Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since October 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R25. Administrative Services, Finance.
Rule R25-8. Overtime Meal Allowance.
As in effect on October 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R25-8-1. Purpose.
- R25-8-2. Authority.
- R25-8-3. Definitions.
- R25-8-4. Allowance.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures to be followed by departments to pay meal allowances to state employees required to work in excess of regularly scheduled hours during a 24-hour period.
This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-3-103(1), which authorizes the Division of Finance to define fiscal procedures relating to approval and allocation of funds.
(1) "Overtime Meal allowance" means a sum of money given to state employees to pay for meals which may be authorized when work hours are in excess of regularly scheduled hours during a 24-hour period.
(2) "Department" means all executive departments of state government.
(3) "Finance" means the Division of Finance.
(4) "Policy" means the policies and procedures of the Division of Finance, as published in the "Accounting Policies and Procedures."
(5) "Rate" means an amount of money.
(6) "State employee" means any person who is paid on the state payroll system.
(1) A state employee required to work in excess of regularly scheduled hours may be authorized by his department to receive a taxable meal allowance up to $10 during a 24-hour period if:
(a) The employee is not on travel status.
(b) The total hours worked during the 24-hour period shall be three hours or more in excess of the regularly scheduled hours.
(c) The allowance is not considered an absolute right of the employee, and is authorized at the discretion of the Department Director or designee.
(d) The allowance may not be given in addition to any other meal allowance or per diem.
(e) The Employee Reimbursement/Earnings Request, form FI 48, should be completed and approved for the payment of the meal allowance. These overtime meal allowances must be paid through the payroll system in order to calculate and withhold the appropriate taxes.
finance, rates, state employees, allowance
June 21, 2013
February 8, 2018
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R25, please contact the promulgating agency (Administrative Services, Finance). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.