Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since January 1, 2020, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation.
Rule R651-602. Aircraft and Powerless Flight.
As in effect on January 1, 2020
Table of Contents
- R651-602-1. Landing or Taking Off of Manned Aircraft.
- R651-602-2. Air Delivery or Pickup.
- R651-602-3. Powerless Flight Launching and Landing.
- R651-602-4. Lakes and Reservoirs Designated as Open.
- R651-602-5. Aircraft Prohibited from Landing on Lakes or Reservoirs.
- R651-602-6. Aircraft on the Water Operation Requirements.
- R651-602-7. Parks Designated Open to Gliders.
- R651-602-8. Operation of Unmanned Aircraft.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
The landing or taking off of aircraft within the park system other than at designated lakes, reservoirs or landing areas is prohibited.
Except in emergencies, the air delivery or pickup of any person or thing without advanced permission from the park manager is prohibited.
The launching or landing of gliders, hot-air balloons, hang gliders, and other devices designed to carry persons or objects through the air in powerless flight is prohibited except by Special Use Permit (see R651-608).
The following lakes and reservoirs are designated as open to the landing of aircraft: (1) Deer Creek; (2) Jordanelle; (3) Rockport, (4) Starvation (5) Willard Bay.
Except as outlined in R651-602-2, aircraft are prohibited from landing or taking off on "designated as open" lakes or reservoirs when any one of the following conditions exists. (1) On a Friday, Saturday, Sunday, or during a holiday period between May 1 to September 30; or (2) Anytime the aircraft cannot maintain a distance of at least 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure during landing or takeoff.
A person operating an aircraft on the water: (1) shall not approach within 500 feet of a marina, launch ramp, boat dock, vessel or a beach occupied by person(s), when using the aircraft's primary propulsion system(s); (2) shall comply with Federal Aviation Regulations, Section 91.115, Right-of-way rules: Water operations.
The following parks are designated as open to launching and landing powerless paragliders and hang gliders: Flight Park State Recreation Area.
A person must obtain written permission from the park manager before operating an unmanned aircraft within the park system.
July 28, 2016
June 13, 2018
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R651, please contact the promulgating agency (Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.