Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since March 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R58. Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry.
Rule R58-18. Elk Farming.
As in effect on March 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R58-18-1. Authority.
- R58-18-2. Definitions.
- R58-18-3. Application and Licensing Process.
- R58-18-4. License Renewal.
- R58-18-5. Facilities.
- R58-18-6. Records.
- R58-18-7. Genetic Purity.
- R58-18-8. Acquisition of or Slaughter of Elk.
- R58-18-9. Identification.
- R58-18-10. Inspections.
- R58-18-11. Health Rules.
- R58-18-12. Chronic Wasting Disease Surveillance and Investigation.
- R58-18-13. Herd Status.
- R58-18-14. Herd Plan.
- R58-18-15. Grounds for Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of Licenses for Domestic Elk Facilities.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
Regulations governing elk farming promulgated under authority of 4-39-106.
In addition to the definitions found in Sections 4-1-8, 4-7-3, 4-24-2, 4-32-3 and 4-39-102, the following terms are defined for purposes of this rule:
(1) "Adjacent Herd" means a herd of Cervidae occupying premises that border an affected herd, including herds separated by fences, roads or streams, herds occupying a premises where Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) was previously diagnosed, and herds that share the same license as the affected or source herd, even if separate records are maintained and no commingling has taken place.
(2) "Affected herd" means a herd of Cervidae where an animal has been diagnosed with Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) caused by protease resistant prion protein (PrP), and confirmed by means of an approved test, within the previous 5 years.
(3) "Animal identification" means a device or means of animal identification.
(4) "Approved test" means approved tests for Chronic Wasting Disease CWD surveillance shall be those laboratory or diagnostic tests accepted nationally by USDA and approved by the State Veterinarian.
(5) "Commingled", "commingling" means that animals are commingled if they have direct contact with each other, have less than 10 feet of physical separation, or share equipment, pasture, or water sources/watershed. Animals are considered to have commingled if they have had such contact with a positive animal or contaminated premises within the last 5 years.
(6) "CWD-exposed animal" means an animal that is part of a CWD-positive herd, or that has been exposed to a CWD-positive animal or contaminated premises within the previous 5 years.
(7) "CWD-exposed herd" means a herd in which a CWD-positive animal has resided within 5 years prior to that animal's diagnosis as CWD-positive.
(8) "CWD Herd Certification Program" means the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program.
(9) "CWD-positive animal" means an animal that has had a diagnosis of CWD confirmed by means of an official CWD test.
(10) "CWD-positive herd" means a herd in which a CWD positive animal resided at the time it was diagnosed and which has not been released from quarantine.
(11) "CWD-suspect animal" means an animal for which has been determined that laboratory evidence or clinical signs suggest a diagnosis of CWD.
(12) "CWD-suspect herd" means a herd in which a CWD suspect animal resided and which has not been released from quarantine.
(13) "Destination Herd" means the intended herd of residence, which will be occupied by the animal which is proposed for importation.
(14) "Domestic elk" as used in this chapter, in addition to 4-39-102, means any elk which has been born inside of, and has spent its entire life within captivity.
(15) "Elk" as used in this chapter means North American Wapiti or Cervus Elaphus Canadensis.
(16) "Herd of Origin" means the herd, which an imported animal has resided in, or does reside in, prior to importation.
(17) "Official slaughter facility" means a place where the slaughter of livestock occurs that is under the authority of the state or federal government and receives state or federal inspection.
(18) "Quarantine Facility" means a confined area where selected elk can be secured, contained and isolated from all other elk and livestock.
(19) "Raised" as used in the act means any possession of domestic elk for any purpose other than hunting.
(20) "Secure Enclosure" means a perimeter fence or barrier that is so constructed as to prevent domestic elk from escaping into the wild or the ingress of native wildlife into the facility.
(21) "Separate location" as used in Subsection 4-39-203(5) means any facility that may be separated by two distinct perimeter fences, not more than 10 miles apart, owned by the same person.
(22) "Trace Back Herd/Source Herd" means a herd of Cervidae where an animal affected with CWD has formerly resided.
(23) "Trace Forward Herd" means a herd of Cervidae which has received exposed animals that originated from a CWD positve herd within 5 years prior to the diagnosis of CWD in the positive herd or from the identified date of entry of CWD into the positive herd.
(1) Each applicant for a license shall submit a signed, complete, accurate and legible application on a Department issued form.
(2) In addition to the application, a general plot plan should be submitted showing the location of the proposed farm in conjunction with roads, towns, etc. in the immediate area.
(3) A facility number shall be assigned to an elk farm at the time a completed application is received by the Department.
(4) A complete facility inspection and approval shall be conducted prior to the issuing of a license or entry of elk to any facility. This inspection shall be made by an approved Department of Agriculture and Food employee and Division of Wildlife Resources employee. It shall be the responsibility of the applicant to request this inspection at least 72 hours in advance.
(5) Upon receipt of an application, inspection and approval of the facility and completion of the facility approval form and receipt of the license fee, a license will be issued.
(6) All licenses expire on July 1st in the year following the year of issuance.
(7) Elk may enter into the facility only after a license is issued by the Department and received by the applicant.
(1) Each elk farm must make renewal application to the Department on the prescribed form no later than April 30th indicating its desire to continue as an elk farm. This application shall be accompanied by the required fee. Any license renewal application received after April 30th will have a late fee assessed.
(2) Any license received after July 1st is delinquent and any animals on the farm will be quarantined until due process of law against the current owner has occurred. This may result in revocation of the license, loss of the facility number, closure of the facility and or removal of the elk from the premises.
(3) Documentation showing that genetic purity has been maintained throughout the year is also required for annual license renewal.
(4) The licensee shall provide a copy of the inventory sheet to the inspector at the time of inspection.
(5) Prior to renewal of the license, the facility will again be inspected by a Utah Department of Agriculture and Food employee.
(a) The employee will document that all fencing and facility requirements are met as required.
(b) The employee will perform an inventory count on all elk on the premises.
(c) The employee will perform a visual general health check of all animals.
(d) Every year, the employee will perform an inventory of all elk by matching individual animal identification with the inventory records received from the owner/manager of the elk facility.
(e) The physical inventory and bookkeeping inventory must have at least a 95% match.
(1) All perimeter fences and gates shall meet the minimum standard as defined in Section 4-39-201.
(a) The perimeter fences and gates shall be constructed to prevent the movement of cervids, both captive and wild, into or out of the facility.
(2) Internal handling facilities shall be capable of humanely restraining an individual animal for the applying or reading of any animal identification, the taking of blood or tissue samples, or conducting other required testing by an inspector or veterinarian.
(a) Any such restraint shall be properly constructed to protect inspection personnel while handling the animals.
(b) Minimum requirements include a working pen, an alley way and a restraining chute.
(3) The licensee shall provide an isolation or quarantine holding facility which is adequate to contain the animals and provide proper feed, water and other care necessary for the physical well being of the animal(s) for the period of time necessary to separate the animal from other animals on the farm.
(4) Each location of a licensed facility with separate perimeter fences must have its own separate loading facility.
(1) Licensed elk farms shall maintain accurate and legible office records showing the inventory of all elk on the facility.
(2) The inventory record of each animal shall include:
(a) Name and address of agent(s) which the elk was purchased from,
(b) Identification number (tattoo or microchip) and official ear tag number,
(e) Date of purchase or birth,
(f) Date of death or change of ownership (name of new owner and address should be recorded and retained), and
(g) Certificate of Veterinary Inspection if purchased out of state.
(3) The inventory sheet may be one that is either provided by the Department or may be a personal design of similar format.
(4) Any animal born on the property or transported into a facility must be added to the inventory sheet within seven days.
(5) Any elk purchased must be shown on the inventory sheet within 30 days after acquisition, including source.
(6) A death record of all elk 12 months of age and over that die; or that are otherwise harvested, slaughtered, killed, or destroyed shall be submitted to the Department within 48 hours after death of the animal.
(1) All elk entering Utah, except those going directly to slaughter, must have written evidence of genetic purity.
(2) Written evidence of genetic purity will include one of the following:
(a) Test charts from an approved lab that have run either a:
(i) Blood genetic purity test or
(ii) DNA genetic purity test.
(b) Registration papers from the North American Elk Breeders Association.
(c) Herd purity certification papers issued by another state agency.
(3) Genetic purity records must be kept on file and presented to the inspector at the time elk are brought into the state and also each year during the license renewal process.
(4) Any elk identified as having red deer genetic influence shall be destroyed, or immediately removed from the state.
(1) Only domesticated elk will be allowed to enter and be kept on any elk farm in Utah.
(2) All new elk brought into a facility shall be held in a quarantine facility until a livestock inspector has inspected the animal(s) to verify that all health, identification and genetic purity requirements have been met. New animals may not co-mingle with any elk already on the premises until this verification is completed by the livestock inspector.
(3) All elk presented for slaughter at an official slaughter facility, that have come from an out of state source, must arrive on a day when no Utah raised elk or elk carcasses are present at the plant.
(4) Individual elk identification must be maintained throughout slaughter and processing until such time that CWD test results have been returned from the laboratory.
(5) Out of state elk shall be tested for Brucellosis at the time of slaughter.
(1) All elk shall be permanently identified with either a tattoo or electronic identification tag.
(2) If the identification method chosen to use is the electronic identification tag, a reader must be made available, by the owner, to the inspector at the time of any inspection to verify electronic identification number. The electronic identification tag shall be placed in the right ear.
(3) If tattooing is the chosen method of identification, each elk shall bear a tattoo number consisting of the following:
(a) UT (indicating Utah) followed by a number assigned by the Department (indicating the facility number of the elk farm) and
(b) Any alphanumeric combination of letters or numbers consisting of not less than 3 digits, indicating the individual animal number herein referred to as the "ID number".
ID number (001)
(c) Each elk shall be tattooed on either the right peri-anal hairless area beside the tail or in the right ear.
(d) Each alphanumeric character must be at least 3/8 inch high.
(e) Each newly purchased elk will not need to be retattooed or microchipped if they already have this type of identification.
(f) Any purchased elk not already identified shall be tattooed or microchipped within 30 days after arriving on the farm.
(g) All calves must be tattooed or microchipped within 15 days after weaning or in no case later than September 15th or before leaving the premises where they were born.
(4) In addition to one of the two above mentioned identification methods, each elk shall be identified by an official USDA ear tag or other ear tag approved by the State Veterinarian within 15 days after weaning or in no case later than September 15th or before leaving the premises where they were born or within 30 days after arriving on the farm.
(1) All facilities must be inspected within 60 days before a license or the renewal of an existing license is issued. It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for an appointment with the Department for such inspection, giving the Department ample time to respond to such a request.
(2) All elk must be inspected for inventory purposes within 60 days before a license renewal can be issued.
(3) All elk must be inspected when any change of ownership, moving out of state, leaving the facility, slaughter or selling of elk products, such as antlers, occurs except as indicated in (f) below.
(a) It is the responsibility of the licensee to arrange for any inspection with the local state livestock inspector.
(b) A minimum of 48 hours advance notice shall be given to the inspector.
(c) When inspected, the licensee or his representative shall make available such records as will certify ownership, genetic purity, and animal health.
(d) All elk to be inspected shall be properly contained in facilities adequate to confine each individual animal for proper inspection.
(e) Animals shall be inspected before being loaded or moved outside the facility.
(f) Animals moving from one perimeter fence to another within the facility may move directly from one site to another site without a brand inspection, but must be accompanied with a copy of the facility license.
(4) Any elk purchased or brought into the facility from an out-of-state source shall be inspected upon arrival at a licensed farm before being released into an area inhabited by other elk. All requirements of R58-18-10(3) above shall apply to the inspection of such animals.
(5) A Utah Brand Inspection Certificate shall accompany any shipment of elk or elk products, including velveted antlers, which are to be moved from a Utah elk farm.
(a) Shed antlers are excluded from needing an inspection.
(6) Proof of ownership and proper health papers shall accompany all interstate movement of elk to a Utah destination.
(7) Proof of ownership may include:
(a) A brand inspection certificate issued by another state.
(b) A purchase invoice from a licensed public livestock market showing individual animal identification.
(c) Court orders.
(d) Registration papers showing individual animal identification.
(e) A duly executed bill (notarized) of sale.
(1) Prior to the importation of elk, whether by live animals, gametes, eggs, sperm or other genetic material into the State of Utah, the importing party must obtain an import permit from the Utah State Veterinarian's office.
(a) An import permit number shall be issued only if the destination is licensed as an elk farm by the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food or an official slaughter facility.
(b) The import permit number for Utah shall be obtained by the local veterinarian conducting the official health inspection by contacting the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
(2) All elk imported into Utah must be examined by an accredited veterinarian prior to importation and must be accompanied by a valid Certificate of Veterinary Inspection, health certificate, certifying a disease free status.
(a) Minimum specific disease testing results or health statements must be included on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. Minimum disease testing requirement may be waived on elk traveling directly to an official slaughter facility.
(b) A negative tuberculosis test must be completed within 60 days prior to entry into the state. A retest is also optional at the discretion of the State Veterinarian.
(c) If animals do not originate from a tuberculosis accredited, qualified or monitored herd, they may be imported only if accompanied by a certificate stating that such domestic cervidae have been classified negative to two official tuberculosis tests that were conducted not less than 90 days apart, that the second test was conducted within 60 days prior to the date of movement. The test eligible age is six months or older, or less than six months of age if not accompanied by a negative testing dam.
(d) All elk being imported shall test negative for brucellosis if six months of age or older, by at least two types of official USDA brucellosis tests.
(e) The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection must also include the following signed statement: "To the best of my knowledge the elk listed herein are not infected with Johne's Disease (Paratuberculosis), Chronic Wasting Disease or Malignant Catarrhal Fever and have never been east of the 100 degree meridian."
(f) The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection shall also contain the name and address of the shipper and receiver, the number, sex, age and any individual identification on each animal.
(3) Additional disease testing may be required at the discretion of the State Veterinarian prior to importation or when there is reason to believe other disease(s), or parasites are present, or that some other health concerns are present.
(4) Imported or existing elk may be required to be quarantined at an elk farm if the State Veterinarian determines the need for and the length of such a quarantine.
(5) Any movement of elk outside a licensed elk farm shall comply with standards as provided in the document entitled: "Uniform Methods and Rules (UM and R)", as approved and published by the USDA. The documents, entitled: "Tuberculosis Eradication in Cervidae, Uniform Methods and Rules", the May 15, 1994 edition, and "Brucellosis Eradication, Uniform Methods and Rules", the May 6, 1992 edition as published by the USDA, are hereby incorporated by reference into this rule. These are the standards for tuberculosis and brucellosis eradication in domestic cervidae.
(6) Treatment of all elk for internal and external parasites is required within 30 days prior to entry, except elk going directly to slaughter.
(7) All elk imported into Utah must originate from a state or province, which requires that all suspected or confirmed cases of Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD), be reported to the State Veterinarian or regulatory authority. The state or province of origin must have the authority to quarantine source herds and herds affected with or exposed to CWD.
(8) Based on the State Veterinarian's approval, all elk imported into Utah shall originate from states, which have implemented a Program for Surveillance, Control, and Eradication of CWD in Domestic Elk. All elk imported to Utah must originate from herds that have been participating in a verified CWD surveillance program for a minimum of 5 years. Animals will be accepted for movement only if epidemiology based on vertical and horizontal transmission is in place.
(9) No elk originating from a CWD affected herd, trace back herd/source herd, trace forward herd, adjacent herd, or from an area considered to be endemic to CWD, may be imported to Utah.
(10) Elk semen, eggs, or gametes, require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection verifying the individual source animal has been tested for genetic purity for Rocky Mountain Elk genes and certifying that it has never resided on a premises where Chronic Wasting Disease has been identified or traced. An import permit obtained by the issuing veterinarian must be listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
(1) The owner, veterinarian, or inspector of any elk which is suspected or confirmed to be affected with Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) in Utah is required to report that finding to the State Veterinarian.
(2) The State Veterinarian will promptly investigate all animals reported as CWD-exposed, CWD-suspect, or CWD-positive animals, including but not limited to:
(a) Conduct an epidemiologic investigation of CWD-positive, CWD-exposed, and CWD-suspect herds that includes the designation of suspect and exposed animals and that identifies animals to be traced;
(b) Conduct tracebacks of CWD-positive animals and traceouts of CWD-exposed animals and report any out-of-State traces to the appropriate State promptly after receipt of notification of a CWD-positive animal; and
(c) Conduct tracebacks based on slaughter or other sampling promptly after receipt of notification of a CWD-positive animal at slaughter.
(d) With the approval of the Commissioner of Agriculture, the State Veterinarian will place the facility under quarantine and any trace-back or trace-forward facility as needed.
(e) Any elk over 12 months of age that dies or is otherwise slaughtered or destroyed from a CWD-positive, CWD-exposed, and CWD-suspect herd shall have the brain stem (obex portion of the medulla) and medial retropharyngeal lymph nodes collected for testing for Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) by an official test.
(i) The samples shall be collected by an accredited veterinarian, or an approved laboratory, or person trained and approved by the State Veterinarian.
(ii) Carcasses and tissues from these animals will be either incinerated or stored by a state or federally inspected slaughter establishment until testing is completed.
(iii) Carcasses and tissues from animals testing positive must be disposed of by incineration or other means approved by the State Veterinarian.
(3) Each elk farm, licensed in Utah, shall be required to submit the brain stem (obex portion of the medulla) and medial retropharyngeal lymph nodes of any elk over 12 months of age that dies or is otherwise slaughtered or destroyed, for testing for Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) by an official test. The samples shall be collected by an accredited veterinarian, or an approved laboratory, or person trained and approved by the State Veterinarian. Farms owning 20 or more elk maybe allowed up to a 10% error rate on samples per year; farms owning less than 20 elk will not have an acceptable error rate.
(4) Each hunting park, licensed in Utah, shall be required to submit the brain stem (obex portion of the medulla) and medial retropharyngeal lymph nodes of all elk over 12 months of age that die; or that are otherwise harvested, slaughtered, killed, or destroyed, for testing for Chronic Wasting Disease with an official test. The samples shall be collected by an accredited veterinarian, approved laboratory, or person trained and approved by the State Veterinarian. Hunting parks maybe allowed up to a 10% error rate on samples per year with consideration taken when elk are shot in an area of the elk that causes an unacceptable sample.
(5) The CWD surveillance samples from elk residing on licensed elk farms and elk hunting parks shall be collected and preserved in formalin within 48 hours following the death of the animal, and submitted within 7 days, to a laboratory approved by the State Veterinarian. Training of approved personnel shall include collection, handling, shipping, and identification of specimens for submission.
(6) Laboratory fees and expenses incurred for collection and shipping of samples shall be the responsibility of the participating elk farm or hunting park.
(7) The designation and disposition of CWD exposed, positive, or suspect animals or herds in Utah shall be determined by the State Veterinarian.
(1) Initial and subsequent status.
(a) When a herd is first enrolled in the CWD Herd Certification Program, it will be placed in First Year status, except that; if the herd is comprised solely of animals obtained from herds already enrolled in the Program, the newly enrolled herd will have the same status as the lowest status of any herd that provided animals for the new herd.
(b) If the herd continues to meet the requirements of the CWD Herd Certification Program, each year, on the anniversary of the enrollment date the herd status will be upgraded by 1 year; i.e., Second Year status, Third Year status, Fourth Year status, and Fifth Year status.
(c) One year from the date a herd is placed in Fifth Year status, the herd status will be changed to "Certified", and the herd will remain in "Certified" status as long as it is enrolled in the program, provided its status is not lost or suspended in accordance with this section.
(2) Loss or suspension of herd status.
(a) If a herd is designated a CWD-positive herd or a CWD-exposed herd, it will immediately lose its program status and may only reenroll after entering into a herd plan.
(b) If a herd is designated a CWD-suspect herd, a trace back herd, or a trace forward herd, it will immediately be placed in Suspended status pending an epidemiologic investigation.
(i) If the epidemiologic investigation determines that the herd was not commingled with a CWD-positive animal, the herd will be reinstated to its former program status, and the time spent in Suspended status will count toward its promotion to the next herd status level.
(ii) If the epidemiologic investigation determines that the herd was commingled with a CWD-positive animal, the herd will lose its program status and will be designated a CWD-exposed herd.
(iii) If the epidemiological investigation is unable to make a determination regarding the exposure of the herd, because the necessary animal or animals are no longer available for testing (i.e., a trace animal from a known positive herd died and was not tested) or for other reasons, the herd status will continue as Suspended unless and until a herd plan is developed for the herd.
(iv) If a herd plan is developed and implemented, the herd will be reinstated to its former program status, and the time spent in Suspended status will count toward its promotion to the next herd status level; Except that, if the epidemiological investigation finds that the owner of the herd has not fully complied with program requirements for animal identification, animal testing, and recordkeeping, the herd will be reinstated into the CWD Herd Certification Program at the First Year status level, with a new enrollment date set at the date the herd entered into Suspended status.
(v) Any herd reinstated after being placed in Suspended status must then comply with the requirements of the herd plan as well as the requirements of the CWD Herd Certification Program. The herd plan will require testing of all animals that die in the herd for any reason, regardless of the age of the animal, may require movement restrictions for animals in the herd based on epidemiologic evidence regarding the risk posed by the animals in question, and may include other requirements found necessary to control the risk of spreading CWD.
(c) If the Department determines that animals from a herd enrolled in the program have commingled with animals from a herd with a lower program status, the herd with the higher program status will be reduced to the status of the herd with which its animals commingled.
(3) Cancellation of enrollment by the Department.
(a) The Department may cancel the enrollment of an enrolled herd by giving written notice to the herd owner.
(b) In the event of such cancellation, the herd owner may not reapply to enroll in the CWD Herd Certification Program for 5 years from the effective date of the cancellation.
(c) The Department may cancel enrollment after determining that the herd owner failed to comply with any requirements of this section. Before enrollment is canceled, the Department will inform the herd owner of the reasons for the proposed cancellation.
(d) Herd owners may appeal cancellation of enrollment or loss or suspension of herd status by writing to the Commissioner of Agriculture within 10 days after being informed of the reasons for the proposed action.
(i) The appeal must include all of the facts and reasons upon which the herd owner relies to show that the reasons for the proposed action are incorrect or do not support the action.
(ii) The Commissioner of Agriculture will grant or deny the appeal in writing as promptly as circumstances permit, stating the reason for his or her decision.
(iii) If there is a conflict as to any material fact, a hearing will be held to resolve the conflict.
(iv) The cancellation of enrollment or loss or suspension of herd status shall become effective pending final determination in the proceeding if the Commissioner of Agriculture determines that such action is necessary to prevent the possible spread of CWD.
(A) Such action shall become effective upon oral or written notification, whichever is earlier, to the herd owner.
(B) In the event of oral notification, written confirmation shall be given as promptly as circumstances allow.
(v) This cancellation of enrollment or loss or suspension of herd status shall continue in effect pending the completion of the proceeding, and any judicial review thereof, unless otherwise ordered by the Commissioner of Agriculture.
(4) Herd status of animals added to herds.
(a) A herd may add animals from herds with the same or a higher herd status in the CWD Herd Certification Program with no negative impact on the certification status of the receiving herd.
(b) If animals are acquired from a herd with a lower herd status, the receiving herd reverts to the program status of the sending herd.
(c) If a herd participating in the CWD Herd Certification Program acquires animals from a nonparticipating herd, the receiving herd reverts to First Year status with a new enrollment date of the date of acquisition of the animal.
(1) A written herd plan will be developed by the State Veterinarian with input from the herd owner, USDA, and other affected parties.
(2) The herd plan sets out the steps to be taken to eradicate CWD from a CWD positive herd, to control the risk of CWD in a CWD-exposed or CWD-suspect herd, or to prevent introduction of CWD into another herd.
(3) A herd plan will require:
(a) specified means of identification for each animal in the herd;
(b) regular examination of animals in the herd by a veterinarian for signs of disease;
(c) reporting to a State or USDA representative of any signs of central nervous system disease in herd animals;
(d) maintaining records of the acquisition and disposition of all animals entering or leaving the herd, including the date of acquisition or removal, name and address of the person from whom the animal was acquired or to whom it was disposed, cause of death, if the animal died while in the herd.
(4) A herd plan may also contain additional requirements to prevent or control the possible spread of CWD, depending on the particular condition of the herd and its premises, including but not limited to:
(a) specifying the time for which a premises must not contain cervids after CWD positive, exposed, or suspect animals are removed from the premises;
(b) fencing requirements;
(c) depopulation or selective culling of animals;
(d) restrictions on sharing and movement of possibly contaminated livestock equipment;
(e) cleaning and disinfection requirements, or other requirements.
(5) The State Veterinarian must approve all movement of cervids onto or off of the facility.
(a) Movement restriction of cervids will remain in place until requirements of the plan have been met.
(6) The State Veterinarian may review and revise a herd plan at any time in response to changes in the situation of the herd or premises or improvements in understanding of the nature of CWD epidemiology or techniques to prevent its spread.
(1) A license to operate a domestic elk facility may be denied, suspended, or revoked by the Department for any of the following reasons:
(a) Incomplete application or incorrect application information;
(b) Incorrect records or failure to maintain required records;
(c) Not presenting animals for identification at the request of the Department;
(d) Failure to notify Department of movement of elk onto or off of the facility;
(e) Failure to identify elk as required;
(f) Movement of imported elk onto facility without obtaining a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection which has an import permit number obtained from the Department;
(g) Importing animals that are prohibited or controlled as listed in rule R657-3;
(h) Failure to notify the Department concerning an escape of an animal from a domestic elk facility;
(g) Failure to maintain a perimeter fence that prevents escape of domestic elk or ingress of wild cervids into the facility;
(i) Failure to notify the Division of Wildlife Resources that there are wild cervids inside a domestic elk farm or hunting park;
(j) Failure to participate with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food and the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources in a cooperative wild cervid removal program;
(k) Failure to have inventories match with at least a 95% match;
(l) Failure to submit the acceptable rate of CWD test samples;
(m) Failure to have the minimum proper equipment necessary to safely and humanely handle animals in the facility; or
(l) Inhumane handling or neglect of animals on the facility as determined by the Department.
(2) Once the Department has notified the operator of a domestic elk facility of the denial, suspension, or revocation of a license to operate a domestic elk facility, the operator has 15 calendar days to request an appeal with the Commissioner of Agriculture.
(3) An operator of a domestic elk facility that has had their license revoked shall remove all elk from the facility within 30 calendar days by:
(a) Sending all elk to an inspected facility for slaughter; or
(b) Selling elk to another facility;
(4) Any elk remaining on the facility at the end of 30 days will be sold by the Department during a special sale conducted for that purpose.
chronic wasting disease, elk, inspections
September 19, 2016
January 12, 2017
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R58, please contact the promulgating agency (Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.