Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since August 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R714. Public Safety, Highway Patrol.
Rule R714-159. Vehicle Safety Inspection Apprenticeship Program Guidelines.
As in effect on August 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R714-159-1. Purpose.
- R714-159-2. Authority.
- R714-159-3. Definitions.
- R714-159-4. Apprentice Requirements.
- R714-159-5. Sponsor Requirements.
- R714-159-6. Apprentice training.
- R714-159-7. Probationary Period.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
The purpose of this rule is to establish program guidelines for a school district that elects to implement a vehicle safety inspection apprenticeship program for high school students in accordance with Title 53, Chapter 8, Part 2.
This rule is authorized by Subsection 53-8-204(5)(e).
As used in this rule:
(1) "Apprentice" means a person meeting the qualifications described in Section II, of the Standards of Apprenticeship for Automotive Technician with the U.S. Department of Labor, who has entered into a written apprenticeship agreement providing for learning and acquiring the skills of a recognized occupation under the provisions of these standards.
(2) "Apprenticeship agreement" means the Standards of Apprenticeship for Automotive Technician as developed by the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor signed by both the apprentice and sponsor.
(3) "Certified apprentice" means a person authorized by the department to conduct safety inspections.
(4) "Closely supervise" means a sponsor will be physically present at all times on premises where safety inspections are conducted and responsible for apprentice's actions.
(5) "Inspector" means a person employed by a station licensed to conduct safety inspections.
(6) "License" means the authority given to a station by the department to conduct safety inspection.
(7) "Registration agency" means the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor.
(8) "Sponsor" means a licensed inspector who supervises and oversees a certified apprentice and has signed the apprenticeship agreement.
(9) "Station" means a business, including public garages, service stations, and repair shops licensed by the department to conduct safety inspections.
An applicant for certified apprentice shall:
(1) be registered as an Automotive Technician Apprentice with the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor;
(2) be a senior in high school;
(3) be at least 16 years of age;
(4) obtain training in accordance with the requirements of Section 6 of this rule;
(5) pay a $10 non-refundable processing fee;
(6) have a valid drivers license; and
(7) only work in one sponsored station during their apprenticeship.
A sponsor shall:
(1) maintain records as required by the registration agency for five years;
(2) closely supervise certified apprentices;
(3) upon request, make available for inspection by the department all apprentice records.
An apprentice shall obtain training through a department contracted Applied Technology Center, or through a high school that has elected to contract with the department for apprenticeship training and testing.
(1) A certified apprentice will operate in a probationary period until they turn 18 years old. During this probationary period, the department, the sponsor, or apprentice may terminate the apprenticeship agreement without cause.
(2) Upon turning 18 years old, a certified apprentice may apply for an inspector certification under R714-158-5.
motor vehicles, safety inspections, apprentices
June 26, 2003
June 19, 2017
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R714, please contact the promulgating agency (Public Safety, Highway Patrol). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.