Utah Administrative Code

The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).

NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since August 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.

NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.


R251. Corrections, Administration.

Rule R251-105. Applicant Qualifications for Employment with Department of Corrections.

As in effect on August 1, 2019

Table of Contents

R251-105-1. Authority and Purpose.

(1) This rule is authorized by Section 63G-3-201, 64-13-10, and 64-13-25.

(2) The purpose of this rule is to provide policies and procedures for the screening, testing, interviewing, and selecting of applicants for Department of Corrections employment.

R251-105-2. Definitions.

(1) "Department" means Utah Department of Corrections.

(2) "POST" means Peace Officer Standards and Training.

R251-105-3. General Requirements.

It is the policy of the Department that applicants for employment:

(1) shall, for POST-certified positions, be a citizen of the United States;

(2) shall, for POST-certified positions, be a minimum of 21 years of age;

(3) shall, as a minimum, be the holder of a high school diploma or furnish evidence of successful completion of an examination indicating an equivalent achievement;

(4) may be required to pass pre-employment tests depending on position requirements;

(5) shall be free from any physical, emotional, or mental conditions which would prevent the applicant from performing the essential functions of the job;

(6) shall not have been convicted of a crime for which the applicant could have been imprisoned in a penitentiary of this or another state and shall not have been convicted of an offense involving unlawful sexual conduct, physical violence, or the unlawful sale of a controlled substance. This subsection may not apply to all positions;

(7) shall, if required, become a POST-certified officer and maintain certification through successful completion of at least 40 hours of POST training per fiscal year; and

(8) may undergo a background investigation which may include verification of personal history, employment history and criminal records check.

R251-105-4. Disqualification of Applicants.

(1) Applicants may be disqualified for failure:

(a) to meet education or experience qualifications;

(b) to appear for testing or interviews; or

(c) to meet minimum test score requirements.

(2) Applicants may be disqualified if found to be unsuitable for Department employment as indicated by a background investigation or psychological evaluation.

(3) Falsification of application is grounds for denying employment or for terminating employment if discovered after the applicant is hired.

(4) Disqualified applicants shall be notified in writing.

KEY

corrections, employment, prisons

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment

February 11, 2019

Notice of Continuation

September 19, 2018

Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law

63-46a-3; 64-13-10; 64-13-25


Additional Information

Contact

For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R251, please contact the promulgating agency (Corrections, Administration). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.