Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since January 1, 2020, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
Rule R651-223. Vessel Accident Reporting.
As in effect on January 1, 2020
Table of Contents
- R651-223-1. Notification Required.
- R651-223-2. Other Notification.
- R651-223-3. Report Required.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
An operator shall immediately and by the quickest means of communication available notify the nearest state park ranger or other law enforcement officer of an accident that involves a vessel or its equipment when one of the following occurs: a person dies or disappears from a vessel under circumstances that indicate death; a person is injured and receives medical treatment beyond first aid; or property is damaged in excess of $2,000.
This notification shall include:
(a) the date, time, and location of the occurrence;
(b) the name of each person who died or disappeared;
(c) the assigned number of the vessel; and
(d) the name and address of the owner and operator.
If the operator cannot provide this notification, then another person on board shall make the notification required in rule R651-223-1.
The operator, owner, or other person on board shall submit a completed and signed Owner/Operator Boating Accident Report (PR-53A) to the division within 10 days of the accident.
August 15, 2002
December 11, 2019
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R651, please contact the promulgating agency (Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.