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SPECIAL NOTICES

Insurance
Administration

Public Hearing on Proposed Fees for Services Provided on Costs Incurred by the Utah Insurance 
Department During Fiscal Year 2015.

The purpose of the hearing is to obtain public comment regarding the following fee changes:  1) FBI changing from $16 to 
$14.75; 2) total Title Insurance Regulation Assessment changing from "up to $80,000" to "up to $100,000"; 3) Risk Adjustment 
Fee shifted from federal to state at same rate of $0.96 per member per year; 4) new Captive Cell Initial Application fee of $200; 
5) new Captive Cell License fee of $1,000; 6) new Captive Cell License Renewal fee of $1,000; and 7) new Captive Cell Late 
Renewal fee of $50.

A hearing date has been scheduled for 02/06/2015 at 11:00 a.m. in Room 3112 of the State Office Building, 450 North State 
Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84114.

Written comments should be directed to Steve Gooch at sgooch@utah.gov; or FAX at: 801-538-3829; or mail to:  State Office  
Building, 450 N. State Street, Room 3110, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901.

End of the Special Notices Section

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2015, Vol. 2015, No. 3 1





NOTICES OF
PROPOSED RULES

A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule. 
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between January 01, 2015, 12:00 a.m., and 
January 15, 2015, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the February 01, 2015, issue of the Utah State Bulletin.

In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary information 
about the  PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal 
cross-references.

Following the  RULE ANALYSIS,  the text  of  the  PROPOSED RULE is  usually printed.   New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs  
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections  
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Division 
of Administrative Rules.

The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least March 3, 2015.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule."

From  the  end  of  the  public  comment  period  through  June  1,  2015,  the  agency  may  notify  the  Division  of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses.

The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on  PROPOSED RULES. 
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule.

PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10.

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page
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NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 39061

Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management

R23-2
Procurement of Architect-Engineer 

Services
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Repeal)
DAR FILE NO.:  39061

FILED:  01/09/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule will be replaced by the reenacted Rule 
R23-1, General Procurement Provisions.  The purpose of the 
repeal and reenactment is to establish more specific rules on 
the  General  Procurement  Provisions  for  the  Division  of 
Facilities Construction and Management.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule reflected 
the  requirements  of  the  previous  Utah  Procurement  Code 
which  was  enacted  on  or  about  1981.   The  fundamental 
differences between this rule and the reenacted Rule R23-1 is 
that the new rule now reflects the current requirements listed 
in  the  2014  Utah  Procurement  Code  and  implements  the 
recent changes related to the 2014 Utah Procurement Code. 
Additionally, the new rule is now more in line with the Division 
of  Purchasing  and  General  Services  rules.   This  rule  is 
repealed in its entirety.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed repeal 
and reenactment of Rule R23-1 is under DAR No. 39033 in 
the January 15, 2015, issue of the Bulletin.)

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 63G-6-208

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated costs or 
savings that are expected.  The changes update the rule in 
order to implement and provide provisions related to the Utah 
Procurement Code, as well  as to be more aligned with the 
Division of Purchasing and General Services' rules.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are no anticipated costs 
or savings that are expected.  The changes update the rule in 
order to implement and provide provisions related to the Utah 
Procurement Code, as well  as to be more aligned with the 
Division of Purchasing and General Services' rules.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There are no anticipated costs or 
savings that are expected.  The changes update the rule in 
order to implement and provide provisions related to the Utah 
Procurement Code, as well  as to be more aligned with the 
Division of Purchasing and General Services' rules.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings that are expected. 

The  changes  update  the  rule  in  order  to  implement  and 
provide provisions related to the Utah Procurement Code, as 
well  as to be more aligned with the Division of Purchasing 
and General Services' rules.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no  compliance costs  that  are expected.   The changes 
update the rule in order to implement and provide provisions 
related to the Utah Procurement Code, as well as to be more 
aligned with the Division of Purchasing and General Services' 
rules.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There  are no anticipated  affects  that  the rule  will  have on 
businesses.  The changes updated the rule to implement and 
provide provisions related to the Utah Procurement Code, as 
well  as to be more aligned with the Division of Purchasing 
and General Services' rules.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
FACILITIES CONSTRUCTION AND MANAGEMENT
ROOM 4110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N STATE ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Alan Bachman by phone at 801-538-3105, by FAX at 801-
538-3313, or by Internet E-mail at abachman@utah.gov
♦ Cecilia Niederhauser by phone at 801-538-3261, by FAX at 
801-538-9694, or by Internet E-mail at cniederhauser@utah.
gov
♦ Nicole Alder by phone at 801-538-3240, or by Internet E-
mail at nicolealder@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Bruce Whittington, Acting Director

R23.   Administrative  Services,  Facilities  Construction  and 
Management.
[R23-2.  Procurement of Architect-Engineer Services.  
R23-2-1.  Purpose and Authority.  
               (1)  In accordance with Subsection 63G-6-208(2), this rule 
establishes  procedures  for  the  procurement  of  architect-engineer 
services by the Division.  
               (2)  The statutory provisions governing the procurement of 
architect-engineer services by the Division are contained in Title 63G, 
Chapter 6 and Title 63A, Chapter 5.  
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DAR File No. 39061 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

R23-2-2.  Definitions.  
               (1)  Except as otherwise stated in this rule, terms used in this 
rule are defined in Section 63G-6-103.  
               (2)  The following additional terms are defined for this rule.  
               (a)  "Board" means the State  Building Board established 
pursuant to Section 63A-5-101.  
               (b) "Director" means the Director of the Division, including, 
unless otherwise stated, his duly authorized designee.  
               (c)  "Division" means the Division of Facilities Construction 
and Management established pursuant to Section 63A-5-201.  
               (d)   "Public  Notice"  means  the  notice  that  is  publicized 
pursuant to this rule to notify architects or engineers of Solicitations.  
               (e)  "Record" shall  have the meaning defined in  Section 
63G-2-103 of the Government Records Access and Management Act 
(GRAMA).  
               (f)  "Solicitations" means all documents, whether attached or 
incorporated  by  reference,  used  for  soliciting  information  from 
architects or engineers seeking to provide architect-engineer services to 
the Division.  
               (g)  "State" means the State of Utah.  
               (h)  "Using Agency" means any state agency or any political 
subdivision of the state which utilizes the services procured under this 
rule.  

R23-2-3.  Register of Architectural or Engineering Firms.  
               (1)  Architects or engineers interested in being considered 
for architect-engineer services procured by the Division under Section 
R23-2-19  may  submit  an  annual  statement  of  qualifications  and 
performance data.  
               (2)   The  Division  shall  maintain  a  file  of  information 
submitted under Subsection (1).  
               (3)  Except for services procured under Sections R23-2-17 
and  R23-2-19,  an  updated  or  project  specific  statement  of 
qualifications shall generally be required in order to be considered in 
procurements  of  services  for  a  specific  project  as  provided  in  the 
solicitation.  

R23-2-4.  Public Notice of Solicitations.  
               The Division shall publicize its needs for architect-engineer 
services in the manner provided in Subsection R23-1-5(2).  The public 
notice shall include:  
               (1)  the closing time and date by which the first submittal of 
information is required;  
               (2)  directions for obtaining the solicitation;  
               (3)  a brief description of the project; and  
               (4)  notice of any mandatory pre-submittal meetings.  

R23-2-5.  Submittal Preparation Time.  
               Submittal preparation time is the period of time between the 
date of first publication of the public notice, and the date and time set 
for  the  receipt  of  submittals  by  the  Division.   In  each  case,  the 
submittal  preparation  time  shall  be  set  to  provide  architects  or 
engineers  a reasonable  time to prepare their  submittals.   The time 
between the first publication of the public notice and the earlier of the 
first required submittal of information or any mandatory meeting shall 
be not less than ten calendar days, unless a shorter time is deemed 
necessary for a particular procurement as determined, in writing, by 
the Director.  

R23-2-6.  Form of Submittal.  
               The  solicitation  may  provide  for  or  limit  the  form  of 
submittals, including any forms for that purpose.  

R23-2-7.  Addenda to Solicitations.  
               Addenda  to  the  solicitation  may  be  made  in  the  same 
manner provided for addenda to the bidding documents in connection 
with Invitations for Bids set forth in Subsection R23-1-5(6), except 
that  addenda  may be  issued  until  the  selection  of  an  architect  or 
engineer is completed.  

R23-2-8.  Modification or Withdrawal of Submittals.  
               (1)   Submittals  may be  modified  prior  to  the  due  dates 
established in the solicitation.  
               (2)   Architects  or  engineers  may  withdraw  from 
consideration until a contract is executed.  

R23-2-9.  Late Proposals and Late Modifications.  
               Except for modifications allowed pursuant to negotiation, 
any proposal or modification received at the location designated for 
receipt of submittals after the due dates established in the Solicitation 
shall be deemed to be late and shall not be considered unless no other 
submittals are received.  

R23-2-10.  Receipt and Registration of Submittals.  
               After  the  date  established  for  the  first  submittal  of 
information, a register of submitting architects or engineers shall be 
prepared and open to public inspection.  Prior to award, submittals and 
modifications shall be shown only to procurement officials and other 
persons involved with the review and selection process,  who shall 
adhere to the requirements of GRAMA and this rule.  

R23-2-11.  Disclosure of Submittals, Performance Evaluations, and 
References.  
               (1)  Except as provided in this rule, submittals shall be open 
to public inspection after notice of the selection results.  
               (2)   The  classification  of  records  as  protected  and  the 
treatment of such records shall be as provided in Section R23-1-35.  
               (3)  The Board finds that it  is  necessary to maintain the 
confidentiality of performance evaluations and reference information 
in order to avoid competitive injury and to encourage those persons 
providing the information to respond in an open and honest manner 
without  fear  of  retribution.   Accordingly,  records  containing 
performance evaluations and reference information are classified as 
protected records under the provisions of Subsection 63G-2-305(6) 
and  shall  be  disclosed  only  to  those  persons  involved  with  the 
performance evaluation, the architect or engineer that the information 
addresses  and  persons  involved  with  the  review  and  selection  of 
submittals.  The Division may, however, provide reference information 
to other governmental entities for use in their procurement activities 
and to other parties when requested by the architect or engineer that is 
the  subject  of  the  information.   Any  other  disclosure  of  such 
performance evaluations and reference information shall only be as 
required by applicable law.  

R23-2-12.  Selection Committee.  
               (1)  The Board delegates  to the director the authority to 
appoint a selection committee, which may include representatives of 
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the Board, the Division, the using agency, and architects or engineers 
and the general public.  
               (2)  Each member of the selection committee shall certify as 
to his lack of conflicts of interest.  

R23-2-13.  Evaluation and Ranking.  
               (1)   The  selection  committee  shall  evaluate  the  relative 
competence and qualifications of architects or engineers who submit 
the required information.  
               (2)  The evaluation shall be based on evaluation factors set 
forth in the solicitation and may include:  
               (a)  past performance and references;  
               (b)   qualifications  and  experience  of  the  firm  and  key 
individuals;  
               (c)  plans for managing and avoiding project risks;  
               (d)  interviews; and  
               (e)  other factors that indicate the relevant competence and 
qualifications  of  the  architect  or  engineer  and  the  architect  or 
engineer's ability to satisfactorily provide the desired services.  
               (3)  The evaluation may be conducted in two phases with the 
first phase identifying no less than the top three ranked firms to be 
evaluated further in the second phase unless less than three firms are 
competing for the contract.  
               (4)   Numerical  rating  systems  may be  used  but  are  not 
required.  
               (5)  The evaluation committee shall  rank at  least  the top 
three firms.  

R23-2-14.  Publicizing Selections.  
               (1)  Notice. After the selection of the successful firm, notice 
of the selection shall be available in the principal office of the Division 
in Salt Lake City, Utah and may be available on the Internet.  
               (2)  Information Disclosed.  The following shall be disclosed 
with the notice of selection:  
               (a)  the ranking of the firms;  
               (b) the names of the selection committee members;  
               (c) the final scores used by the selection committee to make 
the selection, except that the names of the individual scorers shall not 
be associated with their individual scores; and  
               (d)   the  written  justification  statement  supporting  the 
selection.  
               (3)   Information  Classified  as  Protected.   After  due 
consideration and public input, the following has been determined by 
the Board to impair governmental procurement proceedings or give an 
unfair advantage to any person proposing to enter into a contract with 
the Division and shall be classified as protected records:  
               (a)  the names of individual selection committee scorers in 
relation to their individual scores or rankings; and  
               (b)  non-public financial statements.  

R23-2-15.  Negotiation and Appointment.  
               The Director shall conduct negotiations as provided for in 
Section 63G-6-704 until an agreement is reached.  

R23-2-16.  Role of the Board.  
               (1)   The  Board  has  the  responsibility  to  establish  and 
monitor the selection process.  It must verify the acceptability of the 
procedure and make changes in procedure as determined necessary by 
the Board.  

               (2)  At each regular meeting of the Board, the Division shall 
submit a list of all architect-engineer services contracts entered into 
since its previous report and the method of selection used.  This shall 
be for the information of the Board.  

R23-2-17.  Performance Evaluation.  
               (1)   The  Division  shall  evaluate  the  performance  of  the 
architectural or engineering firm and shall provide an opportunity for 
the using agency to comment on the Division's evaluation.  
               (2)  This evaluation shall become a part of the record of that 
architectural or engineering firm within the Division.  The architectural 
or engineering firm shall be provided a copy of its evaluation at the 
end of the project and may enter its response in the file.  
               (3)  Confidentiality of the evaluation information shall be 
addressed as provided in Subsection R23-2-11(3).  

R23-2-18.  Emergency Conditions.  
               The  Director,  in  consultation  with  the  chairman  of  the 
Board, shall determine if emergency conditions exist and document his 
decision in writing.  The Director may use any reasonable method of 
awarding  contracts  for  architect-engineer  services  in  emergency 
conditions.  

R23-2-19.  Direct Awards.  
               (1)  The Director may award a contract to an architectural or 
engineering firm without following the procedures of this rule if:  
               (a)  The contract is for a project which is integrally related 
to, or an extension of, a project which was previously awarded to the 
architectural or engineering firm;  
               (b)   The  architectural  or  engineering  firm  performed 
satisfactorily on the related project; and  
               (c)  The Director determines that the direct award is in the 
best interests of the State.  
               (2)  The Director shall place written documentation of the 
reasons for the direct award in the project file and shall report the 
action to the Board at its next meeting.  

R23-2-20.  Small Purchases.  
               (1)   If  the  Director  determines  that  architect-engineer 
services can be procured for less than $100,000, or if the estimated 
construction cost of the project is less than $1,500,000, the procedures 
contained in Subsection (2) may be used.  
               (2)  The Director shall select a qualified firm and attempt to 
negotiate a contract for the required services at a fair and reasonable 
price.  The qualified firm may be, but is not required to be, selected 
from the register of architectural or engineering firms provided for in 
Section R23-2-3.  If,  after negotiations on price,  the parties cannot 
agree  upon  a  price  that,  in  the  Director's  judgment,  is  fair  and 
reasonable,  negotiations  shall  be  terminated  with  that  firm  and 
negotiations begun with another qualified firm.  This process shall 
continue until a contract is negotiated at a fair and reasonable price.  

R23-2-21.  Alternative Procedures.  
               (1)  The Division may enhance the process whenever the 
Director determines that it would be in the best interest of the state. 
This may include the use of a design competition.  
               (2)  Any exceptions to this rule must  be justified to and 
approved by the Board.  

6 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2015, Vol. 2015, No. 3



DAR File No. 39061 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

               (3)  Regardless of the process used, the using agency shall 
be involved jointly with the Division in the selection process.  

KEY:  procurement, architects, engineers  
Date of  Enactment or Last  Substantive  Amendment:   July 14, 
2008  
Notice of Continuation:  September 16, 2014  
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-5-103 et 
seq.; 63G-2-101 et seq.; 63G-6-208(2)]

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing

R156-26a-501
Unprofessional Conduct
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39055

FILED:  01/05/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The Division and Utah Board of Accountancy are 
proposing  an  amendment  to  add a  new subsection  to  the 
unprofessional  conduct  section  of  the  Certified  Public 
Accountant Licensing Act Rule.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Subsection R156-
26a-501(3)  is  being  proposed  as  a  new subsection  to  the 
unprofessional  conduct  rules  affecting  certified  public 
accountants  (CPAs)  and  CPA  firms.   The  proposed 
subsection  makes  it  unprofessional  conduct  to  include  the 
name of a person who is not licensed as a CPA as part of the 
CPA firm name.  Use of a non-licensee in the CPA firm name 
improperly implies that the person is a licensed CPA.  This 
problem has previously come to the Division's attention where 
non-CPAs have  been  included  in  the  CPA firm  name and 
have  improperly  represented  themselves  as  CPAs.   The 
Division  has  taken  action  against  those  persons  for 
improperly holding themselves out as a CPA.  Accordingly, 
this  rule  is  to  clarify  what  is  already  prohibited  by  other 
unlawful conduct provisions.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS  RULE:   Section  58-26a-101  and  Subsection  58-1-
106(1)(a) and Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This proposed rule amendment will 
not affect the state budget other than the cost to the Division 
to republish and distribute the rule of approximately $75.  Any 
costs  incurred  will  be  absorbed  in  the  Division's  current 
budget.

♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   The  proposed  amendments 
apply only to licensed CPAs and CPA firms.  As a result, the 
proposed amendments do not apply to local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The proposed amendment applies 
only to licensed CPAs and CPA firms, which may qualify as a 
small  business.   However,  the Division does not anticipate 
any cost to CPA firms as a result of the proposed amendment 
as long as the CPA firm is in compliance with the requirement. 
Persons or companies applying for the CPA firm licensure will 
be required to choose a name that does not inappropriately 
imply  non-licensed  persons  are  CPAs  at  the  firm.   This 
proposed amendment should not result in additional costs to 
applicants becoming licensed.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The proposed amendment applies only to licensed CPAs and 
CPA firms.   However,  the Division does not  anticipate any 
cost  to  CPAs  or  CPA firms  as  a  result  of  the  proposed 
amendment as long as the CPA firm is in compliance with the 
requirement.  Persons or companies applying for the CPA firm 
licensure will  be required to choose a name that does not 
inappropriately imply non-licensed persons are CPAs at the 
firm.   This  proposed  amendment  should  not  result  in 
additional costs to applicants becoming licensed.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
proposed amendment applies only to licensed CPAs and CPA 
firms.  However, the Division does not anticipate any cost to 
CPAs or CPA firms as a result of the proposed amendment as 
long as the CPA firm is in compliance with the requirement. 
Persons or companies applying for the CPA firm licensure will 
be required to choose a name that does not inappropriately 
imply  non-licensed  persons  are  CPAs  at  the  firm.   This 
proposed amendment should not result in additional costs to 
applicants becoming licensed.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This  filing  clarifies  that  a  CPA firm  may not  include  in  its 
company  name  the  name  of  any  individual  who  has  not 
obtained a CPA license.  To comply, a business must choose 
and file an appropriate company name; therefore,  no fiscal 
impact to businesses is anticipated.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL 
LICENSING
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Dan Jones by phone at 801-530-6720, by FAX at 801-530-
6511, or by Internet E-mail at dansjones@utah.gov
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

INTERESTED  PERSONS  MAY  ATTEND  A  PUBLIC 
HEARING REGARDING THIS RULE:
♦  02/04/2015  01:30  PM,  Heber  Wells  Bldg,  160  E  300 S, 
Conference Room 475 (fourth floor), Salt Lake City, UT

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Steinagel, Director

R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-26a.  Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act Rule.
R156-26a-501.  Unprofessional Conduct.

"Unprofessional conduct" includes:
(1)  a licensee willfully failing to comply with continuing 

professional  education  or  fraudulently  reporting  continuing 
professional education; or

(2)   commission  of  an  act  or  omission  that  fails  to 
conform to the accepted and recognized standards and ethics of the 
profession  including  those  stated  in  the  "Code  of  Professional 
Conduct" of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants 
(AICPA) as adopted June 1, 2008, which is hereby incorporated by 
reference; or
                 (3)  a CPA firm using the name of a person who is not a   
licensed certified public accountant as part of the CPA firm name 
with the exception that a CPA firm may continue to use the name of 
a former owner who was a CPA but who has retired or is no longer 
active in the CPA firm.

KEY:   accountants,  licensing,  peer  review,  continuing 
professional education
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
10, 2009]2015
Notice of Continuation:  November 15, 2011
Authorizing,  and  Implemented  or Interpreted  Law:   58-26a-
101; 58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a)

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing

R156-55a
Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act 

Rule
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39081

FILED:  01/15/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  Division  and  the  Construction  Services 
Commission are proposing these amendments to:  1) make 
changes  to  the  requirements  for  continuing  education  for 
contractors  in  Subsection  R156-55a-303b(12);  2)  make  a 
technical  correction  to  the  pre-licensure  education 
requirement for contractors in Section R156-55a-303f; and 3) 
make a technical correction to update a reference to a section 
of  rule  that  has  been  changed  in  Subsection  R156-55a-
302e(2).   The  proposed  amendments  are  made  for  the 
purpose  of  assuring  the  quality  of  continuing  education 
courses provided to contractor licensees.

SUMMARY OF THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   In  Subsection 
R156-55a-302e(2)(a)(ii), this change is a technical correction 
to  update  a  reference  to  a  section  of  rule  that  has  been 
changed.   In  Subsection  R156-55a-302f(12),  the  proposed 
amendment makes a technical  correction to the exemption 
subsection of the pre-licensure education requirements.  After 
a prior rule filing became effective, it was noted that the rule 
needed to be further clarified.  The subsection being changed 
was meant to be an exemption for certain contractors who 
had met the requirements for license and were active at the 
date the rule first became effective.  This was not adequately 
stated in the rule when it was originally adopted.  In Section 
R156-55a-303b,  several  changes  are  being  made  in  this 
section.   In  Subsection  R156-55a-303b(1),  the  proposed 
amendments require that at least three hours of the total of 
six  hours  of  the  continuing  education  must  be  in  live 
seminars.   The  existing   rule  allows  all  of  the  continuing 
education hours be obtained through distance learning.   In 
Subsection R156-55a-303b(1)(a), the proposed amendments 
add continuing education in the subjects  of  job site  safety, 
finance, and bookkeeping to be core continuing education.  In 
Subsection R156-55a-303b(1)(b), the proposed amendments 
move continuing education in finance and bookkeeping from 
professional  continuing  education  to  be  core  continuing 
education.   In  Subsection  R156-55a-303b(2)(b)(iii),  the 
proposed  amendments  change  the  word  "recognized"  to 
"regionally  or  nationally  accredited".   In  Subsection  R156-
55a-303b(2)(b)(iv),  the  proposed  amendments  require 
associations to have at least 25 Utah licensed contractors as 
members  of  their  association  in  order  to  qualify  to  be  a 
continuing  education  provider.   In  Subsection  R156-55a-
303b(2)(b)(v),  the  proposed  amendments  add  additional 
requirements for  a  commercial  entity  to  be  approved as  a 
continuing education provider.  The new qualifications include 
having  a  permanent  classroom in  Utah,  having  a  point  of 
contact  located  in  Utah,  and  being  approved  by  the 
Construction  Services  Commission.   In  Subsection  R156-
55a-303b(2)(g),  the  proposed  amendments  add  additional 
tracking requirements for continuing education providers who 
offer distance learning.
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STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 58-55-101 and Subsection 58-1-106(1)
(a)  and  Subsection  58-1-202(1)(a)  and  Subsection  58-55-
102(39)(a) and Subsection 58-55-308(1)(a)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs 
of approximately $75 to print and distribute the rule once the 
proposed  amendments  are  made  effective.   Any  costs 
incurred  will  be  absorbed  in  the  Division's  current  budget. 
The Division anticipates that no other state budgets will  be 
affected by these proposed amendments.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   The  proposed  amendments 
apply only to licensed contractors, applicants for licensure in 
that classification and construction trade continuing education 
providers.   As  a  result,  the  proposed  amendments  do  not 
apply to local governments.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   The  proposed  amendments  will 
disqualify existing continuing education providers who do not 
have a substantive presence in Utah, which providers may 
qualify as a small business.  It is impossible for the Division to 
estimate  the  amount  of  revenue  or  net  profit  that  these 
providers could lose.  The amount of lost profits or revenues 
could  be  several  thousand  dollars  for  these  providers. 
Licensees who are required to attend live seminars for half of 
the six-hour requirement rather than distance seminars may 
pay additional costs to attend live seminars.  It is impossible 
for  the  Division to  estimate  the  additional  costs  that  these 
licensed contractors may need to pay.  Continuing education 
courses could be more difficult to obtain for contractors who 
are located in rural areas, which may also increase their costs 
to obtain the required continuing education hours.  Continuing 
education  providers  who provide distance learning  may be 
required to pay additional costs to comply with the additional 
tracking  required  under  the  proposed  amendments.   It  is 
impossible for the Division to estimate the costs that these 
providers may need to pay.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The proposed amendments will disqualify existing continuing 
education providers who do not have a substantive presence 
in  Utah.   It  is  impossible  for  the  Division  to  estimate  the 
amount  of  revenue or net  profit  that  these providers could 
lose.  The amount of lost profits or revenues could be several 
thousand  dollars  for  these  providers.   Licensees  who  are 
required  to  attend  live  seminars  for  half  of  the  six-hour 
requirement  rather  than  distance  seminars  may  pay 
additional costs to attend live seminars.  It is impossible for 
the  Division  to  estimate  the  additional  costs  that  these 
licensed contractors may need to pay.  Continuing education 
courses could be more difficult to obtain for contractors who 
are located in rural areas, which may also increase their costs 
to obtain the required continuing education hours.  Continuing 
education  providers  who provide distance learning  may be 
required to pay additional costs to comply with the additional 
tracking  required  under  the  proposed  amendments.   It  is 
impossible for the Division to estimate the costs that these 
providers may need to pay.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
proposed  amendments  will  disqualify  existing  continuing 
education providers who do not have a substantive presence 
in  Utah.   It  is  impossible  for  the  Division  to  estimate  the 
amount  of  revenue or net  profit  that  these providers could 
lose.  The amount of lost profits or revenues could be several 
thousand  dollars  for  these  providers.   Licensees  who  are 
required  to  attend  live  seminars  for  half  of  the  six-hour 
requirement  rather  than  distance  seminars  may  pay 
additional costs to attend live seminars.  It is impossible for 
the  Division  to  estimate  the  additional  costs  that  these 
licensed contractors may need to pay. Continuing education 
courses could be more difficult to obtain for contractors who 
are located in rural areas, which may also increase their costs 
to obtain the required continuing education hours.  Continuing 
education  providers  who provide distance learning  may be 
required to pay additional costs to comply with the additional 
tracking  required  under  the  proposed  amendments.   It  is 
impossible for the Division to estimate the costs that these 
providers may need to pay.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
As  stated  in  the  rule  analysis,  this  filing  will  prohibit 
businesses that offer continuing education from operating in 
Utah without  a physical  location from which to  conduct  in-
person  classes.   Businesses  that  have  been  operating 
exclusively online will be required either to cease operations 
in  Utah,  with  attendant  revenue  losses,  or  incur  costs  to 
obtain a physical location.  Any such fiscal impact will  vary 
and cannot be estimated.  In addition, this filing requires an 
approved continuing education provider to track information 
regarding student attendance and performance.  Any provider 
that has not been tracking this information will incur costs to 
put a tracking system into place.  These costs will vary and 
cannot be estimated.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL 
LICENSING
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Dan Jones by phone at 801-530-6720, by FAX at 801-530-
6511, or by Internet E-mail at dansjones@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

INTERESTED  PERSONS  MAY  ATTEND  A  PUBLIC 
HEARING REGARDING THIS RULE:
♦  02/25/2015 09:00  AM,  Heber  Wells  Bldg,  160  E  300 S, 
Conference Room 474, Salt Lake City, UT
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Steinagel, Director

R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-55a.  Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule.
R156-55a-302e.   Additional  Requirements  for  Construction 
Trades Instructor Classifications.

In  accordance  with  Subsection  58-55-302(1)(f),  the 
following additional requirements for licensure are established:

(1)  Any school that provides instruction to students by 
building houses for sale to the public is required to become a Utah 
licensed  contractor  with  a  B100 General  Building  Contractor  or 
R100  Residential  and  Small  Commercial  Building  Contractor 
classification or both.

(2)  Any school that provides instruction to students by 
building houses for sale to the public is also required to be licensed 
in the appropriate instructor classification.

(a)   Before  being  licensed  in  a  construction  trades 
instruction facility classification, the school shall submit the name 
of an individual  person who acts  as  the qualifier  in  each of the  
construction  trades  instructor  classifications  in  accordance  with 
Section  R156-55a-304.   The  applicant  for  licensure  as  a 
construction trades instructor shall:

(i)   provide  evidence  that  the  qualifier  has  passed  the 
required examinations established in Section R156-55a-302a; and

(ii)   provide  evidence  that  the  qualifier  meets  the 
experience  requirement  established  in  Subsection  R156-55a-
302b([4]3).

(3)  Each individual employed by a school licensed as a 
construction trades instruction facility and working with students on 
a  job  site  shall  meet  any  teacher  certification,  or  other  teacher 
requirements  imposed  by  the  school  district  or  college,  and  be 
qualified  to  teach  the  construction  trades  instruction  facility 
classification as determined by the qualifier.

R156-55a-302f.  Pre-licensure Education - Standards.
(1)  Qualifier Education Requirement.  The 20-hour pre-

licensure education program required by Subsection 58-55-302(1)
(e)(iii) shall be completed by the qualifier for a contractor applicant.

(2)   Program Pre-Approval.   A pre-licensure  education 
provider shall submit an application for approval as a provider on 
the form provided by the Division.  The applicant shall demonstrate 
compliance with Section R156-55a-302f.

(3)  Eligible Providers.  The following may be approved 
to provide pre-licensure education:

(a)   a  nationally  or  regionally  recognized  accredited 
college or university having a physical campus located within the 
State of Utah; or

(b)   a  non-profit  Utah  construction  trades  association 
involved in the construction trades in the State of Utah representing 
multiple  construction  trade  classifications  whose  membership 
includes at least 250 contractors licensed in Utah.

(4)   Content.   The  20-hour  program  shall  include  the 
following topics and hours of education relevant to the practice of 
the construction trades consistent with the laws and rules of this 
state:

(a)  ten hours of financial responsibility instruction that 
includes the following:

(i)  record keeping and financial statements;
(ii)  payroll, including:
(A)  payroll taxes;
(B)  worker compensation insurance requirements;
(C)  unemployment insurance requirements;
(D)   professional  employer  organization  (employee 

leasing) alternatives;
(E)   prohibitions  regarding  paying  employees  on  1099 

forms as independent contractors, unless licensed or exempted;
(F)  employee benefits; and
(G)  Fair Labor Standard Act;
(iii)  cash flow;
(iv)  insurance requirements including auto, liability, and 

health; and
(v)   independent  contractor  licensure  and  exemption 

requirements;
(b)   six  hours  of  construction  business  practices  that 

includes the following:
(i)  estimating and bidding;
(ii)  contracts;
(iii)  project management;
(iv)  subcontractors; and
(v)  suppliers;
(c)  two hours of regulatory requirements that includes the 

following:
(i)  licensing laws;
(ii)   Occupational  Safety  and  Health  Administration 

(OSHA);
(iii)  Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); and
(iv)  consumer protection laws; and
(d)  two hours of mechanic lien fundamentals that include 

the State Construction Registry.
(5)  Program Schedule.
(a)   A  pre-licensure  education  provider  shall  offer 

programs at least 12 times per year.
(b)  The pre-licensure education provider is not obligated 

to provide a course if the provider determines the enrollment is not 
sufficient to reach breakeven on cost.

(6)  Program Instruction Requirements:  The pre-licensure 
education shall meet the following standards:

(a)  Time.   Each hour  of pre-licensure education credit 
shall consist of 60 minutes of education in the form of live lectures 
or training sessions.  Time allowed for lunches or breaks may not be 
counted as part of the education time for which education credit is 
issued.

(b)  Learning Objectives.  The learning objectives of the 
pre-licensure education shall be reasonably and clearly stated.

(c)  Teaching Methods.  The pre-licensure education shall 
be presented in a competent and well organized manner consistent 
with the stated purpose and objective of the program.  The student 
must demonstrate knowledge of the course material  and must be 
given a pass/fail grade.

(d)   Faculty.   The  pre-licensure  education  shall  be 
prepared  and  presented  by  individuals  who  are  qualified  by 
education, training or experience.
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(e)   Distance  Learning.   Distance  learning,  internet 
courses,  and  home  study  courses  are  not  allowed  to  meet  pre-
licensure education requirements.

(f)  Registration and Attendance.  The provider shall have 
a competent method of registration and verification of attendance of 
individuals who complete the pre-licensure education.

(g)   Education  Curriculum  and  Study/Resource  Guide. 
The  provider  shall  be  responsible  to  provide  or  develop  pre-
licensure education curriculum and study/resource guide for the pre-
licensure education that must be pre-approved by the Commission 
and the Division prior to use by the provider.

(7)   Certificates  of  Completion.   The  pre-licensure 
education  provider  shall  provide  individuals  completing  the  pre-
licensure  education  a  certificate  that  contains  the  following 
information:

(a)  the date of the pre-licensure education;
(b)  the name of the pre-licensure education provider;
(c)  the attendee's name;
(d)  verification of completion of the 20-hour requirement; 

and
(e)  the signature of the pre-licensure education provider.
(8)  Reporting of Program Completion.  A pre-licensure 

education  provider  shall,  within  seven  calendar  days,  submit 
directly to the Division verification of attendance and completion 
on behalf of persons attending and completing the program.  This 
verification shall be submitted on forms provided by the Division.

(9)   Program  Monitoring.   On  a  random  basis,  the 
Division or Commission may assign monitors at no charge to attend 
a pre-licensure education course for the purpose of evaluating the 
education and the instructor(s).

(10)  Documentation Retention.  Each provider shall for a 
period of four years maintain adequate documentation as proof of 
compliance with this section and shall,  upon request,  make such 
documentation  available  for  review  by  the  Division  or  the 
Commission.  Documentation shall include:

(a)  the dates of all pre-licensure education courses that 
have been completed;

(b)  registration and attendance logs of individuals who 
completed the pre-licensure education;

(c)   the  name  of  instructors  for  each  education  course 
provided as a part of the program; and

(d)  pre-licensure education handouts and materials.
(11)  Disciplinary Proceedings.   As provided in Section 

58-1-401  and  Subsection  58-55-302(1)(e)(iii),  the  Division  may 
refuse to renew or may revoke, suspend, restrict, place on probation, 
issue a public reprimand to, or otherwise act upon the approval of 
any pre-licensure education provider, if the pre-licensure education 
provider fails to meet any of the requirements of this section or the 
provider has engaged in other unlawful or unprofessional conduct.

(12)  Exemptions.  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-
302(1)(e)(iii),  the following persons are not required to complete 
the pre-licensure education program requirements:

(a)  a person holding a four-year bachelor degree or a two-
year  associate  degree  in  Construction  Management  from  an 
accredited program;

(b)   a  person  holding  an  active  and  unrestricted  Utah 
professional  engineer  license  who  is  applying  for  the  E100 
contractor license classification; or

(c)  a person who:

                 (i)    is a qualifier on an [existing ]active, [and ]unrestricted 
contractor license[ who is:];
                 (ii)  became the qualifier on the license that satisfies the   
requirements  of  R156-55a-302f(12)(c)(i)  on or  before  October  9, 
2014; and
                 (iii)(A)  applies  [
               (i)  applying] to add additional contractor classifications 
to the license; or

([ii]B)  [applying]applies to become a qualifier on a new 
entity that is applying for initial licensure.

R156-55a-303b.  Continuing Education - Standards.
(1)  Required Hours.  Pursuant to Subsection 58-55-302.5, 

each  licensee  shall  complete  a  total  of  six  hours  of  continuing 
education during each two year  license term[ except  that  for  the 
renewal term].  A minimum of three hours shall be core education. 
The  remaining  three  hours  are  to  be  professional  education. 
Additional core education hours beyond the required amount may 
be  substituted  for  professional  education  hours.  A minimum of 
three hours shall consist of live in-class attendance.  The remaining 
three  hours  may  consist  of  courses  provided  through  distance 
learning.

(a)   "Core  continuing  education"  is  defined  as 
construction codes, construction laws,  job site safety,  OSHA 10 or 
OSHA 30 safety training,  governmental  regulations pertaining to 
the  construction  trades  and  employee  verification  and  payment 
practices, finance and bookkeeping.

(b)   "Professional  continuing  education"  is  defined  as 
substantive subjects dealing with the practice  of the construction 
trades, including land development, land use, planning and zoning, 
energy  conservation,  professional  development,  arbitration 
practices,  estimating,  [finance  and  bookkeeping,  ]marketing 
techniques, servicing clients, personal and property protection for 
the licensee and the licensee's clients and similar topics.

(c)  The following course subject matter is not acceptable 
as  core  education  or  professional  education  hours:  mechanical 
office and business skills,  such as typing, speed reading, memory 
improvement  and report  writing;  physical  well-being or  personal 
development,  such  as  personal  and  business  motivation,  stress 
management,  time  management,  dress  for  success,  or  similar 
subjects; presentations by a supplier or a supplier representative to 
promote a particular product or line of products; and meetings held 
in  conjunction  with  the  general  business  of  the  licensee  or 
employer.

(d)   The  Division  may  defer  or  waive  the  continuing 
education requirements as provided in Section R156-1-308d.

(2)   A  continuing  education  course  shall  meet  the 
following standards:

(a)   Time.   Each  hour  of  continuing  education  course 
credit  shall  consist  of  50  minutes  of  education  in  the  form  of 
seminars,  lectures,  conferences,  training  sessions  or  distance 
learning modules.  The remaining ten minutes is to allow for breaks.

(b)   Provider.   The  course  provider  shall  meet  the 
requirements of this Section and shall be one of the following:

(i)   a  [recognized]regionally  or  nationally accredited 
college or university;

(ii)  a state or federal agency;
                 (iii)  an officially recognized International Code Council   
chapter;
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([iii]iv)   [a  professional  association  or  organization 
involved in the construction trades]a non-profit Utah construction 
trades  association  that  has  been  actively  involved  in  the 
construction trades in the state of Utah for five or more years and 
whose membership includes at least 25 contractors licensed in the 
state of Utah; or

([i]v)   a  commercial  continuing  education  provider 
[providing  a  program  related  to  the  construction  trades.]who 
demonstrates in an application that the provider:
                 (A)(I)   has  a  permanent  physical  classroom or  campus   
located in the state of Utah;
                 (II)  has an individual point of contact located in the state   
of Utah; and
                 (III)   will  comply  with  all  continuing  education   
requirements in Section R156-56a-303b;
                 (B)  has been approved as a continuing education provider   
by the Construction Services Commission with the concurrence of 
the Division; and
                 (C)   meets  with  the Construction Services  Commission   
upon request to review the application as an approved provider.

(c)  Content.  The content of the course shall be relevant 
to  the practice of the construction trades and consistent  with the 
laws and rules of this state.

(d)   Objectives.   The  learning objectives  of  the course 
shall be reasonably and clearly stated.

(e)  Teaching Methods.  The course shall be presented in a 
competent,  well  organized and sequential  manner  consistent with 
the stated purpose and objective of the program.

(f)  Faculty.  The course shall be prepared and presented 
by  individuals  who  are  qualified  by  education,  training  and 
experience.

(g)  Distance learning.  A course that is provided through 
Internet or home study may be recognized for continuing education 
if the course verifies registration and participation in the course by 
means of a test demonstrating that the participant has learned the 
material  presented.   Test  questions shall  be randomized for  each 
participant.  A home study course shall include no fewer than five 
variations  of  the  final  examination,  distributed  randomly  to 
participants.   Home  study  courses,  including  the  five  exam 
variations, shall be submitted in their entirety to the Division for  
review.  Providers shall be able to track the following:
                 (i)  the amount of time a student has spent in the course;  
                 (ii)  what activities the student did or did not access; and  
                 (iii)  all of the student's test scores.  

(h)   Documentation.   The course provider  shall  have  a 
competent  method  of  registration  of  individuals  who  actually 
completed the course, shall maintain records of attendance that are 
available for review by the Division and shall provide individuals 
completing  the  course  a  certificate  that  contains  the  following 
information:

(i)  the date of the course;
(ii)  the name of the course provider;
(iii)  the name of the instructor;
(iv)  the course title;
(v)  the hours of continuing education credit and type of 

credit (core or professional);
(vi)  the attendee's name; and
(v)  the signature of the course provider.

(3)  On a random basis, the Division may assign monitors 
at no charge to attend a course for the purpose of evaluating the  
course and the instructor.

(4)  Each licensee shall maintain adequate documentation 
as  proof  of  compliance  with  this  section,  such  as  certificates  of 
completion,  course  handouts  and  materials.   The  licensee  shall 
retain this proof for  a  period of three years  from the end of the 
renewal period for  which the continuing education is due.   Each 
licensee  shall  assure  that  the  course  provider  has  submitted  the 
verification of attendance to the continuing education registry on 
behalf of the licensee as specified in Subsection (8).  Alternatively,  
the licensee may submit the course for approval and pay any course 
approval fees and attendance recording fees.

(5)   Licensees  who  lecture  in  continuing  education 
courses  meeting  these  requirements  shall  receive  two  hours  of 
continuing education for each hour spent lecturing.  However, no 
lecturing or teaching credit is available for participation in a panel 
discussion.

(6)  The continuing education requirement for electricians, 
plumbers  and  elevator  mechanics  as  established  in  Subsection[s] 
58-55-302.7[ and 58-55-303(6), which is completed by an employee 
or  owner  of  a  contractor,]  shall  satisfy the  continuing  education 
requirement  for  contractors  as  established  in  Subsection  58-55-
302.5 and implemented herein.  The contractor licensee shall assure 
that  the  course  provider  has  submitted  the  verification  of  the 
electrician's, plumber's or elevator mechanic's attendance on behalf 
of the licensee to the continuing education registry as specified in 
Subsection (8).

(7)  A course provider shall submit continuing education 
courses for approval to the continuing education registry and shall 
submit  verification  of  attendance  and  completion  on  behalf  of 
licensees  attending  and  completing  the  program  directly  to  the 
continuing  education  registry  in  the  format  required  by  the 
continuing education registry.

(8)   The  Division  shall  review  continuing  education 
courses  which  have  been  submitted  through  the  continuing 
education registry and approve only those courses which meet the 
standards set forth under this Section.

(9)  As provided in Section 58-1-401 and Subsections 58-
55-302.5(2)  and  58-55-302.7(4)(a),  the  Division  may  refuse  to 
renew or may revoke, suspend, restrict, place on probation, issue a 
public  reprimand  to,  or  otherwise  act  upon  the  approval  of  any 
course or provider, if the course or provider fails to meet any of the 
requirements of this section or the provider has engaged in unlawful 
or unprofessional conduct.

(10)  Continuing Education Registry.
(a)  The Division shall designate an entity to act as the 

Continuing Education Registry under this rule.
(b)  The Continuing Education Registry,  in consultation 

with the Division and the Commission, shall:
(i)   through  its  internet  site  electronically  receive 

applications from continuing education course providers and shall 
submit  the  application  for  course  approval  to  the  Division  for 
review and approval of only those programs that meet the standards 
set forth under this Section;

(ii)   publish  on  their  website  listings  of  continuing 
education programs that have been approved by the Division, and 
which meet the standards for continuing education credit under this 
rule;
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(iii)   maintain  accurate  records  of  qualified  continuing 
education approved;

(iv)   maintain  accurate  records  of  verification  of 
attendance  and  completion,  by  individual  licensee,  which  the 
licensee may review for compliance with this rule; and

(v)   make  records  of  approved  continuing  education 
programs  and  attendance  and  completion  available  for  audit  by 
representatives of the Division.

(c)  Fees.  A continuing education registry may charge a 
reasonable fee  to continuing education providers  or  licensees for 
services provided for review and approval of continuing education 
programs.

KEY:  contractors, occupational licensing, licensing
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 
9, 2014]2015
Notice of Continuation:  October 4, 2011
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-106(1)
(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-55-101; 58-55-308(1)(a); 58-55-102(39)(a)

Education, Administration
R277-111

Sharing of Curriculum Materials by 
Public School Educators
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39078

FILED:  01/15/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  Rule R277-111 is amended to update terminology 
and remove unnecessary language.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendments 
to  Rule  R277-111  provide  minor  terminology  changes  and 
delete unnecessary language that is already provided in the 
rule.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) and Subsection 53A-
1-402(1)(e)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   The  amendments  update 
terminology  and  delete  unnecessary  language  which  likely 
will not result in a cost or savings to the state budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   The  amendments  update 
terminology  and  delete  unnecessary  language  which  likely 
will not result in a cost or savings to local government.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   The  amendments  update 
terminology  and  delete  unnecessary  language  which  likely 
will not result in a cost or savings to small businesses.

♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  amendments  update  terminology  and  delete 
unnecessary language which likely will not result in a cost or 
savings to persons other than small businesses, businesses, 
or local government entities.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
amendments  update  terminology  and  delete  unnecessary 
language which likely will not result in any compliance costs 
for affected persons.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
I have reviewed this rule and believe that there is likely no 
fiscal impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Brad Smith by phone at 801-538-7510, by FAX at 801-538-
7768, or by Internet E-mail at brad.smith@schools.utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED  BY:   Brad  Smith,  State  Superintendent  of 
Public Instruction

R277.  Education, Administration.
R277-111.  Sharing of Curriculum Materials by Public School 
Educators.
R277-111-1.  Definitions.

A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education.
B.   "Creative  Commons  License"  means  copyright 

licenses that grant certain rights such as the right to distribute the 
copyrighted work without changes, at no charge.  Works licensed 
under  a  Creative  Commons  License  is  protected  by  copyright 
applicable law.  Creative Commons Licenses are non-exclusive and 
non-revocable.
                 C.   "LEA"  means  a  local  education  agency,  including   
local school boards/public school districts, charter schools and, for 
purposes of this rule, the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

[C]D.   "[District/]LEA  materials"  means  materials 
purchased or developed by an [school district/charter school]LEA 
using  [district]LEA funds  or  resources,  including  materials, 
resources or activities which the [district]LEA requested employees 
to create, develop or compile during the employees' contract time.
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[D]E.   "Material(s)"  means  all  copyrightable  works, 
including  writings,  lectures,  musical  or  dramatic  compositions, 
sound  recordings,  films,  videotapes  and  other  pictorial  or 
technological  reproductions,  computer  programs,  listings,  charts, 
manuals, codes, instructions and software.

[E]F.   "Non-commercial  use"  means  use  or  exchange 
without payment or compensation of any kind.

[F]G.  "Personally developed materials" means materials 
developed by an educator.  These materials may be developed on 
the  educator's  contract  time  using  school  resources,  on  the 
educator's personal time using personal resources, as an individual 
employment assignment, or in conjunction with other colleagues.

[G]H.   "Teacher  curriculum  materials"  means  lesson 
plans, educator research materials, activities, teaching strategies or 
other  printed  or  electronic  materials  developed  by  the  public 
educator.

R277-111-2.  Authority and Purpose.
A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 

Section  3  which  vests  general  control  and supervision  of  Public 
Education  in  the  Board,  Section  53A-1-401(3)  which  allows  the 
Board to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities, and by 
Section  53A-1-402(1)(e)  which  directs  the  Board  to  encourage 
school productivity and cost effectiveness measures.

B.  The purpose of this rule is to provide information and 
assurance to public school educators about sharing materials created 
or developed by educators primarily for use in their own classes or 
assignments.   The  intent  of  this  rule  is  to  allow or   encourage 
educators to use valuable time and resources to improve instruction 
and  instructional  practices  with  assistance  from  appropriate 
materials developed by other educators.

R277-111-3.  Educators Sharing Materials.
A.   Utah  educators  may  share  materials  for 

noncommercial use that educators have developed primarily for use 
in their own classes, courses or assignments.

B.   Utah  educators  may only share  materials  that  they 
developed personally and may not unilaterally share materials that 
were  purchased  or  developed  by  or  on  behalf  of  their  public 
employer or the State.

C.   Utah  educators  may  only  share  materials  that  are 
consistent  with  R277-515  Utah  Educator  Professional  Standards. 
For  example,  educators  may  not  share  materials  that  advocate 
illegal  activities  or that  are inconsistent with their legal  and role 
model responsibilities as public employees and licensed educators.

D.  Utah educators may share materials under a Creative 
Commons  License  and  shall  be  personally  responsible  for 
understanding  and  satisfying  the  requirements  of  a  Creative 
Commons License.

E.  The presumption of this rule is that materials may be 
shared.   The  presumption  is  that  Utah  educators  need  not  seek 
permission  from  their  employers  to  share  personally-developed 
materials.[  However public school employers may provide notice 
to employees that materials developed with public school funds or 
during  public  school  employment  must  be  reviewed  by  the 
employer prior to sharing or distribution.]

F.   Public  educators  may  not  sell  teacher  curriculum 
materials developed in whole or in part with public education funds 

or developed within the employee's scope of employment to Utah 
educators.

R277-111-4.  [School District/Charter School]LEA Rights.
A.  Utah [school districts or charter schools]LEAs may 

develop and make available a policy that directs employees to seek 
review and approval  before  employees  share  materials  that  were 
developed  on  contract  time,  developed  partially  or  jointly  with 
[school  district/charter  school]LEA funding,   as  part  of  an 
[district/charter school]LEA assignment or if materials reference or 
imply [school district/charter school]LEA use or endorsement.

B.   Utah  [school  districts/charter  schools]LEAs may 
prohibit their employees from sharing materials that were purchased 
with [school district]LEA funds or which are licensed specifically 
for [school district/charter school]LEA use.

KEY:  curriculum materials, sharing
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
8, 2010]2015
Notice of Continuation:  January 15, 2015
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53A-1-401(3); 53A-1-402(1)(e)

Education, Administration
R277-468

Parent/Guardian Review of Public 
Education Curriculum and Review of 

Complaint Process
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(New Rule)
DAR FILE NO.:  39079

FILED:  01/15/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  purpose  of  Rule  R277-468  is  to  provide 
procedures  for  local  education  agencies  (LEAs)  to  involve 
parents in the adoption and review of LEA primary instruction 
materials  to  support  Utah  Core  Standards  and  to  include 
parents in reviewing complaints specific to primary curriculum 
materials.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Rule R277-468 
provides  responsibilities  for  LEAs  to  involve  parents  who 
have students who attend LEA schools and instruction staff in 
the consideration of LEA-purchased material and in reviewing 
complaints specific to primary curriculum materials.  The new 
rule also directs the Utah State Office of Education (USOE) to 
develop  suggestions  for  effective  parent  participation  and 
assist LEAs in policy development, upon request, and to the 
extent of resources available.
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STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) and Subsections 53A-
1-402(1)(b) and (c)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   USOE  responsibilities  to  assist 
LEAs will likely not result in additional cost or savings to the 
state budget.  It  is anticipated that  existing USOE staff  will 
implement requirements of this rule within existing budgets.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  LEA responsibilities to involve 
parents  in  primary  instructional  materials  and  complaint 
review processes  will  likely  not  result  in  additional  cost  or 
savings to local  government.   It  is  anticipated that  existing 
LEA staff  will  implement  requirements  of  this  rule  within 
existing budgets.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   Implementation  of  this  rule  will 
likely not result in a cost or savings to small businesses.  The 
requirements of this new rule do not affect businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Implementation of this rule will  likely not result in a cost or 
savings to persons other than small businesses, businesses, 
or local government entities.  Parents will now be involved in 
the  primary  instructional  materials  and  complaint  review 
processes.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS: 
Implementation  of  this  rule  will  likely  not  result  in  any 
compliance costs for affected persons.  It is anticipated that 
the USOE and LEAs will implement the requirements of this 
rule within existing budgets.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
I have reviewed this rule and I believe that there is likely no 
fiscal impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Brad Smith by phone at 801-538-7510, by FAX at 801-538-
7768, or by Internet E-mail at brad.smith@schools.utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED  BY:   Brad  Smith,  State  Superintendent  of 
Public Instruction

R277.  Education, Administration.
R277-468.   Parent/Guardian  Review  of  Public  Education 
Curriculum and Review of Complaint Process.
R280-468-1.  Definitions.
                 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education.  
                 B.   "Instructional  materials"  means  systematically   
arranged content in text or digital format which may be used within 
the state curriculum framework for grade levels or courses of study 
by  students  in  public  schools  including  text  books,  workbooks, 
computer software, online or Internet courses, CDs or DVDs and 
multiple forms of communication media.  Such materials may be 
used by students or teachers or both as principal sources of study to 
cover any portion of the grade level or course.  These materials:
                 (1)  shall be designed for student use;  
                 (2)  may be accompanied by or contain teaching guides   
and study helps;
                 (3)  shall include all text books, workbooks and student   
materials  and  supplements  necessary  for  a  student  to  fully 
participate in coursework; and
                 (4)  shall be high quality, research-based and prove to be   
effective in supporting student learning.
                 C.   "LEA"  means  a  local  education  agency,  including   
local school boards/public school districts, charter schools, and, for 
purposes of this rule, the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
                 D.   "Parent  or  guardian"  means  the  individual  that   
establishes the residency of  the child  under  Sections 53A-2-201, 
53A-2-202, or 53A-2-207 or another applicable Utah guardianship 
provision.
                 E.   "Primary  instructional  materials"  means   
comprehensive  or  basal  Core textbook or  integrated instructional 
program for which a publisher seeks a recommendation for Core 
subjects as outlined in Sections R277-700-4, 5 or 6.

R277-468-2.  Authority and Purpose.
                 A.  This rule is authorized under Utah Constitution Article   
X,  Section  3  which  vests  general  control  and  supervision  over 
public  education in  the Board,  Sections 53A-1-402(1)(b)  and (c) 
which requires the Board to establish rules regarding competency 
levels,  graduation  requirements,  school  accreditation,  curriculum 
and instruction requirements, and school libraries, and Section 53A-
1-401(3) which allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with 
its responsibilities.
                 B.  The purpose of this rule is to direct LEAs, consistent   
with the Board's responsibility to involve parents in the adoption 
and review of LEA primary instructional materials to support Utah 
Core  Standards,  and  to  include  parents  in  reviewing  complaints 
specific to primary curriculum materials.

R277-468-3.  LEA Board Responsibilities.
                 A.   Each LEA shall  involve parents who have students   
who attend LEA schools and instructional staff in the consideration 
of LEA-purchased instructional materials.
                 B.   Each  LEA  shall  include  parents  in  reviewing   
complaints specific to primary curriculum materials.
                 C.  LEAs may seek assistance from parent organizations   
or associations or other groups to recruit and select parent members 
for materials and complaint reviews.
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R277-468-4.  USOE Responsibilities.
                 A.  The USOE shall develop and make readily available to   
LEAs  suggestions  for  effective  parent  participation  in  the 
instructional  materials  review  process  and  the  complaint  review 
process.
                 B.  The USOE shall assist LEAs in policy development,   
upon request and to the extent of resources available.

KEY:  parent/guardian, committees, curriculum, complaints
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2015
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53A-1-402(1)(b); 53A-1-402(1)(c); 53A-1-401(3)

Environmental Quality, Drinking Water
R309-500

Facility Design and Operation:  Plan 
Review, Operation and Maintenance 

Requirements
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39076

FILED:  01/14/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  Engineering  Section  of  the  Division  of 
Drinking  Water  was  tasked  to  review  the  Drinking  Water 
R309-500 series rules for revisions, clarifications, corrections, 
updates, etc.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
amendments  to  Rule  R309-500  correct  grammar,  spelling, 
punctuation,  and  capitalization.   The  text  is  revised  for 
improved  clarity  and  accuracy.   Inaccurate  references  are 
corrected  and  unnecessary  and  repetitive  references  are 
deleted.  The rule format is revised for ease of reading and to 
make references to specific requirements easier to cite.  Rule 
requirements are revised to reflect actual practice related to 
Plan  Approval,  Plan  Submittal  Waivers,  and  Operating 
Permits  for  public  water  systems.   Substantive changes  to 
Rule R309-500 include the following:  1)  in Subsection R309-
500-4(1)(a), add the requirement that for documents related 
to plan approval "all submittals shall be from the public water 
system or its agent";  2) in Subsection R309-500-5(1)(c)(iii), 
add "a change or addition of a water treatment process" as 
an  example  of  a  public  drinking  water  project;  3)  in 
Subsection R309-500-5(1)(c)(v),  add "deepening a well"  as 
an  example  of  a  public  drinking  water  project;  4)  in 
Subsection  R309-500-6(1),  delete  the  list  of  information 
required  to  be  included  on  a  project  notification  form and 
state simply that  project  notification to be made on a form 
provided by the Division; 5) in Subsection R309-500-6(2)(b),

add  the  following  examples  as  information  that  may  be 
required to be submitted to the Division prior to construction: 
"hydraulic analyses of the existing system and additions, local 
requirements for fire flow and duration,  proximity of  sewers 
and  other  utilities.";  6)  in  Subsection  R309-500-6(2)(c), 
replace  the  requirement  that  plans  and  specifications  "be 
sufficiently detailed to assure that the project shall be properly 
constructed" with the requirement that they "be complete and 
sufficiently detailed for actual construction."; 7) in Subsection 
R309-500-6(2)(b), add that "in some cases, a profile drawing 
may be required to  show potential  water  line conflicts  and 
clearances"  as  part  of  plans  submitted  for  review;  8)  in 
Subsection  R309-500-6(2)(d),  delete  the  size  restriction on 
plans submitted for review; 9) in Subsection R309-600-6(3), 
the Plan Submittal Waiver provision is entirely rewritten.  The 
waiver  program  remains  largely  the  same  with  two 
exceptions:   1)  Pressure  Reducing  Valves  are  no  longer 
excluded from waivers, and 2) projects that qualify for Plan 
Submittal  Waivers no longer require Operating Permits.  In 
place  of  obtaining  an  Operating  Permit,  the  following  is 
required:  "submit a certification by a professional engineer, 
who  is  responsible  for  the  design  and  construction  of  the 
project or has been designated by the water system in writing 
as  the  professional  engineer  directly  responsible  for  the 
design of the entire water system, indicating that design and 
construction will  meet the requirements of  Rules R309-500 
through R309-550, that  proper flushing and disinfection will 
be  completed  according  to  the  appropriate  ANSI/AWWA 
standard, that satisfactory bacteriological sampler results will 
be obtained prior to placing the facilities into service, and that 
the  water  system will  receive  a  copy  of  as-built  or  record 
drawings."; 10) in Section R309-500-7, add the "Department 
of Environmental Quality" to the list of agencies authorized to 
visit  drinking water construction sites;  11) in Section R309-
500-10,  specify  that  as  part  of  the  drinking  water  plan 
approval process, public water systems may be required to 
provide evidence that the methods of "waste and wastewater 
disposal  have  been  approved  or  accepted  by  the  Utah 
Division of Water Quality, the local health agency, or the local 
authority for new drinking water facilities, including discharges 
from treatment facilities,  discharges related to construction, 
etc.,  and  new  drinking  water  facilities  serving  proposed 
developments.";  12)  in  Section  R309-500-11,  the  Financial 
Viability section is deleted in its entirety; 13) in Section R309-
500-12,  add  more  expansive  language  concerning  other 
permits that may be required prior to beginning construction 
or placing new facilities into service; 14) in Section R309-500-
14,  the  Reference  Documents  section  is  deleted  in  its 
entirety;  and 15) in  Section R309-500-15,  the Violations of 
These Rules section is deleted in its entirety.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 104(1)(a)(ii) and Title 19, Chapter 4

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed amendments to Rule 
R309-500  are  not  expected  to  result  in  a  change  in  the 
workload of the Division of Drinking Water and should have 
no effect on the state budget.
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♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   Local  governments  that  own 
and  operate  public  water  systems  will  be  affected  by  the 
proposed  amendments  to  Rule  R309-500.   However,  the 
proposed  amendments  are  not  expected  to  result  in 
increased costs and could possibly result in savings for local 
governments that own and operate public water systems and 
obtain Plan Submittal Waivers because amendments to the 
waiver program reduce compliance costs.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   Small  businesses  that  own  and 
operate public water systems will be affected by the proposed 
amendments  to  Rule  R309-500.   However,  the  proposed 
amendments  are  not  expected  to  result  in  new  costs  or 
savings for the types of water systems owned and operated 
by small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Owners,  operators,  and customers of  public water systems 
are persons directly or indirectly affected by Rule R309-500. 
Because the proposed amendments to Rule R309-500 are 
not  expected  to  result  in  increased  costs  to  public  water 
systems,  there  should  be  no  new costs  for  any  of  these 
persons because of the proposed amendments.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Plan 
review,  operation,  and  maintenance  costs  for  public  water 
systems are not expected to change because of the proposed 
amendments  to  Rule  R309-500.   Public  water  systems 
eligible to use Plan Submittal Waivers are expected to see 
slightly lower  costs associated with  the use of  the waivers 
due to reduced compliance costs.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This proposed rule amendment will  have no negative fiscal 
impact  on  businesses.   The  changes  will  not  have  a 
significant effect on public water systems and will clarify plan 
review,  operation,  and  maintenance  requirements  as  they 
pertain to public water systems.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
DRINKING WATER
THIRD FLOOR 
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Bernie Clark by phone at 801-536-0092, or by Internet E-
mail at bernieclark@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Ken Bousfield, Director

R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water.
R309-500.  Facility Design and Operation: Plan Review, Operation 
and Maintenance Requirements.
R309-500-1.  Purpose.

The  purpose  of  this  rule  is  to  describe  plan  review 
procedures  and requirements,  clarify projects  requiring review,  and 
inspection requirements for drinking water projects.  It is intended to 
be applied  in  conjunction  with  rules  R309-500 through R309-550. 
Collectively, these rules govern the design, construction, operation and 
maintenance of public drinking water system facilities.  These rules are 
intended to assure that such facilities are reliably capable of supplying 
adequate  quantities  of  water  which  consistently  meet  applicable 
drinking  water  quality  requirements  and  do  not  pose  a  threat  to 
[general ]public health.

R309-500-2.  Authority.
This rule is promulgated by the Drinking Water Board as 

authorized by Title 19, Environmental Quality Code, Chapter 4, Safe 
Drinking Water Act, Subsection 104(1)(a)(ii) of the Utah Code and in 
accordance  with  Title  63G,  Chapter  3  of  the  same,  known  as  the 
Administrative Rulemaking Act.

R309-500-3.  Definitions.
Definitions for certain terms used in this rule are given in 

R309-110 but may be further clarified herein.

R309-500-4.  General.
(1)   Construction [and Operation  ]of  New Facilities and 

Modification of Existing Facilities.
(a)  [As authorized in 19-4-106(3) of the Utah Code, the 

Director may review p]Plans, specifications, and other data pertinent to 
[proposed or expanded water supply systems to insure proper design 
and construction]new facilities, or existing facilities of public drinking 
water  systems  not  previously  reviewed,  shall  be  submitted  to  the 
Director  for  review for  conformance  with  rules  R309-500 through 
R309-550.  All submittals shall be from the public water system or its 
agent.
[              Plans and specifications and a business plan as required by 
R309-800-5, along with a completed project notification form, shall be 
submitted to the Director for any new water systems or previously un-
reviewed water systems unless acceptable data can be presented that 
the proposed or existing water system will not become a "public water 
system" as defined in 19-4-102 of the Utah Code or in R309-110.  
               Construction of new facilities for public water systems or 
existing  facilities  of  previously  un-reviewed  public  drinking  water 
systems  shall  conform  to  rules  R309-500  through  R309-550;  the 
"Facility Design and Operation" rules.  There may be times in which 
the requirements of the Facility Design and Operation rules are not 
appropriate.   Thus,  the  Director  may grant  an  "exception"  to  the 
Facility Design and Operation rules if it can be shown that the granting 
of such an exception will not jeopardize the public health.  
]                (b)  The Director has the authority to grant an exception to   
R309-500 through R309-550 per R309-105-6(2)(b).  
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(c)  Construction of a public drinking water project shall not 
begin until complete plans and specifications have [been approved in 
writing]received Plan Approval or a Plan Submittal Waiver has been 
issued by the Director[ unless waivers have been issued as allowed by 
R309-500-6(3).   This  approval  shall  be  referred  to  as  the  Plan 
Approval].

(d)  [Furthermore, n]No new public drinking water facility 
shall be put into operation until  the Director has issued an Operating 
Permit or a Plan Submittal Waiver[written approval to do so has been 
given by the Director or this requirement waived.  This approval is 
referred to as the Operating Permit].

(2)   Minimum  Quantity  and  Quality  Requirements  for 
Existing Facilities.

All existing public drinking water systems shall be capable 
of reliably delivering water [which]that meets[ the minimum] current 
[standard  of  ]drinking  water  minimum  quantity  and  quality 
requirements.  The  Director  may  require  modification  of  existing 
systems in accordance with R309-500 through R309-550 when such 
modifications are needed to reliably achieve minimum quantity and 
quality requirements.

(3)  Operation and Maintenance[ of Existing Facilities].
Public drinking water system facilities shall be operated and 

maintained in a manner [which]that protects[ the] public health.  As a 
minimum, [the  ]operation and maintenance procedures [of]described 
in R309-500 through R309-550 shall be [adhered to]met.

R309-500-5.  Public Drinking Water Project.
(1)  Definition.
A public drinking water project, requiring [the ]submittal of 

a  [p]Project  [n]Notification  [f]Form  [along  with]and plans  and 
specifications, is any of the following:

(a)   [The  c]Construction  of  any  facility  for  a  proposed 
drinking water system[ (see 19-4-106(3) of the Utah Code or R309-
500-4(1) above describing the authority of the Director)].

(b)  Any addition to, or modification of, the facilities of an 
existing  public  drinking  water  system  [which]that may  affect  the 
quality or quantity of water delivered.

(c)   Any  activity,  other  than  on-going  operation  and 
maintenance procedures, [which]that may affect the quality or quantity 
of water delivered by an existing public drinking water system.  Such 
activities may include:

(i)  the interior re-coating or re-lining of any raw or drinking 
water storage tank,  or water  storage chamber within any treatment 
facility,

(ii)  the ["]in-situ["] re-lining of any pipeline,
(iii)  a change or addition of [any primary coagulant]a water 

treatment  [chemical  (excluding  filter,  flocculent  or  coagulant  aids) 
when the proposed chemical does not appear on a list of chemicals pre-
approved  by the  Director  for  a  specific  treatment  facility]process,
[ and]

(iv)   the  re-development  of  any  spring  or  well  source,   
[or]and  
                 (v)     replacement  of  a  well  pump  with  one  of  different 
capacity or deepening a well.

(2)  On-going Operation and Maintenance Procedures.
On-going  operation  and  maintenance  procedures  are  not 

considered public  drinking water  projects and,  accordingly,  are not 
subject to the project notification, plan approval and operating permit 
requirements of this rule.  However, these activities shall be carried out 

in  accordance  with  all  [operation  and  maintenance  ]requirements 
contained in R309-500 through R309-550 and specifically the design, 
construction,  disinfection, flushing and bacteriological sampling and 
testing  requirements  [of  ANSI/AWWA  C651-05  for  pipelines, 
ANSI/AWWA C652-02 for storage facilities, and ANSI/AWWA C654-
03 for wells  ]before [they]the facilities are placed back into service. 
The following activities are considered to be on-going operation and 
maintenance procedures:

(a)  pipeline leak repair,
(b)  replacement of existing deteriorated pipeline where the 

new pipeline segment is the same size as the old pipeline or the new 
segment is upgraded to meet the minimum pipeline sizes required by 
R309-550-5(4) or larger sizes as determined by a hydraulic analysis in 
accordance with R309-550-5(3),

(c)  tapping existing water mains with corporation stops so 
as to make connection to new service laterals to individual structures,

(d)  distribution pipeline additions where the pipeline size is 
the same as the main supplying the addition or the pipeline addition 
meets the minimum pipeline sizes required by R309-550-5(4) or larger 
sizes as determined by a hydraulic analysis in accordance with R309-
550-5(3), the length is less than 500 feet and contiguous segments of 
new pipe total less than 1000 feet in any fiscal year,

(e)   entry  into  a  drinking  water  storage  facility  for  the 
purposes of inspection, cleaning and maintenance, and

(f)   replacement  of  equipment  or  pipeline  appurtenances 
with  the same type,  size  and rated capacity (fire  hydrants,  valves, 
pressure  regulators,  meters,  service  laterals,  chemical  feeders  and 
booster pumps including deep well pumps).

R309-500-6.  Plan Approval Procedure.
(1)  Project Notification.
The Division shall be notified prior to the construction of 

any  "public  drinking  water  project"  as  defined  in  R309-500-5(1) 
above.   The  notification  may  be  prior  to  or  simultaneous  with 
submission  of  construction plans and  specifications  as  required  by 
R309-500-6(2) below.  Notification shall be made [by the management 
of  the  regulated  public  water  system  ]on  a  form provided  by the 
Division.[  Information required by this form shall be determined by 
the Division and may include:  
               (a)   whether  the  project  is  for  a  new or  existing  public 
drinking water system,  
               (b)  the professional engineer, registered in the State of Utah, 
designing the project and his/her experience designing public drinking 
water projects within the state,  
               (c)   the  individual(s)  who will  be  inspecting the  project 
during construction and whether such inspection will be full-time or 
part time,  
               (d)   whether  required  approvals  or  permits  from  other 
governmental  agencies  (e.g.  local  planning  commissions,  building 
inspectors, Utah Division of Water Rights) are awaiting approval by 
the Director, the agency's name and contact person,  
               (e)  the fire marshal, fire district or other entity having legal 
authority to specify requirements for fire suppression in the project 
area,  
               (f)  for community and non-transient non-community public 
water systems or any public water system treating surface water, the 
name of the certified operator who is, or will be, in direct responsible 
charge of the water system,  
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               (g)  whether the water system has a registered professional 
engineer  employed,  appointed  or  designated  as  being  directly 
responsible  for  the  entire  system design  and  his  or  her  name and 
whether  the  system is  requesting waiving  of  plan  submittal  under 
conditions of R309-500-6 (3),  
               (h)  the anticipated construction schedule, and  
               (i)  a description of the type of legal entity responsible for 
the  water  system  (i.e.  corporation,  political  subdivision,  mutual 
ownership, individual ownership, etc.) and the status of the entity with 
respect to the rules of the Utah Public Service Commission.]

(2)  Pre-Construction Requirements.
All  of  the  following  shall  be  accomplished  before 

construction of any public drinking water project [commences]begins:
(a)  [Contract documents, p]Plans and specifications for a 

public drinking water project shall be submitted to the Division at least 
30 days prior to the date on which action is desired[ unless the system 
is eligible for and has requested waiving of plan submittal].
                 (b)    [Any  s]Submittals  required [shall]may include 
engineering reports, [pipe network ]hydraulic analyses of the existing 
system and additions, local requirements for fire flow and duration, 
proximity  of  sewers  and  other  utilities,  water  consumption  data, 
supporting information, evidence of rights-of-way and reference to any 
previously submitted master plans pertinent to the project, [along with 
]a description of a program for keeping existing water works facilities 
in  operation  during construction  so  as  to  minimize  interruption  of 
service, etc.

([b]c)  [Plans and specifications shall be prepared for every 
anticipated  public  water  system project.   The  design  utilized  shall 
conform  to  the  requirements  of  R309-500  through  R309-550. 
Furthermore,  the  p]Plans  and  specifications  submitted shall  be 
complete and  sufficiently detailed [to assure that the project shall be 
properly  constructed]for  actual  construction.   [Drawings  shall  be 
compatible  with  Division's  document  storage  and  microfilming 
practice.]In some cases, a profile drawing may be required to show 
potential water line conflicts and clearances.  
                 (d)    Drawings [which]that are illegible or of unusual size 
[shall]will not be accepted for review.[  Drawing size shall not exceed 
30" x 42" nor be less than 8-1/2" x 11".]

([c]e)  The plans and specifications shall be stamped and 
signed  by a  licensed  professional  engineer  [in  accordance  with]as 
required by Section 58-22-602(2) of the Utah Code.

([d]f)   [Plans  and  specifications  shall  be  reviewed  for 
conformance  with  R309-500  through  R309-550.   No  work  shall 
commence on a public water system project until a plan approval has 
been issued by the Director unless conditions outlined in R309-500-
6(3) are met and waiving of plan submittal  has been requested.  ]If 
construction  or  the  ordering  of  substantial  equipment  has  not 
commenced within one year, a renewal of the Plan Approval shall be 
obtained prior to proceeding with construction.
[              (e)  If, in the judgment of the Director, alternate designs or 
specific solutions can protect the public health to the same or greater 
extent as achieved in R309-500 through R309-550, the Director may 
grant an exception thereto (see the third paragraph of R309-500-4(1)).  
               (f)   Novel  equipment  or  treatment  techniques  may  be 
developed which are not specifically addressed by these rules.  These 
may be accepted by the Director if it can be shown that:  
               (i)   the  technique  will  produce  water  meeting  the 
requirements of R309-200 of these rules,  

               (ii)  the Director has determined that it will protect public 
health to the same extent provided by comparable treatment processes 
outlined in these rules, and  
               (iii)  the Director has determined the technique is as reliable 
as any comparable treatment process outlined is these rules.  
               (3)  Waiving of Plan Submittal Requirement.  
               With identification of a professional engineer, as indicated 
below, on a project notification form the plan submittal requirement 
may be waived for certain projects.  In these instances, in lieu of plans 
and  specifications,  a  "certification  of  rule  conformance"  shall  be 
submitted  along  with  the  additional  information  required  for  an 
operating  permit  (see  R309-500-9),  signed  by  the  professional 
engineer  identified  to  Director  in  (b)  or,  if  the  system  has  not 
employed, appointed, or designated such, the registered professional 
engineer  who prepared the  items  in (a).   Projects  eligible  for  this 
waiving of plan submittal are:  
               (a)  distribution system improvements (excluding pressure 
reducing  valve  stations  and  in-line  booster  pump  stations)  which 
conform to a "master plan" previously reviewed and approved by the 
Director  and  installed  in  accordance  with  the  system's  standard 
installation drawings, also previously reviewed and approved by the 
Director, or  
               (b)  distribution system improvements consisting solely of 
pipelines  and  pipeline  appurtenances  (excluding  pressure  reducing 
valve stations and in-line booster pump stations);  
               (i)   less  than  or  equal  to  4  inches  in  diameter  in  water 
systems (without fire hydrants) serving solely a residential population 
less than 3,300;  
               (ii)   less  than or  equal  to  8 inches in  diameter  in  water 
systems  (with  fire  hydrants)  providing  water  for  mixed  use 
(commercial, industrial, agricultural and/or residential) to a population 
less than 3,300;  
               (iii)  less than or equal to 12 inches in diameter in water 
systems(with  fire  hydrants)  providing  water  for  mixed  use  to  a 
population between 3,300 and 50,000;  
               (iv)  less than or equal to 16 inches in diameter in water 
systems  (with  fire  hydrants)  providing  water  for  mixed  use  to  a 
population greater than 50,000.  
               Additionally, the above systems in (b) shall employ, appoint 
or  designate  a  registered  professional  engineer  who  is  directly 
responsible for the entire public water system design and identify this 
individual  to  the  Director  as  well  as  have  standard  installation 
drawings previously reviewed and approved by the Director before 
being eligible for waiving of plan submittal requirements.  
]                (3)  Eligibility for Plan Submittal Waivers.      
                 In  lieu  of  submitting  plans  and  specifications  for  Plan   
Approval  and obtaining Operating Permits,  public  water  systems 
may request  Plan Submittal  Waivers  for  two types  of  water  line 
projects  (excluding  booster  pump  stations)  after  first  becoming 
eligible  to  request  the  waivers.   The  Director  will  issue  written 
notification that a public water system is eligible to request the Plan 
Submittal Waivers described in R309-500-6(3)(a) and (3)(b) if the 
information provided is acceptable.
                 (a)  Water Line Projects Included in an Approved Master   
Plan.  To become eligible to request this type of waiver, a public 
water  system must  submit  standard  installation  drawings,  which 
meet the requirements  in R309-550,  and a master plan,  which is 
supported by a hydraulic analysis, to the Director for approval.
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                 (b)   Water  Line  Projects  Included  in  (i)  through  (iii)   
below.  To become eligible to request this type of waiver, a public 
water  system must  submit  standard  installation  drawings,  which 
meet  the  requirements  in  R309-550,  and  identify  in  writing  the 
professional engineer or engineers responsible for the oversight of 
the hydraulic analysis for and the design of the entire water system 
to the Director for approval.
                 (i)    W  ater lines less than or equal to 8 inches in diameter   
in water systems  providing water to a population less than 3,300;
                 (ii)  Water lines less than or equal to 12 inches in diameter   
in water systems providing water to a population between 3,300 and 
50,000; or
                 (iii)   Water  lines  less  than  or  equal  to  16  inches  in   
diameter in water systems providing water to a population greater 
than 50,000.
                 (4)  Using Plan Submittal Waivers.  
                 After becoming eligible to request Plan Submittal Waivers   
per  R309-500-6(3),  a  public  water  system  must  complete  the 
following when requesting a Plan Submittal Waiver for a water line 
project:
                 (a)   Submit  a  complete  Project  Notification  Form   
describing the project and specifying which Plan Submittal Waiver, 
R309-500-6(3)(a) or R309-500-6(3)(b), is being requested;
                 (b)  For projects that will have a hydraulic impact, submit   
a certification of hydraulic analysis by a professional engineer per 
R309-511-6(1)  indicating  that  the  design  will  not  result  in 
unacceptable pressure and flow conditions (including fire flow if 
fire hydrants are installed);
                 (c)  Submit a certification by a professional engineer, who   
is responsible for the design and construction of the project or has 
been designated by the water system in writing as the professional 
engineer  directly  responsible  for  the  design  of  the  entire  water 
system,  indicating  that  design  and  construction  will  meet  the 
requirements  of R309-500 through 550,  that  proper  flushing and 
disinfection  will  be  completed  according  to  the  appropriate 
ANSI/AWWA  standard,  that  satisfactory  bacteriological  sample 
results will be obtained prior to placing the facilities into service, 
and that the water system will receive a copy of as-built or record  
drawings;
                 (d)  Obtain a written Plan Submittal  Waiver,  in  lieu of   
Plan Approval, from the Director prior to the start of construction;  
and
                 (e)  Comply with the conditions in R309-500-6(4)(c) prior   
to placing the new facilities into service.

R309-500-7.  Inspection [D]during Construction.
Staff  from  the  Division,  [or]the  Department  of 

Environmental Quality, or the [appropriate  ]local health department, 
after reasonable notice and presentation of credentials, may make visits 
to the work site to assure compliance with these rules.

R309-500-8.  Change Orders.
Any  deviations  from  approved  plans  or  specifications 

affecting  capacity,  hydraulic  conditions,  operating  units,  the 
functioning of water treatment processes, or the quality of water to be 
delivered, shall be reported to the Director.  [If deemed appropriate, 
t]The Director may require that revised plans and specifications be 
submitted for review.  [R]If required, revised plans or specifications 
shall be submitted to the Division in time to permit the review and 

Director's  approval  of  such  plans  or  specifications  before  any 
construction work, which will be affected by such changes, is begun.

R309-500-9.  [Issuance of ]Operating Permit.
The  Division  shall  be  informed  when  a  public  drinking 

water project, or a well-defined phase thereof, is at or near completion. 
The new or modified facility shall not be [used]placed into service   
until an ["]Operating Permit["] or a Plan Submittal Waiver is issued[, 
in writing,] by the Director.  [This p]The Operating Permit [shall]will   
not be issued until all of the following items are submitted and found 
to be acceptable for all projects. [with the exception of d] Distribution 
lines (not including in-line booster pump stations[ or pressure reducing 
stations]), [which ]may be placed into service prior to submittal of all 
items if the professional engineer responsible for the entire system, as 
identified to the Director, has received items (1) and (4):

(1)   [a  statement  from a  registered]Certification  of  Rule 
Conformance by a professional engineer that all conditions of Plan 
Approval  were  accomplished  [("certification  of  rule 
conformance")]and if  applicable,  changes made during construction 
were in conformance with rules R309-500 through 550,

(2)   as-built  or  ["]record["]  drawings incorporating  all 
changes to approved plans and specifications[;], unless no changes are 
made  from  previously  submitted  and  approved  plans  during 
construction,

(3)  confirmation that a copy of the as-built  or ["]record["] 
drawings has been received by the water system owner,

(4)   evidence  of  proper  flushing  and  disinfection  in 
accordance with the appropriate ANSI/AWWA Standard,

(5)  where appropriate, water quality data,  
[              (6)  a statement from the Engineer indicating what changes 
to the project were necessary during construction, and certification that 
all  of  these  changes  were  in  conformance  with  these  rules 
("certification of rule conformance"),  
] ([7]6)   all  other  documentation  which  may  have  been 
required during the plan review process, and

([8]7)  confirmation that the water system owner has been 
provided  with  an Operation  and  Maintenance manual  for  the  new 
facility if applicable.

R309-500-10.  [Adequacy of]Waste and Wastewater Disposal.
[P]Approval  of  plans  and  specifications  [for  new water 

systems,  or  facilities  required  as  a  result  of  proposed  subdivision 
additions to existing water systems, shall only be approved if]  may 
require  evidence  showing  that  the  method[(]s[)]  of  waste  and 
wastewater  disposal  [in  the  affected  area  ]have  been  approved or 
accepted[, or been determined to be feasible,] by the [Director of the ]
Utah  Division of Water  Quality, [or  ]the [appropriate  ]local  health 
agency, or the local authority for[.]:  
                 (1)  new drinking water facilities, including discharges from   
treatment facilities, discharges related to construction, etc., and  
                 (2)   new  drinking  water  facilities  serving  proposed   
developments.  

[R309-500-11.  Financial Viability.  
               Owners of new or existing water systems are encouraged to 
develop  realistic  financial  strategies  for  recouping  the  costs  of 
constructing  and  operating  their  systems.   Plans  for  water  system 
facilities shall not be approved when it is obvious that public health 
will  eventually  be  threatened  because  the  anticipated  usage  of  the 
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system will not generate sufficient funds to insure proper operation and 
maintenance of the system (see also R309-352-5).  

]R309-500-[12]11.  Fee Schedule.
The Division may charge a fee [for]related to the review of 

plans and specifications.  A fee schedule is available from the Division.

R309-500-[13]12.  Other Permits.
[Local, county or other state permits may also be necessary 

before beginning construction of any drinking water project.]Local, 
county, federal, and other state authorities may impose different, more 
stringent, or additional requirements for public drinking water projects. 
Water  systems  may  be  required  to  comply  with  other  permitting 
requirements before beginning construction of drinking water projects 
or placing new facilities into service.  

[R309-500-14.  Reference Documents.  
               All  references  made  in  R309-500  through  R309-550 are 
available for inspection at the Division's office.  

R309-500-15.  Violations of These Rules.  
               Violations of rule contained in R309-500 through R309-550 
are subject to the provisions of the Utah Safe Drinking Water Act (Title 
19, Chapter 4 Section 109 of the Utah Code) and may be subject to 
fines and penalties.  

]KEY:  drinking water, plan review, operation and maintenance 
requirements, permits
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 28, 
2013]2015  
Notice of Continuation:  March 22, 2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-4-104

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control

R313-15-1208
Reports of Leaking or Contaminated 

Sealed Sources
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39082

FILED:  01/15/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Incorporate  a  change  identified  by  the  U.S. 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) in order to maintain 
compatibility of the Utah radiation control rules with those of 
the NRC in 10 CFR (Code of Federal Regulations).

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R313-15-
1208  references  Section  R313-15-1401  which  no  longer

exists.  Therefore, Section R313-15-1208 is no longer valid 
and needs to be removed from the Utah Radiation Control 
Rules.  Leak testing of sealed sources will be required by a 
federal  rule  or  a  radioactive  materials  license  condition. 
Reports  of  leaking sources  will  be  reported  to  the  director 
pursuant to a federal rule or a radioactive materials license 
condition.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  10 CFR and Section 19-3-104 and Section 19-
3-108

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings to the state budget.  The proposed changes do not 
add  or  remove  significant  requirements  that  affect  the 
radiation  control  program  or  the  Utah  Radiation  Control 
Board.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings for local government agencies that possess sealed 
sources  of  radioactive  material  that  require  leak  testing 
because proposed changes do not add or remove significant 
requirements.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   Small  businesses  and  persons 
other  than  businesses  may  hold  a  radioactive  material 
license, but there is no anticipated cost or savings for small 
businesses and persons other than businesses.  Leak testing 
of sealed sources is currently required by the incorporation of 
federal  requirements  or  a  radioactive  materials  license 
condition.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Persons  other  than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local 
government entities may hold a radioactive material license, 
but there is no anticipated cost or savings for persons other 
than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local  government 
entities  because proposed changes  do  not  add  or  remove 
significant requirements.  Leak testing of sealed sources is 
currently  required  by  the  incorporation  of  federal 
requirements or a radioactive materials license condition.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no changes in compliance costs for persons affected by 
Section R313-15-1208.  The proposed changes do not add or 
remove significant requirements that affected persons.  Leak 
testing  of  sealed  sources  is  currently  required  by  the 
incorporation  of  federal  requirements  or  a  radioactive 
materials license condition.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
Businesses with a radioactive material license will not see a 
fiscal impact due to the proposed changes to Section R313-
15-1208.  The  proposed  changes  do  not  add  or  remove 
significant requirements that affect businesses.  Leak testing 
of sealed sources is currently required by the incorporation of 
federal  requirements  or  a  radioactive  materials  license 
condition.
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THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
RADIATION CONTROL
THIRD FLOOR 
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Spencer Wickham by phone at 801-536-0082, by FAX at 
801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at swickham@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Rusty Lundberg, Director

R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control.
R313-15.  Standards for Protection Against Radiation.
[R313-15-1208.   Reports  of  Leaking  or  Contaminated  Sealed 
Sources.  
               If the test for leakage or contamination required pursuant to 
Section  R313-15-1401  indicates  a  sealed  source  is  leaking  or 
contaminated, a report of the test shall be filed within five days with 
the Director describing the equipment involved, the test results and the 
corrective action taken.  

]KEY:   radioactive  materials,  contamination,  waste  disposal, 
safety
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 19, 
2011]2015  
Notice of Continuation:  December 3, 2012
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-3-104; 19-
3-108

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control

R313-38-3
Clarifications or Exceptions

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  39083
FILED:  01/15/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Incorporate  a  change  identified  by  the  U.S. 
Nuclear  Regulatory  Commission  (NRC)  to  maintain 

compatibility of the Utah radiation control rules with those of 
the NRC in 10 CFR (Code of Federal Regulations).

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Subsection R313-
38-3(4)(h) requires tests for leakage or contamination to be 
made pursuant to Section R313-15-1208.  Section R313-15-
1208  references  Section  R313-15-1401  which  no  longer 
exists.  Therefore, Subsection R313-38-3(4)(h) is no longer 
valid  and  needs  to  be  removed  from  the  Utah  Radiation 
Control  Rules.   Subsection  R313-38-3(4)(e)(iii)  is  being 
added  to  Section  R313-38-3  to  substitute  "Director"  for 
"references  to  appropriate  NRC  Regional  Office  listed  in 
appendix D of part 20 of this chapter" in 10 CFR 39.35(d)(2). 
Reports  of  test  results  for  leaking  or  contaminated  sealed 
sources  will  be  made  to  the  Director  pursuant  to  the 
incorporation of  10 CFR 39.35(d)(2).   Subsection R313-38-
38-3(4)(e)  incorrectly  states  "Director  or  the  Director  for 
references  to:"  This  wording  will  be  corrected  to  read 
"Director for references to:".

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  10 CFR 39 and Section 19-3-104 and Section 
19-3-108

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings to the state budget.  The proposed changes do not 
add  or  remove  significant  requirements  that  affect  the 
radiation  control  program  or  the  Utah  Radiation  Control 
Board.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings  for  local  government  agencies.   The  proposed 
changes do not add or remove significant requirements that 
affect  local  government  agencies.   There  are  no  local 
government  agencies  licensed  to  perform  well  logging 
services that utilize radioactive materials.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   Small  businesses  and  persons 
other  than  businesses  may  hold  a  radioactive  material 
license, but there is no anticipated cost or savings for small 
businesses  and  persons  other  than  businesses  because 
proposed  changes  do  not  add  or  remove  significant 
requirements.   Leak  testing  of  sealed  sources  is  currently 
required  by  the  incorporation  of  federal  requirements  or  a 
radioactive materials license condition.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Persons  other  than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local 
government entities may hold a radioactive material license, 
but there is no anticipated cost or savings for persons other 
than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local  government 
entities  because proposed changes  do  not  add  or  remove 
significant requirements.  Leak testing of sealed sources is 
currently  required  by  the  incorporation  of  federal 
requirements or a radioactive materials license condition.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no changes in compliance costs for persons affected by 
Section R313-38-3.   The proposed changes do not add or
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remove significant requirements that affected persons.  Leak 
testing  of  sealed  sources  is  currently  required  by  the 
incorporation  of  federal  requirements  or  a  radioactive 
materials license condition.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
Businesses with a radioactive material license will not see a 
fiscal impact due to the proposed changes to Section R313-
38-3.   The  proposed  changes  do  not  add  or  remove 
significant requirements for affected businesses.  Leak testing 
of sealed sources is currently required by the incorporation of 
federal  requirements  or  a  radioactive  materials  license 
condition.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
RADIATION CONTROL
THIRD FLOOR 
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Spencer Wickham by phone at 801-536-0082, by FAX at 
801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at swickham@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Rusty Lundberg, Director

R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control.
R313-38.  Licenses and Radiation Safety Requirements for Well 
Logging.
R313-38-3.  Clarifications or Exceptions.

For  purposes  of  Rule  R313-38,  10  CFR  39  (2013),  is 
incorporated  by  reference  with  the  following  clarifications  or 
exceptions:

(1)  The exclusion of the following 10 CFR sections: 39.1, 
39.5, 39.8, 39.11, 39.101, and 39.103;

(2)   The  exclusion  of  the  following  10  CFR  references 
within 10 CFR 39: Sec. 40.32, and Sec. 70.23;

(3)  The exclusion of "licensed material" in 10 CFR 39.2 
definitions;

(4)  The substitution of the following wording:
(a)  License for reference to NRC license;
(b)  Utah Radiation Control Rules for the references to:
(i)  The Commission's regulations;
(ii)  The NRC regulations;
(iii)  NRC regulations; and
(iv)  Pertinent Federal regulations;
(c)  Director for reference to Commission, except as stated in 

Subsection R313-38-3(4)(d);

(d)  Representatives of the Director for the references to the 
Commission in:

(i)  10 CFR 39.33(d);
(ii)  10 CFR 39.35(a);
(iii)  10 CFR 39.37;
(iv)  10 CFR 39.39(b); and
(v)  10 CFR 39.67(f);
(e)  Director [or the Director ]for references to:
(i)  NRC in:
(A)  10 CFR 39.63(l);
(B)  10 CFR 39.77(c)(1)(i) and (ii); and
(C)  10 CFR 39.77(d)(9); and
(ii) Appropriate NRC Regional Office in:
(A)  10 CFR 39.77(a);
(B)  10 CFR 39.77(c)(1); and
(C)  10 CFR 39.77(d);

                 (iii)  Appropriate NRC Regional Office listed in appendix D   
of part 20 of this chapter in:  
                 (A)  10 CFR 39.35(d)(2)      

(f)  Director, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission or an 
Agreement State for the references to:

(i)  Commission or an Agreement State in:
(A)  10 CFR 39.35(b); and
(B)  10 CFR 39.43(d) and (e); and
(ii)   Commission  pursuant  to  Sec.  39.13(c)  or  by  an 

Agreement State in:
(A)  10 CFR 39.43(c); and
(B)  10 CFR 39.51;
(g)  In 10 CFR 39.35(d)(1), persons specifically licensed by 

the  Director,  the  U.S.  Nuclear  Regulatory  Commission,  or  an 
Agreement  State  for  the reference to  an NRC or  Agreement  State 
licensee that is authorized;[ and  
               (h)  In 10 CFR 39.35(d)(2), reports of test results for leaking 
or  contaminated sealed  sources  shall  be  made  pursuant  to  Section 
R313-15-1208, for the reference to the following statement:  
               (i)   The licensee shall  submit  a  report  to the appropriate 
NRC Regional Office listed in appendix D of part 20 of this chapter, 
within 5 days of receiving the test results.  The report must describe the 
equipment involved in the leak,  the test  results,  any contamination 
which resulted from the leaking source,  and the corrective actions 
taken up to the time the report is made; and]

[(i)](h)  In  10 CFR 39.75(e),  a  U.S.  Nuclear  Regulatory 
Commission or an Agreement State for the reference to the Agreement 
State;

(5)  The substitution of the following Title R313 references 
for specific 10 CFR references:

(a)  Section R313-12-3 for the reference to Sec. 20.1003 of 
this chapter;

(b)  Section R313-12-54 for the reference to 10 CFR 39.17;
(c)  Subsection R313-12-55(1) for the reference to 10 CFR 

39.91;
(d)  Rule R313-15 for references to:
(i)  Part 20; and
(ii)  Part 20 of this chapter;
(e)  Subsection R313-15-901(1) for  the reference to Sec. 

20.1901(a);
(f)  Section R313-15-906 for the reference to Sec. 20.1906 

of this chapter;
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(g)  Sections R313-15-1201 through R313-15-1203 for the 
references to:

(i)  Secs. 20.2201-20.2202; and
(ii)  Sec. 20.2203;
(h)  Rule R313-18 for the reference to part 19;
(i)  Section R313-19-30 for the reference to Sec. 150.20 of 

this chapter;
(j)  Section R313-19-50 for the references to:
(i)  Sec. 30.50; and
(ii)  Part 21 of this chapter;
(k)  Section R313-19-71 for the reference to Sec. 30.71;
(l)  Section R313-19-100 for the references to:
(i)  10 CFR Part 71; and
(ii)  Sec. 71.5 of this chapter; and
(m)  Section R313-22-33 for the reference to 10 CFR 30.33;
(n)   Rules  R313-15,  R313-18,  and  R313-38  for 

corresponding references to:
(i)  Parts 19, 20, and 39 of this chapter;
(ii)  A copy of parts 19, 20, and 39 of NRC regulations.

KEY:   radioactive  materials,  well  logging,  surveys,  subsurface 
tracer studies
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April  7, 
2014]2015  
Notice of Continuation:  October 7, 2013
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-3-104; 19-
3-108

Health, Disease Control and 
Prevention, Health Promotion

R384-300
Parkinson's Disease Reporting Rule

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(New Rule)

DAR FILE NO.:  39052
FILED:  01/02/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  purpose  of  the  Utah  Parkinson's  Disease 
Reporting Rule is to create a registry of  these patients  for 
research and public health purposes.   Parkinson's Disease 
affects 1% of persons over the age of 65 years, and, in Utah, 
31% of the population falls into this age group.  The database 
created  by  the  Parkinson's  Disease  Reporting  Rule  will 
increase  the  understanding  of  risk  factors,  encourage 
development of  interventions for patients and their families, 
and promote research that will benefit these patients.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Parkinson's 
Disease Registry will be located at the University of Utah and 
will be supported by funding through the University of Utah

Department of  Neurology;  and philanthropy donations.   No 
costs  will  be  incurred  by  the  Utah  Department  of  Health, 
except for administrative staff time to manage the reporting 
rule.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 26-1-30 and Section 26-5-3

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no costs to the state for 
collecting, storing, and managing the data in the Parkinson's 
Disease Registry at present.  At present, the registry will be 
funded by University of Utah and philanthropic resources.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   There  are  no  costs  to  local 
governments.  The Parkinson's Disease Registry staff will be 
responsible for all follow-up of providers and patients.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   There  will  be a  minimal  cost  to 
physician  offices,  laboratories,  hospitals,  clinics,  and  other 
facilities  for  clerical  expenses.   These costs  are difficult  to 
determine, as it will be based on the salary of the facilities' 
employees to input the data on the website.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There will be a minimal cost to physician offices, laboratories, 
hospitals,  clinics,  and  other  facilities  for  clerical  expenses. 
These costs are difficult to determine, as it will be based on 
the salary of the facilities' employees to input the data on the 
website.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
only costs  to  affected persons  will  be the time required to 
complete  information  on the reporting  form.   Providers  will 
also  be  contacted  and asked  to  provide  information  about 
patients.   Persons in  the registry may be contacted in  the 
future  for  participation  in  research.   All  protocols  for  such 
research will undergo institutional review, board review by the 
University of Utah, and Utah Department of Health, to ensure 
protection of human subjects.  Participation in such research 
will be completely voluntary.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There will be minimal costs to care providers for the clerical 
expenses to input data into the website.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HEALTH
DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION,
HEALTH PROMOTION
CANNON HEALTH BLDG
288 N 1460 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3231
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Heather Borski by phone at 801-538-9998, by FAX at 801-
538-9495, or by Internet E-mail at hborski@utah.gov
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  David Patton, PhD, Executive Director

R384.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Health Promotion.
R384-300.  Parkinson's Disease Reporting Rule.  
R384-300-1.  Purpose Statement.  
                 (1)   The  Parkinson's  Disease  Reporting  Rule  is  adopted   
under authority of sections 26-1-30 and 26-5-3.  
                 (2)     Parkinson's  Disease  (PD)  is  a  common   
neurodegenerative disease that affects one in 100 persons over the 
age of 65 years.   PD is a progressive,  ultimately fatal  condition, 
which may be more common in Utah than in  other  states.      The   
growth rate of the over-65 segment  of the population in  Utah is  
more  than  30%.     The  purpose  of  the  Utah  Parkinson's  Disease   
Registry  (Registry)  is  to  develop  a  central  database  of  accurate 
historical  and  current  information  for  research  and  public  health 
purposes.    The Parkinson's Disease Reporting Rule will provide for   
screening and collection of patient data that may be useful in detecting 
the  incidence  and  possible  risk  factors  concerning  PD and  related 
movement  disorders.   The  information  gained  will  help  increase 
understanding of this disease and aid in planning for early diagnosis, 
developing health education for patients and providers, and providing 
correct medical or surgical therapy health requirements.  
                 (3)   Parkinson's  Disease  records  are  managed  by  the   
Parkinson's Disease Registry at the University of Utah on behalf of the 
Utah Department of Health.  This Parkinson's Disease Reporting Rule 
is  adopted  to  specify  the  reporting  requirements  for  cases  of 
Parkinson's Disease to the Registry.  The Utah Department of Health 
retains ownership and all rights to the records in the Registry.  

R384-300-2.  Definitions.  
                 As used in this rule:      
                 (1)   "Parkinson's  Disease"  means  a  chronic,  progressive   
disorder  marked  by  resting  tremors,  muscular  rigidity,  and  slow, 
imprecise  movement,  chiefly  affecting  middle-aged  and  elderly 
people.   The  disease  is  often  asymmetric.   It  is  associated  with 
degeneration of the basal ganglia of the brain and a deficiency of the 
neurotransmitter  dopamine.   Treatment  with  L-DOPA or  dopamine 
agonists is virtually always helpful, although the effects may be as 
short as 6 months.  
                 (2)  "Follow-up data" includes date last seen or date of death,   
status of disease, date of first recurrence, type of recurrence, distant 
site(s)  of  first  recurrence,  and  the  name  of  the  physician  who  is 
following the case.  
                 (3)  "Health care provider" includes any person who renders   
health  care  or  professional  services  such as  a  physician,  physician 
assistant, nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, 
dentist,  optometrist,  podiatric  physician,  osteopathic  physician, 
osteopathic physician and surgeon, or others rendering patient care.  
                 (4)  "Registrar" means a person who      
                 (a)   is  employed  as  a  registrar  by the  Registry and  has   
attended their training program;  

                 (b)  has in-depth experience with Parkinson's Disease and   
medical terminology relating to movement disorders; knowledge of the 
spectrum of providers and care settings treating PD; and knowledge of 
medical record discharge analysis, coding, and abstracting.  

R384-300-3.  Reportable Cases.  
                 Each  case  of  Parkinson's  Disease  or  related  movement   
disorder that is diagnosed or treated in Utah shall be reported to the 
Utah Parkinson's Disease Registry through a website or by mail.  

R384-300-4.  Case Report Contents.  
                 Each  report  of  Parkinson's  Disease  or  related  movement   
disorder shall  include information on report  forms provided by the 
Registry.  These reports shall be made in the format prescribed by the 
Registry and shall include the name and address of the patient, date of 
birth, gender, medical history, date and method of diagnosis, laboratory 
data,  methods  and  drugs  of  treatment,  follow-up  data,  physicians' 
names  and  addresses,  identification  of  reporting  source,  and  any 
additional information the Utah Department of Health demonstrates is 
reasonable to implement the Parkinson's Disease Registry.  

R384-300-5.  Agencies or Individuals Required to Report Cases.  
                 (1)  All physicians, hospitals, clinics, pathology laboratories   
licensed to provide services  in the state,  nursing homes,  and other 
facilities  and  health  care  providers  involved  in  the  diagnosis  or 
treatment of Parkinson's Disease shall report to the Registry.  
                 (2)   Voluntary  self-reports  by  patients  on  a  confidential   
website developed and maintained by the University of Utah may be 
also included in the registry.  
                 (3)  Procedures for reporting:      
                 (a)  Hospital employed registrars shall report hospital cases.      
                 (b)  Individual physicians, e.g., neurologists, and clinics shall   
report cases seen in their practices.  
                 (c)   Pending  implementation  of  electronic  reporting  by   
pathology laboratories, pathology laboratories shall allow the Registry 
to identify reportable cases and extract the required information during 
routine visits to pathology laboratories.  
                 (d)  If the Registry has not received complete information on   
a reportable case from routine reporting sources (hospitals, clinician's 
offices, pathology laboratories, nursing homes and other facilities), the 
Registry  may  contact  health  care  providers  and  require  them  to 
complete a report form.  

R384-300-6.  Time Requirements.  
                 (1)  New Cases:      
                 (a)  Providers, hospitals and clinics shall submit reports to   
the Registry within a year of the date of diagnosis.  
                 (b)  Other facilities and health care providers shall submit   
reportable data to the Registry upon request.  
                 (2)  Follow-up Data:      
                 (a)  Hospitals, physicians and clinics shall submit follow-up   
data to the Registry upon request.  

R384-300-7.  Reporting Format.  
                 Reports shall be submitted in the standard format designated   
by the  Registry.   Report  forms  can  be obtained by contacting the 
Registry.  
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R384-300-8.  Data Quality Assurance.  
                 Records  maintained  by  hospitals,  pathology  laboratories,   
cancer  clinics,  and  physicians  are  subject  to  review  by  Registry 
personnel acting on behalf of the Utah Department of Health to assure 
the completeness and accuracy of reported data.  

R384-300-9.  Confidentiality of Reports.  
                 All reports required by this rule are confidential under the   
provisions of Title 26, Chapter 3 and are not open to inspection except 
as allowed by Title 26, Chapter 3.  The Registry shall maintain all 
reports according to the provisions of Title 26, Chapter 3.  

R384-300-10.  Penalties.  
                 Enforcement provisions and penalties for the violation or for   
the  enforcement  of  public  health  rules,  including  this  Parkinson's 
Disease Reporting Rule, are prescribed under Section 26-23-6 and are 
punishable.  

KEY:   Parkinson's  disease,  reporting  requirements  and 
procedures, registry  
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2015  
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-30; 26-5-
3  

Health, Family Health and 
Preparedness, Children with Special 

Health Care Needs
R398-1

Newborn Screening
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39054

FILED:  01/05/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  Newborn  Screening  Advisory  Committee 
recommends the addition of disorders of creatine metabolism 
to the Utah Newborn Screening Panel.  Additionally, change 
the time of collection of the first screen to 24 to 48 hours of  
age to be in-line with national recommendations.

SUMMARY OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   Screening  for 
disorders of creatine metabolism is added in Section R398-1-
3.  Timing of collection of first specimen is changed to 24 to 
48 hours of the newborn's life in Section R398-1-5.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 26-1-6

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no fiscal impact on state 
government.  It does not impose additional duties or eliminate 
any duties.

♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   There  is  no  fiscal  impact  on 
local  government.   It  does  not  impose additional  duties  or 
eliminate any duties.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There is no fiscal impact on small 
business.  It does not impose additional duties or eliminate 
any duties.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There is no fiscal impact for other parties.  It does not impose 
additional duties or eliminate any duties.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
is  no  cost  for  compliance  as  the  number  of  required 
specimens has not changed, the aggregate costs to collect 
and submit them will not change with this rule.  This testing 
can be added to the already established Newborn Screening 
Tandem  Mass  Spectrometry  with  no  additional  cost  and 
therefore, there will  be no request to increase the newborn 
screening kit fee for this additional screen.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There is no fiscal impact on business.  It  does not impose 
additional duties or eliminate any duties.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HEALTH
FAMILY HEALTH AND PREPAREDNESS, 
CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL HEALTH CARE NEEDS
44 N MARIO CAPECCHI DR
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84113
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Kim Hart by phone at 801-584-8256, by FAX at 801-536-
0966, or by Internet E-mail at kimhart@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  David Patton, PhD, Executive Director

R398.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Children with 
Special Health Care Needs.
R398-1.  Newborn Screening.
R398-1-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  The purpose of this rule is to facilitate early detection, 
prompt  referral,  early  treatment,  and  prevention  of  disability  and 
mental  retardation  in  infants  with  certain  genetic  and  endocrine 
disorders.

(2)   Authority  for  the  Newborn  Screening  program and 
promulgation of rules to implement the program are found in Sections 
26-1-30(2)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (g) and 26-10-6.
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R398-1-2.  Definitions.
(1)  "Abnormal test result" means a result that is outside of 

the normal range for a given test.
(2)   "Appropriate  specimen"  means  a  blood  specimen 

submitted on the Utah Newborn Screening form that conforms with 
the criteria in R398-1-8.

(3)  "Blood spot" means a clinical specimen(s) submitted on 
the filter paper (specially manufactured absorbent specimen collection 
paper) of the Newborn Screening form using the heel stick method.

(4)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health.
(5)  "Follow up" means the tracking of all newborns with an 

abnormal result, inadequate or unsatisfactory specimen or a quantity 
not  sufficient  specimen  through  to  a  normal  result  or  confirmed 
diagnosis and referral.

(6)  "Inadequate specimen" means a specimen determined 
by the Newborn Screening Laboratory to be unacceptable for testing.

(7)   "Indeterminate  result"  means  a  result  that  requires 
another specimen to determine normal or abnormal status.

(8)  "Institution" means a hospital, alternate birthing facility, 
or midwife service in Utah that provides maternity or nursery services 
or both.

(9)  "Medical home/practitioner" means a person licensed by 
the  Department  of  Commerce,  Division  of  Occupational  and 
Professional  Licensing  to  practice  medicine,  naturopathy,  or 
chiropractic or to be a nurse practitioner, as well as the licensed or 
unlicensed midwife who takes responsibility for delivery or the on-
going health care of a newborn.

(10)  "Metabolic diseases" means those diseases screened by 
the Department which are caused by an inborn error of metabolism.

(11)  "Newborn Screening form" means the Department's 
demographic  form  with  attached  Food  and  Drug  Administration 
(FDA)-approved filter paper medical collection device.

(12)  "Quantity not sufficient specimen" or "QNS specimen" 
means a specimen that has been partially tested but does not have 
enough blood available to complete the full testing.

(13)   "Unsatisfactory  specimen"  means  an  inadequate 
specimen.

R398-1-3.  Implementation.
(1)  Each newborn in the state of Utah shall submit to the 

Newborn Screening testing, except as provided in Section R398-1-11.
(2)  The Department  of Health,  after consulting with the 

Newborn Screening Advisory Committee, will determine the disorders 
on the Newborn Screening Panel, based on demonstrated effectiveness 
and  available  funding.   Disorders  for  which  the  infant  blood  is 
screened are:

(a)  Biotinidase Deficiency;
(b)  Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia;
(c)  Congenital Hypothyroidism;
(d)  Galactosemia;
(e)  Hemoglobinopathy;
(f)  Amino Acid Metabolism Disorders:
(i)  Phenylketonuria (phenylalanine hydroxylase deficiency 

and variants);
(ii)   Tyrosinemia  type  1(fumarylacetoacetate  hydrolase 

deficiency);
(iii)   Tyrosinemia  type  2  (tyrosine  amino  transferase 

deficiency);

(iv)  Tyrosinemia type 3 (4-OH-phenylpyruvate dioxygenase 
deficiency);

(v)  Maple Syrup Urine Disease (branched chain ketoacid 
dehydrogenase deficiency);

(vi)   Homocystinuria  (cystathionine  beta  synthase 
deficiency);

(vii)   Citrullinemia  (arginino  succinic  acid  synthase 
deficiency);

(viii)  Argininosuccinic aciduria (argininosuccinic acid lyase 
deficiency);

(ix)  Argininemia (arginase deficiency);
(x)   Hyperprolinemia  type  2  (pyroline-5-carboxylate 

dehydrogenase deficiency);
(g)  Fatty Acid Oxidation Disorders:
(i)  Medium Chain Acyl CoA Dehydrogenase Deficiency;
(ii)  Very Long Chain Acyl CoA Dehydrogenase Deficiency;
(iii)  Short Chain Acyl CoA Dehydrogenase Deficiency;
(iv)   Long  Chain  3-OH  Acyl  CoA  Dehydrogenase 

Deficiency;
(v)   Short  Chain  3-OH  Acyl  CoA  Dehydrogenase 

Deficiency;
(vi)   Primary  carnitine  deficiency  (OCTN2  carnitine 

transporter defect);
(vii)  Carnitine Palmitoyl Transferase I Deficiency;
(viii)  Carnitine Palmitoyl Transferase 2 Deficiency;
(ix)  Carnitine Acylcarnitine Translocase Deficiency;
(x)  Multiple Acyl CoA Dehydrogenase Deficiency;
(h)  Organic Acids Disorders:
(i)   Propionic  Acidemia  (propionyl  CoA  carboxylase 

deficiency);
(ii)  Methylmalonic acidemia (multiple enzymes);
(iii)  Malonic Aciduria;
(iv)  Isovaleric  acidemia  (isovaleryl  CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency);
(v)  2-Methylbutiryl CoA dehydrogenase deficiency;
(vi)  Isobutyryl CoA dehydrogenase deficiency;
(vii)   2-Methyl-3-OH-butyryl-CoA  dehydrogenase 

deficiency;
(viii)  Glutaric acidemia type 1 (glutaryl CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency);
(ix)  3-Methylcrotonyl CoA carboxylase deficiency;
(x)  3-Ketothiolase deficiency;
(xi)  3-Hydroxy-3-methyl glutaryl CoA lyase deficiency;
(xii)  Holocarboxylase  synthase  (multiple  carboxylases) 

deficiency;
(i)  Cystic Fibrosis;[ and]
(j)  Severe Combined Immunodeficiency syndrome[.]; and  

                 (k)  Disorders of Creatine Metabolism.      

R398-1-4.  Responsibility for Collection of the First Specimen.
(1)  If the newborn is born in an institution, the institution 

must collect and submit an appropriate specimen, unless the newborn 
is transferred to another institution prior to 48 hours of age.

(2)  If  the newborn is born outside of an institution,  the 
practitioner  or  other  person  primarily  responsible  for  providing 
assistance to the mother at the birth must arrange for the collection and 
submission of an appropriate specimen.
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(3)  If there is no other person in attendance of the birth, the 
parent or legal guardian must arrange for the collection and submission 
of an appropriate specimen.

(4)  If the newborn is transferred to another institution prior 
to 48 hours of age, the receiving health institution must collect and 
submit an appropriate specimen.

R398-1-5.  Timing of Collection of First Specimen.
The first  specimen shall  be collected between  24 and  48 

hours [and five days ]of the newborn's life[ age].  Except:
(1)  If the newborn is discharged from an institution before 

48 hours of age, an appropriate specimen must be collected within four 
hours of discharge.

(2)   If  the newborn  is  to  receive  a  blood  transfusion  or 
dialysis,  the  appropriate  specimen  must  be  collected  immediately 
before the procedure, except in emergency situations where time does 
not allow for collection of the specimen.  If the newborn receives a 
blood  transfusion  or  dialysis  prior  to  collecting  the  appropriate 
specimen the following must be done:

(a)  Repeat the collection and submission of an appropriate 
specimen  7-10  days  after  last  transfusion  or  dialysis  for  a  second 
screening specimen;

(b)  Repeat the collection and submission of an appropriate 
specimen 120 days after last transfusion or dialysis for a first screening 
specimen.

R398-1-6.  Parent Education.
The person who has responsibility under Section R398-1-4 

shall inform the parent or legal guardian of the required collection and 
submission and the disorders screened.  That person shall  give the 
second half of the Newborn Screening form to the parent or legal 
guardian  with  instructions  on  how  to  arrange  for  collection  and 
submission of the second specimen.

R398-1-7.  Timing of Collection of the Second Specimen.
A second specimen shall be collected between 7 and 28 days 

of age.
(1)   The  parent  or  legal  guardian  shall  arrange  for  the 

collection and submission of the appropriate second specimen through 
an institution, medical home/practitioner, or local health department.

(2)  If the newborn's first specimen was obtained prior to 48 
hours of age, the second specimen shall be collected by fourteen days 
of age.

(3)  If the newborn is hospitalized beyond the seventh day of 
life, the institution shall arrange for the collection and submission of 
the appropriate second specimen.

R398-1-8.  Criteria for Appropriate Specimen.
(1)  The institution or medical home/practitioner collecting 

the appropriate specimen must:
(a)  Use only a Newborn Screening form purchased from the 

Department.  The fee for the Newborn Screening form is set by the 
Legislature in accordance with Section 26-1-6;

(b)  Correctly store the Newborn Screening form;
(c)  Not use the Newborn Screening form beyond the date of 

expiration;
(d)  Not alter the Newborn Screening form in any way;

(e)  Complete  all  information on the Newborn Screening 
form.  If the infant is being adopted, the following may be omitted: 
infant's last name, birth mother's name, address, and telephone number. 
Infant must have an identifying name, and a contact person must be 
listed;

(f)  Apply sufficient blood to the filter paper;
(g)   Not  contaminate  the  filter  paper  with  any  foreign 

substance;
(h)  Not tear, perforate, scratch, or wrinkle the filter paper;
(i)  Apply blood evenly to one side of the filter paper and be 

sure it soaks through to the other side;
(j)  Apply blood to the filter paper in a manner that does not 

cause caking;
(k)  Collect the blood in such a way as to not cause serum or 

tissue fluids to separate from the blood;
(l)  Dry the specimen properly;
(m)   Not  remove  the  filter  paper  from  the  Newborn 

Screening form.
(2)  Submit the completed Newborn Screening form to the 

Utah  Department  of  Health,  Newborn  Screening  Laboratory,  4431 
South 2700 West, Taylorsville, Utah 84119.

(a)   The Newborn  Screening form shall  be placed in  an 
envelope large enough to accommodate it without folding the form.

(b)  If mailed, the Newborn Screening form shall be placed 
in the U.S. Postal system within 24 hours of the time the appropriate 
specimen was collected.

(c)  If hand-delivered, the Newborn Screening form shall be 
delivered within 48 hours of the time the appropriate specimen was 
collected.

R398-1-9.  Abnormal Result.
(1)   (a)   If  the  Department  finds  an  abnormal  result 

consistent  with  a  disease  state,  the  Department  shall  send  written 
notice  to  the  medical  home/practitioner  noted  on  the  Newborn 
Screening form.

(b)  If the Department finds an indeterminate result on the 
first  screening,  the  Department  shall  determine  whether  to  send  a 
notice to the medical home/practitioner based on the results on the 
second screening specimen.

(2)   The  Department  may  require  the  medical 
home/practitioner  to  collect  and  submit  additional  specimens  for 
screening or confirmatory testing.  The Department shall pay for the 
initial  confirmatory  testing  on  the  newborn  requested  by  the 
Department.  The Department may recommend additional diagnostic 
testing to the medical home/practitioner.  The cost of additional testing 
recommended by the Department is not covered by the Department.

(3)  The medical home/practitioner shall collect and submit 
specimens within the time frame and in the manner instructed by the 
Department.

(4)   As  instructed  by  the  Department  or  the  medical 
home/practitioner, the parent or legal guardian of a newborn identified 
with an abnormal test result shall promptly take the newborn to the 
Department  or  medical  home/practitioner  to  have  an  appropriate 
specimen collected.

(5)   The  medical  home/practitioner  who makes  the  final 
diagnosis  shall  complete  a  diagnostic  form  and  return  it  to  the 
Department  within  30  days  of  the  notification  letter  from  the 
Department.
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R398-1-10.   Inadequate  or  Unsatisfactory  Specimen,  or  QNS 
Specimen.

If  the  Department  finds  an  inadequate  or  unsatisfactory 
specimen,  or  QNS  specimen,  the  Department  shall  inform  the 
institution  or  medical  home/practitioner  noted  on  the  Newborn 
Screening form.

(1)   The  institution  or  medical  home/practitioner  that 
submitted the inadequate  or unsatisfactory,  or QNS specimen shall 
submit an appropriate specimen in accordance with Section R398-1-8. 
The responsible institution or medical home/practitioner shall collect 
and  submit  the new specimen within  two days  of  notice,  and  the 
responsible  institution  or  medical  home/practitioner  shall  label  the 
form for testing as directed by the Department.

(2)  The parent or legal guardian of a newborn identified 
with an inadequate or unsatisfactory specimen or QNS specimen shall 
promptly  take  the  newborn  to  the  institution  or  medical 
home/practitioner to have an appropriate specimen collected.

R398-1-11.  Testing Refusal.
A parent or legal guardian may refuse to allow the required 

testing for religious reasons only.  The medical home/practitioner or 
institution shall file in the newborn's record documentation of refusal, 
reason, education of family about the disorders, and a signed waiver by 
both parents or legal guardian.  The practitioner or institution shall 
submit  a  copy of  the  refusal  to  the  Utah  Department  of  Health, 
Newborn Screening Program, P.O. Box 144710, Salt Lake City, UT 
84114-4710.

R398-1-12.  Access to Medical Records.
(1)  The Department shall have access to the medical records 

of a newborn in order to identify medical home/practitioner, reason 
appropriate  specimen  was  not  collected,  or  to  collect  missing 
demographic information.

(2)  The institution shall enter the Newborn Screening form 
number,  also  known  as  the  Birth  Record  Number,  into  the  Vital 
Records database and the Newborn Hearing Screening database.

R398-1-13.  Noncompliance by Parent or Legal Guardian.
If  the  medical  home/practitioner  or  institution  has 

information that leads it to believe that the parent or legal guardian is 
not  complying  with  this  rule,  the  medical  home/practitioner  or 
institution shall report such noncompliance as medical neglect to the 
Department.

R398-1-14.  Confidentiality and Related Information.
(1)   The  Department  initially  releases  test  results  to  the 

institution  of  birth  for  first  specimens  and  to  the  medical 
home/practitioner, as noted on the Newborn Screening form, for the 
second specimen.

(2)  The Department notifies the medical home/practitioner 
noted on the Newborn Screening form as provided in Section R398-1-
9(1) of any results that require follow up.

(3)   The  Department  releases  information  to  a  medical 
home/practitioner or other health practitioner on a need to know basis. 
Release  may  be  orally,  by  a  hard  copy  of  results  or  available 
electronically by authorized access.

(4)  Upon request of the parent or guardian, the Department 
may release results as directed in the release.

(5)  All requests for test results or records are governed by 
Utah Code Title 26, Chapter 3.

(6)  The Department may release information in summary, 
statistical, or other forms that do not identify particular individuals.

(7)  A testing laboratory that analyzes newborn screening 
samples for the Department may not release information or samples 
without the Department's express written direction.

R398-1-15.  Blood Spots.
(1)  Blood spots become the property of the Department.
(2)  The Department includes in parent education materials 

information about the Department's policy on the retention and use of 
residual newborn blood spots.

(3)   The  Department  may  use  residual  blood  spots  for 
newborn screening quality assessment activities.

(4)  The Department may release blood spots for research 
upon the following:

(a)  The person proposing to conduct the research applies in 
writing to the Department for approval to perform the research.  The 
application shall include a written protocol for the proposed research, 
the  person's  professional  qualifications  to  perform  the  proposed 
research,  and  other  information  if  needed  and  requested  by  the 
Department.  When appropriate, the proposal will then be submitted to 
the Department's Internal Review Board for approval.

(b)  The Department shall de-identify blood spots it releases 
unless it obtains informed consent of a parent or guardian to release 
identifiable samples.

(c)  All research must be first approved by the Department's 
Internal Review Board.

R398-1-16.  Retention of Blood Spots.
(1)  The Department retains blood spots for a minimum of 

90 days.
(2)  Prior to disposal, the Department shall de-identify and 

autoclave the blood spots.

R398-1-17.  Reporting of Disorders.
If a diagnosis is made for one of the disorders screened by 

the Department that was not identified by the Department, the medical 
home/practitioner shall report it to the Department.

R398-1-18.  Statutory Penalties.
As  required  by  Subsection  63G-3-201(5):   Any medical 

home/practitioner  or  institution  responsible  for  submission  of  a 
newborn screen that violates any provision of this rule may be assessed 
a civil money penalty as provided in Section 26-23-6.

KEY:  health care, newborn screening
Date  of  Enactment  or Last  Substantive  Amendment:   [July  1, 
2014]2015  
Notice of Continuation:  September 4, 2014
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-6; 26-1-
30(2)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (g); 26-10-6
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Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-5

Taking Big Game
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39062

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory Council  meetings  and the  Wildlife  Board  meeting 
conducted for taking public input and reviewing the big game 
rule.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revision to this rule replace "convention" with "expo".

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   This  rule  amendment  makes 
technical  corrections,  it  does not increase workload for the 
agency therefore, the Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) 
determines that  this amendment does not create a cost  or 
savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, since 
the changes will not increase workload and can be carried out 
with existing budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Since  the  amendment  only 
changes a name this filing does not create any direct cost or 
savings  impact  to  local  governments.   Nor  are  local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This amendment simply makes a 
name change, it  does not have the potential to generate a 
cost or savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This amendment simply makes a name change, it does not 
have the potential  to generate a cost  or savings impact to 
sportsmen or the other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR 
determines  that  this  amendment  will  not  create  additional 
costs for those who participate in wildlife related activities in 
Utah.  This amendment simply makes a name change.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The amendments to this rule do not have a potential to create 
an impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-5.  Taking Big Game.
R657-5-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, 
the  Wildlife  Board has  established  this  rule  for  taking  deer,  elk, 
pronghorn, moose, bison, bighorn sheep, and Rocky Mountain goat.

(2)  Specific dates, areas, methods of take, requirements, 
and  other  administrative  details  which  may change  annually are 
published in  the guidebook of the Wildlife  Board for  taking big 
game.

R657-5-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.
(2)  In addition:
(a)  "Antlerless deer" means a deer without antlers or with 

antlers five inches or shorter.
(b)  "Antlerless elk" means an elk without antlers or with 

antlers five inches or shorter.
(c)   "Antlerless  moose"  means  a  moose  with  antlers 

shorter than its ears.
(d)   "Arrow quiver"  means  a  portable  arrow case  that 

completely encases all edges of the broadheads.
(e)  "Buck deer" means a deer with antlers longer than 

five inches.
(f)   "Buck  pronghorn"  means  a  pronghorn  with  horns 

longer than five inches.
(g)  "Bull elk" means an elk with antlers longer than five 

inches.
(h)  "Bull moose" means a moose with antlers longer than 

its ears.
(i)  "Cow bison" means a female bison.
(j)  "Doe pronghorn" means a pronghorn without horns or 

with horns five inches or shorter.
(k)  "Draw-lock" means a mechanical device used to hold 

and support the draw weight of a conventional or compound bow at
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any increment of draw until released by the archer using a trigger  
mechanism and safety attached to the device.

(l)  "Hunter's choice" means either sex may be taken.
(m)  "Limited entry hunt" means any hunt published in the 

hunt tables of the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big 
game,  which  is  identified  as  limited  entry and  does  not  include 
general or once-in-a-lifetime hunts.

(n)  "Limited entry permit" means any permit obtained for 
a limited entry hunt by any means, including conservation permits, 
wildlife [convention]expo permits, sportsman permits, cooperative 
wildlife  management  unit  permits  and  limited  entry  landowner 
permits.

(o)  "Once-in-a-lifetime hunt" means any hunt published 
in the hunt tables of the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking 
big game, which is identified as once-in-a-lifetime, and does not 
include general or limited entry hunts.

(p)   "Once-in-a-lifetime  permit"  means  any  permit 
obtained  for  a  once-in-a-lifetime  hunt  by  any  means,  including 
conservation  permits,  wildlife  [conventions]expo permits, 
sportsman permits,  cooperative wildlife management  unit  permits 
and limited entry landowner permits.

(q)  "Ram" means a male desert bighorn sheep or Rocky 
Mountain bighorn sheep.

(r)  "Spike bull" means a bull elk which has at least one 
antler beam with no branching above the ears. Branched means a 
projection on an antler longer than one inch, measured from its base 
to its tip.

(s)   "Drone"  means  an  autonomously  controlled,  aerial 
vehicle of any size or configuration that is capable of controlled 
flight without a human pilot aboard.

KEY:  wildlife, game laws, big game seasons
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
10, 2014]2015
Notice of Continuation:  November 1, 2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19; 23-16-5; 23-16-6

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-33

Taking Bear
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39063

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory  Council  and  Wildlife  Board  meetings  conducted 
annually for taking public input and reviewing the Division of 
Wildlife Resources' (DWR) rule pursuant to taking bear.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revisions  to  the  above  listed  rule:   1)  set  criteria  for 
commercial crop depredation strategies; 2) require the bear 
orientation course to be mandatory to obtain any bear permit; 
3)  add  requirements  for  using  cross-bows  consistent  with 
other  species hunts;  4) define "multi  season"  hunts;  5) set 
additional  requirements  for  bait  stations;  and  6)  make 
technical corrections.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment adds a program to 
help remove damaging bears on commercial crops, requires 
a free orientation course be taken by all  bear hunters, and 
sets additional requirements to programs that have been in 
place for years so there is minimal adjustments needed to 
implement the proposed amendments.  DWR determines that 
these amendments do not create a cost or savings impact to 
the  state  budget,  since  the  changes  will  not  increase 
workload and can be carried out with existing budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Since  this  amendment  only 
adds additional  resources to handle chronic depredation to 
commercial crops and additional restrictions to programs that 
are  already  in  place  it  should  have  no  effect  on  local 
governments.  This filing does not create any direct cost or 
savings impact to local  governments because they are not 
directly  affected  by  the  rule.   Nor  are  local  governments 
indirectly  impacted  because  the  rule  does  not  create  a 
situation requiring services from local governments.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   Since  this  amendment  adds 
additional resources to crop owners wanting to remove bears 
causing  damages  to  their  crops  and  required  a  free 
orientation course to those wishing to obtain a bear permit, 
the division feels the amendments will not generate a cost or 
savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Since  this  amendment  adds  additional  resources  to  crop 
owners wanting to remove bears causing damages to their 
crops and requires a free orientation course to those wishing 
to obtain a bear permit, the division feels the amendments will 
not generate a cost or savings impact to other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR 
determines that these amendments do not create additional 
costs  for  sportsmen wishing to  participate in bear hunts  in 
Utah.   Since this  amendment  adds additional  resources to 
crop owners wanting to remove bears causing damages to 
their  crops and requires a free orientation course to  those 
wishing to obtain a bear permit.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.
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THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-33.  Taking Bear.
R657-33-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, 
of the Utah Code, the Wildlife Board has established this rule for 
taking and pursuing bear.

(2)  Specific dates, areas, number of permits, limits and 
other  administrative  details  which  may  change  annually  are 
published in the guidebook of the Wildlife  Board for  taking and 
pursuing bear.

R657-33-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.
(2)  In addition:
(a)  "Accompany" means at a distance within which visual 

contact  and  verbal  communication  are  maintained  without  the 
assistance of any electronic device.

(b)  "Bait" means any lure containing animal, mineral or 
plant materials.

(c)   "Baiting"  means  the  placing,  exposing,  depositing, 
distributing or scattering of bait to lure, attract or entice bear on or 
over any area.

(d)  "Bear" means Ursus americanus, commonly known as 
black bear.

(e)  "Canned hunt" means that a bear is treed, cornered,  
held at  bay or its ability to escape is otherwise restricted for the 
purpose of allowing a person who was not a member of the initial 
hunting party to arrive and take the bear.

(f)  "Compensation" means anything of economic value in 
excess  of  $100  that  is  paid,  loaned,  granted,  given,  donated,  or 
transferred to a dog handler for or in consideration of pursuing bear 
for any purpose.

(g)  "Control permit" means a permit issued in response to 
bear depredation to commercial crops pursuant to R657-33-23(4).
                 (h)    "Cub" means a bear less than one year of age.

([h]i)   "Draw-lock" means a mechanical device used to 
hold and support the draw weight of a conventional or compound 

bow at any increment of draw until released by the archer using a  
trigger mechanism attached to the device.
                 (j)    "Dog handler" means the person in the field that is 
responsible  for  transporting,  releasing,  tracking,  controlling, 
managing, training, commanding and retrieving the dogs involved 
in the pursuit.  The owner of the dogs is presumed the dog handler 
when the owner is in the field during pursuit.

([i]k)  "Evidence of sex" means the teats, and sex organs 
of a bear, including a penis, scrotum or vulva.

([j]l)  "Green pelt" means the untanned hide or skin of a 
bear.

([k]m)  "Harvest-objective hunt" means any hunt that is 
identified as harvest-objective in the hunt table of the guidebook for 
taking bear.

([l]n)  "Harvest-objective permit" means any permit valid 
on harvest-objective units.

([m]o)   "Harvest-objective  unit"  means  any  unit 
designated as harvest-objective in the hunt table of the guidebook 
for taking bear.
[              (n)  "Limited entry hunt" means any hunt listed in the hunt 
table, published in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking 
bear, which is identified as a limited entry hunt and does not include 
harvest objective hunts or pursuit only.
               (o)  "Limited entry permit" means any permit obtained for 
a limited entry hunt by any means, including conservation permits 
and sportsman permits.
] (p)  ["Premium limited entry hunt" means any hunt listed 
in the hunt table, published in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board 
for taking bear, which is identified as a premium limited entry hunt 
and  does  not  include  harvest  objective  hunts  or  pursuit 
only.]"Immediate family member" means a landowner's or lessee's 
spouse, child, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father, mother, father-in-
law,  mother-in-law,  brother,  sister,  brother-in-law,  sister-in-law, 
stepchild, and grandchild.

(q)[  "Premium limited](i)  "Limited entry [permit"]hunt" 
means  any  [permit  obtained  for  a  premium  limited  entry  hunt 
as]hunt listed in the hunt table, published in the guidebook of the 
Wildlife Board for taking bear, which is identified as a limited entry 
hunt for bear.
                 (ii)   The  Wildlife  Board  may authorize  certain  limited   
entry hunts that span multiple seasons, identified in the guidebook 
for taking bear as multi-season limited entry hunts.
                 (iii)   "Limited  entry  hunt"  does  not  include  harvest   
objective hunts or pursuit only.

(r)  "Limited entry permit" means any permit obtained for 
a limited entry hunt, including conservation permits, expo permits, 
and sportsman permits.
                 (s  )  "Private lands" means any lands that are not public  
lands, excluding Indian trust lands.

([s]t)  "Public lands" means any lands owned by the state, 
a  political  subdivision  or  independent  entity  of  the  state,  or  the 
United  States,  excluding Indian  trust  lands,  that  are  open  to  the 
public for purposes of engaging in pursuit.

([t]u)  "Pursue" means to chase, tree, corner or hold a bear 
at bay with dogs.

([u]v)  "Restricted pursuit unit" means a bear pursuit unit 
where pursuit is allowed only by a dog handler who:
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(i)   possesses  a  pursuit  permit  issued  for  that 
particular[ restricted] pursuit unit;

(ii)   possesses  or  is  accompanied  by  a  person  who 
possesses a limited entry bear permit for the unit, and the pursuit 
occurs  within the area and during the season established for  the 
limited entry bear permit; or

(iii)  is engaged in pursuit for compensation as provided in 
R657-33-26(2).

([v]w)(i)  "Valid application" means:
(A)  it is for a species for which the applicant is eligible to 

possess a permit;
(B)  there is a hunt for that species regardless of estimated 

permit numbers; and
(C)  there is sufficient information on the application to 

process  the  application,  including  personal  information,  hunt 
information, and sufficient payment.

(ii)  Applications missing any of the items in Subsection 
(i)  may  still  be  considered  valid  if  the  application  is  corrected 
before the deadline  through the application correction process.

([w]x)  "Waiting period" means a specified period of time 
that  a  person  who has  obtained  a  bear  permit  must  wait  before 
applying for any other bear permit.

([x]y)  "Written permission" means written authorization 
from the owner or person in charge to enter upon private lands and 
must include:

(i)   the  name and  signature  of  the  owner  or  person  in 
charge;

(ii)  the address and phone number of the owner or person 
in charge;

(iii)   the  name of  the dog handler  given  permission  to 
enter the private lands;

(iv)  a brief description of the pursuit activity authorized;
(v)  the appropriate dates; and
(vi)  a general description of the property.

R657-33-3.  Permits for Taking Bear.
(1)(a)  To harvest a bear, a person must first obtain a valid 

limited entry bear permit or a harvest objective bear permit for a 
specified hunt  unit  as  provided  in  the guidebook of  the Wildlife 
Board for taking bear.

(b)  Any person who obtains a limited entry bear permit or 
a harvest objective bear permit  which allows the use of dogs  may 
pursue  bear  without  a  pursuit  permit  while  hunting during  the 
season and on the unit for which the take permit is valid, provided 
the person is the dog handler.

(2)(i)  A person may not apply for or obtain more than one 
bear permit [for the same season]per year, except:
                 (ii)     if the person is unsuccessful in the [limited entry  ]
drawing[,] administered by the division under R657-62, the person 
may purchase a [harvest objective ]permit[.] available outside of the 
drawing; and
                 (iii)   a person may acquire more than one bear  control   
permit as described in R657-33-23(4).

(3)  Any bear permit purchased after the season opens is 
not valid until [seven]three days after the date of purchase.

(4)  Residents and nonresidents may apply for and receive 
limited entry bear permits, and may purchase harvest objective bear 
permits and bear pursuit permits.

(5)[  A](a)   A  person  must  complete  a mandatory 
orientation course [is required for hunters who obtain a permit to 
hunt black bear]prior to applying for or obtaining a limited entry, 
harvest objective, or bear pursuit permit.
                 (b)  The orientation course is  not required to receive a   
bear control permit under R657-33-23(4).

(6)   To  obtain  a  [bear  ]limited  entry[ permit],  harvest 
objective[ permit], or bear pursuit permit, a person must possess a 
valid Utah hunting or combination license.

R657-33-4.  Permits for Pursuing Bear.
(1)(a)  To pursue bear without a limited entry or harvest 

objective bear permit, the dog handler must:
(i)   obtain  a  valid  bear  pursuit  permit  from a  division 

office or through the drawing administered pursuant to R657-62; or
(ii)  possess the documentation and certifications required 

in R657-33-26(2) to pursue bear for compensation.
(b)  A bear pursuit permit or exemption therefrom does 

not allow a person to kill a bear.
(2)  Residents and nonresidents may purchase bear pursuit 

permits  consistent  with  the  requirements  of  this  rule  and  the 
guidebooks of the Wildlife Board.

(3)  To obtain a bear pursuit permit, a person must possess 
a valid Utah hunting or combination license.

R657-33-5.  Hunting Hours.
Bear may be taken or pursued only between one-half hour 

before official sunrise through one-half hour after official sunset.

R657-33-6.  Firearms and Archery Equipment.
(1)   [A]For  limited  entry  and  harvest  objective  hunts 

identified as an "any legal  weapon hunt" in the Wildlife  Board's  
guidebook for taking bear, a person may use the following to take 
bear:

(a)  any firearm not capable of being fired fully automatic, 
except a firearm using a rimfire cartridge;[ and]

(b)   archery  equipment  meeting  the  following 
requirements:

(i)  the minimum bow pull is 40 pounds at the draw or the 
peak, whichever comes first; and

(ii)   arrowheads  used  have  two  or  more  sharp  cutting 
edges that cannot pass through a 7/8 inch ring;

(iii)   expanding  arrowheads  cannot  pass  through  a  7/8 
inch ring when expanded; and

(iv)  arrows must be a minimum of 20 inches in length 
from the tip of the arrowhead to the tip of the nock, and must weigh 
at least 300 grains[.]; and

([2)   The]c)   a  crossbow  meeting  the following 
[equipment or devices may not be used to take bear]requirements:

([a)  a crossbow, except as provided in Rule R657-12]i)  a 
minimum draw weight of 125 pounds;

([b)   arrows  with  chemically  treated  or  explosive 
arrowheads;
               (c)   a  mechanical  device  for  holding  the  bow  at  any 
increment of draw;
               (d)  a release aid that is not hand held or that supports the 
draw weight of the bow; or]ii)  a minimum draw length of 14 inches 
from the front of the bow to the nocking point;
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                 (iii)  a stock that is at least 18 inches long;  
                 (iv)  a positive mechanical safety mechanism; and  
                 (v)  an arrow or bolt that is at least 16 inches long with:  
                 (A)  a fixed broadhead that is at least 7/8 inch wide at the   
widest point; or

([e)   a  bow  with  an  attached  electronic  range  finding 
device  or  a  magnifying  aiming  device.]B)   an  expandable, 
mechanical broadhead that is at least 7/8 inch wide at the widest 
point when the broadhead is in the open position.

(3)  Arrows  and bolts  carried in or on a vehicle where a 
person is riding must be in an arrow quiver or a closed case.

(4)(a)  A person who has obtained a limited entry bear 
archery  permit  may  not  use,  possess, or  be  in  control  of  a 
firearm[ or have a firearm in his camp or motor vehicle], crossbow, 
or draw-lock while in the field during an archery bear hunt.
                 (i)   "Field"  for  purposes  of  this  subsection,  means  a   
location  where  the  permitted  species  of  wildlife  is  likely  to  be 
found.  "Field" does not include a hunter's established campsite or 
the interior of a fully enclosed automobile or truck.

(b)  The provisions of Subsection (a) do not apply to:
(i)  a person licensed to hunt upland game or waterfowl 

provided the person complies with Rules R657-6 and R657-9 and 
the  Upland  Game  Guidebook  and  Waterfowl  guidebook, 
respectively,  and  [possessing]possesses only  legal  weapons 
authorized to take upland game or waterfowl;

(ii)   a person licensed to hunt big game species during 
hunts that coincide with the archery bear hunt;

(iii)  livestock owners protecting their livestock; or
(iv)   a person licensed to  carry a  concealed weapon in 

accordance  with  Title  53,  Chapter  5,  Part  7  of  the  Utah  Code, 
provided the person is not utilizing the concealed firearm to hunt or 
take protected wildlife.

R657-33-7.  Traps and Trapping Devices.
(1)  Bear may not be taken with a trap, snare or any other 

trapping device, except as authorized by the division.
(2)  Bear accidentally caught in any trapping device must 

be released unharmed.
(3)(a)   Written  permission  must  be  obtained  from  a 

division representative to remove the carcass of a bear from any 
trapping device.

(b)  The carcass shall remain the property of the state of 
Utah and must be surrendered to the division.

R657-33-8.  State Parks.
(1)   Hunting  of  any  wildlife  is  prohibited  within  the 

boundaries of all  state park areas except those designated by the 
Division of Parks and Recreation in Section R651-614.

(2)  Hunting with a rifle, handgun or muzzleloader in park 
areas designated open is prohibited within one mile of all area park 
facilities, including buildings, camp or picnic sites, overlooks, golf 
courses, boat ramps and developed beaches.

(3)  Hunting with shotguns, crossbows, and archery tackle 
is prohibited within one quarter mile of the above stated areas.

R657-33-9.  Prohibited Methods.
(1)   Bear  may  be  taken  or  pursued  only  during  open 

seasons and using methods prescribed in this rule and the guidebook 
of  the  Wildlife  Board  for  taking  and  pursuing bear.   Otherwise, 

under the Wildlife Resources Code, it is unlawful for any person to 
possess, capture, kill, injure, drug, rope, trap, snare, or in any way 
harm or transport bear.

(2)   After  a  bear  has  been  pursued,  chased,  treed, 
cornered, legally baited or held at bay,  a person may not, in any 
manner, restrict or hinder the animal's ability to escape.

(3)  A person may not engage in a canned hunt.
(4)  A person may not take any wildlife from an airplane 

or any other airborne vehicle or device or any motorized terrestrial 
or  aquatic  vehicle,  including snowmobiles  and  other  recreational 
vehicles.

R657-33-10.  Spotlighting.
(1)  Except as provided in Section 23-13-17:
(a)  a person may not use or cast the rays of any spotlight, 

headlight or other artificial light to locate protected wildlife while 
having in possession a firearm or other weapon or device that could 
be used to take or injure protected wildlife; and

(b)  the use of a spotlight or other artificial light in a field, 
woodland or forest where protected wildlife are generally found is 
prima facie evidence of attempting to locate protected wildlife.

(2)  The provisions of this section do not apply to:
(a)  the use of the headlights of a motor vehicle or other 

artificial light in a usual manner where there is no attempt or intent 
to locate protected wildlife; or

(b)   a  person  licensed  to  carry a  concealed  weapon in 
accordance  with  Title  53,  Chapter  5,  Part  7  of  the  Utah  Code, 
provided the person is not utilizing the concealed weapon to hunt or 
take wildlife.

R657-33-11.  Party Hunting.
A person may not take a bear for another person.

R657-33-12.  Use of Dogs.
(1)  Dogs may be used to take or pursue bear only during 

[open seasons]authorized hunts as provided in the guidebook of the 
Wildlife Board for taking bear.

(2)  A dog handler may pursue bear in a unit and during a 
season permitting the use of dogs, provided he or she possesses:

(a)  a valid limited entry or harvest objective bear permit 
issued to the dog handler;

(b)  a valid bear pursuit permit; or
(c)   the  documentation  and  certifications  required  in 

R657-33-26(2) to pursue bear for compensation.
(3)  When dogs are used to pursue a bear,  the licensed 

hunter intending to take the bear must be present when the dogs are 
released and must  continuously participate  in  the  hunt  thereafter 
until the hunt is completed.

(4)  When dogs are used to take a bear and there is not an 
open pursuit season, the dog handler must have:

(a)  a limited entry [bear ]or harvest objective bear permit 
authorizing the use of dogs issued to the dog handler for the unit 
being hunted;

(b)(i)  a valid bear pursuit permit; and
(ii)  be accompanied, as provided in Subsection (3), by a 

hunter possessing a limited entry  or harvest objective  bear permit 
authorizing the use of dogs for the [area]unit being hunted; or

(c)(i)   the  documentation  and  certifications  required  in 
R657-33-26(2) to pursue bear for compensation; and
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(ii)  be accompanied, as provided in Subsection (3), by a 
paying client possessing a limited entry [bear ]or harvest objective 
bear  permit  authorizing the  use  of  dogs  for  the  [area]unit  being 
hunted.

(5)  A dog handler may pursue bear under:
(a)  a bear pursuit permit only during the season and in the 

areas  designated  by  the  Wildlife  Board  in  guidebook  open  to 
pursuit;

(b)  a limited entry [bear ]or harvest objective bear permit 
authorizing the use of dogs only during the season and in the area 
designated by the Wildlife Board in guidebook for that permit; or

(c)  the pursuit for compensation provisions in this rule 
only during the seasons and in the areas designated by the Wildlife  
Board in guidebook open to pursuit.

(6)  When dogs are used to pursue or take a bear, no more 
than eight dogs may be used in the field at one time while pursuing 
during the summer pursuit seasons as established by the Wildlife 
Board in guidebook.

R657-33-13.   Certificate  of  Registration  Required  for  Bear 
Baiting.

(1)   A  certificate  of  registration  for  baiting  must  be 
obtained before establishing a bait station.

(2)  Certificates of registration for bear baiting are issued 
only  to  holders  of  [valid  ]limited  entry  [bear  archery  ]permits 
authorizing the use of  bait,  as  provided in  the guidebook of the 
Wildlife Board for taking bear.

(3)  A certificate of registration may be obtained from the 
division  office  within  the  region  where  the  bait  station  will  be 
established.

(4)   A new certificate  of  registration  must  be  obtained 
prior to moving a bait station.  All materials used as bait must be  
removed from the old site prior to the issuing of a new certificate of 
registration.

(5)  The following information must be provided to obtain 
a [Certificate]certificate of [Registration]registration for baiting:  a 
1:24000  USGS quad  map  with  the  bait  location  marked,  or  the 
Universal  Transverse  Mercator  (UTM)  or  latitude  and  longitude 
coordinates  of  the bait  station,  including the datum,  type of  bait 
used  and  written  permission  from the  appropriate  landowner  for 
private lands.

(6)(a)   Any  person  interested  in  baiting  on  lands 
administered  by  the  U.S.  Forest  Service  or  Bureau  of  Land 
Management must verify that the lands are open to baiting before 
applying for [a limited entry bear archery permit]and receiving a 
certificate of registration for bear baiting.

(b)   Information  on  areas  that  are  open  to  baiting  on 
National  Forests  must  be obtained from district  offices.   Baiting 
locations and applicable travel restrictions must be verified by the 
district supervisor prior to applying for a [Certificate]certificate of 
[Registration]registration.

(c)   Areas generally closed to  baiting stations by these 
federal agencies include:

(i)  designated Wilderness Areas;
(ii)  heavily used drainages or recreation areas; and
(iii)  critical watersheds.
(d)  The division shall send a copy of the certificate of 

registration to the private landowner or appropriate district office of 
the land management agency that manages the land where the bait 

station will be placed, as identified by the hunter on the application 
for a certificate of registration.
                 (e)   Issuance  of  a  certificate  of  registration  for  baiting   
does not authorize an individual to bait if it is otherwise unlawful to 
bait  under  the  regulations  of  the  applicable  land  management 
agency.

(7)  A handling fee must accompany the application.
(8)  Only hunters listed on the certificate of registration 

may hunt  over  the  bait  station and the certificate  of  registration 
must be in possession while hunting over the bait station.

(9)  Any person tending a bait station must be listed on the 
certificate of registration.

R657-33-14.  Use of Bait.
(1)(a)  A person who has obtained a limited entry bear 

archery permit may use archery tackle only, even when hunting bear 
away from the bait station.

(b)  A person who has obtained a limited entry bear permit 
for a season and hunt unit that allows baiting may use firearms and 
archery equipment as provided in R657-33-6.
                 (c)  Bear lured to a bait station may only be taken using   
firearms and archery equipment approved by the Wildlife Board and 
described in the guidebook for taking bear.
                 (d)  A person   may establish or use no more than two bait 
stations.   The  bait  [station(s)]stations may only be  used  during 
[both]an open [seasons]season.

[(c)](e)  Bear lured to a bait station may not be taken with 
[any firearm or the use of ]dogs.

([d]f)  Bait may not be contained in or include any metal, 
glass, porcelain, plastic, cardboard, or paper.

([e]g)   The  bait  station  must  be  marked  with  a  sign 
provided by the division and posted within 10 feet of the bait.

(2)(a)  Bait may be placed only in areas open to hunting 
and only during the open seasons.

(b)  All materials used as bait must be removed within 72 
hours  after  the  close  of  the  season  or  within  72  hours  after  the 
person or persons, who are registered for that bait station harvest a 
bear.

(3)  A person may use nongame fish as bait, except those 
listed  as  prohibited  in  Rule  R657-13  and  the  guidebook  of  the 
Wildlife Board for Taking Fish and Crayfish.  No other species of 
protected wildlife may be used as bait.

(4)(a)  Domestic livestock or its parts, including processed 
meat scraps, may be used as bait.

(b)  A person using domestic livestock or their parts for 
bait must have in possession:

(i)   [a certificate from a licensed veterinarian certifying 
that the domestic livestock or their parts does not have a contagious 
disease, and stating the cause and date of death; and
               (ii)  ]a certificate of brand inspection, bill of sale, or other 
proof of ownership or legal possession.

(5)  Bait may not be placed within:
(a)  100 yards of water or a public road or designated trail;
(b)  1/2 mile of any permanent dwelling or campground; 

or
(c)  any area identified as potentially increasing nuisance 

bear activity by the division.
(6)   Violations  of  this  rule  and  the  guidebook  of  the 

Wildlife Board for taking and pursuing bear concerning baiting on 
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federal  lands  may  be  a  violation  of  federal  regulations  and 
prosecuted under federal law.

R657-33-15.  Tagging Requirements.
(1)  The carcass of a bear must be tagged in accordance 

with Section 23-20-30.
(2)   The  carcass  of  a  bear  must  be  tagged  with  a 

temporary possession tag before the carcass is moved from or the 
hunter leaves the site of kill.

(3)   A person  may  not  hunt  or  pursue  bear  after  the 
notches  have  been  removed  from  the  tag  or  the  tag  has  been 
detached from the permit.

(4)  The temporary possession tag:
(a)  must remain attached to the pelt or unskinned carcass 

until the permanent possession tag is attached; and
(b)  is only valid for 48 hours after the date of kill.
(5)  A person may not possess a bear pelt or unskinned 

carcass without a valid permanent possession tag affixed to the pelt  
or unskinned carcass.  This provision does not apply to a person in 
possession of a properly tagged carcass or pelt within 48 hours after 
the kill, provided the person was issued and is in possession of a  
valid permit.

R657-33-16.  Evidence of Sex and Age.
(1)  Evidence of sex must remain attached to the carcass 

or pelt of each bear until a permanent tag has been attached by the 
division.

(2)  The pelt and skull must be presented to the division in 
an unfrozen condition to allow the division to gather management 
data.

(3)  The division may seize any pelt not accompanied by 
its skull.

R657-33-17.  Permanent Tag.
(1)  Each bear must be taken by the permit holder to a 

conservation officer or division office within 48 hours after the date 
of kill  to  have a  permanent  possession tag affixed to  the pelt  or 
unskinned carcass.

(2)  A person may not possess a green pelt after the 48-
hour check-in period,  ship a green pelt  out of Utah,  or present a 
green  pelt  to  a  taxidermist  if  the  green  pelt  does  not  have  a 
permanent possession tag attached.

R657-33-18.  Transporting Bear.
Bear that have been legally taken may be transported by 

the  permit  holder  provided  the  bear  is  properly  tagged  and  the 
permittee possesses a valid permit.

R657-33-19.  Exporting Bear from Utah.
(1)  A person may export a legally taken bear or its parts if 

that person has a valid permit and the bear is properly tagged with a  
permanent possession tag.

(2)  A person may not ship or cause to be shipped from 
Utah, a bear pelt without first obtaining a shipping permit issued by 
an authorized division representative.

R657-33-20.  Donating.
(1)  A person may donate protected wildlife or their parts 

to another person in accordance with Section 23-20-9.

(2)  A written statement of donation must be kept with the 
protected wildlife or parts showing:

(a)  the number and species of protected wildlife or parts 
donated;

(b)  the date of donation;
(c)  the [license or  ]permit number of the donor and the 

permanent possession tag number; and
(d)  the signature of the donor.
(3)  A green pelt of any bear donated to another person 

must have a permanent possession tag affixed.
(4)  The written statement of donation must be retained 

with the pelt.

R657-33-21.  Purchasing or Selling.
(1)  Legally obtained tanned bear hides may be purchased 

or sold.
(2)   A person  may not  purchase,  sell,  offer  for  sale  or 

barter a green pelt,  gall bladder, tooth, claw, paw or skull of any 
bear.

R657-33-22.  Waste of Wildlife.
(1)  A person may not waste or permit to be wasted or 

spoiled  any  protected  wildlife  or  their  parts  in  accordance  with 
Section 23-20-8.

(2)  The skinned carcass of a bear may be left in the field 
and  does  not  constitute  waste  of  wildlife,  however,  the  division 
recommends that hunters remove the carcass from the field.

R657-33-23.  Livestock and Commercial Crop Depredation.
(1)  If a bear is harassing, chasing, disturbing, harming, 

attacking or killing livestock, or has committed such an act within 
the past 72 hours:

(a)   [in  depredation  cases,  ]the  livestock  owner,  an 
immediate family member or an employee of the owner on a regular 
payroll, and not hired specifically to take bear, may kill the bear;

(b)   a  landowner  or  livestock  owner  may  notify  the 
division of the [depredation or human health and safety concerns, 
which shall]depredating bear and the division may:
                 (i)     authorize a local hunter to take  a bear using a valid 
permit; or
                 (ii)   request  that    the  offending  bear  [or  notify  a]be 
removed by Wildlife Services specialist, supervised by the USDA 
Wildlife Program; or

(c)  the livestock owner may notify a Wildlife Services 
specialist of the depredation, and that specialist or another agency 
employee may take the depredating bear.

(2)   Depredating  bear  may be  taken  at  any time  by a 
Wildlife Services specialist while acting in the performance of the 
person's  assigned  duties  and  in  accordance  with  procedures 
approved by the division.

(3)  A depredating bear may be taken by those persons 
authorized in Subsection (1)(a) with:

(a)  any weapon authorized for taking bear; or
(b)   [with  the  use  of  ]snares  only  with  written 

authorization from the director of the division and subject to all the 
conditions and restrictions set out in the written authorization.

(i)   The  option  in  Subsection  (3)(b)  may  only  be 
authorized in the case of [a ]chronic depredation [situation]verified 
by  Wildlife  Services  or  division  personnel where  numerous 
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livestock  have  been  killed  by  a  depredating  bear[ and  must  be 
verified by Wildlife Services or division personnel].
                 (4)(a)  The division may issue one or more control permits   
to  an  owner  or  lessee of  private  land to  remove  a  bear  causing 
damage to cultivated crops on cleared and planted land provided the 
following conditions are satisfied:
                 (i)   the  landowner  or  lessee  contacts  the  appropriate   
division office within 72 hours of the damage occurring or provides 
documentation of previous chronic damage incidents;
                 (ii)  the damaged cultivated crop is raised and utilized by   
the landowner or lessee for commercial gain and with a reasonable 
expectation of generating a profit;
                 (iii)   at  least  5  acres  of  the  private  land  is  placed  in   
agricultural  use  pursuant  to  Section  59-2-502  and  eligible  for 
agricultural use valuation as provided in Sections 59-2-503 and 59-
2-504;
                 (iv)  the division confirms that the private land where the   
cultivated crop occurs has experienced chronic  recurring damage 
from bears, or that there will likely be chronic recurring damage if 
offending bears are not immediately removed;
                 (v)  the landowner, an immediate family member, or an   
employee  of  the  owner  on  a  regular  payroll,  and  not  hired 
specifically  to  take  bear,  receives  the  control  permit  from  the 
division to remove the bear prior to initiating such action; and
                 (vi)   the  bear  removal  is  otherwise  in  accordance with   
Utah law.
                 (b)  The division may issue control permits described in   
Subsection (4)(v) and to identify restrictions necessary to to balance 
the threat to commercial crops on cleared and planted land and the 
wildlife resource, such as:
                 (i)  locations on the landowner or lessee's private property   
where offending bears may be taken;
                 (ii)   the  total  number  of  control  permits  that  may  be   
issued; and 
                 (iii)  reporting requirements to the division.  
                 (c)  Nothing herein mandates the division to issue control   
permits for a landowner or lessee to remove bears from their private 
property in lieu of:
                 (i)  the landowner or lessee taking nonlethal preventative   
measures in protecting their private property; and
                 (ii)   the  division  undertaking  wildlife  management   
techniques as they deem appropriate.

([4]5)(a)   Any  bear  taken  pursuant  to  [this  section 
must]Subsections (1)(a) and (4) shall:
                 (i)     be delivered to a division office or employee within 
[72]48 hours[.]; and

([b)  A bear that is killed in accordance with Subsection 
(1)(a) shall]ii)  remain the property of the state, except the division 
may  sell  a  bear  damage  permit  to  a  person  who  has  killed  a 
depredating bear if that person wishes to maintain possession of the 
bear.

([c]b)   A person  may  [acquire  ]only  retain  one  bear 
carcass annually under this Section.

([5]6)(a)  Hunters interested in taking depredating bear as 
provided in Subsection (1)(b) may contact the division.

(b)   Hunters  will  be  contacted  by the  division  to  take 
depredating bear as needed.

R657-33-24.  Questionnaire.
Each permittee who receives a questionnaire should return 

the questionnaire to the division regardless of success.  Returning 
the  questionnaire  helps  the  division  evaluate  population  trends, 
determine harvest success and other valuable information.

R657-33-25.  Taking Bear.
(1)(a)   A  person  who  has  obtained  a  bear  permit, 

excluding  limited  entry  archery  bear  permit, may use  any  legal 
weapon to  take  one  bear  during the  season  and  within  the  hunt 
unit(s) specified on the permit.

(b)   A person  who  has  obtained  a  limited  entry  bear 
archery permit may use only archery tackle to take on bear during 
the season and within the hunt units(s) specified on the permit.

(c)   Harvest  objective  permits  may be  purchased  on  a 
first-come, first-served basis as provided in the guidebook of the 
Wildlife Board for taking bear.
[              (i)  A mandatory online orientation course is required for 
hunters who wish to purchase a harvest  objective permit to hunt 
black bear.
] (2)(a)  A person may not take or pursue a cub, or a sow 
accompanied by cubs.

(b)   Any bear,  except  a  cub or  a  sow accompanied  by 
cubs, may be taken during the prescribed seasons.

(3)  Limited entry permits may be obtained by following 
the application procedures provided in this rule and the guidebook 
of the Wildlife Board for taking and pursuing bear.

(4)[(a)   A mandatory orientation  course  is  required  for 
hunters who draw a permit to hunt black bear.
               (b)  Permits for bear hunts will be distributed to successful 
applicants upon completion of the orientation course.
               (5)]  Season dates, closed areas, harvest objective permit 
areas and limited entry permit areas are published in the guidebook 
of the Wildlife Board for taking and pursuing bear.

R657-33-26.  Bear Pursuit.
(1)(a)  Except  as  provided in  rule  R657-33-3(1)(b)  and 

Subsection (2),  bear  may be pursued only by persons who have 
obtained a bear pursuit permit.

(b)  The bear pursuit permit does not allow a person to:
(i)  kill a bear; or
(ii)  pursue bear for compensation.
(c)  A person may pursue bear for compensation only as 

provided in Subsection (2).
(d)  To obtain a bear pursuit permit, a person must possess 

a Utah hunting or combination license.
(2)(a)   A person  may pursue  bear  on  public  lands  for 

compensation, provided the dog handler:
(i)  receives compensation from a client or customer to 

pursue bear;
(ii)  is a licensed hunting guide or outfitter under Title 58, 

Chapter 79 of the Utah Code and authorized to pursue bear;
(iii)   possesses  on  his  or  her  person  the  Utah  hunting 

guide or outfitter license;
(iv)   possesses  on  his  or  her  person  all  permits  and 

authorizations  required  by  the  applicable  public  lands  managing 
authority to pursue bear for compensation; and
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(v)  is accompanied by the client or customer at all times 
during pursuit.

(b)   A person  may  pursue  bear  on  private  lands  for 
compensation, provided the dog handler:

(i)  receives compensation from a client or customer to 
pursue bear;

(ii)  is accompanied by the client or customer at all times 
during pursuit; and

(iii)   possesses on his or  her person written permission 
from all private landowners on whose property pursuit takes place.

(c)  A person who is an employee or agent of the Division 
of Wildlife Services may pursue bear on public lands and private 
lands while acting within the scope of their employment.

(3)  A pursuit permit is not required to pursue bear under 
Subsection (2).

(4)(a)   A person  pursuing bear  for  compensation  under 
subsections  (2)(a)  and  (2)(b)  shall  comply  with  all  other 
requirements and restrictions in statute, rule and the guidebooks of 
the Wildlife Board regulating the pursuit and take of bear.

(b)   Any  violation  of,  or  failure  to  comply  with  the 
provisions of Title 23 of the Utah Code, this rule, or the guidebooks 
of  the  Wildlife  Board  may  be  grounds  for  suspension  of  the 
privilege to pursue bear for compensation under this subsection, as 
determined by a division hearing officer.

(5)  Except as provided in Subsection (6), a bear pursuit 
permit authorizes the holder to pursue bear with dogs on any unit  
open to pursuing bear during the seasons and under the conditions 
prescribed by the Wildlife Board in guidebook.

(6)   The  Wildlife  Board  may establish  or  designate  in 
guidebook  restricted  pursuit  units  as  determined  necessary  or 
convenient to better manage wildlife resources, including to protect 
wildlife,  curtail  over-utilization of resources,  reduce conflict  with 
other recreational activities, reduce conflict with private and public 
land activities, and protect wildlife habitat.

(a)  Bear may not be pursued on a restricted pursuit unit 
unless the dog handler:

(i)   possesses  a  pursuit  permit  issued for  the particular 
restricted pursuit unit;

(ii)   possesses  or  is  accompanied  by  a  person  who 
possesses  a  limited  entry  or  harvest  objective  bear  permit 
[for]allowing the [unit]use of dogs, and the pursuit occurs within 
the area and during the season established [for]by the [limited entry 
bear]respective permit; or

(iii)  is engaged in pursuit for compensation as provided in 
Subsection (2), and pursuit occurs within the area and during the 
season established for the:

(A)  paying client's limited entry or harvest objective bear 
permit allowing the use of dogs; or

(B)  restricted pursuit unit.
(b)  A pursuit permit issued for a restricted pursuit unit 

authorizes the holder to pursue bear on:
(i)   the  particular  restricted  pursuit  unit  for  which  the 

permit is issued; and
(ii)   any  other  bear  pursuit  unit  not  designated  as  a 

restricted pursuit unit.
(c)   Notwithstanding  Subsection  (6)(a)(i),  when two  or 

more  dog  owners  are  in  the  field  pursuing bear  together  with  a

single pack of eight dogs or less on a restricted pursuit unit, only
one must possess a restricted pursuit unit permit, provided the dog 
owners accompany the person possessing the restricted pursuit unit 
permit at all times.

(i)  A dog owner pursuing bear on a restricted pursuit unit 
may leave the pursuit permit holder to retrieve dogs that separate 
from the pack, provided the dog owner;

(A)   takes  reasonable  steps  to  keep  the  pack  together 
before and during pursuit;

(B)  separates from the pursuit permit holder exclusively 
to retrieve stray dogs and does not attempt to actively pursue bear 
during the retrieval process; and

(C)  immediately releases any bear incidentally treed or 
held at bay by the stray dogs.

(7)  Pursuit permits may be obtained at division offices, 
through the Internet and at license agents.

(a)  The [Division]division may distribute pursuit permits 
for restricted pursuit units:

(i)  through its offices, license agents, or online resources 
on a first-come, first-served basis; or

(ii)  through a random drawing.
(8)  A person may not:
(a)  take or pursue a female bear with cubs;
(b)  repeatedly pursue, chase, tree, corner or hold at bay 

the same bear during the same day;
(c)  individually or in combination with another person, 

use more than eight dogs in the field to pursue a bear during the 
summer  pursuit  season  as  established  by  the  Wildlife  Board  in 
guidebook; or

(d)  possess a firearm or any device that could be used to 
kill a bear while pursuing bear.

(i)  The weapon restrictions set forth in Subsection (d) do 
not  apply  to  a  person  licensed  to  carry  a  concealed  weapon  in 
accordance  with  Title  53,  Chapter  5,  Part  7  of  the  Utah  Code, 
provided  the  person  is  not  utilizing  or  attempting  to  utilize  the 
concealed weapon to injure or kill bear.

(9)  If eligible, a person who has obtained a bear pursuit 
permit  may also obtain a  limited entry or  harvest  objective bear 
permit.

(10)  Season dates, closed areas and bear pursuit permit 
areas  are  published  in  the  guidebook  of  the  Wildlife  Board  for 
taking and pursuing bear.

R657-33-27.   Limited  Entry  Bear  Permit  Application 
Information.

(1)   Limited  entry bear  permits  are  issued  pursuant  to 
R657-62-[20.]19.

R657-33-28.  Waiting Period.
(1)  Any person who [purchases]obtains a  limited entry 

permit[ valid for the current season,] may not apply for a permit in a 
division drawing for a period of two years.

(2)   [Any person  who  draws  a  permit  for  the  current 
season, may not apply for a permit for a]Individuals who obtain a 
conservation permit,  sportsman permit,  control permit,  or harvest 
objective permit for bear are not subject to a waiting period[ of two 
years].
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R657-33-29.  Harvest Objective General Information.
(1)  Harvest objective permits are valid only for the open 

harvest objective management units and for the specified seasons 
published in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking bear.

(2)  Harvest objective permits are not valid in a specified 
unit  after  the  harvest  objective  has  been  met  for  that  harvest 
objective unit.

R657-33-30.  Harvest Objective Permit Sales.
(1)   Harvest  objective  permits  are  available  on  a  first-

come,  first-served  basis  beginning  on  the  date  published  in  the 
guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking bear.

(2)  Any bear permit purchased after the season opens is 
not valid until [seven]three days after the date of purchase.

(3)  A person must possess a valid hunting or combination 
license to obtain a [Harvest]harvest objective permit.

R657-33-31.  Harvest Objective Unit Closures.
(1)  [To hunt]Prior to hunting in a harvest objective unit, a 

hunter must call 1-888-668-5466 or visit the division's website to 
verify that  the  bear  [management  area]hunting unit is  still  open. 
The phone line and website will be updated each day by 12 noon. 
Updates become effective the following day thirty minutes before 
official sunrise.

(2)  Harvest objective units are open to hunting until:
(a)  the bear harvest objective for that harvest objective 

unit is met and the division closes the area; or
(b)   the  end  of  the  hunting  season  as  provided  in  the 

guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking bear.
(3)  Upon closure of a harvest objective unit, a hunter may 

not take or pursue bear except as provided in Section R657-33-26.

R657-33-32.  Harvest Objective Unit Reporting.
(1)   Any person taking a  bear  with  a  harvest  objective 

permit must report to the division, within 48 hours, where the bear 
was taken and have a permanent tag affixed pursuant  to Section 
R657-33-17.

(2)   Failure  to  accurately  report  the  correct  harvest 
objective [management ]unit where the bear was killed is unlawful.

(3)   Any conviction  for  failure  to  accurately report,  or 
aiding or assisting in the failure to accurately report as required in 
Subsection  (1)  shall  be  considered  prima  facie  evidence  of  a 
knowing,  intentional  or  reckless  violation for  purposes of  permit 
suspension.

R657-33-33.  Fees.
The permit fees and handling fees must be paid pursuant 

to Rule R657-42-8(5).

R657-33-34.  Drawings and Remaining Permits.
Remaining limited entry bear permits are issued pursuant 

to R657-62.

R657-33-35.  Bonus Points.
Bonus points are accrued and used pursuant to R657-62-8.

R657-33-36.  Refunds.
(1)   Unsuccessful  applicants  will  not  be  charged  for  a 

permit.

(2)  The handling fees and hunting or combination license 
fees are nonrefundable.

R657-33-37.  Duplicate License and Permit.
Whenever any unexpired license, permit, tag or certificate 

of registration is destroyed, lost or stolen, a person may obtain a 
duplicate in accordance with R657-42.

KEY:  wildlife, bear, game laws
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Change:   [April  2, 
2012]2015
Notice of Continuation:  December 5, 2012
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19; 23-13-2

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-38

Dedicated Hunter Program
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39064

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Wildlife 
Board  meetings  conducted  for  taking  public  input  and 
reviewing the division's Dedicated Hunter Program.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revision to this rule replace "convention" with "expo".

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   This  rule  amendment  makes 
technical changes and thus the Division of Wildlife Resources 
(DWR) determines that these amendments do not create a 
cost or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, 
since  the  changes  will  not  increase  workload  and  can  be 
carried out with existing budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Since  the  amendment  only 
changes a name, this filing does not create any direct cost or 
savings impact to local  governments because they are not 
directly  affected  by  the  rule.   Nor  are  local  governments 
indirectly  impacted  because  the  rule  does  not  create  a 
situation requiring services from local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This amendment simply makes a 
name  change,  therefore,  the  division  determines  that  the 
amendments do not have the potential to generate a cost or 
savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This  amendment  simply makes a name change,  therefore, 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2015, Vol. 2015, No. 3 39



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 39064

the division determines that the amendments do not have the 
potential  to  generate  a  cost  or  savings  impact  to  other 
persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR 
determines that this amendment is a name clarification that 
will not create additional savings or costs for those who wish 
to participate in the program.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-38.  Dedicated Hunter Program.
R657-38-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)   Under  the authority of  Section  23-14-18,  this  rule 
provides the standards and requirements for qualified deer hunters 
to  participate  in  the  Dedicated  Hunter  Program  by  obtaining  a 
certificate of registration.

(2)   The  Dedicated  Hunter  Program is  a  program that 
provides:

(a)  expanded hunting opportunities;
(b)   opportunities  to  participate  in  projects  that  are 

beneficial to wildlife; and
(c)  education in hunter ethics and wildlife management 

principles.

R657-38-13.  Obtaining Other Permits.
(1)  Participants may not apply for or obtain any general 

season buck deer  permit,  including general  landowner  buck deer 
permits,  or  respective  preference  points  issued  by  the  Division 
through  the  big  game  drawing,  license  agents,  over-the-counter 
sales, or the internet during an enrollment period in the program.

(a)  Any general season deer permit obtained is invalid 
and must be surrendered prior to the beginning date of that permit. 
A refund may not be issued pursuant to Section 23-19-3.

(2)(a)  Participants may apply for or obtain a limited entry 
season  buck  deer  permit,  including  CWMU,  limited  entry 
landowner, conservation, [convention]expo, and poaching rewards 
permits.

(i)  The limited entry buck deer permit may be obtained 
without  the  completion  of  the  annual  program requirements,  but 
does  not  exempt  the  participant  from  fulfilling  the  minimum 
requirements of the entire enrollment.

(ii)  Obtaining a limited entry buck deer permit during the 
enrollment shall not extend the enrollment period, but shall take the 
place of one of the 3 possible permit years.

(iii)  Harvest with a limited entry buck deer permit shall 
not be counted as a program harvest.

(b)  If  the participant obtains a limited entry buck deer 
permit and has been issued a Dedicated Hunter permit, that permit 
or the Dedicated Hunter permit must be surrendered as permissible 
by R657-38-11and R657-42.  A refund may not be issued pursuant 
to Section 23-19-38.

(i)  A participant who obtains a limited entry buck deer 
permit may only use that permit in the prescribed area and season 
listed on the permit.  Dedicated Hunter privileges are not transferred 
to that permit.

(ii)   The  limited  entry  buck  deer  permit  may  not  be 
obtained if the Dedicated Hunter permit has been in possession of 
the participant during any open portion of the general buck deer 
season.

(3)(a)  Participants may apply for or obtain antlerless deer 
permits  as  provided  in  Rule  R657-5  and  the  guidebook  of  the 
Wildlife Board for taking big game.

(b)   Except  as  provided  in  R657-38-10,  harvest  of  an 
antlerless deer with an antlerless deer permit shall not be considered 
a program harvest.

KEY:  wildlife, hunting, recreation, wildlife conservation
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
10, 2014]2015
Notice of Continuation:  November 1, 2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-41

Conservation and Sportsman Permits
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39065

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory  Council  and  Wildlife  Board  meetings  conducted 
annually for taking public input and reviewing the Division of 
Wildlife Resources' (DWR) rule pursuant to conservation and 
sportsman permits.
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revision to this rule replace "convention" with "expo".

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   This  rule  amendment  makes 
technical changes.  DWR determines that these amendments 
do not create a cost or savings impact to the state budget or 
DWR's budget, since the changes will not increase workload 
and can be carried out with existing budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Since  the  amendment  only 
changes a name, this filing does not create any direct cost or 
savings impact to local  governments because they are not 
directly  affected  by  the  rule.   Nor  are  local  governments 
indirectly  impacted  because  the  rule  does  not  create  a 
situation requiring services from local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This amendment simply makes a 
name change, therefore,  the amendments do not have the 
potential  to  generate  a  cost  or  savings  impact  to  small 
businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This  amendment  simply makes a name change,  therefore, 
the amendments do not have the potential to generate a cost 
or savings impact to other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This 
amendment simply makes a name change, therefore, DWR 
determines  that  this  amendment  will  not  create  additional 
costs for residents and nonresidents wishing to hunt in Utah.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-41.  Conservation and Sportsman Permits.
R657-41-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under the authority of Section 23-14-18 and 23-14-
19, this rule provides the standards and procedures for issuing:

(a)  conservation permits to conservation organizations for 
sale  at  an  auction,  or  for  use  as  an  aid  to  wildlife  related  fund 
raising activities; and

(b)  sportsman permits.
(2)  The division and conservation organizations shall use 

all  revenue derived from conservation permits  under  Subsections 
R657-41-9(4) and R657-41-9(5)(b) for the benefit of the species for 
which  the  permit  is  issued,  unless  the  division  and  conservation 
organization mutually agree in writing that there is a higher priority 
use for other species of protected wildlife.

R657-41-12.  Special Antelope Island State Park Conservation 
Permit.

(1)  If  the Wildlife Board authorizes a hunt for bighorn 
sheep or mule deer on Antelope Island State Park, one permit for 
each species will  be made available as a Special Antelope Island 
State Park Conservation Permit.

(2)   Special  Antelope  Island  State  Park  Conservation 
Permits will be issued for one year.

(3)   Special  Antelope  Island  State  Park  Conservation 
Permits will be issued under this section and will not be limited by 
the requirements of R657-41-3 through R657-41-8.

(4)   Special  Antelope  Island  State  Park  Conservation 
Permits  will  be  provided  to  the  conservation  group awarded  the 
wildlife [convention]expo permit series as provided in R657-55 for 
marketing at the wildlife [convention]exposition where the wildlife 
[convention]expo permits are awarded.

(5)  The division and conservation organization receiving 
Special Antelope Island State Park Conservation Permits shall enter 
into a contract

(6)   The  conservation  organization  receiving  Special 
Antelope Island State Park Conservation Permits must insure that 
the permits are marketed and distributed by lawful means.

(7)  The conservation organization must:
(a)  obtain the name of the proposed permit recipient at 

the event where the permit recipient is selected; and
(b)  notify the division of the proposed permit recipient 

within  10  days  of  the  recipient  selection  or  the  permit  may  be 
forfeited.

(8)  If a person is selected by a qualified organization to 
receive a Special Antelope Island State Park Conservation Permit 
and is also successful in obtaining a permit for the same species in  
the  same  year  through  a  division  drawing,  that  person  may 
designate  another  person  to  receive  the  Special  Antelope  Island 
State Park Conservation Permit, provided the permit has not been 
issued by the division to the first selected person.

(9)  If a person is selected by a qualified organization to 
receive a Special Antelope Island State Park Conservation Permit, 
but is unable to use the permit, the conservation organization may 
designate another person to receive the permit provided:

(a)   the  conservation  organization  selects  the  new 
recipient of the permit;
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(b)  the amount of money received by the division for the 
permit is not decreased;

(c)   the  conservation  organization  relinquishes  to  the 
division  and  otherwise  uses  all  proceeds  generated  from the  re-
designated permit, pursuant to the requirements provided below:

(i)   the  conservation  organization  and  the  initial 
designated recipient of the permit, sign an affidavit indicating the 
initial  designated  recipient  is  not  profiting  from transferring  the 
right to the permit; and

(ii)  the permit has not been issued by the division to the 
first designated person.

(10)  Except as otherwise provided under Subsections (8) 
and (9),  a person designated by a conservation organization as a 
recipient  of  a  Special  Antelope  Island  State  Park  Conservation 
Permit, may not sell or transfer the rights to that designation to any 
other  person.   This  does not  preclude a  person  from bidding or 
otherwise  lawfully  acquiring  a  permit  from  a  conservation 
organization on behalf of another person who will be identified as 
the original designated recipient.

(11)   A person cannot  obtain a  Special  Antelope Island 
State Park Conservation Permit for a bighorn sheep or mule deer 
and any other permit for a male animal of the same species in the 
same year.

(12)  The person designated to receive a Special Antelope 
Island  State  Park  Conservation  Permit  must  possess  or  obtain  a 
current Utah hunting or combination license before being issued the 
permit.

(13)   Within  30  days  of  the  [convention]wildlife 
exposition,  but  no  later  than  May  1  annually,  the  conservation 
organization must submit to the division:

(a)   a  final  report  on  the  distribution  of  the  Special 
Antelope Island State Park Conservation Permits;

(b)  the total funds raised on each permit; and
(c)  the funds due to the division.
(14)(a)  Permits shall not be issued until the permit fees 

are paid to the division.
(b)  If the conservation organization is paying the permit 

fees for the permit recipient, the fees must be paid from the 10% 
retained by the conservation organization as provided in R657-41-
9(5)(a).

(15)(a)   Conservation  organizations  shall  remit  to  the 
division 90% of the total revenue generated by the Special Antelope 
Island State Park Conservation Permit sales in that year.

(b)  Failure to remit 90% of the total permit revenue to the 
division  by  the  September  1  deadline  may  result  in  criminal 
prosecution under Title 76, Chapter 6, Part 4 of the Utah Code.

(16)  A conservation organization may retain 10% of the 
revenue generated by the permits for administrative expenses.

(17)   Upon  receipt  of  the  permit  revenue  from  the 
conservation organization, the division will transfer the revenue in 
its entirety to the Division of Parks and Recreation as provided in a  
cooperative agreement between the two divisions.

KEY:   wildlife,  wildlife  permits,  sportsmen,  conservation 
permits
Date of enactment or last Substantive Change:  [February 10, 
2014]2015

Notice of Continuation:  November 1, 2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-42

Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds 
and Reallocation of Wildlife Documents

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  39066
FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory  Council  and  Wildlife  Board  meetings  conducted 
annually for taking public input and reviewing the Division of 
Wildlife Resources' (DWR) rule pursuant to fees, exchanges, 
surrenders  refunds,  and  reallocation  of  permits  and  other 
documents.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revision to this rule replace "convention" with "expo".

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-19-1 and Section 23-19-38

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   This  rule  amendment  makes 
technical changes.  It requires no programming changes and 
can  be  implemented  with  the  Division's  current  budget. 
Therefore, DWR determines that these amendments will not 
create  any  cost  or  savings  impact  to  the  state  budget  or 
DWR's budget, since the changes will not increase workload 
and can be carried out with existing budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Since  the  amendment  only 
changes a name, this filing does not create any direct cost or 
savings  impact  to  local  governments  since  they  are  not 
directly  affected  by  the  rule.   Nor  are  local  governments 
indirectly  impacted  because  the  rule  does  not  create  a 
situation requiring services from local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This amendment simply makes a 
name  change,  it  does  not  have  an  additional  financial 
requirement and would not generate a cost or saving impact 
to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This amendment simply makes a name change, it does not 
have  an  additional  financial  requirement  and  would  not 
generate a cost or saving impact to other persons.
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR 
determines  that  this  amendment  will  not  create  additional 
costs  and  does  not  create  a  cost  or  savings  impact  to 
individuals  who  participate  in  hunting  in  Utah.   This 
amendment simply makes a name change.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-42.   Fees,  Exchanges,  Surrenders,  Refunds  and 
Reallocation of Wildlife Documents.
R657-42-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under the authority of Sections 23-19-1 and 23-19-38 
the division may issue wildlife documents in accordance with the 
rules of the Wildlife Board.

(2)  This rule provides the standards and procedures for 
the:

(a)  exchange of permits;
(b)  surrender of wildlife documents;
(c)  refund of wildlife documents;
(d)  reallocation of permits; and
(e)  assessment of late fees.

R657-42-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2 

and the applicable rules and guidebooks of the Wildlife Board.
(2)  In addition:
(a)  "Alternate drawing lists" means a list of persons who 

have  not  already drawn a permit  and would  have  been the  next 
person in line to draw a permit.

(b)  "CWMU"  means  cooperative  wildlife  management 
unit.

(c)   "Deployed  or  mobilized"  means  that  a  person 
provides military or emergency services in the interest of national 

defense or national emergency pursuant to the demand, request or 
order of their employer.

(d)  "General season permit" means any:
(i)  bull elk, buck deer, or turkey permit identified in the 

guidebooks of the Wildlife Board as a general season permit;
(ii)  antlerless permit for elk, deer, or pronghorn antelope; 

or
(iii)  harvest objective cougar permit.
(e)  "Landowner association operator" for purposes of this 

rule, means:
(i)  a landowner association or any of its members eligible 

to  receive  limited  entry  landowner  permits  as  provided  in  Rule 
R657-43; or

(ii)   CWMU -  landowner  association  or  its  designated 
operator as provided in Rule R657-37.

(f)  "Limited entry permit" means any permit, including a 
CWMU,  conservation,  [convention]expo,  sportsman,  or  limited 
entry landowner permit, identified in the guidebooks of the Wildlife 
Board as limited entry or premium limited entry for the following;

(i)  bull elk, buck deer, buck pronghorn, bear, cougar, or 
turkey; and

(ii)  antlerless moose.
(g)   "Once-in-a-lifetime  permit"  means  any  permit, 

including a CWMU, conservation, [convention]expo, sportsman, or 
limited entry landowner permit, identified in the guidebooks of the 
Wildlife Board as once-in-a-lifetime for the following:

(i)   bison,  bull  moose,  Rocky  Mountain  goat,  desert 
bighorn sheep, and Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep.

(h)  "Wildlife document" means any license, permit, tag, 
or certificate of registration issued by the division.

KEY:  wildlife, permits
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
10, 2012]2015
Notice of Continuation:  May 6, 2013
Authorizing,  and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-19-1; 
23-19-38; 23-19-38.2

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-55

Wildlife Convention Permits
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39067

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory  Council  and  Wildlife  Board  meetings  conducted 
annually for taking public input and reviewing the Division of 
Wildlife  Resources'  (DWR)  rule  pursuant  to  convention 
permits.
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revisions  to  the  above  listed  rule:   1)  replace  the  term 
"convention"  with  "expo";  2)  allow  for  the  conservation 
organization named in the expo contract the option to extend 
for up to five additional years upon mutual agreement of the 
division and approval of the Wildlife Board; and 3) formalize 
in  rule  the amount  of  application  fee revenue that  can  be 
retained  by  the  contractor  for  overhead  at  $3.50  per 
application, and specify that the remaining revenue be utilized 
for  division director approved projects  that  advance wildlife 
interests in Utah.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   This  amendment  establishes 
procedures  that  will  allow  the  group  who  holds  the  expo 
contract  to  negotiate  contracts  with  vendors  further  in 
advance, and puts into rule a process that has already been 
practiced with the remaining revenue of the application fee. 
DWR determines that this amendment does not create a cost 
or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, since 
the changes will not increase workload and can be carried out 
with existing budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Since this amendment only sets 
in  rule  a  policy  that  has  already  been  established  and 
followed,  this  should  have  little  to  no  effect  on  local 
governments.  This filing does not create any direct cost or 
savings impact to local  governments because they are not 
directly  affected  by  the  rule.   Nor  are  local  governments 
indirectly  impacted  because  the  rule  does  not  create  a 
situation requiring services from local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This amendment places in rule the 
procedures for the revenue generated by the expo application 
fees  and allows for  an  extension  period of  the  contract;  it 
does not have the potential to increase the cost to individuals. 
Therefore,  this  amendment  does  not  have  the  potential  to 
generate a cost or savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This  amendment  places  in  rule  the  procedures  for  the 
revenue generated by the expo application fees and allows 
for an extension period of the contract, it does not have the 
potential to increase the cost to individuals.  Therefore, this 
amendment does not have the potential to generate a cost or 
savings impact to other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This 
amendment  places  in  rule  the  procedures  for  the  revenue 
generated  by  the  expo application  fees  and  allows  for  an 
extension period of the contract.  DWR determines that this 
amendment  will  not  create  additional  costs  for  those 
participating  in  the  wildlife  exposition.   Therefore,  the  rule 
amendment  does  not  create  a  cost  or  savings  impact  to 
individuals.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This rule does not create an impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-55.  Wildlife [Convention]Expo Permits.
R657-55-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under the authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-
19  of  the  Utah  Code,  this  rule  provides  the  standards  and 
requirements for issuing wildlife [convention]expo permits.

(2)  Wildlife [convention]expo permits are authorized by 
the  Wildlife  Board  and  issued  by  the  division  to  a  qualified 
conservation  organization  for  purposes  of  generating  revenue  to 
fund  wildlife  conservation  activities  in  Utah  and  attracting  a 
regional or national wildlife [convention]exposition to Utah.

(3)  The selected conservation organization will conduct a 
random drawing  at  [a  convention]an  exposition held  in  Utah  to 
distribute  the  opportunity  to  receive  wildlife  [convention]expo 
permits.

(4)   This  rule  is  intended as  authorization to  issue one 
series of wildlife [convention]expo permits per year [beginning in 
2012 through 2016 ]to one qualified conservation organization.

R657-55-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.
(2)  In addition:
(a)   "Conservation  organization"  means  a  nonprofit 

chartered  institution,  corporation,  foundation,  or  association 
founded for the purpose of promoting wildlife conservation.

(b)  "Special nonresident [convention]expo permit" means 
one  wildlife  [convention]expo permit  for  each  once-in-a-lifetime 
species that is only available to a nonresident hunter legally eligible 
to hunt in Utah.

(c)  "Wildlife [Convention]exposition" means a multi-day 
event held within the state of Utah that is sponsored by multiple
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wildlife  conservation  organizations  as  their  national  or  regional 
convention or event that is open to the general public and designed 
to  draw nationwide  attendance  of  more  than  10,000  individuals. 
The  wildlife  [convention]exposition may  include  wildlife 
conservation  fund  raising  activities,  outdoor  exhibits,  retail 
marketing  of  outdoor  products  and  services,  public  awareness 
programs, and other similar activities.

(d)  "Wildlife [Convention Audit]exposition audit" means 
an annual review by the division of the conservation organization's 
processes used to handle applications for [convention]expo permits 
and  conduct  the  drawing,  and  the  protocols  associated  with 
collecting and using client data.

(e)  "Wildlife [Convention Permit]expo permit" means a 
permit which:

(i)  is authorized by the Wildlife Board to be issued to 
successful  applicants  through  a  drawing  or  random  selection 
process conducted at a Utah wildlife [convention]exposition; and

(ii)   allows  the  permittee  to  hunt  [for  ]the  designated 
species on the designated unit during the respective season for each 
species as authorized by the Wildlife Board.

(f)   "Wildlife  [Convention  Permit]expo  permit series" 
means a single package of permits to be determined by the Wildlife 
Board for:

(i)  deer;
(ii)  elk;
(iii)  pronghorn;
(iv)  moose;
(v)  bison;
(vi)  rocky mountain goat;
(vii)  desert bighorn sheep;
(viii)  rocky mountain bighorn sheep;
(ix)  wild turkey;
(x)  cougar; or
(xi)  black bear.
(g)   "Secured  [Opportunity]opportunity"  means  the 

opportunity to [participate in]receive a specified [hunt]wildlife expo 
permit that  is  secured  by  an  eligible  applicant  through  the 
exposition drawing process.

(h)   "Successful  [Applicant]applicant"  means  an 
individual  selected  to  receive  a  wildlife  [convention]expo permit 
through the drawing process.

R657-55-3.  Wildlife [Convention]Expo Permit Allocation.
(1)   The  Wildlife  Board  may  allocate  wildlife 

[convention]expo permits  by  May  1  of  the  year  preceding  the 
wildlife [convention]exposition.

(2)  Wildlife [convention]expo permits shall be issued as a 
single series to one conservation organization.

(3)   The  number  of  wildlife  [convention]expo permits 
authorized by the Wildlife Board shall be based on:

(a)  the species population trend, size, and distribution to 
protect the long-term health of the population;

(b)  the hunting and viewing opportunity for the general 
public, both short and long term; and

(c)  a percentage of the permits available to nonresidents 
in  the  annual  big  game  drawings  matched  by  a  proportionate 
number of resident permits.

(4)  Wildlife [convention]expo permits, including special 
nonresident  [convention]expo permits,  shall  not  exceed 200 total 
permits.

(5)  Wildlife [convention]expo permits designated for the 
[convention]exposition each  year  shall  be  deducted  from  the 
number of public drawing permits.

R657-55-4.   Obtaining  Authority  to  Distribute  Wildlife 
[Convention]Expo Permit Series.

[(1)  The](1)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (b), the 
wildlife [convention]expo permit series is issued for a period of five 
years[ as provided in Section R657-55-1(4)].
                 (b)  For expo contracts governing the 2017 expo, and all   
expo  contracts  thereafter,  the  original  five  year  term  may  be 
extended an additional period not to exceed five years, so long as:
                 (i)   the division and conservation organization mutually   
agree in writing to an extension; and
                 (ii)   the  contract  extension is  approved by the Wildlife   
Board.

(2)   The  wildlife  [convention]expo permit  series  is 
available  to  eligible  conservation  organizations  for  distribution 
through  a  drawing  or  other  random selection  process  held  at  a 
wildlife [convention]exposition in Utah open to the public.

(3)  Conservation organizations may apply for the wildlife 
[convention]expo permit  series  by  sending  an  application  to  the 
division between August 1 and September [1, 2010.]1 of the year 
preceding the expiration of each wildlife exposition term, as provide 
in R657-55-4(1).

(4)  Each application must include:
(a)   the  name,  address  and  telephone  number  of  the 

conservation organization;
(b)   a  description  of  the  conservation  organization's 

mission statement;
(c)   the  name  of  the  president  or  other  individual 

responsible  for  the  administrative  operations  of  the  conservation 
organization; and

(d)  a detailed business plan describing how the wildlife 
[convention]exposition will  take  place  and  how  the  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit drawing procedures will be carried out.

(5)   An  incomplete  or  incorrect  application  may  be 
rejected.

(6)  The division shall recommend to the Wildlife Board 
which  conservation  organization  may  receive  the  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit series based on:

(a)   the  business  plan  for  the  [convention]wildlife 
exposition and drawing procedures contained in the application; and

(b)   the  conservation  organization's,  including  its 
constituent entities, ability, including past performance in marketing 
conservation permits under Rule R657-41, to effectively plan and 
complete the wildlife [convention]exposition.

(7)  The Wildlife Board shall make the final assignment of 
the wildlife [convention]expo permit series based on the:

(a)  division's recommendation;
(b)  applicant conservation organization's commitment to 

use  [convention]expo permit  handling  fee  revenue  to  benefit 
protected wildlife in Utah;
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(c)  historical contribution of the applicant conservation 
organization, including its constituent entities, to the conservation 
of wildlife in Utah; and

(d)  previous performance of the applicant conservation 
organization, including its constituent entities.

(8)  The conservation organization receiving the wildlife 
[convention]expo permit series must:

(a)   require  each  wildlife  [convention]expo permit 
applicant  to  [verify  they  ]possess  a  current  Utah  hunting  or 
combination license before [allowing them to apply]applying for a 
[convention]wildlife expo permit[.];

(b)   select  successful  applicants  for  [the  ]wildlife 
convention permits by drawing or other random selection process in 
accordance  with  law,  provisions  of  this  rule,  proclamation,  and 
order of the Wildlife Board;

(c)   allow  applicants  to  apply  for  [the  ]wildlife 
[convention]expo permits  without  purchasing  admission  to  the 
wildlife [convention]exposition;

(d)  notify the division of the successful applicant of each 
wildlife [convention]expo permit within 10 days of the applicant's 
selection;

(e)  maintain records demonstrating that the drawing was 
conducted fairly; and

(f)  submit to an annual wildlife [convention]exposition 
audit by a division[-] appointed auditor.

(9)   The  division  shall  issue  the  appropriate  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit  to  the  designated  successful  applicant 
after:

(a)  completion of the random selection process;
(b)  verification of the recipient being [found ]eligible for 

the permit; and
(c)  payment of the appropriate permit fee is received by 

the division.
(10)   The  division  and  the  conservation  organization 

receiving  the  wildlife  [convention]expo permit  series  shall  enter 
into a contract, including the provisions outlined in this rule.

(11)  If the conservation organization awarded the wildlife 
[convention]expo permit series withdraws before the end of the 5 
year  period or  any extension  period  under  R657-55-4(1)(b),  any 
remaining  co-[participants]participant with  the  conservation 
organization may be given an opportunity to assume the contract 
and to distribute the [convention]expo permit series consistent with 
the contract and this rule for the remaining years [left  ]in the [5 
year]applicable period, provided:

(a)   The  original  contracted  conservation  organization 
submits a certified letter to the division identifying that it will no 
longer be participating in the [convention]exposition.

(b)   The partner  or  successor  conservation organization 
files an application with the division as provided in [subsection  ]
Subsection (4) for the remaining period.

(c)  The successor conservation organization submits its 
application  request  at  least  60  days  prior  to  the  next  scheduled 
[convention]exposition so that the wildlife board can evaluate the 
request under the criteria in this section.

(d)   The  Wildlife  Board  authorizes  the  successor 
conservation organization to assume the contract and complete the 
balance of the [5 year convention]expo permit series period.

(12)   The  division  may  suspend  or  terminate  the 
conservation  organization's  authority  to  distribute  wildlife 

[convention]expo permits at any time during the original  five year 
award term or any extension period for:

(a)  violating any of the requirements set forth in this rule 
or the contract; or

(b)   failing  to  bring  or  organize  a  wildlife 
[convention]exposition in Utah, as described in the business plan 
under R657-55-4(4)(d), in any given year.

R657-55-5.   [Hunter]Wildlife  Expo  Permit Application 
Procedures.

(1)  Any [hunter]person legally eligible to hunt in Utah 
may apply for a wildlife [convention]expo permit, except that only 
a  nonresident  of  Utah  may  apply  for  a  special  nonresident 
[convention]expo permit.

(2)   Any  handling  fee  assessed  by  the  conservation 
organization  to  process  applications  shall  not  exceed  $5  per 
application submitted[ at the convention].

(3)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), applicants 
must  validate  their  application  in  person  at  the  wildlife 
[convention]exposition to be eligible to participate in the [random 
drawing  process,  for  ]wildlife  [convention  permits,  and  no]expo 
permit drawing.
                 (i)   No   person  may submit  an  application in  behalf  of 
another.
                 (ii)   A person  may validate  their  wildlife  expo  permit   
application at the exposition without having to enter the exposition 
and pay the admission charge.

(b)  An applicant that is a member of the United States 
Armed  Forces  and  unable  to  attend  the  wildlife 
[convention]exposition as a result of being deployed or mobilized in 
the  interest  of  national  defense  or  a  national  emergency  is  not  
required  to  validate  their  application  in  person;  provided 
[convention]exposition administrators are furnished a copy of the 
written deployment or mobilization orders and the orders identify:

(i)   the branch of the United States Armed forces  from 
which the applicant is deployed or mobilized;

(ii)   the  location  where  the  applicant  is  deployed  or 
mobilized;

(iii)  the date the applicant is required to report to duty; 
and

(iv)  the nature and length of the applicant's deployment or 
mobilization.

(c)  The conservation organization shall maintain a record, 
including copies  of military orders,  of all  applicants  that are not 
required  to  validate  their  applications  in  person  pursuant  to 
Subsection (3)(b), and submit to a [Division]division audit of these 
records as part of its annual audit under R657-55-4(8)(f).

(4)   Applicants  may apply for  each individual  hunt  for 
which they are eligible.

(5)   Applicants  may  apply  only  once  for  each  hunt, 
regardless of the number of permits for that hunt.

(6)   Applicants  must  submit  an  application  for  each 
desired hunt.

(7)  Applicants must  possess a current  Utah hunting or 
combination license in order to apply for a wildlife expo permit.

(8)  The conservation organization shall advertise, accept, 
and process applications for wildlife [convention]expo permits and 
conduct  the  drawing  in  compliance  with  this  rule  and  all  other 
applicable laws.
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R657-55-6.  Drawing Procedures.
(1)   A random  drawing  or  selection  process  must  be 

conducted for each wildlife [convention]expo permit.
(2)  [No preference or]Preference and bonus points [shall 

be]are neither awarded nor applied in the drawings.
(3)  Waiting periods do not apply, except any person who 

obtains a wildlife [convention]expo permit for a once-in-a-lifetime 
species is subject to the once-in-a-lifetime restrictions applicable to 
obtaining  a  subsequent  permit  for  the  same  species  through  a 
division  application  and  drawing  process,  as  provided  in  Rule 
R657-5 and the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for taking big 
game.

(4)   No  predetermined  quotas  or  restrictions  shall  be 
imposed  in  the  application  or  selection  process  for  wildlife 
[convention]expo permits  between  resident  and  nonresident 
applicants,  except  that  special  nonresident  [convention]expo 
permits may only be awarded to a nonresident of Utah.

(5)  Drawings will be conducted within five days of the 
close of the [convention.]exposition.

(6)  Applicants do not have to be present at the drawing to 
be awarded a wildlife [convention]expo permit.

(7)   The  conservation  organization  shall  identify  all 
eligible  alternates  for  each  wildlife  [convention]expo permit  and 
provide  the  division  with  a  finalized  list.   This  list  will  be 
maintained by the conservation organization  until  all  permits  are 
issued.

(8)   The division  shall  contact  successful  applicants  by 
phone  or  mail,  and  the  conservation  organization  shall  post  the 
name of all successful applicants on a designated website.

R657-55-7.  Issuance of Permits.
(1)   The  division  shall  provide  a  wildlife 

[convention]expo permit to the successful applicant, as designated 
by the conservation organization.

(2)   The  division  must  provide  a  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit  to  each  successful  applicant,  except  as 
otherwise provided in this rule.

(3)  The division shall provide each successful applicant a 
letter indicating the permit secured in the drawing, the appropriate 
fee owed the division, and the date the fee is due.

(4)(a)  Successful applicants must provide the permit fee 
payment in full to the division[ and will be issued].
                 (b)   Subject  to  the  limitation  in  Subsection  (8),  the   
division will issue the designated wildlife [convention permit upon 
receipt  of  the  appropriate  permit  fee  and  providing  proof  they 
possess a current Utah hunting or combination license.]expo permit 
to the applicant.

(5)   Residents  will  pay  resident  permit  fees  and 
nonresidents will pay nonresident permit fees.

(6)  Applicants are eligible to obtain only one permit per 
species,  except  as  provided  in  Rule  R657-5,  but  no  restrictions 
apply on obtaining permits for multiple species.

(7)   [In]If an  applicant  is  selected  for  more  than  one 
[convention]expo permit  for  the  same  species,  the 
[Division]division will  contact  the  applicant  to  determine  which 
permit the applicant selects.

(a)  The applicant must select the permit of choice within 
five days of receiving notification.

(b)   If  the  [Division]division is  unable  to  contact  the 
applicant  within  5  days,  the  [Division]division will  issue  to  the 
applicant the permit with the most difficult drawings odds based on 
drawing results from the [Division's Big Game]division's big game 
drawing for the preceding year.

(c)  Permits not issued to the applicant will go to the next  
person on the alternate drawing list for that permit.

(8)   Any  successful  applicant  who  fails  to  satisfy  the 
following  requirements  will  be  ineligible  to  receive  the  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit  and  the  next  drawing  alternate  for  that 
permit will be selected[.]:

(a)  The applicant fails to return the appropriate permit fee 
in full by the date provided in Subsection (3)[ or];

(b)   The  applicant  [did]does not  possess  a  valid  Utah 
hunting or  combination  license at  the time  the [convention]expo 
permit application was submitted and the permit received; or
                 (c)   The  applicant  is  legally  ineligible  to  possess  the   
permit.

R657-55-8.   Surrender  or  Transfer  of  Wildlife 
[Convention]Expo Permits.

(1)(a)   [If  a]A person  selected  to  receive  a  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit that is also successful in obtaining a Utah 
limited  entry  permit  for  the  same  species  in  the  same  year  or 
successful in  obtaining a general permit for a male animal of the 
same species in the same year, [that person cannot]may not possess 
both permits and must select the permit of choice.

(b)  In the event [the]a secured opportunity is willingly 
surrendered before the permit is issued, the next eligible applicant 
on the alternate drawing list will be selected to receive the [secured 
opportunity]permit.

(c)  In the event the wildlife [convention]expo permit is 
surrendered, the next eligible applicant on the alternate drawing list 
for that permit will  be selected to receive [the permit]it,  and the 
permit fee may be refunded, as provided in Sections 23-19-38, 23-
19-38.2, and R657-42-5.

(2)  A person selected by a conservation organization to 
receive a wildlife [convention]expo permit, may not sell or transfer 
the permit, or any rights thereunder to another person in accordance 
with Section 23-19-1.

(3)   If  a  person  is  successful  in  obtaining  a  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit but is legally ineligible to hunt in Utah, the 
next eligible applicant on the alternate drawing list for that permit 
will be selected to receive [the permit]it.

R657-55-9.  Using a Wildlife [Convention]Expo Permit.
(1)   A  wildlife  [convention]expo permit  allows  the 

recipient to:
(a)  take only the species for which the permit is issued;
(b)  take only the species and sex printed on the permit;

[ and]
(c)  take the species only in the area and during the season 

specified on the permit; and
                 (d)  take the species only with the weapon type specified   
on the permit.

(2)  The recipient of a wildlife [convention]expo permit is 
subject to all of the provisions of Title 23, Wildlife Resources Code, 
and the rules and proclamations of the Wildlife Board for taking and 
pursuing wildlife.
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R657-55-10.  Wildlife Expo Permit -- Application Fee Revenue.
                 (1)   All  wildlife  expo  permit,  application  fee  revenue   
generated by the conservation organization under R657-55-5(2) will 
be  deposited  in  a  separate,  federally  insured  account  to  prevent 
commingling with any other funds.
                 (a)  All interest earned on application fee revenue may be   
retained  and  used  by  the  conservation  organization  for 
administrative expenses.
                 (2)  The conservation organization may retain up to $3.50   
of each $5.00 application fee for administrative expenses.
                 (3)  The remaining balance of each $5.00 application fee   
will  be  used  by  the  conservation  organization  to  fund  projects 
advancing wildlife interests in the state, subject the the following:
                 (a)  project funding will not be committed to or expended   
on any project without first obtaining the division director's written 
approval;
                 (b)   cash  donations  to  the  Wildlife  Habitat  Account   
created under Section 23-19-43 or Division Species Enhancement 
Funds  are  authorized  projects  that  do  not  require  the  division 
director's approval; and
                 (c)  application fee revenue dedicated to funding projects   
must be completely expended on or committed to approved projects 
by  September  1st,  two  years  following  the  year  in  which  the 
application fee revenue is collected, unless otherwise authorized in 
writing by the division director.
                 (4)  All records and receipts for projects under Subsection   
(3) must be retained by the conservation organization for a period 
not less than five years, and shall be produced to the division for 
inspection upon request.
                 (5)  The conservation organization shall submit a report to   
the division and Wildlife Board each year no later than September 
1st that accounts for and documents the following:
                 (a)  gross revenue generated from collecting $5 wildlife   
expo permit application fees;
                 (b)  total amount of application fee revenue retained for   
administrative expenses;
                 (c)  total amount of application fee revenue set aside and   
dedicated to funding projects; and
                 (d)  description of each project funded with application   
fee revenue, including the date of funding, the amount of funding 
contributed, and the completion status of the project.
                 (6) An organization that individually receives application   
fee  revenue  from  the  expo  permit  drawing  pursuant  to  a  co-
participant contract with the conservation organization, is subject to 
the provisions in Subsections (1) through (5).

KEY:  wildlife, wildlife permits
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Change:  [February 7, 
2011]2015
Notice of Continuation:  May 26, 2010
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-57

Division Variance Rule

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  39068
FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   This  rule  is  established  to  provide  authority, 
standards,  and  procedures  for  granting  remedial  relief  to 
persons  precluded  from  obtaining  or  using  a  wildlife 
document  because  of  an  event  or  condition  beyond  their 
control.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment 
changes the wildlife convention name to wildlife exposition to 
help alleviate the confusion between convention permits and 
conservation permits.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule amendment simply makes 
a name change to the wildlife convention.   The Division of 
Wildlife  Resources  (DWR)  determines  that  these 
amendments do not create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget  or  DWR's budget,  since the changes  will  not 
increase  workload  and  can  be  carried  out  with  existing 
budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This filing does not create any 
direct cost or savings impact to local governments because 
they  are  not  directly  affected  by  the  rule.   Nor  are  local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   Since  this  amendment  only 
changes  the  name  of  a  permit  and  does  not  establish 
anything  new,  it  does  not  incur  any  additional  cost  to 
participate.  This filing does not have the potential to create a 
direct cost or savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Since this amendment only changes the name of  a permit 
and does not establish anything new, it does not incur any 
additional cost to participate.  This filing does not have the 
potential  to create a direct  cost  or savings impact to other 
persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Since 
this amendment only changes the name of a permit and does 
not  establish  anything  new,  DWR  determines  that  this 
amendment  does  not  create  a  cost  or  savings  impact  to 
individuals who participate in wildlife-related activities.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.
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THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-57.  Division Variance Rule.
R657-57-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19 
this  rule  is  established  to  provide  authority,  standards  and 
procedures for granting remedial relief to persons precluded from 
obtaining  or  using  a  wildlife  document  because  of  an  event  or 
condition beyond their control.

R657-57-4.  Division Variance Authority Scope.
(1)(a)   The  Division  may  grant  a  season  extension 

variance  extending  the  hunting  season  on  an  applicant's  wildlife 
document to the same or substantially similar hunt in the following 
year, provided:

(i)  the variance request involves a wildlife document for 
a:

(A)  once-in-a-lifetime hunt under R657-5;
(B)  conservation permit hunt under R657-41;
(C)  limited entry landowner permit hunt under R657-43;
(D)  poaching-reported reward permit hunt under R657-5; 

or
(E)   CWMU  hunt  obtained  through  the  operator  or 

landowner under R657-37-9.
(ii)  the applicant was substantially precluded during the 

prescribed hunting season from using a wildlife document because 
of a qualifying event or condition set forth in R657-57-6; and

(A)  the qualifying event or condition was not the result of 
the  applicant's  willful  misconduct  or  gross  negligent  acts  or 
omissions; and

(B)   the  applicant  was  unsuccessful  in  harvesting  an 
animal for which the wildlife document was issued; and

(iii)  the season extension occurs the following year and is 
restricted to the same species, gender, unit, weapon type, and season 
as the original wildlife document;

(iv)  any changes in unit descriptions and season dates in 
the extension year are applied; and

(v)   the  variance  is  otherwise  requested  and  issued  in 
compliance  with  the  standards,  requirements  and  procedures  set 
forth in this rule.

(b)   Any  waiting  period  associated  with  a  wildlife 
document for which a season extension variance is  granted  begins 
on the date the original wildlife document is obtained.

(2)(a)   The Division may grant  a  variance by restoring 
forfeited  bonus  points  and  waiving  an  incurred  waiting  period, 
provided:

(i)  the variance request involves a wildlife document for 
a:

(A)  limited entry hunt or once-in-a-lifetime hunt; or
(B)   any  other  hunt  that  triggers  a  waiting  period  to 

participate in a Division administered drawing;
(ii)  the applicant was substantially precluded during the 

prescribed hunting season from using a wildlife document because 
of a qualifying event or condition set forth in R657-57-6; and

(A)  the qualifying event or condition was not the result of 
the  applicant's  willful  misconduct  or  gross  negligent  acts  or 
omissions; and

(B)   the  applicant  was  unsuccessful  in  harvesting  an 
animal for which the wildlife document was issued; and

(iii)   the  variance  is  otherwise  requested  and  issued  in 
compliance  with  the  standards,  requirements  and  procedures  set 
forth in this rule.

(b)   The  Division  may not  restore  a  bonus  point  on  a 
wildlife document that did not cause a bonus point forfeiture.

(3)(a)   The Division may grant  a  variance by restoring 
forfeited preference points, provided:

(i)   the  variance  request  involves  a  wildlife  document 
obtained through a Division administered drawing and for  which 
preference  points  are  awarded  to  unsuccessful  applicants  and 
forfeited by successful applicants;

(ii)  the applicant was substantially precluded during the 
prescribed hunting season from using a wildlife document because 
of a qualifying event or condition set forth in R657-57-6; and

(A)  the qualifying event or condition was not the result of 
the  applicant's  willful  misconduct  or  gross  negligent  acts  or 
omissions; and

(B)   the  applicant  was  unsuccessful  in  harvesting  an 
animal for which the wildlife document was issued; and

(iii)   the  variance  is  otherwise  requested  and  issued  in 
compliance  with  the  standards,  requirements  and  procedures  set 
forth in this rule.

(4)(a)  The Division may grant a variance by awarding a 
bonus or preference point to a person who filed an untimely wildlife 
document application in a Division administered drawing, provided:

(i)  the variance request involves a wildlife document for 
any hunt identified in Subsections (2)(a)(i) or (3)(a)(i);

(ii)  the applicant was significantly impaired from filing a 
timely application in a Division administered drawing because of a 
qualifying event or condition set forth in R657-57-6;

(iii)  the untimely application was rejected and a bonus or 
preference point was not awarded for the selected species;

(iv)  the applicant would have been eligible to receive the 
bonus or preference point had the application been timely filed; and
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(v)   the  variance  is  otherwise  requested  and  issued  in 
compliance  with  the  standards,  requirements  and  procedures  set 
forth in this rule.

(5)   A Division  administered  drawing  for  purposes  of 
subsection (2) does not include a drawing conducted at a wildlife 
[convention]exposition pursuant to R657-55.

(6)  The Division may not refund wildlife document fees, 
except as authorized in Sections 23-19-38, 23-19-38.2 and R657-
42-5.

KEY:  wildlife, permits
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
21, 2012]2015
Notice of Continuation:  August 5, 2013
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-59

Private Fish Ponds
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39069

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This proposed revision adds sections of rivers to 
the list which prohibits stocking of fertile rainbow trout.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendment 
to this rule removes the requirement to obtain a certificate of 
registration  for  possession  of  sterile  rainbows  which  total 
pounds are less than 50 in a private fish pond.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-15-10 and Section 23-15-9

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   This  amendment  removes  a 
requirement  that  was  time  consuming  and  difficult  for  the 
private  pond  owner.    The  Division  of  Wildlife  Resources 
(DWR) determines that  this  amendment  does not create a 
cost or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, 
since  the  changes  will  not  increase  workload  and  can  be 
carried out with existing budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   None--This  filing  does  not 
create any direct cost or savings impact to local governments 
because  they are  not  directly  affected  by the  amendment. 
Nor are local governments indirectly impacted because the 
amendment  does  not  create  a  situation  requiring  services 
from local governments.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   This  amendment  removes  a 
requirement  that  was  time  consuming  and  difficult  for  the

private pond owner.  DWR determines that the amendment 
does  not  impose  any  additional  requirements  on  other 
persons,  nor  generate  a  cost  or  savings  impact  to  small 
businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This  amendment  removes  a  requirement  that  was  time 
consuming and difficult  for  the private  pond owner.   DWR 
determines  that  the  amendment  does  not  impose  any 
additional requirements on other persons, nor generate a cost 
or savings impact to other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This 
amendment removes a requirement that was time consuming 
and difficult  for the private pond owner.  There are not any 
additional compliance costs associated with this amendment.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-59.  Private Fish Ponds.
R657-59-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under the authority of Sections 23-15-9 and 23-15-10 
of the Utah Code, this rule provides the standards and procedures 
for private fish ponds.

(2)   This  rule  does  not  regulate  fee  fishing  or  private 
aquaculture as provided in Title 4, Chapter 37 of the Utah Code, and 
Department of Agriculture Rule R58-17.

(3)   Any  violation  of,  or  failure  to  comply  with,  any 
provision of Title 23 of the Utah Code, this rule, or any specific  
requirement contained in a certificate of registration or exemption 
certificate  issued  pursuant  to  this  rule  may  be  grounds  for 
suspension  of  the  certificate  or  denial  of  future  certificates,  as 
determined by the division.
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R657-59-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.
(2)  In addition:
(a)   "Aquaculture"  means  the  husbandry,  production, 

harvest,  and  use  of  aquatic  organisms under  controlled,  artificial 
conditions.

(b)   "Aquaculture  facility"  means  any facility  used  for 
propagating,  rearing,  or producing aquatic wildlife or aquaculture 
products.  Facilities that are separated by more than 1/2 mile,  or  
facilities  that  drain  to,  or  are  modified  to  drain  to,  different  
drainages  are  considered  to  be  separate  aquaculture  facilities, 
regardless of ownership.

(c)(i)  "Aquaculture product" means privately purchased 
aquatic wildlife, or their eggs or gametes.

(ii)   "Aquaculture  product"  does  not  include  aquatic 
wildlife obtained from the wild.

(d)  "Certified sterile salmonid" means any salmonid fish 
or  gamete  that  originates  from  a  health  certified  source  and  is 
incapable of reproduction due to triploidy or hybridization.

(i)   Triploid  salmonids  accepted  as  sterile  under  this 
subsection shall originate from a source that is certified as incapable 
of reproduction using the following protocols:

(A)   fish  samples  shall  be  collected,  prepared,  and 
submitted to a certified laboratory by an independent veterinarian, 
certified fish health professional, or other professional approved by 
the division;

(B)  certified laboratories shall be limited to independent, 
professional laboratories capable of reliably testing fish sterility and 
approved by the division; and

(C)  sterility shall be determined by sampling and testing 
60 fish from each egg lot with procedures generally accepted in the 
scientific community as reliable for verifying tripoidy with a 95% 
or greater success rate.

(ii)  An aquaculture facility that receives certified sterile 
salmonid aquaculture product is not required to conduct additional 
sterility testing prior to stocking the aquaculture product in a private 
fish pond, provided the sterile salmonids are kept segregated from 
other fertile salmonids.

(iii)   Hybrid  salmonid  fish  species  accepted  as  sterile 
under this subsection are limited to splake trout (lake trout/brook 
trout cross) and tiger trout (brown trout/brook trout cross).

(e)  "Exemption certificate" means a document issued by 
the  division  pursuant  to  R657-59-7  that  exempts  a  designated 
private fish pond from the requirement of obtaining a certificate of 
registration to stock aquaculture product in the pond.

(f)(i)   "HUC"  or  "Hyrologic  Unit  Code"  means  a 
cataloging system developed by the US Geological Survey and the 
Natural Resource Conservation Service to identify watersheds in the 
United States.  HUCs are typically reported at the large river basin 
(6-digit  HUC) or  smaller  watershed (11-digit  and 14-digit  HUC) 
scale.

(ii)   HUC  maps  and  other  associated  information  are 
available at http://water.usgs.gov/wsc/sub/1602.html.

(g)(a)   "Ornamental  aquatic  animal  species" means any 
species of fish, mollu[c]sk, or crustacean that is commonly cultured 
and sold in the United States' aquarium industry for display.

(b)   "Ornamental  aquatic  animal  species"  does  not 
include:

(i)  fresh water:

(A)  sport fish - aquatic animal species commonly angled 
or harvested for recreation or sport;

(B)  baitfish - aquatic animal species authorized for us as 
bait  in  R657-13-12,  and  any  other  species  commonly  used  by 
anglers as bait in sport fishing;

(C)  food fish - aquatic animal species commonly cultured 
or harvested from the wild for human consumption; or

(D)  native species; or
(ii)  aquatic animal species prohibited for importation or 

possession by any state, federal, or local law; or
(iii)   aquatic  animal  species  listed  as  prohibited  or 

controlled in Sections R657-3-22 and R657-3-23.
[              (i)  "Private fish pond" means a pond, reservoir, or other 
body of water,  or any fish culture system which is contained on 
privately owned land and used for  holding or  rearing fish  for  a 
private, noncommercial purpose.
] (h)  "Private fish pond" means a pond, reservoir, or other 
body of water,  or any fish culture system which is contained on 
privately owned land and used for  holding or  rearing fish  for  a 
private, noncommercial purpose.

(i)   "Purchase"  means  to  buy,  or  otherwise  acquire  or 
obtain  through  barter,  exchange,  or  trade  for  pecuniary 
consideration or advantage.

(j)   "Salmonid"  means  any  fish  belonging  to  the 
trout/salmon family.

R657-59-3.  Certificate of Registration Not Required.
(1)  A certificate of registration is not required to receive 

and stock an aquaculture product in a private fish pond, provided 
the following conditions are satisfied:

(a)   the  pond is  not  located  on  a  natural  lake,  natural 
flowing  stream,  or  reservoir  constructed  on  a  natural  stream 
channel;

(b)   the  pond  is  properly  screened  consistent  with  the 
requirements  in  R657-59-15 to prevent  the movement  of aquatic 
wildlife into the pond or the movement of any aquaculture product 
out of the pond;

(c)  the aquaculture product is:
                 (i)    delivered to the pond by a licensed aquaculture facility 
as defined in Section 4-37-103; or
                 (ii)  the owner, lessee, or operator of the private pond:  
                 (A)  receives less than 50 pounds of sterile rainbow trout   
from a licensed aquaculture facility in a single delivery;
                 (B)   possesses  documentation  from  the  aquaculture   
facility verifying the information itemized in R657-59-11(2)(b) and 
R58-17-14(C)(2) during transport; and
                 (C)  assumes legal responsibility for directly transporting   
the fish from the aquaculture facility to the private fish pond;

(d)   the  owner,  lessee,  or  operator  of  the pond obtains 
from the aquaculture facility [delivering]providing the aquaculture 
product  a  valid  health  approval  number  issued  by  the  Utah 
Department  of  Agriculture  and  Food  pursuant  to  Section  4-37-
501[ authorizing the aquaculture facility to culture and transport the 
species of aquaculture product received at the pond];

(e)  the species, strain, and reproductive capability of the 
aquaculture product received is authorized for stocking in the area 
where the pond is located consistent with the requirements in R657-
59-16;
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(f)  the aquaculture product received is of sufficient size to 
be incapable of escaping the pond through or around the screen;

(g)   the  owner  or  operator  of  the  private  fish  pond 
provides the aquaculture facility a signed written statement that the 
pond and aquaculture product received are in compliance with this 
section; and

(h)  the owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond or 
an  invitee  has  not  previously  been  found  in  violation  of  any 
provision of Title 4, Chapter 37 or Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this 
rule.

R657-59-5.  Certificate of Registration Required.
(1)  A certificate of registration must be obtained from the 

division to receive,  stock,  or possess an aquaculture product in a 
private fish pond where:

(a)  the aquaculture product is classified under R657-59-
16 as an unauthorized species, strain, or reproductive capability for 
the area where the pond is located;

(b)   the  aquaculture  facility  does  not  deliver  the 
aquaculture  product  directly  to  the  private  fish  pond,  unless  the 
transport  of  fish by the owner,  lessee,  or  operator  of  the private 
pond  is  allowed  without  a  certificate  of  registration  pursuant  to 
R657-59-3(1)(c)(ii); or

(c)  the owner, lessee, or operator of a private fish pond or 
an invitee is found in violation of any provision of Title 4, Chapter 
37 or Title 23 of the Utah Code, or this rule.

(2)  A separate certificate of registration is required for 
each private  fish  pond as  defined  under  "aquaculture  facility"  in 
R657-59-2.

KEY:  wildlife, aquaculture, fish
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
21, 2012]2015
Notice of Continuation:  August 5, 2013
Authorizing,  and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-15-9; 
23-15-10

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-62

Drawing Application Procedures
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39070

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Wildlife 
Board  meetings  conducted  for  taking  public  input  and 
reviewing the division's drawing application process.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is being 
amended to:  1) change the term "convention permit" to "expo 
permit"; 2) clarify bear in the bonus point section as limited 
entry; 3) set the requirement for all persons obtaining a bear 

permit  to  complete  the  online  orientation  course;  4)  add 
harvest  objective  bear  permits  to  the  list  of  permits  not 
required  to  forfeit  bonus  points;  and  5)  make  technical 
corrections.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule amendment provides for 
name  clarification  and  the  requirement  of  a  free  online 
orientation course and does not create a cost or savings to 
the division.   Therefore,  the  Division of  Wildlife  Resources 
(DWR) determines that these amendments will not create any 
cost or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, 
since  the  changes  will  not  increase  workload  and  can  be 
carried out with existing budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Since this amendment clarifies 
existing criteria and provides for a free orientation course to 
hunts that have already been set by rule, this filing does not 
create any direct cost or savings impact to local governments 
since they are not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because the rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   This  amended  rule  will  clarify 
confusion between permits  and increase education in  bear 
hunters  with  the  orientation  course,  therefore  the  Division 
determines that it would not generate a cost or saving impact 
to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This amended rule will clarify confusion between permits and 
increase  education  in  bear  hunters  with  the  orientation 
course,  therefore,  the Division determines that  it  would not 
generate a cost or saving impact to other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Since 
this amendment clarifies existing criteria and provides for a 
free orientation course to hunts that have already been set by 
rule, DWR determines that this amendment will not create a 
cost  or  savings  impact  to  individuals  who  participate  in 
hunting in Utah.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-62.  Drawing Application Procedures.
R657-62-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, 
the Wildlife Board has established this rule for drawing applications 
and procedures.

(2)  Specific season dates, bag and possession limits, areas 
open, number of permits and other administrative details that may 
change annually are published in the respective guidebooks of the 
Wildlife Board.

R657-62-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.
(2)  In addition:
(a)  "Application" means a form required by the Division 

which must be completed by a person and submitted to the Division 
in order to apply for a hunting permit.

(b)   "Landowner"  means  any  individual,  family  or 
corporation who owns property in Utah and whose name appears on 
the deed as the owner of eligible property or whose name appears as 
the purchaser on an executed contract for sale of eligible property.

(c)  "Limited entry hunt" means any hunt listed in the hunt 
tables  published  by  the  Wildlife  Board  and  is  identified  as  a 
premium limited entry hunt or limited entry hunt.  "Limited entry 
hunt" does not include cougar pursuit or bear pursuit.

(d)  "Limited entry permit" means any permit obtained for 
a limited entry hunt,

including conservation permits, [convention]expo permits 
and sportsman permits.

(e)(i)  "Valid application" means an application:
(A)  for a permit to take a species for which the applicant 

is eligible to possess;
(B)  for a permit to take a species regardless of estimated 

permit numbers;
(C)  for a certificate of registration; and
(D)  containing sufficient information, as determined by 

the  division,  to  process  the  application,  including  personal 
information, hunt information, and sufficient payment.

(ii)  Applications missing any of the items in Subsection 
(i)  may be considered valid if the application is timely corrected 
through the application correction process.

(f)  "Waiting period" means a specified period of time that 
a person who has obtained a permit must wait before applying for 
the same permit type.

(g)  "Once-in-a-lifetime hunt" means any hunt listed in the 
hunt  tables  published  by the Wildlife  Board  and  is  identified  as 
once-in-a-lifetime,  and  does  not  include  general  or  limited  entry 
hunts.

(h)   "Once-in-a-lifetime  permit"  means  any  permit 
obtained  for  a  once-in-a-lifetime  hunt  by  any  means,  including 

conservation  permits,  sportsman  permits,  cooperative  wildlife 
management unit permits and limited entry landowner permits.

R657-62-3.  Scope of Rule.
(1)  This rule sets forth the procedures and requirements 

for  completing  and  filing  applications  to  receive  the  following 
hunting permits and/or certificates of registrations:

(a)  Dedicated Hunter certificate of registrations;
(b)  limited-entry deer;
(c)  limited-entry elk;
(d)  limited-entry pronghorn;
(e)  once-in-a-lifetime;
(f)  public cooperative wildlife management unit;
(g)  general season deer and youth elk;
(h)  limited entry bear;
(i)  bear pursuit;
(j)  antlerless big game;
(k)  sandhill crane;
(l)  sharp-tail and greater sage grouse;
(m)  swan
(n)  cougar;
(o)  sportsman; and
(p)  turkey.

R657-62-8.  Bonus Points.
(1)  Bonus points are used to improve odds for drawing 

permits.
(2)(a)  A bonus point is awarded for:
(i)  each valid unsuccessful application when applying for 

limited-entry permits; or
(ii)   each  valid  application  when  applying  for  bonus 

points.
(b)  Bonus points are awarded by species for;
(i)   limited-entry  deer  including  cooperative  wildlife 

management unit buck deer and management buck deer;
(ii)   limited-entry  elk  including  cooperative  wildlife 

management unit bull elk and management bull elk;
(iii)   limited-entry  pronghorn  including  cooperative 

wildlife management unit buck pronghorn;
(iv)   once-in-a-lifetime  species  including  cooperative 

wildlife management units;
(v)  limited entry bear;
(vi)  antlerless moose;
(vii)  cougar; and
(viii)  turkey
(3)(a)  A person may not apply in the drawing for both a 

permit and a bonus point for the same species.
(b)   A person may not  apply for  a  bonus  point  if  that 

person is ineligible to apply for a permit for the respective species.
(c)   Group  applications  will  not  be  accepted  when 

applying for bonus points.
(d)  A person may apply for bonus points only during the 

applicable drawing application for each species.
(4)(a)  Fifty percent of the permits for each hunt unit will 

be reserved for applicants with the greatest number of bonus points.
(b)   Based  on  the  applicant's  first  choice,  the  reserved 

permits will be designated by a random drawing number to eligible 
applicants  with  the  greatest  number  of  bonus  points  for  each 
species.
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(c)  If reserved permits remain, the reserved permits will 
be designated by a random number to eligible applicants with the 
next greatest number of bonus points for each species.

(d)  The procedure in Subsection (c) will continue until all  
reserved  permits  are  issued  or  no  applications  for  that  species 
remain.

(e)  Any reserved permits remaining and any applicants 
who are not selected for reserved permits will  be returned to the 
applicable drawing.

(5)(a)  Each applicant receives a random drawing number 
for:

(i)  each species applied for; and
(ii)  each bonus point for that species.
(6)  Bonus points are forfeited if a person obtains a permit 

through  the  drawing  for  that  bonus  point  species  including  any 
permit obtained after the drawing.

(7)  Bonus points are not forfeited if:
(a)   a  person  is  successful  in  obtaining  a  conservation 

permit, [convention]expo permit[ or], sportsman permit, or harvest 
objective bear permit;

(b)  a person obtains a landowner or a cooperative wildlife 
management unit permit from a landowner; or

(c)  a person obtains a poaching-reported reward permit.
(8)  Bonus points are not transferable.
(9)  Bonus points are averaged and rounded down when 

two or more applicants apply together on a group application.
(10)(a)   Bonus  points  are  tracked  using  social  security 

numbers or division-issued customer identification numbers.
(b)   The  division  shall  retain  electronic  copies  of 

applications from 1996 to the current drawings for the purpose of 
researching bonus point records.

(c)   Any requests  for  researching  an  applicant's  bonus 
point records must be submitted within the time frames provided in 
Subsection (b).

(d)  Any bonus points on the division's records shall not 
be researched beyond the time frames provided in Subsection (b).

(e)   The division  may void  or  otherwise  eliminate  any 
bonus  point  obtained  by  fraud,  deceit,  misrepresentation,  or  in 
violation of law.

R657-62-19.  Black Bear.
(1)  Permit and Pursuit Applications.
(a)  A person must possess or obtain a valid hunting or 

combination license in order to apply for or obtain a limited entry 
bear permit or bear pursuit permit.

(b)  A person may not apply for or obtain more than one 
bear  permit  distributed  pursuant  to  this  rule  within  the  same 
calendar year[, except as provided in Subsection R657-33-26(4)].

(c)  Limited entry bear permits are valid only for the hunt 
unit and for the specified

season designated on the permit.
(d)(i)  Applicants may select up to three hunt unit choices 

when applying for limited entry bear permits.   Hunt unit choices 
must be listed in order of preference.

(ii)  Applicants must specify in the application [whether 
they want ]a specific season for their limited entry [bear permit or a 
limited entry bear archery permit and/or ]or bear pursuit permit.

(e)  Any person [obtaining a limited entry]intending to use 
bait  during  their bear  [archery permit]hunt must[ also]  obtain  a 

certificate of registration [if intending to use bait  ]as provided in 
[Section]Sections R657-33-13 and 14.

(f)  Applicants must meet all age requirements, proof of 
hunter education requirements and youth restrictions as provided in 
Sections 23-19-22.5, 23-19-11 and 23-20-20.

(2)  Group applications are not accepted.
(3)  Waiting periods.
(a)  Any person who [draws or purchases]obtains a limited 

entry  bear  permit  [valid  for]through the  [current  year]division 
drawing, may not apply for a permit thereafter for a period of two 
years.
                 (4)   A person  must  complete  a  mandatory  orientation   
course  prior  to  applying  for  any  bear  permit  offered  through  a 
division drawing or obtaining bear permits as described in R657-33-
3(5).

KEY:  wildlife, permits
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
11, 2014]2015
Notice of Continuation:  April 14, 2014
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-68

Trial Hunting Authorization
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  39071

FILED:  01/12/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Wildlife 
Board  meetings  conducted  for  taking  public  input  and 
reviewing the division's trial hunting authorization rule.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment 
changes  the "convention permit"  name to "expo permit"  to 
help alleviate the confusion between convention permits and 
conservation permits.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:   Section  23-14-18  and Section  23-14-19  and 
Section 23-19-4.6

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment changes the name 
of the convention permits to expo permits.  The Division of 
Wildlife  Resources  (DWR)  determines  that  theses 
amendments will not create any cost or savings impact to the 
state budget  or  DWR's budget,  since the changes  will  not 
increase  workload  and  can  be  carried  out  with  existing 
budget.
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♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This name change will have no 
impact on local governments.  Local governments will not be 
directly  or  indirectly  impacted  because  the  rule  does  not 
create a situation requiring services from local governments.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   Since  this  amendment  only 
changes  the  name  of  a  permit  and  does  not  establish 
anything  new,  it  does  not  incur  any  additional  cost  to 
participate.  This filing does not have the potential to create a 
direct cost or savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Since this amendment only changes the name of  a permit 
and does not establish anything new, it does not incur any 
additional cost to participate.  This filing does not have the 
potential  to create a direct  cost  or savings impact to other 
persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Since 
this amendment only changes the name of a permit and does 
not  establish  anything  new,  DWR  determines  that  this 
amendment  will  not  create  a  cost  or  savings  impact  to 
individuals in Utah wishing to participate in the Trial Hunting 
Authorization program.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
The  amendments  to  this  rule  do  not  create  an  impact  on 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Gregory Sheehan, Director

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-68.  Trial Hunting Authorization.
R657-68-1.  Purpose and Authority.

Pursuant  to  Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, this  rule 
implements the trial hunting authorization program established in 
Section 23-19-14.6 to expand public participation in hunting sports 
by  allowing  a  person  to  temporarily  obtain  specified  hunting 
licenses and permits and participate in hunting activities on a trial  

basis  without  first  satisfying  regular  hunter  education 
requirements.

R657-68-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.
(2)  In addition:
(a)  "Commercial  hunting area" means a parcel of land 

where privately owned game birds are released under Section 23-
17-6 and R657-22 for the purpose of allowing hunters to take them 
for a fee.

(b)  "Division drawing" means a random selection process 
administered by the division or under its authority for the purpose 
of allocating hunting permits to the public.

(i)   "Division  drawing"  includes  the  wildlife 
[convention]expo permit drawing administered under R657-55.

(c)  "Multi-year  license" means a  license issued by the 
division under R657-45-3 that is valid for a period exceeding 365 
days.

(d)  "Supervising hunter" means a person qualified under 
R657-68-5(1)(b) that accompanies a trial hunter while participating 
in hunting activities.

(e)  "Trial hunter" means a person who possesses a valid 
hunting license or permit obtained with a trial hunting authorization 
pursuant to this rule.

(f)   "Trial  hunting  authorization"  means  a  document 
issued  by  the  division  authorizing  the  holder  to  obtain  and  use 
specified hunting licenses and permits without having completed an 
approved  hunter  education  course,  subject  to  the  qualifications, 
requirements and limitations set forth in this rule.

(g)  "Written consent" means a written or typed document 
containing the:

(i)  full name, date of birth, and home address of the trial 
hunter;

(ii)  full name, home address, and phone number of the 
supervising hunter;

(iii)  nature of the planned hunting activity and the general 
area where it will occur;

(iv)  parent or legal guardian's consent for the:
(A)  trial  hunter to participate  in  the described hunting 

activity; and
(B)  supervising hunter to transport and accompany the 

trial hunter in the activity; and
(v)  name, signature, and phone number of the authorizing 

parent or legal guardian.

KEY:  wildlife, game laws, hunter education
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 
11, 2014]2015
Authorizing, and Implementing or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18, 
23-14-19, 23-19-4.6

Public Safety, Driver License
R708-7

Functional Ability in Driving: Guidelines 
for Physicians
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  39072
FILED:  01/13/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this amendment is to modify the 
term "functional ability profile" to "safety assessment level", 
and remove language that incorporates medical guidelines by 
reference into the rule.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The terminology 
used by the division is being changed from "functional ability 
profile" to "safety assessment level" in an effort to clarify that 
an  individual  is  being  assessed  for  safety  reasons,  rather 
than being profiled as having a medical condition.  In addition, 
the  language  is  being  removed  that  incorporates  the 
guidelines by reference.  The guidelines are made available 
to  physicians  and  the  public  both  on  the  Driver  License 
Division  (DLD)  website,  and  at  DLD  headquarters.   The 
portion of the guidelines that results in the automatic denial of 
an individual's driving privilege is outlined in Section R708-7-5 
of the rule.  The rest of the document is applied as a guideline 
for the division to use, in addition to documentation provided 
by an individual's physician, in an effort to determine whether 
an individual is able to safely operate a motor vehicle.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS  RULE:   49  CFR  391.43  and  Section  53-3-224  and 
Section 53-3-303 and Section 53-3-304

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The amendments made to this rule 
will not have any fiscal impact the state budget because the 
portion  of  the  rule  that  is  changing  does  not  modify  any 
existing requirements with regard to state budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The amendments made to this 
rule  will  not  have  any  fiscal  impact  to  local  government 
because  the  portion  of  the  rule  that  is  changing  does  not 
modify  any  existing  requirements  with  regard  to  local 
government.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  The amendments made to this rule 
will not have any fiscal impact to small businesses because 
the portion of the rule that is changing does not modify any 
existing requirements with regards to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The amendments made to this rule will  not have any fiscal 
impact to persons other than small businesses, businesses, 
or local government entities because the portion of the rule 
that is changing does not modify any existing  requirements.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
amendments  made  to  this  rule  should  not  have  any 
compliance costs associated with  it  because the portion of 
the  rule  that  is  changing  does  not  modify  any  existing 
requirements for the affected persons.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
I  have  reviewed  this  rule  amendment  and  found  no 
anticipated fiscal impact on business.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

PUBLIC SAFETY
DRIVER LICENSE
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W 3RD FL
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119-5595
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Marge Dalton by phone at 801-965-4456, by FAX at 801-
957-8502, or by Internet E-mail at modalton@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Nannette Rolfe, Director

R708.  Public Safety, Driver License.
R708-7.  Functional Ability in Driving: Guidelines for Physicians.
R708-7-1.  Purpose.

The  purpose  of  this  rule  is  to  establish  standards  and 
guidelines to assist health care professionals in determining who may 
be impaired, the responsibilities of the health care professionals, and 
the  driver's  responsibilities  regarding  their  health  as  it  relates  to 
highway safety.

R708-7-2.  Authority.
This rule is authorized by Sections 53-3-224, 53-3-303, 53-

3-304, and 49 CFR 391.43.

R708-7-3.  Definitions.
(1)  "Board" means the Driver License Medical Advisory 

Board created in Section 53-3-303.
(2)  "Division" means the Driver License Division.
(3)  "Health care professional" means a physician or surgeon 

licensed to practice medicine in the state, or when recommended by 
the  Medical  Advisory  Board,  may  include  other  health  care 
professionals licensed to conduct physical examinations in this state.

(4)  "Impaired person" means a person who has a mental, 
emotional, or nonstable physical disability or disease that may impair 
the person's ability to exercise reasonable and ordinary control at all 
times over a motor vehicle while driving on the highway.  It does not 
include  a  person  having  a  nonprogressive  or  stable  physical 
impairment that is objectively observable and that may be evaluated by 
a functional driving examination.

R708-7-4.  Health and Driving.
(1)   Every  driver  operating  a  vehicle  is  individually 

responsible for their health when driving.  Each applicant for a Utah 
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driver license shall be required to answer personal health questions 
related to driving safety in accordance with recommendations made by 
the Driver License Medical Advisory Board pursuant to the provisions 
of  Section  53-3-303(8).   If  the  applicant  experiences  a  significant 
health problem, the applicant is required to take a medical report form 
furnished by the division to a health care professional who provides all 
requested  information,  including  a  [functional  ability  profile]safety 
assessment level that reflects the applicant's medical condition.

(2)  The health care professional will be expected to discuss 
the applicant's  health as it may affect driving abilities and to make 
special  recommendations in  unusual  circumstances.   Based upon a 
completed  [functional  profile]safety  assessment,  the  division  may 
deny driving privileges or issue a license with or without limitations in 
accordance with the standards described in this rule and lists, tables, 
and  charts  incorporated  herein.   Health  care  professionals  have  a 
responsibility to help reduce unsafe highway driving conditions by 
carefully applying these guidelines and standards, and by counseling 
with their patients about driving under medical constraints.

R708-7-5.  Driver's Responsibilities.
(1)   The 1979 Utah  State  Legislature  has  defined  driver 

operating  responsibilities  in  Section  53-3-303,  related  to  physical, 
mental or emotional impairments of drivers.  Drivers are:

(a)  responsible to refrain from driving if there is uncertainty 
caused from having a physical, mental or emotional impairment which 
may affect driving safety;

(b)   expected  to  seek  competent  medical  evaluation  and 
advice about the significance of any impairment that relates to driving 
vehicles safely; and

(c)   responsible  for  reporting  a  "physical,  mental  or 
emotional impairment which may affect driving safety" to the Driver 
License Division in a timely manner.

R708-7-6.  Health Care Professional's Responsibilities.
(1)  Pursuant to Section 53-3-303, health care professionals 

shall:
(a)   make  reports  to  the division  respecting impairments 

which  may affect  driving  safety when  requested  by their  patients. 
Nevertheless,  the  final  responsibility  for  issuing  a  driver  license 
remains with the director of the division;

(b)  counsel their patients about how their condition affects 
safe driving.  For example, if medication is prescribed for a patient 
which may cause changes in alertness or coordination, the health care 
professional  shall  advise  the patient about how the medication can 
affect safe driving, and when it would be safe to operate a vehicle. Or, 
if  a  patient's  visual  acuity  drops,  the  patient  should  similarly  be 
advised,  at  least  until  corrective  action has been taken to  improve 
vision; and

(c)   in  accordance  with  Section  53-3-303(14)(b),  be 
responsible for making available to their patients without reservation, 
their recommendations and appropriate information related to driving 
safety and responsibilities, whether defined by published guidelines or 
not.

R708-7-7.  Driver License Medical Advisory Board.
(1)  The Driver License Medical Advisory Board,  as per 

Section  53-3-303,  shall  advise  the  director  of  the  division  and 
recommend written functional ability [profile]and safety assessment   
guidelines  and  standards  for  determining  the  physical,  mental  and 

emotional capabilities of applicants for licenses, appropriate to various 
driving abilities.

(2)   In  case  of  uncertainty  of  interpretation  of  these 
guidelines and standards, or in special circumstances, applicants may 
request a review of any division decision by a panel of board members. 
All  of the actions of the director and board are subject to judicial 
review.

(3)  In accordance with Section 53-3-303(8),the board shall 
administer  the  functional  ability  [profile]and  safety  assessment   
guidelines,  which  are  intended  to  minimize  such  conflicts  as  the 
individual's desire to drive and the community's desire for highway 
safety.

R708-7-8.   Persons  Authorized  to  Complete  Functional  Ability 
Evaluation Medical Report Form.

(1)  Physicians and surgeons licensed to practice medicine 
may complete the entire Functional Ability Evaluation Medical Report 
form.

(2)   Nurse  practitioners  and  physician  assistants,  and  in 
accordance  with  49  CFR  391.43,  physician  assistants,  advanced 
practice  nurses,  doctors  of  chiropractic  and  other  health  care 
professionals,  may perform physical  examinations  and  report  their 
findings on the Functional Ability Evaluation Medical Report form 
provided that:

(a)   they  are  licensed  by  the  state  as  health  care 
professionals;

(b)  the physical examination does not require advanced or 
complex diagnosis or treatment; and

(c)   in  the  event  that  advanced  or  complex  medical 
diagnostic analysis is required, the licensed health care professional, 
consistent with sound medical practices, will be expected to promptly 
refer the patient to the appropriate physician,  surgeon or doctor of 
osteopathy for further evaluation and for completion of the functional 
ability evaluations certifications report in those categories.

R708-7-9.   [Functional  Ability  Profile]Safety  Assessment  Level   
Categories.

Functional ability of a driver to operate a vehicle safely may 
be  affected  by  a  wide  range  of  physical,  mental  or  emotional 
impairments.   To  simplify  reporting  and  to  make  possible  a 
comparison  of  relative  risks  and  limitations,  the  Medical  Advisory 
Board  has  adopted  physical,  emotional  and  behavioral  [functional 
ability  profiles]safety  assessment  levels as  defined  in  12  separate 
categories, with multiple levels under each category.

R708-7-10.   Use  of  the  [Functional  Ability  Profile]Safety 
Assessment Level.

(1)  Health care professionals who evaluate their patients' 
health status for purposes of the patient obtaining a Utah driver license, 
shall  report  [functional  ability  profiles]safety  assessment  levels on 
forms provided by the division.

(2)  In assessing patient health and completing these report 
forms, health care professionals shall apply the standards and related 
information contained in the following lists, charts, and tables, which 
standards and guidelines are [adopted and incorporated within this rule 
by reference, and are  ]referred to in a booklet entitled, "Functional 
Ability  in  Driving:   Guidelines  And  Standards  for  Health  Care 
Professionals."[, (January 2014 ed.).]  Specific categories are:
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(a)  "Category A" - diabetes and other metabolic conditions; 
narrative listing and table;

(b)   "Category B" -  cardiovascular;  narrative  listing  and 
table;

(c)  "Category C" - pulmonary; narrative listing and table;
(d)  "Category D" - neurologic; narrative listing and table;
(e)  "Category E" - epilepsy and other episodic conditions; 

narrative listing and table;
(f)  "Category F" - learning, memory and communications; 

narrative listing and table;
(g)   "Category G" -  psychiatric  or  emotional  conditions; 

narrative listing and table;
(h)  "Category H" - alcohol and other drugs; narrative listing 

and table;
(i)  "Category I" - visual acuity; narrative listing and table;
(j)  "Category J" - musculoskeletal abnormality or chronic 

medical debility; narrative listing and table;
(k)  "Category K" - alertness or sleep disorders; narrative 

listing and table; and
(L)  "Category L" - hearing and balance; narrative listing and 

table.
(3)  Copies of these guidelines are printed in a booklet and 

distributed by the division in addition to being published on the Driver 
License Division webpage.  These booklets may be obtained at no cost 
for health care professionals or $5 per booklet for all other individuals. 
Copies may be obtained in person or by written request to the Driver 
License Division Medical Section at P.O. Box 144501, Salt Lake City, 
Utah 84114-4501.

(4)  Report forms completed by a health care professional 
and received by the division are to be used as a screening tool in 
assessing an individual's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.

(a)  Some [profile]safety assessment levels as identified in 
the  "Functional  Ability  in  Driving:  Guidelines  And  Standards  for 
Health Care Professionals", may result in the division requesting an 
individual to complete a  driver review, which may include a  driving 
skills test in order to demonstrate the ability to safely operate a motor 
vehicle before determining whether the individual will maintain the 
privilege to drive.  In some cases when a privilege to drive is granted, 
driving restrictions may be required in order to ensure public safety.

(b)  A health care professional may also request that the 
division evaluate an individual's driving skill level at the health care 
professional's discretion.

(5)   The  division  shall  notify  an  individual  that  their 
privilege to drive is denied upon receipt of the following:

(a)  a medical report that is completed in the categories A, B, 
C, D, E, F, G, H, J, K, or L, [that is profiled]for which the driver is 
assessed at a level "8" in accordance with the "Functional Ability in 
Driving: Guidelines And Standards for Health Care Professionals", or 
other documentation which indicates that the health care professional 
recommends that the individual does not drive; or

(b)  a medical report that is completed in the category I [that 
is  profiled]for  which  the  driver  is  assessed at  a  level  "10"  in 
accordance with the "Functional Ability in Driving: Guidelines And 
Standards  for  Health  Care  Professionals",  or  other  documentation 
which indicates that the health care professional recommends that the 
individual does not drive.

(6)  Upon receipt of a notice of denial of the privilege to 
drive, an individual may request a review of the division's decision by 

a panel of board members. All of the actions of the director and board 
are subject to judicial review.

KEY:   administrative  procedures,  health  care  professionals, 
physicians
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
19, 2009]2015  
Notice of Continuation:  January 9, 2012
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-3-224; 53-
3-303; 53-3-304; 49 CFR 391.43

Workforce Services, Housing and 
Community Development

R990-8
Permanent Community Impact Fund 

Board Review and Approval of 
Applications for Funding Assistance

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  39085
FILED:  01/15/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of the change is to establish a major 
infrastructure set aside fund.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The purpose of 
this fund is to allow the board to participate and fund major 
transportation and other significant infrastructure studies and 
projects  where  the  board  participation  may  exceed 
$5,000,000.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 35A-8-306

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no cost to the state 
budget  associated  with  the  proposed  amendment.   The 
proposed  amendment  deals  with  establishing  a  major 
infrastructure set aside fund utilizing existing funds.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will  be no cost to local 
governments associated with the proposed amendment.  The 
proposed  amendment  deals  with  establishing  a  major 
infrastructure set aside fund utilizing existing funds.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There will be no impacts from the 
proposed  amendment  on  small  businesses.   Small 
businesses  are  ineligible  for  financial  assistance  from  the 
board.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There will be no impacts from the proposed amendment on
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persons  other  than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local 
governmental  entities.   Such  persons  are  ineligible  for 
financial assistance from the board.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
will be no cost of compliance associated with the proposed 
amendment.   The  proposed  amendment  deals  with 
establishing  a  major  infrastructure  set  aside  fund  utilizing 
existing funds.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There will be no impacts from the proposed amendment on 
businesses.  Businesses are ineligible for financial assistance 
from the board.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

WORKFORCE SERVICES
HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
140 E BROADWAY
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2333
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Suzan Pixton by phone at 801-526-9645, by FAX at 801-
526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at spixton@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 03/03/2015

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/10/2015

AUTHORIZED BY:  Jon Pierpont, Executive Director

R990.   Workforce  Services,  Housing  and  Community 
Development.
R990-8.  Permanent Community Impact Fund Board Review and 
Approval of Applications for Funding Assistance.
R990-8-1.  Purpose.

The Permanent Community Impact Fund Board (the Board) 
provides loans and/or grants to State agencies and subdivisions of the 
State which are or may be socially or economically impacted, directly 
or indirectly, by mineral resource development. Authorization for the 
Board is contained in Section 35A-8-301 et seq.

R990-8-2.  Eligibility.
Only those  applications  for  funding  assistance which  are 

submitted  by an  eligible  applicant  for  an  eligible  project  shall  be 
funded by the Board.

Eligible  projects  include: a) planning;  b)  the construction 
and maintenance of public facilities; and c) the provision of public 
services. "Public Facilities and Services" means public infrastructure 
or services traditionally provided by local governmental entities.

Eligible applicants include state agencies and subdivisions of 
the state and Interlocal agencies as defined in Subsection 35A-8-302, 

which are or may be socially or economically impacted, directly or 
indirectly, by mineral resource development.

R990-8-3.  Application Requirements.
A.  Applicants shall submit their funding requests on the 

Board's most current application form, furnished by the Housing and 
Community  Development  Division  (HCD).  Applicants  submitting 
incomplete  applications  will  be  notified  of  deficiencies  and  their 
request for funding assistance will be held by the Board's staff pending 
submission of the required information by the applicant.

Complete  applications  which  have  been  accepted  for 
processing  will  be  placed  one  of  the  Trimester's  upcoming 
"Application Review Meeting" agendas.

B.  Additional general information not specifically covered 
by the application form should also be furnished to the Board and its 
staff  when  such  information  would  be  helpful  to  the  Board  in 
appraising the merits of the project.

C.   For  proposed  drinking  water  and  sewer  projects, 
sufficient  technical  information  must  be  provided  to  the  Utah 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to permit their review. 
The Board will not act on any drinking water or sewer project unless 
they receive such review from DEQ.

D.   Planning  grants  and  studies  normally require  a  fifty 
percent  cash  contribution  by  the  applicant.      Planning  assistance   
requests  shall  be  reviewed  and/or  provided  by the  Rural  Planning 
Group.  

E.   The Board requires all  applicants to have a vigorous 
public participation effort. All applicants shall hold at least one formal 
public  hearing  to  solicit  comment  concerning  the  size,  scope  and 
nature of any funding request prior to its submission to the Board. In 
that public hearing, the public shall be advised the financing may be in 
the form of a loan, even if the application requests a grant.

Complete  and  detailed  information  shall  be  given  to  the 
public  regarding  the  proposed  project  and  its  financing.  The 
information  shall  include  the  expected  financial  impact  including 
potential  repayment terms and the costs to the public as user fees, 
special assessments, or property taxes if the financing is in the form of 
a loan. The Board may require additional public hearings if determines 
the applicant did not adequately disclose to the public the impact of the 
financial assistance during the initial public hearing.

When the Board offers the applicant a financial package that 
is substantially different in the amounts, terms or conditions initially 
requested by an applicant,  the Board may require additional public 
hearings to solicit public comment on the modified funding package.

A copy of the public notice and transcript or minutes of the 
hearing shall be attached to the funding request. Public opinion polls 
may be submitted in addition to the transcript or minutes.

F.   Letters  of  comment  outlining  specific  benefits  (or 
problems) to  the community and State may be submitted with the 
application.

G.   All  applicants  are  required  to  notify  in  writing  the 
applicable Association of Governments of their intention to submit a 
funding request to the Board. A copy of any comments made by the 
Association of Governments shall be attached to the funding request. It 
is  the  intent  of  the  Board  to  encourage  regional  review  and 
prioritization  of  funding  requests  to  help  ensure  the  timely 
consideration of all worthwhile projects.

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2015, Vol. 2015, No. 3 59



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 39085

H.  Section 9-8-404 requires all state agencies before they 
expend  any  state  funds  or  approves  any  undertaking  to  take  into 
account the effect  of the undertaking on any district,  site,  building 
structure or specimen that is included in or eligible for inclusion in the 
National Register of Historic Places or the State Register and to allow 
the state historic preservation officer (SHPO) a reasonable opportunity 
to comment on the undertaking or expenditure.  In order to comply 
with that duty, the Board requires all applicants provide the Board's 
staff with a detailed description of the proposed project attached to the 
application.  The Board's staff will provide SHPO with descriptions of 
applications which may have potential historic preservation concerns 
for SHPO's review and comment in compliance with the CIB/SHPO 
Programmatic  Agreement.   SHPO  comments  on  individual 
applications will be provided to the Board as part of the review process 
outline in R990-8-4.  Additionally the Board requires that if during the 
construction  of  the  project  the  applicant  discovers  any 
cultural/paleontological  resources,  the  applicant  shall  cease  project 
activities  which  may  affect  or  impact  the  cultural/paleontological 
resource, notify the Board and SHPO of the discovery, allow the Board 
to  take  into  account  the  effects  of  the  project  on 
cultural/paleontological  resources,  and  not  proceed  until  further 
approval is given by the Board.

I.  All applicants must provide evidence and arguments to 
the Board as  to  how the proposed funding assistance provides for 
planning, the construction and maintenance of public facilities or the 
provision of public services.

J.   All  applicants  must  demonstrate  that  the  facilities  or 
services provided will be available and open to the general public and 
that the proposed funding assistance is not merely a device to pass 
along low interest government financing to the private sector.

K.  All applicants must demonstrate that any arrangement 
with a lessee of the proposed project will constitute a true lease, and 
not a disguised financing arrangement.  The lessee must be required to 
pay a reasonable market rental for the use of the facility. In addition, 
the applicant shall  have no arrangement  with the lessee to sell  the 
facility to the lessee, unless fair market value is received.

L.  Each applicant must submit evidence and legal opinion 
that  it  has  the  authority to  construct,  own and  lease the proposed 
project.   In  the case of a  request  for  an interest  bearing loan,  the 
applicant  must  provide  an  opinion  of  nationally-recognized  bond 
counsel that the interest will not be subject to federal income taxes.

M.  All applicants shall certify to the Board that they will 
comply with the provisions of Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act 
of 1964 (42 USC 2000e), as amended, which prohibits discrimination 
against any employee or applicant for employment or any applicant or 
recipient of services, on the basis of race, religion, color, or national 
origin; and further agree to abide by Executive Order No. 11246, as 
amended, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex; 45 CFR 
90, as amended, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of age; 
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,  the Americans with 
Disabilities Act of 1990 and 28 CFR 35, as amended, which prohibit 
discrimination on the basis of disabilities; Utah Anti-Discrimination 
Act, Section 34A-5-101 et seq., which prohibits discrimination against 
any employee or applicant for employment because of race, color, sex, 
age, religion, national origin, or handicap, and to certify compliance 
with the ADA to the Board on an annual basis and upon completion of 
the project.

R990-8-4.  Board Review Procedures.
A.   The  Board  will  review  applications  and  authorize 

funding assistance on a "Trimester" basis.  The initial meetings of each 
"Trimester" are "Project Review Meetings". The final meeting of each 
"Trimester" is the "Project Funding Meeting". Board meetings shall be 
held monthly on the 1st Thursday of each month, unless rescheduled or 
cancelled by the chairman or by formal motion of the board.  The 
Trimesters shall be as follows:

1.   1st  Trimester:   application deadline,  June 1st;  Project 
Review Meetings, July, August, September; Project Funding Meeting 
October.

2.  2nd Trimester:  application deadline, October 1st; Project 
Review Meetings,  November,  December,  January;  Project  Funding 
Meeting, February.

3.  3rd Trimester: application deadline, February 1st; Project 
Review Meetings, March April, May; Project Funding Meeting, June.

B.  The process for review of new applications for funding 
assistance shall be as follows:

1.  Submission of an application, on or before the applicable 
deadline to the Board's staff for technical review and analysis.

2.  Incomplete applications will be held by the Board's staff 
pending submission of required information.

3.  Complete applications accepted for processing will be 
placed on one of the Trimester's upcoming "Project Review Meeting" 
agendas.

4.  At the "Project Review Meeting" the Board may either:
a.  deny the application;
b.   place  the  application  on  the  "Pending  List"  for 

consideration at  a future "Project Review Meeting" after  additional 
review, options analysis and funding coordination by the applicant and 
the Board's staff;

c.   place  the  application  on  the  "Priority  List"  for 
consideration at the next "Project Funding Meeting".

C.  Applicants and their representatives shall be informed of 
any "Project  Review Meeting"  at  which  their  applications  will  be 
considered. Applicants shall make formal presentations to the Board 
and  respond  to  the  Board's  questions  during  the  "Project  Review 
Meetings".   If  an applicant or its representatives are not present to 
make a presentation, the board may either:

1.  deny the application;
2.   place  the  application  on  the  "Pending  List"  for 

consideration at a future "Project Review Meeting".
D.  No funds shall be committed by the Board at the "Project 

Review Meetings", with the exception of circumstances described in 
Subsection F.

E.   Applications for  funding assistance  which  have  been 
placed on the "Priority List" will be considered at the "Project Funding 
Meeting" for that Trimester.  At the "Project Funding Meeting' the 
Board may either:

1.  deny the application;
2.   place  the  application  on  the  "Pending  List"  for 

consideration at a future "Project Review Meeting".
3.  authorize funding the application in the amount and terms 

as determined by the Board.
F.   In  instances  of  bona  fide  public  safety  or  health 

emergencies or for other compelling reasons, the Board may suspend 
the provisions of this section and accept, process, review and authorize 
funding of an application on an expedited basis.
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R990-8-5.  Local Capital Improvement Lists.
A.  A consolidated list of the anticipated capital needs for 

eligible entities shall be submitted from each county area, or in the 
case of state agencies, from HCD. This list shall be produced as a 
cooperative venture of all the eligible entities within each county area.

B.   The list  shall  contain a  short  term (one year)  and a 
medium term (five year) component.

C.  The list shall contain the following items: jurisdiction, 
summary  description,  project  time  frame,  anticipated  time  of 
submission to the Board, projected overall cost of project, anticipated 
funding  sources,  the  individual  applicant's  priority  for  their  own 
projects, and the county area priority for each project. The county area 
priority for each project shall be developed as a cooperative venture of 
all eligible entities within a county area.

D.  Projects not identified in a county area's or HCD's list, 
will not be funded by the Board, unless they address a bona fide public 
safety or health emergency or for other compelling reasons.

E.  An up-dated list shall be submitted to the Board no later 
than April 1st of each year. The up- dated list shall be submitted in the 
uniform format required by the Board.

F.   If  the  consolidated  list  from a  county area  does  not 
contain  the  information  required  in  R990-8-5-C,  or  is  not  in  the 
uniform  format  required  in  R990-8-5-E,  all  applications  from  the 
affected county area will be held by the Board's staff until a future 
Trimester  pending  submission  of  the  required  information  in  the 
uniform format.

G.  The Board has authorized its staff to hold any application 
that does not appear on the applicable local capital improvement list. 
Such applications will be held until a future Trimester to allow the 
applicant time to pursue amending the local capital improvement list.

H.  The amendment to include an additional project must 
follow the process used for the original list, and it must contain the 
required  information  and  be  submitted  in  the  uniform  format, 
particularly the applicant and county area prioritization.

I.   The  regional  Association  of  Governments  are  the 
compilers of the capital improvement lists.  The AOG cannot simply 
add  additional  applications  to  any given  list  without  the  applicant 
meeting the process requirements outlined in Subsection C.

J.  Not withstanding Subsection I, allowing an applicant to 
add  a  project  to  the  capital  improvement  list  just  prior  to  the 
application deadline subverts the intent of the capital improvement list 
process.  Such applications will be held by the Board's staff until the 
next Trimester.

R990-8-6.  Modification or Alteration of Approved Projects.
A recipient of PCIFB grant funds may not, for a period of 

ten years from the approval of funding by the Board, change or alter 
the use, intended use, ownership or scope of a project without the prior 
approval of the Board. A recipient of PCIFB loan funds may not, for 
the term of the loan, change or alter the use, intended use, ownership or 
scope  of  a  project  without  the  prior  approval  of  the  Board.  The 
recipient shall submit a written request for such approval and provide 
such information as requested by the Board or its staff, including at a 
minimum a description of the modified project sufficient for the Board 
to determine whether the modified project is an eligible use of PCIFB 
funds.

The  Board  may  place  such  conditions  on  the  proposed 
modifications or modified project as it deems appropriate, including 
but not limited to modifying or changing the financial terms, requiring 
additional project actions or participants, or requiring purchase or other 
satisfaction of all or a portion of the Board's interests in the approved 
project. Approval shall only be granted if the modified project, use or 
ownership is also an eligible us of PCIFB funds, unless the recipient 
purchases  or  otherwise  satisfies  in  full  the  Board's  interest  in  the 
previously approved or the proposed project.

R990-8-7.  Procedures for Electronic Meetings.
A.  These provisions govern any meeting at which one or 

more members of the Board or one or more applicant agencies appear 
telephonically or electronically pursuant to Section 52-4-7.8.

B.  If one or more members of the Board or one or more 
applicant  agencies  may  participate  electronically  or  telephonically, 
public notices of the meeting shall so indicate.  In addition, the notice 
shall specify the anchor location where the members of the CIB not 
participating  electronically  or  telephonically  will  be  meeting  and 
where  interested  persons  and  the  public  may attend,  monitor,  and 
participate in the open portions of the meeting.

C.  Notice of the meeting and the agenda shall be posted at 
the anchor location.  Written or electronic notice shall also be provided 
to at least one newspaper of general circulation within the state and to 
a local media correspondent.  These notices shall be provided at least 
24 hours before the meetings.

D.  Notice of the possibility of an electronic meeting shall be 
given to the members of the Board and applicant agencies at least 24 
hours before the meeting.  In addition, the notice shall describe how 
the members of the Board and applicant agencies may participate in 
the meeting electronically or telephonically.

E.  When notice is given of the possibility of a member of 
the Board appearing electronically or telephonically, any member of 
the Board may do so and shall be counted as present for purposes of a 
quorum and may fully participate  and vote  on any matter  coming 
before the Board.  At the commencement of the meeting, or at such 
time as any member of the Board initially appears electronically or 
telephonically, the Chair shall identify for the record all those who are 
appearing telephonically or electronically.  Votes by members of the 
Board who are not at the physical location of the meeting shall be 
confirmed by the Chair.

F.  The anchor location shall be designated in the notice. 
The anchor location is the physical location from which the electronic 
meeting originates or from which the participants are connected.  In 
addition, the anchor location has space and facilities so that interested 
persons and the public may attend, monitor, and participate in the open 
portions of the meeting.

R199-8-8.  Major Infrastructure Set Aside Fund.  
                 A.  Creation of Fund      
                 1.   There  is  hereby  created  within  the  Permanent   
Community Impact Fund the Major Infrastructure Set Aside Fund.  
                 2.   The  Purpose  of  this  Fund  is  to  allow the  Board  to   
participate  and  fund  major  transportation  and  other  significant 
infrastructure studies and projects where the Board participation may 
exceed five million dollars ($5,000,000).  
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                 B.  Transfer of Monies to the Fund      
                 1.   At each funding meeting,  after  action is taken on all   
projects on the prioritization list, the Board shall consider whether to 
transfer any money in the Permanent Community Impact Fund to the 
Major Infrastructure Set Aside Fund.  The Board may transfer such 
amounts as it deems appropriate, in its discretion, based on motion and 
a majority vote of the Board.  
                 2.  When money is transferred to the Major Infrastructure   
Set  Aside Fund the Board shall  identify whether  the money being 
transferred is Bonus or Mineral Lease money.  The status of the money 
as Bonus monies or Mineral Lease monies shall continue while the 
monies are in the Major Infrastructure Set Aside Fund and may only be 
granted or loaned in accordance with that status.  
                 3.  The Division shall maintain an accounting of the funds in   
the Major Infrastructure Set Aside Fund as bonus funds or mineral 
lease funds and shall separately identify the status of the money in the 
Major Infrastructure Set Aside Fund in its briefings to the Board.  
                 C.  Use of the Fund      
                 1.  Money in the Major Infrastructure Set Aside Fund may   
only  be  used  to  fund  major  transportation  and  other  significant 
infrastructure  studies  and  projects.   These  projects  would  include 
pipelines, roadways, rail lines, and other major infrastructure activities 
where the cost may exceed five million dollars ($5,000,000) and where 
the project is within the purposes for the creation and use of the Fund. 
The Board, on motion and majority vote, shall designate and allow the 

use of the money from the Fund, specifying whether the money comes 
from the Bonus or Mineral Lease monies in the Fund.  
                 2.  Repayment on any loans from the Major Infrastructure   
Set  Aside  Fund  shall  be  credited  to  and  placed  in  the  Major 
Infrastructure Set Aside Fund.  Payments on Bonus money loans shall 
maintain their status as Bonus monies.  The Division shall maintain a 
separate accounting of all loan payments in the Major Infrastructure 
Set Aside Fund.  
                 D.  Reconversion of Monies from the Fund      
                 1.  The Board may, at any time on motion and majority vote,   
reconvert and transfer funds from the Major Infrastructure Set Aside 
Fund back to the general Permanent Community Impact Fund.  The 
motion  and  action  of  the  Board  shall  specify if  the  money being 
transferred back to the general Permanent Community Impact Fund is 
Bonus or Mineral Lease money,  and that status of the money shall 
continue in the general Permanent Community Impact Fund.  

KEY:  grants
Date  of  Enactment  or Last  Substantive  Amendment:   [July  9, 
2012]2015  
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-8-305(1)
(a), (b), and (c); 35A-8-306; 35A-8-307(1)(a)  

End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section
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An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would:

(a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare;
(b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or
(c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)).

As  with  a  PROPOSED RULE,  a  120-DAY RULE is  preceded by  a  RULE ANALYSIS.   This  analysis  provides  summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references.

Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to be 
deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out. 
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.

A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Division of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its  
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code.

The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent.

Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8.

Education, Administration
R277-419-9

Provisions for Maintaining Student 
Membership and Enrollment 

Documentation and Documentation of 
Student Education Services Provided 

by Third Party Vendors
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE

DAR FILE NO.:  39080
FILED:  01/15/2015

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  Following approval  by the Utah State Board of 
Education (Board), Section R277-419-9 was published in the 
November 1, 2014, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, subject to 
a  30-day  comment  period.   Within  the  30-day  comment 
period, on 11/14/2014, a request was sent to the Utah State 
Office of Education from ten interested persons requesting a 
public  hearing  concerning  Section  R277-419-9.   A  Board 
hearing to receive public input was held on 12/04/2014.  At 
the Board's January 2015 meeting, a summary of comments 
and  recommendations  was  presented  to  the  Board  for 

discussion and possible action.  This emergency filing is a 
result of the discussion.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  New language in 
Section  R277-419-9  allows  for  local  education  agencies 
(LEAs) to provide written authorization to third party vendors 
to  receive  public  school  enrollment  verification  records, 
consistent  with  the  federal  Family  Educational  Rights  and 
Privacy  Act  (FERPA),  34  CFR  99.31(a)(1)(i)(B).   New 
language  also  allows  an  LEA  to  provide  internet 
reimbursement for K-6 students, consistent with a Free and 
Appropriate  Public  Education  and  Rule  R277-407,  School 
Fees.   Additionally,  new  language  addresses  grades  7-12 
students  to  receive internet  reimbursement,  consistent  with 
Rule R277-407.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) and Subsection 53A-
1-402(1)(e)

EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:
REGULAR RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD cause an 
imminent  peril  to  the  public  health,  safety,  or  welfare;  and 
place the agency in violation of federal or state law.
JUSTIFICATION:   Without  the  new  language  allowing  for 
internet  reimbursement  to  K-6  students,  LEAs  may  be  in 
violation of state law to provide a Free and Appropriate Public 
Education to K-6 students.  Without new language allowing 
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LEAs to provide written authorization to third party vendors to 
collect  and  have  access  to  public  school  enrollment 
verification records, LEAs may be in violation of the federal 
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.  Some students in 
grades 7-12, enrolled in online or distance learning programs 
through third party vendors, may suffer economic hardship if 
internet reimbursement is not provided.

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The changes to Section R277-419-9 
provide  for  third  party  vendors  to  have  access  to  public 
school enrollment verification records, consistent with federal 
FERPA, and for LEAs to provide internet reimbursement to K-
6 and eligible grades 7-12 students, consistent with federal 
and state laws and rules, and will likely not result in a cost or 
savings to the state budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be additional costs to 
LEAs to provide internet reimbursement to K-6 and eligible 
grades 7-12 students.  Without knowing the number of K-6 
and eligible grades 7-12 students participating in online and 
distance learning programs and eligible for reimbursement, 
costs would be speculative at this time.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Third party vendors that are also 
small businesses will be able to collect and have access to 
public school enrollment verification records which likely will 
not result in a cost or savings to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The changes to Section R277-419-9 provide for third party 
vendors  to  have  access  to  public  school  enrollment 
verification records, consistent with federal  FERPA, and for 
LEAs to provide internet reimbursement to K-6 and eligible 
grades 7-12 students, consistent with federal and state laws 
and rules, will likely not result in a cost or savings to persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Third 
party  vendors  having  access  to  public  school  enrollment 
verification  records  and  LEAs  providing  internet 
reimbursement  to  K-6  and  eligible  grades  7-12  students, 
consistent with federal and state laws and rules, will likely not 
result in any compliance costs for affected persons.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
I have reviewed this rule and I believe that there is likely no 
fiscal impact on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Brad Smith by phone at 801-538-7510, by FAX at 801-538-
7768, or by Internet E-mail at brad.smith@schools.utah.gov

EFFECTIVE:  01/15/2015

AUTHORIZED  BY:   Brad  Smith,  State  Superintendent  of 
Public Instruction

R277.  Education, Administration.
R277-419.  Pupil Accounting.
R277-419-9.  Provisions for Maintaining Student Membership 
and Enrollment Documentation and Documentation of Student 
Education Services Provided by Third Party Vendors.

A.  R277-419-1 through 8 provide direction for student 
membership  and  enrollment  and  eligibility  criteria  for  both 
traditional and nontraditional schools and programs.

B.  A traditional program is a public school program that 
consists  of  eligible  enrolled  public  education  students  who 
physically attend school in classrooms.

C.  A nontraditional program is a public school program 
that consists of eligible, enrolled public education students where 
students  primarily  receive  instruction  either  online  or  through  a 
distance learning program.

D.   LEAs  may  enroll  students  in  both  traditional  and 
nontraditional programs.

E.   Home  school  courses  do  not  qualify  for  public 
education funding for both traditional and non-traditional programs. 
Home  school  courses  are  those  where  the  curriculum  and 
instructional methods, reporting, or evaluation of student progress 
or  mastery  is  provided  or  administered  by  the  parent,  guardian, 
custodian, or other group of individuals, not directly supervised by 
an LEA.

F.  LEA and Third Party Vendor Use of Public Funds for 
Incentives and Reimbursements

(1)  LEAs or their third party vendors shall not use public 
funds, as defined under Section 51-7-3(26), to provide monetary or 
other incentives for enrollment or referral bonuses to individuals or 
groups of individuals.

(2)  LEAs or their third party vendors shall not use public 
funds  to  provide  educational,  curriculum,  instruction,  private 
lessons,  or  technology reimbursements  to  individuals,  groups  of 
individuals  or  third  party  vendors  that  are  not  available  to  all 
students enrolled in the LEA or required by an IEP or 504 plan that 
is approved by the LEA.  This section shall not prohibit an LEA 
from providing  internet  reimbursements  for  students  on  the  K-6 
grade  level.   Furthermore,  such  internet  reimbursement  may  be 
provided  to  students  in  grades  7-12  if  failure  to  provide  such 
reimbursement will cause economic hardship.  This determination 
should be made in accordance with the fee waiver policy language 
set forth in R277-407-6.

(3)  LEAs or their third party vendors that purchase items 
or technology devices and provide them to students shall ensure that 
these items are  the property of  the LEAs and are  subject  to  the 
LEAs asset policies.
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(4)  LEAs shall establish provisions identified in R277-
419-9F(1) through (3) in their contracts with third party vendors and 
shall monitor compliance with these provisions.

G.   LEAs  shall  ensure  school  enrollment  verification 
records  are  collected  consistent  with  sound  data  collection  and 
storage procedures, established by the LEA, and that these records 
are transmitted securely.  It is the LEAs' responsibility to verify the 
accuracy  and  validity  of  student  enrollment  records,  prior  to 
enrolling students in an LEA, and provide students and their parents 
with notification of enrollment in a public school.  An LEA is [ the 
only entity authorized]required by the Board to  collect and store 
public school enrollment verification records including:

(1)   birth  certificates  or  other  verification  of  age  and 
identity;

(2)  verification of immunization or exemption form;
(3)  proof of Utah public school residency;
(4)  family income verification; or
(5)  special education records, including:
(a)  individualized education program;
(b)  504 plan; or
(c)  English learner plan.

                 LEAs  may provide  written  authorization  to  third  party   
vendors who meet the definition of school official under 34 CFR 
99.31(a)(1)(i)(B)  to  collect  and  have  access  to  public  school 
enrollment verification records.  In the event that such authorization 
is provided, parents or guardians of the affected students shall be 
notified in writing.

H.   All  LEAs  that  enroll  public  school  students  shall 
maintain documentation of the following:

(1)  that the LEA complied with all provisions of R277-
419-1 through 8;

(2)   that  the LEA complied with all  educator  licensure 
requirements of R277-502;

(3)   that  the  LEA  complied  with  all  fingerprint  and 
background  check  requirements  for  educators,  employees  and 
volunteers  consistent  with  Section  53A-3-410,  53A-1a-512.5, 
R277-516, and R277-520;

(4)  that the LEA established a school schedule consistent 
with R277-419-4A(1);

(5)   that  the  LEA only enrolled  students  who  met  the 
eligibility requirements of R277-419-5A(1) (a-e);

(6)   that  the  LEA directed  the  instruction  of  the  core 
curriculum consistent with Section 53A-1-402(1)(a) and R277-700; 
and

(7)  that the LEA scheduled and administered all statewide 
assessments, as required under Sections 53A-1-606.6 through 53A-
1-611 and R277-404.

I.  In addition to R277-419-9D, LEAs that enroll students 
in traditional programs shall also satisfy the requirements of R277-
419-5A(1)(f).

J.  In addition to R277-419-9D, LEAs that enroll students 
in nontraditional programs shall also maintain documentation that 
the LEA satisfied the following:

(1)  adopted a written policy that designates a continuing 
enrollment measurement to document the continuing membership 
or enrollment status for individual students consistent with R277-
419-5A(1)(c);

(2)  measured and documented each student's  continued 
enrollment using the adopted continuing enrollment measurement at 
least every ten consecutive school days;

(3)  documented that LEA employees confirmed students' 
continued enrollment consistent with R277-419-9J(2) and updated 
student membership records in the student information system; and

(4)   documented  that  the  LEA  adjusted  the  student 
membership  information  for  students  that  did  not  meet  the 
continuing  enrollment  measurement,  consistent  with  R277-419-
5A(1)(c).

K.  The continuing enrollment measurement may include 
some  or  all  of  the  following  components,  in  addition  to  other  
components, as determined by the LEA:

(1)   a  minimum  student  login  or  teacher  contact 
requirement;

(2)  required periodic contact with a licensed educator;
(3)   a  minimum hourly requirement,  per  day or  week, 

when students are engaged in course work; or
(4)   required  timelines  for  a  student  to  provide  or 

demonstrate completed assignments, coursework or progress toward 
academic goals.

L.  LEA Nontraditional Program and Third Party Vendor 
Compliance

(1)   An  LEA  offering  a  nontraditional  program  that 
contracts  for  curricular  and  instructional  services  which  are 
administered by third party vendors shall submit documentation of 
compliance with law and Board rules (as prescribed by the Board) 
to the Superintendent's office for review prior to the initiation of the 
program.

(2)   An  LEA  offering  a  nontraditional  program  that 
contracts for curricular and instructional services from a third party 
vendor  and  does  not  resolve  a  corrective  action  item,  may  not 
qualify for some or all Minimum School Program funds.

M.  An LEA that contracts with a third party vendor to 
provide  curricular  and  instructional  services  to  students  for 
nontraditional  programs  shall  monitor  and  supervise  the  vendor 
throughout  the  administration  of  the  services  and  ensure 
compliance, at a minimum, with the following:

(1)   all  student  eligibility  and  membership/enrollment 
requirements of R277-419 are met;

(2)  all educator licensure requirements of R277-502 are 
satisfied;

(3)  all fingerprint and background check requirements for 
educators, employees and volunteers, consistent with Section 53A-
3-410, 53A-1a-512.5, R277-516, and R277-520, are met;

(4)  the Board-directed core standards are used in student 
instruction, consistent with Section 53A-1-402(1)(a) and R277-700;

(5)  all required statewide assessments are administered 
by the LEA, as required under Sections 53A-1-606.6 through 53A-
1-611 and R277-404;

(6)  the LEA has a written supervision plan for the vendor 
administration of curricular and instructional services; and

(7)   the  LEA maintains  documentation  of  supervisory 
activities  ensuring  compliance  with  the  written  supervision  plan 
(copy of  the  agreement,  assignment  of  supervising  personnel  by 
title,  meeting notes,  correspondence with vendor)  consistent  with 
the LEA's administrative records retention schedule.
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N.   Consistent  with  R277-114,  the  Superintendent  may 
withhold funds from traditional or nontraditional public education 
programs for non-compliance with R277-419.  An LEA may appeal 
the decision of the Superintendent to the Board.

KEY:  education finance, school enrollment
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  January 
15, 2015

Notice of Continuation:  September 14, 2012
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3;   53A-1-401(3);  53A-1-402(1)(e);  53A-1-404(2);  53A-1-301(3)
(d); 53A-3-404; 53A-3-410

End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION

Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to  
review  the  rule.   This  review  is  intended  to  help  the  agency  determine,  and  to  notify  the  public,  that  the 
administrative rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may: 
repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary.

A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of  
the Utah Administrative Code available at http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code.htm.  The rule text may also be 
inspected at the agency or the Division of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing.

REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305.

Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry
R58-7

Livestock Markets, Satellite Video 
Livestock Auction Market, Livestock 

Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market 
Weighpersons

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39075
FILED:  01/13/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:   Section  4-30-3  authorizes  the 
Department to make and enforce rules as in its judgment are 
necessary to administer, enforce, and promote the legal sale 
of  livestock  and  fair  market  practices.   The  rules  specify 
procedures  and  minimum  requirements  for  applying  and 
renewing  licenses  for  the  operation  of  a  permanent  and 
temporary livestock sales; governs the bonding and licensing 
of livestock dealers and weigh persons; sets standards and 
requirements for operating a livestock market.  All in an effort 
to protect the livestock industry as well as the markets.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Department has received no 
comments supporting or opposing this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   Livestock  markets  provide  a  process  by 
which producers and buyers can do business in a situation 
where fair market value is provided for and by the livestock 
industry.   The  legal,  fair,  and  protected  transactions  that 
markets  provide  are  a  viable  portion  of  Utah's  agricultural 
economy.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD
ANIMAL INDUSTRY
350 N REDWOOD RD
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3034
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Cody James by phone at 801-538-7166, by FAX at 801-
538-7169, or by Internet E-mail at codyjames@utah.gov
♦ Kathleen Mathews by phone at 801-538-7103, by FAX at 
801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kmathews@utah.gov
♦ Scott Ericson by phone at 801-538-7102, by FAX at 801-
538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at sericson@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  LuAnn Adams, Commissioner

EFFECTIVE:  01/13/2015

Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry
R58-11

Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39073
FILED:  01/13/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule was promulgated under 
authority  of  Title  4,  Chapter  32,  Utah  Meat  and  Poultry 
Products Inspection Licensing Act.  This rule gives the animal 
owner  a  choice  to  have  their  animals  slaughtered  and/or 
processed  by the  license  farm custom permittee  or  in  the 
official inspected facility.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Department has received no 
comments supporting or opposing this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  The Department of Agriculture licenses and 
inspects  custom  exempt  establishments  and  farm  custom 
slaughter  tripod rig and/or establishments.   This allows the 
animal  owner  flexibility  to  have  their  animals  slaughtered 
and/or  processed  at  the  time  and  location  convenient  for 
them, it also helps ensure that the animal owner will receive 
his product back that has been slaughter and/or processed 
under  sanitary  conditions.   Therefore,  this  rule  should  be 
continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD
ANIMAL INDUSTRY
350 N REDWOOD RD
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3034
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Cody James by phone at 801-538-7166, by FAX at 801-
538-7169, or by Internet E-mail at codyjames@utah.gov
♦ Kathleen Mathews by phone at 801-538-7103, by FAX at 
801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kmathews@utah.gov
♦ Scott Ericson by phone at 801-538-7102, by FAX at 801-
538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at sericson@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  LuAnn Adams, Commissioner

EFFECTIVE:  01/13/2015

Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry
R58-17

Aquaculture and Aquatic Animal Health
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  39074

FILED:  01/13/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Rule  R58-17  is  promulgated 
under the authority of Section 4-37-101 et seq., Subsection 4-
5-2(j),  and  Section  4-37-503.   Section  4-37-101  et  seq., 
Subsection  4-2-2(j),  and  Section  4-37-503  authorize  the 
Department  to  enact  a  rule  to  regulate  the  aquaculture 
industry,  protect  fishery  resources  from  disease  and 
pathogens, and to utilize the land and water resources of the 
state.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Department has not received 
any comments supporting or opposing this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is essential to provide direction for 
regulating the aquaculture industry.  The rule is necessary to 
control  the  spread of  disease in  public  and  private  fishing 
waters.  Fish health certifications are required to sell fish both 
in and out of state.  The fish health certification maintains the 
economic viability of aquaculture operations by certifying the 
quality/disease free status of aquaculture products.  This rule 
should be continued to maintain the quality of aquaculture in 
Utah and prevent the spread of disease.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD
ANIMAL INDUSTRY
350 N REDWOOD RD
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3034
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Cody James by phone at 801-538-7166, by FAX at 801-
538-7169, or by Internet E-mail at codyjames@utah.gov
♦ Kathleen Mathews by phone at 801-538-7103, by FAX at 
801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at kmathews@utah.gov
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♦ Scott Ericson by phone at 801-538-7102, by FAX at 801-
538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at sericson@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  LuAnn Adams, Commissioner

EFFECTIVE:  01/13/2015

Alcoholic Beverage Control, 
Administration

R81-4E
Resort Licenses

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39059
FILED:  01/08/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 32B-2-202 authorizes the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission to adopt and issue 
policy,  rules  and  procedures  that  establish  criteria  and 
procedures for issuing, denying, not renewing, suspending, or 
revoking retail licenses and permits, including resort license 
issued under Title 32B, Chapter 8, Resort License Act, and 
prescribe the conduct, management, and equipment of  any 
premises where alcohol is sold, served, consumed, or stored. 
Additionally, Section 32B-8-102 authorizes the commission to 
define certain terms by rule.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  To the department's knowledge, no 
comments have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   This  rule  regulates  operations  at 
establishments  holding  resort  licenses.  Section  R81-4E-1 
requires that any transaction that may alter the organizational 
structure or owner interest of the license holder must first be 
approved by the Department of  Alcoholic Beverage Control 
(DABC).   Section  R81-4E-2  outlines  requirements  of  the 
application for a resort license. Section R81-4E-3 elaborates 
on regulations regarding the bond required by statute to be 
carried  by  resort  licensees,  including  penalties  for 
noncompliance.  Section R81-4E-4 elaborates on regulations 
regarding  requirements  for  resort  licensee  insurance

coverage and penalties for noncompliance.  Section R81-4E-
5 regulates how resort licensees may place liquor orders at 
state liquor stores.  Section R81-4E-6 permits the licensee to 
open the storage area at other times for the limited purposes 
of  inventory,  restocking,  repair,  and  cleaning.   Resort 
licensees are the only licensee in the Liquor Act that operate 
their  restaurants  as  sublicensees  of  the  resort  license. 
Section  R81-4E-7  provides  guidelines  for  where  alcoholic 
beverages may be dispensed and consumed and how they 
may be sold in restaurants with sublicenses.  The section also 
establishes how liquor sales records should be maintained. 
Section R81-4E-8 permits sublicensees in resorts to store all 
types  of  liquor  in  the  same  storage  area  on  the  licensed 
premises.  Section R81-4E-9 regulates the use of alcoholic 
product flavorings used by resort licensees.  Section R81-4E-
10 allows wine service at a patron's table.  Section R81-4E-11 
establishes where on the premises of a restaurant sublicense 
alcoholic beverages may be consumed by a patron.  Section 
R81-4E-12 establishes guidelines and regulations for posting 
liquor  prices  and  liquor  service  prices  and  practices  in 
sublicensed establishments licensed under a resort license. 
Section R81-4E-13 establishes regulations for employees of 
sublicenses established under the resort license for wearing a 
unique identification badge when selling and serving alcoholic 
beverages.   Section R81-4E-14 addresses when it  is  legal 
and appropriate to permit brown-bagging on the premises of 
a  sublicensee.   Section R81-4E-15 defines the term resort 
spa,  establishes  application  requirements,  and  addresses 
minors in spas with lounges.  Section R81-4E-16 states that 
the  rules  for  sublicenses  issued  under  the  larger  resort 
license must comply with the same type of licenses issued by 
the DABC.  All of the regulations set forth in this rule remain 
important and applicable to the operations of a resort license. 
Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
ADMINISTRATION
1625 S 900 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84104-1630
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Nina McDermott by phone at 801-977-6805, by FAX at 801-
977-6888, or by Internet E-mail at nmcdermott@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Sal Petilos, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/08/2015

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing

R156-17b
Pharmacy Practice Act Rule
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39056
FILED:  01/05/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 17b, provides 
for the licensure of pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy 
technicians,  dispensing  medical  practitioners,  pharmacy 
technician trainees, and various classifications of pharmacies. 
Subsection  58-1-106(1)(a)  provides  that  the  Division  may 
adopt and enforce rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 
58-17b-201(3)   provides  that  the  Utah  State  Board  of 
Pharmacy's duties and responsibilities shall be in accordance 
with Section 58-1-202.  Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides 
that  one  of  the  duties  of  each  board  is  to  recommend 
appropriate  rules  to  the  Division  director.   This  rule  was 
enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 17b, with 
respect  to   pharmacists,  pharmacy  interns,  pharmacy 
technicians,  dispensing  medical  practitioners,  pharmacy 
technician trainees, and various classifications of pharmacies.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was last reviewed in 
February 2010, it has been amended several times with the 
following different effective dates of rule amendments which 
have  been  filed  (08/21/2014,  12/23/2013,  08/08/2013, 
11/29/2012,  11/21/2011,  07/26/2011,  10/22/2010,  and 
08/02/2010).  The Division received an 08/11/2014 letter from 
Eagle  Gate  College  Group  with  respect  to  pharmacy 
technician license education requirements.  The Division and 
Board  considered  the  written  comments,  but  no  additional 
changes to the proposed rule were filed based on the written 
comments.   The Division also received a 12/16/2013 letter 
from Lis Houchen with the National Association of Chain Drug 
Stores  with  respect  to  proposed  rule  amendments  filed  in 
November  2013.   The  Division  and  Board  considered  the 
written comments, but no additional changes to the proposed 
rule were filed based on the written comments.  The Division 
also received July 2013 written comments from Linda Duke 
with respect to pharmacy technician-in-training amendments 
and  July  2013  written  comments  from  David  Pittan  with 
respect to licensing exemption amendments under which a 
prescribing practitioner may dispense certain medications in 
the practitioner's place of business.  The Division and Board 
considered the written comments received, but no additional 
changes to the proposed rule were filed based on the written 
comments  and comments made during  a July 2013 public 
rule hearing.  The Division also received a 11/04/2012 email 
from Hunter  Finch  in  which  he  notified  the  Division  of  an 
incorrect  statute  citation  in  the  rule.   The  Division  filed  a

nonsubstantive  rule  change  with  Administrative  Rules  on 
11/29/2012 in DAR No. 37082 in response to the written email 
from  Mr.  Finch.   The  Division  also  received  too  many 
numerous  comments  to  list  here  which  were  submitted  in 
June 2010 in response to a Division proposed rule filing filed 
in June 2010 which proposed changing the supervising ratio 
of  pharmacist  to  pharmacy  technician.   The  Division  and 
Board  considered  the  written  comments  received,  but  no 
additional changes to the proposed rule were filed based on 
the  written  comments and comments  made during a  June 
2010 public rule hearing.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be continued as it provides a 
mechanism to inform potential licensees of the requirements 
for licensure as allowed under statutory authority provided in 
Title 58, Chapter 17b, with respect to pharmacists, pharmacy 
interns,  pharmacy  technicians,  dispensing  medical 
practitioners,  pharmacy  technician  trainees,  and  various 
classifications  of  pharmacies.   The  rule  should  also  be 
continued as it provides information to ensure applicants for 
licensure are adequately trained and meet minimum licensure 
requirements  and  provides  licensees  with  information 
concerning  unprofessional  conduct,  definitions,  and  ethical 
standards relating to the profession.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL 
LICENSING
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Rich Oborn by phone at 801-530-6767, by FAX at 801-530-
6511, or by Internet E-mail at roborn@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Steinagel, Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/05/2015

Corrections, Administration
R251-303

Offenders' Use of Telephones
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  39060

FILED:  01/08/2015
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DAR File No. 39060 FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Sections 63G-3-201 and 64-13-
10 which allow the Department to adopt standards and rules 
in accordance with its responsibilities.  The purpose of this 
rule  is  to  provide  the  Department's  policy  and  procedures 
governing offenders' access to and use of telephones.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   This  administrative  rule  and  Department 
policy  help  to  ensure  community  correctional  centers' 
telephones are used for authorized purposes, and that staff 
may listen to the offender's conversation, with the exception 
of calls made to legal counsel.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

CORRECTIONS
ADMINISTRATION
14717 S MINUTEMAN DR
DRAPER, UT 84020-9549
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Steven Turley by phone at 801-545-5633, by FAX at 801-
545-5726, or by Internet E-mail at sturley@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Rollin Cook, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/08/2015

Education, Administration
R277-111

Sharing of Curriculum Materials by 
Public School Educators

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39077
FILED:  01/15/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 

STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) allows 
the Utah State Board of Education (Board) to adopt rules in 
accordance  with  its  responsibilities  and  Subsection  53A-1-
402(1)(e) directs the Board to encourage school productivity 
and cost effective measures.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING  THE  RULE:   No  written  comment  has  been 
received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule continues to be necessary because 
it  provides provisions encouraging public school employees 
to share materials they develop to  benefit  public education 
generally.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Brad Smith by phone at 801-538-7510, by FAX at 801-538-
7768, or by Internet E-mail at brad.smith@schools.utah.gov

AUTHORIZED  BY:   Brad  Smith,  State  Superintendent  of 
Public Instruction

EFFECTIVE:  01/15/2015

Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration

R595-1
General Provisions

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39048
FILED:  01/02/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Pursuant to Subsection 78A-11-
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION DAR File No. 39048

103(11),  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  is  required  to 
make rules "outlining its procedures and the appointment of 
masters".

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have been 
received during or since the last five-year review.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Continuation of the rule is necessary in order 
for  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  to  conduct  its 
constitutionally  and  statutorily  mandated  obligation  to 
investigate and resolve allegations of judicial misconduct or 
judicial disability.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

JUDICIAL CONDUCT COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 703 
2540 WASHINGTON BLVD
OGDEN, UT 84401
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Colin  Winchester  by phone at  801-626-3359,  by FAX at 
801-626-3390, or by Internet E-mail at cwinchester@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Colin Winchester, Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/02/2015

Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration

R595-2
Administration

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39049
FILED:  01/02/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Pursuant to Subsection 78A-11-
103(11),  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  is  required  to 
make rules "outlining its procedures and the appointment of 
masters".

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have been 
received during or since the last five-year review.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Continuation of the rule is necessary in order 
for  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  to  conduct  its 
constitutionally  and  statutorily  mandated  obligation  to 
investigate and resolve allegations of judicial misconduct or 
judicial disability.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

JUDICIAL CONDUCT COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 703 
2540 WASHINGTON BLVD
OGDEN, UT 84401
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Colin  Winchester  by phone at  801-626-3359,  by FAX at 
801-626-3390, or by Internet E-mail at cwinchester@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Colin Winchester, Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/02/2015

Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration

R595-3
Procedure

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39050
FILED:  01/02/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Pursuant to Subsection 78A-11-
103(11),  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  is  required  to 
make rules "outlining its procedures and the appointment of 
masters".

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
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DAR File No. 39050 FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION

OPPOSING  THE  RULE:   In  January  2014,  an  attorney 
requested  that  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  amend 
Section  R595-3-13  to  provide  that  a  complainant  could 
require the Judicial Conduct Commission, upon dismissal of 
the  complainant's  complaint,  to  seek,  from  the  Judicial 
Council's  Ethics  Advisory  Committee,  an  ethics  advisory 
opinion on the ethical  issues raised in the complaint.   The 
Judicial Conduct Commission studied the request and sought 
and  received  input  from  the  courts'  general  counsel,  who 
staffs the Judicial  Council's  Ethics Advisory Committee.   In 
April  2014,  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  notified  the 
attorney  that  although  it  was  declining  to  amend  Section 
R595-3-13, the Judicial Conduct Commission would consider 
requests to seek ethics advisory opinions on a case-by-case 
basis.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Continuation of the rule is necessary in order 
for  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  to  conduct  its 
constitutionally  and  statutorily  mandated  obligation  to 
investigate and resolve allegations of judicial misconduct or 
judicial disability.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

JUDICIAL CONDUCT COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 703 
2540 WASHINGTON BLVD
OGDEN, UT 84401
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Colin  Winchester  by phone at  801-626-3359,  by FAX at 
801-626-3390, or by Internet E-mail at cwinchester@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Colin Winchester, Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/02/2015

Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration

R595-4
Sanctions

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39051
FILED:  01/02/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Pursuant to Subsection 78A-11-
103(11),  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  is  required  to 
make rules "outlining its procedures and the appointment of 
masters".

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have been 
received during or since the last five-year review.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  Continuation of the rule is necessary in order 
for  the  Judicial  Conduct  Commission  to  conduct  its 
constitutionally  and  statutorily  mandated  obligation  to 
investigate and resolve allegations of judicial misconduct or 
judicial disability.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

JUDICIAL CONDUCT COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 703 
2540 WASHINGTON BLVD
OGDEN, UT 84401
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦  Colin  Winchester  by phone at  801-626-3359,  by FAX at 
801-626-3390, or by Internet E-mail at cwinchester@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Colin Winchester, Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/02/2015

Public Safety, Criminal Investigations 
and Technical Services, Criminal 

Identification
R722-310

Regulation of Bail Bond Recovery and 
Enforcement Agents

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39057
FILED:  01/07/2015
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION DAR File No. 39057

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  The Utah Department of Public 
Safety  has  been  tasked  in  Section  53-11-103  to:   1) 
administer and manage the issuance of bail  bond recovery 
licenses;  2)  present  to  the  Bail  Bond  Recovery  Licensure 
Board recommendations for suspension or revocation of said 
licenses when a determination is made that would make the 
licensee  ineligible  to  hold  a  license:  and  3)  maintain  and 
update as required, a database of licensee information.  This 
rule is established to outline a process by which the Bureau 
of  Criminal  Identification  can  administer,  manage,  and 
maintain the tasks above.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments were received 
during  and since the last  five-year  review of  the rule  from 
interested persons supporting or opposing the rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  The requirement to administer, manage, and 
maintain  the  licensure  of  bail  bond  recovery  agents  is 
statutorily required and the need to continue with the current 
rule still exists.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

PUBLIC SAFETY
CRIMINAL INVESTIGATIONS AND TECHNICAL 
SERVICES,
CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION
3888 W 5400 S
TAYLORSVILLE, UT 84118
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Alice Moffat by phone at 801-965-4939, by FAX at 801-965-
4944, or by Internet E-mail at aerickso@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Alice Moffat, Bureau Chief

EFFECTIVE:  01/07/2015

Public Safety, Criminal Investigations 
and Technical Services, Criminal 

Identification
R722-330

Licensing of Private Investigators

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  39058
FILED:  01/07/2015

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  The Utah Department of Public 
Safety has been tasked in Section 53-9-103 to:  1) administer 
and manage the issuance of private investigator licenses; 2) 
present  to  the  Private  Investigator  Hearing  and  Licensure 
Board recommendations of suspension or revocation of said 
licenses when a determination is made that would make the 
licensee  ineligible  to  hold  a  license;  and  3)  maintain  and 
update as required, a database of licensee information.  This 
rule is established to outline a process by which the Bureau 
of  Criminal  Identification  can  administer,  manage,  and 
maintain the tasks above.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments were received 
during  and since the last  five-year  review of  the rule  from 
interested persons supporting or opposing the rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  The requirement to administer, manage, and 
maintain  the  licensure  of  private  investigators  is  statutorily 
required and the need to continue with the current rule still 
exists.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

PUBLIC SAFETY
CRIMINAL INVESTIGATIONS AND TECHNICAL 
SERVICES,
CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION
3888 W 5400 S
TAYLORSVILLE, UT 84118
or at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Alice Moffat by phone at 801-965-4939, by FAX at 801-965-
4944, or by Internet E-mail at aerickso@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Alice Moffat, Bureau Chief

EFFECTIVE:  01/07/2015
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NOTICES OF
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS

Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
(EXTENSION) with the Division of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review up to 120 
days beyond the anniversary date.

Agencies  have  filed  EXTENSIONS for  the  rules  listed  below.   The  "Extended  Due  Date"  is  120  days  after  the 
anniversary date.

EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6).

Governor, Criminal and Juvenile 
Justice (State Commission on)

R356-1
Procedures for the Calculation and 
Distribution of Funds to Reimburse 

County Correctional Facilities Housing 
State Probationary Inmates or State 

Parole Inmates
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION

DAR FILE NO.:  39053
FILED:  01/02/2015

EXTENSION  REASON  AND  NEW  DEADLINE:   Due  to 
changes in personnel, the Commission needs more time to 
review this rule.  New deadline is 05/04/2015.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Ronald Gordon by phone at 801-538-1432, by FAX at 801-
538-1024, or by Internet E-mail at rbgordon@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Ronald Gordon, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  01/02/2015

End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section
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NOTICES OF
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES

State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment period, 
the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public  
comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with 
no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including or after  
the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an agency  
fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses.

Agencies have notified the Division of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 

NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-5a 
and R15-4-5b.

Abbreviations
AMD = Amendment
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule
NEW = New Rule
R&R = Repeal & Reenact
REP = Repeal

Education
Administration
No. 38956  (AMD): R277-487.  Public School Data 
Confidentiality and Disclosure
Published:  12/01/2014
Effective:  01/07/2015

Rehabilitation
No. 38930  (AMD): R280-203.  Certification Requirements for 
Interpreters for the Hearing Impaired
Published:  11/15/2014
Effective:  01/02/2015

Governor
Energy Development (Office of)
No. 38931  (AMD): R362-3.  Energy Efficiency Fund
Published:  11/15/2014
Effective:  01/07/2015

Health
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
No. 38952  (AMD): R414-11.  Podiatric Services
Published:  12/01/2014
Effective:  01/13/2015

Human Services
Substance Abuse and Mental Health
No. 38917  (NEW): R523-8.  Evidence-Based Prevention 
Registry
Published:  11/15/2014
Effective:  01/06/2015

Insurance
Administration
No. 38934  (AMD): R590-142.  Continuing Education Rule
Published:  12/01/2014
Effective:  01/12/2015

No. 38935  (AMD): R590-244.  Individual and Agency 
Licensing Requirements
Published:  12/01/2014
Effective:  01/12/2015

Natural Resources
Wildlife Resources
No. 38949  (AMD): R657-69.  Turkey Depredation
Published:  12/01/2014
Effective:  01/08/2015

Public Safety
Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal 
Identification
No. 38947  (AMD): R722-330.  Licensing of Private 
Investigators
Published:  12/01/2014
Effective:  01/07/2015

Public Service Commission
Administration
No. 38936  (AMD): R746-341-5.  Duties of ETCs
Published:  12/01/2014
Effective:  01/07/2015
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RULES INDEX
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER)

AND
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)

The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules. The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 2, 2015 through January 15, 2015. The Rules Index is published in 
the Utah State Bulletin and in the annual Utah Administrative Rules Index of Changes. Nonsubstantive changes,  
while not published in the Bulletin, do become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this  
Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) rules that do not become part of the Code. The rules are indexed by  
Agency (Code Number) and Keyword (Subject).

Questions regarding the index and the information it contains should be addressed to the Division of Administrative 
Rules (801-538-3764).

A copy of the RULES INDEX is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules (5110 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/).
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RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER)

ABBREVIATIONS

AMD = Amendment (Proposed Rule) LNR = Legislative Nonreauthorization
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule NEW = New Rule (Proposed Rule)
EMR = 120-Day (Emergency) Rule NSC = Nonsubstantive Rule Change
EXD = Expired Rule R&R = Repeal and Reenact (Proposed Rule)
EXP = Expedited Rule REP = Repeal (Proposed Rule)
EXT = Five-Year Review Extension 5YR = Five-Year Notice of Review and 
GEX = Governor's Extension     Statement of Continuation

CODE
REFERENCE

TITLE   FILE
  NUMBER

ACTION EFFECTIVE
DATE

BULLETIN
ISSUE/PAGE

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD

Animal Industry
R58-7 Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock 

Auction Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and 
Livestock Market Weighpersons

  39075 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

R58-11 Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry   39073 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed
R58-17 Aquaculture and Aquatic Animal Health   39074 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

Administration
R81-4E Resort Licenses   39059 5YR 01/08/2015 Not Printed

COMMERCE

Occupational and Professional Licensing
R156-17b Pharmacy Practice Act Rule   39056 5YR 01/05/2015 Not Printed

CORRECTIONS

Administration
R251-303 Offenders' Use of Telephones   39060 5YR 01/08/2015 Not Printed

EDUCATION

Administration
R277-111 Sharing of Curriculum Materials by Public 

School Educators
  39077 5YR 01/15/2015 Not Printed

R277-419-9 Provisions for Maintaining Student Membership 
and Enrollment Documentation and 
Documentation of Student Education Services 
Provided by Third Party Vendors

  39080 EMR 01/15/2015 Not Printed

R277-487 Public School Data Confidentiality and 
Disclosure

  38956 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/6

Rehabilitation
R280-203 Certification Requirements for Interpreters for 

the Hearing Impaired
  38930 AMD 01/02/2015 2014-22/22
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GOVERNOR

Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State Commission on)
R356-1 Procedures for the Calculation and Distribution 

of Funds to Reimburse County Correctional 
Facilities Housing State Probationary Inmates 
or State Parole Inmates

  39053 EXT 01/02/2015 Not Printed

Energy Development (Office of)
R362-3 Energy Efficiency Fund   38931 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-22/24

HEALTH

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
R414-11 Podiatric Services   38952 AMD 01/13/2015 2014-23/22

HUMAN SERVICES

Substance Abuse and Mental Health
R523-8 Evidence-Based Prevention Registry   38917 NEW 01/06/2015 2014-22/33

INSURANCE

Administration
R590-130-7 Advertisements of Benefits Payable, Losses 

Covered or Premiums Payable
  39029 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed

R590-142 Continuing Education Rule   38934 AMD 01/12/2015 2014-23/25
R590-173 Credit For Reinsurance   39030 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed
R590-194 Coverage of Dietary Products for Inborn Errors 

of Amino Acid or Urea Cycle Metabolism
  39038 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed

R590-226-14 Responses   39031 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed
R590-244 Individual and Agency Licensing Requirements   38935 AMD 01/12/2015 2014-23/31

JUDICIAL CONDUCT COMMISSION

Administration
R595-1 General Provisions   39048 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed
R595-2 Administration   39049 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed
R595-3 Procedure   39050 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed
R595-4 Sanctions   39051 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed

NATURAL RESOURCES

Wildlife Resources
R657-69 Turkey Depredation   38949 AMD 01/08/2015 2014-23/39

PUBLIC SAFETY

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification
R722-310 Regulation of Bail Bond Recovery and 

Enforcement Agents
  39057 5YR 01/07/2015 Not Printed

R722-330 Licensing of Private Investigators   38947 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/40
R722-330 Licensing of Private Investigators   39058 5YR 01/07/2015 Not Printed

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Administration
R746-341-5 Duties of ETCs   38936 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/43
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RULES INDEX - BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)

ABBREVIATIONS

AMD = Amendment (Proposed Rule) LNR = Legislative Nonreauthorization
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule NEW = New Rule (Proposed Rule)
EMR = 120-Day (Emergency) Rule NSC = Nonsubstantive Rule Change
EXD = Expired Rule R&R = Repeal and Reenact (Proposed Rule)
EXP = Expedited Rule REP = Repeal (Proposed Rule)
EXT = Five-Year Review Extension 5YR = Five-Year Notice of Review and 
GEX = Governor's Extension     Statement of Continuation

KEYWORD
AGENCY

  FILE
  NUMBER

CODE
REFERENCE

ACTION EFFECTIVE
DATE

BULLETIN
ISSUE/PAGE

alcoholic beverages
Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration   39059 R81-4E 5YR 01/08/2015 Not Printed

aquaculture
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry   39074 R58-17 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

bail bond recovery licenses
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and Technical 
Services, Criminal Identification

  39057 R722-310 5YR 01/07/2015 Not Printed

certification
Education, Rehabilitation   38930 R280-203 AMD 01/02/2015 2014-22/22

confidentiality
Education, Administration   38956 R277-487 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/6

corrections
Corrections, Administration   39060 R251-303 5YR 01/08/2015 Not Printed

curriculum materials
Education, Administration   39077 R277-111 5YR 01/15/2015 Not Printed

depredation
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   38949 R657-69 AMD 01/08/2015 2014-23/39

education finance
Education, Administration   39080 R277-419-9 EMR 01/15/2015 Not Printed

efficiency
Governor, Energy Development (Office of)   38931 R362-3 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-22/24

energy
Governor, Energy Development (Office of)   38931 R362-3 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-22/24

evidence-based prevention
Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health

  38917 R523-8 NEW 01/06/2015 2014-22/33

evidence-based prevention workgroup
Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health

  38917 R523-8 NEW 01/06/2015 2014-22/33

food inspections
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry   39073 R58-11 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

halfway houses
Corrections, Administration   39060 R251-303 5YR 01/08/2015 Not Printed

insurance
Insurance, Administration   39030 R590-173 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed
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insurance continuing education
Insurance, Administration   38934 R590-142 AMD 01/12/2015 2014-23/25

insurance law
Insurance, Administration   39029 R590-130-7 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed

  39038 R590-194 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed

insurance licensing requirements
Insurance, Administration   38935 R590-244 AMD 01/12/2015 2014-23/31

interpreters
Education, Rehabilitation   38930 R280-203 AMD 01/02/2015 2014-22/22

jail reimbursement
Governor, Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 
Commission on)

  39053 R356-1 EXT 01/02/2015 Not Printed

Judicial Conduct Commission
Judicial Conduct Commission, Administration   39048 R595-1 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed

  39049 R595-2 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed
  39050 R595-3 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed
  39051 R595-4 5YR 01/02/2015 Not Printed

licenses
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and Technical 
Services, Criminal Identification

  39058 R722-330 5YR 01/07/2015 Not Printed

licensing
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   39056 R156-17b 5YR 01/05/2015 Not Printed

life insurance filings
Insurance, Administration   39031 R590-226-14 NSC 01/15/2015 Not Printed

lifeline rates
Public Service Commission, Administration   38936 R746-341-5 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/43

livestock
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry   39075 R58-7 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

  39073 R58-11 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

Medicaid
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy

  38952 R414-11 AMD 01/13/2015 2014-23/22

municipalities
Governor, Energy Development (Office of)   38931 R362-3 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-22/24

pharmacies
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   39056 R156-17b 5YR 01/05/2015 Not Printed

pharmacists
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing   39056 R156-17b 5YR 01/05/2015 Not Printed

poultry
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry   39073 R58-11 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

private investigators
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and Technical 
Services, Criminal Identification

  39058 R722-330 5YR 01/07/2015 Not Printed

private investigators licenses
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and Technical 
Services, Criminal Identification

  38947 R722-330 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/40

records
Education, Administration   38956 R277-487 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/6
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resorts
Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration   39059 R81-4E 5YR 01/08/2015 Not Printed

rules and procedures
Public Service Commission, Administration   38936 R746-341-5 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/43

school enrollment
Education, Administration   39080 R277-419-9 EMR 01/15/2015 Not Printed

schools
Governor, Energy Development (Office of)   38931 R362-3 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-22/24

sharing
Education, Administration   39077 R277-111 5YR 01/15/2015 Not Printed

slaughter
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry   39073 R58-11 5YR 01/13/2015 Not Printed

state parole inmates
Governor, Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 
Commission on)

  39053 R356-1 EXT 01/02/2015 Not Printed

state probationary inmates
Governor, Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 
Commission on)

  39053 R356-1 EXT 01/02/2015 Not Printed

statewide registry
Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health

  38917 R523-8 NEW 01/06/2015 2014-22/33

students
Education, Administration   38956 R277-487 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/6

telecommunications
Public Service Commission, Administration   38936 R746-341-5 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/43

telephones
Public Service Commission, Administration   38936 R746-341-5 AMD 01/07/2015 2014-23/43

turkey
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   38949 R657-69 AMD 01/08/2015 2014-23/39

wildlife
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources   38949 R657-69 AMD 01/08/2015 2014-23/39

84 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2015, Vol. 2015, No. 3


	UTAH STATE 
BULLETIN
	TABLE OF CONTEN
TS
	SPECIAL NOTICES

	NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES
	39061
	39055
	39081
	39078
	39079
	39076
	39082
	39083
	39052
	39054
	39062
	39063
	39064
	39065
	39066
	39067
	39068
	39069
	39070
	39071
	39072
	39085

	NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES
	39080

	FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT
S OF CONTINUATION
	39075
	39073
	39074
	39059
	39056
	39060
	39077
	39048
	39049
	39050
	39051
	39057
	39058

	NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS
	39053

	NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES
	RULES INDEX BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)




