Utah Administrative Code

The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).

NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since October 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.

NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.


R671. Pardons (Board of), Administration.

Rule R671-515. Timeliness of Parole Revocation Hearings.

As in effect on October 1, 2019

Table of Contents

R671-515-1. Timeliness of Parole Revocation Hearings.

A Parole Revocation Hearing shall be conducted within 30 days after detention in a state prison, unless the parolee expressly waives the hearing in writing, or unless the Board finds good cause to continue the hearing.

R671-515-2. Detained in Another State.

If a parolee is detained in another state on a Utah Board warrant or on a new criminal offense, a parole revocation hearing should be conducted within 30 days after the parolee's return to the State of Utah.

R671-515-3. Exceed Time Period for Good Cause.

The Board may for good cause upon a motion by the parolee, the Department of Corrections, or upon its own motion, exceed the time period established by this rule. The time periods established by this rule are discretionary, not mandatory. A motion to dismiss a warrant or revocation proceeding based on failure to meet time limits will be granted only if the failure has substantially prejudiced the parolee's defense.

KEY

parole, timeliness, good cause

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment

May 22, 2013

Notice of Continuation

February 13, 2018

Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law

77-27-9(4); 77-27-11


Additional Information

Contact

For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R671, please contact the promulgating agency (Pardons (Board of), Administration). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.