Utah Administrative Code

The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).

NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since October 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.

NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.


R27. Administrative Services, Fleet Operations.

Rule R27-9. Dispensing Compressed Natural Gas to the Public.

As in effect on October 1, 2019

Table of Contents

R27-9-1. Authority.

This rule is established pursuant to subsections 63A-9-702(3) which requires the Department of Administrative Services, Division of Fleet Operations (DFO) to make rules establishing requirements for the sale of compressed natural gas (CNG) to the public.

R27-9-2. Definitions.

In addition to the terms defined in Section 63A-9-702, as used in Title 63A, Chapter 9, or these rules, the following terms are defined.

(1) "Public" means private individuals or entities as defined in 63A-9-702(1).

(2) "State site" means a fuel site owned and/or operated by the State Fuel Network which dispenses compressed natural gas.

(3) "Geographical compressed natural gas needs of a private individual or entity" means providing CNG fuel to the public beyond one road mile from a privately owned and operated fuel site that is able to meet the natural gas distribution needs of the public.

R27-9-3. Fuel Site Availability.

(1) The division will allow the public to purchase compressed natural gas from the state's fuel network if:

(a) there is no commercial fuel site that meets the geographical compressed natural gas distribution needs as defined in R27-9-2(3) and;

(b) there are no emergencies that warrant the holding of compressed natural gas in reserve for use by state or emergency vehicles as determined by the division.

R27-9-4. Terms of Operation.

(1) State owned CNG fuel sites are intended to be operational 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and will be available to the public with the exception of locally posted time restrictions.

(2) CNG dispensing priority shall be given to state and local agencies.

(3) Public customers shall only be able to purchase CNG fuel from the state site with an accepted credit card.

(4) Public customers will be limited to 25 GGE per vehicle per day unless otherwise authorized by the division.

(5) Violation of any term of operation may result in the revocation or suspension of a private individual or entity's authorization to purchase compressed natural gas from state sites.

R27-9-5. Abuse and Neglect of Fueling Equipment.

Damage to fuel equipment that results from the abuse or neglect by a public customer shall be the responsibility of that customer.

KEY

compressed natural gas, CNG, public fueling

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment

March 26, 2012

Notice of Continuation

September 23, 2016

Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law

63A-9-702(3)


Additional Information

Contact

For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R27, please contact the promulgating agency (Administrative Services, Fleet Operations). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.