Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since January 1, 2020, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R81. Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration.
Rule R81-2. State Stores.
As in effect on January 1, 2020
Table of Contents
- R81-2-1. Reserved.
- R81-2-2. Liquor Returns, Refunds and Exchanges.
- R81-2-3. Warning Sign.
- R81-2-4. Identification Guidelines to Purchase Liquor.
- R81-2-5. Advertising.
- R81-2-6. Refusal of Service.
- R81-2-7. Minors on Premises.
- R81-2-8. Payment for Liquor.
- R81-2-9. Reserved.
- R81-2-10. State Store Hours.
- R81-2-11. Industry Members in State Stores.
- R81-2-12. Store Site Selection.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) Purpose. This rule establishes guidelines for accepting liquor returns, refunds and exchanges.
(2) Application of Rule.
(a) Unsaleable Product. Unsaleable product includes product that is spoiled, leaking, contains foreign matter, or is otherwise defective. The department will accept for refund or exchange liquor merchandise that is unsaleable subject to the following conditions and restrictions:
(i) Returns of unsaleable merchandise are subject to approval by the store manager to verify that the product is indeed defective.
(ii) The product must be returned within a reasonable time of the date of purchase. Discontinued products may not be returned. Vintages of wine that are not currently being retailed by the department may not be returned.
(iii) No refunds shall be given for wines returned due to spoilage such as corkiness, oxidation, and secondary fermentation, or due to the customer's unfamiliarity with the characteristics of the product. Such wines may only be exchanged for another bottle of the same product. Wine will not be accepted for refund or exchange if the return is a result of improper extraction of the cork.
(b) Saleable Product. Store managers are authorized to accept saleable returned merchandise from licensees, single event permit holders, convention groups, and individual customers, subject to the following conditions and restrictions:
(i) Returns of saleable merchandise are subject to approval by the store manager. The customer may receive a refund or exchange of product for the return. Large returns will be accepted from licensees, single event permittees, convention groups and other organizations only if prior arrangements have been made with the store manager.
(ii) Returns should be made within a reasonable amount of time from the date of purchase, and all returned merchandise must be in good condition. Returns of $50.00 or more shall not be accepted without a receipt. Therefore, it is necessary for cashiers to print a receipt for all purchases of $50.00 or more. Signs should be posted at each cash register informing customers of this requirement. Merchandise shall be refunded at the price paid by the customer, or the current price, whichever is lower.
(iii) Wine and beer, due to their perishable nature and susceptibility to temperature changes, should be accepted back with caution. These products can only be returned if the store manager has personal knowledge of how they have been handled and stored.
(iv) If the total amount of the return is more than $500 the store manager shall fill out a A Returned Merchandise Acknowledgment Receipt (LQ-45), and submit a copy to the office. A refund check will be processed at the office and mailed to the customer. Customers need to be informed that it generally takes three to six weeks to process payment.
(v) If the total value of the returned merchandise is more than $1,000, a 10% restocking fee shall be charged on the total amount.
(c) Unreturnable Products. The following items may not be returned:
(i) All limited item wines - wines that are available in very limited quantities.
(ii) Any products that have been chilled, over-heated, or label-damaged.
(iii) Outdated (not listed on the department's product/price list) and discontinued products.
(iv) Merchandise purchased by catering services.
(d) A cash register return receipt shall be completed for each product return. The following information must be on the receipt: the customer's name, address, telephone number, driver's license number, and signature. The cashier must attach the receipt to the cash register closing report.
All state stores shall display in a prominent place a "warning sign" as defined in R81-1-2.
The department accepts only four forms of identification to establish proof of age for the purchase of liquor by customers:
(1) A current valid driver's license that includes date of birth and has a picture affixed and is issued in this state under Title 53, Chapter 3, Uniform Driver License Act, or in accordance with the laws of another state;
(2) A current valid identification card that includes date of birth and has a picture affixed issued by this state under Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 8, Identification Card Act, or issued by another state that is substantially similar to this state's identification card;
(3) A current valid military identification card that includes date of birth and has a picture affixed; or
(4) A current valid passport.
If a person's age is still in question after presenting proof of age, the department may require the person to also sign a "statement of age" form as provided in 32B-1-405. The form shall be filed alphabetically by the close of the business day, and shall be maintained on file for a period of three years.
The advertising or promotion of liquor products within state stores is prohibited. An employee may inform the customer as to the characteristics of a particular brand or type of liquor, provided the information is linked to a comparison with other brands or types.
An employee of the store may refuse to sell liquor to any person whom the employee has reason to believe is purchasing or attempting to purchase liquor in violation of Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control laws. The employee may also detain the person and hold the person's form of identification in a reasonable manner and for a reasonable length of time for the purpose of informing a peace officer of a suspected violation.
No person under the age of 21 years may enter a state liquor store unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or spouse that is 21 years of age or older. Signs notifying the public of this rule shall be posted in a prominent place on the doors or windows of the state liquor store.
(1) Accepting Licensee Payments: Pursuant to 32B-5-303(1)(c), this rule requires that payments collected from licensees for the purchase of liquor come from the licensee and authorizes the agency to make internal department policies in accordance with 32B-2-206(1), (2) and (5) for the acceptance of payments for liquor.
(1) Authority and purpose: As authorized by 32B-2-503(5)(b), this rule establishes the days and hours for state stores operations.
(2) Authorized days of operation: State stores may not operate on any day prohibited by 32B-2-503(5)(a).
(3) Authorized hours of operation: Pursuant to 32B-2-202(1) (b) and (k) and in accordance 32B-2-206(1) and(2), this rule authorizes the director to set hours of operations for each state store and establish internal department policies for sales during operational hours based on the following factors.
(a) the locality of the store;
(b) tourist traffic;
(d) population to be served;
(e) customer demand in the area;
(f) whether the store is designed for licensee sales; and
(g) budgetary constraints.
An industry member, as defined in 32B-4-702, shall be limited to the customer areas of a state store except as follows:
(1) An industry member may be allowed in the storage area of a state store with the approval of the store manager for the limited purpose of stocking the industry member's own products; and
(2) An industry member may be allowed in the office or other suitable area of a state store with the approval of the store manager for the purpose of discussing the industry member's products.
This rule is promulgated pursuant to Section 32B-2-202(1)(c)(ii) which requires that criteria and procedures be established for determining the location of a state store: Prior to the commission establishing a new state store, the Operations and Procurement Subcommittee will determine the feasibility of a new site, weigh options and consider the investigation and recommendation of the department as outlined in 32B-2-502 then make its recommendation to the commission.
December 24, 2015
May 2, 2016
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R81, please contact the promulgating agency (Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.