Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since January 1, 2020, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R671. Pardons (Board of), Administration.
Rule R671-204. Hearing Continuances.
As in effect on January 1, 2020
Table of Contents
- R671-204-1. Permissible Hearing Continuances.
- R671-204-2. Limitations.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
Board hearings may be continued:
(1) to inquire into, investigate, assess, or respond to any issue associated with a:
(a) possible lack of competency of the offender, pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 77-15-2, 77-15-3 or Utah Admin. Rule R671-206; or
(b) mentally ill offender whose mental health has deteriorated to a point where the offender has been transferred to the state hospital, or whose mental illness renders the offender unable to attend, understand, or appropriately participate in a hearing, pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 62A-15-605, 62A-15-605.5, 77-16a-204, Utah R. Admin. P. R207-1, R207-2 or R671-207;
(2) when the offender is not available for the hearing due to medical or mental health reasons;
(3) to allow an offender who has been determined by the Board to be unable to effectively represent themselves to obtain assistance at the hearing, pursuant to Utah R. Admin. P. R671-308;
(4) to allow for the personal appearance of the offender if the offender is unable to appear at the hearing as scheduled;
(5) upon the request of a victim of record who desires to participate in the hearing, pursuant to Utah R. Admin. P. R671-203, but who cannot reasonably attend the hearing as scheduled;
(6) to await the adjudication or resolution of new or additional criminal charges;
(7) to conduct a parole violation evidentiary hearing, pursuant to Utah R. Admin. P. R671-517;
(8) at the motion or request of the offender or an attorney representing the offender, with a written waiver and stipulation for the continuance, and a minimum notice to the Board of 3 business days;
(9) when the Board determines that new, additional, critical, or material information necessary for a full, fair, accurate, and complete hearing has not been received and will not be received by the scheduled hearing; or
(10) when the Board finds that a continuance is in the interest of justice, procedural economy, or is necessary because of transportation, technical, security, or other issues beyond the control of the Board.
(1) Staff may not reschedule or continue original hearings, rescission hearings, or rehearings beyond 90 days unless a majority of the Board concurs with the continuance.
(2) No hearing may be continued beyond an offender's sentence expiration date.
continuances, hearings, parole
October 31, 2016
Art. VII, Sec. 12; 63G-3-201(3); 77-27-5; 77-27-7; 77-27-9
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R671, please contact the promulgating agency (Pardons (Board of), Administration). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.