Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since February 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R512. Human Services, Child and Family Services.
Rule R512-42. Adoption by Relatives.
As in effect on February 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R512-42-1. Purpose and Authority.
- R512-42-2. Definitions.
- R512-42-3. Adoption by Relatives.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) The purpose of this rule is to specify requirements for relatives to adopt a child in the custody of Child and Family Services.
(2) This rule is authorized by Sections 62A-4a-102, 78A-6-307, 78B-6-128, and 78B-6-133.
(1) "Child and Family Services" means the Division of Child and Family Services.
(2) "Relative" is defined in Section 78A-6-307.
(1) A relative who has a relationship with a child in state's custody who may become available for adoption may apply to adopt a particular child.
(2) The application and adoptive evaluation (commonly called a home study) will be handled in accordance with the Child and Family Services Adoption Practice Guidelines, and in accordance with R512-41 and Sections 78B-6-128 and 78B-6-133, based upon the best interest of the child.
(a) Any preferential consideration of a relative defined in Section 78A-6-306 for the initial placement of a child in state's custody expires in 120 days of the shelter hearing.
(b) When a relative who has a significant and substantial relationship with the child as set forth in Section 78B-6-133, and who was not notified by Child and Family Services within 120 days and comes forward when a child in state's custody has a permanency goal of adoption, the long-term needs of the child to have connection with family will be a priority consideration as long as the relative has the ability to meet the long-term physical, emotional, cognitive, and special needs of the child.
(3) When the 120-day time period for preferential consideration for a relative of a child in custody expires, the court shall consider an adoptive petition based on the best interest of the child and shall include:
(a) Where the child is placed.
(b) Where the child has resided for six months.
(c) Relatives who have filed a written statement with the court within 120 days of the date of the shelter hearing to:
(i) request immediate placement of the child; and
(ii) express the petitioner's intention of adopting the child.
(d) Who is a relative:
(i) with whom the child has a significant and substantial relationship; and
(ii) who was unaware, within the first 120 days after the day on which the shelter hearing is held, of the child's removal from the child's parent; or
(e) If the child:
(i) has been in the current placement for less than 180 days before the day on which the petitioner files the petition for adoption; and
(ii) is placed with, or is in the custody or guardianship of, an individual who previously informed Child and Family Services or the court that the individual is unwilling or unable to adopt the child.
April 7, 2016
October 13, 2016
62A-4a-102; 78A-6-307; 78B-6-102; 78B-6-117; 78B-6-128; 78B-6-133; 78B-6-137
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R512, please contact the promulgating agency (Human Services, Child and Family Services). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.