Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since February 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R512. Human Services, Child and Family Services.
Rule R512-306. Out-of-Home Services, Transition to Adult Living Services, Education and Training Voucher Program.
As in effect on February 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R512-306-1. Purpose and Authority.
- R512-306-2. Definitions.
- R512-306-3. Scope of Program.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) The Education and Training Voucher Program assists individuals in out-of-home care to make a more successful transition to adulthood. The Education and Training Voucher program provides the financial resources for postsecondary education and vocational training necessary to obtain employment or to support the individual's employment goals.
(2) The Education and Training Voucher Program is authorized by Public Law No. 107-133, which is incorporated by reference. 20 USC 1087kk and 20 USC 108711 (January 3, 2007) are also incorporated by reference.
(3) This rule is authorized by Section 62A-4a-102.
(1) The following terms are defined for the purposes of this rule:
(a) Institution of higher education means a school that:
(i) Awards a bachelor's degree or not less than a two-year program that provides credit towards a degree, or
(ii) Provides not less than one year of training towards gainful employment, or
(iii) Is a vocational program that provides training for gainful employment and has been in existence for at least two years, and that also meets all of the following:
(A) Public or non-profit facility; and
(B) Accredited or pre-accredited by a recognized accrediting agency that the Secretary of Education determines to be reliable and is authorized to operate in the state.
(b) Satisfactory progress means maintaining at least a C grade average or 2.0 on a 4.0 scale on a cumulative basis or equivalent passing status as determined by the educational institution.
(c) GED means General Education Development.
(d) Child and Family Services means the Division of Child and Family Services.
(e) Full-time means enrollment in the standard number of credit hours for each semester or quarter as defined by the educational institution.
(f) Out-of-home care means substitute care for children in the custody of the Department of Human Services/Division of Child and Family Services and/or Native American Tribes.
(g) Part-time means enrollment in fewer credit hours than the full-time standard as defined by the educational institution.
(1) To be eligible for the Education and Training Voucher Program, an individual must meet all of the following requirements:
(a) An individual in out-of-home care who has not yet reached 26 years of age, or
(b) An individual no longer in out-of-home care who reached 18 years of age while in out-of-home care and who has not yet reached 26 years of age, or
(c) An individual adopted or entered guardianship from out-of-home care after reaching 16 years of age and who has not yet attained 26 years of age, and
(d) Has an individual educational assessment and individual education plan completed by Child and Family Services or their designee;
(e) Submits a completed application for the Education and Training Voucher Program;
(f) Has applied for or been accepted to a qualified college, university, or vocational program;
(g) Applies for available financial aid from other sources before obtaining funding from the Education and Training Voucher Program;
(h) Enrolls as a full-time or part-time student in the college, university, or vocational program; and
(i) Maintains a 2.0 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale or equivalent as determined by the educational institution.
(2) The application and attachments will be reviewed and approved by regional Transition to Adult Living program staff or their designee. Individuals meeting all requirements will be accepted for program participation when Education and Training Voucher Program funding is available. If demand exceeds available funding, Child and Family Services may establish a waiting list, which will then be awarded to the applicants in the order received on a first-come first-serve basis for funding or Child and Family Services may approve applications for lesser amounts of funding. The individual will receive written notice of approval or denial of the application. If denied or terminated, a written reason for denial will be provided.
(3) If an application for benefits under the Education and Training Voucher Program is denied, the applicant has the right to appeal the decision through an administrative hearing in accordance with Section 63G-4-301.
(4) The individual may participate in the Education and Training Voucher Program until:
(a) The completion of the degree or vocational program; or
(b) The individual reaches age 26 years; or
(c) The individual has completed a maximum of five years in the Education and Training Voucher Program.
(5) The individual must provide ongoing documentation of full-time or part-time enrollment, satisfactory progress as detailed in the individual education plan, additional requests for funding, and any changes in total costs for attendance or other financial aid to Child and Family Services in order to continue receiving benefits under the program.
(6) A program participant who receives less than a 2.0 GPA in a single grading period will be placed on probationary status and,
(a) The individual will receive written notice of the probationary status. The individual will have one subsequent grading period to regain or show significant progress toward a 2.0 GPA to continue in the program.
(b) Upon completion of a satisfactory grading period, the participant will be notified that the probation period is over.
(c) The participant that does not receive satisfactory grades while on probation will receive written notice of loss of eligibility for the Education and Training Voucher Program.
(7) An individual under age 26 years who has previously been denied acceptance to the program or who lost eligibility for the program due to not making satisfactory progress may reapply for the program at any time.
(8) An individual may receive vouchers up to a maximum amount of $5,000 per year through the Education and Training Voucher Program. Amounts are determined by the cost of tuition at specific educational institutions and enrollment status.
(a) In accordance with 20 USC 1087kk, the total amount awarded may not exceed the total cost of attendance, as described in R512-306-4, minus:
(i) Expected contributions from the individual's family; and
(ii) Estimated financial assistance from other State or Federal grants or programs.
(b) Awards are subject to the availability of Child and Family Services Education and Training Voucher Program funds appropriated for this program.
(c) In accordance with 42 USC 677, the amount of benefits received through the Education and Training Voucher Program may be disregarded in determining an individual's eligibility for, or amount of, any other Federal or Federally supported assistance.
out-of-home care, Transition to Adult Living
December 24, 2018
October 19, 2018
62A-4a-102; 62A-4a-105; 63G-4-301; Pub. L. 115-123, Section 50753(c)
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R512, please contact the promulgating agency (Human Services, Child and Family Services). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.