Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since January 1, 2020, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
Rule R651-219. Additional Safety Equipment.
As in effect on January 1, 2020
Table of Contents
- R651-219-1. Sound Producing Device.
- R651-219-2. Bailing Device.
- R651-219-3. Spare Propulsion.
- R651-219-4. Airboat Requirements.
- R651-219-5. Equipment Good and Serviceable.
- R651-219-6. Law Enforcement Vessels.
- R651-219-7. Equipment Exemptions.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) Vessels 16 feet to less than 40 feet in length shall have on board a means of making an efficient sound, horn or whistle, capable of a four-to-six-second blast.
(2) Vessels 40 feet and greater in length shall have on board a horn or whistle and a bell. The horn or whistle shall be capable of a four-to-six-second blast and audible for one-half mile. The bell shall be designed to give a clear tone.
All vessels, not of self-bailing design, shall have on board an adequate bail bucket or be equipped with a mechanical means for pumping the bilge. For vessels 65 feet or greater in length, there shall be a bilge pump for each below deck compartment.
Vessels less than 21 feet in length shall have on board at least one spare motor, paddle or oar capable of maneuvering the vessel when necessary. On rivers when low capacity vessels less than 16 feet in length are traveling in a group, the above requirement may be met by carrying one spare oar or paddle for every three vessels in the group. Paddles designed to be strapped to or worn on the hand meet this requirement.
Airboats operated on the Great Salt Lake and adjacent refuges shall also have on board a compass and one of the following: approved flares, a strobe light, or other visual distress signal.
All required safety equipment shall be in good and serviceable condition, and readily accessible, unless required to be immediately available.
No vessel operator except authorized law enforcement and emergency vessel operators may display red or blue flashing lights or sound a siren on any waters of this state.
(1) Sailboards, float tubes, standup paddlecraft, and personal watercraft are exempt from the following rules: Section R651-219-2 bail buckets; and Section R651-219-3 spare propulsion.
(2) Vessels owned by the Lagoon Corporation and operated by its employees or customers under the controlled use and confines of the Lagoon Amusement Park waterways are exempt from the following Sections: R651-215-9(3), R651-219-2, and R651-219-3.
(3) Vessels owned by the Salt Lake Airport Hilton Inn and operated by its employees or customers under the controlled use and confines of the Salt Lake Airport Hilton Inn waterways are exempt from the following sections: R651-219-2 and R651-219-3.
(4) Racing vessels participating in a sanctioned race may be exempted from certain equipment requirements by the division upon written request to the division. The equipment exemption shall only be in effect the day before and the day of the race if conditions of the exemption are met.
(5) Non-standard, manually propelled vessels such as air mattresses and inner tubes are required to be compliant with life jacket and equipment requirements when: (a) being used on any river, (b) being used over 50 feet from shore, except in a marked swimming area.
boating, parks, life jackets
July 23, 2012
January 7, 2016
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R651, please contact the promulgating agency (Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.