Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since February 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R527. Human Services, Recovery Services.
Rule R527-40. Retained Support.
As in effect on February 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R527-40-1. Authority and Purpose.
- R527-40-2. Retained Support.
- R527-40-3. Recoupment of Public Assistance Overpayments/Retained Support.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) The Department of Human Services is authorized to create rules necessary for the provision of social services by Section 62A-1-111. The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules as necessary by Section 62A-11-107.
(2) The purpose of this rule is to define "retained support" in regards to a child support case, and to provide details as to how the amount owed is calculated once a retained support case has been opened for an obligee who has retained payments that were assigned to the state.
(1) The term Retained Support refers to a situation in which an obligee who has assigned support rights to the state has received child support but failed to forward the payment(s) to ORS.
(2) The agent will refer the case to the appropriate child support team with the evidence to support the referral.
(3) In computing the amount owed, the obligee will be given credit for the $50 pass-through payment for any months prior to March, 1997, in which support was retained by the client. For example, if the obligee received and kept a support payment of $200 in February, 1997, the referral will be made as a $150 debt. For support payments retained on or after March 1, 1997, no credit shall be given because there will be no pass-through payments for support payments made after February 28, 1997.
(1) Obligor not receiving assistance.
(a) The obligor will be asked to complete an income asset affidavit.
(b) The total liability shall be reviewed with the obligor.
(c) The obligor will be requested to pay the total obligation in full.
(d) If total payment is not possible, the type of debt, the anticipated length of time to repay the debt, total income, assets and expenses of the obligor's household, and any anticipated changes in the household circumstances will be reviewed.
(2) Obligor receiving assistance.
(a) Payment may be made by assistance recoupment. The recoupment may be voluntary or may be recouped without consent in accordance with rule or federal regulation.
child support, public assistance overpayments
March 9, 2016
September 3, 2014
62A-1-111; 62A-11-107; 62A-11-304.1; 62A-11-307.1(3); 62A-11-307.2(3)
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R527, please contact the promulgating agency (Human Services, Recovery Services). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.