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NOTICES OF
PROPOSED RULES

A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule. Filings received between February 02, 2010, 12:00 a.m., and February 
16, 2010, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the March 01, 2010 issue of the Utah State Bulletin.

In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS. This analysis provides summary information 
about the  PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal 
cross-references.

Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed. New rules or additions made to existing 
rules are underlined (e.g., example). Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding them 
(e.g., [example]). Rules being repealed are completely struck out. A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space. Unaffected sections 
are not printed. If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE 
ANALYSIS. A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Division of  
Administrative Rules.

The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least March 31, 2010. The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS. The agency may also hold public hearings. Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE. Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule."

From the  end  of  the  public  comment  period  through  June  29,  2010,  the  agency  may  notify  the  Division  of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective. The agency sets the effective date. The date 
may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the  Utah State Bulletin. Alternatively, the agency may file a  CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received. If the Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses and the agency must start the process 
over.

The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on  PROPOSED RULES. 
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the Rule Analysis for each rule.

PROPOSED RULES are  governed  by  Section  63G-3-301;  Rule  R15-2;  and  Sections  R15-4-3,  R15-4-4,  R15-4-5, 
R15-4-9, and R15-4-10.

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page
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NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 33390

33390

Administrative Services, Risk 
Management

R37-1
Risk Management General Rules

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  33390
FILED:  02/16/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purposes of the proposed amendments are to 
recognize participating charter schools as covered entities; to 
avoid  inconsistencies  between  the  Risk  Management 
Insurance  Policy  and  administrative  rule;  and  to  provide 
clarification  of  underwriting  standards  and  loss  control 
practices.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
amendments  add  participating  charter  schools  as  covered 
entities.   Minor  revisions  are  provided  to  clarify  existing 
language concerning liability limits, property deductibles, and 
covered  entities'  obligations  to  implement  corrective 
measures.  Citations to the Governmental Immunity Act are 
updated.  Coverage and conditions provisions are deleted to 
avoid conflicts between the administrative rule and the Risk 
Management  Fund  Insurance  Policy.   Risk  control  and 
underwriting standards are updated to reflect the existence of 
the  online  self-inspection  survey;  to  require  the  timely 
notification of acquired assets; to clarify and modify training 
requirements for driver safety and workplace harassment and 
discrimination;  and  to  update  references  to  applicable 
building and fire codes.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 63A-4-101

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed amendments are not 
expected to realize any costs or savings to the state budget, 
because the amendments are simply clarifying or updating 
current practices and standards.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The proposed amendments are 
applicable only to Risk Management's covered entities, which 
are  all  state  agencies,  public  school  districts,  public 
institutions  of  higher  education,  and  participating  charter 
schools.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   The  proposed  amendments  are 
applicable only to Risk Management's covered entities, which 
are  all  state  agencies,  public  school  districts,  public 
institutions  of  higher  education,  and  participating  charter 
schools.

♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  proposed  amendments  are  applicable  only  to  Risk 
Management's covered entities, which are all state agencies, 
public school districts, public institutions of higher education, 
and participating charter schools.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
will be no compliance costs for the covered entities that are 
impacted  by  these  proposed  amendments.   As  indicated 
above,  these  revisions  were  drafted  to  address  current 
standards and practices.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
These revisions will  only impact Risk Management covered 
entities.  Consequently, I anticipate no compliance costs for 
other businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
RISK MANAGEMENT
ROOM 5120 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N STATE ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Brian  Nelson  by  phone  at  801-538-9576,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-9597,  or by Internet  E-mail  at  benelson@utah.gov
♦  Stephen  Hewlett  by  phone  at  801-538-9572,  by FAX at 
801-538-9597,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  shewlett@utah.gov
♦  Tani  Downing  by  phone  at  801-538-9560,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-9597, or by Internet E-mail at tdowning@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 04/09/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/16/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Kimberly Hood, Executive Director

R37.  Administrative Services, Risk Management.
R37-1.  Risk Management General Rules.
R37-1-3.  Definitions.

(1)   "Conditions"  specific  policy  requirements  the 
violation of which will invalidate coverage.

(2)  "Coverage or coverage provision" means the type of 
protection provided against specific risks or losses.

(3)  "Covered Entity" means a state department or other 
state  agency  not  within  a  state  department,  a  state  college  or 
university, a public school district, a participating charter school, or 
other  entity  which  is  covered  under  the  terms  of  a  coverage 
document issued to it by the Risk Management Fund.
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DAR File No. 33390 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

(4)  "Underwriting Standard" or "Risk Control Standard" 
means  an  action  or  procedure  which  must  be  performed  by  a 
covered  entity  in  order  to  reduce  the  risk  of  loss  or  to  avoid 
imposition  of  coverage  restrictions,  deductibles,  increased 
premiums, or loss of credits or dividends.

R37-1-4.  Description of the Fund and its Activities.
The Risk Management Fund, hereafter referred to as the 

Fund, is a self-insurance mechanism established by statute to handle 
losses to or claims against the state, its agencies, [and ]institutions 
of  higher  education,  [and  ]participating  school  districts, 
participating charter schools, and other entities, which are treated as 
state  agencies  when  participating,  all  hereafter  referred  to  as 
covered entities.  Although coverage through the Fund may be in 
formats  like  or  similar  to  insurance  policies,  the  relationship 
between the Fund and covered entities is  not that  of insurer and 
insured.   No  special  duties,  rules  of  construction  or  other  legal 
doctrines recognized by the courts or created by statute with respect 
to the relationship of an insurer to its insured shall apply to the Fund 
or  entities  covered  by  it,  except  those  which  are  specifically 
required by Title 31A, Chapter 12 with respect to some coverage 
provided  to  school  districts.   The  duty to  defend  employees,  as 
defined in Section 63-30d-102 UCA, or volunteers, as defined in 
Section 67-20-2 UCA, of covered entities extends only as far as the 
entities' duty to employees or volunteers under the "Governmental 
Immunity  Act"  and  no  special  relationship  of  insurer  to  insured 
exists between the Fund and employees or volunteers of covered 
entities.

R37-1-5.  Coverage, Deductibles, Duties and Conditions.
Specific  risks  covered,  properties  covered,  coverage 

limits,  exclusions,  deductibles,  conditions  and  other  coverage 
provisions for coverage through the Risk Management Fund shall 
apply in accordance with coverage policies issued by the Fund to 
each covered entity.  Subject to specific provisions of the coverage 
policies, the Fund provides the following coverage:

(1)  Liability
(a)  Risks Covered - General, automobile, personal injury, 

errors and omissions, malpractice and garage keepers' liability, and 
personal  injury  protection  coverage  applying  to  all  premises, 
operations, approved contracts, products and completed operations; 
owned, non-owned and hired automobiles, other than personal use 
automobiles;  employees,  volunteers,  and students in the scope of 
employment or approved services to the public.

(b)  Limits  -  Typically,  the limits  are the  [M]maximum 
liability  [under]calculated  pursuant  to Section 
63G-7-604[63-30d-604]  UCA[ for  situations  subject  to  the 
Governmental  Immunity  Act];  lower  or  higher  limits  for  other 
situations as indicated in coverage policies issued to each covered 
entity.

(c)   Deductible  -  Deductibles  apply  to  some  specific 
property  coverages  and  situations  as  noted  in  the  coverage 
document, but there is no general deductible with regard to liability 
coverage.

(d)   Conditions  -  The  following  conditions  apply  to 
liability coverages:

(i)   In  the  event  of an occurrence,  personal  injury,  act, 
error, omission, incident, or any other situation likely to give rise to 
a claim covered by the Fund, written notice containing particulars 

sufficient  to  identify  the  covered  entity  or  person  and  also 
reasonably obtainable information with respect to the time,  place 
and  circumstances  thereof,  and  the  names  and  addresses  of  the 
potential claimant, and of available witnesses, shall be given by or 
for the covered entity or person to the Fund or any of its authorized 
agents as soon as practicable.  The covered entity shall promptly 
take[, at its own expense,] all reasonable steps to prevent additional 
injury  or  damage  [from]  arising  out  of  the  same  or  similar 
conditions.[; provided (1) that a]  A covered entity's failure to take 
preventive measures shall not constitute a breach of this condition 
unless  the  Fund  has  requested  the  covered  entity,  in  writing,  to 
undertake  the  preventive  measures. [and  (2)  the  expense] Costs 
incurred by a covered entity to implement preventive measures shall 
not be recoverable from the Fund.

(ii)  If claim is made or suit is brought against the covered 
entity  or  person,  whether  in  court  or  through  an  administrative 
proceeding with the Utah Anti-discrimination Division, the Federal 
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission or similar body,  the 
covered entity or person shall immediately forward to the Fund a 
copy of every demand, notice, summons or other process received 
by it or its representative.  Any covered person who is an employee 
or volunteer of the covered entity shall comply with all provisions 
of Sections [63-30d-902]63G-7-902 UCA, [63-30d-903]63G-7-903 
UCA, or both before the Fund shall have any duty to defend or pay 
any judgment against such covered person.

(iii)  The covered entity or person shall cooperate with the 
Fund and, upon the Fund's request, provide the fund with requested 
information, assist in making settlements, assist in making rule 68 
offers  of  judg[e]ment,  and assist  in  the  conduct  of  suits  and  in 
enforcing any right of contribution or indemnity against any person 
or organization who may be liable to the covered entity or person 
because of bodily injury or property damage with respect to which 
coverage is afforded by the Fund; and the covered entity or person 
shall  attend hearings  and trials  and assist  in  securing and [assist 
giving]providing evidence  and  obtaining  the  attendance  of 
witnesses.  The covered entity or person shall not, except at its own 
cost, voluntarily make any payment, assume any obligation or incur 
any expense other than for qualified first aid to others at the time of 
the accident.

(iv)   In  the  event  any  employee  or  volunteer  requests 
under the terms of Section [63-30d-902]63G-7-902 UCA that the 
covered entity defend  him relative  to  any action or  claim which 
would be covered by the Fund, the covered entity shall immediately 
forward the request to the Fund and the Fund shall have the right to 
determine on behalf of the covered entity whether to defend, defend 
under a reservation of rights, or decline to defend.

(v)  The covered entity or person shall share with the Fund 
all records requested by the Fund, relative to any claim under this 
coverage, to the fullest extent permitted by the Utah Government 
Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA).  If the covered 
entity falls under the provisions of Section 63-2-701, 702 or 703 
UCA, the covered entity shall adopt an ordinance or policy, or make 
rules which allow the sharing of records with the Fund to at least 
the extent permitted by GRAMA and shall share with the Fund all 
records requested relative to any claim under this coverage to the 
fullest extent permitted by the ordinance, policy or rule.

(vi)  This coverage does not apply to any claim under the 
Americans With Disabilities Act, as amended, Section 504[,] of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, or similar laws based in 
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whole or in part on the failure of any covered entity to provide a 
[requested]reasonable accommodation unless the covered entity has 
notified  the  Fund of  its  preliminary intention not  to  provide  the 
requested accommodation, [and ]has allowed the Fund a reasonable 
opportunity to consult with the covered entity before the covered 
entity denies  the  requested accommodation,  and the Fund agrees 
with the proposed denial.

[(e)   Special  Automobile  Condition  -  A  $10,000  per 
accident deductible applies to amounts otherwise payable under this 
coverage because of an accident involving an automobile driven by 
a covered person who either:
               (i)  at the time of the accident was not a licensed driver for 
the type of vehicle involved; and who also was not so licensed at 
the closer to the accident date of:
               (A)  the date of his employment as a driver of the covered 
entity;
               (B)  the date of the covered entity became or should have 
become aware he was not so licensed; or
               (C)  one year prior to the accident date; or
               (D)  at the time of such accident the covered entity knew 
or should have known that the employee:
               (I)  had a vehicle accident which was his fault,
               (II)  had been convicted of driving under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs, or
               (III)  had been convicted of reckless driving, during the 
one year period prior to such accident and who had not completed a 
Fund approved driver safety program before the accident, provided, 
however,  that  this  provision  shall  not  apply  if  the  date  of  the 
accident is less than thirty days after the covered entity knew of or 
should have known of the incident under a, b or c above.
               (2)  Property
               (a)  Risks Covered - Virtually all insurable risks of loss.
               (b)  Property Covered - Real and personal property owned 
by covered entities, for which they are liable or for which they have 
assumed responsibility, and which has been reported to the Fund.
               (c)  Limits - Replacement cost in most cases; sub-limits 
apply for earthquake and flood damage.
               (d)  Deductible - $1,000 per occurrence applies to each 
and every loss, as indicated in the coverage policy.
               (e)  A $100,000 deductible applies to each and every loss 
occurrence at any location for which:
               (I)   the  fund  has  recommended that  the  insured  take  a 
reasonable risk reduction action:
               (II)  the fund has given the insured thirty days notice that 
this  higher  deductible  will  apply,  if  the  recommendation  is  not 
complied with; and
               (III)   the  insured  has  not  complied  with  the 
recommendation  within  thirty  days  of  notice  that  without 
compliance this higher deductible will apply
               This  higher  deductible  will  cease  to  apply  when  the 
insured has complied with the recommendation to the satisfaction of 
the  fund  as  evidenced  by  written  notice  to  the  insured  of  the 
reduction of the deductible.
               (f)   Conditions  -  The  following  conditions  apply  to 
property coverage.
               (i)  In case of loss, the covered entity shall:
               (A)  give immediate notice of such loss to the Fund;

               (B)  protect  the covered property from further  damage, 
make reasonable temporary repairs required to protect the covered 
property, and keep an accurate record of repair expenditures;
               (C)  prepare an inventory of damaged personal property, 
showing  in  detail,  quantity,  description,  replacement  value,  and 
amount of loss.  Attach to the inventory all bills, receipts and related 
documents that substantiate the figures in the inventory;
               (D)  exhibit the remains of the damaged property as often 
as  may  be  reasonably  required  by  the  Fund  and  submit  to 
examination under oath;
               (E)  submit to the Fund within 60 days after requested a 
signed,  sworn statement  of loss  that  sets  forth  to  the best  of the 
covered entity's knowledge and belief:
               (I)  the time and cause of loss;
               (II)   interest  of the covered entity and all  others in the 
property involved and all encumbrances on the property;
               (III)  other policies of insurance that may cover the loss;
               (IV)  changes in title or occupancy of the property during 
the term of the policy;
               (V)  specifications of any damaged building and detailed 
estimates for repair of the damage;
               (VI)   an  inventory  of  damaged  personal  property 
described in (C) above;
               (F)  give immediate notice of the loss to the proper police 
authority if loss is due to a violation of law.
               (ii)  Values Reporting
               The  covered  entity  agrees  to  submit  a  statement  of 
replacement values of property covered by the Fund by April 1st 
each year or by a later date as indicated by the Fund.   Required 
information will be in formats requested by the Fund.  In addition, 
any acquisition valued in excess of $25,000,000 must be reported 
within  ninety  days  of  acquisition  in  order  to  be  covered.   The 
requirements  of  this  condition  apply  to  all  types  of  covered 
property.
               (3)  Bond
               (a)  Risks Covered - Faithful performance; all employees 
except treasurers by title are covered.
               (b)  Limits - $10,000,000
               (c)  Deductible -
               (I)  Subject to (II) below a $1,000 deductible applies to 
each and every occurrence
               (II)  A $100,000 deductible applies to each and every loss 
occurrence or from any operation which;
               (A)  the fund has recommended that the insured take a 
reasonable risk reduction action:
               (B)  the fund has given the insured thirty days notice that 
this  higher  deductible  will  apply,  if  the  recommendation  is  not 
complied with; and
               (C)   the  insured  has  not  complied  with  the 
recommendation  within  thirty  days  of  notice  that  without 
compliance this higher deductible will apply
               This  higher  deductible  will  cease  to  apply  when  the 
insured has complied with the recommendation to the satisfaction of 
the  fund  as  evidenced  by  written  notice  to  the  insured  of  the 
reduction of the deductible.
               (d)  Conditions -
               (i)   Upon  knowledge  or  discovery  of  loss  under  this 
coverage, the covered entity shall:
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               (A)  give notice thereof at the earliest practicable moment, 
not to exceed 30 days, to the Fund and,
               (B)  file detailed proof of loss, duly sworn to, with the 
Fund within four months after the discovery of loss.
               (ii)   Upon  the  Fund's  request,  the  covered  entity  shall 
produce  for  the  Fund's  examination  all  pertinent  records,  at 
reasonable times and places as the Fund shall designate, and shall 
cooperate with the Fund in all matters pertaining to loss or claims 
under this coverage.
               (4)  Automobile Physical Damage
               (a)  Risks Covered - Comprehensive and collision.
               (b)  Automobiles Covered - All automobiles of an entity 
except personal use automobiles.
               (c)  Limits - Actual cash value
               (d)  Deductible -  $1,000 or less,  according to coverage 
policy.
               (e)  Conditions -
               (i)  In the event of loss, the covered entity shall:
               (A)  protect the covered automobile, whether or not this 
coverage applies to the loss, and any further loss or damage due to 
the named insured's failure to protect shall not be recoverable under 
this  coverage;  reasonable  expenses  incurred  in  affording  such 
protection shall be deemed incurred at the Fund's request;
               (B)  give notice thereof as soon as practicable to the Fund 
or any of its  authorized agents and also,  in the event  of theft  or 
larceny, to the police;
               (C)  file with the Fund within 90 days after loss, sworn 
proof of loss in such form and including such information as the 
Fund may reasonably require  and,  upon the  Fund's  request  shall 
exhibit  the  damaged  property  and  submit  to  examination  under 
oath;
               (D)   cooperate  with  the  Fund  and,  upon  the  Fund's 
request, shall assist in making settlements, in the conduct of suits 
and in enforcing any right of contribution or indemnity against any 
person  or  organization  who  may be  liable  to  the  covered  entity 
because of loss with respect to  which this  coverage applies;  and 
shall  attend hearings and trials and assist  in securing and giving 
evidence and obtaining the attendance of witnesses.]

[(5)](2)  Conditions applicable to all coverages provided 
by the Fund:

(a)   In  accordance  with  Subsection  63A-4-101(2)(b)(v) 
UCA, in the event of any coverage dispute between the Fund and 
any covered entity or person, there shall be no right of legal action 
against  the  Fund.[,  unless  such  right  is  specifically  required  by 
statute.  Coverage disputes shall be resolved by binding arbitration 
upon request of any covered entity or person.   In  the event of a 
request, the Fund and the requesting covered entity or person shall 
each select an arbitrator and the two arbitrators shall select a third 
arbitrator.   Decisions made by a majority of the  three arbitrators 
shall be binding upon the Fund and the requesting covered entity or 
person.  The Fund and the requesting covered entity or person shall 
each pay the cost of their chosen arbitrator.  The losing party shall 
pay the cost of the third arbitrator.  The Fund and the covered entity 
or  person  may  mutually  agree  on  any  alterative  arbitration 
procedure.]

(b)   In  the  event  of  any payment  under  any coverage 
provided through the Fund, the Fund shall be subrogated to all of 
the covered entity or person's rights of recovery therefor against any 
person  or  organization  and  the  covered  entity  or  person  shall 

execute and deliver instruments and papers and do whatever else is 
necessary to secure these rights.  The covered entity or person shall 
do nothing after the loss to prejudice these rights.

R37-1-6.  Premium Establishment.
 In  addition  to  other  actuarially  sound factors, the  Risk 
Manager  may  use  the  following  in  determining  the  appropriate 
premiums for coverage provided to each covered entity:
 (1)   Entity  efforts  at  exposure  management  including 
completion of self[ ]-inspection [forms]surveys, employee training, 
agency  attendance  at  Fund[ ]-sponsored  seminars,  agency  risk 
control  meetings, risk[ ]-related  policy  development  and 
implementation, etc.
 (2)  Entity accidents, claims and loss history.

(3)  Recent state and federal  statutes or court  decisions 
affecting covered entities and operations.
 (4)  Number of employees in the entity and size of  the 
entity's budget.
 (5)   Value,  protection  and  other  characteristics  of  the 
entity's buildings and contents.
 (6)  Number, type, and value of entity vehicles.

(7)  Entity operations and activities.
 (8)  Actuarial studies.

R37-1-7.  Risk Control Standards.
In  accordance with Subsection 63A-4-101(2)(b)(i),  each 

covered  entity  shall  comply  with  the  following  risk  control 
standards:

(1)   Covered  entities  shall  appoint  an  entity  risk 
coordinator who shall report directly to the covered entity's director, 
school superintendent or university/college president, or to another 
individual  who  reports  directly  to  the  covered  entity's  director, 
school superintendent or college/university president.  Subordinate 
risk  coordinators  or  other  individuals  may  be  appointed  at  the 
division,  school  or  lower levels  of  the  organization as  the  entity 
deems appropriate.  The day to day implementation or management 
of the entity's risk management duties may be assigned by the risk 
coordinator  to  subordinate  individuals,  committees,  or  groups  as 
necessary for efficient operation and implementation.

(2)   The  covered  entity  risk  coordinator  shall  be 
responsible for the following duties:

(a)  Identifying, evaluating and resolving risk exposures 
for the entity,

(b)   Coordinating  with  the  Fund  on  the  reporting  and 
investigation of all claims or losses,

(c)  Coordinating with the Fund on all liability prevention 
and loss control and prevention activities.

(d)  Ensuring that the Fund is provided with all reasonable 
information necessary to compute premiums.

(e)   Ensuring  that  premium billings  are  processed  and 
paid.

(f)  Ensuring that notification is made to the Fund on all 
incidents,  issues  or  informal  or  administrative  claims,  including 
claims originating at the EEOC and/or UALD that may result in a 
formal claim against the Fund.

(g)  Internally supervising or managing all loss prevention 
activities.

(h)  Normally chairing the entity Risk Control Committee 
and ensuring staff support to the Risk Control Committee.
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(3)   Each  covered  entity  shall  appoint  a  Risk  Control 
Committee, hereinafter referred to as the committee.  Each covered 
entity  shall  include  on  its  committee  those  positions  deemed 
necessary  by  the  Risk  Coordinator  and/or  the  entity  director, 
president, or superintendent to provide comprehensive review and 
risk management  services  to  all  of  the  entities  operations.   It  is 
recommended  that  the  following  positions  be  included  on  the 
committee:

(a)  Entity Risk Coordinator.
(b)   The  covered  entity's  maintenance  director  and/or 

facilities  director,  where  the  entity  owns  or  manages  its  own 
buildings or  in  the  case where the building is leased the DFCM 
manager assigned to that building.

(c)   The  covered  entity's  Human  Resource/Personnel 
director.

(d)  The covered entity's Americans with Disabilities Act 
Coordinator, or other entity Civil Rights coordinator or director.

(e)  The covered entity's Safety Director.
(f)  The covered entity's legal counsel or attorney as an ex-

officio member.
(g)  Staff from the Fund, who may attend the meetings in 

an ex officio capacity.
The covered entity may appoint on either a permanent or 

ad hoc basis other individuals whose job duties or special expertise 
may be of use to the committee.  These individuals may include the 
covered  entity's  internal  auditor,  the  covered  entity's  security 
director, the transportation or motor pool director, a representative 
from  the  entity's  finance  and  accounting  section  and  employee 
representatives.  School districts may also wish to include on the 
committee  representatives  from the  district's  athletic,  vocational, 
science  and  other  high  risk  curriculum  areas.  The  Fund,  upon 
request  of  the  covered  entity  risk  coordinator,  will  provide 
recommendations on the makeup of the committee.

The committee shall be normally chaired by the covered 
entity's  risk coordinator.   The committee  shall  be  responsible  for 
oversight  and  supervision  of  the  entity's  risk  coordination  and 
management program and shall meet at least once each quarter.  In 
advance of the meeting, the committee shall publish an agenda of its 
meetings and shall forward a copy of the agenda to the Fund.  The 
entity  or  its  committee  may  appoint  other  ad  hoc  or  standing 
committees,  or  subcommittees  to  deal  with  specific  issues  and 
problems such as safety, risk control training, civil rights, accident 
review etc.

(4)   The  duties  of  the  committee  shall  include  the 
following activities:

(a)   Identifying,  evaluating  and  resolving  entity  risk 
exposures.
 (b)   Reviewing  the  hazards  and  corrective  actions 
identified  during  the  annual  Risk  Management  self-inspection 
survey and developing effective and timely plans to eliminate those 
hazards.[Preparing,  or  reviewing  the  preparation  of,  the  Risk 
Management self evaluation forms and shall certify their accuracy.]

(c)  Serving as a liaison between the Fund and the entity at 
the discretion of the Risk Coordinator.

(d)  Reviewing inspection and other reports from the Fund 
and  where  applicable,  implementing  the  proposed 
recommendations.

(e)   Reviewing  and  analyzing  investigation  reports  and 
recommendations regarding all claims, accidents, workers injuries 

or  near  accidents,  and  making  recommendations  to  entity 
management  at  appropriate  levels  on  methods  for  reducing 
accidents or claims.

(i)   Where appropriate,  the  committee  may recommend 
disciplinary  and/or  corrective  action  for  employees  who  violate 
safety  standards  including  but  not  limited  to  OSHA,  health, 
hazardous materials, fire and entity specific standards and/or other 
standards, policies or rules that result in claims, accidents, worker 
injuries  or  near  accidents.   Any disciplinary or  corrective  action 
imposed shall be taken in accordance with the entity's rules.

(ii)   The  committee,  acting  as  the  agency's  Accident 
Review committee, shall review reports and recommendations from 
subcommittees  and  others  regarding  the  driving  and  accident 
records of employees and may restrict employees from using entity 
vehicles or the employee's own vehicle on entity business.

(f)   Developing  policies  related  to  risk  reduction  and 
accident prevention and shall recommend their adoption by entity 
management.

(g)  Conducting appropriate evaluations or audits of entity 
operations  and  developing  findings  and  recommendations  for 
resolution of identified problems or risk exposures.

(h)   Conducting  an  annual  review or  evaluation  of  the 
entity's risk reduction efforts and providing the Fund with a copy of 
this evaluation.

(i)   Performing  other  related  duties  as  assigned  by the 
entity risk coordinator, by entity management, or as requested by 
the Fund.

R37-1-8.  Underwriting Standards.
In  accordance  with  Subsection  63A-4-101(2)(b)(i), 

covered  entities  shall  comply  with  the  following  underwriting 
standards.

(1)  Covered entities shall  annually review,  update,  and 
submit  a  Statement  of  Values  to  the  Fund  before  July  1st. 
Furthermore, within 90 days of acquisition,  covered entities shall 
report to the Fund the description and value of any after-acquired 
personal property in excess of $20,000 and real property in excess 
of $250,000.  If a covered entity fails to comply with this standard, 
the Fund may deny coverage with respect to any loss associated 
with a non-reported asset.
                [(1)](2)  Covered entities shall  accurately  complete  and 
annually  submit  the  Risk  Management  Online  Self[ ]-Inspection 
[Forms]Survey before June 1st [within established time frames on 
the forms supplied by the Fund], unless special exemption has been 
granted by the State Risk Manager.

[(2)](3)  Covered  entities  shall  provide  all 
[staff]volunteers and employees with training approved by the Fund 
on  [sexual  harassment  ][(]unlawful  discrimination  and 
harassment[)] in the work[ ]place and other civil rights and liability 
issues as required by the Fund.   After initial  training all  covered 
entities  shall  provide  updated  or  refresher  training  to  all  staff 
members  every two  (2)  years.   For  state  entities  the  Fund shall 
coordinate  the  required  training  with  the  Department  of  Human 
Resource  Management  as  appropriate.   This  training  shall  be 
developed and provided by qualified individuals. Covered entities 
shall  keep  records  of  the  training,  including  who  provided  the 
training, who attended the training and when they attended it.

[(3)](4)  Covered  entities  shall  conduct  or  shall  have 
conducted for them driver's license verification checks on all new 
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employees and volunteers who operate entity vehicles or their own 
vehicles on entity business at time of employment.  Covered entities 
shall, at least annually, verify the status of the driver's license of all 
employees and volunteers who operate entity vehicles or their own 
vehicles on entity business.

[(a)](5)  Covered  entities  shall  establish  procedures  to 
ensure that any employee or volunteer who does not have a valid 
driver's license is not allowed to operate an entity vehicle or his own 
vehicle on entity business.

[(b)](6)  Covered  entities  shall  develop  procedures  to 
ensure that records of driver's license checks and the results of these 
checks shall be kept confidential.

[(4)](7)  Covered entities shall include in all written job 
descriptions  or  other  job  analysis  documents  or  individual 
performance plans where use of a vehicle is an essential function of 
the job, a requirement for maintenance of a valid and appropriate 
driver's license.

[(5)](8)  Covered entities shall require and document that 
all employees  and volunteers  who operate entity vehicles, or their 
own vehicles on entity business, [as an essential function of the job, 
complete yearly a Fund approved or provided driver safety course. 
All other employees who drive vehicles as part of the performance 
of  entity  business  shall  ]complete  a  Fund[ ]-approved  or  Fund-
provided driver safety program at the time of initial employment 
and at least once every [three]two years.

[(6)](9)  Covered  entities  shall  develop  and  enforce 
policies  and  procedures  to  deal  with  problem drivers  and  other 
hazardous  driving  situations.   In  addition  to  other  appropriate 
provisions, these policies shall contain the following:

(a)  Employees or volunteers who are involved in an at-
fault  accident,  shall  not be allowed to operate entity vehicles,  or 
their own vehicles on entity business, beyond a reasonable time, not 
to exceed thirty days.  During this time the employee or volunteer 
must complete the Fund approved driver safety program in order to 
maintain driving privilege.  This training shall not take the place of 
any  agency  imposed  discipline[,]  or  corrective  action[ or 
counseling].

(b)   Employees  [or]and volunteers  who are  required to 
operate  entity  vehicles  or  their  own  vehicles  while  on  entity 
business shall operate the vehicles within the limits or restrictions of 
their individual licenses.

(c)  [Drivers]Employees and volunteers who are convicted 
of Driving under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs,  or Reckless 
Driving, shall not be allowed to operate entity vehicles or their own 
vehicles on entity business, until their driving privileges are legally 
restored.

[(7)](10)  Covered entities shall  develop return to work 
and temporary transitional duty procedures.   Entities shall ensure 
that these procedures are in accordance with the requirements of the 
"Americans  With  Disabilities  Act",  as  amended,  and  other 
applicable  laws  and rules.   The procedures  shall  provide for  the 
return of injured employees to work at the earliest appropriate date.

[(8)](11)  Covered entities shall review the performance 
standards  or  evaluation  plan  of  each  employee  and  where 
appropriate  add  a  standard  requiring  the  use  of  required  safety 
equipment, adherence to safety standards, or other liability and risk 
reduction  requirements  appropriate  to  the  position  and  duties 
performed by the employee.

[(9)](12)  All  new construction,  remodels,  additions  to 
existing  facilities  shall  comply  with  the  adopted  editions  of  the 
[Uniform]International Building Code, [Uniform]International Fire 
Code, and other applicable codes. Existing facilities known to be 
out  of  compliance  with  the  adopted  edition  of  the 
[Uniform]International Building Code, [Uniform]International Fire 
Code and all other applicable codes at the time of construction, shall 
be  brought  up  to  compliance  as  a  condition  of  insurability, 
otherwise an appropriate premium surcharge or coverage restriction 
may be instituted upon reasonable notice and opportunity to correct 
areas of noncompliance.

KEY:  risk management
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 
31, 2006]2010
Notice of Continuation:  June 8, 2007
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-4-101 
et seq.

33372

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-2c

Utah Residential Mortgage Practices 
and Licensing Rules

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(New Rule)

DAR FILE NO.:  33372
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  purpose  of  the  rule  is  threefold.   First,  it 
revises  the  division's  procedures  and  requirements  for 
licensing,  certification,  and  renewal  to  comply  with  the 
nationwide database.  Second,  it  restructures the division's 
rules to mirror the statutory structure of Title 61, Chapter 2c. 
Third,  it  renumbers  the  rules  using  a  statutory  numbering 
scheme.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Applicants must 
use the nationwide database to license with the division and 
to renew a license.  Continuing education requirements for 
renewal  are  implemented  to  comply  with  the  nationwide 
database regulations.   Schools  and instructors intending to 
offer  national  prelicensing courses must  certify through the 
nationwide database.   As of  January 1,  2011,  schools  and 
instructors intending to offer continuing education must certify 
through the nationwide database.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   The  costs  to  the  state  for 
transitioning  to  the  nationwide  database  have  been  paid. 
There are no new costs specific to the implementation of this 
rule.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  are  not 
required  to  license,  renew,  or  certify  with  the  division. 
Transitioning  onto  the  nationwide  database  for  licensure, 
renewal, and certification will not affect local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  As a result of transitioning onto the 
nationwide database, small businesses that license, renew, or 
certify with the division will have to pay fees charged by the 
nationwide  database  that  exceed  what  the  division  has 
charged  in  the  past.   However,  these  fees  have  been 
contemplated and addressed through the legislative process 
that  required  the  division  to  use  the  nationwide  database 
(codified  as  Section  61-2c-205).   There  are  no  additional 
costs  to  small  businesses  other  than  those  already 
considered.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES, OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES: As 
a  result  of  transitioning  onto  the  nationwide  database, 
individuals that license, renew, or certify with the division will 
have to pay fees charged by the nationwide database that 
exceed what the division has charged in the past.  However, 
these fees have been contemplated and addressed through 
the legislative process that  required the division to use the 
nationwide database (codified as Section 61-2c-205).  There 
are no additional costs to small businesses other than those 
already considered.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS: 
Affected persons will pay the fees required by the division and 
the nationwide database in order to license, renew, or certify.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This rule filing changes the rule numbering to coincide with 
the statutory numbering scheme and revises procedures for 
licensing  and  certification  to  comply  with  the  nationwide 
database.  No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from 
the structural  change. Any fiscal  impact from adherence to 
the  nationwide  database was  previously  addressed  by the 
Legislature in adopting the nationwide database process.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
R162-2c.   Utah Residential Mortgage Practices and Licensing 
Rules.
R162-2c-101.  Title.
                 This chapter is known as the "Utah Residential Mortgage   
Practices and Licensing Rules."

R162-2c-102.  Definitions.
                 (1)   The  acronym "ALM" stands  for  associate  lending   
manager.
                 (2)   "Branch  manager"  means  the  person  assigned  to   
oversee a branch office.
                 (a)  A branch office applying for a license or registering in   
the nationwide database prior to November 1,  2010 may identify 
either a mortgage loan originator or an ALM to serve as the branch 
manager.
                 (b)  As of November 1, 2010, a branch office applying for   
an initial license or renewing an existing license shall identify an 
ALM to serve as the branch manager.
                 (3)  "Certification" means authorization from the division   
to:
                 (a)  establish and operate a school that provides courses   
for Utah-specific prelicensing education or continuing education; or
                 (b)   function  as  an  instructor  for  courses  approved  for   
Utah-specific prelicensing education or continuing education.
                 (4)  "Credit hour" means 50 minutes of instruction within   
a 60-minute time period, allowing for a ten-minute break.
                 (5)   "Credit  hour  equivalent"  means  the  conversion  of   
college course hours to continuing education hours as follows:
                 (a)  One college quarter hour credit may be considered as   
equivalent to up to 10 classroom hours of education.
                 (b)  One college semester hour credit may be considered   
as equivalent to up to 15 classroom hours of education.
                 (6)  "Control person" means any individual identified by   
an  entity  within  the  nationwide  database  as  being  primarily 
responsible for directing the management or policies of a company 
and may be:
                 (a)  a manager;  
                 (b)  a managing partner;  
                 (c)  a director;  
                 (d)  an executive officer; or  
                 (e)  an individual who performs a function similar to an   
individual listed in this Subsection (6).
                 (7)   "Individual  applicant"  means  any  individual  who   
applies to obtain or renew a license to practice as a mortgage loan 
originator, principal lending manager, or associate lending manager.
                 (8)  "Instruction method" means the forum through which   
the instructor and student interact and may be:

8 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2010, Vol. 2010, No. 5



DAR File No. 33372 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

                 (a)   classroom:  traditional  instruction  where  instructors   
and students are located in the same physical location;
                 (b)  classroom equivalent: an instructor-led course where   
the  instructor  and  students  may  be  in  two  or  more  physical 
locations; or
                 (c)   online:  instructor  and  student  interact  through  an   
online classroom.
                 (9)   "Instructor  applicant"  means  any  individual  who   
applies  to  obtain or  renew certification as  an instructor  of Utah-
specific pre-licensing or continuing education courses.
                 (10)  "Mortgage entity" means any entity that:  
                 (a)   engages  in  the  business  of  residential  mortgage   
lending;
                 (b)  is required to be licensed under Section 61-2c-201;   
and
                 (c)   operates  under  a  business  name  or  dba  that  is   
registered with the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code.
                 (11)   "Nationwide  database"  means  the  Nationwide   
Mortgage Licensing System & Registry.
                 (12)   The acronym "PLM" stands for  principal  lending   
manager.
                 (13)   "Qualifying  individual"  means  the  PLM  who  is   
identified within the nationwide database as the managing principal 
or qualified person in charge of an entity.
                 (14)  "Restricted license" means any license that is issued   
subject to a definite period of suspension or terms of probation.
                 (15)  "School" means  
                 (a)   any college  or  university  accredited  by a  regional   
accrediting  agency  that  is  recognized  by  the  United  States 
Department of Education;
                 (b)  any community college;  
                 (c)  any vocational-technical school;  
                 (d)  any state or federal agency or commission;  
                 (e)  any nationally recognized mortgage organization that   
has been approved by the commission;
                 (f)   any  Utah  mortgage  organization  that  has  been   
approved by the commission;
                 (g)   any  local  mortgage  organization  that  has  been   
approved by the commission; or
                 (h)  any proprietary mortgage education school that has   
been approved by the commission.
                 (16)  "School applicant" means a director or owner of a   
school who applies to obtain or renew a school's certification.

R162-2c-201.  Licensing Procedures.
                 (1)  Mortgage Loan Originator.  
                 (a)  To obtain a Utah license to practice as a mortgage   
loan  originator,  an  individual  who  is  not  currently  and  validly 
licensed in any state shall:
                 (i)   evidence  good  moral  character  pursuant  to   
R162-2c-202(1);
                 (ii)   evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of   
residential mortgage loans pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);
                 (iii)  successfully complete,  within the 12-month period   
prior to the date of application, 60 hours of pre-licensing education 
as follows:
                 (A)  40 hours of Utah-specific education; and  

                 (B)   20  hours  as  approved  by the  nationwide  database   
according to  the  nationwide  database  outline  for  national  course 
curriculum;
                 (iv)  take and pass a multiple choice examination:  
                 (A)  approved and administered through the nationwide   
database; and
                 (B)  consisting of a national portion and a Utah-specific   
portion;
                 (v)   obtain  a  unique  identifier  through  the  nationwide   
database;
                 (vi)   select  the  "mortgage  loan originator"  license  type   
within  the  nationwide  database  and  complete  the  corresponding 
MU4 form;
                 (vii)   identify  within  the  nationwide  database  the   
applicant's sponsoring mortgage entity;
                 (viii)  submit to a background check as conducted through   
the nationwide database;
                 (ix)  provide to the division all court documents related to   
any past criminal proceeding;
                 (x)   provide to the division complete  documentation of   
any past action taken against the applicant by a regulatory agency; 
and
                 (xi)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as   
required by the division and by the nationwide database.
                 (b)  To obtain a Utah license to practice as a mortgage   
loan originator, an individual who is currently and validly licensed 
in another state shall:
                 (i)   evidence  good  moral  character  pursuant  to   
R162-2c-202(1);
                 (ii)   evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of   
residential mortgage loans pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);
                 (iii)(A)   successfully  complete,  within  the  12-month   
period prior to the date of application,  40 hours of Utah-specific 
mortgage loan originator prelicensing education; and
                 (B)   take  and  pass  the  Utah-specific  portion  of  the   
licensing examination;
                 (iv)  provide to the division all court documents related to   
any past criminal proceeding;
                 (v)   provide to the division complete  documentation of   
any action taken against the applicant by a regulatory agency;
                 (vi)   identify  within  the  nationwide  database  the   
applicant's sponsoring mortgage entity;
                 (vii)   request  licensure  as  a  mortgage  loan  originator   
through the nationwide database; and
                 (viii)   pay all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as   
required by the division and by the nationwide database.
                 (2)  Principal Lending Manager. To obtain a Utah license   
to practice as a PLM, an individual shall:
                 (a)   qualify  as  a  mortgage  loan  originator  through  the   
nationwide database;
                 (b)   evidence  good  moral  character  pursuant  to   
R162-2c-202(1);
                 (c)   evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of   
residential mortgage loans pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);
                 (d)  obtain approval from the division to take the Utah-  
specific  PLM  prelicensing  education  by  evidencing  that  the 
applicant  has,  within  the  five  years  preceding  the  date  of 
application,  had  three  years  of  full-time  active  experience  as  a 
mortgage loan originator;

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2010, Vol. 2010, No. 5 9



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 33372

                 (e)   within  the  12-month  period  preceding  the  date  of   
application, successfully complete 40 hours of Utah-specific PLM 
prelicensing education as certified by the division;
                 (f)(i)   if  currently licensed in  Utah as  a  mortgage loan   
originator, take and pass a principal lending manager examination 
as approved by the commission; or
                 (ii)  if not currently licensed in Utah as a mortgage loan   
originator, take and pass:
                 (A)   the  Utah-specific  portion  of  the  mortgage  loan   
originator licensing examination; and
                 (B)  a principal lending manager examination as approved   
by the commission;
                 (g)  provide to the division all court documents related to   
any  criminal  proceeding  not  disclosed  through  a  previous 
application or renewal;
                 (h)  provide to the division complete  documentation of   
any action taken against the applicant by a regulatory agency and 
not disclosed through a previous application or renewal;
                 (i)  register in the nationwide database by:  
                 (i)  selecting the "principal lending manager" license type   
and completing the associated MU4 form; and
                 (ii)  completing an MU2 form to register as the qualifying   
individual for the entity; and
                 (j)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as   
required by the division and by the nationwide database.
                 (3)  Associate Lending Manager. To obtain a Utah license   
to practice as an ALM, an individual shall:
                 (a)  comply with this Subsection (2)(a)  through (h);  
                 (b)  register in the nationwide database by:  
                 (i)  selecting the "associate lending manager" license type   
and completing the associated MU4 form; and
                 (ii)   if  the  applicant  will  serve  as  a  branch  manager,   
completing  an  MU2 form to  identify  the  applicant  as  a  control 
person for the branch office; and
                 (c)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as   
required by the division and by the nationwide database.
                 (4)  Mortgage Entity. To obtain a Utah license to operate   
as a mortgage entity, a person shall:
                 (a)   establish  that  all  control  persons  meet  the   
requirements for moral character pursuant to R162-2c-202(1);
                 (b)   establish  that  all  control  persons  meet  the   
requirements for competency pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);
                 (c)  register any assumed business name or dba with the   
Division of Corporations and Commercial Code;
                 (d)  register the entity in the nationwide database by:  
                 (i)  submitting an MU1 form that includes:  
                 (A)  all required identifying information;  
                 (B)  the name of the PLM who will serve as the entity's   
qualifying individual;
                 (C)  the name of any individuals who may serve as control   
persons; and
                 (D)  the entity's registered agent; and  
                 (ii)  create a sponsorship through the nationwide database   
that  identifies  the  mortgage  loan originator(s)   sponsored  by the 
entity;
                 (e)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as   
required by the division and by the nationwide database;

                 (f)   provide  to  the  division  proof  that  any  assumed   
business name is registered with the Division of Corporations and 
Commercial Code;
                 (g)  provide to the division all court documents related to   
any  criminal  proceeding  not  disclosed  through  a  previous 
application or renewal and involving any control person;
                 (h)  provide to the division complete  documentation of   
any action taken by a regulatory agency against:
                 (i)  the entity itself; or  
                 (ii)  any control person; and  
                 (iii)   not  disclosed  through  a  previous  application  or   
renewal; and
                 (i)   provide  to  the  division  a  corporate  resolution  or   
equivalent document authorizing the PLM to use the entity's name.
                 (5)  Branch Office. To obtain a Utah license to operate a   
branch  office,  a  person  shall  register  the  branch  office  in  the 
national database by:
                 (a)  submitting an MU3 form that includes:  
                 (i)  all required identifying information; and  
                 (ii)(A)  if registering prior to November 1, 2010, the name   
of  the  mortgage  loan  originator  or  ALM  who  will  serve  as  the 
branch manager; or
                 (B)  if registering on or after November 1, 2010, the name   
of the ALM who will serve as the branch manager;
                 (b)   creating  a  sponsorship  through  the  nationwide   
database that identifies the mortgage loan originator(s)  who will 
work from the branch office; and
                 (c)  paying all  fees  through the nationwide database as   
required by the division and by the nationwide database.
                 (6)  Licenses not transferable.  
                 (a)  A licensee shall not transfer the licensee's license to   
any other person.
                 (b)  A licensee shall not allow any other person to work   
under the licensee's license.
                 (c)  If a change in corporate structure of a licensed entity   
creates a separate and unique legal entity, that entity shall obtain a 
unique license, and shall not operate under any existing license.
                 (7)  Expiration of test results.  
                 (a)   Scores  for  the  mortgage  loan  originator  licensing   
examination shall be valid for five years.
                 (b)  Scores for the PLM exam shall be valid for 90 days.  
                 (8)  Incomplete PLM or ALM application.  
                 (a)  The division may grant a 30-day extension of the 90-  
day application window upon a finding that:
                 (i)  an applicant has made a good faith attempt to submit a   
completed application; but
                 (ii)  requires more time to provide missing documents or   
to obtain additional information.
                 (b)   If  the  applicant  does  not  supply  the  required   
documents or information within the 30-day extension, the division 
may deny the application as incomplete.
                 (9)   Nonrefundable  fees.  All  fees  are  nonrefundable,   
regardless of whether an application is granted or denied.
                 (10)  Other business names.  
                 (a)   The  division  shall  not  approve  a  license  for  any   
person  operating  under  an  assumed  business  name  that  poses  a 
reasonable likelihood of misleading the public into thinking that the 
person is:
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                 (i)  endorsed by the division, the state government, or the   
federal government;
                 (ii)  an agency of the state or federal government; or  
                 (iii)  not engaged in the business of residential mortgage   
loans.
                 (b)   A mortgage  entity  that  operates  under  a  dba  shall   
obtain a separate entity license for the dba.

R162-2c-202.  Qualifications for Licensure.
                 (1)  Character. Individual applicants and control persons   
shall  evidence  good  moral  character,  honesty,  integrity,  and 
truthfulness.
                 (a)  An applicant shall be denied a license for:  
                 (i)  criminal history as outlined in Section 61-2c-203(1)  
(a)-(f);
                 (ii)  any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation,   
theft, or dishonesty that resulted in:
                 (A)  a conviction occurring within three years of the date   
of application;
                 (B)  a plea agreement occurring within three years of the   
date of application; or
                 (C)  a jail or prison release date falling within three years   
of the date of application.
                 (b)   An applicant  may be  denied  a  license or  issued a   
restricted  license for  incidents  in  the  applicant's  past  that  reflect 
negatively on the applicant's moral character, honesty, integrity, and 
truthfulness.  In  evaluating  an  applicant  for  these  qualities,  the 
division and commission may consider any evidence, including the 
following:
                 (i)  criminal convictions or plea agreements entered more   
than  three  years  prior  to  the  date  of  application,  with  particular 
consideration given to convictions or plea agreements  relative  to 
charges that involve moral turpitude;
                 (ii)  the circumstances that led to any criminal conviction   
or plea agreement under consideration;
                 (iii)  past acts related to honesty or moral character, with   
particular  consideration  given  to  any  such  acts  involving  the 
business of residential mortgage loans;
                 (iv)  dishonest conduct that would be grounds under Utah   
law for sanctioning an existing licensee;
                 (v)   civil  judgments  in  lawsuits  brought  on grounds  of   
fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit;
                 (vi)  court findings of fraudulent or deceitful activity;  
                 (vii)   evidence  of  non-compliance  with  court  orders  or   
conditions of sentencing;
                 (viii)  evidence of non-compliance with:  
                 (A)   terms  of  a  diversion  agreement  still  subject  to   
prosecution;
                 (B)  a probation agreement; or  
                 (C)  a plea in abeyance; or  
                 (ix)  failure to pay taxes or child support obligations.  
                 (2)   Competency.  Individual  applicants  and  control   
persons  shall  evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of 
residential  mortgage  loans.  In  evaluating  an  applicant  for 
competency,  the  division  and  commission  may  consider  any 
evidence  that  reflects  negatively  on  an  applicant's  competency, 
including:

                 (a)  civil judgments, with particular consideration given to   
any such judgments involving the business of residential mortgage 
loans;
                 (b)  failure to satisfy a civil judgment that has not been   
discharged in bankruptcy;
                 (c)   failure  of  any previous  mortgage  loan  business  in   
which  the  individual  was  engaged,  as  well  as  the  circumstances 
surrounding that failure;
                 (d)  evidence as to the applicant's business management   
and  employment  practices,  including the  payment  of  employees, 
independent contractors, and third parties;
                 (e)  the extent and quality of the applicant's training and   
education in mortgage lending;
                 (f)  the extent and quality of the applicant's training and   
education in business management;
                 (g)  the extent of the applicant's knowledge of the Utah   
Residential Mortgage Practices Act;
                 (h)  evidence of disregard for licensing laws;  
                 (i)  evidence of drug or alcohol dependency;  
                 (j)  sanctions placed on professional licenses; and  
                 (k)   investigations  conducted  by  regulatory  agencies   
relative to professional licenses.
                 (3)  Age. An applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.  
                 (4)  Minimum education. An applicant shall have a high   
school diploma, GED, or equivalent education as approved by the 
commission.

R162-2c-203.  Utah-Specific Education Certification.
                 (1)  School certification.  
                 (a)  A school offering Utah-specific education shall certify   
with the division before providing any instruction.
                 (b)  To certify, a school applicant shall prepare and supply   
the following information to the division:
                 (i)  contact information, including  
                 (A)  name,  phone number,  and address  of  the  physical   
facility;
                 (B)   name,  phone  number,  and  address  of  any  school   
director;
                 (C)   name,  phone  number,  and  address  of  any  school   
owner; and
                 (D)   an  e-mail  address  where  correspondence  will  be   
received by the school;
                 (ii)  evidence that all school directors and owners meet the   
moral character requirements outlined in R162-2c-202(1)  and the 
competency requirements outlined in R162-2c-202(2);
                 (iii)  school description, including  
                 (A)  type of school; and  
                 (B)  description of the school's physical facilities;  
                 (iv)  list of courses offered;  
                 (v)   proof  that  each  course  has  been  certified  by  the   
division;
                 (vi)   list  of  the  instructor(s),  including  any  guest   
lecturer(s), who will be teaching each course;
                 (vii)  proof that each instructor  
                 (A)  has been certified by the division;  
                 (B)  is qualified as a guest lecturer; or  
                 (C)  is exempt from certification under Subsection 203(5)  
(f);
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                 (viii)   schedule  of  courses  offered,  including  the  days,   
times, and locations of classes;
                 (ix)  statement of attendance requirements as provided to   
students;
                 (x)  refund policy as provided to students;  
                 (xi)  disclaimer as provided to students; and  
                 (xii)  criminal history disclosure statement as provided to   
students.
                 (c)  Minimum standards.  
                 (i)   The course  schedule  may not  provide or  allow for   
more than eight credit hours per student per day.
                 (ii)   The  attendance  statement  shall  require  that  each   
student attend at least 90% of the scheduled class time.
                 (iii)   The  disclaimer  shall  adhere  to  the  following   
requirements:
                 (A)  be typed in all capital letters at least 1/4 inch high;   
and
                 (B)  state the following language: "Any student attending   
(school name)  is under no obligation to affiliate with any of the 
mortgage entities that may be soliciting for licensees at this school."
                 (iv)  The criminal history disclosure statement shall  
                 (A)  be provided to students while they are still eligible   
for a full refund; and
                 (B)  clearly inform the student that upon application with   
the nationwide database, the student will be required to:
                 (I)   accurately  disclose  the  student's  criminal  history   
according to the licensing questionnaire provided by the nationwide 
database and authorized by the division; and
                 (II)  provide to the division complete court documentation   
relative to any criminal proceeding that the applicant is required to 
disclose;
                 (C)   clearly  inform  the  student  that  the  division  will   
consider the applicant's criminal history pursuant to R162-2c-202(1) 
in making a decision on the application; and
                 (D)  include a section for the student's attestation that the   
student has read and understood the disclosure.
                 (d)  Within 15 calendar days after the occurrence of any   
material change in the information outlined in Subsection (1), the 
school shall provide to the division written notice of that change.
                 (e)  A school certification expires 24 months from the date   
of issuance and must be renewed before the expiration date in order 
for the school to remain in operation. To renew, a school applicant 
shall:
                 (i)   complete  a  renewal  application as  provided  by the   
division; and
                 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable renewal fee.  
                 (2)  Utah-specific Course Certification.  
                 (a)  A school providing a Utah-specific course shall certify   
the course with the division before offering the course to students.
                 (b)  Application shall be made at least 30 days prior to the   
date on which a course requiring certification is proposed to begin.
                 (c)  To certify a course, a school applicant shall prepare   
and supply the following information:
                 (i)  instruction method;  
                 (ii)  outline of the course, including:  
                 (A)  a list of subjects covered in the course;  
                 (B)   reference  to  the  approved  course  outline  for  each   
subject covered;

                 (C)   length  of  the  course  in  terms  of  hours  spent  in   
classroom instruction;
                 (D)  number of course hours allocated for each subject;  
                 (E)  at least three learning objectives for every hour of   
classroom time;
                 (F)   instruction  format  for  each  subject;  i.e,  lecture  or   
media presentation;
                 (G)  name and credentials of any guest lecturer; and  
                 (H)  list of topic(s)  and session(s)  taught by any guest   
lecturer;
                 (ii)   a  list  of  the  titles,  authors,  and  publishers  of  all   
required textbooks;
                 (iii)  copies of any workbook used in conjunction with a   
non-lecture method of instruction;
                 (iv)  the number of quizzes and examinations; and  
                 (v)  the grading system, including methods of testing and   
standards of grading.
                 (d)  Minimum standards.  
                 (i)  All texts, workbooks, supplement pamphlets and other   
materials shall be appropriate, current, accurate, and applicable to 
the required course outline.
                 (ii)  The course shall cover all of the topics set forth in the   
associated outline.
                 (iii)  The lecture method shall be used for at least 50% of   
course  instruction  unless  the  division  gives  special  approval 
otherwise.
                 (iv)  A school applicant that uses a non-lecture method for   
any portion of course instruction shall provide to the student:
                 (A)   an  accompanying  workbook  as  approved  by  the   
division for the student to complete during the instruction; and
                 (B)  a certified instructor available within 48 hours of the   
non-lecture instruction to answer student questions.
                 (v)  The division shall not approve an online education   
course unless:
                 (A)  there is a method to ensure that the enrolled student is   
the person who actually completes the course;
                 (B)  the time spent in actual instruction is equivalent to   
the credit hours awarded for the course; and
                 (C)   there  is  a  method  to  ensure  that  the  student   
comprehends the material.
                 (3)  Course expiration and renewal.  
                 (a)   A  certification  for  a  40-hour  Utah-specific   
prelicensing course expires two years from the date of certification.
                 (b)   As  of  January  1,  2010,  a  20-hour  Utah-specific   
prelicensing  course  certified  by  the  division  shall  be  deemed 
expired,  regardless  of  any  expiration  date  printed  on  the 
certification.
                 (c)(i)   A division-approved  continuing education course   
shall expire on whichever of the following occurs first:
                 (A)  the expiration date printed on the certificate; or  
                 (B)  December 31, 2010.  
                 (ii)  To renew a division-approved continuing education   
course,  a school applicant shall,  within six months following the 
expiration date,
                 (A)  complete a renewal form as provided by the division;   
and
                 (B)  pay a nonrefundable renewal fee.  
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                 (iii)   To  certify  a  continuing education  course  that  has   
been  expired  for  more  than six  months,  a  school  applicant  shall 
resubmit it as if it were a new course.
                 (iv)   After  a  continuing  education  course  has  been   
renewed  three  times,  a  school  applicant  shall  submit  it  for 
certification as if it were a new course.
                 (d)   The  division  shall  cease  reviewing  and  certifying   
courses for continuing education on December 30, 2010.
                 (e)   As  of  January  1,  2011,  any  course  offered  for   
continuing  education  shall  be  approved  through  the  nationwide 
database.
                 (4)  Education committee  
                 (a)  The commission may appoint an education committee   
to:
                 (i)  assist the division and the commission in approving   
course topics; and
                 (ii)   make  recommendations  to  the  division  and  the   
commission about:
                 (A)   whether  a  particular  course  topic  is  relevant  to   
residential mortgage principles and practices; and
                 (B)   whether  a  particular  course  topic  would  tend  to   
enhance the competency and professionalism of licensees.
                 (b)  The division and the commission may accept or reject   
the education committee's recommendation on any course topic.
                 (5)  Instructor certification.  
                 (a)  Except  as provided in Subsection (e),  an instructor   
shall  certify  with  the  division  before  teaching  a  Utah-specific 
course.
                 (b)  Application shall be made at least 30 days prior to the   
date on which the instructor proposes to begin teaching.
                 (c)  To certify as an instructor of mortgage loan originator   
prelicensing courses, an individual shall provide evidence of:
                 (i)  a high school diploma or its equivalent;  
                 (ii)(A)  at least five years of experience in the residential   
mortgage industry within the past ten years; or
                 (B)   successful  completion  of  appropriate  college-level   
courses specific to the topic proposed to be taught;
                 (iii)(A)   a  minimum  of  twelve  months  of  full-time   
teaching experience;
                 (B)  part-time teaching experience that equates to twelve   
months of full-time teaching experience; or
                 (C)   participation  in  instructor  development  workshops   
totaling at least two days in length; and
                 (iv)  having passed, within the six-month period preceding   
the date of application and with a minimum score of 85%, the state 
portion of the national licensing examination.
                 (d)   To  certify  as  an  instructor  of  PLM  prelicensing   
courses, an individual shall:
                 (i)  meet the general requirements of this Subsection 5(c);   
and
                 (ii)   meet  the  specific  requirements  for  any  of  the   
following courses the individual proposes to teach.
                 (A)  Management of a Residential Mortgage Loan Office:   
at  least  two  years  practical  experience  in  managing  an  office 
engaged in the business of residential mortgage loans.
                 (B)   Mortgage  Lending  Law:  two  years  practical   
experience in the field of real estate law; and either:
                 (I)   current  active  membership  in  the  Utah  Bar   
Association; or

                 (II)  degree from an American Bar Association accredited   
law school.
                 (C)  Advanced Appraisal:  
                 (I)  at least two years practical experience in appraising;   
and
                 (II)  current state-certified appraiser license.  
                 (D)  Advanced Finance:  
                 (I)  at least two years practical experience in real estate   
finance; and
                 (II)   association  with  a  lending  institution  as  a  loan   
originator.
                 (e)   To certify as  an instructor  of continuing education   
courses, an individual shall demonstrate:
                 (i)   knowledge  of  the  subject  matter  of  the  course   
proposed to be taught, as evidenced by:
                 (A)  at  least  three  years  of  experience  in  a  profession,   
trade,  or  technical  occupation  in  a  field  directly  related  to  the 
course;
                 (B)  a bachelor or higher degree in the field of real estate,   
business, law, finance, or other academic area directly related to the 
course; or
                 (C)   a  combination  of  experience  and  education   
acceptable to the division; and
                 (ii)  ability to effectively communicate the subject matter,   
as evidenced by:
                 (A)  a state teaching certificate;  
                 (B)  successful completion of college courses acceptable   
to the division in the field of education;
                 (C)  a professional teaching designation from the National   
Association  of  Mortgage  Brokers,  the  Real  Estate  Educators 
Association,  the  Mortgage Bankers  Association of  America,  or  a 
similar association; or
                 (D)   other  evidence  acceptable  to  the  division  that  the   
applicant has the ability to teach in schools, seminars, or equivalent 
settings.
                 (f)   The  following  instructors  are  not  required  to  be   
certified by the division:
                 (i)  a guest lecturer who:  
                 (A)  is an expert in the field on which instruction is given;  
                 (B)   provides  to  the  division  a  resume  or  similar   
documentation  evidencing  satisfactory  knowledge,  background, 
qualifications, and expertise; and
                 (C)  teaches no more than 20% of the course hours;  
                 (ii)  a college or university faculty member who evidences   
academic  training,  industry  experience,  or  other  qualifications 
acceptable to the division;
                 (iii)  an individual who:  
                 (A)  evidences academic training, industry experience, or   
other qualifications satisfactory to the division; and
                 (B)  receives approval from the commission; and  
                 (iv)  a division employee.  
                 (g)  Renewal.  
                 (i)  An instructor certification for prelicensing education   
expires 24 months from the date of issuance and shall be renewed 
before the expiration date. To renew, an applicant shall submit to the 
division:
                 (A)   evidence  of  having  taught  at  least  20  hours  of   
classroom  instruction  in  a  certified  mortgage  education  course 
during the preceding two years;
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                 (B)   evidence  of  having  attended  an  instructor   
development  workshop  sponsored  by  the  division  during  the 
preceding two years;
                 (C)  evidence of having successfully completed 12 hours   
of  live  education  courses  taken  in  real  estate  financing  related 
subjects; and
                 (D)  a renewal fee as required by the division.  
                 (ii)   An  instructor  certification  for  division-approved   
continuing education expires 24 months from the date of issuance 
and  shall  be  renewed  before  the  expiration  date.  To  renew,  an 
applicant shall submit to the division:
                 (A)  evidence of having taught at least one class in the   
subject area for which renewal is sought within the year preceding 
the date of application; or
                 (B)(I)  written explanation for why the instructor has not   
taught a class in the subject area within the past year; and
                 (II)   documentation  to  evidence  that  the  applicant   
maintains the required expertise in the subject matter; and
                 (C)  a renewal fee as required by the division.  
                 (iii)  An instructor certification issued by the division on   
or before December 31, 2010 for continuing education shall expire 
December 31, 2010.
                 (iv)   The  division  shall  cease  certifying  instructors  for   
continuing education on December 30, 2010.
                 (v)   As of January 1,  2011,  any instructor proposing to   
teach  a  continuing  education  course  shall  certify  through  the 
nationwide database.
                 (h)  Reinstatement.  
                 (i)   An instructor  may reinstate  an expired certification   
within 30 days of expiration by:
                 (A)  complying with Subsection (g)  as applicable to the   
type of course taught; and
                 (B)  paying an additional non-refundable late fee.  
                 (ii)  Until six months following the date of expiration, an   
instructor may reinstate a certification that has been expired more 
than 30 days by:
                 (A)  complying with Subsection (g)  as applicable to the   
type of course taught;
                 (B)  paying an additional non-refundable late fee; and  
                 (C)  completing six classroom hours of education related   
to residential mortgages or teaching techniques.
                 (6)(a)  The division may monitor schools and instructors   
for:
                 (i)  adherence to course content;  
                 (ii)  quality of instruction and instructional materials; and  
                 (iii)   fulfillment  of  affirmative  duties  as  outlined  in   
R162-2c-301(6)(a)  and R162-2c-301(7)(a).
                 (b)  To monitor schools and instructors, the division may:  
                 (i)  collect and review evaluation forms; or  
                 (ii)   assign an evaluator to attend a course and make a   
report to the division.

R162-2c-204.  License Renewal.
                 (1)  Renewal period.  
                 (a)  Any person who holds an active license as of October   
31 shall renew by December 31 of the same calendar year.
                 (b)   Any  person  who  obtains  a  license  on  or  after   
November 1 shall renew by December 31 of the following calendar 
year.

                 (2)  Qualification for Renewal.  
                 (a)  Character.  
                 (i)   Individuals  and  control  persons  applying  for  a   
renewed  license  shall  evidence  that  they  maintain  good  moral 
character, honesty, integrity, and truthfulness as required for initial 
licensure.
                 (ii)  An individual applying for a renewed license may not   
have:
                 (A)   a  felony  that  resulted  in  a  conviction  or  plea   
agreement during the renewal period; or
                 (B)   a  finding  of  fraud,  misrepresentation,  or  deceit   
entered against the applicant by a court of competent jurisdiction or 
a government agency and occurring within the renewal period.
                 (iii)   The  division  may deny an  individual  applicant  a   
renewed license upon evidence, as outlined in R162-2c-202(1)(b), 
of circumstances that reflect negatively on the applicant's character, 
honesty, integrity, or truthfulness and that:
                 (A)  occurred during the renewal period; or  
                 (B)   were  not  disclosed  and  considered  in  a  previous   
application or renewal.
                 (iv)  The division may deny an entity applicant a renewed   
license  upon  evidence  that  a  control  person  fails  to  meet  the 
standards for character, honesty, integrity, and truthfulness required 
of individual applicants.
                 (b)  Competency.  
                 (i)   Individual  applicants  and  control  persons  shall   
evidence  that  they  maintain  the  competency  required  for  initial 
licensure.
                 (ii)   The  division  may  deny  an  individual  applicant  a   
renewed license upon evidence, as outlined in R162-2c-202(2), of 
circumstances that reflect negatively on the applicant's competency 
and that:
                 (A)  occurred during the renewal period; or  
                 (B)   were  not  disclosed  and  considered  in  a  previous   
application or renewal.
                 (iii)  The division may deny an entity applicant a renewed   
license  upon  evidence  that  a  control  person  fails  to  meet  the 
standard for competency required of individual applicants.
                 (c)  Continuing education.  
                 (i)  Beginning January 1, 2011, an individual who holds   
an  active  license  as  of  October  31  of  the  calendar  year  shall 
complete:
                 (A)  eight hours of non-duplicative continuing education   
approved through the nationwide database;
                 (B)  within the renewal period ending December 31 of the   
same calendar year; and
                 (C)  consisting of:  
                 (1)  three hours federal laws and regulations;  
                 (2)   two  hours  ethics  (fraud,  consumer  protection,  fair   
lending);
                 (3)  two hours non-traditional; and  
                 (4)  one hour elective.  
                 (ii)   An  individual  who  obtains  a  license  on  or  after   
November  1  of  the  calendar  year  is  exempt  from  continuing 
education for the renewal period ending December 31 of the same 
calendar year.
                 (iii)   Continuing  education  courses  shall  be  completed   
within the renewal period.
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                 (iv)   Continuing  education  courses  shall  be  non-  
duplicative of courses taken in the preceding renewal period.
                 (3)  Renewal  procedures  for  the  renewal  period ending   
December 31, 2010. In order to renew by December 31, 2010:
                 (a)  an individual licensee shall:  
                 (i)  evidence having completed a minimum of  
                 (A)  20 hours of prelicensing education as approved by:  
                 (I)  the division; or  
                 (II)  the nationwide database; or  
                 (B)  28 hours of division-approved continuing education   
in the two previous renewal cycles;
                 (ii)  evidence having taken and passed a Utah licensing   
examination as approved by the commission;
                 (iii)  register in the nationwide database by May 31, 2010;  
                 (iv)   evidence  having completed,  since the  date  of  last   
renewal, continuing education:
                 (A)(I)  totaling 14 hours if licensed as of October 1, 2009;   
or
                 (II)  totaling eight hours if licensed on or after October 1,   
2009;
                 (B)   approved  by either  the  division  or  the  nationwide   
database; and
                 (C)  non-duplicative of any hours required to satisfy the   
registration education requirement under this Subsection (3)(a)(i);
                 (v)   take and pass  the  national  portion of the  licensing   
examination as approved by the nationwide database;
                 (vi)   submit  to  the  division  the  jurisdiction-specific   
documents  and information  required by the nationwide  database; 
and
                 (vii)  submit through the nationwide database:  
                 (A)  a request for renewal; and  
                 (B)   all  fees  as  required  by  the  division  and  by  the   
nationwide database.
                 (b)  an entity or dba licensee shall:  
                 (i)  register in the nationwide database by May 31, 2010;  
                 (ii)   submit  to  the  division  the  jurisdiction-specific   
documents and information required by the nationwide database;
                 (iii)  submit through the nationwide database a request for   
renewal; and
                 (iv)  pay through the nationwide database all renewal fees   
required by the division and by the nationwide database.
                 (c)  a branch office licensee shall:  
                 (i)  comply with this Subsection (3)(b); and  
                 (ii)   if  registered  in  the  nationwide  database  with  a   
mortgage loan originator as the branch manager, identify an ALM 
who will serve as the branch manager.
                 (4)  Renewal  procedures  for  the  renewal  period ending   
December 31, 2011. In order to renew by December 31, 2011,
                 (a)  an individual licensee shall:  
                 (i)   evidence  having  completed,  since  the  date  of  last   
renewal, continuing education:
                 (A)  as required by Subsection (2)(c);  
                 (B)   non-duplicative  of  any continuing education hours   
taken in the previous renewal cycle; and
                 (C)  approved by the nationwide database;  
                 (ii)   submit  to  the  division  the  jurisdiction-specific   
documents  and information  required by the nationwide  database; 
and

                 (iii)  submit through the nationwide database:  
                 (A)  a request for renewal; and  
                 (B)   all  fees  as  required  by  the  division  and  by  the   
nationwide database.
                 (b)  an entity, branch office, or dba licensee shall:  
                 (i)  submit through the nationwide database a request for   
renewal;
                 (ii)   submit  to  the  division  the  jurisdiction-specific   
documents  and information  required by the nationwide  database; 
and
                 (ii)  pay through the nationwide database all renewal fees   
required by the division and by the nationwide database.
                 (5)  Reinstatement.  
                 (a)   To  reinstate  an  expired  license,  a  person  shall,  by   
February 28 of the calendar year following the date on which the 
license expired:
                 (i)  comply with all requirements for an on-time renewal;   
and
                 (ii)  pay through the nationwide database all late fees and   
other fees as required by the division and the nationwide database.
                 (b)  A person may not reinstate a license after February   
28. To obtain a license after the reinstatement period described in 
Subsection  (5)(a)   expires,  a  person  shall  reapply  as  a  new 
applicant.

R162-2c-205.  Notification of Changes.
                 (1)   An  individual  licensee  who  is  registered  with  the   
nationwide database shall:
                 (a)   enter  into  the  national  database any change  in  the   
following:
                 (i)  name of licensee;  
                 (ii)  contact information for licensee, including:  
                 (A)  mailing address;  
                 (B)  telephone number(s); and  
                 (C)  e-mail address(es);  
                 (iii)  sponsoring entity; and  
                 (iv)  license status (sponsored or non-sponsored); and  
                 (b)  pay all change fees charged by the national database   
and the division.
                 (2)  An entity licensee shall:  
                 (a)   enter  into  the  national  database any change  in  the   
following:
                 (i)  name of licensee;  
                 (ii)  contact information for licensee, including  
                 (A)  mailing address;  
                 (B)  telephone number(s);  
                 (C)  fax number(s); and  
                 (D)  e-mail address(es);  
                 (iii)  sponsorship information;  
                 (iv)  control person(s);  
                 (v)  qualifying individual; and  
                 (vi)  license status (sponsored or non-sponsored); and  
                 (b)  pay any change fees charged by the national database   
and the division.

R162-2c-301.  Unprofessional Conduct.
                 (1)  Mortgage loan originator.  
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                 (a)  Affirmative duties. A mortgage loan originator who   
fails  to  fulfill  any affirmative  duty shall  be  subject  to  discipline 
under Sections 61-2c-401 through 405. A mortgage loan originator 
shall:
                 (i)   solicit  business  and  market  products  solely  in  the   
name of the mortgage loan originator's sponsoring entity;
                 (ii)   conduct the business  of residential  mortgage loans   
solely in  the  name of  the  mortgage  loan  originator's  sponsoring 
entity;
                 (iii)  remit to any third party service provider the fee(s)   
that  have been collected from a borrower on behalf of the  third 
party service provider, including:
                 (A)  appraisal fees;  
                 (B)  inspection fees;  
                 (C)  credit reporting fees; and  
                 (D)  insurance premiums;  
                 (iv)   turn  all  records  over  to  the  sponsoring  entity  for   
proper retention and disposal;
                 (v)  comply with a division request for information within   
10 business days of the date of the request; and
                 (vi)  retain certificates to prove completion of continuing   
education  requirements  for  at  least  two  years  from  the  date  of 
renewal.
                 (b)  Prohibited conduct. A mortgage loan originator who   
engages  in  any  prohibited  activity  shall  be  subject  to  discipline 
under Sections 61-2c-401 through 405. A mortgage loan originator 
may not:
                 (i)  charge for services not actually performed;  
                 (ii)   require  a  borrower  to  pay  more  for  third  party   
services than the actual cost of those services;
                 (iii)  withhold, without reasonable justification, payment   
owed  to  a  third  party  service  provider  in  connection  with  the 
business of residential mortgage loans;
                 (iv)  alter an appraisal of real property; or  
                 (v)  unless acting under a valid real estate license and not   
under a mortgage license, perform any act that requires a real estate 
license under Title 61, Chapter 2, including:
                 (A)   providing  a  buyer  or  seller  of  real  estate  with  a   
comparative market analysis;
                 (B)  assisting a buyer or seller to determine the offering   
price or sales price of real estate;
                 (C)   representing  or  assisting  a  buyer  or  seller  of  real   
estate in negotiations concerning a possible sale of real estate;
                 (D)   advertising  the  sale  of  real  estate  by  use  of  any   
advertising medium;
                 (E)  preparing, on behalf of a buyer or seller, a Real Estate   
Purchase Contract, addendum, or other contract for the sale of real 
property; or
                 (F)  altering, on behalf of a buyer or seller, a Real Estate   
Purchase Contract, addendum, or other contract for the sale of real 
property.
                 (c)   A mortgage  loan  originator  does  not  engage  in  an   
activity  requiring  a  real  estate  license  where  the  mortgage  loan 
originator:
                 (i)  offers advice about the consequences that the terms of   
a purchase agreement might have on the terms and availability of 
various mortgage products;
                 (ii)  owns real property that the mortgage loan originator   
offers "for sale by owner"; or

                 (ii)  advertises mortgage loan services in cooperation with   
a "for sale by owner" seller where the advertising clearly identifies:
                 (A)  the owner's contact information;  
                 (B)  the owner's role;  
                 (C)  the mortgage loan originator's  contact information;   
and
                 (D)   the  specific  mortgage-related  services  that  the   
mortgage loan originator may provide to a buyer; or
                 (iii)  advertises in conjunction with a real estate brokerage   
where the advertising clearly identifies the:
                 (A)  contact information for the brokerage;  
                 (B)  role of the brokerage;  
                 (C)  mortgage loan originator's contact information; and  
                 (D)  specific mortgage-related services that the mortgage   
loan originator may provide to a buyer.
                 (2)  PLM.  
                 (a)  Affirmative duties.  A PLM who fails  to  fulfill  any   
affirmative  duty  shall  be  subject  to  discipline  under  Sections 
61-2c-401 through 405. A PLM shall:
                 (i)  be accountable for the affirmative duties outlined in   
Subsection (1)(a);
                 (ii)   provide to  all  sponsored mortgage loan originators   
and unlicensed staff specific written policies as to their affirmative 
duties and prohibited activities, as established by:
                 (A)  federal law governing residential mortgage lending;  
                 (B)  state law governing residential mortgage lending and   
including the Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act; and
                 (C)   administrative  rules  promulgated  by  the  division   
under authority of the Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act;
                 (iii)  exercise reasonable supervision over all sponsored   
mortgage loan originators and over all unlicensed staff by:
                 (A)   directing  the  details  and  means  of  their  work   
activities;
                 (B)  requiring that they read and agree to comply with the   
Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act and the rules promulgated 
thereunder;
                 (C)  requiring that they conduct all residential mortgage   
loan business in the name of the sponsoring entity; and
                 (D)  prohibiting unlicensed staff  from engaging in  any   
activity that requires licensure;
                 (iv)  establish and enforce written policies and procedures   
for ensuring the independent judgment of any underwriter employed 
by the PLM's sponsoring entity;
                 (v)  establish and follow procedures for responding to all   
consumer complaints;
                 (vi)  personally review any complaint relating to conduct   
by a sponsored mortgage loan originator or unlicensed staff member 
that might constitute a violation of federal law, state law, or division 
administrative rules;
                 (vii)  establish and maintain a quality control plan that:  
                 (A)  complies with HUD/FHA requirements;  
                 (B)   complies  with  Freddie  Mac  and  Fannie  Mae   
requirements; or
                 (C)  includes, at a minimum, procedures for:  
                 (1)  performing pre-closing and post-closing audits of at   
least ten percent of all loan files; and
                 (2)   taking  corrective  action  for  problems  identified   
through the audit process; and
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                 (viii)  review for compliance with applicable federal and   
state laws all advertising and marketing materials and methods used 
by:
                 (A)  the PLM's sponsoring entity; and  
                 (B)  the entity's sponsored mortgage loan originators.  
                 (b)  A PLM who hires ALM(s)   as needed to  assist  in   
accomplishing the required affirmative duties shall:
                 (i)  actively supervise any such ALM; and  
                 (ii)   remain  personally responsible  and  accountable  for   
adequate supervision of all sponsored mortgage loan originators and 
unlicensed staff.
                 (c)   Prohibited  conduct.  A PLM  who  engages  in  any   
prohibited  activity  shall  be  subject  to  discipline  under  Sections 
61-2c-401 through 405. A PLM may not engage in any activity that 
is prohibited for a mortgage loan originator or a mortgage entity.
                 (d)  An ALM who acts as a branch manager:  
                 (i)   shall  be subject to the same affirmative duties as a   
PLM; and
                 (ii)  may not engage in any activity that is prohibited for a   
mortgage loan originator or a mortgage entity.
                 (4)  Mortgage Entity.  
                 (a)   Affirmative  duties.  A mortgage  entity  that  fails  to   
fulfill  any  affirmative  duty  shall  be  subject  to  discipline  under 
Sections 61-2c-401 through 405. A mortgage entity shall:
                 (i)  remit to any third party service provider the fee(s)  that   
have been collected from a borrower on behalf of the third party 
service provider, including:
                 (A)  appraisal fees;  
                 (B)  inspection fees;  
                 (C)  credit reporting fees; and  
                 (D)  insurance premiums;  
                 (ii)   retain  and  dispose  of  records  according  to   
R162-2c-302; and
                 (iii)   comply  with  a  division  request  for  information   
within 10 business days of the date of the request.
                 (b)  Prohibited conduct. A mortgage entity shall be subject   
to discipline under Sections 61-2c-401 through 405 if:
                 (i)   any  sponsored  mortgage  loan  originator  or  PLM   
engages in any prohibited conduct; or
                 (ii)   any unlicensed  employee  performs  an  activity  for   
which licensure is required.
                 (5)  Reporting Unprofessional Conduct.  
                 (a)  The division shall report in the nationwide database   
any disciplinary action taken against a licensee for unprofessional 
conduct.
                 (b)  The division may report in the nationwide database a   
complaint that the division has assigned for investigation.
                 (c)  A licensee may challenge the information entered by   
the  division  into  the  nationwide  database  pursuant  to  Section 
63G-2-603.
                 (6)  School.  
                 (a)  Affirmative duties. A school that fails to fulfill any   
affirmative  duty  shall  be  subject  to  discipline  under  Sections 
61-2c-401 through 405. A school shall:
                 (i)  within 15 calendar days of any material change in the   
information outlined in R162-2c-204(1)(b), provide to the division 
written notice of the change;
                 (ii)  with regard to the criminal history disclosure required   
under R162-2c-203(1)(b)(xi),

                 (A)  obtain each student's  signature before allowing the   
student to participate in course instruction;
                 (B)  retain each signed criminal history disclosure for a   
minimum of two years; and
                 (C)  make any signed criminal history disclosure available   
to the division upon request;
                 (iii)  maintain a record of each student's attendance for a   
minimum of five years after enrollment;
                 (iv)  upon request of the division, substantiate any claim   
made in advertising materials;
                 (v)  maintain a high quality of instruction;  
                 (vi)   adhere  to  all  state  laws  and  regulations regarding   
school and instructor certification;
                 (vii)  provide the instructor(s)  for each course with the   
required course content outline;
                 (viii)  require instructors to adhere to the approved course   
content;
                 (ix)(A)   at  the  conclusion  of  each  class,  require  each   
student to complete a standard evaluation form as provided by the 
division; and
                 (B)  return the completed evaluation forms to the division   
in a sealed envelope within 10 days of the last class session; and
                 (x)  comply with a division request for information within   
10 business days of the date of the request.
                 (b)   Prohibited  conduct.  A school  that  engages  in  any   
prohibited  activity  shall  be  subject  to  discipline  under  Sections 
61-2c-401 through 405.  A school may not:
                 (i)  accept payment from a student without first providing   
to  that  student  the  information  outlined in  R162-2c-203(1)(b)(ix) 
through (xii);
                 (ii)  continue to operate after the expiration date of the   
school certification and without renewing;
                 (iii)  continue to offer a course after its expiration date and   
without renewing;
                 (iv)  allow an instructor whose instructor certification has   
expired to continue teaching;
                 (v)  allow an individual student to earn more than eight   
credit hours of education in a single day;
                 (vi)  award credit to a student who has not complied with   
the minimum attendance requirements;
                 (vii)  allow a student to obtain credit for all or part of a   
course by taking an examination in lieu of attending the course;
                 (viii)   give  valuable  consideration  to  a  person  licensed   
with the division under Section 61-2c for referring students to the 
school;
                 (ix)  accept valuable consideration from a person licensed   
with  the  division under  Section 61-2c for  referring students to a 
licensed mortgage entity;
                 (x)  allow licensed mortgage entities to solicit prospective   
mortgage loan originators at the school during class time or during 
the  10-minute  break  that  is  permitted  during  each  hour  of 
instruction;
                 (xi)  require a student to attend any program organized for   
the purpose of solicitation;
                 (xii)  make a misrepresentation in its advertising;  
                 (xiii)   advertise  in  any  manner  that  denigrates  the   
mortgage profession;
                 (xiv)   advertise  in  any  manner  that  disparages  a   
competitor's services or methods of operation;
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                 (xv)   advertise  or  teach  any  course  that  has  not  been   
certified by the division;
                 (xvi)   advertise  a  course  with  language  that  indicates   
division approval is pending or otherwise forthcoming; or
                 (xvii)   attempt  by any means to  obtain or  to use  in its   
educational offerings the questions from any mortgage examination 
unless the questions have been dropped from the current bank of 
exam questions.
                 (7)  Instructor.  
                 (a)  Affirmative duties. An instructor who fails to fulfill   
any affirmative duty shall be subject to discipline under Sections 
61-2c-401 through 405. An instructor shall:
                 (i)  adhere to the approved outline for any course taught;  
                 (ii)(A)   at  the  conclusion  of  each  class,  require  each   
student to complete a standard evaluation form as provided by the 
division; and
                 (B)  return the completed evaluation forms to the division   
in a sealed envelope within 10 days of the last class session; and
                 (iii)   comply  with  a  division  request  for  information   
within 10 business days of the date of the request.
                 (b)  Prohibited conduct. An instructor who engages in any   
prohibited  activity  shall  be  subject  to  discipline  under  Sections 
61-2c-401 through 405. An instructor may not:
                 (i)   continue  to  teach  any  course  after  the  instructor's   
certification  has  expired  and  without  renewing  the  instructor's 
certification; or
                 (ii)   continue  to  teach  any course  after  the  course  has   
expired and without renewing the course certification.

R162-2c-302.  Requirements for Record Retention and Disposal.
                 (1)  Record Retention.  
                 (a)   An  entity  licensed  under  the  Utah  Residential   
Mortgage Practices Act shall  maintain for  the period set  forth in 
Section 61-2c-302 the following records:
                 (i)  application forms;  
                 (ii)  disclosure forms;  
                 (iii)  truth-in-lending forms;  
                 (iv)  credit reports and the explanations therefor;  
                 (v)  conversation logs;  
                 (vi)  verifications of employment, paycheck stubs, and tax   
returns;
                 (vii)  proof of legal residency, if applicable;  
                 (viii)   appraisals,  appraisal  addenda,  and  records  of   
communications between the appraiser and the registrant, licensee, 
and lender;
                 (ix)  underwriter denials;  
                 (x)  notices of adverse action;  
                 (xi)  loan approval; and  
                 (xii)  all other records required by underwriters involved   
with the transaction or provided to a lender.
                 (b)   Records  may  be  maintained  electronically  if  the   
storage system complies with Title 46 Chapter 04, Utah Uniform 
Electronic Transactions Act.
                 (c)  A licensed entity shall make all records available to   
the division pursuant to Section 61-2c-302(3).
                 (d)   An individual  who terminates  sponsorship  with  an   
entity shall turn over to the entity any records in the individual's 
possession at the time of termination.

                 (2)  Record Disposal. A person who disposes of records at   
the end of the retention period shall take reasonable measures to 
safeguard personal information as that term is defined in Section 
13-44-102.
                 (3)  Responsible Party.  
                 (a)  If a licensed entity is actively engaged in the business   
of residential  mortgage loans,  the  PLM is  responsible for  proper 
retention and disposal of records.
                 (b)  If a licensed entity ceases doing business in Utah, the   
control person(s)  as of its last day of operation are responsible for 
proper retention and disposal of records.

R162-2c-401.  Administrative Proceedings.
                 (1)  Request for agency action.  
                 (a)  If completed in full and submitted in compliance with   
the  rules  promulgated  by  the  division,  the  following  shall  be 
deemed  a  request  for  agency  action  under  Utah  Administrative 
Procedures Act, Section 63G-4-102, et seq.:
                 (i)  an original or renewal application for a license;  
                 (ii)   an  original  or  renewal  application  for  a  school   
certification;
                 (iii)   an  original  or  renewal  application  for  a  course   
certification; and
                 (iv)  an original or renewal application for an instructor   
certification.
                 (b)  Any other request for agency action shall:  
                 (i)  be in writing;  
                 (ii)  be signed by the requestor; and  
                 (iii)   comply with  Utah Administrative  Procedures  Act,   
Section 63G-4-201(3).
                 (c)   The  following  shall  not  be  deemed  a  request  for   
agency action under Utah Administrative Procedures Act, Section 
63G-4-102,  et  seq.,  even  if  submitted  in  compliance  with  this 
Subsection (1)(b):
                 (i)  a complaint against a licensee; and  
                 (ii)  a request that the division commence an investigation   
or a disciplinary action against a licensee.
                 (2)   Formal  adjudicative  proceedings.    An  adjudicative   
proceeding conducted subsequent  to  the  issuance of a  cease and 
desist order shall be conducted as a formal adjudicative proceeding.
                 (3)  Informal adjudicative proceedings.  
                 (a)   All  adjudicative  proceedings  as  to  any  matter  not   
specifically  designated  as  requiring  a  formal  adjudicative 
proceeding shall be conducted as informal adjudicative proceedings. 
These informal proceedings shall include:
                 (i)  a proceeding on an original or renewal application for   
a license;
                 (ii)  a proceeding on an original or renewal application for   
a school, instructor, or course certification; and
                 (iii)   except  as  provided  in  Section  63G-4-502,  a   
proceeding  for  disciplinary  action  commenced  by  the  division 
pursuant  to  Section  63G-4-201(2)  following  investigation  of  a 
complaint.
                 (b)  A hearing shall be held in an informal adjudicative   
proceeding only if required or permitted by the Utah Residential 
Mortgage Practices and Licensing Act or by these rules.
                 (4)  Hearings not allowed.    A hearing may not be held in   
the following informal adjudicative proceedings:
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                 (a)  the issuance of an original or renewed license when   
the application has been approved by the division;
                 (b)   the  issuance  of  an  original  or  renewed  school   
certification,  instructor  certification,  or  course  certification  when 
the application has been approved by the division;
                 (c)  the issuance of any interpretation of statute, rule, or   
order, or the issuance of any written opinion or declaratory order 
determining  the  applicability  of  a  statute,  rule  or  order,  when 
enforcement  or  implementation  of  the  statute,  rule  or  order  lies 
within the jurisdiction of the division;
                 (d)  the denial of an application for an original or renewed   
license on the ground that it is incomplete;
                 (e)  the denial of an application for an original or renewed   
school, instructor, or course certification on the ground that it does 
not comply with the requirements stated in these rules; or
                 (f)  a proceeding on an application for an exemption from   
a continuing education requirement.
                 (5)  Hearings required.  A h  earing before the commission   
shall be held in the following circumstances:
                 (a)   a  proceeding  commenced  by  the  division  for   
disciplinary  action  pursuant  to  Section  61-2c-402  and  Section 
63G-4-201(2);
                 (b)  an appeal of a division order denying or restricting a   
license; and
                 (c)   an  application  that  presents  unusual  circumstances   
such  that  the  division  determines  that  the  application  should  be 
heard by the commission.
                 (6)   Procedures  for  hearings  in  informal  adjudicative   
proceedings.
                 (a)  The division director shall be the presiding officer for   
any informal  adjudicative  proceeding unless  the  matter  has  been 
delegated to the chairperson of the commission or an administrative 
law judge.
                 (b)  All informal adjudicative proceedings shall adhere to   
procedures as outlined in:
                 (i)   Utah  Administrative  Procedures  Act  Title  63G,   
Chapter 4;
                 (ii)  Utah Administrative Code Section R151-46b; and  
                 (iii)  the rules promulgated by the division.  
                 (b)  Except as provided in Subsection 7(b), a party is not   
required to file a written answer to a notice of agency action from 
the division in an informal adjudicative proceeding.
                 (c)   In  any  proceeding  under  this  Subsection,  the   
commission  and  the  division  may  at  their  discretion  delegate  a 
hearing  to  an  administrative  law  judge  or  request  that  an 
administrative law judge assist the commission and the division in 
conducting  the  hearing.  Any  delegation  of  a  hearing  to  an 
administrative law judge shall be in writing.
                 (d)  Upon the scheduling of a hearing by the division and   
at least ten days prior to the hearing, the division shall, by first class 
postage pre-paid delivery, mail to the address last provided to the 
division pursuant to Section 61-2c-106 written notice of the date, 
time, and place scheduled for the hearing.
                 (e)  Formal discovery is prohibited.  
                 (f)  The division may issue subpoenas or other orders to   
compel production of necessary and relevant evidence:
                 (i)  on its own behalf; or  
                 (ii)  on behalf of a party where:  
                 (A)  the party makes a written request;  

                 (B)   assumes  responsibility for  effecting service  of  the   
subpoena; and
                 (C)  bears the costs of the service, any witness fee, and   
any mileage to be paid to the witness.
                 (g)  Upon ordering a licensee to appear for a hearing, the   
division  shall  provide  to  the  licensee  the  information  that  the 
division will introduce at the hearing.
                 (h)  The division shall  adhere to Title 63G,  Chapter  2,   
Government Records Access and Management Act in addressing a 
request  for  information  obtained  by  the  division  through  an 
investigation.
                 (i)   The  division  may decline  to  provide  a  party  with   
information that it has previously provided to that party.
                 (j)  Intervention is prohibited.  
                 (k)   Hearings  shall  be  open  to  all  parties  unless  the   
presiding officer closes the hearing pursuant to:
                 (i)   Title  63G,  Chapter  4,  the  Utah  Administrative   
Procedures Act; or
                 (ii)  Title 52, Chapter 4, the Open and Public Meetings   
Act.
                 (l)   Upon filing a  proper  entry of  appearance  with  the   
division  pursuant  to  R151-46b-6,  an  attorney  may  represent  a 
respondent.
                 (7)  Additional procedures for disciplinary proceedings.  
                 (a)   The  division  shall  commence  a  disciplinary   
proceeding by filing and serving on the respondent:
                 (i)  a notice of agency action;  
                 (ii)  a petition setting forth the allegations made by the   
division;
                 (iii)  a witness list, if applicable; and  
                 (iv)  an exhibit list, if applicable.  
                 (b)  Answer.  
                 (i)  At the time the petition is filed, the presiding officer,   
upon a determination of good cause, may require the respondent to 
file an answer to the petition by so ordering in the notice of agency 
action.
                 (ii)   The  respondent  may  file  an  answer,  even  if  not   
ordered to do so in the notice of agency action.
                 (iii)  Any answer shall be filed with the division within   
thirty days after the mailing date of the notice of agency action and 
petition.
                 (c)  Witness and exhibit lists.  
                 (i)  The division shall provide its witness and exhibit list   
to the respondent at the time it mails its notice of hearing.
                 (ii)  The respondent shall provide its witness and exhibit   
list to the division no later than thirty days after the mailing date of 
the division's notice of agency action and petition.
                 (iii)  Any witness list shall contain:  
                 (A)  the  name,  address,  and telephone number of  each   
witness; and
                 (B)   a  summary  of  the  testimony  expected  from  each   
witness.
                 (iv)  Any exhibit list:  
                 (A)  shall contain an identification of each document or   
other exhibit that the party intends to use at the hearing; and
                 (B)  shall be accompanied by copies of the exhibits.  
                 (d)  Pre-hearing motions.  
                 (i)   Any  pre-hearing  motion  permitted  under  the   
Administrative  Procedures  Act  or  the  rules  promulgated  by  the 
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Department of Commerce shall be made in accordance with those 
rules.
                 (ii)  The division director shall receive and rule upon any   
pre-hearing motions.

KEY:   residential  mortgage,  loan  origination,  licensing, 
enforcement
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2010
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-103(3)

33373

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-201

Residential Mortgage Definitions
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal)
DAR FILE NO.:  33373

FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-201  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed  new  Rule  R162-2c  (at  Section 
R162-2c-201) which updates the mortgage definitions to track 
with  the  terms  and  procedures  used  by  the  nationwide 
database.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R162-2c is 
under DAR No. 33372 in this issue, March 1, 2010, of the 
Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-201 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   Repealing  this  rule  and 
incorporating  the  mortgage  definitions  into  a  new rule  will 
have no net impact on the state budget.  It neither reduces 
revenue to the state nor requires expenditures by the state.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Repealing  this  rule  and 
incorporating  the  mortgage  definitions  into  a  new rule  will 
have  no  impact  on  local  governments.   It  requires  no 
expenditures by local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The defining of terms used in the 
mortgage  industry  creates  no  financial  impact  for  small 
businesses.   Repealing  this  rule  and  incorporating  the 
mortgage definitions into a new rule will impose no costs or 
savings for small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The defining of terms used in the mortgage industry creates 

no financial impact for affected persons.  Repealing this rule 
and incorporating the mortgage definitions into a new rule will 
impose no costs or savings for affected persons.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 
substance of this section is also proposed by the Division

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-201.  Residential Mortgage Definitions.
R162-201-1.  Residential Mortgage Definitions.
               201.1  Control.  As used in Section 61-2c-102(1) of the 
Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act, "control" is defined as the 
power to directly or indirectly:
               (a)  direct or exercise a controlling influence over:
               (i)  the management or policies of an entity;
               (ii)  the election of a majority of the directors, officers, 
managers, or managing partners of an entity;
               (b)  vote 20% or more of any class of voting securities of 
an entity by an individual; or
               (c)  vote more than 5% of any class of voting securities of 
an entity by another entity.
               201.2  Certification.  "Certification" means that the holder 
of a certificate is authorized by the Division to:
               (a)  establish and operate a school that provides courses 
for prelicensing requirements;
               (b)   provide  courses  that  are  approved  for  continuing 
education; or
               (c)   function  as  an  instructor  for  courses  approved  for 
prelicensing requirements or for continuing education.
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KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  November 
3, 2004
Notice of Continuation:  May 27, 2009
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-103(3)]

33374

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-202

Initial Application
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal)
DAR FILE NO.:  33374

FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-202  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed  new  Rule  R162-2c  (at  Sections 
R162-2c-201 and R162-2c-202) which updates the mortgage 
licensing procedures to comply with the nationwide database. 
(DAR NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R162-2c is under DAR 
No. 33372 in this issue, March 1, 2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-202 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   Repealing  this  rule  relieves  the 
state from having to oversee and enforce it.  The costs to the 
state  of  implementing  and  overseeing  the  new  licensing 
procedures are included in the rule analysis for proposed new 
Rule R162-2c.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  are  not 
required  to  license  with  the  division.   Repealing  this  rule 
governing the initial application will have no fiscal impact to 
local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Repealing this rule relieves small 
businesses from having to comply with it.  The costs to small 
businesses  of  having  to  comply  with  the  new  licensing 
procedures are included in the rule analysis for proposed new 
Rule R162-2c.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Repealing this rule relieves affected persons from having to 
comply with it.   The costs to affected persons of  having to 
comply with the new licensing procedures are included in the 
rule analysis for proposed new Rule R162-2c.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation  to  comply  with  it.  There  are  no  compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 
substance  of  these  provisions  is  also  proposed  by  the 
Division.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-202.  Initial Application.
R162-202-1.  Licensing Examination.
               202.1   Except  as  provided  in  Subsection  202-8,  an 
individual applying for an initial license is required to have passed 
the  licensing  examination  approved  by  the  commission  before 
making application to the division for a license.
               202.1.1   The  licensing  examination  will  be  a  multiple 
choice  examination  and  will  consist  of  a  national  portion  and  a 
Utah-specific portion.  An applicant will be required to pass both 
portions of the examination within a six-month period of time.
               202.1.2  In order to register for the licensing examination, 
the applicant shall deliver an application to take the examination, 
together with the applicable examination fee to the testing service 
designated  by  the  division.   If  the  applicant  registers  for  the 
examination,  the  examination  fee  will  be  forfeited  unless  the 
applicant  has  complied  with  the  Change/Cancel  Policy  in  the 
candidate handbook furnished to the applicant by the examination 
provider.
               202.1.3  All examination results are valid for 90 days after 
the date of the examination.  If the applicant does not submit an 
application for licensure within 90 days after successful completion 
of  the  examination,  the  examination  results  shall  lapse  and  the 
applicant  shall  be  required  to  retake  and  successfully  pass  the 
examination again in order to apply for a license.
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R162-202-2.  Form of Application.
               202.2  All applications must be made in the form required 
by the division and shall include the following information:
               202.2.1   Any  name  under  which  the  individual  will 
transact business in this state;
               202.2.2  The address of the principal business location of 
the applicant;
               202.2.3   The  home  street  address  and  home  telephone 
number of any individual applicant;
               202.2.4  A mailing address for the applicant;
               202.2.5  The date of birth and social security number of 
any individual applicant;
               202.2.6   Answers  to  a  "Licensing  Questionnaire" 
supplying information about present or past mortgage licensure in 
other  jurisdictions,  past  license  sanctions  or  surrenders,  pending 
disciplinary  actions,  pending  investigations,  past  criminal 
convictions  or  pleas,  and/or  civil  judgments  based  on  fraud, 
misrepresentation, or deceit;
               202.2.7  A "Letter of Waiver" authorizing the division to 
obtain  the  fingerprints  of  the  applicant,  review past  and  present 
employment  and  education  records,  and  to  conduct  a  criminal 
history background check;
               202.2.8  If an individual applicant or a director, executive 
officer, manager, or a managing partner of an entity applicant, or 
anyone who occupies a position or performs functions similar to a 
director, executive officer, manager or managing partner of an entity 
that has applied for a license, has been convicted of any felonies or 
misdemeanors  involving  moral  turpitude  within  the  ten  years 
preceding  application,  the  charging  document,  the  judgment  and 
sentencing document, and the case docket on each such conviction 
must be provided with the application; and
               202.2.9  If an individual or entity applicant or a director, 
executive  officer,  manager,  or  a  managing  partner  of  an  entity 
applicant, or anyone who occupies a position or performs functions 
similar to a director, executive officer, manager or managing partner 
of  an  entity that  has  applied for  a  license,  has  had a  license  or 
registration suspended, revoked, surrendered, canceled or denied in 
the  five  years  preceding  application  based  on  misconduct  in  a 
professional  capacity that  relates  to  good  moral  character  or  the 
competency to transact the business of residential mortgage loans, 
the  documents  stating  the  sanction  taken  against  the  license  or 
registration and the reasons therefore  must  be provided with the 
application.
               202.2.10  Applicants for a mortgage officer license shall 
submit  proof  in  the  form required by the  Division  of  successful 
completion  of  the  hours  of  approved  prelicensing  education 
required by Section 61-2c-202(4)(a)(iii)(B) and R162-202-10 taken 
within one year prior to application; or
               202.2.11  An applicant  for  a  principal lending manager 
license shall submit proof in the form required by the Division of 
successful  completion  of  the  40  hours  of  approved  prelicensing 
education  required  by  Section  61-2c-206(1)(c)  taken  within  one 
year prior to application.

R162-202-3.  Incomplete Application.
               202.3  If  an applicant for a license makes a good faith 
attempt  to  submit  a  completed  application  within  90  days  after 
passing  the  examination,  but  the  application  is  incomplete,  the

Division may grant an extension of the validity of the examination 
results for a period not to exceed 30 days to enable the applicant to 
provide  the  missing  documents  or  information  necessary  to 
complete  the  application.   Following  the  extension  period,  the 
application will  be denied as incomplete if  the applicant  has not 
supplied the missing documents or information.

R162-202-4.  Nonrefundable Fees.
               202.4  All fees required in conjunction with an application 
for  a  license  are  nonrefundable  and  will  not  be  refunded  if  the 
applicant  fails  to  complete  an  application  or  if  a  completed 
application is denied for failure to meet the licensing criteria.

R162-202-5.  Determining Fitness for Licensure.
               202.5.1   Qualifications  of  Applicants.   All  mortgage 
officer and principal lending manager applicants, and all directors, 
executive officers, and managing partners of any entity applicant, 
and anyone who occupies a position or performs functions similar 
to a director, executive officer, manager or managing partner of an 
entity applicant, shall meet the following qualifications.  None of 
these persons may have:
               (a) been convicted of, entered a plea in abeyance to, or 
completed any sentence of confinement on account of, any felony 
within five years preceding the application; or
               (b) been convicted of, entered a plea in abeyance to, or 
completed  any  sentence  of  confinement  on  account  of,  any 
misdemeanor  involving  fraud,  misrepresentation,  theft,  or 
dishonesty within three years preceding the application.
               202.5.2  In  determining whether  an individual  who has 
not been disqualified by Subsection 202.5.1 meets the requirements 
of  good  moral  character,  honesty,  integrity,  and  truthfulness,  the 
Commission and the Division will consider information which may 
include the following in addition to whether the individual has been 
convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude in 
the ten years preceding the application:
               (a)  The circumstances that led to any criminal convictions 
considered by the Commission and the Division;
               (b)   The  amount  of  time  that  has  passed  since  the 
individual's last criminal conviction;
               (c)  Any character testimony presented at the hearing and 
any character references submitted by the individual;
               (d)   Past  acts  related  to  honesty  or  moral  character 
involving the business of residential mortgage loans;
               (e)  Whether the individual has been guilty of dishonest 
conduct in the five years preceding the application that would have 
been  grounds  under  Utah  law for  revocation  or  suspension  of  a 
registration or  license had the individual  then been registered or 
licensed;
               (f)   Whether  a  civil  judgment  based  on  fraud, 
misrepresentation, or deceit has been entered against the individual, 
or whether  a finding of fraud,  misrepresentation or deceit  by the 
individual  has  been  made  in  a  civil  suit,  regardless  of  whether 
related to the residential mortgage loan business, and whether any 
money judgment has been fully satisfied;
               (g)  Whether fines and restitution ordered by a court in a 
criminal  proceeding  have  been  fully  satisfied,  and  whether  the 
individual  has  complied  with  court  orders  in  the  criminal 
proceeding;
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               (h)  Whether a probation agreement, plea in abeyance, or 
diversion agreement entered into in a criminal proceeding in the ten 
years preceding the application has been successfully completed;
               (i)   Whether any tax and child support  arrearages have 
been paid; and
               (j)  Whether there has been good conduct on the part of 
the individual subsequent to the individual's offenses.
               202.5.3   Competency  to  Transact  the  Business  of 
Residential  Mortgage Loans.   The Commission and the Division 
will  consider  information  necessary  to  determine  whether  an 
applicant for a license or director, executive officer, manager, or a 
managing  partner  of  an  entity  that  has  applied  for  a  license,  or 
anyone who occupies a position or performs functions similar to a 
director, executive officer, manager or managing partner of an entity 
that has applied for a license, meets the requirement of competency 
to transact the business of residential mortgage loans, which shall 
include the following:
               (a)   Past  acts  related  to  competency  to  transact  the 
business of residential mortgage loans;
               (b)  Whether a civil judgment involving the business of 
mortgage loans has been entered against the individual, and whether 
the judgment has been fully satisfied, unless the judgment has been 
discharged in bankruptcy;
               (c)  The failure of any previous mortgage loan business in 
which the individual engaged, and the reasons for any failure;
               (d)   The  individual's  management  and  employment 
practices in any previous mortgage loan business, including whether 
or not employees were paid the amounts owed to them;
               (e)  The individual's  training and education in mortgage 
lending, if any was available to the applicant;
               (f)  The individual's training, education, and experience in 
the mortgage loan business or in management of a mortgage loan 
business, if any was available to the individual;
               (g)   A  lack  of  knowledge  of  the  Utah  Residential 
Mortgage Practices Act on the part of the individual;
               (h)  A history of disregard for licensing laws;
               (i)  A prior history of drug or alcohol dependency within 
the last five years, and any subsequent period of sobriety; and
               (j)  Whether the individual has demonstrated competency 
in business subsequent to any past incompetence by the individual 
in the mortgage loan business.
               202.5.4  Age.  All mortgage officer and principal lending 
manager applicants shall be at least 18 years old.

R162-202-6.  Registration of Assumed Business Name.
               202.6.1  An individual or entity licensed to engage in the 
business  of  residential  mortgage  loans  who  intends  to  conduct 
business under an assumed business name instead of the individual's 
own  name  shall  register  the  assumed  business  name  with  the 
Division.
               202.6.2   To  register  an  assumed  business  name,  the 
applicant  shall  pay the applicable  non-refundable  fee  and submit 
proof in the form required by the Division of a current filing of that 
assumed  business  name  with  the  Division  of  Corporations  and 
Commercial Code.
               202.6.3  Misleading or deceptive business  names.   The 
Division shall not register an assumed business name if there is a 
substantial  likelihood that the public will  be misled by the name 

into thinking that they are not dealing with an individual or entity 
engaged in the residential mortgage loan business.

R162-202-7.  Reciprocal Licenses.
               202.7.1  An applicant who is a legal resident of a state 
with  which  the  Division  has  entered  into  a  written  reciprocity 
agreement and who applies for a Utah license shall submit to the 
Division:
               (a)  An application for a reciprocal license on the form 
required by the Division;
               (b)   All  applicable  licensing  fees  and  the  Residential 
Mortgage Loan Education, Research, and Recovery Fund fee;
               (c)  An official license history from the licensing agency 
in the applicant's state of legal residence containing the dates of the 
applicant's licensure and any complaint or disciplinary history; and
               (d)   The  information  required  by  Subsections  202.2.1 
through 202.2.9.
               202.7.2  An applicant who is a legal resident of a state 
with which the Division has not entered into a written reciprocity 
agreement and who applies for a Utah license shall submit to the 
Division:
               (a)  An application for a reciprocal license on the form 
required by the Division;
               (b)   All  applicable  licensing  fees  and  the  Residential 
Mortgage Loan Education, Research, and Recovery Fund fee;
               (c)   A  signed,  notarized  affidavit  attesting  that  the 
applicant  has  at  least  five  years  experience  in  the  business  of 
residential mortgage loans;
               (d)  An official license history from the licensing agency 
in the applicant's state of legal residence, and any other state(s)in 
which  the  experience  referred  to  in  Subsection  202.7.2(c)  was 
obtained, that includes the dates of the applicant's licensure and any 
complaint or disciplinary history; and
               (e)  Proof of having successfully completed state-required 
pre-licensing  education  and  having  passed  a  state-required 
competency examination; and
               (f)  Those items required by Subsections 202.2.1 through 
202.2.9.

R162-202-8.  Branch Office.
               202.8   A  branch  office  shall  be  registered  with  the 
Division  prior  to  operation.   To  register  the  branch  office,  the 
principal lending manager of the entity must submit to the Division, 
on the forms required by the Division, the location of the branch 
office and the names of all licensees assigned to the branch, along 
with the fee for registering the branch office.

R162-202-9.   Principal  Lending  Manager  Experience 
Requirement.
               202.9  Equivalent Experience.  Experience in originating 
loans or directly supervising individuals who originate loans shall 
be  considered  to  be  "equivalent  experience"  for  the  purposes  of 
Section 61-2c-206(1)(e).

R162-202-10. Prelicensing Education Requirements.
               202.10.1  Beginning January 1, 2010, an applicant for a 
mortgage officer license shall submit proof of completing 60 hours 
of  prelicense  education  that  complies  with  the  course  content 
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outline  adopted  by  the  Residential  Mortgage  Regulatory 
Commission and the Division.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 22, 
2009
Notice of Continuation:  December 13, 2006
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-103(3)]

33375

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-203

Changes to Residential Mortgage 
Licensure Statement

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Repeal)

DAR FILE NO.:  33375
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-203  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed  new Rule  R162-2c  which  updates  the 
provisions  of  the  existing  rule  to  comply  with  procedures 
mandated by the nationwide database.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed new Rule R162-2c is under DAR No. 33372 in this 
issue, March 1, 2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-203 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   Repealing  this  rule  relieves  the 
state from having to oversee and enforce it.  The costs to the 
state of implementing and overseeing the new provisions as 
to changes in licensure are included in the rule analysis for 
proposed new Rule R162-2c.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments have never 
been subject  to  this  rule.   Repealing  it  will  have  no  fiscal 
impact to local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Repealing this rule relieves small 
businesses from having to comply with it.  The costs to small 
businesses of having to comply with the new provisions as to 
changes  in  licensure  are  included  in  the  rule  analysis  for 
proposed new Rule R162-2c.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Repealing this rule relieves affected persons from having to 

comply with it.   The costs to affected persons of  having to 
comply with the new provisions as to changes in licensure are 
included in the rule analysis for proposed new Rule R162-2c.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal as a substitute rule amendment updates the provisions 
of  this  rule  to  comply  with  procedures  in  the  nationwide 
database.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-203.   Changes  to  Residential  Mortgage  Licensure 
Statement.
R162-203-1.  Status Changes.
               203.1.   A licensee  shall  notify  the  Division  within  ten 
working days of any status change.  Status changes are effective on 
the date the properly executed forms and non-refundable fees are 
received by the Division.  Notice must be on the forms required by 
the Division.
               203.1.1  Change in Entity.  If a change in a licensed entity 
results in the creation of a new legal entity, the new entity may not 
operate under the license issued to the previous entity.  If the change 
of partners in a partnership, either by the addition or withdrawal of 
partners, creates a new legal entity, the new entity may not operate 
under the license issued by the Division to the previous partnership. 
The  dissolution  of  a  corporation,  partnership,  limited  liability 
company, association, or other entity that holds a license issued by 
the Division terminates that license.
               203.1.1.1  Notification of Change in Entity.  The principal 
lending  manager  of  a  licensed  entity  shall  provide  written 
notification to  the  Division of any change in the entity that  will 
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create a new legal entity or that will  cause the dissolution of the 
entity prior to the effective date of the change.
               203.1.2.  Change of name requires submission of official 
documentations such as a marriage certificate,  divorce decree,  or 
driver's license.
               203.1.3.   Change of business,  home address  or  mailing 
address requires written notification.  A post office box without a 
street address is unacceptable as a business or home address.  The 
licensee may designate any address to be used as a mailing address.
               203.1.4.   Change of  name of a  licensed entity shall  be 
accompanied by evidence that the new name has been approved by 
the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, Department of 
Commerce.
               203.1.5.   Change  of  principal  lending  manager  of  a 
licensed entity requires notice from the entity in the form required 
by the Division, signed by both the terminating principal lending 
manager and the new principal lending manager, and the applicable 
change fee.

R162-203-2.  Affiliation with Principal Lending Manager.
               203.2.1   A mortgage  officer  licensed  under  the  Utah 
Residential Mortgage Practices Act shall notify the Division, on the 
form required by the Division, of the principal lending manager on 
whose  behalf  that  individual  mortgage  officer  shall  conduct 
residential  mortgage  lending  before  acting  on  behalf  of  that 
principal lending manager.
               203.2.2.   Transfers.   Prior  to  transferring  from  one 
principal lending manager to another, or from one branch office to 
another, the licensee must mail, deliver, or electronically transmit to 
the Division written notice of the transfer on the form required by 
the Division.

R162-203-3.  Unavailability of Licensee.
               203.3.1   Change  in  license  affiliation  of  Mortgage 
Officers.  If a mortgage officer is not available to properly execute 
the form required to terminate the license affiliation of the mortgage 
officer  with  a  principal  lending  manager,  the  principal  lending 
manager may still terminate the mortgage officer's license affiliation 
with the principal lending manager, provided a letter advising the 
mortgage  officer  of  the  termination  is  mailed  by  the  principal 
lending manager by certified mail to the last known address of the 
mortgage officer.  A verified copy of the letter and proof of mailing 
by certified mail shall be attached to the form required to terminate 
the mortgage officer's license affiliation with the principal lending 
manager when the form is submitted to the Division.
               203.3.1.1   If  a  mortgage  officer's  principal  lending 
manager is not available to properly execute the form required to 
terminate  the  license  affiliation  of  the  mortgage  officer  with  a 
principal lending manager, the mortgage officer may still terminate 
the mortgage officer's license affiliation with the principal lending 
manager,  provided  the  mortgage  officer  sends  to  the  principal 
lending manager by certified mail to the last known address of the 
principal  lending manager  a  letter  advising  the  principal  lending 
manager of the mortgage officer's resignation.  A verified copy of 
the letter and proof of mailing by certified mail shall be attached to 
the  form  required  to  terminate  the  mortgage  officer's  license 
affiliation  with  the  principal  lending  manager  when  the  form is 
submitted to the Division.

               203.3.2  Change in Entity Affiliation of Principal Lending 
Manager.  If a principal lending manager who will no longer be the 
principal lending manager of an entity is not available to properly 
execute the form that is required by the Division to substitute one 
principal  lending  manager  for  the  other,  the  change  in  principal 
lending manager may still be made by the entity, provided a letter 
advising  of  the  change  is  signed  by  a  person  who  is  legally 
authorized to make staffing decisions on behalf of the entity and 
mailed by certified mail to the last known address of the unavailable 
person.   A verified  copy  of  the  letter  and  proof  of  mailing  by 
certified mail shall be attached to the form required by the Division 
to substitute one principal lending manager for another when the 
form is submitted to the Division.

R162-203-4.  Inactivation.
               203.4   To  voluntarily  inactivate  a  license,  the  licensee 
shall  deliver,  mail,  or  electronically  transmit  to  the  Division  a 
written request for license inactivation on the form required by the 
Division, which form shall have been signed by both the licensee 
and the licensee's principal lending manager.
               203.4.1  The principal lending manager of the entity with 
which a mortgage officer is licensed may terminate the mortgage 
officer's  license  affiliation  with  the  entity  without  the  mortgage 
officer's  consent,  known as  an "involuntarily inactivation" of  the 
mortgage officer's license by complying with R162-203.3.1.

R162-203-5.  Activation.
               203.5  All licensees changing to active status must submit 
to the Division:
               (a)  the applicable non-refundable activation fee;
               (b)  a written request for activation on the form required 
by the Division; and
               (c)  if the licensee was on inactive status at the time of the 
most recent renewal, proof of successful completion of the number 
of hours of continuing education that would have been required to 
renew had  the  licensee  been  on  active  status  at  the  time  of  the 
licensee's most recent renewal.  To qualify as continuing education 
for activation, all continuing education hours submitted must have 
been  completed  within  twenty-four  months  prior  to  applying  to 
activate.
               203.5.1  In addition to the requirements of Section 203.5, 
any licensee who was licensed prior to January 1, 2005, but whose 
license was inactivated by the Division for failure to submit proof 
by January 1, 2005 of having passed the examination required by 
Section 61-2c-202(4)(a)(i)(D), shall submit to the Division proof of 
having passed that examination before the Division will activate the 
individual's license.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  April 10, 
2007
Notice of Continuation:  December 13, 2006
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-205(3)]
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33376

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-204

Residential Mortgage Record Keeping 
Requirements

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Repeal)

DAR FILE NO.:  33376
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-204  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed  new Rule  R162-2c  which  updates  the 
provisions of the existing rule to comply with the procedures 
mandated by the nationwide database.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed new Rule R162-2c is under DAR No. 33372 in this 
issue, March 1, 2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-204 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   Repealing  this  rule  relieves  the 
state from having to oversee and enforce it.  The costs to the 
state of implementing and overseeing the new provisions as 
to  record-keeping  requirements  are  included  in  the  rule 
analysis for proposed new Rule R162-2c.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments have never 
been subject  to  this  rule.   Repealing  it  will  have  no  fiscal 
impact to local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Repealing this rule relieves small 
businesses from having to comply with it.  The costs to small 
businesses of having to comply with the new provisions as to 
record-keeping requirements are included in the rule analysis 
for proposed new Rule R162-2c.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Repealing this rule relieves affected persons from having to 
comply with it.   The costs to affected persons of  having to 
comply  with  the  new  provisions  as  to  record-keeping 
requirements are included in the rule analysis for proposed 
new Rule R162-2c.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 

repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 
substance of this provision is also proposed by the Division.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-204.   Residential  Mortgage  Record  Keeping 
Requirements.
R162-204-1.   Residential  Mortgage  Record  Keeping 
Requirements.
               204.1.1  Entity Requirements.  An entity licensed under 
the Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act shall maintain for the 
period  set  forth  in  Utah  Code  Section  61-2c-302  the  following 
records:
               (a)  Application forms;
               (b)  Disclosure forms;
               (c)  Truth-in-Lending forms;
               (d)   Credit  reports  and  the  explanations  to  the  credit 
reports;
               (e)  Conversation logs;
               (f)  Verifications of employment, paycheck stubs, and tax 
returns;
               (g)  Proof of legal residency, if applicable;
               (h)  Appraisals,  appraisal  addenda,  and  records  of 
communications between the appraiser and the registrant or lender;
               (i)  Underwriter denials;
               (j)  Notices of adverse action;
               (k)  Loan approval; and
               (l)  All other records required by underwriters involved 
with the transaction.
               204.1.2.   Principal  Lending  Manager  Requirements. 
Except as provided in Subsection 204.1.2.1, the principal lending 
manager of an entity is responsible to make the records set forth in 
Section 204.1.1 available to the Division as provided in Utah Code 
Annotated Section 61-2c-302(3).
               204.1.2.1.   Defunct  entity.   If  a  licensed  entity  ceases 
doing business in Utah, an owner or director of the entity,  rather 
than  the  principal  lending  manager,  is  responsible  to  make  the 
records set forth in Section 204.1.1 available to the Division.
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               204.1.3.  Disposal of Records.  If an entity licensed under 
the Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act disposes of the records 
under this section after the end of the retention schedule in Utah 
Code Section 61-2c-302, the entity shall dispose of the records in a 
reasonable  manner  that  safeguards  any  personal  information,  as 
defined in Utah Code Annotated Section 13-44-102.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 1, 
2009
Notice of Continuation:  December 13, 2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  61-2c-302]

33377

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-205

Residential Mortgage Unprofessional 
Conduct

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Repeal)

DAR FILE NO.:  33377
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-205  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed new Rule R162-2c,  which  incorporates 
the  provisions  of  the  existing  rule  into  a  new  numbering 
system  and  organizational  scheme.   (DAR  NOTE:   The 
proposed new Rule R162-2c is under DAR No. 33372 in this 
issue, March 1, 2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-205 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The substantive provisions of this 
rule are incorporated into the new rule.  There is no change in 
the costs to the state.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments have never 
been subject to the rules governing the conduct of mortgage 
licensees.  Repealing this rule will  have no fiscal impact to 
local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The substantive provisions of this 
rule are incorporated into the new rule.  There is no change in 
the costs to small businesses, which have always been, and 
remain, subject to oversight for unprofessional conduct.

♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The substantive provisions of this rule are incorporated into 
the new rule.  There is no change in the costs to affected 
persons,  which  have  always  been,  and  remain,  subject  to 
oversight for unprofessional conduct.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 
substance  of  these  provisions  is  also  proposed  by  the 
Division.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-205.  Residential Mortgage Unprofessional Conduct.
R162-205-1.  Residential Mortgage Unprofessional Conduct.
               205.1   Unprofessional  conduct  includes  the  following 
acts:
               205.1.1  conducting the business of residential mortgage 
loans, including soliciting or marketing, in the licensee's individual 
name, the principal lending manager's individual name, or any name 
other than the name of the licensed mortgage entity with which the 
individual's principal lending manager is affiliated;
               205.1.2  failing to remit to third party service providers 
the appraisal fees, inspection fees, credit reporting fees, insurance 
premiums, or other similar fees which have been collected from a 
borrower;
               205.1.3  withholding payment owed, as determined by a 
court of competent jurisdiction to a third party service provider in 
connection with the business of residential mortgage loans;
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               205.1.4  charging for services not actually performed;
               205.1.5  charging a borrower more for third party services 
than the actual cost of those services;
               205.1.6  filling out or altering any Real Estate Purchase 
Contract  or  other  contract  for  the  sale  of  real  property,  or  any 
addenda to the contract;
               205.1.7  making any alteration to  any appraisal  of real 
property;
               205.1.8  unless acting as a real estate licensee and not as a 
mortgage licensee:
               (a)   providing  a  buyer  or  seller  of  real  estate  with 
comparative market analysis or otherwise assisting a buyer or seller 
to determine the offering price or sales price of real estate;
               (b)  representing or assisting a buyer or seller of real estate 
in negotiations concerning a possible sale of real estate, except that 
a mortgage licensee may advise a borrower about the consequences 
that the terms of a purchase agreement may have on the terms and 
availability of various mortgage products;
               (c)  performing any other acts that  require a real estate 
license under Title 61, Chapter 2;
               (d)   advertising  the  sale  of  real  estate  by  use  of  any 
advertising medium, except that a mortgage licensee may:
               (i)  advertise real estate owned by the licensee as a "for 
sale by owner";
               (ii)  provide advertising to a property owner who has not 
signed an agency agreement with a real estate licensee and is selling 
the  real  estate  "for  sale  by  owner",  so  long  as  the  advertising 
provides  clear  and  distinguishable  identification,  contact 
information, function and responsibility of both the property owner 
and the mortgage licensee; or
               (iii)  advertise in conjunction with a real estate brokerage, 
so  long  as  the  advertising  provides  clear  and  distinguishable 
identification,  contact  information,  function  and  responsibility  of 
both the real estate licensee and the mortgage licensee.
               205.1.9  disposing of records in violation of R162-204.1.3

R162-205-2.  Residential Mortgage Standards of Practice.
               205.2.1   Supervision  of  licensees  and  unlicensed  staff. 
Principal lending managers shall exercise reasonable supervision by 
controlling  and  directing  the  details  and  means  of  the  work 
activities  of  all  licensees  affiliated  with  the  principal  lending 
manager  and  all  unlicensed  staff.   To  exercise  reasonable 
supervision, a principal lending manager shall:
               (a)   establish,  maintain,  and  provide  to  all  licensees 
affiliated with the principal lending manager and all unlicensed staff 
written policies setting out the office procedures for complying with 
federal  and  state  laws  governing  residential  mortgage  lending, 
including the Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act and the rules 
promulgated thereunder;
               (b)  ensure that each person affiliated with the principal 
lending  manager  and  all  unlicensed  staff  have  read  the  Utah 
Residential  Mortgage  Practices  Act  and  the  rules  promulgated 
thereunder;
               (c)  ensure that the business of residential mortgage loans 
conducted by an entity is conducted only by individuals who hold 
active mortgage officer or associate lending manager licenses issued 
by the Division of Real Estate;
               (d)  ensure that the licensees affiliated with the principal 
lending manager conduct all residential mortgage loan business, as 

defined in Utah Code Section 61-2c-102(1)(e), in the name of the 
licensed mortgage entity with which the principal lending manager 
is affiliated, and not in the licensee's own name or any other name;
               (e)  establish and enforce written policies and procedures 
for ensuring the independent judgment of any underwriter employed 
by the entity which employs the principal lending manager;
               (f)  establish and follow procedures for responding to all 
consumer complaints, and personally review any complaint relating 
to conduct that could constitute a violation of federal or state law 
governing residential mortgage lending by a licensee affiliated with 
the principal lending manager or by any unlicensed staff;
               (g)   establish  and  maintain  a  quality  control  plan  that 
includes at a minimum procedures for performing pre-closing and 
post-closing auditing of at  least  ten percent  of all  loan files  and 
taking corrective action for problems identified through the audit 
process.  Quality control plans which comply with HUD/FHA or 
Freddie Mac requirements shall be deemed to be in compliance with 
this rule; and
               (h)   review for  compliance  with  applicable  federal  and 
state laws all advertising and marketing materials and all marketing 
methods to be used by the entity and licensees affiliated with the 
principal lending manager.
               205.2.1.1  Assistance from associate lending managers.  A 
principal lending manager may employ associate lending managers 
to assist in performing the duties listed in Subsection 205.2.1.  The 
principal  lending manager  shall  actively supervise  such associate 
lending  managers  and  will  remain  personally  responsible  for 
adequate  supervision  of  all  licensees  affiliated  with  the  principal 
lending manager and all unlicensed staff.
               205.2.2   Reasonable  supervision.   A principal  lending 
manager  will  not  be  held  responsible  for  failing  to  exercise 
reasonable supervision if:
               (a)   a  licensee  affiliated  with  the  principal  mortgage 
officer or an unlicensed staff member violates a provision of federal 
or state law, including the Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act, 
in contravention of the principal lending manager's specific written 
policies;
               (b)   the  principal  lending  manager's  current  written 
policies were provided to the licensee or unlicensed staff prior to the 
violation;
               (c)  the principal lending manager took reasonable steps 
intended to enforce the written policies;
               (d)  upon learning of the violation, the principal lending 
manager  reported  the  violation  to  the  Division  and  attempted  to 
prevent or mitigate the damage;
               (e)  the principal lending manager did not participate in or 
implicitly or explicitly condone the violation; and
               (f)  the principal lending manager did not attempt to avoid 
learning of the violation.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 1, 
2009
Notice of Continuation:  December 13, 2006
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-301(1)(k)]
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33378

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-207

License Renewal
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal)
DAR FILE NO.:  33378

FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-207  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed new Rule  R162-2c,  which  updates  the 
mortgage  license  renewal  procedures  to  comply  with  the 
nationwide database.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed new Rule 
R162-2c  is  under  DAR No.  33372 in  this  issue,  March  1, 
2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-207 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   Repealing  this  rule  relieves  the 
state from having to oversee and enforce it.  The costs to the 
state  of  implementing  and  overseeing  the  new  license 
renewal  procedures  are  included  in  the  rule  analysis  for 
proposed new Rule R162-2c.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  are  not 
required to license or, therefore, to renew with the division. 
Repealing this rule governing the renewal process will have 
no fiscal impact to local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Repealing this rule relieves small 
businesses from having to comply with it.  The costs to small 
businesses of having to comply with the new license renewal 
procedures are included in the rule analysis for proposed new 
Rule R162-2c.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Repealing this rule relieves affected persons from having to 
comply with it.   The costs to affected persons of  having to 
comply with the new license renewal procedures are included 
in the rule analysis for proposed new Rule R162-2c.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 

substance  of  these  provisions  is  also  proposed  by  the 
Division.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-207.  License Renewal.
R162-207-1.  License Renewal.
               207.1  Renewal period.  Licenses issued under the Utah 
Residential  Mortgage Practices Act are valid  for a period of two 
years.

R162-207-2.  Renewal Process.
               207.2.1  Renewal Notice.  A license renewal notice shall 
be sent by the Division to the licensee at the mailing address shown 
on  Division  records.   The  renewal  notice  shall  specify  the 
requirements  for  renewal  and  shall  require  that  the  licensee 
document  or  certify  that  the  requirements  have  been  met.   The 
licensee  must  apply to  renew and  pay all  applicable  fees  on  or 
before the expiration date shown on the notice.
               207.2.2  Application for  Renewal.   All  applications for 
renewal must be made in the form required by the division and shall 
include the following:
               (a)   A licensure  statement  in  the  form required  by the 
division;
               (b)  The renewal fee and the Residential Mortgage Loan 
Education, Research, and Recovery Fund fee;
               (c)  If the applicant is an individual, proof through means 
approved by the division of having completed during the two years 
prior  to  application  the  continuing  education  required  by  the 
commission under Section 61-2c-104;
               (d)  The current home street address and home telephone 
number of any individual applicant and the current physical street 
address of any entity applicant;
               (e)  A current mailing address for the applicant;
               (f)   Answers  to  a  "Licensing  Questionnaire"  supplying 
information about events that occurred in the preceding two years 
related  to  mortgage  licensure  in  other  jurisdictions,  license 
sanctions  or  surrenders,  pending  disciplinary  actions,  pending 
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investigations, criminal convictions or pleas, and/or civil judgments 
or findings based on fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit;
               (g)  If, at the time of application for renewal, an individual 
applicant,  or  the  principal  lending  manager,  director,  executive 
officer, manager, or a managing partner of an entity applicant, or 
anyone who occupies a position or performs functions similar to a 
director, executive officer, manager or managing partner of an entity 
that  has  applied for  a  license,  is  charged  with,  or  since the  last 
renewal has been convicted of or entered a plea to, any felony or 
misdemeanor, the following information must be provided on each 
conviction, plea, or charge: the charging document, the case docket, 
and the judgment and sentencing document, if applicable; and
               (h)  If, in the two years preceding application for renewal, 
an individual or entity applicant or principal lending manager of an 
entity  applicant  has  had  a  license  or  registration  suspended, 
revoked, surrendered, canceled or denied based on misconduct in a 
professional  capacity that  relates  to  good  moral  character  or  the 
competency to transact the business of residential mortgage loans, 
the applicant must provide the documents stating the sanction taken 
against the license or registration and the reasons therefore.
               207.2.3  Continuing Education Requirement.  All active 
licensees are required to have completed their continuing education 
requirement prior to applying to renew and by the 15th day of the 
month of expiration.
               207.2.3.1  Documentation of Continuing Education.  Any 
licensee  who  renews  online  and  certifies  that  the  required 
continuing education has been completed shall maintain the original 
course completion certificates supporting that certification for two 
years  following  renewal.   The  licensee  shall  produce  those 
certificates for audit upon request by the Division.
               207.2.3.2  Out  of State  Courses.   Continuing education 
credit will be given for a course taken in another state provided the 
course has been certified for continuing education purposes by the 
licensing agency in  the  other  state  and the subject  matter  of the 
course relates to protection of the public, but not to state-specific 
licensing laws.   Evidence  must  be  retained  by the  licensee,  and 
provided to the Division upon request, that the course was certified 
by the other state at the time the course was taken.
               207.2.3.3   Continuing  Education  Requirement  upon 
activation of license.  As a condition for the activation of an inactive 
license that was on inactive status at the time of the licensee's most 
recent renewal, the licensee shall supply the Division with proof of 
successful  completion  of  the  number  of  hours  of  continuing 
education that would have been required to renew had the license 
been  on  active  status  at  the  time  of  the  licensee's  most  recent 
renewal.   To  qualify  as  continuing  education  for  activation,  all 
continuing education hours  submitted  must  have  been completed 
within twenty-four months prior to applying to activate.
               207.2.4  Late  Renewal.   If  all  required renewal  forms, 
fees, and documentation have not been received or postmarked by 
the expiration date of the license, the license shall expire.  When an 
active  license  expires,  an  individual  licensee's  affiliation  with  a 
licensed entity automatically terminates.
               207.2.4.1   A licensee  may  apply  to  renew  an  expired 
license within thirty days after the expiration date of the license by 
completing  all  of  the  renewal  requirements,  including  the 
continuing education requirement, and paying a non-refundable late 
fee.

               207.2.4.2  After the thirty day period, and until six months 
after  the  expiration  date  of  the  license,  a  licensee  may apply to 
reinstate a license by completing all of the renewal requirements, 
including  the  continuing  education  requirement,  paying  a  non-
refundable late fee, and providing proof of successful completion of 
12 hours of continuing education in addition to that required for a 
timely renewal on active status.

R162-207-3.  Current Entity Name Registration.
               207.3   An entity  submitting  an  application  for  renewal 
must at the time of application have a name registration with the 
Utah Division of Corporations that is current and in good standing. 
The division will not process an application for renewal unless it 
can verify that the applicant's  name registration is current and in 
good standing.

R162-207-4.  Incomplete Application.
               207.4   If  an  applicant  makes  a  good  faith  attempt  to 
submit a completed application for renewal prior to the expiration 
date  of  the  applicant's  current  registration  or  license,  but  the 
application is incomplete, the Division may grant an extension for a 
period not to exceed 30 days to enable the applicant to provide the 
missing  documents  or  information  necessary  to  complete  the 
application.

R162-207-5.  Nonrefundable Fees.
               207.5  All fees required in conjunction with an application 
for renewal are nonrefundable if the applicant fails to complete an 
application or  if  a  completed  application is  denied for  failure  to 
meet the renewal criteria.

R162-207-6.  Determining Fitness for Renewal.
               207.6  Qualifications for Renewal.  In order to qualify for 
renewal,  all  mortgage  officer  and  principal  lending  manager 
applicants,  and  all  directors,  executive  officers,  and  managing 
partners  of  any  entity  applicant,  and  anyone  who  occupies  a 
position  or  performs  functions  similar  to  a  director,  executive 
officer, manager, or managing partner of any entity applicant, shall 
meet the following qualifications.  None of these persons may have:
               (a)  been convicted of, or entered a plea in abeyance to, a 
felony; or during the term of the last license or during the period 
between license expiration and application to reinstate an expired 
license;
               (b)  a finding of fraud, misrepresentation or deceit entered 
against  the  applicant,  related  to  activities  requiring  a  mortgage 
license, by any court of competent jurisdiction or any government 
agency, unless the finding was explicitly considered by the Division 
in  approving  the  applicant's  initial  license  or  previous  license 
renewals.
               207.6.1  Determining fitness for renewal.  In determining 
whether an applicant who has not been disqualified by Subsection 
207.6  meets  the  requirements  of  good  moral  character,  honesty, 
integrity,  and truthfulness,  the  commission and the division shall 
determine fitness for renewal in accordance with Section 202.5.2 
above.
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R162-207-7.  Applications Filed by Mail.
               207.7  The Division will  consider a properly completed 
application for renewal that has been postmarked on or before the 
expiration date shown on the renewal notice to have been timely 
filed.

R162-207-8.  Misrepresentation on an Application.
               207.8   Any  misrepresentation  in  an  application  for 
renewal,  regardless  of  whether  the  application  is  filed  with  the 
Division  by mail  or  made  online,  will  be  considered  a  separate 
violation of these rules and grounds for disciplinary action against 
the licensee.

R162-207-9.   Exemption  from  Continuing  Education 
Requirement.
               207.9   A licensee  may  obtain  an  exemption  from  the 
continuing education requirement of R162-208.1 for a period not to 
exceed  four  years  upon  a  finding  by  the  Division  that  there  is 
reasonable cause to grant the exemption.
               207.9.1   Exemptions  from  the  continuing  education 
requirement may be granted for reasons including military service, 
prolonged absence from Utah for religious or secular service, and 
extended or serious illness.
               207.9.2   A  licensee  seeking  an  exemption  from  the 
continuing education requirement shall apply to the Division for an 
exemption.  An application for an exemption from the continuing 
education requirement  shall  set  forth  with specificity the  reasons 
why the licensee is unable to complete the continuing education and 
the reasons why the licensee believes that an exemption would be 
reasonable.
               207.9.3  A licensee may not seek a retroactive exemption 
by applying for the exemption after the time period for renewal and 
reinstatement of a license has already passed.
               207.9.4   All  applications  for  an  exemption  shall  be 
considered in an informal proceeding before the Division Director 
or  the  Director's  designee and shall  be based on the information 
submitted with the application.  No hearing will be permitted.
               207.9.5  Upon a finding of reasonable cause, the Division 
shall  grant  the  exemption  from  the  continuing  education 
requirement for a specified period of time, not to exceed four years.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  July 30, 
2008
Notice of Continuation:  November 10, 2008
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-103(3); 61-2c-202(4)(a)(ii)]

33379

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-208

Continuing Education

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Repeal)

DAR FILE NO.:  33379
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-208  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed new Rule  R162-2c,  which  updates  the 
mortgage  continuing  education  rules  to  comply  with  the 
nationwide database.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed new Rule 
R162-2c  is  under  DAR No.  33372 in  this  issue,  March  1, 
2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-208 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   Repealing  this  rule  relieves  the 
state from having to oversee and enforce it.  The costs to the 
state  of  implementing  and  overseeing  the  new  continuing 
education rules are included in the rule analysis for proposed 
new Rule R162-2c.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  are  not 
required  to  take,  provide,  or  oversee continuing education. 
Repealing  this  rule  will  have  no  fiscal  impact  to  local 
governments.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   Affected  businesses  are  not 
required  to  take,  provide,  or  oversee continuing education. 
Repealing  this  rule  will  have  no  fiscal  impact  to  small 
businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Repealing this rule relieves affected persons from having to 
comply with it.   The costs to affected persons of  having to 
comply  with  the  new continuing  education  procedures  and 
requirements are included in the rule analysis for proposed 
new Rule R162-2c.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 
substance  of  these  provisions  is  also  proposed  by  the 
Division.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
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160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-208.  Continuing Education.
R162-208-1.  Required Hours of Continuing Education.
               208.1   An applicant  for  license  renewal  shall  complete 
fourteen hours of continuing education approved by the Division to 
qualify for license renewal.

R162-208-2.  Proof of Continuing Education Hours.
               208.2  Proof of continuing education hours must be in the 
form required by the Division.

R162-208-3.  Credit Hours.
               208.3  For the purpose of this rule, a credit hour is defined 
as 50 minutes of education within a 60 minute time period.  A 10 
minute  break  may be  taken  for  every  50  minutes  of  education. 
Education credit will be limited to a maximum of 8 credit hours per 
day.

R162-208-4.  Subject Matter.
               208.4   The  following  subject  matter  is  acceptable  for 
continuing education credit:
               208.4.1  Each time the licensee renews, the required 14 
credit hours must include a minimum of 2 credit hours of ethics and 
a minimum of 3 credit hours related to compliance with Federal and 
State laws governing mortgage lending.
               208.4.2   The  balance  of  the  credit  hours  required  for 
renewal may consist of any courses related to residential mortgage 
principles  and practices  that  would  enhance the  competency and 
professionalism of licensees.
               208.4.3   The  Division  may  maintain  and  may  make 
available to any person upon request a list of course topics that have 
been approved by the Division and the Commission as acceptable 
for continuing education purposes.  The Division may also post the 
list of course topics on its website.

R162-208-5.  Unacceptable Subject Matter.
               208.5   The  following  topics  are  not  acceptable  for 
continuing education purposes:
               208.5.1  Offerings in mechanical office and business skills 
such  as  typing,  speed  reading,  memory  improvement,  report 
writing, advertising or similar offerings;

               208.5.2   Offerings  concerning  physical  well-being  or 
personal  development,  such  as  personal  motivation,  stress 
management,  time  management,  dress-for-success,  or  similar 
offerings; and
               208.5.3  Meetings held in conjunction with the  general 
business  of  the  licensee  and  the  entity  for  which  the  licensee 
conducts residential mortgage business, such as sales meetings, or 
in-house staff meetings unless the in-house staff meetings consist of 
training on the subjects set forth in Section 61-2c-104(7)(d)(ii).

R162-208-6.  Education Committee.
               208.6   The  Commission  may  appoint  an  Education 
Committee, the purpose of which will be to assist the Division and 
the Commission in approving continuing education course topics. 
The  Education  Committee  will  make  recommendations  to  the 
Division and the Commission about whether any particular course 
topic is sufficiently related to residential mortgage principles and 
practices,  and  whether  the  topic  would  tend  to  enhance  the 
competency and professionalism of licensees, to justify placing the 
topic on the list of course topics that are acceptable for continuing 
education purposes.  The Division and the Commission may accept 
or reject the Committee's recommendation on any course topic.
               208.6.1  If an Education Committee has been appointed 
by  the  Commission,  any  licensee  or  any  course  provider  may 
request that the Education Committee recommend to the Division 
and  the  Commission  that  a  specific  topic  be  approved  as  an 
acceptable  topic  for  continuing education purposes.   The request 
must be made in writing, addressed to the Education Committee in 
care  of  the  Division,  and  must  state  specific  reasons  why  the 
requester  believes  the  topic  qualifies  for  continuing  education 
purposes.
               208.6.2  If the Education Committee turns down a request 
to approve a certain topic for continuing education purposes,  the 
party who requested that  the topic  be approved may petition the 
Division and the Commission on an individual basis for evaluation 
and  approval  of  the  topic  as  being  acceptable  for  continuing 
education  purposes.   The  Petition  must  be  made  in  writing, 
addressed  to  the  Division  and  the  Commission  in  care  of  the 
Division, and must state specific reasons why the requester believes 
that  the topic qualifies for continuing education purposes.  If  the 
Division and the Commission find that the topic is acceptable for 
continuing education purposes, the Division shall add the topic to 
the  list  maintained  by  the  Division  of  approved  continuing 
education topics.

R162-208-7.   Course  Completion  Certificate  and  Continuing 
Education Banking.
               208.7.1   The  course  provider  shall  issue  a  course 
completion certificate in the form required by the Division to all 
licensees  who  successfully  complete  a  course  in  a  topic  that  is 
approved  for  continuing  education  purposes.   The  course 
completion  certificate  shall  indicate  the  number  of  credit  hours 
successfully completed by the student and must be signed by the 
student  and  the  instructor  who  taught  the  course.   The  course 
completion  certificate  must  include  the  course  title,  date  of  the 
course, course certificate number, and course certificate expiration 
date.
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               208.7.2   For  the  purposes  of  this  rule,  "continuing 
education banking" is defined as the upload by a course provider of 
such information as specified by the Division to the Division's data 
base concerning the students who have successfully completed a 
continuing education course, including the name of the course, the 
certificate number assigned to the course by the Division, the date 
the course was taught, and the names and license numbers of all 
students who successfully completed the course.
               208.7.3  In addition to complying with the requirements 
of Subsection 208.7.1 and except as provided in Subsection 208.7.5, 
all course providers shall bank continuing education for all students 
who  successfully  completed  a  course  within  ten  days  after  the 
course was taught.
               208.7.4   A  student  must  provide  an  accurate  license 
number  and  the  full  name  the  student  has  registered  with  the 
Division  to  the  course  provider  within  7  days  after  course 
attendance.
               208.7.5  If a course provider is unable to bank a student's 
continuing  education  credit  because  the  student  has  failed  to 
properly and accurately comply with the requirements of Subsection 
208.7.4, the course provider shall not be disciplined by the Division 
for failure to bank the student's continuing education credit.

R162-208-8.  Online Courses.
               208.8  Online courses may be accepted by the Division 
for continuing education purposes if  they comply with all  of the 
other provisions of this rule and if:  a) the student who successfully 
completes a course is able to print from the course provider's web 
site a continuing education certificate to submit to the Division that 
meets the requirements of Section 208.7 above; and b) the course 
provider has methods in place to determine whether a student has 
successfully  completed  a  course  and  to  insure  that  only  those 
students who have successfully completed a course are able to print 
a course completion certificate.

R162-208-9.  Continuing Education Instructor Certification.
               208.9   All  instructors  of  courses  to  be  taught  for 
continuing education purposes must apply for certification from the 
Division not less than 30 days prior to the anticipated date of the 
first class that they intend to teach.
               208.9.1  Continuing education course instructor applicants 
shall meet the requirements set forth in Section 210.5 and Section 
210.7 of these rules, and shall demonstrate knowledge of the subject 
matter of the course they intend to teach by submitting proof of the 
following:
               (a)   at  least  three  years  of  experience  in  a  profession, 
trade, or technical occupation in a field directly related to the course 
which the applicant intends to instruct;
               (b)  a bachelors or postgraduate degree in the field of real 
estate, business, law, finance, or other academic area directly related 
to the course which applicant intends to instruct; or
               (c)  any combination of at least three years of full-time 
experience and college-level education in a field directly related to 
the course which the applicant intends to instruct.
               208.9.2  Instructor applicants shall demonstrate evidence 
of the ability to communicate the subject matter by the submission 
of proof of the following:

               (a)   a  state  teaching  certificate  or  showing  successful 
completion of appropriate college courses in the field of education;
               (b)  a professional teaching designation from the National 
Association  of  Mortgage  Brokers,  the  Real  Estate  Educators 
Association,  the  Mortgage Bankers  Association of  America,  or  a 
similar association; or
               (c)  evidence, such as instructor evaluation forms or letters 
of reference, of the ability to teach in schools, seminars, or in an 
equivalent setting.
               208.9.3   Upon  approval  by  the  Division,  an  instructor 
shall  be  issued  a  certification  to  act  as  a  continuing  education 
instructor.   A continuing  education  instructor  certification  shall 
expire twenty-four months after  its  issuance.   An instructor shall 
apply for renewal of a continuing education instructor certification 
prior to the expiration of the instructor's current certification, using 
the form required by the Division.
               208.9.3.1   To  qualify  for  renewal  of  instructor 
certification,  an instructor must  provide proof of having taught a 
minimum of one class in each course for which renewal is sought in 
the year preceding application for renewal.  The term of a renewed 
instructor certification shall be twenty-four months.
               208.9.3.1.1  If the instructor has not taught during the year 
preceding  renewal  and  wishes  to  renew  certification,  written 
explanation  shall  be  submitted  outlining  the  reason  for  not 
instructing the course, including documentation satisfactory to the 
Division  as  to  the  instructor's  present  level  of  expertise  in  the 
subject matter of the course.
               208.9.4  Reinstatement of Expired Instructor Certification. 
If  the  instructor  does  not  submit  a  properly  completed  renewal 
form, the renewal fee, and any required documentation prior to the 
expiration  date  of  the  instructor's  current  certification,  the 
certification shall expire.  When an instructor certification expires, 
the certification may be reinstated for a period of thirty days after 
the expiration date upon payment of a non-refundable late fee in 
addition to completing all of the requirements for a timely renewal. 
After the thirty day period, and until six months after the expiration 
date, an instructor certification may be reinstated upon payment of a 
non-refundable  late  fee  and  completion  of  6  classroom hours  of 
education related to residential mortgages or teaching techniques in 
addition to completing all of the requirements for a timely renewal. 
After the six month period, an instructor will be required to apply 
by following the procedure for obtaining original certification.

R162-208-10.  Continuing Education Course Certification.
               208.10   Continuing  education  course  providers  who 
provide education courses specifically tailored for, or marketed to, 
Utah real  estate,  appraiser,  or mortgage licensees  are  required to 
apply  to  the  Division  for  certification  of  any  course  for  which 
continuing education credit is promised at least 30 days prior to the 
anticipated date of the first  class.  Except as may be provided in 
Subsection  208.10.5,  the  Division  will  not  grant  continuing 
education credit to students who have taken courses that have not 
been  certified  by  the  Division  in  advance  of  the  courses  being 
taught to students.
               208.10.1  Approved continuing education providers may 
include  accredited  colleges  and  universities,  public  or  private 
vocational schools, national and state mortgage related professional 
societies and organizations, and proprietary schools and instructors.
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               208.10.2  Application Procedure.  Except as provided in 
Subsection 208.10.3, education providers shall make application to 
the  Division  following  the  procedures  set  forth  in  Subsection 
208.10.4.
               208.10.3. A continuing education provider who provides 
proof to the Division that a course offering has been certified for 
continuing education credit in a minimum of three other states and 
that the provider has specific standards in place for development of 
courses and approval of instructors may be granted certification of a 
course  by  filling  out  the  form  required  by  the  Division  and 
including the following with the application:
               (a)  a copy of the provider's standards used for developing 
curricula and for approving instructors;
               (b)  evidence that the course is certified in at least three 
states;
               (c)  a sample of the course completion certificate bearing 
all information required by Subsection 208.10.4(l) and
               (d)  all required fees, which shall be non-refundable.
               208.10.4  Submission  of Course  for  Certification.   The 
application shall include the non-refundable instructor certification 
fee and the non-refundable course certification fee per course per 
instructor. The application shall be made on the form required by 
the  Division,  and  shall  include  all  information  required  by  the 
Division concerning the course and the course sponsor.
               208.10.5  Individual licensees may apply to the Division 
for continuing education credit for a non-certified mortgage course 
that was not required by these rules to be certified in advance by 
submitting  the  form  required  by  the  Division  and  providing  all 
information concerning the course required by the Division.  If the 
licensee is able to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Division 
that the course will  likely improve the licensee's  ability to better 
protect or serve the public and improve the licensee's professional 
licensing  status,  the  Division  may  grant  the  individual  licensee 
continuing education for the course.
               208.10.5.1  Provided the subject matter of the course is 
applicable to residential mortgage loan business in Utah, a course 
approved  for  continuing  education  purposes  in  another  state  or 
jurisdiction may be granted Utah continuing education credit on a 
case by case basis.
               208.10.6   Distance  Education.   Continuing  education 
courses in which the instruction does not take place in a traditional 
classroom setting, but rather through other media where teacher and 
student are separated by distance and sometimes by time, may be 
certified by the Division if the particular distance education method 
has  been  approved  by  the  Commission  and  the  Division. 
Application must be made to the Division on the form required by 
the Division for certification of courses that do not take place in a 
traditional classroom setting.

R162-208-11.  Conditions of Certification.
               208.11.1  Minimum class time for live courses.  Course 
completion certificates  may be given only to  those students  who 
have attended a minimum of 90% of the required class time of a 
live lecture course.
               208.11.2  Registration Records.  A course provider shall 
maintain for three years a record of registration of each individual 
completing  a  course  and  any  other  information  required  by  the 
Division  regarding  the  individual's  attendance  at  the  course, 
including exam results, if any.

               208.11.3   Course  providers  shall  require  that  a  student 
registered  for  a  distance  education  course  completes  the  course 
within one year of the date the student originally registered for the 
course.
               208.11.4   Material  Changes  in  Courses  Certified  for 
Continuing  Education  Purposes.   Whenever  there  is  a  material 
change  in  a  certified  continuing  education  course,  including  a 
change in curriculum, course length, instructor, or refund policy, the 
provider shall promptly notify the Division in writing.
               208.11.5  Course Evaluation Forms.  At the end of each 
course, course providers shall require that each student complete a 
standard evaluation form provided by the Division. The forms shall 
be  collected  at  the  end  of  the  class,  sealed  in  an  envelope,  and 
mailed by the course provider to the Division within 10 days of the 
last class.

R162-208-12.  Continuing Education Course Certification and 
Renewal.
               208.12  All  course  certifications  shall  expire  two years 
after their issuance.
               208.12.1   Application  for  renewal  of  a  continuing 
education course certification shall be made on the form required by 
the Division and shall include the non-refundable renewal fee.
               208.12.1.1  If the certification of a continuing education 
course is not renewed within six months after its expiration date, the 
course provider will be required to apply for a new certification for 
the course.
               208.12.2  After a course has been renewed three times, the 
course provider will be required to apply for a new certification.

R162-208-13.  Division Evaluation and Monitoring of Courses 
and Instructors.
               208.13.1  The  Division  shall  cause certified  continuing 
education courses to be evaluated for adherence to course content 
and  other  prescribed  criteria,  and  for  the  effectiveness  of  the 
instructor.
               208.13.2  On a randomly selected basis, the Division may 
assign monitors to attend courses for the purpose of evaluating the 
courses and the instructors. The monitors will complete a standard 
evaluation form provided by the Division and return the form to the 
Division within 10 days after the last class.

R162-208-14.  Limitation on Multiple Use of Credit Hours.
               208.14  A mortgage licensee who is also licensed by the 
Division as a real estate broker, real estate sales agent, or real estate 
appraiser  may  not  receive  credit  toward  renewal  of  a  mortgage 
license for continuing education hours that have already been used 
toward renewal of a real estate broker, real estate sales agent, or real 
estate appraiser license.

R162-208-15.  Marketing of Continuing Education Courses.
               208.15.1  A course provider may not advertise or market a 
continuing education course where Division continuing education 
course  credit  will  be  offered  or  provided  to  a  licensed  attendee 
unless the course:
               (a)  is approved and has been issued a current continuing 
education course certification number by the Division; and
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               (b)   is  advertised  with  the  continuing education  course 
certification  number  issued  by  the  Division  displayed  in  all 
advertising materials.
               208.15.2  A course provider may not advertise, market, or 
promote  a  continuing  education  course  with  language  which 
indicates  Division  continuing  education  course  approval  is 
"pending" or otherwise forthcoming.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  June 23, 
2008
Notice of Continuation:  November 10, 2008
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-103(3); 61-2c-104(7)(d)(ii)]

33380

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-209

Administrative Proceedings
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal)
DAR FILE NO.:  33380

FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-209  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed new Rule R162-2c,  which  incorporates 
the  provisions  of  the  existing  rule  into  a  new  numbering 
system  and  organizational  scheme.   (DAR  NOTE:   The 
proposed new Rule R162-2c is under DAR No. 33372 in this 
issue, March 1, 2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-209 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 63G-4-202

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The substantive provisions of this 
rule are incorporated into the new rule.  There is no change in 
the costs to the state.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments have never 
been subject to administrative proceedings conducted by the 
division relative to the mortgage industry.  Repealing this rule 
will have no fiscal impact to local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The substantive provisions of this 
rule are incorporated into the new rule.  There is no change in 
the costs to small businesses, which have always been, and 
remain,  subject  to  the  rules  governing  administrative 
proceedings  conducted  by  the  division  relative  to  the 
mortgage industry.

♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The substantive provisions of this rule are incorporated into 
the new rule.  There is no change in the costs to affected 
persons, which have always been, and remain, subject to the 
rules governing administrative proceedings conducted by the 
division relative to the mortgage industry.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 
substance  of  these  provisions  is  also  proposed  by  the 
Division.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-209.  Administrative Proceedings.
R162-209-1.  Requests for Agency Action.
               209.1.1   Any application  form which  is  filled  out  and 
submitted to the Division for a license or renewal of a license, or for 
certification of a school,  instructor,  or course,  shall  be deemed a 
request  for  agency  action  pursuant  to  the  Utah  Administrative 
Procedures Act, Section 63G-4-102, et seq.
               209.1.2  A complaint against a licensee requesting that the 
Division commence an investigation or a disciplinary action is not a 
request  for  agency  action  pursuant  to  the  Utah  Administrative 
Procedures Act, Section 63G-4-102, et seq.
               209.1.3   Other  requests  for  agency  action  shall  be  in 
writing  and  signed  by  the  requestor,  and  shall  contain  the 
information required by the Utah Administrative  Procedures  Act, 
Section 63G-4-201.
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R162-209-2.  Formal Adjudicative Proceedings.
               Any adjudicative proceeding conducted subsequent to the 
issuance of a cease and desist order shall be conducted on a formal 
basis.

R162-209-3.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings.
               209.3.1.   All  adjudicative  proceedings  as  to  any  other 
matters  not  specifically  designated  as  formal  adjudicative 
proceedings  shall  be  conducted  as  informal  adjudicative 
proceedings.
               209.3.2.   A  hearing  will  be  held  in  an  informal 
adjudicative proceeding only if required or permitted by the Utah 
Residential Mortgage Practices Act or by these rules.
               209.3.3.   All  proceedings  on  original  or  renewal 
applications for a license will be conducted as informal adjudicative 
proceedings.
               209.3.4.   All  proceedings  on  original  or  renewal 
applications for certification of a school, instructor, or course will 
be conducted as informal adjudicative proceedings.
               209.3.5.   Except  as  provided in  Section 63G-4-502,  all 
proceedings  for  disciplinary  action  commenced  by  the  Division 
following  investigation  of  a  complaint  will  be  conducted  as 
informal adjudicative proceedings.

R162-209-4.  Hearings Not Required.
               A hearing  is  not  required  and  will  not  be  held  in  the 
following informal adjudicative proceedings:
               (a)  The issuance of an original or renewed license when 
the application has been approved by the Division;
               (b)   The  issuance  of  an  original  or  renewed  school 
certification,  instructor  certification,  or  course  certification  when 
the application has been approved by the Division;
               (c)  The issuance of any interpretation of statute, rule or 
order, or the issuance of any written opinion or declaratory order 
determining  the  applicability  of  a  statute,  rule  or  order,  when 
enforcement  or  implementation  of  the  statute,  rule  or  order  lies 
within the jurisdiction of the Division;
               (d)  The denial of an application for original or renewed 
license on the ground that it is incomplete;
               (e)  The denial of an application for original or renewed 
school certification,  instructor certification,  or course certification 
on  the  ground that  it  does  not  comply with  the  requirements  of 
Sections R162-208.9, R162-210.2, R162-210.5, or R162-210.6; or
               (f)   All proceedings on an application for an exemption 
from the continuing education requirement.

R162-209-5.   Hearings  Required  in  Informal  Adjudicative 
Proceedings.
               209.5.1   Hearings  will  be  held  in  all  proceedings 
commenced  by  the  Division  for  disciplinary  action  pursuant  to 
U.C.A. Section 61-2c-402.

R162-209-6.  Hearings Permitted.
               209.6.1.   Except  as  provided in  Subsection 209.6.2,  an 
informal  post-revocation  hearing  following  the  revocation  of  a 
license  pursuant  to  Utah  Code  Section  61-2c-202(4)(d)  for  the 
failure of a person to accurately disclose his criminal history will be 
held if requested in writing by the person within 30 days from the 
date the Division's order revoking the license was mailed.

               209.6.2  Upon a finding of good cause shown for a delay 
in requesting a hearing, the Director may grant a post-revocation 
hearing to a licensee whose request for a hearing was not timely 
made.

R162-209-7.   Procedures  for  Hearing  in  All  Informal 
Adjudicative Proceedings.
               209.7.1  The procedures  to  be followed in  all  informal 
adjudicative proceedings are set forth in Title 63G, Chapter 4, Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act, Utah Administrative Code Section 
R151-46b, and in these rules.
               209.7.2   Except  as  provided  in  Subsection  209.8.3  of 
these rules,  a party is  not  required to  file  a  written answer  to  a 
notice  of  agency  action  from  the  Division  in  an  informal 
adjudicative proceeding.
               209.7.3  Assistance of an Administrative Law Judge.  In 
any  proceeding  under  this  subsection,  the  Commission  and  the 
Division may, but shall not be required to, delegate a hearing to an 
Administrative Law Judge or request that an Administrative Law 
Judge assist  the  Commission  and the Division  in  conducting the 
hearing.   Any delegation  of  a  hearing to  an  Administrative  Law 
Judge shall be in writing.
               209.7.4.   Notice  of hearing.   Upon the scheduling of a 
hearing by the  Division  on  an application for  a  license  or  upon 
receipt of a timely request for a hearing where other hearings are 
permitted, the Division shall mail written notice of date, time, and 
place scheduled for the hearing at least ten days prior to the hearing.
               209.7.5.   Discovery.   Discovery  is  prohibited,  but  the 
Division may issue subpoenas or other orders to compel production 
of  necessary  and  relevant  evidence  upon  written  request  to  the 
Division.  Parties shall have access to information gathered during 
an investigation  by the Division  to  the  extent  permitted  by Title 
63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and Management Act, 
and  other  applicable  laws.   The  Division  shall  provide  the 
information  within  15  days  of  receipt  of  the  written  request. 
Information that will  not be  provided by the Division to  a party 
includes  the  Division's  Investigative  Report,  draft  documents, 
attorney/client communications, materials containing an attorney's 
work  product,  materials  containing  the  investigators'  thought 
processes or analysis, or internal Division forms and memoranda. 
The Division may decline to provide a party with information that it 
has already provided to that party.
               209.7.6.  Intervention.  Intervention is prohibited.
               209.7.7.  Hearings.  Hearings shall be open to all parties, 
except that a hearing may be conducted in a closed session which is 
not open to the public if the presiding officer closes the hearing 
pursuant  to  Title  63G,  Chapter  4,  the  Utah  Administrative 
Procedures  Act,  or  Title  52,  Chapter  4,  the  Open  and  Public 
Meetings Act.
               209.7.8  Representation by Counsel.  The respondent in a 
proceeding  commenced  by  the  Division,  or  the  requestor  in  a 
proceeding  commenced  by  a  request  for  agency  action,  may be 
represented by counsel  and  shall  have the  opportunity to  testify, 
present witnesses and other evidence, and comment on the issues.
               209.7.9.  Witnesses.  A party to a proceeding may request 
that the Division subpoena witnesses or documents on the party's 
behalf by making a written request to the Division.  The Division 
will thereafter generate the witness subpoenas and furnish them to 
the  party requesting  them.   The  party  who  has  requested  that  a 

36 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2010, Vol. 2010, No. 5



DAR File No. 33380 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

witness be subpoenaed shall bear the cost of service of the subpoena 
upon the witness,  the  witness  fee  and mileage to  be paid to  the 
witness.
               209.7.10.  Record.  The Division shall cause a record to be 
made of the hearing by audio or video recorder, or by a certified 
shorthand reporter.  Any party to a proceeding, at his own expense, 
may have a reporter approved by the Division prepare a transcript 
from the Division's recording of the proceedings.
               209.7.11.   Orders.   Within  a  reasonable  time  after  the 
close  of  a  proceeding,  the  presiding  officer  shall  issue  a  signed 
order in writing that states the decision, the reasons for the decision, 
a notice of any right of administrative or judicial review available to 
the parties, and the time limits for filing an appeal or requesting 
review.   The  order  shall  be  based  on  the  facts  appearing in  the 
Division's files and on the facts presented in evidence at the hearing. 
A copy of the Order shall be promptly mailed or delivered to each 
of the parties.

R162-209-8.   Additional  Procedures  for  Disciplinary 
Proceedings Commenced by the Division.
               209.8.1  The following additional procedures shall apply 
to disciplinary proceedings commenced by the Division pursuant to 
U.C.A.  Section  61-2c-402  following  the  investigation  of  a 
complaint by the Division:
               209.8.2   Notice  of  Agency  Action  and  Petition.   The 
proceeding shall be commenced by the Division filing and serving a 
Notice of Agency Action and a Petition setting forth the allegations 
made by the Division.
               209.8.3  Answer.   The presiding officer  at  the time the 
Petition is filed may, upon a determination of good cause, require a 
person against whom a disciplinary proceeding has been initiated 
pursuant  to  U.C.A.  Section  61-2c-402  to  file  an  Answer  to  the 
Petition  by  ordering  in  the  Notice  of  Agency  Action  that  the 
respondent shall file an Answer with the Division.  All Answers are 
required to be filed with the Division within thirty days after the 
mailing date of the Notice of Agency Action and Petition.
               209.8.4  Witness and Exhibit  Lists.   The Division shall 
provide its Witness and Exhibit Lists to the respondent at the time it 
mails its Notice of Hearing to the respondent.  The respondent shall 
provide its Witness and Exhibits Lists to the Division no later than 
thirty days after the mailing date of the Division's Notice of Agency 
Action and Petition.
               209.8.4.1  Contents of Witness List.  A Witness List shall 
contain the name, address, and telephone number of each witness, 
and a summary of the testimony expected from the witness.
               209.8.4.2  Contents of Exhibit List.  An Exhibit List shall 
contain an identification of each document or other exhibit that the 
party intends to use at the hearing,  and shall  be accompanied by 
copies of the exhibits.
               209.8.5  Pre-hearing Motions.   Any pre-hearing motion 
permitted  by  the  Department  of  Commerce  Administrative 
Procedures Act Rules shall be made in accordance with those rules. 
The Director of the Division shall receive and rule upon any pre-
hearing motions.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  August 29, 
2006

Notice of Continuation:  January 30, 2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-4-202]

33381

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-210

Certification of Prelicensing Education 
Providers

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Repeal)

DAR FILE NO.:  33381
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Rule  R162-210  is  repealed  in  light  of  the 
Division's  proposed new Rule  R162-2c,  which  updates  the 
mortgage  education  certification  rules  to  comply  with  the 
nationwide database.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed new Rule 
R162-2c  is  under  DAR No.  33372 in  this  issue,  March  1, 
2010, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-210 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   Repealing  this  rule  relieves  the 
state from having to oversee and enforce it.  The costs to the 
state  of  implementing  and  overseeing  the  new  education 
certification  rules  are  included  in  the  rule  analysis  for 
proposed new Rule R162-2c.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments do not take, 
provide,  or  oversee  mortgage  prelicensing  education  and 
have never been subject to the rules governing it.  Repealing 
this rule will have no fiscal impact to local governments.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   Businesses  that  provide 
prelicensing  education  no  longer  have  to  comply  with  this 
rule.   The  costs  to  them  of  complying  with  the  new rule 
governing prelicensing education are addressed in  the rule 
analysis for proposed new Rule R162-2c.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Individuals teaching prelicensing education courses no longer 
have to comply with this rule.  The costs to them of complying 
with  the  new  rule  governing  prelicensing  education  are 
addressed  in  the  rule  analysis  for  proposed  new  Rule 
R162-2c.
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COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal  as  a  substitute  rule  amendment  containing  the 
substance  of  these  provisions  is  also  proposed  by  the 
Division.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-210.  Certification of Prelicensing Education Providers.
R162-210-1.  Definitions.
               210.1.1  For the purposes of this rule, "school" includes:
               (a)   Any college or  university accredited by a  regional 
accrediting  agency  which  is  recognized  by  the  United  States 
Department of Education;
               (b)  Any community college, vocational-technical school, 
state or federal agency or commission;
               (c)  Any nationally recognized mortgage organization, any 
Utah  mortgage  organization,  or  any  local  mortgage  organization 
which  has  been  approved  by  the  Utah  Residential  Mortgage 
Regulatory Commission; and
               d)  Any proprietary mortgage education school.
               210.1.2  For the purposes of this rule,  "applicant" shall 
include school directors, school owners and pending instructors.
               210.1.3  "Distance Education" is defined as education in 
which the instruction does not take place in a traditional classroom 
setting, but rather through other media where teacher and student 
are separated by distance and sometimes by time.

R162-210-2.  Application for School Certification.
               210.2.1  A school offering prelicensing education must be 
certified  by  the  Division  of  Real  Estate  before  providing  any 
education.  Each  school  requesting  approval  of  an  educational 

program designed to meet the prelicensing education requirements 
must make application for approval on the form prescribed by the 
Division.   The  application  must  include  the  non-refundable 
application fee and the following information which will be used in 
determining the school's eligibility for approval:
               (a)   Name,  phone  number  and  address  of  the  school, 
school director, and all owners of the school;
               (b)  A description of the type of school and a description 
of the school's physical facilities.  All courses must be taught in an 
appropriate  classroom  facility  and  not  in  any  private  residence, 
except for courses approved for specific home-study purposes;
               (c)   A  comprehensive  course  outline  including  a 
description of the course, the length of time to be spent on each 
subject area broken into class periods, and a minimum of three to 
five  learning objectives  for  every three hours  of classroom time. 
The  curriculum  must  include  all  of  the  topics  set  forth  in  the 
Standard Curriculum approved by the Utah Residential Mortgage 
Regulatory Commission and the Division.  A school may alter the 
sequence of presentation of the required topics, and may add topics 
in addition to those required by the Standard Curriculum;
               (d)  A list of each certified instructor the school intends to 
use and the instructor certification number which has been issued by 
the Division.  A college or university may use any faculty member 
to teach an approved course provided the instructor demonstrates to 
the satisfaction of the Division the academic training or experience 
qualifying him to teach the course;
               (e)  An itemization of methods of instruction,  including 
lecture  method,  slide  presentation,  cassette,  videotape,  movie,  or 
other method;
               (f)   A list  of  the  titles,  authors  and  publishers  of  all 
required textbooks.   All  texts,  workbooks,  supplement  pamphlets 
and any other  materials  must  be appropriate  and current  in  their 
application to the required course outline;
               (g)  A schedule of the days, times and locations of classes;
               (h)  A copy of the statement which shall be provided for 
each student outlining the days, times and locations of classes; the 
number of quizzes and examinations; the grading system, including 
methods of testing and standards of grading; the requirements for 
attendance; the school's evidence of notification to candidates of the 
qualifying  questionnaire;  and  the  school's  refund  policy.   The 
statement to the student shall state in capital letters no smaller than 
1/4 inch the following language: "Any student attending the (school 
name) is under no obligation to affiliate with any of the mortgage 
entities that may be soliciting for licensees at this school;" and
               (i)  Any other information as the Division may require.

R162-210-3.  School Certification and Renewal.
               210.3.1  When  a  school  has  met  all  conditions  of 
certification, and upon approval by the Division, a school will be 
issued  certification.  A school  certification  will  expire  24  months 
from the date  of issuance.   A school shall  apply for  renewal  for 
additional twenty-four month periods prior to the expiration of each 
current certification, using the form required by the Division.

R162-210-4.  Rules of Conduct for Certified Schools.
               210.4.1  A school shall teach the approved course of study 
as outlined in the Standard Course Outline approved by the Utah 
Residential Mortgage Regulatory Commission.
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               210.4.2  A school shall require each student to attend the 
required number of hours.
               210.4.3  A school shall maintain a record of each student's 
attendance for a minimum of five years after enrollment.
               210.4.4  A school shall not accept a student for a number 
of hours that is less than the full prelicensing curriculum without 
first  having a  written statement  from the Division  indicating the 
exact number of hours that an applicant for licensure by reciprocity 
is required by the Division to complete.
               210.4.5  A school shall not make any misrepresentation in 
its advertising about any course of instruction, and shall be able to 
provide substantiation of any claims made in its advertising. School 
advertising  and  public  notices  shall  not  denigrate  the  mortgage 
profession  and  shall  not  make  disparaging  remarks  about  a 
competitor's services or methods of operation.
               210.4.6   Guest  Lecturers.   No  more  than  20%  of  the 
required  prelicensing education hours  may be  provided  by guest 
lecturers.  Guest lecturers shall be experts in the field on which they 
provide instruction.   Prior to using any guest  lecturer,  a certified 
school shall provide to the Division the name of the guest lecturer 
and a  resume which  defines  the  knowledge and expertise  of the 
guest lecturer, or other evidence of professional qualifications of the 
guest lecturer.
               210.4.7  Minimum class time.  A school shall not give a 
student credit for more credit hours of education than the student 
has actually completed.  A credit hour is defined as 50 minutes of 
instruction within a 60 minute time period. A 10 minute break will 
be given for each 50 minutes of instruction.
               210.4.8  Maximum class hours per day.  Education credit 
will be limited to a maximum of eight credit hours per day.
               210.4.9   Limitation  on  Non-lecture  Methods  of 
Instruction.  Absent special approval from the Division:  (a)  Non-
lecture methods of instruction will be limited to 50% of the total 
credit  hours  of  the  prelicensing  curriculum;  (b)   Non-lecture 
methods of instruction will  have an accompanying workbook for 
the  student  to  complete  during the instruction.  The schools  shall 
submit copies of the workbooks to the Division prior to using a non-
lecture  method  of  instruction;  and  (c)   A school  must  have  a 
certified instructor available to answer student questions within 48 
hours after a non-lecture method of instruction has been used.
               210.4.10   Proof  of  Course  Integrity  for  Distance 
Education Courses.  Distance education courses will be reviewed on 
a case by case basis and will be approved only if, in the opinion of 
the Division, assurance of the following can be provided:  a)  There 
is a method to insure that the person actually completing the course 
is the student who is to receive credit for the course; b)  The course 
provides no fewer hours of actual instruction than the number of 
credit hours that will be granted for the course; and c)  There is a 
method to insure that the student comprehends the material.
               210.4.11  Challenge by Examination.   A student cannot 
challenge a course or any part of a course of study by examination 
in lieu of attendance at the course.
               210.4.12  College Credit Hour Equivalents.  A college or a 
university that  provides  Division-approved prelicensing education 
courses  may schedule  those courses  within its  regular  quarter  or 
semester schedule.  A college quarter hour credit is the equivalent of 
10  classroom  hours  of  prelicensing  education,  and  a  college 
semester  hour  credit  is  the  equivalent  of  15  classroom hours  of 
prelicensing education.

               210.4.13  Within 15 calendar days after the occurrence of 
any material  change  in  the  information  provided  in  the  school's 
application  for  certification,  the  school  shall  give  the  Division 
written notice of that change.
               210.4.14   A school  shall  not  attempt  by any means  to 
obtain or to use in its educational offerings the questions from the 
prelicensing examination unless the questions have been dropped 
from the current bank of exam questions.
               210.4.15   A  school  shall  not  give  any  valuable 
consideration to an individual or entity licensed with the Division 
under  the  Utah  Residential  Mortgage  Practices  Act  for  having 
referred students to the school, nor shall a school accept valuable 
consideration  from  an  individual  or  entity  licensed  with  the 
Division  under  the  Utah  Residential  Mortgage  Practices  Act  for 
having referred students to a licensed mortgage entity.
               210.4.16  Licensed mortgage entities may be permitted by 
a  school  to  solicit  prospective  mortgage  officers  at  the  school, 
provided that no solicitation may be made during the class time or 
the  10-minute  breaks  that  are  permitted  during  every  hour  of 
instruction.  Such solicitation may be made only after the regularly 
scheduled class time has concluded.  No student may be required to 
attend any such solicitation.
               210.4.17  A school shall use only certified instructors or 
guest lecturers.  The school shall notify the Division about which 
class sessions the guest lecturers will teach.
               210.4.18   A  school's  owners  and  directors  shall  be 
responsible  for  the  quality  of  instruction  in  the  school  and  for 
adherence to the state laws and regulations regarding school and 
instructor certification.
               210.4.19  School directors shall provide the instructor for 
each course with the required content  outline  for  the  course  and 
shall assure that the required subject matter has been taught.
               210.4.20   Disclosure  Requirements  Regarding  Criminal 
History.  For the purposes of this rule, criminal history is defined as 
any felony or misdemeanor convictions, any pleas in abeyance or 
diversion agreements, or any pending criminal charges.
               210.4.20.1  Prior to accepting payment from a prospective 
student for a pre-licensing education course, a certified school shall 
provide a written disclosure to the prospective student stating: a) 
applicants  for  licensure  must  disclose  any  criminal  history  by 
answering  a  questionnaire  as  part  of  the  mortgage  exam;  b) 
applicants  for  licensure  must  submit  fingerprint  cards  to  the 
Division and consent to a criminal background check; c) licenses 
issued by the Division are conditional pending the completion of the 
background  check  and  failure  to  accurately  disclose  a  criminal 
history  will  result  in  an  immediate  and  automatic  license 
revocation;  d)  applicants  with  a  criminal  history  described  in 
Subsection R162-202-5(202.5.1) do not qualify for a license; and e) 
applicants  with  a  criminal  history  other  than  as  described  in 
Subsection R162-202-5(202.5.1) will be considered on a case-by-
case  basis  and  may  be  required  to  appear  at  an  administrative 
hearing to determine qualifications for licensure.
               210.4.20.2   The  school  shall  be  required  to  obtain  the 
student's  signature  on  the  written  disclosure  required  by Section 
210.4.20.1 acknowledging receipt of the disclosure. The disclosure 
form and acknowledgement shall be retained in the school's records 
and made available for inspection by the Division for a minimum of 
two years following the date upon which the student completes the 
pre-licensing course.
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R162-210-5.  Instructor Application for Certification.
               210.5.1   An  instructor  shall  not  teach  a  prelicensing 
course  by himself  without  having been certified  by the Division 
prior to teaching the course.  Each applicant for certification as a 
prelicensing instructor shall make application for approval on the 
form required by the Division.
               210.5.2  The applicant for instructor certification to teach 
Mortgage Officer prelicensing courses shall provide:
               (a)   Evidence  of  a  minimum  educational  level  of 
graduation from high school or its equivalent;
               (b)  Evidence of a minimum of five years of experience in 
the  residential  mortgage  industry  within  the  past  ten  years,  or 
evidence  of  having  completed  appropriate  college-level  courses 
specific to the topic proposed to be taught;
               (c)  Evidence of a minimum of twelve months of fulltime 
teaching experience or an equivalent number of months of part time 
teaching  experience,  or  attendance  at  Instructor  Development 
Workshops totaling at least two days in length; and
               (d)  Evidence of having passed an examination designed 
to test the knowledge of the subject matter proposed to be taught.
               210.5.3   Lending  Manager  Prelicensing  Courses.   In 
addition to  the  requirements  of  Section 210.5.2,  an applicant  for 
certification  to  teach  the  following  specific  Lending  Manager 
prelicensing courses shall have experience as follows:
               210.5.3.1  Management of a Residential Mortgage Loan 
Office.  An applicant for  certification to teach office management 
courses  must  be  have  at  least  two  years  practical  experience  in 
managing  an  office  that  engaged  in  the  business  of  residential 
mortgage loans.
               210.5.3.2  Mortgage Lending Law.  An applicant to teach 
mortgage  lending law courses  must  be a  current  member  of  the 
Utah  Bar  Association  or  have  graduated  from an  American  Bar 
Association accredited law school, and must have at least two years 
practical experience in the field of real estate law.
               210.5.3.3   Advanced  Appraisal.   An  applicant  to  teach 
advanced appraisal courses must be a State-Certified appraiser and 
must  hold  an  MAI  designation  or  equivalent  designation.  The 
instructor  applicant  must  have  at  least  two  years  practical 
experience in appraising.
               210.5.3.4   Advanced  Finance.   An  applicant  to  teach 
advanced finance courses must have been associated with a lending 
institution  as  a  loan  officer  or  have  a  degree  in  finance.  The 
instructor  applicant  must  have  at  least  two  years  practical 
experience in real estate finance.
               210.5.4   Special  Circumstances.   Instructor  applicants 
who  cannot  meet  the  requirements  of  Section  210.5.2,  but  who 
believe they are qualified to be certified as instructors, may petition 
the  Utah  Residential  Mortgage  Regulatory  Commission  on  an 
individual basis for evaluation and approval of their qualifications 
as  being  substantially  equivalent  to  those  required  for  instructor 
certification.

R162-210-6.  Instructor Certification and Renewal.
               210.6.1.   Upon approval  by the  Division,  an  instructor 
applicant  will  be  issued  a  certification  that  expires  twenty-four 
months  following  certification.   An  instructor  shall  apply  for 
renewal  for  additional  twenty-four  month  periods  prior  to  the 
expiration of each current certification, using the form required by 
the Division.

               210.6.2.   As a condition of renewal of certification,  the 
applicant  shall  include  the  following  with  the  application  for 
renewal:
               (a)  Proof of having taught at least 20 hours of in-class 
instruction  in  a  certified  mortgage  education  course  during  the 
preceding two years;
               (b)   Proof  of  attendance  at  an  instructor  development 
workshop  sponsored  by  the  Division  during  the  preceding  two 
years; and
               (c)  Proof of successful  completion of 12 hours of live 
education courses taken in real estate financing related subjects;
               210.6.3  A renewed certification will be issued for two full 
calendar years,  expiring on December 31 of the second calendar 
year.
               210.6.4   If  an  application  for  renewal  of  instructor 
certification, including all required fees and documentation, is not 
received  prior  to  the  expiration  date  of  the  current  instructor 
certification, the instructor certification shall expire.
               210.6.4.1   When  an  instructor  certification  expires,  the 
certification may be reinstated for a period of thirty days after the 
expiration  date  of  the  certification  upon  payment  of  a  non-
refundable late fee in addition to completion of the requirements for 
a timely renewal.
               210.6.4.2   After  the  thirty  day  period,  and  until  three 
months after the expiration date, an instructor certification may be 
reinstated  upon  payment  of  a  non-refundable  late  fee  and 
completion of 6 classroom hours of education related to residential 
mortgages or teaching techniques in addition to completing all of 
the  requirements  for  a  timely  renewal.   After  the  three  month 
period,  an instructor will  be  required to  apply as  for  an original 
certification.

R162-210-7.  Determining Fitness for Certification.
               210.7.1  In  order  to  qualify for  school  certification,  all 
school directors and all owners of the school must meet the criteria 
of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency.  In 
order to qualify for instructor certification, all instructors must meet 
the criteria of good moral character, honesty, integrity, truthfulness, 
reputation, and competency.
               210.7.2  The determination of whether a person possesses 
these  qualifications  will  be  made  by  the  Division,  with  the 
concurrence  of  the  Commission.   In  determining  fitness  for 
certification,  the  Division and Commission may consider  various 
factors, including:
               (a)  whether the person has had a license to practice in the 
mortgage  profession,  or  any  other  regulated  profession  or 
occupation denied, restricted, suspended, or revoked or subjected to 
any other disciplinary action by this or another jurisdiction;
               (b)  whether the person has been permitted to resign or 
surrender a mortgage license or any other professional license or 
has ever allowed a license to expire while the applicant was under 
investigation, or while action was pending against the applicant by a 
mortgage licensing or any other regulatory agency;
               (c)  whether any action is pending against the person by 
any mortgage licensing or other regulatory agency;
               (d)  whether  the person is currently under investigation 
for, or charged with, or has ever been convicted of or pled guilty or 
no contest to, or entered a plea in abeyance to, a misdemeanor or 
felony;
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               (e)  the circumstances that led to any criminal convictions;
               (f)   the  amount  of  time  that  has  passed  since  the 
individual's last criminal conviction;
               (g)  whether the person has ever been placed on probation 
or  ordered  to  pay  a  fine  or  restitution  in  connection  with  any 
criminal offense or a licensing action;
               (h)   whether  a  civil  judgment  has  ever  been  entered 
against the person based on fraud, misrepresentation or deceit, and, 
if the judgment awarded damaged against the person, whether the 
judgment has been fully satisfied;
               (i)   whether  any  restitution  ordered  by  a  court  in  a 
criminal conviction has been fully satisfied;
               (j)  whether the probation in a criminal conviction or a 
licensing action has been completed and fully served;
               (k)  whether there has been subsequent good conduct on 
the part of the person;
               (l)  any character testimony presented at the hearing and 
any character references submitted by the individual;
               (m)   past  acts  related  to  honesty  or  moral  character 
involving the business of residential mortgage loans;
               (n)  whether the individual has been guilty of dishonest 
conduct in the five years  preceeding application that would have 
been  ground  under  Utah  law for  revocation  or  suspension  of  a 
certification had the individual then been certified;
               (o)  whether  any tax and child  support  arrearages have 
been paid; and
               (p)  whether the individual has demonstrated competency 
in business subsequent to any part incompetence by the individual 
in the mortgage loan business.

R162-210-8.   Division  Evaluation  and Monitoring  of  Courses 
and Instructors.
               210.8.1  The Division  shall  cause certified prelicensing 
education courses to be evaluated for adherence to course content 
and  other  prescribed  criteria,  and  for  the  effectiveness  of  the 
instructor.
               210.8.2  On a randomly selected basis, the Division may 
assign monitors to attend courses for the purpose of evaluating the 
courses and the instructors. The monitors will complete a standard 
evaluation form provided by the Division and return the form to the 
Division within 10 days after the last class.

KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  April 7, 
2008
Notice of Continuation:  May 27, 2009
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-103(6)]

33382

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-211

Adjusted License Terms

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Repeal)

DAR FILE NO.:  33382
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  Rule R162-211 was promulgated in order to adjust 
the expiration dates of existing licenses so that the licensees 
may transition  onto  the  nationwide  database with  a  yearly 
expiration date of  December 31.   New licenses have been 
issued by the division.   The  division's  proposed new Rule 
R162-2c  establishes  a  yearly  license  expiration  date  of 
December  31.   Therefore,  Rule  R162-211  is  no  longer 
necessary.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R162-2c is 
under DAR No. 33372 in this issue, March 1, 2010, of the 
Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R162-211 is 
repealed in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule is moot. The state incurs 
no costs or savings in repealing it.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  do  not 
license with the division and were never subject to this rule. 
Repealing it will have no fiscal impact on local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Small businesses licensed with the 
division  have  been  issued  replacement  licenses  with 
expiration dates of  December 31.   The purpose of  the rule 
has been satisfied, and it no longer has any effect on small 
businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Persons  licensed  with  the  division  have  been  issued 
replacement licenses with expiration dates of December 31. 
The purpose of the rule has been satisfied, and it no longer 
has any effect on any persons.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   In 
repealing this rule, the division relieves affected persons of 
any obligation to comply with it.   There are no compliance 
costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this rule 
repeal as a transition to the nationwide database has been 
made and the current rule is no longer needed.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
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160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jennie  Jonsson  by  phone  at  801-530-6706,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
[R162-211.  Adjusted License Terms.
R162-211-1.   Adjusted  License  Terms  to  Comply  with 
Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System.
               (1)  Notwithstanding other provisions in R162, Sections 
R162-201 through R162-210, licensing terms for a license issued 
under the authority of Title 61, Chapter 2c, and rules made by the 
Division shall be adjusted according to the following schedule:
               (a)(i)   An  applicant  for  license  renewal  whose  license 
expires between January 1, 2008, and December 31, 2008, and who 
applies for and qualifies for renewal under Title 61, Chapter 2c, and 
rules made by the Division shall be issued a license for a term that 
expires December 31, 2010.
               (ii)  An applicant between January 1, 2008, and December 
31, 2008, and who applies for and qualifies for licensure under Title 
61, Chapter 2c, and rules made by the Division shall be issued a 
license for a term that expires December 31, 2010.
               (iii)  The Division shall issue a new license with the new 
expiration date to a licensee who was issued a  mortgage license 
during 2008 prior to the enactment of this rule.
               (b)   An  applicant  for  license  renewal  whose  license 
expires between January 1, 2009, and December 31, 2009, and who 
applies for and qualifies for renewal under Title 61, Chapter 2c, and 
rules made by the Division shall be issued a license for a term that 
expires December 31, 2010.
               (c)  An applicant for licensure who applies for licensure 
between  January  1,  2009,  and  December  31,  2009,  and  who 
qualifies for licensure under Title 61, Chapter 2c, and rules made by 
the  Division  shall  be  issued  a  license  for  a  term  that  expires 
December 31, 2010.
               (d)  An applicant for licensure who applies for licensure 
between January 1,  2010,  and December 31,  2010,  shall  comply 
with the procedures for licensure under Title 61, Chapter 2c, and 
rules made by the Division existing at time of licensure or license 
renewal.
               (2)  This rule does not affect any provisions under Rules 
R162-201 through R162-210 regarding licensee discipline.

KEY:  mortgage renewal license term
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  April 29, 
2009

Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
61-2c-205(1)(b)]

33368

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control

R313-34-3
Clarifications or Exemptions

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  33368
FILED:  02/10/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  During the process to complete a five-year review 
of  this rule,  it  was noted that  the rule referred to the 2001 
edition of the Code of Federal Regulations.  The incorporated 
material  was  updated  to  the  2010  edition.   The  federal 
requirements  did  not  have  any  changes  since  the  2001 
edition was incorporated by reference.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  References to the 
2001 edition of  10 CFR 36 and Appendix B of  10 CFR 20 
were updated to the 2010 edition.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  10 CFR 36 and Appendix B of 10 CFR 20 and 
Subsection 19-3-104(4)

MATERIALS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCES:
♦ Updates 10 CFR 36, published by GPO, 
01/01/2010
♦ Updates App. B of 10 CFR 20, published by GPO, 
01/01/2010

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division of Radiation Control 
will  have a small  cost  to  acquire  a  copy of  the applicable 
Code of Federal Regulations.  This cost is estimated to be 
less than $75.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no local governmental 
agencies  licensed  to  receive,  possess,  or  use  radioactive 
materials in an irradiator.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  One regulated entity will  need to 
acquire a copy of the applicable Code of Federal Regulations. 
This cost is estimated to be less than $75.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The Utah Radiation Control Board is not aware of any direct 
impact on other entities.
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Since 
the  rule  changes  will  not  add  or  remove  any  regulatory 
requirements, there are no additional compliance costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There is one Utah business currently affected by this  rule. 
The fiscal impact is minimal and is associated with the need 
to  obtain  a  copy  of  the  applicable  Code  of  Federal 
Regulations.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
RADIATION CONTROLROOM 212 
168 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Craig  Jones  by  phone  at  801-536-4264,  by  FAX  at 
801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at cwjones@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/15/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director

R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control.
R313-34.  Requirements for Irradiators.
R313-34-3.  Clarifications or Exemptions.

For purposes of Rule R313-34, 10 CFR 36, 20[0]10 ed., is 
incorporated  by  reference  with  the  following  clarifications  or 
exceptions:

(1)   The  exclusion  of  the  following  10  CFR sections: 
36.1, 36.5, 36.8, 36.11, 36.17, 36.19(a), 36.91, and 36.93;

(2)  The substitution of the following:
(a)  Radiation Control Act for Atomic Energy Act of 1954;
(b)   Utah  Radiation  Control  Rules  for  the  reference  to 

NRC regulations and the Commission's regulations;
(c)  The Executive Secretary or the Executive Secretary's 

for the Commission or the Commission's, and NRC in the following 
10 CFR sections:  36.13, 36.13(f), 36.15, 36.19(b), 36.53(c), 36.69, 
and 36.81(a), 36.81(d) and 36.81(e); and

(d)  In 10 CFR 36.51(a)(1), Rule R313-15 for NRC;
(3)  Appendix B of 10 CFR Part 20 refers to the 20[0]10 

ed. of 10 CFR; and
(4)   The  substitution  of  Title  R313  references  for  the 

following 10 CFR references:
(a)  Section R313-12-51 for reference to 10 CFR 30.51;
(b)  Rule R313-15 for the reference to 10 CFR 20;
(c)  Subsection R313-15-501(3) for  the reference to  10 

CFR 20.1501(c);
(d)   Section R313-15-902  for  the  reference  to  10  CFR 

20.1902;

(e)  Rule R313-18 for the reference to 10 CFR 19;
(f)   Section  R313-19-41  for  the  reference  to  10  CFR 

30.41;
(g)   Section  R313-19-50  for  the  reference  to  10  CFR 

30.50;
(h)   Section  R313-22-33  for  the  reference  to  10  CFR 

30.33;
(i)   Section  R313-22-210  for  the  reference  to  10  CFR 

32.210;
(j)   Section  R313-22-35  for  the  reference  to  10  CFR 

30.35; and
(k)  Rule R313-70 for the reference to 10 CFR 170.31.

KEY:  irradiator, survey, radiation, radiation safety
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
[September 14, 2001]2010
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2005
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
19-3-104(4); 19-3-104(8)

33387

Insurance, Administration
R590-196

Bail Bond Surety Fee Standards, 
Collateral Standards, and Disclosure 

Form
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  33387

FILED:  02/16/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being changed at the request of the 
Bail Bond Oversight Board and the Utah bail bond industry. 
The  change  sets  a  minimum premium percentage  for  bail 
bonds at 10%.  Currently, there is no minimum.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes goes 
from no  minimum premium for  a  bail  bond  to  a  minimum 
premium of 10% of the bond amount.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 31A-35-104

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The changes to this rule will have 
no effect on department or state budgets.  It will not change 
revenues or increase expenses.  It will increase workload for 
a  time while  the department  reviews bail  bond form filings 
showing  the  change  in  the  minimum  fee.   However,  this 
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increased work will not require the hiring of part time or full 
time help.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   The  changes to  this  rule  will 
affect the relationship between the bail bond licensee and the 
department but will  have no effect on their relationship with 
local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The changes to this rule will affect 
bail bond agencies and some surety companies.  The 19 bail 
bond agencies that financially back themselves and are not 
backed by surety companies will  need to change their  bail 
bond  forms to  show the  change  in  the  minimum premium 
percentage.  This would be a fairly minor change in the form 
but  result  in  costs  for  printing  and  paper  costs.   The  21 
agencies backed by surety companies will not be responsible 
for changing and filing the forms with the department.  Bail 
bond agencies who have charged less than 10% of the bond 
amount will have to increase their premiums thus potentially 
increasing their revenues.   Agencies that have not charged 
less than the 10% will probably see little, if any difference in 
revenues.  What the change in the minimum bond premium 
will do to competition in the bail bond marketplace is yet to be 
seen.  It could have a positive effect on the financial stability 
of bail bond agencies.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Surety companies that  provide financial  backing for  the 21 
bail bond agencies will be required to change and refile their 
bail bond forms with the department.  They will also need to 
provide the agencies they back with these forms which will 
incur  costs  to the company.   Consumers will  no longer  be 
able to purchase bail bonds for less than 10%.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Surety 
companies and agencies who create policy forms will need to 
change  them  to  show  the  new  minimum  premium  then 
publish  and  file  a  sample  with  the  department.   Those 
charging less than 10% of the bond amount for premium will 
have to increase their premium.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  impact  of  this  change  will  vary  among  agencies  and 
companies.  It will depend upon whether or not the agency is 
backed by a surety company; how much surplus stock bond 
forms an agency has on hand and will have to replace; and 
on how frequently the agency charged less than 10% for a 
bail bond.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

INSURANCE
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Jilene  Whitby  by  phone  at  801-538-3803,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at jwhitby@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

INTERESTED  PERSONS  MAY  ATTEND  A  PUBLIC 
HEARING REGARDING THIS RULE:
♦ 03/17/2010 11:00 AM, Senate Building (behind the Capitol), 
Beehive Room, 420 N State Street, Salt Lake City, UT

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist

R590.  Insurance, Administration.
R590-196.   Bail  Bond  Surety  Fee  Standards,  Collateral 
Standards, and Disclosure Form.
R590-196-4.  Fee Standards.

(1)  Initial bail bond fees.
(a)  Bail bond premium:
(i)   minimum  fee:  [none]not  less  than  10%  of  bond 

amount;
(ii)  maximum fee: not to exceed 20% of bond amount.
(b)  Document preparation fee may not exceed $20 per set 

of forms pertaining to one bail bond.
(c)  Credit  card fee may not exceed 5% of the amount 

charged to the credit card.
(2)  Additional fees.
(a)   These  fees  are  limited  to  actual  and  reasonable 

expenses incurred by the bail bond surety because:
(i)  the defendant fails to appear before the court at any 

designated dates and times;
(ii)  the defendant fails to comply with the court order; or
(iii)  the defendant or the co-signer fails to comply with 

the  terms  of  the  bail  bond  agreement  and  any promissory notes 
pertaining to that agreement.

(b)  Reasonable expense fee for mileage is the Internal 
Revenue Service standard for business mileage.

(c)   Apprehension  expenses  such  as  meals,  lodging, 
commercial travel, communications, whether or not the defendant is 
apprehended, are limited to actual expenses incurred and must be 
reasonable,  i.e.,  meals  at  mid-range  restaurants,  lodging  at  mid-
range hotels, commercial travel in coach class, etc.

(d)  Reasonable collateral expense fees:
(i)  actual expenses to obtain collateral; and
(ii)  storage expenses if in a secured storage area, limited 

to actual expenses.
(e)  A late payment fee of $20 or 5% of the delinquent 

periodic payment whichever is less.
(f) If a fee is charged by the court or the jail to process a 

bail  bond,  the  actual  fee  charged  may be  passed  through to  the 
defendant or the co-signer.
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R590-196-6.  Disclosure Form.
The bail bond surety and its agents will use the following 

disclosure form or a form that contains similar language.

TABLE

XYZ Bail Bonds Disclosure Form
1234 South 1234 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84444:
801-123-4567 fax: 801-098-7654
Defendant.......................Co-Signer......................
Court...........................Charge.........................
Bond amount $...................Bond number....................
Initial Fees, non-refundable.
....bond premium, maximum: no more than 20%;
    minimum: [none.]not     less     than     10%;                       $......
....document preparation, not to exceed $20
    per set of bond forms.                              $......
....credit card fee, not to exceed 5% of amount
    charged to credit card                              $......
                                   total initial fees   $......

Additional Fees.
     (1)  Limited to actual and reasonable expenses required
because the defendant fails to appear before the court at any
designated times, or fails to comply with the court order, or
fails to comply with the terms of the bail bond agreement or
any promissory notes pertaining to that agreement.  The following
are some reasonable expense fees:
     (i)  reasonable expense fee for mileage is IRS mileage
reimbursement standard for business miles;
     (ii)  reasonable apprehension expense fees include
meals at mid-range restaurants, lodging at mid-range hotels,
transportation at no more than coach fares; and
     (iii)  reasonable collateral expense fees: actual
expenses to obtain collateral and, actual storage expenses,
if collateral is in a secured storage area.
     (2)  A late payment fee of $20 or 5% of the
delinquent periodic payment whichever is less.
     (3)  If a fee is charged by the court or the jail to
process a bail bond, the actual fee charged may be passed
through to the defendant or the co-signer.

Grounds for revocation of bond.
     Should the defendant violate any of the following, the
defendant shall be subject to immediate bond revocation and
the defendant, or the co-signer, or both, shall be subject to
all the costs incurred to return the defendant to the court.

Grounds for revocation include the following:
     (a)  the defendant or co-signer providing materially false
information on bail bond application;
     (b)  the court's increasing the amount of bail beyond sound
underwriting criteria employed by the bail bond agent or bail
bond surety;
     (c)  a material and detrimental change in the collateral
posted by the defendant or one acting on defendant's behalf;
     (d)  the defendant changes their address or telephone
number or employer without giving reasonable notice to the bail
bond agent or bail bond surety;
     (e)  the defendant is arrested for another crime, other
than a minor traffic violation, while on bail;
     (f)  the defendant is back in jail in any jurisdiction and
revocations can be served prior to the defendant being released;
     (g)  failure by the defendant to appear in court at any
appointed times;
     (h)  finding of guilt against the defendant by a court of
competent jurisdiction;
     (i)  a request by the co-signer based on reasons (a)
through (h) above.  Items (a) through (h) pertain to the
defendant; items (a), (c), (e) (g) and (i) pertain to
co-signers, if any.

Collateral.
     The following has been given as collateral to guarantee
all court appearances of the defendant until the bond is
exonerated:
...............................................................
...............................................................
...............................................................
     The following has been given as collateral to guarantee
payment of bond fees:
...............................................................
...............................................................
     In the event judgment is entered against the surety or the
bonding fee is not paid according to the terms of the bail bond
agreement and its promissory note, if any, following written
notice to the undersigned of such judgment or non-payment, the
undersigned authorize XYZ Bail Bonds to convert the appropriate
collateral to collect the judgment or the unpaid bond fees.
Should proceeds from the sale of the appropriate collateral be
insufficient to cover the outstanding balance due, the defendant,
the co-signer, or both, agree to be personally liable for the
difference.  Should proceeds from the sale exceed the
outstanding balance, the difference will be returned to the
depositor of the collateral.  The depositor's signature below
constitutes acknowledgment of a Bill of Sale for the
collateral.  The depositor accepts this agreement as a bill of
sale for the collateral.

     By signing below I certify that I have read and understand
this disclosure form, the bail bond agreement and its
attached promissory note, if any.  I certify under penalty of
perjury that all information given to XYZ Bail Bonds verbally
and in writing on all documents relevant to this bond are true
and accurate. The co-signer agrees that should the co-signer
request XYZ Bail Bonds to revoke the defendant's bond, with or
without probable cause, the co-signer will be responsible to
pay XYZ Bail Bonds and their agents for the time returning
the defendant to jail at the rates stated above in additional
fees.  If requested by the co-signer to revoke the bond
without probable cause, the co-signer will be responsible to
reimburse the defendant his bond fees.

Date..............................Defendant....................
Date..............................Co-signer....................
Date..............................Depositor....................
I,......................................., agent of XYZ Bail
Bonds, certify that I have given a copy of all documents
pertaining to this bail bond agreement to the defendant, the
co-signer, the depositor, or any of the above, at the time and
date said bail bond agreement was executed.
Date....................Bail Bond Agent........................

KEY:  insurance, bail bonds
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 
22, 2009]2010
Notice of Continuation:  December 30, 2009
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law: 
31A-35-104

33385

Judicial Performance Evaluation 
Commission, Administration

R597-3
Judicial Performance Evaluations
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  33385
FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purposes of the rule are:  to make permanent 
minor changes first promulgated by emergency rule; to more 
specifically  define  the  terms  "court  staff,"  "litigant,"  and 
"witness;"  to  create a new category of  survey respondents 
called  Juvenile  Court  Professionals;  and  to  define 
"anonymity",  "confidentiality",  "raw  form  of  survey  results", 
and  "summary form  of  survey results"  as  those  terms are 
used in the statute.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendment 
defines terms used generally in the statute,  creates a new 
category of survey respondents, and makes permanent date 
changes promulgated at the end of 2009 by emergency rule. 
(DAR NOTE:  The corresponding 120-day (emergency) rule 
was published in the January 15, 2010, issue of the Bulletin 
under DAR No. 33289, and was effective 12/22/2009.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Sections 78A-12-101 through 78A-12-206

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  Theoretically, adding a new survey 
respondent  category could cost  approximately $20,000.   In 
practice, however, it should be cost neutral because S.B. 210, 
currently  before  the  2010  legislature  (with  no  opposition), 
proposes  to  eliminate  another  category  of  survey 
respondents.   Thus,  eliminating  one  category  and  adding 
another should have no impact at all on the state budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because the commission has no 
authority  with  respect  to  local  government,  there  is  no 
anticipated cost or savings to local government.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Because the commission has no 
authority  with  respect  to  small  businesses,  there  is  no 
anticipated cost or savings to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Because  the  commission  has  no  authority  with  respect  to 
persons  other  than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local 
government entities, there is no anticipated cost or savings to 
those entities.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
commission  assumes  all  compliance  costs.   Any  affected 
persons do not assume compliance costs of the statute.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
Because the commission does not regulate business, there is 
no fiscal impact on business.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

JUDICIAL PERFORMANCE EVALUATION 
COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM B-330 SENATE BUILDING
420 N STATE ST
SENATE BUILDING B-330
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Joanne  Slotnik  by  phone  at  801-538-1652,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-1024, or by Internet E-mail at jslotnik@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  V. Lowry Snow , Chair

R597.   Judicial  Performance  Evaluation  Commission, 
Administration.
R597-3.  Judicial Performance Evaluations.
R597-3-1.  Evaluation Cycles.

(1)  For judges not serving on the supreme court:
(a)   The  mid-term  evaluation  cycle.   The  mid-term 

evaluation cycle begins upon the appointment of the judge or on the 
first  Monday  in  January  following  the  retention  election  of  the 
judge and ends 2 1/2 years  later,  on June 30th of the  third year 
preceding the year of the judge's next retention election.

(b)   The  retention  evaluation  cycle.   The  retention 
evaluation cycle begins the day after the mid-term evaluation cycle 
is  finished  and  ends  two  years  later,  on  June  30th  of  the  year 
preceding the year of the judge's next retention election.

(2)  For justices serving on the supreme court:
(a)  The initial  evaluation cycle.   The initial  evaluation 

cycle  begins  upon the appointment  of  the  justice  or  on  the  first 
Monday in January following the retention election of the justice 
and  ends  2  1/2  years  later,  on  June  30th of  the  seventh  year 
preceding the year of the justice's next retention election.

(b)   The  mid-term  evaluation  cycle.   The  mid-term 
evaluation cycle begins the day after the initial evaluation cycle is 
finished and ends four years later, on June 30th of the third year 
preceding the year of the justice's next retention election.

(c)   The  retention  evaluation  cycle.   The  retention 
evaluation cycle begins the day after the mid-term evaluation cycle 
is  finished  and  ends  two  years  later,  on  June  30th  of  the  year 
preceding the year of the justice's next retention election.

(3)  Transition Evaluation Cycles
(a)  For judges standing for retention election in 2012:
(i)  [The mid-term evaluation cycle shall be conducted in 

2009,  ending  on  December  31,  2009.]The  mid-term  evaluation 
cycle for attorney surveys shall begin on January 1, 2008 and end 
on December 31, 2009.
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(ii)  The mid-term evaluation cycle for all  other survey 
categories shall begin in 2009 and end on January 31, 2010.
                 (iii)    The retention evaluation cycle for all surveys shall 
begin no later than July 1, 2010, and end on June 30, 2011.

(b)   For  judges  not  on  the  supreme  court  standing for 
retention election in 2014:

(i)  The mid-term evaluation cycle for surveys of attorneys 
and jurors shall begin in 2009 and finish on June 30, 2011.

(ii)  The mid-term evaluation cycle for all pilot program 
categories shall begin no later than July 1, 2010, and end on June 
30, 2011.

(iii)  The retention evaluation cycle will be as described in 
R597-3-1(1)(b),
supra.

(c)   For  supreme  court  justices  standing  for  retention 
election in 2014:

(i)  The mid-term evaluation cycle for surveys of attorneys 
shall begin in 2009 and end on June 30, 2011.

(ii)   The  mid-term  evaluation  cycle  for  relevant  pilot 
programs categories shall begin no later than July 1, 2010, and end 
on June 30, 2011.

(iii)  The retention evaluation cycle shall be as described 
in R597-3-1(2)(b)-(c).

(d)   For  supreme  court  justices  standing  for  retention 
election in 2016:

(i)  The initial evaluation cycle shall be combined with the 
mid-term evaluation,  beginning  in  2009  and  ending on  June  30, 
2013.

(ii)   The combined initial/mid-term evaluation cycle for 
surveys of attorneys shall begin in 2009 and end on June 30, 2013.

(iii)  The combined initial/mid-term evaluation cycle for 
relevant pilot programs categories shall begin no later than July 1, 
2010.

(iv)  The retention evaluation cycle shall be as described 
in R597-3-1(2)(c).

R597-3-2.  Survey.
(1)  General provisions.
(a)   All  surveys  shall  be  conducted  according  to  the 

evaluation cycles described in R597-3-1, supra.
(b)   The  commission  shall  distribute  the  survey 

questionnaires  upon  which  the  judge  shall  be  evaluated  to  each 
judge  at  the  beginning  of  the  survey  cycle.[  Within  a  single 
evaluation cycle, all survey questions shall remain the same.]

(c)   In  2010,  the  commission  shall  finalize  survey 
questionnaires and implementation procedures for each respondent 
classification.

(2)  Respondent Classifications
(a)  Attorneys
(i)   Identification  of  survey  respondents.   Within  10 

business days of the end of the evaluation cycle, the clerk for the 
judge or the Administrative Office of the Courts shall identify as 
potential  respondents all  attorneys who have appeared before the 
judge who is being evaluated at a minimum of one hearing or trial 
during the evaluation cycle.

(ii)  Number of survey respondents.  For each judge who 
is the subject of a survey, the surveyor shall identify 180 potential 
respondents or all attorneys appearing before the judge, whichever 
is less.

(iii)   Sampling.   The  surveyor  shall  make  a  random 
selection of respondents and shall otherwise design the survey to 
comply with generally-accepted principles of surveying.

(iv)  Distribution of surveys.  Surveys shall be distributed 
by the third-party contractor engaged by the commission to conduct 
the survey.

(b)  Jurors
(i)  Identification and number of survey respondents.  All 

jurors  who  participate  in  deliberation  shall  be  given  a  juror 
questionnaire.

(ii)   Distribution  of  surveys.   Prior  to  the  jury  being 
dismissed, the bailiff or clerk in charge of the jury shall distribute 
surveys to the jurors.  The bailiff or clerk shall collect completed 
surveys, seal them in an envelope, and mail them to the surveyor. 
The  surveyor  shall  deliver  survey  results  electronically  to  each 
judge.

(c)  Court Staff
(i)  Definition of court staff who have worked with the 

judge.   Court  staff  who  have  worked  with  the  judge  refers  to 
employees of the judiciary who have regular contact with the judge 
as  the  judge  performs  judicial  duties  and  those  who  are  not 
employed  by the  judiciary but  who have  ongoing  administrative 
duties in the courtroom.
               (ii)  Identification of survey respondents.  Court staff who 
have worked with the judge shall include, where applicable:

(A)  [court clerks;]judicial assistants;
                 (B)  case managers;  
                 (C)  clerks of court;  
                 (D)  trial court executives;  
                 (E)  interpreters;  
                 (F)  [(B)]  bailiffs;

(G)[(C)]  law clerks;
(H)[(D)]  juvenile probation and intake officers;
(I)[(E)]  other courthouse staff, as appropriate;
(J)[(F)]  Administrative Office of the Courts staff.
(ii)   Pilot  program.   The  commission  shall  run  a  pilot 

program  [in  2009  ]to  evaluate  the  methodology,  content,  and 
administrative feasibility of surveying court staff.

(d)  Litigants
(i)  Identification of survey respondents.  [A litigant is a 

party to a cause of action before a judge who is being evaluated.
               (A)   ]The  following  categories  [of]are litigants  for 
purposes  of  the  judicial  performance  evaluation  survey[ may be 
surveyed]:

(A)  any named party to an action;
               ([I]B)  any [competent ]person 14 years of age or older;

([II]C)   the  parent,  foster  parent,  guardian,  or  legal 
custodian of any minor;

([III]D)  the designated representative of a corporate or 
like entity[.];

(E)  an executor, administrator, guardian, or like person 
representing a real party in interest.
               ([B])(ii)  The representative of the prosecuting entity in a 
criminal case shall be surveyed as an attorney.  Prosecutor responses 
to the judicial temperament part of the survey shall be reported in 
both  the  attorney and  litigant  portions  of  the  judicial  evaluation 
report.
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(ii)   Pilot  Program.   The  commission  shall  run  a  pilot 
program  [in  2009  ]to  evaluate  the  methodology,  content,  and 
administrative feasibility of surveying litigants.

(e)  Witnesses
(i)  Identification of survey respondents.

                 (A)  District and Justice Court.    A witness is anyone not 
surveyed as a litigant who  is sworn and  testifies in court before a 
judge who is being evaluated.  Any witness [who is competent and 
]who is 14 years of age or older is qualified as a witness survey 
respondent.
                 (B)  Juvenile Court.  A witness is anyone who does not   
fall  within another  survey respondent group and who proffers  or 
testifies in court before a judge who is being evaluated.

(ii)   Pilot  Program.   The  commission  shall  run  a  pilot 
program  [in  2009  ]to  evaluate  the  methodology,  content,  and 
administrative feasibility of surveying witnesses.
                 (f)  Juvenile Court Professionals  
                 (i)  Definition of juvenile court professional. A juvenile   
court professional is someone whose professional duties place that 
individual  in  court  on  a  regular  and continuing basis  to  provide 
substantive input to the court.
                 (ii)  Identification of survey respondents.  Juvenile court   
professionals shall include, where applicable:
                 (A)   Division  of  Child  and  Family Services  ("DCFS")   
child protection services workers;
                 (B)  Division of Child and Family Services ("DCFS") case   
workers;
                 (C)   Juvenile  Justice  Services  ("JJS")  Observation  &   
Assessment Staff;
                 (D)  Juvenile Justice Services ("JJS") case managers;  
                 (E)  Juvenile Justice Services ("JJS") secure care staff;  
                 (F)  Others who provide substantive professional services   
on a regular basis to the juvenile court.
                 (iii)  The commission shall run a pilot program to evaluate   
the  methodology,  content,  and  administrative  feasibility  of 
surveying juvenile court professionals.
                 (3)  Anonymity and Confidentiality  
                 (a)  Definitions  
                 (i)  Anonymous.  
                 (A)   "Anonymous"  means  that  the  identity  of  the   
individual who authors any survey response, including comments, 
will be protected from disclosure.
                 (B)  The independent contractor conducting the surveys   
shall  provide  to  the  commission  all  written  comments  from the 
surveys,  redacted  to  remove  any  information  that  identifies  the 
person  commenting.   The  contractor  shall  also  redact  any 
information  that  discloses  the  identity  of  any  crime  victims 
referenced in a written comment.
                 (C)   The  submission  of  a  survey  form  containing  an   
anonymous  narrative  comment  does  not  preclude  any  survey 
respondent from submitting a public comment in writing pursuant 
to the Judicial Performance Evaluation Commission Act.
                 (ii)   Confidentiality:   Confidentiality means information   
obtained  from  a  survey  respondent  that  the  respondent  may 
reasonably expect will not be disclosed other than as indicated in 
the survey instrument.
                 (iii)   The  raw  form  of  survey  results  consists  of  all   
quantitative survey data that contributes to the minimum score on 
the judicial performance survey.

                 (iv)   The  summary  form  of  survey  results  consists  of   
quantitative survey data in aggregated form.

KEY:   judicial  performance  evaluations,  judges,  evaluation 
cycles, surveys
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
[December 16, 2009]2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  78A-12

33362

Labor Commission, Boiler and Elevator 
Safety

R616-2-3
Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  33362

FILED:  02/04/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this rule change is to adopt the 
most  current  American  Society  of  Mechanical  Engineers 
(ASME)  codes  and  National  Fire  Protection  Association 
(NFPA) codes for application to the design and installation of 
boilers  and  pressure  vessels  in  Utah.   The  Utah  Labor 
Commission's intent is to maintain uniformity between state 
standards and national standards.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The 2009b ASME 
addenda  and  the  2007  edition  of  the  NFPA codes  make 
relatively  minor  technical  and  editorial  changes,  such  as: 
material specifications; testing; inspection; and administrative 
dialog.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 34A-7-101 et seq.

MATERIALS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCES:
♦ Updates 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems 
Hazard Code, published by National Fire Protection 
Association, 
♦ Updates Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section 
VIII 2009b Addenda, published by American Society 
of Mechanical Engineers, 
♦ Updates Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section 
IV Rules for Construction of Heating Boilers 2009b 
Addenda, published by American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers, 
♦ Updates Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section 
I Rules for Construction of Power Boilers, 2009b 
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Addenda, published by American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers,

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  Although the 2009b ASME addenda 
and 2007 NFPA code address several technical and editorial 
changes, these changes taken as a whole will  not result in 
net costs or savings.  The ASME code is purchased every 
three years and the addenda are included in the purchase 
price.  The 2007 NFPA code costs $65.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Although  the  2009b  ASME 
addenda and 2007 NFPA code address several technical and 
editorial  changes, these changes taken as a whole will  not 
result in net costs or savings.  The ASME code is purchased 
every  three  years  and  the  addenda  are  included  in  the 
purchase price.  The 2007 NFPA code costs $65.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Although the 2009b ASME addenda 
and 2007 NFPA code address several technical and editorial 
changes, these changes taken as a whole will  not result in 
net costs or savings.  The ASME code is purchased every 
three years and the addenda are included in the purchase 
price.  The 2007 NFPA code costs $65.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES, OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES: No 
persons other than businesses and government are affected.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS: 
Although the 2009b ASME addenda and 2007 NFPA code 
address  several  technical  and  editorial  changes,  these 
changes  taken  as  a  whole  will  not  result  in  net  costs  or 
savings.  The ASME code is purchased every three years and 
the addenda are included in the purchase price.  The 2007 
NFPA code costs $65.  On balance, the proposed rule will not 
result in significant expense or savings to affected persons.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The changes required by this proposed rule will have no net 
fiscal  impact  on  business;  however  businesses  enjoy 
competitive benefits by maintaining conformity between Utah 
and national standards.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

LABOR COMMISSION
BOILER AND ELEVATOR SAFETY
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Pete  Hackford  by  phone  at  801-530-7605,  by  FAX  at 
801-530-6871, or by Internet E-mail at phackford@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/08/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Sherrie Hayashi, Commissioner

R616.  Labor Commission, Boiler and Elevator Safety.
R616-2.  Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules.
R616-2-3.   Safety  Codes  and Rules  for Boilers  and  Pressure 
Vessels.

The following safety codes and rules  shall  apply to  all 
boilers  and  pressure  vessels  in  Utah,  except  those  exempted 
pursuant to Section 34A-7-101, and are incorporated herein by this 
reference in this rule.

A.  ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (2007).
1.   Section  I  Rules  for  Construction  of  Power  Boilers 

published July 1, 2007, [and  ]the 2008 addenda published July 1, 
2008, and the 2009b addenda published July 1, 2009.

2.  Section IV Rules for Construction of Heating Boilers 
published July 1, 2007, [and  ]the 2008 addenda published July 1, 
2008, and the 2009b addenda published July 1, 2009.

3.  Section VIII Rules for Construction of Pressure Vessels 
published July 1, 2007, [and  ]the 2008 addenda published July 1, 
2008, and the 2009b addenda published July 1, 2009.

B.  Power Piping ASME B31.1 (2004), issued August 16, 
2004.

C.  Controls and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired 
Boilers  ASME  CSD-1-1998;  the  ASME  CSD-1a-1999  addenda, 
issued March 10,  2000; and the ASME CSD-1b (2001) addenda, 
issued November 30, 2001.

D.  National Board Inspection Code ANSI/NB-23 (2007) 
issued December 31, 2007.

E.   NFPA 85  Boiler  and  Combustion  Systems  Hazard 
Code [2004]2007 Edition.

F.   Recommended  Administrative  Boiler  and  Pressure 
Vessel Safety Rules and Regulations NB-132 Rev. 4.

G.   Pressure  Vessel  Inspection  Code:  Maintenance 
Inspection,  Rating,  Repair and Alteration API 510 Ninth Edition, 
June 2006.  Except:

1.  Section-8, and
2.  Appendix-A.

KEY:  boilers, certification, safety
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
24, 2009]2010
Notice of Continuation:  November 30, 2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-7-101 
et seq.
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33371

Pardons (Board of), Administration
R671-303

Information Received, Maintained or 
Used by the Board

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  33371
FILED:  02/10/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  Changes to Rule R671-303 clarify what offenders 
and  their  attorneys  can  submit  for  consideration  at  Board 
hearings and when they can submit it, as well as amending 
material submission time limits for all involved legal parties, 
including the Attorney General's Office.

SUMMARY  OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   This  rule 
amendment alters what and when offenders and/or their legal 
counsel,  as  well  as  opposing  counsel,  can  submit  for 
consideration at Board hearings.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Title 63G, Chapter 2

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   None--The  changes  do  not 
introduce  costs  to  the  state  as  they  simply  relate  to 
submission requirements.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   None--The  changes  do  not 
introduce costs to local government as they simply relate to 
submission requirements.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   None--The  changes  do  not 
introduce costs to small businesses as they simply relate to 
submission requirements.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
None--The  changes  do  not  introduce  costs  to  affected 
persons as they simply relate to submission requirements.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--
The changes do not introduce compliance costs to affected 
persons as they simply relate to submission requirements.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
Enactment of the proposed rule changes will have no fiscal 
impact  on  state  government,  small  businesses,  local 
government or any other person.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

PARDONS (BOARD OF)
ADMINISTRATIONROOM 300 

448 E 6400 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84107-8530
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  John  Green  by  phone  at  801-261-6464,  by  FAX  at 
801-261-6481, or by Internet E-mail at jagreen@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Curtis Garner, Chairman

R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration.
R671-303.   [Offender  Access  to  ]Information Received, 
Maintained or Used by the Board.
R671-303-1.   [Offender  Access  to  ]Information Received, 
Maintained or Used by the Board.
                 (1)  Offender Access to Information  
 Absent  a [legitimate  ]security  or  safety  concern, as 
determined by the Board, an offender will be provided access to the 
information  being  considered  by  the  Board  and  given  an 
opportunity to  respond to  such information,  whenever  the  Board 
fixes sets or  extends  the offender's  parole  or  release  date.  If the 
Board determines offender access to information presents a security 
or  safety  concern[ is  an  issue],  the  offender  will  be  provided  a 
written summary of the material information being considered.
 The Board,  upon request or upon it's  own motion, may 
continue a hearing to allow submission of additional documentation 
or information. The Board will consider any relevant facts obtained 
at the hearing or later submitted by the offender, provided such later 
submitted information is received within five (5) days following the 
hearing.
 The Board will also provide an offender with a copy of 
the records contained in the offender's file at least three days prior 
to  any  personal  appearance  hearing  in  which  a parole  or [an 
early-]release date may be fixed or extended by the Board.  Any 
additional  information  obtained  by  the  Board  after  this  initial 
disclosure will be provided to the offender at the beginning of the 
hearing.  In such event, the offender will be given an opportunity to 
review  the  supplemental  information  before  proceeding.   If  no 
additional  time  is  requested  by  the  offender,  the  hearing  will 
proceed as scheduled.
 For administrative routings to fix an original hearing date, 
the [b]Board will only consider information available to the court at 
the time of sentencing.  This information will not be disclosed to the 
offender until the time of his/her original hearing, as it has already 
been disclosed in court.
                 (2)  Submission of Information  
                 Other than concise and brief letters, or statements by the   
offender,  all  other  materials,  briefs  or  written  memoranda  or 
argument submitted by or on behalf of any person, in preparation 
for a hearing (excluding commutation hearings governed by Rule 
R671-312), shall be limited to no more than five (5) pages in length.
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                 Submissions  by  legal  counsel  for  or  on  behalf  of  an   
offender must be received by the Board no later than seven (7) days 
prior to any scheduled hearing.
                 The Board reserves the right to strike from the offender's   
file, and to refuse to accept or consider any material or submissions 
which  are  irrelevant,  defamatory,  or  which  do  not  otherwise 
conform to this rule.

KEY:  inmates' rights, inmates, parole, records
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
[November 22, 2002]2010
Notice of Continuation:  July 25, 2007
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2

33384

Tax Commission, Auditing
R865-9I-7

Change of Status as Resident or 
Nonresident Pursuant to Utah Code 

Ann. Section 59-10-120
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  33384

FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   This  section  is  updated  to  reflect  changes  in 
statutory terminology and to clarify the taxable income of a 
part-year resident.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
amendment provides that income received, as well as income 
earned, while a part-year resident is subject to tax in Utah; 
updates statutory terminology.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 59-10-120

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  None--This amendment clarifies a 
statutory change from H.B. 359 (2008).  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 
359 (2008) is found at Chapter 389, Laws of Utah 2008, and 
was effective 05/05/2008.)
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--All income tax goes into 
the Education Fund.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  None--This amendment clarifies a 
statutory change from H.B. 359 (2008).
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
None--This amendment clarifies a statutory change from H.B. 
359 (2008).

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--
Taxpayers in Utah, whether  part-year  or full-time residents, 
must file a Utah tax return.  The amendment will impact what 
the taxpayer would include in income.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
None--This rule clarifies statutory changes.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TAX COMMISSION
AUDITING
210 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84134
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Michael  Cragun  by  phone  at  801-297-3907,  by  FAX  at 
801-297-3919, or by Internet E-mail at mcragun@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  R. Bruce Johnson, Tax Commission Chair

R865.  Tax Commission, Auditing.
R865-9I.  Income Tax.
R865-9I-7.   Change  of  Status  As  Resident  or  Nonresident 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-10-120.

[A.](1)  Definitions.
                 (a)  "AGI" means adjusted gross income, as defined by   
Section 59-10-103.

[1.](b)  "Part-year  resident"  means  an  individual  that 
changes status during the taxable year from resident to nonresident 
or from nonresident to resident.

[2.   "FAGI"  means  federal  adjusted  gross  income,  as 
defined by Section 62, Internal Revenue Code.
               B.](2)  The state taxable income of a part-year resident 
shall  be  a  percentage  of  the  amount  that  would  have  been  state 
taxable  income  if  the  taxpayer  had  been  a  full-year  resident  as 
[determined]defined under  Section  [59-10-112]59-10-103.   This 
percentage is the Utah portion of [FAGI]AGI divided by the total 
[FAGI]AGI, not to exceed 100 percent.

[C.](3)  The  Utah  portion  of  a  part-year  resident's 
[FAGI]AGI shall be determined as follows:

[1.](a)  Income  from  wages,  salaries,  tips  and  other 
compensation  earned  or  received while  in  a  resident  status  and 
included  in  the  total  [FAGI]AGI shall  be  included  in  the  Utah 
portion of the [FAGI]AGI.

[2.](b)  Dividends  actually  or  constructively  received 
while  in  resident  status  shall  be  included in  the  Utah portion of 
[FAGI]AGI.  Any dividend exclusion shall be deducted from the 
Utah  portion  of  [FAGI]AGI using  the  percentage  of  excludable 
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dividends received while in resident status, compared to the total 
excludable dividends.

[3.](c)  All  interest  actually  or  constructively  received 
while in resident status shall be included in the Utah portion of the 
[FAGI]AGI.

[4.](d)  All [FAGI]AGI derived from Utah sources while 
in  a  nonresident  status,  as  determined  under  Section  59-10-117, 
shall be included in the Utah portion of [FAGI]AGI.

[D.](4)(a)  Income  or  loss  from  businesses,  rents, 
royalties, partnerships, estates or trusts, small business corporations 
as defined by Internal Revenue Code Section 1371(b), and farming 
shall be included in the Utah portion of [FAGI]AGI:

[1.](i)  if the activities involved were concluded, or the 
taxpayer's connection with them terminated before or at the time of 
change from resident to nonresident status; or

[2.](ii)  if the activities were commenced or the taxpayer 
joined  them at  the  time  or  after  the  change  from nonresident  to 
resident status.
                 (b)    [Otherwise, such income]Income or loss that does not 
meet  Subsection  (4)(a)  shall  be  included  in  the  Utah  portion  of 
[FAGI]AGI only to the extent  the income or loss is  derived from 
Utah sources as determined under Section 59-10-117.

[E.](5)  Moving expenses deducted on the federal return 
may be deducted from the Utah portion of [FAGI]AGI only to the 
extent that they are for moving into Utah and within Utah.

[F.](6)  Employee  business  expenses  may be  deducted 
from the Utah portion of [FAGI]AGI only to the extent that they 
pertain to the production of income included in the Utah portion of 
[FAGI]AGI.

[G.](7)  Payments  by  a  self-employed  person  to  a 
retirement plan that reduce the total [FAGI]AGI may be deducted 
from the Utah portion of [FAGI]AGI in the same proportion that the 
related self- employment income is included in the Utah portion of 
FAGI.

[H.](8)  Other income, losses or adjustments applicable in 
determining total  [FAGI]AGI may be allowed or included in the 
Utah  portion  of  [his  FAGI]AGI only  when  the  allowance  or 
inclusion  is  fair,  equitable,  and  would  be  consistent  with  other 
requirements  of [the  act]Title  59,  Chapter  10,  Individual  Income 
Tax  Act, or  these  rules  as  determined  by  the  [Tax 
Commission]commission.

KEY:  historic preservation, income tax, tax returns, enterprise 
zones
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
[September 17, 2009]2010
Notice of Continuation:  March 20, 2007
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  59-10-108 
through 59-10-122

33386

Transportation Commission, 
Administration

R940-1-3
Base Toll Rate and Range for HOT 

Lanes
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  33386

FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  purpose  of  the  change  is  to  establish  toll 
rates for  the dynamically priced electronic payment system 
currently in development for the High Occupancy Toll (HOT) 
Lanes on I-15.

SUMMARY  OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   The  change 
establishes a toll rate of $0.25 to $1 per payment zone under 
a dynamically priced electronic payment system.  As the High 
Occupancy Toll  (HOT) Lane is converted from the monthly 
sticker program to an electronic payment system, the Utah 
Department of Transportation will manage the amount of the 
toll  necessary to keep the HOT lane freely flowing.   (DAR 
NOTE:  A corresponding 120-day (emergency) rule is under 
DAR No. 33369 in this issue, March 1, 2010, of the Bulletin, 
and was effective 02/10/2010.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  23 USC 166(b)(4) and Section 72-6-118

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   No  impact  to  state  budget--A 
contract has already been awarded to convert the HOT lane 
to  a  dynamically  priced  electronic  payment  system.   Only 
persons  choosing  to  access  the  HOT  lane  with  a  single 
occupant vehicle will be required to pay a toll.  The amount of 
the toll will vary by the number of payment zones accessed 
and the level of congestion in the HOT lane.  If state agencies 
provide money for their drivers to pay tolls, then they may be 
affected; otherwise they will not.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Only  persons  choosing  to 
access the HOT lane with a single occupant vehicle will be 
required to pay a toll.  The amount of the toll will vary by the 
number  of  payment  zones  accessed  and  the  level  of 
congestion in  the HOT lane.   If  local  governments provide 
money for their drivers to pay tolls, then they may be affected; 
otherwise they will not.
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♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Only persons choosing to access 
the HOT lane with a single occupant vehicle will be required 
to pay a toll.  The amount of the toll will vary by the number of 
payment zones accessed and the level of congestion in the 
HOT lane.  If small businesses provide money for their drivers 
to pay tolls, then they may be affected; otherwise they will 
not.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Only persons choosing to access the HOT lane with a single 
occupant vehicle will be required to pay a toll.  The amount of 
the toll will vary by the number of payment zones accessed 
and the level of congestion in the HOT lane.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS: 
Compliance  costs  will  vary  for  persons  driving  single 
occupant  vehicles  who  choose  to  access  the  HOT  lane, 
depending on the number of zones accessed and the level of 
traffic congestion in the HOT lane.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The Department does not believe the rule change will have a 
substantial fiscal impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Maureen  Short  by  phone  at  801-965-4026,  by  FAX  at 
801-965-4338,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at 
maureenshort@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  John Njord, Executive Director

R940.  Transportation Commission, Administration.
R940-1.  Establishment of Toll Rates.
R940-1-3.  Base Toll Rate and Range for HOT Lanes.

(1)  In deciding what Toll is appropriate for HOT Lanes 
that  are  not  subject  to  tollway  development  agreements,  the 
Commission balances the need to obtain revenue against the effect 
that a certain Toll amount will have on demand.  The goal is to set a 
price that encourages optimal use of the HOT Lane.

(2)  For HOT Lanes under a monthly sticker program that 
are not subject to a tollway development agreement, the initial toll 
for the HOT Lane is $50 per month.

([3]a)  With the Commission's approval, the Department 
may  increase  the  toll  described  in  subsection  (2)  from  $50  per 
month if  it  finds that  demand on the HOT Lane is too high and 
needs  to  be  reduced  in  order  to  keep  the  lane  freely  flowing. 
Evidence of demand can be shown by traffic counts and evidence of 
traffic congestion.
                 (3)  For HOT lanes under a dynamically priced electronic   
payment  system  that  are  not  subject  to  a  tollway  development 
agreement,  the  toll  is  $0.25  to  $1.00  per  payment  zone.   The 
Department will manage the amount of the toll necessary to keep 
the lane freely flowing.

(4)  Toll rates for HOT Lanes that are subject to a tollway 
development  agreement  shall  be  set  in  the  tollway  development 
agreement.

KEY:  transportation, tolls, HOT Lanes, tollways
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 
16, 2008]2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-2-120; 
72-6-118

33383

Workforce Services, Employment 
Development
R986-700

Child Care Assistance
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  33383

FILED:  02/11/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of  this amendment is to align the 
sanctions for providers.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  If a provider takes 
funds he or she is not eligible to receive, the provider incurs 
an  overpayment  and  the  Department  will  remove  that 
provider from the approved provider list.  There are several 
ways overpayments can occur and the sanctions are different 
under  the current  rule.   For  ease  of  administration  and  to 
make the system more fair, the sanctions under this proposed 
amendment will be the same.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS  RULE:   Section  35A-1-104  and  Subsection 
35A-1-104(4) and Subsection 35A-3-310(3)
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE  BUDGET:   This  applies  to  federally-funded 
programs  so  there  are  no  costs  or  savings  to  the  state 
budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   This  is  a  federally-funded 
program  so  there  are  no  costs  or  savings  to  the  local 
government.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   There  will  be  no  costs  to  small 
businesses to comply with these changes because this is a 
federally-funded program.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There will be no costs of any persons to comply with these 
changes because there are no costs or fees associated with 
these proposed changes.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no compliance costs associated with these changes for 
any persons because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no fees or costs associated with these proposed 
changes.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There are no compliance costs associated with this change. 
There are no fees associated with this change.  There will be 
no cost to anyone to comply with these changes.  There will 
be no fiscal impact on any business.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

WORKFORCE SERVICES
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT
140 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2333
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Suzan  Pixton  by  phone  at  801-526-9645,  by  FAX  at 
801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at spixton@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2010

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Kristen Cox, Executive Director

R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development.
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance.
R986-700-706.  Provider Rights and Responsibilities.

(1)   Providers  assume  the  responsibility  to  collect 
payment for child care services rendered.  Neither the Department 
nor  the  state  of  Utah  assumes  responsibility  for  payment  to 
providers.

(2)   A provider  may not  charge  clients  receiving a  CC 
subsidy a higher rate than their customers who do not receive a CC 
subsidy.

(3)  Providers must keep accurate records of subsidized 
child care payments, time and attendance.  The Department has the 
right  to  investigate  child  care  providers  and  audit  their  records. 
Time and attendance records for all subsidized clients must be kept 
for  at  least  one  year.   If  a  provider  fails  to  cooperate  with  a 
Department investigation or audit, or fails to keep records for one 
year, the provider will no longer be an approved provider.

(4)  If a provider accepts payment from funds provided by 
the Department for services which were not provided, the provider 
may be referred for criminal prosecution and will no longer be an 
approved  provider following  the  procedure  outlined  in  section 
R986-700-718.  This is true even if the funds were authorized under 
R986-700-718.

(5)  If an overpayment is established and it is determined 
that the provider was at fault in the creation of the overpayment, the 
provider is responsible for repayment of the overpayment.

(6)   Records  will  be  kept  by  the  Department  for 
individuals  who are  not  approved providers  and against  whom a 
referral or complaint is received.

R986-700-718.  Provider Disqualification.
(1)   A child  care  provider  removing child  care  subsidy 

funds from a client's account by way of electronic benefit transfer 
(EBT),  which  includes  the  Horizon  card  and  interactive  voice 
response  (IVR),  can  only  remove  those  funds  from  a  client's 
account that are authorized by the Department for that provider.  All 
providers receiving payment for child care services through an EBT 
may learn the exact amount authorized for that provider for each 
client  by  accessing  the  Department's  Provider  Payment 
Authorization  website.   Providers  who  remove  more  funds  than 
authorized  will  be  required  to  reimburse  the  Department  for  the 
excess funds and will  be disqualified from receipt of further CC 
subsidy funds as follows;

(a)  if the provider has never removed unauthorized CC 
subsidy funds before, the Department will send a demand letter to 
the  provider's  last  known  address  informing  the  provider  of  the 
unauthorized access and establishing an overpayment in the amount 
of the excess funds.  If the provider repays the overpayment within 
six months of the date of the demand letter, no further action will be 
taken on that overpayment,

(b)   if  the  provider  removes  funds  in  excess  of  those 
authorized  by  the  Department  a  second  time,  and  the  provider 
repaid the previous overpayment or is making a good faith effort to 
repay the overpayment, a second demand letter will be sent to the 
provider's last known address.  The second letter will establish an 
overpayment in the amount of the excess funds removed and inform 
the  provider  that  any  further  unauthorized  access  will  result  in 
disqualification.  If  the provider removes unauthorized funds and 
has not repaid the first overpayment, or is not making a good faith 
effort to repay the first overpayment to the Department, no second 
demand letter will be sent and the provider will be disqualified for a 
period of one year from the date the Department issues its letter, or 
in the case of an appeal, from the date the ALJ issues his or her 
determination.  A good faith effort to repay the overpayment means 
the provider is repaying at least 10% of the overpayment due each 
month,
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(c)  if a child care provider removes unauthorized funds a 
third  time,  or  a  second  time  without  repayment  of  the  first 
overpayment as provided in paragraph (1)(b) of this subsection, the 
provider will be disqualified and is ineligible for receipt of further 
CC  subsidy  funds  for  a  period  of  one  year  from  the  date  the 
Department issues its letter,  or in the case of an appeal, from the 
date the ALJ issues his or her determination,

(d)  a CC provider  previously disqualified for  one year 
from receipt of CC subsidy funds due to unauthorized removal of 
funds in paragraph (1)(c) of this subsection, will be disqualified for 
a period of two years if the provider removes unauthorized funds 
again.   Warning  letters  under  paragraphs  (a)  and  (b)  of  this 
subsection will not be sent if a provider was previously disqualified 
for receipt of CC subsidy funds,

(e) a CC provider previously disqualified for a two year 
period due to unauthorized removal of funds in paragraph (1)(d) of 
this  subsection  will  be  permanently  disqualified  if  the  provider 
removes  unauthorized  funds  again.   Warning  letters  under 
paragraphs  (a)  and  (b)  of  this  subsection  will  not  be  sent  if  a 
provider  was  previously  disqualified  for  receipt  of  CC  subsidy 
funds.
                 (2)  Even if CC funds are authorized under this section, a   
CC  provider  cannot  remove,  accept  and/or  retain  funds  for  any 
month during which no CC services were provided.  If authorized or 
unauthorized subsidy funds were accepted from a client or removed 
from  a  client's  account  as  provided  in  this  section  but  no  CC 
services  were  provided  during  the  month,  the  provider  will  be 
required to reimburse the Department for the excess funds and will 
be disqualified from receipt of further CC subsidy funds in the same 
manner as provided in subsection (1) of this section.

([2]3)  CC providers disqualified under subsections (1) or 
(2) of this  section will  be  ineligible  for  receipt of quality grants 
awarded by the Department during the period of disqualification.

([3]4)  A CC provider overpayment not paid in full within 
six months will be referred to collection and will be collected in the 

same manner as all public assistance overpayments.  Payment of 
provider overpayments must be made to the Department and not to 
the client.

([4]5)   A CC provider  may appeal  an  overpayment  or 
disqualification  as  provided  for  public  assistance  appeals  in  rule 
R986-100.  Any appeal must be filed in writing within 30 days of 
the date of letter establishing the overpayment or disqualification. 
A provider who has been found ineligible may continue to receive 
CC subsidy funds pending appeal until a decision is issued by the 
ALJ.   The  disqualification  period  will  take  effect  even  if  the 
provider files an appeal of the decision issued by the ALJ.[
               (5)  Even if CC funds are authorized under this section, a 
CC  provider  cannot  remove,  accept  and/or  retain  funds  for  any 
month during which no CC services were provided.  If authorized 
funds  were  accepted  from a  client  or  taken  as  provided  in  this 
section but no CC services were provided during the month,  the 
Department will send a demand letter to the provide establishing the 
overpayment  and  the  provider  will  be  given  30  days  repay  the 
Department or enter into an installment payment agreement.  Under 
an installment agreement, the provider must agree to make monthly 
payments and pay the full amount within a maximum of six months 
of the date of the demand letter.   If full payment is not received 
within  six  months,  the  provider  may  be  referred  for  criminal 
prosecution and will no longer be an approved provider as provided 
under R986-700-706(4).  This is true even if the provider has never 
removed or retained CC funds in the past.]

KEY:  child care
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 2, 
2008]2010
Notice of Continuation:  September 14, 2005
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-310

End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2010, Vol. 2010, No. 5 55





NOTICES OF
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES

After an agency has published a  PROPOSED RULE in the  Utah State Bulletin, it  may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect. A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to 
respond to comments it receives.

As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS. This analysis provides summary 
information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of 
the rule, and legal cross-references.

While the law does not designate a comment period for a  CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period, and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends March 31, 2010.

Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed. The text shows only those 
changes made since the  PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the  Utah State Bulletin. Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (e.g.,  example). Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding  them  (e.g.,  [example]).  A  row  of  dots  in  the  text  between  paragraphs  (. . . . . . .)  indicates  that 
unaffected text, either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space. If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS. A copy of rules that are 
too long to print is available from the agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules.

From  the  end  of  the  30-day  waiting  period  through  June  29,  2010,  an  agency  may  notify  the  Division  of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective. When an agency submits a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE for a  CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the  PROPOSED RULE as amended by the  CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
becomes the effective rule. The agency sets the effective date. The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment 
period, the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period 
nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to additional comments received. If the Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the process over.

CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are  governed by Section 63G-3-303;  Rule  R15-2;  and Sections R15-4-3,  R15-4-5, 
R15-4-7, and R15-4-9.

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page
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33066

NATURAL RESOURCES
WATER RIGHTS

R655-16
Administrative Procedures for 

Declaring Beneficial Use Limitations for 
Supplemental Water Rights

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE
DAR FILE NO.:  33066

FILED:  02/16/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  purpose  of  this  change  is  to  define 
procedures for resolving supplemental water right beneficial 
use quantification issues by agreement among the water right 
owners.  The rule also defines state engineer assistance in 
apportioning beneficial use among water rights in a water use 
group.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule provides 
for a "Declaration of Beneficial Use Amounts" form to enable 
water right holders to declare beneficial use information and 
document  agreement  with  that  declaration  by  those  with 
supplemental  water  rights.   The  rule  provides  conditions 
under which a water user may petition the state engineer for 
assistance in apportioning beneficial use among water rights 
in a water use group.  The rule formalizes the procedure the 
state engineer will  follow in the apportioning beneficial  use 
among water rights in a water use group.  (DAR NOTE:  This 
change in proposed rule has been filed to make additional 
changes to a proposed new rule that was published in the 
November 1, 2009, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 
62.  Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has been 
added since the publication of the proposed rule mentioned 
above; strike-out indicates text that has been deleted.  You 
must view the change in proposed rule and the proposed new 
rule  together  to  understand  all  of  the changes that  will  be 
enforceable should the agency make this rule effective.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 63G-4-101 et seq. and Section 73-1-3 
and Section 73-2-1 and Section 73-2-1 and Section 73-3-14 
and Section 73-3-16 and Section 73-3-20 and Section 73-3-3 
and Section 73-4-1 et seq. and Section 73-5-8

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The state engineer currently assists 
the  public  with  issues  and  questions  related  to  the 
apportionment of beneficial use.  This rule will formalize and 
standardize that process.  The rule will require more effort on 
the part of the water user before state engineer assistance 

can be requested, so the water user may provide more of the 
information needed for an apportionment and also there may 
be fewer requests for assistance.  However, in those cases 
where the state engineer is not  requested to apportion the 
beneficial  uses,  the  state  engineer  will  still  be  required  to 
review all of the beneficial use information submitted by water 
users to determine if it is in agreement with the water right 
record.  Overall, there probably will not be a reduction in effort 
required and no increased costs incurred or savings made.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local  government  will  not  be 
affected unless the government entity is an owner of water 
right involved in a water use group that required quantification 
of  the  beneficial  uses.   In  this  case,  the  effect  will  be  as 
described under "other persons" below.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Small business in general will not 
be affected unless the business is an owner of  water right 
involved in a water use group that required quantification of 
the  beneficial  uses.   In  this  case,  the  effect  will  be  as 
described under "other persons" below.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This rule will provide a defined process to assure all impacted 
parties have an opportunity to participate in the quantification 
of supplemental water right beneficial use.  It also creates an 
obligation for individual water right holders to participate.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
will be a cost if the water users choose to hire professional 
help in completing a Declaration of Individual Beneficial Use 
Amounts.  The cost will vary depending upon the complexity 
of the water right involved.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WATER RIGHTSROOM 220 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Marianne Burbidge by phone at 801-538-7370, by FAX at 
801-538-7467,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at 
marianneburbidge@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/31/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  Kent Jones, State Engineer/Director
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R655.  Natural Resources, Water Rights.
[R655-16.  Administrative Procedures for Declaring Beneficial 
Use Limitations for Supplemental Water Rights.
R655-16-1.  Authority.
               Section 73-1-3 declares, "Beneficial use shall be the basis, 
the measure and the limit of all rights to the use of water in this 
state."
               Subsection 73-2-1(3) declares, "The State Engineer shall 
be  responsible  for  the  general  administrative  supervision  of  the 
waters  of  the  state  and  the  measurement,  appropriation, 
apportionment, and distribution of those waters."
               Subsection 73-2-1(5)(e) authorizes the State Engineer to 
make  rules  governing  the  form and  content  of  applications  and 
related documents, maps and reports.
               Subsection 73-3-3(4)(b)(vii) requires the State Engineer to 
supply an application form for the permanent or temporary change 
of a water right which shall set forth, among other information, "the 
place, purpose, and extent of the present use."
               Section 73-5-8 states, "Every person using water from any 
river system or water source, when requested by the State Engineer, 
shall within 30 days after such request report to the State Engineer 
in writing: (1) the nature of the use of any such water; (2) the area 
on which it  is  used;  (3)  the  kind of crops grown;  and (4) water 
elevations on wells or tunnels and quantity of underground water 
used."

R655-16-2.  Justification.
               Proper water right administration requires a quantification 
of  the  beneficial  use(s)  to  which  the  holder  of  a  water  right  is 
entitled. To facilitate record keeping, each unique beneficial use or 
set of beneficial uses is assigned a water use group number in the 
State Engineer's records. Some such records indicate the beneficial 
uses in a water use group are authorized under two or more water 
rights  (supplemental  rights),  but  do  not  quantify  the  amount  of 
beneficial  use  authorized  under  each  individual  right. 
Administrative activities requiring an evaluation of the beneficial 
use  of  a  water  right  may  necessitate  the  quantification  of  the 
beneficial  use  allowed under  each  supplemental  water  right  in  a 
water use group.
               This  rule  provides  for  a  "Declaration  of  Individual 
Beneficial  Use  Amounts"  form  to  enable  water  right  holders  to 
declare  beneficial  use  information and document  agreement  with 
that declaration by those with supplemental water rights.

R655-16-3.  Purpose.
               The purpose of this rule is to allow water right holders to 
declare  the  amount  of  beneficial  use  that  each  water  right 
contributes  to  the  total  beneficial  use  of  a water  use  group.   To 
accomplish  this,  a  Declaration  of  Individual  Beneficial  Use 
Amounts  form  may  be  completed  and  submitted  to  the  State 
Engineer.   To  complete  the  form,  the  water  right  holders  must 
quantify,  by  agreement,  the  amount  of  beneficial  use  that  each 
supplemental water right contributes to the water use group within 
which it is listed.

R655-16-4.  Application of Rule.
               This rule applies to all  water use groups defined in the 
State  Engineer's  water  right  records  for  which  no  individual 
beneficial use amounts have been established.

R655-16-5.  Definitions.
               (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined as follows:
               (a)   "Application  for  Apportionment  of  Beneficial  Use 
Amounts" means an application requesting that the State Engineer 
apportion  the  beneficial  uses  of  a  water  use  group  among  the 
supplemental water rights that make up the water use group.
               (b)  "Beneficial use" means the purpose to which water 
diverted  under  a  water  right  is  applied  and  the  amount  of  that 
beneficial use.  Examples include irrigation (amounts measured in 
acres); stock watering (amounts measured in numbers of animals); 
domestic  (indoor  residential  -  amounts  measured  in  numbers  of 
families); commercial, industrial, municipal (amounts measured in 
acre-feet); power generation (amounts measured in cubic-feet-per-
second diversion rate); and fish culture (amounts measured in acre-
feet or cubic-feet-per-second flow rate).  By statute, the established 
and continued beneficial use of a water right will define the basis, 
measure and limit of that right.
               (c)   "Change  application"  means  an  application  for 
permanent  or  temporary  change  of  a  water  right  as  defined  in 
Section 73-3-3.
               (d)  "Declaration of Individual Beneficial Use Amounts" 
(DIBUA) means either a form provided by the State Engineer, or an 
alternative document containing the same information, for use by 
water right holders to declare the individual beneficial use amount 
of each of the individual water rights to a water use group.
               (e)   "Individual  Beneficial  Use  Amount"  means  the 
amount of beneficial use a water right contributes to a water use 
group that includes the subject water right.
               (f)  "Party" means only the applicant and other water right 
holders within the water use group.
               (g)   "Proof"  means  proof  of  beneficial  use  for  an 
appropriation or permanent change as described in Section 73-3-16 
or as may be required by the State Engineer under 73-3-20(2).
               (h)   "Sole  supply"  means  the amount  of  beneficial  use 
allowed under a particular water right when used alone and separate 
from all supplemental rights. If a water right has been assigned to 
more than one water use group, the sole supply of the water right is 
the sum of its individual beneficial use amounts.
               (i)  "Supplemental right" means a water right that is used 
together  with  one  or  more  other  water  rights  for  a  common 
beneficial use.
               (j)   "Water  right  holder"  means  the  entity,  person,  or 
persons documented as owning a water right in the records of the 
State Engineer.
               (k)  "Water use group" means one or more water rights 
listed  and  assigned a  unique number  in  the  records  of  the  State 
Engineer as being applied to a common beneficial use.

R655-16-6.  Declaration of Individual Beneficial Use Amounts.
               (1)  A DIBUA shall be prepared by water right holders 
using either a form provided by the State Engineer or an alternative 
document containing the same information.
               (a)   To  be  considered  acceptably  complete,  a  DIBUA 
must:
               (i)  declare the individual beneficial use amount of each 
and every water right in the water use group; and
               (ii)  be signed by all water right holders in the water use 
group; and
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               (iii)   include  documentation  supporting  the  individual 
beneficial use amounts declared.
               (b)  A DIBUA shall apportion the individual beneficial use 
amount of a water right  in the water use group according to the 
average annual individual beneficial use of each water right in the 
water use group on a long-term basis or by any other evaluation 
method  consistent  with  the  information  contained  in  the  State 
Engineer's records.
               (c)   The  DIBUA  form  shall  include  a  statement 
acknowledged by those signing the form and recognizing that the 
individual beneficial use amounts declared by the DIBUA is not a 
general  adjudication  of  the  water  rights  involved  under  Section 
73-4.
               (d)   The  State  Engineer  may  require  additional 
documentation  to  support  the  individual  beneficial  use  amounts 
declared in a DIBUA.
               (e)  The State Engineer will review and evaluate a DIBUA 
as described in  Section R655-16-7 of this rule.
               (2)   A  DIBUA  filed  in  connection  with  a  change 
application
               (a)  shall be required in situations where:
               (i)  the change application is filed on fewer than all of the 
water rights in a water use group;
               (ii)  the change application seeks to remove a water right 
from a water use group;
               (iii)  the individual beneficial use amount of a water right 
to be removed from the water use group has not been quantified; 
and
               (iv)  the nature of the change requires a quantification of 
the sole supply of the water right being changed.
               (b)  shall be prepared for each water use group to which 
the water right or the portion of the water right to be changed has 
been assigned.
               (c)  must, together with any other DIBUAs required by 
the change application, declare the sole supply of the water right or 
the portion of the water right to be changed.
               (3)   A DIBUA to  declare  the  individual  beneficial  use 
amount of a water right for which proof has been filed:
               (a)  may be required in situations where:
               (i)   the  individual  beneficial  use  amount  has  not  been 
quantified for the water right in the water use group for which proof 
has been filed; and
               (ii)  the proof is filed on fewer than all of the water rights 
in the water use group; or
               (iii)  the water right holder who has filed proof does not 
hold all the water rights in the water use group.
               (b)  shall be prepared for each water use group to which 
the water right for which proof has been filed belongs.
               (c)  must, together with any other DIBUAs required for 
the proof, declare the sole supply of the water right for which proof 
has been filed.
               (4)  The filing of a DIBUA does not limit the ability of a 
water  right  holder  to  continue  to  use  the  water  rights  together 
supplementally as they have historically been used.  Regardless of 
the  individual  beneficial  use  amounts  declared  in  a  DIBUA, the 
previous supplemental use of the water rights may continue, with 
the exclusion of any water right removed from the group through an 
approved  change  application;  lapsed  through  a  water  right 

administrative process;  or disallowed (the disallowance published 
and unprotested) through the water right adjudication process.
               (5)   Once  accepted  for  filing,  a  DIBUA may only  be 
revised by filing a new DIBUA:
               (a)  that is signed by at least all water right holders within 
the water use group affected by the revision and whose individual 
beneficial use amounts were previously declared by the filing of a 
DIBUA; and
               (b)  that addresses only water rights that have not been 
previously removed from the water use group through an approved 
change  application  or  invalidated  through  other  legal  or 
administrative process.

R655-16-7.  State Engineer Review and Evaluation.
               (1)  If a DIBUA is filed with the State Engineer:
               (a)   The  State  Engineer  shall  review  the  DIBUA for 
consistency with the water right  information contained in the State 
Engineer's records.
               (b)   If  the  DIBUA is  inconsistent  with  the  water  right 
information  contained  in  the  State  Engineer's  records,  it  will  be 
returned  without  further  action  to  the  water  right  holder  who 
submitted the DIBUA with an explanation of the inconsistencies.
               (c)  If there is reason to believe the DIBUA is consistent 
with the State Engineer's  records, the State Engineer shall update 
the  water  right  records  of  all  water  rights  listed  in  the  DIBUA, 
consistent with the individual beneficial  use amounts included in 
the DIBUA.
               (2)  A water right holder may request, by writing to the 
State  Engineer,  a  review  of  the  database  entries  and  the 
documentary records of a water use group.
               (a)   Such  a  review is  not  a  request  for  agency  action 
pursuant  to  Section  63G-4-101  et  seq  and  shall  be  limited  to  a 
determination as to whether the database entries are consistent with 
official documentary records for the rights in the group.
               (b)  A request for a records review filed pursuant to this 
rule shall set forth a statement as to how the submitter believes the 
electronic  record  should  be  modified  to  be  consistent  with  the 
official documentary records and shall include acceptable copies of 
any documentation believed to be absent from the current record.
               (c)  The State  Engineer  shall  complete  a review of the 
record within a reasonable time from receipt of the written request 
and shall notify the requester in writing when the review has been 
completed.
               (d)  A copy of the State Engineer's reply to the request for 
a records review shall  be placed on the water right file for each 
water right in the water use group reviewed.
               (3)   The  State  Engineer  may  modify  water  use  group 
records at any time to resolve errors, deficiencies, or ambiguities.

R655-16-8.  Application to State Engineer for Apportionment of 
Beneficial Use Amounts.
               (1)  An applicant may submit an application to the State 
Engineer requesting an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant 
to  Section  63G-4-101,  et  seq,  for  the  apportionment  of  the 
beneficial use amounts of the water rights in the water use group if:
               (a)  an apportionment is necessary for an administrative 
action on a change application or proof of beneficial use; and
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               (b)  the applicant has exhausted all reasonable efforts and 
has been unable to produce a DIBUA because:
               (i)  It is impossible to identify and/or contact one or more 
of the parties or their successors in interest in the water use group. 
In this case the applicant must document:
               (A)  the  attempts  to  identify and contact  the  parties  or 
their successors in interest; and
               (B)   the  reasons  why the parties  or  their  successors  in 
interest cannot be identified or no contact can be made.
               (ii)   One  or  more  of  the  parties  or  their  successors  in 
interest refuses to participate in completing the DIBUA or refuses to 
sign the DIBUA.  In this case the applicant must document:
               (A)  the attempts to reach agreement with the parties or 
their successors in interest; and
               (B)  the reasons,  in detail,  why no agreement could be 
reached.
               (iii)   Any other  reason  or  reasons  the  applicant  cannot 
cure, which prevents the completion of the DIBUA.  In this case the 
applicant must document why the DIBUA cannot be completed.
               (2)  An application for Apportionment of Beneficial Use 
Amounts shall be made on a form provided by the State Engineer 
and shall comply with Section 63G-4-201 as a request for agency 
action.
               (a)  The applicant shall provide all information requested 
on the form provided by the State Engineer including all affidavits 
and documentation gathered in the effort to prepare a DIBUA.
               (b)   The  application  form  shall  include  a  statement 
acknowledged by the applicant signing the form and recognizing 
that  the  State  Engineer's  apportionment  of  the  beneficial  use 
amounts  of  the  water  rights  within the  water  use  group is  not  a 
general  adjudication  of  the  water  rights  involved  under  Section 
73-4.
               (c)   To  the  extent  possible,  the  applicant  shall  provide 
notice to the other parties pursuant to Section 63G-4-201(3)(b).
               (3)  The State Engineer shall review the application for 
completeness and compliance with the criteria described in (1).  As 
part of the review, the State Engineer shall determine whether the 
applicants effort  to complete  a DIBUA without  success has been 
sufficient.
               (4)  If the application is incomplete or does not meet the 
criteria  described  in  (1),  or  if  the  State  Engineer  believes  the 
applicant should make additional effort to complete the DIBUA, the 
State Engineer shall return the application to the applicant without 
further action.
               (5)   If  the  application  is  complete  and  does  meet  the 
criteria  described  in  (1),  and  if  the  State  Engineer  believes  the 
applicant has exerted all reasonable efforts to complete the DIBUA 
without success, the State Engineer shall accept the application for 
filing and apportion the beneficial  uses of the water rights in the 
water use group accordingly.
               (6)  For the purposes of this rule, the State Engineer shall 
apportion the individual beneficial use amounts of the water rights 
in the water use group according to the following procedure:
               (a)   The  State  Engineer  shall  notify  all  parties  in 
accordance with Section 63G-4-201(3)(d)(iii) and (e)(ii) and shall 
issue  a  request  for  information  to  each  party  as  authorized  in 
Section 73-5-8.
               (b)  The parties will be allowed at least thirty (30) days for 
submittal of the requested information.

               (c)   Upon expiration  of  the  allotted  response  time,  the 
State Engineer will review:
               (i)  all information received with the application: and
               (ii)   all  information  received  pursuant  to  the  State 
Engineer's  request  (including historical records of flows diverted, 
historical water use patterns, etc.); and
               (iii)   any  other  pertinent  information  from  a  reliable 
source, including the State Engineer's water right records (such as, 
relative  priority  and  water  flow  limitations,  distribution  records, 
etc.) of the water rights in the water use group.
               (d)  Based upon a review of the information described in 
(c), the State Engineer shall make a preliminary apportionment of 
the individual beneficial use amount for each of the water rights in 
the water use group.
               (7)  The State Engineer shall notify all parties by regular 
mail of the preliminary apportionment of the individual beneficial 
use amounts apportioned to each of the water rights in the water use 
group.  This notification is not a final agency action.
               (a)  The parties shall be advised of their right to protest 
the preliminary individual beneficial  use amounts  apportioned by 
the State Engineer.
               (b)  The parties will be allowed at least thirty (30) days for 
submittal of protests or other information.
               (8)  The State Engineer  may hold a hearing if  deemed 
necessary to obtain further information regarding the apportionment 
of the individual beneficial use amounts of the water rights within 
the water use group.
               (9)   The  State  Engineer  shall  review  any  further 
information obtained either through protest or the hearing process 
and  may revise  the  preliminary  apportionment  of  the  individual 
beneficial  use  amounts  if  necessary  to  ensure  a  proper 
apportionment of the beneficial use among the water rights in the 
water use group.
               (10)  The State Engineer shall issue an Order, which shall 
be the agency's final action, setting forth the individual beneficial 
use amount of each water right in the water use group consistent 
with the apportionment.
               (11)   Orders  of  the  State  Engineer  regarding  the 
apportionment of beneficial use shall be subject to the provisions of 
Rule R655-6-17 of the Division of Water Rights  and to Sections 
63G-4-302, 63G-4-402, and 73-3-14 which provide for filing either 
a Request for Reconsideration with the State Engineer or an appeal 
with the appropriate District Court.  A Request for Reconsideration 
must be filed with the State Engineer within 20 days of the date of 
the  Order.   However,  a  Request  for  Reconsideration  is  not  a 
prerequisite to filing a court appeal.  A court appeal must be filed 
within  30  days  after  the  date  of  the  Order,  or  if  a  Request  for 
Reconsideration has been filed,  within 30 days after the date the 
Request  for  Reconsideration  is  denied.   A  Request  for 
Reconsideration  is  considered  denied  when  no  action  is  taken 
within 20 days after the request is filed.
               (12)  Once the time to seek de novo review of a State 
Engineer Order has passed, or if such review has been sought, once 
the  courts  have  issued  a  final,  non-appealable  order,  the  State 
Engineer  shall  update  the  Division's  documentary  and  electronic 
records for each of the water rights in the water use group consistent 
with the State Engineer's Order, or the court order if one has been 
issued.
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R655-16-9.  Exceptions.
               (1)   At  any time  during  a  change  application  or  proof 
process,  if  it  becomes  apparent,  through  State  Engineer  review, 
protest,  or otherwise,  that  a DIBUA is necessary to complete the 
administrative  process,  the  State  Engineer  may require  the  water 
right holder to submit a DIBUA.
               (2)   A water  right  holder  who wishes to  declare  that  a 
water  right  contributes  no  individual  beneficial  use  amount  to  a 
water use group,  where the holder is  the sole owner of the non-
contributing  water  right,  may  make  that  declaration  by  filing  a 
partial DIBUA signed only by that water right holder.  The partial 
DIBUA  may  address  only  those  rights  declared  to  be  non-
contributing.   Once accepted for filing,  a partial  DIBUA filed to 
declare no individual beneficial use amount may not be withdrawn 
or modified by the water right holder.  No effort will be made to 
contact  the  other  water  right  holders  in  the  water  use  group 
concerning such filing.
               (3)   If  the  individual  beneficial  use  amount  of a  water 
right has been quantified by a court order or other legal instrument 
of equivalent effect, and which instrument is not a part of the State 
Engineer's documentary records, such instrument may be submitted 
by any person for consideration by the State Engineer.
               (4)  The State Engineer may administratively cancel the 
assignment of a water right to a water use group if the water right is 
owned by a mutual irrigation company, a water-supplying entity, a 
municipal  water  system,  or  a  federal  agency  and  if  such  action 
provides for more efficient or proper water right administration.

KEY:  beneficial use, supplemental water rights, water rights
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2009
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law:   73-1-3; 
73-2-1(3); 73-2-1(5)(e); 73-3-3(4)(b)(vii); 73-5-8]
R655-16.   Administrative  Procedures  for Declaring Beneficial 
Use Limitations for Supplemental Water Rights.
R655-16-1.  Authority.
                 Section 73-1-3 declares, "Beneficial use shall be the basis,   
the measure and the limit of all rights to the use of water in this 
state."
                 Subsection 73-2-1(3) declares, "The State Engineer shall   
be  responsible  for  the  general  administrative  supervision  of  the 
waters  of  the  state  and  the  measurement,  appropriation, 
apportionment, and distribution of those waters."
                 Subsection 73-2-1(5)(e) authorizes the State Engineer to   
make  rules  governing  the  form and  content  of  applications  and 
related documents, maps and reports.
                 Subsection 73-3-3(4)(b)(vii) requires the State Engineer to   
supply an application form for the permanent or temporary change 
of a water right which shall set forth, among other information, "the 
place, purpose, and extent of the present use."
                 Section  73-3-16  requires  applicants  to  submit  proof  of   
appropriation  or  permanent  change  including,  among  other 
information,  "a  map showing  the  place  of  use",  "the  nature  and 
extent of the completed works" and "the method of applying the 
water to beneficial use".
                 Section 73-3-20(2) states "The state engineer may require   
the owner of record of an approved exchange application to provide 
information  concerning  … the  extent  to  which  the  development 
under  the  exchange has occurred and other  information the state 

engineer considers necessary … to arrive at the quantity of water 
being exchanged."
                 Section 73-5-8 states, "Every person using water from any   
river system or water source, when requested by the State Engineer, 
shall within 30 days after such request report to the State Engineer 
in writing:  (1) the nature of the use of any such water; (2) the area 
on which it  is  used;  (3)  the  kind of crops grown;  and (4) water 
elevations on wells or tunnels and quantity of underground water 
used."

R655-16-2.  Justification.
                 Proper water right administration requires a quantification   
of  the  Beneficial  Use(s)  to  which  the holder  of  a  water  right  is 
entitled.  To facilitate record keeping, each unique Beneficial Use or 
set of Beneficial Uses is assigned a Water Use Group number in the 
State  Engineer's  records.  Some  of  the  State  Engineer's  records 
indicate the Beneficial Uses in a Water Use Group are authorized 
under two or more water rights (Supplemental Rights), but do not 
quantify  the  Beneficial  Use  Amount  authorized  under  each 
individual right.  Administrative activities requiring an evaluation of 
the  Beneficial  Use  of  a  water  right  may  necessitate  the 
quantification  of  the  Beneficial  Use  allowed  under  each 
supplemental water right in a Water Use Group.
                 This rule  provides  for  a "Declaration of Beneficial  Use   
Amounts" form to enable Water Right Holders to declare Beneficial 
Use information and document agreement with that declaration by 
those with supplemental water rights.

R655-16-3.  Purpose.
                 The purpose of this rule is to allow Water Right Holders   
to determine and declare the amount of Beneficial  Use that each 
water right contributes to the total Beneficial Use of a Water Use 
Group.   To  accomplish  this,  a  Declaration  of  Beneficial  Use 
Amounts  form  may  be  completed  and  submitted  to  the  State 
Engineer.   To complete  the  form,  the  Water  Right  Holders  must 
quantify, by agreement, the amount of Beneficial Use that some or 
all  of the  supplemental  water  right  contributes  to  the  Water  Use 
Group.

R655-16-4.  Application of Rule.
                 This rule applies to all Water Use Groups defined in the   
State  Engineer's  water  right  records  for  which  Beneficial  Use 
Amounts  of  each  of  the  individual  water  rights  have  not  been 
established.

R655-16-5.  Definitions.
                 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined as follows:  
                 (a)   "Application  for  Apportionment  of  Beneficial  Use   
Amounts" means an application requesting that the State Engineer 
apportion  the Beneficial  Uses  of  a  Water  Use Group among the 
supplemental water rights that make up the Water Use Group.
                 (b)  "Beneficial Use" means the purpose to which water   
diverted  under  a  water  right  is  applied  and  the  amount  of  that 
Beneficial Use.  Examples include but are not limited to irrigation 
(amounts measured in acres); stock watering (amounts measured in 
numbers of equivalent livestock units); domestic (indoor residential 
- amounts measured in numbers of equivalent domestic units); and 
commercial, industrial, municipal (amounts measured in acre-feet).
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                 (c)   "Beneficial  Use  Amount"  means  the  amount  of   
Beneficial Use a water right contributes to a Water Use Group that 
includes the subject water right.
                 (d)   "Change  Application"  means  an  application  for   
permanent  or  temporary  change  of  a  water  right  as  defined  in 
Section 73-3-3.
                 (e)   "Declaration  of  Beneficial  Use  Amounts"   
(Declaration) means either a form provided by the State Engineer, 
or an alternative document containing the same information, for use 
by Water Right Holders to declare the Beneficial Use Amount of 
some or all of the individual water rights in a Water Use Group.
                 (f)   "Party"  means  only the  applicant  and  other  Water   
Right Holders within the Water Use Group.
                 (g)   "Proof"  means  Proof  of  Beneficial  Use  for  an   
appropriation or permanent change as described in Section 73-3-16 
or as may be required by the State Engineer under 73-3-20(2).
                 (h)  "Sole Supply" means the amount of Beneficial Use   
allowed under a particular water right when used alone and separate 
from all Supplemental Rights. If a water right has been assigned to 
more than one Water Use Group, the Sole Supply of the water right 
is the sum of its Beneficial Use Amounts.
                 (i)  "Supplemental Right" means a water right that is used   
together  with  one  or  more  other  water  rights  for  a  common 
Beneficial Use.
                 (j)   "Water  Right  Holder"  means  the  entity,  person,  or   
persons documented as owning a water right in the records of the 
State Engineer.
                 (k)  "Water Use Group" means one or more water rights   
listed  and  assigned a  unique number  in  the  records  of  the  State 
Engineer as being applied to a common Beneficial Use.

R655-16-6.  Declaration of Beneficial Use Amounts.
                 (1)   A Declaration  shall  be  prepared  by  Water  Right   
Holders using either a form provided by the State Engineer or an 
alternative document containing the same information.
                 (a)  To be considered acceptably complete, a Declaration   
must:
                 (i)  be signed by all Water Right Holders in the Water Use   
Group: and
                 (ii)  include documentation supporting the Beneficial Use   
Amounts declared.
                 (b)   A Declaration  shall  apportion  the  Beneficial  Use   
Amount of a water right in the Water Use Group according to the 
average annual Beneficial Use of each water right being quantified 
on a long-term basis or by any other evaluation method consistent 
with the information contained in the State Engineer's records.
                 (c)   The  Declaration  form  shall  include  a  statement   
acknowledged by those signing the form and recognizing that the 
Beneficial Use Amounts declared by the Declaration is not a general 
adjudication of the water rights involved under Chapter 73-4.
                 (d)   The  State  Engineer  may  require  additional   
documentation to support the Beneficial Use Amounts declared in a 
Declaration.
                 (e)   The  State  Engineer  will  review  and  evaluate  a   
Declaration as described in R655-16-7.
                 (2)   A Declaration  filed  in  connection  with  a  Change   
Application.
                 (a)  Shall be required in situations where:  

                 (i)  the Change Application is filed on fewer than all of the   
water rights in a Water Use Group;
                 (ii)  the Change Application seeks to remove a water right   
from a Water Use Group;
                 (iii)   the Beneficial  Use Amount  of a water right  to be   
removed from the Water Use Group has not been quantified; and
                 (iv)  the nature of the change requires a quantification of   
the Sole Supply of the water right being changed.
                 (b)  Shall be prepared for each Water Use Group to which   
the water right or the portion of the water right to be changed has 
been assigned.
                 (c)  May quantify only the Beneficial Use Amount of the   
water right that would be the subject of a Change Application.
                 (d)  Must, together with any other Declarations required   
by the Change Application, if the water right has been assigned to 
more than one Water Use Group,  declare the Sole Supply of the 
water right or the portion of the water right to be changed.
                 (3)  A Declaration to declare the Beneficial Use Amount   
of a water right for which Proof has been filed:
                 (a)  May be required in situations where:  
                 (i)  the Beneficial Use Amount has not been quantified for   
the water right in the Water Use Group for which Proof has been 
filed; and
                 (ii)  the Proof is filed on fewer than all of the water rights   
in the Water Use Group; or
                 (iii)  the Water Right Holder who has filed Proof does not   
hold all the water rights in the Water Use Group.
                 (b)  Shall be prepared for each Water Use Group to which   
the water right for which Proof has been filed belongs.
                 (c)  May quantify only the Beneficial Use Amount of the   
water right that would be the subject of the Proof.
                 (d)  Must, together with any other Declarations required   
for the Proof, if the water right has been assigned to more than one 
Water Use Group,  declare the Sole Supply of the water right for 
which Proof has been filed.
                 (4)  The filing of a Declaration does not limit the ability of   
a Water Right Holder to continue to use the water rights together 
supplementally as they have historically been used.  Regardless of 
the Beneficial Use Amounts declared in a Declaration, the previous 
supplemental  use  of  the  water  rights  may  continue,  with  the 
exclusion of any water right removed from the group through an 
approved Change Application or invalidated through other legal or 
administrative process.
                 (5)  Once accepted for filing, a Declaration may only be   
revised by filing a new Declaration:
                 (a)   That  is  signed  by at  least  all  Water  Right  Holders   
within the  Water  Use Group affected  by the revision  and whose 
Beneficial Use Amounts were previously declared by the filing of a 
Declaration; and
                 (b)  That addresses only water rights that have not been   
previously removed from the Water Use Group through an approved 
Change  Application  or  invalidated  through  other  legal  or 
administrative process.

R655-16-7.  State Engineer Review and Evaluation.
                 (1)  If a Declaration is filed with the State Engineer:  
                 (a)  The State Engineer shall review the Declaration for   
consistency with the water right information contained in the State 
Engineer's records.
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                 (b)  If the Declaration is inconsistent with the water right   
information  contained  in  the  State  Engineer's  records,  it  will  be 
returned  without  further  action  to  the  Water  Right  Holder  who 
submitted  the  Declaration  with  an  explanation  of  the 
inconsistencies.
                 (c)   If  there  is  reason  to  believe  the  Declaration  is   
consistent with the State Engineer's records, the State Engineer shall 
update  the  water  right  records  of  all  water  rights  listed  in  the 
Declaration, consistent with the Beneficial Use Amounts included 
in  the  Declaration.   With  the  update,  a  memo documenting  the 
Beneficial  Use  declarations  shall  be  placed  on  the  file  of  each 
affected water right.
                 (2)  A Water Right Holder may request, in writing to the   
State  Engineer,  a  review  of  the  State  Engineer's  Water  Right 
Database entries and the State Engineer's Water Right Files related 
to a Water Use Group.
                 (a)   Such  a  request  is  not  a  request  for  agency action   
pursuant to Chapter 63G-4 because the review shall be limited to a 
determination  as  to  whether  the  State  Engineer's  Water  Right 
Database  entries  are  consistent  with  the  State  Engineer's  Water 
Right Files for the water rights in the Water Use Group.
                 (b)  A request for a records review filed pursuant to this   
rule shall set forth a statement as to how the submitter believes the 
State  Engineer's  Water  Right  Database should be modified to  be 
consistent with the State Engineer's Water Right Files for the water 
rights in the Water Use Group.
                 (c)  The State  Engineer  shall  complete  a review of the   
Water  Rights  Database  and  the  Water  Right  Files  within  a 
reasonable time from receipt of the written request and shall notify 
the requester in writing when the review has been completed.
                 (d)  A copy of the State Engineer's reply to the request for   
a records review shall  be placed on the water right file for each 
water right in the Water Use Group reviewed.
                 (3)   The State  Engineer  may modify Water  Use Group   
records at any time to resolve errors, deficiencies, or ambiguities. 
With  the  modification,  a  memo  documenting  the  change  in  the 
Water Use Group shall be placed on the file of each affected water 
right.

R655-16-8.  Application to State Engineer for Apportionment of 
Beneficial Use Amounts.
                 (1)  An applicant may submit an application to the State   
Engineer requesting an informal adjudicative proceeding pursuant 
to  Chapter  63G-4  for  the  apportionment  of  the  Beneficial  Use 
Amounts of the water rights in the Water Use Group if:
                 (a)  An apportionment is necessary for an administrative   
action on a Change Application or Proof of Beneficial Use; and
                 (b)  The applicant has exhausted all reasonable efforts and   
has been unable to produce a Declaration because:
                 (i)  It is impossible to identify and/or contact one or more   
of the parties or their successors in interest in the Water Use Group. 
In this case the applicant must document:
                 (A)  the  attempts  to  identify and contact  the  parties  or   
their successors in interest; and
                 (B)   the  reasons  why the parties  or  their  successors  in   
interest cannot be identified or no contact can be made.
                 (ii)   One  or  more  of  the  parties  or  their  successors  in   
interest  refuses  to  participate  in  completing  the  Declaration  or 

refuses  to  sign  the  Declaration.   In  this  case  the  applicant  must 
document:
                 (A)  the attempts to reach agreement with the parties or   
their successors in interest; and
                 (B)  the reasons,  in detail,  why no agreement could be   
reached.
                 (iii)   Any other  reason  or  reasons  the  applicant  cannot   
cure, which prevents the completion of the Declaration.  In this case 
the  applicant  must  document  why  the  Declaration  cannot  be 
completed.
                 (2)  An Application for Apportionment of Beneficial Use   
Amounts shall be made on a form provided by the State Engineer 
and shall comply with Section 63G-4-201 as a request for agency 
action.
                 (a)  The applicant shall provide all information requested   
on the form provided by the State Engineer including all affidavits 
and documentation gathered in the effort to prepare a Declaration.
                 (b)   The  application  form  shall  include  a  statement   
acknowledged by the applicant signing the form and recognizing 
that  the  State  Engineer's  apportionment  of  the  Beneficial  Use 
Amounts of the water rights within the Water Use Group is not a 
general  adjudication  of  the  water  rights  involved  under  Chapter 
73-4.
                 (c)   To  the  extent  possible,  the  applicant  shall  provide   
notice to the other parties pursuant to Section 63G-4-201(3)(b).
                 (3)  The State Engineer shall review the application for   
completeness and compliance with the criteria described in (1).  As 
part of the review, the State Engineer shall determine whether the 
applicant's  effort  to  complete  a  Declaration  without  success  has 
been sufficient.
                 (4)  If the application is incomplete or does not meet the   
criteria  described  in  (1),  or  if  the  State  Engineer  believes  the 
applicant should make additional effort to complete the Declaration, 
the  State  Engineer  shall  return  the  application  to  the  applicant 
without  further  action  with  an  explanation  of  the  inadequacies. 
Returning an incomplete  or  inadequate  application is  not  a  final 
agency action; it  is  an intermediate step instructing the applicant 
regarding further steps that must be taken before the application can 
be accepted for filing.
                 (5)   If  the  application  is  complete  and  does  meet  the   
criteria  described  in  (1),  and  if  the  State  Engineer  believes  the 
applicant  has  exerted  all  reasonable  efforts  to  complete  the 
Declaration  without  success,  the  State  Engineer  shall  accept  the 
application for filing and apportion the Beneficial Uses of the water 
rights in the Water Use Group accordingly.
                 (6)  For the purposes of this rule, the State Engineer shall   
apportion the Beneficial  Use Amounts  of the  water  rights  in  the 
Water Use Group according to the following procedure:
                 (a)   The  State  Engineer  shall  notify  all  parties  in   
accordance with Section 63G-4-201(3)(d)(iii) and (e)(ii) and shall 
issue  a  request  for  information  to  each  Party  as  authorized  in 
Section 73-5-8.
                 (b)  The parties will be allowed at least thirty (30) days for   
submittal of the requested information.
                 (c)   Upon expiration  of  the  allotted  response  time,  the   
State Engineer will review:
                 (i)  all information received with the application: and  
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                 (ii)   all  information  received  pursuant  to  the  State   
Engineer's  request  (including historical records of flows diverted, 
historical water use patterns, etc.); and
                 (iii)  any other information relevant to the water rights in   
the Water Use Group , including the State Engineer's  water right 
records  (such  as,  relative  priority  and  water  flow  limitations, 
distribution records, etc.).
                 (d)  Based upon a review of the information described in   
(c),  the  State  Engineer  shall  make  a  preliminary  apportionment. 
The State Engineer may determine whether to make a preliminary 
apportionment of the Beneficial Use Amount for each of the water 
rights  in  the  Water  Use  Group or  an  apportionment  of  only the 
Beneficial  Use  Amount  of  the  water  right  involved  in  the 
administrative action.
                 (7)  The State Engineer shall notify all parties by regular   
mail  of  the  preliminary  apportionment  of  the  Beneficial  Use 
Amounts apportioned.  This notification is an intermediate rather 
than a final agency action.
                 (a)  The parties shall be advised of their right to protest   
the preliminary Beneficial  Use Amounts apportioned by the State 
Engineer.
                 (b)  The parties will be allowed at least thirty (30) days for   
submittal of protests or other information.
                 (8)  The State Engineer  may hold a hearing if  deemed   
necessary to obtain further information regarding the apportionment 
of the Beneficial Use Amounts of the water rights within the Water 
Use Group.
                 (9)   The  State  Engineer  shall  review  any  further   
information obtained either through protest or the hearing process 
and may revise the preliminary apportionment of the Beneficial Use 
Amounts  if  necessary  to  ensure  a  proper  apportionment  of  the 
Beneficial Use among the water rights in the Water Use Group.
                 (10)  The State Engineer shall issue an Order, which shall   
be the agency's final action, setting forth the Beneficial Use Amount 
of each water right apportioned consistent with the apportionment.
                 (11)   Orders  of  the  State  Engineer  regarding  the   
apportionment of Beneficial Use shall be subject to the applicable 
law  including  provisions  of  Rule  R655-6-17  of  the  Division  of 
Water Rights and to Sections 63G-4-302, 63G-4-401, 63G-4-402, 
and  73-3-14  which  provide  for  filing  either  a  Request  for 
Reconsideration with the State Engineer or de novo review in the 
appropriate district court.  A Request for Reconsideration must be 
filed with the State Engineer within 20 days of the date of the Order. 
However,  a  Request  for  Reconsideration  is  not  a  prerequisite  to 
filing for de novo review.  De novo review must be sought within 
30  days  after  the  date  of  the  Order,  or  if  a  Request  for 
Reconsideration has been filed,  within 30 days after the date the 
Request  for  Reconsideration  is  denied  or  deemed  denied.   A 
Request for Reconsideration is deemed denied when no action is 
taken within 20 days after the request is filed.
                 (12)  Once the time to seek de novo review of a State   
Engineer Order has passed, or if such review has been sought, once 
the  courts  have  issued  a  final,  non-appealable  order,  the  State 
Engineer  shall  update  the  Division's  documentary  and  electronic 
records for each of the water rights apportioned consistent with the 

State Engineer's  Order, or the court order if one has been issued. 
With  the  update,  a  memo  documenting  the  Beneficial  Use 
apportionment  shall  be placed on the file  of each affected water 
right.

R655-16-9.  Exceptions.
                 (1)  Water Use Groups created for public water suppliers   
that  do not  describe the extent  of the Beneficial  Uses but  rather 
group water rights within a use area will not require a Declaration.
                 (2)  At any time during a Change Application or Proof   
process,  if  it  becomes  apparent,  through  State  Engineer  review, 
protest, or otherwise, that a Declaration is necessary to complete the 
administrative process, the State Engineer may require Declaration 
be completed consistent with this rule.
                 (3)  A Water Right Holder who wishes to declare that a   
water right contributes no Beneficial  Use amount to a Water Use 
Group, where the holder is the sole owner of the non-contributing 
water  right,  may  make  that  declaration  by  filing  a  Declaration 
signed  only  by  that  Water  Right  Holder.   The  Declaration  may 
address  only those rights  declared to  be non-contributing.   Once 
accepted for filing, a Declaration filed to declare no Beneficial Use 
amount  may not  be  withdrawn  or  modified  by the  Water  Right 
Holder.  No effort will be made to contact the other Water Right 
Holders in the Water Use Group concerning such filing.  Once a 
Declaration of no Beneficial Use has been accepted for filing, the 
State  Engineer  shall  update  the  water  right  records  of  all  water 
rights  listed  in  the  Declaration,  consistent  with  the  Declaration. 
With  the  update  a  memo  documenting  the  no  Beneficial  Use 
declarations shall be placed on the file of each affected water right.
                 (4)  If  the Beneficial  Use Amount of a water right has   
been  quantified  by  a  court  order  or  other  legal  instrument  of 
equivalent effect,  and which instrument is not a part of the State 
Engineer's documentary records, such instrument may be submitted 
by any person for consideration by the State Engineer.
                 (5)  The State Engineer may administratively cancel the   
assignment of a water right to a Water Use Group if such action 
provides  for  more  efficient  or  proper  water  right  administration. 
When the database is updated to cancel the assignment,  a memo 
documenting the cancellation shall  be  placed on the file  of each 
affected water right.
                 (6)   The  State  Engineer  may  waive  the  filing  of  a   
Declaration for a temporary Change Application when he believes 
sufficient water and Beneficial Use Amounts are available for the 
purposes of the change.

KEY:  beneficial use, supplemental water rights, water rights
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2010
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law:   73-1-3; 
73-2-1(3);  73-2-1(5)(e);  73-3-3(4)(b)(vii);  73-5-8;  73-3-14; 
73-3-16; 73-3-20(2); 63G-4; 73-4

!--dar--

End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section
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NOTICES OF
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES

An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that the regular rulemaking procedures would:

(a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare;
(b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or
(c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)).

As  with  a  PROPOSED RULE,  a  120-DAY RULE is  preceded  by  a  RULE ANALYSIS.  This  analysis  provides  summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that 
unaffected text was removed to conserve space.

A 120-DAY RULE is effective at the moment the Division of Administrative Rules receives the filing, or on a later date 
designated by the agency. A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.

Because  120-DAY RULES are effective immediately, the law does not require a public comment period. However, 
when an agency files a 120-DAY RULE, it usually files a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements 
permanent. Comments may be made on the PROPOSED RULE. Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 
63G-3-304; and Section R15-4-8.

33369

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION

R940-1-3
Base Toll Rate and Range for HOT 

Lanes
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE

DAR FILE NO.:  33369
FILED:  02/10/2010

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  purpose  of  the  change  is  to  establish  toll 
rates for  the dynamically priced electronic payment system 
currently in development for the High Occupancy Toll (HOT) 
Lanes on I-15.

SUMMARY  OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   The  change 
establishes a toll rate of $0.25 to $1 per payment zone under 
a dynamically priced electronic payment system.  As the High 
Occupancy Toll  (HOT) Lane is converted from the monthly 
sticker program to an electronic payment system, the Utah 
Department of Transportation will manage the amount of the 
toll  necessary to keep the HOT lane freely flowing.   (DAR 
NOTE:   A  corresponding  amendment  is  under  DAR  No. 
33386 in this issue, March 1, 2010, of the Bulletin.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  23 USC 166(b)(4) and Section 72-6-118

REGULAR  RULEMAKING  WOULD  place  the  agency  in 
violation of federal or state law.
Regular  rulemaking  procedures  would  place  the  agency in 
violation  of  federal  and  state  law.   Federal  law  (23  USC 
166(b)(4))  requires  that  HOT  Lane  programs  be  variably 
priced to manage the demand to use the facility.  Therefore, 
the state must make the conversion from a monthly sticker 
program to an electronic payment system.  State law requires 
that  the  Transportation  Commission  establish  toll  rates 
through rulemaking.

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   No  impact  to  state  budget--A 
contract has already been awarded to convert the HOT lane 
to  a  dynamically  priced  electronic  payment  system.   Only 
persons  choosing  to  access  the  HOT  lane  with  a  single 
occupant in the vehicle will  be required to pay a toll.   The 
amount of the toll will vary by the number of payment zones 
accessed and the level  of  congestion in the HOT lane.   If 
government agencies provide money for their drivers to pay 
tolls, then they may be affected; otherwise they will not.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Only  persons  choosing  to 
access the HOT lane with a single occupant in the vehicle will 
be required to pay a toll.  The amount of the toll will vary by 
the  number  of  payment  zones  accessed  and  the  level  of 
congestion in  the HOT lane.   If  local  governments provide 
money for their drivers to pay tolls, then they may be affected; 
otherwise they will not.
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♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Only persons choosing to access 
the HOT lane with a single occupant in the vehicle will  be 
required to pay a toll.  The amount of the toll will vary by the 
number  of  payment  zones  accessed  and  the  level  of 
congestion  in  the  HOT lane.   If  small  businesses  provide 
money for their drivers to pay tolls, then they may be affected; 
otherwise they will not.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Only persons choosing to access the HOT lane with a single 
occupant in the vehicle will  be required to pay a toll.   The 
amount of the toll will vary by the number of payment zones 
accessed and the level of congestion in the HOT lane.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS: 
Compliance  costs  will  vary  for  persons  driving  single 
occupant  vehicles  who  choose  to  access  the  HOT  lane, 
depending on the number of zones accessed and the level of 
traffic congestion.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The Department does not believe the rule change will have a 
substantial fiscal impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Maureen  Short  by  phone  at  801-965-4026,  by  FAX  at 
801-965-4338,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at 
maureenshort@utah.gov

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2010

AUTHORIZED BY:  John Njord, Executive Director

R940.  Transportation Commission, Administration.
R940-1.  Establishment of Toll Rates.
R940-1-3.  Base Toll Rate and Range for HOT Lanes.

(1)  In deciding what Toll is appropriate for HOT Lanes 
that  are  not  subject  to  tollway  development  agreements,  the 
Commission balances the need to obtain revenue against the effect 
that a certain Toll amount will have on demand.  The goal is to set a 
price that encourages optimal use of the HOT Lane.

(2)  For HOT Lanes under a monthly sticker program that 
are not subject to a tollway development agreement, the initial toll 
for the HOT Lane is $50 per month.

([3]a)  With the Commission's approval, the Department 
may  increase  the  toll  described  in  subsection  (2)  from  $50  per 
month if  it  finds that  demand on the HOT Lane is too high and 
needs  to  be  reduced  in  order  to  keep  the  lane  freely  flowing. 
Evidence of demand can be shown by traffic counts and evidence of 
traffic congestion.
                 (3)  For HOT lanes under a dynamically priced electronic   
payment  system  that  are  not  subject  to  a  tollway  development 
agreement,  the  toll  is  $0.25  to  $1.00  per  payment  zone.   The 
Department will manage the amount of the toll necessary to keep 
the lane freely flowing.

(4)  Toll rates for HOT Lanes that are subject to a tollway 
development  agreement  shall  be  set  in  the  tollway  development 
agreement.

KEY:  transportation, tolls, HOT Lanes, tollways
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  February 
10, 2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-2-120; 
72-6-118

End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION

Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.   This review is  intended to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code.  Upon 
reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a  PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a 
NOTICE.  By filing a Notice, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary.

NOTICES are not followed by the rule text. The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the  Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules. NOTICES are effective upon filing.

NOTICES are governed by Section 63G-3-305.

33366

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing

R156-38b
State Construction Registry Rules

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  33366
FILED:  02/08/2010

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:   Sections 38-1-27 and  38-1-30 
through 38-1-37 provide for the State Construction Registry. 
Subsection 38-1-27(2)(b) provides that the State Construction 
Registry is to  be overseen by the Division of  Occupational 
and Professional Licensing.  Subsection 38-1-30(3) provides 
that  the  Division  shall  establish  procedures  by  rule  with 
respect  to  the  State  Construction  Registry.   This  rule  was 
enacted  to  clarify  the  provisions  of  Sections  38-1-27  and 
38-1-30  through  38-1-37  with  respect  to  the  State 
Construction Registry.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was first enacted in 
April 2005, it has been amended once in August 2006 due to 
related statutory amendments.  The Division has received no 
written comments with respect to this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be continued as it provides a 
mechanism to inform persons and companies who utilize the 
State Construction Registry of requirements as allowed under 
statutory authority provided in Title 38, Chapter 1.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL 
LICENSING
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Tom  Harper  by  phone  at  801-530-6288,  by  FAX  at 
801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at tharper@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Steinagel , Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/08/2010

33389

Commerce, Securities
R164-2

Investment Adviser - Unlawful Acts
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  33389

FILED:  02/16/2010
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NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 61-1-2 describes the acts 
of investment advisers which are deemed to be unlawful, and 
provides  that  the  Division  may,  by  rule,  adopt  exemptions 
from  the  section's  requirements  for  investment  advisory 
contracts.  Section 61-1-24 allows the Division to make rules 
when necessary to carry out provisions of the chapter.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have been 
received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule defines the circumstances under 
which an exception to  the prohibition against  performance-
based  fees  contained  in  Section  61-1-2  is  permissible.   It 
protects the public by ensuring that specific requirements are 
met before an investment adviser may receive performance-
based  compensation  for  investment  advisory  services. 
Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
SECURITIES
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Charles  Lyons  by  phone  at  801-530-6940,  by  FAX  at 
801-530-6980,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  clyons@utah.gov
♦  Keith  Woodwell  by  phone  at  801-530-6606,  by  FAX  at 
801-530-6980, or by Internet E-mail at kwoodwell@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Keith Woodwell , Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/16/2010

33367

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control

R313-34
Requirements for Irradiators

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  33367
FILED:  02/10/2010

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 19-1-106(1) created 
the  Radiation  Control  Board  within  the  Department  of 
Environmental Quality.  Subsection 19-3-104(4) provides that 
the Board may make rules necessary for controlling exposure 
to  sources  of  radiation  that  constitute  a  significant  health 
hazard and to meet the requirements of federal law relating to 
radiation control.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  This has not been a controversial 
rule.   The  Radiation  Control  Board  recommends  the 
continuation  of  this  rule.   No  other  comments  have  been 
received since the last five-year review.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   This  rule  must  be  continued  because  it 
establishes the requirements for the possession and use of 
sealed sources containing radioactive materials in irradiators. 
These devices use gamma radiation to irradiate  objects  or 
materials.   The rules provide for protection of  public health 
and safety by controlling the use of panoramic irradiators that 
have  either  dry  or  wet  storage  of  the  radioactive  sealed 
sources; underwater irradiators in which both the source and 
object being irradiated are under water; and irradiators whose 
dose rate exceeds 500 rad per hour at one meter from the 
radioactive source in air or in water.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
RADIATION CONTROLROOM 212 
168 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT  QUESTIONS  REGARDING  THIS  RULE  TO:
♦  Craig  Jones  by  phone  at  801-536-4264,  by  FAX  at 
801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at cwjones@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2010
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33370

Environmental Quality, Water Quality
R317-4

Onsite Wastewater Systems
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  33370

FILED:  02/10/2010

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Subsection  19-5-104(1)(f)(iv) 
authorizes  the Utah Water  Quality Board to  adopt  rules to 
protect  the  public  health  for  the  design,  construction, 
operation, and maintenance of individual wastewater disposal 
systems.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:   This  rule  was  last  amended  on 
10/23/2007.  The limited comments which were received on 
the  rule  were  of  a  technical  and  noncontroversial  nature. 
Comments  received  during  hearings  and  public  comment 
periods for rule changes were addressed through preparation 
of  responsiveness  summaries  by  the  Division  of  Water 

Quality staff  and have been presented to the Water Quality 
Board for their consideration during the rulemaking process. 
All  changes to this rule are reviewed by a technical review 
committee consisting of the regulated community and other 
interested  and affected  parties  that  was  formed to  provide 
input to the Division of Water Quality and the Board.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   This  rule  is  required to  protect  the public 
health  for  the  design,  construction,  operation,  and 
maintenance of individual wastewater disposal systems; and 
therefore, the rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
WATER QUALITY
CANNON HEALTH BLDG
288 N 1460 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3231
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Dave  Wham  by  phone  at  801-538-6052,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-6016, or by Internet E-mail at dwham@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Walter Baker , Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2010

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS

Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305). If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it  may file an extension with the Division of 
Administrative Rules. The extension permits the agency to file the review up to 120 days beyond the anniversary 
date.

Agencies  have  filed  extensions  for  the  rules  listed  below.  The  "Extended  Due  Date"  is  120  days  after  the 
anniversary date.

The five-year review extension is governed by Subsections 63G-3-305(4) and (5).

33363

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration

R131-1
Procurement of Architectural and 

Engineering Services
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION

DAR FILE NO.:  33363
FILED:  02/08/2010

EXTENSION REASON AND NEW DEADLINE:  The former 
Capitol Preservation Board (CPB) Director resigned the end 
of December 2009.  The new Director received notification on 
01/25/2010 that this rule was due for a five-year review on 
02/16/2010.  The CPB is not scheduled to meet until March or 
April of 2010, and they need to approve the five-year reviews. 
Therefore, an extension is necessary to prevent the rule from 
expiring.  New deadline is 06/16/2010.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Alan  Bachman  by  phone  at  801-538-3105,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3313, or by Internet E-mail at abachman@utah.gov
♦  Allyson  Gamble  by  phone  at  801-537-9156,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3221,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  agamble@utah.gov
♦  La  Priel  Dye  by  phone  at  801-538-3240,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3313,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  ldye@utah.gov
♦  Sarah  Whitney  by  phone  at  801-538-3074,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3221, or by Internet E-mail at swhitney@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED  BY:   Allyson  Gamble,  Acting  Executive 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/08/2010

33364

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration

R131-2
Capitol Hill Complex Facility Use

FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION
DAR FILE NO.:  33364

FILED:  02/08/2010

EXTENSION REASON AND NEW DEADLINE:  The former 
Capitol Preservation Board (CPB) Director resigned the end 
of December 2009.  The new Director received notification on 
01/25/2010 that this rule was due for a five-year review on 
02/16/2010.  The CPB is not scheduled to meet until March or 
April of 2010, and they need to approve the five-year reviews. 
Therefore, an extension is necessary to prevent the rule from 
expiring.  New deadline is 06/16/2010.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Alan  Bachman  by  phone  at  801-538-3105,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3313, or by Internet E-mail at abachman@utah.gov
♦  Allyson  Gamble  by  phone  at  801-537-9156,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3221,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  agamble@utah.gov
♦  La  Priel  Dye  by  phone  at  801-538-3240,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3313,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  ldye@utah.gov
♦  Sarah  Whitney  by  phone  at  801-538-3074,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3221, or by Internet E-mail at swhitney@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED  BY:   Allyson  Gamble,  Acting  Executive 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/08/2010
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33365

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration

R131-7
State Capitol Preservation Board 

Master Planning Policy
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION

DAR FILE NO.:  33365
FILED:  02/08/2010

EXTENSION REASON AND NEW DEADLINE:  The former 
Capitol Preservation Board (CPB) Director resigned the end 
of December 2009.  The new Director received notification on 
01/25/2010 that this rule was due for a five-year review on 
02/16/2010.  The CPB is not scheduled to meet until March or 

April of 2010, and they need to approve the five-year reviews. 
Therefore, an extension is necessary to prevent the rule from 
expiring.  New deadline is 06/16/2010.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Alan  Bachman  by  phone  at  801-538-3105,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3313, or by Internet E-mail at abachman@utah.gov
♦  Allyson  Gamble  by  phone  at  801-537-9156,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3221,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  agamble@utah.gov
♦  La  Priel  Dye  by  phone  at  801-538-3240,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3313,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  ldye@utah.gov
♦  Sarah  Whitney  by  phone  at  801-538-3074,  by  FAX  at 
801-538-3221, or by Internet E-mail at swhitney@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED  BY:   Allyson  Gamble,  Acting  Executive 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/08/2010

End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section
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NOTICES OF
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES

State law provides for agencies to make their rules effective and enforceable after publication in the Utah State 
Bulletin. In the case of Proposed Rules or Changes in Proposed Rules with a designated comment period, the law 
permits an agency to file a notice of effective date any time after the close of comment plus seven days. In the case 
of Changes in Proposed Rules with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to file a notice of 
effective date on any date including or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date. If an agency fails to file 
a Notice of Effective Date within 120 days from the publication of a Proposed Rule or a related Change in Proposed 
Rule the rule lapses and the agency must start the rulemaking process over.

Notices of Effective Date are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-5a and 5b. 

Abbreviations
AMD = Amendment
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule
NEW = New Rule
R&R = Repeal & Reenact
REP = Repeal

Commerce
Consumer Protection
No. 33238  (AMD): R152-11-1.  Purposes, Rules of 
Construction
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

No. 33239  (AMD): R152-11-5.  Repairs and Services
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

Occupational and Professional Licensing
No. 33264  (AMD): R156-37-301.  License Classifications - 
Restrictions
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

No. 33263  (AMD): R156-77-102.  Definitions
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

No. 33265  (AMD): R156-79.  Hunting Guides and Outfitters 
Licensing Act Rule
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

Real Estate
No. 33226  (AMD): R162-106-1.  Uniform Standards
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/03/2010

Securities
No. 33010  (AMD): R164-9.  Registration by Coordination
Published:  10/15/2009
Effective:  02/02/2010

No. 33011  (AMD): R164-10-2.  Registration Statements
Published:  10/15/2009
Effective:  02/02/2010

No. 33012  (AMD): R164-11-1.  General Registration 
Provisions
Published:  10/15/2009
Effective:  02/02/2010

No. 33013  (AMD): R164-12-1f.  Commissions on Sales of 
Securities
Published:  10/15/2009
Effective:  02/02/2010

No. 33014  (REP): R164-13.  Definitions
Published:  10/15/2009
Effective:  02/02/2010

No. 33016  (AMD): R164-18-6.  Procedures for Administrative 
Actions
Published:  10/15/2009
Effective:  02/02/2010

Environmental Quality
Administration
No. 33102  (NEW): R305-5.  Health Reform -- Health 
Insurance Coverage in DEQ State Contracts -- 
Implementation
Published:  11/15/2009
Effective:  02/16/2010

No. 33102  (CPR): R305-5.  Health Reform -- Health 
Insurance Coverage in DEQ State Contracts -- 
Implementation
Published:  01/15/2010
Effective:  02/16/2010

Health
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
No. 33215  (REP): R414-5.  Reduction in Hospital Payments
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/16/2010
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No. 32925  (AMD): R414-320.  Medicaid Health Insurance 
Flexibility and Accountability Demonstration Waiver
Published:  09/15/2009
Effective:  02/16/2010

No. 32925  (CPR): R414-320.  Medicaid Health Insurance 
Flexibility and Accountability Demonstration Waiver
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/16/2010

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing
No. 33186  (AMD): R432-4-26.  Penalties
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/04/2010

No. 33187  (AMD): R432-5-17.  Penalties
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/04/2010

No. 33189  (AMD): R432-6-211.  Penalties
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/04/2010

No. 33190  (AMD): R432-7-7.  Penalties
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/04/2010

No. 33191  (AMD): R432-8-8.  Penalties
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/04/2010

No. 33184  (AMD): R432-9-7.  Special Hospital-Rehabilitation 
Construction Penalties
Published:  12/15/2009
Effective:  02/04/2010

Human Resource Management
Administration
No. 33278  (AMD): R477-7-2.  Holiday Leave
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

Human Services
Child and Family Services
No. 33256  (AMD): R512-10.  Youth Advocate Program
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/09/2010

No. 33257  (AMD): R512-31.  Foster Parent Due Process
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/09/2010

No. 33258  (AMD): R512-42.  Adoption by Relatives
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/09/2010

Recovery Services
No. 33261  (AMD): R527-332.  Unreimbursed Assistance 
Calculation
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/09/2010

No. 33243  (AMD): R527-412.  Intercept of Unemployment 
Compensation
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/09/2010

Insurance
Administration
No. 33260  (NEW): R590-255.  Utah NetCare Alternative 
Coverage Notification Rule
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/09/2010

Natural Resources
Wildlife Resources
No. 33271  (AMD): R657-5-13.  Areas With Special 
Restrictions
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

No. 33272  (AMD): R657-37-9.  Permit Allocation
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

Transportation
Preconstruction
No. 33274  (R&R): R930-5.  Establishment and Regulation of 
At-Grade Railroad Crossings
Published:  01/01/2010
Effective:  02/08/2010

End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section
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RULES INDEX
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER)

AND
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)

The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules. The current
Index lists changes made effective  from January 2,  2010,  including notices of  effective  date received through 
February 16, 2010. The Rules Index is published in the Utah State Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes. 
Nonsubstantive changes,  while not  published in the Bulletin,  do become part  of  the Utah Administrative  Code 
(Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) rules that do not become part of the Code. 
The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and Keyword (Subject).

Bulletin issue information and effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our knowledge, 
complete and accurate.

Questions  regarding  the  index  and  the  information  it  contains  should  be  addressed  to  Nancy  Lancaster 
(801-538-3218), Mike Broschinsky (801-538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801-538-3777).

A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/).
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RULES INDEX

Rules Index - by Agency (Code Number)

Abbreviations
5YR = Five-Year Notice of Review and Statement of EXT = Notice of Five-Year Review Extension
Continuation (Five-Year Review) GEX = Notice of Governor's Extension
AMD = Notice of Proposed Rule - Amendment LNR = Notice of Legislative Nonreauthorization
CPR  = Change in Proposed Rule NEW = Notice of Proposed Rule - New Rule
EMR = Notice of 120-Day (Emergency) Rule NSC = Nonsubstantive Change
EXD = Notice of Expired Rule REP = Notice of Proposed Rule - Repeal
EXP = Notice of Expedited Rule R&R = Notice of Proposed Rule - Repeal and Reenact

DEPARTMENT       
 AGENCY NAME   FILE  EFFECTIVE BULLETIN
  CODE REFERENCE TITLE (CATCHLINE) NUMBER ACTION DATE ISSUE/PAGE

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES      
FACILITIES CONSTRUCTION AND MANAGEMENT

R23-26 Dispute Resolution 33360 5YR 02/01/2010 2010-4/79

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD      
ANIMAL 
INDUSTRY

R58-7 Livestock Markets, Satellite Video 
Livestock Auction Market, Livestock 
Sales, Dealers and Livestock Market 
Weighpersons

33326 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/87

R58-10 Meat and Poultry Inspection 33329 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/87
R58-17 Aquaculture and Aquatic Animal Health 33327 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/88
R58-20-5 Facilities 33217 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/4
R58-21 Trichomoniasis 33340 5YR 01/27/2010 2010-4/79

CONSERVATION AND RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
R64-1 Agriculture Resource and Development 

Loans (ARDL)
33305 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/89

PLANT 
INDUSTRY

R68-7 Utah Pesticide Control Act 33080 AMD 01/04/2010 2009-22/5
R68-20 Utah Organic Standards 33315 5YR 01/12/2010 2010-3/89

REGULATORY SERVICES
R70-101 Bedding, Upholstered Furniture and 

Quilted Clothing
33074 AMD 01/11/2010 2009-22/11

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL     
ADMINISTRATION

R81-1-11 Multiple-Licensed Facility Storage and 
Service

33153 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/5

R81-1-26 Criminal History Background Checks 33154 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/6
R81-3-13 Operational Restrictions 33152 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/8
R81-4D-1 Licensing 33155 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/10
R81-4D-14 Reporting Requirement 33156 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/11
R81-4E Resort Licenses 33157 NEW 01/26/2010 2009-24/12
R81-4E-4 Insurance 33339 NSC 02/11/2010 Not Printed

CAPITOL PRESERVATION BOARD (STATE)     
ADMINISTRATION

R131-1 Procurement of Architectural and 
Engineering Services

33363 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73

R131-2 Capitol Hill Complex Facility Use 33364 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73
R131-2-11 Fees and Charges During Legislative 

Session
33151 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/6

R131-7 State Capitol Preservation Board Master 
Planning Policy

33365 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/74
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DEPARTMENT       
 AGENCY NAME   FILE  EFFECTIVE BULLETIN
  CODE REFERENCE TITLE (CATCHLINE) NUMBER ACTION DATE ISSUE/PAGE

COMMERCE       
ADMINISTRATION

R151-1 Department of Commerce General 
Provisions

33336 5YR 01/25/2010 2010-4/80

R151-46b Department of Commerce Administrative 
Procedures Act Rules

33150 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/7

R151-46b-5 General Provisions 33149 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/11

CONSUMER PROTECTION
R152-1-1 Purposes, Policies and Rules of 

Construction
33168 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/16

R152-11-1 Purposes, Rules of Construction 33169 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/17
R152-11-1 Purposes, Rules of Construction 33238 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/6
R152-11-5 Repairs and Services 33239 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/7

OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
R156-37-301 License Classifications - Restrictions 33264 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/11
R156-38a Residence Lien Restriction and Lien 

Recovery Fund Rule
33307 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90

R156-38b State Construction Registry Rules 33366 5YR 02/08/2010 2010-5/69
R156-60c Professional Counselor Licensing Act 

Rule
33306 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90

R156-77-102 Definitions 33263 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/12
R156-78B-4 General Provisions 33175 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/28
R156-79 Hunting Guides and Outfitters Licensing 

Act Rule
33265 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/14

REAL ESTATE
R162-101 Authority and Definitions 33158 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/29
R162-102 Application Procedures 33180 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/30
R162-104 Experience Requirement 33224 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/33
R162-105 Scope of Authority 33225 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/39
R162-106-1 Uniform Standards 33226 AMD 02/03/2010 2009-24/42
R162-110 Trainee Registration 33148 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/13
R162-110-1 Trainee Registration 33303 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

SECURITIES
R164-2 Investment Adviser - Unlawful Acts 33389 5YR 02/16/2010 2010-5/69
R164-4-9 Exemptions From Licensing 

Requirements for Certain Investment 
Advisers

33006 AMD 01/06/2010 2009-20/12

R164-9 Registration by Coordination 33010 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/14
R164-10-2 Registration Statements 33011 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/16
R164-11-1 General Registration Provisions 33012 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/18
R164-12-1f Commissions on Sales of Securities 33013 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/19
R164-13 Definitions 33014 REP 02/02/2010 2009-20/22
R164-18-6 Procedures for Administrative Actions 33016 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/23

COMMUNITY AND CULTURE      
ARTS AND MUSEUMS

R207-3 Capital Funds Request Prioritization 32949 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/72

LIBRARY
R223-3 Capital Funds Request Prioritization 32936 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/75

EDUCATION       
ADMINISTRATION

R277-111 Sharing of Curriculum Materials by Public 
School Educators

33147 NEW 01/08/2010 2009-23/15

R277-613-1 Definitions 33253 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed
R277-711-4 Fiscal Standards 33234 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed
R277-800 Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind 33254 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2010, Vol. 2010, No. 5 79



RULES INDEX

DEPARTMENT       
 AGENCY NAME   FILE  EFFECTIVE BULLETIN
  CODE REFERENCE TITLE (CATCHLINE) NUMBER ACTION DATE ISSUE/PAGE

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY      
ADMINISTRATION

R305-5 Health Reform -- Health Insurance 
Coverage in DEQ State Contracts -- 
Implementation

33102 NEW 02/16/2010 
see CPR 
01/15/2010 
Bulletin

2009-22/30

R305-5 Health Reform -- Health Insurance 
Coverage in DEQ State Contracts -- 
Implementation

33102 CPR 02/16/2010 2010-2/48

RADIATION CONTROL
R313-34 Requirements for Irradiators 33367 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/70

SOLID AND HAZARDOUS WASTE
R315-1-1 Definitions 32966 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/92
R315-2 General Requirements - Identification and 

Listing of Hazardous Waste
32967 AMD 01/15/2010 

see CPR 
12/01/2009 
Bulletin

2009-19/94

R315-2 General Requirements - Identification and 
Listing of Hazardous Waste

32967 CPR 01/15/2010 2009-23/32

R315-5 Hazardous Waste Generator 
Requirements

32968 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/96

R315-7-27 Air Emission Standards for Equipment 
Leaks

33144 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-23/16

R315-8 Standards for Owners and Operators of 
Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage, 
and Disposal Facilities

32969 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/99

R315-13-1 Land Disposal Restrictions 32970 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/103
R315-14-7 Hazardous Waste Burned in Boilers and 

Industrial Furnaces
32971 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/104

R315-50-1 Instructions for Completion of Uniform 
Hazardous Waste Manifest

32972 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/105

R315-316 Infectious Waste Requirements 33145 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-23/17

WATER QUALITY
R317-4 Onsite Wastewater Systems 33370 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/71

GOVERNOR       
CRIMINAL AND JUVENILE JUSTICE (STATE COMMISSION ON)

R356-1 Procedures for the Calculation and 
Distribution of Funds to Reimburse 
County Correctional Facilities Housing 
State Probationary Inmates or State 
Parole Inmates

33073 NEW 01/04/2010 2009-22/41

R356-1-7 Calculation of Payments to Counties for 
Reimbursement for Housing State 
Probationary Inmates and State Parole 
Inmates

33237 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

HEALTH       
EPIDEMIOLOGY AND LABORATORY SERVICES, LABORATORY SERVICES

R438-12-2 Authorized Individual - Qualifications 33087 AMD 01/06/2010 2009-22/82

HEALTH CARE FINANCING, COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY
R414-1 Utah Medicaid Program 33214 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/67
R414-5 Reduction in Hospital Payments 33215 REP 02/16/2010 2009-24/69
R414-14A Hospice Care 33216 AMD 01/28/2010 2009-24/70
R414-320 Medicaid Health Insurance Flexibility and 

Accountability Demonstration Waiver
32925 AMD 02/16/2010 

see CPR in 
12/15/2009 
Bulletin

2009-18/36
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R414-320 Medicaid Health Insurance Flexibility and 
Accountability Demonstration Waiver

32925 CPR 02/16/2010 2009-24/94

R414-501 Preadmission Authorization, Retroactive 
Authorization, and Continued Stay 
Review

33304 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES
R426-14-301 Application, Department Review, and 

Issuance
33125 AMD 01/11/2010 2009-22/60

HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, LICENSING
R432-2-6 Application 33221 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/77
R432-3 General Health Care Facility Rules 

Inspection and Enforcement
33137 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/72

R432-4-26 Penalties 33186 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/79
R432-5-17 Penalties 33187 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/80
R432-6-211 (Changed 

to 
R432-6-26
)

Penalties 33189 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/81

R432-7-7 Penalties 33190 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/83
R432-8-8 Penalties 33191 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/84
R432-9-7 Special Hospital-Rehabilitation 

Construction Penalties
33184 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/85

R432-10-8 Penalties 33119 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/74
R432-11-7 Penalties 33120 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/75
R432-12-25 Penalties 33121 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/76
R432-13-8 Penalties 33122 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/77
R432-14-6 Penalties 33123 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/78
R432-16-16 Penalties 33118 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/79
R432-30 Adjudicative Procedure 33273 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed
R432-35-8 Penalties 33136 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/80
R432-270 Assisted Living Facilities 33283 NSC 01/13/2010 Not Printed
R432-700-30 Home Health - Personal Care Service 

Agency
33135 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/81

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT     
ADMINISTRATION

R477-7-2 Holiday Leave 33278 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/32

HUMAN SERVICES       
AGING AND ADULT SERVICES

R510-401 Utah Caregiver Support Program 33027 R&R 01/19/2010 2009-21/35

CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES
R512-10 Youth Advocate Program 33256 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/33
R512-31 Foster Parent Due Process 33257 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/35
R512-42 Adoption by Relatives 33258 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/37

RECOVERY SERVICES
R527-40 Retained Support 33301 5YR 01/04/2010 2010-3/91
R527-332 Unreimbursed Assistance Calculation 33261 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/39
R527-412 Intercept of Unemployment 

Compensation
33243 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/40

SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND MENTAL HEALTH
R523-1-25 20% Match Required to Be County Tax 

Revenue
33333 NSC 02/11/2010 Not Printed

R523-21 Division of Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health Rules

33142 AMD 01/20/2010 2009-23/21
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INSURANCE       
ADMINISTRATION

R590-88 Prohibited Transactions Between Agents 
and Unauthorized Multiple Employer 
Trusts

33318 5YR 01/13/2010 2010-3/92

R590-128 Unfair Discrimination Based on the 
Failure to Maintain Automobile Insurance 
(Revised)

33319 5YR 01/13/2010 2010-3/92

R590-132 Insurance Treatment of Human 
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Infection

33330 5YR 01/19/2010 2010-4/81

R590-255 Utah NetCare Alternative Coverage 
Notification Rule

33260 NEW 02/09/2010 2010-1/41

JUDICIAL CONDUCT COMMISSION     
ADMINISTRATION

R595-1 General Provisions 33322 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/93
R595-2 Administration 33323 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/93
R595-3 Procedure 33324 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/94
R595-4 Sanctions 33325 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/94

LABOR COMMISSION      
INDUSTRIAL ACCIDENTS

R612-13 Proceedings to Impose Non-Reporting 
Penalties Against Employers

33230 NEW 01/21/2010 2009-24/89

NATURAL RESOURCES      

WATER RIGHTS
R655-3 Reports of Water Rights Conveyance 33347 5YR 01/27/2010 2010-4/81

WILDLIFE RESOURCES
R657-5-13 Areas With Special Restrictions 33271 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/46
R657-20 Falconry 33314 EMR 01/12/2010 2010-3/65
R657-37-9 Permit Allocation 33272 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/47

PUBLIC SAFETY       
DRIVER LICENSE

R708-41 Requirements for Acceptable 
Documentation, Storage and 
Maintenance

33143 AMD 01/25/2010 2009-23/23

REGENTS (BOARD OF)      
UNIVERSITY OF UTAH, ADMINISTRATION

R805-4 Illegal, Harmful and Disruptive Behavior 
on University of Utah Property

33146 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/27

TAX COMMISSION       
ADMINISTRATION

R861-1A-23 Designation of Adjudicative Proceedings 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 
63G-4-202

33313 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

R861-1A-43 Electronic Meetings Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 52-4-207

33231 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/90

AUDITING
R865-9I-17 Time for Withholding Tax Returns and 

Payment of Withholding Taxes Pursuant 
to Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-10-406 
and 59-10-407

33113 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-22/86
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TECHNOLOGY SERVICES      
ADMINISTRATION

R895-9 Utah Geographic Information Systems 
Advisory Council

33334 5YR 01/20/2010 2010-4/82

TRANSPORTATION       
PRECONSTRUCTION

R930-5 Establishment and Regulation of At-Grade 
Railroad Crossings

33274 R&R 02/08/2010 2010-1/49

R930-6 Manual of Accommodation of Utility 
Facilities and the Control and Protection 
of State Highway Rights-of-Way

33312 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION     
ADMINISTRATION

R940-1-3 Base Toll Rate and Range for HOT Lanes 33369 EMR 02/10/2010 2010-5/67

WORKFORCE SERVICES      
EMPLOYMENT 
DEVELOPMENT

R986-700 Child Care Assistance 33017 AMD 01/13/2010 2009-20/34

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
R994-106-10
4

Determining the Paying State 33114 AMD 01/13/2010 2009-22/98

Rules Index - by Keyword (Subject)

Abbreviations

5YR = Five-Year Notice of Review and Statement of EXT = Notice of Five-Year Review Extension
Continuation (Five-Year Review) GEX = Notice of Governor's Extension
AMD = Notice of Proposed Rule - Amendment LNR = Notice of Legislative Nonreauthorization
CPR  = Change in Proposed Rule NEW = Notice of Proposed Rule - New Rule
EMR = Notice of 120-Day (Emergency) Rule NSC = Nonsubstantive Change
EXD = Notice of Expired Rule REP = Notice of Proposed Rule - Repeal
EXP = Notice of Expedited Rule R&&R = Notice of Proposed Rule - Repeal and Reenact

 KEY WORD CODE REFERENCE FILE  EFFECTIVE BULLETIN
  AGENCY  NUMBER ACTION DATE ISSUE/PAGE

A         
accelerated learning

Education; Administration R277-711-4 33234 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

acceptable documents
Public Safety; Driver License R708-41 33143 AMD 01/25/2010 2009-23/23

adjudicative procedures
Commerce; Securities R164-18-6 33016 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/23

adjudicative proceedings
Commerce; Administration R151-46b 33150 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/7

R151-46b-5 33149 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/11
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administrative procedures
Commerce; Administration R151-46b 33150 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/7

R151-46b-5 33149 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/11
Labor Commission; Industrial Accidents R612-13 33230 NEW 01/21/2010 2009-24/89

adoption
Human Services; Child and Family Services R512-42 33258 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/37

advertising
Commerce; Consumer Protection R152-11-1 33169 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/17

R152-11-5 33239 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/7

alcoholic beverages
Alcoholic Beverage Control; Administration R81-1-11 33153 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/5

R81-1-26 33154 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/6
R81-3-13 33152 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/8
R81-4D-1 33155 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/10
R81-4D-14 33156 AMD 01/26/2010 2009-24/11
R81-4E 33157 NEW 01/26/2010 2009-24/12
R81-4E-4 33339 NSC 02/11/2010 Not Printed

alternative onsite waste wastewater systems
Environmental Quality; Water Quality R317-4 33370 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/71

aquaculture
Agriculture and Food; Animal Industry R58-17 33327 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/88

architects
Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-1 33363 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73

assistance
Human Services; Recovery Services R527-332 33261 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/39

B         
bait and switch

Commerce; Consumer Protection R152-11-1 33169 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/17
R152-11-5 33239 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/7

bed allocations
Human Services; Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health

R523-1-25 33333 NSC 02/11/2010 Not Printed

big game seasons
Natural Resources; Wildlife Resources R657-5-13 33271 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/46

birds
Natural Resources; Wildlife Resources R657-20 33314 EMR 01/12/2010 2010-3/65

board members
Commerce; Administration R151-1 33336 5YR 01/25/2010 2010-4/80

bullying
Education; Administration R277-613-1 33253 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

C         
capital facilities

Community and Culture; Arts and Museums R207-3 32949 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/72
Community and Culture; Library R223-3 32936 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/75
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capitol-preservation
Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-1 33363 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73

care receiver
Human Services; Aging and Adult Services R510-401 33027 R&R 01/19/2010 2009-21/35

caregiver
Human Services; Aging and Adult Services R510-401 33027 R&R 01/19/2010 2009-21/35

child care
Workforce Services; Employment 
Development

R986-700 33017 AMD 01/13/2010 2009-20/34

child support
Human Services; Recovery Services R527-40 33301 5YR 01/04/2010 2010-3/91

R527-332 33261 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/39
R527-412 33243 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/40

child welfare
Human Services; Child and Family Services R512-10 33256 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/33

R512-31 33257 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/35

CHIP (Children's Health Insurance Program)
Health; Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy

R414-320 32925 AMD 02/16/2010 
see CPR in 
12/15/2009 
Bulletin

2009-18/36

R414-320 32925 CPR 02/16/2010 2009-24/94

conduct
Commerce; Real Estate R162-106-1 33226 AMD 02/03/2010 2009-24/42

consumer protection
Commerce; Consumer Protection R152-1-1 33168 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/16

R152-11-1 33169 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/17
R152-11-1 33238 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/6
R152-11-5 33239 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/7

consumer transactions
Commerce; Consumer Protection R152-11-1 33238 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/6

contract requirements
Environmental Quality; Administration R305-5 33102 NEW 02/16/2010 

see CPR 
01/15/2010 
Bulletin

2009-22/30

R305-5 33102 CPR 02/16/2010 2010-2/48

contractors
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-38a 33307 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90

controlled substances
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-37-30
1

33264 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/11

conveyance
Natural Resources; Water Rights R655-3 33347 5YR 01/27/2010 2010-4/81

cooperative wildlife management unit
Natural Resources; Wildlife Resources R657-37-9 33272 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/47
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counselors
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-60c 33306 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90

crossing
Transportation; Preconstruction R930-5 33274 R&R 02/08/2010 2010-1/49

curriculum materials
Education; Administration R277-111 33147 NEW 01/08/2010 2009-23/15

D         
definitions

Commerce; Real Estate R162-101 33158 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/29

developmentally disabled 
Tax Commission; Administration R861-1A-23 33313 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

R861-1A-43 33231 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/90

direct-entry midwife
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-77-10
2

33263 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/12

disclosure requirements
Tax Commission; Administration R861-1A-23 33313 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

R861-1A-43 33231 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/90

disease control
Agriculture and Food; Animal Industry R58-21 33340 5YR 01/27/2010 2010-4/79

disputes
Administrative Services; Facilities 
Construction and Management

R23-26 33360 5YR 02/01/2010 2010-4/79

disruptive behavior
Regents (Board Of); University of Utah, 
Administration

R805-4 33146 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/27

due process
Human Services; Child and Family Services R512-31 33257 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/35
Human Services; Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health

R523-1-25 33333 NSC 02/11/2010 Not Printed

E         
educational administration

Education; Administration R277-800 33254 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

elderly
Human Services; Aging and Adult Services R510-401 33027 R&R 01/19/2010 2009-21/35

electronic meetings
Commerce; Administration R151-1 33336 5YR 01/25/2010 2010-4/80

electronic preliminary lien filing
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-38b 33366 5YR 02/08/2010 2010-5/69

emergency medical services
Health; Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services

R426-14-30
1

33125 AMD 01/11/2010 2009-22/60
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engineers
Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-1 33363 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73

enterprise zones
Tax Commission; Auditing R865-9I-17 33113 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-22/86

experience
Commerce; Real Estate R162-104 33224 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/33

F         
facilities use

Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-2 33364 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73

R131-2-11 33151 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/6

falconry
Natural Resources; Wildlife Resources R657-20 33314 EMR 01/12/2010 2010-3/65

fees
Human Services; Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health

R523-1-25 33333 NSC 02/11/2010 Not Printed

financial statements
Commerce; Securities R164-10-2 33011 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/16

food inspections
Agriculture and Food; Animal Industry R58-10 33329 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/87

foster care
Human Services; Child and Family Services R512-31 33257 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/35

G         
game laws

Natural Resources; Wildlife Resources R657-5-13 33271 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/46

gifted children
Education; Administration R277-711-4 33234 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

government hearings
Commerce; Administration R151-46b 33150 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/7

R151-46b-5 33149 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/11

grant applications
Community and Culture; Arts and Museums R207-3 32949 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/72
Community and Culture; Library R223-3 32936 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/75

grant prioritizations
Community and Culture; Arts and Museums R207-3 32949 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/72
Community and Culture; Library R223-3 32936 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/75

grants
Community and Culture; Arts and Museums R207-3 32949 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/72
Community and Culture; Library R223-3 32936 NEW 01/27/2010 2009-19/75

grievance procedures
Tax Commission; Administration R861-1A-23 33313 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

R861-1A-43 33231 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/90
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H         
harmful behavior

Regents (Board Of); University of Utah, 
Administration

R805-4 33146 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/27

hazardous waste
Environmental Quality; Solid and 
Hazardous Waste

R315-1-1 32966 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/92

R315-2 32967 AMD 01/15/2010 
see CPR 
12/01/2009 
Bulletin

2009-19/94

R315-2 32967 CPR 01/15/2010 2009-23/32
R315-5 32968 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/96
R315-7-27 33144 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-23/16
R315-8 32969 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/99
R315-13-1 32970 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/103
R315-14-7 32971 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/104
R315-50-1 32972 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-19/105

hazing
Education; Administration R277-613-1 33253 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

health care facilities
Health; Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing

R432-2-6 33221 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/77

R432-3 33137 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/72
R432-35-8 33136 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/80

health facilities
Health; Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing

R432-4-26 33186 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/79

R432-5-17 33187 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/80
R432-6-211 (Changed 

to 
R432-6-26
)

33189 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/81

R432-7-7 33190 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/83
R432-8-8 33191 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/84

Health; Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing

R432-9-7 33184 AMD 02/04/2010 2009-24/85

R432-10-8 33119 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/74
R432-11-7 33120 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/75
R432-12-25 33121 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/76
R432-13-8 33122 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/77
R432-14-6 33123 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/78
R432-16-16 33118 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/79
R432-30 33273 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed
R432-270 33283 NSC 01/13/2010 Not Printed
R432-700-3
0

33135 AMD 01/05/2010 2009-22/81

health insurance
Environmental Quality; Administration R305-5 33102 NEW 02/16/2010 

see CPR 
01/15/2010 
Bulletin

2009-22/30

R305-5 33102 CPR 02/16/2010 2010-2/48

historic preservation
Tax Commission; Auditing R865-9I-17 33113 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-22/86
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holidays
Human Resource Management; 
Administration

R477-7-2 33278 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/32

hospitals
Health; Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy

R414-5 33215 REP 02/16/2010 2009-24/69

HOT (High occupancy toll) lanes
Transportation Commission; Administration R940-1-3 33369 EMR 02/10/2010 2010-5/67

hunting guides
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-79 33265 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/14

I         
identification card

Public Safety; Driver License R708-41 33143 AMD 01/25/2010 2009-23/23

illegal behavior
Regents (Board Of); University of Utah, 
Administration

R805-4 33146 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/27

income tax
Tax Commission; Auditing R865-9I-17 33113 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-22/86

inspections
Agriculture and Food; Animal Industry R58-20-5 33217 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/4
Agriculture and Food; Plant Industry R68-7 33080 AMD 01/04/2010 2009-22/5

R68-20 33315 5YR 01/12/2010 2010-3/89

insurance alternative coverage
Insurance; Administration R590-255 33260 NEW 02/09/2010 2010-1/41

insurance companies
Insurance; Administration R590-128 33319 5YR 01/13/2010 2010-3/92

insurance law
Insurance; Administration R590-88 33318 5YR 01/13/2010 2010-3/92

R590-132 33330 5YR 01/19/2010 2010-4/81

interstate compacts
Workforce Services; Unemployment 
Insurance

R994-106-1
04

33114 AMD 01/13/2010 2009-22/98

investigators 
Commerce; Administration R151-1 33336 5YR 01/25/2010 2010-4/80

investment adviser
Commerce; Securities R164-2 33389 5YR 02/16/2010 2010-5/69

investment advisers
Commerce; Securities R164-4-9 33006 AMD 01/06/2010 2009-20/12

irradiator
Environmental Quality; Radiation Control R313-34 33367 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/70

IT (Information Technology) bid committee
Technology Services; Administration R895-9 33334 5YR 01/20/2010 2010-4/82

IT (Information Technology) standards council
Technology Services; Administration R895-9 33334 5YR 01/20/2010 2010-4/82
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J         
jail reimbursement

Governor; Criminal and Juvenile Justice 
(State Commission on)

R356-1 33073 NEW 01/04/2010 2009-22/41

R356-1-7 33237 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

Judicial Conduct Commission
Judicial Conduct Commission; 
Administration

R595-1 33322 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/93

R595-2 33323 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/93
R595-3 33324 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/94
R595-4 33325 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/94

L         
leave benefits

Human Resource Management; 
Administration

R477-7-2 33278 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/32

license certificate
Public Safety; Driver License R708-41 33143 AMD 01/25/2010 2009-23/23

licensing
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-37-30
1

33264 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/11

R156-38a 33307 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90
R156-60c 33306 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90
R156-77-10
2

33263 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/12

R156-79 33265 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/14
Commerce; Real Estate R162-102 33180 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/30

liens
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-38a 33307 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90

limited-term license certificate
Public Safety; Driver License R708-41 33143 AMD 01/25/2010 2009-23/23

livestock
Agriculture and Food; Animal Industry R58-7 33326 5YR 01/14/2010 2010-3/87

loans
Agriculture and Food; Conservation and 
Resource Management

R64-1 33305 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/89

M         
Medicaid

Health; Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy

R414-1 33214 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/67

R414-5 33215 REP 02/16/2010 2009-24/69
R414-14A 33216 AMD 01/28/2010 2009-24/70
R414-320 32925 AMD 02/16/2010 

see CPR in 
12/15/2009 
Bulletin

2009-18/36

R414-320 32925 CPR 02/16/2010 2009-24/94
R414-501 33304 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

medical malpractice 
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-78B-4 33175 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/28
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mental health
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-60c 33306 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90

methadone programs
Human Services; Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health

R523-21 33142 AMD 01/20/2010 2009-23/21

midwife
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-77-10
2

33263 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/12

N         
NetCare

Insurance; Administration R590-255 33260 NEW 02/09/2010 2010-1/41

notice of commencement
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-38b 33366 5YR 02/08/2010 2010-5/69

notice of completion
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-38b 33366 5YR 02/08/2010 2010-5/69

O         
oath

Commerce; Administration R151-1 33336 5YR 01/25/2010 2010-4/80

onsite wastewater systems
Environmental Quality; Water Quality R317-4 33370 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/71

outfitters
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-79 33265 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/14

overpayments
Human Services; Recovery Services R527-332 33261 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/39

ownership
Natural Resources; Water Rights R655-3 33347 5YR 01/27/2010 2010-4/81

P         
PCN (Primary Care Network)

Health; Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy

R414-320 32925 AMD 02/16/2010 
see CPR in 
12/15/2009 
Bulletin

2009-18/36

R414-320 32925 CPR 02/16/2010 2009-24/94

penalties
Labor Commission; Industrial Accidents R612-13 33230 NEW 01/21/2010 2009-24/89

performance-based fee
Commerce; Securities R164-2 33389 5YR 02/16/2010 2010-5/69

pesticides
Agriculture and Food; Plant Industry R68-7 33080 AMD 01/04/2010 2009-22/5

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2010, Vol. 2010, No. 5 91



RULES INDEX

 KEY WORD CODE REFERENCE FILE  EFFECTIVE BULLETIN
  AGENCY  NUMBER ACTION DATE ISSUE/PAGE

planning-budgeting
Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-7 33365 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/74

policies
Education; Administration R277-613-1 33253 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

preliminary notice
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-38b 33366 5YR 02/08/2010 2010-5/69

prelitigation
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-78B-4 33175 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/28

procurement
Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-1 33363 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73

professional counselors
Commerce; Occupational and Professional 
Licensing

R156-60c 33306 5YR 01/07/2010 2010-3/90

prohibited items and devices
Human Services; Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health

R523-1-25 33333 NSC 02/11/2010 Not Printed

public buildings
Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-2 33364 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/73

R131-2-11 33151 AMD 01/07/2010 2009-23/6
R131-7 33365 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/74

Q         
quality control

Agriculture and Food; Regulatory Services R70-101 33074 AMD 01/11/2010 2009-22/11

R         
radiation

Environmental Quality; Radiation Control R313-34 33367 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/70

radiation safety
Environmental Quality; Radiation Control R313-34 33367 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/70

railroad
Transportation; Preconstruction R930-5 33274 R&R 02/08/2010 2010-1/49

real estate appraisals
Commerce; Real Estate R162-101 33158 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/29

R162-102 33180 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/30
R162-104 33224 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/33
R162-105 33225 AMD 01/27/2010 2009-24/39
R162-106-1 33226 AMD 02/03/2010 2009-24/42
R162-110 33148 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/13
R162-110-1 33303 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

registration
Commerce; Real Estate R162-110 33148 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/13

R162-110-1 33303 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

reporting
Labor Commission; Industrial Accidents R612-13 33230 NEW 01/21/2010 2009-24/89
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repository
Technology Services; Administration R895-9 33334 5YR 01/20/2010 2010-4/82

resolutions
Administrative Services; Facilities 
Construction and Management

R23-26 33360 5YR 02/01/2010 2010-4/79

respite
Human Services; Aging and Adult Services R510-401 33027 R&R 01/19/2010 2009-21/35

S         
safety

Transportation; Preconstruction R930-5 33274 R&R 02/08/2010 2010-1/49

securities
Commerce; Securities R164-2 33389 5YR 02/16/2010 2010-5/69

R164-4-9 33006 AMD 01/06/2010 2009-20/12
R164-9 33010 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/14
R164-10-2 33011 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/16
R164-13 33014 REP 02/02/2010 2009-20/22

securities fraud
Commerce; Securities R164-2 33389 5YR 02/16/2010 2010-5/69

securities licensing requirements
Commerce; Securities R164-4-9 33006 AMD 01/06/2010 2009-20/12

securities regulation
Commerce; Securities R164-4-9 33006 AMD 01/06/2010 2009-20/12

R164-9 33010 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/14
R164-10-2 33011 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/16
R164-11-1 33012 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/18
R164-12-1f 33013 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/19
R164-13 33014 REP 02/02/2010 2009-20/22
R164-18-6 33016 AMD 02/02/2010 2009-20/23

septic tanks
Environmental Quality; Water Quality R317-4 33370 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/71

settlements
Administrative Services; Facilities 
Construction and Management

R23-26 33360 5YR 02/01/2010 2010-4/79

sharing
Education; Administration R277-111 33147 NEW 01/08/2010 2009-23/15

sobriety tests
Health; Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Laboratory Services

R438-12-2 33087 AMD 01/06/2010 2009-22/82

solid waste management
Environmental Quality; Solid and 
Hazardous Waste

R315-316 33145 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-23/17

state buildings
Capitol Preservation Board (State); 
Administration

R131-7 33365 EXT 02/08/2010 2010-5/74

state parole inmates
Governor; Criminal and Juvenile Justice 
(State Commission on)

R356-1 33073 NEW 01/04/2010 2009-22/41

R356-1-7 33237 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed
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state probationary inmates
Governor; Criminal and Juvenile Justice 
(State Commission on)

R356-1 33073 NEW 01/04/2010 2009-22/41

R356-1-7 33237 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

survey
Environmental Quality; Radiation Control R313-34 33367 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/70

T         
tax returns

Tax Commission; Auditing R865-9I-17 33113 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-22/86

taxation
Tax Commission; Administration R861-1A-23 33313 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

R861-1A-43 33231 AMD 01/21/2010 2009-24/90

technology best practices
Technology Services; Administration R895-9 33334 5YR 01/20/2010 2010-4/82

tolls
Transportation Commission; Administration R940-1-3 33369 EMR 02/10/2010 2010-5/67

tollways
Transportation Commission; Administration R940-1-3 33369 EMR 02/10/2010 2010-5/67

trainees
Commerce; Real Estate R162-110 33148 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/13

R162-110-1 33303 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

training
Education; Administration R277-613-1 33253 NSC 01/04/2010 Not Printed

transportation
Transportation Commission; Administration R940-1-3 33369 EMR 02/10/2010 2010-5/67
Transportation; Preconstruction R930-5 33274 R&R 02/08/2010 2010-1/49

trespassing
Regents (Board Of); University of Utah, 
Administration

R805-4 33146 NEW 01/07/2010 2009-23/27

U         
unemployment compensation

Human Services; Recovery Services R527-412 33243 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/40
Workforce Services; Unemployment 
Insurance

R994-106-1
04

33114 AMD 01/13/2010 2009-22/98

UPP (Utah's Premium Partnership for Health Insurance)
Health; Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy

R414-320 32925 AMD 02/16/2010 
see CPR in 
12/15/2009 
Bulletin

2009-18/36

R414-320 32925 CPR 02/16/2010 2009-24/94

utilities access
Transportation; Preconstruction R930-6 33312 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed

utility rules
Transportation; Preconstruction R930-6 33312 NSC 01/28/2010 Not Printed
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V         
vacations

Human Resource Management; 
Administration

R477-7-2 33278 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/32

W         
waste disposal

Environmental Quality; Solid and 
Hazardous Waste

R315-316 33145 AMD 01/15/2010 2009-23/17

waste water 
Environmental Quality; Water Quality R317-4 33370 5YR 02/10/2010 2010-5/71

water rights
Natural Resources; Water Rights R655-3 33347 5YR 01/27/2010 2010-4/81

wildlife
Natural Resources; Wildlife Resources R657-5-13 33271 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/46

R657-20 33314 EMR 01/12/2010 2010-3/65
R657-37-9 33272 AMD 02/08/2010 2010-1/47

workers' compensation
Labor Commission; Industrial Accidents R612-13 33230 NEW 01/21/2010 2009-24/89

Y         
youth mentor

Human Services; Child and Family Services R512-10 33256 AMD 02/09/2010 2010-1/33
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