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NOTICES OF
PROPOSED RULES

A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an  
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule. Filings received between February 02, 2011, 12:00 a.m., and February 
15, 2011, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the March 01, 2011 issue of the Utah State Bulletin.

In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS. This analysis provides summary information 
about the  PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal 
cross-references.

Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed. New rules or additions made to existing 
rules are underlined (e.g., example). Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding them 
(e.g., [example]). Rules being repealed are completely struck out. A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space. Unaffected sections 
are not printed. If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE 
ANALYSIS. A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Division of  
Administrative Rules.

The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least March 31, 2011. The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS. The agency may also hold public hearings. Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE. Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule."

From  the  end  of  the  public  comment  period  through  June  29,  2011,  the  agency  may  notify  the  Division  of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective. The agency sets the effective date. The date 
may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days  
after the publication date of this issue of the  Utah State Bulletin. Alternatively, the agency may file a  CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received. If the Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses and the agency must start the process 
over.

The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on  PROPOSED RULES. 
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the Rule Analysis for each rule.

PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301; Rule R15-2; and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-
9, and R15-4-10.

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page
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NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 34430

34430

Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry
R68-7

Utah Pesticide Control Act
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  34430

FILED:  02/14/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this amendment is to update the 
rule  to  be  in  compliance  with  current  conditions  and  have 
clearer rules especially for  fumigation and termite pesticide 
application.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment: 
1)  clarifies  commercial  pesticide  applicator  business 
requirements;  2)  clarifies  how  many  times  a  person  may 
attempt to take a pesticide exam; 3) adds more detail to the 
record  requirements  for  pesticide applicators;  4)  adds  new 
language requiring restricted use pesticide dealers to submit 
electronic records on an annual basis; 5) adds more detail to 
the  record  requirements  for  which  restricted  use  pesticide 
dealers are required to keep; 6) adds requirements for new 
responsibilities  of  pesticide  businesses  and  pesticide 
applicators;  7) adds more detail  for  minimum standards for 
termite  applicators;  8)  adds  more  detail  for  minimum 
standards for fumigation applications; 9) adds more detail for 
transportation, storage, and handling requirements; 10) adds 
unlawful acts to coincide with changes made on the above 
mentioned items; and 11) adds reference to penalty matrix for 
enforcement action.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 4-14-6

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated cost to the 
state budget because the state is already doing the work with 
existing staff and budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  are  not 
affected by the rule change because the regulation is done by 
state government and local government does not enforce this 
pesticide rule.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:  There  will  be  a minimal  cost  to 
pesticide applicator companies for putting license information 
on  their  vehicles,  upgrading  storage  facilities  if  necessary, 
and time spent for dealers to submit electronic records.  They 
will be required to keep more detailed and accurate records 
of applications and training that is conducted.  The increased 
cost would be associated to the record keeping.

♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There will be a minimal cost to pesticide applicators.  They 
will be required to keep more detailed and accurate records 
of applications and training that is conducted.  The increase 
cost would be associated to the record keeping.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
will  be a minimal cost to pesticide applicator companies for 
putting  license  information  on  their  vehicles,  upgrading 
storage facilities if necessary, and time spent for dealers to 
submit electronic records.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This rule is being updated to be in line with current conditions 
and  recommendations  from  EPA as  it  relates  to  fumitoxin 
issues.  There will be minimal fiscal impact to the regulated 
business, but this is necessary to provide adequate consumer 
protection  to  the  public  when  dealing  with  restricted  use 
pesticides.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD
PLANT INDUSTRY
350 N REDWOOD RD
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3034
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Clair Allen by phone at 801-538-7180, by FAX at 801-538-
7189,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  clairallen@utah.gov
♦ Clark Burgess by phone at 801-538-9929, by FAX at 801-
538-7126,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  cburgess@utah.gov
♦ Kathleen Mathews by phone at 801-538-7103, by FAX at 
801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kmathews@utah.gov
♦ Kyle Stephens by phone at 801-538-7102, by FAX at 801-
538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kylestephens@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Leonard Blackham, Commissioner

R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry.
R68-7.  Utah Pesticide Control [Act]Rule.
R68-7-1.  Authority.

Promulgated under authority of Section 4-14-6.

R68-7-2.  Registration of Products.
All  pesticide  products  distributed  in  Utah  shall  be 

officially  registered  annually  with  the  Utah  Department  of 
Agriculture and Food.
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(1)  Application  for  registration  shall  be  made  to  the 
[d]Department on forms prescribed and provided by them and shall 
include the following information:

(a)  The name and address of the applicant and the name 
and address of the person whose name will appear on the label, if 
other than the applicant.

(b)  The name of the pesticide.
(c)  A complete copy of the label which will appear on the 

pesticide.
(2)   The [d]Department  may require  submission  of  the 

complete  formula  of  any pesticide  if  it  is  deemed  necessary for 
administration of the Utah Pesticide Control Act.  If it appears to the 
[d]Department  that  the  composition  of  the product  is  such  as  to 
warrant  the  proposed  claims  for  it,  and  if  the  product  and  its  
labeling and any other information which may be required to be 
submitted comply with the requirements of the act, the product shall 
be registered.

(3)   The  registrant  is  responsible  for  the  accuracy and 
completeness  of all  information submitted concerning application 
for registration of a pesticide.

(4)   Once  a  pesticide  is  registered  under  the  Act,  no 
further registration is required:  Provided that,

(a)   the  product  remains  in  the  manufacturer's  or 
registrant's original container; and

(b)  the claims made for it, the directions for its use, and 
other  labeling  information  do  not  differ  in  substance  from  the 
representations made in connection with the registration.

(5)  Whenever the name of a pesticide product is changed 
or there are changes in the product ingredients, a new registration 
shall  be  required.   Other  labeling  changes  shall  not  require  re-
registration, but the registrant shall submit copies of all changes to 
the [d]Department as soon as they are effective.

(6)   Whenever  a  registered  pesticide  product  is  to  be 
discontinued for any reason, except when suspended or canceled by 
the  U.S.  Environmental  Protection  Agency  (EPA),  the  Utah 
Department  of  Agriculture  and Food requires  said  product  to  be 
registered for two years from date of the notice of discontinuation. 
When  a  product  is  found  in  commercial  trade  after  the 
discontinuation  period,  the  [d]Department  will  require  that  the 
registrant  register  said  product  as  outlined  in  Chapter  14,  Utah 
Pesticide Control Act, 4-14-3(1).

(7) The [d]Department may exempt any pesticide that is 
determined either (1) to be adequately regulated by another federal 
agency, or (2) be of a character which is unnecessary to subject to  
Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA).

(8)  A registrant who desires to register a pesticide to meet 
special local needs pursuant to Section 24(c) of FIFRA shall comply 
with Section 4-14-3 of the Utah Pesticide Control Act.

(9)  No registration is required for a pesticide distributed 
in Utah pursuant to an experimental use permit issued by the EPA or 
under Section 4-14-5 of the Utah Pesticide Control Act.

(10)  A registration fee determined by the [d]Department, 
pursuant  to  Subsection 4-2-2(2),  shall  be paid annually for  each 
product,  regardless  of  the  number  of  products  registered  per 
applicant.

(11)  Each registration is renewed for a period of one year 
upon  payment  of  the  annual  renewal  fee  determined  by  the 
[d]Department, pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2).  It shall be paid on 
or  before  June  30  of  each  year.   If  the  renewal  of  a  pesticide 

registration is not received prior to July 1 of that year, an additional 
fee determined by the [d]Department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-
2(2), shall be assessed and added to the original registration fee and 
shall be paid by the applicant before the registration renewal for that 
pesticide shall be issued.

R68-7-3.  Product Labeling.
(A)  Each container of pesticide distributed in Utah shall 

bear a label showing the information set forth in Section 4-14-4.
(B)  All pesticide labels shall contain statements, words, 

graphic material, and any other information required by the EPA.

R68-7-4.  Classification of Pesticides.
 The  commissioner  shall  classify  all  pesticide  products 
registered  in  Utah  for  "restricted[ ]-use"  or  "general[ ]-use" 
according to standards consistent with Section 3 of FIFRA.  The 
commissioner  shall  consider  all  pesticides  and  uses  classified  as 
restricted by the EPA to be restricted in the State of Utah.  [He]The 
commissioner may also restrict the use of additional pesticides if 
[he  finds]it  is  found that  the  characteristics  of  such  pesticides 
require that their uses be restricted to prevent damage to property 
other  than  the  property to  which  they are  directly  applied  or  to  
persons,  animals,  crops or  vegetation other  than the pests  which 
they are intended to destroy.  Individuals not appropriately certified 
are  prohibited  from  using  restricted-use  pesticides,  with  the 
exception of those competent individuals working under the direct 
supervision of a certified private applicator.

R68-7-5.  Classification of Pesticide Applicators.
Pesticide  applicators  shall  be  classified  as  commercial, 

non-commercial, or private applicators according to the following 
criteria:

(1)  Commercial  Applicator - any person who uses any 
pesticide for hire or compensation.

(2)  Non-commercial Applicator - any person working as 
an individual or an employee of a firm, entity or government agency 
who uses or demonstrates the use of any restricted-use pesticide and 
who  does  not  qualify  as  a  private  applicator,  nor  require  a 
commercial applicator's license.

(3)  Private Applicator - any person or his/her employer 
who uses or supervises the use of any restricted-use pesticide for the 
purpose  of  producing  any  agricultural  commodity  on  property 
owned or rented by [him or his]the employer or (if applied without 
compensation other than trading of services between producers of 
agricultural commodities) on the property of another person.

R68-7-6.  Categorization of Pesticide Applicators.
Commercial  and  Non-commercial  applicators  shall  be 

categorized in one or more of the categories defined below, based 
on the application site and the type of work they perform.

(1)  Agricultural Pest Control.
(a)   Plant.  This  category  includes  applicators  using 

pesticides to control pests in the production of agricultural  crops 
including, but not limited to, field crops, vegetables, fruits, pasture, 
rangelands, and non-crop agricultural lands.

(b)   Animal.  This  category  includes  applicators  using 
pesticides on animals including, but not limited to, beef and dairy 
cattle, swine, sheep, horses, goats, poultry, and to places on or in 
which  animals  inhabit.  Doctors  of  veterinary  medicine  or  their 
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employees engaged in the business of applying pesticides for hire, 
publicly representing themselves as pesticide applicators or engaged 
in large-scale use of pesticides, are included in this category.

(2)   Forest  Pest  Control.  This  category  includes 
applicators using pesticides in forests, forest  nurseries, and forest 
seed-producing areas.

(3)   Ornamental  and  Turf  Pest  Control.  This  category 
includes applicators using pesticides to control ornamental and turf 
pests in  the  maintenance  and  production  of  ornamental  trees, 
shrubs, flowers and turf. This includes controlling pests on [home 
foundations, ]sidewalks, driveways, and other similar locations.

(4)   Seed Treatment.  This category includes applicators 
using pesticides on seeds.

(5)  Aquatic Pest Control.
(a)   Surface  Water:  This  category  includes  applicators 

applying  pesticides  to  standing  or  running  water,  excluding 
applicators engaged in public health-related activities  included in 
R68-7-6(8).

(b)   Sewer  Root  Control:  This  category  includes 
applicators using pesticides to control roots in sewers or in related 
systems.

(6)  Right-of-Way Pest Control.  This category includes 
applicators  using  pesticides  in  the  maintenance  of  public  roads, 
electric  power  lines,  pipelines,  railway  rights-of-way,  or  other 
similar areas.

(7)   Structural  and  Health-related  Pest  Control.   This 
category  excludes  any  fumigation  pesticide  application  and  is 
limited  to  applicators  using  pesticides  in,  on,  or  around  food 
handling  establishments;  human  dwellings;  institutions,  such  as 
schools  and  hospitals;  industrial  establishments,  including 
warehouses, storage units and any other structures and immediately 
adjacent areas, public or private; to control household pests, fabric 
pests, and stored-product pests and to protect stored, processed and 
manufactured  products.  This  category  includes  vertebrate  pest 
control  in  and  [around]immediately  adjacent  to buildings. 
"Immediately adjacent to a structure" means not further than three 
(3) feet from the structure. If the labeling for the structural pesticide 
permits structural use on structural pests and calls for application 
beyond three feet the application can be made, but cannot exceed 
the  maximum  distance  prescribed  by  the  label.[ and  allows  for 
applications up to three feet from the structure.]

(8)   Public  Health Pest  Control.  This category includes 
applicators applying the use of pesticides for the management and 
control of pests having medical and public-health importance.[  This 
category includes mosquitoes, ticks, bedbugs, louse, and fleas.]

(9)  Regulatory Pest Control.
(a)  This category is limited to state and federal employees 

or persons under their direct supervision, who apply pesticides in a 
mechanical ejection device, or other methods to control regulated 
pests.

(b)   This  category  is  limited  to  state  and  federal 
employees  or  persons  under  their  direct  supervision,  who  apply 
pesticides  in  a  protective  collar,  or  other  methods  to  control 
regulated pests.

(10)   Demonstration,  Consultation  and  Research  Pest 
Control.   This  category includes individuals  who demonstrate  or 
provide  instruction  to  the  public  in  the  proper  use,  techniques, 
benefits  and methods  of  applying  restricted-use  pesticides.   This 
category  includes,  but  is  not  limited  to  agricultural  compliance 

specialists,  extension  personnel,  commercial  representatives, 
consultants  and  advisors,  and  persons  conducting  field  research 
with  restricted-use  pesticides.   In  addition,  they  shall  meet  the 
specific standards that may be applicable to their particular activity.

(11)   Aerial  Application  Pest  Control.   This  category 
includes  applicators  applying  pesticides  by  aircraft.   Aerial 
applicators  are  required  to  be  certified  in  the  Aerial-Application 
Pest-Control  Category  and  any  other  categories  of  intended 
application.

(12)   Vertebrate  Animal  Pest  Control.   This  category 
includes applicators applying pesticides in the control of vertebrate 
pests outdoors, such as rodents, birds, bats, predators or domestic 
animals.

(13)  Fumigation/Stored-Commodities Pest Control.  This 
category includes applicators using fumigants to control pests in, 
on,  or  around soils,  structures,  railroad  cars,  stored  grains, 
manufactured  products,  grain  elevators,  flour  mills,  and  similar 
areas and items.

(14)   Wood-Preservation  Pest  Control.   This  category 
includes  applicators  who  apply  wood-preservative  pesticides  to 
wood products, such as fence posts, electrical poles, railroad ties, or 
any other form of wood products.

(15)   Wood-Destroying  Organisms  Pest  Control.   This 
category includes applicators using pesticides to control termites, 
carpenter  ants,  wood-boring  or  tunneling  insects,  bees,  wasps, 
wood-decaying fungi and any other pests destroying wood products.

R68-7-7.   Standards  of  Competence  for  Certification  of 
Applicators.

Applicators must be at least 16 years of age and [show ]
demonstrate competence  in  the  use  and  handling  of  pesticides 
according to the hazards involved in their particular classification 
by passing the tests and becoming certified as outlined in R68-7-8. 
Upon their becoming certified, the department will issue a license 
which will qualify an applicator to purchase and apply pesticides in 
the  appropriate  classification.   Standards  for  certification  of 
applicators as classified in R68-7-4 have been established by the 
EPA and such  standards shall  be a  minimum for  certification  of 
applicators in the State of Utah.

(1)  Commercial and Non-Commercial Applicators.
Commercial  and  non-commercial  applicators  shall 

demonstrate practical knowledge by written examination(s) of the 
principles and practices of pest  control and safe use,  storage and 
transportation  of  pesticides,  to  include  the  general  standards 
applicable to all categories and the standards specifically identified 
for each category or subcategory designated by the applicant, as set 
forth in 40 CFR, Section 171.4 and the EPA approved Utah State 
Plan  for  certification  of  pesticide  applicators.  In  addition, 
applicators applying pesticides by aircraft shall be examined on the 
additional  standards  specifically  identified  for  this  method  of 
application as set forth herein.

(a)  Exemptions.  The standards for commercial and non-
commercial applicators do not apply to the following persons for 
purposes of these rules:

(i)  Persons conducting laboratory-type research involving 
pesticides; and

(ii)   Doctors  of  medicine  and  doctors  of  veterinary 
medicine  applying  pesticides  or  drugs  or  medication  during  the 
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course of their normal practice and who do not publicly represent 
themselves as pesticide applicators.

(2)  Aerial Application. Additional Standards.
Applicators  shall  demonstrate  by  examination  practical 

knowledge of pest control in a wide variety of environments. These 
may  include,  but  are  not  limited  to,  agricultural  properties, 
rangelands, forestlands, and marshlands. Applicators must have the 
knowledge of the significance of drift and of the potential for non-
target  injury  and  the  environmental  contamination.   Applicators 
shall demonstrate competency as required by the general standards 
for  all  categories  of  certified  commercial  and  non-commercial 
applicators. They shall comply with all standards set forth by the 
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and submit proof of current 
registration  by that  agency as  a  requirement  for  licensing  as  an 
aerial applicator.
[              (3)   Subterranean  Termite  Pre-Construction  Treatment 
Applications.  Minimum  Standards.   Full  treatment:   Effective 
preconstruction  treatment  for  subterranean  termite  prevention 
requires  the  establishment  of  complete  vertical  and  horizontal 
barriers between the structure and the termite colonies in the soil.
               (a)  For Horizontal Chemical Barriers:  Applications shall 
be made using a low pressure spray after grading is complete and 
prior to  the pouring of the footing and the main slab to provide 
thorough  and  continuous  coverage  of  the  area  being  treated. 
Application rates, unless label requires elevated rates, must be at 
least 1 gallon per 10 square feet.
               (b)   For  Vertical  Chemical  Barriers:   Establish  vertical 
barriers in areas such as around the base of foundations, plumbing 
lines, backfilled soil against foundation walls and other areas which 
may  warrant  more  than  a  horizontal  barrier.   Application  rates,  
unless labeling requires elevated rates, are to be treated at a rate of 4 
gallons per 10 linear feet to soil backfill areas next to walls, piers, 
pipes, and under other "crucial areas" such as slab expansion joints.
               (c)  Partial Treatments:  Defined as anything less than a 
full  treatment.   Partial  Pre-Construction  treatments  are  not 
acceptable.
] [(4)](3)  Private  Applicators.  Private  applicators  shall 
[show]demonstrate practical  knowledge  of  the  principles  and 
practices of pest control and the safe use of pesticides, to include 
the standards for certification of private applicators as set forth in 
40  CFR Section  171.5.  In  addition,  private  applicators  applying 
restricted-use pesticides by aircraft shall show practical knowledge 
of the additional standards specifically identified for that method of 
application in R68-7-6(11) of these rules.

[(5)](4)  Supervision  of  Non-Certified  Applicators  by 
Certified Private Applicators.

(a)   A certified  private  applicator  that  functions  in  a 
supervisory role shall  be responsible  for  the actions of any non-
certified applicators under his/her instruction and control.

(b)  A certified private applicator shall provide written or 
oral  instruction  for  the  application  of  a  restricted-use  pesticide 
applied by a non-certified applicator under his/her supervision when 
the certified applicator is not required to be physically present.  If 
an applicator cannot read, instructions shall be given in a language 
understood  by  the  applicator.   The  instructions  shall  include 
procedures for contacting the certified applicator in the event he/she 
is needed.

[(6)](5)  The  certified  applicator  shall  be  physically 
present to supervise the application of a restricted-use pesticide by a 

non-certified applicator if such presence is required by the label of 
the pesticide being applied.

R68-7-8.  Certification Procedures.
(A)  Commercial Applicators.
(1)  License Required.  No person shall apply, advertise 

for, solicit, or hold oneself out as willing to engage in the business 
of applying any pesticide for hire or compensation to the lands of 
another  at  any time  without  becoming  certified  and  obtaining  a 
commercial applicator's license and a pesticide [applicator ]business 
license  as  described  in  4-14-13  issued  by  the  department,  or 
working for a company which has already attained such business 
license.

(2)  The pesticide applicator business  license  fee will be 
determined  by  the  number  of  commercial  pesticide  applicators 
employed  by  the  business.  The  fee  ranges  are  1-4  commercial 
pesticide applicators, [2-5]5-9 commercial pesticide applicators and 
10 or more commercial pesticide applicators.

(a)  Application for such licenses shall be made in writing 
on an approved form obtained from the [d]Department  and shall 
include such information as prescribed by the [d]Department.  Each 
individual  performing  the physical  act  of  applying  pesticides  for 
hire or compensation must be licensed as a commercial applicator. 
An  applicator  and  business  license  fee  determined  by  the 
[d]Department, pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2), shall be assessed at 
the time of certification and recertification.
                 (b)   A commercial  pesticide  applicator  operating under   
more  than one business  identity or  name from a single  business 
location shall  be licensed separately for each business identity or 
name.
                 (c)   A  commercial  pesticide  applicator  with  a  single   
business  identity  or  name  but  operating  from  more  than  one 
business  location  shall  be  licensed  at  each  separate  business 
location.
                 (d)  If the name selected by an applicant for a license to   
act,  operate,  or  do  business  or  advertise  as  a  commercial  or 
noncommercial applicator in the State of Utah is the same or so near 
the same as that of another licensee already doing business in the 
state as to cause confusion in the minds of the people or is likely to 
deceive  the  public,  the  Department  may require  the  applicant  to 
apply for a license under a different name that is distinguishable  
from  the  names  of  existing  licensees.  Any  determination  made 
pursuant  to  this  rule  shall  be  at  the  sole  discretion  of  the 
Department.
                 (e)  Each business location licensed shall have a minimum   
of one certified applicator at that location who is certified in each 
licensed category for which applications are made.
                 (f)  A franchised business shall have a separate license and   
a separate certified applicator at each business location.

(3)  Written Examination. An applicant for a commercial 
pesticide license shall demonstrate competency and knowledge of 
pesticide  applications  by  passing  the  appropriate  written 
examinations.   Examination  and  educational-material  fees 
determined by the [d]Department, pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2), 
shall be assessed at the time of certification and recertification.  Any 
person applying to become certified or recertified must demonstrate 
the ability to: (a) read and understand three or more sets of pesticide 
label  directions  from  pesticide  containers  randomly  chosen  by 
division personnel, and (b) demonstrate competency and knowledge 
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of mixing and applying pesticides in a safe way.  All applicants for a 
commercial  applicator  license must  pass the general  examination 
and the examination(s) pertaining to the category(s) for which they 
desire to be licensed.  Certification examinations shall be conducted 
by representatives of the commissioner by appointment.  A score of 
70 or above is required to pass any written examination.  A score of 
less than 70 on the general standards or category examinations shall 
result in denial of certification of that test.  A person must pass the 
general  and  at  least  one  category  examination  before  becoming 
certified. An applicant scoring less than 65% on any examination 
must wait three days before retesting on that examination.  A person 
scoring from 65% to 69% may retake the test again the same day, 
schedule permitting.  After paying the certification fee a person may 
attempt to pass any of the required exams up to three times.  If any 
exam  is  not  passed  within  three  attempts,  a  person  must  wait 
fourteen (14) calendar days and pay a retest fee for each exam failed 
and he/she will be allowed up to two additional attempts to pass an 
exam.  If any exam is again not passed, a person must wait another 
fourteen (14) calendar days and again pay a retest fee for each exam 
failed  and  he/she  will  again  be  allowed  up  to  two  additional 
attempts to pass an exam.  If all required exams are not passed after 
seven attempts, a person must again pay the certification fee and the 
testing process will  begin again; the original certification fee and 
any retesting fees will not be refunded.

(4)   License  Issuance.   If  the  [d]Department  finds  the 
applicant qualified to apply pesticides in the classifications applied 
for  and  for  which  the  prescribed  fee(s)  have  been  paid,  the 
[d]Department  shall  issue  a  commercial  applicator's  license.  The 
license shall expire December 31 of each year unless it has been 
revoked or suspended [prior ]by the commissioner for cause, which 
may include any of the unlawful  acts  given in  R68-7-11.   If  an 
application for a commercial license is denied the applicant shall be 
informed of the reason.   The applicator is required to have their 
license in their immediate possession at all times when making a 
pesticide application.  If the applicator requests a duplicate license 
from the Department of Agriculture and Food, a fee determined by 
the [d]Department  pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2),  must  be paid 
before a replacement license will be issued.  A pesticide applicator 
business  license  shall  be  required  for  each  pesticide  business 
location with applicators working in the state.

(5)   Any new applicator  or  applicator  business  license 
licensing after November 1 will  be licensed for the remainder of 
that year and the following calendar year.

(6)  License Renewal, Recertification.
(a)  A license will be renewed without examination if the 

renewal notice is received by the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food [of ]prior to January 1 of any year.

(b)  If the renewal notice is received after January 1 but 
before March 1, individuals will be required to pay the late fee, and 
no re-examination will be required.

(c)   If  the  renewal  notice  is  received  after  March  1, 
individuals  will  be required to recertify according to the original 
pesticide-applicator certification procedures.

Each license shall expire on December 31 of the year of 
its issuance. Commercial applicators may voluntarily pay a triennial 
license fee in lieu of the annual license fee. Commercial applicators 
must recertify every three years, and be subject to re-examination at 
any time.  Information that may be required to insure a continuing 
level of competence and ability to use pesticides safely and properly 

due to changing technology, and to satisfy certification requirements 
as described herein, or meet any other requirements specified by the 
commissioner shall be added to this rule as often as necessary.

(d)  Recertification options:
(i)  Complete the original certification process of taking 

the required general and category test(s) and passing each required 
test with a score of 70% or above or;

(ii)  Attend approved recertification courses and pass the 
required category examinations with a score of 70% or above or;

(iii)  Participate in approved continuing education courses 
and  accumulate  24  credits  during  the  valid  three  years  of 
certification.

(7)  Records Maintained.   Commercial  applicators shall 
keep  and  maintain  records  of  each  pesticide  application.   These 
records  must  be  recorded  within  24  hours  after  the  pesticide 
application is made.   These application records must  include the 
following information:

(a)  Name and address of property owner;
(b)  Location of treatment site, if different from (a);
(c)   The  month,  day and  year  when  the  pesticide  was 

applied;
(d)  Brand name of pesticide,  EPA registration number, 

rate  of  formulation  (undiluted  pesticide  product  as  sold  by  the 
manufacturer)  applied  per  unit  area  and  total  amount  of  diluted 
pesticide used;

(e)   Purpose  of  application (target  site  and  pest  to  be 
treated);

(f)  The name, business address and license number of the 
certified applicator who applied the pesticide.

Such records shall be kept for a period of two years from 
the date of application of the pesticide and shall be available for 
inspection by the commissioner's designee at reasonable times.  The 
commissioner's designee shall, upon request, be furnished a copy of 
such records by the commercial applicator.

(8)  Exemption.
The provisions of this section relating to pesticide licenses 

and  requirements  for  their  issuance  do  not  apply  to  [a  ]private 
pesticide applicators  [person  ]using pesticides in the production of 
any  agricultural  commodity  and applying  pesticides  for  his/her 
neighbors  provided  he/she operates  and  maintains  pesticide 
application equipment  for his/her own use,  is not engaged in the 
business  of  applying  pesticides  for  hire  or  compensation in  any 
form  other  than  trading  of  services  between  producers  of 
agricultural  commodities,  does  not  publicly  represent 
himself/herself  as  a  pesticide  applicator,  and  operates  his/her 
pesticide  application  equipment  only  in  the  vicinity  of  his/her 
owned or rented property[ for the accommodation of his neighbors]; 
provided,  however,  that when  he/she [such persons use]applies a 
restricted-use  pesticide,  [they]he/she shall  comply  with  the 
certification requirements specified herein.

(B)  Non-Commercial Applicators.
(1)   License  Required.   No  non-commercial  applicator 

shall  use  or  demonstrate  the  use  of  any  restricted-use  pesticide 
without  becoming  certified  and  obtaining  a  non-commercial 
applicator's  license issued by the [d]Department.  Application for 
such license shall be made in writing on an approved form obtained 
from  the  [d]Department  and  shall  include  such  information  as 
prescribed by the [d]Department.  Each individual performing the 
physical act of applying restricted-use pesticides must be licensed.
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(2)   Written  Examination.   An  applicant  for  a  non-
commercial  pesticide  license  shall  demonstrate  to  the 
[d]Department competency and knowledge of pesticides and their 
applications  by  passing  the  appropriate  written  examinations. 
Examination  and  educational-material  fees  determined  by  the 
[d]Department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2), shall be assessed at 
the time  an individual  takes the general  and category tests.   All 
applicants  for  a  non-commercial  applicator  license  must 
successfully  pass  a  general  examination  based  upon  standards 
applicable to all categories.  After passing the general examination, 
applicants  must  pass  the  examination(s)  pertaining  to  the 
category(s)  for  which  they  desire  to  be  licensed.   Certification 
examinations  shall  be  conducted  by  representatives  of  the 
commissioner by appointment.  A score of 70 percent or above is 
required for passing any written examination.  A score of less than 
70 percent on the general or category examinations shall result in 
denial  of  certification  in  that  category.   A person  must  pass  the 
general  and  at  least  one  category  examination  before  becoming 
certified.   An  applicator  scoring  less  than  65  percent  on  any 
examination  must  wait  three  days  before  retesting  on  that 
examination.  A person scoring from 65% to 69% may retake the 
test again the same day, schedule permitting.  Any person applying 
to become certified or recertified must demonstrate the ability to: 
(a)  read  and  understand  three  or  more  sets  of  pesticide  label 
directions from pesticide containers randomly chosen by division 
personnel,  and  (b)  demonstrate  competency  and  knowledge  of 
mixing and applying pesticides  in  a  safe  way.  After  paying the 
certification fee a person may attempt to pass any of the required 
exams up to three times.  If any exam is not passed within three 
attempts, a person must wait fourteen (14) calendar days and pay a 
retest fee for each exam failed and he or she will be allowed up to 
two additional attempts to pass an exam. If any exam is again not 
passed, a person must wait another fourteen (14) calendar days and 
again pay a retest fee for each exam failed and he/she will again be 
allowed  up  to  two  additional  attempts  to  pass  an  exam.   If  all  
required exams are not passed after seven attempts, a person must 
again pay the certification fee and the testing process will  begin 
again.  The original certification fee and any retesting fees will not 
be refunded.

(3)   License  Issuance.   If  the  [d]Department  finds  the 
applicant  qualified  to  apply  pesticides  in  the  classification(s) 
applied  for,  the  [d]Department  shall  issue  a  non-commercial 
applicator's  license  limited  to  such  activities  and  classifications 
applied for.[  A prescribed  examination  and educational  material 
fees shall be required.]  The applicator is required to have his/her 
license in his/her immediate possession at all times when making a 
pesticide application.

If  the  applicator  requests  a  duplicate  license  from  the 
Department  of Agriculture and Food, a fee  as determined by the 
[d]Department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2), must be paid before 
a  replacement  license  will  be  issued.   The  license  shall  expire 
December  31,  three  calendar  years  after  the  issuance  of  the 
certification,  unless  it  has  been  suspended  or  revoked  by  the 
commissioner  for  cause,  which may include any of the unlawful 
acts  given  in  R68-7-11.   If  an application for  a  non-commercial 
license is denied the applicant shall be informed of the reason.

(4)  Any new applicator licensing after November 1 will 
be  licensed  for  the  remainder  of  that  year  and  the  following 
calendar year.

(5)  License [Renewal, ]Recertification.  Non-commercial 
applicators must recertify every three years, and be subject to re-
examination at any time.  Information may be required to insure a 
continuing level of competence and ability to use pesticides safely 
and properly due to changing technology, and to satisfy certification 
requirements  as  described  herein,  or  any  other  requirements 
specified by the commissioner shall be added to this rule as often as  
necessary.

Recertification options are:
(a)  Complete the original certification process of taking 

the required general and category test(s) and passing each required 
test with a score of 70% or above or;

(b)  Attend approved recertification courses and pass the 
required category test(s) with a score of 70% or above or;

(c)  Participate in approved continuing education courses 
and  accumulate  24  credits  during  the  valid  three  years  of 
certification.

(6)   Records  Maintained.   Non-commercial  applicators 
shall  keep  and  maintain  records  of  each  application  of  any 
restricted-use pesticide.  These application records must be recorded 
within  24  hours  after  the  pesticide  application  is  made.   These 
records must include the following information:

(a)  Name and address of property owner;
(b)  Location of treatment site, if different from (a);
(c)   The  month,  day and  year  when  the  pesticide  was 

applied;
(d)  Brand name of pesticide,  EPA registration number, 

rate of formulation (undiluted pesticide concentrate product as sold 
by the  manufacturer)  applied  per  unit  area,  and  total  amount  of 
diluted pesticide used;

(e)   Purpose  of  application (target  site  and  pest  to  be 
treated);

(f)  The name, address, and license number of the certified 
applicator who applied the pesticide.

Such records shall be kept for a period of two years from 
the date of application of the pesticide and shall be available for 
inspection by the commissioner's designee at reasonable times.  The 
commissioner's designee shall, upon request, be furnished a copy of 
such records by the non-commercial applicator.

(7)  Exemption.  The provisions of this section shall not 
apply  to  persons  conducting  laboratory  research  involving 
restricted-use pesticides as drugs or medication during the course of 
their  normal  practice.   Non-Commercial  applicators  engaged  in 
public-health related activities are exempt from recording the name 
and address  of  property owners,  but  are  required  to  document  a 
detailed description of treatment areas by using such means as GPS 
coordinates  or  other  locality  descriptions  for  record  keeping 
purposes.

(C)  Private Applicators.
(1)   License  Required.   No  private  applicator  shall 

purchase,  use or supervise the use of any restricted-use pesticide 
without a private applicator's license issued by the [d]Department. 
Issuance of such license shall be conditioned upon the applicator's 
complying  with  the  certification  requirements  determined  by the 
[d]Department as necessary to prevent unreasonable adverse effects 
on  the  environment,  including  injury  to  the  applicator  or  other 
persons.  Application for a license shall be made in writing on a 
designated form obtained from the [d]Department.
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(2)   Certification  Methods.  Any  person  applying  to 
become  licensed  must  demonstrate  the  ability  to:   (a)  read  and 
understand  three  or  more  sets  of  pesticide  label  directions  from 
pesticide containers randomly chosen by division personnel, and (b) 
demonstrate  competency and  knowledge  of  mixing  and applying 
pesticides in a safe  way.   All  first-time Private  Applicators must 
successfully pass a written test.  A score of 70 percent or above is 
required for passing any written test.  A score of less than 70 percent 
will result in the denial of certification.  An applicator scoring less 
than 65% on any examination must wait three days before retesting 
on  that  examination.   A person  scoring  from 65% to  69% may 
retake the test again the same day, schedule permitting.

(3)   Emergency-Use  Permit.   A  single  restricted-use 
pesticide may be purchased and used by a non-certified person on a 
one-time-only basis if an emergency control situation is shown to 
exist.  Before purchasing the product, the applicant shall participate 
in a discussion concerning safe use of the specific product with a 
representative  of  the  Utah  Department  of  Agriculture  and  Food. 
Following  an  adequate  discussion  of  same,  the  Department  of 
Agriculture and Food may issue the applicant a permit to purchase 
and use the product on a specific site on a one-time-only basis.  The 
applicant  shall  be  required  to  become  certified  before  being 
authorized to further purchase and use restricted-use pesticides.

(4)   License  Issuance.   If  the  [d]Department  finds  the 
applicant qualified to apply pesticides, the applicant shall be issued 
a private applicator's license.  Examination and educational-material 
fees determined by the [d]Department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-
2(2), shall be assessed at the time of certification and recertification.  
The license issued by the commissioner shall expire on December 
31, three calendar years after issuance, unless the license has been 
revoked or suspended by the commissioner.  If an application for a 
private  license  is  denied,  the  applicant  shall  be  informed  of  the 
reason.   If  the  applicator  requests  a  duplicate  license  from  the 
Department  of  Agriculture  and  Food,  a  fee  determined  by  the 
[d]Department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2), must be paid before 
a replacement license will be issued.

(5)  Any new applicator licensing after November 1 will 
be  licensed  for  the  remainder  of  that  year  and  the  following 
calendar year.

(6)  License Renewal, Recertification.  A person applying 
to recertify must demonstrate the ability to:  (a) read and understand 
three  or  more  sets  of  pesticide  label  directions  from  pesticide 
containers  randomly  chosen  by  division  personnel,  and  (b) 
demonstrate the mixing and application of pesticides in a safe way. 
All certified private applicators must recertify every three years, or  
more frequently if determined necessary by the [d]Department, by 
satisfying  any  of  the  following  procedures  or  any  other 
requirements specified by the [d]Department.

(a)  Completion of a recertification course approved by 
the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food and passing a written 
test with a score of 70% or above or;

(b)  Complete the original certification process of taking 
the  required  written  test(s).   A score  of  70  percent  or  above  is 
required to pass or;

(c)  Accumulate [nine]six credits of approved continuing 
education during the valid three years of certification.
                 (d)  Records Maintained.  Private applicators must keep   
and  maintain  records  according  to  United  States  Department  of 
Agriculture (USDA) requirements.

(D)   Employees  of  Federal  Agencies.   Federal 
Government  Employees  wishing  to  be  certified  in  Utah shall  be 
required to qualify as non-commercial  applicators by passing the 
appropriate examinations, unless such requirement is waived upon 
presentation of adequate evidence of certification in the appropriate 
categories  from  another  state  with  comparable  certification 
requirements.  In the event a federal agency develops an applicator 
certification  plan  which  meets  the  Utah  certification  standards, 
employees of that agency who become certified under that plan may 
qualify for certification in the State of Utah.

(E)  Certification of Out-of-State Applicants.
When a pesticide applicator is certified under an approved 

state plan of another state and desires to apply pesticides in Utah, 
he/she  shall  make  application  to  the  [d]Department  and  shall 
include, along with the proper fee and any other details required by 
the Act or these rules, a true copy of his/her credentials as proof of 
certification in the person's state of residence and a letter from that 
state's  department  of  agriculture  stating that  he/she has not  been 
convicted  of  a  violation  of  any  pesticide  law  and  is  currently 
licensed as a pesticide applicator in that state.  The [d]Department 
may upon review of the credentials, issue a Utah certification to the 
applicator  in  accordance  with  the  use  situations  for  which  the 
applicator  is  certified  in  another  state  without  requiring 
determination  of  competency;  provided  that  the  state  having 
certified  the  applicator  will  similarly  certify  holders  of  Utah 
licenses or certificates and has entered into a reciprocal agreement 
with  the  State  of  Utah.   Out-of-state  pesticide  applicators  who 
operate in Utah will be subject to all Utah laws and rules.

R68-7-9.  Dealer Licensing.
(A)  In order to facilitate rules of the distribution and sale 

of restricted-use pesticides, it  is necessary to license dealers who 
dispense such materials.

(1)  License Required.
 It shall be unlawful for any person to act in the capacity of 
a restricted-use pesticide dealer, or advertise as, or presume to act as 
such a dealer at any time without first having obtained an annual 
license from the [d]Department.  A license shall be required for each 
location  or  outlet  located  within  this  state  from  which  such 
pesticides  are  distributed;  provided,  that  any  manufacturer, 
registrant or distributor who has no pesticide dealer outlet licensed 
within  this  state  and  who  distributes  a  restricted-use  pesticide 
directly into [this state ]Utah shall obtain a pesticide dealer's license 
for his/her principal out-of-state location or outlet; provided further, 
that  any  manufacturer,  registrant  or  distributor  who  sells  only 
through or to a pesticide dealer is not required to obtain a pesticide 
dealer's license.
 (2)  License Issuance.  Application for a pesticide dealer's 
license shall be on a form prescribed by the [d]Department and shall 
be accompanied by a license fee determined by the [d]Department 
pursuant  to  subsection  4-2-2(2).   If  the  [d]Department  finds  the 
applicant qualified to sell or distribute restricted-use pesticides and 
the applicant has paid the prescribed license fee, the [d]Department 
shall  issue  a  restricted-use  pesticides  dealer's  license.   Pesticide 
dealers may voluntarily pay a  triennial  license fee  in lieu of the 
annual license fee.  This license shall expire December 31 of each 
year,  unless  it  has  been previously revoked  or  suspended by the 
commissioner  for causes which may include any of the unlawful 
acts included in R68-7-11.
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 (3)  License Renewal.  License-renewal fees are payable 
annually before January 1.  Pesticide dealers may voluntarily pay a 
triennial license fee in lieu of the annual license fee.  If the renewal 
of a pesticide dealer's license is not received prior to January 1 of 
any one year,  an additional fee determined by the [d]Department 
pursuant to Subsection 4-2-2(2), shall be assessed and added to the 
original license fee and shall  be paid by the applicant before the 
license renewal shall be issued.
 (4)  Records Maintained.  Each dealer outlet licensed to 
sell  restricted-use  pesticides  [shall  be]is required  by  the 
[d]Department to maintain a restricted-use pesticide sales register 
by entering all restricted-use pesticide sales into the register at the  
time of sale.  [A]The restricted-use pesticide sales register must be 
available in an electronic format approved by the Department. The 
electronic register form, [provided by the department,] shall include 
the following information:
 [(a)  The name and address of the purchaser.
               (b)  Brand name of restricted-use pesticide purchased.
               (c)   EPA registration  number  of  restricted-use  pesticide 
purchased.
               (d)  Month, day and year of purchase.
               (e)  Quantity purchased.
               (f)   Signature  and  license  number  of  the  purchaser, 
expiration  date  of  license,  or  signature  of  purchaser's  agent 
(uncertified person) if letter of authorization is on file.  Letter of 
authorization must include names of agents, signature and license 
number of purchaser. ](a)  The Corporate or Company Name.
                 (b)  The name of the branch store that made the sale.  
                 (c)  The store's complete Restricted-Use Pesticide dealer   
license number, including the prefix.
                 (d)  The complete sale date including the month, day and   
year.
                 (e)  The first and last name of the salesperson that made   
the sale.
                 (f)  The first and last name of the buyer.  
                 (g)   The  buyer's  complete  Pesticide  Applicator  License   
number, including the prefix.
                 (h)  If the buyer was authorized by letter, the authorization   
letter must be kept on file.
                 (i)  If the buyer used a temporary permit, a copy of the   
permit must be kept on file.
                 (j)  The buyer's complete street address, city, state and zip   
code.
                 (k)   The  brand  name  of  the  product  sold,  its  EPA   
Registration Number and the quantity sold.
                 (l)  The product container size and its unit of measure (i.e.   
gallons, liters, etc.).

Such records shall be kept for a period of two years from 
the date of restricted-use pesticide sale and shall be available for  
inspection by the commissioner's designee at reasonable times. The 
commissioner's designee, upon request, shall be furnished a copy of 
such records by the restricted-use pesticide dealer.
                 (5)  Submission of Electronic records. On June 1 of each   
year, Dealers are required to submit their Restricted-Use Pesticide 
sales records for the period starting the previous July 1 through June 
30 of the current year.  The due date for submission is July 31 of the 
current year.
 [(5)](6)  Exemption.  Provisions of this section shall not 
apply to: (a) a licensed pesticide applicator who sells restricted-use 

pesticides only as an integral part of his/her pesticide application 
service when such pesticides are dispensed only through equipment 
used  for  such  pesticide  application  (b)  Federal,  state,  county,  or 
municipal agency which provides restricted-use pesticides only for 
its own programs shall  be exempt from the license fee  but must 
meet all other requirements of a pesticide dealer.
 [(6)](7)  Responsible  for  Acts  of  Employees.   Each 
pesticide  dealer  shall  be  responsible  for  the  acts  of  each  person 
employed by him/her in the solicitation and sale of restricted-use 
pesticides and all claims and recommendations for use of restricted-
use  pesticides.   A  dealer's  license  shall  be  subject  to  denial, 
suspension or revocation for any violation of the Pesticide Control 
Act  or  rules  promulgated  thereunder,  whether  committed  by the 
dealer or by the dealer's officer, agent, or employee.

R68-7-10.  Responsibilities of Business and Applicator.
                 (A)  Business Licensee Duties and Responsibilities  
                 (1)   A business  licensee  shall  ensure  that  a  qualifying   
party  (licensed  applicator)  of  the  business  licensee  receives  the 
training that the applicator requires to comply fully with the Utah 
Pesticide statutes and rules and label and labeling directions.
                 (B)  Responsibility for business and employee(s)  
                 (1)  A business licensee, qualifying party and/or applicator   
may be held responsible for the acts or omissions of another person 
who  is  employed  by  the  business  licensee.   It  is  the  business' 
responsibility  to  properly  train,  equip,  and  prepare  the  other 
person(s) and maintain records of proper training and equipping.
                 (2)   Failure  to  fully  respond  to  requests  by  the   
commissioners designated agent, in a stated time, for information 
relating to training and equipping will be evidence for a failure to 
properly train or equip.  The supervising licensee has the burden of 
proof by a preponderance of the evidence that the business licensee, 
qualifying party or  applicator  has  fulfilled  the required duties  as 
prescribed by this chapter, rules adopted pursuant to this chapter or 
a written order of the commissioner.
                 (C)  Use of business name and license number.  
                 (1)   A business  licensee  must  prominently  display  the   
license issued by the Department at the primary business office and 
each branch office.
                 (2)   A business  licensee  shall  prominently  display  the   
business name and license number, as recorded on the license issued 
by the Department, on:
                 (a)  Customer proposals or contracts for pest management   
services;
                 (b)  Service records and service notifications;  
                 (c)  Advertisements; and  
                 (d)  Service vehicles and trailers used in providing pest   
management services.  The business licensee shall ensure that the 
business name and license number is displayed on a service vehicle 
or trailer used in providing pest management services conforms to 
the following:
                 (i)   Is  affixed  to  the  service  vehicle  or  trailer  used  in   
providing  pest  management  services  within  30  days  after  the 
Department issues the license or issues a business license change or 
after the service vehicle or trailer is acquired, whichever is sooner.
                 (ii)   Is  in  a  color  that  contrasts  with  the  color  of  the   
service vehicle and trailer;
                 (iii)  Is prominently displayed on both sides of the service   
vehicle or trailer;
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                 (iv)  Uses at least two-inch letters for the principal words   
in the business name and at least one and one-half inch letters for  
other words in the business name; and
                 (v)   Uses  at  least  two-inch  numbers  for  the  license   
number.
                 (vi)  Letters and numbers must be weatherproof.  
                 (3)  A business licensee that always uses a service vehicle   
and trailer together is required to mark only the service vehicle or 
trailer  as  described in  subsection (2)(g).  A business  licensee that 
uses a vehicle only for sales, solicitations, or solely for inspections 
and  does  not  carry a  pesticide,  and  does  not  otherwise  use  the 
vehicle  to  provide a pest  management  service,  is not  required to 
mark the vehicle as described in subsection (2)(g).
                 (4)   When  complying  with  subsection  (2),  a  business   
licensee may use a slogan, trade name, or trade mark in addition to 
the  business  name  and  license  number.  When  complying  with 
subsection (2),  a  business licensee may use a  word or  phrase to 
indicate its former licensed business  name if  it  had a previously 
licensed business name.
                 (D)  Customer Notification.  
                 (1)  Prior to the time of each application of a restricted-  
use  pesticide  with  a  Danger/Danger-Poison  signal  word,  the 
licensed  commercial  applicator  or  an  employee  of  the  licensed 
pesticide  business  shall  provide  the  customer  with  a  written 
statement containing the following information:
                 (a)  Business name and telephone number of the licensed   
business.
                 (b)  Name and license number of the licensed applicator   
who made the application
                 (c)  Date and time of application.  
                 (d)  Type of pesticide application service and brand name   
of pesticide(s) applied.
                 (e)  Instructions to the customer to contact the business   
telephone number if more specific information is desired regarding 
the pesticide product applied.
                 (2)  The written statement required in subsection (1) shall   
be provided to the customer by any of the following means:
                 (a)  Leave at the residence.  
                 (b)  In  the case of a multiunit  residence leave with the   
property manager or his/her authorized representative, or
                 (c)  Mail  to the property manager  or his/her authorized   
representative if management is located at a location other than the 
pesticide application site, within seven (7) days prior to the date of 
the pesticide application.

R68-7-11.  Termiticide Record Keeping. Additional Standards.
                 (A)   In  addition  to  the  recordkeeping  requirements   
contained  in  R68-7-8,  the  applicator  will  keep  as  records  a 
diagram/graph of the structure treated that includes dimensions of 
the structure, including depth to footer.
                 (B)  For post construction treatments the diagram/graph   
will also illustrate the area(s) where termites and/or termite activity 
was found.
                 (C)   All  records  of  applications  for  every  individual   
structure must be kept together.

R68-7-12.  Minimum Standards for Fumigant Applications.
                 (A)   Application  of  fumigant  products  require  strict   
adherence to the label and when required by the label, a verified and 

written Fumigation Management Plan (FMP) must be prepared in 
advance  of  treatment.   A  FMP  must  detail  the  information 
prescribed by the label. State standards for fumigation treatments of 
any space that can be occupied by a person, or non-target species,  
require the following:
                   (1)  Persons present at the time of releasing the fumigant   
and during the initial ventilation.
                 (a)  There shall be at least two persons, one of whom must   
be a certified applicator in the fumigation category, present at the 
time  of  the  releasing  of  the  fumigant  and  during  the  initial 
ventilation.   During the interim, the premises shall be adequately 
safeguarded against entry by any person(s).
                 (2)   Notification  of  local  fire  department  and/or  first   
responders.
                 (a)  Prior to fumigation of any building or enclosed space,   
other than a fumigating vault,  the certified applicator shall notify 
and  provide  the  local  fire  department  with  the  address  of  the 
fumigation job,  time of gas  release,  kind of gas  to  be used,  and 
beginning time of the aeration of the premises.
                 (3)  Premises sealed.  
                 (a)  Premises to be fumigated shall be sealed in a manner   
that confines the fumigant to the space intended to be fumigated.
                 (4)  Inspection of premises prior to releasing fumigant  
                 (a)   Immediately  before  releasing  the  fumigant,  the   
fumigator  shall  conduct a thorough inspection of the premises to 
verify  that  no  person(s)  or  non-target  animals  remain,  and  that 
effective  precautions  have  been  taken  to  safeguard  occupants  of 
neighboring buildings as set forth below.
                 (5)   Fumigation  of  apartments  within  a  multiple  unit   
apartment building.
                 (a)   Fumigation  of  apartments  within  a  multiple  unit   
apartment building may be fumigated only after proper sealing of 
the area being fumigated and after all apartments are vacated.
                 (b)   All  the  adjacent  units  shall  be  properly ventilated   
during the entire exposure period.
                 (6)   Notification  of  all  dwellings  or  places  of  business   
within 100 feet of building being fumigated.
                 (a)  All dwellings or places of business within 100 feet of   
the building being fumigated must be notified in writing in advance 
of the fumigation.
                 (b)  All premises within 10 feet must be vacated during   
the fumigation and aeration periods.
                 (7)  Warning signs.  
                 (a)   Warning signs shall  be posted conspicuously at  all   
entrances of the premise to be fumigated and at the entrances of all  
adjacent multiple units and structures within 10 feet and kept there 
during the entire fumigation and ventilation period. Signs shall be a 
minimum  size  of  8  1/2  inches  by  11  inches  and  color  to  be 
conspicuous and bearing the word "poison" and display the skull 
and  cross-bones,  the  name  of  the  fumigant  used,  and  the  name, 
address and telephone number of the fumigator.
                 (b)  Before the fumigant is released, all entrances leading   
directly to the fumigated space shall be closed, sealed, and locked 
except  exits  to be used by fumigating crew. These exits shall  be 
closed,  sealed,  and  locked  promptly after  the fumigant  has  been 
released.
                 (8)  Masks worn.  
                 (a)  All members of the fumigating crew must be equipped   
with  a  serviceable  mask of  a  type  approved  by the  U.S.  Mines, 
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Safety, and Health Administration with correct canister for the type 
of gas used.
                 (b)   Masks  shall  be  worn  while  in  the  enclosed  space   
during and after release of the gas, and until initial ventilation is 
completed.
                 (9)  Re-entering fumigated premises  
                 (a)  No one other than the fumigator shall be permitted to   
re-enter the fumigated premises until the fumigator has ascertained 
by personal inspection, with gas mask
and with a chemical appropriate test, that the premises are safe for 
occupancy.
                 (b)  Aeration must be conducted according to the product   
labeling and re-entry allowed according to levels specified on the 
label.
                 (10)  Exceptions  
                 (a)  The subparts 1 through 9 may not apply to fumigants   
used to control insects or other pests outside of buildings, or for 
spot fumigations, or restrictive treatments inside a building, such as 
grain bins.
                 (i)   Strict  adherence  to  the  label  instructions  must  be   
adhered to during these applications.
                 (ii)  During the ventilation period of a spot or restrictive   
fumigation, the premises shall not be occupied by anyone except the 
fumigator.
                 (iii)  A warning gas is recommended where the fumigant   
is comparatively odorless.
                 (B)   Fumigation  of  Burrowing  Rodents  require  strict   
adherence to the label as well as a Fumigation Management Plan 
(FMP) that must contain the following information.
                 (1)  Purpose of the application, indicate the exact pest to   
be controlled and the type of burrow system to be treated.
                 (2)  Pesticide used. State the name of the pesticide, the   
EPA registration number, and dosage used.
                 (3)  Property treated information. Record the property or   
facilities name and address.  Verify the manager's name, and contact 
information.
                 (4)   Licensed  applicator  information.   Record  licensed   
applicator's name, company, license number, phone numbers.
                 (5) Emergency Information.  Note the phone number for   
the  nearest  hospital,  fire  department,  police  department,  poison 
control center and the registrant of the fumigant.
                 (6)  Instructions to personnel.  Verify by signatures that all   
personnel has been instructed to:
                 (a)  Report any accident or incident related to exposure,   
provide a telephone number for emergency response reporting.
                 (b)   Report  to  proper  authorities  any theft  of  fumigant   
and/or equipment related to fumigation.
                 (7)   Follow label  directions.   Monitoring,  Notification,   
Sealing,  Application  Procedures,  Fumigation  Period,  and  Use 
Restrictions are to be followed per label instructions.
                 (8)   Burrowing  Rodent  Fumigation  Record  Keeping.   
Additional Standards.
                 (a)   In  addition  to  the  recordkeeping  requirements   
contained in R68-7-8, the applicator will keep as part of the record a  
diagram/graph  (to  scale)  of  the  property  treated  that  includes 
dimensions of the property,  any structure present,  and mark each 
burrow treated on the diagram or graph.

R68-7-[10]13.   Transportation,  Storage,  Handling,  Using and 
Disposal of Pesticides and Pesticide Containers.
                 All  pesticide  applying  entities  shall  provide  a  secure   
pesticide  and  device  storage  area  that  complies  with  all  federal, 
state, and local laws.  The storage area may include an area on a 
service vehicle.
 (1)   No person shall  transport,  store,  or  dispose of any 
pesticide or pesticide containers in such a manner as to cause injury 
to humans,  other nontarget species, or the environment[vegetation, 
crops,  livestock,  wildlife  or  beneficial  insects  or  to  pollute  any 
waterway in a manner harmful to any wildlife therein].
                 (2)  Pesticide containers shall be secured during transport   
by use of side or end racks, bracing, chocks, tie downs, or other 
means to prevent their sliding, falling, tipping, rolling, or falling off 
the  vehicle  with  normal  vehicle  acceleration,  deceleration,  or 
change in direction.
                 (3)   Portable  tanks  shall  be  secured  to  prevent  their   
sliding, falling, tipping, or rolling with normal vehicle acceleration, 
deceleration, or change in direction.  Stacking or wedging against 
ends, sidewalls, or doors of van bodies shall not be relied upon for  
securement.
                 (4)  Pesticides in leaking, broken, corroded, or otherwise   
damaged  containers  shall  not  be  displayed,  offered  for  sale,  or 
transported and shall  be handled or disposed of in a manner that 
would injure humans, other nontarget species, or the environment. 
Pesticides with obscured, illegible or damaged labels shall not be 
displayed, offered for sale, or sold.
                 (5)  No person shall distribute or sell any pesticide unless   
it  is  in  the  registrant's  or  manufacturer's  unopened,  original 
container  and  the  registered  pesticide  label  is  affixed  to  the 
container
                 (6)  No person shall transport, handle, store, load, apply,   
or dispose of any pesticide, pesticide container, apparatus, or rinsate 
in such a manner as to pollute water supplies or waterways, or cause 
damage or injury to land, humans, desirable plants and animals, or 
wildlife.  Provided that a pesticide labeled for aquatic use and used 
as directed shall  not be considered a violation of this subsection. 
Disposing of pesticides at disposal sites approved by the appropriate 
agency complies with the requirements of this subsection.  Toxicity, 
volatility,  and  mobility  of  pesticides  shall  be  considered  in 
complying with this subsection.
                 (7)  No person shall pollute streams, lakes, or other water   
supplies  during  pesticide  loading,  mixing,  and  application. 
Adequate,  functioning  devices  and  procedures  to  prevent  back 
siphoning shall be used.
                 (8)  No pesticides shall be applied by aircraft or air blast   
sprayers to property abutting and/or adjacent to occupied schools in 
session,  hospitals,  nursing homes  or  other  similar  establishments 
under  conditions  that  may  result  in  contamination  of  these 
establishments or their premises.
                 (9)  No person shall apply pesticides if weather conditions   
are such that physical drift or volatilization may cause damage to 
adjacent  land,  injure  humans,  other  nontarget  species,  or  the 
environment.
                 (10)   Requirements  for  unattended  pesticides  and  their   
containers:
                 (a)  Generally accepted good housekeeping practices shall   
be maintained for all pesticides and their containers.
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                 (b)  The provisions of (d) and (e) of this subsection and   
subsection (11) of this section shall  not apply to empty pesticide 
containers when adequately decontaminated (e.g., appropriate triple 
rinsing or other label approved cleaning techniques).
                 (c)  For the purposes of (d) and (e) of this subsection and   
subsection (11) of this section, pesticides and their containers at the 
loading area shall not be considered unattended during the spraying 
operation  if  the  operator  maintains  either  visual  control  or 
repeatedly  returns  at  closely  spaced  intervals  as  to  ensure  safe 
monitoring of the pesticides and containers.
                 (d)   Pesticides  labeled  with  the  signal  word   
"danger/poison" and their containers shall be stored in a way which, 
when  unattended,  shall  be  so  constructed  and  locked  to  prevent 
children,  unauthorized  persons,  livestock,  or  other  animals  from 
gaining entry.
                 (e)  Pesticides labeled with the signal word "danger" when   
not  accompanied by the signal  word  "poison," pesticides  labeled 
with  the  signal  word  "warning"  and  pesticides  labeled  with  the 
signal word "caution" and their containers shall be stored in secured 
storage out of the reach of children in an enclosure as described in  
(d) of this subsection: Provided that metal containers, twenty-eight 
gallons and larger, with tight screw-type bungs and/or secured or 
locked valves shall be considered secured storage.
                 (11)   Requirements  for  posting  of  storage  area  for   
pesticides  and  their  containers  labeled  with  the  signal  words 
"danger/poison":
                 (a)  For purposes of this subsection, warning signs shall   
show  the  skull  and  crossbones  symbol  and  the  words: 
"Danger/Poison (Pesticide or Chemical) Storage Area/Keep Out" in 
at least two inch letters.
                 (b)  Warning signs shall be posted:  
                 (i)   On enclosures specified in subsection (6)(d) of this   
section;
                 (ii)  At each entrance or exit from a storage area and on   
each exterior wall, so that a sign is visible from any direction;
                 (iii)  If the pesticide storage area is contained in a larger,   
multipurpose  structure,  warning  signs  shall  be  clearly visible  on 
each entrance of the storage area.
 [(2)](12)  In accordance with State of Utah Agricultural 
Code, the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food hereby adopts 
the applicable portions of 40 CFR Part 152 Subpart A Section 152.3 
and Part 165, Subparts A through E.

R68-7-[11]14.  Unlawful Acts.
Any person who has committed any of the following acts 

is  in  violation  of  the  Utah  Pesticide  Control  Act  or  rules 
promulgated thereunder and is subject to penalties provided for in 
Sections 4-2-2 through 4-2-15:
 (1)  Made false, fictitious, or fraudulent claims, written or 
spoken misrepresenting the use, effect of pesticides, certification of 
applicator, or methods to be utilized;

(2)  Applied known ineffective or improper pesticides;
(3)  Operated in a faulty, careless or negligent manner;
(4)  Neglected or, after notice, refused to comply with the 

provisions  of  the  Act,  these  rules  or  of  any lawful  order  of  the 
department;

(5)  Refused or neglected to keep and maintain records 
required by these rules, or to make reports when and as required;

(6)  Made false or fraudulent records, invoices or reports;
 (7)  Engaged in the business of, advertised for, or held self 
out as applying a pesticide for hire or compensation on the lands of 
another without having a valid commercial applicator's license;
 (8)  Purchased, Used, or supervised the use of, a pesticide 
which is restricted to use by "certified applicators" without having 
qualified as a certified applicator or designated as a certified private 
applicators agent;

(9)   Used  fraud  or  misrepresentation  in  making 
application  for,  or  renewal  of,  a  registration,  license,  permit  or 
certification;

(10)  Refused or neglected to comply with any limitations 
or restrictions on or in a duly issued license or permit;

(11)  Used or caused to be used any pesticide in a manner 
inconsistent  with  its  labeling or  rules  of  the department  if  those 
rules further restrict the uses provided on the labeling;

(12)  Aided or abetted a licensed or an unlicensed person 
to evade the provisions of the Act; conspired with such a licensed or 
an unlicensed person to evade the provisions of the Act; or allowed 
one's license or permit to be used by another person;

(13)   Impersonated  any  federal,  state,  county,  or  other 
government official;
 (14)  Distributed any pesticide labeled for restricted use to 
any person unless such person or his/her agent has a valid license, 
or  permit  to  use,  supervise  the  use,  or  distribute  restricted-use 
pesticide;

(15)  Applied pesticides onto any land without the consent 
of  the  owner  or  person  in  possession  thereof;  except,  for 
governmental agencies which must abate a public health problem.
 (16)  For an applicator to apply a termiticide at less than 
label rate[ or inconsistent with rules of the department if those rules 
further restrict the uses provided on the labeling].
 (17)  For an employer of a commercial or non-commercial 
applicator to allow an employee to apply pesticide(s) before  that 
individual  has  successfully  completed  the  prescribed  pesticide 
certification procedures.

(18)  For a pesticide applicator not to have his/her current 
license in his/her immediate possession at all times when making a 
pesticide application.

(19)  To allow an application of pesticide to run off, or 
drift from the target area to cause plant, animal, human or property 
damage.
 (20)   Refused  or  neglected  to  register  a  pesticide 
applicator business with the Utah Department  of Agriculture  and 
Food or follow the rules set forth in section R68-7-10 for licensing 
of a commercial business.

(21)  To handle or apply any registered pesticide for which 
the person does not have an appropriate, complete, or legible label 
at hand.

(22)   Refused or  neglected to  comply with the Federal 
Container and Containment regulations.
                 (23)  Failure to perform fumigation applications according   
to the standards required by this rule.
                 (24)   Failed  to  display  business  license  numbers  in   
accordance with this rule.
                 (25)  Refused or neglected to notify the customer of the   
application of a restricted-use pesticide and the information detailed 
in R68-7-10.
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                 (26)  Failure of a qualifying party of the business licensee   
to  train or  prepare  the  applicator  to  comply fully  with  the Utah 
Pesticide statutes and rules and label and labeling directions.
                 (27)  Failure to timely and fully respond to requests by the   
commissioners designated agent for information relating to training 
and equipping of applicators.
                 (28)  Transported, stored, handled, used, or disposed of a   
pesticide or pesticides container inconsistent with rules specified in 
section R68-7-13.

R68-7-15.  Penalty Matrix.
                 In the disposition of administrative cases, the Department   
shall use a penalty matrix to determine appropriate penalties.  The 
Department shall calculate penalties based on the level of violation 
and the adverse effect(s) or potential adverse effects at the time of 
the incident(s) giving rise to the violation.  The median penalty shall 
be assessed unless a proportionate adjustment is warranted and/or 
there are aggravating or mitigating factors present.
                 (1)   The  Department  may  consider  circumstances   
enhancing or reducing the penalty based on the seriousness of the 
violation.  Aggravating and mitigating factors include,  but are not 
limited to, the following:
                 (a)  The number of separate alleged violations contained   
within a single notice of intent.
                 (b)   The  magnitude  of  the  harm,  or  potential  harm,   
including  quantity  and/or  degree,  to  humans,  nontarget  species, 
property, or the environment caused by the violation(s).
                 (c)   The  similarity  of  the  current  alleged  violation  to   
violations  committed  by  the  pesticide  applicator  and/or  business 
during previous years.
                 (d)  The extent to which the alleged violation is part of a   
pattern of the same or substantially similar conduct.
                 (2)  The Department will annually review past violation   
trends and update the penalty matrix based on compliance history.
                 (a)  A copy of the penalty matrix will be made available   
from the Department upon request.

KEY:  inspections, pesticides
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
4, 2010]2011
Notice of Continuation:  March 16, 2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-14-6

34431

Commerce, Real Estate
R162-2c

Utah Residential Mortgage Practices 
and Licensing Rules

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34431
FILED:  02/14/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This amendment:  1) clarifies the roles of principal 
lending manager and branch lending manager; and 2) moves 
from statute and into rule the specific factors that disqualify 
an applicant from licensure.

SUMMARY OF  THE RULE OR CHANGE:   In  Subsection 
R162-2c-201(5),  language  is  added  to  clarify:   1)  that  a 
principal lending manager may not simultaneously serve as a 
branch lending manager; and 2) that an individual may not 
serve  as  the  branch  lending  manager  for  more  than  one 
branch  at  any  given  time.   In  Subsection  R162-2c-202, 
language is added that, to date, has been included in statute 
(Section  61-2c-203).   H.B.  91  (2011  Legislative  Session) 
proposes  to  remove  this  language  so  that  it  may  be 
incorporated  into  rule,  where  the  division  will  have  more 
flexibility  to  make  changes  as  needed  to  comply  with  the 
Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and the Department 
of  Housing  and  Urban  Development  efforts  to  standardize 
mortgage licensing and enforcement across the country.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed amendments do not 
create a new program or requirement that the state will  be 
required to implement or enforce.  Therefore, no fiscal impact 
to the state budget is anticipated.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  are  not 
subject  to Division licensing requirements.   Therefore,  they 
are not affected by these amendments, and no fiscal impact 
to local governments is anticipated.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   Small  businesses  that  operate 
branch offices will be required to assign a unique individual to 
act  as the branch lending manager for each branch office. 
Complying  with  this  requirement  might  require  some small 
businesses  to  arrange  for  a  mortgage  loan  originator  to 
license as a principal lending manager.  A small business that 
chooses to bear these costs on behalf of the loan originator 
will  pay  fees  for  prelicensing  education,  testing,  and 
application.   The Division's  position is that  these costs are 
justified  because  having  qualified  on-site  supervision  of 
branch office activities provides valuable protections for the 
public.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES, OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES: A 
mortgage  loan  originator  who  is  required  by  his  or  her 
employer to obtain the principal lending manager license in 
order  to  serve  as  a  branch  lending  manager  will,  if  the 
employer does not cover the costs, pay fees for prelicensing 
education, testing, and application.  The Division's position is 
that these costs are justified because having qualified on-site 
supervision  of  branch  office  activities  provides  valuable 
protections for the public.  However, a person so affected is 
not  required to  complete additional  continuing education in 
order to renew the principal lending manager license in the 
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same year it is obtained.  Therefore, the costs of obtaining the 
new license will be offset, at least to a degree.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   An 
affected person who is required to obtain the principal lending 
manager  license  in  order  to  serve  as  a  branch  lending 
manager will, if the employer does not cover the costs, pay 
fees for prelicensing education, testing, and application.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This  rule  filing adds the  standards  that  each branch office 
must have its own branch lending manager, and a principal 
lending manager may not simultaneously serve as a branch 
lending  manager.   There  is  a  potential  additional  cost  to 
businesses  that  must  obtain  a  branch lending  manager  to 
meet  this  requirement,  but  such  costs  are  expected  to  be 
outweighed  by  the  benefit  of  having  a  branch  lending 
manager  supervisor  on  site.   No  other  fiscal  impact  to 
businesses is anticipated.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
REAL ESTATE
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jennie Jonsson by phone at 801-530-6706, by FAX at 801-
526-4387, or by Internet E-mail at jjonsson@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Deanna Sabey, Director

R162.  Commerce, Real Estate.
R162-2c.   Utah Residential Mortgage Practices and Licensing 
Rules.
R162-2c-201.  Licensing and Registration Procedures.

(1)  Mortgage loan originator.
(a)  To obtain a Utah license to practice as a mortgage 

loan  originator,  an  individual  who  is  not  currently  and  validly 
licensed in any state shall:

(i)  evidence good moral character pursuant to R162-2c-
202(1);

(ii)   evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of 
residential mortgage loans pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);

(iii)   obtain  a  unique  identifier  through  the  nationwide 
database;

(iv)  successfully complete,  within the 12-month period 
prior  to  the  date  of  application,  40  hours  of  Utah-specific  pre-
licensing education as approved by the division;

(v)(A)  successfully complete  20 hours  of pre-licensing 
education as approved by the nationwide database according to the 
nationwide database outline for national course curriculum; or

(B)   if  the  individual  previously  passed  the  20-hour 
national  course,  obtained  a  license,  and  thereafter  allowed  the 
license to expire, successfully complete continuing education:

(I)  approved by the nationwide database; and
(II)  in the number of hours that would have been required 

to  renew the expired  license in  the year  in  which the individual 
allowed the license to expire;

(vi)   take  and  pass  the  examinations  that  meet  the 
requirements of Section 61-2c-204.1(4) and that:

(A)   are  approved  and  administered  through  the 
nationwide database; and

(B)  consist of a national component and a Utah-specific 
state component;

(vii)   request  licensure  as  a  mortgage  loan  originator 
through the nationwide database;

(viii)  authorize a criminal background check and submit 
fingerprints through the nationwide database;

(ix)   provide  to  the  division  all  relevant  information 
regarding "yes" answers  to disclosure questions found within the 
application submitted on the MU4 form;

(x)  complete,  sign,  and submit to the division a social 
security verification form as provided by the division; and

(xi)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as 
required by the division and by the nationwide database.

(b)  To obtain a Utah license to practice as a mortgage 
loan originator, an individual who is currently and validly licensed 
in another state shall:

(i)  evidence good moral character pursuant to R162-2c-
202(1);

(ii)   evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of 
residential mortgage loans pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);

(iii)(A)  successfully complete,  within  the 12-
month period prior to  the date of application,  40 hours  of Utah-
specific mortgage loan originator prelicensing education; and

(B)   take  and  pass  the  Utah-specific  state  examination 
component;

(iv)   provide  to  the  division  all  relevant  information 
regarding "yes" answers  to disclosure questions found within the 
application submitted on the MU4 form;

(v)   request  licensure  as  a  mortgage  loan  originator 
through the nationwide database;

(vi)  authorize a criminal background check through the 
nationwide database;

(vii)  complete, sign, and submit to the division a social 
security verification form as provided by the division; and

(viii)   pay all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as 
required by the division and by the nationwide database.

(2)  Principal lending manager.  To obtain a Utah license 
to practice as a PLM, an individual shall:

(a)   qualify  as  a  mortgage  loan  originator  through  the 
nationwide database;
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(b)  evidence good moral character pursuant to R162-2c-
202(1);

(c)   evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of 
residential mortgage loans pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);

(d)  obtain approval from the division to take the Utah-
specific  PLM  prelicensing  education  by  evidencing  that  the 
applicant  has,  within  the  five  years  preceding  the  date  of 
application,  had  three  years  of  full-time  active  experience  as  a 
mortgage loan originator;

(e)   within  the  12-month  period  preceding  the  date  of 
application, successfully complete 40 hours of Utah-specific PLM 
prelicensing education as certified by the division;

(f)(i)   if  currently licensed in  Utah as  a  mortgage  loan 
originator, take and pass a principal lending manager examination 
as approved by the commission; or

(ii)  if not currently licensed in Utah as a mortgage loan 
originator, take and pass:

(A)  the Utah-specific state examination component; and
(B)  a principal lending manager examination as approved 

by the commission;
(g)   provide  to  the  division  all  relevant  information 

regarding "yes" answers  to disclosure questions found within the 
application submitted on the MU4 form;

(h)  register in the nationwide database by selecting the 
"principal  lending  manager"  license  type  and  completing  the 
associated MU4 form;

(i)   complete,  sign,  and submit  to  the division  a  social 
security verification form as provided by the division; and

(j)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as 
required by the division and by the nationwide database.

(3)  Associate lending manager. To obtain a Utah license 
to practice as an ALM, an individual shall:

(a)  comply with this Subsection (2)(a)  through (g);
(b)  register in the nationwide database by selecting the 

"associate  lending  manager"  license  type  and  completing  the 
associated MU4 form; and

(c)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as 
required by the division and by the nationwide database.

(4)  Mortgage entity.
(a)   To obtain a  Utah license to operate as  a  mortgage 

entity, a person shall:
(i)   establish  that  all  control  persons  meet  the 

requirements for moral character pursuant to R162-2c-202(1);
(ii)   establish  that  all  control  persons  meet  the 

requirements for competency pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);
(iii)  register any other trade name with the Division of 

Corporations and Commercial Code;
(iv)  register the entity in the nationwide database by:
(A)  submitting an MU1 form that includes:
(I)  all required identifying information;
(II)  the name of the PLM who will serve as the entity's 

qualifying individual;
(III)   the  name  of  any  individuals  who  may  serve  as 

control persons;
(IV)  the entity's registered agent; and
(V)   any other  trade name under  which  the entity will 

operate; and

(B)   creating  a  sponsorship  through  the  nationwide 
database that identifies the mortgage loan originator(s)  sponsored 
by the entity;

(v)  register any branch office operating from a different 
location than the entity;

(vi)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as 
required by the division and by the nationwide database;

(vii)   provide  to  the  division  proof  that  any  assumed 
business name or other trade name is registered with the Division of 
Corporations and Commercial Code;

(viii)  provide to the division all court documents related 
to  any  criminal  proceeding  not  disclosed  through  a  previous 
application or renewal and involving any control person;

(ix)  provide to the division complete documentation of 
any action taken by a regulatory agency against:

(A)  the entity itself; or
(B)  any control person; and
(C)   not  disclosed  through  a  previous  application  or 

renewal; and
(x)  provide to the division a notarized letter on company 

letterhead,  signed  by  the  owner  or  president  of  the  entity, 
authorizing the PLM to use the entity's name.

(b) Restrictions on entity name. No license may be issued 
by the division to an entity that proposes to operate under a name 
that closely resembles the name of another entity licensee, or that 
the  division  determines  might  otherwise  be  confusing  or 
misleading.

(5)  Branch office.
(a)  To register a branch office with the division, a person 

shall:
(i)  obtain a Utah entity license for the entity under which 

the branch office will be registered;
(ii)  submit to the nationwide database an MU3 form that 

includes:
(A)  all required identifying information; and

 (B)  [if  registering on or after  November 1,  2010,  ]the 
name of the ALM who will serve as the branch lending manager;

(iii)  create a sponsorship through the nationwide database 
that identifies the mortgage loan originator(s) who will work from 
the branch office; and

(iv)   pay  all  fees  through  the  nationwide  database  as 
required by the division and by the nationwide database.

(b)   A person  who  registers  another  trade  name  and 
operates  under  that  trade name from an address  that  is  different  
from the address of the entity shall register the other trade name as a  
branch office pursuant to this Subsection (5).
                 (c)(i)  A PLM may not simultaneously serve as a BLM.  
                 (ii)  An individual may not serve as the BLM for more   
than one branch at any given time.

(6)  Licenses not transferable.
(a)  A licensee shall not transfer the licensee's license to 

any other person.
(b)  A licensee shall not allow any other person to work 

under the licensee's license.
(c)  If a change in corporate structure of a licensed entity 

creates a separate and unique legal entity, that entity shall obtain a 
unique license, and shall not operate under any existing license.
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(7)  Expiration of test results.
(a)   Scores  for  the  mortgage  loan  originator  licensing 

examination shall be valid for five years.
(b)  Scores for the PLM exam shall be valid for 90 days.
(8)  Incomplete PLM or ALM application.
(a)  The division may grant a 30-day extension of the 90-

day application window upon a finding that:
(i)  an applicant has made a good faith attempt to submit a 

completed application; but
(ii)  requires more time to provide missing documents or 

to obtain additional information.
(b)   If  the  applicant  does  not  supply  the  required 

documents or information within the 30-day extension, the division 
may deny the application as incomplete.

(9)   Nonrefundable  fees.  All  fees  are  nonrefundable, 
regardless of whether an application is granted or denied.

(10)  Other trade names.
(a)   The  division  shall  not  approve  a  license  for  any 

person  operating  under  an  assumed  business  name  that  poses  a 
reasonable likelihood of misleading the public into thinking that the 
person is:

(i)  endorsed by the division, the state government, or the 
federal government;

(ii)  an agency of the state or federal government; or
(iii)  not engaged in the business of residential mortgage 

loans.
(b)  A mortgage entity that operates under another trade 

name shall register the other trade name by including it on the MU1 
form and obtaining the required registration.

R162-2c-202. Qualifications for Licensure.
(1)  Character. Individual applicants and control persons 

shall  evidence  good  moral  character,  honesty,  integrity,  and 
truthfulness.

(a)  An applicant [shall be denied a license for]may not 
have:

(i)  [criminal history as outlined in Section 61-2c-203(1)
(a)-(f);]been convicted of, pled guilty to, pled no contest to, pled 
guilty  in  a  similar  manner  to,  or  resolved  by  diversion  or  its 
equivalent:
                 (A)   a  felony  involving  an  act  of  fraud,  dishonesty,  a   
breach of trust, or money laundering;
                 (B)  any felony in the seven years preceding the day on   
which an application is submitted to the division;
                 (C)   in  the  five  years  preceding  the  day  on  which  an   
application is submitted to the division:
                 (I)  a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; or  
                 (II)  a crime in another jurisdiction that is the equivalent   
of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;

[(ii)](D)  in the three years preceding the day on which an 
application  is  submitted  to  the  division, any  misdemeanor 
involving: [fraud,  misrepresentation,  theft,  or  dishonesty  that 
resulted in:
               (A)  a conviction occurring within three years of the date 
of application;
               (B)  a plea agreement occurring within three years of the 
date of application; or
               (C)  a jail or prison release date falling within three years 
of the date of application.]

(I)  fraud;
                 (II)  misrepresentation;  
                 (III)  theft; or  
                 (IV)  dishonesty;  
                 (ii)  had a license as a mortgage loan originator revoked   
by a government regulatory body at any time, unless the revocation 
is subsequently vacated or converted;
                 (iii)   had a  professional license or registration,  whether   
issued  by  a  Utah  regulatory  body  or  by  another  jurisdiction, 
suspended,  surrendered,  canceled,  or  denied  in  the  five  years 
preceding  the  date  the  individual  applies  for  licensure  if  the 
suspension,  surrender,  cancellation,  or  denial  is  based  on 
misconduct in a professional capacity that relates to:
                 (A)  moral character;  
                 (B)  honesty;  
                 (C)  integrity;  
                 (D)  truthfulness; or  
                 (E)  the competency to transact the business of residential   
mortgage loans;
                 (iv)   in  the  five  years  preceding  the  day on  which  an   
application is submitted to the division, been the subject of a bar by 
the:
                 (A)  Securities and Exchange Commission;  
                 (B)  New York Stock Exchange; or  
                 (C)  National Association of Securities Dealers;  
                 (v)   had  a  permanent  injunction  entered  against  the   
individual:
                 (A)  by a court or administrative agency; and  
                 (B)  on the basis of:  
                 (I)   conduct  or  a  practice  involving  the  business  of   
residential mortgage loans; or
                 (II)  conduct involving fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit.  

(b)   An applicant  may be denied a  license  or  issued  a 
restricted  license  for  incidents  in  the  applicant's  past  other  than 
those specified in this Subsection (1)(a) that reflect negatively on 
the applicant's moral character, honesty, integrity, and truthfulness. 
In  evaluating  an  applicant  for  these  qualities,  the  division  and 
commission may consider any evidence, including the following:

(i)  criminal convictions or plea agreements[ entered more 
than three years  prior  to  the date  of  application],  with  particular 
consideration given to  convictions or  plea agreements  relative to 
charges that involve moral turpitude;

(ii)  the circumstances that led to any criminal conviction 
or plea agreement under consideration;

(iii)  past acts related to honesty or moral character, with 
particular  consideration  given  to  any  such  acts  involving  the 
business of residential mortgage loans;

(iv)  dishonest conduct that would be grounds under Utah 
law for sanctioning an existing licensee;

(v)   civil  judgments  in  lawsuits  brought  on grounds of 
fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit;

(vi)  court findings of fraudulent or deceitful activity;
(vii)   evidence of  non-compliance  with  court  orders  or 

conditions of sentencing;
(viii)  evidence of non-compliance with:
(A)   terms  of  a  diversion  agreement  still  subject  to 

prosecution;
(B)  a probation agreement; or
(C)  a plea in abeyance; or
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(ix)  failure to pay taxes or child support obligations.
(2)   Competency.  Individual  applicants  and  control 

persons  shall  evidence  competency  to  transact  the  business  of 
residential  mortgage  loans.  In  evaluating  an  applicant  for 
competency,  the  division  and  commission  may  consider  any 
evidence  that  reflects  negatively  on  an  applicant's  competency, 
including:

(a)  civil judgments, with particular consideration given to 
any such judgments involving the business of residential mortgage 
loans;

(b) failure  to satisfy a civil  judgment  that has not been 
discharged in bankruptcy;

(c)   failure  of  any previous  mortgage  loan  business  in 
which  the  individual  was  engaged,  as  well  as  the  circumstances 
surrounding that failure;

(d)  evidence as to the applicant's business management 
and  employment  practices,  including  the  payment  of  employees, 
independent contractors, and third parties;

(e)  the extent and quality of the applicant's training and 
education in mortgage lending;

(f) the extent and quality of the applicant's  training and 
education in business management;

(g)  the extent  of the applicant's  knowledge of the Utah 
Residential Mortgage Practices Act;

(h)  evidence of disregard for licensing laws;
(i)  evidence of drug or alcohol dependency;
(j)  sanctions placed on professional licenses; and
(k)   investigations  conducted  by  regulatory  agencies 

relative to professional licenses.
(3)   Financial  responsibility.  Individual  applicants  shall 

evidence  financial  responsibility.  To  evaluate  an  applicant  for 
financial responsibility, the division shall:

(a)   access  the credit  information  available  through the 
NMLS of:

(i)   an applicant for initial  licensure,  beginning October 
18, 2010; and

(ii)   a  licensee  who  requests  renewal  during  the  2010 
renewal period, unless the licensee's credit report was reviewed in 
issuing the initial license; and

(b)  give particular consideration to:
(i)  outstanding civil judgments;
(ii)  outstanding tax liens;
(iii)  foreclosures;
(iv)   multiple  social  security  numbers  attached  to  the 

individual's name;
(v)  child support arrearages; and
(vi)  bankruptcies.
(4)  Age. An applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.
(5)  Minimum education. An applicant shall have a high 

school diploma, GED, or equivalent education as approved by the 
commission.

KEY:   residential  mortgage,  loan  origination,  licensing, 
enforcement
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
8, ]2011
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law:   61-2c-
103(3); 61-2c-402(4)(a)

34429

Education, Administration
R277-709

Education Programs Serving Youth in 
Custody

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34429
FILED:  02/14/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is amended to provide for changes to the 
composition of the Coordinating Council for Youth in Custody 
as recommended in a performance audit  conducted by the 
Utah State  Board  of  Education  and the  Utah Coordinating 
Council  for  Youth  in  Custody.   The  changes  also  reflect 
accurate titles of existing divisions. The changes will ensure 
greater compliance with existing statutory language, Section 
53A-1-403.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendments 
include updating Section R277-709-6, Coordinating Council, 
and  Section  R277-709-7,  Advisory  Councils,  to  reflect 
recommended changes to composition and titles, and making 
minor terminology changes throughout the rule.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated costs or 
savings to the state budget.  The amendments only provide 
recommended changes to the composition and titles of the 
Coordinating  Council  and  Advisory  Council  which  do  not 
result in any costs or savings to the state.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated costs 
or  savings  to  local  government.   The  amendments  only 
provide recommended changes to the composition and titles 
of  the Coordinating Council  and Advisory Council  which do 
not  result  in  any  costs  or  savings  to  school  districts  or 
schools.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There are no anticipated costs or 
changes to small businesses.  The amendments only provide 
recommended changes to the composition and titles of the 
Coordinating  Council  and  Advisory  Council  which  do  not 
result in any costs or savings to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to persons other 
than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local  government 
entities.   The  amendments  only  provide  recommended 
changes  to  the  composition  and  titles  of  the  Coordinating 
Council and Advisory Council which do not result in any costs 
or savings.
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are  no  compliance  costs  for  affected  persons.   The 
amendments  only  provide  recommended  changes  to  the 
composition  and  titles  of  the  Coordinating  Council  and 
Advisory Council which do not result in any costs or savings.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
I  have  reviewed  this  rule  and  I  see  no  fiscal  impact  on 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Carol Lear by phone at 801-538-7835, by FAX at 801-538-
7768, or by Internet E-mail at carol.lear@schools.utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:   Carol  Lear,  Director,  School  Law and 
Legislation

R277.  Education, Administration.
R277-709.  Education Programs Serving Youth in Custody.
R277-709-1.  Definitions.

A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education.
B.  "Custody" means the status of being legally subject to 

the control of another person or a public agency.
                 C.  "LEA" means local education agency, including local   
school  boards/  public  school  districts  and  schools,  and  charter 
schools.

[C]D.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education.
[D]E.  "Youth in Custody" means a person defined under 

Section 53A-1-403(1) who does not have a high school diploma or 
a GED certificate.

R277-709-2.  Authority and Purpose.
A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 

Section  3  which  vests  general  control  and  supervision  of  public 
education  in  the  Board,  Section  53A-1-403(1)  which  makes  the 
Board directly responsible for  the education of youth in custody,  
and Section 53A-1-401(3) which allows the Board to adopt rules in 
accordance with its responsibilities.

B.   The  purpose  of  this  rule  is  to  specify  operation 
standards, procedures, and distribution of funds for youth in custody 
programs.

R277-709-3.  Student Evaluation, Education Plans, and [School 
District]LEA Programs.

A.   Each  student  meeting  the  definition  of  youth  in 
custody shall be evaluated at least every three years to determine the 
level  and scope of the student's  educational performance and the 
student's learning abilities.  The evaluation shall include vision and 
auditory tests and shall specify known in-school and extra-school 
factors  which  may affect  the student's  school  performance.   The 
program  receiving  the  student  is  responsible  for  obtaining  the 
student's evaluation records, and, in cases where the records are not 
current, for conducting the evaluation as quickly as possible so that 
unnecessary delay in developing a student's  education program is 
avoided.

B.  Based upon the results of the student evaluation, an 
appropriate student education plan shall be prepared for each youth 
in custody.  The plan shall be reviewed and updated at least once 
each year or immediately following transfer of a student from one 
program to another, whichever is sooner.  The plan is developed in 
cooperation  with  appropriate  representatives  of  other  service 
agencies  working  with  a  student.   The  plan  shall  specify  the 
responsibilities of each of the agencies towards the student and is 
signed by each agency's representative.

C.  [School district]LEA Youth in Custody Programs
(1)  The [school district]LEA shall provide an education 

program for the student which conforms as closely as possible to 
the student's education plan.  Educational services shall be provided 
in  the  least  restrictive  environment  appropriate  for  the  student's 
behavior and educational performance.  Youth in custody who do 
not require special services or supervision beyond that which would 
be available to them were they not in custody shall be considered 
part of the district's regular enrollment and treated accordingly.

(2)  Youth in custody shall not be assigned to, or remain 
in, restrictive or non-mainstream programs simply because of their 
custodial status, [their ]past behavior that does not put others at risk, 
or the inappropriate behavior of other students.

(3)  Education programs to which youth in custody are 
assigned shall meet the standards which are adopted by the Board 
for that type program.  Compliance shall be monitored by the Utah 
State Office of Education in periodic review visits.

(4)  Credit earned in youth in custody programs that are 
accredited shall be accepted at face value in Utah's public schools.

(5)  Educational services shall be sufficiently coordinated 
with non-custody programs to enable youth in custody to continue 
their education with minimal disruption following discharge from 
custody.

D.  Youth in custody shall be admitted to classes within 
five school days following arrival at a new residential placement.  If 
evaluation  and  student  education  plan  development  are  delayed 
beyond that period, the student shall be enrolled temporarily based 
upon the best information available.  The temporary schedule may 
be modified to  meet  the student's  needs after  the evaluation and 
planning process has been completed.

E.  When a student is released from custody or transferred 
to  a  new program,  the sending program shall  bring all  available 
school  records  up  to  date  and  forward  them  to  the  receiving 
program  within  one  week  following  notification  of  release  or 
transfer.
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R277-709-4.  Operation Procedures.
A(1)  the Board shall contract with [school districts]LEAs 

to provide educational services for youth in custody.  The respective 
responsibilities of the Board, [the school district]LEAs, and other 
local  service  providers  for  education  shall  be  established  in  the 
contract.  An [school district]LEA may subcontract with local non-
district  educational  service  providers  for  the  provision  of 
educational services;

(2)   the  Board  may  contract  with  entities  other  than 
[school districts]LEAs only if the Board determines that the [school 
district]LEA is unable to provide[d] adequate education services.

B.  Youth in custody receiving education services by or 
through an [school district]LEA are students of that [district]LEA.

C.   State  funds  appropriated  for  youth  in  custody  are 
allocated  on  the  basis  of  annual  applications  made  by  [school 
districts]LEAs.

D.  The share of funds distributed to an [district]LEA is 
based upon criteria which include the number of youth in custody 
served in the district, the type of program required for the youth, the 
setting for providing services, and the length of the program.

E.  Funds approved for youth in custody projects may be 
expended  solely  for  the  purposes  described  in  the  respective 
funding application.   Unexpended funds may not be carried over 
from one fiscal year to the next, except following specific approval 
of the Board or a designee.

F.  The USOE may retain no more than five percent of the 
annual youth in custody appropriation for program administration. 
No more than one percent of the appropriation may be directed to 
the following specific purposes and services:

(1)  educator professional development;
(2)  electronic educational services specific to a student's  

or [school]LEA's needs;
(3)   youth  in  custody  data  collection  at  the  [school 

district]LEA and state level;
(4)  site visits to youth in custody schools by youth in 

custody personnel; and
(5)  program evaluation at the state level.
G.  Four percent of administrative funds allowed under 

R277-709-4F may  be  withheld  by  the  USOE  to  be  directed  to 
students attending youth in custody programs for short periods of 
time or to new or beginning youth in custody programs.

H.  Federal funds are available under the Elementary and 
Secondary Education Act, 34 C.F.R., Chapter II,  Part 200, Title I,  
Subpart  D,  for  the  education  of  youth  who  are  neglected, 
delinquent, or at risk of dropping out.

I.  The youth in custody program is separate from and not 
conducted  under  the  state's  education  program for  students  with 
disabilities.  Custodial status alone does not qualify a student as a 
student  with  a  disability  under  laws  regulating  education  for 
students with disabilities.

J.  The Board, or its designee, shall adopt uniform pupil 
and fiscal accounting procedures, forms, and deadlines for the youth 
in custody program.

K.  Education staff assigned to youth in custody shall be 
qualified  and  appropriate  for  their  assignments.   The  teaching 
license and endorsement  held by a  teacher  shall  be important  in 
evaluating  the  appropriateness  of  a  teacher's  assignment  but  not 
controlling.  Elementary teachers may teach secondary-age students 
who  are  functioning  at  an  elementary  level  in  the  subjects  in 

question.  Teachers shall not be required to hold special education 
licenses, although such licenses are encouraged.

R277-709-5.  Confidentiality.
A.   Transcripts  and  diplomas  prepared  for  youth  in 

custody  shall  be  issued  in  the  name  of  an  existing  [district  or 
school]LEA which  also serves non-custodial  youth  and  shall  not 
bear references to custodial status.

B. School records which refer to custodial status, juvenile 
court  records,  and  related  matters  shall  be  kept  separate  from 
permanent  school  records,  but  are  nonetheless  student  records  if 
retained by the [school/district]LEA.

C.  Members of the interagency team which design and 
oversee  student  education  plans  shall  have  access,  through team 
member  representatives  of  the  participating  agencies,  to  relevant 
records  of  the  various  agencies.   The  records  and  information 
obtained  from the  records  remain  the  property of  the  supplying 
agency and shall not be transferred or shared with other persons or 
agencies without the permission of the supplying agency.

D.  All information maintained in permanent form on a 
student  from  whatever  source  derived  or  received,  is  a  student 
record under the Family Educational  Rights  and Privacy Act,  34 
C.F.R., Part 99.

R277-709-6.  Coordinating Council.
A.  The Department  of Human Services  and the Board 

shall  appoint  a  coordinating  council  to  plan,  coordinate,  and 
recommend  budget,  policy,  and  program  guidelines  for  the 
education and treatment of persons in the custody of the Division of 
[Youth Corrections]Juvenile  Justice  Services and the Division  of 
Child and Family Services.   The Council  shall  operate under the 
guidelines developed and approved by the Department of Human 
Services and the Board.

B.  Council membership shall include a representative of 
the following:

(1)   [Office of Licensing under  ]Department  of Human 
Services;

(2)   [State  ]Division  of  [Youth  Corrections]Juvenile 
Justice Services;
[              (3)   multipurpose  facilities  under  Division  of  Youth 
Corrections;
               (4)   urban  detention  facilities  under  Division  of  Youth 
Corrections;
               (5)   observation/diagnostic  facilities  under  Division  of 
Youth Corrections;
               (6)  long term secure facilities under Division of Youth 
Corrections;
               (7)  case  management  under  Division  of  Youth 
Corrections;
] ([8]3)  [State ]Division of Child and Family Services;
[              (9)  Regional Division of Child and Family Services;
] ([10]4)  Utah State Office of Education.

([11]5)   [Utah  school  districts  Youth  in  Custody 
directors]LEAs;

([12]6)  [district ]juvenile courts;
([13]7)  community-based private providers;
([14]8)  foster parents;
([15]9)  a Native American tribe; and

                 (10)  Guardian ad Litem's Office  .

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2011, Vol. 2011, No. 5 19



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 34429

R277-709-7.  Advisory Councils.
 A.   Each [school district]LEA serving youth in custody 
shall establish a local interagency advisory council which shall be 
responsible for advising member agencies concerning coordination 
of  youth  in  custody  programs.   Members  of  the  council  shall  
include, if applicable to the [district]LEA, the following:

(1)  a representative of the Division of Child and Family 
Services;
 (2)   a  representative  of  the  Division  of  [Youth 
Corrections]Juvenile Justice Services;

(3)   directors  of  agencies  located  in  a  district  such  as 
detention  centers,  secure  lockup  facilities  and  observation  and 
assessment units;
 (4)   a  representative  of  community-based  alternative 
programs for custodial juveniles[ such as Heritage Group Home and 
Odyssey House]; and
 (5)  a representative of the [school district]LEA.

B.  The council shall adopt by-laws for its operation.
C.  Local interagency advisory councils shall meet at least 

quarterly.

KEY:  students, education, juvenile courts
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [May 16, 
2006]2011
Notice of Continuation:  January 8, 2008
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53A-1-403(1); 53A-1-401(3)

34428

Environmental Quality, Air Quality
R307-214

National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  34428

FILED:  02/10/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  Rule R307-214, National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  (NESHAPs),  must  be  updated 
periodically to reflect changes to the NESHAPs as published 
in Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations (40 CFR) Parts 
61  and  63.   This  action  incorporates  changes  that  where 
made to 40 CFR Parts 61 and 63 incorporated by reference 
in  Rule  R307-214,  including  the  five  new  NESHAPs 
contained  in  40  CFR  Part  63  for  Source  Categories, 
promulgated from 07/01/2009 through 07/01/2010.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The version of the 
CFR  for  environmental  regulations  has  been  updated  to 

07/01/2010; therefore it  is necessary to update Rule R307-
214.  The changes to the incorporated section of the CFR are 
summarized  below  according  to  the  rule  section  that 
incorporates them.  Section R307-214-1: Federal Register / 
Vol. 74, No. 206 / Tuesday, October 27, 2009 / Page 55144. 
Action  added  a  table  identifying  delegations  for  Alabama, 
Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, and 
South  Carolina.   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  74,  No.  241  / 
Thursday, December 17, 2009 / Page 66923.  Action added a 
table  identifying  delegations  for  Delaware,  District  of 
Columbia, Maryland, City of Philadelphia, Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.  Federal Register / 
Vol. 75, No. 71 / Wednesday, April 14, 2010 / Page 19258. 
Action  updated  Address  for  delegated  state:  Louisiana. 
Subsection R307-214-2(1):  Federal Register /  Vol.  74, No. 
207 /  Wednesday,  October  28,  2009 /  Page 55683.  Action 
incorporations by reference material available from the Texas 
Commission  on  Environmental  Quality  (TCEQ)  Library. 
Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 224 / Monday, November 23, 
2009 / Page 61043.  Action incorporated by reference State 
and  Local  Requirements  for  Massachusetts  Department  of 
Environmental  Protection.    Federal Register /  Vol.  75,  No. 
117  /  Friday,  June  18,  2010  /  Page  34653.   Action 
incorporated  by  reference  Rhode  Island  Department  of 
Environmental  Management  regulations  at  Air  Pollution 
Control Regulation No. 36, Control of Emissions from Organic 
Solvent Cleaning, effective April 8, 1996.  Federal Register / 
Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 9674. 
Action revises specifications in Section 63.6590, What parts 
of my plant does this subpart cover?  Federal Register / Vol. 
75,  No.  125  /  Wednesday,  June  30,  2010  /  Page  37733. 
Action revised specifications in Section 63.6590, What parts 
of my plant does this subpart cover?  Federal Register / Vol. 
75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 9675.  Action 
revised specification outlined in Section 63.6595, When do I 
have to comply with this subpart?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, 
No. 41 /  Wednesday,  March 3,  2010 /  Page 9675.  Action 
added an introductory paragraph to Section 63.6600, What 
emission limitations and operating limitations must I meet if I 
own or operate a stationary RICE with a site rating of more 
than  500  brake  HP  located  at  a  major  source  of  HAP 
emissions,  and  revises  other  paragraphs  in  this  section. 
Federal  Register  /  Vol.  75,  No. 41 /  Wednesday,  March 3, 
2010 / Page 9675.  Action revised specification of compliance 
with  the  numerical  emission  limitations  established  in  this 
subpart is based on the results of testing the average of three 
1-hour runs using the testing requirements and procedures in 
63.6620, and Table 4 to this subpart.  Federal Register / Vol. 
75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 9675.  Action 
added  Section  63.6602,  What  emission  limitations  must  I 
meet if I own or operate an existing stationary CI RICE with a 
site rating of equal to or less than 500 brake HP located at a 
major source of HAP emissions?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, 
No. 41 /  Wednesday,  March 3,  2010 /  Page 9675.  Action 
added  Section  63.6603,  What  emission  limitations  and 
operating  limitations  must  I  meet  if  I  own  or  operate  an 
existing stationary CI RICE located at an area source of HAP 
emissions?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, 
March 3, 2010 / Page 9675.  Action added Section 63.6604, 
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What fuel requirements must I meet if  I own or operate an 
existing stationary CI RICE?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 
41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 9675.  Action revised 
general requirements for complying with the subpart.  Federal 
Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 
9676.  Action added Section 63.6612, By what date must I 
conduct  the  initial  performance  tests  or  other  initial 
compliance  demonstrations  if  I  own or  operate  an  existing 
stationary RICE with a site rating of less than or equal to 500 
brake HP located at a major source of HAP emissions or an 
existing stationary RICE located at an area source of  HAP 
emissions?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, 
March 3, 2010 / Page 9676.  Action revised requirements of 
performance testing.   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  75,  No.  41  / 
Wednesday,  March  3,  2010  /  Page  9676.   Action  revised 
Section  63.6625,  What  are  my  monitoring,  installation, 
collection,  operation,  and  maintenance  requirements? 
Federal  Register  /  Vol.  75,  No. 41 /  Wednesday,  March 3, 
2010 / Page 9676.  Action revised requirements specified in 
Section  63.6640,  How  do  I  demonstrate  continuous 
compliance  with  the  emission  limitations  and  operating 
limitations?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, 
March 3, 2010 / Page 9677.  Action revises Section 63.6645, 
What notifications must I submit and when?  Federal Register 
/ Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 9677. 
Action revised Section 63.6650, What reports must I submit 
and when?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, 
March 3, 2010 / Page 9678.  Action revised Section 63.6655, 
What records must I keep?  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 
/ Wednesday,  March 3, 2010 / Page 9678.  Action revised 
Section 63.6660, In what form and how long must I keep my 
records?  Federal Register /  Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, 
March 3, 2010 / Page 9678.  Action revises Section 63.6665, 
What parts of the General Provisions apply to me?  Federal 
Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 
9679.  Action revised Section 63.6675, What definitions apply 
to this subpart?  Black start engine; Diesel fuel; Emergency 
stationary  RICE;  Residential  /  commercial  /  institutional 
emergency  stationary  RICE.   Subsection  R307-214-2(18): 
Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 207 / Wednesday, October 28, 
2009  /  Page  55683.   Action  revised,  Section  63.640, 
specifications  relating  to  applicability  and  designation  of 
affected  sources.   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  74,  No.  207  / 
Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / Page 55685.  Action added 
definitions for "cooling tower",  and "heat exchange system" 
and  revise  the  definition  of  "continuous  record"  to  Section 
63.641.  Federal  Register /  Vol. 74, No. 207 / Wednesday, 
October  28,  2009  /  Page  55685.   Action  revised  general 
standards  affecting  compliance  requirements  in  Section 
63.642.  Federal  Register /  Vol. 74, No. 207 / Wednesday, 
October  28,  2009  /  Page  55685.   Action  revised  request 
approval to monitor parameters not listed in Section 63.644. 
Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 207 / Wednesday, October 28, 
2009  /  Page  55685.   Action  revised  test  method  and 
procedures  where  recalculated  TOC  emissions  exceed  33 
kilograms in Section 63.645.  Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 
207 / Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / Page 55685.  Action 
revised the determination of stored liquid weight percent total 
organic HAP for purposes of group determination in Section 

63.646.  Federal  Register /  Vol. 75, No. 125 / Wednesday, 
June 30, 2010 / Page 37731.  Action revised storage vessel 
provisions in Section 63.646.  Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 
207 / Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / Page 55685.  Action 
revises gasoline loading rack provisions in  Section 63.650. 
Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 207 / Wednesday, October 28, 
2009  /  Page  55685.   Action  revised  marine  tank  vessel 
loading  operation  provisions  in  Section  63.651.   Federal 
Register / Vol. 74, No. 207 / Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / 
Page 55686.  Action revises emissions averaging provisions 
in  Section  63.652.   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  74,  No.  207  / 
Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / Page 55686.  Action revised 
monitoring,  recordkeeping,  and  implementation  plans  for 
emission in Section 63.653.  Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 
207 /  Wednesday,  October  28,  2009 /  Page 55686.  Action 
redesignated Sections 63.654 and 63.655 as Sections 63.655 
and  63.656,  and  adds  Section  63.654,  Heat  exchange 
systems.  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 125 / Wednesday, 
June 30, 2010 / Page 37731.  Action amended introductory 
test  of  Section  63.654  Heat  exchange  systems.   Federal 
Register / Vol. 74, No. 207 / Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / 
Page  55687.   Action  amended  newly  designated  Section 
63.655, Reporting and recordkeeping requirements.  Federal 
Register /  Vol.  75,  No. 125 /  Wednesday,  June 30, 2010 / 
Page 37731.  Action revised Section 63.655, Reporting and 
recordkeeping  requirements,  by  replacing  references  to 
Section 63.122 in Section 63.123 of  subpart  G of  this part 
with Section 63.655(e).  Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 207 / 
Wednesday, October 28, 2009 / Page 55688.  Action revised 
newly  redesignated  Section  63.656,  Implementation  and 
enforcement  affecting  approval  of  alternatives,  to  the 
requirements  in  Section  63.640,  63.642(g)  through  (l), 
63.643,  63.646  through  63.652,  and  63.654.   Federal 
Register /  Vol.  75,  No. 125 /  Wednesday,  June 30, 2010 / 
Page 37731.  Action revised the appendix to Subpart CC of 
Part 63 column headings of Table 4.  Subsection R307-214-
2(77):  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 
3, 2010 / Page 9679.  Action revised emission limitations for 
existing,  new,  and  reconstructed  spark  ignition,  4SRB 
Stationary RICE >500 HP Located at a Major Source of HAP 
Emissions  located  in  Table  1a  of  Subpart  ZZZZ.   Federal 
Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 
9680.  Action revised emission limitations for existing, new, 
and reconstructed spark ignition, 4SRB Stationary RICE >500 
HP Located at a Major Source of HAP Emissions in Table 2b 
of  Subpart  ZZZZ.   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  75,  No.  41  / 
Wednesday,  March  3,  2010  /  Page  9681.   Action  revised 
compliance  requirements  for  existing  compression  ignition 
Stationary  RICE  in  Tables  2c  and  2d  of  Subpart  ZZZZ. 
Federal  Register  /  Vol.  75,  No. 41 /  Wednesday,  March 3, 
2010  /  Page  9682.   Action  revised  performance  test 
requirements  listed  in  Table  3  of  Subpart  ZZZZ.   Federal 
Register / Vol. 75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 
9684.   Action  revised  initial  compliance  with  emissions 
limitations  and  operating  limitations  in  Table  5  of  Subpart 
ZZZZ.   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  75,  No.  41  /  Wednesday, 
March  3,  2010  /  Page  9685.   Action  revised  continuous 
compliance  with  emissions  limitations  and  operating 
limitations in Table 6 of Subpart ZZZZ.  Federal Register / Vol. 
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75, No. 41 / Wednesday, March 3, 2010 / Page 9687.  Action 
revised reporting requirements in Table 7 of Subpart ZZZZ. 
Federal  Register  /  Vol.  75,  No. 41 /  Wednesday,  March 3, 
2010 /  Page 9688.   Action  revised  applicability  of  general 
provisions  in  Table  8  of  Subpart  ZZZZ.   R307-214-2(114): 
Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 208 / Thursday, October 29, 
2009 / Page 56041.  Action added a new subpart:  Subpart 
VVVVVV,  National  Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air 
Pollutants  for  Chemical  Manufacturing  Area  Sources. 
Subsection R307-214-2(119):  Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 
174 / Thursday, September 10, 2009 / Page 46495.  Action 
revised qualifying conditions governing when one is subject to 
Subpart  ZZZZZZ.   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  74,  No.  174  / 
Thursday,  September  10,  2009  /  Page  46495.   Action 
redesignated  paragraph  citations  in  Section  63.11553. 
Subsection R307-214-2(120):  Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 
230 / Wednesday, December 2, 2009 / Page 63260.  Action 
added  a  subpart:  Subpart  AAAAAAA,  Standards  for 
Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Area  Sources:  Asphalt 
Processing  and  Asphalt  Roofing  Manufacturing.   Federal 
Register / Vol. 75, No. 52 / Thursday, March 18, 2010 / Page 
12989.   Action  amended  authority  citation  for  Subpart 
AAAAAAA.  R307-214-2(121):  Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 
249 / Wednesday, December 30, 2009 / Page 69208.  Action 
added new subpart:  Subpart  BBBBBBB, National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Area  Sources: 
Chemical  Preparations  Industry.   Subsection  R307-214-
2(122):   Federal  Register  /  Vol.  74,  No.  231  /  Thursday, 
December 3, 2009 / Page 63525.  Action added new subpart: 
Subpart  CCCCCCC,  National  Emission  Standards  for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Sources: Paints and Allied 
Products Manufacturing.  Federal Register / Vol. 75, No. 43 / 
Friday, March 5, 2010 / Page 10186.  Action revised the date 
effecting one being subject to Subpart CCCCCCC.  Federal 
Register  /  Vol.  75,  No.  43 /  Friday,  March 5,  2010 /  Page 
10186.   Action  revised  standards  for  new  and  existing 
manufacturing  facilities  in  Section  63.11601.   Federal 
Register  /  Vol.  75,  No.  43 /  Friday,  March 5,  2010 /  Page 
10186.   Action  revised  introductory  text  and  certain 
compliance  requirements  in  Section  63.11602.   Federal 
Register  /  Vol.  75,  No.  43 /  Friday,  March 5,  2010 /  Page 
10186.   Action  revises  notification,  reporting,  and 
recordkeeping  requirements  in  Section  63.11603.   Federal 
Register / Vol. 75, No. 106 / Thursday, June 3, 2010 / Page 
31320.  Action revised definition of "material containing HAP" 
in Section 63.11607.  Subsection R307-214-2(123):  Federal 
Register / Vol. 75, No. 2 / Tuesday, January 5, 2010 / Page 
546.   Action  added  a  new subpart:   Subpart  DDDDDDD, 
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for 
Area Sources:  Prepared Feeds Manufacturing.  Additionally, 
some renumbering is being proposed in order to incorporate 
the new subparts.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a)

MATERIALS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCES:
♦ Updates 40 CFR, published by Government 
Printing Office, July 1, 2010

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  No cost or savings is anticipated for 
state budget  as this  amendment  does not  create any new 
requirements.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No cost or savings is anticipated 
for local government as this amendment does not create any 
new requirements.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  No cost or savings is anticipated for 
small  businesses  as  this  amendment  does  not  create  any 
new requirements.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES, OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES: No 
cost or savings is  anticipated for persons other  than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities as this 
amendment does not create any new requirements.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   No 
cost  or  savings  is  anticipated  for  affected  persons  as  this 
amendment does not create any new requirements.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No  cost  or  savings  is  anticipated  for  businesses  as  this 
amendment does not create any new requirements.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
AIR QUALITY
ROOM FOURTH FLOOR 
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Kimberly Kreykes by phone at  801-536-4042,  by FAX at 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at kkreykes@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/04/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Bryce Bird, Planning Branch Manager

R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality.
R307-214.   National  Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air 
Pollutants.
R307-214-1.  Pollutants Subject to Part 61.

The  provisions  of  Title  40  of  the  Code  of  Federal 
Regulations  (40  CFR)  Part  61,  National  Emission  Standards  for 
Hazardous  Air  Pollutants,  effective  as  of  July  1,  2010[09],  are 
incorporated into these rules by reference.  For pollutant emission 
standards delegated to the State, references in 40 CFR Part 61 to 
"the Administrator" shall refer to the Executive Secretary.
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R307-214-2.  Sources Subject to Part 63.
The provisions listed below of 40 CFR Part 63, National 

Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Source 
Categories, effective as of July 1, 2010[09], are incorporated into 
these rules  by reference.   References in  40 CFR Part  63 to "the  
Administrator"  shall  refer  to  the  executive  secretary,  unless  by 
federal law the authority is specific to the Administrator and cannot 
be delegated.

(1)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart A, General Provisions.
(2)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart B, Requirements for Control 

Technology Determinations for Major Sources in Accordance with 
42 U.S.C. 7412(g) and (j).

(3)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  F,  National  Emission 
Standards for Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants from the Synthetic 
Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry.

(4)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  G,  National  Emission 
Standards for Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants from the Synthetic 
Organic  Chemical  Manufacturing  Industry  for  Process  Vents, 
Storage Vessels, Transfer Operations, and Wastewater.

(5)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  H,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Organic  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Equipment 
Leaks.

(6)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  I,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Organic  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Certain 
Processes  Subject  to  the  Negotiated  Regulation  for  Equipment 
Leaks.

(7)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  J,  National  Emission 
Standards for Polyvinyl Chloride and Copolymers Production.

(8)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  L,  National  Emission 
Standards for Coke Oven Batteries.

(9)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  M,  National 
Perchloroethylene  Air  Emission  Standards  for  Dry  Cleaning 
Facilities.

(10)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  N,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Chromium  Emissions  From  Hard  and  Decorative 
Chromium Electroplating and Chromium Anodizing Tanks.

(11)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  O,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Ethylene  Oxide 
Commercial Sterilization and Fumigation Operations.

(12)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  Q,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Industrial  Process 
Cooling Towers.

(13)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  R,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Gasoline  Distribution  Facilities  (Bulk  Gasoline 
Terminals and Pipeline Breakout Stations).

(14)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  T,  National  Emission 
Standards for Halogenated Solvent Cleaning.

(15)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  U,  National  Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutant Emissions: Group I Polymers 
and Resins.

(16)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  AA,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Phosphoric  Acid 
Manufacturing.

(17)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  BB,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Phosphate  Fertilizer 
Production.

(18)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  CC,  National  Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants from Petroleum Refineries.

(19)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  DD,  National  Emission 
Standards for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  from Off-Site  Waste  and 
Recovery Operations.

(20)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  EE,  National  Emission 
Standards for Magnetic Tape Manufacturing Operations.

(21)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  GG,  National  Emission 
Standards for Aerospace Manufacturing and Rework Facilities.

(22)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  HH,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Oil  and  Natural  Gas 
Production.

(23)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  JJ,  National  Emission 
Standards for Wood Furniture Manufacturing Operations.

(24)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  KK,  National  Emission 
Standards for the Printing and Publishing Industry.

(25)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MM, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Chemical  Recovery 
Combustion  Sources  at  Kraft,  Soda,  Sulfite,  and  Stand-Alone 
Semichemical Pulp Mills.

(26)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  OO,  National  Emission 
Standards for Tanks - Level 1.

(27)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  PP,  National  Emission 
Standards for Containers.

(28)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  QQ,  National  Emission 
Standards for Surface Impoundments.

(29)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  RR,  National  Emission 
Standards for Individual Drain Systems.

(30)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  SS,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Closed  Vent  Systems,  Control  Devices,  Recovery 
Devices and Routing to a Fuel Gas System or a Process (Generic 
MACT).

(31)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  TT,  National  Emission 
Standards for Equipment Leaks- Control Level 1 (Generic MACT).

(32)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  UU,  National  Emission 
Standards for Equipment Leaks-Control Level 2 Standards (Generic 
MACT).

(33)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  VV,  National  Emission 
Standards for Oil-Water Separators and Organic-Water Separators.

(34)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart WW, National Emission 
Standards  for  Storage  Vessels  (Tanks)-Control  Level  2  (Generic 
MACT).

(35)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  XX,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Ethylene  Manufacturing  Process  Units:  Heat 
Exchange Systems and Waste Operations.

(36)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  YY,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Source  Categories: 
Generic MACT.

(37)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart CCC, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Steel  Pickling-HCl 
Process Facilities and Hydrochloric Acid Regeneration Plants.

(38)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart DDD, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Mineral  Wool 
Production.

(39)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEE, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  from  Hazardous  Waste 
Combustors.

(40) 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart  GGG, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Pharmaceuticals 
Production.
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(41)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HHH, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Natural  Gas 
Transmission and Storage.

(42)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  III,  National  Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for  Flexible Polyurethane 
Foam Production.

(43)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  JJJ,  National  Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Group IV Polymers and 
Resins.

(44)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart LLL, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Portland  Cement 
Manufacturing Industry.

(45)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart MMM, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Pesticide  Active 
Ingredient Production.

(46)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart NNN, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Wool  Fiberglass 
Manufacturing.

(47)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart OOO, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Amino/Phenolic Resins 
Production (Resin III).

(48)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  PPP,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Polyether  Polyols 
Production.

(49)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart QQQ, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Primary  Copper 
Smelters.

(50)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart RRR, National Emission 
Standards for  Hazardous Air Pollutants  for  Secondary Aluminum 
Production.

(51)  40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart TTT, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Primary Lead Smelting.

(52)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart UUU, National Emission 
Standards for  Hazardous Air Pollutants  for  Petroleum Refineries: 
Catalytic  Cracking  Units,  Catalytic  Reforming  Units,  and  Sulfur 
Recovery Units.

(53)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart VVV, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants: Publicly Owned Treatment 
Works.

(54)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart AAAA, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Municipal Solid Waste 
Landfills.

(55)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart CCCC, National Emission 
Standards for Manufacturing of Nutritional Yeast.

(56)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart DDDD, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Plywood and Composite 
Wood Products.

(57)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEEE, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Organic  Liquids 
Distribution (non-gasoline).

(58)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart FFFF, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Miscellaneous Organic 
Chemical Manufacturing.

(59)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart GGGG, National Emission 
Standards for Vegetable Oil Production; Solvent Extraction.

(60)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart HHHH, National Emission 
Standards for Wet-Formed Fiberglass Mat Production.

(61)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  IIII,  National  Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Surface  Coating  of 
Automobiles and Light-Duty Trucks.

(62)   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  JJJJ,  National  Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Paper and Other Web 
Surface Coating Operations.

(63)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart KKKK, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Surface  Coating  of 
Metal Cans.

(64)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  MMMM,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Surface 
Coating of Miscellaneous Metal Parts and Products.

(65)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart NNNN, National Emission 
Standards for Large Appliances Surface Coating Operations.

(66)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart OOOO, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Fabric Printing, Coating 
and Dyeing Surface Coating Operations.

(67)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart PPPP, National Emissions 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Surface  Coating  of 
Plastic Parts and Products.

(68)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart QQQQ, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Surface  Coating  of 
Wood Building Products.

(69)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart RRRR, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Metal Furniture Surface 
Coating Operations.

(70)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart SSSS, National Emission 
Standards for Metal Coil Surface Coating Operations.

(71)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart TTTT, National Emission 
Standards for Leather Tanning and Finishing Operations.

(72)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart UUUU, National Emission 
Standards for Cellulose Product Manufacturing.

(73)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart VVVV, National Emission 
Standards for Boat Manufacturing.

(74)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  WWWW,  National 
Emissions Standards for  Hazardous Air Pollutants for Reinforced 
Plastic Composites Production.

(75)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart XXXX, National Emission 
Standards for Tire Manufacturing.

(76)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart YYYY, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Stationary Combustion 
Turbines.

(77)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart ZZZZ, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Stationary Reciprocating 
Internal Combustion Engines.

(78)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  AAAAA,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Lime 
Manufacturing Plants.

(79)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  BBBBB,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Semiconductor 
Manufacturing.

(80)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  CCCCC,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Coke Ovens: 
Pushing, Quenching, and Battery Stacks.

(81)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  DDDDD,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Industrial, 
Commercial, and Institutional Boilers and Process Heaters.
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(82)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEEEE, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Iron  and  Steel 
Foundries.

(83)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart FFFFF, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Integrated Iron and Steel 
Manufacturing.

(84)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  GGGGG,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Site 
Remediation.

(85)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  HHHHH,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Miscellaneous 
Coating Manufacturing.

(86)  40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  IIIII,  National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Mercury Emissions from 
Mercury Cell Chlor-Alkali Plants.

(87)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart JJJJJ, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Brick  and  Structural 
Clay Products Manufacturing.

(88)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  KKKKK,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Clay Ceramics 
Manufacturing.

(89)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart LLLLL, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Asphalt Processing and 
Asphalt Roofing Manufacturing.

(90)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  MMMMM,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Flexible 
Polyurethane Foam Fabrication Operations.

(91)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  NNNNN,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Hydrochloric 
Acid Production.

(92)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart PPPPP, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Engine  Test 
Cells/Stands.

(93)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  QQQQQ,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Friction 
Materials Manufacturing Facilities.

(94)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  RRRRR,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Taconite Iron 
Ore Processing.

(95)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart SSSSS, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Refractory  Products 
Manufacturing.

(96)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart TTTTT, National Emission 
Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Primary  Magnesium 
Refining.

(97)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  WWWWW,  National 
Emission Standards for Hospital Ethylene Oxide Sterilizers.

(98)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  YYYYY,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Sources: 
Electric Arc Furnace Steelmaking Facilities.

(99)  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart ZZZZZ, National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Iron and Steel Foundries 
Area Sources.

(100)   40  CFR  Part  63  Subpart  BBBBBB  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Source 
Category: Gasoline Distribution Bulk Terminals, Bulk Plants, and 
Pipeline Facilities

(101)   40  CFR  Part  63  Subpart  CCCCCC  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Source 
Category: Gasoline Dispensing Facilities.

(102)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  DDDDDD,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Polyvinyl 
Chloride and Copolymers Production Area Sources.

(103)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  EEEEEE,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Primary 
Copper Smelting Area Sources.

(104)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  FFFFFF,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Secondary 
Copper Smelting Area Sources.

(105)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  GGGGGG,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Primary 
Nonferrous Metals Area Sources--Zinc, Cadmium, and Beryllium.

(106)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  LLLLLL,  National 
Emission Standards for  Hazardous Air Pollutants for Acrylic and 
Modacrylic Fibers Production Area Sources.

(107)  40 CFR Part  63, Subpart MMMMMM, National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Carbon Black 
Production Area Sources.

(108)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  NNNNNN,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Chemical 
Manufacturing Area Sources: Chromium Compounds.

(109)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  OOOOOO,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Flexible 
Polyurethane Foam Production and Fabrication Area Sources.

(110)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  PPPPPP,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Lead  Acid 
Battery Manufacturing Area Sources.

(111)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  QQQQQQ,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Wood 
Preserving Area Sources.

(112)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  RRRRRR,  National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Clay Ceramics 
Manufacturing Area Sources.

(113)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  SSSSSS,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Glass 
Manufacturing Area Sources.

(114)   40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  VVVVVV,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Chemical 
Manufacturing Area Sources.
                 (115)     40  CFR  Part  63,  Subpart  TTTTTT,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  for  Secondary 
Nonferrous Metals Processing Area Sources.

(116[5])  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart WWWWWW, National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants:  Area  Source 
Standards for Plating and Polishing Operations.

(117[6])  40 CFR Part 63, Subpart XXXXXX, National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants  Area  Source 
Standards  for  Nine  Metal  Fabrication  and  Finishing  Source 
Categories.

(118[7])   40 CFR Part  63,  Subpart  YYYYYY, National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Sources: 
Ferroalloys Production Facilities.

(119[8])   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  ZZZZZZ,  National 
Emission  Standards  for  Hazardous  Air  Pollutants:  Area  Source 
Standards for Aluminum, Copper, and Other Nonferrous Foundries.
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                 (120)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  AAAAAAA,  National   
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Sources: 
Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roofing Manufacturing.
                 (121)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  BBBBBBB,  National   
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Sources: 
Chemical Preparations Industry.
                 (122)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  CCCCCCC,  National   
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Sources: 
Paints and Allied Products Manufacturing.
                 (123)   40  CFR Part  63,  Subpart  DDDDDDD, National   
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Area Sources: 
Prepared Feeds Manufacturing.

KEY:  air pollution, hazardous air pollutant, MACT
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2011[June 
3, 2010]
Notice of Continuation:  January 11, 2008
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-104(1)
(a)

34437

Environmental Quality, Water Quality
R317-1-7

TMDLs
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  34437

FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this amendment is to incorporate 
by  reference  the  completed  and  recently  approved  East 
Canyon  Creek  and  Reservoir  Total  Maximum  Daily  Load 
(TMDL) water quality study and determination into the rule.

SUMMARY  OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   This  section 
incorporates by reference the completed and approved East 
Canyon Reservoir,  East Canyon Creek TMDL into the rule. 
This TMDL document has gone through an individual public 
review process, has been approved by the EPA and has been 
adopted by the Water Quality Board.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 19-5-104

MATERIALS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCES:
♦ Adds East Canyon Reservoir and East Canyon 
Creek TMDL, published by Utah Division of Water 
Quality, 09/01/2000

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated impacts to 
the  state  budget.   The  proposed  amendments  will  be 
addressed using existing resources.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   No  cost  impacts  to  local 
governments  are  anticipated.   No  direct  costs  to  local 
governments  are  mandated  by  the  approved  TMDL. 
However, capital construction costs or costs associated with 
changes  in  management  strategies  to  address  point  and 
nonpoint sources of pollution may or may not be required in 
the future depending on a number of factors that cannot be 
determined  at  this  time.   Implementation  projects  and 
strategies will be made available for discussion and comment 
in a continuing public planning process associated with each 
TMDL.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   No  cost  impacts  to  small 
businesses are anticipated.   No reductions in water  quality 
pollutants  are  specifically  mandated  for  businesses  in  the 
TMDL.   However,  capital  construction  costs  or  costs 
associated  with  changes  in  management  strategies  to 
address point and nonpoint sources of pollution may or may 
not  be  required  in  the  future  depending  on  a  number  of 
factors  that  cannot  be  determined  at  this  time. 
Implementation projects and strategies will be made available 
for discussion and comment in a continuing public planning 
process associated with each TMDL.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES, OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES: No 
cost impacts to other persons are anticipated.  No reductions 
in water quality pollutants are specifically mandated for other 
persons in the TMDL.  However, capital construction costs or 
costs associated with changes in management strategies to 
address point and nonpoint sources of pollution may or may 
not  be  required  in  the  future  depending  on  a  number  of 
factors  that  cannot  be  determined  at  this  time. 
Implementation projects and strategies will be made available 
for discussion and comment in a continuing public planning 
process associated with each TMDL.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   No 
direct compliance costs are anticipated for affected persons. 
No additional compliance requirements were implemented for 
point sources of pollutants as a result of the approved TMDL. 
Strategies  and  management  options  for  reducing  nonpoint 
sources of  pollutants  are identified,  but  are not  specifically 
mandated by the approved TMDL.  Capital construction costs 
or costs associated with changes in management strategies 
to address point  and nonpoint  sources of  pollution may or 
may not be required in the future depending on a number of 
factors  that  cannot  be  determined  at  this  time. 
Implementation projects and strategies will be made available 
for discussion and comment in a continuing public planning 
process associated with each TMDL.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impacts to businesses are anticipated as a result of
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the approved TMDL.  No additional compliance requirements 
were implemented for point sources of pollutants as a result 
of the approved TMDL.  Strategies and management options 
for reducing nonpoint sources of pollutants are identified, but 
are not specifically mandated by the approved TMDL.  Capital 
construction  costs  or  costs  associated  with  changes  in 
management  strategies  to  address  point  and  nonpoint 
sources of pollution may or may not be required in the future 
depending on a number of factors that cannot be determined 
at this time.  Implementation projects and strategies will be 
made available for discussion and comment in a continuing 
public planning process associated with each TMDL.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
WATER QUALITY
ROOM DEQ, THIRD FLOOR 
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Dave Wham by phone at  801-536-4337, by FAX at 801-
536-4301, or by Internet E-mail at dwham@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Walter Baker, Director

R317.  Environmental Quality, Water Quality.
R317-1.  Definitions and General Requirements.
R317-1-7.  TMDLs.

The following  TMDLs are  approved  by the  Board  and 
hereby incorporated by reference into these rules:

7.1  Middle Bear River -- February 23, 2010
7.2  Chalk Creek -- December 23, 1997
7.3  Otter Creek -- December 23, 1997
7.4  Little Bear River -- May 23, 2000
7.5  Mantua Reservoir -- May 23, 2000
7.6  East Canyon Creek -- September 14, 2010[September 

1, 2000]
7.7   East  Canyon  Reservoir  --  September  14, 

2010[September 1, 2000]
7.8  Kents Lake -- September 1, 2000
7.9  LaBaron Reservoir -- September 1, 2000
7.10  Minersville Reservoir -- September 1, 2000
7.11  Puffer Lake -- September 1, 2000
7.12  Scofield Reservoir -- September 1, 2000
7.13  Onion Creek (near Moab) -- July 25, 2002
7.14  Cottonwood Wash -- September 9, 2002
7.15  Deer Creek Reservoir -- September 9, 2002
7.16  Hyrum Reservoir -- September 9, 2002
7.17  Little Cottonwood Creek -- September 9, 2002

7.18  Lower Bear River -- September 9, 2002
7.19  Malad River -- September 9, 2002
7.20  Mill Creek (near Moab) -- September 9, 2002
7.21  Spring Creek -- September 9, 2002
7.22  Forsyth Reservoir -- September 27, 2002
7.23  Johnson Valley Reservoir -- September 27, 2002
7.24  Lower Fremont River -- September 27, 2002
7.25  Mill Meadow Reservoir -- September 27, 2002
7.26  UM Creek -- September 27, 2002
7.27  Upper Fremont River -- September 27, 2002
7.28  Deep Creek -- October 9, 2002
7.29  Uinta River -- October 9, 2002
7.30  Pineview Reservoir -- December 9, 2002
7.31  Browne Lake -- February 19, 2003
7.32  San Pitch River -- November 18, 2003
7.33  Newton Creek -- June 24, 2004
7.34  Panguitch Lake -- June 24, 2004
7.35  West Colorado -- August 4, 2004
7.36  Silver Creek -- August 4, 2004
7.37  Upper Sevier River -- August 4, 2004
7.38  Lower and Middle Sevier River -- August 17,2004
7.39  Lower Colorado River -- September 20, 2004
7.40  Upper Bear River -- August 4, 2006
7.41  Echo Creek -- August 4, 2006
7.42  Soldier Creek -- August 4, 2006
7.43  East Fork Sevier River -- August 4, 2006
7.44  Koosharem Reservoir -- August 4, 2006
7.45  Lower Box Creek Reservoir -- August 4, 2006
7.46  Otter Creek Reservoir -- August 4, 2006
7.47  Thistle Creek -- July 9, 2007
7.48  Strawberry Reservoir -- July 9, 2007
7.49  Matt Warner Reservoir -- July 9, 2007
7.50  Calder Reservoir -- July 9, 2007
7.51  Lower Duchesne River -- July 9, 2007
7.52  Lake Fork River -- July 9, 2007
7.53  Brough Reservoir -- August 22, 2008
7.54  Steinaker Reservoir -- August 22, 2008
7.55  Red Fleet Reservoir -- August 22, 2008
7.56  Newcastle Reservoir -- August 22, 2008
7.57  Cutler Reservoir -- February 23, 2010

KEY:  water pollution, waste disposal, industrial waste, effluent 
standards
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
[November 19, 2010]2011
Notice of Continuation:  October 2, 2007
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-5

34443

Human Resource Management, 
Administration
R477-4-12

Career Mobility Programs

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2011, Vol. 2011, No. 5 27



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 34443

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34443
FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  A subsection is removed that deals with the salary 
action  portion  of  career  mobility  assignments.   Salary 
information is found in Rule R477-6, Compensation.   (DAR 
NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule R477-6 is found 
under DAR No. 34442 in this issue, March 1,  2011, of  the 
Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Subsection R477-
4-12(3)(c) is deleted.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS  RULE:   Section  63G-2-3  and  Section  67-19-18  and 
Section 67-19-6

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  These changes are administrative 
and do not impact state budgets.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   This  rule  only  affects  the 
executive branch of state government.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This  rule  only  affects  the  executive  branch  of  state 
government.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This 
rule only affects the executive branch of state government.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
Rules  published  by  the  Department  of  Human  Resource 
Management (DHRM) have no direct effect on businesses or 
any entity outside state government.  DHRM has authority to 
write rules only to the extent allowed by the Utah Personnel 
Management Act,  Title 67, Chapter 19.   This act  limits the 
provisions of career service and these rules to employees of 
the executive branch of state government.  The only possible 
impact  may  be  a  very  slight,  indirect  effect  if  an  agency 
passes  costs  or  savings  on  to  business  through  fees. 
However, it is anticipated that the minimal costs associated 
with these changes will be absorbed by agency budgets and 
will have no effect on business.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST

SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ J.J. Acker by phone at 801-537-9096, by FAX at 801-538-
3081, or by Internet E-mail at jacker@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director

R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration.
R477-4.  Filling Positions.
R477-4-12.  Career Mobility Programs.

Employees and agencies are encouraged to promote career 
mobility programs.

(1)  A career mobility is a temporary assignment  of an 
employee to a different position for purposes of professional growth 
or  fulfillment  of  specific  organizational  needs.  Career  mobility 
assignments may be to any salary range.

(2)   Agencies  may provide career mobility assignments 
inside or  outside state government  in any position for  which the 
employee qualifies.

(3)  An eligible employee or agency may initiate a career 
mobility.

(a)   Career mobility assignments  may be made without 
going through the competitive process but shall remain temporary.

(b)   Career  mobility  assignments  shall  only  become 
permanent if:

(i)   the  position  was  originally  filled  through  a 
competitive recruitment process; or

(ii)  a competitive recruitment process is used at the time 
the  agency  determines  a  need  for  the  assignment  to  become 
permanent.
[              (c)  Agencies may offer an employee on a career mobility 
assignment a salary increase or salary decrease in any amount in 
increments  of  1/2%,  provided  the  new salary is  within  the  new 
salary range.
] (4)   Agencies  shall  develop  and  use  written  career 
mobility  contract  agreements  between  the  employee  and  the 
supervisor to outline all program provisions and requirements.  The 
career mobility shall be both voluntary and mutually acceptable.

(5)   A  participating  employee  shall  retain  all  rights, 
privileges,  entitlements,  tenure  and  benefits  from  the  previous 
position while on career mobility.

(a)  If a reduction in force affects a position vacated by a 
participating employee, the participating employee shall be treated 
the same as other RIF employees.

(b)   If  a  career  mobility  assignment  does  not  become 
permanent  at  its  conclusion,  the  employee  shall  return  to  the 
previous  position  or  a  similar  position  and  shall  receive,  at  a 
minimum, the same salary rate and the same or higher salary range 
that the employee would have received without the career mobility 
assignment.
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(6)   An  employee  who  has  not  attained  career  service 
status prior to the career mobility program cannot permanently fill a 
career  service  position  until  the  employee  obtains  career  service 
status through a competitive process.

KEY:  employment, fair employment practices, hiring practices
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 9, 
2010]2011
Notice of Continuation:  June 9, 2007
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-19-6

34442

Human Resource Management, 
Administration

R477-6
Compensation

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34442
FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  amendments  remove  requirement  of 
increases and decreases to be administered in half-percent 
increments.   Language  is  added  to  allow  increases  and 
decreases to be administered with a minimum of half-percent 
or to the range minimum or maximum.  These requirements, 
having  been  in  place  since  07/01/2010,  created  complex 
variances  and  inequities  in  calculations.   Salary  action  for 
career mobility assignments are moved from Section R477-4-
12 and are more appropriately placed under compensation. 
(DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Section R477-4-
12 is under DAR No. 34443 in this issue, March 1, 2011, of 
the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The language that 
requires pay increases and decreases in 1/2% increments is 
changed to reflect a 1/2% minimum or the range min or max 
pay  rate  as  a  minimum.   These  changes  are  made  to 
Subsections  R477-6-1(c),  subsections  throughout  Section 
R477-6-4, and Subsection R477-6-7(1)(a).  Subsection R477-
6-4(11)  is  added  to  define  the  salary  actions  of  a  career 
mobility assignment.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 63F-1-106 and Section 67-19-12 and 
Section 67-19-12.5 and Section 67-19-6 and Subsection 67-
19-15.1(4)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  These changes are administrative 
and do not directly impact state budgets.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   This  rule  only  affects  the 
executive branch of state government.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This rule only affects the executive 
branch of state government.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This  rule  only  affects  the  executive  branch  of  state 
government.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This 
rule only affects the executive branch of state government.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
Rules  published  by  the  Department  of  Human  Resource 
Management (DHRM) have no direct effect on businesses or 
any entity outside state government.  DHRM has authority to 
write rules only to the extent allowed by the Utah Personnel 
Management Act,  Title 67, Chapter 19.   This act  limits the 
provisions of career service and these rules to employees of 
the executive branch of state government.  The only possible 
impact  may  be  a  very  slight,  indirect  effect  if  an  agency 
passes  costs  or  savings  on  to  business  through  fees. 
However, it is anticipated that the minimal costs associated 
with these changes will be absorbed by agency budgets and 
will have no effect on business.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 2120 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ J.J. Acker by phone at 801-537-9096, by FAX at 801-538-
3081, or by Internet E-mail at jacker@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Jeff Herring, Executive  Director

R477.  Human Resource Management, Administration.
R477-6.  Compensation.
R477-6-1.  Pay Plans.

(1)   With  approval  of  the  Governor,  the  Executive 
Director,  DHRM,  shall  develop  and  adopt  pay  plans  for  each 
position  in  classified  service.   Positions  exempt  from  classified 
service are identified in Subsection R477-3-1(1).
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(a)  The General Pay Plan shall include salary ranges with 
established minimum and maximum rates.

(b)  A salary range includes every pay rate from minimum 
to maximum.

(c)  Pay rate increases and decreases within salary ranges 
shall be [in increments of]at least  1/2%,  or to the range minimum 
rate with a decrease or maximum rate with an increase,  except for 
legislatively approved salary adjustments and longevity.

R477-6-4.  Salary.
(1)   Merit  increases.  The following conditions apply if 

merit pay increases are authorized and funded by the legislature:
(a)  Employees, classified in position schedule B, shall be 

eligible for the merit increase if the following conditions are met:
(i)  Employee may not be in longevity.
(ii)  Employee may not be paid at the maximum of their 

salary range.
(iii)   Employee  has  received  a  minimum  rating  of 

successful on their most recent performance evaluation, which shall 
have been within the previous twelve months.

(iv)  Employee has been in a paid status by the state for at 
least six months at the beginning of the new fiscal year.

(b)  Employees designated as schedule AA, AQ, AU, IN, 
and TL are not eligible for merit increases.

(c)   All  other  position  schedules  will  be  reviewed  by 
DHRM in consultation with the Governor's Office to determine if 
they are eligible for merit increases.

(2)  Promotions.
(a)   An employee promoted to  a position with a  salary 

range  maximum  exceeding  the  employee's  current  salary  range 
maximum shall receive a salary increase[:
               (i) ] of at least 5%[, and
               (ii)  any increase above 5% shall be in increments of 1/2% 
or up to the salary range maximum.]

(b)   An  employee  may  not  be  placed  higher  than  the 
maximum or  lower  than  the  minimum in  the  new salary range. 
Placement  of  an  employee  in  longevity  shall  be  consistent  with 
Subsection R477-6-4(4).

(c)  An employee who remains in longevity status after a 
promotion shall retain the same salary.

(d)   To be eligible  for  a  promotion,  an employee shall 
meet the requirements and skills specified in the job description and 
position  specific  criteria  as  determined  by  the  agency  for  the 
position unless the promotion is to a career service exempt position.

(3)  Reclassifications.
(a)   At  agency  management's  discretion,  an  employee 

reclassified to a position with a salary range maximum exceeding 
the employee's current salary range maximum may receive a pay 
rate increase [in increments  ]of  at least  1/2% or [up to  ]the salary 
range maximum rate.

(b)   An  employee  may  not  be  placed  higher  than  the 
maximum or  lower  than  the  minimum in  the  new salary range. 
Placement  of  an  employee  in  longevity  shall  be  consistent  with 
Subsection R477-6-4(4)

(c)  An employee who remains in longevity status after a 
reclassification shall retain the same salary.

(d)   An  employee  whose  position  is  reclassified  to  a 
position with a lower salary range shall  retain the current salary. 

The employee shall be placed in longevity at the employee's current 
salary if the salary exceeds the maximum of the new salary range.

(4)  Longevity.
(a)   An employee  shall  receive  a  longevity increase  of 

2.75% when:
(i)  the employee has been in state service for eight years 

or more.  The employee may accrue years of service in more than 
one agency and such service is not required to be continuous; and

(ii)  the employee has been at the maximum of the current 
salary  range  for  at  least  one  year  and  received  a  performance 
appraisal rating of successful or higher within the 12-month period 
preceding the longevity increase.

(b)   An employee in  longevity shall  be eligible  for  the 
same across the board pay plan adjustments authorized for all other 
employee pay plans.

(c)  An employee in longevity shall only be eligible for an 
additional  2.75% increase  every three  years.   To  be  eligible,  an 
employee shall receive a performance appraisal rating of successful 
or  higher  within  the  12-month  period  preceding  the  longevity 
increase.

(d)   An employee  in  longevity who is  reclassified  to  a 
position with a lower salary range shall  retain the current actual 
wage.

(e)   An  employee  in  longevity  who  is  promoted  or 
reclassified  to  a  position  with  a  higher  salary  range  shall  only 
receive a salary increase if the current actual wage is less than the 
salary range maximum of the new position.   The salary increase 
shall  be  [in  increments  of]at  least 1/2%  or  [up  to  ]the  range 
maximum rate of the new position.

(f)  Employees in Schedules AB, IN, or TL are not eligible 
for the longevity program.

(5)  Administrative Adjustment.
(a)  An employee whose position has been allocated by 

DHRM  from  one  job  to  another  job  or  salary  range  for 
administrative  purposes,  may  not  receive  an  adjustment  in  the 
current actual wage.

(b)   Implementation  of  new  job  descriptions  as  an 
administrative  adjustment  shall  not  result  in  an  increase  in  the 
current actual wage unless the employee is below the minimum of 
the new range.

(c)   An  employee  whose  position  is  changed  by 
administrative adjustment to a position with a lower salary range 
shall  retain the current  salary.   The employee shall  be placed in 
longevity at the employee's current salary if the salary exceeds the 
maximum of the new salary range.

(6)  Reassignment.
An employee's current actual wage may not be lowered 

except when provided in federal or state law.  Wage rate decreases 
shall be [made in 1/2% increments]at least 1/2% or [not less than ]
the minimum rate in the salary range.

(7)  Transfer.
Management may decrease the current actual wage of an 

employee who transfers to another position.  Wage rate decreases 
shall be [made in 1/2% increments]at least 1/2% or [not less than ]
the minimum rate in the salary range.

(8)  Demotion.
An employee demoted consistent with Section R477-11-2 

shall  receive  a  reduction  in  the  current  actual  wage  [in  1/2%
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increments]of at least 1/2%, or [not less than ]the minimum rate of 
the new position's salary range as determined by the agency head or 
designee.  The agency head or designee may move an employee to a 
position with a lower salary range concurrent with the reduction in 
the current actual wage.

(9)  Administrative Salary Increase.
The agency head authorizes and approves administrative 

salary increases under the following parameters:
(a)   An  employee  shall  receive  an  increase  [in  1/2% 

increments]of  at  least  1/2% or  [up  to  ]the  maximum  rate  of  the 
salary range.

(i)   The  Executive  Director,  DHRM,  may  authorize 
limited  exceptions  to  this  subsection  when  administrative  salary 
increases are requested for equity purposes.

(b)  Administrative salary increases shall only be granted 
when the agency has sufficient funding within their annualized base 
budgets for the fiscal year in which the adjustment is given.

(c)  Justifications for Administrative Salary Increases shall 
be:

(i)  in writing;
(ii)  approved by the agency head or designee;
(iii)  supported by unique situations or considerations in 

the agency.
(d)   The  agency  head  or  designee  shall  answer  any 

challenge  or  grievance  resulting  from  an  administrative  salary 
increase.

(e)  Administrative salary increases may be given during 
the probationary period.  Wage rate increases shall be [made in]at 
least 1/2% [increments]or the maximum rate of the salary range. 
These increases  alone do not  constitute successful  completion of 
probation or the granting of career service status.

(f)   An  employee  at  the  salary  range  maximum  or  in 
longevity may not be granted administrative salary increases.

(10)  Administrative Salary Decrease.
The agency head authorizes and approves administrative 

salary  decreases  for  nondisciplinary  reasons  according  to  the 
following:

(a)  The final salary may not be less than the minimum of 
the salary range.

(b)  Wage rate decreases shall be [made in]at least 1/2% 
[increments]or the minimum rate of the salary range.

(c)  Justification for administrative salary decreases shall 
be:

(i)  in writing;
(ii)  approved by the agency head; and
(iii)  supported  by  issues  such  as  previous  written 

agreements between the agency and the employee to include career 
mobility, reasonable accommodation, or other unique situations or 
considerations in the agency.

([d]c)   The  agency  head  or  designee  shall  answer  any 
challenge  or  grievance  resulting  from  an  administrative  salary 
decrease.
                 (11)  Career Mobility  
                 (a)  Agencies may offer an employee on a career mobility   
assignment  a  salary  increase  or  salary  decrease  by  any  amount 
within the new salary range.
                 (b)   If  a  career  mobility  assignment  does  not  become   
permanent  at  its  conclusion,  the  employee  shall  return  to  the 
previous  position  or  a  similar  position  and  shall  receive,  at  a 

minimum, the same salary rate and the same or higher salary range 
that the employee would have received without the career mobility 
assignment.

R477-6-7.   Employee  Converting  from  Career  Service  to 
Schedule AC, AD, AR, or AS.

(1)  A career service employee in a position meeting the 
criteria for career service exempt schedule AC, AD, AR, or AS shall 
have 60 days from the date of offer to elect to convert from career 
service to career service exempt.   As an incentive to convert,  an  
employee shall be provided the following:
 (a)   an  administrative  salary  increase  of  at  least  1/2% 
or[up to] the maximum  rate  of the current salary range[ in 1/2% 
increments].  An employee at the maximum of the current salary 
range or in longevity shall receive, in lieu of the salary adjustment,  
a one time bonus, as determined by the agency head or designee, 
not to exceed limits in Subsection R477-6-5(1)(b);

(b)  state paid term life insurance coverage if determined 
eligible by the Group Insurance Office to participate in the Term 
Life Program, Public Employees Health Plan:

(i)  Salaries less than $50,000 shall receive $125,000 of 
term life insurance;

(ii)  Salaries between $50,000 and $60,000 shall receive 
$150,000 of term life insurance;

(iii)  Salaries more than $60,000 shall receive $200,000 of 
term life insurance.

(2)   An employee  electing  to  convert  to  career  service 
exempt after the 60 day election period may not be eligible for the  
salary  increase,  but  shall  be  entitled  to  apply  for  the  insurance 
coverage through the Group Insurance Office.

(3)  An employee electing not to convert to career service 
exemption shall retain career service status even though the position 
shall be designated as schedule AC, AD, AR or AS.  When these 
career  service  employees  vacate  these  positions,  subsequent 
appointments shall be career service exempt.

(4)   An  agency head  may reorganize  so  that  a  current 
career  service  exempt  position  no  longer  meets  the  criteria  for 
exemption.  In this case, the employee shall be designated as career 
service if he had previously earned career service.  However, the 
employee may not be eligible for the severance package or the life 
insurance.  In this situation, the agency and employee shall make 
arrangements through the Group Insurance Office to discontinue the 
coverage.

(5)   A career  service  exempt  employee  without  prior 
career  service  status  shall  remain  exempt.   When  the  employee 
leaves  the  position,  subsequent  appointments  shall  be  consistent 
with R477-4.

(6)   Agencies  shall  communicate  to  all  impacted  and 
future  eligible  employees  the  conditions  and  limitations  of  this 
incentive program.

KEY:   salaries,  employee  benefit  plans,  insurance,  personnel 
management
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 1, 
2010]2011
Notice of Continuation:  June 9, 2007
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63F-1-106; 
67-19-6; 67-19-12; 67-19-12.5; 67-19-15.1(4)
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34448

Insurance, Title and Escrow 
Commission

R592-3
Filing a Schedule of Minimum Charges 

for Escrow Services
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal)
DAR FILE NO.:  34448

FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule, along with Rule R592-4, Standards for 
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services, is being repealed and 
the  two  are  combined  as  one  new rule  in  Rule  R592-15, 
Submission of a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R592-4 
is under DAR No. 34449 and the proposed new Rule R592-
15 is under DAR No. 34447 in this issue, March 1, 2011, of 
the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is being 
repealed in its entirety.  It will be combined with Rule R592-4 
to create the new Rule R592-15.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 31A-2-404

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will have no fiscal impact 
on the department or the state budget since the provisions of 
this rule are being included in Rule R592-15.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   This  rule  will  have  no  fiscal 
impact on local  governments.   Its requirements deal  solely 
with  the  relationship  between  the  department  and  its 
licensees.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The repeal of this rule will have no 
fiscal  impact  on  small  businesses  since  the  rule  is  being 
made a part of the new Rule R592-15.  New provisions are 
already being followed by the department  and members of 
the title industry.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  repeal  of  this  rule  will  have  no  fiscal  impact  on 
businesses, the public or local governments since the rule is 
being made a part of the new Rule R592-15.  New provisions 
of the rule are already being followed by the department and 
members of the title industry.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
repeal of this rule will have no fiscal impact on businesses, 
the public or local governments since the rule is being made

a part of the new Rule R592-15.  New provisions of the rule 
are already being followed by the department and members 
of the title industry.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  repeal  of  this  rule  will  have  no  fiscal  impact  on 
businesses since it  is being made a part of Rule R592-15. 
The  change  from  the  repeal  of  this  rule  and  the 
implementation of Rule R592-15 will be seamless.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

INSURANCE
TITLE AND ESCROW COMMISSION
ROOM 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jilene Whitby by phone at 801-538-3803, by FAX at 801-
538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at jwhitby@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist

R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission.
[R592-3.   Filing a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services.
R592-3-1.  Authority.
               This  rule  is  promulgated  by  the  Title  and  Escrow 
Commission pursuant to Section 31A-2-404.

R592-3-2.  Purpose and Scope.
               (1)  The purpose of this rule is to set forth the procedures 
for  filing  a  Schedule  of  Minimum Charges  for  Escrow Services 
pursuant to Section 31A-19a-209.
               (2)   This  rule  applies  to  all  title  insurers,  agencies  and 
producers providing escrow services in Utah.

R592-3-3.  Required Documents.
               (1)  The department requires that the documents described 
in this rule shall be used for all filings.  Actual copies may be used 
or you may adapt them to your word processing system.  If adapted,  
the content, size, font, and format must be similar.
               (2)  The following filing documents are available on the 
department's web site, http://www.insurance.utah.gov/RF-Flgs.html.
               (a)   "Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for  Escrow 
Services;"
               (b)   "Transmittal  Document  for  Title  Agency  or  Title 
Producer."
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R592-3-4.  Definitions.
               In addition to the definitions of Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-
2-402,and 31A-19a-102,  the following definitions shall  apply for 
the purpose of this rule:
               (1)  "Certification" means that a filing being submitted is 
in compliance with the Utah Insurance Code.
               (2)  "File and Use" means a filing can be used, sold, or 
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department.
               (3)  "File Before Use" means a filing can be used, sold, or 
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department and a  
stated period of time has elapsed from the date filed.
               (4)  "Filer" means a person or entity who submits a filing.
               (5)  "Order to Prohibit Use" means an order issued by the 
commissioner that forbids the use of a filing.
               (6)  "Rejected" means a filing is:
               (a)  not submitted in accordance with Utah laws and rules;
               (b)   returned  to  the  filer  by  the  department  with  the 
reasons for rejection; and
               (c)  not considered filed with the department.

R592-3-5.  General Filing Information.
               (1)  Each filing submitted must be accurate,  consistent, 
complete, and contain all required documents in order for the filing 
to be processed in a timely and efficient manner.  The commissioner 
may request any additional information deemed necessary.
               (2)   Insurers  and  filers  are  responsible  for  assuring 
compliance with Utah laws and rules.   Filings not in compliance 
with  Utah  laws  and  rules  are  subject  to  regulatory action  under 
Section 31A-2-308.
               (3)   Charges,  supplementary  information,  and  forms 
applying to a specific program or product may be submitted as one 
filing.
               (4)  A filing that does not comply with this rule will be 
rejected as incomplete and returned to the filer. A rejected filing is 
not considered filed with the department.
               (5)  Prior filings will not be researched to determine the 
purpose of the current filing.
               (6)  The department does not review or proofread every 
filing.
               (a)  A filing may be reviewed:
               (i)  when submitted;
               (ii)  as a result of a complaint;
               (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or
               (iv)  at any other time the department deems necessary.
               (b)  If a filing is reviewed and is not in compliance with 
Utah laws and rules, an ORDER TO PROHIBIT USE   will be issued 
to  the filer.   The commissioner  may require  the filer  to  disclose 
deficiencies in forms or rating practices to affected consumers.
               (7)  Filing correction.
               (a)   No  filing  transmittal  is  required  when  clerical  or 
typographical corrections are made to a filing previously filed if the 
corrected filing is submitted within 30 days of the date "Filed" with 
the department.  The filer will need to reference the original filing.
               (b)   A  new  filing  is  required  if  the  clerical  or 
typographical corrections are made more than 30 days after the filed 
date  of  the  original  filing.   The  filer  will  need  to  reference  the 
original filing.

               (8)  Filing withdrawal.  A filer must notify the department 
when  the  filer  withdraws  a  previously  filed  form,  charge,  or 
supplementary information.

R592-3-6.  Filing Requirements.
               (1)  Only an individual who is authorized to act on behalf 
of the insurer, agency or producer can submit a filing.
               (2)  A complete filing consists of the following documents 
submitted in the following order:
               (a)  Utah Transmittal Document for Title Agency or Title 
Producer; and
               (b)  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services;
               (3)  Description of Filing.  The filer must:
               (a)   indicate  whether  the  filing  is  new,  amending  or 
replacing  a  previous  filing,  or  contains  charges  that  have  been 
previously filed and are included for informational purposes;
               (b)  describe the filing and the purpose of the filing in 
detail in the Filing Description section of the transmittal; and
               (c)  if the filing is amending or replacing a previous filing:
               (i)  provide a detailed description of the changes; and
               (ii)  highlight the changed provisions.
               (4)   Transmittal  Document  for  Title  Agency  or  Title 
Producer.  The entire transmittal form must be properly completed.
               (5)  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services.
               (a)  An initial Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services filing is a file and use filing.
               (b)  A revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services filing is a use and file filing and is effective:
               (i)   thirty  calendar  days  after  the  revised  Schedule  of 
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services is filed; or
               (ii)   a  date  specified  by the  filer  that  is  later  than  30 
calendar days after the revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for 
Escrow Services is filed.
               (6)  Return Notification Materials.
               (a)  Return notification materials are limited to:
               (i)  a copy of the transmittal; and
               (ii)  a self-addressed, stamped envelope.
               (b)   Notice  of filing will  not  be provided unless  return 
notification materials are submitted.
               (c)  Any extra information will be discarded.
               (7)  Certification.
               (a)  The filer must certify that a filing has been properly 
completed AND is in compliance with Utah laws and rules.
               (b)  A filing will be rejected if the certification is missing 
or incomplete.
               (c)  A certification that is inaccurate may subject the filer 
to administrative action.

R592-3-7.  Correspondence, Inquiries, and Responses.
               (1)   Correspondence.   When  corresponding  with  the 
department, provide sufficient information to identify the original 
filing:
               (a)  type of filing;
               (b)  date of filing;
               (c)  date of prior correspondence; and
               (d)  a copy of the original transmittal.
               (2)   Status  Checks.  A filer  can request the status of its 
filing by telephone, or email 60 days after the date of submission.
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               (3)  A Response to an Order must include:
               (a)  a response cover letter identifying the changes made;
               (b)  a copy of the prohibition letter;
               (c)  a copy of the revised documents; and
               (d)  return notification materials, which consist of a copy 
of the response cover letter and a self-addressed stamped envelope.
               (4)  Rejected Filings.
               (a)  A filing that is rejected is NOT considered filed.
               (b)  If resubmitted it is treated as a new filing.  If a filing 
has been previously rejected, include a copy of the rejection form 
returned to the filer with the original filing.

R592-3-8.  Penalties.
               A  person  found,  after  a  hearing  or  other  regulatory 
process, to be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as 
provided under Section 31A-2-308.

R592-3-9.  Enforcement Date.
               The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 90 days 
from the rule's effective date.

R592-3-10.  Severability.
               If any provision of this rule or the application of it to any 
person or  circumstance is  for  any reason held to  be invalid,  the 
remaining provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected.

KEY:  title escrow filings
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  July 19, 
2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-404]

34449

Insurance, Title and Escrow 
Commission

R592-4
Standards for Minimum Charges for 

Escrow Services
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal)
DAR FILE NO.:  34449

FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   This  rule,  along  with  Rule  R592-3,  Filing  a 
Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services, is being 
repealed and the two are combined as one new rule in Rule 
R592-15, Submission of a Schedule of Minimum Charges for 
Escrow Services.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule 
R592-3 is under DAR No. 34448 and the proposed new Rule

R592-15  is  under  DAR No.  34447 in  this  issue,  March  1, 
2011, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is being 
repealed in its entirety.  It will be combined with Rule R592-3 
to create the new Rule R592-15.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 31A-2-404

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will have no fiscal impact 
on the department or the state budget since the provisions of 
this rule are being included in Rule R592-15.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   This  rule  will  have  no  fiscal 
impact on local  governments.   Its requirements deal  solely 
with  the  relationship  between  the  department  and  its 
licensees.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The repeal of this rule will have no 
fiscal  impact  on  small  businesses  since  the  rule  is  being 
made a part of the new Rule R592-15.  New provisions are 
already being followed by the department  and members of 
the title industry.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  repeal  of  this  rule  will  have  no  fiscal  impact  on 
businesses, the public, or local governments since the rule is 
being made a part of the new Rule R592-15.  New provisions 
of the rule are already being followed by the department and 
members of the title industry.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
repeal of this rule will have no fiscal impact on businesses, 
the public, or local governments since the rule is being made 
a part of the new Rule R592-15.  New provisions of the rule 
are already being followed by the department and members 
of the title industry.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  repeal  of  this  rule  will  have  no  fiscal  impact  on 
businesses since it  is being made a part of Rule R592-15. 
The  change  from  the  repeal  of  this  rule  and  the 
implementation of Rule R592-15 will be seamless.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

INSURANCE
TITLE AND ESCROW COMMISSION
ROOM 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jilene Whitby by phone at 801-538-3803, by FAX at 801-
538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at jwhitby@utah.gov
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist

R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission.
[R592-4.  Standards for Minimum Charges for Escrow Services.
R592-4-1.  Authority.
               This  rule  is  promulgated  by  the  Title  and  Escrow 
Commission pursuant to Section 31A-2-404.

R592-4-2.  Purpose and Scope.
               (1)  The purpose of this rule is to set forth standards for 
minimum charges for escrow services on the Schedule of Minimum 
Charges for Escrow Services.
               (2)   This  rule  applies  to  all  title  insurers,  agencies  and 
producers providing escrow services in Utah.

R592-4-3.  Definitions.
               In addition to the definitions of Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-
2-402 and 31A-19a-102,  the following definitions shall apply for 
the purposes of this rule:
               (1)  "Additional escrow work" means escrow settlement 
services  that  are  rendered  in  excess  of  the  escrow  settlement 
services  not  specifically  shown  in  the  minimum escrow charges 
listed in the Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services.
               (2)  "Charge" means a dollar amount charged for a service 
rendered by a title insurer, title agency, or title producer.
               (3)   "Document  Preparation"  means  the  preparation  or 
compilation of documents in connection with escrow services.
               (4)  "Escrow charge" means a dollar amount charged for 
an escrow service shown in the Schedule of Minimum Charges for  
Escrow Services.
               (5)  "Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services 
" means the standardized form submitted with a title escrow charge 
filing.
               (6)  "Escrow Services" means those services to settle real 
estate transactions.
               (7)   "Long-term Escrow" means For  Benefit  Of (FBO) 
accounts  that  are  for  the  purpose  of  payment  collection  and 
administration of seller-financed transactions.
               (8)  "Mini Escrow" means an escrow settlement service 
done by a title agency to clear a title,  obtain payoffs  and record  
necessary closing documents for a lender that performs his or her 
own closing service.
               (9)  "Other Settlement Services" means additional services 
not  specifically  listed  in  the  Schedule  of  Minimum Charges  for 
Escrow Services.

R592-4-4.  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services.
               (1)   The  Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for  Escrow 
Services must be used when submitting:
               (a)  an initial Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services filing; or
               (b)   changes  to  a  previously  submitted  Schedule  of 
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services filing.
               (2)  All blank fields of the Schedule of Minimum Charges 
for Escrow Services must be completed.
               (3)  If a filer does not perform a service, the blank field  
must show "N/A" or "Not Applicable."

R592-4-5.  Charges.
               (1)  Escrow service charges.
               (a)  Escrow charge.
               (i)  In accordance with 31A-19a-209(3), no escrow charge 
may be filed or used that would cause the agency or producer to 
operate at less than the cost of doing the business of escrow.
               (ii)   Only  minimum  escrow  charges  shown  in  the 
Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services must be filed.
               (b)  Other settlement services charge.
               (i)  An Other Settlement Service charge will be used for 
services  not  specifically  shown  in  the  Schedule  of  Minimum 
Charges for Escrow Services.
               (ii)  An Other Settlement Service charge must be filed as a 
per hour charge.
               (c)   Document  preparation  charge.   Only  document 
charges shown in the Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services must be filed.
               (2)  Other services which are not specifically listed on the 
Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for  Escrow  Services  may  be 
rendered provided a justifiable charge is made.

R592-4-6.  Penalties.
               A  person  found,  after  a  hearing  or  other  regulatory 
process, to be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as 
provided under Section 31A-2-308.

R592-4-7.  Enforcement Date.
               The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 90 days 
from the rule's effective date.

R592-4-8.  Severability.
               If any provision of this rule or the application of it to any 
person or  circumstance is  for  any reason held to  be invalid,  the 
remaining provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected.

KEY:  title escrow charges
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  July 19, 
2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-204]
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34447

Insurance, Title and Escrow 
Commission
R592-15

Submission of a Schedule of Minimum 
Charges for Escrow Services

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(New Rule)

DAR FILE NO.:  34447
FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of the rule is to combine Rule R592-
3, Submission of a Title Schedule of Filing, and Rule R592-4, 
Standards  for  Charges  for  the  Title  Escrow  Settlement 
Services and Title Fees, and to update procedures already 
taking place and as written in the department's  other filing 
rules.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R592-3 is 
under  DAR  No.  34448  and  the  proposed  repeal  of  Rule 
R592-4 is under DAR No. 34449 in this issue, March 1, 2011, 
of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY  OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   This  rule 
combines  two  rules,  Rule  R592-3,  Submission  of  a  Title 
Schedule of Filing, and Rule R592-4, Standards for Charges 
for the Title Escrow Settlement Services and Title Fees.  In 
addition it updates the language in the rule to follow that of 
other  filing  rules,  and  to  update  procedures  already taking 
place and as written in other department filing rules.  The rule 
clarifies standards,  adds language regarding filing objection 
letters,  and  provides  language to  certify  that  a  filing being 
made  to  the  department  by  the  title  industry  has  been 
properly completed and is in compliance with Utah laws and 
rules.  All is currently being done.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 31A-19a-209

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The rule will have no fiscal impact 
on the department or the state budget.  The rule sets forth 
filing procedures already taking place.  No additional filing or 
work will be required of department personnel.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   This  rule  will  have  no  fiscal 
impact on local governments since it relates solely with the 
way title insurers, agencies, and producers file their Minimum 
Charges for Escrow Services with the department.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   This  rule  updates  the  title  filing 
procedure rule to follow language in other department rules 
and to follow what the department is already requiring of the 
title producers, agencies, and insurers.  It will have no fiscal 
impact on small businesses.

♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This rule updates and clarifies procedures followed by the title 
industry when filing forms and policies with the department. 
These  procedures  are  already  being  followed  by  the 
department and the industry.  As a result, this new rule will 
create no additional or reduced cost to the title industry or its 
consumers, other businesses. or local government entities.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This 
rule  updates  and  clarifies  procedures  followed  by  the  title 
industry when filing forms and policies with the department. 
These  procedures  are  already  being  followed  by  the 
department and the industry.  As a result, this new rule will 
create no additional or reduced cost to the title industry or its 
consumers, other businesses, or local government entities.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This rule is the combination of two rules currently in effect.  It 
clarifies and updates the procedures required to submit filings 
with the department.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

INSURANCE
TITLE AND ESCROW COMMISSION
ROOM 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jilene Whitby by phone at 801-538-3803, by FAX at 801-
538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at jwhitby@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

INTERESTED  PERSONS  MAY  ATTEND  A  PUBLIC 
HEARING REGARDING THIS RULE:
♦ 03/14/2011 09:00 AM, Senate (East) Building, 420 N State 
Street, Copper Room, Salt Lake City, UT

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist

R592.15  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission.
R592-15.  Submission of a Schedule of Minimum Charges for 
Escrow Services.
R592-15-1.  Authority.
                 This  rule  is  promulgated  by  the  Title  and  Escrow   
Commission  pursuant  to  Section  31A-2-404  which  requires  the 
Commission to make rules related to title insurance.
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R592-15-2.  Purpose and Scope.
                 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the procedures   
for  filing  a  Schedule  of  Minimum Charges  for  Escrow Services 
pursuant to Section 31A-19a-209.
                 (2)   This  rule  applies  to  all  title  insurers,  agencies  and   
producers providing escrow services in Utah.

R592-15-3.  Required Documents.
                 (1)  The department requires that the documents described   
in this section shall be used for all filings, and are available on the 
department's web site, http://www.insurance.utah.gov.
                 (a)   "Transmittal  Document  for  Title  Agency  or  Title   
Producer"; and
                 (b)   "Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for  Escrow   
Services."

R592-15-4.  Definitions.
                 In addition to the definitions of Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-  
2-402,and 31A-19a-102,  the following definitions shall  apply for 
the purpose of this rule.
                 (1)   "Additional  escrow  services"  means  escrow   
settlement  services  that  are  rendered  in  excess  of  the  escrow 
settlement services not specifically shown in the minimum escrow 
charges  listed  in  the  Schedule  of  Minimum Charges  for  Escrow 
Services.
                 (2)  "Certification" means a statement that the filing being   
submitted is in compliance with Utah laws and rules.
                 (3)  "Charge" means a dollar amount charged for a service   
rendered by a title insurer, title agency, or title producer.
                 (4)   "Document  preparation"  means  the  preparation  or   
compilation of documents in connection with escrow services.
                 (5)  "Electronic filing" means:  
                 (a)  a filing submitted via the internet by a title insurer   
using the System for Electronic Rate and Forms Filings (SERFF); 
or
                 (b)   a  filing  submitted  via  an  email  system by  a  title   
insurance  agency  or  an  individual  title  insurance  producer  not 
designated to a title insurance agency.
                 (6)  "Escrow charge" means a dollar amount charged for   
an escrow service shown in the Schedule of Minimum Charges for  
Escrow services.
                 (7)   "Escrow services"  means  those  services  related  to   
settlements of real estate transactions.
                 (8)  "File and use" means a filing can be used, sold, or   
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department.
                 (9)  "File before use" means a filing can be used, sold, or   
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department, and a 
stated period of time has elapsed from the date filed.
                 (10)   "Filer"  means  a  person  or  entity  who  submits  a   
filing.
                 (11)  "Filing Objection Letter" means a letter issued by the   
commissioner  when  a  review  has  determined  the  filing  fails  to 
comply with Utah law and rules.  The Filing Objection Letter may, 
in addition to requiring correction of non-compliant items, request 
clarification or additional information pertaining to the filing.
                 (12)  "Letter of Authorization" means a letter signed by an   
officer of the licensee on whose behalf the filing is submitted and 
which designates filing authority to the filer.

                 (13)   "Long-term  escrow"  means  a  "For  Benefit  Of"   
(FBO) account that is for  the purpose of payment collection and 
administration  of  seller-financed  transactions,  as  described by an 
escrow agreement.
                 (14)  "Mini escrow" means an escrow settlement service   
conducted by a title agency to clear a title, obtain payoffs and record 
necessary closing documents for a lender that performs his or her 
own closing service.
                 (15)  "Minimum escrow fee" means the minimum amount   
that  must  be  charged  for   escrow  settlement  services  that  are  
rendered.
                 (16)  "Order to Prohibit Use" means an order issued by the   
commissioner that prohibits the use of a filing.
                 (17)   "Other  settlement  services"  means  additional   
services not specifically listed in the Schedule of Minimum Charges 
for Escrow Services.
                 (18)  "Rejected" means a filing is:  
                 (a)  not submitted in accordance with Utah laws and rules;  
                 (b)   returned  to  the  filer  by  the  department,  with  the   
reasons for rejection; and
                 (c)  not considered filed with the department.  

R592-15-5.  General Filing Information.
                 (1)  Each filing submitted must be accurate,  consistent,   
complete, and contain all required documents in order for the filing 
to be processed in a timely and efficient manner.  The commissioner 
may request any additional information deemed necessary.
                 (2)   Licensees  are  responsible  for  assuring  compliance   
with Utah laws and rules.  Filings not in compliance with Utah laws 
and rules are subject to regulatory action under Section 31A-2-308.
                 (3)  A filing that does not comply with this rule will be   
rejected as incomplete and returned to the filer.  A rejected filing:
                 (a)  is not considered filed with the department;  
                 (b)  must be submitted as a new filing; and  
                 (c)  will be charged a new filing fee.  
                 (4)  Prior filings will not be researched to determine the   
purpose of the current filing.
                 (5)  The department does not review or proofread every   
filing.
                 (a)  A filing may be reviewed:  
                 (i)  when submitted;  
                 (ii)  as a result of a complaint;  
                 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or  
                 (iv)  at any other time the department deems necessary.  
                 (b)  If a filing is reviewed and is not in compliance with   
Utah  laws  and  rules,  a  Filing  Objection  Letter  or  an  Order  to 
Prohibit  Use will  be issued to the filer.   The commissioner  may 
require the licensee to disclose deficiencies  in rating practices to 
affected consumers.
                 (6)(a)  Filing corrections are considered informational.  
                 (b)  Filing corrections must be submitted within 15 days   
of the date the original filing was submitted to the department.  The 
filer must reference the original filing.
                 (c)  A new filing is required if a filing correction is made   
more than 15 days after the date of the original filing was submitted  
to the department.  The filer must reference the original filing.
                 (7)  If responding to a Filing Objection Letter or an Order   
to Prohibit Use, refer to R592-15-9.
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                 (8)  A filer must notify the department when withdrawing   
a previously filed rate.

R592-15-6.  Filing Requirements.
                 (1)  Only an individual who is authorized to act on behalf   
of the insurer, agency or producer can submit a filing.
                 (2)(a)   An  initial  Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for   
Escrow Services filing is a file and use filing and is effective the  
day the initial schedule is filed.
                 (b)  A revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow   
Services filing is a file before use filing and is effective:
                 (i)   30   calendar  days  after  the  revised  Schedule  of   
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services is filed; or
                 (ii)   a  date  specified  by the  filer  that  is  later  than  30   
calendar days after the revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for 
Escrow Services is filed.
                 (3)  All filings must be submitted as an electronic filing   
via:
                 (a)  email; or  
                 (b)  SERFF.  
                 (4)  Email Filing: A complete email filing consists of the   
following:
                 (a)  an email with a title showing the name of the filer and   
stating that it is an escrow rate filing;
                 (b)  Utah Transmittal Document for Title Agency or Title   
Producer,  completed  and  containing  the  following  items  in  the 
following order:
                 (i)  completed filing description, contained in Section 9 of   
the transmittal document, with the following information presented 
in the order shown.
                 (A)  Certification.  
                 (I)  The filer must certify that a filing has been properly   
completed AND is in compliance with Utah laws and rules.
                 (II)   The  following  statement  must  be  included  in  the   
filing description:  "BY SUBMITTING THIS FILING I CERTIFY 
THAT THE ATTACHED FILING HAS BEEN COMPLETED IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH UTAH ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R592-
15  AND  IS  IN  COMPLIANCE  WITH  APPLICABLE  UTAH 
LAWS AND RULES".
                 (III)  A filing will be rejected if the certification is false,   
missing, or incomplete.
                 (IV)  a certification that is false may subject the licensee   
to administrative action.
                 (B)  Indicate if the filing is:  
                 (I)  new;  
                 (II)  replacing or modifying a previous submission, with   
changes described;
                 (III)   previously rejected, with reasons for rejection and   
previous filing's submission date; or
                 (IV)  previously objected to or prohibited,  with reasons   
for resubmission.
                 (c)  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services,   
completed as follows:
                 (i)  all blank fields must be completed;  
                 (ii)  if a listed service is not performed by a licensee, the   
field must show "N/A" or "Not Applicable"; and
                 (iii)   The  Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for  Escrow   
Services shall not be altered.

                 (d)  Letter of Authorization.  
                 (i)   When  the  filer  is  not  the  licensee,  a  Letter  of   
Authorization from the licensee must be attached.
                 (ii)  The licensee remains responsible for making sure that   
the filing is in compliance with Utah laws and rules.
                 (e)  As required by subsection 31A-19a-203(1)(e)(i), the   
rate filing fee must be received by the department within 5 days of 
the electronic submission or the filing will be rejected.
                 (5) SERFF Filing. A complete SERFF filing consists of   
the following:
                 (a)   The  completed  description  section  on  the  general   
information tab, presented in the order shown below.
                 (i)  Certification.  
                 (A)  The filer must certify that a filing has been properly   
completed AND is in compliance with Utah laws and rules.
                 (B)   The  following  statement  must  be  included  in  the   
filing description:  "BY SUBMITTING THIS FILING I CERTIFY 
THAT THE ATTACHED FILING HAS BEEN COMPLETED IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH UTAH ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R592-
15  AND  IS  IN  COMPLIANCE  WITH  APPLICABLE  UTAH 
LAWS AND RULES".
                 (C)  A filing will be rejected if the certification is false,   
missing, or incomplete.
                 (D)  A certification that is false may subject the licensee to   
administrative action.
                 (ii)  Indicate if the filing is:  
                 (A)  new;  
                 (B)  replacing or modifying a previous submission, with   
changes described;
                 (C)  previously rejected, with reasons for rejection, and   
previous filing's submission date; or
                 (D)  previously objected to or prohibited, with reasons for   
resubmission.
                 (b)  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services   
completed as follows, and attached to the rate/rule schedule tab:
                 (i)  all blank fields must be completed;  
                 (ii)  if a listed service is not performed by a licensee, the   
field must show "N/A" or "Not Applicable"; and
                 (iii)   The  Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for  Escrow   
Services shall not be altered.
                 (c)  Letter of Authorization.  
                 (i)   When  the  filer  is  not  the  licensee,  a  Letter  of   
Authorization from the licensee must be attached.
                 (ii)  The licensee remains responsible for making sure that   
the filing is in compliance with Utah laws and rules.
                 (d)  As required by subsection 31A-19a-203(1)(e)(i), the   
rate filing fee must be received by the department within 5 days of 
the electronic submission or the filing will be rejected.

R592-15-7.  Charges.
                 (1)  Escrow Service Charges.  
                 (a)   In  accordance with  subsection 31A-19a-209(3),  no   
charge  may  be  filed  or  used  that  would  cause  the  agency  or 
producer to operate at less than the cost of doing the business of 
escrow.
                 (b)  Only minimum escrow charges shown in the Schedule   
of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services must be filed.
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                 (2)  Other Settlement Services Charges.  
                 (a)   other  settlement  services  charges  will  be  used  for   
services  not  specifically  shown  in  the  Schedule  of  Minimum 
Charges for Escrow Services.
                 (b)  other settlement service charge must be filed as a per   
hour charge.
                 (3)  Document Preparation Charge.  
                 Only  document  charges  shown  in  the  Schedule  of   
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services must be filed.
                 (4)  Other services which are not specifically listed on the   
Schedule  of  Minimum  Charges  for  Escrow  services  may  be 
rendered provided a justifiable charge is made.

R592-15-8.  Correspondence and Status Checks.
                 (1)  When corresponding with the department, provide the   
following information to identify the original filing:
                 (a)  type of filing;  
                 (b)  date of filing; and  
                 (c)  submission method; SERFF or email.  
                 (2)  A filer can request the status of its filing 60 days after   
the date of submission.

R592-15-9.  Responses.
                 (1)  A response to a Filing Objection Letter must include:  
                 (a)  a cover letter identifying the changes made; and  
                 (b)  revised documents with all changes highlighted.  
                 (2)(a)  An Order to Prohibit Use becomes final 15 days   
after the date of the Order.
                 (b)  Use of the filing must be discontinued not later than   
the date specified in the Order.
                 (c)  To contest an Order to Prohibit Use, the commissioner   
must receive a written request for a hearing no later than 15 days 
after the date of the Order.
                 (d)  Once the Order to Prohibit  Use has been issued,  a   
new filing is required if the company chooses to make the requested 
changes addressed in the original Filing Objection Letter. The new 
filing must reference the previously prohibited filing.

R592-15-10.  Penalties.
                 A person found to be  in  violation  of  this  rule  shall  be   
subject to penalties under Section 31A-2-308.

R592-15-11.  Enforcement Date.
                 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 15 days   
from the effective date of this rule.

R592-15-12.  Severability.
                   If  any  provision  of  this  rule  or  its  application  to  any   
person or  situation is  held to  be invalid,  that invalidity shall  not 
affect any other provision or application of this rule which can be 
given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this 
end the provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.

KEY:  title escrow filings
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2011
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-404

34416

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation

R651-401-2
Display of OHV Registration Numbers

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34416
FILED:  02/10/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The law authorizing this was repealed.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In 2006, S.B. 119 
repealed  the  requirement  that  the  Motor  Vehicle  Division 
assign  an  off-highway  vehicle  registration  number  to  each 
registered  off-highway  vehicle.   It  also  repealed  the 
requirement that an owner of an off-highway vehicle affix and 
display the off-highway vehicle registration number assigned 
by  the  Motor  Vehicle  Division.   It  also  repealed  the 
requirement  that  the Board of  Parks and Recreation make 
rules  for  the  display  of  an  off-highway  vehicle  registration 
number and make technical changes.  The bill was signed by 
the  Governor  on  03/15/2006,  and  went  into  effect  on 
07/01/2006.   Removing  these  requirements  from  the 
administrative rule was an oversight by the Division of Utah 
State Parks and Recreation.  It is now being amended to read 
as  changed  by S.B.  119  (2006).   (DAR NOTE:   S.B.  119 
(2006) is found at Chapter 160, Laws of Utah 2006, and was 
effective 07/01/2006.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 41-22-3

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE  BUDGET:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings  to  the  state  budget.   The  cost  was  for  individual 
owners of OHVs in purchasing the stickers.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no cost or savings to 
local  government.   The  cost  was  for  individual  owners  of 
OHVs in purchasing the stickers.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There is no cost or savings to small 
business.  The cost was for individual owners of OHVs in the 
purchase of the stickers.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There is a savings to OHV users because they do not have to 
purchase the stickers.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
is  no  compliance  costs  for  affected  persons  because  this 
removes the requirements.
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COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
Should be no impact on business.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
R651-401.  Off-Highway Vehicle and Registration Stickers.
[R651-401-2.  Display of OHV Registration Numbers.
               (1)  The owner of an off-highway vehicle shall display the 
registration  number  assigned  under  41-22-3.1  as  follows:  (a)  on 
snowmobiles, the number shall be displayed on the left side of the 
hood,  tunnel  or  pan;  (b)  on  motorcycles,  the  number  shall  be 
displayed on the left fork, or on the left body plastic; and c) on all-
terrain type I and type II vehicles, the number shall be displayed on 
the rear of the vehicle.  (d) In all instances,  the number shall be 
displayed in such a location as to be plainly visible from a distance 
of fifty feet during daylight.
               (2)   Letters  and  digits  used  in  displaying  the  number 
assigned  under  41-22-3.1  shall  meet  the  following  minimum 
standards: (a) The assigned number shall be displayed in upper case 
block letters and digits.  Scripted or stylized lettering shall not be 
allowed.  (b) Individual letters and digits shall  be a minimum of 
one-inch high, and shall be of a color that contrasts with the color of 
the surface to which they are affixed.

]KEY:  off-highway vehicles
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
15, 2005]2011
Notice of Continuation:  April 18, 2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-22-3(4)

34446

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation

R651-601-15
Special Use Permit

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34446
FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  Currently in rule there are references to Special 
Events and it is inferred that the Special Use Permit is used 
only for those Special Events when there are several other 
instances where a Special Use Permit could and should be 
used.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The change is this 
rule  will  allow  park  managers  and  region  managers  the 
needed flexibility to issue permission through the Special Use 
Permit for additional purposes.  This will also fill in the current 
gap  between  Special  Events  contracts  and  Concession 
contracts that is not in this rule.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:   Section  41-22-40  and Section  79-4-203 and 
Section 79-4-304 and Section 79-4-601

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be $6,000 total financial 
gain as follows:  $1,000 savings due to the reduced cost of 
contracting with guides, outfitters, and provisioners.  This rule 
will allow guides, outfitters, and provisioners to offer services 
under a Special Use Permit for a period of up to three years 
instead  of  one  year  at  a  time,  and  all  contracting  will  be 
conducted  at  the  park  and  region  management  level, 
decentralizing this process, and saving costs.  There will be 
$5,000 increased revenue, fees from operations of temporary 
concessions,  thus  using  concession  assets  at  times  when 
they would otherwise lay idle.  These will generate from 5% to 
10%  fees  on  gross  receipts  of  such  operations.   This 
temporary concession operation is meant to fill gaps between 
concession contracts, at  times when a concession contract 
may be  terminated  abruptly  or  new assets  are completed, 
and the concession contracting process has not had full time 
and opportunity to enter into a new concession contract.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no fees associated 
with  this  change  for  local  governments  because  the  gain 
would not be significant.
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♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There will be $1,000 saved.  The 
guides,  outfitters,  and  provisioners  are  small  business 
persons who prefer to contract in this new manner instead of 
their prior options, which were:  a Special Use Permit for only 
one year, or a formal Concession Contract.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Persons other than small businesses are not affected by this 
rule change because it  deals with those using Special Use 
Permits.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
compliance  costs  are  seen  in  the  reduced  cost  to  small 
business.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This rule change will encourage business.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mary Tullius, Director

R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
R651-601.  Definitions as Used in These Rules.
R651-601-15.  Special Use Permit.

"Special Use Permit" means [a temporary authorization or 
concession, not to exceed one year, for the purpose of conducting 
commercial  activity.]written  permission  given  to  an  individual, 
partnership,  corporation,  or  other  recognized organization  for  the 
purpose  of  conducting  the  following:  1)  special  events  whether 
commercial  or  non-commercial;  2)  certain  limited  concession 
activities;  and  3)  commercial  services  as  guides,  provisioners, 
and/or outfitters.

KEY:  parks, off-highway vehicles
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
22, 2006]2011
Notice of Continuation:  July 7, 2008

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-22-10; 
79-4-203; 79-4-304; 79-4-601

34413

Natural Resources, Water Rights
R655-4

Water Well Drillers
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal and Reenact)
DAR FILE NO.:  34413

FILED:  02/08/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The Division of Water Rights needs to amend the 
administrative rule for Water Wells (Rule R655-4) in order to 
conform to changes made in the Water Rights Law, Title 73, 
Chapter  3,  by  H.B.  226  (Well  Driller's  License  –  Pump 
Installation) during the 2010 legislative session that became 
effective on 05/11/2010.  The Water Well Amendments in H.B. 
226  gave  the  state  engineer  the  authority  to  license  and 
regulate  pump  installers  and  pump  installation  and  repair 
work  on  water  wells.   In  conjunction  with  the  required 
changes to the rule needed to conform with the statute, other 
changes have also  been proposed for  the purpose of  rule 
clarification and reorganization to  eliminate confusion or  to 
make  them  more  succinct,  equitable,  and  protective  of 
groundwater  resources.   (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 226 (2010)  is 
found at Chapter 124, Laws of Utah 2010, and was effective 
05/11/2010.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE  OR CHANGE:   There  are  no 
deletions  from  the  previous  rule  only  improvements  and 
modifications.  The revisions pertain not only to the statute 
changes related to pump installer licensing and the regulation 
of pump installation and repair but also to other parts of the 
administrative rule for Water Wells that require modification 
and clarification.   The following is a  summary of  proposed 
changes:  1) modification to the scope of the rule to include 
pump installation and repair; 2) requirements and process for 
pump installer licensing; 3) creation of rules and regulations 
for  pump  installation  and  repair;  4)  inclusion  of  pump 
installation  work  in  the  infraction,  penalty,  and  adjudicative 
process; 5) clarify definition between open-loop and closed-
loop  heat  exchange  wells;  6)  clarify  the  process  for 
application and permitting of non-production wells; 7) update 
the standards for closed-loop heat exchange wells; 8) clarify 
licensing  reciprocity  policy;  9)  incorporate  legal  residency 
policy; 10) update and clarify select constructions standards 
such as casing and joint standards, flowing wells, gravel feed 
options,  drilling fluids and lost circulation materials (LCMs),
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pitless adapter standards,  packers and plugs, screens, and 
casing vents;  and 11)  separate disciplinary procedures into 
three  sections  including  infractions,  penalties,  and 
adjudicative proceedings.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 73-3-25

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no budgetary changes 
required as a result of this rule revision.  The changes can be 
implemented using existing staff and resources.  Other rule 
changes simply provide clarification and will not increase staff 
efforts or costs.  The proposed repeal and reenactment will 
result in minimal costs to reprint the rule once the changes 
are  made  effective.   The  penalties  collected  will  create  a 
small fund to be used for improving well driller education and 
infraction investigation and enforcement.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   There  is  no  impact  to  local 
government because they are not involved in the regulation of 
water well drillers.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Some small businesses (fewer than 
20) who perform regulated pump installation and repair work 
will need to obtain a license at a minimal fee as determined 
by  the  Legislature  and  subsequently  follow  the  rules  and 
regulations  for  this  type  of  work  in  order  to  better  protect 
groundwater resources.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Persons who perform regulated pump installation and repair 
work  will  need  to  obtain  a  license  at  a  minimal  fee  as 
determined by the  Legislature  and subsequently follow the 
rules and regulations for this type of work in order to better 
protect groundwater resources.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS: 
Approximately  20  to  40  individuals  will  need  to  come into 
compliance  with  this  rule  by  obtaining  a  pump  installer's 
license.  The cost of each license will be approximately $350 
as determined by the Legislature.  In addition, licensed pump 
installers may also need to register some of their employers 
to  become  pump  rig  operators  to  work  on  site  in  their 
absence.   It  is  anticipated  that  approximately  30  to  50 
individuals  will  need  to  obtain  a  pump  rig  operators 
registration at a cost of approximately $100 each.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
No fiscal impact.  Fees dictated by statute not by rule.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WATER RIGHTS
ROOM 220 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Marianne Burbidge by phone at 801-538-7370, by FAX at 
801-538-7467,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at 
marianneburbidge@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Michael Styler, Executive Director

R655.  Natural Resources, Water Rights.
[R655-4.  Water Well Drillers.
R655-4-1.  Purpose, Scope, and Exclusions.
               1.1  Purpose.
               These rules are promulgated pursuant to Section 73-3-25. 
The purpose of these rules is to assist in the orderly development of 
underground water; insure that minimum construction standards are 
followed  in  the  drilling,  construction,  deepening,  repairing, 
renovating, cleaning, development, and abandonment of water wells 
and other regulated wells; prevent pollution of aquifers within the 
state; prevent wasting of water from flowing wells; obtain accurate 
records of well construction operations; and insure compliance with 
the state engineer's authority for appropriating water.
               All  administrative  procedures  involving  applications, 
approvals,  hearings, notices, revocations, orders and their judicial 
review, and all other administrative procedures required or allowed 
by these rules are governed by R655-6 "Administrative Procedures 
for Informal Proceedings Before the Division of Water Rights".
               1.2  Scope.
               The drilling,  construction,  deepening, repair,  renovation, 
replacement,  cleaning,  development,  or  abandonment  of  the 
following types of wells is regulated by these administrative rules 
and the work must  be permitted  by the  Utah  Division  of  Water 
Rights and completed by a licensed well driller.  These rules apply 
to both vertical,  angle and horizontal wells if they fall within the 
criteria  listed below.   The rules  contained herein pertain only to 
work on the well itself.  These rules do not regulate the incidental  
work  around  the  well  such  as  pump and  motor  installation  and 
repair; plumbing, electrical, and excavation work up to the well; and 
the  building  of  well  enclosures  unless  these  activities  directly 
impact or change the construction of the well itself.  The process for 
an applicant to obtain approval to drill,  construct, deepen,  repair,  
renovate, clean, develop, abandon, or replace the wells listed below 
in 1.2.1, 1.2.2, 1.2.3, and 1.2.4 is outlined in Section R655-4-7 of 
these rules.
               1.2.1  Cathodic protection wells which are completed to a 
depth greater than 30 feet.
               1.2.2   Heating  or  cooling  exchange  wells  which  are 
greater  than  30  feet  in  depth  and  which  encounter  formations 
containing groundwater.  If a separate well or borehole is required 
for  re-injection  purposes,  it  must  also  comply  with  these 
administrative rules.
               1.2.3  Monitor, piezometer, and test wells designed for the 
purpose of testing and monitoring water quality and quantity which 
are completed to a depth greater than 30 feet.
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               1.2.4  Other wells (cased or open) which are completed to 
a  depth  greater  than  30  feet  that  can  potentially  interfere  with 
established  aquifers  such  as  wells  to  monitor  mass  movement 
(inclinometers), facilitate horizontal utility placement, monitor man-
made  structures,  house  instrumentation  to  monitor  structural 
performance, or dissipate hydraulic pressures (dewatering wells).
               1.2.5  Private water production wells which are completed 
to a depth greater than 30 feet.
               1.2.6  Public water system supply wells.
               1.2.7   Recharge  and  recovery  wells  which  are  drilled 
under  the  provisions  of  Title  73,  Chapter  3b  "Groundwater 
Recharge and Recovery Act" Utah Code Annotated.
               1.3  Exclusions.
               The drilling,  construction,  deepening, repair,  renovation, 
replacement,  cleaning,  development,  or  abandonment  of  the 
following types of wells or boreholes are excluded from regulation 
under these administrative rules:
               1.3.1   Any  wells  described  in  Section  1.2  that  are 
constructed to a final depth of 30 feet or less.  However, diversion 
and beneficial use of groundwater from wells at a depth of 30 feet 
or less shall require approval through the appropriation procedures 
and policies of the state engineer and Title 73, Chapter 3 of the Utah 
Code Annotated.
               1.3.2  Geothermal wells.   Although not regulated under 
the Administrative Rules for Water Well Drillers, geothermal wells 
are  subject  to  Section  73-22-1  "Utah  Geothermal  Resource 
Conservation Act" Utah Code Annotated and the rules promulgated 
by the state engineer including Section R655-1, Wells Used for the  
Discovery and Production of  Geothermal  Energy in  the  State  of 
Utah.
               1.3.3   Temporary  exploratory  wells  drilled  to  obtain 
information on the subsurface strata on which an embankment or 
foundation  is  to  be  placed  or  an  area  proposed  to  be  used  as  a 
potential source of material for construction.
               1.3.4  Wells or boreholes drilled or constructed into non-
water bearing zones or which are 30 feet or less in depth for the  
purpose of utilizing heat from the surrounding earth.
               1.3.5   Geotechnical  borings  drilled  to  obtain  lithologic 
data  which  are  not  installed  for  the  purpose  of  utilizing  or 
monitoring  groundwater,  and  which  are  properly  sealed 
immediately after drilling and testing.
               1.3.6  Oil, gas, and mineral exploration/production wells. 
These wells are subject to rules promulgated under the Division of 
Oil, Gas, and Mining of the Utah Department of Natural Resources.

R655-4-2.  Definitions.
               ABANDONED WELL - any well which is not in use and 
has been sealed or plugged with approved sealing materials so that 
it  is  rendered  unproductive  and  will  prevent  contamination  of 
groundwater.   A properly abandoned well  will  not produce water 
nor  serve as  a  channel  for  movement  of  water  from the well  or 
between water bearing zones.
               AMERICAN  NATIONAL  STANDARDS  INSTITUTE 
(ANSI)  -  a  nationally recognized  testing laboratory that  certifies 
building products and adopts standards including those for steel and 
plastic (PVC) casing utilized in the well  drilling industry.   ANSI 
standards are often adopted for use by ASTM and AWWA.  Current 
information  on  standards  can  be  obtained  from:   ANSI,  1430 
Broadway, New York, NY 10018.

               AMERICAN  SOCIETY  FOR  TESTING  AND 
MATERIALS  (ASTM)  -  an  independent  organization  concerned 
with  the  development  of  standards  on  characteristics  and 
performance  of  materials,  products  and  systems  including  those 
utilized in the well drilling industry.  Information may be obtained 
from:  ASTM, 1916 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19013.
               AMERICAN  WATER  WORKS  ASSOCIATION 
(AWWA) - an international association which publishes standards 
intended to represent a consensus of the water supply industry that 
the  product  or  procedure  described  in  the  standard  will  provide 
satisfactory service or results.  Information may be obtained from: 
AWWA, 6666 West Quincy Avenue, Denver CO 80235.
               ANNULAR SPACE - the space between the outer well 
casing and the borehole or the space between two sets of casing.
               AQUIFER  -  a  porous  underground  formation  yielding 
withdrawable water suitable for beneficial use.
               ARTESIAN AQUIFER - a water-bearing formation which 
contains underground water under sufficient pressure to rise above 
the zone of saturation.
               ARTESIAN WELL - a well  where the water level rises 
appreciably above the zone of saturation.
               BENTONITE  -  a  highly  plastic,  highly  absorbent, 
colloidal  swelling  clay  composed  largely  of  mineral  sodium 
montmorillonite.  Bentonite is commercially available in powdered, 
granular, tablet, pellet, or chip form which is hydrated with potable 
water and used for a variety of purposes including the stabilization 
of borehole walls during drilling, the control of potential or existing 
high fluid pressures encountered during drilling below a water table, 
well  abandonment,  and  to  provide  a  seal  in  the  annular  space 
between the well casing and borehole wall.
               BENTONITE  GROUT  -  a  mixture  of  bentonite  and 
potable  water  specifically  designed  to  seal  and  plug  wells  and 
boreholes  mixed  at  manufacturer's  specifications  to  a  grout 
consistency which can be pumped through a pipe directly into the 
annular  space  of  a  well  or  used  for  abandonment.   Its  primary 
purpose  is  to  seal  the  borehole  or  well  in  order  to  prevent  the 
subsurface migration or communication of fluids.
               CASH BOND - A type of well driller bond in the form of 
a certificate of deposit  (CD) submitted and assigned to the State 
Engineer  by  a  licensed  driller  to  satisfy  the  required  bonding 
requirements.
               CASING - a tubular retaining and sealing structure that is 
installed in the borehole to maintain the well opening.
               CATHODIC PROTECTION WELL - a well constructed 
for the purpose of installing deep anodes to minimize or prevent 
electrolytic corrosive action of metallic structures installed below 
ground surface, such as pipelines, transmission lines, well casings, 
storage tanks, or pilings.
               CONFINING  UNIT  -  a  geological  layer  either  of 
unconsolidated  material,  usually  clay  or  hardpan,  or  bedrock, 
usually shale, through which virtually no water moves.
               CONSOLIDATED FORMATION - bedrock consisting of 
sedimentary, igneous, or metamorphic rock (e.g., shale, sandstone, 
limestone, quartzite, conglomerate, basalt, granite, tuff, etc.).
               DEWATERING  WELL  -  a  water  extraction  well 
constructed for the purpose of lowering the water table elevation, 
either temporarily or permanently, around a man-made structure or 
construction activity.
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               DISINFECTION - or disinfecting is the use of chlorine or 
other disinfecting agent or process approved by the state engineer, 
in sufficient concentration and contact time adequate to inactivate or 
eradicate bacteria such as coliform or other organisms.
               DRAWDOWN - the difference in elevation between the 
static water level and the pumping water level in a well.
               DRILL  RIG  -  any  power-driven  percussion,  rotary, 
boring,  coring,  digging,  jetting,  or  augering machine used in  the 
construction of a well or borehole.
               EMERGENCY  SITUATION  -  any  situation  where 
immediate action is required to protect life or property.  Emergency 
status  would  also  extend  to  any  situation  where  life  is  not 
immediately threatened but action is needed immediately and it is 
not  possible  to  contact  the  state  engineer  for  approval.   For 
example, it would be considered an emergency if a domestic well 
needed immediate repair over a weekend when the state engineer's 
offices are closed.
               GRAVEL  PACKED  WELL  -  a  well  in  which  filter 
material such as sand and/or gravel is placed in the annular space  
between  the  well  intakes  (screen  or  perforated  casing)  and  the 
borehole wall to increase the effective diameter of the well and to 
prevent fine-grained sediments from entering the well.
               GROUNDWATER  -  subsurface  water  in  a  zone  of 
saturation.
               GROUT - a fluid mixture of Portland cement or bentonite 
with water of a consistency that can be forced through a pipe and 
placed as required.  Upon approval, various additives such as sand, 
bentonite, and hydrated lime may be included in the mixture to meet 
different requirements.
               HYDRAULIC  FRACTURING  -  the  process  whereby 
water or other fluid is pumped with sand under high pressure into a  
well  to fracture and clean-out the rock surrounding the well bore 
thus increasing the flow to the well.
               MONITOR WELL - a well,  as defined under "well" in 
this section, that is constructed for the purpose of determining water 
levels, monitoring chemical, bacteriological, radiological, or other 
physical properties of ground water or vadose zone water.
               NATIONAL SANITATION  FOUNDATION  (NSF)  -  a 
voluntary  third  party  consensus  standards  and  testing  entity 
established  under  agreement  with  the  U.  S.  Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) to develop testing and adopt standards and 
certification  programs  for  all  direct  and  indirect  drinking  water 
additives and products.
               Information may be obtained from:  NSF, 3475 Plymouth 
Road, P O Box 1468, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106.
               NEAT CEMENT GROUT -  cement  conforming  to  the 
ASTM Standard C150 (standard specification of Portland cement), 
with  no more  than six gallons of  water  per  94 pound sack (one 
cubic foot) of cement of sufficient weight density of not less than 15 
lbs/gallon.
               OPERATOR - a drill  rig operator  is  an individual  who 
works under the direct supervision of a licensed Utah Water Well 
Driller and who can be left in responsible charge to construct water 
wells  using  equipment  that  is  under  the  direct  control  of  the 
licensee.
               PIEZOMETER -  a  tube or  pipe,  open at  the bottom in 
groundwater, and sealed along its length, used to measure hydraulic 
head or water level in a geologic unit.

               PITLESS ADAPTER OR UNIT - an assembly of parts 
designed for attachment to a well casing which allows buried pump 
discharge from the well and allows access to the interior of the well  
casing  for  installation  or  removal  of  the  pump  or  pump 
appurtenances,  while  preventing  contaminants  from  entering  the 
well.   Such devices protect the water  and distribution lines from 
temperature extremes, permit extension of the casing above ground 
as required in Subsection R655-4-9.3.2 and allow access to the well, 
pump  or  system  components  within  the  well  without  exterior 
excavation or disruption of surrounding earth or surface seal.
               POLLUTION  -  the  alteration  of  the  physical,  thermal, 
chemical,  or  biological  quality  of,  or  the  contamination  of,  any 
water  that renders the water harmful,  detrimental,  or injurious to 
humans, animals, vegetation, or property, or to public health, safety,  
or welfare, or impairs the usefulness or the public enjoyment of the 
water for any or reasonable purpose.
               POTABLE  WATER  -  water  supplied  for  human 
consumption,  sanitary  use,  or  for  the  preparation  of  food  or 
pharmaceutical  products  which is  free from biological,  chemical,  
physical, and radiological impurities.
               PRESSURE GROUTING - a process by which grout is 
confined within the drillhole or casing by the use of retaining plugs 
or packers and by which sufficient pressure is applied to drive the 
grout slurry into the annular space or zone to be grouted.
               PRIVATE WATER PRODUCTION WELL -  a privately 
owned well constructed to supply water for any purpose which has 
been approved by the state engineer (such as irrigation, stockwater,  
domestic, commercial, industrial, etc.).
               PROBATION - A disciplinary action that may be taken by 
the state engineer that entails greater review and regulation of well  
drilling activities but which does not prohibit  a well  driller from 
engaging  in  the  well  drilling  business  or  operating  well  drilling 
equipment.
               PROVISIONAL WELL -  authorization  granted  by  the 
state  engineer  to  drill  under  a  pending,  unapproved  water  right, 
change or exchange application; or for the purpose of determining 
characteristics  of  an  aquifer,  or  the  existence  of  a  useable 
groundwater source.  Water from a provisional well cannot be put to 
beneficial use until the application has been approved.
               PUBLIC  WATER SYSTEM SUPPLY WELL -  a  well, 
either  publicly  or  privately  owned,  providing  water  for  human 
consumption and other domestic uses which has at least 15 service 
connections or regularly serves an average of at least 25 individuals 
daily for  at  least  60 days out  of the year.   Public  Water System 
Supply Wells are also regulated by the Division of Drinking Water 
in the Utah Department of Environmental Quality (Section R309 of 
the Utah Administrative Code).
               PUMPING WATER LEVEL - the water  level in a well 
after a period of pumping at a given rate.
               REVOCATION - A disciplinary action that may be taken 
by the state engineer that rescinds the well driller's Utah Water Well  
Driller's License
               SAND - a material having a prevalent grain size ranging 
from 2 millimeters to 0.06 millimeters.
               SAND CEMENT GROUT - a grout consisting of equal 
parts  of  cement  conforming  to  ASTM  standard  C150  and 
sand/aggregate with no more than six (6) gallons of water per 94 
pound sack (one cubic foot) of cement.
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               STANDARD DIMENSION RATIO (SDR) - the ratio of 
average outside pipe diameter to minimum pipe wall thickness.
               STATE ENGINEER - the director of the Utah Division of 
Water  Rights  or  any  employee  of  the  Division  of  Water  Rights 
designated by the state engineer to act in administering these rules.
               STATIC LEVEL - stabilized water level in a non-pumped 
well beyond the area of influence of any pumping well.
               SURETY BOND  -  an  indemnity  agreement  in  a  sum 
certain and payable to the state engineer, executed by the licensee as 
principal and which is supported by the guarantee of a corporation 
authorized to transact business as a surety in the State of Utah.
               SUSPENSION - A disciplinary action that may be taken 
by the state engineer that prohibits the well driller from engaging in 
the well drilling business or operating well drilling equipment as a 
registered operator for a definite period of time and /or until certain 
conditions are met.
               TEST WELL - authorization granted by the state engineer 
to drill under a Non-production well  approval for the purpose of 
determining  characteristics  of  an  aquifer,  or  the  existence  of  a 
useable groundwater source.  Water from a Test Well cannot be put 
to beneficial use.
               TREMIE PIPE - a device that carries materials such as 
seal material,  gravel pack, or formation stabilizer to a designated 
depth in a drill hole or annular space.
               UNCONSOLIDATED  FORMATION  -  loose,  soft, 
incoherent  rock  material  composed  of  sedimentary,  igneous,  or 
metamorphic  rock  which  includes  sand,  gravel,  and  mixtures  of 
sand and gravel.  These formations are widely distributed and can 
possess good water storage and transmissivity characteristics.
               UNHYDRATED BENTONITE - dry bentonite consisting 
primarily of granules, tablets, pellets, or chips that may be placed in 
a well or borehole in the dry state and hydrated in place by either 
formation water or by the addition of potable water into the well or  
borehole containing the dry bentonite.  Unhydrated bentonite can be 
used for sealing and abandonment of wells.
               VADOSE ZONE - the zone containing water under less 
than atmospheric pressure, including soil water, intermediate vadose 
water and capillary water.  The zone extends from land surface to 
the zone of saturation or water table.
               WATERTIGHT  -  a  condition  that  does  not  allow  the 
entrance,  passage,  or  flow  of  water  under  normal  operating 
conditions.
               WELL -  a  horizontal  or  vertical  excavation or  opening 
into the ground made by digging, boring, drilling, jetting, augering, 
or driving or any other artificial method and left cased or open for 
utilizing or monitoring underground waters.
               WELL DRILLER -  any person who is  licensed by the 
state  engineer  to  construct  water  wells  for  compensation  or 
otherwise.   The  licensed  driller  has  total  responsibility  for  the 
construction work in progress at the well drilling site.
               WELL DRILLER BOND - A financial  guarantee to the 
state engineer, in the form of a surety bond or cash bond, by which a 
licensed driller binds himself to pay the penal sum of $5,000 to the 
state engineer in the event of significant noncompliance with the 
Administrative Rules for Water Well Drillers.
               WELL DRILLING  -  the  act  of  drilling,  constructing, 
deepening, replacing, repairing, renovating, cleaning, developing, or 
abandoning a well.

R655-4-3.  Licenses and Registrations.
               3.1  General.
               3.1.1  Section 73-3-25 of the Utah Code requires every 
person that constructs a well in the state to obtain a license from the 
state engineer.  Licenses and registrations are not transferable.
               3.1.2  Any person found to be drilling a well without a 
valid well driller's license or operator's registration will be ordered 
to cease drilling by the state  engineer.   The order may be made 
verbally but must also be followed by a written order.  The order 
may be posted at an unattended well drilling site.  A person found 
drilling  without  a  license  will  be  subject  to  the  state  engineer's 
enforcement  powers  under  Section  73-2-25  of  the  Utah  Code 
(Related  rules:  Section  R655-14  UAC)  and  subject  to  criminal 
prosecution  under  Section  73-3-26  of  the  Utah  Code  annotated, 
1953.
               3.2  Well Driller's License.
               An  applicant  must  meet  the  following  requirements  to 
become licensed as a Utah Water Well Driller:
               3.2.1  Applicants must be 21 years of age or older.
               3.2.2  Complete and submit the application form provided 
by the state engineer.
               3.2.3   Pay  the  application  fee  approved  by  the  state 
legislature.
               3.2.4  Provide documentation of experience according to 
the following standards:
               3.2.4.1  Water well drillers shall provide documentation of 
at  least  two  (2)  years  of  full  time  prior  water  well  drilling 
experience  with  a  licensed  driller  in  good  standing  OR 
documentation of sixteen (16) wells  constructed by the applicant 
under the supervision of a licensed well driller in good standing.
               3.2.4.2  Monitor well drillers shall provide documentation 
of  at  least  two (2)  years  of full  time prior  monitor  well  drilling 
experience  with  a  licensed  driller  in  good  standing  OR 
documentation of thirty two (32) wells constructed by the applicant 
under the supervision of a licensed well driller in good standing.
               3.2.4.3   Heating/cooling  exchange  and  other  non-
production well drillers must provide documentation of at least six 
(6) months of full time prior well drilling experience with a licensed 
driller in good standing AND documentation of sixteen (16) well  
drilling projects constructed by the applicant under the supervision 
of a licensed well driller in good standing.
               3.2.4.4  A copy of the well log for each well constructed 
must  be  provided.  The  documentation  must  also  show  the 
applicant's experience with each type of drilling rig to be listed on 
the  license.   Acceptable  documentation  will  include  registration 
with the Division of Water Rights, letters from licensed well drillers 
(Utah or other states), or a water well drilling license granted by 
another state, etc.
               3.2.4.5   Successful  completion  of  classroom  study  in 
geology, well drilling, map reading, and other related subjects may 
be substituted for up to, but not exceeding, twenty five percent of 
the required drilling experience, and for up to, but not exceeding, 
twenty five  percent  of the required drilled wells  or  well  drilling 
projects.  The state engineer will determine the number of months 
of drilling experience and the number of drilled wells that will be  
credited for the classroom study.
               3.2.5  File a well driller bond in the sum of $5,000 with 
the Division of Water Rights payable to the state engineer.  The well  
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driller  bond  must  be  filed  under  the  conditions  and  criteria 
described in Section 4-3.6.
               3.2.6   Obtain  a  score  of  at  least  70% on  each  of  the 
written  licensing  examinations  required  and  administered  by  the 
state  engineer.   The  required  examinations  test  the  applicant's 
knowledge of:
               a.  The Administrative Rules for Water Well Drillers and 
Utah water law as it pertains to underground water;
               b.   The minimum construction standards established by 
the state engineer for water well construction;
               c.   Geologic  formations  and  proper  names  used  in 
describing underground material types;
               d.  Reading maps and locating points from descriptions 
based on section, township, and range;
               e.   Groundwater  geology  and  the  occurrence  and 
movement of groundwater;
               f.   The  proper  operating  procedures  and  construction 
methods  associated with the various types of water  well  drilling 
rigs.  (A separate test is required for each type of water well drilling 
rig to be listed on the license).
               3.2.7   Demonstrate  proficiency  in  resolving  problem 
situations that might  be encountered during the construction of a 
water well by passing an oral examination administered by the state 
engineer.
               3.3  Drill Rig Operator's Registration.
               An  applicant  must  meet  the  following  requirements  to 
become registered as a drill rig operator:
               3.3.1  Applicants must be 18 years of age or older.
               3.3.2  Complete and submit the application form provided 
by the state engineer.
               3.3.3   Pay  the  application  fee  approved  by  the  state 
legislature.
               3.3.4  Provide documentation of at least six (6) months of 
prior water well drilling experience with a licensed driller in good 
standing.  The documentation must show the applicant's experience 
with  each  type  of  drilling  rig  to  be  listed  on  the  registration. 
Acceptable  documentation will  include letters from licensed well 
drillers or registration as an operator in another state.
               3.3.5   Obtain  a  score  of  at  least  70%  on  a  written 
examination of the minimum construction standards established by 
the state  engineer  for  water  well  construction.   The test  will  be  
provided  to  the licensed  well  driller  by the  state  engineer.   The 
licensed  well  driller  will  administer  the  test  to  the  prospective 
operator and return it to the state engineer for scoring.
               3.4  Conditional, Restricted, or Limited Licenses.
               The state engineer may issue a restricted, conditional, or 
limited license to an applicant based on prior drilling experience.
               3.5  Refusal to Issue a License or Registration.
               The  state  engineer  may,  upon investigation  and  after  a 
hearing, refuse to issue a license or a registration to an applicant if it 
appears the applicant has not had sufficient training or experience to 
qualify as a competent well driller or operator.
               3.6  Falsified Applications.
               The  state  engineer  may,  upon investigation  and  after  a 
hearing,  revoke  a  license  or  a  registration  in  accordance  with 
Section 5.6 if it is determined that the original application contained 
false or misleading information.
               3.7  Well Driller Bond.
               3.7.1  General

               3.7.1.1.   In  order  to  become  licensed  and  to  continue 
licensure, a well driller must file a well driller bond in the form of a 
surety bond or cash bond, approved by the state engineer, in the sum 
of five thousand dollars ($5,000) with the Division of Water Rights, 
on a  form provided  by the Division,  which is  conditioned upon 
proper  compliance  with  the  law  and  these  rules  and  which  is 
effective for the licensing period in which the license is to be issued. 
The  bond  shall  stipulate  the  obligee  as  the  "Office  of  the  State 
Engineer".  The well driller bond is penal in nature and is designed 
to  ensure  compliance  by  the  licensed  well  driller  to  protect  the 
groundwater  resource,  the  environment,  and  public  health  and 
safety.  The bond may only be exacted by the state engineer for the 
purposes  of  investigating,  repairing,  or  abandoning  wells  in 
accordance with applicable rules and standards.  No other person or 
entity may initiate a claim against the well driller bond.  Lack of a 
current  and  valid  well  driller  bond  shall  be  deemed  sufficient 
grounds for denial of a driller's license.  The well driller bond may 
consist of a surety bond or a cash bond as described below.
               3.7.2  Surety Bonds.
               3.7.2.1.  The licensed well driller and a surety company or 
corporation authorized to do business in the State of Utah as surety 
shall bind themselves and their successors and assigns jointly and 
severally to the state engineer for the use and benefit of the public 
in full penal sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000).  The surety bond 
shall  specifically  cover  the  licensee's  compliance  with  the 
Administrative Rules for Water Well Drillers found in R655-4 of the 
Utah Administrative Code.  Forfeiture of the surety bond shall be 
predicated upon a failure to drill, construct, repair, renovate, deepen, 
clean,  develop,  or  abandon  a  regulated  well  in  accordance  with 
these rules (R655-4 UAC).  The bond shall be made payable to the 
'Utah  State  Engineer'  upon forfeiture.   The surety bond must  be 
effective and exactable in the State of Utah.
               3.7.2.2.  The bond and any subsequent renewal certificate 
shall  specifically identify the licensed individual  covered by that 
bond.  The licensee shall notify the state engineer of any change in 
the amount or status of the bond.  The licensee shall notify the state 
engineer of any cancellation or change at least thirty (30) days prior 
to the effective date of such cancellation or change.  Prior to the  
expiration of the 30-days notice of cancellation, the licensee shall 
deliver to the state engineer a replacement surety bond or transfer to 
a cash bond.  If such a bond is not delivered, all activities covered 
by the license and bond shall cease at the expiration of the 30 day 
period.  Termination shall not relieve the licensee or surety of any 
liability for incidences that occurred during the time the bond was 
in force.
               3.7.2.3.   Before  the  bond  is  forfeited  by  the  licensed 
driller and exacted by the state engineer, the licensed driller shall  
have the option of resolving the noncompliance to standard either 
by personally doing the work or by paying to have another licensed 
driller do the work.  If the driller chooses not to resolve the problem 
that  resulted  in  noncompliance,  the  entire  bond  amount  of  five 
thousand  dollars  ($5,000)  shall  be  forfeited  by  the  surety  and 
expended by the state engineer to investigate, repair or abandon the 
well(s)  in  accordance  with  the  standards  in  R655-4  UAC.   Any 
excess  there  from  shall  be  retained  by  the  state  engineer  and 
expended for the purpose of investigating, repairing, or abandoning 
wells in accordance with applicable rules and standards.  All claims 
initiated by the state engineer against the surety bond will be made 
in writing.
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               3.7.2.4.   The bond of a surety company that has failed, 
refused or unduly delayed to pay, in full, on a forfeited bond is not 
approvable.
               3.7.3  Cash Bonds.
               3.7.3.1.  The requirements for the well driller bond may 
alternatively be satisfied by a cash bond in the form of a certificate  
of deposit (CD) for the amount of five thousand dollars ($5,000) 
issued by a federally insured bank or credit union with an office(s) 
in the State of Utah.  The cash bond must be in the form of a CD.  
Savings accounts, checking accounts, letters of credit, etc., are not 
acceptable  cash  bonds.   The  CD  shall  specifically  identify  the 
licensed  individual  covered  by  that  fund.   The  CD  shall  be 
automatically renewable and fully assignable to the state engineer. 
CD shall state on its face that it is automatically renewable.
               3.7.3.2.   The  cash  bond  shall  specifically  cover  the 
licensee's compliance with well  drilling rules found in R655-4 of 
the Utah Administrative Code.  The CD shall be made payable or 
assigned to the state engineer and placed in the possession of the 
state engineer.  If assigned, the state engineer shall require the bank 
or credit union issuing the CD to waive all rights of setoff or liens  
against  those  CD.   The  CD,  if  a  negotiable  instrument,  shall  be 
placed  in  the  state  engineer's  possession.   If  the  CD  is  not  a 
negotiable instrument, the CD and a withdrawal receipt, endorsed 
by the licensee, shall be placed in the state engineer's possession.
               3.7.3.3.  The licensee shall submit CDs in such a manner 
which  will  allow the  state  engineer  to  liquidate  the CD prior  to 
maturity, upon forfeiture, for the full amount without penalty to the 
state  engineer.   Any interest  accruing  on  a  CD shall  be  for  the 
benefit of the licensee.
               3.7.3.4.   The period of liability for a cash bond is five 
(years) after the expiration, suspension, or revocation of the license. 
The cash bond will be held by the state engineer until the five year  
period is over, then it will be relinquished to the licensed driller.  In  
the event that a cash bond is replaced by a surety bond, the period 
of liability,  during which time the cash bond will  be held by the 
state engineer, shall be five (5) years from the date the new surety 
bond becomes effective.
               3.7.4  Exacting a Well Driller Bond.
               3.7.4.1.   If  the  state  engineer  determines,  following  an 
investigation and a hearing in accordance with the process defined 
in  Section  4-5,  that  the  licensee  has  failed  to  comply  with  the 
Administrative Rules for Water Well Drillers and refused to remedy 
the noncompliance, the state engineer may suspend or revoke a well 
driller's license and fully exact the well driller bond and deposit the 
money as a non-lapsing dedicated credit.
               3.7.4.2.  The state engineer may expend the funds derived 
from the bond to investigate or correct any deficiencies which could 
adversely affect the public interest resulting from non-compliance 
with the Administrative Rules by any well driller.
               3.7.4.3.  The state engineer shall send written notification 
by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the licensee and the 
surety  on  the  bond,  if  applicable,  informing  them  of  the 
determination to exact the well driller bond.  The state engineer's 
decision  regarding  the  noncompliance  will  be  attached  to  the 
notification  which  will  provide  facts  and  justification  for  bond 
exaction.  In the case of a surety bond exaction, the surety company 
will then forfeit the total bond amount to the state engineer.  In the  
case of a cash bond, the state engineer will cash out the CD.  The 
exacted  well  driller  bond  funds  may  then  be  used  by  the  state 

engineer  to  cover  the  costs  of  well  investigation,  repair,  and/or 
abandonment.

R655-4-4.   Administrative  Requirements  and  General 
Procedures.
               4.1  Authorization to Drill.
               The  well  driller  shall  make  certain  that  a  valid 
authorization or approval to drill exists before engaging in regulated 
well drilling activity.  Authorization to drill shall consist of a valid 
'start card' based on any of the approvals listed below.  Items 4.1.1  
through 4.1.12 allow the applicant to contract with a well driller to 
drill, construct, deepen, replace, repair, renovate, clean, develop, or 
abandon exactly one well at each location listed on the start card or 
approval  form.   The  drilling  of  multiple  borings/wells  at  an 
approved  location/point  of  diversion  is  not  allowed  without 
authorization from the state engineer's office.  Most start cards list 
the date when the authorization to drill expires.  If the expiration 
date  has  passed,  the  start  card  and  authorization  to  engage  in 
regulated  drilling  activity  is  no  longer  valid.   If  there  is  no 
expiration date on the start card, the driller must contact the state 
engineer's  office  to  determine  if  the authorization to  drill  is  still  
valid.   When  the  work  is  completed,  the  permission  to  drill  is 
terminated.
               4.1.1  An approved application to appropriate.
               4.1.2  A provisional well approval letter.
               An  approved  provisional  well  letter  grants  authority  to 
drill but allows only enough water to be diverted to determine the 
characteristics  of  an  aquifer  or  the  existence  of  a  useable 
groundwater source.
               4.1.3  An approved permanent change application.
               4.1.4  An approved exchange application.
               4.1.5  An approved temporary change application.
               4.1.6  An approved application to renovate or deepen an 
existing well.
               4.1.7  An approved application to replace an existing well.
               4.1.8  An approved monitor well letter.
               An approved monitor well letter grants authority to drill 
but  allows  only  enough  water  to  be  diverted  to  monitor 
groundwater.
               4.1.9  An approved heat exchange well letter.
               4.1.10  An approved cathodic protection well letter.
               4.1.11   An  approved  non-production  well  construction 
application.
               4.1.12  Any letter  or  document from the state engineer 
directing or authorizing a well to be drilled or work to be done on a 
well.
               4.2  Start Cards.
               4.2.1   Prior  to  commencing  any  work  (other  than 
abandonment,  see  4.2.4)  on  any  well  governed  by  these 
administrative rules, the driller must notify the state engineer of that 
intention by transmitting the information on the "Start Card" to the 
state engineer by telephone, by facsimile (FAX), by hand delivery,  
or by e-mail.  A completed original Start Card must be sent to the 
state  engineer  by  the  driller  after  it  has  been  telephoned  or  E-
mailed.
               4.2.2   A specific  Start  Card  is  printed  for  each  well 
drilling  approval  and  is  furnished  by  the  state  engineer  to  the 
applicant or the well owner.  The start card is preprinted with the  
water  right  or non-production well  number,  owner  name/address, 
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and the approved location of the well.  The state engineer marks the 
approved well drilling activity on the card.  The driller must put the 
following information on the card:
               a.  The date on which work on the well will commence;
               b.  The projected completion date of the work;
               c.  The well driller's license number;
               d.  The well driller's signature.
               4.2.3  When a single authorization is given to drill wells at 
more than one point of diversion, a start card shall be submitted for 
each location to be drilled.
               4.2.4  Following the submittal of a start card, if the actual 
start  date  of  the  drilling  activity  is  postponed  beyond  the  date 
identified on the start card, the licensed driller must notify the state 
engineer of the new start date.
               4.2.5   A start  card  is  not  required  to  abandon  a  well.  
However, prior to commencing well abandonment work, the driller 
is required to notify the state engineer by telephone, by facsimile, or 
by e-mail  of  the proposed abandonment  work.   The notice  must 
include the location of the well.  The notice should also include the 
water right or non-production well number associated with the well 
and the well owner if that information is available.
               4.3  General Requirements During Construction.
               4.3.1  The well driller shall have the required penal bond 
continually in effect during the term of the well driller's license.
               4.3.2  The well driller's license number or the well driller's 
company name exactly as shown on the well drilling license must 
be prominently displayed on each well drilling rig operated under 
the  well  driller's  license.   If  the  well  driller's  company name  is 
changed the well driller must immediately inform the state engineer 
of the change in writing.
               4.3.3  A licensed well driller or a registered operator must 
be  at  the  well  site  whenever  the  following  aspects  of  well 
construction are in process: advancing the borehole, setting casing 
and  screen,  placing  a  filter  pack,  constructing  a  surface  seal,  or 
similar  activities  involved  in  well  deepening,  renovation,  repair, 
cleaning,  developing,  or  abandoning.   All  registered  operators 
working under a well driller's license must be employees of the well 
driller and must use equipment either owned by or leased by the 
licensed well driller.
               4.3.4   A registered  operator  who  is  left  in  responsible 
charge of advancing the borehole, setting casing and screen, placing 
a  filter  pack,  constructing  a  surface  seal,  or  similar  activities 
involved  in  well  deepening,  renovation,  repair,  cleaning, 
developing, or abandoning must have a working knowledge of the 
minimum construction  standards  and the  proper  operation  of  the 
drilling rig.  The licensed well driller is responsible to ensure that a 
registered operator is adequately trained to meet these requirements.
               4.3.5   State  engineer  provisions  for  issuing  cease  and 
desist orders (Red Tags)
               4.3.5.1  Construction Standards:   The  state  engineer  or 
staff of the Division of Water Rights may order that regulated work 
on a well  cease if a field inspection reveals that the construction 
does not meet the minimum construction standards to the extent that 
the public interest might be adversely affected.
               4.3.5.2  Licensed Drilling Method:  A cease work order 
may also be issued if the well driller is not licensed for the drilling 
method being used for the well construction.
               4.3.5.3  Incompetent  Registered  Operator:   If,  during a 
field inspection by the staff of the Division of Water Rights, it is  

determined that a registered operator in responsible charge does not 
meet  these  requirements,  a  state  engineer's  red  tag  (see  Section 
4.3.5) will be placed on the drilling rig and the drilling operation 
will be ordered to shut down.  The order to cease work will remain  
effective until a qualified person is available to perform the work.
               4.3.5.4  No licensed driller or registered operator on site: 
If,  during a field inspection by the staff of the Division of Water 
Rights, it is determined that neither a licensed driller or registered 
operator are one site when regulated drilling activity is occurring,  
the state engineer may order regulated well drilling work to cease.
               4.3.5.5  General:  The state engineer's order will be in the 
form of a red tag which will be attached to the drilling rig.  A letter 
from the state engineer will be sent to the licensed driller to explain 
the sections of the administrative rules which were violated.  The 
letter will also explain the requirements that must be met before the 
order can be lifted.
               4.3.6  When required by the state engineer, the well driller 
or registered operator shall take lithologic samples at the specified 
intervals  and  submit  them  in  the  bags  provided  by  the  state 
engineer.
               4.3.7   A copy of  the  current  Administrative  Rules  for 
Water Well Drillers should be available at each well construction 
site for review by the construction personnel.  Licensed well drillers 
and registered operators must have proof of licensure or registration 
with them on site during regulated drilling activity.
               4.3.8   Prior  to  starting construction of  a  new well,  the 
licensed  driller  shall  investigate  and  become  familiar  with  the 
drilling  conditions,  geology  of  potential  aquifers  and  overlying 
materials,  anticipated  water  quality  problems,  and  know 
contaminated water bearing zones that may be encountered in the 
area of the proposed drilling activity.
               4.4  Removing Drill Rig From Well Site.
               4.4.1  A well driller shall not remove his drill rig from a 
well site unless the well drilling activity is properly completed or 
abandoned  in  accordance  with  the  construction  standards  in 
Sections 9 thru 12.
               4.4.2  For the purposes of these rules, the regulated work 
on  a  well  will  be  considered  completed  when  the  well  driller 
removes his drilling rig from the well site.
               4.4.3  The well driller may request a variance from the 
state engineer to remove a drill rig from a well prior to completion 
or abandonment.  This request must be in written form to the state 
engineer.  The written request must provide justification for leaving 
the well incomplete or un-abandoned and indicate how the well will  
be temporarily abandoned as provided in Section R655-4-12 and 
must give the date when the well driller plans to continue work to 
either complete the well or permanently abandon it.
               4.5  Official Well Driller's Report (Well Log).
               4.5.1  Within 30 days of the completion of regulated work 
on any well, the driller shall file an official well driller's report (well  
log) with the state engineer.  The blank well log form will be mailed 
to the licensed well driller upon receipt of the information on the 
Start Card as described in Subsection 4.2.
               4.5.2   The  water  right  number  or  non-production  well 
number, owner name/address, and the approved location of the well 
will be preprinted on the blank well log provided to the well driller.  
The  driller  is  required  to  verify  this  information  and  make  any 
necessary changes on the well  log prior  to  submittal.   The state 
engineer will mark the approved activity (e.g., new, replace, repair, 
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deepen)  on the  well  log.  The  driller  must  provide the following 
information on the well log:
               a.  The start and completion date of work on the well;
               b.   The  nature  of  use  for  the  well  (e.g.,  domestic, 
irrigation,  stock  watering,  commercial,  municipal,  provisional, 
monitor, cathodic protection, heat pump, etc.;
               c.  The borehole diameter, depth interval, drilling method 
and drilling fluids utilized to drill the well;
               d.  The lithologic log of the well based on strata samples 
taken from the borehole as drilling progresses;
               e.   Static  water  level  information  to  include  date  of 
measurement,  static  level,  measurement  method,  reference  point, 
artesian flow and pressure, and water temperature;
               f.   The  size,  type,  description,  joint  type,  and  depth 
intervals of casing, screen, and perforations;
               g.   A description of the filter pack, surface and interval 
seal material,  and packers  used in the well  along with necessary 
related information  such as  the depth interval,  quantity,  and mix 
ratio;
               h.  A description of the finished wellhead configuration;
               i.  The date and method of well development;
               j.  The date, method, yield, drawdown, and elapsed time 
of a well yield test;
               k.  A description of pumping equipment (if available);
               l.   Other  comments  pertinent  to  the  well  activity 
completed;
               m.  The well driller's statement to include the driller name, 
license number, signature, and date.
               4.5.3  Accuracy and completeness of the submitted well 
log are required.  Of particular importance is the lithologic section 
which should accurately reflect the geologic strata penetrated during 
the drilling process.  Sample identification must be logged in the 
field as the borehole advances and the information transferred to the 
well log form for submission to the state engineer.
               4.5.4   An amended well  log shall  be submitted  by the 
licensed  driller  if  it  becomes  known  that  the  original  report 
contained  inaccurate  or  incorrect  information,  or  if  the  original 
report  requires  supplemental  data  or  information.   Any amended 
well log must be accompanied by a written statement, signed and 
dated by the licensed well driller, attesting to the circumstances and 
the reasons for submitting the amended well log.
               4.6  Official Well Abandonment Reports (Abandonment 
Logs).
               4.6.1  Whenever a well driller is contracted to replace an 
existing  well  under  state  engineer's  approval,  it  shall  be  the 
responsibility of the well driller to inform the well owner that it is 
required by law to permanently abandon the old well in accordance 
with the provisions of Section R655-4-12.
               4.6.2  Within 30 days of the completion of abandonment 
work on any well, the driller shall file an abandonment log with the 
state engineer.  The blank abandonment log will be mailed to the 
licensed  well  driller  upon  notice  to  the  state  engineer  of 
commencement of abandonment work as described in Subsection 
R655-4-4(4.2.4).
               4.6.3   The  water  right  number  or  non-production  well 
number,  owner name/address,  and the well  location (if  available) 
will  be preprinted on the blank abandonment log provided to the 
well driller.  The driller is required to verify this information and 
make  any  necessary  changes  on  the  abandonment  log  prior  to 

submitting  the  log.   The  driller  must  provide  the  following 
information on the abandonment log:
               a.  Existing well construction information;
               b.  Date of abandonment;
               c.  Reason for abandonment;
               d.  A description of the abandonment method;
               e.  A description of the abandonment materials including 
depth intervals, material type, quantity, and mix ratio;
               f.  Replacement well information (if applicable);
               g.  The well driller's statement to include the driller
               name, license number, signature, and date.
               4.6.4  When a well is replaced and the well owner will not 
allow  the  driller  to  abandon  the  existing  well,  the  driller  must 
briefly explain the situation on the abandonment form and submit 
the form to the state engineer within 30 days of completion of the  
replacement well.
               4.7  Incomplete or Incorrectly Completed Reports.
               An  incomplete  well/abandonment  log  or  a 
well/abandonment log that has not been completed correctly will be 
returned to the licensed well driller to be completed or corrected. 
The well  log will  not be considered filed with the state engineer  
until it is complete and correct.
               4.8  Extensions of Time.
               The  well  driller  may  request  an  extension  of  time  for 
filing  the  well  log  if  there  are  circumstances  which  prevent  the 
driller  from  obtaining  the  necessary  information  before  the 
expiration of the 30 days.  The extension request must be submitted 
in writing before the end of the 30-day period.
               4.9  Late Well Logs - Lapsed License
               All  outstanding well  logs or abandonment logs shall be 
properly submitted to the state engineer prior to the lapsing of a 
license.  A person with a lapsed license who has failed to submit all 
well/abandonment logs within 90 days of lapsing will be subject to 
the state engineer's enforcement powers under Section 73-2-25 of 
the Utah Code (Related rules: Section R655-14 UAC)

R655-4-5.  Well Driller Disciplinary Procedures.
               5.1  Well driller disciplinary procedures will be conducted 
informally and are governed by Sections 63G-4-202 (Designation of 
Adjudicative Proceedings as Informal) and 63G-4-203 (Procedures 
for  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings)  of the Utah Code and by 
Section  R655-6  (Administrative  Procedures  for  Informal 
Proceedings  Before  the  Division  of  Water  Rights)  of  the  Utah 
Administrative Code.
               5.2  List of Infractions and Points.
               Licensed well drillers who commit the infractions listed 
below in  Table  1  shall  have  assessed  against  their  well  drilling 
record the number of points assigned to the infraction.

TABLE 1

Level I Infractions of Administrative Requirements

                                                    Points
Well log submitted late                              10
Well abandonment report submitted
  late                                               10
Well driller license or well driller
  name not clearly posted on well
  drilling rig                                       10
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Failing to notify the state engineer
  of a change in  the well
  driller's company name                             10
Failure to properly notify the
  state engineer before the
  proposed start date shown
  on the start card                                  20
Failure to notify the state engineer
   of a change of start date                         50
Constructing a replacement well
  further than 150 ft from the
  original well without the
  authorization of an approved
  change application                                 50
Failure to drill at the state engineer
  approved location as identified
  on the start card                                  50
Removing the well drilling rig from
  the well site before completing the
  well or temporarily or permanently
  abandoning the well                                50

TABLE 2

Level II Infractions of Administrative Requirements

                                                    Points
Employing an operator who is not
  registered with the state                          75
Contracting out work to an
  unlicensed driller (using the
  unlicensed driller's rig) without
  prior written approval from the state              75
Performing any well drilling activity without
  valid authorization (except in
  emergency situations)                             100
Intentionally making a material
  misstatement of fact in an official
  well driller's report or amended
  official well driller's report
  (well log)                                        100

TABLE 3

Level III Infractions of Construction Standards / Conditions

                                                     Points
Approvals
Using a method of drilling not listed
  on the well driller's license                      30
Failing to comply with any conditions
  included on the well approval such as
  minimum or maximum depths, specified
  locations of perforations, etc.                    50
Performing any well construction
  activity in violation of a red tag
  cease work order                                  100

Casing
Failure to extend well casing at least
  18" above ground                                   30
Failure to install a protective casing
  around a PVC well at the surface                   50
Using improper casing joints                        100
Using or attempting to use sub-standard
  well casing                                       100

Surface Seals
Using improper products or procedures
  to install a surface seal                         100
Failure to seal off artesian flow on
  the outside of casing                             100
Failure to install surface seal to
  adequate depth based on formation type            100

Failure to install interval seals to
  eliminate aquifer commingling
  or cross contamination                            100

Well Abandonment
Using improper procedures to abandon
  a well                                            100
Using improper products to abandon a
  well                                              100

Construction Fluids
Using water of unacceptable quality
  in the well drilling operation                     40
Using an unacceptable mud pit                        40
Failure to use treated or disinfected
  water for drilling processes                       40
Using improper circulation materials
  or drilling chemicals                              100

Filter Packs
Failure to disinfect filter pack                     40
Failure to install filter pack properly              75

Well Completion
Failure to make well accessible to
  water level or pressure head measurements          30
Failure to install casing annular seals,
  cap, and valving, and to control
  artesian flow                                      30
Failure to disinfect a well upon
  completion of well drilling activity               40
Failure to install a pitless adapter
  according to standard                              75
Failure to develop and test a well
  according to standard                              75

General
Failure to securely cover an
  unattended well during construction                30
Failure to engage in well drilling
  activity in accordance with accepted
  industry practices                                 100

               5.3  When Points Are Assessed.
               Points  will  be  assessed  against  a  driller's  record  upon 
verification by the state engineer that an infraction has occurred.  
Points will be assessed at the time the state engineer becomes aware 
of the infraction regardless of when the infraction occurred.
               5.4  Appeal of Infractions.
               Well drillers may appeal each infraction in writing within 
30 days of written notification by the state engineer.
               5.5  Warning Letter.
               When  the  number  of  points  assessed  against  the  well 
driller's record equals seventy-five (75) points, a warning letter will 
be sent to the well driller.  The letter will notify the driller that if he  
continues to  violate  the administrative requirements  or  minimum 
construction  standards  contained  in  the  Administrative  Rules  for 
Water  Well  Drillers,  a  hearing  will  be  held  to  determine  if  his  
license should be suspended or revoked or the bond exacted.  The 
letter will also describe the options available to the driller to delete  
points from the record as described in Subsection R655-4-5.7.  A 
copy of the driller's infraction record will be included with the letter. 
In the event numerous points are assessed against the well drillers 
record so that the total surpasses seventy-five (75) and one hundred 
(100) points at the same time, no warning letter will be sent.
               5.6  Well Driller Hearings.
               5.6.1  When the number of points  assessed against  the 
well driller's record equals 100, a Notice of Agency Action (NAA) 
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will be sent to the well driller.  The NAA will set forth the alleged  
facts, provide an opportunity for a response from the well driller, 
and provide notice of the hearing scheduled to consider the issues. 
The hearing will  be scheduled at least 10 days from the date the  
NAA is mailed.  The NAA will indicate the date, time, and place of  
the hearing.
               5.6.2  A NAA may also be sent and a hearing may also be 
convened as a result of a complaint filed by a well owner regardless  
of the total number of points shown on the well driller's record.
               5.6.3  A NAA may be sent and a hearing may be convened 
if  there  is  evidence  that  a  license  or  registration  application 
submitted  to  the  state  engineer  contains  intentionally  false  or 
misleading information.
               5.6.4  The purpose of the hearing will be to determine if 
disciplinary action is  necessary regarding the water  well  driller's  
Utah Water Well License.  The hearing will  be recorded.  At the 
hearing, testimony will be taken under oath regarding the alleged 
facts included in the NAA.  Those providing testimony may include 
the water  well  driller,  the  well  owner,  Division  of  Water  Rights  
staff, and others as deemed necessary.  Evidence that is pertinent to 
the  alleged  facts  may  also  be  presented  at  the  hearing.   After 
considering the testimony and the evidence presented at the hearing, 
the State Engineer may determine either that there is no cause for 
action against the well driller's license or that disciplinary action is 
necessary.
               5.7  Administrative Penalties.
               Administrative penalties ordered against a licensed driller 
by the  state  engineer  following  a  hearing can  include probation, 
administrative  fines,  license  suspension,  and  license  revocation. 
Administrative penalties are ordered based on the severity of the 
infraction (Level I, II, III from Table 1 of Section 5.1) as well as the 
recurrence of an infraction.
               5.7.1   Level  I  Administrative  Penalties:   Level  I 
administrative penalties will be levied against Level I administrative 
infractions (see Table 1 of Section 5.1).  The Level I administrative 
penalty structure is as follows:
               5.7.1.1  At the first conviction of Level I infractions, the 
disciplinary action for the infractions shall be probation.
               5.7.1.2  Second conviction shall result in probation and a 
fine at a rate of $2.50 per infraction point.
               5.7.1.3  Third conviction shall result in probation and an 
elevated fine at a rate of $5.00 per infraction point.
               5.7.1.4  Fourth conviction shall result in an elevated fine 
at a rate of $10.00 per infraction point and possible suspension.
               5.7.1.5  Continued and repeated convictions beyond the 
fourth conviction may result in an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 
per infraction point and possible suspension or revocation.
               5.7.1.6  Fines for  late  well  logs  and abandonment  logs 
shall be calculated separately and added to fines calculated for other 
infractions.  For late well log infractions, the points associated with 
each infraction will be multiplied by a factor based on the lateness 
of the well log.  The infraction point multipliers are as follows:

TABLE 4

Tardiness of the log              Infraction Point Multiplier
    1-2 weeks                                 0.50
    2-4 weeks                                 1.00
    1-3 months                                1.50
    3-6 months                                2.00
    6-9 months                                2.50

    9-12 months                               3.00
    Over 12 months                            4.00

               5.7.2   Level  II  Administrative  Penalties:   Level  II 
administrative  penalties  will  be  levied  against  Level  II 
administrative infractions (see Table 2 of Section 5.1).  The Level II 
administrative penalty structure is as follows:
               5.7.2.1  At the first conviction of Level II infractions, the 
disciplinary action shall result in probation and a fine at a rate of  
$2.50 per infraction point.
               5.7.2.2  Second conviction shall result in probation and an 
elevated fine at a rate of $5.00 per infraction point.
               5.7.2.3   Third  conviction  shall  result  in  possible 
suspension and an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 per infraction 
point.
               5.7.2.4  Continued and repeated convictions beyond the 
fourth conviction may result in an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 
per infraction point and possible suspension or revocation.
               5.7.3   Level  III  Administrative  Penalties:   Level  III 
administrative penalties will be levied against Level III construction 
infractions  (see  Table  3  of  Section  5.1).   The  Level  III 
administrative penalty structure is as follows:
               5.7.3.1  At the first conviction of Level III infractions, the 
disciplinary action shall result in probation and a fine at a rate of  
$5.00 per infraction point.
               5.7.3.2   Second  conviction  shall  result  in  possible 
suspension and an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 per infraction 
point.
               5.7.3.3  Third conviction may result in an elevated fine at 
a  rate  of  $10.00  per  infraction  point  and possible  suspension or 
revocation.
               5.7.4  Administrative Penalties - General
               5.7.4.1  Penalties will  only be imposed as a result  of a 
well driller hearing.
               5.7.4.2  Failure to pay a fine within 30 days from the date 
it is assessed will result in the suspension of the well driller license 
until the fine is paid.
               5.7.4.3   Fines  shall  be  deposited  as  a  dedicated  credit. 
The state engineer shall expend the money retained from fines for 
expenses  related to  well  drilling activity inspection,  well  drilling 
enforcement, and well driller education.
               5.7.5  Probation:  As described above in Sections 5.7.1, 
5.7.2, and 5.7.3, probation will generally be the disciplinary action 
imposed in situations where the facts established through testimony 
and evidence describe first  time infractions of  the administrative 
rules that are limited in number and less serious in their impact on 
the well  owner  and on the health  of  the aquifer.   The probation 
period will generally last until the number of infraction points on 
the well  driller's  record is  reduced below 70 through any of the 
options described in Subsection 4-5.8.
               5.7.6   Suspension:   Suspension  will  generally  be  the 
disciplinary action imposed in situations where the facts established 
through testimony and evidence describe repeated convictions  of 
the administrative rules, or infractions that a pose serious threat to 
the health of the aquifer, or a well driller's apparent disregard for the 
administrative  rules  or  the  state's  efforts  to  regulate  water  well 
drilling.   Depending  upon  the  number  and  severity  of  the  rule 
infractions as described above in Sections 5.7.1, 5.7.2, and 5.7.3, 
the state engineer may elect to suspend a well driller license for a  
certain period of time and/or until certain conditions have been met 
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by the well driller.  In establishing the length of the suspension, the 
state  engineer  will  generally  follow  the  guideline  that  three 
infraction points is the equivalent of one day of suspension.  A well 
driller whose license has been suspended will  be prohibited from 
engaging  in  regulated  well  drilling  activity.   License  suspension 
may also result in the exaction of the Well Driller Bond as set forth 
in  Subsection  4-3.7.4.   A well  driller  whose  license  has  been 
suspended is  allowed to work as  a  registered  operator  under  the 
direct,  continuous  supervision  of  a  licensed  well  driller.   If  the 
suspension period extends beyond the expiration date of the water 
well driller license, the water well driller may not apply to renew 
the license until the suspension period has run and any conditions 
have been met.  Once the suspension period has run and once all 
conditions have been met by the well driller, the suspension will be 
lifted and the driller will be notified that he/she may again engage in 
the well drilling business.  The well driller will then be placed on 
probation until the number of infraction points on the well driller's 
record is reduced below 70 through any of the options described in  
Subsection 4-5.8.
               5.7.7   Revocation:   Revocation  will  generally  be  the 
disciplinary action imposed in situations where the facts established 
through testimony and evidence describe repeated convictions  of 
the administrative rules for which the well driller's Utah Water Well  
License has previously been suspended.  Revocation will also be the 
disciplinary action taken if after a hearing the facts establish that a 
driller  knowingly provided  false  or  misleading  information  on  a 
driller license application.  A well  driller whose license has been 
revoked will be prohibited from engaging in regulated well drilling 
activity.  License revocation may also result in the exaction of the 
Well Driller Bond as set forth in Subsection 4-3.7.4.  A well driller 
whose license has been revoked is allowed to work as a registered 
operator under the direct, continuous supervision of a licensed well 
driller.  A well driller whose water well license has been revoked 
may not make application for a new water well license for a period 
of  two  years  from the  date  of  revocation.   After  the  revocation 
period  has  run,  a  well  driller  may  make  application  for  a  new 
license as provided in Section R655-4-3.  However, the well drilling 
experience  required  must  be  based  on  new experience  obtained 
since the license was revoked.
               5.8  Deleting Point from the Driller Record.
               Points assessed against a well driller's record will remain 
on the record unless deleted through any of the following options:
               5.8.1   Points  will  be  deleted  three  years  after  the  date 
when the infraction is noted by the state engineer and the points are 
assessed against the driller's record.
               5.8.2  One half the points on the record will be deleted if 
the well driller is free of infractions for an entire year.
               5.8.3  Thirty (30) points will be deleted for obtaining six 
(6) hours of approved continuing education credits in addition to the 
credits required to renew the water well driller's license.  A driller 
may exercise this option only once each year.
               5.8.4  Twenty (20) points will be deleted for taking and 
passing  (with  a  minimum  score  of  70%)  the  test  covering  the 
administrative  requirements  and  the  minimum  construction 
standards.  A driller may exercise this option only every other year.
               5.9  Lack of Knowledge Not an Excuse.
               Lack  of  knowledge  of  the  law  or  the  administrative 
requirements and minimum construction standards related to well 
drilling shall not constitute an excuse for violation thereof.

R655-4-6.   Renewal  of  Well  Driller's  License  and Operator's 
Registration.
               6.1  Well Driller's Licenses.
               6.1.1   Water  well  driller  licenses  shall  expire  and  be 
renewed according to the following provisions:
               a.  The licenses of well drillers whose last name begins 
with  A thru  L shall  expire  at  12  midnight  on  June  30  of  odd 
numbered years.
               b.  The licenses of well drillers whose last name begins 
with  M thru  Z  shall  expire  at  12  midnight  on  June  30  of  even 
numbered years.
               c.  Drillers who meet the renewal requirements set forth in 
Subsection R655-4-6(6.1.2)  on or  before  the expiration deadlines 
set  forth  in  Subsection  R655-4-6(6.1.1)  shall  be  authorized  to 
operate as a licensed well driller until the new license is issued.
               d.  Drillers must renew their licenses within 24 months of 
the  license  expiration  date.  Drillers  failing  to  renew  within  24 
months  of  the  license  expiration  date  must  re-apply  for  a  well 
driller's license, meet all the application requirements of Subsection 
R655-4-3(3.2),  and  provide  documentation  of  12  hours  of 
continuing  education  according  to  the  requirements  of  R655-4-6 
(6.2) obtained within the previous 24 months.
               6.1.2  Applications to renew a well driller's license must 
include the following items:
               a.   Payment  of  the license renewal  fee  determined  and 
approved by the legislature;
               b.  Written application to the state engineer;
               c.   Documentation  of  continuing  well  driller  bond 
coverage  in  the  amount  of  five  thousand  dollars  ($5,000)  penal 
bond for  the next  licensing period calendar  year.   The form and 
conditions of well driller bond shall be as set forth in Section 4.3.  
Allowable documentation can include bond continuation certificates 
and CD statements;
               d.  Proper submission of all start cards, official well driller 
reports (well  logs),  and well  abandonment reports for the current 
licensing period;
               e.   Documentation  of  compliance  with  the  continuing 
education  requirements  described  in  Section  6.2.1.   Acceptable 
documentation of attendance at approved courses must include the 
following  information:  the  name  of  the  course,  the  date  it  was 
conducted, the number of approved credits, the name and signature 
of the instructor and the driller's name; for example, certificates of  
completion,  transcripts,  attendance rosters,  diplomas,  etc.   (Note: 
drillers are advised that the state engineer will not keep track of the 
continuing education courses each driller attends during the year. 
Drillers are responsible to acquire and then submit documentation 
with the renewal application.)
               6.1.3  License renewal applications that do not meet the 
requirements  of  Subsection  R655-5-6(6.1.2)  by  June  30  of  the 
expiration year or which are received after June 30 of the expiration 
year,  will  be  assessed  an  additional  administrative  late  fee 
determined and approved by the legislature.
               6.1.4   The  state  engineer  may  renew  a  license  on  a 
restricted,  conditional,  or  limited  basis  according  to  the  driller's  
performance  and  compliance  with  established  rules  and 
construction standards.  The state engineer my refuse to renew a 
license to a well driller if it appears that there has been a violation  
of these rules or a failure to comply with Section 73-3-25 of the 
Utah Code.
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               6.2  Continuing Education.
               6.2.1  During each license period,  licensed well  drillers 
are required to earn at least twelve (12) continuing education credits 
by attending training sessions sponsored or sanctioned by the state 
engineer.  Drillers who do not renew their licenses, but who intend 
to renew within the following 24 month period allowed in Section 
6.1.1,  are  also required to earn twelve (12) continuing education 
credits.
               6.2.2   The  state  engineer  shall  establish  a  committee 
consisting of the state engineer or a representative, no more than 
four  licensed  well  drillers,  a  ground  water  scientist,  and  a 
manufacturer/supplier of well drilling products.  The committee will 
develop criteria for the training courses, approve the courses which 
can offer  continuing education credits,  and assign the number of 
credits to each course.  The committee will make recommendations 
to  the  state  engineer  concerning  appeals  from  training  course 
sponsors and well  drillers related to earning continuing education 
credit.
               6.2.3  The committee  established in  Section 6.2.2 shall 
assign the number of continuing education credits to each proposed 
training session based on the instructor's  qualifications,  a  written 
outline of the subjects to be covered, and written objectives for the 
session.  Well drillers wishing continuing education credit for other 
training sessions shall provide the committee with all information it 
needs to assign continuing education requirements.
               6.2.4  Licensed drillers must complete a State Engineer-
sponsored "Administrative Rules for Well Drillers" review course or 
other approved rules review once every four (4) years.
               6.2.5   CE  credits  cannot  be  carried  over  from  one 
licensing period to another.
               6.3  Drill Rig Operator's Registration.
               6.3.1  All operator's registrations shall expire at the same 
time as the license of the well driller by whom they are employed. 
Operators  who  meet  the  renewal  requirements  set  forth  in 
Subsection R655-4-6(6.3.2) on or before 12 midnight June 30 of the 
expiration year shall be authorized to act as a registered operator  
until  the  new registration  is  issued.  Operators  must  renew their 
registrations within 24 months of the registration expiration date. 
Operators  failing  to  renew within  24  months  of  the  registration 
expiration date must re-apply for an operator's registration and meet 
all the application requirements of Subsection R655-4-3(3.3).
               6.3.2   Applications  to  renew  an  operator's  registration 
must include the following items:
               a.  Payment of the registration renewal fee determined and 
approved by the legislature;
               b.  Written application to the state engineer.
               6.3.3  Registration renewal applications that do not meet 
the  requirements  of  Subsection  R655-4-6(6.3.2)  by  the  June  30 
expiration date or that are received after the June 30 expiration date 
will  be  assessed  an additional  administrative  late  fee  determined 
and approved by the legislature.

R655-4-7.  The Approval Process for Non-Production Wells.
               7.1  General.
               Regulated  non-production  wells  such  as  cathodic 
protection wells,  heating or cooling exchange wells,  and monitor 
wells drilled and constructed to a depth greater than 30 feet below 
natural ground surface require approval from the state engineer.

               7.2  Approval to Construct or Replace.
               Approval to construct or replace non-production wells is 
issued by the state engineer's regional offices following review of 
written requests from the owner or applicant, federal or state agency 
or engineering representative.  The requests for approval shall be 
made on forms provided by the state engineer entitled "Request for 
Non-Production  Well  Construction".   The  following  information 
must be included on the form:
               a.  General location or common description of the project.
               b.  Specific course and distance locations from established 
government surveyed outside section corners or quarter corners.
               c.  Total anticipated number of wells to be installed.
               d.  Diameters, approximate depths and materials used in 
the wells.
               e.  Projected start and completion dates.
               f.  Name and license number of the driller contracted to 
install the wells.
               There is no fee required to request approval to drill a non-
production wells.  Upon written approval by the state engineer, the 
project will be assigned an approved non-production well number 
which will be referenced on all start cards and official well driller's 
reports.

R655-4-8.  General Requirements.
               8.1  Standards.
               8.1.1   In  some  locations,  the  compliance  with  the 
following minimum standards will not result in a well being free 
from pollution or from being a source of subsurface leakage, waste, 
or  contamination  of  the  groundwater  resource.   Since  it  is 
impractical to attempt to prepare standards for  every conceivable 
situation, the well driller shall judge when to construct wells under 
more stringent  standards when such precautions are necessary to 
protect the groundwater supply and those using the well in question. 
Other  state  and  local  regulations  pertaining  to  well  drilling  and 
construction, groundwater protection, and water quality regulations 
may exist  that  are  either  more  stringent  than  these  rules  or  that 
specifically  apply  to  a  given  situation.   It  is  the  well  driller's  
responsibility  to  understand  and  apply  other  regulations  as 
applicable.
               8.2  Well Site Locations.
               8.2.1   Well  site  locations  are  described  by  course  and 
distance from outside section corners or quarter corners (based on a 
Section/Township/Range Cadastral  System) and by the Universal 
Transverse Mercator (UTM) coordinate system on all state engineer 
authorizations to drill (Start Cards).  However, the licensee should 
also be familiar with local zoning ordinances, or county boards of 
health  requirements  which  may  limit  or  restrict  the  actual  well 
location  and  construction  in  relationship  to  property/structure 
boundaries  and  existing  or  proposed  concentrated  sources  of 
pollution or contamination such as septic tanks, drain fields, sewer 
lines,  stock  corrals,  feed  lots,  etc.   The  licensee  should  also  be 
familiar with the Utah Underground Facilities Act (Title 54, Chapter 
8a of the Utah Code Annotated 1953 as amended) which requires 
subsurface excavators (including well drilling) to notify operators of 
underground  utilities  prior  to  any  subsurface  excavation. 
Information on this requirement can be found by calling (800)662-
4111.
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               8.2.2   Regulated  wells  shall  be drilled at  the approved 
location as defined on the valid start card.  The driller shall check 
the drilling location to see if it matches the state-approved location 
listed on the Driller's Start Card.
               8.3  Unusual Conditions.
               8.3.1   If  unusual  conditions  occur  at  a  well  site  and 
compliance  with  these  rules  and  standards  will  not  result  in  a 
satisfactory well or protection to the groundwater supply, a licensed 
water well driller shall request that special standards be prescribed 
for a particular well.  The request for special standards shall be in 
writing and shall set forth the location of the well, the name of the 
owner, the unusual conditions existing at the well site, the reasons 
that  compliance  with  the  rules  and  minimum standards  will  not 
result  in  a  satisfactory well,  and the proposed standards that  the 
licensed water well driller believes will be more adequate for this  
particular well.  If the state engineer finds that the proposed changes 
are in the best interest of the public, he will approve the proposed 
changes by assigning special standards for the particular well under 
consideration.

R655-4-9.  Well Drilling and Construction Requirements.
               9.0  General.
               9.0.1  Figures 1 through 5 are used to illustrate typical 
well construction standards, and can be viewed in the State of Utah 
Water  Well  Handbook available at  the Division of Water Rights, 
1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake City, Utah.  Figure 1 illustrates 
the typical construction of a drilled well with driven casing such as 
a well drilled using the cable tool method or air rotary with a drill-
through casing driver.  Figure 2 illustrates the typical construction 
of a well drilled with an oversized borehole and/or gravel packed 
without the use of surface casing.  Figure 3 illustrates the typical  
construction  of  a  well  drilled  with  an  oversized  borehole  and/or 
gravel packed with the use of surface casing.  Figure 4 illustrates 
the typical construction of a well drilled with an oversized borehole 
and/or gravel  packed completed in stratified formations in which 
poor  formation  material  or  poor  quality  water  is  encountered. 
Figure 5 illustrates the typical construction of a well completed with 
PVC or nonmetallic casing.
               9.1  Approved Products, Materials, and Procedures.
               9.1.1  Any product, material or procedure designed for use 
in the drilling, construction, cleaning, renovation, development or 
abandonment  of  water  or  monitor  wells,  which  has  received 
certification  and  approval  for  its  intended  use  by  the  National 
Sanitation Foundation (NSF) under ANSI/NSF Standard 60 or 61, 
the American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the American 
Water  Works  Association  (AWWA)  or  the  American  National 
Standards  Institute  (ANSI)  may  be  utilized.  Other  products, 
materials  or  procedures  may  also  be  utilized  for  their  intended 
purpose upon manufacturers certification that they meet or exceed 
the standards or certifications referred to in this section and upon 
state engineer approval.
               9.2  Well Casing - General
               9.2.1   Drillers  Responsibility.   It  shall  be  the  sole 
responsibility of the well driller to determine the suitability of any 
type  of  well  casing for  the  particular  well  being  constructed,  in 
accordance with these minimum requirements.
               9.2.2  Casing Stick-up.  The well  casing shall extend a 
minimum of 18 inches above finished ground level and the natural 
ground  surface  should  slope  away  from  the  casing.   A secure 

sanitary,  weatherproof  seal  or  a  completely welded  cap  shall  be 
placed on the top of the well casing to prevent contamination of the 
well.  If a vent is placed in the cap, it shall be properly screened to  
prevent access to the well by debris, insects, or other animals.
               9.2.3  Steel Casing.  All steel casing installed in Utah shall 
be in new or like-new condition,  being free from pits or breaks, 
clean with all potentially dangerous chemicals or coatings removed, 
and shall meet the minimum specifications listed in Table 5 of these 
rules.  In order to utilize steel well casing that does not fall within  
the categories specified in Table 5, the driller shall receive written  
approval from the state engineer.  All steel casing installed in Utah 
shall  meet  or  exceed  the  minimum  ASTM,  ANSI,  or  AWWA 
standards  for  steel  pipe  as  described  in  Subsection  9.1  unless 
otherwise  approved  by the  state  engineer.   Applicable  standards 
(most recent revisions) may include:
               ANSI/AWWA A100-AWWA Standard for Water Wells.
               ANSI/ASTM A53-Standard Specifications for Pipe, Steel, 
Black and Hot-Dipped, Zinc-Coated, Welded and Seamless.
               ANSI/ASTM  A139-Standard  Specification  for  Electric-
Fusion (Arc)-Welded Steel Pipe (NPS 4 and over).
               ANSI/AWWA C200-Standard for  Steel Water Pipe-6 in. 
and Larger.
               API Spec.5L-Specification for Liner Pipe.
               ASTM A106-Standard Specification for Seamless Carbon 
Steel Pipe for High Temperature Service
               ASTM  A778-Standard  Specifications  for  Welded, 
Unannealed Austenitic Stainless Steel Tubular Products.
               ASTM  A252-Standard  Specification  for  Welded  and 
Seamless Steel Pipe Piles.
               ASTM  A312-Standard  Specification  for  Seamless, 
Welded, and Heavily Cold Worked Austenitic Stainless Steel Pipes

TABLE 5
MINIMUM WALL THICKNESS FOR STEEL WELL CASING

Depth
             0   200   300   400   600    800   1000   1500
Nominal     to    to    to    to    to     to     to     to
Casing     200   300   400   600   800   1000   1500   2000
Diameter  (ft)  (ft)  (ft)  (ft)  (ft)   (ft)   (ft)   (ft)
 2       .154  .154   .154  .154  .154   .154
 3       .216  .216   .216  .216  .216   .216
 4       .237  .237   .237  .237  .237   .237   .237   .237
 5       .250  .250   .250  .250  .250   .250   .250   .250
 6       .250  .250   .250  .250  .250   .250   .250   .250
 8       .250  .250   .250  .250  .250   .250   .250   .250
10       .250  .250   .250  .250  .250   .250   .312   .312
12       .250  .250   .250  .250  .250   .250   .312   .312
14       .250  .250   .250  .250  .312   .312   .312   .312
16       .250  .250   .312  .312  .312   .312   .375   .375
18       .250  .312   .312  .312  .375   .375   .375   .438
20       .250  .312   .312  .312  .375   .375   .375   .438
22       .312  .312   .312  .375  .375   .375   .375   .438
24       .312  .312   .375  .375  .375   .438
30       .312  .375   .375  .438  .438   .500
Note:  Minimum wall thickness is in inches.

               9.2.4  Plastic and Other Non-metallic Casing.
               9.2.4.1  Materials.  PVC, SR, ABS, or other types of non-
metallic  well  casing  and  screen  may be  installed  in  Utah  upon 
obtaining permission of the well  owner.   Plastic  well  casing and 
screen shall  be  manufactured  and installed to  conform with  The 
American  National  Standards  Institute  (ANSI)  or  the  American 
Society  for  Testing  and  Materials  (ASTM)  Standard  F  480-95, 
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which  are  incorporated  by reference  to  these  rules.   Casing  and 
screen meeting this standard is normally marked "WELL CASING" 
and with the ANSI/ASTM designation "F 480-95, SDR-17 (or 13.5, 
21, etc.)".  All plastic casing and screen for use in potable water  
supplies shall  be manufactured to  be acceptable to  the American 
National Standards Institute/National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) 
standard 61.   Other  types of plastic casings and screens may be 
installed upon manufacturers certification that such casing meets or 
exceeds  the  above  described  ASTM/SDR  specification  or 
ANSI/NSF approval and upon state engineer approval.
               9.2.4.2   Minimum  Wall  Thickness  and  Depth 
Requirements.   PVC  well  casing  and  screen  with  an  outside 
diameter equal to or less than four and one half (4.5) inches shall  
meet the minimum wall thickness required under ASTM Standard 
F480-95 SDR 21 or a Schedule 40 designation.  PVC well casing 
and screen with an outside diameter greater than four and one half 
(4.5) inches shall meet the minimum wall thickness required under 
ASTM Standard F480-95 SDR 17 or a Schedule 80 designation. 
Additionally, caution should be used whenever other than factory 
slots or perforations are added to PVC well casing.  The installation 
of hand cut slots or perforations significantly reduces the collapse 
strength tolerances of unaltered casings.  The depth at which plastic 
casing and screen is placed in a well shall conform to the minimum 
requirements and restrictions as outlined in ASTM Standard F-480-
95.
               9.2.4.3  Fiberglass Casing.  Fiberglass reinforced plastic 
well casings and screens may be installed in wells upon obtaining 
permission  of  the  well  owner.   All  fiberglass  casing  or  screens 
installed  in  wells  for  use  in  potable  water  supplies  shall  be 
manufactured to be acceptable by ANSI/NSF Standard 61 and upon 
state engineer approval.
               9.2.4.4   Driving  Non-metallic  Casing.   Non-metallic 
casing shall not be driven or dropped and may only be installed in 
an oversized borehole.
               9.2.4.5  Protective Casing.  If plastic or other non-metallic 
casing is utilized, the driller shall install a protective steel casing 
which  complies  with  the  provisions  of  Subsection  9.2.3  or  an 
equivalent protective covering approved by the state engineer over 
and around the well casing at ground surface to a depth of at least 
two and one half (2.5) feet.  If a pitless adapter is installed on the 
well, the bottom of the protective cover shall be placed above the 
pitless adapter/well connection.  If the pitless adapter is placed in 
the protective casing, the protective casing shall extend below the 
pitless entrance in the well casing and be sealed both on the outside 
of the protective casing and between the protective casing and well  
casing.   The  protective  cover  shall  be  sealed  in  the  borehole  in 
accordance with the requirements of Subsection 9.4.  The annular 
space between the protective cover  and non-metallic casing shall 
also  be  sealed  with  acceptable  materials  in  accordance  with 
Subsection  9.4.   A sanitary,  weather-tight  seal  or  a  completely 
welded  cap  shall  be  placed  on  top  of  the  protective  cover,  thus 
enclosing the well itself.  If the sanitary seal is vented, screens shall  
be placed in the vent to prevent debris insects, and other animals  
from entering the well.  This protective casing requirement does not 
apply to monitor wells.  Figure 5 depicts this requirement.
               9.3  Casing Joints.
               9.3.1  General.  All well casing joints shall be made water 
tight.  In instances in which a reduction in casing diameter is made, 
there  shall  be  enough  overlap  of  the  casings  to  prevent 

misalignment and to insure the making of an adequate seal in the 
annular space between casings to prevent the movement of unstable 
sediment  or  formation  material  into  the  well,  in  addition  to 
preventing the degradation of the water supply by the migration of 
inferior quality water through the annular space between the two 
casings.
               9.3.2   Steel  Casing.   All  steel  casing  shall  be  screw-
coupled or welded. If  the joints are welded,  the weld shall be at 
least as thick as the wall thickness of the casing and shall consist of 
at  least  two beads  for  the  full  circumference of  the joint.   Spot 
welding of joints is prohibited.
               9.3.3   Plastic  Casing.   All  plastic  well  casing  shall  be 
mechanically screw coupled, chemically welded, cam-locked or lug 
coupled to provide water tight joints as per ANSI/ASTM F480-95. 
Metal screws driven into casing joints shall not be long enough to 
penetrate the inside surface of the casing.  Metal screws should be 
used only when surrounding air temperatures are below 50 degrees 
Fahrenheit (F) which retards the normal setting of the cement.
               9.4  Surface Seals and Interval Seals.
               9.4.1  General.  Before the drill rig is removed from the 
drill site of a well, a surface seal shall be installed.  Well casings  
shall  be  sealed  to  prevent  the  possible  downward  movement  of 
contaminated surface waters in the annular space around the well  
casing.   The  seal  shall  also  prevent  the  upward  movement  of 
artesian waters  within  the annular  space  around the  well  casing. 
Depending upon hydrogeologic conditions around the well, interval 
seals  may  need  to  be  installed  to  prevent  the  movement  of 
groundwater  either  upward  or  downward  around  the  well  from 
zones that have been cased out of the well due to poor water quality 
or  other  reasons.   The  following  surface  and  interval  seal 
requirements  apply  equally  to  rotary  drilled,  cable  tool  drilled, 
bored, jetted, augered, and driven wells unless otherwise specified.
               9.4.2  Seal Material.
               9.4.2.1  General.  The seal material shall consist of neat 
cement grout, sand cement grout, unhydrated bentonite, or bentonite 
grout  as  defined  in  Section  R655-4-2.   Use  of  sealing materials 
other  than  those  listed  above  must  be  approved  by  the  state 
engineer.  Bentonite  drilling  fluid  (drilling  mud),  dry  drilling 
bentonite, or drill cuttings are not an acceptable sealing material.  In  
no  case  shall  drilling  fluid  (mud),  drill  cuttings,  drill  chips,  or  
puddling clay be used, or allowed to fill, partially fill, or fall into the 
required sealing interval of a well during construction of the well. 
All  hydrated  sealing  materials  (neat  cement  grout,  sand  cement 
grout, bentonite grout) shall be placed by tremie pipe, pumping, or 
pressure  from  the  bottom  of  the  seal  interval  upwards  in  one 
continuous operation when placed below a depth of 30 feet or when 
placed  below static  groundwater  level.   Portland  Cement  grouts 
must  be  allowed  to  cure  a  minimum of  72  hours  for  Type  I-II 
cement  or  36  hours  for  Type  III  cement  before  well  drilling, 
construction, or testing may be resumed.  The volume of annular  
space  in  the  seal  interval  shall  be  calculated  by  the  driller  to 
determine the estimated volume of seal material required to seal the 
annular space.  The driller shall place at least the volume of material 
equal  to  the  volume  of  annular  space,  thus  ensuring  that  a 
continuous seal is placed.  The driller shall maintain the well casing 
centered in the borehole during seal placement using centralizers or 
other means to ensure that the seal is placed radially and vertically 
continuous.
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               9.4.2.2  Bentonite Grout.  Bentonite used to prepare grout 
for sealing shall have the ability to gel; not separate into water and 
solid  materials  after  it  gels;  have  a  hydraulic  conductivity  or 
permeability value of 10E-7 centimeters per second or less; contain 
at least 20 percent solids by weight of bentonite, and have a fluid  
weight  of  9.5  pounds  per  gallon  or  greater  and  be  specifically 
designed for the purpose of sealing.  Bentonite or polymer drilling 
fluid (mud) does not meet the definition of a grout with respect to 
density, gel strength, and solids content and shall not be used for 
sealing purposes.  At no time shall bentonite grout contain materials 
that are toxic, polluting, develop odor or color changes, or serve as 
a micro-bacterial nutrient.  All bentonite grout shall be prepared and 
installed  according  to  the  manufacturer's  instructions  and  these 
rules.  All additives must be certified by a recognized certification 
authority such as NSF and approved by the state engineer.
               9.4.2.3   Unhydrated  Bentonite.   Unhydrated  bentonite 
(e.g., granular, tabular, pelletized, or chip bentonite) may be used in 
the construction of well seals above a depth of 50 feet.  Unhydrated 
bentonite can be placed below a depth of 50 feet when placed inside 
the annulus of two casings, when placed using a tremie pipe, or by 
using  a  placement  method  approved  by the  state  engineer.   The 
bentonite  material  shall  be specifically designed  for  well  sealing 
and be within industry tolerances.  All unhydrated bentonite used 
for  sealing  must  be  free  of  organic  polymers  and  other 
contamination.   Placement  of  bentonite  shall  conform  to  the 
manufacturer's  specifications and instructions and result  in a seal 
free of voids or bridges.  Granular or powdered bentonite shall not 
be placed under water by gravity feeding from the surface.  When 
placing unhydrated bentonite, a sounding or tamping tool shall be 
run in the sealing interval during pouring to measure fill-up rate, 
verify a continuous seal placement, and to break up possible bridges 
or cake formation.
               9.4.3  Seal and Unperforated Casing Placement.
               9.4.3.1 General Seal Requirements.   Figure 1 illustrates 
the construction of a surface seal for a typical well.   The surface 
seal  must  be  placed  in  an  annular  space  that  has  a  minimum 
diameter  of  four  (4)  inches  larger  than  the  nominal  size  of  the 
permanent  well  casing (This amounts  to a  2-inch annulus).   The 
surface seal must extend from land surface to a minimum depth of 
30  feet.   The  completed  surface  seal  must  fully  surround  the 
permanent well  casing, must be evenly distributed, free of voids, 
and extend to undisturbed or recompacted soil.  In unconsolidated 
formations  such  as  gravels,  sands,  or  other  unstable  conditions 
when  the  use  of  drilling  fluid  or  other  means  of  keeping  the 
borehole open are not employed, either a temporary surface casing 
with a minimum depth of 30 feet and a minimum nominal diameter 
of four (4) inches greater than the outermost permanent casing shall 
be utilized to ensure proper seal placement or the well driller shall 
notify the state engineer's  office that the seal will  be placed in a 
potentially  unstable  open  borehole  without  a  temporary  surface 
casing  by  telephone  or  FAX  in  conjunction  with  the  start  card 
submittal in order to provide an opportunity for the state engineer's 
office to inspect the placement of the seal.  If a temporary surface  
casing  is  utilized,  the  surface  casing  shall  be  removed  in 
conjunction with the placement of the seal.  Alternatively, conductor 
casing may be sealed permanently in place to a depth of 30 feet  
with a minimum 2-inch annular seal between the surface casing and 
borehole wall.  If the temporary surface casing is to be removed, the 
surface  casing  shall  be  withdrawn  as  sealing  material  is  placed 

between the outer-most permanent well casing and borehole wall.  
The sealing material shall be kept at a sufficient height above the 
bottom of the temporary surface casing as it is withdrawn to prevent 
caving of the borehole wall.  If the temporary conductor casing is 
driven in place without a 2-inch annular seal between the surface 
casing and borehole wall, the surface casing may be left in place in 
the  borehole  only  if  it  is  impossible  to  remove  because  of 
unforeseen  conditions  and  not  because  of  inadequate  drilling 
equipment, or if the removal will seriously jeopardize the integrity 
of the well and the integrity of subsurface barriers to pollutants or 
contaminant movement.  The temporary surface casing can only be 
left  in  place  without  a  sufficient  2-inch  annular  seal  as  describe 
above with the approval  of the state  engineer  on a  case by case 
basis.  If the surface casing is left in place, it shall be perforated to  
allow seal  material  to  penetrate  through  the  casing  and  into  the 
formation  and  annular  space  between  the  surface  casing  and 
borehole wall.  Unhydrated bentonite shall not be used to construct 
the surface seal when the surface casing is left in place.  Grout seal  
materials  must  be  used  to  construct  the  surface  seal  when  the 
surface  casing  is  left  in  place.   The  grout  must  be  placed  with 
sufficient  pressure  to  force  the  grout  through  the  surface  casing 
perforations and into the annular space between the surface casing 
and  borehole  wall  and  into  the  formation.   Surface  seals  and 
unperforated  casing  shall  be  installed  in  wells  located  in 
unconsolidated formation such as sand and gravel with minor clay 
or confining units; unconsolidated formation consisting of stratified 
layers of materials such as sand, gravel, and clay or other confining 
units;  and  consolidated  formations  according  to  the  following 
procedures.
               9.4.3.2   Unconsolidated  Formation  without  Significant 
Confining  Units.   This  includes  wells  that  penetrate  an  aquifer 
overlain  by  unconsolidated  formations  such  as  sand  and  gravel 
without  significant  clay  beds  (at  least  six  feet  thick)  or  other 
confining formations.  The surface seal must be placed in a 2-inch 
annular  space  to  a  minimum  depth  of  30  feet.   Permanent 
unperforated casing shall extend at least to a depth of 30 feet and 
also extend below the lowest anticipated pumping level.  Additional 
casing placed in the open borehole below the required depths noted 
above shall meet the casing requirements of Subsection 9.2 unless 
the casing is installed as a liner inside a larger diameter approved 
casing.
               9.4.3.3   Unconsolidated  Formation  with  Significant 
Confining  Units.   This  includes  wells  that  penetrate  an  aquifer 
overlain by clay or other confining formations that are at least six 
(6) feet thick.  The surface seal must be placed in a 2-inch annular  
space to a minimum depth of 30 feet and at least five (5) feet into 
the confining unit above the water bearing formation. Unperforated 
casing shall extend from ground surface to at least 30 feet and to the 
bottom of the confining unit overlying the water bearing formation. 
If necessary to complete the well, a smaller diameter casing, liner,  
or well screen may be installed below the unperforated casing.  The 
annular space between the two casings shall be sealed with grout, 
bentonite, or a mechanical packer.  Additional casing placed in the 
open borehole below the required depths noted above shall meet the 
casing requirements of Subsection 9.2 unless the casing is installed 
as a liner inside a larger diameter approved casing.
               9.4.3.4   Consolidated  Formation.   This  includes  drilled 
wells  that  penetrate  an  aquifer,  either  within  or  overlain  by  a 
consolidated formation.  The surface seal must be placed in a 2-inch 
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annular space to a minimum depth of 30 feet and at least five (5) 
feet  into  competent  consolidated  formation.   Unperforated 
permanent casing shall be installed to extend to a depth of at least 
30 feet and the lower part of the casing shall be driven and sealed at 
least five (5) feet into the consolidated formation.  If necessary to 
complete the well, a smaller diameter casing, liner, or well screen  
may be installed below the unperforated casing.  The annular space 
between the two casings shall be sealed with grout, bentonite, or a 
mechanical packer.  Additional casing placed in the open borehole 
below  the  required  depths  noted  above  shall  meet  the  casing 
requirements of Subsection 9.2 unless the casing is installed as a 
liner inside a larger diameter approved casing.
               9.4.3.5  Sealing Artesian Wells.  Unperforated well casing 
shall extend into the confining stratum overlying the artesian zone,  
and shall be adequately sealed into the confining stratum to prevent 
both surface and subsurface leakage from the artesian zone.  If leaks 
occur around the well casing or adjacent to the well, the well shall 
be  completed  with  the  seals,  packers,  or  casing  necessary  to 
eliminate the leakage.  The driller shall not move the drilling rig 
from  the  well  site  until  leakage  is  completely  stopped,  unless 
authority for temporary removal of the drilling rig is granted by the 
state engineer, or when loss of life or property is imminent.  If the 
well  flows naturally at  land surface due to  artesian pressure,  the 
well shall be equipped with a control valve so that the flow can be 
completely  stopped.   The  control  valve  must  be  available  for 
inspection by the state engineer at all times.
               9.4.4  Interval Seals.  Formations containing undesirable 
materials  (e.g.,  fine  sand  and  silt  that  can  damage  pumping 
equipment and result in turbid water), contaminated groundwater, or 
poor quality groundwater must be sealed off so that the unfavorable 
formation cannot contribute to the performance and quality of the 
well.  These zones must also be sealed to eliminate the potential of 
cross  contamination  or  commingling  between  two  aquifers  of 
differing  quality.   Figure  4  illustrates  this  situation.   Unless 
approved by the state engineer, construction of wells that cause the  
commingling or cross connection of otherwise separate aquifers is 
not allowed.
               9.4.5  Other Sealing Methods.  In wells where the above-
described  methods  of  well  sealing  do  not  apply,  special  sealing 
procedures  can  be  approved  by  the  state  engineer  upon  written 
request by the licensed well driller.
               9.5   Special  Requirements  for  Oversized  and  Gravel 
Packed  Wells.   This  section  applies  to  wells  in  which  casing  is 
installed  in  an  open  borehole  without  driving  or  drilling  in  the 
casing and an annular space is left between the borehole wall and 
well  casing  (e.g.,  mud  rotary  wells,  flooded  reverse  circulation 
wells, air rotary wells in open bedrock).
               9.5.1  Oversized Borehole.  The diameter of the borehole 
shall be at least four (4) inches larger than the outside diameter of 
the well casing to be installed to allow for proper placement of the  
gravel pack and/or formation stabilizer and adequate clearance for 
grouting and surface seal installations.  In order to accept a smaller 
diameter  casing  in  any  oversized  borehole  penetrating 
unconsolidated or stratified formations, the annular space must be 
sealed in accordance with Subsection 9.4.  In order to minimize the 
risk of:  1) borehole caving or collapse; 2) casing failure or collapse; 
or 3) axial distortion of the casing, it is recommended that the entire 
annular  space  in  an  oversized  borehole  between  the  casing  and 
borehole wall be filled with formation stabilizer such as approved 

seal material,  gravel  pack,  filter material  or other state  engineer-
approved materials.  Well casing placed in an oversized borehole 
should  be  suspended  at  the  ground  surface  until  all  formation 
stabilizer material is placed in order to reduce axial distortion of the 
casing if it is allowed to rest on the bottom of an open oversized 
borehole.  In order to accept a smaller diameter casing, the annular  
space  in  an  oversized  borehole  penetrating  unconsolidated 
formations (with no confining layer) must be sealed in accordance 
with Subsection 9.4 to a depth of at least 30 feet or from static water  
level to ground surface, whichever is deeper.  The annular space in 
an  oversized  borehole  penetrating  stratified  or  consolidated 
formations must be sealed in accordance with Subsection 9.4 to a 
depth of at least 30 feet or five (5) feet into an impervious strata 
(e.g., clay) or competent consolidated formation overlying the water 
producing  zones  back  to  ground  surface,  whichever  is  deeper. 
Especially in the case of an oversized borehole, the requirements of 
Subsection 9.4.4 regarding interval sealing must be followed.
               9.5.2  Gravel Pack or Filter Material.  The gravel pack or 
filter material shall consist of clean, well-rounded, chemically stable 
grains that are smooth and uniform.  The filter material should not 
contain more than 2% by weight of thin, flat, or elongated pieces 
and should not contain organic impurities or contaminants of any 
kind.  In order to assure that no contamination is introduced into the 
well  via the gravel pack, the gravel pack must be washed with a 
minimum  100  ppm  solution  of  chlorinated  water  or  dry 
hypochlorite mixed with the gravel pack at the surface before it is 
introduced into the well  (see Table  6 of  these rules  for  required 
amount of chlorine material).
               9.5.3   Placement  of  Filter  Material.   All  filter  material 
shall  be  placed  using a  method that  through common usage  has 
been shown to minimize a) bridging of the material  between the 
borehole  and  the  casing,  and  b)  excessive  segregation  of  the 
material after it has been introduced into the annulus and before it 
settles into place.  It  is not acceptable to place filter material  by  
pouring from the ground surface unless proper sounding devices are 
utilized to  measure dynamic  filter  depth,  evaluate  pour  rate,  and 
minimize bridging and formation of voids.
               9.5.4   No  Surface  Casing  Used.   If  no  permanent 
conductor casing is installed, neat cement grout, sand cement grout, 
bentonite grout, or unhydrated bentonite seal shall be installed in 
accordance with Subsection 9.4.  Figure 2 of these rules illustrates 
the construction of a typical well of this type.
               9.5.5  Permanent Conductor Casing Used.  If permanent 
conductor casing is installed, it shall be unperforated and installed 
and sealed in accordance with Subsection 9.4 as depicted in Figure 
3 of these rules.  After the gravel pack has been installed between 
the conductor casing and the well casing, the annular space between 
the two casings shall be sealed by either welding a water-tight steel 
cap between the two casings at land surface or filling the annular  
space between the two casings with neat cement grout, sand cement 
grout, bentonite grout, or unhydrated bentonite from at least 50 feet 
to the surface and in accordance with Subsection 9.4.  If a hole will  
be created in the permanent conductor casing in order to install a 
pitless adapter into the well casing, the annual space between the 
conductor casing and well casing shall be sealed to at least a depth 
of  thirty  (30)  feet  with  neat  cement  grout,  sand  cement  grout, 
bentonite grout, or unhydrated bentonite.  A waterproof cap or weld 
ring  sealing the  two casings  at  the  surface  by itself  without  the 
annular seal between the two casings is unacceptable when a pitless 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2011, Vol. 2011, No. 5 57



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 34413

adapter  is  installed  in  this  fashion.   Moreover  in  this  case,  the 
annular space between the surface casing and well casing must be at  
least 2 inches in order to facilitate seal placement.
               9.5.6  Gravel Feed Pipe.  If a gravel feed pipe, used to add 
gravel  to  the gravel  pack after  well  completion,  is  installed,  the 
diameter of the borehole in the sealing interval must be at least four 
(4) inches in diameter greater than the permanent casing plus the 
diameter  of the gravel  feed pipe.   The gravel  feed pipe must  be 
completely  surrounded  by  the  seal.  The  gravel  feed  pipe  must 
extend at least 18 inches above ground and must be sealed at the top 
with a watertight cap or plug (see Figure 2).
               9.6  Protection of the Aquifer.
               9.6.1  Drilling Fluids and LCMs.  The well driller shall 
take  due care  to  protect  the  producing aquifer  from clogging or 
contamination.  Organic substances shall not be introduced into the 
well or borehole during drilling or construction.  Every effort shall 
be made to remove all substances and materials introduced into the 
aquifer  or  aquifers  during  well  construction.   "Substances  and 
materials" shall mean all drilling fluids, filter cake, and any other 
inorganic substances added to the drilling fluid that may seal or clog 
the aquifer.  The introduction of lost circulation materials (LCM's) 
during the drilling process shall be limited to those products which 
will  not  present  a  potential  medium  for  bacterial  growth  or 
contamination.  Only LCM's which are non-organic, which can be 
safely  broken  down  and  removed  from  the  borehole,  may  be 
utilized.  This is especially important in the construction of wells 
designed to be used as a public water system supply.
               9.6.2   Containment  of  Drilling  Fluid.   Drilling  or 
circulating  fluid  introduced  into  the  drilling  process  shall  be 
contained  in  a  manner  to  prevent  surface  or  subsurface 
contamination and to prevent degradation of natural or man-made 
water courses or impoundments.  Rules regarding the discharges to 
waters  of the state  are  promulgated  under  R317-8-2 of  the Utah 
Administrative Code and regulated by the Utah Division of Water 
Quality (Tel. 801-536-6146).  Pollution of waters of the state is a 
violation of the Utah Water Quality Act, Utah Code Annotated Title 
19, Chapter 5.
               9.6.3   Mineralized,  Contaminated  or  Polluted  Water. 
Whenever  a  water  bearing  stratum  that  contains  nonpotable 
mineralized,  contaminated  or  polluted  water  is  encountered,  the 
stratum shall be adequately sealed off so that contamination or co-
mingling of the overlying or underlying groundwater zones will not 
occur (see Figure 4).
               9.6.4  Drilling Equipment.  All tools, drilling equipment, 
and materials used to drill a well shall be free of contaminants prior 
to beginning well  construction.   Contaminants include lubricants, 
fuel, bacteria, etc. that will reduce the well efficiency, and any other 
item(s) that will be harmful to public health and/or the resource or 
reduce the life of the water well.   It  is recommended that excess 
lubricants  placed  on  drilling  equipment  be  wiped  clean  prior  to 
insertion into the borehole.
               9.6.5  Well Disinfection and Chlorination of Water.  No 
contaminated or untreated water shall be placed in a well  during 
construction.   Water  should  be  obtained  from  a  chlorinated 
municipal system.  Where this is not possible, the water must be 
treated to give 100 parts per million free chlorine residual.  Upon 
completion of a well or work on a well, the driller shall disinfect the  
well  using accepted disinfection procedures to give 100 parts per 
million free chlorine residual equally distributed in the well water 

from static  level  to  the bottom of the well.   A chlorine solution 
designated  for  potable  water  use  prepared  with  either  calcium 
hypochlorite  (powdered,  granular,  or  tablet  form)  or  sodium 
hypochlorite in liquid form shall be used for water well disinfection. 
Off-the-shelf chlorine compounds intended for home laundry use, 
pool or fountain use should not be used if they contain additives 
such as antifungal agents, silica ("Ultra" brands), scents, etc.  Table 
6  provides  the  amount  of  chlorine  compound  required  per  100 
gallons of water or 100 feet linear casing volume of water to mix a 
100 parts per million solution.  Disinfection situations not depicted 
in  Table  6  must  be  approved  by the  state  engineer.   Additional 
recommendations and guidelines for water well system disinfection 
are available from the state engineer upon request.

TABLE 6
AMOUNT OF CHLORINE COMPOUND FOR EACH 100 FEET OF WATER

STANDING IN WELL (100 ppm solution)

Well           Ca-HyCLT*   Ca-HyCLT     Na-HyCLT**   Liquid CL***
Diameter      (25% HOCL)  (65% HOCL)  (12-trade %)   (100% Cl2)
(inches)       (ounces)    (ounces)  (fluid ounces)    (lbs)

2                1.00       0.50          3.5          0.03
4                3.50       1.50          7.0          0.06
6                8.00       3.00         16.0          0.12
8               14.50       5.50         28.0          0.22
10              22.50       8.50         45.0          0.34
12              32.50      12.00         64.0          0.50
14              44.50      16.50         88.0          0.70
16              58.00      26.00         112           0.88
20              90.50      33.00         179           1.36
For every 100
 gal. of water
 add:            5.50       2.00         11.5          0.09

NOTES:  *Calcium Hypochlorite (solid)
        **Sodium Hypochlorite (liquid)
        ***Liquid Chlorine

               9.7  Special Requirements.
               9.7.1  Explosives.  Explosives used in well construction 
shall  not  be  detonated  within  the  section  of  casing  designed  or 
expected to serve as the surface seal of the completed well, whether 
or not the surface seal has been placed.  If explosives are used in the 
construction of a well, their use shall be reported on the official well 
log.   In  no  case  shall  explosives,  other  than  explosive  shot 
perforators  specifically  designed  to  perforate  steel  casing,  be 
detonated inside the well casing or liner pipe.
               9.7.2  Access Port.  Every well shall be equipped with a 
usable access port so that the position of the water level, or pressure 
head, in the well can be measured at all times.
               9.7.3   Completion  or  Abandonment.   A licensed driller 
shall  not remove his drill  rig from a well  site unless the well  is  
completed or abandoned.   Completion of a well  shall  include all 
surface seals,  gravel  packs or curbs required.   Dry boreholes,  or 
otherwise  unsuccessful  attempts  at  completing  a  well,  shall  be 
properly abandoned in accordance with Section R655-4-12.  Upon 
completion, all wells shall be equipped with a watertight, tamper-
resistant casing cap or sanitary seal.
               9.7.4  Surface Security.  If it becomes necessary for the 
driller  to  temporarily  discontinue  the  drilling  operation  before 
completion  of  the  well  or  otherwise  leave  the  well  or  borehole 
unattended, the well and/or borehole must be covered securely to 
prevent  contaminants  from  entering  the  casing  or  borehole  and 
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rendered  secure  against  entry  by  children,  vandals,  domestic 
animals, and wildlife.
               9.7.5   Pitless  Adapters.   Pitless  adapters  or  units  are 
acceptable to use with steel well casing as long as they are installed 
in  accordance  with  manufacturers  recommendations  and 
specifications.   The  pitless  adaptor,  including  the  cap  or  cover, 
casing extension, and other attachments, must be so designed and 
constructed to be water tight and to prevent contamination of the 
potable  water  supply from external  sources.   Pitless  adapters  or 
units are not recommended to be mounted on PVC well casing.  If a 
pitless adapter is to be used with PVC casing, it should be designed 
for  use  with  PVC casing,  and  the  driller  should  ensure  that  the 
weight of the pump and column do not exceed the strength of the 
PVC well casing.
               9.7.6   Hydraulic  Fracturing.   The  hydraulic  fracturing 
pressure shall be transmitted through a drill string and shall not be 
transmitted to the well casing.  Hydraulic fracturing intervals shall 
be at least 20 feet below the bottom of the permanent casing of a 
well.   All  hydraulic  fracturing  equipment  shall  be  thoroughly 
disinfected with a 100 part  per million chlorine solution prior to 
insertion into the well.   The driller  shall  include the appropriate 
hydraulic fracturing information on the well log including methods, 
materials, maximum pressures, location of packers, and initial/final 
yields.
               9.7.7  Static  Water Level,  Well  Development,  and Well 
Yield.  To fulfill the requirements of Subsection R655-4-4.5.2, new 
wells designed to produce water shall be developed to remove drill 
cuttings, drilling mud, or other materials introduced into the well  
during construction and to restore the natural groundwater flow to 
the well  to the extent possible.   After a water production well  is  
developed, a test should be performed to determine the rate at which 
groundwater  can be reliably produced from the well.   Following 
development and testing, the static water level in the well should 
also  be  measured.   Static  water  level,  well  development 
information,  and  well  yield  information  shall  be  noted  on  the 
official submittal of the Well Log by the well driller.

R655-4-10.  Special Wells.
               10.1  Construction Standards for Special Wells.
               10.1.1  General.  The construction standards outlined in 
Section  R655-4-9  are  meant  to  serve  as  minimum  acceptable 
construction  standards.   Certain  types  of  wells  such  as  cathodic 
protection wells, heating or cooling exchange wells, recharge and 
recovery wells, and public supply wells require special construction 
standards that are addressed in this section or in rules promulgated 
by other  regulating agencies.   At  a minimum, when constructing 
special  wells  as  listed above,  the well  shall  be constructed by a 
licensed well  driller,  and the minimum construction standards of 
Section R655-4-9 shall  be followed in  addition  to  the  following 
special standards.
               10.1.2  Public Water Supply Wells.  Public water supply 
wells are subject to the minimum construction standards outlined in 
Section R655-4-9 in addition to the requirements established by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Drinking Water 
under Rules R309-515 and R309-600.  Plans and specifications for 
a  public  supply  well  must  be  reviewed  and  approved  by  the 
Division of Drinking Water before the well is drilled.  These plans 
and  specifications  shall  include  the  procedures,  practices,  and 
materials used to drill, construct, seal, develop, clean, disinfect, and 

test  the  public  supply  well.   A Preliminary  Evaluation  Report 
describing the potential vulnerability and protection strategies of the 
new well  to contamination must also be submitted and approved 
prior to drilling.  A representative of the Division of Drinking Water 
must be present at the time the surface grout seal is placed in all  
public  supply  wells,  so  that  the  placement  of  the  seal  can  be 
certified.  In order to assure that a representative will be available,  
and to avoid down-time waiting for a representative, notice should 
be given several days in advance of the projected surface grout seal 
placement.   When  the  time  and  date  for  the  surface  grout  seal 
installation are confirmed a definite appointment should be made 
with the representative of the Division of Drinking Water to witness 
the grout seal placement by calling (801) 536-4200.  The licensed 
driller shall have available a copy of the start card relating to the  
well and provide that information to the inspecting representative at 
the time of the surface grout seal installation and inspection.
               10.1.3  Cathodic Protection Well Construction.  Cathodic 
protection wells shall be constructed in accordance with the casing, 
joint,  surface  seal,  and  other  applicable  requirements  outlined in 
Section R655-4-9.  Any annular space existing between the base of 
the annular surface seal and the top of the anode and conductive fill  
interval shall be filled with appropriate fill or sealing material.  Fill  
material shall consist of washed granular material such as sand, pea 
gravel,  or  sealing material.   Fill  material  shall  not  be  subject  to 
decomposition or consolidation and shall be free of pollutants and 
contaminants.   Fill  material  shall  not  be  toxic  or  contain  drill 
cuttings or drilling mud.  Additional sealing material shall be placed 
below the minimum depth of the annular surface seal, as needed, to 
prevent the cross-connection and commingling of separate aquifers 
and water bearing zones.  Vent pipes, anode access tubing, and any 
other tubular materials (i.e., the outermost casing) that pass through 
the interval  to be filled and sealed are  considered casing for  the 
purposes  of  these  standards  and  shall  meet  the  requirements  of 
Subsections R655-4-9.2 and 9.3.  Cathodic protection well casing 
shall be at least 2 inches in internal diameter to facilitate eventual 
well abandonment.  Figure 6 illustrates the construction of a typical 
cathodic protection well.
               10.1.4   Heating/Cooling  Exchange  Wells.   Wells  or 
boreholes utilized for heat exchange or thermal heating, which are 
greater than 30 feet in depth and encounter formations containing 
groundwater, must be drilled by a licensed driller and the owner or 
applicant  must  have  an  approved  application  for  that  specific 
purpose  as  outlined  in  Section  R655-4-7.   Wells  or  boreholes 
installed for heat or thermal exchange process must comply with the 
minimum construction standards of Section R655-4-9.  For closed-
loop  systems where  groundwater  is  not  removed in  the  process, 
non-production  well  approval  must  be  obtained  from  the  state 
engineer.  Closed-loop system wells must be sealed from the bottom 
of the well/boring to ground surface using acceptable materials and 
placement methods described in Section 9.4.  Sand may be added to 
the seal mix to enhance thermal conductivity as long as the seal mix 
meets permeability and gel strength standards outlined in Section 
9.4.   For  open-loop  systems  where  groundwater  is  removed, 
processed,  and  re-injected,  a  non-consumptive  use  water  right 
approval  must  be  obtained  from  the  state  engineer.   Open-loop 
system  wells  shall  be  constructed  in  accordance  with  the 
requirements found in Section 9.  If a separate well or borehole is 
required for re-injection purposes, it must also comply with these 
standards and the groundwater must be injected into the same water 
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bearing zones as from which it is initially withdrawn.  The quality 
and quantity of groundwater shall  not be diminished or degraded 
upon re-injection.  The rules herein pertain only to the heating and 
cooling exchange well constructed to a depth greater than 30 feet  
and are not intended to regulate the incidental work that may occur 
up to the well such as plumbing, electrical, piping, trenching, and 
backfilling activities.
               10.1.5  Recharge and Recovery Wells.  Any well drilled 
under the provisions of Title 73, Chapter 3b (Groundwater Recharge 
and Recovery Act) shall be constructed in a manner consistent with 
these  rules  and  shall  be  drilled  by  a  currently  licensed  driller. 
Special rules regarding the injection of water into the ground are 
also promulgated under the jurisdiction of the Utah Department of 
Environmental  Quality,  Division  of  Water  Quality  (Rule  R317-7 
"Underground  Injection  Control  Program"  of  the  Utah 
Administrative Code) and must be followed in conjunction with the 
Water Well Drilling rules.

R655-4-11.  Deepening, Rehabilitation, and Renovation of Wells.
               11.1  Sealing of Casing.
               11.1.1  If in the repair of a drilled well, the old casing is 
withdrawn,  the well  shall  be recased and resealed in  accordance 
with the rules provided in Subsection R655-4-9(9.4).
               11.2  Inner Casing.
               11.2.1  If an inner casing is installed to prevent leakage of 
undesirable  water  into  a  well,  the  space  between  the  two  well 
casings shall be completely sealed using packers, casing swedging, 
pressure grouting, etc., to prevent the movement of water between 
the casings.
               11.3  Outer Casing.
               11.3.1  If  the  "over-drive"  method is  used to  eliminate 
leakage around an existing well,  the casing driven over  the well 
shall meet the minimum specifications listed in Subsection R655-4-
9(9.4).
               11.4  Artesian Wells.
               11.4.1  If  upon deepening an existing well,  an artesian 
zone  is  encountered,  the  well  shall  be  cased  and  completed  as 
provided in Subsection R655-4-9(9.4).
               11.5  Drilling in a Dug Well.
               11.5.1   A drilled  well  may  be  constructed  through  an 
existing dug well provided that:
               11.5.1.1   Unperforated  Casing  Requirements.   An 
unperforated section of well casing extends from a depth of at least 
ten (10) feet below the bottom of the dug well and at least 20 feet 
below land surface to above the maximum static water level in the 
dug well.
               11.5.1.2  Seal  Required.   A two foot  thick seal of neat 
cement grout, sand cement grout, or bentonite grout is placed in the 
bottom of the dug well  so as to prevent the direct movement  of  
water from the dug well into the drilled well.
               11.5.1.3  Test of Seal.  The drilled well shall be pumped or 
bailed to determine whether the seal described in Subsection R655-
4-11(11.5.1.2) is adequate to prevent movement of water from the 
dug well into the drilled well.  If the seal leaks, additional sealing  
and testing shall be performed until a water tight seal is obtained.
               11.6  Well Rehabilitation and Cleaning.
               11.6.1  Tools used to rehabilitate or clean a well shall be 
cleaned, disinfected, and free of contamination prior to placement in 
a well.

               11.6.2  The driller  shall  use  rehabilitation and cleaning 
tools properly so as not to permanently damage the well or aquifer. 
If  the  surface  seal  is  damaged  or  destroyed  in  the  process  of 
rehabilitation or cleaning, the driller shall repair the surface seal to 
the standards set forth in Subsection R655-4-9(9.4).
               11.6.3  Debris,  sediment,  and other  materials  displaced 
inside the well and surrounding aquifer as a result of rehabilitation 
or cleaning shall be completely removed by pumping, bailing, well 
development, or other approved methods.
               11.6.4   Detergents,  chlorine,  acids,  or  other  chemicals 
placed in wells for the purpose of increasing or restoring yield, shall 
be specifically designed for that purpose and used according to the 
manufacturer's recommendations.
               11.6.5  Any renovation, rehabilitation, cleaning, or other 
work on a well  that requires alteration of the well  itself shall be 
conducted by a licensed well driller.
               11.6.6  Following completion of deepening,  renovation, 
rehabilitation, cleaning, or other work on a well, the well shall be 
properly  disinfected  in  accordance  with  Subsection  R655-4-
9(9.6.5).

R655-4-12.  Abandonment of Wells.
               12.1  Temporary Abandonment.
               12.1.1   When  any  well  is  temporarily  removed  from 
service, the top of the well shall be sealed with a tamper resistant, 
water-tight cap or seal.  If a well is in the process of being drilled 
and is temporarily abandoned, the well shall be sealed with a tamper 
resistant,  water-tight  cap  or  seal  and  a  surface  seal  installed  in 
accordance  with  Subsection  R655-4-9(9.4).   The  well  may  be 
temporarily abandoned during construction for a maximum of 90 
days.  After the 90 day period, the temporarily abandoned well shall 
be completed as  a well  that meets the standards of Section 9 or 
permanently  abandoned  in  accordance  with  the  following 
requirements,  and  an  official  well  abandonment  report 
(abandonment log) must be submitted in compliance with Section 
R655-4-4.
               12.2  Permanent Abandonment.
               12.2.1  The rules of this section apply to the abandonment 
of the type of wells listed in Subsection R655-4-1(1.2) including 
private  water  wells,  public  supply wells,  monitor  wells,  cathodic 
protection wells, and heating or cooling exchange wells.  A licensed 
driller  shall  notify  the  state  engineer  prior  to  commencing 
abandonment  work  and  submit  a  complete  and  accurate 
abandonment log following abandonment work in accordance with 
Section  R655-4-4  of  these  rules.   Prior  to  commencing 
abandonment work, the driller shall obtain a copy of the well log of 
the well proposed to be abandoned from the well owner or the state 
engineer, if available, in order to determine the proper abandonment 
procedure.  Any well that is to be permanently abandoned shall be  
completely filled in a manner to prevent vertical movement of water 
within  the  borehole  as  well  as  preventing  the  annular  space 
surrounding the well casing from becoming a conduit for possible 
contamination of the groundwater supply.  A well driller who wishes 
to  abandon  a  well  in  a  manner  that  does  not  comply  with  the 
provisions set forth in this section must request approval from the 
state engineer.
               12.3  License Required.
               12.3.1  Well  abandonment  shall  be accomplished under 
the direct supervision of a currently licensed water well driller who 
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shall be responsible for verification of the procedures and materials 
used.
               12.4  Acceptable Materials.
               12.4.1  Neat cement grout, sand cement grout, unhydrated 
bentonite,  or bentonite grout  shall  be used to  abandon wells  and 
boreholes.   Other  sealing materials  or additives,  such as fly ash, 
may be used in the preparation of grout upon approval of the state 
engineer.  Drilling mud or drill cuttings shall not be used as any part  
of a sealing materials for well abandonment.  The liquid phase of 
the  abandonment  fluid  shall  be  water  from a  potable  municipal 
system  or  disinfected  in  accordance  with  Subsection  R655-4-
9(9.6.5).
               12.5  Placement of Materials.
               12.5.1   Neat  cement  and  sand  cement  grout  shall  be 
introduced at the bottom of the well or required sealing interval and 
placed progressively upward to the top of the well.   The sealing 
material  shall  be placed by the use of  a  grout  pipe,  tremie line, 
dump bailer or equivalent in order to avoid freefall,  bridging,  or 
dilution of the sealing materials or separation of aggregates from 
sealants.  Sealing material shall not be installed by freefall (gravity) 
unless the interval to be sealed is dry and no deeper than 30 feet 
below ground surface.  If  the well  to be abandoned is a flowing 
artesian well, the well may be pressure grouted from the surface. 
The  well  should  be  capped  immediately after  placement  of  seal 
materials to allow the seal material to set up and not flow out of the 
well.
               12.5.2   Bentonite-based abandonment  products  shall  be 
mixed  and  placed  according  to  manufacturer's  recommended 
procedures and result in a seal free of voids or bridges.  Granular or 
powered bentonite shall not be placed under water.  When placing 
unhydrated bentonite, a sounding or tamping tool shall be run in the 
sealing  interval  during  pouring  to  measure  fill-up  rate,  verify  a 
continuous seal placement, and to break up possible bridges or cake 
formation.
               12.5.3  The uppermost ten (10) feet of the abandoned well  
casing or borehole shall consist of neat cement grout or sand cement 
grout.
               12.5.4  Abandonment materials placed opposite any non-
water bearing intervals or zones shall be at least as impervious as  
the  formation  or  strata  prior  to  penetration  during  the  drilling 
process.
               12.5.5  Prior to well or borehole abandonment, all pump 
equipment, piping, and other debris shall be removed to the extent 
possible.  The well shall also be sounded immediately before it is 
plugged to make sure that no obstructions exist that will interfere 
with the filling and sealing.  If the well contains lubricating oil that 
has leaked from a turbine shaft pump, it shall be removed from the 
well  prior  to  abandonment  and  disposed  of  in  accordance  with 
applicable state and federal regulations.
               12.5.6   Verification  shall  be  made  that  the  volume  of 
sealing  and  fill  material  placed  in  a  well  during  abandonment 
operations equals or exceeds the volume of the well or borehole to 
be filled and sealed.
               12.6  Termination of Casing.
               12.6.1   The casings  of  wells  to  be abandoned shall  be 
severed  a  minimum of  two feet  below either  the natural  ground 
surface adjacent to the well or at the collar of the hole, whichever is 
the  lower  elevation.   A minimum of  two  (2)  feet  of  compacted 

native  material  shall  be  placed  above  the  abandoned  well  upon 
completion.
               12.7  Abandonment of Artesian Wells.
               12.7.1   A  neat  cement  grout,  sand-cement  grout,  or 
concrete plug shall be placed in the confining stratum overlying the 
artesian zone so as to prevent subsurface leakage from the artesian 
zone.  The remainder of the well shall be filled with sand-cement 
grout,  neat  cement  grout,  bentonite  abandonment  products,  or 
bentonite grout.  The uppermost ten (10) feet of the well shall be 
abandoned as required in Subsection R655-4-12(12.5.3).
               12.8  Abandonment of Drilled and Jetted Wells.
               12.8.1  A neat cement grout or sand cement grout plug 
shall be placed opposite all perforations, screens or openings in the 
well casing. The remainder of the well shall be filled with cement 
grout,  neat cement,  bentonite abandonment products,  concrete, or 
bentonite  slurry.   The  uppermost  ten  feet  of  the  well  shall  be 
abandoned as required in Subsection R655-4-12(12.5.3).
               12.9  Abandonment of Gravel Packed Wells.
               12.9.1  All gravel packed wells shall be pressure grouted 
throughout  the  perforated  or  screened  section  of  the  well.   The 
remainder of the well shall be filled with sand cement grout, neat 
cement grout, bentonite abandonment products, or bentonite grout. 
The uppermost ten feet of the well shall be abandoned as required in 
Subsection R655-4-12(12.5.3).
               12.10  Removal of Casing.
               12.10.1   It  is  recommended  that  the  well  casing  be 
removed  during  well  abandonment,  and  when  doing  so,  the 
abandonment materials shall be placed from the bottom of the well  
or borehole progressively upward as the casing is removed.  The 
well  shall  be sealed with sand cement  grout,  neat  cement  grout, 
bentonite abandonment products, or bentonite grout.  In the case of 
gravel  packed  wells,  the  entire  gravel  section  shall  be  pressure 
grouted.  The uppermost ten feet of the well shall be abandoned as  
required in Subsection R655-4-12(12.5.3).
               12.11  Replacement Wells.
               12.11.1  Wells which are to be removed from operation 
and  replaced  by  the  drilling  of  a  new well  under  an  approved 
replacement application, shall be abandoned in a manner consistent 
with the provisions of Section R655-4-12 before the rig is removed 
from the  site  of  the  newly constructed  replacement  well,  unless 
written  authorization  to  remove  the  rig  without  abandonment  is 
provided  by  the  state  engineer.   Also  refer  to  the  requirements 
provided in Subsection R655-4-4(4.4).
               12.12  Abandonment of Cathodic Protection Wells.
               12.12.1   The  general  requirements  for  permanent  well 
abandonment  in  accordance  with  Section  R655-4-12  shall  be 
followed for the abandonment of cathodic protection wells.
               12.12.2  A cathodic protection well shall be investigated 
before  it  is  destroyed  to  determine  its  condition,  details  of  its 
construction and whether  conditions exist  that will  interfere  with 
filling and sealing.
               12.12.3   Casing,  cables,  anodes,  granular  backfill, 
conductive  backfill,  and  sealing  material  shall  be  removed  as 
needed,  by re-drilling,  if  necessary,  to the point needed to allow 
proper placement of abandonment material.  Casing that cannot be 
removed  shall  be  adequately  perforated  or  punctured  at  specific 
intervals  to  allow  pressure  injection  of  sealing  materials  into 
granular backfill and all other voids that require sealing.
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R655-4-13.  Monitor Well Construction Standards.
               13.1  Scope.
               13.1.1  Certain construction standards that apply to water 
wells also apply to monitor wells.  Therefore, these monitoring well  
standards refer frequently to the water well standard sections of the 
rules.  Standards that apply only to monitor wells, or that require 
emphasis,  are  discussed  in  this  section.   Figure  7  illustrates  a 
schematic  of  an  acceptable  monitor  well  with  an  above-ground 
surface  completion.   Figure  8  illustrates  a  schematic  of  an 
acceptable  monitor  well  with  a  flush-mount  surface  completion. 
Figures  7 and 8 can be viewed in the publication,  State of Utah 
Administrative  Rules  for  Water  Well  Drillers,  dated  January  1, 
2001, available at the Division of Water Rights, 1594 West North 
Temple, Salt Lake City, Utah.
               13.1.2  These standards are not intended as a complete 
manual  for  monitoring well  construction,  alteration,  maintenance, 
and  abandonment.   These  standards  serve  only  as  minimum 
statewide  guidelines  towards  ensuring that  monitor  wells  do  not 
constitute a significant pathway for the movement of poor quality 
water,  pollutants,  or  contaminants.   These  standards  provide  no 
assurance  that  a  monitor  well  will  perform  a  desired  function. 
Ultimate  responsibility  for  the  design  and  performance  of  a 
monitoring  well  rests  with  the  well  owner  and/or  the  owner's  
contractor,  and/or  technical  representative(s).   Most  monitor  well 
projects  are  the  result  of  compliance  with  the  Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA), Federal Regulations such as the Resource 
Conservation  and  Recovery  Act  (RCRA),  Comprehensive 
Environmental  Response,  Compensation  and  Liability  Act 
(CERCLA or "Superfund"), or specific State Solid and Hazardous 
Waste requirements.  The contracts governing their installation are 
tightly written containing specific requirements as to site location, 
materials  used,  sampling  procedures  and  overall  objectives. 
Therefore  specific  construction  requirements  for  monitor  well 
installation  shall  be  governed  by  applicable  contracts  and 
regulations providing they meet or exceed state requirements and 
specifications.  Guidelines and recommended practices dealing with 
the installation of  monitor  wells  may be obtained from the state 
engineer upon request.  Additional recommended information may 
be  obtained  from  the  Environmental  Protection  Agency  (EPA), 
Resource Conservation  and  Recovery Act  (RCRA),  Groundwater 
Monitoring Enforcement and Compliance Document available from 
EPA's regional office in Denver, Colorado and from the Handbook 
of  Suggested  Practices  for  the  Design  and  Installation  of 
Groundwater  Monitoring  Wells,  available  from  the  National 
Groundwater Association in Dublin, Ohio.
               13.2  Installation and Construction.
               13.2.1  Materials and Equipment Contaminant-Free.  All 
material  used  in  the  installation  of  monitor  wells  shall  be 
contaminant-free when placed in the ground.  Drilling equipment 
shall be clean and contaminant free in accordance with Subsection 
R655-4-9(9.6.4).   During construction contaminated water  should 
not  be  allowed  to  enter  contaminant-free  geologic  formations  or 
water bearing zones.
               13.2.2   Borehole  Integrity.   Some  minor  cross-
contamination  may  occur  during  the  drilling  process,  but  the 
integrity of the borehole  and individual  formations must  then be 
safeguarded from permanent cross connection.
               13.2.3  Casing and Screen.   The well  casing should be 
perforated or screened and filter packed with sand or gravel where 

necessary to  provide adequate  sample collection at  depths where 
appropriate  aquifer  flow  zones  exist.   The  casing  and  screen 
selected shall  not  affect  or  interfere  with the chemical,  physical, 
radiological, or biological constituents of interest.   Screens in the 
same well shall not be placed across separate water bearing zones in  
order to minimize interconnection, aquifer commingling, and cross 
contamination.  Screens in a nested well can be placed in separate  
water  bearing  zones  as  long  as  the  intervals  between  the  water 
bearing zones are appropriately sealed and aquifer cross connection 
and commingling does not occur.  Monitor well casing and screen 
shall conform to ASTM standards, or consist of at least 304 or 316 
stainless steel, PTFE (Teflon), or Schedule 40 PVC casing.
               13.2.4  Gravel/Filter Pack.  If installed, the gravel or filter 
pack should generally extend two (2) feet to ten (10) feet  above 
screened or perforated areas to prevent the migration of the sealing 
material  from entering the zones being sampled.  Gravel or filter 
pack material  shall  meet the requirements of Subsection R655-4-
9(9.5.2).  Gravel/filter pack for monitoring wells does not require 
disinfection.   Drill  cutting  should  not  be  placed  into  the  open 
borehole  annulus.   The well  driller  shall  ensure that  a  bridge  or 
voids do not occur in the annular space during the placement of the 
gravel pack by means of a sounding device or other mechanism.
               13.2.5  Annular Seal.  All monitor wells constructed shall 
have  a  continuous  surface  seal,  which  seals  the  annular  space 
between the borehole and the permanent casing, in accordance with 
the  provisions  in  Section  R655-4-9.   The  surface  seal  depth 
requirements of Section R655-4-9 do not apply to monitor wells. 
The surface seal may be more or less than 50 feet depending on the 
screen/perforation and/or gravel pack interval.  Seals shall also be 
constructed to prevent interconnection and commingling of separate 
aquifers penetrated by the well, prevent migration of surface water 
and contaminations into the well  and aquifers,  and shall  provide 
casing stability.  The seal shall have a minimum diameter of four 
inches larger than the nominal size of the permanent casing,  and 
shall extend from land surface to the top of the filter pack.  After the 
permanent  casing and filter  pack (optional) has been set  in final  
position, a layer of bentonite or fine sand (e.g., mortar sand) shall be 
placed on top of the filter pack to maintain separation between the 
seal material and the screened interval in order to insure that the 
seal placement will not interfere with the filter pack.  The remaining 
annular  space  shall  be  filled  to  land  surface  in  a  continuous 
operation  with  unhydrated  bentonite,  neat  cement  grout,  sand-
cement  grout,  or  bentonite grout.   Only potable  water  should be 
used to hydrate any grout or slurry mixture.  The completed annular 
space  shall  fully  surround  the  permanent  casing,  be  evenly 
distributed, free of voids, and extend from the permanent casing to 
undisturbed  or  recompacted  soil.   All  sealing  materials  and 
placement methods shall conform to the standards in Section R655-
4-2 and Subsection R655-4-9(9.4).  The well driller shall ensure that  
a  bridge  or  voids  do  not  occur  in  the  annular  space  during  the 
placement of the seal.
               13.2.6  Cuttings, Decon Water, Development Water, and 
Other IDW. Drill cuttings, decontamination (Decon) water, monitor 
well  development  water,  and  other  investigation  derived  waste 
(IDW)  shall  be  managed  and  disposed  of  in  accordance  with 
applicable  state  and  federal  environmental  regulations.   It  is  the 
responsibility  of  the  driller  to  know  and  understand  such 
requirements.
               13.3  Minimum Surface Protection Requirements.
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               13.3.1  If a well is cased with metal and completed above 
ground surface, a locking water resistant cap shall be installed on 
the top of the well.
               13.3.2  If the well is not cased with metal and completed 
above ground surface, a protective metal casing shall be installed 
over and around the well.  The protective casing shall be cemented 
at least two feet into the ground around the nonmetallic casing.  A 
water tight cap shall be installed in the top of the well casing.  A 
locking cap shall be installed on the top of the protective casing.
               13.3.3   Monitor  wells  completed  above  ground  and 
potentially accessible to vehicular damage shall be protected in the 
following manner.  At least three metal posts, at least three inches in 
diameter, shall be cemented in place around the casing.  Each post 
shall extend at  least  three feet above and two feet below ground 
surface.  A concrete pad may be installed to add protection to the 
surface completion.  If installed, the concrete pad shall be at least 
four (4) inches thick and shall slope to drain away from the well 
casing.  The base shall extend at least two (2) feet laterally in all  
directions from the outside of the well boring.  When a concrete pad 
is used, the well seal may be part of the concrete pad.
               13.3.4   If  the  well  is  completed  below land  surface,  a 
water tight cap with a lock shall be attached to the top of the well  
casing.  A metal monument or equivalent shall be installed over and 
around the well.  The monument shall serve as a protective cover 
and be installed level with the land surface and be equipped with a 
waterproof  seal  to  prevent  inflow of  any water  or  contaminants. 
Drains will  be provided,  when feasible,  to keep water out of the 
well and below the well cap.  The monument and cover must be 
designed to withstand the maximum expected load.
               13.4  Abandonment.
               13.4.1  Abandonment of monitor wells shall be completed 
in  compliance  with  the  provisions  of  Section  R655-4-12.   The 
provisions of Section R655-4-12 are not required for the permanent 
abandonment  of  monitor  wells  completed  at  a  depth  of  30  feet 
below natural ground surface.

KEY:  water rights, licensing, well drilling
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
September 10, 2008
Notice of Continuation:  October 13, 2009
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  73-3]
R655-4.  Water Wells.
R655-4-1.  Purpose, Scope, and Exclusions.
                 1.1  Purpose.  
                 Under Subsection 73-2-1(4)(b), the State Engineer, as the   
Director of the Utah Division of Water Rights, is required to make 
rules regarding well construction and related regulated activities and 
the licensing of water well drillers and pump installers.
                 These rules are promulgated pursuant to Section 73-3-25.   
The purpose of these rules is to assist in the orderly development of 
underground water; insure that minimum construction standards are 
followed  in  the  drilling,  construction,  deepening,  repairing, 
renovating,  cleaning,  development,  pump  installation/repair,  and 
abandonment  of  water  wells  and  other  regulated  wells;  prevent 
pollution of aquifers within the state; prevent wasting of water from 
flowing  wells;  obtain  accurate  records  of  well  construction 
operations; and insure compliance with the state engineer's authority 
for appropriating water.

                 These rules  also establish administrative  procedures  for   
applications,  approvals,  hearings,  notices,  revocations,  orders  and 
their  judicial  review,  and  all  other  administrative  procedures 
required or allowed by these rules.  These rules shall be liberally 
construed to permit the Division to effectuate the purposes of Utah 
law.
                 1.2  Scope.  
                 The drilling,  construction,  deepening, repair,  renovation,   
replacement,  cleaning,  development,  or  abandonment  of  the 
following types of wells are regulated by these administrative rules 
and the work must  be permitted  by the  Utah  Division  of  Water 
Rights  and  completed  by a  licensed  well  driller.   Moreover,  the 
installation and repair of pumps in the following types of wells is  
regulated  by  these  administrative  rules  and  the  work  must  be 
completed by a licensed well driller or a licensed pump installer.  A 
person conducting pump installation and repair work on their own 
well on their own property is exempt from these rules and is not 
required to have a pump installer's license.  These rules apply to 
both  vertical,  angle  and  horizontal  wells  if  they  fall  within  the 
criteria  listed below.   The rules  contained herein pertain only to 
work on or within the well itself.  These rules do not regulate the 
incidental work beyond the well such as plumbing, electrical, and 
excavation work up to the well; and the building of well enclosures 
unless these activities directly impact or change the construction of 
the well itself.  The process for an applicant to obtain approval to 
drill, construct, deepen, repair, renovate, clean, develop, abandon, or 
replace the wells  listed below in 1.2.1,  1.2.2,  1.2.3,  and 1.2.4 is  
outlined in Section R655-4-9 of these rules.
                 1.2.1  Cathodic protection wells which are completed to a   
depth greater than 30 feet.
                 1.2.2  Closed-loop and open-loop Heating and/or cooling   
exchange wells which are greater than 30 feet in depth and which 
encounter formations containing groundwater.  If a separate well or 
borehole is required for re-injection purposes, it must also comply 
with these administrative rules.
                 1.2.3  Monitor, piezometer, and test wells designed for the   
purpose  of  testing  and  monitoring  water  level,  pressure,  quality 
and/or quantity which are completed to a depth greater than 30 feet.
                 1.2.4  Other wells (cased or open) which are completed to   
a  depth  greater  than  30  feet  that  can  potentially  interfere  with 
established  aquifers  such  as  wells  to  monitor  mass  movement 
(inclinometers), facilitate horizontal utility placement, monitor man-
made  structures,  house  instrumentation  to  monitor  structural 
performance, or dissipate hydraulic pressures (dewatering wells).
                 1.2.5  Private water production wells which are completed   
to a depth greater than 30 feet.
                 1.2.6  Public water system supply wells.  
                 1.2.7   Recharge  and  recovery  wells  which  are  drilled   
under  the  provisions  of  Title  73,  Chapter  3b  "Groundwater 
Recharge and Recovery Act" Utah Code Annotated.
                 1.3  Exclusions.  
                 The drilling,  construction,  deepening, repair,  renovation,   
replacement,  cleaning,  development,  pump  installation/repair,  or 
abandonment  of  the  following  types  of  wells  or  boreholes  are 
excluded from regulation under these administrative rules:
                 1.3.1   Any  wells  described  in  Section  1.2  that  are   
constructed to a final depth of 30 feet or less.  However, diversion 
and beneficial use of groundwater from wells at a depth of 30 feet
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or less shall require approval through the appropriation procedures 
and policies of the state engineer and Title 73, Chapter 3 of the Utah 
Code Annotated.
                 1.3.2  Geothermal wells.   Although not regulated under   
the  Administrative  Rules  for  Water  Wells,  geothermal  wells  are 
subject  to  Section  73-22-1  "Utah  Geothermal  Resource 
Conservation Act" Utah Code Annotated and the rules promulgated 
by the state engineer including Section R655-1, Wells Used for the  
Discovery and Production of  Geothermal  Energy in  the  State  of 
Utah.
                 1.3.3   Temporary  exploratory  wells  drilled  to  obtain   
information on the subsurface strata on which an embankment or 
foundation  is  to  be  placed  or  an  area  proposed  to  be  used  as  a 
potential source of material for construction.
                 1.3.4  Wells or boreholes drilled or constructed into non-  
water bearing zones or which are 30 feet or less in depth for the  
purpose of utilizing heat from the surrounding earth.
                 1.3.5   Geotechnical  borings  drilled  to  obtain  lithologic   
data  which  are  not  installed  for  the  purpose  of  utilizing  or 
monitoring  groundwater,  and  which  are  properly  sealed 
immediately after drilling and testing.
                 1.3.6  Oil, gas, and mineral exploration/production wells.   
These wells are subject to rules promulgated under the Division of 
Oil, Gas, and Mining of the Utah Department of Natural Resources.

R655-4-2.  Definitions.
                 ABANDONED WELL - any well which is not in use and   
has been sealed or plugged with approved sealing materials so that 
it  is  rendered  unproductive  and  shall  prevent  contamination  of 
groundwater.   A properly abandoned well  will  not produce water 
nor  serve as  a  channel  for  movement  of  water  from the well  or 
between water bearing zones.
                 ADDRESS - the current residential or business address of   
a well driller as recorded in the Division's files.
                 ADJUDICATIVE  PROCEEDING  -  means,  for  the   
purposes  of  this  rule,  an  administrative  action  or  proceeding 
commenced  by  the  Division  in  conjunction  with  an  Infraction 
Notice;  or  an administrative  action or  proceeding commenced in 
response to a well driller's appeal or a Cease and Desist Order or an 
appeal of a restriction or denial of a license renewal application.
                 AMERICAN  NATIONAL  STANDARDS  INSTITUTE   
(ANSI)  -  a  nationally recognized  testing laboratory that  certifies 
building products and adopts standards including those for steel and 
plastic (PVC) casing utilized in the well  drilling industry.   ANSI 
standards are often adopted for use by ASTM and AWWA.  Current 
information  on  standards  can  be  obtained  from:   ANSI,  1430 
Broadway, New York, NY 10018 (ANSI.org).
                 AMERICAN  SOCIETY  FOR  TESTING  AND   
MATERIALS  (ASTM)  -  an  independent  organization  concerned 
with  the  development  of  standards  on  characteristics  and 
performance  of  materials,  products  and  systems  including  those 
utilized in the well drilling industry.  Information may be obtained 
from:   ASTM,  1916  Race  Street,  Philadelphia,  PA  19013 
(ASTM.org).
                 AMERICAN  WATER  WORKS  ASSOCIATION   
(AWWA) - an international association which publishes standards 
intended to represent a consensus of the water supply industry that 
the product  or  procedure described in  the standard shall  provide 
satisfactory service or results.  Information may be obtained from: 

AWWA,  6666  West  Quincy  Avenue,  Denver  CO  80235 
(AWWA.org).
                 ANNULAR SPACE - the space between the outer well   
casing and the borehole or the space between two sets of casing.
                 AQUIFER  -  a  porous  underground  formation  yielding   
withdrawable water suitable for beneficial use.
                 ARTESIAN AQUIFER - a water-bearing formation which   
contains underground water under sufficient pressure to rise above 
the zone of saturation.
                 ARTESIAN WELL - a well  where the water level rises   
appreciably above the zone of saturation.
                 BACKFLOW  PREVENTER  -  means  a  safety  device,   
assembly, or construction practice used to prevent water pollution or 
contamination  by  preventing  flow of  a  mixture  of  water  and/or 
chemicals from the distribution piping into a water well or in the 
opposite direction of that intended.  This includes but is not limited 
to check valves, foot valves, curb stops, or air gaps
                 BENTONITE  -  a  highly  plastic,  highly  absorbent,   
colloidal  swelling  clay  composed  largely  of  mineral  sodium 
montmorillonite.  Bentonite is commercially available in powdered, 
granular, tablet, pellet, or chip form which is hydrated with potable 
water and used for a variety of purposes including the stabilization 
of borehole walls during drilling, the control of potential or existing 
high fluid pressures encountered during drilling below a water table, 
well  abandonment,  and  to  provide  a  seal  in  the  annular  space 
between the well casing and borehole wall.
                 BENTONITE  GROUT  -  a  mixture  of  bentonite  and   
potable  water  specifically  designed  to  seal  and  plug  wells  and 
boreholes  mixed  at  manufacturer's  specifications  to  a  grout 
consistency which can be pumped through a pipe directly into the 
annular  space  of  a  well  or  used  for  abandonment.   Its  primary 
purpose  is  to  seal  the  borehole  or  well  in  order  to  prevent  the 
subsurface migration or communication of fluids.
                 CASH BOND - A type of well driller bond in the form of   
a certificate of deposit  (CD) submitted and assigned to the State 
Engineer  by  a  licensed  driller  to  satisfy  the  required  bonding 
requirements.
                 CASING - a tubular retaining and sealing structure that is   
installed in the borehole to maintain the well opening.
                 CATHODIC PROTECTION WELL - a well constructed   
for the purpose of installing deep anodes to minimize or prevent 
electrolytic corrosive action of metallic structures installed below 
ground surface, such as pipelines, transmission lines, well casings, 
storage tanks, or pilings.
                 CEASE AND DESIST ORDER - means an order issued   
by the State Engineer comprised of a red tag placed on a well rig at  
the well drilling location and a letter to the driller requiring that all 
well  drilling activity at the well  drilling location cease until such 
time as the order is lifted.
                 CLOSED-LOOP  HEATING/COOLING  EXCHANGE   
WELL -    means the subsystem of a geothermal heat pump system   
that consists of the drilled vertical  borehole into the Earth that is 
equipped with a heat exchange media conveyance tube (loop tube), 
and  is  grouted  from  the  bottom of  the  vertical  borehole  to  the 
Earth's surface at the drilling site. Construction of a geothermal heat  
pump loop well includes, in continuous order, drilling of the vertical 
borehole, placement of the loop tube to the bottom of the vertical 
borehole with the grout tremie, and grouting of the vertical borehole 
from the bottom of the vertical borehole to the Earth's surface at the 
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drill site. Closed loop systems circulate a heat transfer fluid (such as 
water or a mixture of water and food grade/non-toxic anti-freeze) to 
exchange heat with the subsurface geological environment.
                 CONDUCTOR  CASING  -  means  the  temporary  or   
permanent  casing used  in  the  upper  portion  of  the  well  bore  to 
prevent collapse of the formation during the construction of the well 
or to conduct the gravel pack to the perforated or screened areas in 
the casing.
                 CONFINING  UNIT  -  a  geological  layer  either  of   
unconsolidated  material,  usually  clay  or  hardpan,  or  bedrock, 
usually shale, through which virtually no water moves.
                 CONSOLIDATED FORMATION - bedrock consisting of   
sedimentary, igneous, or metamorphic rock (e.g., shale, sandstone, 
limestone, quartzite, conglomerate, basalt, granite, tuff, etc.).
                 DEFAULT  ORDER  -  means  an  order  issued  by  the   
Presiding Officer after a well driller fails to attend a hearing in a  
well driller adjudicative proceeding.  A Default Order constitutes a 
Final Judgment and Order.
                 DEWATERING  WELL  -  a  water  extraction  well   
constructed for the purpose of lowering the water table elevation, 
either temporarily or permanently, around a man-made structure or 
construction activity.
                 DISINFECTION - or disinfecting is the use of chlorine or   
other disinfecting agent or process approved by the state engineer, 
in sufficient concentration and contact time adequate to inactivate or 
eradicate bacteria such as coliform or other organisms.
                 DIVISION - means the Division of Water Rights.   The   
terms Division and State Engineer may be used interchangeably in 
this rule.
                 DRAWDOWN - the difference in elevation between the   
static water level and the pumping water level in a well.
                 DRILL  RIG  -  any  power-driven  percussion,  rotary,   
boring,  coring,  digging,  jetting,  or  augering machine used in  the 
construction of a well or borehole.
                 EMERGENCY  SITUATION  -  any  situation  where   
immediate action is required to protect life or property.  Emergency 
status  would  also  extend  to  any  situation  where  life  is  not 
immediately threatened but action is needed immediately and it is 
not  possible  to  contact  the  state  engineer  for  approval.   For 
example, it would be considered an emergency if a domestic well 
needed immediate repair over a weekend when the state engineer's 
offices are closed.
                 FILES - means information maintained in the Division's   
public  records,  which  may  include  both  paper  and  electronic 
information.
                 FINAL  JUDGMENT  AND  ORDER  -  means  a  final   
decision issued by the Presiding Officer on the whole or a part of a 
well  driller  adjudicative  proceeding.  This  definition  includes 
"Default Orders."
                 GRAVEL  PACKED  WELL  -  a  well  in  which  filter   
material such as sand and/or gravel is placed in the annular space  
between  the  well  intakes  (screen  or  perforated  casing)  and  the 
borehole wall to increase the effective diameter of the well and to 
prevent fine-grained sediments from entering the well.
                 GROUNDWATER  -  subsurface  water  in  a  zone  of   
saturation.
                 GROUT - a fluid mixture of Portland cement or bentonite   
with water of a consistency that can be forced through a pipe and 
placed as required.  Upon approval, various additives such as sand, 

bentonite, and hydrated lime may be included in the mixture to meet 
different requirements.
                 HEATING/COOLING  EXCHANGE  SYSTEM  -  also   
known as GeoExchange, ground-source heat pump, geothermal heat 
pump, and ground-coupled heat pump; a heat pump that uses the 
Earth itself as a heat source (heating) and heat sink (cooling). It is  
coupled to the ground by means of a closed loop heat exchanger 
installed  vertically  underground  or  by physically  pumping  water 
from a well  with an open loop systems and utilizing the thermal  
properties of the water to heat or cool.
                 HYDRAULIC  FRACTURING  -  the  process  whereby   
water or other fluid is pumped with sand under high pressure into a  
well  to fracture and clean-out the rock surrounding the well bore 
thus increasing the flow to the well.
                 INFRACTION NOTICE - means a notice issued by the   
Division to the well driller informing him of his alleged act or acts 
violating  the  Administrative  Rules  for  Water  Drillers  and  the 
infraction points that have been assessed against him.
ISSUED - means a document executed by an authorized delegate of 
the State Engineer (in the case of an Infraction Notice) or by the 
Presiding Officer (in the case of a Hearing Notice, Final Judgment 
and  Order  or  other  order  related  to  a  well  driller  adjudicative 
proceeding) and deposited in the mail.
                 LICENSE  -  means  the  express  grant  of  permission  or   
authority  by the  State  Engineer  to  carry on  the  activity  of  well  
drilling.
                 LICENSED  PUMP  INSTALLER  -  means  a  qualified   
individual who has obtained a license from the Division and who is 
engaged in the installation, removal, alteration, or repair of pumps 
and pumping equipment for compensation.
LOG - means an official document or report that describes where, 
when, and how a regulated well was drilled, constructed, deepened,  
repaired,  renovated,  cleaned,  developed,  tested,  equipped  with 
pumping equipment, and/or abandoned.  A Log shall be submitted 
to the Division by a licensee on forms provided by the Division 
including  a  Well  Driller's  Report,  Well  Abandonment  Report,  or 
Pump Installer's Report.
                 MONITOR WELL - a well,  as defined under "well" in   
this section, that is constructed for the purpose of determining water 
levels, monitoring chemical, bacteriological, radiological, or other 
physical properties of ground water or vadose zone water.
                 NATIONAL SANITATION  FOUNDATION  (NSF)  -  a   
voluntary  third  party  consensus  standards  and  testing  entity 
established  under  agreement  with  the  U.  S.  Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) to develop testing and adopt standards and 
certification  programs  for  all  direct  and  indirect  drinking  water 
additives and products.  Information may be obtained from:  NSF,  
3475 Plymouth Road, P O Box 1468, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106 
(NSF.org).
                 NEAT CEMENT GROUT -  cement  conforming  to  the   
ASTM Standard C150 (standard specification of Portland cement), 
with  no more  than six gallons of  water  per  94 pound sack (one 
cubic foot) of cement of sufficient weight density of not less than 15 
lbs/gallon.
                   NOMINAL SIZE - means the manufactured commercial   
designation  of  the  diameter  of  a  casing.  An  example  would  be 
casing with an outside diameter  of  12 3/4 inches which may be 
nominally 12-inch casing by manufactured commercial designation.

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2011, Vol. 2011, No. 5 65



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 34413

                   OPEN-LOOP  HEATING/COOLING  EXCHANGE   
WELL -    means a well  system in which groundwater is extracted   
from a typical water production well and pumped through an above 
ground heat exchanger inside the heat pump system.  Heat is either 
extracted or added by the primary refrigerant  loop (primary loop 
refrigerant does not come into contact with the pumped water), and 
then the water is returned to the same aquifer by injection through 
the original extraction well or through a separate injection well.
                 OPERATOR - a drill rig operator or pump rig operator is   
an individual who works under the direct supervision of a licensed 
Utah Water Well Driller or Pump Installer and who can be left in 
responsible  charge  of  regulated  well  drilling  or  pump 
installation/repair activity using equipment that is under the direct 
control of the licensee.
                 PARTY means the State Engineer, an authorized delegate   
of  the State  Engineer,  the well  driller,  the  pump installer,  or  the 
affected well owner.
                 PIEZOMETER -  a  tube or  pipe,  open at  the bottom in   
groundwater, and sealed along its length, used to measure hydraulic 
head or water level in a geologic unit.
                 PITLESS  ADAPTER  -  a  commercially  manufactured   
devise designed for attachment to a well casing which allows buried 
pump discharge from the well and allows access to the interior of 
the well  casing for  installation or removal of the pump or pump 
appurtenances,  while  preventing  contaminants  from  entering  the 
well.   Such devices protect the water  and distribution lines from 
temperature extremes, permit extension of the casing above ground 
as  required in  Subsection R655-4-11.3.2 and allow access  to  the 
well, pump or system components within the well without exterior 
excavation or disruption of surrounding earth or surface seal.
                 PITLESS UNIT -  a  factory-assembled  device  with  cap   
which extends the upper end of a well casing to above grade and is 
o constructed as to allow for buried pump discharge from the well  
and allows access to the interior of the well casing for installation or 
removal  of  the  pump  or  pump  appurtenances,  while  preventing 
contaminants  from  entering  the  well.   Such  devices  protect  the 
water  and  distribution  lines  from  temperature  extremes,  permit 
extension  of  the  casing  above  ground  as  required  in  Subsection 
R655-4-11.3.2  and  allow  access  to  the  well,  pump  or  system 
components  within  the  well  without  exterior  excavation  or 
disruption of surrounding earth or surface seal.
                 POLLUTION  -  the  alteration  of  the  physical,  thermal,   
chemical,  or  biological  quality  of,  or  the  contamination  of,  any 
water  that renders the water harmful,  detrimental,  or injurious to 
humans, animals, vegetation, or property, or to public health, safety,  
or welfare, or impairs the usefulness or the public enjoyment of the 
water for any or reasonable purpose.
                 POTABLE  WATER  -  water  supplied  for  human   
consumption,  sanitary  use,  or  for  the  preparation  of  food  or 
pharmaceutical  products  which is  free from biological,  chemical,  
physical, and radiological impurities.
                 PRESIDING OFFICER - means an authorized delegate of   
the  State  Engineer  who  conducts  a  well  driller  adjudicative 
proceeding.
                 PRESSURE GROUTING - a process by which grout is   
confined within the drillhole or casing by the use of retaining plugs 
or packers and by which sufficient pressure is applied to drive the 
grout slurry into the annular space or zone to be grouted.

                 PRIVATE WATER PRODUCTION WELL -  a privately   
owned well constructed to supply water for any purpose which has 
been approved by the state engineer (such as irrigation, stockwater,  
domestic, commercial, industrial, etc.).
                 PROBATION - A disciplinary action that may be taken by   
the state engineer that entails greater review and regulation of well  
drilling activities but which does not prohibit  a well  driller from 
engaging  in  the  well  drilling  business  or  operating  well  drilling 
equipment.
                 PROVISIONAL WELL -  authorization  granted  by  the   
state  engineer  to  drill  under  a  pending,  unapproved  water  right, 
change or exchange application; or for the purpose of determining 
characteristics  of  an  aquifer,  or  the  existence  of  a  useable 
groundwater source.  Water from a provisional well cannot be put to 
beneficial use until the application has been approved.
                 PUBLIC  WATER SYSTEM SUPPLY WELL -  a  well,   
either  publicly  or  privately  owned,  providing  water  for  human 
consumption and other domestic uses which has at least 15 service 
connections or regularly serves an average of at least 25 individuals 
daily for  at  least  60 days out  of the year.   Public  Water System 
Supply Wells are also regulated by the Division of Drinking Water 
in the Utah Department of Environmental Quality (Section R309 of 
the Utah Administrative Code).
                 PUMP/PUMPING EQUIPMENT - means any equipment   
or materials utilized or intended for use in withdrawing or obtaining 
groundwater for any use.
                 PUMP INSTALLATION/REPAIR - means the procedure   
employed in the placement and preparation for operation of pumps 
and pumping equipment  at  the water  well  location,  including all 
construction  or  repair  involved  in  making  entrance  to  the  water 
well, which involves the breaking of the well seal.
                 PUMPING WATER LEVEL - the water  level in a well   
after a period of pumping at a given rate.
                 RECORD - means the official collection of all written and   
electronic  materials  produced  in  a  well  driller  adjudicative 
proceeding,  including  but  not  limited  to  Infraction  Notices, 
pleadings, motions, exhibits, orders and testimony produced during 
the adjudicative proceedings, as well as the files of the Division as 
defined herein.
RED TAG - is a component of a "CEASE AND DESIST ORDER" 
in the form of a red colored tag placed on a well at a well drilling 
location
                 REGISTRATION - means the express grant of permission   
or authority by the State Engineer to carry on the activity of well  
drilling or pump installation under the supervision of a licensed well 
driller or pump installer.
                   REPAIRING, RENOVATING, & DEEPENING - means   
the  deepening,  hydrofracturing,  re-casing,  perforating,  re-
perforating, installation of packers or seals, and any other material  
change in the design or construction of a well.  Material  changes 
include but  are  not  limited to  casing installation or  modification 
including  casing  extensions,  installation  or  modification  of  liner 
pipe,  reaming  or  under  reaming  of  the  borehole,  pitless  unit 
installation or re-sealing.
                 REVOCATION - A disciplinary action that may be taken   
by the state engineer that rescinds the well driller's Utah Water Well  
Driller's License
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                 SAND - a material having a prevalent grain size ranging   
from 2 millimeters to 0.06 millimeters.
                 SAND CEMENT GROUT - a grout consisting of equal   
parts  of  cement  conforming  to  ASTM  standard  C150  and 
sand/aggregate with no more than six (6) gallons of water per 94 
pound sack (one cubic foot) of cement.
                 STANDARD DIMENSION RATIO (SDR) - the ratio of   
average outside pipe diameter to minimum pipe wall thickness.
                   STATE ENGINEER - the director of the Utah Division of   
Water  Rights  or  any  employee  of  the  Division  of  Water  Rights 
designated by the state engineer to act in administering these rules. 
The  terms  Division  and  State  Engineer  may  be  used 
interchangeably in this rule.
                 STATIC LEVEL - stabilized water level in a non-pumped   
well beyond the area of influence of any pumping well.
                 SURETY BOND  -  an  indemnity  agreement  in  a  sum   
certain and payable to the state engineer, executed by the licensee as 
principal and which is supported by the guarantee of a corporation 
authorized to transact business as a surety in the State of Utah.
                 SUSPENSION - A disciplinary action that may be taken   
by the state engineer that prohibits the well driller from engaging in 
the well drilling business or operating well drilling equipment as a 
registered operator for a definite period of time and /or until certain 
conditions are met.
                 TEST WELL - authorization granted by the state engineer   
to drill under a Non-production well  approval for the purpose of 
determining  characteristics  of  an  aquifer,  or  the  existence  of  a 
useable groundwater source.  Water from a Test Well cannot be put 
to beneficial use.
                 TREMIE PIPE - a device that carries materials such as   
seal material,  gravel pack, or formation stabilizer to a designated 
depth in a drill hole or annular space.
                 UNCONSOLIDATED  FORMATION  -  loose,  soft,   
incoherent  rock  material  composed  of  sedimentary,  igneous,  or 
metamorphic  rock  which  includes  sand,  gravel,  and  mixtures  of 
sand and gravel.  These formations are widely distributed and can 
possess good water storage and transmissivity characteristics.
                 UNHYDRATED BENTONITE - dry bentonite consisting   
primarily of granules, tablets, pellets, or chips that may be placed in 
a well or borehole in the dry state and hydrated in place by either 
formation water or by the addition of potable water into the well or  
borehole containing the dry bentonite.  Unhydrated bentonite can be 
used for sealing and abandonment of wells.
                 VADOSE ZONE - the zone containing water under less   
than atmospheric pressure, including soil water, intermediate vadose 
water and capillary water.  The zone extends from land surface to 
the zone of saturation or water table.
                 WATERTIGHT  -  a  condition  that  does  not  allow  the   
entrance,  passage,  or  flow  of  water  under  normal  operating 
conditions.
                 WELL -  a  horizontal  or  vertical  excavation or  opening   
into the ground made by digging, boring, drilling, jetting, augering, 
or driving or any other artificial method and left cased or open for 
utilizing or monitoring underground waters.
                 WELL DRILLER -  any person who is  licensed by the   
state  engineer  to  construct  water  wells  for  compensation  or 
otherwise.   The  licensed  driller  has  total  responsibility  for  the 
construction work in progress at the well drilling site.

                 WELL DRILLER BOND - A financial  guarantee to the   
state engineer, in the form of a surety bond or cash bond, by which a 
licensed driller binds himself to pay the penal sum of $5,000 to the 
state engineer in the event of significant noncompliance with the 
Administrative Rules for Water Wells.
                 WELL DRILLING  -  the  act  of  drilling,  constructing,   
deepening, replacing, repairing, renovating, cleaning, developing, or 
abandoning a well.

R655-4-3.  Licenses and Registrations.
                 3.1  General.  
                   3.1.1  Section 73-3-25 of the Utah Code requires every   
person  that  drills,  constructs,  deepens,  repairs,  renovates,  cleans, 
develops, installs/repairs pumps, and abandons a regulated well in 
the state to obtain a license from the state engineer.  Licenses and 
registrations  are  not  transferable.   Applicants  for  well  driller  or 
pump  installer  licensure  must  meet  all  requirements  in  this 
subsection,  and  applicants  cannot  obtain  a  Utah  license  through 
reciprocity or comity with a  similar  license from other States or 
organizations.
                 3.1.2  Any person found to be performing regulated well   
activity  without  a  valid  license  (well  driller's  license  or  pump 
installer's  license,  as  applicable)  or operator's  registration will  be 
ordered to cease and desist by the state engineer.  The order may be 
made verbally but must also be followed by a written order.  The 
order may be posted at an unattended well drilling site.  A person 
found performing regulated well activities without a license will be 
subject to the state  engineer's  enforcement  powers  under Section 
73-2-25 of the Utah Code (Related rules: Section R655-14 UAC) 
and subject to criminal  prosecution under Section 73-3-26 of the 
Utah Code annotated, 1953.
                 3.2  Well Driller's License.  
                   A Utah  Well  Driller's  License  allows  an  individual  to   
perform  regulated  well  activity  including  drilling,  construction, 
deepening,  repairing,  renovating,  cleaning,  development,  pump 
installation/repair,  and  abandonment  of  water  wells  and  other 
regulated wells. An applicant must meet the following requirements 
to become licensed as a Utah Water Well Driller:
                   3.2.1  Applicants must be 21 years of age or older and be   
a citizen of the United States, or be lawfully entitled to remain and 
work in the United States in accordance with Section 63G-11-104 
UCA (Applicants must  file  a Division Lawful Presence Affidavit 
with the license application);
                 3.2.2  Complete and submit the application form provided   
by the state engineer.
                 3.2.3   Pay  the  application  fee  approved  by  the  state   
legislature.
                 3.2.4  Provide documentation of experience according to   
the following standards:
                 3.2.4.1  Water well drillers shall provide documentation of   
at  least  two  (2)  years  of  full  time  prior  water  well  drilling 
experience  with  a  licensed  driller  in  good  standing  OR 
documentation of sixteen (16) wells  constructed by the applicant 
under the supervision of a licensed well driller in good standing.
                 3.2.4.2  Monitor well drillers shall provide documentation   
of  at  least  two (2)  years  of full  time prior  monitor  well  drilling 
experience  with  a  licensed  driller  in  good  standing  OR 
documentation of thirty two (32) wells constructed by the applicant 
under the supervision of a licensed well driller in good standing.
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                 3.2.4.3   Heating/cooling  exchange  and  other  non-  
production well drillers must provide documentation of at least six 
(6) months of full time prior well drilling experience with a licensed 
driller in good standing AND documentation of sixteen (16) well  
drilling projects constructed by the applicant under the supervision 
of a licensed well driller in good standing.
                 3.2.4.4  A copy of the well log for each well constructed   
must  be  provided.  The  documentation  must  also  show  the 
applicant's experience with each type of drilling rig to be listed on 
the  license.   Acceptable  documentation  will  include  registration 
with the Division of Water Rights, letters from licensed well drillers 
(Utah or other states), or a water well drilling license granted by 
another state, etc.
                 3.2.4.5   Successful  completion  of  classroom  study  in   
geology, well drilling, map reading, and other related subjects may 
be substituted for up to, but not exceeding, twenty five percent of 
the required drilling experience, and for up to, but not exceeding, 
twenty five  percent  of the required drilled wells  or  well  drilling 
projects.  The state engineer will determine the number of months 
of drilling experience and the number of drilled wells that will be  
credited for the classroom study.
                 3.2.4.6  A limited or restricted license can be obtained in   
subcategories of activity including well cleaning, well renovation, 
well  abandonment,  and  well  development/testing.   Testing 
requirements  for  these  license  subcategories  will  be  reduced  or 
limited in accordance with the level of activity.
                 3.2.5  File a well driller bond in the sum of $5,000 with   
the Division of Water Rights payable to the state engineer.  The well  
driller  bond  must  be  filed  under  the  conditions  and  criteria 
described in Section 4-3.9.
                 3.2.6   Obtain  a  score  of  at  least  70% on  each  of  the   
written  licensing  examinations  required  and  administered  by  the 
state  engineer.   The  required  examinations  test  the  applicant's 
knowledge of:
                 a.   The Administrative Rules for Water Wells and Utah   
water law as it pertains to underground water;
                 b.   The minimum construction standards established by   
the state engineer for water well construction;
                 c.   Geologic  formations  and  proper  names  used  in   
describing underground material types;
                 d.  Reading maps and locating points from descriptions   
based on section, township, and range;
                 e.   Groundwater  geology  and  the  occurrence  and   
movement of groundwater;
                 f.   The  proper  operating  procedures  and  construction   
methods  associated with the various types of water  well  drilling 
rigs.  (A separate test is required for each type of water well drilling 
rig to be listed on the license).
                 3.2.7   Demonstrate  proficiency  in  resolving  problem   
situations that might  be encountered during the construction of a 
water well by passing an oral examination administered by the state 
engineer.
                 3.3  Drill Rig Operator's Registration.  
                 An  applicant  must  meet  the  following  requirements  to   
become registered as a drill rig operator:
                   3.3.1  Applicants must be 18 years of age or older and be   
a citizen of the United States, or be lawfully entitled to remain and 
work in the United States in accordance with Section 63G-11-104 

UCA (Applicants must  file  a Division Lawful Presence Affidavit 
with the operator application).
                 3.3.2  Complete and submit the application form provided   
by the state engineer.
                 3.3.3   Pay  the  application  fee  approved  by  the  state   
legislature.
                 3.3.4  Provide documentation of at least six (6) months of   
prior water well drilling experience with a licensed driller in good 
standing.  The documentation must show the applicant's experience 
with  each  type  of  drilling  rig  to  be  listed  on  the  registration. 
Acceptable  documentation will  include letters from licensed well 
drillers or registration as an operator in another state.
                 3.3.5   Obtain  a  score  of  at  least  70%  on  a  written   
examination of the minimum construction standards established by 
the state  engineer  for  water  well  construction.   The test  will  be  
provided  to  the licensed  well  driller  by the  state  engineer.   The 
licensed  well  driller  will  administer  the  test  to  the  prospective 
operator and return it to the state engineer for scoring.
                 3.4  Pump Installer's License.  
                   A Utah Pump Installer's License allows an individual to   
perform  regulated  pump  activity  including  pump  removal, 
installation, and repair of water wells and other regulated wells. An 
individual can perform pump installation and repair work on their 
own well on their own property without obtaining a Pump Installer's 
License.   An applicant  must  meet  the following requirements  to 
become licensed as a Utah Pump Installer:
                   3.4.1  Applicants must be 21 years of age or older and be   
a citizen of the United States, or be lawfully entitled to remain and 
work in the United States in accordance with Section 63G-11-104 
UCA (Applicants must  file  a Division Lawful Presence Affidavit 
with the license application).
                 3.4.2  Complete and submit the application form provided   
by the state engineer.
                 3.4.3   Pay  the  application  fee  approved  by  the  state   
legislature.
                 3.4.4  Provide documentation of experience of at least two   
(2) years of full time prior water well pump installation and repair 
experience with a driller or pump installer in good standing
                 3.4.4.4   The  documentation  must  show  the  applicant's   
experience with each type of pump rig to be listed on the license.  
Acceptable  documentation  will  include  registration  with  the 
Division  of  Water  Rights,  reference  letters  from  licensed  well 
drillers/pump installers (Utah or other states), or a license granted 
by another state, etc.
                 3.4.4.5   Successful  completion  of  classroom  study  in   
pump  installation/repair  and  other  related  subjects  may  be 
substituted for up to, but not exceeding, twenty five percent of the 
required pump experience.  The state engineer will determine the 
number of months of drilling experience that will be credited for the 
classroom study.
                 3.4.5  File a pump installer bond in the sum of $5,000   
with the Division of Water Rights payable to the state engineer.  The 
well  driller  bond must  be filed under  the conditions and criteria 
described in Section 4-3.9.
                 3.4.6   Obtain  a  score  of  at  least  70% on  each  of  the   
written  licensing  examinations  required  and  administered  by  the 
state  engineer.   The  required  examinations  test  the  applicant's 
knowledge of:
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                 a.   The Administrative Rules for Water Wells and Utah   
water law as it pertains to underground water;
                 b.   The minimum construction standards established by   
the state engineer pertaining to pump installation and repair;
                 c.   Groundwater  protection  procedures  and  standards   
applicable to pump installation and repair work on wells;
                 d.   The  proper  operating  procedures  and  methods   
associated with pump installation and repair.
                 3.4.7   Demonstrate  proficiency  in  resolving  problem   
situations that might be encountered during pump installation and 
repair of a water well by passing an oral examination administered 
by the state engineer.
                 3.5  Pump Rig Operator's Registration.  
                 An  applicant  must  meet  the  following  requirements  to   
become registered as a pump rig operator:
                   3.5.1  Applicants must be 18 years of age or older and be   
a citizen of the United States, or be lawfully entitled to remain and 
work in the United States in accordance with Section 63G-11-104 
UCA (Applicants must  file  a Division Lawful Presence Affidavit 
with the license application).
                 3.5.2  Complete and submit the application form provided   
by the state engineer.
                 3.5.3   Pay  the  application  fee  approved  by  the  state   
legislature.
                 3.5.4  Provide documentation of at least six (6) months of   
prior pump installation and repair experience with a licensed driller  
or pump installer in good standing.  Acceptable documentation will 
include  letters  from  licensed  well  drillers  or  registration  as  an 
operator in another state.
                 3.5.5   Obtain  a  score  of  at  least  70%  on  a  written   
examination of the minimum construction standards established by 
the state engineer for pump installation and repair.  The test will be 
provided  to  the  licensed  pump  installer/well  driller  by  the  state 
engineer.  The licensed pump installer/well driller will administer  
the test to the prospective operator and return it to the state engineer 
for scoring.
                 3.6  Conditional, Restricted, or Limited Licenses.  
                 The state engineer may issue a restricted, conditional, or   
limited license to an applicant based on prior drilling experience.
                 3.7  Refusal to Issue a License or Registration.  
                 The  state  engineer  may,  upon investigation  and  after  a   
hearing, refuse to issue a license or a registration to an applicant if it 
appears the applicant has not had sufficient training or experience to 
qualify as a competent well driller, pump installer, or operator.
                 3.8  Falsified Applications.  
                 The  state  engineer  may,  upon investigation  and  after  a   
hearing,  revoke  a  license  or  a  registration  in  accordance  with 
Section 5.6 if it is determined that the original application contained 
false or misleading information.
                 3.9  Well Driller/Pump Installer Bond.  
                 3.9.1  General  
                 3.9.1.1.   In  order  to  become  licensed  and  to  continue   
licensure, well drillers and pump installers must file a bond in the 
form of a surety bond or cash bond, approved by the state engineer,  
in the sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000) with the Division of 
Water  Rights,  on  a  form  provided  by  the  Division,  which  is  
conditioned upon proper compliance with the law and these rules 
and which is effective for the licensing period in which the license 
is to be issued.  The bond shall stipulate the obligee as the "Office 

of the State Engineer".  The well driller bond is penal in nature and 
is  designed  to  ensure  compliance  by the  licensed well  driller  or 
pump  installer  to  protect  the  groundwater  resource,  the 
environment, and public health and safety.  The bond may only be 
exacted  by  the  state  engineer  for  the  purposes  of  investigating, 
repairing, or abandoning wells in accordance with applicable rules 
and  standards.   No  other  person  or  entity  may  initiate  a  claim 
against  the  well  driller  bond.   Lack  of  a  current  and  valid  well 
driller  bond  shall  be  deemed  sufficient  grounds  for  denial  of  a  
driller's/pump installer's license.  The well driller bond may consist 
of a surety bond or a cash bond as described below.
                 3.9.2  Surety Bonds.  
                 3.9.2.1.  The licensee and a surety company or corporation   
authorized to do business in the State of Utah as surety shall bind 
themselves and their successors and assigns jointly and severally to 
the state engineer for the use and benefit of the public in full penal 
sum  of  five  thousand  dollars  ($5,000).   The  surety  bond  shall 
specifically cover the licensee's compliance with the Administrative 
Rules for Water Wells found in R655-4 of the Utah Administrative 
Code.   Forfeiture  of  the  surety bond shall  be predicated upon a 
failure to drill, construct, repair, renovate, deepen, clean, develop,  
perform pump work,  or  abandon a  regulated  well  in  accordance 
with these rules (R655-4 UAC).  The bond shall be made payable to 
the 'Utah State Engineer' upon forfeiture.  The surety bond must be 
effective and exactable in the State of Utah.
                 3.9.2.2.  The bond and any subsequent renewal certificate   
shall  specifically identify the licensed individual  covered by that 
bond.  The licensee shall notify the state engineer of any change in 
the amount or status of the bond.  The licensee shall notify the state 
engineer of any cancellation or change at least thirty (30) days prior 
to the effective date of such cancellation or change.  Prior to the  
expiration of the 30-days notice of cancellation, the licensee shall 
deliver to the state engineer a replacement surety bond or transfer to 
a cash bond.  If such a bond is not delivered, all activities covered 
by the license and bond shall cease at the expiration of the 30 day 
period.  Termination shall not relieve the licensee or surety of any 
liability for incidences that occurred during the time the bond was 
in force.
                 3.9.2.3.  Before the bond is forfeited by the licensee and   
exacted by the state engineer, the licensee shall have the option of 
resolving the noncompliance to standard either by personally doing 
the work or by paying to have another licensed driller do the work. 
If  the driller  chooses not  to  resolve the problem that  resulted in 
noncompliance,  the  entire  bond amount  of  five  thousand dollars 
($5,000) shall be forfeited by the surety and expended by the state  
engineer to investigate, repair or abandon the well(s) in accordance 
with the standards in R655-4 UAC.  Any excess there from shall be 
retained  by  the  state  engineer  and  expended  for  the  purpose  of 
investigating,  repairing,  or  abandoning  wells  in  accordance  with 
applicable  rules  and  standards.   All  claims  initiated  by the  state 
engineer against the surety bond will be made in writing.
                 3.9.2.4.   The bond of a surety company that has failed,   
refused or unduly delayed to pay, in full, on a forfeited bond is not 
approvable.
                 3.9.3  Cash Bonds.  
                 3.9.3.1.  The requirements for the well driller bond may   
alternatively be satisfied by a cash bond in the form of a certificate  
of deposit (CD) for the amount of five thousand dollars ($5,000) 
issued by a federally insured bank or credit union with an office(s) 
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in the State of Utah.  The cash bond must be in the form of a CD.  
Savings accounts, checking accounts, letters of credit, etc., are not 
acceptable  cash  bonds.   The  CD  shall  specifically  identify  the 
licensed  individual  covered  by  that  fund.   The  CD  shall  be 
automatically renewable and fully assignable to the state engineer. 
CD shall state on its face that it is automatically renewable.
                 3.9.3.2.   The  cash  bond  shall  specifically  cover  the   
licensee's compliance with well  drilling rules found in R655-4 of 
the Utah Administrative Code.  The CD shall be made payable or 
assigned to the state engineer and placed in the possession of the 
state engineer.  If assigned, the state engineer shall require the bank 
or credit union issuing the CD to waive all rights of setoff or liens  
against  those  CD.   The  CD,  if  a  negotiable  instrument,  shall  be 
placed  in  the  state  engineer's  possession.   If  the  CD  is  not  a 
negotiable instrument, the CD and a withdrawal receipt, endorsed 
by the licensee, shall be placed in the state engineer's possession.
                 3.9.3.3.  The licensee shall submit CDs in such a manner   
which  will  allow the  state  engineer  to  liquidate  the CD prior  to 
maturity, upon forfeiture, for the full amount without penalty to the 
state  engineer.   Any interest  accruing  on  a  CD shall  be  for  the 
benefit of the licensee.
                 3.9.3.4.   The period of liability for a cash bond is five   
(years) after the expiration, suspension, or revocation of the license. 
The cash bond will be held by the state engineer until the five year  
period is over, then it will be relinquished to the licensed driller.  In  
the event that a cash bond is replaced by a surety bond, the period 
of liability,  during which time the cash bond will  be held by the 
state engineer, shall be five (5) years from the date the new surety 
bond becomes effective.
                 3.9.4  Exacting a Well Driller Bond.  
                 3.9.4.1.   If  the  state  engineer  determines,  following  an   
investigation and a hearing in accordance with the process defined 
in Sections 4-5, 4-6, and 4-7, that the licensee has failed to comply 
with  the  Administrative  Rules  for  Water  Wells  and  refused  to 
remedy  the  noncompliance,  the  state  engineer  may  suspend  or 
revoke a license and fully exact the well driller bond and deposit the 
money as a non-lapsing dedicated credit.
                 3.9.4.2.  The state engineer may expend the funds derived   
from the bond to investigate or correct any deficiencies which could 
adversely affect the public interest resulting from non-compliance 
with the Administrative Rules by any well driller.
                 3.9.4.3.  The state engineer shall send written notification   
by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the licensee and the 
surety  on  the  bond,  if  applicable,  informing  them  of  the 
determination to exact the well driller bond.  The state engineer's 
decision  regarding  the  noncompliance  will  be  attached  to  the 
notification  which  will  provide  facts  and  justification  for  bond 
exaction.  In the case of a surety bond exaction, the surety company 
will then forfeit the total bond amount to the state engineer.  In the  
case of a cash bond, the state engineer will cash out the CD.  The 
exacted  well  driller  bond  funds  may  then  be  used  by  the  state 
engineer  to  cover  the  costs  of  well  investigation,  repair,  and/or 
abandonment.

R655-4-4.   Administrative  Requirements  and  General 
Procedures.
                 4.1  Authorization to Drill.  
                 The  well  driller  shall  make  certain  that  a  valid   
authorization or approval to drill exists before engaging in regulated 

well drilling activity.  Authorization to drill shall consist of a valid 
'start card' based on any of the approvals listed below.  Items 4.1.1  
through 4.1.12 allow the applicant to contract with a well driller to 
drill, construct, deepen, replace, repair, renovate, clean, develop, or 
abandon exactly one well at each location listed on the start card or 
approval  form.   The  drilling  of  multiple  borings/wells  at  an 
approved  location/point  of  diversion  is  not  allowed  without 
authorization from the state engineer's office.  Most start cards list 
the date when the authorization to drill expires.  If the expiration 
date  has  passed,  the  start  card  and  authorization  to  engage  in 
regulated  drilling  activity  is  no  longer  valid.   If  there  is  no 
expiration date on the start card, the driller must contact the state 
engineer's  office  to  determine  if  the authorization to  drill  is  still  
valid.   When  the  work  is  completed,  the  permission  to  drill  is 
terminated.   Preauthorization  or  pre-approval  of  pump 
installation/repair work is not required.
                 4.1.1  An approved application to appropriate.  
                 4.1.2  A provisional well approval letter.  
                 An  approved  provisional  well  letter  grants  authority  to   
drill but allows only enough water to be diverted to determine the 
characteristics  of  an  aquifer  or  the  existence  of  a  useable 
groundwater source.
                 4.1.3  An approved permanent change application.  
                 4.1.4  An approved exchange application.  
                 4.1.5  An approved temporary change application.  
                 4.1.6  An approved application to renovate or deepen an   
existing well.
                 4.1.7  An approved application to replace an existing well.  
                 4.1.8  An approved monitor well letter.  
                 An approved monitor well letter grants authority to drill   
but  allows  only  enough  water  to  be  diverted  to  monitor 
groundwater.
                 4.1.9  An approved heat exchange well letter.  
                 4.1.10  An approved cathodic protection well letter.  
                 4.1.11   An  approved  non-production  well  construction   
application.
                 4.1.12  Any letter  or  document from the state engineer   
directing or authorizing a well to be drilled or work to be done on a 
well.
                 4.2  Start Cards.  
                 4.2.1   Prior  to  commencing  work  to  drill,  construct,   
deepen,  replace,  repair,  renovate,  clean,  or  develop  any  well 
governed by these administrative rules, the driller must notify the 
state engineer of that intention by transmitting the information on 
the "Start  Card" to  the state engineer  by telephone,  by facsimile 
(FAX), by hand delivery, or by e-mail.  A completed original Start 
Card must be sent to the state engineer by the driller after it has 
been telephoned or E-mailed.  A copy of the Start Card should be 
kept  at  the  drill  site  at  all  times  regulated  activity  is  being 
conducted.
                 4.2.2   A specific  Start  Card  is  printed  for  each  well   
drilling  approval  and  is  furnished  by  the  state  engineer  to  the 
applicant or the well owner.  The start card is preprinted with the  
water  right  or non-production well  number,  owner  name/address, 
and the approved location of the well.  The state engineer marks the 
approved well drilling activity on the card.  The driller must put the 
following information on the card:
                 a.  The date on which work on the well will commence;  
                 b.  The projected completion date of the work;  
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                 c.  The well driller's license number;  
                 d.  The well driller's signature.  
                 4.2.3  When a single authorization is given to drill wells at   
more than one point of diversion, a start card shall be submitted for 
each location to be drilled.
                 4.2.4  Following the submittal of a start card, if the actual   
start  date  of  the  drilling  activity  is  postponed  beyond  the  date 
identified on the start card, the licensed driller must notify the state 
engineer of the new start date.
                 4.2.5   A start  card  is  not  required  to  abandon  a  well.   
However, prior to commencing well abandonment work, the driller 
is required to notify the state engineer by telephone, by facsimile, or 
by e-mail  of  the proposed abandonment  work.   The notice  must 
include the location of the well.  The notice should also include the 
water right or non-production well number associated with the well 
and the well owner if that information is available.
                 4.2.6  A start  card or pre-notification is not required to   
perform pump installation and repair work on a well.
                 4.3  General Requirements During Construction.  
                 4.3.1  The well  driller  or pump installer shall  have the   
required penal  bond continually in  effect  during the term of  the 
license.
                 4.3.2  The well driller's/pump installer's license number or   
company  name  exactly  as  shown  on  the  license  must  be 
prominently  displayed  on  each  well  drilling/pump  rig  operated 
under the license.   If  the company name is changed the licensee 
must  immediately  inform  the  state  engineer  of  the  change  in 
writing.
                 4.3.3   A licensed  well  driller  or  a  registered  drill  rig   
operator must be at the well site whenever the following aspects of 
well  construction  are  in  process:  advancing the borehole,  setting 
casing and screen, placing a filter pack, constructing a surface seal, 
or similar activities involved in well deepening, renovation, repair, 
cleaning,  developing,  or  abandoning.   All  registered  drill  rig 
operators working under a well driller's license must be employees 
of  the  well  driller  and  must  use  equipment  either  owned  by  or 
leased by the licensed well driller.
                 4.3.3.1   A  licensed  pump  installer/well  driller  or  a   
registered drill  rig or pump rig operator must  be at  the well  site  
whenever the following aspects of pump work are in process: pump 
removal, pump installation, modification to the well head including 
capping,  sealing,  and  pitless  adapter/unit  installation,  or  similar 
activities on and within the well involving pump installation/repair. 
All  registered  pump  rig  operators  working  under  a  pump 
installer's/well  driller's  license  must  be  employees  of  the  pump 
installer/well  driller  and must  use equipment  either owned by or 
leased by the licensed pump installer/well driller.
                 4.3.3.2   A registered  drill  rig  operator  who  is  left  in   
responsible  charge of  advancing the borehole,  setting casing and 
screen, placing a filter pack, constructing a surface seal, or similar 
activities involved in well deepening, renovation, repair, cleaning, 
developing, or abandoning must have a working knowledge of the 
minimum construction  standards  and the  proper  operation  of  the 
drilling rig.  The licensed well driller is responsible to ensure that a 
registered operator is adequately trained to meet these requirements.
                 4.3.3.3  A registered drill rig or pump rig operator who is   
left in responsible charge of pump installation or repair must have a 
working knowledge of the minimum construction standards and the 
proper operation of the pump rig.  The licensed well driller or pump 

installer  is  responsible  to  ensure  that  a  registered  operator  is  
adequately trained to meet these requirements.
                 4.3.4   State  engineer  provisions  for  issuing  cease  and   
desist orders (Red Tags)
                 4.3.4.1  Construction Standards:   The  state  engineer  or   
staff of the Division of Water Rights may order that regulated work 
on a well  cease if a field inspection reveals that the construction 
does not meet the minimum construction standards to the extent that 
the public interest might be adversely affected.
                 4.3.4.2  Licensed Drilling Method:  A cease work order   
may also be issued if the well driller is not licensed for the drilling 
method being used for the well construction.
                 4.3.4.3  Incompetent  Registered  Operator:   If,  during a   
field inspection by the staff of the Division of Water Rights, it is  
determined that a registered operator in responsible charge does not 
meet  these  requirements,  a  state  engineer's  red  tag  (see  Section 
4.3.4)  shall  be  placed  on  the  drilling  rig  or  pump  rig  and  the 
drilling/pump operation shall be ordered to shut down.  The order to 
cease  work  shall  remain  effective  until  a  qualified  person  is 
available to perform the work.
                 4.3.4.4  No licensee or  registered operator  on site:   If,   
during  a  field  inspection  by  the  staff  of  the  Division  of  Water 
Rights, it is determined that neither a licensee or registered operator 
are  one  site  when  regulated  well  activity  is  occurring,  the  state 
engineer may order regulated well work to cease.
                 4.3.4.5  General:  The state engineer's order shall be in the   
form of a red tag which shall be attached to the drilling/pump rig.  A 
letter from the state engineer shall be sent to the licensee to explain 
the sections of the administrative rules which were violated.  The 
letter shall also explain the requirements that must be met before the 
order can be lifted.
                 4.3.4.6  A licensee may appeal a Cease and Desist order   
by:
                   4.3.4.6.1  submitting to the Division a written statement   
clearly  and  concisely  stating  the  specific  disputed  facts,  the 
supporting facts, and the relief sought; or
                 4.3.4.6.2  requesting a hearing on the issue according to   
the provisions of R655-4-7.
                 4.3.4.7  A Cease and Desist Order shall remain in force   
during the pendency of the appeal.
                 4.3.5  When required by the state engineer, the well driller   
or registered operator shall take lithologic samples at the specified 
intervals  and  submit  them  in  the  bags  provided  by  the  state 
engineer.
                 4.3.6   A copy of  the  current  Administrative  Rules  for   
Water Wells should be available at each well construction site for  
review by the construction personnel.  Licensed well drillers/pump 
installers and registered operators must have proof of licensure or 
registration with them on site during regulated well activity.
                 4.3.7   Prior  to  starting construction of  a  new well,  the   
licensed  driller  shall  investigate  and  become  familiar  with  the 
drilling  conditions,  geology  of  potential  aquifers  and  overlying 
materials,  anticipated  water  quality  problems,  and  know 
contaminated water bearing zones that may be encountered in the 
area of the proposed drilling activity.
                 4.4  Removing Drill Rig From Well Site.  
                 4.4.1  A well driller shall not remove his drill rig from a   
well site unless the well drilling activity is properly completed or 
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abandoned  in  accordance  with  the  construction  standards  in 
Sections 9 thru 12.
                 4.4.2  For the purposes of these rules, the regulated work   
on  a  well  will  be  considered  completed  when  the  well  driller 
removes his drilling rig from the well site.
                 4.4.3  The well driller may request a variance from the   
state engineer to remove a drill rig from a well prior to completion 
or abandonment.  This request must be in written form to the state 
engineer.  The written request must provide justification for leaving 
the well incomplete or un-abandoned and indicate how the well will  
be temporarily abandoned as provided in Section R655-4-14 and 
must give the date when the well driller plans to continue work to 
either complete the well or permanently abandon it.
                 4.5  Official Well Driller's Report (Well Log).  
                 4.5.1  Within 30 days of the completion of regulated work   
on any well, the driller shall file an official well driller's report (well  
log) with the state engineer.  The blank well log form will be mailed 
to the licensed well driller upon receipt of the information on the 
Start Card as described in Subsection 4.2.
                 4.5.2   The  water  right  number  or  non-production  well   
number, owner name/address, and the approved location of the well 
will be preprinted on the blank well log provided to the well driller.  
The  driller  is  required  to  verify  this  information  and  make  any 
necessary changes on the well  log prior  to  submittal.   The state 
engineer will mark the approved activity (e.g., new, replace, repair, 
deepen)  on the  well  log.  The  driller  must  provide the following 
information on the well log:
                 a.  The start and completion date of work on the well;  
                 b.   The  nature  of  use  for  the  well  (e.g.,  domestic,   
irrigation,  stock  watering,  commercial,  municipal,  provisional, 
monitor, cathodic protection, heat pump, etc.;
                 c.  The borehole diameter, depth interval, drilling method   
and drilling fluids utilized to drill the well;
                 d.  The lithologic log of the well based on strata samples   
taken from the borehole as drilling progresses;
                 e.   Static  water  level  information  to  include  date  of   
measurement,  static  level,  measurement  method,  reference  point, 
artesian flow and pressure, and water temperature;
                 f.   The  size,  type,  description,  joint  type,  and  depth   
intervals of casing, screen, and perforations;
                 g.   A description of the filter pack, surface and interval   
seal material,  and packers  used in the well  along with necessary 
related information  such as  the depth interval,  quantity,  and mix 
ratio;
                 h.  A description of the finished wellhead configuration;  
                 i.  The date and method of well development;  
                 j.  The date, method, yield, drawdown, and elapsed time   
of a well yield test;
                 k.  A description of pumping equipment (if available);  
                 l.   Other  comments  pertinent  to  the  well  activity   
completed;
                 m.  The well driller's statement to include the driller name,   
license number, signature, and date.
                 4.5.3  Accuracy and completeness of the submitted well   
log are required.  Of particular importance is the lithologic section 
which should accurately reflect the geologic strata penetrated during 
the drilling process.  Sample identification must be logged in the 
field as the borehole advances and the information transferred to the 
well log form for submission to the state engineer.

                 4.5.4   An amended well  log shall  be submitted  by the   
licensed  driller  if  it  becomes  known  that  the  original  report 
contained  inaccurate  or  incorrect  information,  or  if  the  original 
report  requires  supplemental  data  or  information.   Any amended 
well log must be accompanied by a written statement, signed and 
dated by the licensed well driller, attesting to the circumstances and 
the reasons for submitting the amended well log.
                 4.6  Official Well Abandonment Reports (Abandonment   
Logs).
                 4.6.1  Whenever a well driller is contracted to replace an   
existing  well  under  state  engineer's  approval,  it  shall  be  the 
responsibility of the well driller to inform the well owner that it is 
required by law to permanently abandon the old well in accordance 
with the provisions of Section R655-4-12.
                 4.6.2  Within 30 days of the completion of abandonment   
work on any well, the driller shall file an abandonment log with the 
state engineer.  The blank abandonment log will be mailed to the 
licensed  well  driller  upon  notice  to  the  state  engineer  of 
commencement of abandonment work as described in Subsection 
R655-4-4(4.2.4).
                 4.6.3   The  water  right  number  or  non-production  well   
number,  owner name/address,  and the well  location (if  available) 
will  be preprinted on the blank abandonment log provided to the 
well driller.  The driller is required to verify this information and 
make  any  necessary  changes  on  the  abandonment  log  prior  to 
submitting  the  log.   The  driller  must  provide  the  following 
information on the abandonment log:
                 a.  Existing well construction information;  
                 b.  Date of abandonment;  
                 c.  Reason for abandonment;  
                 d.  A description of the abandonment method;  
                 e.  A description of the abandonment materials including   
depth intervals, material type, quantity, and mix ratio;
                 f.  Replacement well information (if applicable);  
                 g.  The well driller's statement to include the driller name,   
license number, signature, and date.
                 4.6.4  When a well is replaced and the well owner will not   
allow  the  driller  to  abandon  the  existing  well,  the  driller  must 
briefly explain the situation on the abandonment form and submit 
the form to the state engineer within 30 days of completion of the  
replacement well.
                 4.7  Official Pump Installation Report (Pump Log).  
                 4.7.1  Soon after the completion of regulated pump work   
on  any well,  the  licensee  shall  file  an  official  pump  installation 
report (pump log) with the state engineer.  Blank pump log forms 
will be available to the licensee at any Division office, requested by 
mail,  or  downloaded  from  the  Division's  website 
(www.waterrights.utah.gov).
                 4.7.2  Pertinent information to be included on the pump   
log by the licensee shall consist of:
                 a.   The  water  right  number  or  non-production  well   
number;
                 b.  the well owner name and address;  
                 c.  The approved point of diversion or location of the well;  
                 d.  The start and completion date of work on the well;  
                 e.   The  nature  of  use  for  the  well  (e.g.,  domestic,   
irrigation,  stock  watering,  commercial,  municipal,  provisional, 
monitor, cathodic protection, heat pump, etc.;
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                 f.   Pertinent  well  details  including  casing   
diameters/depths,  total  well  depth,  well  intake  depth  intervals, 
wellhead configuration including pitless adapter/unit configuration 
if applicable;
                 g.  A detailed description of pump-related work performed   
on or in the well including pump setting depth, pump type, pumping 
rate,  valving,  drop  piping,  jointing,  capping,  testing,  sealing, 
disinfection, and pitless adapter/unit installation;
                 h.   Static  water  level  information  to  include  date  of   
measurement,  static  level,  measurement  method,  reference  point, 
artesian flow and pressure, and water temperature;
                 i.  A description of the finished wellhead configuration;  
                 j.  The date, method, yield, drawdown, and elapsed time   
of a well yield test;
                 k.   Other  comments  pertinent  to  the  well  activity   
completed;
                 m.  The pump installer's statement to include the licensee   
name, license number, signature, and date.
                 4.8  Incomplete or Incorrectly Completed Reports.  
                 An incomplete log or a log that has not been completed   
correctly  will  be  returned  to  the  licensee  to  be  completed  or 
corrected.   The  log  will  not  be  considered  filed  with  the  state 
engineer until it is complete and correct.
                 4.8  Extensions of Time.  
                 The  well  driller  may  request  an  extension  of  time  for   
filing  the  well  log  if  there  are  circumstances  which  prevent  the 
driller  from  obtaining  the  necessary  information  before  the 
expiration of the 30 days.  The extension request must be submitted 
in writing before the end of the 30-day period.
                 4.9  Late Well Logs - Lapsed License  
                 All  outstanding well  logs or abandonment logs shall be   
properly submitted to the state engineer prior to the lapsing of a 
license.  A person with a lapsed license who has failed to submit all 
well/abandonment logs within 90 days of lapsing will be subject to 
the state engineer's enforcement powers under Section 73-2-25 of 
the Utah Code (Related rules: Section R655-14 UAC)

R655-4-5.  Administrative Rule Infractions.
                 5.1  List of Infractions and Points.  
                 Licensed well drillers who commit the infractions listed   
below in  Table  1  shall  have  assessed  against  their  well  drilling 
record the number of points assigned to the infraction.

TABLE     1  

Level     I     Infractions     of     Administrative     Requirements  

                                                                                                                                                            Points  
Well     log     submitted     late                                                                                            10  
Failure     to     submit     a     Pump     Log                                                                             10  
Well     abandonment     report     submitted  
      late                                                                                                                                               10  
License     number     or     company  
      name     not     clearly     posted     on     well  
      drilling/pump     rig                                                                                                        10  
Failing     to     notify     the     state     engineer  
      of     a     change     in        the     well  
      licensee's     company     name                                                                                      10  
Failure     to     properly     notify     the  
      state     engineer     before     the  
      proposed     start     date     shown  
      on     the     start     card                                                                                                        20  
Failure     to     notify     the     state     engineer  
         of     a     change     of     start     date                                                                             50  

Constructing     a     replacement     well  
      further     than     150     ft     from     the  
      original     well     without     the  
      authorization     of     an     approved  
      change     application                                                                                                     50  
Failure     to     drill     at     the     state     engineer  
      approved     location     as     identified  
      on     the     start     card                                                                                                        50  
Removing     the     well     drilling     rig     from  
      the     well     site     before     completing     the  
      well     or     temporarily     or     permanently  
      abandoning     the     well                                                                                                  50  

TABLE     2  

Level     II     Infractions     of     Administrative     Requirements  

                                                                                                                                                            Points  
Employing     an     operator     who     is     not  
      registered     with     the     state                                                                                75  
Contracting     out     work     to     an  
      unlicensed     driller     (using     the  
      unlicensed     driller's     rig)     without  
      prior     written     approval     from     the     state                                            75  
Performing     any     well     drilling     activity     without  
      valid     authorization     (except     in  
      emergency     situations)                                                                                         100  
Intentionally     making     a     material  
      misstatement     of     fact     in     an     official  
      well     driller's     report/pump     log     or     amended  
      official     well     driller's     report  
      (well     log)                                                                                                                          100  

TABLE     3  

Level     III     Infractions     of     Construction     Standards     /     Conditions  

                                                                                                                                                               Points  
Approvals
Using     a     method     of     drilling     not     listed  
      on     the     well     driller's     license                                                                    30  
Failing     to     comply     with     any     conditions  
      included     on     the     well     approval     such     as  
      minimum     or     maximum     depths,     specified  
      locations     of     perforations,     etc.                                                              50  
Performing     any     well     construction  
      activity     in     violation     of     a     red     tag  
      cease     work     order                                                                                                        100  

Casing
Failure     to     extend     well     casing     at     least  
      18"     above     ground                                                                                                           30  
Failure     to     install     a     protective     casing  
      around     a     PVC     well     at     the     surface                                                           50  
Using     improper     casing     joints                                                                          100  
Using     or     attempting     to     use     sub-standard  
      well     casing                                                                                                                       100  

Surface     Seals  
Using     improper     products     or     procedures  
      to     install     a     surface     seal                                                                             100  
Failure     to     seal     off     artesian     flow     on  
      the     outside     of     casing                                                                                         100  
Failure     to     install     surface     seal     to  
      adequate     depth     based     on     formation     type                                      100  
Failure     to     install     interval     seals     to  
      eliminate     aquifer     commingling  
      or     cross     contamination                                                                                      100  

Well     Abandonment  
Using     improper     procedures     to     abandon  
      a     well                                                                                                                                      100  
Using     improper     products     to     abandon     a  
      well                                                                                                                                            100  
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Construction     Fluids  
Using     water     of     unacceptable     quality  
      in     the     well     drilling     operation                                                                 40  
Using     an     unacceptable     mud     pit                                                                          40  
Failure     to     use     treated     or     disinfected  
      water     for     drilling     processes                                                                       40  
Using     improper     circulation     materials  
      or     drilling     chemicals                                                                                            100  

Filter/Gravel     Packs     and     Formation     Stabilizers  
Failure     to     disinfect     filter     pack                                                                 40  
Failure     to     install     filter     pack     properly                                            75  
Failure     to     install     formation     stabilizer  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  

Well     Completion  
Failure     to     make     well     accessible     to  
      water     level     or     pressure     head     measurements                                30  
Failure     to     install     casing     annular     seals,  
      cap,     and     valving,     and     to     control  
      artesian     flow                                                                                                                    30  
Failure     to     disinfect     a     well     upon  
      completion     of     well     drilling     activity                                               40  
Failure     to     install     sanitary     well     capping  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     install     a     pitless     adapter/unit  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     develop     and     test     a     well  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     hydrofracture     a     well  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     install     packers/plugs  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     install     well     intakes(screens,  
      perforations,     open     bottom)     according     to     standard           75  
Failure     install     non-production     wells  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            100  

Pump     Installation     and     Repair  
Failure     to     extend     well     casing     at     least  
      18"     above     ground                                                                                                           30  
Failure     to     make     well     accessible     to  
      water     level     or     pressure     head     measurements                                30  
Failure     to     install     casing     annular     seals,  
      cap,     and     valving,     and     to     control  
      artesian     flow                                                                                                                    30  
Failure     to     disinfect     a     well     upon  
      completion     of     pump     activity                                                                          40  
Failure     to     install     a     protective     casing  
      around     a     PVC     well     at     the     surface                                                           50  
Failure     to     maintain     surface  
      completion     and     security     standards                                                        75  
Failure     to     install     or     maintain  
      Backflow     protection                                                                                                  75  
Failure     to     develop     and     test     a     well  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     install     sanitary     well     capping  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     install     a     pitless     adapter/unit  
      according     to     standard                                                                                            75  
Failure     to     prevent     contamination     from     entering     a     well  
      through     placement,     products,     tools,     and     materials        100  
Failure     to     repair     a     well's     surface     seal                                            100  

General
Failure     to     securely     cover     an  
      unattended     well     during     construction                                                  30  
Failure     to     engage     in     well     drilling  
      activity     in     accordance     with     accepted  
      industry     practices                                                                                                     100  

TABLE     4  
Level     IV     Infractions     of     Application     Requirements  

                                                                                                                                                            POINTS  
Submitting     an     initial     license     or  
registration     application     that  
contains     false     or     misleading     information                                         100  

                 5.2  When Points Are Assessed.  
                 Points  will  be  assessed  against  a  driller's  record  upon   
verification by the state engineer that an infraction has occurred.  
Points will be assessed at the time the state engineer becomes aware 
of the infraction regardless of when the infraction occurred.
                 5.3 Infraction Notice  
                 When infraction points are assessed against a well driller's   
record, the State Engineer shall issue an infraction notice to the well 
driller.  The notice shall include an explanation of the administrative 
rule(s) violated, the date the alleged violations were discovered and 
the approximate date of occurrence, the number of points assessed 
for each infraction, the total number of points on the well drillers 
record, an explanation of the adjudicative process to appeal a cease 
and desist order and or infraction notice, and an explanation of how 
to delete points from the driller record, an any other information 
deemed pertinent by the state engineer.
                 5.4  Appeal of Infractions.  
                 5.4.1  If the infraction points do not require a hearing, a   
well driller may appeal an infraction within 30 days of the date the 
Infraction Notice was issued.  The appeal shall be made in writing 
to  the  state  engineer  and  shall  state  clearly  and  concisely  the 
disputed facts, the supporting facts, and the relief sought.
                 5.4.2   A well  driller  may  request  reconsideration  of  a   
denied appeal by requesting a hearing before the Presiding Officer 
within  20 days  of  the denial.   If  the  Presiding Officer  does not 
respond within  20 days  after  the request  is  submitted,  then  it  is 
deemed denied.
                 5.5  Warning Letter.  
                 5.5  Deleting Points from the Driller Record.  
                 Points assessed against a well driller's record shall remain   
on the record unless deleted through any of the following options:
                 5.5.1  Points  shall  be deleted three years  after  the date   
when the infraction is noted by the state engineer and the points are 
assessed against the driller's record.
                 5.5.2  One half the points on the record shall be deleted if   
the well driller is free of infractions for an entire year.
                 5.5.3  Thirty (30) points shall be deleted for obtaining six   
(6) hours of approved continuing education credits in addition to the 
credits required to renew the water well driller's license.  A driller 
may exercise this option only once each year.
                 5.5.4  Twenty (20) points shall be deleted for taking and   
passing  (with  a  minimum  score  of  70%)  the  test  covering  the 
administrative  requirements  and  the  minimum  construction 
standards.  A driller may exercise this option only every other year.
                 5.6  Well Driller Hearings.  
                 When the number of infraction points assessed against the   
well driller's record equals or exceeds 100, the state engineer shall  
submit  a  request  to  the  Presiding  Officer  for  a  hearing.   The 
requested  purpose  of  the  hearing  shall  be  to  determine  if 
administrative  penalties  should  be  levied  against  the  water  well 
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driller including fines and probation, suspension, or revocation of 
the water well driller's.
                 5.7  Lack of Knowledge Not an Excuse.  
                 Lack  of  knowledge  of  the  law  or  the  administrative   
requirements and minimum construction standards related to well 
drilling shall not constitute an excuse for violation thereof.

R655-4-6.  Administrative Penalties.
                 Administrative penalties ordered against a licensed driller   
by the Presiding Officer following a hearing can include probation,  
administrative  fines,  license  suspension,  and  license  revocation. 
Administrative penalties are ordered based on the severity of the 
infraction (Level I, II, III from Tables 1-3 of Section 5.1) as well as  
the recurrence of an infraction.  The maximum administrative fine 
per infraction shall be capped at $1000.
                 6.1   Level  I  Administrative  Penalties:   Level  I   
administrative  penalties  shall  be  levied  against  Level  I 
administrative infractions (see Table 1 of Section 5.1).  The Level I 
administrative penalty structure is as follows:
                 6.1.1  At the first  conviction of Level I  infractions,  the   
disciplinary action for the infractions shall be probation.
                 6.1.2  Second conviction shall result in probation and a   
fine at a rate of $2.50 per infraction point.
                 6.1.3  Third conviction shall  result  in probation and an   
elevated fine at a rate of $5.00 per infraction point.
                 6.1.4  Fourth conviction shall result in an elevated fine at   
a rate of $10.00 per infraction point and possible suspension.
                 6.1.5   Continued  and  repeated  convictions  beyond  the   
fourth conviction may result in an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 
per infraction point and possible suspension or revocation.
                 6.1.6  Fines for late well logs and abandonment logs shall   
be  calculated  separately  and  added  to  fines  calculated  for  other 
infractions.  For late well log infractions, the points associated with 
each infraction shall be multiplied by a factor based on the lateness 
of the well log.  The infraction point multipliers are as follows in  
Table 5:

TABLE     5  

Tardiness     of     the     log                                            Infraction     Point     Multiplier  
            1-2     weeks                                                                                                     0.50  
            2-4     weeks                                                                                                     1.00  
            1-3     months                                                                                                  1.50  
            3-6     months                                                                                                  2.00  
            6-9     months                                                                                                  2.50  
            9-12     months                                                                                               3.00  
            Over     12     months                                                                                      4.00  

                 6.2   Level  II  Administrative  Penalties:   Level  II   
administrative  penalties  shall  be  levied  against  Level  II 
administrative infractions (see Table 2 of Section 5.1).  The Level II 
administrative penalty structure is as follows:
                 6.2.1  At the first conviction of Level II infractions, the   
disciplinary action shall result in probation and a fine at a rate of  
$2.50 per infraction point.
                 6.2.2  Second conviction shall result in probation and an   
elevated fine at a rate of $5.00 per infraction point.
                 6.2.3  Third conviction shall result in possible suspension   
and an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 per infraction point.

                 6.2.4   Continued  and  repeated  convictions  beyond  the   
fourth conviction may result in an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 
per infraction point and possible suspension or revocation.
                 6.3   Level  III  Administrative  Penalties:   Level  III   
administrative  penalties  shall  be  levied  against  Level  III 
construction infractions (see Table 3 of Section 5.1).  The Level III  
administrative penalty structure is as follows:
                 6.3.1  At the first conviction of Level III infractions, the   
disciplinary action shall result in probation and a fine at a rate of  
$5.00 per infraction point.
                 6.3.2   Second  conviction  shall  result  in  possible   
suspension and an elevated fine at a rate of $10.00 per infraction 
point.
                 6.3.3  Third conviction may result in an elevated fine at a   
rate  of  $10.00  per  infraction  point  and  possible  suspension  or 
revocation.
                 6.3.4  Level VI Administrative Penalties:  The Level VI   
administrative penalty shall be levied against a Level IV application 
requirement infraction (see Table 4 of Section 5.1).  The Level IV 
administrative  penalty  is  revocation  of  the  license  at  first 
conviction.
                 6.4  Administrative Penalties - General  
                 6.4.1  Penalties shall only be imposed as a result of a well   
driller hearing.
                 6.4.2  Failure to pay a fine within 30 days from the date it   
is assessed shall result in the suspension of the well driller license 
until the fine is paid.
                 6.4.3  Fines shall be deposited as a dedicated credit.  The   
state  engineer  shall  expend  the  money  retained  from  fines  for 
expenses  related to  well  drilling activity inspection,  well  drilling 
enforcement, and well driller education.
                 6.5  Probation:  As described above in Sections 6.1, 6.2,   
and 6.3, probation shall generally be the disciplinary action imposed 
in  situations  where  the  facts  established  through  testimony  and 
evidence describe first time infractions of the administrative rules 
that are limited in number and less serious in their impact on the 
well owner and on the health of the aquifer.  The probation period 
shall generally last until the number of infraction points on the well 
driller's  record  is  reduced  below 70  through  any of  the  options 
described in Subsection 4-5.5.
                 6.6   Suspension:   Suspension  shall  generally  be  the   
disciplinary action imposed in situations where the facts established 
through testimony and evidence describe repeated convictions  of 
the administrative rules, or infractions that a pose serious threat to 
the health of the aquifer, or a well driller's apparent disregard for the 
administrative  rules  or  the  state's  efforts  to  regulate  water  well 
drilling.   Depending  upon  the  number  and  severity  of  the  rule 
infractions as described above in Sections 6.1, 6.2, and 6.3, the state 
engineer may elect to suspend a well  driller license for a certain 
period of time and/or until certain conditions have been met by the 
well driller.  In establishing the length of the suspension, the state 
engineer shall  generally follow the guideline that three infraction 
points is the equivalent of one day of suspension.  A well  driller 
whose  license  has  been  suspended  shall  be  prohibited  from 
engaging  in  regulated  well  drilling  activity.   License  suspension 
may also result in the exaction of the Well Driller Bond as set forth 
in  Subsection  4-3.9.4.   A well  driller  whose  license  has  been
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suspended is  allowed to work as  a  registered  operator  under  the 
direct,  continuous  supervision  of  a  licensed  well  driller.   If  the 
suspension period extends beyond the expiration date of the water 
well driller license, the water well driller may not apply to renew 
the license until the suspension period has run and any conditions 
have been met.  Once the suspension period has run and once all 
conditions have been met by the well driller, the suspension shall be 
lifted and the driller shall be notified that he/she may again engage 
in the well drilling business.  The well driller shall then be placed 
on  probation  until  the  number  of  infraction  points  on  the  well 
driller's  record  is  reduced  below 70  through  any of  the  options 
described in Subsection 4-5.5.
                 6.7   Revocation:   Revocation  shall  generally  be  the   
disciplinary action imposed in situations where the facts established 
through testimony and evidence describe repeated convictions  of 
the administrative rules for which the well driller's Utah Water Well  
License has previously been suspended.  Revocation shall also be 
the disciplinary action taken if after a hearing the facts establish that  
a driller knowingly provided false or misleading information on a 
driller license application.  A well  driller whose license has been 
revoked shall be prohibited from engaging in regulated well drilling 
activity.  License revocation may also result in the exaction of the 
Well Driller Bond as set forth in Subsection 4-3.9.4.  A well driller 
whose license has been revoked is allowed to work as a registered 
operator under the direct, continuous supervision of a licensed well 
driller.  A well driller whose water well license has been revoked 
may not make application for a new water well license for a period 
of  two  years  from the  date  of  revocation.   After  the  revocation 
period  has  run,  a  well  driller  may  make  application  for  a  new 
license as provided in Section R655-4-3.  However, the well drilling 
experience  required  must  be  based  on  new experience  obtained 
since the license was revoked.

R655-4-7.  Adjudicative Proceedings.
                 7.1  Designation of Presiding Officers.  
                 The  following  persons  may  be  designated  Presiding   
Officers  in  well  driller  adjudicative  proceedings:  Assistant  State 
Engineers;  Deputy  State  Engineers;  or  other  qualified  persons 
designated by the State Engineer.
                 7.2  Disqualification of Presiding Officers.  
                 7.2.1  A Presiding Officer shall  disqualify himself from   
performing  the  functions  of  the  Presiding  Officer  regarding  any 
matter in which he, his spouse, or a person within the third degree 
of relationship to either of them or the spouse of such person:
                 7.2.1.1  Is a party to the proceeding, or an officer, director,   
or trustee of a party;
                 7.2.1.2   Has  acted  as  an  attorney in  the  proceeding or   
served  as  an  attorney  for,  or  otherwise  represented,  a  party 
concerning the matter in controversy;
                 7.2.1.3   Knows  that  he  has  a  financial  interest,  either   
individually or as a fiduciary, in the subject matter in controversy or 
in a party to the proceeding;
                 7.2.1.4 Knows that he has any other interest that could be   
substantially affected by the outcome of the proceeding; or
                 7.2.1.5 Is likely to be a material witness in the proceeding.  
                 7.2.2 A Presiding Officer is also subject to disqualification   
under principles of due process and administrative law.

                 7.2.3   These  requirements  are  in  addition  to  any   
requirements under the Utah Public Officers' and Employees' Ethics 
Act, Section 67-16-1 et seq.
                 7.2.4  A motion for disqualification shall be made first to   
the  Presiding  Officer.  If  the  Presiding  Officer  is  appointed,  any 
determination  of  the  Presiding  Officer  upon  a  motion  for 
disqualification may be appealed to the State Engineer.
                 7.3 Informal Proceedings  
                 7.3.1 All adjudicative proceedings initiated under this rule   
are classified as informal adjudicative proceedings.
                 7.3.1  The  procedures  for  informal  adjudicative   
proceedings initiated under this rule are set forth in this rule.
                 7.4 Service of Notice and Orders.  
                 7.4.1  Hearing Notices  and Final  Judgment  and Orders   
shall  be served upon the well  driller  at  the well  driller's  address 
using certified mail  or  methods described in  Rule  5 of the Utah 
Rules of Civil Procedure.
                 7.4.2 Infraction notices, notices of approval or denial of   
licensing or registration or license or registration renewal, and other 
routine  correspondence  related  to  the  Division's  Well  Drilling 
Program shall be sent to the well driller at the well driller's address 
by regular U.S. Mail.
                 7.5 Computation of Time.  
                 7.5.1  Computation of any time period referred to in these   
rules shall begin with the first day following the act that initiates the 
running  of  the  time  period.  The  last  day  of  the  time  period 
computed  is  included  unless  it  is  a  Saturday,  Sunday,  or  legal  
holiday or any other day on which the Division is closed, in which 
event the period shall run until the end of the business hours of the 
following business day.
                 7.5.2  The Presiding Officer, for good cause shown, may   
extend any time limit contained in these rules, unless precluded by 
statute. All requests for extensions of time shall be made by motion.
                 7.6 Request for Hearing  
                 7.6.1  A hearing before a Presiding Officer is permitted in   
a well drilling adjudicative proceeding if:
                 7.6.1.1  The proceeding was commenced by an Infraction   
Notice; or
                 7.6.1.2  The proceeding was commenced by a well driller   
request raising a genuine issue regarding
                 7.6.1.2.1  The denial of a license or registration renewal   
application; or
                 7.6.1.2.2 The issuance of a cease and desist order (red tag)  
                 7.6.2  Regardless  of any other  provision of the general   
laws to the contrary, all requests for a hearing shall be in writing 
and shall be filed with the Division to the attention of the Presiding 
Officer.
                 7.6.3  The request  for  a  hearing shall  state  clearly and   
concisely the disputed facts, the supporting facts, the relief sought, 
and any additional information required by applicable statutes and 
rules.
                 7.6.4  The Presiding Officer shall, give all parties at least   
ten (10) days notice of the date, time and place for the hearing. The 
Presiding  Officer  may  grant  requests  for  continuances  for  good 
cause shown.
                 7.6.5  Any party may, by motion, request that a hearing be   
held  at  some  place  other  than  that  designated  by  the  Presiding 
Officer,  due to disability or infirmity of any party or witness,  or  
where justice and equity would be best served.
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                 7.6.6  A well driller at any time may withdraw the well   
driller's request for a hearing.  The withdrawal shall be filed with 
the Division to the attention of the Presiding Officer,  in writing,  
signed by the well  driller  or  an authorized representative,  and is 
deemed final upon the date filed.
                 7.7 Filings Generally.  
                 7.7.1  Papers filed with the Division shall state the title of   
the proceeding and the name of the well driller on whose behalf the 
filing is made.
                 7.7.2  Papers filed with the Division shall be signed and   
dated by the well driller on whose behalf the filing is made or by the 
well  driller's  authorized representative.   The signature  constitutes 
certification that the well driller:
                 7.7.2.1  Read the document;  
                 7.7.2.2  Knows the content thereof;  
                 7.7.2.3   To  the  best  of  the  well  driller's  knowledge,   
represents that the statements therein are true;
                 7.7.2.4  Does not interpose the papers for delay; and  
                 7.7.2.5  If the well driller's signature does not appear on   
the paper, authorized a representative with full power and authority 
to sign the paper.
                 7.7.3  All papers, except those submittals and documents   
that  are  kept  in  a  larger  format  during  the  ordinary  course  of 
business, shall be submitted on an 8.5 x 11-inch paper.  All papers 
shall be legibly hand printed or typewritten.
                 7.7.4  The Division may provide forms to be used by the   
parties.
                 7.7.5  The original of all  papers shall  be filed with the   
Division with such number of additional copies as the Division may 
reasonably require.
                 7.7.6  Simultaneously with the filing of any and all papers   
with the Division, the party filing such papers shall send a copy to 
all  other  parties,  or  their  authorized  representative  to  the 
proceedings,  by  hand  delivery,  or  U.S.  Mail,  postage  prepaid, 
properly addressed.
                 7.8 Motions.  
                 7.8.1   A party  may  submit  a  request  to  the  Presiding   
Officer for any order or action not inconsistent with Utah law or 
these rules.  Such a request shall be called a motion.  The types of 
motions made shall be those that are allowed under these Rules and 
the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.
                 7.8.2  Motions may be made in writing at any time before   
or  after  the  commencement  of  a  hearing,  or  they may be  made 
orally during a hearing.  Each motion shall set forth the grounds for  
the  desired  order  or  action  and,  if  submitted  in  writing,  state 
whether  oral  argument  is  requested.   A  written  supporting 
memorandum, specifying the legal basis and support of the party's 
position shall accompany all motions.
                 7.8.3   The  Presiding  Officer  may,  upon  the  Presiding   
Officer's own initiative or upon the motion of any party, order any 
party to file a response or other pleading, and further permit either 
party to amend its pleadings in a manner just to all parties.
                 7.9 Conduct of Hearings.  
                 7.9.1   All  parties,  authorized  representatives,  witnesses   
and other persons present at the hearing shall conduct themselves in 
a  manner  consistent  with  the  standards  and  decorum commonly 
observed in Utah courts. Where such decorum is not observed, the 
Presiding  Officer  may  take  appropriate  action  including 
adjournment, if necessary.

                 7.9.2   The Presiding Officer  shall  conduct  the  hearing,   
make all decisions regarding admission or exclusion of evidence or 
any  other  procedural  matters,  and  have  an  oath  or  affirmation 
administered to all witnesses.
                 7.10 Rules of Evidence in Hearings.  
                 7.10.1   Discovery  is  prohibited,  but  the  Division  may   
issue subpoenas or other orders to compel production of necessary 
evidence.
                 7.10.2   A party  may  call  witnesses  and  present  oral,   
documentary, and other evidence.
                 7.10.3  A party may comment on the issues and conduct   
cross-examination of any witness as may be required for a full and 
true  disclosure  of  all  facts  relevant  to  any  issue  designated  for 
hearing,  and as  may affect  the  disposition of  any interest  which 
permits the person participating to be a party.
                 7.10.4   A  witness'  testimony  shall  be  under  oath  or   
affirmation.
                 7.10.5  Any evidence may be presented by affidavit rather   
than by oral testimony, subject to the right of any party to call and 
examine or cross-examine the affiant.
                 7.10.6  Relevant evidence shall be admitted.  
                 7.10.7  The Presiding Officer's decision may not be based   
solely on hearsay.
                 7.10.8  Official notice may be taken of all facts of which   
judicial notice may be taken in Utah courts.
                 7.10.9  All parties shall have access to public information   
contained in the Division's files and to all materials and information 
gathered in the investigation, to the extent permitted by law.
                 7.10.10  No evidence shall be admitted after completion   
of  a  hearing  or  after  a  case  is  submitted  on  the  record,  unless 
otherwise ordered by the Presiding Officer.
                 7.10.11  Intervention is prohibited.  
                 7.10.12   A well  driller  appearing  before  the  Presiding   
Officer  for  the  purpose  of  a  hearing  may  be  represented  by  a 
licensed attorney.  The Water Well Drilling Specialist shall present 
evidence before a Presiding Officer supporting the State Engineer's 
claim.  At the State Engineer's discretion, other Division staff or a 
representative  from the  office  of  the  Attorney General  may also 
present supporting evidence.
                 7.11  Transcript of Hearing.  
                 7.11.1  Testimony and argument at the hearing shall be   
recorded  electronically.  The  Division  shall  make  copies  of 
electronic recordings available to any party, upon written request. 
The fee charged for this service shall be equal to the actual costs of 
providing the copy.  The Division is not responsible to supply any 
party with a transcript of a hearing.
                 7.11.2  If any party shall cause to be produced a transcript   
of  a  hearing,  a  copy  of  said  transcript  shall  be  filed  with  the 
Division and provided to all other parties.  By order of the Presiding 
Officer and with the consent of all parties, such written transcript 
may be deemed an official transcript.
                 7.11.3  Corrections to an official transcript may be made   
only  to  conform  it  to  the  evidence  presented  at  the  hearing. 
Transcript  corrections,  agreed  to  by  opposing  parties,  may  be 
incorporated into the record, if and when approved by the Presiding 
Officer,  at  any time during the hearing,  or  after  the close of the  
adjudicative  proceeding.  The  Presiding  Officer  may  call  for  the 
submission  of  proposed  corrections  and  may  determine  the 
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disposition  thereof  at  appropriate  times  during  the  course  of  the 
proceeding.
                 7.12  Procedures and Standards for Orders  
                 7.12.1  If the well driller attends the hearing, the Presiding   
Officer shall issue a Final Judgment and Order.
                 7.12.2  The Presiding Officer may issue a Default Order   
if,  after  proper  notice,  the  well  driller  fails  to  attend  a  hearing 
scheduled by the Presiding Officer.
                 7.12.3  Within a reasonable time after the close of a well   
driller adjudicative proceeding, the Presiding Officer shall issue a 
written  and  signed  Final  Judgment  and  Order,  including  but  not 
limited to:
                 7.12.3.1  A statement of law and jurisdiction;  
                 7.12.3.2  A statement of facts;  
                 7.12.3.3  An identification of the confirmed infraction(s);  
                 7.12.3.4  An order  setting forth  actions required of the   
well driller;
                 7.12.3.5  A notice of the option to request reconsideration   
and the right to petition for judicial review;
                 7.12.3.6  The time limits for requesting reconsideration or   
filing a petition for judicial review; and
                 7.12.3.7  Other information the Presiding Officer deems   
necessary or appropriate.
                 7.12.4  The Presiding Officer's Final Judgment and Order   
shall be based on the record, as defined in this rule.
                 7.12.5  A copy of the Presiding Officer's Final Judgment   
and Order shall be promptly mailed to each of the parties.
                 7.12.6  A well driller who fails to attend a hearing waives   
any  right  to  request  reconsideration  of  the  Final  Judgment  and 
Order per Section R655-4- 13, but may petition for judicial review 
per Section R655-4-16.
                 7.13  Reconsideration.  
                 7.13.1  Within 14 days after the Presiding Officer issues a   
Final Judgment and Order, any party may file a written request for  
reconsideration  stating  the  specific  grounds  upon which  relief  is 
requested.
                 7.13.2  Unless otherwise provided by statute, the filing of   
a  request  for  reconsideration  is  not  a  prerequisite  for  seeking 
judicial review of the order.
                 7.13.3  The request for reconsideration shall be filed with   
the Division to the attention of the Presiding Officer and one copy 
shall be mailed to each party by the party filing the request.
                 7.13.4  The Presiding Officer may issue a written order   
granting  or  denying  the  request  for  reconsideration.   It  is  not  
required that the written order explain the grounds for the Presiding 
Officer's decision.
                 7.13.5  If  the Presiding Officer does not issue an order   
granting a request for reconsideration within 14 days after the date 
it is filed with the Division, the request shall be considered denied.
                 7.14  Amending Administrative Orders.  
                 7.14.1  On the motion of any party or of the Presiding   
Officer,  the  Presiding Officer  may amend a  Final  Judgment  and 
Order for reasonable cause shown, including but not limited to a 
clerical mistake made in the preparation of the order.
                 7.14.2  A motion by any party to amend an order shall be   
made in a reasonable time and, if to amend a Final Judgment and 
Order, not more than three (3) months after the Final Judgment and 
Order was issued.

                 7.14.3  The Presiding Officer shall notify the parties of the   
receipt and consideration of a motion to amend an order by issuing 
a notice.  The notice shall include a copy of the motion.
                 7.14.4  Any party opposing a motion to amend an order   
may submit information within the time period to be established by 
the Presiding Officer's notice of the motion.
                 7.14.5  After considering a motion to amend an order and   
any relevant  information received from the parties,  the  Presiding 
Officer  shall  advise  the  parties  of  his  determination.   If  the 
Presiding Officer determines that the order shall be amended, the 
Presiding Officer shall issue the amended order to all parties.
                 7.15  Setting Aside a Final Judgment and Order.  
                 7.15.1  On the motion of any party or on a motion by the   
Presiding  Officer,  the  Presiding  Officer  may  set  aside  a  Final 
Judgment and Order on any reasonable grounds, including but not 
limited to the following:
                 7.15.1.1  The well driller was not properly served with an   
Infraction Notice;
                 7.15.1.2  A rule or policy was not followed when the Final   
Judgment and Order was issued;
                 7.15.1.3  Mistake, inadvertence, excusable neglect;  
                 7.15.1.4   Newly  discovered  evidence  which  by  due   
diligence  could  not  have  been  discovered  before  the  Presiding 
officer issued the Final Judgment and Order; or
                 7.15.1.5  Fraud, misrepresentation or other misconduct of   
an adverse party;
                 7.15.2  A motion to set aside a final order shall be made in   
a reasonable time and not more than three (3) months after the Final  
Judgment and Order was issued.
                 7.15.3  The Presiding Officer shall notify the parties of the   
receipt and consideration of a motion to set aside a final order by 
issuing a  notice  to  all  parties,  including therewith a copy of the 
motion.
                 7.15.4  Any party opposing a motion to set aside a final   
order  may  submit  information  within  the  time  period  to  be 
established by the Presiding Officer's notice of the motion.
                 7.15.4  After consideration of the motion to set aside an   
order and any information received from the parties, the Presiding 
Officer shall  issue an order granting or denying the motion,  and 
provide a copy of the order to all parties.
                 7.16  Judicial Review.  
                 7.16.1  Pursuant to Section 73-3-14, a Final Judgment and   
Order may be reviewed by trial de novo by the district court:
                 7.16.1.1  In Salt Lake County; or  
                 7.16.1.2  In the county where the violation occurred.  
                 7.16.2   A well  driller  shall  file  a  petition  for  judicial   
review of a Final Judgment and Order within 20 days from the day 
on which the order was issued, or if a request for reconsideration 
has been filed and denied, within 20 days of the date of denial of the 
request for reconsideration.
                 7.16.3  The Presiding Officer may grant a stay of an order   
or  other  temporary  remedy  during  the  pendency  of  the  judicial 
review on the Presiding Officer's own motion, or upon the motion 
of a party.  The procedures for notice, for consideration of motions, 
and for issuing a determination shall  be as set  forth herein for a 
motion to set aside a Final Judgment and Order.

78 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2011, Vol. 2011, No. 5



DAR File No. 34413 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

R655-4-8.  License and Operator Registration Renewal.
                   8.1   Well  Driller  and  Pump  Installer  Licenses.   The   
Division will mail to each licensed well driller and pump installer a 
notice  (packet)  to  renew  his/her  license  approximately  30  days 
before  the expiration of the license.  Failure to receive the notice 
does not relieve a licensee of his obligation to file application and 
pay the fee for renewal in a timely manner.   A well  driller shall  
notify the Division of any change in his mailing address within 30 
days after the change.
                 8.1.1  Well  driller licenses  and Pump Installer licenses   
shall expire and be renewed according to the following provisions:
                 a.  The licenses of well drillers and pump installers whose   
last name begins with A thru L shall expire at 12 midnight on June 
30 of odd numbered years.
                 b.  The licenses of well drillers and pump installers whose   
last name begins with M thru Z shall expire at 12 midnight on June 
30 of even numbered years.
                 c.   Drillers  and  pump installers  who meet  the  renewal   
requirements set forth in Subsection R655-4-8(8.1.2) on or before 
the  expiration  deadlines  set  forth  in  Subsection  R655-4-8(8.1.1) 
shall  be authorized to operate as a licensed well  driller or pump 
installer until the new license is issued.
                 d.  Licensees must renew their licenses within 24 months   
of the license expiration date. Licensees failing to renew within 24 
months of the license expiration date must re-apply for a license, 
meet all the application requirements of Subsections R655-4-3(3.2) 
or  R655-4-3(3.4),  and  provide  documentation  of  12  hours  of 
continuing  education  according  to  the  requirements  of  R655-4-
8(8.2) obtained within the previous 24 months.
                 8.1.2  Applications to renew a license must include the   
following items:
                 a.   Payment  of  the license renewal  fee  determined  and   
approved by the legislature;
                 b.  Written application to the state engineer;  
                 c.   Documentation  of  continuing  well  driller  bond   
coverage  in  the  amount  of  five  thousand  dollars  ($5,000)  penal 
bond for the next licensing period.  The form and conditions of the 
well  driller  bond  shall  be  as  set  forth  in  Section  R655-4.3.9.  
Allowable documentation can include bond continuation certificates 
and CD statements;
                 d.  As applicable to the type of license, proper submission   
of  all  start  cards,  official  well  driller  reports  (well  logs),  pump 
installer reports (pump logs), and well abandonment reports for the 
current licensing period;
                 e.   Documentation  of  compliance  with  the  continuing   
education  requirements  described  in  Section  8.2.   Acceptable 
documentation of attendance at approved courses must include the 
following  information:  the  name  of  the  course,  the  date  it  was 
conducted, the number of approved credits, the name and signature 
of the instructor and the licensees name; for example, certificates of 
completion,  transcripts,  attendance rosters,  diplomas,  etc.   (Note: 
licensees are advised that the state engineer will not keep track of 
the continuing education courses each licensee attends during the 
year.   Licensees  are  responsible  to  acquire  and  then  submit 
documentation with the renewal application.)
                 8.1.3  License renewal applications that do not meet the   
requirements  of  Subsection  R655-5-8(8.1.2)  by  June  30  of  the 
expiration year or which are received after June 30 of the expiration 

year,  will  be  assessed  an  additional  administrative  late  fee 
determined and approved by the legislature.
                 8.1.4 Restricted, conditioned, limited, or denied renewal   
applications
                 8.1.4.1   The  state  engineer  may  renew a  license  on  a   
restricted, conditional, or limited basis if the licensee's performance 
and compliance with established rules and construction standards 
indicates the scope of the licensee's permitted activities should be 
reduced  or  that  the  licensee  requires  strict  supervision  during  a 
probationary period.
                 8.1.4.2  The restricted, conditional, or limited license shall   
state  the  restrictions,  conditions,  or  limitations  placed  on  the 
licensee's regulated activity; whether the restrictions, conditions, or 
limitations are permanent or time-limited; and the requirements, if 
any,  which  must  be  met  for  the  license  to  be  re-issued  without 
restrictions, conditions, or limitations.
                 8.1.4.3  The state  engineer  may deny an application to   
renew a license if there has been a violation of these rules or UTAH 
CODE  ANNOTATED  Section  73-3-25  that  casts  doubt  on  the 
competency of the licensee or his willingness to comply with the 
well drilling administrative requirements or construction standards.
                 8.1.4.4  Within 30 days of a license renewal application   
being  denied  or  a  license  being  renewed  on  a  restricted,  
conditioned, or limited basis, a licensee may appeal the action by 
requesting a hearing according to the provisions of R655-4-7.
                 8.1.4.5  The restrictions,  conditions,  or  limitations on a   
license or the denial of a license shall remain effective during the 
pendency of the well driller/pump installer adjudicative proceeding.
                 8.2  Continuing Education.  
                 8.2.1  During each license period,  licensed well  drillers   
and  pump  installers  are  required  to  earn  at  least  twelve  (12) 
continuing  education  credits  by  attending  training  sessions 
sponsored or sanctioned by the state engineer.  Drillers and pump 
installers who do not renew their licenses, but who intend to renew 
within the following 24 month period allowed in Section 8.1.1, are  
also required to earn twelve (12) continuing education credits.
                 8.2.2   The  state  engineer  shall  establish  a  committee   
consisting of the state engineer or a representative, no more than 
four licensed well drillers/pump installers, a ground water scientist, 
and a manufacturer/supplier of well  drilling/pump products.  The 
committee will develop criteria for the training courses, approve the 
courses which can offer continuing education credits, and assign the 
number  of  credits  to  each  course.   The  committee  will  make 
recommendations  to  the  state  engineer  concerning  appeals  from 
training course sponsors and licensees related to earning continuing 
education credit.
                 8.2.3  The committee  established in  Section 8.2.2 shall   
assign the number of continuing education credits to each proposed 
training session based on the instructor's  qualifications,  a  written 
outline of the subjects to be covered, and written objectives for the 
session.   Licensees wishing continuing education credit  for other 
training sessions shall provide the committee with all information it 
needs to assign continuing education requirements.
                 8.2.4  Licensed drillers must complete a State Engineer-  
sponsored  "Administrative  Rules  for  Well  Drillers  and  Pump 
Installers" review course or other approved rules review once every 
four (4) years.
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                 8.2.5   CE  credits  cannot  be  carried  over  from  one   
licensing period to another.
                 8.3  Operator's Registration.  
                 8.3.1  Drill Rig and Pump Rig operator registrations shall   
expire at the same time as the license of the well driller or pump 
installer  by whom they are  employed.   Operators  who  meet  the 
renewal requirements set forth in Subsection R655-4-8(8.3.2) on or 
before  12  midnight  June  30  of  the  expiration  year  shall  be 
authorized to act as a registered operator until the new registration 
is issued. Operators must renew their registrations within 24 months 
of the registration expiration date. Operators failing to renew within 
24 months of the registration expiration date must re-apply for an 
operator's registration and meet all the application requirements of 
Subsections R655-4-3(3.3) and R655-4-3(3.5).
                 6.3.2   Applications  to  renew  an  operator's  registration   
must include the following items:
                 a.  Payment of the registration renewal fee determined and   
approved by the legislature;
                 b.  Written application to the state engineer.  
                 6.3.3  Registration renewal applications that do not meet   
the  requirements  of  Subsection  R655-4-8(8.3.2)  by  the  June  30 
expiration date or that are received after the June 30 expiration date 
will  be  assessed  an additional  administrative  late  fee  determined 
and approved by the legislature.

R655-4-9.  The Approval Process for Non-Production Wells.
                 9.1  General.  
                 Regulated  non-production  wells  such  as  cathodic   
protection  wells,  closed-loop  heating/cooling  exchange  wells, 
monitor/piezometer/test wells, and other wells meeting the criteria 
in R655-4-1(1.2.4) drilled and constructed to a depth greater than 30 
feet below natural ground surface require approval from the state 
engineer.
                 9.2  Approval to Construct or Replace.  
                 Approval to construct or replace non-production wells is   
issued  by  the  state  engineer's  main  office  and  regional  offices 
following review of written requests from the owner/applicant or 
their appointed representative.  The appointed representative shall 
not include the licensed driller designated on the application.  The 
requests for approval shall be made on forms provided by the state 
engineer entitled "Request for Non-Production Well Construction". 
The following information must be included on the form:
                 a.  General location or common description of the project.  
                 b.  Specific course and distance locations from established   
government surveyed outside section corners or quarter corners.
                 c.  Total anticipated number of wells to be installed.  
                 d.  Diameters, approximate depths and materials used in   
the wells.
                 e.  Projected start and completion dates.  
                 f.  Name and license number of the driller contracted to   
install the wells.
                 g.   A detailed explanation of the purpose and technical   
aspects of the drilling project.  This can also include reviews and 
approvals (e.g., building permits) done by local jurisdictions of the 
project.  This additional documentation may expedite the Division's 
processing of the non-production well application.
                 h.   Signature  of  the  well  owner  or  authorized   
representative  attesting  to  the  accuracy  and  truthfulness  of  the 

information on the application.  The licensed driller cannot be the 
signatory on the non-production well application.
                   9.2.1  There is no fee required to request approval to drill   
a non-production well.   Using available information and sources, 
the Division will evaluate the potential for the non-production well 
to become a contamination source or otherwise negatively impact 
the groundwater  resource prior to  approval.   This  evaluation can 
take up to 14 days to conduct.  The Division shall list application 
information on its website to allow the public and local jurisdictions 
to review the project prior to approval.  The well permit application 
shall  be returned without  review to the applicant  if  the  Division 
determines that the application is incomplete,  contains inaccurate 
information,  lacks  sufficient  information  or  is  illegible.   The 
Division shall deny the issuance of a well permit if the site where  
the well  is to be drilled is designated by the Division as an area 
where wells may not be constructed, including but not limited to 
contaminated  or  protected  aquifers,  areas  where  drilling  and 
construction of wells can impact other water rights, and other areas 
where environmental remediation may be adversely affected by the 
construction and/or operation of wells.  Upon written approval by 
the state engineer,  the project will  be assigned an approved non-
production well number which will be referenced on all start cards 
and official well driller's reports.

R655-4-10.  General Requirements.
                 10.1  Standards.  
                 10.1.1   In  some  locations,  the  compliance  with  the   
following minimum standards will not result in a well being free 
from pollution or from being a source of subsurface leakage, waste, 
or  contamination  of  the  groundwater  resource.   Since  it  is 
impractical to attempt to prepare standards for  every conceivable 
situation,  the  well  driller  or  pump installer  shall  judge  when  to 
construct or otherwise perform work on wells under more stringent 
standards  when  such  precautions  are  necessary  to  protect  the 
groundwater  supply and those using the well  in question.   Other  
state  and  local  regulations  pertaining  to  well  drilling  and 
construction, groundwater protection, isolation distances (set backs) 
from  potential  contamination  sources  and/or  other 
structures/boundaries,  and  water  quality/testing  regulations  may 
exist  that  are  either  more  stringent  than  these  rules  or  that 
specifically  apply  to  a  given  situation.   It  is  the  licensee's  
responsibility to understand and apply other federal, state, and local 
regulations as applicable.
                 10.2  Well Site Locations.  
                 10.2.1  Well  site  locations are described by course and   
distance from outside section corners or quarter corners (based on a 
Section/Township/Range Cadastral  System) and by the Universal 
Transverse Mercator (UTM) coordinate system on all state engineer 
authorizations to drill (Start Cards).  However, the licensee should 
also be familiar with local zoning ordinances, or county boards of 
health  requirements  which  may  limit  or  restrict  the  actual  well 
location  and  construction  in  relationship  to  property/structure 
boundaries  and  existing  or  proposed  concentrated  sources  of 
pollution or contamination such as septic tanks, drain fields, sewer 
lines,  stock  corrals,  feed  lots,  etc.   The  licensee  should  also  be 
familiar with the Utah Underground Facilities Act (Title 54, Chapter 
8a of the Utah Code Annotated 1953 as amended) which requires 
subsurface excavators (including well drilling) to notify operators of
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underground  utilities  prior  to  any  subsurface  excavation. 
Information  on  this  requirement  can  be  found  by  calling  Blue 
Stakes Utility Notification Center at (800)662-4111.
                 10.2.2  Regulated wells shall be drilled at the approved   
location as defined on the valid start card.  The driller shall check 
the drilling location to see if it matches the state-approved location 
listed on the Driller's Start Card.
                 10.3  Unusual Conditions.  
                   10.3.1   If  unusual  conditions  occur  at  a  well  site  and   
compliance  with  these  rules  and  standards  will  not  result  in  a 
satisfactory well or protection to the groundwater supply, a licensed 
water  well  driller  or  pump  installer  shall  request  that  special 
standards be prescribed for a particular well (variance request).  The 
request for special standards shall be in writing and shall set forth 
the  location  of  the  well,  the  name  of  the  owner,  the  unusual 
conditions existing at the well site, the reasons and justification that 
compliance with the rules and minimum standards will not result in 
a  satisfactory well,  and  the  proposed  standards  that  the  licensee 
believes will be more adequate for this particular well.  If the state 
engineer finds that the proposed changes are in the best interest of 
the public, the state engineer will approve the proposed changes by 
assigning  special  standards  for  the  particular  well  under 
consideration.  At the Division's discretion, the licensee applying for 
the  variance  may  be  required  to  provide  additional  technical 
information justifying the variance.  The variance request will  be 
evaluated, and a response will be given within fourteen days. In a 
public health emergency or other exceptional circumstance, verbal 
notification  for  a  variance  may be  given.  An emergency usually 
consists of a well failure resulting in a dry well or an unusable well. 
Driller convenience does not constitute an emergency.

R655-4-11.  Well Drilling and Construction Requirements.
                 11.0  General.  
                 11.0.1  Figures 1 through 5 are used to illustrate typical   
well construction standards, and can be viewed in the State of Utah 
Water  Well  Handbook available at  the Division of Water Rights, 
1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake City, Utah.  Figure 1 illustrates 
the typical construction of a drilled well with driven casing such as 
a well drilled using the cable tool method or air rotary with a drill-
through casing driver.  Figure 2 illustrates the typical construction 
of a well drilled with an oversized borehole and/or gravel packed 
without the use of surface casing.  Figure 3 illustrates the typical  
construction  of  a  well  drilled  with  an  oversized  borehole  and/or 
gravel packed with the use of surface casing.  Figure 4 illustrates 
the typical construction of a well drilled with an oversized borehole 
and/or gravel  packed completed in stratified formations in which 
poor  formation  material  or  poor  quality  water  is  encountered. 
Figure 5 illustrates the typical construction of a well completed with 
PVC or nonmetallic casing.
                 11.1  Approved Products, Materials, and Procedures.  
                 11.1.1  Any product, material or procedure designed for   
use in the drilling, construction, cleaning, renovation, development 
pump installation/repair,  or  abandonment  of  water  production  or 
non-production wells, which has received certification and approval 
for its intended use by the National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) 
under  ANSI/NSF  Standard  60  or  61,  the  American  Society  for 
Testing Materials (ASTM), the American Water Works Association 
(AWWA) or the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) may 
be utilized.  Other  products,  materials  or  procedures  may also be 

utilized for their intended purpose upon manufacturers certification 
that they meet or exceed the standards or certifications referred to in  
this section and upon state engineer approval.
                 11.2  Well Casing - General  
                 11.2.1   Drillers  Responsibility.   It  shall  be  the  sole   
responsibility of the well driller to determine the suitability of any 
type  of  well  casing for  the  particular  well  being  constructed,  in 
accordance with these minimum requirements.
                 11.2.2  Casing Stick-up.  The well casing shall extend a   
minimum of 18 inches above finished ground (land) level and the 
natural ground surface should slope away from the casing.  A secure 
sanitary,  weatherproof  seal  or  a  completely welded  cap  shall  be 
placed on the top of the well casing to prevent contamination of the 
well.  If a vent is placed in the cap, it shall be properly screened to  
prevent access to the well by debris, insects, or other animals.
                 11.2.3  Steel Casing.   All  steel  casing installed in Utah   
shall  be  in  new or  like-new condition,  being  free  from  pits  or 
breaks, clean with all potentially dangerous chemicals or coatings 
removed, and shall meet the minimum specifications listed in Table 
6 of these rules.  In order to utilize steel well casing that does not  
fall  within  the  categories  specified  in  Table  6,  the  driller  shall  
receive written approval from the state engineer.  All steel casing 
installed in Utah shall meet or exceed the minimum ASTM, ANSI, 
or AWWA standards for steel pipe as described in Subsection 11.1 
unless  otherwise  approved  by  the  state  engineer.   Applicable 
standards (most recent revisions) may include:
                 ANSI/AWWA A100-AWWA Standard for Water Wells.  
                 ANSI/ASTM A53-Standard Specifications for Pipe, Steel,   
Black and Hot-Dipped, Zinc-Coated, Welded and Seamless.
                 ANSI/ASTM  A139-Standard  Specification  for  Electric-  
Fusion (Arc)-Welded Steel Pipe (NPS 4 and over).
                 ANSI/AWWA C200-Standard for  Steel Water Pipe-6 in.   
and Larger.
                   ASTM A589-89-Standard Specification for Seamless and   
Welded Carbon Steel Water-Well Pipe.
                 API Spec.5L and 5LS-Specification for Liner Pipe.  
                 ASTM A106-Standard Specification for Seamless Carbon   
Steel Pipe for High Temperature Service
                 ASTM  A778-Standard  Specifications  for  Welded,   
Unannealed Austenitic Stainless Steel Tubular Products.
                 ASTM  A252-Standard  Specification  for  Welded  and   
Seamless Steel Pipe Piles.
                 ASTM  A312-Standard  Specification  for  Seamless,   
Welded, and Heavily Cold Worked Austenitic Stainless Steel Pipes
                   ASTM A409- Standard  Specification  for  Welded  Large   
Diameter Austenitic Steel Pipe for Corrosive or High-Temperature 
Service

TABLE     6  
MINIMUM     WALL     THICKNESS     FOR     STEEL     WELL     CASING  

Depth
                                       0           200           300           400           600              800           1000           1500  
Nominal                 to              to              to              to              to                 to                 to                 to  
Casing                 200           300           400           600           800           1000           1500           2000  
Diameter        (ft)        (ft)        (ft)        (ft)        (ft)           (ft)           (ft)           (ft)  
   2                       .154        .154           .154        .154        .154           .154  
   3                       .216        .216           .216        .216        .216           .216  
   4                       .237        .237           .237        .237        .237           .237           .237           .237  
   5                       .250        .250           .250        .250        .250           .250           .250           .250  
   6                       .250        .250           .250        .250        .250           .250           .250           .250  
   8                       .250        .250           .250        .250        .250           .250           .250           .250  
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10                       .250        .250           .250        .250        .250           .250           .312           .312  
12                       .250        .250           .250        .250        .250           .250           .312           .312  
14                       .250        .250           .250        .250        .312           .312           .312           .312  
16                       .250        .250           .312        .312        .312           .312           .375           .375  
18                       .250        .312           .312        .312        .375           .375           .375           .438  
20                       .250        .312           .312        .312        .375           .375           .375           .438  
22                       .312        .312           .312        .375        .375           .375           .375           .438  
24                       .312        .312           .375        .375        .375           .438  
30                       .312        .375           .375        .438        .438           .500  
Note:        Minimum     wall     thickness     is     in     inches.  

                 11.2.4  Plastic and Other Non-metallic Casing.  
                 11.2.4.1  Materials.   PVC,  SR,  ABS,  or  other  types of   
non-metallic well casing and screen may be installed in Utah upon 
obtaining permission of the well  owner.   Plastic  well  casing and 
screen shall  be  manufactured  and installed to  conform with  The 
American  National  Standards  Institute  (ANSI)  or  the  American 
Society  for  Testing  and  Materials  (ASTM)  Standard  F  480-95, 
which  are  incorporated  by reference  to  these  rules.   Casing  and 
screen meeting this standard is normally marked "WELL CASING" 
and with the ANSI/ASTM designation "F 480-95, SDR-17 (or 13.5, 
21, etc.)".  All plastic casing and screen for use in potable water  
supplies shall  be manufactured to  be acceptable to  the American 
National Standards Institute/National Sanitation Foundation (NSF) 
standard 61.   Other  types of plastic casings and screens may be 
installed upon manufacturers certification that such casing meets or 
exceeds  the  above  described  ASTM/SDR  specification  or 
ANSI/NSF approval and upon state engineer approval.
                 11.2.4.2   Minimum  Wall  Thickness  and  Depth   
Requirements.   PVC  well  casing  and  screen  with  a  nominal 
diameter  equal  to  or  less  than  four  (4)  inches  shall  meet  the  
minimum wall thickness required under ASTM Standard F480-95 
SDR 21 or a Schedule 40 designation.  PVC well casing and screen 
with a nominal diameter greater than four (4) inches shall meet the 
minimum wall thickness required under ASTM Standard F480-95 
SDR 17 or a Schedule 80 designation.  Additionally, caution should 
be used whenever other than factory slots or perforations are added 
to  PVC  well  casing.   The  installation  of  hand  cut  slots  or  
perforations significantly reduces the collapse strength tolerances of 
unaltered casings.  The depth at which plastic casing and screen is 
placed in a well shall conform to the minimum requirements and 
restrictions as outlined in ASTM Standard F-480-95 and to PVC 
casing manufacturer recommendations.
                 11.2.4.3  Fiberglass Casing.  Fiberglass reinforced plastic   
well casings and screens may be installed in wells upon obtaining 
permission  of  the  well  owner.   All  fiberglass  casing  or  screens 
installed  in  wells  for  use  in  potable  water  supplies  shall  be 
manufactured to be acceptable by ANSI/NSF Standard 61 and upon 
state engineer approval.
                 11.2.4.4   Driving  Non-metallic  Casing.   Non-metallic   
casing shall  not  be driven,  jacked,  or  dropped and may only be 
installed in an oversized borehole.
                 11.2.4.5   Protective  Casing.   If  plastic  or  other  non-  
metallic casing is utilized, the driller shall install a protective steel 
casing which complies with the provisions of Subsection 11.2.3 or 
an equivalent  protective covering approved by the state engineer 
over and around the well casing at ground surface to a depth of at  
least two and one half (2.5) feet.  If a pitless adapter is installed on 
the well, the bottom of the protective cover shall be placed above 
the pitless adapter/well connection.  If the pitless adapter is placed 
in the protective casing, the protective casing shall extend below the 

pitless entrance in the well casing and be sealed both on the outside 
of the protective casing and between the protective casing and well  
casing.   The  protective  cover  shall  be  sealed  in  the  borehole  in 
accordance with the requirements of Subsection 11.4.  The annular 
space between the protective cover  and non-metallic casing shall 
also  be  sealed  with  acceptable  materials  in  accordance  with 
Subsection  11.4.   A sanitary,  weather-tight  seal  or  a  completely 
welded  cap  shall  be  placed  on  top  of  the  protective  cover,  thus 
enclosing the well itself.  If the sanitary seal is vented, screens shall  
be placed in the vent to prevent debris insects, and other animals  
from entering the well.  This protective casing requirement does not 
apply to monitor wells.  Figure 5 depicts this requirement.
                 11.3  Casing Joints.  
                 11.3.1   General.   All  well  casing  joints  shall  be  made   
water tight.  In instances in which a reduction in casing diameter is 
made,  there  shall  be  enough  overlap  of  the  casings  to  prevent 
misalignment and to insure the making of an adequate seal in the 
annular space between casings to prevent the movement of unstable 
sediment  or  formation  material  into  the  well,  in  addition  to 
preventing the degradation of the water supply by the migration of 
inferior quality water through the annular space between the two 
casings.
                 11.3.2   Steel  Casing.   All  steel  casing  shall  be  screw-  
coupled or welded.  If  the joints are welded,  the weld shall  meet  
American Welding Society standards and be at least as thick as the 
wall thickness of the casing and shall consist of at least two beads 
for the full  circumference of the joint.  Spot welding of joints is  
prohibited.
                 11.3.3  Plastic Casing.   All  plastic well  casing shall  be   
mechanically screw coupled, chemically welded, cam-locked or lug 
coupled to provide water tight joints as per ANSI/ASTM F480-95. 
Metal screws driven into casing joints shall not be long enough to 
penetrate the inside surface of the casing.  Metal screws should be 
used only when surrounding air temperatures are below 50 degrees 
Fahrenheit  (F)  which  retards  the  normal  setting  of  the  cement. 
Solvent-welded joints shall not impart taste, odors,
toxic substances, or bacterial contamination to the water in the well.
                 11.4  Surface Seals and Interval Seals.  
                 11.4.1  General.  Before the drill rig is removed from the   
drill site of a well, a surface seal shall be installed.  Well casings  
shall  be  sealed  to  prevent  the  possible  downward  movement  of 
contaminated surface waters in the annular space around the well  
casing.   The  seal  shall  also  prevent  the  upward  movement  of 
artesian waters  within  the annular  space  around the  well  casing. 
Depending upon hydrogeologic conditions around the well, interval 
seals  may  need  to  be  installed  to  prevent  the  movement  of 
groundwater  either  upward  or  downward  around  the  well  from 
zones that have been cased out of the well due to poor water quality 
or  other  reasons.   The  following  surface  and  interval  seal 
requirements  apply  equally  to  rotary  drilled,  cable  tool  drilled, 
bored, jetted, augered, and driven wells unless otherwise specified.
                 11.4.2  Seal Material.  
                 11.4.2.1  General.  The seal material shall consist of neat   
cement grout, sand cement grout, unhydrated bentonite, or bentonite 
grout  as  defined  in  Section  R655-4-2.   Use  of  sealing materials 
other  than  those  listed  above  must  be  approved  by  the  state 
engineer.  Bentonite  drilling  fluid  (drilling  mud),  dry  drilling 
bentonite, or drill cuttings are not an acceptable sealing material.  In  
no  case  shall  drilling  fluid  (mud),  drill  cuttings,  drill  chips,  or  
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puddling clay be used, or allowed to fill, partially fill, or fall into the 
required sealing interval of a well during construction of the well. 
All  hydrated  sealing  materials  (neat  cement  grout,  sand  cement 
grout, bentonite grout) shall be placed by tremie pipe, pumping, or 
pressure  from  the  bottom  of  the  seal  interval  upwards  in  one 
continuous operation when placed below a depth of 30 feet or when 
placed  below static  groundwater  level.   Portland  Cement  grouts 
must  be  allowed  to  cure  a  minimum of  72  hours  for  Type  I-II 
cement  or  36  hours  for  Type  III  cement  before  well  drilling, 
construction, or testing may be resumed.  The volume of annular  
space  in  the  seal  interval  shall  be  calculated  by  the  driller  to 
determine the estimated volume of seal material required to seal the 
annular space.  The driller shall place at least the volume of material 
equal  to  the  volume  of  annular  space,  thus  ensuring  that  a 
continuous seal is placed.  The driller shall maintain the well casing 
centered in the borehole during seal placement using centralizers or 
other means to ensure that the seal is placed radially and vertically 
continuous.
                 11.4.2.2   Bentonite  Grout.   Bentonite  used  to  prepare   
grout for sealing shall have the ability to gel; not separate into water 
and solid materials after it gels; have a hydraulic conductivity or 
permeability value of 10E-7 centimeters per second or less; contain 
at least 20 percent solids by weight of bentonite, and have a fluid  
weight  of  9.5  pounds  per  gallon  or  greater  and  be  specifically 
designed for the purpose of sealing.  Bentonite or polymer drilling 
fluid (mud) does not meet the definition of a grout with respect to 
density, gel strength, and solids content and shall not be used for 
sealing purposes.  At no time shall bentonite grout contain materials 
that are toxic, polluting, develop odor or color changes, or serve as 
a micro-bacterial nutrient.  All bentonite grout shall be prepared and 
installed  according  to  the  manufacturer's  instructions  and  these 
rules.  All additives must be certified by a recognized certification 
authority such as NSF and approved by the state engineer.
                 11.4.2.3   Unhydrated  Bentonite.   Unhydrated  bentonite   
(e.g., granular, tabular, pelletized, or chip bentonite) may be used in 
the construction of well seals above a depth of 50 feet.  Unhydrated 
bentonite can be placed below a depth of 50 feet when placed inside 
the annulus of two casings, when placed using a tremie pipe, or by 
using  a  placement  method  approved  by the  state  engineer.   The 
bentonite  material  shall  be specifically designed  for  well  sealing 
and be within industry tolerances.  All unhydrated bentonite used 
for  sealing  must  be  free  of  organic  polymers  and  other 
contamination.   Placement  of  bentonite  shall  conform  to  the 
manufacturer's  specifications and instructions and result  in a seal 
free of voids or bridges.  Granular or powdered bentonite shall not 
be placed under water by gravity feeding from the surface.  When 
placing unhydrated bentonite, a sounding or tamping tool shall be 
run in the sealing interval during pouring to measure fill-up rate, 
verify a continuous seal placement, and to break up possible bridges 
or cake formation.
                 11.4.3  Seal and Unperforated Casing Placement.  
                 11.4.3.1 General Seal Requirements.  Figure 1 illustrates   
the construction of a surface seal for a typical well.   The surface 
seal  must  be  placed  in  an  annular  space  that  has  a  minimum 
diameter  of  four  (4)  inches  larger  than  the  nominal  size  of  the 
permanent  well  casing (This amounts  to a  2-inch annulus).   The 
surface seal must extend from land surface to a minimum depth of 
30  feet.   The  completed  surface  seal  must  fully  surround  the 
permanent well  casing, must be evenly distributed, free of voids, 

and extend to undisturbed or recompacted soil.  In unconsolidated 
formations  such  as  gravels,  sands,  or  other  unstable  conditions 
when  the  use  of  drilling  fluid  or  other  means  of  keeping  the 
borehole open are not employed, either a temporary surface casing 
with a minimum depth of 30 feet and a minimum nominal diameter 
of four (4) inches greater than the outermost permanent casing shall 
be utilized to ensure proper seal placement or the well driller shall 
notify the state engineer's  office that the seal will  be placed in a 
potentially  unstable  open  borehole  without  a  temporary  surface 
casing  by  telephone  or  FAX  in  conjunction  with  the  start  card 
submittal in order to provide an opportunity for the state engineer's 
office to inspect the placement of the seal.  If a temporary surface  
casing  is  utilized,  the  surface  casing  shall  be  removed  in 
conjunction with the placement of the seal.  Alternatively, conductor 
casing may be sealed permanently in place to a depth of 30 feet  
with a minimum 2-inch annular seal between the surface casing and 
borehole wall.  If the temporary surface casing is to be removed, the 
surface  casing  shall  be  withdrawn  as  sealing  material  is  placed 
between the outer-most permanent well casing and borehole wall.  
The sealing material shall be kept at a sufficient height above the 
bottom of the temporary surface casing as it is withdrawn to prevent 
caving of the borehole wall.  If the temporary conductor casing is 
driven in place without a 2-inch annular seal between the surface 
casing and borehole wall, the surface casing may be left in place in 
the  borehole  only  if  it  is  impossible  to  remove  because  of 
unforeseen  conditions  and  not  because  of  inadequate  drilling 
equipment, or if the removal will seriously jeopardize the integrity 
of the well and the integrity of subsurface barriers to pollutants or 
contaminant movement.  The temporary surface casing can only be 
left  in place without a sufficient 2-inch annular seal as described 
above with the approval  of the state  engineer  on a  case by case 
basis.  If the surface casing is left in place, it shall be perforated to  
allow seal  material  to  penetrate  through  the  casing  and  into  the 
formation  and  annular  space  between  the  surface  casing  and 
borehole wall.  Unhydrated bentonite shall not be used to construct 
the surface seal when the surface casing is left in place.  Grout seal  
materials  must  be  used  to  construct  the  surface  seal  when  the 
surface  casing  is  left  in  place.   The  grout  must  be  placed  with 
sufficient  pressure  to  force  the  grout  through  the  surface  casing 
perforations and into the annular space between the surface casing 
and  borehole  wall  and  into  the  formation.   Surface  seals  and 
unperforated  casing  shall  be  installed  in  wells  located  in 
unconsolidated formation such as sand and gravel with minor clay 
or confining units; unconsolidated formation consisting of stratified 
layers of materials such as sand, gravel, and clay or other confining 
units;  and  consolidated  formations  according  to  the  following 
procedures.
                 11.4.3.2   Unconsolidated  Formation  without  Significant   
Confining  Units.   This  includes  wells  that  penetrate  an  aquifer 
overlain  by  unconsolidated  formations  such  as  sand  and  gravel 
without  significant  clay  beds  (at  least  six  feet  thick)  or  other 
confining formations.  The surface seal must be placed in a 2-inch 
annular  space  to  a  minimum  depth  of  30  feet.   Permanent 
unperforated casing shall extend at least to a depth of 30 feet and 
also extend below the lowest anticipated pumping level.  Additional 
casing placed in the open borehole below the required depths noted 
above shall meet the casing requirements of Subsection 9.2 unless 
the casing is installed as a liner inside a larger diameter approved 
casing.
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                 11.4.3.3   Unconsolidated  Formation  with  Significant   
Confining  Units.   This  includes  wells  that  penetrate  an  aquifer 
overlain by clay or other confining formations that are at least six 
(6) feet thick.  The surface seal must be placed in a 2-inch annular  
space to a minimum depth of 30 feet and at least five (5) feet into 
the confining unit above the water bearing formation. Unperforated 
casing shall extend from ground surface to at least 30 feet and to the 
bottom of the confining unit overlying the water bearing formation. 
If necessary to complete the well, a smaller diameter casing, liner,  
or well screen may be installed below the unperforated casing.  The 
annular space between the two casings shall be sealed with grout, 
bentonite, or a mechanical packer.  Additional casing placed in the 
open borehole below the required depths noted above shall meet the 
casing requirements of Subsection 11.2 unless the casing is installed 
as a liner inside a larger diameter approved casing.
                 11.4.3.4  Consolidated Formation.  This includes drilled   
wells  that  penetrate  an  aquifer,  either  within  or  overlain  by  a 
consolidated formation.  The surface seal must be placed in a 2-inch 
annular space to a minimum depth of 30 feet and at least five (5) 
feet  into  competent  consolidated  formation.   Unperforated 
permanent casing shall be installed to extend to a depth of at least 
30 feet and the lower part of the casing shall be driven and sealed at 
least five (5) feet into the consolidated formation.  If necessary to 
complete the well, a smaller diameter casing, liner, or well screen  
may be installed below the unperforated casing.  The annular space 
between the two casings shall be sealed with grout, bentonite, or a 
mechanical packer.  Additional casing placed in the open borehole 
below  the  required  depths  noted  above  shall  meet  the  casing 
requirements of Subsection 11.2 unless the casing is installed as a 
liner inside a larger diameter approved casing.
                   11.4.3.5   Sealing  Artesian  Wells.   Unperforated  well   
casing shall extend into the confining stratum overlying the artesian 
zone, and shall be adequately sealed into the confining stratum to 
prevent both surface and subsurface leakage from the artesian zone. 
If leaks occur around the well casing or adjacent to the well,  the 
well shall be completed with the seals, packers, or casing necessary 
to eliminate the leakage.  The driller shall not move the drilling rig 
from  the  well  site  until  leakage  is  completely  stopped,  unless 
authority for temporary removal of the drilling rig is granted by the 
state engineer, or when loss of life or property is imminent.  If the 
well  flows naturally at  land surface due to  artesian pressure,  the 
well shall be equipped with a control valve so that the flow can be 
completely  stopped.   The  control  valve  must  be  available  for 
inspection by the state engineer at all times.  All flowing artesian 
water supply wells shall be tested for artesian shut-in pressure in 
pounds per square inch and rate of flow in cubic feet per second, or 
gallons per minute, under free discharge conditions. This data shall 
be reported on the well log.
                 11.4.4  Interval Seals.  Formations containing undesirable   
materials  (e.g.,  fine  sand  and  silt  that  can  damage  pumping 
equipment and result in turbid water), contaminated groundwater, or 
poor quality groundwater must be sealed off so that the unfavorable 
formation cannot contribute to the performance and quality of the 
well.  These zones must also be sealed to eliminate the potential of 
cross  contamination  or  commingling  between  two  aquifers  of 
differing  quality.   Figure  4  illustrates  this  situation.   Unless 
approved by the state engineer, construction of wells that cause the  
commingling or cross connection of otherwise separate aquifers is 
not allowed.

                 11.4.5  Other Sealing Methods.  In wells where the above-  
described  methods  of  well  sealing  do  not  apply,  special  sealing 
procedures  can  be  approved  by  the  state  engineer  upon  written 
request by the licensed well driller.
                 11.5   Special  Requirements  for  Oversized  and  Gravel   
Packed  Wells.   This  section  applies  to  wells  in  which  casing  is 
installed  in  an  open  borehole  without  driving  or  drilling  in  the 
casing and an annular space is left between the borehole wall and 
well  casing  (e.g.,  mud  rotary  wells,  flooded  reverse  circulation 
wells, air rotary wells in open bedrock).
                 11.5.1  Oversized Borehole.  The diameter of the borehole   
shall be at least four (4) inches larger than the outside diameter of 
the well casing to be installed to allow for proper placement of the  
gravel pack and/or formation stabilizer and adequate clearance for 
grouting and surface seal installations.  In order to accept a smaller 
diameter  casing  in  any  oversized  borehole  penetrating 
unconsolidated or stratified formations, the annular space must be 
sealed in accordance with Subsection 11.4.  In order to minimize the 
risk of:  1) borehole caving or collapse; 2) casing failure or collapse; 
or 3) axial distortion of the casing, it is recommended that the entire 
annular  space  in  an  oversized  borehole  between  the  casing  and 
borehole wall be filled with formation stabilizer such as approved 
seal material,  gravel  pack,  filter material  or other state  engineer-
approved materials.  Well casing placed in an oversized borehole 
should  be  suspended  at  the  ground  surface  until  all  formation 
stabilizer material is placed in order to reduce axial distortion of the 
casing if it is allowed to rest on the bottom of an open oversized 
borehole.  In order to accept a smaller diameter casing, the annular  
space  in  an  oversized  borehole  penetrating  unconsolidated 
formations (with no confining layer) must be sealed in accordance 
with Subsection 11.4 to a depth of at least 30 feet or from static 
water level to ground surface, whichever is deeper.  The annular  
space in an oversized borehole penetrating stratified or consolidated 
formations must be sealed in accordance with Subsection 11.4 to a 
depth of at least 30 feet or five (5) feet into an impervious strata 
(e.g., clay) or competent consolidated formation overlying the water 
producing  zones  back  to  ground  surface,  whichever  is  deeper. 
Especially in the case of an oversized borehole, the requirements of 
Subsection 11.4.4 regarding interval sealing must be followed.
                 11.5.2  Gravel Pack or Filter Material.  The gravel pack or   
filter material shall consist of clean, well-rounded, chemically stable 
grains that are smooth and uniform.  The filter material should not 
contain more than 2% by weight of thin, flat, or elongated pieces 
and should not contain organic impurities or contaminants of any 
kind.  In order to assure that no contamination is introduced into the 
well  via the gravel pack, the gravel pack must be washed with a 
minimum  100  ppm  solution  of  chlorinated  water  or  dry 
hypochlorite mixed with the gravel pack at the surface before it is 
introduced into the well  (see Table  7 of  these rules  for  required 
amount of chlorine material).
                 11.5.3  Placement of Filter Material.   All  filter material   
shall  be  placed  using a  method that  through common usage  has 
been shown to minimize a) bridging of the material  between the 
borehole  and  the  casing,  and  b)  excessive  segregation  of  the 
material after it has been introduced into the annulus and before it 
settles into place.  It  is not acceptable to place filter material  by  
pouring from the ground surface unless proper sounding devices are 
utilized to  measure dynamic  filter  depth,  evaluate  pour  rate,  and 
minimize bridging and formation of voids.
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                 11.5.4   No  Surface  Casing  Used.   If  no  permanent   
conductor casing is installed, neat cement grout, sand cement grout, 
bentonite grout, or unhydrated bentonite seal shall be installed in 
accordance with Subsection 11.4.  Figure 2 of these rules illustrates 
the construction of a typical well of this type.
                 11.5.5  Permanent Conductor Casing Used.  If permanent   
conductor casing is installed, it shall be unperforated and installed 
and sealed in accordance with Subsection 11.4 as depicted in Figure 
3 of these rules.  After the gravel pack has been installed between 
the conductor casing and the well casing, the annular space between 
the two casings shall be sealed by either welding a water-tight steel 
cap between the two casings at land surface or filling the annular  
space between the two casings with neat cement grout, sand cement 
grout, bentonite grout, or unhydrated bentonite from at least 50 feet 
to the surface and in accordance with Subsection 11.4.  If a hole will  
be created in the permanent conductor casing in order to install a 
pitless adapter into the well casing, the annual space between the 
conductor casing and well casing shall be sealed to at least a depth 
of  thirty  (30)  feet  with  neat  cement  grout,  sand  cement  grout, 
bentonite grout, or unhydrated bentonite.  A waterproof cap or weld 
ring  sealing the  two casings  at  the  surface  by itself  without  the 
annular seal between the two casings is unacceptable when a pitless 
adapter  is  installed  in  this  fashion.   Moreover  in  this  case,  the 
annular space between the surface casing and well casing must be at  
least 2 inches in order to facilitate seal placement.
                 11.5.6  Gravel Feed Pipe.  If a gravel feed pipe, used to   
add gravel to the gravel pack after well completion, is installed, the 
diameter of the borehole in the sealing interval must be at least four 
(4) inches in diameter greater than the permanent casing plus the 
diameter  of the gravel  feed pipe.   The gravel  feed pipe must  be 
completely  surrounded  by  the  seal.  The  gravel  feed  pipe  must 
extend at least 18 inches above ground and must be sealed at the top 
with a watertight cap or plug (see Figure 2).
                   11.5.7   Other  Gravel  Feed  Options.   If  a  permanent   
surface casing is installed in the construction of a filter pack well, a  
watertight,  welded,  steel  plate  (ring)  at  least  3/16  of  an  inch  in 
thickness shall be installed between the inner production casing and 
the outer surface casing at the wellhead. A watertight fill port with 
threaded cap may be installed for the purpose of placing additional 
filter pack material in the well.
                 11.6  Protection of the Aquifer.  
                   11.6.1  Drilling Fluids and LCMs.  The well driller shall   
take  due care  to  protect  the  producing aquifer  from clogging or 
contamination.  Organic substances shall not be introduced into the 
well or borehole during drilling or construction.  Every effort shall 
be made to remove all substances and materials introduced into the 
aquifer  or  aquifers  during  well  construction.   "Substances  and 
materials"  shall  mean  all  bentonite-  and  polymer-based  drilling 
fluids, filter cake, and any other inorganic substances added to the  
drilling fluid that may seal or clog the aquifer.  The introduction of 
lost circulation materials (LCM's) during the drilling process shall 
be  limited  to  those  products  which  will  not  present  a  potential 
medium for bacterial growth or contamination.  Only LCM's which 
are non-organic,  which can be safely broken down and removed 
from the borehole, may be utilized.  This includes, but is not limited 
to, paper/wood products, brans, hulls, grains, starches, hays/straws,

and proteins.   This is  especially important  in the construction of 
wells  designed to be used as  a  public  water system supply.   All 
polymers  and  additives  used  in  any  well  shall  be  certified  by 
NSF/ANSI  approval  standards  for  use  in  potable  water  supply 
wells,  or  equivalent  standards  as  approved  by the  Division.  The 
product  shall  be  clearly  labeled  as  meeting  these  standards. 
Polymers and additives must be designed and manufactured to meet 
industry  standards  to  be  nondegrading  and  must  not  act  as  a 
medium which will promote growth of microorganisms.
                 11.6.2   Containment  of  Drilling  Fluid.   Drilling  or   
circulating  fluid  introduced  into  the  drilling  process  shall  be 
contained  in  a  manner  to  prevent  surface  or  subsurface 
contamination and to prevent degradation of natural or man-made 
water courses or impoundments.  Rules regarding the discharges to 
waters  of the state  are  promulgated  under  R317-8-2 of  the Utah 
Administrative Code and regulated by the Utah Division of Water 
Quality (Tel. 801-536-6146).  Pollution of waters of the state is a 
violation of the Utah Water Quality Act, Utah Code Annotated Title 
19, Chapter 5.
                 11.6.3   Mineralized,  Contaminated  or  Polluted  Water.   
Whenever  a  water  bearing  stratum  that  contains  nonpotable 
mineralized,  contaminated  or  polluted  water  is  encountered,  the 
stratum shall be adequately sealed off so that contamination or co-
mingling of the overlying or underlying groundwater zones will not 
occur (see Figure 4).
                 11.6.4   Down-hole  Equipment.   All  tools,  drilling   
equipment,  and materials  used to drill,  repair,  renovate,  clean,  or 
install  a  pump  in  a  well  shall  be  free  of  contaminants  prior  to 
beginning well construction or other in-well activity.  Contaminants 
include  lubricants,  fuel,  bacteria,  etc.  that  will  reduce  the  well 
efficiency,  and  any other  item(s)  that  will  be  harmful  to  public 
health and/or the resource or reduce the life of the water well.  It is 
recommended that excess lubricants placed on drilling equipment 
be wiped clean prior to insertion into the borehole.
                 11.6.5  Well Disinfection and Chlorination of Water.  No   
contaminated or untreated water shall be placed in a well  during 
construction.   Water  should  be  obtained  from  a  chlorinated 
municipal system.  Where this is not possible, the water must be 
treated to give 100 parts per million free chlorine residual.  Upon 
completion of a well or work on a well, the driller or pump installer 
shall  disinfect  the well  using accepted disinfection procedures to 
give 100 parts per million free chlorine residual equally distributed 
in the well  water from static level to the bottom of the well.   A 
chlorine solution  designated  for  potable  water  use prepared  with 
either calcium hypochlorite (powdered, granular, or tablet form) or 
sodium hypochlorite  in  liquid form shall  be used for  water  well 
disinfection.  Off-the-shelf chlorine compounds intended for home 
laundry use, pool or fountain use should not be used if they contain 
additives such as antifungal agents, silica ("Ultra" brands), scents, 
etc.  Table 7 provides the amount of chlorine compound required 
per 100 gallons of water or 100 feet linear casing volume of water  
to mix a 100 parts per million solution.  Disinfection situations not 
depicted  in  Table  7  must  be  approved  by  the  state  engineer.  
Additional recommendations and guidelines for water well system 
disinfection are available from the state engineer upon request.
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TABLE     7  
AMOUNT     OF     CHLORINE     COMPOUND     FOR     EACH     100     FEET     OF     WATER  

STANDING     IN     WELL     (100     ppm     solution)  

Well                                   Ca-HyCLT*           Ca-HyCLT                 Na-HyCLT**           Liquid     CL***  
Diameter                    (25%     HOCL)        (65%     HOCL)        (12-trade     %)           (100%     Cl2)  
(inches)                       (ounces)              (ounces)        (fluid     ounces)              (lbs)  

2                                                  1.00                       0.50                                3.5                                0.03  
4                                                  3.50                       1.50                                7.0                                0.06  
6                                                  8.00                       3.00                             16.0                                0.12  
8                                               14.50                       5.50                             28.0                                0.22  
10                                            22.50                       8.50                             45.0                                0.34  
12                                            32.50                    12.00                             64.0                                0.50  
14                                            44.50                    16.50                             88.0                                0.70  
16                                            58.00                    26.00                             112                                   0.88  
20                                            90.50                    33.00                             179                                   1.36  
For     every     100  
   gal.     of     water  
   add:                                      5.50                       2.00                             11.5                                0.09  

NOTES:        *Calcium     Hypochlorite     (solid)  
                        **Sodium     Hypochlorite     (liquid)  
                        ***Liquid     Chlorine  

                 11.7  Special Requirements.  
                 11.7.1  Explosives.  Explosives used in well construction   
shall  not  be  detonated  within  the  section  of  casing  designed  or 
expected to serve as the surface seal of the completed well, whether 
or not the surface seal has been placed.  If explosives are used in the 
construction of a well, their use shall be reported on the official well 
log.   In  no  case  shall  explosives,  other  than  explosive  shot 
perforators  specifically  designed  to  perforate  steel  casing,  be 
detonated inside the well casing or liner pipe.
                 11.7.2  Access Port.  Every well shall be equipped with a   
usable access port so that the position of the water level, or pressure 
head, in the well can be measured at all times.
                 11.7.3  Completion or Abandonment.  A licensed driller   
shall  not remove his drill  rig from a well  site unless the well  is  
completed or abandoned.   Completion of a well  shall  include all 
surface seals,  gravel  packs or curbs required.   Dry boreholes,  or 
otherwise  unsuccessful  attempts  at  completing  a  well,  shall  be 
properly abandoned in accordance with Section R655-4-14.  Upon 
completion, all wells shall be equipped with a watertight, tamper-
resistant casing cap or sanitary seal.
                 11.7.4  Surface Security.  If it becomes necessary for the   
driller  to  temporarily  discontinue  the  drilling  operation  before 
completion  of  the  well  or  otherwise  leave  the  well  or  borehole 
unattended, the well and/or borehole must be covered securely to 
prevent  contaminants  from  entering  the  casing  or  borehole  and 
rendered  secure  against  entry  by  children,  vandals,  domestic 
animals, and wildlife.
                 11.7.5  Pitless Adapters/Units.   Pitless adapters or units   
are  acceptable  to  use with  steel  well  casing as  long as  they are  
installed in  accordance with  manufacturers  recommendations and 
specifications as well  as meet the Water Systems Council  Pitless 
Adapter  Standard  (PAS-97)  which  are  incorporated  herein  by 
reference and are available from Water Systems Council, 13 Bentley 
Dr.,  Sterling,  VA 20165,  phone 703-430-6045,  fax 703-430-6185 
(watersystemscouncil.org).  The pitless adaptor, including the cap or 
cover, casing extension, and other attachments, must be so designed 
and  constructed  to  be  secure,  water  tight,  and  to  prevent 
contamination of the potable water supply from external sources. 

Pitless  wellhead  configurations  shall  have  suitable  access  to  the 
interior of the well  in order to measure water level and for well  
disinfection purposes.  Pitless configurations shall be of watertight 
construction  throughout  and  be  constructed  of  materials  at  least 
equivalent to and having wall thickness and strength compatible to 
the casing.   Pitless adapters or units are not recommended to be 
mounted on PVC well casing.  If a pitless adapter is to be used with 
PVC casing, it should be designed for use with PVC casing, and the 
driller should ensure that the weight of the pump and column do not 
exceed the strength of the PVC well casing.  A cement grout seal  
shall not be allowed within the pitless unit or pitless adaptor sealing 
interval.  The pitless adapter or unit sealing interval shall be sealed 
with unhydrated bentonite. The pitless adapter or unit, including the 
cap or cover, pitless case and other attachments, shall be designed 
and  constructed  to  be  watertight  to  prevent  the  entrance  of 
contaminants into the well from surface or near-surface sources.
                 11.7.6   Hydraulic  Fracturing.   The  hydraulic  fracturing   
pressure shall be transmitted through a drill string and shall not be 
transmitted to the well casing.  Hydraulic fracturing intervals shall 
be at least 20 feet below the bottom of the permanent casing of a 
well.   All  hydraulic  fracturing  equipment  shall  be  thoroughly 
disinfected with a 100 part  per million chlorine solution prior to 
insertion into the well.   The driller  shall  include the appropriate 
hydraulic fracturing information on the well log including methods, 
materials, maximum pressures, location of packers, and initial/final 
yields.   In  no  case  shall  hydrofacturing  allow  commingling  of 
waters within the well bore.  Clean sand or other material (propping 
agents) approved by the Division may be injected into the well to  
hold the fractures open when pressure is removed.
                 11.7.7  Static Water Level, Well Development, and Well   
Yield.  To fulfill the requirements of Subsection R655-4-4.5.2, new 
wells designed to produce water shall be developed to remove drill 
cuttings, drilling mud, or other materials introduced into the well  
during construction and to restore the natural groundwater flow to 
the well  to the extent possible.   After a water production well  is  
developed, a test should be performed to determine the rate at which 
groundwater  can be reliably produced from the well.   Following 
development and testing, the static water level in the well should 
also  be  measured.   Static  water  level,  well  development 
information,  and  well  yield  information  shall  be  noted  on  the 
official submittal of the Well Log by the well driller.
                 11.7.8  Packers. Packers shall be of a material that will not   
impart taste, odor, toxic substances or bacterial contamination to the 
water in the well.
                 11.7.9   Screens.   Screens  must  be  constructed  of   
corrosion-resistant  material  and  sufficiently  strong  to  withstand 
stresses  encountered  during  and  after  installation.   Screen  slot 
openings, screen length, and screen diameter should be sized and 
designed  to provide  sufficient  open area consistent  with strength 
requirements  to transmit sand-free water from the well.   Screens 
should be installed so that exposure above pumping level will not 
occur.
                   11.7.10   Openings  in  the  Casing.   There  shall  be  no   
opening in the casing wall between the top of the casing and the 
bottom  of  the  required  casing  seal  except  for  pitless  adapters, 
measurement access ports, and other approved openings installed in 
conformance with these standards. In no case shall holes be cut in 
the casing wall for the purpose of lifting or lowering casing into the 
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well  bore  unless  such  holes  are  properly  welded  closed  and 
watertight prior to placement into the well bore.
                   11.7.11  Casing vents.  If a well requires venting, it must   
terminate in a down-turned position at least 18-inches above ground 
(land) level, at or above the top of the casing or pitless unit and be 
covered with a 24 mesh corrosion-resistant screen.

R655-4-12.  Special Wells.
                 12.1  Construction Standards for Special Wells.  
                 12.1.1  General.  The construction standards outlined in   
Section  R655-4-11  are  meant  to  serve  as  minimum  acceptable 
construction  standards.   Certain  types  of  wells  such  as  cathodic 
protection  wells,  closed-loop  heating  or  cooling  exchange  wells, 
recharge and recovery wells, and public supply wells require special 
construction standards that are addressed in this section or in rules 
promulgated by other regulating agencies.   At a minimum, when 
constructing  special  wells  as  listed  above,  the  well  shall  be 
constructed  by  a  licensed  well  driller,  and  the  minimum 
construction standards of Section R655-4-11 shall be followed in 
addition to the following special standards.
                 12.1.2  Public Water Supply Wells.  Public water supply   
wells are subject to the minimum construction standards outlined in 
Section R655-4-11 in addition to the requirements established by 
the  Department  of  Environmental  Quality,  Division  of  Drinking 
Water  under  Rules  R309-515  and  R309-600.   Plans  and 
specifications  for  a  public  supply  well  must  be  reviewed  and 
approved  by  the  Division  of  Drinking  Water  before  the  well  is 
drilled.  These plans and specifications shall include the procedures, 
practices, and materials used to drill, construct, seal, develop, clean, 
disinfect, and test the public supply well.  A Preliminary Evaluation 
Report  describing  the  potential  vulnerability  and  protection 
strategies of the new well to contamination must also be submitted 
and approved prior to drilling.  A representative of the Division of 
Drinking Water must be present at the time the surface grout seal is  
placed in all public supply wells, so that the placement of the seal  
can be certified.   In  order to assure that a representative will  be 
available,  and  to  avoid  down-time  waiting  for  a  representative, 
notice  should  be given  several  days  in  advance  of  the  projected 
surface  grout  seal  placement.   When  the  time  and  date  for  the 
surface grout seal installation are confirmed a definite appointment 
should be made with the representative of the Division of Drinking 
Water  to  witness  the grout  seal  placement  by calling (801)  536-
4200.  The licensed driller shall have available a copy of the start 
card  relating  to  the  well  and  provide  that  information  to  the 
inspecting  representative  at  the  time  of  the  surface  grout  seal 
installation and inspection.
                 12.1.3  Cathodic Protection Well Construction.  Cathodic   
protection wells shall be constructed in accordance with the casing, 
joint,  surface  seal,  and  other  applicable  requirements  outlined in 
Section R655-4-9.  Any annular space existing between the base of 
the annular surface seal and the top of the anode and conductive fill  
interval shall be filled with appropriate fill or sealing material.  Fill  
material shall consist of washed granular material such as sand, pea 
gravel,  or  sealing material.   Fill  material  shall  not  be  subject  to 
decomposition or consolidation and shall be free of pollutants and 
contaminants.   Fill  material  shall  not  be  toxic  or  contain  drill 
cuttings or drilling mud.  Additional sealing material shall be placed 
below the minimum depth of the annular surface seal, as needed, to 
prevent the cross-connection and commingling of separate aquifers 

and water bearing zones.  Vent pipes, anode access tubing, and any 
other tubular materials (i.e., the outermost casing) that pass through 
the interval  to be filled and sealed are  considered casing for  the 
purposes  of  these  standards  and  shall  meet  the  requirements  of 
Subsections R655-4-11.2 and 11.3.  Cathodic protection well casing 
shall be at least 2 inches in internal diameter to facilitate eventual 
well abandonment.  Figure 6 illustrates the construction of a typical 
cathodic protection well.
                 12.1.4   Closed-loop  Heating/Cooling  Exchange  Wells.   
Wells or boreholes utilized for heat exchange or thermal heating in a 
closed-loop fashion,  which are greater  than 30 feet  in  depth and 
encounter formations containing groundwater, must be drilled by a 
licensed driller and the owner or applicant must have an approved 
application for that specific purpose as outlined in Section R655-4-
9.  Wells or boreholes installed for heat or thermal exchange process 
must comply with the minimum construction standards of Section 
R655-4-11.
                 12.1.4.1   For  open-loop  systems  where  groundwater  is   
removed, processed, and re-injected, a non-consumptive use water 
right approval must be obtained from the state engineer.  Approval 
to  re-inject  water  underground  is  also  required  from  the  Utah 
Division  of  Water  Quality.   Open-loop  system  wells  shall  be 
constructed in accordance with the requirements found in Section 
11.   If  a  separate  well  or  borehole  is  required  for  re-injection 
purposes,  it  must  also  comply  with  these  standards  and  the 
groundwater must be injected into the same water bearing zones as 
from which it is initially withdrawn.  The quality and quantity of 
groundwater shall not be diminished or degraded upon re-injection.
                   12.1.4.2   Closed-loop  heat  exchange  wells  must  also   
comply with the guidelines set forth in the National Ground Water 
Association Guidelines for Construction of Vertical Boreholes for 
Closed Loop Heat Pump Systems (guidelines are copyrighted and 
available  from  the  National  Ground  Water  Association  at  601 
Dempsey Rd, Westerville,  OH 43081-8978, Phone 614-898-7791, 
Fax  614.898-7786,  website  www.ngwa.org,  email 
customerservice@ngwa.org)  or  standards  set  forth  in  the  Design 
and Installation Standards for Closed-Loop/Geothermal Heat Pump 
Systems  (standards  are  copyrighted  and  available  from  the 
International Ground Source Heat Pump Association (374 Cordell 
South,  Oklahoma  State  University,  Stillwater,  OK  74078-8018, 
www.igshpa.okstate.edu).  These guidelines  and standards may be 
viewed during normal business hours at the Division's main office 
at  1594 West  North Temple,  SLC,  UT 84116).   For  closed-loop 
systems where  groundwater  is  not  removed in  the  process,  non-
production well approval must be obtained from the state engineer. 
Specific requirements for closed-loop wells include:
                 a.   The  location  of  closed  loop  heat  pump wells  must   
comply  with  applicable  ordinances,  regulations,  or  other 
enforceable  instruments  of local  governments  to  ensure adequate 
protection  of  public  water  systems  from  encroachments  or  any 
impairment of the groundwater resource.
                 b.   Closed-loop  system wells  must  be  sealed  from the   
bottom  of  the  well/boring  to  ground  surface  using  acceptable 
materials and placement methods described in Section 11.4.  Sand 
may be added to the seal mix to enhance thermal conductivity as 
long as the seal mix meets permeability and gel strength standards 
outlined in Section 11.4.
                 c.  Borehole Diameter: The borehole diameter of a closed   
loop heat pump well must be of sufficient size to allow placement 
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of  the  pipe  and  placement  of  a  tremie  to  emplace  the  grout.  In  
general, for loop piping with a nominal diameter of ¾ to 1 inch, the 
borehole diameter shall  be at  least  4.75 inches.   For loop piping 
with a nominal diameter of 1.25 inches, the borehole diameter shall 
be at least 5.25 inches.  For loop piping with a nominal diameter of 
1.5 to 2.0 inches, the borehole diameter shall be at least 6.0 inches.
                 d.  Grouting of Vertical Ground Water Heat Pump Wells:   
Grouting the annulus of a heat pump well shall be completed within 
24 hours from the time the borehole is drilled and loaded with the 
U-bend assembly and within at least 6 hours from the time the drill  
rig moves off the borehole. Full-length grout placement is required 
on all vertical closed loop heat pump boreholes.
                 e.   Placement  of  Grout  Material:  Full-length  grout   
material must be placed by tremie from the bottom of the borehole 
to the top. The tremie pipe must not be left  in the borehole. The 
grout must fill  the entire borehole. Grout must not be allowed to 
free-fall.
                 f.   Pipe: Pipe material,  joining methods, and installation   
must meet the guidelines and standards referenced in the National 
Ground Water Association Guidelines for Construction of Vertical 
Boreholes  for  Closed  Loop  Heat  Pump Systems,  (guidelines  are 
copyrighted  and  available  from  the  National  Ground  Water 
Association  at  601  Dempsey  Rd,  Westerville,  OH  43081-8978, 
Phone  614-898-7791,  Fax  614.898-7786,  email 
customerservice@ngwa.org)  and  in  the  Design  and  Installation 
Standards  for  Closed-Loop/Geothermal  Heat  Pump  Systems 
(standards  are  copyrighted  and  available  from  the  International 
Ground  Source  Heat  Pump  Association  (374  Cordell  South, 
Oklahoma  State  University,  Stillwater,  OK  74078-8018, 
www.igshpa.okstate.edu).  Guidelines and standards may be viewed 
during normal business hours at the Division's main office at 1594 
West North Temple, SLC, UT 84116).  U-bend connections shall be 
factory jointed and piping shall not have any fusion joints below a 
depth of 30 feet.
                 g.  Pressure Testing: Loop piping shall be pressure tested   
prior  to  installation  into  the  borehole.   Loop  piping  failing  this  
initial pressure testing shall not be installed.  The installed system 
must  be  pressure  tested  at  a  minimum  of  2  times  the  system 
operating pressure to ensure the integrity of the system. If a pressure 
loss  is  detected,  the cause must  be properly repaired or  material 
replaced or properly plugged.  The system shall be pressure tested 
again  following  any  repairs.   Pressure  testing  procedures  shall  
follow the guidelines and standards in the National Ground Water 
Association Guidelines for Construction of Vertical Boreholes for 
Closed Loop Heat Pump Systems, (guidelines are copyrighted and 
available  from  the  National  Ground  Water  Association  at  601 
Dempsey Rd, Westerville,  OH 43081-8978, Phone 614-898-7791, 
Fax  614.898-7786,  email  customerservice@ngwa.org)  and  in  the 
Design  and  Installation  Standards  for  Closed-Loop/Geothermal 
Heat Pump Systems (standards are copyrighted and available from 
the  International  Ground  Source  Heat  Pump  Association  (374 
Cordell South, Oklahoma State University,  Stillwater, OK 74078-
8018, www.igshpa.okstate.edu).  Guidelines and standards may be 
viewed during normal business hours at the Division's main office 
at 1594 West North Temple, SLC, UT 84116).
                 h.  Heat transfer fluid, additives, and inhibitors.  The heat   
transfer fluids, additives, and inhibitors used inside the closed-loop 
assembly  must  be  nontoxic,  safe  to  install,  provide  corrosion 
protection,  not  promote  bacterial  growth,  and  not  produce  an 

unacceptable risk to the environment in the event of a system leak. 
Water used in the heat transfer fluid mix must be from a treated  
potable source or be disinfected in accordance with these rules.  Use 
and  placement  of  fluids,  additives,  and  inhibitors  shall  be  in 
accordance  with  the  guidelines  and  standards  in  the  National 
Ground Water Association Guidelines for Construction of Vertical 
Boreholes  for  Closed  Loop  Heat  Pump Systems,  (guidelines  are 
copyrighted  and  available  from  the  National  Ground  Water 
Association  at  601  Dempsey  Rd,  Westerville,  OH  43081-8978, 
Phone  614-898-7791,  Fax  614.898-7786,  email 
customerservice@ngwa.org)  and  in  the  Design  and  Installation 
Standards  for  Closed-Loop/Geothermal  Heat  Pump  Systems 
(standards  are  copyrighted  and  available  from  the  International 
Ground  Source  Heat  Pump  Association  (374  Cordell  South, 
Oklahoma  State  University,  Stillwater,  OK  74078-8018, 
www.igshpa.okstate.edu).  Guidelines and standards may be viewed 
during normal business hours at the Division's main office at 1594 
West North Temple, SLC, UT 84116).
                 i.  Abandonment:  When closed-loop heat exchange wells   
are  required  to  be  permanently abandoned (decommissioned  and 
sealed),  the  most  recent  version  of  the  Permanent  Loop  Pipe 
Decommissioning standards of the Closed-Loop/Geothermal  Heat 
Pump Systems Design and Installation Standards shall be followed. 
These standards are published by the International Ground Source 
Heat  Pump  Association  (374  Cordell  South,  Oklahoma  State 
University, Stillwater, OK 74078-8018, www.igshpa.okstate.edu).
                 12.1.4.3  The rules herein pertain only to the heating and   
cooling exchange well constructed to a depth greater than 30 feet  
and are not intended to regulate the incidental work that may occur 
up to the well such as plumbing, electrical, piping, trenching, and 
backfilling activities.
                 12.1.5  Recharge and Recovery Wells.  Any well drilled   
under the provisions of Title 73, Chapter 3b (Groundwater Recharge 
and Recovery Act) shall be constructed in a manner consistent with 
these  rules  and  shall  be  drilled  by  a  currently  licensed  driller. 
Special rules regarding the injection of water into the ground are 
also promulgated under the jurisdiction of the Utah Department of 
Environmental  Quality,  Division  of  Water  Quality  (Rule  R317-7 
"Underground  Injection  Control  Program"  of  the  Utah 
Administrative Code) and must be followed in conjunction with the 
Water Well Drilling rules.

R655-4-13.   Deepening,  Rehabilitation,  and  Renovation  of 
Wells.
                 13.1  Sealing of Casing.  
                 13.1.1  If in the repair of a drilled well, the old casing is   
withdrawn,  the well  shall  be recased and resealed in  accordance 
with the rules provided in Subsection R655-4-11(11.4).
                 13.2  Inner Casing.  
                 13.2.1  If an inner casing is installed to prevent leakage of   
undesirable  water  into  a  well,  the  space  between  the  two  well 
casings shall be completely sealed using packers, casing swedging, 
pressure grouting, etc., to prevent the movement of water between 
the casings.
                 13.3  Outer Casing.  
                 13.3.1  If  the "over-drive" method is  used to  eliminate   
leakage around an existing well,  the casing driven over  the well 
shall meet the minimum specifications listed in Subsection R655-4-
11(11.4).
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                 13.4  Artesian Wells.  
                 13.4.1  If  upon deepening an existing well,  an artesian   
zone  is  encountered,  the  well  shall  be  cased  and  completed  as 
provided in Subsection R655-4-11(11.4).
                 13.5  Drilling in a Dug Well.  
                 13.5.1   A drilled  well  may  be  constructed  through  an   
existing dug well provided that:
                 13.5.1.1   Unperforated  Casing  Requirements.   An   
unperforated section of well casing extends from a depth of at least 
ten (10) feet below the bottom of the dug well and at least 20 feet 
below land surface to above the maximum static water level in the 
dug well.
                 13.5.1.2  Seal Required.   A two foot thick seal of neat   
cement grout, sand cement grout, or bentonite grout is placed in the 
bottom of the dug well  so as to prevent the direct movement  of  
water from the dug well into the drilled well.
                 13.5.1.3  Test of Seal.  The drilled well shall be pumped or   
bailed to determine whether the seal described in Subsection R655-
4-13(13.5.1.2) is adequate to prevent movement of water from the 
dug well into the drilled well.  If the seal leaks, additional sealing  
and testing shall be performed until a water tight seal is obtained.
                 13.6  Well Rehabilitation and Cleaning.  
                 13.6.1  Tools used to rehabilitate or clean a well shall be   
cleaned, disinfected, and free of contamination prior to placement in 
a well.
                 13.6.2  The driller  shall  use  rehabilitation and cleaning   
tools properly so as not to permanently damage the well or aquifer. 
If  the  surface  seal  is  damaged  or  destroyed  in  the  process  of 
rehabilitation or cleaning, the driller shall repair the surface seal to 
the standards set forth in Subsection R655-4-11(11.4).
                 13.6.3   Debris,  sediment,  and other  materials  displaced   
inside the well and surrounding aquifer as a result of rehabilitation 
or cleaning shall be completely removed by pumping, bailing, well 
development, or other approved methods.
                 13.6.4   Detergents,  chlorine,  acids,  or  other  chemicals   
placed in wells for the purpose of increasing or restoring yield, shall 
be specifically designed for that purpose and used according to the 
manufacturer's recommendations.
                 13.6.5  Any renovation, rehabilitation, cleaning, or other   
work on a well  that requires alteration of the well  itself shall be 
conducted by a licensed well driller.
                 13.6.6  Following completion of deepening,  renovation,   
rehabilitation, cleaning, or other work on a well, the well shall be 
properly  disinfected  in  accordance  with  Subsection  R655-4-
11(11.6.5).

R655-4-14.  Abandonment of Wells.
                 14.1  Temporary Abandonment.  
                 14.1.1   When  any  well  is  temporarily  removed  from   
service, the top of the well shall be sealed with a tamper resistant, 
water-tight cap or seal.  If a well is in the process of being drilled 
and is temporarily abandoned, the well shall be sealed with a tamper 
resistant,  water-tight  cap  or  seal  and  a  surface  seal  installed  in 
accordance  with  Subsection  R655-4-11(11.4).   The  well  may be 
temporarily abandoned during construction for a maximum of 90 
days.  After the 90 day period, the temporarily abandoned well shall 
be completed as a well that meets the standards of Section 11 or 
permanently  abandoned  in  accordance  with  the  following 
requirements,  and  an  official  well  abandonment  report 

(abandonment log) must be submitted in compliance with Section 
R655-4-4.
                 14.2  Permanent Abandonment.  
                 14.2.1  The rules of this section apply to the abandonment   
of the type of wells listed in Subsection R655-4-1(1.2) including 
private  water  wells,  public  supply wells,  monitor  wells,  cathodic 
protection wells, and heating or cooling exchange wells.  A licensed 
driller  shall  notify  the  state  engineer  prior  to  commencing 
abandonment  work  and  submit  a  complete  and  accurate 
abandonment log following abandonment work in accordance with 
Section  R655-4-4  of  these  rules.   Prior  to  commencing 
abandonment work, the driller shall obtain a copy of the well log of 
the well proposed to be abandoned from the well owner or the state 
engineer, if available, in order to determine the proper abandonment 
procedure.  Any well that is to be permanently abandoned shall be  
completely filled in a manner to prevent vertical movement of water 
within  the  borehole  as  well  as  preventing  the  annular  space 
surrounding the well casing from becoming a conduit for possible 
contamination of the groundwater supply.  A well driller who wishes 
to  abandon  a  well  in  a  manner  that  does  not  comply  with  the 
provisions set forth in this section must request approval from the 
state engineer.
                 14.3  License Required.  
                 14.3.1  Well  abandonment  shall  be accomplished under   
the direct supervision of a currently licensed water well driller who 
shall be responsible for verification of the procedures and materials 
used.
                 14.4  Acceptable Materials.  
                 14.4.1  Neat cement grout, sand cement grout, unhydrated   
bentonite,  or bentonite grout  shall  be used to  abandon wells  and 
boreholes.   Other  sealing materials  or additives,  such as fly ash, 
may be used in the preparation of grout upon approval of the state 
engineer.  Drilling mud or drill cuttings shall not be used as any part  
of a sealing materials for well abandonment.  The liquid phase of 
the  abandonment  fluid  shall  be  water  from a  potable  municipal 
system  or  disinfected  in  accordance  with  Subsection  R655-4-
11(11.6.5).
                 14.5  Placement of Materials.  
                 14.5.1   Neat  cement  and  sand  cement  grout  shall  be   
introduced at the bottom of the well or required sealing interval and 
placed progressively upward to the top of the well.   The sealing 
material  shall  be placed by the use of  a  grout  pipe,  tremie line, 
dump bailer or equivalent in order to avoid freefall,  bridging,  or 
dilution of the sealing materials or separation of aggregates from 
sealants.  Sealing material shall not be installed by freefall (gravity) 
unless the interval to be sealed is dry and no deeper than 30 feet 
below ground surface.  If  the well  to be abandoned is a flowing 
artesian well, the well may be pressure grouted from the surface. 
The  well  should  be  capped  immediately after  placement  of  seal 
materials to allow the seal material to set up and not flow out of the 
well.
                 14.5.2   Bentonite-based abandonment  products  shall  be   
mixed  and  placed  according  to  manufacturer's  recommended 
procedures and result in a seal free of voids or bridges.  Granular or 
powered bentonite shall not be placed under water.  When placing 
unhydrated bentonite, a sounding or tamping tool shall be run in the 
sealing  interval  during  pouring  to  measure  fill-up  rate,  verify  a 
continuous seal placement, and to break up possible bridges or cake 
formation.
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                 14.5.3  The uppermost ten (10) feet of the abandoned well   
casing or borehole shall consist of neat cement grout or sand cement 
grout.
                 14.5.4  Abandonment materials placed opposite any non-  
water bearing intervals or zones shall be at least as impervious as  
the  formation  or  strata  prior  to  penetration  during  the  drilling 
process.
                 14.5.5  Prior to well or borehole abandonment, all pump   
equipment, piping, and other debris shall be removed to the extent 
possible.  The well shall also be sounded immediately before it is 
plugged to make sure that no obstructions exist that will interfere 
with the filling and sealing.  If the well contains lubricating oil that 
has leaked from a turbine shaft pump, it shall be removed from the 
well  prior  to  abandonment  and  disposed  of  in  accordance  with 
applicable state and federal regulations.
                 14.5.6   Verification  shall  be  made  that  the  volume  of   
sealing  and  fill  material  placed  in  a  well  during  abandonment 
operations equals or exceeds the volume of the well or borehole to 
be filled and sealed.
                 14.6  Termination of Casing.  
                 14.6.1   The casings  of  wells  to  be abandoned shall  be   
severed  a  minimum of  two feet  below either  the natural  ground 
surface adjacent to the well or at the collar of the hole, whichever is 
the  lower  elevation.   A minimum of  two  (2)  feet  of  compacted 
native  material  shall  be  placed  above  the  abandoned  well  upon 
completion.
                 14.7  Abandonment of Artesian Wells.  
                 14.7.1   A  neat  cement  grout,  sand-cement  grout,  or   
concrete plug shall be placed in the confining stratum overlying the 
artesian zone so as to prevent subsurface leakage from the artesian 
zone.  The remainder of the well shall be filled with sand-cement 
grout,  neat  cement  grout,  bentonite  abandonment  products,  or 
bentonite grout.  The uppermost ten (10) feet of the well shall be 
abandoned as required in Subsection R655-4-14(14.5.3).
                 14.8  Abandonment of Drilled and Jetted Wells.  
                 14.8.1  A neat cement grout or sand cement grout plug   
shall be placed opposite all perforations, screens or openings in the 
well casing. The remainder of the well shall be filled with cement 
grout,  neat cement,  bentonite abandonment products,  concrete, or 
bentonite  slurry.   The  uppermost  ten  feet  of  the  well  shall  be 
abandoned as required in Subsection R655-4-14(14.5.3).
                 14.9  Abandonment of Gravel Packed Wells.  
                 14.9.1  All gravel packed wells shall be pressure grouted   
throughout  the  perforated  or  screened  section  of  the  well.   The 
remainder of the well shall be filled with sand cement grout, neat 
cement grout, bentonite abandonment products, or bentonite grout. 
The uppermost ten feet of the well shall be abandoned as required in 
Subsection R655-4-14(14.5.3).
                 14.10  Removal of Casing.  
                 14.10.1   It  is  recommended  that  the  well  casing  be   
removed  during  well  abandonment,  and  when  doing  so,  the 
abandonment materials shall be placed from the bottom of the well  
or borehole progressively upward as the casing is removed.  The 
well  shall  be sealed with sand cement  grout,  neat  cement  grout, 
bentonite abandonment products, or bentonite grout.  In the case of 
gravel  packed  wells,  the  entire  gravel  section  shall  be  pressure 
grouted.  The uppermost ten feet of the well shall be abandoned as  
required in Subsection R655-4-14(14.5.3).
                 14.11  Replacement Wells.  

                 14.11.1  Wells which are to be removed from operation   
and  replaced  by  the  drilling  of  a  new well  under  an  approved 
replacement application, shall be abandoned in a manner consistent 
with the provisions of Section R655-4-14 before the rig is removed 
from the  site  of  the  newly constructed  replacement  well,  unless 
written  authorization  to  remove  the  rig  without  abandonment  is 
provided  by  the  state  engineer.   Also  refer  to  the  requirements 
provided in Subsection R655-4-4(4.4).
                 14.12  Abandonment of Cathodic Protection Wells.  
                 14.12.1   The  general  requirements  for  permanent  well   
abandonment  in  accordance  with  Section  R655-4-14  shall  be 
followed for the abandonment of cathodic protection wells.
                 14.12.2  A cathodic protection well shall be investigated   
before  it  is  destroyed  to  determine  its  condition,  details  of  its 
construction and whether  conditions exist  that will  interfere  with 
filling and sealing.
                 14.12.3   Casing,  cables,  anodes,  granular  backfill,   
conductive  backfill,  and  sealing  material  shall  be  removed  as 
needed,  by re-drilling,  if  necessary,  to the point needed to allow 
proper placement of abandonment material.  Casing that cannot be 
removed  shall  be  adequately  perforated  or  punctured  at  specific 
intervals  to  allow  pressure  injection  of  sealing  materials  into 
granular backfill and all other voids that require sealing.

R655-4-15.  Monitor Well Construction Standards.
                 15.1  Scope.  
                 15.1.1  Certain construction standards that apply to water   
wells also apply to monitor wells.  Therefore, these monitoring well  
standards refer frequently to the water well standard sections of the 
rules.  Standards that apply only to monitor wells, or that require 
emphasis,  are  discussed  in  this  section.   Figure  7  illustrates  a 
schematic  of  an  acceptable  monitor  well  with  an  above-ground 
surface  completion.   Figure  8  illustrates  a  schematic  of  an 
acceptable  monitor  well  with  a  flush-mount  surface  completion. 
Figures  7 and 8 can be viewed in the publication,  State of Utah 
Administrative Rules for Water Wells, most recent edition, available 
at the Division of Water Rights, 1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake 
City, Utah.
                 15.1.2  These standards are not intended as a complete   
manual  for  monitoring well  construction,  alteration,  maintenance, 
and  abandonment.   These  standards  serve  only  as  minimum 
statewide  guidelines  towards  ensuring that  monitor  wells  do  not 
constitute a significant pathway for the movement of poor quality 
water,  pollutants,  or  contaminants.   These  standards  provide  no 
assurance  that  a  monitor  well  will  perform  a  desired  function. 
Ultimate  responsibility  for  the  design  and  performance  of  a 
monitoring  well  rests  with  the  well  owner  and/or  the  owner's  
contractor,  and/or  technical  representative(s).   Most  monitor  well 
projects  are  the  result  of  compliance  with  the  Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA), Federal Regulations such as the Resource 
Conservation  and  Recovery  Act  (RCRA),  Comprehensive 
Environmental  Response,  Compensation  and  Liability  Act 
(CERCLA or "Superfund"), or specific State Solid and Hazardous 
Waste requirements.  The contracts governing their installation are 
tightly written containing specific requirements as to site location, 
materials  used,  sampling  procedures  and  overall  objectives. 
Therefore  specific  construction  requirements  for  monitor  well 
installation  shall  be  governed  by  applicable  contracts  and 
regulations providing they meet or exceed state requirements and 
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specifications.  Guidelines and recommended practices dealing with 
the installation of  monitor  wells  may be obtained from the state 
engineer upon request.  Additional recommended information may 
be  obtained  from  the  Environmental  Protection  Agency  (EPA), 
Resource Conservation  and  Recovery Act  (RCRA),  Groundwater 
Monitoring Enforcement and Compliance Document available from 
EPA's regional office in Denver, Colorado and from the Handbook 
of  Suggested  Practices  for  the  Design  and  Installation  of 
Groundwater  Monitoring  Wells,  available  from  the  National 
Groundwater Association in Dublin, Ohio.
                 15.2  Installation and Construction.  
                 15.2.1  Materials and Equipment Contaminant-Free.  All   
material  used  in  the  installation  of  monitor  wells  shall  be 
contaminant-free when placed in the ground.  Drilling equipment 
shall be clean and contaminant free in accordance with Subsection 
R655-4-11(11.6.4).  During construction contaminated water should 
not  be  allowed  to  enter  contaminant-free  geologic  formations  or 
water bearing zones.
                 15.2.2   Borehole  Integrity.   Some  minor  cross-  
contamination  may  occur  during  the  drilling  process,  but  the 
integrity of the borehole  and individual  formations must  then be 
safeguarded from permanent cross connection.
                 15.2.3  Casing and Screen.   The well  casing should be   
perforated or screened and filter packed with sand or gravel where 
necessary to  provide adequate  sample collection at  depths where 
appropriate  aquifer  flow  zones  exist.   The  casing  and  screen 
selected shall  not  affect  or  interfere  with the chemical,  physical, 
radiological, or biological constituents of interest.   Screens in the 
same well shall not be placed across separate water bearing zones in  
order to minimize interconnection, aquifer commingling, and cross 
contamination.  Screens in a nested well can be placed in separate  
water  bearing  zones  as  long  as  the  intervals  between  the  water 
bearing zones are appropriately sealed and aquifer cross connection 
and commingling does not occur.  Monitor well casing and screen 
shall conform to ASTM standards, or consist of at least 304 or 316 
stainless steel, PTFE (Teflon), or Schedule 40 PVC casing.
                 15.2.4  Gravel/Filter Pack.  If installed, the gravel or filter   
pack should generally extend two (2) feet to ten (10) feet  above 
screened or perforated areas to prevent the migration of the sealing 
material  from entering the zones being sampled.  Gravel or filter 
pack material  shall  meet the requirements of Subsection R655-4-
11(11.5.2).  Gravel/filter pack for monitoring wells does not require 
disinfection.   Drill  cutting  should  not  be  placed  into  the  open 
borehole  annulus.   The well  driller  shall  ensure that  a  bridge  or 
voids do not occur in the annular space during the placement of the 
gravel pack by means of a sounding device or other mechanism.
                 15.2.5  Annular Seal.  All monitor wells constructed shall   
have  a  continuous  surface  seal,  which  seals  the  annular  space 
between the borehole and the permanent casing, in accordance with 
the  provisions  in  Section  R655-4-11.   The  surface  seal  depth 
requirements of Section R655-4-11 do not apply to monitor wells. 
The surface seal may be more or less than 50 feet depending on the 
screen/perforation and/or gravel pack interval.  Seals shall also be 
constructed to prevent interconnection and commingling of separate 
aquifers penetrated by the well, prevent migration of surface water 
and contaminations into the well  and aquifers,  and shall  provide 
casing stability.  The seal shall have a minimum diameter of four 
inches larger than the nominal size of the permanent casing,  and 
shall extend from land surface to the top of the filter pack.  After the 

permanent  casing and filter  pack (optional) has been set  in final  
position, a layer of bentonite or fine sand (e.g., mortar sand) shall be 
placed on top of the filter pack to maintain separation between the 
seal material and the screened interval in order to insure that the 
seal placement will not interfere with the filter pack.  The remaining 
annular  space  shall  be  filled  to  land  surface  in  a  continuous 
operation  with  unhydrated  bentonite,  neat  cement  grout,  sand-
cement  grout,  or  bentonite grout.   Only potable  water  should be 
used to hydrate any grout or slurry mixture.  The completed annular 
space  shall  fully  surround  the  permanent  casing,  be  evenly 
distributed, free of voids, and extend from the permanent casing to 
undisturbed  or  recompacted  soil.   All  sealing  materials  and 
placement methods shall conform to the standards in Section R655-
4-2 and Subsection R655-4-11(11.4).  The well driller shall ensure 
that a bridge or voids do not occur in the annular space during the 
placement of the seal.
                 15.2.6  Cuttings, Decon Water, Development Water, and   
Other IDW. Drill cuttings, decontamination (Decon) water, monitor 
well  development  water,  and  other  investigation  derived  waste 
(IDW)  shall  be  managed  and  disposed  of  in  accordance  with 
applicable  state  and  federal  environmental  regulations.   It  is  the 
responsibility  of  the  driller  to  know  and  understand  such 
requirements.
                 15.3  Minimum Surface Protection Requirements.  
                 15.3.1  If a well is cased with metal and completed above   
ground surface, a locking water resistant cap shall be installed on 
the top of the well.
                 15.3.2  If the well is not cased with metal and completed   
above ground surface, a protective metal casing shall be installed 
over and around the well.  The protective casing shall be cemented 
at least two feet into the ground around the nonmetallic casing.  A 
water tight cap shall be installed in the top of the well casing.  A 
locking cap shall be installed on the top of the protective casing.
                 15.3.3   Monitor  wells  completed  above  ground  and   
potentially accessible to vehicular damage shall be protected in the 
following manner.  At least three metal posts, at least three inches in 
diameter, shall be cemented in place around the casing.  Each post 
shall extend at  least  three feet above and two feet below ground 
surface.  A concrete pad may be installed to add protection to the 
surface completion.  If installed, the concrete pad shall be at least 
four (4) inches thick and shall slope to drain away from the well 
casing.  The base shall extend at least two (2) feet laterally in all  
directions from the outside of the well boring.  When a concrete pad 
is used, the well seal may be part of the concrete pad.
                 15.3.4   If  the  well  is  completed  below land  surface,  a   
water tight cap with a lock shall be attached to the top of the well  
casing.  A metal monument or equivalent shall be installed over and 
around the well.  The monument shall serve as a protective cover 
and be installed level with the land surface and be equipped with a 
waterproof  seal  to  prevent  inflow of  any water  or  contaminants. 
Drains will  be provided,  when feasible,  to keep water out of the 
well and below the well cap.  The monument and cover must be 
designed to withstand the maximum expected load.
                 15.4  Abandonment.  
                 15.4.1  Abandonment of monitor wells shall be completed   
in  compliance  with  the  provisions  of  Section  R655-4-14.   The 
provisions of Section R655-4-14 are not required for the permanent 
abandonment  of  monitor  wells  completed  at  a  depth  of  30  feet 
below natural ground surface.
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R655-4-16.  Pump Installation and Repair.
                 16.1  Pump installation practices.  All pump installations   
shall  be  completed  in  such  a  manner  as  to  prevent  waste  and 
contamination  of  groundwater  by pollution  material  entering  the 
well from pumping equipment, casing connectors, fittings, piping, 
sanitary seals or caps.
                 16.2  Surface Seal.  If in the process of pump installation   
or repair, the well's surface seal is disturbed or damaged, it shall be 
repaired and resealed in accordance with the standards provided in 
Subsection R655-4-11(11.4).
                 16.3  Tools, Equipment, and Materials.  Down-hole tools   
and equipment used in performance of pump installation and repair 
shall  be  cleaned,  disinfected,  and  free  of  contamination  prior  to 
placement in a well.   All  tools,  drilling equipment, and materials 
used to drill a well shall be free of contaminants prior to beginning 
pump-related work.  Contaminants include lubricants, fuel, bacteria, 
etc. that will reduce the well efficiency, and any other item(s) that  
will be harmful to public health and/or the resource or reduce the 
life  of the water well.   It  is  recommended that excess  lubricants 
placed on equipment be wiped clean prior to insertion into the well.  
Thread Compounds, Sealants, and Lubricants must not exceed the 
maximum contaminant levels for chemicals, taste, and odor.  The 
licensee shall use pump-related tools and equipment properly so as 
not to permanently damage the well or aquifer.
                 16.4   Disinfection.   Following  completion  of  pump   
installation and repair work on a well, the well, pump, and in-well  
discharge piping shall be properly disinfected in accordance with 
Subsection R655-4-11(11.6.5).
                 16.5.   Product,  material,  and  Process  Standards.   Any   
product,  material  or  procedure  designed  for  use  related to  pump 
installation and repair of water production or non-production wells, 
which has received certification and approval for its intended use by 
the  National  Sanitation  Foundation  (NSF)  under  ANSI/NSF 
Standard  60  or  61,  the  American  Society  for  Testing  Materials 
(ASTM), the American Water Works Association (AWWA) or the 
American  National  Standards  Institute  (ANSI)  may  be  utilized. 
Other  products,  materials  or  procedures  may also be utilized for 
their  intended purpose upon manufacturers  certification  that  they 
meet  or  exceed  the standards  or  certifications  referred to  in  this  
section and upon state engineer approval.  Organic substances shall  
not be introduced into the well or borehole during pump installation 
and repair work.
                 16.6  Surface Completions.  Pump installers shall  leave   
the  well  surface  completion  upon  completion  of  pump 
installation/repair  work  in  accordance  with  the  standards  in 
Subsection R655-4-11 as it pertains to casing stick up, steel/PVC 
casing  extensions,  sanitary  capping  and  venting,  and  protective 
casings.   Upon  completion,  all  wells  shall  be  equipped  with  a 
watertight, tamper-resistant casing cap or sanitary seal.
                 16.7   Flowing  Artesian  Wells.   In  accordance  with   
Subsection R655-4-11(11.4.3.5, artesian wells that flow naturally at 
the surface, the well shall be equipped with a control valve so that 
the flow can be completely stopped.   The control valve must  be 
available for inspection by the state engineer at all times.
                 16.8  Seals Between Casings.  If the well is constructed of   
multiple casing strings at or near the ground surface and if a pitless  
adapter/unit  is  installed,  the  standards  of  Subsection  R655-4-
11(11.5.5)  shall  be  employed  to  ensure  proper  sealing  between 
casings is maintained.

                 16.9   Water  Level  and  Flow Measurement.   Following   
pump installation and repair work, the well shall be left in such a 
manner  to  allow  for  access  to  water  level  measurements  in 
accordance  with  R655-4-11(11.7.2).   After  pump installation and 
repair work is completed on a well, the static water level should be 
measured after which a test should be performed to determine the 
rate at which groundwater can be reliably produced from the well. 
Pumping water level should be measured and recorded during this 
test.  Static water level and well testing information shall be noted  
on the official submittal of the Pump Log by the pump installer or 
well driller.
                 16.10  Surface Security.  If it becomes necessary for the   
pump installer to temporarily discontinue operation on a well before 
completion or otherwise leave the well unattended, the well must be 
covered securely to prevent contaminants from entering the casing 
and rendered secure against  entry by children,  vandals,  domestic 
animals, and wildlife.
                 16.11   Above-grade  connections.  An  above-grade   
connection into the top or side of a well  casing shall  be at  least 
eighteen  inches  (18")  above  the  land  surface  and  shall  be 
constructed so as to exclude dirt or other foreign matter by at least  
one of the following methods, as may be applicable:
                 (A) Threaded connection;  
                 (B) Welded connection;  
                 (C) Expansion sealer;  
                 (D) Bolted flanges with rubber gaskets;  
                 (E) Overlapping well cap; or  
                 (F)  If  a  water  well  pump  is  mounted  or  sealed  on  a   
concrete pedestal, the casing shall extend at least to the top of the 
pedestal and at least eighteen inches (18") above the land surface.
                 16.12 Pitless Connections. Pitless adapters and units shall   
be installed in accordance with the standards set forth in Subsection 
R655-4-11(11.7.5).   Pitless  adapters  shall  be  installed  below the 
frost  line.  A below-ground connection shall  not be submerged in 
water at the time of installation.  Holes cut in the casing through 
which  the  pitless  adapters  are  installed  must  be  sized  and 
constructed  so  as  to  guarantee  a  watertight  seal  with  the  pitless 
adapter in place.
                 16.13  Backflow Protection.  When a check valve or foot   
valve  is  not  a  part  of  the  pump,  a  check  valve  or  back-siphon 
prevention  device  shall  be  installed  on  the  pump discharge  line 
within the well or beyond the well to eliminate the opportunity for 
contaminated water to backflush into the well.  Such device must be 
designed to direct or isolate the water flow to prevent water in the 
distribution line from running back down the well during removal 
or repair to the pump and pumping equipment.  When a flow meter 
is installed on a well the meter must be located downstream from 
the  backflow  preventer  and  be  placed  in  accordance  with 
manufacturer spacing specifications.
                 16.14  Hand Pumps.  Hand pumps shall  be of the force   
type equipped with a packing gland around the pump rod, a delivery 
spout which is closed and downward directed, and a one-piece bell-
type base which is part of the pump stand or is attached to the pump 
column in a watertight manner. The bell base of the pump shall be 
bolted with a gasket to a flange which is securely attached to the 
casing or pipe sleeve.
                 16.15  Pumping Water Level.  In a screened or perforated   
well, the well pump setting and suction inlet shall be located so that 
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the pumping level of the water cannot be drawn below the top of the 
screen.
                 16.16  Pump and Column/Drop Pipe Removal.   During   
any repair or installation of a water well pump, the licensed installer 
shall make a reasonable effort to maintain the integrity of ground 
water and to prevent contamination by elevating the pump column 
and fittings, or by other means suitable under the circumstances.

KEY:  water wells, pump installer, well drillers license
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2011
Notice of Continuation:  October 13, 2009
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  73-3

34441

Regents (Board of), Administration
R765-608

Utah Engineering and Computer 
Science Loan Forgiveness Program

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34441
FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  Changes to this program by the state legislature 
require  this  amendment to the rule.   The 2009 Utah State 
Legislature General Session passed a bill (S.B. 105) which 
changed  the  Engineering  and  Computer  Science  Loan 
Forgiveness  Program  to  a  scholarship  program.   All 
references within the rule to loan forgiveness were affected. 
(DAR NOTE:  S.B. 105 (2009) is found at Chapter 210, Laws 
of Utah 2009, and was effective 05/12/2009.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Change is needed 
to the title and content of this rule to eliminate references to 
loan  forgiveness  and  to  reflect  scholarship  information  for 
Utah  higher  education  students  majoring  in  engineering, 
computer science, and related technology degree programs 
at Utah System of Higher Education campuses.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 53B-6-105.7

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE  BUDGET:   This  rule  change  is  required  to 
conform with established state budgets and as such does not 
present additional cost or savings to state budgets.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   There  is  no  affect  to  local 
governments  or  their  budgets  as  a  result  of  these  rule 
changes  because  this  rule  only  applies  to  a  scholarship 
program for college and university students.  No services nor 

involvement  by local  government  is  required,  nor  will  it  be 
requested.  Local governments will not be solicited for funds 
to  provide  the  possible  scholarship  awards  to  potential 
recipients.   There  will  be  no  direct  savings  to  local 
government  budgets  either  as  the  recipients  of  any 
scholarship monies will be using that money to pay for tuition 
at a public institution.  Therefore, there will be no costs nor 
savings for any local government entity.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There is no affect nor connection to 
any small business as a result of this rule and these proposed 
changes.   Since  this  rule  pertains  to  a  state-sponsored 
scholarship  program  no  small  businesses  will  asked  to 
donate to any scholarship fund.  Thus, there will be no costs 
to small businesses.  There will be no direct savings to small 
business budgets either as the recipients of any scholarship 
monies will be using that money to pay for tuition at a public 
institution.   It  is  possible  that  a  future  recipient  of  this 
scholarship  could  be  hired  by  a  Utah  small  business  and 
become a valued asset to that company.  Such possibilities 
could then prove very beneficial to the bottom line budget of a 
small business and not a disadvantage (cost) to the business. 
However,  this  rule  change  does  not  directly  affect  those 
issues.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The result of the changes to this rule may provide funds to 
individuals for up-front tuition payments eliminating possible 
needs to borrow money for tuition for such individuals.  Funds 
are  disbursed  by  the  separate  institutions  to  qualifying 
students.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
people  affected  by  this  rule  will  not  have  any  compliance 
costs because there is no charge to apply for the engineering 
and computer  science scholarship.   Instead of  any cost  to 
affected persons there is a benefit  of  a reduction in tuition 
expenses at the associated public college or university where 
the  scholarship  will  be  utilized.   This  rule  requires  no 
associated costs for compliance due to the nature of tuition 
scholarships  and  those  individuals  who  receive  them  and 
those who do not.  Scholarships are a gift and benefit.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This rule enables the intent of Section 53B-6-105.7 to provide 
incentive for individuals who receive training in the fields of 
engineering,  computer science, and related technologies to 
remain in Utah after graduation from a degree program and 
utilize  their  education  to  advance  the  intellectual  and 
economic welfare of the state.  The fiscal impact to potential 
employers of such graduates and related businesses would 
thus be positive.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

REGENTS (BOARD OF)
ADMINISTRATION
BOARD OF REGENTS BUILDING, THE GATEWAY
60 SOUTH 400 WEST
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SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84101-1284
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Ronell Crossley by phone at 801-321-7291, by FAX at 801-
321-7299, or by Internet E-mail at rcrossley@utahsbr.edu

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/08/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  William Sederburg, Commissioner

R765.  Regents (Board of), Administration.
R765-608.   Utah  Engineering  and  Computer  Science  [Loan 
Forgiveness]Scholarship Program.
R765-608-1.  Purpose.
 To provide [Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority 
("UHEAA")  ]policy  and  procedures  for 
[implementing]administering the Utah Engineering and Computer 
Science  [Loan  Forgiveness  ]Program  ("[UECLP]UECSP"  or 
"program")[, UCA 53B-6, Section 105.7, enacted in S.B. 61 by the 
2001 General Session of the Utah Legislature].

R765-608-2.  References.
 2.1.   Utah  Code.  Title  53B,  [Utah  System  of  Higher 
Education,  ]Chapter  6,  Section  105.7[.],  Initiative  student 
scholarship program.
 2.2.  State Board of Regents Policy [R610]R601, Board of 
Directors of the Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority.
                 2.3   State  Board  of  Regents  Policy  R608,  Utah   
Engineering and Computer Science Scholarship Program.

R765-608-3.  Effective Date.
These policies and procedures are effective September 1, 

2001.

R765-608-4.  Definitions.
                 4.1.  Eligible Student - A student who is enrolled on at   
least a half-time basis in a Qualifying Institution in a Qualifying 
Program, in good standing, and maintaining satisfactory academic 
progress as defined by the institution.
                 4.2.  Qualifying Institution - A college or university of the   
Utah  System of  Higher  Education  (USHE)  which  offers  one  or 
more Qualifying Programs.
                 4.3.   Qualifying  Program  -  An  accredited  engineering,   
computer  science,  or related technology degree program.  Related 
technology degree programs shall be limited to those certified by 
the Commissioner  of Higher  Education,  in accordance with such 
criteria as may be established pursuant to UCA 53B-6-105.
                 4.4.  Recipient - A person who declares intent to complete   
a qualifying program and who receives a scholarship award.
                 4.5.   Technology  Initiative  Advisory  Board  -  or  the   
Advisory Board is the committee whose members are appointed by 
the  heads  of  all  three  branches  of  government;  the  majority  of 
members are appointed by the governor.

                 4.6.  USHE - the Utah System of Higher Education, which   
includes the University of Utah, Utah State University, Weber State 
University, Utah Valley University, Southern Utah University, Dixie 
State College, Snow College, College of Eastern Utah, Salt Lake 
Community College.

R765-608-[4]5.  Policy.
 [4]5.1.   Program  Description  -  [UECLP]UECSP is  a 
[student loan forgiveness ]program authorized as part of the higher 
education Engineering and Computer Science Initiative established 
with an effective date of July 1, 2001. UCA 53B-6-105.7 provides 
for establishment of the program "to recruit and train engineering, 
computer  science,  and  related  technology  students  to  assist  in 
providing for and advancing the intellectual and economic welfare 
of the state," and authorizes the State Board of Regents to provide 
by rule for  the overall  administration of the program[, consistent 
with the general  student  loan provisions in  Title  53B and policy 
guidelines contained in the Section].
 [4]5.2.  Program Administration - [The Board of Regents 
has delegated to the UHEAA Board of Directors the authority to 
govern UECLP on behalf of the Board of Regents. The program is 
administered by the Associate Commissioner for Student Financial 
Aid  as  Executive  Director  of  UHEAA,  reporting  to  the 
Commissioner  of  Higher  Education.]Staff  to  the  Regents  will 
administer  the  program  including  funding  distribution.  The 
Technology  Initiative  Advisory  Board  assists  and  makes 
recommendations to the State Board of Regents.
 [4]5.3.  Program Design - [The program utilizes UHEAA-
guaranteed  Federal  Family  Education  Loan  Program  (FFELP) 
Stafford Student Loans and Federal Perkins Student Loans as the 
vehicle for providing UECLP loan forgiveness.  A students enrolled 
at  a  Qualifying  Institution  in  a  Qualifying  Program  applies  to 
UHEAA,  with  an  endorsement  from  the  dean  of  the  school  or 
college  in  which  enrolled,  for  a  Certificate  for  Student  Loan 
Forgiveness  which  guarantees  that  upon  completion  of  the 
requirements for loan forgiveness the Recipient will receive a direct  
credit for reduction of the outstanding principal balance(s) of the 
Recipient's  outstanding Stafford or Perkins Student Loan(s).  The 
student applies for and receives the Stafford and/or Perkins Student 
Loans  through  regular  application  and  award  procedures.   Upon 
completion  of  the  Qualifying  Program,  and  Qualifying 
Employment,  the  Recipient  submits  an  Application  for  Student 
Loan  Forgiveness  to  UHEAA,  UHEAA verifies  the  Recipient's 
qualification  and  the  loan  forgiveness  amount  for  which  the 
Recipient  qualifies,  and  promptly  processes  the  payment  of 
outstanding  principal  on  the  Recipient's  student  loan(s).   If  the 
remaining principal balance on the Recipient's student loans is less 
than  the  forgiveness  amount  for  which  the  Recipient  qualifies, 
UHEAA  will  pay  any  amount  above  the  outstanding  balance 
directly to the Recipient, up to the amount of Stafford or Perkins 
Student Loan principal actually borrowed by the Recipient while 
enrolled in the Qualifying Program.  The loan forgiveness amount 
for which the Recipient qualifies will include the amount of Tuition 
and Fees,  as  defined in  section 4.4.9,  which  is  applicable  to  the 
academic  year  for  which  the  Application  for  Student  Loan 
Forgiveness is submitted,  plus the portion of the Recipient's  loan 
interest accrued or paid which is applicable to the principal amount 
to  be  paid  on  the  Recipient's  behalf.]The  Technology  Initiative 
Advisory Board shall  make  recommendations by June 1 of each 
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year to the State Board of Regents on the allocation and distribution 
of monies from the program fund.  These funds are to be used for 
degree programs in the areas of engineering, computer science, and 
related technology programs.  The distribution of these funds to the 
institutions is based on a formula which shall be developed by the 
Technology Initiative Advisory Board based on several components:
                 5.3.1  the number of graduates from the previous year,  
                 5.3.2  the number and level of degrees offered, and  
                 5.3.3  the program length of the degree offered at  each   
institution.
                 5.4   Recipients'  Post-Graduation  Employment.  It  is  the   
intent  of the program that  recipients  of the UECSP funding will 
work in the state of Utah, in a field requiring the use of their degree,  
after graduating from a qualifying program.
                 5.5  Cancellation Policy. A scholarship may be cancelled   
at any time by the institution of attendance, if the student fails to 
make  reasonable  progress  towards  obtaining  the  degree  or  there 
appears to be a reasonable certainty that the student does not intend 
to work in the state upon graduation.
 [             4.4.  Definitions -
               4.4.1.  Qualifying Institution - A college or university of 
the Utah System of Higher Education (USHE) which offers one or 
more Qualifying Programs.
               4.4.2.  Qualifying Program - An accredited engineering, 
computer  science,  or  related  technology  baccalaureate  degree 
program.
               4.4.2.1.   Related  technology  baccalaureate  degree 
programs shall be limited to those certified by the Commissioner of 
Higher  Education,  in  accordance  with  such  criteria  as  may  be 
established pursuant to UCA 53B-6-105.7.
               4.4.3.  Eligible Student - A student who is enrolled on at 
least a half-time basis in a Qualifying Institution in a Qualifying 
Program, in good standing, and maintaining satisfactory academic 
progress as defined by the institution.
               4.4.4.  Recipient - A person who applies for and receives a 
UECLP Certificate for Student Loan Forgiveness from UHEAA.
               4.4.5.   Certificate  for  Student  Loan  Forgiveness  -  A 
certificate  issued  by  UHEAA  to  an  Eligible  Student,  which 
guarantees forgiveness of student loan principal plus related loan 
interest paid by the Recipient, up to the amount of Tuition and Fees 
paid for a specified number of years of enrollment in a Qualifying 
Program  for  up  to  a  specified  number  of  years  of  Qualifying 
Employment.
               4.4.6.  Stafford Student Loan - A FFELP Stafford student 
loan, either subsidized or unsubsidized, guaranteed by UHEAA.
               4.4.6.1.  A subsidized Stafford Student Loan is certified by 
the student's institution on the basis of financial need, and qualifies  
for payment of interest by the U.S. Secretary of Education on the 
student's behalf while the student is enrolled at least half-time and 
during  a  six-month  grace  period  after  the  student  graduates  or 
ceases to be enrolled at least half-time.
               4.4.6.2.   An  unsubsidized  Stafford  Student  Loan  is 
certified by the student's institution either as needed in addition to 
the  full  subsidized  loan  amount,  or  for  a  student  who  does  not 
qualify  on  the  basis  of  financial  need.  The  recipient  of  an 
unsubsidized Stafford Student Loan is responsible for payment of 
interest accruing from the date of disbursement of the loan, but may 
choose to have the interest deferred until the loan enters repayment 
(at  the  end  of  the  grace  period),  at  which  time  the  interest  is 

capitalized and added to the outstanding principal. The interest on 
an unsubsidized Stafford Student Loan is at the same favorable rates 
as  determined  annually  according  to  statute  for  a  subsidized 
Stafford Student Loan.
               4.4.6.3.  A student is required to file a Free Application for 
Federal  Student  Aid (FAFSA) to  establish eligibility for  either  a 
subsidized or an unsubsidized Stafford Student Loan, but is entitled 
without  limitation  to  receive  the  loan,  up  to  statutorily-specified 
loan amounts, if eligible.
               4.4.7.  Perkins Student Loan - A Federal Perkins student 
loan  awarded  by the  student's  institution.  Availability  of  Perkins 
Student Loans is limited, based on available funds, but a Perkins 
Student  Loan  may  carry  a  more  favorable  interest  rate  than  a 
Stafford Student Loan. Interest is not charged on a Perkins Student 
Loan while the borrower is enrolled at least half time and during the 
applicable  grace  period thereafter.  A student  is  required to  file  a 
FAFSA to establish eligibility for a Perkins Student Loan, but might 
not receive the loan even if eligible, due to limited availability.
               4.4.8.   Year  of  Qualifying  Employment  -  Full-time 
employment within Utah, for a full 12-month period, in a position 
requiring the baccalaureate degree, in engineering or in the field of 
computer  science  or  in  a  related  technology  field.  Provided, 
however, that, if a Recipient's Qualifying Employment is as a public 
school teacher or USHE faculty member, the annual school year or 
academic year contract length shall qualify as a Year of Qualifying 
Employment.
               4.4.8.1.  For purposes of this definition, employment in 
the  fields  of  engineering  or  computer  science  or  in  a  related 
technology field must reasonably be demonstrated to utilize skills 
and knowledge required for an applicable Qualifying Program.
               4.4.9.   Tuition  and  Fees  -  Tuition  and  general  fees 
applicable to the Qualifying Program, for the institution in which 
the recipient is enrolled, for a full-time-equivalent (FTE) student, as 
defined in annual tuition and fee schedules approved by the State 
Board of Regents.
               4.5.   Application  for  a  Certificate  for  Student  Loan 
Forgiveness - An Eligible Student may apply for a Certificate for  
Student Loan Forgiveness at any time during an academic year in  
which enrolled in a Qualifying Program. The application may be for 
the year in which currently enrolled and subsequent years, except 
that  it  may not  include  years  prior  to  the  academic  year  during 
which the application is submitted and the total  number of years 
covered by the application may not exceed five.
               4.5.1  The application shall include a declaration of intent 
to  complete  the  Qualified  Program  in  which  enrolled,  or  an 
equivalent  Qualifying  Program,  and  to  work  within  Utah  in 
Qualifying Employment for a period of four years after graduation.
               4.6.   Application  for  Student  Loan  Forgiveness  -  A 
Recipient may apply for forgiveness of the amount of one year of 
Tuition and Fees paid, as a reduction in outstanding loan principal  
or as a direct payment as provided for in 4.3, after each completed 
Year of Qualifying Employment covered by the Certificate for Loan 
Forgiveness, subject to the following limitation:
               4.6.1.  The Certificate for Student Loan Forgiveness shall 
provide that its guarantee, and the Recipient's eligibility to submit 
an Application for Student Loan Forgiveness, shall expire at the end 
of  the  72nd  month  (  six  years)  after  the  Recipient's  date  of 
graduation with the baccalaureate degree. Provided, however, that a 
period of full-time enrollment in a graduate degree program related 
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to the Recipient's Qualifying Program shall not be counted as part 
of  the  72  months  following  the  Recipient's  graduation  with  the 
baccalaureate degree.
               4.7.   Eligibility  for  UHEAA  Borrower  Benefits  - 
Regardless  of  whether  or  not  the  Recipient  qualifies  for  and 
receives  forgiveness  of  any  part  of  the  principal  on  a  Stafford 
Student  Loan,  the  Recipient  will  remain  eligible  for  all  
forbearances, deferments, and other statutory privileges under the 
FFELP, and also shall  remain eligible for all applicable principal 
reductions and interest  rate  reductions under  UHEAA's  borrower 
benefit  programs.  A Recipient  who  does  qualify for  and  receive 
forgiveness of principal on a Stafford Student Loan under UECLP 
also shall remain eligible for all applicable principal reductions and 
interest rate reductions under UHEAA's borrower benefit programs.
               4.8   Limited  Availability  and  Allocation  Principles  - 
Funding  for  UECLP  is  dependent  on  annual  legislative 
appropriations, and the ability to underwrite Certificates for Student 
Loan  Forgiveness  is  limited.  The  Program  Administrator  shall 
establish  an  application  and  award  calendar  annually  after  the 
amount available for new awards is determined. Selection criteria 
established as part  of the annual calendar shall  include an initial  
tentative allocation by Qualifying Institutions proportionate to the 
number of engineering and computer science baccalaureate degrees 
awarded by each institution in the most recent academic year for 
which information is available, except that a minimum amount of 
$10,000 or five percent of the amount available, whichever is the 
lesser,  shall  be  established  for  each  Qualifying  Institution.  The 
President of each Qualifying Institution electing to participate in the 
program shall designate an individual to administer the program for 
the institution,  and an alternate to administer  the program in the 
absence  of  the  designated  administrator.  Each  institution  shall 
establish criteria for the selection of nominees each academic year,  
in  priority  order  from  persons  submitting  an  Application  for 
Certificate  for  Student  Loan  forgiveness,  and  provision  for  an 
independent internal appeal of adverse decisions by the institution's 
program administrator. The institution's program administrator shall 
submit  a  copy of  its  selection  criteria  and  appeal  procedure  for 
acceptance  by UHEAA.  Selection  of  Recipients  from applicants 
certified  by  a  Qualifying  Institution  shall  take  into  account  the 
priority order of nominations from the institution, the institution's 
allocation for awards from available funds, and reasonable actuarial 
projections  regarding  the  percentage  of  recipients  of  certificates 
who  will  qualify for  and  receive  the  payments  of  principal  and 
interest guaranteed by certificates awarded. ]

R765-608-6.  Funds.
                 6.1.   Distribution  of  Funds.  Scholarship  funds  will  be   
distributed  annually  to  the  institutions  for  disbursement  to  the 
awarded students.
                 6.2.  Reporting of Funds.  Institutions will report annually   
on  the  performance  of  the  funds  at  the  fiscal  year's  end.  These 
reporting  measures  may  include,  but  are  not  limited  to  the 
following:
                 6.2.1.  the number of awards given,  
                 6.2.2.  the amount of the award,  
                 6.2.3.  the recipients' completion of course work,  
                 6.2.4.  the recipients' anticipated graduation date, and  
                 6.2.5.  the program in which the recipient is enrolled.  

KEY:  higher education, [student loans]scholarships
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
15, 2002]2011
Notice of Continuation:  July 13, 2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-6

34444

Workforce Services, Employment 
Development

R986-100-122
Advance Notice of Department Action

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  34444
FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of  this amendment is to allow for 
electronic notices.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Department 
will  now allow public assistance clients to receive notice of 
Department decisions electronically.  The client will  need to 
"opt in" to the electronic notice system and retrieve notices 
from a web site which is secure and can only be accessed by 
the  client.   This  will  save  time  and  money  and  improve 
communications between the Department and our clients.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 35A-1-104 and Section 35A-1-303 and 
Subsection 35A-1-104(4)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This applies primarily to federally-
funded programs so there are no costs or savings to the state 
budget.  There may be a small savings to the state budget 
seen by fewer postage costs.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   This  is  a  federally-funded 
program  so  there  are  no  costs  or  savings  to  the  local 
government.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   There  will  be  no  costs  to  small 
businesses to comply with these changes because this is a 
federally-funded program.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There  will  be  no  costs  to  any other  persons  or  entities  to 
comply with  these changes because there are no costs or 
fees associated with these proposed changes.
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no compliance costs associated with these changes for 
any persons because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no fees or costs associated with these proposed 
changes.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There are no compliance costs associated with this change. 
There are no fees associated with this change. There will be 
no cost to anyone to comply with these changes. There will 
be no fiscal impact on any business.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

WORKFORCE SERVICES
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT
140 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2333
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Suzan Pixton by phone at 801-526-9645, by FAX at 801-
526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at spixton@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Kristen Cox, Executive Director

R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development.
R986-100.  Employment Support Programs.
R986-100-122.  Advance Notice of Department Action.

(1)   Except  as  provided  in  (2)  below,  clients  will  be 
notified in writing when a decision concerning eligibility, amount of 
assistance payment or action on the part of the Department which 
affects the client's eligibility or amount of assistance has been made. 
Notice will be sent prior to the effective date of any action to reduce 
or  terminate  assistance  payments.   The  Department  will  send 
advance notice of its intent to collect overpayments or to disqualify 
a household member.

(2)   Except  for  overpayments,  advance  notice  is  not 
required when:

(a)  the client requests in writing that the case be closed;
(b)  the client has been admitted to an institution under 

governmental administrative supervision;
(c)   the  client  has  been  placed  in  skilled  nursing  care, 

intermediate care, or long-term hospitalization;
(d)  the client's whereabouts are unknown and mail sent to 

the client has been returned by the post office with no forwarding 
address;

(e)  it has been determined the client is receiving public 
assistance in another state;

(f)  a child in the household has been removed from the 
home by court order or by voluntary relinquishment;

(g)  a special allowance provided for a specific period is 
ended  and  the  client  was  informed  in  writing  at  the  time  the 
allowance began that it would terminate at the end of the specified 
period;

(h)  a household member has been disqualified for an IPV 
in accordance with 7 CFR 273.16, or the benefits of the remaining 
household  members  are  reduced  or  terminated  to  reflect  the 
disqualification of that household member;

(i)   the  Department  has  received  factual  information 
confirming the death of a client or payee if there is no other relative 
able to serve as a new payee;

(j)  the client's certification period has expired;
(k)   the  action  to  terminate  assistance  is  based  on  the 

expiration of the time limits imposed by the program;
(l)  the client has provided information to the Department, 

or the Department has information obtained from another reliable 
source,  that  the  client  is  not  eligible  or  that  payment  should  be 
reduced or terminated;

(m)  the Department determines that the client willfully 
withheld information or;

(n)  when payment of financial assistance is made after 
performance under  R986-200-215 and R986-400-454 no advance 
notice is needed when performance requirements are not met.

(3)  For food stamp recipients and recipients of assistance 
under R986-300, no action will be taken until ten days after notice 
was sent unless one of the exceptions in (2)(a) through (k) above 
apply.
 (4)  Notice is complete if sent to the client's last known 
address.  If notice is sent to the client's last known address and the 
notice  is  returned  by  the  post  office or  electronically with  no 
forwarding  address,  the  notice  will  be  considered  to  have  been 
properly  served.  If  a  client  elects  to  receive  correspondence 
electronically,  notice  is  complete  when  sent  to  the  client's  last 
known  email  address  and/or  posted  to  the  client's  Department 
sponsored web page.

KEY:  employment support procedures
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [June 14, 
2007]2011
Notice of Continuation:  September 8, 2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-101 
et seq.; 35A-3-301 et seq.; 35A-3-401 et seq.

34445

Workforce Services, Unemployment 
Insurance
R994-508

Appeal Procedures
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  34445

FILED:  02/15/2011
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RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this amendment is to clarify the 
procedure for requesting an in-person hearing.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The vast majority 
of our hearings are conducted telephonically.  The division will 
grant in-person hearings if necessary to ensure due process. 
This rule is intended to clarify the grounds under which an in-
person hearing will be held.  The Department limits in-person 
hearings for security and fairness reasons.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS  RULE:   Section  35A-1-104  and  Subsection  35A-1-
104(4) and Subsection 35A-4-502(1)(b)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This is a federally-funded program 
so there are no costs or savings to the state budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   This  is  a  federally-funded 
program  so  there  are  no  costs  of  savings  to  local 
government.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There are no costs or savings to 
any small business as there are no fees associated with this 
program and it is federally funded.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There are no costs or savings to any other persons as there 
are no fees associated with this program and it is federally 
funded.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no costs or savings to any affected persons as there are 
no  fees  associated  with  this  program  and  it  is  federally 
funded.   These  changes  will  not  impact  any  employer's 
contribution rate.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There are no compliance costs associated with this change. 
There are no fees associated with this change.  There will be 
no cost to anyone to comply with these changes.  There will 
be no  fiscal  impact  on  any business.   These changes  will 
have no impact on any employers contribution tax rate.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

WORKFORCE SERVICES
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
140 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2333
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Suzan Pixton by phone at 801-526-9645, by FAX at 801-
526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at spixton@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/31/2011

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/07/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Kristen Cox, Executive Director

R994.  Workforce Services, Unemployment Insurance.
R994-508.  Appeal Procedures.
R994-508-106.  Notice of the Hearing.

(1)  All interested parties will be notified by mail, at least 
seven days prior to the hearing, of:

(a)  the time and place of the hearing;
(b)  the right to be represented at the hearing;

[              (c)  the right to request an in-person hearing;
] ([d]c)  the legal issues to be considered at the hearing;
 ([e]d)  the procedure for submitting written documents;
 ([f]e)  the consequences of not participating;
 ([g]f)   the  procedures  and  limitations  for  requesting  a 
continuance or rescheduling; and
 ([h]g)  the procedure for requesting an interpreter for the 
hearing, if necessary.

(2)  When a new issue arises during the hearing, advance 
written notice may be waived by the parties after a full explanation 
by the ALJ of the issues and potential consequences.

(3)  It is the responsibility of a party to notify and make 
arrangements  for  the  participation  of  the  party's  representative 
and/or witnesses, if any.

(4)   If  a  party has  designated  a  person or  professional 
organization as its agent, notice will be sent to the agent which will  
satisfy the requirement to give notice to the party.

R994-508-110.  Telephone Hearings.
(1)   Hearings  are  [usually  ]scheduled  as  telephonic 

hearings.   Every  party  wishing  to  participate  in  the  telephone 
hearing must call the Appeals Unit before the hearing and provide a 
telephone number where the party can be reached at the time of the 
hearing.  If the party that filed the appeal fails to call in advance as 
required by the notice of hearing, the appeal will be dismissed and 
an order of default will be issued.

(2)  If a party [prefers]requires an in-person hearing, the 
party  must  contact  [the]an ALJ  [assigned  to  hear  the  case  ]and 
request that the hearing be scheduled as an in-person hearing.  The 
request should be made sufficiently in advance of the hearing so 
that all other parties may be given notice of the change in hearing 
type and the opportunity to appear in person also.  Requests will 
only be granted if the party can show that an in-person hearing is 
necessary to accommodate a special need or if the ALJ deems an in-
person hearing is necessary to ensure an orderly and fair  hearing 
which  meets  due  process  requirements.   If  the  ALJ  grants  the 
request,  all  parties  will  be  informed  that  the  hearing  will  be 
conducted in person.   Even if the hearing is scheduled as an in-
person hearing, a party may elect to participate by telephone.  In-
person hearings are held in the office of the Appeals Unit unless the
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ALJ  determines  that  another  location  is  more  appropriate.   The 
Department  is  not  responsible  for  any  travel  costs  incurred  by 
attending an in-person hearing.

(3)   The  Appeals  Unit  will  permit  collect  calls  from 
parties  and  their  witnesses  participating  in  telephone  hearings; 
however, professional representatives not at the physical location of 
their client must pay their own telephone charges.

KEY:  unemployment compensation, appellate procedures
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
15, 2008]2011
Notice of Continuation:  June 10, 2008
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law:   35A-4-
508(2); 35A-4-508(5); 35A-4-508(6); 35A-4-406; 35A-4-103

End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section
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NOTICES OF
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES

After an agency has published a  PROPOSED RULE in the  Utah State Bulletin, it  may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect. A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to 
respond to comments it receives.

As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS. This analysis provides summary 
information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of 
the rule, and legal cross-references.

While the law does not designate a comment period for a  CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period, and, at its option, may designate a  
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends March 31, 2011.

Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed. The text shows only those 
changes made since the  PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the  Utah State Bulletin. Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (e.g.,  example). Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding  them  (e.g.,  [example]).  A row  of  dots  in  the  text  between  paragraphs  (. . . . . . .)  indicates  that 
unaffected text, either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space. If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS. A copy of rules that are 
too long to print is available from the agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules.

From  the  end  of  the  30-day  waiting  period  through  June  29,  2011,  an  agency  may  notify  the  Division  of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective. When an agency submits a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE for a  CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the  PROPOSED RULE as amended by the  CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
becomes the effective rule. The agency sets the effective date. The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment 
period, the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period  
nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to additional comments received. If the Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the process over.

CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303; Rule R15-2; and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, R15-
4-7, and R15-4-9.

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page
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34240

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control

R313-25-8
Technical Analyses

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE
DAR FILE NO.:  34240

FILED:  02/15/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this change in proposed rule is to 
further clarify when a site-specific performance assessment is 
required  to  be  submitted  to  the  Executive  Secretary  for 
approval  regarding  radioactive  waste  receipt  and  disposal 
based on the incorporation of comments received during the 
public  comment  period  and  approval  of  the  proposed 
changes during the February 2011 Radiation Control Board 
meeting.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Subsection R313-
25-8(1)(a) adds language that clarifies when a performance 
assessment would be required by stating the waste was not 
part of the development of the limits on Class A waste and not 
included  in  the  Draft  Environmental  Impact  Statement 
prepared by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission for the 
development  of  Federal  Rule  10  CFR  61.   "Licensing 
Requirements for Land Disposal of Radioactive Waste."  Item 
1a of  the proposed rule becomes item 1(b),  and item 1(b) 
becomes item 1(c).  In addition, item 1(d) is added to include 
a  condition  for  waste  that  would  result  in  an  unanalyzed 
condition  not  considered  in  Rule  R313-25  "License 
Requirements  for  Land  Disposal  of  Radioactive  Waste  - 
General  Provisions."   Additionally,  the  words  "the 
development of 10 CFR 61.55" was removed from 1(d).  And 
lastly,  the phrase "and changing lake levels"  was removed 
from Subsection R313-25-8(4)(a).  (DAR NOTE:  This change 
in proposed rule has been filed to make additional changes to 
a proposed amendment that was published in the December 
1,  2010,  issue  of  the  Utah  State  Bulletin,  on  page  48. 
Underlining  in  the  rule  below indicates  text  that  has  been 
added since the publication of the proposed rule mentioned 
above; strike-out indicates text that has been deleted.  You 
must  view the  change  in  proposed rule  and  the  proposed 
amendment together to understand all of the changes that will 
be enforceable should the agency make this rule effective.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 19-3-104(4)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The State of  Utah receives fees 
from  licensees  that  dispose  of  radioactive  waste  under 
Section  19-3-106.   Currently,  EnergySolutions,  LLC  is  the 

only  radioactive  waste  disposal  facility  that  accepts  and 
disposes of  radioactive  waste.   If  this  rule  is  promulgated, 
certain wastes may not be accepted at the facility until it has 
completed a site-specific performance assessment and it is 
approved by the Executive Secretary.  The financial impacts 
on waste fees received by the State of Utah are difficult to 
specify  because  the  impact  depends  on  the  following 
information  that  is  not  known  at  this  time:   when  a  site-
specific performance assessment will be submitted and when 
it will be approved; when the rule takes effect it may cause 
waste  receipts  to  be  delayed;  or  whether  there  are 
competitors  for  the  waste  such that  EnergySolutions  could 
lose receipts altogether.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Tooele County collects impact 
fees from waste facilities, including EnergySolutions.  Tooele 
County's budget is therefore likely to be affected.  Because of 
the reasons described above, the specific impact cannot be 
known at this time.  However, the proposed change will not 
impact wastes that are currently approved for disposal and for 
which disposal fees are paid.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  No small business in Utah will be 
directly impacted.  This amendment changes a rule that  is 
specific to companies or licensees that dispose of radioactive 
waste.  As a result of this narrow scope, there should be no 
direct impact on small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The Board is not aware of any direct impact on other entities. 
This amendment changes a rule that is specific to companies 
or licensees that dispose of radioactive waste.  As a result of 
this narrow scope, there should be no direct impact on other 
persons.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   A 
radioactive waste disposal facility may have to incur the cost 
of  preparing  a site-specific  performance assessment  under 
this  rule,  and  may  also  bear  the  cost  of  the  Division  of 
Radiation Control's review of that performance assessment. 
The cost  of a performance assessment is likely to be over 
$1,000,000  initially,  however,  the  licensee  has  initiated  a 
performance  assessment  prior  to  this  rule  change  and 
therefore, depending on the waste stream, may only have to 
modify  a  previous  performance assessment  and  therefore, 
costs could be substantially lower.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
If  the  rule  is  promulgated,  one  Utah  business  - 
EnergySolutions,  LLC  -  may  be  unable  to  accept  certain 
wastes  until  it  has  submitted  a  site-specific  performance 
assessment  and  the  performance  assessment  has  been 
approved.   The  impact  of  this  rule  is  hard  to  ascertain, 
because  the  Division  of  Radiation  Control  does  not  know 
when EnergySolutions will submit a performance assessment 
and when it  will  be approved, when EnergySolutions would 
otherwise  have received  certain  wastes  that  would  require 
them to prepare and submit a performance assessment, and 
whether  or  not  future  waste  shipments  will  require  a  site-
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specific performance assessment prior to receipt.  However, if 
a performance assessment is required, EnergySolutions will 
bear the cost of carrying out, preparing, and submitting the 
performance assessment which could be substantial.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
RADIATION CONTROL
ROOM THIRD FLOOR 
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Rusty Lundberg by phone at 801-536-4257, by FAX at 801-
533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at rlundberg@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/31/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  Rusty Lundberg, Director

R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control.
R313-25.   License  Requirements  for  Land  Disposal  of 
Radioactive Waste - General Provisions.
R313-25-8.  Technical Analyses.

(1)  The licensee or applicant shall conduct a site-specific 
performance assessment and receive Executive Secretary approval 
prior to accepting any radioactive waste if:

(a)  the waste  was not considered in the development of 
the limits on Class A waste and not included in the analyses of the  
Draft  Environmental  Impact  Statement  on  10  CFR  Part  61 
"Licensing Requirements for Land Disposal of Radioactive Waste," 
NUREG-0782.  U.S.  Nuclear  Regulatory Commission.  September 
1981, or
                 (b)  the waste   is likely to result in greater than 10 percent 
of the dose limits in R313-25-19 during the time period at which 
peak dose would occur, or

([b]c)  the waste will result in greater than 10 percent of 
the total site source term over the operational life of the facility, or

([c]d)   the  disposal  of  the  waste  would  result  in  an 
unanalyzed  condition  not  considered  in  [the  development  of  10 
CFR61.55]R313-25.

(2)  A licensee that has a previously-approved site-specific 
performance  assessment  that  addressed  a  radioactive  waste  for 
which a site-specific performance assessment would otherwise be 
required under R313-28-8(1) shall notify the Executive Secretary of 
the  applicability  of  the  previously-approved  site-specific 
performance  assessment  at  least  60 days  prior  to  the anticipated 
acceptance of the radioactive waste.

(3)  The licensee shall not accept radioactive waste until 
the  Executive  Secretary has  approved  the  information  submitted 
pursuant to R313-25-8(1) or (2).

(4)   The licensee or  applicant  shall  also include in  the 
specific  technical  information  the  following  analyses  needed  to 
demonstrate  that  the  performance  objectives  of  R313-25  will  be 
met:

(a)   Analyses  demonstrating that the general  population 
will  be protected from releases of radioactivity shall consider the 
pathways of air, soil, ground water, surface water, plant uptake, and 
exhumation by burrowing animals[, and changing lake levels].  The 
analyses  shall  clearly identify and differentiate between the roles 
performed  by the  natural  disposal  site  characteristics  and  design 
features in isolating and segregating the wastes.  The analyses shall 
clearly demonstrate  a  reasonable  assurance that  the  exposures  to 
humans from the release of radioactivity will not exceed the limits  
set forth in R313-25-19.

(b)   Analyses  of  the  protection  of  inadvertent  intruders 
shall  demonstrate  a  reasonable  assurance  that  the  waste 
classification  and  segregation  requirements  will  be  met  and  that 
adequate barriers to inadvertent intrusion will be provided.

(c)   Analysis  of  the  protection  of  individuals  during 
operations shall include assessments of expected exposures due to 
routine operations and likely accidents during handling, storage, and 
disposal of waste.  The analysis shall provide reasonable assurance 
that exposures will be controlled to meet the requirements of R313-
15.

(d)  Analyses of the long-term stability of the disposal site 
shall be based upon analyses of active natural processes including 
erosion,  mass  wasting,  slope  failure,  settlement  of  wastes  and 
backfill, infiltration through covers over disposal areas and adjacent 
soils,  surface  drainage  of  the  disposal  site,  and  the  effects  of  
changing  lake  levels.  The  analyses  shall  provide  reasonable 
assurance  that  there  will  not  be  a  need  for  ongoing  active 
maintenance of the disposal site following closure.

(5)(a)   Notwithstanding  R313-25-8(1),  any  facility  that 
proposes to land dispose of significant quantities of concentrated 
depleted uranium (more than one metric ton in total accumulation) 
after June 1, 2010, shall submit for the Executive Secretary's review 
and approval a performance assessment that demonstrates that the 
performance  standards  specified  in  10  CFR  Part  61  and 
corresponding provisions  of  Utah  rules  will  be  met  for  the total 
quantities  of  concentrated  depleted  uranium  and  other  wastes, 
including  wastes  already  disposed  of  and  the  quantities  of 
concentrated depleted uranium the facility now proposes to dispose. 
Any such performance  assessment  shall  be revised  as  needed  to 
reflect ongoing guidance and rulemaking from NRC.  For purposes 
of this performance assessment, the compliance period shall be a 
minimum  of  10,000  years.   Additional  simulations  shall  be 
performed for the period where peak dose occurs and the results 
shall be analyzed qualitatively.

(b)  No facility may dispose of significant quantities of 
concentrated  depleted  uranium  prior  to  the  approval  by  the 
Executive  Secretary  of  the  performance  assessment  required  in 
R313-25-8(5)(a).

(c)  For purposes of this R313-25-8(5) only, "concentrated 
depleted  uranium"  means  waste  with  depleted  uranium 
concentrations greater than 5 percent by weight.
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KEY:  radiation, radioactive waste disposal, depleted uranium
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 
13, 2010]2011
Notice of Continuation:  October 5, 2006

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-3-104; 
19-3-108

End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section
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NOTICES OF
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES

An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that the regular rulemaking procedures would:

(a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare;
(b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or
(c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)).

As  with  a  PROPOSED RULE,  a  120-DAY RULE is  preceded  by  a  RULE ANALYSIS.  This  analysis  provides  summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that 
unaffected text was removed to conserve space.

A 120-DAY RULE is effective at the moment the Division of Administrative Rules receives the filing, or on a later date  
designated by the agency. A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.

Because  120-DAY RULES are effective immediately, the law does not require a public comment period. However, 
when an agency files a 120-DAY RULE, it usually files a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements 
permanent. Comments may be made on the PROPOSED RULE. Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 
63G-3-304; and Section R15-4-8.

34415

Transportation, Preconstruction
R930-5-13

Notice of Intended Action
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE

DAR FILE NO.:  34415
FILED:  02/09/2011

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The reason for this filing is to bring the rule into 
compliance  with  Section  72-6-114  which  authorizes  a 
highway authority to temporarily close or restrict travel on a 
highway  under  their  jurisdiction  due  to  construction, 
maintenance  work,  or  emergency  without  providing  notice 
and hearing.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The change adds 
the  word  "permanent"  to  distinguish  permanent  railroad 
crossing  closures  and  additions  that  require  notice  and 
hearing,  from  temporary  closures  due  to  highway 
construction,  maintenance  work,  or  emergency  that  are 
authorized  by  Section  72-6-114  and  which  do  not  require 
notice and hearing.  (DAR NOTE:  A corresponding proposed 
amendment  to  Section  R930-5-13  will  be  published  in  the 
March 15, 2011, issue of the Bulletin under DAR No. 34452.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 41-6a-1205 and Section 54-4-14 and 
Section 54-4-15 and Section 72-1-201 and Section 72-6-114

EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:
REGULAR RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD cause an 
imminent  peril  to  the public  health,  safety,  or  welfare;  and 
place the agency in violation of federal or state law.
JUSTIFICATION:  Based on the Public Service Commission 
interpretation  of  the  rule,  the  Utah  Department  of 
Transportation (UDOT) is unable to restrict travel at railroad 
crossings under this rule without first giving public notice and 
holding a hearing.  The inability to immediately restrict travel 
at a railroad crossing in the event of an emergency, creates 
imminent peril  to the public health,  safety,  or welfare.  The 
change will bring the rule into compliance with Section 72-6-
114 which authorizes highway authorities to restrict travel due 
to  construction,  maintenance  work,  or  emergency  without 
providing notice and hearing.

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated costs or 
savings to the state budget because the change only adds a 
distinction  between  temporary  travel  restrictions  due  to 
construction,  maintenance,  or  emergency,  and  permanent 
restrictions that require notice and hearing.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated costs 
or  savings  to  local  government  because  the  change  only 
adds a distinction between temporary travel restrictions due 
to construction, maintenance, or emergency, and permanent 
restrictions that require notice and hearing.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There are no anticipated costs or 
savings  to  businesses  because  the  change  only  adds  a 
distinction  between  temporary  travel  restrictions  due  to 
construction,  maintenance,  or  emergency,  and  permanent 
restrictions that require notice and hearing.
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♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to persons other 
than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local  government 
because  the  change  only  adds  a  distinction  between 
temporary  travel  restrictions  due  to  construction, 
maintenance, or emergency, and permanent restrictions that 
require notice and hearing.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are  no  anticipated  compliance  costs  for  affected  persons 
because  the  change  only  adds  a  distinction  between 
temporary  travel  restrictions  due  to  construction, 
maintenance, or emergency, and permanent restrictions that 
require notice and hearing.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There  are  no  anticipated  fiscal  impacts  on  businesses 
because  the  change  only  adds  a  distinction  between 
temporary  travel  restrictions  due  to  construction, 
maintenance, or emergency, and permanent restrictions that 
require notice and hearing.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION
PRECONSTRUCTION
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119-5998
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Linda Barrow by phone at 801-965-4026, by FAX at 801-
965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at lindabarrow@utah.gov

EFFECTIVE:  02/09/2011

AUTHORIZED BY:  John Njord, Executive Director

R930.  Transportation, Preconstruction.
R930-5.   Establishment and Regulation of At-Grade Railroad 
Crossings.
R930-5-13.  Notice of Intended Action.

(1)  Public notification of a public hearing opportunity is 
required,  in  conformance  with  Section  R930-2,  when  the 
Department  is  considering  a  proposal  to  permanently  close  a 
Crossing, add a track at a Crossing, or construct a new Crossing.  It 
is  the  responsibility  of  the  Highway  Authority,  Railroad,  or 
Company requesting the proposed action, in consultation with the 
Department,  to  carry out  the  requirements  of  this  section  unless 
otherwise agreed to by the Department.

(2)   In  instances  where  the  action  proposed  by  the 
Department does not substantially affect the public, the Department 
may waive the requirement to notice a public hearing opportunity, 
provided the affected Diagnostic Team members concur in writing.

KEY:  railroad, crossing, transportation, safety
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  February 
9, 2011
Notice of Continuation:  November 29, 2006
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or  Interpreted  Law:   41-6a-
1205; 54-4-14; 54-4-15; 72-1-201

End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION

Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to  
review the rule.   This review is intended to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative  Code.  Upon 
reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a  PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a 
NOTICE.  By filing a Notice, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary.

NOTICES are not followed by the rule text. The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the  Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules. NOTICES are effective upon filing.

NOTICES are governed by Section 63G-3-305.

34414

Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry
R68-4

Standardization, Marketing, and 
Phytosanitary Inspection of Fresh 

Fruits, Vegetables, and Other Plant and 
Plant Products

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34414
FILED:  02/08/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 4-2-2 and Subsection 4-
2-2(1)(h)  direct  the  Department  to  establish  operational 
standards  for  any  establishment  that  manufactures, 
processes,  produces,  distributes,  stores,  sells,  or  offers  for 
sale any agricultural product, a responsibility that can only be 
accomplished through rule.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been received 
either supporting or opposing this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule needs to be continued because it 
defines  acceptable  practices  in  the  fruit  and  vegetable 

packing industry.  It also identifies the requirements for being 
able to sell and market products that are free from pests and 
other  serious  defects.   This  rule  enables  producers  to  be 
competitive in the marketplace.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD
PLANT INDUSTRY
350 N REDWOOD RD
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3034
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Clair Allen by phone at 801-538-7180, by FAX at 801-538-
7189,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  clairallen@utah.gov
♦ Kathleen Mathews by phone at 801-538-7103, by FAX at 
801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kmathews@utah.gov
♦ Kyle Stephens by phone at 801-538-7102, by FAX at 801-
538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kylestephens@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Leonard Blackham, Commissioner

EFFECTIVE:  02/08/2011

34412

Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry
R68-18

Quarantine Pertaining to Karnal Bunt
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34412

FILED:  02/08/2011
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NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 4-2-2(1)(k)(ii) directs 
the  Department  to  establish  and enforce  "quarantines",  an 
action that can only be accomplished by this rule.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been received 
in support or against this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Karnal bunt is still a national issue in grain 
commodities.  Utah is free from Karnal bunt and is able to 
export  small  grains  for  international  and  foreign  markets. 
Without this rule, the Division of Plant Industry would not be 
able  to  enforce  any  areas  that  maybe  infested  with  the 
disease and marketing options would be limited.   This rule 
needs to be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD
PLANT INDUSTRY
350 N REDWOOD RD
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3034
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Clair Allen by phone at 801-538-7180, by FAX at 801-538-
7189,  or  by  Internet  E-mail  at  clairallen@utah.gov
♦ Kathleen Mathews by phone at 801-538-7103, by FAX at 
801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kmathews@utah.gov
♦ Kyle Stephens by phone at 801-538-7102, by FAX at 801-
538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kylestephens@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Leonard Blackham, Commissioner

EFFECTIVE:  02/08/2011

34417

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-213

Dealer Numbers and Registrations

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34417
FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks  Board  to  make  rules  relating  to  Boat  Dealers  in 
Subsection  73-18-7(17)(a):  "The  board  may  designate  the 
suffix to assigned numbers, and by following the procedures 
and requirements of Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative 
Rulemaking Act, make rules for... (b) the issuance and display 
of dealer numbers and registrations...."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Statute requires motorboats and sailboats to 
be registered  while  on the waters  on  the  state.   This  rule 
provides that boat dealers can obtain dealer registrations for 
temporary  use  on  vessels  in  their  inventory  that  they  are 
demonstrating to customers.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011
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34418

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-214

Temporary Registration
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34418

FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks  Board  to  make  rules  relating  to  Boat  Dealers  in 
Subsection  73-18-7(17)(a):  "The  board  may  designate  the 
suffix to assigned numbers, and by following the procedures 
and requirements of Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative 
Rulemaking Act, make rules for... (c) the issuance and display 
of temporary registrations."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Statute requires motorboats and sailboats to 
be registered  while  on the waters  on  the  state.   This  rule 
provides that new boat owners can legally operate their boats 
with a temporary registration issued by the dealer, from the 
time they purchase a vessel until they receive the permanent 
registration  documents  from the  Division  of  Motor  Vehicle. 
Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT  QUESTIONS  REGARDING  THIS  RULE  TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34419

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-216

Navigation Lights - Note:  Figures 1 
through 7 mentioned below are on file 

with the Utah Division of Parks and 
Recreation

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34419
FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks  Board  to  make  rules  relating  to  boating  safety 
equipment  in  Subsection  73-18-8(6):  "The board  may:   (a) 
require  additional  safety  equipment  by  rule;  and  (b)  adopt 
rules conforming with the requirements of this section which 
govern specifications for and the use of safety equipment."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   Statute  requires  vessels  to  display 
navigational  lights  while  on  the  waters  on  the  state  after 
sunset.  This rule is needed to detail the approved lights for 
each type of vessel.  The lights are the standard US Coast 
Guard approved lights for all  boats nationwide.   Therefore, 
this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
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1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34420

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-217

Fire Extinguishers
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34420

FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks  Board  to  make  rules  relating  to  boating  safety 
equipment  in  Subsection  73-18-8(6):  "The board  may:   (a) 
require  additional  safety  equipment  by  rule;  and  (b)  adopt 
rules conforming with the requirements of this section which 
govern specifications for and the use of safety equipment."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   Statute  requires  vessels  to  have  fire 
extinguishing equipment on board while on the waters on the 
state.   This  rule  is  needed  to  detail  the  approved  fire 
extinguishers for each type of vessel.  The fire extinguisher 
requirements are consistent with US Coast Guard approved 
fire extinguishers for boats nationwide.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34421

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-218

Carburetor Backfire Flame Control
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34421

FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks  Board  to  make  rules  relating  to  boating  safety 
equipment  in  Subsection  73-18-8(6):  "The board  may:   (a) 
require  additional  safety  equipment  by  rule;  and  (b)  adopt 
rules conforming with the requirements of this section which 
govern specifications for and the use of safety equipment."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF ANY:   Statute  requires  certain  motorboats  to  be 
equipped with a backfire flame control  device while  on the 
waters  on  the  state.   This  rule  is  needed  to  detail  the 
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approved  methods  of  backfire  flame  control.   These 
requirements are consistent with US Coast Guard approved 
backfire  flame  control  devices  for  boats  nationwide. 
Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34422

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-219

Additional Safety Equipment
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34422

FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks  Board  to  make  rules  relating  to  boating  safety 
equipment  in  Subsection  73-18-8(6):  "The board  may:   (a) 
require  additional  safety  equipment  by  rule;  and  (b)  adopt 
rules conforming with the requirements of this section which 
govern specifications for and the use of safety equipment."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Types and sizes of vessels vary greatly and 
new styles of vessels are coming onto our waters each year. 
There is a necessity to be flexible with types of vessels that 
do  not  fit  into  standard  categories.   This  rule  provides  for 
additional safety equipment needed and some exceptions to 
required equipment for non-standard vessels.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34423

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-220

Registration and Numbering 
Exemptions

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34423
FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks Board to  exempt  certain  vessels  from registration in 
Subsection 73-18-9(5): "Registration under this chapter is not 
required  for  any  of  the  following:  a  motorboat  or  sailboat 
belonging  to  a  class  of  vessels  which  is  exempted  from 
registration by the board after the board finds...."
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SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  There are certain types of vessels which are 
impractical to require to register.  This rule is necessary to 
exempt those unique vessels determined by the board not to 
be  required  to  register.   Therefore,  this  rule  should  be 
continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34424

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-221

Boat Liveries - Boat Rental Companies
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34424

FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks  Board  to  regulate  and  set  fees  for  boat  liveries  in 
Subsections  73-18-4(1)(d)  and  (2)(a):   "The  board  may

promulgate rules... (d) regulating vessel operators who carry 
passengers for hire, boat liveries, and outfitting companies... 
(2) (a) The board may set fees in accordance with Section 
63J-1-504 for... (B) boat liveries."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule sets criteria for liveries to provide 
proper  documentation,  safety  equipment,  and  registration. 
Registration and fees paid help the division fund efforts  to 
provide  livery  companies  with  boating  safety  educational 
materials  for  distribution  to  their  customers.   Traditionally, 
rental  boats  are  involved  in  a  disproportionally  high 
percentage of boat accidents.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34425

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-226

Regattas and Races
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34425

FILED:  02/10/2011
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NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks Board to authorize marine events in Section 73-18-16: 
"The  division  may  authorize  the  holding  of  regattas, 
motorboat or other boat races, marine parades, tournaments, 
or exhibitions on any waters of this state.   The board may 
adopt  rules  concerning  the safety  of  vessels  and persons, 
either as observers or participants."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  It is important for the division to be aware of 
any marine events taking place to ensure the safety of the 
recourses, participants, and spectators.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34426

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-801

Swimming Prohibited

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34426
FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks Board to regulate water safety on the boating waters of 
the  state  in  Section  73-18b-1:   "The  Board  of  Parks  and 
Recreation may make rules necessary to promote safety in 
swimming, scuba diving, and related activities on any waters 
where public boating is permitted."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  It is important for public safety that individuals 
do not swim in areas that  are hazardous or frequented by 
boating traffic.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34427

Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation
R651-802

Scuba Diving
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34427
FILED:  02/10/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Statute  authorizes  the  State 
Parks Board to regulate water safety on the boating waters of 
the  state  in  Section  73-18b-1:   "The  Board  of  Parks  and 
Recreation may make rules necessary to promote safety in 
swimming, scuba diving, and related activities on any waters 
where public boating is permitted."

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments in support or 
opposition of this rule have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  It  is important for public safety that scuba 
divers  be  certified  and highly visible,  and  that  boaters  are 
directed away from scuba diving activities.   Therefore,  this 
rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
PARKS AND RECREATION
ROOM 116 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Tammy Wright by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-
538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at tammywright@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Fred Hayes, Acting Operations Deputy 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/10/2011

34433

Natural Resources; Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands

R652-2
Sovereign Land Management 

Objectives
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34433

FILED:  02/14/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Sections 65A-1-2 and 65A-10-1 
authorize the Division of  Forestry,  Fire  and State Lands to 
prescribe  the  general  land  management  objectives  to 
Sovereign Lands.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:   No written comments have been 
received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   This  rule  defines  the  Sovereign  Land 
Management  objectives  and  declares  and  recognizes  the 
Utah  state  lands  that  are  considered  Sovereign  Land. 
Further, the rule outlines regulation and management of the 
Sovereign Lands for any proposed use.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
FORESTRY, FIRE AND STATE LANDS
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SUITE 3520
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jamie Barnes by phone at 801-538-5421, by FAX at 801-
533-4111, or by Internet E-mail at jamiebarnes@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Buehler, Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/14/2011

34432

Natural Resources; Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands

R652-8
Adjudicative Proceedings

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34432
FILED:  02/14/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:   Subsection  63G-4-102(5),  and 
Sections 63G-4-202 and 63G-4-203 authorize the Division of 
Forestry,  Fire  and  State  Lands  to  designate  adjudicative 
proceedings as informal and provide procedures for informal 
adjudicative proceedings.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:   No written comments have been 
received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   This  rule  outlines  agency  adjudication. 
Agency  adjudications  include  actions  related  to  leases, 
permits, easements, sales contracts and other agreements, 
and contracts under  the authority of  the agency.   The rule 
gives  initial  designation  of  all  adjudicative  proceedings  as 
informal,  and  defines  procedure  for  informal  adjudicative 
proceedings.  This  rule  also  defines  hearings  and hearings 
requests, along with presiding officers or designees, as they 
relate to adjudicative proceedings.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
FORESTRY, FIRE AND STATE LANDS
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SUITE 3520
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jamie Barnes by phone at 801-538-5421, by FAX at 801-
533-4111, or by Internet E-mail at jamiebarnes@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Buehler, Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/14/2011

34434

Natural Resources; Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands

R652-9
Consistency Review

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34434
FILED:  02/14/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 63G-3-201 directs state 
agencies to engage in rulemaking whenever agency action 
applies to a class of persons, provides or prohibits a benefit, 
and requires or prohibits an action.  Subsection 65A-1-4(6) 
states, "An aggrieved party to a final action by the director 
may  appeal  that  action  to  the  executive  director  of  the 
Department  of  Natural  Resources  within  20 days  after  the 
action"; this process can only be accomplished by rule.  This 
rule establishes the procedure that an aggrieved party may 
take to implement a consistency review of statues, rules, and 
division policy.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:   No written comments have been 
received.
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REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule establishes the procedure through 
which  any  party  aggrieved  by  division  action  directly 
determining  the  rights,  obligations,  or  legal  interests  of 
specific  persons  may petition  the  executive  director  of  the 
Department  of  Natural  Resources  to  review the  action  for 
consistency  with  statues,  rules,  and  division  policy. 
Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
FORESTRY, FIRE AND STATE LANDS
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SUITE 3520
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jamie Barnes by phone at 801-538-5421, by FAX at 801-
533-4111, or by Internet E-mail at jamiebarnes@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Buehler, Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/14/2011

34435

Natural Resources; Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands
R652-41

Rights of Entry
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34435

FILED:  02/14/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 65A-7-1 authorizes the 
Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands to establish criteria 
by rule for the sale, exchange, lease or other disposition or 
conveyance  of  sovereign  lands  including  procedures  for 
determining fair market value of those lands.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:   No written comments have been 
received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule outlines right of entry on Sovereign 
Lands.  This rule outlines the requirement of an application, 
application  procedure,  the  fee  for  right  of  entry,  term  of 
agreement, and specific document requirement for a right of 
entry.  This rule is necessary to facilitate and perform right of 
entry permits.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
FORESTRY, FIRE AND STATE LANDS
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SUITE 3520
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jamie Barnes by phone at 801-538-5421, by FAX at 801-
533-4111, or by Internet E-mail at jamiebarnes@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Buehler, Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/14/2011

34436

Natural Resources; Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands
R652-80

Land Exchanges
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34436

FILED:  02/14/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 65A-7-1 authorizes the 
Division  of  Forestry,  Fire  and  State  Lands  to  specify 
application procedures and review criteria for the exchange of 
sovereign lands.
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SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:   No written comments have been 
received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule outlines the criteria for exchange of 
Sovereign  lands  for  land  or  other  assets;  it  sets  forth  the 
application requirements and the competitive offering rights 
with regard to land exchanges; outlines rights with regard to 
existing  improvements  on  said  land;  and  outlines  mineral 
estates  and leases,  existing  rights  on  acquired  lands,  and 
existing  leases  and  permits,  all  with  regard  to  land 
exchanges.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
FORESTRY, FIRE AND STATE LANDS
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SUITE 3520
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jamie Barnes by phone at 801-538-5421, by FAX at 801-
533-4111, or by Internet E-mail at jamiebarnes@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Richard Buehler, Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/14/2011

34438

Technology Services, Administration
R895-1

Access to Records
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  34438

FILED:  02/15/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Under authority of Sections 63G-
2-204 and 63A-12-104, and Title 63G, Chapter  3,  this rule

provides  procedures  for  access  and  denial  of  access  to 
government records.  Subsection 63G-2-204(d) authorizes a 
governmental entity to make a rule specifying where and to 
whom requests for access shall be directed.  Subsection 63A-
12-104(2)  authorizes  a  governmental  entity  that  includes 
divisions, boards, departments, committees, commissions, or 
other subparts that fall within the definition of a governmental 
entity under this chapter, may, by rule, specify at which level 
the  requirements  specified  in  this  chapter  shall  be 
undertaken.   Title  63G,  Chapter  3,  authorizes  agencies 
rulemaking authority.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments were received 
during and since  the last  five-year  review of  the rule  from 
interested persons supporting or opposing the rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  As stated in Section 63A-12-104, the agency 
may by rule specify at which level the requirements shall be 
undertaken.   It  is  imperative  for  the  agency to  be  able  to 
specify  by  rule  the  process  for  obtaining  records,  as  the 
agency  has  access  to,  but  does  not  own,  many  non-
department records.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TECHNOLOGY SERVICES
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 6000 STATE OFFICE BUILDING
450 N STATE ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Stephanie  Weiss  by phone at  801-538-3284,  by FAX at 
801-538-3622, or by Internet E-mail at stweiss@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  J Stephen Fletcher, CIO and Executive 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/15/2011

34439

Technology Services, Administration
R895-2

Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) 
Complaint Procedure
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION DAR File No. 34439

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34439
FILED:  02/15/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is promulgated pursuant 
to Sections 63G-3-201 and 63F-1-206.  The Department of 
Technology Services hereby adopts and defines a complaint 
procedure to provide for prompt and equitable resolution of 
complaints filed in accordance with Title II of the Americans 
With  Disabilities  Act,  pursuant  to  28  CFR  35.107,  1992 
edition.   Section 63G-3-201 directs  agencies to  write  rules 
when  their  actions  affect  material  benefits  and  regulate 
actions  of  a  class  of  persons.   Establishing  a  complaint 
procedure for disabled persons can only be done by rule.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments were received during 
and since the last five-year review of the rule from interested 
persons supporting or opposing the rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   There  is  a  need  for  the  Department  of 
Technology  Services  to  continue  the  rule  that  adopts  and 
defines  a  complaint  procedure  to  provide  for  prompt  and 
equitable  resolution  of  complaints  filed  in  accordance  with 
Title II of the Americans With Disabilities Act, pursuant to 28 
CFR 35.107,  1992 edition.   Therefore,  this  rule  should  be 
continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TECHNOLOGY SERVICES
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 6000 STATE OFFICE BUILDING
450 N STATE ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Stephanie  Weiss  by phone at  801-538-3284,  by FAX at 
801-538-3622, or by Internet E-mail at stweiss@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  J Stephen Fletcher, CIO and Executive 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/15/2011

34440

Technology Services, Administration
R895-11

Technology Services Adjudicative 
Proceedings

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  34440
FILED:  02/15/2011

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  It is enacted under the authority 
of  Section  63F-1-206.   Section  63G-4-202  authorizes  the 
agency to designate categories of adjudicative proceedings to 
be  conducted  informally.   Additionally,  Section  63G-4-203 
requires  an  agency  that  enacts  a  rule  designating  one  or 
more  categories  of  adjudicative  proceedings  as  informal 
adjudicative proceedings, the agency shall, by rule, prescribe 
procedures for informal adjudicative proceedings.  This rule 
defines the procedures for informal adjudicative proceedings.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments were received 
during and since  the last  five-year  review of  the rule  from 
interested persons supporting or opposing the rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   Any  adjudicative  proceedings  initiated 
according to the Utah Administrative Procedures Act, Section 
63G-4-202, which fall under the jurisdiction of the Department 
of  Technology  Services  are  designated  as  informal 
proceedings.   Section  63G-4-203  requires  an  agency  that 
enacts  a  rule  designating  one  or  more  categories  of 
adjudicative  proceedings  as  informal  adjudicative 
proceedings, the agency shall, by rule, prescribe procedures 
for  informal  adjudicative  proceedings.  This  rule  defines the 
procedures for informal adjudicative proceedings, as required 
by Utah Code.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TECHNOLOGY SERVICES
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 6000 STATE OFFICE BUILDING
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450 N STATE ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Stephanie  Weiss  by phone at  801-538-3284,  by FAX at 
801-538-3622, or by Internet E-mail at stweiss@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  J Stephen Fletcher, CIO and Executive 
Director

EFFECTIVE:  02/15/2011

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES

State law provides for agencies to make their rules effective and enforceable after publication in the Utah State 
Bulletin. In the case of Proposed Rules or Changes in Proposed Rules with a designated comment period, the law 
permits an agency to file a notice of effective date any time after the close of comment plus seven days. In the case  
of Changes in Proposed Rules with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to file a notice of  
effective date on any date including or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date. If an agency fails to file  
a Notice of Effective Date within 120 days from the publication of a Proposed Rule or a related Change in Proposed 
Rule the rule lapses and the agency must start the rulemaking process over.

Notices of Effective Date are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-5a and 5b. 

Abbreviations
AMD = Amendment
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule
NEW = New Rule
R&R = Repeal & Reenact
REP = Repeal

Commerce
Consumer Protection
No. 34100  (AMD): R152-11-9.  Direct Solicitations
Published:  10/15/2010
Effective:  02/07/2011

Occupational and Professional Licensing
No. 34310  (AMD): R156-60a.  Social Worker Licensing Act 
Rule
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/10/2011

No. 34283  (AMD): R156-69.  Dentist and Dental Hygienist 
Practice Act Rule
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/07/2011

Environmental Quality
Environmental Response and Remediation
No. 34270  (AMD): R311-200.  Underground Storage Tanks: 
Definitions
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/14/2011

No. 34271  (AMD): R311-201.  Underground Storage Tanks: 
Certification Programs and UST Operator Training
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/14/2011

No. 34272  (AMD): R311-203.  Underground Storage Tanks: 
Technical Standards
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/14/2011

No. 34275  (AMD): R311-205.  Underground Storage Tanks: 
Site Assessment Protocol
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/14/2011

No. 34273  (AMD): R311-206.  Underground Storage Tanks: 
Financial Assurance Mechanisms
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/14/2011

No. 34274  (AMD): R311-207.  Accessing the Petroleum 
Storage Tank Trust Fund for Leaking Petroleum Storage 
Tanks
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/14/2011

No. 34269  (AMD): R311-212.  Administration of the 
Petroleum Storage Tank Loan Fund
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/14/2011

Health
Epidemiology and Laboratory Services, Environmental 
Services
No. 34144  (AMD): R392-200.  Design, Construction, 
Operation, Sanitation, and Safety of Schools
Published:  11/01/2010
Effective:  02/16/2011

Human Services
Administration
No. 34288  (AMD): R495-879.  Parental Support for Children 
in Care
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/07/2011
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Insurance
Administration
No. 34312  (AMD): R590-148-24.  Premium Rate Schedule 
Increases
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/08/2011

No. 34259  (AMD): R590-186.  Bail Bond Surety Business
Published:  12/15/2010
Effective:  02/10/2011

Natural Resources
Forestry, Fire and State Lands
No. 34313  (AMD): R652-140.  Utah Forest Practices Act
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/07/2011

Wildlife Resources
No. 34299  (AMD): R657-44.  Big Game Depredation
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/07/2011

No. 34303  (AMD): R657-55.  Wildlife Convention Permits
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/07/2011

Public Safety
Highway Patrol
No. 34285  (NEW): R714-160.  Equipment Standards for 
Passenger Vehicle and Light Truck Safety Inspections
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/09/2011

No. 34286  (NEW): R714-161.  Equipment Standards for 
Motorcycle and ATV Safety Inspections
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/09/2011

No. 34287  (NEW): R714-162.  Equipment Standards for 
Heavy Truck, Trailer and Bus Safety Inspections
Published:  01/01/2011
Effective:  02/08/2011

End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section

122 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2011, Vol. 2011, No. 5



RULES INDEX
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER)

AND
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)

The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules. The current  
Index lists changes made effective from January 2, 2011 through February 15, 2011. The Rules Index is published 
in the Utah State Bulletin and in the annual Utah Administrative Rules Index of Changes. Nonsubstantive changes, 
while not published in the Bulletin, do become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this  
Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) rules that do not become part of the Code. The rules are indexed by  
Agency (Code Number) and Keyword (Subject).

Questions regarding the index and the information it contains should be addressed to Nancy Lancaster (801-538-
3218), Mike Broschinsky (801-538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801-538-3777).

A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/).
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RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER)

ABBREVIATIONS

AMD =  Amendment NSC =  Nonsubstantive rule change
CPR =  Change in proposed rule REP =  Repeal
EMR =  Emergency rule (120 day) R&R =  Repeal and reenact
NEW =  New rule 5YR =  Five-Year Review
EXD =  Expired

CODE
REFERENCE

TITLE   FILE
  NUMBER

ACTION EFFECTIVE
DATE

BULLETIN
ISSUE/PAGE

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Fleet Operations
R27-3 Vehicle Use Standards   34256 AMD 01/25/2011 2010-24/6
R27-4-11 Capital Credit or Reservation of Vehicle 

Allocation for Surrendered Vehicles
  34257 AMD 01/25/2011 2010-24/7

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD

Plant Industry
R68-4 Standardization, Marketing, and Phytosanitary 

Inspection of Fresh Fruits, Vegetables, and 
Other Plant and Plant Products

  34414 5YR 02/08/2011 Not Printed

R68-8 Utah Seed Law   34345 5YR 01/05/2011 2011-3/55
R68-18 Quarantine Pertaining to Karnal Bunt   34412 5YR 02/08/2011 Not Printed

Regulatory Services
R70-410 Grading and Inspection of Shell Eggs with 

Standard Grade and Weight Classes
  34378 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/35

COMMERCE

Consumer Protection
R152-11-9 Direct Solicitations   34100 AMD 02/07/2011 2010-20/4

Occupational and Professional Licensing
R156-3a Architect Licensing Act Rule   34396 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/35
R156-46b Division Utah Administrative Procedures Act 

Rule
  34397 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/36

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules   34282 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed
R156-60a Social Worker Licensing Act Rule   34310 AMD 02/10/2011 2011-1/6
R156-60d Substance Abuse Counselor Act Rule   34395 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/37
R156-63a-302f Qualifications for Licensure - Good Moral 

Character - Disqualifying Convictions
  34360 NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed

R156-69 Dentist and Dental Hygienist Practice Act Rule   34283 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/8
R156-78B Prelitigation Panel Review Rule   34215 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/4
R156-83-306 Drugs Approved for Online Prescribing, 

Dispensing, and Facilitation
  34237 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/14

Real Estate
R162-2a Utah Housing Opportunity Restricted Account   34223 NEW 01/08/2011 2010-23/15
R162-2c-201 Licensing and Registration Procedures   34225 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/16
R162-2c-203 Utah-Specific Education Certification   34226 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/19
R162-2c-204 License Renewal   34227 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/23
R162-12 Utah Housing Opportunity Restricted Account   34224 REP 01/08/2011 2010-23/25
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COMMUNITY AND CULTURE

Housing and Community Development
R199-8 Permanent Community Impact Fund Board 

Review and Approval of Applications for 
Funding Assistance

  34135 AMD 01/13/2011 2010-21/5

EDUCATION

Administration
R277-419 Pupil Accounting   34230 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/26
R277-733 Adult Education Programs   34231 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/31
R277-800-5 USDB or Student's District of 

Residence/Charter School as Designated LEA
  34359 NSC 01/27/2011 Not Printed

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Drinking Water
R309-100-4 General   34112 AMD 02/03/2011 2010-20/51
R309-215-16 Groundwater Rule   34375 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

Environmental Response and Remediation
R311-200 Underground Storage Tanks:  Definitions   34270 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/19
R311-201 Underground Storage Tanks:  Certification 

Programs and UST Operator Training
  34271 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/23

R311-203 Underground Storage Tanks:  Technical 
Standards

  34272 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/27

R311-205 Underground Storage Tanks:  Site Assessment 
Protocol

  34275 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/30

R311-206 Underground Storage Tanks:  Financial 
Assurance Mechanisms

  34273 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/33

R311-207 Accessing the Petroleum Storage Tank Trust 
Fund for Leaking Petroleum Storage Tanks

  34274 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/35

R311-212 Administration of the Petroleum Storage Tank 
Loan Fund

  34269 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/38

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Administration
R331-26 Ownership of Real Estate Other Than Property 

Used for Institution Business or Held as an 
Investment by Depository Institutions Subject 
to the Jurisdiction of the Department of 
Financial Institutions

  34207 NEW 02/01/2011 2010-22/61

Banks
R333-11 Ownership by State-Chartered Banks of Real 

Estate Other Than Property Used for Bank 
Business or Held as an Investment

  34206 REP 02/01/2011 2010-22/63

Industrial Loan Corporations
R339-6 Rule Clarifying Industrial Loan Corporation 

Investments
  34205 AMD 02/01/2011 2010-22/65

GOVERNOR

Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission
R359-1-506 Drug Tests   34278 AMD 01/31/2011 2010-24/42

HEALTH

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
R414-1 Utah Medicaid Program   34228 AMD 01/19/2011 2010-23/49
R414-303-11 Prenatal and Newborn Medicaid   34229 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-23/52
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Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services
R426-7 Emergency Medical Services Prehospital Data 

System Rules
  34358 5YR 01/12/2011 2011-3/55

R426-8 Emergency Medical Services Per Capita 
Grants Program Rules

  34346 5YR 01/05/2011 2011-3/56

HUMAN SERVICES

Administration
R495-879 Parental Support for Children in Care   34288 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/25

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing
R501-21 Outpatient Treatment Programs   34212 AMD 01/24/2011 2010-22/81

Aging and Adult Services
R510-401 Utah Caregiver Support Program (UCSP)   34390 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/37

Child and Family Services
R512-1-6 Out-of-Home Care Services   34344 NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed
R512-11 Accommodation of Moral and Religious Beliefs 

and Culture
  34368 5YR 01/18/2011 2011-4/38

R512-203 Child Protective Services, Significant Risk 
Assessments

  34369 5YR 01/18/2011 2011-4/38

INSURANCE

Administration
R590-93 Replacement of Life Insurance and Annuities   34026 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-18/59
R590-93 Replacement of Life Insurance and Annuities   34026 CPR 01/10/2011 2010-22/116
R590-133 Variable Contracts   34175 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-22/98
R590-148-24 Premium Rate Schedule Increases   34312 AMD 02/08/2011 2011-1/27
R590-152 Health Discount Programs and Value Added 

Benefit Rule
  34236 AMD 01/20/2011 2010-23/57

R590-167-4 Establishment of Classes of Business   34169 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-22/100
R590-186 Bail Bond Surety Business   34259 AMD 02/10/2011 2010-24/47
R590-259 Dependent Coverage to Age 26   34276 NEW 01/25/2011 2010-24/51

LABOR COMMISSION

Industrial Accidents
R612-12-2 Designation as Informal Proceedings   34294 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

Occupational Safety and Health
R614-1-4 Incorporation of Federal Standards   34260 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-24/54

MONEY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

Administration
R628-11 Maximum Amount of Uninsured Public Funds 

Allowed to Be Held by Any Qualified Depository
  34208 AMD 01/12/2011 2010-22/102

NATURAL RESOURCES

Forestry, Fire and State Lands
R652-2 Sovereign Land Management Objectives   34433 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
R652-8 Adjudicative Proceedings   34432 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
R652-9 Consistency Review   34434 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
R652-41 Rights of Entry   34435 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
R652-80 Land Exchanges   34436 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
R652-123 Exemptions to Wildland Fire Suppression Fund   34376 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/45
R652-140 Utah Forest Practices Act   34313 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/30

Parks and Recreation
R651-201 Definitions   34382 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/39
R651-202 Boating Advisory Council   34383 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/39
R651-203 Waterway Marking System   34384 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/40
R651-204 Regulating Waterway Markers   34385 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/40
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R651-205 Zoned Waters   34386 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/41
R651-206 Carrying Passengers for Hire   34353 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/57
R651-207 Registration Fee   34388 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/42
R651-208 Backing Plates   34389 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/42
R651-210 Change of Address   34391 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/43
R651-211 Assigned Numbers   34392 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/43
R651-212 Display of Yearly Registration Decals and 

Month of Expiration Decals
  34393 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/44

R651-213 Dealer Numbers and Registrations   34417 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-214 Temporary Registration   34418 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-215 Personal Flotation Devices   34355 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/57
R651-216 Navigation Lights - Note:  Figures 1 through 7 

mentioned below are on file with the Utah 
Division of Parks and Recreation

  34419 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed

R651-217 Fire Extinguishers   34420 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-218 Carburetor Backfire Flame Control   34421 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-219 Additional Safety Equipment   34422 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-220 Registration and Numbering Exemptions   34423 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-221 Boat Liveries - Boat Rental Companies   34424 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-222 Muffling Requirements   34356 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/58
R651-224 Towed Devices   34357 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/59
R651-226 Regattas and Races   34425 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-611 Fee Schedule   34377 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/44
R651-801 Swimming Prohibited   34426 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
R651-802 Scuba Diving   34427 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed

Wildlife Resources
R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish   34167 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/103
R657-44 Big Game Depredation   34299 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/32
R657-55 Wildlife Convention Permits   34303 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/35
R657-58 Fishing Contests and Clinics   34168 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/105

PUBLIC SAFETY

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification
R722-300-3 Definitions   34222 AMD 01/07/2011 2010-23/61

Driver License
R708-16 Pedestrian Vehicle Rule   34398 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/46
R708-18 Regulatory and Administrative Fees   34399 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/46
R708-19 Automobile No-Fault Self-Insurance   34400 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/47
R708-20 Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course 

Standards
  34401 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/47

R708-33 Electric Assisted Bicycle Headgear   34402 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/48
R708-38 Anatomical Gift   34403 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/48
R708-38 Anatomical Gift   34404 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed
R708-42 Driver Address Record   34371 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/49
R708-43 YES or NO Notification   34372 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/49
R708-44 Citation Monitoring Service   34374 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/50
R708-44 Citation Monitoring Service   34373 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

Fire Marshal
R710-2 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fireworks Act   34247 AMD 01/21/2011 2010-24/57
R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 

Law
  34242 AMD 01/09/2011 2010-23/58

Highway Patrol
R714-160 Equipment Standards for Passenger Vehicle 

and Light Truck Safety Inspections
  34285 NEW 02/09/2011 2011-1/37

R714-161 Equipment Standards for Motorcycle and ATV 
Safety Inspections

  34286 NEW 02/09/2011 2011-1/53

R714-162 Equipment Standards for Heavy Truck, Trailer 
and Bus Safety Inspections

  34287 NEW 02/08/2011 2011-1/59

R714-600 Performance Standards for Tow-Truck Motor 
Carriers

  34255 R&R 01/24/2011 2010-24/61
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Administration
R746-360-8 Calculation of Fund Distributions in Rate-of-

Return Incumbent Telephone Corporation 
Territories

  34176 AMD 01/19/2011 2010-22/109

SCHOOL AND INSTITUTIONAL TRUST LANDS

Administration
R850-10 Expedited Rulemaking   34289 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed
R850-60 Cultural Resources   34261 AMD 01/24/2011 2010-24/64
R850-60-100 Authorities   34328 NSC 01/18/2011 Not Printed

TAX COMMISSION

Auditing
R865-19S-78 Charges for Labor and Repair Under an 

Extended Warranty Agreement Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-12-103 and 59-
12-104

  34268 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-24/68

TECHNOLOGY SERVICES

Administration
R895-1 Access to Records   34438 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed
R895-2 Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) 

Complaint Procedure
  34439 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

R895-11 Technology Services Adjudicative Proceedings   34440 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

TRANSPORTATION

Operations, Traffic and Safety
R920-50 Ropeway Operation Safety Rules   34241 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/63

Preconstruction
R930-5-13 Notice of Intended Action   34415 EMR 02/09/2011 Not Printed

WORKFORCE SERVICES

Employment Development
R986-200-246 Transitional Cash Assistance   34239 AMD 01/13/2011 2010-23/70
R986-600 Workforce Investment Act   34277 AMD 01/26/2011 2010-24/69

RULES INDEX - BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)

ABBREVIATIONS

AMD =  Amendment NSC =  Nonsubstantive rule change
CPR =  Change in proposed rule REP =  Repeal
EMR =  Emergency rule (120 day) R&R =  Repeal and reenact
NEW =  New rule 5YR =  Five-Year Review
EXD =  Expired

KEYWORD
AGENCY

  FILE
  NUMBER

CODE
REFERENCE

ACTION EFFECTIVE
DATE

BULLETIN
ISSUE/PAGE

access to information
Technology Services, Administration   34438 R895-1 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

accident prevention
Public Safety, Driver License   34401 R708-20 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/47
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adjudicative proceedings
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34432 R652-8 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed

administrative procedures
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34397 R156-46b 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/36
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water   34112 R309-100-4 AMD 02/03/2011 2010-20/51
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents   34294 R612-12-2 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34432 R652-8 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed

  34434 R652-9 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
  34435 R652-41 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
  34436 R652-80 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
  34376 R652-123 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/45

School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration   34289 R850-10 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

adult education
Education, Administration   34231 R277-733 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/31

advertising
Commerce, Consumer Protection   34100 R152-11-9 AMD 02/07/2011 2010-20/4

affidavit of merit
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34215 R156-78B AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/4

anatomical gift
Public Safety, Driver License   34403 R708-38 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/48

  34404 R708-38 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

annuity replacement
Insurance, Administration   34026 R590-93 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-18/59

  34026 R590-93 CPR 01/10/2011 2010-22/116

appellate procedures
Technology Services, Administration   34440 R895-11 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

application procedures
Commerce, Real Estate   34223 R162-2a NEW 01/08/2011 2010-23/15

architects
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34396 R156-3a 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/35

bait and switch
Commerce, Consumer Protection   34100 R152-11-9 AMD 02/07/2011 2010-20/4

banking law
Money Management Council, Administration   34208 R628-11 AMD 01/12/2011 2010-22/102

banks and banking
Financial Institutions, Banks   34206 R333-11 REP 02/01/2011 2010-22/63

big game
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   34299 R657-44 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/32

boating
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation   34382 R651-201 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/39

  34383 R651-202 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/39
  34384 R651-203 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/40
  34385 R651-204 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/40
  34386 R651-205 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/41
  34353 R651-206 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/57
  34388 R651-207 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/42
  34389 R651-208 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/42
  34391 R651-210 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/43
  34392 R651-211 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/43
  34393 R651-212 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/44
  34417 R651-213 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34418 R651-214 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
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  34355 R651-215 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/57
  34419 R651-216 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34420 R651-217 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34421 R651-218 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34422 R651-219 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34423 R651-220 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34424 R651-221 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34356 R651-222 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/58
  34357 R651-224 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/59
  34425 R651-226 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed

boxing
Governor, Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission

  34278 R359-1-506 AMD 01/31/2011 2010-24/42

care receiver
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services   34390 R510-401 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/37

caregiver
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services   34390 R510-401 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/37

certificate of compliance
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34215 R156-78B AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/4

charities
Tax Commission, Auditing   34268 R865-19S-78 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-24/68

child abuse
Human Services, Child and Family Services   34369 R512-203 5YR 01/18/2011 2011-4/38

child support
Human Services, Administration   34288 R495-879 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/25

child welfare
Human Services, Child and Family Services   34344 R512-1-6 NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed

  34368 R512-11 5YR 01/18/2011 2011-4/38
  34369 R512-203 5YR 01/18/2011 2011-4/38

citation monitoring service
Public Safety, Driver License   34374 R708-44 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/50

  34373 R708-44 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

compliance determinations
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water   34375 R309-215-16 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

concealed firearm permit
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and Technical 
Services, Criminal Identification

  34222 R722-300-3 AMD 01/07/2011 2010-23/61

concealed firearm permit instructor
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and Technical 
Services, Criminal Identification

  34222 R722-300-3 AMD 01/07/2011 2010-23/61

confidentiality of information
Technology Services, Administration   34438 R895-1 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

consumer protection
Commerce, Consumer Protection   34100 R152-11-9 AMD 02/07/2011 2010-20/4

coverage groups
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy

  34229 R414-303-11 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-23/52

crossing
Transportation, Preconstruction   34415 R930-5-13 EMR 02/09/2011 Not Printed
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cultural resources
School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration   34261 R850-60 AMD 01/24/2011 2010-24/64

  34328 R850-60-100 NSC 01/18/2011 Not Printed

custody of children
Human Services, Administration   34288 R495-879 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/25

dental hygienists
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34283 R156-69 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/8

dentists
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34283 R156-69 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/8

depredation
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   34299 R657-44 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/32

developmentally disabled
Technology Services, Administration   34439 R895-2 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

direct solicitations
Commerce, Consumer Protection   34100 R152-11-9 AMD 02/07/2011 2010-20/4

disabilities act
Technology Services, Administration   34439 R895-2 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

disinfection monitoring
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water   34375 R309-215-16 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

domestic violence
Human Services, Child and Family Services   34344 R512-1-6 NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed

drinking water
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water   34112 R309-100-4 AMD 02/03/2011 2010-20/51

  34375 R309-215-16 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

driver address record
Public Safety, Driver License   34371 R708-42 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/49

driver education
Public Safety, Driver License   34399 R708-18 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/46

driver license
Public Safety, Driver License   34374 R708-44 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/50

  34373 R708-44 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

driver license verification
Public Safety, Driver License   34372 R708-43 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/49

education finance
Education, Administration   34230 R277-419 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/26

educational administration
Education, Administration   34359 R277-800-5 NSC 01/27/2011 Not Printed

elderly
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services   34390 R510-401 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/37

electric assisted bicycle headgear
Public Safety, Driver License   34402 R708-33 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/48

eligibility
Human Services, Child and Family Services   34344 R512-1-6 NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed

emergency medical services
Health, Health Systems Improvement, Emergency 
Medical Services

  34358 R426-7 5YR 01/12/2011 2011-3/55

  34346 R426-8 5YR 01/05/2011 2011-3/56

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2011, Vol. 2011, No. 5 131



RULES INDEX

enforcement
Commerce, Real Estate   34225 R162-2c-201 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/16

  34226 R162-2c-203 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/19
  34227 R162-2c-204 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/23

environmental protection
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water   34112 R309-100-4 AMD 02/03/2011 2010-20/51

exemptions to wildland fire suppression fund
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34376 R652-123 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/45

family employment program
Workforce Services, Employment Development   34239 R986-200-246 AMD 01/13/2011 2010-23/70

fees
Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation

  34272 R311-203 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/27

Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation   34377 R651-611 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/44
Public Safety, Driver License   34399 R708-18 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/46

financial institutions
Financial Institutions, Administration   34207 R331-26 NEW 02/01/2011 2010-22/61
Financial Institutions, Industrial Loan Corporations   34205 R339-6 AMD 02/01/2011 2010-22/65
Money Management Council, Administration   34208 R628-11 AMD 01/12/2011 2010-22/102

financial responsibility
Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation

  34274 R311-207 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/35

fire prevention
Public Safety, Fire Marshal   34242 R710-9 AMD 01/09/2011 2010-23/58

fireworks
Public Safety, Fire Marshal   34247 R710-2 AMD 01/21/2011 2010-24/57

fish
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   34167 R657-13 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/103

  34168 R657-58 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/105

fishing
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   34167 R657-13 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/103

  34168 R657-58 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/105

fleet expansion
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations   34257 R27-4-11 AMD 01/25/2011 2010-24/7

food inspections
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry   34414 R68-4 5YR 02/08/2011 Not Printed
Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services   34378 R70-410 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/35

forest practices
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34313 R652-140 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/30

freedom of information
Technology Services, Administration   34438 R895-1 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

government hearings
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34397 R156-46b 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/36

grants
Community and Culture, Housing and Community 
Development

  34135 R199-8 AMD 01/13/2011 2010-21/5

hazardous substances
Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation

  34271 R311-201 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/23
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  34272 R311-203 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/27
  34273 R311-206 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/33
  34269 R311-212 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/38

health insurance
Insurance, Administration   34169 R590-167-4 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-22/100

health insurance open enrollment
Insurance, Administration   34276 R590-259 NEW 01/25/2011 2010-24/51

human services
Human Services, Administration, Administrative 
Services, Licensing

  34212 R501-21 AMD 01/24/2011 2010-22/81

income
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy

  34229 R414-303-11 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-23/52

independent foster care adolescent
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy

  34229 R414-303-11 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-23/52

information technology
Technology Services, Administration   34440 R895-11 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

inspections
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry   34345 R68-8 5YR 01/05/2011 2011-3/55

insurance
Insurance, Administration   34312 R590-148-24 AMD 02/08/2011 2011-1/27

  34236 R590-152 AMD 01/20/2011 2010-23/57
  34259 R590-186 AMD 02/10/2011 2010-24/47

insurance law
Insurance, Administration   34175 R590-133 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-22/98

Internet facilitators
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34237 R156-83-306 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/14

land exchanges
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34436 R652-80 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed

law
Public Safety, Fire Marshal   34242 R710-9 AMD 01/09/2011 2010-23/58

law enforcement
Public Safety, Highway Patrol   34255 R714-600 R&R 01/24/2011 2010-24/61

licensing
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34396 R156-3a 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/35

  34282 R156-50 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed
  34310 R156-60a AMD 02/10/2011 2011-1/6
  34395 R156-60d 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/37
  34360 R156-63a-302f NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed
  34283 R156-69 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/8
  34237 R156-83-306 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/14

Commerce, Real Estate   34225 R162-2c-201 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/16
  34226 R162-2c-203 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/19
  34227 R162-2c-204 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/23

Governor, Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission

  34278 R359-1-506 AMD 01/31/2011 2010-24/42

Human Services, Administration, Administrative 
Services, Licensing

  34212 R501-21 AMD 01/24/2011 2010-22/81

Public Safety, Driver License   34399 R708-18 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/46
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life insurance
Insurance, Administration   34026 R590-93 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-18/59

  34026 R590-93 CPR 01/10/2011 2010-22/116

life jackets
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation   34422 R651-219 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed

loan origination
Commerce, Real Estate   34225 R162-2c-201 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/16

  34226 R162-2c-203 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/19
  34227 R162-2c-204 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/23

management
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34435 R652-41 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed

Medicaid
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy

  34228 R414-1 AMD 01/19/2011 2010-23/49

medical discount program
Insurance, Administration   34236 R590-152 AMD 01/20/2011 2010-23/57

medical malpractice
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34215 R156-78B AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/4

motor carrier
Public Safety, Highway Patrol   34255 R714-600 R&R 01/24/2011 2010-24/61

motor vehicle record
Public Safety, Driver License   34374 R708-44 5YR 01/20/2011 2011-4/50

  34373 R708-44 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

motor vehicle safety
Public Safety, Highway Patrol   34285 R714-160 NEW 02/09/2011 2011-1/37

  34286 R714-161 NEW 02/09/2011 2011-1/53
  34287 R714-162 NEW 02/08/2011 2011-1/59

motor vehicles
Public Safety, Driver License   34401 R708-20 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/47

motorboat noise
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation   34356 R651-222 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/58

natural resources
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34435 R652-41 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed

notification
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34313 R652-140 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/30

occupational licensing
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34397 R156-46b 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/36

online prescribing
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34237 R156-83-306 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/14

outpatient treatment programs
Human Services, Administration, Administrative 
Services, Licensing

  34212 R501-21 AMD 01/24/2011 2010-22/81

parks
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation   34382 R651-201 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/39

  34386 R651-205 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/41
  34353 R651-206 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/57
  34355 R651-215 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/57
  34420 R651-217 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34422 R651-219 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
  34424 R651-221 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed
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  34377 R651-611 5YR 01/24/2011 2011-4/44

petroleum
Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation

  34270 R311-200 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/19

  34271 R311-201 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/23
  34272 R311-203 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/27
  34275 R311-205 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/30
  34273 R311-206 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/33
  34274 R311-207 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/35
  34269 R311-212 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/38

plant disease
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry   34412 R68-18 5YR 02/08/2011 Not Printed

prelitigation
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34215 R156-78B AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/4

private probation provider
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34282 R156-50 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

private security officers
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34360 R156-63a-302f NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed

probation
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34282 R156-50 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

public information
Technology Services, Administration   34438 R895-1 5YR 02/15/2011 Not Printed

public utilities
Public Service Commission, Administration   34176 R746-360-8 AMD 01/19/2011 2010-22/109

railroad
Transportation, Preconstruction   34415 R930-5-13 EMR 02/09/2011 Not Printed

real estate
Financial Institutions, Administration   34207 R331-26 NEW 02/01/2011 2010-22/61
Financial Institutions, Banks   34206 R333-11 REP 02/01/2011 2010-22/63

real estate investing
Financial Institutions, Administration   34207 R331-26 NEW 02/01/2011 2010-22/61

real estate investment
Financial Institutions, Banks   34206 R333-11 REP 02/01/2011 2010-22/63

registration
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34313 R652-140 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/30

religious activities
Tax Commission, Auditing   34268 R865-19S-78 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-24/68

reporting
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents   34294 R612-12-2 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

residential mortgage
Commerce, Real Estate   34225 R162-2c-201 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/16

  34226 R162-2c-203 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/19
  34227 R162-2c-204 AMD 01/08/2011 2010-23/23

respite
Human Services, Aging and Adult Services   34390 R510-401 5YR 01/26/2011 2011-4/37

right of petition
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34434 R652-9 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed
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ropeways
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and Safety   34241 R920-50 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/63

rulemaking procedures
School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration   34289 R850-10 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

rules and procedures
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and State Lands   34433 R652-2 5YR 02/14/2011 Not Printed

safety
Labor Commission, Occupational Safety and Health   34260 R614-1-4 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-24/54
Transportation, Preconstruction   34415 R930-5-13 EMR 02/09/2011 Not Printed

safety inspection manual
Public Safety, Highway Patrol   34285 R714-160 NEW 02/09/2011 2011-1/37

  34286 R714-161 NEW 02/09/2011 2011-1/53
  34287 R714-162 NEW 02/08/2011 2011-1/59

sales tax
Tax Commission, Auditing   34268 R865-19S-78 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-24/68

school enrollment
Education, Administration   34230 R277-419 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/26

security guards
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34360 R156-63a-302f NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed

self insurance plans
Public Safety, Driver License   34400 R708-19 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/47

settlements
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents   34294 R612-12-2 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

social services
Human Services, Child and Family Services   34344 R512-1-6 NSC 01/26/2011 Not Printed

social workers
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34310 R156-60a AMD 02/10/2011 2011-1/6

state vehicle use
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations   34256 R27-3 AMD 01/25/2011 2010-24/6

substance abuse counselors
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   34395 R156-60d 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/37

surface water treatment plant monitoring
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water   34375 R309-215-16 NSC 02/14/2011 Not Printed

tax exemptions
Tax Commission, Auditing   34268 R865-19S-78 AMD 01/27/2011 2010-24/68

telecommunications
Public Service Commission, Administration   34176 R746-360-8 AMD 01/19/2011 2010-22/109

towing
Public Safety, Highway Patrol   34255 R714-600 R&R 01/24/2011 2010-24/61

traffic regulations
Public Safety, Driver License   34398 R708-16 5YR 01/31/2011 2011-4/46

tramway permits
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and Safety   34241 R920-50 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/63

tramways
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and Safety   34241 R920-50 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/63
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transportation
Transportation, Preconstruction   34415 R930-5-13 EMR 02/09/2011 Not Printed

transportation safety
Transportation, Operations, Traffic and Safety   34241 R920-50 AMD 01/10/2011 2010-23/63

underground storage tanks
Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation

  34270 R311-200 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/19

  34271 R311-201 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/23
  34272 R311-203 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/27
  34275 R311-205 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/30
  34273 R311-206 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/33
  34274 R311-207 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/35
  34269 R311-212 AMD 02/14/2011 2010-24/38

universal service
Public Service Commission, Administration   34176 R746-360-8 AMD 01/19/2011 2010-22/109

Utah Housing Opportunity Restricted Account
Commerce, Real Estate   34223 R162-2a NEW 01/08/2011 2010-23/15

  34224 R162-12 REP 01/08/2011 2010-23/25

vehicle replacement
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations   34257 R27-4-11 AMD 01/25/2011 2010-24/7

water safety rules
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation   34426 R651-801 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed

  34427 R651-802 5YR 02/10/2011 Not Printed

waterskiing
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation   34357 R651-224 5YR 01/11/2011 2011-3/59

white-collar contests
Governor, Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission

  34278 R359-1-506 AMD 01/31/2011 2010-24/42

wildlife
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   34167 R657-13 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/103

  34299 R657-44 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/32
  34303 R657-55 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/35
  34168 R657-58 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/105

wildlife law
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   34167 R657-13 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/103

  34168 R657-58 AMD 01/04/2011 2010-22/105

wildlife permits
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   34303 R657-55 AMD 02/07/2011 2011-1/35

workers' compensation
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents   34294 R612-12-2 NSC 01/06/2011 Not Printed

Workforce Investment Act
Workforce Services, Employment Development   34277 R986-600 AMD 01/26/2011 2010-24/69
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