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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between February 17, 2021, 12:00 a.m., and 
March 01, 2021, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the March 15, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least April 14, 2021.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through July 13, 2021, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-11 Filing No. 
53328 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84115 
Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Robert Hougaard 801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-11.  Quarantine Pertaining the Emerald Ash Borer 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This new rule is authorized by authority granted to the 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department) in 
Subsection 4-2-103(1)(k)(ii) and Section 4-35-109.  This 
rule provides for a quarantine of the emerald ash borer and 
sets guidelines related to that quarantine. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule provides guidelines governing the quarantine of 
emerald ash borer in the .  This includes identification of 
areas under quarantine, regulated articles, and 
restrictions, as well as exemptions to the quarantine and 
requirements to qualify for an exemption. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There would be no anticipated cost or savings to the state 
budget related to this new rule.  The work required by the 
quarantine is already occurring within the Department's 
nursery and inspection program.  Review of compliance 

agreements and shipments are a current routine 
inspection practice. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments because they do not bring emerald ash borer 
into the state or regulate emerald ash borer. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no direct cost or savings to Utah small 
businesses related to this rule.  The only potential cost 
would be on nurseries located in other states that are 
attempting to ship to Utah. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no direct cost or savings to Utah non-small 
businesses related to this rule.  The only potential cost 
would be on nurseries located in other states that are 
attempting to ship to Utah. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to other persons.  
No Department fees have been changed by the addition of 
this rule. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There should be no direct changes in compliance costs by 
affected persons in the  because this rule involves the 
entrance of emerald ash borer into the state from another 
state. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approves 
the regulatory impact analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This rule should have no fiscal impact on businesses in 
the state of Utah. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(k)(ii) 

Section 4-35-109  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/21/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 02/18/2021 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-11.  Quarantine Pertaining to the Emerald Ash Borer. 
R68-11-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Subsection 4-2-
103(1)(k)(ii) and Section 4-35-109. 
 
R68-11-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "Area Under Quarantine" means the United States and 
Canada. 
 2)  "Ash" means any species of the genus Fraxinus. 
 3)  "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food or their designee. 
 4)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 5)  "Emerald Ash Borer", Agrilus planipennis, a beetle, 
family Buprestidae, which in the larval stage attacks and often kills 
Ash trees, genus Fraxinus. 
 5)  "Person" means any individual, firm, association, 
partnership, corporation, government entity, or other legal entity. 
 6)  "Regulated Article" means any article on which the 
Emerald Ash Borer, Agrilus planipennis, in any stage of 
development, may be present, including: 
 a)  any ash trees, genus Fraxinus; 
 b)  any green waste of ash trees; 
 c)  ash firewood; or 
 d)  any other plant, plant part, article, or means of 
conveyance when it is determined by the Commissioner to present a 
hazard of spreading Emerald Ash Borer due to infestation or exposure 
to infestation by Emerald Ash Borer. 
 7)  "Business days" means days the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food is open to the public. 
 
R68-11-3.  Restrictions. 
 1)  Under this rule, a person may not transport, offer, 
expose, or hold for sale a regulated article in Utah from an area under 
quarantine  unless each requirement under Section R68-11-7, 
Importation and Treatment has been met. 
 2)  Any person that transports or supplies a regulated article 
in Utah from an area under quarantine  shall maintain records, 
certificates, receipts, and any other related documents for two years 
from the date of issuance. 
 
R68-11-4.  Importation and Treatment. 
 Under this rule, each regulated article from an area under 
quarantine is prohibited entry into Utah unless: 
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 1)  an exemption has been granted by the department that 
satisfies the requirements of Section R68-11-6; and 
 2)  the required certification is provided to the department. 
 a)  Certification shall be issued by an authorized state 
agricultural official of the state of origin. 
 b)  The certificate shall include the: 
 i)  the name and address of the exporter; 
 ii)  the name and address of the importer; 
 iii)  the inspection and certificate date; and 
 iv)  the signature of the authorized state agricultural officer. 
 c)  Each certificate issued by the authorized state 
agricultural official of the state of origin shall certify that the 
regulated article has exclusively been grown, produced, stored, held, 
or handled in a state or county that has been granted an exemption 
under Section R68-11-9. 
 d)  The certifying official shall mail or e-mail a copy of the 
certificate to Plant Industry Division, Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food, email: UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov. 
 e)  The exporter shall give ten business days advance notice 
of regulated article shipment to the department by email sent to 
UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov. 
 f)  The importer shall notify the department upon arrival of 
the regulated article imported under the provisions of this rule and 
shall hold the regulated article for inspection for two business days. 
 g)  The department may inspect and reject or release the 
regulated article within two business days of delivery. If the 
department does not inspect the shipment within two business days 
the regulated articles no longer need to be held by the importer. 
 
R68-11-5.  Records. 
 1)  Each record, certificate, or other document related to a 
regulated article that a person who transports or supplies the 
regulated article provides to the department shall include information 
regarding the source of the regulated article and the disposition of the 
regulated article. 
 2)  Each record, certificate, or other document of a person 
that sells a regulated article provides to the department shall include 
information regarding the source and supplier of the regulated article. 
 3)  The department may inspect each record, certificate, 
document, inventory, and facility of a person that transports, supplies, 
or sells a regulated article from an area under quarantine  at any time 
during reasonable business hours and may take samples of the 
regulated article for the purpose of enforcing this rule. 
 
R68-11-6.  Exemptions. 
 1)  The Emerald Ash Borer, Agilus planipennis, in any stage 
of development is not exempt from this rule under any circumstances. 
 2)  The Commissioner may declare particular regulated 
articles from individual states, counties, or provinces exempt from 
this rule if they request an exemption. 
 3)  Requests for exemption shall be made to the department 
in writing and shall: 
 a)  certify that Emerald Ash Borer is not known to be 
present in their jurisdiction; 
 b)  provide documents outlining their Emerald Ash Borer 
monitoring program; 
 c)  agree to provide their Emerald Ash Borer trapping data 
to the department, including: 
 i)  how the trapping survey was carried out; 
 ii)  the number and location of traps; 

 iii)  results of the trapping survey; and 
 iv)  history of the Emerald Ash Borer trapping survey; 
 c)  certify that they will notify the department of any 
Emerald Ash Borer detections within their jurisdiction within 48 
hours; and 
 d)  provide written justification explaining why regulated 
articles from their state, county, or province present a low risk for 
Emerald Ash Borer introduction into Utah. 
 4)  The department shall maintain a current and publicly 
available list of exempt states, counties, and provinces. 
 5)  The department shall respond in writing within ten 
business days of the request for exemption. 
 6)  Exemptions are valid for a 12-month period. 
 7)  The department may at any time revoke an exemption 
due to a change in the risk assessment. 
 8)  The department shall notify the jurisdiction, in writing, 
identifying the reason for the revocation. 
 
R68-11-7.  Enforcing Powers. 
 1)  Authorized agents of the department shall refuse 
admittance into Utah any regulated article from an area under 
quarantine that does not meet the provisions of this rule. 
 2)  Any shipment found within Utah in violation of this rule 
shall be destroyed or be returned to the exporter at once. 
 
R68-11-8.  Violations and Penalties. 
 1)  Any fraudulent use of incorrect information to 
circumvent the enforcement of this rule is a violation. 
 2)  Failure to comply with any provision of this rule is a 
violation. 
 3)  Violators of this rule shall be subject to Section 4-2-304. 
 4)  The department shall be subject to the notice 
requirements of Section 4-2-302 with respect to any penalty assessed. 
 4)  Each ash tree or bulk sale shall be a separate violation 
of this rule. 
 
KEY:  plant diseases 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-2-
103(1)(k)(ii); 4-35-109 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-62 Filing No. 
53332 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

mailto:UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov
mailto:UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov
mailto:UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov
mailto:UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov
mailto:UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov
mailto:UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-62.  Drawing Application Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (DWR) rule pursuant to Big Game 
Applications. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule change the 90-day 
requirement to the end of the calendar year. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The proposed rule amendments amend the deadline 
allowing for deployed military sportsmen to acquire a 
bonus or preference point during applications periods 
without having to meet the combination/hunting license 
requirement, these changes can be initiated within the 
current workload and resources of the DWR. Therefore, 
DWR has determined that these amendments do not 
create a cost or savings impact to the state budget or 
DWR's budget since the changes will not increase 
workload and can be carried out with existing budget. 
 
B) Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendment provides a waiver of a 
DWR requirement, this filing does not create any direct 
cost or savings impact to local governments.  Nor are local 
governments indirectly impacted because this rule does 
not create a situation requiring services from local 
governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
non-small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments do not have the potential to create a 
cost impact to those deployed individuals wishing to 
participate in the hunting opportunities. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

DWR has determined that this amendment will not create 
additional costs for those participating in hunting in Utah. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Brian Steed, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Brian Steed, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 23-14-18 Section 23-14-19  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/21/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Rory Reynolds, 
DWR Interim  
Director 

Date: 02/24/2021 

 

R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-62.  Drawing Application Procedures. 
R657-62-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, 
the Wildlife Board has established this rule for drawing applications 
and procedures. 
 (2)  Specific season dates, bag and possession limits, areas 
open, number of permits and other administrative details that may 
change annually are published in the respective guidebooks of the 
Wildlife Board. 
 
R657-62-26.  Deployed Military. 
 (1)  Notwithstanding any other provision in this rule, a 
resident serving in the United States Military and deployed in 
connection with their military service may apply for and receive a 
bonus point or preference point without acquiring or possessing a 
hunting or combination license. 
 (2)  To obtain a bonus point or preference point without a 
hunting or combination license, an eligible resident must: 
 (a)  be deployed [at]90 consecutive days or more during the 
[time]calendar year of application[ and during the hunting seasons 
applicable to the point]; 
 (b)  not have previously received a bonus or preference 
point for the species and hunt type in the same year; 
 (c)  otherwise be eligible to receive a bonus or preference 
point; 
 (d)  pay a $10 application fee; and 
 (e)(i)  submit an application to the Division no later than 
[30 days prior to the opening date of the first season for the species 
and hunt type corresponding to the bonus point or preference point 
sought.]December 31st of the calendar year of qualifying 
deployment; and 
 ([3]ii)  [The application shall ]include the following 
information in the application: 
 ([a]A)  full name, date of birth, Division customer 
identification number, permanent and current physical address, email 
address, and any other information required by the Division; 
 ([b]B)  proof of residency; and 
 ([c]C)  copy of official military documentation ordering 
deployment and specifying its term and location. 
 (3)  All other regulations in rule and guidebook for 
receiving a bonus point or preference point are applicable to an 
applicant under this section, except for the application process and 
the requirement to possess a hunting or combination license. 
 (4)  A person qualifying for a bonus point or preference 
point under this section may not surrender and receive a refund on: 
 (a)  an unexpired hunting or combination license previously 
purchased; or 
 (b)  a previously awarded bonus point or preference point. 
 (5)  For purposes of this section: 
 (a)  "Active duty" means full-time duty in the active 
military. 
 (b)  "Deployed" means movement from a military 
personnel's permanent duty station to active duty outside the state of 
Utah based on orders from military command. 
 (c)  "Military" means the United States Army, Navy, 
Airforce, Marines, Coast Guard, and National Guard Reserve Units. 
 (d)  "Resident" has the same meaning as defined in Section 
23-13-2. 
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KEY:  wildlife, permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
7,] 2021 
Notice of Continuation:  April 9, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R986-700-901 Filing No. 
53330 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
517-
4709 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-700-901.  Unearned Income, Pandemic 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule change is to maintain services for 
child care subsidy families and providers during the 
COVID-19 pandemic. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change allows the Department of Workforce 
Services (Department), Office of Child Care to exclude 
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation from 
unearned income for purposes of determining eligibility for 
child care subsidy payments.  Due to the COVID-19 
pandemic there are child care subsidy (CC) customers 
who have lost employment through no fault of their own 
and require additional funds in order to care for their 
children.  Excluding the $300 per week Lost Wage 
Assistance (LWA) and $300 per week Federal Pandemic 
Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) payments from CC 
income eligibility determinations will allow families who are 
eligible for CC to maintain eligibility while receiving LWA 
and FPUC, thus allowing them to return to work more 
quickly once business resumes.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  A 

corresponding 120-day emergency rule that is effective as 
of 02/19/2021 is under Filing No. 53329 in this issue, 
March 15, 2021, of the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional state employees or resources needed to 
oversee the new changes.  The new changes will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget.  Any costs will be paid with funds granted to the 
state through the federal Child Care and Development 
Fund. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local government revenues or expenditures because 
the program is federally-funded and does not rely on local 
governments for funding, administration, or enforcement. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The majority of child care providers are small businesses 
(North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 
624410).  This rule change will not result in any costs to 
those small businesses and may have a fiscal benefit to 
those small businesses.  The Department cannot predict 
when or if a CC recipient might become unemployed, then 
subsequently qualify for unemployment and LWA or 
FPUC.  The Department also cannot predict how long the 
COVID-19 public health emergency may impact CC 
recipient families' employment.  Therefore, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate the fiscal benefit 
to small business providers who will continue receiving CC 
payments as a result of this rule change.  Based on data 
obtained on April 17, 2020, approximately 397 families 
with 725 children were receiving child care subsidy.  The 
average subsidy payment per child each month is $534 in 
CY 2020.  This rule change will allow up to $387,150 per 
month in CC payments to continue to flow to child care 
providers during the COVID-19 public health emergency, 
so they can maintain their businesses.  In the absence of 
this rule change, these programs might lose this funding at 
a time when enrollment and revenues in programs are 
dramatically reduced. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Some child care providers are non-small businesses 
(NAICS 624410).  This rule change will not result in any 
costs to those non-small businesses and may have a fiscal 
benefit to those non-small businesses.  The Department 
cannot predict when or if a CC recipient might become 
unemployed, then subsequently qualify for unemployment 
and LWA or FPUC.  The Department also cannot predict 
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how long the COVID-19 public health emergency may 
impact CC recipient families' employment.  Therefore, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate the fiscal benefit 
to non-small business providers who will continue 
receiving CC payments as a result of this rule change.  
Based on data obtained on April 17, 2020, approximately 
397 families with 725 children were receiving child care 
subsidy.  The average subsidy payment per child each 
month is $534 in CY 2020. This rule change will allow up 
to $387,150 per month in CC payments to continue to flow 
to child care providers during the COVID-19 public health 
emergency, so they can maintain their businesses.  In the 
absence of this rule change, these programs might lose 
this funding at a time when enrollment and revenues in 
programs are dramatically reduced. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Department cannot predict when or if a CC recipient 
might become unemployed, then subsequently qualify for 
unemployment and LWA or FPUC.  The Department also 
cannot predict how long the COVID-19 public health 
emergency may impact CC recipient families' 
employment.  Therefore, the Department cannot 
accurately estimate the fiscal benefit to CC recipient 
families who will continue receiving CC payments as a 
result of this rule change.  Based on data obtained on April 
17, 2020, approximately 397 families with 725 children 
were receiving CC.  Many of those families have 
experienced a period of unemployment during the public 
health emergency.  This rule change will support low-
income parents experiencing a period of unemployment to 
maintain their child care arrangements during the COVID-
19 public health emergency. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

This rule change is not expected to cause any compliance 
costs for affected persons because the new changes do 
not create any new administrative fees.  Provider 
compliance responsibilities are not changed with this new 
change. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey R. Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The funding for child care is provided by the federal Child 
Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG).  At this 
time, child care programs continue to receive subsidy 
payments for all families that were determined eligible for 
subsidies at the time of application unless their earnings 
exceed the federally established income threshold of 85% 
of the state median income (SMI).  The CCDBG Act allows 
states to establish the definition of "income" for purposes 
of determining whether a family is at 85% SMI.  Utah 
includes standard unemployment benefits as "income" for 
purposes of eligibility.  This rule will not change that 
underlying requirement.  However, by excluding the $300 
per week Lost Wages Assistance paid pursuant to the Lost 
Wages Assistance paid pursuant to the August 8, 2020, 
Presidential Memorandum instructing the Secretary of 
Homeland Security, acting through FEMA, to make 
available other needs assistance for lost wages in 
accordance with Subsection 408(e)(2) of the Stafford Act 
(42 U.S.C. Subsection 5174(e)(2)), and the $300 per week 
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation paid 
pursuant to Section 203 of the Continued Assistance Act, 
part of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, for all 
qualified UI recipients, Utah will be supporting the child 
care businesses that rely on family tuition payments to 
meet most operating expenses by maintaining program 
income through a stable child care subsidy program.  This 
is of great economic importance to Utah given that 
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approximately 38% of licensed centers and 18% of 
licensed family child care programs temporarily closed 
during the COVID-19 pandemic due to low enrollment. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Casey R. Cameron, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 35A-3-310 Section 53F-5-210 Subsection 

35A-3-203(12) 
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/21/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Casey R. 
Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 02/19/2021 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 
R986-700-901.  Unearned Income, Pandemic. 
 (1)  This Section supersedes any conflicting provisions of 
Rules R986-200 and R986-700. 
 (2)  Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation 
under Section 2104 of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic 
Security Act of 2020, Pub. L. No. 116-136, is not countable unearned 
income for purposes of determining eligibility for any child care 
subsidy program. 

 (3)  Lost Wages Assistance paid pursuant to the August 8, 
2020, Presidential Memorandum instructing the Secretary of 
Homeland Security, acting through FEMA, to make available other 
needs assistance for lost wages in accordance with Section 408(e)(2) 
of the Stafford Act (42 U.S.C. Subsection 5174(e)(2)), is not 
countable unearned income for purposes of determining eligibility 
for any child care subsidy program. 
 (4)  Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation 
under section 203 of the Continued Assistance Act, part of the 
Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, Pub. L. 116-260, enacted on 
December 27, 2020, is not countable unearned income for purposes 
of determining eligibility for any child care subsidy program. 
 
KEY:  child care, grant programs 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[August 14, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 28, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-
203(12); 35A-3-310; 53F-5-210 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-302-102 Filing No. 
53336 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 

Street address: 140 E Broadway (300 S) 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda McPeck 801-

517-
4709 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R994-302-102.  Due Dates for Contribution Payments 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule change requires that all employer payments to 
the Department of Workforce Services (Department) be 
made electronically on the Department's website.  Mail-in 
payments are no longer accepted.  This change will 
increase operational efficiency and enhance payment 
security and timeliness.  This rule change also makes 
technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment removes references to payment by mail, 
as contribution payments must be paid online. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any significant 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  However, the Department had one-time 
costs to implement the online filing requirement and 
currently pays all associated processing charges for online 
payments.  The Department believes it will recoup these 
costs with efficiencies gained from spending less time on 
opening and processing mail. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on local governments' revenues or expenditures in 
that it may save local government employer's costs 
associated with paying contributions via cash or check 
payments.  The full impact to local governments cannot be 
estimated as the necessary data concerning the cost 
savings to local governments is unavailable. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on small businesses' revenues or expenditures in 
that it may save small business employer's costs 
associated with paying contributions via cash or check 
payments.  The full impact to small businesses cannot be 
estimated as the necessary data concerning the cost 
savings to small businesses is unavailable. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is expected to have some fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures in that 
it may save non-small business employer's costs 
associated with paying contributions via cash or check 
payments.  The full impact to non-small businesses cannot 
be estimated as the necessary data concerning the cost 
savings to non-small businesses is unavailable. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on other person's revenues or expenditures, in that 
it may save other person's costs associated with paying 
contributions via cash or check payments.  The full impact 
to other persons cannot be estimated as the necessary 

data concerning the cost savings to other persons is 
unavailable. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

This rule change is not expected to cause compliance 
costs for affected persons because there are no 
processing charges for online payments. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey R. Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
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6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
After a thorough analysis, it was determined that this 
proposed rule change will not result in a measurable fiscal 
impact to businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Casey R. Cameron, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 35A-4-302   

 
Public Notice Information 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/22/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Casey R. 
Cameron, 
Executive Director 
 

Date: 03/01/2021 

 
R994.  Workforce Services, Unemployment Insurance. 
R994-302.  Employer Contribution Payments. 
R994-302-102.  Due Dates for Contribution Payments. 
 (1)  [Quarterly]A contribution payment is [are ]due each 
quarter from an employer[s] who is[are] subject to the Utah 
Employment Security Act except as noted in subsections (2) and (3) of 
this section.  The payment is due on the last day of the month that 
follows the end of each calendar quarter unless the Department, after 

giving written notice, changes the due date.  Interest and penalties for a 
late payment[s] begins to accrue the day after the due date.[  
Contribution payments postmarked on or before the due date are 
considered paid timely.] 
 (2)  [D]A domestic employer[s] defined in Subsection 35A-
4-204(2)(k) may elect to pay contributions annually.  The payment is 
due on January 31 of the year following the year wages were paid. 
 (3)  [E]An employer[s] with seasonal employment may 
petition the Department to [only ]pay contributions one, two, or three 
calendar quarters a year.  The payment is due on the last day of the month 
that follows the end of the calendar quarter unless the Department, after 
giving written notice, changes the due date. 
 (4)  The Department may establish a different due date for the 
payment of contributions when[: 
 (a)  T] the employing unit can show a reasonable basis for 
contending that the status of the employing unit as an employer, the 
status of any service performed for the employer, or the status of any 
contribution liability is doubtful.  Appealing or disagreeing with a[the] 
Department['s] decision regarding the employer's status or status of the 
liability does not in itself show the status is doubtful.  Some examples 
of when a separate due date may be established by the Department are 
when an employer can show a reasonable basis for erroneously: 
 (a[i])  reporting wages to another state; 
 (b[ii])  not reporting wages the employer[it] considered to be 
exempt as agricultural labor pursuant to Section 35A-4-206; or 
 (c[iii])  not reporting wages for an individual the employer[s 
it] considered exempt from employment. 
 ([b]5)  The Department may establish a different due date for 
the payment of contributions when t[T]he possible collection of any 
contribution will be jeopardized by delaying the collection thereof until 
the regular due date. 
 ([5]6)  An extension of up to 90 days for making a quarterly 
payment[s] may be granted if the employer makes a written request 
within ten days after the date the written demand for payment is mailed 
by the Department.  [F]A further extension[s] may be granted if in the 
judgment of the Department an extension would preserve the possibility 
of collecting payment[s due].  Interest will accrue on the outstanding 
balance from the original due date. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, employer liability 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  April 22, 
2021[July 1, 2007] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 3, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-4-302 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-302-103 Filing No. 
53337 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E Broadway (300 S) 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 45244 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 
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City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda McPeck 801-

517-
4709 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R994-302-103.  Contribution Payments 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule change requires that all employer payments to 
the Department of Workforce Services (Department) be 
made electronically on the Department's website.  Mail-in 
payments are no longer accepted.  This change will 
increase operational efficiency and enhance payment 
security and timeliness.  This rule change also makes 
technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment removes references to payment by mail, 
as contributions payments must be paid online. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any significant 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  However, the Department did have one-
time costs to implement the online filing requirement and 
currently pays all associated processing charges for online 
payments.  The Department believes it will recoup these 
costs with efficiencies gained from spending less time on 
opening and processing mail. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on local governments' revenues or expenditures in 
that it may save local government employers costs 
associated with paying contributions via cash or check 
payments.  The full impact to local governments cannot be 
estimated as the necessary data concerning the cost 
savings to local governments is unavailable. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on small businesses' revenues or expenditures in 
that it may save small business employers costs 
associated with paying contributions via cash or check 
payments.  The full impact to small businesses cannot be 
estimated as the necessary data concerning the cost 
savings to small businesses is unavailable. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures in that it may save non-small business 
employers costs associated with paying contributions via 
cash or check payments.  The full impact to non-small 
businesses cannot be estimated as the necessary data 
concerning the cost savings to non-small businesses is 
unavailable. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on other person's revenues or expenditures in that 
it may save other persons costs associated with paying 
contributions via cash or check payments.  The full impact 
to other persons cannot be estimated as the necessary 
data concerning the cost savings to other persons is 
unavailable. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

This rule change is not expected to cause compliance 
costs for affected persons because there are no 
processing charges for online payments. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey R. Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
After a thorough analysis, it was determined that this 
proposed rule change will not result in a measurable fiscal 
impact to businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Casey R. Cameron, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 35A-4-302   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 

A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/21/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Casey R. 
Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 03/01/2021 

 
R994.  Workforce Services, Unemployment Insurance. 
R994-302.  Employer Contribution Payments. 
R994-302-103.  Contribution Payments. 
 The amount of a quarterly contribution payment is[ due will 
be] based on wages paid during the quarter for subject employment, as 
defined by Rule R994-204[Section R994-401-205]. 
 (1)  [All]A contribution payment[s] or other payment[s] 
shall[should] be made online at the Department website and shall be 
payable in United States currency to the Utah Unemployment 
Compensation Fund or to a depository account specified by the 
Department or Utah State Treasurer. 
 (2)  [C]A contribution payment[s] will be reflected on the 
Department records on the day received.  Payment[s other than cash] 
will constitute payment on the day received [only ]if the payment is 
honored by the financial institution.  In the event [that the]a payment is 
not honored in full, the Department will remove the dishonored payment 
from the employer's account and may assess fees pursuant to[as 
provided for in] Section 35A-4-305 and Title 7, Chapter 15, Dishonored 
Instruments[Utah Code Title 07, Chapter 15]. 
[ (3)  If a non-cash payment instrument has been given in 
payment and has been returned by the depository institution unpaid, the 
Department reserves the right thereafter to accept from the employer 
only cash, certified cashier's check, or money order.] 
 (3[4])  [C]A contribution[s], interest, or penalty payment[s] 
received without a report or billing will be applied first to any unpaid 
costs, then to the oldest quarter in which an amount is due and will be 
applied first to the contribution payment[s], then to any[the] interest and 
finally to any penalty[the penalties] due in that quarter.  Any 
payment[Payments] will be applied in this manner unless the employer 
or Department specifies otherwise.  Any payment[Payments] 
accompanied by a contribution report or a billing will be applied to the 
quarter or quarters shown on that report or billing. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, employer liability 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[July 1, 
2007] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 3, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-4-302 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-302-104 Filing No. 
53338 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E Broadway (300 S) 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda McPeck 801-

517-
4709 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R994-302-104.  Due Dates for Filing Contribution and 
Equivalent Reports 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule change removes a sentence no longer necessary 
to this rule due to the Department of Workforce Services 
(Department) no longer accepting paper filings.  This 
change will increase operational efficiency and timeliness 
of reports.  This rule change also makes technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment removes references to reports received 
through the mail. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any significant 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  However, the Department did have one-
time costs to implement the online filing requirement.  The 
Department believes it will recoup these costs with 
efficiencies gained from spending less time on opening 
and processing mail. 
 

B) Local governments: 

This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on local governments' revenues or expenditures in 
that it may save local government employers costs 
associated with paper filings of reports.  The full impact to 
local governments cannot be estimated as the necessary 
data concerning the cost savings to local governments is 
unavailable. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on small businesses' revenues or expenditures in 
that it may save small business employers costs 
associated with paper filings of reports.  The full impact to 
small businesses cannot be estimated as the necessary 
data concerning the cost savings to small businesses is 
unavailable. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is expected to have indirect fiscal benefits 
on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures in that 
it may save non-small business employers costs 
associated with paper filings of reports.  The full impact to 
non-small businesses cannot be estimated as the 
necessary data concerning the cost savings to non-small 
businesses are unavailable. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit on other persons' revenues or expenditures in that 
it may save other persons costs associated with paper 
filings of reports.  The full impact to other persons cannot 
be estimated as the necessary data concerning the cost 
savings to other persons are unavailable. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

This rule change is not expected to cause compliance 
costs for affected persons because the amendment 
removes the requirement to file paper reports. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey R. Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
After a thorough analysis, it was determined that these 
proposed rule change will not result in a measurable fiscal 
impact to businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Casey R. Cameron, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 35A-4-302   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/21/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Casey R. 
Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 03/01/2021 

 
R994.  Workforce Services, Unemployment Insurance. 
R994-302.  Employer Contribution Payments. 
R994-302-104.  Due Dates for Filing Contribution and Equivalent 
Reports. 
 (1)  [C]A contribution report[s and any] or equivalent 
report[s] required of an[those] employer[s] liable for payments in lieu of 
a contribution payment is [are ]due quarterly on the last day of the month 
that follows the end of each calendar quarter; unless the Department, 
after giving written notice, changes the due date.[  Reports postmarked 
on or before the due date are considered filed timely.] 
 (2[a])  [Extension for Filing Reports. 
 ]The Department may, for good cause, grant an extension of 
time for filing a report if the employer makes a written request not later 
than the due date of the report. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, employer liability 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[July 1, 
2007] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 3, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-4-302 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends April 14, 2021. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through July 13, 2021, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R317-8 Filing No. 53240 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Donald Hall 801-

536-
4492 

dghall@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R317-8.  Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(UPDES) 
 
3.  Change in Proposed Rule: 
Changes FILING 
Name, Publication 
date of prior filing: 

R317-8, Utah Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (UPDES), 
originally published on 
01/01/2021 

 

4.  Reason for this change: 
Minor changes are made in response to public notice 
comments. 
 
5.  Summary of this change: 

In Subsection R317-8-10(10.2), changes the "Certified 
Nutrient Management Planner" definition.  This change 
allows for additional certified nutrient management planner 
training programs, not just programs through Natural 
Resources Conservation Service and Division of Water 
Quality (DWQ), that are approved by the Director.  This 
change will allow DWQ to work closely with the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food in development of a 
training program and providing that training for nutrient 
management planner certification. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.2), changes the "Small 
CAFO" definition.  This proposed change requires 
consultation with the Chair of the Utah Conservation 
Commission when the Director considers designating a 
small animal feeding operation (AFO) as a concentrated 

animal feeding operation (CAFO).  The current rule 
requires notification instead of consultation with the Chair 
of the Commission when an AFO is designated as a 
CAFO. 
 
This is a public notice only.  No additional comments are 
being solicited.  The initial amendment along with this 
Change in Proposed Rule (CPR) should become effective 
at the end of the notice period, April 15, 2021.  (EDITOR'S 
NOTE:  The original proposed amendment upon which this 
CPR was based was published in the January 1, 2021, 
issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 30.  Underlining 
in the rule below indicates text that has been added since 
the publication of the proposed rule mentioned above; 
strike-out indicates text that has been deleted.  You must 
view the CPR and the proposed amendment together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable 
should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
None--The rule changes would have no net effect on the 
state budget or the budget of the DWQ.  There would be 
no additional costs or savings implementing the changes 
in the Certified Nutrient Management Planner definition.  
The DWQ would approve training programs instead of 
individual certified planners.  Any new labor for a training 
program would be performed by existing employees.  Any 
new material costs, which would be minimal, would come 
from budgets for office supplies.  There will only be 5 to 15 
trained certified planners and any new training program 
would mostly use or entirely use free internet educational 
resources from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural 
Resource Conservation Service. 
 
The Small CAFO definition is just a change in how DWQ 
communicates with the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food in CAFO designation decisions. 
 
B) Local government: 
None--There would be no effect on costs or savings to 
local governments.  Local governments do not have 
oversight of AFOs and CAFOs as pertaining to the state 
rule. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None--The rule changes would have no effect on costs or 
savings to the regulated community and no effect on other 
small businesses.  The definitions only effect state agency 
interactions and programs. 
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D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--There are 5 or fewer businesses in the regulated 
community employing 50 or more persons.  The rule 
changes would have no effect on costs to the regulated 
community and have no effect on other non-small 
businesses.  The changes would effect only state 
agencies, the DWQ and the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food.  
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--There should be no costs to any person or agency.  
The changes could only affect the state agencies that may 
provide certified planner training and CAFO designation 
decision making. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 
None--There will be no compliance costs to AFOs and 
CAFOs, the regulated community.  There currently are no 
costs for the affected persons and there would be no new 
costs if the rule changes are implemented. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis and fiscal 
analysis. 
 
7.  A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact the rule may have on businesses: 
The proposed rule changes would not affect non-animal 
agriculture businesses financially, either positively or 
negatively.  Also, the regulated community would not have 
additional costs from the proposed rule changes. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
8.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Title 19, Chapter 5 40 CFR 122 40 CFR 124 
40 CFR 412 40 CFR 503  

 
Public Notice Information 
11.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on:  

04/14/2021 

NOTE:  The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective. It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 11, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Erica B. Gaddis, 
DWQ Director 

Date: 03/01/2021 
 

 
R317.  Environmental Quality, Water Quality. 
R317-8.  Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (UPDES). 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
R317-8-10.  Animal Feeding Operations (AFOs) and Concentrated 
Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs). 
 10.1  Applicability of Rule R317-8, Rule Compatibility, and 
Federal Rule Incorporation. 
 (1)  Section R317-8-10, including the federal regulations 
incorporated by reference, shall be applicable to animal feeding 
operations and concentrated animal feeding operations. 
 (2)  Where any requirements, definitions, or conditions in 
Section R317-8-10 conflict with the requirements, definitions, or 
conditions pertaining to animal feeding operations or concentrated 
animal feeding operations in other parts of Rule R317-8, the 
requirements, definitions, and conditions in Section R317-8-10 shall 
govern. 
 10.2  Definitions. 
 "25-year, 24-hour storm event" means the 25-year, 24-hour 
storm event and "100-year, 24-hour storm event" means the 100-year, 
24-hour storm event as defined in 40 CFR 412.2(i). 
 "Animal Feeding Operation" (AFO) means a lot or facility 
(other than aquatic animal production facility) where the following 
conditions are met: 
 (a)  animals have been, are, or will be stabled, housed, or 
confined and fed or maintained for a total of forty-five (45) days or more 
in any 12-month period; 
 (b)  crops, vegetation, forage growth, or post harvest residues 
are not sustained in the normal growing season over any portion of the 
lot or facility; and 
 (c)  two or more AFOs under common ownership are 
considered to be a single AFO if they adjoin each other or if they use a 
common area or system for the storage or disposal of waste. 
 "Certified Nutrient Management Planner" means a person 
who[, after appropriate NRCS or division training, is approved and] is 
certified by the Utah Natural Resources Conservation Services (NRCS), 
or by an alternative certification program approved by the Director, to 
develop and approve nutrient management plans and comprehensive 
nutrient management plans. 
 "Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation" (CAFO) means: 
 (a)  an AFO that is a Large CAFO; or 
 (b)  an AFO that is a Medium CAFO; or 
 (c)  an AFO that is Designated as a CAFO. 
 "Approved Agriculture Certificate of Environmental 
Stewardship Program (ACES)" means a program approved by the Water 
Quality Board as meeting the substantive standards of this rule and the 
Utah Water Quality Act, Title 19, Chapter 5. 
 "Designated CAFO" means an AFO that is designated as a 
CAFO by the Director according to criteria in 40 CFR 122.23(c) and 
thereby required to obtain a UPDES permit. 
 "Discharge" has the same meaning as "Discharge of a 
Pollutant" in Subsection R317-8-1.5, except that in Section R317-8-10, 

"discharge" shall refer only to the addition of pollutants to surface waters 
of the state. 
 "Large CAFO" means an AFO that stables, houses, or 
confines the type and number of animals that fall within any of these 
ranges: 
 (a)  Beef, calves, heifers, or veal:  1,000 or more 
 (b)  Cows (milking and dry):  700 or more 
 (c)  Layers, broilers (wet system):  30,000 or more 
 (d)  Other than layers (dry system):  125,000 or more 
 (e)  Layers (dry system):  82,000 or more 
 (f)  Turkeys:  55,000 or more 
 (g)  Swine (55 pounds or more):  2,500 or more 
 (h)  Swine (less than 55 pounds):  10,000 or more 
 (i)  Sheep:  10,000 or more 
 (j)  Horses:  500 or more 
 (k)  Ducks (dry system):  30,000 or more 
 (l)  Ducks (wet system)5,000 or more 
 "Large Weather Event" in Subsection 19-5-105.5(3)(b)(iii) 
means either: 
 (a)  a single event or a series of precipitation events, including 
snow, received over a 30 day period at an AFO or CAFO that yields 
precipitation greater than the area's monthly average precipitation for the 
30-day period, plus either: 
 (i)  a 100-year, 24-hour storm event for poultry, swine, or veal 
AFO or CAFO; or 
 (ii)  a 25-year, 24-hour storm event for any other AFOs or 
CAFOs; or 
 (b)  rapid snow or ice melt at the AFO or CAFO that occurs 
during a 7-day period which results in the runoff of a volume of water 
equivalent to (a). 
 "Medium AFO" means a lot or facility that is an AFO that 
stables, houses or confines the type and number of animals that fall 
within any of these ranges: 
 (a)  Beef, calves, heifers, or veal:  300-999 
 (b)  Cows (milking and dry):  200-699 
 (c)  Layers or broilers (wet system):  9,000-29,999 
 (d)  Other than layers (dry system):  37,500-124,999 
 (e)  Layers (dry system):  25,000-81,999 
 (f)  Turkeys:  16,500-54,999 
 (g)  Swine (55 pounds or more):  750-2,499 
 (h)  Swine (less than 55 pounds):  3,000-9,999 
 (i)  Sheep:  3,000-9,999 
 (j)  Horses:  150-499 
 (k)  Ducks (dry system):  10,000-29,999 
 (l)  Ducks (wet system):  1,500-4,999 
 "Medium CAFO" means a Medium AFO where the 
conditions specified in 40 CFR 122.23(b)(6)(ii) are met. 
 "Reasonable Measures" in Subsection 19-5-105.5(3)(b)(iii) 
means the measures described in Subsection R317-8-10.8. 
 "Small AFO" means a lot or facility that is an AFO that 
stables, houses, or confines the type and number of animals that fall 
within any of these ranges: 
 (a)  Beef, calves, heifers, or veal:  1-299 
 (b)  Cows (milking and dry):  1-199 
 (c)  Layers, broilers (wet system):  1-8,999 
 (d)  Other than layers (dry system):  1-37,499 
 (e)  Layers (dry system):  1-24,999 
 (f)  Turkeys:  1-16,499 
 (g)  Swine (55 pounds or more):  1-749 



  NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 06 21 

 (h)  Swine (less than 55 pounds):  1-2,999 
 (i)  Sheep:  1-2,999 
 (j)  Horses:  1-149 
 (k)  Ducks (dry system):  1-9,999 
 (l)  Ducks (wet system):  1-1,499 
 "Small CAFO" means a Small AFO where the following 
conditions are met: 
 (a)  the Small AFO discharges: 
 (i)  through a man-made ditch, flushing system, or other 
similar man-made device; or 
 (ii)  into surface waters of the state which waters originate 
outside of and pass over, across, or through the facility or otherwise 
come into direct contact with the animals confined at the operation; and 
 (b)  the Director has designated the Small AFO as a CAFO 
according to criteria in 40 CFR 122.23(c) after[ providing written 
notification to] consulting with the Chair of the Utah Conservation 
Commission. 
 "Surface Waters of the State" for purposes under Section 
R317-8-10 means Waters of the State as defined in Subsection R317-8-
1.5 that are not ground water, except ground water that has hydrologic 
connection to surface waters of the state. 
 10.3  UPDES Permit Requirement. 
 (1)  The following animal feeding operations are required to 
apply for a UPDES permit: 
 (a)  Large CAFOs that discharge; 
 (b)  Medium CAFOs; and 
 (c)  Designated CAFOs. 
 (2)  CAFOs with land application discharges are subject to the 
requirements provided in 40 CFR 122.23(e) and 40 CFR 
122.42(e)(1)(xi) through (ix).  CAFOs that do not meet these 
requirements must apply for a UPDES permit. 
 (3)  An AFO shall be designated as a CAFO per the criteria in 
40 CFR 122.23(c). 
 10.4  Timing of UPDES Permit Application. 
 (1)  An animal feeding operation that has an operational 
change that results in a requirement to obtain a UPDES CAFO permit 
shall submit an application no later than 90 days after the time a facility 
has conditions that require CAFO permit coverage. 
 (2)  No later than 180 days before the expiration of a permit, 
or as provided by the Director, a permitted CAFO must submit an 
application to renew its permit in accordance with 40 CFR 122.21(d) 
unless the CAFO will not discharge upon expiration of the permit. 
 (3)  For facilities in operation prior to April 14, 2003 that have 
an operational change where the facility becomes a Large CAFO that 
discharges, or a Medium or Designated CAFO, must seek to obtain 
UPDES permit coverage no later than 90 days after the time a facility 
has conditions that require CAFO permit coverage. 
 (4)  New source CAFOs that require CAFO permit coverage 
and CAFOs constructed after April 14, 2003 that require CAFO permit 
coverage must seek to obtain UPDES CAFO permit coverage no later 
than 180 days prior to the time a facility commences operation with the 
conditions that require CAFO permit coverage. 
 (5)  A CAFO that is required to obtain an individual permit or 
that is a Designated CAFO, shall apply for a permit within 60 days of 
notification of permit requirement by the Director, unless otherwise 
determined by the Director. 
 10.5  UPDES CAFO Permit Application Requirements. 
 In order to apply for a UPDES CAFO permit, an AFO or 
CAFO shall submit to the Director an application containing the 

information specified in 40 CFR 122.21(i).  Application forms may be 
obtained from the Division of Water Quality.  If the applicant is seeking 
coverage under a general permit, it shall submit a notice of intent and 
nutrient management plan to the Director, along with any information 
required under the general permit. If the Director has not issued a general 
permit for which the AFO or CAFO is eligible, the owner or operator 
must submit an application, including a nutrient management plan, for 
an individual permit to the Director. 
 10.6  Nutrient Management Plans. 
 (1)  Nutrient Management Plan (NMP) or Comprehensive 
Nutrient Management Plan (CNMP) content and requirements for 
compliance under this rule will include, as applicable and needed for an 
AFO or CAFO, the following: 
 (a)  the federal requirements incorporated by rule in 
Subsection R317-8-1.10; 
 (b)  the requirements of 40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i) through (ix) 
and the technical standards needed to implement those requirements at 
an AFO or CAFO as specified in rule R317-8-10.7; and 
 (c)  for permitted AFOs and CAFOs, the NMP or CNMP must 
also include and be consistent with the requirements of the UPDES 
permit. 
 (2)  NMPs or CNMPs shall be developed and implemented 
for the following AFOs and CAFOs, as applicable, and must be 
approved by a certified nutrient management planner: 
 (a)  AFOs and CAFOs seeking CAFO permit coverage or 
with CAFO permit coverage; 
 (b)  AFOs and CAFOs with permit by rule coverage; 
 (c)  AFOs and CAFOs with coverage under a compliance 
assistance program approved by the Director for purposes of compliance 
to reasonable measures under Subsection 19-5-105.5(3)(b)(ii); 
 (d)  AFOs and CAFOs participating in the ACES Program; 
 (e)  AFOs and CAFOs seeking to receive grant or loan 
funding through a division funding program; and 
 (f)  AFOs and CAFOs under an enforcement action issued by 
the Director. 
 (3)  NMPs or CNMPs for AFOs and CAFOs listed in 
Subsections R317-8-10.6(2)(a), (e), and (f), shall be signed or stamped 
by a Utah Professional Engineer or signed by a Natural Resources 
Conservation Service employee/engineer with proper engineering job 
approval authority delegated from the Natural Resources Conservation 
Service, when new or existing structures or facilities need to be 
designed, constructed or substantially altered at an AFO's or CAFO's 
production area or land application area. 
 10.7  Technical Standards. 
 (1)  Technical standards for NMP or CNMP preparation, 
content, and implementation are: 
 (a)  the practices, standards, and requirements of the Utah 
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Practice Standard 
590, Nutrient Management, dated October 2019 and the Utah Manure 
Application Risk Index (UMARI); and 
 (b)  the NRCS practice standards, policies, specifications, and 
best management practices needed for NMP or CNMP preparation, 
content, or implementation for compliance with 40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i) 
through (ix), as needed for a specific AFO or CAFO. 
 (2)  Implementation of these standards requires evaluation 
and nutrient management planning specific to each individual AFO or 
CAFO. 
 10.8  Reasonable Measures for Large Weather Events and 
Agriculture Discharges. 
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 (1)  As provided in Subsection 19-5-105.5(3)(b)(iii), no 
penalty shall apply with respect to an agriculture discharge resulting 
from a large weather event if the agriculture producer has taken 
reasonable measures to prevent an agriculture discharge. 
 (2)  An AFO or CAFO will be considered to have taken 
reasonable measures as provided by Subsection 19-5-105.5(3)(b)(iii), if 
it has implemented a NMP or CNMP according to Subsection R317-8-
10.6, as applicable to an AFO or CAFO, and is participating in any of 
the following: 
 (a)  a UPDES CAFO permit; 
 (b)  permit by rule as outlined in Subsection R317-10.8(3); 
 (c)  a compliance assistance program approved by the 
Director; or 
 (d)  the ACES Program. 
 (3)  An AFO will be permitted by rule if: 
 (a)  it has obtained and is in compliance with a site-specific 
NMP that implements Technical Standards and the requirements of 40 
CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i) through (viii), and the practices and protocols 
identified under those provisions; 
 (b)  it keeps records adequate to demonstrate that it has met 
the requirements in Subsection R317-8-10.8(3) and has, upon request, 
made those records available for review by the Director or the Director's 
representative; and 
 (c)  the facility has provided to the Director a notice of intent 
to be covered by this permit by rule provision and has confirmed that it 
is meeting the requirements of Subsection R317-8-10(3). 
 
KEY:  water pollution, discharge permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Notice of Continuation:  September 12, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-5; 40 CFR 
122; 40 CFR 124; 40 CFR 412; 40 CFR 503 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Health Promotion 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R384-415.  Electronic Cigarette Substance Standards 
 
3.  Change in Proposed Rule: 
Changes FILING 
Name, Publication 
date of prior filing: 

R384-415.  Electronic Cigarette 
Substance Standards, published 
01/15/2021 

 

4.  Reason for this change: 
Utah Department of Health (UDOH) reviewed and 
evaluated the comments received between January 15, 
2021, and February 15, 2021, and seeks to incorporate the 
following four changes to the original rule filing. 
 
5.  Summary of this change: 

There are four changes in this change in proposed rule 
(CPR).  First is eliminating the requirement for nicotine-
free labeling on manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substances in Subsections R384-415-3(3) and R384-415-
3(8)(b), second is correcting a reference error in 
Subsection R384-415-3(6), third is clarifying the 
prohibition language in Subsection R384-415-4(2), and 
fourth is eliminating the 3% or 36mg/mL manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance nicotine content 
requirements in Subsection R384-415-5(1)(b).  
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this CPR was based was published in the 
January 15, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 
20.  Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has 
been added since the publication of the proposed rule 
mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the CPR and the proposed 
amendment together to understand all of the changes that 
will be enforceable should the agency make this rule 
effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
Enactment of this CPR is not expected to have any fiscal 
costs to the state budget.  Manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substances should have been excluded from the 
nicotine free labeling, as the federal law only mandates 
child-resistant packaging for containers that are meant to 
be refilled or that are able to be opened by an adult; 
therefore, a manufacturer sealed container is exempt from 
the Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970. 
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B) Local government: 
Enactment of this CPR is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on the local government budgets, as local health 
departments will continue to conduct retail observations 
and investigations in accordance with respective state 
tobacco control laws, state administrative rules, and local 
health department regulations using existing allocated 
resources to enforce the amended rule. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this CPR may result in a direct cost to small 
businesses that employ fewer than 50 employees and 
choose to sell manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substances with nicotine concentrations higher than either 
5% by weight per container or exceed 59 mg/ml 
concentration of nicotine. 
 
The rule amendment may result in a direct fiscal cost to 
small businesses that primarily rely on the sale of tobacco 
products (retail tobacco specialty businesses) and operate 
under the North American Industry Classification System 
(NAICS) codes of 453991, 424940.  Other small 
businesses that sell manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substances among other products they choose 
to sell include (445120) convenience stores, (447110) gas 
stations with convenience stores, (445110) supermarkets 
and other grocery stores, (452319) general merchandise 
and discount stores, (447190) other gasoline stations, 
(453991) tobacco stores, (424940) tobacco product 
merchant wholesalers, (453220) gift, novelty, and souvenir 
stores, (721110) hotels, (813410) civic and social 
organizations.  A review of UDOH combined local health 
department tobacco retail compliance check logs for fiscal 
year 2020 and cross-referenced with Utah Department of 
Workforce Services (DWS) Firm Find Data, shows that 
there are approximately 1,175 small businesses that sell 
some type of electronic cigarette substances in Utah, or 
approximately 88% of Utah tobacco retailers. 
 
UDOH does not know how many of these 1,175 small 
businesses sell manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substances with nicotine concentrations higher than either 
5% by weight per container or exceed 59 mg/ml 
concentration of nicotine.  Only tobacco retailers that 
currently sell manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substances with a higher nicotine concentration may 
experience a direct fiscal impact. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this CPR may result in a direct cost to non-
small businesses that employ more than 50 employees 
and choose to sell manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substances with nicotine concentrations higher 
than either 5% by weight per container or exceed 59 mg/ml 
concentration of nicotine. 

The rule amendment may result in a direct fiscal cost to 
non-small businesses that sell manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substances among other products they 
choose to sell include (445120) convenience stores, 
(447110) gas stations with convenience stores, (445110) 
supermarkets and other grocery stores, (452319) general 
merchandise and discount stores, (447190) other gasoline 
stations, and (453220) gift, novelty, and souvenir stores.  A 
review of UDOH combined local health department 
tobacco retail compliance check logs for fiscal year 2020 
and cross-referenced with Utah Department of Workforce 
Services (DWS) Firm Find Data, shows that there are 
approximately 208 non-small businesses that sell some 
type of electronic cigarette substances in Utah, or 
approximately 12% of Utah tobacco retailers. 
 
UDOH does not know how many of these 208 non-small 
businesses sell manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substances with nicotine concentrations higher than either 
5% by weight per container or exceed 59 mg/ml 
concentration of nicotine.  Only tobacco retailers that 
currently sell manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substances with a higher nicotine concentration may 
experience a direct fiscal impact. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this CPR may result in an indirect cost or 
indirect benefit to persons, which can include both 
consumers who buy manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substances with nicotine concentrations higher 
than either 5% by weight per container or exceed 59 mg/ml 
concentration of nicotine and individuals who work for 
small businesses or non-small businesses that sell 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substances with 
nicotine concentrations higher than either 5% by weight 
per container or exceed 59 mg/ml concentration of 
nicotine. 
 
The indirect costs or indirect benefits to persons is 
unknown and difficult to determine, as the potential impact 
on consumers is unknown as they could choose to vape 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substances with 
a lower nicotine concentration, or they may choose to quit 
using manufacturer sealed electronic cigarettes because 
of enactment of this CPR. 
 
Likewise, the indirect costs or indirect benefits to persons 
employed at tobacco retail businesses is unknown and it 
is difficult to determine the impact on individual tobacco 
retail employees, who may be employed at either small 
businesses or non-small businesses which could be 
impacted as already indicated in 5C. and 5D above, 
because of enactment of this CPR. 
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F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 
Enactment of this CPR may result in an indirect cost or 
indirect benefit to persons, which can include both 
consumers who buy manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substances with nicotine concentrations higher 
than either 5% by weight per container or exceed 59 mg/ml 
concentration of nicotine and individuals who work for 
small businesses or non-small businesses that sell 
manufacture sealed electronic cigarette substances with 
nicotine concentrations higher than either 5% by weight 
per container or exceed 59 mg/ml concentration of 
nicotine. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, 
Richard G. Saunders, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
7.  A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact the rule may have on businesses: 
The fiscal impact of this CPR is inestimable because 
retailers have the option to sell manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substances with nicotine 
concentrations equal to or less than 5% by weight per 
container or 59 mg/ml concentration of nicotine. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
8.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
26-57-103(2) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
10.  The public may submit written or oral comments 
to the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 

 
11.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on:  

04/21/2021 

NOTE:  The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective. It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 11, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, 
Executive Director 

Date: 02/25/2021 

 
R384.  Disease Control and Prevention, Health Promotion. 
R384-415.  Electronic Cigarette Substance Standards. 
R384-415-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Section 26-57-103. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish standards for 
labeling, nicotine content, packaging, and product quality for non-
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substances and manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substances for the regulation of selling 
electronic cigarette products. 
 (3)  A person may only sell a non-manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance that is compliant with the established 
standards and requirements set forth in this rule. 
 (4)  Beginning on July 1, 2021, a person may only sell a 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance that is compliant 
with the established standards and requirements set forth in this rule. 
 (5)  A product in compliance with this rule is not endorsed 
as safe. 
 
R384-415-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Child resistant" means the same as the term "special 
packaging" is defined in 16 C.F.R 1700.1(a)(4) and is tested in 
accordance with the method described in 16 C.F.R. 1700.20. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (3)  "Electronic cigarette" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section 76-10-101. 
 (4)  "Electronic cigarette product" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section 76-10-101. 
 (5)  "Electronic cigarette substance" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section 76-10-101. 
 (6)  "Local health department" means the same as that term 
is defined in Subsection 26A-1-102(5). 
 (7)  "Industrial hemp product" means the same as that term 
defined is in Section 4-41-102. 
 (8)  "Manufacture" means the same as that term is defined 
in Section 26-57-102. 
 (9)  "Manufacturer" means the same as that term is defined 
in Section 26-57-102. 
 (10)  "Manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance" 
means the same as that term defined is in Section 26-57-102. 
 (11)  "Mg/mL" means milligrams per milliliter, a ratio for 
measuring an ingredient, in liquid form, where accuracy is measured 
in milligrams per milliliter, or a percentage equivalent. 
 (12)  "Nicotine" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section 76-10-101. 
 (13)  "Non-manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substance" means: 
 (a)  an electronic cigarette substance that is not a 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance; and 
 (b)  an electronic cigarette substance container the 
electronic cigarette manufacturer does intend for a consumer to open 
or refill. 
 (14)  "Package" or "packaging" means a pack, box, carton, 
or container of any kind, or if no other container, any wrapping, in 

which an electronic cigarette substance or a manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance is offered for sale, sold, or otherwise 
distributed to consumers. 
 (15)  "Permit" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section 26-62-101. 
 (16)  "Retailer" means any person who sells, offers for sale, 
exchanges, or offers to exchange for any form of consideration, an 
non-manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or a 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance to a consumer. 
This definition is without regard to the quantity of an non-
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or a manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance sold, offered for sale, 
exchanged, or offered for exchange. 
 (17)  "Transaction statement" means a statement, in paper 
or electronic form, which the manufacturer transferring ownership of 
the product certifies that the non-manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substance or the [ ]manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substance is in compliance with the standards in this rule. 
 
R384-415-3.  Labeling. 
 (1)  The retailer shall ensure that nicotine containing non-
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance offered for sale to the consumer 
features on the product package label the required safety warning 
stating "WARNING:  This product contains nicotine.  Nicotine is an 
addictive chemical." 
 (2)  Consistent with 21 C.F.R. 1143.3, the safety warning 
statements required in Subsection (1), the required safety warning 
statement must appear directly on the package and must be clearly 
visible underneath any cellophane or other clear wrapping as follows: 
 (a)  be located in a conspicuous and prominent place on the 
two principal display panels of the package and the warning area 
must comprise at least 30 percent of each of the principal display 
panels; 
 (b)  be printed in at least 12-point font size and ensures that 
the required warning statement occupies the greatest possible 
proportion of the warning area set aside for the required text; 
 (c)  be printed in conspicuous and legible Helvetica bold or 
Arial bold type, or other sans serif fonts, [ ]and in black text on a 
white background or white text on a black background in a manner 
that contrasts by typography, layout, or color, with all other printed 
material on the package; 
 (d)  be capitalized and punctuated as indicated in 
Subsection (1); and 
 (e)  be centered in the warning area in which the text is 
required to be printed and positioned such that the text of the required 
warning statement and the other information on the principal display 
panel have the same orientation. 
 (3)  The retailer shall ensure that a non-manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance [or a manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substance ]marketed as nicotine-free and offered for sale to 
the consumer features a safety warning stating "WARNING:  Keep 
away from children and pets." 
 (4)  The safety warning statements required in Subsection 
(3), the required safety warning statement must appear directly on the 
package and must be clearly visible underneath any cellophane or 
other clear wrapping as follows: 
 (a)  be located in a conspicuous and prominent place on the 
two principal display panels of the package and the warning area 
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must comprise at least 30 percent of each of the principal display 
panels; 
 (b)  be printed in at least 12-point font size and ensures that 
the required warning statement occupies the greatest possible 
proportion of the warning area set aside for the required text; 
 (c)  be printed in conspicuous and legible Helvetica bold or 
Arial bold type, or other sans serif fonts, and in black text on a white 
background or white text on a black background in a manner that 
contrasts by typography, layout, or color, consistent with the other 
printed material on the package; 
 (d)  be capitalized and punctuated as indicated in 
Subsection (3); and 
 (e)  be centered in the warning area in which the text is 
required to be printed and positioned such that the text of the required 
warning statement and the other information on the principal display 
panel have the same orientation. 
 (5)  A retailer will not be in violation of this section for 
packaging that: 
 (a)  contains a health warning; 
 (b)  is supplied to the retailer by the electronic cigarette 
substance manufacturer, importer, or distributor, who has the required 
state, local, or tobacco tax license or permit, if applicable; and 
 (c)  is not altered by the retailer in a way that is material to 
the requirements of this section. 
 (6)  A non-manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substance or a manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance 
package that would otherwise be required to bear the safety warning 
in Subsection (1) or [(2)](3) but is too small or otherwise unable to 
accommodate a safety warning label with sufficient space to bear 
such information is exempt from compliance with the requirement 
provided that: 
 (a)  the information and specifications required in 
Subsection (1) and (3) appear on the carton or other outer container 
or wrapper if the carton, outer container, or wrapper has sufficient 
space to bear the information; or 
 (b)  appear on a tag otherwise firmly and permanently 
affixed to the non-manufacturer sealed electronic- cigarette substance 
package or the manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance 
package. 
 (7)  In the case of Subsection (6)(a) or (b), the carton, outer 
container, wrapper, or tag will serve as the location of the principal 
display panels. 
 (8)  The retailer shall ensure that an industrial hemp product 
that is a non-manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or an 
industrial hemp product that is a manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substance is compliant with Title 4, Chapter 41, Part 1, 
Industrial Hemp and Section R68-26-5, unless: 
 (a)  an industrial hemp product that is a non-manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance marketed as containing nicotine 
and offered for sale or an industrial hemp product that is a 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance marketed as 
containing nicotine and offered for sale is in compliance with the 
safety warning requirements in Subsection (1) and (2); or 
 (b)  an industrial hemp product that is a non-manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance marketed as nicotine-free and 
offered for sale [or an industrial hemp product that is a manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance marketed as nicotine-free and 
offered for sale ]is exempt from the safety warning requirements in 

Subsection (3) and (4); if the product is compliant with Title 4, 
Chapter 41, Part 1, Industrial Hemp and Section R68-26-5. 
 
R384-415-4.  Prohibited Sales. 
 (1)  The retailer shall be prohibited from selling a non-
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or a manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance that is labeled as containing: 
 (a)  additives that create the impression that a non-
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or a manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance has a health benefit; 
 (b)  additives that are associated with energy and vitality; 
 (c)  illegal or controlled substances as identified in Section 
58-37-3; and 
 (d)  additives having coloring properties for emissions. 
 (2)  The retailer shall [ensure that]be prohibited from 
selling an industrial hemp product that is a non-manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance or an industrial hemp product that is a 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance unless it is 
compliant with Title 4, Chapter 41, Part 1, Industrial Hemp; Section 
R68-26-5; and Section R68-33-5. 
 
R384-415-5.  Nicotine Content. 
 (1)  The retailer shall be prohibited from selling a non-
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or a manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance to the consumer if the product is 
not compliant with the following: 
 (a)  the nicotine concentration for a non-manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance is limited to 360 mg nicotine per 
container, or does not exceed a 24mg/mL concentration of nicotine; 
and 
 (b)  the nicotine concentration for a manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance is limited[: 
 (i) ] to 5% nicotine by weight per container, or does not 
exceed a 59mg/mL concentration of nicotine, effective July 1, 2021[; 
and 
 (ii)  to 3% nicotine by weight per container, or does not 
exceed a 36mg/mL concentration of nicotine, effective January 1, 
2022]. 
 
R384-415-6.  Packaging. 
 (1)  The retailer shall ensure that the packaging of a non-
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance intended for sale 
to a consumer is certified as child resistant, and compliant with 
federal standards and law concerning child nicotine poisoning 
prevention. 
 (2)  The retailer shall sell non-manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substances and manufacturer sealed electronic 
cigarette substances in the product's original packaging. 
 (3)  The retailer shall be prohibited from repackaging or 
dispensing any non-manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette 
substance or any manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance 
for retail sale. 
 (4)  The retailer shall be prohibited from refilling a 
manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance that is not 
intended to be opened by a retailer or a consumer. 
 (5)  The retailer shall ensure that an industrial hemp product 
that is a non-manufacturer sealed electronic cigarette substance or an 
industrial hemp product that is a manufacturer sealed electronic 
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cigarette substance is compliant with Title 4, Chapter 41, Part 1, 
Industrial Hemp; and Rule R68-26. 
 
R384-415-7.  Product Quality. 
 (1)  No manufacturer or retailer shall sell, offer for sale, or 
distribute an electronic cigarette, an electronic cigarette product, or 
an electronic cigarette substance unless the product complies with 
each of the relevant electronic cigarette product standards established 
by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration under 21 U.S.C. 387g(3). 
 (2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3), after September 9, 
2021, no manufacturer or retailer shall sell, offer for sale, or distribute 
an electronic cigarette, an electronic cigarette product, or an 
electronic cigarette substance unless the product has received 
marketing authorization from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA) under 21 U.S.C. 387j(c)(1)(A)(i), 21 U.S.C. 387j(a)(2)(A)(i), 
or 21 U.S.C. 387j(a)(2)(A)(ii). 
 (3)  This section will take effect on the date that 
manufacturers are required to secure marketing orders from the FDA 
to continue marketing their products in the United States.  Any delays 
in enforcement efforts by FDA due to litigation will not impact the 
effective date of this section. 
 
R384-415-8.  Record Keeping and Testing. 
 (1)  The retailer shall provide the non-manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance transaction statements or manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance transaction statements to the 
Department or the local health department within 14 calendar days of 
a request. The retailer shall ensure that the transaction statement 
includes manufacturer certifications that: 
 (a)  the labeling standards are compliant with Section 
R384-415-3; 
 (b)  the nicotine content of a non-manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance is compliant with Subsection R384-
415-5(1)(a) and the nicotine content of a manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance is compliant with Subsection R384-
415-5(1)(b); 
 (c)  the packaging standards are compliant with Section 
R384-415-6; and 
 (d)  the product quality standards are compliant with 
Section R384-415-7. 
 (2)  The retailer shall provide evidence that supports the 
documents described in Subsection R384-415-8(1) to the Department 
or the local health department within 14 calendar days of a request. 
 (3)  The retailer shall have access to the documents 
described in Subsections R384-415-8(1) and R384-415-8(2) for a 
period of two years after the retailer purchases the non-manufacturer 
sealed electronic cigarette substance or the manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substance. 
 
R384-415-9.  Enforcement. 
 (1)  In enforcing or seeking penalties of any violation as set 
forth in this rule or Section 26-57-103, the Department and local 
health departments shall comply with the enforcement requirement 
in Title 26, Chapter 62, Part 3, Enforcement. 
 
KEY:  electronic cigarettes, nicotine, standards, Electronic 
Cigarette Regulation Act 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 

Notice of Continuation:  December 8, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-57-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-12 53099 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-12.  Laboratory Services 
 
3.  Change in Proposed Rule: 
Changes FILING 
Name, Publication 
date of prior filing: 

R414-12.  Laboratory Services, 
Published 10/15/2020 

 

4.  Reason for this change: 
This change is based on public comment and internal 
review. 
 
5.  Summary of this change: 

This change in proposed rule clarifies coverage 
procedures for urine drug testing.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The 
original proposed new rule upon which this change in 
proposed rule (CPR) was based was published in the 
October 15, 2020, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 
27.  Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has 
been added since the publication of the proposed new rule 
mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the CPR and the proposed new 
rule together to understand all of the changes that will be 
enforceable should the agency make this rule effective.) 
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Fiscal Information 
6.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as this change 
solely clarifies coverage procedures for urine drug testing.  
It neither includes additional services nor removes existing 
ones. 
 
B) Local government: 
There is no impact to local governments as they neither 
fund nor provide laboratory services under the Medicaid 
program. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact to small businesses as this change 
solely clarifies coverage procedures for urine drug testing.  
It neither includes additional services nor removes existing 
ones. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact to non-small businesses as this change 
solely clarifies coverage procedures for urine drug testing.  
It neither includes additional services nor removes existing 
ones. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact to Medicaid providers and Medicaid 
members as this change solely clarifies coverage 
procedures for urine drug testing.  It neither includes 
additional services nor removes existing ones. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 
There is no impact to a single Medicaid provider or 
Medicaid member as this change solely clarifies coverage 
procedures for urine drug testing.  It neither includes 
additional services nor removes existing ones. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, 
Richard G. Saunders, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
7.  A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact the rule may have on businesses: 
This clarification to the proposed rule will not result in a 
fiscal impact to businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
8.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-18-3  
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Public Notice Information 
10.  The public may submit written or oral comments 
to the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/14/2021 

 
11.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on:  

05/01/2021 

NOTE:  The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective. It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 11, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, 
Executive Director 

Date: 01/26/2021 

 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Finance Policy. 
R414-12.  Laboratory Services. 
R414-12-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  Laboratory services provide a scope of services to meet 
the basic medical needs of eligible Medicaid members. 
 (2)  Laboratory services are a mandatory Medicaid service 
authorized by Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
 

R414-12-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "COT" means chronic opioid therapy. 
 (2)  "SUD" means substance use disorder. 
 (3)  "Presumptive and qualitative drug testing" means testing 
used to determine the presence or absence of drugs or drug classes in 
a urine sample, with results expressed as negative, positive or as a 
numerical result, and includes competitive immunoassays and thin 
layer chromatography. 
 (4)  "Definitive quantitative confirmation" means to identify 
specific medications, illicit substances and metabolites, which report 
the results of analytes absent or present typically in nanogram per 
milliliter concentrations.  Definitive methods include gas 
chromatography-mass spectrometry (GC-MS) and lethal 
concentration-tandem mass spectrometry testing methods (LC-
MS/MS). 
 
R414-12-3.  Eligibility Requirements. 
 Laboratory services are available to each eligible Medicaid 
member. 
 
R414-12-4.  Program Access Requirements. 
 An eligible Medicaid member may obtain laboratory 
services from any Utah Medicaid provider. 
 
R414-12-5.  Service Coverage and Limitations. 
 (1)  Medicaid covers urine drug testing when medically 
necessary for COT or SUD as follows: 
 (a)  annual quantity limits of 60 presumptive tests and 16 
definitive tests; 
 (b)  daily quantity limits of one presumptive test and one 
definitive test. 
 (2)  Medicaid evaluates quantity limit exceptions on a case-
by-case basis. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-18-
3 
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End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-80 Filing No. 53333 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michelle 
McConkie 

801-
538-
5183 

meastmcconkie@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-80.  Sale of Trust Lands 
 
3.  Effective Date: 
02/26/2021 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Due to the COVID-19 epidemic, restrictions for a public 
gathering at a land sale auction are limited. 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change allows the sale procedure to be 
conducted electronically, as well as orally, limiting a public 
gathering due to COVID-19 epidemic's restrictions. 
 
6.  Regular rulemaking would: 
X cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
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X place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
Specific reason and justification: 
Due to the COVID-19 epidemic and subsequent 
restrictions on the size of public gatherings, an in-person 
public land sale auction would cause peril to public health 
and would violate local requirements.  The agency, 
therefore, desires for the public auction to be held 
electronically. 
 
The proposed rule changes to replace the previous 
emergency rule was not submitted to and approved by the 
School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration 
(SITLA) Board before the ending of the previous 120-days 
of the emergency rule that was effective November 1, 
2020.  Therefore, an additional 120-days emergency rule 
is required to avoid any lapsed in the SITLA surface sale 
procedures. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The previous 120-day emergency rule 
(Filing No. 53098), that was effective on November 1, 
2020, expired on 03/01/2021.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
7.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The purpose of this rule change is to establish an 
electronic bidding process for public land sales.  The 
contractor the agency will use for the online auction 
charges 3% of the sales price for their services.  The 
agency has increased the minimum sales prices for the 
auction parcels to account for the 3%.  Since the price for 
these services will be included in the final purchase price 
of each parcel and will therefore be passed on to the 
successful bidder of the parcel, it is not anticipated that any 
additional costs will be incurred by the state due to this rule 
change. 
 
B) Local governments: 

The purpose of this rule change is to establish an 
electronic bidding process for public lands sales.  It is not 
anticipated that local governments will be affected as a 
result of this rule change because local governments 
typically do not participate in land sale auctions. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The purpose of this rule change is to establish an 
electronic bidding process for public land sales.  If a small 
business is the successful bidder for a parcel, then the 3% 
contractor charge would be passed along to that bidder.  
These costs are unknown since the final purchase price of 
a parcel will not be determined until the close of the 
auction. 
 

Potential bidders (including small businesses) may save 
money as a result of this rule change if they would have 
ordinarily paid to travel to an in-person public auction held 
by the agency since these expenses would no longer be 
required for online bidding. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The purpose of this rule change is to establish an 
electronic bidding process for public land sales.  If a 
person is the successful bidder for a parcel, then the 3% 
contractor charge would be passed along to that bidder.  
These costs are unknown since the final purchase price of 
a parcel will not be determined until the close of the 
auction.  
 
Potential bidders may save money as a result of this rule 
change if they would have ordinarily paid to travel to an in-
person public auction held by the agency since these 
expenses would no longer be required for online bidding. 
 
8.  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
The purpose of this rule change is to establish an 
electronic bidding process for public land sales.  No 
compliance costs will be charged by the contractor 
providing this service or incurred by the agency. 
 
9.  A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The intent of this rule is to provide another mechanism for 
offering trust lands for sale to the private sector.  As such, 
no adverse fiscal impact for business is anticipated. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
David Ure, Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Utah Enabling Act  
of 1894, Sections 
6, 8, 10, 12 

Subsection 
53C-2-201(1)(a) 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a) 
(ii) 

Article X Subsection 
53C-4-101(1) 

 

Article XX Section 
53C-4-102 

 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

David Ure, 
Director 

Date: 02/25/2021 
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R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-80.  Sale of Trust Lands. 
R850-80-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, and 
Subsections 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-4-101(1) which authorize the 
director to prescribe the terms and conditions for the sale of trust land. 
 
R850-80-150.  Planning. 
 In addition to those other planning responsibilities described 
herein, the agency shall: 
 1.  Submit proposals for the sale of trust lands to the Resource 
Development Coordinating Committee (RDCC) unless the proposal is 
exempt from such review; 
 2.  Evaluate and respond to comments received through the 
RDCC process; and 
 3.  Evaluate any comments received through the notice and 
advertising processes conducted pursuant to R850-80-600 and R850-
80-615. 
 
R850-80-200.  Sale of Trust Lands. 
 The agency may sell trust land if the agency determines that 
the sale of the land would be in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries 
and provided that the land is sold for no less than fair market value. 
 
R850-80-250.  Evaluation of Temporary Easements, Rights-of-
Entry and Existing Rights of Record. 
 Prior to the sale of any trust land, the agency shall undertake 
the notification process set forth in R850-40-250(2) to evaluate whether 
any temporary easement or right-of-entry exists on the subject property.  
The agency shall also evaluate the presence and impact of other valid 
existing rights of record on the subject property prior to sale, and take 
any appropriate steps to mitigate adverse impacts resulting from such 
rights. 
 
R850-80-300.  Sales Initiation Process. 
 The sales process shall be initiated by an agency 
determination to evaluate the appropriateness of the sale of a particular 
parcel of trust land.  The evaluation shall be undertaken in accordance 
with R850-80-500.  In determining the appropriateness of a parcel of 
trust land for sale, the agency may consider nominations by interested 
parties. 
 
R850-80-400.  Sales Deposits. 
 If the agency evaluates a parcel of trust land for sale due to a 
nomination by an interested party, the person making such nomination 
may be required to deposit funds in an amount determined by the agency 
to be used to offset costs incurred in preparing the parcel for sale.  In the 
event the person making the deposit is the successful purchaser of such 
land, the deposit shall be a credit against any fees charged by the agency 
to the purchaser for preparing the land for sale.  In the event the person 
making the deposit is not the successful purchaser of such land or the 
land is not offered for sale, the deposit shall be refunded. 
 
R850-80-500.  Sale Determination Procedures. 
 1.  Preliminary Analysis 
 (a)  The director shall not offer trust land for sale when: 
 i)  the subject property is appreciating in value at a rate in 
excess of the anticipated return from the investment of the principle; 
 ii)  there is no evidence of competitive market interest, unless 
the purpose of the sale is to test the market in a particular area; 

 iii)  the sale would create obstacles to future mineral 
development on trust lands; or 
 iv)  in the sole discretion of the director, it has been 
determined that the sale would foreclose future development or 
management options which would likely result in greater long term 
economic benefit. 
 2.  Market Analysis 
 (a)  The agency shall conduct a market analysis of a proposed 
sale of trust land which shall include an estimate of value.  If the estimate 
of value is determined by an appraisal, the cost of the appraisal shall be 
borne by the successful purchaser. 
 (b)  The market analysis may also include the evaluation of: 
 i)  real estate trends; 
 ii)  market demand; 
 iii)  opportunity costs including potential for appreciation; and 
 iv)  associated management costs of retention. 
 3.  Sale Determination 
 (a)  The director may take into account any factor and 
circumstances deemed relevant, as well as any applicable policy adopted 
by the board, when making a determination as to whether to sell trust 
land.  Prior to the sale of trust land, the agency shall take prudent and 
cost-effective actions to increase the value of the land. 
 (b)  If a sale is determined to be appropriate, the agency shall 
determine the minimum acceptable selling price of the subject property, 
which minimum acceptable selling price shall not be less than fair 
market value.  This determination may include information from any of 
the following: 
 i)  the appraisal; 
 ii)  the data gathered pursuant to R850-80-500(2); and 
 iii)  any other information which the agency considers 
relevant. 
 (c)  The minimum acceptable selling price shall be provided 
protected records status until the sale is consummated, unless otherwise 
ordered by the director. 
 
R850-80-550.  Methods of Sale. 
 The agency may sell land or assets using one of the methods 
described below: 
 1.  A public sale pursuant to R850-80-610, or 
 2.  A negotiated sale pursuant to R850-80-620. 
 
R850-80-600.  Public Sale Notice and Advertising. 
 1.  At least 30 days prior to a public sale, notice shall be sent 
by certified mail to: 
 (a)  the appropriate county authority in which the subject 
property is located with a request to have the notice posted in the 
governmental administrative building or courthouse and other 
appropriate locations; 
 (b)  lessees/permittees of record on the subject property; and 
 (c)  adjoining landowners as shown on county records. 
 2.  The notice of sale shall include: 
 (a)  the date and[,] time[, and location where] for the sale[ will 
be held]; 
 (b)  a general description of the subject property including 
township, range, and section and a brief description of the location of 
the subject property;[ and] 
 (c)  information on the electronic means whereby the lands 
will be offered for sale or the location where the lands will be offered 
for sale, as applicable; and 
 (d)  contact information of the agency office where interested 
parties can obtain more information. 
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 3.  The agency may advertise public sales using any other 
methods the director has determined may increase the potential for 
additional competition at the sale. 
 
R850-80-610.  Public Sale Auctions. 
 Public sale auctions shall be conducted as follows: 
 1.  Public sale auctions may be conducted orally or 
electronically, at the discretion of the director. 
 2.  If the public auction is conducted orally: 
 (a)  Sealed bids shall be accepted until the day prior to the 
auction by the agency, or on the day of the auction by the officer 
conducting the auction. 
 [2.](b)  A sealed bid shall contain funds in an amount equal to 
at least 10% of the total bid amount offered to purchase the subject 
property and may be required to consist of certified funds.  Bids and bid 
deposits shall be a specified dollar amount.  The agency reserves the 
right to reject any bid however submitted. 
 [3.](c)  Purchasers who have defaulted on certificates of sale 
may be required to make larger down-payments or submit sealed bids in 
the form of certified funds even if such a requirement is not contained 
in the notice of sale. 
 [4.](d)  The persons submitting the three highest bids shall be 
allowed to enter into oral bidding, which shall begin at the amount of 
the highest sealed bid, subject to those terms and conditions of R850-
80-610([5]2)(e).  Those persons who submit a sealed bid that is within 
20% of the third highest sealed bid shall also be allowed to participate 
in oral bidding, subject to those terms and conditions of R850-80-
610([5]2)(e). 
 [5.](e)  In the event the minimum selling price of a property 
is disclosed prior to the auction, persons who bid less than the disclosed 
minimum selling price shall be disqualified and shall not be eligible for 
oral bidding, even if such bids would otherwise meet those requirements 
in R850-80-610([4]2)(d) or ([6]f). 
 [6.](f)  Only current grazing permittees, materials permittees 
and special use lessees on the subject property who submit sealed bids 
shall automatically qualify to enter into oral bidding, subject to those 
terms and conditions of R850-80-610([5]2)(e). 
 [7.](g)  [All bids, whether sealed or oral, constitute a valid 
offer to purchase.  ]An attempt to withdraw a sealed bid after the first 
sealed bid has been read, or an attempt to withdraw or amend an oral bid 
may result in the forfeiture of the bid deposit and any other remedy 
afforded the agency at law or equity. 
 [8.](h)  If, after the first round of oral bidding, no bid is 
submitted which equals or exceeds the agency's minimum selling price, 
then the sale shall not be made except as provided below. 
 [(a)]i.  At the discretion of the officer conducting the sale, 
qualified bidders may enter into additional rounds of oral bidding, 
starting at the high bid reached in the previous round. 
 [(b)]ii.  To facilitate the sale of the parcel, the officer 
conducting the sale may divulge the minimum selling price. 
 [9.](i)  At the conclusion of the auction, the agency shall 
collect from the successful bidder: 
 [(a)]i.  a down payment in the amount required by the sale 
notice; 
 [(b)]ii.  interest on the unpaid balance from the date of sale to 
the first day of the following month; and 
 [(c)]iii.  reimbursement of costs incurred in preparing the 
parcel for sale, which may include costs incurred for advertising, 
appraisal, cultural resource investigations, environmental assessments, 
and a sale processing charge. 

 3.  Bidding procedures and other sales notices for an 
electronic auction will be published on the agency's website prior to the 
electronic auction. 
 4.  All bids in either an oral or electronic auction will 
constitute a valid offer to purchase. 
 [10.]5.  The first payment shall be due one year from the first 
day of the month following the sale; subsequent payments shall be due 
on the first day of the same month each year thereafter until the balance 
is paid in full. 
 [11.]6.  Amounts paid in excess of the current obligations shall 
be applied to principal.  The unpaid balance, plus interest to date, may 
be paid in full at any time without penalty. 
 [12.]7.  If the successful bidder defaults on the down payment 
or otherwise fails to meet the requirements of R850-80-610([9]4), the 
property may, upon approval by the director, be offered for sale to the 
person whose bid was second highest at the auction provided that the 
terms of the sale shall meet or exceed the minimum acceptable selling 
price established for the subject property.  The second highest bidder 
shall have 30 days from the date of the agency's offer to submit the 
amounts required under R850-80-610([9]4). 
 [13.]8.  The interest rate which shall be charged against any 
unpaid balance at the conclusion of the auction shall be the prime rate, 
as determined by the agency on the date the public sale is approved by 
the director, plus 2 1/2% (Prime Rate + 2 1/2%).  Interest shall be 
calculated on a 365-day basis.  Every year thereafter, the interest rate 
which shall be charged against the unpaid balance shall be the prime 
rate, as determined by the agency on the date of billing, plus 2 1/2% 
(Prime Rate + 2 1/2%). 
 [14.]9.  Third parties owning authorized improvements on the 
parcel at the time of the sale shall be allowed 90 days from the date of 
the sale to remove the improvements.  This provision is not applicable 
when such improvements are permitted under a valid existing right of 
record when such right survives the sale of the parcel. 
 
R850-80-615.  Negotiated Sale Notice and Advertising. 
 1.  Prior to an agency decision to initiate a negotiated sale, 
notice of such shall be sent by certified mail to: 
 (a)  the appropriate county authority in which the subject 
property is located with a request to have the notice posted in the 
governmental administrative building or courthouse and other 
appropriate locations; 
 (b)  lessees/permittees of record on the subject property; and 
 (c)  adjoining landowners as shown on county records. 
 2.  The notice of sale shall include: 
 (a)  a general description of the subject property including 
township, range, and section and a brief description of the location of 
the subject property; and 
 (b)  contact information of the agency office where interested 
parties can obtain more information. 
 3.  The agency may advertise negotiated sales using any other 
methods the director has determined may increase the potential for 
additional interest in the subject property. 
 
R850-80-620.  Negotiated Sale Procedures. 
 1.  Negotiated sales shall be advertised in the manner set forth 
in R850-80-615.  In the event a competing offer(s) is received, the 
agency shall evaluate the offers and determine what action is in the best 
interest of the beneficiaries. 
 2.  The board and affected beneficiary institution(s) shall be 
provided notice 30 days prior to the sale describing the terms, reasons, 
and other pertinent facts of the proposed negotiated sale. 
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 3.  Board approval of a negotiated sale is required if: 
 (a)  the value of the subject property exceeds $250,000.00; 
 (b)  the subject property exceeds 320 acres in size; or 
 (c)  additional interested person(s) indicate to the agency an 
interest in purchasing the subject property. 
 4.  A purchaser of trust land sold at a negotiated sale may be 
required to reimburse the agency for costs incurred in preparing the 
parcel for sale, which may include costs for advertising, appraisal, 
cultural resource investigations, environmental assessments, and a sale 
processing charge. 
 
R850-80-700.  Certificates of Sale. 
 1.  Following a public sale or upon concurrence of the parties 
in a negotiated sale, the agency shall prepare and deliver a certificate of 
sale to the purchaser.  This certificate shall contain a legal description of 
the subject property, and shall include: 
 (a)  information regarding the amount paid; 
 (b)  the amount due; 
 (c)  the time when the principal and interest shall become due; 
 (d)  the beneficiary of the land; 
 (e)  provisions for remedies the agency may elect in the event 
of a default, as such remedies are set forth in R850-80-700(8); and 
 (f)  any other terms, covenants, deed restrictions, or conditions 
which the agency considers appropriate. 
 2.  Certificates of sale must be executed by the purchaser and 
returned to the agency within 30 days from the date of the purchaser's 
receipt of the certificate.  If the certificate is not received by the agency 
within the 30 day period, certified notice shall be sent to the purchaser 
giving notice that after 30 days the sale may be canceled with all monies 
received, including the down-payment, forfeited to the agency.  
Notification by certified mail, return receipt requested, of this forfeiture 
provision shall accompany the transmittal of the certificate to the 
purchaser. 
 3.  A certificate of sale shall be signed by the director after it 
has been signed by the purchaser and returned to the agency.  The 
certificate shall not be final and no rights shall vest in the purchaser until 
the certificate is executed by the director.  The agency reserves the right 
to cancel a sale of trust land for any reason prior to execution of the 
certificate by the director. 
 4.  A certificate of sale may be assigned to any person 
qualified to purchase trust lands, provided that the assignment is 
approved by the director, and that no assignment is effective until 
approval is given by the director in writing. 
 5.  An assignment of a certificate of sale shall be consistent 
with these rules, executed by the assignee and assignor and 
acknowledged, and shall clearly set forth the certificate of sale number, 
the land involved, and the name and address of the assignee. 
 6.  Assignment of a certificate of sale does not relieve the 
assignor from any obligations under the original certificate of sale. 
 7.  Upon payment in full and surrender of the original 
certificate of sale for any tract of land sold, or payment in full of any 
amounts required under R850-80-750(3) for the partial release of 
property, the agency shall issue a patent to the appropriate person. 
 8.  In the event of a purchaser's default under the certificate of 
sale, the agency's remedies shall include, without limitation, 
acceleration of the debt, forfeiture, any remedy which the agency may 
pursue under the certificate of sale, suit for judgment, foreclosure as 
provided for under Section 57-1-19 et seq. for trust deeds, and any other 
remedies afforded at law or equity. 
 

R850-80-750.  Partial Releases. 
 Partial release of property sold under a certificate of sale may 
be allowed at the discretion of the director.  The following conditions 
shall be met: 
 1.  Access to the remainder of the land must be preserved 
without restriction; 
 2.  All utilities and infrastructure, including water, sewer and 
storm drains, electric power, and natural gas, installed on land covered 
by the certificate shall have the capacity and capability to service all trust 
land originally included in the certificate; 
 3.  Unless the director makes a written finding that waiver of 
this condition would be in the best interests of the trust beneficiaries, 
payment shall be made to the agency in an amount equal to 125% of the 
original price per acre, multiplied by the number of acres to be released, 
plus interest on that amount to the date payment is received.  The 
payment shall be in the form of certified funds, and shall be applied to 
principal. This payment shall not affect the amount or due dates of 
annual payments; 
 4.  Unless the director makes a written finding that waiver of 
this condition would be in the best interests of the beneficiaries, the 
125% payment required by paragraph 3 above shall not include the 10% 
down payment or any annual installment paid under the certificate of 
sale; 
 5.  The buyer shall provide a survey and legal description 
prepared and sealed by a Utah Registered Land Surveyor of the parcel 
to be released and the remaining land under the certificate; and 
 6.  The value of the remaining land shall not be reduced to an 
amount less than the remaining principal balance of the certificate. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, sales 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  February 26, 
2021 
Notice of Continuation:  June 27, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
302(1)(a)(ii); 53C-2-201(1)(a); 53C-4-101(1); 53C-4-102; 53C-4-
202(6); 63G-2-305; 72-5-203(1)(a)(i); 72-5-203(2)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R986-700-901 Filing No. 53329 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
517-
4709 

ampeck@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-700-901.  Unearned Income, Pandemic 
3.  Effective Date: 
02/19/2021 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule change is to maintain services for 
child care subsidy families and providers during the 
COVID-19 pandemic. 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This emergency rule changes allow the Department of 
Workforce Services, Office of Child Care to exclude Lost 
Wages Assistance and Federal Pandemic Unemployment 
Compensation from unearned income for purposes of 
determining eligibility for child care subsidy payments.  
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  A corresponding proposed 
amendment to Section R986-700-901 is under Filing No. 
53330 in this issue, March 15, 2021, of the Bulletin.) 
 
6.  Regular rulemaking would: 
X cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
 place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
Specific reason and justification: 
Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic there are child 
care subsidy (CC) customers who have lost employment 
through no fault of their own and require additional funds 
in order to care for their children.  After the final rule 
regarding unearned pandemic income was submitted for 
regular rulemaking, additional federal unearned pandemic 
income programs were created or continued.  On August 
8, 2020, President Donald J Trump issued a Presidential 
Memorandum instructing the Secretary of Homeland 
Security, acting through FEMA, to make available Lost 
Wages Assistance (LWA) for certain unemployed persons.  
On December 27, 2020 the Consolidated Appropriations 
Act, 2021, was enacted, which included provisions for 
federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) 
under section 203 of the Continued Assistance Act.  
Excluding the $300 per week LWA and FPUC payments 
from CC income eligibility determinations will allow 
families who are eligible for CC to maintain eligibility while 
receiving LWA or FPUC, thus allowing them to return to 
work more quickly once business resumes.  This 
emergency rule also allows child care providers to 
continue to receive CC funding based on the enrollment of 
families covered.  This will allow child care providers to 
have the resources to maintain payroll, pay rent, pay for 
materials, and meet health and safety requirements for 

families continuing to need child care.  This emergency 
rule is being put in place until a final rule can be enacted 
under the regular rulemaking process. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
7.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The emergency rule change is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on state revenues or expenditures.  There are 
no additional state employees or resources needed to 
oversee the new changes.  The new changes will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget.  Any costs will be paid with funds granted to the 
state through the federal Child Care and Development 
Fund. 
 
B) Local governments: 

The emergency rule change is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures because the program is federally-funded and 
does not rely on local governments for funding, 
administration, or enforcement. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The majority of child care providers are small businesses 
(North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 
624410).  It is anticipated that these changes will allow 
approximately 397 families with 725 children to continue to 
receive child care based on data obtained on April 17, 
2020.  The average subsidy payment per child each month 
is $534 in CY 2020.  As a result, this will allow 
approximately $387,150 per month to continue to flow to 
child care providers so they can maintain their businesses.  
In the absence of the emergency rule change, these 
programs will lose this funding at a time when enrollment 
and revenues in programs are dramatically reduced. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
It is anticipated that this rule will allow approximately 397 
families with 725 children to continue to receive child care 
based on data obtained on April 17, 2020.  The average 
subsidy payment per child each month is $534 for CY 
2020.  The emergency rule change will support low-
income parents to maintain their child care arrangements 
during the COVID-19 pandemic. 
 
8.  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
The emergency rule change is not expected to cause any 
compliance costs for affected persons because the 
change does not create any new administrative fees.  
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Provider compliance responsibilities are not changed with 
these changes. 
 
9.  A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This emergency rule change is also being submitted 
through regular rulemaking.  The funding for child care is 
provided by the federal Child Care and Development Block 
Grant (CCDBG).  At this time, child care programs 
continue to receive subsidy payments for all families that 
were determined eligible for subsidies at the time of 
application unless their earnings exceed the federally 
established income threshold of 85% of the state median 
income (SMI).  The CCDBG Act allows states to establish 
the definition of "income" for purposes of determining 
whether a family is at 85% SMI.  Utah includes standard 
unemployment benefits as "income" for purposes of 
eligibility.  This rule will not change that underlying 
requirement.  However, by excluding the $300 per week 
Lost Wages Assistance paid pursuant to the Lost Wages 
Assistance paid pursuant to the August 8, 2020, 
Presidential Memorandum instructing the Secretary of 
Homeland Security, acting through FEMA, to make 
available other needs assistance for lost wages in 
accordance with Subsection 408(e)(2) of the Stafford Act 
(42 U.S.C. Subsection 5174(e)(2)), and the $300 per week 
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation paid 
pursuant to section 203 of the Continued Assistance Act, 
part of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, for all 
qualified UI recipients, Utah will be supporting the child 
care businesses that rely on family tuition payments to 
meet most operating expenses by maintain program 
income through a stable child care subsidy program.  This 
is of great economic importance to Utah given that 
approximately 38% of licensed centers and 18% of 
licensed family child care programs temporarily closed 
during the COVID-19 pandemic due to low enrollment. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Casey R. Cameron, Executive Director 
 

 

Citation Information 
10.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by 
state law, and implements or interprets the following 
state and federal laws.  State code or constitution 
citations (required): 
Section 35A-3-310 Section 53F-5-210 Subsection 

35A-3-203(12) 
 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Casey R. 
Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/19/2021 
 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 
R986-700-901.  Unearned Income, Pandemic. 
 (1)  This Section supersedes any conflicting provisions of 
Rules R986-200 and R986-700. 
 (2)  Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation under 
Section 2104 of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security 
Act of 2020, Pub. L. No. 116-136, is not countable unearned income 
for purposes of determining eligibility for any child care subsidy 
program. 
 (3)  Lost Wages Assistance paid pursuant to the August 8, 
2020, Presidential Memorandum instructing the Secretary of 
Homeland Security, acting through FEMA, to make available other 
needs assistance for lost wages in accordance with Section 408(e)(2) of 
the Stafford Act (42 U.S.C. Subsection 5174(e)(2)), is not countable 
unearned income for purposes of determining eligibility for any child 
care subsidy program. 
 (4)  Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation under 
section 203 of the Continued Assistance Act, part of the Consolidated 
Appropriations Act, 2021, Pub. L. 116-260, enacted on December 27, 
2020, is not countable unearned income for purposes of determining 
eligibility for any child care subsidy program. 
 
KEY:  child care, grant programs 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  February 19, 
2021 
Notice of Continuation:  August 28, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-
203(12); 35A-3-310; 53F-5-210 
 

 
End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at https://rules.utah.gov/.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R65-8 Filing No. 50129 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Marketing and Development 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84115 
Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Linda Gillmor 801-
982-
2354 

lgillmor@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R65-8.  Management of the Junior Livestock Show 
Appropriation 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is promulgated under the authority of Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i) which gives the Department of Agriculture 
and Food (Department) rulemaking power related to laws 
governing agriculture.  The Department also has authority 
under Subsection 4-2-103(1)(m) that allows the 
Department to take charge of any agricultural exhibit within 
the state. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is needed because it establishes a Junior 
Livestock Show Association to manage and carry out the 
Junior Livestock Show Appropriation, including developing 
and maintaining a formula to govern distribution of the 
appropriation.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 02/19/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R325-1 Filing No. 50789 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Fair Corporation (Utah State) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 155 N 1000 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Mullenax 801-538-

8400 
lmullenax@utahstatefair.
com 

Judy Duncombe 801-538-
8445 

judy@utahstatefair.com 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R325-1.  Utah State Fair Competitive Exhibitor Rules 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63H-6-103 requires the Utah State Fair 
Corporation to hold an annual exhibition that is called the 
state fair or a similar name; promotes and highlights 
agriculture throughout the state; includes exhibitions of 
livestock, poultry, agricultural, domestic science, 
horticultural, floricultural, mineral and industrial products, 
manufactured articles, and domestic animals that in the 
corporation's opinion will best stimulate agricultural, 
industrial, artistic, and educational pursuits and the 
sharing of talents among the people of Utah; and includes 
the award of premiums for the best specimens of the 
exhibited articles and animals.  This requires the 
corporation to set rules and guidelines for exhibitors, 
renters, and the public. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There is no record of written comments having been 
received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Fair includes over 10,000 competitive entries each 
year and must have basic guidelines that are enforceable.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Larry R. Mullenax, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/23/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R325-2 Filing No. 50793 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Fair Corporation (Utah State) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 155 N 1000 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Mullenax 801-538-

8400 
lmullenax@utahstatefair.
com 

Judy Duncombe 801-538-
8445 

judy@utahstatefair.com 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R325-2.  Utah State Fair Commercial Exhibitor Rules 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63H-6-103 requires the Utah State Fair 
Corporation to hold an annual exhibition that is called the 
state fair or a similar name; promotes and highlights 
agriculture throughout the state; includes exhibitions of 
livestock, poultry, agricultural, domestic science, 
horticultural, floricultural, mineral and industrial products, 
manufactured articles, and domestic animals that in the 
corporation's opinion will best stimulate agricultural, 
industrial, artistic, and educational pursuits and the 
sharing of talents among the people of Utah; and includes 
the award of premiums for the best specimens of the 
exhibited articles and animals.  This requires the 
corporation to set rules and guidelines for exhibitors, 
renters, and the public. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There is no record of written comments having been 
received. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Fair rents space to over 350 commercial exhibitors 
each year and must have basic guidelines that are 
enforceable.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Larry R. Mullenax, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/23/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R325-3 Filing No. 50790 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Fair Corporation (Utah State) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 155 N 1000 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Mullenax 801-538-

8400 
lmullenax@utahstatefair.
com 

Judy Duncombe 801-538-
8445 

judy@utahstatefair.com 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R325-3.  Utah State Fair Patron Rules 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63H-6-103 requires the Utah State Fair 
Corporation to hold an annual exhibition that is called the 
state fair or a similar name; promotes and highlights 
agriculture throughout the state; includes exhibitions of 
livestock, poultry, agricultural, domestic science, 
horticultural, floricultural, mineral and industrial products, 
manufactured articles, and domestic animals that in the 
corporation's opinion will best stimulate agricultural, 
industrial, artistic, and educational pursuits and the 
sharing of talents among the people of Utah; and includes 
the award of premiums for the best specimens of the 
exhibited articles and animals.  This requires the 
corporation to set rules and guidelines for exhibitors, 
renters, and the public. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There is no record of written comments having been 
received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Over 280,000 patrons attend the Fair annually, so the 
Corporation must have basic guidelines that are 
enforceable.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Larry R. Mullenax, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/23/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R325-4 Filing No. 50799 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Fair Corporation (Utah State) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 155 N 1000 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Mullenax 801-538-

8400 
lmullenax@utahstatefair.
com 

Judy Duncombe 801-538-
8445 

judy@utahstatefair.com 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R325-4.  Interim Patron Rules (Other Than Utah State 
Fair) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63H-6-103 requires the Utah State Fair 
Corporation to hold an annual exhibition that is called the 
state fair or a similar name; promotes and highlights 
agriculture throughout the state; includes exhibitions of 
livestock, poultry, agricultural, domestic science, 
horticultural, floricultural, mineral and industrial products, 
manufactured articles, and domestic animals that in the 
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corporation's opinion will best stimulate agricultural, 
industrial, artistic, and educational pursuits and the 
sharing of talents among the people of Utah; and includes 
the award of premiums for the best specimens of the 
exhibited articles and animals.  This requires the 
corporation to set rules and guidelines for exhibitors, 
renters, and the public. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There is no record of written comments having been 
received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Over 150 different events and activities take place at the 
Fairpark each year, so the Corporation must have basic 
guidelines that are enforceable.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Larry R. Mullenax, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/23/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R325-5 Filing No. 50803 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Fair Corporation (Utah State) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 155 N 1000 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Mullenax 801-538-

8400 
lmullenax@utahstatefair.
com 

Judy Duncombe 801-538-
8445 

judy@utahstatefair.com 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R325-5.  Interim Renters Rules (Other Than Utah State 
Fair) 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63H-6-103 requires the Utah State Fair 
Corporation to hold an annual exhibition that is called the 
state fair or a similar name; promotes and highlights 
agriculture throughout the state; includes exhibitions of 
livestock, poultry, agricultural, domestic science, 
horticultural, floricultural, mineral and industrial products, 
manufactured articles, and domestic animals that in the 
corporation's opinion will best stimulate agricultural, 
industrial, artistic, and educational pursuits and the 
sharing of talents among the people of Utah; and includes 
the award of premiums for the best specimens of the 
exhibited articles and animals.  This requires the 
corporation to set rules and guidelines for exhibitors, 
renters, and the public. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There is no record of written comments having been 
received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Over 150 different events and activities take place at the 
Fairpark each year, so the Corporation must have basic 
guidelines that are enforceable.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Larry R. Mullenax, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/23/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R444-1 Filing No. 51119 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Laboratory Improvement 
Building: Unified State Laboratories 
Street address: 4431 S Constitution Blvd 
City, state, zip: Taylorsville, UT 84129 
Contact person(s): 
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Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy Heidman 801-

965-
2531 

nheidman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R444-1.  Approval of Clinical Laboratories 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Authority for this rule is from Subsection 26-1-30(2)(m) 
establish and enforce standards for laboratory services 
which are provided by any laboratory in the state when the 
purpose of the services is to protect the public health. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no responses or comments received 
since the last five year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Clinical laboratories fall under the jurisdiction of federal law 
through the Clinical laboratory Improvement Amendments, 
1988.  This rule allows Utah to regulate laboratories to the 
same standard.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/25/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-144 Filing No. 51361 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 3110 
Building: State Office Building 
Street address: 450 N State St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

538-
3803 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-144.  Commercial Aviation Insurance Exemption 
From Rate and From Filings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to adopt rules to implement the provisions 
of Title 31A, Insurance Code.  Section 31A-19-a-103 
authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to exempt any 
market segment from the provisions of Title 31A, Chapter 
19a, Rate Regulation.  Subsection 31A-21-101(5) 
authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to exempt any 
class of insurance contract or class of insurer from the 
provisions of Title 31A, Chapter 21, Insurance Contracts in 
General, and Title 31A, Chapter 22, Contracts in Specific 
Lines.  Taken together, these provisions authorize the 
Insurance Commissioner to exempt commercial aviation 
insurance from the requirement to file insurance policy 
rates and forms with the department. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance (Department) has received 
no written comments regarding this rule during the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Because of the unique nature of commercial aviation risks, 
aviation insurance premiums rely on individual risk 
analysis, underwriting judgment, and the negotiation of a 
sophisticated business transaction between the insurer 
and an informed insured.  These types of risks also require 
individually tailored manuscript-type policies.  Because of 
the uniqueness of each risk, it is not reasonable to set 
general rates and forms for them.  For this reason, it is 
important that this rule continue in force, exempting 
commercial aviation insurance from the requirement to file 
policy rates and forms with the Department.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 02/25/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-177 Filing No. 51393 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 3110 
Building: State Office Building 
Street address: 450 N State St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

538-
3803 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-177.  Life Insurance Illustrations Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 31A-2-201(3)(a) authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to implement the provisions of 
Title 31A, Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-22-425(1)(c) 
authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to make rules to 
establish standards for illustrations that are used in 
connection with the solicitation or sale of a life insurance 
policy or contract.  Subsection 31A-23a-402(8) states that 
a person may not engage in unfair methods of competition 
or deception in the practice of insurance.  This rule 
describes filing requirements for life illustrations and 
standards for the format, use, delivery, and retention of life 
illustrations used in the sale of life policies.  Insurers are 
required to appoint an actuary to certify that their 
illustrations meet certain standards and requirements. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule provides consumer protection by stating the 
requirements and restrictions on the values that can be 
shown in the projections contained in a life insurance 
illustration.  Unregulated illustrations have been found to 
provide values that are unrealistic and could entice a 
consumer into purchasing a product that will never perform 
as the company has illustrated.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 02/25/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-200 Filing No. 51395 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 3110 
Building: State Office Building 
Street address: 450 N State St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

538-
3803 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-200.  Diabetes Treatment and Management 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsections 31A-2-201(1) and 31A-2-201(3)(a) authorize 
the Insurance Commissioner to write and enforce rules to 
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implement the provisions of Title 31A, Insurance Code.  
Section 31A-22-626 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to establish by rule minimum standards of 
coverage for diabetes for accident and health policies that 
provide a health insurance benefit.  Section 31A-22-626 
also authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to write rules 
with limits, deductibles, coinsurance, and requirements 
regarding self-management training and management 
training that are equitable or identical to coverage provided 
for the treatment of other diseases or illnesses, as well as 
requiring coverage for equipment and supplies that are 
considered to be medically necessary for that care. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule details the minimum standards for diabetic care 
that must be covered under health insurance.  It includes 
diabetes education, training, supplies, and prescriptions 
necessary for a person to manage their diabetes.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 02/25/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R606-1 Filing No. 51494 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Antidiscrimination and Labor, 

Antidiscrimination 
Building: Heber M Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 3rd Floor 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Hill 801-

530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Kendra Shirey 801-
530-
6921 

kshirey@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R606-1.  Antidiscrimination 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with the Utah 
Antidiscrimination Act, Subsection 34A-5-104(1)(b), which 
provides "[t]he commission may adopt, publish, amend, 
and rescind rules, consistent with, and for the enforcement 
of this chapter." 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments regarding this rule 
since its last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule must continue to remain in place in order to for 
the Labor Commission to enforce the Utah 
Antidiscrimination Act.  Rule R606-1 sets forth the process 
for an employment discrimination case, provides 
information as to what information obtained during an 
investigation may be released, and the process for 
obtaining declaratory orders, as well as how to compute 
time periods for filing a discrimination complaint. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 02/17/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R628-12 Filing No. 51527 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Money Management Council 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 180 
Building: Utah State Capitol 
Street address: 350 N State St 
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City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 142315 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2315 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ann Pedroza 801-

538-
1883 

apedroza@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R628-12.  Certification of Qualified Depositories for Public 
Funds 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 51-7-3(29) defines a qualified depository as an 
institution that has met the requirements for this chapter 
and rules of the Money Management Council (Council) to 
be eligible to receive deposits of public funds.  In 
Subsection 51-7-18(2)(b), it states that the Council may 
make rules governing the conditions and procedures for 
maintaining and revoking a financial institution's 
designation as a qualified depository. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Council reviewed this rule for the five-year review 
continuation in their October 22, 2020, meeting.  No 
comments in opposition to this rule have been received.  
The statute requires that there be rules in place to govern 
deposits of Utah public funds in Utah financial institutions.  
This rule needs to be continued to provide criteria for 
financial institutions to become qualified to hold Utah 
public funds.  If this rule were not in place, public entities 
would not be able to use financial institutions to deposit 
funds. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Douglas L. 
DeFries, 
President 

Date: 02/19/2021 

 
 
 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R628-13 Filing No. 51528 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Money Management Council 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 180 
Building: Utah State Capitol 
Street address: 350 N State St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 142315 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2315 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ann Pedroza 801-

538-
1883 

apedroza@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R628-13.  Collateralization of Public Funds 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 51-7-18 allows the Money Management Council 
(Council) to make rules requiring collateral on public fund 
deposits from qualified depositories only in the event that 
the public funds on deposit are more than the maximum 
uninsured public funds allotment. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments supporting or opposing this rule 
have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to be continued to allow the Council to 
receive collateral in the event that a qualified depository's 
allotment is reduced or the qualified depository goes over 
the allotment for reasons described in this rule.  Allowing 
collateral in these instances protects public funds from 
potential loss.  There have been no comments in 
opposition to this rule for the Council to respond to.  The 
Council reviewed this rule in their December 21, 2020, 
meeting and agreed to the continuation. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Douglas L. 
DeFries, 
President 

Date: 02/22/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R628-16 Filing No. 51522 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Money Management Council 
Agency: Administraiton 
Room no.: 180 
Building: Utah State Capitol 
Street address: 350 N State St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 142315 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2315 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ann Pedroza 801-

538-
1883 

apedroza@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R628-16.  Certification as a Dealer 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Under Section 51-7-18 it is stated that the Money 
Managment Council (Council) may make rules governing 
the conditions and procedures for maintaining and 
revoking the status of a certified dealer. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments since the last 
review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to be in place to allow public treasurers 
that may want to purchase allowable securities to have 
access to certified dealers that have met minimum 
requirements to work with public treasurers and have 
signed that they have read the Utah Money Management 
Act (Title 51, Chapter 7) and agree to abide by it.  Without 
this rule to provide these minimum requirements, public 
treasurers would not be able to purchase allowable 
securities.  There have been no comments in opposition to 
this rule.  Therefore, this rule was reviewed in the Council's 
January 2021 meeting and unanimously agreed on to be 
continued at that time. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Douglas L. 
DeFries, 
President 

Date: 02/25/2021 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 

RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
 
Administrative Services 
Finance 
No.  53269  (Amendment)  R25-7:  Reimbursement for 
Transportation 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/23/2021 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Administration 
No.  53259  (New Rule)  R305-10:  Local Health Department 
Minimum Performance Standards 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/23/2021 
 
 
Health 
Family Health and Preparedness, Children with Special 
Health Care Needs 
No.  53264  (New Rule)  R398-15:  Adult Autism Treatment 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/10/2021 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  53270  (Amendment)  R414-505:  Intergovernmental 
Transfer (IGT) Certification 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/25/2021 
 
 
Human Services 
Administration 
No.  53267  (Repeal)  R495-862:  Communicable Disease 
Control Act 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/24/2021 
 

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 
No.  53226  (Amendment)  R501-14:  Human Service 
Program Background Screening 
Published:  12/15/2020 
Effective:  02/16/2021 
 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
No.  53225  (Amendment)  R523-2:  Local Mental Health 
Authorities and Local Substance Abuse Authorities 
Published:  01/01/2021 
Effective:  02/26/2021 
 
Recovery Services 
No.  53260  (Amendment)  R527-35:  Non-IV-A Fee Schedule 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/24/2021 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  53272  (Amendment)  R590-238:  Fee Schedule.  Initial 
Application.  Renewal 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/23/2021 
 
No.  53179  (New Rule)  R590-285:  Limited Long-Term Care 
Insurance 
Published:  11/15/2020 
Effective:  02/23/2021 
 
No.  53179  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R590-285:  Limited 
Long-Term Care Insurance 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/23/2021 
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Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  53242  (Amendment)  R657-9:  Taking Waterfowl, 
Wilson's Snipe and Coot 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/23/2021 

 
No.  53243  (Amendment)  R657-38:  Dedicated Hunter 
Program 
Published:  01/15/2021 
Effective:  02/23/2021 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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