DAR File No. 40445
This rule was published in the June 15, 2016, issue (Vol. 2016, No. 12) of the Utah State Bulletin.
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation
Veterans with Disabilities Honor Pass
Notice of Proposed Rule
DAR File No.: 40445
Filed: 05/24/2016 03:09:32 PM
Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:
This rule is created as required by Section 79-4-304 as amended by H.B. 135 that was passed during the 2016 General Session of the Utah Legislature. The rule governs the issuance of the Veterans with Disabilities Honor Pass to a qualified veteran. It is an annual pass and will allow a qualified veteran day-use entrance into the state parks free of charge, with the exception of This Is The Place State Park.
Summary of the rule or change:
The rule governs the issuance of the Veterans with Disabilities Honor Pass to a qualified veteran. A qualified veteran means an honorably discharged veteran who is a resident of the State of Utah and has at least a 50% service related disability as evidenced by documentation from the United State Department of Veterans Affairs, an active component of the United States armed forces, or a reserve component of the United States armed forces. It is an annual pass and will allow a qualified veteran day-use entrance into the state parks free of charge, with the exception of This Is The Place State Park. The Honor Pass is valid only when in the possession of the qualified veteran to whom it was issued. It is non-transferable. It allows for up to seven guests traveling in the same private vehicle access with the veteran.
State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:
- Section 79-4-304
Anticipated cost or savings to:
the state budget:
The Division of Parks and Recreation will realize some loss of revenue. It will be approximately $100,000 initially. There will also be the cost or printing the passes. This will be absorbed into the existing budget. The amount of $100,000 is based upon the percentage of qualified persons that are now purchasing annual passes.
Local government is not affected because they will not be required to issue or honor the pass.
Small business is not affected because they will not be required to issue or honor the pass.
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local governmental entities:
The pass will be free to qualified veterans, so there is no cost to persons other than small businesses. The savings to those qualified persons will be $75 annually.
Compliance costs for affected persons:
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. Those affected will realize a savings annually of $75.
Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:
There should be no impact on private business.
Michael Styler, Executive Director
The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:Natural Resources
Parks and RecreationRoom 116
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
Direct questions regarding this rule to:
- Tammy Wright at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at email@example.com
Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:
This rule may become effective on:
Fred Hayes, Director
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
More information about a Notice of Proposed Rule is available online.
The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull-pdf/2016/b20160615.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.
Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets ([
example]). Text to be added is underlined (). Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.
For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Tammy Wright at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. For questions about the rulemaking process, please contact the Division of Administrative Rules.