Skip Navigation

Administrative Rules Home Administrative Rules

DAR File No. 32311

This filing was published in the 02/01/2009, issue, Vol. 2009, No. 3, of the Utah State Bulletin.

Education, Administration


Certification of Student Teachers and Interns


DAR File No.: 32311
Filed: 01/15/2009, 02:19
Received by: NL


Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:

This rule is amended to provide for online licensing of student teachers and interns consistent with other Utah State Board of Education educator licensing procedures.

Summary of the rule or change:

The changes in this rule now require student teachers and interns to pay for and receive online licenses.

State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:

Subsections 53A-1-401(3) and 53A-6-104(1)

Anticipated cost or savings to:

the state budget:

There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state budget. The online licensing process has been in place for several years and these amendments add two small groups to the process.

local governments:

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local government. All costs are borne by the USOE or individual applicants for licensing.

small businesses and persons other than businesses:

There are no costs to to small businesses. Individual licensing applicants seeking intern licenses or student teacher licenses will now pay a one-time $25 fee.

Compliance costs for affected persons:

There are compliance costs for license applicants. Student teacher and intern license applicants will be charged a one time $25 fee to receive their student teacher or intern license.

Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:

I have reviewed this rule and I see no fiscal impact on businesses. Patti Harrington, State Superintendent of Public Instruction

The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:

250 E 500 S
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272

Direct questions regarding this rule to:

Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at

Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:


This rule may become effective on:


Authorized by:

Carol Lear, Director, School Law and Legislation


R277. Education, Administration.

R277-509. [Certification]Licensure of Student Teachers and Interns.

R277-509-1. Definitions.

[D]A. "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education.

[C]B. "Cooperating teacher" means a [regularly certified]licensed teacher employed by a school district or charter school who is qualified to directly supervise a student teacher or intern during the period the student teacher or intern is assigned to the district.

[B]C. "Intern" means a teacher education student, who, in an advanced stage of preparation, usually as a culminating experience, may be employed in a school setting for a period of up to one year and receive salary proportionate to the service rendered. An intern is supervised primarily by the school system but with a continuing relationship with college personnel and following a planned program designed to produce a demonstrably competent professional.

[A]D. "Student teacher" means a college student preparing to teach who is assigned a period of guided teaching during which the student assumes increasing responsibility for directing the learning of a group or groups of students over a period of time.


R277-509-2. Authority and Purpose.

A. This rule is authorized under Article X, Section 3 of the Utah Constitution which vests general authority and supervision of public education in the Board, Sections 53A-6-[101(1) and (2), U.C.A. 1953,]104(1) which permit the Board to issue [certificates]licenses [to persons engaged in student teaching]for educators, and Section 53A-1-401(3)[, U.C.A. 1953,] which allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities.

B. The purpose of this rule is to specify the procedure under which the Board issues [certificates]licenses to student teachers and interns.


R277-509-3. Issuing [Certificates]Licenses.

A. [A teacher preparation institution may]The Board shall issue [s]Student [t]Teacher or [i]Intern [certificates]licenses to students [in its]enrolled in approved teacher preparation programs.[ Each institution shall designate a person to administer the issuance of the certificates and to coordinate activities in accordance with Board standards.]

B. A [certificate]license is issued only to student teachers or interns assigned to elementary, middle, or secondary schools under cooperating teachers for part of their [professional training]preparation program. A supervising administrator must be permanently assigned to the building to which an intern is assigned.

C. A [certificate]Student Teacher or Intern license is valid only in the school district or charter school specified and for the period of time indicated on the [certificate, not to exceed one year]license.[

D. A list of student teachers and interns to whom certificates have been issued must be furnished to the State Office of Education by the preparing institution not later than two weeks following the date on which the students are assigned.]


R277-509-4. School District and Charter School Requirements.

A. A school district or charter school may not [independently]accept or assign student teachers or interns who do not possess a Utah Student Teacher or Intern license. The service of persons so assigned is not recognized by the Board as fulfilling an intern or student teaching requirement for [certification]licensure.

B. [The superintendent of a school district to which an administrative intern is assigned shall submit to the State Office of Education at the beginning of each assignment period a list of those assigned, the nature of the assignment, and the institution through which each student is certificated as an administrative intern]It is the responsibility of the school district or charter school to verify that potential student teachers or interns are appropriately licensed.


KEY: student teachers, interns[hips, professional education, training programs], teacher preparation programs

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [1987]2009

Notice of Continuation: October 5, 2007

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: Art X Sec 3; 53A-6-[101(2)]104(1); 53A-1-401(3)




Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets (e.g., [example]). Text to be added is underlined (e.g., example). Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.

For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at

For questions about the rulemaking process, please contact the Division of Administrative Rules (801-538-3764). Please Note: The Division of Administrative Rules is NOT able to answer questions about the content or application of these administrative rules.

Last modified:  01/30/2009 9:46 AM