under the 
auspices of federal government agencies and nationally recognized 
federal research institutes. 
 (c)  Scientific evidence shall not include published peer-reviewed 
literature sponsored to a significant extent by a pharmaceutical 
manufacturing company or medical device manufacturer or a single 
study without other supportable studies. 
 (16)  "Urgent care claim" means any claim for medical care or 
treatment with respect to which the application of the time periods for 
making non-urgent care determination: 
 (a)  could seriously jeopardize the life or health of the claimant or 
the ability of the claimant to regain maximum function; or 
 (b)  in the opinion of a physician with knowledge of the claimant's 
medical condition, would subject the claimant to severe pain that 
cannot be adequately managed without the care or treatment that is the 
subject of the claim. 
 
R590-192-[4]5.  File and Record Documentation. 
 Each insurer's claim files [for policies or certificates ]are subject to 
examination by the commissioner [of insurance ]or by his[the 
commissioner's] duly appointed designees.  To aid in such examination: 
 (1)  Sufficient detailed documentation shall be contained in each 
claim file in order to reconstruct the benefit determination, and the 
calculation of the claim settlement for each claim. 
 (2)  Each document within the claim file shall be noted as to date 
received, date processed and notification date. 
 [(1)](3)  The insurer shall maintain claim data that are accessible 
and retrievable for examination.  An insurer shall be able to provide: 
 (a)  the claim number; 
 (b)  copy of [the policy]all applicable forms; 
 (c)  date of loss; 
 (d)  date of claim receipt; 
 (e)  date of benefit determination; 
 [(d)](f)  date of settlement of the claim; and 
 [(e)](g)  type of settlement: 
 (i)  payment, including the amount paid; 
 (ii)  settled without payment; 
 (iii)  denied.[; or 
 (iv)  closed without settlement. 
 (2)  Adequate detailed documentation shall be contained in each 
claim file in order to reconstruct the adjustment and settlement of each 
claim. 
 (3)  Each document within the claim file shall be noted as to date 
received, date processed and/or date mailed.] 
 
R590-192-[5]6.  Misrepresentation of Policy Provisions:  Prohibited 
Acts Applicable to All Insurers. 
 (1)  An insurer, or[ and] the insurer's representative, shall fully 
disclose to a claimant the benefits, and/or limitations and exclusions of 
an insurance policy [or insurance contract ]which relates to the 
diagnoses and services relating to the particular claim being presented. 
 (2)  An insurer, or [and ]the insurer's representative, must disclose 
to a claimant, provisions of an insurance policy [or insurance contract 
]when receiving inquiries regarding such coverage. 
 
R590-192-[6]7.  Notice of Loss. 
 (1)  Notice of loss to an insurer, if required, shall be considered 
timely if made according to the terms of the policy, subject to the 
definitions and provisions of this rule. 
 (2)  Notice of loss may be given to the insurer or its representative 
unless the insurer clearly directs otherwise by means of policy 

provisions or a separate written notice mailed or delivered to the 
insured. 
 (3)  Subject to policy provisions, a requirement of any notice of 
loss may be waived by any authorized representative of the insurer. 
 (4)  The general practice of the insurer when accepting a notice of 
loss or notice of claim shall be consistent for all policyholders in 
accordance with the terms of the policy. 
 
R590-192-8.  Notification. 
 (1)  The insurer shall provide notification to the claimant which 
includes: 
 (a)  the specific reason or reasons for the benefit determination, 
adverse or not; 
 (b)  reference to the specific plan provisions on which the benefit 
determination is based; 
 (c)  a description of any additional material or information 
necessary for the claimant to perfect the claim and an explanation of 
why such material or information is necessary; and 
 (d)  a description of the insurer's review procedures and the time 
limits applicable to such procedures, including a statement of the 
claimant's right to bring civil action. 
 (2)  An insurer and the insurer's representative, in the case of a 
failure by a claimant or an authorized representative of a claimant to 
follow the individual or group health plan's procedures for filing a pre-
service claim, shall notify the claimant or representative, of the failure 
and provide the proper procedures to be followed in filing a claim for 
benefits. This notification shall be provided to the claimant or 
authorized representative, as appropriate, as soon as possible, but not 
later than five days or 24 hours for a claim involving urgent care, 
following the failure. Notification may be oral, unless written 
notification is requested by the claimant or authorized representative. 
 (3)  Income replacement adverse benefit determinations must: 
 (a)  if an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or other criterion was 
relied upon in making the adverse determination, provide either the 
specific rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion; or a 
statement that such a rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion 
was relied upon in making the adverse determination and that a copy of 
such rule, guideline, protocol, or other criterion will be provided free of 
charge to the claimant upon request; or 
 (b)  if the adverse benefit determination is based on a medical 
necessity or experimental treatment or similar exclusion or limit, 
provide either an explanation of the scientific or clinical judgment for 
the determination, applying the terms of the plan to the claimant's 
medical circumstances, or a statement that such explanation will be 
provided free of charge upon request. 
 (4)  Urgent care adverse benefit determination must: 
 (a)  provide written or electronic notification to the claimant no 
later than three days after the oral notification; and 
 (b)  provide a description of the expedited review process 
applicable to such claims. 
 
R590-192-[7]9.  Minimum Standards for Claim Benefit 
Determination and Settlement[Claim Handling Processes and 
Communications]. 
[ (1)  Every insurer, upon receiving notice of loss shall, within 15 
days of the notification, provide necessary claim forms, instructions, 
and reasonable assistance so the claimant can properly comply with 
company requirements for filing a claim. 
 (2)  Upon receipt of any written notice of loss documentation 
required, within 30 days the insurer shall: 
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 (a)  provide written acknowledgment of the receipt of the notice of 
loss; 
 (b)  request any necessary additional information from the 
claimant; 
 (c)  commence any necessary investigation of the claim, including 
requesting additional information from other parties having 
documentation or information relating to the claim. 
 (3)  The insurer shall complete investigation of a claim within 30 
days after receipt of completed notice of loss documentation from the 
claimant, unless such investigation cannot reasonably be completed 
within such time.  It shall be the burden of the insurer to establish, by 
adequate records, that the investigation could not be completed within 
30 days of its receipt of notice of loss.  If the investigation cannot be 
completed within 30 days the insurer shall send to the claimant a 
written explanation for the delay and shall continue to so communicate 
at least every 30 days until the claim is settled, denied or closed without 
settlement. 
 (4)  Within 15 days of completion of the investigation, the insurer 
will accomplish either: 
 (a)  written denial of the claim with a complete explanation to the 
claimant; or 
 (b)  mailing of the claim settlement with a written explanation of 
the benefits. 
 (5)  If recalculation/re-visitation of a claim becomes necessary, 
subsequent to either denial or settlement, the insurer shall comply with 
the initial time requirement as outlined in Section 3 of this section. 
 (6)  If negotiations are continuing for settlement of a claim with a 
claimant, notice of expiration of statute of limitations or contract time 
limit shall be given to the claimant at least 60 days before the date on 
which such time limit may expire. 
 (7)  Notice of loss requirements may not be unreasonable and 
should consider all of the circumstances surrounding a given claim. 
 (8)  Closing a claim without settlement requires a complete 
explanation to the claimant specifying the reason for the closure of the 
claim in accordance with policy provisions.  Closing a claim without 
settlement shall not commence until 120 days after the original request 
for additional information.  If an insurer closes a claim without 
settlement, the claimant must be advised that the claim will be reopened 
provided the requested information is received by the insurer within the 
policy provisions for filing a claim. 
 (9)  Every insurer, upon receipt of an inquiry from the Insurance 
Department regarding a claim, shall furnish the Department with a 
substantive response to the inquiry within the appropriate number of 
days indicated by such inquiry.  If it is determined by the insurer that 
they are unable to respond in the time frame requested, the insurer may 
contact the department to request an extension. 
 (10)  The insurer shall acknowledge and substantively respond 
within 15 days to any written communication from the claimant 
relating to a pending claim.] 
 (1)  All benefit determination time limits begin once the insurer 
receives a claim, without regard to whether all necessary information 
was filed with the original claim. If the insurer requires an extension 
due to the claimant's failure to submit necessary information, the time 
for making a decision is tolled from the date that notice of what is 
required is sent to the claimant until the date that the claimant provides 
the necessary information, or 48 hours after the end of the period 
afforded the claimant to provide the specified additional information. 
 (2)  Urgent Care Claims: 
 (a)  In a case of urgent care, an insurer shall notify the claimant of 
the insurer's benefit decision, adverse or not, as soon as possible, taking 

into account the medical exigencies of the situation, but no later than 72 
hours after the receipt of the claim. 
 (b)  it is the insurer's duty to determine whether a claim is urgent 
based on the information provided by the claimant or authorized 
representative. However, if the claimant does not provide sufficient 
information for the plan to make a decision, the plan must notify the 
claimant as soon as possible, but not later than 24 hours after receipt of 
the claim, of the specific information that is required. The claimant 
shall be given reasonable time, but not less than 48 hours, to provide 
that information. 
 (c)  The insurer must notify the claimant of the insurer's decision 
as soon as possible but not later than 48 hours after the earlier of the 
plan's receipt of the requested information or the end of the time given 
to the claimant to provide the information. 
 (3)  Concurrent Care Decision: 
 (a)  Reduction or termination of concurrent care: 
 (i)  Any reduction in the course of treatment is considered an 
adverse benefit determination. 
 (ii)  The insurer must give the consumer notice, with sufficient 
time to appeal that adverse benefit determination and sufficient time to 
receive a decision of the appeal before any reduction or termination of 
care occurs. 
 (b)  Extension of concurrent care: 
 (i)  A claimant may request an extension of treatment beyond 
what has already been approved. 
 (ii)  If the request for an extension is made at least 24 hours before 
the end of the approved treatment, the insurer must notify the claimant 
of the insurer's decision as soon as possible but no later than 24 hours 
after receipt of the claim. 
 (iii)  If the request for extension does not involve urgent care, the 
insurer must notify the claimant of the insurer's benefit decision using 
the response times for a post-service claim. 
 (4)  Pre-Service Benefit Determination: 
 (a)  An insurer must notify the claimant of the insurer's benefit 
decision within 15 days of receipt of the request for care. 
 (b)  If the insurer is unable to make a decision within that time due 
to circumstances beyond the insurer's control, such as late receipt of 
medical records, it must notify the claimant before expiration of the 
original 15 days that it intends to extend the time and then the insurer 
may take as long as 15 additional days to reach a decision. 
 (c)  If the extension is due to failure of the claimant to submit 
necessary information, the extension notice of delay must give specific 
information about what the claimant has to provide and the claimant 
must be given at least 45 days to submit the requested information. 
 (d)  once the pre-service claim determination has been made and 
the medical care rendered, the actual claim filed for payment will be 
processed according to the time requirements of a post-service claim. 
 (5)  Post-Service Claims: 
 (a)  An insurer must notify the claimant of the insurer's benefit 
decision within 30 days of receipt of the request for claim. 
 (b)  If the insurer is unable to make a decision within that time due 
to circumstances beyond the insurer's control, such as late receipt of 
medical records, it must notify the claimant before expiration of the 
original 30 days that it intends to extend the time and then the insurer 
may take as long as 15 additional days to reach a decision. 
 (c)  If the extension is due to failure of the claimant to submit 
necessary information, the extension notice of delay must give specific 
information about what the claimant has to provide and the claimant 
must be given at least 45 days to submit the requested information. 
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R590-192-10.  Minimum Standards for Income Replacement 
Benefit Determination and Settlement. 
 In the case of a claim for income replacement benefits, the insurer 
shall notify the claimant, of the insurer's adverse benefit determination 
within a reasonable period of time, but not later than 45 days after 
receipt of the claim by the insurer. 
 (1)  This period may be extended by the insurer for up to 30 days, 
provided that the insurer determines that such an extension is necessary 
due to matters beyond the control of the insurer and notifies the 
claimant, prior to the expiration of the initial 45-day period, of the 
circumstances requiring the extension of time and the date by which the 
insurer expects to render a decision. 
 (2)  If, prior to the end of the first 30-day extension period, the 
insurer determines that, due to matters beyond the control of the 
insurer, a decision cannot be rendered within that extension period, the 
period for making the determination may be extended for up to an 
additional 30 days, provided the insurer notifies the claimant prior to 
the expiration of the first 30-day extension period, of the circumstances 
requiring the extension and the date at which the insurer expects to 
render a decision. 
 (3)  Each notice of extension shall specifically explain the 
standards on which entitlement to a benefit is based, the unresolved 
issues that prevent a decision on the claim, and the additional 
information needed to resolve those issues, and the claimant shall be 
afforded at least 45 days within which to provide the specified 
information. 
 
R590-192-11.  Minimum Standards for Responses to the 
Department. 
 (1)  Every insurer, upon receipt of an inquiry from the department 
regarding a claim, shall furnish the department with a substantive 
response to the inquiry within the appropriate number of days indicated 
by such inquiry.  If it is determined by the insurer that they are unable 
to respond in the time frame requested, the insurer may contact the 
department to request an extension. 
 (2)  The insurer shall acknowledge and substantively respond 
within 15 days to any written communication from the claimant 
relating to a pending claim. 
 
R590-192-[8]12.  Unfair Methods, Deceptive Acts and Practices 
Defined. 
 The commissioner, pursuant to Subsection 31A-26-303(4), hereby 
[find]finds the following acts, or the failure to perform required acts, to 
be misleading, deceptive, unfairly discriminatory or overreaching in the 
settlement of claims[.]: 
 (1)  denying or threatening the denial of the payment of claims or 
rescinding, canceling or threatening the rescission or cancellation of 
coverage under a policy for any reason which is not clearly described in 
the policy as a reason for such denial, cancellation or rescission; 
 (2)  failing to provide the insured or beneficiary with a written 
explanation of the evidence of any investigation or file materials giving 
rise to the denial of a claim based on misrepresentation or fraud on an 
insurance application, when such alleged misrepresentation is the basis 
for the denial; 
 (3)  compensation by an insurer of its employees, agents or 
contractors of any amounts which are based on savings to the insurer as 
a result of denying or reducing the payment of claims, unless 
compensation relates to the discovery of billing or processing errors[.]; 
 (4)  failing to deliver a copy of standards for prompt investigation 
of claims to the [Insurance Department]department when requested to 
do so; 

 (5)  refusing to settle claims without conducting a reasonable and 
complete investigation; 
 (6)  denying a claim or making a claim payment to the insured or 
beneficiary not accompanied by a statement or explanation of benefits 
setting forth the exclusion or benefit under which the denial or payment 
is being made and how the payment amount was calculated; 
 (7)  failing to make payment of a claim following notice of loss 
when liability is reasonably clear under one coverage in order to 
influence settlements under other portions of the insurance policy 
coverage or under other policies of insurance; 
 (8)  advising a claimant not to obtain the services of an attorney or 
other advocate or suggesting that the claimant will receive less money 
if an attorney is used to pursue or advise on the merits of a claim; 
 (9)  misleading a claimant as to the applicable statute of 
limitations; 
 (10)  deducting from a loss or claims payment made under one 
policy those premiums owed by the insured on another policy, unless 
the insured consents to such arrangement; 
 (11)  failing to settle a claim on the basis that responsibility for 
payment of the claim should be assumed by others, except as may 
otherwise be provided by policy provisions; 
 (12)  issuing a check or draft in partial settlement of a loss or a 
claim under a specified coverage when such check or draft contains 
language which purports to release the insurer or its insured from total 
liability; 
 (13)  refusing to provide a written reason for the denial of a claim 
upon demand of the claimant; 
 (14)  refusing to pay reasonably incurred expenses to the claimant 
when such expenses resulted from a delay, as prohibited by this rule, in 
the claim settlement; [and] 
 (15)  [Failing]failing to pay interest at the legal rate[,] in Title 15:[ 
as provided in Title 15, upon amounts that are due and unpaid within 
15 days of completion of investigation.] 
 (a)  upon amounts that are due and unpaid within 20 days of 
completion of investigation; 
 (b)  to a health care provider on amounts that are due and unpaid 
after the time limits allowed under 31A-26-301.6 ; and 
 (16)  failing to provide a claimant with an explanation of benefits. 
 
R590-192-[9]13.  Severability. 
 If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to any 
person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity may not affect any 
other provision or application of this rule which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable. 
 
R590-192-14.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the revised provisions of 
this rule 45 days from the rule's effective date. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
[August 27, 1999]2003 
31A-1-301 
31A-2-201 
31A-2-204 
31A-2-308 
31A-21-312[ 
31A-26-301] 
31A-26-303 
 
▼ ▼ 
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RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to recognize and prescribe the use of 
the 2001 Commissioner's Standard Ordinary (CSO) Mortality 
Table as a minimum standard. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule permits insurance 
companies to use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table for valuation 
and nonforfeiture purposes for policies issued after July 1, 
2003, and mandates the use of the table after January 1, 
2009.  The rule sets conditions for the use of the table. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-17-402 and 31A-22-408 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  This should have no impact on the state's 
budge.  The department does not anticipate any changes in 
personnel as a result of these changes. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The provisions of this rule will not affect 
local government.  They deal only with how life insurance 
companies rate their life insurance policies. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  Those insurance companies that elect to 
use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table will have some 
administrative costs associated with implementation, but will 
be allowed to hold lower reserves decreasing its cost of doing 
business.  The public will benefit from lower insurance rates. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Those insurance 
companies that elect to use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table will 
have some administrative costs associated with 
implementation, but will be allowed to hold lower reserves 
decreasing its cost of doing business.  The public will benefit 
from lower insurance rates. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Businesses purchasing the 
insurance products affected by the rule should see a savings 
in their premium costs.  Those insurance companies that elect 
to use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table will have some 
administrative costs associated with implementation, but will 
be allowed to hold lower reserves decreasing its cost of doing 
business. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-223.  Rule to Recognize the 2001 CSO Mortality Table for 
Use in Determining Minimum Reserve Liabilities and 
Nonforfeiture Benefits. 
R590-223-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the insurance commissioner 
pursuant to Subsections 31A-2-201(3), 31A-17-402(1) and 31A-22-
408(11). 
 
R590-223-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to recognize, permit and prescribe 
the use of the 2001 Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) 
Mortality Table in accordance with Sections 31A-17-504, 31A-22-
408 and R590-198-5. 
 
R590-223-3.  Definitions. 
 A.  "2001 CSO Mortality Table" means mortality table, 
consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female lives, 
developed by the American Academy of Actuaries CSO Task Force 
from the Valuation Basic Mortality Table developed by the Society 
of Actuaries Individual Life Insurance Valuation Mortality Task 
Force, and adopted by the NAIC in December 2002. The 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC, 2nd 
Quarter 2002. Unless the context indicates otherwise, the "2001 
CSO Mortality Table" includes both the ultimate form of that table 
and the select and ultimate form of that table and includes both the 
smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables and the composite mortality 
tables.  It also includes both the age-nearest-birthday and age-last-
birthday bases of the mortality tables. 
 B.  "2001 CSO Mortality Table (F)" means mortality table 
consisting of the rates of mortality for female lives from the 2001 
CSO Mortality Table. 
 C.  "2001 CSO Mortality Table (M)" means mortality table 
consisting of the rates of mortality for male lives from the 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table. 
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 D.  "Composite mortality tables" means mortality tables with 
rates of mortality that do not distinguish between smokers and 
nonsmokers. 
 E.  "Smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables" means mortality 
tables with separate rates of mortality for smokers and nonsmokers. 
 F.  The tables identified in Subsections R590-223-3.A through 
E are hereby incorporated by reference within this rule and are 
available for public inspection at the Insurance Department during 
normal business hours. 
 
R590-223-4.  2001 CSO Mortality Table. 
 A.  At the election of the company for any one or more 
specified plans of insurance and subject to the conditions stated in 
this rule, the 2001 CSO Mortality Table may be used as the 
minimum standard for policies issued on or after July 1, 2003 and 
before the date specified in Subsection R590-223-4.B to which 
Subsections 31A-17-504(1)(c), 31A-22-408(6)(d)(viii)(VI), R590-
198-5.A and R590-198-5.B are applicable. If the company elects to 
use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, it shall do so for both valuation 
and nonforfeiture purposes. 
 B.  Subject to the conditions stated in this rule, the 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table shall be used in determining minimum standards for 
policies issued on and after January 1, 2009, to which Subsections 
31A-17-504(1)(c), 31A-22-408(6)(d)(viii)(VI), R590-198-5.A and 
R590-198-5.B are applicable. 
 
R590-223-5.  Conditions. 
 A.  For each plan of insurance with separate rates for smokers 
and nonsmokers an insurer may use: 
 (1)  composite mortality tables to determine minimum reserve 
liabilities and minimum cash surrender values and amounts of paid-
up nonforfeiture benefits; 
 (2)  smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables to determine the 
valuation net premiums and additional minimum reserves, if any, 
required by Section 31A-17-511 and use composite mortality tables 
to determine the basic minimum reserves, minimum cash surrender 
values and amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits; or 
 (3)  smoker and nonsmoker mortality to determine minimum 
reserve liabilities and minimum cash surrender values and amounts 
of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits. 
 B.  For plans of insurance without separate rates for smokers 
and nonsmokers, the composite mortality tables shall be used. 
 C.  For the purpose of determining minimum reserve liabilities 
and minimum cash surrender values and amounts of paid-up 
nonforfeiture benefits, the 2001 CSO Mortality Table may, at the 
option of the company for each plan of insurance, be used in its 
ultimate or select and ultimate form, subject to the restrictions of 
Section R590-223-6 and Valuation of Life Insurance Policies Rule 
R590-198 relative to use of the select and ultimate form. 
 D.  When the 2001 CSO Mortality Table is the minimum 
reserve standard for any plan for a company, the actuarial opinion in 
the annual statement filed with the commissioner shall be based on 
an asset adequacy analysis in conformance with the requirements of 
Section R590-162-8.   The commissioner may exempt a company 
from this requirement if it only does business in this state and in no 
other state. 
 

R590-223-6.  Applicability of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table to 
Rule R590-198. 
 A.  The 2001 CSO Mortality Table may be used in applying 
R590-198 in the following manner, subject to the transition dates for 
use of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table in Section R590-223-4: 
 (1)  Subsection R590-198-3.A.(2)(b):  The net level reserve 
premium is based on the ultimate mortality rates in the 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table. 
 (2)  Subsection R590-198-4.B:  All calculations are made using 
the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, and, if elected, the optional 
minimum mortality standard for deficiency reserves stipulated in 
Subsection R590-223-6.A.(4). The value of "q  x+k+t  -  1" is the valuation 
mortality rate for deficiency reserves in policy year k+t, but using 
the unmodified select mortality rates if modified select mortality 
rates are used in the computation of deficiency reserves. 
 (3)  Subsection R590-198-5.A:  The 2001 CSO Mortality Table 
is the minimum standard for basic reserves. 
 (4)  Subsection R590-198-5.B:  The 2001 CSO Mortality Table 
is the minimum standard for deficiency reserves. If select mortality 
rates are used, they may be multiplied by X percent for durations in 
the first segment, subject to the conditions specified in Subsections 
R590-198-5.B.(3)(a) through (i). In demonstrating compliance with 
those conditions, the demonstrations may not combine the results of 
tests that utilize the 1980 CSO Mortality Table with those tests that 
utilize the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, unless the combination is 
explicitly required by rule or necessary to be in compliance with 
relevant Actuarial Standards of Practice. 
 (5)  Subsection R590-198-6.C:  The valuation mortality table 
used in determining the tabular cost of insurance shall be the 
ultimate mortality rates in the 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 
 (6)  Subsection R590-198-6.E.(4):  The calculations specified 
in Subsection R590-198-6.E shall use the ultimate mortality rates in 
the 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 
 (7)  Subsection R590-198-6.F.(4):  The calculations specified in 
Subsection R590-198-6.F shall use the ultimate mortality rates in the 
2001 CSO Mortality Table. 
 (8)  Subsection R590-198-6.G.(2):  The calculations specified 
in Subsection R590-198-6.G shall use the ultimate mortality rates in 
the 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 
 (9)  Subsection R590-198-7.A.(1)(b):  The one-year valuation 
premium shall be calculated using the ultimate mortality rates in the 
2001 CSO Mortality Table. 
 B.  Nothing in this section shall be construed to expand the 
applicability of R590-198 to include life insurance policies 
exempted under Subsection R590-198-3.A. 
 
R590-223-7.  Gender-Blended Tables. 
 A.  For any ordinary life insurance policy delivered or issued 
for delivery in this state on and after July 1, 2003, that utilizes the 
same premium rates and charges for male and female lives or is 
issued in circumstances where applicable law does not permit 
distinctions on the basis of gender, a mortality table that is a blend of 
the 2001 CSO Mortality Table (M) and the 2001 CSO Mortality 
Table (F) may, at the option of the company for each plan of 
insurance, be substituted for the 2001 CSO Mortality Table for use 
in determining minimum cash surrender values and amounts of paid-
up nonforfeiture benefits.  No change in minimum valuation 
standards is implied by this Section of the rule. 
 B.  The company may choose from among the blended tables 
developed by the American Academy of Actuaries CSO Task Force 
and adopted by the NAIC in December 2002 
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 C.  It shall not, in and of itself, be a violation of Subsection 
31A-23-302(3) for an insurer to issue the same kind of policy of life 
insurance on both a sex-distinct and sex-neutral basis. 
 
R590-223-8.  Separability. 
 If any provision of this rule or its application to any person or 
circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of 
the rule and the application of the provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected. 
 
KEY:  insurance reserves and nonforfeitures 
2003 
31A-2-201 
31A-17-402 
31A-22-408 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Labor Commission, Occupational 
Safety and Health 

R614-1-4 
Incorporation of Federal Standards 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26149 

FILED:  04/02/2003, 15:32 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  In order to 
maintain its status as a State Plan State "as effective as 
Federal OSHA" Utah is incorporating 67 FR 242, Tuesday, 
December 17, 2002, Pages 77165 to and including 77170, 
"Occupational Injury and Illness Recording Requirements"; 
Final Rule. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This proposed rule adopts 
an identical federal OSHA rule delaying the effective date of 
three provisions of the Occupational Injury and Illness 
Recording and Reporting Requirements rule published 
January 19, 2001 (66 FR 5916-6135).  The provisions being 
delayed:  define "musculoskeletal disorder (MSD)" and require 
employers to check the MSD column on the OSHA Log if an 
employee experiences a work-related musculoskeletal 
disorder, state that MSDs are not considered privacy concern 
cases, and require employers to enter a check in the hearing 
loss column of the OSHA 300 Log for cases involving 
occupational hearing loss.  The effective date of these 
provisions is delayed from January 1, 2003, until January 1, 
2004.  OSHA will implement the hearing loss column 
requirements on January 1, 2004, and will continue to 
evaluate the MSD provisions over the next year. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 34A-6-202; and 29 CFR 1926 and 29 CFR 
1910 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  67 FR 242, Tuesday, December 17, 

2002, Pages 77165 to and including 77170,"Occupational 
Injury and Illness Recording Requirements"; Final Rule 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed rule delays the 
enforcement of a previously adopted rule.  There should be no 
cost or savings to the state budget. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The proposed rule delays the 
enforcement of a previously adopted rule.  There should be no 
cost or savings to local government. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  The proposed rule delays the enforcement 
of a previously adopted rule.  There should be no cost or 
savings to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  For the time-being, 
the proposed rule delays implementation of certain reporting 
requirements.  This should result in a small, temporary cost 
savings for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes incorporated by 
this rule are temporary in nature, but are nonetheless required 
to maintain Utah's status as having an occupational safety 
program "as effective as" federal OSHA.  The fiscal impact of 
this rule should be negligible; but will tend to reduce costs to 
businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

LABOR COMMISSION 
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
William Adams at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6897, by FAX at 801-530-7606, or by Internet E-mail at 
wadams@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  R Lee Ellertson, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R614.  Labor Commission, Occupational Safety and Health. 
R614-1.  General Provisions. 
R614-1-4.  Incorporation of Federal Standards. 
 A.  General Industry Standards. 
 1.  Sections 29 CFR 1910.21 to 1910.999 and 1910.1000 
through the end of part 1910 of the July 1, 2002, edition are 
incorporated by reference. 
 2.  29 CFR 1908, July 1, 2001, is incorporated by reference. 
 3.  29 CFR 1904, July 1, 2001, is incorporated by reference. 
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 4.  FR Vol. 67, No. 126, Monday, July 1, 2002, Pages 44037 to 
and including 44048, "29 CFR Part 1904 Occupational Injury and 
Illness Recording and Reporting Requirements; Final Rule" is 
incorporated by reference. 
 5.  FR Vol. 67, No. 216, Thursday, November 7, 2002, Pages 
67949 to and including 67965, "Exit Routes, Emergency Action 
Plans, and Fire Protection Plans; Final Rule" is incorporated by 
reference. 
 6.  FR Vol. 67, No. 242, Tuesday, December 17, 2002, Pages 
77165 to and including 77170, "Occupational Injury and Illness 
Recording Requirements: Final Rule" is incorporated by reference. 
 B.  Construction Standards. 
 1.  Section 29 CFR 1926.20 through the end of part 1926, of the 
July 1, 2002, edition is incorporated by reference. 
 2.  FR Vol. 67, No. 177, Thursday, September 12, 2002, Pages 
57722 to and including 57736, "Safety Standards for Signs, Signals, 
and Barricades; Final Rule" is incorporated by reference. 
 
KEY:  safety 
[December 17, 2002]2003 
Notice of Continuation November 25, 2002 
34A-6 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Labor Commission, Safety 

R616-2-3 
Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26148 
FILED:  04/02/2003, 15:31 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the rule change is to adopt the yearly Addenda for 
the National Board Inspection Code (NB-23) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The 2002 addenda to the 
2001 National Board Inspection Code to be adopted by 
reference, makes minor technical changes to the National 
Board Inspection Code. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 34A-7-101 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  National Board Inspection Code (NB-
23)(2001) 2002 Addenda issued December 31, 2002 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no cost or savings to the 
state budget.  The Safety Division has previously purchased 
the Code (NB-23), which includes the cost of the annual 
addenda.  The provisions of the addenda do not require any 
additional expense for administration or enforcement.  As to 
the impact of the addenda on the state's cost to own or 

operate boilers/pressure vessels, such impact should be 
minimal. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  As to the impact of the addenda on 
local government, such impact should be minimal, as the 
provisions in the addenda have already been incorporated into 
the manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels.  Local 
governments are not required to purchase the code books. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  As to the impact of the addenda on other 
persons, such impact should be minimal, as the provisions in 
the addenda have already been incorporated into the 
manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels.  Other persons 
are not required to purchase the code books. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This addenda will 
not increase compliance costs for affected persons, i.e., 
manufacturers or owner/operators of boilers and pressure 
vessels.  The additional compliance requirements imposed by 
the addenda are already followed by most affected persons as 
part of existing practices. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The primary purpose of the 
yearly addenda is to refine and clarify existing standards.  Any 
changes imposed by the addenda have, for the most part, 
already been incorporated in the practices of the boiler and 
pressure vessel industry.  Consequently, the Commission 
does not expect the addenda to impose any fiscal burden on 
business. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

LABOR COMMISSION 
SAFETY 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Pete Hackford at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
7605, by FAX at 801-530-6390, or by Internet E-mail at 
phackford@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  R Lee Ellertson, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R616.  Labor Commission, Safety. 
R616-2.  Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules. 
R616-2-3.  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and Pressure 
Vessels. 
 The following safety codes and rules shall apply to all boilers 
and pressure vessels in Utah, except those exempted pursuant to 
Section 34A-7-101, and are incorporated herein by this reference in 
this rule. 
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 A.  ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (2001). 
 1.  Section I Rules for Construction of Power Boilers  published 
July 1, 2001 and 2002 Addenda published July 1, 2002. 
 2.  Section IV Rules for Construction of Heating Boilers  
published July 1, 2001 and 2002 Addenda published July 1, 2002. 
 3.  Section VIII Rules for Construction of Pressure Vessels  
published July 1, 2001 and 2002 Addenda published July 1, 2002. 
 B.  Power Piping ASME B31.1 (2001), issued December 10, 
2001. 
 C.  Controls and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired 
Boilers ASME CSD-1-1998; the ASME CSD-1a-1999 addenda, 
issued March 10, 2000; and the ASME CSD-1b (2001) addenda, 
issued November 30, 2001. 
 D.  National Board Inspection Code ANSI/NB-23 (2001) issued 
August 2001; [and ]the (2001) addenda, issued December 31, 2001; 
and the (2002) addenda, issued December 31, 2002. 
 E.  Standard for the Prevention of Furnace 
Explosions/Implosions in Single Burner Boilers, NFPA 8501 
(1997). 
 F.  Standard for the Prevention of Furnace 
Explosions/Implosions in Multiple Burner Boilers, NFPA 8502 
(1995). 
 G.  Recommended Administrative Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Safety Rules and Regulations NB-132 Rev. 4. 
 H.  Pressure Vessel Inspection Code: Maintenance Inspection, 
Rating, Repair and Alteration API 510 (1997); the 1998 Addenda, 
published December 1998, and Addendum 2, published December 
2000. 
 
KEY:  boilers, certification, safety 
[December 17, 2002]2003 
Notice of Continuation January 10, 2002 
34A-7-101 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-611-2 
Day Use Entrance Fees 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26170 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 10:28 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The division 
has recently acquired a new park area called Sand Hollow 
near Quail Creek State Park in St. George, Utah.  In order for 
this park to operate as part of the park system, fees must be 
charged to offset expenses for operation and maintenance of 
the facilities.  This rule amendment will add Sand Hollow State 
Park to our park system.  The Day Use Entrance fee will be $5 
per vehicle (up to eight people); and Camping will be $8 per 
night.  Both fees were approved by the Utah State Parks 
Board at their April 3-4, 2003 meeting. 
 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Utah State Parks has 
added a new park (Sand Hollow State Park); and to offset 
expenses for maintaining and operating this park, fees were 
established by the Board at their April 3-4, 2003 meeting. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 63-11-17(8) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  It is estimated that Sand Hollow State 
Park will bring $5,000 in revenue to the State each year from 
the camping fee, and collect an estimated $16,500 in day use 
fees. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be no effect on local 
government budgets as this applies only to the State system. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  Recreators who utilize the facilities at Sand 
Hollow for either day use or camping will pay the fees that 
have been added to the Fee Schedule for those services.  
Cost to them cannot be estimated, as it depends on visitation. 
 This will be more clear after they have been in operation a 
year. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Recreators will be 
required to pay $5 for day use facilities at Sand Hollow and 
campers will be required to pay $8 per night for camping 
privileges. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be a positive fiscal 
impact on local businesses.  A study by Southern Utah 
University estimated that there will be a short-run increase in 
income of roughly $3,400,000 and the creation of 78 new jobs 
in Washington County as a result of the creation of Sand 
Hollow State Park.  Long-run positive impacts are likely to be 
even higher.  These positive impacts are likely to offset any 
minor, negative impacts resulting from fee charges. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dave Morrow, Deputy Director 
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R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
R651-611.  Fee Schedule. 
R651-611-2.  Day Use Entrance Fees. 
 Permits the use of all day activity areas in a state park.  These fees 
do not include overnight camping facilities or special use fees. 
 A.  Annual Permits 
 1.  $70.00 Multiple Park Permit (good for all parks) 
 2.  Snow Canyon Specialty Permits 
 a.  $15.00 Family Pedestrian Permit 
 b.  $5.00 Commuter Permit 
 3.  Duplicate Annual Permits may be purchased if originals are lost, 
destroyed, or stolen, upon payment of a $10.00 fee and the submittal of a 
signed affidavit to the Division office.  Only one duplicate is allowed. 
 B.  Special Fun Tag - Available free to Utah residents, 62 years and 
older or disabled, as defined by Special Fun Tag permit affidavit. 
 C.  Daily Permit - Allows access to a specific state park on the 
date of purchase. 
 1.  $9.00 per private motor vehicle or $4.00 per person for 
pedestrians or bicycles for the following parks: 
 

TABLE 1 
 
    Deer Creek               Jordanelle 
    Utah Lake                 Willard Bay 

 
 2.  $7.00 per private motor vehicle or $4.00 per person for 
pedestrians or bicycles for the following parks: 
 

TABLE 2 
 
     Dead Horse Point 
     East Canyon 
     Rockport 

 
 3.  $6.00 per private motor vehicle or $3.00 per person for 
pedestrians or bicycles for the following parks: 
 

TABLE 3 
     Bear Lake                     Quail Creek 
     Scofield                      Yuba 

 
 4.  $5.00 per private motor vehicle or $3.00 per person for 
pedestrians or bicycles for the following parks: 
 

TABLE 4 
 
     Antelope Island               Coral Pink                 Wasatch 
Mountain 
     Escalante                     Goblin Valley 
     Green River                   Gunlock 
     Huntington                    Hyrum 
     Kodachrome                    Lost Creek 
     Millsite                      Minersville 
     Otter Creek                   Palisade 
     Pineview                      Sand Hollow 
     Snow Canyon                   Piute 
     Steinaker                     Starvation 

 
 5.  $1.00 per person or $5.00 per family (up to eight (8) individuals. 
 For the following parks: 
 

TABLE 5 
      Anasazi                            Camp Floyd 
      Edge of the Cedars                 Fort Buenaventura 
      Fremont                            Iron Mission 
      Territorial                        Utah Field House 

 
 6.  $2.00 per person for commercial groups or vehicles with nine 

(9) or more occupants. 
 D.  Group Site Day Use Fee - Advance reservation only.  $2.00 per 
person, age six (6) and over, for sites with basic facilities. Minimum 
$50.00 fee established for each facility. 
 E.  Educational Groups - No charge for group visits by Utah public 
or parochial schools with advance notice to park.  When special 
arrangements or interpretive talks are provided, a fee of $.50 per person 
may be charged at the park manager's discretion. 
 F.  Heritage Park Pass: $20.00 permits up to five (5) visits to any 
Heritage Park during the calendar year of issue for up to eight (8) people 
per private motor vehicle. 
 G.  Antelope Island Wildlife Management Program: A $1.00 fee 
will be added to the entrance fee at Antelope Island.  This additional fee 
will be used by the Division to fund the Wildlife Management Program 
on the Island. 
 
KEY:  parks, fees 
[March 31], 2003 
Notice of Continuation August 7, 2001 
63-11-17(2) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-3 
Collection, Importation, Transportation, 
and Possession of Zoological Animals 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26166 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 08:03 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended to delete amphibians and reptiles as species 
covered in Rule R657-3 for collection, importation, 
transportation and possession of zoological animals.  
Provisions for the collection, importation, transportation and 
possession of amphibians and reptiles are provided in 
proposed Rule R657-53.  These amendments were adopted 
by the Utah Wildlife Board on April 2, 2003, and agreed to by 
the Reptile and Amphibian Negotiation Association (RANA). 
(DAR NOTE:  The proposed new rule of R657-53 is under 
DAR No. 26168 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The following sections and 
provisions are being deleted from Rule R657-3:  Section 
R657-3-21, Classification and Specific Rules for Amphibians; 
R657-3-26, Classification and Specific Rules for Reptiles; and 
R657-3-34, Propagation of Reptiles.  Other provisions are 
being amended for consistency and clarity. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  50 CFR 23.23, 2002 ed. 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  These amendments delete amphibians 
and reptiles as species covered in Rule R657-3 for collection, 
importation, transportation and possession of zoological 
animals.  Provisions for the collection, importation, 
transportation and possession of amphibians and reptiles are 
provided in proposed Rule R657-53.  The Division of Wildlife 
Resources (DWR) determines that there is no cost or savings 
impact to DWR's budget or the state budget. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they are not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  These amendments delete amphibians and 
reptiles as species covered in Rule R657-3 for collection, 
importation, transportation and possession of zoological 
animals.  Provisions for the collection, importation, 
transportation and possession of amphibians and reptiles are 
provided in proposed Rule R657-53.  The amendments do not 
impose any additional requirements on other persons, nor 
generate a cost or savings impact to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  These 
amendments delete amphibians and reptiles as species 
covered in Rule R657-3 for collection, importation, 
transportation and possession of zoological animals.  
Provisions for the collection, importation, transportation and 
possession of amphibians and reptiles are provided in 
proposed Rule R657-53.  DWR determines that there are no 
additional compliance costs associated with this amendment. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
 
 

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-3.  Collection, Importation, Transportation, and 
Possession of Zoological Animals. 
R657-3-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under Title 23, Wildlife Resources Code of Utah and in 
accordance with a memorandum of understanding with the 
Department of Agriculture and Food, Department of Health, and the 
Division of Wildlife Resources, this rule governs the collection, 
importation, exportation, transportation, and possession of 
zoological animals and their parts. 
 (2)  Nothing in this rule shall be construed as superseding the 
provisions set forth in Title 23, Wildlife Resources Code of Utah.  
Any provision of this rule setting forth a criminal violation that 
overlaps a section of that title is provided in this rule only as a 
clarification or to provide greater specificity needed for the 
administration of the provisions of this rule. 
 (3)  In addition to this rule, the Wildlife Board may allow the 
collection, importation, transportation, and possession of species of 
zoological animals under specific circumstances as provided in 
Rules R657-4 through R657-6, R657-9 through R657-11, R657-13, 
R657-14, R657-16, R657-19, R657-20 through R657-22, R657-33, 
R657-37, R657-40[ and], R657-46 and R657-53.  Where a more 
specific provision has been adopted, that provision shall control. 
 (4)  Holding raccoons and coyotes in captivity is governed by 
the Department of Agriculture and Food under Section 4-23-11 and 
Rule R58-14.  The importation of coyotes and raccoons into Utah is 
governed by the Wildlife Board and is prohibited under this rule. 
 (5)  This rule does not apply to division employees acting 
within the scope of their assigned duties. 
 
R657-3-4.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2 and 
Subsection (2) through Subsection [(31)](29). 
 (2)  "Aquaculture" means the controlled cultivation of aquatic 
animals. 
 (3)(a)  "Aquaculture facility" means any tank, canal, raceway, 
pond, off-stream reservoir, or other structure used for aquaculture.  
"Aquaculture facility" does not include any public aquaculture 
facility or fee fishing facility. 
 (b)  Structures that are separated by more than 1/2 mile, or 
structures that drain to or are modified to drain to, different 
drainages, are considered separate aquaculture facilities regardless 
of ownership. 
 (4)  "Aquatic animal" means a member of any species of fish, 
mollusk, or crustacean, [or amphibian, ]including their gametes. 
 (5)  "Captive-bred" means any privately owned zoological 
animal, which is born inside of and has spent its entire life in 
captivity and is the offspring of privately owned zoological animals 
that are born inside of and have spent their entire life in captivity. 
 (6)  "Certificate of veterinary inspection" means an official 
health authorization issued by an accredited veterinarian required for 
the importation of zoological animals, as provided in Rule R58-1. 
 (7)  "CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 
 (8)  "CITES" means the Convention on International Trade in 
Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora. 
 (a)  Appendix I of CITES protects threatened species from all 
international commercial trade; and 
 (b)  Appendix II of CITES regulates trade in species not 
threatened with extinction, but which may become threatened if 
trade goes unregulated. 
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 (c)  CITES appendices are published periodically by the CITES 
Secretariat and reprinted by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in 50 
CFR 23.23, [2000]2002, ed., which is incorporated herein by 
reference. 
 (9)  "Collect" means to take, catch, capture, salvage, or kill any 
zoological animal within Utah. 
 (10)  "Commercial use" means any activity through which a 
person in possession of a zoological animal: 
 (a)  receives any consideration for that zoological animal or for 
a use of that zoological animal, including nuisance control and 
roadkill removal; or 
 (b)  expects to recover all or any part of the cost of keeping the 
zoological animal through selling, bartering, trading, exchanging, 
breeding, or other use, including displaying the zoological animal 
for entertainment, advertisement, or business promotion. 
 (11)  "Controlled species" means a species or subspecies of 
zoological animal that [may be]if taken from [or escape]the wild, 
introduced into the wild, or held in captivity, [without]poses a 
possible significant detrimental [impacts]impact to wild populations, 
the environment, or human health or safety, and for which a 
certificate of registration is required. 
 (12)[ "Den" means any place where reptiles congregate. 
 (13)]  "Educational use" means the possession and use of a 
zoological animal for conducting educational activities concerning 
wildlife and wildlife-related activities. 
 [(14)](13)  "Entry permit number" means a number issued by 
the state veterinarian's office to a veterinarian signing a certificate of 
veterinary inspection.  The entry permit number must be written on 
the certificate of veterinary inspection before the importation of the 
zoological animal.  The entry permit is valid only for 30 days after 
its issuance. 
 [(15)](14)  "Export" means to move or cause to move any 
zoological animal from Utah by any means. 
 [(16)](15)  "Fee fishing facility" means a body of water used 
for holding or rearing fish to provide fishing for a fee or for 
pecuniary consideration or advantage. 
 [(17)](16)  "Import" means to bring or cause a zoological 
animal to be brought into Utah by any means. 
 [(18)](17)  "Native species" means any species or subspecies of 
zoological animal that historically occurred in Utah and has not been 
introduced by humans or migrated into Utah as a result of human 
activity. 
 [(19)](18)  "Naturalized species" means any species or 
subspecies of zoological animal that is not native to Utah but has 
established a wild, self-sustaining population in Utah. 
 [(20)](19)  "Noncontrolled species" means a species or 
subspecies of zoological animal that if taken from the wild, 
introduced into the wild, or held in captivity, poses no detrimental 
impact to wild populations, the environment, or human health or 
safety, and for which a certificate of registration is not required, 
unless otherwise specified. 
 [(21)(a)](20)(a)  "Nonnative species" means a species or 
subspecies of zoological animal that is not native to Utah. 
 (b) "Nonnative species" does not include domestic animals or 
naturalized species of zoological animals. 
 [(22)(a)](21)(a)  "Ornamental fish" means fish that are raised or 
kept for their beauty rather than use, or that arouse interest for their 
uncommon or exotic characteristics, including tropical fish, goldfish, 
and koi. 
 (b)  "Ornamental fish" does not include any species listed as 
prohibited or controlled in Sections R657-3-[24]23. 

 [(23)](22)  "Personal use" means the possession and use of a 
zoological animal for a hobby or for its intrinsic pleasure and where 
no consideration for the possession or use of the animal is received 
by selling, bartering, trading, exchanging, breeding, or any other use. 
 [(24)](23)  "Possession" means to physically retain or to 
exercise dominion or control over a zoological animal. 
 [(25)](24)  "Prohibited species" means a species or subspecies 
of zoological animal that if taken from the wild, introduced into the 
wild, or held in captivity, poses a significant detrimental impact to 
wild populations, the environment, or human health or safety, and 
for which a certificate of registration shall only be issued in 
accordance with Sections R657-3-20(1)(b) or R657-3-[39]36. 
 [(26)](25)  "Public aquaculture facility" means a tank, canal, 
raceway, pond, off-stream reservoir, or other structure used for 
aquaculture by the division, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, a 
school, or an institution of higher education. 
 [(27) "Transport" means to move or cause to move any 
zoological animal within Utah by any means. 
 (28) "Turtle" means all animals commonly known as turtles, 
tortoises and terrapins, and all other animals of the order 
Testidunata, class Reptilia. 
 (29)](26)  "Scientific use" means the possession and use of a 
zoological animal for conducting scientific research that is directly 
or indirectly beneficial to wildlife or the general public. 
 (27)  "Transport" means to move or cause to move any 
zoological animal within Utah by any means. 
 (28)[(30)]  "Wildlife Registration Office" means the division 
office in Salt Lake City responsible for processing applications and 
issuing certificates of registration. 
 [(31)(a)](29)(a)  "Zoological animal" means: 
 (i)  native, naturalized, and nonnative species of animals, 
occurring in the wild, captured from the wild, or born or raised in 
captivity; 
 (ii)  hybrids of any native, naturalized, or nonnative species or 
subspecies of animals; and 
 (iii)  viable embryos or gametes of any native, naturalized, or 
nonnative species or subspecies of animals. 
 [(A)](b)  "Zoological animal" does not include species listed as 
domestic in Subsection R657-3-2, or amphibians or reptiles as 
defined in Rule R657-53. 
 
R657-3-5.  Liability. 
 (1)(a)  Any person who accepts a certificate of registration 
assumes all liability and responsibility for the collection, 
importation, transportation, and possession of the authorized 
zoological animal and for [conducting ]any other activity authorized 
by [the issuance of ]the certificate of registration. 
 (b)  To the extent provided under the Utah Governmental 
Immunity Act, the division, Department of Agriculture and Food, 
and Department of Health shall not be liable in any civil action for: 
 (i)  any injury, disease, or damage caused by or to any animal, 
person, or property as a result of any activity authorized under this 
rule or a certificate of registration; or 
 (ii)  the issuance, denial, suspension, or revocation of or by the 
failure or refusal to issue, deny, suspend, or revoke any certificate of 
registration or similar authorization. 
 (2)  It is the responsibility of any person who obtains a 
certificate of registration to read[ and], understand and comply with 
this rule and [to comply with all]all other applicable federal, state, 
county, city, or other municipality laws, regulations, and ordinances 
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governing zoological animals[ in addition to the provisions of this 
rule]. 
 
R657-3-6.  Animal Welfare. 
 (1)  Any zoological animal held in possession under the 
authority of a certificate of registration shall be maintained under 
humane and healthy conditions, including the humane handling, 
care, confinement, transportation, and feeding, as provided in: 
 (a)  9 CFR Section 3 Subpart F, [2000]2002 ed., which is 
adopted and incorporated by reference; 
 (b)  Section 76-9-301; and 
 (c)  Section 7 CFR 2.17, 2.51, and 371.2(g), [2000]2002 ed., 
which are incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  A person commits cruelty to animals under this section if 
that person intentionally, knowingly, or with criminal negligence, as 
defined in Section 76-2-103: 
 (a)  tortures or seriously overworks an animal; or 
 (b)  fails to provide necessary food, care, or shelter for any 
animal in that person's custody. 
 (3)  Adequate measures must be taken for the protection of the 
public when handling, confining, or transporting any zoological 
animal. 
 
R657-3-7.  Nuisance Birds -- Nuisance Porcupine, Striped 
Skunk, and Squirrel. 
 (1)(a)  A person is not required to obtain a certificate of 
registration or a federal permit to kill  American Crows or Black-
billed Magpies when found committing, or about to commit, 
depredations upon ornamental or shade trees, agricultural crops, 
livestock, or wildlife, or when concentrated in such numbers and 
manner as to constitute a health hazard or other nuisance, provided: 
 (i)  none of the birds killed pursuant to this section, nor their 
plumage, are sold or offered for sale; and 
 (ii)  any person killing American Crows or Black-billed 
Magpies shall: 
 (A)  allow any federal warden or conservation officer 
unrestricted access over the premises where American Crows or 
Black-billed Magpies are killed; and 
 (B)  furnish any information concerning the control operations 
to the division or federal official upon request. 
 (b)  A person may kill American Crows or Black-billed 
Magpies by any means, excluding bait, explosives or poison, and 
only on or over the threatened area. 
 (c)  American Crows and Black-billed Magpies killed pursuant 
to this section shall be collected immediately and must be disposed 
of at a landfill that accepts wildlife carcasses or must be buried or 
incinerated. 
 (d)  This subsection incorporates Section 50 CFR 21.42 and 
21.43, [2000]2002, ed., by reference. 
 (2)(a)  A person may capture, transport, and kill or release a 
nuisance porcupine, striped skunk, or squirrel without obtaining a 
certificate of registration. 
 (b)  A nuisance porcupine, striped skunk, or squirrel may be 
released only as follows: 
 (i)  within 48 hours of capture; 
 (ii)  within the county in which it was captured; and 
 (iii)  in a location where it does not pose a risk to human health 
or safety, or create other conflict with humans, agriculture, or other 
animals. 
 

R657-3-11.  Certificate of Registration Required. 
 (1)(a)  A person shall obtain a certificate of registration before 
collecting, importing, transporting, or possessing any species of 
zoological animal or its parts classified as prohibited or controlled, 
except as otherwise provided by the Wildlife Board or rules of the 
Wildlife Board as provided in Subsection R657-3-1(3). 
 (b)  A certificate of registration is not required: 
 (i)  to collect, import, transport, or possess any species or 
subspecies of zoological animal classified as noncontrolled[, except 
as provided in Subsections R657-3-21(3) and R657-3-26(5)(a)]; or 
 (ii)  to export any species or subspecies of zoological animal 
from Utah, provided that the zoological animal is held in legal 
possession. 
 (c)  Applications for zoological animals classified as prohibited 
[are]shall not be accepted by the division without providing written 
justification [as to why]describing how the applicant's proposed 
collection, importation, or possession of the zoological animal meets 
the criteria provided in Subsections R657-3-20(1)(b) or R657-3-
18(4)(b). 
 (2)(a)  Certificates of registration are not transferable and 
expire December 31 of the year issued, except as otherwise 
designated on the certificate of registration. 
 (b)  If the holder of a certificate of registration is a 
representative of an institution, organization, business, or agency, 
the certificate of registration shall end upon the representative's 
discontinuation of association with that entity. 
 (c)  Certificates of registration do not provide the holder with 
any rights of succession and any certificate of registration issued to a 
business or organization shall be void upon the termination of the 
business or organization or upon bankruptcy or transfer. 
 (3)(a)  The issuance of a certificate of registration automatically 
incorporates within its terms the conditions and requirements of this 
rule specifically governing the activity for which the certificate of 
registration is issued. 
 (b)  Any person accepting a certificate of registration under this 
rule acknowledges the necessity for close regulation and monitoring 
by the division. 
 (4)  A single certificate of registration may authorize more than 
one activity. 
 (5)(a)  In addition to this rule, the division may impose specific 
requirements on the holder of the certificate of registration necessary 
for the safe and humane handling and care of the zoological animal 
involved, including requirements for veterinary care, cage or holding 
pen sizes and standards, feeding requirements, social grouping 
requirements, and other requirements considered necessary by the 
division for the health and welfare of the zoological animal or the 
public. 
 (b)  The authorizations on the face of the certificate of 
registration setting forth specific times, dates, places, methods of 
take, numbers and species of zoological animals, location of activity, 
authorization for certain circumscribed transactions, or other 
designated conditions are to be strictly construed and shall not be 
interpreted to permit similar or related matters outside the scope of 
strict construction. 
 (6)(a)  Upon or before the expiration date of a certificate of 
registration, the holder [may]must apply for a new certificate of 
registration to continue the activity. 
 (b)  The division shall use the criteria provided in Section 
R657-3-14 in determining whether to issue the new certificate of 
registration. 
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 (c)  If an application is not made by the expiration date, live or 
dead zoological animals held in possession under the expired 
certificate of registration shall be considered unlawfully held and 
may be seized by the division. 
 (d)  If an application for a new certificate of registration is 
submitted before the expiration date, the existing certificate of 
registration shall remain valid while the application is pending. 
 (7)  Failure to submit timely, accurate, or valid reports as 
required under Section R657-3-16 and the certificate of registration 
may disqualify a person from obtaining a new certificate of 
registration. 
 (8)  A certificate of registration may be revoked as provided in 
Section 23-19-9 and Rule R657-26. 
 
R657-3-13.  Retroactive Effect on Possession. 
 A person lawfully possessing a zoological animal prior to the 
effective date of [this rule]any species reclassification may receive a 
certificate of registration from the division for the continued 
possession of that [individual]zoological animal where the animal's 
species classification has changed hereunder from noncontrolled to 
controlled or prohibited, or from controlled to prohibited.  The 
certificate of registration shall be obtained [by December 31, 
2002]within six months of the reclassification, or possession of the 
zoological animal thereafter shall be unlawful. 
 
R657-3-14.  Issuance Criteria. 
 (1)  The following factors shall be considered before the 
division may issue a certificate of registration: 
 (a)  the health, welfare, and safety of the public; 
 (b)  the health, welfare, safety, and genetic integrity of wildlife, 
domestic livestock, poultry, and other animals; 
 (c)  ecological and environmental impacts; 
 (d)  the suitability of the applicant's holding facilities; 
 (e)  the experience of the applicant for the activity requested; 
and 
 (f)  ecological or environmental impact on other states. 
 (2)  In addition to the criteria provided in Subsection (1), the 
division shall use the following criteria for the issuance of a 
certificate of registration for a scientific use of a zoological animal; 
 (a)  the validity of the objectives and design; 
 (b)  the likelihood the project will fulfill the stated objectives; 
 (c)  the applicant's qualifications to conduct the research, 
including the requisite education or experience; 
 (d)  the adequacy of the applicant's resources to conduct the 
study; and 
 (e)  whether the scientific use is in the best interest of the 
zoological animal, wildlife management, education, or the 
advancement of science without unnecessarily duplicating 
previously documented scientific research. 
 (3)  In addition to the criteria provided in Subsection (1), the 
division may use the following criteria for the issuance of a 
certificate of registration for an educational use of a zoological 
animal: 
 (a)  the objectives and structure of the educational program; and 
 (b)  whether the applicant has written approval from the 
appropriate official if the activity is conducted in a school or other 
educational facility. 
 (4)  The division may deny issuing a certificate of registration 
to any applicant, if[ the applicant has:]: 
 [(a) ](a)  the applicant has violated any provision of Title 23, 
Utah Wildlife Resources Code, Administrative Code R657, a 

certificate of registration, an order of the Wildlife Board or any other 
law that when considered with the functions and responsibilities of 
collecting, importing, possessing or propagating a zoological animal 
bears a reasonable relationship to the applicant's ability to safely and 
responsibly carry out such activities; 
 (b)  the applicant has previously been issued a certificate of 
registration and failed to submit any report or information required 
by this rule, the division, or the Wildlife Board;[ or] 
 (c)  the applicant misrepresented or failed to disclose material 
information required in connection with the application; or 
 (d)  holding the zoological animal at the proposed location 
violates federal, state, or local laws. 
 (5)  The collection or importation and subsequent possession of 
a zoological animal shall be granted only upon a clear demonstration 
that the criteria established in this section have been met by the 
applicant. 
 (6)  The division, in making a determination under this section, 
may use any information available that is relevant to the issuance of 
the certificate of registration, including independent inquiry or 
investigation to verify information or substantiate the qualifications 
asserted by the applicant. 
 (7)  If an application is denied, the division shall provide the 
applicant with written notice of the reasons for denial. 
 (8)  An appeal of the denial of an application may be made as 
provided in Section R657-3-[40]37. 
 
R657-3-15.  Amendment to Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)(a)  If material circumstances [have changed]change, 
requiring a modification of the terms of the certificate of 
registration, the holder may request an amendment by submitting 
written justification and supporting information. 
 (b)  The division may amend the certificate of registration or 
deny the request based on the criteria for initial applications 
provided in Section R657-3-14, and, if the request for an amendment 
is denied, shall provide the applicant with written notice of the 
reasons for denial. 
 (c)  The division may charge a fee for amending the certificate 
of registration. 
 (d)  An appeal of a request for an amendment may be made as 
provided in Section R657-3-[40]37. 
 (2)  The division reserves the right to amend any certificate of 
registration for good cause upon notification to the holder and 
written findings of necessity. 
 (3)(a)  Each holder of a certificate of registration shall notify 
the division within 30 days of any change in mailing address. 
 (b)  Zoological animals or activities authorized by a certificate 
of registration may not be held at any location not specified on the 
certificate of registration without prior written permission from the 
division. 
 
R657-3-16.  Records and Reports. 
 (1)(a)  From the date of [the ]issuance of the certificate of 
registration, the holder shall maintain complete and accurate records 
of any taking, possession, transportation, propagation, sale, 
purchase, barter, or importation pursuant to this rule or the 
certificate of registration. 
 (b)  Records must be kept current and shall include the names, 
phone numbers, and addresses of persons with whom any zoological 
animal has been sold, bartered, or otherwise transferred or received, 
and the dates of the transactions. 
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 (c)  The records required under this section must be maintained 
for two years from the expiration date of the certificate of 
registration. 
 (2)  Reports of activity must be submitted to the Wildlife 
Registration Office as specified on the certificate of registration. 
 (3)  Failure to submit the appropriate records and reports may 
result in revocation or denial of a certificate of registration. 
 
R657-3-17.  Collection, Importation or Possession for Personal 
Use. 
 (1)  A person may collect, import or possess live or dead 
zoological animals or their parts for a personal use only as follows: 
 (a)  Certificates of registration are not issued for the collection, 
importation or possession of any live or dead zoological animals or 
their parts classified as prohibited. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration is required for collecting, 
importing or possessing any live or dead zoological animals or their 
parts classified as controlled, except as otherwise provided by the 
Wildlife Board. 
 (c)  A certificate of registration is not required for collecting, 
importing or possessing live or dead zoological animals or their 
parts classified as noncontrolled[, except as provided in Subsections 
R657-3-21(3) and R657-3-26(5)(a)]. 
 (2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), a person may import or 
possess any dead zoological animal or its parts, except as provided 
in Section R657-3-8, for a personal use without obtaining a 
certificate of registration, provided the animal was legally taken, is 
held in legal possession, and a valid license, permit, tag, certificate 
of registration, bill of sale, or invoice is available for inspection 
upon request. 
 
R657-3-18.  Collection, Importation or Possession of a Live 
Zoological Animal for a Commercial Use. 
 (1)(a)  Pursuant to Sections 23-13-13 and 23-20-3, a person 
may not collect or possess a live zoological animal for a commercial 
use or commercial venture for pecuniary gain, unless otherwise 
provided in the rules and proclamations of the Wildlife Board, a 
certificate of registration or a memorandum of understanding with 
the division. 
 (b)  Use of brine shrimp for culturing ornamental fish is not a 
commercial use if the brine shrimp eggs are not sold, bartered, or 
traded and no more than 200 pounds are collected annually. 
 (2)(a)  A person may import or possess a live zoological animal 
classified as non-controlled for a commercial use or a commercial 
venture, except native or naturalized species of zoological animals 
may not be sold or traded unless they originate from a captive-bred 
population. 
 [(a)](b)  Complete and accurate records for native or 
naturalized species must be maintained and available for inspection 
for two years from the date of transaction, documenting the date, 
name, phone number, and address of the person from whom the 
zoological animal has been obtained. 
 (3)(a)  A person may not import or possess a live zoological 
animal classified as controlled for a commercial use or commercial 
venture, without first obtaining a certificate of registration. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration will not be issued to sell or 
trade a native or naturalized species of zoological animal unless it 
originates from a captive-bred population. 
 (c)  It is unlawful to transfer a live zoological animal classified 
as controlled to a person who does not have a certificate of 
registration to possess the zoological animal. 

 (d)  Complete and accurate records must be maintained and 
available for inspection for two years from the date of transaction, 
documenting the date, name, phone number, and address of the 
person from whom the zoological animal has been obtained. 
 (e)  Complete and accurate records must be maintained and 
available for inspection for two years from the date of transfer, 
documenting the date, name, address and certificate of registration 
number of the person receiving the zoological animal. 
 (4)(a)  A certificate of registration will not be issued for 
importing or possessing a live zoological animal classified as 
prohibited for a commercial use or commercial venture, except as 
provided in Subsection (b). 
 (b)  The division may issue a certificate of registration to a zoo, 
circus, amusement park, aviary, or film company to import or 
possess live species of zoological animals classified as prohibited if, 
in the opinion of the division, the importation for a commercial use 
is beneficial to wildlife or significantly benefits the general public 
without material detriment to wildlife. 
 (c)  The division's authority to issue a certificate of registration 
to a zoo, circus, amusement park, or aviary under this Subsection is 
restricted to those facilities that keep the prohibited species of 
zoological animals in a park, building, cage, enclosure or other 
structure for the primary purpose of public exhibition or viewing. 
 (5)[  It is unlawful to sell or trade any turtle, including tortoises, 
less than 4" in carapace length. 
 (6)]  An entry permit, and a certificate of veterinary inspection 
are required by the Department of Agriculture to import a live 
zoological animal classified as noncontrolled, controlled or 
prohibited. 
 
R657-3-19.  Collection, Importation or Possession of Dead 
Zoological Animals or Their Parts for a Commercial Use. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Sections 23-13-13 and 23-20-3, a person may 
not collect, import or possess any dead zoological animal or its parts 
for a commercial use or commercial venture for pecuniary gain, 
unless otherwise provided in the rules and proclamations of the 
Wildlife Board, or a memorandum of understanding with the 
division. 
 (2)  The restrictions in Subsection (1) do not apply to the 
following: 
 (a)  the commercial use of a dead coyote, jackrabbit, muskrat, 
raccoon, or its parts; 
 (b)  a business entity that has obtained a certificate of 
registration from the division to conduct nuisance wildlife control or 
carcass removal is allowed; and 
 (c)  dead zoological animals sold or traded for educational use. 
 
R657-3-20.  Collection, Importation or Possession for Scientific 
or Educational Use. 
 A person may collect, import or possess live or dead zoological 
animals or their parts for a scientific or educational use only as 
follows: 
 (1)(a)  Certificates of registration are not issued for collecting, 
importing or possessing live or dead zoological animals classified as 
prohibited, except as provided in Subsection (b). 
 (b)  The division may issue a certificate of registration to a 
university, college, governmental agency, bona fide nonprofit 
institution, or a person involved in wildlife research to collect, 
import or possess live or dead zoological animals classified as 
prohibited if, in the opinion of the division, the scientific or 
educational use is beneficial to wildlife or significantly benefits the 
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general public without material detriment to wildlife. 
 (2)  A person shall obtain a certificate of registration before 
collecting, importing or possessing live or dead zoological animals 
or their parts classified as controlled. 
 (3)  A certificate of registration is not required to collect, 
import or possess live or dead zoological animals classified as 
noncontrolled[, except as provided in Subsections R657-3-21(3) and 
R657-3-26(5)(a)]. 
 
[R657-3-21. Classification and Specific Rules for Amphibians. 
 (1)  Amphibians are classified as follows: 
 (a)  Bullfrog, Ranidae Family (Rana catesbeiana) is prohibited 
for collection, importation and possession, except as provided in 
Subsection (5); 
 (b)  Clawed frog, Pipidae Family (Xenopus) (All species) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (c)  Columbia spotted frog, Ranidae Family (Rana luteiventris) 
is prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (d)  Green frog, Ranidae Family (Rana clamitans) is prohibited 
for collection, importation and possession, except as provided in 
Subsection (5); 
 (e)  Northern leopard frog, Ranidae Family (Rana pipiens) is 
controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (f)  Pacific chorus frog, Ranidae Family (Pseudacris regilla) is 
controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (g)  Relict leopard frog, Ranidae Family (Rana onca) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (h)  Yavapai leopard frog, Ranidae Family (Rana yavapaiensis) 
is prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (i)  Tiger salamander, Ambystomatidae Family (Ambystoma 
tigrinum) is controlled for importation, and noncontrolled for 
collection and possession as provided in Subsection (4); 
 (j)  Giant (Marine) toad, Bufonidae Family (Bufo marinus) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (k)  Southwestern toad, Bufonidae Family (Bufo microscaphus) 
is controlled for collection, importation and possession; and 
 (l)  Western toad, Bufonidae Family (Bufo boreas) is prohibited 
for collection, importation and possession. 
 (2)  All species and subspecies of amphibians not listed in 
Subsection (1) are classified as noncontrolled for collection, 
importation and possession, except as provided in Subsection (3). 
 (3)  A person must obtain a certificate of registration to collect 
four or more amphibians of each species classified as noncontrolled 
within a calendar year, except as provided in Subsection (4) and (5). 
 (4)  A person may collect or possess for personal use up to 50 
Tiger salamanders (Ambystoma tigrinum) without a certificate of 
registration. 
 (5)  A person may collect or possess any number of Bullfrogs 
(Rana catesbeiana) or Green frogs (Rana clamitans) without a 
certificate of registration provided they are either killed or released 
immediately upon removing them from the water. A person may not 
transport a live bullfrog or green frog from the water from which it 
was collected without first obtaining a certificate of registration. 
 
R657-3-22]R657-3-21.  Classification and Specific Rules for 
Birds. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[23]22.  Classification and Specific Rules for 
Invertebrates. 
. . . . . . . 

R657-3-[24]23.  Classification and Specific Rules for Fish. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[25]24.  Classification and Specific Rules for Mammals. 
. . . . . . . 
 
[R657-3-26. Classification and Specific Rules for Reptiles. 
 (1)  Reptiles are classified as follows: 
 (a)  Crocodiles are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Alligators and caimans, Alligatoridae Family (All species) 
are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (ii)  Crocodiles, Crocdylidae Family (All species) are 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (iii)  Garial, Gavialidae Family (Vavialis gangeticus) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (b)  Lizards are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Beaded lizard, Helodermatidae Family, Heloderma 
horridum is prohibited for collection, importation, and possession; 
 (ii)  Chuckwalla, Iguanidae Family (Sauromalus) (All species) 
are prohibited for collection, and controlled for importation and 
possession; 
 (iii)  Desert iguana, Iguanidae Family (Dipsosaurus dorsalis) is 
prohibited for collection, and controlled for importation and 
possession; 
 (iv)  Gila monster, Helodermatidae Family (Heloderma 
suspectum) is prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (v)  Many-lined skink, Scincidae Family (Eumeces 
multivirgatus gaigeae) is controlled for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (vi)  Night lizard, Xantusiidae Family (Xantusia vigilis) is 
controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (vii)  Plateau striped whiptail, Teiidae Family (Cnemidophorus 
velox) is controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (viii)  Side-blotched lizard, Phrynosomatidae Family (Uta 
stansburiana) is noncontrolled collection, importation and 
possession, except as provided in Section R657-3-26(5); 
 (ix)  Utah banded Gecko, Gekkonidae Family (Coleonyx 
variegatus utahensis) is controlled for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (x)  Mojave zebra-tailed lizard, Phrynosomatidae Family 
(Callisaurus draconoides rhodostictus) is controlled for collection, 
importation and possession; 
 (c)  Snakes are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Bird Snake, Colubridae Family (Thelotornis) (All species) 
are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (ii)  Boomslang, Colubridae Family (Dispholidus typus) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (iii)  Burrowing asps, Atractaspidae Family (All species) are 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (iv)  California kingsnake (black and white banded-form), 
Colubridae Family (Lampropeltis getula californiae) is controlled for 
collection, importation and possession; 
 (v)  Desert glossy snake, Colubridae Family (Arizona elegans 
eburnata) is controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (vi)  Great Plains rat snake, Colubridae Family (Elaphe guttata 
emoryi) is controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (vii)  Keelback, Colubridae Family (Rhabdophis) (All species) 
are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (viii)  Mojave patch-nosed snake, Colubridae Family 
(Salvadora hexalepis mojavensis) is controlled for collection, 
importation and possession; 
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 (ix)  Painted desert glossy snake, Colubridae Family (Arizona 
elegans philipi) is controlled for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (x)  Pit vipers, Viperidae Family (All species, except Crotalus 
viridis) are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (xi)  Proteroglyphous snakes, Australian spp., cobras, coral 
snakes, kraits, and their allies, Elapidae Family (All species) are 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (xii)  Sonoran lyre snake, Colubridae Family (Trimorphodon 
biscutatus lambda) are prohibited for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (xiii)  Southwestern black-headed snake, Colubridae Family 
(Tantilla hobartsmithi) is controlled for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (xiv)  Utah blind snake, Leptotyphlopidae Family 
(Leptotyphlops humilis utahensis) is controlled for collection, 
importation and possession; 
 (xv)  Utah milk snake, Colubridae Family (Lampropeltis 
triangulum taylori) is prohibited for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (xvi)  Utah mountain kingsnake, Colubridae Family 
(Lampropeltis pyromelana infralabialis) is prohibited for collection, 
importation and possession; 
 (xvii)  Western rattlesnake, Viperidae Family (Crotalus viridis) 
is controlled for collection, prohibited for importation, and 
controlled for possession; 
 (xviii)  Western smooth green snake, Colubridae Family 
(Liochlorophis vernalis blanchardi) is controlled for collection, 
importation and possession; 
 (xix)  Western terrestrial garter snake, Colubridae Family 
(Thamnophis elegans) is noncontrolled for collection, importation 
and possession, except as provided in Section R657-3-26(5); 
 (d)  Turtles are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Desert tortoise, Testudinidae Family (Gopherus agassizii) is 
prohibited for collection and importation, and controlled for 
possession; 
 (ii)  Snapping turtle, Chelydridae Family (Chelydra serpentina) 
is prohibited for collection, importation and possession, except as 
provided in Section R657-3-26(6); 
 (iii)  Spiny softshell, Trionychidae Family (Apalone spinifera) 
is prohibited for collection, importation and possession, except as 
provided in Section R657-3-26(6). 
 (2)  All species and subspecies of reptiles not listed in 
Subsection (1) are classified as noncontrolled for collection, 
importation and possession, except as provided in Subsection (5). 
 (3)  A person may not: 
 (a)  disturb the den of any reptile or kill, capture, or harass any 
reptile within 100 yards of a reptile den without first obtaining a 
certificate of registration from the division; or 
 (b)  indiscriminately kill any reptile. 
 (4)(a)  Western rattlesnakes, Crotalus viridis, may be killed 
without a certificate of registration only for reasons of human safety. 
 (b)  The carcass of a Western rattlesnake killed pursuant to 
Subsection (a) may be retained for personal use only. 
 (5)(a)  A person must obtain a certificate of registration to 
collect four or more reptiles of each species classified as 
noncontrolled within a calendar year, except as provided in 
Subsection (5)(b) and Subsection (6). 
 (b)  A person may collect and possess any number of side-
botched lizards, Uta stansburiana, and western terrestrial garter, 

Thamnophis elegans, snakes without obtaining a certificate of 
registration. 
 (6)  A person may collect or possess any number of snapping 
turtles, Chelydra serpentina, or spiny softshell, Apalone spinifera, 
turtles without a certificate of registration provide they are either 
killed or released immediately upon removing them from the water. 
A person may not transport a live snapping turtle or spiny softshell 
turtle from the water from which it was collected without first 
obtaining a certificate of registration. 
 (7)  For purposes of this section, "white" means white and other 
non-yellow shades of white. 
 
R657-3-27]R657-3-25.  Importation of Zoological Animals into 
Utah. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[28]26.  Transporting Live Zoological Animals Through 
Utah. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[29]27.  Importing Zoological Animals into Utah for 
Processing. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[30]28.  Transfer of Possession. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[31.]29.  Propagation. 
 (1)  A person may propagate zoological animals classified as 
noncontrolled for possession. 
 (2)  A person may propagate zoological animals classified as 
controlled for possession only after obtaining a certificate of 
registration from the division, or as otherwise authorized in Sections 
R657-3-[32]30, R657-3-[33, R657-3-34]31, and R657-3-[35]32. 
 (3)  A person may not propagate zoological animals classified 
as prohibited for possession, except as authorized in Sections R657-
3-[32]30, R657-3-[33]31 and R657-3-[34 and R657-3-35]32. 
 
R657-3-[32]30.  Propagation of Raptors. 
 (1)  A person may propagate raptors only as provided in this 
section and Section 50 CFR 21.30, [2000,]2002, ed., which is 
incorporated by reference.  All applicants for captive breeding 
permits must become familiar with this rule and the applicable 
federal regulations. 
 (2)  A person must apply for a federal raptor propagation permit 
and a certificate of registration from the division to propagate 
raptors. 
 (3)  If the applicant requests authority to use raptors taken from 
the wild, the regional director of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
in consultation with the avian program coordinator must determine 
the following: 
 (a)  whether issuance of the permit would have significant 
effect on any wild population of raptors; 
 (b)  whether suitable captive stock is available; and 
 (c)  whether wild stock is needed to enhance the genetic 
variability of captive stock. 
 (4)  Raptors may not be taken from the wild for captive 
breeding, except as provided in Subsection (3). 
 (5)  A person must obtain authorization from the division 
before importing raptor semen into Utah or importing captive-raised 
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raptors for sale.  The authorization shall be noted on the certificate 
of registration. 
 (6)  A person may sell a captive-bred raptor properly marked 
with a band approved by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service or 
issued by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to a raptor breeder who 
has a valid federal and state license or to state and federally licensed 
general or master class falconer. 
 (7)  A permittee may not purchase, sell or barter any raptor 
eggs, any raptors taken from the wild, any raptor semen collected 
from the wild, or any raptors hatched from eggs taken from the wild. 
 (8)  Each captive bred raptor brought into Utah must be 
accompanied by a valid certificate of veterinary inspection issued by 
an accredited veterinarian from the state of origin. 
 (9)  A permittee may use raptors held in possession for 
propagation in the sport of falconry only if such use is designated on 
both the propagation permit and the permittee's falconry permit. 
 (10)  Raptors used for falconry on temporary loan to a breeding 
project, with the division's authorization and accompanied by a 
Form 3-186A, Migratory Bird Acquisition and Disposition Report, 
provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, must be included in 
the loaning falconer's bird number limitation as permitted in the 
license class designation. 
 (11)(a)  Hybridization with the female of a species which is 
endangered or threatened is prohibited. 
 (b)  Interspecific hybridization between species is authorized 
only if each raptor produced is either imprinted on humans or 
surgically sterilized. 
 (i)  "Imprinted on humans" means hand-raised in isolation from 
the sight of other raptors from two weeks of age until it is fully 
feathered. 
 (c)  Documentation of imprinting on humans required under 
Subsection (b) must be provided by the propagator. 
 (12)  Raptors considered unsuitable for release to the wild from 
rehabilitation projects, and certified as not releasable by a licensed 
veterinarian, may be placed in a captive breeding project upon 
written request from an authorized breeder and with concurrence of 
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the division. 
 (13)  A copy of the propagator's annual report of activities 
required by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service must be sent to the 
division as specified on the certificate of registration. 
 
R657-3-[33]31.  Propagation of Bobcat, Lynx, and Marten. 
. . . . . . . 
 
[R657-3-34. Propagation of Reptiles. 
 (1)  A person may propagate the following species of snakes 
only after obtaining a certificate of registration: 
 (a)  California kingsnake (Lampropeltis getula californiae) 
(banded form); 
 (b)  Great Plains rat snake (Elaphe guttata emoryi); and 
 (c)  Mojave patch-nosed snake (Salvadora hexalepis 
mojavensis). 
 (2)(a)  The division may issue a total of six certificates of 
registration for captive breeding. 
 (b)  Certificates of registration for the propagation of reptiles 
are issued on a one per household basis annually. 
 (c)  Application forms are available from the Wildlife 
Registration Office and must be submitted during the month of 
January. 
 (d)  If more applications are received than the number of 
available certificates of registration, a public drawing will be held on 

the second Friday in February to determine successful applicants. 
 (3)  Certificates of registration may be issued to an applicant 
who: 
 (a)  is a resident of Utah; 
 (b)  presents written documentation showing at least five years 
of experience in reptile husbandry and at least three years of 
experience in the captive propagation of reptiles; 
 (c)  is able to demonstrate the ability to provide and maintain 
suitable, disease-free facilities to humanely hold and maintain 
reptiles in good condition; 
 (d)  is able to demonstrate the ability to prevent commingling 
with other reptiles not collected under the authority of a certificate of 
registration; 
 (e)  has not been convicted of any wildlife violation involving 
reptiles within the past five years; and 
 (f)  presents documentation to the division showing that captive 
breeding is allowed in the county or other political subdivision in 
which the applicant resides. 
 (4)  The disposition of any reptile held in possession under the 
authority of a certificate of registration and its progeny and 
descendants born in captivity remain property of the state of Utah 
and shall be determined by the division in accordance with the needs 
for public health, welfare, and safety, and impacts on wildlife. 
 
R657-3-35]R657-3-32.  Propagation of Caribou, Fallow Deer, 
Musk-ox, and Reindeer. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[36.]33.  Violations. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[37]34.  Certification Review Committee. 
 (1)  The division shall establish a Certification Review 
Committee which shall be responsible for: 
 (a)  reviewing: 
 (i)  petitions to reclassify species and subspecies of zoological 
animals; 
 (ii)  appeals of certificates of registration; and 
 (iii)  requests for variances to this rule; and 
 (b)  making recommendations to the Wildlife Board. 
 (2)  The committee shall consist of the following individuals: 
 (a)  the director or the director's designee who shall represent 
the director's office and shall act as chair of the committee; 
 (b)  the chief of the Aquatic Section; 
 (c)  the chief of the Wildlife Section; 
 (d)  the chief of the Public Services Section; 
 (e)  the state veterinarian or his designee; and 
 (f)  a person designated by the Department of Health. 
 (3)  The division shall require a fee for the submission of a 
request provided in Section R657-3-[38]35 and R657-3-[39]36. 
 
R657-3-[38]35.  Request for Species Reclassification. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[39]36.  Request for Variance. 
. . . . . . . 
 
R657-3-[40]37.  Appeal of Certificate of Registration Denial. 
 (1)  A person may appeal the division's denial of a certificate of 
registration by submitting an appeal request to the Certification 
Review Committee. 
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 (2)  The request must be made within 30 days after the date of 
the denial. 
 (3)  The request shall include: 
 (a)  the name, address, and phone number of the petitioner; 
 (b)  the date the request was mailed; 
 (c)  the species or subspecies of zoological animals and the 
activity for which the application was made; and 
 (d)  supporting facts and other evidence applicable to resolving 
the issue. 
 (4)  The committee shall review the request within a reasonable 
time after it is received. 
 (5)  Upon reviewing the application and the reasons for its 
denial, the committee may: 
 (a)  overturn the denial and approve the application; or 
 (b)  uphold the denial. 
 (6)  The committee may overturn a denial if the denial was: 
 (a)  based on insufficient information; 
 (b)  inconsistent with prior action of the division or the Wildlife 
Board; 
 (c)  arbitrary or capricious; or 
 (d)  contrary to law. 
 (7)(a)  Within a reasonable time after making its decision, the 
committee shall mail a notice to the petitioner specifying the reasons 
for its decision. 
 (b)  The notice shall include information that a person may seek 
Wildlife Board review of that decision. 
 (8)(a)  If the committee upholds the denial, the petitioner may 
seek Wildlife Board review of the decision by submitting a request 
for Wildlife Board review within 30 days after its issuance. 
 (b)  The request must include the information provided in 
Subsection (3). 
 (9)(a)  Upon receiving a request for Wildlife Board review, the 
Wildlife Board shall, within a reasonable time, hold a hearing to 
consider the request. 
 (b)  The Wildlife Board may: 
 (i)  overturn the denial and approve the application; or 
 (ii)  uphold the denial. 
 (c)  The Wildlife Board shall provide the petitioner with a 
written decision within a reasonable time after making its decision. 
 (10)  An appeal contesting initial division determination of 
eligibility for a certificate of registration shall be considered a 
request for agency action as provided in Subsection 63-46b-3(3) and 
Rule R657-2. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, animal protection, import restrictions, zoological 
animals 
[April 16, 2002]2003 
Notice of Continuation April 16, 2001 
23-14-18 
23-14-19 
23-20-3 
23-13-14 
63-30-1 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-5-70 
Chronic Wasting Disease - Infected 

Animals 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26165 
FILED:  04/15/2003, 08:02 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory Council 
meetings and the Wildlife Board meeting conducted for taking 
public input and reviewing the impacts of chronic wasting 
disease (CWD) found in deer and elk in Utah. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R657-5-70 is being 
added to provide provisions for a person who legally takes a 
deer or elk, which is later confirmed to be infected with CWD 
to: a) retain the entire carcass of the animal; b) retain parts of 
the animal, and surrender remaining parts to the Division of 
Wildlife Resources (DWR) for proper disposal; or c) surrender 
all portions of the animal to DWR and receive a duplicate 
permit. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment provides provisions for a 
person who legally takes a deer or elk, which is later 
confirmed to be infected with CWD to: a) retain the entire 
carcass of the animal; b) retain parts of the animal, and 
surrender remaining parts to DWR for proper disposal; or c) 
surrender all portions of the animal to DWR and receive a 
duplicate permit.  DWR may incur some costs associated with 
issuing duplicate permits and disposing of carcasses.  
However, the costs should be minimal and may depend on the 
number of deer or elk diagnosed with CWD.  Otherwise, the 
Division determines that this amendment does not create a 
cost or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they are not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  This amendment provides provisions for a 
person who legally takes a deer or elk, which is later 
confirmed to be infected with CWD to: a) retain the entire 
carcass of the animal; b) retain parts of the animal, and 
surrender remaining parts to DWR for proper disposal; or c) 
surrender all portions of the animal to DWR and receive a 
duplicate permit.  The Division determines that this 
amendment does not impose any additional requirements on 
other persons, nor generate a cost or savings impact to other 
persons. 
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This amendment 
provides provisions for a person who legally takes a deer or 
elk, which is later confirmed to be infected with CWD to: a) 
retain the entire carcass of the animal; b) retain parts of the 
animal, and surrender remaining parts to DWR for proper 
disposal; or c) surrender all portions of the animal to DWR and 
receive a duplicate permit.  DWR determines that there are no 
additional compliance costs associated with this amendment. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This amendment does not 
create an impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-5.  Taking Big Game. 
R657-5-70.  Chronic Wasting Disease - Infected Animals. 
 (1)  Any person who under the authority of a permit issued by 
the division legally takes a deer or elk that is later confirmed to be 
infected with Chronic Wasting Disease may: 
 (a)  retain the entire carcass of the animal; 
 (b)  retain any parts of the carcass, including antlers, and 
surrender the remainder to the division for proper disposal; or 
 (c)  surrender all portions of the carcass in their actual or 
constructive possession, including antlers, to the division and 
receive a free duplicate permit the following year for the same hunt. 
 (2)  The duplicate permit issued pursuant to Subsection (1)(c) 
shall be for the same species, sex, weapon type, unit, region, and 
otherwise subject to all the restrictions and conditions imposed on 
the original permit, except season dates for the permit shall follow 
the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking big game 
published in the year the duplicate permit is valid. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, game laws, big game seasons[*] 
[January 15,] 2003 
Notice of Continuation November 30, 2000 
 
 
 

23-14-18 
23-14-19 
23-16-5 
23-16-6 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-26-8 
Wildlife Board Review - Procedure 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26169 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 08:05 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory Council 
meetings and the Wildlife Board meeting conducted for taking 
public input and reviewing the procedures for Wildlife Board 
Review of the suspension of the privilege of applying for, 
purchasing and exercising the benefits conferred by a license, 
permit, or certificate of registration. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Subsection R657-26-8(6) is 
being amended to allow the Wildlife Board to amend 
suspension periods.  Subsection R657-26-8(7) is being 
amended to provide that the Wildlife Board chair may vote in 
an adjudicative proceeding decision as it relates to Rule 
R657-26, and any Wildlife Board decision shall be supported 
by a majority of the voting members present. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 23-19-9(15) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment allows the Wildlife Board 
to amend suspension periods, and clarifies that the Wildlife 
Board chair may vote in an adjudicative proceeding decision 
as it relates to Rule R657-26.  The Division of Wildlife 
Resources (DWR) determines that this rule will not create any 
cost or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they are not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  No impact--These amendments do not 
impose any requirements on persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This amendment 
allows the Wildlife Board to amend suspension periods, and 
clarifies that the Wildlife Board chair may vote in an 
adjudicative proceeding decision as it relates to Rule R657-
26.  Therefore, this rule does not impose any cost 
requirements or burdens on persons. 
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COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-26.  Adjudicative Proceedings for a License, Permit, or 
Certificate of Registration. 
R657-26-8.  Wildlife Board Review - Procedure. 
 (1)(a)  A person may file an appeal of a presiding officer's 
decision with the Wildlife Board. 
 (b)  The appeal must be in writing and the respondent shall 
send a copy of the appeal by mail to the chair of the Wildlife Board 
and each of the parties. 
 (2)  The appeal must be filed within 30 days after the issuance 
of the presiding officer's decision and order. 
 (3)  The appeal shall: 
 (a)  be signed by the respondent or the respondent's legal 
counsel; 
 (b)  state the grounds for appeal and the relief requested; and 
 (c)  state the date upon which it was mailed. 
 (4)(a)  Within 15 days after the mailing date of the appeal, any 
party may file a written response with the Wildlife Board. 
 (b)  A copy of the response shall be sent by mail to the chair of 
the Wildlife Board and each of the parties. 
 (5)  The Wildlife Board [shall]may hold a de novo formal 
hearing in accordance with the provisions of Section 63-46b-6 
through Section 63-46b-10.  The Wildlife Board may convert the 
hearing to an informal hearing anytime before a final order is issued 
if: 
 (a)  conversion of the proceeding is in the public interest; and 
 (b)  conversion of the proceeding does not unfairly prejudice 
the rights of any party. 
 (6)  At the conclusion of the hearing, the Wildlife Board may: 
 (a)  affirm the decision; 
 (b)  vacate or remand the decision; [or] 
 (c)  amend the type of suspension ordered by the presiding 
officer; or 
 (d)  amend the suspension period. 

 (7) The Wildlife Board [shall not amend or alter the suspension 
periods imposed in accordance with Section 23-19-9(4), where the 
statutory elements prerequisite to imposing the suspension periods 
are satisfied.]chair may vote in an adjudicative proceedings decision, 
and any Wildlife Board decision shall be supported by a majority of 
the voting members present. 
 (8)(a)  If the Wildlife Board takes any action to vacate or 
remand the decision or amend the type of suspension, the chair of 
the Wildlife Board shall, within a reasonable time, issue a written 
order on review. 
 (b)  The order on review shall be signed by the chair of the 
Wildlife Board and mailed to each party. 
 (c)  The order on review shall contain: 
 (i)  a designation of the statute permitting review; 
 (ii)  a statement of the issues reviewed; 
 (iii)  findings of fact as to each of the issues reviewed; 
 (iv)  conclusions of law as to each of the issues reviewed; 
 (v)  whether the decision of the presiding officer is to be 
affirmed, reversed, modified, and whether all or any portion of the 
adjudicative proceeding is to be remanded; 
 (vi)  a notice of any right of further administrative 
reconsideration or judicial review; and 
 (vii)  the time limits applicable to any appeal or review. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, suspensions[*], violations[*] 
[October 17, 2001]2003 
Notice of Continuation August 30, 2001 
23-13-2 
23-14-1 
23-14-19 
23-19-9 
23-20-14 
63-46b-13 
63-46b-5 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-39-3 
Memberships -- Terms of Office 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26164 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 08:01 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory Council 
meetings and the Wildlife Board meeting conducted for taking 
public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife Resources 
(DWR) Regional Advisory Council program. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is being amended 
to provide exceptions to a regional advisory council member 
serving more than two terms:  1) members representing 
Native Americans may serve unlimited terms; 2) members 
filling a vacancy for two years or fewer will not be credited with 
serving a term; and 3) members who have served two terms 
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may serve additional terms after four years absence from 
membership.  Other changes are made for consistency. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 23-14-2.6(7) and Section 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  These amendments provide exceptions 
and clarification to a regional advisory council member serving 
more than two terms.  Therefore, DWR determines that these 
amendments do not create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or DWR's budget. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they are not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  These amendments provide exceptions and 
clarification to a regional advisory council member serving 
more than two terms.  Therefore, the amendments do not 
impose any additional requirements on other persons, nor 
generate a cost or savings impact to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  These 
amendments provide exceptions and clarification to a regional 
advisory council member serving more than two terms.  DWR 
determines that there are no additional compliance costs 
associated with these amendments. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-39.  Regional Advisory Councils. 
R657-39-3.  Memberships -- Terms of Office. 
 (1)(a)  There are created five regional advisory councils which 
shall consist of at least 12 members and not more than 15 members 

each from the wildlife region whose boundaries are established for 
administrative purposes by the division. 
 (b)  Regional advisory councils shall be established as follows: 
 (i)  two members who represent agriculture; 
 (ii)  two members who represent sportsman; 
 (iii)  two members who represent nonconsumptive wildlife; 
 (iv)  one member who [is a]represents locally elected public 
[official]officials; 
 (v)  one member [from]who represents the U.S. Forest Service; 
 (vi)  one member [from]who represents the Bureau of Land 
Management; 
 (vii)  one member who represents Native [American 
Indians]Americans where appropriate; and 
 (viii)  two members of the public at large who represent the 
interests of the region. 
 (c)  The executive director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, in consultation with the director of the Division of 
Wildlife Resources, shall appoint additional members to the 
councils, up to a total of 15 per region, if deemed necessary to 
provide adequate representation of local interests and needs. 
 (d)  Members of the councils shall serve a term of four years, 
except [that ]members may be appointed for a term of two years to 
ensure that the terms of office are staggered. 
 (e)  Members may serve no more than two terms, except: 
 (i)  members representing Native Americans may serve 
unlimited terms; 
 (ii)  members filling a vacancy under Subsection (3) for two 
years or less will not be credited with having served a term; and 
 (iii)  members who have served two terms may be eligible to 
serve an additional two terms after four years absence from regional 
advisory council membership.[.] 
 (f)  Members' terms expire on July 1 of the final year in the 
appointed term. 
 (2)  The executive director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, in consultation with the director of the Division of 
Wildlife Resources, may remove members of the councils from 
office for cause, but may not do so without a public hearing if 
requested by the member. 
 (3)  If a vacancy occurs, the executive director of the 
Department of Natural Resources,  in consultation with the director 
of the Division of Wildlife Resources, shall appoint a replacement to 
serve the remainder of the term from a list of nominees submitted by 
the respective interest group, agency, or the public at large. 
 (4)(a)  Each council shall appoint: 
 (i)  a chair to conduct meetings and present council 
recommendations to the Wildlife Board; and 
 (ii)  a vice chair to conduct meetings in the absence of the chair. 
 (b)  The chair and vice chair shall serve for a two year term of 
office. 
 (5)  Regional supervisors of the division shall serve as 
executive secretary to the councils and shall provide administrative 
support. 
 (6)  Each new member shall attend an orientation course 
provided by the division to assist them in the performance of the 
duties of the their office. 
 (7)  Any member who fails to attend two consecutive, 
previously scheduled meetings without contacting the chair shall be 
considered to have resigned and shall be replaced as provided in this 
section. 
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Importation, Transportation, and 

Possession 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26168 
FILED:  04/15/2003, 08:04 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being proposed to provide procedures, standards, and 
requirements for the collection, importation, transportation, 
and possession of amphibians and reptiles; and replaces 
those provisions which are being eliminated under Rule R657-
3.  This rule was adopted by the Utah Wildlife Board on April 
2, 2003, and agreed to by the Reptile and Amphibian 
Negotiation Association (RANA).  (DAR NOTE:  The 
amendment to R657-3 is under DAR No. 26166 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule provides the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for the collection, 
importation, transportation, and possession of amphibians and 
reptiles, and replaces those provisions which are being 
eliminated under Rule R657-3.  In addition, provisions of this 
rule are being changed to:  1) clarify that wild caught 
amphibians and reptiles remain the property of the state and 
that the state will not assert ownership interest in lawfully 
possessed, captive-bred individual species but will retain 
jurisdiction to regulate such species; 2) define "amphibian," 
"captive-bred," "legally obtained," and "reptile;" 3) clarify that a 
Certificate of Registration (COR) is not required to export any 
species or subspecies of amphibian or reptile from Utah, 
provided the amphibian or reptile is held in legal possession 
and importation into the destination state is lawful; 4) provide 
that the COR expires as designated on the COR, and that 
upon the death of the COR holder, a legally obtained and 
possessed amphibian or reptile may pass to a successor, and 
a COR will be issued to the successor unless the amphibian 
or reptile poses a detrimental impact to community safety or 
the successor is unqualified to handle the amphibian or 
reptile; 5) clarify that required records must be maintained for 
five years from the expiration date of the COR, a transaction 
date, or a transfer date; 6) provide that it is unlawful to transfer 
a live amphibian or reptile classified as controlled for 
possession to a person who does not have a COR, except if 
the amphibian or reptile is captive-bred, the transferee is not 
domiciled in Utah, the transferee is exporting the amphibian or 

reptile out of Utah, and the transferee follows the transport 
provisions provided in Section R657-53-20; 7) update 
scientific and common names of amphibians and reptiles; 8) 
add the Northern sagebrush lizard as noncontrolled for 
collection, importation and possession, except as otherwise 
provided in the rule; 9) include all species in the Snapping 
turtle family as prohibited for collection, importation and 
possession, except as otherwise provided in the rule; 10) 
change classification of the Plateau striped whiptail and the 
Mojave patch nosed snake to noncontrolled, except as 
otherwise provided in the rule; 11) change the classification of 
the California kingsnake to controlled for collection, and 
noncontrolled for importation and possession; 12) change the 
classification of the Sonoran lyre snake to controlled for 
collection, importation and possession; 13) clarify that in a 
calendar year, a person may collect and possess for personal 
use 25 common side-botched lizards, 25 northern sagebrush 
lizards, and 25 terrestrial gartersnakes, without obtaining a 
certificate of registration; 14) clarify that a person may import 
any amphibian or reptile native to Utah that is classified as 
controlled or noncontrolled for importation, which has been 
legally obtained from outside the state of Utah; 15) provide 
provisions for the propagation of reptiles, including: a) 
elimination of the limitation on the species that may be 
propagated and the number of CORs that may be issued; b) 
the progeny of legally obtained amphibians or reptiles are the 
property of the holder; and c) captive-bred amphibians and 
reptiles must be marked with a Passive Integrated 
Transponder (PIT) tag; and 16) make other changes for 
consistency and clarity. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule provides the procedures, 
standards, and requirements for the collection, importation, 
transportation and possession of amphibians and reptiles, and 
replaces those provisions which are being eliminated under 
Rule R657-3.  The Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) 
determines that by removing the provisions regarding 
amphibians and reptiles from Rule R657-3 and incorporating 
those provisions into a new rule does not create a cost or 
savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget.  
However, DWR may incur a minimal cost for administering the 
PIT tag requirement because DWR will provide the PIT tags 
and mark the captive-bred amphibians and reptiles. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they are not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  This rule provides the procedures, 
standards, and requirements for the collection, importation, 
transportation, and possession of amphibians and reptiles, 
and replaces those provisions which are being eliminated 
under Rule R657-3.  DWR determines that by removing the 
provisions regarding amphibians and reptiles from Rule R657-
3 and incorporating those provisions into a new rule does not 
impose any additional requirements on other persons, nor 
generate a cost or savings impact to other persons. 
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule provides 
the procedures, standards, and requirements for the 
collection, importation, transportation, and possession of 
amphibians and reptiles, and replaces those provisions which 
are being eliminated under Rule R657-3.  DWR determines 
that by removing the provisions regarding amphibians and 
reptiles from Rule R657-3 and incorporating those provisions 
into a new rule does not create an additional compliance cost 
to affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule provides the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for the collection, 
importation, transportation, and possession of amphibians and 
reptiles, and replaces those provisions which are being 
eliminated under Rule R657-3.  DWR determines that by 
removing the provisions regarding amphibians and reptiles 
from Rule R657-3 and incorporating those provisions into a 
new rule, recommended by the RANA members, and 
incorporating those provisions into this new rule does not 
create an impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-53.  Amphibian and Reptile Collection, Importation, 
Transportation and Possession. 
R657-53-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under Title 23, Wildlife Resources Code of Utah, this rule 
governs the collection, importation, exportation, transportation, and 
possession of amphibians and reptiles. 
 (2)  Nothing in this rule shall be construed as superseding the 
provisions set forth in Title 23, Wildlife Resources Code of Utah.  
Any provision of this rule setting forth a criminal violation that 
overlaps a section of that title is provided in this rule only as a 
clarification or to provide greater specificity needed for the 
administration of the provisions of this rule. 
 (3)  In addition to this rule, additional regulation is provided in 
R657-40.  Where a more specific provision has been adopted, that 
provision shall control. 

 (4)  Amphibians and reptiles lawfully collected in Utah and 
thereafter possessed remain the property of the state for the life of 
the animal pursuant to Section 23-13-3.  The state does not assert 
ownership interest in lawfully possessed, captive-bred amphibians 
and reptiles, but does retain jurisdiction to regulate the importation, 
exportation, possession, propagation and use of such animals 
pursuant to Title 23 of the Utah Code and this rule. 
 (5)  This rule does not apply to division employees acting 
within the scope of their assigned duties. 
 
R657-53-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2 and 
Subsection (2) through Subsection (25). 
 (2)  "Amphibian" means animals from the Class of Amphibia, 
including hybrid species or subspecies of amphibians and viable 
embryos or gametes of species or subspecies of amphibians. 
 (3)  "Captive-bred" means any legally obtained amphibian or 
reptile, which is born inside of and has spent its entire life in 
captivity, and is the offspring of legally obtained progenitors. 
 (4)  "Certificate of veterinary inspection" means an official 
health authorization issued by an accredited veterinarian required for 
the importation of an amphibian or reptile, as provided in Rule R58-
1. 
 (5)  "Collect" means to take, catch, capture, salvage, or kill any 
free roaming amphibian or reptile within Utah. 
 (6)  "Commercial use" means any activity through which a 
person in possession of an amphibian or reptile: 
 (a)  receives any consideration for the amphibian or reptile or 
for a use of the amphibian or reptile, including nuisance control; or 
 (b)  expects to recover all or any part of the cost of keeping the 
amphibian or reptile through selling, bartering, trading, exchanging, 
breeding, or other use, including displaying the amphibian or reptile 
for entertainment, advertisement, or business promotion. 
 (7)  "Controlled species" means a species or subspecies of 
amphibian or reptile that if taken from the wild, introduced into the 
wild, or held in captivity, poses a possible significant detrimental 
impact to wild populations, the environment, or human health or 
safety, and for which a certificate of registration is required. 
 (8)  "Den" means any place where reptiles congregate. 
 (9)  "Educational use" means the possession and use of an 
amphibian or reptile for conducting educational activities concerning 
wildlife and wildlife-related activities. 
 (10)  "Entry permit number" means a number issued by the 
state veterinarian's office to a veterinarian signing a certificate of 
veterinary inspection authorizing the importation of an amphibian or 
reptile into Utah. 
 (11)  "Export" means to move or cause to move any amphibian 
or reptile from Utah by any means. 
 (12)  "Import" means to bring or cause an amphibian or reptile 
to be brought into Utah by any means. 
 (13)  "Legally obtained" means to acquire through collection, 
trade, barter, propagation or purchase with supporting written 
documentation, such as applicable certificate of registration, 
collection permit, license, or sales receipt in accordance with 
applicable laws.  Documentation must include the date of the 
transaction; the name, address and phone number of the person or 
organization relinquishing the animal; the name, address and phone 
number of the person or organization obtaining the animal; the 
scientific name of the animal acquired; and a description of the 
animal. 
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 (14)  "Native species" means any species or subspecies of 
amphibian or reptile that historically occurred in Utah and has not 
been introduced by humans or migrated into Utah as a result of 
human activity. 
 (15)  "Naturalized species" means any species or subspecies of 
amphibian or reptile that is not native to Utah but has established a 
wild, self-sustaining population in Utah. 
 (16)  "Noncontrolled species" means a species or subspecies of 
amphibian or reptile that if taken from the wild, introduced into the 
wild, or held in captivity, poses no significant detrimental impact to 
wild populations, the environment, or human health or safety, and 
for which a certificate of registration is not required, unless 
otherwise specified. 
 (17)  "Nonnative species" means a species or subspecies of 
amphibian or reptile that is not native to Utah and has not 
established a wild, self-sustaining population in Utah. 
 (18)  "Personal use" means the possession and use of an 
amphibian or reptile for a hobby or for its intrinsic pleasure and 
where no consideration for the possession or use of the animal is 
received by selling, bartering, trading, exchanging, breeding, or any 
other use. 
 (19)  "Possession" means to physically retain or to exercise 
dominion or control over an amphibian or reptile. 
 (20)  "Prohibited species" means a species or subspecies of 
amphibian or reptile that if taken from the wild, introduced into the 
wild, or held in captivity, poses a significant detrimental impact to 
wild populations, the environment, or human health or safety, and 
for which a certificate of registration shall only be issued in 
accordance with Sections R657-53-14(1)(b) or R657-53-27. 
 (21)  "Reptile" means animals from the Class of Reptilia, 
including hybrid species or subspecies of reptiles and viable 
embryos or gametes of species or subspecies of reptiles. 
 (22)  "Scientific use" means the possession and use of an 
amphibian or reptile for conducting bona fide scientific research that 
is directly or indirectly beneficial to wildlife or the general public. 
 (23)  "Transport" means to be moved or cause to be moved, any 
amphibian or reptile within Utah by any means. 
 (24)  "Turtle" means all animals commonly known as turtles, 
tortoises and terrapins, and all other animals of the Order 
Testidunata, Class Reptilia. 
 (25)  "Wildlife Registration Office" means the division office in 
Salt Lake City responsible for processing applications and issuing 
certificates of registration. 
 
R657-53-3.  Liability. 
 (1)(a)  Any person who accepts a certificate of registration 
assumes all liability and responsibility for the collection, 
importation, transportation, and possession of the authorized 
amphibian or reptile and for any other activity authorized by the 
certificate of registration. 
 (b)  To the extent provided under the Utah Governmental 
Immunity Act, the division shall not be liable in any civil action for: 
 (i)  any injury, disease, or damage caused by or to any animal, 
person, or property as a result of any activity authorized under this 
rule or a certificate of registration; or 
 (ii)  the issuance, denial, suspension, or revocation of or by the 
failure or refusal to issue, deny, suspend, or revoke any certificate of 
registration or similar authorization. 
 (2)  It is the responsibility of any person who obtains a 
certificate of registration to read, understand and comply with this 
rule and all other applicable federal, state, county, city, or other 

municipality laws, regulations, and ordinances governing 
amphibians or reptiles. 
 
R657-53-4.  Animal Welfare. 
 (1)  Any amphibian or reptile held in possession under the 
authority of a certificate of registration shall be maintained under 
humane and healthy conditions, including humane handling, care, 
confinement, transportation, and feeding of the amphibian or reptile. 
 (2)  Adequate measures must be taken for the protection of the 
public when handling, confining, or transporting any amphibian or 
reptile. 
 
R657-53-5.  Collection, Importation, and Possession of 
Threatened and Endangered Species. 
 Any amphibian or reptile which has been listed by the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service as endangered or threatened pursuant to the 
federal Endangered Species Act is prohibited from collection, 
possession, and importation into Utah without first obtaining a 
certificate of registration from the division and a federal permit from 
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 
 
R657-53-6.  Release of an Amphibian or Reptile to the Wild -- 
Capture or Disposal of Escaped Wildlife. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 23-13-14, a person may not release 
from captivity any amphibian or reptile without first obtaining 
authorization from the division. 
 (2)(a)  Any peace officer, division representative, or authorized 
animal control officer may seize or dispose of any live amphibian or 
reptile that escapes from captivity. 
 (b)  The division may retain custody of any recaptured 
amphibian or reptile until the costs of recapture or care have been 
paid by its owner or keeper. 
 
R657-53-7.  Inspection of Documentation. 
 A conservation officer or any other peace officer may require 
any person engaged in activities covered by this rule to exhibit any 
documentation related to activities covered by this rule, including 
certificates of registration, permits, certificates of veterinary 
inspection, certification, bills of sale, or proof of ownership or legal 
possession. 
 
R657-53-8.  Certificate of Registration Required. 
 (1)(a)  A person shall obtain a certificate of registration before 
collecting, importing, transporting, or possessing any amphibian or 
reptile or their parts classified as prohibited or controlled, except as 
otherwise provided by the Wildlife Board or rules of the Wildlife 
Board. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration is not required: 
 (i)  to collect, import, transport, or possess any amphibian or 
reptile classified as noncontrolled, except as provided in Subsections 
R657-53-18(3) and R657-53-19(5)(a); or 
 (ii)  to export any species or subspecies of amphibian or reptile 
from Utah, provided that the amphibian or reptile is held in legal 
possession and importation into the destination state is lawful. 
 (c)  An application for an amphibian or reptile classified as 
prohibited shall not be accepted by the division without providing 
written justification describing how the applicant's proposed 
collection, importation, or possession of the amphibian or reptile 
meets the criteria provided in Subsections R657-53-14(1)(b), R657-
53-16(4)(b) or R657-53-27. 
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 (2)(a)  Certificates of registration expire as designated on the 
certificate of registration. 
 (b)  Certificates of registration are not transferable except as 
provided in Subsection (c) or as otherwise designated on the 
certificate of registration. 
 (c)  Upon the death of a certificate of registration holder, a 
legally obtained and possessed amphibian or reptile may pass to a 
successor, and a certificate of registration will be issued to the 
successor unless the amphibian or reptile poses a detrimental impact 
to community safety or the successor is unqualified to handle the 
amphibian or reptile. 
 (d)  If the holder of a certificate of registration is a 
representative of an institution, organization, business, or agency, 
the certificate of registration shall end upon the representative's 
discontinuation of association with that entity. 
 (e)  Certificates of registration do not provide the holder with 
any rights of succession and any certificate of registration issued to a 
business or organization shall be void upon the termination of the 
business or organization or upon bankruptcy or transfer. 
 (3)  The issuance of a certificate of registration automatically 
incorporates within its terms the conditions and requirements of this 
rule specifically governing the activity for which the certificate of 
registration is issued. 
 (4)  In addition to this rule, the division may impose specific 
requirements on the holder of the certificate of registration necessary 
for the safe and humane handling and care of the amphibian or 
reptile. 
 (5)(a)  Upon or before the expiration date of a certificate of 
registration, the holder must renew an existing or apply for a new 
certificate of registration to continue the activity. 
 (b)  The division shall use the criteria provided in Section 
R657-53-11 in determining whether to issue a certificate of 
registration. 
 (c)  If an application is not made by the expiration date, a live 
or dead amphibian or reptile held in possession under the expired 
certificate of registration shall be considered unlawfully held. 
 (d)  If an application for a new certificate of registration is 
submitted before the expiration date, the existing certificate of 
registration shall remain valid while the application is pending. 
 (6)  Failure to submit timely, accurate, or valid reports as 
required under this rule or the certificate of registration may 
disqualify a person from obtaining a new certificate of registration. 
 (7)  A certificate of registration may be suspended as provided 
in Section 23-19-9 and Rule R657-26. 
 
R657-53-9.  Application Procedures -- Fees. 
 (1)(a)  Applications for certificates of registration are available 
from, and must be submitted to, the Wildlife Registration Office in 
Salt Lake City or any regional division office. 
 (b)  The application may require up to 45 days for review and 
processing. 
 (c)  Applications that are incomplete, completed incorrectly, or 
submitted without the appropriate fee or other required information 
may be returned to the applicant. 
 (2)(a)  Legal tender in the correct amount must accompany the 
application. 
 (b)  The certificate of registration fee includes a nonrefundable 
handling fee. 
 (c)  Fees may be waived for wildlife rehabilitation, educational 
or scientific activities, or for state or federal agencies upon request 

if, in the opinion of the division, the activity is significantly 
beneficial to the division, wildlife, or wildlife management. 
 
R657-53-10.  Retroactive Effect on Possession. 
 (1)  A person lawfully possessing an amphibian or reptile prior 
to the effective date of any species reclassification may receive a 
certificate of registration from the division for the continued 
possession of that amphibian or reptile where the amphibian or 
reptile's classification has changed hereunder from noncontrolled to 
controlled or prohibited, or from controlled to prohibited. 
 (2)  The certificate of registration shall be obtained within six 
months of the reclassification, or possession of the amphibian or 
reptile thereafter shall be unlawful. 
 
R657-53-11.  Issuance Criteria. 
 (1)  The following factors shall be considered before the 
division may issue a certificate of registration: 
 (a)  the health, welfare, and safety of the public; 
 (b)  the health, welfare, safety, and genetic integrity of wildlife 
and other animals; and 
 (c)  ecological and environmental impacts. 
 (2)  In addition to the criteria provided in Subsection (1), the 
division shall use the following criteria for the issuance of a 
certificate of registration for a scientific use of an amphibian or 
reptile: 
 (a)  the validity of the objectives and design; 
 (b)  the likelihood the project will fulfill the stated objectives; 
 (c)  the applicant's qualifications to conduct the research, 
including the requisite education or experience; 
 (d)  the adequacy of the applicant's resources to conduct the 
study; and 
 (e)  whether the scientific use is in the best interest of the 
amphibian or reptile, wildlife management, education, or the 
advancement of science without unnecessarily duplicating 
previously documented scientific research. 
 (3)  In addition to the criteria provided in Subsection (1), the 
division may use the following criteria for the issuance of a 
certificate of registration for an educational use of an amphibian or 
reptile: 
 (a)  the objectives and structure of the educational program; and 
 (b)  whether the applicant has written approval from the 
appropriate official if the activity is conducted in a school or other 
educational facility. 
 (4)  The division may deny issuing or reissuing a certificate of 
registration to any applicant, if: 
 (a)  the applicant has violated any provision of Title 23, Utah 
Wildlife Resources Code, Administrative Code R657, a certificate of 
registration, an order of the Wildlife Board or any other law that, 
when considered with the functions and responsibilities of 
collecting, importing, possessing or propagating an amphibian or 
reptile, bears a reasonable relationship to the applicant's ability to 
safely and responsibly carry out such activities; 
 (b)  the applicant has previously been issued a certificate of 
registration and failed to submit any report or information required 
by this rule, the division, or the Wildlife Board; or 
 (c)  the applicant misrepresented or failed to disclose material 
information required in connection with the application. 
 (d)  The division may deny issuing or renewing a certificate of 
registration to an applicant where holding the amphibian or reptile at 
the proposed location violates federal, state or local laws. 
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 (5)  If an application is denied, the division shall provide the 
applicant with written notice of the reasons for denial. 
 (6)  An appeal of the denial of an application may be made as 
provided in Section R657-53-28. 
 
R657-53-12.  Amendment to Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)(a)  If material circumstances change, requiring a 
modification of the terms of the certificate of registration, the holder 
may request an amendment by submitting written justification and 
supporting information. 
 (b)  The division may amend the certificate of registration or 
deny the request based on the criteria for initial applications 
provided in Section R657-53-11, and, if the request for an 
amendment is denied, shall provide the applicant with written notice 
of the reasons for denial. 
 (c)  The division may charge a fee for amending the certificate 
of registration. 
 (d)  An appeal of a request for an amendment may be made as 
provided in Section R657-53-28. 
 (2)  The division reserves the right to amend any certificate of 
registration for good cause upon notification to the holder and 
written findings of necessity. 
 (3)(a)  Each holder of a certificate of registration shall notify 
the division within 30 days of any change in mailing address. 
 (b)  An amphibian or reptile or activities authorized by a 
certificate of registration may not be held at any location not 
specified on the certificate of registration without prior written 
permission from the division. 
 
R657-53-13.  Records and Reports. 
 (1)(a)  From the date of issuance of the certificate of 
registration, the holder shall maintain complete and accurate records 
of any taking, possession, transportation, propagation, sale, 
purchase, barter, or importation pursuant to this rule or the 
certificate of registration. 
 (b)  Records must be kept current and shall include the names, 
phone numbers, and addresses of persons with whom any amphibian 
or reptile has been sold, bartered, or otherwise transferred or 
received, and the dates of the transactions. 
 (c)  The records required under this section must be maintained 
for five years from the expiration date of the certificate of 
registration. 
 (2)  Reports of activity must be submitted to the Wildlife 
Registration Office as specified on the certificate of registration. 
 
R657-53-14.  Collection of a Live or Dead Amphibian or Reptile 
for Personal, Scientific, or Educational Use. 
 (1)  A person may collect a live or dead amphibian or reptile or 
their parts for a personal, scientific or educational use only as 
provided in Subsection (a) or (b). 
 (a)  Certificates of registration are not issued for the collection 
of any live or dead amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as 
prohibited for collection, except as provided in Subsection (b) and 
R657-53-27. 
 (b)  The division may issue a certificate of registration to a 
university, college, governmental agency, bona fide nonprofit 
institution, or a person involved in wildlife research to collect a live 
or dead amphibian or reptile classified as prohibited for collection if, 
in the opinion of the division, the scientific or educational use is 
beneficial to wildlife or significantly benefits the general public 
without material detriment to wildlife. 

 (2)  A certificate of registration is required for collecting any 
live or dead amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as 
controlled for collection, except as otherwise provided by the 
Wildlife Board. 
 (3)  A certificate of registration is not required for collecting a 
live or dead amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as 
noncontrolled for collection, except as provided in Subsections 
R657-53-18(3) and (4) and R657-53-19(5). 
 
R657-53-15.  Importation or Possession of a Live or Dead 
Amphibian or Reptile for Personal, Scientific, or Educational 
Use. 
 (1)  A person may import or possess a live or dead amphibian 
or reptile or their parts for a personal, scientific or educational use 
only as provided in Subsections (a) or (b). 
 (a)  Certificates of registration are not issued for the 
importation of any live or dead amphibian or reptile or their parts 
classified as prohibited for importation or for the possession of any 
live or dead amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as 
prohibited for possession, except as provided in Subsection (b) and 
R657-53-27. 
 (b)  The division may issue a certificate of registration to a 
university, college, governmental agency, bona fide nonprofit 
institution, or a person involved in wildlife research to import a live 
or dead amphibian or reptile classified as prohibited for importation 
or to possess a live or dead amphibian or reptile classified as 
prohibited for possession if, in the opinion of the division, the 
scientific or educational use is beneficial to wildlife or significantly 
benefits the general public without material detriment to wildlife. 
 (2)  A certificate of registration is required for importing any 
live or dead amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as 
controlled for importation or for possessing any live or dead 
amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as controlled for 
possession, except as otherwise provided by the Wildlife Board. 
 (3)  A certificate of registration is not required for importing a 
live or dead amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as 
noncontrolled for importation or for possessing a live or dead 
amphibian or reptile or their parts classified as noncontrolled for 
possession, except as provided in Subsections R657-53-18(3) and 
(4) and R657-53-19(5). 
 (4)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1) or (2), a person may import 
or possess any dead amphibian or reptile or its parts classified as 
prohibited or controlled, except as provided in Section R657-53-5, 
for a personal use without obtaining a certificate of registration, 
provided the animal was legally taken, is held in legal possession, 
and a valid license, permit, tag, certificate of registration, bill of sale, 
or invoice is available for inspection upon request. 
 
R657-53-16.  Collection, Importation or Possession of a Live 
Amphibian or Reptile for a Commercial Use. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Sections 23-13-13 and 23-20-3, a person may 
not collect or possess a live amphibian or reptile for a commercial 
use or commercial venture for pecuniary gain, unless otherwise 
provided in this rule or a certificate of registration. 
 (2)(a)  A person may import a live amphibian or reptile 
classified as non-controlled for importation or may possess a live 
amphibian or reptile classified as non-controlled for possession, for 
a commercial use or a commercial venture, except as provided in 
Subsection (b) 
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 (b)  A native or naturalized species of amphibian or reptile may 
not be sold or traded unless it originated from a captive-bred 
population. 
 (c)  Complete and accurate records for native or naturalized 
species must be maintained and available for inspection for five 
years from the date of the transaction, documenting the date, and the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person from whom the 
amphibian or reptile has been obtained. 
 (d)  Complete and accurate records must be maintained and 
available for inspection for five years from the date of the transfer, 
documenting the date, and the name, address and certificate of 
registration number of the person receiving the amphibian or reptile. 
 (3)(a)  A person may not import a live amphibian or reptile 
classified as controlled for importation or may not possess a live 
amphibian or reptile classified as controlled for possession for a 
commercial use or commercial venture without first obtaining a 
certificate of registration. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration will not be issued to sell or 
trade a native or naturalized species of amphibian or reptile unless it 
originates from a captive-bred population. 
 (c)  It is unlawful to transfer a live amphibian or reptile 
classified as controlled for possession to a person who does not have 
a certificate of registration to possess the amphibian or reptile, 
except as follows: 
 (i)  the amphibian or reptile is captive-bred; 
 (ii)  the transferee is not domiciled in Utah; 
 (iii)  the transferee is exporting the amphibian or reptile out of 
Utah; and 
 (iv)  the transferee follows the transport provisions in Section 
R657-53-20. 
 (d)  Complete and accurate records must be maintained by the 
buyer and the seller for five years from the date of the transaction or 
transfer, documenting the date, and the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person from whom the amphibian or reptile has been 
obtained and the person receiving the amphibian or reptile. 
 (e)  The records indicated in Subsection (d) must be made 
available for inspection upon request of the division. 
 (4)(a)  A certificate of registration will not be issued for 
importing a live amphibian or reptile, classified as prohibited for 
importation, or for possessing a live amphibian or reptile, classified 
as prohibited for possession, for a commercial use or commercial 
venture, except as provided in Subsection (b) or R657-53-27. 
 (b)  The division may issue a certificate of registration to a zoo, 
circus, amusement park, aviary, or film company to import or 
possess a live amphibian or reptile classified as prohibited for 
importation or possession if, in the opinion of the division, the 
importation or possession for a commercial use is beneficial to 
wildlife or significantly benefits the general public without material 
detriment to wildlife. 
 (c)  The division's authority to issue a certificate of registration 
to a zoo, circus, amusement park, or aviary under this Subsection is 
restricted to those facilities that keep the prohibited amphibian or 
reptile in a park, building, cage, enclosure or other structure for the 
primary purpose of public exhibition or viewing. 
 (5)  It is unlawful to sell or trade any turtle, including tortoises, 
less than 4" in carapace length. 
 
R657-53-17.  Collection, Importation or Possession of a Dead 
Amphibian or Reptile or Their Parts for a Commercial Use. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Sections 23-13-13 and 23-20-3, a person may 
not collect, import or possess any dead amphibian or reptile or its 

parts for a commercial use or commercial venture for pecuniary 
gain, unless otherwise provided in the rules and proclamations of the 
Wildlife Board, or a memorandum of understanding with the 
division. 
 (2)  The restrictions in Subsection (1) do not apply to a dead 
amphibian or reptile sold or traded for educational use. 
 
R657-53-18.  Classification and Specific Rules for Amphibians. 
 (1)  Amphibians are classified as follows: 
 (a)  American bullfrog, Ranidae Family (Rana catesbeiana) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession, except as 
provided in Subsection (5); 
 (b)  Clawed frog, Pipidae Family (Xenopus) (All species) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (c)  Columbia spotted frog, Ranidae Family (Rana luteiventris) 
is prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (d)  Green frog, Ranidae Family (Rana clamitans) is prohibited 
for collection, importation and possession, except as provided in 
Subsection (5); 
 (e)  Lowland leopard frog, Ranidae Family (Rana yavapaiensis) 
is prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (f)  Northern leopard frog, Ranidae Family (Rana pipiens) is 
controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (g)  Pacific treefrog, Hylidae Family (Pseudacris regilla or Hyla 
regilla) is controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (h)  Relict leopard frog, Ranidae Family (Rana onca) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (i)  Tiger salamander, Ambystomatidae Family (Ambystoma 
tigrinum) is controlled for importation, and noncontrolled for 
collection and possession as provided in Subsection (4); 
 (j)  Arizona toad, Bufonidae Family (Bufo microscaphus) is 
controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (k)  Cane (marine) toad, Bufonidae Family (Bufo marinus) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; and 
 (l)  Western toad, Bufonidae Family (Bufo boreas) is prohibited 
for collection, importation and possession. 
 (2)  All species and subspecies of amphibians not listed in 
Subsection (1) are classified as noncontrolled for collection, 
importation and possession, except as provided in Subsection (3). 
 (3)  A person must obtain a certificate of registration to collect 
four or more amphibians of each species classified as noncontrolled 
within a calendar year, except as provided in Subsection (4) and (5). 
 (4)  A person may collect or possess for personal use up to 50 
Tiger salamanders (Ambystoma tigrinum) without a certificate of 
registration. 
 (5)  A person may collect or possess any number of American 
bullfrogs (Rana catesbeiana) or Green frogs (Rana clamitans) 
without a certificate of registration provided they are either killed or 
released immediately upon removing them from the water.  A person 
may not transport a live bullfrog or green frog from the water from 
which it was collected without first obtaining a certificate of 
registration. 
 
R657-53-19.  Classification and Specific Rules for Reptiles. 
 (1)  Reptiles are classified as follows: 
 (a)  Crocodiles are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Alligators and caimans, Alligatoridae Family (All species) 
are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (ii)  Crocodiles, Crocdylidae Family (All species) are 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; and 
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 (iii)  Gharial, Gavialidae Family (Vavialis gangeticus) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession. 
 (b)  Lizards are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Beaded lizard, Helodermatidae Family, (Heloderma 
horridum) is prohibited for collection, importation, and possession; 
 (ii)  Chuckwalla, Iguanidae Family (Sauromalus) (All species) 
is prohibited for collection, and controlled for importation and 
possession; 
 (iii)  Common side-blotched lizard, Phrynosomatidae Family 
(Uta stansburiana) is noncontrolled for collection, importation and 
possession, except as provided in Subsection (5); 
 (iv)  Desert iguana, Iguanidae Family (Dipsosaurus dorsalis) is 
prohibited for collection, and controlled for importation and 
possession; 
 (v)  Desert night lizard, Xantusiidae Family (Xantusia vigilis) is 
controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (vi)  Gila monster, Helodermatidae Family (Heloderma 
suspectum) is prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (vii)  Northern sagebrush lizard, Phrynosomatidae Family 
(Sceloporus graciosus graciosus) is noncontrolled for collection, 
importation and possession, except as provided in Subsection (5); 
 (viii)  Utah banded gecko, Gekkonidae Family (Coleonyx 
variegatus utahensis) is controlled for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (ix)  Variable (many-lined) skink, Scincidae Family (Eumeces 
multivirgatus epipleurotus) is controlled for collection, importation 
and possession; and 
 (x)  Western zebra-tailed lizard, Phrynosomatidae Family 
(Callisaurus draconoides rhodostictus) is controlled for collection, 
importation and possession. 
 (c)  Snakes are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Bird Snake, Colubridae Family (Thelotornis) (All species) 
are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (ii)  Boomslang, Colubridae Family (Dispholidus typus) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (iii)  Burrowing asps, Atractaspidae Family (All species) are 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (iv)  California kingsnake (black and white banded-form), 
Colubridae Family (Lampropeltis getula californiae) is controlled for 
collection, and noncontrolled for importation and possession; 
 (v)  Desert glossy snake, Colubridae Family (Arizona elegans 
eburnata) is controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (vi)  Great Plains ratsnake, Colubridae Family (Elaphe guttata 
emoryi) is controlled for collection, importation and possession; 
 (vii)  Keelback, Colubridae Family (Rhabdophis) (All species) 
are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (viii)  Painted desert glossy snake, Colubridae Family (Arizona 
elegans philipi) is controlled for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (ix)  Pit vipers, Viperidae Family (All species, except Crotalus 
viridis) are prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (x)  Proteroglyphous snakes, Australian spp., cobras, coral 
snakes, kraits, and their allies, Elapidae Family (All species) are 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession; 
 (xi)  Smith's (southwestern) black-headed snake, Colubridae 
Family (Tantilla hobartsmithi) is controlled for collection, 
importation and possession; 
 (xii)  Smooth greensnake, Colubridae Family (Opheodrys 
vernalis) is controlled for collection, importation and possession; 

 (xiii)  Sonoran lyresnake, Colubridae Family (Trimorphodon 
biscutatus lambda) is controlled for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (xiv)  Terrestrial gartersnake, Colubridae Family (Thamnophis 
elegans) is noncontrolled for collection, importation and possession, 
except as provided in Subsection (5); 
 (xv)  Utah milksnake, Colubridae Family (Lampropeltis 
triangulum taylori) is prohibited for collection, importation and 
possession; 
 (xvi)  Utah mountain kingsnake, Colubridae Family 
(Lampropeltis pyromelana infralabialis) is prohibited for collection, 
importation and possession; 
 (xvii)  Utah threadsnake (blindsnake), Leptotyphlopidae Family 
(Leptotyphlops humilis utahensis) is controlled for collection, 
importation and possession; and 
 (xviii)  Western rattlesnake, Viperidae Family (Crotalus viridis) 
is controlled for collection, prohibited for importation, and 
controlled for possession, as provided in Subsection (4). 
 (d)  Turtles are classified as follows: 
 (i)  Desert tortoise, Testudinidae Family (Gopherus agassizii) is 
prohibited for collection and importation, and controlled for 
possession; 
 (ii)  Snapping turtle, Chelydridae Family (All species) is 
prohibited for collection, importation and possession, except as 
provided in Subsection (6); and 
 (iii)  Spiny softshell, Trionychidae Family (Apalone spinifera) 
is prohibited for collection, importation and possession, except as 
provided in Subsection (6). 
 (2)  All species and subspecies of reptiles not listed in 
Subsection (1) are classified as noncontrolled for collection, 
importation and possession, except as provided in Subsection (5). 
 (3)  A person may not: 
 (a)  knowingly disturb the den of any reptile or kill, capture, or 
harass any reptile within 100 yards of a reptile den without first 
obtaining a certificate of registration from the division; or 
 (b)  indiscriminately kill any reptile. 
 (4)(a)  Western rattlesnakes, Crotalus viridis, may be killed 
without a certificate of registration only for reasons of human safety. 
 (b)  The carcass of a Western rattlesnake killed pursuant to 
Subsection (a) may be retained for personal use only. 
 (5)(a)  A person must obtain a certificate of registration to 
collect four or more reptiles of each species classified as 
noncontrolled within a calendar year, except as provided in 
Subsection (5)(b) and Subsection (6). 
 (b)  In a calendar year, a person may collect and possess for 
personal 25 common side-botched lizards (Uta stansburiana), 25 
northern sagebrush lizards (Sceloporus graciosus graciosus), and 25 
terrestrial gartersnakes (Thamnophis elegans), without obtaining a 
certificate of registration. 
 (6)  A person may collect or possess any number of snapping 
turtles, Chelydra serpentina, or spiny softshell, Apalone spinifera, 
turtles without a certificate of registration provide they are either 
killed or released immediately upon removing them from the water.  
A person may not transport a live snapping turtle or spiny softshell 
turtle from the water from which it was collected without first 
obtaining a certificate of registration. 
 (7)  For purposes of this section, "white" means white and other 
non-yellow shades of white. 
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R657-53-20.  Transporting a Live Amphibian or Reptile 
Through Utah. 
 (1)  Any controlled or prohibited amphibian or reptile may be 
transported through Utah without a certificate of registration if: 
 (a)  the amphibian or reptile remains in Utah no more than 72 
hours; and 
 (b)  the amphibian or reptile is not sold, transferred, exhibited, 
displayed, or used for a commercial venture while in Utah. 
 (2)  Proof of legal possession must accompany the amphibian 
or reptile. 
 (3)  If delays in transportation arise, an extension of the 72 
hours may be requested by contacting the Wildlife Registration 
Office in Salt Lake City. 
 
R657-53-21.  Importation of an Amphibian or Reptile into Utah. 
 (1)  A person may import any amphibian or reptile native to 
Utah that is classified as controlled or noncontrolled for importation, 
which has been legally obtained from outside the state of Utah. 
 (2)  As provided in Rule R58-1, the Department of Agriculture 
and Food requires a valid certificate of veterinary inspection and an 
entry permit number before any amphibian or reptile may be 
imported into Utah. 
 
R657-53-22.  Transfer of Possession. 
 (1)  Any person who lawfully possesses an amphibian or reptile 
classified as prohibited or controlled may transfer possession of that 
amphibian or reptile only to a person who has first applied for and 
obtained a certificate of registration for that amphibian or reptile 
from the division, except as provided in Section R657-53-8(2)(c). 
 (2)  The division may issue a certificate of registration granting 
the transfer and possession of that amphibian or reptile only if the 
applicant meets the issuance criteria provided in Section R657-53-
11. 
 
R657-53-23.  Propagation of Amphibians or Reptiles. 
 (1)  A person may propagate amphibians or reptiles that are 
legally obtained only as provided in Subsection (a) through (c). 
 (a)  Certificates of registration are not issued for the 
propagation of any amphibian or reptile classified as prohibited for 
collection, importation or possession except as provided in R657-53-
27. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration is required for propagating any 
amphibian or reptile classified as controlled for collection, 
importation or possession, except as otherwise provided by the 
Wildlife Board. 
 (c)(i)  A certificate of registration is required for propagating 
native or naturalized amphibians or reptiles classified as 
noncontrolled for collection, importation, or possession. 
 (ii)  A certificate of registration is not required for propagating 
nonnative amphibians or reptiles classified as noncontrolled for 
collection, importation or possession. 
 (2)  Certificates of registration may be issued to an applicant 
who: 
 (a)  is a resident of Utah; 
 (b)  agrees to provide and maintain suitable, disease-free 
facilities and to humanely hold and maintain amphibians or reptiles 
in good condition; 
 (c)  has not been judicially or administratively found guilty of 
violating the provisions of this rule; and 
 (d)  has not been convicted of, pleaded no contest to, or entered 
into a plea in abeyance to any criminal offense that bears a 

reasonable relationship to the applicant's ability to safely and 
responsibly collect, import, transport or possess amphibians or 
reptiles. 
 (3)  Legally obtained amphibians or reptiles and their progeny 
and descendants born in captivity, which are held in possession 
under the authority of a certificate of registration, remain property of 
the holder, but are subject to regulation by the division in 
accordance with the needs for public health, welfare, and safety, and 
impacts on wildlife. 
 (4)(a)  A captive-bred amphibian or reptile classified as 
prohibited or controlled for collection, importation or possession 
shall be marked for identification by a division representative. 
 (b)  Passive Integrated Transponders (PIT) tags shall be 
provided by the division. 
 (c)  PIT tags shall be inserted into amphibians or reptiles that 
meet or exceed the minimum size at which the PIT tag can be safely 
inserted into the amphibian or reptile. 
 (d)  A photograph may be used for identification, if 
photography is a viable option for identification, of a captive-bred 
amphibian or reptile under the minimum size at which the PIT tag 
can be safely inserted into the amphibian or reptile until the 
amphibian or reptile meets or exceeds the minimum size at which 
the PIT tag can be safely inserted into the amphibian or reptile, at 
which time the division shall insert a PIT tag. 
 (e)  Accommodations for PIT tag insertion must be made with a 
division representative prior to PIT tag insertion. 
 
R657-53-24.  Violations. 
 (1)  Any violation of this rule is a class C misdemeanor, as 
provided in Section 23-13-11. 
 (2)  Nothing in this rule shall be construed to supersede any 
provision of Title 23, Wildlife Resources Code of Utah which 
establishes a penalty greater than a class C misdemeanor.  Any 
provision of this rule which overlaps a provision of that title is 
intended only as a clarification or to provide greater specificity 
needed for the administration of the provisions of this rule. 
 
R657-53-25.  Certification Review Committee. 
 (1)  The division shall establish a Certification Review 
Committee which shall be responsible for: 
 (a)  reviewing: 
 (i)  petitions to reclassify species and subspecies of amphibians 
or reptiles; 
 (ii)  appeals of certificates of registration; and 
 (iii)  requests for variances to this rule; and 
 (b)  making recommendations to the Wildlife Board. 
 (2)  The committee shall consist of the following individuals: 
 (a)  the director or the director's designee who shall represent 
the director's office and shall act as chair of the committee; 
 (b)  the chief of the Aquatic Section; 
 (c)  the chief of the Wildlife Section; 
 (d)  the chief of the Public Services Section; 
 (e)  the state veterinarian or his designee; and 
 (f)  a person designated by the Department of Health. 
 (3)  The division shall require a fee for the submission of a 
request provided in Section R657-53-26 and R657-53-27. 
 
R657-53-26.  Request for Species Reclassification. 
 (1)  A person may make a request to change the classification 
of a species or subspecies of amphibian or reptile provided in this 
rule. 
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 (2)  A request for reclassification must be made to the 
Certification Review Committee by submitting an application for 
reclassification. 
 (3)(a)  The application shall include: 
 (i)  the petitioner's name, address, and phone number; 
 (ii)  the species or subspecies for which the application is made; 
 (iii)  the name of all interested parties known by the petitioner; 
 (iv)  the current classification of the species or subspecies; 
 (v)  a statement of the facts and reasons forming the basis for 
the reclassification; and 
 (vi)  copies of scientific literature or other evidence supporting 
the change in classification. 
 (b)  In addition to the information required under Subsection 
(a), the petitioner must provide any information requested by the 
committee necessary to formulate a recommendation to the Wildlife 
Board. 
 (4)(a)  The committee shall, within a reasonable time, consider 
the request for reclassification and shall submit its recommendation 
to the Wildlife Board. 
 (b)  The committee shall send a copy of its recommendation to 
the petitioner and other interested parties specified on the 
application. 
 (5)(a)  At the next available Wildlife Board meeting the 
Wildlife Board shall: 
 (i)  consider the committee recommendation; and 
 (ii)  any information provided by the petitioner or other 
interested parties. 
 (b)  The Wildlife Board shall approve or deny the request for 
reclassification based on the issuance criteria provided in Section 
R657-53-11(1). 
 (6)  A change in species classification shall be made in 
accordance with Title 63, Chapter 46a, Administrative Rulemaking 
Act. 
 (7)  A request for species reclassification shall be considered a 
request for agency action as provided in Subsection 63-46b-3(3) and 
Rule R657-2. 
 
R657-53-27.  Request for Variance. 
 (1)  A person may make a request for a variance to this rule for 
the collection, importation, propagation, or possession of an 
amphibian or reptile classified as prohibited under this rule by 
submitting a request for variance to the Certification Review 
Committee. 
 (2)(a)  A request for variance shall include the following: 
 (i)  the name, address, and phone number of the person making 
the request; 
 (ii)  the species or subspecies of the amphibian or reptile and 
associated activities for which the request is made; and 
 (iii)  a statement of the facts and reasons forming the basis for 
the variance. 
 (b)  In addition to the information required under Subsection 
(a), the person making the request must provide any information 
requested by the committee necessary to formulate a 
recommendation to the Wildlife Board. 
 (3)  The committee shall, within a reasonable time, consider the 
request and shall submit its recommendation to the Wildlife Board. 
 (4)  At the next available Wildlife Board meeting the Wildlife 
Board shall: 
 (a)  consider the committee recommendation; and 
 (b)  any information provided by the person making the request. 

 (5)(a)  The Wildlife Board shall approve or deny the request 
based on the issuance criteria provided in Section R657-53-11. 
 (b)  If the request applies to a broad class of persons and not to 
unique circumstances of the applicant, the Wildlife Board shall 
consider changing the species classification before issuing a 
variance to this rule. 
 (6)(a)  If the request is approved, the Wildlife Board may 
impose any restrictions on the person making the request considered 
necessary for that person to maintain the standards upon which the 
variance is made. 
 (b)  Any restrictions imposed on the person making the request 
shall be included in writing on the certificate of registration which 
shall be signed by the person making the request before its issuance. 
 (7)  A request for variance shall be considered a request for 
agency action as provided in Subsection 63-46b-3(3) and Rule 
R657-2. 
 
R657-53-28.  Appeal of Certificate of Registration Denial. 
 (1)  A person may appeal the division's denial of a certificate of 
registration by submitting an appeal request to the Certification 
Review Committee. 
 (2)  The request must be made within 30 days after the date of 
the denial. 
 (3)  The request shall include: 
 (a)  the name, address, and phone number of the petitioner; 
 (b)  the date the request was mailed; 
 (c)  the species or subspecies of the amphibian or reptile and 
the activity for which the application was made; and 
 (d)  supporting facts and other evidence applicable to resolving 
the issue. 
 (4)  The committee shall review the request within a reasonable 
time after it is received. 
 (5)  Upon reviewing the application and the reasons for its 
denial, the committee may: 
 (a)  overturn the denial and approve the application; or 
 (b)  uphold the denial. 
 (6)  The committee may overturn a denial if the denial was: 
 (a)  based on insufficient information; 
 (b)  inconsistent with prior action of the division or the Wildlife 
Board; 
 (c)  arbitrary or capricious; or 
 (d)  contrary to law. 
 (7)(a)  Within a reasonable time after making its decision, the 
committee shall mail a notice to the petitioner specifying the reasons 
for its decision. 
 (b)  The notice shall include information that a person may seek 
Wildlife Board review of that decision. 
 (8)(a)  If the committee upholds the denial, the petitioner may 
seek Wildlife Board review of the decision by submitting a request 
for Wildlife Board review within 30 days after its issuance. 
 (b)  The request must include the information provided in 
Subsection (3). 
 (9)(a)  Upon receiving a request for Wildlife Board review, the 
Wildlife Board shall, within a reasonable time, hold a hearing to 
consider the request. 
 (b)  The Wildlife Board may: 
 (i)  overturn the denial and approve the application; or 
 (ii)  uphold the denial. 
 (c)  The Wildlife Board shall provide the petitioner with a 
written decision within a reasonable time after making its decision. 
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 (10)  An appeal contesting initial division determination of 
eligibility for a certificate of registration shall be considered a 
request for agency action as provided in Subsection 63-46b-3(3) and 
Rule R657-2. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, import restrictions, amphibians, reptiles 
2003 
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Utah Leveraging Educational 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26156 
FILED:  04/03/2003, 12:13 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This new 
rule provides for the Leveraging Educational Assistance 
Partnership (LEAP) Program and incorporates by reference 
Federal statutes and regulations governing this program which 
awards grants to eligible students attending public or private 
non-profit institutions of higher education or public 
postsecondary vocational institutions. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule designates the 
Utah State Board of Regents as the state agency for the 
LEAP program in Utah, with administration assigned to the 
Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority (UHEAA). 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53-B-7-103; Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended (20 USC 1088 through 1099); and 34 CFR 600, 
668, and 692 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  State appropriated funds are matched by 
Federal funds for the LEAP program to provide eligible 
students with grants to achieve their educational goals.  The 
amount of funding varies each year.  Direct aggregate 
anticipated cost or savings to the state budget is unknown. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be no anticipated cost or 
savings for local government, since no local government funds 
are involved in this program. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no anticipated costs or savings 
to other persons due to this new rule adopting the Federal 
LEAP program in Utah, since funds for other persons are not 
involved in this Federal program change. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
added compliance costs for agencies, institutions, or students 

participating in the Federal LEAP program in Utah, since 
funds for persons are not involved in this Federal program 
change. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule will have no fiscal 
impact on businesses, since there will be no business 
expenses involved in the Federal LEAP program in Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
ADMINISTRATION 
BOARD OF REGENTS BUILDING, THE GATEWAY 
60 SOUTH 400 WEST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101-1284, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Don A. Carpenter at the above address, by phone at 801-321-
7110, by FAX at 801-321-7199, or by Internet E-mail at 
dcarpenter@utahsbr.edu 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Cecelia H. Foxley, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R765.  Regents (Board of), Administration. 
R765-606.  Utah Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership 
Program. 
R765-606-1.  Purpose. 
 To provide for the Leveraging Educational Assistance 
Partnership Program and incorporate by reference Federal statutes 
and regulations governing this program which awards grants to 
eligible students attending public or private non-profit institutions of 
higher education or public postsecondary vocational institutions. 
 
R765-606-2.  References. 
 2.1.  Utah Code Section 53B-7-103 (Board Designated State 
Educational Agent for Federal Contracts and Aid). 
 2.2.  Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (i.e. U.S. Code 
Title 20, Chapter 28, Subchapter IV, Part F). 
 2.3.  34 CFR Parts 600, 668 and 692. 
 2.4.  Education Department General Administration 
Regulations (EDGAR). 
 
R765-606-3.  Definitions. 
 3.1.  "Academic Year" - A period as determined by the 
educational institution in accordance with U.S. Code Title 20, 
Chapter 28, Subchapter IV, Part F, Section 1088 to : 
 3.1.1.  require a minimum of 30 weeks of instructional time in 
which a full-time student is expected to complete at least: 
 3.1.1.1.  24 semester or 24 trimester or 36 quarter hours at an 
institution that measures program length in credit hours, or 
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 3.1.1.2.  900 clock hours at an institution that measures 
program length in clock hours. 
 3.2.  "Award Year" - As defined in 34 CFR Part 600.2, namely, 
the period of time from July 1 of one year through June 30 of the 
following year. 
 3.3.  "Decentralized Program" - A program which delegates 
certain functions and sub-allocates LEAP funds to participating 
institutions for approved awards to LEAP recipients which have 
been selected by the participating institutions. 
 3.4.  "Full-time Student" - As defined in 34 CFR Part 692.4c, 
namely, a student carrying a full-time academic workload - other 
than by correspondence - as measured by both of the following: 1) 
Coursework or other required activities, as determined by the 
institution that the student attends or by the State. 2) Tuition and fees 
normally charged for full-time study by that institution. 
 3.5.  "Full-time Equivalent Students" - A measure of annual 
instructional output calculated according to the following formulas: 
 3.5.1.  For institutions that measure program length in quarter 
credit hours, the total number of undergraduate instructional credit 
hours attributed to the institution's fiscal year divided by 45, plus the 
total number of graduate instructional credit hours attributed to the 
institution's fiscal year divided by 30. 
 3.5.2.  For institutions that measure program length in semester 
credit hours, the total number of undergraduate instructional credit 
hours attributed to the institutions fiscal year divided by 30, plus the 
total number of graduate instructional credit hours attributed to the 
institution's fiscal year divided by 20. 
 3.5.3.  For institutions that measure program length in clock 
hours, the total number of instructional clock hours attributed to the 
institution's fiscal year divided by 792. 
 3.6.  "Institution of Higher Education" - As defined in Section 
481a of the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR 
Part 600.4. 
 3.7.  "LEAP" - Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership. 
 3.8.  "Non-Profit" - As defined in 34 CFR Part 77.1 of 
EDGAR. 
 3.9.  "Participating Institution" - A public or private non-profit 
institution of higher education or postsecondary vocational 
institution which has entered into a participation agreement with the 
UHEAA. 
 3.10.  "Postsecondary Vocational Institution" - As defined in 34 
CFR Part 600.6. 
 3.11.  "SLEAP" - Special Leveraging Educational Assistance 
Partnership 
 3.12.  "Substantial Financial Need" - The difference computed 
to equal or exceed $200 for an entire academic year between a 
student's cost of education (including tuition and fees; books and 
supplies; living expenses such as room and board, personal, 
miscellaneous, and transportation) and the student's sum of that 
student's expected family contribution and other student aid to be 
received. 
 
R765-606-4.  Policy. 
 Part I - Program Administration 
 4.1 State Board of Regents - The Utah State Board of Regents 
is the designated state agency for the LEAP program in the state of 
Utah.  The responsibility for administration of the LEAP program 
has been assigned to the Utah Higher Education Assistance 
Authority (UHEAA).  The Utah LEAP program is administered as a 
decentralized program. 

 4.2.  Institutional Administration - The President of each 
institution shall be responsible for the administration of the LEAP 
program at the institutional level in compliance with Federal and 
state regulations.  The institutional administration of the program 
may be delegated to the financial aid director or other appropriate 
institutional officers. 
 4.3.  Fiscal Control and Fund Accounting - UHEAA shall 
provide fiscal control and fund accounting services for awards made 
under the program. 
 4.4.  Governing Statutes and Regulations - UHEAA 
incorporates by reference the following Federal statutes and 
regulations: 
 4.4.1.  The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended ( i.e. 
U.S. Code Title 20, Chapter 28, Subchapter IV, Part F); 
 4.4.2.  Final Regulations of the U.S. Department of Education 
(i.e., 34 CFR Parts 600, 668, and 692); and 
 4.4.3.  Education Department General Administration 
Regulations (EDGAR) 
 4.5.  State Agency Rules - UHEAA establishes, from time to 
time, agency rules governing the operation of the Utah LEAP 
Program in accordance with Federal requirements as referenced in 
4.4.1, 4.4.2 and 4.4.3. 
 4.6.  Statutes and Regulations Available - A copy of all Federal 
and state rules, regulations and statutes directly affecting the Utah 
LEAP Program can be obtained from UHEAA at the Board of 
Regents Building, The Gateway, 60 South 400 West, Salt Lake City, 
Utah 84101-1284. 
 Part II - Transfer of LEAP Federal Funds 
 4.7.  Transfer of LEAP federal Funds - UHEAA shall: 
 4.7.1.  have a separate account number assigned from the 
Office of the State Director of Finance for Federal LEAP funds. 
 4.7.2.  ensure that the custodian of Federal funds is the State 
Treasurer, Utah State Capitol, Salt Lake City. 
 4.7.3.  make disbursements of Federal funds through the State 
Disbursing Office, Finance Department, Utah State Capitol, Salt 
Lake City, Utah. 
 4.7.4.  have the receiving and approving officer for Federal 
funds be the Administrator of the Utah LEAP Program, a UHEAA 
staff member. 
Part III - Allocation of all Federal and State LEAP funds 
 4.8.  Matching of Federal LEAP funds - The state matching 
funds for the LEAP program are appropriated by the Utah State 
Legislature to the State Board of Regents for the Utah LEAP 
program.  The Federal funds shall be matched: 
 4.8.1.  at a program level; and 
 4.8.2.  at a level of at least fifty percent state funds to fifty 
percent Federal funds; and 
 4.8.3.  at a level not less than the average annual aggregate 
expenditures for the preceding three fiscal years or the average 
annual expenditure per full-time equivalent student for such years. 
 4.9.  Allocation of Federal and State LEAP Funds - UHEAA 
shall allocate Federal and state LEAP funds by using a formula 
based on the number of Utah resident, full-time equivalent students 
enrolled at each participating institution during the most recently 
completed fiscal year.  The allocation of funds to a participating 
institution shall be in the same proportion to the total funds available 
to all Utah institutions as the number of resident, full-time 
equivalent students at the participating institution is to the total 
number of resident, full-time equivalent students at all participating 
institutions. 
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 4.10 Inability of an Institution to Use the Full Allocation - 
When an institution indicates the inability to use its total allocation 
of LEAP Program funds in compliance with the guidelines during an 
award year, UHEAA may reallocate such excess funds to other 
eligible institutions within the state or provide for the Federal funds 
to be reallocated to other states through the U.S. Secretary of 
Education, as provided in the Federal regulations. 
 4.11.  Disbursements - LEAP funds shall be disbursed by 
UHEAA on an as needed basis or just prior to the start of a new 
term.  For institutions on a semester system this will be twice a year, 
for institutions on a quarter system this will be three times a year, for 
institutions operating on an open enrollment system this will be a 
minimum of three times a year. 
 4.12.  Participation Agreement - The LEAP funds will be 
released to an institution upon receipt of a Participation Agreement 
signed by the President of the institution which certifies that the 
institution will follow all requirements of the program including the 
following; 
 4.12.1.  The institution will maintain a separate account for 
Federal and state LEAP funds under this program. 
 4.12.2.  LEAP funds allocated to institutions will be used only 
for direct financial assistance to students qualifying under the 
program. 
 4.12.3.  LEAP funds allocated by UHEAA to support this 
program will not be transferred by the institution to other student aid 
programs. 
 4.12.4.  LEAP funds not used by an institution will be returned 
to UHEAA within 30 days of the institution's determination that the 
funds will not be used and in no case later than 30 days before the 
end of the award year. 
 4.12.5.  LEAP funds will not be disbursed to the student prior 
to the time the student completes registration. 
 4.12.6.  The institution will maintain, on a current basis, 
adequate records sufficient to demonstrate that the program has been 
administered in accordance with the program requirements, to file a 
year-end report, to provide the Department of Education and 
UHEAA access to all records pertinent to the grant program, and 
provide student rosters to UHEAA upon request. 
 Part IV - Student Participation 
 4.13.  President or Designee's Responsibilities - The President 
of each institution or the President's designee, as the institutional 
administrator shall: 
 4.13.1.  accept applications for Utah LEAP program funds 
consistent with institutional policy as it relates to applications, and 
the provisions of the Act and regulations. 
 4.13.2.  determine the student's eligibility for participation in 
the program on the basis of an annually documented substantial 
financial need, using the congressional methodology of needs 
analysis.  If eligible applicants exceed available funding levels, 
awards will start with the most needy students who meet all other 
application requirements. 
 4.13.3.  ensure that no student shall be excluded from 
participation in this program on the basis of sex, race, color, age, 
religion, handicap, national origin, marital status or other 
constitutionally or legally impermissible grounds. 
 4.14.  Student Eligibility - To be eligible for a grant from the 
Utah LEAP Program, a student must: 
 4.14.1.  be a Utah Resident as defined in the Utah code 53B-8-
102. 
 4.14.2.  be an eligible student as defined in Section 484 of the 
Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, and 34 CFR Part 668.7. 

 Part V - LEAP Annual Limits 
 4.15.  Maximum Annual Limit - A student may receive an 
LEAP award up to $2,500 for each award year for which the student 
is eligible for an LEAP award. 
 4.15.1.  The maximum total grant under this program to any 
full-time student shall be $2,500 in any academic year. 
 4.15.2.  Summer school awards are to be part of the student's 
$2,500 maximum. 
 4.15.3.  LEAP awards shall be committed and disbursed before 
the end of the award year. 
 4.16.  Estimated Cost of Attendance - In no case may the 
amount of the LEAP award exceed the student's estimated cost of 
attendance for the award period for which the grant is intended, less 
the sum of that student's expected family contribution and other 
student aid to be received. 
 4.17.  Less than Full-time Students - At the discretion of the 
Financial Aid Officer, grant funds may be awarded to less than full-
time students.  Aid awarded to less than full-time students shall not 
exceed that proportion of $2,500 which the less than full-time 
student's academic work load bears to a full academic work load. 
 Part VI - Record Retention and Reporting 
 4.18.  Record Retention and Reporting - The President of each 
institution or the President's designee, as the institutional 
administrator shall: 
 4.18.1.  maintain adequate records to show the utilization of the 
LEAP program. 
 4.18.2.  submit such reports and information as may be required 
by the U.S. Department of Education, UHEAA, or the Utah State 
Board of Regents in connection with the administration of the 
program. 
 4.19.  Records to be Maintained - In accordance with 34 CFR 
Part 692.21, UHEAA requires a participating institution to retain 
complete and accurate records of each LEAP awarded, including the 
following: 
 4.19.1.  The Federal student aid application; 
 4.19.2.  A record of each disbursement of grant proceeds; and 
 4.19.3.  Any additional records that are necessary to document 
the accuracy of reports submitted to UHEAA, the Utah State Board 
of Regents, or the U.S. Department of Education. 
 4.20.  Records Retention - An institution shall retain the records 
required for each LEAP award for at least five years after the award 
is disbursed.  The U.S. Secretary of Education, or the Administrator 
of the Utah LEAP program, may, in particular cases, require the 
retention of records beyond the three-year minimum period. 
 4.21.  Records Organization - The records must be organized in 
such a way as to permit ready identification of the current status of 
each grant.  The records specified in subsections 4.19.1 through 
4.19.3 of this policy may be stored on microfilm or computer 
format. 
 4.22.  Records Retention Violations - In the event the 
institution violates the record retention policy as outlined above, the 
administrator of the Utah LEAP program, may take such corrective 
action as is deemed necessary. 
Part VII - SLEAP Program 
 4.23.  Special Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership 
(SLEAP) Program - SLEAP assists States in providing grants, 
scholarships, and community service work-study assistance to 
eligible students who attend institutions of higher education and 
demonstrate financial need. 
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 4.24.  Related Regulations and Definitions - The LEAP 
regulations and definitions listed above also apply to the SLEAP 
Program. 
 4.25.  Program Requirements for the State - To receive SLEAP 
Program funds for any fiscal year, Utah must: 
 4.25.1.  Participate in the LEAP Program; 
 4.25.2.  Meet the requirements in 34 CFR Part 692.60; and 
 4.25.3.  Have a program that satisfies the requirements in 34 
CFR Part 692.21(a), (b), (d), (e), (f), (g), (j), and (k). 
 4.26.  Student Eligibility Requirements - To receive assistance 
under the SLEAP Program, a student must meet the eligibility 
requirements of the LEAP Program above. 
 4.27.  Requirements to Receive a SLEAP Allotment - To 
receive an allotment under the SLEAP Program, UHEAA will: 
 4.27.1.  Submit an application in accordance with the 
provisions in 34 CFR Part 692.20; 
 4.27.2.  Identify the activities in 4.28 for which it plans to use 
the SLEAP Federal and non-Federal funds; 
 4.27.3.  Ensure that the non-Federal funds used as matching 
funds represent dollars that are in excess of the total dollars that the 
State of Utah spent for need-based grants, scholarships, and work-
study assistance for fiscal year 1999, including the State funds 
reported as part of its LEAP Program; 
 4.27.4.  Provide an assurance that for the fiscal year prior to the 
fiscal year for which Utah is requesting Federal funds, the amount 
the State expended from non-Federal sources per student, or the 
aggregate amount the State expended, for all the authorized 
activities in 34 CFR Part 692.71 will be no less than the amount the 
State expended from non-Federal sources per student, or in the 
aggregate, for those activities for the second fiscal year prior to the 
fiscal year for which the State is requesting Federal funds; and 
 4.27.5.  Ensure that the Federal share will not exceed one-third 
of the total funds expended under the SLEAP Program. 
 4.28.  Permitted Activities - Utah may use the funds it receives 
under the SLEAP Program for one or more of the following 
activities: 
 4.28.1.  Supplement LEAP grant awards to eligible students 
who demonstrate financial need by: 
 (a)  Increasing the LEAP grant award amounts for students; or 
 (b)  Increasing the number of students receiving LEAP grant 
awards. 
 4.28.2.  Supplement LEAP community service work-study 
awards to eligible students who demonstrate financial need by: 
 (a)  Increasing the LEAP community service work-study award 
amounts for students; or 
 (b)  Increasing the number of students receiving LEAP 
community service work-study awards. 
 4.28.3.  Award scholarships to eligible students who 
demonstrate financial need and who: 
 (a)  Demonstrate merit or academic achievement; or 
 (b)  Wish to enter a program of study leading to a career in: 
 (i)  Information technology; 
 (ii)  Mathematics, computer science, or engineering; 
 (iii)  Teaching; or 
 (iv)  Other fields determined by Utah to be critical to the State's 
workforce needs. 
 4.29.  Administrative Costs - Utah may not use any of the funds 
it receives under the SLEAP Program to pay any administrative 
costs. 
 4.30.  Community Service Work-Study Program - When 
administering its community service work-study program, Utah 

must follow the provisions in 34 CFR Part 692.30, other than the 
provisions of paragraph (a)(1) of that section. 
 
KEY:  higher education assistance, LEAP, SLEAP 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 
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RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Repeal of 
this rule will change the State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG) 
Program to the Utah Leveraging Educational Assistance 
Partnership (LEAP) Program (see new Rule R765-606) and 
incorporate by reference changes in Federal statutes and 
regulations governing this program, which awards grants to 
eligible students attending public or private non-profit 
institutions of higher education or public postsecondary 
vocational institutions.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed new rule 
of R765-606 is under DAR No. 26156 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53B-7-103; Higher Education Act of 1975, as 
amended (20 USC 1088 through 1099); and 34 CFR 600, 
668, and 692 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule change would have no impact 
on the state budget, since there are no state costs involved in 
this change in Federal programs. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule change would have no impact 
on local government, since no local government funds are 
involved in this change in Federal programs. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  No other persons would be impacted by this 
rule change, since there are no costs to other persons 
involved in this change in Federal programs. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There would be no 
new compliance costs for persons affected by this rule 
change, since this change in Federal programs has no 
compliance costs. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There would be no fiscal 
impact on businesses because of this rule change, since 
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businesses will have no costs or savings due to this change in 
Federal programs. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
ADMINISTRATION 
BOARD OF REGENTS BUILDING, THE GATEWAY 
60 SOUTH 400 WEST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101-1284, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Don A. Carpenter at the above address, by phone at 801-321-
7110, by FAX at 801-321-7199, or by Internet E-mail at 
dcarpenter@utahsbr.edu 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Cecelia H. Foxley, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R765.  Regents (Board of), Administration. 
[R765-660.  Utah State Student Incentive Grant Program. 
R765-660-1.  Purpose. 
 To provide for the State Student Incentive Grant Program and 
incorporate by reference Federal statutes and regulations governing 
this program which awards grants to eligible students attending 
public or private non-profit institutions of higher education or public 
postsecondary vocational institutions. 
 
R765-660-2.  References. 
 2.1.  53B-7-103, Utah Code Annotated 1953. 
 2.2.  Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended. 
 2.3.  34 CFR Parts 600, 668 and 692. 
 2.4.  Education Department General Administration 
Regulations (EDGAR). 
 
R765-660-3.  Definitions. 
 3.1.  "Academic Year" - Beginning July 1, 1993, "Academic 
Year" as determined by the educational institution in accordance 
with Section 481d of the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended 
shall be: 
 3.1.1.  a period requiring a minimum of 30 weeks of 
instructional time in which a full-time student is expected to 
complete at least: 
 3.1.1.1.  24 semester or 24 trimester or 36 quarter hours at an 
institution that measures program length in credit hours, or 
 3.1.1.2.  900 clock hours at an institution that measures 
program length in clock hours. 
 3.2.  "Award Year" - As defined in 34 CFR Part 668.2, namely, 
the period of time from July 1 of one year through June 30 of the 
following year. 
 3.3.  "Decentralized Program" - A program which delegates 
certain functions and sub-allocates SSIG funds to participating 

institutions for approved awards to SSIG recipients which have been 
selected by the participating institutions. 
 3.4.  "Full-time Student" - As defined in 34 CFR Part 692.4b, 
namely, a student carrying a full-time academic workload - other 
than by correspondence - as measured by both of the following: 1) 
Course work or other required activities, as determined by the 
institution that the student attends or by the State.  2) Tuition and 
fees normally charged for full-time study by that institution. 
 3.5.  "Full-time Equivalent Students" - A measure of annual 
instructional output calculated according to the following formulas: 
 3.5.1.  For institutions that measure program length in quarter 
credit hours, the total number of undergraduate instructional credit 
hours attributed to the institution's fiscal year divided by 45, plus the 
total number of graduate instructional credit hours attributed to the 
institution's fiscal year divided by 30. 
 3.5.2.  For institutions that measure program length in semester 
credit hours, the total number of undergraduate instructional credit 
hours attributed to the institutions fiscal year divided by 30, plus the 
total number of graduate instructional credit hours attributed to the 
institution's fiscal year divided by 20. 
 3.5.3.  For institutions that measure program length in clock 
hours, the total number of instructional clock hours attributed to the 
institution's fiscal year divided by 792. 
 3.6.  "Institution of Higher Education" - As defined in Section 
481a of the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR 
Part 600.4. 
 3.7.  "Non-Profit" - As defined in 34 CFR Part 77.1 of 
EDGAR. 
 3.8.  "Participating Institution" - A public or private non-profit 
institution of higher education or postsecondary vocational 
institution which has entered into a participation agreement with the 
Office of the Utah Commissioner of Higher Education 
(Commissioner's Office). 
 3.9.  "Postsecondary Vocational Institution" - As defined in 34 
CFR Part 600.6. 
 3.10.  "SSIG" - State Student Incentive Grant. 
 3.11. "Substantial Financial Need" - The difference between a 
student's cost of education (including tuition and fees; books and 
supplies; living expenses such as room and board, personal, 
miscellaneous, and transportation) and the sum of that student's 
expected family contribution and other student aid to be received.  
The difference thus computed must equal or exceed $200 for the 
student to be considered for SSIG funds.  (The $200 threshold is 
calculated based on an entire academic year.  Adjustments will be 
allowed for partial academic year attendance.)  If eligible applicants 
exceed available funding levels, awards will start with the most 
needy students who meet all other application requirements. 
 
R765-660-4.  Policy. 
 4.1.  State Board of Regents 
 The Utah State Board of Regents is the designated state agency 
for the SSIG program in the state of Utah.  The responsibility for 
administration of the SSIG is assigned to the Utah Commissioner of 
Higher Education or the Commissioner's designee.  The Utah SSIG 
program is administered as a decentralized program. 
 4.2.  Institutional Administration 
 The President of each institution shall be responsible for the 
administration of the SSIG program at the institutional level in 
compliance with Federal and state regulations.  The institutional 
administration of the program may be delegated to the financial aid 
director or other appropriate institutional officers. 
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 4.3.  Fiscal Control and Fund Accounting 
 The Commissioner's office shall provide fiscal control and fund 
accounting services for awards made under the program. 
 4.4.  Governing Statutes and Regulations 
 The Utah State Board of Regents incorporates by reference the 
following Federal statutes and regulations: 
 4.4.1.  The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended; 
 4.4.2.  Final Regulations of the U.S. Department of Education 
(i.e., 34 CFR Parts 600, 668, and 692); and 
 4.4.3.  Education Department General Administration 
Regulations (EDGAR) 
 4.5.  State Agency Rules 
 The State Board of Regents establishes, from time to time, 
agency rules governing the operation of the Utah SSIG Program in 
accordance with Federal requirements as referenced in 4.4.1, 4.4.2 
and 4.4.3. 
 4.6.  Statutes and Regulations Available 
 A copy of all Federal and state rules, regulations and statutes 
directly affecting the Utah SSIG Program can be obtained from the 
Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education at 3 Triad Center, 
Suite 550, Salt Lake City, Utah 84180. 
 4.7.  Transfer of SSIG federal Funds 
 The Board, as the designated state agency for the SSIG 
program in the state of Utah, shall: 
 4.7.1.  have a separate account number assigned from the 
Office of the State Director of Finance for Federal SSIG funds. 
 4.7.2.  ensure that the custodian of Federal funds is the State 
Treasurer, Utah State Capitol, Salt Lake City. 
 4.7.3.  make disbursements of Federal funds through the State 
Disbursing Office, Finance Department, Utah State Capitol, Salt 
Lake City, Utah. 
 4.7.4.  have the receiving and approving officer for Federal 
funds be the Administrator of Utah SSIG Program, a staff member 
of the Board of Regents. 
 4.8.  Matching of Federal SSIG funds 
 The state matching funds for the SSIG program are 
appropriated by the Utah State Legislature to the State Board of 
Regents for the Utah SSIG program.  The Federal funds shall be 
matched: 
 4.8.1.  at a program level; and 
 4.8.2.  at a level of at least fifty percent state funds to fifty 
percent Federal funds; and 
 4.8.3.  at a level not less than the average annual aggregate 
expenditures for the preceding three fiscal years or the average 
annual expenditure per full-time equivalent student for such years. 
 4.9.  Allocation of Federal and State SSIG funds 
 The Commissioner's Office shall allocate Federal and state 
SSIG funds by using a formula based on the number of Utah 
resident, full-time equivalent students enrolled at each participating 
institution during the most recently completed fiscal year.  The 
allocation of funds to a participating institution shall be in the same 
proportion to the total funds available to all Utah institutions as the 
number of resident, full-time equivalent students at the participating 
institution is to the total number of resident, full-time equivalent 
students at all participating institutions. 
 4.10.  Inability of an institution to use the full allocation 
 When an institution indicates the inability to use its total 
allocation of SSIG Program funds in compliance with the guidelines 
during an award year, the Commissioner or the Commissioner's 
designee may reallocate such excess funds to other eligible 
institutions within the state or provide for the Federal funds to be 

reallocated to other states through the U.S. Secretary of Education, 
as provided in the Federal regulations. 
 4.11.  Disbursements 
 SSIG funds shall be disbursed from the Commissioner's office 
on an as needed basis or just prior to the start of a new term.  For 
institutions on a semester system this will be twice a year, for 
institutions on a quarter system this will be three times a year, for 
institutions operating on an open enrollment system this will be a 
minimum of three times a year. 
 4.12.  Participation Agreement 
 The SSIG funds will be released to an institution upon receipt 
of a Participation Agreement signed by the President of the 
institution which certifies that the institution will follow all 
requirements of the program including the following; 
 4.12.1.  The institution will maintain a separate account for 
Federal and state funds under this program. 
 4.12.2.  SSIG funds allocated to institutions will be used only 
for direct financial assistance to students qualifying under the 
program. 
 4.12.3.  SSIG funds allocated by the Utah Commissioner of 
Higher Education to support this program will not be transferred by 
the institution to other student aid programs. 
 4.12.4.  SSIG funds not used by an institution will be returned 
to the Commissioner's Office within 30 days of the institution's 
determination that the funds will not be used and in no case later 
than 30 days before the end of the award year. 
 4.12.5.  SSIG funds will not be disbursed to the student prior to 
the time the student completes registration. 
 4.12.6.  The institution will maintain, on a current basis, 
adequate records sufficient to demonstrate that the program has been 
administered in accordance with the program requirements, to file a 
year-end report, to provide the Department of Education and the 
Commissioner's Office access to all records pertinent to the grant 
program, and provide student rosters to the Commissioner's Office 
upon request. 
 4.13. President or designee's responsibilities 
 The President of each institution or the President's designee, as 
the institutional administrator shall: 
 4.13.1.  accept applications for Utah SSIG program funds 
consistent with institutional policy as it relates to applications, and 
the provisions of the Act and regulations. 
 4.13.2.  determine the student's eligibility for participation in 
the program on the basis of an annually documented substantial 
financial need, using the congressional methodology of needs 
analysis. 
 4.13.3.  ensure that no student shall be excluded from 
participation in this program on the basis of sex, race, color, age, 
religion, handicap, national origin, marital status or other 
constitutionally or legally impermissible grounds. 
 4.14.  Student eligibility 
 To be eligible for a grant from the Utah SSIG Program, a 
student must: 
 4.14.1.  be a Utah Resident as defined in the Utah code 53B-8-
102. 
 4.14.2.  be an eligible student as defined in Section 484 of the 
Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR Part 668.7. 
 4.15.  Maximum annual limit 
 A student may receive an SSIG award up to $2,500 for each 
award year for which the student is eligible for an SSIG award. 
 4.15.1.  The maximum total grant under this program to any 
full-time student shall be $2,500 in any academic year. 
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 4.15.2.  Summer school awards are to be part of the student's 
$2,500 maximum. 
 4.15.3.  SSIG awards shall be committed and disbursed before 
the end of the award year. 
 4.16.  Estimated cost of attendance 
 In no case may the amount of the SSIG award exceed the 
student's estimated cost of attendance for the award period for which 
the grant is intended, less the sum of that student's expected family 
contribution and other student aid to be received. 
 4.17.  Less than full-time students 
 At the discretion of the Financial Aid Officer, grant funds may 
be awarded to less than full-time students.  Aid awarded to less than 
full-time students shall not exceed that proportion of $2,500 which 
the less than full-time student's academic work load bears to a full 
academic work load. 
 4.18.  Record Retention and Reporting 
 The President of each institution or the President's designee, as 
the institutional administrator shall: 
 4.18.1.  maintain adequate records to show the utilization of the 
SSIG program. 
 4.18.2.  submit such reports and information as may be required 
by the U.S. Department of Education or the Utah State Board of 
Regents in connection with the administration of the program. 
 4.19.  Records to be maintained 
 In accordance with 34 CFR Part 692.21, the Utah State Board 
of Regents requires a participating institution to retain complete and 
accurate records of each SSIG awarded, including the following: 
 4.19.1.  The Federal student aid application; 
 4.19.2.  A copy of the award letter sent to the student; 
 4.19.3.  A record of each disbursement of grant proceeds; and 
 4.19.4.  Any additional records that are necessary to document 
the accuracy of reports submitted to the Utah State Board of Regents 
or the U.S. Department of Education. 
 4.20.  Records retention 
 An institution shall retain the records required for each SSIG 
award for at least five years after the award is disbursed.  The U.S. 
Secretary of Education, or the Administrator of the Utah SSIG 
program, may, in particular cases, require the retention of records 
beyond the five-year minimum period. 
 4.21.  Records organization 
 The records must be organized in such a way as to permit ready 
identification of the current status of each grant.  The records 
specified in subsections 4.19.1 through 4.19.4 of this policy may be 
stored on microfilm or computer format. 
 4.22.  Records retention violations 
 In the event the institution violates the record retention policy 
as outlined above, the administrator of the Utah SSIG program, may 
take such corrective action as is deemed necessary. 
 
KEY:  higher education, financial aid* 
1993 
Notice of Continuation April 1, 2003 
53B-7-103] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

R850-3 
Applicant Qualifications, Application 
Forms, and Application Processing 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26176 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 17:04 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment allows for the inclusion of modified grazing 
permits in the application processing guidelines. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule is being amended 
to add modified grazing permit applications to be processed 
by the agency. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and Section 53C-2-404 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  The only anticipated potential income to 
the state would be from application and other fees that might 
come to the agency as a result of adding modified grazing 
permits to the list of surface-related land uses. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated costs or 
savings to local government as they generally do not engage 
in grazing-related activities with the agency. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  The only anticipated cost to other persons 
would be the application fees and related permit costs which 
are already established, were they to choose to pursue a 
modified grazing permit with the agency. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Any compliance 
costs for affected persons would be the currently established 
application fees and permit-related costs for anyone wanting 
to obtain a modified grazing permit with the agency. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no anticipated fiscal 
impact on businesses as a result of this rule change.  Anyone 
wishing to exercise their right to apply for a modified grazing 
permit would be governed by the agency's existing fees and 
permit-related costs. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

SCHOOL AND INSTITUTIONAL TRUST LANDS 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 500  
675 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84102-2818, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Kim S. Christy at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
5183, by FAX at 801-355-0922, or by Internet E-mail at 
kimchristy@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin S. Carter, Director 
 
 
 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-3.  Applicant Qualifications, Application Forms, and 
Application Processing. 
R850-3-400.  Application Processing. 
 Within 15 days from receipt of an application for a Special Use 
Lease, Easement, Sale, Exchange, Modified Grazing Permit, or 
Materials Permit, the Trust Lands Administration shall conduct an 
initial evaluation of the application.  Trust Lands Administration 
may refuse the application if it determines, in its sole discretion, 
that: 
 (1)  activities with higher priorities would be adversely 
impacted by processing the application; 
 (2)  an existing or planned application or activity on the parcel 
would be adversely impacted by processing the application; 
 (3)  an agency-initiated activity would be adversely impacted 
by processing the application; or 
 (4)  proceeding with the proposal would not be in the best 
interests of the trust land beneficiaries. 
 No fees shall be collected from the applicant prior to the above-
referenced evaluation.  If the Trust Lands Administration chooses to 
refuse the application, it shall notify the applicant in writing.  If the 
Trust Lands Administration chooses to accept the application, it 
shall inform the applicant of any further information, material, 
deposits and fees which may be required in order to accept the 
application and commence processing.  Failure to provide the 
requested items by the deadline established by the Trust Lands 
Administration may result in the application being rejected.  A 
determination refusing an application shall not be subject to 
administrative review. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, residency requirements 
[July 2, 1996]June 3, 2003 
Notice of Continuation June 27, 2002 
53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) 
53C-2-404 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

R850-50 
Range Management 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26177 
FILED:  04/15/2003, 17:06 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
amendments to the rule provide formalized direction for the 
issuance and management of modified grazing permits for 
uses which do not lend themselves to traditional grazing 
permits or long-term agricultural leases.  The amendments 
also allow the agency to protect stockwatering rights from 
forfeiture due to non-use. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Agency recognizes that 
there are instances where the proposed use of trust lands is 
grazing related, but more intensive than livestock grazing 
alone, and when improvements are primarily temporary in 
nature.  The amendments to this rule specify the terms and 
conditions under which Modified Grazing Permits may be 
issued by the Agency.  The amendments also provide that 
grazing permit applicants will be evaluated as to their ability to 
maintain water rights.  Grazing permittees will be required to 
provide the beneficial use necessary to protect appurtenant 
stockwatering rights from forfeiture, to the extent allowed 
under the permit. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsections 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-2-201(1)(a), 
and Section 53C-5-102 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  It is anticipated that 10 permittees will 
qualify for modified grazing permits.  Estimated additional 
revenues derived from application fees and permit income will 
be approximately $6,000.  The amendments pertaining to 
protection of stockwatering rights simply offer an additional 
criteria for the agency to evaluate applicant and permittee 
qualifications.  Consequently, there are no anticipated costs or 
savings to the state. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated costs or 
savings to local governments, as they are not involved in the 
review or issuance of grazing or modified grazing permits. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  It is anticipated that 10 permittees will 
qualify for modified grazing permits.  Estimated additional 
revenues derived from application fees and permit income will 
be approximately $6,000.  The requirement of maintaining 
stockwatering rights is only subject to the terms and 
conditions of the grazing permit with respect to season of use 
and stocking rates.  Therefore, no additional costs or savings 
to other persons (grazing permittees) are anticipated. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It is anticipated 
that 10 permittees will qualify for modified grazing permits.  
Estimated additional revenues derived from application fees 
and permit income will be approximately $6,000.  The 
requirement of maintaining stockwatering rights is only subject 
to the terms and conditions of the grazing permit with respect 
to season of use and stocking rates.  Therefore, no additional 
costs or savings to affected persons are anticipated. 
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COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  It is not anticipated that this 
rule change will have any fiscal impact on livestock 
enterprises associated with the agency's permitting 
processes.  Typically, these are enterprises which already do 
business with this agency and these rule changes provide a 
better delineation of the parameters governing their land uses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

SCHOOL AND INSTITUTIONAL TRUST LANDS 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 500  
675 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84102-2818, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Kim S. Christy at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
5183, by FAX at 801-355-0922, or by Internet E-mail at 
kimchristy@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin S. Carter, Director 
 
 
 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-50.  Range Management. 
R850-50-150.  Planning. 
 1.  Pursuant to Section 53C-2-201(1)(a), the issuance of grazing 
permits within this category of activity carries no planning 
obligations by the agency beyond existing rule-based analysis and 
approval processes. 
 2.  Range improvement projects authorized pursuant to this 
section carry the following planning obligations beyond existing 
rule-based analysis and approval processes: 
 (a) To the extent required by the Memorandum of 
Understanding between the State Planning Coordinator and the 
School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration, submit the 
proposal for review by the Resource Development Coordinating 
Committee (RDCC); and 
 (b)  Evaluation of and response to comments received through 
the RDCC process. 
 3.  Applications for modified grazing permits which do not 
involve surface disturbing activities are governed by paragraph 1, 
above.  Applications for modified grazing permits which involve 
surface disturbing activities are subject to the planning obligations 
set forth in paragraph 2, above. 
 
R850-50-400.  Permit Approval Process. 
 Applications shall be accepted on lands available for permitting 
under R850-50-300 or upon termination of an existing permit as 
follows: 
 1.  On trust lands that are available for grazing, but are not 
subject to an existing permit, applications may be solicited through 

advertising or any other method the agency determines is 
appropriate, including notification of adjacent landowners and other 
permittees in an allotment. 
 2.  On trust lands subject to an expiring grazing permit, 
competing applications shall be accepted from April 1 to April 30, 
or the next working day if either of these days is a weekend or 
holiday, of the year in which the permit terminates. 
 3.  If no competing applications are received, the person 
holding the expiring grazing permit shall have the right to renew the 
permit by submitting a completed application along with the first 
year's rent and other applicable fees. 
 4.  Persons desiring to submit a competing application shall do 
so on forms acceptable to the agency.  Forms may be acquired at the 
offices listed in R850-6-200(2)(b).  Applications shall include 
payment in the amount of the non-refundable application fee, and 
the one-time bonus bid.  Bids shall be refunded to unsuccessful 
applicants.  Upon establishment of the yearly rental rate, the 
successful applicant shall be required to submit the first year's rental 
and other required fees. 
 5.  Applications shall be evaluated by the agency and shall be 
accepted only if the agency determines that the applicant's grazing 
activity shall not create unmanageable problems of trespass, range 
and resource management, or access. 
 (a)  For purposes of this evaluation adjoining permittees and 
lessees, adjoining property owners, or adjoining federal permittees 
shall be considered acceptable as competing applicants unless 
specific problems are clearly demonstrated. 
 (b)  Applicants not meeting the requirements in (a) above, 
whose uses would not unreasonably conflict with the uses of other 
permittees of trust lands in the area, shall nevertheless be accepted if 
the size of the grazing area, the access to the grazing area, and other 
factors demonstrate that the applicant is able to utilize the area 
without adverse impact on the range resources, adjoining lands, or 
beneficiaries of affected trust lands. 
 (c)  For purposes of evaluating an applicant's acceptability for a 
grazing permit, the agency may consider the applicant's ability to 
maintain any water rights appurtenant to the lands described in the 
application. 
 6.  An existing permittee shall have a preference right to permit 
the property provided he agrees to pay an amount equal to the 
highest competing application. 
 
R850-50-1300.  Rights Reserved to the Agency. 
 In all grazing permits the agency shall expressly reserve the 
right to: 
 1.  issue special use leases, timber sales, materials permits, 
easements, rights-of-entry and any other interest in the trust land. 
 2.  issue permits for the harvesting of seed from plants on the 
trust land.  If loss of use occurs from harvesting activities, a credit 
for the amount of loss shall be made to the following year's 
assessment. 
 3.  enter upon and inspect the trust land or to allow scientific 
studies upon trust land at any reasonable time. 
 4.  allow the public the right to use the trust land for purposes 
and periods of time permitted by policy and rules.  However, 
nothing in these rules purports to authorize trespass on private land 
to reach trust land. 
 5.  require that all water rights on trust land be filed in the name 
of the trust and to require express written approval prior to the 
conveyance of water off trust land. 
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End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
 

 6.  require a permittee, when an agency-owned water right is 
associated with the grazing permit, to ensure that the water right, to 
the extent allowed under the permit, is maintained in compliance 
with state law. 
 [6]7.  close roads for the purpose of range or road protection, or 
other administrative purposes. 
 [7]8.  dispose of the property without compensation to the 
permittee, subject to R850-50-1100(7). 
 [8]9.  terminate a grazing permit in order to facilitate higher 
and better uses of trust lands. 
 
R850-50-1600.  Modified Grazing Permit. 
 1.  At the discretion of the director, the agency may issue 
modified grazing permits in instances where the proposed use is 
grazing related but is more intensive than livestock grazing alone 
and when improvements, if any, are primarily temporary in nature.  
Such uses may include, but are not limited to, uses authorized under 
R850-30-300(1)(d), camps, corrals, feed yards, irrigated livestock 
pastures, or other related uses. 
 2.  Modified grazing permits may be approved pursuant to the 
following process: 
 (a)  Applications for modified grazing permits shall be 
submitted pursuant to R850-3. 
 (b)  Applications, if accepted, shall be accompanied with an 
application fee equal to the application fee for special use leases. 
 (c)  Applications shall be evaluated pursuant to R850-3-400 and 
R850-50-400. 
 3.  Modified grazing permits shall be subject to the following 
terms and conditions: 
 (a)  The term of a modified grazing permit shall be no longer 
than 15 years and contain terms, conditions, and provisions the 
agency, in its discretion, deems necessary to protect the interest of 
the trust beneficiaries. 

 (b)  A modified grazing permit is subject to cancellation 
pursuant to R850-50-600(4). 
 (c)  Annual rental for a modified grazing permit shall be based 
on the fair market value of the permitted property.  Fair market value 
of the permitted property and annual rental rates shall be determined 
by the agency pursuant to R850-30-400.  Periodic rental reviews 
may be completed pursuant to R850-30-400(4). 
 (d)  Upon cancellation of the modified grazing permit: 
 i)  the permittee shall be allowed 90 days to remove approved 
temporary range improvements; and 
 ii)  at the discretion of the director, the agency may reimburse 
the permittee for approved permanent range improvements pursuant 
to R850-50-1100; or 
 iii)  the permittee shall be allowed 90 days to remove approved 
permanent range improvements. 
 (e)  Prior to the issuance of a modified grazing permit, or for 
good cause shown at any time during the term of the modified 
grazing permit, the applicant or permittee, as the case may be, may 
be required to post with the agency a bond in the form and amount 
as may be determined by the agency to assure compliance with all 
terms and conditions of the permit.  Any bond posted pursuant to 
this rule is subject to R850-30-800(2) through (4). 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, range management 
[November 1, 2002]June 3, 2003 
Notice of Continuation June 27, 2002 
53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) 
53C-2-201(1)(a) 
53C-5-102 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency 
to respond to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only 
those changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  
Additions made to the rule appear underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with 
brackets surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · ·) indicates that unaffected text was 
removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules 
will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print is available from the agency or from the 
Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
While a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE does not have a formal comment period, there is a 30-day waiting period during 
which interested parties may submit comments.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
published in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends June 2, 2003.  At its option, the agency may hold public 
hearings. 
 
From the end of the waiting period through August 29, 2003, the agency may notify the Division of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor 
more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may 
file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Division of 
Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the 
process over. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-6 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code 
Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, R15-4-7, and R15-4-9. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Insurance, Administration 

R590-219 
Credit Scoring 

 
NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 

DAR File No.:  25958 
Filed:  04/07/2003, 10:17 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
changes to this rule are a direct response to the comments 
received at the first hearing on this rule and the written 
comments received. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Aside from clarification and 
corrections to grammar and formatting, the following major 
changes are being made to the rule:  in Section R590-219-3, 
the definition of "Significant Factors" is being deleted; the 
definition of "Initial Underwriting" is being expanded; in 
Subsections R590-219-4(1), (2), and (3) are redundant to 
what is already in the federal Fair Credit Act and so these 
subsections are being eliminated; in Section R590-219-5 the 
reference to "primary reason" is being eliminated since it was 
taken out of the original legislation; and Subsection R590-219-
5(3) expands the parameters for insurers when rating private 
passenger auto insurance when applying a premium discount. 
 (DAR NOTE:  This change in proposed rule has been filed to 
make additional changes to a proposed new rule that was 
published in the February 1, 2003, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 23.  Underlining in the rule below indicates 
text that has been added since the publication of the proposed 
rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the change in proposed rule and the 
proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make this 
rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-22-320 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  These changes are not going to increase 
or decrease the department's workload or its need to hire or 
let employees go.  Neither will the changes change the flow of 
money into the General Fund. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule deals with the contract 
between the insurer and the consumer and will not affect local 
government. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  The change in Subsection R590-219-4(3) 
that limits the requirement for insurers to re-examine a 
persons credit history only in the case it has been changed 
will save them money over checking it every time there is a 
request.  The change in Subsection R590-219-3(1)(a)(v) 
broadens the scope of individual in a family that the insurer 
would include in their underwriting requirements as they 
determine whether or not to accept a risk for coverage.  This 
would essentially increase the person's chance of being 
denied coverage. 
 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The change in 
Subsection R590-219-4(3) that limits the requirement for 
insurers to re-examine a persons credit history only in the 
case it has been changed will save them money over 
checking it every time there is a request.  The change in 
Subsection R590-219-3(1)(a)(v) broadens the scope of 
individual in a family that the insurer would include in their 
underwriting requirements as they determine whether or not to 
accept a risk for coverage.  This would essentially increase 
the person's chance of being denied coverage. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The department is out ahead of 
other states in the regulation of credit scoring and as a result it 
is hard to know just what kind of fiscal impact this rule will 
have on insurers doing business in Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 06/02/2003 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE: 
5/20/2003 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building (behind the 
Capitol), Rm 3110, Salt Lake City 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  06/03/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-219.  Credit Scoring. 
R590-219-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-
201(3)(a) in which the commissioner may make rules to implement 
the provisions of this title.  Also, specific authority is provided in 
Subsection 31A-22-320(3) to enforce the provisions of Section 31A-
22-320. 
 
R590-219-2. Scope and Purpose. 
 This rule sets forth minimum standards for all property and 
casualty insurers doing private passenger automobile business in 
Utah that use credit history or an insurance score as part of their 
underwriting criteria or rating plans. 
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R590-219-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Section 31A-1-301 and 31A-22-
320, the following definition shall apply for the purposes of this 
rule: 
 [(1)  "Significant factor" means an important element of the 
consumer's credit history or insurance score. Significant factors 
include: 
 (a)  bankruptcies, judgments and liens; 
 (b)  delinquent accounts; 
 (c)  accounts in collection; 
 (d)  payment history outstanding debt; 
 (e)  length of credit history; and 
 (f)  number of credit accounts.] 
 ([2]1)(a)  "Initial underwriting" shall include: 
 (i)deciding whether or not to issue a policy to the consumer; 
 (ii)  the amount and terms of the coverage; 
 (iii)  the duration of the policy; [and] 
 (iv)  the rates or fees charged[.]; and 
 (v)  those additional drivers related to the named insured or 
spouse by blood, marriage, adoption, or guardianship who were 
emancipated prior to becoming an additional driver in the named 
insured's household. 
 (b)  "Initial underwriting" shall not include additional vehicles 
or drivers added to the household of a current auto insurance 
policyholder of the insurer, provided: 
 (i)  the additional vehicle is owned by the named insured, 
spouse or persons related to the named insured by blood, marriage, 
adoption, or guardianship that are residents of the named insured's 
household; 
 (ii)  the additional driver is related to the named insured or 
spouse by blood, marriage, adoption, or guardianship and is a 
resident of the named insured's household, including those who 
usually make their home in the same household but temporarily live 
elsewhere[; or]. 
 (iii)  a divorced spouse or child where an insurer has a record of 
the driving history from an existing policy. 
 ([3]2)  "Adverse action" shall have the same meaning as 
defined in the Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C. sec.1681 et seq.  
An adverse action includes the following: 
 (a)  cancellation, denial or non-renewal of insurance coverage; 
 (b)  charging a higher premium than would have been offered if 
the credit history or credit score had been more favorable, whether 
the charge is by: 
 (i)  application of a rating rule; 
 (ii)  assignment to a rating category within a single insurer, into 
which insureds with substantially like [insuring, ]risk or exposure 
factors and expense elements are placed for purposes of determining 
rate or premium, that does not have the lowest available rates; 
 (iii)  placement with an affiliate insurer that does not offer the 
lowest rates available to the consumer within the affiliate group of 
insurers; or 
 (iv)  a reduction or an adverse or unfavorable change in the 
terms of coverage or amount of insurance owing to a consumer's 
credit history or insurance score. 
 (c)  A reduction or an adverse or unfavorable change in the 
terms of coverage occurs when: 
 (i)  coverage provided to the consumer is not as broad in scope 
as coverage requested by the consumer but available to other 
insureds of the insurer or any affiliate; or 
 (ii)  the consumer is not eligible for benefits such as dividends 
that are available through affiliate insurers. 

R590-219-4.  Insurer's Obligation If Credit Information Is Used. 
 [(1)  An insurer must notify an applicant or insured of the 
significant factors that influenced the insurer's adverse action 
decision.  If more than four significant factors influenced the 
insurer's decision, only the four most significant factors need be 
disclosed to the applicant. 
 (2)  In order to meet the requirements of subsection (1) of this 
section, an insurer must explain the significant factors in clear and 
simple language.  The use of generalized terms such as "poor credit 
history", "poor credit rating", or "poor insurance score" does not 
meet the explanation requirements of this subsection.  Standardized 
credit explanations provided by consumer reporting agencies or 
other third party vendors are deemed to comply with this section. 
 (3)  An insurer may choose to tell an applicant or insured which 
factors positively affect an applicant's or insured's credit history or 
insurance score.] 
 ([4]1)  An insurer must comply with all notification 
requirements of the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C. 
1681 et seq.  If any adverse action is taken, the insurance company 
must provide to the applicant or insured: 
 (a)  the identity, telephone number, and address of any 
consumer-reporting agency from which a credit report was obtained; 
 (b)  notification of the applicant's or insured's right to receive a 
free copy of their credit report from the consumer reporting agency 
for a period of 60 days from the date of application; and 
 (c)  notification of the applicant's or insured's right to lodge a 
dispute with the consumer-reporting agency and have erroneous 
information corrected in accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting 
Act. 
 ([5]2)  After an adverse action is taken, if it is later determined 
that the initial information in the credit report was incorrect, the 
insurance company, at the request of the applicant or insured, shall 
underwrite or rate the policy again using the correct information.  If 
the insurer determines that the insured has overpaid premium, the 
insurer shall refund to the insured the amount of overpayment 
calculated back to the shorter of either the last 12 months of 
coverage or the actual policy period. 
 ([6]3)  An insurer shall establish procedures that allow 
consumers or their insurance producers to request that a person's 
credit history or score [is]be re-examined if a correction has been 
made to the consumer's credit report. 
 ([7]4)  An insurer shall refrain from penalizing consumers on 
new and renewal policies issued on or after the effective date of this 
rule based on identity theft; credit inquiries not initiated by the 
consumer; insurance-related inquiries; medical related collection 
accounts, if the information can be identified on a credit report; and 
multiple lender inquiries, if captured on a credit report as being from 
the home mortgage industry and made within a 30 day period, unless 
only one inquiry is considered. 
 
R590-219-5.  Prohibited Uses of Credit Information. 
 Insurers may not use credit information: 
 (1)  to cancel or non-renew any private passenger auto 
insurance policy that has been in effect for 60 days or more; 
 (2)  [as the primary reason to decline or refuse to issue a new 
personal auto insurance policy]for initial underwriting, unless risk 
related factors, other than credit information, are considered; 
 (3)  to determine rates as part of a filed rating plan for private 
passenger auto insurance, except to provide a premium discount or 
similar reduction in rates and, when an insurer issues a new or 
renewal policy on or after the effective date of this rule with a 
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discount based on credit, that discount shall not be removed or 
reduced based on credit information only; 
 (4)  to cancel or non-renew an existing private passenger  auto 
insurance policy which has been in effect for 60 days or more, nor 
decline or refuse to issue a new policy or coverage for an additional 
vehicle owned by the named insured or persons related to the named 
insured by blood, marriage, adoption, or guardianship who are 
residents of the named insured's household; or 
 (5)  to cancel or non-renew an existing private passenger auto 
insurance policy which has been in effect for 60 days or more when 
adding a newly licensed driver who is related to the named insured 
by blood marriage, adoption, or guardianship, and continues to be a 
resident of the named insured's household. 
 
R590-219-6.  Offer of Placement. 
 An offer of placement with an affiliated insurance company is 
not considered a cancellation, non-renewal, declination, or refusal to 
issue a policy. 
 

R590-219-7.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of this 
rule 45 days from the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-219-8.  Severability. 
 If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to any 
person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule which can be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end 
the provisions of this rule are declared to be severable. 
 
KEY:  insurance, credit scoring 
2003 
31A-2-201 
31A-22-320 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES  

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that the regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 

(a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
(b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
(c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Utah Code Subsection 63-46a-7(1) (2001)). 

 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · ·) indicates that 
unaffected text was removed to conserve space.   
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective at the moment the Division of Administrative Rules receives the filing, or on a later date 
designated by the agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule. 
 
Because 120-DAY RULES are effective immediately, the law does not require a public comment period.  However, 
when an agency files a 120-DAY RULE, it usually files a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements 
permanent.  Comment may be made on the proposed rule.  Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Utah 
Code Section 63-46a-7 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Section R15-4-8. 
  
 

Health, Administration 

R380-250 
HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  26161 
FILED:  04/14/2003, 12:37 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
implements provisions required by the federal Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Privacy 
Rule, 45 CFR Part 164, subpart E, dealing with the treatment 
of certain individually identifiable health information held by 
the Utah Department of Health (UDOH). 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The HIPAA Privacy Rule 
requires that covered programs implement administrative 
safeguards and policies to protect the rights of individuals to 
access and control access to their protected health 
information.  This rule adopts those requirements for UDOH 
programs covered by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Standards for Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health 
Information found in 45 CFR Part 160 and 45 CFR Part 164, 
subparts A and E; and Section 26-1-5 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  Implementation of the federal HIPAA 
privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on the Utah 
Department of Health.  Costs are predicted to exceed those 
experienced with the Y2K phenomenon.  This federal 
mandate is unfunded, so UDOH has no choice but to 
implement these requirements within existing budgets.  This 

rulemaking should streamline and simplify, to the extent 
possible, compliance with the federal mandate. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Implementation of the federal HIPAA 
privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on local 
governments.  Costs are predicted to exceed those 
experienced with the Y2K phenomenon.  This federal 
mandate is unfunded.  This rule will clearly communicate to 
other parties, including local governments, how the UDOH will 
implement certain requirements, which should assist local 
governments in their efforts to comply. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  Implementation of the federal HIPAA 
privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on covered 
health care providers, plans and clearinghouses.  Costs are 
predicted to exceed those experienced with the Y2K 
phenomenon.  This federal mandate is un-funded.  This rule 
will clearly communicate to other parties how the UDOH will 
implement certain requirements, which should assist those 
parties with their efforts to comply. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule clearly 
outlines the policies of the UDOH on HIPAA Privacy Rule 
implementation standards.  Those persons seeking to 
exercise their rights under the HIPAA Privacy Rule will have 
clear guidance on the process they should follow to exercise 
those rights.  The only compliance cost is to require that some 
of those rights be exercised in writing.  The overall cost to 
persons should be minimal. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Implementation of the federal 
HIPAA privacy rule will have a significant fiscal impact on all 
covered health care providers, plans and clearinghouses.  
Costs are predicted to exceed those experienced with the Y2K 
phenomenon.  This federal mandate is un-funded.  This rule 
will clearly communicate to other parties how the UDOH will 
implement certain requirements, which should assist those 
parties with their efforts to comply.  UDOH has attempted to 
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streamline and simplify the cost of compliance by offering free 
training to government agencies throughout state and local 
government.  This rule supports those efforts and should have 
an overall positive impact of businesses.  Rod L. Betit 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 

The enforcement deadline is April 14, 2003.  Adoption of 
this emergency rule is necessary to comply with that deadline. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
ADMINISTRATION 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Doug Springmeyer at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-6971, by FAX at 801-538-6306, or by Internet E-mail at 
dspringm@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  04/14/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod L. Betit, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-250.  HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation. 
R380-250-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule implements provisions required by 45 CFR Part 
164, subpart E, dealing with the treatment of certain individually 
identifiable health information held by the Department of Health. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Utah Code Sections 26-1-5 and 
26-1-17. 
 
R380-250-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Covered program" means the smallest agency or program 
unit within the Department responsible for carrying out a covered 
function as that term is used in 45 CFR 164.501. 
 (2)  "HIPAA Privacy Rule" means the Standards for Privacy of 
Individually Identifiable Health Information found in 45 CFR Part 
160 and Subparts A and E of Part 164. 
 (3)  "Individual" means a natural person.  In the case of a 
individual without legal capacity or a deceased person, the personal 
representative of the individual. 
 
R380-250-3.  General Compliance. 
 (1)  This rule  applies only to those functions of the Department 
that are covered functions as that term is used in 45 CFR Part 164. 
 (2)  Covered programs shall comply with the privacy 
requirements of 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E in dealing with 
individually identifiable health information and the subjects of that 
information. 
 

R380-250-4.  Changes to Rule. 
 The Department reserves the right to alter this rule and its 
notices of privacy practices required by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. 
 
R380-250-5.  Sanctions, Retaliation. 
 (1)  An employee of a covered program may be disciplined for 
failure to comply with the HIPAA Privacy Rule requirements found 
in 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E.  Discipline may include termination 
and civil or criminal prosecution. 
 (2)  An employee of a covered program may not intimidate, 
threaten, coerce, discriminate against, or take other retaliatory action 
against any person for exercising any right established by the 
HIPAA Privacy Rule or for opposing in good faith any act or 
practice made unlawful by the HIPAA Privacy Rule. 
 
R380-250-6.  Waiver of Rights Prohibited. 
 A covered program may not require individuals to waive their 
rights under 45 CFR 160.306 or 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E as a 
condition of the provision of treatment, payment, health plan 
enrollment, or eligibility for benefits. 
 
R380-250-7.  Complaints. 
 (1)  An individual may seek a review of a covered program's 
policies and procedures or its compliance with such policies and 
procedures through informal contact with the covered program. 
 (2)  An individual may file a formal complaint concerning a 
covered program's policies and procedures implementing 45 CFR 
Part 164, Subpart E or its compliance with such policies and 
procedures or the requirements of 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E by 
filing with the Office of the Executive Director of the Department a 
request for program action meeting the requirements of the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
R380-250-8.  Right to Request Privacy Protection. 
 (1)  An individual may request restrictions on use and 
disclosure of protected health information as permitted in 45 CFR 
164.522 by submitting a written request to the designated privacy 
officer for the covered program. 
 (2)  The decision whether to grant the request, documentation 
of any restrictions, alternate communication methods, and conditions 
on providing confidential communications shall be in accordance 
with 45 CFR 164.522. 
 
R380-250-9.  Individual Access to Protected Health Information. 
 (1)  An individual may request access to protected health 
information as permitted in 45 CFR 164.524 by submitting a written 
request to the designated privacy officer for the covered program. 
 (2)  The right to access, decision whether to grant access, 
review of denials, timeliness of responses, form of access, time and 
manner of access, documentation and other required responses shall 
be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.524. 
 
R380-250-10.  Amendment of Protected Health Information. 
 (1)  An individual may request amendment to protected health 
information about that individual that the individual believes is 
incorrect as permitted in 45 CFR 164.526 by submitting a written 
request to the designated privacy officer for the covered program. 
 (2)  The decision whether to grant the request, the time frames 
for action by the covered program, amendment of the record, 
requirements for denial, and acting on notices of amendment from 
third parties shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.526. 
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R380-250-11.  Accounting for Disclosures. 
 (1)  An individual may request an accounting of disclosures of 
protected health information as permitted in 45 CFR 164.528 by 
submitting a written request to the designated privacy officer for the 
covered program. 
 (2)  The content of the accounting and the provision of the 
accounting, shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.528. 
 
KEY:  HIPAA, privacy 
April 14, 2003 
26-1-5 
26-1-17 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Human Services, Administration 

R495-881 
HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  26160 
FILED:  04/14/2003, 10:20 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
implements provisions required by the Federal Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Privacy 
Rule, 45 CFR Part 164, subpart E, dealing with the treatment 
of certain individually identifiable health insurance information 
held by the Department of Human Services (DHS). 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The federal rule requires 
that covered entities implement administrative safeguards and 
policies to protect the rights of individuals to access and 
control access to their protected health information.  This rule 
adopts those requirements for DHS programs covered by this 
rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 26-1-5 and 26-1-17; and 45 CFR Part 160, 
and 45 CFR Part 164, Subparts A and E 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖THE STATE BUDGET:  Implementation of this rule will have fiscal 
impact on DHS.  These requirements are not federally funded 
and DHS will implement these requirements within existing 
budgets. 
❖LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments who are covered 
entities will have costs for initial and ongoing compliance with 
HIPAA. 
❖OTHER PERSONS:  The department may charge a minimal cost-
based fee for copies of protected health information. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The department 
may charge a minimal cost-based fee for copies of protected 
health information. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be businesses 
(hospitals, health care providers, etc.) who will have to comply 

with HIPAA who will experience a fiscal impact.  The 
Department has no way of estimating what that fiscal impact 
may be. 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 

The HIPAA of 1997 requires covered entities to comply 
with regulations by April 14, 2003, or be subject to civil and 
criminal penalties. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
ADMINISTRATION 
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Vanessa Thompson at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-9877, by FAX at 801-538-4016, or by Internet E-mail at 
vthompson@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  04/14/2003 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Robin Arnold-Williams, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R495.  Human Services, Administration. 
R495-881.  HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation. 
R495-881-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule implements provisions required by 45 CFR Part 
164, subpart E, dealing with the treatment of certain individually 
identifiable health information held by the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Utah Code Sections 26-1-5 and 
26-1-17. 
 
R495-881-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Covered entity" means a program within the Department 
responsible for carrying out a covered function as that term is used 
in 45 CFR 164.501. 
 (2)  "HIPAA" means the federal Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act of 1997 and its implementing regulations. 
 (3)  "Individual" means a natural person.  In the case of a 
individual without legal capacity or a deceased person, the personal 
representative of the individual. 
 
R495-881-3.  General Compliance. 
 (1)  This rule applies only to those functions of the Department 
that are covered functions as that term is used in 45 CFR Part 164. 
 (2)  Covered entities shall comply with the privacy 
requirements of 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E in dealing with 
individually identifiable health information and the subjects of that 
information. 
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R495-881-4.  Changes to Rule. 
 The Department reserves the right to alter this rule and its 
notices of privacy practices required by HIPAA. 
 
R495-881-5.  Sanctions, Retaliation. 
 (1)  An employee of a covered entity may be disciplined for 
failure to comply with the HIPAA requirements found in 45 CFR 
Part 164, Subpart E.  Discipline may include termination and civil or 
criminal prosecution. 
 (2)  An employee of a covered entity may not intimidate, 
threaten, coerce, discriminate against, or take other retaliatory action 
against any person for exercising any right established by HIPAA or 
for opposing in good faith any act or practice made unlawful by 
HIPAA. 
 
R495-881-6.  Waiver of Rights Prohibited. 
 A covered entity may not require individuals to waive their 
rights under 45 CFR 160.306 or 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E as a 
condition of the provision of treatment, payment, health plan 
enrollment, or eligibility for benefits. 
 
R495-881-7.  Complaints. 
 (1)  An individual may seek a review of a covered entity's 
policies and procedures or its compliance with such policies and 
procedures through informal contact with the covered entity. 
 (2)  An individual may file a formal complaint concerning a 
covered entity's policies and procedures implementing 45 CFR Part 
164, Subpart E or its compliance with such policies and procedures 
or the requirements of 45 CFR Part 164, Subpart E by filing a 
complaint with the Office of the Executive Director of the 
Department  requesting an agency action meeting the requirements 
of the Utah Administrative Procedures Act or with the Office of 
Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services . 
 
R495-881-8.  Right to Request Privacy Protection. 
 (1)  An individual may request restrictions on use and 
disclosure of protected health information as permitted in 45 CFR 
164.522 by submitting a written request to the designated privacy 
officer for the covered entity. 

 (2)  The decision whether to grant the request, documentation 
of any restrictions, alternate communication methods, and conditions 
on providing confidential communications shall be in accordance 
with 45 CFR 164.522. 
 
R495-881-9.  Individual Access to Protected Health Information. 
 (1)  An individual may request access to protected health 
information as permitted in 45 CFR 164.524 by submitting a written 
request to the designated privacy officer for the covered entity. 
 (2)  The right to access, decision whether to grant access, 
review of denials, timeliness of responses, form of access, time and 
manner of access, documentation and other required responses shall 
be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.524. 
 
R495-881-10.  Amendment of Protected Health Information. 
 (1)  An individual may request amendment to protected health 
information about that individual that the individual believes is 
incorrect as permitted in 45 CFR 164.526 by submitting a written 
request to the designated privacy officer for the covered entity. 
 (2)  The decision whether to grant the request, the time frames 
for action by the covered entity, amendment of the record, 
requirements for denial, and acting on notices of amendment from 
third parties shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.526. 
 
R495-881-11.  Accounting for Disclosures. 
 (1)  An individual may request an accounting of disclosures of 
protected health information as permitted in 45 CFR 164.528 by 
submitting a written request to the designated privacy officer for the 
covered entity. 
 (2)  The content of the accounting and the provision of the 
accounting, shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 164.528. 
 
KEY:  HIPAA, privacy, records 
April 14, 2003 
26-1-5 
26-1-17 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 

Education, Administration 

R277-469 
Instructional Materials Commission 

Operating Procedures 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26157 
FILED:  04/04/2003, 10:32 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
allows the State Board of Education to make rules in 
accordance with its responsibilities, and Sections 53A-14-101 
through 53A-14-106 direct the State Board of Education to 
appoint an Instructional Materials Commission to evaluate 
instructional materials for recommendation by the State Board 
of Education. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The law requires the State 
Board of Education to appoint an Instructional Materials 
Commission to evaluate instructional materials for 
recommendation by the State Board of Education; a rule is 
necessary to establish clear operating procedures for the 
Instructional Materials Commission and so this rule should be 
continued. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/04/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-227 
Boating Safety Course Fees 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26173 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 12:08 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Utah Code Annotated, 
Subsection 78-18-15(7)(a) states, "The division may collect a 
fee not to exceed $12 from each person who takes the 
division's boating safety course to help defray the cost of the 
boating safety course." 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
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SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule needs to continue 
to offset expenses for education materials/certificates issued 
and time spent giving this important boating safety course to 
those who operate boats on waters within the State of Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Deputy Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/15/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-3 
Collection, Importation, Transportation 
and Possession of Zoological Animals 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26167 

FILED:  04/15/2003, 08:04 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Under Sections 23-14-18 and 
23-14-19, the Wildlife Board is authorized to govern the 
collection, importation, exportation, transportation, and 
possession of zoological animals and their parts.  This 
governing protects the health, welfare and safety of the public, 
domestic animals, wild animals, and Utah's ecological 
systems. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Division of Wildlife 
Resources (DWR) and the Wildlife Board have received 
written comments that are generally supportive of the rule, 
with the exception of comments received opposing specific 
species classifications.  DWR and the Wildlife Board have 

received several verbal comments during public meetings, 
both in support and opposition to Rule R657-3.  Verbal 
comment received during the last five-year review specifically 
regarded:  1) removing references to the Department of 
Agriculture and the Department of Health; 2) clarifying animal 
welfare requirements; 3) recommending that captive-bred 
animals be considered private property and that those animals 
may go to qualified heirs of the deceased person; 4) allowing 
for the collection of the Utah mountain kingsnake and the Utah 
milksnake; 5) further review and reconsideration of 17 native 
amphibian and reptile species classifications; 6) allowing a 
six-month period to obtain a Certificate of Registration (COR) 
if the classification of a species changes from noncontrolled to 
controlled or prohibited; and 7) reducing the restrictions on 
which species may be propagated and the number of CORs 
available for propagation.  DWR has proposed to the Regional 
Advisory Councils and the Wildlife Board to remove the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for the collection, 
importation, transportation, and possession of amphibians and 
reptiles from Rule R657-3 and incorporate those provisions 
into a new rule due to the recommendations of the of the 
Reptile and Amphibian Negotiation Association (RANA), and 
the Administrative Rules Review Committee.  Both written and 
verbal comments received opposing the rule are resolved 
using existing policies and procedures or the issue is placed 
on the Regional Advisory Council's and Wildlife Board's 
agenda for review and discussion during the review process 
for taking public input.  The public is welcome to view the 
Regional Advisory Council minutes, Wildlife Board minutes, 
and the administrative record for this rule at the Division of 
Wildlife Resources. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  First, Rule R657-3 provides 
the procedures, standards, and requirements for the 
collection, importation, exportation, transportation, and 
possession of zoological animals and their parts.  Second, this 
rule provides the standards and procedures for the 
classification of zoological animals and their parts for the 
collection, importation, or possession of those zoological 
animals and their parts.  And finally, this rule is provides the 
standards in evaluating applications for a Certificate of 
Registration (COR) that involve the collection, importation or 
possession of zoological animals.  The provisions adopted in 
this rule are effective in governing these activities.  
Continuation of this rule is necessary for continued success of 
this program. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION DAR File No. 26142 

  
136 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 1, 2003, Vol. 2003, No. 9 

AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/15/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-331 
Exemption of Mutually Owned Water 

Companies from Commission 
Regulation 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26142 

FILED:  04/02/2003, 13:37 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 54-4-1 authorizes the 
Public Service Commission to supervise and regulate utilities, 
and Section 54-2-1 defines water corporation and water 
system.  This rule establishes the Commission's guidelines for 
exemption from Commission jurisdiction and the procedure 
used for that determination. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  There have been no 
comments to this rule since it was enacted. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is necessary that this rule 
be continued because it contains the guidelines for exemption 
from Commission jurisdiction and the procedure used for that 
determination. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Barbara Stroud at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6714, by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
bstroud@utah.gov 
 

AUTHORIZED BY:  Barbara Stroud, Paralegal 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/02/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-332 
Depreciation Rates for Water Utilities 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26143 

FILED:  04/02/2003, 13:46 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 54-4-24 gives the 
Public Service Commission the authority to require a utility to 
conform its depreciation accounts to the rates ascertained, 
determined, and fixed by the Commission. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  There have been no 
comments to this rule since the last five-year review in 1998. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule needs to remain in 
effect to provide plant service life guidelines for those water 
utilities that cannot afford to perform depreciation studies on 
their own plant. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Barbara Stroud at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6714, by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
bstroud@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Barbara Stroud, Paralegal 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/02/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-342 
Rule on One-Way Paging 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26145 

FILED:  04/02/2003, 13:57 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 63-46a-5(3) 
requires rulemaking when an agency issues a written 
interpretation of a state or federal legal mandate.  This rule 
determines whether one-way paging is a utility service under 
Utah law and thus whether subject to Pubic Service 
Commission regulation. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  There have been no 
comments to this rule since the last five-year review. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is necessary that this rule 
be continued for the Commission to continue to comply with 
the Utah Supreme Court decision in Williams v. Public Service 
Commission of Utah, 720 P.2d 773 (Utah 1986). 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Barbara Stroud at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6714, by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
bstroud@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Barbara Stroud, Paralegal 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/02/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-402 
Rules Governing Reports of Accidents 
by Electric, Gas, Telephone, and Water 

Utilities 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26146 
FILED:  04/02/2003, 14:05 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 54-4-1 authorizes the 
Public Service Commission (PSC) to supervise and regulate 
utilities, and Section 54-4-14 authorizes the PSC to require 
utilities to perform specific acts intended to promote and 
safeguard the health and safety of employees, customers, and 
the public. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  There have been no 
comments to this rule since the last five-year review in 1998. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is necessary that this rule 
be continued because accidents of major importance may 
have an impact on rates. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Barbara Stroud at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6714, by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
bstroud@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Barbara Stroud, Paralegal 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/02/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-405 
Rules Governing the Filing of Tariffs for 

Gas, Electric, Telephone, Water and 
Heat Utilities 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26147 

FILED:  04/02/2003, 14:11 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 54-4-1 authorizes the 
Public Service Commission to supervise and regulate utilities, 
and Section 54-3-2 requires the establishment of rules for the 
process, format, construction, and content of utility tariffs. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  There have been no 
comments to this rule since the last five-year review in 1998. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is necessary that this rule 
be continued because it contains the process, format, 
construction, and content guidelines utility companies need 
when filing  tariffs. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Barbara Stroud at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6714, by FAX at 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
bstroud@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Barbara Stroud, Paralegal 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/02/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Regents (Board Of), Administration 

R765-555 
Providing Facilities, Goods and 

Services in Competition with Private 
Enterprise 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26141 

FILED:  04/02/2003, 08:48 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule establishes policy 
and guidelines on public colleges and universities providing 
facilities, goods and services in competition with the private 
sector per  Utah Code Subsection 53B-7-101(9). 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received from interested persons since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Institutions continue to be 
expected to provide their campus communities with services 
necessary for the education of students or for the performance 
of basic research in accordance with their approved missions 
so this rule should be continued.  No comments have been 
received in opposition to this rule. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
ADMINISTRATION 
BOARD OF REGENTS BUILDING, THE GATEWAY 
60 SOUTH 400 WEST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101-1284, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Don A. Carpenter at the above address, by phone at 801-321-
7110, by FAX at 801-321-7199, or by Internet E-mail at 
dcarpenter@utahsbr.edu 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Cecelia H. Foxley, Commissioner 
 
EFFECTIVE:  04/02/2003 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 

Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Commerce 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No. 25763 (AMD): R156-22.  Professional 
Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors 
Licensing Act Rules. 
Published:  January 1, 2003 
Effective:  April 3, 2003 
 
No. 25763 (CPR): R156-22.  Professional 
Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors 
Licensing Act Rules. 
Published:  March 1, 2003 
Effective:  April 3, 2003 
 
 

Health 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy 

No. 26008 (AMD): R414-10.  Physician Services. 
Published:  February 15, 2003 
Effective:  April 7, 2003 
 
No. 25973 (AMD): R414-21.  Physical Therapy. 
Published:  February 1, 2003 
Effective:  April 7, 2003 
 

No. 25976 (AMD): R414-52.  Optometry Services. 
Published:  February 1, 2003 
Effective:  April 9, 2003 
 
No. 25972 (AMD): R414-53.  Eyeglasses Services. 
Published:  February 1, 2003 
Effective:  April 7, 2003 
 
No. 26009 (AMD): R414-60.  Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy 
Copayment Procedures. 
Published:  February 15, 2003 
Effective:  April 7, 2003 
 
No. 25898 (AMD): R414-63.  Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy 
Reimbursement. 
Published:  January 15, 2003 
Effective:  April 7, 2003 
 
 

Human Services 
Aging and Adult Services 

No. 25557 (CPR): R510-401.  Utah Caregiver Support Program. 
Published:  March 1, 2003 
Effective:  April 16, 2003 
 
 

Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 

No. 26056 (AMD): R657-33-6.  Firearms and Archery Permits. 
Published:  March 15, 2003 
Effective:  April 15, 2003 
 

 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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RULES INDEX 
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 

AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)  

 
The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 2, 2003, including notices of effective date received through April 
15, 2003, the effective dates of which are no later than May 1, 2003.  The Rules Index is published in the Utah State 
Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the Bulletin, do 
become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) 
rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and Keyword 
(Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  The index may contain inaccurate page number references.  Also the index is incomplete in the sense 
that index entries for Changes in Proposed Rules (CPRs) are not preceded by entries for their parent Proposed 
Rules.  These difficulties with the index are related to a new software package used by the Division to create the 
Bulletin and related publications; we hope to have them resolved as soon as possible.  Bulletin issue information and 
effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our knowledge, complete and accurate.  If you 
have any questions regarding the index and the information it contains, please contact Nancy Lancaster (801 538-
3218), Mike Broschinsky (801 538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801 538-3777). 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
 
 
 
 
 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule   *     = Text too long to print in Bulletin, or 
5YR  = Five-Year Review   repealed text not printed in Bulletin 
EXD  = Expired  
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Administrative Services 

Facilities Construction and Management 
R23-3 Authorization of Programs for Capital 

Development Projects 
25639 R&R 01/02/2003 2002-23/3  

R23-3 Planning and Programming for Capital Projects 25989 AMD 03/24/2003 2003-4/4  
R23-4 Contract Performance Review Committee and 

Suspension/Debarment From Consideration for 
Award of State Contracts 

25964 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  

R23-4 Contract Performance Review Committee and 
Suspension/Debarment From Consideration for 
Award of State Contracts 

25783 AMD 02/04/2003 2003-1/3  

R23-5 Contingency Funds 25955 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  
R23-6 Value Engineering and Life Cycle Costing of 

State-Owned Facilities Rules and Regulations 
25956 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  

R23-7 Utah State Building Board Policy Statement 
Master Planning 

25770 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  
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R23-8 Planning Fund Use 25640 REP 01/02/2003 2002-23/5  
R23-9 Building Board State/Local Cooperation Policy 25957 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  
R23-9 Building Board State/Local Cooperation Policy 25988 R&R 03/24/2003 2003-4/5  
R23-10 Naming of State Buildings 25962 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  
R23-10 Naming of State Buildings 25784 AMD 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  
R23-11 Facilities Allocation and Sale Procedures 25771 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/7  
R23-13 State of Utah Parking Rules for Facilities 

Managed by the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management 

26117 5YR 03/25/2003 2003-8/43  

R23-21 Division of Facilities Construction and 
Management Lease Procedures 

25959 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  

R23-24 Capital Projects Utilizing Non-appropriated 
Funds 

25960 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/65  

 
Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Administration 
R81-1-17  Advertising 25886 AMD 02/26/2003 2003-2/5  
R81-5-5  Advertising 25887 AMD 02/26/2003 2003-2/8  
R81-7-3  Guidelines for Issuing Permits for Outdoor or 

Large-Scale Public Events 
25650 AMD 01/24/2003 2002-24/6  

 
Commerce 

Administration 
R151-14 New Automobile Franchise Act Rules 25624 AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/6  
R151-33 Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule 25649 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/7  
R151-35 Powersport Vehicle Franchise Act Rule 25724 NEW 01/15/2003 2002-24/9  
R151-46b Department of Commerce Administrative 

Procedures Act Rules 
25822 AMD 02/18/2003 2003-1/8  

Corporations and Commercial Code 
R154-2 Utah Uniform Commercial Code, Revised 

Article 9 Rules 
25549 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/7  

R154-10 Utah Digital Signatures Rules 25553 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/9  

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-22 Professional Engineers and Professional Land 

Surveyors Licensing Act Rules 
25922 5YR 01/13/2003 2003-3/65  

R156-22 Professional Engineers and Professional Land 
Surveyors Licensing Act Rules 

25763 AMD 04/03/2003 2003-1/10  

R156-22 Professional Engineers and Professional Land 
Surveyors Licensing Act Rules 

25763 CPR 04/03/2003 2003-5/27  

R156-46a Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensing Act 
Rules 

25987 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/7  

R156-47b-
302a  

Qualifications for Licensure as a Massage 
Therapist - Massage School Curriculum 
Standards - Equivalent Education and Training 

25651 AMD 01/16/2003 2002-24/10  

R156-59 Professional Employer Organization Act Rules 25920 5YR 01/09/2003 2003-3/66  
R156-60a Social Worker Licensing Act Rules 25629 AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/8  

Real Estate 
R162-8-9  Disclosure Requirements 25663 AMD 01/16/2003 2002-24/11  
R162-107 Unprofessional Conduct 25981 5YR 01/21/2003 2003-4/52  
 
Community and Economic Development 

Community Development, History 
R212-1 Adjudicative Proceedings 25630 AMD 01/06/2003 2002-23/10  
R212-1 Adjudicative Proceedings 25570 AMD 01/06/2003 2002-22/10  
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R212-4 Archaeological Permits 25787 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/13  
 
Corrections 

Administration 
R251-110 Sex Offender Notification 25991 AMD 03/21/2003 2003-4/9  
R251-304 Contract Procedures 25885 AMD 02/19/2003 2003-2/9  
R251-304 Contract Procedures 26053 5YR 02/21/2003 2003-6/17  
 
Education 

Administration 
R277-469 Instructional Materials Commission Operating 

Procedures 
26157 5YR 04/04/2003 2003-9/135  

R277-470 Charter Schools 25726 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/12  
R277-483 Persistently Dangerous Schools 25965 NEW 03/07/2003 2003-3/5  
R277-485 Loss of Enrollment 25966 NEW 03/07/2003 2003-3/7  
R277-516 Library Media Certificates and Programs 25925 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
R277-518 Vocational-Technical Certificates 25926 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
R277-600 Student Transportation Standards and 

Procedures 
25928 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/68  

R277-605 Coaching Standards and Athletic Clinics 25931 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/68  
R277-610 Released-Time Classes for Religious 

Instruction 
25932 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/68  

R277-611 Medical Recommendations by School 
Personnel to Parents 

25647 NEW 01/03/2003 2002-23/12  

R277-615 Foreign Exchange Students 25933 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/69  
R277-700 The Elementary and Secondary School Core 

Curriculum 
25935 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/69  

R277-702 Procedures for the Utah General Educational 
Development Certificate 

25936 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  

R277-705 Secondary School Completion and Diplomas 25648 AMD 01/03/2003 2002-23/13  
R277-709 Education Programs Serving Youth in Custody 25937 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  
R277-718 Utah Career Teaching Scholarship Program 25938 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/71  
R277-721 Deadline for CACFP Sponsor Participation in 

Food Distribution Program 
25929 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/71  

R277-722 Withholding Payments and Commodities in the 
CACFP 

25930 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/72  

R277-730 Alternative High School Curriculum 25939 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/72  
R277-746 Driver Education Programs for Utah Schools 26089 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/73  
R277-747 Private School Student Driver Education 26090 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/73  
R277-751 Special Education Extended School Year 26091 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/74  

Applied Technology Education (Board for), Rehabilitation 
R280-200 Rehabilitation 26088 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/74  
R280-203 Certification Requirements for Interpreters for 

the Hearing Impaired 
25646 AMD 01/03/2003 2002-23/16  

 
Environmental Quality 

Air Quality 
R307-121 General Requirements:  Eligibility of Vehicles 

That Use Cleaner Burning Fuels or Conversion 
of Vehicles and Special Fuel Mobile Equipment 
To Use Cleaner Burning Fuels for Corporate 
and Individual Income Tax Credits. 

25495 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-21/6  

Drinking Water 
R309-710 Drinking Water Source Protection Funding 25863 REP 03/05/2003 2003-2/10  
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Environmental Response and Remediation 
R311-207 Accessing the Petroleum Storage Tank Trust 

Fund for Leaking Petroleum Storage Tanks 
25161 CPR 02/04/2003 2003-1/46  

Radiation Control 
R313-12-3  Definitions 25785 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/22  
R313-15 Standards for Protection Against Radiation 25943 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/73  
R313-28 Use of X-Rays in the Healing Arts 25786 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/27  

Solid and Hazardous Waste 
R315-15 Standards for the Management of Used Oil 26064 5YR 03/03/2003 2003-7/75  
R315-301 Solid Waste Authority, Definitions, and General 

Requirements 
26092 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/75  

R315-302 Solid Waste Facility Location Standards, 
General Facility Requirements, and Closure 
Requirements 

26093 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/76  

R315-303 Landfilling Standards 26094 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/77  
R315-305 Class IV and VI Landfill Requirements 26095 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/78  
R315-306 Energy Recovery and Incinerator Standards 26096 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/79  
R315-307 Landtreatment Disposal Standards 26097 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/79  
R315-308 Ground Water Monitoring Requirements 26098 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/80  
R315-309 Financial Assurance 26100 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/81  
R315-310 Permit Requirements for Solid Waste Facilities 26099 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/82  
R315-311 Permit Approval for Solid Waste Disposal, 

Waste Tire Storage, Energy Recovery, And 
Incinerator Facilities 

26101 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/82  

R315-312 Recycling and Composting Facility Standards 26102 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/83  
R315-313 Transfer Stations and Drop Box Facilities 26103 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/84  
R315-314 Facility Standards for Piles Used for Storage 

and Treatment 
26104 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/84  

R315-315 Special Waste Requirements 26105 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/85  
R315-316 Infectious Waste Requirements 26106 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/86  
R315-317 Other Processes, Variances, and Violations 26107 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/87  
R315-318 Permit by Rule 26108 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/87  

Water Quality 
R317-1 Definitions and General Requirements 25636 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/17  
R317-4-3  Onsite Wastewater Systems General 

Requirements 
25203 AMD 01/10/2003 2002-18/43  

R317-4-3  Onsite Wastewater Systems General 
Requirements 

25635 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/21  

R317-6-6  Implementation 25632 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/25  
R317-7-13  Public Participation 25631 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/32  
R317-8 Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(UPDES) 
25634 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/33  

R317-9 Administrative Procedures 25633 NEW 02/05/2003 2002-23/74  
R317-10 Certification of Wastewater Works Operators. 25638 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/78  
R317-11 Certification Required to Design, Inspect and 

Maintain Underground Wastewater Disposal 
Systems, or Conduct Percolation and Soil 
Tests for Underground Wastewater Disposal 
Systems 

25637 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/80  

 
Health 

Administration 
R380-250 HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation 26161 EMR 04/14/2003 2003-9/131  
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Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-5 Reduction in Outlier Reimbursements 25889 EMR 01/03/2003 2003-2/55  
R414-5 Reduction in Hospital Payments 25948 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/52  
R414-6 Reduction in Certain Targeted Case 

Management Services 
25969 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/53  

R414-10 Physician Services 26010 EMR 02/01/2003 2003-4/45  
R414-10 Physician Services 26036 EMR 02/11/2003 2003-5/33  
R414-10 Physician Services 26008 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-4/11  
R414-13 Psychology Services 25907 5YR 01/03/2003 2003-3/74  
R414-13 Psychology Services  (5YR EXTENSION) 25192 NSC 01/03/2003 Not Printed 
R414-21 Physical Therapy 25968 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/54  
R414-21 Physical Therapy 25973 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-3/10  
R414-27 Medicare Nursing Home Certification 25982 5YR 01/21/2003 2003-4/52  
R414-52 Optometry Services 25970 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/57  
R414-52 Optometry Services 25976 AMD 04/09/2003 2003-3/14  
R414-53 Eyeglasses Services 25971 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/59  
R414-53 Eyeglasses Services 25972 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-3/15  
R414-60 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Copayment 

Procedures 
26011 EMR 02/01/2003 2003-4/50  

R414-60 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Copayment 
Procedures 

26009 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-4/16  

R414-63 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Reimbursement 25898 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-2/12  
R414-301 Medicaid General Provisions 26004 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/53  
R414-302 Eligibility Requirements 26005 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/53  
R414-303 Coverage Groups 26012 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/54  
R414-304 Income and Budgeting 26017 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/55  
R414-305 Resources 26018 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/55  
R414-306 Program Benefits 26019 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/56  
R414-307 Eligibility Determination and Redetermination 26020 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/56  
R414-308 Record Management 26021 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/57  
R414-504 Nursing Facility Payments 25897 AMD 02/17/2003 2003-2/21  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-100 Emergency Medical Services Do Not 

Resuscitate 
25864 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-2/24  

Center for Health Data, Health Care Statistics 
R428-11 Health Data Authority Ambulatory Surgical 

Data Reporting Rule 
26080 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/88  

R428-13 Health Data Authority. Audit and Reporting of 
HMO Performance Measures 

26079 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/89  

Health Systems Improvement, Child Care Licensing 
R430-6 Criminal Background Screening 25921 5YR 01/10/2003 2003-3/74  
R430-6 Criminal Background Screening 25865 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/25  
R430-100 Child Care Center 25944 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/75  

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-3 General Health Care Facility Rules Inspection 

and Enforcement 
25868 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/29  

R432-5 Nursing Facility Construction 25452 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-21/92  
R432-13 Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Center 

Construction 
25791 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-1/32  

R432-14 Birthing Center Construction 25792 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-1/34  
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R432-16 Hospice Inpatient Facility Construction 26038 5YR 02/12/2003 2003-5/39  
R432-35 Background Screening 25866 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/30  
R432-100-38  Emergency and Disaster Plan 25867 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/33  
 
Human Services 

Administration 
R495-881 HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation 26160 EMR 04/14/2003 2003-9/133  

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 
R501-1 General Provisions 25652 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-24/15  
R501-8 Outdoor Youth Programs 25707 AMD 01/17/2003 2002-24/19  
R501-11 Social Detoxification Programs 25660 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-24/25  
R501-12 Child Foster Care 25644 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/82  
R501-16 Intermediate Secure Treatment Programs for 

Minors  (5YR EXTENSION) 
25703 NSC 02/26/2003 Not Printed 

R501-16 Intermediate Secure Treatment Programs for 
Minors 

26055 5YR 02/26/2003 2003-6/17  

R501-17 Adult Foster Care 26084 5YR 03/11/2003 2003-7/89  

Aging and Adult Services 
R510-105 Out and About Homebound Transportation 

Assistance Fund Rules 
25552 NEW 03/14/2003 2002-22/14  

R510-401 Utah Caregiver Support Program 25557 CPR 04/16/2003 2003-5/28  

Recovery Services 
R527-3 Definitions 25977 AMD 03/19/2003 2003-4/26  
R527-39 Applicant/Recipient Cooperation 25979 5YR 01/17/2003 2003-4/57  
R527-56 In-Kind Support 26075 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/90  
R527-201 Medical Support Services 25869 AMD 03/05/2003 2003-2/34  
R527-305 High-Volume, Automated Administrative 

Enforcement in Interstate Child Support Cases 
26076 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/91  

R527-430 Administrative Notice of Lien-Levy Procedures 25980 5YR 01/21/2003 2003-4/57  
 
Insurance 

Administration 
R590-76 Health Maintenance Organization and Limited 

Health Plans 
25870 AMD 02/26/2003 2003-2/35  

R590-124 Loss Information Rule 25990 5YR 01/24/2003 2003-4/58  
R590-155 Disclosure of Life and Health Guaranty 

Association Limitations 
25993 5YR 01/24/2003 2003-4/59  

R590-157 Taxation of Surplus Lines Premiums 26033 5YR 02/10/2003 2003-5/39  
R590-160 Administrative Proceedings 25643 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-23/86  
R590-172 Notice to Uninsurable Applicants for Health 

Insurance 
25626 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-23/91  

R590-183 Title Plant Rule  (EXPIRED RULE) 25908 NSC 01/02/2003 Not Printed 
R590-199 Plan of Orderly Withdrawal Rule Relating to 

Health Benefit Plans 
25628 CPR 03/14/2003 2003-3/50  

R590-199 Plan of Orderly Withdrawal Rule Relating to 
Health Benefit Plans 

25628 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-23/92  

R590-215 Permissible Arbitration Provisions for Individual 
and Group Health Insurance 

25093 CPR 01/09/2003 2002-23/100  

R590-215 Permissible Arbitration Provisions for Individual 
and Group Health Insurance 

25093 NEW 01/09/2003 2002-15/65  

R590-218 Permitted Language for Reservation of 
Discretion Clauses 

25670 NEW 03/21/2003 2002-24/28  
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Labor Commission 

Occupational Safety and Health 
R614-1-4  Incorporation of Federal Standards 25941 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/26  
 
Natural Resources 

Administration 
R634-1 Americans With Disabilities Complaint 

Procedure 
25950 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/76  

R634-1 Americans With Disabilities Complaint 
Procedure 

25951 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/27  

Parks and Recreation 
R651-102 Government Records Access Management Act 26039 5YR 02/13/2003 2003-5/40  
R651-227 Boating Safety Course Fees 26173 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/135  
R651-301 State Recreation Fiscal Assistance Programs 26040 5YR 02/13/2003 2003-5/40  
R651-408 Off-Highway Vehicle Education Curriculum 

Standards 
26026 AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/7  

R651-410 Off-Highway Vehicle Safety Equipment 26028 NEW 04/01/2003 2003-5/8  
R651-602 Aircraft and Powerless Flight 26029 AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/9  
R651-611 Fee Schedule 25837 AMD 03/31/2003 2003-2/38  

Water Rights 
R655-7 Administrative Procedures for Notifying the 

State Engineer of Sewage Effluent Use  or 
Change in the Point of Discharge for Sewage 
Effluent 

25550 NEW 02/10/2003 2002-22/39  

Wildlife Resources 
R657-3 Collection, Importation, Transportation and 

Possession of Zoological Animals 
26167 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/136  

R657-5 Taking Big Game 25720 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/29  
R657-17 Lifetime Hunting and Fishing License 25721 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/46  
R657-23 Process for Providing Proof of Completion of 

Hunter Education 
25890 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/41  

R657-33 Taking Bear 25892 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/43  
R657-33-6  Firearms and Archery Permits 26056 AMD 04/15/2003 2003-6/15  
R657-38 Dedicated Hunter Program 25722 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/48  
R657-42 Accepted Payment of Fees, Late Fees, 

Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Licenses, Certificates of 
Registration and Permits 

25723 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/52  

R657-44 Big Game Depredation 25894 R&R 02/16/2003 2003-2/46  
 
Pardons (Board Of) 

Administration 
R671-102 Americans with Disabilities Act Complaint 

Procedure Rule 
25345 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/102  

R671-202 Notification of Hearings 25350 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/104  
R671-308 Offender Hearing Assistance 25394 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/110  
R671-311 Special Attention Hearings and Reviews 25398 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/112  
R671-403 Restitution 26050 5YR 02/18/2003 2003-6/18  
 
Professional Practices Advisory Commission 

Administration 
R686-100 Professional Practices Advisory Commission, 

Rules of Procedure:  Complaints and Hearings 
26032 5YR 02/07/2003 2003-5/41  
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Public Safety 

Driver License 
R708-39 Physical and Mental Fitness Testing 25645 NEW 01/24/2003 2002-23/97  

Fire Marshal 
R710-1 Concerns Servicing Portable Fire Extinguishers 25954 AMD 03/06/2003 2003-3/29  
R710-4 Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the State 

Fire Prevention Board 
26006 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/28  

R710-7 Concerns Servicing Automatic Fire 
Suppression Systems 

25961 AMD 03/06/2003 2003-3/36  

R710-7 Concerns Servicing Automatic Fire 
Suppression Systems 

26001 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/32  

R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 
Law 

26003 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/38  

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification 
R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit Rule 25999 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/59  
R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit Rule  (5YR 

EXTENSION) 
25683 NSC 01/28/2003 Not Printed 

R722-320 Undercover Identification 25998 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/60  
R722-340 Emergency Vehicles 25996 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/60  
R722-340 Emergency Vehicles  (5YR EXTENSION) 25684 NSC 01/28/2003 Not Printed 

Peace Officer Standards and Training 
R728-409 Refusal, Suspension, or Revocation of Peace 

Officer Certification 
26072 EMR 03/07/2003 2003-7/62  

R728-411 Guidelines Regarding Administrative Action 
Taken Against Individuals Functioning as 
Peace Officers without Peace Officer 
Certification or Powers 

26067 5YR 03/04/2003 2003-7/91  

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-330 Rules for Water and Sewer Utilities Operating 

in Utah 
26081 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/92  

R746-331 Exemption of Mutually Owned Water 
Companies from Commission Regulation 

26142 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  

R746-332 Depreciation Rates for Water Utilities 26143 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
R746-342 Rule on One-Way Paging 26145 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
R746-347 Extended Area Service (EAS) 25578 NEW 03/10/2003 2002-22/44  
R746-402 Rules Governing Reports of Accidents by 

Electric, Gas, Telephone, and Water Utilities 
26146 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  

R746-405 Rules Governing the Filing of Tariffs for Gas, 
Electric, Telephone, Water and Heat Utilities 

26147 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/139  

 
Regents (Board Of) 

Administration 
R765-171 Postsecondary Proprietary School Act Rules  

(5YR EXTENSION) 
25712 NSC 03/31/2003 Not Printed 

R765-171 Postsecondary Proprietary School Act Rules 25704 REP 03/31/2003 2002-24/55  
R765-555 Providing Facilities, Goods and Services in 

Competition with Private Enterprise 
26141 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/139  

R765-660 Utah State Student Incentive Grant Program 26134 5YR 04/01/2003 2003-8/43  
R765-660 Utah State Student Incentive Grant Program  

(5YR EXTENSION) 
25713 NSC 04/01/2003 Not Printed 

 
School and Institutional Trust Lands 

Administration 
R850-120 Beneficiary Use of Institutional Trust Land 25953 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/43  
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Tax Commission 

Administration 
R861-1A-20  Time of Appeal Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 

Sections 59-1-301, 59-1-401, 59-1-501, 59-2-
1007, 59-7-517, 59-10-533, 59-12-114, 59-13-
210, and 63-46b-3 

25823 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/39  

Auditing 
R865-9I-26  Petition For Redetermination of a Deficiency 

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-10-533 
25829 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/40  

R865-9I-27  Redetermination of Tax Deficiency by Tax 
Commission Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 59-10-525 

25828 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/41  

R865-9I-28  Petition For Redetermination of Tax 
Commission Action On Claim For Refund 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-10-533 

25826 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/42  

R865-9I-29  Action of Tax Commission on Redetermination 
Claim For Refund Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 59-10-535 

25819 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/43  

Property Tax 
R884-24P-60  Age-Based Uniform Fee on Tangible Personal 

Property Required to be Registered with the 
State Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-
2-405.1 

25917 EMR 01/06/2003 2003-3/60  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-400-404  Participation Requirements 25827 AMD 02/06/2003 2003-1/43  
R986-700-703  Client Rights and Responsibilities 26042 AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/23  
R986-700-709  Employment Support (ES) CC 26043 AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/24  

Workforce Information and Payment Services 
R994-406-311  Reschedule and Adjournment of Hearings 25946 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/46  
R994-406-315  Finality of Decision 25947 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/48  

 
 
 
 

 RULES INDEX - BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule   *     = Text too long to print in Bulletin, or 
5YR  = Five-Year Review  repealed text not printed in Bulletin 
EXD  = Expired  
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accidents 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26146 R746-402 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
 
accreditation 
Education, Administration 25925 R277-516 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
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adjudicative proceedings 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

25570 R212-1 AMD 01/06/2003 2002-22/10  

 25630 R212-1 AMD 01/06/2003 2002-23/10  
 
administrative procedures 
Commerce, Administration 25822 R151-46b AMD 02/18/2003 2003-1/8  
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

25630 R212-1 AMD 01/06/2003 2002-23/10  

 25570 R212-1 AMD 01/06/2003 2002-22/10  
 25787 R212-4 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/13  
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25633 R317-9 NEW 02/05/2003 2002-23/74  
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

25953 R850-120 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/43  

 
adult education 
Education, Administration 25936 R277-702 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  
 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 25495 R307-121 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-21/6  
 
alcoholic beverages 
Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration 25886 R81-1-17  AMD 02/26/2003 2003-2/5  
 25887 R81-5-5  AMD 02/26/2003 2003-2/8  
 25650 R81-7-3  AMD 01/24/2003 2002-24/6  
 
alternative onsite wastewater systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25203 R317-4-3  AMD 01/10/2003 2002-18/43  
 
alternative schools 
Education, Administration 25939 R277-730 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/72  
 
animal protection 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26167 R657-3 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/136  
 
appellate procedures 
Workforce Services, Workforce Information 
and Payment Services 

25946 R994-406-311  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/46  

 25947 R994-406-315  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/48  
 
appraisals 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 25917 R884-24P-60  EMR 01/06/2003 2003-3/60  
 
archaeology 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

25787 R212-4 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/13  

 
assistance 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26040 R651-301 5YR 02/13/2003 2003-5/40  
 
automobiles 
Commerce, Administration 25624 R151-14 AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/6  
 
banking 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

25549 R154-2 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/7  
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beam limitation 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25786 R313-28 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/27  
 
bear 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25892 R657-33 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/43  
 26056 R657-33-6  AMD 04/15/2003 2003-6/15  
 
beneficiaries 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

25953 R850-120 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/43  

 
benefits 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26005 R414-302 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/53  

 
big game 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25894 R657-44 R&R 02/16/2003 2003-2/46  
 
big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25720 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/29  
 
boating 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26173 R651-227 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/135  
 
boxing 
Commerce, Administration 25649 R151-33 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/7  
 
budgeting 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25640 R23-8 REP 01/02/2003 2002-23/5  

Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26017 R414-304 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/55  

 
budgets 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25960 R23-24 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/65  

 
building names 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25962 R23-10 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  

 
buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25955 R23-5 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  

 25956 R23-6 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  
 25957 R23-9 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  
 25962 R23-10 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  
 25784 R23-10 AMD 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  
 25771 R23-11 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/7  
 25960 R23-24 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/65  
 
care receiver 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 25557 R510-401 CPR 04/16/2003 2003-5/28  
 
career education 
Education, Administration 25938 R277-718 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/71  
 
caregiver 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 25557 R510-401 CPR 04/16/2003 2003-5/28  
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case management 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

25969 R414-6 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/53  

 
certification 
Education, Applied Technology Education 
(Board for), Rehabilitation 

25646 R280-203 AMD 01/03/2003 2002-23/16  

Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

26072 R728-409 EMR 03/07/2003 2003-7/62  

 
charter schools 
Education, Administration 25726 R277-470 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/12  
 
child care 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Child Care Licensing 

25921 R430-6 5YR 01/10/2003 2003-3/74  

 25865 R430-6 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/25  
 25944 R430-100 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/75  
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26042 R986-700-703  AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/23  

 26043 R986-700-709  AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/24  
 
child support 
Human Services, Recovery Services 25977 R527-3 AMD 03/19/2003 2003-4/26  
 25979 R527-39 5YR 01/17/2003 2003-4/57  
 26075 R527-56 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/90  
 25869 R527-201 AMD 03/05/2003 2003-2/34  
 26076 R527-305 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/91  
 25980 R527-430 5YR 01/21/2003 2003-4/57  
 
civil rights 
Natural Resources, Administration 25950 R634-1 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/76  
 25951 R634-1 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/27  
 
client rights 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26004 R414-301 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/53  

 
commerce 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

25553 R154-10 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/9  

 
competition with private enterprise 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 26141 R765-555 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/139  
 
concealed firearm permits 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

25683 R722-300 NSC 01/28/2003 Not Printed 

 25999 R722-300 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/59  
 
conduct 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

26032 R686-100 5YR 02/07/2003 2003-5/41  

 
construction 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25964 R23-4 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  

 25783 R23-4 AMD 02/04/2003 2003-1/3  
 25988 R23-9 R&R 03/24/2003 2003-4/5  
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construction costs 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25956 R23-6 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  

 
construction disputes 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25964 R23-4 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  

 25783 R23-4 AMD 02/04/2003 2003-1/3  
 
contamination 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25943 R313-15 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/73  
 
contests 
Commerce, Administration 25649 R151-33 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/7  
 
contingency 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25955 R23-5 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  

 
contracts 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25964 R23-4 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  

 25783 R23-4 AMD 02/04/2003 2003-1/3  
Corrections, Administration 25885 R251-304 AMD 02/19/2003 2003-2/9  
 26053 R251-304 5YR 02/21/2003 2003-6/17  
 
corrections 
Corrections, Administration 25885 R251-304 AMD 02/19/2003 2003-2/9  
 26053 R251-304 5YR 02/21/2003 2003-6/17  
 
course 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26173 R651-227 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/135  
 
coverage groups 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26012 R414-303 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/54  

 
criminal investigation 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

25998 R722-320 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/60  

 
curricula 
Education, Administration 25935 R277-700 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/69  
 25648 R277-705 AMD 01/03/2003 2002-23/13  
 
definitions 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25785 R313-12-3  AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/22  
 
dental 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25786 R313-28 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/27  
 
depreciation 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26143 R746-332 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
 
depredation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25894 R657-44 R&R 02/16/2003 2003-2/46  
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design 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25639 R23-3 R&R 01/02/2003 2002-23/3  

 25989 R23-3 AMD 03/24/2003 2003-4/4  
 
developmentally disabled 
Tax Commission, Administration 25823 R861-1A-20  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/39  
 
digital signature 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

25553 R154-10 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/9  

 
dirt bikes 
Commerce, Administration 25724 R151-35 NEW 01/15/2003 2002-24/9  
 
disabilities 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 25345 R671-102 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/102  
 
disabled 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 25552 R510-105 NEW 03/14/2003 2002-22/14  
 
discharge permits 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25634 R317-8 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/33  
 
disclosure requirements 
Tax Commission, Administration 25823 R861-1A-20  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/39  
 
discretion clauses 
Insurance, Administration 25670 R590-218 NEW 03/21/2003 2002-24/28  
 
do not resuscitate 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

25864 R426-100 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-2/24  

 
drinking water 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 25863 R309-710 REP 03/05/2003 2003-2/10  
 
driver education 
Education, Administration 26089 R277-746 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/73  
 26090 R277-747 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/73  
 
education 
Education, Administration 25726 R277-470 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/12  
 25937 R277-709 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  
 25938 R277-718 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/71  
 25939 R277-730 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/72  
 25712 R765-171 NSC 03/31/2003 Not Printed 
 25704 R765-171 REP 03/31/2003 2002-24/55  
 
educational testing 
Education, Administration 25936 R277-702 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  
 
effluent standards 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25636 R317-1 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/17  
 
elderly 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 25557 R510-401 CPR 04/16/2003 2003-5/28  
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electronic commerce 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

25553 R154-10 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/9  

 
electronic communication 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

25553 R154-10 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/9  

 
eligibility 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26020 R414-307 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/56  

 
emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

25864 R426-100 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-2/24  

 
emergency vehicle 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

25684 R722-340 NSC 01/28/2003 Not Printed 

 
emergency vehicles 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

25996 R722-340 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/60  

 
engineers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25922 R156-22 5YR 01/13/2003 2003-3/65  

 25763 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2003 2003-5/27  
 25763 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2003 2003-1/10  
 
enrollment 
Education, Administration 25966 R277-485 NEW 03/07/2003 2003-3/7  
 
enterprise 
Tax Commission, Auditing 25829 R865-9I-26  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/40  
 25828 R865-9I-27  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/41  
 25819 R865-9I-29  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/43  
 
environmental health 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 25863 R309-710 REP 03/05/2003 2003-2/10  
 
equipment leasing 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

25549 R154-2 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/7  

 
exceptional children 
Education, Administration 26091 R277-751 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/74  
 
exemptions 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25785 R313-12-3  AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/22  
 
expelled 
Education, Administration 25965 R277-483 NEW 03/07/2003 2003-3/5  
 
extended area service 
Public Service Commission, Administration 25578 R746-347 NEW 03/10/2003 2002-22/44  
 
extinguishers 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 25954 R710-1 AMD 03/06/2003 2003-3/29  
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extracurricular activities 
Education, Administration 25931 R277-605 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/68  
 
fees 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26173 R651-227 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/135  
 25837 R651-611 AMD 03/31/2003 2003-2/38  
 
filing documents 
Commerce, Corporations and Commercial 
Code 

25549 R154-2 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-22/7  

 
financial aid 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 26134 R765-660 5YR 04/01/2003 2003-8/43  
 25713 R765-660 NSC 04/01/2003 Not Printed 
 
financial disclosures 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26017 R414-304 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/55  

 
financial responsibility 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

25161 R311-207 CPR 02/04/2003 2003-1/46  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 25954 R710-1 AMD 03/06/2003 2003-3/29  
 26006 R710-4 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/28  
 25961 R710-7 AMD 03/06/2003 2003-3/36  
 26001 R710-7 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/32  
 26003 R710-9 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/38  
 
fiscal 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26040 R651-301 5YR 02/13/2003 2003-5/40  
 
food aid programs 
Education, Administration 25929 R277-721 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/71  
 25930 R277-722 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/72  
 
foreign students 
Education, Administration 25933 R277-615 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/69  
 
foster care 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

25644 R501-12 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/82  

 
franchises 
Commerce, Administration 25624 R151-14 AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/6  
 25724 R151-35 NEW 01/15/2003 2002-24/9  
 
franchises historic preservation 
Tax Commission, Auditing 25826 R865-9I-28  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/42  
 
funding 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25960 R23-24 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/65  

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25720 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/29  
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 25721 R657-17 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/46  
 25890 R657-23 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/41  
 25892 R657-33 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/43  
 26056 R657-33-6  AMD 04/15/2003 2003-6/15  
 
general assistance 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

25827 R986-400-404  AMD 02/06/2003 2003-1/43  

 
government hearings 
Commerce, Administration 25822 R151-46b AMD 02/18/2003 2003-1/8  
 26050 R671-403 5YR 02/18/2003 2003-6/18  
 
grievance procedures 
Tax Commission, Administration 25823 R861-1A-20  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/39  
 
ground water 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25632 R317-6-6  AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/25  
 
hazardous waste 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

26064 R315-15 5YR 03/03/2003 2003-7/75  

 
health 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

26080 R428-11 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/88  

 26079 R428-13 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/89  
 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

25868 R432-3 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/29  

 25452 R432-5 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-21/92  
 25791 R432-13 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-1/32  
 25792 R432-14 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-1/34  
 26038 R432-16 5YR 02/12/2003 2003-5/39  
 25866 R432-35 AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/30  
 25867 R432-100-38  AMD 03/13/2003 2003-2/33  
 
health insurance 
Human Services, Recovery Services 25869 R527-201 AMD 03/05/2003 2003-2/34  
Insurance, Administration 25628 R590-199 CPR 03/14/2003 2003-3/50  
 
health insurance arbitration 
Insurance, Administration 25093 R590-215 NEW 01/09/2003 2002-15/65  
 25093 R590-215 CPR 01/09/2003 2002-23/100  
 
health planning 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

26080 R428-11 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/88  

 26079 R428-13 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/89  
 
health policy 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

26079 R428-13 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/89  

 
hearing aids 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25987 R156-46a AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/7  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 1, 2003, Vol. 2003, No. 9 157 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
hearings 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25633 R317-9 NEW 02/05/2003 2002-23/74  
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

26032 R686-100 5YR 02/07/2003 2003-5/41  

 
higher education 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 26134 R765-660 5YR 04/01/2003 2003-8/43  
 25713 R765-660 NSC 04/01/2003 Not Printed 
 
HIPAA 
Health, Administration 26161 R380-250 EMR 04/14/2003 2003-9/131  
 26160 R495-881 EMR 04/14/2003 2003-9/133  
 
historic preservation 
Tax Commission, Auditing 25829 R865-9I-26  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/40  
 25828 R865-9I-27  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/41  
 25819 R865-9I-29  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/43  
 
HMO insurance 
Insurance, Administration 25870 R590-76 AMD 02/26/2003 2003-2/35  
 
hospital 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

25889 R414-5 EMR 01/03/2003 2003-2/55  

 25948 R414-5 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/52  
 
hospital policy 
Health, Center for Health Data, Health 
Care Statistics 

26080 R428-11 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/88  

 
human services 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

25652 R501-1 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-24/15  

 25707 R501-8 AMD 01/17/2003 2002-24/19  
 25660 R501-11 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-24/25  
 25644 R501-12 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/82  
 26055 R501-16 5YR 02/26/2003 2003-6/17  
 25703 R501-16 NSC 02/26/2003 Not Printed 
 26084 R501-17 5YR 03/11/2003 2003-7/89  
 
hunter education 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25890 R657-23 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/41  
 
hunting 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25722 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/48  
 
hunting and fishing licenses 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25721 R657-17 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/46  
 
import restrictions 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26167 R657-3 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/136  
 
income 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26005 R414-302 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/53  

 26012 R414-303 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/54  
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 26017 R414-304 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/55  
 
income tax 
Tax Commission, Auditing 25829 R865-9I-26  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/40  
 25828 R865-9I-27  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/41  
 25819 R865-9I-29  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/43  
 
industrial waste 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25636 R317-1 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/17  
 
inmates 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 25350 R671-202 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/104  
 25394 R671-308 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/110  
 25398 R671-311 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/112  
 
inspection 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25957 R23-9 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  

 
inspections 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25785 R313-12-3  AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/22  
 
instructional materials 
Education, Administration 26157 R277-469 5YR 04/04/2003 2003-9/135  
 
insurance 
Insurance, Administration 25993 R590-155 5YR 01/24/2003 2003-4/59  
 26033 R590-157 5YR 02/10/2003 2003-5/39  
 25643 R590-160 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-23/86  
 25626 R590-172 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-23/91  
 25908 R590-183 NSC 01/02/2003 Not Printed 
 25628 R590-199 AMD 03/14/2003 2002-23/92  
 25670 R590-218 NEW 03/21/2003 2002-24/28  
 
insurance companies 
Insurance, Administration 25990 R590-124 5YR 01/24/2003 2003-4/58  
 
interpreters 
Education, Applied Technology Education 
(Board for), Rehabilitation 

25646 R280-203 AMD 01/03/2003 2002-23/16  

 
interstate 
Human Services, Recovery Services 26076 R527-305 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/91  
 
investigations 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

26072 R728-409 EMR 03/07/2003 2003-7/62  

 
jurisdiction 
Workforce Services, Workforce Information 
and Payment Services 

25946 R994-406-311  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/46  

 25947 R994-406-315  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/48  
 
juvenile courts 
Education, Administration 25937 R277-709 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  
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land use 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

25953 R850-120 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/43  

 
law 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26003 R710-9 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/38  
 
law enforcement 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

25998 R722-320 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/60  

 
law enforcement officers 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

26072 R728-409 EMR 03/07/2003 2003-7/62  

 
leasing 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25959 R23-21 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  

 
liberties 
Natural Resources, Administration 25950 R634-1 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/76  
 25951 R634-1 AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/27  
 
libraries 
Education, Administration 25925 R277-516 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
 
licensing 
Commerce, Administration 25649 R151-33 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/7  
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25987 R156-46a AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/7  

 25651 R156-47b-302a  AMD 01/16/2003 2002-24/10  
 25920 R156-59 5YR 01/09/2003 2003-3/66  
 25629 R156-60a AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/8  
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

25652 R501-1 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-24/15  

 25707 R501-8 AMD 01/17/2003 2002-24/19  
 25660 R501-11 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-24/25  
 25644 R501-12 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/82  
 26055 R501-16 5YR 02/26/2003 2003-6/17  
 25703 R501-16 NSC 02/26/2003 Not Printed 
 26084 R501-17 5YR 03/11/2003 2003-7/89  
 
mammography 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25786 R313-28 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/27  
 
massage therapy 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25651 R156-47b-302a  AMD 01/16/2003 2002-24/10  

 
Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

25889 R414-5 EMR 01/03/2003 2003-2/55  

 25948 R414-5 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/52  
 25969 R414-6 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/53  
 26010 R414-10 EMR 02/01/2003 2003-4/45  
 26036 R414-10 EMR 02/11/2003 2003-5/33  
 26008 R414-10 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-4/11  
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 25907 R414-13 5YR 01/03/2003 2003-3/74  
 25192 R414-13 NSC 01/03/2003 Not Printed 
 25968 R414-21 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/54  
 25973 R414-21 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-3/10  
 25982 R414-27 5YR 01/21/2003 2003-4/52  
 25970 R414-52 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/57  
 25976 R414-52 AMD 04/09/2003 2003-3/14  
 25971 R414-53 EMR 01/15/2003 2003-3/59  
 25972 R414-53 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-3/15  
 26011 R414-60 EMR 02/01/2003 2003-4/50  
 26009 R414-60 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-4/16  
 25898 R414-63 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-2/12  
 26004 R414-301 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/53  
 26018 R414-305 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/55  
 25897 R414-504 AMD 02/17/2003 2003-2/21  
Human Services, Recovery Services 25869 R527-201 AMD 03/05/2003 2003-2/34  
 
medical recommendations 
Education, Administration 25647 R277-611 NEW 01/03/2003 2002-23/12  
 
motor vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 25624 R151-14 AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/6  
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 25495 R307-121 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-21/6  
 
motorcycles 
Commerce, Administration 25724 R151-35 NEW 01/15/2003 2002-24/9  
 
mutual water corporations 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26142 R746-331 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
 
naming process 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25784 R23-10 AMD 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  

 
notification 
Corrections, Administration 25991 R251-110 AMD 03/21/2003 2003-4/9  
 
occupational licensing 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25637 R317-11 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/80  
 
off road vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 25724 R151-35 NEW 01/15/2003 2002-24/9  
 
off-highway vehicles 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26026 R651-408 AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/7  
 26028 R651-410 NEW 04/01/2003 2003-5/8  
 
onsite wastewater systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25203 R317-4-3  AMD 01/10/2003 2002-18/43  
 25635 R317-4-3  AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/21  
 
operator certification 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25638 R317-10 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/78  
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overpayments 
Workforce Services, Workforce Information 
and Payment Services 

25946 R994-406-311  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/46  

 25947 R994-406-315  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/48  
 
parking facilities 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

26117 R23-13 5YR 03/25/2003 2003-8/43  

 
parks 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26039 R651-102 5YR 02/13/2003 2003-5/40  
 26028 R651-410 NEW 04/01/2003 2003-5/8  
 26029 R651-602 AMD 04/01/2003 2003-5/9  
 25837 R651-611 AMD 03/31/2003 2003-2/38  
 
parole 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 25350 R671-202 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/104  
 25394 R671-308 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/110  
 25398 R671-311 AMD 02/12/2003 2002-20/112  
 26050 R671-403 5YR 02/18/2003 2003-6/18  
 
paying standards 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26145 R746-342 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
 
permits 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, History 

25787 R212-4 AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/13  

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25723 R657-42 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/52  
 
persistently dangerous schools 
Education, Administration 25965 R277-483 NEW 03/07/2003 2003-3/5  
 
personal property 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 25917 R884-24P-60  EMR 01/06/2003 2003-3/60  
 
petroleum 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

25161 R311-207 CPR 02/04/2003 2003-1/46  

 
physical and mental fitness testing 
Public Safety, Driver License 25645 R708-39 NEW 01/24/2003 2002-23/97  
 
planning 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25639 R23-3 R&R 01/02/2003 2002-23/3  

 25989 R23-3 AMD 03/24/2003 2003-4/4  
 25988 R23-9 R&R 03/24/2003 2003-4/5  
 
planning-programming-budgeting 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25770 R23-7 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  

 25640 R23-8 REP 01/02/2003 2002-23/5  
 
police training 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

26067 R728-411 5YR 03/04/2003 2003-7/91  
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postsecondary proprietary school 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 25704 R765-171 REP 03/31/2003 2002-24/55  
 25712 R765-171 NSC 03/31/2003 Not Printed 
 
prescriptions 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

25898 R414-63 AMD 04/07/2003 2003-2/12  

 
privacy 
Health, Administration 26161 R380-250 EMR 04/14/2003 2003-9/131  
 26160 R495-881 EMR 04/14/2003 2003-9/133  
 
private schools 
Education, Administration 26090 R277-747 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/73  
 
procurement 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25639 R23-3 R&R 01/02/2003 2002-23/3  

 25989 R23-3 AMD 03/24/2003 2003-4/4  
 25959 R23-21 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  
 
professional competency 
Education, Administration 25925 R277-516 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

26067 R728-411 5YR 03/04/2003 2003-7/91  

 
professional education 
Education, Administration 25926 R277-518 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
 
professional employer organizations 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25920 R156-59 5YR 01/09/2003 2003-3/66  

 
professional engineers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25922 R156-22 5YR 01/13/2003 2003-3/65  

 25763 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2003 2003-5/27  
 25763 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2003 2003-1/10  
 
professional land surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25922 R156-22 5YR 01/13/2003 2003-3/65  

 25763 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2003 2003-5/27  
 25763 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2003 2003-1/10  
 
program benefits 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26019 R414-306 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/56  

 
property tax 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 25917 R884-24P-60  EMR 01/06/2003 2003-3/60  
 
public assistance programs 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26020 R414-307 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/56  

 26021 R414-308 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/57  
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public buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25639 R23-3 R&R 01/02/2003 2002-23/3  

 25989 R23-3 AMD 03/24/2003 2003-4/4  
 25955 R23-5 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/62  
 25956 R23-6 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  
 25770 R23-7 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  
 25640 R23-8 REP 01/02/2003 2002-23/5  
 25957 R23-9 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  
 25962 R23-10 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  
 25959 R23-21 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/64  
 25960 R23-24 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/65  
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26006 R710-4 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/28  
 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26081 R746-330 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/92  
 26142 R746-331 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
 26143 R746-332 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
 26145 R746-342 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
 25578 R746-347 NEW 03/10/2003 2002-22/44  
 26146 R746-402 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
 26147 R746-405 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/139  
 
radioactive material 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25943 R313-15 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/73  
 
real estate appraisals 
Commerce, Real Estate 25981 R162-107 5YR 01/21/2003 2003-4/52  
 
real estate business 
Commerce, Real Estate 25663 R162-8-9  AMD 01/16/2003 2002-24/11  
 
records 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26021 R414-308 5YR 01/31/2003 2003-4/57  

Human Services, Administration 26160 R495-881 EMR 04/14/2003 2003-9/133  
 
recreation 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26040 R651-301 5YR 02/13/2003 2003-5/40  
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25722 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/48  
 
recreational vehicles 
Commerce, Administration 25624 R151-14 AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/6  
 
registration 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 25704 R765-171 REP 03/31/2003 2002-24/55  
 25712 R765-171 NSC 03/31/2003 Not Printed 
 
rehabilitation 
Education, Applied Technology Education 
(Board for), Rehabilitation 

26088 R280-200 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/74  
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religious education 
Education, Administration 25932 R277-610 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/68  
 
respite 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 25557 R510-401 CPR 04/16/2003 2003-5/28  
 
restitution 
Pardons (Board Of), Administration 26050 R671-403 5YR 02/18/2003 2003-6/18  
 
rules and procedures 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and 
Training 

26072 R728-409 EMR 03/07/2003 2003-7/62  

Public Service Commission, Administration 26143 R746-332 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
 26145 R746-342 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
 26146 R746-402 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
 26147 R746-405 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/139  
 
safety 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25943 R313-15 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/73  
Labor Commission, Occupational Safety 
and Health 

25941 R614-1-4  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/26  

Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26173 R651-227 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/135  
 
school buses 
Education, Administration 25928 R277-600 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/68  
 
school choice 
Education, Administration 25965 R277-483 NEW 03/07/2003 2003-3/5  
 
school personnel 
Education, Administration 25925 R277-516 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
 
school transportation 
Education, Administration 25928 R277-600 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/68  
 
school year 
Education, Administration 26091 R277-751 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/74  
 
seniors 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 25552 R510-105 NEW 03/14/2003 2002-22/14  
 
septic tanks 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25203 R317-4-3  AMD 01/10/2003 2002-18/43  
 25635 R317-4-3  AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/21  
 
sewage effluent use 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 25550 R655-7 NEW 02/10/2003 2002-22/39  
 
sewerage 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26081 R746-330 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/92  
 
sex crimes 
Corrections, Administration 25991 R251-110 AMD 03/21/2003 2003-4/9  
 
social workers 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25629 R156-60a AMD 01/02/2003 2002-23/8  
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solid waste management 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

26092 R315-301 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/75  

 26093 R315-302 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/76  
 26094 R315-303 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/77  
 26095 R315-305 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/78  
 26096 R315-306 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/79  
 26097 R315-307 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/79  
 26098 R315-308 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/80  
 26100 R315-309 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/81  
 26099 R315-310 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/82  
 26101 R315-311 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/82  
 26102 R315-312 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/83  
 26103 R315-313 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/84  
 26104 R315-314 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/84  
 26105 R315-315 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/85  
 26106 R315-316 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/86  
 26107 R315-317 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/87  
 26108 R315-318 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/87  
 
space utilization 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25771 R23-11 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/7  

 
state office buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25770 R23-7 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  

 
state planning 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25770 R23-7 REP 02/04/2003 2003-1/5  

 
student competency 
Education, Administration 25936 R277-702 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  
 
student financial aid 
Education, Administration 25938 R277-718 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/71  
 
students 
Education, Administration 25966 R277-485 NEW 03/07/2003 2003-3/7  
 25647 R277-611 NEW 01/03/2003 2002-23/12  
 25937 R277-709 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/70  
 
substance abuse 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

25660 R501-11 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-24/25  

 
surveyors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

25922 R156-22 5YR 01/13/2003 2003-3/65  

 25763 R156-22 CPR 04/03/2003 2003-5/27  
 25763 R156-22 AMD 04/03/2003 2003-1/10  
 
system 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 25961 R710-7 AMD 03/06/2003 2003-3/36  
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systems 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26001 R710-7 AMD 03/18/2003 2003-4/32  
 
tariffs 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26147 R746-405 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/139  
 
tax exemption 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 25495 R307-121 AMD 01/09/2003 2002-21/6  
 
tax returns 
Tax Commission, Auditing 25829 R865-9I-26  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/40  
 25828 R865-9I-27  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/41  
 25819 R865-9I-29  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/43  
 
taxation 
Tax Commission, Administration 25823 R861-1A-20  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/39  
Tax Commission, Auditing 25826 R865-9I-28  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/42  
Tax Commission, Property Tax 25917 R884-24P-60  EMR 01/06/2003 2003-3/60  
 
teacher certification 
Education, Administration 25926 R277-518 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
 26032 R686-100 5YR 02/07/2003 2003-5/41  
 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26145 R746-342 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/138  
 25578 R746-347 NEW 03/10/2003 2002-22/44  
 
transportation 
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services 25552 R510-105 NEW 03/14/2003 2002-22/14  
 
transportation law 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

26117 R23-13 5YR 03/25/2003 2003-8/43  

 
trucking industries 
Tax Commission, Auditing 25826 R865-9I-28  AMD 03/11/2003 2003-1/42  
 
undercover identification 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

25998 R722-320 5YR 01/28/2003 2003-4/60  

 
underground injection control 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25631 R317-7-13  AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/32  
 
underground storage tanks 
Environmental Quality, Environmental 
Response and Remediation 

25161 R311-207 CPR 02/04/2003 2003-1/46  

 
unemployment compensation 
Workforce Services, Workforce Information 
and Payment Services 

25946 R994-406-311  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/46  

 25947 R994-406-315  AMD 03/04/2003 2003-3/48  
 
units 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25785 R313-12-3  AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/22  
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used oil 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

26064 R315-15 5YR 03/03/2003 2003-7/75  

 
utility regulation 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26147 R746-405 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/139  
 
vocational education 
Education, Administration 25926 R277-518 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/67  
Education, Applied Technology Education 
(Board for), Rehabilitation 

26088 R280-200 5YR 03/12/2003 2003-7/74  

 
waste disposal 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25943 R313-15 5YR 01/14/2003 2003-3/73  
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

26092 R315-301 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/75  

 26094 R315-303 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/77  
 26095 R315-305 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/78  
 26096 R315-306 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/79  
 26097 R315-307 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/79  
 26098 R315-308 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/80  
 26100 R315-309 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/81  
 26099 R315-310 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/82  
 26101 R315-311 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/82  
 26102 R315-312 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/83  
 26104 R315-314 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/84  
 26105 R315-315 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/85  
 26106 R315-316 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/86  
 26107 R315-317 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/87  
 26108 R315-318 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/87  
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25636 R317-1 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/17  
 
waste management 
Environmental Quality, Solid and 
Hazardous Waste 

26093 R315-302 5YR 03/14/2003 2003-7/76  

 
waste water 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25203 R317-4-3  AMD 01/10/2003 2002-18/43  
 25635 R317-4-3  AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/21  
 25637 R317-11 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/80  
 
wastewater treatment 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25638 R317-10 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/78  
 
water 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26081 R746-330 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/92  
 26142 R746-331 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
 26143 R746-332 5YR 04/02/2003 2003-9/137  
 
water pollution 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25636 R317-1 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/17  
 25634 R317-8 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/33  
 25633 R317-9 NEW 02/05/2003 2002-23/74  
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 25638 R317-10 AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/78  
 
water quality 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 25632 R317-6-6  AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/25  
 25631 R317-7-13  AMD 01/30/2003 2002-23/32  
Public Service Commission, Administration 26081 R746-330 5YR 03/10/2003 2003-7/92  
 
welfare 
Human Services, Recovery Services 25977 R527-3 AMD 03/19/2003 2003-4/26  
 
wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26167 R657-3 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/136  
 25720 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/29  
 25721 R657-17 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/46  
 25890 R657-23 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/41  
 25892 R657-33 AMD 02/16/2003 2003-2/43  
 26056 R657-33-6  AMD 04/15/2003 2003-6/15  
 25722 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/48  
 25723 R657-42 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/52  
 25894 R657-44 R&R 02/16/2003 2003-2/46  
 
wildlife conservation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 25722 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2003 2002-24/48  
 
working toward employment 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

25827 R986-400-404  AMD 02/06/2003 2003-1/43  

 
x-ray 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 25786 R313-28 AMD 03/14/2003 2003-1/27  
 
youth 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

25707 R501-8 AMD 01/17/2003 2002-24/19  

 26055 R501-16 5YR 02/26/2003 2003-6/17  
 25703 R501-16 NSC 02/26/2003 Not Printed 
 
zoning 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

25957 R23-9 5YR 01/15/2003 2003-3/63  

 25988 R23-9 R&R 03/24/2003 2003-4/5  
 
zoological animals 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26167 R657-3 5YR 04/15/2003 2003-9/136  
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