File No. 34319

This rule was published in the January 15, 2011, issue (Vol. 2011, No. 2) of the Utah State Bulletin.


Health, Health Systems Improvement, Licensing

Rule R432-150

Nursing Care Facility

Notice of Proposed Rule

(Amendment)

DAR File No.: 34319
Filed: 12/20/2010 09:19:24 AM

RULE ANALYSIS

Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:

In Section R432-150-10, the changes clarify and align the tuberculosis testing requirements for licensed health care facilities in Utah. The clarifications are in accordance with current law and will be consistent with all health facility rules. This amendment was approved by the Health Facilities Committee on 11/17/2010. This committee has representation from a broad cross section of the entities affected by this rule. In Section R432-150-12, H.B. 133 passed in the 2003 Legislature permitting a health care facility to be issued a license for a period of time not to exceed 24 months. These rule amendments are required to be consistent with the amendments to Section 26-21-8. (DAR NOTE: H.B. 133 (2003) is found at Chapter 326, Laws of Utah 2003, and was effective 05/05/2003.)

Summary of the rule or change:

In Section R432-150-10, this amendment will require employee tuberculosis testing to be completed within two weeks of hire, after suspected exposure or development of symptoms. In Section R432-150-12, this rule amendment aligns this rule with the current licensing period of 24 months instead of annually.

State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:

  • Title 26, Chapter 21

Anticipated cost or savings to:

the state budget:

In Section R432-150-10, this rule amendment will have no effect on state budgets since there will be no change in current practice. In Section R432-150-12, this rule amendment will have no effect on state budgets since facility licenses have historically (since 2003) been issued every two years. There will be no change in current practice.

local governments:

In Section R432-150-10, this rule amendment will have no effect on local government budgets since there will be no change in current practice. In Section R432-150-12, this rule amendment will have no effect on local government budgets since facility licenses have historically (since 2003) been issued every two years. There will be no change in current practice.

small businesses:

In Section R432-150-10, this rule amendment will have no effect on small businesses since there will be no change in current practice. In Section R432-150-12, this rule amendment will have no effect on small business budgets since facility licenses have historically (since 2003) been issued every two years. There will be no change in current practice.

persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local governmental entities:

In Section R432-150-10, this rule amendment will have no effect on persons since there will be no change in current practice. In Section R432-150-12, this rule amendment will have no effect on persons since facility licenses have historically (since 2003) been issued every two years. There will be no change in current practice.

Compliance costs for affected persons:

In Section R432-150-10, this rule amendment will have no effect on persons since there will be no change in current practice. In Section R432-150-12, this rule amendment will have no effect on persons since facility licenses have historically (since 2003) been issued every two years. There will be no change in current practice.

Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:

No adverse fiscal impact on business is expected due to the changes in tuberculosis testing in this rule.

David N. Sundwall, MD, Executive Director

The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:

Health
Health Systems Improvement, Licensing
288 N 1460 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3231

Direct questions regarding this rule to:

  • Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6279, by FAX at 801-538-6024, or by Internet E-mail at [email protected]
  • Carmen Richins at the above address, by phone at 801-538-9087, by FAX at 801-538-6024, or by Internet E-mail at [email protected]

Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:

02/14/2011

This rule may become effective on:

02/21/2011

Authorized by:

David Sundwall, Executive Director

RULE TEXT

R432. Health, Health Systems Improvement, Licensing.

R432-150. Nursing Care Facility.

R432-150-10. Staff and Personnel.

(1) The administrator shall employ personnel who are able and competent to perform their respective duties, services, and functions.

(a) The administrator, director of nursing or health services supervisor, and department supervisors shall develop job descriptions for each position including job title, job summary, responsibilities, qualifications, required skills and licenses, and physical requirements.

(b) All personnel must have access to facility policy and procedure manuals and other information necessary to effectively perform duties and carry out responsibilities.

(c) All personnel must be licensed, certified or registered as required by the Utah Department of Commerce. A copy of the license, certification or registration shall be maintained for Department review.

(2) The facility shall maintain staffing records, including employee performance evaluations, for the preceding 12 months.

(3) The facility shall establish a personnel health program through written personnel health policies and procedures.

(4) The facility shall complete a health evaluation and inventory for each employee upon hire.

(a) The health inventory shall obtain at least the employee's history of the following:

(i) conditions that predispose the employee to acquiring or transmitting infectious diseases; and

(ii) conditions which may prevent the employee from performing certain assigned duties satisfactorily.

(b) The health inventory shall include health screening and immunization components of the employee's personnel health program.

(c) Infection control shall include staff immunization as necessary to prevent the spread of disease.

(d) Employee skin testing by the Mantoux method or other FDA approved in-vitro serologic test and follow up for tuberculosis shall be done in accordance with R388-804[.], Special Measures for the Control of Tuberculosis[ Control Rule].

(i) The licensee shall ensure that all employees are skin-tested for tuberculosis within two weeks of:

(A) initial hiring;

(B) suspected exposure to a person with active tuberculosis; and

(C) development of symptoms of tuberculosis.

(ii) Skin testing shall be exempted for all employees with known positive reaction to skin tests.

(e) All infections and communicable diseases reportable by law shall be reported by the facility to the local health department in accordance with R386-702-2.

(5) The facility shall plan and document in-service training for all personnel.

(a) The following topics shall be addressed at least annually:

(i) fire prevention;

(ii) review and drill of emergency procedures and evacuation plan;

(iii) the reporting of resident abuse, neglect or exploitation to the proper authorities;

(iv) prevention and control of infections;

(v) accident prevention and safety procedures including instruction in body mechanics for all employees required to lift, turn, position, or ambulate residents; and proper safety precautions when floors are wet or waxed;

(vi) training in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) for licensed nursing personnel and others as appropriate;

(vii) proper use and documentation of restraints;

(viii) resident rights;

(ix) A basic understanding of the various types of mental illness, including symptoms, expected behaviors and intervention approaches; and

(x) confidentiality of resident information.

(6) Any person who provides nursing care, including nurse aides and orderlies, must work under the supervision of an RN or LPN and shall demonstrate competency and dependability in resident care.

(a) A facility may not have an employee working in the facility as a nurse aide for more than four months, on full-time, temporary, per diem, or other basis, unless that individual has successfully completed a State Department of Education-approved training and testing program.

(b) The facility shall verify through the nurse aide registry prior to employment that nurse aide applicants do not have a verified report of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. If such a verified report exists, the facility may not hire the applicant.

(c) If an individual has not performed paid nursing or nursing related services for a continuous period of 24 consecutive months since the most recent completion of a training and competency evaluation program, the facility shall require the individual to complete a new training and competency evaluation program.

(d) The facility shall conduct regular performance reviews and regular in-service education to ensure that individuals used as nurse aides are competent to perform services as nurse aides.

(7) The facility may utilize volunteers in the daily activities of the facility provided that volunteers are not included in the facility's staffing plan in lieu of facility employees.

(a) Volunteers shall be supervised and familiar with resident's rights and the facility's policies and procedures.

(b) Volunteers who provide personal care to residents shall be screened according to facility policy and under the direct supervision of a qualified employee.

(8) An employee who reports suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall not be subject to retaliation, disciplinary action, or termination by the facility for making the report.

 

R432-150-12. Resident Rights.

(1) The facility shall establish written residents' rights.

(2) The facility shall post resident rights in areas accessible to residents. A copy of the residents' rights document shall be available to the residents, the residents' guardian or responsible person, and to the public and the Department upon request.

(3) The facility shall ensure that each resident admitted to the facility has the right to:

(a) be informed, prior to or at the time of admission and for the duration of stay, of resident rights and of all rules and regulations governing resident conduct.

(b) be informed, prior to or at the time of admission and for the duration of stay, of services available in the facility and of related charges, including any charges for services not covered by the facility's basic per diem rate or not covered under Titles XVIII or XIX of the Social Security Act.

(c) be informed by a licensed practitioner of current total health status, including current medical condition, unless medically contraindicated, the right to refuse treatment, and the right to formulate an advance directive in accordance with UCA Section 75-2-1101;

(d) be transferred or discharged only for medical reasons, for personal welfare or that of other residents, or for nonpayment for the stay, and to be given reasonable advance notice to ensure orderly transfer or discharge;

(e) be encouraged and assisted throughout the period of stay to exercise all rights as a resident and as a citizen, and to voice grievances and recommend changes in policies and services to facility staff and outside representatives of personal choice, free from restraint, interference, coercion, discrimination, or reprisal;

(f) manage personal financial affairs or to be given at least a quarterly accounting of financial transactions made on his behalf should the facility accept his written delegation of this responsibility;

(g) be free from mental and physical abuse, and from chemical and physical restraints;

(h) be assured confidential treatment of personal and medical records, including photographs, and to approve or refuse their release to any individual outside the facility, except in the case of transfer to another health facility, or as required by law or third party payment contract;

(i) be treated with consideration, respect, and full recognition of dignity and individuality, including privacy in treatment and in care for personal needs;

(j) not be required to perform services for the facility that are not included for therapeutic purposes in the plan of care;

(k) associate and communicate privately with persons of the resident's choice, and to send and receive personal mail unopened;

(l) meet with social, religious, and community groups and participate in activities provided that the activities do not interfere with the rights of other residents in the facility;

(m) retain and use personal clothing and possessions as space permits, unless to do so would infringe upon rights of other residents;

(n) if married, to be assured privacy for visits by the spouse; and if both are residents in the facility, to be permitted to share a room;

(o) have members of the clergy admitted at the request of the resident or responsible person at any time;

(p) allow relatives or responsible persons to visit critically ill residents at any time;

(q) be allowed privacy for visits with family, friends, clergy, social workers or for professional or business purposes;

(r) have confidential access to telephones for both free local calls and for accommodation of long distance calls according to facility policy;

(s) have access to the State Long Term Care Ombudsman Program or representatives of the Long Term Care Ombudsman Program;

(t) choose activities, schedules, and health care consistent with individual interests, assessments and care plan;

(u) interact with members of the community both inside and outside the facility; and

(v) make choices about all aspects of life in the facility that are significant to the resident.

(4) A resident has the right to organize and participate in resident and family groups in the facility.

(a) A resident's family has the right to meet in the facility with the families of other residents in the facility.

(b) The facility shall provide a resident or family group, if one exists, with private space.

(c) Staff or visitors may attend meetings at the group's invitation.

(d) The facility shall designate a staff person responsible for providing assistance and responding to written requests that result from group meetings.

(e) If a resident or family group exists, the facility shall listen to the views and act upon the grievances and recommendations of residents and families concerning proposed policy and operational decisions affecting resident care and life in the facility.

(5) The facility must accommodate resident needs and preferences, except when the health and safety of the individual or other residents may be endangered. A resident must be given at least a 24-hour notice before an involuntary room move is made in the facility.

(a) In an emergency when there is actual or threatened harm to others, property or self, the 24 hour notice requirement for an involuntary room move may be waived. The circumstances requiring the emergency room change must be documented for Department review.

(b) The facility must make and document efforts to accommodate the resident's adjustment and choices regarding room and roommate changes.

(6) If a facility is entrusted with residents' monies or valuables, the facility shall comply with the following:

(a) The licensee or facility staff may not use residents' monies or valuables as his own or mingle them with his own. Residents' monies and valuables shall be separate, intact and free from any liability that the licensee incurs in the use of his own or the institution's funds and valuables.

(b) The facility shall maintain adequate safeguards and accurate records of residents' monies and valuables entrusted to the licensee's care.

(i) Records of residents' monies which are maintained as a drawing account must include a control account for all receipts and expenditures, an account for each resident, and supporting vouchers filed in chronological order.

(ii) Each account shall be kept current with columns for debits, credits, and balance.

(iii) Records of residents' monies and other valuables entrusted to the licensee for safekeeping must include a copy of the receipt furnished to the resident or to the person responsible for the resident.

(c) The facility must deposit residents' monies not kept in the facility within five days of receipt of such funds in an interest-bearing account in a local bank or savings and loan association authorized to do business in Utah, the deposits of which shall be insured.

(d) A person, firm, partnership, association or corporation which is licensed to operate more than one health facility shall maintain a separate account for each such facility and shall not commingle resident funds from one facility with another.

(e) If the amount of residents' money entrusted to a licensee exceeds $100, the facility must deposit all money in excess of $100 in an interest-bearing account.

(f) Upon [annual] license renewal, the facility shall provide evidence of the purchase a surety bond or other equivalent assurance to secure all resident funds.

(g) When a resident is discharged, all money and valuables of that resident which have been entrusted to the licensee must be surrendered to the resident in exchange for a signed receipt. Money and valuables kept within the facility shall be surrendered upon demand and those kept in an interest-bearing account shall be made available within three working days.

(h) Within 30 days following the death of a resident, except in a medical examiner case, the facility must surrender all money and valuables of that resident which have been entrusted to the licensee to the person responsible for the resident or to the executor or the administrator of the estate in exchange for a signed receipt. If a resident dies without a representative or known heirs, the facility must immediately notify in writing the local probate court and the Department. (7) Facility smoking policies must comply with the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, R392-510, 1995 and the rules adopted there under and Section 31-4.4 of the 1994 Life Safety Code.

 

KEY: health facilities

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [August 5, 2005]2011

Notice of Continuation: September 27, 2007

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 26-21-5; 26-21-16

 

 


Additional Information

The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull-pdf/2011/b20110115.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.

Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets (e.g., [example]). Text to be added is underlined (e.g., example).  Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.

For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Joel Hoffman at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6279, by FAX at 801-538-6024, or by Internet E-mail at [email protected]; Carmen Richins at the above address, by phone at 801-538-9087, by FAX at 801-538-6024, or by Internet E-mail at [email protected].