Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since January 1, 2020, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R25. Administrative Services, Finance.
Rule R25-6. Relocation Reimbursement.
As in effect on January 1, 2020
Table of Contents
- R25-6-1. Purpose.
- R25-6-2. Authority.
- R25-6-3. Definitions.
- R25-6-4. Approval of Relocation Reimbursement.
- R25-6-5. Eligible Employees.
- R25-6-6. Repayment of Reimbursement.
- R25-6-7. Payment of Relocation Expenses.
- R25-6-8. Reimbursable Categories of Expenditures.
- R25-6-9. Maximum Reimbursement.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for payment of relocation reimbursements to employees who move for career progression or to accept employment with the state.
This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-3-103(1), which authorizes the Director of Finance to define fiscal procedures relating to approval and allocation of funds.
(1) "Agency" means any department, division, commission, council, board, bureau, committee, office, or other administrative subunit of state government.
(2) "Career progression" means job advancement.
(3) "Department" means all executive departments of state government.
(4) "Finance" means the Division of Finance.
(5) "Policy" means the policies and procedures of the Division of Finance, as published in the "Accounting Policies and Procedures."
(6) "Relocation" means the distance between the employee's old residence and new job site must increase at least 50 miles over the distance between the old residence and the old job site.
(7) "Reimbursement" means money paid to compensate an employee for money spent.
All relocation reimbursements require prior written approval of the department director or agency head.
(1) Relocation reimbursement costs shall be granted to employees who move due to an involuntary change in jobs.
(2) Relocation reimbursement costs may be granted to employees who move due to a voluntary change in jobs.
(3) Relocation reimbursement costs may be granted to new employees who are required by the employing agency to move to accept employment with the state.
(a) The amount of relocation costs to be reimbursed to new employees is a matter of negotiation between the department or agency and the employee, but shall be for only those categories of expenditures identified as reimbursable by Section R25-6-8 and shall not exceed those costs identified as reimbursable in Finance policy FIACCT 05-03.03, Employee Reimbursements - Relocation Reimbursement. Finance policies and procedures are available on the Internet at http://www.finance.utah.gov.
The employee shall agree in writing to repay any relocation expense if, within one year following the relocation, the employee terminates employment with the state or transfers to another department. Exceptions to repayment of the relocation expense must be approved in writing by the Director of Finance.
(1) The employee makes all payments and then requests reimbursement from the state.
(2) The employee may receive an advance of up to 90 percent of the estimated cost of the moving company, the storage of goods, and/or the real estate fees.
(1) Based on Finance policy, costs reimbursable to an employee for relocation fall into the following broad categories:
(a) Mileage or common carrier expenses;
(b) Lodging and meal expenses;
(c) Costs of moving household goods and furniture; and
(d) Real estate expenses.
(2) The use of state equipment to move an employee or to pull a privately-owned trailer or trailer house is prohibited unless approved by the Director of Finance and the State Risk Manager.
The maximum reimbursement for relocation costs may not exceed $10,000 unless approved in writing by the Director of Finance.
costs, finance, relocation benefits, reimbursements
July 2, 2002
February 8, 2018
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R25, please contact the promulgating agency (Administrative Services, Finance). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.