Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since August 1, 2019, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R982. Workforce Services, Administration.
Rule R982-405. Energy Assistance: Program Benefits.
As in effect on August 1, 2019
Table of Contents
- R982-405-1. Program Benefits.
- R982-405-2. Standard Payment Levels.
- R982-405-3. Benefit Payments.
- R982-405-4. Split Payments.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
Each household may apply for HEAT Crisis assistance up to a maximum of $500 per utility (two separate utilities) per program year - October 1 through September 30. Any amount that adds up over $500, whether it is made through a combination of HEAT Crisis payments, or one crisis payment throughout the year must get prior approval from the State.
The energy assistance benefit payment level is based on a household's income and energy burden (energy burden is the proportion of a household's income used to pay for home heating). For example, households with the lowest income and the highest energy burden will receive the highest energy assistance benefit payment available. Households with children under age six years, the elderly (age 60 plus years), and/or disabled people may receive an additional energy assistance benefit amount.
Direct client payments will be made only when a contract with the primary heat source cannot be obtained or if the primary heat source is the landlord.
(1) If the client has more than one utility provider and the State of Utah only has a contract with one of the utility providers, up to 50% of the HEAT payment may be made to the client.
(2) Payment disbursements may be split only in the percentages listed below:
energy assistance, benefits
October 1, 2014
July 6, 2017
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R982, please contact the promulgating agency (Workforce Services, Administration). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.