Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since October 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
Rule R651-217. Fire Extinguishers.
As in effect on October 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R651-217-1. Fire Extinguishers On Motorboats.
- R651-217-2. Fire Extinguishers Required.
- R651-217-3. Fire Extinguisher Types.
- R651-217-4. Engine Compartment Fire Extinguishers.
- R651-217-5. Open Construction Exemptions.
- R651-217-6. Certifying, Recharging, or Servicing a Fire Extinguisher.
- R651-217-7. Disposable Fire Extinguishers.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
All motorboats, unless exempt, must have on board a readily accessible and approved fire extinguisher as specified in Section R651-217-2.
TABLE LENGTH OF NUMBER/SIZE MOTORBOAT Less than 26 feet in length* 1/B-I 26 feet to less than 40 feet in length 2/B-I or 1/B-II 40 feet to 65 feet in length 3/B-I or 1/B-I and 1/B-II * If an outboard motorboat of open construction and not carrying passengers for hire, a fire extinguisher is not required (see Section R651-217-5). ** If no engine compartment, fixed system not required and B-11 shall be placed near stern. If no galley, B-11 shall be placed midships.
TABLE LISTING TYPES: CARBON DRY HALON FOAM DIOXIDE CHEMICAL B-I 1.25 gal 4 lbs 2 lbs 2.5 lbs B-II 2.5 gal 15 lbs 10 lbs 10 lbs
When the engine compartment is equipped with a fixed extinguishing system, one less B-I extinguisher is required.
An outboard motorboat is not considered "of open construction" if any one of the following conditions exist: closed compartment under thwarts (motor well) and seats where portable fuel tanks may be stored; double bottoms not sealed to the hull or which are not completely filled with flotation material; closed living spaces; closed stowage compartments in which combustible or flammable materials are stored; or permanently installed fuel tanks.
Each fire extinguisher, except a disposable fire extinguisher, must show evidence of being certified, recharged, or serviced once every five years, or a current standard as described in the National Fire Protection Agency - Publication 10, by a qualified fire fighting equipment repair service.
(1) If a fire extinguisher is unable to be certified, recharged or serviced by a qualified fire fighting equipment repair service, it is considered disposable.
(2) The serviceability of a disposable fire extinguisher expires upon being discharged, loss of pressure or charge, or 12 years from the date of manufacture printed on the label or imprinted on the bottom of the fire extinguisher.
May 9, 2011
January 7, 2016
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R651, please contact the promulgating agency (Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.