DAR File No. 39177
This rule was published in the April 1, 2015, issue (Vol. 2015, No. 7) of the Utah State Bulletin.
Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing
Qualification for Licensure - Examination Requirements
Notice of Proposed Rule
DAR File No.: 39177
Filed: 03/10/2015 02:59:27 PM
Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:
The Division and Physician Assistant Licensing Board reviewed the rule and determined the following change needs to be made to delete the examination requirement of the Utah Physician Assistant Law and Rules Examination. The Division is transitioning to an online application process resulting in the need for any type of examination to be administered by an outside testing agency. Instead of requiring physician assistant applicants to take another test, physician assistants will sign an affidavit attesting to reading all applicable laws and rules.
Summary of the rule or change:
The proposed amendments delete the Utah Physician Assistant Law and Rules examination as a qualification for licensure.
State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:
- Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a)
- Section 58-70a-101
- Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a)
Anticipated cost or savings to:
the state budget:
The Division will incur minimal costs of approximately $50 to print and distribute the rule once the proposed amendments are made effective. Any costs incurred will be absorbed in the Division's current budget.
The proposed amendments apply only to applicants for licensure as a physician assistant. As a result, the proposed amendments do not apply to local governments.
The proposed amendments apply only to applicants for licensure as a physician assistant. Applicants for licensure might work in a small business; however, the proposed amendments would not directly affect the business.
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local governmental entities:
The proposed amendments apply only to applicants for licensure as a physician assistant. The Division anticipates the proposed amendment will not result in additional encumbrances for any party beyond what is currently identified by statute and rule.
Compliance costs for affected persons:
The proposed amendments apply only to applicants for licensure as a physician assistant. The proposed amendment will not result in any increase of costs for those affected. Applicants will save approximately $75 by not having to pay for a law and rule examination from a third party test provider.
Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:
This filing eliminates an examination requirement for the physician assistant license. No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated.
Francine A. Giani, Executive Director
The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:Commerce
Occupational and Professional Licensing
HEBER M WELLS BLDG
160 E 300 S
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111-2316
Direct questions regarding this rule to:
- April Ellis at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6254, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at email@example.com
Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:
Interested persons may attend a public hearing regarding this rule:
- 05/18/2015 09:00 AM, Heber Wells Bldg, 160 E 300 S, fourth floor, Salt Lake City, UT
This rule may become effective on:
Mark Steinagel, Director
R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-70a. Physician Assistant Practice Act Rule.
R156-70a-302. Qualification for Licensure - Examination Requirements.
In accordance with Subsection
58-70a-302(5), the examination[
s which must be successfully passed by applicants
for] licensure as a physician assistant [ are: (1) ]the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) [ ; and (2) the Utah Physicians Assistant Law and Rules Examination].
KEY: licensing, physician assistants
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [
August 8, 2013]
Notice of Continuation: December 19, 2011
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 58-70a-101; 58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a)
More information about a Notice of Proposed Rule is available online.
The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull-pdf/2015/b20150401.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.
Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets ([
example]). Text to be added is underlined (). Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.
For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact April Ellis at the above address, by phone at 801-530-6254, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. For questions about the rulemaking process, please contact the Division of Administrative Rules.