DAR File No. 41154
This rule was published in the February 1, 2017, issue (Vol. 2017, No. 3) of the Utah State Bulletin.
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation
River Throw Bag in Lieu of Type IV PFD
Notice of Proposed Rule
DAR File No.: 41154
Filed: 01/12/2017 07:12:32 AM
Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:
The current rule allows a throw bag to be carried in place of a throwable personal flotation device on rivers where life jackets are required to be worn. This rule was intended to mirror acceptable swift water rescue techniques. In May of 2016, the boating law administrator from the state of Arizona inquired about Section R651-215-8 due to a boating constituent requesting the state of Arizona adopt the same rule as Utah. Upon research from the request of the state of Arizona, and the United States Coast Guard, the Division found that Section R651-215-8 is in conflict with 33 CFR 175.15, requiring carriage of boating safety equipment.
Summary of the rule or change:
Although the intent of the rule is solid with swift water rescue techniques, the state of Utah cannot exclude safety items required by the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It was recommended that this section be removed so that the rule is in compliance with 33 CFR 175.15.
Statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:
- Section 73-18-8
Anticipated cost or savings to:
the state budget:
There is no anticipated revenue or cost incurred because the Division already has the equipment.
There is no effect to minimal effect to local government of $15 per boat that is over 16 feet in length if they do not have the device. Most government boats carried this device already.
There is a minimal anticipated cost on small businesses of $15 per boat that is over 16 feet in length. Most commercial boats are 15 feet average.
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local governmental entities:
There is a minimal anticipated cost on small businesses of $15 per boat that is over 16 feet in length. Most private boats are 15 feet average.
Compliance costs for affected persons:
There is an anticipated additional cost of $15 per boat for those boats that are not carrying the flotation device.
Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:
There is no fiscal impact to businesses.
Michael Styler, Executive Director
The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Office of Administrative Rules, or at:Natural Resources
Parks and RecreationRoom 116
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3154
Direct questions regarding this rule to:
- Tammy Wright at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at email@example.com
Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:
This rule may become effective on:
Fred Hayes, Director
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
R651-215. Personal Flotation Devices.
R651-215-8. River Throw Bag in Lieu of Type IV PFD.
On a river section where PFDs are required to be worn, or
on any river section where all vessel occupants are wearing PFDs,
in lieu of the Type IV PFD requirement, a throw bag with a minimum
of 40 feet of line may be carried.]
KEY: boating, parks
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [
May 9, 2011]
Notice of Continuation: January 7, 2016
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 73-18-8
More information about a Notice of Proposed Rule is available online.
The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull-pdf/2017/b20170201.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.
Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets ([
example]). Text to be added is underlined (). Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.
For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Tammy Wright at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7359, by FAX at 801-538-7378, or by Internet E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. For questions about the rulemaking process, please contact the Office of Administrative Rules.