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EDITOR'S NOTES 
  

 
 
 

NOTICE OF PUBLICATION ERROR IN THE FEBRUARY 1, 2005, ISSUE OF THE UTAH STATE BULLETIN FOR THE 
CPR ON RULE R156-47B, DAR NO. 27548 

 
 
In the February 1, 2005, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, a change in proposed rule (CPR) was published for Rule R156-47b 
under DAR No. 27548 (2005-3, page 51).  The agency (Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing) had asked to 
replace the text after it was filed on 01/13/2005 because the word "not" was missing from new language added at Subsection 
R156-47b-302a(1)(c).  The agency submitted the new text on 01/18/2005, however, due to an error at the Division of 
Administrative Rules (DAR), the corrected text was not published. 
 
The text as it should have appeared is as follows: 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-47b.  Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules. 
R156-47b-202.  Massage Therapy Education Peer Committee. 
 (1)  There is created under Subsection 58-1-203(1)(f), the Massage Therapy Education Peer Committee. 
 (a)  The Education Peer Committee shall: 
 (i)  advise the Utah Board of Massage Therapy regarding massage therapy educational issues; 
 (ii)  recommend to the Board standards for massage school [curriculums]curricula, apprenticeship [curriculums]curricula, and animal 
massage training; and 
 (iii)  periodically review the current curriculum requirements. 
 (b)  The composition of this committee shall be: 
 (i)  two individuals who are instructors in massage therapy; 
 (ii)  two individuals, one who represents a professional massage therapy association, and one who represents the Utah Committee of 
Bodywork Schools; and 
 (iii)  one individual from the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R156-47b-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure as a Massage Therapist - Massage School Curriculum Standards - Equivalent Education 
and Training. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-47b-302(2)(e)(i)(A), an applicant must graduate from a school of massage with a curriculum, 
which at the time of graduation, meets the following standards: 
 (a)  [Curriculums]Curricula must be registered with the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Consumer Protection or an 
accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education. 
 (b)  [Curriculums]Curricula shall be a minimum of 600 hours and shall include the following: 
 (i)  anatomy, physiology and pathology - 150 hours; 
 (ii)  massage theory including the five basic strokes - 300 hours; 
 (iii)  professional standards, ethics and business practices - 35 hours; 
 (iv)  safety and sanitation - 15 hours; 
 (v)  clinic or practicum - 100 hours; and 
 (vi)  other related massage subjects as approved by the Division in collaboration with the Board. 
 (c)  In addition to the curriculum requirements of Subsection R156-47b-302a(1)(b), new [curriculums]curricula shall [meet the 
standards]include the major content areas, but are not required to meet the percentage weights of the National Certification Board of 
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), National Certification Examination Content Outline, published July 2003, which is adopted 
and incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-47b-302(2)(e)(i)(B), an applicant who completes equivalent education and training must document 
that the education and training was approved by NCBTMB as evidenced by current NCBTMB certification. 
 
R156-47b-302c.  Apprenticeship Standards for a Supervisor. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-47b-302(2)(e)(ii), an apprentice supervisor shall: 
 (1)  not begin an apprenticeship program until: 
 (a)  the apprentice is licensed; and 
 (b)  the supervisor is approved by the division; 
 (2)  not begin a new apprenticeship program until: 
 (a)  the apprentice being supervised passes the Massage Theory examination and becomes licensed as a massage therapist, unless 
otherwise approved by the division in collaboration with the board; and 
 (b)  the supervisor complies with subsection (1); 
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 (3)  if an apprentice being supervised fails the Massage Theory examination three times: 
 (a)  together with the apprentice being supervised, meet with the Board at the next appropriate Board meeting; 
 (b)  explain to the Board why the apprentice is not able to pass the examination; 
 (c)  provide to the Board a plan of study in the appropriate subject matter to assist the apprentice in passing the examination; and 
 (d)  upon successful completion of the review as provided in Subsection (3)©, the apprentice shall again be eligible to take the Massage 
Theory examination; 
 (4)  supervise not more than two apprentices at one time, unless otherwise approved by the division in collaboration with the board; 
 (5)  train the massage apprentice in the areas of: 
 (a)  massage theory - 50 hours; 
 (b)  massage client service - 300 hours; 
 (c)  hands on instruction - 325 hours; 
 (d)  massage techniques - 120 hours; 
 (e)  anatomy, physiology and pathology - 150 hours; 
 (f)  business practices - 25 hours; 
 (g)  ethics - 15 hours; and 
 (h)  safety and sanitation - 15 hours; 
 (6)  submit a curriculum content outline with the apprentice application, including a list of the resource materials to be used; 
 (7)  display a conspicuous sign near the work station of the apprentice stating "Apprentice in Training"; 
 (8)  keep a daily record which shall include the hours of instruction and training completed, the hours of client services performed, and 
the number of hours of training completed; 
 (9)  make available to the division upon request, the apprentice's training records; 
 (10)  verify the completion of the apprenticeship program on forms available from the division; 
 (11)  notify the division within ten working days if the apprenticeship program is terminated; 
 (12)  must not have been disciplined for any unprofessional or unlawful conduct within five years of the start of any apprenticeship 
program; and 
 (13)  ensure that the massage client services required in Subsection (5)(b) only be performed on the public; all other hands on practice 
must be performed by an apprentice on an apprentice or supervisor. 
 
KEY: licensing, massage therapy 
2005 
Notice of Continuation February 26, 2001 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
58-47b-101 
 
 
Comments will be accepted on this rule change until 03/03/2005.  Questions or comments on the rule should be directed to Clyde 
Ormond at Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing, 160 E 300 S, Salt Lake City UT, 84111-2316, by phone at 801-
530-6254, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at cormond@utah.gov 
 
DAR regrets any inconvenience this mistake may have caused. 
 
If you have any questions regarding this correction, please contact Nancy Lancaster, Publications Editor, Division of 
Administrative Rules, 4120 State Office Bldg, Salt Lake City, UT  84114, by phone at 801-538-3218, by FAX at 801-538-1773, or 
Internet E-mail at nllancaster@utah.gov 
 
 

 
 
 

LEGISLATION WHICH AFFECTS RULEMAKING 
 

The 56th Legislature's 2005 General Session began January 17, 2005.  To this point, three bills and one resolution affecting 
rulemaking have been introduced. 
 
 
H.B. 37 "Reauthorization of Administrative Rules" by Rep. David Ure (R) 
 
This is the Administrative Rules Review Committee's annual bill that is required by Section 63-46a-11.5.  The long title of 
H.B. 37 indicates that the bill "...reauthorizes all state agency administrative rules." 
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H.B. 37 passed the House on January 20, and passed the Senate on February 3.  After enrolling, it will be presented to the 
governor for his signature.  Additional information is available at http://www.le.state.ut.us/~2005/htmdoc/hbillhtm/hb0037.htm 
. 
 
 
H.B. 209 "Administrative Rules - Impact on Small Businesses" by Rep. Greg Hughes (R) 
 
This bill was requested by the Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce and is a variation of the Small Business Administration's 
model Regulatory Flexibility Act (http://www.sba.gov/advo/laws/law_modeleg.html).  As amended by the House, it defines 
small business as "...a business employing fewer than 50 persons."  It requires, as part of the rule analysis, that an agency 
prepare a statement regarding the "anticipated cost or savings to: ...small businesses; and business in general...." 
 
As of February 9, H.B. 209 is on the House 3rd reading calendar.  Additional information is available at 
http://www.le.state.ut.us/~2005/htmdoc/hbillhtm/hb0209.htm . 
 
 
S.B. 101 "Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act Revision" by Sen. Howard Stephenson (R) 
 
Following on a complaint that different terms were being used to mean the same thing in statute, S.B. 101 replaces the word 
"revoke" in references related to rulemaking in Title 9, and replaces it with the word "repeal".  The bill also amends Section 
63-46a-4 to clarify that "An agency authorized to make rules is also authorized to amend or repeal those rules."  Finally, the 
bill corrects a reference in Title 53C related to the amendment of Section 63-46a-4. 
 
S.B. 101 passed the Senate on January 19, and the House on February 2.  After enrolling, it will be presented to the 
governor for his signature.  Additional information is available at http://www.le.state.ut.us/~2005/htmdoc/sbillhtm/sb0101.htm 
. 
 
 
S.J.R. 4 "Joint Rules Resolution - Interim Rules Recodification" by Sen. Michael Waddoups (R) 
 
S.J.R. 4 "renumbers and rewrites rules governing interim committees and special committees."  Section 8 of the bill enacts 
IR2-2-102.  This section provides for the review of rules referred to interim committees by the Administrative Rules Review 
Committee. 
 
More information about S.J.R. 4 is available at http://www.le.state.ut.us/~2005/htmdoc/sbillhtm/sjr004.htm . 
 
 
Additional Information 
 
Additional information about the 2005 General Session and specific legislation is available from the Legislature's Office of 
Legislative Research and General Counsel at: http://www.le.state.ut.us/~2005/2005.htm .  The Legislature's home page can 
be found at: http://le.utah.gov/ .  Information about rulemaking legislation is also available at 
http://www.rules.utah.gov/law/legis.htm . 
 
Questions about this legislation may be directed to Ken Hansen, Director, Division of Administrative Rules, 4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1201, phone: 801-538-3777, FAX: 801-538-1773, or Internet E-mail: khansen@utah.gov 
 
 
 
 

 
 

End of the Editor’s Notes Section 
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SPECIAL NOTICES 
 

 
 

Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 

 
Public Notice:  Public Hearing on the Sulfur Dioxide Milestone Report 

 
 
Utah's State Implementation Plan for Regional Haze, adopted by the Air Quality Board on 11/17/ 2003, requires that Utah 
cooperate with four other states in producing an annual report to determine if emissions of sulfur dioxide from large industrial 
sources are less than the emissions milestone set in the plan.  The draft report for calendar year 2003 is now available for public 
comment at: 
http://www.wrapair.org/forums/309/documents/050131Draft_WRAP_SO2_Milestone_Report.pdf. 
 
The report shows that total emissions of sulfur dioxide from large sources in the five states -- Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, 
Wyoming and Oregon -- were 329,455 tons, while the milestone is 447,383 tons.  Therefore, the report demonstrates that 
emissions in the five states are less than the milestone and the states have met the requirements of the plan for 2003. 
 
The Division of Air Quality will hold a public hearing at 1:30 p.m. on 03/03/2005, in the Environmental Quality Building, 168 N 
1950 W, Room 201, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
The comment period closes at 5:00 p.m. on 03/11/2005.  Comments postmarked on or before that date will be accepted. 
 
Comments may be submitted by E-mail to janmiller@utah.gov or may be mailed to Richard W. Sprott, Director, Utah Division of 
Air Quality, PO Box 144820, Salt Lake City, UT  84114-4820, ATTN:  SO2 Milestone Report. 
 
 
 
 

Governor's Declaration:  Declaration of Agricultural Disaster 
 

DECLARATION OF AGRICULTURAL DISASTER 
 
 
 WHEREAS, approximately seven inches of rain fell on top of one foot of snow on the lower mountain areas of Iron and 
Washington Counties during January 3 - 9, 2005; 
 
 WHEREAS, the resulting extreme levels of water runoff caused the Virgin River, Santa Clara River, Ash Creek, and 
Shoal Creek to overflow their banks for numerous miles; 
 
 WHEREAS, the resulting flooding caused extensive damage to farm land and irrigations systems such as earthen and 
concrete ditches, concrete and metal pipelines, wheel lines, and other irrigation water delivery systems; 
 
 WHEREAS, extremely high water levels left more than 5,000 acres of agricultural lands covered with debris and 
sediment; 
 
 WHEREAS, a number of small farms have had their soils severely eroded or are now part of new river channels; and, 
 
 WHEREAS, irrigation systems that serve numerous farms in Washington and Iron Counties have been washed out, 
leaving no method to deliver water to numerous farms preparing to plant crops for the 2005 season; 
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 NOW THEREFORE, I Jon M. Huntsman, Jr., Governor of the State of Utah by virtue of the power vested in me by the 
Constitution and the laws of the State of Utah do hereby declare an "Agricultural Disaster" due to the aforesaid flooding event in 
the State of Utah. 
 

IN TESTIMONY, WHEREOF, I have here unto set my 
hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the 
State of Utah, this 31st day of January, 2005. 

 
 
             (State Seal) 
 
 
 Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. 
 Governor 
 
 
 
ATTEST: 
 Gary R. Herbert  
 Lieutenant Governor 
 
 
 
 
Governor's Executive Order 2005-0003:  Authorizing the Lieutenant Governor to Act as the Governor's Agent on the 

State Bonding Commission 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER 
 
 
 I, JON M. HUNTSMAN, JR., GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF UTAH, authorize Lieutenant Governor Gary R. Herbert to 
sign State Bonding Commission documents for me, vote on my behalf as a member of the Commission, and act in all other 
respects as my agent and proxy on the Commission until January 1, 2009.  The State Bonding Commission is created by Section 
63B-1-201, Utah Code Annotated 1953, as amended. 
 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have here unto set my 
hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the 
State of Utah.  Done at the State Capitol in Salt Lake 
City, Utah, this 24th day of January, 2005. 

 
 
             (State Seal) 
 
 
 Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. 
 Governor 
 
 
 
ATTEST: 
 Gary R. Herbert 
 Lieutenant Governor 
 
 
2005/0003 
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Governor's Executive Order 2005-0004: Authorizing the Lieutenant Governor to Act as the Governor's Agent on the 
State Building Ownership Authority 

 
EXECUTIVE ORDER 

 
 
 I, JON M. HUNTSMAN, JR., GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF UTAH, authorize Lieutenant Governor Gary R. Herbert to 
sign State Building Ownership Authority documents for me, vote on my behalf as a member of the Authority, and act in all other 
respects as my agent and proxy on the authority until January 1, 2009.  The State Building Ownership Authority is created by 
Section 63B-1-304, Utah Code Annotated 1953, as amended. 
 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have here unto set my 
hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the 
State of Utah.  Done at the State Capitol in Salt Lake 
City, Utah, this 24th day of January, 2005. 

 
 
             (State Seal) 
 
 
 Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. 
 Governor 
 
 
 
ATTEST: 
 Gary R. Herbert 
 Lieutenant Governor 
 
 
2005/0004 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

End of the Special Notices Section 
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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between January 15, 2005, 12:00 a.m., and February 1, 
2005, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the February 15, 2005, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least March 17, 2005.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63-46a-5 
(1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through June 15, 2005, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 

R58-1-7 
Swine 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27687 

FILED:  02/01/2005, 09:23 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the rule change in Subsection R58-1-7(B) is to 
make it mandatory for exhibition swine that have attended 
livestock shows to go directly to slaughter. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes are made to 
clarify the requirements to eliminate or reduce the spread of 
diseases among swine entering Utah. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 4, Chapter 31; and Subsections 4-2-2(1)(c)(i) and 
4-2-2(l)(j) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to state 
budget. The changes clarify the requirements of exhibition 
swine entering Utah to eliminate the spread of diseases. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost to local 
government.  The changes clarify the requirements of 
exhibition swine entering Utah. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  The cost to the livestock owner would be 
the cost of slaughtering the livestock. If the exhibition swine 
are not slaughtered there could be a penalty charged to the 
owner of not more than $5,000.  The Department of 
Agriculture and Food has no way of knowing how many 
exhibition swine will slaughtered during the course of a year. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There could be a 
penalty associated to the change in this rule, if the livestock 
was not taken to slaughter.  The penalty is established in the 
Utah Agriculture Code.  The cost could go as high as $5,000. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The only cost associated to the 
changes in this rule would be the cost to the livestock owner 
for the slaughtering of the livestock. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD 
ANIMAL INDUSTRY 
350 N REDWOOD RD 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3087, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Marolyn Leetham, Mike Marshall, Earl Rogers, or Kyle 
Stephens at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7114, 
801-538-7160, 801-538-7162, or 801-538-7102, by FAX at 

801-538-7126, 801-538-7169, 801-538-7169, or 801-538-
7126, or by Internet E-mail at mleetham@utah.gov, 
mmarshall@utah.gov, erogers@utah.gov, or 
kylestephens@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/18/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Leonard M. Blackham, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-1.  Admission and Inspection of Livestock, Poultry, and 
Other Animals. 
R58-1-7.  Swine. 
 A.  Stocking, Feeding, and Breeding swine.  Swine for 
stocking, breeding, feeding or exhibition may be shipped into the 
state if the following requirements are met: 
 1.  Import Permit and Certificate of Veterinary Inspection - All 
swine must be accompanied by an approved Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection stating they are clinically free from infectious 
or contagious disease or exposure and have not been fed raw 
garbage.  The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must show 
individual identification, ear tags, tattoos, registration numbers, 
micro chips or other permanent means.  An import permit issued by 
the Department of Agriculture and Food must accompany all hogs, 
including feeder hogs imported into the state. 
 2.  Test Status.  The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must 
list the brucellosis, and pseudorabies test status of the animals. 
 3.  Quarantine - All swine shipped into the state for feeding or 
breeding purposes are subject to an 18 day quarantine beginning 
with the date of arrival at destination.  The department shall be 
notified by the owner of date of arrival.  Release from quarantine 
shall be given by the department only when satisfied that health 
conditions are satisfactory. 
 4.  Brucellosis - All breeding and exhibition swine over the age 
of three months shipped into Utah must pass a negative test for 
brucellosis within 30 days prior to movement into the state or 
originate from a validated brucellosis free herd.  A validated 
brucellosis free herd number and date of last test is required to be 
listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 5.  Pseudorabies - All breeding, feeding and exhibition swine 
must pass a negative pseudorabies test within the last thirty days 
unless they originate from a recognized qualified pseudorabies free 
herd.  However, feeder swine may come into the state from a herd of 
origin in a Stage III, IV, or V state as classified by the Official 
Pseudorabies Eradication Program Standards 6-19-91.  A 30 day 
retest is required on all breeding and exhibition swine brought into 
the state.  Swine which are infected or exposed to pseudorabies may 
not enter the state, except swine consigned to a slaughterhouse for 
immediate slaughter and must be moved in compliance with 9 CFR 
1-71. 
 6.  Erysipelas - Purebred and breeding swine shall be 
immunized with erysipelas bacterin not less than 15 days prior to 
importation. 
 7.  Leptospirosis - All breeding and exhibition swine over four 
months of age shall have passed a negative leptospirosis test within 
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30 days of entry, or be part of an entire negative herd test within the 
previous 12 months or be vaccinated for leptospirosis at least 15 
days prior to entry.  Herd and vaccination status must be stated on 
the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 8.  PRRS -- All breeding and exhibition swine [3]2 months of 
age and over must be tested negative for Porcine Reproductive and 
Respiratory Syndrome (PRRS) virus within 30 days prior to entry to 
Utah. 
 B.  Immediate Slaughter 
 Swine shipped into Utah for immediate slaughter must not have 
been fed raw garbage, must be shipped in for immediate slaughter 
with no diversions, and must be free from any infectious or 
contagious disease in compliance with 9 CFR 71. 
 Exhibition swine that have attended livestock shows in Utah 
[should]shall not be returned to Utah farms but [should]shall go 
directly to slaughter. 
 C.   Prohibition of Non-domestic and Non-native Suidae and 
Tayassuidae. 
 Javelina or Peccary, and feral or wild hogs such as Eurasian or 
Russian wild hogs (Sus scrofa) are considered invasive species in 
Utah, capable of establishing wild reservoirs of disease such as 
brucellosis and pseudorabies.  They are prohibited from entry to 
Utah except when approved by special application only for purposes 
of exhibition and after meeting the above vaccination and testing 
requirements. 
 
KEY:  disease control 
2005 
Notice of Continuation February 13, 2002 
4-31 
4-2-2(1)(j) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Alcoholic Beverage Control, 
Administration 

R81-1-24 
Responsible Alcohol Service Plan 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27672 

FILED:  01/27/2005, 14:47 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
amendment is proposed to require that all applicants for a 
license to sell, serve, and store alcoholic beverages for 
consumption on the licensed premises to submit to the 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC), as a 
condition of licensing, a Responsible Alcohol Service Plan.  It 
will also require that the owners of establishments already 
licensed to sell, serve or store alcoholic beverages for 
consumption on the licensed premises to submit to DABC, 
prior to the expiration of their current license as a condition of 
relicensing, a Responsible Alcohol Service Plan. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This proposed rule 
amendment states the requirement for a Responsible Alcohol 

Service Plan for new applicants and current holders of 
alcoholic beverage licenses issued for the sale, service, and 
storage of alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises, 
provides guidelines for the content of the Responsible Alcohol 
Service Plan, and establishes possible penalties for 
noncompliance. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 32A-1-107, and Title 32A, Chapter 4; Title 32A, 
Chapter 5; and Title 32A, Chapter 10 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  Though there is no dollar amount 
available for the cost to the state's budget, DABC's 
compliance staff will be required to spend additional time in 
educating new applicants and current licensees as to the 
establishment and compliance requirements of their 
Responsible Alcohol Service Plan. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--The Responsible Alcohol 
Service Plan is an alcoholic beverage licensee requirement of 
DABC and does not involve local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  Alcoholic beverage applicants and 
licensees will be required to spend time and thought creating 
a meaningful Responsible Alcohol Service Plan.  Staff training 
is an integral part of the plan and may possibly involve a 
monetary output for training materials and/or trainers, though 
this amount may be minimal, and will vary from one licensee 
to another. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Each individual 
alcoholic beverage license applicant and licensee will be 
required to spend time and thought creating a meaningful 
Responsible Alcohol Service Plan.  Staff training is an integral 
part of the plan and may possibly involve a monetary output 
for training materials and/or trainers, though this amount may 
be minimal and will vary from one licensee to another. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The Responsible Alcohol 
Service Plan created and implemented by each license must 
meet minimum standards.  However, some licensees may 
take the initiative to create plans that are more detailed than 
others.  The fiscal impact, therefore, may vary from one 
licensed establishment to another.  Likely the largest fiscal 
impact will be realized in the on-going staff training required 
by the proposed rule. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
ADMINISTRATION 
1625 S 900 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84104-1630, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sharon Mackay at the above address, by phone at 801-977-
6800, by FAX at 801-977-6889, or by Internet E-mail at 
smackay@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/18/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kenneth F. Wynn, Director 
 
 
 
R81.  Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration. 
R81-1.  Scope, Definitions, and General Provisions. 
R81-1-24.  Responsible Alcohol Service Plan. 
 (1)  Authority.  This rule is pursuant to the commission's 
powers and duties under 32A-1-107 to act as a general policymaking 
body on the subject of alcoholic beverage control; set policy by 
written rules that establish criteria and procedures for granting, 
denying, suspending, or revoking licenses; and prescribe the conduct 
and management of any premises upon which alcoholic beverages 
may be sold, consumed, served, or stored.  It is also pursuant to the 
authority granted to the commission in Title 32A, Chapters 4, 5, and 
10 to require licensing information, in addition to that which is 
statutorily required, as part of any application for a license to sell, 
serve or store alcoholic beverages for consumption on the licensed 
premises. 
 (2)  Purpose.  This rule requires any applicant for a license to 
sell, serve and store alcoholic beverages for consumption on the 
licensed premises to submit to the department, as a condition of 
licensing, a Responsible Alcohol Service Plan.  This rule also 
requires any business licensed by the commission to sell, serve or 
store alcoholic beverages for consumption on the licensed premises 
to submit to the department, prior to the expiration of its current 
license as a condition of relicensing, a Responsible Alcohol Service 
Plan. 
 (3)  Definitions. 
 (a)  "Applicant" means a person or business entity that applies 
for a license from the commission to sell, serve, and store alcoholic 
beverages for consumption on the premises of the business. 
 (b)  "Commission" means the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Commission. 
 (c)  "Department" means the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control. 
 (d)  "Intoxication" and "Intoxicated" means a person who is 
actually, apparently, or obviously under the influence of an alcoholic 
beverage, a controlled substance, a substance having the property of 
releasing toxic vapors, or a combination of alcoholic beverages or 
said substances, to a degree that the person may endanger himself or 
another. 
 (e)  "Licensed Business" is a person or business entity licensed 
by the commission to sell, serve, and store alcoholic beverages for 
consumption on the premises of the business. 
 (f)  "Manager" means a person chosen or appointed to manage, 
direct, or administer the operations at a licensed business.  A 
manager may also be a supervisor. 
 (g)  "Responsible Alcohol Service Plan" or "Plan" means a 
written set of policies and procedures of an applicant or licensed 
business that outline measures that will be taken by the business to 
prevent employees of the applicant or licensed business from: 
 (i)  over-serving alcoholic beverages to customers; 
 (ii)  serving alcoholic beverages to customers who are actually, 
apparently, or obviously  intoxicated; and 

 (iii)  serving alcoholic beverages to persons under the age of 
21. 
 (h)  "Server" means an employee who actually makes available, 
serves to, or provides an alcoholic beverage to a customer for 
consumption on the business premises. 
 (i)  "Supervisor" means an employee who, under the direction 
of a manager or owner, directs or has the responsibility to direct, 
transfer, or assign duties to employees who actually provide 
alcoholic beverages to customers on the premises of the business. 
 (4)  Application of Rule. 
 (a)  Any applicant shall submit to the department, as a 
condition of licensing, a Responsible Alcohol Service Plan. 
 (b)  Any licensed business shall submit to the department, prior 
to the expiration of its current license as a condition of re-licensing, 
a Responsible Alcohol Service Plan. 
 (c)  Any Responsible Alcohol Service Plan at a minimum shall: 
 (i)  identify the expectations of the business regarding 
responsible alcoholic beverage service by employees of the 
business; 
 (ii)  clearly identify the duties and responsibilities of managers, 
supervisors, servers, security personnel, and other employees under 
the Plan; 
 (iii)  require adherence to the Plan as a condition of initial and 
continued employment; 
 (iv)  be available and accessible to all employees of the 
business; 
 (v)  require all managers, supervisors and servers to take the 
Alcohol Training And Education Seminar Program in accordance 
with the time deadlines established in 62A-15-401. 
 (vi)  outline steps to be taken by employees to prevent over-
serving alcoholic beverages, serving alcoholic beverages to 
customers who are actually, apparently, or obviously intoxicated, 
and serving alcoholic beverages to persons under the age of 21; 
 (vii)  require regular employee training on responsible alcoholic 
beverage service that includes: 
 (A)  identifying legal forms of ID, checking ID, and 
recognizing fake ID; 
 (B)  identifying persons under the age of 21; 
 (C)  identifying problem drinkers; 
 (D)  discussing the legal definition of intoxication; 
 (E)  identifying behavioral signs of intoxication; 
 (F)  discussing techniques for monitoring and controlling 
consumption such as: 
 (1)  drink counting; 
 (2)  intervention techniques; 
 (3)  slowing down alcohol service; 
 (4)  offering food or nonalcoholic beverages; and 
 (5)  cutting off alcohol service; 
 (G)  dealing with hostile customers; 
 (H)  discussing third party liability for the unlawful service of 
alcoholic beverages to intoxicated persons and persons under the age 
of 21 as outlined in 32A-14a-101 through -105; 
 (I)  discussing potential criminal, civil and administrative 
penalties for over-serving alcoholic beverages, serving alcoholic 
beverages to customers who are actually, apparently, or obviously 
intoxicated, and serving alcoholic beverages to persons under the 
age of 21. 
 (viii)  identify security procedures for dealing with hostile 
customers; 
 (ix)  identify procedures for providing alternative means of 
transportation to get customers home safely; 
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 (x)  require the active observing and monitoring of employees 
for compliance with the Plan; 
 (xi)  identify any incentives for employees who follow the Plan; 
 (xii)  identify the consequences for violating the Plan; 
 (d)(i)  Any applicant who fails to submit to the department a 
Plan shall not be granted a license by the commission. 
 (ii)  Any licensed business that fails to submit to the 
department, prior to the expiration of its current license, a Plan shall 
not be granted a renewal of its license by the commission. 
 (iii)  Failure of a licensed business to comply with the 
conditions and requirements of this rule may result in a suspension 
or revocation of the license and other disciplinary action taken 
against individual managers, supervisors, and employees of the 
licensed business. 
 (e)  The department, at the request of an applicant or licensed 
business, may provide assistance in the preparation of a Plan. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
[June 1, 2004]2005 
Notice of Continuation December 26, 2001 
32A-1-107 
32A-1-119(5)(c) 
32A-3-103(1)(a) 
32A-4-103(1)(a) 
32A-4-203(1)(a) 
32A-5-103(3)(c) 
32A-6-103(2)(a) 
32A-7-103(2)(a) 
32A-8-103(1)(a) 
32A-9-103(1)(a) 
32A-10-203(1)(a) 
32A-11-103(1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-1 
General Rules of the Division of 
Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27670 
FILED:  01/27/2005, 11:22 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
is proposing these amendments to conform with legislative 
changes being made in Section 58-1-501 as a result of the 
anticipated passage of S.B. 46 during the 2005 Legislative 
Session. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R156-1-102, 
deleted definition for "branching questionnaire" and 
 

renumbered the remaining subsections.  Deleted Section 
R156-1-601 in its entirety. 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-1-308, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) and 
58-1-501(4) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs, 
approximately $50, to reprint the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the Division's current budget. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The proposed amendments only 
affect licensed practitioners and not government agencies.  To 
the Division's knowledge, no local health agency has been 
utilizing branching questionnaires and Internet prescribing; 
therefore, there would be no affect on local governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  As a result of the proposed amendments, 
patients will no longer be able to receive any prescription 
drugs based on an Internet questionnaire.  Also, any 
prescribing practitioner who is currently prescribing drugs to 
patients based on a branching questionnaire will no longer be 
able to practice in that manner.  This may decrease the 
number of patients to whom the practitioner prescribes.  The 
anticipated statute change and these proposed amendments 
will require patients to seek prescriptions via the traditional 
face-to-face appointment with a prescribing practitioner.  As a 
result of a wide variety of circumstances, the Division is 
unable to determine any costs or savings as a result of these 
proposed amendments. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  As a result of the 
proposed amendments, patients will no longer be able to 
receive any prescription drugs based on an Internet 
questionnaire.  Also, any prescribing practitioner who is 
currently prescribing drugs to patients based on a branching 
questionnaire will no longer be able to practice in that manner. 
 This may decrease the number of patients to whom the 
practitioner prescribes.  The anticipated statute change and 
these proposed amendments will require patients to seek 
prescriptions via the traditional face-to-face appointment with 
a prescribing practitioner.  As a result of a wide variety of 
circumstances, the Division is unable to determine any costs 
or savings as a result of these proposed amendments. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  S.B. 46 is presently before the 
2005 Legislative Session.  This bill defines a "bona fide 
patient-practitioner relationship" and repeals the provision that 
authorized the Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing (DOPL) to grant exceptions to such a relationship 
by rule.  Thus, this filing amends the Division rule which deal 
with branching questionnaire and online assessments, 
provisions that were useful only if there was an exception to a 
bona fide patient-practitioner relationship.  No additional fiscal 
impact to businesses is foreseen beyond those addressed in 
S.B. 46.  This filing is submitted now so as to complete the 
rulemaking process by the effective date of S.B. 46.  If S.B. 46 
does not pass, DOPL will not make this rule effective.  Russell 
C. Skousen, Executive Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Laura Poe at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6789, 
by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
lpoe@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/18/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-1.  General Rules of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing. 
R156-1-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, as used in Title 58 or 
these rules: 
 (1)  "Active and in good standing" means a licensure status 
which allows the licensee full privileges to engage in the practice of 
the occupation or profession subject to the scope of the licensee's 
license classification. 
 (2)  "Aggravating circumstances" means any consideration or 
factors that may justify an increase in the severity of an action to be 
imposed upon an applicant or licensee.  Aggravating circumstances 
include: 
 (a)  prior record of disciplinary action, unlawful conduct, or 
unprofessional conduct; 
 (b)  dishonest or selfish motive; 
 (c)  pattern of misconduct; 
 (d)  multiple offenses; 
 (e)  obstruction of the disciplinary process by intentionally 
failing to comply with rules or orders of the Division; 
 (f)  submission of false evidence, false statements or other 
deceptive practices during the disciplinary process including 
creating, destroying or altering records after an investigation has 
begun; 
 (g)  refusal to acknowledge the wrongful nature of the 
misconduct involved, either to the client or to the Division; 
 (h)  vulnerability of the victim; 
 (i)  lack of good faith to make restitution or to rectify the 
consequences of the misconduct involved; 
 (j)  illegal conduct, including the use of controlled substances; 
and 
 (k)  intimidation or threats of withholding clients' records or 
other detrimental consequences if the client reports or testifies 
regarding the unprofessional or unlawful conduct. 
 (3)  ["Branching questionnaire", as used in Section R156-1-
601, means an adaptive, progressive inquiry used by a physician to 

determine a health history and assessment, and serves as the basis 
for a diagnosis. 
 (4)  ]"Cancel" or "cancellation" means nondisciplinary action 
by the division to rescind, repeal, annul, or void a license issued in 
error.  Such action includes rescinding a license issued to an 
applicant whose payment of the required application fee is 
dishonored when presented for payment, or who has been issued a 
conditional license pending a criminal background check and the 
check cannot be completed due to the applicant's failure to resolve 
an outstanding warrant or to submit acceptable fingerprint cards. 
 ([5]4)  "Charges" means the acts or omissions alleged to 
constitute either unprofessional or unlawful conduct or both by a 
licensee, which serve as the basis to consider a licensee for inclusion 
in the diversion program authorized in Section 58-1-404. 
 ([6]5)  "Denial of licensure" means action by the division 
refusing to issue a license to an applicant for initial licensure, 
renewal of licensure, reinstatement of licensure or relicensure. 
 ([7]6)  "Disciplinary action" means adverse licensure action by 
the division under the authority of Subsections 58-1-401(2)(a) 
through (2)(b). 
 ([8]7)  "Diversion agreement" means a formal written 
agreement between a licensee, the division, and a diversion 
committee, outlining the terms and conditions with which a licensee 
must comply as a condition of entering in and remaining under the 
diversion program authorized in Section 58-1-404. 
 ([9]8)  "Diversion committees" mean diversion advisory 
committees authorized by Subsection 58-1-404(2)(a)(i) and created 
under Subsection R156-1-404a. 
 ([10]9)  "Duplicate license" means a license reissued to replace 
a license which has been lost, stolen, or mutilated. 
 ([11]10)  "Emergency review committees" mean emergency 
adjudicative proceedings review committees created by the division 
under the authority of Subsection 58-1-108(2). 
 ([12]11)  "Expire" or "expiration" means the automatic 
termination of a license which occurs: 
 (a)  at the expiration date shown upon a license if the licensee 
fails to renew the license before the expiration date; or 
 (b)  prior to the expiration date shown on the license: 
 (i)  upon the death of a licensee who is a natural person; 
 (ii)  upon the dissolution of a licensee who is a partnership, 
corporation, or other business entity; or 
 (iii)  upon the issuance of a new license which supersedes an 
old license, including a license which: 
 (A)  replaces a temporary license; 
 (B)  replaces a student or other interim license which is limited 
to one or more renewals or other renewal limitation; or 
 (C)  is issued to a licensee in an upgraded classification 
permitting the licensee to engage in a broader scope of practice in 
the licensed occupation or profession. 
 ([13]12)  "Inactive" or "inactivation" means action by the 
division to place a license on inactive status in accordance with 
Sections 58-1-305 and R156-1-305. 
 ([14]13)  "Investigative subpoena authority" means, except as 
otherwise specified in writing by the director, the division 
enforcement counsel, or if the division enforcement counsel is 
unable to so serve for any reason, the assistant director, or if both the 
division enforcement counsel and the assistant director are unable to 
so serve for any reason, the department enforcement counsel. 
 ([15]14)  "License" means a right or privilege to engage in the 
practice of a regulated occupation or profession as a licensee. 
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 ([16]15)  "Limit" or "limitation" means nondisciplinary action 
placing either terms and conditions or restrictions or both upon a 
license: 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current license 
or disciplinary status. 
 ([17]16)  "Mitigating circumstances" means any consideration 
or factors that may justify a reduction in the severity of an action to 
be imposed upon an applicant or licensee. 
 (a)  Mitigating circumstances include: 
 (i)  absence of prior record of disciplinary action, unlawful 
conduct or unprofessional conduct; 
 (ii)  absence of dishonest or selfish motive; 
 (iii)  personal, mental or emotional problems provided such 
problems have not posed a risk to the health, safety or welfare of the 
public or clients served such as drug or alcohol abuse while engaged 
in work situations or similar situations where the licensee or 
applicant should know that they should refrain from engaging in 
activities that may pose such a risk; 
 (iv)  timely and good faith effort to make restitution or rectify 
the consequences of the misconduct involved; 
 (v)  full and free disclosure to the client or Division prior to the 
discovery of any misconduct; 
 (vi)  inexperience in the practice of the occupation and 
profession provided such inexperience is not the result of failure to 
obtain appropriate education or consultation that the applicant or 
licensee should have known they should obtain prior to beginning 
work on a particular matter; 
 (vii)  imposition of other penalties or sanctions; and 
 (viii)  remorse. 
 (b)  The following factors should not be considered as 
mitigating circumstances: 
 (i)  forced or compelled restitution; 
 (ii)  withdrawal of complaint by client or other affected 
persons; 
 (iii)  resignation prior to disciplinary proceedings; 
 (iv)  failure of injured client to complain; and 
 (v)  complainant's recommendation as to sanction. 
 ([18]17)  "Nondisciplinary action" means adverse licensure by 
the division under the authority of Subsections 58-1-401(1) or 58-1-
401(2)(c) through (2)(d). 
 ([19]18)  "Peer committees" mean advisory peer committees to 
boards created by the legislature in Title 58 or by the division under 
the authority of Subsection 58-1-203(1)(f). 
 ([20]19)  "Private reprimand" means disciplinary action to 
formally reprove or censure a licensee for unprofessional or 
unlawful conduct, with the documentation of the action being 
classified as a private record. 
 ([21]20)  "Probation" means disciplinary action placing terms 
and conditions upon a license; 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current license 
or disciplinary status. 
 ([22]21)  "Public reprimand" means disciplinary action to 
formally reprove or censure a licensee for unprofessional or 
unlawful conduct, with the documentation of the action being 
classified as a public record. 
 ([23]22)  "Regulatory authority" as used in Subsection 58-1-
501(2)(d) means any governmental entity who licenses, certifies, 

registers, or otherwise regulates persons subject to its jurisdiction, or 
who grants the right to practice before or otherwise do business with 
the governmental entity. 
 ([24]23)  "Reinstate" or "reinstatement" means to activate an 
expired license or to restore a license which is restricted, as defined 
in Subsection (26)(b), or is suspended, or placed on probation, to a 
lesser restrictive license or an active in good standing license. 
 ([25]24)  "Relicense" or "relicensure" means to license an 
applicant who has previously been revoked or has previously 
surrendered a license. 
 ([26]25)  "Remove or modify restrictions" means to remove or 
modify restrictions, as defined in Subsection (26)(a), placed on a 
license issued to an applicant for licensure. 
 ([27]26)  "Restrict" or "restriction" means disciplinary action 
qualifying or limiting the scope of a license: 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure in accordance with Section 
58-1-304; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current license 
or disciplinary status. 
 ([28]27)  "Revoke" or "revocation" means disciplinary action 
by the division extinguishing a license. 
 ([29]28)  "Suspend" or "suspension" means disciplinary action 
by the division removing the right to use a license for a period of 
time or indefinitely as indicated in the disciplinary order, with the 
possibility of subsequent reinstatement of the right to use the license. 
 ([30]29)  "Surrender" means voluntary action by a licensee 
giving back or returning to the division in accordance with Section 
58-1-306, all rights and privileges associated with a license issued to 
the licensee. 
 ([31]30)  "Temporary license" or "temporary licensure" means 
a license issued by the division on a temporary basis to an applicant 
for initial licensure, renewal or reinstatement of licensure, or 
relicensure in accordance with Section 58-1-303. 
 ([32]31)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58 is 
further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in 
Section R156-1-502. 
 ([33]32)  "Warning or final disposition letters which do not 
constitute disciplinary action" as used in Subsection 58-1-108(3) 
mean letters which do not contain findings of fact or conclusions of 
law and do not constitute a reprimand, but which may address any or 
all of the following: 
 (a)  division concerns; 
 (b)  allegations upon which those concerns are based; 
 (c)  potential for administrative or judicial action; and 
 (d)  disposition of division concerns. 
 
[R156-1-601.  Online Assessment, Diagnosis and Prescribing 
Protocols. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-501(4), a person 
licensed to prescribe under this title may prescribe legend drugs to a 
person located in this state following an online assessment and 
diagnosis in accordance with the following conditions: 
 (a)  the prescribing practitioner is licensed in good standing in 
this state; 
 (b)  an assessment and diagnosis is based upon a 
comprehensive health history and an assessment tool that requires 
the patient to provide answers to all the required questions and does 
not rely upon default answers, such as a branching questionnaire; 
 (c)  only includes legend drugs and may not include controlled 
substances; 
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 (d)  the practice is authorized by these rules and a written 
agreement signed by the Division and the practitioner and approved 
by a panel comprised of three board members from the Physicians 
Licensing Board or the Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon's 
Licensing Board and three members from the Utah State Board of 
Pharmacy.  The written agreement shall include: 
 (i)  the specific name of the drug or drugs approved to be 
prescribed; 
 (ii)  the policies and procedures that address patient 
confidentiality; 
 (iii)  a method for electronic communication by the physician 
and patient; 
 (iv)  a mechanism for the Division to be able to conduct audits 
of the website and records to ensure an assessment and diagnosis has 
been made prior to prescribing any medications; and 
 (v)  a mechanism for the physician to have ready access to all 
patients' records.] 
 
KEY:  diversion programs, licensing, occupational licensing 
[October 18, 2004]2005 
Notice of Continuation May 2, 2002 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-308 
58-1-501(4) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-713 
Concurrent Enrollment of High School 

Students in College Courses 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27662 
FILED:  01/17/2005, 14:59 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
amended to provide greater clarity and consistency in 
awarding credit, defining fees for purposes of this rule, 
designating eligible courses, and requiring background checks 
for new Concurrent Enrollment Program faculty. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule provides for 
definition changes and additions, changes in eligible courses 
for Concurrent Enrollment Program funding, student 
participation, program delivery, student tuition, fees and credit 
for Concurrent Enrollment Programs, faculty requirements, 
and other issues. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53A-17a-120 and Subsection 53A-1-402(1)(c) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  The same amount of money will be 
appropriated although the disbursement may be somewhat 
different. 

❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The amendments to this rule may 
affect the Concurrent Enrollment Program funds received by 
school districts.  Only designated courses will be eligible for 
reimbursement and school districts will only be reimbursed for 
courses taken before the students actually graduate.  
Someone will have to cover the costs of criminal background 
checks.  It cannot be determined how many new teachers will 
be affected but the approximate cost per individual is $45. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There may be some savings for affected 
persons.  The amendments make clear that there can be no 
fees charged for Concurrent Enrollment Program classes.  In 
addition, the rule clarifies fee waiver applicability to 
Concurrent Enrollment Program for required textbooks and 
materials.  Someone will have to cover the costs of criminal 
background checks.  It cannot be determined how many new 
teachers will be affected but the approximate cost per 
individual is $45. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Someone will have 
to cover the costs of criminal background checks.  It cannot be 
determined how many new teachers will be affected but the 
approximate cost per individual is $45. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact to businesses.  Patti Harrington, State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Kathy Akin at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7830, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
kakin@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/18/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-713.  Concurrent Enrollment of High School Students in 
College Courses. 
R277-713-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Adjunct/Concurrent faculty" means [high school 
teacher(s)]instructors approved by the cooperating USHE institution 
[of higher education]and approved by school district or charter 
school receiving concurrent enrollment services from the instructor 
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to teach concurrent enrollment classes on behalf of the USHE 
institution[ of higher education]. 
 [D]B.  "Annual Concurrent Enrollment Contract" means a 
written plan, negotiated by a school district and a[n] USHE 
institution[ of higher education], to provide college level courses to 
high school students. 
 [B]C.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 [C]D.  "Concurrent enrollment" for state funding and for the 
purposes of this rule means enrollment by public school students in 
one or more [college or university]USHE institution course(s) [for 
credit by a high school student who]under a contractual agreement 
between the USHE institution and a school district/public school.  
Students continue[s] to be enrolled [and]in public schools, counted 
in Average Daily Membership[.], and receive credit toward 
graduation.  They also receive college credit for courses. 
 E.  "Fees" for purposes of concurrent enrollment and this rule 
mean expenses to students directly related to enrollment and tuition. 
 Fees do not include reasonable lab costs, expenses for textbooks 
and consumable curriculum materials. 
 [E]F.  "USHE" means the Utah System of Higher Education. 
 [F]G.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-713-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which provides for the State Board to have general 
supervision and control over public schools and by Section 53A-
17a-120 which directs the Board to adopt rules for accelerated 
learning programs, Section 53A-1-402(1)(c) which directs the Board 
to adopt minimum standards for curriculum, and Section 53A-1-
401(3) which allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its 
responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of concurrent enrollment is to provide a 
challenging college-level and productive secondary school 
experience, particularly in the senior year, and to provide transition 
courses [to]that can be applied to post-secondary education. 
 C.  The purpose of this rule is to specify the standards and 
procedures for concurrent enrollment courses and criteria for 
funding appropriate concurrent enrollment expenditures. 
 
R277-713-3.  Student Eligibility. 
 A.  Local schools and USHE institutions[ of higher education] 
shall jointly establish student eligibility requirements which shall be 
sufficiently selective to predict a successful experience. 
 B.  Local schools have the primary responsibility for 
identifying students who are eligible to participate in concurrent 
enrollment classes. 
 C.  Each student participating in the concurrent enrollment 
program shall have a current student education/occupation plan 
(SEOP) on file at the participating [high ]school, as required under 
Section 53A-1a-106(2)(b). 
 
R277-713-[5]4.  Courses and Student Participation. 
 [B]A.  Course registration and the awarding of USHE 
institution credit for concurrent enrollment courses are the province 
of colleges and universities governed by USHE policies. 
 B.  Concurrent enrollment offerings shall be limited to courses 
in English, mathematics, fine arts, humanities, science, social 
science, world languages, and career technical programs to allow a 
focus of energy and resources on quality instruction in these courses. 
 However, there may be a greater variety of courses in the career 

technical education area.  Concurrent Enrollment courses should 
assist students toward post-secondary degrees. 
 C.  All concurrent enrollment courses shall be approved or 
orchestrated by the high school or the USOE and shall provide for 
waiver of fees to eligible students. 
 D.  Only courses taken from a master list maintained by the 
Curriculum Section at the USOE shall be reimbursed from state 
concurrent enrollment funds.  Courses may be added or deleted from 
the master list with adequate notice to teachers at USHE institutions 
and public schools. 
 E.  Concurrent enrollment funding shall be provided only for 
1000 or 2000 level courses unless a student's SEOP identifies a 
student's readiness and preparation for a higher level course.  This 
exception shall be individually approved by the student's counselor 
and school district or charter school concurrent enrollment 
administrator.  Concurrent enrollment funding is not intended for 
unilateral parent/student initiated college attendance or course-
taking. 
 [C]F.  Concurrent enrollment course offerings shall reflect the 
strengths and resources of the respective schools and USHE 
institutions[ of higher education] and be based upon student needs.  
The number of courses selected shall be kept small enough to ensure 
coordinated statewide development and training activities for 
participating teachers.[  Concurrent enrollment offerings shall be 
limited to a manageable number of courses in English, mathematics, 
fine arts, humanities, science, social science, and 
vocational/technical programs to allow a focus of energy and 
resources on quality instruction in these courses.  However, there 
may be a greater variety of courses in the vocational-technical area.] 
 [D]G.  Course content, procedures, examinations, teaching 
materials, and program monitoring shall be the responsibility of the 
appropriate [higher education]USHE institution[ or department], 
shall be consistent with Utah law, and shall ensure quality and 
comparability with courses offered on the college or university 
campus. 
 [A]H.  Participation in concurrent enrollment [begins a 
student's college experience and]generates higher education credit 
that becomes a part of a student's permanent college transcript. 
 
R277-713-[4]5.  [Operational Procedures]Program Delivery. 
 A. [Private and public institutions]Schools within the USHE 
that grant higher education/college credit[ of higher education] may 
participate in the concurrent enrollment program. 
 B.  Concurrent enrollment courses shall be offered at the most 
appropriate location using the most appropriate methods for the 
course content, the faculty, and the students involved, consistent 
with Section 53A-17a-120(2)(a). 
 C.  The delivery system and curriculum program shall be 
designed and implemented to take full advantage of the most current 
available educational technology. 
 D.  Courses taken by students who have received a diploma, 
whose class has graduated or who have participated in graduation 
exercises are not eligible for concurrent enrollment funding.  Senior 
students shall complete reimbursable concurrent enrollment courses 
prior to their graduation or participation in graduation exercises. 
 E.  Concurrent enrollment is intended primarily for students in 
their last two years of high school.  Attendance by younger students 
shall be approved by both the public school and the USHE 
institution. 
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 F.  State reimbursement to school districts for concurrent 
enrollment courses may not exceed 30 semester hours per student 
per year. 
 G.  Public schools/school districts shall use USOE designated 
11-digit course codes for concurrent enrollment courses. 
 
R277-713-6.  Student Tuition, Fees and Credit for Concurrent 
Enrollment Programs. 
 A.  Tuition or fees may not be charged to high school students 
for participation in this program consistent with Section 53A-15-
101(6)(b)(iii). 
 B.  Students may be [charged]assessed a one-time enrollment 
[fee]charge per institution[ and assume responsibility for obtaining 
textbooks]. 
 C.  Concurrent enrollment program [fees]costs attributable only 
to [college/university]USHE credit or enrollment are not fees and as 
such are not subject to fee waiver under R277-407. 
 D.  All [other fees]students' costs related to concurrent 
enrollment classes, which may include consumables, lab fees, 
copying, and material costs, as well as textbooks required for the 
course, are subject to fee waiver consistent with R277-407. 
 E.  The school district/school shall be responsible for these 
waivers.  The agreement between the USHE institution and the 
district may address the responsibility for fee waivers.  The district 
may withhold concurrent enrollment funds to cover fee waiver costs. 
 [E]F.  Credit: 
 (1)  [Three (3) semester higher education hours equal one (1) 
unit of high school credit]A student shall receive high school credit 
for concurrent enrollment classes that is consistent with the district 
policies for awarding credit for graduation. 
 (2)  College level courses taught in the high school carry the 
same credit hour value as when taught on a college or university 
campus and apply toward college/university graduation on the same 
basis as courses taught at the USHE institution [of higher education 
]to which the credits are submitted. 
 (3)  Credit earned through the concurrent enrollment program 
shall be transferable from one USHE institution to another. 
 (4)  Concurrent enrollment course credit shall count toward 
high school graduation requirements as well as for college credit. 
 
R277-713-7.  Faculty Requirements. 
 A.  Nomination of adjunct faculty is the joint responsibility of 
the participating local school district(s) and the participating USHE 
institution[ of higher education].  Final approval of the adjunct 
faculty shall be determined by the appropriate [college or university 
department]USHE institution.[  Selection criteria for adjunct faculty 
teaching concurrent enrollment courses shall be the same as those 
criteria applied to other adjunct faculty appointments within the 
department.] 
 B.  USHE institution adjunct faculty beginning their USHE 
employment in the 2005-06 school year who are not K-12 teachers 
and who have significant unsupervised access to K-12 students shall 
complete a criminal background check consistent with Section 53A-
3-410.  The adjunct faculty employer shall have responsibility for 
determining the need for criminal background checks consistent 
with the law and for satisfying this requirement and shall maintain 
appropriate documentation. 
 [B]C.  Adjunct faculty status of high school teachers: 
 (1)  High school teachers who hold adjunct or part time faculty 
status with a [college or university]USHE institution for the purpose 
of teaching concurrent enrollment courses shall be included as fully 

as possible in the academic life of the supervising academic 
department. 
 (2)  [Universities, colleges]USHE institutions and secondary 
schools shall share expertise and in-service training, as necessary, to 
adequately prepare teachers at all levels to teach concurrent 
enrollment students and content, including both federal and state 
laws specific to student privacy and student records.[ 
 (3)  In-service experiences may qualify teachers or professors 
for graduate level credit.] 
 
R277-713-8.  Concurrent Enrollment Funding and Use of 
Concurrent Enrollment Funds. 
 A.  Each district shall receive a pro-rated amount of the funds 
appropriated for concurrent enrollment according to the number of 
semester hours successfully completed by students registered 
through the district in the prior year compared to the state total of 
completed concurrent enrollment hours.  Successfully completed 
means that a student received USHE credit for the course.  
Concurrent enrollment funds may not reimburse districts for 
repeated concurrent enrollment courses.  Appropriate reimbursement 
may be verified at any reasonable time by USOE audit. 
 B.  Each high school shall receive its proportional share of 
district concurrent enrollment monies allocated to the district 
pursuant to Section 53A-17a-120 based upon the hours of concurrent 
enrollment course work successfully completed by students on the 
high school campus as compared to the state total of completed 
concurrent enrollment hours.[ 
 C.  State funding to school districts for concurrent enrollment is 
limited to a maximum of 30 semester hours per student per school 
year.] 
 [D]C.  Funds allocated to school districts for concurrent 
enrollment shall not be used for any other program. 
 [E]D.  Colleges or universities shall receive concurrent 
enrollment funds from school districts based on the Annual 
Concurrent Enrollment Contract and [approved 
guidelines]applicable rules. 
 [F]E.  District use of state funds for concurrent enrollment is 
limited to the following: 
 (1)  [to pay ]tuition for students as established by an agreement 
with the USHE institution; 
 (2)  [to pay for ]a share of the costs of supervision and 
monitoring by [college or university]USHE institution employees 
according to the annual contractual agreement; 
 (3)  [to ]aid in staff development of adjunct faculty in 
cooperation with the participating [college or university]USHE 
institution; 
 (4)  [to ]assistance with delivery costs [of]for distance learning 
programs; 
 (5)  [to offset]participation in the costs of district or school 
personnel who work with the program; 
 (6)  [to pay for]student textbooks and other instructional 
materials; and 
 (7)  fee waivers for costs or expenses related to concurrent 
enrollment for fee waiver eligible students under R277-407. 
 ([7]8)  other uses approved in writing [through]by the USOE 
[Concurrent Enrollment Specialist ]consistent with the law and 
purposes of this rule.[ 
 G.  Concurrent enrollment course credit shall count for 
completion of high school graduation requirements as well as for 
college credit.] 
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R277-713-9.  Annual Contracts and Other Student Instruction 
Issues. 
 A.  Collaborating school districts/public schools and USHE 
institutions [of higher education ]shall negotiate annual contracts 
including: 
 (1)  the courses offered; 
 (2)  the location of the instruction; 
 (3)  the teacher; 
 (4)  student eligibility requirements; 
 (5)  course outlines; 
 (6)  texts, and other materials needed; and 
 (7)  the administrative and supervisory services, in-service 
education, and reporting mechanisms to be provided by each party to 
the contract. 
 B.  The annual concurrent enrollment agreement between a 
USHE institution and a school/school district or charter school who 
has responsibility shall: 
 (1)  provide for parental permission for students to participate 
in concurrent enrollment classes, which includes notice to parents 
that participation in concurrent enrollment courses count toward a 
student's college record/transcript, 
 (2)  provide for the entity responsible for parent notification 
about concurrent enrollment purpose(s) and student and family 
privacy protections; and 
 (3)  provide for discussion and training, as necessary, to all 
concurrent enrollment instructors about student information, student 
records laws, and student confidentiality. 
 C.  This rule shall be effective beginning with the 2005-2006 
school year. 
 
KEY:  students, curricula, higher education 
[November 2, 1999]2005 
Notice of Continuation September 12, 2002 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-17a-120 
53A-1-402(1)(c) 
53A-1-401(3) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-210 
Stationary Sources 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27665 

FILED:  01/20/2005, 11:29 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
incorporates federal standards by reference.  The purpose of 
the amendments is to add to the Utah rule the amendments in 
standards that have been made in the federal rule since 1998. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Amendments in standards 
have been made in the federal New Source Performance 
Standards, 40 CFR Part 60, since Utah last incorporated the 
standards by reference into Rule R307-210; the amendment 
incorporates the revised federal standards through July 8, 

2004, into this rule.  The federal rules already apply to the 
sources; incorporating them into the state rule allows the 
Division of Air Quality to enforce the standards.  Generally, the 
amendments give sources additional flexibility.  Affected 
sources are:  stationary gas turbines; bulk gasoline terminals 
and gasoline distribution facilities; volatile organic liquid 
storage vessels for which construction, reconstruction or 
modification commenced after July 23, 1984; large municipal 
waste combustors for which construction commenced after 
September 20, 1994, or for which modification or 
reconstruction is commenced after June 19, 1996; synthetic 
organic chemical manufacturing industry;  municipal solid 
waste landfills; and industrial-commercial-institutional steam 
generating units. The Division of Air Quality is not aware of 
any large municipal waste combustors or synthetic organic 
chemical manufacturers operating in Utah. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) and Section 19-2-108 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  40 CFR 60, effective 07/01/2004 and 64 
FR 41346 (07/08/2004) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no change in cost to the state 
budget, as the sources affected by the amended federal 
standards already are included in state rules, and thus already 
are subject to inspection and compliance review. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  How many of the affected sources are 
operated by local governments is not known precisely. Since 
the new standards either allow more flexibility or reduce 
reporting requirements, there is likely to be some small 
savings to local governments that operate affected sources. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  All of the federal amendments give 
additional flexibility to sources or reduce the recordkeeping 
costs for sources, and none of the changes increase costs for 
Utah sources. Though specific savings cannot be identified, 
they are likely to be small.  Costs for specific categories 
follow.  STATIONARY GAS TURBINES:  There are about a 
dozen sources in Utah, and the new federal amendments give 
more flexibility in testing and monitoring procedures, thus 
giving sources the opportunity to reduce costs and regulatory 
burdens.  BULK GASOLINE TERMINALS AND GASOLINE 
DISTRIBUTION FACILITIES:  The amendments give more 
clarity and flexibility in testing and recordkeeping, thus giving 
sources the opportunity to reduce costs.  VOLATILE 
ORGANIC LIQUID STORAGE VESSELS:  This amendment 
reduces the number of such vessels that are subject to the 
rule, thus saving costs for those sources.  LARGE 
MUNICIPAL WASTE COMBUSTORS and SYNTHETIC 
ORGANIC CHEMICAL MANUFACTURERS: There are none 
in Utah. MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE LANDFILLS:  The 
amendments are minor technical corrections that do not 
change the costs to sources.  INDUSTRIAL-COMMERCIAL-
INSTITUTIONAL STEAM GENERATING UNITS:  The 
amendments correct previous errors in the federal 
requirements and reduce recordkeeping, thus saving money 
for sources. 
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  All of the federal 
amendments give additional flexibility to sources or reduce the 
recordkeeping costs for sources, and none of the changes 
increase costs for Utah sources.  Though specific savings 
cannot be identified, they are likely to be small.  Costs for 
specific categories follow.  STATIONARY GAS TURBINES:  
There are about a dozen sources in Utah, and the new federal 
amendments give more flexibility in testing and monitoring 
procedures, thus giving sources the opportunity to reduce 
costs and regulatory burdens.  BULK GASOLINE 
TERMINALS AND GASOLINE DISTRIBUTION FACILITIES:  
The amendments give more clarity and flexibility in testing and 
recordkeeping, thus giving sources the opportunity to reduce 
costs.  VOLATILE ORGANIC LIQUID STORAGE VESSELS:  
This amendment reduces the number of such vessels that are 
subject to the rule, thus saving costs for those sources.  
LARGE MUNICIPAL WASTE COMBUSTORS and 
SYNTHETIC ORGANIC CHEMICAL MANUFACTURERS: 
There are none in Utah. MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE 
LANDFILLS:  The amendments are minor technical 
corrections that do not change the costs to sources.  
INDUSTRIAL-COMMERCIAL-INSTITUTIONAL STEAM 
GENERATING UNITS:  The amendments correct previous 
errors in the federal requirements and reduce recordkeeping, 
thus saving money for sources. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Generally, the federal 
amendments increase flexibility for sources and fine-tune 
existing requirements.  Sources will see some opportunity for 
savings, and no increased costs are expected.  Dr. Dianne R. 
Nielson 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  2/16/2005 at 1:30 PM, DEQ Building, 168 N 1950 
W, Room 201, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 

R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-210.  Stationary Sources. 
R307-210-1.  Standards of Performance for New Stationary 
Sources (NSPS). 
 [The standards of performance for new stationary sources in 40 
CFR 60 (1998), as amended by 63 FR 49442, 64 FR 7457, 64 FR 
9257, and 64 FR 10105]The provisions of 40 Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR) Part 60, effective on July 1, 2004, and amended 
by 64 FR 41346 (July 8, 2004), are incorporated by reference into 
these rules with the exception that references in 40 CFR to 
"Administrator" shall mean "executive secretary" unless by federal 
law the authority referenced is specific to the Administrator and 
cannot be delegated. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, stationary sources[*], new source review[*] 
[July 15, 1999]2005 
Notice of Continuation August 15, 2001 
19-2-104 
19-2-108 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Money Management Council, 
Administration 

R628-11 
Maximum Amount of Public Funds 

Allowed to be Held by any Qualified 
Depository 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27689 

FILED:  02/01/2005, 17:00 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for these changes is to tighten up the capital requirements for 
banks to hold public funds and to tighten up the formula for 
calculating the maximum uninsured public funds a qualified 
depository may hold.  The Council feels that this may allow 
them to better pinpoint problems as the figures may be more 
sensitive to issues with financial institutions. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The language has been 
updated and has incorporated a definition of "Tier 1 capital" 
removing the definition of "adjusted capital."  Also, the 
schedule of ratios to public funds allotment has been adjusted 
down for institutions that do not receive an unqualified opinion 
from an outside auditor or don't have an outside audit, to one 
times capital if the institution is in the highest ratio level; for 
institutions that do have an outside audit and an unqualified 
opinion, to one and a half times capital.  Other minor 
housekeeping language changes have been made to update 
the rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 51-7-18.1 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--This rule applies to financial 
institutions and not state entities. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This rule applies to financial 
institutions and not local governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  Audit costs could be incurred if a financial 
institution does not have one and chooses to do so.  Only a 
small portion of institutions in Utah do not have an outside 
audit.  Those costs are based on the size of the institution and 
range from $3,500 for a small institution, to $97,500 for a 
larger one.  Also the cost of purchasing collateral could be 
incurred if an institution needs to collateralize and does not 
have enough securities to do so. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  If a financial 
institution has not had an audit and chooses to get one to 
have a higher allotment of uninsured public funds, they will 
have to pay those costs. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amended rule reduces the 
amount of uninsured public funds which may be held as 
deposits in Utah financial institutions.  While no Utah financial 
institution is impacted by the amendments as of the filing date, 
an institution impacted in the future would be limited in the 
amount of uninsured public deposits it could accept and would 
have to obtain deposits from other, non-public sources at 
prevailing interest rates.  An institution found to hold excess 
uninsured public deposits would be required to pledge 
collateral to secure the excess deposits until deposits could be 
reduced.  Institutions required to pledge collateral may incur 
additional costs due to acquisition and management of 
acceptable collateral. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

MONEY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room E315 EAST OFFICE BLDG 
STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX 
PO BOX 142315 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-2315, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ann Pedroza at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
1883, by FAX at 801-538-1465, or by Internet E-mail at 
apedroza@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/18/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Larry Richardson, Chair 
 
 
 

R628.  Money Management Council, Administration. 
R628-11.  Maximum Amount of Uninsured Public Funds Allowed 
to Be Held by Any Qualified Depository. 
R628-11-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is issued pursuant to Section 51-7-18.1. 
 
R628-11-2.  Scope. 
 This rule applies to all qualified depository institutions at which 
uninsured public funds may be held. 
 
R628-11-3.  Purpose. 
 This rule [protects against the loss of public funds by 
]establish[ing]es a formula for determining the maximum amount of 
uninsured public funds that can safely be held by any qualified 
depository.  The rule defines capital for each class of qualified 
depository institution, establishes a formula for calculating the 
maximum amount of uninsured public funds which can be held at a 
qualified depository institution, establishes a schedule for reduction of 
uninsured public deposits based on risk to public treasurers and 
establishes the frequency of public funds allotment adjustments. 
 
R628-11-4.  Definitions. 
 For the purposes of this rule: 
 A.  "[Adjusted]Tier one capital" means:[  capital less 40% of 
nonperforming assets.] 
[ B.  "Capital" means: 
] (1)  For a federally insured commercial bank, thrift institution, 
industrial loan corporation or a savings and loan association, the same 
as defined in the Federal Deposit Insurance Act in CFR Chapter III 
Section 325.2 or the Office of Thrift Supervision in CFR Chapter V 
Section 565.2 [the sum of capital stock, preferred stock, permanent, 
reserve or guaranty stock, surplus, paid-in surplus, undivided profits, 
retained earnings, net undistributed income, subordinated notes, 
allowance for loan losses, specific reserves and valuation allowances, 
reserves for contingencies and other capital reserves]; 
 (2)  For a federally insured credit union, the sum of 
[unappropriated retained]undivided earnings, 
[regulatory/statutory]regular reserves, appropriations of undivided 
earnings referred to as[all] "other reserves", and [allowance for loan 
losses]net income not already included in undivided earnings. 
 C.  "Deposits" means:  balances due to persons having an account 
at the qualified depository institution whether in the form of a 
transaction account, savings account, share account, or certificate of 
deposit and repurchase agreements other than qualifying repurchase 
agreements. 
 D.  "Out of State" means: in reference to a depository institution or 
depository institution holding company, an institution or company 
whose home state is not Utah. 
 E.  "Maximum amount" means: the amount of deposits in excess 
of the federal deposit insurance limit. 
[ F. "Nonperforming assets" means: 
 (1)  For a federally insured commercial bank, thrift institution, 
industrial loan corporation or a savings and loan association, the 
aggregate of all loans and lease financing receivables past due 90 days 
or more and still accruing, all loans and lease financing receivables on 
nonaccrual status and 50% of Other Real Estate; 
 (2)  For a federally insured credit union, all loans delinquent two 
months or more. 
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] [G]F.  "Qualified depository" means:  a Utah depository 
institution as defined in Subsection 7-1-103(36) or a out of state 
depository institution as defined in Subsection 7-1-103(25) which may 
conduct business in this state under Section 7-1-702, whose deposits 
are insured by an agency of the Federal Government and which has 
been certified by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions as having 
met the requirements to receive uninsured public funds. 
 [H]G.  "Transaction account" means:  a deposit, account, or other 
contractual arrangement in which a depositor, account holder, or other 
customer is permitted, directly or indirectly, to make withdrawals by 
check or other negotiable instrument, a payment order of withdrawal, a 
telephone transfer or other electronic [means]transfer or by any other 
means or device to make payments or transfer to third persons.  This 
term includes demand deposits, NOW accounts, savings deposits 
subject to automatic transfers, and share draft accounts. 
 I.  "Utah depository institution" means:  a depository institution 
which is organized under the laws of, and whose home office is located 
in, this state or which is organized under the laws of the United States 
and whose home office is located in this state. 
 
R628-11-5.  General Rule. 
 A.  Maximum Insured Public Funds 
 Any qualified depository may accept, receive, and hold deposits 
of public funds without limitation, if the total amount of deposits from 
each public treasurer does not exceed the applicable federal depository 
insurance limit. 
 B.  Maximum Deposits in Excess of the Federal Insurance Limits 
For Qualified Utah Depository Institutions 
 (1)  For all qualified Utah depository institutions which [do not 
]receive a[n] [un]qualified opinion issued by an independent certified 
public accountant upon completion of an annual audit performed in 
accordance with generally accepted auditing standards, and for all 
qualified Utah depository institutions which do not have an audit 
conducted by an independent certified public accountant, the maximum 
amount of uninsured public funds which may be held shall be 
according to the following schedule: 
 

TABLE 1 
 
     Ratio of [Adjusted]Tier one Capital 
     to Total Assets             Uninsured Public Funds Allotment 
 
     5.0% or more                [Two]One      X    Capital 
     3.5% to 4.99%               [One].5      X    Capital 
     Less than 3.5%              None 

 
 (2)  A qualified Utah depository institution which receives an 
unqualified opinion issued by an independent certified public 
accountant upon completion of an annual audit performed in 
accordance with generally accepted auditing standards, may submit the 
audit report within 100 days of the date of the audit to the Department 
of Financial Institutions for review and the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions [may]must authorize that the ratios of [adjusted]Tier one 
capital to total assets applicable to the institution submitting the audit 
for determining the maximum amount of uninsured public funds 
allowed may be according to the following schedule: 
 

TABLE 2 
 
     Ratio of [Adjusted]Tier one Capital 
     to Total Assets             Uninsured Public Funds Allotment 
 
     [4.]5% or more                [Two]1.5      X    Capital 
     3.[0]5% to 4.[4]99%           [One].75      X    Capital 
     Less than 3.[0]5%             None 

 C.  A qualified out-of-state depository institution will be treated as 
a qualified Utah depository subject to all the provisions of this section 
in determining its uninsured public funds allotment except that the 
uninsured public funds allotment will be reduced by multiplying by a 
factor of total deposits outstanding at Utah branches of the institution 
divided by the total deposits at the institution.  Nothing in R628-11 
shall prohibit a out-of-state depository institution from qualifying as a 
permitted out-of-state depository in accordance with R628-10. 
 
R628-11-6.  Responsibility to Monitor Balances. 
 Deposits in qualified depositories which are limited by R628-11-
5(B) [and R628-11-5(C) ]to the amount of federal deposit insurance 
must be monitored on a daily basis to assure that [the total of all time 
deposits and transaction accounts is not allowed to exceed]no public 
treasurer has deposit balances in excess of the federal insurance limit.  
The public treasurer making deposits and the qualified depository 
accepting deposits shall both be responsible to assure that the 
depositor's combined balance of all accounts stays within the federal 
insurance limit. 
 
R628-11-7.  Collateralization of Excess Uninsured Public Funds. 
 Pursuant to Section 51-7-18.1(5), the Money Management 
Council may require a qualified depository to pledge collateral security 
for deposits of uninsured public funds which exceed the uninsured 
public funds allotment established by this rule.  Any pledging of 
collateral security required by the Money Management Council shall be 
in accordance with the provisions of the Money Management Act and 
the rules of the Money Management Council. 
 
R628-11-8.  Frequency of Adjustment to the Uninsured Public 
Funds Allotment. 
 A.  The uninsured public funds allotment for each qualified 
depository shall be established quarterly by the Council, based on the 
reports of condition filed with the Commissioner as of the close of the 
preceding quarter.  The uninsured public funds allotments shall be 
established in accordance with the following: 
 

TABLE 3 
 
     Report of Condition       Effective Date 
     As Of:                    of Allotment 
 
     December    31            April     1 
     March       31            July      1 
     June        30            October   1 
     September   30            January   1 

 
 B.  The Money Management Council may make interim 
adjustments in a qualified depository's uninsured public funds allotment 
if material changes in a qualified depository's financial condition have 
occurred or if there is a formal enforcement action by the federal or 
state regulator. 
 
R628-11-9.  Right to Petition the Council for Review. 
 A qualified depository may petition the Money Management 
Council in writing for review and reconsideration of its allotment 
within [15]10 business days of written notice of the establishment or 
modification of its uninsured public funds allotment.  The Money 
Management Council shall rule on any petition for review and 
reconsideration at its next regularly scheduled meeting. 
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R628-11-10.  Notification of Public Treasurers. 
 Within [15]10 business days of the close of each calendar quarter, 
the Money Management Council shall cause a list of qualified 
depository institutions and the currently effective uninsured public 
funds allotment to be prepared and mailed to all public treasurers. 
 
KEY:  financial institutions, banking law 
1990 
Notice of Continuation October 13, 2000 
51-7-18.1(2) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Public Safety, Fire Marshal 
R710-7-1 

Adoption of Codes 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27671 
FILED:  01/27/2005, 13:43 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Utah 
Fire Prevention Board met on January 11, 2005, in a regularly 
scheduled Board meeting and voted by motion to amend Rule 
R710-7 by updating several incorporated references to the 
most recent edition. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Board proposes to 
amend Subsection R710-7-1(1.1) to update six currently 
adopted incorporated references to the most recent edition of 
the standard. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53-7-204 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  NFPA 12, Standard on Carbon Dioxide 
Extinguishing Systems, 2005 edition; NFPA 12A, Standard on 
Halon 1301 Fire Extinguishing Systems, 2004 edition; NFPA 
17, Standard for Dry Chemical Extinguishing Systems, 2002 
edition; NFPA 17A, Standard for Wet Chemical Extinguishing 
Systems, 2002 edition; NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation 
Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking 
Operations, 2004 edition; and NFPA 2001, Standard on Clean 
Agent Fire Extinguishing Systems, 2004 edition 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The aggregate anticipated cost to the 
State Budget would be approximately $540.  This aggregate 
anticipated cost would be to purchase three copies of each 
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) standard that is 
proposed to be updated.  Two copies for the State Fire 
Marshal's Office and one copy of each to be kept on file at the 
Division of Administrative Rules. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no aggregate anticipated 
cost or savings to local government to enact this proposed 
rule amendment.  Local government would normally request 
assistance from the specialists at the State Fire Marshal's 

Office to investigate concerns with Automatic Fire 
Suppression Systems in their communities.  By requesting 
assistance, local government would not be required to 
purchase the updated incorporated references. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  The aggregate cost to other persons would 
be approximately $180 to purchase the six updated 
incorporated references.  With 47 licensed Automatic Fire 
Suppression System companies, the aggregate cost would be 
approximately $8,500 if each company purchased all of the 
proposed incorporated references to be updated. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The compliance 
cost for affected persons would be approximately $180 to 
purchase all six of the proposed updated incorporated 
references.  This would be a requirement if the licensed 
company and/or certified individual were required to work on a 
specific system.  A copy of the NFPA standard would be 
necessary to complete the work correctly and provide a safe 
installation. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There would be a fiscal impact 
on businesses of approximately $180 to purchase all six 
volumes of the updated incorporated references.  The industry 
likes to use the most current volume of the NFPA standards to 
provide the most up to date processes and safety standards 
with these continually changing systems. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
FIRE MARSHAL 
Room 302  
5272 S COLLEGE DR 
MURRAY UT 84123-2611, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Brent Halladay at the above address, by phone at 801-284-
6352, by FAX at 801-284-6351, or by Internet E-mail at 
bhallada@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/18/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Gary A. Wise, State Fire Marshal 
 
 
 
R710.  Public Safety, Fire Marshal. 
R710-7.  Concerns Servicing Automatic Fire Suppression 
Systems. 
R710-7-1.  Adoption of Codes. 
 Pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 7, Section 204, Utah Code 
Annotated 1953, the Utah State Fire Prevention Board adopts rules 
to provide regulation to those concerns that service Automatic Fire 
Suppression Systems.  These rules do not apply to standpipe 
systems, deluge systems, or automatic fire sprinkler systems. 
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 There is adopted as part of these rules the following codes 
which are incorporated by reference: 
 1.1  National Fire Protection Association, Standard 12, 
Standard on Carbon Dioxide Extinguishing Systems, [2000]2005 
edition; N.F.P.A., Standard 12A, Halon 1301 Fire Extinguishing 
Systems, [1997]2004 edition; N.F.P.A., Standard 12B, Halon 1211 
Fire Extinguishing Systems, 1990 edition; N.F.P.A., Standard 17, 
Standard for Dry Chemical Extinguishing Systems, [1998]2002 
edition; N.F.P.A., Standard 17A, Standard for Wet Chemical 
Extinguishing Systems, [1998]2002 edition; N.F.P.A., Standard 96, 
Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking 
Operations, [2001]2004 edition; N.F.P.A., Standard 2001, Clean 
Agent Fire Extinguishing Systems, [2000]2004 edition.  The 
definitions contained in these pamphlets shall pertain to these 
regulations. 
 1.2  Validity 
 If any section, subsection, sentence, clause, or phrase, of these 
rules is, for any reason, held to be unconstitutional, contrary to 
statute, or exceeding the authority of the SFM, such decision shall 
not affect the validity of the remaining portion of these rules. 
 1.3  Systems Prohibited 
 No person shall market, distribute, sell, install or service any 
automatic fire suppression system in this state, unless it meets the 
following: 
 1.3.1  It complies with these rules. 
 1.3.2  It has been tested by, and bears the label of a testing 
laboratory which is accepted by the SFM as qualified to test 
automatic fire suppression systems. 
 1.3.3  All existing automatic fire suppression systems using dry 
chemical shall be removed and replaced with a UL300 listed system 
by January 1, 2006 or before that date when any of the following 
occurs: 
1.3.3.1  Six year internal maintenance service; 
1.3.3.2  Recharge; 
1.3.3.3  Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturer date 
of the cylinders; 
1.3.3.4  Reconfiguration of the system piping. 
 1.3.4  All existing wet chemical automatic fire suppression 
systems not UL300 listed shall be removed, replaced or upgraded to 
a UL300 listed system by January 1, 2006 or before that date when 
any of the following occurs: 
1.3.4.1  Six year internal maintenance service; 
1.3.4.2  Recharge; 
1.3.4.3  Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturer date 
of the cylinders; 
1.3.4.4  Reconfiguration of the system piping. 
 1.4  Copies of the above listed codes are on file in the Office of 
Administrative Rules and the Office of the State Fire Marshal. 
 
KEY:  fire prevention, systems 
[December 2, 2004]March 18, 2005 
Notice of Continuation June 11, 2002 
53-7-204 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Regents (Board Of), Administration 

R765-604 
New Century Scholarship 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27666 
FILED:  01/24/2005, 13:51 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The addition 
of several definitions was needed to assure all students who 
complete high school graduation requirements through each 
possible method, and attend eligible institutions in Utah with 
satisfactory academic progress might qualify for the New 
Century Scholarship.  Also, wording has been revised or 
added to allow equitable distribution of funds in the event of a 
limitation of funds appropriated in any given year. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment allows the 
State Board of Regents to make proportional annual awards 
to scholarship recipients in the event appropriations from the 
legislature are less than needed to fully fund all eligible 
awardees.  In addition, this scholarship will be available to 
Utah residents to use at institutions of higher education that 
are not within the state system of higher education but that are 
regionally accredited to offer baccalaureate degrees. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53B-8-105 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment does not require 
additional funding requests from the state budget, nor does it 
provide any savings.  Rather, this amendment allows the 
State Board of Regents to make appropriate awards to 
scholarship recipients when any specific annual 
appropriations from the legislature may be less than needed  
to fully fund all eligible awardees. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no costs nor savings to 
local governments through this rule or amendment as local 
governments are not affected by this rule.  This rule only 
applies to the eligibility and subsequent disbursement of 
financial aid/scholarship funds to students attending public or 
private institutions of higher education in Utah. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There are no anticipated costs to other 
persons related to this amendment or rule.  However, there is 
a possibility of savings to other persons who would qualify for 
the New Century Scholarship through a net reduction in tuition 
charges.  In the event a higher number of eligible students 
qualify for 75% reduction in tuition through this scholarship 
than the annual appropriation would cover, the Board of 
Regents would be permitted to award less than 75% of tuition 
so that all awardees would receive some of the scholarship 
funds. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for any persons since the purpose of this 
rule is to award financial aid/scholarship funds to eligible 
students attending public and private institutions of higher 
learning in Utah.  There are no compliance costs associated 
with the administration of this rule since school financial aid 
offices would be able to award New Century Scholarship 
funds in the normal course of business.  This rule provides 
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additional guidance to make awards to eligible students 
without requiring compliance costs as there are none. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no perceived fiscal 
impacts on businesses as a result of this rule.  Mark Spencer, 
Executive Director, UHEAA 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
ADMINISTRATION 
BOARD OF REGENTS BUILDING, THE GATEWAY 
60 SOUTH 400 WEST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101-1284, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ronell Crossley at the above address, by phone at 801-321-
7291, by FAX at 801-321-7299, or by Internet E-mail at 
rcrossley@utahsbr.edu 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/18/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark H. Spencer, Associate Commissioner 
 
 
 
R765.  Regents (Board of), Administration. 
R765-604.  New Century Scholarship. 
R765-604-1.  Purpose. 
 To provide policy and procedures for the administration of the 
New Century Scholarship which will be awarded to high school 
graduates who have accelerated their education process and have 
completed the requirements for an associate degree prior to September 
1 of the same year they [qualify to]would normally graduate [from]with 
their high school class. 
 
R765-604-2.  References. 
 2.1.  53B-8-105, Utah Code Annotated 1953 
 
R765-604-3.  Definitions. 
 3.1.  "Program" - New Century Scholarship program 
 3.2.  "Awards" - New Century Scholarship funds which provide 
payment [equal] up to 75% of recipient's tuition costs 
 3.3.  "SBR" - State Board of Regents 
 3.4.  "Reasonable progress" - A recipient must complete at least 
six semester credit hours during any semester for which he or she 
receives an award. 
 3.5.  "Recipient" - A Utah resident who has accelerated his or her 
education process and[,] completes the requirements for an associate 
degree either prior to September 1 of the year he or she graduates from 
a [regionally accredited ]Utah high school, [completes the requirements 
for an associate degree]or, if he or she graduates early or is home 
schooled, prior to the September 1 of the year in which he or she 
normally would have graduated with his or her class. 
 3.6. "High school graduation date" - The date when an applicant 

or recipient graduates from high school with his or her class, or if he 
or she graduates early or is home schooled, the date on which he or 
she normally would have graduated from high school with his or her 
class. 
 3.[5]7."Associate Degree" - An Associate of Arts, Associate of 
Science, or Associate of Applied Science degree, or equivalent 
academic requirements, as received from or verified by a regionally 
accredited Utah public college or university, provided that if the college 
or university does not offer the associate degree, the requirement can be 
met if the institution's registrar verifies that the student has completed 
academic requirements equivalent to an associate degree prior to the 
September 1 deadline. 
 
R765-604-4.  Conditions of the Scholarship. 
 4.1.  Program Terms - The program scholarship may be used at 
any [of Utah's state-operated institutions of ]higher education 
institution in the state accredited by the Northwest Association of 
Schools and Colleges that offers baccalaureate programs.  Depending 
on available funding, if used at an institution within the state system of 
higher education, the [S]scholarship awards under this program are 
[equal in value]up to 75% of the actual tuition costs.  If used at an 
institution not within the state system of higher education, the 
scholarship is up to 75% of the tuition costs at the institution, not to 
exceed 75% of the average tuition costs at the state system 
baccalaureate granting institutions. [and are]Each scholarship is valid 
for up to two years of full-time equivalent enrollment (60 semester 
credit hours) or until the requirements of a baccalaureate degree has 
been met, whichever is shorter.  A student who has not used the award 
in its entirety within [four]five years after his or her [graduation from 
]high school graduation date[will become] is ineligible to receive a 
program award. 
 4.2.  Applicant Qualification - To qualify for the award, an 
applicant must have [graduated from a regionally accredited Utah high 
school in 1999 or later, and must have ]completed the requirements for 
an associate degree by September 1 of the year [he or she graduated 
from]of his or her high school graduation date. 
 4.3.  Accredited College or University - The associate degree or 
verification of completion of equivalent academic requirements must 
be received from a regionally accredited Utah public institution, 
provided the institution's academic on-campus residency requirements, 
if any, will not affect a student's eligibility for the scholarship if the 
institution's registrar's office verifies that the student has completed the 
necessary class credits for an associate degree. 
 4.4.  Eligible Institutions - The award may be used at any [of 
Utah's state-operated institutions of ]higher education institution in the 
state accredited by the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges 
that offers baccalaureate programs. 
 4.5.  Dual Enrollment - The award may be used at more than one 
of Utah's eligible institutions within the same semester. 
 4.6.  Student Transfer - The award may be transferred to a 
different eligible Utah institution upon the request of the student. 
 
R765-604-5.  Application Procedures. 
 5.1.  Application Contact - Qualifying students may apply for the 
award through [a high school counselor or ]the SBR office. 
 5.2.  Support Documentation - Applicants must provide 
documentation verifying their [date of]recipient's graduation date[from 
a regionally accredited Utah high school], a copy of their college 
transcript, and [prior to receiving the award, a signed affidavit from the 
registrar's office at the college or university in which the associate 
degree was completed verifying that all requirements have been met for 
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an associate degree by September 1 of the year of high school 
graduation.  If]if the student is enrolled at an institution which does not 
offer an associate degree or an institution that will not award the 
associate degree until the academic on-campus residency requirement 
has been met, the registrar must verify that the applicant has completed 
the equivalent academic requirements prior to September 1 of the year 
of the recipient's graduation date. 
 5.3.  Application Deadline - Applications and all support 
documentation must be received by the SBR office no later than thirty 
days prior to the [academic term for which the recipient]date the 
applicant wishes [to receive ]the award to be forwarded to the 
applicant's eligible institution.[  Verifying documentation shall be 
provided as soon as reasonably possible. 
 5.4.  Award Eligibility - If the recipient fails to meet the 
requirements of an associate degree by the September 1 deadline, or is 
not able to provide the required documentation in a timely manner, the 
program award will not be made.] 
 
R765-604-6.  Distribution of Award Funds. 
 6.1.  Amount of Award - If used at an institution within the state 
system of higher education, [T]the amount of the scholarship, 
depending on available funding, will be [equal]up to 75% of the gross 
total cost of tuition based on the number of hours the student is 
enrolled.  If used at an institution not within the state system of higher 
education, the scholarship, depending on available funding, will be up 
to 75% of the tuition costs at the institution, not to exceed 75% of the 
average tuition costs at the baccalaureate degree granting institutions 
within the state system of higher education.  Tuition waivers, financial 
aid, or other scholarships will not affect the total award amount. 
 6.2.  Tuition Documentation - The award recipient shall submit to 
SBR a copy of the tuition invoice or class schedule verifying the 
number of hours enrolled.  SBR will calculate the amount of the award 
based on the published tuition costs at the enrolled institution(s) and the 
availability of program funding. 
 6.3.  Award Payable to Institution - The scholarship award will be 
made payable to the institution.  The institution shall pay over to the 
recipient any excess award funds not required for tuition payments.  
Award funds should be used for higher education expenses including 
tuition, fees, books, supplies and equipment required for courses of 
instruction. 
 6.4.  Added Hours after Award - The award will be increased up 
to [equal ]75% of the tuition costs of any hours added in the semester 
after the initial award has been made, depending on available funding.  
Recipient shall submit to SBR a copy of the tuition invoice or class 
schedule verifying the added hours before a supplemental award is 
made. 
 6.5.  Dropped Hours after Award - If a student drops hours which 
were included in calculating the award amount, either the subsequent 
semester award will be reduced accordingly, or the student shall repay 
the excess award amount to SBR.  If a recipient fails to complete a 
minimum of six semester hours, no award will be made for that 
semester, and a grade earned in a class completed in that semester, if 
any, will not be considered in evaluating the recipient's reasonable 
progress. 
 
R765-604-7.  Continuing Eligibility. 
 7.1.  Reasonable Progress toward Degree Completion - The SBR 
may cancel the scholarship [at any time ]if the student fails to maintain 
a "b average" for two consecutive semesters for which he or she has 
received award funds; or fails to make reasonable progress toward the 
completion of a baccalaureate degree.  Each semester, the recipient 

must submit to SBR a copy of his or her grades to verify that he or she 
is meeting the [established standards at the enrolled institution]the 
required grade point average and is making reasonable progress toward 
the completion of a baccalaureate degree. 
 7.2.  No Awards after [Four]Five Years - The SBR will not make 
an award to a recipient for an academic term that begins more than 
[four]five years after the recipient's high school graduation date. 
 7.3.  No Guarantee of Degree Completion - A Century 
Scholarship award does not guarantee that the recipient will complete 
his or her baccalaureate program within the recipient's scholarship 
eligibility period. 
 
R765-604-8.  Leave of Absence. 
 8.1.  Does Not Extend Time - A leave of absence will not extend 
the time limits of the scholarship.  The scholarship [must be used in its 
entirety]may only be used for academic terms which begin within 
[four]five years after the recipient's high school graduation [from high 
school]date. 
 
KEY:  higher education, secondary education, scholarships[*] 
[February 4, 2000]2005 
53B-8-105 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 
R986-100 

Employment Support Programs 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27661 
FILED:  01/15/2005, 16:29 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the change is to make the provisions of Rule 
R986-100 comply with similar changes filed in Rule R986-700, 
Child Care Assistance.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R986-700 is under DAR No. 27660 in this 
issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Department is 
eliminating the need for cooperation with the Office of 
Recovery Services (ORS) in the establishment of paternity for 
Employment Support Child Care.  Federal regulations do not 
require cooperation in establishing paternity.  Eliminating this 
requirement will make the program easier to administer and is 
expected to affect very few customers.  Since the 
disqualification periods are the same as food stamps but 
contained in Rule R986-700 reference is made to "rule" in 
Section R986-100-117. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 35A-3-101 et seq., 35A-3-301 et seq., and 
35A-3-401 et seq. 
 



DAR File No. 27661 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 4 25 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This is a federally-funded program so 
there are no costs or savings to the state budget. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not apply to local 
government so therefore there are no costs or savings to local 
governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There are no costs or savings to any other 
persons as there are no fees associated with this program and 
it is federally funded. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no costs 
or savings to any affected persons as there are no fees 
associated with this program and it is federally funded. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no compliance costs 
associated with this change. There are no fees associated 
with this change.  It will not cost anyone any sum to comply 
with these changes.  This is a federally-funded program and 
the money is within current Department budgets to pay any 
costs associated with this change. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John Nixon, Acting Executive Director 
 
 
 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-100.  Employment Support Programs. 
R986-100-117.  Disqualification For Fraud (Intentional Program 
Violations or IPVs). 
 (1)  Any person who is at fault in obtaining or attempting to 
obtain, an overpayment of assistance, as defined in Section 35A-3-
602 from any of the programs listed in R986-100-102 or otherwise 
intentionally breaches any program rule either personally or through 
a representative is guilty of an intentional program violation (IPV).  
Acts which constitute an IPV include but are not limited to: 
 (a)  knowingly making false or misleading statements; 
 (b)  misrepresenting, concealing, or withholding facts or 
information; 
 (c)  posing as someone else; 

 (d)  not reporting the receipt of a public assistance payment the 
individual knew or should have known they were not eligible to 
receive; 
 (e)  not reporting a material change within 10 days after the 
change occurs in accordance with these rules; and 
 (f)  committing an act intended to mislead, misrepresent, 
conceal or withhold facts or propound a falsity. 
 (2)  An IPV occurs when a person commits any of the above 
acts in an attempt to obtain, maintain, increase or prevent the 
decrease or termination of any public assistance payment(s). 
 (3)  When the Department determines or receives notice from a 
court that fraud or an IPV has occurred, the client is disqualified 
from receiving assistance of the same type for the time period as set 
forth in rule, statute or federal regulation. 
 (4)  Disqualifications run concurrently. 
 (5)  All income and assets of a person who has been 
disqualified from assistance for an IPV continue to be counted and 
affect the eligibility and assistance amount of the household 
assistance unit in which the person resides. 
 (6)  If an individual has been disqualified in another state, the 
disqualification period for the IPV in that State will apply in Utah 
provided the act which resulted in the disqualification would have 
resulted in a disqualification had it occurred in Utah. If the 
individual has been disqualified in another state for an act which 
would have led to disqualification had it occurred in Utah and is 
found to have committed an IPV in Utah, the prior periods of 
disqualification in any other State count toward determining the 
length of disqualification in Utah. 
 (7)  The client will be notified that a disqualification period has 
been determined. The disqualification period begins the month after 
the disqualification decision has been issued or as soon thereafter as 
possible and continues in consecutive months until the 
disqualification period has expired. 
 (8)  Nothing in these rules is intended to limit or prevent a 
criminal prosecution for fraud based on the same facts used to 
determine the IPV. 
 
R986-100-134.  Payments of Assistance Pending the Hearing. 
 (1)  A client is entitled to receive continued assistance pending 
a hearing contesting a Department decision to reduce or terminate 
food stamps, RRP, FEPTP, or FEP financial assistance if the client's 
request for a hearing is received no later than 10 days after the date 
of the notice of the reduction, or termination.  The assistance will 
continue unless the certification period expires until a decision is 
issued by the ALJ. If the certification period expires while the 
hearing or decision is pending, assistance will be terminated. If a 
client becomes ineligible or the assistance amount is reduced for 
another reason pending a hearing, assistance will be terminated or 
reduced for the new reason unless a hearing is requested on the new 
action.[ 
 (2)  If the client is otherwise eligible, Employment Support 
Child Care (ES CC) can be paid pending an appeal of a decision 
from ORS that the client is not cooperating in the establishment of 
paternity or if the Department denies good cause. The client's 
request for a hearing must be received no later than 10 days after the 
date of the notice of denial or termination. The ES CC assistance 
will continue until a decision is issued by an ALJ regardless of when 
the certification period expires. If a client becomes ineligible or the 
assistance amount is reduced for another reason pending a hearing, 
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assistance will be terminated or reduced for the new reason. If a 
client files a new application after a decision by an ALJ denying 
assistance, the new application will be denied and the client will 
have no right to appeal that denial unless there has been a change in 
circumstances.] 
 ([3]2)  If the client can show good cause for not requesting the 
hearing within 10 days of the notice, assistance may be continued if 
the client can show good cause for failing to file in a timely fashion. 
Good cause in this paragraph means that the delay in filing was due 
to circumstances beyond the client's control or for circumstances 
which were compelling and reasonable. Because the Department 
allows a client to request a hearing by telephone or mail, good cause 
does not mean illness, lack of transportation or temporary absence. 
 ([4]3)  A client can request that payment of assistance not be 
continued pending a hearing but the request must be in writing. 
 ([5]4)  If payments are continued pending a hearing, the client 
is responsible for any overpayment in the event of an adverse 
decision. 
 ([6]5)  If the decision of the ALJ is adverse to the client, the 
client is not eligible for continued assistance pending any appeal of 
that decision. 
 ([7]6)  If a decision favorable to the client is rendered after a 
hearing, and payments were not made pending the decision, 
retroactive payment will be paid back to the date of the adverse 
action if the client is otherwise eligible. 
 ([8]7)  Financial assistance payments under GA or WTE, and 
CC subsidies[, except as provided in paragraph (2) above] will not 
continue during the hearing process regardless of when the appeal is 
filed. 
 ([9]8)  Financial assistance under the RRP will not extend for 
longer than the eight-month time limit for that program under any 
circumstances. 
 ([10]9)  Clients receiving financial assistance under the FEPTP 
program must continue to participate to receive financial assistance 
during the hearing process. 
 ([11]10)  Financial assistance under the FEPTP program will 
not extend for longer than the seven-month time limit for that 
program under any circumstance. 
 ([12]11)  Assistance is not allowed pending a hearing from a 
denial of an application for assistance. 
 
KEY:  employment support procedures 
[April 1, 2004]2005 
35A-3-101 et seq. 
35A-3-301 et seq. 
35A-3-401 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 
R986-700 

Child Care Assistance 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27660 
FILED:  01/15/2005, 16:16 

 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  These 
changes are to bring child care into alignment with federal 
regulations and other programs administered by the 
Department and make the program more efficient to 
administer. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Department is 
eliminating the need for cooperation with the Office of 
Recovery Services (ORS) in the establishment of paternity for 
Employment Support Child Care.  Federal regulations do not 
require cooperation in establishing paternity.  Eliminating this 
requirement will make the program easier to administer and is 
expected to affect very few customers.  The Department is 
reducing the number of changes which must be reported 
within 10 days.  All other changes will be reportable at the end 
of the certification period.  This is because most changes will 
not affect the child care payment amount and will simplify 
administration of the program.  The Department will no longer 
count assets in determining eligibility for Employment Support 
Child Care.  The federal regulations do not require us to use 
assets in determining eligibility, only income.  Determining 
assets is difficult and this change is not likely to affect many 
individuals.  Overpayment will be deducted from ongoing child 
care payments and will now be treated the same for child care 
as for food stamps except the minimum will be $10 for child 
care.  Other changes were made for clarification and because 
current rules are outdated. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-3-310 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This is a federally-funded program so 
there are no costs or savings to the state budget. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not apply to local 
government and therefore there are no costs or savings to 
local governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There are no costs or savings to any other 
persons as there are no fees associated with this program and 
it is federally funded. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no costs 
or savings to any affected persons as there are no fees 
associated with this program and it is federally funded. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no compliance costs 
associated with this change.  There are no fees associated 
with this change. It will not cost anyone any sum to comply 
with these changes.  This is a federally-funded program and 
the money is within current Department budgets to pay any 
costs associated with this change. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/17/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  John Nixon, Acting Executive Director 
 
 
 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 
R986-700-701.  Authority for Child Care Assistance (CC) and 
Other Applicable Rules. 
 (1)  The Department administers Child Care Assistance (CC) 
pursuant to the authority granted in Section 35A-3-310. 
 (2)  Rule R986-100 applies to CC except as noted in this rule. 
 (3)  Applicable provisions of R986-200 apply to CC, except as 
noted in this rule or where in conflict with this rule. 
 
R986-700-703.  Client Rights and Responsibilities. 
 In addition to the client rights and responsibilities found in 
R986-100, the following client rights and responsibilities apply: 
 (1)  A client has the right to select the type of child care which 
best meets the family's needs. 
 (2)  If a client requests help in selecting a provider, the 
Department will refer the client to the local Child Care Resource and 
Referral agency. 
 (3)  A client is responsible for monitoring the child care 
provider.  The Department will not monitor the provider. 
 (4)  A client is responsible to pay all costs of care charged by 
the provider.  If the child care assistance payment provided by the 
Department is less than the amount charged by the provider, the 
client is responsible for paying the provider the difference. 
 [(5)  In addition to the requirements for reporting other material 
changes that might affect eligibility, outlined in R986-100-113, a 
client is responsible for reporting a change in the client's need for 
child care, a change in the client's child care provider, and a change 
in the amount a provider charges for child care, to the Department 
within 10 days of the change.](5)  The only changes a client must 
report to the Department within ten days of the change occurring 
are: 
 (a)  that the household's gross monthly income exceeds the 
percentage of the state median income as determined by the 
Department in R986-700-710(3); 
 (b)  that the client is no longer in an approved training or 
educational program; 
 (c)  if the client's and/or child's schedule changes so that child 
care is no longer needed during the hours of approved employment 
and/or training activities; 
 (d)  that the client does not meet the minimum work 
requirements of an average of 15 hours per week or 15 and 30 hours 
per week when two parents are in the household and it is expected to 
continue; 
 (e)  the client is separated from his or her employment; 
 

 (f)  a change of address; 
 (g)  any of the following changes in household composition; a 
parent, stepparent, spouse, or former spouse moves into the home, a 
child receiving child care moves out of the home, or the client gets 
married; or 
 (h)  a change in the child care provider, including when care is 
provided at no cost. 
 (6)  If a material change which would result in a decrease in the 
amount of the CC payment is reported within 10 days, the decrease 
will be made effective beginning the next month and sums received 
in the month in which the change occurred will not be treated as an 
overpayment.  If it is too late to make the change to the next month's 
CC payment, the client is responsible for repayment even if the 10 
days for reporting the change has not expired  If the client fails to 
report the change within 10 days, the decrease will occur as soon as 
the Department learns of the change and the overpayment will be 
assessed back to the date of the change. 
 (7)  A client is responsible for payment to the Department of 
any overpayment made in CC.[ 
 (8)  Any client receiving any type of CC who is not receiving 
full court or ORS ordered child support must cooperate with ORS in 
obtaining child support from the absent parent.  Child support 
payments received by the client count as unearned income even if 
the payments are more than the court or ORS ordered child support. 
 If a client's case was closed for failure to cooperate with ORS it 
cannot be reopened until ORS notifies the Department that the client 
is cooperating or it is determined on appeal that the client is 
cooperating.  The requirements of this section will be satisfied if the 
client is cooperating with the appropriate agency in another state and 
can provide the Department with verification of the client's 
continuing cooperation with the other state.  If the other state agency 
has not been successful in collecting child support, the Department 
may require that the client request that the client's case be closed in 
the other state and that the client cooperate with ORS. 
 (9)  All clients receiving CC must cooperate in good faith with 
the Department in establishing paternity unless there is good cause 
for not cooperating.] 
 ([10]8)  If the client has failed to provide all necessary 
information and the child care provider requests information about 
payment of CC to the client, the Department is authorized to inform 
the provider that further information is needed before payment can 
be determined. 
 ([11]9)  The Department may also release the following 
information to the designated provider: 
 (a)  limited information regarding the status of a CC payment 
including that no payment was issued or services were denied; 
 (b)  information contained on the Form 980; 
 (c)  the date the child care subsidy was issued; 
 (d)  the subsidy amount for that provider; 
 (e)  the subsidy deduction amount; 
 (f)  the date a two party check was mailed to the client; and 
 (g)  a copy of the two party check on a need to know basis. 
 ([12]10)  If child care funds are issued on the Horizon Card 
(electronic benefit transfer) unused child care funds will be removed 
from the Horizon Card 60 days after the last child care 
transaction/transfer occurred ("aged off") and will no longer be 
available to the client. 
 
R986-700-704.  Establishment of Paternity. 
 [(1)  If ORS notifies the Department that a client is not 
cooperating with the establishment of paternity, the client may 
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appeal to a Department ALJ by following the procedures for 
hearings set forth in R986-100. 
 (2)  The ALJ will make a determination on the question of 
whether or not the client is making a good faith effort to cooperate 
based on the same criteria ORS uses in FEP cases. 
 (3)  The procedure and rules for establishing good cause for not 
cooperating in the establishment of paternity are the same as in 
R986-200.  If the client appeals both a good faith determination and 
alleges good cause for not cooperating, the ALJ will join the two 
issues together and make a decision on the questions of good faith 
and good cause at the same hearing. 
 (4)  The provisions of R986-200-208(12) do not apply to ES 
CC.]The provisions of rules R986-100 and R986-200 pertaining to 
cooperation with ORS in the establishment of paternity and 
collection of child support do not apply to ES CC. 
 
R986-700-705.  Eligible Providers and Provider Settings. 
 (1)  The Department will only pay CC to clients who select 
eligible providers.  The only eligible providers are: 
 (a)  licensed and accredited providers: 
 (i)  licensed homes; 
 (ii)  licensed family group homes; and 
 (iii)  licensed child care centers. 
 (b)  license exempt providers who are not required by law to be 
licensed and are either; 
 (i)  license exempt centers; or 
 (ii)  related to the client and/or the child. Related under this 
paragraph means: siblings who are at least 18 years of age and who 
live in a different residence than the parent, grandparents, step 
grandparents, aunts, step aunts, uncles, step uncles or people of prior 
generations of grandparents, aunts, or uncles, as designated by the 
prefix grand, great, great-great, or great-great-great or persons who 
meet any of the above relationships even if the marriage has been 
terminated. 
 (c)  homes with a Residential Certificate obtained from the 
Bureau of Licensing.[ 
 (2)  All clients who were receiving child care prior to January 
1, 2001, will be granted a grace period in which to find an eligible 
provider.  The length of the grace period will be determined by the 
Department but in no event will it extend later than June 30, 2001.] 
 ([3]2)  If a new client has a provider who is providing child 
care at the time the client applies for child care assistance or has 
provided child care in the past and has an established relationship 
with the child(ren), but the provider is not currently eligible, the 
client may receive child care assistance for a period not to exceed 
three months if the provider is willing to become an eligible provider 
and actively pursues eligibility. 
 ([4]3)  The Department may, on a case by case basis, grant an 
exception and pay for CC when an eligible provider is not available: 
 (a)  within a reasonable distance from the client's home.  A 
reasonable distance, for the purpose of this exception only, will be 
determined by the transportation situation of the parent and child 
care availability in the community where the parent resides; or 
 (b)  because a child in the home has special needs which cannot 
be otherwise accommodated; or 
 (c)  which will accommodate the hours when the client needs 
child care; or 
 (d)  if the provider lives in an area where the Department of 
Health lacks jurisdiction, which includes tribal lands, to provide 
licensing or certification; or 

 ([5]4)  If an eligible provider is available, an exception may be 
granted in the event of unusual or extraordinary circumstances but 
only with the approval of a Department supervisor. 
 ([6]5)  If an exception is granted under paragraph (4) or (5) 
above, the exception will be reviewed at each of the client's review 
dates to determine if an exception is still appropriate. 
 ([7]6)  License exempt providers must register with the 
Department and agree to maintain minimal health and safety criteria 
by signing a certification before payment to the client can be 
approved.  The minimum criteria are that: 
 (a)  the provider be at least 18 years of age and physically and 
mentally capable of providing care to children; 
 (b)  the provider's home is equipped with hot and cold running 
water, toilet facilities, and is clean and safe from hazardous items 
which could cause injury to a child.  This applies to outdoor areas as 
well; 
 (c)  there are working smoke detectors and fire extinguishers on 
all floors of the house where children are provided care; 
 (d)  there are no individuals residing in the home who have a 
conviction for a misdemeanor which is an offense against a person, 
or any felony conviction, or have been subject to a supported finding 
of child abuse or neglect by the Utah Department of Human 
Services, Division of Child and Family Services or a court; 
 (e)  there is a telephone in operating condition with a list of 
emergency numbers located next to the phone which includes the 
phone numbers for poison control and for the parents of each child 
in care; 
 (f)  food will be provided to the child in care of sufficient 
amount and nutritional value to provide the average daily nutrient 
intake required.  Food supplies will be maintained to prevent 
spoilage or contamination.  Any allergies will be noted and care 
given to ensure that the child in care is protected from exposure to 
those items; and 
 (g)  the child in care will be immunized as required by the Utah 
Immunization Act and; 
 (h)  good hand washing practices will be maintained to 
discourage infection and contamination. 
 ([8]7)  The following providers are not eligible for receipt of a 
CC payment: 
 (a)  a member of household assistance unit who is receiving one 
or more of the following assistance payments: FEP, FEPTP, 
diversion assistance or food stamps for any child in that household 
assistance unit.  The person may, however, be paid as a provider for 
a child in a different household assistance unit; 
 (b)  a sibling of the child living in the home; 
 (c)  household members whose income must be counted in 
determining eligibility for CC; 
 (d)  a parent, foster care parent, stepparent or former stepparent, 
even if living in another residence; 
 (e)  illegal aliens; 
 (f)  persons under age 18; 
 (g)  a provider providing care for the child in another state; and 
 (h)  a provider who has committed fraud as a provider, as 
determined by the Department or by a court. 
 
R986-700-710.  Income [and Asset ]Limits for ES CC. 
 (1)  Rule R986-200 is used to determine: 
 (a)  who must be included in the household assistance unit for 
determining whose income [and assets ]must be counted to establish 
eligibility.  In some circumstances, determining household 
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composition for a ES CC household is different from determining 
household composition for a FEP or FEPTP household[ as defined 
by policy].  ES CC follows the parent and the child, not just the 
child so, for example, if a parent in the household is ineligible, the 
entire ES CC household is ineligible.  A specified relative may not 
opt out of the household assistance unit when determining eligibility 
for CC.  The income [and assets ]of the specified relatives in the 
household must be counted.  The income [and assets ]of some 
household members in multi-generational households is counted in 
full instead of being deemed as in FEP or FEPTP; 
 (b)  what is counted as income [and assets ]except: 
 (i)  [one automobile is exempt for each household member 
participating in work and/or training if it is needed for employment, 
used for transportation to and from that work and/or training or if the 
client is living in the automobile; 
 (ii)  the asset limit for ES CC is $8,000 after allowable 
deductions; 
 (iii)  ]the earned income of a[n] minor child who is not a parent 
is not counted; and 
 ([iv]ii)  child support, including in kind child support payments, 
[are]is counted as unearned income, even if it exceeds the court or 
ORS ordered amount of child support, if the payments are made 
directly to the client.  If the child support payments are paid to a 
third party, only the amount up to the court or ORS ordered child 
support amount is counted.[ 
 (v)  the value of the lot on which the exempt home, referenced 
in R996-200-231, stands is exempt even if it exceeds the average 
size of residential lots for the community in which it is located; 
 (vi)  all irrevocable burial plans are exempt.  A revocable burial 
plan is exempt up to $1500 per household member; and 
 (vii)  real and personal income producing property, including 
rental property, is exempt as an asset if the property produces a 
reasonable return for its fair market value.] 
 (c)  how to estimate income. 
 (2)  The following income deductions are the only deductions 
allowed on a monthly basis: 
 (a)  the first $50 of child support received by the family; 
 (b)  court ordered and verified child support and alimony paid 
out by the household; 
 (c)  $100 for each person with countable earned income; and 
 (d)  a $100 medical deduction.  The medical deduction is 
automatic and does not require proof of expenditure. 
 (3)  The household's countable income, less applicable 
deductions in paragraph (2) above, must be at, or below, a 
percentage of the state median income as determined by the 
Department.  The Department will make adjustments to the 
percentage of the state median income as funding permits.  The 
percentage currently in use is available at the Department's 
administrative office. 
 (4)  Charts establishing income limits and the subsidy 
deduction amounts are available at all local Department offices. 
 (5)  An independent living grant paid by DHS to a minor parent 
is not counted as income. 
 
R986-700-715.  Overpayments. 
 (1)  An overpayment occurs when a client or provider received 
CC for which they were not eligible.  If the Department fails to 
establish one or more of the eligibility criteria and through no fault 

of the client, payments are made, it will not be considered to have 
been an overpayment if the client would have been eligible and the 
amount of the subsidy would not have been affected.[  If the 
eligibility criteria is cooperation with ORS and the client is not in 
compliance, through no fault of her own, even if the client refuses to 
cooperate at the time the mistake is discovered, payments made prior 
to the discovery of the mistake are not considered to have been an 
overpayment.] 
 (2)  If the overpayment was because the client committed fraud, 
including forging a provider's name on a two party CC check, the 
client will be responsible for repayment of the resulting 
overpayment and will be disqualified from further receipt of CC: 
 (a)  for a period of one year for the first occurrence of fraud; 
 (b)  for a period of two years for the second occurrence of 
fraud; and 
 (c)  for life for the third occurrence of fraud.[ 
 (3)  If a client receives an overpayment but was not at fault in 
creating the overpayment, the client will be responsible for 
repayment but there is no disqualification or ineligibility period even 
if the client is considered by ORS to be not cooperating in 
repayment.] 
 ([4]3)  If the client was at fault in the creation of an 
overpayment for any reason other than fraud in paragraph (2) above, 
the client will be responsible for repayment of the 
overpayment.[given an opportunity to repay the overpayment 
without a disqualification or ineligibility period for the first 
occurrence.  If there is a second fault overpayment for reasons other 
than fraud in (3) above and the first overpayment has not been paid 
off, the client will be ineligible for CC until both overpayments have 
been satisfied.  If the second overpayment occurred after the first 
overpayment was repaid in full, the second overpayment will not 
result in disqualification or ineligibility.]  There is no 
disqualification or ineligibility period for a fault overpayment. 
 (4)  All child care overpayments must be repaid to the 
Department.  Overpayments may be deducted from ongoing child 
care payments for clients who are receiving child care.  If the 
Department is a fault in the creation of an overpayment, the 
Department will deduct $10 from each month's child care payment 
unless the client requests a larger amount. 
 (5)  CC will be terminated if a client fails to cooperate with the 
Department's efforts to investigate [and collect ]alleged 
overpayments.[ 
 (6)  These disqualification and ineligibility periods are in lieu 
of, and not in addition to, the disqualification periods found in R986-
100-117.] 
 ([7]6)  If the Department has reason to believe an overpayment 
has occurred and it is likely that the client will be determined to be 
disqualified or ineligible as a result of the overpayment, payment of 
future CC may be withheld, at the discretion of the Department, to 
offset any overpayment which may be determined. 
 
KEY:  child care 
[July 1, 2004]2005 
35A-3-310 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency 
to respond to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only 
those changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  
Additions made to the rule appear underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with 
brackets surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · ·) indicates that unaffected text was 
removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules 
will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print is available from the agency or from the 
Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
While a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE does not have a formal comment period, there is a 30-day waiting period during 
which interested parties may submit comments.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
published in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends March 17, 2005.  At its option, the agency may hold public 
hearings. 
 
From the end of the waiting period through June 15, 2005, the agency may notify the Division of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor 
more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may 
file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Division of 
Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the 
process over. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-6 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code 
Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, R15-4-7, and R15-4-9. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-17b 
Pharmacy Practice Act Rules 

 
NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 

DAR File No.:  27529 
Filed:  01/27/2005, 14:03 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Following a 
public rule hearing and further review by the Division and the 
Pharmacy Board, additional amendments are being proposed. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Throughout the rule, 
various grammatical and spelling changes have been made.  
In Section R156-17b-102, added a definition for "Internet 
pharmacy" and renumbered the remaining subsections.  In 
Section R156-17b-301, revised that a Class A pharmacy also 
includes pharmacies located in Utah that fill from Internet 
prescriptions.  In Subsection R156-17b-301(4)(b) regarding 
Class D pharmacies, deleted that Internet pharmacies must 
meet VIPPS (Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites) 
standards and criteria as established by NABP(National 
Association of Boards of Pharmacy) as this requirement is 
now contained in the definition of "Internet pharmacy" in 
Section R156-17b-102.  In Subsection R156-17b-301(5) 
regarding Class E pharmacies, deleted dog trainers, animal 
euthanasia agency and pharmaceutical research facility .  In 
Subsection R156-17b-306(4)(e), deleted the incorporated by 
reference statement regarding the Pharmacy Coordinating 
Council of Utah Internship Competencies, dated October 12, 
2004, and referred to the document as information about a 
range of best practices for training interns.  In Section R156-
17b-502, deleted that failing to wear a name tag or badge 
while working in any pharmaceutical facility is considered 
unprofessional conduct.  In Section R156-17b-602, reworded 
this entire section so that it is easier to understand.  Updated 
Subsection R156-17b-612(13) by deleting "legend drugs" 
regarding the transfer of prescriptions.  In Subsection R156-
17b-614d(5), deleted that the pharmacist shall be currently 
certified by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties in Nuclear 
Pharmacy.  Deleted Subsection R156-17b-616(2) regarding 
an Internet pharmacy as that information is now contained in 
the definition added in Section R156-17b-102.  Deleted 
Section R156-17b-617a regarding operating standards for 
Class E pharmacy/animal euthanasia agency and Section 
617b regarding operating standards for Class E 
pharmacy/pharmaceutical dog trainer.  Under Subsection 
R156-17b-619(4), added subsection (b) which provides that 
written policies and procedures shall be in place prior to 
installation to ensure safety, accuracy, security, training of 
personnel, and patient confidentiality and to define access and 
limits to access to equipment and medications.  This 
subsection was inadvertently left out in the original rule filing.  
(DAR NOTE:  This change in proposed rule has been filed to 
make additional changes to a proposed new rule that was 
published in the December 1, 2004, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 20.  Underlining in the rule below indicates 

text that has been added since the publication of the proposed 
rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the change in proposed rule and the 
proposed new rule together to understand all of the changes 
that will be enforceable should the agency make this rule 
effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 58-17b-101 and 58-37-1; and Subsections 
58-17b-601(1), 58-1-106(1)(a), and 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Deletes the Pharmacy Coordinating 
Council of Utah Internship Competencies, dated October 
12, 2004 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division does not anticipate any 
additional costs or savings to the State beyond those 
previously identified in the original rule filing as a result of 
these proposed amendments. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This change in proposed rule does 
not affect local governments.  The rule only affects licensed 
pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy technicians and 
pharmacies.  Therefore, there is no anticipated costs or 
savings to local governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  As a result of these additional 
amendments, dog trainers, animal euthanasia agencies, and 
pharmaceutical research facilities will recognize a savings of 
$200 per applicant in that they are no longer required to obtain 
a pharmacy license in addition to their controlled substance 
handler license which is required under the Utah Controlled 
Substances Act.  The Division is unable to determine an 
aggregate savings as we are unable to determine how many 
persons/agencies would meet the above criteria. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  As a result of 
these additional amendments, dog trainers, animal euthanasia 
agencies, and pharmaceutical research facilities will recognize 
a savings of $200 per applicant in that they are no longer 
required to obtain a pharmacy license in addition to their 
controlled substance handler license which is required under 
the Utah Controlled Substances Act. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This change in proposed rule 
creates a positive fiscal impact to dog trainers, animal 
euthanasia agencies, and pharmaceutical research facilities, 
who are no longer required to obtain a pharmacy license in 
addition to their controlled substance handler licenses under 
Section 58-37-1, et seq. (the Controlled Substances Act).  
Otherwise, this change in proposed rule does not pose any 
additional fiscal impact concerns beyond those discussed in 
the original rule filing.  Jason P. Perry, Acting Executive 
Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Diana Baker at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6179, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dbaker@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/22/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE: 
3/22/2005 at 9:00 AM, 160 E 300 S, Conference Room 4A, 
Salt Lake City, UT 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/23/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-17b.  Pharmacy Practice Act Rules. 
R156-17b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 17b, as 
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 17b or these rules: 
 (1)  "ACPE" means the American Council on Pharmaceutical 
Education or Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. 
 (2)  "Drugs", as used in these rules, means drugs or devices. 
 (3)  "Dispense", as defined in Subsection 58-17b-102(23), does 
not include transferring medications for a patient from a legally 
dispensed prescription for that particular patient into a daily or 
weekly drug container to facilitate the patient taking the correct 
medication. 
 (4)  "Drug therapy management" means the review of a drug 
therapy regimen of a patient by one or more pharmacists for the 
purpose of evaluating and rendering advice to one or more 
practitioners regarding adjustment of the regimen. 
 (5)  "High-risk, medium-risk, and low-risk drugs" refers to the 
risk to a patient's health from compounding sterile preparations, as 
referred to in USP-NF Chapter 797, for details of determining risk 
level. 
 (6)  "Hospice facility pharmacy" means a pharmacy that 
supplies drugs to patients in a licensed healthcare facility for 
terminal patients. 
 (7)  "Hospital clinic pharmacy" means a pharmacy that is 
located in an outpatient treatment area where a pharmacist or 
pharmacy intern is compounding, admixing, or dispensing 
prescription drugs, and where: 
 (a)  prescription drugs or devices are under the control of the 
pharmacist, or the facility for administration to patients of that 
facility; 

 (b)  prescription drugs or devices are dispensed by the 
pharmacist or pharmacy intern; or 
 (c)  prescription drugs are administered in accordance with the 
order of a practitioner by an employee or agent of the facility. 
 (8)  "Internet pharmacy" means a pharmacy licensed as either a 
Class A or Class D pharmacy that meets the VIPPS criteria as 
established by NABP and provides the following services via an 
Internet website, regardless of the quantum of the services: 
 (a)  receives and fills valid prescription orders from a 
prescriber; or 
 (b)  receives and fills refill requests from a patient who has a 
valid prescription order. 
 ([8]9)  "Legend drug" means any drug or device that has been 
determined to be unsafe for self-medication or any drug or device 
that bears or is required to bear the legend: 
 (a)  "Caution: federal law prohibits dispensing without 
prescription"; 
 (b)  "Caution: federal law restricts this drug to use by or on the 
order of a licensed veterinarian"; or 
 (c)  "Rx only". 
 ([9]10)  "Maintenance medications" means medications the 
patient takes on an ongoing basis. 
 ([10]11)  "MPJE" means the Multistate Jurisprudence 
Examination. 
 ([11]12)  "NABP"  means the National Association of Boards 
of Pharmacy. 
 ([12]13)  "NAPLEX"  means North American Pharmacy 
Licensing Examination. 
 ([13]14)  "Parenteral" means a method of drug delivery injected 
into body tissues but not via the gastrointestinal tract. 
 ([14]15)  "PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician 
Certification Board. 
 ([15]16)  "Qualified continuing education", as used in these 
rules, means continuing education that meets the standards set forth 
in Section R156-17b-309. 
 ([16]17)  "Sterile products preparation facility" means any 
facility, or portion of the facility, that compounds sterile products 
using aseptic technique. 
 ([17]18)  "Unauthorized personnel" means any person who is 
not participating in the operational processes of the pharmacy who 
in some way would interrupt the natural flow of pharmaceutical 
care. 
 ([18]19)  "Unit dose" means the ordered amount of a drug in a 
dosage form prepared for a one-time administration to an individual 
and indicates the name, strength, lot number and expiration date for 
the drug. 
 ([19]20)  "Unprofessional conduct", as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 17b, is further defined, in accordance with 
Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section R156-17b-502. 
 ([20]21)  "USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-
National Formulary (USP 28-NF 23), 2004 edition, which is official 
from January 1, 2005, which is hereby adopted and incorporated by 
reference. 
 ([21]22)  "VIPPS" means Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice 
Sites.  Pharmacies displaying the VIPPS seal have demonstrated to 
NABP their compliance with VIPPS criteria including patient rights 
to privacy, authentication and security of prescription orders, 
adherence to a recognized quality assurance policy, and provision of 
meaningful consultation between patients and pharmacists.  The 
VIPPS Criteria document, dated September 14, 2004, as established 
by NABP is adopted and incorporated by reference. 
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R156-17b-301.  Pharmacy Licensure Classifications - 
Pharmacist-in-Charge Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-302(4), the classification 
of pharmacies holding licenses are clarified as: 
 (1)  Class A pharmacy includes all retail operations, including 
[in-state Internet ]pharmacies located in Utah that fill from Internet 
prescriptions, and requires a pharmacist-in-charge. 
 (2)  Class B pharmacy includes an institutional pharmacy that 
provides services to a target population unique to the needs of the 
healthcare services required by the patient.  All Class B pharmacies 
require a pharmacist-in-charge except for pharmaceutical 
administration facilities.  Examples of Class B pharmacies include: 
 (a)  closed door; 
 (b)  hospital clinic pharmacy; 
 (c)  nuclear; 
 (d)  branch; 
 (e)  hospice facility pharmacy; 
 (f)  veterinarian pharmaceutical facility; 
 (g)  pharmaceutical administration facility; and 
 (h)  sterile product preparation facility. 
 (i)  A retail pharmacy that prepares sterile products does not 
require a separate license as a Class B pharmacy. 
 (3)  Class C pharmacy includes all pharmacies that are involved 
in: 
 (a)  manufacturing; 
 (b)  producing; 
 (c)  wholesaling; and 
 (d)  distributing 
 (4)  Class D pharmacy includes non-resident pharmacies 
located outside the state of Utah.  Class D pharmacies require a 
pharmacist-in-charge licensed in the state where the pharmacy is 
located.  Class D pharmacies include: 
 (a)  Out-of-state mail order pharmacies.  Facilities that have 
multiple locations must have licenses for each facility and every 
component part of a facility; and 
 (b)  Out-of-state Internet pharmacies.[  Internet pharmacies 
must meet VIPPS standard and criteria as established by NABP.] 
 (5)  Class E pharmacy includes those pharmacies that do not 
require a pharmacist-in-charge and include: 
 (a)  medical gases providers; and 
 (b)  analytical laboratories[y; 
 (c)  dog trainers; 
 (d)  animal euthanasia agency; and 
 (e)  pharmaceutical research facility.  Individual researchers 
who do not have prescriptive practice must have a controlled 
substances handler license]. 
 (6)  All pharmacy licenses will be converted to the appropriate 
classification by the Division [and ]as identified in Section 58-17b-
302. 
 (7)  Each Class A and each Class B pharmacy required to have 
a pharmacist-in-charge shall have one pharmacist-in-charge who is 
employed on a full-time basis as defined by the employer, who acts 
as a pharmacist-in-charge for one pharmacy.  However, the 
pharmacist-in-charge may be the pharmacist-in-charge of more than 
one Class A pharmacy, if the additional Class A pharmacies are not 
open to provide pharmacy services simultaneously. 
 (8)  The pharmacist-in-charge shall comply with the provisions 
of Section R156-17b-603. 
 

R156-17b-304.  Licensure - Education Requirements. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-303(2) and 58-17b-
304(7)(c), the credentialing agency recognized to provide 
certification and evaluate equivalency of a foreign educated 
pharmacy graduate is the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination 
Committee of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 
Foundation, or an equivalent credentialing agency as approved by 
the Division. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-304(6), the 
preliminary education qualification for licensure as a pharmacy 
intern include: 
 (a)  a current pharmacy student who has completed at least 15 
semester hours of pharmacy course work in a college or school of 
pharmacy accredited by the ACPE; 
 (b)  a graduate who has received a degree from a school or 
college of pharmacy which is accredited by the ACPE; or 
 (c)  a graduate of a foreign pharmacy school who has received a 
certificate of equivalency from an approved credentialing agency 
defined in Subsection (1). 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-305(1)(f), a 
pharmacy technician must complete an approved program of 
education and training that meets the following standards: 
 (a)  The didactic training program must be approved by the 
Division in collaboration with the Board and must address, at a 
minimum, the following topics: 
 (i)  legal aspects of pharmacy practice including federal and 
state laws and rules governing practice; 
 (ii)  hygiene and [aspectic]aseptic techniques; 
 (iii)  terminology, abbreviations and symbols; 
 (iv)  pharmaceutical calculations; 
 (v)  identification of drugs by trade and generic names, and 
therapeutic classifications; 
 (vi)  filling of orders and prescriptions including packaging and 
labeling; 
 (vii)  ordering, restocking, and maintaining drug inventory; 
 (viii)  computer applications in the pharmacy; and 
 (ix)  non-prescription products including[, but not limited to,] 
cough and cold, nutritional, analgesics, allergy, diabetic testing 
supplies, first aid, ophthalmic, family planning, foot, feminine 
hygiene, gastrointestinal preparations, and pharmacy care over-the-
counter drugs, except those over-the-counter drugs that are 
prescribed by a practitioner. 
 (b)  This training program's curriculum and a copy of the final 
examination shall be submitted to the Division for approval by the 
Board prior to starting any training session with a pharmacy 
technician in training.  The final examination must include questions 
covering each of the topics listed in Subsection (3)(a) above. 
 (c)  Approval must be granted by the Division in collaboration 
with the Board before a student may start a program of study.  
Specific guidelines include: 
 (i)  an individual currently participating in a program of study 
that was approved prior to July 1, 2004, must complete the program 
by April 1, 2005 to be eligible for licensure. 
 (ii)  a training program that accepts an individual into a 
program on or after January 1, 2005 must submit a copy of the 
curriculum no later than November 1, 2004 and have the program 
approved by the Division in collaboration with the Board. 
 (iii)  an individual who completes a non-approved program is 
not eligible for licensure. 
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 (d)  The training program must require at least 180 hours of 
practical training supervised by a licensed pharmacist in good 
standing with the Division and must include written protocols and 
guidelines for the teaching pharmacist outlining the utilization and 
supervision of pharmacy technicians in training that includes: 
 (i)  the specific manner in which supervision will be completed; 
and 
 (ii[i])  an evaluative procedure to verify the accuracy and 
completeness of all acts, tasks and functions performed by the 
pharmacy technician in training. 
 (e)  An individual must complete an approved training program 
and successfully pass the required examinations as listed in 
Subsection R156-17b-302(3) within one year from the date of the 
first day of the training program, unless otherwise approved by the 
Division in collaboration with the Board. 
 (4)  An applicant for licensure as a pharmacy technician is 
deemed to have met the qualification for licensure in Subsection 58-
17b-305(f) if the applicant: 
 (a)  is currently licensed and in good standing in another state 
and has not had any adverse action taken on that license; 
 (b)  has engaged in the practice as a pharmacy technician for a 
minimum of 1,000 hours or equivalent experience as approved by 
the Division in collaboration with the Board; and 
 (c)  has passed and maintained current the PTCB certification 
and passed the Utah law exam. 
 
R156-17b-306.  Licensure - Pharmacist - Pharmacy Internship 
Standards. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-303(1)(g), the 
standards for the pharmacy internship required for licensure as a 
pharmacist include the following: 
 (a)  At least 1500 hours of practice supervised by a pharmacy 
preceptor shall be obtained in Utah or another state or territory of the 
United States, or a combination of both. 
 (i)  Internship hours completed in Utah shall include at least 
360 hours but not more than 900 hours in a college coordinated 
practical experience program as an integral part of the curriculum 
which shall include a minimum of 120 hours in each of the 
following practices: 
 (A)  community pharmacy; 
 (B)  institutional pharmacy; and 
 (C)  any clinical setting. 
 (ii)  Internship hours completed in another state or territory of 
the United States shall be accepted based on the approval of the 
hours by the pharmacy board in the jurisdiction where the hours 
were obtained. 
 (b)  Evidence of completed internship hours shall be 
documented to the Division by the pharmacy intern at the time 
application is made for a Utah pharmacist license. 
 (c)  Pharmacy interns participating in internships may be 
credited no more than 50 hours per week of internship experience. 
 (d)  No credit will be awarded for didactic experience. 
 (2)  If a pharmacy intern is suspended or dismissed from an 
approved College of Pharmacy, the intern must notify the Division 
within 15 days of the suspension or dismissal. 
 (3)  If a pharmacy intern ceases to meet all requirements for 
intern licensure, he shall surrender his pharmacy intern license to the 
Division within 60 days unless an extension is required and granted 
by the Division in collaboration with the Board. 
 (4)  In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-102(51), to be an 
approved preceptor, a pharmacist must meet the following criteria: 

 (a)  hold a Utah pharmacist license that is active and in good 
standing; 
 (b)  have been engaged in active practice as a licensed 
pharmacist for not less than two years in any jurisdiction; 
 (c)  is not currently under any sanction nor has been under any 
sanction at any time which when considered by the Division and the 
Board would be of such a nature that the best interests of the intern 
and the public would not be served. 
 (d)  shall provide direct, on-site supervision to only one 
pharmacy intern during a working shift; and 
 (e)  [should follow internship]refer to the intern training 
guidelines as outlined in the Pharmacy Coordinating Council of 
Utah Internship Competencies, October 12, 2004, [which is hereby 
adopted and incorporated by reference]as information about a range 
of best practices for training interns. 
 
R156-17b-309.  Continuing Education. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-17b-310 and Subsections 
58-1-203(1)(g) and 58-1-308(3)(b), there is created a requirement 
for continuing education as a condition for renewal or reinstatement 
of a pharmacist or pharmacy technician license issued under Title 
58, Chapter 17b. 
 (2)  Requirements shall consist of the following number of 
qualified continuing education hours in each preceding renewal 
period: 
 (a)  30 hours for a pharmacist; and 
 (b)  20 hours for a pharmacy technician. 
 (3)  The required number of hours of qualified continuing 
professional education for an individual who first becomes licensed 
during the two year renewal cycle shall be decreased in a pro-rata 
amount equal to any part of that two year period preceding the date 
on which that individual first became licensed. 
 (4)  Qualified continuing professional education hours shall 
consist of the following: 
 (a)  for pharmacists: 
 (i)  institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, workshops, 
various forms of mediated instruction, and programmed learning 
courses, presented by an institution, individual, organization, 
association, corporation or agency that has been approved by ACPE; 
 (ii)  programs approved by health-related continuing education 
approval organizations provided the continuing education is 
nationally recognized by a healthcare accrediting agency and the 
education is related to the practice of pharmacy; and 
 (iii)  programs of certification by qualified individuals, such as 
certified diabetes educator credentials, board certification in 
advanced therapeutic disease management or other certification as 
approved by the Division in consultation with the Board. 
 (b)  for pharmacy technicians: 
 (i)  institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, workshops, 
various forms of mediated instruction, and programmed learning 
courses, presented by an institution, individual, organization, 
association, corporation or agency that has been approved by ACPE; 
 (ii)  programs approved by health-related continuing education 
approval organizations provided the continuing education is 
nationally recognized by a healthcare accrediting agency and the 
education is related to the practice of pharmacy; and 
 (iii)  educational meetings that meet ACPE continuing 
education criteria sponsored by the Utah Pharmaceutical 
Association, the Utah Society of Health-System Pharmacists or a 
pharmacy technician training program approved in accordance with 
Subsection R156-17b-304(3)(b). 
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 (5)  Credit for qualified continuing professional education shall 
be recognized in accordance with the following: 
 (a)  Pharmacists: 
 (i)  a minimum of 12 hours shall be obtained through 
attendance at live or technology enabled participation lectures, 
seminars or workshops; 
 (ii)  a minimum of 15 hours shall be in drug therapy or patient 
management; and 
 (iii)  a minimum of one hour shall be in pharmacy law [and]or 
ethics. 
 (b)  Pharmacy Technicians: 
 (i)  a minimum of eight hours shall be obtained through 
attendance at live or technology enabled participation at lectures, 
seminars or workshops; and 
 (ii)  a minimum of one hour shall be in pharmacy law [and]or 
ethics. 
 (iii)  documentation of current Pharmacy Technician 
Certification Board certification will count as meeting the 
requirement for continuing education. 
 (6)  A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining competent 
records of completed qualified continuing professional education for 
a period of four years after the close of the two year period to which 
the records pertain.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to 
maintain such information with respect to qualified continuing 
professional education to demonstrate it meets the requirements 
under this section. 
 
R156-17b-402.  Administrative Penalties. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-401(6), unless otherwise 
ordered by the presiding officer, the following fine and citation 
schedule shall apply. 
 (1)  Preventing or refusing to permit any authorized agent of the 
Division to conduct an inspection: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $5,000 
 (2)  Failing to deliver the license or permit or certificate to the 
Division upon demand: 
 initial offense: $100 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $500 - $2,000 
 (3)  Using the title pharmacist, druggist, pharmacy intern, 
pharmacy technician or any other term having a similar meaning or 
any term having similar meaning when not licensed to do so: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (4)  Conducting or transacting business under a name which 
contains as part of that name the words drugstore, pharmacy, drugs, 
medicine store, medicines, drug shop, apothecary, prescriptions or 
any other term having a similar meaning or in any manner 
advertising otherwise describing or referring to the place of the 
conducted business or profession when not licensed to do so: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (5)  Buying, selling, causing to be sold, or offering for sale any 
drug or device which bears the inscription sample, not for resale, 
investigational purposes, or experimental use only or other similar 
words: 
 initial offense: $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $10,000 
 (6)  Using to the licensee's own advantage or revealing to 
anyone other than the Division, Board or its authorized 

representatives, any information acquired under the authority of this 
chapter concerning any method or process which is a trade secret: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (7)  Illegally procuring or attempting to procure any drug for 
the licensee or to have someone else procure or attempt to procure a 
drug: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (8)  Filling, refilling or advertising the filling or refilling of 
prescription drugs when not licensed do to so: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (9)  Requiring any employed pharmacist, pharmacy intern, 
pharmacy technician or authorized supportive personnel to engage in 
any conduct in violation of this chapter: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,500 - $10,000 
 (10)  Being in possession of a drug for an unlawful purpose: 
 initial offense: $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $1,500 - $5,000 
 (11)  Dispensing a prescription drug to anyone who does not 
have a prescription from a practitioner or to anyone who is known or 
should be known as attempting to obtain drugs by fraud or 
misrepresentation: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,500 - $10,000 
 (12)  Selling, dispensing or otherwise trafficking in prescription 
drugs when not licensed to do so or when not exempted from 
licensure: 
 initial offense: $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $10,000 
 (13)  Using a prescription drug or controlled substance for the 
licensee that was not lawfully prescribed for the licensee by a 
practitioner: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $1,000 - $2,5000 
 (14)  Willfully deceiving or attempting to deceive the Division, 
the Board or its authorized agents as to any relevant matter regarding 
compliance under this chapter: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,500 - $10,000 
 (15)  Paying rebates to practitioners or any other health care 
provider, or entering into any agreement with a medical practitioner 
or any other person for the payment or acceptance of compensation 
for recommending the professional services of either party: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,500 - $10,000 
 (16)  Misbranding or adulteration of any drug or device or the 
sale, distribution or dispensing of any outdated, misbranded, or 
adulterated drugs or devices: 
 initial offense: $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $10,000 
 (17)  Accepting back and redistributing any unused drugs, with 
the exception as provided in Section 58-17b-503: 
 initial offense: $1,000 - $5,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $10,000 
 (18)  Violating Federal Title II, PL 91, Controlled Substances 
Act or Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances Act, or 
rules and regulations adopted under either act: 
 



NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 27529 

 
36 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 4 

 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,500 - $10,000 
 (19)  Failure to follow USP-NF Chapter 797 guidelines: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s) $2,500 - $10,000 
 (20)  Failure to follow USP-NF Chapter 795 guidelines: 
 initial offense: $250 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $500 - $750 
 (21)  Administering without appropriate guidelines or lawful 
order: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (22)  Disclosing confidential patient information in violation of 
the provision of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act of 1996 or other applicable law: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $500 - $1,000 
 (23)  Engaging in the practice of pharmacy without a licensed 
pharmacist designated as the pharmacist in charge: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (24)  Failing to report to the Division any adverse action taken 
by another licensing jurisdiction, government agency, law 
enforcement agency or court: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $500 - $1,000 
 (25)  Compounding a prescription drug for sale to another 
pharmaceutical facility: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $500 - $1,000 
 (26)  Preparing a prescription drug in a dosage form which is 
regularly and commonly available from a manufacturer in quantities 
and strengths prescribed by a practitioner: 
 initial offense: $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,500 - $5,000 
 (27)  Violating any ethical code provision of the American 
Pharmaceutical Association Code of Ethics for Pharmacists, October 
27, 1994: 
 initial offense: $250 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (29)  Failing to comply with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in these rules: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $500 - $1,000 
 (29)  Failing to provide the Division with a current mailing 
address within 10 days following any change of address: 
 initial offense: $50 - $100 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $300 
 (30)  Defaulting on a student loan: 
 initial offense: $100 - $200 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $500 
 (31)  Failing to abide by all applicable federal and state law 
regarding the practice of pharmacy: 
 initial offense: $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (32)  Failing to comply with administrative inspections: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (33)  Abandoning a pharmacy and/or leaving drugs accessible 
to the public: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 

 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (34)  Failure to return or providing false information on a self-
inspection report: 
 initial offense: $100 - $250 
 subsequent offense(s): $300 - $500 
 (35)  Failure to pay an administrative fine: 
 Double the original penalty amount up to $10,000 
 (36)  Any other conduct which constitutes unprofessional or 
unlawful conduct: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (37)  Failure to wear a name tag: 
 Individual initial: $50 
 Subsequent offense: $100 
 Pharmacy any offense: $100 - $200 
 (38)  Failure to maintain an appropriate ratio of personnel: 
 Pharmacist initial offense: $100 - $250 
 Pharmacist subsequent offense(s): $500 - $2,500 
 Pharmacy initial offense: $250 - $1,000 
 Pharmacy subsequent offense(s): $500 - $5,000 
 (39)  Unauthorized people in the pharmacy: 
 Pharmacist initial offense: $50 - $100 
 Pharmacist subsequent offense(s): $250 - $500 
 Pharmacy initial offense: $250 - $500 
 Pharmacy subsequent offense(s): $1,000 - $2,000 
 (40)  Failure to offer to counsel: 
 Pharmacy personnel initial offense: $500 - $2,500 
 Pharmacy personnel subsequent offense(s): $5,000 - $10,000 
 Pharmacy: $2,000 per occurrence 
 (41)  Violations of the laws and rules regulating operating 
standards (security system, unkempt facility, no hot water, etc.) in a 
pharmacy discovered upon inspection by the Division: 
 initial violation: $50 - $100 
 failure to comply within determined time: $250 - $500 
 subsequent violations: $250 - $500 
 failure to comply within established time: $750 - $1,000 
 (42)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacist intern, or pharmacy technician or operating a pharmacy 
without a license: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (43)  Impersonating a licensee or practicing under a false name: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (44)  Knowingly employing an unlicensed person: 
 initial offense: $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s):  $1,000 - $5,000 
 (45)  Knowingly permitting the use of a license by another 
person: 
 initial offense: $500 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $1,000 - $5,000 
 (46)  Obtaining a passing score, applying for or obtaining a 
license or otherwise dealing with the Division or Board through the 
use of fraud, forgery, intentional deception, misrepresentation, 
misstatement, or omission: 
 initial offense: $100 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (47)  Violating or aiding or abetting any other person to violate 
any statute, rule or order regulating pharmacy: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
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 (48)  Violating or aiding or abetting any other person to violate 
any generally accepted professional or ethical standard: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (49)  Engaging in conduct that results in conviction[s] of, or a 
plea of nolo contendere, or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere held 
in abeyance to a crime: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (50)  Engaging in conduct that results in disciplinary action by 
any other jurisdiction or regulatory authority: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (51)  Engaging in conduct, including the use of intoxicants or 
drugs, to the extent that the conduct does or may impair the ability to 
safely engage in practice as a pharmacist, pharmacy intern or 
pharmacy technician: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (52)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician when physically or 
mentally unfit to do so: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (53)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician through gross 
incompetence, gross negligence or a pattern of incompetency or 
negligence: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $2,000 - $10,000 
 (54)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician by any form of action or 
communication which is false, misleading, deceptive or fraudulent: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (55)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician beyond the individual's 
scope of competency, abilities or education: 
 initial offense:  $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (56)  Practicing or attempting to practice as a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician beyond the scope of 
licensure: 
 initial offense: $100 - $500 
 subsequent offense(s): $200 - $1,000 
 (57)  Verbally, physically or mentally abusing or exploiting any 
person through conduct connected with the licensee's practice: 
 initial offense: $100 - $1,000 
 subsequent offense(s): $500 - $2,000 
 (58)  Failure to comply with the pharmacist-in-charge 
standards: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,000 
 subsequent offense(s) $2,000 - $10,000 
 (59)  Failure to resolve identified drug therapy management 
problems: 
 initial offense: $500 - $2,500 
 subsequent offense: $5,000 - $10,000 
 

R156-17b-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  violating any provision of the American Pharmaceutical 
Association (APhA) Code of Ethics for Pharmacists, October 27, 
1994, which is hereby incorporated by reference; 
 (2)  failing to comply with the USP-NF Chapters 795 and 797; 
 (3)  failing to comply with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in these rules; 
 (4)  failing to provide the Division with a current mailing 
address within a 10 business day period of time following any 
change of address; 
 (5)  defaulting on a student loan; 
 (6)  failing to abide by all applicable federal and state law 
regarding the practice of pharmacy; 
 (7)  failing to comply with administrative inspections; 
 (8)  abandoning a pharmacy or leaving prescription drugs 
accessible to the public;[ 
 (9)  failing to wear a name tag or badge while working in any 
pharmaceutical facility;] 
 ([10]9)  failing to identify licensure classification when 
communicating by any means; 
 ([11]10)  the practice of pharmacy with an inappropriate 
pharmacist to pharmacy intern ratio established by Subsection R156-
17b-306(4)(b) or pharmacist to pharmacy technician ratio as 
established by Subsection R156-17b-601(3); 
 ([12]11)  allowing any unauthorized persons in the pharmacy; 
 ([13]12)  failing to offer to counsel any person receiving a 
prescription medication; 
 ([14]13)  failing to pay an administrative fine that has been 
assessed in the time designated by the Division; 
 ([15]14)  failing to comply with the pharmacist-in-charge 
standards as established in Section R156-17b-603; and 
 ([16]15)  failing to take appropriate steps to avoid or resolve 
identified drug therapy management problems as referenced in 
Subsection R156-17b-611(3). 
 
R156-17b-601.  Operating Standards - Pharmacy Technician - 
Scope of Practice. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-102(56), the scope of 
practice of a pharmacy technician is defined as follows: 
 (1)  The pharmacy technician may perform any task associated 
with the physical preparation and processing of prescription and 
medication orders including: 
 (a)  receiving written prescriptions; 
 (b)  taking refill orders; 
 (c)  entering and retrieving information into and from a 
database or patient profile; 
 (d)  preparing labels; 
 (e)  retrieving medications from inventory; 
 (f)  counting and pouring into containers; 
 (g)  placing medications into patient storage containers; 
 (h)  affixing labels; 
 (i)  compounding; 
 (j)  counseling for [non-prescription]over-the-counter drugs and 
dietary supplements under the direction of the supervising 
pharmacist as referenced in Subsection R156-17b-304(3)(ix); 
 (k)  accepting new prescription drug orders telephonically or 
electronically submitted for a pharmacist to review; and 
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 (l)  additional tasks not requiring the judgment of a pharmacist. 
 (2)  The pharmacy technician shall not receive new verbal 
prescriptions or medication orders, clarify prescriptions or 
medication orders nor perform drug utilization reviews. 
 (3)  The licensed pharmacist on duty can, at his discretion, 
provide on-site supervision for up to three pharmacy technicians, 
who are actually on duty at any one time, and only one of the three 
technicians can be unlicensed. 
 
R156-17b-602.  Operating Standards - Pharmacy Intern - Scope 
of Practice. 
 A pharmacy intern may provide services including the practice 
of pharmacy under the supervision of an approved preceptor, as 
defined in Subsection 58-17b-102(51), provided the pharmacy intern 
met the criteria as established in Subsection R156-17b-
304(2)[provide all pharmaceutical care services provided the 
services are supervised by a preceptor that meets the criteria 
established in Subsections 58-17b-102(54) and R156-17b-306(4)]. 
 
R156-17b-603.  Operating Standards - Pharmacist-in-charge. 
 The pharmacist-in-charge shall have the responsibility to 
oversee the implementation and adherence to pharmacy policies that 
address the following[for, at a minimum, the following]: 
 (1)  assuring that pharmacists and pharmacy interns [are 
dispensing]dispense drugs or devices, including: 
 (a)  packaging, preparation, compounding and labeling; and 
 (b)  ensuring that drugs are dispensed safely and accurately as 
prescribed; 
 (2)  assuring that pharmacy personnel deliver drugs to the 
patient or the patient's agent, including ensuring that drugs are 
delivered safely and accurately as prescribed; 
 (3)  assuring that a pharmacist, pharmacy intern or pharmacy 
technician communicates to the patient or the patient's agent 
information about the prescription drug or device or non-
prescription products; 
 (4)  assuring that a pharmacist or pharmacy intern 
communicates to the patient or the patient's agent, at their request, 
information concerning any prescription drugs dispensed to the 
patient by the pharmacist or pharmacy intern; 
 (5)  assuring that a reasonable effort is made to obtain, record 
and maintain patient medication records; 
 (6)  education and training of pharmacy technicians; 
 (7)  establishment of policies for procurement of prescription 
drugs and devices and other products dispensed from the pharmacy; 
 (8)  disposal and distribution of drugs from the pharmacy; 
 (9)  bulk compounding of drugs; 
 (10)  storage of all materials, including drugs, chemicals and 
biologicals; 
 (11)  [maintaining]maintenance of records of all transactions of 
the pharmacy necessary to maintain accurate control over and 
accountability for all pharmaceutical materials required by 
applicable state and federal laws and regulations; 
 (12)  establishment and maintenance of effective controls 
against theft or diversion of prescription drugs and records for such 
drugs; 
 (13)  if records are kept on a data processing system, the 
maintenance of records stored in that system shall be in compliance 
with pharmacy requirements; 
 (14)  legal operation of the pharmacy including meeting all 
inspection and other requirements of all state and federal laws, rules 
and regulations governing the practice of pharmacy; 

 (15)  assuring that any automated pharmacy system is in good 
working order and accurately dispenses the correct strength, dosage 
form and quantity of the drug prescribed while maintaining 
appropriate record keeping and security safeguards; 
 (16)  [implementing]implementation of an ongoing quality 
assurance program that monitors performance of the automated 
pharmacy system, which is evidenced by written policies and 
procedures developed for pharmaceutical care; and 
 (17)  assuring that all relevant information is submitted to the 
Controlled Substance Database in the appropriate format and in a 
timely manner. 
 
R156-17b-605.  Operating Standards - Inventory Requirements. 
 (1)  General requirements for inventory of a pharmacy shall 
include the following: 
 (a)  the pharmacist-in-charge shall be responsible for taking all 
required inventories, but may delegate the performance of the 
inventory to another person or persons; 
 (b)  the inventory records must be maintained for a period of 
five years and be readily available for inspection; 
 (c)  the inventory records shall be filed separately from all other 
records; 
 (d)  the inventory records shall be in a typewritten or printed 
form and include all stocks of legend drugs and controlled 
substances on hand on the date of the inventory including any that 
are out of date drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy systems.  An 
inventory taken by use of a verbal recording device must be 
promptly transcribed; 
 (e)  the inventory may be taken either as of the opening of the 
business or the close of business on the inventory date; 
 (f)  the person taking the inventory and the pharmacist-in-
charge shall indicate the time the inventory was taken and shall sign 
and date the inventory with the date the inventory was taken.  The 
signature of the pharmacist-in-charge and the date of the inventory 
shall be documented within 72 hours or three working days of the 
completed initial, annual, change of ownership and closing 
inventory; 
 (g)  the person taking the inventory shall make an exact count 
or measure all controlled substances listed in Schedule I or II; 
 (h)  the person taking the inventory shall make an estimated 
court or measure all Schedule[d] III, IV or V controlled substances 
and legend drugs, unless the container holds more than 1,000 tablets 
or capsules in which case an exact count of the contents must be 
made; 
 (i)  the inventory of Schedule I and II controlled substances 
shall be listed separately from the inventory of Schedule III, IV and 
V controlled substances which shall be listed separately from the 
inventory of the legend drugs; and 
 (j)  if the pharmacy maintains a perpetual inventory of any of 
the drugs required to be inventoried, the perpetual inventory shall be 
reconciled on the date of the inventory. 
 (2)  Requirement for taking the initial inventory shall include 
the following: 
 (a)  all pharmacies having any stock of legend drugs or 
controlled substances shall take an inventory on the opening day of 
business.  Such inventory shall include all stock of legend drugs and 
controlled substances including any out-of-date drugs and drugs in 
automated pharmacy systems; 
 (b)  in the event a pharmacy commences business with none of 
the drugs specified in paragraph (2)(a) of this section on hand, the 
pharmacy shall record this fact as the initial inventory; and 
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 (c)  the initial inventory shall serve as the pharmacy's inventory 
until the next completed inventory as specified in Subsection (3) of 
this section. 
 (3)  Requirement for annual inventory shall be 12 months 
following the inventory date of each year and may be taken within 
four days of the specified inventory date and shall include all stocks 
including out-of-date drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy 
systems. 
 (4)  Requirements for change of ownership shall include the 
following: 
 (a)  a pharmacy that changes ownership shall take an inventory 
of all legend drugs and controlled substances including out-of-date 
drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy systems on the date of the 
change of ownership; 
 (b)  such inventory shall constitute, for the purpose of this 
section, the closing inventory for the seller and the initial inventory 
for the buyer; and 
 (c)  transfer of Schedule[d] I and II controlled substances shall 
require the use of official DEA order forms (Form 222). 
 (5)  Requirement for taking inventory when closing a pharmacy 
includes the pharmacist-in-charge, owner, or the legal representative 
of a pharmacy that ceases to operate as a pharmacy shall forward to 
the Division, within ten days of cessation of operation, a statement 
attesting that an inventory has been conducted, the date of closing 
and a statement attesting the manner by which legend drugs and 
controlled substances possessed by the pharmacy were transferred or 
disposed. 
 (6)  Requirements specific to taking inventory in a Class B 
pharmacy shall include the following: 
 (a)  all Class B pharmacies shall maintain a perpetual inventory 
of all Schedule II controlled substances which shall be reconciled 
according to facility policy; and 
 (b)  the inventory of the institution shall be maintained in the 
pharmacy; if an inventory is conducted in other departments within 
the institution, the inventory shall be listed separately as follows: 
 (i)  the inventory of drugs on hand in the pharmacy shall be 
listed separately from the inventory of drugs on hand in the other 
areas of the institution; and 
 (ii)  the inventory of the drugs on hand in all other departments 
shall be identified by department. 
 
R156-17b-607.  Operating Standards - Supportive Personnel. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-102(66)(a), 
supportive personnel may assist in any tasks not related to drug 
preparation or processing including: 
 (a)  stock ordering and restocking; 
 (b)  cashiering; 
 (c)  billing; 
 (d)  filing; 
 (e)  receiving a written prescription and delivering it to the 
pharmacist, pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician; 
 (f)  housekeeping; and 
 (g)  delivering a pre-filled prescription to a patient. 
 (2)  Supportive personnel shall not enter information into a 
patient profile or accept verbal refill information. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-102(66)(b), the 
supervision of supportive personnel is defined as follows: 
 (a)  all supportive personnel shall be under the supervision of a 
licensed pharmacist; and 

 (b)  the licensed pharmacist shall be present in the area where 
the person being supervised is performing services and shall be 
immediately available to assist the person being supervised in the 
services being performed except for the delivery of prefilled 
prescriptions as provided in Subsection (1)(g) above. 
 (4)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1), a 
pharmacist, pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician whose license 
has been revoked or is suspended shall not be allowed to provide 
any support services in a pharmacy. 
 
R156-17b-609.  Operating Standards - Medication Profile 
System. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-601(1) and 58-17b-
604(1), the following operating standards shall apply with respect to 
medication profile systems: 
 (1)  Patient profiles, once established, shall be maintained by a 
pharmacist in a pharmacy dispensing to patients on a recurring basis 
for a minimum of one year from the date of the most recent 
prescription filled or refilled; except that a hospital pharmacy may 
delete the patient profile for an inpatient upon discharge if a record 
of prescriptions is maintained as a part of the hospital record. 
 (2)  Information to be included in the profile shall be 
determined by a responsible pharmacist at the pharmaceutical 
facility but shall include as a minimum: 
 (a)  full name of the patient, address, telephone number, date of 
birth or age and gender; 
 (b)  patient history where significant, including known allergies 
and drug reactions, and a [comprehensive ]list of medications and 
relevant devices obtained at the pharmacy; 
 (c)  a list of [all ]prescription drugs obtained by the patient at 
the pharmacy including: 
 (i)  name of prescription drug; 
 (ii)  strength of prescription drug; 
 (iii)  quantity dispensed; 
 (iv)  date of filling or refilling; 
 (v)  charge for the prescription drug as dispensed to the patient; 
and 
 (d)  any additional comments relevant to the patient's drug use. 
 (3)  Patient medication profile information shall be recorded by 
a pharmacist, pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician. 
 
R156-17b-610.  Operating Standards - Patient Counseling. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1), guidelines for 
providing patient counseling established in Section 58-17b-613 
include the following: 
 (1)  Based upon the pharmacist's or pharmacy intern's 
professional judgment[s], patient counseling may be discussed to 
include the following elements: 
 (a)  the name and description of the prescription drug; 
 (b)  the dosage form, dose, route of administration and duration 
of drug therapy; 
 (c)  intended use of the drug, when known, and expected action; 
 (d)  special directions and precautions for preparation, 
administration and use by the patient; 
 (e)  common severe side or adverse effects or interactions and 
therapeutic contraindications that may be encountered, including 
their avoidance, and the action required if they occur; 
 (f)  techniques for self-monitoring drug therapy; 
 (g)  proper storage; 
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 (h)  prescription refill information; 
 (i)  action to be taken in the event of a missed dose; 
 (j)  pharmacist comments relevant to the individual's drug 
therapy, including any other information specific to the patient or 
drug; and 
 (k)  the date after which the prescription should not be taken or 
used, or the beyond use date. 
 (2)  Patient counseling shall not be required for inpatients of a 
hospital or institution where other licensed health care professionals 
are authorized to administer the drugs. 
 (3)  A pharmacist shall not be required to counsel a patient or 
patient's agent when the patient or patient's agent refuses such 
consultation. 
 (4)  The offer to counsel shall be documented and said 
documentation shall be available to the Division. 
 (5)  Counseling shall be: 
 (a)  provided with each new prescription drug order, once 
yearly on maintenance medications, and if the pharmacist deems 
appropriate with prescription drug refills; 
 (b)  provided for any prescription drug order dispensed by the 
pharmacy on the request of the patient or patient's agent; and 
 (c)  communicated verbally in person unless the patient or the 
patient's agent is not at the pharmacy or a specific communication 
barrier prohibits such verbal communication. 
 (6)  Only a pharmacist or pharmacy intern may verbally 
provide drug information to a patient or patient's agent and answer 
questions concerning prescription drugs. 
 (7)  In addition to the requirements of Subsections (1) through 
(6) of this section, if a prescription drug order is delivered to the 
patient at the pharmacy, a filled prescription may not be delivered to 
a patient unless a pharmacist is in the pharmacy.  However, an agent 
of the pharmacist may deliver a prescription drug order to the patient 
or the patient's agent if the pharmacist is absent for ten minutes or 
less and provided a record of the delivery is maintained and contains 
the following information: 
 (a)  date of the delivery; 
 (b)  unique identification number of the prescription drug order; 
 (c)  patient's name; 
 (d)  patient's phone number or the phone number of the person 
picking up the prescription; and 
 (e)  signature of the person picking up the prescription. 
 (8)  If a prescription drug order is delivered to the patient or the 
patient's agent at the patient's or other designated location, the 
following is applicable: 
 (a)  the information specified in Subsection (1) of this section 
shall be delivered with the dispensed prescription in writing; 
 (b)  if prescriptions are routinely delivered outside the area 
covered by the pharmacy's local telephone service, the pharmacist 
shall place on the prescription container or on a separate sheet 
delivered with the prescription container, the telephone number of 
the pharmacy and the statement "Written information about this 
prescription has been provided for you.  Please read this information 
before you take this medication.  If you have questions concerning 
this prescription, a pharmacist is available during normal business 
hours to answer these questions."; and 
 (c)  written information provided in Subsection (8)(b) of this 
section shall be in the form of patient information leaflets similar to 
USP-NF patient information monographs or equivalent information. 
 

R156-17b-612.  Operating Standards - Prescriptions. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1), the following 
shall apply to prescriptions: 
 (1)  Prescription order shall be handled according to the rules of 
the Federal Drug Enforcement Administration. 
 (2)  A prescription issued by an authorized licensed 
practitioner, if verbally communicated by an agent of that 
practitioner upon that practitioner's specific instruction and 
authorization, may be accepted by a pharmacist or pharmacy intern. 
 (3)  A prescription issued by a licensed prescribing practitioner, 
if electronically communicated by an agent of that practitioner, upon 
that practitioner's specific instruction and authorization, may be 
accepted by a pharmacist, pharmacy intern and pharmacy technician. 
 (4)  In accordance with Section 58-17b-609, prescription files, 
including refill information, shall be maintained for a minimum of 
five years by either a manual filing of written prescriptions or by an 
immediately retrievable electronic record. 
 (5)  Prescriptions having a remaining authorization for refill 
may be transferred by the pharmacist at the pharmacy holding the 
prescription to a pharmacist at another pharmacy upon the 
authorization of the patient to whom the prescription was issued.  
The transferring pharmacist and receiving pharmacist shall act 
diligently to ensure that the total number of authorized refills is not 
exceeded. 
 (6)  Prescriptions for terminal patients in licensed hospices, 
home health agencies or nursing homes may be partially filled if the 
patient has a medical diagnosis documenting a terminal illness and 
may not need the full prescription amount. 
 (7)  Refills may be dispensed only in accordance with the 
prescriber's authorization as indicated on the original prescription 
drug order; 
 (8)  If there are no refill instructions on the original prescription 
drug order, or if all refills authorized on the original prescription 
drug order have been dispensed, authorization from the prescribing 
practitioner must be obtained prior to dispensing any refills. 
 (9)  Refills of prescription drug orders for legend drugs may not 
be refilled after one year from the date of issuance of the original 
prescription drug order without obtaining authorization from the 
prescribing practitioner prior to dispensing any additional quantities 
of the drug. 
 (10)  Refills of prescription drug orders for controlled 
substances shall be done in accordance with Subsection 58-37-
6(7)(f). 
 (11)  A pharmacist may exercise his professional judgment in 
refilling a prescription drug order for a drug, other than a controlled 
substance listed in Schedule II, without the authorization of the 
prescribing practitioner, provided: 
 (a)  failure to refill the prescription might result in an 
interruption of a therapeutic regimen or create patient suffering; 
 (b)  either: 
 (i)  a natural or manmade disaster has occurred which prohibits 
the pharmacist from being able to contact the practitioner; or 
 (ii)  the pharmacist is unable to contact the practitioner after a 
reasonable effort, the effort should be documented and said 
documentation should be available to the Division; 
 (c)  the quantity of prescription drug dispensed does not exceed 
a 72-hour supply, unless the packaging is in a greater quantity; 
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 (d)  the pharmacist informs the patient or the patient's agent at 
the time of dispensing that the refill is being provided without such 
authorization and that authorization of the practitioner is required for 
future refills; 
 (e)  the pharmacist informs the practitioner of the emergency 
refill at the earliest reasonable time; 
 (f)  the pharmacist maintains a record of the emergency refill 
containing the information required to be maintained on a 
prescription as specified in this subsection; and 
 (g)  the pharmacist affixes a label to the dispensing container as 
specified in Section 58-17b-602. 
 (12)  If the prescription was originally filled at another 
pharmacy, the pharmacist may exercise his professional judgment in 
refilling the prescription provided: 
 (a)  the patient has the prescription container label, receipt or 
other documentation from the other pharmacy which contains the 
essential information; 
 (b)  after a reasonable effort, the pharmacist is unable to contact 
the other pharmacy to transfer the remaining prescription refills or 
there are no refills remaining on the prescription; 
 (c)  the pharmacist, in his professional judgment, determines 
that such a request for an emergency refill is appropriate and meets 
the requirements of (a) and (b) of this subsection; and 
 (d)  the pharmacist complies with the requirements of 
Subsections (11)(c) through (g) of this section. 
 (13)  The transfer of original prescription drug order 
information for legend drugs and Schedule III through V controlled 
substances is permissible between pharmacies on a one time basis 
only for the valid remaining refills except as described in Subsection 
R156-17b-613(9). 
 (a)  the transfer shall be communicated directly between 
pharmacists or pharmacy interns or as authorized under Subsection 
R156-17b-613(9): 
 (b)  both the original and the transferred prescription drug 
orders shall be maintained for a period of five years from the date of 
the last refill; 
 (c)  the pharmacist or pharmacy intern transferring the 
prescription drug order shall void the prescription electronically or 
write void on the face of the invalidated prescription manually; 
 (d)  the pharmacist or pharmacy intern receiving the transferred 
prescription drug order shall: 
 (i)  indicate on the prescription record that the prescription was 
transferred electronically or manually; and 
 (ii)  record on the transferred prescription drug order the 
following information: 
 (A)  original date of issuance and date of dispensing or receipt, 
if different from date of issuance; 
 (B)  original prescription number and the number of refills 
authorized on the original prescription drug order; 
 (C)  number of valid refills remaining and the date of last refill, 
if applicable; 
 (D)  the name, address and, if a controlled substance, the DEA 
registration number of the pharmacy to which such prescription is 
transferred; and 
 (E)  the name of the pharmacist or pharmacy intern transferring 
the prescription drug order information; 
 (e)  the data processing system shall have a mechanism to 
prohibit the transfer or refilling of legend or controlled substance 
prescription drug orders which have been previously transferred; and 
 (f)  a pharmacist or pharmacy intern may not refuse to transfer 
original prescription information to another pharmacist or pharmacy 

intern who is acting on behalf of a patient and who is making a 
request for this information as specified in Subsections (12) and (13) 
of this section. 
 
R156-17b-614.  Operating Standards - Operating Standards, 
Class A and B Pharmacy. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1), standards 
for the operations for a Class A and Class B pharmacy include: 
 (a)  shall be well lighted, well ventilated, clean and sanitary; 
 (b)  the dispensing area, if any, shall have a sink with [hold]hot 
and cold culinary water separate and apart from any restroom 
facilities.  This does not apply to clean rooms where sterile products 
are prepared.  Clean rooms should not have sinks or floor drains that 
expose the area to an open sewer.  All required equipment shall be 
clean and in good operating condition; 
 (c)  be equipped to permit the orderly storage of prescription 
drugs and devices in a manner to permit clear identification, 
separation and easy retrieval of products and an environment 
necessary to maintain the integrity of the product inventory; 
 (d)  be equipped to permit practice within the standards and 
ethics of the profession as dictated by the usual and ordinary scope 
of practice to be conducted within that facility; 
 (e)  be stocked with the quality and quantity of product 
necessary for the facility to meet its scope of practice in a manner 
consistent with the public health, safety and welfare; and 
 (f)  be equipped with a security system to permit detection of 
entry at all times when the facility is closed. 
 (2)  The temperature of the pharmacy shall be maintained 
within a range compatible with the proper storage of drugs.  The 
temperature of the refrigerator and freezer shall be maintained 
within a range compatible with the proper storage of drugs requiring 
refrigeration or freezing. 
 (3)  Facilities engaged in extensive compounding activities 
shall be required to maintain proper records and procedure manuals 
and establish quality control measures to ensure stability, 
equivalency where applicable and sterility.  The following 
requirements shall be met: 
 (a)  must follow USP-NF Chapter 795, compounding of non-
sterile preparations; 
 (b)  may compound in anticipation of receiving prescriptions in 
[very ]limited amounts; 
 (c)  bulk active ingredients must be component of FDA 
approved drugs listed in the approved drug products prepared by the 
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research of the FDA; 
 (d)  compounding using drugs that are not part of a FDA 
approved drug listed in the approved drug products prepared by the 
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research of the FDA requires an 
investigational new drug application (IND).  The IND approval shall 
be kept in the pharmacy for five years for inspection; 
 (e)  a master worksheet sheet shall be developed and approved 
by a pharmacist for each batch of sterile or non-sterile 
pharmaceuticals to be prepared.  Once approved, a duplicate of the 
master worksheet sheet shall be used as the preparation worksheet 
sheet from which each batch is prepared and on which all 
documentation for that batch occurs.  The master worksheet sheet 
shall contain at a minimum: 
 (i)  the formula; 
 (ii)  the components; 
 (iii)  the compounding directions; 
 (iv)  a sample label; 
 (v)  evaluation and testing requirements; 
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 (vi)  sterilization methods, if applicable; 
 (vii)  specific equipment used during preparation such as 
specific compounding device; and 
 (viii)  storage requirements; 
 (f)  a preparation worksheet sheet for each batch of sterile or 
non-sterile pharmaceuticals shall document the following: 
 (i)  identity of all solutions and ingredients and their 
corresponding amounts, concentrations, or volumes; 
 (ii)  manufacturer lot number for each component; 
 (iii)  component manufacturer or suitable identifying number; 
 (iv)  container specifications (e.g. syringe, pump cassette); 
 (v)  unique lot or control number assigned to batch; 
 (vi)  expiration date of batch prepared products; 
 (vii)  date of preparation; 
 (viii)  name, initials or electronic signature of the person or 
persons involved in the preparation; 
 (ix)  names, initials or electronic signature of the responsible 
pharmacist; 
 (x)  end-product evaluation and testing specifications, if 
applicable; and 
 (xi)  comparison of actual yield to anticipated yield, when 
appropriate; 
 (g)  the label of each batch prepared of sterile or non-sterile 
pharmaceuticals shall bear at a minimum: 
 (i)  the unique lot number assigned to the batch; 
 (ii)  all solution and ingredient names, amounts, strengths and 
concentrations, when applicable; 
 (iii)  quantity; 
 (iv)  expiration date and time, when applicable; 
 (v)  appropriate ancillary instructions, such as storage 
instructions or cautionary statements, including cytotoxic warning 
labels where appropriate; and 
 (vi)  device-specific instructions, where appropriate; 
 (h)  the expiration date assigned shall be based on currently 
available drug stability information and sterility considerations or 
appropriate in-house or contract service stability testing; 
 (i)  sources of drug stability information shall include the 
following: 
 (A)  references can be found in Trissel's "Handbook on 
Injectable Drugs", 13th Edition, 2004; 
 (B)  manufacturer recommendations; and 
 (C)  reliable, published research; 
 (ii)  when interpreting published drug stability information, the 
pharmacist shall consider all aspects of the final sterile product 
being prepared such as drug reservoir, drug concentration and 
storage conditions; and 
 (iii)  methods for establishing expiration dates shall be 
documented; and 
 (i)  there shall be a documented, ongoing quality control 
program that monitors and evaluates personnel performance, 
equipment and facilities that follows the USP-NF Chapters 795 and 
797 standards. 
 (4)  The facility shall have current and retrievable editions of 
the following reference publications in print or electronic format and 
readily available and retrievable to facility personnel: 
 (a)  Title 58, Chapter 1, Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing Act' 
 (b)  R156-1, General Rules of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing; 
 (c)  Title 58, Chapter 17b, Pharmacy Practice Act; 
 (d)  R156-17b, Utah Pharmacy Practice Act Rules; 

 (e)  Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances Act; 
 (f)  R156-37, Utah Controlled Substances Act Rules; 
 (g)  Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 21, Food and Drugs, 
Part 1300 to end or equivalent such as the USP DI Drug Reference 
Guides; 
 (h)  current FDA Approved Drug Products (orange book); and 
 (i)  any other general drug references necessary to permit 
practice dictated by the usual and ordinary scope of practice to be 
conducted within that facility. 
 (5)  The facility shall post the license of the facility and the 
license or a copy of the license of each pharmacist, pharmacy intern 
and pharmacy technician who is employed in the facility, but may 
not post the license of any pharmacist, pharmacy intern or pharmacy 
technician not actually employed in the facility. 
 (6)  Facilities shall have a counseling area to allow for 
confidential patient counseling, where applicable. 
 (7)  If the pharmacy is located within a larger facility such as a 
grocery or department store, and a licensed Utah pharmacist is not 
immediately available in the facility, the pharmacy shall not remain 
open to pharmacy patients and shall be locked in such a way as to 
bar entry to the public or any non-pharmacy personnel.  All 
pharmacies located within a larger facility shall be locked and 
enclosed in such a way as to bar entry by the public or any non-
pharmacy personnel when the pharmacy is closed. 
 (8)  Only a licensed Utah pharmacist or authorized pharmacy 
personnel shall have access to the pharmacy when the pharmacy is 
closed. 
 (9)  The facility shall maintain a permanent log of the initials or 
identification codes which identify each dispensing pharmacist by 
name.  The initials or identification code shall be unique to ensure 
that each pharmacist can be identified; therefore identical initials or 
identification codes shall not be used. 
 (10)  The pharmacy facility must maintain copy 3 of DEA order 
form (Form 222) which has been properly dated, initialed and filed 
and all copies of each unaccepted or defective order form and any 
attached statements or other documents. 
 (11)  If applicable, a hard copy of the power of attorney 
authorizing a pharmacist to sign DEA order forms (Form 222) must 
be available to the Division whenever necessary. 
 (12)  Pharmacists or other responsible individuals shall verify 
that the suppliers' invoices of legend drugs, including controlled 
substances, are listed on the invoices and were actually received by 
clearly recording their initials and the actual date of receipt of the 
controlled substances. 
 (13)  The pharmacy facility must maintain a record of suppliers' 
credit memos for controlled substances and legend drugs. 
 (14)  A copy of inventories required under Section R156-17b-
605 must be made available to the Division when requested. 
 (15)  The pharmacy facility must maintain hard copy reports of 
surrender or destruction of controlled substances and legend drugs 
submitted to appropriate state or federal agencies. 
 
R156-17b-614d.  Operating Standards - Class B - Nuclear 
Pharmacy. 
 In accordance with Subsection[s 58-17b-303(4)(d) and] 58-
17b-601(1), the operating standards for a Class B pharmacy 
designated as a nuclear pharmacy shall have the following: 
 (1)  A nuclear pharmacy shall have the following: 
 (a)  have applied for or possess a current Utah Radioactive 
Materials License; and 
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 (b)  adequate space and equipment commensurate with the 
scope of services required and provided. 
 (2)  Nuclear pharmacies shall only dispense 
radiopharmaceuticals that comply with acceptable standards of 
quality assurance. 
 (3)  Nuclear pharmacies shall maintain a library commensurate 
with the level of radiopharmaceutical service to be provided. 
 (4)  A licensed Utah pharmacist shall be immediately available 
on the premises at all times when the facility is open or available to 
engage in the practice of pharmacy. 
 (5) In addition to Utah licensure, the pharmacist shall [be 
currently certified by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties in 
Nuclear Pharmacy or ]have [equivalent ]classroom and laboratory 
training and experience as required by the Utah Radiation Control 
Rules. 
 (6)  This rule does not prohibit: 
 (a)  a licensed pharmacy intern or technician from acting under 
the direct supervision of an approved preceptor who meets the 
requirements to supervise a nuclear pharmacy; or 
 (b)  a Utah Radioactive Materials license from possessing and 
using radiopharmaceuticals for medical use. 
 (7)  A hospital nuclear medicine department or an office of a 
physician/surgeon, osteopathic physician/surgeon, veterinarian, 
pediatric physician or dentist that has a current Utah Radioactive 
Materials License does not require licensure as a Class B pharmacy. 
 
R156-17b-615.  Operating Standards - Class C Pharmacy - 
Pharmaceutical Wholesaler/Distributor and Pharmaceutical 
Manufacturer in Utah. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-102(48) and 58-17b-
601(1), the operating standards for Class C pharmacies designated as 
pharmaceutical wholesaler/distributor and pharmaceutical 
manufacturer licensees includes the following: 
 (1)  A separate license shall be obtained for each separate 
location engaged in the distribution or manufacturing of prescription 
drugs. 
 (2)  The licensee need not be under the supervision of a 
licensed pharmacist, but shall be under the supervision of a 
responsible officer or management employee. 
 (3)  All Class C pharmacies shall: 
 (a)  be of suitable size and construction to facilitate cleaning, 
maintenance and proper operations; 
 (b)  have storage areas designed to provide adequate lighting, 
ventilation, sanitation, space, equipment and security conditions; 
 (c)  have the ability to control temperature and humidity within 
tolerances required by all prescription drugs and prescription drug 
precursors handled or used in the distribution or manufacturing 
activities of the applicant or licensee; 
 (d)  provide for a quarantine area for storage of prescription 
drugs and prescription drug precursors that are outdated, damaged, 
deteriorated, misbranded, adulterated, opened or unsealed containers 
that have once been appropriately sealed or closed or in any other 
way unsuitable for use or entry into distribution or manufacturing; 
 (e)  be maintained in a clean and orderly condition; and 
 (f)  be free from infestation by insects, rodents, birds or vermin 
of any kind. 
 (4)  Each facility used for wholesale drug distribution or 
manufacturing of prescription drugs shall: 
 (a)  be secure from unauthorized entry; 

 (b)  limit access from the outside to a minimum in conformance 
with local building codes, life and safety codes and control access to 
persons to ensure unauthorized entry is not made; 
 (c)  limit entry into areas where prescription drugs or 
prescription drug precursors are held to authorized persons who have 
a need to be in those areas; 
 (d)  be well lighted on the outside perimeter; 
 (e)  be equipped with an alarm system to permit detection of 
entry and notification of appropriate authorities at all times when the 
facility is not occupied for the purpose of engaging in distribution or 
manufacturing of prescription drugs; and 
 (f)  be equipped with security measures, systems and 
procedures necessary to provide reasonable security against theft 
and diversion of prescription drugs or alteration or tampering with 
computers and records pertaining to prescription drugs or 
prescription drug precursors. 
 (5)  Each facility shall provide the storage of prescription drugs 
and prescription drug precursors in accordance with the following: 
 (a)  all prescription drugs and prescription drug precursors shall 
be stored at appropriate temperature, humidity and other conditions 
in accordance with labeling of such prescription drugs or 
prescription drug precursors or with requirements in the USP-NF; 
 (b)  if no storage requirements are established for a specific 
prescription drug or prescription drug precursor, the products shall 
be held in a condition of controlled temperature and humidity as 
defined in the USP-NF to ensure that its identity, strength, quality 
and purity are not adversely affected; and 
 (c)  there shall be established a system of manual, 
electromechanical or electronic recording of temperature and 
humidity in the areas in which prescription drugs or prescription 
drug precursors are held to permit review of the record and ensure 
that the products have not been subjected to conditions which are 
outside of established limits. 
 (6)  Each facility shall ensure that: 
 (a)  upon receipt, each outside shipping container containing 
prescription drugs or prescription drug precursors shall be visibly 
examined for identity and to prevent the acceptance of prescription 
drugs or prescription drug precursors that are contaminated, reveal 
damage to the containers or are otherwise unfit for distribution; and 
 (b)  each outgoing shipment shall be carefully inspected for 
identity of the prescription drug products and to ensure that there is 
no delivery of prescription drugs that have been damaged in storage 
or held under improper conditions. 
 (7)  Each facility shall ensure that: 
 (a)  prescription drugs or prescription drug precursors that are 
outdated, damaged, deteriorated, misbranded, adulterated or in any 
other way unfit for distribution or use in manufacturing shall be 
quarantined and physically separated from other prescription drugs 
or prescription drug precursors until they are appropriately destroyed 
or returned to their supplier; 
 (b)  any prescription drug or prescription drug precursor whose 
immediate sealed or outer secondary sealed container has been 
opened or in any other way breached shall be identified as such and 
shall be quarantined and physically separated from other 
prescription drugs and prescription drug precursors until they are 
appropriately destroyed or returned to their supplier; and 
 (c)  if the conditions or circumstances surrounding the return of 
any prescription drug or prescription drug precursor cast any doubt 
on the product's safety, identity, strength, quality or purity, then the 
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drug shall be appropriately destroyed or returned to the supplier, 
unless examination, testing or other investigation proves that the 
product meets appropriate and applicable standards related to the 
product's safety, identity, strength, quality and purity. 
 (8)  Each facility shall establish and maintain records of all 
transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other 
disposition of prescription drugs and prescription drug precursors 
and shall make inventories of prescription drugs and prescription 
drug precursors and required records available for inspection by 
authorized representatives of the federal, state and local law 
enforcement agencies in accordance with the following: 
 (a)  there shall be a record of the source of the prescription 
drugs or prescription drug precursors to include the name and 
principal address of the seller or transferor and the address of the 
location from which the drugs were shipped; 
 (b)  there shall be a record of the identity and quantity of the 
prescription drug or prescription drug precursor received, 
manufactured, distributed or shipped or otherwise disposed of by 
specific product and strength; 
 (c)  there shall be a record of the dates of receipt and 
distribution or other disposal of any product; 
 (d)  there shall be a record of the identity of persons to whom 
distribution is made to include name and principal address of the 
receiver and the address of the location to which the products were 
shipped; 
 (e)  inventories of prescription drugs and prescription drug 
precursors shall be made available during regular business hours to 
authorized representatives of federal, state and local law 
enforcement authorities; 
 (f)  required records shall be made available for inspection 
during regular business hours to authorized representatives of 
federal, state and local law enforcement authorities and such records 
shall be maintained for a period of two years following disposition 
of the products; and 
 (g)  records that are maintained on site or immediately 
retrievable from computer or other electronic means shall be made 
readily available for authorized inspection during the retention 
period; or if records are stored at another location, they shall be 
made available within two working days after request by an 
authorized law enforcement authority during the two year period of 
retention. 
 (9)  Each facility shall establish, maintain and adhere to written 
policies and procedures which shall be followed for the receipt, 
security, storage, inventory, manufacturing, distribution or other 
disposal of prescription drugs or prescription drug precursors, 
including policies and procedures for identifying, recording and 
reporting losses or thefts, and for correcting all errors and 
inaccuracies in inventories.  In addition, the policies shall include 
the following: 
 (a)  a procedure whereby the oldest approved stock of a 
prescription drug or precursor product is distributed or used first 
with a provision for deviation from the requirement if such deviation 
is temporary and appropriate; 
 (b)  a procedure to be followed for handling recalls and 
withdrawals of prescription drugs adequate to deal with recalls and 
withdrawals due to: 
 (i)  any action initiated at the request of the FDA or other 
federal, state or local law enforcement or other authorized 
administrative or regulatory agency; 
 (ii)  any voluntary action to remove defective or potentially 
defective drugs from the market; or 

 (iii)  any action undertaken to promote public health, safety or 
welfare by replacement of existing product with an improved 
product or new package design; 
 (c)  a procedure to prepare for, protect against or handle any 
crisis that affects security or operation of any facility in the event of 
strike, fire, flood or other natural disaster or other situations of local, 
state or national emergency; 
 (d)  a procedure to ensure that any outdated prescription drugs 
or prescription drug precursors shall be segregated from other drugs 
or precursors and either returned to the manufacturer, other 
appropriate party or appropriately destroyed; and 
 (e)  a procedure for providing for documentation of the 
disposition of outdated, adulterated or otherwise unsafe prescription 
drugs or prescription drug precursors and the maintenance of that 
documentation available for inspection by authorized federal, state 
or local authorities for a period of two years after disposition of the 
product. 
 (10)  Each facility shall establish, maintain and make available 
for inspection by authorized federal, state and local law enforcement 
authorities, lists of all officers, directors, managers and other persons 
in charge which lists shall include a description of their duties and a 
summary of their background and qualifications. 
 (11)  Each facility shall comply with laws including: 
 (a)  operating within applicable federal, state and local laws and 
regulations; 
 (b)  permitting the state licensing authority and authorized 
federal, state and local law enforcement officials, upon presentation 
of proper credentials, to enter and inspect their premises and 
delivery vehicles and to audit their records and written operating 
policies and procedures, at reasonable times and in a reasonable 
manner, to the extent authorized by law; and 
 (c)  obtaining a controlled substance license from the Division 
and registering with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) if 
they engage in distribution or manufacturing of controlled 
substances and shall comply with all federal, state and local 
regulations applicable to the distribution or manufacturing of 
controlled substances. 
 (12)  Each facility shall be subject to and shall abide by 
applicable federal, state and local laws that relate to the salvaging or 
reprocessing of prescription drug products. 
 (13)  A person who is engaged in the wholesale distribution or 
manufacturing of prescription drugs but does not have a facility 
located within Utah in which prescription drugs are located, stored, 
distributed or manufactured is exempt from Utah licensure as a 
Class C pharmacy, if said person is currently licensed and in good 
standing in each state of the United States in which that person has a 
facility engaged in distribution or manufacturing of prescription 
drugs entered into interstate commerce. 
 
R156-17b-616.  Operating Standards - Class D Pharmacy - Non-
Residence Pharmacies. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-301(3) and 58-17b-
306(2), an application for licensure as a Class D pharmacy shall 
include: 
 (a)  a pharmacy care protocol that includes the operating 
standards established in Subsections R156-17b-610(1) and (8) and 
R156-17b-614(1) through (4); 
 (b)  a copy of the pharmacist's license for the pharmacist-in-
charge; and 
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 (c)  a copy of the most recent state inspection showing the 
status of compliance with the laws and regulations for physical 
facility, records and operations.[ 
 (2)  Any Internet pharmacy located in another state but 
providing drugs to citizens of Utah must meet VIPPS standards as 
outlined by NABP.  Any Internet pharmacy located within the state 
and providing services to Utah citizens shall be licensed as a Class A 
pharmacy.] 
 
[R156-17b-617a.  Operating Standards - Class E - Animal 
Euthanasia Agency. 
 In accordance with Section 58-17b-302 and Subsection 58-17b-
601(1), the operating standards for a Class E pharmacy operating as 
an animal euthanasia agency concerning the use of prescription 
drugs shall include: 
 (1)  A veterinarian licensed in Utah shall supervise the use of 
prescription drugs used for animal euthanasia. 
 (2)  The veterinarian shall be responsible for: 
 (a)  identifying each euthanasia drug for which authorization is 
requested; 
 (b)  identifying the location where euthanasia drugs and records 
will be maintained; 
 (c)  identifying each person to be authorized to purchase, 
possess or administer euthanasia drugs; 
 (d)  describing the training program for each person authorized 
to purchase, possess or administer euthanasia drugs as well as 
attesting to be responsible for that training; and 
 (e)  maintaining euthanasia drug records. 
 
R156-17b-617b.  Operating Standards - Class E - 
Pharmaceutical Dog Trainer. 
 In accordance with Section 58-17b-302 and Subsections 58-
17b-601(1), the operating standards for a Class E pharmacy 
operating as a pharmaceutical dog trainer shall require an affiliation 
with a law enforcement official from a Utah law enforcement 
agency who is responsible for the purchase, storage and use of the 
authorized prescription drugs. 
] 
R156-17b-619.  Operating Standards - Automated Pharmacy 
System. 
 In accordance with Section 58-17b-621, automated pharmacy 
systems can be utilized in licensed pharmacies, remote locations 
under the jurisdiction of the Division and licensed health care 
facilities where legally permissible and shall comply with the 
following provisions: 
 (1)  Documentation as to type of equipment, serial numbers, 
content, policies and procedures and location shall be maintained on 
site in the pharmacy for review upon request of the Division.  Such 
documentation shall include[, but is not limited to]: 
 (a)  name and address of the pharmacy or licensed health care 
facility where the automated pharmacy system is being used; 
 (b)  manufacturer's name and model; 
 (c)  description of how the device is used; 
 (d)  quality assurance procedures to determine continued 
appropriate use of the automated device; and 
 (e)  policies and procedures for system operation, safety, 
security, accuracy, patient confidentiality, access and malfunction. 
 (2)  Automated pharmacy systems should be used only in 
settings where there is an established program of pharmaceutical 
care that ensures that before dispensing, or removal from an 
automated storage and distribution device, a pharmacist reviews all 

prescription or medication orders unless a licensed independent 
practitioner controls the ordering, preparation and administration of 
the medication; or in urgent situations when the resulting delay 
would harm the patient including situations in which the patient 
experiences a sudden change in clinical status. 
 (3)  All policies and procedures must be maintained in the 
pharmacy responsible for the system and, if the system is not located 
within the facility where the pharmacy is located, at the location 
where the system is being used. 
 (4)  Automated pharmacy systems shall have: 
 (a)  adequate security systems and procedures to: 
 (i)  prevent unauthorized access; 
 (ii)  comply with federal and state regulations; and 
 (iii)  prevent the illegal use or disclosure of protected health 
information; 
 (b)  written policies and procedures in place prior to installation 
to ensure safety, accuracy, security, training of personnel, and 
patient confidentiality and to define access and limits to access to 
equipment and medications. 
 (5)  Records and electronic data kept by automated pharmacy 
systems shall meet the following requirements: 
 (a)  all events involving the contents of the automated 
pharmacy system must be recorded electronically; 
 (b)  records must be maintained by the pharmacy for a period of 
five years and must be readily available to the Division.  Such 
records shall include: 
 (i)  identity of system accessed; 
 (ii)  identify of the individual accessing the system; 
 (iii)  type of transaction; 
 (iv)  name, strength, dosage form and quantity of the drug 
accessed; 
 (v)  name of the patient for whom the drug was ordered; and 
 (vi)  such additional information as the pharmacist-in-charge 
may deem necessary. 
 (6)  Access to and limits on access to the automated pharmacy 
system must be defined by policy and procedures and must comply 
with state and federal regulations. 
 (7)  The pharmacist-in-charge or pharmacist designee shall 
have the sole responsibility to: 
 (a)  assign, discontinue or change access to the system; 
 (b)  ensure that access to the medications comply with state and 
federal regulations; and 
 (c)  ensure that the automated pharmacy system is filled and 
stocked accurately and in accordance with established written 
policies and procedures. 
 (8)  The filling and stocking of all medications in the automated 
pharmacy system shall be accomplished by qualified licensed 
healthcare personnel under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. 
 (9)  A record of medications filled and stocked into an 
automated pharmacy system shall be maintained for a period of five 
years and shall include the identification of the persons filling, 
stocking and checking for accuracy. 
 (10)  All containers of medications stored in the automated 
pharmacy system shall be packaged and labeled in accordance with 
federal and state laws and regulations. 
 (11)  All aspects of handling controlled substances shall meet 
the requirements of all state and federal laws and regulations. 
 (12)  The automated pharmacy system shall provide a 
mechanism for securing and accounting for medications removed 
from and subsequently returned to the automated pharmacy system, 
all in accordance with existing state and federal law.  Written 
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policies and procedures shall address situations in which 
medications removed from the system remain unused and must be 
secured and accounted for. 
 (13)  The automated pharmacy system shall provide a 
mechanism for securing and accounting for wasted medications or 
discarded medications in accordance with existing state and federal 
law. Written policies and procedures shall address situations in 
which medications removed from the system are wasted or discarded 
and must be secured. 
 
 

KEY:  pharmacists, licensing, pharmacies 
2005 
58-17b-101 
58-17b-601(1) 
58-37-1 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
 
▼ ▼ 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 

Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 

R58-7 
Livestock Markets, Satellite Video 

Livestock Auction Market, Livestock 
Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market 

Weighpersons 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27688 
FILED:  02/01/2005, 14:46 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Sections 4-30-3 and 4-2-2 
authorize the Department of Agriculture and Food to make 
and enforce this rule. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The intent of this rule is to 
provide uniformity and fairness in the marketing of livestock 
within the state, whether sold through regularly established 
livestock markets or other types of sales.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD 
ANIMAL INDUSTRY 
350 N REDWOOD RD 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3087, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mike Marshall, Marolyn Leetham, Earl Rogers, or Kyle 
Stephens at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7160, 
801-538-7114, 801-538-7162, or 801-538-7102, by FAX at 
801-538-7169, 801-538-7126, 801-538-7169, or 801-538-
7126, or by Internet E-mail at mmarshall@utah.gov, 
mleetham@utah.gov, erogers@utah.gov, or 
kylestephens@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Leonard M. Blackham, Commissioner 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/01/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-7 
Specialty Hospital - Psychiatric Hospital 

Construction 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27674 
FILED:  01/28/2005, 13:55 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Specialty Hospital - Psychiatric Hospital 
Construction rule adopts the current codes and architectural 
guidelines for construction of psychiatric hospitals.  Without 
the authority provided, standards for construction of 
psychiatric hospitals would not be available. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
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SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of psychiatric hospitals.  The Health Facility 
Committee updated and reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-8 
Specialty Hospital - Chemical 

Dependency/Substance Abuse 
Construction 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27675 

FILED:  01/28/2005, 13:58 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Specialty Hospital - Chemical 
Dependency/Substance Abuse Construction rule adopts the 
current codes and architectural guidelines for construction of 
Chemical Dependency/Substance Abuse hospitals.  Without 
the authority provided, standards for construction of Chemical 
Dependency/Substance Abuse hospitals would not be 
available. 
 

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of chemical dependency/substance abuse 
hospitals.  The Health Facility Committee updated and 
reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-9 
Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation 

Construction Rule 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27676 
FILED:  01/28/2005, 14:00 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation Construction 
Rule adopts the current codes and architectural guidelines for 
construction of Rehabilitation hospitals.  Without the authority 
provided, standards for construction of Rehabilitation hospitals 
would not be available. 
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SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of Rehabilitation hospitals.  The Health Facility 
Committee updated and reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-10 
Specialty Hospital - Long-Term Acute 

Care Construction Rule 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27677 
FILED:  01/28/2005, 14:03 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Specialty Hospital - Long-Term Acute Care 
Construction Rule adopts the current codes and architectural 
guidelines for construction of Long-Term Acute Care 
hospitals.  Without the authority provided, standards for 
construction of Long-Term Acute Care hospitals would not be 
available. 
 

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of Long-Term Acute Care hospitals.  The Health 
Facility Committee updated and reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-11 
Specialty Hospital - Orthopedic Hospital 

Construction 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27678 
FILED:  01/28/2005, 14:05 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Specialty Hospital - Orthopedic Hospital 
Construction rule adopts the current codes and architectural 
guidelines for construction of Orthopedic hospitals.  Without 
the authority provided, standards for construction of 
Orthopedic hospitals would not be available. 
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SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of Orthopedic hospitals.  The Health Facility 
Committee updated and reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-12 
Small Health Care Facility (Four to 
Sixteen Beds) Construction Rule 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27679 

FILED:  01/28/2005, 14:07 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Small Health Care Facility Construction Rule 
adopts the current codes and architectural guidelines for 
construction of Small Health Care Facilities.  Without the 
authority provided, standards for construction of Small Health 
Care Facilities would not be available. 
 

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of Small Health Care Facilities.  The Health 
Facility Committee updated and reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-13 
Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical 

Center Construction Rule 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27680 
FILED:  01/28/2005, 14:09 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Center 
Construction Rule adopts the current codes and architectural 
guidelines for construction of Ambulatory Surgical Centers.  
Without the authority provided, standards for construction of 
Ambulatory Surgical Centers would not be available. 
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SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of Ambulatory Surgical Centers.  The Health 
Facility Committee updated and reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-14 
Birthing Center Construction Rule 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27681 

FILED:  01/28/2005, 14:12 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Birthing Center Construction Rule adopts the 
current codes and architectural guidelines for construction of 
Birthing Centers.  Without the authority provided, standards 
for construction of Birthing Centers would not be available. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule.  The rule ensures proper 
construction of Birthing Centers.  The Health Facility 
Committee updated and reviewed the rule in 2002. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-30 
Adjudicative Procedure 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27682 

FILED:  01/28/2005, 14:14 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, requires the Department 
to adopt rules that define due process and appeal rights when 
the Department takes an action regarding a licensed health 
care facility. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The agency agrees with the 
need to continue the rule because it defines the process to 
follow when a Notice of Agency Action is taken regarding a 
licensed health care facility, such as determinations to grant, 
deny, revoke, modify, withdraw, or amend a license. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6165, by FAX at 801-538-6163, or by Internet E-mail at 
jhoffman@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/28/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Licensing 

R432-270 
Assisted Living Facilities 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27683 

FILED:  01/31/2005, 10:42 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Facility Licensure and Inspection Act, authorizes the Utah 
Department of Health to promulgate rules for health care 
facilities.  The Assisted Living Facilities rule adopts the current 
codes for operating Assisted Living Type I and Type II 
facilities.  Without the authority provided, standards for 
operating an Assisted Living facility would not be available. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Health Facility 
Committee established a subcommittee that consisted of 
representatives from the Utah Assisted Living Association, 
licensed providers, and other interested parties to review and 
recommend changes to the Assisted Living rule.  
Amendments to the rule were made based on the input from 
the committee. 1) There were many comments to not restrict 
the number of ADLs (Activities of Daily Living) that a resident 
can have total assistance with in a Type I facility. 2) There 
was comment and discussion of what constitutes an ADL. 3) 
There was comment to support changes to the medication 
administration portion of the rule to clarify the facility 
responsibilities. 4) There was comment to request more 
clarification on the proposed changes to medication 

administration. 5) There was comment to clarify what types of 
licensed professionals can do assessments for residents. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The comments that were 
made were addressed and clarified during the rule change 
process in 2001.  The agency agrees with the need to 
continue the rule.  No new changes are proposed at this time. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Michael G. Broschinsky at the above address, by phone at 
801-538-3003, by FAX at 801-538-1773, or by Internet E-mail 
at mbroschi@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/31/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

R501-18 
Abuse Background Screening 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27673 

FILED:  01/27/2005, 15:31 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Sections 62A-2-121 and 
62A-4a-116 require that a review of the Management 
Information System shall be conducted on licensees and 
individuals associated with the licensee as part of the initial 
and annual licensing process. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Office of Licensing 
has not received any written comments during the past five 
years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  There is a continued and 
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increasing need for abuse background screening to protect 
children and vulnerable adults from individuals who may have 
committed acts of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a child or 
vulnerable adult. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
ADMINISTRATION, ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES, 
LICENSING 
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Bohi at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4153, by 
FAX at 801-538-4553, or by Internet E-mail at jbohi@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Ken Stettler, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/27/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-88 
Prohibited Transactions Between 
Agents and Unauthorized Multiple 

Employer Trusts 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27684 
FILED:  01/31/2005, 14:53 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 31A-2-201 
authorizes the commissioner to write rules to implement the 
Insurance code.  Specific rulemaking authority comes from 
Section 31A-23-302, which is now Section 31A-23a-402.  The 
renumbering of this part of the code was a result of H.B. 374, 
Insurance Producers Amendments, in the 2003 Legislature.  
The language in this section did not change.  It authorizes the 
commissioner to set guidelines for determining what is unfair 
discrimination and allows the commissioner to make rules 
defining unfair marketing acts or practices.  The rule identifies 
prohibited transactions of unauthorized multiple employer 
trusts and sets sanctions to be applied against those 
participating in these prohibited transactions.  (DAR NOTE:  
H.B. 374 is found at UT L 2003 Ch 298, and was effective 
05/05/2005.) 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The department has 

received no written comments regarding this rule in the past 
five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule protects 
consumers from agents or organizations selling insurance for 
unauthorized multiple employer trusts.  This insurance is not 
backed by a licensed insurer.  The rule also provides 
sanctions against producers transacting this type of business. 
 Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/31/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-128 
Unfair Discrimination Based Solely on 
the Failure to Maintain Auto Insurance 

(Revised) 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27685 
FILED:  01/31/2005, 15:22 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule gets its specific 
rulemaking authority from Subsection 31A23-302(3) and (8), 
which is now Subsections 31A-23a-402(3) and (8).  The 
renumbering of this part of the code was a result of H.B. 374, 
Insurance Producers Amendments, in the 2003 Legislature.  
This legislation did not change the language in Subsections 
31A-23a-402(3) and 31A-23a-402(8).  Subsection 31A-23a-
402(3) gives the commissioner authority to set guidelines for 
determining what is unfair discrimination and Subsection 31A-
23a-402(8) allows the commissioner to make rules defining 
unfair marketing acts or practices.  The rule identifies acts or 
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practices classed as unfair discrimination when applied 
against an applicant who has failed to maintain auto insurance 
for a period of time.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 374 is found at UT L 
2003 Ch 298, and was effective 05/05/2003.) 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The department has 
received no written comments regarding this rule in the past 
five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule needs to continue 
in force to prevent auto insurers from discriminating against an 
applicant of automobile insurance based solely upon the fact 
that they failed to maintain auto insurance for a period of time. 
 An insurer must demonstrate that there are other reasons for 
denying coverage or increasing their premium, such as, poor 
driving record, or loss history. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/31/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-132 
Insurance Treatment of Human 

Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Infection 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27686 
FILED:  01/31/2005, 15:33 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsections 31A-2-201(3) 
and (4) authorize the commissioner to write rules to implement 
the Insurance code.  The rule identifies and restricts certain 
underwriting, classification, or declination practices that have 

been used to discriminate against individuals with HIV 
infection.  The rule also provides guidelines regarding 
confidentiality of AIDS-related testing. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The department has 
received no written comments regarding this rule in the past 
five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule needs to be 
continued in force to make sure that the privacy of those 
tested for AIDS for insurance purposes, is protected. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/31/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Natural Resources, Water Rights 

R655-3 
Reports of Water Right Conveyance 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27690 

FILED:  02/01/2005, 18:09 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  These rules are issued 
pursuant to Section 73-1-10 which provides that the state 
engineer shall adopt rules that specify: when a water right 
owner is authorized to prepare a Report of Conveyance to the 
state engineer; the kinds of information required in such 
reports; and the procedures for processing such reports. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received in the last five years. 
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REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Section 73-1-10 requires 
the State Engineer to adopt rules for preparing Reports of 
Water Right Conveyance and updating water right title with 
the Division of Water Rights.  The rule specifies the 
information required in a Report of Conveyance and the 
procedure for processing the reports.  The rule provides 
specific information to water right owners on how to update 
title, so necessary information provided to the State Engineer 
is submitted correctly and accurately.  Title can then be 
updated to the new owner.  Upon new owner title update, the 
administrative actions concerning the water rights involved 
can then be sent to the current owner.  No opposing 
comments received. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WATER RIGHTS 
Room 220  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Gail Nelson at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7370, 
by FAX at 801-538-7442, or by Internet E-mail at 
gailnelson@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jerry Olds, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/01/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Natural Resources, Water Rights 

R655-4 
Water Well Drillers 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27691 

FILED:  02/01/2005, 18:28 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  The administrative rules for 
Water Well Drillers were promulgated under the statutory 
provisions of Section 73-3-25, which states in part, "Every 
person that constructs a well in the state shall obtain a license 
from the state engineer.  The state engineer shall enact rules 
defining the form, the expiration date, and the renewal cycle of 
the application for a license.  Well drillers' licenses are not 
transferable. The state engineer shall enact rules for well 
construction according to the procedures and requirements of 
Title 63, Chapter 46a, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.  A 
person who constructs a well in this state must first obtain a 

license as provided in this section.  Before a well driller's 
license will be issued, the applicant must file a well driller bond 
with the state engineer.  The bond shall be made payable to 
the Office of the State Engineer.  In accordance with Title 63, 
Chapter 46a, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the state 
engineer may make rules to set the amount, form, and general 
administrative requirements of a well driller bond. Proper 
compliance with the provisions of this section and the rules 
enacted under the authority of this section are required to 
obtain or renew a license.  Well drillers shall comply with the 
rules enacted by the state engineer under this chapter." 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The purpose of the 
administrative rules for Water Well Drillers is to assist in the 
orderly development of underground water; insure that 
minimum construction standards are followed in the drilling, 
construction, deepening, repairing, renovating, cleaning, 
development, and abandonment of water wells and other 
regulated wells; prevent pollution of aquifers within the state; 
prevent wasting of water from flowing wells; obtain accurate 
records of well construction operations; and insure compliance 
with the state engineer's authority for appropriating water.  
The rule currently applies to over 160 licensed drillers, 150 
registered operators, who drill over 1,400 wells per year.  In 
order to accomplish these purposes and effectively regulate 
the well drillers, the rule is still necessary.  Changes to the rule 
are not required at this time.  In 2004, the rule underwent a 
major revision as a result of a revision to the well drilling 
statute (Section 73-3-25).  These revisions were supported by 
the State's driller association (Utah Ground Water 
Association), as well as the drilling community at large within 
the State.  The changes resulted in an increase in efficiency 
and a reduction in administrative effort for both the Division of 
Water Rights and the drillers.  The revisions also clarified 
several ambiguous sections within the rule. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WATER RIGHTS 
Room 220  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Gail Nelson at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7370, 
by FAX at 801-538-7442, or by Internet E-mail at 
gailnelson@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jerry Olds, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/01/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION DAR File No. 27663 

  
56 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 4 

Regents (Board Of), Administration 

R765-604 
New Century Scholarship 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27663 

FILED:  01/19/2005, 11:30 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 53B-8-105:  
Scholarships awarded by the State Board of Regents for high 
school students who complete the requirements for an 
associate's degree in high school are authorized by this 
statute.  Funds are appropriated by the legislature annually to 
cover authorized costs for these scholarships.  This rule is 
required to provide guidelines for the State Board of Regents 
to award a New Century Scholarship authorized by Section 
53B-8-105. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments were 
received since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Continuation of this rule will 

make available scholarship opportunities for secondary school 
students wishing to pursue higher education and who 
demonstrate their desire by accelerating their training to 
receive an associate's degree early.  The opportunity for 
scholarship funds to complete a bachelor's degree provides 
an incentive for students to begin, continue, and complete 
requirements for an associate's degree early and thus 
decreases the time to complete a bachelor's degree.  The 
result is less competition for class space and resources since 
those qualifying for and receiving this New Century 
Scholarship would not add to the burden high enrollment 
numbers may cause. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
ADMINISTRATION 
BOARD OF REGENTS BUILDING, THE GATEWAY 
60 SOUTH 400 WEST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101-1284, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ronell Crossley at the above address, by phone at 801-321-
7291, by FAX at 801-321-7299, or by Internet E-mail at 
rcrossley@utahsbr.edu 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark H. Spencer, Associate Commissioner 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/19/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 

Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Agriculture and Food 

Animal Industry 
No. 27570 (AMD): R58-1.  Admission and Inspection of 
Livestock, Poultry, and Other Animals. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 18, 2005 
 
No. 27581 (AMD): R58-2.  Diseases, Inspections and 
Quarantines. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
 

Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 

No. 27435 (CPR): R156-50.  Private Probation Provider 
Licensing Act Rules. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 18, 2005 
 
No. 27435 (AMD): R156-50.  Private Probation Provider 
Licensing Act Rules. 
Published:  October 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 18, 2005 
 
 

Education 
Administration 

No. 27592 (AMD): R277-733.  Adult Education 
Programs. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
 

Health 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement 
Policy 

No. 27589 (AMD): R414-34-6.  Qualified Providers. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27591 (AMD): R414-36-6.  Qualified Providers. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 

No. 27586 (AMD): R414-61-2.  Incorporation by 
Reference. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27549 (AMD): R414-63.  Medicaid Policy for 
Pharmacy Reimbursement. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 26, 2005 
 
No. 27557 (AMD): R414-90.  Diabetes Self-Management 
Training. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 19, 2005 
 
No. 27588 (AMD): R414-200.  Non-Traditional Medicaid 
Health Plan Services. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical 
Services 

No. 27519 (AMD): R426-12.  Emergency Medical 
Services Training and Certification Standards. 
Published:  November 15, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27521 (AMD): R426-13.  Emergency Medical 
Services Provider Designations. 
Published:  December 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27522 (AMD): R426-15.  Licensed and Designated 
Provider Operations. 
Published:  December 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
 

Human Services 
Services for People with Disabilities 

No. 27568 (AMD): R539-1.  Eligibility. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 25, 2005 
 
 

Judicial Conduct Commission 
Administration 

No. 27330 (NEW): R595-1.  General Provisions. 
Published:  September 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27330 (CPR): R595-1.  General Provisions. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
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No. 27580 (REP): R595-1.  Rules of Procedure. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27331 (NEW): R595-2.  Administration. 
Published:  September 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27331 (CPR): R595-2.  Administration. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27332 (NEW): R595-3.  Procedure. 
Published:  September 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27332 (CPR): R595-3.  Procedure. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27333 (NEW): R595-4.  Sanctions. 
Published:  September 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
No. 27333 (CPR): R595-4.  Sanctions. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
 

Labor Commission 
Safety 

No. 27590 (AMD): R616-3-3.  Safety Codes for 
Elevators. 
Published:  January 1, 2005 
Effective:  February 1, 2005 
 
 

Natural Resources 
Parks and Recreation 

No. 27560 (AMD): R651-202.  Boating Advisory Council. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27559 (AMD): R651-205-7.  Palisade Lake. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27561 (AMD): R651-206.  Carrying Passengers for 
Hire. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 

No. 27562 (REP): R651-209.  Registration Expiration. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27563 (AMD): R651-211.  Assigned Numbers. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27564 (AMD): R651-212.  Display of Yearly 
Registration Decals and Month of Expiration Decals. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27565 (AMD): R651-215.  Personal Flotation 
Devices. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27566 (AMD): R651-401.  Off-Highway Vehicle and 
Registration Stickers. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 

Wildlife Resources 
No. 27550 (AMD): R657-5.  Taking Big Game. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27551 (AMD): R657-37.  Cooperative Wildlife 
Management Units for Big Game. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27552 (AMD): R657-38.  Dedicated Hunter Program. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
No. 27553 (AMD): R657-42-4.  Surrenders. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 15, 2005 
 
 

Public Safety 
Fire Marshal 

No. 27573 (AMD): R710-6.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Rules. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  January 19, 2005 
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RULES INDEX 
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 

AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)  

 
The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 1, 2005, including notices of effective date received through 
February 1, 2005, the effective dates of which are no later than February 15, 2005.  The Rules Index is published in 
the Utah State Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the 
Bulletin, do become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day 
(Emergency) rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and 
Keyword (Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  The index may contain inaccurate page number references.  Also the index is incomplete in the sense 
that index entries for Changes in Proposed Rules (CPRs) are not preceded by entries for their parent Proposed 
Rules.  Bulletin issue information and effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our 
knowledge, complete and accurate.  If you have any questions regarding the index and the information it contains, 
please contact Nancy Lancaster (801 538-3218), Mike Broschinsky (801 538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801 
538-3777). 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
 
 
 
 
 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  

 
 
 
CODE 
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FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Administrative Services 

Fleet Operations 
R27-1-2  Definitions 27546 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/3  

R27-4 Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State 
Fleet 

27543 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

R27-6 Fuel Dispensing Program 27544 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/7  

 
Agriculture and Food 

Animal Industry 
R58-1 Admission and Inspection of Livestock, Poultry, 

and Other Animals 
27570 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-24/5  

R58-2 Diseases, Inspections and Quarantines 27581 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/9  

R58-7 Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock 
Auction Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and 
Livestock Market Weighpersons 

27688 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/46  

R58-10 Meat and Poultry Inspection 27693 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 
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R58-17 Aquaculture and Aquatic Animal Health. 27696 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 

R58-21 Trichomoniasis 27694 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 

R58-22 Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) 27695 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 

Plant Industry 
R68-3 Utah Fertilizer Act Governing Fertilizers and 

Soil Amendments 
27645 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/58  

R68-20 Utah Organic Standards 27697 5YR 02/04/2005 Not Printed 

Regulatory Services 
R70-440 Egg Products Inspection 27514 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R70-960-7  Registration Certificate Displayed 27523 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Commerce 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-1 General Rules of the Division of Occupational 

and Professional Licensing 
27499 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules 27435 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules 27435 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 27489 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

R156-56-704  Statewide Amendments to the IBC 27490 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

R156-61-502  Unprofessional Conduct 27538 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

R156-71-202  Naturopathic Physician Formulary 27533 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

 
Community and Economic Development 

Community Development, Community Services 
R202-202-202  Opening and Closing Dates for HEAT Program 27418 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

R202-203-324  Income Deductions 27421 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

R202-203-328  Self-Employment Income 27419 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

R202-207-702  Records Management 27420 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
Education 

Administration 
R277-400 School Emergency Response Plans 27539 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-473 Testing Procedures 27547 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/43  

R277-725 Electronic High School 27507 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-733 Adult Education Programs 27592 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/10  

R277-746 Driver Education Programs for Utah Schools 27520 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Environmental Quality 

Air Quality 
R307-110-12  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 

Point Sources, Part C, Carbon Monoxide 
27343 CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

R307-110-12  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 
Point Sources, Part C, Carbon Monoxide 

27343 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

Water Quality 
R317-4 Individual Wastewater Disposal Systems 27699 5YR 02/10/2005 Not Printed 

 
Health 

Administration 
R380-40 Local Health Department Minimum 

Performance Standards 
27571 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 4 61 

CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 
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DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-7D Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally 

Retarded Transition Project 
27505 NEW 01/03/2005 2004-22/15  

R414-10A-6  Prior Authorization 27486 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R414-34-6  Qualified Providers 27589 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/21  

R414-36-6  Qualified Providers 27591 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/22  

R414-61-2  Incorporation by Reference 27586 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/23  

R414-63 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Reimbursement 27549 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

R414-90 Diabetes Self-Management Training 27557 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/15  

R414-200 Non-Traditional Medicaid Health Plan Services 27588 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-12 Emergency Medical Services Training and 

Certification Standards 
27519 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-22/26  

R426-13 Emergency Medical Services Provider 
Designations 

27521 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/47  

R426-15 Licensed and Designated Provider Operations 27522 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/48  

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-7 Specialty Hospital - Psychiatric Hospital 

Construction 
27674 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/46  

R432-8 Specialty Hospital - Chemical 
Dependency/Substance Abuse Construction 

27675 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/47  

R432-9 Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation Construction 
Rule 

27676 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

R432-10 Specialty Hospital - Long-Term Acute Care 
Construction Rule 

27677 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

R432-11 Specialty Hospital - Orthopedic Hospital 
Construction 

27678 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

R432-12 Small Health Care Facility (Four to Sixteen 
Beds) Construction Rule 

27679 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

R432-13 Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Center 
Construction Rule 

27680 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

R432-14 Birthing Center Construction Rule 27681 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

R432-30 Adjudicative Procedure 27682 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

R432-270 Assisted Living Facilities 27683 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/51  

 
Human Services 

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 
R501-18 Abuse Background Screening 27673 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  

Recovery Services 
R527-10 Disclosure of Information to the Office of 

Recovery Services 
27640 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

R527-40 Retained Support 27642 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

R527-210 Guidelines for Setting Child Support Awards 27534 REP 01/04/2005 2004-23/49  

R527-475 State Tax Refund Intercept 27641 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

Services for People with Disabilities 
R539-1 Eligibility 27568 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

 
Insurance 

Administration 
R590-88 Prohibited Transactions Between Agents and 

Unauthorized Multiple Employer Trusts 
27684 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/52  

R590-128 Unfair Discrimination Based Solely on the 
Failure to Maintain Auto Insurance (Revised) 

27685 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

R590-132 Insurance Treatment of Human 
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Infection 

27686 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/54  
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DATE 

BULLETIN 
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R590-147 Annual and Quarterly Statement Filing 
Instructions 

27556 R&R 02/10/2005 2004-24/21  

R590-163 Filing Quarterly Statements 27554 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/23  

R590-174 Diskette Filing of Annual and Quarterly 
Statements 

27555 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/24  

R590-196 Bail Bond Surety Fee Standards, Collateral 
Standards, and Disclosure Form 

27644 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/60  

R590-196 Bail Bond Surety Fee Standards, Collateral 
Standards, and Disclosure Form 

27558 AMD 02/10/2005 2004-24/25  

 
Judicial Conduct Commission 

Administration 
R595-1 Rules of Procedure 27580 REP 02/01/2005 2005-1/26  

R595-1 General Provisions 27330 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/18  

R595-1 General Provisions 27330 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/59  

R595-2 Administration 27331 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/60  

R595-2 Administration 27331 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/23  

R595-3 Procedure 27332 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/24  

R595-3 Procedure 27332 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/61  

R595-4 Sanctions 27333 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/64  

R595-4 Sanctions 27333 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/26  

 
Labor Commission 

Safety 
R616-3-3  Safety Codes for Elevators 27590 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
Natural Resources 

Parks and Recreation 
R651-202 Boating Advisory Council 27560 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/28  

R651-205-7  Palisade Lake 27559 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

R651-206 Carrying Passengers for Hire 27561 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

R651-209 Registration Expiration 27562 REP 01/15/2005 2004-24/32  

R651-211 Assigned Numbers 27563 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/33  

R651-212 Display of Yearly Registration Decals and 
Month of Expiration Decals 

27564 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/34  

R651-215 Personal Flotation Devices 27565 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/35  

R651-401 Off-Highway Vehicle and Registration Stickers 27566 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/37  

Water Rights 
R655-3 Reports of Water Right Conveyance 27690 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27392 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27691 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

Wildlife Resources 
R657-5 Taking Big Game 27550 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 27432 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 27432 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

R657-37 Cooperative Wildlife Management Units for Big 
Game 

27551 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

R657-38 Dedicated Hunter Program 27552 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

R657-42-4  Surrenders 27553 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  
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Professional Practices Advisory Commission 

Administration 
R686-100 Professional Practices Advisory Commission, 

Rules of Procedure:  Complaints and Hearings 
27542 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Public Safety 

Fire Marshal 
R710-6 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules 27573 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/54  

R710-8 Day Care Rules 27574 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-360-9  One-Time Distributions from the Fund 27302 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

R746-360-9  One-Time Distributions from the Fund 27302 CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

R746-409-1  General Provisions 27527 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Regents (Board Of) 

Administration 
R765-604 New Century Scholarship 27663 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/55  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-500-501  Authority for Adoption Assistance (AA) and 

Other Applicable Rules 
27491 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/31  

 
 
 
 

 RULES INDEX - BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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DATE 
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adoption assistance 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

27491 R986-500-501  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/31  

 
adult education 
Education, Administration 27592 R277-733 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/10  

 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
alternate systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 Not Printed 
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aquaculture 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27696 R58-17 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 

 
benefits 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 
boating 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 27560 R651-202 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/28  

 27559 R651-205-7  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

 27561 R651-206 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

 27562 R651-209 REP 01/15/2005 2004-24/32  

 27563 R651-211 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/33  

 27564 R651-212 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/34  

 27565 R651-215 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/35  

 
building codes 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
building inspection 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
certification 
Labor Commission, Safety 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
child support 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 27642 R527-40 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

 27534 R527-210 REP 01/04/2005 2004-23/49  

 27641 R527-475 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

 
conduct 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
contractors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
conveyance 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 
cooperative wildlife management unit 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27551 R657-37 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

 
cost sharing 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  
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day care 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27574 R710-8 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
definitions 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27546 R27-1-2  AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/3  

 
disability 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27568 R539-1 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

 
disasters 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
disease control 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27570 R58-1 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-24/5  

 27694 R58-21 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 

 
diversion programs 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
driver education 
Education, Administration 27520 R277-746 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
educational testing 
Education, Administration 27547 R277-473 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/43  

 
electronic high school 
Education, Administration 27507 R277-725 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
elevators 
Labor Commission, Safety 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

27519 R426-12 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-22/26  

 27521 R426-13 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/47  

 27522 R426-15 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/48  

 
emergency preparedness 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
energy assistance 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
fertilizers 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 27645 R68-3 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/58  

 
financial information 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27574 R710-8 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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fish 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 
fishing 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 
fleet expansion 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27543 R27-4 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

 
food inspection 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27693 R58-10 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 27514 R70-440 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
fuel dispensing 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27544 R27-6 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/7  

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 
government documents 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

27674 R432-7 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/46  

 27675 R432-8 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/47  

 27676 R432-9 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

 27677 R432-10 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

 27678 R432-11 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

 27679 R432-12 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

 27680 R432-13 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

 27681 R432-14 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

 27682 R432-30 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

 27683 R432-270 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/51  

 
health insurance 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 
hearings 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
HEAT 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
higher education 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/55  

 
human services 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

27673 R501-18 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  
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Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27568 R539-1 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

 
hunting 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
income eligibility 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
inspections 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27695 R58-22 5YR 02/03/2005 Not Printed 

Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 27697 R68-20 5YR 02/04/2005 Not Printed 

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 27523 R70-960-7  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
insurance 
Insurance, Administration 27556 R590-147 R&R 02/10/2005 2004-24/21  

 27554 R590-163 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/23  

 27644 R590-196 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/60  

 27558 R590-196 AMD 02/10/2005 2004-24/25  

 
insurance companies 
Insurance, Administration 27685 R590-128 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

 
insurance law 
Insurance, Administration 27684 R590-88 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/52  

 27686 R590-132 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/54  

 27555 R590-174 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/24  

 
judicial conduct commission 
Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration 

27330 R595-1 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/59  

 27580 R595-1 REP 02/01/2005 2005-1/26  

 27330 R595-1 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/18  

 27331 R595-2 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/23  

 27331 R595-2 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/60  

 27332 R595-3 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/61  

 27332 R595-3 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/24  

 27333 R595-4 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/26  

 27333 R595-4 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/64  

 
licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 27538 R156-61-502  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

 27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

27673 R501-18 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  
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Natural Resources, Water Rights 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
liquefied petroleum gas 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27573 R710-6 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/54  

 
livestock 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27688 R58-7 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/46  

 
local health departments 
Health, Administration 27571 R380-40 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

 
Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27505 R414-7D NEW 01/03/2005 2004-22/15  

 27486 R414-10A-6  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27589 R414-34-6  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/21  

 27591 R414-36-6  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/22  

 27586 R414-61-2  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/23  

 27549 R414-63 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

 27557 R414-90 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/15  

 27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 
naturopathic physician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

 
naturopaths 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

 
non-traditional 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 
occupational licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
off-highway vehicles 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 27566 R651-401 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/37  

 
opening and closing dates 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
ownership 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 
ozone 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
payment determination 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  
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performance standards 
Health, Administration 27571 R380-40 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

 
permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27553 R657-42-4  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

 
pipeline 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
PM10 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
PM2.5 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 
prescriptions 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27549 R414-63 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

 
private probation provider 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 
probation 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 
psychologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27538 R156-61-502  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 
quarantines 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27581 R58-2 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/9  

 
recreation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
residency requirements 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
rules and procedures 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
safety 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Safety 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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safety education 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
scholarship 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/55  

 
secondary education 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/55  

 
self-employment income 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
septic systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 Not Printed 

 
state HEAT office records 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
teacher certification 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 
universal service 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 
vehicle replacement 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27543 R27-4 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

 
waste water 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 Not Printed 

 
water rights 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
well drillers 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
well drilling 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 
wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27551 R657-37 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  
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 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 27553 R657-42-4  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

 
wildlife conservation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
wildlife law 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  
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