Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since October 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R708. Public Safety, Driver License.
Rule R708-20. Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course Standards.
As in effect on October 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R708-20-1. Authority and Purpose.
- R708-20-2. Definitions.
- R708-20-3. Motor Vehicle Accident Course Application For Approval.
- R708-20-4. Withdrawal or Denial of Approval.
- R708-20-5. Monitoring of Course.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
Section 31A-19a-211 provides for an appropriate reduction of automobile insurance premiums for persons 55 years of age or older who successfully complete a motor vehicle accident prevention course.
The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures and standards for agencies or organizations who may conduct motor vehicle accident prevention courses as prescribed by this section.
"Course" means a motor vehicle accident prevention course.
"Department" means the Department of Public Safety.
"Instructor" means an individual who has been approved by the course sponsor for the purpose of conducting an approved motor vehicle accident prevention course.
"Sponsor" means an organization or agency that conducts a motor vehicle accident prevention course.
Each sponsor who proposes to offer a course to the public for insurance reduction must submit a completed application to the department for approval on a form approved by the department.
A sponsor may file an application for approval at any time.
In order to be approved, a sponsor must comply with the following requirements:
1. The course must provide for a minimum of four hours classroom instruction which must be completed within a 30-day period from the date of enrollment.
2. The course curriculum shall include, but is not limited to, the following subjects:
a. How impairment of visual and audio perception affects driving performance and how to compensate for that impairment.
b. The effects of fatigue, medications, and alcohol on driving performance, when experienced alone or in combination, and precautionary measures to prevent or offset ill effects.
c. Updates on rules of the road and equipment, including but not limited to, safety belts and safe, efficient driving techniques under present day road and traffic conditions.
d. How to plan travel time and select routes for safety and efficiency.
e. How to make crucial decisions in dangerous, hazardous, and unforeseen situations.
f. The effects of physiological and physical problems that increase with age, their impact on driving, and how to compensate for these impairments, if possible.
3. Provide the department with all materials, manuals, and curriculum used in the course.
4. Provide an instructor preparation course to all instructor candidates. Only instructors who have completed this course may be employed by the sponsor.
5. Provide research documentation showing evidence of the effectiveness of the course. In the case of a course being new and having no documentation, evidence shall be submitted to the department when it becomes available.
6. Provide an address and telephone number where the course will be given and which may be disseminated to the public.
7. Designate an individual as representative of the course sponsor who is responsible for liaison with the department and include the representative's address and telephone number.
Course approval shall be valid for one year. At the end of one year a sponsor may make a renewal application on a form approved by the department. When approval is given, a certificate will be issued by the department to the sponsor upon approval of the course.
Approval to conduct a course may be denied or withdrawn if it is determined by the department that a sponsor has failed to comply with any provisions of Section 31A-19a-211 or this rule.
The sponsor will allow and cooperate with the department's monitoring of any curriculum or course instruction conducted for insurance reduction including the scheduling of on-site visits by department representatives to perform audits of course records, course curriculum, course instruction and the inspection of classroom facilities, in order to assure compliance of standards as prescribed by this rule.
motor vehicles, accident prevention
January 2, 1997
January 19, 2016
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R708, please contact the promulgating agency (Public Safety, Driver License). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.