Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since October 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
Rule R156-55e. Elevator Mechanics Licensing Rule.
As in effect on October 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R156-55e-101. Title.
- R156-55e-102. Definitions.
- R156-55e-103. Authority - Purpose.
- R156-55e-104. Organization - Relationship to Rule R156-1.
- R156-55e-302a. Qualifications for Licensure - Experience and Education Requirements.
- R156-55e-302b. Qualifications for Licensure - Examination Requirements.
- R156-55e-302c. Qualifications for Licensure - Temporary License Requirements.
- R156-55e-303. Renewal Cycle - Procedure.
- R156-55e-303a. Continuing Education - Standards.
- R156-55e-502. Unprofessional Conduct.
- R156-55e-503. Administrative Penalties.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
This rule is known as the "Elevator Mechanics Licensing Rule."
In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 55, as used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 55, or this rule:
(1) "Employee", as used in Subsection 58-55-102(18) and this rule, means an individual providing labor services for compensation who has federal and state taxes withheld and worker's compensation and unemployment insurance provided by the individual's employer.
(2) "Immediate supervision", as used in Subsection 58-55-102(26) and this rule, means reasonable direction, oversight, inspection, and evaluation of the work of a person, in or out of the immediate presence of the supervising person, so as to ensure that the end result complies with the applicable standards.
(3) "Unprofessional conduct", as defined in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 55, is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1), in Section R156-55e-502.
This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 58, Chapter 55.
The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107.
In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(1)(b) and 58-1-301(3), the experience requirements in Subsections 58-55-302(1)(e)(iv)(C) and 58-55-302(3)(m)(i)(A) and (C) are further clarified and established below.
(1)(a) The required three years of experience and education shall mean 6,000 hours of training.
(b) An applicant may earn no more than 2,000 hours of training in any 12-month period.
(c) The required training shall be within the past ten years from the date of application for licensure.
(d) The required training shall be obtained as an employee working:
(i) under the immediate supervision of a licensed elevator contractor where licensure is required; or
(ii) under an employer meeting similar qualifications as those of a licensed elevator contractor where licensure is not required.
(e) No credit shall be given for training obtained illegally.
(2) The requirements of Subsection (1) may be met by completing a program resulting in the award of a certification from:
(a) the Canadian Elevator Industry Education Program;
(b) the National Association of Elevator Contractors Certified Elevator Technician Education Program;
(c) the National Elevator Industry Education Program; or
(d) any other program that meets the requirements of Subsection 58-55-302(3)(m)(i)(C) as determined by the Commission with the concurrence of the Division Director.
(1) In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(3)(m)(i)(B), an applicant for licensure as an elevator mechanic shall:
(a) pass the Utah Elevator Examination with a score of not less than 75%; or
(b) complete one of the following certification programs:
(i) the Canadian Elevator Industry Education Program;
(ii) the National Association of Elevator Contractors Certified Elevator Technician Education Program;
(iii) the National Elevator Industry Education Program; or
(iv) any other program that meets the requirements of Subsection 58-55-302(3)(m)(i)(C) as determined by the Commission with the concurrence of the Division Director.
(2) An applicant for licensure who fails the Utah Elevator Examination may retake the failed examination as follows:
(a) no earlier than 30 days following any failure, up to three failures; and
(b) no earlier than six months following any failure thereafter.
(1) The Division may issue a temporary license when:
(a) a licensed elevator contractor notifies the Division that the contractor cannot find a licensed elevator mechanic to perform the work of erecting, constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, or maintaining an elevator, which is confirmed by the Division;
(b) the contractor requests the Division to issue a temporary elevator mechanic license to an individual;
(c) the individual submits an application for temporary licensure accompanied by the appropriate application fee; and
(d) the contractor certifies that the individual has completed 3,550 hours of training that meets the requirements of Section R156-55e-302a.
(2) The expiration date of the temporary license shall be the expected duration of the shortage of licensed elevator mechanics, but shall not exceed 180 days.
(3) A temporary license may be renewed if a shortage of elevator mechanics is ongoing on the expiration date of the license, but shall not exceed 180 days.
(1) In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal date for the two year renewal cycle applicable to licensees under Title 58, Chapter 55, is established by rule in Subsection R156-1-308a(1).
(2) Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with Section R156-1-308c.
(1) Required Hours. Pursuant to Subsection 58-55-302.7(2)(c), each licensee shall complete eight hours of continuing education during each two year license term.
(2) "Approved continuing education" is defined as:
(a) elevator codes, construction, government regulations, maintenance, and new technology; and
(b) OSHA 10 or OSHA 30 safety training, or other safety training as it pertains to the elevator trade.
(3) Non-acceptable course subject matter shall include the following types of courses and other similar courses:
(a) mechanical office and business skills, such as typing, speed reading, memory improvement and report writing;
(b) physical well-being or personal development, such as personal motivation, stress management, time management, or dress for success;
(c) presentations by a supplier or a supplier representative to promote a particular product or line of products; and
(d) meetings held in conjunction with the general business of the licensee or employer.
(4) The Division may:
(a) waive the continuing education requirements for a licensee who is an instructor of an approved apprenticeship program; and
(b) waive or defer the continuing education requirements as provided in Section R156-1-308d.
(5) A continuing education course shall meet the following standards:
(a) Time. Each hour of continuing education course credit shall consist of 50 minutes of education in the form of seminars, lectures, conferences, training sessions or distance learning modules. The remaining ten minutes is to allow for breaks.
(b) Provider. The course provide shall meet the requirements of this section and shall be one of the following:
(i) a recognized accredited college or university;
(ii) a state or federal agency;
(iii) a professional association or organization involved in the construction trades; or
(iv) a commercial continuing education provider providing a program related to the elevator trade.
(c) Content. The content of the course shall be relevant to the practice of the elevator trade and consistent with the laws and rules of this state.
(d) Objectives. The learning objectives of the course shall be reasonably and clearly stated.
(e) Teaching Methods. The course shall be presented in a competent, well organized and sequential manner consistent with the stated purpose and objective of the program.
(f) Faculty. The course shall be prepared and presented by individuals who are qualified by education, training and experience.
(g) Distance learning. A course may be recognized for continuing education that is provided via internet or through home study courses provided the course verifies registration and participation in the course by means of passing a test which demonstrates that the participant has learned the material presented. Test questions shall be random for each internet participant.
(h) Documentation. The course provider shall have a competent method of registration of individuals who actually completed the course, shall maintain records of attendance that are available for review by the Division and shall provide individuals completing the course a certificate which contains the following information:
(i) the date of the course;
(ii) the name of the course provider;
(iii) the name of the instructor;
(iv) the course title;
(v) the hours of continuing education credit;
(vi) the attendee's name;
(vii) the attendee's license number; and
(viii) the signature of the course provider.
(6) On a random basis, the Division may assign monitors at no charge to attend a course for the purposes of evaluating the course and the instructor.
(7) Each licensee shall maintain adequate documentation as proof of compliance with this section, such as certificates of completion, course handouts and materials. The licensee shall retain this proof for a period of three years from the end of the renewal period for which the continuing education is due. Each licensee shall assure that the course provider has submitted the verification of attendance to the continuing education registry on behalf of the licensee as specified in Subsection (10). Alternatively, the licensee may submit the course for approval and pay any course approval fees and attendance recording fees.
(8) Licensees who lecture in continuing education courses meeting these requirements shall receive two hours of continuing education for each hour spent lecturing. However, no lecturing or teaching credit is available for participation in a panel discussion.
(9) Licensees who obtain an initial license after March 31st of the renewal year shall not be required to meet the continuing education requirement for that renewal cycle.
(10) A course provider shall submit continuing education courses for approval to the continuing education registry and shall submit verification of attendance and completion on behalf of licensees attending and completing the program directly to the continuing education registry in the format required by the continuing education registry.
(11) The Division shall review continuing education courses which have been submitted through the continuing education registry and approve only those courses which meet the standards set forth under this section.
(12) Continuing Education Registry.
(a) The Division shall designate an entity to act as the Continuing Education Registry under this rule.
(b) The Continuing Education Registry, in consultation with the Division and the Commission, shall:
(i) through its internet site electronically receive applications from continuing education course providers and shall submit the application for course approval to the Division for review and approval of only those programs which meet the standards set forth under this section;
(ii) publish on its website listings of continuing education programs which have been approved by the Division, and which meet the standards for continuing education credit under this rule;
(iii) maintain accurate records of qualified continuing education approved;
(iv) maintain accurate records of verification of attendance and completion, by individual licensee, which the licensee may review for compliance with this rule; and
(v) make records of approved continuing education programs and attendance and completion available for audit by representatives of the Division.
(c) Fees. The Continuing Education Registry may charge a reasonable fee to continuing education providers or licensees for services provided for review and approval of continuing education programs.
"Unprofessional conduct" includes:
(1) failing to carry a copy of a current license at all times when performing work as an elevator mechanic; and
(2) failing to display a copy of a current license upon request to a representative of the Division or a representative of a governmental entity enforcing criminal, building, or safety codes.
The administrative penalties defined in Section R156-55a-503 of the Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule are hereby adopted and incorporated by reference.
elevator mechanics, licensing
April 22, 2019
September 14, 2015
58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-55-101; 58-55-308(1)(a); 58-55-302(3)(m)
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R156, please contact the promulgating agency (Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.