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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between January 16, 2021, 12:00 a.m., and 
February 01, 2021, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the February 15, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least March 17, 2021.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through June 15, 2021, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R21-1 Filing No. 
53310 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Administrative Services 
Agency: Debt Collection 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 Wt, Floor 3 
City, state: Taylorsville, UT 84129-3742 
Mailing address: PO Box 141031  
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1031 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7713 

cweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R21-1.  Transfer of Collection Responsibility of State 
Agencies 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Section R21-1-10 is added on recommendation from the 
Office of the Legislative Auditor General.  Wording 
referring to Section R21-1-10 is added at Section R21-1-
7. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments allow the Office of State Debt Collection 
(OSDC) to create policies delaying payment of fees and 
penalties until 90 days after an incarcerated person is 
released from prison. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The OSDC Special Revenue Fund anticipates reduced 
revenue for collection fees but cannot estimate how the 
change will impact the office.  The office does not, 
however, anticipate that the change will result in a budget 
shortfall. 
 
B) Local governments: 

The added language will not result in any additional costs 
to the local governments.  None of the added language to 
this rule will impact local governments. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
Because the new language deals with collection of fees 
from incarcerated offenders, there will be no costs to small 
businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Because the new language deals with collection of fees 
from incarcerated offenders, there will be no costs to non-
small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Debtors affected by this change will realize a benefit 
commensurate to the revenue reduction realized by 
OSDC. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are not compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Administrative Services, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
I have reviewed the new language in Rule R21-1 with the 
Division of Finance Director and believe that these 
changes are reasonable and warranted.  There will be no 
fiscal impact on businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Jenney Rees, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
63A-3-502(3)(m) 

Subsection 
63A-3-502(4)(g) 

Subsection 
63A-3-502(6)(a) 

Subsection 
63A-3-502(6)(b) 

Subsection 
63A-3-502(7)(f) 

Section 15-1-4 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 

will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Janica Gines, 
Interim Director 

Date: 02/01/2021 

 
R21.  Administrative Services, Debt Collection. 
R21-1.  Transfer of Collection Responsibility of State Agencies. 
R21-1-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish the procedures by 
which agencies shall: 
 (1)  bill and make initial collection efforts according to a 
coordinated schedule[,]; 
 (2)  [the method to be used by agencies to ]transfer their 
delinquent accounts receivable to OSDC[the Office] or its designee for 
additional collection action[,]; 
 (3)  write-off of receivables[,]; and 
 (4)  [the procedures and allocation of]allocate the costs of 
collection established pursuant to Subsections 63A-3-502(4)(g), 63A-3-
502(6)(b), Section 15-1-4[,Utah Code,] and [by the Legislature in ]other 
applicable laws. 
 
R21-1-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is established pursuant to Section 63A-3-
504[Subsections 63A-3-502(3)(m), 63A-3-502(7)(f), 63A-3-502(4)(g), 
63A-3-502(6)(b), Section 15-1-4, and fees authorized by the 
Legislature in applicable laws.  Subsection 63A-3-502(3)(m) authorizes 
the Office to establish procedures for writing off accounts receivable for 
accounting and collection purposes. Subsection 63A-3-502(7)(f) 
authorizes the Office to require state agencies to bill and make initial 
collection efforts of its receivables up to the time the accounts must be 
transferred.  Subsection 63A-3-502(7)(a) authorizes the Office to require 
state agencies to transfer collection responsibility to the Office or its 
designee according to time limits specified by the Office.  Subsection 
63A-3-502(4)(g) authorizes Office to establish a fee to cover the 
administrative costs of collection, a late penalty fee and an interest 
charge by following the procedures and requirements of Section 63J-1-
504.  Subsection 63A-3-502(6)(b) prohibits the Office from assessing the 
interest charge established by the Office under Subsection 63A-3-
502(4)(g) on an account receivable subject to the postjudgment interest 
rate established by Section 15-1-4.  Section 15-1-4 requires civil and 
criminal judgments of the district court and justice court to bear interest 
at the federal postjudgment interest rate plus 2% and sets forth the 
procedures to be followed. The annual Appropriation Act authorizes the 
fees charged by the Office to collect accounts and allows the costs of 
collection to be collected from the debtor]. 
 
R21-1-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to terms defined in Section 63A-3-501, the 
following terms are defined below as follows: 
 (1)  "Delinquent" means any account receivable for which the 
state has not received payment in full by the payment demand date. 
 (2)  "Designee" means a Private Sector Collector or State 
Agency that the Office of State Debt Collection has contracted 
with to provide accounts receivable collection services. 
 (3)  "FINET" means the statewide accounting system 
centrally administered by the Division of Finance. 
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 [(3)](4)  "Payment demand date" is the date by which the 
agency requires payment for the account receivable that an entity has 
incurred. 
 [(4)](5)  "Skipped" means that the entity formerly transacting 
business with the state is not known at the address or telephone number 
previously used nor is any new address or telephone number known of 
the entity. 
 [(5)](6)  "Event" is the day the goods are purchased, services 
completed, fines, fees, and assessments are due, etc. 
 (7)  "OSDC" means the Office of State Debt Collection. 
 [(6)](8)  "Trust" means a receivable that is owed to a victim of 
a crime. 
 
R21-1-4.  Agency Billing and Collection Responsibility. 
 (1)  [Pursuant to Subsection 63A-3-502(3)(b), (d), and (f) as 
provided by Subsection 63G-3-201, state agencies]Agencies shall 
document and track agency receivables on [the State's central 
accounting system (FINET) ]FINET. 
 (a)  [unless the state agency has received an exemption from 
the ]An agency may apply to the Division of Finance and [Office of State 
Debt Collection]OSDC for an exemption to this subsection. 
 (b)  [If a state agency receives such an exemption, the state 
agency]An agency exempted under this section shall: 
 (i)  track [their ]receivables on the agency system;[ and] 
 (ii)  provide the [Office ]OSDC with quarterly receivable 
reports pursuant to 63A-3-502(7)(g)[.]; and 
 (ii)  [The]provide receivable reports [are due ]to 
[Office]OSDC no later than 45 days after the end of the quarter. 
 (2)  [State agency customers]Customers shall be billed within 
10 days from the event creating the receivable or the next billing cycle, 
if reoccurring. 
 (3)  The payment demand date shall be no later than 30 days 
from the event date unless the [state ]agency can demonstrate the 30 day 
demand date is not appropriate for the agency's business processes. 
 (4)  [State agencies ]Agencies shall contact customers for 
payment by phone or written notice when payment is not received 
within 10 days after the payment demand date. 
 (5)  [The Office has published guidelines for billing 
receivables and collecting delinquent accounts.  These guidelines include 
this rule and]Agencies shall review and comply with the statewide 
accounting FIACCT 06 policies available on the Division of Finance 
website, finance.utah.gov. 
 
R21-1-5.  Transfer of Collection Responsibility. 
 (1)  Each [state ]agency with delinquent accounts shall comply 
with the provisions of [Section]Subsection 63A-3-502(7)[, et seq.] 
unless prohibited by current state or federal statute or regulation. 
 (2)  [A state ]An agency or user of [the Office of State Debt 
Collection ]services shall transfer collection responsibility to OSDC[the 
Office], or its designee, when the account receivable is not paid within 
90 days of the initial billing or is delinquent 61 days. 
 (3)  [A state ]An agency [can ]may negotiate a different 
receivable transfer date with [the Office]OSDC by demonstrating how 
the state benefits from the negotiated transfer date. 
 
R21-1-6.  Format for Transfer of Accounts Receivable Data. 
 (1)  [(a)  State agencies ]Agencies shall transfer delinquent 
accounts to [the Office]OSDC or its designee electronically through 
FINET. 
 (2)  [State agencies ]Agencies exempted from using FINET 
for individual receivables shall work with [the Office]OSDC to generate 
an electronic placement file for [placing ]transferring delinquent accounts. 

 (2)[(b)]  Debts owed by business entities must be transferred 
by [State ]agencies with: 
 (a)[(1)]  a list of positively identified liable parties; and[.] 
 (b)[(2)]  a Federal tax identification number[numbers] for each 
liable party. 
 
R21-1-7.  Costs of Collection. 
[ Pursuant to Subsections 63A-3-502(4) (g), Section 15-1-4, 
Utah Code, and by the legislature in applicable laws, the Office shall 
charge penalty, interest, and administrative costs of collection and shall 
collect these costs in addition to the receivable balance from the debtor. 
]The fee calculation and payment priority for accounts receivable 
collected by OSDC shall be applied according to the following 
methodology. 
 (1)[(a)]  Except as specified in Section R21-1-10, 
pursuant[Pursuant] to Subsection 63A-3-502(4)(g)(i)[,]: 
 (a)  the costs of collection shall be charged on all accounts 
referred for collection;[ and ] 
 (b)  the cost shall be calculated based on the dollars collected 
times the rate authorized by the legislature[.]; and 
 (c)  the[The] cost of collection shall be paid first from each 
payment. 
 (2)[(b)]  The Penalty shall be calculated as a percent of the 
receivable balance referred for collection. 
 (a)  Two percent of each payment shall be applied to the 
outstanding penalty until the penalty is paid in full. 
 (b)  The penalty payment shall be calculated up to the 
authorized penalty percent set annually by the legislature, times the 
received payment amount. 
 (c)  The calculated penalty amount shall be paid after the costs 
of collection are determined and paid. 
 (3)[(c)]  Two types of interest shall be charged on accounts 
referred to OSDC[the Office]. 
 (a)  Postjudgment interest as established by Section 15-1-4[, 
Utah Code,] applies to receivables with judgments established by the 
courts with a sentencing date subsequent to May 5, 1999. 
 (i)  Postjudgment interest accrues on the unpaid judgment 
balance of the receivable. 
 (ii)  Postjudgment interest that accrues on a trust, or the trust 
portion of a receivable, shall be paid subsequent to the state's 
outstanding receivable. 
 (b)  [All other state ]Other receivables referred to OSDC[the 
Office] are charged an interest rate[charge] pursuant to Subsection 63A-
3-502 (4) (g)(iii)(B), [Utah Code. This interest is ]referred to as OSDC 
interest. 
 (i)  OSDC accrued interest shall be paid from each payment 
up to 5% of the payment after the payment of the costs of collection 
and 2% penalty. 
 (ii)  OSDC accrued interest shall be paid pursuant to 
Subsection R21-1-7(4)[ except] on trust receivables or receivables 
including a trust account. 
 (4)[(d)]  Each payment received on trust receivables shall be 
applied to the following items in the priority listed until the payment is 
fully disbursed: 
 (a)  First, [1st - ]cost of collection[,]; 
 (b)  Second, [2nd - ]2% penalty[,]; 
 (c)  Third, [3rd - ]the trust receivable balance up to the total 
amount of the receivable[,]; and 
 (d)  Fourth, [4th - ]the accrued postjudgment interest. 
 (5)[(e)]  Each payment received on receivables that include 
trust[(s)] and state receivable balances shall be applied to the following 
items in the priority listed until the payment is fully disbursed: 
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 (a)  First, [1st - ]cost of collection[,]; 
 (b)  Second, [2nd ]2% [- ]penalty[,]; 
 (c)  Third, [3rd - ]the trust(s) receivable balance until paid 
in full[,]; 
 (d)  Fourth, [4th - ]accrued post-judgment or OSDC interest 
on the state receivable balance[,]; 
 (e)  Fifth, [5th - ]the state receivable balance[,]; and 
 (f)  Sixth, [6th - ]the accrued trust post-judgment interest. 
 (6)[(f)]  Each payment received on receivables owed only to 
the state shall be applied to the following items in the priority listed 
until the payment is fully disbursed: 
 (a)  First, [1st - ]cost of collection[,]; 
 (b)  Second, [2nd ]2% [- ]penalty payment[,]; 
 (c)  Third, [3rd - ]5% accrued post-judgment or OSDC 
interest[,]; and 
 (d)  Fourth, [4th - ]the receivable balance. 
 (7)(a)[(g)]  Trust Payments sent to victims of crimes that are 
returned to [the Office]OSDC because of bad addresses, shall be 
retained by [the Office]OSDC, until the victim is located or statute 
requires transfer to another [State ]agency. 
 (b)  [Regardless, payments]Payments shall continue to be 
applied to the trust balance[(s)] until liquidated, and there after applied 
to other applicable debts[State debt]. 
 
R21-1-8.  Write Off of Accounts Receivable. 
 [State agencies]Agencies shall follow the statewide 
Accounting Policies and Procedures outlined in FIACCT 06-01.14 and 
06-02.04, available from the state Division of Finance at 
finance.utah.gov. 
 
R21-1-9.  Original Signature Required on Certain [Office of State 
Debt Collection (]OSDC[)] Documents. 
 An [O]original [S]signature is [R]required by [the Office of 
State Debt Collection (]OSDC[)] on the following documents: 
 (1)  Victim Settlement Agreement; 
 (2)  [OSDC ]Debt Repayment Contract Agreement; 
 (3)  Wage Assignments to pay debts; 
 (4)  Authority for the automatic transfer of funds (EFT) to pay 
debts; and 
 (5)  Authority for the automatic Credit/Debit Card charge to 
pay debts. 
 
R21-1-10.  Delay and Remission of Fees and Penalties. 
 (1)  OSDC shall create policies for the purpose of remitting 
fees and penalties to incentivize payment of debts. 
 (2)  When OSDC receives a criminal account receivable for 
an offender who is incarcerated for the same criminal offense, OSDC 
may not apply fees or penalties for the receivable until 90 days after 
the debtor is released from prison. 
 
KEY:  accounts receivable, collection transfer 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[August 
7, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 7, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-3-
502(3)(m); 63A-3-502(4)(g); 63A-3-502(6)(a); 63A-3-502(6)(b); 
63A-3-502(7)(f); 15-1-4 
 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R52-7 Filing No. 
53286 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Horse Racing Commission (Utah) 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road  
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500  
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  801-

982-
2204 

ambrown@utah.gov 

Dean Taylor 801-
982-
2243 

dtaylor@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R52-7.  Horse Racing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Department of Agriculture and Food (Department) 
needs to update this rule to include a recently released 
version of the Controlled Therapeutic Medication 
Schedule for Horses and decrease the amount of time a 
horse must be present prior to a race based on feedback 
from the industry.  The Department would also like to take 
the opportunity to make nonsubstantive changes what will 
make the rule text more consistent with the requirements 
of the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
In Section R52-7-8, the requirement for a horse to be 
present prior to a race is changed from five hours to four 
hours. 
 
In Subsection R52-7-13(3), a change is made to clarify the 
conditions under which some items on the list of Prohibited 
Substances may be used.  An updated version of the 
Controlled Therapeutic Medication Schedule for Horses is 
incorporated. 
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Additionally, throughout this rule text, nonsubstantive 
changes have been made to make this rule more 
consistent with the Utah Rulewriting Manual, as well as 
more internally consistent in terms of numbering, 
capitalization, grammar, and list and sentence structure. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The changes are just clarifying this rule and do not change 
the costs to the Horse Racing Commission or businesses 
as related to horse racing in Utah. 
 
B) Local governments: 

Local governments are not affected by this rule changes 
because they do not administer or participate in the horse 
racing program. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The changes do not affect the cost of small businesses 
participating in horse racing in Utah because they just add 
clarity to this rule. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes do not affect the cost of non-small 
businesses participating in horse racing in Utah because 
they just add clarity to this rule. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons are not affected by the rule changes 
because they just clarify this rule with regard to prohibited 
substances and exemptions. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The compliance costs for affected persons have not 
changed.  Fees charged by the Horse Racing Commission 
will remain the same. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Acting Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approves 
the fiscal impact analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The rule changes will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses in the . 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Craig W. Buttars, Acting Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 4-38-104   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
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 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Controlled Therapeutic Medication 
Schedule for Horses  

Publisher Utah Horse Racing Commission  

Date Issued December 2020 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Acting 
Commissioner  

Date: 01/15/2021 

 
R52.  Agriculture and Food, Horse Racing Commission (Utah). 
R52-7.  Horse Racing. 
R52-7-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-38-104. 
 
R52-7-2.  Definitions. 
 The following definitions shall apply in these rules unless 
otherwise indicated. 
 1.  "Act" means the Utah Horse Regulation Act. 
 2.  "Added money" means all monies added to the fees paid 
by the horsemen into the purse for a race. 
 3.  "Age" of a horse is reckoned as beginning on the first day 
of January in the year in which the horse is foaled. 
 4.  "Also Eligible" pertains to[ ]: 
 ([a]A)  a number of eligible horses, properly entered, 
[which]that were not drawn for inclusion in a race, but [which]that 
become eligible according to preference or lot if an entry is scratched 
prior to scratch time deadline; or 

 ([b]B)  the next preferred nonqualifier for the finals or 
consolation from a set of elimination trials [which]that will become 
eligible in the event a finalist is scratched by the stewards for a rule 
violation or is otherwise eligible if written race conditions permit. 
 5.  "Arrears" means money past due for entrance fees, jockey 
fees, or nomination or supplemental fees in nomination races, and 
therefore in default incidental to these Rules or the conditions of a race. 
 6.  "Authorized Agent" means a person appointed by a written 
instrument, signed and acknowledged before a notary public by the 
owner in whose behalf the Agent will act.  [Said]The instrument 
[must]shall be on file with the Commission and its authorized 
representatives. 
 7.  "Bleeder" means a horse which during or following 
exercise or the race is observed to be shedding blood from one or both 
nostrils, or the mouth, or hemorrhaging in the lumen of the respiratory 
tract. 
 8.  "Breeder" of a horse is the owner or lessee of its dam at the 
time of breeding. 
 9.  "Closing" means the time published by the organization 
after which nominations or entries will not be accepted for a race. 
 10.  "Commission" means the Utah Horse Racing 
Commission. 
 11.  "Commissioner" means a member of the Commission. 
 12.  "Conditions of a race" are the qualifications [which]that 
determine a horse's eligibility to enter. 
 13.  "Day" is a period of 24 hours beginning at midnight. 
 14.  "Race day" is a day during which horse races are 
conducted. 
 15.  "Declaration" means the act of withdrawing an entered 
horse from a race before the closing of overnight entries. 
 16.  "Drug [(]or Medication[)]" means a substance foreign to 
the normal physiology of the horse. 
 17.  "Enclosure" means [all ]areas of the property of an 
organization licensee to which admission can be obtained only by 
payment of an admission fee or upon presentation of proper credentials 
and [all ]parking areas designed to serve the facility [which ]are owned 
or leased by the organization licensee. 
 18.  "Entry" means a horse made eligible to run in a race. 
 19.  "Family" means a husband, wife, and any dependent 
children. 
 20.  "Field" means [all ]horses competing in a race. 
 21.  "Financial Interest" means an interest that could result in 
directly or indirectly receiving a pecuniary gain or sustaining a 
pecuniary loss as a result of ownership or interest in a business entity, or 
as a result of salary, gratuity, or other compensation or remuneration 
from any person. 
 22.  "Foreign Substances" are [all]any substances, except 
those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at normal 
physiological concentration, and shall include [but not be limited to all 
]narcotics, stimulants, or depressants. 
 23.  "Foul" means an action by any horse or jockey that 
hinders or interferes with another horse or jockey during the running of 
a race. 
 24.  "Horse" means an equine of any breed and includes a 
stallion, gelding, mare, colt, filly, spayed mare or ridgeling. 
 25.  "Horse Racing" means any type of horse racing, including 
Arabian, Appaloosa, Paint, Pinto, Quarter Horse, and Thoroughbred 
horse racing. 
 26.  Horse Racing Types: 
 A.  "Appaloosa Horse Racing" means the form of horse racing 
in which each participating horse is an Appaloosa horse registered with 
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the Appaloosa Horse Club or any successor organization and mounted 
by a jockey. 
 B.  "Arabian Horse Racing" means the form of horse racing 
in which each participating horse is an Arabian horse registered with the 
Arabian Horse Club Registry of America and approved by the Arabian 
Horse Racing Association of America or any successor organization, 
mounted by a jockey, and engaged in races on the flat over a distance of 
not less than one-quarter mile or more than four miles. 
 C.  "Paint Horse Racing" means the form of horse racing in 
which each participating horse is a Paint horse registered with the 
American Paint Horse Association or any successor organization and 
mounted by a jockey. 
 D.  "Pinto Horse Racing" means the form of horse racing in 
which each participating horse is a Pinto horse registered with the Pinto 
Horse Association of America, Inc., or any successor organization and 
mounted by a jockey. 
 E.  "Quarter Horse Racing" means the form of horse racing 
[where]in which each participating horse is a Quarter Horse registered 
with the American Quarter Horse Association or any successor 
organization, mounted by a jockey, and engaged in a race over a distance 
of less than one-half mile. 
 F.  "Thoroughbred Horse Racing" means the form of horse 
racing in which each participating horse is a Thoroughbred horse 
registered with the Jockey Club or any successor organization, mounted 
by a Jockey, and engaged in races on the flat. 
 27.  "Inquiry" means the stewards immediate investigation 
into the running of a race which may result in the disqualification of one 
or more horses. 
 28.  "Jockey" means the rider licensed to race. 
 29.  "Jockey Agent" means a licensed authorized 
representative of a jockey. 
 30.  "Lessee" means a licensed owner whose interest in a 
horse is by virtue of a completed Commission-approved lease form 
attached to the registration certificate and on file with the Commission. 
 31.  "Lessor" means the owner of the horse that is leased. 
 32.  "Maiden" means a horse that has never won a race 
recognized by the official race records of the particular horse's breed 
registry. A maiden which has been disqualified after finishing first is still 
a maiden. 
 33.  "Minor" means any individual under 18 years of age. 
 34.  "Nominator" means the person who nominated the horse 
as a possible contender in a race. 
 35.  "Objection" means: 
 A.  [A]a written complaint made to the Stewards concerning 
a horse entered in a race and filed not later than two hours prior to the 
scheduled post time for the first race on the day which the questioned 
horse is entered; or 
 B.  [A]a verbal claim of foul in a race lodged by the horse's 
jockey, trainer, owner, or the owners licensed Authorized Agent before 
the race is declared official. 
 36.  "Occupation License" means a requirement for any 
person acting in any capacity within the enclosure during the race 
meeting. 
 37.  "Occupation Licensee" means a person who has obtained 
an occupation license. 
 38.  "Utah Bred Horse" means a horse that is sired by a stallion 
standing in Utah. 
 39.  "Organization License" means a requirement of any 
person desiring to conduct a race meeting within the state of Utah. 
 40.  "Organization Licensee" means any person receiving an 
organization license. 

 41.  "Owner" means any person who holds, in whole or in 
part, any rights, title, or interest in a horse, or any lessee of a horse who 
has been duly issued a currently valid owner's license as a person 
responsible for such horse. 
 42.  "Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
syndicate, another association or entity. 
 43.  "Post Position" means the position in the starting gate 
assigned to the horse for the race. 
 44.  "Post Time" means the advertised time for the arrival of 
the horses at the start of the race. 
 45.  "Protest" means a written complaint, signed by the 
protester, against any horse which has started in a race and shall be made 
to the Stewards within 48 hours after the running of the race, except as 
noted in Subsection R52-7-10(8). 
 46.  "Race Meeting" means the entire period of time not to 
exceed 20 calendar days separating any race days for which an 
organization license has been granted to a person by the Commission to 
hold horse racing. 
 47.  "Allowance" means a race in which eligibility [and/]or 
the weight to be carried are based upon the horse's past performance 
over a specified time. 
 48.  "Handicap" means a race in which the weights to be 
carried by the entered horses are assigned according to the Racing 
Secretary's evaluation of each horse's potential for the purpose of 
equalizing their respective chances of winning. 
 49.  "Invitational" means a race in which the competing horses 
are selected by inviting their owners to enter specific horses. 
 50.  "Match" means a race contest between two horses with 
prior consent by the Commission under conditions agreed to by the 
owners. 
 51.  "Nomination" means a race in which the subscription to 
a payment schedule nominates and sustains the eligibility of a particular 
horse. Nominations [must]shall close at least 72 hours before the first 
post time of the day the race is originally scheduled to be run. 
 52.  "Progeny" means a race restricted to the offspring of a 
specific stallion or stallions. 
 53.  "Purse Race (Overnight)" means any race in which entries 
close less than 72 hours prior to its running. 
 54.  "Schooling Race" means a preparatory race for entry 
qualification in official races [which]that conform to requirements 
adopted by the Commission. 
 55.  "Stakes" means a race which is eligible for stakes or 
"black-type" recognition by the particular breed registry. 
 56.  "Trials" means a set of races in which eligible horses 
compete to determine the finalists for a purse in a nominated race. 
 57.  "Restricted Area" means any area within the enclosure 
where access is limited to licensees whose occupation requires access.  
Those areas which are restricted shall include [but not be limited to, ]the 
barn area, paddock, test barn, Stewards Tower, race course, or any other 
area designated restricted by the organization licensee [and/]or the 
Commission.  Signs giving notice of restricted access shall be 
prominently displayed at [all]each entry point[s]. 
 58.  "Rules" means the rules herein prescribed and any 
amendments or additions. 
 59.  "Scratch" means the act of withdrawing an entered horse 
from a race after the closing of overnight entries. 
 60.  "Scratch Time" means the deadline set by the 
organization licensee for the withdrawing of entered horses. 
 61.  "Starter" means the horse whose stall door of the starting 
gate opens in front of such horse at the time the starter [(the Official) 
]dispatches the horses. 
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 62.  "Subscription" means the act of nominating a horse to a 
nomination race. 
 63.  "Week" means a period of seven days beginning at 12:01 
a.m., Monday during which races are conducted. 
 
R52-7-3.  Commission Powers and Jurisdiction. 
 1.  Description and Powers.  The Utah Horse Racing 
Commission is an administrative body created by Section 4-38-103. The 
Commission consists of five members [which]that are appointed by the 
governor, and whose powers and duties are prescribed by the legislature.  
The Commission appoints an executive director who is the 
administrative head of the agency, and the Commission determines the 
duties of the executive director.  The Commission shall have supervision 
of [all]any sanctioned race meetings held in the State of Utah, [and 
all]any occupation and organization licensees in the State, and [all]any 
persons on the property of an organization licensee. 
 2.  Jurisdiction.  Without limitations by specific mention 
hereof, the stated purposes of the Rules and Regulations hereby 
promulgated are[ as follows]: 
 A.  [T]to encourage agriculture and breeding of horses in this 
State;[ and] 
 B.  [T]to maintain race meetings held in the State of the 
highest quality and free of any horse racing practices [which]that are 
corrupt, incompetent, dishonest or unprincipled;[ and] 
 C.  [T]to maintain the appearance as well as the fact of 
complete honesty and integrity of horse racing in this State; and 
 D.  [T]to generate public revenues. 
 E.  Commission jurisdiction of a race meet commences one 
hour prior to post time and ends one hour following the last posted race. 
 3.  Controlling Authority.  The law, the rules, and the orders 
of the Commission supersede the conditions of a race meeting and 
govern Thoroughbred, Quarter Horse, Appaloosa, Arabian, Paint and 
Pinto racing, except in the event [it]they can have no application to a 
specific type of racing.  In the latter case, the Stewards may enforce rules 
or conditions of The Jockey Club for Thoroughbred racing, the 
American Quarter Horse Association for Quarter Horse racing; the 
Appaloosa Horse Club for Appaloosa racing; the Arabian Horse Racing 
Association of America for Arabian racing; the American Paint Horse 
Association for Paint racing; and the Pinto Horse Association of 
America, Inc., for Pinto racing; if such rules or conditions are not 
inconsistent with the Laws of the State of Utah and the Rules of the 
Commission. 
 4.  Commission Meetings. The following provisions govern 
any meeting at which a voting majority of [c]Commission members 
appear at the anchor location, by telephone, or electronically pursuant to 
Utah Code Section 52-4-207: 
 [(a)]A.  If enough [c]Commission members [which]to 
constitute a voting majority intend to participate electronically or by 
telephone, public notices of the meeting shall be posted.  In addition, the 
notice shall specify the anchor location where the members of the 
commission not participating electronically or by telephone will be 
meeting and where interested persons and the public may attend, 
monitor, and participate in the open portions of the meeting. 
 [(b)]B.  Notice of the meeting and the agenda shall be posted 
at the anchor location.  Written or electronic notice shall also be posted 
on the Public Notice Website.  These notices shall be provided at least 
24 hours before the meetings. 
 [(c)]C.  Notice of the possibility of an electronic meeting shall 
be given to the [c]Commission members at least 24 hours before the 
meeting.  In addition, the notice shall describe how a [c]Commission 
member may participate in the meeting electronically or by telephone. 

 [(d)]D.  When notice is given of the possibility of a member 
appearing electronically or by telephone, any [c]Commission member 
may do so and shall be counted as present for purposes of a quorum and 
may fully participate and vote on any matter coming before the 
commission.  At the commencement of the meeting, or at such time as 
any [c]Commission member initially appears electronically or by 
telephone, the chair shall identify for the record [all ]those who are 
appearing by telephone or electronically.  Votes by members of the 
[c]Commission who are not at the physical location of the meeting shall 
be confirmed by the chair. 
 [(e)]E.  The anchor location, unless otherwise designated in 
the notice, shall be at the offices of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, 350 N Redwood Road, Salt Lake City, Utah.  The anchor location 
is the physical location from which the electronic meeting originates or 
from which the participants are connected.  In addition, the anchor 
location shall have space and facilities so that interested persons and the 
public may attend, monitor, and participate in the open portions of the 
meeting. 
 5.  Punishment [B]by The Commission.  Violation of the 
[A]act and rules promulgated by the Commission, whether or not a 
penalty is fixed therein, is punishable in the discretion of the 
Commission by denial, revocation or suspension of any license; by fine; 
by exclusion from [all ]racing enclosures under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission; or by any combination of these penalties.  Fines imposed 
by the Commission shall not exceed $10,000 against individuals for 
each violation[,] of any [R]rules [or regulations ]promulgated by the 
Commission, [or ]any Order of the Commission[;], or for any other 
action which, in the discretion of the Commission, is a detriment or 
impediment to horse racing, according to Subsection 4-38-[9(2)]301(4). 
 6.  Extension [F]for Compliance.  If a licensee fails to perform 
an act or obtain required action from the Commission within the time 
prescribed therefore by these [R]rules, the Commission, at some 
subsequent time, may allow the performance of such act or may take the 
necessary action with the same effect as if the same were performed 
within the prescribed time. 
 7.  Notice [T]to Licensee.  Whenever notice is required to be 
given by the Commission or the Stewards, [such]the notice shall be 
given in writing by personal delivery to the person to be notified or by 
mailing, Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested, [such notice ]to the 
last known address furnished to the Commission; or may be given as is 
provided for service of process in a civil proceeding in the State of Utah 
and pursuant to [the]Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures 
Act. 
 8.  Location [F]for Information [O]or Filing [W]with 
Commission.  When information is requested or a notice in any matter 
is required to be filed with the Commission, such notice shall be 
delivered to an authorized representative of the Commission at an office 
of the Commission on or before the filing deadline.  Offices of the 
Commission are currently located at:  [State of ]Utah[,] Department of 
Agriculture and Food, 350 North Redwood Road, Salt Lake City, UT 
84116. 
 9.  Public Inspection [O]of Documents.  [All f]Forms adopted 
by the Commission together with [all]any [R]rules and other written 
statements of policy or interpretation; and [all]any final orders, 
decisions, and opinions, formulated, adopted, or used by the 
Commission in the discharge of its functions are available for public 
inspection at the above office. 
 10.  Forms [A]and Instruction.  The following forms and 
instructions for their use have been adopted by the Commission: 
 A.  Apprentice Jockey Certificate; 
 B.  Authorized Agent Agreement; 
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 C.  Fingerprint Card; 
 D.  Identifier's Daily Report; 
 E.  Lease Agreement; 
 F.  Occupation Licensee Application(s); 
 G.  Occupation License Renewal Application(s); 
 H.  Open Claim Certificate; 
 I.  Organization's Daily Report; 
 J.  Organization Licensee Application; 
 K.  Petition for Declaratory Ruling; 
 L.  Petition for Promulgation, Amendment or Repeal of Rule; 
 M.  Petition in and before the Utah Horse Commission; 
 N.  Postmortem Examination Report; 
 O.  Stable Name, Corporation, Partnership or Syndicate 
Registration Form; 
 P.  Stewards' Daily Report; 
 Q.  Stewards' Hearing Notice; 
 R.  Stewards' Hearing Reports; 
 S.  Subpoena (Steward and Commission); and 
 T.  Test Barn Diuretic Approval Form. 
 11.  Forms for substituting petitions for promulgating or 
repealing of rules, and for requests for declaratory ruling are available at 
the Utah [State ]Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 
R52-7-4.  Racing Organization. 
 1.  Allocation [O]of Racing Dates.  The Commission shall 
allocate racing dates for the conduct of horse race meetings within this 
State for such time periods and at such racing locations as the 
Commission determines will best serve the interests of the people of [the 
State of ]Utah in accordance with Title 4, Chapter 38, the Utah Horse 
Regulation Act.  Upon a finding by the Commission that the allocation 
of racing dates for any year is completed, the racing dates [so ]allocated 
shall be subject to reconsideration or amendment only for conditions 
unforeseen at the time of allocation. 
 2.  Application [F]for License [A]and Days [T]to Conduct 
[A]a Horse Race Meeting.  [Every]Each person who intends to conduct 
a horse race meeting shall file such application with the Commission no 
later than August 1 of the preceding calendar year.  Any prospective 
applicant for license and days to conduct a horse race meeting failing to 
timely file the application for license may be disqualified and its 
application for license refused summarily by the Commission. 
 3.  Commission [M]may Demand Information.  The 
Commission may require any racing organization or prospective racing 
organization to furnish the Commission with a detailed proposal and 
disclosures as to its proposed racing program, purse, program, financial 
projections, racing officials, principals or shareholders, plants, premises, 
facility, finances, lease arrangements, agreements, contracts, and such 
other information as the Commission may require to determine the 
eligibility and qualification of the organization to conduct a race 
meeting,[; all] in addition to that required in the application form set 
forth in Subsection R52-7-4(4) and as required by Section 4-38-4. 
 4.  Application [F]for Organization License.  Any person 
desiring to conduct a horse race meeting where the public is charged an 
admission fee shall apply to the Commission for an organization license.  
The application shall be made on a form prescribed and furnished by the 
Commission.  The application shall contain the following information: 
 A.  [T]the dates on which and location where the applicant 
intends to conduct the race meeting[.]; 
 B.  [T]the name and mailing address of the person making the 
application[.]; 
 [1]C.  [I]if the applicant is a corporation, a certified copy of 
the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws[;], the names and mailing 
addresses of [all]any stockholders who own at least 3% of the total stock 

issued by the corporation, officers, and directors[;], and the number of 
shares of stock owned by each[.]; 
 [2]D.  [I]if the applicant is a partnership, a copy of the 
partnership agreement, and the names and mailing addresses of [all 
]general and limited partners with a statement of their respective interest 
in the partnership[.]; 
 [C]E.  a [D]description of photographic equipment, video 
equipment, and copies of any proposed lease or purchase contract or 
service agreement in connection therewith[.]; 
 [D]F.  [C]copies of any agreements with concessionaires or 
lessees, together with schedules of rates charged for performance of any 
service or for sale of any article within the enclosure, whether directly 
or through the concessionaire[.]; 
 [E]G.  [S]schedule of admission price(s) to be charged[.]; 
 [F]H.  [A]applicants [must]shall submit balance sheets and 
profit and loss statements for each of the three fiscal years immediately 
preceding the application, or for the period of organization if less than 
three years.  If the applicant has not completed a full fiscal year since its 
organization, or if it acquires or is to acquire the majority of its assets 
from a predecessor within the current fiscal year, the financial 
information shall be given for the current fiscal year.  [All f]Financial 
information shall be accompanied by an unqualified opinion of a 
Certified Public Accountant[;], or if the opinion is given with 
qualifications, the reasons for the qualifications [must]shall be stated[.]; 
 [G]I.  [A]a schedule of stall rent, entry fees, or any other 
charges to be made to the horsemen or public not mentioned above[.]; 
and 
 [H]J.  [A]any other information the Commission may require.  
For applicants requesting to conduct non pari-mutuel racing, the 
licensee fee shall not be less than $25.00. 
 5.  A separate application upon a form prescribed and 
furnished by the Commission shall be filed for each race meeting which 
such person proposes to conduct.  The application, if made by a person, 
shall be signed and verified under oath by the person; and if made by 
more than one person or by a partnership, shall be signed and verified 
under oath by at least two of the persons or members of the partnership; 
and if made by an association, a corporation, or any other entity, shall be 
signed by the President, attested to by the Secretary under the seal of 
such association or corporation, if it has a seal, and verified under oath 
by one of the signing officers. 
 6.  No person shall own any silent or undisclosed interest in 
any entity requesting an organization license.  No organization license 
shall be issued to any applicant that fails to comply with provisions of 
this [R]rule.  No incomplete license application shall be considered by 
the Commission. 
 [I]7.  In considering the granting or denying of [all]an 
organization's application for a license to conduct horse racing with the 
non pari-mutuel system of wagering, the following criteria, standards, 
and guides should be considered by the Commission: 
 [1]A.  [P]public [I]interest; 
 a.  [S]safety; 
 b.  [M]morals; 
 c.  [S]security; 
 d.  [M]municipal [C]comments; 
 e.  [Revenues:  S]state and [L]local revenues; 
 [2]B.  [T]track [L]location; 
 a.  [T]traffic [F]flow; 
 b.  [S]support [S]services [(i.e.,]such as hotels, restaurants, 
etc.[)]; 
 c.  [L]labor [S]supply; 
 d.  [P]public [S]services [(i.e.,]such as police, fire, etc.[)]; 
 e.  [P]proximity to [C]competition; 
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 [3]C.  [N]number of [T]tracks [R]running or [M]making 
[A]application; 
 a.  [S]size; 
 b.  [T]type of [R]racing; 
 c.  [D]days; 
 [4]D.  [A]adequacy of [T]track [F]facilities; 
 [5]E.  [E]experience in [R]racing of [A]applicant and 
[M]management; 
 a.  [L]length; 
 b.  [T]type; 
 c.  [S]success or[/F]failure; 
 [6]F.  [F]financial [Q]qualifications of [A]applicant, 
[A]applicant's [P]partners, [O]officers, [A]associates, and 
[S]shareholders, [( To Include]including [C]contract [S]services[)]; 
 a.  [F]financial [H]history; 
 (1)  [R]records; 
 (2)  [N]net [W]worth; 
 [7]G.  [Q]qualifications of [A]applicant, [A]applicant's 
[P]partners, [O]officers, [A]associates, and [S]shareholders [(To 
Include]including [C]contract [S]services[)]; 
 [(1)]a.  [A]arrest [R]record; 
 [(2)]b.  [C]conviction [R]record; 
 [(3)]c.  [L]litigation [R]record, [(C]civil[/] or [C]criminal[)]; 
 [(4)]d.  [L]law [E]enforcement [I]intelligence; 
 [8]H.  [O]official [A]attitude of [L]local [G]government 
[I]involved; 
 [9]I.  [A]anticipated [E]effect [U]upon [B]breeding and 
[H]horse [I]industry in Utah; 
 [10]J.  [E]effect on [S]saturation of [N]non pari-[M]mutuel 
[M]market; 
 [11]K.  [A]anticipated [E]effect upon [S]state's [E]economy; 
 a.  [G]general [E]economy; 
 (1)  [T]tourism; 
 (2)  [E]employment; 
 (3)  [S]support [I]industries; 
 b.  [G]government [R]revenue; 
 (1)  [T]direct or indirect tax[ (Direct/Indirect)]; 
 (2)  [I]direct or indirect income[ (Direct/Indirect)]; 
 [12]L.  [A]attitude of [L]local [C]community [I]involved; 
 [13]M.  [T]the [W]written [A]attitude of [H]horse [I]industry 
[A]associations; 
 [14]N.  [E]experience and [C]credibility of [C]consultants, 
[A]advisors, and [P]professionals; 
 a.  [F]feasibility; 
 b.  [C]credibility and [I]integrity of [F]feasibility [S]study; 
 [15]O.  [F]financial and [E]economic [I]integrity of 
[F]financial [P]plan; 
 [(1)]a.  [E]equity; 
 [a.](1)  [S]source; 
 [b.](2)  [A]amount; 
 [c.](3)  [P]position; 
 [d.](4)  [T]type; 
 [(2)]b.  [D]debt; 
 [a.](1)  [S]source; 
 [b.](2)  [A]amount; 
 [c.](3)  [T]terms; 
 [d.](4)  [R]repayment; 
 [(3)]c.  [E]equity to [D]debt [R]ratio; 
 [a.](1)  [I]integrity of [F]financing [P]plan; 
 [(1)]i.  [I]identity of [P]participants; 
 [(2)]ii  [R]role of [P]participants; 
 [(3)]iii  [H]history of [P]participants; 

 [(4)]iv.  [L]law [E]enforcement [I]intelligence; and 
 [16.]P.  [A]apparent or [N]non-[A]apparent [H]hope of 
[F]financial [S]success. 
 [5]8.  List [O]of Shareholders.  Each organization shall, if a 
corporation or partnership, maintain a current list of shareholders and 
the number of shares held by each[;]. [and such]The list shall be 
available for inspection upon demand by the Commission or its 
representatives.  The organization shall immediately inform the 
Commission of any change of corporate officers or directors, general or 
managing partners, or of any change in shareholders.[; provided, 
however, that] [i]If the organization is a publicly-held entity, it shall 
disclose the names and addresses of shareholders who own 3% of the 
outstanding shares of the organization.  The organization shall 
immediately notify the Commission of [all]any stock options, tender 
offers, and any anticipated stock offerings.  The Commission may refuse 
to issue a license to, or suspend the license of, any organization 
[which]that fails to disclose the real name of any shareholders. 
 [6]9.  Denial [O]of License.  The Commission may deny a 
license to conduct a horse racing meeting when in its judgment it 
determines the proposed meeting is not in the public interest, or fails to 
serve the purposes of Title 4, Chapter 38, the Utah Horse Regulation 
Act, or fails to meet any requirements of Utah State law or the 
Commission's rules.  The Commission shall refuse to issue a license to 
any applicant who fails to provide the Commission with evidence of its 
ability to meet its estimated financial obligations for the conduct of the 
meeting. 
 [7]10.  Duty [O]of Licensed Organization.  Each organization 
shall observe and enforce the rules of the Commission.  The license is 
granted on the condition that the organization, its officials, its 
employees, and its concessionaires shall obey the[all] decisions and 
orders of the Commission.  The organization shall not allow any 
wagering within the enclosure of the racing facility [which]that might 
be construed as being in violation of the [L]laws of the State of Utah. 
 [8]11.  Conditions [O]of A Race Meeting.  The organization 
may impose conditions for its race meeting as it may deem necessary; 
provided, however, that such conditions may not conflict with any 
requirements of Utah State Law or the [R]rules, [R]regulations and 
[O]orders of the Commission.  Such conditions shall be published in the 
Condition Book or otherwise made available to [all ]licensees 
participating in its race meeting.  A copy of the conditions and 
nomination race book shall be published no later than 45 days prior to 
the commencement of the race meeting.  A proof of such conditions and 
nomination race book shall be filed with the Commission no later than 
45 days prior to printing.  The conditions and nomination race book is 
subject to the approval of the Commission.  The organization may 
impose requirements, qualifications, requisites, and track rules for its 
race meeting as it may deem necessary; provided such requirements, 
qualifications, and track rules do not conflict with Utah State Law or the 
[R]rules, [R]regulations, and [O]orders of the Commission.  Such 
information shall be published in the Condition Book, posted on the 
organization's bulletin boards, or otherwise made available to [all 
]licensees participating at its race meeting. 
 [All]Any requirements, qualifications, requisites or track 
rules imposed by the organization require prior review and approval by 
the Commission, [which]that reserves the right of final decision in [all 
]matters pertaining to the conditions of a race meeting. 
 [9]12.  Right [O]of Commission [T]to Information.  The 
organization may be asked to furnish the Commission, on forms 
approved by the Commission, a daily itemized report of the receipts of 
attendance, parking, concessions, commissions, and any other requested 
information.  The organization shall also provide a corrected official 
program, completed race results charts approved by the Commission, 
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and any other information the Commission may require.  Such daily 
reports shall be filed with the Commission within 72 hours of the race 
day. 
 1[0]3.  Duty [T]to Compile Official Program.  The 
organization shall compile an official program for each racing day 
[which]that shall contain the names of the horses [which]that are to run 
in each race together with their respective post positions, post time for 
first race, age, color, sex, breeding, jockey, trainer, owners or stable 
name, racing colors, weight carried, conditions of the race, the order in 
which each race shall be run, the distance to be run, the value of each 
race, a list of Racing Officials and track management personnel, and any 
other information the Commission may require.  The Commission may 
direct the organization to publish in the program any other information 
and notices to the public as it deems necessary. 
 1[1]4.  Duty [T]to Maintain Racing Records.  The 
organization shall maintain a complete record of [all ]races of [all]each 
authorized race meeting[s] of the same type of racing being conducted 
by the organization, and such records shall be maintained and retained 
for a period of five years.  This requirement may be met by race records 
of Triangle Publications, the American Quarter Horse Association, the 
Appaloosa Horse Club, the American Paint Horse Association, other 
breed registry associations' racing records department, or other racing 
publications approved by the Commission. 
 1[2]5.  Horsemen's Bookkeeper.  The organization shall 
employ a Horsemen's Bookkeeper who shall maintain records as the 
organization and Commission shall direct.  The records shall include the 
name, address, social security or federal identification number, and the 
state or country of residence of each horse owner, trainer, or jockey 
participating at the race meeting who has funds due or on deposit in the 
horseman's account.  The Horsemen's Bookkeeper shall keep the riding 
accounts of the jockeys and shall disburse the received fees to the proper 
claimants.  It shall be the duty of the Horsemen's Bookkeeper to receive 
and disburse the purses of each race and [all]any stakes, entrance money, 
jockey fees, and other monies that properly come into his possession, 
and make disbursements within 48 hours of receipt of notification from 
the testing laboratory that drug tests have cleared unless an appeal or 
protest has been filed with the Stewards or the Commission.  The 
Horsemen's Bookkeeper may accept monies due belonging to other 
organizations or recognized meetings, provided prompt return is made 
to the organization to which the money is due.[;] [except u]Upon written 
request, the Horsemen's Bookkeeper shall, within 30 days after the 
meeting, disburse [all]any monies to the persons entitled to receive 
them[ same].  The Horsemen's Bookkeeper shall maintain a file of [all 
]required statements of partnerships, syndicates, corporations[;], 
assignments of interest[;], lease agreements[;], and registrations of 
authorized agents.  [All r]Records and monies of the Horsemen's 
Bookkeeper shall be kept separate and apart from any other of the 
organization and are subject to inspection by the Commission at any 
time. 
 1[3]6.  Accounting Practices [A]and Responsibility.  The 
organization and its managing officers shall ensure that [all ]purse 
monies, disbursements, and appropriate nomination race monies are 
available to make timely distribution in accordance with the [Act]state 
law, the [R]rules and [R]regulations of the Commission, the 
organization rules, and race conditions.  Copies of [all ]nomination 
payment race contracts, agreements, and conditions shall be submitted 
to the Commission and related reporting requirements fulfilled as 
specified by the Commission.  Subject to approval of the Commission, 
the organization shall maintain on a current basis a bookkeeping and 
accounting program under the guidance of a Certified Public 
Accountant.  The Commission may require periodic audits to determine 
that the organization has funds available to meet those distributions for 

the purposes required by [the Act]state law, the [R]rules and 
[R]regulations of the Commission, the conditions and nomination race 
program of the race meeting, and the obligations incurred in the daily 
operation of the race meeting.  Annually, the organization shall file a 
copy of all tax returns, a balance sheet, and a profit and loss statement. 
 1[4]7.  Electronic Photo Finish Device.  [All]Each 
organization[s] shall install and maintain in good service an electronic 
photo finish device for photographing the finishes of [all ]races and 
recording the time of each horse in hundredths of a second, when 
applicable, to assist the placing judges and the Stewards in determining 
the finishing positions and time of the horses.  Prior to first use, the 
electronic photo finish device must be approved by the Commission,[;] 
and a calibration report [must]shall be filed with the Commission by 
January 1 of each year.  A photograph of each finish shall be promptly 
posted for public view in at least one conspicuous place in the public 
enclosure. 
 1[5]8.  Videotape Recording [O]of Races.  [All]Each 
organization[s] shall install and operate a system to provide a videotape 
recording of each race so that such recording clearly shows the position 
and action of the horses and jockeys at close enough range to be easily 
discernible.  A video monitor shall be located in the Stewards' Tower to 
assist in reviewing the running of the races.  Prior to first use, the 
videotape recording system and location and placement of its equipment 
[must]shall be approved by the Commission.  [Every]Each race other 
than a race run solely on a straight course may be recorded by use of at 
least two cameras to provide panoramic and head-on views of the race.  
Races run solely on the straight course shall be recorded by the use of at 
least one camera to provide a head-on view.  Except with prior approval 
of the Commission, [all ]organizations shall maintain an auxiliary 
videotape recording camera and player in case of breakdown [and/]or 
malfunction of a primary videotape recording camera or player. 
 1[6]9.  Identification [O]of Photo Finish Photographs [A]and 
Videotape Recordings.  [All p]Photo finish photographs and video-tape 
recordings required by these [R]rules shall be identified by indicating 
thereon, the date, number of the race, and the name of the racetrack at 
which the race is held. 
 [17]20.  Altering Official Photographs [O]or Recordings.  No 
person shall cut, mutilate, alter or change any photo finish photograph 
or videotape recording for the purpose of deceit or fraud of any type. 
 [18]21.  Preservation [O]of Official Photographs [A]and 
Recordings.  [All o]Organizations shall preserve [all]any photographic 
negatives and videotape recordings of [all ]races for at least 180 days 
after the close of their meeting.  Upon request of the Commission, the 
organization shall furnish the Commission with a clear, positive print of 
any photograph of any race, or a kinescope print or copy of the videotape 
recording of any race. 
 [19]22.  Viewing Room Required.  The organization shall 
maintain a viewing room for the purpose of screening the videotape 
recording of the races for viewing by Racing Officials, jockeys, trainers, 
owners, and other interested persons authorized by the Stewards. 
 2[0]3.  Office Space [F]for The Commission.  The 
organization shall provide within the enclosure adequate office space for 
use by the Commission and its authorized representatives, and shall 
provide such necessary office furniture and utilities as may be required 
for the conduct of the Commission's business and the collection of the 
public revenues at [such]the organization's meetings. 
 2[1]4.  Duty [T]to Receive Complaints.  The organization 
shall maintain a place where written complaints or claims of violations 
[(]or objections[)] of racetrack rules, regulations, and conditions; 
Commission Rules and Regulations; or Utah State Laws may be filed.  
A copy of any written complaint or claim filed with the organization 
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shall be filed by the organization with the Commission or Commission 
representatives within 24 hours of receipt of the complaint or claim. 
 2[2]5.  Bulletin Boards Required.  The organization shall erect 
and maintain a glass enclosed bulletin board close to the Racing 
Secretary's Office in a place where access is granted to [all ]licensees, 
upon which [all ]official notices of the Commission shall be posted.  The 
organization shall also erect and maintain a glass enclosed bulletin board 
in the grandstand area where access is granted to [all ]race day patrons, 
upon which [all ]official notices of the Commission shall be posted. 
 2[3]6.  Communication Systems Required.  The organization 
shall install and maintain in good service a telephonic communication 
system between the Stewards' stand, racing office, jockey room, 
paddock, testing barn, starting gate, video camera locations, and other 
designated places.  The organization shall also install and maintain in 
good service a public address communication system for the purpose of 
announcing the racing program, the running of the races, and any public 
service notices, as well as maintaining communications with the barn 
area for the purpose of paddock calls and the paging of horsemen. 
 2[4]7.  Ambulance Service.  Subject to the approval of the 
Commission, the organization shall provide the services of an approved 
medical ambulance and its properly qualified attendants [at all times 
]during the running of the race program at its meeting and, except with 
prior permission of the Commission, during the hours the organization 
permits the use of its race course for training purposes.  The organization 
shall also provide the service of a horse ambulance during the same 
hours.  A means of communication shall be provided by the organization 
between a staffed observation point [(]such as the Stewards' Tower and 
Clocker's Stand[)] for the race course and the place where the required 
ambulances and their attendants are posted for prompt response in the 
event of accident to any person or horse.  In the event an emergency 
necessitates the departure of a required ambulance, the race course shall 
be closed until an approved ambulance is again available within the 
enclosure. 
 2[5]8.  Safety [O]of Race Course [A]and Premises.  The 
organization shall take cognizance of any complaint regarding the safety 
or uniformity of its race course or premises, and shall maintain in safe 
condition the race course and [all ]rails and other equipment required for 
the conduct of its races. 
 2[6]9.  Starting Point Markers [A]and Distance Poles.  
Permanent markers [must]shall be located at each starting point to be 
utilized in the organization's racing program.  The starting point markers 
and distance poles [must]shall be of a size and in a position where they 
can be seen clearly from the stewards' stand.  The starting point markers 
and distance poles shall be marked with the appropriate distance and be 
the following colors: 
 

TABLE 
 

1/16 poles . . . black and white horizontal stripes 
1/8  poles . . . green and white horizontal stripes 
1/4  poles . . . red and white horizontal stripes 
220  yards . . . green and white horizontal stripes 
250  yards . . . blue 
300  yards . . . yellow 
330  yards . . . black and white horizontal stripes 
350  yards . . . red 
400  yards . . . black 
440  yards . . . red and white horizontal stripes 
550  yards . . . black and white horizontal stripes 
660  yards . . . green and white horizontal stripes 
770  yards . . . black and white horizontal stripes 
870  yards . . . blue and white horizontal stripes 
 

 [27]30.  Grade [A]and Distance Survey.  A survey by a 
licensed surveyor of the race course, including [all ]starting chutes, 
indicating the grade and measurement of distances to be run [must]shall 
be filed with the Commission prior to the first race meeting. 
 [28]31.  Physical Requirements [F]for Non pari-Mutuel 
Racing Facility.  In order for an organization to be granted a license to 
conduct non pari-mutuel racing, the facility shall meet the following 
physical requirements: 
 A.  A regulation track shall be a straightaway course of 440 
yards in length.  The straightaway shall connect with an oval not less 
than one-half mile in circumference; except that the width may vary 
according to the number of horses started in a field, but a minimum of 
twenty feet shall be allowed for the first two horses with an additional 
five feet for each added starter. 
 B.  The inner and outer rails shall extend the entire length of 
the straightaway and around the connecting oval; it shall be at least thirty 
inches and not more than forty-two inches in height.  A racetrack not 
approved by the Commission prior to January 1, 1993, shall otherwise 
have inner and outer rails of at least thirty-eight inches [(38") ]and not 
more than forty-two inches in height.  It shall be constructed of metal 
not less than two inches in diameter, wood not less than two inches in 
thickness and six inches in width, or other construction material 
approved by the Commission.  Whatever construction material is used 
must provide for the safety of both horse and rider.  It [must]shall be 
painted white and maintained at all times. 
 C.  Stabling facilities should be adequate for the number of 
horses to be on hand for the meet.  In no case will a track with less than 
200 stalls be acceptable, without Utah Horse Commission approval. 
 D.  Stands for Stewards and Timers shall be located exactly 
on the finish line and provide a commanding and uninterrupted view of 
the entire racing strip. 
 E.  The paddock shall be spacious enough to provide adequate 
safety.  The jockey's room shall be in or adjacent to the paddock 
enclosure and shall be equipped with separate but equal complete 
sanitation facilities including showers for both male and female riders.  
This area [must]shall be fenced to keep out unauthorized persons and 
provide maximum security and safety.  The fence shall be at least four 
feet high of chain link, v-mesh or similar construction. 
 F.  A Test Barn with a minimum of two stalls shall be provided 
for purpose of collecting urine specimens.  The Test Barn and a walking 
ring large enough to accommodate several horses cooling out at the 
same time shall be completely enclosed by a fence at least eight feet high 
of chain link, v-mesh or similar construction.  There shall be only one 
entrance into the Test Barn enclosure [which]that shall remain locked or 
guarded[ at all times].  Provisions shall be made in this area for an office 
to accommodate the needs of the Official Veterinarian and from which 
he can observe the stalls and the entrance into the Test Barn enclosure.  
The organization shall provide facilities for the immediate cooling and 
freezing of [all ]urine specimens, and shall make provisions for the 
specimens to be shipped to the laboratory packed in dry ice. 
 G.  A grandstand or bleachers shall be provided for the 
spectators and shall provide for the comfort and safety of the spectators.  
Facilities [must]shall include rest rooms and a public water supply. 
 [29]32.  Organization [A]as [T]the Insurer [O]of [T]the Race 
Meeting.  Approval of a race meeting by the Commission does not 
establish [said]the Commission as the insurer or guarantor of the safety 
or physical condition of the organization's facilities or purse of any race.  
The organization does thereby agree to indemnify, save and hold 
harmless the Utah Horse Commission from any liability, if any, arising 
from unsafe conditions of track facilities or grandstand and default in 
payment of purses.  The organization shall provide the Commission with 
a certificate of adequate liability insurance. 
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R52-7-5.  Occupation Licensing and Registration. 
 1.  Occupation Licenses.  No person required to be licensed 
shall participate in a race meeting without their holding a valid license 
authorizing [that ]participation.  Licenses shall be obtained prior to the 
time [such ]persons engage in their vocations upon [such ]racetrack 
grounds at any time during the calendar year for which the organization 
license has been issued.  Each [A]applicant will be required to provide 
one form of photo identification. 
 A.  A person whose occupation requires acting in any capacity 
within any area of an enclosure shall pay the required fee and procure 
the appropriate license or licenses. 
 B.  A person acting in any of the following capacities shall pay 
the required fee and procure the appropriate license or licenses[:]. [(]A 
list of [all ]required fees shall be available at the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food.[)] 
 [1]a.  [O]owner [/T]trainer [C]combination; 
 [2]b.  [O]owner; 
 [3]c.  [T]trainer; 
 [4]d.  [A]assistant [T]trainer; 
 [5]e.  [J]jockey; 
 [6]f.  [V]veterinarian; 
 [7]g.  [J]jockey [R]room [A]attendant; 
 [8]h.  [P]paddock [A]attendant; 
 [9]i.  [P]pony [R]rider; 
 [10]j.  [C]concessionaire; 
 [11]k.  [V]valet; 
 [12]l.  [G]groom; 
 C.  A person whose license-identification badge is lost or 
destroyed shall procure a replacement license-identification badge and 
shall pay the required fee. 
 D.  The date of payment of [all ]required fees, as recorded by 
the Commission, shall be the effective date of issuance of a continuous 
occupation license.  A person may have the option of a one or three year 
license.  The license fee shall be the annual fee for each category in 
which the person is licensed, the fee for a three [(3) ]year license shall 
be three [(3) ]times the annual fee for each category in which the person 
is licensed. The license shall expire on December 31. 
 E.  [All]Each license applicant[s] may be required to provide 
two complete sets of fingerprints on forms provided by or acceptable to 
the Commission and pay the required fee for processing the fingerprint 
cards through State and Federal Law Enforcement Agencies.  If the 
fingerprints are of a quality not acceptable for processing, the licensee 
may be required to be refingerprinted. 
 F.  [All a]Applicants for occupation licenses must be a 
minimum of 16 years of age.  However, this shall not preclude 
dependent children under the age of 16 from working for their parents 
or guardian if [said]their parents or guardian are licensed as a trainer or 
assistant trainer and permission has been obtained from the organization 
licensee.  A trainer or his authorized representative signing a Test Barn 
Sample Tag [must]shall be licensed and a minimum of 18 years of age. 
 2.  Employment [O]of Unlicensed Person.  No organization, 
owner, trainer or other licensee acting as an employer within the 
enclosure at an authorized race meeting shall employ or harbor within 
the enclosure any person required to be licensed by the Commission 
until [such]the organization, owner, trainer, or other employer 
determines that [such]the person required to be licensed has been issued 
a valid license by the Commission.  No organization shall permit any 
owner, trainer, or jockey to own, train, or ride on its premises during a 
recognized race meeting unless [such]the owner, trainer, or jockey has 
received a license to do so from the Commission.  The organization or 
prospective employer may demand for inspection the license of any 
person participating or attempting to participate at its meeting, and the 

organization may demand for inspection the documents relating to any 
horse on its grounds. 
 3.  Notice [O]of Termination.  Any organization, owner, 
trainer, or other licensee acting as an employer within the enclosure at 
an authorized race meeting shall be responsible for the immediate 
notification to the Commission and the organization conducting the race 
meeting of a termination of employment of a licensee.  The employer 
shall make every effort to obtain the license badge from the employee 
and deliver the license badge to the Commission. 
 4.  Application [F]for License.  An applicant for license shall 
apply in writing on the application forms furnished by the Commission. 
 5.  License Identification Badge Requirements.  The license 
identification badge may consist of the following information 
concerning the licensee: 
 A.  [F]full [N]name; 
 B.  [P]permanent [A]address; 
 C.  [L]license [C]capacity; 
 D.  [D]date of [I]issue; 
 E.  [P]passport-[T]type [C]color [P]photograph; and 
 F.  [D]date of [B]birth. 
 G.  [All l]License identification badges may be color coded as 
to capacity of occupation and eligibility for access to restricted areas.  
[All l]License holders, except jockeys riding in a race, [must]shall wear 
a current identification badge while present in restricted areas of the 
enclosure or as otherwise specified in Subsection R52-7-5(1). 
 6.  Honoring Official Credentials.  Credentials issued by the 
Commission may be honored for admission at [all]any gates and 
entrances and to [all]any places within the enclosure.  Automobiles with 
vehicle decals issued by the Commission to its members and employees 
shall be permitted ingress and egress at any point.  Credentials issued by 
the National Association of State Racing Commissioners to its 
members, past members, and staff shall be honored by the organization 
for admission into the public enclosure when presented therefore by 
such persons. 
 7.  License Subject [T]to Conditions [A]and Agreements. 
 A.  [Every]Each license is subject to the conditions and 
agreements contained in the application [therefore ]and to [the Statutes 
and Rules]state law. 
 B.  [Every]Each license issued to a licensee by the 
Commission remains the property of the Commission. 
 C.  Possession of a license does not[, as such,] confer any right 
upon the holder [thereof ]to employment at or participation in a race. 
 D.  The Commission may restrict, limit, place conditions on, 
or endorse for additional occupational classes, any license, pursuant to 
Subsection R52-7-5(9). 
 8.  Changes [I]in Application Information.  Each licensee or 
applicant for license shall file with the Commission his permanent and 
his current mailing address and shall report in writing to the Commission 
any [and all ]changes in application information. 
 9.  Grounds [F]for Denial, Refusal, Suspension [O]or 
Revocation [O]of License.  The Commission, in addition to any other 
valid ground or reason, may deny, refuse to issue, suspend or revoke an 
occupation license for any person: 
 A.  [W]who has been convicted of a felony of this State, any 
other state, or the United States of America;[ or] 
 B.  [W]who has been convicted of violating any law regarding 
gambling or controlled dangerous substance of this State, any other 
state, or of the United States of America;[ or] 
 C.  [W]who is unqualified to perform the duties required of 
the applicant;[ or] 
 D.  [W]who fails to disclose or states falsely any information 
required in the application;[ or] 
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 E.  [W]who has been found guilty of a violation of any 
provision of the Utah Horse Act or of the Rules and Regulations of the 
Commission;[ or] 
 F.  [W]whose license for any racing occupation or activity 
requiring a license has been or is currently suspended, revoked, refused, 
or denied for just cause in any other competent racing jurisdiction; or 
 G.  [W]who has been or is currently excluded from any racing 
enclosure by a competent racing jurisdiction. 
 10.  Examinations.  The Commission may require the 
applicant for any license to demonstrate his knowledge, qualifications, 
and proficiency for the license applied for by [such ]examination as the 
Commission may direct. 
 11.  Refusal Without Prejudice.  A refusal to issue a license, 
[(]as distinguished from a denial of a license[)] to an applicant by the 
Commission at any race meeting is without prejudice[;], and the 
applicant [so ]refused may reapply for a license at any subsequent or 
other race meeting, or he may appeal [such]the refusal to the 
Commission for hearing upon his qualifications and fitness for the 
license. 
 12.  Hearing After Denial [O]of License.  Any person who has 
had his license denied may petition the Commission to reopen the case 
and reconsider its decision upon a sufficient showing that there is now 
available evidence which could not, with the exercise of reasonable 
diligence, have been previously presented to the Commission.  Any such 
petition [must]shall be filed with the Commission no later than 30 days 
after the effective date of the Commission's decision in the matter.  Any 
person who has been denied a license by the Commission may not refile 
a similar application for license until one year from the effective date of 
the decision to deny the license. 
 13.  Financial Responsibility [O]of Applicants.  Applicants for 
license as horse owner or trainer [must]shall submit satisfactory 
evidence of their financial ability to care for and maintain the horses 
owned [and/]or trained by them when such evidence is requested by the 
Commission. 
 14.  Physical Examination.  The Commission or the Stewards 
may require that any jockey be examined at any time, and the 
Commission or the Stewards may refuse to allow any jockey to ride until 
he has successfully passed such examination. 
 15.  Qualifications [F]for Jockey.  No person under 16 years 
of age shall be granted a jockey's license. A person who has never ridden 
in a race at a recognized meeting shall not be granted a license as jockey 
unless he has satisfactorily worked a horse from the starting gate in 
company, before the Stewards or their representatives.  Upon the 
recommendation of the Stewards, the Commission may issue a jockey's 
license granting permission to [such]a person for the purpose of riding 
in not more than four races to establish the qualifications and ability of 
[such]the person for the license.  Subsequently, the Stewards may 
recommend the granting of a jockey's license. 
 16.  Jockey Agent.  A jockey agent is the authorized 
representative of a jockey if he is registered with the Stewards and 
licensed by the Commission as the Jockey's representative.  No jockey 
agent shall represent more than two jockeys at the same time. 
 17.  Workers' Compensation Act Compliance.  No person may 
be licensed as a trainer, owner, or in any other capacity in which 
[such]the person acts as the employer of any other licensee at any 
authorized race meeting, unless his liability for Workers' Compensation 
has been secured in accordance with Title 34A, Chapter 2, the Workers' 
Compensation Act of [the State of ]Utah and until evidence of [such 
]security for liability is provided the Commission.  Should any [such 
]required security for liability for Workers' Compensation be canceled 
or terminated, any license held by such person shall be automatically 
suspended and shall be grounds for revocation of the license.  If a license 

applicant certifies that [he]they ha[s]ve no employees that would subject 
[him]them to liability for Workers' Compensation, [he]they may be 
licensed, but only for the period [he has]they have no employees. 
 18.  Program Trainer Prohibited.  No licensed trainer, for the 
purpose of avoiding his responsibilities or insurance requirements as set 
forth in these [R]rules, shall place any horse in the care or attendance of 
any other trainer. 
 19.  Qualifications [F]for License [A]as Horse Owner.  No 
person may be licensed as a horse owner who is not the owner of record 
of a properly registered race horse [which]that he intends to race in Utah 
and which is in the care of a licensed trainer, or who does not have an 
interest in such race horse as a part owner or lessee, or who is not the 
responsible managing owner of a corporation, syndicate, or partnership 
[which]that is the legal owner of such horse. 
 20.  Horse Ownership [B]by Lease.  Horses may be raced 
under lease provided a completed Utah Horse Commission, breed 
registry, approved pari-mutuel, or other lease form acceptable to the 
Commission, is attached to the Registration Certificate and on file with 
the Commission.  The lessor[(s)] and lessee [must]shall be licensed as 
horse owners.  No lessor shall execute a lease for the purpose of avoiding 
insurance requirements. 
 21.  Statements [O]of Corporation, Partnership, Syndicate 
[O]or Other Association [O]or Entity.  [All]Any organizational 
documents of a corporation, partnership, syndicate, or other association 
or entity, and the relative proportion of ownership interest, the terms of 
sales with contingencies, arrangements, or leases, shall be filed with the 
Horsemen's Bookkeeper of the organization and with the Commission.  
The [above-said ]documents shall declare to whom winnings are 
payable, in whose names the horses shall be run, and the name of the 
licensed person who assumes [all]any responsibilities as the owner.  The 
part owner of any horse shall not assign his share or any part of it without 
the written consent of the other partners, and [such ]consent shall be filed 
with the Horsemen's Bookkeeper and the Commission.  A person [or 
persons ]conducting racing operations as a corporation, partnership, 
syndicate, or other association or entity shall register the information 
required by this [R]rule[s in this Article] and pay the required fee[(s)] 
for the appropriate entity. 
 22.  Stable Name Registration.  A person [or persons ]electing 
to conduct racing operations by use of a stable name shall register the 
stable name and shall pay the required fee. 
 A.  The applicant [must]shall disclose the identity or identities 
of [all ]persons comprising the stable name. 
 B.  Changes in identities [must]shall be reported [immediately 
]to and approval shall be obtained from the Commission immediately. 
 C.  No person shall register more than one stable name at the 
same time nor use [his]their real name for racing purposes so long as [he 
has]they have a registered stable name. 
 D.  Any person who has registered under a stable name may 
cancel the stable name after [he has]they have given written notice to 
the Commission. 
 E.  A stable name may be changed by registering a new stable 
name and by paying the required Fee. 
 F.  No person shall register a stable name which has been 
registered by any other person with any organization conducting a 
recognized race meeting. 
 G.  A stable name shall be clearly distinguishable from that of 
another registered stable name. 
 H.  The stable name, and the name of the owner or managing 
owner, shall be published in the official program.  If the stable name 
consists of more than one person, the official program will list the name 
of the managing owner along with the phrase "et al." 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

16 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 04 

 I.  If a partnership, corporation, syndicate, or other association 
or entity is involved in the identity comprising a stable name, the rules 
covering a partnership, corporation, syndicate or other association or 
entity [must]shall be complied with and the usual fees paid therefore in 
addition to the fees for the registration of a stable name. 
 23.  Ownership Licensing Required.  The ownership licensing 
procedures required by the Commission [must]shall be completed prior 
to the horse starting in a race and shall include [all]any registrations, 
statements, and payment of fees. 
 24.  Knowledge [O]of Rules.  [Every]Each licensee, in order 
to maintain their qualifications for any license held by them, shall be 
familiar with and knowledgeable of the rules, including [all]any 
amendments.  [Every]Each licensee is presumed to know the rules. 
 25.  Certain Prohibited Licenses.  Commission-licensed 
jockeys, veterinarians, organizations' security personnel, vendors, and 
[such ]other licensees designated by the stewards with approval of the 
Commission, shall not hold any other license.  The Commission may 
refuse to issue a license to a person whose spouse holds a license and 
which, in the opinion of the Commission, would create a conflict of 
interest. 
 
R52-7-6.  Racing Officials and Commission Racing Personnel. 
 1.  Racing Officials.  The racing officials of a race meeting, 
unless otherwise ordered by the Commission, are as follows: 
 A.  the stewards[,]; 
 B.  the associate judges[,]; 
 C.  the paddock judge[,]; 
 D.  the starter[,]; 
 E.  the identifier[/] or tattooer[,]; and 
 F.  the racing secretary. 
 2.  No racing official may serve in that capacity during a race 
in which is entered a horse owned by them or by a member of their 
family or in which they have any financial interest except for the 
identifier[/] or tattooer, and the racing secretary.  Being the lessee or 
lessor of a horse shall be construed as having a financial interest. 
 [2]3.  Responsibility [T]to [T]the Commission.  The racing 
officials shall be strictly responsible to the Commission for the 
performance of their [respective ]duties, and they shall promptly report 
to the Commission or its stewards any violation of the rules of the 
Commission coming to their attention or of which they have knowledge.  
Any racing official who fails to exercise due diligence in the 
performance of [his]their duties shall be relieved of [his]their duties by 
the stewards and the matter referred to the Commission. 
 [3]4.  Racing Officials Subject [T]to Approval.  [Every]Each 
racing official is subject to prior approval by the Commission before 
being eligible to act as a racing official at the meeting.  At the time of 
making application for an organization license, the organization shall 
nominate the racing officials other than the racing officials appointed by 
the Commission[; and] [a]After issuance of license to the organization, 
there shall be no substitution of any racing official except with approval 
of the stewards or the Commission. 
 [4]5.  Racing Officials Appointed [B]by The Commission.  
The Commission shall appoint the following racing officials for a race 
meeting:  The board of three stewards and the identifier[/] or tattooer.  
The Commission may appoint from the approved stewards list one 
steward to serve as state steward. 
 [5]6.  Racing Personnel Employed [B]by [T]the Commission.  
The Commission shall employ the services of the licensing person for a 
race meeting. 
 [6]7.  General Authority [O]of Stewards.  The stewards have 
general authority and supervision over [all ]licensees and other persons 
attendant on horses, and also over the enclosures of any recognized 

meeting.  Stewards have the power to interpret the [R]rules and to decide 
[all ]questions not specifically covered by them.  The stewards shall 
have the power to determine [all ]questions arising with reference to 
entries, eligibility, and racing; and [all ]entries, declarations, and 
scratches shall be under the supervision of the stewards.  The stewards 
shall be strictly responsible to the Commission for the conduct of the 
race meeting in every particular. 
 [7]8.  Vacancy Among Racing Officials.  Where a vacancy 
occurs among the racing officials, the stewards shall fill the vacancy 
immediately.  [Such]The appointment is effective until the vacancy is 
filled in accordance with the rules. 
 9[8].  Jurisdiction [O]of Stewards [T]to Suspend [O]or Fine.  
The stewards' jurisdiction in any matter commences 72 hours before 
entries are taken for the first day of racing at the meeting and extends 
until 30 days after the close of such meeting.  In the event a dispute or 
controversy arises during a race meeting [which]that is not settled within 
the stewards' thirty-day jurisdiction, then the authority of the stewards 
may be extended by authority of the Commission for the period 
necessary to resolve the matter, or until the matter is referred or appealed 
to the Commission.  The stewards may suspend for not more than one 
year per violation, the license of anyone whom they have the authority 
to supervise; or they may impose a fine not to exceed $2,500 per 
violation; or they may exclude from [all ]enclosures in this state; or they 
may suspend and fine [and/]or exclude.  [All such]Any suspensions, 
fines, or exclusions shall be reported immediately to the Commission.  
The [S]stewards may suspend a horse from participating in races if the 
horse has been involved in a violation[(s)] of the rules [promulgated 
by]of the Commission or the provisions of Title 4, Chapter 38, the Utah 
Horse Act under the following circumstances: 
 A.  [A]a horse is a confirmed bleeder as determined by the 
[o]Official [v]Veterinarian, and the [o]Official [v]Veterinarian 
recommends to the stewards that the horse be suspended from 
participation[.]; 
 B.  [A]a horse is involved with: 
 [i]a.  [A]any violation of medication laws and rules[;]; 
 [ii]b.  [A]any suspension or revocation of an occupation 
license by the stewards or the Commission or any racing jurisdiction 
recognized by the Commission; or 
 [iii]c.  [A]any violation of prohibited devices, laws, and rules. 
 10[9].  Referral [T]to [T]the Commission.  The stewards may 
refer, with or without recommendation, any matter within their 
jurisdiction to the Commission. 
 11[10].  Payment [O]of Fines.  [All]Any fines imposed by the 
stewards or Commission shall be due and payable to the Commission 
within 72 hours after imposition, except when the imposition of 
[such]the fine is ordered stayed by the stewards, the Commission, or a 
court having jurisdiction.  However, when a fine and suspension is 
imposed by the stewards or Commission, the fine shall be due and 
payable at the time the suspension expires.  Nonpayment of the fine 
when due and payable may result in immediate suspension pending 
payment of the fine. 
 12[11].  Stewards' Reports [A]and Records.  The stewards 
shall maintain a record [which]that shall contain a detailed, written 
account of [all ]questions, disputes, protests, complaints, and objections 
brought to the attention of the stewards.  The stewards shall prepare a 
daily report concerning their race day activities which shall include fouls 
and disqualifications, disciplinary hearings, fines and suspensions, 
conduct of races, interruptions and delays, and condition of racing 
facility.  The stewards shall submit the signed original of their report and 
record to the Executive Director of the Commission within 72 hours of 
the race day. 
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 13[12].  Power [T]to Order Examination [O]of Horse.  The 
stewards shall have the power to have tested, or cause to be examined 
by a qualified person, any horse entered in a race, [which]that has run in 
a race, or [which]that is stabled within the enclosure; and may order the 
examination of any ownership papers, certificates, documents of 
eligibility, contracts or leases pertaining to any horse. 
 14[13].  Calling Off Race.  When, in the opinion of the 
stewards, a race[(s)] cannot be conducted in accordance with the rules 
of the Commission, they shall cancel and call off such race[(s)].  In the 
event of mechanical failure or interference during the running of a race 
[which]that affects the horses in such race, the Stewards may declare the 
race a "no contest."  A race shall be declared "no contest" if no horse 
covers the course. 
 15[14].  Substitution [O]of Jockey [O]or Trainer. 
 A.  In the event a jockey who is named to ride a mount in a 
race is unable to fulfill [his]their engagement and is excused by the 
stewards, the trainer of the horse may select a substitute jockey; or, if no 
substitute jockey is available, the stewards may scratch the horse from 
the race.  However, the responsibility to provide a jockey for an entered 
horse remains with the trainer[;], and the scratching of [said]the horse 
by the stewards shall not be grounds for the refund of any nomination, 
sustaining, penalty payments, or entry fees. 
 B.  In the absence of the trainer of the horse, the stewards may 
place the horse in the temporary care of another trainer of their selection; 
however, such horse may not be entered or compete in a race without 
the approval of the owner and the substitute trainer.  The substitute 
trainer must sign the entry card. 
 16[15].  Stewards' List.  The stewards may maintain a 
stewards' list of those horses [which]that, in their opinion, are ineligible 
to be entered in any race because of poor or inconsistent performance 
due to the inability to maintain a straight course, or any other reason 
considered a hazard to the safety of the participants.  [Such]The horse 
shall be refused entry until it has demonstrated to the stewards or their 
representatives that it can race safely and can be removed from the 
stewards' list. 
 17[16].  Duties [O]of [T]the Starter.  The starter shall have 
complete jurisdiction over the starting gate, the starting of horses, and 
the authority to give orders not in conflict with the rules as may be 
required to ensure [all ]participants have an equal opportunity to a fair 
start.  The starter shall appoint [his ]assistants; however, he shall not 
permit [his ]assistants to handle or take charge of any horse in the 
starting gate without his expressed permission.  In the event that 
organization starter assistants are unavailable to head a horse, the 
responsibility to provide qualified individuals to head [and/]or tail a 
horse in the starting gate shall rest with the trainer.  The starter may 
establish qualification for and maintain a list of [such ]qualified 
individuals approved by the stewards.  No assistant starter or any 
individual handling a horse at the starting gate shall in any way impede, 
whether intentionally or otherwise, the start of the race; nor may an 
assistant starter or other individual, except the jockey handling the horse 
at the starting gate, apply a whip or other device in an attempt to load 
any horse in the starting gate.  No one other than the jockey shall slap, 
boot, or otherwise attempt to dispatch a horse from the starting gate. 
 18[17].  Starter's List.  The starter may maintain a starter's list 
of [all ]horses [which]that, in [his]their opinion, are ineligible to be 
entered in any race because of poor or inconsistent performance in the 
starting gate.  Such horse shall be refused entry until it has demonstrated 
to the starter or [his]their representatives that it has been satisfactorily 
schooled in the gates and can be removed from the starter's list.  [Such 
s]Schooling shall be under the direct supervision of the starter or 
[his]their representatives. 

 19[18].  Duties [O]of [T]the Paddock Judge.  The paddock 
judge shall supervise the assembling of the horses scheduled to race, the 
saddling of horses in the paddock, the saddling equipment and changes 
thereof, the mounting of the jockeys, and their departure for the post.  
The paddock judge shall provide a report on saddling equipment to the 
[S]stewards at their request. 
 20[19].  Duties [O]of Patrol Judges.  The patrol judges, when 
utilized, shall be subject to the orders of the stewards and shall report to 
the stewards [all]any facts occurring under their observation during the 
running of a race. 
 21[20].  Duties [O]of Placing Judges [A]and Timers.  The 
placing judges, timers, [and/]or stewards shall occupy the judges' stand 
at the time the horses pass the finish line[; and]. [t]Their duties shall be 
to hand time, place the horses in the correct order of finish, and report 
the results.  In case of a dead heat or a disagreement as to the correct 
order of finish, the decision of the stewards shall be final.  In placing the 
horses at the finish, the position of the horses' noses only shall be 
considered the most forward point of progress. 
 22[21].  Duties [O]of The Clerk [O]of Scales.  The clerk of 
scales is responsible for the presence of [all ]jockeys in the jockey's 
room at the appointed time and to verify that [all ]jockeys have a current 
Utah jockey's license.  The clerk of scales shall verify the correct weight 
of each jockey at the time of weighing out and when weighing in, and 
shall report any discrepancies to the stewards immediately.  In addition, 
[he or she]they shall be responsible for the security of the jockey's room 
and the conduct of the jockeys and their attendants.  [He or she]they 
shall promptly report to the stewards any infraction of the [R]rules with 
respect to weight, weighing, riding equipment, or conduct.  [He or 
she]They shall be responsible for accounting of [all ]data required on the 
scale sheet and submit that data to the horsemen's bookkeeper at the end 
of each race day. 
 23[22].  Duties [O]of [T]the Racing Secretary.  The racing 
secretary shall write and publish conditions of [all ]races and distribute 
them to horsemen as far in advance of the closing of entries as possible.  
[He or she]They shall be responsible for the safekeeping of registration 
certificates and the return of same to the trainers on request or at the 
conclusion of the race meeting.  [He or she]They shall record winning 
races on the form supplied by the breed registry, which shall remain 
attached to or part of the registration certificate.  The racing secretary 
shall be responsible for the taking of entries, checking eligibility, closing 
of entries, selecting the races to be drawn, conducting the draw, posting 
the overnight sheet, compiling the official program, and discharging 
[such ]other duties of their office as required by the rules or as directed 
by the [S]stewards. 
 24[23].  Duties [O]of Associate Judge.  An associate judge 
may perform any of the duties [which]that are performed by any racing 
official at a meeting, provided such duties are assigned or delegated to 
them by the Commission or by the stewards presiding at that meeting. 
 25[24].  Duties [O]of [T]the Official Veterinarian.  The 
[o]Official [v]Veterinarian must be a graduate veterinarian and licensed 
to practice in the State of Utah.  [He or she]They shall recommend to 
the stewards any horse that is deemed unsafe to be raced, or a horse that 
it would be inhumane to allow to race.  [He or she]They shall supervise 
the taking of [all ]specimens for testing according to procedures 
approved by the Commission.  [He or she]They shall provide proper 
safeguards in the handling of [all ]laboratory specimens to prevent 
tampering, confusion, or contamination.  [All s]Specimens collected 
shall be sent in locked and sealed cases to the laboratory.  [He or 
she]They shall have the authority and jurisdiction to supervise the 
practicing licensed veterinarians within the enclosure.  The [o]Official 
[v]Veterinarian shall report to the Commission the names of [all ]horses 
humanely destroyed or [which]that otherwise expire at the meeting, and 
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the reasons therefore.  The official veterinarian may place horses on a 
veterinarian's list, and may remove from the list those horses 
[which]that, in their opinion, cannot satisfactorily compete in a race. 
 26[25].  Veterinarian's List.  The [o]Official [v]Veterinarian 
may maintain a list of [all ]horses who, in their opinion, are incapable of 
safely performing in a race and are, therefore, ineligible to be entered or 
started in a race.  Such horse may be removed from the Veterinarian's 
List when, in the opinion of the [o]Official [v]Veterinarian, the horse has 
satisfactorily recovered the capability of performing in a race.  The 
reasons for placing a horse on the veterinarian's list shall include the 
shedding of blood from one or both nostrils following exercise or the 
performance in a race and the running of a temperature unnatural to the 
horse. 
 27[26].  Duties [O]of [T]the Identifier.  The identifier shall 
identify [all ]horses starting in a race.  The identifier shall inspect 
documents of ownership, eligibility, registration, or breeding as may be 
necessary to ensure proper identification of each horse eligible to 
compete at a race meeting provide assistance to the stewards in that 
regard.  The identifier shall immediately report to the paddock judge and 
the stewards any horse [which]that is not properly identified or any 
irregularities reflected in the official identification records.  The 
identifier shall report to the stewards and to the Commission on general 
racing practices observed, and perform [such ]other duties as the 
Commission may require.  The identifier shall report to the racing 
secretary before the close of the race day business. 
 
R52-7-7.  Entries and Declarations. 
 1.  Control Over Entries [A]and Declarations.  [All e]Entries 
and declarations are under the supervision of the [S]stewards or their 
designee; and they, without notice, may refuse the entries any person or 
the transfer of entries. 
 2.  Racing Secretary [T]to Establish Conditions.  The racing 
secretary may establish the conditions for any race, the allowances or 
handicaps to be established for specific races, the procedures for the 
acceptance of entries and declarations, and [such ]other conditions as are 
necessary to provide and conduct the organization's race meeting.  The 
racing secretary is responsible for the receipt of entries and declarations 
for [all ]races.  The racing secretary, employees of their department, or 
racing officials shall not disclose any pertinent information concerning 
entries which have been submitted until all entries are closed.  After an 
entry to a race for which conditions have been published has been 
accepted by the racing secretary or their delegate, no condition of 
[such]the race shall be changed, amended or altered, nor shall any new 
condition for [such]the race be imposed. 
 3.  Entries.  No horse shall be entered in more than one race 
on the same day.  No person shall enter or attempt to enter a horse for a 
race unless such entry is a bona fide entry made with the intention that 
such horse is to compete in the race for which entry is made except, if 
racing conditions permit, for entry back in finals or consolations 
involving physically disabled or dead qualifiers for purse payment 
purposes.  Entries shall be in writing on the entry card provided by the 
organization and must be signed by the trainer or assistant trainer of the 
horse.  Entries made by telephone are valid properly confirmed by the 
track when signing the entry card.  No horse shall be allowed to start 
unless the entry card has been signed by the trainer or his assistant 
trainer. 
 4.  Determining Eligibility.  Determination of a horse's 
eligibility, penalty or penalties and the right to allowance or allowances 
for [all ]races shall be from the date of the horse's last race unless the 
conditions specify otherwise.  The trainer is responsible for the 
eligibility of [his]their horse and to properly enter his horse in condition.  
In the event the records of the Racing Secretary or the appropriate breed 

registry do not reflect the horse's most recent starts, the trainer or owner 
shall accurately provide such information.  If a horse is not eligible under 
the first condition of any race, he cannot be eligible under subsequent 
conditions.  If the conditions specify nonwinners of a certain amount, it 
means that the horse has not won a race in which the winner's share was 
the specified amount or more.  If the conditions specify nonearners of a 
stated amount, it means that the horse has not earned that stated amount 
in any total number of races regardless of the horse's placing. 
 5.  Entries Survive [W]with Transfer.  [All e]Entries and rights 
of entry are valid and survive when a horse is sold with his engagements 
duly transferred.  If a partnership agreement is properly filed with the 
Horsemen's Bookkeeper, subscriptions, entries, and rights of entry 
survive in the remaining partners.  Unless written notice to the contrary 
is filed with the stewards, the entries, rights of entry, and engagements 
remain with the horse and are transferred therewith to the new owner.  
No entry or right of entry shall become void on the death of the 
nominator unless the conditions of the race state otherwise. 
 6.  Horses Ineligible [T]to [S]start [I]in [A ]Race.  In addition 
to any other valid ground or reason, a horse is ineligible to start any race 
if: 
 A.  [Such]the horse is not registered by The Jockey Club if a 
Thoroughbred; the American Quarter Horse Association if a Quarter 
Horse; the Appaloosa Horse Club if an Appaloosa; the Arabian Horse 
Club Registry of America if an Arabian; the American Paint Horse 
Association if a Paint; the Pinto Horse Association of America, Inc., if a 
Pinto; or any successors to any of the foregoing or other registry 
recognized by the Commission[.]; 
 B.  [T]the Certificate of Foal Registration, eligibility papers, 
or other registration issued by the official registry for [such]the horse is 
not on file with the racing secretary one hour prior to post time for the 
race in which the horse is scheduled to race[.]; 
 C.  [Such]the horse has been entered or raced at any 
recognized race meeting under any name or designation other than the 
name or designation duly assigned by and registered with the official 
registry[.]; 
 D.  [T]the Win Certificate, Certificate of Foal Registration, 
eligibility papers or other registration issued by the official registry has 
been materially altered, erased, removed, or forged[.]; 
 E.  [Such]the horse is ineligible to enter [said]the race, is not 
duly entered for such race, or remains ineligible to time of starting[.]; 
 F.  [T]the trainer of [such]the horse has not completed the 
prescribed licensing procedures required by the Commission before 
entry and the ownership of [such]the horse has not completed the 
prescribed licensing procedures prior to the horse starting or the horse is 
in the care of an unlicensed trainer[.]; 
 G.  [Such]the horse is owned in whole or in part or trained by 
any person who is suspended or ineligible for a license or ineligible to 
participate under the rules of any Turf Governing Authority or Stud 
Book Registry[.]; 
 H.  [Such]the horse is a suspended horse[.]; 
 I.  [Such]the horse is on the stewards' list, starter's list, or the 
veterinarian's list[.]; 
 J.  [E]except with permission of the stewards and identifier, 
the identification markings of the horse do not agree with identification 
as set forth on the registration certificate to the extent that a correction is 
required from the appropriate breed registry[.]; 
 K.  [A]a horse has not been lip tattooed by a Commission 
approved tattooer[.]; 
 L.  [T]the entry of a horse is not in the name of his true 
owner[.]; 
 M.  [T]the horse has drawn into the field or has started in a 
race on the same day[.]; or 
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 N.  [Its]the horse's age as determined by an examination of its 
teeth by the [o]Official [v]Veterinarian does not correspond to the age 
shown on its registration certificate, such determination by tooth 
examination to be made in accordance with the current "Official Guide 
for Determining the Age of the Horse" as adopted by the American 
Association of Equine Practitioners. 
 7.  Horses Ineligible [T]to Enter [O]or Start.  Any horse 
ineligible to be entered for a race or ineligible to start in any race 
[which]that is entered or competes in such race, may be scratched or 
disqualified[;], and the stewards may discipline any person responsible. 
 8.  Registration Certificate [T]to Reflect Correct Ownership.  
[Every]Each certificate of registration, eligibility certificate or lease 
agreement filed with the organization and its racing secretary to 
establish the eligibility of a horse to be entered for any race shall 
accurately reflect the correct and true ownership of such horse, and the 
name of the owner [which]that is printed on the official program for such 
horse shall conform to the ownership as declared on the certificate of 
registration or eligibility certificate.  A stable name may be registered for 
[such]the owner or ownership with the Commission.  In the event 
ownership is by syndicate, corporation, partnership, or other association 
or entity, the name of the owner [which]that is printed on the official 
program for such shall be the responsible managing owner, officer, or 
partner who assumes [all ]responsibilities as the owner. 
 9.  Alteration [O]or Forgery [O]of Certificate [O]of 
Registration.  No person shall alter or forge any win sheet, certificate of 
registration, certificate of eligibility, or any other document of 
ownership or registration, nor willfully forge or alter the signature of any 
person required on any such document or entry card. 
 10.  Declarations [A]and Scratches.  Any trainer or assistant 
trainer of a horse [which]that has been entered in a race who does not 
wish such horse to participate in the draw [must]shall declare his horse 
from the race prior to the close of entries.  Any trainer or assistant trainer 
of a horse [which]that has been drawn into or is also eligible for a race 
who does not wish such horse to start in the race, [must]shall scratch his 
horse from the race prior to the designated scratch time.  The declaration 
or scratch of a horse from a race is irrevocable. 
 11.  Deadline [F]for Arrival [O]of Entered Horses.  [All 
h]Horses scheduled to compete in a race [must]shall be present within 
the enclosure no later than 30 minutes prior to their scheduled race 
without stewards' approval.  Horses not within the enclosure by their 
deadline may be scratched and the trainer subject to fine [and/]or 
suspension. 
 12.  Refund [O]of Fees.  If a horse is declared or scratched 
from a race, the owner of [such]the horse shall not be entitled to a refund 
of any nomination, sustaining and penalty payments, entry fees, or 
organization charges paid or remaining due at the time of the declaration 
or scratch.  In the event any race is not run, declared off, or canceled for 
any reason, the owners of such horses that remain eligible at the time the 
race is declared off or canceled shall be entitled to a complete refund of 
[all ]the above payments and fees less monies specified in written race 
conditions for advertising and promotion. 
 13.  Release [O]of Certificates.  Any certificate of registration 
or document of ownership filed with the racing secretary to establish 
eligibility to enter a race shall be released only to the trainer of record of 
the horse.  However, the trainer may authorize in a form provided by the 
racing secretary the release of the certificate to the owner named on the 
certificate or his authorized agent.  Any disputes concerning the rights 
to the registration certificates shall be decided by the stewards. 
 14.  Nomination Races.  Prior to the closing of nominations, 
the organization shall file with the Commission a copy of the nomination 
blank and [all]any advertisements for races to be run during a race 
meeting.  For [all ]races [which]that nominations close no earlier than 

72 hours before post time, the organization shall furnish the Commission 
and the owners of horses previously made eligible by compliance with 
the conditions of such race, with a list of [all ]horses nominated and 
which remain eligible.  The list shall be distributed within 15 days after 
the due date of each payment and shall include the horse's name, the 
owner's name, and the total amount of payments and gross purse to date, 
including any added monies, applicable interest, supplementary 
payments, and deduction for advertising and administrative expenses.  
The organization shall deposit [all ]monies for a nomination race in an 
escrow account according to procedures approved by the Commission. 
 15.  Limitations [O]on Field [A]and Number [O]of Races.  No 
race with less than two horses entered and run, shall be approved by the 
[UHRC]Commission.  No more than 20 races may be run on a race day, 
except with permission of the Commission.  A race day may be canceled 
if less than 75 horses have been entered on the day's program, with the 
exception of days on which trials or finals for a nomination race are 
scheduled. 
 16.  Agreement Upon Entry.  No entry shall be accepted in 
any race except upon the condition that [all]any disputes, claims, and 
objections arising out of the racing or with respect to the interpretation 
of Commission and track rules or conditions of any race shall be decided 
by the Board of Stewards at the race meet[;], or, upon appeal, decided 
by the Commission. 
 17.  Selection [O]of Entered Horses.  The manner of selecting 
post positions of horses shall be determined by the stewards.  The 
selection shall be by lot and shall be made by one of the stewards or their 
designee and a horseman, in public, at the close of entries.  If the number 
of entries to any race is in excess of the number of horses which may, 
because of track limitations, be permitted to start in any one race, the 
race may be split[;], or four horses not drawing into the field may be 
placed on an also eligible list. 
 18.  Preferred List [O]of Horses.  The racing secretary may 
maintain a list of entered horses eliminated from starting by a surplus of 
entries, and these horses shall constitute a preferred list and have 
preference.  The manner in which the preferred list shall be maintained 
and [all ]rules governing [such]the list shall be the responsibility of the 
Racing Secretary.  Such rules [must]shall be submitted to the 
Commission 30 days prior to the commencement of the meet and are 
subject to approval by the Commission. 
 
R52-7-8.  Veterinarian Practices, Medication and Testing 
Procedures. 
 1.  Veterinarians [u]Under the [a]Authority of the Official 
Veterinarian. Veterinarians licensed by the Commission and 
practicing at any location under the jurisdiction of the Commission 
are under the authority of the Official Veterinarian and the 
[S]stewards.  The Official Veterinarian shall: 
 A.  recommend to the [S]stewards or the Commission, the 
discipline that may be imposed upon a veterinarian who violates the 
rules; and 
 B.  sit with the [S]stewards in any hearing before the 
[S]stewards in any administrative process for discipline or violation 
against a veterinarian. 
 2.  Physical [i]Inspection and [a]Assessment of [r]Racing 
[c]Condition.  Any horse entered to participate in an official race shall 
be subjected to a veterinary inspection prior to starting in the race. 
 A.  The inspection shall be conducted by the Official 
Veterinarian or the racing veterinarian. 
 B.  The trainer of each horse or their representative 
[must]shall present the horse for inspection as required by the 
examining veterinarian. 
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 C.  Each horse presented for examination [must]shall have 
clean legs, including removal of any bandages. 
 D.  Prior to examination, a horse may not be placed in ice, 
nor shall any device or substance be applied that impedes veterinary 
clinical assessment. 
 E.  The Official Veterinarian or the racing veterinarian shall 
maintain a permanent continuing health and racing soundness record 
of each horse inspected. 
 F.  The Official Veterinarian or the racing veterinarian are 
authorized access to any horses housed on association grounds 
regardless of entry status. 
 G.  The veterinarian will recommend to the [S]stewards the 
horse be scratched, if, prior to starting: 
 [i]a.  a horse is determined to be unfit for competition; or 
 [ii]b.  if the veterinarian is unable to make a determination 
of racing soundness. 
 H.  Horses scratched upon the recommendation of the 
Official Veterinarian or the racing veterinarian are to be placed on a 
list maintained by the Official Veterinarian. 
 3.  Appropriate [r]Role of [v]Veterinarians.  The following 
limitations apply to drug treatments of horses that are engaged in 
activities, including training, related to competing in Utah Horse 
Racing Commission sanctioned race meets. 
 A.  No drug may be administered except in the context of a 
valid relationship between an attending veterinarian, the horse owner, 
who may be represented by the trainer or other agent, and the horse.  
No drug or prescription drug may be administered without a 
veterinarian having examined the horse and provided the treatment 
recommendation.  The relationship requires the following: 
 [i]a.  the veterinarian, with the consent of the owner, has 
accepted responsibility for making medical judgments about the 
health of the horse; 
 [ii]b.  after performing an examination, the veterinarian 
has: 
 [a.](1)  sufficient knowledge of the horse to make a 
preliminary diagnosis of its medical condition; 
 [b.](2)  is available, or has made arrangements to oversee 
treatment outcomes; and 
 [c.](3)  maintains the veterinarian-client relationship, and; 
 [iii]c.  the judgment of the veterinarian is independent and 
not dictated by the trainer or owner of the horse. 
 B.  The trainer and veterinarian are both responsible to 
ensure compliance with these limitations on drug treatments of 
horses. 
 4.  Treatment Restrictions.  Only licensed trainers, licensed 
owners, or their designees shall be permitted to authorize veterinary 
medical treatment of horses under their care, custody, and control at 
locations under the jurisdiction of the Commission. 
 5.  To administer a prescription or controlled medication, 
drug, chemical, or other substance, an individual [must]shall be: 
 A.  licensed to practice veterinary medicine under the 
jurisdiction of the Commission; and 
 B.  licensed by the Commission. 
 C.  Subsection [(5)]five does not apply to the 
administration of an oral substance allowed by the Commission rules 
if the substance is not banned. 
 D.  Subsection [(5)]five does not apply to a recognized non-
injectable nutritional supplement or other supplement approved by a 
licensed veterinarian or by the [o]Official [v]Veterinarian. 
 E.  No individual shall possess a hypodermic needle, 
syringe capable of accepting a needle, or injectable of any kind on 
association grounds, unless otherwise approved by the Commission. 

 F.  At any location under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission, a veterinarian may use only a one-time disposable 
syringe and needle and shall dispose of both in a manner approved 
by the Commission. 
 G.  If an individual has a medical condition that makes it 
necessary to have a syringe at any location under the jurisdiction of 
the Commission, that individual [must]shall: 
 [i]a.  request permission of the Stewards and the 
Commission in writing; 
 [ii]b.  furnish a letter from a licensed physician explaining 
why it is necessary to have a syringe; and 
 [iii]c.  comply with any conditions and restrictions set by 
the [S]stewards and the Commission. 
 6.  Veterinary [p]Practices.  Private veterinarians shall not 
have contact with an entered horse 24 hours before the post time of 
the race in which the horse is scheduled to compete, unless licensed 
by the Commission and approved by the Official Veterinarian. 
 A.  Any unauthorized contact may result in the horse being 
scratched from the scheduled race and further disciplinary action by 
the [S]stewards. 
 [A]B.  Any horse entered for racing [must]shall be present 
on the grounds [five]four hours prior to the post time of the race they 
are entered in. 
 7.  Veterinarians' [r]Reports.  A private veterinarian who 
treats a racehorse at a facility under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission shall submit a Veterinarian's Medication Report Form 
approved by the Commission to the Official Veterinarian or other 
racing authority designee. 
 A.  The Veterinarian's Medication Report Form shall be 
signed by the private veterinarian or, when signed electronically, 
shall be submitted by the private veterinarian. 
 B.  The Veterinarian's Medication Report Form shall be 
filed by the treating veterinarian immediately following 
administration or prescription of any medication, drug, substance, or 
procedure. 
 C.  Disclosure of any report is governed by [the ]Title 63G, 
Chapter 2[Utah Governmental] Government Records Access and 
Management Act (GRAMA) and is non-public to the extent allowed 
by GRAMA.  Access to a report is limited to the Official Veterinarian 
and the contents shall not be disclosed except: 
 [i]a.  in the course of an investigation of a possible violation 
of these rules; 
 [ii]b.  in a proceeding before the [S]stewards or the 
Commission exercising Commission authority; or 
 [iii]c.  to the horse trainer or owner of record at the time of 
treatment. 
 D.  A timely and accurate filing of a Veterinarian's 
Medication Report Form that is consistent with the analytical results 
of a positive test may be used as a mitigating factor in determining 
the nature and extent of a rules violation. 
 8.  Pre-race and post-race testing and reporting to the test 
barn.  The official winning horse and any other horse ordered by the 
Commission or the [S]stewards shall be taken to the test barn to have 
blood or urine samples taken at the direction of the Official 
Veterinarian. 
 A.  The [S]stewards, Commission, or Official Veterinarian 
may require random testing on a horse at any time a horse is on the 
grounds under the jurisdiction of the Commission. 
 B.  Unless otherwise directed by the [S]stewards or Official 
Veterinarian, a horse that is selected for testing [must]shall be taken 
directly to the test barn.  An individual approved by the Commission 
or a track security guard shall monitor access to the test barn area 
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during and immediately following each racing performance.  Any 
individual entering the test barn area [must]shall: 
 [i]a.  be at least 18 years old; 
 [ii]b.  be currently licensed by the Commission; 
 [iii]c.  display their Commission identification badge; and 
 [iv]d.  have a legitimate reason for being in the test barn 
area. 
 C.  Sample collection shall be done in accordance with the 
guidelines and instructions provided by the Official Veterinarian, 
including the determination of a minimum sample requirement for 
the primary testing laboratory. 
 [i]a.  If the specimen obtained from a horse is less than the 
minimum sample requirement, the entire specimen shall be sent to 
the primary testing laboratory. 
 [ii]b.  If a specimen obtained from a horse is greater than 
the minimum sample requirement but less than twice that amount, the 
portion of the sample that is greater than the minimum sample 
requirement shall be secured as the split sample. 
 [iii]c.  If a specimen obtained from a horse is greater than 
twice the minimum sample requirement, a portion of the sample 
approximately equal to the amount provided for the primary testing 
laboratory shall be secured as the split sample. 
 [iv]d.  Blood samples [must]shall be collected at a 
consistent time, preferably not later than one-hour post-race. 
 9.  Pre-race [s]Sampling or [t]Testing.  The Commission 
shall adopt standard operating procedures that include: 
 A.  sampling procedures; and 
 B.  personnel and notification processes. 
 10.  If a sample taken pre-race is determined to be above 
the thresholds stated in this rule, the horse shall be scratched. 
 11.  Any owner, trainer, or other licensed designee of the 
owner or trainer who fails to permit a horse to be tested when 
requested by an authorized Commission designee shall have that 
horse scratched. 
 12.  Out-of-competition [t]Testing [a]Authorized.  The 
Commission may take blood, urine, hair, or other biologic samples 
from a horse at a reasonable time on any date as authorized by 
Commission rules 
 13.  The Commission [s]Shall own the [s]Samples.  This 
rule authorizes only the collection and testing of samples, and does 
not independently make impermissible the administration to or 
presence in any horse of any drug or other substance.  A race day 
prohibition or restriction of a substance by a Commission rule is not 
applicable to an out of competition test unless there is an attempt to 
race the horse in a manner that violates the rule. 
 14.  Horses [e]Eligible to be [t]Tested.  Any horse that has 
been engaging in activities related to competing in horse racing in the 
jurisdiction may be tested.  This includes: 
 A.  horses that are training outside the jurisdiction to 
participate in racing in the jurisdiction; and 
 B.  horses that are training in the jurisdiction. 
 [C]15.  Weanlings, yearlings, and horses no longer engaged 
in horse racing, such as retired broodmares are not eligible to be 
tested. 
 [D]16.  A horse is presumed eligible for out-of-competition 
testing if: 
 [i]A.  it is on the grounds at a racetrack or training center 
under the jurisdiction of the Commission; 
 [ii]B.  it is under the care or control of a trainer licensed by 
the Commission; 
 [iii]C.  it is owned by an owner licensed by the 
Commission; 

 [iv]D.  it is entered or nominated to race at a premise 
licensed by the Commission; 
 [v]E.  it has raced within the previous 12 months at a 
premise licensed by the Commission; or 
 [vi]F.  it is nominated to a program based on racing in the 
jurisdiction. 
 1[5]7.  Horses shall be selected for sampling by a 
Commission veterinarian, Executive Director, Equine Medical 
Director, Steward, Presiding Judge, or a designee of any of the 
foregoing. 
 1[6]8.  Horses may be selected to be tested at random, for 
cause, or as otherwise determined, at the discretion of the 
Commission, and the Commission need not provide advance notice 
before arriving at any location, whether or not licensed by the 
Commission, to collect samples. 
 1[7]9.  The trainer, owner, or their designee shall cooperate 
with the person who takes samples for the Commission, and shall: 
 A.  assist in the immediate location and identification of the 
horse; and 
 B.  make the horse available as soon as practical upon 
arrival of the person who is responsible for collecting the samples. 
 [18]20.  A trainer or owner of a horse that has been notified 
that a written report from a primary laboratory states that a prohibited 
substance was found in a specimen obtained under these rules, may 
request that a split sample, corresponding to the portion of the 
specimen tested by the primary laboratory, be sent to another 
laboratory approved by the Commission. 
 A.  The request must be made in writing and delivered to 
the Stewards not later than three business days after the [S]stewards 
receive written notice of the findings of the primary laboratory.  Any 
split sample requested [must]shall be shipped within an additional 48 
hours.  The owner or trainer requesting testing of a split sample shall 
be responsible for the cost of shipping and testing. 
 B.  Failure of the owner, trainer or designee to appear at the 
time and place designated by the Official Veterinarian shall constitute 
a waiver of rights to split sample testing. 
 C.  Prior to shipment, the Commission shall confirm the 
split sample laboratory's willingness to simultaneously: 
 [i]a.  provide the testing requested; 
 [ii]b.  send results to both the person requesting the testing 
and the Commission, and; 
 [iii]c.  make arrangements for payment satisfactory to the 
split sample laboratory. 
 D.  If a reference laboratory will accept split samples, that 
laboratory [must]shall be included among the laboratories approved 
for split sample testing. 
 [19]21.  Storage and [s]Shipment of [s]Split [s]Samples. 
Split samples obtained in accordance with this rule shall be secured 
and available for further testing in accordance with the following 
procedures. 
 A.  A split sample shall be secured in the test barn in the 
same manner as the portion of the specimen shipped to a primary 
laboratory until specimens are packed and secured for shipment to 
the primary laboratory.  Any evidence of a malfunction of a split 
sample freezer or samples that are not in a frozen condition during 
storage shall be documented in the log and immediately reported to 
the Official Veterinarian or a designated Commission representative. 
 B.  Split samples shall then be transferred to a freezer at a 
secure location approved by the Commission that [must]shall meet 
the following requirements: 
 [i]a.  the freezer shall have two hasps or other devices 
providing for use of two independent locks; 
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 [ii]b.  one lock shall be the property of the Commission; 
and 
 [iii]c.  one lock shall be the property of a representative of 
the group representing a majority of the horsemen at a race meeting. 
 C.  The locks shall be closed and locked to prevent access, 
except as provided by these rules. 
 D.  A freezer for storage of split samples shall only be 
opened under the following circumstances: 
 [i]a.  to deposit or remove split samples; or 
 [ii]b.  to inventory, or check the condition of samples. 
 E.  When a freezer used for storage of split samples is 
opened, it shall be attended by both a representative of the 
Commission and the owner or trainer of the horse, or their designee. 
 F.  A chain of custody log shall be maintained and shall 
record each time a split sample freezer is opened to: 
 [i]a.  specify each person in attendance; 
 [ii]b.  specify the purpose for opening the freezer; 
 [iii]c.  identify split samples deposited or removed; 
 [iv]d.  specify the date and time the freezer was opened, the 
time the freezer was closed; and 
 [v]e.  verify that both locks were secured prior to and after 
opening the freezer. 
 [F]G.  The Commission shall also provide a Split Sample 
Chain of Custody Verification Form.  The form, including any 
additional information the Official Veterinarian may require, shall be 
completed during the retrieval, packaging, and shipment of the split 
sample, specifying: 
 [i]a.  the date and time the sample is removed from the split 
sample freezer; 
 [ii]b.  the sample number; 
 [iii]c.  the address where the split sample is to be sent; 
 [iv]d.  the name of the carrier and the address where the 
sample is to be taken for shipment; 
 [v]e.  verification of retrieval of the split sample from the 
freezer including packaging; 
 [vi]f.  verification of the address of the laboratory on the 
sample package; 
 [vii]g.  verification of the condition of the sample package 
immediately prior to transfer of custody to the carrier; and 
 [viii]h.  the date and time custody of the sample is 
transferred to the carrier. 
 2[0]2.  The owner, trainer, or designee shall pack the split 
sample for shipment in the presence of a representative of the 
Commission, in accordance with the packaging procedures 
recommended by the Commission. 
 2[1]3.  Laboratory [m]Minimum [s]Standards.  
Laboratories conducting either primary or split post-race sample 
analysis [must]shall meet at least the following minimum standards. 
 A.  The laboratory must be accredited by an accrediting 
body designated by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International to standards set forth and required by the Commission 
 B.  A testing laboratory must: 
 [i]a.  have, or have access to, LC/MS instrumentation for 
screening or confirmation purposes; and 
 [ii]b.  be able to meet minimum standards of detection, 
which are defined as: 
 [iii]c.  the specific concentration at which a laboratory is 
expected to detect the presence of a particular substance or 
metabolite; or 
 [iv]d.  by the adoption of a regulatory threshold. 
 2[2]4.  Postmortem [e]Examinations. 

 A.  The Commission may require a postmortem 
examination of any horse that dies or is euthanized on association 
grounds. 
 [A]B.  If a postmortem examination is to be conducted, the 
Commission or its representative shall take possession of the horse 
upon death for postmortem examination. 
 [i]C.  [All ][s]Shoes and equipment on the horse's legs shall 
be left on the horse. 
 [B]D.  If a postmortem examination is to be conducted, the 
Commission or its representative shall collect blood, urine, bodily 
fluids, or other biologic specimens immediately, if possible before 
euthanasia. 
 [i]E.  The Commission may submit blood, urine, bodily 
fluids, or other biologic specimens collected during a postmortem 
examination for analysis. 
 [C]F.  The presence of a prohibited substance in a specimen 
collected during the postmortem examination may constitute a 
violation. 
 [D]G.  [All l]Licensees shall be required to comply with 
postmortem examination requirements as a condition of licensure. 
 [E]H.  In proceeding with a postmortem examination, the 
Commission or its designee shall coordinate with the owner or the 
owner's agent to determine and address any insurance requirements. 
 [F]I.  The owner of the deceased horse shall make payment 
of any charges due the Official Veterinarian or a licensed veterinarian 
employed to conduct the postmortem examination. 
 [G]J.  If any licensed veterinarian other than the Official 
Veterinarian or his designee performs a postmortem examination, the 
veterinarian shall submit the record of the postmortem examination 
to the Official Veterinarian within 72 hours of the examination. 
 
R52-7-9.  Running the Race. 
 1.  Jockeys [T]to Report.  [Every]Each jockey engaged to ride 
in a race shall report to the jockey room at least one hour before post 
time of the first race and shall weigh out at the appointed time unless 
excused by the stewards.  After reporting, a jockey shall not leave the 
jockey room until [all of ]their riding engagements have been fulfilled 
[and/]or unless excused by the stewards. 
 2.  Entrance [T]to Jockey Room Prohibited.  Except with 
permission of the stewards or the Commission, no person shall be 
permitted entrance into the jockey room from one hour before post time 
for the first race until after the last race other than jockeys, their 
attendants, racing officials and security officers on duty, and 
organization employees performing required duties. 
 3.  Weighing Out.  [All]Each jockey[s] taking part in a race 
[must]shall be weighed out by the Clerk of Scales no more than one hour 
preceding the time designated for the race.  Any overweight in excess of 
one pound shall be declared by the jockey to the Clerk of Scales, who 
shall report such overweight and any change in jockeys to the 
[S]stewards for immediate public announcement.  A jockey's weight 
includes the riding costume, racing saddle and pad; but shall not include 
the jockey's safety helmet, whip, the horse's bridle or other regularly 
approved racing tack.  A jockey [must]shall be neat in appearance and 
[must]shall wear a conventional riding costume. 
 4.  Unruly Horses [I]in [T]the Paddock.  If a horse is so unruly 
in the saddling paddock that the identifier cannot read the tattoo number 
and properly identify the horse; or if the trainer or their assistant is 
uncooperative in the effort to identify the horse, then the horse may be 
scratched by order of the stewards. 
 5.  Use [O]of Equipment.  No bridle shall weigh more than 
two pounds, nor shall any whip weigh more than one pound or be more  
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than 31 inches in length.  No whip shall be used unless it shall have 
affixed to the end thereof a leather "popper."  [All w]Whips are subject 
to inspection and approval by the stewards.  Blinkers are not to be placed 
on the horse until after the horse has been identified by the official 
identifier, except with permission of the stewards. 
 6.  Prohibited Use [O]of Equipment.  Jockeys are prohibited 
from whipping a horse excessively, brutally, or upon the head, except 
when necessary to control the horse.  No mechanical or electrical 
devices or appliances other th[e]an the ordinary whip shall be possessed 
by any individual or used on any horse at any time a race meeting, 
whether in a race or otherwise. 
 7.  Responsibility [F]for Weight.  The jockey, trainer and 
owner shall be responsible for the weight carried by the horse after the 
jockey has been weighed out for the race by the clerk of scales.  The 
trainer or owner may substitute a jockey when the engaged jockey 
reports an overweight in excess of two pounds. 
 8.  Safety Equipment Required.  [All]Each person[s], when 
mounted on a race horse within the enclosure or riding in a race, shall 
wear a properly fastened safety helmet and flak jacket.  The Commission 
or the stewards may require any other person to wear such helmet and 
jacket when mounted on a horse within the enclosure.  [All ]S[s]afety 
helmets and flak jackets [so ]required are subject to approval of the 
stewards or Commission. 
 9.  Display [O]of Colors [A]and Post Position Numbers.  In a 
race, each horse shall carry a conspicuous saddle cloth number, and the 
jockey shall wear racing colors consisting of long sleeves and a 
numbered helmet cover corresponding to the number of the horse 
[which]that are furnished by the organization licensee. 
 10.  Deposit [O]of Jockey Fee.  The minimum jockey mount 
fee for a losing mount in the race [must]shall be on deposit with the 
horsemen's bookkeeper, prior to the time for weighing out, and failure 
to have [such]a minimum fee on deposit is cause for disciplinary action 
and cause for the stewards to scratch the horse for which [such]the fee 
is to be deposited.  The organization assumes the obligation to pay the 
jockey fee when earned by the engaged jockey.  The jockey fee shall be 
considered earned when the jockey is weighed out by the clerk of scales, 
unless, in the opinion of the stewards, such jockey capable of riding elect 
to take themselves off the mount without proper cause. 
 11.  Requirements [F]for Horse, Trainer, And Jockey.  
[Every]Each horse [must]shall be in the paddock at the time appointed 
by the stewards before post time for their race.  [Every]Each horse 
[must]shall be saddled in the paddock stall designated by the paddock 
judge unless special permission is granted by the stewards to saddle 
elsewhere.  Each trainer or their assistant trainer having the care and 
custody of such horse shall be present in the paddock to supervise the 
saddling of the horse and shall give [such ]instructions as may be 
necessary to assure the best performance of the horse.  [Every]Each 
jockey participating in a race shall give their best effort in order to 
facilitate the best performance of their horse. 
 12.  Failure [T]to Fulfill Jockey Engagements.  No jockey 
engaged for a certain race or for a specified time may fail or refuse to 
abide by [his or her]their agreement unless excused by the stewards. 
 13.  Control [A]and Parade [O]of Horses [O]on [T]the Track.  
The horses are under the control of the starter from the time they enter 
the track until dispatched at the start of the race.  [All h]Horses with 
jockey mounted shall parade and warm up carrying their weight and 
wearing their equipment from the paddock to the starting gate, as well 
as to the finish line.  Any horse failing to do so may be scratched by the 
stewards.  After passing the stands at least once, the horses may break 
formation and warm up until directed to proceed to the starting gate.  In 
the event a jockey is injured during the parade to post or at the starting 
gate and must be replaced, the horse shall be returned to the paddock 

and resaddled with the replacement jockey's equipment.  [Such]The 
horse [must]shall carry the replacement jockey to the starting gate. 
 14.  Start [O]of The Race.  When the horses have reached the 
starting gate, they shall be placed in their starting gate stalls in the order 
stipulated by the starter.  Except in cases of emergency, [every]each 
horse shall be started by the starter from a starting gate approved by the 
Commission.  The starter shall see that the horses are placed in their 
proper positions without unnecessary delay.  Causes for any delay in the 
start shall immediately be reported to the stewards.  If, when the starter 
dispatches the field, the doors at the front of the starting gate stall should 
not open properly due to a mechanical failure of malfunction of the 
starting gate, the stewards may declare [such]the horse to be a nonstarter.  
Should a horse [which]that is not previously scratched not be in the 
starting gate stall, [thereby ]causing [such]the horse to be left when the 
field is dispatched by the starter, [such]the horse shall be declared a 
nonstarter by the stewards. 
 15.  Leaving [T]the Race Course.  Should a horse leave the 
course while moving from the paddock to starting gate, he shall return 
to the course at the nearest practical point to that at which he left the 
course, and shall complete his parade to the starting gate from the point 
at which he left the course.  However, should [such]the horse leave the 
course to the extent that he is out of the direct line of sight of the 
stewards, or if [such]the horse cannot be returned to the course within a 
reasonable amount of time, the stewards shall scratch the horse.  Any 
horse [which]that leaves the course or loses its jockey during the running 
of a race shall be disqualified and may be placed last, or the horse may 
be unplaced. 
 16.  Riding Rules.  In a straightaway race, [every]each horse 
[must]shall maintain position as nearly as possible in the lane in which 
he starts.  If a horse is ridden, drifts, or swerves out of their lane in [such 
]a manner that he interferes with or impedes another horse, it is a foul.  
[Every]Each jockey shall be responsible for making [his]their best effort 
to control and guide [his]their mount in [such ]a way as not to cause a 
foul.  The stewards shall take cognizance of riding [which]that results in 
a foul, irrespective of whether an objection is lodged[; and]. [i]If in the 
opinion of the stewards, a foul is committed as a result of a jockey not 
making his best effort to control and guide their mount to avoid a foul, 
whether intentionally or through carelessness or incompetence, 
[such]the jockey may be penalized at the discretion of the stewards. 
 17.  Stewards [T]to [D]determine Fouls [A]and Extent [O]of 
Disqualification.  The stewards shall determine the extent of interference 
in cases of fouls or riding infractions.  They may disqualify the offending 
horse and place it behind [such ]other horses as in their judgment it 
interfered with, or they may place it last.  The stewards may determine 
that a horse shall be unplaced. 
 18.  Careless Riding.  A jockey shall not ride carelessly or 
willfully so as to permit [his or her]their mount to interfere with or 
impede any other horse in the race.  A jockey shall not willfully strike at 
another horse or jockey so as to impede, interfere with, or injure the 
other horse or jockey.  If a jockey rides in a manner contrary to this rule, 
the horse may be disqualified [and/]or the jockey may be fined [and/]or 
suspended, or otherwise disciplined. 
 19.  Ramifications [O]of [A]a Disqualification.  When a horse 
is disqualified by the stewards, [every]each horse in the race owned 
wholly or in part by the same owner, or trained by the same trainer, may 
be disqualified.  When a horse is disqualified for interference in a time 
trial race, it shall receive the time of the horse it is placed behind plus 
0.01 of a second penalty, or a more exact measurement if photo finish 
equipment permits, and shall be eligible to qualify for the finals or 
consolations of the race on the basis of the assigned time. 
 20.  Dead Heat.  When a race results in a dead heat, the heat 
shall not be run off.  The purse distribution due the horses involved in 
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the dead heat shall be divided equally between them.  [All p]Prizes or 
trophies for which a duplicate is not awardable shall be drawn for by lot. 
 21.  Returning [T]to [T]the Finish After [T]the Race.  After 
the race, the jockey shall return their horse to the finish and before 
dismounting, salute the stewards.  No person shall assist a jockey in 
removing from their horse the equipment that is to be included in the 
jockey's weight except by permission of the stewards.  No person shall 
throw any covering over any horse at the place of dismounting until the 
jockey has removed the equipment that is to be included in his weight. 
 22.  Objection - Inquiry Concerning Interference.  Before the 
race has been declared official, a jockey, trainer or their assistant trainer, 
owner or their authorized agent of the horse, who has reasonable 
grounds to believe that their horse was interfered with or impeded or 
otherwise hindered during the running of a race, or that any riding rule 
was violated by any jockey or horse during the running of the race, may 
immediately make a claim of interference or foul with the stewards or 
their delegate.  The stewards shall thereupon hold an inquiry into the 
running of the race; however,[ the stewards] may, upon their own 
motion, conduct an inquiry into the running of a race.  Any claim of foul, 
objection, [and/]or inquiry shall be immediately announced to the 
public. 
 23.  Official Order [O]of Finish.  When satisfied that the order 
of finish is correct, that [all]each jockey[s] unless excused have been 
properly weighed in, and that the race has been properly run, in 
accordance with the rules of the Commission, the [S]stewards shall 
declare that the order of finish is official[;], and it shall be announced to 
the public, confirmed, and the official order of finish posted for the race. 
 24.  Time Trial Qualifiers.  When two or more time trial 
contestants have the same qualifying time, to a degree of .001 of a 
second, or a more exact measurement if photo finish equipment permits, 
for fewer positions in the finals or consolation necessary for [all 
]contestants, then a draw by lot will be conducted in accordance with 
Subsection R52-7-7(17).  However, no contestant may draw into a finals 
or consolation instead of a contestant [which]that out finished such 
contestant.  When scheduled races are trial heats for futurities or stakes 
races electronically timed from the starting gates, no organization 
licensee shall move the starting gates or allow the starting gates to be 
moved until [all ]trial heats are complete, except in an emergency as 
determined by the stewards. 
 
R52-7-10.  Objections and Protests; Hearing and Appeals. 
 1.  Stewards [T]to Make Inquiry [O]or Investigation.  The 
stewards shall make diligent inquiry or investigation into any complaint, 
objection, or protest made either upon their own motion, by any 
[R]racing [O]official, or by any other person empowered by this 
[Article]rule to make such complaint, protest, or objection. 
 2.  Objections.  Objections to the participation of a horse 
entered an any race shall be made to the stewards in writing and signed 
by the objector.  Except for claim of foul or interference, an objection to 
a horse entered in a race shall be made not later than two hours prior to 
the scheduled post time for the first race on the day which the questioned 
horse is entered.  Any [such ]objection shall set forth the specific reason 
or grounds for the objection in such detail so as to establish probable 
cause for the objection.  The stewards, upon their own motion, may 
consider an objection until such time as the horse becomes a starter.  An 
objection concerning claim of foul in a race may be lodged verbally to 
the stewards before the race results are declared official. 
 3.  Grounds [F]for Objections.  An objection to a horse 
[which]that is entered in a race shall be made on the following grounds 
or reasons: 
 A.  [A]a misstatement, error or omission in the entry under 
which a horse is to run[.]; 

 B.  [That ]the horse which is entered to run is not the horse it 
is represented to be at the time of entry, or that the age is erroneously 
given[.]; 
 C.  [That ]the horse is not qualified to enter under the 
conditions specified for the race, [or ]that the allowances are improperly 
claimed or not entitled the horse, or that the weight to be carried is 
incorrect under the conditions of the race[.]; 
 D.  [That ]the horse is owned in whole or in part, or leased by 
a person ineligible to participate in racing or otherwise ineligible to run 
a race as provided in these [R]rules[.]; or 
 E.  [T]that reasonable grounds exist whereby a horse was 
interfered with or impeded or otherwise hindered by another horse or 
jockey during the running of a race. 
 4.  Horse Subject [T]to Objection.  The stewards may scratch 
from the race any horse [which]that is the subject of an objection if they 
have reasonable cause to believe that the objection is valid. 
 5.  Protests.  A protest against any horse [which]that has 
started in a race shall be made to the stewards in writing, signed by the 
protestor, within 48 hours of the race, except as noted in Subsection 
R52-7-10(8).  Any [such ]protest shall set forth the specific [reason or 
]reasons for the protest in such detail as to establish probable cause for 
protest.  The stewards upon their own motion may consider a protest at 
any time. 
 6.  Grounds [F]for Protest.  A protest may be made upon the 
following grounds: 
 A.  [A]any ground for objection set forth in Subsection R52-
1-10(3)[.]; 
 B.  [T]that the order of finish as officially determined by the 
stewards was incorrect due to oversight or errors in the numbers 
designated to the horses [which]that started in the race[.]; 
 C.  [T]that a jockey, trainer, or owner of a horse [which]that 
started in the race was ineligible to participate in racing as provided in 
these rules[.]; 
 D.  [T]that the weight carried by a horse was improper by 
reason of fraud or willful misconduct[.]; or 
 E.  [T]that an unfair advantage was gained in violation of the 
rules. 
 7.  Persons Empowered [T]to File Objection [O]or Protest.  A 
jockey, trainer, owner or authorized agent of the horse [which]that is 
entered or is a starter in a race is empowered to file an objection or 
protest against any other horse in [such]the race upon the grounds set 
forth in this [Article]rule for objections and protests. 
 8.  No Limitation [O]on Time [T]to File When Fraud Alleged.  
Notwithstanding any other provision in this [Article]rule, the time 
limitation on the filing of protests shall not apply in any case in which 
fraud or willful misconduct is alleged, provided that the stewards are 
satisfied that the allegations are bona fide and susceptible to verification. 
 9.  Frivolous [O]or Inaccurate Objection [O]or Protest.  No 
person shall knowingly file a frivolous, inaccurate, false, or untruthful 
objection or protest; nor shall any person present [his]their objection or 
protest to the stewards in a disrespectful or undignified manner. 
 10.  Horse [T]to [B]be [D]disqualified [O]on Valid Protest.  If 
a protest against a horse [which]that has run in a race is declared valid, 
that horse may be disqualified.  A horse so disqualified which was a 
starter in the said race, may be placed last in the order of finish or may 
be unplaced.  The stewards or the Commission may order any purse, 
award or prize for any race withheld from distribution pending the 
determination of the protest[(s)].  In the event any purse, award or prize 
has been distributed to a person on behalf of a horse [which]that by 
protest or other reason is disqualified or determined not to be entitled to 
[such]the purse, award or prize, the stewards or the Commission may 
order [such]the purse, award or prize returned and redistributed to the 
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rightful person.  Any person who fails to comply with an order to return 
any purse, award, or prize previously distributed shall be suspended until 
its return. 
 11.  Notification [O]of [A]and Representation [A]at Hearing.  
Adequate notice of hearing shall be given to every summoned person in 
accordance with the procedures set forth in Subsection R52-7-3(6).  
[Every]Each person alleged to have committed a rule violation or who 
is called to testify before the stewards is entitled at the persons expense 
to have counsel present evidence and witnesses on [his]their behalf and 
to cross-examine other witnesses at the hearing. 
 12.  Testimony [A]and Evidence [A]at Hearing.  [Every]Each 
person called to a hearing before the stewards for a rule violation shall 
be allowed to present testimony, produce witnesses, cross-examine 
witnesses, and present documentary evidence in accordance with the 
rules of privilege recognized by law. 
 13.  Duty [O]of Disclosure.  It is the duty and obligation of 
[every]each licensee to make full disclosure at a hearing before the 
Commission or before the stewards of any knowledge [he or she 
possesses]they possess of a violation of any racing law or of the rules of 
the Commission.  No person may refuse to testify at any hearing on any 
relevant matter except in the proper exercise of a legal privilege, nor 
shall any person testify falsely. 
 14.  Failure [T]to Appear.  Any licensee or summoned person 
who fails to appear before the stewards or the Commission after they 
have been ordered personally or in writing to do so, may be suspended 
pending appearance before the stewards or the Commission.  
Nonappearance of a summoned person after adequate notice may be 
construed as a waiver of right to be present at a hearing. 
 15.  Record [O]of Hearing.  [All h]Hearings before the 
stewards or Commission shall be recorded.  Th[at]e portion [at]of a 
hearing [constituting]that includes deliberations in executive session 
need not be recorded.  A written transcript or a copy of the tape recording 
shall be made available to any person alleged to have committed a 
violation of the Act or the rules upon written request and payment of 
appropriate reimbursement cost[(s)] for transcription or reproduction. 
 16.  Vote [O]on Steward's Decision.  A majority vote shall 
decide any question to which the authority of the stewards extends.  If a 
vote is not unanimous, the dissent steward shall provide a written record 
to the Commission of the reasons for such dissent within 72 hours of the 
vote. 
 17.  Rulings [B]by The Stewards.  Any ruling or order issued 
by the stewards shall specify the full name of the licensee or person 
subject to the ruling or order[;], most recent address on file with the 
Commission[;], date of birth[;], social security number[;], statement of 
the offense charged including any rule number; date of ruling; fine 
[and/]or suspension imposed or other action taken[;], changes in the 
order of finish and purse distribution in a race, when appropriate[;], and 
any other information deemed necessary by the stewards or the 
Commission.  Any member of a Board of Stewards may, after 
consultation with and by mutual agreement of the other stewards, issue 
an Order or Notice signed by one steward on behalf of the Board of 
Stewards.  Subsequently, an Order containing all three stewards' 
signatures shall be made part of the official record. 
 18.  Summary Suspension [O]of Occupation Licensee.  If the 
stewards or the Commission find that the public health, safety, or 
welfare require emergency action and incorporates [such]a finding to 
that effect in any Order, summary suspension may be ordered pending 
proceedings for revocation or other action, which proceedings shall be 
promptly initiated and held as provided in Subsection R52-7-10(19). 
 19.  Duration [O]of Suspension [O]or Revocation.  Unless 
execution of an order of suspension or revocation is stayed by the  
 

Commission or a court of competent jurisdiction, a person's occupation 
license, suspended or revoked, shall remain suspended or revoked until 
the final determination has been made pursuant to the provisions of 
Section R52-7-5. 
 20.  Grounds [F]for Appeal From Decision [O]of The 
Stewards.  Any decision of the stewards, except decisions regarding 
disqualifications for interference during the running of a race, may be 
appealed to the Commission[;]. [and s]Such decision may be overruled 
if it is found by a preponderance of evidence that: 
 A.  [T]the stewards mistakenly interpreted the law; or 
 B.  [T]the Appellant produces new evidence of a convincing 
nature [which]that, if found to be true, would require the overruling of 
the decision; or 
 C.  [T]the best interests of racing and the [S]state may be 
better served. 
 21.  Appeal [F]from Decision [O]of The Stewards.  The 
Commission shall review hearings of any case referred to the 
Commission by the stewards or appealed to the Commission from the 
decisions of the stewards except as otherwise provided in this 
[Article]rule.  Upon every appealable decision of the stewards, the 
person subject to the decision or Order shall be made aware of his right 
to an appeal before the Commission and the necessary procedures 
thereof.  Appeals shall be made no later than 72 hours or the third 
calendar day from the date of the rendering of the decision of the 
stewards unless the Commission [for good cause ]extends the time for 
filing for good cause.  Any extension should not [to ]exceed 30 days 
from [said]the rendering date.  The appeal shall be in writing, signed by 
the appellant[;], and shall contain his full name, present mailing address, 
and present phone number; and shall set forth the facts and any new 
evidence the appellant believes to be grounds for an appeal before the 
Commission.  Action on such a hearing request must commence by the 
Commission within 30 days of the filing of the appeal.  An appeal shall 
not affect a decision of the stewards until the appeal has been sustained 
or dismissed or a stay order issued. 
 22.  Appointment [O]of Hearing Examiners.  When directed 
by the Commission, any qualified person[(s)] may sit as a hearing 
examiner[(s)] for the taking of evidence in any matter pending before 
the Commission.  Any such hearing examiner shall report to the 
Commission Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the 
Commission shall determine the matter as if [such]the evidence had 
been presented to the full Commission. 
 23.  Hearings [O]on Agreement.  Persons aggrieved as of the 
result of a stewards' ruling in a preliminary or trial race may request a 
hearing before the executive director of the Commission to review 
[same]the ruling.  If [all ]interested parties waive the right to receive ten 
day notice of hearing, such a hearing may be heard on a day certain 
within seven days after the preliminary or trial race in question.  [All 
such]Any appeals shall be heard on days set by the executive director of 
the Commission or anyone acting in [his]their stead. 
 24.  Temporary Stay Order.  The Executive Director may, 
upon consultation with the direction of a minimum of three 
Commissioners, issue or deny a temporary stay order to stay execution 
of any ruling, order or decision of the stewards except stewards' 
decisions regarding disqualifications for interference during the running 
of a race.  Any application for a temporary stay shall be in writing, 
signed by the appellant; shall contain his full name, present mailing 
address, and present phone number; shall set forth the facts and any 
evidence to justify the issuance of the stay; and shall be filed with the 
Office of the Commission as specified in Subsection R52-7-3(7).  The 
granting of a temporary stay order shall carry no presumption that the 
stayed decision of the stewards is or may be invalid, and a temporary 
stay order may be dissolved at any time by further order of the executive 
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director upon consultation with and the direction of a minimum of three 
Commissioners. 
 25.  Appearance [A]at Hearing Upon Appeal.  The 
Commission shall notify the Appellant and the stewards of the date, 
time, and location of its hearing in the matter upon appeal.  The burden 
shall be on the appellant to provide the facts necessary to sustain the 
appeal. 
 26.  Complaints Against Officials.  Any complaint against a 
racing official other than a steward shall be made to the stewards in 
writing and signed by the complainant.  [All such]Any complaints shall 
be reported to the Commission by the stewards, together with a report 
of the action taken or the recommendation of the stewards.  Complaints 
against any stewards shall be made in writing to the executive director 
of the Commission and signed by the complainant. 
 27.  Rulings [O]on Admissibility [A]and Evidence.  In [all 
]hearings, the chairperson, chief steward, or [such ]other person as may 
be designated, shall make rulings on admissibility and introduction of 
evidence.  [Such a]A ruling shall prevail[;], except when a Commission 
member or a steward requests a poll of the panel, and the ruling is 
overturned by majority vote. 
 
R52-7-11.  General Conduct. 
 1.  Conditions [O]of Meeting Binding Upon Licensees.  The 
Commission, recognizing the necessity for an organization to comply 
with the requirements of its license and to fulfill its obligation to the 
public and the State of Utah with the best possible uninterrupted services 
in the comparatively short licensed period, herein provides that [all 
]organizations, officials, horsemen, owners, trainers, jockeys, grooms, 
farriers, organization employees, and [all ]licensees who have accepted, 
directly or indirectly, with reasonable advance notice, the conditions 
defined by these rules under which [said]an organization engages and 
plans to conduct such race meeting, shall be bound thereby. 
 2.  Trainer Responsibility.  The trainer is presumed to know 
the "Rules of Racing" and is responsible for the condition, soundness, 
and eligibility of the horses he enters in a race.  Should the chemical 
analysis, urine or otherwise, taken from a horse under his supervision 
show the presence of any drug or medication of any kind or substance, 
whether drug or otherwise, regardless of the time it may have been 
administered, it shall be taken as prima facie evidence that the 
[same]drug was administered by or with the knowledge of the trainer or 
[person or ]persons under his supervision having care or custody of 
[such]the horse.  At the discretion of the stewards or Commission, the 
trainer and [all]any other persons shown to have had care or custody of 
[such]the horse may be fined or suspended or both.  Under the 
provisions of this rule, the trainer is also responsible for any puncture 
mark on any horse he enters in a race, found by the stewards upon 
recommendation of the [o]Official [v]Veterinarian to evidence injection 
by syringe.  If the trainer cannot be present on race day, he shall 
designate an assistant trainer.  [Such d]Designation shall be made prior 
to time of entry, unless otherwise approved by the stewards.  Failure to 
fully disclose the actual trainer of a horse participating in an approved 
race shall be grounds to disqualify the horse, and subject the actual 
trainer to possible disciplinary action by the stewards or the 
Commission.  Designation of an assistant trainer shall not relieve the 
trainer's absolute responsibility for the conditions and eligibility of the 
horse, but shall place the assistant trainer under such absolute 
responsibility also.  Willful failure on the part of the trainer to be present 
at, or refusal to allow the taking of any specimen, or any act or threat to 
prevent or otherwise interfere [therewith ]shall be cause for 
disqualification of the horse involved; and the matter shall be referred to 
the stewards for further action. 

 3.  Altering Sex [O]of Horse.  Any alteration to the sex of a 
horse from the sex as recorded on the Certificate of Foal Registration or 
other official registration Certificate of such horse shall be immediately 
reported by the trainer to the racing secretary and the official horse 
identifier if [such]the horse is registered to race at any race meeting. 
 4.  Official Workouts [And]and Schooling Races.  No trainer 
shall permit a horse in his charge to be taken on to the track for training 
or a workout except during hours designated by the organization.  A 
trainer desiring to engage a horse in a workout or schooling race shall, 
prior to such workout or race, identify the horse by registered name and 
tattoo number when requested to do so by the stewards or their 
authorized representative. 
 5.  Intoxication.  No licensee, employee of the organization or 
its concessionaires, shall be under the influence of intoxicating liquor, 
the combined influence of intoxicating liquor and any controlled 
dangerous substance, or under the influence of any narcotic or other 
drug while within the enclosure.  No person shall in any manner or at 
any time disturb the peace or make themselves obnoxious on the 
enclosure of an organization. 
 6.  Firearms.  No person shall possess any firearm within the 
enclosure unless he is a fully qualified peace officer as defined in the 
laws of the State of Utah, or is acting in accordance with Title 53, 
Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Weapons Act and Title 76, chapter 10, Part 
5[, Utah Code].  A person carrying a concealed weapon may be asked to 
show a valid, current concealed weapons permit before being allowed 
to enter the facility. 
 7.  Financial Responsibility.  No licensee shall willfully and 
deliberately fail or refuse to pay any monies when due for any service, 
supplies or fees connected with his operations as a licensee[;], nor shall 
he falsely deny any [such ]amount due or the validity of the complaint 
[thereof ]with the purpose of hindering or delaying or defrauding the 
person to whom such indebtedness is due.  A [c]Commission authorized 
license may be suspended pending settlement of the financial obligation.  
Any financial responsibility complaint against a licensee shall be in 
writing, signed by the complainant, and accompanied by documentation 
of the services, supplies or fees alleged to be due, or by a judgment from 
a court. 
 8.  Checks.  No licensee shall write, issue, make, or present a 
bad check in payment for any license fee, fine, nomination or entry fee 
or other fees, or for any service or supplies.  The fact that [such]a check 
is returned to the payee by the bank as refused is a ground for suspension 
pending satisfactory redemption of the returned check. 
 9.  Gratuity [T]to Starter [O]or Assistant Starter.  No person 
shall offer or give money or other gratuity to any starter or assistant 
starter, nor shall any starter or assistant starter receive money or other 
compensation, gratuity or reward, in connection with the running of any 
race or races except compensation received from an organization for 
official duties. 
 10.  Possession [O]of Contraband.  No person other than a 
veterinarian or an animal technician licensed by the Commission shall 
have in his possession within the enclosure during sanctioned meetings 
any prohibited substance, or any hypodermic syringe or hypodermic 
needle or similar instrument which may be used for injection except as 
provided in Subsection R52-7-8(1).  No person shall have in [his or 
her]their possession within the enclosure during any recognized meeting 
any device other than the ordinary whip which can be used for the 
purpose of stimulating or depressing the horse or affecting its speed at 
any time.  The stewards may permit the possession of drugs or 
appliances by a licensee for personal medical needs under such 
conditions as the stewards may impose. 
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 11.  Bribes.  No person shall give, or offer or promise to give, 
or attempt to give or offer any money, bribe, or thing of value to any 
owner, trainer, jockey, agent, or any other person participating in the 
conduct of a race meeting in any capacity, with the intention, 
understanding, or agreement that [such]the owner, trainer, jockey, agent 
or other person shall not use his best efforts to win a race or so conduct 
himself in [such]a race that any other participant in [such]a race shall be 
assisted or enabled to win [such]a race; nor shall any trainer, jockey, 
owner, agent, or other person participating at any race meeting accept, 
offer to accept, or agree to accept any money, bribe, or thing of value 
with the intention, understanding, or agreement that [he]they will not 
use [his]their best efforts to win a race or to so conduct 
[himself]themselves so that any other horse or horses entered in [such]a 
race shall [thereby ]be assisted or enabled to win [such]the race. 
 12.  Trainer's Duty [T]to Ensure Licensed Participation.  No 
trainer shall have in his custody within the enclosure of any race meeting 
any horse owned in whole or in part by any person who is not licensed 
as a horse owner by the Commission unless [such]the owner has filed 
an application for license as a horse owner with the Commission and the 
same is pending before the Commission; nor shall any trainer have in 
his employ within the enclosure any groom, stable employee, stable 
agent, or other person required to be licensed, unless such person has a 
valid license.  [All]Any changes of commissioned licensed personnel 
shall be reported immediately to the Commission. 
 13.  Conduct Detrimental [T]to Horse Racing.  No licensee 
shall engage in any conduct prohibited by law and by the rules of the 
Commission, nor shall any licensee engage in any conduct which by its 
nature is unsportsmanlike or detrimental to the best interest of horse 
racing. 
 14.  Denial [O]of Access [T]to Private Property.  Nothing 
contained in these rules shall be deemed, expressly or implicitly, to 
prevent an organization from exercising the right to deny access to or to 
remove any person from the organization's premises or property for just 
cause. 
 15.  Tricks[/] or Schemes.  No person shall falsify, conceal, or 
cover up by trick, scheme, or device a material fact; or make any false, 
fictitious, or fraudulent statements or representations; or make or use 
any false writing or document knowing [the same to]they contain any 
false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry regarding the prior 
racing record, pedigree, identity, or ownership of a registered animal in 
any matter related to the breeding, buying, selling, or racing of [such]the 
animal. 
 16.  Prearranging [T]the Outcome [O]of [A]a Race.  No 
licensed or unlicensed person may attempt or conspire to prearrange the 
outcome of a race. 
 
R52-7-12.  Fire Prevention and Security. 
 1.  Security Control.  [Every]Each organization conducting a 
race meeting shall maintain security controls over its premises, and 
[such ]security controls are subject to the approval of the Commission. 
 2.  Identification Required.  No person shall be admitted to a 
restricted area within the enclosure without a license, visitor's pass, or 
other identification issued by the Commission or the organization on his 
person.  Whenever deemed advisable, the stewards or the organization 
may require the visible display of the identification as a badge.  No 
person shall use the license or credential issued to another, nor shall any 
person give or loan his license or credential to any other person. 
 3.  Organization Credentials.  The racing organization shall 
establish a system or method of issuing credentials or passes to restrict 
access to its restricted areas or to ensure that all participants at its 
meeting are licensed as required by this Article; provided, however, that 
no [such ]system or methods may exclude any investigator or employee 

of the Commission or any peace officer when on duty; nor shall any 
person be excluded solely on the basis of sex, color, creed, or national 
origin or ancestry. 
 4.  Organization [T]to Prevent Unauthorized Access [T]to 
Restricted Areas.  Unless granted exemption by the Commission, 
[every]each organization shall prevent access to and shall remove or 
cause to be removed from its restricted areas any person who is 
unlicensed, or who has not been issued a visitor's pass or other 
identifying credential, or whose presence in [such]the restricted area is 
unauthorized.  Nothing herein shall be construed to exclude members of 
the Commission and any staff members of the Commission in the 
conduct of official duties. 
 5.  Examination [O]of Personal Effects.  The Commission, its 
authorized officers or agents may enter the stables, rooms, or other 
places within the premises of a recognized meeting to inspect and 
examine the personal effects and property of any licensee or other 
person in or about or permitted access to any restricted area; and each 
licensee in accepting his license, and each person entering such 
restricted area, does thereby consent thereto. 
 6.  Obedience [T]to Security Officers [A]and Public Safety 
Officers.  No licensee shall willfully ignore or refuse to obey any order 
issued by the stewards; the Commission; [or ]any security officer of the 
organization; [or ]any public officer of any police, fire, or law 
enforcement agency when [such]an order is issued or given in the 
performance of duty for the purpose of controlling any hazardous 
situation or occurrence.  No person shall interfere with public safety 
officers, security officers, or any racing official in the performance of 
their duties. 
 
R52-7-13.  Prohibited Practices. 
 1.  No person may possess or use a drug, substance, or 
medication on the premises of a facility under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission if: 
 A.  a recognized analytical method has not been developed 
to detect and confirm the administration of the substance; 
 B.  the use of the substance may endanger the health or 
welfare of the horse or endanger the safety of the rider; 
 C.  the use of the substance may adversely affect the 
integrity of racing; or 
 D.  no generally accepted use of the substance in equine 
care exists. 
 2.  Prohibited [s]Substances and [m]Methods.  The 
Commission incorporates by reference, a list of prohibited substances 
and methods of administration contained in the following matrices 
maintained by the department: [Annex I: ]Prohibited Substances[,] 
and Controlled Therapeutic [ ]Medication Schedule for Horses. 
 A.  The substances and methods listed in the Prohibited List 
may not be used, and may not be possessed on the premises of a 
racing or training facility under the jurisdiction of the Commission, 
except as a restricted therapeutic use. 
 B.  The equipment and supplies necessary for official 
testing, shall be provided by the organization. 
 3.  Restricted [t]Therapeutic [u]Use.  A limited number of 
medications on the Prohibited List may be exempted when 
administration occurs in compliance with required conditions for 
restricted therapeutic use[.] found in the Utah Horse Racing 
Commission Controlled Therapeutic Medication Schedule for Horses 
incorporated by reference and maintained by the department.[ The use 
of the substance must comply with the rules of the Commission.] 
 4.  The possession or use of the following substances or of 
blood doping agents, including those listed below, on the premises of 
a facility under the jurisdiction of the Commission is forbidden: 
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 A.  Aminoimidazole carboxamide ribonucleotide 
(AICAR); 
 B.  Darbepoetin; 
 C.  Equine Growth Hormone; 
 D.  Erythropietin; 
 E.  Hemopure, registered trademark; 
 F.  Myo-Inositol Trispyprophosphate (ITPP); 
 G.  Oxyglobin,registered trademark; 
 H.  Thymosin beta; 
 I.  Venoms or its derivatives; or 
 J.  Thymosin beta. 
 5.  Other [p]Prohibited [s]Substances.  Substances in the 
categories below shall be strictly prohibited unless otherwise 
provided in accordance with state law or Commission rule including: 
 A.  a pharmacologic substance that is not approved by any 
governmental regulatory health authority for human or veterinary use 
within the jurisdiction, including: 
 [i]a.  a drug under pre-clinical or clinical development; 
 [ii]b.  a discontinued drug; or 
 [iii]c.  a designer drug.  
 [a.](1)  A designer drug is a synthetic analog of a drug that 
has been altered in a manner that may reduce its detection. 
 [b.](2)  Designer drugs do not include: 
 I.  vitamins, herbs, and supplements used for nutritional 
purposes that do not contain any other prohibited substance; or 
 II.  the administration of a substance with the prior approval 
of the Commission in a clinical trial for which an FDA or similar 
exemption has been obtained; 
 B.  anabolic agents and Anabolic Androgenic Steroids 
(AAS); 
 C.  peptide hormones, growth factors, and related 
substances including any substance with similar chemical structure 
or similar biological effects; 
 D.  beta-2 agonists, including optical isomers, including d- 
and l-, where relevant; 
 E.  hormone and metabolic modulators; or 
 F.  diuretics and other masking agents, including substances 
with similar chemical structure or similar biological effects. 
 6.  Prohibited methods of manipulation of blood and blood 
components include: 
 A.  the administration or reintroduction of any quantity of 
autologous, allogenic, or heterologous blood or red blood cell 
products of any origin into the circulatory system; 
 B.  artificially enhancing the uptake, transport, or delivery 
of oxygen, including perfluorochemicals, efaproxiral (RSR13), and 
modified hemoglobin products, e.g. hemoglobin-based blood 
substitutes, microencapsulated hemoglobin products, excluding 
supplemental oxygen; or 
 C.  tampering, or attempting to tamper, to alter the integrity 
and validity of samples collected by authority of the Commission.  
Tampering methods include blood serum or urine substitution or 
adulteration, e.g., proteases. 
 7.  Any reference to substances in Section R52-7-13 does 
not alter the requirements for testing concentrations in race day 
samples or the requirements of post-race testing. 
 A.  If laboratory testing detects any prohibited substance 
identified by this rule, the finding shall be reported as a violation. 
Upon a finding of violation, the horse shall be disqualified, and the 
owner of the horse shall not participate in any portion of the purse, 
stakes, trophy, or any other award. 

 B.  Any purse, stakes, trophy, or award shall be returned if 
it was presented to the owner of the horse, upon the finding of a 
violation of this section. 
 C.  Any positive test for a prohibited drug, medication, or 
substance, including permitted medication in excess of the maximum 
allowable concentration, as reported by a Commission-approved 
laboratory, is prima facie evidence of a violation of this rule. 
 D.  It is presumed that any sample or accepted specimen 
tested by an approved laboratory is from the horse in question.  With 
regard to an accepted sample, It is also presumed that: 
 [i]a.  the integrity of the sample is preserved; 
 [ii]b.  any procedures, collection, preservation, and analysis 
of the sample are correct and accurate; and 
 [iii]c.  it is the burden of the owner, trainer, assistant trainer, 
or other responsible party to prove by substantial evidence to the 
contrary in the matter to the administrative [S]stewards or at the 
Commission hearing. 
 8.  Penalties.  Upon finding a violation of these medications 
and prohibited substances rules, the [S]stewards shall: 
 A.  consider the classification level of the violation as listed 
at the time in the Uniform Classification Guidelines of Foreign 
Substances, as promulgated in the following penalty matrices 
maintained by the department that are incorporated by reference: 
Recommended Penalties for Doping or Equine Endangerment 
Violations, and 2019-08 Recommended Penalties by Substances[.]; 
 B.  impose penalties and disciplinary measures consistent 
with the recommendations contained therein; and 
 C. [ ] consult with the Official Veterinarian to determine if 
the violation was a result of the administration of a therapeutic 
medication as documented in a veterinarian's Medication Report 
Form received, pursuant to Subsection R52-7-8(7). 
 9.  The [S]stewards may also consult with the laboratory 
director or other individuals to determine the seriousness of the 
laboratory finding or the medication violation.  Penalties for [all 
]medication and drug violations shall be investigated and reviewed 
on a case by case basis. 
 [A.]  Extenuating factors the [S]stewards may consider in 
determining penalties include: 
 [i]a.  the past record of the trainer, veterinarian and owner 
in drug cases; 
 [ii]b.  the potential of the drug to influence a horse's racing 
performance; 
 [iii]c.  the legal availability of the drug; 
 [iv]d.  whether the responsible party knew or should have 
known of the administration of the drug, or intentionally 
administered the drug; 
 [v]e.  the steps taken by the trainer to safeguard the horse; 
 [vi]f.  the purse of the race; and 
 [vii]g.  whether the licensed trainer was acting on the 
advice of a licensed veterinarian. 
 10.  As a result of an investigation, there may be mitigating 
circumstances for which a lesser or no penalty is appropriate for the 
licensee, or aggravating factors that may increase the penalty beyond 
the minimum. 
 
KEY:  horses, horse racing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 10, 
2020]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  August 25, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-38-4 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R58-11 Filing No. 
53299 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road  
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84115 
Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Leann Hunting  801-
982-
2242 

leannhunting@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock or Poultry 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Changes to this rule are required by H.B. 358, passed 
during the 2020 General Session.  This legislation requires 
that the Department of Agriculture and Food's 
(Department) rules governing the 1,000 bird and 20,000 
bird poultry exemptions are not more stringent than federal 
requirements. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Changes have been made to Section R58-11-7 that 
remove requirements for persons to receive an exemption 
to slaughter 1,000 or 20,000 of their own poultry per year 
to ensure Department requirements are not more stringent 
than federal requirements.  This includes removing the 
requirement for obtaining a license from the Department to 
qualify for the exemption and removing some distribution 
and labeling requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A) State budget: 
Because the Department is no longer able to issue 
licenses for the 1,000 bird and 20,000 bird exemptions, the 
Department will lose fee revenue of approximately $600 
per year based on an average of 4 licenses issued at $150 
each. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments because they do not regulate poultry 
production or act as poultry producers. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There would be savings to small businesses of 
approximately $300 per year given that half of exempt 
producers are small businesses that no longer would need 
to pay for an exemption license. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There would be savings to non-small businesses of 
approximately $300 per year given that half of exempt 
producers are non-small businesses that no longer would 
need to pay for an exemption license. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to other persons 
who are not exempt poultry producers. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

Compliance costs for affected persons have decreased 
because they no longer have to pay a $150 fee for a 1,000 
bird or 20,000 bird exemption license. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$600 $600 $600 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$ $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$600 $600 $600 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$300 $300 $300 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$300 $300 $300 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$600 $600 $600 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Acting Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approves 
the regulatory impact analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
These rule changes will positively impact businesses who 
no longer have to pay a fee to be exempt from poultry 
slaughter and processing requirements to slaughter a 
limited number of their own poultry. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Craig W. Buttars, Acting Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 4-32-109   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  

Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Acting 
Commissioner 

Date: 01/27/2021 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry. 
R58-11-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-32-109. 
 
R58-11-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adulterated" means any meat or poultry product as 
described in Subsection 4-32-105(1). 
 (2)  "Bill of Sale for Hides" means a hide release or other 
formal means of transferring the title of a hide. 
 (3)  "Business" means an individual or organization receiving 
remuneration for a service. 
 (4)  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture 
or [his]their designee. 
 (5)  "Custom Slaughter-Release Permit" means a permit that 
serves as a brand inspection certificate and  allows an animal owner to 
have their animal farm custom slaughtered. 
 (6)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food. 
 (7)  "Detain or Embargo" means the holding of a food or food 
product for legal verification of adulteration, misbranding, or proof of 
ownership. 
 (8)  "Emergency Slaughter" for the purpose of this 
[chapter]rule, does not include slaughter of non-ambulatory injured 
cattle.  For the purposes of this chapter, non-ambulatory disabled cattle 
that cannot rise from a recumbent position or cannot walk, including, 
those with broken appendages, severed tendons or ligaments, nerve 
paralysis, fractured vertebral column or metabolic conditions, are not 
allowed to be slaughtered for food. 
 (9)  "Farm Custom Slaughtering" means the slaughtering, 
skinning, and preparing of livestock and poultry by humane means for 
the purpose of human consumption that is done at a place other than a 
licensed slaughtering house by a person who is not the owner of the 
animal. 
 (10)  "Food" means a product intended for human 
consumption. 
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 (11)  "Immediate Family" means persons living together in a 
single dwelling unit and their sons and daughters. 
 (12)  "License" means a license issued by the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food to allow farm custom slaughtering. 
 (13)  "Licensee" means a person who possesses a valid farm 
custom slaughtering license. 
 (14)  "Misbranded" means any meat or poultry product as 
described in Subsection 4-32-105 (27). 
 (15)  "Owner" means a person holding legal title to the animal. 
[ (16)  "Sanitation Standards", includes the following: 
 (a)  Sanitary operating conditions:  All food-contact surfaces 
and non-food-contact surfaces of an exempt facility are cleaned and 
sanitized as frequently as necessary to prevent the creation of insanitary 
conditions and the adulteration of product.  Cleaning compounds, 
sanitizing agents, processing aids, and other chemicals used by an 
exempt facility are safe and effective under the conditions of use.  These 
chemicals are used, handled, and stored in a manner that will not 
adulterate product or create insanitary conditions.  Documentation 
substantiating the safety of a chemical's use in a food processing 
environment is available to inspection program employees for review.  
Product is protected from adulteration during processing, handling, 
storage, loading, and unloading, and during transportation from exempt 
establishments. 
 (b)  Grounds and pest control:  The grounds of an exempt 
operation are maintained to prevent conditions that could lead to 
insanitary conditions or adulteration of product.  Each plant operator has 
in place a pest management program to prevent the harborage and 
breeding of pests on the grounds and within the facilities.  The operator's 
pest control operation is capable of preventing product adulteration.  
Management shall make every effort to prevent entry of rodents, insects, 
or animals into areas where products are handled, processed, or stored.  
Each openings leading to the outside or to an area holding inedible 
product has an effective closure that completely fills the opening.  Each 
area inside and outside the facility is maintained to prevent harborage of 
rodents and insects.  Any pest control substance used is safe and 
effective under the conditions of use and is not applied or stored in a 
manner that would result in the adulteration of product or the creation of 
insanitary conditions. 
 (c)  Sewage and waste disposal:  Each sewage and waste 
disposal system properly removes sewage and waste material--feces, 
feathers, trash, garbage, and paper--from the facility.  Sewage is 
disposed of into a sewage system separate from all other drainage lines 
or disposed of through other means sufficient to prevent backup of 
sewage into areas where product is processed, handled, or stored.  If the 
sewage disposal system is a private system requiring approval by a state 
or local health authority, upon request, the management must furnish to 
the inspector a letter of approval from that authority. 
 (d)  Water supply and water, ice, and solution reuse:  A supply 
of running water that complies with the National Primary Drinking 
Water regulations, 40 CFR part 141, at a suitable temperature and under 
pressure as needed, is provided in any area where required for 
processing product; for cleaning rooms and equipment, utensils, and 
packaging materials; and for employee sanitary facilities.  If a facility 
uses a municipal water supply, it must make available to the inspector, 
upon request, a water report, issued under the authority of the state or 
local health agency, certifying or attesting to the potability of the water 
supply. If a facility uses a private well for its water supply, it must make 
available to the inspector, upon request, documentation certifying the 
potability of the water supply that has been renewed at least semi-
annually. 

 (e)  Facilities:  Maintenance of facilities during slaughtering 
and processing is accomplished in a manner to ensure the production of 
wholesome, unadulterated product. 
 (f)  Dressing rooms, lavatories, and toilets:  Dressing rooms, 
toilet rooms, and urinals are sufficient in number, ample in size, 
conveniently located, and maintained in a sanitary condition and in good 
repair at all times to ensure cleanliness of all persons handling any 
product.  Dressing rooms, lavatories, and toilets are separate from the 
rooms and compartments in which products are processed, stored, or 
handled. 
 (g)  Inedible Material Control:  The operator handles and 
maintains inedible material in a manner that prevents the diversion of 
inedible animal product into human food channels and prevents the 
adulteration of human food.] 
 (17)  "Commerce" means the exchange transportation of 
poultry product between states, U.S. territories, including Guam, Virgin 
Islands of the United States, American Samoa, and the District of 
Columbia. 
 
R58-11-3.  Sanitation Standards. 
 Sanitation standards shall include: 
 (1)  Sanitary operating conditions:  Food-contact surfaces 
and non-food-contact surfaces shall be cleaned and sanitized as 
frequently as necessary to prevent the creation of insanitary 
conditions and the adulteration of product.  Cleaning compounds, 
sanitizing agents, processing aids, and other chemicals used shall be 
safe and effective under the conditions of use.  These chemicals shall 
be used, handled, and stored in a manner that will not adulterate 
product or create insanitary conditions.  Documentation 
substantiating the safety of a chemical's use in a food processing 
environment shall be available to inspection program employees for 
review.  Product shall be protected from adulteration during 
processing, handling, storage, loading, and unloading, and during 
transportation. 
 (2)  Grounds and pest control:  Grounds shall be maintained 
to prevent conditions that could lead to insanitary conditions or 
adulteration of product.  A pest management program shall be in 
place to prevent the harborage and breeding of pests on the grounds 
and within buildings.  The pest control program shall be capable of 
preventing product adulteration.  Every effort shall be made to 
prevent entry of rodents, insects, or animals into areas where product 
is handled, processed, or stored.  Each opening leading to the outside 
or to an area holding inedible product shall have an effective closure 
that completely fills the opening.  Each area inside and outside shall 
be maintained to prevent harborage of rodents and insects.  Any pest 
control substance used shall be safe and effective under the 
conditions of use and shall not be applied or stored in a manner that 
would result in the adulteration of product or the creation of 
insanitary conditions. 
 (3)  Each sewage and waste disposal system shall properly 
remove sewage and waste material such as feces, feathers, trash, 
garbage, and paper.  Sewage shall be disposed of into a sewage 
system separate from other drainage lines or disposed of through 
other means sufficient to prevent backup of sewage into areas where 
product is processed, handled, or stored.  If the sewage disposal 
system is a private system requiring approval by a state or local health 
authority, a letter of approval from that authority to the inspector shall 
be provided upon request. 
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 (4)  A supply of running water that complies with the 
National Primary Drinking Water regulations, 40 CFR 141, at a 
suitable temperature and under pressure as needed, shall be provided 
in any area where required for processing product; for cleaning rooms 
and equipment, utensils, and packaging materials; and for employee 
sanitary facilities.  If a municipal water supply is used, the supplier 
shall provide a water report, issued under the authority of the state or 
local health agency, certifying or attesting to the potability of the 
water supply, and make the report available to the inspector, upon 
request.  If a private well is used, the potability of the water supply 
shall be documented at least semi-annually and documentation shall 
be made available to the inspector, upon request. 
 (5)  Maintenance of facilities during slaughtering and 
processing shall be accomplished in a manner to ensure the 
production of wholesome, unadulterated product. 
 (6)  Dressing rooms, toilet rooms, and urinals shall be 
sufficient in number, ample in size, conveniently located, and 
maintained in a sanitary condition and in good repair to ensure 
cleanliness of any person handling any product.  Dressing rooms, 
lavatories, and toilets shall be separate from the rooms and 
compartments in which products are processed, stored, or handled. 
 (7)  Inedible material shall be handled and maintained in a 
manner that prevents the diversion of inedible animal product into 
human food channels and prevents the adulteration of human food. 
 
R58-11-[3]4.  [Registration and License Issuance]Farm Custom 
Slaughtering License. 
[ (1)  Farm Custom Slaughtering License.] 
 ([a]1)  Any person who desires to do farm custom 
slaughtering shall apply to the department for a Farm Custom 
Slaughtering License. 
 (2)  An application for a Farm Custom Slaughtering license 
[will]shall be [made ]on a form provided by the department[ for a Farm 
Custom Slaughter License].  The [form]application shall show: 
 ([i]a)  the name, address, and telephone number of the owner; 
 ([ii]b)  the name, address, and telephone number of the 
operator if it is different than the owner; and 
 ([iii]c)  a brief description of the vehicle to be used, along with 
the license number. 
 ([b]3)  [Licenses]Farm Custom Slaughtering licenses will be 
valid for the calendar year.  Each licensee will be required to re-apply 
for a license [every]each calendar year.  Change of ownership or change 
of vehicle license will require a new application to be filed with the 
department. 
 ([c]4)  [Registration]Farm Custom Slaughtering licensure 
will not be recognized as complete until the applicant has demonstrated 
the ability to slaughter and has completed and signed the 
[registration]license application form. 
 ([d]5)  A fee, as set forth in the fee schedule approved by the 
legislature, [must]shall be paid prior to license issuance. 
 
R58-11-[4]5.  Equipment and Sanitation Requirements-Farm 
Custom Slaughter. 
 The following equipment and sanitation requirements shall 
apply to farm custom slaughtering: 
[ (1)  Unit or vehicle and equipment used for farm custom 
slaughtering.] 
 ([a]1)  The unit or vehicle used for farm custom slaughtering 
shall be constructed so as to permit maintenance consistent with the 
sanitation standards listed in Section R58-11-3. 
 ([b]2)  A tripod or rail capable of lifting a carcass to a height 
that enables the carcass to clear the ground for bleeding and evisceration 

[must]shall be incorporated into the unit or vehicle.  Any [H]hook, 
gamble, or rack used to hoist and eviscerate animals shall be of easily 
cleanable metal construction. 
 ([c]3)  Knives, scabbards, saws, and other equipment  shall be 
of rust resistant metal or other impervious easily cleanable material. 
 ([i]a)  A clean dust proof container shall be used to transport 
and store each instrument and utensil used in slaughtering animals. 
 ([d]4)  A water tank shall be an integral part of the unit or 
vehicle.  It shall be of approved construction with a minimum capacity 
of 40 gallons.  Each water system [must]shall be maintained according 
to sanitary standards, and only potable water shall be used. 
 ([e]5)  A sanitation tank large enough to allow complete 
immersion of each tool used for slaughtering [must]shall be filled during 
slaughter operations with potable water and maintained at a temperature 
of at least 180 degrees Fahrenheit.  In lieu of 180 degrees Fahrenheit 
water, chemical sterilization may be used with an approved chemical 
agent after equipment has been thoroughly cleaned. Chloramine, 
hypochlorite, and quaternary ammonium compounds or other approved 
chemical compounds may be used for this purpose and a concentration 
[must]shall be maintained at a sufficient level to disinfect each utensil.  
Hot water, cleaning agents, and disinfectant shall be available [at all 
times ]if chemicals are used in lieu of 180 degrees Fahrenheit water. 
 ([f]6)  Cleaning agents and paper towels shall be available so 
hands and equipment may be cleaned as needed. 
 ([g]7)  Any apron, frock and other outer clothing worn by a 
person who handles meat must be clean and of material that is easily 
cleanable. 
 ([h]8)  Any inedible product and offal will be denatured, 
pursuant to 9 CFR 325.13 with either an approved denaturing agent or 
by use of pounch material as a natural denaturing agent. 
 ([i]9)  When a licensee transports uninspected meat to an 
establishment for processing, they shall: 
 ([i]a)  do so in a manner whereby product will not be 
adulterated or misbranded, or mislabeled; and 
 ([ii]b)  transport the meat in such a way that it is properly 
protected; and 
 ([iii]c)  deliver carcasses in such a way that they shall be 
placed under refrigeration at a temperature at or below 40 degrees 
Fahrenheit within one hour of the time of slaughter. 
 ([j]10)  Sanitation. 
 ([i]a)  Unit or Vehicle. 
 ([A]i)  The unit or vehicle must be thoroughly cleaned after 
each daily use. 
 ([B]ii)  Food-contact and non-food contact surfaces of 
utensils and equipment must be cleaned and sanitized as necessary to 
prevent the creation of insanitary conditions and the adulteration of 
carcasses and parts. 
 ([C]iii)  Carcasses [must]shall be protected from adulteration 
during processing, handling, storage, loading, unloading and during 
transportation to processing establishments. 
 ([ii]b)  Equipment. 
 ([A]i)  Knives, scabbards, saws, and [all ]other food contact 
surfaces shall be cleaned and sanitized prior to slaughter and as needed 
to prevent adulteration. 
 ([B]ii)  Equipment [must]shall be cleaned and sanitized after 
each slaughter and immediately before each slaughter. 
 ([iii]c)  Inedible. 
 ([A]i)  Inedible shall be placed in designated containers and 
be properly denatured, and the inedible containers [must]shall be clearly 
marked "Inedible Not For Human Consumption" in letters not less than 
4 inches in height. 
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 ([B]ii)  Containers for inedible shall be kept clean and 
properly separated from edible carcasses to prevent adulteration. 
 ([iv]d)  Personal Cleanliness. 
 ([A]i)  Adequate care shall be taken to prevent contamination 
of the carcasses from fecal material, ingesta, milk, perspiration, hair, 
cosmetics, medication, and similar substances. 
 ([B]ii)  Outer clothing worn by a permittee while handling 
exposed carcasses shall be clean. 
 ([C]iii)  No licensee with a communicable disease or who is a 
disease carrier or is infected with boils, infected wounds, sores, or an 
acute respiratory infection shall participate in livestock slaughtering. 
 ([D]iv)  Hand wash facilities shall be used as needed to 
maintain good personal hygiene. 
 
R58-11-[5]6.  Slaughtering Procedures of Livestock. 
 (1)  Slaughter Area 
 (a)  Slaughtering may not take place under adverse conditions 
such as blowing dirt, dust, or in mud. 
 (b)  If a slaughter area is used for repeated kills, the area 
should be maintained to prevent blood from collecting, running off on 
to adjacent property, or contaminating a water source. 
 (c)  Hides, viscera, blood, pounch material, and [all ]tissue 
[must]shall be removed and disposed at a rendering facility, landfill, 
composting, or by burial as allowed by law. 
 (2)  Humane Slaughter. [-] Each animal shall be rendered 
insensible to pain by a single blow, or gun shot or electrical shock, or 
other means that is instantaneous and effective before being shackled, 
hoisted, thrown, cast or cut. 
 (3)  Hoisting and Bleeding. [-] Each animal shall be hoisted 
and bled as soon after stunning as possible to utilize post-stunning heart 
action and to obtain complete bleeding.  Carcasses shall be moved away 
from the bleeding area for skinning and butchering. 
 (4)  Skinning. [-] Carcass and head skin [must]shall be 
handled without neck tissue contamination.  This may be done by 
leaving the ears on the hide and tying the head skin.  Feet [must]shall be 
removed before carcass is otherwise cut.  Except for skinning and 
starting skinning procedures, skin should be cut from inside outward to 
prevent carcass contamination with cut hair.  Hair side of hide should be 
carefully rolled or reflected away from carcass during skinning.  When 
carcass is moved from skinning bed, caution should be taken to prevent 
exposed parts from coming in contact with adulterating surfaces. 
 (5)  Evisceration. [-] Before evisceration, rectum shall be tied 
to include bladder neck and to prevent urine and fecal leakage.  Care 
should also be taken while opening abdominal cavities to prevent 
carcass or viscera contamination. 
 (6)  Carcass washing. [-] Hair, dirt, and other accidental 
contamination should be trimmed prior to washing.  Washing should 
proceed from the carcass top downward to move away any possible 
contaminants from clean areas. 
 
R58-11-[6]7.  Identification and Records. 
 (1)  Livestock Identification. [-] Pursuant to Section 4-24-304, 
it shall be unlawful for any license holder to slaughter livestock which 
do not have a Brand Inspection Certificate or Farm Custom Slaughter 
Tag filled out at the time of slaughter. 
 (a)  Animal owners [must]shall have a Brand Inspection 
Certificate for livestock intended to be farm custom slaughtered, issued 
by a department Brand Inspector prior to slaughter, and [must]shall pay 
the legal brand inspection fee and beef promotion fee.  This is 
accomplished by the animal owner contacting a Department Brand 
Inspector and obtaining a Brand Inspection Certificate (Custom 
Slaughter-Release Permit). 

 (b)  Animal owners [must]shall obtain farm custom slaughter 
identification tags from a Department Brand Inspector for a fee of $1 
each.  These tags will be required on beef, pork, and sheep. 
 (2)  Records. 
 (a)  The Custom Slaughter-Release Permit or Farm Custom 
Slaughter Tag shall include the following information: 
 (i)  An affidavit with a statement that shall read "I hereby 
certify ownership of this animal to be slaughtered by ('insert name').  I 
fully understand that having my animal farm custom slaughtered means 
my animal will not receive meat inspection and is for my use, the use of 
my immediate family, non-paying guests, or full-time employees.  The 
carcass will be stamped "NOT FOR SALE" and will not be sold."  This 
statement [must]shall be signed by the owner or designee; 
 (ii)  In addition to this affidavit, the following information will 
be recorded: 
 (A)  date; 
 (B)  owner's name, address and telephone number; 
 (C)  animal description including brands and marks; 
 (D)  Farm Custom Slaughter Tag number; 
 (E)  location of slaughter; 
 (F)  name of licensee; 
 (G)  licensee permit number; and 
 (H)  carcass destination. 
 (b)  Prior to slaughter the licensee shall prepare the Farm 
Custom Slaughter Tag with complete and accurate information. 
 (i)  One tag shall stay in the license holder's file for at least 
one year. 
 (ii)  One tag plus a copy of the Farm Custom Slaughter-
Release Permit shall be sent into the department by the 10th of each 
month for the preceding month's slaughter by the licensee. 
 (iii)  After slaughter, [all ]carcasses must be stamped "NOT 
FOR SALE" on each quarter with letters at least 3/8" in height; further, 
a Farm Custom Slaughter "NOT FOR SALE" tag [must]shall be affixed 
to each quarter of beef and each half of pork and sheep. 
 (c)  Hide Purchase. [-] Licensee receiving hides for 
slaughtering services [must]shall obtain a copy of the Custom Slaughter-
Release Permit to record transfer of ownership, pursuant to Section 4-
24-18. 
 
R58-11-[7]8.  Poultry Slaughter. 
 (1)  Personal Use Exemption. 
 (a)  A person who raises poultry may slaughter or process the 
poultry if: 
 (i)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 
local ordinance; 
 (ii)  the poultry product derived from the slaughtered poultry 
is consumed exclusively by the person or the person's immediate family, 
regular employees of the person, or nonpaying guests; 
 (iii)  the slaughtering and processing of the poultry is 
performed only by the owner or an employee; 
 (iv)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 
 (v)  the exempt poultry is not sold or donated for use as human 
food; and 
 (vi)  the immediate container bears the statement, "NOT FOR 
SALE". 
 (2)  Farm Custom Slaughter and Processing 
 (a)  A person may slaughter or process poultry belonging to 
another person if: 
 (i)  the person holds a valid farm custom slaughter license 
issued by the department; 
 (ii)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 
local ordinance; 
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 (iii)  the licensee does not engage in the business of buying or 
selling poultry product capable for use as human food; 
 (iv)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 
 (v)  the slaughtering or processing is conducted in accordance 
with sanitation standards that produce poultry product that is sound, 
clean, and fit for human food; 
 (vi)  the unit or vehicle used for farm custom slaughtering 
shall be so constructed as to permit maintenance according to sanitation 
standards; and 
 (vii)  the immediate container bears the following 
information: 
 (A)  the owner's name and address; 
 (B)  the licensee's name and address, and; 
 (C)  the statement, "NOT FOR SALE". 
 (3)  Producer or Grower 1,000 Bird Limit Exemption 
 (a)  A poultry grower may slaughter no more than 1,000 birds 
of their own raising in a calendar year for distribution as human food if: 
[ (i)  the person holds a valid poultry exemption license issued 
by the department; 
 (ii)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 
local ordinance;] 
 ([ii]i)  the poultry grower does not engage in buying or selling 
poultry product other than product produced from poultry raised on their 
own farm, including  rented or leased property; 
 (i[v]i)  the slaughtering and or processing are conducted under 
the sanitation standards capable of producing poultry products that are 
sound, clean, fit for human food, and not adulterated; 
 ([v]iii)  the producer keeps slaughter records and records 
covering the sales of poultry product to customers for the current 
calendar year; and 
 ([vi]iv)  the poultry products do not move in commerce[;]. 
[ (vii)  the poultry products are distributed directly to household 
consumers, retail establishments, restaurants, hotels, and boarding 
houses for use in their dining rooms or in the preparation of meals sold 
directly to consumers within the jurisdiction where it is prepared; and 
 (viii)  each immediate container bears the following 
information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  ingredients statement if applicable; 
 (C)  net weights statement; 
 (D)  name and address of processor; 
 (E)  safe food handling statement; 
 (F)  date of package and lot number, and; 
 (G)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-7(3)".] 
 (b)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons who 
slaughter or process fewer than 1,000 poultry during the calendar year. 
 (4)  Producer or Grower 20,000 Bird Limit Exemption. 
 (a)  A poultry grower may slaughter no more than 20,000 
healthy birds of his or her own raising in a calendar year for distribution 
as human food if: 
[ (i)  the person holds a valid poultry exemption license issued 
by the department; 
 (ii)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 
local ordinance;] 
 ([ii]i)  the poultry grower does not engage in buying or selling 
poultry product other than th[ose]at produced from poultry raised on 
their own farm, including  rented or leased property; 
 (i[v]i)  the slaughtering or processing is conducted in a fixed 
establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that produce 
poultry product that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 

 ([v]iii)  the producer keeps slaughter records and records 
covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the current 
calendar year, 
 ([vi]iv)  the poultry product[s] does not move in commerce, 
as the term is defined in 9 CFR 381.1[.  Distribution is directly to 
household consumers, retail establishments, restaurants, hotels, and 
boarding houses for use in their dining rooms or in the preparation of 
meals sold directly to consumers within the jurisdiction where it is 
prepared]; and 
 (v[ii])  the immediate container[s] bear the following 
information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
[ (B)  ingredients statement (if applicable); 
 (C)  net weights statement;] 
 ([D]B)  name and address of processor; 
[ (E)  Safe food handling statement; 
 (F)  date of package or Lot number,] and; 
 ([G]C)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-7(4)."[.] 
 (b)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons who 
slaughter or process fewer than 20,000 poultry during the calendar year. 
 (5)  Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption 
 (a)  The term "Producer or Grower or Other Person" in this 
section means a single entity, which may be: 
 (i)  A poultry grower who slaughters and processes poultry 
that they raised for sale directly to household consumers, restaurants, 
hotels, and boarding houses to be used in those homes and dining rooms 
for the preparation of meals served or sold directly to customers. 
 (ii)  A person who purchases live poultry from a grower and 
then slaughters these poultry and processes such poultry for sale directly 
to household consumers, restaurants, hotels, and boarding houses to be 
served in those homes or dining rooms for the preparation of meals sold 
directly to customers. 
 (b)  A business may slaughter and process poultry under this 
exemption if; 
 (i)  the person holds a valid poultry exemption license issued 
by the department; 
 (ii)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 
local ordinance; 
 (iii)  the producer or grower or other person slaughters for 
processing and sale directly to household consumers, restaurants, hotels, 
and boarding houses for use in dining rooms or in the preparation of 
meals sold directly to customers; 
 (iv)  the producer or grower or other person slaughters no 
more than 20,000 birds in a calendar year that the producer or grower or 
other person raised or purchased; 
 (v)  the producer or grower or other person does not engage 
in the business of buying or selling poultry or poultry products prepared 
under an other exemptions in the same calendar year they claim the 
Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption; 
 (vi)  the poultry products do not move in commerce.  
Distribution is directly to household consumers, restaurants, hotels, and 
boarding houses for use in their dining rooms or in the preparation of 
meals sold directly to consumers within the jurisdiction where it is 
prepared; and 
 (vii)  the slaughtering or processing is conducted in a fixed 
establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that produce 
poultry products that are sound, clean, and fit for human food; 
 (viii)  the producer keeps slaughter records and records 
covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the current 
calendar year, and; 
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 (ix)  the immediate containers bear the following information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  ingredients statement if applicable; 
 (C)  net weights statement; 
 (D)  name and address of processor; 
 (E)  safe food handling statement; 
 (F)  date of package or Lot number, and; 
 (G)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-7(5)". 
 (c)  A business preparing poultry product under the Producer 
or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not slaughter or process 
poultry owned by another person. 
 (d)  A business preparing poultry products under the Producer 
or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not sell poultry products to 
a retail store or other producer or grower. 
 (6)  Small Enterprise Exemption 
 (a)  A business that qualifies for the Small Enterprise 
Exemption may be: 
 (i)  [A]a producer or grower who raises, slaughters, and 
dresses poultry for use as human food whose processing of dressed 
exempt poultry is limited to cutting up; 
 ([A]ii)  [A]a business that purchases live poultry that it 
slaughters and whose processing of the slaughtered poultry is limited to 
the cutting up; or 
 ([B]iii)  [A]a business that purchases dressed poultry, 
[which]that it distributes as carcasses and whose processing is limited to 
the cutting up of inspected or exempted poultry products, for distribution 
for use as human food. 
 ([ii]b)  [A]a business may slaughter, dress, and cut up poultry 
for distribution as human food if[;]: 
 ([A]i)  the person holds a valid poultry exemption license 
issued by the department; 
 ([B]ii)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 
local ordinance; 
 ([C]iii)  the processing of federal or state inspected or exempt 
poultry product is limited to the cutting up of carcasses or the business 
slaughters and dresses or cuts up no more than 20,000 birds in a calendar 
year; 
 ([D]iv)  the slaughtering and or processing is conducted in a 
fixed establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that 
produce poultry product that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 
 ([E]v)  the facility used to slaughter or process poultry is not 
used to slaughter or process another person's poultry; and 
 ([F]vi)  the immediate containers bear the following 
information: 
 ([I]A)  name of product; 
 ([II]B)  ingredients statement if applicable; 
 ([III]C)  net weights statement; 
 ([IV]D)  name and address of processor; 
 ([V]E)  safe food handling statement; 
 ([VI]F)  date of package or Lot number, and; 
 ([VII]G)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-7(6)." 
 ([iii]c)  A business may not cut up and distribute poultry 
product produced under the Small Enterprise Exemption to a business 
operating under the following exemptions: 
 ([A]i)  Producer or Grower or PGOP Exemption; 
 ([B]ii)  Retail Dealer; or 
 ([C]iii)  Retail Store. 
 
R58-11-[8]9.  Producer and Grower Sharing a Fixed Facility. 
 (1)  Each producer or grower [must]shall comply with [all ]the 
laws and regulations governing establishments as set forth in Title 4, 
Chapter 32, Utah Meat and Poultry and Poultry Products Inspection and 

Licensing Act, this rule, the United States Department of Agriculture 
(USDA) Poultry Exemptions, and federal regulations that apply. 
 (2)  The poultry producer or grower shall hold a valid Custom 
Exempt Meat Establishment License (2202) issued by the department. 
The individual who holds the 2202 license shall be present when 
slaughter and processing operations are being performed. 
 (3)  The department shall be notified five business days prior 
to slaughtering and processing.  The individual shall provide the 
department with the following information pertaining to the 
slaughtering and processing of birds: 
 (a)  the date; 
 (b)  the time; and 
 (c)  the location. 
 (4)  The producer or grower shall: 
 (a)  conduct a pre-operational inspection on [all]any food-
contact surfaces; 
 (b)  document the findings of the pre-operational inspection 
and corrective actions pursuant to 9 CFR 416.12(a) and 416.15 prior to 
the commencement of operations; 
 (c)  maintain records for at least one year and have them 
available for inspection by department officials; 
 (d)  fully label product in accordance with this rule before 
leaving the facility; 
 (e)  maintain the product temperature at 40 degrees F or less 
during transport; 
 (f)  keep a written recall plan pursuant to 9 CFR 418 and have 
it available for inspection by department officials; 
 (5)  Producers or growers shall not process on the same day 
as any other producer or grower. 
 
R58-11-[9]10.  Enforcement Procedures. 
 (1)  Livestock and Poultry Slaughtering License. 
 (a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to slaughter or assist in 
slaughtering livestock and poultry as a business outside of a licensed 
slaughterhouse unless they hold a valid Farm Custom Slaughtering 
License issued by the department. 
 (b)  Only persons who comply with [Utah Code ]Title 4, 
Chapter 32, [the ]Utah Meat and Poultry Products Inspection and 
Licensing Act and [Rules pursuant thereto]associated rules, and Title 4, 
Chapter 24, [the ]Utah Livestock Brand and Anti-Theft Act, shall be 
entitled to receive and retain a license. 
 (c)  License may be renewed annually and shall expire on the 
31st of December of each year. 
 (2)  Suspension of license [-] license may be suspended 
whenever: 
 (a)  the department has reason to believe that an eminent 
public health hazard exists; 
 (b)  insanitary conditions are such that carcasses would be 
rendered adulterated and or contaminated; 
 (c)  the license holder has interfered with the department in 
the performance of its duties; 
 (d)  the licensee violates Title 4, Chapter 32, the Utah Meat 
and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act or [the]Title 4, 
Chapter 24, Utah Livestock Brand and Anti-Theft Act or [rules pursuant 
to these acts]associated rules. 
 (3)  The department may, pursuant to 9 CFR [Part ]500 
suspend or terminate any exemption with respect to any person 
whenever the department finds that such action will aid in effectuating 
the purposes of the Act.  Failure to comply with the conditions of the 
exemption, including failure to process poultry and poultry product 
under sanitation standards, may result in termination of an exemption, 
in addition to other penalties consistent with 9 CFR 318.13. 
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 (4)  Warning letter. [-] In instances when a violation may have 
occurred a warning letter may be sent to the licensee that specifies the 
violations and affords the holder a reasonable opportunity to correct 
them. 
 (5)  Hearings. [-] Whenever a licensee has been given notice 
by the department that suspected violations may have occurred or when 
a license is suspended, they may have an opportunity for a hearing to 
state their views before the department. 
 (6)  Reinstatement of Suspended Permit. [-] Any person 
whose license has been suspended may make application for the purpose 
of reinstatement of the license.  The department may then re-evaluate 
the applicant and conditions. If the applicant has demonstrated to the 
department that they will comply with the rules, the license may be 
reinstated. 
 (7)  Detainment or Embargo. [-] Any meat found in a food 
establishment that does not have the proper identification or any 
uninspected meat slaughtered by a licensee that does not meet the 
requirements of these rules may be detained or embargoed. 
 (8)  Condemnation. [-] Meat that is determined to be unfit for 
human consumption may be denatured or destroyed. 
 
KEY:  food inspections, slaughter, livestock, poultry 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 12, 
2017]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  December 19, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-32-109 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R58-21 Filing No. 
53311 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road  
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Dean Taylor  801-
982-
2243 

djtaylor@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-21.  Trichomoniasis 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
These changes are needed to add clarification and 
additional requirements to this rule, based on the recent 
experience the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) has had administering and enforcing the 
Trichomoniasis program.  Changes are needed with 
regard to sampling, testing, and quarantine procedures.  
The changes will protect animal and human safety in Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The changes add definitions to this rule.  The changes add 
a requirement that samples be taken by a certified 
veterinarian and add criteria for pool samples.  The 
changes also clarify testing requirements with regard to 
resident or imported bulls.  The changes add quarantine 
requirements for positive bulls and females. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget because the changes clarify and enhance 
procedures but do not affect existing fees charged by the 
Department and the Department does not anticipate an 
increase in compliance costs. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments because they do not administer the program 
or own animals affected by Trichomoniasis. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to small 
businesses because the rule changes do not affect fees 
charged by the Department or compliance costs. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to non-small 
businesses because the rule changes do not affect fees 
charged by the Department or compliance costs. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
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There are no anticipated costs or savings to other persons 
because the rule changes do not affect fees charged by 
the Department or compliance costs. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The rule changes clarify procedures but do not affect 
compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Acting Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approves 
the regulatory impact analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 

These changes are necessary to ensure animals and 
persons in Utah are kept safe and should not have a fiscal 
impact on businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Craig W. Buttars, Acting Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 4-31-109   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Acting 
Commissioner 

Date: 02/01/2021 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-21.  Trichomoniasis. 
R58-21-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under authority of Section 4-31-109. 
 (2)  It is the intent of this rule to eliminate or reduce the spread 
of bovine trichomoniasis in Utah. 
 
R58-21-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Acceptable media" means any Department approved 
media in which samples may be transferred and transported. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

38 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 04 

 (2)  "Approved slaughter facility" means a slaughter 
establishment that is either under state or federal inspection. 
 (3)  "Approved test" means a test approved by the state of 
origination to diagnose trichomoniasis in bulls.  If the state of 
[orgination]origination has no approved test for the diagnosis of 
[t]Trichomoniasis it shall mean one sample tested by a method approved 
by the [D]department. 
 (4)  "Brand" means a minimum of a 2 X 3 hot iron single 
character lazy V applied to the left of the tailhead of a bull, signifying 
that the bull is infected with the venereal disease, [t]Trichomoniasis. 
 (5)  Bull means any intact male of any of the domesticated 
cattle species as well as bison. 
 [(5)](6)  "Certified veterinarian" means a federally accredited 
veterinarian who has been certified by the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food to collect samples for [t]Trichomoniasis testing. 
 [(6)](7)  "Commuter bulls" means bulls traveling across state 
lines for grazing purposes while utilizing a Commuter Permit 
Agreement approved by both the respective State Veterinarians or bulls 
traveling on a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection where there is no 
change of ownership. 
[ (7)  "Confinement" means bulls held in such manner that 
escape is improbable.  Typical barbed wire or net pasture fencing does 
not constitute confinement.] 
 (8)  "Dairy bull" means a bull of any breed used for 
reproductive purposes on a dairy that is confined in such a way that it 
does not have exposure to female cattle of other herds.  The dairy shall 
have fencing that is impenetrable by a bull. 
 [(8)](9)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 [(9)](10)  "Exposed to female cattle" means bulls with 
freedom from restraint such that breeding is a possible activity. 
 [(10)](11)  "Feeder Bulls" means bulls not exposed to female 
cattle and kept in confinement for the purpose of feeding and only go to 
slaughter. 
 [(11)](12)  "Negative bull" means a bull that has been tested 
with official test procedures and [found free from infection by 
Tritrichomonas foetus]an approved laboratory has not detected 
Tritrichomonas foetus. 
 [(12)](13)  "Official tag" means a tag authorized by the 
[D]department that is placed in the right ear of a bull by a certified 
veterinarian after being tested for [t]Trichomoniasis.  The color of the 
official tag shall be changed yearly. 
 [(13)](14)  "Official test" means a test currently approved by 
the [D]department for detection of Tritrichomonas foetus. 
 [(14)](15)  "Positive bull" means a bull that has been tested 
with official test procedures and found to be infected by Tritrichomonas 
foetus. 
 [(15)](16)  "Positive herd" means any herd or group of cattle 
owned by one or more persons [which]that shares common grazing or 
feeding operations and in which one or more animals has been 
diagnosed with [t]Trichomoniasis[ within the last 12 months]. 
 [(16)](17)  "Qualified feedlot" means a feedlot approved by 
the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food to handle [heifers, cows, 
or bulls.  These animals shall be confined to a dry lot area which is used 
to upgrade or finish feeding animals going only to slaughter.]cattle or 
bison confined to a dry lot area that is used to upgrade or finish feeding 
animals going only to slaughter. 
 [(17)](18)  "Test chart" means a document which certifies that 
a bull has been subjected to an official test for [t]Trichomoniasis and 
indicates the results of the test. 
 [(18)](19)  "Trichomoniasis" means a venereal disease of 
bovidea caused by the organism Tritrichomonas foetus. 

R58-21-3.  Trichomoniasis - Sampling and Testing Procedures. 
 (1)  Sample collection - Samples are obtained by a certified 
veterinarian via[from] a vigorous scraping of the bull's prepuce using a 
sterile syringe and new pipette on each bull. 
 (2)  Sample handling - Samples shall be transferred and 
transported in an approved [media]transfer tube such as the BioMed TF 
transfer tube.  Media should be maintained at 65 to 90 degrees 
Fahrenheit[ (],18 to 32 degrees Celsius[)], during sampling and transport 
to clinic.  Samples shall be set up for incubation within 24 hours of 
sampling. Samples shall also be protected from direct sunlight. 
 (3)  Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) testing - The 
inoculated media shall be incubated at 98 degrees Fahrenheit[ (], 37 
degrees Celsius[)], for 24 hours and then frozen.  Samples may remain 
frozen for up to 3 weeks.  Samples from herds under investigation or 
quarantine shall be mailed within 72 hours.  The frozen sample[(s)] shall 
be sent overnight on postal approved frozen packs to the Utah Veterinary 
Diagnostic Laboratory [(]at 950 East 1400 North, Logan, Utah 84341[)] 
or [an other approved]a laboratory approved by the State Veterinarian 
for PCR testing. 
 (4)  Pool samples- At the State Veterinarian's discretion, herds 
at high risk or under investigation for Trichomoniasis may be required 
to have individual bull tests. 
 (5)  Test results shall be recorded on test charts provided by 
the department. 
 (6)  Test charts shall have the following information: 
 (a)  veterinarian's name and contact information; 
 (b)  owner's name and contact information; 
 (c)  bull's trichomoniasis tag number, RFID tag number, age, 
and breed; 
 (d)  the date of collection; and 
 (e)  the finalized test results. 
 (6)  A copy of each test chart shall be submitted to the 
department within ten days of collecting the sample. 
 
R58-21-4.  Trichomoniasis - Rules - [Prevention and Control] 
Resident Cattle and Bison. 
[ (1)  All bulls twelve months of age and older, entering Utah, 
must be tested with an approved test for trichomoniasis by an accredited 
veterinarian prior to entry into Utah.  Bulls that have had contact with 
female cattle subsequent to testing must be retested prior to entry. 
 (2)  The following bulls are exempted from (1) above: 
 (a)  Bulls going directly to slaughter or to a qualified feedlot, 
 (b)  Bulls kept in confinement operations, 
 (c)  Rodeo bulls for the purpose of exhibition, and 
 (d)  Bulls attending livestock shows for the purpose of 
exhibition, only to be returned to the state of origin immediately after 
the event. 
 (3)  Rodeo and exhibition bulls with access to grazing, or 
exposed to female cattle, or being offered for sale are required to be 
tested prior to entry.] 
 [(4)](1)  Resident Bulls-  [All b]Bulls twelve months of age 
and older residing in Utah[,] and [all ]commuter bulls [must]shall be 
tested with an official test for trichomoniasis annually, between October 
1 and May 15 of the following year, or prior to exposure to female cattle 
or bison according to approved sampling and testing procedures.  
[All]Each bull[s must] shall be classified as a negative bull prior to 
exposure to females [cattle ]or offer[ed] for sale. 
[ (5)  Testing shall be performed by a certified veterinarian. 
 (a)  All test results shall be recorded on test charts provided 
by the Department or electronic forms created by the certified 
veterinarian. 
 (i)  Electronic forms shall have the following information: 
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 (A)  Veterinarian's name and contact information 
 (B)  Owner's name and contact information 
 (C)  Bull's trichomoniasis tag number, age, breed 
 (D)  Date of collection 
 (E)  Test results 
 (b)  A copy of all test charts shall be submitted to the 
Department within ten (10) days of collecting the sample.] 
 (2)  Resident dairy bulls are exempt from Trichomoniasis 
testing requirements unless they are being offered for sale or have had 
exposure to female cattle or bison from another herd. 
 ([6]2)  [All]Each bull[s] twelve months of age and older being 
offered for sale or lease for reproductive purposes in the state of Utah 
[must]shall be tested for [t]Trichomoniasis with an official test prior to 
sale.  [Bulls]Each bull that has[ve] had contact with female cattle or 
bison subsequent to testing must be re-tested prior to sale, lease, or 
transfer of ownership. 
 ([7]3)  It shall be the responsibility of the owner or his agent 
to declare[, on the auction drive-in slip, the trichomoniasis status of a 
bull being offered for sale at a livestock auction] to the brand inspector 
whether the bull has been exposed to female cattle or bison subsequent 
to testing on any bulls offered for breeding purposes regardless of 
whether the tag is current or not. This includes any bull offered for sale 
through an auction, private treaty or lease. 
 (a)  Untested bulls[ (i.e. bulls without a current trichomoniasis 
test tag), ], including dairy bulls, must be sold for slaughter only[, for 
direct movement to a qualified feedlot, or confinement operation, unless 
untested bulls are tested prior to exposure to female cattle] or for direct 
movement to a qualified feedlot. 
 (b)  Any female bovine over the age of twelve months will be 
consigned and sold for slaughter or to a qualified feedlot only unless the 
owner declares that the herd is not a known positive Trichomonas fetus 
herd. 
 (c)  Auctions shall have a separate pen for untested bulls 
where they do not have exposure to female cattle or bison being sold for 
reproductive purposes. 
 ([8]4)  Any bull [which]that has strayed and commingles with 
female cattle or bison may be required to be tested [(]or re-tested[)] for 
[t]Trichomoniasis.  The owner of the offending bull shall bear [all]the 
costs for the official test. 
 ([9]5)  [All ]Utah bulls[, which are tested, shall be tagged in 
the right ear with an official tag by the certified veterinarian performing 
the test] that are tested shall be tagged with an RFID tag and with an 
official Trichomoniasis tag by the certified veterinarian performing the 
test. 
[ (10)  Bulls entering the State of Utah under the provisions of 
this rule may be tagged upon arrival by a certified veterinarian upon 
receipt of the trichomoniasis test charts from the testing veterinarian. 
 (11)  Bulls which bear a current trichomoniasis test tag from 
another state which has an official trichomoniasis testing program will 
be acceptable to the State of Utah providing that they meet all 
trichomoniasis testing requirements as described above.] 
 
R58-21-5.  Trichomoniasis - Rules -- Imported Cattle and Bison. 
 (1)  Imported Bulls- Bulls twelve months of age and older 
entering Utah, including dairy bulls, shall be tested with an approved 
test for Trichomoniasis by an accredited veterinarian approved to collect 
samples for Trichomoniasis by the state animal health official in the state 
of origin prior to entry into Utah with the following exemptions: 
 (a)  each bull going directly to slaughter or to a qualified 
feedlot; 
 (b)  each rodeo bull for the purpose of exhibition that will 
return immediately to the state of origin after the event; and 

 (c)  each bull attending livestock shows for the purpose of 
exhibition only return immediately to the state of origin after the event. 
 (2)  Rodeo and exhibition bulls with access to grazing, 
exposure to female cattle or bison, remaining in the state for more than 
one event, or being offered for sale are required to be tested prior to 
entry. 
 (3)  Each bull that has had contact with female cattle or bison 
subsequent to testing shall be retested prior to entry. 
 (4)  Reproductive bovine females- No female bovine of 
breeding age originating from a known positive Tritrichomonas foetus 
herd will be allowed to enter Utah with the following exemptions: 
 (a)  cattle or bison from a premises of origin with two 
consecutive negative official Trichomoniasis PCR tests of the entire bull 
population and the cattle have not been exposed to positive or unknown 
status bulls since parturition, are at least 120 days pregnant, or are 
known virgin heifers; 
 (b)  cattle or bison who are documented to have had at least 
120 days of sexual isolation; or 
 (c)  cattle or bison consigned directly to slaughter or to a 
qualified feedlot. 
 (5)  Each bull entering the state under the provisions of this 
rule may be tagged upon arrival by a certified veterinarian upon receipt 
of the Trichomoniasis test charts from the testing veterinarian. 
 (6)  Each bull that bears a current Trichomoniasis test tag from 
another state that has an official Trichomoniasis testing program will be 
acceptable for entry into the state providing that they meet 
Trichomoniasis testing requirements as described above. 
 
R58-21-[5]6.  Trichomoniasis - Rules - Positive [Bull]Herd. 
 (1)  [A bull is considered positive if a laboratory identifies 
Tritrichomonas foetus using an official test.]Upon diagnosis of 
Tritrichomonas foetus in a herd, a quarantine shall be placed and a 
Trichomoniasis Herd Plan shall be set by the State Veterinarian.  The 
State Veterinarian may require additional testing of bulls, pregnancy 
testing of females, segregation of cattle or bison within a herd, and may 
quarantine a herd until the owner or manager of the herd has complied 
with any additional requirements set forth by the State Veterinarian and 
until the State Veterinarian releases the quarantine. 
 (2)  [All]Each bull[s] testing positive for [t]Trichomoniasis 
[must]shall be reported by the certified veterinarian performing the test 
within 48 hours to[:  1) the owner, and 2) the State Veterinarian, by the 
certified veterinarian performing the test.] the owner of the animal and 
the State Veterinarian. 
 (3)  Any veterinarian that discovers an infected herd shall 
immediately place the herd under a hold order. Results on follow-up 
tests on herd bulls shall be reported within 24 hours to the State 
Veterinarian. 
[ (4)  The owner shall be required to notify the administrators 
of the common grazing allotment and any neighboring (contiguous) 
cattleman within ten days following such notification by the certified 
veterinarian.] 
 (4)  A herd owner notified by a certified veterinarian of a 
positive bull shall, within ten days: 
 (a)  notify the administrators of the common grazing 
allotment; 
 (b)  notify any neighboring cattleman whose property shares 
a fence line with the property that contains the positive herd; and 
 (c)  provide the State Veterinarian's office with a list of any 
neighboring cattlemen. 
 (5)  [All]Each bull[s] [which]that tests positive for 
[t]Trichomoniasis [must]shall be sent by direct movement within 14 
days, to: 
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 (a)  [S]slaughter at an approved slaughter facility[, or]; 
 (b)  [T]to a qualified feedlot for finish feeding and 
slaughter[,]; or 
 (c)  [T]to an approved auction market for sale to [one of the 
above facilities]slaughter or a qualified feedlot. 
 ([d]6)  An exemption to the 14 day requirement [will]may be 
given by the State Veterinarian to owners of bulls that are required to be 
in a drug withdrawal period prior to slaughter. 
 ([6]7)  [Such bulls must move only when accompanied by a 
VS 1-27 Form issued by the testing veterinarian or other regulatory 
official]If an owner releases any cattle or bison from the herd to a 
slaughter channel, the owner shall provide documentation on a 
department Movement of Cattle from a Trichomoniasis-Positive Herd 
form to the State Veterinarian within 72 hours stating the animals arrived 
at the slaughter channel.  A VS 1-27 Form shall also be completed for 
cattle or bison moving out of the state by a federally-accredited 
veterinarian. Exposed cattle or bison are to be kept separate and apart 
from cattle or bison of the opposite sex. The exposed cattle will remain 
under quarantine until moved to slaughter. 
 ([7]8)  Each [P]positive bull[s] entering a qualified feedlot[,] 
or approved auction market shall be identified with a lazy V brand on 
the left side of the tailhead by either the livestock inspector or the 
contract veterinarian, indicating that the bull is infected with 
[t]Trichomoniasis. 
 ([8]9)  [All]Each bull[s] from a positive herd[s are] is required 
to have one additional individual negative Polymerase Chain Reaction 
(PCR) test prior to exposure to female cattle or bison[,]. [unless they 
are]Bulls that are being sent to an approved auction for slaughter, or to 
a qualified feedlot without exposure to female cattle or bison are not 
required to be tested, but shall be branded with a lazy V brand on the left 
side of the tailhead[, or being feed for slaughter in a confinement 
operation]. 
 (10)  Each female over 12 months of age not known to be a 
virgin heifer from a positive Tritrichomoniasis foetus herd may be sold 
for slaughter or feeding or may be quarantined on the premises of origin.  
Each female leaving the herd shall be accompanied by a department 
Movement of Cattle from a Utah Trichomoniasis-Positive Herd form.  
Each female moving to a qualified feedlot shall be identified with a lazy 
V brand on the left side of the tailhead to indicate that they are moving 
from an infected herd. 
 (11)  Each female may be released from quarantine if the 
animal: 
 (a)  has a calf at side with no exposure other than to known 
negative Tritrichomonas foetus bulls after parturition; 
 (b)  has been in 120 days of isolation from breeding-age bulls; 
or 
 (c)  is determined by a federally accredited veterinarian to be 
at least 120 days pregnant. 
 (12)  The owner of the positive herd shall assist the State 
Veterinarian in determining the destination of all non-virgin female 
cattle sold after the previous year's trichomoniasis test.  The State 
Veterinarian shall undertake all reasonable efforts to notify the recipients 
of those cattle. 
 (13)  Except as otherwise provided in this section, the owner 
of an infected herd shall not lease or transfer ownership of any bull, cow, 
or heifer that is 12 months of age or older from the herd during a period 
in which the herd is under quarantine. 
 
R58-21-[6]7.  Trichomoniasis - Rules - Non-compliance. 
 (1)  Any person who fails to satisfy the requirements of this 
rule or who knowingly sells animals infected with [t]Trichomoniasis, 
other than to slaughter, without declaring their disease status shall be 

subject to citation and fines as prescribed by the department or may be 
called to appear before an administrative proceeding by the department. 
 (2)  After May 15 each year, owners of [all ]untested bulls will 
be fined $1,000.00 per violation. 
 (3)  Regardless of the time of year, [O]owners of untested 
bulls that have been exposed to female cattle will be fined $1,000.00 per 
violation[ regardless of the time of year]. 
 (4)  Owners of any dairy bull that has been exposed to female 
cattle or bison from other herds will be fined $1,000.00 per violation. 
 (5)  Owners receiving a citation shall test their bull and 
provide proof of the testing to the department within 30 days of receipt 
of the citation or an additional penalty or fine may be levied. 
 
KEY:  disease control, trichomoniasis, bulls, cattle 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [June 14, 
2017]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  December 26, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-31-21 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-1 Filing No. 
53292 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Deborah 
Blackburn 

801-
530-
6060 

deborahblackburn@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-1.  General Rule of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
(Division) is filing these proposed amendments to clarify 
and update this rule and to implement certain statutory 
changes made by H.B. 10, H.B. 285, H.B. 313, H.B. 455, 
and S.B. 23, and S.B. 201 passed in the 2020 General 
Session. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Extensive nonsubstantive formatting changes are made 
throughout all sections.  In addition, substantive changes 
are made to the following sections: 
 
Section R156-1-102 definitions are updated to remove 
references to "diversion" per H.B. 285 (2020). 
 
Section R156-1-106 is amended in its entirety to clarify the 
procedures for requesting licensee lists from the Division. 
 
Section R156-1-109 is amended to update the persons 
designated to serve as presiding officers.  A Department of 
Commerce ALJ or licensed Administrative attorney is 
designated as the presiding officer for conducting Division 
citation hearings, and the Utah Professionals Health 
Program (UPHP) manager is designated as the presiding 
officer for conducting informal adjudicative proceedings 
involving the UPHP, including approval or denial of a 
licensee's request for entry into UPHP.  References to the 
Residence Lien Recovery Fund Advisory Board are 
deleted per H.B. 10 (2020). 
 
Section R156-1-110 is amended to clarify the 
requirements for service of an investigative subpoena. 
 
Section R156-1-301 is amended to clarify that the filing 
date of license applications is the date the approval is input 
into the Division's electronic licensure database. 
 
New Section R156-1-301.7 is added in accordance with 
S.B. 23 (2020) to clarify the standards for Division 
notification by email. 
 
Section R156-1-308a is amended to establish:  1) that the 
renewal date for the new state certified veterinary 
technician certification created by H.B. 455 is September 
30 even years, and 2) that the Division may extend the 
final two-year term for a funeral service intern license up 
to two years upon satisfactory evidence of reasonable 
progress towards licensure and of a circumstance of 
hardship beyond the control of the licensee that prevented 
completion of the licensure process. 
 
Section R156-1-308c is amended per S.B. 23 (2020) to 
update renewal of license procedures to allow renewal 
notices to be sent to licensees by email, and to clarify that 
a notification sent by the Division to the most recent 
mailing address or email address provided to the Division 
constitutes legal notice. 
 
Section R156-1-308e regarding reinstatement dates for a 
dissolved entity is amended to update the rule to conform 
to Subsection 58-1-308(2). 
 
Section R156-1-310 is updated to provide that agency 
review is not available for a Division order or determination 
for an application filed under Section 58-1-310. 
 
Sections R156-1-404a through R156-1-404d are deleted 
in their entirety in accordance with H.B. 285 (2020), which 

repealed Section 58-1-404 regarding the Division's 
Diversion program and enacted Title 58, Chapter 4a, Utah 
Health Professionals Program. 
 
Section R156-1-501 regarding unprofessional conduct is 
updated to:  1) delete the outdated 2004 Model Policy for 
the Use of Controlled Substance for the Treatment of Pain, 
and the outdated 2013 Model Policy on the Use of Opioid 
Analgesics in the Treatment of Chronic Pain, and replace 
them with the new "Guidelines for the Chronic Use of 
Opioid Analgesics" adopted as policy April 2017 by the 
Federation of State Medical Boards; and 2) add as 
unprofessional conduct the violation of a "program 
contract" under the Utah Professionals Health Program. 
 
Section R156-1-502 administrative penalties fine table is 
updated to provide midrange fines for violating Subsection 
58-1-501(1)(g) (aiding or abetting any other person to 
violate any statute, rule, or order regulating an occupation 
or profession under Title 58).  The midrange fines are $500 
for a first offense and $1,000 for a second offense. 
 
Sections R156-1-602 and R156-1-603 are amended to 
conform the rule to statutory changes made by H.B. 313 
(2020), Telehealth Parity Amendments. 
 
Google Meets information for February 25, 2021 rule 
hearing before the Division: 
Join with Google Meet: meet.google.com/mms-abwd-mxu 
Join by phone: (US) +1 657-529-2812 (PIN: 172567001) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
None of these proposed amendments are expected to 
impact state government revenues or expenditures 
because the changes merely update global Division 
administration standards, make formatting changes for 
clarity, and update the rules to implement statutory 
requirements from the bills passed in the 2020 General 
Session, and do not impose additional cost or savings 
beyond what was anticipated during the legislative 
process. 
 
B) Local governments: 

No impact is expected to local governments because 
these changes will not affect local governments' practices 
or procedures. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None of these proposed amendments are expected to 
impact small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because the changes merely update global Division 
administration standards, make formatting changes for 
clarity, and update the rules to implement statutory 
requirements from the bills passed in the 2020 General 
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Session, and do not impose additional cost or savings 
beyond what was anticipated during the legislative 
process. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None of these proposed amendments are expected to 
impact non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because the changes merely update global Division 
administration standards, make formatting changes for 
clarity, and update the rules to implement statutory 
requirements from the bills passed in the 2020 General 
Session, and do not impose additional cost or savings 
beyond what was anticipated during the legislative 
process. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Division estimates that approximately two funeral 
service interns per year who are in their final two-year term 
under Title 58, Chapter 9, may experience a fiscal benefit 
from the proposed amendment that clarifies that the 
Division may extend a final two-year term up to two years 
upon satisfactory evidence of reasonable progress 
towards licensure and a circumstance of hardship beyond 
the control of the licensee, as these persons will not be 
forced to stop working because of the hardship and will 
have a chance to continue working towards their funeral 
service director license and in their career of choice.  
However, the exact benefit cannot be estimated because 
it will depend on the individual circumstances of hardship 
and the choices of each individual licensee.  None of the 
remaining amendments are expected to impact other 
persons because the changes merely update global 
Division administration standards, make formatting 
changes for clarity, and update the rules to implement 
statutory requirements from the bills passed in the 2020 
General Session, and do not impose additional cost or 
savings beyond what was anticipated during the legislative 
process. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

None of the proposed amendments are expected to 
impose compliance costs on affected persons because the 
changes merely update global Division administration 
standards, make formatting changes for clarity, and update 
the rules to implement statutory requirements from the bills 
passed in the 2020 General Session, and do not impose 
additional costs beyond what was anticipated during the 
legislative process. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Commerce, Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The Division proposes amendments to the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing Act Rule.  The 
Division is filing these proposed amendments to clarify and 
update the rule and to implement certain statutory 
changes made by H.B. 10, H.B. 285, H.B. 313, H.B. 455, 
S.B. 23, and S.B. 201 (2020).  Among the changes are 
changes to the diversion program, hearing officer 
designation, investigative subpoena powers, notification 
procedures, and telehealth.  Further, the Division has 
made minor amendments to update references and clarify 
this rule. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees); 
The proposed amendments are not expected to impact 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because the 
changes merely update the global Division administration 
standards and make formatting changes for clarify.  
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Further, no fiscal impact is expected for small businesses 
over and above any fiscal impact described in the 
legislative fiscal notes for H.B. 10, H.B. 285, H.B. 313, H.B. 
455, S.B. 23, and S.B. 201 (2020) as these costs are either 
inestimable or there is no fiscal impact. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-small businesses (50 or more 
employees): 
These amendments will have no expected fiscal impact for 
non-small businesses in Utah for the same rationale as 
described above for small businesses.  These costs are 
either inestimable, for the reasons stated above, or there 
is no fiscal impact. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Margaret W. Busse, Interim Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

Section 58-1-308 Subsection 
58-1-501(2) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Guidelines for the Chronic Use of 
Opioid Analgesics (updates) 

Publisher Federation of State Medical Boards 

Issue, or version April 2017 

 
 Second Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Model Policy for the Use of Controlled 
Substances for the Treatment of Pain 
(deletes) 

Publisher Federation of State Medical Boards 

Issue, or version 2004 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  

Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
02/25/2021 9:00 AM Rule hearing will be 

held electronically  
before the Division.   
See Google Meets  
information in Box #4 
above. 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 01/26/2021 

 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-1.  General Rule of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing. 
R156-1-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions, as used in Title 58, Occupations or Professions or [this 
rule]in this Title R156, Occupational and Professional Licensing, the 
following rule definitions supplement the statutory definitions: 
 (1)(a)  "Active and in good standing" means a licensure 
status [which]that allows the licensee full privileges to engage in the 
practice of the occupation or profession subject to the scope of the 
licensee's license classification. 
 (b)  A license that has been placed on probation subject to 
terms and conditions is not active and in good standing. 
 (2)  "Aggravating circumstances" means any consideration 
or factors that may justify an increase in the severity of an action to 
be imposed upon an applicant or licensee.  Aggravating 
circumstances include: 
 (a)  prior record of disciplinary action, unlawful conduct, 
or unprofessional conduct; 
 (b)  dishonest or selfish motive; 
 (c)  pattern of misconduct; 
 (d)  multiple offenses; 
 (e)  obstruction of the disciplinary process by intentionally 
failing to comply with rules or orders of the Division; 
 (f)  submission of false evidence, false statements or other 
deceptive practices during the disciplinary process including 
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creating, destroying or altering records after an investigation has 
begun; 
 (g)  refusal to acknowledge the wrongful nature of the 
misconduct involved, either to the client or to the Division; 
 (h)  vulnerability of the victim; 
 (i)  lack of good faith to make restitution or to rectify the 
consequences of the misconduct involved; 
 (j)  illegal conduct, including the use of controlled 
substances; and 
 (k)  intimidation or threats of withholding clients' records 
or other detrimental consequences if the client reports or testifies 
regarding the unprofessional or unlawful conduct. 
 (3)  "Cancel" or "cancellation" means nondisciplinary 
action by the Division to rescind, repeal, annul, or void a license: 
 (a)  issued to a licensee in error, such as where a license is 
issued to an applicant: 
 (i)  whose payment of the required application fee is 
dishonored when presented for payment; 
 (ii)  who has been issued a conditional license pending a 
criminal background check and the check cannot be completed due 
to the applicant's failure to resolve an outstanding warrant or to 
submit acceptable fingerprint cards; 
 (iii)  who has been issued the wrong classification of 
licensure; or 
 (iv)  due to any other error in issuing a license; or 
 (b)  not issued erroneously, but where subsequently the 
licensee fails to maintain the ongoing qualifications for licensure, 
when such failure is not otherwise defined as unprofessional or 
unlawful conduct. 
 (4)  "Charges" means the acts or omissions alleged to 
constitute either unprofessional or unlawful conduct or both by a 
licensee, [which]that serve as the basis to consider a licensee for 
inclusion in the [diversion program]Utah Professionals Health 
Program authorized in [Section 58-1-404]Title 58, Chapter 4a, Utah 
Professionals Health Program. 
 (5)  "Conditional licensure" means an interim non-adverse 
licensure action, in which a license is issued to an applicant for initial, 
renewal, or reinstatement of licensure on a conditional basis in 
accordance with Section R156-1-308f, while an investigation, 
inspection, or audit is pending. 
 (6)  "Denial of licensure" means action by the Division 
refusing to issue a license to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal 
of licensure, reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure. 
 (7)(a)  "Disciplinary action" means adverse licensure action 
by the Division under the authority of Subsections 58-1-401(2)(a) 
[through (2)]or (b). 
 (b)  "Disciplinary action"[,] as used in Subsection 58-1-
401([5]6): 
 (i)  means an adverse action initiated by the Division; and 
 (ii)  does not [, shall not be construed to ]mean an adverse 
licensure action taken by the Division in response to an application 
for licensure.[  Rather, as used in Subsection 58-1-401(5), it shall be 
construed to mean an adverse action initiated by the Division. 
 (8)  "Diversion agreement" means a formal written 
agreement between a licensee, the Division, and a diversion 
committee, outlining the terms and conditions with which a licensee 
must comply as a condition of entering in and remaining under the 
diversion program authorized in Section 58-1-404. 
 (9)  "Diversion committees" mean diversion advisory 
committees authorized by Subsection 58-1-404(2)(a)(i) and created 
under Subsection R156-1-404a.] 

 ([10]8)  "Duplicate license" means a license reissued to 
replace a license [which]that has been lost, stolen, or mutilated. 
 ([11]9)  "Emergency review committee[s]" means an 
emergency adjudicative proceedings review committee[s] created by 
the Division under the authority of Subsection 58-1-108(2). 
 ([12]10)  "Expire" or "expiration" means the automatic 
termination of a license [which]that occurs: 
 (a)  at the expiration date shown upon a license if the 
licensee fails to renew the license before the expiration date; or 
 (b)  prior to the expiration date shown on the license: 
 (i)  upon the death of a licensee who is a natural person; 
 (ii)  upon the dissolution of a licensee who is a partnership, 
corporation, or other business entity; or 
 (iii)  upon the issuance of a new license [which]that 
supersedes an old license, including a license [which]that: 
 (A)  replaces a temporary license; 
 (B)  replaces a student or other interim license [which]that 
is limited to one or more renewals or other renewal limitation; or 
 (C)  is issued to a licensee in an upgraded classification 
permitting the licensee to engage in a broader scope of practice in the 
licensed occupation or profession. 
 ([13]11)  "Inactive" or "inactivation" means action by the 
Division to place a license on inactive status in accordance with 
Section[s] 58-1-305 and Section R156-1-305. 
 ([14]12)  "Investigative subpoena authority" means, except 
as otherwise specified in writing by the director, the Division 
regulatory and compliance officer, or if the Division regulatory and 
compliance officer is unable to so serve for any reason, a Department 
administrative law judge, or if both the Division regulatory and 
compliance officer and a Department administrative law judge are 
unable to so serve for any reason, an alternate designated by the 
director in writing. 
 ([15]13)  "License" means a right or privilege to engage in 
the practice of a regulated occupation or profession as a licensee. 
 ([16]14)  "Limit" or "limitation" means nondisciplinary 
action placing either terms and conditions or restrictions, or both 
upon a license: 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current 
license or disciplinary status. 
 ([17]15)  "Mitigating circumstances" means any 
consideration or factors that may justify a reduction in the severity of 
an action to be imposed upon an applicant or licensee. 
 (a)  Mitigating circumstances include: 
 (i)  absence of prior record of disciplinary action, unlawful 
conduct or unprofessional conduct; 
 (ii)  personal, mental or emotional problems provided such 
problems have not posed a risk to the health, safety or welfare of the 
public or clients served such as drug or alcohol abuse while engaged 
in work situations or similar situations where the licensee or applicant 
should know that they should refrain from engaging in activities that 
may pose such a risk; 
 (iii)  timely and good faith effort to make restitution or 
rectify the consequences of the misconduct involved; 
 (iv)  full and free disclosure to the client or Division prior 
to the discovery of any misconduct; 
 (v)  inexperience in the practice of the occupation [and]or 
profession, [provided such inexperience]that is not the result of 
failure to obtain appropriate education or consultation that the 
applicant or licensee should have known they should obtain prior to 
beginning work on a particular matter; 
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 (vi)  imposition of other penalties or sanctions if the other 
penalties and sanctions have alleviated threats to the public health, 
safety, and welfare; and 
 (vii)  remorse. 
 (b)  The following factors may not be considered as 
mitigating circumstances: 
 (i)  forced or compelled restitution; 
 (ii)  withdrawal of complaint by client or other affected 
persons; 
 (iii)  resignation prior to disciplinary proceedings; 
 (iv)  failure of injured client to complain; 
 (v)  complainant's recommendation as to sanction; [and]or 
 (vi)  in an informal disciplinary proceeding brought 
pursuant to Subsections 58-1-501(2)(c), 58-1-501(2)[ or ](d), or 
[Subsections ]R156-1-501(1) through (5): 
 (A)  argument that a prior proceeding was conducted 
unfairly, contrary to law, or in violation of due process or any other 
procedural safeguard; 
 (B)  argument that a prior finding or sanction was contrary 
to the evidence or entered without due consideration of relevant 
evidence; 
 (C)  argument that a respondent was not adequately 
represented by counsel in a prior proceeding; and 
 (D)  argument or evidence that former statements of a 
respondent made in conjunction with a plea or settlement agreement 
are not, in fact, true. 
 ([18]16)  "Nondisciplinary action" means adverse licensure 
action by the Division under the authority of Subsections 58-1-401(1) 
or 58-1-401(2)(c) [through (2)]or (d). 
 ([19]17)  "Peer committee[s]" mean an advisory peer 
committee[s] to a board[s] that is created by the legislature in Title 
58, Occupations and Professions, or created by the Division under 
the authority of Subsection 58-1-203(1)(f). 
 ([20]18)  "Probation" means disciplinary action placing 
terms and conditions upon a license; 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current 
license or disciplinary status. 
 ([21]19)  "Public reprimand" means disciplinary action to 
formally reprove or censure a licensee for unprofessional or unlawful 
conduct, with the documentation of the action being classified as a 
public record. 
 ([22]20)  "Regulatory authority" as used in Subsection 58-
1-501(2)(d) means any governmental entity who licenses, certifies, 
registers, or otherwise regulates persons subject to its jurisdiction, or 
who grants the right to practice before or otherwise do business with 
the governmental entity. 
 ([23]21)  "Reinstate" or "reinstatement" means to: 
 (a)  activate an expired license; or 
 (b)  [to ]restore a license [which]that is restricted[,] as 
defined in Subsection ([26]24)(b), [or is ]suspended, or [placed ]on 
probation, to a less[er] restrictive license or an active in good 
standing license. 
 ([24]22)  "Relicense" or "relicensure" means to license an 
applicant who has previously been revoked or has previously 
surrendered a license. 
 ([25]23)  "Remove or modify restrictions" means to 
remove or modify restrictions, as defined in Subsection ([25]24)(a), 
placed on a license issued to an applicant for licensure. 
 ([26]24)  "Restrict" or "restriction" means disciplinary 
action qualifying or limiting the scope of a license: 

 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure in accordance with Section 
58-1-304; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current 
license or disciplinary status. 
 ([27]25)  "Revoke" or "revocation" means disciplinary 
action by the Division extinguishing a license. 
 ([28]26)  "Suspend" or "suspension" means disciplinary 
action by the Division removing the right to use a license for a period 
of time or indefinitely as indicated in the disciplinary order, with the 
possibility of subsequent reinstatement of the right to use the license. 
 ([29]27)  "Surrender" means voluntary action by a licensee 
giving back or returning to the Division in accordance with Section 
58-1-306, all rights and privileges associated with a license issued to 
the licensee. 
 ([30]28)  "Temporary license" or "temporary licensure" 
means a license issued by the Division on a temporary basis to an 
applicant for initial licensure, renewal or reinstatement of licensure, 
or relicensure in accordance with Section 58-1-303. 
 ([31]29)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58 is 
further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in 
Section R156-1-501. 
 ([32]30)  A "[W]warning or final disposition letter[s] that 
does[which do] not constitute disciplinary action" as used in 
Subsection 58-1-108(3) means a letter[s] that does [which do ]not 
contain findings of fact or conclusions of law and [do]does not 
constitute a reprimand, but [which]that may address [any or all]one 
or more of the following: 
 (a)  Division concerns; 
 (b)  allegations upon which those concerns are based; 
 (c)  potential for administrative or judicial action; [and]or 
 (d)  disposition of Division concerns. 
 
R156-1-102a.  Global Definitions of Levels of Supervision. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a), 
except[Except] as otherwise provided by statute or rule, [the]this 
section's global definitions of levels of supervision [herein ]shall 
apply to supervision terminology used in Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions, and this Title R156, and shall be referenced and used[,] 
to the extent practicable[,] in those statutes and rules to promote 
uniformity and consistency. 
 (2)  Except as otherwise provided by statute or rule, [all 
]unlicensed personnel [specifically ]allowed to practice a regulated 
occupation or profession [are required to]shall practice under an 
appropriate level of supervision as defined [herein]in this section, as 
specified by the licensing act or licensing act rule governing 
[each]that occupation or profession. 
 (3)  Except as otherwise provided by statute or rule, a[ll] 
license classification[s] required to practice under supervision shall 
practice under an appropriate level of supervision defined [herein]in 
this section, as specified by the licensing act or licensing act rule 
governing [each]that occupation or profession. 
 (4)  Levels of supervision are defined as follows: 
 (a)  "Direct supervision" and "immediate supervision" 
mean the supervising licensee is present and available for face-to-
face communication with the person being supervised when and 
where occupational or professional services are being provided. 
 (b)  "Indirect supervision" means the supervising licensee: 
 (i)  has given either written or verbal instructions to the 
person being supervised; 
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 (ii)  is present [with]in the facility or located on the same 
premises where[in which] the person being supervised is providing 
services; and 
 (iii)  is available to provide immediate face-to-face 
communication with the person being supervised as necessary. 
 (c)  "General supervision" means that the supervising 
licensee: 
 (i)  has authorized the work to be performed by the person 
being supervised; 
 (ii)  is available for consultation with the person being 
supervised by personal face-to-face contact, or direct voice contact 
by [telephone, radio]electronic or [some ]other means, without regard 
to whether the supervising licensee is present in the facility or located 
on the same premises [as]where the person being supervised is 
providing services;[ and] 
 (iii)  can provide any necessary consultation within a 
reasonable period of time; and 
 (iv)  personal contact is routine. 
 (5)  "Supervising licensee" means a licensee who has 
satisfied [any]the requirements to act as a supervisor and has agreed 
to [provide supervision of]supervise an unlicensed individual or a 
licensee in a classification or licensure status that requires 
supervision in accordance with [the provisions of ]this chapter. 
 
R156-1-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Occupations and Professions. 
 
R156-1-106.  Division - Duties, Functions, and Responsibilities. 
[ (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-106(2), the 
following responses to requests for lists of licensees may include 
multiple licensees per request and may include home telephone 
numbers, home addresses, and e-mail addresses, subject to the 
restriction that the addresses and telephone numbers shall only be 
used by a requester for purposes for which the requester is properly 
authorized: 
 (a)  responses to requests from another governmental entity, 
government-managed corporation, a political subdivision, the federal 
government, another state, or a not-for-profit regulatory association 
to which the Division is a member; 
 (b)  responses to requests from an occupational or 
professional association, private continuing education organizations, 
trade union, university, or school, for purposes of education programs 
for licensees; 
 (c)  responses to a party to a prelitigation proceeding 
convened by the Division under Title 78, Chapter 14; 
 (d)  responses to universities, schools, or research facilities 
for the purposes of research; 
 (e)  responses to requests from licensed health care 
facilities or third party credentialing services, for the purpose of 
verifying licensure status for issuing credentialing or reimbursement 
purposes; and 
 (f)  responses to requests from a person preparing for, 
participating in, or responding to: 
 (i)  a national, state or local emergency; 
 (ii)  a public health emergency as defined in Section 26-
23b-102; or 
 (iii)  a declaration by the President of the United States or 
other federal official requesting public health-related activities. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-106(3)(a) and (b), 
the Division may deny a request for an address or telephone number 

of a licensee to an individual who provides proper identification and 
the reason for the request, in writing, to the Division, if the reason for 
the request is deemed by the Division to constitute an unwarranted 
invasion of privacy or a threat to the public health, safety, and 
welfare. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-106(3)(c), proper 
identification of an individual who requests the address or telephone 
number of a licensee and the reason for the request, in writing, shall 
consist of the individual's name, mailing address, and daytime 
number, if available.] 
 (1)  Each person requesting a licensee list pursuant to 
Section 58-1-106 and this section shall apply to the Division upon a 
form prescribed by the Division in which the requester: 
 (a)  agrees to use the information received only for he 
purposes for which the requester is authorized; 
 (b)  agrees to not disclose the information received to other 
persons; 
 (c)  agrees not to use the information received for 
advertising or solicitation; 
 (d)  attests that the requester shall adhere to the restrictions 
of this section; and 
 (e)  acknowledges that the information received is a DOPL 
record under Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and 
Management Act (GRAMA), and that a violation of Section 58-1-
106 or this section may subject the requester to criminal penalties and 
other remedies under GRAMA. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-106(1)(k) and 58-
1-106(2), the Division may provide the following requesters a list of 
multiple licensees, and include licensee home telephone numbers, 
home addresses, or email addresses: 
 (a)  a governmental entity, including another state or 
territory or its regulatory agency; 
 (b)  a government-managed corporation; 
 (c)  a political subdivision; 
 (d)  the federal government; 
 (e)  a party to a prelitigation proceeding convened by the 
Division under Title 78B, Chapter 3, Part 4, Utah Health Care 
Malpractice Act; 
 (f)  a medical reserve corps, public safety authority, host 
entity, unified command, or other person concurrently engaged with 
a person described in Subsections (2)(a) through (d), for the sole 
purpose of preparing for, participating in, or responding to an 
emergency described in Section 58-1-307; 
 (g)  a research university or regional university in the Utah 
System of Higher Education, for the sole purpose of conducting 
research; or 
 (h)(i)  the following persons, for the sole purpose of 
providing licensees continuing education that meets the requirements 
of Title 58, Occupations and Professions, and this Title R156: 
 (A)  an occupational or professional association; 
 (B)  a non-profit regulatory association in which the 
Division holds membership; 
 (C)  a private continuing education organization; 
 (D)  a trade union; or 
 (E)  a school of higher education and training such as a 
university, college, technical college, or career and technical school; 
 (ii)  As used in Subsection (2)(g), "providing licensees 
continuing education" does not mean providing general information, 
learning opportunities, marketing, or outreach, including the 
following: 
 (A)  volunteer opportunities, even if the volunteer would 
receive training and practical education; 
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 (B)  involvement in advocating for legislation; 
 (C)  involvement in labor organizing issues; 
 (D)  solicitations or recruitment for membership; or 
 (E)  continuing education advertisements in a newsletter or 
other communication issued by the requester that also contains non-
continuing education advertisements or other information, unless: 
 (I)  the newsletter is issued by a Utah non-profit 
occupational or professional association or trade union; and 
 (II)  the Division determines the newsletter's primary focus 
is communicating educational articles and information about 
continuing education, and only incidentally contains advertisements 
and solicitations for membership. 
 (3)(a)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-106(3)(c), 
proper identification of an individual who requests the address or 
telephone number of a licensee under Subsection 58-1-106(3)(a) 
shall consist of the individual's: 
 (i)  full legal name; 
 (ii)  mailing address; 
 (iii)  email address; 
 (iv)  daytime phone number; and 
 (v)  current positive identification. 
 (b)  "Positive identification" for this section means: 
 (i)  one of the following photo identification issued by a 
foreign or domestic government: 
 (A)  driver's license; 
 (B)  non-driver identification card; 
 (C)  passport; 
 (D)  military identification; or 
 (E)  concealed weapons permit; or 
 (ii)  if the individual does not have government-issued 
identification, alternative evidence of the individual's identity as 
determined appropriate by the Division, if the Division documents on 
the requester's application how the individual was positively 
identified. 
 (c)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-106(3)(a) and (b), 
the Division may deny an individual's request for an address, email 
address, or telephone number of a licensee if the Division determines 
the reason for the request is an unwarranted invasion of privacy or a 
threat to the public health, safety, and welfare. 
 
R156-1-107.  Organization of Rules - Content, Applicability and 
Relationship of Rules. 
 (1)  The rules and sections in this Title R156 shall, to the 
extent practicable, follow the numbering and organizational scheme 
of the chapters in Title 58, Occupations and Professions. 
 (2)  Rule R156-1 shall contain general provisions 
applicable to the administration and enforcement of [all ]occupations 
and professions regulated in Title 58, Occupations and Professions. 
 (3)  The [provisions of the ]other rules in this Title R156 
shall contain specific or unique provisions applicable to particular 
occupations or professions. 
 (4)  Specific rules in this Title R156 may supplement or 
alter Rule R156-1 unless expressly provided otherwise in Rule R156-
1. 
 
R156-1-109.  Presiding Officers. 
 In accordance with Subsection 63G-4-103(1)(h)[,] and 
Sections 58-1-104, 58-1-106, 58-1-109, 58-1-202, 58-1-203, 58-55-
103, and 58-55-201, except as otherwise specified in writing by the 
Director, or for Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades 
Licensing Act, by the Construction Services Commission, the 

[designation of]following are designated as the Division's presiding 
officers[ is clarified or established as follows]: 
 (1)(a)  The Division Regulatory and Compliance Officer is 
[designated as ]the presiding officer for issuance of: 
 (i)  notices of agency action; and 
 (ii)  [for issuance of ]notices of hearing issued concurrently 
with a notice of agency action or issued in response to a request for 
agency action. 
 (b)  If[, provided that if] the Division Regulatory and 
Compliance Officer is unable to [so ]serve[ for any reason], an 
alternate presiding officer [replacement ]specified in writing by the 
Director shall serve[is designated as the alternate presiding officer]. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-109(2) and 58-1-
109(4) [are clarified with regard to defaults as follows.  Unless 
otherwise specified in writing by the Director, or with regard to Title 
58, Chapter 55, by the Construction Services Commission, ]a 
[d]Department administrative law judge is [designated as ]the 
presiding officer for entering an order of default against a party[, for] 
and conducting [any ]further proceedings necessary to complete the 
adjudicative proceeding, [and for]including issuing a recommended 
order to the Director or Construction Services Commission[, 
respectively,] determining the discipline to be imposed, licensure 
action to be taken, relief to be granted, [etc.]or other appropriate 
matters. 
 (3)  Except as provided in Subsection (4)[ or otherwise 
specified in writing by the Director], the presiding officers for 
adjudicative proceedings before the Division are as follows: 
 (a)  [Director.  ]The Director [shall be]is the presiding 
officer for the following adjudicative proceedings, however resolved, 
including stipulated settlements and hearings: 
 (i)  formal adjudicative proceedings under:[described in 
Subsections R156-46b-201(1)(b), and R156-46b-201(2)(a) through 
(c), however resolved, including stipulated settlements and hearings; 
and] 
 (A)  Subsection R156-46b-201(1)(b), request for 
declaratory order conducted as a formal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (B)  Subsection R156-46b-201(2)(a), formal disciplinary 
proceeding for revocation, suspension, restricted licensure, 
probationary licensure, cease and desist order or administrative fine 
not through citation, or public reprimand; 
 (C)  Subsection R156-46b-201(2)(b), unilateral 
modification of disciplinary order; and 
 (D)  Subsection R156-46b-201(2)(c), termination of 
diversion agreement or program contract under Section 58-4a-107; 
and 
 (ii)  informal adjudicative proceedings under:[described in 
Subsections R156-46b-202(1)(g), (i), (l), (m), (o), (p), and (r), and 
R156-46b-202(2)(a), (b)(ii), (c), and (d), however resolved, including 
memoranda of understanding and stipulated settlements.] 
 (A)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(d), payment of approved 
claim against the Residence Lien Recovery Fund; 
 (B)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iii), approval or 
denial of request for modification of a disciplinary order; 
 (C)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(v), approval or denial 
of request for correction of other than procedural or clerical mistakes; 
 (D)  Subsection R!56-46b-202(1)(h), request for 
declaratory order conducted as an informal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (E)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(i), disciplinary sanction 
imposed in a stipulation or memorandum of understanding with a 
licensure applicant; 
 (F)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(j), other requests for 
agency action not designated as a formal adjudicative proceeding; 
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 (G)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(a), nondisciplinary 
proceeding that results in cancellation of licensure; 
 (H)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(ii), disciplinary 
proceeding against a controlled substance licensee; 
 (I)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(c), disciplinary 
proceeding concerning violation of an order governing a license; and 
 (J)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(d), disciplinary 
proceeding limited to Subsections 58-1-501(2)(c) or (d) or R156-1-
501(1) through (5). 
 (b)  [Bureau Managers or Program Coordinators.  Except 
for Title 58, Chapter 55, the]The bureau manager or program 
coordinator over the occupation or profession or program involved 
[shall be]is the presiding officer for: 
 (i)  formal adjudicative proceedings [described in]under 
Subsection R156-46b-201(1)(c), for [purposes of ]determining 
[whether]if a request for a board of appeal is properly filed [as set 
forth in]under Subsections R156-15A-210(1) through (4); and 
 (ii)  informal adjudicative proceedings [described in 
Subsections]under: 
 (A)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(a)[ through (d),(f), (h), 
(j), (n) and R156-46b-202(2)(b)(iii).], approval or denial of an 
application for initial licensure, renewal, reinstatement, inactive or 
emeritus status, tax credit certificate, or criminal history 
determination; 
 (B)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(b), favorable or 
unfavorable criminal history determination; 
 (C)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(i), approval or denial 
of request to surrender licensure; 
 (D)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iv), approval or 
denial of request for correction of procedural or clerical mistakes; 
 (E)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(iii), disciplinary 
proceeding against a contract security company or armored car 
company for failure to replace a qualifier; 
 (F)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(iv), disciplinary 
proceeding against a hunting guide or outfitter for unprofessional 
conduct under Subsections R156-79-502(12) or R156-79-502(14); 
and 
 (G)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(e), disciplinary 
proceeding concerning evaluation or verification of documentation 
regarding renewal requirements. 
 (iii)  At the direction of a bureau manager or program 
coordinator, a licensing technician or program technician may sign 
an informal order in the technician's name [of the licensing technician 
or program technician provided]if: 
 (A)  the bureau manager or program coordinator approves 
the wording in advance; and[wording of the order has been approved 
in advance by the bureau manager or program coordinator and 
provided ] 
 (B)  the caption "FOR THE BUREAU MANAGER" or 
"FOR THE PROGRAM COORDINATOR" immediately precedes 
the [licensing technician's or program ]technician's signature. 
 (c)  [Citation Hearing Officer.  The Division Regulatory 
and Compliance Officer or other citation hearing officer designated 
in writing by the Director shall be]A Department administrative law 
judge licensed in good standing with the Utah State Bar, or a 
Department administrative employee licensed in good standing with 
the Utah State Bar as designed by a Department administrative law 
judge, is the presiding officer for [the adjudicative proceeding 
described in]informal citation hearings under Subsection R156-46b-
202(1)([k]g). 
 (d)(i)  [Uniform Building Code Commission.  ]The 
Uniform Building Code Commission [shall be]is the presiding officer 

for [the]formal adjudicative proceedings [described in]under 
Subsection R156-46b-20[2]1(1)([e]c) for convening a board of 
appeal under Subsection 15A-1-207(3), [for ]serving as fact finder at 
[any]the evidentiary hearing[ associated with a board of appeal], and 
[for ]entering the final order[ associated with a board of appeal]. 
 (ii)  A[n] Department administrative law judge shall 
conduct the hearing as [perform the role ]specified in Subsection 58-
1-109(2). 
 (e)  [Residence Lien Recovery Fund Advisory Board.  The 
Residence Lien Recovery Fund Advisory Board shall be the 
presiding officer to serve as the factfinder for formal adjudicative 
proceedings involving the Residence Lien Recovery Fund. 
 (f)  Residence Lien Recovery Fund Manager.  ]The 
Residence Lien Recovery Fund manager, bureau manager, or 
program coordinator designated in writing by the Director [shall be]is 
the presiding officer for [the ]informal adjudicative proceedings 
[described in]under Subsection R156-46b-202(1)([q]c), for approval 
or denial of [an application for a tax credit certificate]claims against 
the Residence Lien Recovery Fund. 
 (f)(i)  The Utah Professionals Health Program manager is 
the presiding officer for informal adjudicative proceedings under: 
 (A)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(ii), entry into and 
participation in the Utah Professionals Health Program; and 
 (B)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(f), matters relating to the 
Utah Professionals Health Program that do not involve termination 
under Section 58-4a-107. 
 (ii)  If the Utah Professionals Health Program manager is 
unable to serve, an alternate presiding officer specified in writing by 
the Director shall serve. 
 (4)  [Unless otherwise specified in writing by the 
Construction Services Commission, the]The presiding officers and 
process for adjudicative proceedings under Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah 
Construction Trades Licensing Act, are [established or clarified ]as 
follows: 
 (a)  [Commission. 
 ](i)(A)  The Construction Services Commission [shall be]is 
the presiding officer for [all ]adjudicative proceedings under Title 58, 
Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act, however 
resolved including stipulated settlements and hearings, except as 
otherwise [delegated by the Commission in writing or as otherwise 
provided]specified in this rule[; provided, however, that all orders]. 
 (B)  Orders adopted by the Commission as [a ]presiding 
officer shall require the concurrence of the Director. 
 (ii)  [Unless otherwise specified in writing by the 
Construction Services Commission, the]The Construction Services 
Commission is [designated as ]the presiding officer: 
 (A)  for informal adjudicative proceedings [described in 
Subsections R156-46b-202(1)(l), (m), (o), (p), and (q), and R156-
46b-202(2)(b)(i), (c), and (d), however resolved, including 
memoranda of understanding and stipulated settlements;]under: 
 (I)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iii), approval or denial 
of request for modification of a disciplinary order; 
 (II)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(v), approval or denial 
of request for correction of other than procedural or clerical mistakes; 
 (III)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(h), request for 
declaratory order conducted as an informal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (IV)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(i), disciplinary 
sanctions imposed in a stipulation or memorandum of understanding 
with a licensure applicant; 
 (V)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(j), other requests for 
agency action not designated as a formal adjudicative proceeding; 
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 (VI)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(i), disciplinary 
proceedings against a contractor, plumber, electrician, or alarm 
company; 
 (VII)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(c), disciplinary 
proceedings concerning violations of an order governing a license; 
and 
 (VIII)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(d), disciplinary 
proceeding limited to Subsections 58-1-501(2)(c) or (d) or R156-1-
501(1) through (5); 
 (B)  to serve as fact finder and adopt orders in formal 
evidentiary hearings [associated with]for adjudicative proceedings 
involving persons licensed [as ]or required to be licensed under Title 
58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act; and 
 (C)(I)  to review recommended orders of a board, an 
administrative law judge, or other [designated ]presiding officer who 
acted as the fact finder in an evidentiary hearing involving a person 
licensed or required to be licensed under Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah 
Construction Trades Licensing Act, and to adopt an order of its 
own[.]; and 
 (II)  [In]in adopting its order, the Construction Services 
Commission may accept, modify or reject the recommended order. 
 (iii)[  If the Construction Services Commission is unable 
for any reason to act as the presiding officer as specified, it shall 
designate another presiding officer in writing to so act. 
 (iv)](A)  Orders of the Construction Services Commission 
shall address [all]the issues before the Construction Services 
Commission and shall be based upon the record developed in an 
adjudicative proceeding conducted by the Construction Services 
Commission. 
 (B)  [In cases in which]If the Commission has designated 
another presiding officer to conduct an adjudicative proceeding and 
submit a recommended order, the record to be reviewed by the 
Construction Services Commission shall consist of the findings of 
fact, conclusions of law, and recommended order submitted [to the 
Commission ]by the presiding officer based upon the evidence 
presented in the adjudicative proceeding before the presiding officer. 
 ([v]iv)(A)  The Construction Services Commission or its 
designee shall submit an adopted order[s] to the [d]Director for the 
Director's concurrence or rejection within 30 days after it receives a 
recommended order or adopts an order, whichever is earlier. 
 (B)  An adopted order [shall be deemed ]is issued and 
[constitute]becomes a final order upon the concurrence of the 
Director. 
 (v[i])(A)  In accordance with Subsection 58-55-103(10), if 
the Director or the Director's designee refuses to concur in an adopted 
order[ of the Construction Services Commission or its designee], the 
Director or the Director's designee shall return the adopted order to 
the Construction Services Commission or its designee with the 
reasons [set forth ]in writing[ for refusing to concur]. 
 (B)  The Construction Services Commission or its designee 
shall reconsider the returned adopted order and resubmit an adopted 
order to the Director or the Director's designee, whether or not 
modified, within 30 days of the date of the initial or subsequent 
return. 
 (C)  The Director or the Director's designee shall consider 
the resubmitted [Commission's resubmission of an ]adopted order 
and either concur rendering the order final, or refuse to concur and 
issue a final order, within 90 days of the date of the initial 
recommended order. 
 (D)  [Provided]If the time frames in this subsection are 
followed, this subsection shall not preclude an informal resolution 
such as an executive session of the Construction Services 

Commission or its designee [and]with the Director or the Director's 
designee to resolve the reasons for the Director's refusal to concur in 
an adopted order. 
 (vi[i])  The record of the adjudicative proceeding shall 
include recommended orders, adopted orders, refusals to concur in 
adopted orders, and final orders. 
 (vii[i])  The final order issued by the Construction Services 
Commission and concurred in by the Director or the Director's 
designee, or nonconcurred in by the Director or the Director's 
[D]designee[,] and issued by the Director or the Director's designee, 
may be appealed by filing a request for agency review with the 
Executive Director or [the Director's ]designee within the 
Department. 
 ([ix]viii)  The content of [all ]orders shall comply with [the 
requirements of Subsection]Sections 63G-4-203(1),[(i) and Sections] 
63G-4-208, and 63G-4-209. 
 (b)  [Director.  ]The Director or the Director's designee is 
[designated as ]the presiding officer for the concurrence role[, except 
where the Director or the Director's designee refuses to concur and 
issues the final order as provided by Subsection (a), on] in 
disciplinary proceedings under Subsections R156-46b-202(2)(b)(i), 
R156-46b-202(2)(c), and R156-46b-202(2)(d) as required by 
Subsection 58-55-103(1)(b)(iv). 
 (c)  [Administrative Law Judge.  Unless otherwise 
specified in writing by the Construction Services Commission, a]A 
Department administrative law judge is [designated as ]the presiding 
officer to conduct formal adjudicative proceedings before the 
Construction Services Commission and its advisory boards, as 
specified in Subsection 58-1-109(2). 
 (d)  [Bureau Manager.  Unless otherwise specified in 
writing by the Construction Services Commission, the 
responsible]The bureau manager is [designated as ]the presiding 
officer [for conducting]to conduct informal adjudicative proceedings 
[specified]under: 
 (i)  [in ]Subsections R156-46b-202(1)(a)[ through (d),(h), 
and (n)](i) through (1)(a)(iv), approval or denial of an application for 
initial licensure, renewal, reinstatement, inactive or emeritus status; 
 (ii)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(a)(vi), approval or denial 
of an application for criminal history determination; 
 (iii)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(b), favorable or 
unfavorable criminal history determination; 
 (iv)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(i), approval or denial 
of request to surrender licensure; 
 (v)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iv), approval or denial 
of request for correction of procedural or clerical mistakes; and 
 (vi)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(e), disciplinary 
proceeding concerning evaluation or verification of documentation 
regarding renewal requirements. 
 (e)  At the direction of a bureau manager, a licensing 
technician may sign an informal order in the name of the licensing 
technician [provided]if: 
 (i)  the bureau manager approves the wording in advance; 
and[of the order has been approved in advance by the bureau manager 
and provided] 
 (ii)  the caption "FOR THE BUREAU MANAGER" 
immediately precedes the licensing technician's signature. 
 (f)  [Plumbers Licensing Board.  ]Except as [set 
forth]specified in Subsection (c)[ or as otherwise specified in writing 
by the commission], the Plumbers Licensing Board is [designated as 
]the presiding officer to serve as the fact finder and to issue 
recommended orders to the Construction Services Commission in 
formal evidentiary hearings [associated with]for adjudicative 
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proceedings involving persons licensed as or required to be licensed 
as plumbers. 
 (g)  [Electricians Licensing Board.  ]Except as [set 
forth]specified in Subsection (c)[ or as otherwise specified in writing 
by the commission], the Electricians Licensing Board is [designated 
as ]the presiding officer to serve as the fact finder and to issue 
recommended orders to the Construction Services Commission in 
formal evidentiary hearings [associated with]for adjudicative 
proceedings involving persons licensed as or required to be licensed 
as electricians. 
 (h)  [Alarm System Security and Licensing Board.  ]Except 
as [set forth]specified in Subsection (c)[ or as otherwise specified in 
writing by the Commission], the Alarm System Security and 
Licensing Board is [designated as ]the presiding officer to serve as 
the fact finder and to issue recommended orders to the Construction 
Services Commission in formal evidentiary hearings [associated 
with]for adjudicative proceedings involving persons licensed as or 
required to be licensed as alarm companies or agents. 
 
R156-1-110.  Issuance of Investigative Subpoenas. 
 (1)(a)  A[ll] request[s] for a subpoena[s] in [conjunction 
with ]a Division investigation [made ]pursuant to Subsection 58-1-
106(1)(c)[,] shall be made in writing to the investigative subpoena 
authority and [shall be ]accompanied by an original of the proposed 
subpoena. 
 ([a]b)  Each request[Requests to the investigative subpoena 
authority] shall contain adequate information to enable the subpoena 
authority to make a finding of sufficient need, including: 
 (i)  the factual basis for the request[,]; 
 (ii)  the relevance and necessity of the particular 
person[,]and evidence[, documents, etc.,] to the investigation[,]; and 
 (iii)  an explanation of why the subpoena is directed to the 
[particular ]person upon whom it is to be served. 
 ([b]c)  An approved subpoena[Approved subpoenas] shall 
be issued under the seal of the Division and the signature of the 
subpoena authority. 
 (2)  The person who requests an investigative subpoena is 
responsible for service of the subpoena. 
 (3)(a)  Service may be made: 
 (i)  on a person upon whom a summons may be served 
pursuant to the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; and 
 (ii)  personally or on the agent of the person being served. 
 (b)  If a party is represented by an attorney, service shall be 
made on the attorney. 
 (4)(a)  Service may be accomplished by hand delivery or 
by mail to the last known address of the intended recipient. 
 (b)  Service by mail is complete upon mailing. 
 (c)  Service may be accomplished by electronic means. 
 (d)  Service by electronic means is complete on 
transmission if transmission is completed during normal business 
hours at the place receiving the service, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on days other 
than Saturdays,  Sundays, and state and federal holidays; otherwise, 
service is complete on the next business day. 
 (5)(a)  Each[  There shall appear on all] investigative 
subpoena[s] shall have a certificate of service. 
 (b)  The certificate of service may be a separate form or 
may be stamped on the subpoena. 
 (c)  The person serving the subpoena shall complete the 
certificate of service for both the served copy and the copy kept for 
the Division files. 

 (6)  The investigative subpoena authority may quash or 
modify an investigative subpoena if it is shown to be unreasonable or 
oppressive. 
 (a)  A motion to quash or modify an investigative subpoena 
shall be filed with and served upon the subpoena authority no later 
than ten days after service of the investigative subpoena. 
 (b)  A response by the Division to a motion to quash or 
modify an investigative subpoena shall be filed with and served upon 
the subpoena authority no later than five business days after receipt 
of a motion to quash or modify an investigative subpoena. 
 (c)  No final reply by the recipient of an investigative 
subpoena who files a motion to quash or modify shall be permitted. 
 
R156-1-111.  Qualifications for Tax Certificate - Definitions - 
Application Requirements. 
 (1)[  In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapter 1, as 
used in Title 58, Chapter 1, or in this rule: 
 ](a)  "Psychiatrist"[, as defined] under Subsection 58-1-
111(1)(d), [is further defined to ]includes a licensed physician who is 
board eligible or board certified for a psychiatry specialization 
recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) 
or the American Osteopathic Association's Bureau of Osteopathic 
Specialists (BOS)[.]; and 
 (b)  [Under Subsection 58-1-111(1)(f)(ii), the definition of 
a "volunteer retired psychiatrist" is further defined to mean a 
physician or osteopathic physician licensed under Title 58, Chapter 
81, Retired Volunteer Health Practitioner Act, who is previously or 
currently]"previously or currently board certified in psychiatry" 
means board certified for a psychiatry specialization recognized by 
the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American 
Osteopathic Association's Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (BOS). 
 (2)  An applicant for a tax credit certificate under Section 
58-1-111 shall provide to the Division: 
 (a)  the original application made available on the 
Division's website, containing the signed attestation of compliance; 
and 
 (b)  [any ]additional documentation that may be required 
by the Division to verify the applicant's representations made in the 
application. 
 
R156-1-205.  Peer or Advisory Committees - Executive Director 
to Appoint - Terms of Office - Vacancies in Office - Removal from 
Office - Quorum Requirements - Appointment of Chairman - 
Division to Provide Secretary - Compliance with Open and 
Public Meetings Act [- Compliance with]and Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act - No [Provision for ]Per Diem and 
Expenses. 
 (1)  The executive director shall appoint the members of 
peer or advisory committees established under this Title 58, 
Occupations and Professions, or Title R156. 
 (2)(a)  Except for ad hoc committees whose members shall 
be appointed on a case-by-case basis, the term of office of peer or 
advisory committee members shall be [for ]four years. 
 (b)  The executive director shall, at the time of appointment 
or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that they[the 
terms of committee members] are staggered so that approximately 
half of the peer or advisory committee is appointed on [every ]two 
year[s] cycles. 
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 (3)  [No]A peer or advisory committee member may not 
serve more than two full consecutive terms, and [no]a member who 
ceases to serve may not serve again [serve on the peer or advisory 
committee ]until after the expiration of two years from the date of 
cessation of service. 
 (4)(a)  If a vacancy on a peer or advisory committee occurs, 
the executive director shall appoint a replacement to fill the 
unexpired term. 
 (b)  After filling the unexpired term, the replacement may 
be appointed for only one additional full term. 
 (5)(a)  If a peer or advisory committee member fails or 
refuses to fulfill the responsibilities and duties of a peer or advisory 
committee member, including [the ]attendance at [peer committee 
]meetings, the executive director may remove the peer or advisory 
committee member and replace the member in accordance with this 
section. 
 (b)  After filling the unexpired term, the replacement may 
be appointed for only one additional full term. 
 (6)  Committee meetings [shall]may only be convened with 
the approval of the appropriate board and the concurrence of the 
Division. 
 (7)  Unless otherwise approved by the Division, peer or 
advisory committee meetings shall be held in the building occupied 
by the Division. 
 (8)  A majority of the peer or advisory committee members 
shall constitute a quorum and may act [in]on behalf of the peer or 
advisory committee. 
 (9)(a)  Peer or advisory committees shall annually 
designate one of their members to serve as chair[peer or advisory 
committee chairman]. 
 (b)  The Division shall provide a Division employee to act 
as committee secretary to take minutes of committee meetings and to 
prepare committee correspondence. 
 (10)  Peer or advisory committees shall comply with [the 
procedures and requirements of ]Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public 
Meetings Act[, in their meetings]. 
 (11)  Peer or advisory committees shall comply with [the 
procedures and requirements of ]Title 63G, Chapter 4, 
Administrative Procedures Act, in their adjudicative proceedings. 
 (12)  Peer or advisory committee members shall perform 
their duties and responsibilities as public service and shall not receive 
a per diem allowance, or traveling or accommodations expenses 
incurred in peer or advisory committees business, except as otherwise 
provided in Title 58, Occupations and Professions, or Title R156. 
 
R156-1-206.  Emergency [Adjudicative Proceeding ]Review 
Committees - Appointment - Terms - Vacancies - Removal - 
Quorum - Chair[man] and Secretary - Open and Public Meetings 
Act [-]and Utah Administrative Procedures Act - Per Diem and 
Expenses. 
 (1)  The [chairman of the board]board chair for the 
profession of the person against whom an emergency adjudicative 
proceeding[action] is proposed under Sections 63G-4-502 and 58-1-
108 may appoint the members of the emergency review committee[s] 
on a case-by-case or period-of-time basis. 
 (2)  With the exception of the appointment and removal of 
members and filling of vacancies by the [chairman of a board]board 
chair, emergency review committees[, committees] shall serve in 
accordance with Subsections R156-1-205(7), and (9) through (12). 
 

R156-1-301.  [Application for Licensure]License Application - 
Filing Date - Applicable Requirements for Licensure - Issuance 
Date. 
 (1)  The filing date for an application for licensure [shall 
be]is the postmark date of the application or the date the application 
is received and date stamped by the Division, whichever is earlier. 
 (2)  Except as otherwise provided by statute, rule, or order, 
the requirements for licensure [applicable to an application for 
licensure shall be]are the requirements in effect on the filing date of 
the application. 
 (3)  The issuance date for a license [issued to an applicant 
for licensure shall be as follows: 
 (a)  ]is the date the approval is input into the Division's 
electronic licensure database[ for applications submitted and 
processed manually; or 
 (b)  the date printed on the verification of renewal 
certificate for renewal applications submitted and processed 
electronically via the Division's Internet Renewal System]. 
 
R156-1-301.7.  Change of Information - Notification. 
 (1)  Notification sent by email under Section 58-1-301.7 is 
complete on transmission if transmission is completed during normal 
business hours, 8 a.m, to 5 p.m. on days other than Saturdays, 
Sundays, and state and federal holidays, at the place receiving the 
notice; otherwise, notice is complete on the next business day. 
 (2)  Notification by email may be accomplished by 
attachment to the email or in the body of the email, or both. 
 
R156-1-302.  Consideration of [Good Moral Character, 
]Unlawful Conduct, Unprofessional Conduct, or Other Mental or 
Physical Condition. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-1-401, this[This] section 
applies in circumstances where an applicant or licensee: 
 (a)  is not automatically disqualified from licensure 
pursuant to statute[a statutory provision]; and 
 (b)(i)  has [history that reflects negatively on the person's 
moral character, including ]past unlawful or unprofessional conduct; 
or 
 (ii)  as described in Subsection 58-1-401(2)(d), may be 
unable to practice the occupation or profession with reasonable skill 
and safety because of an illness, a substance use disorder or[has] a 
mental or physical condition that, when considered with the duties 
and responsibilities of the license held or to be held, demonstrates a 
threat or potential threat to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 (2)  In a circumstance described in Subsection[Section] (1), 
the following factors are relevant to a licensing decision: 
 (a)  aggravating circumstances, as defined in Subsection 
R156-1-102(2); 
 (b)  mitigating circumstances, as defined in Subsection 
R156-1-102([17]15); 
 (c)  the degree of risk to the public health, safety or welfare; 
 (d)  the degree of risk that a conduct will be repeated; 
 (e)  the degree of risk that a condition will continue; 
 (f)  the magnitude of the conduct or condition as it relates 
to the harm or potential harm; 
 (g)  the length of time since the last conduct or condition 
has occurred; 
 (h)  the current criminal probationary or parole status of the 
applicant or licensee; 
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 (i)  the current administrative status of the applicant or 
licensee; 
 (j)  results of previously submitted applications, for any 
regulated profession or occupation; 
 (k)  results from any action, taken by any professional 
licensing agency, criminal or administrative agency, employer, 
practice monitoring group, entity or association; 
 (l)  evidence presented indicating that restricting or 
monitoring an individual's practice, conditions or conduct can protect 
the public health, safety or welfare; 
 (m)  psychological evaluations; or 
 (n)  any other information the Division or the board 
reasonably believes may assist in evaluating the degree of threat or 
potential threat to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 
R156-1-303.  Temporary Licenses in Declared Disaster or 
Emergency. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 53-2a-1203, a person[s] 
who provides services under this exemption from licensure, shall 
within 30 days of entry file a notice with the Division [as provided 
]under Subsection 53-2a-1205(1) using forms posted on the Division 
website[internet site]. 
 (2)  In accordance with Section 53-2a-1205 and Subsection 
58-1-303(1), a person who provides services under the exemption 
from licensure [as provided ]in Section 53-2a-1203 for a declared 
disaster or emergency shall, after the disaster period ends and before 
continuing to provide services, meet [all ]the normal requirements for 
[occupational or professional ]licensure under [this title]Title 58, 
Occupations and Professions, unless: 
 (a)  prior to practicing after the declared disaster the person 
is issued a temporary license under [the provisions of ]Subsection 58-
1-303(1)(c); or 
 (b)  the person qualifies under another exemption from 
licensure. 
 
R156-1-305.  Inactive Licensure. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-1-305, [except as 
provided in Subsection (2), ]a licensee whose license is listed in 
Subsection (2) may [not ]apply for inactive licensure status as 
provided in this section. 
 (2)  The following licenses issued under Title 58 that are 
active in good standing may be placed on inactive licensure status: 
 (a)  architect; 
 (b)  audiologist; 
 (c)  certified public accountant emeritus; 
 (d)  state certified court reporter; 
 (e)  certified social worker; 
 (f)  chiropractic physician; 
 (g)  clinical mental health counselor; 
 (h)  clinical social worker; 
 (i)  contractor; 
 (j)  deception detection examiner; 
 (k)  deception detection intern; 
 (l)  dental hygienist; 
 (m)  dentist; 
 (n)  dispensing medical practitioner - advanced practice 
registered nurse; 
 (o)  dispensing medical practitioner - physician and 
surgeon; 
 (p)  dispensing medical practitioner - physician assistant; 
 (q)  dispensing medical practitioner - osteopathic physician 
and surgeon; 

 (r)  dispensing medical practitioner - optometrist; 
 (s)  dispensing medical practitioner - clinic pharmacy; 
 (t)  genetic counselor; 
 (u)  health facility administrator; 
 (v)  hearing instrument specialist; 
 (w)  landscape architect; 
 (x)  licensed advanced substance use disorder counselor; 
 (y)  marriage and family therapist; 
 (z)  naturopath[/]-naturopathic physician; 
 (aa)  optometrist; 
 (bb)  osteopathic physician and surgeon; 
 (cc)  pharmacist; 
 (dd)  pharmacy technician; 
 (ee)  physician assistant; 
 (ff)  physician and surgeon; 
 (gg)  podiatric physician; 
 (hh)  private probation provider; 
 (ii)  professional engineer; 
 (jj)  professional land surveyor; 
 (kk)  professional structural engineer; 
 (ll)  psychologist; 
 (mm)  radiology practical technician; 
 (nn)  radiologic technologist; 
 (oo)  security personnel; 
 (pp)  speech-language pathologist; 
 (qq)  substance use disorder counselor;[ and] 
 (rr)  veterinarian; and 
 (ss)  state certified veterinary technician. 
 (3)(a)  A licensee requesting[Applicants for] inactive 
licensure shall submit a verified application in a form prescribed by 
[apply to the Division in writing upon forms available from ]the 
Division together with: 
 (i)  [.  Each completed application shall contain 
]documentation [of]that the applicant meets the requirements for 
inactive licensure[, shall be verified by the applicant, and shall be 
accompanied by]; and 
 (ii)  the appropriate fee. 
 ([4]b)  If the licensee meets the[all] requirements [are met 
]for inactive licensure, the Division shall place the license on inactive 
status. 
 ([5]4)  A license may remain on inactive status indefinitely 
except as otherwise provided in Title 58, Occupations or Professions 
or this Title R156[rules which implement Title 58]. 
 ([6]5)  An inactive licensee may [be activated]activate their 
license by submitting a verified application for activation in a form 
prescribed by the Division together with:[requesting activation in 
writing upon forms available from the Division.  Unless otherwise 
provided in Title 58 or rules which implement Title 58, each 
reactivation application shall contain documentation that the 
applicant meets current renewal requirements, shall be verified by the 
applicant, and shall be accompanied by ] 
 (a)  the appropriate fee[.]; and 
 (b)  unless otherwise provided in Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions or this Title R156, documentation that the inactive 
licensee meets current renewal requirements. 
 ([7]6)  An inactive licensee whose license is activated 
during the last 12 months of a renewal cycle shall, upon payment of 
the appropriate fees, be licensed for a full renewal cycle plus the 
period of time remaining until the impending renewal date, rather 
than being required to immediately renew their activated license. 
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 ([8]7)  A Controlled Substance license may be placed on 
inactive status if attached to a primary license listed in Subsection 
R156-1-305(2) and the primary license is placed on inactive status. 
 
R156-1-308a.  Renewal Dates. 
 (1)  The following standard two-year renewal cycle 
renewal dates are established by license classification in accordance 
with [the ]Subsection 58-1-308(1): 
 

TABLE 
RENEWAL DATES 

 
Acupuncturist                      May 31       even years 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse January 31   even years 
Advanced Practice Registered 
  Nurse-CRNA                       January 31   even years 
Architect                          May 31       even years 
Athlete Agent                      September 30 even years 
Athletic Trainer                   May 31       odd years 
Audiologist                        May 31       odd years 
Barber                             September 30 odd years 
Barber Apprentice                  September 30 odd years 
Barber School                      September 30 odd years 
Behavior Analyst and 
  Assistant Behavior Analyst       September 30 even years 
Behavior Specialist and 
  Assistant Behavior Specialist    September 30 even years 
Building Inspector                 November 30  odd years 
Burglar Alarm Security             March 31     odd years 
C.P.A. Firm                        December 31  even years[ 
Certified Court Reporter           May 31       even years] 
Certified Dietitian                September 30 even years 
Certified Medical Language Interpreter March 31 odd years 
Certified Nurse Midwife            January 31   even years 
Certified Public Accountant        December 31  even years 
Certified Social Worker            September 30 even years 
Chiropractic Physician             May 31       even years 
Clinical Mental Health Counselor   September 30 even years 
Clinical Social Worker             September 30 even years 
Contractor                         November 30  odd years 
Controlled Substance License       Attached to primary 
                                   license renewal 
Controlled Substance Precursor     May 31       odd years 
Controlled Substance Handler       September 30 odd years 
Cosmetologist/Barber               September 30 odd years 
Cosmetologist/Barber Apprentice    September 30 odd years 
Cosmetology/Barber School          September 30 odd years 
Deception Detection                November 30  even years 
  Deception Detection Examiner, 
  Deception Detection Intern, 
  Deception Detection Administrator 
Dental Hygienist                   May 31       even years 
Dentist                            May 31       even years 
Direct-entry Midwife               September 30 odd years 
Dispensing Medical Practitioner 
  Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, 
  Optometrist, Osteopathic Physician 
  and Surgeon, Physician and Surgeon, 
  Physician Assistant              September 30 odd years 
Dispensing Medical Practitioner 
  Clinic Pharmacy                  September 30 odd years 
Electrician 
  Apprentice, Journeyman, Master, 
  Residential Journeyman, 
  Residential Master               November 30  even years 
Electrologist                      September 30 odd years 
Electrology School                 September 30 odd years 
Elevator Mechanic                  November 30  even years 
Environmental Health Scientist     May 31       odd years 
Esthetician                        September 30 odd years 
Esthetician Apprentice             September 30 odd years 
Esthetics School                   September 30 odd years 
Factory Built Housing Dealer       September 30 even years 
Funeral Service Director           May 31       even years 
Funeral Service Establishment      May 31       even years 
Genetic Counselor                  September 30 even years 

Hair Designer                      September 30 odd years 
Hair Designer Instructor           September 30 odd years 
Hair Designer School               September 30 odd years 
Health Facility Administrator      May 31       odd years 
Hearing Instrument Specialist      September 30 even years 
Internet Facilitator               September 30 odd years 
Landscape Architect                May 31       even years 
Licensed Advanced Substance 
  Use Disorder Counselor           May 31       odd years 
Licensed Practical Nurse           January 31   even years 
Licensed Substance                 May 31       odd years 
  Use Disorder Counselor 
Marriage and Family Therapist      September 30 even years 
Massage Apprentice                 May 31       odd years 
Massage Therapist                  May 31       odd years 
Master Esthetician                 September 30 odd years 
Master Esthetician Apprentice      September 30 odd years 
Medication Aide Certified          March 31     odd years 
Music Therapist                    March 31     odd years 
Nail Technologist                  September 30 odd years 
Nail Technologist Apprentice       September 30 odd years 
Nail Technology School             September 30 odd years 
Naturopath/Naturopathic            May 31       even years 
  Physician 
Occupational Therapist             May 31       odd years 
Occupational Therapy Assistant     May 31       odd years 
Optometrist                        September 30 even years 
Osteopathic Physician and          May 31       even years 
  Surgeon, Online Prescriber, 
  Restricted Associate Osteopathic 
  Physician 
Outfitter[/] and Hunting Guide     May 31       even years 
Pharmacy Class A-B-C-D-E,          September 30 odd years 
  Online Contract Pharmacy 
Pharmacist                         September 30 odd years 
Pharmacy Technician                September 30 odd years 
Physical Therapist                 May 31       odd years 
Physical Therapist Assistant       May 31       odd years 
Physician Assistant                May 31       even years 
Physician and Surgeon,             January 31   even years 
  Online Prescriber, Restricted 
  Associate Physician 
Plumber 
  Apprentice, Journeyman, 
  Master, Residential Master, 
  Residential Journeyman           November 30  even years 
Podiatric Physician                September 30 even years 
Pre Need Funeral Arrangement 
  Sales Agent                      May 31       even years 
Private Probation Provider         May 31       odd years 
Professional Engineer              March 31     odd years 
Professional Geologist             March 31     odd years 
Professional Land Surveyor         March 31     odd years 
Professional Structural            March 31     odd years 
  Engineer 
Psychologist                       September 30 even years 
Radiologic Technologist,           May 31       odd years 
  Radiology Practical Technician 
  Radiologist Assistant 
Recreational Therapy 
  Therapeutic Recreation Technician, 
  Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, 
  Master Therapeutic 
  Recreation Specialist            May 31       odd years 
Registered Nurse                   January 31   odd years 
Respiratory Care Practitioner      September 30 even years 
Security Personnel                 November 30  even years 
Social Service Worker              September 30 even years 
Speech-Language Pathologist        May 31       odd years 
State Certified Commercial 
  Interior Designer                March 31     odd years 
State Certified Court Reporter     May 31       even years 
State Certified Veterinary 
    Technician                     September 30 even years 
Veterinarian                       September 30 even years 
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor  March 31   odd years 
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 (2)  The following non-standard renewal terms and renewal 
or extension cycles are established by license classification in 
accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1) and in accordance with 
specific requirements of the license: 
 (a)  Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor licenses 
shall be issued for a three year term and may be extended if the 
licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division [and]in 
collaboration with the [B]board that the licensee is making 
reasonable progress [is being made ]toward passing the qualifying 
examinations or is otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead 
to licensure. 
 (b)  Associate Marriage and Family Therapist licenses shall 
be issued for a three year term and may be extended if the licensee 
presents satisfactory evidence to the Division [and]in collaboration 
with the board that the licensee is making reasonable progress [is 
being made ]toward passing the qualifying examinations or is 
otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead to licensure; but 
the period of the extension may not exceed two years past the date 
the minimum supervised experience requirement has been 
completed. 
 (c)  Certified Advanced Substance Use Disorder Counselor 
licenses shall be issued for a period of four years and may be 
extended if the licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division 
[and]in collaboration with the [B]board that reasonable progress is 
being made toward completing the required hours of supervised 
experience necessary for the next level of licensure. 
 (d)  Certified Advanced Substance Use Disorder Counselor 
Intern licenses shall be issued for a period of six months or until the 
examination is passed whichever occurs first. 
 (e)(i)  Certified Medical Language Interpreter Tier 1 and 2 
licenses shall be issued for a period of three years, and may be 
renewed. 
 (ii)  The initial renewal date of March 31, 2017, is 
established for these license classifications, subject to [the provisions 
of ]Subsection R156-1-308c([7]5) to establish the length of the initial 
license period. 
 (f)  Certified Substance Use Disorder Counselor licenses 
shall be issued for a period of two years and may be extended if the 
licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division [and]in 
collaboration with the [B]board that the licensee is making 
reasonable progress [is being made ]toward completing the required 
hours of supervised experience necessary for the next level of 
licensure. 
 (g)  Certified Social Worker Intern licenses shall be issued 
for a period of six months or until the examination is passed 
whichever occurs first. 
 (h)  Certified Substance Use Disorder Counselor Intern 
licenses shall be issued for a period of six months or until the 
examination is passed, whichever occurs first. 
 (i)(A)  Pursuant to Subsections 58-9-303(1) and (2),  
Funeral Service Intern licenses shall be issued for a two year term, 
and may be [extended]issued for [an]one additional two year term if 
the licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division [and]in 
collaboration with the board that the licensee is making reasonable 
progress [is being made ]toward passing the qualifying examinations 
or is otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead to licensure. 
 (B)  If before the expiration of the additional two-year term 
the licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division and the 
board that the licensee is still making reasonable progress towards 
licensure but a circumstance of hardship arose beyond the licensee's 
control to prevent the completion of the licensure process, the 
Division may extend that term for a period not to exceed two years. 

 (j)  Hearing Instrument Intern licenses shall be issued for a 
three year term and may be extended if the licensee presents 
satisfactory evidence to the Division [and]in collaboration with the 
[B]board that the licensee is making reasonable progress [is being 
made ]toward passing the qualifying examination, but a circumstance 
arose beyond the licensee's control [of the ]licensee, to prevent the 
completion of the examination[ process]. 
 (k)  Pharmacy technician trainee licenses shall be issued for 
a period of two years, and may be extended if the licensee presents 
satisfactory evidence to the Division [and]in collaboration with the 
[B]board that the licensee is making reasonable progress [is being 
made ]toward completing the requirements necessary for the next 
level of licensure. 
 (l)  Psychology Resident licenses shall be issued for a two 
year term and may be extended if the licensee presents satisfactory 
evidence to the Division [and]in collaboration with the board that the 
licensee is making reasonable progress [is being made ]toward 
passing the qualifying examinations or is otherwise on a course 
reasonably expected to lead to licensure[;], but the period of the 
extension may not exceed two years past the date the minimum 
supervised experience requirement has been completed. 
 (m)  Type I Foreign Trained Physician-Educator licenses 
[will]shall be issued initially for a one-year term and thereafter may 
be renewed on two year cycles[every two years following issuance]. 
 (n)  Type II Foreign Trained Physician-Educator licenses 
[will]shall be issued initially for [an annual basis]a one-year term and 
[thereafter]may be renewed annually up to four times [following 
issuance ]if the licensee continues to satisfy the requirements 
[described ]in Subsection 58-67-302.7(3) and completes the 
[required ]continuing education requirements [established under]in 
Section 58-67-303. 
 
R156-1-308b.  Renewal Periods - Adjustment of Renewal Fees for 
an Extended or Shortened Renewal Period. 
 (1)  Except as otherwise provided by statute or as required 
to establish or reestablish a renewal period, each renewal period shall 
be for a period of two years. 
 (2)  The renewal fee for a renewal period [which]that is 
extended or shortened by more than one month to establish or 
reestablish a renewal period [shall]may be increased or decreased 
proportionately. 
 
R156-1-308c.  Renewal of Licensure Procedures. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(3), the[The] 
procedures for renewal of licensure shall be as follows: 
 (1)  The Division shall send a renewal notice to each 
licensee at least 60 days prior to the expiration date shown on the 
licensee's license.[  The notice shall include directions for the licensee 
to renew the license via the Division's website.] 
 (2)  [Except as provided in Subsection(4), ]The Division 
shall send a renewal notice[s shall be sent by]: 
 (a)  by mail deposited in the post office with postage 
prepaid, addressed to the [last mailing address shown on the 
Division's automated license system]most recent mailing address 
provided to the Division by the licensee; or 
 (b)  by email sent to the most recent email address provided 
to the Division by the licensee. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-301.7([1]2), [each 
licensee is required to maintain a current mailing address with the 
Division.  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-301.7(2), mailing to 
the last]a notification sent to the most recent mailing address or email 
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address provided to the Division by the licensee [mailing address 
furnished to the Division ]constitutes legal notice. 
 (4)  [If a licensee has authorized the Division to send a 
renewal notice by email, a renewal notice may be sent by email to the 
last email address shown on the Division's automated license system.  
If selected as the exclusive method of receipt of renewal notices, such 
mailing shall constitute legal notice.  It shall be the duty and 
responsibility of each licensee who authorizes the Division to send a 
renewal notice by email to maintain a current email address with the 
Division. 
 (5)  Renewal notices]Each renewal notice shall: 
 (a)  include directions for the licensee to renew the license 
via the Division's website; 
 (b)  [provide]notify the licensee that the renewal 
requirements are outlined in the online renewal process, and that each 
licensee is required to document or certify that the licensee meets the 
renewal requirements prior to renewal; and 
 (c)  notify the[. 
 (6)  Renewal notices shall advise each] licensee that a 
license that is not renewed prior to the expiration date shown on the 
license automatically expires, and that any continued practice 
without a license constitutes a criminal offense under Subsection 58-
1-501(1)(a). 
 ([7]5)  A licensee[Licensees] licensed during the last 12 
months of a renewal cycle shall be licensed for a full renewal cycle 
plus the period of time remaining until the impending renewal date, 
rather than being required to immediately renew the[ir] license. 
 
R156-1-308d.  Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements - 
Credit for Volunteer Service. 
 (1)(a)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(g), a 
licensee may request a waiver of a[ny] continuing education 
requirement [established ]under this title, or an extension of time to 
complete [any ]requirement, [on the basis that]if the licensee was 
unable to complete the requirement due to a medical or related 
condition, humanitarian or ecclesiastical services, extended presence 
in a geographical area where continuing education is not available, 
[etc]or other reasonable cause. 
 (b)  A [request must be submitted]licensee shall submit the 
request no later than the deadline for completing [any]the continuing 
education requirement. 
 (c)  A licensee submitting a request has the burden of proof 
and [must]shall document the reason for the request to the 
satisfaction of the Division. 
 (d)  A request shall include the beginning and ending dates 
during which the licensee was unable to complete the continuing 
education requirement and a detailed explanation of the reason that 
includes:[ why.  The explanation shall include ] 
 (i)  the extent and duration of the impediment[,]; 
 (ii)  the extent to which the licensee continued to be 
engaged in practice of [his]the licensee's profession[,]; 
 (iii)  the nature of the medical condition[,]; 
 (iv)  the location and nature of the humanitarian services[,]; 
 (v)  the geographical area where continuing education 
[is]was not available[, etc.]; and 
 (vi)  other relevant information. 
 (e)  The Division may require that a specified number of 
continuing education hours, courses, or both, be obtained prior to 
reentering the practice of the profession or within a specified period 
of time after reentering the practice of the profession, as 
recommended by the appropriate board, [in order ]to assure 
competent practice. 

 (f)(i)  A licensee who receives [  While a licensee may 
receive ]a waiver from meeting the minimum continuing education 
requirements[, the licensee] shall not be exempted from [the 
requirements of ]Subsection 58-1-501(2)(i), which requires that the 
licensee provide services within the competency, abilities, and 
education of the licensee. 
 (ii)  If a licensee cannot competently provide services, the 
waiver of meeting the continuing education requirements may be 
conditioned upon the licensee limiting practice to areas in which the 
licensee has the required competency, abilities, and education. 
 (2)(a)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(1)(g) and 
58-55-302.5(2)(e)(i), the Division may grant continuing education 
credit to a licensee for volunteering as a subject-matter expert in the 
review and development of licensing exams for the licensee's 
profession. 
 (b)  Subject to specific limitations established by rule by 
the Division[,] in collaboration with a licensing board[,] or the 
Construction Services Commission, this volunteer continuing 
education credit shall: 
 (i)  apply to the license period or periods during which the 
volunteer service was provided; 
 (ii)  be granted on a 1:1 ratio, meaning that for each hour of 
attendance, the licensee may receive one hour of credit; 
 (iii)  be [deemed ]"core,"[,] "classroom,"[,] or "live" credit, 
regardless of whether the licensee attended meetings in person or 
electronically; and 
 (iv)  at the licensee's discretion, the whole[all] or part of the 
credit hours may be counted towards [any ]law or ethics continuing 
education requirements. 
 (c)  The licensee shall [be responsible for 
maintaining]maintain information with respect to the licensee's 
volunteer services to demonstrate the services meet the requirements 
of this subsection. 
 (3)  In accordance with Section 58-13-3, a health care 
professional licensee may fulfill up to 15% of the licensee's 
continuing education requirements by providing volunteer services at 
a qualified location, within the scope of the licensee's license, earning 
one hour of continuing education credit for [every]each four 
documented hour[s] accrual of volunteer services. 
 
R156-1-308e.  Automatic Expiration of Licensure Upon 
Dissolution of Licensee. 
[ (1)  A license that automatically expires prior to the 
expiration date shown on the license due to the dissolution of the 
licensee's registration with the Division of Corporations, with the 
registration thereafter being retroactively reinstated pursuant to 
Section 16-10a-1422, shall:] 
 Under Subsection 58-1-308(2), if a dissolved entity's 
existence has been reinstated prior to the expiration date shown upon 
the entity's expired license, and the entity meets the qualifications for 
licensure: 
 (1)  if the entity submits its application for reinstatement[
 (a)  upon written application for reinstatement of licensure 
submitted] prior to the expiration date shown on the license, the 
license shall be retroactively reinstated to the date of expiration of 
licensure; and 
 ([b]2)  if the entity submits its application for 
reinstatement[upon written application for reinstatement submitted] 
after the expiration date shown on the [current ]license, the license 
shall be reinstated on the effective date of the approval of the 
application for reinstatement[, rather than relating back retroactively 
to the date of expiration of licensure]. 
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R156-1-308f.  Denial of Renewal of Licensure - Classification of 
Proceedings - Conditional Renewal of Licensure During 
Adjudicative Proceedings - Conditional Initial, Renewal, or 
Reinstatement Licensure During Audit or Investigation. 
 (1)  [When]If an initial, renewal, or reinstatement applicant 
under S[ubs]ections 58-1-301[(2) through (3)] or 58-1-308[(5) or 
(6)(b)] is selected for audit, [is ]under investigation, or [is ]pending 
inspection, the Division may conditionally issue [an]the initial 
license [to an applicant for initial licensure, ]or conditionally renew 
or reinstate the license [of an applicant ]pending the completion of 
the audit, investigation or inspection. 
 (2)  The undetermined completion of a referenced audit, 
investigation or inspection, rather than the established expiration 
date, shall be indicated as the expiration date of a conditionally 
issued, renewed, or reinstated license. 
 (3)  A conditional issuance, renewal, or reinstatement 
[shall]is not [constitute ]an adverse licensure action. 
 (4)  Upon completion of the audit, investigation, or 
inspection, the Division shall notify the [initial license, renewal, or 
reinstatement ]applicant [whether]if the applicant's license is 
unconditionally issued, renewed, reinstated, denied, or partially 
denied or reinstated. 
 (5)  A notice of unconditional denial or partial denial of 
licensure [to an applicant the Division conditionally licensed, 
renewed, or reinstated ]shall include[ the following]: 
 (a)  [that the applicant's unconditional initial issuance, 
renewal, or reinstatement of licensure is denied or partially denied 
and ]the basis for [such ]action; 
 (b)  the Division's file or other reference number of the 
audit or investigation; and 
 (c)  notice that the action[denial or partial denial of 
unconditional initial licensure, renewal, or reinstatement of 
licensure] is subject to agency review, and [a description of ]how and 
when the applicant may request agency review[such review may be 
requested]. 
 
R156-1-308g.  Reinstatement of Licensure [which]that was Active 
and in Good Standing at the Time of Expiration of Licensure - 
Requirements. 
 The following requirements shall apply to reinstatement of 
licensure [which]that was active and in good standing at the time of 
expiration of licensure: 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-308(5), if 
the filing date of an application for reinstatement is [received by the 
Division ]between the date of the expiration of the license and 30 
days after the date of the expiration of the license, the applicant shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed renewal form [as ]furnished by the 
Division demonstrating compliance with requirements and[/or] 
conditions of license renewal; and 
 (b)  pay the [established ]license renewal fee and a late fee. 
 (2)  [In accordance with ]Under Subsection 58-1-308(5), if 
the filing date of an application for reinstatement is [received by the 
Division ]between 31 days after the expiration of the license and two 
years after the date of the expiration of the license, the applicant shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed renewal form [as ]furnished by the 
Division demonstrating compliance with requirements and[/or] 
conditions of license renewal; and 
 (b)  pay the [established ]license renewal fee and 
reinstatement fee. 

 (3)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-
308(6)[(a)], if the filing date of an application for reinstatement is 
[received by the Division ]more than two years after the date the 
license expired:[ and the applicant has not been active in the licensed 
occupation or profession while in the full-time employ of the United 
States government or under license to practice that occupation or 
profession in any other state or territory of the United States during 
the time the license was expired, the ] 
 (a)  if the applicant has not been active in the licensed 
occupation or profession as described in Subsection 58-1-
308(6)(b)308k, the applicant shall: 
 ([a]i)  submit an application for licensure complete with [all 
]supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets [all 
]current qualifications for licensure; and 
 ([b]ii)  [provide information requested by the Division and 
board to clearly demonstrate the applicant is currently competent to 
engage in the occupation or profession for which reinstatement of 
licensure is requested; and 
 (c)  ]pay the [established ]license fee for a new applicant 
for licensure[.]; or 
 (b)  if the [ 
 (4)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(6)(b), if an 
application for reinstatement is received by the Division more than 
two years after the date the license expired but the ]applicant has been 
active in the licensed occupation or profession as described in 
Subsection 58-1-308(6)(b), the applicant shall:[while in the full-time 
employ of the United States government or under license to practice 
that occupation or profession in any other state or territory of the 
United States shall:] 
 ([a]i)  provide documentation that the applicant has 
continuously, since the expiration of the applicant's license in Utah, 
been active in the licensed occupation or profession while in the full-
time employ of the United States government or under license to 
practice that occupation or profession in any other state or territory 
of the United States; 
 ([b]ii)  provide documentation that the applicant has 
completed or is in compliance with any renewal qualifications; 
 ([c]iii)  provide documentation that the applicant's 
application was submitted within six months after reestablishing 
domicile within Utah or terminating full-time government service; 
and 
 ([d]iv)  pay the [established ]license renewal fee and the 
reinstatement fee. 
 
R156-1-308h.  Reinstatement of Restricted, Suspended, or 
Probationary Licensure During Term of Restriction, Suspension, 
or Probation - Requirements. 
 (1)  Reinstatement of restricted, suspended, or probationary 
licensure during the term of limitation, suspension, or probation shall 
be in accordance with the disciplinary order [which]that imposed the 
discipline. 
 (2)  Unless otherwise specified in a disciplinary order 
imposing restriction, suspension, or probation of licensure, the 
disciplined licensee may, at reasonable intervals during the term of 
the disciplinary order, petition for reinstatement of licensure. 
 (3)  A petition [Petitions ]for reinstatement of licensure 
during the term of a disciplinary order imposing restriction, 
suspension, or probation, shall be treated as a request to modify the 
terms of the disciplinary order, not as an application for licensure. 
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R156-1-308i.  Reinstatement of Restricted, Suspended, or 
Probationary Licensure After the Specified Term of Suspension 
of the License or After the Expiration of Licensure in a 
Restricted, Suspended or Probationary Status - Requirements. 
 Unless otherwise provided by a disciplinary order, an 
applicant who applies for reinstatement of a license after the specified 
term of suspension of the license or after the expiration of the license 
in a restricted, suspended or probationary status shall: 
 (1)  submit an application for licensure complete with [all 
]supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets [all 
]current qualifications for licensure and compliance with 
requirements and conditions of license reinstatement; 
 (2)  pay the [established ]license renewal fee and the 
reinstatement fee; 
 (3)  provide information requested by the Division and 
board to clearly demonstrate the applicant is currently competent to 
be reinstated to engage in the occupation or profession[ for which the 
applicant was suspended, restricted, or placed on probation]; and 
 (4)  pay any fines or citations owed to the Division[ prior 
to the expiration of license]. 
 
R156-1-308j.  Relicensure Following Revocation of Licensure - 
Requirements. 
 An applicant for relicensure following revocation of 
licensure shall: 
 (1)  submit an application for licensure complete with [all 
]supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets [all 
]current qualifications for licensure and compliance with 
requirements and[/or] conditions of license reinstatement; 
 (2)  pay the [established ]license fee for a new applicant for 
licensure; and 
 (3)  provide information requested by the Division and 
board to clearly demonstrate the applicant is currently competent to 
be relicensed to engage in the occupation or profession[ for which the 
applicant was revoked]. 
 
R156-1-308k.  Relicensure Following Surrender of Licensure - 
Requirements. 
 The following requirements shall apply to relicensure 
applications following the surrender of licensure: 
 (1)  An applicant who surrendered a license that was active 
and in good standing at the time it was surrendered shall meet the 
requirements for licensure [listed ]in Sections R156-1-308a through 
R156-1-308l. 
 (2)  An applicant who surrendered a license while the 
license was active but not in good standing as evidenced by the 
written agreement supporting the surrender of license shall: 
 (a)  submit an application for licensure complete with [all 
]supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets all 
current qualifications for licensure and compliance with 
requirements and[/or] conditions of license reinstatement; 
 (b)  pay the [established ]license fee for a new applicant for 
licensure; 
 (c)  provide information requested by the Division and 
board to clearly demonstrate the applicant is currently competent to 
be relicensed to engage in the occupation or profession[ for which the 
applicant was surrendered]; and 
 (d)  pay any fines or citations owed to the Division[ prior 
to the surrender of license]. 

R156-1-310.  Application for Division Determination Regarding 
Criminal Conviction. 
 The application procedures for a Division determination 
pursuant to Section 58-1-310 are clarified and established as follows: 
 (1)  An individual applying for a determination shall submit 
the Application for Criminal History Determination form made 
available on the Division's website, containing a signed attestation 
and release. 
 (2)  An individual shall submit a separate application for 
criminal history determination with processing fee for each 
[occupational or professional ]license that the individual is interested 
in seeking. 
 (3)  Pursuant to Subsection 58-1-310(2), the individual's 
complete criminal conviction history shall include: 
 (a)  criminal convictions, pleas of nolo contendere, and 
pleas of guilty or nolo contendere [which]that are held in abeyance 
pending the successful completion of probation; and 
 (b)  current restrictions from possession, purchase, transfer, 
or ownership of a firearm or ammunition. 
 (4)  Pursuant to Subsection 58-1-310(2)(e), the individual 
shall provide any additional documentation that may be required by 
the Division to verify or evaluate the individual's representations 
made in their application. 
 (5)  A determination shall be based solely on the 
information contained in the individual's application and supporting 
documents. 
 (6)  [An individual whose application has been denied as 
incomplete, or who has received an unfavorable determination that 
their criminal record would disqualify them from obtaining the 
license, may submit a request for agency review to the executive 
director within 30 days of the date of issuance of the denial or of the 
unfavorable determination.]Agency review is not available for a 
Division order or determination for an application filed under Section 
58-1-310. 
 
[R156-1-404a.  Diversion Advisory Committees Created. 
 (1)  There are created diversion advisory committees of at 
least three members for the professions regulated under Title 58.  The 
diversion committees are not required to be impaneled by the director 
until the need for the diversion committee arises.  Diversion 
committees may be appointed with representatives from like 
professions providing a multi-disciplinary committee. 
 (2)  Committee members are appointed by and serve at the 
pleasure of the director. 
 (3)  A majority of the diversion committee members shall 
constitute a quorum and may act on behalf of the diversion 
committee. 
 (4)  Diversion committee members shall perform their 
duties and responsibilities as public service and shall not receive a 
per diem allowance, or traveling or accommodations expenses 
incurred in diversion committees business. 
 
R156-1-404b.  Diversion Committees Duties. 
 The duties of diversion committees shall include: 
 (1)  reviewing the details of the information regarding 
licensees referred to the diversion committee for possible diversion, 
interviewing the licensees, and recommending to the director 
whether the licensees meet the qualifications for diversion and if so 
whether the licensees should be considered for diversion; 
 (2)  recommending to the director terms and conditions to 
be included in diversion agreements; 
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 (3)  supervising compliance with all terms and conditions 
of diversion agreements; 
 (4)  advising the director at the conclusion of a licensee's 
diversion program whether the licensee has completed the terms of 
the licensee's diversion agreement; and 
 (5)  establishing and maintaining continuing quality review 
of the programs of professional associations and/or private 
organizations to which licensees approved for diversion may enroll 
for the purpose of education, rehabilitation or any other purpose 
agreed to in the terms of a diversion agreement. 
 
R156-1-404c.  Diversion - Eligible Offenses. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-1-404(4), the 
unprofessional conduct which may be subject to diversion is set forth 
in Subsections 58-1-501(2)(e) and (f). 
 
R156-1-404d.  Diversion - Procedures. 
 (1)  No later than 60 days following the referral of a 
licensee to the diversion committee for possible diversion, diversion 
committees shall complete the duties described in Subsection R156-
1-404b(1) and (2). 
 (2)  Following the completion of diversion committee 
duties, the Division shall prepare and serve upon the licensee a 
proposed diversion agreement.  The licensee shall have a period of 
time determined by the Division not to exceed 30 days from the 
service of the proposed diversion agreement, to negotiate a final 
diversion agreement with the director.  The final diversion agreement 
shall comply with Subsection 58-1-404. 
 (3)  If a final diversion agreement is not reached with the 
director within 30 days from service of the proposed diversion 
agreement, or if the director finds that the licensee does not meet the 
qualifications for diversion, the Division shall pursue appropriate 
disciplinary action against the licensee in accordance with Section 
58-1-108. 
 (4)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-404(5), a licensee 
may be represented, at the licensee's discretion and expense, by legal 
counsel during negotiations for diversion, at the time of execution of 
the diversion agreement, and at any hearing before the director 
relating to a diversion program. 
 
R156-1-404e.  Diversion - Agreements for Rehabilitation, 
Education or Other Similar Services or Coordination of Services. 
 (1)  The Division may enter into agreements with 
professional or occupational organizations or associations, education 
institutions or organizations, testing agencies, health care facilities, 
health care practitioners, government agencies or other persons or 
organizations for the purpose of providing rehabilitation, education 
or any other services necessary to facilitate an effective completion 
of a diversion program for a licensee. 
 (2)  The Division may enter into agreements with impaired 
person programs to coordinate efforts in rehabilitating and educating 
impaired professionals. 
 (3)  Agreements shall be in writing and shall set forth terms 
and conditions necessary to permit each party to properly fulfill its 
duties and obligations thereunder.  Agreements shall address the 
circumstances and conditions under which information concerning 
the impaired licensee will be shared with the Division. 
 (4)  The cost of administering agreements and providing 
the services thereunder shall be borne by the licensee benefiting from 
the services.  Fees paid by the licensee shall be reasonable and shall 
be in proportion to the value of the service provided.  Payments of 
fees shall be a condition of completing the program of diversion. 

 (5)  In selecting parties with whom the Division shall enter 
agreements under this section, the Division shall ensure the parties 
are competent to provide the required services.  The Division may 
limit the number of parties providing a particular service within the 
limits or demands for the service to permit the responsible diversion 
committee to conduct quality review of the programs given the 
committee's limited resources.] 
 
R156-1-501.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  surrendering licensure to any other licensing or 
regulatory authority having jurisdiction over the licensee or applicant 
in the same occupation or profession while an investigation or inquiry 
into allegations of unprofessional or unlawful conduct is in progress, 
or after a charging document has been filed against the applicant or 
licensee alleging unprofessional or unlawful conduct; 
 (2)  practicing a regulated occupation or profession in, 
through, or with a limited liability company [which]that has omitted 
the words "limited company," "limited liability company," or the 
abbreviation "L.C." or "L.L.C." in the commercial use of the name of 
the limited liability company; 
 (3)  practicing a regulated occupation or profession in, 
through, or with a limited partnership [which]that has omitted the 
words "limited partnership," "limited," or the abbreviation "L.P." or 
"Ltd." in the commercial use of the name of the limited partnership; 
 (4)  practicing a regulated occupation or profession in, 
through, or with a professional corporation [which]that has omitted 
the words "professional corporation" or the abbreviation "P.C." in the 
commercial use of the name of the professional corporation; 
 (5)  using a DBA (doing business as name) [which]that has 
not been properly registered with the Division of Corporations and 
with the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing; 
 (6)  failing, as a prescribing practitioner, to follow the 
["Model Policy for the Use of Controlled Substances for the 
Treatment of Pain", 2004, established by the Federation of State 
Medical Boards, which is hereby adopted and incorporated by 
reference; 
 (7)  failing, as a prescribing practitioner, to follow the 
"Model Policy on the Use of Opioid Analgesics in the Treatment of 
Chronic Pain", July 2013,]"Guidelines for the Chronic Use of Opioid 
Analgesics", adopted as policy April 2017 by the Federation of State 
Medical Boards, which is incorporated by reference; 
 ([8]7)  violating a[ny] term, condition, or requirement 
[contained ]in a "diversion agreement"[,] as defined in Subsection 
[58-1-404(6)(a)]58-4a-102(1), or "program contract" as defined in 
Subsection 58-4a-102(4); or 
 ([9]8)  failing, as a health care provider, to follow the health 
care claims practices of S[ubs]ection 31A-26-[301.5(4)]313, in 
violation of Subsection 58-1-508(2). 
 
R156-1-501.1.  Cheating on Examinations. 
 (1)  Policy. 
 The passing of an examination, when required as a 
condition of obtaining or maintaining a license issued by the 
Division, is considered to be a critical indicator that an applicant or 
licensee meets the minimum qualifications for licensure.  Failure to 
pass an examination is [considered to be ]evidence that an applicant 
or licensee does not meet the minimum qualifications for licensure.  
Accordingly, the accuracy of the examination result as a measure of 
an applicant's or licensee's competency must be assured.  Cheating 
by an applicant or licensee on any examination required as a 
condition of obtaining a license or maintaining a license shall be 
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considered unprofessional conduct and shall result in imposition of 
an appropriate penalty against the applicant or licensee. 
 (2)  Cheating Defined. 
 Cheating is defined as the use of any means or 
instrumentality by or for the benefit of an examinee to alter the results 
of an examination in any way to cause the examination results to 
inaccurately represent the competency of an examinee with respect 
to the knowledge or skills about which they are examined.  Cheating 
includes: 
 (a)  communication between examinees inside of the 
examination room or facility during the course of the examination; 
 (b)  communication about the examination with anyone 
outside of the examination room or facility during the course of the 
examination; 
 (c)  copying another examinee's answers or looking at 
another examinee's answers while an examination is in progress; 
 (d)  permitting anyone to copy answers to the examination; 
 (e)  substitution by an applicant or licensee or by others for 
the benefit of an applicant or licensee of another person as the 
examinee in place of the applicant or licensee; 
 (f)  use by an applicant or licensee of any written material, 
audio material, video material or any other mechanism not 
specifically authorized during the examination [for the purpose of 
assisting ]to assist an examinee in the examination; 
 (g)  obtaining, using, buying, selling, possession of or 
having access to a copy of any portion of the examination prior to 
administration of the examination. 
 (3)  Action Upon Detection of Cheating. 
 (a)  The person responsible for administration of an 
examination, upon evidence that an examinee is or has been cheating 
on an examination shall notify the Division of the circumstances in 
detail and the identity of the examinees involved with an assessment 
of the degree of involvement of each examinee.[;] 
 (b)  If cheating is detected prior to commencement of the 
examination, the examinee may be denied the privilege of taking the 
examination; or if permitted to take the examination, the examinee 
shall be notified of the evidence of cheating and shall be informed 
that the Division may consider the examination to have been failed 
by the applicant or licensee because of the cheating.[; or] 
 (c)  If cheating is detected during the examination, the 
examinee may be requested to leave the examination facility and in 
that case the examination results shall be the same as failure of the 
examination; however, if the person responsible for administration of 
the examination determines the cheating detected has not yet 
compromised the integrity of the examination, such steps as are 
necessary to prevent further cheating shall be taken and the examinee 
may be permitted to continue with the examination. 
 (d)  If cheating is detected after the examination, the 
Division shall make appropriate inquiry to determine the facts 
concerning the cheating and shall thereafter take appropriate action. 
 (e)  Upon determination that an applicant has cheated on an 
examination, the applicant may be denied the privilege of retaking 
the examination for a reasonable period of time, and the Division may 
deny the applicant a license and may establish conditions the 
applicant [must]shall meet to qualify for a license including the 
earliest date [on which]when the Division will again consider the 
applicant for licensure. 
 
R156-1-502.  Administrative Penalties. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-401(5) and Section 
58-1-502, except as otherwise provided by a specific chapter under 

this Title R156, the following fine schedule shall apply to citations 
issued under the referenced authority: 
 

TABLE 
 

FINE SCHEDULE 
 
FIRST OFFENSE 
 
Violation                Fine 
58-1-501(1)(a)           $ 500.00 
58-1-501(1)(c)           $ 800.00 
58-1-501(1)(g)           $ 500.00 
58-1-501(2)(o)           $ 0 - $250.00 
58-1-508(2)              $ 250.00 
 
SECOND OFFENSE 
 
58-1-501(1)(a)           $1,000.00 
58-1-501(1)(c)           $1,600.00 
58-1-501(1)(g)           $1,000.00 
58-1-501(2)(o)           $251.00 - $500.00 
58-1-508(2)              $  500.00 
 
THIRD OFFENSE 
 
Double the amount for a second offense, with a maximum amount not to 
exceed the maximum fine [allowed ]under Subsection 58-1-502(2)(j)(iii). 
 

 [(2)  ]Citations [shall]may not be issued for third offenses, 
except in extraordinary circumstances approved by the 
[investigative]investigation supervisor or chief investigator. 
 ([3]2)  Multiple offenses may be cited on the same citation, 
if the citation clearly indicates each offense and the fine allocated to 
each offense.[If multiple offenses are cited on the same citation, the 
fine shall be determined by evaluating the most serious offense.] 
 ([4]3)  An [investigative]investigation supervisor or chief 
investigator may authorize a deviation from the fine [schedule]in a 
citation based upon the aggravating or mitigating circumstances. 
 ([5]4)  The presiding officer for a contested citation shall 
have the discretion, after a review of the aggravating and mitigating 
circumstances, to increase or decrease the fine amount imposed by 
an investigator based upon the evidence reviewed. 
 
R156-1-503.  Reporting Disciplinary Action. 
 The Division may report disciplinary action to other state 
or federal governmental entities, state and federal data banks, the 
media, or [any ]other person who is entitled to such information 
under the Government Records Access and Management Act. 
 
R156-1-506.  Supervision of Cosmetic Medical Procedures. 
 The 80 hours of documented education and experience 
required under Subsection 58-1-506(2)(f)(iii) to maintain 
competence to perform nonablative cosmetic medical procedures [is 
defined to ]includes the following: 
 (1)  the appropriate standards of care for performing 
nonablative cosmetic medical procedures; 
 (2)  physiology of the skin; 
 (3)  skin typing and analysis; 
 (4)  skin conditions, disorders, and diseases; 
 (5)  pre and post procedure care; 
 (6)  infection control; 
 (7)  laser and light physics training; 
 (8)  laser technologies and applications; 
 (9)  safety and maintenance of lasers; 
 (10)  cosmetic medical procedures an individual is 
permitted to perform under this title; 
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 (11)  recognition and appropriate management of 
complications from a procedure; and 
 (12)  current cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
certification for health care providers from one of the following 
organizations: 
 (a)  American Heart Association; 
 (b)  American Red Cross or its affiliates; or 
 (c)  American Safety and Health Institute. 
 
R156-1-602.  Telehealth - Definitions. 
 In accordance with Section 26-60-103 and Subsection 26-
60-104(1), in addition to the definitions in [Title 58 and Rule R156, 
as used in this section]Title 26, Chapter 60, Telehealth Act, as used 
in Title 58 or this Title R156 the following rule definitions 
supplement the statutory definitions: 
 (1)  ["Asynchronous store and forward transfer" means the 
same as defined in Subsection 26-60-102(1). 
 (2)  "Standards of Practice" means those standards of 
practice applicable in a traditional health care setting, as provided in 
Subsection 26-60-103(1)(a)(ii). 
 (3)  "Distant site" means the same as defined in Subsection 
26-60-102(2). 
 (4)  ]"Originating site" means the same as defined in 
Subsection 26-60-102(3). 
 ([5]2)  "Patient" means the same as defined in Subsection 
26-60-102(4). 
 ([6]3)  "Patient Encounter" means any encounter where 
medical treatment and[/or] evaluation and management services are 
provided.  [For purposes of this rule, the]The entire course of an 
inpatient stay in a healthcare facility or treatment in an emergency 
department is [considered ]a single patient encounter. 
 ([7]4)  "Provider" means the same as defined in Subsection 
26-60-102([5]6)(b), an individual licensed under Title 58 to provide 
health care services, and: 
 (a)  shall include an individual exempt from licensure as 
defined in Section 58-1-307 who provides health care services within 
the individual's scope of practice under Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions; and 
 (b)  [for purposes of this section, "provider" ]may include 
multiple providers obtaining informed consent and providing care as 
a team, consistent with the standards of practice applicable to a 
broader practice model found in traditional health care settings.[ 
 (8)  "Synchronous interaction" means the same as defined 
in  Subsection 26-60-102(6).] 
 ([9]5)  "Telehealth services" means the same as defined in 
Subsection 26-60-102([7]8). 
 ([10]6)  "Telemedicine services" means the same as defined 
in Subsection 26-60-102([8]9). 
 
R156-1-603.  Telehealth - Scope of Telehealth Practice. 
 (1)(a)  [This rule is not intended to alter or amend the 
applicable standard of practice for any healthcare field or profession.  
The provider shall be held to the same standards of practice including 
maintaining patient confidentiality and recordkeeping that would 
apply to the provision of the same health care services in an in-person 
setting. 
 (2)  ]In accordance with [Section]Subsection 26-60-103(1)[ 
and Subsection 26-60-104(1)], a provider offering telehealth services 
shall, prior to each patient encounter: 
 ([a]i)  verify the patient's identity and originating site; 

 (ii)  allow the patient an opportunity to select their provider 
rather than being assigned a provider at random, to the extent 
possible; and 
 (iii)  ensure that the online site does not restrict the patient's 
choice to select a specific pharmacy for pharmacy services; and 
 (b)  prior to each initial patient encounter, and at least 
annual intervals, obtain informed consent to the use of telehealth 
services by clear disclosure of: 
 (i)  additional fees for telehealth services, if any, and how 
payment is to be made for those additional fees if they are charged 
separately[ from any fees for face-to-face services provided to the 
patient in combination with the telehealth services]; 
 (ii)  to whom patient health information may be disclosed 
and for what purpose, including clear reference to any patient consent 
governing release of patient-identifiable information to a third-party; 
 (iii)  the rights of the patient[s] with respect to patient health 
information; 
 (iv)  appropriate uses and limitations of the site, including 
emergency health situations; 
 (v)  information[: 
 (A) ] affirming that the telehealth services meet industry 
security and privacy standards[, and comply with all laws referenced] 
in Subsection 26-60-102([8]9)(b)(ii), and[; 
 (B) ] warning of potential risks to privacy regardless 
of[notwithstanding] the security measures; 
 ([C]vi)  a warning that information may be lost due to 
technical failures, and clearly referencing any patient consent to hold 
the provider harmless for such loss; and 
 ([D]vii)  information disclosing the website owner[/]-
operator, location, and contact information.[; and 
 (c)  allow the patient an opportunity to select their provider 
rather than being assigned a provider at random, to the extent 
possible; 
 (d)  ensure that the online site from which the provider 
offers telehealth services does not restrict a patient's choice to select 
a specific pharmacy for pharmacy services. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 26-60-103(1)(b), it is 
not an acceptable standard of care for a provider offering telehealth 
services to establish a diagnosis and identify underlying conditions 
and contraindications to a recommended treatment based solely on 
an online questionnaire, except as specifically provided in Title 58, 
Chapter 83, the Online Prescribing, Dispensing and Facilitation 
Licensing Act.] 
 ([4]2)  In accordance with Subsection 26-60-103(1)([c]d), 
a provider offering telehealth services shall be available to the patient 
for subsequent care related to the initial telemedicine services[, by] 
as follows: 
 (a)  providing the patient with a clear mechanism to: 
 (i)  access, supplement, and amend patient-provided 
personal health information; 
 (ii)  contact the provider for subsequent care; 
 (iii)  obtain upon request an electronic or hard copy of the 
patient's medical record documenting the telemedicine services, 
including the informed consent provided; and 
 (iv)  request a transfer to another provider of the patient's 
medical record documenting the telemedicine services; and 
 (b)  if the provider recommends that the patient [needs to 
]be seen in person, such as [where]if diagnosis requires a physical 
examination, lab work, or imaging studies: 
 (i)  arranging to see the patient in person, or directing the 
patient to the patient's regular provider, or if none, to an appropriate 
provider; and 
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 (ii)  documenting the recommendation in the patient's 
medical record; and 
 (c)  upon patient request, electronically transferring to 
another provider the patient's medical record documenting the 
telemedicine services, within a reasonable time frame allowing for 
timely care of the patient by that provider.[ 
 (5)  In accordance with Subsection 26-60-103(1)(d), a 
provider offering telehealth services shall be familiar with available 
medical resources, including emergency resources near the 
originating site. 
 (6)  In settings and circumstances where an established 
provider-patient relationship is not present, a provider offering 
telehealth services shall establish a provider-patient relationship 
during the patient encounter, in a manner consistent with standards 
of practice including providing the provider's licensure and 
credentials.] 
 ([7]3)  Nothing in this section shall prohibit electronic 
communications consistent with standards of practice applicable in 
traditional health care settings, including [those]the following: 
 (a)  between a provider and a patient with a preexisting 
provider-patient relationship; 
 (b)  between a provider and another provider concerning a 
patient with whom the other provider has a provider-patient 
relationship; 
 (c)  in on-call or cross coverage situations [in which]when 
the provider has access to patient records; 
 (d)  in broader practice models [where]when multiple 
providers provide care as a team, including, for example: 
 (i)  within an existing organization; or 
 (ii)  within an emergency department; or 
 (e)  in an emergency, which as used in this section means a 
situation [in which]when there is an occurrence posing an imminent 
threat of a life-threatening condition or severe bodily harm. 
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notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-46b.  Division Utah Administrative Procedures Act 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
(Division) is filing these proposed amendments to update 
this rule in accordance with statutory changes made by 
H.B. 285 passed in the 2020 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments make the following changes: 
 
1) update references to the Division's diversion program 
with references to the Division's new Utah Professionals 
Health Program (UPHP) enacted by H.B. 285 (2020); 
 
2) clearly designate as formal a Division adjudicative 
proceeding regarding a board of appeal under Subsection 
15A-1-207(3) (disputing the application and interpretation 
of a building code before the UBCC, after a city has been 
found to be negligent in its statutory responsibility to have 
an appeal process). 
 
3) designate as informal adjudicative proceedings those 
initiated by a notice of agency action regarding a hunting 
guide or outfitter registered under Title 58, Chapter 79, 
Hunting Guides and Outfitters Registration Act, for 
unprofessional conduct under Subsections R156-79-
502(12) (failing to comply with state or federal laws and 
rules regarding hunting guides and outfitters) or 
Subsection R156-79-502(14) (failing to adequately 
maintain general liability insurance as required by the US 
Forest Service or the Bureau of Land Management); and 
 
4) make stylistic changes throughout consistent with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Google Meets information for February 25, 2021 rule 
hearing before the Division. 
Join with Google Meet: meet.google.com/mms-abwd-mxu 
Join by phone: (US) +1 657-529-2812 (PIN: 172567001). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A) State budget: 
The proposed amendments to Subsection R156-46b-
202(2) are expected to result in a cost savings to the 
Division by simplifying the required adjudicative 
proceedings for the referenced unprofessional conduct.  
Based on two anticipated adjudicative proceedings per 
year that now may be conducted informally instead of 
formally under the Administrative Procedures Act, it is 
anticipated that the Division will save approximately 
$2,300 annually ongoing based on reduced labor costs 
and mailing savings.  The remaining proposed 
amendments are not expected to impact state government 
revenues or expenditures because they only update this 
rule to clarify Division procedures and to refer to the 
Division's new UPHP program enacted by H.B. 285 
(2020). 
 
B) Local governments: 

No impact is expected to local governments because 
these changes will not affect local government practices or 
procedures. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None of these proposed amendments are expected to 
impact small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because the changes merely update Division procedures 
and terminology and will not alter the price or quantity of 
any exchanges involving small businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None of these proposed amendments are expected to 
impact non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because the changes merely update Division procedures 
and terminology and will not alter the price or quantity of 
any exchanges involving non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Division estimates that approximately two registrants 
per year will fail to comply with Subsections R156-79-
502(12) or R156-79-502(14), but the typical registrant will 
not be impacted as it will not affect their actions in 
responding to the Division.  The referenced unprofessional 
conduct provisions are based on a registrant's duty to 
comply with other state or federal requirements for hunting 
guides and outfitters, and registrants in these cases either 
promptly come into compliance upon receiving notice of 
the failure or have ceased to practice.  The remaining 
proposed amendments are not expected to impact other 
persons because they only update this rule to refer to the 
new Utah Professionals Health Program (UPHP) in 
accordance with H.B. 285 (2020) and do not impose 

additional costs beyond what was anticipated during the 
legislative process. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

As described above, none of the proposed amendments 
are expected to impose compliance costs on affected 
persons. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$2,300 $2,300 $2,300 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$2,300 $2,300 $2,300 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$2,300 $2,300 $2,300 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Commerce, Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The Division proposes amendments to the Division's Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act rule.  The Division is filing 
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these proposed amendments to clarify and update this rule 
and to implement certain statutory changes made by H.B. 
285 (2020).  Further, the Division has made minor 
amendments to update references and clarify this rule. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
The proposed amendments are not expected to impact 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because the 
changes merely update the Division procedures and make 
formatting changes for clarity.  Further, no fiscal impact is 
expected for small business over and above any fiscal 
impact described in the legislative fiscal notes for H.B. 285 
(2020) Session as these costs are either inestimable or 
there is no fiscal impact. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or 
more employees): 
These amendments will have no expected fiscal impact for 
non-small businesses in Utah for the same rationale as 
described above for small businesses.  These costs are 
either inestimable, for the reasons stated above, or there 
is no fiscal impact. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Margaret W. Busse, Interim Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
63G-4-102(6) 

Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
02/25/2021 9:00 AM Rule hearing will be  

held electronically  
before the Division.   
See Google Meets  
information in Box #4 
above. 

 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 01/21/2021 

 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-46b.  Division Utah Administrative Procedures Act Rule. 
R156-46b-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority 
of Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act, and 
Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) and 58-1-108(1)[, and Subsection 58-1-
106(1)(a)]. 
 (2)  The purposes of this rule include: 
 (a)  [classifying]designating categories of Division 
adjudicative proceedings; 
 (b)  [clarifying the identity of]identifying presiding officers 
at Division adjudicative proceedings; and 
 (c)  defining procedures for Division adjudicative 
proceedings [which]that are consistent with [the requirements of 
]Title[s] 58, Occupations and Professions, [and ]Title 63G, General 
Government, and Rule R151-4, Department of Commerce 
Administrative Procedures Act Rule. 
 
R156-46b-201.  Formal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 (1)  The following adjudicative proceedings 
[initiated]commenced by a request for agency action are 
[classified]designated as formal adjudicative proceedings: 
 (a)  special appeals board held in accordance with Section 
58-1-402; 
 (b)  declaratory order determining the applicability of 
statute, rule, or order to specified circumstances, when determined by 
the director to be conducted as a formal adjudicative proceeding; and 
 (c)  board of appeal held in accordance with Subsection 
15A-1-207(3). 
 (2)  The following adjudicative proceedings 
[initiated]commenced by a [Notice of Agency Action]notice of 
agency action are [classified]designated as formal adjudicative 
proceedings: 
 (a)  disciplinary proceedings, except those 
[classified]designated as informal proceedings under Section R156-
46b-202, [that result in]for the following sanctions: 
 (i)  revocation of licensure; 
 (ii)  suspension of licensure; 
 (iii)  restricted licensure; 
 (iv)  probationary licensure; 
 (v)  issuance of a cease and desist order except when 
imposed through a citation; 
 (vi)  administrative fine except when imposed through a 
citation; and 
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 (vii)  issuance of a public reprimand; 
 (b)  unilateral modification of a disciplinary order; and 
 (c)  termination of diversion agreement[s] or of a program 
contract under Section 58-4a-107. 
 
R156-46b-202.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 63G4-202, the[The] following 
adjudicative proceedings [initiated]commenced by other than a 
notice of agency action are [classified]designated as informal 
adjudicative proceedings: 
 (a)  approval or denial of an application for: 
 (i)  initial licensure; 
 (ii)  renewal or reinstatement of licensure; 
 (iii)  relicensure; 
 (iv)  inactive or emeritus licensure status; 
 (v)  a tax credit certificate by a psychiatrist, psychiatric 
mental health nurse practitioner, or volunteer retired psychiatrist 
under Section 58-1-111; or 
 (vi)  criminal history determination; 
 (b)  favorable or unfavorable determination, based on an 
application for criminal history determination [pursuant to]under 
Section 58-1-310; 
 (c)  [board of appeal under Subsection 15A-1-207(3); 
 (d)  ]approval or denial of claims against the Residence 
Lien Recovery Fund created under Title 38, Chapter 11, Residence 
Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act; 
 ([e]d)  payment of approved claims against the Residence 
Lien Recovery Fund [described in Subparagraph (f)]under Title 38, 
Chapter 11, Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act; 
 ([f]e)  approval or denial of a request: 
 (i)  to surrender licensure; 
 (ii)  for entry into and participation in the Utah 
Professionals Health Program under Title 58, Chapter 4a, Utah 
Professionals Health Program[diversion program under Section 58-
1-404]; 
 (iii)  for modification of a disciplinary order; 
 (iv)  for correction of procedural or clerical mistakes; or 
 (v)  for correction of other than [procdural]procedural or 
clerical mistakes; 
 ([g]f)  matters relating to [diversion program]Title 58, 
Chapter 4a, Utah Professionals Health Program, including: 
 (i)  approval or denial of a request for modification of a 
program contract or diversion agreement; 
 (ii)  matters relating to a program contract or diversion 
agreement that do not involve termination under Section 58-4a-107; 
or 
 (iii)  determination of a licensee's successful completion of 
the Utah Professionals Health Program; 
 ([h]g)  citation hearings held in accordance with citation 
authority established under Title 58, Occupations and Professions; 
 ([i]h)  declaratory order determining the applicability of 
statute, rule or order to specified circumstances, when determined by 
the director to be conducted as an informal adjudicative proceeding; 
 ([j]i)  disciplinary sanctions imposed in a stipulation or 
memorandum of understanding with an applicant for licensure; and 
 ([k]j)  [all ]other requests for agency action permitted by 
statute or rule governing the Division not specifically 
[classified]designated as formal adjudicative proceedings in 
Subsection R156-46b-201(1). 
 (2)  Pursuant to Section 63G-4-202, the [The ]following 
adjudicative proceedings [initiated]commenced by a notice of agency 

action are [classified]designated as informal adjudicative 
proceedings: 
 (a)  nondisciplinary proceedings that [which ]result[s] in 
cancellation of licensure; 
 (b)  disciplinary proceedings against: 
 (i)  a contractor, plumber, electrician, or alarm company 
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades 
Licensing Act; 
 (ii)  a controlled substance licensee under Subsection 58-
37-6(4)(g);[ and] 
 (iii)  a contract security company or armored car company 
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 63, Security Personnel Licensing 
Act, for failure to replace a qualifier as required under Section 58-63-
306; or 
 (iv)  a hunting guide or outfitter registered under Title 58, 
Chapter 79, Hunting Guides and Outfitters Registration Act, for 
unprofessional conduct under Subsections R156-79-502(12) or 
R156-79-502(14); 
 (c)  disciplinary proceedings [initiated]commenced by a 
notice of agency action and order to show cause concerning 
violations of an order governing a license; 
 (d)  disciplinary proceedings [initiated]commenced by a 
notice of agency action in which the allegations of misconduct are 
limited to one or more of the following: 
 (i)  Subsections 58-1-501(2)(c) or (d); or 
 (ii)  Subsections R156-1-501(1) through (5); and 
 (e)  disciplinary proceedings [initiated]commenced by a 
notice of agency action concerning evaluation or verification of 
documentation showing completion of or compliance with renewal 
requirements under Subsection 58-1-308(4)(b). 
 
R156-46b-301.  Designation. 
 The presiding officers for Division adjudicative 
proceedings are [as ]defined at Subsection 63G-4-103(1)(h) and [as 
specifically ]established by Sections 58-1-109 and [by Section 
]R156-1-109. 
 
R156-46b-401.  In General. 
 (1)  The procedures for formal Division adjudicative 
proceedings are [set forth ]in Sections 63G-4-204 through 63G-4-
208, Rule R151-4, Department of Commerce Administrative Rule, 
and this rule. 
 (2)  The procedures for informal Division adjudicative 
proceedings are [set forth ]in Section 63G-4-203, Rule R151-4, 
Department of Commerce Administrative Procedures Act Rule, and 
this rule. 
 
R156-46b-402.  Response to Notice of Agency Action in an 
Informal Adjudicative Proceeding. 
[ A written response or answer to the allegations in a notice 
of agency action or incorporated by reference into a notice of agency 
action that initiates an informal adjudicative proceeding may, as set 
forth in a notice of agency action, be required to be filed within 30 
days of the mailing date of the notice of agency action or other date 
specified in the notice of agency action.] 
 (1)  In accordance with Sections 63G-4-202 and R156-4-
205, a notice of agency action commencing an informal adjudicative 
proceeding may require a respondent to file a written response or 
answer. 
 (2)  Unless a different date is specified in the notice of 
agency action, a respondent shall file a required written response or 
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answer within 30 days of the mailing date of the notice of agency 
action. 
 
R156-46b-403.  Evidentiary Hearings in Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 63G-4-203, e[E]videntiary 
hearings are not required for [informal ]Division informal 
adjudicative proceedings unless: 
 (a)  required by statute or rule[,]; or 
 (b)  permitted by rule and requested by a party within the 
time prescribed by rule. 
 (2)  Unless otherwise provided, a request for an evidentiary 
hearing permitted by rule [must]shall be submitted in writing: 
 (a)  [no later than]within 20 days [following]of the issuance 
of the notice of agency action if the proceeding was 
[initiated]commenced by the Division[,]; or 
 (b)  [together ]with the request for agency action if the 
proceeding was not [initiated]commenced by the Division. 
 (3)  An evidentiary hearing is required for [for the 
following informal proceedings: 
 (a)  R156-46b-202(1)(f), board of appeal held in 
accordance with Subsection 15A-1-207(3); and 
 (b)  ]an informal adjudicative proceeding under R156-46b-
202(1)([l]g), citation hearings[ held in accordance with Title 58]. 
 (4)  An evidentiary hearing is permitted for an informal 
adjudicative proceeding under Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(f), 
[pertaining to ]matters relating to the Utah Professionals Health 
Program[a diversion program in accordance with R156-46b-
202(1)(k)]. 
 (5)(a)  Unless otherwise agreed by the parties, [no]an 
evidentiary hearing [shall]may not be held in an informal 
adjudicative proceeding unless timely notice of the hearing has been 
served upon the parties as required by Subsection 63G-4-203(1)(d). 
 (b)  Timely notice means service of a [Notice of 
Hearing]notice of hearing upon [all]the parties [not later than]at least 
ten days prior to [any]the scheduled evidentiary hearing. 
 (6)  Parties shall be permitted to testify, present evidence, 
and comment on the issues at an evidentiary hearing in a Division 
informal adjudicative proceeding. 
 
R156-46b-404.  Orders in Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 (1)  Orders issued in Division informal adjudicative 
proceedings shall comply with Subsection 63G-4-203(1)(i). 
 (2)  Issuance of a license or approval of related requests in 
response to a request for agency action is sufficient to satisfy [the 
requirements of ]Subsection 63G-4-203(1)(i). 
 (3)(a)  Issuance of a letter denying a license or related 
requests is sufficient to satisfy [the requirements of ]Subsection 63G-
4-203(1)(i). 
 (b)  The letter [must]shall explain the reasons for the denial 
and the rights of the parties to seek agency review, including the time 
limits for requesting review. 
 (4)  Unless otherwise specified by the director, the fact 
finder who serves as the presiding officer at an evidentiary hearing 
convened in Division informal adjudicative proceedings shall issue a 
final order. 
 (5)  Orders issued in Division informal adjudicative 
proceedings in which an evidentiary hearing is convened shall 
comply with the requirements of Subsection 63G-4-208(1). 
 

R156-46b-405.  Informal Agency Advice. 
 (1)  The Division may issue an informal guidance letter in 
response to a request for advice unless the request specifically seeks 
a declaratory order. 
 (2)  [A notice shall appear in the]The informal guidance 
letter [notifying]shall notify the subject of the letter that: 
 (a)  the letter is only an informal guidance letter, [only ]and 
is not [intended as ]a formal declaratory order; and 
 (b)  [.  The notice shall also ]provide the citation [where the 
requirements which]that governs declaratory orders[ are found]. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, government hearings, 
occupational licensing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [December 
23, 2019]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  November 19, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-4-
102(6); 58-1-106(1)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-72 Filing No. 
53287 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S  
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Marx 801-

530-
6254 

lmarx@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-72.  Acupuncture Licensing Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This filing amends this rule to clarify the practice of 
acupuncture within the scope of the statutory changes 
made by S.B. 157, passed in the 2019 General Session, 
to define injection therapy, and to update licensure by 
endorsement procedures in accordance with H.B. 23, 
passed in the 2020 General Session.  These amendments 
update references and clarify what constitutes informed 
consent for patients and what constitutes unprofessional 
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conduct for practicing herbal medicine beyond the scope 
of the licensee's education and training. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Section R156-72-102 is amended to update and clarify 
definitions and references in accordance with the statutory 
changes made by S.B. 157 (2019) and recommendations 
made by the Board.  This includes defining the phrase 
"according to practitioner training" and the term "modern 
research" as used in Subsection 58-72-102(5)(b)(ii). 
 
Section R156-72-302a is amended in its entirety to add 
new language clarifying the certification requirements of 
Subsection 58-72-302(3) and the examination 
requirements of Subsection 58-72-302(3), to allow an 
applicant to submit proof of current and active National 
Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental 
Medicine (NCCAOM) certification, or licensure in good 
standing as an acupuncturist in any US state, district, or 
territory for at least one year immediately preceding the 
application. 
 
Section R156-72-302b is amended to clarify that the 50 
hours of on the job training to engage in animal 
acupuncture may be under the "indirect" supervision of a 
licensed veterinarian. 
 
Section R156-72-302c regarding informed consent is 
amended to add that if a patient will be receiving an 
adjunctive therapy the acupuncturist shall provide a written 
disclosure regarding the acupuncturist's education and 
training to perform that therapy, and amended to clarify 
that records shall be maintained for seven years. 
 
Section R156-72-302d regarding unprofessional conduct 
is renumbered to Section R156-72-503 to conform to the 
practice act, and is amended to:  1) clarify what constitutes 
violating renewal qualifications, 2) change the reference to 
the medical records retention requirement from ten to 
seven years, and 3) define as unprofessional conduct 
failing to maintain current and active NCCAOM 
certification, failing to maintain current cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation/basic life support (CPR/BLS) certification, or 
recommending, administering, or providing dietary 
guidelines, herbs, supplements, homeopathics, or 
therapeutic exercise without having completed the 
required "practitioner training" as defined in new 
Subsection R156-72-102(2). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
(Division) estimates that these proposed amendments will 
have no measurable impact on state government 
revenues or expenditures as they merely clarify and define 
terms and update references in accordance with statutory 
changes.  The amendment and restatement of Section 
R156-72-302a is expected to have no impact on the 

Division or other state agencies as it only provides 
additional exam options for licensees and greater license 
portability.  The amendments to newly renumbered 
Section R156-72-503 are not expected to impact the 
Division as they only more precisely define what 
constitutes unprofessional conduct.  Additionally, as 
described below in the analysis for small businesses and 
non-small businesses, the Division does not expect any 
state governments that may be acting as employers of 
licensed individuals engaging in the practice of 
acupuncture to experience any measurable fiscal impact. 
 
B) Local governments: 

The Division estimates that these proposed amendments 
will have no measurable impact on local governments' 
revenues or expenditures as they will not impact local 
government practices or procedures.  Additionally, as 
described below in the analysis for small businesses and 
non-small businesses, the Division does not expect any 
local governments that may be acting as employers of 
licensed individuals engaging in the practice of 
acupuncture to experience any measurable fiscal impact. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
These proposed amendments will regulate individuals 
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 72, who are practicing or 
apply for licensure as an acupuncturist and may therefore, 
indirectly affect the estimated 300 small businesses in 
Utah comprising establishments of licensees engaged in 
the practice of acupuncture or who may employ those 
engaged in the practice of acupuncture, such as private or 
group practices (North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) 621399).  However, as described below 
for other persons, these proposed amendments are not 
expected to have a measurable impact on individual small 
business owners or employees and therefore, will not 
indirectly impact small businesses' revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These proposed amendments will regulate individuals 
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 72, who are practicing or 
apply for licensure as an acupuncturist and may therefore, 
indirectly affect the estimated 25 non-small businesses in 
Utah comprising establishments of licensees engaged in 
the practice of acupuncture or who may employ those 
engaged in the practice of acupuncture, such as private or 
group practices, hospitals, or medical centers (NAICS 
621111).  However, as described below for other persons, 
these proposed amendments are not expected to have a 
measurable impact on individual non-small business 
owners or employees and therefore, will not indirectly 
impact non-small businesses' revenue or expenditures. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
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association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are 172 licensed acupuncturists and approximately 
seven potential applicants for licensure each year who will 
be subject to these amendments.  However, no 
measurable fiscal impact to these persons is expected.  
The amendments to newly renumbered Section R156-72-
503 are not expected to result in a measurable impact on 
licensees as they only more precisely define what 
constitutes unprofessional conduct, and the practices of 
most licensees are or should be already consistent with 
these professional practice standards. 
 
Additionally, these amendments will only affect licensees 
who violate the rules and are disciplined for unprofessional 
conduct, and it is impossible to estimate what these 
potential indirect costs might be with any accuracy 
because they will vary widely depending on the individual 
characteristics and actions of each licensee, and this 
relevant data is unavailable and the cost of acquiring any 
such data is prohibitively expensive. 
 
The remaining amendments are not expected to have any 
measurable impact on these persons as the amendments 
are made in accordance with statutory changes to clarify 
the services within the acupuncturist scope of practice and 
informed consent requirements for an acupuncturist, and 
to clarify the pathway to Utah licensure for a person who 
may wish to apply by endorsement. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

As described above for other persons, the Division does 
not anticipate any compliance costs for any affected 
persons from these proposed amendments. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Commerce, Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The Division proposes amendments to the Acupuncture 
Licensing Act Rule.  This filing harmonizes the statutory 
changes with this corresponding rule.  Modifications to the 
statute for the practice of acupuncture were made in the 
S.B. 157 (2019), to define injection therapy, and to update 
licensure by endorsement in accordance with the H.B. 23 
(2020).  Further, these amendments update references, 
clarify informed consent and unprofessional conduct, and 
determine the scope of the licensee's education and 
training. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
In Utah, there may be approximately 300 small business 
establishments that are affiliated with licensees engaged 
in the practice of acupuncture or who may employ those 
engaged in the practice of acupuncture, such as private or 
group practices (NAICS 621399).  However, no fiscal 
impact is expected for small business over and above any 
fiscal impact described in the legislative fiscal notes in S.B. 
157 (2019) and for H.B. 23 (2020) as these costs are either 
inestimable or there is no fiscal impact. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or 
more employees) 
There are 25 non-small businesses that associate with 
licensees engaged in the practice of acupuncture or who 
may employ those engaged in the practice of acupuncture, 
such as private or group practices, hospitals, or medical 
centers in Utah (NAICS 621111).  However, this 
amendment is conforming the rule to the statutory 
changes made by S.B. 157 (2019) and H.B. 23 (2020).  It 
is not expected to impact these non-small businesses 
beyond expectations in the legislative fiscal notes.  Similar 
to the above mentioned costs in small businesses, further 
costs are either inestimable, for the reasons stated, or 
there is no fiscal impact. 
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B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Margaret W. Busse, Interim Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 58-72-101 Subsection 

58-1-106(1)(a) 
Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

NCCAOM Code of Ethics (Updates) 

Publisher National Commission for the 
Certification of Acupuncture and 
Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) 

Issue, or version January 1, 2016 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
02/16/2021 9:00 AM For electronic  

Google Meets  
information for this  
rule hearing, see the  
Acupuncture  
Licensing Board  
February 16, 2021,  
agenda for this  
meeting date on the  
Public Meeting  
Notice website. 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 01/19/2021 

 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-72.  Acupuncture Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-72-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapter[s] 1, 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Act, and Title 
58, Chapter 72, Acupuncture Licensing Act, the following rule 
definitions supplement the statutory definitions[as used in this rule]: 
 (1)  "ACAOM" means the Accreditation Commission for 
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. 
 (2)  "According to practitioner training" in Subsection 58-
72-102(5)(b)(ii) means that the licensee has completed education and 
training from an educational program accredited or recognized by 
ACAOM regarding the recommendation, administration, or 
provision of dietary guidelines, herbs, supplements, homeopathics, 
and therapeutic exercise. 
 ([1]3)[(a)]  "Administration"[, as used] in Subsection 58-
72-102([4]5)(b)(ii)[,] means the direct application of an herb, 
homeopathic, or supplement to the body of a patient by: 
 ([i]a)  ingestion; 
 ([ii]b)  topical application; 
 ([iii]c)  inhalation; or 
 ([iv]d)  [acu]point injection therapy ([A]PIT).[ 
 (b)  Administration does not include: 
 (i)  venous injections; 
 (ii)  immunizations; 
 (iii)  legend drugs; or 
 (iv)  controlled substances. 
 (2)  "Controlled substance" means a drug or substance 
defined in Subsection 58-37-2(1)(f). 
 (3)  "Legend drug" means a prescription drug as defined in 
Subsections 58-17b-102(32) and (64).] 
 (4)  "Herbs" and "homeopathics"[, as used] in Subsection 
58-72-102([4]5)(b)(ii)[,] may include: 
 (a)  vitamins; 
 (b)  minerals; 
 (c)  amino acids; 
 (d)  proteins; and 
 (e)  enzymes. 
 (5)  "Insertion of acupuncture needles" in Subsection 58-
72-102(5)(a) means a procedure of acupuncture and oriental 
medicine [which includes]including myofascial trigger point therapy, 
intramuscular therapy, perineural injection therapy (PIT), 
prolotherapy, proprioceptive stimulation, [Ahshi]Ashi points, [and]or 
dry needling techniques. 
 (6)  "Modern research" in Subsection 58-72-102(5)(b)(ii) 
means practicing according to acupuncture and oriental medicine 
education and training as recognized through NCCAOM. 
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 ([6]7)  "NCCAOM" means the National Commission for 
the Certification of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, [(]formerly 
known as the National Commission for the Certification of 
Acupuncturists (NCCA).[ 
 (7)  "Modern research" means practicing according to 
acupuncture and oriental medicine training as recognized through 
NCCAOM. 
 (8)  "Provision", as used in Subsection 58-72-102(4)(b)(ii), 
includes procurement of the substances listed in Subsection 58-72-
102(4)(b)(ii).] 
 
R156-72-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - 
[Examination]Certification and Exam Requirements. 
[ In accordance with Subsection 58-72-302(5), the 
examination requirement for licensure is a passing score as 
determined by the National Certification Commission for 
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) on all examinations 
for certification by NCCAOM in acupuncture or oriental medicine.] 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-72-302(3) and (4), to 
meet the requirements for current active certification in acupuncture 
under guidelines established by NCCAOM, and the requirements for 
passing the examination required by the Division, an applicant for 
licensure as a licensed acupuncturist shall submit documentation of: 
 (1)  current and active NCCAOM certification; or 
 (2)  pursuant to Subsection 58-1-302(1), licensure in good 
standing as an acupuncturist in any state, district, or territory of the 
United States, for at least one year immediately preceding the 
application. 
 
R156-72-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Animal 
Acupuncture. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-28-307(12)(d) and 58-
72-102([4]5)([a]b)(iii), to engage in the practice of animal 
acupuncture, a licensed acupuncturist [practicing animal acupuncture 
must]shall complete 100 hours of animal acupuncture training and 
education that includes:[.  The training and education shall include:] 
 (1)  [completing 50]fifty hours of on the job training under 
the indirect supervision of a licensed veterinarian; 
 (2)  [completing ]animal anatomy training; and 
 (3)  [completing ]the remaining hours in animal specific 
continuing education. 
 
R156-72-302c.  Informed Consent. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-72-302([6]5), [in 
order for]to enable patients to give informed consent to treatment, a 
licensed acupuncturist shall have a patient chart for each patient 
[which shall include]that includes: 
 ([1]a)  a written review of symptoms;[ and] 
 ([2]b)  a statement[,] signed by [that]the patient[, that 
consent is given to provide] consenting to acupuncture treatment; 
and[.] 
 (c)  if the patient is receiving an adjunctive therapy as 
defined in Subsection 58-72-102(5), a written disclosure signed by 
the patient regarding the licensed acupuncturist's education and 
training to perform that therapy. 
 (2)  In accordance with Section 58-72-503, patient records, 
including records documenting informed consent, shall be 
maintained for seven years. 
 
R156-72-303.  Renewal Cycle - Procedures. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1), the 
renewal date for the two-year renewal cycle applicable to licensees 

under Title 58, Chapter 72, Acupuncture Licensing Act, is established 
by rule in Section R156-1-308a. 
 (2)  Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with 
Sections R156-1-308[c]b through R156-1-308l. 
 (3)  In accordance with [Section]Subsections 58-1-
308(3)(b) and 58-72-303(3), a licensee [must]who does not maintain 
current and active NCCAOM certification shall: 
 (a)  complete at least 30 continuing education units (CEU) 
or 30 professional didactic activity (PDA) points within the two-year 
renewal period; and 
 (b)  maintain current BLS-CPR certification. 
 
R156-72-[302d]503.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-72-102(6), 
"unprofessional["Unprofessional] conduct" includes: 
 (1)  failing to maintain office, instruments, equipment, 
appliances, [and]or supplies in a safe and sanitary condition; 
 (2)  [failing as a licensee to]violating Subsection 58-72-
303(3) regarding renewal qualifications by:[ maintain the 
professional development activity requirements, as required by the 
NCCAOM;] 
 (a)  failing to maintain current and active NCCAOM 
certification; 
 (b)  failing to complete all CEUs required under Subsection 
R156-72-303(3); or 
 (c)  failing to maintain current BLS-CPR certification; 
 (3)  failing to abide by [and meet standards of ]the 
["]NCCAOM Code of Ethics[" set by NCCAOM, adopted on 
October 14, 2008] revised January 1, 2016, that is [which are ]hereby 
incorporated by reference; 
 (4)  failing to maintain [medical]patient records for a 
[ten]seven-year period; 
 (5)  [failing to obtain education and training recognized by 
NCCAOM if performing acupoint therapy injections; 
and]recommending, administering, or providing dietary guidelines, 
herbs, supplements, homeopathics, or therapeutic exercise without 
having completed the required practitioner training pursuant to 
Subsection 58-72-102(5)(b)(ii) and Subsection R156-72-102(2); or 
 (6)  administering venous injections, immunizations, 
[legend drugs and]or controlled substances. 
 
KEY:  acupuncture, licensing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
23, 2018]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  September 8, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-72-101; 
58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R380-412 Filing No. 
53290 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Martha Hughes Cannon Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
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City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 14100 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1000 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Richard Oborn 385-

232-
4259 

roborn@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-412.  Compassionate Use Board 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Subsection 26-61a-105(6) of the Utah Medical Cannabis 
Act requires the Utah Department of Health (Department) 
to establish rules related to the Compassionate Use 
Board. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This proposed rule establishes a process and criteria for a 
petition to the Compassionate Use Board to automatically 
qualify for expedited final review and approval or denial by 
the Department. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to the 
state budget because it does not require any additional 
resources from the Department. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to local 
governments because this rule does not establish 
requirements for enforcement by local agencies. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to small 
businesses because this rule does not establish new 
requirements for small businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to non-
small businesses because this rule does not establish new 
requirements for non-small businesses. 
 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to other 
persons because this rule does not establish new 
requirements for other persons. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because it does not establish 
requirements for these persons. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
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The Executive Director of the Utah Department of Health, 
Richard Saunders, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This will not have cost impact on businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard Saunders, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
26-61a-105(6) 

Subsection 
26-1-5(1) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
02/22/2021 02:00 PM Google Meet Link: 

meet.google.com/xq
r-suba-jvz 
Phone: 
(US)+1
 
406-848-4597 
PIN: 549 352 
702#  
 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 

over.  
 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard 
Saunders, 
Executive Director 

Date: 12/23/2020 

 
R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-412.  Compassionate Use Board. 
R380-412-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsections 26-1-5(1) and 26-61a-105(6), this 
rule establishes a process and criteria for a petition to the Board to 
qualify for expedited final review and approval or denial by the 
Department. 
 
R380-412-2.  Compassionate Use Board Expedited Review 
Criteria. 
 To qualify for expedited review by the Department, an 
individual submitting the petition shall meet the following criteria: 
 (1)  diagnosis with a terminal illness and a life expectancy 
of six months or less; 
 (2)  present symptoms not adequately managed with 
standard therapies that may reasonably be expected to be alleviated 
by medical cannabis; and 
 (3)  have a QMP recommending medical cannabis who is 
directly and regularly involved in the individual's medical care. 
 
R380-412-3.  Compassionate Use Board Expedited Review 
Process. 
 (1)  Each individual submitting a petition for expedited 
review by the Department shall complete a form available from the 
Department. 
 (2)  Within five business days of receiving a complete 
petition for expedited review, the Department shall review the 
petition and either approve the petition and issue a medical cannabis 
card to the applicant or prepare the petition for Board review.   
 
KEY:  medical cannabis, compassionate use board, medical 
marijuana 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3; 26-
61a; 26-1-5(1); 26-61a-105(6) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-60-5 Filing No. 
53296 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-60-5.  Limitations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this change is to update and clarify 
provisions in this rule to be consistent with current 
Medicaid policy. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment limits the further use of opioids for 
Medicaid members who already receive medication-
assisted treatment (MAT) for opioid use disorder. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Department of Health expects only de minimis impact 
to the state budget as this amendment simply updates and 
clarifies current policy for the Pharmacy Program. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments because they 
neither fund nor provide services under the Pharmacy 
Program. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The Department expects only de minimis impact on small 
businesses as this amendment simply updates and 
clarifies current policy for the Pharmacy Program. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Department expects only de minimis impact on non-
small businesses as this amendment simply updates and 
clarifies current policy for the Pharmacy Program. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Department expects only de minimis impact on 
Medicaid providers and Medicaid members as this 

amendment simply updates and clarifies current policy for 
the Pharmacy Program. 
 

F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The Department expects only de minimis compliance 
costs to a single Medicaid provider or Medicaid member 
as this amendment simply updates and clarifies current 
policy for the Pharmacy Program. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, 
Richard G. Saunders, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
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Businesses should see neither revenue nor costs as this 
amendment simply updates current Medicaid policy. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-18-3  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, 
Executive Director 

Date: 01/26/2021 

 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-60.  Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Program. 
R414-60-5.  Limitations. 
 (1)  Medicaid may place limitations on drugs in accordance 
with 42 U.S.C. 1396r-8 or in consultation with the Drug Utilization 
Review (DUR) Board.  Medicaid includes these limitations in the 
Pharmacy Services Provider Manual and its attachments.  These 
limitations are incorporated by reference in Section R414-1-5 and may 
include the following: 
 (a)  quantity limits or cumulative limits for a drug or drug 
class for a specified period of time; 

 (b)  therapeutic duplication limits may be placed on drugs 
within the same or similar therapeutic categories; 
 (c)  step therapy, including documentation of therapeutic 
failure with one drug before another drug may be used; or 
 (d)  prior authorization. 
 (2)  A pharmacy may dispense a covered outpatient drug that 
requires prior authorization for up to a 72-hour supply without obtaining 
prior authorization during a medical emergency. 
 (3)  Drugs listed as non-preferred on the Preferred Drug List 
(PDL) may require prior authorization as authorized by Section 26-18-
2.4. 
 (4)  Drugs may be restricted and are reimbursable only when 
dispensed by an individual pharmacy or pharmacies. 
 (5)  Medicaid does not cover drugs not eligible for Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentages funds. 
 (6)  Medicaid does not cover outpatient drugs included in the 
Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit-Part D for full-benefit dual eligible 
beneficiaries. 
 (7)  Medicaid does not cover drugs provided to a member 
during an inpatient hospital stay, neither as an outpatient pharmacy 
benefit nor separately payable from the Medicaid payment for the 
inpatient hospital services. 
 (8)  Medicaid covers prescription cough and cold preparations 
meeting the definition of a covered outpatient drug. 
 (9)  Medicaid will pay for no more than a one-month supply 
of a covered outpatient drug per dispensing, except for the following: 
 (a)  Medicaid may cover medications on the Utah Medicaid 
Three-Month Supply Medication List, attachment to the Pharmacy 
Services Provider Manual, for up to a three-month supply per 
dispensing; 
 (b)  Medicaid may cover prenatal vitamins for a pregnant 
woman, multiple vitamins with or without fluoride for a child who is 
zero through five years of age, and fluoride supplements for up to a 
three-month supply per dispensing; 
 (c)  Medicaid may cover contraceptives for up to a three-
month supply per dispensing; and 
 (d)  Medicaid may cover long-acting injectable antipsychotic 
drugs in accordance with Section R414-60-12 for up to a three-month 
supply per dispensing. 
 (10)  Medicaid will pay for a prescription refill only when 
80% of the previous prescription has been exhausted, with the exception 
of controlled substances.  Medicaid will pay for a prescription refill for 
controlled substances after 85% of the previous prescription has been 
exhausted. 
 (11)  Medicaid does not cover the following drugs: 
 (a)  drugs for weight loss; 
 (b)  drugs to promote fertility; 
 (c)  drugs for the treatment of sexual dysfunction; 
 (d)  drugs for cosmetic purposes; 
 (e)  vitamins; except for prenatal vitamins for a pregnant 
woman, vitamin drops for a child who is zero through five years of age, 
and fluoride supplements; 
 (f)  over-the-counter drugs (OTC) not included on the Utah 
Medicaid PDL and Resources attachment to the Pharmacy Services 
Provider Manual; 
 (g)  drugs for which the manufacturer requires, as a condition 
of sale, that associated tests and monitoring services are purchased 
exclusively from the manufacturer or its designee; 
 (h)  drugs given by a hospital to a patient at discharge; 
 (i)  breast milk, breast milk substitutes, baby food, or medical 
foods.  Prescription metabolic products for congenital errors of 
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metabolism are covered through the Durable Medical Equipment 
benefit; and 
 (j)  drugs available only through single-source distribution 
programs, unless the distributor is enrolled with Medicaid as a pharmacy 
provider. 
 (12)  Opioid claims used for the treatment of non-cancer 
pain are subject to the following limitations or restrictions set forth 
by the Division of Medicaid and Health Financing (DMHF): 
 (a)  initial fill limits; 
 (b)  monthly limits; 
 (c)  quantity limits; 
 (d)  additional limits for a child or pregnant woman; 
 (e)  morphine milligram equivalents (MME) and 
cumulative morphine equivalents daily (MED) limits;[ or] 
 (f)  concurrent use of opioids with high-risk drugs as 
defined by DMHF[.];or 
 (g)  concurrent use of opioid medications in members who 
also receive medication-assisted treatment (MAT) for opioid use 
disorder. 
 (13)  Antipsychotic medications prescribed to a Medicaid 
member who is 19 years of age or younger are limited as follows: 
 (a)  no use of multiple antipsychotic drugs; 
 (b)  no off-label use; 
 (c)  no use outside established age guidelines; and 
 (d)  no doses higher than FDA recommendations. 
 (14)  Exceptions may be granted as appropriate through the 
prior authorization process. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 12,] 
2021 
Notice of Continuation:  April 28, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-18-3; 26-1-
5 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE: Amendment  
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-303-11 Filing No. 
53307 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-303-11.  Presumptive Eligibility for Medicaid 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this change is to implement a provision for 
presumptive eligibility determinations through the 
electronic eligibility portal. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment requires covered providers to make 
presumptive eligibility determinations through the 
electronic eligibility portal.  It also makes other technical 
changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Department of Health (Department) does not 
anticipate an impact to the state budget as this change 
only specifies presumptive eligibility procedures for 
Medicaid providers.  Though the possibility of individuals 
not becoming presumptively eligible due to procedural 
errors exists, there is no method to calculate how often 
these errors might occur or how many individuals they 
might affect. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments because they 
neither fund Medicaid eligibility groups nor make eligibility 
determinations. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons 
The Department does not anticipate an impact on small 
businesses as this change only specifies presumptive 
eligibility procedures for Medicaid providers.  Though the 
possibility of individuals not becoming presumptively 
eligible due to procedural errors exists, there is no method 
to calculate how often these errors might occur or how 
many individuals they might affect. 
 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Department does not anticipate an impact on non-
small businesses as this change only specifies 
presumptive eligibility procedures for Medicaid providers.  
Though the possibility of individuals not becoming 
presumptively eligible due to procedural errors exists, 
there is no method to calculate how often these errors 
might occur or how many individuals they might affect. 
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E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Department does not anticipate an impact on 
Medicaid providers as this change only specifies 
presumptive eligibility procedures.  Though the possibility 
of individuals not becoming presumptively eligible due to 
procedural errors exists, there is no method to calculate 
how often these errors might occur or how many 
individuals they might affect. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The Department does not anticipate compliance costs to a 
single Medicaid provider or individual as this change only 
specifies presumptive eligibility procedures.  Though the 
possibility of a prospective member not becoming 
presumptively eligible due to a procedural error exists, 
there is no method to calculate how often these errors 
might occur. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, 
Richard G. Saunders, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
Businesses should see neither revenue nor costs as this 
change only specifies presumptive eligibility procedures 
for Medicaid providers. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-18-3  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, 
Executive Director 

Date: 02/01/2021 

 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-303.  Coverage Groups. 
R414-303-11.  Presumptive Eligibility for Medicaid. 
 (1)  The definitions found in 42 CFR 435.1101, and the 
provisions for presumptive eligibility found in 42 CFR 435.1103 and 42 
CFR 435.1110, apply to [Section R414-303-11]this section. 
 (2)  The following definitions also apply to this section: 
 (a)  "covered provider" means a provider whom the 
Department determines is qualified to [make a determination 
of]determine presumptive eligibility for a pregnant woman, and who 
meets the criteria defined in Subsection 1920(b)(2) of the Social 
Security Act.  Covered provider also means a hospital that elects to be a 
qualified entity under a memorandum of agreement with the 
Department; 
 (b)  "presumptive eligibility" means a period of eligibility for 
medical services, based on an individual's self-declaration [that the 
individual meets the ]of meeting eligibility criteria. 
 (3)  The Department shall provide[s] coverage to a pregnant 
woman during a period of presumptive eligibility if a covered provider 
determines, based on preliminary information, that the woman[ states 
she]: 
 (a)  is pregnant; 
 (b)  meets citizenship or alien status criteria as defined in 
Section R414-302-3; 
 (c)  has household income that does not exceed 139% of the 
federal poverty guideline applicable to her declared household size; and 
 (d)  is not already covered by Medicaid or the Children's 
Health Insurance Program (CHIP). 
 (4)  A pregnant woman may only receive medical assistance 
during one presumptive eligibility period for any single term of 
pregnancy. 
 (5)  A child born to a woman who is only presumptively 
eligible at the time of the infant's birth is not eligible for the one year of 
continued coverage defined in Subsection 1902(e)(4) of the Social 
Security Act.  If the mother applies for [Utah ]Medicaid after the birth 
and is determined eligible back to the date of the infant's birth, the infant 
is then eligible for the one year of continued coverage under Subsection 
1902(e)(4) of the Social Security Act.  If the mother is not eligible, the 
eligibility agency shall determine whether the infant is eligible under 
other Medicaid programs. 
 (6)  A child determined presumptively eligible who is under 
19 years of age may receive presumptive eligibility only through the end 
of the month after the presumptive determination date, or until the end 
of the month in which the child turns 19 years of age, whichever occurs 
first. 
 (7)  An individual determined presumptively eligible for 
former foster care children coverage may receive presumptive eligibility 
only through the end of the month after the presumptive determination 
date, or until the end of the month in which the individual turns 26 years 
[old]of age, whichever occurs first. 
 (8)  An individual determined presumptively eligible for adult 
coverage may receive presumptive eligibility through whichever of the 
following occurs first: 
 (a)  [T]through the end of the month following the month of 
the presumptive determination; 

 (b)  [T]through the end of the month in which the individual 
turns 65 years [old]of age; or 
 (c)  [U]until the eligibility agency makes a determination for 
ongoing medical assistance. 
 (9)  The Department shall limit the coverage groups for which 
a hospital may make a presumptive eligibility decision to the groups 
described in 42 CFR 435.110, 435.116, 435.118, 435.150, and Rule 
R414-312. 
 (10)  A hospital must enter into a memorandum of agreement 
with the Department to be a qualified entity and receive training on 
policy and procedures. 
 (11)  The hospital shall cooperate with the Department for 
audit and quality control reviews on presumptive eligibility 
determinations the hospital makes.  The Department may terminate the 
agreement with the hospital if the hospital does not meet standards and 
quality requirements set by the Department. 
 (12)  [The]A covered provider may not count the following as 
income[ the following]: 
 (a)  [V]veteran's [A]administration [(VA) ]payments; 
 (b)  [C]child support payments; or 
 (c)  [E]educational grants, loans, scholarships, fellowships, or 
gifts that a client uses to pay for education. 
 (13)  An individual found presumptively eligible for one of 
the following coverage groups may only receive one presumptive 
eligibility period in a calendar year: 
 (a)  [P]parents or caretaker relatives; 
 (b)  [C]children under 19 years of age; 
 (c)  [F]former foster care children; 
 (d)  [I]individuals with breast or cervical cancer; and 
 (e)  [A]adult expansion. 
 (14)  A covered provider shall utilize the Department's 
electronic portal to make presumptive eligibility determinations.  The 
eligibility agency may only determine regular medical assistance if the 
provider submits a paper application. 
 
KEY:  MAGI-based, coverage groups, former foster care youth, 
presumptive eligibility 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[September 16, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 8, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-18-3; 26-1-
5 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R428-1 Filing No. 
53300 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Center for Health Data, Health Care 

Statistics 
Room no.: 106 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 144004 
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City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4004 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carl Letamendi 801-

538-
7052 

cletamendi@utah.gov 

Mike Martin 801-
538-
9205 

mikemartin@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R428-1.  Health Data Plan and Incorporated Documents 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This filing updates material incorporated by reference to 
reflect technical requirements expected for compliance by 
the Utah Health Data Authority Act, Title 26, Chapter 33a. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The changes update data submittal guide (DSG) for:  
Healthcare Facilities Database (HFD) from Version 2.1 to 
Version 2.1.1; Consumer Assessment of Health Plans 
(CAHPS), Specifications for Survey Measures, to current 
measurement year 2020; Health Employer Data and 
Information Set (HEDIS), Compliance Audit, to current 
measurement year 2020; and remove reference to 
outdated documents incorporated by reference. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule iterates forward to the current versions of 
documents.  The Utah Department of Health (Department) 
determines enactment of the amended versions will not 
create any cost or savings impact to the state budget or 
the Department's budget since the changes will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This filing does not create any direct cost or savings impact 
to local governments since they are not directly affected 
by this rule; nor are local governments indirectly impacted 
because this rule does not create a situation requiring 
services from local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None--Small businesses are not impacted by this rule 
change, with all potentially impacted having more than 50 

or more employees.  As a result, this rule will have no effect 
on small businesses for costs or savings. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Some data suppliers will need to program changes to their 
system in order to be consistent with the updated 
guidelines.  According to our research of carriers impacted 
by the HFD changes, namely those representing facilities 
with standalone emergency departments, the compliance 
costs will be $0 per facility to comply with proposed HFD 
DSG 2.1.1--in large part to changes being absorbed by 
existing maintenance contracts between the respective 
facility and its vendor.  There are $0 costs anticipated for 
CAHPS and HEDIS suppliers since the changes are 
reflective of normal business processes in preparation for 
the next reporting year. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on revenues or expenditures for persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  The changes are primarily technical 
and clarifying in nature. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

Based on figures reported in Box 5D above, the 
Department estimates an industry cost of $0 to data 
suppliers expected to comply with updated DSGs for the 
HFD, including those for the CAHPS and HEDIS 
programs. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Richard G. Saunders, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This will have no fiscal impact on business because the 
changes are technical and are consistent with business 
practices. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Interim Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 
26-33a-104 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Utah Healthcare Facility Data 
Submission Guide, Version 2.1.1 

Publisher Utah Department of Health 

Date Issued 03/01/2021 

Issue, or version 2.1.1 

 Second Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

HEDIS Measurement Year 2020: Vol. 
3: Specifications for Survey 
Measures 

Publisher National Committee for Quality 
Assurance 

Date Issued 2020 

Issue, or version Vol. 3 

 
 Third Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

HEDIS Measurement Year 2020: Vol. 
5: HEDIS Compliance Audit: 
Standards, Policies and Procedures 

Publisher National Committee for Quality 
Assurance 

Date Issued 2020 

Issue, or version Vol. 5 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 01/15/2021 
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R428.  Health, Center for Health Data, Health Care Statistics. 
R428-1.  Health Data Plan and Incorporated Documents. 
R428-1-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated in accordance with Title 26, Chapter 
33a. 
 
R428-1-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule adopts and incorporates documents related to the 
collection, analysis, and dissemination of data covered in this title. 
 
R428-1-3.  Health Data Plan Adoption. 
 As required by Section 26-33a-104, the Health Data 
Committee adopts by rule the health data plan dated October 3, 1991. 
 
R428-1-4.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 The following documents are adopted and incorporated by 
reference: 
 (1)  "Utah Healthcare Facility Data Submission Guide" 
means[: 
 (a) ] Utah Healthcare Facility Data Submission Guide, 
Version 2.1.1 for data submissions required on or after [February]March 
1[6], 20[18]21; 
[ (b)  Utah Healthcare Facility Data Submission Guide, Version 
2.1 for data submissions required on or after May 16, 2019;] 
 (2)  "NCQA Survey Specifications" means[: 
 (a) ] HEDIS Measurement Year 2020[17], Vol.[ume] 3:  
Specifications for Survey Measures, published by NCQA[ for data 
submissions required before January 1, 2018, and 
 (b)  HEDIS 2018, Volume 3:  Specifications for Survey 
Measures, published by NCQA for data submissions required on or after 
January 1, 2018]; 
 (3)  "NCQA HEDIS Specifications" means[: 
 (a) ] HEDIS Measurement Year 2020[17], Volume 5:  HEDIS 
Compliance Audit:  Standards, Policies, and Procedures, published by 
NCQA[ for data submissions required before January 1, 2018, and 
 (b)  HEDIS 2018, Volume 5:  HEDIS Compliance Audit:  
Standards, Policies, and Procedures, published by NCQA for data 
submissions required on or after January 1, 2018]; 
 (4)  "Data Submission Guide for Claims Data" means[: 
 (a)  Utah All-Payer Claims Database Data Submission Guide 
Version 3.1 (as corrected on March 15, 2018) for data submissions 
required before March 1, 2020, and 
 (b) ] Utah All-Payer Claims Database Data Submission Guide 
Version 4.0 for data submissions required on or after March 1, 2020. 
 
KEY:  APCD, health, health policy, health planning 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[January 
28, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 10, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-33a-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R455-16 Filing No. 
53291 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Heritage and Arts 
Agency: History 

Room no.: 218 
Building: Rio Grande Depot 
Street address: 300 S.Rio Grande St 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Christopher W. 
Merritt 

801-
245-
7263 

cmerritt@utah.gov 

Alycia Rowley 801-
245-
7263 

aaldrich@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R455-16.  Cultural Site Stewardship Program Vandalism 
Volunteer Selection, Training, and Certification 
Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Section 9-8-208 instructs the Utah Division of State History 
(Division) to create and maintain a Cultural Site 
Stewardship Program.  This rule provides procedures on 
how the Division will select, train, and certify volunteers to 
participate in the Stewardship Program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule outlines procedures that State History will employ 
for the selection, training, and certification of volunteers 
who are participating in the Utah Cultural Site Stewardship 
Program in cooperation and coordination with other state 
and federal agency partners. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
None--The Division will coordinate responsibilities of 
volunteers through this rule.  It does not require any 
expenditures. 
 
B) Local governments: 

None--This rule does not apply to local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None--This rule does not apply to small businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--This rule does not apply to non-small businesses. 
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E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--Anybody who volunteers for the cultural 
stewardship program through this rule will not be 
financially impacted. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

None--Compliance with this rule will not require any 
expenditures by volunteers. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Heritage and 
Arts, Jill Love, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 

6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
No impact on businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Jill Love, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
9-8-208(5) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Josh Loftin, 
Communications 
Director 

Date: 01/25/2021 

 
R455.  Utah Division of State History. 
R455-16.  Cultural Site Stewardship Program Volunteer 
Selection, Training, and Certification Procedures. 
R455-16-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 Under the Authority of Section 9-8-208, the Utah Division 
of State History shall create and maintain a Cultural Site Stewardship 
Program. This rule provides procedures on how the Division will 
select, train and certify volunteers to participate in the Stewardship 
Program. 
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R455-16-2.  Selection of Volunteers. 
 A.  The Division shall engage in public outreach activities 
to announce stewardship opportunities for potential volunteers. 
 B.  Volunteers will self-select interest in the program and 
will fill out a volunteer application created by the Division and 
submit to the Stewardship Coordinator. 
 C.  The Utah Cultural Site Stewardship Coordinator or 
designee will review each volunteer's application and supporting 
materials and contact the volunteer to move forward on their 
involvement in the program. 
 
R455-16-3.  Training of Volunteers. 
 A.  After acceptance as a potential Cultural Site 
Stewardship volunteer, but before that volunteer service begins, the 
volunteer will participate in a training session held by the Division 
and agency partners. 
 B.  Training includes the following components: 
 a.  review of Volunteer Services Agreement, Code of 
Ethics, Photographic Release, and other required forms; 
 b.  orientation to the conditions of volunteer service and the 
volunteer's specific assignment; 
 c.  archaeological and cultural ethics and law; 
 d.  archaeological methods and expectations of volunteer 
service; and 
 e.  agency point-of-contact and vandalism reporting 
procedures (pursuant to R455-17). 
 C.  Training will be of an appropriate duration to cover 
above topics. 
 
R455-16-4.  Certification of Volunteers. 
 A.  After successful completion of the training program as 
established by the Division, its agency partners, and the description 
in Section R455-16-2, the volunteer will sign appropriate forms, 
including the Volunteer Services Agreement, Code of Ethics, and 
Photographic Release. 
 B.  The Division shall retain a copy of these agreements for 
the duration of the volunteer's service. 
 
R455-16-5.  De-Certification of Volunteers. 
 A.  If a volunteer quits the Utah Cultural Site Stewardship 
Program at any time, the volunteer will lose certification upon such 
termination of service and must return any training or archaeological 
site location information obtained through the Utah Cultural Site 
Stewardship Program. 
 B.  If a volunteer has been convicted of a crime under the 
"Cultural Sites Protection Act" under Section 76-6-903, the Division 
may de-certify that volunteer. 
 C.  If a volunteer has been convicted of a civil or criminal 
penalty under the federal Archeological Resources Protection Act, 
under Section 16 U.S.C 470, the Division may de-certify that 
volunteer. 
 D.  If a volunteer has otherwise breached a provision of the 
Volunteer Services Agreement or Code of Ethics the Division may 
terminate and de-certify the volunteer. 
 
R455-16-6.  Documentation of Volunteer Hours and Supervision 
of Volunteers. 
 A.  The Division shall require a volunteer to document the 
hours donated by the volunteer. 
 B.  The Division shall ensure that volunteers are adequately 
supervised for the work they are asked to perform. Supervisors may  
 

include, Division personnel, federal or state agency personnel, and 
archaeologists holding a Public Lands Policy Coordinating Office 
Principal Investigator permit. 
 
KEY:  cultural stewardship, archaeology, volunteers, public 
lands 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  9-8-208 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R455-17 Filing No. 
53298 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Heritage and Arts 
Agency: History 
Room no.: 218 
Building: Rio Grande Depot 
Street address: 300 S Rio Grande St 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Christopher W. 
Merritt 

801-
245-
7263 

cmerritt@utah.gov 

Alycia Rowley 801-
245-
7263 

aaldrich@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R455-17.  Cultural Site Stewardship Program Vandalism 
Reporting Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Under the authority of Section 9-8-208 the Utah Division of 
State History (Division) will create and maintain a Cultural 
Site Stewardship Program.  This rule provides procedures 
on how the Division will report vandalism of a cultural site 
to the appropriate land-managing authority. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule outlines the procedures that the Division will 
employ when volunteers or Division staff identify an 
archaeological or cultural site has been vandalized since 
a previous site stewardship visit and protocols for in-
progress vandalism discoveries. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
None--The rule establishes rules for reporting vandalism.  
It does not require any expenditures. 
 
B) Local governments: 

None--The rule establishes how vandalism should be 
reported.  It does not require any action or expenditures 
from local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None--This rule does not apply to small businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--This rule does not apply to non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--This rule does not financially impact persons. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

None--This rule does not have any compliance costs. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Heritage and 
Arts, Jill Love, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
No impact on businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Jill Love, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 9-8-208   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
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Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Josh Loftin, 
Communications 
Director 

Date: 01/25/2021 

 
R455.  Utah Division of State History. 
R455-17.  Cultural Site Stewardship Program Vandalism 
Reporting Procedures. 
R455-17-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 Under the authority of Section 9-8-208 the Utah Division 
of State History shall create and maintain a Cultural Site Stewardship 
Program (the “Program”).  This rule provides procedures on how the 
Division shall report vandalism of a cultural site to the appropriate 
land-managing authority. 
 
R455-17-2.  Definitions. 
 All definitions in this Rule are found within UCA 9-8-
208(1) and its subparts. 
 
R455-17-3.  Vandalism Reporting Responsibilities. 
 Under Section 9-8-208, the Division and its volunteers 
under the Utah Cultural Site Stewardship Program have a 
responsibility to report vandalism to appropriate land managing 
authority. 
 A.  Safety of volunteers and staff is of primary concern, 
thus any act of vandalism either in the past or in-progress shall be 
reported to appropriate land managing agencies by Program staff or 
volunteers promptly. 
 B.  Each federal or state agency participating in the 
Program will maintain an active point-of-contact at the agency for 
reports of vandalism. 
 C.  Each Program volunteer and staff shall provide a report 
of vandalism to the appropriate land managing agency point-of-
contact in a timely fashion.  The report may include written 
description, photographs, and locational information. 
 D.  A copy of the report shall be provided to the Utah 
Cultural Site Stewardship Program Coordinator or designee at the 
Utah Division of State History. 
 
R455-17-4.  Records. 
 A.  The Division shall maintain records of any reported 
vandalism and make those reports available to the appropriate land 
managing agency point-of-contact upon request. 
 B.  Records of vandalism may not be publicly accessible if 
they contain private, controlled, or protected information about 
archaeological site locations, consistent with Government Records 
and Management Act under Section Utah Code 63G-2-3. 
 
KEY:  cultural stewardship, vandalism, public lands, 
preservation 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  9-8-208 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R649-1 Filing No. 
53303 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 1210 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 1210 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Natasha Ballif 801-

538-
5328 

natashaballif@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R649-1.  Oil and Gas Definitions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
During the 2020 General Session, S.B. 148 was passed, 
which modifies the process for imposing and collecting 
administrative penalties and causes the current Oil and 
Gas rules to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Section R649-1-1 establishes the definitions for the Oil 
and Gas Program.  "Willful Violation" is a new term added 
to the definitions. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is a total of one state agency, the Division of Oil, 
Gas and Mining (Division), that will be associated with this 
proposed rule change.  There is no estimated cost to the 
state as these amendments are administrative. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule does not apply to local governments. 
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C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There are 303 small business oil and gas operators (for a 
complete listing of North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) codes used in this analysis, please 
contact the agency) in the .  There will be an estimated 
fiscal cost to oil and gas operators who receive a Division 
enforcement order, however, it cannot be estimated how 
many oil and gas operators will receive a Division 
enforcement order or the class of violation committed. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are a total of 4 non-small business oil and gas 
operators (for a complete listing of NAICS codes used in 
this analysis, please contact the agency) in the .  There will 
be an estimated fiscal cost to oil and gas operators who 
receive a Division enforcement order, however, it cannot 
be estimated how many oil and gas operators will receive 
a Division enforcement order or the class of violation 
committed. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will not affect persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There will be no compliance costs for oil and gas 
operators. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Brian Steed, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This rule change is estimated to have a fiscal cost to oil 
and gas operators who are in violation and receive a 
Division enforcement order, however, the number of 
violations and the violation classes cannot be estimated. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Brian Steed; Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 
40-6-1 et seq. 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 
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10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

John Baza, 
Director 

Date: 01/29/2021 

 
R649.  Natural Resources; Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas. 
R649-1.  Oil and Gas Definitions. 
R649-1-1.  Definitions. 
 "Authorized Agent" means a representative of the director as 
authorized by the board. 
 "Aquifer" means a geological formation including a group of 
formations or part of a formation that is capable of yielding a significant 
amount of water to a well or spring. 
 "Application for Permit to Drill, Deepen or Plug Back" or 
"APD" means the Form 3 submission required under Section R649-3-4 
with the division. 
 "Artificial Liner" means a pit liner made of material other than 
clay or other in-situ material [and ]that meets the requirements of 
Section R649-9-3, Permitting of Disposal Pits. 
 "Authority for Expenditure" or "AFE" is a detailed written 
statement made in good faith by an operator memorializing the total 
estimated costs to be incurred in the drilling, testing, completion and 
equipping of a well for oil and gas operations. 
 "Barrel" means 42 gallons at 60 degrees Fahrenheit at 
atmospheric pressure. 
 "Board" means the Board of Oil, Gas and Mining. 
 "Carrier, Transporter or Taker" means any person moving or 
transporting oil or gas away from a well or lease or from any pool. 
 "Casing Pressure" means the pressure within the casing or 
between the casing and tubing at the wellhead. 
 "Central Disposal Facility" means a facility that is used by one 
or more producers for disposal of exempt E and P wastes and that the 
operator of the facility receives no monetary remuneration, other than 
operating cost sharing. 
 "Class II Injection Well" means a well that is used for: 
 1.  the disposal of fluids that are brought to the surface in 
connection with conventional oil or natural gas production and that may 
be commingled with wastewater produced from the operation of a gas 
plant that is an integral part of production operations, unless that 
wastewater is classified as a hazardous waste at the time of injection; 
 2.  enhanced recovery of oil or gas; or 
 3.  storage of hydrocarbons that are liquids at standard 
temperature and pressure conditions. 
 "Closed System" means the use of a combination of solids 
control equipment including a shale shaker, flowline cleaner, desanders, 
desilters, mud cleaners, centrifuges, agitators, and any necessary pumps 
and piping incorporated in a series on the rig's steel mud tanks, or a self 
contained unit that eliminates the use of a reserve pit to dump and dilute 
drilling fluids for the removal of entrained drill solids.  A closed system 
for the purpose of these rules may with Division approval include the 

use of a small pit to receive cuttings, but does not include the use of 
trenches for the collection of fluids of any kind. 
 "Coalbed Methane" means natural gas that is produced, or 
may be produced, from a coalbed and rock strata associated with the 
coalbed. 
 "Commercial Disposal Facility" means a disposal well, pit or 
treatment facility whose owner or operator receives compensation from 
others for the temporary storage, treatment, and disposal of produced 
water, drilling fluids, drill cuttings, completion fluids, and any other 
exempt E and P wastes, and whose primary business objective is to 
provide these services. 
 "Completion of a Well" means that the well has been 
adequately worked to be capable of producing oil or gas or that well 
testing as required by the division has been concluded. 
 "Confining Strata" refers to a body of material that is 
relatively impervious to the passage of liquid or gas and that occurs 
either below, above, or lateral to a more permeable material in such a 
way that it confines or limits the movement of liquids or gases that may 
be present. 
 "Correlative Rights" means the opportunity of each owner in 
a pool to produce his just and equitable share of the oil and gas in the 
pool without waste. 
 "Cubic Foot" of gas means the volume of gas contained in one 
cubic foot of space at a standard pressure base of 14.73 psia and a 
standard temperature base of 60 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 "Day" means a period of 24 consecutive hours. 
 "Development Wells" means any oil and gas producing wells 
other than wildcat wells. 
 "Director" means the executive and administrative head of the 
division. 
 "Disposal Facility" means an injection well, pit, treatment 
facility or combination thereof that receives E and P Wastes for the 
purpose of disposal.  This includes both commercial and noncommercial 
facilities. 
 "Disposal Pit" means a lined or unlined pit approved for the 
disposal or storage of E and P Wastes. 
 "Division" means the Division of Oil, Gas and Mining. 
 "Drilling Fluid" means a circulating fluid usually called mud, 
that is introduced in a drill hole to lubricate the action of the rotary bit, 
remove the drilling cuttings, and control formation pressures. 
 "E and P Waste" means Exploration and Production Waste, 
and is defined as waste resulting from the drilling of and production 
from an oil and gas well as determined by the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA), prior to January 1, 1992, to be exempt from Subtitle C 
of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA). 
 "Emergency Pit" means a pit used for containing any fluid at 
an operating well during an actual emergency or for a temporary period 
of time. 
 "Enhanced Recovery" means the process of introducing fluid 
or energy into a pool for the purpose of increasing the recovery of 
hydrocarbons from the pool. 
 "Enhanced Recovery Project" means the injection of liquids 
or hydrocarbon or non-hydrocarbon gases directly into a reservoir for 
the purpose of augmenting reservoir energy, modifying the properties of 
the fluids or gases in the reservoir, or changing the reservoir conditions 
to increase the recoverable oil, gas, or oil and gas through the joint use 
of two or more well bores. 
 "Entity" means a well or a group of wells that have identical 
division of interest, have the same operator, produce from the same 
formation, have product sales from a common tank, LACT meter, gas 
meter, or are in the same participating area of a properly designated unit. 
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Entity number assignments are made by the division in cooperation with 
other state government agencies. 
 "Field" means the general area underlaid by one or more 
pools. 
 "Gas" means natural gas or natural gas liquids or other gas or 
any mixture thereof defined as follows: 
 1.  "Natural Gas" means those hydrocarbons, other than oil 
and other than natural gas liquids separated from natural gas, that occur 
naturally in the gaseous phase in the reservoir and are produced and 
recovered at the wellhead in gaseous form.  Natural gas includes coalbed 
methane. 
 2.  "Natural Gas Liquids" means those hydrocarbons initially 
in reservoir natural gas, regardless of gravity, that are separated in gas 
processing plants from the natural gas as liquids at the surface through 
the process of condensation, absorption, adsorption, or other methods. 
 3.  "Other Gas" means hydrogen sulfide (H2S), carbon dioxide 
(CO2), helium (He), nitrogen (N), and other nonhydrocarbon gases that 
occur naturally in the gaseous phase in the reservoir or are injected into 
the reservoir in connection with pressure maintenance, gas cycling, or 
other secondary or enhanced recovery projects. 
 "Gas-Oil Ratio" means the ratio of the number of cubic feet 
of natural gas produced to the number of barrels of oil concurrently 
produced during any stated period.  The term GOR is synonymous with 
gas-oil ratio. 
 "Gas Processing Plant" means a facility in which liquefiable 
hydrocarbons are removed from natural gas, including wet gas or 
casinghead gas, and the remaining residue gas is conditioned for 
delivery for sale, recycling or other use. 
 "Gas Well" means any well capable of producing gas in 
substantial quantities that is not an oil well. 
 "Ground Water" means water in a zone of saturation below 
the ground surface. 
 "Hearing" means any matter heard before the board or its 
designated hearing examiner. 
 "Horizontal Well" means a well bore drilled laterally at an 
angle of at least [eighty (]80[)] degrees to the vertical or with a 
horizontal projection exceeding one hundred feet measured from the 
initial point of penetration into the productive formation through the 
terminus of the lateral in the same common source of supply. 
 "Illegal Oil or Illegal Gas" means oil or gas that has been 
produced from any well within the state in violation of Title 40, Chapter 
6, or any rule or order of the board. 
 "Illegal Product" means any product derived in whole or in 
part from illegal oil or illegal gas. 
 "Incremental Production" means that part of production that 
is achieved from an enhanced recovery project that would not have 
economically occurred under the reservoir conditions existing before the 
project and that has been approved by the division as incremental 
production. 
 "Injection or Disposal Well" means any Class II Injection 
Well used for the injection of air, gas, water or other substance into any 
underground stratum. 
 "Interest Owner" means a person owning an interest, which 
may include working interest, royalty interest, payment out of 
production, or any other interest, in oil or gas, or in the proceeds thereof. 
 "Joint Operating Agreement" or "JOA" is an agreement for 
the exploration, development, and production for oil, gas or other 
minerals between parties entitled to participate pursuant to the 
ownership of said minerals or leaseholds covering said minerals, which 
are subject to the contract area, which may be inclusive of a drilling unit, 
described therein. 

 "Load Oil" means any oil or liquid hydrocarbon that is used 
in any remedial operation in an oil or gas well. 
 "Log or Well Log" means the written record progressively 
describing the strata, water, oil or gas encountered in drilling a well with 
such additional information as is usually recorded in the normal 
procedure of drilling including electrical, radioactivity, or other similar 
conventional logs, a lithologic description of samples and drill stem test 
information. 
 "Multiple Zone Completion" means a well completion in 
which two or more separate zones, mechanically segregated one from 
the other, are produced simultaneously from the same well. 
 "Notice of Opportunity to Participate" means the written 
notice of opportunity to participate in a well for oil and gas operations 
required under Subsection 40-6-2(4) and (12) to be provided to an owner 
and which includes an offer to lease if the owner is an unleased owner, 
and an offer for the owner to directly participate financially, in 
proportion to the owner's interest in the drilling, testing, completion, 
equipping and operation of the subject well and which includes: 
 1.  the approximate surface and, bottom hole location of the 
subject well by county, township, range, section, quarter-quarter section 
or substantially equivalent lot, and footages from directional section 
lines; 
 2.  the proposed well name; 
 3.  the proposed total distance from the surface of the ground 
to the terminus measured along the vertical and lateral components if 
the well is a horizontal well; 
 4.  the proposed total depth; 
 5.  the objective productive zone and the approximate depth 
and locations of producing intervals in the borehole; 
 6.  the approximate date upon which the subject well was or 
will be spud; 
 7.  a joint operating agreement proposed in good faith by the 
operator for operation of the drilling unit upon which the subject well is 
to be drilled; 
 8.  an AFE for the subject well; 
 9.  a statement that a refusal to agree to either lease or 
participate in the subject well may result in the imposition of the 
statutory risk compensation award allowed under Subsection 40-6-
6.5(4)(d)(i)(D) of between 150% and 400% as determined by the board; 
and 
 10.  a statement that any initial compulsory pooling order may 
apply to subsequent wells within the drilling unit including any statutory 
risk compensation award imposed under Utah law pursuant to 
Subsection 40-6-6.5(12). 
 "Oil" means crude oil or condensate or any mixture thereof, 
defined as follows: 
 1.  "Crude Oil" means those hydrocarbons, regardless of 
gravity, that occur naturally in the liquid phase in the reservoir and are 
produced and recovered at the wellhead in liquid form. 
 2.  "Condensate" means those hydrocarbons, regardless of 
gravity, that occur naturally in the gaseous phase in the reservoir that are 
separated from the natural gas as liquids through the process of 
condensation either in the reservoir, in the well bore or at the surface in 
field separators. 
 3.  "Oil and Gas" shall not include gaseous or liquid 
substances derived from coal, oil shale, tar sands or other hydrocarbons 
classified as synthetic fuel. 
 "Oil and Gas Field" means a geographical area overlying an 
oil and gas pool. 
 "Oil Well" means any well capable of producing oil in 
substantial quantities. 
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 "Operator" means the person who has been designated by the 
owners or the board to operate a well or unit. 
 "Operatorship" means the exclusive right, privilege and 
obligation of exercising any rights granted by the owners or the board to 
act as operator of a well or drilling unit which rights are necessary and 
effective for prospecting for, producing, storing, allocating and 
distributing oil and gas extracted from a well or a drilling unit. 
 "Owner" means the person who has the right to drill into and 
produce from a reservoir and to appropriate the oil and gas that they 
produce, either for themselves and others. 
 "Person" means and includes any natural person, bodies 
politic and corporate, partnerships, associations and companies. 
 "Pit" means an earthen surface impoundment constructed to 
retain fluids and oil field wastes. 
 "Pollution" means such contamination or other alteration of 
the physical, chemical or biological properties of any waters of the state, 
or the discharge of any liquid, gaseous or solid substance into any waters 
of the state in such manner as will create a nuisance or render such 
waters harmful, detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety or 
welfare; to domestic, commercial, industrial, agricultural, recreational, 
or other legitimate beneficial uses; or to livestock, wild animals, birds, 
fish or other aquatic life. 
 "Pool" means an underground reservoir containing a common 
accumulation of oil or gas or both.  Each zone of a general structure that 
is completely separated from any other zone in the structure is a separate 
pool. "Common source of supply" and "reservoir" are synonymous with 
"pool." 
 "Preparation for Drilling" means: 
 1.  mobilization of drilling equipment; or 
 2.  erecting a drilling rig; or 
 3.  diligently engaging in other work necessary to prepare the 
well site, including commencement of access road and pad construction. 
 "Pressure Maintenance" means the injection of gas, water or 
other fluids into a reservoir, either to increase or maintain the existing 
pressure in such reservoir or to retard the natural decline in the reservoir 
pressure. 
 "Produced Water" means water produced in conjunction with 
the conventional production of oil or gas. 
 "Producer" means the owner or operator of a well capable of 
producing oil or gas. 
 "Producing Well" means a well capable of producing oil or 
gas. 
 "Product" means any commodity made from oil and gas. 
 "Production Facilities" means any storage, separation, 
treating, dehydration, artificial lift, power supply, compression, 
pumping, metering, monitoring, flowline, and other equipment directly 
associated with oil wells, gas wells or injection wells, prior to any 
processing plant or refinery. 
 "Purchaser or Transporter" means any person who, acting 
alone or jointly with any other person, by means of his own, an affiliated, 
or designated carrier, transporter or taker, shall directly or indirectly 
purchase, take or transport by any means whatsoever, or who shall 
otherwise remove from any well or lease, oil or gas produced from any 
pool, excepting royalty portions of oil or gas taken in kind by an interest 
owner who is not the operator. 
 "Recompletion" means any completion in a new perforated 
interval or pool within an established wellbore and approved as a 
recompletion by the division. 
 "Refinery" means a facility, other than a gas processing plant, 
where controlled operations are performed by which the physical and 
chemical characteristics of petroleum or petroleum products are 
changed. 

 "Reserve Pit" means a pit used to retain fluid during the 
drilling, completion, and testing of a well. 
 "Seismic Operator" means a person who conducts seismic 
exploration for oil or gas, whether for themselves or as a contractor for 
others. 
 "Shut-in Well" means a well that is completed, is shown to be 
capable of production in paying quantities, and is not presently being 
operated. 
 "Spud In" means the first boring of a hole in the drilling of a 
well by any type of rig. 
 "State" means the State of Utah. 
 "Stratigraphic Test or Core Hole" means any hole drilled for 
the sole purpose of obtaining geological information.  The general rules 
applicable to the drilling of a well will apply to the drilling of a 
stratigraphic test or core hole. 
 "Temporarily Abandoned Well" means a well that is 
completed, is shown not capable of production in paying quantities, and 
is not presently being operated. 
 "Temporary Spacing Unit" means a specified area of land 
designated by the board for purposes of determining well density and 
location.  A temporary spacing unit shall not be a drilling unit as 
provided for in Section 40-6-6, Drilling Units, and does not provide a 
basis for pooling the interest therein as does a drilling unit. 
 "Underground Source of Drinking Water" (USDW) means a 
fresh water aquifer or a portion thereof that supplies drinking water for 
human consumption or that contains less than 10,000 mg/1 total 
dissolved solids and that is not an exempted aquifer under Section R649-
5-4. 
 "Waste" means: 
 1.  The inefficient, excessive or improper use or the 
unnecessary dissipation of oil or gas or reservoir energy. 
 2.  The inefficient storing of oil or gas. 
 3.  The locating, drilling, equipping, operating, or producing 
of any oil or gas well in a manner that causes reduction in the quantity 
of oil or gas ultimately recoverable from a reservoir under prudent and 
economical operations, or that causes unnecessary wells to be drilled, or 
that causes the loss or destruction of oil or gas either at the surface or 
subsurface. 
 4.  The production of oil or gas in excess of: 
 4.1.  Transportation or storage facilities. 
 4.2.  The amount reasonably required to be produced in the 
proper drilling, completing, testing, or operating of a well or otherwise 
utilized on the lease from which it is produced. 
 5.  Underground or above ground waste in the production or 
storage of oil or gas. 
 "Waste Crude Oil Treatment Facility" means any facility or 
site constructed or used for the purpose of wholly or partially reclaiming, 
treating, processing, cleaning, purifying or in any manner making non-
merchantable waste crude oil marketable. 
 "Well" means an oil or gas well, injection or disposal well, or 
a hole drilled for the purpose of producing oil or gas or both. The 
definition of well shall not include water wells, or seismic, stratigraphic 
test, core hole, or other exploratory holes drilled for the purpose of 
obtaining geological information only. 
 "Well Site" means the areas that are directly disturbed during 
the drilling and subsequent use of, or affected by production facilities 
directly associated with any oil well, gas well or injection well. 
 "Wildcat Wells" means oil and gas producing wells that are 
drilled and completed in a pool in which a well has not been previously 
completed as a well capable of producing in commercial quantities. 
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 "Willful Violation" means any action or inaction done with 
conscious objective or desire to engage in the action or inaction that a 
reasonably prudent person would know is likely to cause a violation. 
 "Working Interest Owner" means the owner of an interest in 
oil or gas burdened with a share of the expenses of developing and 
operating the property. 
 "Workover" means any operation designed to sustain, to 
restore, or to increase the production rate, the ultimate recovery, or the 
reservoir pressure system of a well or group of wells and approved as a 
workover, a secondary recovery, a tertiary recovery, or a pressure 
maintenance project by the division.  The definition shall not include 
operations that are conducted principally as routine maintenance or the 
replacement of worn or damaged equipment. 
 
KEY:  oil and gas law 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[July 27, 
2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 26, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  40-6-1 et seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R649-10 Filing No. 
53306 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 1210 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 1210 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Natasha Ballif 801-

538-
5328 

natashaballif@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R649-10.  Administrative Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
During the 2020 General Session, S.B. 148 was passed, 
which modifies the process for imposing and collecting 
administrative penalties and causes the current Oil and 
Gas rules to be amended. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Rule R649-10 establishes the Oil and Gas Program's 
Administrative Procedures.  A new citation is added to 
Section R649-10-1, Section R649-10-6 gains clarification 
of written and final orders, and Section R649-10-8 clarifies 
the exhaustion of administrative remedies. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is a total of one state agency, the Division of Oil, 
Gas and Mining (Division), that will be associated with this 
proposed rule change.  There is no estimated cost to the 
state as these amendments are administrative. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule does not apply to local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There are 303 small business oil and gas operators (for a 
complete listing of North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) codes used in this analysis, please 
contact the agency) in the .  There will be an estimated 
fiscal cost to oil and gas operators who receive a Division 
enforcement order, however, it cannot be estimated how 
many oil and gas operators will receive a Division 
enforcement order or the class of violation committed. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are a total of 4 non-small business oil and gas 
operators (for a complete listing of NAICS codes used in 
this analysis, please contact the agency) in the .  There will 
be an estimated fiscal cost to oil and gas operators who 
receive a Division enforcement order, however, it cannot 
be estimated how many oil and gas operators will receive 
a Division enforcement order or the class of violation 
committed. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will not affect persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There will be no compliance costs for oil and gas 
operators. 
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G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Brian Steed, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This rule change is estimated to have a fiscal cost to oil 
and gas operators who are in violation and receive a 
Division enforcement order, however, the number of 
violations and the violation classes cannot be estimated. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Brian Steed; Executive Director 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 
40-6-1 et seq. 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

John Baza, 
Director 

Date: 01/29/2021 

 
R649.  Natural Resources; Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas. 
R649-10.  Administrative Procedures. 
R649-10-1.  Designation of Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 1.  Adjudicative proceedings [which]that shall be conducted 
informally before the division in accordance with these rules are [all]any 
actions prescribed by the Oil and Gas Conservation General Rules as 
being specifically under the division's authority and jurisdiction 
including:  R649-2 General Rules; R649-3 Drilling and Operating 
Practices; R649-5 Underground Injection Control of Recovery 
Operations and Class II Injection Wells; R649-6 Gas Processing and 
Waste Crude Oil Treatment; R649-8 Reporting and Report Forms; 
R649-9 Disposal of Produced Water; R649-11 Administrative Penalties. 
 2.  Prior to the issuance of a final order in any adjudicative 
proceeding, the presiding officer may convert an informal proceeding to 
a formal adjudicative proceeding if: 
 2.1.  Conversion of the proceeding is in the public interest. 
 2.2.  Conversion of the proceeding does not unfairly prejudice 
the rights of any party. 
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 3.  Informal adjudicative proceedings shall be commenced 
and conducted in accordance with these rules and [the provisions of ]the 
applicable Oil and Gas Conservation General Rules.  In case of conflict 
between these rules and the Oil and Gas Conservation General Rules, 
these rules shall govern the informal adjudicative proceedings. 
 
R649-10-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in these rules: 
 1.  "Adjudicative proceeding" means an agency action or 
proceeding that determines the legal rights, duties, privileges, 
immunities, or other legal interests of one or more identifiable persons, 
including [all]any agency actions to grant, deny, revoke, suspend, 
modify, annul, withdraw, or amend an authority, right, or license; and 
judicial review of [all]any of such actions. 
 2.  "Agency" means the Board of Oil, Gas and Mining and the 
Division of Oil, Gas and Mining including the director or division 
employees acting on behalf of or under the authority of the director or 
board. 
 3.  "Agency head" means an individual or body of individuals 
in whom the ultimate legal authority of the agency is vested by statute. 
 4.  "Board" means the Board of Oil, Gas and Mining. 
 5.  "Division" means the Division of Oil, Gas and Mining. 
 6.  "License" means a franchise, permit, certification, 
approval, registration, charter, or similar form of authorization required 
by statute. 
 7.  "Party" means the board, division, or other person 
commencing an adjudicative proceeding, [all]any respondents, [all]any 
persons permitted by the board to intervene in the proceeding, and 
[all]any persons authorized by statute or agency rule to participate as 
parties in an adjudicative proceeding. 
 8.  "Person" means an individual, group of individuals, 
partnership, corporation, association, political subdivision or its units, 
governmental subdivision or its units, public or private organization or 
entity of any character, or another agency. 
 9.  "Presiding Officer" means an agency head, or an individual 
or body of individuals designated by the agency head, by the agency's 
rules, or by statute to conduct an adjudicative proceeding.  [For the 
purpose of these rules, t]The board, or its appointed hearing examiner, 
shall be considered the presiding officer of [all]any appeals or informal 
adjudicative proceedings [which]that is commenced before the division 
as well as [all]any adjudicative proceeding[s] [which]that is commenced 
before the board.  The director or his designated agent shall be 
considered a presiding officer for [all]any informal adjudicative 
proceedings [which]that is commenced before the division.  If fairness 
to the parties is not compromised, an agency may substitute one 
presiding officer for another during any proceeding. 
 10.  "Respondent" means any person against whom an 
adjudicative proceeding is initiated whether by an agency or any other 
person. 
 
R649-10-3.  Commencement of Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 1.  Except for emergency orders, [all]any informal 
adjudicative proceeding[s] shall be commenced by: 
 1.1.  A Notice of Agency Action, if proceedings are 
commenced by the board or division; or 
 1.2.  A Request for Agency Action, if proceedings are 
commenced by persons other than the board or division. 
 2.  A Notice of Agency Action shall be filed and served 
according to the following requirements: 
 2.1.  The Notice of Agency Action shall be in writing and shall 
be signed by a presiding officer and shall include: 

 2.1.1.  The names and mailing addresses of [all]any person[s] 
to whom notice is being given by the presiding officer, and the name, 
title, and mailing address of any attorney or employee who has been 
designated to appear for the agency. 
 2.1.2.  The division's file number or other reference number. 
 2.1.3.  The name of the adjudicative proceeding. 
 2.1.4.  The date that the Notice of Agency Action was mailed. 
 2.1.5.  A statement that the adjudicative proceeding is to be 
conducted informally according to the provision of these rules and 
Sections 63G-4-202 and 63G-4-203 if applicable. 
 2.1.6.  A statement that the parties may request an informal 
hearing before the division within ten days, or such later period as may 
be provided for in the Oil and Gas Conservation General Rules, of the 
date of mailing or publication. 
 2.1.7.  A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under 
which the adjudicative proceeding is to be maintained. 
 2.1.8.  The name, title, mailing address, and telephone number 
of the presiding officer. 
 2.1.9.  A statement of the purpose of the adjudicative 
proceeding and, to the extent known by the presiding officer, the 
questions to be decided. 
 2.2.  The Division shall: 
 2.2.1.  Mail the Notice of Agency Action to each party and 
any other person who has a right to notice under statute or rule. 
 2.2.2.  Publish the Notice of Agency Action as required by 
statute or by the Oil and Gas Conservation General Rules. 
 2.2.3.  Post a copy of the notice in a public area in the main 
office of the division at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 
agency proceeding. 
 2.3.  A Request for Agency Action initiated by a person other 
than the board or the division shall be in writing and signed by the person 
seeking action by the agency or by his representative, and shall include: 
 2.3.1.  The names and addresses of [all]any persons to whom 
a copy of the request for agency action is being sent. 
 2.3.2.  The agency's file number or other reference number, if 
known. 
 2.3.3.  The date that the request for agency action was mailed. 
 2.3.4.  A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under 
which the agency action is requested. 
 2.3.5.  A statement of the relief or action sought from the 
division. 
 2.3.6.  A statement of the facts and reasons forming the basis 
for relief or action. 
 2.4.  The person requesting agency action shall file the request 
with the division and shall send a copy by mail to each person known to 
have a direct interest in the requested agency action unless previously 
waived in writing by each person entitled to receive notice of the 
requested agency action. 
 2.5.  The person requesting the agency action may use the 
division forms as specified in the Oil and Gas Conservation General 
Rules as a request for agency action. 
 2.6.  The presiding officer shall promptly review a Request 
for Agency Action and shall: 
 2.6.1.  Notify the requesting party in writing whether the 
request is granted and when the adjudicative proceeding is completed; 
 2.6.2.  Notify the requesting party in writing that the request 
is denied; or 
 2.6.3.  Notify the requesting party that further proceedings are 
required to determine the agency's response to the request. 
 2.7.  The division shall mail any required notice to [all]any 
parties, except that any notice required by R649-10-3-2.6 may be 
published when publication is required by statute. 
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 2.7.1.  Give the division's file number or other reference 
number. 
 2.7.2.  Give the name of the proceeding. 
 2.7.3.  Designate that the proceeding is to be conducted 
informally according to [the provisions of ]these rules and Sections 
63G-4-202 and 63G-4-203 if applicable. 
 2.7.4.  If a hearing is to be held in an informal adjudicative 
proceeding, state the time and place of any scheduled hearing, the 
purpose for which the hearing is to be held, and that a party who fails to 
attend or participate in a scheduled and noticed hearing may be held in 
default. 
 2.7.5.  If the adjudicative proceeding is to be informal, and a 
hearing is required by statute or rule, or if a hearing is permitted by rule 
and may be requested by a party with the time prescribed by rule, state 
the parties' right to request a hearing and the time within which a hearing 
may be requested under the agency's rules. 
 2.7.6.  Give the name, title, mailing address, and telephone 
number of the presiding officer. 
 
R649-10-4.  Procedures for Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 1.  Procedures for informal adjudicative proceedings should 
include the following: 
 1.1.  Unless the agency by rule provides for and requires a 
response, no answer or other pleading responsive to the allegations 
contained in the notice of agency action or the request for agency action 
need be filed. 
 1.2.  The agency shall hold a hearing if a hearing is requested 
within ten days or such later period as may be provided for in the Oil 
and Gas Conservation General Rules. 
 1.3.  In any hearing, the parties named in the Notice of Agency 
Action or in the Request for Agency Action shall be permitted to testify, 
present evidence, and comment on the issues. 
 1.4.  Hearings will be held only after timely notice to [all]each 
part[ies]y. 
 1.5.  Discovery is prohibited, but the agency may issue 
subpoenas or other orders to compel production of necessary evidence. 
 1.6.  [All]Any parties shall have access to information 
contained in the agency's files and to [all]any materials and information 
gathered in any investigation, to the extent permitted by law. 
 1.7.  Intervention is prohibited, except where a federal statute 
or rule requires that a state permit intervention. 
 1.8.  [All]Each hearing[s] shall be open to [all]any part[ies]y. 
 1.9.  Within a reasonable time after the close of an informal 
adjudicative proceeding, the presiding officer shall issue a signed order 
in writing that states the following: 
 1.9.1.  The decision. 
 1.9.2.  The reasons for the decision. 
 1.9.3.  A notice of any right of administrative or judicial 
review available to the parties. 
 1.9.4.  A statement that the filing of an appeal or the requesting 
of a review shall be accomplished within 30 days of the issuance of the 
order. 
 1.10.  The presiding officer's order shall be based on the facts 
appearing in the agency's files and on the facts presented in evidence at 
any hearings. 
 1.11.  A copy of the presiding officer's order shall be promptly 
mailed to each of the parties and to [all]any persons who request a copy. 
 2.1.  The agency may record any hearing. 
 2.2.  Any party, at his own expense, may have a reporter, 
approved by the agency, prepare a transcript from the agency's record of 
the hearing. 

 3.0.  Nothing in this section restricts or precludes any 
investigative right or power given to an agency by another statute. 
 
R649-10-5.  Default In An Informal Proceeding. 
 1.  The presiding officer may enter an order of default against: 
 1.1.  A party in an informal adjudicative proceeding if after 
proper notice the party fails to participate in the informal adjudicative 
proceeding. 
 2.0.  An order of default shall include a statement of the 
grounds for default and shall be mailed to [all]each part[ies]y. 
 3.1.  A defaulted party may seek to have the agency set aside 
the default order, and any order in the adjudicative proceeding issued 
subsequent to the default order, by following the procedures outlined in 
the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 3.2.  A motion to set aside a default and any subsequent order 
shall be made to the presiding officer. 
 3.3.  A defaulted party may seek board review under R649-
10-6 only on the decision of the presiding officer on the motion to set 
aside the default. 
 4.0.  In an adjudicative proceeding commenced by the agency, 
or in an adjudicative proceeding commenced by a party that has other 
parties besides the party in default, the presiding officer shall, after 
issuing the order of default, conduct any further proceeding without the 
participation of the party in default and shall determine [all]any issue[s] 
in the adjudicative proceeding, including those affecting the defaulting 
party. 
 5.0.  In an adjudicative proceeding that has no parties other 
than the agency and the party(ies) in default, the presiding officer may, 
after issuing the order(s) of default, dismiss the proceeding. 
 
R649-10-6.  Appeal of Final Order of the Division[ Order]. 
 1.  A request for review of a[n] final order issued by the 
division shall be filed with the secretary to the Board within 30 days of 
issuance of the order and: 
 1.1.  Be signed by the party seeking review. 
 1.2.  State the grounds for review and the relief requested. 
 1.3.  State the date [upon which ]it was mailed. 
 1.4.  Be sent by mail to the presiding officer and to each party. 
 2.  Within 15 days of the mailing date of request for review, 
or within the time period provided by agency rule, whichever is longer, 
any party may file a response with the board.  One copy of the response 
shall be sent by mail to each of the parties and to the presiding officer. 
 3.  The board shall review the final order of the division within 
a reasonable time or within the time required by statute or the agency's 
rules. 
 4.  To assist in review, the board may by order or rule permit 
the parties to file briefs or other papers, or to conduct oral argument. 
 5.  Notice of hearings on review shall be mailed to [all]each 
part[ies]y. 
 6.1.  Within a reasonable time after the filing of any response, 
other filings, or oral argument, or within the time required by statute or 
applicable rules, the board shall issue a written order on review. 
 6.2.  The written order on review shall be signed by the board 
chairman or by a person designated by the board for that purpose and 
shall be mailed to each party. 
 6.3.  The written order on review shall contain: 
 6.3.1.  A designation of the statute or rule permitting or 
requiring review. 
 6.3.2.  A statement of the issues reviewed. 
 6.3.3.  Findings of fact as to each of the issues reviewed. 
 6.3.4.  Conclusions of law as to each of the issues reviewed. 
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 6.3.5.  The reasons for the disposition. 
 6.3.6.  Whether the decision of the presiding officer or agency 
is to be affirmed, reversed, or modified, and whether [all or ]any portion 
of the adjudicative proceeding is to be remanded. 
 6.3.7.  A notice of any right of further administrative 
reconsideration or judicial review available to aggrieved parties. 
 6.3.8.  The time limits applicable to any appeal or review. 
 
R649-10-7.  Emergency Orders. 
 Notwithstanding the other provisions of these rules, the 
director or any member of the board is authorized to issue an emergency 
order without notice and hearing in accordance with Section 40-6-10.  
The emergency order shall remain in effect no longer than until the next 
regular meeting of the board, or such shorter period of time as shall be 
prescribed by statute. 
 1.  An emergency order may be issued if: 
 1.1.  The facts known by or presented to the director or board 
member are supported by affidavit to show that an immediate and 
significant danger of waste or other danger to the public health, safety, 
or welfare exists; and 
 1.2.  The threat requires immediate action by the director or 
board member, 
 2.  Limitations.  In issuing its emergency order, the director or 
board member shall: 
 2.1.  Limit its order to require only the action necessary to 
prevent or avoid the danger to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 2.2.  Issue promptly a written order, effective immediately, 
that includes a brief statement of findings of fact, conclusions of law, 
and reasons for the agency's utilization of emergency adjudicative 
proceedings; 
 2.3.  Give immediate notice to the persons who are required 
to comply with the order; and 
 2.4.  If the emergency order issued under this section will 
result in the continued infringement or impairment of any legal right or 
interest of any party, the division shall commence a formal adjudicative 
proceeding in accordance with the procedural rules of the board. 
 
R649-10-8.  Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies. 
 A person aggrieved by a final[division] order of the division 
in an adjudicative proceeding must seek review of that final order of the 
division by the board as provided in R649-10-6. 
 
R649-10-9.  Waivers. 
 Notwithstanding any other provision of these rules, any 
procedural matter, including any right to notice or hearing, may be 
waived by the affected person[(s)] by a signed, written waiver in a form 
acceptable to the division. 
 
KEY:  oil and gas law 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [December 
18, 1996]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  July 23, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  40-6-1 et seq.; 
63G-4 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R649-11 Filing No. 
53305 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 1210 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 1210 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Natasha Ballif 801-

538-
5328 

natashaballif@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R649-11.  Administrative Penalties 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
During the 2020 General Session, S.B. 148 was passed, 
which modifies the process for imposing and collecting 
administrative penalties and causes the current Oil and 
Gas rules to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Rule R649-11 establishes the rules and procedures for 
imposing and collecting administrative penalties, including 
a penalty assessment, penalty calculation, and 
classifications of violations. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is a total of one state agency, the Division of Oil, 
Gas and Mining (Division), that will be associated with this 
proposed rule change.  There is no estimated cost to the 
state as these amendments are administrative. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule does not apply to local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There are 303 small business oil and gas operators (for a 
complete listing of North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) codes used in this analysis, please 
contact the agency) in the .  There will be an estimated 
fiscal cost to oil and gas operators who receive a Division 
enforcement order, however, it cannot be estimated how 
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many oil and gas operators will receive a Division 
enforcement order or the class of violation committed. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are a total of 4 non-small business oil and gas 
operators (for a complete listing of NAICS codes used in 
this analysis, please contact the agency) in the .  There will 
be an estimated fiscal cost to oil and gas operators who 
receive a Division enforcement order, however, it cannot 
be estimated how many oil and gas operators will receive 
a Division enforcement order or the class of violation 
committed. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will not affect persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There will be no compliance costs for oil and gas 
operators. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Brian Steed, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This proposed rule is estimated to have a fiscal cost to oil 
and gas operators who are in violation and receive a 
Division enforcement order, however, the number of 
violations and the violation classes cannot be estimated. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Brian Steed; Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 
40-6-1 et seq. 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

3/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

3/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
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Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

John Baza, 
Director 

Date: 01/29/2021 

 
R649.  Natural Resources; Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas. 
R649-11.  Administrative Penalties. 
R649-11-1.  General Information on Authority and Procedures. 
 1.  Objectives and Enforcement Authority. Administrative 
penalties are assessed under Section 40-6-11 of the Utah Oil and Gas 
Conservation Act (the "Act") to deter violations and to ensure 
maximum compliance with the terms and purposes of the Utah Oil 
and Gas Conservation Act on the part of the oil and gas industry.  The 
division shall have any enforcement rights or procedures allowed 
under Title 40, Chapter 6, Board and division of oil, gas and mining. 
 2.  How Assessments are Made.  The division shall appoint 
an assessment officer to review each unabated notice of violation in 
accordance with the assessment procedures described in Section 
R649-11 to determine whether an administrative penalty shall be 
assessed and the amount of the penalty. 
 3.  Compliance Conference.  A person may request a 
compliance conference with an authorized representative of the 
division to review the compliance status of any condition or practice 
at any operation. 
 3.1.  A compliance conference may not change the required 
abatement period contained in a notice of violation. 
 3.2.  The division shall grant any request for a compliance 
conference received within the abatement period contained within a 
notice of violation. 
 3.3.  The division may accept or reject any good faith 
request to conduct a compliance conference received after the 
abatement period contained within a notice of violation. 
 
R649-11-2.  Provisions of State Enforcement. 
 1.  Notice of Violation. 
 1.1.  During any division inspection, including a record 
review, if the division determines that a violation exists that does not 
cause imminent danger or harm, the division may issue a notice of 
violation to the owner or operator fixing a reasonable time, not to 
exceed 90 calendar days, for the abatement of the violation and 
providing opportunity for a hearing before the division as articulated 
in Rule R649-10. 
 1.2.  A notice of violation shall be issued in writing, signed 
by an authorized representative of the division, and shall set forth 
with reasonable specificity: 
 1.2.1.  the nature of the violation; 
 1.2.2.  the remedial action required, which may include 
interim required actions; 
 1.2.3.  a reasonable time for abatement; and 
 1.2.4.  a reasonable description of the portion of the oil and 
gas operation to that it applies. 
 1.3.  The division may extend the time set for abatement or 
for accomplishment of an interim step if the failure to meet the time 
previously set was not caused by lack of diligence on the part of the 
person.  The total time for abatement under a notice of violation, 
including any extensions, may not exceed 90 calendar days from the 
date of issuance except as provided for in Subsection 1.5. 

 1.4.  The division will terminate a notice of violation by 
written notice to the owner or operator when the division determines 
that violations listed in the notice of violation have been abated.  If 
any violations have been abated within the time for abatement 
provided in the notice of violation, then no administrative penalty 
shall be assessed.  Termination of a notice of violation will not affect 
the right of the division to assess administrative penalties for those 
violations that the owner or operator failed to abate within the time 
for abatement provided in the notice of violation. 
 1.5.  Circumstances that may qualify an oil and gas 
operation for an abatement period of more than 90 days are: 
 1.5.1.  where climatic conditions preclude complete 
abatement within 90 days; 
 1.5.2.  where due to climatic conditions, abatement within 
90 days would clearly cause more harm than it would prevent; 
 1.5.3.  where the owner’s or operator’s action to abate the 
violation within 90 days would violate safety standards; or 
 1.5.4.  other circumstances beyond the control of the owner 
and operator as deemed by the division. 
 2.  Division Enforcement Order. 
 2.1.  The division shall immediately order a cessation of oil 
and gas operations in a division enforcement order if, during any 
division inspection, it finds any violation, which: 
 2.1.1.  creates an imminent danger to the health or safety of 
the public; or 
 2.1.2.  is causing or can reasonably be expected to cause 
significant, imminent harm to the environment. 
 2.2.  Oil and gas operations conducted by any person 
without valid approval constitutes grounds for cessation of those oil 
and gas operations. 
 2.3.  If a division enforcement order does not completely 
abate the conditions described in Subsection 2.1 in the most 
expeditious manner possible, the division shall impose affirmative 
obligations on the person to abate the violation.  The division 
enforcement order shall specify the time by which abatement shall be 
accomplished. 
 2.4.  When a notice of violation has been issued and the 
owner or operator fails to abate the violation within the abatement 
period, then the division shall issue a division enforcement order.  A 
division enforcement order shall require the person to take each steps 
the division deems necessary to abate the violations covered by the 
order in the most expeditious manner possible. 
 2.5.  A division enforcement order issued shall be in 
writing, signed by the authorized representative of the division who 
issued it, and shall set forth with reasonable specificity: 
 2.5.1.  the nature of the violation; 
 2.5.2.  the remedial action or affirmative obligation 
required, including interim required actions, if appropriate; 
 2.5.3.  the time established for abatement; 
 2.5.4.  a reasonable description of the portion of the oil and 
gas operation to which it applies; and 
 2.5.5.  that the order shall remain in effect until the violation 
has been abated or until vacated, modified or terminated in writing 
by the division. 
 2.6.  Activities intended to protect public health and safety 
and the environment will continue during the period of any order 
unless otherwise provided. 
 2.7.  The division may modify, terminate, or vacate a 
division enforcement order or cessation order for good cause and may 
extend the time for abatement if the failure to abate within the time 
previously set was not caused by lack of diligence on the part of the 
person. 
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 2.8.  The division will terminate a division enforcement 
order or cessation order by written notice to the person, when it is 
determined that the conditions, practices, or violations listed in the 
order have been abated.  If the violations have been abated within the 
time for abatement provided in the division enforcement order, then 
no administrative penalty shall be assessed.  Termination of a division 
enforcement order will not affect the right of the division to assess 
administrative penalties for those violations that the person failed to 
abate within the time for abatement provided in the notice of 
violation. 
 3.  Service of Notices of Violation, Division Enforcement 
Order and Administrative Penalties. 
 3.1.  Notices of violation, division enforcement orders, and 
proposed administrative penalties assessment shall be served on the 
person promptly after issuance by one of the following methods: 
 3.1.1.  Personal service, in accordance with the Utah Rules 
of Civil Procedure, Rule 4. Service shall be effective on the date of 
personal service. 
 3.1.2.  First posting a copy of the notice at the oil and gas 
operation location or offices of the place of violation, and thereafter 
by personally delivering or mailing a copy by certified mail to the 
person at the last address provided to the division. Service shall be 
complete upon personal delivery or three days after the date of 
mailing. 
 3.2.  Service on the person shall be sufficient if service is 
made upon: 
 3.2.1.  an officer of a corporation; 
 3.2.2.  the person designated by law for service of process, 
or the registered agent for the corporation; or 
 3.2.3.  an owner, or partner of an entity other than a 
corporation. 
 3.3.  Proof of Service. 
 3.3.1.  Proof of personal service shall be made in 
accordance with the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4. 
 3.3.2.  Proof of posting or personal delivery may be made 
by a signed written statement of the person effecting posting or 
personal delivery stating the date, time, and place of posting, and, if 
personal delivery, the person to whom the notice was delivered. 
 
R649-11-3.  Administrative Penalty Assessment. 
 1.  General.  Any person who violated Title 40, Chapter 6, 
Board and division of oil, gas and mining, or a division rule, order or 
permit may be subject to an administrative penalty. 
 2.  Maximum Administrative Penalty Amounts. 
 2.1.  An administrative penalty on any person may not 
exceed $5,000 per day for each day of a violation. 
 2.2.  If the board determines that a violation is a willful 
violation, the board may impose an administrative penalty on that 
person not to exceed $10,000 for each day of the violation. 
 2.3.  Administrative penalties assessed by the division or 
the board may not exceed $200,000 per violation per person. 
 3.  Days of Violation.  The duration of a violation shall be 
calculated in days as follows: 
 3.1.  A reporting or other minor violation that presents low 
direct risk or threat of harm to public health, safety, and welfare, or 
the environment, begins on the day that the report should have been 
made or other required action should have been taken, and continues 
until the report is filed or the required action is completed to the 
division's satisfaction. 
 3.2.  Violations that present a possibility of distinct, 
identifiable actual or threatened adverse impact, or violations that 
present a significant probability of actual or threatened adverse 

impact, begin on the date the violation was discovered or should have 
been discovered through the exercise of reasonable care and continue 
until the appropriate corrective action is completed to the division's 
satisfaction. 
 4.  Penalty Calculation.  The base penalty for each violation 
shall be calculated based on the division's penalty schedule. Each 
violation is initially assessed at the minor violation rate, but may be 
escalated to the major violation rate in accordance with Section 
R649-11-3. 
 5.  Issuance of Proposed Assessments. 
 5.1.  If a violation is not abated prior to the end of the 
abatement period specified for that violation, the division shall issue 
a proposed assessment to the person containing the penalty amount 
after the abatement period ends. 
 5.1.1.  Failure by the division to serve a proposed 
assessment within 30 days will not be grounds for dismissal of any 
part of such assessment unless the permittee or operator: 
 5.1.1.1.  proves actual prejudice as a result of the delay; and 
 5.1.1.2.  makes a timely objection to the delay. 
 5.2.  Upon abatement of the violation, or when the 
maximum penalty amount has been reached, the division will issue a 
final assessment to the person containing the final penalty amount. 
 5.2.1.  Failure by the division to serve a final proposed 
assessment within 30 days will not be grounds for dismissal of any 
part of such assessment unless the permittee or operator: 
 5.2.1.1.  proves actual prejudice as a result of the delay; and 
 5.2.1.2.  makes a timely objection to the delay. 
 6.  Violations Designated as Class 1. 
 6.1.  Violations that present a low direct risk or threat of 
harm to public health, safety and welfare, or the environment, 
including: 
 (a)  Section R649-3-1 bonding violations; 
 (b)  Section R649-3-36 shut-in and temporarily abandoned 
wells violations; 
 (c)  Section R649-3-15 pollution and surface damage 
violations; 
 (d)  Section R649-3-34 well site restoration violations; 
 (e)  Section R649-3-16 reserve pit closure violations; 
 (f)  Rule R649-8 reporting violations;   
 (g)  Section R649-9-2 improperly secured disposal facility 
violations; 
 (h)  Section R649-9-2 minor leaks and spills violations; 
 (i)  Section R649-9-3 garbage and solid waste in 
evaporation pit violations; 
 (j)  Section R649-9-3 inadequate supervision violations; 
 (k)  Section R649-9-4 failure to monitor leak detection 
system violations; 
 (l)  Section R649-9-10 inadequate construction notification 
violations; 
 (m)  Section R649-9-11 facility records for review 
violations; and 
 (n)  any other violation not specifically listed in the rule. 
 7.  Violations Designated as Class II. 
 7.1.  Violations that present a possibility of distinct, 
identifiable, actual or threatened adverse impacts to public health, 
safety, and welfare, or the environment, including: 
 (a)  Section R649-3-22 commingling without approval; 
 (b)  Section R649-3-23 completion/recompletion without 
approval; 
 (c)  Section R649-3-32 not reporting an incident; 
 (d)  Section R649-3-20 flaring or venting without approval; 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

96 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 04 

 (e)  Section R649-3-23 and R649-3-4 not adhering to the 
approved procedure or conditions on an APD or sundry notice; 
 (f)  Rule R649-5 and R649-9 violation of permit conditions, 
such as UIC or facility; 
 (g)  Section R649-5-2 injecting over approved pressure; 
 (h)  Section R649-9-4 less than 2 feet freeboard; 
 (i)  Section R649-9-4; 
 (j)  Section R649-9-5; 
 (k)  Rule R649-8 false reporting; and 
 (l)  any other violation that presents a possibility of distinct, 
identifiable, actual or threatened adverse impacts to public health, 
safety and welfare, or the environment. 
 8.  Violations Designated as Class III. 
 8.1  Violations that present a significant probability of 
actual or threatened adverse impact to public health, safety, and 
welfare, or the environment, including: 
 (a)  Section R649-3-4 drilling or spudding without an 
approved permit; 
 (b)  Section R649-3-24 P&A without approval; 
 (c)  Section R649-3-15 disposal of fluids in unapproved or 
improper facility or by improper method; 
 (d)  Rule R649-5 injection into reservoir or formation 
without approval; 
 (e)  Section R649-9-3 facility operating without a permit; 
 (f)  Section R649-9-4 pits overtopped; 
 (g)  Section R649-9-4 breached pit; and 
 (h)  any other rule violation that presents a significant 
probability of actual or threatened adverse impact to public health, 
safety and welfare, or the environment. 
 9.  Administrative Penalty Schedule. 
 9.1.  Penalty Schedule. The division's penalty schedule 
establishes a daily penalty based on the classification of the rule 
violation, Class I, II, or III as provided in Subsection (6), (7), and (8), 
and the degree of actual or threatened adverse impact resulting from 
the violation, minor or major as provided in Subsections (9.2) and 
(10). 
 

TABLE 
 

9.1.1. Daily Penalty Schedule 
 
Violation                Class I  Class II  Class III 
 
Degree: 
  Minor                   $750     $1,500     $5,000 
  Major                   $1,500  $5,000     $10,000 
 

 9.2.  Degree of actual or threatened adverse impact. A 
minor violation and associated penalty amount may be increased to a 
major violation and penalty amount based on the degree of actual or 
threatened adverse impact to public health, safety and welfare, or the 
environment resulting from the violation.  The division shall 
determine the degree of actual or threatened adverse impact to public 
health, safety, and welfare, or the environment, based on the totality 
of circumstances in each case that may involve increasing a Class I 
violation to a Class II or Class III violation, or increasing a Class II 
violation to a Class III violation. 
 10.  Penalty Adjustments based on Aggravating and 
Mitigating Factors.  The division shall consider aggravating and 
mitigating factors when determining if a violation is minor or major.  
These factors shall include: 
 10.1.  Aggravating factors: 
 10.1.1.  The violation involved a substantial departure from 
the standards of ordinary care of a reasonable prudent person. 

 10.1.2.  The violation was a willful violation. 
 10.1.3.  The violation had a significant negative impact on 
human health or the environment. 
 10.1.4.  The violation resulted in significant waste of oil 
and gas resources. 
 10.1.5.  The violation had a significant negative impact on 
correlative rights of other parties. 
 10.1.6.  The violator was nonresponsive to the division in 
correcting or responding to the violation. 
 10.1.7.  The violator benefited economically from the 
violation, in that case the amount of such benefit shall be taken into 
consideration. 
 10.1.8.  The violator has a history of previous violations at 
the particular well or facility. 
 10.2.  Mitigating factors: 
 10.2.1.  The violator self-reported the violation. 
 10.2.2.  The violator demonstrated prompt, effective and 
prudent response to the violation, including assistance to any 
impacted parties. 
 10.2.3.  The cause of the violation was outside of the 
violator's reasonable control and responsibility. 
 10.2.4.  The violator made a good faith effort to comply 
with applicable requirements prior to the division learning of the 
violation. 
 10.2.5.  The violator has demonstrated a history of 
compliance with division rules, orders, and permits. 
 10.2.6.  The violator has not been served with a notice of 
violation within the twenty-four-month period prior to the subject 
violation at issue. 
 11.  Repeat Violations.  The division shall consider the 
history of previous violations at a particular well or facility when 
determining an appropriate administrative penalty.  If the person has 
three or more violations of the same minor violation in the twenty-
four-month period immediately preceding the violation at issue, the 
minor violation shall escalate to a major violation. 
 12.  Unabated Violations.  The division may request an 
emergency order from the board requiring well or facility operations 
be suspended for any unabated violation where the maximum penalty 
amount has accrued.  Operations may only resume upon abatement 
of the violation and payment of the penalty. 
 13.  Appeals.  A notice of violation, division enforcement 
order, or administrative penalty assessment issued by the division 
may be appealed by filing a request for agency action with the 
division within 30 calendar days of the assessment following the 
procedures provided in Rule R649-10-3. 
 
KEY:  oil and gas law 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  40-6-1 et seq.; 
63G-4 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-12 Filing No. 
53308 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
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Street address: 675 E 500 S, Suite 500 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84102 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Lisa Wells 801-

538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Michelle 
McConkie 

801-
538-
5183 

meastmcconkie@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-12.  Prohibited and Restricted Use of Trust Lands 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this new rule is to provide parameters as 
to what activities are prohibited or restricted on trust lands.  
This will help both the public and agency staff to know how 
trust lands may be used. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule will set forth prohibited uses on trust lands 
and will also describe restrictions on otherwise permitted 
uses of trust lands. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule describes regulations but is not associated with 
any cost.  Therefore, the state budget would not be 
impacted. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule describes regulations but is not associated with 
any cost.  Therefore, local governments would not have 
any costs or savings due to this rule. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule describes regulations but is not associated with 
any cost.  Therefore, small businesses would not have any 
costs or savings due to this rule. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule describes regulations but is not associated with 
any cost.  Therefore, non-small businesses would not have 
any costs or savings due to this rule. 
 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule describes regulations but is not associated with 
any cost.  Therefore, persons other than small businesses, 
non-small businesses, state, or local government entities, 
or public or private organizations would not have any costs 
or savings due to this rule. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

This rule describes regulations but is not associated with 
any cost and is not related to compliance matters.  
Therefore, there are no compliance costs associated with 
this rule. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Administration, David Ure, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
There are no fiscal impacts due to this new rule. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
David Ure, Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
53C-2-301(1) 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1) 

28 Stat. 107-112 
Utah Enabling Act 
of 1894, Sections 
6, 8, 10, 12 

Article X Article XX  
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

David Ure, 
Director 

Date: 02/01/2021 

 

R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-12.  Prohibited and Restricted Uses of Trust Lands. 
R850-12-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, Section 
53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) of the Utah Code, and Board Policy #2021-01. 
The purpose of this rule is to prohibit certain activities and to permit 
with limitations other activities on trust lands. 
 
R850-12-200.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in R850-1, the terms below, 
when used in Section R850-12 are defined as follows: 
 1.  "Authorized Route" means a route: 
 (a)  designated as open to the public for motor vehicle use 
under Subsection R850-110-200; 
 (b)  established by grant or dedication to a governmental 
entity for public use; or 
 (c)  as otherwise established by law for public use. 
 2.  "Low-impact activities" means activities that have 
minimal or negligible impact to trust lands. 
 
R850-12-300.  Prohibited Activities. 
 In addition to Section 53C-2-301(1), except as authorized 
in writing by the agency, the following activities are prohibited on 
trust lands: 
 1.  posting or distributing printed materials; 
 2.  managing or controlling trust lands, including 
prohibiting, preventing, or obstructing public entry on trust lands or 
blocking access to an Authorized Route; 
 3.  activities authorized under this Section R850-12 that 
continue for more than 15 consecutive days or more than 15 days 
within any 30-day period; 
 4.  parking a motorized or recreational vehicle more than 
100 feet from an Authorized Route; 
 5.  leaving unattended personal property on trust lands for 
longer than 72 hours; 
 6.  using or possessing explosives, fireworks, or 
firecrackers; 
 7.  using poisons, herbicide, insecticides, or pesticides; 
 8.  using or possessing any noxious weeds or noxious weed 
seeds, as designated in Sections R68-8-2 and R68-9-2, and/or feeds, 
supplements or forages containing any, in whole or in part, of the 
weeds designated as noxious weeds in Section R68-9-2; 
 9.  metal detecting; 
 10.  searching for treasure, artifacts, or other natural or 
man-made items; 
 11.  leaving or disposing of human or animal fecal matter 
unless: 
 (a)  the fecal matter is buried at least 8 inches deep and at 
least 200 feet from any campsite or water source; and 
 (b)  all toilet paper and hygiene products are removed from 
trust lands; 
 12.  installing new technical rock climbing or slack lining 
equipment or hardware; 
 13.  affixing devices including trail cameras to structures, 
trees, or any other natural or made-made fixture; 
 14.  using or possessing glass containers outside of 
enclosed vehicles, tents, trailers, or recreational vehicles, except that 
removing glass discarded by others on trust lands is permitted; 
 15.  constructing, using, moving, occupying, or destroying 
any structures on trust lands including fences, water control devices, 
roads, surveys and section markers, or signs; 
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 16.  destructing, marking, or defacing trust lands, including 
without limitation, cross-country travel using human-powered, 
mechanized or motorized vehicles (other than approved mobility 
devices for the impaired or over-snow travel authorized pursuant to 
R850-110-400), creating new routes, human-powered, mechanized 
or motorized vehicle travel on routes other than Authorized Routes; 
 17.  carving tree trunks, marking/defacing rocks, graffiti, 
destruction of natural formations on trust lands (e.g. knocking over 
sandstone pillars), tossing, throwing, or rolling of rocks or other 
materials into valleys or canyons or down hills and mountains; 
 18.  any activity prohibited under any other local, state, or 
federal statute, ordinance, rule, or regulation; 
 19.  any activity that requires authorization from the agency 
or any other local, state, or federal authority under any local, state, or 
federal statute, ordinance, rule, or regulation. 
 
R850-12-400.  Non-Commercial Low-Impact Activities. 
 Non-commercial low-impact activities are permitted on 
trust lands without written authorization from the agency, subject to 
the prohibitions and restrictions in this Section R850-12, unless 
written authorization is required for such activity by the agency's 
statutes, rules, director's findings, handbook, or other publication 
available to the public. 
 
R850-12-500.  Non-Commercial Camping. 
 1.  A person may maintain a non-commercial low-impact 
campsite on trust lands without written authorization from the 
agency, subject to the prohibitions and restrictions in this Section 
R850-12. 
 2.  A person may not maintain a campsite in the same 
location for more than 15 consecutive days or relocate a campsite to 
any trust lands within a 5-mile radius of the original campsite for at 
least 15 consecutive days following the end of the camping period. 
 3.  A person may not maintain a campsite within 100 feet 
from any water source. 
 
R850-12-600.  Animals on Trust Lands. 
 1.  A person may bring an animal onto trust lands without 
written authorization, subject to the prohibitions and restrictions in 
this Section R850-12. These prohibitions and restrictions do not 
apply to those activities permitted under a valid grazing permit or 
other written authorization issued by the agency. 
 2.  A person may not leave an animal unattended on trust 
lands unless the animal is restrained. 
 3.  A person may not bring more than 16 animals at a time 
onto trust lands. 
 4.  A person may not bring onto trust lands any animal 
reasonably likely to cause physical harm to people, other animals, or 
property. 
 5.  A person may not engage in commercial dog training on 
trust lands. 
 6.  A person may not board any animal within 100 feet from 
any water source, riparian area, or culinary system on trust lands. 
 
R850-12-700.  Fires and Burning Material. 
 1.  Campfires on trust lands are permitted without written 
authorization, subject to the prohibitions and restrictions in this 
Section R850-12, if: 
 (a)  the campfire is within an established fire ring; 

 (b)  the fire is not left unattended; 
 (c)  all adequate provisions are taken to prevent the fire 
from spreading, including having a readily accessible means to 
extinguish a fire available; 
 (d)  all ashes, unburned fuel, and trash are removed from 
trust lands; and 
 (e)  the fire is completely extinguished when not in use and 
prior to being left unattended. 
 2.  A person may not construct a new fire ring on trust lands 
without written authorization from the agency. 
 3.  A person may only burn clean, dry, cord-type firewood 
or charcoal on trust lands. Burning or discarding materials containing 
nails, screws, or other metal hardware (such as from wood pallets and 
construction debris) is prohibited. 
 4.  A person may collect downed wood or woody vegetation 
for fires on trust lands but may not cut standing vegetation (living or 
dead). A person may not remove firewood from trust lands without 
written authorization from the agency. 
 5.  A person may not throw or drop a lighted cigarette or 
other burning material onto trust lands. 
 
R850-12-800.  Target Shooting. 
 1.  A person may engage in target shooting on trust lands 
without authorization, subject to the prohibitions and restrictions in 
this Section R850-12. 
 2.  A person engaged in target shooting on trust lands may 
only use shooting targets manufactured or assembled for that purpose 
and that do not explode, ignite, shatter, or pose a hazard to people, 
animals, or property, except that clay pigeons are permitted. 
 3.  A person may not shoot at any target that is on, over, or 
within 50 feet of a water source. A person may not engage in target 
shooting from or within 50 feet of a water source. 
 4.  A person that brings shooting targets or ammunition onto 
trust lands shall remove the shooting targets and ammunition, 
including spent shells, from trust lands. 
 
R850-12-900.  Agency may Limit or Prohibit Activities. 
 1.  The agency may limit or prohibit any activities 
authorized by this Section R850-12 for the reasons and time periods 
deemed necessary by the agency to protect trust lands from damage, 
preserve trust lands, protect people or animals from harm, or for any 
other reason that the agency determines is in the best interest of its 
beneficiaries. 
 2.  To further limit or prohibit an activity on trust lands, the 
agency may: 
 (a)  post notice at the area, trailhead, or campsite to which 
the limitation or prohibition applies; or 
 (b)  post notice of the limitation or prohibition on its 
website. 
 3.  The agency may reduce the limitations or prohibitions 
in this Section R850-12 by complying with Subsection R850-12-
900(2). 
 
KEY:  prohibited and restricted uses of trust lands, management, 
administrative procedures 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-302(1); 
53C-2-301(1) 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-41 Filing No. 
53309 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 675 E 500 S, Suite 500 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84102 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michelle 
McConkie 

801-
538-
5183 

meastmcconkie@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-41.  Rights of Entry 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This repeal and reenact revises the Rights of Entry rule to 
give School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration 
(SITLA) discretion to charge for non-commercial uses of 
trust lands and to update out of date language, such as the 
requirement that applications be sent via mail or in-person. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is revised to update outdated language on items 
such as receiving applications.  This rule currently says 
that applications must be received via mail or in-person 
and do not allow for electronic receipt of applications.  In 
addition, this rule currently provides that non-commercial 
uses of land that are less than 15 days do not require a 
permit.  This does not take into account the potential 
impact such non-commercial uses would have on the 
lands and is not in the best interest of SITLA's 
beneficiaries. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to update out of date 
language and to allow SITLA to charge for uses of trust 
lands that are non-commercial and less than 15 days in 
duration.  The ability of SITLA to charge for non-
commercial, short term uses of trust lands may increase 

revenue received by the state on behalf of SITLA 's 
beneficiaries.  It is not anticipated that any costs will be 
incurred by the SITLA due to this rule repeal and 
reenactment.  However, costs may be incurred by a state 
entity other than SITLA if it applied for a right of entry 
permit for the use of trust lands. 
 
The potential for additional revenue or additional costs is 
unknown at this time since the revenue and costs would 
be based on future uses of trust lands that are not yet 
known. 
 
B) Local governments: 

The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to update out of date 
language and to allow SITLA to charge for uses of trust 
lands that are non-commercial and less than 15 days in 
duration.  Local governments would only be affected as a 
result of this repeal and reenactment if they applied for a 
right of entry permit for the use of trust lands. 
 
The potential for such additional costs is unknown at this 
time since the revenue would be based on future uses of 
trust lands that are not yet known. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to update out of date 
language and to allow SITLA to charge for uses of trust 
lands that are non-commercial and less than 15 days in 
duration.  Small businesses would only be affected as a 
result of this repeal and reenactment if they applied for a 
right of entry permit for the use of trust lands. 
 
The potential for such additional costs is unknown at this 
time since the revenue would be based on future uses of 
trust lands that are not yet known. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to update out of date 
language and to allow SITLA to charge for uses of trust 
lands that are non-commercial and less than 15 days in 
duration.  Non-small businesses would only be affected as 
a result of this repeal and reenactment if they applied for a 
right of entry permit for the use of trust lands. 
 
The potential for such additional costs is unknown at this 
time since the revenue would be based on future uses of 
trust lands that are not yet known. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
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The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to update out of date 
language and to allow SITLA to charge for uses of trust 
lands that are non-commercial and less than 15 days in 
duration.  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities would only 
be affected as a result of this repeal and reenactment if 
they applied for a right of entry permit for the use of trust 
lands. 
 
The potential for such additional costs is unknown at this 
time since the revenue would be based on future uses of 
trust lands that are not yet known. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to update out of date 
language and to allow SITLA to charge for uses of trust 
lands that are non-commercial and less than 15 days in 
duration.  No compliance costs will be charged due to 
these changes. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Administration, David Ure, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to update out of date 
language and to allow SITLA to charge for uses of trust 
lands that are non-commercial and less than 15 days in 
duration.  As such, no adverse fiscal impact for business 
is anticipated. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
David Ure, Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Utah Enabling Act 
of 1894, Sections 
6, 8, 10, 12 

Subsection 
53C-2-201(1)(a) 

Subsection 
53C-4-101(1) 

Article X Article XX Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a) 
(ii) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
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Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

David Ure, 
Director 

Date: 02/01/2021 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
[R850-41.  Rights of Entry. 
R850-41-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, and Sections 
53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-4-101(1) which authorize the Director of 
the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration to establish 
criteria by rule for the sale, exchange, lease or other disposition or 
conveyance of Trust Lands Administration lands including procedures 
for determining fair-market value of those lands. 
 
R850-41-150.  Planning. 
 Pursuant to Section 53C-2-201(1)(a), this category of activity 
carries no planning obligations by the agency beyond existing rule-
based analysis and approval processes. 
 
R850-41-200.  Rights of Entry on Trust Lands Administration 
Lands. 
 1.  The agency may issue non-exclusive right of entry permits 
on Trust Lands Administration lands when the agency deems it 
consistent with agency rules and trust responsibilities. 
 2.  Commercial use of Trust Lands Administration lands:  a 
right of entry permit shall be required for any person to use, occupy, or 
travel upon Trust Lands Administration land in conjunction with any 
commercial enterprise without regard to the incidental nature of the use, 
occupancy, or travel, except that a right of entry permit shall not be 
necessary when the use, occupancy, or travel is across authorized public 
roads or permitted under some other land use authorization issued by the 
agency and currently in effect. 
 3.  Non-commercial use of Trust Lands Administration land 
shall not require a permit provided that the use shall not exceed 15 
consecutive days and shall not conflict with an applicable land use or 
with a management plan.  At the conclusion of the 15-day period, any 
personal property, garbage, litter, and associated debris must be removed 
by the user.  The use may not be relocated on any other Trust Lands 
Administration land within a distance of at least two miles from the 
original site or be allowed to reestablish at the original site for 20 
consecutive days.  If, for any reason, a non-commercial, incidental user 
desires a document authorizing the use, the agency may issue a Letter of 
Authorization upon payment of an administrative charge. 
 4.  Non-commercial uses of Trust Lands Administration land 
exceeding 15 consecutive days will require a right of entry permit. 
 
R850-41-300.  Rights of Entry Acquired by Application. 
 Rights of entry on Trust Lands Administration lands may be 
acquired only by application and grant made in compliance with the 
rules and laws applicable thereto.  All applications shall be made on 
agency forms.  The filing of an application form is deemed to constitute 
the applicant's offer to purchase a right of entry under the conditions 
contained in these rules. 
 

R850-41-400.  Valuable Consideration for Right of Entry Permits. 
 The consideration for any right of entry permit granted under 
these rules, including those granted to municipal or county governments 
or agencies of the state or federal government, shall be determined 
pursuant to R850-41-600. 
 
R850-41-500.  Agency Contractors. 
 Any person doing work for the agency under a contract or 
other permit may enter upon Trust Lands Administration lands for the 
purpose and period of time authorized by the contract or other permit 
without obtaining a right of entry. 
 
R850-41-600.  Right of Entry Fees. 
 The agency shall establish minimum fees for right of entry 
permits which may be based on the cost incurred by the agency in 
administering the right of entry permit and the fair-market value of a 
proposed land use. 
 
R850-41-700.  Application Procedures. 
 1.  Time of Filing.  Applications for right of entry permits are 
received for filing in the office of the agency during office hours.  Except 
as provided, all applications received, whether by U.S. Mail or delivery 
over the counter, are immediately stamped with the exact date of filing. 
 2.  Non-refundable Application Fees.  All applications must 
be accompanied with a non-refundable application fee as specified in 
R850-4.  After review of the application, the agency shall notify the 
applicant of the fee pursuant to R850-41-600.  Failure to pay the fee 
within 15 days of mailing of notification shall cause the denial of the 
application. 
 3.  Refunds and Withdrawals of Applications. 
 (a)  If an application for a right of entry permit is rejected, all 
monies tendered by the applicant, except the application fee, will be 
refunded. 
 (b)  Should an applicant desire to withdraw the application, 
the applicant must make a written request.  If the request is received 
prior to the time that the application is approved, all monies tendered by 
the applicant, except the application fee, will be refunded.  If the request 
for withdrawal is received after the application is approved, all monies 
tendered are forfeited to the agency, unless otherwise ordered by the 
director for a good cause shown. 
 4.  Application Review. 
 (a)  Upon receipt of an application, the agency shall review 
the application for completeness.  The agency shall allow all applicants 
submitting incomplete applications at least 15 days from the date of 
mailing of notice as evidenced by the certified mailing posting receipt 
(Postal Service form 3800), within which to cure any deficiencies.  
Incomplete applications not remedied within the designated time period 
may be denied. 
 (b)  Application approval by the director constitutes 
acceptance of the applicant's offer. 
 
R850-41-800.  Term of Rights of Entry. 
 Rights of entry granted under these rules shall normally be for 
no greater than a one year term.  Longer terms may be granted upon 
application based on a written finding that such a grant is in the best 
interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 
R850-41-900.  Conveyance Documents. 
 Each right of entry shall contain provisions necessary to 
ensure responsible surface management, including the following  
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provisions:  the rights and responsibilities of the permittee, rights 
reserved to the permitter; the term of the right of entry; payment 
obligations; and protection of the Trust Lands Administration from 
liability for all action of the permittee. 
 
R850-41-1000.  Bonding Provisions. 
 1.  Prior to the issuance of a right of entry, or for good cause 
shown at any time during the term of the right of entry, upon 15 days' 
written notice, the applicant or permittee may be required to post with 
the agency a bond in the form and amount as may be determined by the 
agency to assure compliance with all terms and conditions of the right 
of entry. 
 2.  Bonds posted on rights of entry may be used for payment 
of all monies, rentals, royalties due to the permitter, reclamation costs, 
and for compliance with all other terms, conditions, and rules pertaining 
to the right of entry. 
 3.  Bonds may be increased or decreased in reasonable 
amounts, at any time as the agency may decide, provided the agency 
first gives permittee 15 days' written notice stating the increase and the 
reason(s) for the increase. 
 4.  Bonds may be accepted in any of the following forms at 
the discretion of the agency: 
 (a)  Surety bond with an approved corporate surety registered 
in Utah. 
 (b)  Cash deposit.  However, the Trust Lands Administration 
will not be responsible for any investment returns on cash deposits. 
 (c)  Certificates of deposit in the name of "School and 
Institutional Trust Lands Administration and Permittee, c/o Permittee's 
address", with an approved state or federally insured banking institution 
registered in Utah.  The certificate of deposit must have a maturity date 
no greater than 12 months, be automatically renewable, and be deposited 
with the agency, the permittee will be entitled to and receive the interest 
payments.  All certificates of deposit must be endorsed by the permittee 
prior to acceptance by the director. 
 (d)  Other forms of surety as may be acceptable to the agency. 
 (e)  Due to the temporary nature of rights of entry, if the 
agency imposes or increases the amount of a bond, a stop-work order 
may be issued by the agency to insure the adequacy of the bond prior to 
the completion of work or activities authorized by the right of entry 
permit. 
 
R850-41-1100.  Conflicts of Use. 
 The agency reserves the right to issue additional rights of 
entry or convey other interests in property on Trust Lands 
Administration land encumbered by existing rights of entry without 
compensation to the permittee. 
 
R850-41-1200.  Amendments. 
 Any holder of an existing right of entry permit desiring to 
change any of the terms thereof, shall make application following the 
same procedure as is used to make an application for a new right of 
entry.  An amendment fee pursuant to R850-4 must accompany the 
amendment request along with other appropriate fees. 
 
R850-41-1300.  Unauthorized Uses. 
 A right of entry permit does not authorize a permittee to cut 
any trees or remove or extract any natural, cultural, or historical 
resources. 
 
R850-41-1310.  Prevention of the Spread of Noxious Weeds. 
 1.  In an effort to halt the spread of noxious weeds, trust lands 
are closed to: 

 (a)  the possession, use or storage of hay, straw, or mulch 
which has not been certified as noxious weed free or noxious weed seed 
free, and 
 (b)  the possession, use or storage of supplemental grain or 
grain products which do not meet the requirements of the "Utah 
Commercial Feed Act" standards. 
 2.  These restrictions do not apply to: 
 (a)  the use of pelletized feed by authorized occupants on trust 
lands, 
 (b)  persons with Modified Grazing Permits or Agricultural 
Special Use Leases that provide for the use of these materials, or 
 (c)  persons with authorization pursuant to R850-50-600(6). 
 
R850-41-1400.  Right of Entry Assignments. 
 1.  A right of entry may be assigned to any person, firm, 
association, or corporation qualified under R850-3-200, provided that 
the assignments are approved by the agency; and no assignment is 
effective until approval is given.  Any assignment made without such 
approval is void. 
 2.  An assignment shall take effect the day of the approval of 
the assignment.  On the effective date of any assignment, the assignee is 
bound by the terms of the easement to the same extent as if the assignee 
were the original grantee, any conditions in the assignment to the 
contrary notwithstanding. 
 3.  An assignment must be a sufficient legal instrument, 
properly executed and acknowledged, and should clearly set forth the 
easement number, and land involved, and the name and address of the 
assignee. 
 4.  An assignment shall be executed according to agency 
procedures. 
 
R850-41-1500.  Termination of Rights of Entry. 
 Any right of entry permit granted by the agency on Trust 
Lands Administration land may be terminated in whole or in part for 
failure to comply with any term or condition of the conveyance 
document or applicable laws or rules.  Based on a written finding, the 
director shall issue an appropriate instrument when terminating the right 
of entry for cause.] 
R850-41.  Rights of Entry. 
R850-41-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, and 
Sections 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-4-101(1) which authorize the 
Director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration 
to establish criteria by rule for the sale, exchange, lease or other 
disposition or conveyance of Trust Lands Administration lands 
including procedures for determining fair-market value of those 
lands. 
 
R850-41-200.  Right of Entry Permits on Trust Lands. 
 1.  The agency may issue non-exclusive right of entry 
permits on trust lands when the agency deems it consistent with 
agency rules and trust responsibilities. 
 2.  The agency may establish categories and criteria for 
issuance of right of entry permits. 
 3.  Events and activities that occur entirely on roads 
designated as open to motor vehicle use pursuant to R850-110-200 
generally do not require a right of entry permit. The agency may 
require a right of entry permit for activities and events that the agency 
determines in its sole discretion may have impacts to adjacent trust 
lands. 
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R850-41-300.  Term of Right of Entry Permits; Termination. 
 1.  The agency may issue right of entry permits for one year 
or less, except that the agency may issue right of entry permits for 
longer terms for recurring annual events and other limited impact, 
ongoing, and non-exclusive uses that do not require a lease. 
 2.  The agency may terminate a right of entry permit: 
 (a)  on notice to permittee if there is a violation of the 
permit or of the R850 rules; 
 (b)  on 60 days' notice to permittee if: 
 (i)  the agency determines in its sole discretion that there 
are higher and better uses for the permitted property; 
 (ii)  the agency intends to dispose of the permitted property; 
or 
 (iii)  any management problems arise as determined in the 
sole discretion of the agency. 
 
R850-41-400.  Permit Rates. 
 The agency may establish right of entry permit rates based 
on the market value and income producing capability of the permitted 
property, the administrative burden of managing the permit, the 
potential impact to the permitted property, or any other criteria 
deemed reasonable by the agency. 
 
R850-41-500.  Application Procedures. 
 1.  A person seeking a right of entry permit must submit an 
application to the agency, either in paper or electronic form. 
 2.  The agency may deny a right of entry permit application 
for any reason. 
 3.  The applicant shall pay all amounts due at the time of 
execution of the permit prior to the agency issuing the permit. 
 4.  An applicant may withdraw a right of entry permit 
application by giving written notice to the agency. 
 
R850-41-600.  Right of Entry Permit Provisions. 
 Each right of entry must contain provisions necessary to 
ensure responsible surface management, including the following 

provisions: the rights and responsibilities of the permittee, rights 
reserved to the agency; the term of the right of entry permit; payment 
obligations; and protection of the agency from liability for all action 
of the permittee. 
 
R850-41-700.  Bonding. 
 Prior to issuance of a right of entry permit or at any time 
during the permit term, the agency may require the applicant or 
permittee to post a bond or other financial guaranty with the agency 
in the form and amount determined by the agency to ensure 
compliance with all terms and conditions of the right of entry permit. 
 
R850-41-800.  Assignments. 
 1.  A permittee may not assign a right of entry permit 
without the prior written consent of the agency. Any assignment 
made without the agency's consent is void. 
 2.  The assignee must assume all obligations of permittee 
under the right of entry permit. 
 
R850-41-900.  Amendments. 
 A permittee may request an amendment of a right of entry 
permit by following the same procedure as is used to make an 
application for a new right of entry permit. 
 
KEY:  [natural resources]rights of entry, management, 
administrative procedures 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[February 7, 2012] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 7, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
302(1)(a)(ii); 53C-2-201(1)(a); 53C-4-101(1) 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-510 Filing No. 53295 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-510.  Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with 
Intellectual Disabilities Transition Program and Education 

3.  Effective Date: 
01/27/2021 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this change is to provide individuals 
concerned with the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic, a 
length-of-stay exemption at intermediate care facilities 
(ICFs), to help them qualify for services within the 
Community Supports Waiver (CSW) while the COVID-19 
public health emergency continues. 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This change allows individuals to request an exception to 
the minimum length-of-stay requirement in ICFs during the 
Coronavirus (COVID-19) public health emergency.  It also 
sets forth criteria for these requests and for the 
Department of Health (Department) to make a final 
determination.  Other technical changes are for 
consistency reasons only. 
 
6.  Regular rulemaking would: 
X cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
 place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
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Specific reason and justification: 
This emergency amendment is necessary to provide 
individuals concerned with COVID-19 the opportunity to 
qualify for CSW services. 
 

Fiscal Information 
7.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Department does not anticipate any impact to the 
state budget as waiver services fall within appropriations 
set forth by the Legislature.  Further, there is no method to 
estimate additional costs of individuals who might avail 
themselves of the opportunity to receive this exemption. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments because they 
neither fund nor provide waiver services under the 
Medicaid program. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The Department does not anticipate any impact to small 
businesses as waiver services fall within appropriations 
set forth by the Legislature.  Further, there is no method to 
estimate additional costs or revenue through individuals 
who might avail themselves of the opportunity to receive 
this exemption. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Department does not anticipate any impact to 
Medicaid providers as waiver services fall within 
appropriations set forth by the Legislature.  Further, there 
is no method to estimate additional costs or revenue to 
providers, or possible savings to individuals who might 
avail themselves of the opportunity to receive this 
exemption. 
 
8.  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
The Department does not anticipate any costs to a single 
Medicaid provider as waiver services fall within 
appropriations set forth by the Legislature.  Further, there 
is no method to estimate the additional cost of an individual 
who might avail himself of the opportunity to receive this 
exemption. 
 
9.  A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
Businesses should see neither revenue nor costs as 
waiver services fall within appropriations set forth by the 
Legislature.  Other possible additional costs or revenues 
are incalculable. 
 

B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Executive Director 
 

Citation Information 
10.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by 
state law, and implements or interprets the following 
state and federal laws.  State code or constitution 
citations (required): 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-18-3  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 01/26/2021 

 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-510.  Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with 
Intellectual Disabilities Transition Program and Education. 
R414-510-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Departments" means the [Utah ]Department of Health 
and the [Utah ]Department of Human Services. 
 (2)  "Division of Services for People with Disabilities 
(DSPD)" means the entity within the Department of Human Services 
that has responsibility to plan and deliver an appropriate array of 
services and supports to persons with disabilities in accordance with 
Section 62a-5-102. 
 (3)  "Guardian" means an individual[,] who is legally 
authorized to make decisions on an individual's behalf. 
 (4)  "Interested individual" means an individual who meets 
eligibility requirements and expresses interest, either directly or 
through a guardian, in participating in the Transition Program. 
 (5)  "Intermediate Care Facilities" means privately[-] 
owned intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual 
disabilities. 
 (6)  "Length of stay" means the length of time an individual 
has continuously resided in ICFs in the state of Utah.  The 
Departments consider a continuous stay to include a stay in which an 
individual has a temporary break in stay of no more than 31 days.  
Breaks in stay due to inpatient hospitalization, admission to a nursing 
facility, or a temporary leave of absence, if due to health concerns 
related to Coronavirus (COVID-19), will not be considered a break 
in stay when evaluating Subsection R414-510-3([5]1)(e). 
 (7)  "Representative" means an individual, who is not a 
guardian, and does not have decision-making authority, but is 
identified as an individual who assists a potential Transition Program 
participant. 
 (8)  "State staff" means employees of the Division of 
Medicaid and Health Financing or [the Division of Services for 
People with Disabilities]DSPD. 
 (9)  "Transition Program" means the Intermediate Care 
Facility for Persons with Intellectual Disabilities Transition Program. 
 (10)  "Waiver" means the Community Supports Waiver for 
Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities and Other Related 
Conditions (CSW). 
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R414-510-3.  Eligibility Requirements for the Transition Program. 
 (1)  Waiver services are potentially available to an individual 
who: 
 ([1]a)  receives ICF benefits under the Medicaid State Plan; 
 ([2]b)  has been diagnosed with an intellectual disability or a 
related condition; 
 ([3]c)  meets ICF level[ ]-of[ ]-care criteria defined in Section 
R414-502-8; 
 ([4]d)  meets state funding eligibility criteria for [the Division 
of Services for People with Disabilities (]DSPD[)] found in Subsection 
62A-5-102(4); and 
 ([5]e)  has at least a 12-month length of stay in any Medicaid-
certified, privately[-] owned ICF located in Utah. 
 (2)  The Department of Health may consider a length-of-stay 
exemption to Subsection (1)(e) in the following circumstance: 
 (a)  an individual, or their representative, may request an 
exception to the minimum length-of-stay requirement during the 
COVID-19 public health emergency declared by the federal government 
or the state of Utah. 
 (3)  To make a request for a length-of-stay exemption, an 
individual or their representative, must submit a written request to the 
Department of Health and include the rationale for the request, including 

the anticipated risk if the individual remains in the intermediate care 
facility. 
 (4)  Before deciding upon a request, the Department of 
Health: 
 (a)  may consult with its healthcare-associated 
infections/antibiotic resistance (HAI/AR) program; 
 (b)  shall consult with DSPD; and 
 (c)  shall determine whether an alternative placement option 
is available. 
 (5)  The Department of Health shall deny a request for 
exemption if funding is not available. 
 (6)  Other eligibility and access requirements in this rule 
remain in effect. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  January 27, 
2021 
Notice of Continuation:  October 12, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
18-3 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at https://rules.utah.gov/.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-320 Filing No. 52944 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-320.  Medicaid Health Insurance Flexibility and 
Accountability Demonstration Waiver 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26-18-3 requires the Department of Health 
(Health) to implement the Medicaid program through 
administrative rules while Section 26-1-5 authorizes the 
Department to adopt rules as necessary for program 

implementation.  Additionally, Section 1115 of the Social 
Security Act allows for demonstration projects that 
promote the objectives of Medicaid and the Children's 
Health Insurance Program (CHIP). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department did not receive any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department will continue this rule because it 
establishes the eligibility requirements for enrollment and the 
benefits enrollees receive under the Health Insurance 
Flexibility and Accountability Demonstration Waiver (HIFA), 
which is Utah's Premium Partnership for Health Insurance 
(UPP). 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 01/25/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R455-3 Filing No. 51143 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Heritage and Arts 
Agency: History 
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Building: Rio Grande Depot 
Street address: 300 S Rio Grande St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Josh Loftin 801-

245-
7205 

jloftin@utah.gov 

Christopher W. 
Merritt 

801-
245-
7263 

cmerritt@utah.gov 

Alycia Rowley 801-
245-
7263 

aaldrich@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R455-3.  Membership, Sales, Gifts, Bequests, Endowments 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Sections 9-8-206 and 9-8-207 authorizes the Division of 
State History (Division) to establish rules for handling 
disposition of proceeds and membership dues and make 
adjustments to prices of various publications. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The continuation of this rule is justified to ensure the 
Division to allow for paid membership and private support for 
the Utah State Historical Society and the Utah Historical 
Quarterly and to ensure the funds do not lapse in accordance 
with Sections 9-8-206 and 9-8-207. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Josh Loftin, Public 
Information 
Officer 

Date: 01/27/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R455-4 Filing No. 51132 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Heritage and Arts 
Agency: History 
Building: Rio Grande Depot 
Street address: 300 S Rio Grande St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Josh Loftin 801-

245-
7205 

jloftin@utah.gov 

Christopher W. 
Merritt 

801-
245-
7263 

cmerritt@utah.gov 

Alycia Rowley 801-
245-
7263 

aaldrich@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R455-4.  Ancient Human Remains 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 9-8-309 defines the Antiquities Section's duties with 
respect to recovery, disposition, and determination of 
ownership of ancient human remains found on nonfederal 
lands that are not state lands in the . The primary purpose of 
Section 9-8-309 and this rule is to assure that ancient human 
remains are given respectful, lawful, and scientifically-sound 
treatment, that landowners are not harmed or burdened by a 
discovery of ancient human remains on their property, and to 
ensure that steps are taken to determine lawful ownership of 
recovered remains. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The continuation of this rule is justified to ensure the 
Division of State History can continue to adhere to the 
requirement for Section 9-8-309 and respectfully and lawfully 
recover ancient human remains on state lands. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Josh Loftin, Public 
Information 
Officer 

Date: 01/27/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R455-8 Filing No. 51129 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Heritage and Arts 
Agency: History 
Building: Rio Grande Depot 
Street address: 300 S Rio Grande St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Josh Loftin 801-

245-
7205 

jloftin@utah.gov 

Christopher W. 
Merritt 

801-
245-
7263 

cmerritt@utah.gov 

Alycia Rowley 801-
245-
7263 

aaldrich@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R455-8.  Preservation Easements 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Sections 9-8-503 and 9-8-504 authorize the Division of 
History (Division) to ensure the adequate handling of 
preservation easements and their proper recording. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The continuation of this rule is justified to ensure the 
Division may accept easements that meet the required 
conditions in Section R455-8-3. 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Josh Loftin, Public 
Information 
Officer 

Date: 12/04/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R512-44 Filing No. 51222 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-44.  Choose Life Adoption Support Restricted Account 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 62A-4a-102 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to establish rules in order to 
provide programs and services that support the 
strengthening of family values, including services which 
preserve and enhance family life and relationships; protect 
children, youth, and families; and advocate and defend 
family values established by public policy and advocacy 
and education. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
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Continuation of this rule is necessary in order for the 
Division to continue to administer the Choose Life Adoption 
Support Restricted Account. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Diane Moore, 
Director 

Date: 12/16/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-259 Filing No. 51433 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 3110 
Building: State Office Building 
Street address: 450 N State St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

538-
3803 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-259.  Dependent Coverage to Age 26 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 31A-2-201(3) authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to make rules to implement the provisions 
of Title 31A, Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-2-212(5)(b) 
authorizes the insurance commissioner to require that 
insurers in Utah comply with the provisions of the Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) and the 
administrative rules adopted by the commissioner related 
to regulating health benefit plans.  Subsection 31A-22-
605(4)(a)(iv) authorizes the insurance commissioner to 
adopt rules relating to standards for coverage of 
dependents, among other matters. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Insurance Department has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule must remain active because it provides 
clarification and guidance to help insurers comply with 
both PPACA and Utah's insurance laws.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 01/22/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-63 Filing No. 51174 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-63.  Self Defense Against Wild Animals 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Under Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, the Wildlife Board 
is authorized and required to regulate and prescribe the 
means by which wildlife may be taken. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division of Wildlife Resources (Division) has not 
received any written comments regarding this rule.  Any 
comments received in opposition to this rule are resolved 
using existing policies and procedures or the issue is 
placed on the Regional Advisory Council's and Wildlife 
Board's agenda for review and discussion during the 
process for taking public input.  The public is welcome to 
view the Regional Advisory Council minutes, Wildlife 
Board minutes, and administrative record for this rule at 
the Division. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This purpose of this rule is to define conditions and 
circumstances under which a person is legally justified in 
killing or seriously wounding a threatening or attacking 
wildlife animal.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Rory Reynolds, 
DWR Interim  
Director 

Date: 02/01/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R805-5 Filing No. 52007 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Regents (Board of) 
Agency: University of Utah, Administration 
Room no.: 309 
Building: Park Building 
Street address: 201 S President’s Cir 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9009 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 

Robert Payne 801-
585-
7002 

Robert.payne@legal.utah. 
edu 

Scott Smith 801-
585-
7002 

Scott.smith@legal.utah.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R805-5.  Enforcement of No Smoking Areas at University 
of Utah Hospitals and Clinics 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Sections 26-38-1 et seq., 53B-2-
106, 63G-4-102, 76-6-206, and 76-8-701 through 76-8-
718. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received during the specified 
time period. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should be continued as it sets forth the 
regulations that govern smoking in the vicinity of the 
University of Utah’s Hospitals and Clinics.  This rule 
reiterates the requirements set forth in the Utah Indoor 
Clean Air Act in Rule R392-510.  It also sets forth 
expectations regarding use of designated smoking areas 
and it defines the protocols for enforcing this rule, as well 
as the sanctions to be applied for failure to comply with this 
rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Robert Payne, 
Deputy General  
Counsel 

Date: 01/25/2021 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 
Administrative Services 
Purchasing and General Services 
No.  53121  (Amendment)  R33-1:  Utah Procurement Rules, 
General Procurement Provisions 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53122  (Amendment)  R33-2:  Rules of Procedure for 
Procurement Policy Board 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53123  (Amendment)  R33-3:  Procurement Organization 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53124  (Amendment)  R33-4:  Supplemental 
Procurement Procedures 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53125  (Amendment)  R33-5:  Other Standard 
Procurement Processes 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53126  (Amendment)  R33-6:  Bidding 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53127  (Amendment)  R33-7:  Request for Proposals 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53128  (Amendment)  R33-8:  Exceptions to Standard 
Procurement Process 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 

No.  53129  (Amendment)  R33-9:  Cancellations, Rejections, 
and Debarment 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53130  (Amendment)  R33-10:  Preferences 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53131  (Amendment)  R33-11:  Form of Bonds 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53132  (Amendment)  R33-12:  Terms and Conditions, 
Contracts, Change Orders and Costs 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53133  (Amendment)  R33-13:  General Construction 
Provisions 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53134  (Amendment)  R33-15:  Procurement of Design 
Professional Services 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53135  (Amendment)  R33-16:  Protests 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53136  (Amendment)  R33-19:  General Provisions 
Related to Protest or Appeal 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53138  (Amendment)  R33-24:  Unlawful Conduct and 
Ethical Standards 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
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Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  53237  (Amendment)  R68-6:  Utah Nursery Act 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/08/2021 
 
No.  53241  (Amendment)  R68-30:  Independent Cannabis 
Testing Laboratory 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/08/2021 
 
No.  53177  (New Rule)  R68-35:  Academic Medical 
Cannabis Research 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Administration 
No.  53233  (New Rule)  R82-9:  Event Permits 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/26/2021 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  53246  (Amendment)  R277-116:  Audit Procedure 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/09/2021 
 
No.  53247  (Amendment)  R277-550:  Charter Schools - 
Definitions 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/09/2021 
 
No.  53248  (Amendment)  R277-552:  Charter School 
Timelines and Approval Processes 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/09/2021 
 
No.  53253  (Amendment)  R277-625:  Mental Health 
Screening Program 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/09/2021 
 
No.  53254  (New Rule)  R277-627:  Early Warning Program 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/09/2021 
 
No.  53250  (Amendment)  R277-929:  State Council on 
Military Children 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/09/2021 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation 
No.  53211  (Amendment)  R313-36:  Special Requirements 
for Industrial Radiographic Operations 
Published:  12/01/2020 
Effective:  01/15/2021 

 
No.  53212  (Amendment)  R313-37:  Physical Protection of 
Category 1 or Category 2 Quantities of Radioactive Material 
Published:  12/01/2020 
Effective:  01/15/2021 
 
 
Human Services 
Recovery Services 
No.  53223  (Amendment)  R527-300:  Income Withholding 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/10/2021 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  53229  (Amendment)  R590-160:  Adjudicative 
Proceedings 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53230  (Repeal)  R590-231:  Workers' Compensation 
Market of Last Resort 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
No.  53245  (Amendment)  R590-284:  Corporate 
Governance Annual Disclosure Rule 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/09/2021 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Water Rights 
No.  53224  (New Rule)  R655-18:  Public Water Supplier 40 
Year Water Requirement Plan Standards 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/22/2021 
 
 
Regents (Board of) 
Administration 
No.  53159  (New Rule)  R765-165:  Concurrent Enrollment 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  01/28/2021 
 
No.  53165  (New Rule)  R765-571a:  Procurement 
Published:  12/01/2020 
Effective:  01/28/2021 
 
 
Regents (Board of) 
University of Utah, Commuter Services 
No.  52918  (Amendment)  R810-11:  Appealing Parking 
Tickets 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  02/05/2021 
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