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NOTICES OF
PROPOSED RULES

A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule. 
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between December 01, 2018, 12:00 a.m., and 
December 14, 2018, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the January 01, 2019, issue of the Utah State Bulletin.

In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary information 
about the  PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal 
cross-references.

Following the  RULE ANALYSIS,  the text  of  the  PROPOSED RULE is  usually printed.   New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs  
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections  
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office of 
Administrative Rules.

The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least January 31, 2019.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the 
last  day  the  agency  will  accept  comment  in  the  RULE ANALYSIS.   The  agency  may also  hold  public  hearings. 
Additionally, citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 
63G-3-302 requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 
15 days after the publication date of the proposed rule."

From the end of the public comment period through May 1, 2019, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the  
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE 
or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses.

The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on  PROPOSED RULES. 
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule.

PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10.

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page
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NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 43422

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing

R156-55b
Electricians Licensing Act Rule

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  43422
FILED:  12/06/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   This  filing  is  recommended by  the  Electricians 
Licensing  Board  (Board)  and  the  Construction  Services 
Commission  (Commission)  to  clarify  current  requirements 
and  conform  this  rule  to  current  practices  in  the  industry. 
Additionally, this filing removes certain requirements that the 
Board and the Commission have found to be outdated and 
unnecessarily arduous.

SUMMARY OF THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   In  Subsection 
R156-55b-102(1), these amendments clarify the definition of 
"electrical  work",  including  a  nonsubstantive  change  to 
update the citation to Section 58-55-102 and simplifying the 
description  of  low  voltage  cable-type  wiring.   The 
amendments to Subsection R156-55b-102(2) are formatting 
changes for clarity.   The amendments to Subsection R156-
55b-102(3) clarify that the definition of "minor electrical work" 
includes  HVAC equipment,  and  that  wiring  may extend no 
more  than  ten  feet  from  an  existing  outlet  or  disconnect 
intended specifically for the piece of equipment, appliance, or 
machinery.   The new Subsection  R156-55b-102(4)  clarifies 
that  "Premises Wiring" means the same as defined in Title 
15A,  State  Construction  and  Fire  Codes  Act.   The 
amendments  to  Subsection  R156-55b-102(7)  (formerly 
Subsection  R156-55b-102(6))  simplify  and  update  the 
definition  of  "work  commonly  done  by  unskilled  labor"  by 
deleting references to specific tasks and substituting in their 
place a reference to work performed by "unlicensed persons". 
In Section R156-55b-302a, the amendments to this section 
make nonsubstantive formatting changes to clarify all of the 
current  education  and  experience  requirements  for  the 
respective license classifications.  This includes describing in 
Subsection R156-55b-302a(5), the programs approved by the 
Electricians Licensing Board prior to 01/01/2009.  In Section 
R156-55b-302b, the amendments to this section:   1)  make 
nonsubstantive  formatting  changes  to  clarify  the  current 
examination  requirements  for  the  respective  license 
classifications;  2)  extend the 25-day waiting  period  after  a 
failed exam to a 30-day waiting period, to alleviate confusion 
and  create  parity  among  the  standards  for  all  contractor 
professions; and 3) delete the requirement that an applicant 
pass all exams within a one-year period (the one-year "rolling 
clock"  requirement),  as  this  restriction  was  deemed 
unnecessary  and  onerous.   In  Section  R156-55b-304,  the 

amendments make formatting changes  for  clarity,  including 
streamlining  this  rule  by  removing  duplicative  continuing 
education  requirements  that  are  already  stated  in  Section 
R156-55a-303b.   In  Subsection  R156-55b-401(1),  the 
amendments clarify that an electrical contractor may contract 
with licensed professional employer organizations to employ 
one  or  more  licensed  electricians.   The  amendments  to 
Subsection R156-55b-401(2) require an apprentice in the fifth 
and  succeeding  years  of  an  apprenticeship  to  work  under 
immediate supervision, in conformance with the requirements 
of  Subsection 58-55-302(3)(j)(i).   In  Section R156-55b-501, 
the  amendments  update  the  definition  of  "unprofessional 
conduct" to reflect a new standard being implemented across 
all  contractor  professions  -  instead  of  the  licensee  being 
required to carry a copy of their current license at all times, 
the licensee must provide the license or license number upon 
request.  These amendments also delete as "unprofessional 
conduct"  "failing  as  an  electrical  contractor  to  certify  an 
electrician's  hours  and  breakdown  of  work  experience  by 
category  when  requested  by  an  electrician  who  is  or  has 
been  an  employee,"  as  this  is  a  conduct  specific  to  a 
contractor and will be included as unprofessional conduct in 
Section R156-55a-501.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) and Subsection 58-
1-202(1)(a) and Subsection 58-55-308(1)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  Most of these proposed changes 
update  definitions  and  ensure  that  this  rule  encompasses 
current  requirements  and  practices  in  the  profession,  and 
make  formatting  changes  for  clarity.   Accordingly,  none  of 
these amendments will impact state government revenues or 
expenditures.  The  amendments  to  Section  R156-55b-302b 
that extend the 25-day waiting period after a failed exam to a 
30-day  waiting  period  are  not  expected  to  impact  existing 
state  practices  or  procedures  and  will  therefore  have  no 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  The 
amendments  to  Section  R156-55b-302b  that  delete  the 
requirement that an applicant pass all  exams within a one-
year period (the one-year "rolling clock" requirement),  are not 
expected  to  impact  state  government  revenues  or 
expenditures as the examinee may still take each exam up to 
five times per year, and the changes will have no impact on 
state practices or procedures.  No other fiscal impact to the 
state is expected, beyond a minimal cost to the Division of 
Occupational  and  Professional  Licensing  (Division)  of 
approximately  $75  to  print  and  distribute  the  Electricians 
Licensing Act Rule once the amendments are made effective.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  These proposed amendments 
are  not  expected  to  change  existing  local  government 
practices or procedures, and will therefore, have no impact on 
local government's revenues or expenditures.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   These  proposed  changes  that 
update definitions, ensure that this rule encompasses current 
requirements  and  practices  in  the  profession,  and  make 
formatting  changes  for  clarity,  are  not  expected  to  impact 
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DAR File No. 43422 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

small  businesses  as  they  will  not  change  the  quantity  or 
number  of  exchanges  between  any  persons.   The 
amendments to Section R156-55b-302b that extend the 25-
day waiting period after  a  failed exam to a 30-day waiting 
period are also not expected to impact small business as the 
examinee may still take each exam the same amount of times 
per  year.   The  amendment  to  Section  R156-55b-302b 
deleting  the  requirement  that  an  applicant  pass  all  exams 
within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year  "rolling  clock" 
requirement)  is  expected  to  create  a  fiscal  benefit  for  the 
estimated  879  small  businesses  that  may  be  impacted 
(NAICS 238212 and 238211).  With this change, all applicants 
for  licensure  may  seek  licensure  as  soon  as  they  have 
passed all  of  their exams, regardless of  when they passed 
their  exams.   Currently,  many of  these  applicants  need to 
retake exams they have already passed because the date 
they took the exam is outside of  the one-year rolling clock 
period.   The  applicants  therefore  experience  a  significant 
delay of weeks to months to even years in the ability to obtain 
their  license.   Other  applicants,  in  particular  apprentice 
electrician applicants who would like to achieve journeyman 
electrician status, often give up and never seek to increase 
their level of licensure because of the perceived difficulty and 
cost  associated  with  trying  to  timely  pass  all  of  their 
electrician exams.  Accordingly, this proposed amendment is 
expected  to  significantly  reduce  current  delays  in  many 
individuals  becoming  licensed,  and  is  also  expected  to 
encourage many individuals to become licensed at a higher 
level.  Small businesses will therefore be able to more easily 
hire  journeyman  electricians,  residential  journeyman 
electricians,  master  electricians,  and  residential  master 
electricians.  Additionally,  newly licensed master  electricians 
may be able to create their own small businesses or serve as 
qualifiers for other small businesses.  The Division estimates 
that  this  will  result  in  an  ongoing  fiscal  benefit  for  small 
businesses.   However,  the full  impact cannot  be estimated 
because  it  will  depend  on  the  unique  licensing  and 
employment choices made by each individual  applicant,  as 
well as on the characteristics of each small business, and this 
relevant data is unavailable and the cost of acquiring the data 
is prohibitively expensive.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  persons  that  may  potentially  be  affected  by  these 
amendments  will  be  Utah  licensed  master  electricians, 
residential  master  electricians,  journeyman  electricians, 
residential  journeyman  electricians,  and  apprentice 
electricians engaged in electrical  work, and applicants from 
other jurisdictions who wish to become licensed as residential 
journeyman  electricians  or  higher  in  Utah.   The  proposed 
changes  that  update  definitions  and  ensure  that  this  rule 
encompasses  current  requirements  and  practices  in  the 
profession and that make formatting changes for clarity are 
not expected to impact these other persons as the changes 
will not change the quantity or number of exchanges between 
any persons.   The amendments to Section R156-55b-302b 
that extend the 25-day waiting period after a failed exam to a 
30-day waiting period are also not expected to impact these 
persons as any examinee may still take each exam the same 

amount of times per year.  The amendment to Section R156-
55b-302b deleting the requirement that an applicant pass all 
licensing  exams  within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year 
"rolling  clock"  requirement)  is  expected  to  create  a  fiscal 
benefit for many of these other persons if  it results in their 
becoming licensed at  a  higher  level,  and/or  eliminates the 
cost  to  them  of  retaking  licensing  exams  that  they  have 
already  passed  and  reduces  a  delay  in  their  becoming 
licensed at a higher level.  However, the full impact cannot be 
estimated because it will depend on the unique licensing and 
employment  choices  made by each  individual  person,  and 
this relevant data is unavailable and the cost of acquiring the 
data is prohibitively expensive.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   As 
described  above  for  other  persons,  the  Division  does  not 
anticipate any compliance costs for any affected persons from 
these  proposed  amendments  because  these  amendments 
will result either in no fiscal impact or in a fiscal benefit.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
These  proposed  amendments  are  recommended  by  the 
Board  and  the  Commission  to  clarify  current  requirements 
and  conform  the  rule  to  current  practices  in  the  industry. 
Additionally, this filing removes certain requirements that the 
Board and the Commission have found to be outdated and 
unnecessarily  onerous.   Small  Business:  The  proposed 
changes  that  update  definitions  and  ensure  that  the  rule 
encompasses  current  requirements  and  practices  in  the 
profession, and make formatting changes for clarity, are not 
expected to impact small business as they will not change the 
quantity or number of exchanges between any persons.  The 
amendments to Section R156-55b-302b that extend the 25-
day waiting period after  a  failed exam to a 30-day waiting 
period are also not expected to impact small business as the 
examinee may still take each exam the same amount of times 
per  year.   The  amendment  to  Section  R156-55b-302b 
deleting  the  requirement  that  an  applicant  pass  all  exams 
within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year  "rolling  clock" 
requirement)  is  expected  to  create  a  fiscal  benefit  for  the 
estimated  879  small  businesses  that  may  be  impacted 
(NAICS 238212 and 238211).  With this change, all applicants 
for  licensure  may  seek  licensure  as  soon  as  they  have 
passed all  of  their exams, regardless of  when they passed 
their  exams.   Accordingly,  this  proposed  amendment  is 
expected  to  significantly  reduce  current  delays  in  many 
individuals  becoming  licensed,  and  is  also  expected  to 
encourage many individuals to become licensed at a higher 
level.  Small businesses will therefore be able to more easily 
hire  journeyman  electricians,  residential  journeyman 
electricians,  master  electricians,  and  residential  master 
electricians.  Additionally, newly licensed master electricians 
may be able to create their own small businesses or serve as 
qualifiers for other small businesses.  The Division estimates 
that  this  will  result  in  an  ongoing  fiscal  benefit  for  small 
business.   However,  the  full  impact  cannot  be  estimated 
because  it  will  depend  on  the  unique  licensing  and 
employment choices made by each individual  applicant,  as 
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well as on the characteristics of each small business, and this 
relevant  data  is  unavailable.   The  cost  of  acquiring  the 
referenced data is prohibitively expensive.   The amendments 
to Section R156-55b-304 make formatting changes for clarity, 
including  streamlining  the  rule  by  removing  duplicative 
continuing education requirements that are already stated in 
R156-55a-303b.  These amendments have no fiscal impact to 
small business.  The amendments to Section R156-55b-401 
clarify that an electrical contractor may contract with licensed 
professional employer organizations to employ one or more 
licensed electricians,  and  require  an apprentice  in  the  fifth 
and  succeeding  years  of  an  apprenticeship  to  work  under 
immediate supervision, in conformance with the requirements 
of Subsection 58-55-302(3)(j)(i).  These amendments have no 
fiscal impact to small business.  The amendments to R156-
55b-501  which  amend  the  definition  of  “unprofessional 
conduct” have no fiscal impact to small business.  Non-small 
businesses: There are 26 non-small businesses in Utah in the 
electrical contracting industry in question (NAICS 238211 and 
NAICS 238212).  The proposed rule changes are expected to 
have the same fiscal impacts, or lack thereof, as described 
above in the fiscal impacts for small businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL 
LICENSING
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Steve Duncombe by phone at  801-530-6235,  by FAX at 
801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at sduncombe@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

INTERESTED  PERSONS  MAY  ATTEND  A  PUBLIC 
HEARING REGARDING THIS RULE:
♦  01/30/2019 09:00  AM,  Heber  Wells  Bldg,  160  E  300 S, 
Conference Room 474 (fourth floor), Salt Lake City, UT

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Steinagel, Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0
Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Other Persons $0 $0 $0 
Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  above.   Inestimable 
impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described below.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 
or more employees)
There  are  26  non-small  businesses  in  Utah  in  the 
electrical contracting industry in question (NAICS 238211, 
and  NAICS  238212).   The  proposed  changes  that  update 
definitions and ensure that the rule encompasses current 
requirements  and  practices  in  the  profession,  and  make 
formatting changes for clarity, are not expected to impact 
these non-small businesses as they will not change the 
quantity or number of exchanges between any persons.  The 
amendments to Section R156-55b-302b that extend the 25-day 
waiting period after a failed exam to a 30-day waiting 
period are also not expected to impact non-small business 
as examinees may still take each exam the same amount of 
times per year.  The amendment to Section R156-55b-302b 
deleting the requirement that an applicant pass all exams 
within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year  "rolling  clock" 
requirement) is expected to create a fiscal benefit for 
these  non-small  businesses.   With  this  change,  all 
applicants for licensure may seek licensure as soon as 
they have passed all of their exams, regardless of when 
they  passed  their  exams.   Currently,  many  of  these 
applicants need to retake exams they have already passed 
because the date they took the exam is outside of the one-
year  rolling  clock  period.   The  applicants  therefore 
experience a significant delay of weeks to months to even 
years  in  the  ability  to  obtain  their  license.   Other 
applicants,  in  particular  apprentice  electrician 
applicants  who  would  like  to  achieve  journeyman 
electrician  status,  often  give  up  and  never  seek  to 
increase their level of licensure because of the perceived 
difficulty and cost associated with trying to timely pass 
all  of  their  electrician  exams.   Accordingly,  this 
proposed  amendment  is  expected  to  significantly  reduce 
current delays in many individuals becoming licensed, and 
is also expected to encourage many individuals to become 
licensed at a higher level.  Non-small businesses will 
therefore  be  able  to  more  easily  hire  journeyman 
electricians, residential journeyman electricians, master 
electricians,  and  residential  master  electricians. 
Additionally,  newly  licensed  master  electricians  may  be 
able to create their own non-small businesses or serve as 
qualifiers for other non-small businesses.  The Division 
estimates  that  this  will  result  in  an  ongoing  fiscal 
benefit for non-small business.  However, the full impact 
cannot be estimated because it will depend on the unique 
licensing and employment choices made by each individual 
applicant, as well as on the characteristics of each non-
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small business, and this relevant data is unavailable and 
the cost of acquiring the data is prohibitively expensive.

The head of the Department of Commerce, Francine A. Giani, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-55b.  Electricians Licensing Act Rule.
R156-55b-102.  Definitions.

In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 
55, as used in Title 58, Chapter 55 or this rule:

(1)(a)  "Electrical  work"  as  used  in  Subsection  58-55-
102(14)(a) and in this rule means:
                 (i)     installation, fabrication or assembly of equipment or 
systems included in ["]Premises Wiring[" as defined by Title 15A, 
State Construction and Fire Codes Act.];
                 (ii)    [Electrical  work  includes  ]installation  of  raceway 
systems used for any electrical purpose[,]; and
                 (iii)     installation of field-assembled systems such as ice 
and snow melting, pipe-tracing,  or  manufactured wiring systems[, 
and the like].
                 (b)    "Electrical work" does not include:
                 (i)     installation  of  factory-assembled  appliances  or 
machinery that are not part  of the [p]Premises [w]Wiring, unless 
wiring interconnections external to the equipment are required in 
the field[,]; and [does not include]
                 (ii)  low voltage   cable-type wiring less than 50 volts that 
does not pose a hazard from a shock or fire initiation standpoint as 
defined  by  Title  15A,  State  Construction  and  Fire  Codes  Act.
[  Wiring covered by the National Electrical Code that does not pose 
a hazard as described above includes Class 2 wiring as defined in 
Article 725, Power-Limited circuits as defined in Article 760 and 
wiring methods covered by Chapter 8.  All other wiring is subject to 
licensing requirements.]

(2)  "Immediate supervision" as used in Subsection 58-55-
102(26) and this rule means[ the following]:

(a)   for  industrial  and  commercial  electrical  work,  the 
apprentice and the supervising electrician are physically present on 
the  same project  or  jobsite, but  [are  ]not  required to  maintain  a 
direct line of sight[be within sight of one another]; and

(b)   for  residential  electrical  work,  the  supervising 
electrician,  when  not  physically  present  on  the  same  project  or 
jobsite  as  the  apprentice,  is  available  to  provide  [reasonable  ]
direction, oversight, inspection, and evaluation of the  apprentice's 
work [of an apprentice ]so as to ensure that the end result complies 
with applicable standards.

(3)(a)  "Minor electrical work incidental to a mechanical 
or  service  installation", as  used  in  Subsection  58-55-305(1)(n), 
means the electrical work involved in installation, replacement, or 
repair  of  HVAC  equipment,  appliances, or  machinery  that 
[utilize]use electrical power, when wiring is extended no more than 
ten feet from an existing outlet or disconnect intended specifically 
for the piece of equipment, appliance, or machinery.
                 (b)    Minor electrical work does not include:
                 (i)     modification  or  repair  of  ["]Premises  Wiring["  as 
defined in the National Electrical Code, and does not include]; or
                 (ii)     installation  of  a  disconnecting  means  or  outlet.
[  Electrical  work  is  minor  and  incidental  only  when  wiring  is 
extended  no  more  than  ten  feet  in  length  from  an  outlet  or 
disconnect provided specifically for the piece of equipment.]

                 (4)  "Premises Wiring" means the same as defined in Title   
15A, State Construction and  Fire Codes Act.

([4]5)  "Residential project" as used in Subsection 58-55-
302(3)(j)(ii)  [pertains]pertaining to  supervision, [and  ]means 
electrical  work  performed  in  one- or  two-family  dwellings, 
including  townhouses,  as  determined  by  Title  15A,  State 
Construction and Fire Codes Act.

([5]6)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 55, is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 
58-1-203(1)(e), in Section R156-55b-501.

([6]7)  "Work commonly done by unskilled labor" as used 
in  Subsection  58-55-102(14)(b)(iii)  means  work  performed  by 
unlicensed persons and includes assisting or handling wire[such as 
digging,  sweeping,  hammering,  carrying,  drilling  holes,  or  other 
tasks  that  do  not  directly  involve  the  installation  of  raceways, 
conductors,  cables,  wiring  devices,  overcurrent  devices,  or 
distribution equipment.  Unlicensed persons may handle wire on] 
large wire pulls involving conduit of two inches or larger [or assist 
in moving heavy electrical equipment  ]when the task is performed 
under[in] the immediate [presence of and supervised]supervision of 
a [by ]properly licensed master or[,] journeyman[, residential master 
or residential journeyman] electrician[s] acting within the scope of 
[their]the licensee's licenses.

R156-55b-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education and 
Experience Requirements.

[(1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(3)(i)(i), the 
approved electrical training program for licensure as a residential 
journeyman electrician consists of:
               (a)  a program of electrical study approved by the Utah 
Board  of  Regents,  Utah  System of  Technical  Colleges  Board  of 
Trustees or other out of state program that is deemed substantially 
equivalent  as  determined  by  the  Electricians  Licensing  Board. 
Programs approved  by the  Electricians  Licensing  Board  prior  to 
January 1, 2009 remain approved programs; and
               (b)  at least two years of work experience as a licensed 
apprentice consistent with Section R156-55b-302b.
               (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(3)(h)(i), the 
approved  four  year  planned  training  program  for  licensure  as  a 
journeyman electrician consists of:
               (a)  a program of electrical study approved by the Utah 
Board  of  Regents,  Utah  System of  Technical  Colleges  Board  of 
Trustees or other out of state program that is deemed substantially 
equivalent  as  determined  by  the  Electricians  Licensing  Board. 
Programs approved  by the  Electricians  Licensing  Board  prior  to 
January 1, 2009 remain approved programs; and
               (b)  at least four years of work experience as a licensed 
apprentice consistent with Section R156-55b-302b.
               (3)  A semester of school shall include at least 81 hours of 
classroom instruction time.  A student shall attend a minimum of 72 
hours to receive credit for the semester.
               (4)  A competency exam shall be given to each student at 
the  end  of  each  semester  with  the  exception  of  the  fourth  year 
second semester.  A student, to continue to the next semester, shall 
achieve  a  score  of  75% or  higher  on  the  competency exam.   A 
student who scores below 75% may retake the test one time.
               (5)  The applicant shall pass each class with a minimum 
score of 75%.
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               (6)   Competency  test  results  shall  be  provided  to  the 
Board at the Board meeting immediately following the semester in a 
format approved by the Board.
               (7)  An applicant for a master electrician license, applying 
pursuant to Subsection 58-55-302(3)(f)(i) shall be a graduate of an 
electrical  program  accredited  by  the  Engineering  Accreditation 
Commission/Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology 
(EAC/ABET).
               (8)   An  applicant  shall  provide  documentation  that  all 
education and experience meets the requirements of this rule.]The 
training and instruction requirements for licensure in Subsection 58-
55-302(3) are defined, clarified, or established as follows:
                 (1)  Master Electrician:  
                 (a)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(f)(i)   
shall:
                 (i)   hold  a  bachelor's  or  master's  degree  in  electrical   
engineering  from  an  electrical  program  accredited  by  the 
Engineering  Accreditation  Commission/Accreditation   Board  for 
Engineering and Technology (EAC/ABET); and
                 (ii)   have  at  least  2,000  hours  (one  year)  of  work   
experience as a licensed Apprentice Electrician.
                 (b)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(f)(ii)   
shall:
                 (i)  hold an associate's degree in applied science from an   
electrical trade school course of study that meets the requirements 
of Subsection (5); and
                 (ii)   have  at  least  4,000  hours  (two  years)  of  work   
experience as a licensed Journeyman Electrician.
                 (c)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(f)(iii)   
shall have at least 8,000 hours (four years) of work experience as a 
licensed Journeyman Electrician.
                 (2)  Residential Master Electrician:  
                 (a)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(g)(i)   
shall have at least 4,000 hours (two years) of work experience as a 
licensed Residential Journeyman Electrician.
                 (b)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(g)(ii)   
shall:
                 (i)   hold  a  bachelor's  or  master's  degree  in  electrical   
engineering  from  an  electrical  program  accredited  by  the 
Engineering  Accreditation   Commission/Accreditation  Board  for 
Engineering and Technology (EAC/ABET); and
                 (ii)   have  a  least  2,000  hours  (one  year)  of  work   
experience as a licensed Apprentice Electrician.
                 (3)  Journeyman Electrician:  
                 (a)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(h)(i)   
shall:
                 (i)  have successfully completed at least 576 hours (four   
years,  144 hours  per  year)  of  a  program of  electrical  study that 
meets the requirements of Subsection (5); and
                 (ii)   have  at  least  8,000 hours  (four  years)  of  full-time   
work experience as a licensed Apprentice Electrician.
                 (b)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(h)(ii)   
shall  have  at  least  16,000  hours  (eight  years)  of  full-time  work 
experience as a licensed Apprentice Electrician.
                 (4)  Residential Journeyman Electrician:  
                 (a)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(i)(i)   
shall:

                 (i)  have successfully completed at least 288 hours (two   
years,  144 hours  per  year)  of  a  program of  electrical  study that 
meets the requirements of Subsection (5); and
                 (ii)   have  at  least  4,000  hours  (two years)  of  full-time   
work experience as a licensed Apprentice Electrician.
                 (b)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(i)(ii)   
shall  have  at  least  8.000  hours  (four  years)  of  full-time  work 
experience as a licensed Apprentice Electrician.
                 (5)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(3)(f), (h),   
and (i), an electrical trade school "course of study" and the planned 
electrical  "training  program"  approved  by  the  Division,  mean  a 
program of electrical study that includes measures of competency 
and achievement level for each student and:
                 (a)  is approved by the:  
                 (i)  Utah Board of Regents;  
                 (ii)  Utah System of Technical Colleges Board of Trustees;   
or
                 (iii)   Electricians Licensing Board when the program is   
out-of-state and includes at least 81 hours of classroom instruction 
per semester;
                 (b)   Programs  approved  by  the  Electricians  Licensing   
Board include the:
                 (i)  Independent Electrical Contractors of Utah ("IEC");   
and
                 (ii)   Utah  Electrical  Training  Alliance,  ("IBEW  Local   
354").
                 (6)   "Successful  completion"  of  a  training  program of   
electrical study means that the applicant:
                 (a)   attended  a  minimum  of  72  classroom  instruction   
hours each semester; and
                 (b)  passed each class with a score of at least 75%.  
                 (7)   As used in  Subsection 58-55-302(3)  and this  rule,   
"practical electrical  experience",  "practical experience",  "full-time 
training",  and  "full-time  experience"  all  mean  electrical  work 
experience lawfully performed preceding the date of application, in 
accordance  with  supervision  requirements  and  the  terms  and 
conditions of Subsections R156-55a-302b(2)(a)(i) through (iii), (b), 
and (c).

[R156-55b-302b.   Qualifications  for  Licensure  -  Work 
Experience  -  Residential  Journeyman  and  Journeyman 
Electricians.
               (1)  In order to satisfy Subsections 58-55-302(3)(h) and 
(i), an applicant for a license as a residential journeyman electrician 
or journeyman electrician shall document the following on-the-job 
work experience:
               (a)  Residential Journeyman Electrician:
               (i)   at  least  600  hours  in  boxes  and  fittings,  conduit, 
wireways and cableways and associated fittings;
               (ii)   at  least  3000  hours  in  wire  and  cable,  individual 
conductors and multi-conductors cables, and non-metallic sheathed 
cable;
               (iii)   at  least  300  hours  in  distribution  and  utilization 
equipment, transformers, control panels, disconnects, motor starters, 
lighting fixtures, heaters, appliances, motor and other distribution or 
utilization equipment; and
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               (iv)   at  least  300  hours  in  specialized  work  including 
grounding,  wiring  of  systems  for  sound,  data,  communication, 
alarms,  automated  systems,  generators,  batteries  and  computer 
equipment.
               (b)  Journeyman electrician:
               (i)  at least 4000 hours in raceways,  boxes and fittings, 
conduit,  wireways,  cableways and other raceways  and associated 
fittings, and non-metallic sheathed cable;
               (ii)   at  least  800  hours  in  wire  and  cable,  individual 
conductors and multi-conductor cables;
               (iii)   at  least  400  hours  in  distribution  and  utilization 
equipment  including  transformers,  panel  boards,  switchboards, 
control panels, disconnects, motor starters, lighting fixtures, heaters, 
appliances, motors and other distribution and utilization equipment; 
and
               (iv)   at  least  400  hours  in  specialized  work  including 
grounding,  wiring  of  systems  for  sound,  data,  communication, 
alarms,  automated  systems,  generators,  batteries  and  computer 
equipment.
               (2)  No more than 2000 hours of work experience may be 
credited for each 12 month period.
               (3)   No  credit  will  be  given  for  work  experience 
performed illegally.]

R156-55b-302[c]b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements.

[(1)  ]In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(1)(c)(i)[, 
an applicant for licensure under this rule shall pass the appropriate 
examinations that are approved by the Board, each of which shall 
consist of a theory part, a code part and a practical part as follows] 
the  examination  requirements  for  licensure  are  established  as 
follows:

([a]1)  [Utah Electrical Licensing Examination for Master 
Electricians;]Master Electrician applicants shall pass:
                 (a)  the Utah Master Electrician Code Exam and Theory   
Exam; and
                 (b)  the Utah Electrician Practical Exam.  

([b]2)  [Utah Electrical Licensing Examination for Master 
Residential  Electricians;]Residential  Master  Electrician  applicants 
shall pass:
                 (a)  the Utah Residential Master Electrician Code Exam   
and Theory Exam; and
                 (b)  the Utah Residential Electrician Practical Exam.  

([c]3)   [Utah  Electrical  Licensing  Examination  for 
Journeyman  Electricians;  and]Journeyman  Electrician  applicants 
shall pass:
                 (a)   the  Utah  Journeyman  Electrician  Code  Exam and   
Theory Exam; and
                 (b)  the Utah Electrician Practical Exam.  

([d]4)   [Utah  Electrical  Licensing  Examination  for 
Residential  Journeyman  Electricians.]Residential  Journeyman 
Electrician applicants shall pass:
                 (a)   the  Utah  Residential  Journeyman Electrician  Code   
Exam and Theory Exam; and
                 (b)  the Utah Residential Electrician Practical Exam.  

([2]5)  Admission to the exam[ination]s is permitted after:

(a)   the  applicant  has  completed  all  requirements  for 
licensure [set forth  ]in Section[s] R156-55b-302a[ and R156-55b-
302b]; or

(b)   the  journeyman  applicant  under  Subsection  R156-
55b-302a(3)(a) has completed:

(i)   the  [apprentice  education  ]program  of  electrical 
study[set forth in Subsection R156-55b-302a]; and

(ii)  [not less than]at least 6,000 hours of the required full-
time work experience[ required under Subsection R156-55b-302b]; 
or

(c)  the residential journeyman applicant under Subsection 
R156-55b-302a(4)(a) has completed:

(i)   the  [apprentice  education  ]program  of  electrical 
study[set forth in Subsection R156-55b-302a]; and

(ii)  [not less than  ]at least  3,000 hours of the  required 
full-time  work  experience[ required  under  Subsection  R156-55b-
302b].

([3]6)  [The]An applicant shall obtain:
                 (a)    a "pass" grade on the Practical Exam;[practical part of 
the examination,]
                 (b)     a score of at least 75% on the  Theory Exam;[theory 
part] and
                 (c)    a score of at least 75% on the Code Exam[code part of 
the examination].
[              (4)(a)   If  an  applicant  fails  one  or  more  parts  of  the 
examination, the applicant shall retake any part of the examination 
failed.
               (b)  An applicant shall wait at least 25 days between the 
first two retakes and thereafter shall wait 120 days between retakes.
               (5)  If an applicant passes any part of the examination but 
does not pass the entire examination, the passing score on any part 
of the examination shall be valid for one year from the date the part 
of  the  examination  was  passed.   Thereafter,  the  applicant  shall 
retake any previously passed part of the examination.]
                 (7)  An applicant who fails an exam may retake that exam:  
                 (a)  no sooner than 30 days following any failure, up to   
three failures; and
                 (b)   no  sooner  than  120  days  following  any  failure   
thereafter.

R156-55b-304.  Continuing Education - Standards.
                 Standards for continuing education shall be in accordance   
with R156-55a-303b(1)(e) and (2) through (10), except as otherwise 
provided in this section.

(1)   Required  Hours.  Pursuant  to  Sections  58-55-302.7 
and 58-55-303,  each licensee shall  complete  at  least  16 hours of 
continuing education during each two-year[two year] license term. 
[A minimum of]At  least 12  hours  shall  be core  education.   The 
remaining four hours may be professional or core education.

(2)  "Core continuing education" is defined as education 
covering the National Electrical Code as adopted or proposed for 
adoption.

(3)   "Professional  continuing  education"  is  defined  as 
education covering:

(a)   National  Fire  Protection  Association  70E  (NFPA 
70E), Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA),  or 
Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA);
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(b)  electrical motors and motor controls;
                 (c)    [, ]electrical tool usage; [and]or

([c]d)  supervision skills related to the electrical trade.
[              (4)   Non-acceptable  course  subject  matter  includes  the 
following types of courses and other similar courses:
               (a)  mechanical office and business skills, such as typing, 
speed reading, memory improvement and report writing;
               (b)  physical well-being or personal development, such as 
personal motivation, stress management, time management, or dress 
for success;
               (c)  presentations by a supplier or a supplier representative 
to promote a particular product or line of products; and
               (d)   meetings  held  in  conjunction  with  the  general 
business of the licensee or employer.]

([5]4)   The  Division  may defer  or  waive  continuing 
education requirements for:

(a)  [waive the continuing education requirements for a 
licensee  that  is  ]an  instructor  of  a[n  approved  apprenticeship] 
program of electrical study under R156-55b-302a(5);[ or]

(b)  a board member who regularly attends Electricians 
Licensing Board meetings; and
                 (c)  any licensee   [waive or defer the continuing education 
requirements] as provided in Section R156-1-308d.
[              (6)   A  continuing  education  course  shall  meet  the 
following standards:
               (a)   Time.   Each  hour  of  continuing  education  course 
credit shall consist of at least 50 minutes of education in the form of 
seminars,  lectures,  conferences,  training  sessions  or  distance 
learning  modules.   The  remaining  ten  minutes  may be  used  for 
breaks.]

([b]5)   Provider.   [The]A course  provider  need  not  be 
listed  in  Subsection  58-55-302.5(2),  but  shall  meet  the  other 
requirements of this section and [shall] be[ one of the following]:

([i]a)  a recognized accredited college or university;
([ii]b)  a state or federal agency;
([iii]c)  a professional association or organization involved 

in the construction trades; or
([iv]d)   a  commercial  continuing  education  provider 

providing a program related to the electrical trade.
([c]6)  Content.  [The]Course content [of the course ]shall 

be relevant to the practice of the electrical trade and consistent with 
[the]Utah laws and rules[ of this state].
[              (d)   Objectives.   The  learning objectives  of  the course 
shall be reasonably and clearly stated.
               (e)  Teaching Methods.  The course shall be presented in a 
competent,  well  organized and sequential  manner  consistent with 
the stated purpose and objective of the program.
               (f)  Faculty.  The course shall be prepared and presented 
by  individuals  who  are  qualified  by  education,  training  and 
experience.
               (g)  Distance learning.  A course may be recognized for 
continuing  education  that  is  provided  through  internet  or  home 
study  courses  provided  that  the  course  verifies  registration  and 
participation  in  the  course  by  means  of  a  passing  a  test 
demonstrating  that  the  participant  has  learned  the  material 
presented.  Test questions shall be randomized for each participant.
               (h)   Documentation.   The course provider  shall  have  a 
competent  method  of  registration  of  individuals  who  actually 
completed the course, shall maintain records of attendance that are 

available for review by the Division and shall provide to individuals 
completing  the  course a  certificate  which  contains  the  following 
information:
               (i)  the date of the course;
               (ii)  the name of the course provider;
               (iii)  the name of the instructor;
               (iv)  the course title;
               (v)  the hours of continuing education credit;
               (vi)  the attendee's name;
               (vii)  the attendee's license number; and
               (viii)  the signature of the course provider.
               (7)  On a random basis, the Division may assign monitors 
at no charge to attend a course for the purpose of evaluating the  
course and the instructor.
               (8)  Each licensee shall maintain adequate documentation 
as  proof  of  compliance  with  this  section,  such  as  certificates  of 
completion,  course  handouts  and  materials.   The  licensee  shall 
retain this proof for  a  period of three years  from the end of the 
renewal period for  which the continuing education is due.   Each 
licensee  shall  assure  that  the  course  provider  has  submitted  the 
verification of attendance to the continuing education registry on 
behalf of the licensee as specified in Subsection (11).  Alternatively, 
the licensee may submit the course for approval and pay any course 
approval fees and attendance recording fees.
               (9)   Licensees  who  lecture  in  approved  continuing 
education courses shall receive two hours of continuing education 
for each hour spent lecturing.  However, no lecturing or teaching 
credit is available for participation in a panel discussion.
               (10)  A course provider shall submit continuing education 
courses for approval to the continuing education registry and shall 
submit  verification  of  attendance  and  completion  on  behalf  of 
licensees  attending  and  completing  the  program  directly  to  the 
continuing  education  registry  in  the  format  required  by  the 
continuing education registry.
               (11)   The  Division  shall  review  continuing  education 
courses  which  have  been  submitted  through  the  continuing 
education registry and approve only those courses which meet the 
standards set forth under this section.
               (12)  Continuing Education Registry.
               (a)  The Division shall designate an entity to act as the 
Continuing Education Registry under this rule.
               (b)  The Continuing Education Registry,  in consultation 
with the Division and the Commission, shall:
               (i)   through  its  internet  site  electronically  receive 
applications from continuing education course providers and shall 
submit  the  application  for  course  approval  to  the  Division  for 
review  and  approval  of  only  those  programs  which  meet  the 
standards set forth under this section;
               (ii)  publish on its website listings of continuing education 
programs which have been approved by the Division,  and which 
meet the standards for continuing education credit under this rule;
               (iii)   maintain  accurate  records  of  qualified  continuing 
education approved;
               (iv)   maintain  accurate  records  of  verification  of 
attendance  and  completion,  by  individual  licensee,  which  the 
licensee may review for compliance with this rule; and
               (v)   make  records  of  approved  continuing  education 
programs  and  attendance  and  completion  available  for  audit  by 
representatives of the Division.
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               (c)  Fees.  The Continuing Education Registry may charge 
a reasonable fee to continuing education providers or licensees for 
services provided for review and approval of continuing education 
programs.]

R156-55b-401.   Conduct  of  Apprentice  and  Supervising 
Electrician.

[(1)  The conduct of licensed apprentice electricians and 
their  licensed  supervisors  shall  be  in  accordance  with]The 
requirements of Subsections 58-55-302(3)(j) and 58-55-102(34) are 
clarified as  follows:[,  Sections 58-55-501,  58-55-502,  and R156-
55b-501.]

[(2)  For the purposes of Subsections 58-55-102(31), 58-
55-302(3)(j) and 58-55-501(12), one of the following shall apply:
               (a)   the  supervisor  and  apprentice  employees  shall  be 
employees of the same electrical contractor;
               (b)   the](1)   An electrical  contractor  may  comply with 
supervision and ratio requirements by contracting[contract] with a 
licensed professional employer organization to employ one or more 
licensed electricians[such persons].

([3]2)  An apprentice in the fifth[fourth through sixth year 
of training may work without supervision for a period not to exceed 
eight hours in any 24-hour period.  In the seventh] and succeeding 
years of training[, the nonsupervision provision no longer applies 
and the apprentice]  shall  be under  immediate  supervision[ as set 
forth in Subsection 58-55-302(3)(j)].

R156-55b-501.  Unprofessional Conduct.
"Unprofessional conduct" includes:
(1)  failing [as a licensee ]to comply with the supervision 

requirements established by Subsection 58-55-302(3)(j).
(2)  failing [as a licensee to carry a copy of a]to timely 

provide  upon request  the  licensee's current  electrician  license  or 
license number[at all times] when performing electrical work; or

(3)   [failing  as  an  electrical  contractor  to  certify  an 
electrician's hours and breakdown of work experience by category 
when requested by an electrician who is or has been an employee; 
and
               (4)  ]failing as a licensee to provide proof of completed 
continuing education within 30 days of the Division's request.

KEY:  occupational licensing, licensing, contractors, electricians
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 
27, 2017]2019
Notice of Continuation:  August 8, 2016
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-106(1)
(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-55-308(1)

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing

R156-55c
Plumber Licensing Act Rule

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  43423
FILED:  12/06/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   This  filing  is  recommended  by  the  Plumbers 
Licensing  Board  (Board)  and  the  Construction  Services 
Commission  (Commission)  to  clarify  current  requirements 
and  conform  this  rule  to  current  practices  in  the  industry. 
Additionally, this filing removes certain requirements that the 
Board and the Commission have found to be outdated and 
unnecessarily arduous.

SUMMARY OF THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   In  Subsection 
R156-55c-102(1),  the  amendments  clarify  the  definition  of 
"Immediate supervision", to maintain a direct line of sight.  In 
Section  R156-55c-302a,  the  amendments  make 
nonsubstantive formatting changes to clarify all of the current 
education  and  experience  requirements  for  the  respective 
license  classifications.   Amendments  to  this  section  also 
include the removal  of  the minimum hour  requirements for 
work process previously required and referred to in Tables I 
and II.  In Section R156-55c-302b, the amendments to this 
section: 1) make nonsubstantive formatting changes to clarify 
the  current  examination  requirements  for  the  respective 
license classifications;  2)  extend the  25-day waiting  period 
after a failed exam to a 30-day waiting period,  to alleviate 
confusion  and  create  parity  among  the  standards  for  all 
contractor professions; and 3) delete the requirement that an 
applicant pass all exams within a one-year period (the one-
year  "rolling  clock"  requirement),  as  this  restriction  was 
deemed unnecessary  and onerous.   In  Section  R156-55c-
304,  the  amendments  to  this  section  make  formatting 
changes  for  clarity,  including  streamlining  this  rule  by 
removing duplicative continuing education requirements that 
are already stated in Section R156-55a-303b.  In Subsection 
R156-55c-401(1),  the  amendments  clarify  that  a  plumbing 
contractor may contract with licensed professional employer 
organizations to employ one or more licensed plumbers.  In 
Section R156-55c-501, the amendments update the definition 
of "unprofessional conduct" to reflect a new standard being 
implemented across all contractor professions - instead of the 
licensee being required to carry a copy of their current license 
at all times, the licensee must provide the license or license 
number upon request.   These amendments also  delete as 
"unprofessional conduct" "failing as a plumbing contractor to 
certify a plumber's hours and breakdown of work experience 
by category when requested by a plumber who is or has been 
an employee," as this is a conduct specific to a contractor and 
will be included as unprofessional conduct in Section R156-
55a-501.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 58-55-101 and Subsection 58-1-106(1)
(a) and Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a)
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  Most of these proposed changes 
update definitions, ensure that this rule encompasses current 
requirements  and  practices  in  the  profession,  and  make 
formatting  changes  for  clarity.   Accordingly,  none  of  these 
amendments  will  impact  state  government  revenues  or 
expenditures.   The amendments to Section R156-55c-302b 
that extend the 25-day waiting period after a failed exam to a 
30-day  waiting  period  are  not  expected  to  impact  existing 
state  practices  or  procedures  and  will  therefore  have  no 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  The 
amendments  to  Section  R156-55c-302b  that  delete  the 
requirement that an applicant pass all  exams within a one-
year period (the one-year "rolling clock" requirement),  are not 
expected  to  impact  state  government  revenues  or 
expenditures as the examinee may still take each exam up to 
five times per year, and the changes will have no impact on 
state practices or procedures.  No other fiscal impact to the 
state is expected, beyond a minimal cost to the Division of 
Occupational  and  Professional  Licensing  (Division)  of 
approximately  $75  to  print  and  distribute  the  Plumbers 
Licensing Act Rule once the amendments are made effective.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  These proposed amendments 
are  not  expected  to  change  existing  local  government 
practices or procedures, and will therefore have no impact on 
local governments revenues or expenditures.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   These  proposed  changes  that 
update  definitions  and  ensure  that  the  rule  encompasses 
current  requirements  and  practices  in  the  profession,  and 
make  formatting  changes  for  clarity,  are  not  expected  to 
impact small business as they will not change the quantity or 
number  of  exchanges  between  any  persons.   The 
amendments to Section R156-55c-302b that extend the 25-
day waiting period after  a  failed exam to a 30-day waiting 
period are also not expected to impact small businesses as 
the examinee may still take each exam the same amount of 
times per year.  The amendment to Section R156-55c-302b 
deleting  the  requirement  that  an  applicant  pass  all  exams 
within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year  "rolling  clock" 
requirement)  is  expected  to  create  a  fiscal  benefit  for  the 
estimated  1,139  small  businesses  that  may  be  impacted 
(NAICS  238221  and  238222).   With  this  change,  all 
applicants for licensure may seek licensure as soon as they 
have  passed  all  of  their  exams,  regardless  of  when  they 
passed  their  exams.   Currently,  many  of  these  applicants 
need to retake exams they have already passed because the 
date  they took  the exam is  outside  of  the one-year  rolling 
clock  period.   The  applicants  therefore  experience  a 
significant  delay of  weeks  to  months  to  even years  in  the 
ability to obtain their license.  Other applicants, in particular 
apprentice  plumber  applicants  who  would  like  to  achieve 
journeyman plumber status, often give up and never seek to 
increase  their  level  of  licensure  because  of  the  perceived 
difficulty and cost associated with trying to timely pass all of 
their  plumbing  exams.   Accordingly,  this  proposed 
amendment is expected to significantly reduce current delays 
in many individuals becoming licensed, and is also expected 
to  encourage  many  individuals  to  become  licensed  at  a 
higher level.  Small businesses will therefore be able to more 

easily  hire  journeyman  plumbers,  residential  journeyman 
plumbers, master plumbers, and residential master plumbers. 
Additionally, newly licensed master plumbers may be able to 
create their own small businesses or serve as qualifiers for 
other small businesses.  The Division estimates that this will 
result  in  an  ongoing  fiscal  benefit  for  small  businesses. 
However, the full impact cannot be estimated because it will 
depend  on  the  unique  licensing  and  employment  choices 
made  by  each  individual  applicant,  as  well  as  on  the 
characteristics of each small business, and this relevant data 
is  unavailable  and  the  cost  of  acquiring  the  data  is 
prohibitively expensive.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  persons  that  may  potentially  be  affected  by  these 
amendments  will  be  Utah  licensed  master  plumbers, 
residential  master  plumbers,  journeyman  plumbers, 
residential  journeyman  plumbers,  and  apprentice  plumbers 
engaged  in  plumbing  work,  and  applicants  from  other 
jurisdictions  who  wish  to  become  licensed  as  residential 
journeyman  plumbers  or  higher  in  Utah.   These  proposed 
changes  update  definitions,  ensure  that  this  rule 
encompasses  current  requirements  and  practices  in  the 
profession and that make formatting changes for clarity are 
not expected to impact these other persons as these changes 
will not change the quantity or number of exchanges between 
any persons.  The amendments to Section R156-55c-302b 
extend the 25-day waiting period after a failed exam to a 30-
day  waiting  period  are  also  not  expected  to  impact  these 
persons as any examinee may still take each exam the same 
amount of times per year.  The amendment to Section R156-
55c-302b deleting the requirement that an applicant pass all 
licensing  exams  within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year 
"rolling  clock"  requirement)  is  expected  to  create  a  fiscal 
benefit for many of these other persons if  it results in their 
becoming licensed at  a  higher  level,  and/or  eliminates the 
cost  to  them  of  retaking  licensing  exams  that  they  have 
already  passed,  and  reduces  a  delay  in  their  becoming 
licensed at a higher level.  However, the full impact cannot be 
estimated because it will depend on the unique licensing and 
employment  choices  made by each  individual  person,  and 
this relevant data is unavailable and the cost of acquiring the 
data is prohibitively expensive.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   As 
described  above  for  other  persons,  the  Division  does  not 
anticipate any compliance costs for any affected persons from 
these  proposed  amendments  because  these  amendments 
will result either in no fiscal impact or in a fiscal benefit.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
These  proposed  amendments  are  recommended  by  the 
Board  and  the  Commission  to  clarify  current  requirements 
and  conform  the  rule  to  current  practices  in  the  industry. 
Additionally, this filing removes certain requirements that the 
Board and the Commission have found to be outdated and 
unnecessarily onerous.  Small Businesses:  These proposed 
changes  update  definitions  and  ensure  that  this  rule 
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encompasses  current  requirements  and  practices  in  the 
profession, and make formatting changes for clarity, are not 
expected to impact small businesses as they will not change 
the quantity or number of exchanges between any persons. 
The amendments to Section R156-55c-302b that extend the 
25-day waiting period after a failed exam to a 30-day waiting 
period are also not expected to impact small businesses as 
the examinee may still take each exam the same amount of 
times per year.  The amendment to Section R156-55c-302b 
deleting  the  requirement  that  an  applicant  pass  all  exams 
within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year  "rolling  clock" 
requirement)  is  expected  to  create  a  fiscal  benefit  for  the 
estimated  1,139  small  businesses  that  may  be  impacted 
(NAICS  238221  and  238222).   With  this  change,  all 
applicants for licensure may seek licensure as soon as they 
have  passed  all  of  their  exams,  regardless  of  when  they 
passed  their  exams.   Currently,  many  of  these  applicants 
need to retake exams they have already passed because the 
date  they took  the exam is  outside  of  the one-year  rolling 
clock  period.   Accordingly,  this  proposed  amendment  is 
expected  to  significantly  reduce  current  delays  in  many 
individuals  becoming  licensed,  and  is  also  expected  to 
encourage many individuals to become licensed at a higher 
level.  Small businesses will therefore be able to more easily 
hire journeyman plumbers, residential journeyman plumbers, 
master  plumbers,  and  residential  master  plumbers. 
Additionally, newly licensed master plumbers may be able to 
create their own small businesses or serve as qualifiers for 
other small businesses.  The Division estimates that this will 
result  in  an  ongoing  fiscal  benefit  for  small  business. 
However, the full impact cannot be estimated because it will 
depend  on  the  unique  licensing  and  employment  choices 
made  by  each  individual  applicant,  as  well  as  on  the 
characteristics of each small business, and this relevant data 
is  unavailable  and  the  cost  of  acquiring  the  data  is 
prohibitively expensive.  The amendments to Section R156-
55c-501  which  amend  the  definition  of  “unprofessional 
conduct”  have no fiscal  impact  to  small  businesses.   Non-
small  businesses:   There  are  42  non-small  businesses  in 
Utah in the plumbing contractor industry in question (NAICS 
238221 and NAICS 238222).  These proposed rule changes 
are expected to have the same fiscal impacts, or lack thereof, 
as described above in the fiscal impacts for small businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

COMMERCE
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL 
LICENSING
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Steve Duncombe by phone at  801-530-6235,  by FAX at 
801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at sduncombe@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

INTERESTED  PERSONS  MAY  ATTEND  A  PUBLIC 
HEARING REGARDING THIS RULE:
♦  01/30/2019 09:00  AM,  Heber  Wells  Bldg,  160  E  300 S, 
Conference Room 474 (fourth floor), Salt Lake City, UT

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mark Steinagel, Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Other Person $0 $0 $0
Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Other Persons $0 $0 $0
Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  above.   Inestimable 
impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described below.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 
or more employees)
There are 42 non-small businesses in Utah in the plumbing 
contractor industry in question (NAICS 238221, and NAICS 
238222).  The proposed changes that update definitions and 
ensure that this rule encompasses current requirements and 
practices in the profession, and make formatting changes 
for clarity, are not expected to impact these non-small 
businesses as they will not change the quantity or number 
of  exchanges  between  any  persons.   The  amendments  to 
Section  R156-55c-302b  that  extend  the  25-day  waiting 
period after a failed exam to a 30-day waiting period are 
also  not  expected  to  impact  non-small  business  as 
examinees  may  still  take  each  exam  the  same  amount  of 
times per year.  The amendment to Section R156-55c-302b 
deleting the requirement that an applicant pass all exams
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within  a  one-year  period  (the  one-year  "rolling  clock" 
requirement) is expected to create a fiscal benefit for 
these  non-small  businesses.   With  this  change,  all 
applicants for licensure may seek licensure as soon as 
they have passed all of their exams, regardless of when 
they  passed  their  exams.   Currently,  many  of  these 
applicants need to retake exams they have already passed 
because the date they took the exam is outside of the one-
year  rolling  clock  period.   The  applicants,  therefore, 
experience a significant delay of weeks to months to even 
years  in  the  ability  to  obtain  their  license.  Other 
applicants,  in  particular  apprentice  plumber  applicants 
who would like to achieve journeyman plumber status, often 
give  up  and  never  seek  to  increase  their  level  of 
licensure  because  of  the  perceived  difficulty  and  cost 
associated  with  trying  to  timely  pass  all  of  their 
plumbing exams.  Accordingly, this proposed amendment is 
expected to significantly reduce current delays in many 
individuals  becoming  licensed,  and  is  also  expected  to 
encourage many individuals to become licensed at a higher 
level.  Non-small businesses will therefore be able to 
more  easily  hire  journeyman  plumbers,  residential 
journeyman  plumbers,  master  plumbers,  and  residential 
master  plumbers.   Additionally,  newly  licensed  master 
plumbers  may  be  able  to  create  their  own  non-small 
businesses  or  serve  as  qualifiers  for  other  non-small 
businesses.  The Division estimates that this will result 
in  an  ongoing  fiscal  benefit  for  non-small  business. 
However, the full impact cannot be estimated because it 
will depend on the unique licensing and employment choices 
made  by  each  individual  applicant,  as  well  as  on  the 
characteristics  of  each  non-small  business,  and  this 
relevant data is unavailable and the cost of acquiring the 
data is prohibitively expensive.

The head of the Department of Commerce, Francine A. Giani, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-55c.  Plumber Licensing Act Rule.
R156-55c-102.  Definitions.

In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 
55, as used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 55 or this rule:

(1) "Immediate supervision", as used in Subsections 58-
55-102(5) and 58-55-102(23) and this rule,  means the apprentice 
and  the  supervising  plumber  are  physically  present  on  the  same 
project or job site but are not required to  maintain a direct line of 
sight[be within sight of one another].

(2)  "Minor plumbing work that is incidental", as used in 
Subsection 58-55-305(1)(k)(i) and this rule, means:

(a)   installation,  repair  or  replacement  of the following 
residential type Plumbing Appliances:

(i)  dishwashers;
(ii)  refrigerators;
(iii)  freezers;
(iv)  ice makers;
(v)  stoves;
(vi)  ranges;
(vii)  clothes washers;
(viii)  clothes dryers; and
(b)  repair or replacement of the following residential type 

Plumbing Appurtenances, Fixtures and Systems, when the cost of 
the  repair  or  replacement  does  not  exceed  $300  in  total  value, 
including  all  labor  and  materials,  and  including  all  changes  or 
additions to the contracted or agreed upon work:

(i)  tub or shower trim;
(ii)  tub or shower valve;

(iii)  toilet flush valve;
(iv)  toilet removal and reset;
(v)  garbage disposal;
(vi)  kitchen or lavatory sink P-trap;
(vii)  kitchen or lavatory faucet rebuild and install;
(viii)  supply line replacement after the fixture valve; and
(3)  "Minor plumbing work that is incidental", as used in 

Subsection  58-55-305(1)(k)(i),  does  not  include  installation  or 
replacement  of  a  water  heater,  or  work  to  include  the  initial  
installation of Plumbing Appurtenances, Fixtures and Systems.

(4)  Plumbing Appliances,  Appurtenances,  Fixtures, and 
Systems,  as  used  in  this  rule,  shall  have  the  same  meaning  as 
defined by Title 15A, State Construction and Fire Codes Act.

(5)   "Unprofessional  conduct"  as  defined  in  Title  58, 
Chapters 1 and 55, is further defined in accordance with Subsection 
58-1-203(1)(e), in Subsection R156-55c-501.

R156-55c-103.  Authority - Purpose.
This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 

Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 55.

R156-55c-302a.   Qualification  for  Licensure  -  [Training] 
Education and [Instruction]Experience Requirement.

[In  accordance  with  Subsections  58-1-203(2)  and  58-1-
301(3), the]The education and experience[training and instruction] 
requirements for licensure in Subsection 58-55-302(3)[(c) and (d)] 
are defined, clarified, or established as follows:
                 (1)  Master Plumber:  
                 (a)  An applicant under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(a)(i)(A)   
shall have at least 4,000 hours (two years) of work experience and 
at  least  4,000  hours  (two  years)  of  supervisory  experience  as  a 
licensed Journeyman Plumber.
                 (b)  An applicant under Subsection 58-55-302(30(a)(i)(B)   
shall:
                 (i)  hold at least an associate of applied science degree or   
a similar degree, from an institution recognized by the Council for 
Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA); and
                 (ii)  have at least 2,000 hours (one year) of supervisory   
experience as a licensed Journeyman Plumber.
                 (2)  Residential Master Plumber:  
                 (a)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(b)(i)   
shall have at least 4,000 hours (two years) of work experience and 
at  least  4,000  hours  (two  years)  of  supervisory  experience  as  a 
licensed Residential Journeyman Plumber.
                 (b)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(b)(ii)   
shall:
                 (i)  hold at least an associate of applied science degree or   
a similar degree, from an institution recognized by the Council for 
Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA); and
                 (ii)  have at least 2,000 hours (one year) of supervisory   
experience as a licensed Residential Journeyman Plumber.
                 (3)  Journeyman Plumber:  
                 (a)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(c)(i)   
shall have successfully completed:
                 (i)  at least 576 hours (four years, 144 hours per year) of a   
planned  program  of  training  that  meets  the  requirements  of 
Subsection (5); and
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                 (ii)   at  least  8,000 hours (four  years)  of full-time work   
experience as a licensed Apprentice Plumber.
                 (b)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(c)(ii)   
shall have successfully completed at least 16,000 hours (eight years) 
of full-time work experience as a licensed Apprentice Plumber.
                 (c)  An applicant  licensed as  a  Residential  Journeyman   
Plumber shall have successfully completed:
                 (i)   at  least  one  year  (2,000  hours)  of  full-time  work   
experience in industrial or commercial plumbing while licensed as 
an Apprentice Plumber; and
                 (ii)  the fourth year (144 hours) of a planned program of   
training that meets the requirements of Subsection (5).
                 (4)  Residential Journeyman Plumber:  
                 (a)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(d)(i)   
shall have successfully completed:
                 (i)  at least 432 hours (three years, 144 hours per year) of   
a  planned  program  of  training  that  meets  the  requirements  of 
Subsection (5); and
                 (ii)  at least 6,000 hours (three years) of work experience   
as a licensed Apprentice Plumber.
                 (b)   An  applicant  under  Subsection  58-55-302(3)(d)(ii)   
shall produce satisfactory evidence, using a form provided by the 
Division, that the applicant:
                 (i)  has completed at least 12,000 hours (six years) of full-  
time work experience in a maintenance or repair trade; and
                 (ii)   that  at  least  9,000  of  the  required  12,000  hours   
directly involve the plumbing trade.
                 (5)(a)  The "planned program of training approved by the   
Division"  pursuant  to  Subsections  58-55-302(3)(c)(i)  and  (d)(i), 
shall consist of formal classroom education in the plumbing trade 
that:
                 (i)   includes  measures  of  competency and  achievement   
level for each student;
                 (ii)  is conducted by competent qualified staff;  
                 (iii)  is conducted by an entity approved by:  
                 (A)  the Utah Board of Regents;  
                 (B)   the  Utah  System of  Technical  Colleges  Board  of   
Trustees; or
                 (C)   a  similar  out-of-state  body  that  approves  formal   
classroom education in plumbing; and
                 (iv)  includes at  least  81 hours of classroom instruction   
per semester.
                 (b)  "Successful completion" or "completion" of a planned   
program of training under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(c) and (d) and 
this rule, means that the applicant:
                 (i)  attended a minimum of 72 classroom instruction hours   
each semester; and
                 (ii)  passed each class with a score of at least 75%.  
                 (6)  As used in Subsections 58-55-302(3)(c) and (d) and   
this  rule,  "full-time  training",  "full-time  experience",  "work 
experience",  and  "full-time  work  experience"  mean  work 
experience  that  is  lawfully  performed  preceding  the  date  of 
application,  in  accordance  with  all  licensing  and  supervision 
requirements and the terms and conditions of Subsection R156-55a-
302b(2)(a)(i) through (iii), (2)(b), and (2)(c).
                 (7)   On  the  job  training  and  instruction  shall  include   
measurements  of  the  apprentice's  performance  in  the  plumbing 
trade.

                 (8)  As used in Subsections 58-55-302(3)(c) and (d) and   
this rule, "supervisory experience" means experience supervising a 
licensed plumber that is lawfully performed preceding the date of 
application,  in  accordance  with  all  licensing  and  supervision 
requirements  and the terms and conditions of Subsections R156-
55a-302b(2)(a)(i) through (iii), (2)(b), and (2)(c).
[              (1)  An applicant for a journeyman plumber's license shall 
demonstrate  successful  completion  of  the  requirements  of  either 
paragraph (a) or (b):
               (a)(i)  8,000 hours of training and instruction in not less 
than four years that meets the requirements of Subsections R156-
55c-302a(4) and (6).
               (ii)   the  8,000  hours  shall  include  576  clock  hours  of 
related  classroom  instruction  that  meets  the  requirements  of 
Subsection R156-55c-302a(5);
               (iii)  the apprenticeship shall be obtained while licensed as 
an apprentice plumber;
               (iv)  the apprenticeship shall include on the job training 
and instruction in nine of the 11 work process areas listed in Table I;  
and
               (v)  the hours obtained in any work process area shall be 
at least the number of hours listed in Table I.
               (b)(i)  16,000 hours of on the job training and instruction 
in not less than eight years;
               (ii)  the apprenticeship shall be obtained while licensed as 
an apprentice plumber;
               (iii)   the  hours  shall  include  on  the  job  training  and 
instruction in nine of the 11 work process areas listed in Table I; and
               (iv)  the hours obtained in any work process shall be at 
least the number of hours listed in Table I.

TABLE I
Training and Instruction

                                                  Minimum
     Work Process                                  Hours

     A.  Use of hand tools, equipment and           200
         pipe machinery

     B.  Installation of piping for waste,        2,000
         soil, sewer and vent lines

     C.  Installation of hot and cold water       1,400
         for domestic purposes

     D.  Installation and setting of plumbing     1,200
         appliances and fixtures

     E.  Maintenance and repair of plumbing         600

     F.  General pipe work including process        600
         and industrial hours

     G.  Gas piping or service piping               400

     H.  Welding, soldering and brazing
         as it applies to the trade                 100

     I.  Service and maintenance of gas             100
         controls and equipment

     J.  Hydronics piping and equipment
         installation                               300

     K.  Fire suppression system installation       100
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               (2)  An applicant for a residential journeyman plumber's 
license shall demonstrate successful completion of the requirements 
of paragraph (a) or (b):
               (a)(i)  6,000 hours of training and instruction in not less 
than three years that meets the requirements of Subsections R156-
55c-302a(4) and (6).
               (ii)   the  6,000  hours  shall  include  432  clock  hours  of 
related  classroom  instruction  that  meets  the  requirements  of 
Subsection R156-55c-302a(5);
               (iii)  the 6,000 hours shall be obtained while licensed as 
an apprentice plumber;
               (iv)  the apprenticeship shall include on the job training 
and instruction in eight of the ten work process areas listed in Table  
II; and
               (v)   the  hours  obtained in  any work process  area shall 
include at least the number of hours listed in Table II.
               (b)(i)   12,000  hours  of  experience  in  not  less  than  six 
years  which has been documented using a form provided by the 
Division;
               (ii)  the experience shall be obtained while licensed as an 
apprentice plumber;
               (iii)  at least 9,000 hours of experience shall be directly 
involved in the plumbing trade;
               (iv)  the hours shall be in eight of the ten work process 
areas listed in Table II; and
               (v)   the  hours  obtained in  any work process  area shall 
include at least the number of hours listed in Table II.

TABLE II
Training and Instruction

                                                  Minimum
     Work Process                                  Hours

     A.  Use of hand tools, equipment and           100
         pipe machinery

     B.  Installation of piping for waste,        1,600
         soil, sewer and vent lines
     C.  Installation of hot and cold water       1,200
         for domestic purposes

     D.  Installation and setting of plumbing       800
         appliances and fixtures

     E.  Maintenance and repair of plumbing         600

     F.  Gas piping or service piping               400

     G.  Service and maintenance of gas             100
         controls and equipment

     H.  Welding, soldering and brazing             100
         as it applies to the trade

     I.  Hydronics piping and equipment
         installation                               300

     J.  Fire suppression system installation       100

               (3)  A licensed residential journeyman plumber applying 
for a journeyman plumber's license shall complete 2,000 hours of 
on  the  job  training  in  industrial  or  commercial  plumbing  while 
licensed as an apprentice plumber, which shall include successful 
completion  of  an  approved  fourth  year  course  of  classroom 
instruction.

               (4)  On the job training and instruction required in this 
section shall include measurements of an apprentice's performance 
in the plumbing trade.
               (5)  Formal classroom instruction required by this section 
shall meet the following requirements:
               (a)  instruction shall be conducted by an entity approved 
by the Utah Board of Regents, Utah System of Technical Colleges 
Board  of  Trustees  or  by  another  similar  out  of  state  body  that 
approves formal plumbing educational programs; and
               (b)  instruction shall be conducted by competent qualified 
staff and shall  include measures of competency and achievement 
level of each apprentice.
               (6)   Apprentice  plumbers  shall  engage  in  the plumbing 
trades only in accordance with the following:
               (a)  except as provided in Subsection 58-55-302(3)(e)(ii) 
for  fourth  through tenth  year  apprentices,  while  engaging  in  the 
plumbing trade, an apprentice plumber shall be under the immediate 
supervision of a journeyman plumber for commercial or industrial 
work, and by a residential journeyman or journeyman plumber for 
residential work;
               (b)  the apprentice shall engage in the plumbing trade in 
accordance with the instruction of the supervising plumber; and
               (c)  the apprentice shall work in a ratio of not to exceed 
two apprentice plumbers to one supervising plumber.]

R156-55c-302b.   Qualifications  for  Licensure  -  Examination 
Requirements.

In  accordance  with  Subsection[s  58-1-203(2)  and  58-1-
301(3)] 58-55-302(1)(c)(i),  the  examination  requirements  for 
licensure  [in  Subsection  58-55-302(1)(c)(i)  ]are  established  as 
follows:

[(1)  The applicant shall obtain a minimum score of 70% 
on the Utah Plumbers Licensing Examination that shall consist of a 
written  section  and  practical  section.](1)   a  Master  Plumber 
applicant shall pass:
                 (a)  the Utah Master Plumber Theory Exam; and  
                 (b)  the Utah Master Plumber Practical Exam.  
                 (2)  a Residential Master Plumber applicant shall pass:  
                 (a)  the Utah Residential Master Plumber Theory Exam;   
and
                 (b)  the Utah Residential Master Plumber Practical Exam.  
                 (3)  a Journeyman Plumber applicant shall pass:  
                 (a)  the Utah Journeyman Plumber Theory Exam; and  
                 (b)  the Utah Journeyman Plumber Practical Exam.  
                 (4)   a  Residential  Journeyman  Plumber  applicant  shall   
pass:
                 (a)   the  Utah  Residential  Journeyman  Plumber  Theory   
Exam; and
                 (b)  the Utah Residential Journeyman Plumber Practical   
Exam.

([2]5)  Admission to the [examinations]exams is permitted 
after:

(a)   the  applicant  has  completed  all  requirements  for 
licensure  [set  forth  in  this  section  and  ]in  Section[s]  R156-55c-
302a[ and R156-55c-302c]; or

(b)  the  Journeyman Plumber applicant  under Subsection 
R156-55c-302a(3)(a) has completed:
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(i)  the first semester of the fourth year of the [apprentice 
education]planned program  of  training[set  forth  in  Subsection 
R156-55c-302a(1)(a)(ii)]; and

(ii)  [not less than]at least 6,000 hours of the required full-
time work experience[ required under Subsection R156-55c-302a(1)
(a)(i)].
[              (3)  (a)   If  an  applicant  fails  any  section  of  the 
examination, the applicant shall retake that section.
               (b)  An applicant shall wait at least 25 days for the first 
two retakes, and thereafter shall wait 120 days between retakes.
               (4)  If an applicant passes any section of the examination 
but does not pass the entire examination, the passing score for that 
section shall be valid for one year from the pass date.  After one 
year  the  applicant  shall  retake  any previously  passed  section  to 
support any subsequent application for licensure.]
                 (6)  An applicant shall obtain:  
                 (a)  a "pass" grade on the Practical Exam; and  
                 (b)  a score of at least 70% on the Theory Exam.  
                 (7)  An applicant who fails an exam may retake that exam:  
                 (a)  no sooner than 30 days following any failure, up to   
three failures; and
                 (b)   no  sooner  than  120  days  following  any  failure   
thereafter.

[R156-55c-302c.   Qualifications  for  Licensure  -  Master 
Supervisory Experience and Education Requirements.
               In accordance with Subsections 58-55-302(3)(a)(i)(A) and 
58-55-302(3)(b)(i),  the  minimum  supervisory  experience 
qualifications  for  licensure  as  a  master  plumber  and  residential 
master plumber are established as follows:
               (1)  An applicant shall demonstrate successful completion 
of 4000 hours of supervisory experience that includes each of the 
following categories and minimum number of hours:
               (a)  supervising employees: 700 hours;
               (b)  supervising construction projects: 700 hours;
               (c)  cost/price management: 300 hours; and
               (d)  miscellaneous construction experience: 300 hours in 
any one or more of the following: accounting/financial principles,  
contract  negotiations,  conflict  resolutions,  marketing,  human 
resources and government regulation pertaining to business and the 
construction trades.
               (2)  The following, or the substantial equivalent thereof, 
as determined by the Board in collaboration with the Commission, 
shall  apply to the minimum supervisory experience qualifications 
established in Subsection (1):
               (a)   supervisory  experience  shall  be  obtained  while 
licensed in the proper license classification as either a journeyman 
plumber or a residential journeyman plumber;
               (b)   supervisory  experience  shall  be  obtained  as  an 
employee  of  a  licensed  plumbing  contractor,  whose  employer 
covers the applicant with workers compensation and unemployment 
insurances and deducts federal and state taxes from the applicant's 
compensation;
               (c)   all  supervisory  experience  shall  be  under  the 
immediate supervision of the applicant's employer; and
               (d)  no more than 2000 hours of experience may be earned 
during any 12-month period.

               (3)  An associate of applied science or similar or higher 
educational degree, in accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(3)(a)
(i)(B),  shall  fulfill  2000  hours  of  the  4000  hour  supervisory 
experience  requirement.   Such  an  applicant  shall  complete  the 
remaining minimum 2000 hour supervisory experience listed above 
in Subsection R156-55c-302c(1).
               (a)   The  degree  shall  be  accredited  by  one  of  the 
following:
               (i)  Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools;
               (ii)  New England Association of Colleges and Schools;
               (iii)  North Central Association of Colleges and Schools;
               (iv)   Northwest  Commission  on  Colleges  and 
Universities;
               (v)  Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; or
               (vi)  Western Association of Schools and Colleges.
               (b)  The degree shall be in one of the following courses of 
study:
               (i)  accounting;
               (ii)  apprenticeship;
               (iii)  business management;
               (iv)  communications;
               (v)  computer systems and computer information systems;
               (vi)  construction management;
               (vii)  engineering;
               (viii)  environmental technology;
               (ix)  finance;
               (x)  human resources; or
               (xi)  marketing.]

R156-55c-304.  Continuing Education - Standards.
                 Standards for continuing education shall be in accordance   
with R156-55a-303b(1)(e) and (2) through (10), except as otherwise 
provided in this section.
               (1)   Required  Hours.  Pursuant  to  Sections  58-55-302.7 
and 58-55-303,  each licensee shall  complete  at  least  12 hours of 
continuing  education  during  each  two-year  license  term.   [A 
minimum  of]At  least eight  hours  shall  be  core  education.   The 
remaining four hours may be professional or core education.

(2)  "Core continuing education" is defined as education 
covering:

(a)   International  Building,  Mechanical,  Plumbing,  and 
International Energy Conservation Codes and Utah building code 
amendments as adopted or proposed for adoption;

(b)  the Americans with Disability Act;
(c)  medical gas, National Fire Protection Association 13D 

and 54;[ and]or
(d)  hydronics and waste water treatment.
(3)   "Professional  continuing  education"  is  defined  as 

education covering:
(a)  energy conservation[,];

                 (b)    management training[,];
                 (c)    new technology[,];
                 (d)    plan reading;[ and]

([b]e)  lien laws and Utah construction registry;
([c]f)   Occupational  Safety  and  Health  Administration 

(OSHA) training; [and]or
([d]g)  government regulations.
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[              (4)   Non-acceptable  course  subject  matter  includes  the 
following types of courses and other similar courses:
               (a)  mechanical office and business skills, such as typing, 
speed reading, memory improvement, and report writing;
               (b)  physical well-being or personal development, such as 
personal motivation, stress management, time management, or dress 
for success;
               (c)  presentations by a supplier or a supplier representative 
to promote a particular product or line of products; and
               (d)   meetings  held  in  conjunction  with  the  general 
business of the licensee or employer.]

([5]4)   The  Division  may defer  or  waive  continuing 
education requirements for:

(a)  [waive the continuing education requirements for a 
licensee  that  is  ]an  instructor  of  [an  approved  education 
apprenticeship]a  planned program of  training  under  Subsection 
R156-55c-302a(5);[ or]
                 (b)   a  board  member  who  regularly  attends  Plumbers   
Licensing Board meetings; and

([b]c)   any  licensee  [waive  or  defer  the  continuing 
education requirements ]as provided in Section R156-1-308d.
[              (6)   A  continuing  education  course  shall  meet  the 
following standards:
               (a)   Time.   Each  hour  of  continuing  education  course 
credit shall consist of at least 50 minutes of education in the form of 
seminars,  lectures,  conferences,  training  sessions,  or  distance 
learning  modules.   The  remaining  ten  minutes  may be  used  for 
breaks.]

([b]5)   Provider.   [The]A course  provider  need  not  be 
listed  in  Subsection  58-55-302.5(2),  but  shall  meet  the  other 
requirements of this section and [shall ]be[ one of the following]:

([i]a)  a recognized accredited college or university;
([ii]b)  a state or federal agency;
([iii]c)  a professional association or organization involved 

in the construction trades; or
([iv]d)   a  commercial  continuing  education  provider 

providing a program related to the plumbing trade.
([c]6)  Content.  [The]Course content [of the course ]shall 

be relevant to the practice of the plumbing trade and consistent with 
[the]Utah laws and rules[ of this state].
[              (d)   Objectives.   The  learning objectives  of  the course 
shall be reasonably and clearly stated.
               (e)  Teaching Methods.  The course shall be presented in a 
competent,  well  organized and sequential  manner  consistent with 
the stated purpose and objective of the program.
               (f)  Faculty.  The course shall be prepared and presented 
by  individuals  who  are  qualified  by  education,  training,  and 
experience.
               (g)  Distance learning.  A course that is provided through 
internet or home study courses may be recognized for continuing 
education if the course verifies registration and participation in the 
course  by  means  of  a  passing  a  test  demonstrating  that  the 
participant has learned the material presented.  Test questions shall 
be randomized for each participant.
               (h)   Documentation.   The course provider  shall  have  a 
competent  method  of  registration  of  individuals  who  actually 
completed the course, shall maintain records of attendance that are 
available  for  review  by  the  Division,  and  shall  provide  to 

individuals  completing  the  course  a  certificate  that  contains  the 
following information:
               (i)  the date of the course;
               (ii)  the name of the course provider;
               (iii)  the name of the instructor;
               (iv)  the course title;
               (v)  the hours of continuing education credit;
               (vi)  the attendee's name;
               (vii)  the attendee's license number; and
               (viii)  the signature of the course provider.
               (7)  On a random basis, the Division may assign monitors 
at no charge to attend a course for the purpose of evaluating the  
course and the instructor.
               (8)  Each licensee shall maintain adequate documentation 
as  proof  of  compliance  with  this  section,  such  as  certificates  of 
completion,  course  handouts,  and  materials.   The  licensee  shall 
retain this proof for  a  period of three years  from the end of the 
renewal period for  which the continuing education is due.   Each 
licensee  shall  assure  that  the  course  provider  has  submitted  the 
verification of attendance to the continuing education registry on 
behalf of the licensee as specified in Subsection (10).  Alternatively,  
the licensee may submit the course for approval and pay any course 
approval fees and attendance recording fees.
               (9)   Licensees  who  lecture  in  approved  continuing 
education courses shall receive two hours of continuing education 
for each hour spent lecturing.  However, no lecturing or teaching 
credit is available for participation in a panel discussion.
               (10)   A course  provider  shall  submit  to  the  continuing 
education  registry,  in  the  format  required  by  the  continuing 
education registry:
               (a)   applications  for  approval  of  continuing  education 
courses; and
               (b)   on  behalf  of  each  licensee,  verification  of  the 
licensee's  attendance  and  completion  of  a  continuing  education 
course.
               (11)   The  Division  shall  review  continuing  education 
courses  which  have  been  submitted  through  the  continuing 
education  registry and  approve  only those  courses  that  meet  the 
standards set forth under this section.
               (12)  Continuing Education Registry.
               (a)  The Division shall designate an entity to act as the 
Continuing Education Registry under this rule.
               (b)  The Continuing Education Registry,  in consultation 
with the Division and the Commission, shall:
               (i)   through  its  internet  site  electronically  receive 
applications for course approval from continuing education course 
providers, and submit to the Division for review and approval only 
those courses which meet the standards set forth under this section;
               (ii)  publish on its website listings of continuing education 
courses  approved by the Division,  which  meet  the  standards for 
continuing education credit under this rule;
               (iii)   maintain  accurate  records  of  approved  qualified 
continuing education courses;
               (iv)   maintain  accurate  records  of  verification  of 
attendance and completion for each individual licensee, which the 
licensee may review for compliance with this rule; and
               (v)   make  records  of  approved  continuing  education 
programs  and  attendance  and  completion  available  for  audit  by 
representatives of the Division.
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               (c)  Fees.  The Continuing Education Registry may charge 
a reasonable fee to continuing education providers or licensees for 
services provided for review and approval of continuing education 
programs.]

R156-55c-401.   Conduct  of  Apprentice  and  Supervising 
Plumber.

[(1)   The  conduct  of  licensed  apprentice  plumbers  and 
their licensed supervisors shall be in accordance with Subsections 
58-55-302(3)(e), 58-55-501, 58-55-502 and R156-55c-501.
               (2)  For the purposes of Subsections 58-55-302(3)(e) and 
58-55-501(12), one of the following shall apply:
               (a)   the  supervisor  and  apprentice  employees  shall  be 
employees of the same plumbing contractor; or
               (b)   the]A plumbing  contractor  may  comply  with  the 
supervision and ratio  requirements  of Subsection 58-55-302(3)(e) 
and  58-55-501(12)  by  contracting[contract]  with  a  licensed 
professional employer organization to employ one or more licensed 
plumbers[such persons].

R156-55c-501.  Unprofessional Conduct.
"Unprofessional conduct" includes:
(1)  failing to comply with the supervision requirements 

established by Subsection 58-55-302(3)(e);
(2)  failing [as a licensed plumber to carry a copy of his]to 

timely  provide  upon  request  the  licensee's current  plumber['s] 
license or license number [on his person or in close proximity to his 
person ]when performing plumbing work[ or to display that license 
upon  request  of  a  representative  of  the  Division  or  any  law 
enforcement officer]; or

(3)   [failing  as  a  plumbing  contractor  to  certify  work 
experience  and  supervisory  hours  when  requested  by a  plumber 
who is or has been an employee of the plumbing contractor; and
               (4)  ]failing as a licensee to provide proof of completed 
continuing education within 30 days of the Division's request.

KEY:  occupational licensing, licensing, plumbers, plumbing
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April 10, 
2017]2019
Notice of Continuation:  August 8, 2016
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-106(1)
(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-55-101

Education, Administration
R277-122

Board of Education Procurement
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  43441

FILED:  12/14/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Utah  State  Board  of  Education  (USBE)  Rule 
R277-122 is being amended to update language regarding 

USBE procurement procedures and limits,  as well  as rules 
governing unsolicited proposals from vendors.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R277-
122-2, a definition for "Unsolicited proposal" is added to the 
terms.  Throughout this rule,  new language referencing the 
"head  of  the  procurement  unit"  is  added,  as  well  as, 
purchasing  limits  are  updated  within  Sections  R277-122-5 
and R277-122-6.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS  RULE:   Article  X  Section  3  and  Subsection  53E-3-
401(4) and Title 63G, Chapter 6a

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   These  rule  changes  are  not 
expected  to  have  any  fiscal  impact  on  state  government 
revenues or  expenditures because they provides technical, 
conforming,  and  stylistic  changes  in  accordance  with  the 
Rulewriting Manual for  Utah and USBE policies.   This rule 
also establishes guidelines for procurement for the USBE that 
conform to state procurement code and federal standards.  It 
is not anticipated there will be any fiscal impact.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   These  rule  changes  are  not 
expected to have any material impact on local governments' 
revenues  or  expenditures  because  they  provide  technical, 
conforming,  and  stylistic  changes  in  accordance  with  the 
Rulewriting Manual for  Utah and USBE policies.   This rule 
also establishes guidelines for procurement for the USBE that 
conform to state procurement code and federal standards.  It 
is not anticipated there will be any fiscal impact.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   These  rule  changes  are  not 
expected  to  have  any  fiscal  impact  on  small  businesses' 
revenues  or  expenditures  because  it  provides  technical, 
conforming,  and  stylistic  changes  in  accordance  with  the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and USBE policies.   This rule 
also establishes guidelines for procurement for the USBE that 
conform to state procurement code and federal standards.  It 
is not anticipated there will be any fiscal impact.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
These  rule  changes  are  not  expected  to  have  any  fiscal 
impact on persons other than small businesses, businesses, 
or  local  government  entities  revenues  or  expenditures 
because  they  provides  technical,  conforming,  and  stylistic 
changes in accordance with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah 
and USBE policies.  This rule also establishes guidelines for 
procurement for the USBE that conform to state procurement 
code and federal standards.  It is not anticipated there will be 
any fiscal impact.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no compliance costs for affected persons.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
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Department of Workforce Services.  Most of the entities in the 
list are schools including public schools, charter schools, and 
private schools.  Of the 1,241 entities, there are 15 private 
businesses, all of which are small businesses (there are no 
non-small  businesses with  a NAICS code 611110).   These 
rule  changes  have  no  fiscal  impact  on  local  education 
agencies and will  not  have a fiscal  impact on non-small or 
small businesses.  The Assistant Superintendent of Financial 
Operations  at  the  Utah  State  Board  of  Education,  Natalie 
Grange, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Angela Stallings by phone at 801-538-7550, by FAX at 801-
538-7768, or by Internet E-mail  at  angie.stallings@schools. 
utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Angela Stallings, Deputy Superintendent 
of Policy

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
Department of Workforce Services.  Most of the entities in 
the  list  are  schools  including  public  schools,  charter 
schools,  and  private  schools.   Of  the  1,241  entities, 
there are 15 private businesses, all of which are small 
businesses (there are no non-small businesses with a NAICS 
code 611110).  This rule change has no fiscal impact on 
local education agencies and will not have a fiscal impact 
on non-small or small businesses.

The  Assistant  Superintendent  of  Financial  Operations  at 
the Utah State Board of Education, Natalie Grange, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R277.  Education, Administration.
R277-122.  Board of Education Procurement.
R277-122-1.  Authority and Purpose.

(1)  This rule is authorized by:
(a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 

general control and supervision over public education in the Board;
(b)  [Section]Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the 

Board  to  make  rules  to  execute  the  Board's  duties  and 
responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and state law; and

(c)  Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code.
(2)  The purpose of this rule is to adopt and incorporate by 

reference  Title  R33,  Purchasing  and  General  Services,  with 
exceptions as described in this rule.

R277-122-2.  Definitions.
(1)  "Professional service provider" means a provider of a 

professional service as defined in Subsection 63G-6a-103(61) and 
includes an expert in educational instruction and teaching.

(2)  "Responsible" means the same as that term is defined 
in Subsection 63G-6a-103 (75).

(3)  "Responsive" means the same as that term is defined 
in Subsection 63G-6a-103 (76).
                 (4)  "Unsolicited proposal" means the same as that term is   
defined in Subsection 63G-6a-712(1).
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R277-122-3.  Incorporation of Title R33 With Exceptions.
(1)  The Board adopts and incorporates by reference Title 

R33, Purchasing and General Services, as in effect on April 1, 2017, 
with the exceptions described in this section.

(2)  The Board does not adopt Section R33-8-101b.
                 (3)   The  Board  adopts  Section  R277-122-5 in  place of   
Sections R33-5-104 and R33-5-107.
                 (4)   The  Board  adopts  Section  R277-122-6 in  place of   
Section R33-5-108.
                 (5)   The  Board  adopts  Section  R277-122-7 in  place of   
Section R33-7-704.

([3]6)  The Board adopts Section R277-122-[5]9 in place 
of Sections R33-9-102 and R33-9-103.

([4]7)  The Board adopts Section R277-122-[6]10 in place 
of Section R33-12-201.

([5]8)  The Board adopts Section R277-122-[8]12 in place 
of Section R33-12-608.

([6]9)  The Board adopts Section R277-122-[9]13 in place 
of Subsections:

(a)  R33-16-101a (2)(a); and
(b)  R33-16-301 (4).

[              (7)  The Board adopts Section R277-122-10 in place of 
Sections R33-5-104 and R33-5-107.
               (8)  The Board adopts Section R277-122-11 in place of 
Section R33-5-108.]

R277-122-4.  Head of the Procurement Unit Designated.
The Board designates the Board's Director of Purchasing 

as the head of the procurement unit.

[R277-122-5.  Cancellation Before Award.
               (1)  A solicitation may be cancelled prior to  a contract 
award  if  the  head  of  the  procurement  unit  determines  the 
cancellation is:
               (a)  in the best interest of the Board; and
               (b)  supported by a reasonable and good faith justification.
               (2)  The head of the procurement unit shall include notice 
of the Board's right of cancellation described in Subsection (1) in 
each Board solicitation.

R277-122-6.  Establishment of Terms and Conditions.
               The head of the procurement unit shall develop standard 
terms and conditions for use with Board contracts and agreements.

R277-122-7.  Requirements for Cost or Pricing Data.
               (1)  If cost or pricing data is required by Section 63G-6a-
1206 or Section R33-12-601, the head of the procurement unit shall  
require the person who seeks a cost-based contract to submit:
               (a)   factual  and  verifiable  information  related  to  the 
contractor's estimated cost for completing a project on:
               (i)  the date the contract is signed by both parties; or
               (ii)  an earlier date agreed to by both parties that is:
               (A)   as  close  as  practicable  to  the  date  described  in 
Subsection (1)(a)(i); and
               (B)  before prudent buyers and sellers would reasonably 
expect price negotiations to be affected significantly; and

               (b)  underlying data related to a contractor's estimate that 
can  be  reasonably  expected  to  contribute  to  the  soundness  of 
estimates of future costs and the validity of determinations of costs 
already incurred, including:
               (i)  vendor quotations;
               (ii)  nonrecurring costs;
               (iii)  information on changes in production methods and in 
production or purchasing volume;
               (iv)  data supporting projections of business prospects and 
objectives and related operations costs;
               (v)  unit-cost trends such as those associated with labor 
efficiency;
               (vi)  make-or-buy decisions;
               (vii)  estimated resources to attain business goals; or
               (viii)   information  on management  decisions that  could 
have a significant bearing on costs.
               (2)  Submission of certified cost or pricing data applies to 
contracts  of  $50,000.00  or  greater  if  the  contract  price  is  not 
established by:
               (a)  adequate price competition;
               (b)  established catalogue or market prices; or
               (c)  law or regulation.

R277-122-8.  Use of Federal Cost Principles.
               The head of the procurement unit shall apply the federal 
cost  principles  described  in  2  CFR  Part  200,  Subpart  E  in 
determining  which  costs  expended  under  Board  contracts  are 
reasonable, allocable, and allowable.

R277-122-9.  Grounds for Protest -- Intervention in a Protest.
               (1)   A bidder  who  files  a  protest  shall  include  in  the 
bidder's  submission  a  concise  statement  of  the  grounds  for  the 
protest,  which  shall  include  the  facts  leading  the  protestor  to 
contend that a grievance has occurred, including but not limited to 
specifically referencing:
               (a)  the circumstances described in Subsections R33-16-
101a(2)(a) (i) through (iii);
               (b)  a provision of the solicitation alleged to be:
               (i)  unduly restrictive;
               (ii)  anticompetitive; or
               (iii)  unlawful;
               (c)   an  alleged  material  error  made  by  the  evaluation 
committee or conducting procurement unit; or
               (d)  the circumstances described in Subsections R33-16-
101a(2)(a)(vi) and (vii).
               (2)  A motion to intervene in a post-award protest  may 
only be made by the announced awardee.
               (3)  A person may intervene in a pre-award protest, if the 
person's proposal:
               (a)  was evaluated;
               (b)  found to be responsive; and
               (c)  the head of the procurement unit finds the person to 
be responsible.]

R277-122-[10]5.  Small Purchases of Procurement Items Other 
than Professional Services and Consultants.

(1)   The  [Superintendent]head  of  the  procurement  unit 
shall make small purchases in accordance with the requirements set 
forth in Section 63G-6a-506 and this Section R277-122-10.
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(2)  Unless otherwise required as part of another standard 
procurement  process  being  used  in  conjunction  with  a  small 
purchase,  the [Superintendent]head of  the procurement  unit need 
not utilize a solicitation or provide public notice to conduct a small 
purchase.

(3)   The  [Superintendent]head  of  the  procurement  unit 
may make a  small  purchase of  a  procurement  item other  than a 
professional service by:

(a)   direct  award  without  seeking  competitive  bids  or 
quotes up to the following threshold amounts:

(i)  [$3,500]$10,000 for one or more procurement items 
purchased at the same time from one source; and

(ii)   [$50,000]$75,000 for  multiple  procurement  items 
purchased in a 12-month period from one source; and

(b)  subject to Rule R33-4-109, obtaining quotes from a 
minimum  of  two  vendors  and  purchasing  the  procurement  item 
from  the  responsible  vendor  offering  the  lowest  quote  for  a 
purchase of up to [$50,000]$75,000 for one or more procurement 
items purchased at the same time from a single source.

(4)  When conducting a purchase under Subsection (3)(b) 
in  conjunction  with  an  approved  vendor  list,  the 
[Superintendent]head of the procurement unit:

(a)(i)   may obtain  quotes  from all  the  vendors  on  the 
approved vendor list; or

(ii)  may obtain quotes from a minimum of two vendors 
on the approved vendor list,  using one or more of the following 
methods to select vendors from whom to obtain quotes:

(A)   a  rotation  system,  organized  alphabetically, 
numerically, or randomly;

(B)  the geographic area serviced by each vendor;
(C)  each vendor's particular expertise or field;
(D)  solicitation of an additional quote from the vendor 

that  provided  the  lowest  quote  on  the  most  recently  completed 
procurement  conducted  by the  Board using the approved  vendor 
list; or

(E)   another  method  approved  by  the  head  of  the 
procurement unit;

(b)   shall  document  that  all  vendors  on  the  approved 
vendor  list  have  a  fair  and  equitable  opportunity  to  obtain  a 
contract; and

(c)   shall  purchase  the  procurement  item  from  the 
responsible vendor on the approved list offering the lowest quote.

(5)   Whenever  practicable,  the  [Superintendent]head  of 
the procurement unit shall  use a rotation system or other system 
designed  to  allow for  competition  when  using  a  small  purchase 
process.

(6)  In the process of obtaining a competitive quote, the 
[Superintendent]head  of  the  procurement  unit shall  record  and 
maintain the following as a government record:

(a)  the names of the vendors from whom quotes were 
requested and received; and

(b)  the date of receipt and amount of each quote.
(7)   The  [Superintendent]head  of  the  procurement  unit 

shall comply with all applicable laws and rules in the conduct of 
small purchases, including:

(a)  Subsection 63G-6a-506(8);
(b)  Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Part 24, Unlawful Conduct and 

Penalties; and
(c)  Sections R33-24-104 through R33-24-106.

R277-122-[11]6.   Small  Purchases  of  Professional  Service 
Providers and Consultants.

(1)   The  [Superintendent]head  of  the  procurement  unit 
shall make small purchases of professional services in accordance 
with  the  requirements  set  forth  in  Section  63G-6a-506  and  this 
Section R277-122-11.

(2)  Unless otherwise specifically required in this rule or 
as  part  of  another  standard  procurement  process  being  used  in 
conjunction with a small purchase, the [Superintendent]head of the 
procurement unit need not utilize a solicitation or provide public 
notice to conduct a small purchase of professional services.

(3)   The  [Superintendent]head  of  the  procurement  unit 
may procure professional services:

(a)   up  to  a  maximum  of  [$3,500]$10,000 by  direct 
negotiation  with  any professional  services  provider  or  consultant 
determined  in  writing  by  the  [Superintendent]head  of  the 
procurement unit to be qualified to provide the professional service; 
and

(b)  up to a maximum of $100,000 by:
(i)  subject to Rule R33-4-109, obtaining quotes from a 

minimum of  three  professional  services  providers  or  consultants 
determined  in  writing  by  the  [Superintendent]head  of  the 
procurement  unit to  be  qualified  to  provide  the  professional 
services; and

(ii)   making the purchase from the professional  service 
provider  or  consultant  determined  in  writing  by  the 
[Superintendent]head of the procurement unit to provide the Board 
with the best value, comparing qualifications and price.
                 (4)   The  head  of  the  procurement  unit  may utilize  the   
process  set  forth  in  Subsection  (3)(b)  to  make  purchases  from 
multiple professional service providers or consultants if:
                 (a)  multiple professional service providers or consultants   
of the same type are required to fulfill the need for the professional  
service;
                 (b)  the total amount awarded to the selected professional   
service providers or consultants does not exceed $250,000;
                 (c)  a request for qualifications and quotes is published in   
accordance with Section 63G-6a-112;
                 (d)  the request for qualifications and quotes states that the   
Board  may make  a  purchase  from  multiple  professional  service 
providers or consultants; and
                 (e)  all  responses received are reviewed and considered   
when  selecting  the  best  value  professional  service  providers  or 
consultants.

([4]5)  The [Superintendent]head of the procurement unit 
shall comply with all applicable laws and rules in the conduct of 
small purchases for professional services, including:

(a)  Subsection 63G-6a-506(8);
(b)  Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Part 24, Unlawful Conduct and 

Penalties; and
(c)  Sections R33-24-104 through R33-24-106.

R277-122-7.  Scoring of Proposals Against Evaluation Criteria 
Other Than Cost in the Request for Proposal Process.
                 (1)   The  head  of  the  procurement  unit  shall  score   
proposals against evaluation criteria other than cost in the request 
for proposal process to:
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                 (a)  determine which proposals meet mandatory minimum   
requirements or minimum score thresholds set forth in a request for 
proposal; and
                 (b)  assist the head of the procurement unit in selecting the   
proposal that provides the best value or is the most advantageous to 
the Board.
                 (2)  The head of the procurement unit shall award points   
for  each  applicable  evaluation  criteria  set  forth  in  a  request  for 
proposal.
                 (3)   The  head  of  the  procurement  unit  shall  evaluate   
request for  proposals based on a ten-point scale consisting of all 
whole  numbers  from  zero  to  ten,  with  scores  adhering  to  the 
following benchmarks:
                 (a)  Ten points: the proposed solution measurably exceeds   
requirements  and  expectations  as  described  in  the  request  for 
proposal;
                 (b)  Five points: the proposed solution satisfactorily meets   
requirements  and  expectations  as  described  in  the  request  for 
proposal; and
                 (c)   Zero  points:  the  proposed  solution  does  not  meet   
requirements  and  expectations  as  described  in  the  request  for 
proposal.
                 (4)   The  head  of  the  procurement  unit  may  use  an   
alternative scoring scale if approved in writing by the head of the 
procurement unit.

R277-122-8.  Multiple Category Request for Proposals Process 
Resulting in a Single Award.
                 (1)  In accordance with Section 63G-6a-710, the head of   
the  procurement  unit  may conduct  a  multiple  stage process  as  a 
multiple category request for proposals process resulting in a single 
contract award.
                 (2)  The head of the procurement unit may use a multiple   
category request for proposals process  when proposals are accepted 
in more than one category of solution, and the category of solution 
providing the best value to the Board is not determined until the 
final stage of the multiple stage process.
                 (3)   When  conducting  a  multiple  category  request  for   
proposals process, the head of the procurement unit shall:
                 (a)  comply with all requirements set forth in Title 63G,   
Chapter 6a, Part 7, Requests for Proposals;
                 (b)  allow offerors to submit proposals in more than one   
category; and
                 (c)  include in the request for proposals:  
                 (i)  the subjective and objective criteria that will be used   
to evaluate proposals in each category of solution;
                 (ii)  the minimum score thresholds required to advance to   
subsequent stages of the multiple stage process;
                 (iii)  the method of identifying the best value proposal in   
each category of solution; and
                 (iv)  the method of identifying the best value category of   
solution in the final stage of the multiple stage process.
                 (4)   Categories  in  a  multiple  category  request  for   
proposals may consist of:
                 (a)  different types of solutions addressing the same need;  
                 (b)   a  base  solution  and  its  variants,  including  add   
alternates building upon the base solution; or

                 (c)  any other category determined in writing by the head   
of  the  procurement  unit  to  be  appropriate  for  use  in  a  multiple 
category request for proposals.

R277-122-9.  Cancellation Before Award.
                 (1)  A solicitation may be cancelled prior to  a contract   
award if:
                 (a)  the Board does not receive any responsive responses   
to the solicitation; or
                 (b)   the  head  of  the  procurement  unit  determines  the   
cancellation is:
                 (i)  in the best interest of the Board; and  
                 (ii)  supported by a reasonable and good faith justification.  
                 (2)  The head of the procurement unit shall include notice   
of the Board's right of cancellation described in Subsection (1) in 
each Board solicitation.
                 (3)  A solicitation may be re-issued:  
                 (a)  with or without modification, if cancelled pursuant to   
Subsection (1)(a); or
                 (b)  with modification, if cancelled pursuant to Subsection   
(1)(b).

R277-122-10.  Establishment of Terms and Conditions.
                 The head of the procurement unit shall develop standard   
terms and conditions for use with Board contracts and agreements.

R277-122-11.  Requirements for Cost or Pricing Data.
                 (1)  If cost or pricing data is required by Section 63G-6a-  
1206 or Section R33-12-601, the head of the procurement unit shall  
require the person who seeks a cost-based contract to submit:
                 (a)   factual  and  verifiable  information  related  to  the   
contractor's estimated cost for completing a project on:
                 (i)  the date the contract is signed by both parties; or  
                 (ii)  an earlier date agreed to by both parties that is:  
                 (A)   as  close  as  practicable  to  the  date  described  in   
Subsection (1)(a)(i); and
                 (B)  before prudent buyers and sellers would reasonably   
expect price negotiations to be affected significantly; and
                 (b)  underlying data related to a contractor's estimate that   
can  be  reasonably  expected  to  contribute  to  the  soundness  of 
estimates of future costs and the validity of determinations of costs 
already incurred, including:
                 (i)  vendor quotations;  
                 (ii)  nonrecurring costs;  
                 (iii)  information on changes in production methods and in   
production or purchasing volume;
                 (iv)  data supporting projections of business prospects and   
objectives and related operations costs;
                 (v)  unit-cost trends such as those associated with labor   
efficiency;
                 (vi)  make-or-buy decisions;  
                 (vii)  estimated resources to attain business goals; or  
                 (viii)   information  on management  decisions that  could   
have a significant bearing on costs.
                 (2)  Submission of certified cost or pricing data applies to   
contracts  of  $50,000.00  or  greater  if  the  contract  price  is  not 
established by:
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                 (a)  adequate price competition;  
                 (b)  established catalogue or market prices; or  
                 (c)  law or regulation.  

R277-122-12.  Use of Federal Cost Principles.
                 The head of the procurement unit shall apply the federal   
cost  principles  described  in  2  CFR  Part  200,  Subpart  E  in 
determining  which  costs  expended  under  Board  contracts  are 
reasonable, allocable, and allowable.

R277-122-13.  Grounds for Protest - Intervention in a Protest.
                 (1)   A bidder  who  files  a  protest  shall  include  in  the   
bidder's  submission  a  concise  statement  of  the  grounds  for  the 
protest,  which  shall  include  the  facts  leading  the  protestor  to 
contend that a grievance has occurred, including but not limited to 
specifically referencing:
                 (a)  the circumstances described in Subsections R33-16-  
101a(2)(a) (i) through (iii);
                 (b)  a provision of the solicitation alleged to be:  
                 (i)  unduly restrictive;  
                 (ii)  anticompetitive; or  
                 (iii)  unlawful;  
                 (c)   an  alleged  material  error  made  by  the  evaluation   
committee or conducting procurement unit; or
                 (d)  the circumstances described in Subsections R33-16-  
101a(2)(a)(vi) and (vii).
                 (2)  A motion to intervene in a post-award protest  may   
only be made by the announced awardee.
                 (3)  A person may intervene in a pre-award protest, if the   
person's proposal:
                 (a)  was evaluated;  
                 (b)  found to be responsive; and  
                 (c)  the head of the procurement unit finds the person to   
be responsible.

R277-122-14.  Unsolicited Proposals.
                 The head of the procurement  unit  may not  consider an   
unsolicited proposal.

KEY:  procurement, efficiency
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April 9, 
2018]2019
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53A-1-401; 63G-6a

Education, Administration
R277-308

New Educator Induction and Mentoring
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(New Rule)
DAR FILE NO.:  43442

FILED:  12/14/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The purpose  of  this  new Rule  R277-308 is  to 
establish requirements for induction of new educators.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Utah State 
Board of Education (USBE) Rule R277-308 begins with many 
of  the  mentoring requirements established as  part  of  Rule 
R277-301 and expands upon those requirements.  This rule 
defines  the  Local  Education  Agencies'  (LEA)  Induction 
Programs,  in  which  an  LEA  shall  provide  an  induction 
program for at least three years for employees with an LEA-
specific educator license.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Article X Section 3 and Section 53E-6-201 and 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule is not expected to have 
any  fiscal  impact  on  state  government  revenues  or 
expenditures because it provides technical, conforming, and 
stylistic changes in accordance with the Rulewriting Manual 
for  Utah  and  USBE  policies.   This  rule  also  creates  the 
foundation  for  implementation  of  the  three-tier  licensing 
structure  adopted  by  the  USBE  and  passed  by  the  Utah 
legislature  in  the  2018  General  Session.   This  rule  has  a 
delayed implementation until  01/01/2020 and would not go 
into full effect until the 2020 - 2021 school year.  Funding for 
this was provided to the USBE in the 2018 General Session.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule is not expected to have 
any  material  impact  on  local  governments'  revenues  or 
expenditures because it provides technical, conforming, and 
stylistic changes in accordance with the Rulewriting Manual 
for  Utah  and  USBE  policies.   This  rule  also  creates  the 
foundation  for  implementation  of  the  three-tier  licensing 
structure  adopted  by  the  USBE  and  passed  by  the  Utah 
legislature  in  the  2018  General  Session.   This  rule  has  a 
delayed implementation until  01/01/2020 and would not go 
into full effect until the 2020 - 2021 school year.  Funding for 
this was provided to the USBE in the 2018 General Session.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This rule is not expected to have 
any  fiscal  impact  on  small  businesses'  revenues  or 
expenditures because it provides technical, conforming, and 
stylistic changes in accordance with the Rulewriting Manual 
for  Utah  and  USBE  policies.   This  rule  also  creates  the 
foundation  for  implementation  of  the  three-tier  licensing 
structure  adopted  by  the  USBE  and  passed  by  the  Utah 
legislature  in  the  2018  General  Session.   This  rule  has  a 
delayed implementation until  01/01/2020 and would not go 
into full effect until the 2020 - 2021 school year.  Funding for 
this was provided to the USBE in the 2018 General Session.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local government
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entities  revenues  or  expenditures  because  it  provides 
technical,  conforming,  and  stylistic  changes  in  accordance 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah and USBE policies.  This 
rule  also  creates  the  foundation  for  implementation  of  the 
three-tier  licensing  structure  adopted  by  the  USBE  and 
passed by the Utah legislature in the 2018 General Session. 
This rule has a delayed implementation until 01/01/2020 and 
would not go into full effect until the 2020 - 2021 school year. 
Funding  for  this  was  provided  to  the  USBE  in  the  2018 
General  Session.   This  funding  paid  for  teacher  licensure 
background checks, thus saving individual  teachers around 
$150 each time they renew their license.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no compliance costs for affected persons.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
Department of Workforce Services. Most of the entities in the 
list are schools including public schools, charter schools, and 
private schools.  Of the 1,241 entities, there are 15 private 
businesses, all of which are small businesses (there are no 
non-small businesses with a NAICS code 611110).  This rule 
has no fiscal impact on local education agencies and will not 
have a fiscal impact on non-small or small businesses.  The 
Assistant Superintendent of Financial Operations at the Utah 
State Board of Education, Natalie Grange, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Angela Stallings by phone at 801-538-7550, by FAX at 801-
538-7768, or by Internet E-mail  at  angie.stallings@schools. 
utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Angela Stallings, Deputy Superintendent 
of Policy

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
Department of Workforce Services.  Most of the entities in 
the  list  are  schools  including  public  schools,  charter 
schools, and private schools. Of the 1,241 entities, there 
are  15  private  businesses,  all  of  which  are  small 
businesses (there are no non-small businesses with a NAICS 
code  611110).  This  rule  has  no  fiscal  impact  on  local 
education agencies and will not have a fiscal impact on 
non-small or small businesses.

The  Assistant  Superintendent  of  Financial  Operations  at 
the Utah State Board of Education, Natalie Grange, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal impact.
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R277.  Education, Administration.
R277-308.  New Educator Induction and Mentoring.
R277-308-1.  Authority and Purpose.
                 (1)  This rule is authorized by:  
                 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests   
general control and supervision over public education in the Board;
                 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to   
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and
                 (c)  Section 53E-6-201, which gives the Board power to   
issue licenses.
                 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish requirements   
for induction of new educators.

R277-308-2.  Definitions.
                 (1)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah   
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.
                 (2)   "Mentor"  means  an  educator  with  a  professional   
educator license who is trained to advise, coach, consult, and guide 
the development of a new educator.

R277-308-3.  LEA Induction Programs.
                 (1)  An LEA shall provide an induction program for the   
LEA's licensed employees if:
                 (a)  an educator holds an associate educator license; or  
                 (b)  an educator holds a professional educator license with   
less than three years experience.
                 (2)  An LEA shall  provide an induction program for  at   
least  three  years  for  employees  with  an  LEA-specific  educator 
license.
                 (3)  An induction program under this rule shall include, at   
a minimum:
                 (a)  a documented professional learning plan, appropriate   
for each educator; 
                 (b)   LEA  support  in  meeting  the  requirements  of  a   
professional  license  for  an  individual  who  holds  an  associate 
license;
                 (c)  mentor observation and feedback for each educator   
beginning early in the program;
                 (d)  principal observation and feedback for each educator   
as required by Rule R277-533; and
                 (e)  assistance in meeting the pedagogical  requirements   
described in Subsection R277-301-5(5).
                 (4)  An induction plan under Subsection (1) shall provide   
a new educator with a trained mentor educator with a professional 
educator license.
                 (5)  A trained mentor educator under Subsection (3) shall   
assist the educator to meet the Utah Effective Educator Standards 
established in Rule R277-530.
                 (6)  A trained mentor educator may not have responsibility   
to evaluate a new educator for whom the educator acts as mentor.
                 (7)   An  LEA  and  a  Utah  approved  university-based   
education  preparation  program may partner  in  implementing  the 
induction program required by Subsection (1).
                 (8)  The Superintendent shall:  
                 (a)  develop a model induction program, including model   
competencies for mentors;
                 (b)   provide  training  for  mentors  based  on  the   
competencies developed in accordance with Subsection (8)(a);

                 (c)  provide training for principals to oversee and support   
mentor training; and
                 (d)  facilitate the sharing of best practices between LEAs.  

R277-308-4.  Effective Date.
                 This rule will be effective beginning July 1, 2020.  

KEY:  new educators, mentors, programs
Date of Enactment of Last Substantive Amendment:  2019
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53E-3-401(4); 53E-6-201

Education, Administration
R277-910

Underage Drinking Prevention Program
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(New Rule)
DAR FILE NO.:  43448

FILED:  12/14/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this new rule is to establish the 
criteria  for  selecting  a  provider  for  the  Underage  Drinking 
Prevention Program (Program) and general requirements of a 
local education agency (LEA) when offering the program.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  As required  in 
Section  53G-10-406,  the  Utah  State  Board  of  Education 
(USBE) shall make rules establishing the criteria for selecting 
a provider of the Program and also require that LEAs offer 
this program to all students in Grades 7 or 8, and 9 or 10. 
This new rule is being created to comply with the statutory 
mandates.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Article X Section 3 and Section 53G-10-406 and 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This new rule is not  expected to 
have  any  fiscal  impact  on  state  government  revenues  or 
expenditures.   The  Program  is  funded  through  legislative 
appropriation for all  LEAs and the administrative supported 
required at  the USBE to fund the Program.  No additional 
resources are required at the state level.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This new rule is not expected to 
have any material impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.    The  Program is  funded  through  legislative 
appropriation for all  LEAs and the administrative supported 
required at  the USBE to fund the Program.  No additional 
resources are required from LEAs.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  This new rule and the associated 
legislation has resulted in the award of a contract, as a result 
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of an RFP, for a statewide Program.  The vendor awarded the 
contract will receive funds in accordance with their contract.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This new rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
persons  other  than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local 
government entities.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no compliance costs for affected persons.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
Department of Workforce Services.  Most of the entities in the 
list are schools including public schools, charter schools, and 
private schools.  Of the 1,241 entities, there are 15 private 
businesses, all of which are small businesses (there are no 
non-small  businesses  with  a  NAICS  code  611110).   This 
proposed  rule  has  no  fiscal  impact  on  local  education 
agencies and will  not  have a fiscal  impact on non-small or 
small businesses.  The Assistant Superintendent of Financial 
Operations  at  the  Utah  State  Board  of  Education,  Natalie 
Grange, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Angela Stallings by phone at 801-538-7550, by FAX at 801-
538-7768, or by Internet E-mail  at  angie.stallings@schools. 
utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Angela Stallings, Deputy Superintendent 
of Policy

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
Department of Workforce Services.  Most of the entities in 
the  list  are  schools  including  public  schools,  charter 
schools, and private schools. Of the 1,241 entities, there 
are  15  private  businesses,  all  of  which  are  small 
businesses (there are no non-small businesses with a NAICS 
code 611110).  This rule has no fiscal impact on local 
education agencies and will not have a fiscal impact on 
non-small or small businesses.

The  Assistant  Superintendent  of  Financial  Operations  at 
the Utah State Board of Education, Natalie Grange, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R277.  Education Administration.
R277-910.  Underage Drinking Prevention Program.
R277-910-1.  Authority and Purpose.
                 (1)  This rule is authorized by:  
                 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests   
general control and supervision over public education in the Board;
                 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to   
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and
                 (c)  Subsection 53G-10-406 which directs the Board to   
establish rules regarding:
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                 (i)   a  requirement  that  an  LEA  offer  the  Underage   
Drinking Prevention Program each school year to each student in 
grade 7 or 8, and grade 9 or 10; and
                 (ii)  the criteria for the board to use in selecting a provider   
for the Underage Drinking Prevention Program.
                 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the criteria for   
selecting a provider for the Underage Drinking Prevention Program 
and general requirements of an LEA when offering the program.

R277-910-2.  Criteria for Selecting a Provider.
                 (1)  The following criteria,  along with the requirements   
found in 53G-10-406, shall be considered in selecting a provider for 
the Underage Drinking Prevention Program:
                 (a)   a  program  that  is  evidence-based  including  peer   
reviewed journals, national registries, and research;
                 (b)   a  program that  is  focused  on  preventing  underage   
consumption of alcohol through a curriculum, course, or program 
that is taught through multiple days of instruction and not a one-
time presentation.
                 (c)  a program that is delivered in the classroom by the   
classroom teacher or other trained professional;
                 (d)   a  program  that  addresses  behavioral  risk  factors   
associated with underage drinking and integrates skills practice into 
the curriculum; and
                 (e)  a program that aligns with the core standards of the   
Utah Public School system.
                 (2)   The  vendor  of  the  Underage  Drinking  Prevention   
Program shall:
                 (i)   have  prior  experience  in  successfully  reducing   
underage drinking; and
                 (ii)  be available for deployment beginning in the 2018-19   
school year.

R277-910-3.   Mandatory  Offering  of  Underage  Drinking 
Prevention Program.
                 (1)  An LEA shall offer to each student in grades 7 or 8   
and grades 9 or 10, respectively, the Underage Drinking Prevention 
Program procured by the Board.
                 (2)  An LEA shall offer the Underage Drinking Prevention   
Program to students of the grades in subsection (1) of this section 
beginning in the 2018-19 school year.

R277-910-4.  Reporting Requirements.
                 (1)  An LEA shall report to the Superintendent annually   
regarding the general participation and deployment of the Underage 
Drinking Prevention Program.
                 (2)  The report shall be made via the Annual Assurances   
Document described in R277-108 and shall include:
                 (a)   if  the  Underage  Drinking Prevention  Program was   
offered to students each school year in grades 7 or 8 and in grades 9 
or 10;
                 (b)  the name of the course where the Underage Drinking   
Prevention Program was offered including if  it  was offered as  a 
stand-alone course; and
                 (c)  if the instructor has attended the one time training,   
including online state level training for the Underage Drinking
Prevention Program.

KEY:  underage drinking prevention, substance abuse, alcohol
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2019
Authorizing, and Implemented, or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53E-3-401(4); 53G-10-406

Education, Administration
R277-912

Law Enforcement Related Incident 
Reporting

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(New Rule)

DAR FILE NO.:  43439
FILED:  12/14/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this rule is to generate the report 
required  by  Subsection  53E-3-516  and  the  form  that  the 
report may be accessed.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Utah State 
Board  of  Education  (USBE)  Rule  R277-912  is  drafted  in 
response  to  2018  General  Session  S.B.  198,  Utah 
Communications  Authority  Amendments,  to  provide  a 
procedure to collect required data.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Article X Section 3 and Section 53E-3-516 and 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  This new rule is not  expected to 
have  any  fiscal  impact  on  state  government  revenues  or 
expenditures.   This  rule  clarifies  expectations  for  required 
reporting of school incident data.  Local education agencies 
(LEAs)  already have data gathering systems and reporting 
capabilities.   Annual  reporting will  be facilitated by existing 
USBE staff.  No additional resources are required at the state 
level.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This new rule is not expected to 
have any material impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.   This  rule  clarifies  expectations  for  required 
reporting of  school  incident data.   LEAs already have data 
gathering  systems  and  reporting  capabilities.   Annual 
reporting  will  be  facilitated  by  existing  USBE staff.   LEAs 
already  gather  and  report  various  data  elements.   It  is 
anticipated that existing staff at LEAs will  gather and report 
required data.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:  No impact  on small  businesses. 
This rule clarifies expectations for required reporting of school 
incident data.
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♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This new rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
persons  other  than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local 
government  entities.   This  rule  clarifies  expectations  for 
required reporting of school incident data.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are  no  compliance  costs  for  affected  persons.   This  rule 
clarifies expectations for required reporting of school incident 
data.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
Department of Workforce Services.  Most of the entities in the 
list are schools including public schools, charter schools, and 
private schools.  Of the 1,241 entities, there are 15 private 
businesses, all of which are small businesses (there are no 
non-small businesses with a NAICS code 611110).  This rule 
change has no fiscal  impact  on LEAs and will  not  have a 
fiscal impact on non-small or small businesses.  The Assistant 
Superintendent  of  Financial  Operations  at  the  Utah  State 
Board  of  Education,  Natalie  Grange,  has  reviewed  and 
approved this fiscal analysis.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Angela Stallings by phone at 801-538-7550, by FAX at 801-
538-7768, or by Internet E-mail  at  angie.stallings@schools. 
utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Angela Stallings, Deputy Superintendent 
of Policy

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
There  are  1,241  entities  with  a  NAICS  code  611110 
(Elementary  and  Secondary  Schools)  operating  in  Utah 
according  to  a  "Firm  Find  Data"  search  through  Utah's 
Department of Workforce Services.  Most of the entities in 
the  list  are  schools  including  public  schools,  charter 
schools, and private schools. Of the 1,241 entities, there 
are  15  private  businesses,  all  of  which  are  small 
businesses (there are no non-small businesses with a NAICS 
code 611110).  This rule has no fiscal impact on local 
education agencies and will not have a fiscal impact on 
non-small or small businesses.

The  Assistant  Superintendent  of  Financial  Operations  at 
the Utah State Board of Education, Natalie Grange, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R277.  Education, Administration.
R277-912.  Law Enforcement Related Incident Reporting.
R277-912-1.  Authority and Purpose.
                 (1)  This rule is authorized by:  
                 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests   
general control and supervision over public education in the Board;
                 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to   
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and
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                 (c)   Subsection  53E-3-516  which  directs  the  Board  to   
establish rules regarding a collaborative annual report meeting all 
the requirements of Subsection 53E-3-516(2).
                 (2)   The  purpose  of  this  rule  is  to  generate  the  report   
required by Subsection 53E-3-516 and the form that the report may 
be accessed.

R277-912-2.  LEA Reporting Requirements.
                 (1)  An LEA shall work with the Superintendent and the   
relevant law enforcement agencies and school personnel to collect 
the following incident data that occurred on school grounds while 
school is in session or during a school-sponsored activity:
                 (a)  arrests of a minor;  
                 (b)  other law enforcement activities as defined in Section   
53E-3-516(1);
                 (c)   disciplinary  actions  as  defined  in  section  53E-3-  
516(1); and
                 (d)  all other data as outlined in subsection 53E-3-516(3)   
and (4).
                 (2)  An LEA shall collect the data in a form agreed upon   
by the Superintendent and the relevant law enforcement agencies.
                 (3)   An  LEA  shall  report  the  data  required  to  the   
Superintendent in a timely manner;
                 (4)  Beginning in the 2020-21 school year, an LEA shall   
report the data compiled for each school year to the Superintendent 
on or before  September 1  st   of the year  in  which the school  year   
ended.
                 (5)  An LEA shall report the data to the Superintendent as   
prescribed by the Superintendent.

R277-912-3.  Annual Report Content and Access.
                 (1)  The Superintendent shall compile the data to form an   
aggregated report  consistent  with  the requirements  of Subsection 
53E-3-516(3), (4) and (5).
                 (2)   The  report  shall  exclude  all  identifiable  student   
information and data.
                 (3)  The report shall be compiled no later than November   
1  st   of each year in which the school year ended and provided to the   
board.
                 (4)  An external entity may request access to the data used   
to compile the report consistent with Utah Code Title 63G, Chapter  
2, Government Records Access Management Act.
                 (5)   The  Superintendent  shall  respond  to  the  request   
within 15 business days and provide the report within 30 business 
days of the request by providing the most recent data set available at 
the time of the request, so long as the data set is aggregated and no 
student identifiable information is included in the data set.
                 (6)   If  the  request  is  for  the  data  being  used  for  an   
upcoming report that is more than 30 days from being compiled, the 
Superintendent  may  wait  longer  than  30  days  to  provide  the 
requested report.

KEY:  incident reporting; law enforcement
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2019
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53E-3-401(3); 53E-3-516

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy

R414-61-2
Incorporation by Reference

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  43425
FILED:  12/07/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this change is to incorporate by 
reference  updates  to  the  Medically  Complex  Children's 
Waiver, effective 10/01/2018.

SUMMARY OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   This  renewal 
incorporates by reference updates to the Medically Complex 
Children’s  Waiver,  effective  10/01/2018.   These  updates 
include:  adjustments made to eligibility targeted criteria for 
initial  and  annual  determinations;  developing  criteria  to 
evaluate  level  of  care  based  on  the  performance  of  age 
appropriate  activities  of  daily  living;  the  development  of  a 
transition plan for individuals who may no longer meet criteria 
for  program  participation;  and  the  revision  of  quality-
improvement  performance  measures  to  better  align  with 
waiver assurances and sub-assurances.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 26-1-5 and Section 26-18-3

MATERIALS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE:
♦ Updates Medically Complex Children’s Waiver, 
published by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid 
Services, 10/01/2018

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no impact  on the state 
budget  because these waiver  updates do  not  provide new 
services, and ongoing services are within previous allocations 
set forth by the Legislature.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   There  is  no  impact  on  local 
governments because they neither fund nor provide waiver 
services for Medicaid members.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   There  is  no  impact  on  small 
businesses  because  these  waiver  updates  do  not  provide 
new  services,  and  ongoing  services  are  within  previous 
allocations set forth by the Legislature.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There  is  no  impact  on  Medicaid  providers  because  these 
waiver  updates  do  not  provide  new services,  and  ongoing 
services  are  within  previous  allocations  set  forth  by  the 
Legislature.  Children who are currently enrolled in the waiver,
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or would have been enrolled in the waiver, may lose or not be 
able  to  obtain  eligibility  due  to  new entrance requirements 
and assessment criteria.   On the other hand, children who 
would not  have previously been enrolled in  the waiver  will 
gain coverage due to the new requirements and criteria.  No 
cost-effective data exists to determine what the fiscal impact 
would be on either of these groups.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  A child 
who is currently enrolled in the waiver, or would have been 
enrolled  in  the  waiver,  may lose  or  not  be  able  to  obtain 
eligibility due to new entrance requirements and assessment 
criteria.  There is, however, no cost-effective data to estimate 
what the fiscal impact would be.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined that 
this proposed rule change will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HEALTH
HEALTH CARE FINANCING,
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY
CANNON HEALTH BLDG
288 N 1460 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3231
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Craig Devashrayee by phone at 801-538-6641, by FAX at 
801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at cdevashrayee@utah. 
gov or  mail  at  PO Box 143102, Salt  Lake City,  UT 84114-
3102

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Joseph Miner, MD, Executive Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
This rule change does not affect cost or revenue to the 
182 Medicaid home and community-based service providers, 
as  fiscal  impacts  are  within  previous  allocations  set 
forth by the Legislature.

R414.   Health,  Health  Care  Financing,  Coverage  and 
Reimbursement Policy.
R414-61.  Home and Community-Based Services Waivers.
R414-61-2.  Incorporation by Reference.

The  Department  incorporates  by  reference  the  following 
home and community-based services waivers:

(1)   Waiver  for  Technology Dependent/Medically Fragile 
Individuals, effective July 1, 2018;

(2)  Waiver for Individuals Age 65 or Older, effective July 1, 
2015;

(3)  Waiver  for  Individuals  with Acquired Brain Injuries, 
effective July 1, 2014;

(4)   Waiver  for  Individuals  with  Physical  Disabilities, 
effective July 1, 2016;

(5)   Community  Supports  Waiver  for  Individuals  with 
Intellectual Disabilities and Other Related Conditions, effective July 1, 
2015;

(6)  New Choices Waiver, effective July 1, 2015;
(7)  Medicaid Autism Waiver, effective October 1, 2015; and
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(8)   Medically  Complex  Children's  Waiver,  effective 
October 1, 201[5]8.

These documents are available for public inspection during 
business hours at the Utah Department of Health, Division of Medicaid 
and Health Financing, located at 288 North 1460 West, Salt Lake City, 
UT, 84114-3102.

KEY:  Medicaid
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 27, 
2018]2019  
Notice of Continuation:  October 30, 2014
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-18-3

Insurance, Administration
R590-126-2

Purpose and Scope
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  43428

FILED:  12/07/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This change is being made to recognize the new 
standards proposed in Rule R590-277 as a result of H.B. 336, 
Health  Reform  Amendments,  passed  during  the  2017 
General Session.  The effective date for applicable provisions 
had had a delayed effective date of 01/01/2018.  (EDITOR'S 
NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R590-277 is under Filing No. 
43427 in this issue, December 15, 2018, of the Bulletin.)

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This change adds 
a citation to recognize health benefit plans that comply with 
the proposed new Rule R590-277.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 31A-2-202 and Section 31A-22-623 and 
Section  31A-22-626  and  Section  31A-23a-412  and 
Subsection  31A-2-201(3)(a)  and  Subsection  31A-22-605(4) 
and  Subsection  31A-23a-402(8)  and  Subsection  31A-26-
301(1)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings to the state budget.  This rule only adds a citation to 
recognize health benefit plans that comply with the proposed 
new Rule R590-277.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local governments.  This rule only adds a citation 
to  recognize  health  benefit  plans  that  comply  with  the 
proposed new Rule R590-277.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings to small businesses.  This rule only adds a citation to 
recognize health benefit plans that comply with the proposed 
new Rule R590-277.

♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other persons. 
This rule only adds a citation to recognize health benefit plans 
that comply with the proposed new Rule R590-277.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are  no  anticipated  compliance  costs  for  affected  persons. 
This rule only adds a citation to recognize health benefit plans 
that comply with the proposed new Rule R590-277.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined that 
this proposed rule change will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

INSURANCE
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Steve Gooch by phone at 801-538-3803, by FAX at 801-
538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at sgooch@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Steve Gooch, Information Specialist

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0
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Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small  businesses  revenues  or  expenditures,  because 
this  rule  merely  adopts  standards  that  are  currently 
required  under  an  administrative  rule  that  applies  not 
only to managed care contracts, but also other types of 
health insurance contracts.

The head of the Insurance Department, Todd E. Kiser, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R590.  Insurance, Administration.
R590-126.  Accident and Health Insurance Standards.
R590-126-2.  Purpose and Scope.

(1)   Purpose.   The  purpose  of  this  rule  is  to  provide 
reasonable  standardization  and  simplification  of  terms  and 
coverages  of  insurance  policies  in  order  to  facilitate  public 
understanding  and  comparison  and  to  prohibit  provisions  which 
may  be  misleading  or  confusing  in  connection  either  with  the 
purchase of such coverages or with the settlement of claims, and to 
provide for full disclosure in the sale of such insurance.

(2)  Scope.
(a)  This regulation applies to:
(i)  all individual accident and health insurance policies 

and group supplemental health policies and certificates, delivered or 
issued for delivery in this state on and after January 1, 2006, that are 
not specifically exempted from this regulation, regardless of:

(A)  whether the policy is issued to an association; a trust; 
a discretionary group; or other similar grouping; or

(B)  the situs of delivery of the policy or contract; and
(ii)  all dental plans and vision plans.
(b)  This rule shall not apply to:
(i)  employer accident and health insurance, as defined in 

Section 31A-22-502;

(ii)  policies issued to employees or members as additions 
to  franchise  plans  in  existence  on  the  effective  date  of  this  
regulation;

(iii)   Medicare  supplement  policies  subject  to  Section 
31A-22-620;[ or]

(iv)   civilian  Health  and  Medical  Program  of  the 
Uniformed Services, Chapter 55, title 10 of the United States Code, 
CHAMPUS supplement insurance policies; or
                 (v)  a health benefit  plan that complies with R590-277,   
Managed Care Health Benefit Plan Policy Standards.

(3)  The requirements contained in this regulation shall be 
in addition to any other applicable regulations previously adopted.

KEY:  health insurance
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 
12, 2009]2019
Notice of Continuation:  December 12, 2016
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-2-202; 31A-21-201; 31A-22-605; 31A-22-623; 31A-22-626; 
31A-23a-402; 31A-26-301

Insurance, Administration
R590-186-5

Company License Renewal
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  43429

FILED:  12/07/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   Section  31A-35-404,  minimum  financial 
requirements for bail  bond agency license, was changed in 
2016 to allow more flexibility in providing verification for each 
parcel of real property owned by the applicant and included in 
the net worth of the applicant.

SUMMARY  OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   This  change 
clarifies what verification can be provided for each parcel of 
real  property  owned  by  the  applicant  and  included  in  the 
agency's net worth calculation at the time of renewal.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 31A-35-104 and Section 31A-35-301 
and Section 31A-35-401 and Section 31A-35-406

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings to the state budget.  This change merely clarifies the 
types of real property verification that bail bond agencies may 
provide at the time of renewal.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local governments.  This change merely clarifies 
the types of real property verification that bail bond agencies 
may provide at the time of renewal.
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♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  Small businesses could see some 
savings or  expense depending on which verification option 
they  choose  to  provide.   One  option  is  significantly  more 
expensive  than  the  other  two  options,  while  another  is 
significantly  less  expensive.   The  Insurance  Department 
(Department)  anticipates  that  most  companies  will  see 
savings because they will  likely choose to provide the less 
expensive option.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other person. 
This  change  merely  clarifies  the  types  of  real  property 
verification that bail bond agencies may provide at the time of 
renewal.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   Bail 
bond agencies are already required to provide real property 
verification for their annual license renewal.  The change to 
this  rule  ultimately  allows  them  to  save  money  on  that 
verification at their discretion.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
I.  WHETHER  A  FISCAL  IMPACT  TO  BUSINESS  IS 
EXPECTED AS A RESULT OF THE PROPOSED RULE AND, 
IF SO, A DESCRIPTION OF WHY:  All bail bond agencies are 
required  to  provide  property  verification  for  their  annual 
license renewal.   This  rule  change allows  the agencies  to 
choose  which  verification  method  they  will  provide,  rather 
than requiring a specific method.  Agencies could see some 
savings or expenses depending on which verification option 
they  choose  to  provide.   One  option  is  significantly  more 
expensive  than  the  other  two  options,  while  another  is 
significantly less expensive.  The Department anticipates that 
most  companies  will  see  savings  because  they  will  likely 
choose  to  provide  the  less  expensive  option.   II.  AN 
ESTIMATE  OF  THE  TOTAL  NUMBER  OF  BUSINESS 
ESTABLISHMENTS  IN  UTAH  EXPECTED  TO  BE 
IMPACTED:   There  are  13  collaterally  backed  bail  bond 
agencies in Utah that will be affected.  III. AN ESTIMATE OF 
THE  SMALL  BUSINESS  ESTABLISHMENTS  IN  UTAH 
EXPECTED TO BE IMPACTED:  All of those 13 collaterally 
backed bail bond agencies in Utah are small businesses and 
will be affected.  IV. A DESCRIPTION OF THE SOURCES OF 
COST OR SAVINGS AS WELL AS THE EXPECTED NET 
SAVINGS  OR  COST  TO  BUSINESS  ESTABLISHMENTS 
AND SMALL BUSINESS ESTABLISHMENTS AS A RESULT 
OF THE PROPOSED RULE OVER A ONE-YEAR PERIOD, 
IDENTIFYING  ONE-TIME  AND  ONGOING  COSTS:   The 
Insurance Department is not able to anticipate the expected 
net savings or costs to small businesses as a result of this 
rule  change.   The cost  of  the most  expensive option — a 
certified  appraisal  —  is  negotiated  between  the  small 
business  and  the  appraiser  and  depends  on  several 
individual factors that the Department cannot know.  The cost 
of the cheaper options — the title letter or report, or a current 
abstract of title from a county recorder — are similarly difficult 
to determine because they vary by county and provider.  The 
Department expects that most affected small businesses will 

choose to use a cheaper option and will recognize ongoing 
savings.  V. DEPARTMENT HEAD'S COMMENTS ON THE 
ANALYSIS:   The  above  analysis  represents  the  Insurance 
Department's  best  estimate  of  the  fiscal  impact  this  rule 
amendment will have on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

INSURANCE
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Steve Gooch by phone at 801-538-3803, by FAX at 801-
538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at sgooch@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Steve Gooch, Information Specialist

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0
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Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses revenues or expenditures because 
none of the affected businesses are large. All 13 affected 
businesses are small businesses.

The head of the Insurance Department, Todd E. Kiser, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R590.  Insurance, Administration.
R590-186.  Bail Bond Surety Business.
R590-186-5.  Company License Renewal.

A licensed bail bond surety company shall renew its license 
on  or  before  July  15  of  each  year  by  meeting  the  following 
requirements:

(1)   file  with  the  insurance  commissioner  a  renewal 
application, pay the required renewal licensing fee set forth in R590-
102, Insurance Department Fee Payment Deadlines, and provide the 
additional information described in this section.

(2)   If  the  applicant  relies  on  the  ownership  of  real  or 
personal  property as  the  financial  basis  for  issuing  bail  bonds  the 
applicant must include the following with the renewal:

(a)   a  statement  that  no  material  changes  have  occurred 
negatively  affecting  the  property's  title,  including  any  liens  or 
encumbrances that have occurred since the last license renewal;

(b)   a  financial  statement  reviewed by a  certified  public 
accountant as of the end of the most current fiscal year showing a net 
worth of at least $300,000, at least $100,000 of which must consist of 
liquid assets and a copy of the applicant's federal income tax return for 
the prior year; and

(c)  if the bail bond agency is in its second or subsequent 
year of licensure, the following items are required[ as indicated]:
                 (i)  a certified appraisal report;      
                 (ii)  a current tax notice and a title letter or report; or      
                 (iii)  a current abstract of title from the county recorder.      
[              (i)   renewal in 2002,  2008,  and 2014: a preliminary title 
report dated not more than one month prior to the date of the renewal 
application for each parcel of real property owned by the applicant and 
included in the applicant's net worth calculation; or  
               (ii)  renewal in 2005, 2011, and 2017: a preliminary title 
report and a current appraisal dated not more than one month prior to 
the date of the renewal application for each parcel of real property 
owned  by the  applicant  and  included  in  the  applicant's  net  worth 
calculation.]

(3)  Renewal applicants who were licensed as a bail bond 
surety company prior to December 31, 1999, may opt to apply under 
the lower limits in effect at that date.

(a)  For renewal applicants relying on a letter of credit as the 
financial  basis  for  issuing  bail  bonds,  the  amount  is  reduced  to 
$250,000.

(b)   For  renewal  applicants  relying  on  real  or  personal 
property as the basis for issuing bail bonds, the amount is reduced to a 
net worth of at least $250,000, at least $50,000 of which must consist 
of liquid assets.

(c)  Renewal applicants opting for lower limits are limited to 
the 5 to 1 ratio of outstanding bond obligations as shown in R590-186-
9.

(4)  When using a letter of credit at renewal the bail bond 
surety must follow R590-186-4(5).

KEY:  insurance
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 26, 
2014]2019  
Notice of Continuation:  July 10, 2018
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-35-104; 
31A-35-301; 31A-35-401; 31A-35-406

Insurance, Administration
R590-277

Managed Care Health Benefit Plan 
Policy Standards

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(New Rule)

DAR FILE NO.:  43427
FILED:  12/07/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being adopted as a result of H.B. 336, 
Health  Reform  Amendments,  passed  during  the  2017 
General Session. The effective date for applicable provisions 
had had a delayed effective date of 01/01/2018.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule adopts 
key  definitions  to  be  used  in  contracts;  prohibits  contract 
limitations or exclusions except for those stated in this rule; 
provides  for  rights  for  a  spouse  or  child  in  the  event  of 
contract termination; requires certain benefits for transplants, 
requires  notification  when  premiums  are  being  revised; 
requires  coverage  to  be  offered  without  regard  to  health 
status;  includes  required  provisions  to  be  included  in 
contracts;  and restricts the manner in which premium rates 
are calculated.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 31A-2-202 and Section 31A-23a-412 
and Section 31A-45-103 and Subsection 31A-2-201(3)(a) and 
Subsection 31A-23a-402(8)
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE BUDGET:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings to the state budget.  This rule adopts standards that 
are  currently  required  under  an  administrative  rule  that 
applies not only to managed care contracts, but  also other 
types of health insurance contracts.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings  to  local  governments.   If  a  local  government  plan 
offered their  employees a self-funded health plan,  this rule 
would  not  apply.   If  a  local  government  plan  offered  their 
employees a fully insured health plan, it is not anticipated that 
there  will  additional  costs  or  savings.   This  rule  adopts 
standards that are currently required under an administrative 
rule that applies not only to managed care contracts, but also 
other types of health insurance contracts.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   There  is  no  anticipated  cost  or 
savings to small businesses.  This rule adopts standards that 
are  currently  required  under  an  administrative  rule  that 
applies not only to managed care contracts, but  also other 
types of contracts.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to persons other than 
small  businesses,  businesses  or  local  government  entities. 
This rule adopts standards that are currently required under 
an administrative rule that applies not only to managed care 
contracts, but also other types of contracts.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no anticipated compliance cost for affected persons.  This 
rule  adopts  standards that  are  currently required under  an 
administrative  rule  that  applies  not  only  to  managed  care 
contracts, but also other types of contracts.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined that 
this  proposed  rule  will  not  result  in  a  fiscal  impact  to 
businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

INSURANCE
ADMINISTRATION
ROOM 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG
450 N MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114-1201
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Steve Gooch by phone at 801-538-3803, by FAX at 801-
538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at sgooch@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

INTERESTED  PERSONS  MAY  ATTEND  A  PUBLIC 
HEARING REGARDING THIS RULE:
♦ 01/15/2019 10:00 AM, State Office Building, 450 N State 
Street, Room 3110, Salt Lake City, UT

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Steve Gooch, Information Specialist

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Other Person $0 $0 $0
Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Other Persons $0 $0 $0
Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
This new rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small  businesses  revenues  or  expenditures,  because 
this  rule  merely  adopts  standards  that  are  currently 
required  under  an  administrative  rule  that  applies  not 
only to managed care contracts, but also other types of 
health insurance contracts.

The head of the Insurance Department, Todd E. Kiser, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R590.  Insurance Administration.
R590-277.   Managed  Care  Health  Benefit  Plan  Policy 
Standards.
R590-277-1.  Authority.
                 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to   
Subsections  31A-2-201(3)(a),  31A-2-202,  31A-23a-402(8),  31A-
23a-412, and 31A-45-103.
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R590-277-2.  Purpose and Scope.
                 (1)   The  purpose  of  this  rule  is  to  provide  reasonable   
standardization  and  simplification  of  terms  and  coverages  of  a 
managed care health benefit plan policy in order to:  
                 (a)  facilitate public understanding and comparison;      
                 (b)   prohibit  provisions  which  may  be  misleading  or   
confusing in connection either with the purchase of such coverages or 
with the settlement of claims; and  
                 (c)  provide for full disclosure.      
                 (2)  This rule applies to any health benefit plan issued by a   
managed  care  organization  to  an  individual  or  group,  including 
policies issued to an association, trust, discretionary group, or other 
similar group.  
                 (3)  This rule does not apply to short-term limited duration   
health insurance that complies with both R590-85, Individual Accident 
and Health Insurance and Individual and Group Medicare Supplement 
rates, and R590-126, Accident and Health Insurance Standards.  

R590-277-3.  Definitions.
                 The definitions in Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-22-625, 31A-  
30-103 and 31A-45-102, and Rules R590-126, R590-192, R590-261 
and R590-266, shall apply for the purposes of this rule.

R590-277-4.  Prohibited Policy Provisions.
                 (1)    A health benefit plan may not impose any preexisting   
condition limitation or exclusion provisions.
                 (2)  Limitations or exclusions.  Unless otherwise required by   
law, a policy may not limit or exclude coverage or benefits by type of 
illness, accident, treatment, or medical condition, except as follows:  
                 (a)  abortion;      
                 (b)  acupuncture and acupressure services;      
                 (c)  administrative charges for completing insurance forms,   
duplication services, interest, finance charges, or other administrative 
charges;  
                 (d)  administrative exams and services;      
                 (e)  applied behavioral analysis therapy, except as required   
by Section 31A-22-642;  
                 (f)  aviation;      
                 (g)  axillary hyperhidrosis;      
                 (h)  benefits provided under:      
                 (i)   Medicare  or  other  governmental  program,  except   
Medicaid;  
                 (ii)  state or federal worker's compensation; or      
                 (iii)  employer's liability or occupational disease law;      
                 (i)  fitness training, exercise equipment, or membership fees   
to a spa or health club;  
                 (j)  charges for appointments scheduled and not kept;      
                 (k)  chiropractic care;      
                 (l)  complementary and alternative medicine;      
                 (m)  corrective lenses, and examination for the prescription   
or fitting thereof, except lens implant following cataract surgery and as 
required by R590-266;  
                 (n)   cosmetic  surgery;  reversal,  revision,  repair,   
complications, or treatment related to a non-covered cosmetic surgery. 
This  exclusion  does  not  apply to  reconstructive  surgery when  the 
service  is  incidental  to  or  follows  surgery  resulting  from  trauma, 
infection or  other  diseases  of the involved  party;  or  reconstructive 
surgery  because  of  congenital  disease  or  anomaly  of  a  covered 
dependent child that has resulted in a functional defect;  

                 (o)  custodial care;      
                 (p)  dental care or treatment;      
                 (q)  dietary products, except as required by R590-194;      
                 (r)  educational and nutritional training, except as required   
by R590-200;  
                 (s)  experimental or investigational services;      
                 (t)  expenses before coverage begins or after coverage ends;      
                 (u)  felony, riot or insurrection, when it has been determined   
the covered person was a voluntary participant;  
                 (v)  foot care in connection with corns, calluses, flat feet,   
fallen arches, weak feet, chronic foot strain or symptomatic complaints 
of the feet, including orthotics.  The exclusion of routine foot care does 
not  apply to  cutting  or  removal  of  corns,  calluses,  or  nails  when 
provided to a person who has a systemic disease, such as diabetes with 
peripheral neuropathy or circulatory insufficiency, of such severity that 
unskilled performance of the procedure would be hazardous;  
                 (w)   gastric  or  intestinal  bypass  services  including  lap   
banding,  gastric  stapling,  and  other  similar  procedures  to  facilitate 
weight loss; the reversal, or revision of such procedures; or services 
required for the treatment of complications from such procedures;  
                 (x)  gender reassignment, except as required by Section 1557   
of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act;  
                 (y)  gene therapy;      
                 (z)  genetic testing;      
                 (aa)  hearing aids, and examination for the prescription or   
fitting thereof;  
                 (bb)  a loss directly related to an illegal activity when it has   
been determined the covered person voluntarily committed the illegal 
activity.  This exclusion does not apply to:  
                 (i)   an  exclusion  prohibited  by  the  nondiscrimination   
provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act; 
or  
                 (ii)  a loss resulting from the covered person being under the   
influence of alcohol, unless it has been determined the loss is directly 
related to and a result of the covered person illegally operating a motor 
vehicle under the influence of alcohol, as determined under 41-6a-502. 
If the loss occurs in a state other than Utah, the determination shall be 
made under the laws of such jurisdiction;  
                 (cc)  infertility services;      
                 (dd)   mental  health  and  substance  use  disorder  services,   
except as required by Section 31A-22-625 and R590-266;  
                 (ee)  injury as a result of a motor vehicle, to the extent the   
covered person is required by law to have no-fault  coverage.  The 
exclusion  applies  only  to  charges  up  to  the  minimum  coverage 
required by law, whether or not such coverage is in effect;  
                 (ff)  nuclear release;      
                 (gg)  refractive eye surgery;      
                 (hh)  rehabilitation or habilitative therapy services, such as   
physical, speech, and occupational, except as required to correct an 
impairment caused by a covered accident or illness, or as required by 
R590-266;  
                 (ii)  respite care;      
                 (jj)  rest cures;      
                 (kk)  service in the armed forces or units auxiliary to it;      
                 (ll)  services that are not medically necessary;      
                 (mm)  services performed by the covered person's parent,   
spouse, sibling or child, including a step or in-law relationship;  
                 (nn)  services for which no charge is normally made in the   
absence of insurance;  
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                 (oo)  services in connection with a prearranged surrogacy   
agreement where the covered person relinquishes a baby and receives 
payment or other compensation arising out of such services.   This 
exclusion does not apply to services for the baby;  
                 (pp)  sexual dysfunction procedures, equipment and drugs;      
                 (qq)  shipping and handling;      
                 (rr)  telephone/electronic consultations;      
                 (ss)  territorial limitations outside the United States;      
                 (tt)  terrorism, including acts of terrorism;      
                 (uu)  transplants, except as required by R590-266;      
                 (vv)  transportation, except medically necessary ambulance   
services;  
                 (ww)  war or act of war, whether declared or undeclared; or      
                 (xx)  others that in the opinion of the commissioner are not   
inequitable, misleading, deceptive, obscure, unjust, unfair or unfairly 
discriminatory to the policyholder, beneficiary or covered person under 
the policy.  

R590-277-5.  General Requirements.
                 (1)  Policy definitions.  No policy subject to this rule may   
contain  definitions  respecting  the  matters  defined  in  R590-277-3 
unless such definitions comply with the requirements of that section.  
                 (2)   Rights  of  spouse  and  dependents.   Except  for  an   
employer sponsored health plan, a policy;  
                 (a)   may not  provide for  termination  of coverage  of the   
spouse or a dependent solely because of the occurrence of an event 
specified for termination of coverage of the policyholder, other than for 
nonpayment of premium; and  
                 (b)  shall provide that in the event of the policyholder's death   
the spouse of the insured shall become the insured.  
                 (3)  Cancellation, renewability, and termination.  A policy   
cancellation, renewability and termination provision shall comply with 
Sections 31A-22-618.6 or 31A-22-618.7.  
                 (4)  Transplant donor coverage.  A policy providing coverage   
for  the  recipient  in  a  transplant  operation  shall  also  provide 
reimbursement of any medically necessary transplant expenses of a 
live donor.  
                 (5)   Notice  of  premium change.   A notice  of  change  in   
premium shall be given no fewer than 45 days before the renewal date.  
                 (6)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (b), a completed   
application shall be made part of the policy.  A copy of the completed 
application shall be provided to the applicant prior to, or upon delivery, 
of the policy.  
                 (b)  Subsection (6)(a) does not apply to:      
                 (i)  an employer sponsored health benefit plan; or      
                 (ii)  an individual policy where application was effectuated   
directly through heathcare.gov.  
                 (7)  A managed care organization offering a health benefit   
plan to an individual or small employer:  
                 (a)   shall  offer  coverage  to     all  individuals  and  eligible   
employees on a guaranteed basis without regard to health status;  
                 (b)  may modify coverage at  the time of renewal  to  the   
extent that such modification is consistent with federal and state law 
and effective on a uniform basis among all individuals in the health 
benefit plan; and  
                 (c)  must renew or continue coverage at the option of the   
policyholder, subject to Subsections 31A-22-618.6 and 618.7.  

R590-277-6.    Required Provisions.      
                 (1)   A  policy  and  certificate  shall  include  a  renewal,   
continuation,  and  nonrenewal  provision.   The  provision  shall  be 
appropriately captioned,  appear on the first  page of the policy and 
certificate, and clearly state the duration of coverage.  
                 (2)  Endorsement acceptance.      
                 (a)   Except  for  an  endorsement  by  which  the  insurer   
effectuates a request made in writing by the policyholder or exercises a 
specifically reserved right under the policy, an endorsement added to a 
policy after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal that reduces or 
eliminates  benefits  or  coverage  in  the  policy  shall  require  signed 
acceptance by the policyholder.  
                 (b)   After  the  date  of  policy issue,  an  endorsement  that   
increases benefits or coverage with a concurrent increase in premium 
during the policy term, must be agreed to in writing signed by the 
policyholder, except if the increased benefits or coverage is required by 
law.  
                 (3)   Additional  premium.   Where  a  separate  additional   
premium  is  charged  for  benefits  provided  in  connection  with  an 
endorsement, the premium charge shall be set forth in the policy or 
certificate.  
                 (4)  Benefit payment standard.  A policy or certificate that   
provides for the payment of benefits based on standards described as 
usual and customary, reasonable and customary, or words of similar 
import, shall include a definition of the terms and an explanation of the 
terms in its accompanying outline of coverage or certificate.  

R590-277-7.  Restrictions Relating to Premium Rates.
                 (1)   The  premium charged  shall  not  be  adjusted  more   
frequently  than  annually,  except  that  the  premium rates  may be 
changed:
                 (a)  to reflect changes to the enrollment;  
                 (b)  to reflect changes to the health benefit plan; or  
                 (c)  as expressly permitted by federal or state law.  
                 (2)   Premium rates  may vary only with  respect  to  the   
particular coverage involved on the basis of the following:
                 (a)  whether the plan covers an individual or family:  
                 (i)   the  total  family  premium  shall  include  only  the   
premiums for all covered family members over the age of twenty-
one and the three oldest children under the age of twenty one; and
                 (ii)  any rating variation on the basis of age or tobacco use   
must  be  applied  separately  to  the  portion  of  the  premium 
attributable to each covered family member;
                 (b)   geographic  rating  area,  determined  by  the   
policyholder's primary address, as follows:
                 (i)  Area 1, comprised of Cache and Rich counties;  
                 (ii)  Area 2, comprised of Box Elder, Morgan, and Weber   
counties;
                 (iii)   Area  3,  comprised  of  Davis,  Salt  Lake,  Summit,   
Tooele, and Wasatch counties;
                 (iv)  Area 4, comprised of Utah county;  
                 (v)  Area 5, comprised of Iron and Washington counties;   
and
                 (vi)   Area  6,  comprised  of  Beaver,  Carbon,  Daggett,   
Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Juab, Kane, Millard, Piute, San 
Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Uintah, and Wayne counties;
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                 (c)   age  of  each  enrollee,  as  of  the  date  of  the  policy   
issuance or  renewal,  in  accordance with the Utah Individual  and 
Small Employer Health Benefit Plan Age Curve; and
                 (d)  tobacco rate factor, not greater than 1.5.  
                 (3)  R590-277-7(2) does not apply to:  
                 (a)  a large employer health benefit plan; or  
                 (b)  an individual or small  employer    health benefit plan   
issued prior to January 1, 2014 in which the policy rating complies 
with:  
                 (i)  Title 31A-30, Individual, Small Employer, and Group   
Health Insurance Act; and  
                 (ii)  Rule R590-167, Individual, Small Employer, and Group   
Health Benefit Plan Rule  .  

R590-277-8.  Existing Policies.
                 A policy issued prior to the effective date of this rule shall be   
amended  to  comply  with  this  rule  on  the  first  policy  anniversary 
following the effective date of this rule.  

R590-277-9.  Penalties.
                 A person  found to  be in  violation  of  this  rule  shall  be   
subject to penalties as provided under Section 31A-2-308.

R590-277-10.  Enforcement Date.
                 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of   
this rule for policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2020.

R590-277-11.  Severability.
                 If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to   
any person or situation is held invalid, that invalidity may not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule which can be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end 
the provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.

KEY:  insurance, health insurance
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2019
Authorizing,  and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-45-
103; 31A-2-201(3)(a); 31A-23a-402(8); 31A-23a-412; 31A-2-202

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-5

Taking Big Game
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  43431

FILED:  12/10/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory Council  meetings and the Wildlife Board meetings 
conducted for taking public input and reviewing the big game 
rule.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revisions to this rule:  1) authorize the use of airguns with a 
bolt during any legal weapon hunts; 2) authorize and set the 
regulations for flying into a hunting unit during a hunt; and 3) 
require  successful  applicants  of  hunter's  choice  Rocky 
Mountain Goat hunts to complete an online orientation course 
prior to receiving the permit.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  These proposed rule amendments 
either clarify current regulations or set protocol for new hunts, 
all  of  these  changes  can  be  initiated  within  the  current 
workload  and  resources  of  the  Division,  therefore,   the 
Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) determines that these 
amendments do not create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or DWR's budget, since these changes will not 
increase  workload  and  can  be  carried  out  with  existing 
budget.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   Since  these  proposed 
amendments only make adjustments to current regulations, 
or in many instances simplifies current restrictions, this filing 
does  not  create any direct  cost  or  savings  impact  to  local 
governments.  Nor are local governments indirectly impacted 
because  this  rule  does  not  create  a  situation  requiring 
services from local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  These proposed rule amendments 
will  not  directly  impact  small  businesses  as  they  do  not 
require a service from small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
These amendments do not have the potential to create a cost 
impact  to  those  individuals  wishing  to  participate  in  the 
hunting opportunities.   The mandatory orientation course is 
offered free of charge and will only require 30 minutes of the 
successful applicants' time.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR 
has  determined  that  these  amendments  will  not  create 
additional costs for those participating in big game hunting in 
Utah.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined that 
these proposed rule  amendments will  not  result  in a  fiscal 
impact to businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mike Fowlks, Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses revenues or expenditures, 
because they currently do not benefit from the sale of big 

game permits or the regulations set forth in these rule 
amendments.

The  head  of  department  of  Natural  Resources,  Michael 
Styler, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-5.  Taking Big Game.
R657-5-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, 
the  Wildlife  Board has  established  this  rule  for  taking  deer,  elk, 
pronghorn, moose, bison, bighorn sheep, and Rocky Mountain goat.

(2)  Specific dates, areas, methods of take, requirements, 
and  other  administrative  details  which  may change  annually are 
published in  the guidebook of the Wildlife  Board for  taking big 
game.

R657-5-8.  Rifles, Shotguns, Airguns, and Crossbows.
(1)   A rifle  used to  hunt  big game must  fire  centerfire 

cartridges and expanding bullets.
(2)  A shotgun used to hunt big game must be 20 gauge or 

larger, firing only 00 or larger buckshot or slug ammunition.
(3)  An airgun used to hunt big game must:

                 (a)  be pneumatically powered;  
                 (b)   be  pressurized  solely  through  a  separate  charging   
device; and
                 (c)  may only fire a bolt or arrow:  
                 (i)  no less than 16 inches long;  
                 (ii)  with a fixed or expandable broadhead at least 7/8 inch   
wide at its widest position; and
                 (iii)   traveling  no  less  than  400  feet  per  second at  the   
muzzle.
                 (4)  (a)  A crossbow used to hunt big game must have a 
minimum draw weight  of 125 pounds and a positive mechanical 
safety mechanism.

(b)  A crossbow arrow or bolt used to hunt big game must 
be at least 16 inches long and have:

(i)  fixed broadheads that are at least 7/8 inch wide at the 
widest point; or

(ii)  expandable, mechanical broadheads that are at least 
7/8 inch wide at the widest point when the broadhead is in the open 
position.

(c)  Unless otherwise authorized by the division through a 
certificate of registration, it is unlawful for any person to:

(i)  hunt big game with a crossbow or airgun during a big 
game archery hunt;

(ii)  carry a cocked crossbow containing an arrow or a bolt 
while in or on any motorized vehicle on a public highway or other  
public right-of-way; or

(iii)  hunt any protected wildlife with a crossbow utilizing 
a  bolt  that  has  any  chemical,  explosive  or  electronic  device 
attached.

([4]5)  A crossbow used to  hunt big game may have a 
fixed  or  variable  magnifying  scope  only  during  an  any  weapon 
hunt.

R657-5-11.  Archery Equipment.
(1)  Archery equipment may be used during any big game 

hunt, except a muzzleloader hunt, provided:
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(a)  the minimum bow pull is 30 pounds at the draw or the 
peak, whichever comes first;

(b)   arrowheads  used  have  two  or  more  sharp  cutting 
edges that cannot pass through a 7/8 inch ring;

(c)  expanding arrowheads cannot pass through a 7/8 inch 
ring when expanded, and

(d)  arrows must be a minimum of 20 inches in length 
from the tip of the arrowhead to the tip of the nock.

(2)  The following equipment or devices may not be used 
to take big game:

(a)  a crossbow, except as provided in Subsection (5) and 
Rule R657-12;

(b)   arrows  with  chemically  treated  or  explosive 
arrowheads;

(c)   a  mechanical  device  for  holding  the  bow  at  any 
increment of draw, except as provided in Subsection (5) and Rule 
R657-12;

(d)  a release aid that is not hand held or that supports the 
draw weight of the bow, except as provided in Subsection (5) and 
Rule R657-12;[ or]

(e)  a bow with a magnifying aiming device; or
                 (f)  an airgun, except as provided in Subsection (5)  .

(3)  Arrows carried in or on a vehicle where a person is 
riding must be in an arrow quiver or a closed case.

(4)(a)  A person who has obtained an archery permit for a 
big game hunt may:

(i) only use archery equipment authorized in Subsections 
(1) and (2) to take the species authorized in the permit; and

(ii)  not possess or be in control of a crossbow, draw-lock, 
rifle, shotgun or muzzleloader while in the field during an archery 
hunt.

(b) "Field" for purposes of this section, means a location 
where the permitted species of wildlife is likely to be found, but 
does not include a hunter's established campsite or the interior of a 
fully enclosed automobile or truck.

(c)  The provisions of Subsection (a) do not apply to:
(i)  a person lawfully hunting upland game or waterfowl;
(ii)   a person licensed to hunt big game species during 

hunts that coincide with the archery hunt, provided the person is in 
compliance with the regulations of that hunt and possesses only the 
weapons authorized for that hunt;

(iii)  livestock owners protecting their livestock;
(iv)   a person licensed to  carry a  concealed weapon in 

accordance  with  Title  53,  Chapter  5,  Part  7  of  the  Utah  Code, 
provided the person is not utilizing the concealed firearm to hunt or 
take protected wildlife; or

(v)  a person possessing a crossbow or draw-lock under a 
certificate of registration issued pursuant to R657-12.

(5)  A person who has obtained an any weapon permit for 
a  big  game  hunt  may use  archery  equipment  authorized  in  this 
Section to take the species authorized in the permit, [including]and 
may also use a crossbow[ or], draw-lock, or airgun satisfying the 
minimum requirements of this rule.

(6)(a)  A person  hunting  an  archery-only  season  on  a 
once-in-a-lifetime hunt may:

(i)  only use archery equipment authorized in Subsections 
(1) and (2) to take the species authorized in the permit; and

(ii)  not possess or be in control of a crossbow, draw-lock, 
rifle, shotgun[ or ], muzzleloader, or airgun while in the field during 
the archery-only season.

(b)  "Field" for purposes of this section, means a location 
where the permitted species of wildlife is likely to be found, but 
does not include a hunter's established campsite or the interior of a 
fully enclosed automobile or truck.

R657-5-13.  Spotlighting.
(1)  Except as provided in Section 23-13-17:
(a)  a person may not use or cast the rays of any spotlight, 

headlight, or other artificial light to:
(i)  take protected wildlife; or
(ii)  locate protected wildlife while in possession of a rifle, 

shotgun, archery equipment, crossbow, [or ]muzzleloader, or airgun.
(b)  the use of a spotlight or other artificial light in a field, 

woodland, or forest where protected wildlife are generally found is 
probable cause of attempting to locate protected wildlife.

(2)  The provisions of this section do not apply to:
(a)  the use of headlights, illuminated sight pins on a bow, 

or other artificial light in a usual manner where there is no attempt  
or intent to locate protected wildlife; or

(b)   a  person  licensed  to  carry a  concealed  weapon in 
accordance  with  Title  53,  Chapter  5,  Part  7  of  the  Utah  Code, 
provided the person is not utilizing the concealed firearm to hunt or 
take wildlife.

R657-5-14.  Use of Vehicle or Aircraft.
(1)(a)  A person may not use an airplane, drone, or any 

other  airborne  vehicle  or  device,  or  any motorized  terrestrial  or 
aquatic  vehicle,  including  snowmobiles  and  other  recreational 
vehicles,  except  a  vessel  as  provided  in  Subsection  (c),  to  take 
protected wildlife.

(b)   A person  may  not  take  protected  wildlife  being 
chased,  harmed,  harassed,  rallied,  herded,  flushed,  pursued  or 
moved by any vehicle, device, or conveyance listed in Subsection 
(a).

(c)  Big game may be taken from a vessel provided:
(i)  the motor of a motorboat has been completely shut off;
(ii)  the sails of a sailboat have been furled; and
(iii)  the vessel's progress caused by the motor or sail has 

ceased.
(2[)(a])  A person may not use any type of aircraft, drone, 

or other airborne vehicle or device from 48 hours before any big 
game hunt begins in the area where they are flying through 48 hours 
after any big game hunting season ends in the area where they are 
flying to[:  
               (i)  transport a hunter or hunting equipment into a hunting 
area;  
               (ii)  transport a big game carcass; or  
               (iii) ] locate, or attempt to observe or locate any protected 
wildlife.
[              (b)   Flying slowly at  low altitudes,  hovering,  circling or 
repeatedly flying over a forest, marsh, field, woodland or rangeland 
where protected wildlife is likely to be found may be used as evidence 
of violations of Subsections (1) and (2).]
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(3)(a)  The provisions of this section do not apply to the 
operation of an aircraft, drone, or other airborne vehicle or device 
[in a usual manner, or landings and departures]used for the purposes 
of  transporting  hunters,  equipment,  or  legally  harvested  wildlife, 
provided the aircraft  takes off  and lands only from  an  improved 
[airstrips]airstrip,  where  there  is  no  attempt  or  intent  to  locate 
protected wildlife.
                 (b)  Hunters that are transported by aircraft into an area   
may not hunt protected wildlife until the following day.
                 (c)  For the purposes of this section, "improved airstrip"   
means  a  take-off  and  landing  area  with  a  graded  or  otherwise  
mechanically improved surface free of barriers or other hazards that 
is traditionally used by pilots for the purposes of air travel.

R657-5-32.  Limited Entry Bull Elk Hunts.
(1)  To hunt in a limited entry bull elk area, a hunter must 

obtain a limited entry bull elk permit for the area.
(2)(a)  A limited entry bull  elk permit allows a person, 

using the prescribed legal weapon, to take one bull elk within the 
area  and  season  specified  on  the  permit,  except  as  provided  in 
Subsection (5) and excluding elk cooperative wildlife management 
units located within a limited entry unit.  Spike bull elk restrictions 
do not apply to limited entry elk permittees.

(3)(a)  The Wildlife Board may establish a multi-season 
hunting opportunity in the big game guidebooks for selected limited 
entry bull elk units.

(b)  A person that obtains a limited entry bull elk permit 
with  a  multi-season  opportunity  may  hunt  during  any  of  the 
following  limited  entry  bull  elk  seasons  established  in  the 
guidebooks  of  the  Wildlife  Board  for  the  unit  specified  on  the 
limited entry bull elk permit:

(i)   archery  season,  using  only  archery  equipment 
prescribed in R657-5-11 for taking elk;

(ii)   muzzleloader  season,  using  only  muzzleloader 
equipment prescribed in R657-5-10 for taking elk; and

(iii)   any  weapon  season,  using  any  legal  weapon 
prescribed in R657-5 for taking elk.

(c)  A landowner association under R657-43 is not eligible 
to  receive  a  multi-season  hunting  opportunity  for  limited  entry 
units.

(4)  A limited entry bull  elk permit,  including a permit 
with a multi-season opportunity, is valid only within the boundaries 
of the unit designated on the permit, excluding:

(a)  areas closed to hunting;
(b)  elk cooperative wildlife management units; and
(c)  Indian tribal trust lands.
(5)  A person who possesses any limited entry archery bull 

elk permit, including a permit with a multi-season opportunity, may 
hunt  bull  elk  within  any  extended  archery  area  during  the 
established  extended  archery  season  for  that  area,  provided  the 
person:

(a)  did not take a bull elk during the limited entry hunt;
(b)   uses  the  prescribed  archery  equipment  for  the 

extended archery area;
(c)  completes the annual Archery Ethics Course required 

to hunt extended archery areas during the extended archery season; 
and

(d)  possesses on their person while hunting:
(i)  the limited entry bull elk permit; and

(ii)  the Archery Ethics Course Certificate of Completion.
(6)  "Prescribed legal weapon" means for purposes of this 

subsection:
(a)  archery equipment,  as defined in R657-5-11,  when 

hunting the archery season, excluding a crossbow[ or], draw-lock, 
and airgun;

(b)   muzzleloader  equipment,  as  defined in  R657-5-10, 
when hunting the muzzleloader season; and

(c)   any legal  weapon,  including a  muzzleloader[ and], 
crossbow with a fixed or variable magnifying scope or draw-lock, 
or airgun when hunting during the any weapon season.

(7)(a)   A person  who  has  obtained  a  limited  entry  or 
cooperative wildlife management unit bull elk permit must report 
hunt  information  within  30  calendar  days  after  the  end  of  the 
hunting  season,  whether  the  permit  holder  was  successful  or 
unsuccessful in harvesting a bull elk.

(b)  Limited entry and cooperative wildlife management 
unit  bull  elk  permit  holders  must  report  hunt  information  by 
telephone, or through the division's Internet address.

(c)  A person who fails to comply with the requirement in 
Subsection  (a)  shall  be  ineligible  to  apply  for  any  once-in-a-
lifetime,  premium  limited  entry,  limited  entry,  or  cooperative 
wildlife management unit  permit or bonus point in the following 
year.

(d)  Late questionnaires may be accepted pursuant to Rule 
R657-42-9(2).

(8)  A person who has obtained a limited entry bull elk 
permit may not hunt during any other elk hunt or obtain any other 
elk permit, except as provided in Subsections (5) and R657-5-33(3).

R657-5-33.  Antlerless Elk Hunts.
(1)   To  hunt  antlerless  elk,  a  hunter  must  obtain  an 

antlerless elk permit.
(2)(a)  An antlerless elk permit allows a person to take one 

antlerless elk using the weapon type, within the area,  and during 
season dates specified on the permit and in the Antlerless guidebook 
of the Wildlife Board for taking big game.

(b)   A person  may  not  hunt  antlerless  elk  on  an  elk 
cooperative wildlife management unit unless that person obtains an 
antlerless  elk  permit  for  that  specific  cooperative  wildlife 
management unit.

(3)(a)  A person may obtain three elk permits each year, in 
combination as follows:

(i)  a maximum of one bull elk permit;
(ii)   a  maximum  of  one  antlerless  elk  permit  issued 

through the division's antlerless big game drawing; and
(iii)  a maximum of two antlerless elk permits acquired 

over the counter or on-line after the antlerless big game drawing is 
finalized, including antlerless elk:

(A)  control permits, as described in Subsection (5);
(B)  depredation permits, as described in R657-44-8;
(C)  mitigation permit vouchers, as defined in R657-44-

2(2); and
(D)  private lands only permits, as described in Subsection 

(6).
(b)  Antlerless  elk  mitigation  permits  obtained  by  a 

landowner  or  lessee  under  R657-44-3  do  not  count  towards  the 
annual three elk permit limitation prescribed in this subsection.
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(i)  "Mitigation permit" has the same meaning as defined 
in R657-44-2(2).

(c)  For the purposes of obtaining multiple elk permits, a 
hunter's choice elk permit is considered a bull elk permit.

(4)(a)  A person who obtains an antlerless elk permit and 
any of the permits listed in Subsection (b) may use the antlerless elk 
permit during the established season for the antlerless elk permit 
and during the established season for the applicable permits listed in 
Subsection (b), provided:

(i)  the permits are both valid for the same area;
(ii)  the appropriate archery equipment is used, if hunting 

antlerless elk during an archery season or hunt; and
(iii)  the appropriate muzzleloader hunt equipment is used, 

if hunting antlerless elk during a muzzleloader season or hunt.
(b)(i)  General buck deer for archery, muzzleloader, any 

legal weapon, or dedicated hunter;
(ii)  General bull elk for archery, muzzleloader, any legal 

weapon, or multi-season;
(iii)   Premium  limited  entry  buck  deer  for  archery, 

muzzleloader, any weapon, or multi-season;
(iv)  Limited entry buck deer for archery, muzzleloader, 

any legal weapon, or multi-season;
(v)  Limited entry bull elk for archery,  muzzleloader or 

any legal weapon, or multi-season.
(vi)   Antlerless  deer  or  elk,  excluding  antlerless  elk 

control permits.
(c)  A person that possess an unfilled antlerless elk permit 

and  harvests  an  animal  under  authority  of  a  permit  listed  in 
Subsection (b), may continue hunting antlerless elk as prescribed in 
Subsections  (a)  and  (b)  during  the  remaining  portions  of  the 
Subsection (b) permit season.

(5)(a)  To obtain an antlerless elk control permit, a person 
must  first  obtain  a  big  game  buck,  bull,  or  a  once-in-a-lifetime 
permit.

(b)  An antlerless elk control permit allows a person to 
take one antlerless elk using the same weapon type, during the same 
season dates, and within areas of overlap between the boundary of 
the buck, bull, or once-in-a-lifetime permit and the boundary of the 
antlerless  elk  control  permit,  as  provided  in  the  Antlerless 
guidebook by the Wildlife Board.

(c)   Antlerless  elk  control  permits  are  sold  over  the 
counter or online after the division's antlerless big game drawing is 
finalized.

(d)  A person that possess an unfilled antlerless elk control 
permit and harvests an animal under the buck, bull,  or once-in-a-
lifetime permit referenced in Subsection (b), may continue hunting 
antlerless elk as prescribed in Subsection (b) during the remaining 
portions of the buck, bull, or once-in-a-lifetime permit season.

(6)(a)  A private lands only permit allows a person to take 
one antlerless elk on private land within a prescribed unit using any 
weapon during the season dates and area provided in the Big Game 
guidebook by the Wildlife Board.

(b)  No boundary extension or buffer zones on public land 
will be applied to private lands only permits.

(c)  Private lands only permits are sold over the counter or 
online after the division's antlerless big game drawing is finalized.

(d)  "Private lands" means, for purposes of this subsection, 
any land owned in fee by an individual or legal entity, excluding:

(i)  land owned by the state or federal government;

(ii)  land owned by a county or municipality;
(iii)  land owned by an Indian tribe;
(iv)  land enrolled in a Cooperative Wildlife Management 

Unit under R657-37; and
(v)  land where public access for big game hunting has 

been secured.

R657-5-40.  Rocky Mountain Goat Hunts.
(1)  To hunt Rocky Mountain goat, a hunter must obtain a 

Rocky Mountain goat permit.
(2)  A person who has obtained a Rocky Mountain goat 

permit may not obtain any other Rocky Mountain goat permit or 
hunt during any other Rocky Mountain goat hunt.

(3)  A Rocky Mountain goat of either sex may be legally 
taken on a hunter's choice permit.

(4)   The  goat  permit  allows  a  person  to  take one  goat 
within  the  area,  during  the  seasons,  and  using  the  weapon  type 
prescribed by the Wildlife Board.

(5)  A female-only goat permit allows a person to take one 
femalegoat  within  the  area,  during  the  seasons,  and  using  the 
weapon  type  specified  on  the  permit  and  in  the  Antlerless 
guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big game.

(6)(a)  An  orientation  course  is  required  for  Rocky 
Mountain goat hunters who draw  or purchase a  female-goat only 
[permits.  Hunters will be notified of the orientation date, time and 
location.]permit or a hunter's choice permit.
                 (b)   The  orientation  course  must  be  completed  online   
through the division's website.
                 (c)  The orientation course must be completed before the   
hunter obtains his or her permit.

(7)(a)  A person who has obtained a Rocky Mountain goat 
permit must report hunt information within 30 calendar days after 
the  end  of  the  hunting  season,  whether  the  permit  holder  was 
successful or unsuccessful in harvesting a Rocky Mountain goat.

(b)  Rocky Mountain goat permit holders must report hunt 
information by telephone, or through the division's Internet address.

(c)  A person who fails to comply with the requirement in 
Subsection  (a)  shall  be  ineligible  to  apply  for  any  once-in-a-
lifetime,  premium  limited  entry,  limited  entry,  or  cooperative 
wildlife management unit permit or bonus points in the following 
year.

(d)  Late questionnaires may be accepted pursuant to Rule 
R657-42-9(2).

KEY:  wildlife, game laws, big game seasons
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 9, 
2018]2019
Notice of Continuation:  October 5, 2015
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19; 23-16-5; 23-16-6

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-9

Taking Waterfowl, Wilson's Snipe and 
Coot
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  43430
FILED:  12/10/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory  Council  and  Wildlife  Board  meetings  conducted 
annually for taking public input and reviewing the Division of 
Wildlife Resources' (DWR) waterfowl program.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revisions  to  this  rule:   1)  establish  a  hunt  boundary  for 
Antelope Island; and 2) authorize the use of class 1 electric 
bikes on Waterfowl Management Areas (WMA).

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE STATE  BUDGET:   These  amendments  establish  a 
boundary  for  Antelope  Island  and  allows  for  additional 
opportunity  or  hunters  to  use  electric  bikes.   DWR  has 
determined that these amendments do not create a cost or 
savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, since 
these changes will not increase workload and can be carried 
out with existing budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Since these amendments have 
minimal impact on individual  hunters and no impact on the 
local governments, DWR finds that this filing does not create 
any direct cost or savings impact to local governments.  Nor 
are local governments indirectly impacted because this rule 
does  not  create  a  situation  requiring  services  from  local 
governments.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   These  amendments  only  add  a 
hunt  boundary  and  establish  the  use  for  electric  bikes  in 
WMA's,  therefore,  this filing does not have the potential  to 
generate a cost or savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
These amendments only add a hunt boundary and establish 
the use for electric bikes in WMA's, therefore, this filing does 
not have the potential to generate a cost or savings impact to 
sportsmen or the other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR 
has  determined  that  these  amendments  will  not  create 
additional  costs for those who participate in wildlife  related 
activities in Utah.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined that 
these proposed rule  amendments will  not  result  in a  fiscal 
impact to businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mike Fowlks, Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0
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*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses revenues or expenditures, 
because they currently do not benefit from the sale of 
small game licenses, nor do the amendments to this rule 
require any services from non-small businesses.

The head of department of Natural Resources, Mike Styler, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-9.  Taking Waterfowl, Wilson's Snipe and Coot.
R657-9-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, 
and in accordance with 50 CFR 20,  50 CFR 32.64 and 50 CFR 
27.21,  2004  edition,  which  is  incorporated  by  reference,  the 
Wildlife  Board  has  established  this  rule  for  taking  waterfowl, 
Wilson's snipe, and coot.

(2)  Specific dates, areas, limits, requirements and other 
administrative details which may change annually are published in 
the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking waterfowl, Wilson's 
snipe and coot.

R657-9-12.  Motorized Vehicle Access.
(1)  "Motorized vehicle" for the purposes of this section 

means a vehicle that is self-propelled or possesses the ability to be 
self-propelled.   This  does  not  include  vehicles  moved  solely by 
human  power,  motorized  wheelchairs,  or  an  electric  personal 
assisted mobility device[, or an electric assisted bicycle].

(2)  Motorized vehicle travel is restricted to county roads, 
improved roads and parking areas.

(3)   Off-highway  vehicles  are  not  permitted  on  state 
waterfowl management areas, except as marked and posted open.

(4)  Off-highway vehicles are not permitted on Bear River 
Migratory Bird Refuge.

(5)   Motorized  boat  use  is  restricted  on  waterfowl 
management  areas  as  specified  in  the  guidebook of  the  Wildlife 
Board for taking waterfowl, Wilson's snipe and coot.
                 (6)   Electric-assisted  bicycles  propelled  in  part  by   
electrical  assistance  are  only  permitted  on  state  waterfowl 
management areas if they meet the Class 1 definition provided in 
Utah Code Subsection 41-6a-102(8) and (17).

R657-9-30.  Rest Areas and No Shooting Areas.
(1)  A person may only access and use state waterfowl 

management areas in accordance with state and federal law, state 
administrative code, and proclamations of the Wildlife Board.

(2)(a)  The  division  may  establish  portions  of  state 
waterfowl  management  areas  as  "rest  areas" for  wildlife  that  are 
closed to the public and trespass of any kind is prohibited.

(b)  In addition to any areas identified in the proclamation 
of  the  Wildlife  Board  for  taking  waterfowl,  Wilson's  snipe,  and 
coot, the following areas are designated as rest areas:

(i)  That portion of Clear Lake Waterfowl Management 
Area known as Spring Lake;

(ii)  That portion of Desert Lake Waterfowl Management 
Area known as Desert Lake;

(iii)  That portion of Public Shooting Grounds Waterfowl 
Management  Area that lies above and adjacent  to  the Hull  Lake 
Diversion Dike known as Duck Lake;

(iv)  That portion of Salt Creek Waterfowl Management 
Area known as Rest Lake;

(v)  That  portion  of  Farmington  Bay  Waterfowl 
Management Area that lies in the northwest quarter of unit one; and

(iv)  That portion of Ogden Bay Waterfowl Management 
Area known as North Bachman.

(c)  Maps of all  rest  areas will  be available at  division 
offices,  on  the  division's  website,  and  to  the  extent  necessary, 
marked with signage at each rest area.

(3)(a)  The  division  may  establish  portions  of  state 
waterfowl  management  areas  as  "No Shooting Areas" where  the 
discharge of weapons for the purposes of hunting is prohibited.

(b)  No Shooting  Areas  remain  open  to  the  public  for 
other lawful activities.

(c)  In addition to any areas identified in the proclamation 
of  the  Wildlife  Board  for  taking  waterfowl,  Wilson's  snipe,  and 
coot, the following areas are No Shooting Areas:

(i)  All of Antelope Island, including all areas within 600 
feet of the upland vegetative line or other clearly defined high water 
mark;
                 (ii)    Within 600 feet of the north and south side of the 
center line of Antelope Island causeway;

([ii]iii)  Within 600 feet of all structures found at Brown's 
Park Waterfowl Management Area;

([iii]iv)  The  following  portions  of  Farmington  Bay 
Waterfowl Management Area:

(A)  within 600 feet of the Headquarters;
(B)  within  600  feet  of  dikes  and  roads  accessible  by 

motorized vehicles; and
(C)  within the area designated as the Learning Center.
([iv]v)  Within 600 feet of the headquarters area of Ogden 

Bay Waterfowl Management Area;
([v]vi)  Within the boundaries of all  State Parks except 

those designated open by appropriate signage as provided in Rule 
R651-614-4;

([vi]vii)  Within  1/3  of  a  mile  of  the  Great  Salt  Lake 
Marina;

([xi]viii)  Below the high[ ]-water mark of Gunnison Bend 
Reservoir  and  its  inflow  upstream  to  the  Southerland  Bridge, 
Millard County;

([xii]xi)  All property within the boundary of the Salt Lake 
International Airport; and

([xii]x)  All  property  within  the  boundaries  of  federal 
migratory  bird  refuges,  unless  hunting  waterfowl  specifically 
authorized by the federal government.

(4)  The division  reserves  the right  to  manage division 
lands and regulate their use consistent with Utah Code Section 23-
21-7 and Utah Administrative Code R657-28.
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KEY:  wildlife, birds, migratory birds, waterfowl
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
7, 2018]2019
Notice of Continuation:  August 1, 2016
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19; 50 CFR part 20

Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources
R657-38

Dedicated Hunter Program
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  43432

FILED:  12/10/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is being amended pursuant to Wildlife 
Board  meetings  conducted  for  taking  public  input  and 
reviewing  the  Division  of  Wildlife  Resources'  (DWR) 
Dedicated Hunter Program.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
revisions  to  this  rule:   1)  consolidate  related  sections  for 
simplification; 2) eliminate redundancy and add clarity to rule 
intent  throughout;  3)  establish  a  deadline  for  extension 
requests;   4)  clarify timeframes in  which the service hours 
must  be  completed;  and  5)  clarify  the  withdrawal 
requirements and number of permits allowed for a withdrawal.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 23-14-18 and Section 23-14-19

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   These  rule  amendment  make 
technical  and  clarifying  changes  and  thus  DWR  has 
determined that these amendments do not create a cost or 
savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, since 
the changes will not increase workload and can be carried out 
with the existing budget.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Since these amendments are 
only clarifying or simplifying processes already in place, this 
filing does  not  create any direct  cost  or  savings impact  to 
local  governments.   Nor  are  local  governments  indirectly 
impacted  because  this  rule  does  not  create  a  situation 
requiring services from local governments.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  These amendments simply make 
technical and clarifying changes, therefore, DWR determines 
that the amendments do not have the potential to generate a 
cost or savings impact to small businesses.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
These  amendments  simply  make  technical  and  clarifying 
changes,  therefore,  DWR  had  determined  that  these 

amendments do not have the potential to generate a cost or 
savings impact to other persons.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  DWR 
has  determined  that  these  amendments  will  not  create 
additional savings or costs for those who wish to participate in 
the program.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined that 
these proposed rule  amendments will  not  result  in a  fiscal 
impact to businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WILDLIFE RESOURCES
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE

SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Staci Coons by phone at 801-538-4718, by FAX at 801-538-
4709, or by Internet E-mail at stacicoons@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Mike Fowlks, Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0
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Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses revenues or expenditures, 
because they currently do not benefit from the sale of 
dedicated hunter certificate of registrations.

The  head  of  department  of  Natural  Resources,  Michael 
Styler, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources.
R657-38.  Dedicated Hunter Program.
R657-38-1.  Purpose and Authority.

(1)   Under  the authority of  Section  23-14-18,  this  rule 
provides the standards and requirements for qualified deer hunters 
to  participate  in  the  Dedicated  Hunter  Program  by  obtaining  a 
certificate of registration.

(2)   The  Dedicated  Hunter  Program  is  a  program 
that[ provides]:

(a)  provides expanded hunting opportunities;
(b)  [opportunities to participate]requires participation in 

wildlife conservation projects; and
(c)   [education]provides  educational  training in  hunter 

ethics and wildlife management principles.

R657-38-2.  Definitions.
(1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.
(2)  In addition:
(a)  "Dedicated Hunter Permit" means a general buck deer 

permit  issued  to  a  participant  in  the  Dedicated  Hunter  Program, 
which  authorizes  the  participant  to  hunt  deer  during the  general 
archery,  general  muzzleloader  and  general  any  weapon  open 
seasons in the hunt area specified on the permit.

(b)   "Division"  means  the  Utah  Division  of  Wildlife 
Resources.
                 (c)    "Hunt area" means an area prescribed by the Wildlife 
Board where general archery, general muzzleloader and general any 
legal weapon buck deer hunting is open to permit holders for taking 
deer.

([c]d)  "Participant" means a person who has remitted the 
appropriate fee and has been issued a Dedicated Hunter certificate 
of registration.

[              (d)  "Program" means the Dedicated Hunter Program]
(e)  "Program" means the Dedicated Hunter Program

                 (f  )  "Program harvest" means using a Dedicated Hunter 
permit  to  tag  a  harvested  deer  or  failing  to  return  a  Dedicated 
Hunter  permit  with  the  kill  tag  attached,  while  enrolled  in  the 
program.

([f]g)  "Wildlife conservation project" means any project 
that provides wildlife habitat protection or enhancement, improves 
public hunting or fishing access, or directly benefits wildlife or the 
Division's current needs and is pre-authorized by the Division.

R657-38-3.  Dedicated Hunter Certificates of Registration.
(1)(a)  To participate in the program, a person must apply 

for,  [obtain]be issued,  and sign a  Dedicated Hunter certificate of 
registration  as  prescribed  by the  Division.[  A participant  is  not 
required to have the Dedicated Hunter certificate of registration on 
their person while hunting.]

(b)  Certificates of registration are issued by the Division 
through a drawing as prescribed in the guidebook of the Wildlife 
Board for taking big game and R657-62.

(c)  Certificates  of  registration  are  valid  for  [3]three 
consecutive years, except as provided by R657-38-10 and R657-38-
13, beginning on the date the big game drawing results are released 
and  ending  on  the  last  day  of  the  general  season  hunt  for  the 
[3rd]third year of enrollment.

(d)  The  [number]quantity of  Dedicated  Hunter 
certificates of [registration]registrations is limited to 15[%] percent 
of  the  total  annual  general  season  buck  deer  quota  for  each 
respective hunt area.

([i]e)  Certificates of registration remaining unissued from 
the  Dedicated  Hunter  portion  of  the  big  game  drawing  shall  be 
redistributed as  general  single-season permits  for  their  respective 
hunt areas in the general buck deer drawing.

(2)  The  Division  may  deny  issuance  of  a  Dedicated 
Hunter certificate of registration for any of the reasons identified as 
a basis for suspension in Section 23-19-9(7) and R657-38-15.

(3)(a)  A certificate of registration conditionally authorizes 
the participant to obtain [and use ]a Dedicated Hunter permit which 
may be used to hunt deer within the area listed on the permit, during 
the  general  archery,  general  muzzleloader  and  general  any  legal 
weapon buck deer seasons according to the dates and boundaries 
established by the Wildlife Board.
                 (b)    When available,  the  certificate  of  registration  may 
also authorize [hunting within]the permit to include the general deer 
archery extended area during the extended season dates.

([a]c)  The person must use the appropriate [weapons and 
equipment otherwise applicable to]weapon type specified by each 
season and boundary.

(4)  The  participant's  [selected]  hunt  area,  as  issued 
through the drawing, shall remain the same for the entire duration of 
that program enrollment period.

(5)  Participants in the program shall  be subject to any 
changes  subsequently  made  to  this  or  other  [rulesduring]rules 
during the term of enrollment[, unless a variance is authorized by 
the Division].

R657-38-4.  Applications for Certificates of Registration.
(1)  Applications to obtain a Dedicated Hunter certificate 

of registration are made pursuant to R657-62-16.
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(2)  To  apply  for  a  Dedicated  Hunter  certificate  of 
registration, applicants must:

(a)  have a valid Utah hunting or combination license;
(b)  meet  all  age,  hunter  education,  and  license 

requirements in Sections 23-19-11, 23-19-22, 23-19-24, and 23-19-
26 and in applicable rules[;], except that:

(i)  A person 11 years of age may apply for and obtain a 
Dedicated  Hunter  certificate  of  registration  if  that  person's 
[12th]twelfth birthday falls  in  the calendar  year  the certificate  is 
issued[.  A]; and
                 (ii)   a   person  may  not  hunt  big  game  prior  to  their 
[12th]twelfth birthday; and

(c)  be compliant with the restrictions in Subsection (2).
(3)  A person under any wildlife suspension may not apply 

for  a  certificate  of  registration  until  their  suspension  period  has 
ended.

R657-38-5.  Dedicated Hunter Preference Point System.
[              (1)   ]Dedicated  Hunter  Preference  points  are  issued 
pursuant to R657-62-10.
R657-38-6.  Fees.

(1)  Any person who is 17 years of age or younger on July 
31[st] of the application year shall pay the youth participant fees.

(2)  Any person who is 18 years of age or older on July 
31[st] of the application year, or is a Lifetime License holder, shall 
pay the [adult]associated participant fees.
[              (3)  Lifetime License holders shall pay a reduced fee as 
authorized by the annual fee schedule.]

(3)([4]a)  A participant who enters the program as a Utah 
resident and thereafter becomes a nonresident[,] shall be changed to 
a nonresident status and may be issued nonresident permits  [at no 
additional charge  ]for the remainder of the  [three-year  ]enrollment 
period.
                 (i)  No additional fee shall be applied to the nonresident   
certificate  of  registration  or  its  respective  permits  following  this 
change.

(5)(a)  A  participant  who  enters  the  program  as  a 
nonresident  and  thereafter  becomes  a  Utah  resident,  shall  be 
changed  to a  resident  status  and  may be issued  resident  permits 
[with  no  reimbursement  of  the  higher  nonresident  fee  ]for  the 
remainder of the [three-year ]enrollment period.
                 (i)   No refund  will  be  issued  for  the  difference  of  the   
resident  certificate  of  registration  fee  or  its  respective  permits 
following this change.

R657-38-7.  Refunds.
(1)  A refund  for  the  Dedicated  Hunter  certificate  of 

registration  may  not  be  issued,  except  as  provided  in 
[Section]Sections 23-19-38 and 38.2 and R657-42.

(2)  Any eligible  refund  of  a  certificate  of  registration 
fee[,] may be issued pro rata, based on the number of years in which 
any portion  of  a  hunt  may have  occurred  during  the  enrollment 
period.

(3)  Drawing application fees are nonrefundable.
(4)  A refund shall not be issued under any circumstance if 

a participant's harvest record indicates two program harvests.

R657-38-8.   Wildlife  Conservation  and  Ethics  Course 
Requirement.

(1)   After  [successfully  obtaining]being  issued a 
Dedicated Hunter certificate of registration and prior to obtaining 
the first Dedicated Hunter permit of the program, a participant must 
complete a wildlife conservation and ethics course as prescribed by 
the Division.

(2)   The  wildlife  conservation  and  ethics  course  is 
available through the Division's [Internet site]Website.

(3)  The Division shall keep a record of all participants  
who  complete  the  wildlife  conservation  and  ethics  course as 
required by Utah law.

R657-38-9.  Service Hour Requirement.
(1)(a)   [Except  as  provided  in  R657-38-14,  each]A 

participant  [in]must  complete the  [program  shall  provide  a  ]
minimum [of 32 hours]annual required service hours as a volunteer 
on Division -approved wildlife conservation projects[.
               (i)  A participant may obtain a permit in the 1st year of the 
program without having provided service hours.] in order to obtain 
a Dedicated Hunter permit.
[              (ii)  A participant must have completed a minimum of 16 
service hours prior to receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in the 
2nd year of the program.
               (iii)  A participant must have completed a minimum of 32 
total service hours prior to receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in 
the 3rd year of the program.]
                 (b)  A participant must complete a minimum of 8 service   
hours prior to receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in the first year 
of the program.
                 (c)  A participant must complete a minimum total of 24   
service hours prior to receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in the 
second year of the program.
                 (d)  A participant must complete a minimum total of 32   
service hours prior to receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in the 
third year of the program.
                 (e)  If the participant has two program harvests, the full 32   
hours must be completed prior to the expiration of the certificate of 
registration.

([b]f)   If  [the]a participant having two program harvests 
fails to complete the  [minimum 32]required hours of service  [by 
the]prior to expiration of the certificate of registration[ in the 3rd 
year], the participant [will be]is ineligible to apply for or obtain any 
Utah  hunting  [licenses]license or  [permits]permit until  the 
remaining service hours have been completed.

([i]g)  After  a  certificate  of  registration  has  expired, 
incomplete  service  hours  may  be  completed  through  Division 
approved projects or by payment at the established purchase rate.

([ii]2)  A  participant  who  has  not  been  issued  any 
Dedicated  Hunter  permits  during  the  enrollment  shall  not  be 
required to complete the service hour requirement.

([c]3)(a)   Residents  and  nonresidents  may  complete 
service  hour  requirements  through  service,  purchase,  or  a 
combination of the two options.
[              (d)  If a participant fails to fulfill the wildlife conservation 
and ethics course or the minimum service requirements in any year 
of  participation,  the  participant  shall  not  be  issued  a  Dedicated 
Hunter permit for that year.]
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([2]b)   Wildlife  conservation  projects  may  be 
[designed]provided by  the  Division,  or  any  other  individual  or 
entity, but must be pre-approved by the Division.

([a]c)  Goods  or  services  [provided]donated to  the 
Division[ for wildlife conservation projects] by a participant may 
be, at the discretion of the Division, substituted for service hours 
based upon current market values or comparative state contract rates 
for the goods or services, and the approved service hour purchase 
rate.

([b]d)  The  Division  shall  publicize  the  dates,  times, 
locations and description of approved wildlife conservation projects 
and activities on the Division['s Internet site]'s Website.

([3]4)(a)  Service  hours  [must  be  completed  within 
the]performed prior to an enrollment [period.]shall not be accepted 
as service credit.

([a]b)  Service hours exceeding the  [32 hour  ]minimum 
requirement  shall not be applicable beyond the enrollment period 
and  shall  not  be  credited  to  any  subsequent  certificate  of 
[registrations]registration.

([4)  Except as provided in R657-38-14 for participants 
surrendering  due  to  injury  or  illness,  all  participants]5)(a) 
Participants are required to perform their own service hours.

([a]b)  Service  hours  are  not  transferrable  to  other 
participants or certificates of registration.

R657-38-10.  [Service Hour Exceptions and Program]Certificate 
of Registration Extension.

(1)(a)  A participant who is a member of the United States 
Armed Forces  or  public  safety organization  that  is  mobilized  or 
deployed on orders in the interest of national defense or declared 
state  of emergency  while  enrolled in the program  may request  a 
one-year program extension if[;]:

([a]i)  the person is mobilized or deployed for a minimum 
period of [3]three consecutive months[,]; or[;]

([b]ii)  the participant is mobilized or deployed during the 
general buck deer season.

([i]b)  [The extension may not be granted for a year where 
the  participant  was  issued  a  Dedicated  Hunter  permit  and  the 
division determines]The participant must provide evidence of the 
mobilization  or  deployment  period  and  that  the  mobilization  or 
deployment  precluded  the  participant  from  using  the  Dedicated 
Hunter permit.
                 (c)  An extension may not be granted if   the participant 
hunted [with]during the [permit]general deer season.

([2]d)  If an extension is granted[:] due to mobilization or 
deployment:

([a]i)  the minimum annual program requirements shall be 
postponed into the subsequent year of the enrollment; [and]

([b]ii)   a  permit  will  not  be  issued  in  the  year  the 
qualifying mobilization or deployment occurs.
[              (3)   The  participant  must  provide  evidence  of  the 
mobilization or deployment period.]
                 (2)(a)   A person  who  is  enrolled  in  the  program  and   
obtains a limited entry buck deer permit through the Utah Big Game 
drawing or accepts a poaching reported reward limited entry buck 
deer permit, may request the Dedicated Hunter program enrollment 
period be extended one additional year.

                 (b)   The  extension  request  must  be  received  by  the   
Division  before  the  established  deadline,  as  published  on  the 
Division's website.
                 (c)  An extension is not available to participants who have   
two program harvests.

R657-38-11.   Allowable  Harvest  and  Permit  Return 
Requirements.

(1)(a)  A program participant may take a maximum of two 
general season deer within the enrollment period.  Only one deer 
may be harvested in a single year.

(b)  The harvest of an antlerless deer using a Dedicated 
Hunter permit, when permissible in the extended archery areas and 
seasons established in the big game guidebook, shall be considered 
a program harvest.

(2)  Upon  [issue]issuance of a Dedicated Hunter permit, 
the participant is credited with a program harvest.

(a)   Two  program  harvests  are  allowed  within  an 
enrollment period.

(b)  If  program harvests  [are  accrued]accrue during the 
[1st]first year and [2nd]second year of the enrollment, a permit shall 
not be issued for the [3rd]third year.

(c)  In  order  to  remove  a  program  harvest  credit,  the 
participant must:

(i)  not have harvested a deer with the Dedicated Hunter 
permit; and

(ii)  return  the  permit  [and]with  the attached  tag,  or  a 
qualifying affidavit as proof of non-harvest to a Division office.  A 
handling  fee  and  notarization  may  be  [assessed]required for 
processing an affidavit.

R657-38-12.  Dedicated Hunter Permits.
(1)(a)  Pursuant to Sections 23-19-24 and 23-19-26 person 

must have a valid Utah hunting or combination license to apply for 
or obtain a big game permit.

([a]b)  Except as provided in subsection ([b]c), a permit 
may not be issued if the participant does not possess a valid hunting 
or combination license at the time of permit issuance.

([b]c)  A valid  hunting  or  combination  license  is  not 
required to obtain a permit in the first year of the enrollment period, 
provided the participant possessed a valid license when applying for 
the Dedicated Hunter certificate of registration.

(2)  The participant must have a valid Dedicated Hunter 
permit in possession while hunting.

(3)  Upon  completion  of  the  minimum  annual 
requirements,  a  Dedicated  Hunter  permit  may  be  issued[.   The 
method  and  dates  in  which  the  Division  issues  and  distributes 
Dedicated Hunter permits shall be] as published on the Division's 
website[ or in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big 
game].

(4)   The  Division  may  exclude  multiple  season 
opportunities  on  specific  management  units[ due  to  extenuating 
circumstances on a portion or all of a hunt area.], or may close or 
reduce a season on part or all of a management unit, when in the 
interest of the wildlife resource or as necessary for the Division to 
accomplish its management objectives.
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(5)(a)   The  Division  may  issue  a  duplicate  Dedicated 
Hunter permit pursuant to Section 23-19-10.

(b)  If a participant's unused Dedicated Hunter permit and 
tag is destroyed, lost, or stolen prior to, or during the hunting season 
in which the permit is valid, a participant may obtain a duplicate[. 
A] after paying the associated handling fee[ may be assessed for the 
duplication].

(c)   A duplicate  Dedicated  Hunter  permit  shall  not  be 
issued after the closing date of the general buck deer season.

(6)(a)  A participant may surrender a  Dedicated Hunter 
permit in accordance with Rule R657-42.

(b)  A participant may not surrender a Dedicated Hunter 
permit [once the general archery deer hunt]after the earliest season 
allowed by the permit has begun, unless the Division can verify that 
the permit was never in the participant's possession.

(7)(a)   Lifetime  license  holders  may  participate  in  the 
program.

(b)  [The Lifetime]A lifetime license holder shall apply 
for  a  certificate  of  registration  in  the  same  manner  as  all  other 
prospective participants.

(c)  [Upon joining and for the duration of enrollment in 
the  program,  the]A lifetime  license  holder participating  in  the 
program agrees  to  [temporarily  ]forego  any  rights  to  receive  a 
lifetime  license  buck  deer  permit  as  provided  in  Section  23-19-
[17.5.]17.5 while enrolled in the program and until all outstanding 
service hours owed from a period of enrollment are complete.

(d)  A refund or credit is not issued for a forgone lifetime 
license permit.

R657-38-13.  Obtaining Other Permits.
(1)(a)  Participants may not apply for or obtain any other 

Utah general season buck deer permit, including general landowner 
buck deer  permits,  or  respective  preference points  issued by the 
Division through the big game drawing,  license agents,  over-the-
counter  sales,  or  the  internet  during an  enrollment  period in  the 
program.

([a]b)  Any  other  Utah  general  season  deer  permit 
obtained is invalid and must be surrendered prior to the beginning 
season date for that permit.
                 (c)    Refunds  for  surrendered  permits  are  governed  by 
[Section]Sections 23-19-[38.]38 and 38.2 and R657-42.

(2)(a)  Participants may apply for or obtain a limited entry 
buck  deer  permit,  including  CWMU,  limited  entry  landowner, 
conservation, expo, and poaching reported rewards permits.

([i]b)  A limited entry buck deer permit may be obtained 
without completion of the annual program requirements[,] but does 
not  exempt  the  participant  from  fulfilling  the  minimum 
requirements of the [entire ]enrollment.
[              (ii)  A person who is enrolled in the program and obtains a 
limited entry buck deer permit through the Utah Big Game drawing 
or  accepts  a poaching reported reward limited entry deer  permit, 
may request the Dedicated Hunter program enrollment  period be 
extended  one additional  year.   Any other  method of  obtaining a 
limited  entry  buck  deer  permit  shall  not  extend  the  enrollment 
period, but shall take the place of one of the 3 enrollment years.
               (iii)  Harvest with a limited entry buck deer permit shall 
not be counted as a program harvest.]

([b]c)  If the participant obtains a limited entry buck deer 
permit and has been issued a Dedicated Hunter permit,  [that]either 

the limited entry buck deer permit or the Dedicated Hunter permit 
must be surrendered as permissible by R657-38-[11]12 and R657-
42.

([i]d)  A participant who obtains a limited entry buck deer 
permit may only use that permit in the prescribed area and season 
listed on the permit[.   ],  but  Dedicated Hunter privileges are not 
extended to that permit.

([ii]e)   A limited  entry  buck  deer  permit  may  not  be 
obtained if the Dedicated Hunter permit has been [in possession of 
the participant during any open portion of]issued and the general 
buck deer season[.] has started.
                 (f)  Harvest of a limited entry buck deer as permitted shall   
not be counted as a program harvest.

(3)(a)  Participants may apply for or obtain antlerless deer 
permits  as  provided  in  Rule  R657-5  and  the  guidebook  of  the 
Wildlife Board for taking big game.

(b)  Except as provided in R657-38-[11(1),]11, harvest of 
an  antlerless  deer  with  an  antlerless  deer  permit  shall  not  be 
considered a program harvest.

R657-38-14.  Certificate of Registration Surrender.
(1)  A participant may  [formally  ]request  [withdrawal]to 

withdraw from the Dedicated Hunter program by surrendering the 
Dedicated Hunter  certificate  of registration pursuant  to  R657-42, 
provided the participant  [meets  the surrender  requirements  and  ]
does  not  have  [a]two program[ record  indicating  two] harvests 
within the enrollment period.
[              (a)  A participant who has not possessed any permits in 
the program during any portion of the hunting seasons applicable to 
those permits , may surrender and have all requirements waived.
               (b)  A participant who has possessed only one permit in 
the program during any portion of the hunting seasons applicable to 
that permit and not credited with a program harvest on that permit, 
may surrender upon completing a minimum of 11 service hours;
               (c)  A participant who has possessed two permits in the 
program during any portion of the hunting seasons applicable to 
those  permits  and  credited  with  no  more  than  program  harvest 
between the permits, may surrender upon completion of a minimum 
of 22 service hours.]

(2)  A participant who has two program harvests during 
the program enrollment may not withdraw from the program and is 
required  to  complete  the  program  minimum  requirement  of  32 
service hours.
                 (3)    The Division may reinstate preference point(s) for a 
participant  successfully  surrendering  in  the  first  year  of  the 
enrollment period, provided the [person did not possess a dedicated 
hunter permit during any portion of the hunting seasons applicable 
to the permit.
               (3)  "Possessed" means, for purposes of this section, that 
division  records  show  a  Dedicated  Hunter  permit  was  printed, 
mailed to or picked up by the participant, and not surrendered prior 
to the beginning of the general archery buck]surrender occurs prior 
to the start of the general deer season.
[              (4)(a)  Pursuant to 23-19-38, a participant who becomes 
ill  or suffers  an injury that precludes that person from using the 
permits  or  completing  program  requirements,  may  request 
withdrawal from the Dedicated Hunter program pursuant to R657-
42  and  upon  furnishing  verification  of  illness  or  injury  from  a 
physician.
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               (b)  If the participant requesting withdrawal due to illness 
or injury has a program record indicating  two harvests, the Division 
may waive the remaining service hours or authorize another person 
to fulfill the requirement in the participant's behalf.]

R657-38-15.  Certificate of Registration Suspension.
(1)   The  Division  may  suspend  a  Dedicated  Hunter 

certificate of registration pursuant to Section 23-19-9 and R657-26.
(2)  A certificate of registration may also be suspended if 

the participant:
(a)  fraudulently submits a time sheet for service hours; or
(b)   fraudulently  completes  any  of  the  program 

requirements; or
(c)  is under a judicial or administrative order suspending 

any wildlife hunting or fishing privilege within Utah or elsewhere; 
or

(d)  provides false information on the drawing application; 
or

(e)  has violated the terms of any certificate of registration 
issued by the Division or an associated agreement.

(3)  A Dedicated Hunter permit is invalid if a participant's 
certificate of registration is suspended.

(4)  The program enrollment period shall not be extended 
in correlation with any suspension.

KEY:  wildlife, hunting, recreation, wildlife conservation
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 
13, 2017]2019
Notice of Continuation:  October 5, 2015
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18

Public Safety, Criminal Investigations 
and Technical Services, Criminal 

Identification
R722-920

Cold Case Database
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(New Rule)
DAR FILE NO.:  43435

FILED:  12/11/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  This rule is required as a result of the passage of 
S.B  160,  Cold  Case  Database,  during  the  2018  General 
Session,  which  enacted  the  rulemaking  requirement  under 
Section 53-10-115.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule specifies 
the information to be collected from law enforcement entities 
and  maintained  in  the  cold  case  database,  and  the 
information that may be accessed by the public.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 53-10-115

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The Department of  Public Safety 
(Department)  does  not  anticipate  a  cost  or  savings  to  the 
state budget because this rule only specifies the information 
to be collected from law enforcement entities and maintained 
in the cold case database, and the information that may be 
accessed by the public.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   The  Department  does  not 
anticipate a cost  or  savings to local  governments because 
this rule only specifies the information to be collected from 
law  enforcement  entities  and  maintained  in  the  cold  case 
database, and the information that may be accessed by the 
public.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   The  Department  does  not 
anticipate a cost or savings to small businesses because this 
rule only specifies the information to be collected from law 
enforcement  entities  and  maintained  in  the  cold  case 
database, and the information that may be accessed by the 
public.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  Department  does  not  anticipate  a  cost  or  savings  to 
persons  other  than  small  businesses  or  local  government 
entities because this rule only specifies the information to be 
collected from law enforcement entities and maintained in the 
cold  case  database,  and  the  information  that  may  be 
accessed by the public.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
are no associated compliance costs for affected persons, this 
rule only specifies the information to be collected from law 
enforcement  entities  and  maintained  in  the  cold  case 
database, and the information that may be accessed by the 
public.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
There are not any non-small businesses in the state of Utah 
that will be impacted by this rule.  This rule only affects law 
enforcement  as  it  requires  them  to  enter  homicide  and 
missing person cold cases into the cold case database.  The 
Commissioner  of  the Department  of  Public  Safety,  Jess L. 
Anderson, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

PUBLIC SAFETY
CRIMINAL INVESTIGATIONS AND TECHNICAL 
SERVICES,
CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION
3888 W 5400 S
TAYLORSVILLE, UT 84118
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Alice Moffat by phone at 801-281-5039, by FAX at 801-965-
4944, or by Internet E-mail at aerickso@utah.gov
♦ Greg Willmore by phone at 801-965-4533, or by Internet E-
mail at gwillmor@utah.gov
♦ Kim Gibb by phone at 801-556-8198, by FAX at 801-964-
4482, or by Internet E-mail at kgibb@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Alice Moffat, Bureau Chief

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 

for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  above.   Inestimable 
impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described below.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
There are no non-small businesses in the state of Utah 
that  will  be  impacted  by  this  rule.   This  rule  only 
affects  law  enforcement  as  it  requires  them  to  enter 
homicide and missing person cold cases into the cold case 
database.

The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, Jess 
L.  Anderson,  has  reviewed  and  approved  this  fiscal 
analysis.

R722.   Public  Safety,  Criminal  Investigations  and  Technical 
Services, Criminal Identification.
R722-920.  Cold Case Database.  
R722-920-1.  Authority.  
                 This rule is authorized under Section 53-10-115.      

R722-920-2.  Purpose.  
                 The purpose of this rule is to specify the information to be   
collected  and  maintained  in  the  cold  case  database,  and  what 
information may be accessed by the public.  

R722-920-3.  Definitions.  
                 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 53-10-102   
and 53-10-115.  
                 (2)  In addition:      
                 (a)  "CODIS" means the Combined DNA Index System;      
                 (b)  "database" means the cold case database established in   
Subsection 53-10-104(17);  
                 (c)   "NAMUS"  means  the  National  Missing  and   
Unidentified Persons System;  
                 (d)  "NCIC" means the National Crime Information Center;      
                 (d)  "NCMEC" means the National Center for Missing and   
Exploited Children; and  
                 (d)   "ViCAP"  means  the  Violent  Criminal  Apprehension   
Program.  

R722-920-4.  Information to Be Collected and Maintained.  
                 (1)  Each law enforcement agency in the state shall provide   
information regarding the following cold case types to the division for 
inclusion in the database:  
                 (a)  unresolved homicide; or      
                 (b)  missing person.      
                 (2)  The following information is required, when available,   
in order for a cold case to be included in the database:  
                 (a)  the victim's:      
                 (i)  name;      
                 (ii)  gender;      
                 (iii)  race;      
                 (iv)  ethnicity; and      
                 (v)  date of birth;      
                 (b)  ViCAP number, if the case has been entered into the   
ViCAP system;  
                 (c)  NCMEC number if the case has been entered into the   
NCMEC system;  
                 (d)  whether the case was entered into the NAMUS system;      
                 (e)  NCIC number if entered into the NCIC system;      
                 (f)  Medical Examiner case number;      
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                 (g)  whether probative, unanalyzed suspect reference DNA is   
available;  
                 (h)  whether a probative, crime scene DNA profile from the   
putative perpetrator has been uploaded to CODIS;  
                 (i)  whether reference DNA from the victim is available;      
                 (j)  State Bureau of Forensic Services case number;      
                 (k)  name of agency referring the case;      
                 (l)  investigating agency contact number;      
                 (m)  date case entered into the database;      
                 (n)  agency case number;      
                 (o)  whether the victim was a juvenile or adult victim at the   
time the crime occurred;  
                 (p)  date crime was reported to investigating agency;      
                 (q)  date or approximate date the victim was last seen;      
                 (r)  date or approximate date of death;      
                 (s)  cause or manner of death;      
                 (t)  location body was found if a body was found;      
                 (u)  whether a weapon was used, and the type of weapon   
used if applicable;  
                 (v)  whether the following evidence is available:      
                 (i)  fingerprints      
                 (ii)  palm prints;      
                 (iii)  latent prints;      
                 (iv)  dental records;      
                 (vi)  shell casings; or      
                 (v)  other physical evidence;      
                 (w)  scars, marks and tattoos;      
                 (x)   whether  a  suspect  or  person  of  interest  has  been   
identified;  
                 (y)  date case solved; and      
                 (z)  case narrative.      
                 (2)   The  following  information  may be  entered  into  the   
database at the discretion of the investigating agency for a cold case:  
                 (a)  associated information which may include the following:      
                 (i)  vehicle information;      
                 (ii)  nickname or moniker;      
                 (iii)  associated case addresses;      
                 (iv)  associated phone numbers;      
                 (v)  associated names      
                 (b)  case photos or composite drawings at the discretion of   
the investigating agency; and  
                 (c)  other details as determined by law enforcement agency.      

R722-920-5.  Information That May Be Accessed by the Public.  
                 (1)  The following information maintained in the database   
shall be made available to the public:  
                 (a)  case type;      
                 (b)  the victim's:      
                 (i)  name;      
                 (ii)  gender;      
                 (iii)  race; and      
                 (iv)  age;      
                 (c)  name of agency referring the case;      
                 (d)  agency case number;      
                 (e)  date of crime;      
                 (f)  date of death; and      
                 (g)  status of case.      

                 (2)  Additional information maintained in the database may   
be made available to the public at the discretion of the investigating 
agency.  

KEY:  cold case database, cold cases, database  
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2019  
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-10-115  

Tax Commission, Property Tax
R884-24P-19

Appraiser Designation Program 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 

59-2-701 and 59-2-702
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  43437

FILED:  12/13/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  After review of county personal property staff, it

was discovered that  many were not  compliant  with  certain
requirements  to  be  designated  by  the  commission  as  Ad 
Valorem Personal Property Auditors/Appraisers.  The current 
rule  has  no  deadline  for  achieving  this  designation. 
Additionally,  it  was discovered that staff  were not attending 
the required 14 hours of continuing education every two years 
primarily  because  there  are  few local  courses  in  personal 
property tax.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  These proposed 
amendments establish a two-year deadline for meeting the 
requirements  for  the  Ad  Valorem  Personal  Property 
Auditor/Appraiser designation.   In addition, they reduce the 
number  of  required  hours  of  continuing  education  for  this 
designation from 14 to 6.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 59-2-701 and Section 59-2-702

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  These proposed amendments are 
not expected to have any measurable fiscal impact on state 
government revenues or expenditures because they will only 
impact local government employees.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  These proposed amendments 
may have a minor inestimable fiscal impact on the revenues 
or expenditures of certain local governments depending on a 
specific  local  government's  level  of  compliance  with  the 
current rule.  If a local government is fully compliant with the
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current rule, there may be a small reduction in expenditures 
as a result on the reduction in required continuing education 
hours.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  These proposed amendments are 
not expected to have any fiscal impact on small businesses' 
revenues or expenditures because they will only impact local 
government employees.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
These  proposed amendments  are  not  expected  to  have  a 
fiscal  impact  on  the  revenues  or  expenditures  of  other 
persons  because  they  will  only  impact  local  government 
employees.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
may be minor inestimable compliance costs  or savings for 
local  governments  as  a  result  of  these  amendments 
depending  on  a  specific  local  government's  level  of 
compliance with the current rule.  If a local government is fully 
compliant  with  the current rule it  is  likely that  there will  be 
some  compliance  savings  as  a  result  on  the  reduction  in 
required continuing education hours.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
These proposed amendments are not expected to have any 
fiscal  impact  on  businesses  because  they will  only  impact 
local governments and certain local government employees.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TAX COMMISSION
PROPERTY TAX
210 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84134
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jennifer Franklin by phone at 801-297-3901, or by Internet 
E-mail at jenniferfranklin@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Rebecca Rockwell, Commissioner

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  above.   Inestimable 
impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described below.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
These proposed amendments are not expected to have any 
fiscal  impact  on  non-small  businesses'  revenues  or 
expenditures  because  they  will  only  impact  local 
government employees.

Commissioner of the Utah State Tax Commission, Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R884.  Tax Commission, Property Tax.
R884-24P.  Property Tax.
R884-24P-19.   Appraiser  Designation  Program  Pursuant  to 
Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-2-701 and 59-2-702.

(1)   "State  certified  general  appraiser,"  "state  certified 
residential appraiser," "state licensed appraiser," and trainee are as 
defined in Section 61-2b-2.

(2)   The  ad  valorem training  and  designation  program 
consists of several courses and practica.

(a)   Certain  courses  must  be  sanctioned  by  either  the 
Appraiser Qualification Board of the Appraisal Foundation (AQB) 
or the Western States Association of Tax Administrators (WSATA).

(b)   The  courses  comprising  the  basic  designation 
program are:

(i)  Course 101 - Basic Appraisal Principles;
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(ii)   Course  103  -  Uniform  Standards  of  Professional 
Appraisal Practice (AQB);

(iii)  Course 501 - Assessment Practice in Utah;
(iv)  Course 502 - Mass Appraisal of Land;
(v)   Course  503  -  Development  and  Use  of  Personal 

Property Schedules;
(vi)   Course  504  -  Appraisal  of  Public  Utilities  and 

Railroads (WSATA); and
(vii)  Course 505 - Income Approach Application.
(3)  Candidates must attend 90 percent of the classes in 

each course and pass the final examination for each course with a 
grade of 70 percent or more to be successful.

(4)  There are four recognized ad valorem designations: ad 
valorem  residential  appraiser,  ad  valorem  general  real  property 
appraiser,  ad valorem personal  property auditor/appraiser,  and ad 
valorem centrally assessed valuation analyst.

(a)   These designations  are  granted  only to  individuals 
employed in a county assessor office or the Property Tax Division,  
working  as  appraisers,  review  appraisers,  valuation  auditors,  or 
analysts/administrators  providing  oversight  and  direction  to 
appraisers and auditors.

(b)  An assessor, county employee, or state employee must 
hold the appropriate designation to value property for ad valorem 
taxation purposes.

(5)  Ad valorem residential appraiser.
(a)  To qualify for this designation, an individual must:
(i)  successfully complete courses 501 and 502;
(ii)   successfully  complete  a  comprehensive  residential 

field practicum; and
(iii)  attain and maintain state licensed or state certified 

appraiser status.
(b)  Upon designation, the appraiser may value residential, 

vacant, and agricultural property for ad valorem taxation purposes.
(6)  Ad valorem general real property appraiser.
(a)  In order to qualify for this designation, an individual 

must:
(i)  successfully complete courses 501, 502, and 505;
(ii)   successfully  complete  a  comprehensive  field 

practicum including residential and commercial properties; and
(iii)  attain and maintain state certified appraiser status.
(b)  Upon designation, the appraiser may value all types 

of locally assessed real property for ad valorem taxation purposes.
(7)  Ad valorem personal property auditor/appraiser.
(a)  For an individual commencing employment as an ad 

valorum personal property auditor/appraiser before April 15, 2019 
to  qualify for  this  designation,  an  individual  must,  by April  15,  
2021:
                 (i)  successfully complete courses 101, 103, 501, and 503;   
and
                 (ii)   successfully  complete  a  comprehensive  auditing   
practicum.
                 (b)  For an individual commencing employment as an ad   
valorum personal  property auditor/appraiser on or after  April  15, 
2019 [To]to qualify for this designation, an individual must  within 
24 months of commencing that employment:

(i)  successfully complete courses 101, 103, 501, and 503; 
and

(ii)   successfully  complete  a  comprehensive  auditing 
practicum.

[(b)](c)  Upon  designation,  the  auditor/appraiser  may 
value  locally assessed personal  property for  ad  valorem taxation 
purposes.

(8)  Ad valorem centrally assessed valuation analyst.
(a)  In order to qualify for this designation, an individual 

must:
(i)  successfully complete courses 501 and 504;
(ii)   successfully  complete  a  comprehensive  valuation 

practicum; and
(iii)  attain and maintain state licensed or state certified 

appraiser status.
(b)   Upon designation,  the  analyst  may value  centrally 

assessed property for ad valorem taxation purposes.
(9)  If  a candidate fails to receive a passing grade on a 

final  examination,  two  re-examinations  are  allowed.  If  the  re-
examinations  are  not  successful,  the  individual  must  retake  the 
failed course. The cost to retake the failed course will not be borne 
by the Tax Commission.

(10)   A practicum  involves  the  appraisal  or  audit  of 
selected  properties.  The  candidate's  supervisor  must  formally 
request that the Property Tax Division administer a practicum.

(a)  Emphasis is placed on those types of properties the 
candidate will most likely encounter on the job.

(b)  The practicum will be administered by a designated 
appraiser assigned from the Property Tax Division.

(11)  An appraiser trainee referred to in Section 59-2-701 
shall be designated an ad valorem associate if the appraiser trainee:

(a)   has  completed  all  education  and  practicum 
requirements for designation under Subsections (5), (6), or (8); and

(b)  has not completed the non-education requirements for 
licensure or  certification  under  Title  61,  Chapter  2b,  Real  Estate 
Appraiser Licensing and Certification.

(12)  An individual  holding a specified designation can 
qualify  for  other  designations  by  meeting  the  additional 
requirements under Subsections (5), (6), (7), or (8).

(13)(a)   Maintaining  designated  status  for  individuals 
designated under Subsection (7) requires completion of [14]6 hours 
of Tax Commission approved classroom work every two years.

(b)   Maintaining  designated  status  for  individuals 
designated under Subsections (5), (6), and (8) requires maintaining 
their appraisal  license or certification under Title 61,  Chapter 2b, 
Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification.

(14)   Upon termination  of  employment  from any Utah 
assessment  jurisdiction,  or  if  the  individual  no  longer  works 
primarily  as  an  appraiser,  review appraiser,  valuation  auditor,  or 
analyst/administrator  in  appraisal  matters,  designation  is 
automatically revoked.

(a)  Ad valorem designation status may be reinstated if the 
individual secures employment in any Utah assessment jurisdiction 
within four years from the prior termination.

(b)  If more than four years elapse between termination 
and rehire, and:

(i)  the individual has been employed in a closely allied 
field, then the individual may challenge the course examinations. 
Upon successfully challenging all required course examinations, the 
prior designation status will be reinstated; or

(ii)  if the individual has not been employed in real estate 
valuation  or  a  closely allied field,  the  individual  must  retake  all 
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required courses and pass the final examinations with a score of 70 
percent or more.

(15)  All appraisal work performed by Tax Commission 
designated appraisers shall meet the standards set forth in section 
61-2b-27.

(16)  If appropriate Tax Commission designations are not 
held  by  assessor's  office  personnel,  the  appraisal  work  must  be 
contracted out to qualified private appraisers. An assessor's office 
may  elect  to  contract  out  appraisal  work  to  qualified  private 
appraisers  even if  personnel with the appropriate  designation are 
available  in  the  office.  If  appraisal  work  is  contracted  out,  the  
following requirements must be met:

(a)   The  private  sector  appraisers  performing  the 
contracted work must hold the state certified residential appraiser or 
state certified general  appraiser license issued by the Division of 
Real  Estate  of  the  Utah  Department  of  Commerce.  Only  state 
certified general appraisers may appraise nonresidential properties.

(b)  All appraisal work shall meet the standards set forth 
in Section 61-2b-27.

(17)  The completion and delivery of the assessment roll 
required under Section 59-2-311 is an administrative function of the 
elected assessor.

(a)   There  are  no  specific  licensure,  certification,  or 
educational requirements related to this function.

(b)   An elected  assessor  may complete  and deliver  the 
assessment roll as long as the valuations and appraisals included in 
the assessment roll were completed by persons having the required 
designations.

KEY:  taxation, personal property, property tax, appraisals
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
[November 30, 2017]2019
Notice of Continuation:  November 10, 2016
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. XIII, 
Sec 2; 9-2-201; 11-13-302; 41-1a-202; 41-1a-301; 59-1-210; 59-2-
102;  59-2-103; 59-2-103.5; 59-2-104;  59-2-201; 59-2-210;  59-2-
211; 59-2-301; 59-2-301.3; 59-2-302; 59-2-303; 59-2-303.1; 59-2-
305;  59-2-306;  59-2-401;  59-2-402;  59-2-404;  59-2-405;  59-2-
405.1; 59-2-406;  59-2-508; 59-2-514;  59-2-515; 59-2-701;  59-2-
702;  59-2-703; 59-2-704;  59-2-704.5;  59-2-705; 59-2-801;  59-2-
918 through 59-2-924;  59-2-1002; 59-2-1004; 59-2-1005; 59-2-
1006;  59-2-1101;  59-2-1102;  59-2-1104;  59-2-1106;  59-2-1107 
through  59-2-1109;  59-2-1113;  59-2-1115;  59-2-1202;  59-2-
1202(5);  59-2-1302;  59-2-1303;  59-2-1308.5;  59-2-1317;  59-2-
1328; 59-2-1330; 59-2-1347; 59-2-1351; 59-2-1365; 59-2-1703

Tax Commission, Property Tax
R884-24P-74

Changes to Jurisdiction of Mining 
Claims Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 

Section 59-2-201

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  43438
FILED:  12/13/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  The purpose of this new section is to establish the 
conditions under which a mining claim assessed by the Tax 
Commission (Commission) may be locally assessed.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This new section 
identifies acceptable evidence that an owner or the county in 
which  the  mining  claim  is  located  may  present  to  the 
Commission  to  request  that  the  mining  claim  be  locally 
assessed.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 59-2-201

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   This  proposed  section  is  not 
expected  to  have  any  measurable  fiscal  impact  on  state 
government  revenues  or  expenditures  because  it  only 
clarifies  acceptable  evidence and the  current  procedure  in 
rule.
♦  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:   This  proposed  section  is  not 
expected  to  have  any  fiscal  impact  on  local  governments' 
revenues or expenditures because it only clarifies acceptable 
evidence and the current procedure in rule.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   This  proposed  section  is  not 
expected  to  have  any  fiscal  impact  on  small  businesses' 
revenues or expenditures because it only clarifies acceptable 
evidence and the existing procedure in rule.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
This proposed section is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on the revenues or expenditures of other persons because it 
only clarifies acceptable evidence and the existing procedure 
in rule.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There 
is  not  expected  to  be  an  increased  compliance  cost  as  a 
result of this new section because the proposed section only 
identifies acceptable evidence that may be presented by an 
owner  of  a  mining claim,  or  the  county  in  which  a mining 
claim is located, before a mining claim that is assessed by the 
Commission may be locally assessed.  Acceptable evidence 
is not limited to the evidence specified in this rule and the 
evidence  specified  in  this  rule  is  already  considered 
acceptable under current practice.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This  proposed  section  is  not  expected  to  have  any  fiscal 
impact  on  businesses  because  it  only  clarifies  existing 
procedure in rule.
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THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TAX COMMISSION
PROPERTY TAX
210 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84134
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Jennifer Franklin by phone at 801-297-3901, or by Internet 
E-mail at jenniferfranklin@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Rebecca Rockwell, Commissioner

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  above.   Inestimable 
impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described below.
Appendix 2: Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses
This proposed amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because it only clarifies acceptable evidence and current 
procedure in rule.

Commissioner of the Utah State Tax Commission, Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R884.  Tax Commission, Property Tax.
R884-24P.  Property Tax.
R884-24P-74.  Changes to Jurisdiction of Mining Claims Pursuant 
to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-201.  
                 (1)  A mining claim shall be assessed by the county in   
which the mining claim is located if the commission determines that 
the mining claim is used for other than mining purposes.
                 (2)  The owner of a mining claim may request that the   
mining claim be assessed by the county in which the mining claim 
is located by providing the following to the commission:
                 (a)  a copy of the title to the mining claim;  
                 (b)  certification that all owners of the mining claim seek   
assessment by the county in which the mining claim is located;
                 (c)   a  valid  metes  and  bounds  legal  description  of  the   
mining claim approved by the county recorder where the mining 
claim is located; and
                 (d)  evidence that the mining claim is used for other than   
mining purposes.
                 (3)  A county may request that a mining claim be assessed   
by the county in which the mining claim is located by providing the 
following to the commission:
                 (a)   a  valid  metes  and  bounds  legal  description  of  the   
mining claim approved by the county recorder where the mining 
claim is located; and
                 (b)  evidence that the mining claim is used for other than   
mining purposes.
                 (4)  Evidence that a mining claim is used for other than   
mining purposes is dependent on specific facts and circumstances 
and includes:
                 (a)  evidence that the mining claim will be actively and   
solely  used  for  other  than  mining  purposes  for  more  than  a 
temporary period of time;
                 (b)  evidence that a restrictive covenant or conservation   
easement  prohibiting  mining  activities  on  the  mining  claim  is 
recorded in the county where the mining claim is located;
                 (c)  evidence that local zoning ordinances prohibit mining   
activities on the mining claim; or
                 (d)  in the case where the mining claim has been used for   
mining activities at any time, the mining claim has been reclaimed 
as  evidenced by the return of  the mine  reclamation  bond to  the 
owner of the mining claim by the Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining.

KEY:  taxation, personal property, property tax, appraisals
Date  of  Enactment  or  Last  Substantive  Amendment: 
[November 30, 2017]2019
Notice of Continuation:  November 10, 2016
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Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. XIII, 
Sec 2; 9-2-201; 11-13-302; 41-1a-202; 41-1a-301; 59-1-210; 59-2-
102;  59-2-103; 59-2-103.5; 59-2-104;  59-2-201; 59-2-210;  59-2-
211; 59-2-301; 59-2-301.3; 59-2-302; 59-2-303; 59-2-303.1; 59-2-
305;  59-2-306;  59-2-401;  59-2-402;  59-2-404;  59-2-405;  59-2-
405.1; 59-2-406;  59-2-508; 59-2-514;  59-2-515; 59-2-701;  59-2-
702;  59-2-703; 59-2-704;  59-2-704.5;  59-2-705; 59-2-801;  59-2-
918 through 59-2-924;  59-2-1002; 59-2-1004; 59-2-1005; 59-2-
1006;  59-2-1101;  59-2-1102;  59-2-1104;  59-2-1106;  59-2-1107 
through  59-2-1109;  59-2-1113;  59-2-1115;  59-2-1202;  59-2-
1202(5);  59-2-1302;  59-2-1303;  59-2-1308.5;  59-2-1317;  59-2-
1328; 59-2-1330; 59-2-1347; 59-2-1351; 59-2-1365; 59-2-1703

Transportation, Motor Carrier
R909-19

Safety Regulations for Tow Truck 
Operations - Tow Truck Requirements 

for Equipment, Operation, and 
Certification

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  43443
FILED:  12/14/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:  These proposed amendments to Rule R909-19 
are  to  address  concerns  expressed  to  the  Department  of 
Transportation  (Department)  by the tow truck motor  carrier 
industry,  to  update  the  rule  to  reflect  current  industry 
practices, to clarify certain ambiguities, and to make technical 
changes to this rule.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R909 19‐ ‐
11 was entirely deleted and replaced.  The information from 
this section was then divided into seven new sections, with 
revised heading names.   There was a consensus that  this 
would allow specific fee areas to be immediately located.  The 
new Section R909 19 11 added additional  clarification for a‐ ‐  
recovery operation.  The new Section R909 19 12 separated‐ ‐  
out  the  police generated  towing  fee  calculation.   The new 
Section R909 19 13 includes the updated storage fee.  The‐ ‐  
new Section R909 19 14 separated out the non consent fuel‐ ‐ ‐  
surcharge fee.  The new Rule R909 19 15 separated out the‐ ‐  
non consent administrative fee.  The new Section R909 19‐ ‐ ‐
16 separated out the administrative fee adjustment.  The new 
Section  R909 19 17  separated  out  information  for  public‐ ‐  
consent  towing  fee.   The  new Section  R909 19 18  added‐ ‐  
additional language related to posting requirements.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:   Section  41-6a-1404 and Section 41-6a-1405

and Section 41-6a-1406 and Section 53-1-106 and Section 
53-8-105 and  Section  72-9-303 and Section  72-9-601 and 
Section 72-9-602 and Section 72-9-603 and Section 72-9-604 
and Section 72-9-701 and Section 72-9-702 and Section 72-
9-703

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   The  Department  estimates  that 
neither it nor the state will experience a fiscal impact related 
to  these proposed amendments because state and federal 
law already require it  to regulate and inspect motor carrier 
commercial  vehicles.   These proposed amendment will  not 
change  the  amount  of  work  required  to  meet  the 
Department's responsibilities.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   The  Department  estimates 
these proposed rule changes will not cause any fiscal impact 
to  local  governments  because  they  only  change  how  the 
Department  regulates  the  tow truck  motor  carrier  industry. 
These proposed changes do not require local governments to 
do anything.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   Proposed  changes  to  Section 
R909-19-18 will require tow truck motor carriers and impound 
yards,  all  of  which  are  small  businesses,  to  post  all  non-
consent  tow  fees  and  rates  for  towing  and  storage  at  all 
locations.  The tow truck motor carrier would have to pay the 
cost of  installing additional  signage to ensure that fees are 
posted  as  required.   The  Department  does  not  know how 
many tow truck motor carriers will  need to post new signs, 
how many signs the average tow truck motor carrier will need 
to install, nor what the cost of these signs is.  Therefore, it is 
not  possible  to  estimate this  additional  compliance  cost  at 
present.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The Department estimates these proposed rule changes will 
not  cause  any  fiscal  impact  to  persons  other  than  small 
businesses,  businesses,  or  local  government  entities 
because they only change how the Department regulates the 
tow truck motor carrier industry.

COMPLIANCE  COSTS  FOR  AFFECTED  PERSONS:   As 
stated in small businesses cost above, the proposed changes 
to Section R909-19-18 will  require  tow truck motor carriers 
and impound yards, all of which are small businesses, to post 
all non-consent tow fees and rates for towing and storage at 
all locations.  They will be required to pay the cost of installing 
additional signage to ensure that fees are posted as required. 
The Department does not know how many tow truck motor 
carriers  will  need  to  post  new signs,  how many signs  the 
average tow truck motor carrier will need to install, nor what 
the cost  is for these signs.  Therefore, it  is not possible to 
estimate this additional compliance cost at present.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
These proposed rule changes will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses in general.
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THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION
MOTOR CARRIER
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119-5998
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Christine Newman by phone at 801-965-4026, by FAX at 
801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at cwnewman@utah.gov
♦ James Palmer by phone at 801-965-4000, by FAX at 801-
965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at jimpalmer@utah.gov
♦ Josh Dangel by Internet E-mail at jdangel@utah.gov
♦ Linda Hull by phone at 801-965-4253, or by Internet E-mail 
at lhull@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Carlos Braceras, Executive Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses  $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses  $0 $0
Other Person $0 $0 $0
Total Fiscal Costs:  $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits
State Government $0 $0 $0
Local Government $0 $0 $0
Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0
Other Persons $0 $0 $0
Total Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This  table  only  includes  fiscal  impacts  that  could  be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts for 
State  Government,  Local  Government,  Small  Businesses  and 
Other Persons are described in the narrative.  Inestimable 
impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described in Appendix 
2.

Appendix  2:  Regulatory  Impact  to  Small  and  Non-Small 
Businesses
1)  The Department of Transportation (Department) estimates 
the  motor  vehicle  towing  industry  in  Utah  includes  the 
businesses  most  likely  to  experience  a  material  fiscal 
impact  resulting  from  these  proposed  amendments.   This 
fiscal impact may be positive or negative, depending upon 
the individual business, or type of business impacted, and 
how we define fiscal impact.
2)  The industry regulated by this administrative rule is 
the Motor Vehicle Towing industry.  This administrative rule 
defines  members  of  this  industry  as  tow  truck  motor 
carriers.  The Department of Workforce Services (DWS) Firm 
Find Data lists 99 establishments identified by the NAICS 
industry code 488410, which is assigned to the Motor Vehicle 
Towing industry.  However, Department records indicate there 
are approximately 600 Tow Truck Motor Carriers operating in 
Utah.
3)  All the approximately 600 Tow truck motor carriers are 
small businesses, as defined by Subsection 63G-3-102(19). 
For a complete list of these firms, contact the Department.
4)  Proposed changes to Section R909-19-18 will require tow 
truck motor carriers and impound yards to post all non-
consent tow fees and rates for towing and storage at all 
locations.  The tow truck motor carrier would have to pay 
the cost of installing additional signage to ensure that 
fees are posted as required.  The Department does not know 
how many tow truck motor carriers will need to post new 
signs, how many signs the average tow truck motor carrier 
will need to install, nor what the cost of these signs is. 
Therefore, it is not possible to estimate this additional 
compliance cost at present.
5)  The Department estimates this proposed rule change will 
not cause any fiscal impact to local governments because it 
only  changes  how  the  Department  regulates  the  tow  truck 
motor carrier industry.
6)  The Department estimates that neither it nor the state 
will experience a fiscal impact related to this proposed 
amendment because state and federal law already require it 
to regulate and inspect motor carrier commercial vehicles. 
This proposed amendment will not change the amount of work 
required to meet its responsibilities.
7)  Carlos Braceras, executive director of the Department 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R909.  Transportation, Motor Carrier.
R909-19.   Safety Regulations for Tow Truck Operations - Tow 
Truck Requirements for Equipment, Operation, and Certification.
R909-19-1.  Authority.

This rule is enacted under the authority of Sections 72-9-
601, 72-9-602, 72-9-603, 72-9-604, 53-1-106, 41-6a-1405, Utah Code.

R909-19-2.  Applicability.
All tow truck motor carriers and employees must comply 

and observe all rules, including R909-1, regulations, traffic laws and 
guidelines as prescribed by State Law, including Sections 41-6a-401.9, 
41-6a-1404, 41-6a-1405, 41-6a-1406, 72-9-301, 72-9-303, 72-9-601, 
72-9-602, 72-9-603, 72-9-604, 72-9-701, 72-9-702, and 72-9-703.

R909-19-3.  Definitions.
(1)  "Consent [T]tow" means any tow truck service that is 

done at the vehicle,  vessel,  or outboard motor owner's,  or its legal 
operator, knowledge and/or approval.

(2)   "Department"  means  the  Utah  Department  of 
Transportation.
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(3)  "Division" means the Motor Carrier Division.
(4)  "Emergency [M]moves" means a tow operation initiated 

by law enforcement to move a wrecked or disabled motor vehicle.
(5)  "Gross [C]combination [W]weight [R]rating (GCWR)" 

means the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of 
a combination (articulated) motor vehicle.  In the absence of a value 
specified by the manufacturer, GVCR will be determined by adding 
the GVWR of the power unit and the total weight of the towed unit 
and any load thereon.

(6)   "Gross  [V]vehicle  [W]weight  [R]rating  (GVWR)" 
means the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of 
a single motor vehicle.

(7)   "Life-[E]essential  personal  property"  includes  those 
items  essential  to  sustain  life  or  health  including:  prescription 
medication, medical equipment, essential clothing (e.g. shoes, coat), 
food  and  water,  child  safety  seats,  and  government  issued  photo-
identification.

(8)   "Non-[C]consent  [P]police  [G]generated  [T]tow" 
means tow truck service that was ordered by a peace officer,  or a 
person acting on behalf of a law enforcement agency, or a highway 
authority, as defined in Section 72-1-102.

(9)   "Non-[C]consent  [N]non-[P]police  [G]generated 
[T]tow" means towing services performed without the prior consent or 
knowledge of the owner of the vehicle or the person authorized by the 
owner to operate the vehicle from private property.   The tow truck 
service must be from private property, at the request of the property 
landowner or agent for the landowner.

(10)  "Normal [O]office [H]hours" means hours of operation 
where the office or yard shall be staffed and open for public business 
during  normal  business  hours  Monday  thru  Friday,  except  for 
designated state and federal holidays.

(11)  "Recovery [O]operation" means a towing service that 
may require charges in addition to the normal one-truck/one-operator 
towing  service  requirements.  The  additional  charges  may  include 
charges for manpower, extra equipment, [traffic control, and special 
recovery  equipment  ]and  supplies necessary  for  the  recovery 
operation.

(12)  "Tow [T]truck" means a  commercial[motor] vehicle 
constructed, designed, altered, or equipped primarily for the purpose of 
towing  or  removing  damaged,  disabled,  abandoned,  seized, 
repossessed or impounded vehicles from highway or other place by 
means of a crane,  hoist,  tow bar,  tow line,  dolly tilt  bed,  or other 
similar means of vehicle transfer without its own power or control.

(13)  "Tow [T]truck [C]certification [P]program" means a 
program to authorize and approve tow truck motor carrier owners, 
operators, and vehicles is the process by which the Department, acting 
under Section 72-9-602, shall verify compliance with the State and 
Federal Motor Carriers Safety Regulations.

(14)   "Tow  [T]truck  [M]motor  [C]carrier"  means  any 
company that  provides  for-hire[,  private,  salvage,  or  repossession] 
towing  services.   It  includes  the  company's  agents,  officers,  and 
representatives as well as employees responsible for hiring, training, 
supervisory,  assigning,  or  dispatching  of  drivers  and  employees 
concerned  with  the  installation,  inspection,  and  maintenance  of 
equipment and/or accessories.

(15)  "Tow [T]truck [S]service" means the functions and any 
ancillary operations associated with recovering, removing, and towing 
a vehicle and its load from a highway or other place by means of a tow 
truck.

(a)   Tow [T]truck [S]service,  with  regards  to  authorized 
towing fees, is determined by the type and size of the towed vehicle, 
not the type and size of the tow truck performing the service.

(b)  Towed [V]vehicle -[C]classifications will be used when 
determining authorized fees.   Information regarding the GVWR to 
determine classification category of towed vehicle can be found on the 
identification  plate  on  the  vehicle  driver  side  doorframe.   Towed 
vehicle classifications are as follows:

(i)  "Light [D]duty" means any towed vehicle with a GVWR 
10,000 pounds or less;

(ii)   "Medium [D]duty" means any towed vehicle with a 
GVWR between 10,001 [and]to 26,000 pounds;

(iii)   "Heavy [D]duty"  means  any towed  vehicle  with  a 
GVWR or GCWR 26,001 pounds and greater.

(16)  "Tow Truck Operator" means a natural person who 
drives or operates the towing equipment, or a motor vehicle adapted to 
or designed for the towing of motor vehicles.

(17)   "Tow  [T]truck  [M]motor  [C]carrier  [S]steering 
[C]committee" means a committee established by the Motor Carrier 
Division  and  will  include  enforcement  personnel,  industry 
representatives and other persons as deemed necessary.

R909-19-4.   Duties  -  Enforcement  -  Compliance  Audits, 
Inspections and Right of Entry.

The Department shall administer and in cooperation with the 
Department  of  Public  Safety,  Utah  Highway  Patrol  Division  as 
specified under Section 53-8-105, shall administer and enforce state 
and federal laws related to the operation of tow truck motor carriers 
within the state. In addition, a tow truck motor carrier shall submit its 
lands, property, buildings, equipment for inspection and examination 
and shall submit its accounts, books, records, or other documents for 
inspection and copying to verify compliance as authorized by Section 
72-9-301.

R909-19-5.  Insurance.
(1)  [Tow Truck Motor Carriers]Tow truck motor carriers   

performing  emergency  moves  shall  maintain  liability  insurance 
coverage of at  least  $750,000 per  occurrence.   Tow [Truck Motor 
Carriers]truck motor carriers performing non-emergency moves shall 
maintain  liability  insurance  coverage  of  at  least  $1,000,000  per 
occurrence.

(2)  All [Tow Truck Motor Carriers]tow truck motor carriers   
performing consent or non-consent tows are required to obtain a MCS-
90 endorsement for environmental restoration as required in 49 CFR 
Part  387 - Minimum Levels  of Financial  Responsibility for  Motor 
Carriers.

(3)  Evidence of required insurance shall be maintained at 
the principal place of business and made available to the Department 
and/or Investigator upon request and prior to issuance of the [Tow 
Truck Motor Carrier]tow truck motor carrier certification.

R909-19-6.  Penalties and Fines.
(1)  Any tow truck motor carrier that fails or neglects to 

comply with State or Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, other 
statutes, any part of this rule, any term or condition of the permit or 
any materials that it incorporates either by reference or attachment, or a 
Departmental order, is subject to:

(a)  a civil penalty as authorized by Section 72-9-701, and 
72-9-703;
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(b)   suspension  or  revocation  of  a  carrier  or  tow truck 
certification (suspension or revocation will be based upon the severity 
of violations to this rule, Sections 41-6a-1406 and 72-9-603);

(c)  issuance of a cease-and-desist order as authorized by 
Section 72-9-303; and

(d)  the revocation or suspension of registration by the Utah 
State Tax Commission pursuant to Section 72-9-303.

R909-19-7.  Towing Notice Requirements.
(1)  All non-consent police generated, and non-consent non-

police generated tows conducted by [Tow Truck Motor Carriers]tow 
truck motor carriers must input required information in electronic form 
on  the  Division  of  Motor  Vehicles  Utah  State  Tax  Commission's 
website, at "https://secure.utah.gov/ivs/ivs" as required by Utah Code 
Subsection 41-6a-1406(11).

(2)  [Tow Truck Motor Carriers]Tow truck motor carriers   
must notify the local enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the 
area from where the vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor was removed 
on  all  non-consent  non-police  generated  tows  immediately  upon 
arrival at the impound or storage yard.

(a)  For tows conducted on vehicles, vessels, and outboard 
motors and the owner information does not appear in the IVS or TLR 
(Title License Registration) systems, a [Tow Truck Motor Carrier]tow 
truck motor carrier has met this requirement if they can provide proof 
that a letter has been sent to the Utah State Tax Commission Division 
of Motor Vehicle or the appropriate state where the vehicle, vessel, and 
outboard motor is registered, within two business days requesting the 
needed information to send the letter.
[              (3)   If  required  notifications  to  the  Division  of  Motor 
Vehicles and local law enforcement is not completed as required by 
Sections 41-6a-1406 and 72-9-603, the Tow Truck Motor Carrier or 
operator may not collect any fees associated with the removal or begin 
charging storage fees as authorized under Sections 41-6a-1406 and 72-
9-603  until  the  removal  has  been  reported  to  the  Motor  Vehicle 
Division and the local law enforcement agency.  
               (4)  If notification to the last known owner and lien holder is 
not made as required by this rule, the Tow Truck Motor Carrier may be 
subject to penalties as outlined in this rule.]

(3[5])  The tow truck motor carrier or the tow truck operator 
must provide a copy of the Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding 
Towing at first contact with the owner of a vehicle, vessel, or out board 
motor that was towed.

(a)  The tow truck motor carrier must be able to verify that 
the consumer received their copy of the Utah Consumer Bill of Rights 
Regarding Towing.

(4[6])  The Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Towing 
shall  contain  the  language  and  information  as  published  at, 
www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.

(a[b])The consumer has a  right  to receive documentation 
from the tow truck motor carrier showing the date and time the storage 
began.
[              (c)  The tow truck motor carrier, operator(s) and vehicle(s) 
shall comply with 49 CFR Section 390, of the Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations, which are incorporated and made a part of this 
Rule by this reference.]

(b[d])  A consumer has the right to file a complaint alleging:
(i)  Overcharges;
(ii)   [I]inadequate  certification  for  the  operator,  truck  or 

company, and;

(iii)   [V]violations  of  the  Federal  Motor  Carrier  Safety 
Regulations, Utah Code Annotated, or Utah Administrative Code.

[(e)](c)  Complaints  may be filed online with  the Utah 
Department  of  Transportation  at  [http://www.udot.utah.gov.] 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:4610,66405 
[Click on the Motor Carrier Division tab, Motor Carrier Contacts, 
and  click  on  Motor  Carrier  Comments  and  Complaints;  ]or  by 
contacting the Motor Carrier Division at (801) 965-[5]4892.

R909-19-8.  Certification.
There are three (3) certifications required by the Department.
(1)  Tow Truck Operator Certification.
(a)  Effective July 1, 2004 all tow truck operators will be 

tested  and  certified  in  accordance  with  Towing  &  Recovery 
Association  of  America  Inc  (TRAA)[National  Driver  Certification 
Procedure (NDCP)] standards and carry evidence of certification for 
the appropriate level of vehicle they are operating. These standards of 
conduct  and  proficiency  may  be  tested  and  certified  through  an 
accepted program approved by the Department.

(i)  Towing and Recovery Association of America (TRAA) 
Testing Program;

(ii)  Wreckmaster Certification Program;
[              (iii)  AAA Certification Program;]

[(iv)](iii)  Utah Safety Council; or  
[              (v)  North American Towing Academy; or]

[(vi)](iv)  Other  driver  testing  certification  programs 
approved  by  the  Department  to  meet  certification  requirements, 
however, the [Tow Truck Motor Carrier]tow truck motor carrier must 
obtain  prior  approval  in  writing  from  the  Motor  Carrier  Division 
Administrator or Division representative by calling (801) 965-4892.

(b)  Information on qualified certification programs may be 
obtained by contacting the Motor Carrier Division at (801) 965-4892.

(c)  [Tow Truck Motor Carriers]Tow truck motor carriers   
shall ensure that all tow truck operators:

(i)  are properly trained  and certified  to operate tow truck 
equipment;

(ii)  are licensed, as required under Utah Code Sections 53-
3-101, through 53-3-909 Uniform Driver License Act;

(iii)  are complying with the requirements under Utah Code 
Sections 41-6a-1406 and 72-9-603;

(iv)  have cleared the criminal background check required in 
Subsections 72-9-602(2) and (3).  In addition, a tow truck motor carrier 
must notify the department of a[n] tow truck operator whom is not in 
compliance with 72-9-602(3) within two business days of obtaining 
knowledge from the Bureau of Criminal Identification.

(v)   obtain  and  maintain  a  valid  medical  examiner's 
certificate under 49 C.F.R Sec 391.45.

(2)  Tow Truck Vehicle Certification.
(a)  All tow trucks shall [be inspected and certified]receive 

and pass a tow truck certification inspection biannually.
(b)  All tow trucks must be equipped with required safety 

equipment.   Safety  Equipment  List  can  be  found  at 
[http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?
p=100:pg:::1:T,V:396]https://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?
p=100:pg::::1:T,V:396 or by calling 801-965-4892.

(c)  Upon vehicle certification, a UDOT certification sticker 
will be issued and shall be affixed on the driver's side rear window.

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2019, Vol. 2019, No. 1 59



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 43443

(d)  Documentation of UDOT tow truck vehicle [inspection 
]certification  shall  be  retained[kept  in  the  vehicle  files]  and  [be  ]
available upon request by Department personnel.

(3)   Tow  [Truck  Motor  Carrier]truck  motor  carrier   
Certification.

(a)  Tow [Truck Motor Carriers]truck motor carriers shall be 
certified biannually to ensure compliance as required by the Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations,  Utah Code Annotated,  and local 
laws where applicable.

R909-19-9.  Certification Fees.
The  Department  may  charge  [Tow  Truck  Motor 

Carriers]tow truck motor carriers a fee biannually as authorized by 
Section 72-9-603 to cover costs associated with driver, vehicle, and 
carrier certifications.

R909-19-10.  Information Required on Towing Receipt.
(1)  Charges for services provided must be clearly reflected 

on a company receipt and a copy shall be provided to the customer. 
The receipt must include the following information:

(a)  company name;
(b)  address;
(c)  phone number;
(d)   transportation,  administration,  fuel  surcharge,  and 

storage fees charged;
(e)  name of company driver;
(f)  unit number;
(g)  license plate of the towed vehicle;
(h)  make, model, Vehicle Identification Number, and year of 

the towed vehicle;
(i)  start and end time with total hours for services provided; 

and
(j)  the date vehicle was retrieved from tow yard or other 

storage area.

[R909-19-11.  Non-Consent Towing, Storage, Administrative and 
Fuel Surcharge Fees.  
               (1)  The Motor Carrier Division is required to establish the 
allowable maximum fees for tow truck service, storage, the tow truck 
carrier's  administrative  fee  for  reporting the  removal,  and  the  fuel 
surcharge  as  per  Utah  State  Code  72-9-603.   The  Towing  Fees 
Schedule  is  published  on  the  Division's  website  at 
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.  
               (2)  The allowable maximum fee for tow truck service and 
the maximum allowable administrative fee for reporting the removal 
("Allowable Maximum Fees")  shall  be tied to  the Consumer Price 
Index for all Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) in the 
West Urban Region of the U.S.  The (CPI-W) is calculated by the U.S. 
Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor and Statistics (BLS), which 
publishes CPI Detailed Report Tables every month on its web site at 
http://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables.htm.  
               (3)  The Motor Carrier Division shall adjust the Allowable 
Maximum Fees once annually as follows:  
               (a)  The base fee schedule for each calendar year after a year 
in  which  the  motor  Carrier  Division  determines  the  Allowable 
Maximum Fees pursuant to R909-19-11(1) shall be adjusted effective 
January 1 of each such calendar year (the "Adjustment Date").  
               (b)   The adjustment  amount  of the Allowable  Maximum 
Fees shall be equal to the change in the CPI-W for the twelve-month 

period  prior  to  the  October  CPI-W  figure  reported  by  the  BLS 
immediately preceding the Adjustment Date in question.  
               (c)   The  first  CPI-W based adjustment  to  the  Allowable 
Maximum Fees shall be equal to the cumulative change in the CPI-W 
for 2014 and 2015.  
               (d)  If the twelve-month change in the CPI-W from October 
to October is negative,  the Allowable Maximum Fees shall  remain 
unchanged until the next Adjustment Date.  
               (e)   The  Division  of  Motor  Carriers  shall  round  the 
Allowable Maximum Fees to the nearest whole number.  
               (4)  A Tow Truck Motor Carrier may charge up to but not 
exceeding the approved tow rate, based upon the type of non-consent 
tow,  as  indicated in  the  Towing Fee Schedule  published online  at 
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.  
               (a)  An additional 15% of the fee for tow truck service may 
be  charged  if  the  towed  vehicle  is  used  in  the  transportation  of 
materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of and in accordance 
with the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the 
motor  vehicle  to  be  placarded  under  the  Hazardous  Materials 
Regulations, 49 CFR Part 172, subpart F.  
               (b)  If a tow truck apparatus is mechanically connected to a 
vehicle, the tow truck motor carrier shall be considered in possession 
of the vehicle.  
               (c)  If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of 
the owner of a motor vehicle is attempting to retrieve said vehicle 
before the tow truck motor carrier is in possession of the vehicle, no 
fee(s) shall be charged to the vehicle owner.  
               (d)  If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of 
the owner of the vehicle is attempting to retrieve the vehicle after the 
tow truck motor carrier is in possession of the vehicle but before the 
vehicle is removed from the property or scene, the maximum fee shall 
not exceed 50% of the posted rate schedule.  
               (e)  Charges for recovery operations, as defined by R909-19-
3, shall be coordinated with the towed vehicle owner prior to initiating 
the additional charges relating to the recovery operation.  Coordination 
with the towed vehicle owner should result in an agreement between 
the towed vehicle owner and Tow Truck Motor Carrier.  
               (f)  Tow Truck Motor Carriers shall obey all applicable local 
municipal  and  county  laws,  pertaining  to  placement  of  signs, 
notification, and other towing related ordinances.  
               (g)   Strobe  lights  are  not  allowed  on  Tow Trucks.  The 
acceptable color for tow truck lights is amber.  
               (5)  A Tow Truck Motor Carrier may charge up to but not 
exceeding the amount for storage per day for the type of non-consent 
tow as indicated in the Towing Fee Schedule as published online at, 
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.  
               (a)  A Tow Truck Motor Carrier may charge a higher fee for 
inside  storage  per  day  per  unit  as  indicated  in  the  Towing  Fees 
Schedule  as  published  at  on  the  Divisions  website  at, 
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.  Only  if 
requested by the owner(s), or a law enforcement agency or highway 
authority.  
               (b)  Vehicles used in the transportation of materials found to 
be  hazardous  for  the  purposes  of  the  Hazardous  Materials 
Transportation  Act  and  which  require  the  motor  vehicle  to  be 
placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations, 49 CFR Part 
172, subpart F may be charged a higher storage fee rate based upon the 
Towing  Fees  Schedule  as  published  online  at, 
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.  

60 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2019, Vol. 2019, No. 1



DAR File No. 43443 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES

               (c)  For the purpose of calculating storage rates, if the first 
six (6) hours of storage for a vehicle includes more than one day, the 
authorized storage fee is only the charge for one day.  
               (6)   A  Tow  Truck  Motor  Carrier  may  charge  an 
administrative fee for reporting the removal of up to but not exceeding 
the amount indicated in the Towing Fee Schedule as published online 
at,  http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396  per 
vehicle notification for reporting non-consent tows to the Department 
of Motor Vehicles and for sending notifications to the owner and lien-
holder (if applicable).  
               (7)  A Tow Truck Motor Carrier may charge a fuel surcharge 
When  the  daily  Rocky  Mountain  Average,  as  determined  by  the 
Department of Energy, for the price of fuel reaches $3.25 per gallon, a 
tow truck motor carrier may charge a surcharge equal to 5% of the 
base tow rate. An additional 5% shall be allowed for each $0.25 per 
gallon  increase.   Conversely,  as  the  price  of  fuel  drops,  the  fuel 
surcharge shall decrease by the same rate.  
               (a)  To determine the Rocky Mountain daily average per 
gallon  diesel  cost,  refer  to  the  U.S.  Energy  Information 
Administration's website at https://www.eia.gov/.  
               (b)   The fuel  surcharge  may be  charged  on non-consent 
police generated tow when the vehicle is being used in the function of 
a tow vehicle i.e. travel to and from the scene and during the operation 
of  equipment  for  recovery operation.  Non-consent  non-police  tows 
may charge a onetime fee.  
               (c)  Surcharge fee shall be listed as a separate fee on the tow 
bill.]R909-19-11.  Non-Consent Towing Fee.  
                 (1)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge up to but not   
exceed the approved tow rate, based upon the type of non-consent tow, 
as  indicated  in  the  Towing  Fee  Schedule  published  online  at 
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.  
                 (a)  An additional 15% of the fee for tow truck service may   
be  charged  if  the  towed  vehicle  is  used  in  the  transportation  of 
materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of and in accordance 
with the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the 
motor  vehicle  to  be  placarded  under  the  Hazardous  Materials 
Regulations, 49 CFR Part 172, subpart F.  
                 (b)  If a tow truck apparatus is mechanically connected to a   
vehicle, the tow truck motor carrier shall be considered in possession 
of the vehicle.  
                 (c)  If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of   
the owner of a motor vehicle is attempting to retrieve said vehicle 
before the tow truck motor carrier is in possession of the vehicle, no 
fee(s) shall be charged to the vehicle owner.  
                 (d)  If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of   
the owner of the vehicle is attempting to retrieve the vehicle after the 
tow truck motor carrier is in possession of the vehicle but before the 
vehicle is removed from the property or scene, the maximum fee shall 
not exceed 50% of the posted rate schedule.  
                 (e)  Charges for recovery operations, as defined by R909-19-  
3, shall be coordinated with the towed vehicle owner, or directed by 
law enforcement prior to initiating the additional charges relating to the 
recovery  operation.   Coordination  with  the  towed  vehicle  owner 
should result in an agreement between the towed vehicle owner and 
tow truck motor carrier.  
                 (i)  If attempts to coordinate the recovery operation charges   
with the towed vehicle owner fail,  law enforcement personnel may 
authorize the recovery operation.  

                 (ii)  At least two attempts must be made to contact the towed   
vehicle owner.  
                 (iii)   Record  of  owner  coordination  or  law enforcement   
authorization shall be maintained by a tow truck motor carrier for each 
recovery  operation.  The  record  shall  include  contact  name,  entity, 
contact time and date, and agreement made.  
                 (iv)  Uncoordinated or unauthorized recovery operation fees   
may be subject to penalty and reimbursement of recovery operation 
fees.  

R909-19-12.  Police Generated Towing Fee Calculation.  
                 (1)  Tows dispatched during business hours: Tow time shall   
be calculated from dispatch time to completion of tow service.  
                 (2)  Tows dispatched after business hours:  Tow time shall be   
calculated from dispatch time to completion of tow service and return 
to dispatch location.   Time to return to  dispatch location shall  not 
exceed allowed rotation response time.  
                 (3)   Time  charged  shall  be  to  the  nearest  fifteen-minute   
increment.  
                 (4)  Charges may not extend to include the towing notice   
requirement period pursuant to Utah Code Subsections 72-9-603(1)(a)
(i) or 41-6a-1406(4)(a)(ii).  

R909-19-13.  Non-consent Towing Storage Fee.  
                 (1)  Daily storage fees for Non-consent Police generated tow   
service may not exceed:  
                 (a)  Outside storage: light duty $40, medium duty $60, heavy   
duty $60  
                 (b)  Inside Storage: light duty $45, medium duty $85, heavy   
duty $85  
                 (c)  Outside hazardous materials: medium duty $115, heavy   
duty $115  
                 (d)  Inside hazardous materials: medium duty $165, heavy   
duty $165  
                 (2)  Daily storage fees for Non-consent non-police generated   
tow service may not exceed:  
                 (a)  Outside storage: light duty $25, medium duty $45, heavy   
duty $45  
                 (i)  Light duty state approved yard: $40, medium duty $60,   
heavy duty $60.  
                 (b)  Inside Storage: light duty $45, medium duty $85, heavy   
duty $85  
                 (c)  Outside hazardous materials: medium duty $115, heavy   
duty $115  
                 (d)  Inside hazardous materials: medium duty $165, heavy   
duty $165.  
                 (3)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge up to but not   
exceeding the amount for storage per day for the type of non-consent 
tow.  
                 (a)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge a higher fee for   
inside storage per day per unit only if requested by the owner(s), or a 
law enforcement agency or highway authority.  
                 (b)  Vehicles used in the transportation of materials found to   
be  hazardous  for  the  purposes  of  the  Hazardous  Materials 
Transportation  Act  and  which  require  the  motor  vehicle  to  be 
placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations, 49 CFR Part 
172, subpart F may be charged a higher storage fee rate.  
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                 (c)  For the purpose of calculating storage rates, if the first   
six hours of storage for a vehicle includes more than one day,  the 
authorized storage fee is only the charge for one day.  

R909-19-14.  Non-consent Fuel Surcharge Fee.  
                 (1)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge a fuel surcharge   
when  the  daily  Rocky  Mountain  Average,  as  determined  by  the 
Department of Energy, for the price of fuel reaches $3.25 per gallon, a 
tow truck motor carrier may charge a surcharge equal to 5% of the 
base tow rate. An additional 5% shall be allowed for each $0.25 per 
gallon  increase.   Conversely,  as  the  price  of  fuel  drops,  the  fuel 
surcharge shall decrease by the same rate.  
                 (a)  To determine the Rocky Mountain daily average per   
gallon  diesel  cost,  refer  to  the  U.S.  Energy  Information 
Administration's website at https://www.eia.gov/.  
                 (b)   The fuel  surcharge  may be  charged  on non-consent   
police generated tow when the vehicle is being used in the function of 
a tow vehicle i.e. travel to and from the scene and during the operation 
of  equipment  for  recovery operation.  Non-consent  non-police  tows 
may charge a onetime fee.  
                 (c)  Surcharge fee shall be listed as a separate fee on the tow   
bill.  

R909-19-15.  Non-consent Administrative Fee.  
                 A tow truck motor carrier may charge an administrative fee   
for  reporting the  removal  of  up  to  but  not  exceeding  the  amount 
indicated  in  the  Towing  Fee  Schedule  as  published  online  at, 
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396  per  vehicle 
notification for reporting non-consent tows to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles and for sending notifications to the owner and lien-holder (if 
applicable).  

R909-19-16.   Tow  Truck  Service  and  Administrative  Fee 
Adjustment.  
                 (1)  The Motor Carrier Division is required to establish the   
allowable maximum fee for a tow truck service and administrative fee 
for reporting the removal, as per Utah State Code 72-9-603.  
                 The Towing Fees Schedule is published on the Division's   
website at http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg:0:::1:T,V:396.  
                 (2)  The allowable maximum fee for tow truck service and   
the maximum allowable administrative fee for reporting the removal 
shall be tied to the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Wage Earners 
and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) in the West Urban Region of the U.S. 
The CPI-W is calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of 
Labor  and  Statistics  (BLS),  which  publishes  CPI  Detailed  Report 
Tables every month on its web site at https://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables/ 
home.htm.  
                 (3)  The Motor Carrier Division shall adjust the allowable   
maximum fees once annually as follows:  
                 (a)  The base fee schedule for each calendar year after a year   
in  which  the  motor  Carrier  Division  determines  the  allowable 
maximum fees pursuant to R909-19-11(1) shall be adjusted effective 
January 1 of each such calendar year (the "Adjustment Date").  
                 (b)  The adjustment amount of the allowable maximum fees   
shall be equal to the change in the CPI-W for the twelve-month period 
prior to the October CPI-W figure reported by the BLS immediately 
preceding the Adjustment Date in question.  

                 (c)  If the twelve-month change in the CPI-W from October   
to  October  is  negative,  the  allowable  maximum fees  shall  remain 
unchanged until the next Adjustment Date.  
                 (d)   The  Division  of  Motor  Carriers  shall  round  the   
allowable maximum fees to the nearest whole number.  

R909-19-17[2].  Public Consent Towing and Storage Rates.[ Public 
Consent Tows.]

Towing rates for public consent tows are the responsibility 
of the consumer and the tow truck motor  carrier as contracted for 
services rendered and are not regulated by the Department.

R909-19-18[3].  Rates and Storage Posting Requirements.
Pursuant to Section 72-9-603, a tow truck motor carrier or 

impound yard shall clearly and conspicuously post and disclose all its 
current non-consent fees and rates for towing and storage of a vehicle 
at all locations at which vehicles are retrieved, or payment is accepted.

R909-19-19[4].  Federal Motor Carrier Safety Requirements.
All tow truck motor carriers that meet the definition of a 

commercial  motor  carrier  shall  comply with  all  State  and  Federal 
Motor  Carrier  Safety  Regulations,  in  addition  to  any  other  legal 
requirements established in statute, rule, or permit.

R909-19-20[15].  Consumer Protection Information.
Pursuant to Section 72-9-602, the Department shall  make 

consumer protection information available to the public that may use a 
tow truck motor carrier.  To obtain such information, including a list of 
[Tow Truck Motor Carriers]tow truck motor carriers that are currently 
certified by the Department,  the public can access this information 
online  at  http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:pg::::1:T,V:396,  or 
by calling the Motor Carrier Division at (801) 965-4892.

R909-19-21[16].  Establishment of Tow Truck Steering Committee 
and Work Group.

(1)  The Administrator for the Motor Carrier Division will 
establish a Steering Committee to provide advisory information and 
input.

(2)  The Motor Carrier Advisory Board, established by the 
Governor, will serve as the steering body for regulatory guidance and 
the Department's certification process.

R909-19-22[17].  Review of Rates, Fees and Certification Process.
(1)  During a regularly scheduled Motor Carrier Advisory 

Board meeting,  the board may review rates,  fees,  tow truck motor 
carrier  procedures,  and the certification process.   The board is not 
required to review each of these items every year.

(2)(a)  Interested parties must notify the department of their 
desire to appear and be heard at a regularly scheduled Motor Carrier 
Advisory Board meeting.  To ensure placement on the agenda, notify 
the Motor Carrier Division at 801-965-4892, by the first day of the 
month of the scheduled meeting.

(b)  Interested parties must be present at the Motor Carrier 
Advisory Board meeting to submit evidence supporting or challenging 
proposed  rate  or  fee  adjustments,  or  issues  related  to  procedures 
regarding the certification process.
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R909-19-23[18].  Ability to Petition for Review.
Any  [Tow  Truck  Carrier]tow  truck  motor  carrier who 

believes the Division has acted wrongfully in denying or suspending 
certification or in imposing a cease-and-desist order may petition the 
Department for review of that action pursuant to Utah Admin. Code 
R907-1, Administrative Procedures.

R909-19-24[19].  Record Retention.
[Tow Truck Motor Carriers]Tow truck motor carriers shall 

retain records relating to rates charged for services for a period of six 
months after the service has been provided.  However, if the Division 
or the vehicle owner have notified the carrier that it disputes its ability 
to charge a particular fee, the carrier shall retain the record until six 
months after the dispute has concluded or a court rule or order requires 
a longer retention period.

R909-19-25[0].  Life Essential Property.
Property which is deemed as life essential shall be given to 

the vehicle owner regardless of payment for rendered services.

KEY:  safety regulations, tow trucks, towing, certifications
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41-6a-1405; 41-6a-1406; 53-1-106;  53-8-105;  72-9-601;  72-9-602; 
72-9-603; 72-9-604; 72-9-301; 72-9-303; 72-9-701; 72-9-702; 72-9-
703

Transportation, Operations, Traffic and 
Safety

R920-50
Ropeway Operation Safety

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  43444
FILED:  12/14/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  governing  safety  standard  for  passenger 
ropeways  -  aerial  tramways,  aerial  lifts,  surface  lifts,  tows, 
and  conveyors  -  under  the  American  National  Standards 
Institute  (ANSI)  B77.1-2011  received  an  update  in  2017. 
These proposed amendments are to incorporate the updated 
safety  standard  by reference and  incorporate  the  changes 
included in the update into the existing rule.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Summary of the 
changes  resulting  from  replacing  the  ANSI  B77.1-2011 
standard  with  the  ANSI  B77.1-2017  standard:   1) 
requirements  for  the  evaluation  and  selection  of  electrical 
components have been revised to be consistent with industry

standards; 2) fuel handling requirements have been revised 
to be consistent with industry standards; 3) additional  work 
carrier  requirements  have  been  established  to  provide  a 
consistent  standard  for  work  carriers  in  use;  and  4)  lift 
operation requirements are refined to provide clarity for the 
roles and responsibilities of lift operators.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 72-11-210 and Title 72, Chapter 11

MATERIALS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE:
♦ Updates Passenger Ropeways - Aerial Tramways, 
Aerial Lifts, Surface Lifts, Tows and Conveyors - 
Safety Standard, published by American National 
Standards Institute, 05/11/2018
♦ Adds For Funiculars - Safety Requirements, 
published by American National Standards, 
09/19/2014

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  The Department of Transportation 
(Department)  does  not  anticipate  that  these  proposed 
amendments will lead to any additional cost or saving to the 
state budget.  The Department already regulates and inspects 
ski lifts operating in the state.  These proposed amendments 
will not require the Department to invest any additional time 
or other assets to meet its responsibilities.  It will just apply 
different a standard.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   The  Department  does  not 
anticipate that these proposed amendments will lead to any 
additional  cost  or  saving  to  local  governments.   The 
Department regulates and inspects ski lifts operating in the 
state.  Local governments are generally not involved in this 
process.
♦  SMALL  BUSINESSES:   The  Department's  research 
suggests  that  these  proposed  amendments  will  lead  to 
compliance costs or fiscal impact to the average skiing facility, 
both  small  and non-small,  from $0 to  $2,000.   Total  fiscal 
impact to small businesses affected by these proposed rule 
changes could total more than $24,000.  The fiscal impacts 
would  result  from  adoption  of  updated  ANSI  standards 
included in these proposed rule changes.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The  Department  estimates  persons  other  than  businesses 
and local governments, skiers, may be fiscally impacted by 
these proposed amendments because lift operators that are 
fiscally  impacted  will  likely  pass additional  costs  on  to  the 
consumer.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
Department does not  attempt to  estimate what  compliance 
costs will be for all persons affected by these proposed rule 
changes  because  the  cost  of  doing  so  is  prohibitive.   Lift 
operators control how much of their costs they pass to their 
consumers.   For  lift  operators,  the  Department  estimates 
these proposed rule changes will be from $0 to $2,000 per lift.

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2019, Vol. 2019, No. 1 63



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 43444

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
These  proposed  rule  changes  will  likely  result  in  a  fiscal 
impact on some businesses in Utah.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION
OPERATIONS, TRAFFIC AND SAFETY
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119-5998
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Brian Allen by phone at 801-965-4766, by FAX at 801-965-
3845, or by Internet E-mail at brianallen@utah.gov
♦ Christine Newman by phone at 801-965-4026, by FAX at 
801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at cwnewman@utah.gov
♦ James Palmer by phone at 801-965-4000, by FAX at 801-
965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at jimpalmer@utah.gov
♦ Josh Dangel by Internet E-mail at jdangel@utah.gov
♦ Linda Hull by phone at 801-965-4253, or by Internet E-mail 
at lhull@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Carlos Braceras, Executive Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State 
Government

$0 $0 $0

Local 
Government

$0 $0 $0

Small 
Businesses

$0 - $24,000 $0 $0

Non-Small 
Businesses

$0 - $254,000 $0 $0

Other Person $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Costs:

$0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State 
Government

$0 $0 $0

Local 
Government

$0 $0 $0

Small 
Businesses

$0 $0 $0

Non-Small 
Businesses

$0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 - $278,000 + $0 $0

*This table only includes fiscal impacts that could be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts 
for State Government, Local Government, Small Businesses 
and  Other  Persons  are  described  in  the  narrative. 
Inestimable impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described 
in Appendix 2.
Appendix  2:  Regulatory  Impact  to  Small  and  Non-Small 
Businesses
1)   The  Department  of  Transportation  (Department) 
estimates that skiing facilities that operate ropeways in 
Utah  are  the  only  businesses  that  will  experience  a 
material  fiscal  impact  resulting  from  this  proposed 
amendment.   This  fiscal  impact  may  be  positive  or 
negative,  depending  upon  the  specific  facility  impacted 
and how we define fiscal impact.  The Skiing Facilities 
industry is comprised of establishments that 1) operate 
downhill, cross-country, or related skiing areas and/or 2) 
operate equipment, such as ski lifts and tows.  The NAICS 
Code for Skiing facilities is: 713920.
2)  The Department of Workforce Services (DWS) Firm Find 
Data includes data about 17 establishments identified by 
the NAICS industry code for Skiing Facilities, 713920.
3)  Of these 17 Skiing Facilities, seven are non-small 
businesses;  ten  are  small  businesses,  as  defined  by 
Subsection 63G-3-102(19).  For a complete list of these 
skiing facilities, contact the Department.
4)   The  Department's  research  suggests  this  proposed 
amendment will lead to compliance costs to the average 
impacted skiing facility, both small and non-small, from 
$0 to $2,000.  If operators must upgrade every lift in the 
state, the fiscal impact could total $278,000 or more.  If 
not lift operators are required to install upgrades, the 
fiscal impact could be $0.
5)  The basis for the Department's cost estimates is: The 
Internet website Skiresort.info at: http://www.skiresort. 
info/ski-resorts/utah/sorted/number-lifts/  includes 
information about the ski resorts and operators in Utah. 
According to Skiresort.info Utah has 17 ski resorts, 14 
that have ski lifts that they must maintain and 3 that 
provide heli-skiing or cat-skiing services.  Of these 14 
resorts,  8  are  owned  by  or  operated  as  non-small 
businesses, 6 owned by or operated as small businesses. 
The 14 resorts that operate ski lifts operate 139 lifts 
total.   Small  businesses  operate  12  lifts,  non-small 
businesses operate the remaining 127 lifts are operated by 
non-small businesses.
6)  The reason for this fiscal impact to these facilities 
is the possible need to install new or different safety 
equipment to conform to the new ANSI standards.
7)  The Department estimates that local governments will 
not experience a fiscal impact related to this proposed 
amendment because the proposed changes to this rule do not 
require anything additional from them.
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8)  The Department estimates persons other than businesses 
and local governments, skiers, may be fiscally impacted by 
this proposed amendment because lift operators that are 
fiscally impacted will likely pass additional costs on to 
the consumer.
9)  The Department estimates that neither it nor the state 
will experience a fiscal impact related to this proposed 
amendment because state and federal law already require it 
to regulate and inspect skiing facilities.  This proposed 
amendment will not change the amount of work required to 
meet its responsibilities.
10)  Carlos Braceras, executive director of the Department 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.

R920.  Transportation, Operations, Traffic and Safety.
R920-50.  Ropeway Operation Safety.
R920-50-1.  Purpose.

This rule establishes regulations, requirements, and provides 
standards for the design, construction, and operation of a passenger 
ropeway, except private residence passenger ropeways as defined in 
Section 72-11-102(11)[,] and establishes the procedures necessary to 
implement  the powers  and duties  of the Utah Passenger  Ropeway 
Safety  Committee  (Committee).   Previously  the  Committee  was 
known  as  the  Utah  Passenger  Tramway  Safety  Committee.   The 
Committee has also been referred to as the Tramway Board.

R920-50-2.  Authority.
This rule is authorized by Section 72-11-210 to implement 

Title 72, Chapter 11, Passenger Ropeway Systems Act.

R920-50-3.  Definitions.
In  addition  to  terms  defined  at  Section  72-11-102,  the 

following terms are defined:
(1)  "Aerial  lift  specialist" as used in American National 

Standards Institute (ANSI) B77.1 sections 3.3.4.1 and 4.3.4.1, means a 
Ropeway Inspector as defined in R920-50-3(31).

(2)   "Aerial  tramway specialist"  as  used  in  ANSI B77.1 
section 2.3.4.1 means a Ropeway Inspector as defined in R920-50-
3(31).

(3)  "Air Space" means the area bounded by vertical planes 
commencing at a point thirty-five (35) feet from the intersection of the 
vertical planes of the ropes and ground surface.

(4)  "Annual general inspection" means an inspection of a 
passenger  ropeway  made  by  a  Ropeway  Inspector  to  verify 
preservation  of  original  design  integrity  and  to  determine  that 
components  and  systems  of  the  passenger  ropeway  are  in  proper 
working order and in accordance with this rule.

(5)  "Audible warning devices" means an audible warning 
device that signals an impending start of the aerial lift.
                 (6)  "Auxiliary Power Unit" is a generic term to describe a   
gas or diesel engine generally used as a backup to the prime mover.  
                 (7)  "Bullwheel" means a large grooved wheel at a terminal   
that rotates continuously when the haul rope is moving and deflects the 
haul rope by an angle of 10 degrees or more.  
                 (8)   "Carrier"  means  the  structural  and  mechanical   
assemblage in or on which the passenger(s) or freight of a ropeway 
system are  transported.   Unless  qualified,  the  carrier  includes,  for 
example, the carriage, grip or clip, hanger, and cabin or chair.  

([6]9)  "Conveyor specialist" as used in ANSI B77.1 section 
7.3.4[.1] means a Ropeway Inspector as defined in R920-50-3(31).

([7]10)  "Dynamic Testing Logs" means a record of the data 
collected during the dynamic test.

([8]11)  "Experienced personnel" means an individual who 
has  acquired  knowledge  and  skills  through  study,  training,  or 
experience in ropeway maintenance, operation, or testing.

([9]12)  "Existing ropeway" means any passenger ropeway 
that shall have been operated for passengers [in excess of]for more 
than one calendar year.
                 (13)  "Grip" means the device by which carriers are attached   
to the haul rope.  

([10]14)   "Governing  Standard"  means  ["ANSI  B-77.1, 
2011" and "ANSI B77.2, 2014" as modified by rule of the Committee 
for  use  in  the  State  of  Utah.]the  ANSI  B77  standard  that  is 
incorporated  by  reference  as  part  of  this  rule  by  rule  R920-50-4 
Governing Standards.[  Use of these standards is authorized by Section 
72-11-201.]
                 (15)  "Haul rope" means a wire rope used on a ropeway that   
provides motion to carrier(s) and is powered by the drive bullwheel.  

([11]16)   "Incident  inspection" means an inspection of  a 
passenger ropeway incident made by an approved Ropeway Inspector 
or a qualified engineer at the request of the Committee.

([12]17)   "Land  surveyor"  means  an  individual  licensed 
under Section 58-22-102 as a professional land surveyor.

([13]18)  "Modification" means any change as defined in 
ANSI B77.1 Section 1.2.4.4,  ANSI B77.2 Section 1.2.4.4,  and the 
replacement of a ropeway component by one that alters the certified 
design  or  construction  provided  by  the  passenger  ropeway 
manufacturer or designer.

([14]19)   "New ropeway" means any passenger  ropeway 
that is registered for the first time for passenger operation during its 
first calendar year of operation.

([15]20)  "Operational inspection" means an inspection of a 
passenger  ropeway  made  by  a  Ropeway  Inspector  to  determine 
compliance with the operation and maintenance requirements of the 
Governing Standard and with this rule.

([16]21)  "Operating personnel" means persons employed 
by the operator [for the purpose of]to supervise[ing] the operation, or 
engaged  in  servicing,  checking,  inspecting  or  maintaining  the 
machinery or structures of a ropeway and when [specifically ]on duty 
for such purposes on that ropeway.

([17]22)  "Passenger" means any person riding a ropeway, 
other than "operating personnel."

([18]23)  "Passenger Ropeway Incident" means:
(a)  Any structural, mechanical, or electrical malfunction or 

failure of a passenger ropeway component that results in bodily injury 
to any person on, or inside the load or unload zone of, a passenger 
ropeway;

(b)   Any deropement  regardless  of  whether  [or  not  ]the 
passenger ropeway is evacuated;

(c)  Any evacuation of the passenger ropeway other than by 
prime mover or auxiliary power unit, regardless of cause;

(d)  Any fire involving a passenger ropeway component or 
adjacent structure;

(e)  Any structural, mechanical, or electrical malfunction or 
failure of a passenger ropeway component that results in a  ropeway 
that will not SLOW DOWN when given the command to do so, will 
not STOP when given the command to do so, OVERSPEEDS beyond 
control  settings  and/or  maximum  design  speed,  ACCELERATES 
faster  than  normal  design  acceleration,  SELF-STARTS  or  SELF-
ACCELERATES  without  the  command  to  do  so,  REVERSES 
direction unintentionally and without the command to do so , or a loss 
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of  control  of  the  passenger  ropeway  as  defined  in  [ANSI  B77.1 
Section X.2.3.1 or ]ANSI B77.2 Section 2.2.3.1[2.2.1.7.2];

(f)  Any wire rope damage which exceeds the requirement in 
ANSI B77.1 Section A.4.1.3 or ANSI B77.2 Section  A.4.1[3.4.1.1]; 
and

(g)  Any structural, mechanical, or electrical malfunction or 
failure of a passenger ropeway component or its primary connection 
that has the apparent potential for causing bodily injury to any person, 
including but not limited to, the following:

(i)  Terminal Structure;
(ii)  Bullwheel;
(iii)  Brake System;
(iv)  Tower Structure;
(v)  Sheave, Axle, or Sheave Assembly;
(vi)  Carrier; and
(vii)  Grip.
([19]24)  "Portable Ropeway" means a ropeway expressly 

designed to be portable, operated without a permanent foundation, and 
that has a design range of maximum grade.

([20]25)  "Pre-operational inspection" means an inspection 
made by a Ropeway Inspector prior to the operation of any new or 
modified passenger ropeway requiring an Acceptance Inspection and 
Test.

([21]26)  "Qualified engineer" means any engineer who is 
licensed to practice engineering in the state of Utah and who has been 
approved by the Committee.
                 (27)  "Prime Mover" means the power unit utilized for the   
continuous operation of a passenger ropeway.  

([22]28)   "Qualified  personnel"  as  used  in  ANSI  B77.1 
sections 2.1.1.11,  3.1.1.11,  4.1.1.11,  5.1.1.11,  6.1.1.11,  and 7.1.1.11 
means a qualified engineer as defined by R920-50-3(26).

([23]29)   "Relocated  ropeway"  means  any  passenger 
ropeway moved to a new location.

([24]30)  "Responsible charge" means effective control and 
direction of the installation or modification of a passenger ropeway.

([25]31)  "Ropeway Inspector" means an engineer licensed 
to  practice  engineering  in  the  state  of  Utah,  independent  of  the 
ropeway owner, and approved by the Committee to inspect passenger 
ropeways.
                 (32)  "Sheave" means pulley or wheel grooved for haul rope.      

([26]33)   "Structure"  means  any  edifice,  including 
residential and public buildings, or any other structure or equipment 
that could reasonably be expected to interfere with the safe operation 
of a ropeway.  Ropeway components required for the operation of the 
ropeway are not structures.

([27]34)  "Surface lift  specialist" as used in ANSI B77.1 
section 5.3.4.1, means a Ropeway Inspector as defined in R920-50-
3(31).

[(28)   "Testing  Personnel"  means  individuals  that  are 
performing  non-destructive  testing  (NDT)  inspections  (i.e., 
manufacturer,  inspection  agency,  other  personnel,  or  in-house 
personnel)  who  shall  be  qualified  in  accordance  with  nationally 
recognized  NDT  personnel  qualifications  standards:  ANSI/ASNT-
CP189, SNT-TC-1A, MIL STD 410, NAS-410, or equivalent.  
               (29)](35)  "Tow specialist" as used in ANSI B77.1 section 
6.3.4[.1] means a Ropeway Inspector as defined by R920-50-3(31).

R920-50-4.  Governing Standards.  
                 (1)  Passenger ropeways operating in the State of Utah shall   
conform to the requirements of ANSI B77.1-2017, ANSI B77.2-2014, 
which are incorporated by reference as part of this rule R920-50 and to 
the revised and additional provision listed in R920-50-11.  Use of these 
standards is authorized by Utah Code Section 72-11-201.  
                 (2)   The  Utah  Passenger  Ropeway  Safety  Committee   
reserves the right to add, alter, or delete provisions included in the 
Governing Standard for use in the State of Utah.  
                 (3)  Existing installations need not comply with the new or   
revised requirements of the Governing Standard and this rule except as 
set forth in R920-50-12 "Applicable Provisions."  

R920-50-[4]5.  General Requirements for Passenger Ropeways.
(1)  Passenger ropeways operating in the State of Utah shall 

be registered annually with the Committee, and no passenger ropeway 
shall  be  operated  for  passengers  without  a  valid  certificate  of 
registration.

(2)  Ropeways require a qualified engineer to certify the 
design, manufacturing, and construction of the ropeway.  A Qualified 
Engineer  or  Land  Surveyor  is  required  to  complete  the  "as-built" 
profile and certification.

(3)  Existing ropeways, when removed and reinstalled, shall 
be classified as new installations.

(4)   Ropeway  operators  shall  be  covered  by  a  liability 
insurance of a minimum of $300,000.  The Utah Passenger Ropeway 
Safety  Committee  shall  be  notified  of  a  lapse  or  termination  of 
insurance coverage pursuant to the terms of the policy.

R920-50-[5]6.  Application to Register a Passenger Ropeway.
(1)  Each year prior to operating a passenger ropeway the 

ropeway operator shall apply to the Committee, for a Certificate of 
Registration. In the event a new operator is assigned, the operator shall 
notify the Committee of such action and shall apply for a Certificate of 
Registration.

(2)  Term - Passenger ropeways shall be registered annually 
starting November 1st of each year, and each registration expires on 
October 31st next following date of issue.

(3)  Application for Certificate of Registration for existing 
ropeways shall include the following:

(a)  Annual General Inspection Report;
(b)  Annual registration fee;
(c)  Approved request for exception, if applicable;
(d)  Certification of Compliance; and
(e)  Certificate of Insurance.
(4)   Application  for  Certificate  of  Registration  for  new 

ropeways shall include the following:
(a)  Annual registration fee;
(b)  Approved request for exception, if applicable;
(c)  Certification of Compliance;
(d)  Certificate of Insurance;
(e)  Certifications required in R920-50-[6]7;
(f)  Documents required in R920-50-[7]8; and
(g)  Preoperational Inspection Report.
(5)  Submittal of application for registration of ropeways - 

All applications for registration of new or existing ropeways shall be
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submitted  in  such  form  as  the  Committee  shall  designate  and  in 
accordance with requirements of these rules.  Applications shall  be 
made in writing and addressed to:

Utah Department of Transportation
Passenger Ropeway Safety Committee
Traffic and Safety Division
4501 South 2700 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84119

R920-50-[6]7.  Certifications Required for Ropeways.
(1)   The  Certifications  listed  below  must  include  the 

following information:
(a)  Name, address and telephone number of the operator of 

the ropeway, name of ropeway supervisor, operator's designation of the 
ropeway;

(b)  Designated certifying statement;
(c)  A certification of design,  and construction must  also 

include  the  name,  address,  seal,  and  Utah  license  of  the  qualified 
engineer making the certification; and

(d)  A certification of "as-built" profile must also include the 
name, address, seal, and Utah license of the qualified engineer or land 
surveyor making the certification.

(2)  A Certification of Compliance for Passenger Ropeway 
shall be made on the Application for Certificate of Registration for the 
Ropeway.

(a)   The  certification  shall  be  signed  and  dated  by  the 
ropeway owner or area operator.

(b)  The certification shall include the following statement: 
"I certify that the reports, requests and certificates attached hereto were 
provided and signed by the persons required by law to provide them, 
and the deficiencies noted in the inspection report have been corrected 
with the exception of those listed in the Request for Exception from 
Standards for Passenger Ropeway."

(3)  A Certification of Ropeway Design for New or Modified 
Passenger Ropeways[,] must be submitted.

(a)  The Qualified Engineer  in  responsible charge of the 
design  shall  certify  to  the  Committee  that  the  design,  plans  and 
specifications conform to the Utah Passenger Ropeway Safety Act, the 
Governing Standard and the Utah Ropeway Operation Safety Rule.

(b)   The  Certification  must  be  submitted  prior  to  the 
performance of the Acceptance Inspection and Test.

(c)  The certification must state the following:
"I hereby certify that the design for this ropeway or ropeway 

modification  is  in  complete  compliance  with  the  Utah  Passenger 
Ropeway Safety Act,  Governing  Standard  and  the  Utah  Ropeway 
Operation Safety Rule."

(d)  This statement shall be placed on the top of the drawing 
packet and signed and sealed by the qualified engineer. Each additional 
sheet of this drawing packet shall be sealed by the qualified engineer.

(e)  The drawings and specifications shall include the quality 
assurance methods used for the evaluation of the re-used components 
and shall  be submitted for review a minimum of 30 days prior to 
installation.  Any component on the Utah Passenger Ropeway Safety 
Committee Lift Data Form must be addressed.

(4)  A Certification of Construction for Passenger Ropeways 
must be submitted by a Qualified Engineer directly responsible for the 
construction for the ropeway.

(a)   The  Certification  must  be  submitted  prior  to  the 
performance of the Acceptance Inspection and Test.

(b)  The certification must state the following:
"I hereby certify that the construction and installation has 

been completed in accordance with the drawings and specifications 
issued for  this  ropeway or  ropeway modification  by the  Qualified 
Design Engineer."

(5)  A Certification of "as-built" profile for the Passenger 
Ropeway  must  be  submitted  by  a  Qualified  Engineer  or  Land 
Surveyor licensed in the State of Utah.

(a)  The "as-built" profile must be submitted prior to the 
performance of the Acceptance Inspection and Test.

(b)  The certification must state the following:
"I hereby certify that the attached "as-built" profile of the 

herein-identified  ropeway is  as  represented  on  the  attached  profile 
drawing and that the completed ropeway conforms to the profile as 
identified in the plans and specifications prepared by the Qualified 
Design Engineer."

R920-50-[7]8.  Documents Required for Ropeways.
(1)  A Utah Passenger Ropeway Safety Committee Lift Data 

Form  must  be  submitted  along  with  other  requested  supporting 
documents.  This form must be submitted prior to the performance of 
the Acceptance Test.

(2)  A copy of the acceptance test procedure proposed and 
submitted by the designer or manufacturer must be provided to the 
Committee for review at least fourteen (14) days before acceptance 
testing begins.  The qualified engineer determines the acceptance test 
requirements.

(3)  The owner or area operator shall notify the Committee 
in  writing before  the acceptance test  that  the continuous operation 
requirements of ANSI B77.1 section X.1.1.11 or ANSI B77.2 section 
2.1.1.11[.2] have been completed.

(4)  A final acceptance test report must be submitted to the 
Committee  prior  to  opening  the  lift  to  the  public.   The  qualified 
engineer shall approve any changes to the acceptance test procedure.

(5)  "As-built" drawings for each passenger ropeway shall be 
submitted no later than 60 days after the project is completed and the 
Acceptance Test is finished.  Any variation from the design drawings 
shall be noted in the as-built drawings and approved by the Qualified 
Design Engineer.

(6)  The area operator shall send a "letter of intent" to the 
Committee at least 45 days prior to beginning the construction of a 
new lift.  The letter of intent must include the name of the qualified 
engineer,  the  design  standard,  the  anticipated  dates  to  begin  and 
complete construction, and the available lift manufacturing data.
R920-50-[8]9.  Certificate of Registration.

(1)   If  the application for  Certificate  of Registration and 
supporting documentation attest that the ropeway complies with the 
Governing Standard and this rule, the Committee, if satisfied with the 
facts stated in the application, shall issue a Certificate of Registration 
to the operator.

(2)  Identification number - For each ropeway, upon receipt 
of the first application for a Certificate of Registration, the Committee 
shall  assign  an  identification  number  to  the  ropeway,  which  shall 
remain  as  a  permanent  identification  number  for  the  life  of  the 
ropeway.  All correspondence with the Committee pertaining to any 
ropeway  shall  refer  to  the  identification  number  assigned  to  that 
ropeway.
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[R920-50-9.  Governing Standards.  
               (1)   The  Utah  Passenger  Ropeway  Safety  Committee 
reserves the right to add, alter, or delete provisions included in the 
Governing Standard for use in the State of Utah.  
               (2)  Existing installations need not comply with the new or 
revised requirements of the Governing Standard and this rule except as 
set forth in R920-50-11 "Applicable Provisions."]

R920-50-10.  Revised and Additional Provisions.
The revised and additional provisions of this section shall 

only apply when referenced in R920-50-11 "Applicable Provisions."
(1)  "New installations and relocated installations." ANSI 

B77.1 Section 1.2.4.3 is modified by the following requirement: New 
ropeways  and  relocated  ropeways  shall  comply  with  the  new  or 
revised requirements of the Governing Standard and with these rules at 
the time of the acceptance test.

(2)   "Auxiliary  power  unit[drives]."  Installations  prior  to 
November 1, 1994  shall meet the requirements for auxiliary  power 
units[drives],  as set  forth in ANSI B77.1-1992, 2.1.2.1.1,  3.1.2.1.1, 
4.1.2.1.1.

(3)  "Electronic speed-regulated drives." Installations prior to 
November 1, 1994  shall meet the requirements for electronic speed-
regulated drives as set forth in ANSI B77.1-1992, 2.2.1.8.2, 3.2.1.8.2, 
4.2.1.8.2, 5.2.1.8.2, 6.2.1.8.2.

(4)   "Rope  position  monitoring."  Installations  prior  to 
November  1,  1994  shall  meet  the  requirements  for  rope  position 
monitoring, as set forth in ANSI B77.1-1992, 3.1.3.3.2, paragraph 6.

(5)  "Friction type brakes." Installations prior to November 
1, 1995 shall meet the requirements for friction type brakes, as set forth 
in ANSI B77.1-1992, 2.1.2.5, 3.1.2.5, 4.1.2.5, 5.1.2.5, 6.1.2.5.
[              (6)   "Fire  detection."  All  machine  rooms  that  are  in  an 
enclosed  structure  located  adjacent  to  the  rope  of  the  tramway 
(vaulted) shall have a fire detection system installed in accordance with 
the National Fire Alarm Code.  This system shall initiate a visual and 
audible alarm monitored at the drive terminal operator station.  
               (7)   "Grips,  clips,  and  carrier  testing."  Testing  shall  be 
completed according to section ANSI B77.1 sections 2.3.4.3, 3.3.4.3, 
4.3.4.3, and ANSI B77.2 section 2.3.4.4 except as modified by this 
rule.  
               (a)   Testing  personnel  performing  non-destructive  testing 
(NDT)  inspections  (i.e.,  manufacturer,  inspection  agency,  other 
personnel, or in-house personnel) shall be qualified in accordance with 
nationally  recognized  NDT  personnel  qualifications  standards: 
ANSI/ASNT-CP189,  SNT-TC-1A,  MIL  STD  410,  NAS-410,  or 
equivalent.   Certification  of  qualification  of  personnel  performing 
testing shall be provided.  
               (b)   Testing personnel  shall  certify  to  the owner  or  area 
operator  that  the  passenger  ropeway components  tested  were  non-
destructively  tested  in  accordance  with  current  acceptance  criteria 
established by the designer or manufacturer, or in case the designer or 
manufacturer is no longer in business, by a Qualified Engineer.  
               (c)  Sampling size and method of obtaining the sample shall 
comply  with  the  Governing  Standard  or  the  manufacturer's 
requirement, which ever is more stringent.  
               (d)  Rejection rate and retest procedures shall comply with 
current acceptance criteria established by the designer or manufacturer, 
or in case the designer or manufacturer is no longer in business, by a 
Qualified Engineer.  

               (e)  Types of inspections to be performed and the procedures 
to be used shall comply with current acceptance criteria established by 
the designer or manufacturer, or in case the designer or manufacturer is 
no longer in business, by a Qualified Engineer.  
               (f)  Criteria for acceptance/rejection of samples shall comply 
with  current  acceptance  criteria  established  by  the  designer  or 
manufacturer, or in case the designer or manufacturer is no longer in 
business, by a Qualified Engineer.]

[(8)](6)  "Wire  rope  inspection."  Inspections  shall  be 
performed according to ANSI B77.1 Annex A.4.1 and ANSI B77.2 
Annex A.4.1[3.4.1] and shall be performed by a competent inspector 
defined  by  the  Governing  Standard  and  who  is  approved  by  the 
Committee.  The wire rope inspector shall certify to the owner or area 
operator  whether  the  wire  rope  in  its  present  condition  meets 
requirements for continued operation.
[              (9)   "Operation  and  maintenance."  All  installations  shall 
comply  with  the  Operation  and  Maintenance  requirements  of  the 
Governing Standard.  These requirements are stated in ANSI B77.1, 
2.3, 3.3, 4.3, 5.3, 6.3, 7.3, and ANSI B77.2 2.3.]

[(10)](7)  "Audible  warning  devices."  Requirements  for 
audible warning devices on installations prior to April 17, 2007.

(a)   Installations  shall  meet  the  requirements  for  audible 
warning devices as specified by ANSI B77.1-1999, [2.2.10]2.1.1.12, 
3.1.1.12[3.2.10].

(b)  Installations prior to April 17, 2007 ANSI B77.1-1999   
Section 4.1.1.12[4.2.10] is modified by the following requirement: The 
aerial lift shall incorporate an audible warning device that signals an 
impending start of the aerial lift.  After the start button is pressed, the 
device shall sound an audible alarm for a minimum of two seconds 
before the aerial lift begins to move.  The audible device shall be heard 
inside and outside all terminals and machine rooms above the ambient 
noise level.

[(11)](8)  "Conveyor  Standards."  Requirements  for 
installations prior to May 11,2018.  

(a)   Loading  and  unloading  area  requirements  of  ANSI 
B77.1  section  7.1.1.9  shall  also  accommodate  the  use  of  adaptive 
devices.

(b)  Power units referred to in ANSI B77.1 section 7.1.2.1 
may not have reverse capability.

(c)  "Power supply cords" referred to in ANSI B77.1 section 
7.2.1.5.6 shall  be protected from snow grooming,  skiers,  and other 
equipment and shall be ground fault protected.

(d)   For  installations  prior  to  May 11,  2018 t[T]he  belt 
transition entry stop device referred to in ANSI B77.1 section 7.2.3.3 
shall  include  redundant  (double)  sensors or  an  equivalent  system 
submitted by a qualified engineer to prevent operation in the faulted 
condition.  Each sensor shall be part of an independent control circuit 
that can initiate an emergency shutdown of the conveyor.  The device 
shall be so designed and maintained that no single point of failure can 
cause the entry stop device to malfunction. The device shall not be 
remotely resettable and shall require the operator to reset the device 
prior to restarting the conveyor.
[              (12)   "Dynamic  Testing  Logs."  Maintenance  logs  shall 
include documentation of the dynamic testing.]

[(13)](9)  "Air Space Requirements." ANSI B77.1, section 
2.1.1.4, 3.1.1.4, 4.1.1.4, 5.1.1.4, and 6.1.1.4 and ANSI B77.2 section 
2.1.1.4 shall also include the following:  No structure (temporary or 
permanent) shall be permitted to encroach into the air space of the 
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ropeway.  Ropeways and Structures that were both constructed prior to 
November 1, 2006 do not need to comply with this requirement.  

[(14)](10)  "Portable Ropeways." Portable ropeways shall 
not be considered new ropeways when moved to different locations 
but remaining under the jurisdiction of the same operator.

[(15)](11)  "Tows Requirements."
[(a)   The  requirements  of  ANSI B77.1  section 6.2.3.2.b) 

shall  also require  the stop gate  to extend across  the incoming and 
outgoing rope.  
               (b)  ]Handle Tows shall have stop gates above and below the 
rope.
[              (16)  "Existing Installations - Annex F" ANSI B77.1-2011 
Section 1.2.4.1 Existing installations is  modified by the following: 
Operation and maintenance is not required to comply with normative 
Annex F Combustion engine(s) and fuel handling.]

R920-50-11.  Applicable Provisions.
Installations shall comply with the "Revised and Additional 

Provisions" of R920-50-10 in the categories listed below, on or before 
the  date  specified.   These  provisions  establish  the  minimum 
requirement.

(1)  The following apply to all ropeways:
(a)  New installations and relocated installations R920-50-

10(1);
[              (b)  Fire detection R920-50-10(6);  effective November 1, 
1995;]

[(c)](b)  Wire rope inspection R920-50-10[(8)](6); and
[              (d)  Operation and maintenance R920-50-10(9).  
               (e)   Existing  Installations  -  Annex  F  R920-50-10(16); 
effective June 7,2012.]

(2)  The following provisions apply to an Aerial Tramway:
(a)  Auxiliary drives R920-50-10(2); effective November 1, 

1994;
(b)   Electronic  speed-regulated  drives  R920-50-10(3); 

effective November 1, 1994;
(c)  Friction type brakes R920-50-10(5); effective November 

1, 1995;
[              (d)  Grips, clips, and carrier testing R920-50-10(7);]

[(e)](d)  Audible  warning  devices  R920-50-10[(10)](7); 
effective November 1, 2001;[
               (f)  Dynamic testing logs R920-50-10(12);] and

[(g)](e)  Air  space  requirements  R920-50-10[(13)](9); 
effective November 1, 2006.

(3)  The following provisions apply to a Detachable Grip 
Aerial Lift:

(a)  Auxiliary drives R920-50-10(2); effective November 1, 
1994;

(b)   Electronic  speed-regulated  drives  R920-50-10(3); 
effective November 1, 1994;

(c)   Rope  position  monitoring  R920-50-10(4);  effective 
November 1, 1994;

(d)  Friction type brakes R920-50-10(5); effective November 
1, 1995;
[              (e)  Grips, clips, and carrier testing R920-50-10(7);]

(f)  Audible warning devices R920-50-10[(10)](7);[
               (g)  Dynamic testing logs R920-50-10(12);] and

(h)  Air space requirements R920-50-10[(13)](9); effective 
November 1, 2006.

(4)  The following provisions apply to a Fixed Grip Aerial 
Lift:

(a)  Auxiliary Drives R920-50-10(2); effective November 1, 
1994;

(b)   Electronic  speed-regulated  drives  R920-50-10(3); 
effective November 1, 1994;

(c)  Friction type brakes R920-50-10(5); effective November 
1, 1995;
[              (d)  Grips, clips, and carrier testing R920-50-10(7);]

(e)  Audible warning devices R920-50-10[(10)](7);[
               (f)  Dynamic testing logs R920-50-10(12);] and

(g)  Air space requirements R920-50-10[(13)](9); effective 
November 1, 2006.

(5)  The following provisions apply to a Surface Lift:
(a)   Electronic  speed-regulated  drives  R920-50-10(3); 

effective November 1, 1994;
(b)  Friction type brakes R920-50-10(5); effective November 

1, 1995; and
(c)  Air space requirements R920-50-10[(13)](9); effective 

November 1, 2006.
(6)  The following provisions apply to a Rope Tow:
(a)   Electronic  speed-regulated  drives  R920-50-10(3); 

effective November 1, 1994;
(b)  Friction type brakes R920-50-10(5); effective November 

1, 1995;
(c)  Air space requirements R920-50-10[(13)](9); effective 

November 1, 2006;
(d)  Tow requirements R920-50-10[(15)](11); and
(e)  Portable Ropeways R920-50-10[(14)](10).
(7)  The following provisions apply to a Conveyor:
(a)  Conveyor standards R920-50-10[(11)](8); and
(b)  Portable Ropeways R920-50-10[(14)](10).

R920-50-12.  Exceptions to Standards.
(1)  In the event that the ropeway does not conform with the 

governing  standards  and  the  Ropeway Operation  Safety  Rule,  the 
Committee may issue a certificate of registration with an exception. 
Two types of exceptions may be granted after a Request for Exception 
from Standards is submitted.

(a)   Annual  Exception -  This  type  of  exception must  be 
reviewed annually by the Committee.  This type of exception is subject 
to  cancellation  at  any  time  pursuant  to  a  determination  by  the 
Committee that a change is necessary.

(b)  Limited Exception - This type of exception is granted 
only for a fixed time period to be determined by the Committee.

(2)   The  nature  of  the  exception  shall  be  stated  in  the 
Request for Exception from Standards.

(3)  The Committee shall, as expeditiously as possible, and 
within thirty (30) days of receipt of a Request for Exception from 
Standards, notify the operator in writing of its action on the Request.

(4)  The Request for Exception from Standards shall include 
the following information:

(a)  Reasons for requesting an exception;
(b)  Identification of the [manner in which]way the ropeway 

does not conform to the governing standards or this rule; and
(c)  Procedures, with estimated time and cost, which would 

be required to bring the ropeway into conformance.

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2019, Vol. 2019, No. 1 69



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 43444

(5)  Except as required in R920-50-12(7), the Committee 
shall  issue a  Certification  of  Registration  with  an  exception  if  the 
operator satisfies the requirements stated in R920-50-12(4) and [also ]
supplies the following for new or existing ropeways:

(a)  New Ropeways.
(i)  A design certification by a qualified engineer attesting 

that  the  ropeway is  so  designed  and  equipped  that  its  devices  or 
methods  provide  features  that  are  comparable  in  performance  and 
safety to  those  that  meet  requirements  set  forth  in  the  Governing 
Standard and this rule.

(ii)  Any known items that require a Request for Exception 
from Standards for  Passenger  Ropeways  must  be submitted to  the 
Committee before work begins.

(b)  Existing Ropeways.
(i)  A design certification by a qualified engineer attesting 

that  the  ropeway is  so  designed  and  equipped  that  it's  devices  or 
methods  provide  features  that  are  comparable  in  performance  and 
safety to the requirements of the Governing Standard and this rule.

(ii)  A statement by the operator certifying that the ropeway 
feature for which the exception is requested has been operated safely 
and without any passenger ropeway incident, as defined in R920-50-
3[(17)](23) item (a) or (g), for at least 2 years prior to the date of the 
Request for Exception from Standards.

(6)  In exceptional circumstances, the Committee may issue 
a certificate of registration with an exception even if the operator does 
not satisfy the requirements defined in the Governing Standard or this 
rule if the Committee determines that the ropeway is so designed and 
equipped  that  its  devices  or  methods  provide  features  that  are 
comparable in performance and safety.

(7)  Where doubt exists as to the safety of a ropeway, the 
Committee may require an inspection to ascertain that the ropeway is 
so designed and equipped that its devices or methods provide features 
that  are  comparable  in  performance  and  safety  to  those  of  the 
governing standards and this rule.

(8)   The issuance  of  a  certificate  of  registration  with  an 
annual  exception  shall  not  bind  the  Committee  to  issue  such  a 
certificate for the ropeway involved in subsequent years, nor to issue 
such a certificate for another ropeway of same or similar design.

R920-50-13.  Operation of Ropeways.
(1)  Every passenger ropeway incident shall be reported to 

the Committee regardless of the time of year in which it occurs and 
regardless of whether [or not ]the ropeway was open to the public at 
the time of the incident.  The operator shall meet the requirements 
stated in R920-50-14.

(2)  When a ropeway is modified the ropeway operator shall 
notify the Committee, or its appointed representative.  The operator 
shall meet the requirements stated in R920-50-15.

R920-50-14.  Incidents.
(1)  Reporting of Incidents.
(a)  Every passenger ropeway incident, as defined in R920-

50-3[(18)](23) shall  be verbally reported to  the Committee,  or  the 
Committee's appointed representative, as soon as reasonably possible, 
but no later than twenty-four (24) hours after the time of the incident. 
A written report shall be delivered to the Committee within five (5) 
days of the incident.

(b)  The reports required by this section are to be maintained 
for  administrative  enforcement,  licensing and certification  purposes 

only.   The  reports  are  "protected"  records  under  the  Government 
Records Management Act, Section 63G-2-305 and are also governed 
by Section 63G-2-207.

(2)  Suspension of Operations.  When a passenger ropeway 
incident,  as  defined  in  R920-50-3[(17)](23) (a)  or  (g),  occurs,  the 
owner or area operator of the ropeway shall suspend operation of the 
ropeway and  shall  notify  the  Committee  through  the  Committee's 
appointed representative.  The owner or area operator of the ropeway, 
with the Committee or the Committee's appointed representative, shall 
perform a joint incident inspection of the ropeway.  The inspection 
shall  precede  any  authorization  to  resume  public  operation  of  the 
passenger ropeway.

R920-50-15.  Modification of a Ropeway.
(1)  The Committee,  or its  appointed representative shall 

determine the certifications that will be required.
(2)  Depending on the nature and extent of the modification 

the  Committee,  or  its  appointed  representative  may  require  an 
Acceptance Inspection and Test.

(3)  The following certifications may be required: design; 
construction, and As-Built profile.

(4)   The  certifications  must  be  submitted  by a  qualified 
engineer and attached to the cover of the modification documents.  The 
modification documents shall  include the drawings,  descriptions, or 
specifications pertaining to the affected systems and their connections 
with existing systems.

(5)  A revised lift data form shall be submitted.
(6)  The ropeway shall not resume operating until authorized 

by the Committee, or its appointed representative.

R920-50-16.  Inspections and Testing.
(1)  Inspections shall verify that the intent of the design and 

operational requirements imposed by the Governing Standard and this 
rule  are  met.   The  Committee  may  order  other  inspections  in 
accordance with Section 72-11-211.  Ropeway inspectors may inspect 
ropeways at any time during the operation of the ropeway (spot check). 
All reports, logs, etc. shall be made available to them upon request.

(2)  Acceptance Inspection and Test.
(a)   The Committee,  or  its  appointed representative,  will 

schedule acceptance inspection and test as the procedures are received.
(3)  Annual General Inspection.
All  existing  ropeway  shall  have  an  annual  general 

inspection.
(a)  A ropeway inspector shall make the inspection.
(b)   The inspection  shall  occur  prior  to  approval  of  any 

registration application.
(c)  A report signed by the Ropeway Inspector listing items 

found either  deficient  or  in  noncompliance  shall  be  filed  with  the 
owner.

(d)  The report shall include the name and address of the 
inspector and the date of the inspection.

(e)  The area operator  shall  notify the Committee,  or its 
appointed representative of the annual general inspection.  The area 
operator should give a 7[ ]-day[s] notice of the inspection.

(f)   The  owner  shall  correct  all  deficiencies  and 
noncompliance items listed in the Ropeway Inspector's report.

(4)  Incident Inspection.
Incident inspections shall occur as required in R920-50-14.
(5)  Operational Inspection.
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An [O]operational inspection[s] may be made periodically 
during each season of use.

(a)  A ropeway inspector shall make the inspection.
(b)  A report signed by the Ropeway Inspector listing items 

found either  deficient  or  in  noncompliance  shall  be  filed  with  the 
owner.

(c)  The report shall include the name and address of the 
inspector and the date of the inspection.

(d)   The  owner  shall  correct  all  deficiencies  and 
noncompliance items listed in the Ropeway Inspector's report.

(6)  Pre-operational Inspection.
A  pre-operational  inspection  is  required  for  new  and 

modified lifts.
(a)  A ropeway inspector shall make the inspection.
(b)   The inspection  shall  occur  prior  to  approval  of  any 

registration application.
(c)  A report signed by the Ropeway Inspector listing items 

found either  deficient  or  in  noncompliance  shall  be  filed  with  the 
owner.

(d)  The report shall include the name and address of the 
inspector and the date of the inspection.

(e)  If the inspection does not take place at the acceptance 
inspection and testing the area operator shall notify the Committee, or 
its  appointed  representative  of  the  inspection.   The  area  operator 
should give a 7[ ]-day[s] notice of the inspection.

(f)   The  owner  shall  correct  all  deficiencies  and 
noncompliance items listed in the Ropeway Inspector's report.

R920-50-17.  Ropeway Inspector and Qualified Engineer.
(1)  General.
(a)  Any person performing inspection services must be a 

"ropeway  inspector"  as  required  by  this  rule,  and  any  person 
performing design services must be a "qualified engineer", as required 
by this rule.

(b)   The  Committee  shall  maintain  up-to-date  lists  of 
qualified engineers and ropeway inspectors, which lists shall be open 
to inspection by the public.

(c)  Any person desiring to be approved by the Committee as 
a  ropeway  inspector  or  qualified  engineer  shall  submit  a  written 
request  to  the  Committee  enumerating  his  or  her  professional 
experience and attesting as far as possible to meeting the requirements 
stated in R920-50-17(2).

(2)  Requirements.
(a)  Applicant shall satisfy the Committee that by his or her 

education, training and experience gained by participation in ropeway 
inspections or designs as a principal or an assistant to a recognized 
ropeway inspector or ropeway designer, he or she is qualified to be, 
respectively, an approved inspector or designer or both.

(b)   Applicant  shall  satisfy the  Committee  that  he has  a 
working familiarity and understanding of drawings and design data 
such as are furnished to design, construct, test, and inspect passenger 
ropeways,  and  that  he  or  she  has  an  understanding  and  working 
knowledge of the governing standard and this rule.

(c)  The Committee may approve qualifications based on 
experience  gained  by  an  applicant  through  work  under  direct 
supervision  of  a  qualified  ropeway inspector  or  qualified  ropeway 
designer.

(d)  The Committee may approve employees of the state or 
individuals retained by the state as qualified ropeway inspectors. Such 

engineers  may be  given  certain  assignments  where  time  is  of  the 
essence or a private engineer is not available or willing to undertake 
the inspection or investigation. It shall be the policy of the Committee 
to use the services and talents of qualified private engineers wherever 
possible.

(3)   Revocation  or  suspension  of  approval  as  ropeway 
inspector or qualified engineer.

The committee may revoke or suspend the approval of any 
qualified  engineer  or  ropeway  inspector  who  is  found  by  the 
committee to have:

(a)   practiced  any  fraud,  misrepresentation,  or  deceit  in 
applying for approval;

(b)  caused damage to another by gross negligence in the 
practice of passenger ropeway designing, construction, or inspection; 
or

(c)   been  engaged  in  acts  of  unlawful  or  unprofessional 
conduct.

R920-50-18.  Violations.
The Committee may address violations of this rule pursuant 

to Utah Code Sections 72-11-212 and 72-11-213.

R920-50-19.  Administrative Procedures.
Appeals from orders issued pursuant to any provision of this 

rule shall be governed by R907-1.

KEY:   transportation  safety,  tramways,  ropeways,  tramway 
permits
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 10, 
2017]2019  
Notice of Continuation:  July 6, 2017
Authorizing,  and Implemented or Interpreted Law:   72-11-201 
through 72-11-216

Transportation, Preconstruction
R930-7

Utility Accommodation
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  43445

FILED:  12/14/2018

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   In  these  proposed  amendments,  the  Utah 
Department of Transportation (Department) seeks to update 
and fine-tune Rule R930-7.  This rule prescribes conditions 
under  which  utility  and  non-utility  facilities  may  be 
accommodated within the Department's right of way and sets 
forth  the  state's  regulations  covering  the  placement  and 
relocation  of  facilities  in  conflict  with  the  construction  and 
maintenance of highways.  In its 2018 General Session, the 
Legislature passed S.B. 189, which enacted Title 54, Chapter 
21, Small Wireless Facilities Deployment Act (Act).  The Act 
permits a wireless provider to deploy a small wireless facility 
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and  any associated  utility  pole  within  a  right-of-way  under 
certain  conditions;  permits  the  Department  to  establish  a 
permitting  process  for  the  deployment  of  a  small  wireless 
facility  and  any  associated  utility  pole  under  certain 
conditions;  describes  a  wireless  provider's  access  to  an 
authority pole within the Department's right-of-way; sets rates 
and fees for the placement of a small wireless facility and a 
utility pole; describes the  implementation of requirements in 
relation  to  agreements  and  ordinances;  and  permits  the
Department or a local government to adopt indemnification, 
insurance,  or  bonding  requirements  for  a  small  wireless 
facility  permit,  under  certain  conditions.   These  proposed 
amendments conform Rule R930-7 to the requirements of the 
Act, and make use of many of the definitions stated in the Act. 
The  Department  is  proposing  these  amendments  to 
accommodate  the  projected  increase  in  demand  for 
encroachment  permits  to  access  its  right-of-way  that 
development  of  fifth-generation  (5G)  mobile  broadband 
technology  is  certain  to  cause  while  complying  with  the 
requirements of the Act.

SUMMARY OF  THE  RULE  OR  CHANGE:   The  principal 
objective of these updates will achieve the following beneficial 
outcomes:   1)  remove  language  that  is  against  Federal 
regulation  (Federal  Communications  Commission) 
(Subsections R930-7-1(2), R930-7-3(32), and R930-7-6(1)(a)
(c); 2) add a definition for "Buffer Zone" as it relates to a utility 
company's requirements for cover (Subsection R930-7-3(8)); 
3) add  a  definition  for  "Small  Wireless  Facility"  and 
requirements for necessary agreements in compliance with 
Small Wireless Facilities Deployment Act, Title 54, Chapter 21 
(Subsections  R930-7-3(48)  and R930-7-6(1)(b));  4)  provide 
proper  definition  reference  for  "Utility  Facility"  and  "Utility 
Company"  (Subsections R930-7-3 (56)  and (57));  5)  add a 
requirement  for  a  non-utility  license  agreement  for  non-
defined  facilities  (Subsection  R930-7-6(2)(b));  6)  add  a 
provision for additional insurance for small canal companies
who cannot post the required SULA bond (Subsection R930-
7-6(2)(e)); 7) strengthen the language related to depth of bury 
requirements  giving  regions  additional  authority  to  require 
deeper  that  minimum depths  when necessary and remove 
redundant  language  (Subsection  R930-7-8(1)(c)(iii));  8) 
enhance  minimum  depth  of  bury  table  to  clarify  location 
requirements, measurements to/from and buffer zone depths 
if  required by utility company (Subsection R930-7-8(1)(c)(v) 
Table 2); and 9) correct stylistic grammar throughout.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Subsection 72-6-116(2)

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦  THE  STATE  BUDGET:   The  Department  estimates  its 
budget and the state's budget will  likely experience a fiscal 
impact  related  to  these  proposed  amendments.   The 
Department is proposing these amendments to accommodate 
the projected increase in demand for encroachment permits 
to access its right-of-way that development of fifth-generation

(5G) mobile broadband technology is certain to cause.  Utility 
companies may need to construct new infrastructure in the 
Department's  right-of-way  to  accommodate  the  new 
technology.  However, it is not possible to estimate what this 
impact will be with any degree of accuracy at present.
♦  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTS:   The  Department  does  not 
believe these proposed amendments will lead to fiscal impact 
for  local  governments  unless  the  local  government  in 
question is bearing the costs of installing a utility facility in the
Department's right-of-way.  However, because the cost of the 
impact a local government may incur in such instances will 
vary based on geographic location and attendant variables it 
is not possible to estimate what the compliance costs will be 
with any degree of accuracy at present.
♦  SMALL BUSINESSES:   The  Department  believes  these 
proposed  amendments  may  lead  to  compliance  costs  for 
small businesses if an entity installing a utility facility on the 
Department's right-of-way is able and determines to pass all 
or a portion of the compliance costs it incurs to such other 
persons, such as small businesses.  Moreover,  if  the utility 
seeking to install a utility facility in right-of-way belonging to 
the Department is a small business and it cannot pass costs 
incurred  that  may be  attributable  to  these rule  changes  to 
customers  or  others  it  may  experience  a  fiscal  impact. 
However, it is impossible to estimate what such compliance 
costs might be with any accuracy at present.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
The Department believes these proposed amendments may 
lead to compliance costs for persons other than businesses 
and local governments if the entity installing a utility facility on 
the Department's right-of-way is able and determines to pass 
all or a portion of the compliance costs it incurs to such other 
persons.   However,  it  is  impossible  to  estimate  what  such 
compliance costs might be with any accuracy at present.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:   The 
Department believes these proposed amendments may lead 
to compliance costs for persons other than businesses and 
local governments if the entity installing a utility facility on the 
Department's right-of-way is able and determines to pass all 
or a portion of the compliance costs it incurs to such other 
persons.   However,  it  is  impossible  to  estimate  what  such 
compliance costs might be with any accuracy at present.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
These proposed amendments to Rule R930-7 may lead to 
fiscal impacts on businesses.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION
PRECONSTRUCTION
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119-5998
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Christine Newman by phone at 801-965-4026, by FAX at 
801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at cwnewman@utah.gov
♦ James Palmer by phone at 801-965-4000, by FAX at 801-
965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at jimpalmer@utah.gov
♦ Josh Dangel by Internet E-mail at jdangel@utah.gov
♦ Linda Hull by phone at 801-965-4253, or by Internet E-mail 
at lhull@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 01/31/2019

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  02/07/2019

AUTHORIZED BY:  Carlos Braceras, Executive Director

Appendix 1: Regulatory Impact Summary Table*
Fiscal Costs FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total Fiscal Costs: $0 $0 $0

Fiscal Benefits

State Government $0 $0 $0

Local Government $0 $0 $0

Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Non-Small Businesses $0 $0 $0

Other Persons $0 $0 $0

Total  Fiscal 
Benefits:

$0 $0 $0

Net Fiscal Benefits: $0 $0 $0

*This  table  only  includes  fiscal  impacts  that  could  be 
measured.  If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they 
will not be included in this table.  Inestimable impacts for 
State  Government,  Local  Government,  Small  Businesses  and 
Other Persons are described in the narrative.  Inestimable 

impacts for Non-Small Businesses are described in Appendix 
2.
Appendix  2:  Regulatory  Impact  to  Small  and  Non-Small 
Businesses
1)  The Department of Transportation (Department) estimates 
that the utilities and telecommunications industries in Utah 
are  the  only  businesses  that  may  experience  a  material 
fiscal  impact  resulting  from  enactment  of  this  proposed 
amendment.  This fiscal impact may be positive or negative, 
depending  upon  the  specific  facility  or  right  of  way 
impacted and how we define fiscal impact.
A)  The utilities industry is comprised of establishments 
involved in:
i)   Electric  power  generation,  transmission,  and 
distribution, NAICS of 221112 for generation, and 221122 for 
distribution;
ii)  Natural gas distribution, NAICS of 221210; and
iii)   Water  distribution  and  irrigation  systems,  NAICS 
221310, Sewer systems, NAICS 221320.
b)   The  telecommunications  industry  is  comprised  of 
establishments involved in:
i)  Wired Telecommunications Carriers NAICS of 517311; and
ii)   Wireless  Telecommunications  Carriers  (except 
Satellite), NAICS of 517312.
2)  The Department of Workforce Services (DWS) Firm Find 
Data  includes  information  about  firms  within  the  seven 
industries identified by the NAICS industry code, which data 
on numbers of employees by firm follows:
a)   Electric  power  generation,  transmission,  and 
distribution, NAICS of 221112 for generation, lists 16 firms 
total, 11 are small businesses; and 221122 for distribution; 
lists 57 firms total, 52 are small businesses;
b)  Natural gas distribution, NAICS of 221210, lists 46 
firms total, 40 are small businesses;
c)  Water distribution and irrigation systems, NAICS 221310, 
lists 182 firms total, 177 are small businesses;
d)  Sewer systems, NAICS 221320, lists 48 firms total, 46 
are small businesses;
e)  Wired Telecommunications Carriers NAICS of 517311, lists 
150 firms total, 135 are small businesses; and
f)  Wireless Telecommunications Carriers (except Satellite), 
NAICS of 517312, lists 56 firms, 55 are small businesses.
3)   Of  these  555  firms  in  the  seven  possibly  affected 
industries, 39 are non-small businesses and 516 are small 
businesses, as defined by Utah Code Section 63G-3-102(19). 
For a complete list of these firms, contact the Department.
4)  The Department does not believe this proposed amendment 
will  lead  to  any  compliance  costs  for  local  governments 
unless the local government in question is bearing the costs 
of  installing  a  utility  facility  in  UDOT  right  of  way.
However, because the cost of the impact a local government 
may incur in such instances will vary based on geographic 
location  and  attendant  variables  it  is  not  possible  to 
estimate what the compliance costs will be with any degree 
of accuracy at present.
5)  The Department believes this proposed amendment may lead 
to compliance costs for persons other than businesses and 
local  governments  if  the  entity  installing  a  utility 
facility on UDOT's right of way is able and determines to 
pass all or a portion of the compliance costs it incurs to 
such other persons.  However, it is impossible to estimate 
what such compliance costs might be with any accuracy at 
present.
6)  The Department estimates that its budget and the state's 
budget will likely experience a fiscal impact related to 
this proposed amendment.  The Department is proposing this 
amendment to accommodate the projected increase in demand 
for encroachment permits to access its right of way that 
development  of  fifth-generation  (5G)  mobile  broadband 
technology is certain to cause.  It is not possible to 
estimate  what  this  impact  will  be  with  any  degree  of 
accuracy at present.
7)  Carlos Braceras, executive director of the Department 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis.
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R930.  Transportation, Preconstruction.
R930-7.  Utility Accommodation.
R930-7-1.  Purpose.

(1)  The purpose of this rule is to:
(a)  maximize public safety;
(b)   provide  for  efficient  highway  operations  and 

maintenance of roadways:
(c)  maximize aesthetic quality;
(d)  minimize future conflicts between the highway system 

and utility companies serving the [general ]public; and
(e)  ensure that use and occupancy by utility companies do 

not  impair  or  increase  the  cost  of  future  highway  construction, 
expansion, or maintenance or interfere with any right of way reserved 
for these purposes.

(2)   This  rule  prescribes  conditions  under  which  utility 
facilities may be accommodated [on]within the right of way and sets 
forth the state's regulations covering the placement and relocation of 
utility facilities in conflict with the construction and maintenance of 
highways.[  General installation requirements, general and definitive 
design  requirements,  and  utility  construction  and  inspection 
requirements apply to indirect and private facilities within the right of 
way.   Within UDOT's sole discretion,  indirect and private facilities 
may be allowed on UDOT's right-of-way by lease.]

(3)  This rule should be interpreted to achieve maximum 
lawful public use of the right of way for transportation purposes and to 
ensure that utility installations and operations affecting state right of 
way are accomplished in accordance with state and federal laws and 
regulations.   It  is  in  the  public  interest  for  utility  facilities  to  be 
accommodated within rights of way when the accommodation does 
not adversely affect public safety, the integrity of highway features, or 
occupy space within the [right-of-way]right of way that conflicts with 
current or future transportation purposes or uses.[or future use of the 
highway.]  The permitted use and occupancy of right of way for non-
highway purposes, such as utilities, is subordinate to the primary and 
highest interest for transportation and safety of the traveling public. 
Utility facilities may be required to relocate outside of the right of way 
to accommodate UDOT's projects.

(4)  This rule is provided to facilitate the establishment of 
consistent expectations and effective working relationships between 
UDOT  and  utility  companies  through  continuous  communication, 
coordination, and[,] cooperation.

(5)  Through the Code of Federal Regulations (23 CFR[, 
Part] Section 645.215(a)),  the  U.S.  Department  of  Transportation 
requires  each  state  to  submit  a  statement  to  the  Federal  Highway 
Administration (FHWA) on the authority of utility companies to use 
and occupy the right  of way of state  highways,  the state  highway 
agency's power to regulate the use, and the policies the state employs 
or proposes to employ for accommodating utilities within the right of 
way  of  Federal-aid  highways  under  its  jurisdiction.   This  rule 
demonstrates compliance to FHWA.

R930-7-2.  Authority and Source Documents.
This  rule  is  enacted  under  the  authority  of  Utah  Code 

Section  72-6-116(2),  wherein  UDOT  is  authorized  and  [given 
the]assigned responsibility  to  regulate  and  make  rules  for  the 
installation,  construction,  maintenance,  repair,  renewal,  system 
upgrade,  and relocation of  utility facilities  within  state  owned and 
administered  highway[s] rights  of  way,  including  ordering  their 
relocation as may become necessary.

(1)  Utah Code provides for the accommodation of utility 
facilities within the right of way and provides UDOT [the ]authority to 
promulgate rules and regulations for administering those provisions. 
Accordingly, this rule has been developed pursuant to the following 
state and federal laws, codes, regulations, policies:

(a)  Utah Code[, Title 54, Public Utilities,] Section 54-3-29;
(b)   American  Association  of  State  Highway  and 

Transportation  Officials  (AASHTO)  publications,  A  Guide  for 
Accommodating Utilities within Highway Right of Way and A Policy 
on  the  Accommodation  of  Utilities  within  Freeway Right  of  Way 
(2005); and

(c)  AASHTO publications, Roadside Design Guide, 2011,   
and A Policy on Geometric -Design of Highways and Streets, 2011.

(2)  This rule incorporates by reference 23 CFR Section 645, 
Subpart B, (November 22, 2000).

(3)  UDOT has secured [the ]authority from FHWA to issue 
permits for the use or occupancy of the right of way by utility facilities 
on Federal-aid highways.  The use of Federal-aid highway right of way 
by utilities shall be in accordance with 23 CFR Section 645.215.

R930-7-3.  Definitions.
(1)  "Abandoned facility" is a utility facility that is not in use, 

no longer actively providing a service and is physically disconnected 
from the operating facility that is still in use and still actively providing 
a  service.   Abandoned facilities  remain  the  property of  the  utility 
company.

(2)  "Access control" is the regulation of public access to and 
from properties abutting the highway facilities. The two basic types of 
access control are:

(a)  "No access (NA)" means access to through-traffic lanes 
is not allowed except at interchanges.  Crossings at[ ]-grade and direct 
driveway connections are prohibited.

(b)  "Limited access (LA)" means access to selected public 
roads may be provided.  There may be some crossings at[ ]-grade and 
some private driveway connections.

(3)  "Administrative citation" is a letter from UDOT to a 
utility company citing one or more non-compliance items and proper 
redress  requirements  such  as  action  on  the  appropriate  bond, 
revocation of permit, and revocation of a license agreement.

(4)   "AASHTO"  is  the  American  Association  of  State 
Highway and Transportation Officials.

(5)   "Backfill"  means  the  replacement  of  soil  removed 
during construction.  It may also denote material placed over or around 
structures and utilities.

(6)  "Bedding" means the composition and shaping of soil or 
other suitable material  to support a pipe,  conduit,  casing,  or utility 
tunnel.

(7)   "Boring"  means  the  operation  by which  carriers  or 
casings are pushed or jacked under highways without disturbing the 
highway structure or prism.  Bores are carved progressively ahead of 
the leading edge of the advancing pipe as soil is mucked back through 
the pipe.
                 (8)  "Buffer Zone" means the area composed of material   
such as sand, flowable fill, concrete, etc. surrounding a Utility facility 
where no compaction or encroachment is allowed.  

([8]9)   "Carrier"  means  a  pipe  directly  enclosing  a 
transmitted fluid (liquid, gas, or slurry).

([9]10)  "Casing" is a larger pipe, conduit, or duct enclosing 
a carrier.
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(1[0]1)  "Clear Zone" means the total roadside border area, 
starting at the edge of the traveled way, available for safe use by errant 
vehicles.  This area may consist of a shoulder, a recoverable slope, a 
non-recoverable slope, and a clear run-out area.  The desired width is 
dependent upon traffic volumes, speeds, and roadside geometry.

(1[1]2)  "Coating" is material applied to or wrapped around 
a pipe.

(1[2]3)   "Conduit"  is  an  enclosed  tubular  casing  for  the 
protection of wires and cables.

(1[3]4)   "Depth  of  bury (cover)"  means  the  depth  from 
ground, sidewalk, or roadway surface to top of pipe, conduit, casing, 
cable, utility tunnel, or similar facility.

(1[4]5)  "Deviation" means a granted permission to depart 
from the standards and requirements of this rule.

(1[5]6)   "Emergency  work"  is  utility  company  work 
required to prevent loss of life or significant damage to property.

(1[6]7)  "Encasement" is a structural element surrounding a 
carrier or casing.

(1[7]8)   "Encroachment"  means  entry  within  the 
[unauthorized use of ]highway right of way.

(1[8]9)  "Encroachment permit" is a document that specifies 
the  requirements  and  conditions  for  performing  authorized  work 
within[on] the highway right of way.

([19]20)  "Environmentally protected areas" are areas that 
include, but are not limited to, wetlands, flood plains, stream channels, 
rivers,  threatened  or  endangered  species,  archaeological  sites,  and 
historic sites.

(2[0]1)   "Expressway"  is  a  divided  arterial  highway for 
through traffic with partial control of access and generally with grade 
separations at major intersections.

(2[1]2)   "Federal-aid highways"  are  highways  eligible  to 
receive Federal-aid.

(2[2]3)  "FHWA" is the Federal Highway Administration.
(2[3]4)  "Flexible carrier pipe" is a plastic,  fiberglass,  or 

metallic pipe having a large diameter to wall thickness ratio and which 
can be deformed without undue stress.

(2[4]5)  "Flowable fill" is low strength flowable concrete as 
defined in UDOT Standard Specification 03575.

(2[5]6)  "Freeway" is an expressway with full  control of 
access.

(2[6]7)  "Frontage road" is a local street or road auxiliary to 
and located on the side of an arterial highway for service to abutting 
property and adjacent areas and for control of access.

(2[7]8)  "Grade" is the rate or percent of change in slope, 
either ascending or descending,  measured along the centerline of a 
roadway or access.

(2[8]9)  "Grounded" means electrically connected to earth or 
to some extended conducting body that serves instead of the earth, 
whether the connection is intentional or accidental.

([29]30)  "Grout" is a cement mortar or slurry of fine sand or 
clay.

(3[0]1)   "Highway,  street,  or  road"  are  general  terms 
denoting a public way for the transportation of people, materials, and 
goods,  but  primarily  for  vehicular  travel,  including the  entire  area 
within the right of way.

(3[1]2)  "Horizontal directional drilling" (HDD), also known 
as directional boring and directional drilling, is a method of installing 
underground pipes and conduits from the surface along a prescribed 
bore path.  The process is used for installing telecommunications and 

power cable conduits,  water  lines,  sewer lines,  gas  lines,  oil  lines, 
product pipelines, and casings used for environmental remediation.  It 
is  used  for  crossing  waterways,  roadways,  congested  areas, 
environmentally protected areas, and any area where other methods are 
not feasible.
[              (32)   "Indirect  facilities" are facilities  owned by a  utility 
company or  entity that  does not  directly serve  the public  and  the 
facilities provide services to or are rented to other utility companies.]

(33)  "Interstate highway system" (Interstate) is the Dwight 
D. Eisenhower National System of Interstate and Defense Highways as 
defined in the Federal-aid Highway Act of 1956 and any supplemental 
acts or amendments.

(34)   "License  Agreement  or  Statewide  Utility  License 
Agreement"  is  a  document  by which  UDOT licenses  the  use  and 
occupancy,  with  conditions,  of  highway  rights  of  way  for  utility 
facilities.

(35)  "Manhole" or "utility access hole" is an opening in an 
underground system that workers or others may enter for the purpose 
of  making installations,  removals,  inspections,  repairs,  connections, 
and tests.

(36)   "Median"  is  the  portion  of  a  divided  highway 
separating the traveled ways for traffic in opposite directions.

(37)  "MUTCD (Utah MUTCD)" means the current version 
of Utah Manual on Uniform Traffic  Control Devices  referenced in 
R920-1.

(38)  "Pavement structure" is the combination of sub-base, 
base course, and surface course placed on a sub-grade to support the 
traffic load.

(39)  "Permit" means encroachment permit.
(40)  "Pipe" is a tubular product made as a production item 

for the transmission of liquid or gaseous substances.  Cylinders formed 
from plate material in the fabrication of auxiliary equipment are not 
pipe as defined here.

(41)  "Pipeline" is a continuous carrier used primarily for the 
transportation of liquids, gases, or solids from one point to another 
using either gravity or pressure flow.

(42)  "Plowing" means the direct burial of utility lines by 
means of a mechanism that breaks the ground, places the utility line, 
and closes the break in the ground in a single operation.

(43)   "Practicable"  means  reasonably  capable  of  being 
accomplished or feasible as determined by UDOT.

(44)  "Relocate" means the adjustment of utility facilities 
when found by UDOT to be necessary for construction or maintenance 
of  a  highway.   It  includes  removing  and  reinstalling  the  facility, 
including  necessary  temporary  facilities,  acquiring  the  necessary 
[right-of-way]right of way on the new location, moving, rearranging or 
changing the type of existing facilities and taking any necessary safety 
and protective measures.  It  also means constructing a replacement 
facility that is both functionally equivalent to the existing facility and 
necessary for continuous operation of the utility service, the project 
economy, or sequence of highway construction.

(45)   "Right  of  way"  is  a  general  term  denoting  land, 
property, or interest therein, usually in a strip acquired for or devoted to 
transportation purposes.

(46)  "Roadside" is a general term denoting the area between 
the outer edge of the roadway shoulder and the right of way limits.

(47)   "Roadway"  is  the  portion  of  a  highway,  including 
shoulders,  for  vehicular use.   A divided highway has two or more 
roadways.
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                 (48)  "Small Wireless Facility" means as defined in Utah   
Code Section 54-21-101.  

(4[8]9)   "Slope"  is  the  relative  steepness  of  the  terrain 
expressed as a  ratio or percentage.   Slopes may be categorized as 
positive or negative and as parallel or cross slopes in relation to the 
direction of traffic.

([49]50)   "State  [h]Highways"  are  those  highways 
designated as State Highways in Title 72, Chapter 4, Designation of 
State Highways.

(5[0]1)   "Structure"  means  any  device  used  to  convey 
vehicles,  pedestrians,  animals,  waterways  or  other  materials  over 
highways,  streams,  canyons,  or  other  obstacles.   It  also  includes 
buildings, signs, and UDOT facilities with foundations.

(5[1]2)   "Subsurface  Utility  Engineering  (SUE)"  is  the 
management  of  certain  risks  associated  with  utility  mapping  at 
appropriate  quality  levels,  utility  coordination,  utility  relocation, 
communication  of  utility  data,  utility  relocation  cost  estimates, 
implementation of utility accommodation policies, and utility design. 
SUE  tools  include  traditional  records,  site  surveys,  and  new 
technologies such as surface geophysical methods and non-destructive 
vacuum excavation, to provide quality levels of information.  The SUE 
process for collecting and depicting information on existing subsurface 
utility [F]facilities  is  described in  ASCE Standard 38-02,  Standard 
Guideline  for  the  Collection and  Depiction of  Existing Subsurface 
Utility Data.

(5[2]3)   "Trenched"  means  installed  in  a  narrow  open 
excavation.

(5[3]4) "Trenchless (Untrenched)" means installed without 
breaking the ground or pavement surface by a construction method 
such as directional drilling, boring, tunneling, jacking, or auguring.

(5[4]5)  "UDOT" is the Utah Department of Transportation 
and  where  referenced  to  be  contacted,  submitted  to,  approved  by, 
accepted by or otherwise engaged, means an authorized representative.

(5[5]6) "Utility" or "U[u]tility facility" means as defined in 
Utah  Code  Section  72-6-116.[privately,  publicly,  cooperatively,  or 
municipally  owned  pipelines,  facilities,  or  systems  for  producing, 
transmitting, or distributing communications, power, electricity, light, 
heat, gas, oil, petroleum products, cable television, water, sewer, steam, 
waste, storm water not connected with highway drainage, and other 
similar commodities, which directly service the public.]

(5[6]7)  "Utility appurtenances" include but are not limited 
to  pedestals,  manholes,  vents,  drains,  rigid  markers,  meter  pits, 
sprinkler pits, valve pits, and regulator pits.

(5[7]8)  "Utility company" means as defined in Utah Code 
Section  72-6-116a.[is  a  privately,  cooperatively,  or  publicly owned 
utility, including utilities owned by political subdivisions, and where 
referenced  includes  authorized  representatives,  contractors,  and 
agents.]

(5[8]9)  "Vent" is an appurtenance designed to discharge 
gaseous contaminants from a casing.

R930-7-4.  Scope.
(1)   This  rule  supersedes  portions  of  Manual  of 

Accommodation of Utility Facilities and the Control and Protection of 
State Highway Rights of Way including Section 5 and portions relating 
to utility accommodation or that refer to utilities in the right of way or 
percent of reimbursement, which are part of R930-6 at the time of 
enactment of this rule.

(2)   Regulations,  laws,  or  orders  of  public  authority  or 
industry code prescribing a higher degree of protection or construction 
than provided by this rule shall govern.

R930-7-5.  Application.
(1)   This  rule  applies  to  all  utility  facilities[privately, 

cooperatively, and publicly owned utility companies, including utility 
companies  owned  by  political  subdivisions,  and  shall  include 
telecommunication,  gas,  oil,  petroleum,  electricity,  cable  television, 
water, sewer, data and video transmission lines, drainage and irrigation 
systems,  and  other  similar  utilities  to  be  located,  accommodated, 
adjusted or] relocated within, on, along, across, over, through, or under 
the highway right of way.  This rule does not apply to utility facilities 
that are required for UDOT highway purposes.  This rule applies to 
underground,  surface,  or  overhead  facilities,  either  singularly or  in 
combination, including bridge attachments.

(2)  This  rule  applies  to  all  highway projects[Federal-aid 
highway  projects  ]including  local  government  projects.[  In 
compliance with 23 CFR 645.209(g) local governments are required to 
enter into formal agreements with UDOT that provide for a degree of 
protection to the highway at least equal to the protection provided by 
this rule.]

R930-7-6.  General Installation Requirements.
(1)  General.
(a)  Utility companies [with facilities directly serving the 

public ]desiring to use the right of way under the jurisdiction of UDOT 
for  the  installation  or  maintenance  of  any  utility  facility  must  be 
licensed  to  do  so  by  entering  into  a  Statewide  Utility  License 
Agreement (SULA) with UDOT.  This License Agreement sets forth 
the  procedures  and  conditions  for  the  issuance  of  encroachment 
permits  for  all  installations  statewide.   Utility  [E]encroachment 
permits  are  not  issued  without  an  executed  SULA.[ License 
Agreement  first  being  executed.]   UDOT  may  impose  additional 
restrictions or requirements for [License Agreements]SULAs or utility 
encroachment permits.
                 (b)  Utility companies desiring to use the right of way to   
install Small Wireless Facilities shall also enter into a Non-Exclusive 
Installation  and  Occupancy  Agreement  with  UDOT  prior  to  the 
issuance of a permit.  

([b]c)  A permitted facility shall, if necessary, be modified by 
the  utility  company  to  improve  safety  or  facilitate  alteration  or 
maintenance of the right of way as determined by UDOT.
[              (c)  Companies or entities that do not provide direct utility 
service to  the public  are  prohibited from installing or  constructing 
longitudinal facilities or site towers or poles within the right-of-way by 
permit.  UDOT will not issue any permits for this type of facilities.]

(2)   License  Agreements  or  Statewide  Utility  License 
Agreements.

(a)   Agreements  are  executed  by  UDOT  and  utility 
companies to set forth the terms and conditions for the accommodation 
and maintenance of utility facilities within the right of way.  A License 
Agreement is required for[,] but does not guarantee the approval of 
encroachment permits.
                 (b)  Companies who have facilities that are not defined as a   
Utility  under  Utah  Code  72-6-116  or  who's  facilities  serve  the 
Company  only,  are  required  to  enter  into  a  non-Utility  License 
Agreement with UDOT for crossings only and may not be installed 
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longitudinally.   The companies  with  this  type  of  facilities  are  still 
required to comply with the requirements of this Rule.  

([b]c)   As  part  of  executing  a  License  Agreement  with 
UDOT, owners of facilities located in the right of way are required to 
post a continuous bond in the amount of $100,000, naming UDOT as 
the  insured,  to  guarantee  satisfactory performance.   The Statewide 
Railroad  and  Utilities  Director[Utilities  Engineer]  may  approve  a 
lesser amount.

([c]d)  Political Subdivisions are[A public utility is] exempt 
from the bond requirements described in this section if the  political 
subdivision[public utility]:

(i)   is  a  member  of  the  Utah  Local  Governments 
Trust[municipal insurance pool];

(ii)  is self-insured or[a political subdivision; or  
               (iii)   at  UDOT's  option]  carries  liability  insurance  with 
minimum  coverage  of  $1,000,000  per  occurrence  and  as  more 
specifically described in its License Agreement.  This option requires 
prior UDOT approval.  
                 (e)   For  small  canal  companies  that  cannot  obtain  the   
required bond, UDOT may allow the canal to carry liability insurance 
with minimum coverage of $1,000,000 per occurrence and as more 
specifically described in its License Agreement. This option requires 
prior UDOT approval.  

([d]f)   Upon  discovery  of  utility  caused  damage  to  the 
highway or to the right of way, UDOT may opt to exercise its bonding 
rights in recovering costs incurred to restore the highway or right of 
way.  The utility company is liable for all restoration costs incurred [as 
a result]because of damages caused by its utility, and its liability is not 
limited to the amount of the bond.

([e]g)  License agreements may be terminated at any time by 
either party upon 30 days advance written notice to the other.  Permits 
previously issued and approved under a terminated agreement are not 
affected and remain in effect on the same terms and conditions set 
forth in the agreement and permits.  The obligation to maintain the 
$100,000  bond  continues  until  the  utility  company's  facilities  are 
removed from UDOT's right of way.

(3)  Emergency Work.
(a)  In all emergency work situations, the utility company or 

its representative shall  contact UDOT immediately and on the first 
business day shall contact UDOT to complete a formal permit.  Failure 
to  contact  UDOT for  an  emergency work  situation  and  obtain  an 
encroachment permit within the stated time [period is considered to 
be]is a violation of the terms and conditions of the utility company's 
license agreement.  At the discretion of the utility company, emergency 
work may be performed by a bonded contractor, public agency, or a 
utility company.  None of the provisions of this rule are waived for 
emergency work except for the requirement of a prior permit.

(4)  One Call Requirements.
(a)  Underground facilities are not permitted within the right 

of way unless the utility company subscribes to Blue Stakes of Utah 
and  other  appropriate  "call-before-you-dig"  systems,  or  otherwise 
provides utility plans as detailed in Section R930-7-11(6)(a) of this 
rule.

(5)  Preservation of New Pavement.
(a)  Cuts or open excavations on newly constructed, paved, 

or overlaid highways are not allowed for two years.  If an emergency 
cut or excavation occurs, the responsible utility company shall comply 
with any special conditions imposed by UDOT regarding restoration of 
the roadway.

(6)  Encroachment Permits.
(a)  Encroachment Permits on State Highways.
Utility companies shall obtain an encroachment permit from 

UDOT for the installation and maintenance of utility facilities on the 
right  of  way pursuant  to  R930-6-4.   Encroachment  permits  are 
approved or disapproved by UDOT.  Applications for encroachment 
permits are submitted to the Region Permits Officers by the utility 
company or its contractor.   No utility company or utility company 
contractor shall begin any utility work on the right of way until an 
approved  encroachment  permit  is  issued  by UDOT and the  utility 
company is authorized to proceed in writing.  Prior to the issuance of 
encroachment permits, fees are assessed to cover related costs incurred 
by UDOT including costs for planning, coordination, and utility plan 
review.

If the utility company expects work to significantly impact 
travel lane capacity, UDOT recommends the utility company contact 
the appropriate Region Permit Office to discuss concepts in advance of 
submitting an encroachment permit application.

Utility companies shall electronically submit a detailed plan 
of work[two sets of plans] depicting the proposed installation. The 
plans shall be sized as required by UDOT and include utility company 
identification, work location, utility type and size, type of construction, 
depth of bury,  vertical and horizontal location of facilities relative to 
the centerline of road,  location of all  appurtenances,  trench details, 
right of way limits, and traffic control plans. Traffic control plans shall 
conform to the Utah MUTCD as outlined in [Section]rule R930-7-7(1)
(d),  are  mandatory  for  each  instance  of  utility  construction  or 
maintenance[,] and shall be attached to each permit application.

Utility companies may authorize their contractors to obtain 
permits  on their  behalf.   All  terms and conditions set  forth  in  the 
License Agreement apply.  The utility company's construction forces or 
the utility contractor shall always carry a copy of the approved permit 
[at all times ]while working on the right of way.

(b)  Bonding and Liability Insurance Requirements.
(i)  Individual (one-time use) Encroachment Permit Bonding 

Requirements.   As authorized by Sub-section 72-7-102(3)(b)(i)  this 
rule requires encroachment permit applicants to post a Performance 
and Warranty Bond, using UDOT's approved bond form, for a period 
of three years from the date of beginning of utility construction work 
or two years  from the end of  utility construction  work,  whichever 
provides the longer period of coverage.  A separate Performance and 
Warranty Bond is required for each individual encroachment permit. 
Political subdivisions of the state are not required to post a bond unless 
the  political  subdivision  fails  to  meet  the  terms  and  conditions  of 
previous permits issued as determined by UDOT.  The amount of the 
bond is determined by the UDOT Region Permits Officer based on the 
scope of work being performed but will not be less than $10,000.

(ii)  Statewide (multiple use) Encroachment Permit Bonding 
Option.  In lieu of posting multiple individual one-time use bonds, 
encroachment permit applicants who routinely acquire encroachment 
permits may elect to post a statewide performance and warranty bond, 
using  UDOT's  approved  bond  form.   A statewide  bond  satisfies 
bonding requirements  for  permitted utility construction  work in  all 
UDOT Regions.  The bond amount is determined by UDOT but will 
not be less than $100,000.  This statewide encroachment permit bond 
is in addition to the continuous bond for the License Agreement.

(iii)  Inspection Bond.  UDOT may require an additional 
inspection  bond  to  ensure  payment  for  UDOT  field  review  and 
inspection costs before an encroachment permit is granted.
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(iv)   Proceeds  Against  the  Bond.   UDOT may proceed 
against the bond to recover all expenses incurred if payment is not 
received  from  the  permit  applicant  within  45  calendar  days  of 
receiving an invoice.  Upon discovery of utility caused damage to the 
highway or to the right of way, UDOT may opt to exercise its bonding 
rights in recovering costs incurred to restore the highway or right of 
way due to utility caused damages.  Failure by the utility company to 
maintain  a  valid  bond in  the  amounts  required  shall  be  cause  for 
denying issuance of future permits and for the removal of the utility 
from the right of way.

(v)  Liability Insurance Requirements.  Permit applicants are 
also  required  to  provide  a  certificate  of  liability  insurance  in  the 
minimum amounts of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $[2]3,000,000 in 
aggregate.  Failure to meet this requirement will result in application 
denial.  Liability insurance coverage is required throughout the life of 
the permit and cancellation will result in permit revocation.

(vi)  Information about bond forms and liability insurance 
requirements  are available on UDOT's website  at:  http://www.udot. 
utah.gov/go/encroachmentpermit

(c)  Assignment of Permits.  Permits shall not be assigned 
without the prior written consent of UDOT.  All assignees shall be 
required to execute a License Agreement.

(d)  Indemnification. Permit holders performing utility work 
on the right of way shall[, at all times,] always indemnify, defend and 
hold  harmless  UDOT,  its  employees,  and  the  State  of  Utah  from 
responsibility  for  any  damage  or  liability  arising  from  their 
construction, maintenance, repair, or any other related operation during 
the work or as a result  of the work.   Permit  holders shall  also be 
responsible for the completion, restoration, and maintenance of any 
excavation for a period of three years unless UDOT requires a longer 
period of indemnification due to specific or unique circumstances.

(e)   Cancellation  of  Permits  and  Termination  of  License 
Agreement.  The following situations will  cause the cancellation of 
permits, [and/or ]termination of the License Agreement, or both:

(i)  A utility company's failure to maintain a valid bond in the 
amount required;

(ii)  A utility company's failure to comply with the terms and 
conditions of the License Agreement;

(iii)   A  utility  company's  failure  to  comply  with  the 
requirements of the encroachment permit; and

(iv)  A utility company's failure to pay any sum of money for 
costs incurred by UDOT in association with plan review application, 
installation  or  construction  review,  permit  fees,  inspection,  as-built 
plan submittals,  reconstruction,  repair,  or maintenance of the utility 
facilities, or any other costs associated with the Department's approved 
fee schedule.

When the permit is canceled, UDOT also may remove the 
facilities and restore the highway and right of way at the sole expense 
of the utility company.  Prior to any cancellation, UDOT shall notify 
the utility company in writing, setting forth the violations, and will 
provide the utility company a reasonable time to correct the violations 
to the satisfaction of UDOT.  UDOT may also not issue any further 
permits to utility companies that do not comply with this rule, permit 
requirements, or the Statewide License Agreement.

R930-7-7.  General Design Requirements.
(1)  General.

(a)  Joint use of state right of way may impact both the 
highway and the utility.  Each utility company requesting the use of 
right of way for the accommodation of its facilities is responsible for 
the  proper  planning,  engineering,  design,  construction,  and 
maintenance of its facilities installed within the right of way[proposed 
installations].  The utility company shall coordinate with UDOT and

develop its projects to meet design standards and to optimize safety, 
cost  effectiveness,  and efficiency of  operations for  both  the  utility 
company and the state.  Utility companies are directed to the following 
AASHTO publications for assistance:

(i)  Roadside Design Guide;
(ii)  A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets;
(iii)  A Guide for Accommodating Utilities within Highway 

Right of Way; and
(iv)   A Policy on the Accommodation of Utilities within 

Freeway Right of Way.
(b)   [The  utility  company is  responsible  for  the  design, 

construction, and maintenance of its facilities installed within the right 
of way.  ]All elements of [these]the utility facilities including materials 
used, installation methods, and locations shall be subject to review and 
approval by UDOT.

(c)   Plans,  Drawings  and  Specifications.   The  utility 
company shall provide UDOT with comprehensive plans, drawings 
and specifications as may be required for all proposed utility facilities 
within the right of way.  Utility plan submittals shall contain physical 
features of the utility site including, but not limited to the following:

(i)  highway route number;
(ii)  highway mile post locations;
(iii)  map with route and site location;
(iv)  existing features such as manholes, structures, drainage 

facilities, other utilities, access controlled and right of way lines, center 
line of highway relative to the utility facility location, and relevant 
vertical information;

(v)  plan and drawing scales; and
(vi)  legend including definition of symbols used.
The plans, drawings,  and specifications shall  also contain 

administrative information, identification and type of materials to be 
used,  relevant  information  on  adjacent  land  classification  and 
ownership, related permits and approvals if required, and identification 
of the responsible Engineer of Record.

(d)  Traffic Control Plans.  The utility company shall provide 
traffic control plans (TCP) that conform to the current Utah MUTCD 
and UDOT Traffic Control Standards and Specification.

(e)  The utility company is responsible to ensure compliance 
with  industry  codes  and  standards,  the  conditions  and  special 
provisions  specified  in  the  permit,  and  applicable  laws,  rules  and 
regulations of the State of Utah and the Code of Federal Regulations.

(f)   All  utility  facility  installations  located  in,  on,  along, 
across,  over,  through,  or  under  the  surface  of  the  right  of  way, 
including attachments to highway structures, are the responsibility of 
the utility company and, as a minimum, shall meet the following utility 
industry and governmental requirements.

(i)  Electric power and  telecommunications facilities shall 
conform to the current applicable National Electric Safety Code.

(ii)  Water, sewage and other effluent lines shall conform to 
the requirements of the American Public Works Association or the 
American Water Works Association.
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(iii)   Pressure  pipelines  shall  conform  to  the  current 
applicable  sections  of  the  standard  code  of  pressure  piping of  the 
American National Standards Institute, 49 CFR 192, 193 and 195, and 
applicable industry codes.

(iv)  Liquid petroleum pipelines shall conform to the current 
applicable recommended practice of the American Petroleum Institute 
for pipeline crossings under railroads and highways.

(v)   Any  pipelines  carrying  hazardous  materials  shall 
conform  to  the  rules  and  regulations  of  the  U.S.  Department  of 
Transportation governing the transmission of the materials.

(vi)   Telecommunications  with  longitudinal  installations 
within Interstate, Freeway and other Access Controlled Highway right 
of way shall conform to Utah Administrative Rule R907-64.

(2)  Subsurface Utility Engineering.
(a)  The use of Subsurface Utility Engineering (SUE) shall 

be required as an integral part of the design for new utility facility 
installations on the right of way when determined by UDOT to be 
warranted.

R930-7-8.  Definitive Design Requirements.
(1)  Location Requirements.
(a)   Longitudinal  Installations.   The  type  of  utility 

construction, vertical  clearances, lateral  location of poles and down 
guys, and related ground mounted utility facilities along roadways are 
factors of major importance in preserving a safe traffic environment, 
the appearance of the highway, and the efficiency and economy of 
highway construction and maintenance.  Longitudinal utility facilities 
shall be located on a uniform alignment and as close to the right of 
way line as practicable.  The joint use of pole lines is acceptable and 
encouraged;  however,  all  installations  shall  be  located  so  that  all 
servicing may be performed with minimal traffic interference.  The 
following additional requirements apply to longitudinal installations.

(i)  Utility facilities shall be located [so as ]to minimize the 
need for future utility relocations due to highway improvements, avoid 
risks  to  the  highway,  and  not  adversely  impact  environmentally 
protected areas.

(ii)  The location of utility installations along urban streets 
with closely abutting structures such as buildings and signs generally 
requires special considerations.  These considerations shall be resolved 
in a manner consistent with the prevailing limitations and as approved 
by UDOT.

(iii)   The  location  of  utility  facilities  and  associated 
appurtenances  shall  be  in  accordance  with  the  Americans  with 
Disabilities Act.

(iv)   The  horizontal  location  of  utility  facilities  and 
appurtenances within the right of way shall conform to the current 
edition of the AASHTO Roadside Design Guide.

(v)  Adequate warning devices, barricades, and protective 
devices must be used to prevent traffic hazards.  Where circumstances 
necessitate  the  excavation  closer  to  the  edge  of  pavement  than 
established above, concrete barriers or other UDOT approved devices 
shall be installed for protection of traffic in accordance with UDOT 
Traffic Control Standards and UDOT's Supplemental Drawings.

(vi)  There are greater restrictions on the accommodation of 
utility  facilities  within  interstate,  freeway,  and  other  access[ ]-   
controlled highway right  of way.   See [Section]rule R930-7-10 for 
details.

(b)  Overhead Installations.
(i)  Minimal vertical clearances for installed overhead lines 

are 18 feet for crossings and longitudinal installations, and 23 feet for 
intersections.   In  addition,  the vertical  clearance for  overhead lines 
above the highway and the vertical and lateral clearance from bridges 
and above ground UDOT facilities shall meet or exceed the current 
edition of the National Electrical Safety Code.  Where overhead lines 
cross UDOT above ground facilities, including but not limited to signs, 
traffic signal heads, poles, and mast arms, vertical and lateral clearance 
shall meet OSHA working clearances for electrical lines in effect at the 
time of the installation which will accommodate maintenance work by 
UDOT personnel without having to discharge or shield the lines.

(ii)   Utility  companies  planning  to  attach  cable  to  other 
utility company poles shall  obtain approval  from the owner of the 
poles prior to a permit being issued by UDOT.

(iii)  The utility facility shall conform to the current edition 
of the AASHTO Roadside Design Guide.  Where there are existing 
curbed sections, utility facilities shall be located as far as practicable 
behind the  face of  curbs  and,  where  feasible,  behind sidewalks  at 
locations that will not interfere with adjacent property use.  In all cases 
there shall be a minimum of two feet clearance behind the face of the 
curb.   All  cases  shall  be  resolved  in  a  manner  consistent  with 
prevailing limitations and conditions.

(iv)  Before locating a utility facility at other than the right of 
way line, consideration shall be given to designs using self-supporting, 
armless single pole construction, with vertical alignment of wires or 
cables, or other techniques permitted by government or industry codes 
that  provide  a  safe  traffic  environment.   Deviations  from required 
clearances may be made where poles and guys can be shielded by 
existing  traffic  barriers  or  placed  in  areas  that  are  inaccessible  to 
vehicular traffic.

(v)   Where irregular  shaped portions of the right of way 
extend  beyond  or  do  not  reach  the  normal  right  of  way  limits, 
variances in the location of utility facilities may be allowed to maintain 
a reasonably uniform alignment and thereby reduce the need for guys 
and anchors between poles and roadway.

(c)  Subsurface Installations.
(i)  Underground utilit[ies]y may be placed longitudinally 

outside  of  the  pavement  by  plowing  or  open  trench  method. 
Underground utilit[ies]y shall be located on a uniform alignment and 
as near as practicable to the right of [-]way line to provide a safe 
environment  for  traffic  operations,  preserve  the  integrity  of  the 
highway,  and  preserve  space  for  future  highway improvements  or 
other utility facility installations.  The allowable distance from the right 
of way line will generally depend upon the terrain and obstructions 
such as trees and other existing underground and overhead objects.  On 
highways  with  frontage  roads,  longitudinal  installations  shall  be 
located between the frontage roads and the right of way lines.  Utility 
companies  shall  include  the  placement  of  markers  referenced  in 
[Section]rule R930-7-11(5).

(ii)  Unless UDOT grants a deviation, underground utility 
installations across existing roadways shall be performed by trenchless 
method in accordance with UDOT requirements and casings may be 
required.  Bore [P]pits shall be located outside of the clear zone and at 
least 30 feet from the edge of the nearest through traffic lane and at 
least 20 feet from the edge of pavement on ramps.  On low traffic 
roadways and frontage roads, as determined by UDOT, bore pits shall
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be at least ten feet from the edge of pavement, five feet beyond toe of 
slope under fill sections and at least five feet from the face of curb and
meet  clear  zone  requirements  from  the  edge  of  the  traveled  way 
whichever is greater.  Bore pits shall be located and constructed [so as 
]to eliminate interference with highway structural footings.  Shoring 
shall be used where necessary.

TABLE 1

Bore Pit Locations

Bore Pit Set Back                    Outside Clear Zone

At least ten feet from the edge       At least 30 feet from the
of pavement, five feet beyond         edge of the nearest through
toe of slope under fill sections      traffic lane and at least 20
and at least five feet from the       feet from the edge of
face of curb                          pavement on ramps.

(iii)   The  depth  of  bury  for  all  [utility  ]facilities  under 
pavement, sidewalk, drainage features or existing ground surface shall 
meet  the[be  a]  minimum  requirements  outlined  in  Table  2  or  the 
Company shall install its facilities to the depth requirement stated in 
each individual permit.[ of four feet below the top of pavement or 
existing  grade  including  open  drainage  features.   Where  utility 
facilities are installed within 20 feet from the edge of pavement, the 
depth of bury shall be a minimum of five feet below top of grade so as 
to allow for installation of UDOT signs or delineators.  Utility facilities 
under sidewalks shall be installed a minimum of three feet below the 
top of sidewalk.  
               (iv)  Utility facilities installed greater than 20 feet from the 
edge of pavement shall be installed a minimum depth of three feet 
below grade.  Specific types of facilities such as high pressure gas lines 
or petroleum lines may require additional cover.]

(iv)  All underground utilit[ies]y installed in the right of way 
must meet the minimum standards for compaction as outlined in the 
current edition of the UDOT Standards and Specifications for Road 
and Bridge Construction.

(v[i])  Where minimum depth of bury is not feasible, the 
facility  shall  be  rerouted  or,  if  permitted  by  UDOT,  through  the
deviation process outlined in R930-7-13,  shall  be  protected with a 
casing,  encasement,  concrete  slab,  or  other  suitable  protective 
measures.

TABLE 2

[SUMMARY OF UDOT DEFINITIVE UTILITY REQUIREMENTS]
MINIMUM  DEPTH OF BURY   (Cover)     For     Underground     Utility     Facilities*  
[Longitudinal and Crossing Installations
All underground utilities (cased and uncased)

Under         Under         Under       Less than      Greater than
Pavement      Sidewalks     Ditch       20 ft.         20 ft.
Surface                                 from edge      from edge
                                        of pavement    of pavement

Min. of       Min. of       Min. of     Min. of five   Min. of three
four ft.      three ft.     three ft.   ft. below      ft. below
below  top     below top     below low   natural        natural
of pavement   of sidewalk   point of    grade          grade
                            ditch]

Location           Under                 Under                 Unde           Utility                       Utility  
                                 Pavement        Sidewalk        Ditch        Location                    Location  
                                                                                                                  Less     Than                 Greater     Than  
                                                                                                                  20     ft.     From           20     ft.     From  
                                                                                                                  Edge     of                       Edge     of  
                                                                                                                  Pavement                    Pavement  

Minimum              4     ft.                 3     ft.                 3     ft.                    5     ft.                    3     ft.**  
Depth

Measured           Top     of              Top     of              Low     point        Ground                 Ground  
From                       Pavement        Sidewalk        of     Ditch           Surface              Surface  

Measured           Top     of     Utility     Facility     or     Utility     Buffer     Zone     (if  required  
To                             by     Utility     Company)  

                                 *     Applies     to     longitudinal     and     crossing     installations,  
                                       cased  and  uncased.  
                                 **     Specific     types     of     facilities     such     as     high     pressure  
                                          gas lines may require additional cover.      

(d)  Crossings.
(i)  Utility crossings shall be at 90 degrees unless a deviation 

from this rule  is approved by UDOT through the deviation process 
outlined in R930-7-13.  Crossing installations under paved surfaces 
shall  be  by  trenchless  methods.   Jetting  by  means  of  water  or 
compressed air is not permitted.

(ii)  Utility crossings shall be avoided in deep roadway cuts, 
near bridge footings, near retaining and noise walls, at highway cross 
drains where flow of water may be obstructed, in wet or rocky terrain 
where it is difficult to attain minimum cover, and through slopes under 
structures.

(e)  Median Installations.
(i)  Overhead utility facilities such as poles, guys, or other 

related facilities shall not be located in highway medians.  Deviations 
may be  considered  for  crossings  where  wide  medians  provide  for 
sufficient space to meet clear zone requirements from the edges of the 
travelled ways.

(f)  Appurtenances.
(i)  Utility appurtenances shall be located outside the clear 

zone and as close to the right of way line as practicable.  Where these 
requirements  cannot  be  met, and  no  feasible  alternative  exists,  a 
deviation to locate appurtenances within the clear zone in areas that are 
shielded by traffic barriers may be considered after the utility company 
provides  written  justification  for  such  location  for  UDOT review 
through  the  deviation  process  outline  in  R930-7-13.   Cabinets, 
regulator stations, and other similar utility components shall not be 
located on the right of way unless they are determined by UDOT to be 
sufficiently small to allow a deviation.

(ii)  Manholes, valve pits, and similar appurtenances shall be 
installed so that their uppermost surfaces are flush with the adjacent 
undisturbed surface.

(iii)  Utility access points and valve covers shall be located 
outside the roadway where practicable.  In urbanized areas where no 
feasible alternative  exists,[to locating utility access points and valve 
covers  outside  of  the  roadway  exists,]  the  utility  company  must 
coordinate with UDOT to meet safety, operational, and maintenance 
requirements of both the utility company and UDOT.

(iv)  Utility companies shall avoid placing manholes in the 
pavement of high speed and high[ ]-volume highways.  Deviations 
may  be  considered  after  written  justification  for  such  location  is 
submitted  by  the  utility  company and  reviewed  and  approved  by 
UDOT through the deviation  process  outline  in  R930-7-13.   New 
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manhole installations shall be avoided at highway intersections and 
within the wheel path of traffic lanes.

(v)  Vents, drains, markers, utility access holes, shafts, shut-
offs, cross-connect boxes, pedestals, pad-mounted devices, and similar 
appurtenances shall be located along or across highway rights of way 
in accordance with the provisions of the Americans With Disabilities 
Act.

(2)  Environmental Compliance.
(a)  The utility company shall comply with all applicable 

state and federal environmental laws and regulations[,] and shall obtain 
necessary permits.  Environmental requirements include but are not 
limited to the following[.]:  

(i)   Water  Quality.   A "Storm Water  General  Permit  for 
Construction Activities" is required from the Utah Division of Water 
Quality for disturbances of one or more acres of ground surface.

(ii)  Wetlands and Other Waters of the U.S.  A "Section 404 
Permit" is required from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers for any 
impact to a wetland or water of the U.S.

(iii)  Threatened or Endangered (T and E) Species.  Comply 
with the Endangered Species Act; avoid impacts to T and E species or 
obtain a Permit from the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

(iv)  Historic and Archaeological Resources.  Comply with 
the "National Historic Preservation Act"; avoid impacts to historic and 
archaeological resources.  If resources could be impacted, contact the 
Utah State Historic Preservation Office.

(b)  The utility company is responsible for environmental 
impacts and violations resulting from construction activities performed 
by the utility company or its contractors.

(c)  If UDOT discovers or is made aware of a violation by 
the  utility  company or  a  failure  to  comply with  state  and  federal 
environmental laws, regulations and permits, UDOT may revoke the 
permit, notify appropriate agencies, or both.

(3)  Installation of Utilities in Scenic Areas.
(a)   The  type,  size,  design,  and  construction  of  utility 

facilities in areas of natural beauty shall not materially alter the scenic 
quality, appearance, and views from the highway or roadsides.  These 
areas  include  scenic  strips,  overlooks,  rest  areas,  recreation  areas, 
adjacent rights of way and highways passing through public parks, 
recreation  areas,  wildlife  and  waterfowl  refuges,  and  historic  sites. 
Utility installations in these areas shall not be permitted.  Deviation 
from this requirement may be allowed if there is no reasonable or 
feasible  alternative  as  determined  by  UDOT  based  on  written 
justification submitted by the utility company through the deviation 
process outlined in R930-7-13.  On Federal-aid highways, all decisions 
related to utility installations within these areas shall be subject to the 
provisions detailed in 23 CFR Section 645.209(h).

(i)  New underground utility installations may be permitted 
within scenic strips, overlooks, scenic areas, or in the adjacent rights of 
way, when they do not require extensive removal, or alteration of trees, 
and other shrubbery visible to the highway user, or do not impair the 
scenic appearance of the area.

(ii)  New overhead installations of  telecommunication and 
electric power lines are not permitted in such locations unless there is 
no feasible and reasonable alternative as determined by UDOT through 
the deviation process outlined in R930-7-13.  Overhead installations 
shall be justified to UDOT by demonstrating that other locations are 
not  available  and  that  underground  facilities  are  not  technically 
feasible, economical or are more detrimental to the scenic appearance 
of the area.

Any installation of overhead facilities shall  be made at  a 
location and in a manner that will not detract from the scenic quality of 
the area being traversed. The installation shall utilize a suitable design 
and  use  materials  aesthetically  compatible  to  the  scenic  area,  as 
approved by UDOT.

(4)  Casing and Encasement Requirements.
(a)  General.  A carrier pipe is sometimes installed inside of a 

larger diameter pipe defined as a casing.  Casings are typically used to 
provide  complete  independence  of  the  carrier  pipe  from  the
surrounding roadway structure, and to provide adequate protection to 
the roadway from leakage of a carrier pipeline.  It  also provides a 
means  for  insertion  and  replacement  of  carriers  without  access  or 
disturbance to through-traffic roadways.

(b)  Casing requirements for crossing installations.
(i)  All pipelines under pressure crossing under the roadbed 

of highways shall be in casings unless the pipeline is welded steel, 
meets industry corrosion protection standards, complies with federal 
and  state  requirements,  and  meets  accepted  industry  standards 
regarding wall thickness and operating stress levels.  In some cases,   
UDOT may require a casing regardless of these exceptions if needed to 
protect the roadway, maintain public safety, or both.

(ii)  In urban areas where space is limited for venting or 
where small pipelines are crossing, specifically intermediate high[ ]-  
pressure lines, deviations for casing may be granted by UDOT.

(iii)  Where a casing is required, it must be provided under 
medians, from top of back-slope to top of back-slope for cut sections, 
five feet beyond toe of slope under fill sections, five feet beyond face 
of curb in urban sections and all side streets, and five feet beyond any 
structure  where  the  line  passes  under  or  through  the  structure. 
Deviations, outlined in R930-7-13, must be approved by UDOT.  On 
freeways,  expressways,  and  other  access[ ]-controlled  highways, 
casings shall extend to the access control lines.

(iv)  Utility installations by trenchless technologies, such as 
jacking,  boring,  or  horizontal  directional  drilling methods,  may be 
placed under highways without a casing pipe if approved by a UDOT 
through the deviation process outlined in R930-7-13[representative].

(v)   Where  minimum  depth  of  bury is  not  feasible,  the 
facility shall be rerouted or protected with a casing, concrete slab, or 
other suitable measures as determined by UDOT through the deviation 
process outlined in R930-7-13.

(c)  Casings shall be considered for the following conditions:
(i)   as  an  expedient[cy]  method  for[in]  the  insertion, 

removal,  replacement,  or  maintenance  of  carrier  pipe  crossings  of 
freeways, expressways, and other access[ ]-controlled highways, and 
at  other  locations  where  it  is  necessary  to  avoid  open  trenched 
construction;

(ii)   as  protection for  carrier pipe from external  loads or 
shock either during or after construction of the highway; and

(iii)  as a means of conveying leaking fluids or gases away 
from the area directly beneath the roadway to a point of venting at or 
near the right of way line, or to a point of drainage in the highway 
ditch or a natural drainage way.

(d)  UDOT may require casings for pressurized carriers or 
carriers of a flammable, corrosive, expansive, energized, or unstable 
material.

(e)  Trenchless installations of coated carrier pipes shall be 
cased.  Permission to deviate from this requirement may be granted 
where assurance is provided against damage to the protective coating.
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(f)   Encasement  or  other  suitable  protections  shall  be 
considered for pipelines with less than minimum cover, such as those 
near bridge footings or other highway structures, or across unstable or 
subsiding ground, or near other locations where hazardous conditions 
may exist.

(g)  Rigid encas
ement or suitable bridging shall be used where support of pavement 
structure  may  be  impaired  by  depression  of  flexible  carrier  pipe. 
Casings shall  be designed to  support the load of the highway and 
superimposed loads thereon and, as a minimum, shall be equal to or 
exceed the structural requirements of UDOT highway culverts in the 
UDOT  Structures  Design  and  Detailing  Manual  (SDDM)[Bridge 
Design Manual].

(h)   Casings  shall  be  sealed  at  the  ends  using  suitable 
material to prevent water and debris from entering the annular space 
between the casing and the carrier.  Such installations shall include 
necessary appurtenances, such as vents and markers.

(5)  Mechanical and Other Protective Measures for Uncased 
Installation.

(a)  When highway pipeline crossings are installed without 
casings  or  encasement,  the  following  are  [suggested  ]controls  for 
providing mechanical or other protection.

(i)  The carrier pipe shall conform to utility material and 
design requirements and utility industry and government codes and 
standards.  The carrier pipe shall be designed to support the load of the 
highway  plus  superimposed  loads  operating  under  all  ranges  of 
pressure from maximum internal to zero pressure.  Such installations 
shall  use a  higher  factor  of safety in  the design,  construction,  and 
testing than would normally be required for cased construction.

(ii)  Suitable bridging, concrete slabs, or other appropriate 
measures shall  be used to protect existing uncased pipelines which 
may  be  vulnerable  to  damage  from  construction  or  maintenance 
operations.  Construction or maintenance activities shall not proceed 
until protective measures are approved by UDOT.

(b)  Uncased crossings of welded steel pipelines carrying 
flammable, corrosive, expansive, energized, or unstable materials may 
be permitted  if  additional  protective  measures  are  taken  in  lieu of 
encasement.  Such measures shall use a higher factor of safety in the 
design, construction, and testing of the uncased carrier pipe, including 
thicker  wall  pipe,  radiograph  testing  of  welds,  hydrostatic  testing, 
coating and wrapping, and cathodic protection.

R930-7-9.  Utilities on Highway Structures.
(1)  General.
(a)  The installation of utility facilities on highway structures 

can adversely impact the integrity and capacity of the structure, the 
safe  operation  of  traffic,  maintenance  efficiency, complexity  to 
perform needed structure rehabilitation or replacement of the structure,   
and the aesthetic appeal of the structure.  Utility facilities shall not be 
installed  on  highway  structures  except  in  extreme  cases.   When 
installation  of  utilities  at  an  alternate  location  exceeds  the  cost  of 
attaching to the structure by four times, UDOT will consider such an 
installation as described in paragraph (2) of this section, R930-7-9.
[  The  utility  company  shall  submit  documentation  requesting 
installation on highway structures to the UDOT Structures Division for 
review and approval.   Attachment  of a  utility facility will  only be 
considered if the structure is adequate to support the additional load. 
This adequacy must be verified by a load rating completed by the 
utility  company  following  UDOT's  Load  Rating  Policies  and 

Procedures,  submitted  to  UDOT  along  with  the  necessary 
documentation including calculations and a load rating model.]

(b)  Installing utility facilities within 50 feet of structures 
may impact the design, installation, operation, maintenance and safety 
of  the structures,  and the utility facilities.   Utility companies  shall 
address  potential  impacts  when  projects  are  proposed  to  ensure 
compatibility between utility facilities  and UDOT structures and to 
assure  all  relevant  utility  industry  codes  and  UDOT  structural 
requirements are adequately addressed.

(2)  Installation on Highway Structures.
(a)  The  utility  company  shall  submit  documentation 

requesting  installation  on  a  highway  structure  to  UDOT  through 
UDOT's permitting system for review and possible approval.  
                 (b)  Attachment of a utility facility will only be considered if   
the  structure  is  adequate  to  support  the  additional  load  and  can 
accommodate  the  utility  without  compromising  highway  features. 
This adequacy must be verified by a load rating completed by the 
utility company in accordance with the current versions of the UDOT 
Structures  Design  and  Detailing  Manual  and  UDOT  Bridge 
Management Manual including calculations.  
                 (c)    If  UDOT allows a [structure]utility installation on a 
highway structure, it shall be at a location and of a design approved by 
UDOT.[subject  to  review  and  approval  by  UDOT's  Structures 
Department.  Utility installations on structures shall not be considered 
unless  the structure  is  of  a  design  that  is  adequate  to  support  the 
additional  load  and  can  accommodate  the  utility  without 
compromising highway features.]  In addition, the utility installation 
on  a  highway  structure  shall  be  subject  to  the  following 
requirements[.]:  

(i)   Due to  variations in  highway structure  designs,  site-
specific conditions, and other considerations, there is no standardized 
method by which utilities are installed on structures.  Therefore, each 
proposed installation shall be considered on its individual merits and 
shall be individually designed for the specific structure.

(ii)   Where  installations  of  pipelines  carrying  hazardous 
materials are allowed, the pipeline shall be cased.  The casing shall be 
open or vented at each end [so as  ]to prevent possible build-up of 
pressure and to detect leakage.  Where located near streams, casings 
shall be designed and installed so that leakage does not compromise 
the stream.  If a deviation from this Rule, R930-7, is allowed for no 
casing, additional protective measures shall be used including higher 
standards for design, safety, construction and testing of the pipeline 
than would normally be required for cased construction.

(iii)  All pipeline installations carrying gas or liquid under 
pressure which by their nature may cause damage or injury if leaked, 
shall be installed with emergency shutoff valves.  Such valves shall be 
placed within an effective distance on each side of the structure, as 
approved by UDOT, and shall be automatic if required by UDOT.

(iv)   Utility  installations  on  highway structures  shall  not 
reduce vertical clearances above rivers, streams, roadway surfaces or 
rails.  Installations should be designed to occupy a position beneath the 
deck in an interior bay of a girder or beam, or within a cell of a box 
girder bridge.  Installations shall always be above the bottom of girders 
on a girder bridge or above the bottom of the bottom cord of a truss 
bridge.  Utility installations outside of a bridge structure are unsightly 
and susceptible to damage and will  only be approved by UDOT if 
there is no reasonable alternative.

(v)  All utility facilities installed on highway structures shall 
be  constructed  of  durable  materials,  designed  with  a  long[ ]-life 
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expectancy,  and  must  be  installed  in  a  manner  that  will  minimize 
routine servicing and maintenance.

(vi)  Utility facility mountings shall be of sufficient strength 
to carry the weight of the utility and shall be of a design and type that 
will not rattle or loosen due to vibrations caused by vehicular traffic. 
Acceptable utility installation methods are hangers or roller assemblies 
suspended either from inserts from the underside of the bridge floor or 
from hanger rods clamped to the flange of a superstructure member. 
Bolting through the bridge floor is not permitted.  Where there are
transverse floor beams sufficiently removed from the underside of the 
deck, the utility placement shall allow adequate clearance to enable full 
inspection of both the deck and the utility line.  UDOT may consider a 
proposal to support the utility line on top of the floor beams.

(vii)   [Communication]Telecommunication and  electric 
power  line  installations  shall  be  suitably  insulated,  grounded,  and 
preferably carried in protective conduit or pipe from the point of exit 
from the ground to re-entry.   Cable shall  be carried to  a  manhole 
located beyond the back-wall of the structure. Access manholes are not 
allowed in a bridge deck.

(viii)  Utility installations shall provide for lineal expansion 
and  contraction  due  to  temperature  variations  in  conjunction  with 
bridge movement.

(ix)  All utility facility clearances from structure members 
must conform to all governing codes and shall not render any portion 
of the structure inaccessible for maintenance purposes.

(x)  The utility company shall be responsible for restoration 
or repair of any portion of a structure or highway damaged by utility 
facility installation, maintenance or use.

(xi)  The expansion of an existing utility facility carried by 
an  existing  structure  may be  permitted  if  the  expansion  does  not 
adversely impact the performance and load carrying capacity of the 
structure and otherwise complies with this rule.
                 (xii)   All  components  of  the  utility  attachment  shall  be   
protected  from  corrosion.   Steel  components  shall  be  stainless, 
galvanized or painted in accordance with the current UDOT Standard 
Specifications for Highway and Bridge Construction.  

(3)  Utility Company Responsibilities.
(a)  It is the responsibility of the utility company to obtain 

approval from UDOT for a highway structure installation.  The utility 
company shall  know[ascertain the extent  of]  UDOT's  requirements
prior  to  initiating  the  design  for  installation.   A Utah  registered 
Professional or Structural Engineer shall be responsible for the design 
if the installation is allowed.  The utility company must prepare and 
submit complete design documents showing all details of the proposed 
highway structure installation[work].  These documents shall include 
plans, calculations, updated load rating with a Virtis load rating model, 
the  permit  application,  and  any other  necessary information.   The 
utility company shall  be responsible  for  protecting,  maintaining or 
relocating its utility installation, including the arrangement of service 
interruptions, to accommodate future UDOT structure work.

(b)   All  materials  incorporated  in  the  design  must  be 
certifiable  for  quality  and  strength  and  full  specifications  must  be 
provided in support of the design.

(c)  Adequate written justification must support the need for 
installing the utility facility on the structure and demonstrate that there 
is no viable cost-effective alternative.

(d)  Design documents are required to meet requirements of 
the  current  versions  of  the  AASHTO  LRFD  Bridge  Design 
Specifications and UDOT Structures Design and Detailing Manual.  

[All  components  of  the  utility  attachment  shall  be  protected  from 
corrosion.  Steel components shall be stainless, galvanized or painted 
in  accordance  with  the  current  UDOT Standard  Specifications  for 
Highway and Bridge Construction.]

R930-7-10.   Utilities  within  Interstate,  Freeway  and  Access 
Controlled [Right-of-Way]Right of Way.

(1)  General Provisions.  There are two basic types of access 
control.

No Access -- provides access only at interchanges[does not 
allow  access  to  the  through-traffic  lanes  except  at  interchanges]. 
Crossings at  grade and direct driveway connections are  prohibited. 
Access is controlled by fencing.   This  is  typical  of interstates and 
freeways.

Limited Access - provides access to selected roads.  There 
may  be  some  crossings  at  grade  and  some  private  driveway 
connections.   This  is  typical  of  expressways  and  certain  other 
highways.

(2)   Factors  UDOT  may  consider  for  allowing  Utility 
accommodation within access controlled right of way include distance 
between distribution points, terrain, cost, and prior existence.

(3)  Longitudinal  telecommunication installations may be 
allowed under Rule R907-64 and Utah Code Section 72-7-108.

(4)   Pursuant  to  FHWA regulations,  UDOT may  allow 
longitudinal  accommodation  of  utility  facilities  but  with  greater 
restrictions within no access and limited access highway right of way 
as follows:

(a)  [No access:  l]Longitudinal installations [on highways ]
within no access  highway right of way  are not permitted except in 
cases  where  no  other  feasible  location  exists  and  under  strictly 
controlled circumstances.  FHWA approval is required for installations 
on  interstate  [facilities]roadways.  Longitudinal  telecommunication 
facilities are allowed pursuant to Utah Code Section 72-7-108.[; and]

(b)   [Limited  Access:   l]Longitudinal  installations  [on 
highways  ]within limited access  highway right of way are generally 
not permitted.

(5)  Utility facilities [are allowed to]may cross no access and 
limited access highway [right-of-way]right of way but with additional 
requirements as noted below in Subsection R930-7-10(7).

(6)  Longitudinal Utility Facilities.
(a)  In addition to the requirements in Subsection R930-7-

8(1)(a), the following requirements apply[.]:  
(i)  Service connections are not permitted within no access 

highway right of way.  Service connections are not permitted within 
limited access highway right of way unless no reasonable alternative 
exists as demonstrated by the utility company and as reviewed and 
approved by UDOT through the deviation process outlined in R930-7-
13.

(ii)  Service, maintenance, and operation of utilities installed 
along  and  within  no  access  highway  right  of  way  may  not  be 
conducted  from  the  through-traffic  roadways  or  ramps.   All 
maintenance activities  must  be accessed from a point  approved by 
UDOT and FHWA.

(iii)   An existing  utility  facility  within  the  right  of  way 
acquired for an interstate,  freeway,  or access[ ]-controlled highway 
project may remain if it  can be serviced, maintained,  and operated 
without access from the through-traffic roadways or ramps, and it does 
not  adversely  affect  the  safety,  design,  construction,  operation, 
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maintenance,  or  stability  of  the  interstate,  freeway,  or  access[ ]-  
controlled highway. Otherwise, it shall be relocated.

(iv)   Where  approval  for  installation  is  permitted,  utility 
installations and related components  shall  be buried parallel  to the 
interstate,  freeway,  or  access[ ]-controlled  highway  and  shall  be 
located within five feet of the outer most right of way limits.  Utility 
appurtenances shall be located as close as possible to the right of way 
line.

(v)  An existing utility carried on an interstate, freeway, or 
access[ ]-controlled highway structure crossing a major valley or river 
may be permitted by UDOT to continue to be carried at the time the 
route is improved if the utility facility is serviced without interference 
to the traveling public.

(7)  Utility Crossings.
(a)  In addition to the requirements in Subsection R930-7-

8(1)(d), the following requirements apply.
(i)  A utility following a crossroad or street which is carried 

over or under an interstate, freeway, or access[ ]-controlled highway 
must cross the interstate, freeway, or access[ ]-controlled highway at 
the location of the crossroad or street in such a manner that the utility 
can be serviced without access from the through-traffic roadways or 
ramps.

(ii)  Overhead utility lines crossing an interstate, freeway, or 
access[ ]-controlled  highway  shall  be  adjusted  so  that  supporting 
structures are located outside access control lines.  In no case shall the 
supporting poles be placed within the clear zone.  Where required for 
support, intermediate supporting poles may be placed in medians of 
sufficient width that provide the clear zone from the edges of both 
travelled ways.  If additional lanes are planned, the clear zone shall be 
determined from the ultimate edges of the travelled way.  When right 
of way lines and access control lines are not the same, such as when 
frontage roads are provided, supporting poles may be [located ]in the 
area between them.

(iii)   At  interchange  areas,  supports  for  overhead  utility 
facilities will be permitted only if located beyond the clear zone of 
traffic lanes or ramps, sight distance is not impaired, and can be safely 
accessed.

(iv)  Manholes and other points of access to underground 
utilities may be permitted within the right  of way of an interstate, 
freeway, or access[ ]-controlled highway if they can be serviced or 
maintained without access from the through-traffic roadways or ramps. 
When right of way lines and access control lines are not the same, such 
as when frontage roads are provided, manholes and other points of 
access may be [located ]in the area between them.

(v)  Where a casing is not otherwise required, it shall be 
considered  as  expedient  in  the  insertion,  removal,  replacement,  or 
maintenance of carrier pipes crossing interstate, freeways, or access[ ]-  
controlled highways.  Casings shall extend to the access control lines. 
See Subsection R930-7-8(4).

(8)  Longitudinal Telecommunications Installation.
(a)  Installation must comply with R907-64.
(9)  Wireless Telecommunications Facilities.
(a)  Facilities must comply with R907-64.

R930-7-11.  Utility Construction and Inspection.
(1)  General Provisions.
(a)   The  method  used  for  utility  construction  work  is 

generally  determined  by  local  conditions.   The  location,  terrain, 
obstructions,  soil  conditions,  topography,  and  UDOT standards  to 

maintain the integrity and safety of the right of way and roadway are 
important considerations for the proper placing of utilities.  Familiarity 
and compliance with this rule will facilitate the construction process 
for utility companies.

(b)   UDOT  may  perform  routine  inspection  of  utility 
construction work to monitor compliance with the license agreement, 
encroachment permit and with state and federal regulations.  A permit 
may be revoked for cause if a utility company or contractor is not 
complying with the terms and limitations of the permit which will 
require a new permit at the contractor's expense to proceed with the 
utility construction work.

(c)   Costs  associated  with  the  inspection  are  the 
responsibility  of  the  utility  company.   Failure  to  pay  inspection 
invoices issued by UDOT may result in revocation of the permit and 
may  require  the  posting  of  an  inspection  bond  on  future  permit 
applications.

(2)  Utility Construction and Maintenance.
(a)   The  utility  company  shall  not  begin  any  utility 

construction work on UDOT right of way until the permit is issued and 
notice to proceed is given to the utility company by UDOT.  After 
notice  to  proceed  is  received,  the  utility  company  shall  complete 
construction  in  accordance  with  UDOT  requirements.[No  utility 
construction  work  by  a  utility  company  or  a  utility  company's 
contractor may begin until a written encroachment permit has been 
issued to the utility company by UDOT.]

(b)  Traffic control for utility construction and maintenance 
operations shall conform to UDOT's current accepted Utah MUTCD 
or UDOT Traffic Control Plans, whichever is more restrictive.  All 
utility construction and maintenance operations shall  be planned to 
keep interference with traffic to an absolute minimum.  On heavily 
traveled highways, utility operations interfering with traffic shall not 
be conducted during periods of peak traffic flow.  This work shall be 
planned so that closures of intersecting streets, road approaches, or 
other access points are held to a minimum.

(c)   [The  utility  company shall  not  begin  any work  on 
UDOT right of way until the permit is issued and notice to proceed is 
given to the utility company by UDOT.  After notice to proceed is 
received,  the  utility  company  shall  complete  construction  in 
accordance with UDOT requirements.  
               (d)   ]When  [highway  ]utility  construction  work[or 
maintenance activities] involves existing underground utility facilities, 
the utility company or Utility contractor shall comply with Utah Code 
Title 54, Chapter 8a, Damage to Underground Utility Facilities.

([e]d)  Utility construction work shall be completed within 
the number of days specified in the approved permit.  When the Utility 
construction  work is not completed within the specified time UDOT 
has the option of extending the time or revoking the permit and acting 
on  the  appropriate  bond  to  pay  for  completion  of  the  Utility 
construction work.  All time extensions granted by UDOT shall be in 
writing.

([f]e)   Disturbance  of  areas  within  highway  [right-of-
way]right of way during utility construction  work  shall be kept to a 
minimum and all right of way shall be restored to the satisfaction of 
UDOT.   All  utility  construction  work  methods  used  within  the 
highway right of way shall be performed in accordance with current 
Standard Specifications for Highway and Bridge Construction, UDOT 
Permit  Excavation  Handbook,  the  provisions  of  this  rule,  and 
encroachment permit requirements.  Unsatisfactory utility construction 
work, as determined by UDOT's inspector, shall promptly be corrected 
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to comply with appropriate standards and specifications.  UDOT may 
issue written notification that identifies the deficiencies and the [period 
of  ]time to cure or correct the deficiencies.  If the restoration is not 
performed within  the specified time,  UDOT may perform or  have 
performed  the  corrective  work  and  the  utility  company  shall  be 
responsible for all costs incurred.

(g)  The utility company shall avoid disturbing or damaging 
existing  highway drainage  facilities  and  is  responsible  for  repairs, 
including restoration of  ditch flow lines.   Wherever  necessary,  the 
utility company shall provide drainage away from its own facilities to 
avoid damage to the highway.

(h)  The utility company is prohibited from spraying, cutting 
or trimming trees or other landscape elements unless specific written 
permission is obtained from UDOT.  The approval of an encroachment 
permit  does not  include approval  of such work unless  the cutting, 
spraying, and trimming is clearly indicated on the permit application. 
In  general,  when permission is  given,  only light  trimming will  be 
permitted.   When  tree  removal  is  approved,  the  stump  shall  be 
removed, and the hole properly backfilled to natural ground density or 
restored as otherwise approved by UDOT.  The work site shall be left 
clean and trash free.  All debris shall be removed.  Reseeding shall be 
performed in accordance with UDOT's approved schedule.

(i)  UDOT may require that any abandoned utility pipe or 
conduit  be removed, capped,  or filled with an appropriate material 
acceptable to UDOT.

(j)  All utility facilities located within the highway[on] rights 
of way shall be adequately maintained.  Any physical modifications, 
relocations, additions, excavations, or impedance of traffic within the 
highway  right  of  way  shall  require  the  submittal  of  a  new 
encroachment permit application.  No Utility construction  work may 
begin until the new encroachment permit is approved.

(k)  Restoration of the highway right of way disturbed by 
excavation, grading work, or other activities shall include reseeding 
and restoration of existing landscaping.  All areas which are denuded 
of vegetation [as a result]because of construction or maintenance shall 
be reseeded, which is subject to inspection and acceptance by UDOT.

(3)  Open Trench Construction Traversing Highways.
(a)  Open trench utility installations are not permitted unless 

an acceptable trenchless method is unfeasible such as in unsuitable soil 
conditions  or  extremely  difficult  rock.   UDOT may  also  grant  a 
deviation from requiring trenchless construction where older pavement 
is severely deteriorated.

(b)  Open trench construction on highway[s] rights of way is 
limited to areas where traffic impacts are minimal.  Any pavement 
structure broken, disturbed, cut or otherwise damaged in any way shall 
be removed and replaced to  a  design equal  to  or  greater  than the 
surrounding  undisturbed  pavement  structure,  or  as  otherwise 
determined by UDOT.

(c)   For  open  trench  installations,  the utility company is 
responsible  for  the  restoration  and  maintenance  of  the  pavement 
structure for three years as outlined in Section R930-7-6(6)(b), unless a 
deviation from this rule as outlined in R930-7-13 is granted by UDOT. 
When the  utility  company or  its  contractor  performing  the  Utility 
construction work is not equipped, [to ]or fails to properly repair the 
damage to the pavement structure, UDOT will repair the damage and 
bill the utility company for the actual costs incurred, including any 
administrative costs.  All pavement restoration work performed by the

utility company shall be completed within 48 hours after completion of 
the excavation and backfill.

(d)  All open trench utility installations shall conform to the 
applicable provisions of the current UDOT Standard Specifications for 
Road and Bridge Construction.

(e)  It is the utility company's responsibility to restore the 
structural integrity of the road bed, secure the utility facility against 
deformation and leakage, assure that the utility trench does not become 
a drainage channel, and that the backfilled trench doesn't impede or 
alter road drainage.

(f)  Trenches shall be cut to have vertical faces.  Maximum 
width shall be two feet or the outside diameter of the pipe plus one and 
one-half  feet  on  each  side.   All  trenches  shall  be  shored  where 
necessary and shall meet OSHA requirements.

(g)  Bedding shall be provided to a depth of one-half the 
diameter of the pipe and shall consist of granular material, free from 
rocks, lumps, clods, cobbles, or frozen materials, and shall be graded to 
a firm surface without abrupt change in bearing value.  Unstable soils 
and rock ledges shall be sub-excavated from beneath the bedding zone 
and replaced with suitable granular material.

(h)   Backfill  shall  meet  the  current  UDOT  Standard 
Specification 02056 Embankment,  Borrow and Backfill  and 03575 
Flowable Fill.  Additional specifications may be required by UDOT.

(i)  Pavement replacement may be performed by either the 
utility company or a contractor engaged by the utility company.  The 
Region  Permits  Officer  will  determine  pavement  replacement 
requirements.  The utility company is liable for three years from the 
date of completion of the pavement replacement for the cost of repairs 
if the backfill subsides or the patched pavement fails.

(j)   Where a utility company fails to properly repair any 
damage to the pavement structure, UDOT may repair the damage and 
the costs, including administrative costs, will be the responsibility of 
the utility company.

(4)  Trenchless Utility Construction.
(a)  Trenchless utility installations are required for all utility 

crossings  of  highways  or  roadways,  where  practicable.   This 
construction  method  is  required  to  avoid  disturbing  the  pavement 
surface,  particularly  where  underground  utilities  exist  on  major 
highways, expressways, or freeways.  Only UDOT approved methods 
may be used to install a utility facility under a highway.

(b)  All trenchless pipeline installations shall extend under 
and across the entire roadway prism to a point five feet beyond the toes 
of the fore-slopes, borrow ditch bottom, or across the access controlled 
right  of  way lines,  but  never  less  than  15  feet  from the  edge  of 
pavement or a ramp.

(c)  Water jetting or tunneling may not be used.   Water-
assisted or wet boring may be permitted if the utility company can 
demonstrate to UDOT through the deviation process outlined in R930-
7-13 that the operation will not adversely impact the roadway and sub-
grade.

(d)  The size of a trenchless operation shall be restricted to 
the minimum size necessary for the [utility]pipeline installation and 
shall not exceed the [utility facility]pipeline diameter by more than 5% 
unless  otherwise  required  based  on  equipment  and  product 
manufacturer's specifications.  Grout or flowable fill backfill shall be 
used  for  carriers  or  casings  and  for  over-breaks,  unused  holes  or 
abandoned carriers or casings.  The composition of the grout shall be 
cement mortar, a slurry of fine sand or other fine granular materials.
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(e)  Portals including surface openings and bore pits shall be 
established safely beyond the highway surface and the clear zone [so 
as ]to avoid impairing the roadway during installation of the pipeline.

(f)  Where a bulkhead seals the pipeline portal, the portal 
shall be suitably offset from the surfaced area of the highway.  Shoring 
and bulkheading shall conform to applicable federal, state, and local 
jurisdiction construction and safety standards.  Where a bulkhead is not 
installed in the pipeline,  the portal  shall  be offset  no less than the 
vertical  difference  in  elevation  between  the  surfaced  area  of  the 
highway and the bottom of the bore pit.

(g)   The  utility  company  shall  follow  manufacturer's 
guidelines and industry standards for equipment set-up and operation. 
The utility company shall assess soil conditions to determine the most 
appropriate  installation  technique.   Subsurface  bore  paths  shall  be 
tracked and recorded by the utility company, and all failed bores shall 
be appropriately abandoned and backfilled by the utility company.

(h)  Drilling fluids shall be prepared and used according to 
fluid and drilling equipment  manufacturer's  guidelines.   The utility 
company shall use fluid containment pits at both bore entry and exits 
points[,] and shall use appropriate operational controls so as to avoid 
heaving or loss of drilling fluids from the bore.  Antifreeze additives 
shall be non-toxic and biodegradable products.

(i)  The utility company shall dispose of drilling fluids and 
other materials in permitted facilities that accept the types of chemicals 
and wastes used in the trenchless operations.

(5)  Utility Markers.
(a)  The location of utility facilities within highway right of 

way presents certain risks to construction and maintenance activities, 
construction personnel,  and to the facility itself  when work in and 
around the area of the utility facility is in progress.  To minimize risk 
and  maximize  safety,  it  is  the  utility  company's  responsibility  to 
provide identification markers and tracer wire [or detectable warning 
tape ]for all buried facilities located within the highway right of way.

(b)  A trace wire, metallic tape, or other accepted industry 
material  approved by UDOT for  locating utilities  with geophysical 
equipment  shall  be  properly  installed  with  all  non-metallic 
underground [lines]utility facilities.

(c)   The  utility  company shall  place  permanent  markers 
identifying the location of underground utility facilities, whether they 
are crossing the highway right of way or installed longitudinally along 
the highway right of way.  Markers shall not interfere with highway 
safety and maintenance operations.  Preferably, markers shall be[are to 
be]  located  at  the  right  of  way  line  if  that  location  will  provide 
adequate  warning.   The telephone number for  one-call  notification 
services to request marking the line location prior to excavation, and 
for emergency response, shall appear on the marker.

(d)  The utility company shall maintain its markers in good 
condition.  Color faded markers shall be replaced as necessary so that 
their visibility to maintenance crews and others is not impaired.

(6)  GPS Requirements.
(a)  It is the responsibility of the utility company to produce 

and maintain a set of certified reproducible plans and an electronic file 
showing the location of all its utility facilities within the highway right 
of way including overhead facilities and crossing points.  The utility 
company is responsible to maintain an accurate file to be used by 
UDOT for future planning to avoid utility conflicts.  These plans shall 
also include appropriate vertical  and horizontal  ties to the highway 
survey control.

(b)  For new and relocated  facility installations, the utility 
company shall use a survey grade Global Positioning System (GPS) to 
survey their facility locations and submit an electronic file to UDOT. 
Specific requirements for survey data will be determined by UDOT. 
The  location  survey  points  shall  include  major  junction  points, 
manholes, valves, changes in line or grade, and any other significant 
feature  that  will  facilitate  installation  approval  and future  planning 
activities.

(c)  If the utility company fails to provide UDOT with a set 
of plans and files showing the surveyed utility locations upon request 
then the utility company is required to secure the actual locations of 
their facilities at no cost to UDOT.  If the utility company fails to 
provide  the  utility  location  information  requested  within  ten  days, 
UDOT may hire a Subsurface Utility Engineering (SUE) consultant to 
locate the utilities at the utility company's expense.

R930-7-12.  Maintenance Responsibility.
The  utility  company  is  responsible  for  maintenance  and 

liability of its utility facilities and appurtenances on UDOT right of 
way or  on  UDOT property including  facilities  installed  without  a 
Statewide Utility License Agreement or permit, whether operational, 
out of service, or abandoned.

R930-7-13.  Deviations.
(1)  Deviations from provisions of this rule may be allowed 

if they do not violate state and federal statutes, law, or regulations and 
UDOT has determined the use of the right of way will be for the public 
good without compromising the transportation purposes of the right of 
way.

(2)  Requests for  deviations with limited impact  may be 
considered  by  UDOT  on  an  individual  basis,  upon  justification 
submitted by the utility company.  UDOT will not consider cost to the 
utility company as the primary deciding factor in granting a deviation.

(3)  Requests for  significant deviations must demonstrate 
extreme hardship and unusual conditions and provide justification for 
the deviation.  Requests must demonstrate that alternative measures 
can be specified and implemented and still fulfill the intent of state and 
federal  statute  and  regulations.  Requests  for  these  deviations  must 
include the following:

(a)  formal request by the utility company; and
(b)  an evaluation of the direct and indirect design, safety, 

environmental,  and  economic  impacts  associated  with  granting  a 
deviation.

(4)  In order for UDOT to grant a significant deviation the 
following approvals are necessary:

(a)   formal  recommendation  for  approval  by the  UDOT 
Region  Preconstruction Engineer and  Permits Officer or the officer's 
supervisor, as applicable;

(b)  formal recommendation for approval from the UDOT 
Region Director or designee;

(c)   concurrence  of  the  UDOT Statewide  Railroad  and 
Utilities Director[Engineer]; and

(d)  FHWA concurrence if the deviation applies to a utility 
facility located within a Federal-aid highway right of way.

(5)  For UDOT projects that are solely state funded, UDOT 
may deviate from the utility relocation regulations contained in the 
Code of Federal Regulations by reimbursing a utility company for
replacement  of  existing  buildings  with  functionally  equivalent 
buildings, if the following requirements are met:
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(a)  the utility company owns the property in fee that UDOT 
needs to acquire for its project;

(b)  the utility company owns operational facilities located 
upon, below or above the property;

(c)  the utility company owns a building on the property that 
provides maintenance services for the utility facility;

(d)  a property purchase in accordance with 49 CFR 24 will 
not adequately compensate the utility company's costs to relocate and 
functionally re-establish the maintenance facility; and

(e)  the deviation promotes the public interest.

R930-7-14.  Enforcement.
(1)  This rule is subject to enforcement pursuant to and as 

provided for in Utah Code, and may include, but not be limited to the 
following:

(a)   administrative  citations,  in  letter  form,  citing  non-
compliance items and proper redress requirements, including notice 
that  UDOT may  take  whatever  action  is  necessary  to  rectify  the 

situation and subsequently submit a claim against the appropriate bond 
to recover from the utility company actual costs incurred by UDOT;

(b)  increased bonding levels to recoup potential restoration 
costs on current or future utility projects;

(c)  denial of future permits until  past  non-compliance is 
resolved;

(d)  termination of the License Agreement; and
(e)  legal action to secure reimbursement from the utility 

company for costs incurred by UDOT due to damages to the right of 
way or noncompliance with the permit, rule or License Agreement.

KEY:  [right-of-way]right of way, utilities, utility accommodation
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 24, 
2016]2019  
Notice of Continuation:  September 12, 2017
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-6-116(2)

End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section
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Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to  
review  the  rule.   This  review  is  intended  to  help  the  agency  determine,  and  to  notify  the  public,  that  the 
administrative rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may: 
repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary.

A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of  
the Utah Administrative Code available at https://rules.utah.gov/.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing.

REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305.

Education, Administration
R277-495

Required Policies for Electronic 
Devices in Public Schools

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  43426
FILED:  12/07/2018

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   This  rule  is  authorized  by 
Subsection  53G-8-202(2)(c)(i),  which  directs  the  State 
Superintendent  of  Public  Instruction to develop a discipline 
policy model for  elementary and secondary public  schools, 
and 47 CFR, Part 54, Children's Internet Protection Act, which 
requires  schools  and  libraries  that  have  computers  with 
internet  access to  certify they have internet  safety policies 
and  technology  protection  measures  in  place  to  receive 
discounted internet access and services.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have been 
received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule continues to be necessary because 
it  directs  all  local  education  agencies  (LEAs)  and  public

schools to adopt policies, individually or collectively as school 
districts  or  consortia  of  charter  schools,  governing  the 
possession and use of electronic devices, both LEA-owned 
and  privately-owned,  while  on  public  school  premises  or, 
participating  in  school  activities,  for  LEA-owned  devices, 
wherever the devices are used.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

EDUCATION
ADMINISTRATION
250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-3272
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Angela Stallings by phone at 801-538-7550, by FAX at 801-
538-7768, or by Internet E-mail  at  angie.stallings@schools. 
utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Angela Stallings, Deputy Superintendent 
of Policy

EFFECTIVE:  12/07/2018

Health, Disease Control and 
Prevention, Environmental Services

R392-101
Food Safety Manager Certification

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 
OF CONTINUATION

DAR FILE NO.:  43436
FILED:  12/12/2018
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NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR  REQUIRE  THE  RULE:   Rule  R392-101  is  authorized 
under Section 26-15a-103, which requires the Department of 
Health (Department) to establish statewide uniform standards 
for  certified food safety managers by rule,  and to  approve 
food safety certification examinations.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Department sought comments 
from the local health departments in Utah, as well  as local 
and  national  restaurant  associations,  and  food  safety 
manager training providers located in Utah.  The Department 
received no comments in opposition to a continuation of Rule 
R392-101.  Two individuals from one local health department 
(Davis  County  Health  Department)  provided  comments, 
asking  the  Department  to  consider  a  revision  of  select 
regulatory requirements as summarized:  1)  Section R392-
101-3 uses an outdated term ("potentially hazardous food"). 
To  be  consistent  with  Rule  R392-100,  this  term should  be 
replaced with the term "Time/Temperature Control for Safety 
Food".   2)  This  rule  should  require  an  examinee  to 
demonstrate knowledge that bare hand contact is prohibited 
with  ready-to-eat  food.   3)  This  rule  should  require  an 
examinee to demonstrate knowledge in the practice of using 
time as a public health control.  4) This rule should state the 
authority of a local health officer to deny, revoke, or suspend 
a food safety manager certificate for specific conditions stated 
in the rule.  5) Subsection R392-101-4(2) is too vague.  This 
rule  should  clearly  specify  the  process  of  instructor 
certification.   6)  The  regulatory  provisions  under  Section 
R392-101-7  are  confusing  and unclear.   The  various  local 
health  departments  are  implementing  the  requirements  in 
many  different  ways,  which  is  causing  confusion  and 
complaints  from  food  safety  managers.   7)  The  rule 
exemptions listed in this rule are not as comprehensive as the 
exemptions listed  in  Section  26-15a-10,  nor  does  this  rule 
make reference to that statutory provision.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   The  Department  recommends  the 
continuation  of  Rule  R392-101,  Food  Safety  Manager 
Certification.   This  rule  complies  with  statute  by 
accomplishing  the  following  important  functions:   1)  it 
establishes  statewide  uniform  standards  for  certified  food 
safety  managers;  2)  it  defines  the  examination  content 
required  to  ensure  an  examinee  demonstrates  sufficient 
knowledge  in  food  protection  management;  and  3)  it 
facilitates  the  implementation  of  the  Food  Safety  Manager 
Certification Act.  The Department received no comments in 
opposition to the continuation of R392-101.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HEALTH
DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION, 
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES
CANNON HEALTH BLDG
288 N 1460 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3231
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Chris Nelson by phone at 801-538-6739, or by Internet E-
mail at chrisnelson@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Joseph Miner, MD, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  12/12/2018

Health, Family Health and 
Preparedness, Children with Special 

Health Care Needs
R398-4

Cytomegalovirus Public Health Initiative
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  43421

FILED:  12/06/2018

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:   Section  26-10-10  created  the 
requirement  for  public  education  and  testing  for 
cytomegalovirus (CMV).  This rule outlines how the testing 
and education for CMV will be implemented.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been received.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   Section  26-10-10  was  created  to  provide 
public education and testing for cytomegalovirus.  This statute 
is still in effect.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HEALTH
FAMILY HEALTH AND PREPAREDNESS, 
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CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL HEALTH CARE NEEDS
44 N MARIO CAPECCHI DR
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84113
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Joyce McStotts by phone at 801-584-8239, by FAX at 801-
584-8488, or by Internet E-mail at jmcstotts@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Joseph Miner, MD, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  12/06/2018

Human Services, Recovery Services
R527-275

Passport Release
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  43440

FILED:  12/14/2018

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:   Section  62A-11-107 gives  the 
Office  of  Recovery Services  (ORS)  the  authority  to  adopt, 
amend,  and  enforce  rules  necessary  to  carry  out  its 
responsibilities under state law.  22 CFR 51.60 states that the 
Department  of  Human  Services  (Department)  may  not 
issue/may refuse to issue a passport if the applicant has been 
certified by the Secretary of Health and Human Services as 
owing child support arrears in an amount as determined by 
statute.   22  CFR  51.70  details  the  time  frames  and 
restrictions as to when a person whose passport has been 
denied  or  revoked  is  entitled  to  a  hearing,  and  when  the 
provisions are not applicable to an individual.  22 CFR 51.71 
provides  specific  information  about  who  conducts  the 
hearings,  who may appear,  and witnesses information.   22 
CFR  51.72  states  that  a  qualified  reporter  will  make  a 
complete  verbatim  transcript  of  the  hearing,  and  that 
transcript and documents received by the hearing officer will 
constitute the record of hearing.  22 CFR 51.73 outlines the 
privacy of the hearing.  22 CFR 51.74 states that the Deputy 
Assistant Secretary for Passport Services decides whether to 
uphold the denial or revocation of the passport, and that the 
Department will  promptly notify the person in writing of  the 
decision.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:   There  have  been  no  comments 
received since the last five-year review of this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be continued because the 
federal regulations that are incorporated by reference are still 
in effect and this rule is reflected in current policy, procedures, 
and practices of the ORS.  In addition, this rule informs the 
public of the criteria used by ORS to release a passport that 
has been previously denied.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HUMAN SERVICES
RECOVERY SERVICES
515 E 100 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84102-4211
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Casey Cole by phone at 801-741-7523, by FAX at 801-536-
8509, or by Internet E-mail at cacole@utah.gov
♦ Jonah Shaw by phone at  801-538-4219, by FAX at 801-
538-3942, or by Internet E-mail at jshaw@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Liesa Stockdale, Director

EFFECTIVE:  12/14/2018

Human Services, Services for People 
with Disabilities

R539-10
Short-Term Limited Waiting List 

Services
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  43434

FILED:  12/11/2018

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:   The purpose of  this rule  is to 
continue  to  set  forth  procedures  for  how the  Divisions  of 
Services for People with  Disabilities  (DSPD) will  determine 
the  use  of  non-lapsing  funds  to  provide short-term,  limited 
services codified in Subsections 62A-5-102(7)(c) and (d).

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING  THE  RULE:   None  that  justify  making  notice 
through the five-year review.
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REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   Subsection  62A-5-102(7)  authorizes  and 
requires that DSPD provide one-time funded services.  Rule 
R538-10 details eligibility and selection for participation in the 
short-term limited waiting list  services program.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

HUMAN SERVICES
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES
195 N 1950 W 3RD FLR
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Amy Huppi by phone at 801-538-4154, or by Internet E-mail 
at amyhuppi@utah.gov
♦ Jonah Shaw by phone at  801-538-4219, by FAX at 801-
538-3942, or by Internet E-mail at jshaw@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Ann Williamson, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  12/11/2018

Natural Resources, Water Rights
R655-13

Stream Alteration
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  43424

FILED:  12/07/2018

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 73-3-29 establishes and 
clarifies the procedures necessary to obtain approval by the 
state engineer for any project that proposes to alter a natural 
stream within  the  state  of  Utah.   Approval  does  not  grant 
access,  authorize  trespass,  or  supersede  property  rights. 
Additional procedures may be required to comply with other 
governing  state  statute,  federal  law,  federal  regulation,  or 
local ordinance.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have been 
received in the past five years.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE, IF ANY:  This rule is still required for processing and 
acceptance by the state engineer.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

NATURAL RESOURCES
WATER RIGHTS
ROOM 220 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Marianne Burbidge by phone at 801-538-7370, by FAX at 
801-538-7467, or by Internet E-mail at marianneburbidge@ 
utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Kent Jones, State Engineer/Director

EFFECTIVE:  12/07/2018

Transportation, Program Development
R926-11

Clean Fuel Vehicle Decal Program
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  43446

FILED:  12/14/2018

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Sections 41-6a-702 and 72-6-121 
authorize  this  rule,  which  establishes  procedures  for 
regulating  access  to  high  occupancy  vehicle  lanes  by 
vehicles  with  a  clean  fuel  vehicle  decal  regardless  of  the 
number of occupants.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments were received 
during and since the last  five-year review of  this rule  from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE
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RULE, IF ANY:  The Department of Transportation still has a 
program that allows the use of high occupancy vehicle lanes 
by vehicles with a clean fuel vehicle decal regardless of the 
number of occupants.  This rule is still necessary to regulate 
this program.  Therefore, this rule should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION
PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119-5998
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Christine Newman by phone at 801-965-4026, by FAX at 
801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at cwnewman@utah.gov
♦ Eileen McCown by phone at 801-965-4030, or by Internet 
E-mail at emccown@utah.gov
♦ James Palmer by phone at 801-965-4000, by FAX at 801-
965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at jimpalmer@utah.gov
♦ Josh Dangel by Internet E-mail at jdangel@utah.gov
♦ Linda Hull by phone at 801-965-4253, or by Internet E-mail 
at lhull@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Carlos Braceras, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  12/14/2018

Transportation Commission, 
Administration

R940-3
Procedures for Transportation 

Infrastructure Loan Fund Assistance
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT 

OF CONTINUATION
DAR FILE NO.:  43447

FILED:  12/14/2018

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION

CONCISE  EXPLANATION  OF  THE  PARTICULAR 
STATUTORY PROVISIONS UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS 
ENACTED  AND  HOW  THESE  PROVISIONS  AUTHORIZE 
OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is enacted under the 
provisions of Section 72-2-203.  The purpose of this rule is to 
establish  procedures  and  standards  for  making  loans  and 
assistance  through  the  Transportation  Infrastructure  Loan 
Fund.

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING 
AND SINCE THE LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE 
FROM  INTERESTED  PERSONS  SUPPORTING  OR 
OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments were received 
during and since the last  five-year review of  this rule  from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR THE CONTINUATION OF 
THE  RULE,  INCLUDING  REASONS  WHY THE  AGENCY 
DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS IN OPPOSITION TO THE 
RULE,  IF  ANY:   The  Department  of  Transportation  is  still 
required to review and approve loans and assistance made 
through  the  Transportation  Infrastructure  Loan Fund.   This 
rule is needed to regulate that process.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
ADMINISTRATION
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX
4501 S 2700 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84119
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Christine Newman by phone at 801-965-4026, by FAX at 
801-965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at cwnewman@utah.gov
♦ Eileen McCown by phone at 801-965-4030, or by Internet 
E-mail at emccown@utah.gov
♦ James Palmer by phone at 801-965-4000, by FAX at 801-
965-4338, or by Internet E-mail at jimpalmer@utah.gov
♦ Linda Hull by phone at 801-965-4253, or by Internet E-mail 
at lhull@utah.gov

AUTHORIZED BY:  Carlos Braceras, Executive Director

EFFECTIVE:  12/14/2018

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES

State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment period, 
the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public  
comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with 
no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including or after  
the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an agency  
fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses.

Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 

NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-5a 
and R15-4-5b.

Abbreviations
AMD = Amendment
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule
NEW = New Rule
R&R = Repeal & Reenact
REP = Repeal

Commerce
Occupational and Professional Licensing
No. 43249  (AMD): R156-15.  Health Facility Administrator Act 
Rule
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43250  (AMD): R156-20a-302a.  Qualifications for 
Licensure - Education Requirements
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43251  (AMD): R156-78B.  Prelitigation Panel Review 
Rule
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

Real Estate
No. 43123  (AMD): R162-2e-205.  Division Service Fees -- 
AMC Registry Fee
Published:  08/15/2018
Effective:  12/12/2018

No. 43123  (CPR): R162-2e-205.  Division Service Fees -- 
AMC Registry Fee
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/12/2018

Education
Administration
No. 43273  (NEW): R277-301.  Educator Licensing
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43274  (NEW): R277-303.  Educator Preparation 
Programs
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43272  (AMD): R277-444.  Distribution of Money to Arts 
and Science Organizations
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43266  (AMD): R277-477.  Distributions of Funds from 
the Trust Earnings Account and Administration of the School 
LAND Trust Program
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43267  (AMD): R277-487.  Public School Data 
Confidentiality and Disclosure
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43271  (AMD): R277-488.  Critical Languages and Dual 
Language Immersion Program
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43268  (AMD): R277-491.  School Community Councils
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43278  (AMD): R277-496.  K-3 Reading Software 
Licenses
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

No. 43276  (AMD): R277-620.  Suicide Prevention Programs
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018
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Environmental Quality
Drinking Water
No. 43209  (AMD): R309-105-12.  Cross Connection Control
Published:  10/01/2018
Effective:  01/01/2019

No. 43210  (R&R): R309-305.  Certification Rules for 
Backflow Technicians
Published:  10/01/2018
Effective:  01/01/2019

Health
Family Health and Preparedness, Children with Special 
Health Care Needs
No. 43226  (AMD): R398-2.  Newborn Hearing Screening
Published:  10/15/2018
Effective:  12/03/2018

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
No. 43227  (AMD): R414-516.  Nursing Facility Non-State 
Government-Owned Upper Payment Limit Quality 
Improvement Program
Published:  10/15/2018
Effective:  12/06/2018

Family Health and Preparedness, Emergency Medical 
Services
No. 43257  (AMD): R426-3.  Licensure
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/12/2018

No. 43258  (AMD): R426-4.  Operations
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/12/2018

No. 43259  (NEW): R426-10.  Air Ambulance Licensure and 
Operations
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/12/2018

Disease Control and Prevention, Laboratory Services
No. 43256  (AMD): R438-15.  Newborn Screening
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  01/01/2019

Natural Resources
Wildlife Resources
No. 43230  (AMD): R657-13.  Taking Fish and Crayfish
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/10/2018

Public Safety
Highway Patrol
No. 43104  (AMD): R714-160.  Equipment Standards for 
Passenger Vehicle and Light Truck Safety Inspections
Published:  08/15/2018
Effective:  12/06/2018

Tax Commission
Auditing
No. 43262  (AMD): R865-19S-85.  Sales and Use Tax 
Exemptions for Certain Purchases by a Manufacturing Facility 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-12-104
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/13/2018

No. 43263  (AMD): R865-19S-121.  Sales and Use Tax 
Exemptions for Certain Purchases by a Mining Facility 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-12-104
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/13/2018

No. 43264  (AMD): R865-19S-122.  Sales and Use Tax 
Exemptions for Certain Purchases by a Web Search Portal 
Establishment Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-12-
104
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/13/2018

Property Tax
No. 43261  (AMD): R884-24P-53.  2018 Valuation Guides for 
Valuation of Land Subject to the Farmland Assessment Act 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-515
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/13/2018

Transportation
Motor Carrier
No. 43254  (AMD): R909-2.  Utah Size and Weight Rule
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/12/2018

Operations, Traffic and Safety
No. 43255  (R&R): R920-30.  State Safety Oversight
Published:  11/01/2018
Effective:  12/12/2018

End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section
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2018 RULES INDEX
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER)

AND
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)

The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules. The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 2, 2018 through December 14, 2018. The Rules Index is published 
in the Utah State Bulletin and in the annual Utah Administrative Rules Index of Changes. Nonsubstantive changes, 
while not published in the Bulletin, do become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this  
Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) rules that do not become part of the Code. The rules are indexed by  
Agency (Code Number) and Keyword (Subject).

Editor's Note:  Due to technical issues, the Keyword Index is not included in this Bulletin.

Questions regarding the index and the information it contains should be addressed to the Office of Administrative  
Rules (801-538-3003).

A copy of the RULES INDEX is available for public inspection at the Office of Administrative Rules (5110 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Office’s web site (https://rules.utah.gov/).
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RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER)

ABBREVIATIONS

AMD = Amendment (Proposed Rule) LNR = Legislative Nonreauthorization
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule NEW = New Rule (Proposed Rule)
EMR = 120-Day (Emergency) Rule NSC = Nonsubstantive Rule Change
EXD = Expired Rule R&R = Repeal and Reenact (Proposed Rule)
EXP = Expedited Rule REP = Repeal (Proposed Rule)
EXT = Five-Year Review Extension 5YR = Five-Year Notice of Review and 
GEX = Governor's Extension     Statement of Continuation

CODE
REFERENCE

TITLE   FILE
  NUMBER

ACTION EFFECTIVE
DATE

BULLETIN
ISSUE/PAGE

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Administration
R13-1 Public Petitions for Declaratory Orders   43059 5YR 07/05/2018 2018-15/99
R13-3 Americans with Disabilities Act Grievance 

Procedures
  42634 AMD 04/23/2018 2018-6/4

Facilities Construction and Management
R23-5 Contingency Funds   42347 AMD 01/23/2018 2017-24/8
R23-9 Cooperation with Local Government Planning   42348 AMD 01/23/2018 2017-24/9
R23-23 Health Reform -- Health Insurance Coverage in 

State Contracts -- Implementation
  42846 AMD 06/26/2018 2018-10/6

R23-30 State Facility Energy Efficiency Fund   43069 5YR 07/11/2018 2018-15/99

Finance
R25-5 Payment of Meeting Compensation (Per Diem) 

to Boards
  42570 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/141

R25-6 Relocation Reimbursement   42571 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/141
R25-7 Travel-Related Reimbursements for State 

Employees
  42572 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/142

R25-7 Travel-Related Reimbursements for State 
Employees

  42854 AMD 06/21/2018 2018-10/9

R25-7 Travel-Related Reimbursements for State 
Employees

  43095 AMD 09/21/2018 2018-16/6

R25-7-6 Reimbursement for Meals   43008 NSC 07/03/2018 Not Printed
R25-8 Overtime Meal Allowance   42573 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/142
R25-10 State Entities' Posting of Financial Information 

to the Utah Public Notice Website
  43403 5YR 11/20/2018 2018-24/43

Inspector General of Medicaid Services (Office of)
R30-1 Office of Inspector General of Medicaid 

Services
  42658 REP 06/01/2018 2018-7/6

R30-1 Office Procedures   42694 NEW 06/01/2018 2018-7/10
R30-2 Adjudicative Procedures   42695 NEW 06/01/2018 2018-7/14
R30-3 Declaratory Orders   42696 NEW 06/01/2018 2018-7/17

Purchasing and General Services
R33-7 Request for Proposals   42932 AMD 07/26/2018 2018-12/6

Risk Management
R37-4 Adjusted Utah Governmental Immunity Act 

Limitations on Judgments
  42934 EMR 07/01/2018 2018-12/39

R37-4 Adjusted Utah Governmental Immunity Act 
Limitations on Judgments

  43236 EMR 10/29/2018 2018-21/137
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AGRICULTURE AND FOOD

Administration
R51-5 Rural Rehabilitation Loans   42559 NEW 05/02/2018 2018-5/4
R51-6 Agricultural Advisory Board Electronic Meeting   42472 NEW 03/23/2018 2018-3/4

Conservation Commission
R64-2 Conservation Commission Electronic Meetings   42944 5YR 06/01/2018 2018-12/43

Plant Industry
R68-5 Grain Inspection   42530 5YR 01/30/2018 2018-4/95
R68-5 Grain Inspection   42531 NSC 02/27/2018 Not Printed
R68-9 Utah Noxious Weed Act   42943 5YR 06/01/2018 2018-12/43
R68-14 Quarantine Pertaining to Gypsy Moth - 

Lymantria Dispar
  42721 5YR 03/26/2018 2018-8/145

R68-16 Quarantine Pertaining to Pine Shoot Beetle, 
Tomicus piniperda

  42930 5YR 05/23/2018 2018-12/44

R68-20 Utah Organic Standards   42872 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/6
R68-24 Industrial Hemp Research Pilot Program for 

Growers
  43145 NEW 10/31/2018 2018-17/6

R68-25 Industrial Hemp Research Pilot Program for 
Processors

  43146 NEW 10/31/2018 2018-17/9

R68-26 Industrial Hemp Product Registration and 
Labeling

  43147 NEW 10/31/2018 2018-17/14

Regulatory Services
R70-630 Water Vending Machine   43449 5YR 12/17/2018 Not Printed
R70-940 Standards and Testing of Motor Fuel   42422 R&R 02/22/2018 2018-2/6

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

Administration
R81-1-11 Multiple-Licensed Facility Storage and Service   43336 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/6
R81-1-24 Responsible Alcohol Service Plan   43337 REP 12/24/2018 2018-22/8
R81-1-25 Sexually–Oriented Entertainers and Stage 

Approvals
  43338 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/10

R81-1-27 Label Approvals   43339 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/12
R81-4-4 Verification of Proof of Age by Applicable 

Licensees
  43340 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/15

R81-4A Restaurant Liquor Licenses   43341 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/17
R81-4C Limited Restaurant Licenses   43057 5YR 07/03/2018 2018-15/100
R81-4C Limited Restaurant Licenses   43342 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/21
R81-4D On-Premise Banquet License   43058 5YR 07/03/2018 2018-15/101
R81-4E Resort Licenses   43344 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/25
R81-5 Club Licenses   43345 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/29
R81-7-5 Additional Consideration for Event Permits   43349 NSC 11/13/2018 Not Printed
R81-10 Off-Premise Beer Retailers   42931 5YR 05/23/2018 2018-12/44
R81-10 Off-Premise Beer Retailers   43348 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/33
R81-10A-2 Licensing   43346 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/36
R81-10C Beer-Only Restaurant Licenses   43343 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/37
R81-10D-6 Age Verification - Taverns   43347 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/40

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Administration
R105-2 Records Access and Management   42367 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/2
R105-2 Records Access and Management   43075 AMD 09/07/2018 2018-15/52

CAREER SERVICE REVIEW OFFICE

Administration
R137-1 Grievance Procedure Rules   42844 AMD 09/28/2018 2018-10/15
R137-1 Grievance Procedure Rules   42844 CPR 09/28/2018 2018-12/36
R137-2 Government Records Access and Management 

Act
  42779 5YR 04/09/2018 2018-9/69

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2019, Vol. 2019, No. 1 99



RULES INDEX

COMMERCE

Administration
R151-4 Department of Commerce Administrative 

Procedures Act Rule
  43148 AMD 10/11/2018 2018-17/17

Consumer Protection
R152-1 Utah Division of Consumer Protection Buyer 

Beware List
  42827 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed

R152-1a Internet Content Provider Ratings Methods   42828 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-1a-1 Authority and Purpose   43196 NSC 09/27/2018 Not Printed
R152-6 Utah Administrative Procedures Act Rules   42830 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-11 Utah Consumer Sales Practices Act   42831 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-15 Business Opportunity Disclosure Act Rules   42832 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-20 New Motor Vehicle Warranties   42833 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-21 Credit Services Organizations Act Rules   42834 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-21 Credit Services Organizations Act Rule   43280 5YR 10/16/2018 2018-22/169
R152-22 Charitable Solicitations Act   42835 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-23 Utah Health Spa Services   42836 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-26 Telephone Fraud Prevention Act   42837 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-32a Pawnshop and Secondhand Merchandise 

Transaction Information Act Rules
  42838 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed

R152-32a Pawnshop and Secondhand Merchandise 
Transaction Information Act Rule

  42929 5YR 05/17/2018 2018-12/45

R152-34 Postsecondary Proprietary School Act Rules   42839 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-34a Utah Postsecondary School State Authorization 

Act Rules
  42840 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed

R152-39 Child Protection Registry Rules   42841 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-42 Uniform Debt-Management Services Act Rules   42842 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed
R152-49 Immigration Consultants Registration Act Rules   42843 NSC 04/26/2018 Not Printed

Corporations and Commercial Code
R154-100 Utah Administrative Procedures Act Rules   43184 5YR 09/11/2018 2018-19/97

Occupational and Professional Licensing
R156-1 General Rule of the Division of Occupational 

and Professional Licensing
  42582 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/7

R156-1 General Rule of the Division of Occupational 
and Professional Licensing

  43188 AMD 11/08/2018 2018-19/4

R156-5a Podiatric Physician Licensing Act Rule   42869 5YR 05/01/2018 2018-10/155
R156-9 Funeral Service Licensing Act Rule   43092 AMD 09/10/2018 2018-15/53
R156-11a Cosmetology and Associated Professions 

Licensing Act Rule
  42778 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-9/4

R156-15 Health Facility Administrator Act Rule   43249 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/4
R156-15-308 License By Endorsement   43433 NSC 12/21/2018 Not Printed
R156-20a-302a Qualifications for Licensure - Education 

Requirements
  43250 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/9

R156-24b-102 Definitions   42623 NSC 03/14/2018 Not Printed
R156-31b Nurse Practice Act Rule   42448 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/69
R156-37c Utah Controlled Substance Precursor Act Rule   42848 5YR 04/24/2018 2018-10/155
R156-38a Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery 

Fund Rule
  43015 AMD 08/21/2018 2018-14/6

R156-42a Occupational Therapy Practice Act Rule   43017 AMD 08/23/2018 2018-14/9
R156-42a Occupational Therapy Practice Act Rule   43247 5YR 10/09/2018 2018-21/141
R156-44a Nurse Midwife Practice Act Rule   43171 5YR 08/28/2018 2018-18/33
R156-46a Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensing Act 

Rule
  43364 5YR 11/08/2018 2018-23/125

R156-46b-401 In General   42428 NSC 01/18/2018 Not Printed
R156-47b-102 Definitions   43150 AMD 10/11/2018 2018-17/22
R156-55b-102 Definitions   42429 NSC 01/18/2018 Not Printed
R156-61 Psychologist Licensing Act Rule   43216 5YR 09/18/2018 2018-20/31
R156-63a Security Personnel Licensing Act Contract 

Security Rule
  42925 5YR 05/15/2018 2018-11/55

R156-63b Security Personnel Licensing Act Armored Car 
Rule

  42924 5YR 05/15/2018 2018-11/56

R156-67 Utah Medical Practice Act Rule   43137 AMD 10/09/2018 2018-17/24
R156-68 Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act Rule   42447 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/70
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R156-68 Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act Rule   43142 AMD 10/09/2018 2018-17/28
R156-70a Physician Assistant Practice Act Rule   42807 AMD 06/21/2018 2018-10/24
R156-71 Naturopathic Physician Practice Act Rule   42785 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-9/8
R156-72 Acupuncture Licensing Act Rule   42338 AMD 01/23/2018 2017-24/11
R156-74 Certified Court Reporters Licensing Act Rule   42847 5YR 04/24/2018 2018-10/156
R156-78-502 Unprofessional Conduct   42243 AMD 01/02/2018 2017-22/28
R156-78B Prelitigation Panel Review Rule   43251 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/12
R156-81 Retired Volunteer Health Care Practitioner Act 

Rule
  43411 5YR 11/27/2018 2018-24/43

Real Estate
R162-2c Utah Residential Mortgage Practices and 

Licensing Rules
  42809 AMD 07/13/2018 2018-10/27

R162-2e Appraisal Management Company 
Administrative Rules

  43165 AMD 11/05/2018 2018-18/6

R162-2e-205 Division Service Fees -- AMC Registry Fee   43123 AMD 12/12/2018 2018-16/10
R162-2e-205 Division Service Fees -- AMC Registry Fee   43123 CPR 12/12/2018 2018-21/132
R162-2f Real Estate Licensing and Practices Rules   43012 AMD 08/21/2018 2018-14/12
R162-2g Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and 

Certification Administrative Rules
  43011 AMD 09/04/2018 2018-14/16

CORRECTIONS

Administration
R251-103 Undercover Roles of Offenders   43186 5YR 09/12/2018 2018-19/97
R251-105 Applicant Qualifications for Employment with 

Department of Corrections
  43217 5YR 09/19/2018 2018-20/32

R251-114 Offender Long-Term Health Care - Notice   42637 5YR 03/07/2018 2018-7/161

EDUCATION

Administration
R277-100 Definitions for Utah State Board of Education 

(Board) Rules
  42749 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-101 Public Participation in Utah State Board of 
Education Meetings

  42750 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-102 Adjudicative Proceedings   42751 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed
R277-104 ADA Complaint Procedure   42909 5YR 05/11/2018 2018-11/56
R277-104 ADA Complaint Procedure   42914 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/9
R277-105 Recognizing Constitutional Freedoms in the 

Schools
  42752 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-106 Utah Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission Appointment Process

  42753 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-106 Utah Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission Appointment Process

  43190 AMD 11/07/2018 2018-19/11

R277-107 Educational Services Outside of Educator's 
Regular Employment

  42910 5YR 05/11/2018 2018-11/57

R277-107 Educational Services Outside of Educator's 
Regular Employment

  42915 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/12

R277-108 Annual Assurance of Compliance by Local 
School Boards

  42754 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-108 Annual Assurance of Compliance by Local 
School Boards

  43225 AMD 11/29/2018 2018-20/13

R277-109 Legislative Reporting and Accountability   42755 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed
R277-110 Educator Salary Adjustment   42756 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed
R277-113 LEA Fiscal and Auditing Policies   42849 EXD 04/24/2018 2018-10/159
R277-113 LEA Fiscal and Auditing Policies   42857 NEW 06/22/2018 2018-10/28
R277-114 Corrective Action and Withdrawal or Reduction 

of Program Funds
  42757 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-116 Audit Procedure   42609 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/14
R277-117 Utah State Board of Education Protected 

Documents
  42758 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-119 Discretionary Funds   42759 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed
R277-120 Licensing of Material Developed with Public 

Education Funds
  42760 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed

R277-121 Board Waiver of Administrative Rules   42761 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed
R277-122 Board of Education Procurement   42608 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/19
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R277-122 Board of Education Procurement   42780 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed
R277-210 Utah Professional Practices Advisory 

Commission (UPPAC), Definitions
  42771 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed

R277-211 Utah Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission (UPPAC), Rules of Procedure: 
Notification to Educators, Complaints and Final 
Disciplinary Actions

  42772 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed

R277-212 UPPAC Hearing Procedures and Reports   42773 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed
R277-213 Request for Licensure Reinstatement and 

Reinstatement Procedures
  42774 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed

R277-214 Utah Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission Criminal Background Review

  42775 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed

R277-215 Utah Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission (UPPAC), Disciplinary Rebuttable 
Presumptions

  42776 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed

R277-216 Surrender of License with UPPAC Investigation 
Pending

  42777 NSC 04/13/2018 Not Printed

R277-301 Educator Licensing   43273 NEW 12/10/2018 2018-21/16
R277-303 Educator Preparation Programs   43274 NEW 12/10/2018 2018-21/21
R277-400 School Facility Emergency and Safety   42878 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-400 School Facility Emergency and Safety   43138 AMD 10/16/2018 2018-17/32
R277-401 Child Abuse-Neglect Reporting by Education 

Personnel
  42879 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-402 School Readiness Initiative   42880 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-403 Student Reading Proficiency and Notice to 

Parents
  42881 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-403 Student Reading Proficiency and Notice to 
Parents

  42963 REP 08/07/2018 2018-13/3

R277-404 Requirements for Assessments of Student 
Achievement

  42479 AMD 03/14/2018 2018-3/5

R277-406 K-3 Reading Improvement Program and the 
State Reading Goal

  42882 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-406 K-3 Reading Improvement Program and the 
State Reading Goal

  42956 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/139

R277-406 K-3 Reading Improvement Program and the 
State Reading Goal

  42997 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/5

R277-407 School Fees   42883 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-409 Public School Membership in Associations   42884 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-410 Accreditation of Schools   42885 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-411 School District Sponsored School Seminars on 

Youth Protection-Related Issues
  42962 REP 08/07/2018 2018-13/8

R277-412 State Capitol Visit Program   42886 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-412 State Capitol Visit Program   43194 5YR 09/13/2018 2018-19/98
R277-415 School Nurses Matching Funds   42480 NEW 03/14/2018 2018-3/11
R277-417 Prohibiting LEAs and Third Party Providers 

from Offering Incentives or Disbursement for 
Enrollment or Participation

  42887 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-418 Distance, Blended, Online, or Competency 
Based Learning Program

  42888 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-419 Pupil Accounting   42889 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-419-2 Definitions   43132 AMD 10/16/2018 2018-17/38
R277-420 Aiding Financially Distressed School Districts   42890 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-421 Out-of-State Tuition Reimbursement   42891 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-422 State Supported Voted Local Levy, Board Local 

Levy and Reading Improvement Program
  42892 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-424 Indirect Costs for State Programs   42893 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-426 Definition of Private and Non-Profit Schools for 

Federal Program Services
  42894 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-433 Disposal of Textbooks in the Public Schools   42895 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-436 Gang Prevention and Intervention Programs in 

the Schools
  42907 5YR 05/11/2018 2018-11/57

R277-436 Gang Prevention and Intervention Programs in 
the Schools

  42916 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/21

R277-437 Student Enrollment Options   42896 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-437 Student Enrollment Options   43240 5YR 10/05/2018 2018-21/142
R277-438 Dual Enrollment   42897 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
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R277-444 Distribution of Money to Arts and Science 
Organizations

  42898 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-444 Distribution of Money to Arts and Science 
Organizations

  43272 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/24

R277-445 Classifying Small Schools as Necessarily 
Existent

  42899 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-454 Construction Management of School Building 
Projects

  42900 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-459 Teacher Supplies and Materials Appropriation   42901 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R277-460 Distribution of Substance Abuse Prevention 

Account
  42902 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-461 Elementary School Counselor Grant Program   42923 NEW 07/09/2018 2018-11/25
R277-462 Comprehensive Counseling and Guidance 

Program
  42903 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-463 Class Size Average and Pupil-Teacher Ratio 
Reporting

  42996 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/10

R277-468 Parent/Guardian Review of Public Education 
Curriculum and Review of Complaint Process

  42904 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed

R277-469 Instructional Materials Commission Operating 
Procedures

  42322 AMD 01/09/2018 2017-23/4

R277-469 Instructional Materials Commission Operating 
Procedures

  43018 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-470 Charter Schools - General Provisions   43082 5YR 07/13/2018 2018-15/101
R277-470 Charter Schools - General Provisions   42991 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/13
R277-471 School Construction Oversight, Inspections, 

Training and Reporting
  43019 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-472 Charter School Student Enrollment and 
Transfers and School District Capacity 
Information

  43020 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-474 School Instruction and Human Sexuality   43021 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-474 School Instruction and Human Sexuality   43202 AMD 11/07/2018 2018-19/18
R277-475 Patriotic, Civic and Character Education   43022 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-477 Distributions of Funds from the Interest and 

Dividends Account and Administration of the 
School LAND Trust Program

  42800 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-9/13

R277-477 Distributions of Funds from the Trust Earnings 
Account and Administration of the School 
LAND Trust Program

  43266 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/29

R277-479 Funding for Charter School Students With 
Disabilities on an IEP

  43023 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-480 Charter School Revolving Account   43025 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-481 Charter School Oversight, Monitoring and 

Appeals
  43083 5YR 07/13/2018 2018-15/102

R277-481 Charter School Oversight, Monitoring and 
Appeals

  42992 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/16

R277-482 Charter School Timelines and Approval 
Processes

  42610 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/22

R277-485 Loss of Enrollment   43026 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-486 Professional Staff Cost Program   43027 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-487 Public School Data Confidentiality and 

Disclosure
  43267 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/35

R277-488 Critical Languages and Dual Language 
Immersion Program

  43028 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-488 Critical Languages and Dual Language 
Immersion Program

  43271 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/41

R277-489 Kindergarten Entry and Exit Assessment - 
Early Intervention Program

  43029 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-490 Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts 
Learning Program (BTSALP)

  42471 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/70

R277-490 Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts 
Learning Program (BTSALP)

  42481 AMD 03/14/2018 2018-3/13

R277-490 Beverley Taylor Sorenson Elementary Arts 
Learning Program (BTSALP)

  43030 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-491 School Community Councils   43268 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/44
R277-491-4 School Community Council Principal 

Responsibilities
  42323 AMD 01/09/2018 2017-23/9
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R277-492 Utah Science Technology and Research 
Initiative (USTAR) Centers Program

  43084 5YR 07/13/2018 2018-15/102

R277-492 Utah Science Technology and Research 
Initiative (USTAR) Centers Program

  42998 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/20

R277-493 Kindergarten Supplemental Enrichment 
Program

  42803 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-9/18

R277-494 Charter, Online, Home, and Private School 
Student Participation in Extracurricular or Co-
curricular School Activities

  43031 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-495 Required Policies for Electronic Devices in 
Public Schools

  43032 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-495 Required Policies for Electronic Devices in 
Public Schools

  43426 5YR 12/07/2018 Not Printed

R277-496 K-3 Reading Software Licenses   43033 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-496 K-3 Reading Software Licenses   43278 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/47
R277-497 School Grading System   42999 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/24
R277-498 Grant for Math Teaching Training   43034 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-499 Seal of Biliteracy   43035 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-500 Educator Licensing Renewal, Timelines, and 

Required Fingerprint Background Checks
  43296 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-502 Educator Licensing and Data Retention   42697 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/19
R277-503 Licensing Routes   43297 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-504 Early Childhood, Elementary, Secondary, 

Special Education (K-12), and Preschool 
Special Education (Birth-Age 5) Licensure

  43298 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-505 Education Leadership License Areas of 
Concentration and Programs

  43050 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-506 School Psychologists, School Social Workers, 
School Counselors, Communication Disorders 
(Audiologists), Speech-Language Pathologists, 
and Speech-Language Technicians Licenses 
and Programs

  43051 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed

R277-507 Driver Education Endorsement   43049 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-508 Employment of Substitute Teachers   42762 5YR 04/02/2018 2018-8/145
R277-508 Employment of Substitute Teachers   42698 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/24
R277-508 Employment of Substitute Teachers   43299 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-509 Licensure of Student Teachers and Interns   43052 NSC 07/06/2018 Not Printed
R277-510 Educator Licensing - Highly Qualified 

Assignment
  43300 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-510 Educator Licensing - Highly Qualified 
Assignment

  43193 REP 11/07/2018 2018-19/22

R277-511 Academic Pathway to Teaching (APT) Level 1 
License

  43301 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-512 Online Licensure   43302 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-513 Teacher Leader   43303 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-514 Deaf Education in Public Schools   43304 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-515 Utah Educator Professional Standards   42324 AMD 01/09/2018 2017-23/11
R277-515 Utah Educator Professional Standards   43305 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-516 Professional Standards and Training for Non-

licensed Employees and Volunteers
  43306 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-517 LEA Codes of Conduct   43307 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-518 Career and Technical Education Licenses   42618 5YR 02/26/2018 2018-6/47
R277-518 Career and Technical Education Licenses   43308 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-519 Educator Professional Learning Procedures 

and Credit
  42325 AMD 01/09/2018 2017-23/16

R277-519 Educator Professional Learning Procedures 
and USBE Credit

  43309 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-520 Appropriate Licensing and Assignment of 
Teachers

  43310 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-521 National Board Certification Reimbursement   42699 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/26
R277-522 Entry Years Enhancements (EYE) for Quality 

Teaching - Level 1 Utah Teachers
  43311 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-523 Teacher Salary Supplement Program   42804 NEW 06/07/2018 2018-9/21
R277-524 Paraprofessional/Paraeducator Programs, 

Assignments, and Qualifications
  43312 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-525 Special Educator Stipends   42957 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/139
R277-525 Special Educator Stipends   42993 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/28
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R277-526 Paraeducator to Teacher Scholarship Program   43313 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-527 International Guest Teachers   43195 5YR 09/13/2018 2018-19/98
R277-527 International Guest Teachers   43314 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-527 International Guest Teachers   43201 AMD 11/07/2018 2018-19/25
R277-528 Use of Public Education Job Enhancement 

Program (PEJEP) Funds
  43315 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-530 Utah Effective Educator Standards   43316 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-530-3 Board Expectations for Effective Teaching, 

Educational Leadership, and Educational 
School Counselor Standards

  42439 NSC 01/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-531 Public Educator Evaluation Requirements 
(PEER)

  43317 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-532 Local Board Policies for Evaluation of Non-
Licensed Public Education Employees 
(Classified Employees)

  42763 5YR 04/02/2018 2018-8/146

R277-532 Local Board Policies for Evaluation of Non-
Licensed Public Education Employees 
(Classified Employees)

  42700 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/29

R277-533 District Educator Evaluation Systems   42806 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-9/23
R277-600 Student Transportation Standards and 

Procedures
  43060 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-601 Standards for Utah School Buses and 
Operations

  43061 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-602 Special Needs Scholarships - Funding and 
Procedures

  43062 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-602 Special Needs Scholarships - Funding and 
Procedures

  43140 AMD 10/16/2018 2018-17/42

R277-603 Autism Awareness Restricted Account 
Distribution

  43063 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-605 Coaching Standards and Athletic Clinics   43064 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed
R277-607 Truancy Prevention   43065 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed
R277-608 Prohibition of Corporal Punishment in Utah's 

Public Schools
  43066 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-609 Standards for LEA Discipline Plans and 
Emergency Safety Interventions

  42701 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/31

R277-610 Released-Time Classes and Public Schools   42621 5YR 02/26/2018 2018-6/47
R277-610 Released-Time Classes and Public Schools   42611 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/26
R277-611 Certified Volunteer Instructors and Material 

Approval Requirements and Process for 
Firearm Safety in the Public Schools

  43070 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-612 Foreign Exchange Students   43071 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed
R277-613 LEA Bullying, Cyber-bullying, Hazing and 

Harassment Policies and Training
  42921 R&R 07/09/2018 2018-11/27

R277-613 LEA Bullying, Cyber-bullying, Hazing and 
Harassment Policies and Training

  43131 5YR 08/02/2018 2018-17/71

R277-614 Athletes and Students with Head Injuries   42908 5YR 05/11/2018 2018-11/58
R277-614 Athletes and Students with Head Injuries   42917 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/34
R277-615 Standards and Procedures for Student 

Searches
  43072 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-616 Education for Homeless and Emancipated 
Students

  43073 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-617 Smart School Technology Program   42958 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/140
R277-617 Smart School Technology Program   42994 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/30
R277-619 Student Leadership Skills Development   43085 5YR 07/13/2018 2018-15/103
R277-619 Student Leadership Skills Development   42995 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/33
R277-620 Suicide Prevention Programs   43239 5YR 10/05/2018 2018-21/142
R277-620 Suicide Prevention Programs   43276 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/49
R277-621 District of Residence   42326 NEW 01/09/2018 2017-23/17
R277-700 The Elementary and Secondary School 

General Core
  42482 AMD 03/14/2018 2018-3/16

R277-702 Procedures for the Utah High School 
Completion Diploma

  43074 NSC 07/26/2018 Not Printed

R277-703 Centennial Scholarship for Early Graduation   43153 NSC 08/31/2018 Not Printed
R277-704 Financial and Economic Literacy: Integration 

into Core Curriculum and Financial and 
Economic Literacy Student Passports

  43154 NSC 08/31/2018 Not Printed
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R277-704 Financial and Economic Literacy: Integration 
into Core Curriculum and Financial and 
Economic Literacy Student Passports

  43357 5YR 11/05/2018 2018-23/126

R277-705 Secondary School Completion and Diplomas   42394 AMD 02/28/2018 2018-1/5
R277-705 Secondary School Completion and Diplomas   43155 NSC 08/31/2018 Not Printed
R277-706 Public Education Regional Service Centers   43156 NSC 08/31/2018 Not Printed
R277-706 Public Education Regional Service Centers   43291 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-708 Enhancement for At-Risk Students   42483 AMD 03/14/2018 2018-3/23
R277-708 Enhancement for At-Risk Students   43292 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-708 Enhancement for At-Risk Students   43191 AMD 11/07/2018 2018-19/27
R277-709 Education Programs Serving Youth in Custody   42619 5YR 02/26/2018 2018-6/48
R277-709 Education Programs Serving Youth in Custody   42613 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/34
R277-710 Intergenerational Poverty Interventions in 

Public Schools
  43283 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-711 High Quality School Readiness Expansion   43284 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-712 Competency-based Grant Programs   43285 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-713 Concurrent Enrollment of High School Students 

in College Courses
  43286 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-714 Dissemination of Information About Juvenile 
Offenders

  43287 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-715 Out-of-School Time Program Standards   43288 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-716 Alternative Language Services for Utah 

Students
  43289 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-717 High School Course Grading Requirements   42484 AMD 03/14/2018 2018-3/26
R277-717 High School Course Grading Requirements   43290 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-718 Out-of-School Time Program Quality 

Improvement Grants
  43139 NEW 10/16/2018 2018-17/49

R277-719 Standards for Selling Foods Outside of the 
Reimbursable Meal in Schools

  42620 5YR 02/26/2018 2018-6/48

R277-719 Standards for Selling Foods Outside of the 
Reimbursable Meal in Schools

  42614 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/39

R277-724 Criteria for Sponsors Recruiting Day Care 
Facilities in the Child and Adult Care Food 
Program

  43293 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed

R277-725 Electronic High School   42805 REP 06/07/2018 2018-9/33
R277-733 Adult Education Programs   43294 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-735 Corrections Education Programs   43295 NSC 10/25/2018 Not Printed
R277-746 Driver Education Programs for Utah Schools   42764 5YR 04/02/2018 2018-8/146
R277-746 Driver Education Programs for Utah Schools   42702 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/36
R277-750 Education Programs for Students with 

Disabilities
  43120 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed

R277-751 Special Education Extended School Year 
(ESY)

  42765 5YR 04/02/2018 2018-8/147

R277-751 Special Education Extended School Year 
(ESY)

  42703 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/38

R277-752 Special Education Intensive Services Fund   43119 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R277-753 LEA Reporting Requirements for Section 504 

Students
  43118 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed

R277-800 Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind   43117 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R277-801 Services for Students who are Deaf, Hard of 

Hearing, Blind, Visually Impaired, and 
Deafblind

  42801 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-9/35

R277-911 Secondary Career and Technical Education   43108 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R277-914 Career and Technical Student Organizations   43109 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R277-915 Work-based Learning Programs   43110 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R277-916 College and Career Awareness   43111 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R277-920 Implementation of the School Turnaround and 

Leadership Development Act
  42327 AMD 01/09/2018 2017-23/19

R277-920 School Improvement - Implementation of the 
School Turnaround and Leadership 
Development Act

  43112 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed

R277-921 Strengthening College and Career Readiness 
Program

  43113 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed

R277-922 Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program   43114 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R277-923 American Indian and Alaskan Native Education 

State Plan Pilot Programs
  43115 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
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R277-924 Partnerships for Student Success Grant 
Program

  43116 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Administration
R305-4 Clean Fuels and Vehicle Technology Fund 

Grand and Loan Program
  42979 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/140

R305-7 Administrative Procedures   42781 AMD 11/01/2018 2018-9/40
R305-7 Administrative Procedures   42781 CPR 11/01/2018 2018-17/66

Air Quality
R307-101 General Requirements   43367 5YR 11/13/2018 2018-23/126
R307-101-2 Definitions   42676 AMD 08/02/2018 2018-7/41
R307-101-2 Definitions   42676 CPR 08/02/2018 2018-13/118
R307-101-3 Version of Code of Federal Regulations 

Incorporated by Reference
  42433 AMD 05/23/2018 2018-3/28

R307-102 General Requirements: Broadly Applicable 
Requirements

  42546 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/111

R307-102 General Requirements:  Broadly Applicable 
Requirements

  42639 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/161

R307-107 General Requirements:  Breakdowns   42640 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/162
R307-110-12 Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 

Point Sources, Part C, Carbon Monoxide
  42673 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-7/49

R307-115 General Conformity   42548 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/111
R307-115 General Conformity   42641 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/163
R307-123 General Requirements:  Clean Fuels and 

Vehicle Technology Grant and Loan Program
  42642 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/163

R307-150 Emission Inventories   42107 AMD 03/05/2018 2017-19/55
R307-150 Emission Inventories   42107 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/46
R307-150 Emission Inventories   43368 5YR 11/13/2018 2018-23/127
R307-170 Continuous Emission Monitoring Program   42550 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/111
R307-170 Continuous Emission Monitoring Program   42643 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/164
R307-208 Outdoor Wood Boilers   42644 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/164
R307-210 Standards of Performance for New Stationary 

Sources
  42434 AMD 05/23/2018 2018-3/29

R307-214 National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants

  42435 AMD 05/23/2018 2018-3/30

R307-220 Emission Standards:  Plan for Designated 
Facilities

  42553 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/111

R307-220 Emission Standards:  Plan for Designated 
Facilities

  42645 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/165

R307-221 Emission Standards:  Emission Controls for 
Existing Municipal Solid Waste Landfills

  42552 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/112

R307-221 Emission Standards:  Emission Controls for 
Existing Municipal Solid Waste Landfills

  42646 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/166

R307-222 Emission Standards:  Existing Incinerators for 
Hospital, Medical, Infectious Waste

  42532 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/112

R307-222 Emission Standards:  Existing Incinerators for 
Hospital, Medical, Infectious Waste

  42647 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/166

R307-223 Emission Standards:  Existing Small Municipal 
Waste Combustion Units

  42533 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/112

R307-223 Emission Standards:  Existing Small Municipal 
Waste Combustion Units

  42648 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/167

R307-224 Mercury Emission Standards:  Coal-Fired 
Electric Generating Units

  42534 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/112

R307-224 Mercury Emission Standards:  Coal-Fired 
Electric Generating Units

  42649 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/167

R307-250 Western Backstop Sulfur Dioxide Trading 
Program

  42535 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/113

R307-250 Western Backstop Sulfur Dioxide Trading 
Program

  42650 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/168

R307-303 Commercial Cooking   42651 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/168
R307-312 Aggregate Processing Operations for PM2.5 

Nonattainment Areas
  42536 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/113

R307-312 Aggregate Processing Operations for PM2.5 
Nonattainment Areas

  42652 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/169
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R307-342 Adhesives and Sealants   42653 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/170
R307-343-4 VOC Content Limits   42938 NSC 06/12/2018 Not Printed
R307-344 Paper, Film, and Foil Coatings   42537 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/113
R307-344 Paper, Film, and Foil Coatings   42654 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/170
R307-345 Fabric and Vinyl Coatings   42538 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/113
R307-345 Fabric and Vinyl Coatings   42655 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/171
R307-346 Metal Furniture Surface Coatings   42539 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/114
R307-346 Metal Furniture Surface Coatings   42656 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/171
R307-347 Large Appliance Surface Coatings   42541 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/114
R307-347 Large Appliance Surface Coatings   42657 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/172
R307-348 Magnet Wire Coatings   42543 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/114
R307-348 Magnet Wire Coatings   42659 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/172
R307-349 Flat Wood Panel Coatings   42540 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/114
R307-349 Flat Wood Paneling Coatings   42660 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/173
R307-350 Miscellaneous Metal Parts and Products 

Coatings
  42542 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/114

R307-350 Miscellaneous Metal Parts and Products 
Coatings

  42661 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/174

R307-351 Graphic Arts   42544 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/115
R307-351 Graphic Arts   42662 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/174
R307-352 Metal Container, Closure, and Coil Coatings   42545 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/115
R307-352 Metal Container, Closure, and Coil Coatings   42663 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/175
R307-353 Plastic Parts Coatings   42664 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/176
R307-354 Automotive Refinishing Coatings   42547 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/115
R307-354 Automotive Refinishing Coatings   42665 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/176
R307-355 Control of Emissions from Aerospace 

Manufacture and Rework Facilities
  42549 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/115

R307-355 Aerospace Manufacture and Rework Facilities   42666 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/177
R307-355-3 Exemptions   42370 AMD 03/08/2018 2018-1/10
R307-356 Appliance Pilot Light   42430 EXT 01/02/2018 2018-2/59
R307-356 Appliance Pilot Light   42667 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/177
R307-357 Consumer Products   42668 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/178
R307-361 Architectural Coatings   43238 5YR 10/04/2018 2018-21/143
R307-401 Permit:  New and Modified Sources   42108 AMD 03/05/2018 2017-19/58
R307-401 Permit: New and Modified Sources   42108 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/49
R307-401 Permit: New and Modified Sources   42574 NSC 03/05/2018 Not Printed
R307-403 Permits:  New and Modified Sources in 

Nonattainment Areas and Maintenance Areas
  42675 AMD 08/02/2018 2018-7/50

R307-403 Permits:  New and Modified Sources in 
Nonattainment Areas and Maintenance Areas

  42675 CPR 08/02/2018 2018-13/126

R307-405 Permits: Major Sources in Attainment or 
Unclassified Areas (PSD)

  43369 5YR 11/13/2018 2018-23/127

R307-504 Oil and Gas Industry:  Tank Truck Loading   42109 AMD 03/05/2018 2017-19/70
R307-504 Oil and Gas Industry: Tank Truck Loading   42109 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/56
R307-505 Oil and Gas Industry:  Registration 

Requirements
  42110 NEW 01/26/2018 2017-19/71

R307-506 Oil and Gas Industry:  Storage Vessels   42111 NEW 03/05/2018 2017-19/73
R307-506 Oil and Gas Industry: Storage Vessels   42111 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/58
R307-507 Oil and Gas Industry:  Dehydrators   42112 NEW 03/05/2018 2017-19/75
R307-507 Oil and Gas Industry: Dehydrators   42112 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/60
R307-508 Oil and Gas Industry:  VOC Control Devices   42113 NEW 03/05/2018 2017-19/77
R307-508 Oil and Gas Industry:  VOC Control Devices   42113 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/62
R307-509 Oil and Gas Industry:  Leak Detection and 

Repair Requirements
  42114 NEW 03/05/2018 2017-19/79

R307-509 Oil and Gas Industry:  Leak Detection and 
Repair Requirements

  42114 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/63

R307-510 Oil and Gas Industry:  Natural Gas Engine 
Requirements

  42115 NEW 03/05/2018 2017-19/81

R307-510 Oil and Gas Industry:  Natural Gas Engine 
Requirements

  42115 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-3/65

R307-510 Oil and Gas Industry:  Natural Gas Engine 
Requirements

  42858 NSC 05/14/2018 Not Printed

R307-801 Utah Asbestos Rule   42551 EXT 01/31/2018 2018-4/115
R307-801 Utah Asbestos Rule   42669 5YR 03/08/2018 2018-7/179
R307-840 Lead-Based Paint Program Purpose, 

Applicability, and Definitions
  43370 5YR 11/13/2018 2018-23/128
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Drinking Water
R309-105-12 Cross Connection Control   43209 AMD 01/01/2019 2018-19/34
R309-305 Certification Rules for Backflow Technicians   43210 R&R 01/01/2019 2018-19/38

Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation
R313-25 License Requirements for Land Disposal of 

Radioactive Waste – General Provisions
  42204 AMD 04/09/2018 2017-21/83

R313-25 License Requirements for Land Disposal of 
Radioactive Waste – General Provisions

  42204 CPR 04/16/2018 2018-5/128

R313-32-2 Clarifications or Exceptions   43158 NSC 08/31/2018 Not Printed
R313-37-3 Clarifications or Exceptions   42798 AMD 07/13/2018 2018-9/59

Waste Management and Radiation Control, Waste Management
R315-15 Standards for the Management of Used Oil   42451 AMD 04/19/2018 2018-3/35
R315-15-5 Standards for Used Oil Processors and Re-

Refiners
  42615 NSC 03/14/2018 Not Printed

R315-15-16 Grants   43081 AMD 09/14/2018 2018-15/57
R315-260 Hazardous Waste Management System   43079 AMD 09/14/2018 2018-15/61
R315-261 General Requirements -- Identification and 

Listing of Hazardous Waste
  43080 AMD 09/14/2018 2018-15/65

R315-261 General Requirements -- Identification and 
Listing of Hazardous Waste

  43129 NSC 09/20/2018 Not Printed

R315-262-17 General -- Conditions for Exemption for a 
Large Quantity Generator that Accumulates 
Hazardous Waste

  42672 NSC 03/30/2018 Not Printed

R315-262-17 General -- Conditions for Exemption for a 
Large Quantity Generator that Accumulates 
Hazardous Waste

  42824 NSC 05/03/2018 Not Printed

R315-270-61 Hazardous Waste Permit Program -- 
Emergency Permits

  43159 NSC 08/31/2018 Not Printed

R315-301 Solid Waste Authority; Definitions, and General 
Requirements

  42452 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/71

R315-301-7 Self-Inspection of Solid Waste Management 
Facility

  43207 AMD 11/09/2018 2018-19/46

R315-302 Solid Waste Facility Location Standards, 
General Facility Requirements, and Closure 
Requirements

  42453 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/72

R315-303 Landfilling Standards   42454 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/72
R315-304 Industrial Solid Waste Landfill Requirements   42455 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/73
R315-305 Class IV and VI Landfill Requirements   42456 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/74
R315-306 Incinerator Standards   42457 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/74
R315-307 Landtreatment Disposal Standards   42458 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/75
R315-308 Ground Water Monitoring Requirements   42459 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/75
R315-309 Financial Assurance   42460 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/76
R315-310 Permit Requirements for Solid Waste Facilities   42461 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/77
R315-311 Permit Approval For Solid Waste Disposal, 

Waste Tire Storage, Energy Recovery, And 
Incinerator Facilities

  42462 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/77

R315-312 Recycling and Composting Facility Standards   42463 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/78
R315-313 Transfer Stations and Drop Box Facilities   42464 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/79
R315-314 Facility Standards for Piles Used for Storage 

and Treatment
  42465 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/79

R315-315 Special Waste Requirements   42466 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/80
R315-316 Infectious Waste Requirements   42467 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/80
R315-317 Other Processes, Variances, Violations, and 

Petition for Rule Change
  42468 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/81

R315-318 Permit by Rule   42469 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/82
R315-320 Waste Tire Transporter and Recycler 

Requirements
  42470 5YR 01/12/2018 2018-3/82

Water Quality
R317-1-7 TMDLs   42692 AMD 05/24/2018 2018-7/56
R317-2 Standards of Quality for Waters of the State   42691 AMD 07/02/2018 2018-7/58
R317-9 Administrative Procedures   42509 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/95
R317-10-10 Examination   42274 AMD 01/24/2018 2017-22/29
R317-13 Approvals and Permits for a Water Reuse 

Project
  42510 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/96
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R317-14 Approval of Change in Point of Discharge of 
POTW

  42511 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/96

R317-15 Water Quality Certification   43130 5YR 08/02/2018 2018-17/71
R317-101 Utah Wastewater Project Assistance Program   42705 5YR 03/20/2018 2018-8/147

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Administration
R331-20 Designation of Adjudicative Proceedings as 

Informal
  43161 5YR 08/23/2018 2018-18/33

R331-21 Rule Governing Establishment of and 
Participation in Collective Investment Funds by 
Trust Companies

  43163 5YR 08/23/2018 2018-18/34

R331-24 Accounting for Accrued Uncollected Income by 
Banks and Industrial Loan Corporations

  43162 5YR 08/23/2018 2018-18/35

R331-25 Rule Governing Debt Cancellation and Debt 
Suspension Agreements Issued by Depository 
Institutions, Who Are Under the Jurisdiction of 
the Department of Financial Institutions

  43248 5YR 10/11/2018 2018-21/143

Nondepository Lenders
R343-9 Deferred Deposit Lenders Registration with the 

Nationwide Database
  43176 REP 10/22/2018 2018-18/9

GOVERNOR

Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State Commission on)
R356-2-10 Evaluation Criteria   42337 AMD 04/02/2018 2017-24/13
R356-4 Juvenile Confinement   42055 NEW 01/02/2018 2017-18/26

Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State Commission on), Indigent Defense Commission
R364-1 Conflicts of Interest for Indigent Defense 

Commission Members
  42351 NEW 01/29/2018 2017-24/14

Economic Development
R357-3 Economic Development Tax Increment 

Financing Tax Credit
  42940 EXD 05/31/2018 2018-12/47

R357-3 Economic Development Tax Increment 
Financing Rule

  43335 NEW 12/24/2018 2018-22/103

R357-4 Government Procurement Private Proposal 
Program

  43180 REP 10/24/2018 2018-18/11

R357-5 Motion Picture Incentive   42922 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/37
R357-14 Electronic Meetings   43224 R&R 12/17/2018 2018-20/16
R357-15 Enterprise Zone Tax Credit   43350 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/105
R357-16 Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant   42332 AMD 01/17/2018 2017-23/25
R357-16 Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant   42633 NSC 03/14/2018 Not Printed
R357-22 Rural Employment Expansion Program Rule   43152 NEW 10/11/2018 2018-17/52
R357-23 Business Expansion and Retention Initiative 

Rule
  43149 NEW 10/11/2018 2018-17/54

R357-23 Business Expansion and Retention Initiative 
Rule

  43208 NSC 10/11/2018 Not Printed

Economic Development, Consumer Health Exchange
R358-1 Electronic Standards for Transmitting 

Information through the Health Insurance 
Exchange

  43179 REP 10/25/2018 2018-18/14

HEALTH

Administration
R380-40 Local Health Department Minimum 

Performance Standards
  42863 AMD 07/03/2018 2018-10/34

R380-50 Local Health Department Funding Allocation 
Formula

  42852 AMD 07/03/2018 2018-10/39

R380-250 HIPAA Privacy Rule Implementation   42784 5YR 04/10/2018 2018-9/69
R380-300 Employee Background Screening   43144 NEW 10/22/2018 2018-17/56
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Center for Health Data, Health Care Statistics
R428-1 Health Data Plan and Incorporated Documents   42728 AMD 05/25/2018 2018-8/104

Center for Health Data, Vital Records and Statistics
R436-1 Duties of the Department of Health   42704 5YR 03/19/2018 2018-8/149
R436-2 Infants of Unknown Parentage; Foundling 

Registration
  42706 5YR 03/20/2018 2018-8/149

R436-3 Amendment of Vital Records   42707 5YR 03/20/2018 2018-8/150
R436-4 Delayed Registration of Birth   42708 5YR 03/20/2018 2018-8/150
R436-6 Delayed Registration of Birth or Death   42339 REP 04/03/2018 2017-24/20
R436-7 Death Registration   42713 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/151
R436-8 Authorization for Final Disposition of Deceased 

Persons
  42709 5YR 03/20/2018 2018-8/151

R436-9 Persons and Institutions Required to Keep 
Monthly Listings of Vital Statistics Events

  42712 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/152

R436-10 Birth and Death Certificates   42710 5YR 03/20/2018 2018-8/152
R436-12 Certified Copies of Vital Statistics Records   42714 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/153
R436-13 Disclosure of Records   42715 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/153
R436-14 Copies of Data From Vital Records   42716 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/154
R436-15 Fees   42717 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/154
R436-16 Violation of Rules   42718 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/155
R436-17 Review and Approval of Research Requests   42719 5YR 03/21/2018 2018-8/155

Child Care Center Licensing Committee
R381-60 Hourly Child Care Centers   42727 AMD 08/10/2018 2018-8/4
R381-70 Out of School Time Child Care Programs   42726 AMD 08/10/2018 2018-8/19
R381-100 Child Care Centers   42725 AMD 08/10/2018 2018-8/33

Children's Health Insurance Program
R382-1 Benefits and Administration   42790 5YR 04/11/2018 2018-9/70
R382-3 Accountable Care Organization Incentives to 

Appropriately Use Emergency Room Services 
in the Children's Health Insurance Program

  43376 5YR 11/14/2018 2018-23/129

R382-10 Eligibility   42791 5YR 04/11/2018 2018-9/70

Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental Services
R392-100 Food Service Sanitation   42684 AMD 05/18/2018 2018-7/93
R392-101 Food Safety Manager Certification   43436 5YR 12/12/2018 Not Printed
R392-102 Food Truck Sanitation   42685 NEW 05/18/2018 2018-7/97
R392-103 Food Handler Training and Certificate   43077 5YR 07/12/2018 2018-15/103
R392-200 Design, Construction, Operation, Sanitation, 

and Safety of Schools
  42732 AMD 05/31/2018 2018-8/51

R392-300 Recreation Camp Sanitation   42516 R&R 03/26/2018 2018-4/4
R392-301 Recreational Vehicle Park Sanitation   43076 R&R 09/10/2018 2018-15/84
R392-302 Design, Construction and Operation of Public 

Pools
  42744 AMD 05/24/2018 2018-8/66

R392-401 Roadway Rest Stop Sanitation   42514 R&R 03/26/2018 2018-4/27
R392-402 Mobile Home Park Sanitation   42731 R&R 05/24/2018 2018-8/89
R392-501 Labor Camp Sanitation   43014 R&R 09/10/2018 2018-14/25
R392-502 Hotel, Motel and Resort Sanitation   42515 R&R 03/26/2018 2018-4/31
R392-600 Illegal Drug Operations Decontamination 

Standards
  43037 AMD 08/24/2018 2018-14/34

R392-700 Indoor Tanning Bed Sanitation   42491 5YR 01/19/2018 2018-4/97
R392-800 General Sanitation in Public Places   43182 NEW 11/14/2018 2018-19/48

Disease Control and Prevention, Epidemiology
R386-702 Communicable Disease Rule   42285 AMD 01/02/2018 2017-22/31

Disease Control and Prevention, Health Promotion
R384-201 School-Based Vision Screening for Students in 

Public Schools
  42569 EXT 02/08/2018 2018-5/161

R384-201 School-Based Vision Screening for Students in 
Public Schools

  42951 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/141

R384-210 Co-prescription Guidelines -- Reporting   42283 NEW 06/07/2018 2017-22/30
R384-210 Co-prescription Guidelines -- Reporting   42283 CPR 06/07/2018 2018-4/70
R384-324 Tobacco Retailer Permit Process   42870 NEW 07/09/2018 2018-10/42
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Disease Control and Prevention, Immunization
R396-100 Immunization Rule for Students   42947 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/141

Disease Control and Prevention, Laboratory Services
R438-13 Rules for the Certification of Institutions to 

Obtain Impounded Animals in the State of Utah
  43078 EXT 07/12/2018 2018-15/109

R438-13 Rules for the Certification of Institutions to 
Obtain Impounded Animals in the State of Utah

  43185 AMD 11/07/2018 2018-19/62

R438-13 Rules for the Certification of Institutions to 
Obtain Impounded Animals in the State of Utah

  43360 5YR 11/07/2018 2018-23/132

R438-15 Newborn Screening   42282 NEW 01/29/2018 2017-22/60
R438-15 Newborn Screening   43256 AMD 01/01/2019 2018-21/84

Disease Control and Prevention; HIV/AIDS, Tuberculosis Control/Refugee Health
R388-805 Ryan White Part B Program   42328 AMD 02/01/2018 2017-23/28

Family Health and Preparedness, Child Care Licensing
R430-1 General Licensing, Certificate, and 

Enforcement Provisions, Child Care Facilities
  43107 REP 10/15/2018 2018-16/14

R430-6 Background Screening   43106 REP 10/15/2018 2018-16/18
R430-8 Exemptions From Child Care Licensing   42745 R&R 08/10/2018 2018-8/106
R430-50 Residential Certificate Child Care   42877 5YR 05/09/2018 2018-11/58
R430-50 Residential Certificate Child Care   42734 AMD 08/10/2018 2018-8/112
R430-90 Licensed Family Child Care   42876 5YR 05/09/2018 2018-11/59
R430-90 Licensed Family Child Care   42733 AMD 08/10/2018 2018-8/125

Family Health and Preparedness, Children with Special Health Care Needs
R398-1 Newborn Screening   42279 REP 01/29/2018 2017-22/46
R398-2 Newborn Hearing Screening   43013 5YR 06/19/2018 2018-14/51
R398-2 Newborn Hearing Screening   43226 AMD 12/03/2018 2018-20/23
R398-3 Children's Hearing Aid Program   43205 5YR 09/14/2018 2018-19/99
R398-4 Cytomegalovirus Public Health Initiative   43421 5YR 12/06/2018 Not Printed
R398-10 Autism Spectrum Disorders and Intellectual 

Disability Reporting
  43105 AMD 09/24/2018 2018-16/12

R398-20 Early Intervention   43054 5YR 07/02/2018 2018-14/51

Family Health and Preparedness, Emergency Medical Services
R426-1 General Definitions   42554 AMD 04/19/2018 2018-4/43
R426-1 General Definitions   43242 5YR 10/09/2018 2018-21/144
R426-2 Emergency Medical Services Provider 

Designations for Pre-Hospital Providers, 
Critical Incident Stress Management and 
Quality Assurance Reviews

  42555 AMD 04/19/2018 2018-4/46

R426-2 Emergency Medical Services Provider 
Designations for Pre-Hospital Providers, 
Critical Incident Stress Management and 
Quality Assurance Reviews

  43243 5YR 10/09/2018 2018-21/144

R426-3 Licensure   42556 AMD 04/19/2018 2018-4/50
R426-3 Licensure   42964 EMR 06/11/2018 2018-13/133
R426-3 Licensure   43244 5YR 10/09/2018 2018-21/145
R426-3 Licensure   43257 AMD 12/12/2018 2018-21/65
R426-4 Operations   43245 5YR 10/09/2018 2018-21/145
R426-4 Operations   43258 AMD 12/12/2018 2018-21/71
R426-5 Emergency Medical Services Training and 

Certification Standards
  43203 AMD 11/07/2018 2018-19/52

R426-6 Emergency Medical Services Per Capita and 
Competitive Grant Programs Rules

  42724 5YR 03/28/2018 2018-8/148

R426-8 Emergency Medical Services Ground 
Ambulance Rates and Charges

  42826 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/49

R426-9 Trauma and EMS System Facility Designations   43246 5YR 10/09/2018 2018-21/146
R426-10 Air Ambulance Licensure and Operations   43259 NEW 12/12/2018 2018-21/75

Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing
R432-1 General Health Care Facility Rules   42520 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/98
R432-1 General Health Care Facility Rules   43006 AMD 08/20/2018 2018-13/37
R432-2 General Licensing Provisions   42521 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/98
R432-2 General Licensing Provisions   43005 AMD 08/27/2018 2018-13/43
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R432-2-5 Requirements for a Satellite Service Operation   42397 AMD 03/22/2018 2018-2/9
R432-2-13 New License Required   42396 AMD 03/22/2018 2018-2/11
R432-3 General Health Care Facility Rules Inspection 

and Enforcement
  42522 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/99

R432-3 General Health Care Facility Rules Inspection 
and Enforcement

  43004 AMD 08/27/2018 2018-13/45

R432-4 General Construction   42523 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/99
R432-5 Nursing Facility Construction   42524 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/100
R432-6 Assisted Living Facility General Construction   42525 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/100
R432-6-16 Parking   42937 AMD 08/20/2018 2018-12/20
R432-16 Hospice Inpatient Facility Construction   42518 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/101
R432-35 Background Screening -- Health Facilities   42519 5YR 01/29/2018 2018-4/101
R432-35 Background Screening -- Health Facilities   43003 AMD 10/01/2018 2018-13/50
R432-150-8 Administrator   42201 AMD 01/11/2018 2017-21/108
R432-270 Assisted Living Facilities   43002 AMD 08/27/2018 2018-13/53
R432-270-19 Medication Administration   42200 AMD 01/11/2018 2017-21/109
R432-950 Mammography Quality Assurance   43136 AMD 10/23/2018 2018-17/59

Family Health and Preparedness, Primary Care and Rural Health
R434-150 Adverse Events from the Administration of 

Sedation or Anesthesia; Recording and 
Reporting

  42334 NEW 04/14/2018 2017-24/18

R434-150 Adverse Events from the Administration of 
Sedation or Anesthesia; Recording and 
Reporting

  42671 NSC 04/14/2018 Not Printed

Health Care Financing
R410-14 Administrative Hearing Procedures   42517 EMR 01/29/2018 2018-4/81
R410-14 Administrative Hearing Procedures   42746 AMD 05/29/2018 2018-8/95

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
R414-1-5 Incorporations by Reference   42631 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-6/6
R414-1B Payment for Limited Abortion Services   43390 5YR 11/15/2018 2018-23/129
R414-2A-7 Limitations   42625 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-6/11
R414-3A Outpatient Hospital Services   42180 AMD 03/05/2018 2017-20/26
R414-3A Outpatient Hospital Services   42180 CPR 03/05/2018 2018-2/42
R414-3A-5 Services   42594 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-5/42
R414-4x Policy Statement on Denial of Payment to 

Medicaid Provider When Client Fails to Keep 
Scheduled Appointment

  42306 REP 01/19/2018 2017-23/49

R414-9 Federally Qualified Health Centers and Rural 
Health Clinics

  43122 5YR 07/27/2018 2018-16/33

R414-11 Podiatric Services   43391 5YR 11/15/2018 2018-23/130
R414-14 Home Health Services   43361 5YR 11/07/2018 2018-23/130
R414-27 Medicaid Enrollment Process for Nursing Care 

Facilities
  42427 5YR 01/02/2018 2018-2/54

R414-42 Telemedicine   42871 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/45
R414-42 Telemedicine   43053 5YR 07/02/2018 2018-14/52
R414-52 Optometry Services   42782 5YR 04/10/2018 2018-9/71
R414-53 Eyeglasses Services   42783 5YR 04/10/2018 2018-9/71
R414-54 Speech-Language Pathology Services   43377 5YR 11/14/2018 2018-23/131
R414-55 Medicaid Policy for Hospital Emergency 

Department Copayment Procedures
  43036 REP 09/04/2018 2018-14/43

R414-60 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Program   42626 AMD 05/01/2018 2018-6/13
R414-60A Drug Utilization Review Board   42787 AMD 06/27/2018 2018-9/61
R414-60B Preferred Drug List   42788 AMD 06/27/2018 2018-9/63
R414-61-2 Incorporation by Reference   42936 AMD 07/27/2018 2018-12/14
R414-90 Diabetes Self-Management Training   43389 5YR 11/15/2018 2018-23/131
R414-301 Medicaid General Provisions   42440 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/83
R414-302 Eligibility Requirements   42441 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/84
R414-302-6 Residents of Institutions   42487 EMR 01/19/2018 2018-4/85
R414-302-6 Residents of Institutions   42627 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-6/15
R414-303 Coverage Groups   42442 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/84
R414-304 Income and Budgeting   42443 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/85
R414-305 Resources   42444 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/85
R414-306 Program Benefits and Date of Eligibility   42445 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/86
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R414-308 Application, Eligibility Determinations and 
Improper Medical Assistance

  42446 5YR 01/08/2018 2018-3/86

R414-308-3 Application and Signature   42488 EMR 01/19/2018 2018-4/87
R414-308-3 Application and Signature   42628 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-6/17
R414-311 Targeted Adult Medicaid   42489 EMR 01/19/2018 2018-4/90
R414-311 Targeted Adult Medicaid   42629 NEW 05/08/2018 2018-6/20
R414-401 Nursing Care Facility Assessment   43388 5YR 11/15/2018 2018-23/132
R414-401-3 Assessment   42851 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/47
R414-508 Requirements for Transfer of Bed Licenses   42935 5YR 05/25/2018 2018-12/46
R414-509 Medicaid Autism Waiver Open Enrollment 

Process
  42490 REP 04/11/2018 2018-4/41

R414-510 Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with 
Intellectual Disabilities Transition Program

  42941 R&R 07/27/2018 2018-12/16

R414-511 Medicaid Accountable Care Organization 
Incentives to Appropriately Use Emergency 
Room Services

  43204 5YR 09/14/2018 2018-19/100

R414-516 Nursing Facility Non-State Government-Owned 
Upper Payment Limit Quality Improvement 
Program

  43227 AMD 12/06/2018 2018-20/26

R414-517 Inpatient Hospital Provider Assessments   42353 AMD 01/29/2018 2017-24/16
R414-519 Settings for Home and Community-Based 

Services
  42635 NEW 05/25/2018 2018-7/112

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

Administration
R477-1 Definitions   42810 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/51
R477-2 Administration   42811 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/57
R477-4 Filling Positions   42812 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/60
R477-5 Employee Status and Probation   42813 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/63
R477-6 Compensation   42814 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/65
R477-7 Leave   42815 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/71
R477-8 Working Conditions   42816 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/79
R477-9 Employee Conduct   42817 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/84
R477-10 Employee Development   42818 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/87
R477-11 Discipline   42819 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/89
R477-12 Separations   42820 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/92
R477-16 Abusive Conduct Prevention   42821 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/94
R477-101 Administrative Law Judge Conduct Committee   42822 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/96

HUMAN SERVICES

Administration
R495-879 Parental Support for Children in Care   43094 5YR 07/17/2018 2018-16/33
R495-881 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 

Act (HIPAA) Privacy Rule Implementation
  42766 5YR 04/02/2018 2018-8/156

R495-885 Employee Background Screenings   42417 AMD 02/23/2018 2018-2/13
R495-885 Employee Background Screenings   42845 EMR 04/23/2018 2018-10/149
R495-885 Employee Background Screenings   42630 AMD 07/18/2018 2018-6/23
R495-885 Employee Background Screenings   42630 CPR 07/18/2018 2018-11/50

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing
R501-1 General Provisions for Licensing   42216 AMD 02/23/2018 2017-21/111
R501-7 Child Placing Adoption Agencies   42317 R&R 05/02/2018 2017-23/50
R501-7 Child Placing Adoption Agencies   42317 CPR 05/02/2018 2018-6/34
R501-12 Foster Care Services   42217 AMD 02/23/2018 2017-21/120
R501-12 Foster Care Services   42862 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/101
R501-14 Human Service Program Background 

Screening
  42233 AMD 02/23/2018 2017-21/130

R501-18 Recovery Residence Services   42234 AMD 02/07/2018 2017-21/136

Aging and Adult Services
R510-105 "Out and About" Homebound Transportation 

Assistance Fund Rules
  42485 5YR 01/17/2018 2018-4/102

R510-200 Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program Policy   42636 R&R 05/30/2018 2018-7/114
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Child and Family Services
R512-41 Qualifying Adoptive Families and Adoption 

Placement
  43269 5YR 10/15/2018 2018-21/147

R512-43 Adoption Assistance   43322 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/127
R512-75 Rules Governing Adjudication of Consumer 

Complaints
  43270 5YR 10/15/2018 2018-21/147

R512-76 Expungement of DCFS Allegations   42829 NEW 06/21/2018 2018-10/110
R512-100 In-Home Services   42596 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/143
R512-200 Child Protective Services, Intake Services   42597 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/143
R512-201 Child Protective Services, Investigation 

Services
  42598 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/144

R512-202 Child Protective Services, General Allegation 
Categories

  42599 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/144

R512-300 Out-of-Home Services   42600 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/145
R512-301 Out-of-Home Services, Responsibilities 

Pertaining to a Parent or Guardian
  42601 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/145

R512-302 Out-of-Home Services, Responsibilities 
Pertaining to an Out-of-Home Caregiver

  42602 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/146

R512-305 Out-of-Home Services, Transition to Adult 
Living Services

  42603 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/146

R512-306 Out-of-Home Services, Transition to Adult 
Living Services, Education and Training 
Voucher Program

  43320 5YR 10/19/2018 2018-22/170

R512-306 Out-of-Home Services, Transition to Adult 
Living Services, Education and Training 
Voucher Program

  43325 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/133

R512-309 Out-of-Home Services, Foster Parent 
Reimbursement of Motor Vehicle Insurance 
Coverage for Youth in Foster Care

  42604 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/147

R512-500 Kinship Services, Placement and Background 
Screening

  42605 5YR 02/15/2018 2018-5/147

Recovery Services
R527-38 Unenforceable Cases   43410 5YR 11/26/2018 2018-24/44
R527-201 Medical Support Services   43166 NSC 09/07/2018 Not Printed
R527-275 Passport Release   43440 5YR 12/14/2018 Not Printed
R527-303 Automatic Payment Withdrawal   42638 NEW 05/08/2018 2018-7/134
R527-920 Mandatory Disbursement to Obligee Through 

Electronic Funds Transfer
  42720 5YR 03/23/2018 2018-8/156

Services for People with Disabilities
R539-1 Eligibility   42560 NSC 03/01/2018 Not Printed
R539-1 Eligibility   42926 NSC 06/01/2018 Not Printed
R539-10 Short-Term Limited Waiting List Services   43434 5YR 12/11/2018 Not Printed

Substance Abuse and Mental Health
R523-17 Behavioral Health Crisis Response Systems 

Standards
  43213 NEW 11/15/2018 2018-19/66

R523-18 Mobile Crisis Outreach Teams Certification 
Standards

  43214 NEW 11/15/2018 2018-19/73

Substance Abuse and Mental Health, State Hospital
R525-2 Patient Rights   42473 5YR 01/16/2018 2018-3/87
R525-3 Medication Treatment of Patients   42474 5YR 01/16/2018 2018-3/87
R525-3 Medication Treatment of Patients   42558 NSC 03/01/2018 Not Printed
R525-3 Medication Treatment of Patients   43128 NSC 08/09/2018 Not Printed
R525-4 Visitors   42475 5YR 01/16/2018 2018-3/88
R525-5 Background Checks   42476 5YR 01/16/2018 2018-3/88
R525-6 Prohibited Items and Devices   42477 5YR 01/16/2018 2018-3/89
R525-6 Prohibited Items and Devices   42557 NSC 03/01/2018 Not Printed
R525-7 Complaints/Suggestions/Concerns   42478 5YR 01/16/2018 2018-3/89
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INSURANCE

Administration
R590-94 Rule Permitting Smoker/Nonsmoker Mortality 

Tables For Use in Determining Minimum 
Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits

  42686 5YR 03/14/2018 2018-7/179

R590-102 Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule   42395 AMD 02/08/2018 2018-1/11
R590-154 Unfair Marketing Practices Rule; Misleading 

Names
  42687 5YR 03/14/2018 2018-7/180

R590-157 Surplus Lines Insurance Premium Tax and 
Stamping Fee

  42438 5YR 01/04/2018 2018-3/90

R590-160 Administrative Proceedings   43000 R&R 08/14/2018 2018-13/56
R590-160 Adjudicative Proceedings   43221 5YR 09/21/2018 2018-20/32
R590-161 Disability Income Policy Disclosure   43219 5YR 09/21/2018 2018-20/33
R590-162 Actuarial Opinion and Memorandum Rule   43220 5YR 09/21/2018 2018-20/33
R590-164 Uniform Health Billing Rule   43007 AMD 08/14/2018 2018-13/66
R590-186 Bail Bond Surety Business   43067 5YR 07/10/2018 2018-15/104
R590-218 Permitted Language for Reservation of 

Discretion Clauses
  42437 5YR 01/04/2018 2018-3/90

R590-219 Credit Scoring   42875 5YR 05/04/2018 2018-11/59
R590-222 Life Settlements   42874 5YR 05/04/2018 2018-11/60
R590-223 Rule to Recognize the 2001 CSO Mortality 

Table for Use in Determining Minimum Reserve 
Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits

  42873 5YR 05/04/2018 2018-11/60

R590-238 Captive Insurance Companies   43009 NSC 07/03/2018 Not Printed
R590-243 Commercial Motor Vehicle Insurance Coverage   42436 5YR 01/04/2018 2018-3/91
R590-245 Self-Service Storage Insurance   43222 5YR 09/21/2018 2018-20/34
R590-246 Professional Employer Organization (PEO) 

License Application Rule
  43133 5YR 08/03/2018 2018-17/72

R590-247 Universal Health Insurance Application Rule   42984 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/142
R590-250 PEO Assurance Organization Designation   43134 5YR 08/03/2018 2018-17/73
R590-251 Preneed Life Insurance Minimum Standards 

For Determining Reserve Liabilities And 
Nonforfeiture Values Rule

  43135 5YR 08/03/2018 2018-17/73

R590-266-1 Authority   42319 AMD 01/10/2018 2017-23/66
R590-266-4 Utah Essential Health Benefits   42856 NSC 05/14/2018 Not Printed
R590-267 Personal Injury Protection Relative Value Study 

Rule
  43323 5YR 10/24/2018 2018-22/170

R590-276 Record Retention for Foreign, Alien, 
Commercially Domiciled, Foreign Title and 
Foreign Fraternals

  42214 NEW 04/23/2018 2017-21/165

R590-276 Record Retention for Foreign, Alien, 
Commercially Domiciled, Foreign Title and 
Foreign Fraternals

  42214 CPR 04/23/2018 2018-6/44

R590-278 Consent Requests Under 18 USC 1033(e)(2)   43281 NEW 12/24/2018 2018-22/136
R590-279 Rule Designating Fraud Division Offices as a 

Secured Area
  43282 NEW 12/24/2018 2018-22/138

Title and Escrow Commission
R592-7 Title Insurance Continuing Education Program   42711 R&R 07/30/2018 2018-8/138
R592-10 Title Insurance Regulation Assessment for 

Agency Title Insurance Producers and Title 
Insurers

  43068 5YR 07/10/2018 2018-15/105

R592-10-5 Office Report   43187 AMD 11/09/2018 2018-19/78

JUDICIAL PERFORMANCE EVALUATION COMMISSION

Administration
R597-3 Judicial Performance Evaluations   43181 AMD 11/07/2018 2018-19/79
R597-5 Electronic Meetings   42262 NEW 01/02/2018 2017-22/68

LABOR COMMISSION

Adjudication
R602-4 Procedures for Termination of Temporary Total 

Disability Compensation Pursuant to 
Reemployment  Under Section 34A-2-410.5

  43127 5YR 08/01/2018 2018-16/34
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R602-5 Procedures for Resolving Disputes Regarding 
"Cooperation" and "Diligent Pursuit" Under 
Subsection 34A-2-413(6)(e)(iii) and Subsection 
34A-2-413(9) Consistent with Utah 
Administrative Code Subsection R612-200-
7(D)(4)

  43126 5YR 08/01/2018 2018-16/35

R602-6 Procedures Applicable for Approval of 
Settlement Agreements in Workers' 
Compensation

  43125 5YR 08/01/2018 2018-16/35

R602-7 Adjudication of Discrimination Claims   43408 5YR 11/26/2018 2018-24/44
R602-7 Adjudication of Discrimination Claims   43413 NSC 12/07/2018 Not Printed
R602-8 Adjudication of Utah Occupational Safety and 

Health Citation Claims
  43409 5YR 11/26/2018 2018-24/45

R602-8 Adjudication of Utah Occupational Safety and 
Health Citation Claims

  43412 NSC 12/07/2018 Not Printed

Administration
R600-1 Declaratory Orders   42622 5YR 02/26/2018 2018-6/49

Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety
R616-2-3 Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels
  42565 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/49

R616-3-3 Safety Codes for Elevators   42566 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/51
R616-3-4 Inspector Qualification   43164 AMD 10/22/2018 2018-18/23

Industrial Accidents
R612-100 Workers' Compensation Rules - General 

Provisions
  42561 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/148

R612-100-4 Designation as Informal Proceedings   42786 AMD 06/07/2018 2018-9/66
R612-200 Workers' Compensation Rules - Filing and 

Paying Claims
  42562 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/149

R612-300 Workers' Compensation Rules - Medical Care   42563 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/149
R612-300 Workers' Compensation Rules - Medical Care   43351 AMD 01/01/2019 2018-22/139
R612-300-4 General Method for Computing Medical Fees   42567 AMD 04/09/2018 2018-5/46
R612-400 Workers' Compensation Insurance, Self-

Insurance and Waivers
  42564 5YR 02/08/2018 2018-5/150

R612-400-5 Premium Rates for the Uninsured Employers' 
Fund and the Employers' Reinsurance Fund

  43215 AMD 01/01/2019 2018-20/28

Occupational Safety and Health
R614-1-4 Incorporation of Federal Standards   43121 AMD 10/15/2018 2018-16/22

LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

Administration
R622-1 Adjudicative Proceedings   43157 5YR 08/20/2018 2018-18/35

NATURAL RESOURCES

Administration
R634-3 Compensatory Mitigation Program   42309 NEW 03/26/2018 2017-23/67
R634-3 Compensatory Mitigation Program   42309 CPR 03/26/2018 2018-4/71

Forestry, Fire and State Lands
R652-7 Public Petitions for Declaratory Orders   42977 5YR 06/11/2018 2018-13/152
R652-110 Off-Highway Vehicle Designations   42978 5YR 06/11/2018 2018-13/153
R652-123 Wildland Fire Suppression Cost Recovery 

Procedure
  42928 NEW 07/23/2018 2018-12/22

Oil, Gas and Mining; Administration
R642-200 Applicability   42495 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/102

Oil, Gas and Mining; Coal
R645-101 Restrictions on State Employees   42496 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/103
R645-102 Exemption for Coal Extraction Incident to 

Government-Financed Highway or Other 
Construction

  42497 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/103
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R645-104 Protection of Employees   42498 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/104
R645-401 Inspection and Enforcement:  Civil Penalties   42499 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/104

Oil, Gas and Mining; Non-Coal
R647-1 Minerals Regulatory Program   42500 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/105
R647-2 Exploration   42501 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/105
R647-3 Small Mining Operations   42502 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/106
R647-4 Large Mining Operations   42503 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/106
R647-5 Administrative Procedures   42504 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/107
R647-6 Inspection and Enforcement:  Division Authority 

and Procedures
  42505 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/108

R647-7 Inspection and Enforcement:  Civil Penalties   42506 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/108
R647-8 Inspection and Enforcement:  Individual Civil 

Penalties
  42507 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/109

Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas
R649-6 Gas Processing and Waste Crude Oil 

Treatment
  42508 5YR 01/24/2018 2018-4/109

Parks and Recreation
R651-103 Electronic Meetings   42723 NEW 05/22/2018 2018-8/142
R651-103 Electronic Meetings   43417 NSC 12/07/2018 Not Printed
R651-406 Off-Highway Vehicle Registration Fees   42431 AMD 02/21/2018 2018-2/16
R651-407 Off-Highway Vehicle Advisory Council   42682 5YR 03/13/2018 2018-7/181
R651-601 Definitions as Used in These Rules   42989 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/143
R651-602 Aircraft and Powerless Flight   42990 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/143
R651-603 Animals   42946 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/144
R651-604 Audio Devices   42948 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/144
R651-605 Begging and Soliciting   42949 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/145
R651-606 Camping   42950 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/145
R651-607 Disorderly Conduct   42952 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/146
R651-608 Events of Special Uses   42953 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/146
R651-609 Explosives and Fireworks   42954 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/147
R651-610 Expulsion   42955 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/147
R651-613 Fires   42959 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/147
R651-614 Fishing, Hunting and Trapping   42960 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/148
R651-615 Motor Vehicle Use   42961 5YR 06/07/2018 2018-13/148
R651-616 Organized Sports   42981 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/149
R651-617 Permit Violation   42982 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/149
R651-618 Picnicking   42983 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/150
R651-619 Possession of Alcoholic Beverages or 

Controlled Substances
  42985 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/150

R651-620 Protection of Resources Park System Property   42986 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/151
R651-621 Reports of Injury or Damage   42987 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/151
R651-622 Rock Climbing   43048 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/52
R651-623 Sale or Distribution of Printed Material   43047 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/53
R651-624 Sanitation   43046 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/53
R651-625 Shirts and Shoes   43045 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/54
R651-626 Skating, Skateboards and Motorized 

Transportation Devices
  43044 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/54

R651-627 Swimming   43043 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/55
R651-628 Trails and Walks   43042 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/55
R651-629 Unattended Property   43041 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/56
R651-630 Unsupervised Children   42988 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/152
R651-631 Winter Sports   43040 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/56
R651-632 Enforcement   43039 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/57
R651-633 Special Closures or Restrictions   43038 5YR 06/28/2018 2018-14/57
R651-636 Procedures for Application to Receive Funds 

From the Zion National Park Restricted 
Account

  43451 5YR 12/19/2018 Not Printed

R651-700 Administrative Procedures for Real Property 
Management

  43452 5YR 12/19/2018 Not Printed

Water Resources
R653-9 Electronic Meetings   42257 NEW 03/02/2018 2017-22/74
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Water Rights
R655-1 Wells Used for the Discovery and Production of 

Geothermal Energy in the State of Utah
  42606 R&R 04/09/2018 2018-5/53

R655-4 Water Wells   42607 R&R 04/09/2018 2018-5/67
R655-13 Stream Alteration   43424 5YR 12/07/2018 Not Printed

Wildlife Resources
R657-3 Collection, Importation, Transportation, and 

Possession of Animals
  42624 5YR 02/27/2018 2018-6/49

R657-3 Collection, Importation, Transportation, and 
Possession of Animals

  42965 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/69

R657-5 Taking Big Game   42371 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/19
R657-5 Taking Big Game   42920 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/40
R657-9 Taking Waterfowl, Wilson's Snipe and Coot   42376 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/33
R657-10 Taking Cougar   42919 AMD 07/09/2018 2018-11/42
R657-12 Hunting and Fishing Accommodations for 

People With Disabilities
  42375 NSC 02/13/2018 Not Printed

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish   43230 AMD 12/10/2018 2018-21/97
R657-19 Taking Nongame Mammals   42377 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/35
R657-19 Taking Nongame Mammals   43099 5YR 07/19/2018 2018-16/36
R657-33 Taking Bear   42492 AMD 03/26/2018 2018-4/55
R657-34 Procedures for Confirmation of Ordinances on 

Hunting Closures
  42796 5YR 04/12/2018 2018-9/72

R657-37 Cooperative Wildlife Management Units for Big 
Game or Turkey

  42795 5YR 04/12/2018 2018-9/72

R657-41 Conservation and Sportsman Permits   42379 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/38
R657-41 Conservation and Sportsman Permits   42966 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/72
R657-42 Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 

Reallocation of Wildlife Documents
  42794 5YR 04/12/2018 2018-9/73

R657-45 Wildlife License, Permit, and Certificate of 
Registration Forms and Terms

  42793 5YR 04/12/2018 2018-9/73

R657-50 Error Remedy   42967 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/82
R657-51 Poaching-Reported Reward Permits   42913 NEW 07/09/2018 2018-11/44
R657-53 Amphibian and Reptile Collection, Importation, 

Transportation and Possession
  42792 5YR 04/12/2018 2018-9/74

R657-53 Amphibian and Reptile Collection, Importation, 
Transportation and Possession

  42968 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/86

R657-54 Taking Wild Turkey   42969 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/89
R657-55 Wildlife Expo Permits   42970 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/92
R657-56 Recreational Lease of Private Lands for Free 

Public Walk-in Access
  42971 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/97

R657-57 Division Variance Rule   43100 5YR 07/19/2018 2018-16/36
R657-57 Division Variance Rule   42972 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/99
R657-58 Fishing Contests and Clinics   42449 5YR 01/09/2018 2018-3/91
R657-59 Private Fish Ponds, Short Term Fishing Events, 

Private Fish Stocking, and Institutional 
Aquaculture

  43101 5YR 07/19/2018 2018-16/37

R657-60 Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction   43098 5YR 07/19/2018 2018-16/37
R657-61 Valuation of Real Property Interests for 

Purposes of Acquisition or Disposal
  43231 5YR 10/04/2018 2018-21/148

R657-62 Drawing Application Procedures   42374 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/41
R657-62 Drawing Application Procedures   42493 AMD 03/26/2018 2018-4/57
R657-62 Drawing Application Procedures   42973 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/101
R657-64 Predator Control Incentives   42974 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/107
R657-65 Urban Deer Control   43097 5YR 07/19/2018 2018-16/38
R657-66 Military Installation Permit Program   43232 5YR 10/04/2018 2018-21/148
R657-67 Utah Hunter Mentoring Program   42372 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/44
R657-69 Turkey Depredation   42975 AMD 08/09/2018 2018-13/112
R657-70 Taking Utah Prairie Dogs   42378 REP 02/07/2018 2018-1/46
R657-71 Removal of Wild Deer from Domesticated Elk 

Facilities
  42373 NEW 02/07/2018 2018-1/52

PARDONS (BOARD OF)

Administration
R671-201 Original Hearing Schedule and Notice   42295 AMD 01/08/2018 2017-22/75
R671-202 Notification of Hearings   42294 AMD 01/08/2018 2017-22/77
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R671-203 Victim Input and Notification   42297 AMD 01/08/2018 2017-22/78
R671-205 Credit for Time Served   42227 AMD 01/08/2018 2017-21/169
R671-206 Competency of Offenders   42296 NEW 01/08/2018 2017-22/81
R671-304 Hearing Record   42231 AMD 01/08/2018 2017-21/171
R671-312 Commutation Hearings for Death Penalty 

Cases
  42575 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/150

R671-312A Commutation Procedures Applicable to 
Persons Sentenced to Death Before April 26, 
1992

  42905 5YR 05/11/2018 2018-11/61

R671-312B Commutation Procedures Applicable to 
Persons Sentenced to Death After April 26, 
1992

  42906 5YR 05/11/2018 2018-11/62

R671-509 Parole Progress/Violation Reports   42576 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/151
R671-510 Evidence for Issuance of Warrants   42577 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/151
R671-512 Execution of the Warrant   42578 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/152
R671-513 Expedited Determination of Parolee Challenge 

to Probable Cause
  42579 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/152

R671-514 Waiver and Pleas of Guilt   42580 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/153
R671-515 Timeliness of Parole Revocation Hearings   42581 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/153
R671-516 Parole Revocation Hearings   42583 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/154
R671-517 Evidentiary Hearings and Proceedings   42584 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/154
R671-518 Conduct of Proceedings When a Criminal 

Charge Results in Conviction
  42585 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/155

R671-519 Proceedings When Criminal Charges Result in 
Acquittal

  42586 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/155

R671-520 Treatment of Confidential Testimony   42587 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/156
R671-522 Continuances Due to Pending Criminal 

Charges
  42588 5YR 02/13/2018 2018-5/156

PUBLIC SAFETY

Administration
R698-7 Emergency Vehicles   42797 5YR 04/12/2018 2018-9/74
R698-11 Submission and Testing of Sexual Assault Kits   42269 NEW 01/10/2018 2017-22/82

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification
R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit and Instructor Rule   42258 AMD 01/10/2018 2017-22/89
R722-310 Regulation of Bail Bond Recovery and 

Enforcement Agents
  42808 AMD 07/11/2018 2018-10/113

R722-350 Certificate of Eligibility   42259 AMD 01/10/2018 2017-22/94
R722-350 Certificate of Eligibility   42912 NSC 05/17/2018 Not Printed
R722-380 Firearm Background Check Information   42260 AMD 01/10/2018 2017-22/96

Driver License
R708-14 Adjudicative Proceedings For Driver License 

Actions Involving Alcohol and Drugs
  43173 AMD 11/01/2018 2018-18/24

R708-14-9 Findings, Conclusions, Recommendations and 
Orders

  42865 LNR 05/01/2018 2018-10/161

R708-30 Motorcycle Rider Training Schools   42825 5YR 04/19/2018 2018-10/157
R708-49 Temporary Identification Card   42980 5YR 06/13/2018 2018-13/153

Fire Marshal
R710-5 Automatic Fire Sprinkler System Inspecting and 

Testing
  42683 5YR 03/14/2018 2018-7/181

R710-12 Hazardous Materials Training and Certification   42674 EXD 03/12/2018 2018-7/183
R710-13 Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity and 

Firefighter Protection Act
  43172 5YR 08/28/2018 2018-18/36

Highway Patrol
R714-160 Equipment Standards for Passenger Vehicle 

and Light Truck Safety Inspections
  43104 AMD 12/06/2018 2018-16/25

Peace Officer Standards and Training
R728-503 Utah Minimum Standards for All Emergency 

Pursuit Policies to be Adopted by Public 
Agencies that Operate Authorized Emergency 
Pursuit Vehicles

  43366 5YR 11/12/2018 2018-23/133
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Administration
R746-1-201 Complaints   42670 AMD 05/10/2018 2018-7/136
R746-8 Utah Universal Public Telecommunications 

Service Support Fund (UUSF)
  42424 NEW 02/21/2018 2018-2/18

R746-8 Utah Universal Public Telecommunications 
Service Support Fund (UUSF)

  42850 AMD 06/21/2018 2018-10/118

R746-8 Utah Universal Public Telecommunications 
Service Support Fund (UUSF)

  43324 AMD 12/24/2018 2018-22/157

R746-8-403 Lifeline Support   42632 AMD 04/24/2018 2018-6/26
R746-110 Uncontested Matters to be Adjudicated 

Informally
  42768 5YR 04/05/2018 2018-9/75

R746-210 Utility Service Rules Applicable Only to Electric 
Utilities

  42767 5YR 04/05/2018 2018-9/75

R746-240 Telecommunication Service Rules   42769 5YR 04/05/2018 2018-9/76
R746-330 Rules for Water and Sewer Utilities Operating 

in Utah
  42590 5YR 02/14/2018 2018-5/157

R746-332 Depreciation Rates for Water Utilities   42593 5YR 02/14/2018 2018-5/157
R746-340 Service Quality for Telecommunications 

Corporations
  42770 5YR 04/05/2018 2018-9/77

R746-341 Lifeline Rule   42423 REP 02/21/2018 2018-2/24
R746-343 Rule for Deaf, Severely Hearing or Speech 

Impaired Person
  42425 REP 02/21/2018 2018-2/28

R746-344 Filing Requirements for Telephone 
Corporations with Less Than 5,000 Access 
Line Subscribers

  43056 5YR 07/03/2018 2018-15/105

R746-345 Pole Attachments   43087 5YR 07/16/2018 2018-15/106
R746-347 Extended Area Service (EAS)   42589 5YR 02/14/2018 2018-5/158
R746-360 Universal Public Telecommunications Service 

Support Fund
  42426 REP 02/21/2018 2018-2/31

R746-365 Intercarrier Service Quality   43406 5YR 11/21/2018 2018-24/46
R746-402 Rules Governing Reports of Accidents by 

Electric, Gas, Telephone, and Water Utilities
  42592 5YR 02/14/2018 2018-5/158

R746-404 Regulation of Promotional Programs of Electric 
and Gas Public Utilities

  43088 5YR 07/16/2018 2018-15/106

R746-405 Filing of Tariffs for Gas, Electric, Telephone, 
and Water Utilities

  42591 5YR 02/14/2018 2018-5/159

R746-406 Advertising by Electric and Gas Utilities   43089 5YR 07/16/2018 2018-15/107
R746-409-1 General Provisions   42331 AMD 01/09/2018 2017-23/75
R746-450 Procedural and Informational Requirements for 

Solar Resource Solicitations and Acquisitions
  43329 NEW 12/24/2018 2018-22/163

R746-500 Americans With Disabilities Act Complaint 
Procedure

  43090 5YR 07/16/2018 2018-15/107

R746-600 Postretirement Benefits other than Pensions   43091 5YR 07/16/2018 2018-15/108

REGENTS (BOARD OF)

Administration
R765-136 Language Proficiency in the Utah System of 

Higher Education
  42866 EXD 05/01/2018 2018-10/159

R765-254 Secure Area Hearing Rooms   42867 EXD 05/01/2018 2018-10/159
R765-555 Policy on Colleges and Universities Providing 

Facilities, Goods and Services in Competition 
with Private Enterprise

  42868 EXD 05/01/2018 2018-10/159

R765-605 Higher Education Success Stipend Program   42789 5YR 04/11/2018 2018-9/77
R765-605 Higher Education Success Stipend Program   42722 NSC 04/12/2018 Not Printed
R765-611 Veterans Tuition Gap Program   42860 AMD 08/31/2018 2018-10/123

University of Utah, Administration
R805-1 Operating Regulations for Bicycles, 

Skateboards, Rollerskates and Scooters (Non-
Motorized Riding Devices)

  42617 5YR 02/22/2018 2018-6/50

R805-2 Government Records Access and Management 
Act Procedures

  43024 5YR 06/26/2018 2018-14/58
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University of Utah, Commuter Services
R810-1 University of Utah Parking Regulations   42512 NEW 04/05/2018 2018-4/60
R810-8 Vendor Regulations   42513 NEW 04/05/2018 2018-4/62

SCHOOL AND INSTITUTIONAL TRUST LANDS

Administration
R850-5-300 Royalties   43103 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R850-6-200 Definitions   42945 AMD 08/07/2018 2018-13/114
R850-8 Adjudicative Proceedings   43102 NSC 08/01/2018 Not Printed
R850-40 Easements   42678 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/137
R850-50 Range Management   42677 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/139
R850-61 Native American Grave Protection and 

Repatriation
  43362 5YR 11/08/2018 2018-23/133

R850-110 Motor Vehicle Travel Designations   43363 5YR 11/08/2018 2018-23/134

SCIENCE TECHNOLOGY AND RESEARCH GOVERNING AUTHORITY

Administration
R856-1 USTAR Technology Acceleration Program 

Grants
  42360 R&R 01/23/2018 2017-24/22

R856-2 USTAR University-Industry Partnership 
Program Grants

  42357 R&R 01/23/2018 2017-24/28

R856-3 USTAR University Technology Acceleration 
Grants

  42359 R&R 01/23/2018 2017-24/36

R856-4 USTAR Science Technology Initiation Grant   42358 R&R 01/23/2018 2017-24/41
R856-5 Utah Science, Technology, and Research 

(USTAR) Energy Research Triangle Professors 
(ERT-P) Grant

  42356 R&R 01/23/2018 2017-24/48

R856-6 Utah Science, Technology and Research 
(USTAR) Energy Research Triangle Scholars 
(ERT-S) Grant

  42355 R&R 01/23/2018 2017-24/54

TAX COMMISSION

Administration
R861-1A-31 Declaratory Orders Pursuant to Utah Code 

Ann. Section 63G-4-503
  42823 AMD 09/10/2018 2018-10/126

Auditing
R865-9I-2 Determination of Utah Resident Individual 

Status Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 
59-10-103 and 59-10-136

  43199 AMD 11/13/2018 2018-19/84

R865-19S-32 Leases and Rentals Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Section 59-12-103

  43198 AMD 11/13/2018 2018-19/85

R865-19S-85 Sales and Use Tax Exemptions for Certain 
Purchases by a Manufacturing Facility 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-12-104

  43262 AMD 12/13/2018 2018-21/101

R865-19S-121 Sales and Use Tax Exemptions for Certain 
Purchases by a Mining Facility Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Section 59-12-104

  43263 AMD 12/13/2018 2018-21/103

R865-19S-122 Sales and Use Tax Exemptions for Certain 
Purchases by a Web Search Portal 
Establishment Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 59-12-104

  43264 AMD 12/13/2018 2018-21/105

Property Tax
R884-24P-5 Abatement or Deferral of Property Taxes of 

Indigent Persons Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 59-2-1107 through 59-2-1109 and 59-
2-1202(5)

  43206 NSC 09/20/2018 Not Printed

R884-24P-33 2018 Personal Property Valuation Guides and 
Schedules Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 
59-2-301

  43200 AMD 11/13/2018 2018-19/87

R884-24P-53 2018 Valuation Guides for Valuation of Land 
Subject to the Farmland Assessment Act 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-515

  43261 AMD 12/13/2018 2018-21/106
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TECHNOLOGY SERVICES

Administration
R895-4 Sub-Domain Naming Conventions for 

Executive Branch Agencies
  43228 5YR 10/03/2018 2018-21/149

R895-6 IT Plan Submission Rule for Agencies   43229 5YR 10/03/2018 2018-21/149
R895-12 Telecommunications Services and 

Requirements
  42528 EXD 01/30/2018 2018-4/117

R895-12 Telecommunications Services and 
Requirements

  42529 EMR 01/30/2018 2018-4/92

TRANSPORTATION

Administration
R907-64 Longitudinal and Wireless Access to Interstate 

System Rights-of-Way for Installation of 
Telecommunication Facilities

  43167 5YR 08/27/2018 2018-18/36

R907-65 Compensation Schedule for Longitudinal 
Access to Interstate Highway Rights-of-Way for 
Installation of Telecommunications Facilities

  43168 5YR 08/27/2018 2018-18/37

R907-67 Debarment of Contractors from Work on 
Department Projects -- Reasons

  43169 5YR 08/27/2018 2018-18/37

R907-80 Disposition of Surplus Land   42688 AMD 05/09/2018 2018-7/142

Motor Carrier
R909-1 Safety Regulations for Motor Carriers   42494 AMD 03/28/2018 2018-4/63
R909-2 Utah Size and Weight Rule   43254 AMD 12/12/2018 2018-21/111
R909-19 Safety Regulations for Tow Truck Operations - 

Tow Truck Requirements for Equipment, 
Operation, and Certification

  42336 AMD 01/24/2018 2017-24/60

Operations, Construction
R916-2 Prequalification of Contractors   42690 AMD 05/09/2018 2018-7/148
R916-4 Construction Manager/General Contractor 

Contracts
  42616 AMD 04/23/2018 2018-6/28

Operations, Maintenance
R918-4 Using Volunteer Groups and Third Party 

Contractors for the Adopt-a-Highway and 
Sponsor-a-Highway Litter Pickup Programs

  43124 EXT 07/31/2018 2018-16/39

R918-4 Using Volunteer Groups and Third-Party 
Contractors for the Adopt-a-Highway and 
Sponsor-a-Highway Litter Pickup Programs

  43241 5YR 10/08/2018 2018-21/150

R918-6 Maintenance Responsibility at Intersections, 
Overcrossings, and Interchanges between 
Class A Roads and Class B or Class C Roads

  42392 AMD 02/07/2018 2018-1/53

Operations, Traffic and Safety
R920-6 Snow Tire and Chain Requirements   42689 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/151
R920-30 State Safety Oversight   43255 R&R 12/12/2018 2018-21/126

Preconstruction
R930-8 Utility Relocations Required by Highway 

Projects
  43096 AMD 09/28/2018 2018-16/28

Program Development
R926-10 Tollway Development Agreements   43170 5YR 08/27/2018 2018-18/38
R926-11 Clean Fuel Vehicle Decal Program   43446 5YR 12/14/2018 Not Printed
R926-13 Designated Scenic Byways   43160 AMD 10/23/2018 2018-18/27

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Administration
R940-2 Approval of Tollway Development Agreements   43174 5YR 08/30/2018 2018-18/38
R940-3 Procedures for Transportation Infrastructure 

Loan Fund Assistance
  43447 5YR 12/14/2018 Not Printed
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R940-4 Airports of Regional Significance   43175 5YR 08/30/2018 2018-18/39

UTECH BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Administration
R945-1 UTech Scholarship   43093 NEW 09/07/2018 2018-15/92

WORKFORCE SERVICES

Administration
R982-800 Utah Data Research Center   42421 NEW 03/01/2018 2018-2/38

Employment Development
R986-100 Employment Support Programs   42927 AMD 07/23/2018 2018-12/23
R986-200-236 Earned Income   42853 AMD 08/31/2018 2018-10/128
R986-600 Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act   42693 AMD 05/08/2018 2018-7/154
R986-700 Child Care Assistance   42855 AMD 07/01/2018 2018-10/130
R986-700-779 Educational Improvement Opportunities 

Outside of the Regular School Day Grant 
Program

  43086 AMD 09/07/2018 2018-15/95

Housing and Community Development
R990-102 Homeless Shelter Cities Mitigation Restricted 

Account
  42939 NEW 07/23/2018 2018-12/31

Unemployment Insurance
R994-201 Definition of Terms in Employment Security Act   42735 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/157
R994-202 Employing Units   42736 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/157
R994-208 Wages   42737 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/158
R994-306 Charging Benefit Costs to Employers   42738 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/158
R994-307 Social Costs -- Relief of Charges   42739 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/159
R994-315 Centralized New Hire Registry Reporting   42740 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/159
R994-403 Claim for Benefits   42741 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/160
R994-405 Ineligibility for Benefits   42742 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/161
R994-405 Ineligibility for Benefits   42861 AMD 06/21/2018 2018-10/144
R994-508 Appeal Procedures   42743 5YR 03/29/2018 2018-8/161

124 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2019, Vol. 2019, No. 1


	UTAH STATE 
BULLETIN
	TABLE 
OF CONTENTS
	NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES
	43422
	43423
	43441
	43442
	43448
	43439
	43425
	43428
	43429
	43427
	43431
	43430
	43432
	43435
	43437
	43438
	43443
	43444
	43445

	FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION
	43426
	43436
	43421
	43440
	43434
	43424
	43446
	43447

	NOTICES OF
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES
	2018 RULES INDEX
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)


