Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since January 1, 2020, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
Rule R651-214. Temporary Registration.
As in effect on January 1, 2020
Table of Contents
- R651-214-1. Temporary Registration.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) A vessel dealer may apply to the Division of Motor Vehicles for temporary registrations to be used on motorboats or sailboats sold by his business.
(2) Each temporary registration will be valid for a period not to exceed 45 days from date of issue.
(3) A temporary registration will not be valid on any motorboat or sailboat held in the dealer's inventory for sale or any motorboat or sailboat not sold by the same dealer who issued the registration.
(4) A dealer shall not issue more than one temporary registration for any motorboat or sailboat.
(5) A dealer who obtains temporary registrations will be responsible for their issuance and is required to maintain records of each registration obtained and issued. Dealer records will contain a description of the vessel sold, the name and address of the purchaser, and the date issued.
(6) Temporary registration records kept by the dealer shall be made available for inspection and audit by authorized agents of the Division of Motor Vehicles during regular business hours.
(7) If the Division of Motor Vehicles has reasonable grounds to believe that a dealer has failed to comply with any of the above provisions, after notice to the dealer and a hearing, temporary registration issuance privileges may be canceled. Upon cancellation, the dealer will surrender all unissued temporary registrations to the Division of Motor Vehicles within 15 days.
(8) Temporary Operating Authority
(a) The division, or its authorized representatives, may grant a temporary permit to operate a vessel for which:
(i) application for registration has been made, or, in the case of a newly purchased vessel, will be made
(ii) evidence of ownership is provided; and
(iii) the proper fees have been paid.
(b) The temporary permit allows the vessel to be operated pending complete registration by displaying the temporary permit.
(c) If a vessel is operated on a temporary permit issued under this section, that vessel is subject to all other statutes, rules, and regulations intended to control the use and operation of vessels on the waterways.
(9) Relocation Permit
(a) Under rules made by the administrator, relocation permits may be issued by the division or its authorized representatives.
(b) Relocation permits allow use of the waterways for a time period not to exceed 96 hours.
(c) The division or its authorized representative may issue relocation permits without requiring a property tax clearance for the vessel on which the permit is to be used.
(d) Relocation permits allow for the purpose of testing for mechanical or seaworthiness of vessels.
(e) If a vessel is operated on a relocation permit under this section, that vessel is subject to all other statutes, rules, and regulations intended to control the use and operation of vessels on the waterways.
February 21, 2019
January 7, 2016
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R651, please contact the promulgating agency (Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.