Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since August 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R436. Health, Center for Health Data, Vital Records and Statistics.
Rule R436-55. Hemp Extract Registration.
As in effect on August 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R436-55-1. Legal Authority.
- R436-55-2. Purpose.
- R436-55-3. Definitions.
- R436-55-4. Application for a Hemp Extract Registration Card.
- R436-55-5. Submission of an Evaluation Record.
- R436-55-6. Issuance, Expiration, and Renewal of Hemp Extraction Registration Card.
- R436-55-7. Application Denial; Revocation of Hemp Extract Registration Card.
- R436-55-8. Interim Changes.
- R436-55-9. Verification of Registry to Law Enforcement.
- R436-55-10. Review and Approval of Research Requests.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
This rule is promulgated under authority granted in Utah Code Title 26, Chapter 55.
This rule establishes the general procedures and requirements that an individual must follow to obtain and maintain a hemp extract registration card.
For purposes of this rule, the definitions in Section 26-55-102 apply, in addition:
(1) "Applicant" means any individual applying for a hemp extract registration card.
(2) "Evaluation record" means the neurologist's clinical evaluation and observation records as described in Subsection 26-55-103(7).
(3) "Higher education institute" as defined in 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1001.
(4) "Institutional Review Board" or "IRB" means a multi-disciplinary committee which reviews proposed research involving human subjects.
(5) "Qualifying patient" means an individual who has been diagnosed by a neurologist as having intractable epilepsy.
(6) "Written certification" means a non-prescription statement signed by a neurologist that indicates the qualifying patient suffers from intractable epilepsy and may benefit from the use of hemp extract. The statement may be on a form prescribed by the department or in another format.
(1) For an applicant who is a qualifying patient and is at least 18 years of age, the applicant shall submit the following to the department:
(a) an application on a form prescribed by the department that includes:
(i) the applicant's name, date of birth, and address; and
(ii) the name, address, and telephone number of the neurologist providing the written certification;
(b) a copy of the applicant's photographic identification;
(c) proof of Utah residency;
(d) a written certification; and
(e) the applicable fee.
(2) To apply for a hemp extract registration card for a qualifying patient who is under 18 years of age, the qualifying patient's parent shall submit the following to the department:
(a) an application on a form prescribed by the department that includes:
(i) the qualifying patient's name, date of birth, and address;
(ii) the parent's name and address;
(iii) the name, address, and telephone number of the neurologist providing the written certification;
(b) a copy of the parent's photographic identification;
(c) proof of the parent's Utah residency;
(d) an attestation that the parent is responsible for health care decisions for the qualifying patient;
(e) a written certification; and
(f) the applicable fee.
(1) The neurologist shall transmit the evaluation record to the department by first class mail or through secure electronic transmission within five business days after signing a written certification or upon request by the department.
(2) The evaluation record must include at least the following:
(a) the qualifying patient's name and date of birth;
(b) date of clinic office visit;
(c) the neurologist's name, Department of Professional Licensing number and expiration date;
(d) diagnosis of epilepsy; and
(e) if evaluation record is submitted for the initial registration, an indication that qualifying patient currently suffers from intractable epilepsy; or
(f) if evaluation record is submitted after registration of a hemp extract registration card:
(i) the hemp extract's effect on seizure control; and
(ii) any adverse effects or other effects that may be attributed to use of the hemp extract.
(3) In addition to the requirements listed in subsection (2), the department recommends the evaluation record include, which may be based on self-reporting to the neurologist by the qualified patient, the following:
(a) hemp extract information, such as the supplier, product description, dosage, frequency of use, and duration of use by the qualifying patient;
(b) frequency of seizures before and after use of hemp extract;
(c) evidence supporting the diagnosis of intractable epilepsy; and
(d) information about other treatments or medications, including dosage, frequency and dates of use, used to treat or control qualifying patient's epilepsy.
(4) For an evaluation record, a neurologist may either complete the evaluation record on a form prescribed by the department or may provide it in another format.
(1) If an application is approved, the department shall issue a hemp extract registration card to the applicant. The hemp extract registration card must include the following:
(a) the registrant's name, date of birth, and address;
(b) the qualifying patient's name, date of birth, and address, if the qualifying patient is under 18 years of age;
(c) an issuance date and expiration date;
(d) the neurologist's name, Department of Professional Licensing number and expiration date; and
(e) a department-issued registry identification number.
(2) A hemp extract registration card issued to a registrant is valid for one year after the issuance date unless revoked or surrendered.
(3) To maintain a valid hemp extract registration card, a registrant shall submit at least fifteen business days prior to the expiration date on the hemp extract registration card the following to the department:
(a) a renewal application on a form prescribed by the department;
(b) a new written certification; and
(c) the renewal fee.
(1) The Department shall deny an application for a hemp extract registration card that:
(a) contains false information, including a false name, address, written certification, date of birth, or photo identification; or
(b) fails to provide an evaluation record or any of the information required by Section R436-55-4.
(2) The Department shall return the denied application to the applicant, accompanied by an explanation of the reason for its return.
(3) The Department shall revoke a hemp extract registration card upon finding that a registrant or neurologist submitted false information to the department.
(1) When there has been a change in the qualifying patient's name, address, or neurologist, the registrant must notify the department within ten business days by submitting a form as prescribed by the department.
(2) A registrant shall report to the department upon discovery that the registrant's hemp extract registration card is lost, stolen, or damaged. The registrant may request a replacement card.
(3) If the department issues a new hemp extract registration card to a registrant based on a request for a replacement card or an application to update information on the hemp extract registration card, the replacement card shall have the same expiration date as the hemp extract registration card being replaced or updated.
The department may verify to a law enforcement agency whether an individual is a lawful possessor of a hemp extract registration card, without disclosing more information than is reasonably necessary to verify the authenticity of the hemp extract registration card.
(1) If the researcher requests statistical information, the department shall provide the higher education institution with the requested statistical information upon receipt of the written request and payment of the associated costs.
(2) If the research involves the use of identifiable health data, the request must be in writing and must be signed by the researcher of the higher education institution. In addition:
(a) The request must outline the research protocol to be used. Approval by an Institutional Review Board must be included with the request.
(b) If the research involves a follow-back or follow-up study, the request must describe who is to be contacted, how, by whom, and what questions will be asked. If a survey is planned, a copy of the survey must be submitted.
(c) If the research involves linking data files, the variables to be used to determine the match must be identified.
(d) The researcher and all persons who may have access to the identifying health data in the evaluation records shall sign a confidentiality agreement, which is available from the department.
(e) The researcher may not use or allow other persons to use the evaluation records for any purpose other than the approved research.
(f) The department shall review each research request and notify the requestor one of the following:
(i) The request is approved and the researcher is notified in writing of the approval and of the associated costs.
(ii) The request is given tentative approval and the researcher:
(A) is notified in writing of the approval and associated costs; and
(B) discusses and resolves concerns identified by the department.
(iii) The request is not approved and the researcher is:
(A) notified in writing the reasons for the disapproval;
(B) notified of the areas of concern with the request;
(C) allowed to address the areas of concern and resubmit the request; and
(D) notified that the decision to deny may be appealed to the Executive Director of the Department of Health.
hemp extract registration
July 8, 2014
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R436, please contact the promulgating agency (Health, Center for Health Data, Vital Records and Statistics). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.