File No. 36916
This rule was published in the November 1, 2012, issue (Vol. 2012, No. 21) of the Utah State Bulletin.
Human Services, Child and Family Services
Drug Testing Copayment for Parents of Children in Child and Family Services Custody
Notice of Proposed Rule
DAR File No.: 36916
Filed: 10/04/2012 12:22:55 PM
Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:
As mandated by the Utah State Legislature during the 2011 General Session, Child and Family Services is required to collect some or all of the costs associated with drug testing from parents of children in state custody.
Summary of the rule or change:
The purpose of this new rule is to implement the copayment requirements for drug testing mandated by the Utah State Legislature (S. B. 2, Item 87, 2011 General Session).
State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:
- Section 62A-4a-102
- Section 62A-4a-109
- Section 62A-4a-105
Anticipated cost or savings to:
the state budget:
Child and Family Services estimates a yearly savings to the state budget of $132,600 (based on 2,210 copay drug tests per month at $5 per test).
Child and Family Services determined that local governments are not affected by the rule and it will have no fiscal impact on them.
Child and Family Services determined that small businesses are not affected by the rule and it will have no fiscal impact on them.
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local governmental entities:
Child and Family Services estimates a $132,600 cost to persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities (based on 2,210 copay drug tests per month at $5 per test).
Compliance costs for affected persons:
A $5 copay will be assessed per each adult drug test.
Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:
This rule will have no fiscal impact on businesses.
Palmer DePaulis, Executive Director
The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:Human Services
Child and Family Services
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116
Direct questions regarding this rule to:
- Carol Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-557-1772, by FAX at 801-538-3993, or by Internet E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org
- Julene Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4521, by FAX at 801-538-3942, or by Internet E-mail at email@example.com
Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:
This rule may become effective on:
Brent Platt, Director
R512. Human Services, Child and Family Services.
The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull-pdf/2012/b20121101.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.
Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets (e.g., [
example]). Text to be added is underlined (e.g., ). Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.
For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Carol Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-557-1772, by FAX at 801-538-3993, or by Internet E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org; Julene Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4521, by FAX at 801-538-3942, or by Internet E-mail at email@example.com.