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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between December 02, 2020, 12:00 a.m., and 
December 15, 2020, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the January 01, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least February 01, 2021.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through May 01, 2021, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-6 Filing No. 
53237 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT  
Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Robert Hougaard 801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-6.  Utah Nursery Act 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The rule catchline needs to be corrected to reference a 
rule rather than law.  Additional changes are needed to 
make this rule more consistent with the Utah Rulewriting 
manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The catchline has been changed to reflect the "Utah 
Nursery Rule" rather than the "Utah Nursery Act."  
Additional changes have been made to make the rule text 
more compliant with the Utah Rulewriting manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget because the changes just update and make 
corrections to the existing rule text but should not affect 
the administration of the nursery program. 
 

B) Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments because the changes just update and make 
corrections to the existing rule text but should not affect 
the administration of the nursery program. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to small 
businesses because the changes just update and make 
corrections to the existing rule text but should not affect 
the administration of the nursery program. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to non-small 
businesses because the changes just update and make 
corrections to the existing rule text but should not affect 
the administration of the nursery program. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the other 
persons because the changes just update and make 
corrections to the existing rule text but should not affect 
the administration of the nursery program. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The rule changes will not affect compliance costs because 
requirements and fees charged by the department will not 
change. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commisioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, R. Logan Wilde, has reviewed and approves the 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This rule change will not have any fiscal impact on 
businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
R. Logan Wilde, Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 4-15-104   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

R. Logan Wilde, 
Commissioner  

Date: 12/04/2020 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-6.  Utah Nursery [Act]Rule. 
R68-6-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-15-[3]104. 
 
R68-6-2.  Terms Defined. 
 [All]Each term[s] used in these rules shall have the meaning 
set forth for [such]each item[s] in the Act. 
 
R68-6-3.  Labeling. 
 A.  In order to identify nursery stock properly, whenever it is 
shipped, delivered, or transported to any purchaser, at least one label 
bearing the name, origin [(]state grown or propagated[)], size, variety, 
and grade [(]where applicable[)] shall be attached to each separate 
species or variety. 
 B.  Whenever a grade or size designation is used or implied in 
labeling or in an advertisement referring to a kind of nursery stock for 
which grades or sizes have been established in these rules, the nursery 
stock so labeled or so advertised shall conform to the specifications of 
the particular grade or size[ as stated herein]. Advertisements of [such 
]stock offered for sale in containers shall state plant grade or size, 
irrespective of the size of the container. 
 C.  Non-established container stock shall be [so ]identified by 
a water[ ]-resistant tag on which the words "non-established container 
stock" are printed. The tags shall be not less than 2 x 4 inches in size 
with lettering of 24[ ]-point Gothic type. The minimum length of time 
the stock has been planted in the container or the date the stock was 
planted in the container [must]shall also be stated on the tag.  The tag 
shall bear only the required labeling. It shall be the responsibility of the 
supplier of non-established container stock to adequately label [such 
]stock as provided herein. 
 D.  [All]Each rose[s] shall be labeled by grade for individual 
plants, bundles, or single lots. 
 
R68-6-4.  Condition of Nursery Stock. 
 A.  Any nursery stock which, in the judgment of the 
Commissioner or [his]an authorized agent[s], does not meet the 
following minimum indices of vitality shall be removed from sale. 
 1.  Woody-stemmed deciduous stock, such as fruit and shade 
trees, rose bushes, and shrubs shall have moist tissue in the stem or stems 
and branches and shall have viable buds or unwilted growth sufficient 
to permit the nursery stock to live and grow in a form characteristic of 
the species when planted and given reasonable care, except that in the 
case of rose bushes each stem must show moist, green undamaged 
cambium in at least the first [8]eight inches above the graft.  Any single 
stem on a rose bush not meeting this specification [shall]may not 
disqualify the entire plant[:] [PROVIDED]provided[,] that a bush may 
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be pruned to comply with the specification if at least two stems meeting 
the specification remain and the grade designation is changed 
accordingly. 
 2.  Hardy herbaceous biennials or perennials when in a wilted, 
rotted, or any other condition indicative of poor vitality [shall]may not 
be sold or offered for sale in Utah. 
 3.  Any bare-rooted or prepackaged woody-stemmed nursery 
stock having in excess of two inches of etiolated or otherwise abnormal 
growth from individual buds [shall]may not be sold or offered for sale. 
 4.  Balled and burlapped stock in a weakened condition as 
evidenced by dieback or dryness of earthball or foliage, or [such ]stock 
having broken or loose earthballs [shall]may not be sold or offered for 
sale. 
 5.  Stock offered for sale in containers. The container shall be 
sufficiently rigid to hold the ball shape, protecting the root mass during 
shipment. 
 a.  Container stock offered for sale shall be healthy, vigorous, 
well rooted, and established in the container in which it is sold. The tops 
of the plants shall be of good quality and in a healthy growing condition. 
Sufficient new fibrous roots shall have developed so that the root mass 
will retain its shape and hold together when removed from the container. 
This shall be evidenced in each case by the earthball of such stock 
remaining reasonably intact upon removing it from the container. 
 b.  Non-established container stock offered for sale shall be 
deciduous stick which shows good top quality and a vigorous healthy 
growing condition. The potting media shall be capable of sustaining 
satisfactory plant growth.  Evergreen stock [shall]may not be offered for 
sale in containers unless it is well established in the container. 
 
R68-6-5.  Standards for Nursery Stock. 
 Nursery stock offered for sale in Utah shall meet the grade 
and size standards as published by the American Association of 
Nurseryman (AAN), in the [PUBLICATION ENTITLED]publication 
entitled:  American Standards for Nursery Stock, ANSI Z60.1-1996 
approved November 6, 1996 which is herein incorporated by reference[ 
within this rule].  Buyers and sellers of nursery stock shall refer to and 
use common terminology that is contained in and defined by this 
incorporated document, in order to facilitate transactions involving 
nursery stock in this state. 
 
R68-6-6.  Organizational Provisional Permit. 
 A.  Special projects held by nonprofit educational, charitable, 
or service organizations may be exempt from payment of fees for 
nursery license provided the applicant provides an application[ for 
such]. 
 B.  [All ][f]Funds received from sales of such plants shall be 
used for the benefit of the organization or for improvement or 
beautification projects within the local community. 
 C.  Plant materials distributed at these special projects shall 
meet the standards as described in Section R68-6-4 and R68-6-5. 
 D.  No special project will be in direct competition with any 
licensed nursery. 
 E.  A [P]permit will be issued for [on ]annual activity only.  
No fee is required, but the application must be completed and approved 
by the department before the project begins. 
 
KEY:  nurseries (agricultural) 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [September 
15, 2004]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  July 29, 2015 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-15-[3]104 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-30 Filing No. 
53241 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Cody James  801-
982-
2376 

codyjames@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-30.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The changes are needed to adjust the license term for 
independent cannabis testing laboratories. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is changed to adjust the term of a holder of an 
independent cannabis testing laboratory license so that 
licenses expire 12 months from issuance. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget 
because the fees charged by the Department of 
Agriculture and Food (Department) and administrative 
costs have not changed. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments because they do not act as laboratories or 
regulate laboratories. 
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C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small businesses 
because the fees charged by the Department and 
administrative costs have not changed. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses because the fees charged by the Department 
and administrative costs have not changed. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to other persons 
because the fees charged by the Department and 
administrative costs have not changed. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

Compliance costs for affected persons will not change 
because the fees charged by the Department will not 
change. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, R. Logan Wilde, has reviewed and approves the 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
R. Logan Wilde, Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
4-41a-103(5) 

Subsection 
4-41a-405(2)(b) 
(iv) 

Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i) 

Subsection 
4-41a-302(3)(b)(ii) 

Subsection 
4-41a-701(3) 

Subsection 
4-41a-801(1) 

Subsection 
4-41a-403(3) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
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date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

R. Logan Wilde, 
Commissioner  

Date: 12/09/2020 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-30.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory. 
R68-30-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 1)  Pursuant to sections 4-41a-103(5), 4-41a-302(3)(b)(ii), 4-
41a-404(3), 4-41a-405(2)(b)(iv), 4-41a-701(3), 4-41a-801(1), and 4-2-
103(1)(i), this rule establishes the application process, qualifications, 
and requirements to obtain and maintain an independent cannabis 
testing laboratory license. 
 
R68-30-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "Applicant" means any person or business entity who 
applies for a cannabis processing facility license. 
 2)  "Batch" means a quantity of: 
 a)  cannabis extract produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which lots of cannabis 
are used; 
 b)  cannabis product produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which cannabis extract 
is used; or 
 c)  cannabis flower packaged on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which lots of cannabis 
are being used. 
 3)  "Cannabis" means any part of a marijuana plant. 
 4)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person that: 
 a)  possesses cannabis; 
 b)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; and 
 c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility or to a cannabis processing facility. 
 5)  "Cannabis processing facility" means a person that: 
 a)  acquires or intends to acquire cannabis from a cannabis 
production establishment or a holder of an industrial hemp processor 
license under title 4 chapter 41, Hemp and Cannabidiol Act; 
 b)  possesses cannabis with the intent to manufacture a 
cannabis product; 
 c)  manufactures or intends to manufacture a cannabis product 
from unprocessed cannabis or a cannabis extract; and 
 d)  sells or intends to sell a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy or the state central fill medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 6)  "Cannabis production establishment agent registration 
card" means a registration card that the department issues that: 
 a)  authorizes an individual to act as a cannabis production 
establishment agent; and 
 b)  designates the type of cannabis production establishment 
for which an individual is authorized to act as an agent. 
 7)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food. 
 8)  "Independent cannabis testing laboratory" means a person 
who: 

 a)  conducts a chemical or other analysis of cannabis or a 
cannabis product; or 
 b)  acquires, possesses, and transports cannabis or a cannabis 
product with the intent to conduct a chemical or other analysis of the 
cannabis or cannabis product. 
 9)  "Independent cannabis testing laboratory agent" means an 
individual who: 
 a)  is an employee of an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory; and 
 b)  holds a valid cannabis production establishment agent 
registration card. 
 10)  "Lot" means the quantity of: 
 a)  flower produced on a particular date and time, following 
clean up until the next clean up during which the same materials are 
used; or 
 b)  trim, leaves or other plant matter from cannabis plants 
produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until the next 
clean up. 
 
R68-30-3.  Independent Testing Laboratory License. 
 1)  An independent testing laboratory license allows the 
licensee to receive cannabis from a licensed cannabis cultivation facility 
to conduct testing as required by section 4-41a-701(2) and Utah Admin. 
Code R68-29. 
 2)  An independent testing laboratory license allows the 
licensee to receive cannabis from a licensed cannabis processing facility 
to conduct testing as required by section 4-41a-701(2) and Utah Admin. 
Code R68-29. 
 3)  An independent testing laboratory license allows the 
licensee to receive cannabis from a licensed cannabis cultivation facility 
and a cannabis processing facility to conduct the additional test as 
requested. 
 4)  A complete application shall include the required fee, 
statements, forms, diagrams, operation plans, and other applicable 
documents required in the application packet to be accepted and 
processed by the department. 
 5)  Prior to approving an application, the department may 
contact any applicant and request additional supporting documentation 
or information. 
 6)  Prior to issuing a license, the department shall inspect the 
proposed premises to determine if the applicant complies with state laws 
and rules. 
 7)  The department may conduct face-to-face interviews with 
an applicant if needed to determine the best-qualified applicant for the 
number of licenses needed. 
 8)  The license shall expire twelve months from the date on 
which the license is issued[on December 31st of each year]. 
 9)  An application for renewals shall be submitted to the 
department no later than 30 days prior to the license expiration date[by 
December 1st of each year]. 
 10)  If the renewal application is not submitted 30 days prior 
to the expiration date[by December 31st] the licensee may not continue 
to operate. 
 11)  A license may not be sold or transferred. 
 
R68-30-4.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory 
Requirements. 
 1)  An independent testing laboratory shall employ a scientific 
director responsible for: 
 a)  ensuring that the laboratory achievement and maintenance 
of quality standards of practice; and 
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 b)  supervising laboratory staff. 
 2)  The scientific director for an independent laboratory shall 
have: 
 a)  a doctorate in chemical or biological sciences from an 
accredited college or university and have at least 2 years of post-degree 
laboratory experience; 
 b)  a master's degree in chemical or biological sciences from 
an accredited college or university and have at least 4 years of post-
degree laboratory experience; or 
 c)  a bachelor's degree in chemical or biological sciences from 
an accredited college or university and have a least 6 years of post-
degree laboratory experience. 
 3)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall follow 
validated analytical methods, such as those published by AOAC, 
American Herbal Pharmacopoeia, EPA, FDA, or other reputable 
scientific organizations or notify the department of alternative 
scientifically valid testing methodology the lab is following for each 
required test. 
 4)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory may not use 
an alternative testing method without prior review from the department. 
 5)  The department shall review any monograph or analytical 
method followed by an independent cannabis testing laboratory to 
ensure the methodology produces scientifically accurate results prior to 
the use of alternative testing methods to conduct the required tests. 
 6)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall establish 
written standard operating procedures for each test being conducted. 
 7)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall obtain 
and keep the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 
17025:2017 accreditation. 
 8)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory may be 
licensed prior to ISO 17025:2017 accreditation provided the 
independent cannabis testing laboratory: 
 a)  adopt and follow minimum good laboratory practices 
which satisfy the OECD Principles of Good Laboratory Practice and 
Compliance Monitoring published by the Organization for Economic 
Co-operation and development; and 
 b)  becomes ISO 17025:2017 accredited within 18 months. 
 9)  The department incorporates the following materials by 
reference: 
 a)  Cannabis Inflorescence: Standards of Identity, Analysis, 
and Quality Control (2014 Revisions) published by the American 
Herbal Pharmacopoeia; and 
 b)  OECD Principles of Good Laboratory Practice and 
Compliance Monitoring (1997) published by the Organization for 
Economic Co-operation and Development. 
 10)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall have 
written emergency procedures to be followed in case of: 
 a)  fire; 
 b)  chemical spill; or 
 c)  other emergencies at the laboratory. 
 11)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
compartmentalize all areas in the facility based on function and shall 
limit access to the compartments to the appropriate authorized agents. 
 
R68-30-5.  Security Requirements. 
 1)  At a minimum, a licensed independent cannabis testing 
laboratory shall have a security alarm system on all perimeter entry 
points and perimeter windows. 
 2)  At a minimum, a licensed independent cannabis testing 
laboratory shall have complete video surveillance system: 
 a)  with minimum camera resolution of 640 x 470 pixels or 
pixel equivalent for analog, and 

 b)  that retains footage for at least 45 days; 
 3)  All cameras shall: 
 a)  be fixed and placement shall allow for the clear and certain 
identification of any person and activities in controlled areas; and 
 b)  record continuously. 
 4)  Controlled areas included: 
 a)  all entrances and exits; 
 b)  all areas where cannabis or cannabis products are stored, 
 c)  all areas where cannabis or cannabis products are being 
tested, and 
 d)  all areas where cannabis waste is being moved, processed, 
stored or destroyed. 
 5)  If an independent cannabis testing facility stores footage 
locally, the surveillance system storage device shall be secured in the 
facility in a lockbox, cabinet, closet, or secured in another manner to 
protect from employee tampering or criminal theft. 
 6)  If an independent cannabis testing laboratory stores 
footage on a remote server, access shall be restricted to protect from 
employee tampering. 
 7)  Any entry point must be lighted in low-light conditions 
sufficient to record activity occurring. 
 8)  All visitors to an independent cannabis testing laboratory 
shall be required to have a properly displayed identification badge issued 
by the facility at all times while on the premises of the facility. 
 9)  All visitors shall be escorted by an independent cannabis 
facility agent at all times while in the facility. 
 10)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall keep 
and maintain a visitor's log showing: 
 a)  the full name of each visitor entering the facility; 
 b)  the badge number issued; 
 c)  the time of arrival; 
 d)  the time of departure, and 
 e)  the purpose of the visit. 
 11)  The independent cannabis testing laboratory shall keep 
the visitors log for a minimum of a year. 
 12)  The independent cannabis testing laboratory shall make 
the visitor log available to the department upon request. 
 
R68-30-6.  Inventory Control. 
 1)  Each test sample shall have a unique identification number 
in the inventory control system. 
 2)  Each test sample shall be traceable to the lot or batch used 
as the base material from the cannabis production establishment. 
 3)  Unique identification numbers may not be reused. 
 4)  Each test sample that has been issued a unique 
identification number shall have a physical tag placed on it with: 
 a)  the unique identification number; 
 b)  the license number and name of the lab receiving the test 
sample; 
 c)  the license number and name of the cannabis production 
establishment name; 
 d)  the date the test sample was collected; and 
 e)  the weight of the sample. 
 5)  The tag shall be legible and placed in a position that can 
be clearly read and shall be kept free from dirt and debris. 
 6)  The following shall be reconciled in the inventory control 
system at the close of business each day: 
 a)  the date and time the test sample was received; 
 b)  all samples used for testing and the test results; 
 c)  the identity of the agent conducting the test; 
 c)  a complete inventory of cannabis test samples; 
 d)  the weight and disposal of cannabis waste materials; 
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 e)  the identity of who disposed of the cannabis waste; and 
 f)  the theft or loss or suspected theft or loss of test sample. 
 7)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
document in the inventory tracking system any test samples received, 
and any difference between the quantity specified in the transport and 
quantities received. 
 
R68-30-7.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory Agents. 
 1)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall apply to 
the department for a cannabis establishment agent on a form provided 
by the department. 
 2)  An application is not considered complete until the 
background check has been completed and the independent cannabis 
testing laboratory has paid the registration fee. 
 3)  The cannabis establishment agent registration card shall 
contain: 
 a)  the agent's full name; 
 b)  the name of the cannabis processing establishment; and 
 c)  a photograph of the agent. 
 4)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory is responsible 
to ensure that all agents have received: 
 a)  the department approved training as specified in Utah 
Code 4-41a-301; and 
 b)  any task-specific training as outlined in the operating plan 
submitted to the department. 
 5)  An independent cannabis testing agent shall have a 
properly displayed identification badge which has been issued by the 
department at all times while on the facility premises or while engaged 
in the transportation of cannabis. 
 6)  All cannabis production establishment agents shall have 
their state-issued identification card in their possession to certify the 
information on their badge is correct. 
 7)  An agent's identification badge shall be returned to the 
department immediately upon termination of their employment with the 
independent cannabis testing laboratory. 
 
R68-30-8.  Transportation. 
 1)  A printed transport manifest shall accompany every 
transport of cannabis. 
 2)  The manifest shall contain the following information: 
 a)  the cannabis production establishment address and license 
number of the departure location; 
 b)  physical address and license number of the receiving 
location; 
 c)  strain name, quantities by weight, and unique identification 
numbers of each cannabis material to be transported; 
 d)  date and time of departure; 
 e)  estimated date and time of arrival; and 
 f)  name and signature of each agent accompanying the 
cannabis. 
 3)  The transport manifest may not be voided or changed after 
departing from the original cannabis production establishment. 
 4)  A copy of the transport manifest shall be given to the 
independent laboratory. 
 5)  The receiving independent laboratory shall ensure that the 
cannabis material received is as described in the transport manifest and 
shall record the amounts received for each strain into the inventory 
control system. 
 6)  The receiving independent laboratory shall document at 
the time of receipt any differences between the quantity specified in the 
transport manifest and the quantities received in the inventory control 
system. 

 7)  During transport an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory agent shall ensure the cannabis is: 
 a)  shielded from the public view; 
 b)  secured; and 
 c)  temperature controlled if perishable. 
 8)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall contact 
the department within 24 hours if a vehicle transporting cannabis is 
involved in an accident that involves product loss. 
 9)  Only the registered agents of the independent cannabis 
testing laboratory may occupy a transporting vehicle. 
 
R68-30-9.  Cannabis Waste Disposal. 
 1)  Solid and liquid wastes generated during cannabis testing 
shall be stored, managed, and disposed of in accordance with applicable 
state laws and regulations. 
 2)  Waste water generated during cannabis testing shall be 
disposed of in compliance with applicable state laws and regulations. 
 3)  Cannabis waste generated from the cannabis plant, trim, 
and leaves are not considered hazardous waste unless it has been treated 
or contaminated with a solvent, or pesticide. 
 4)  All cannabis waste shall be rendered unusable prior to 
leaving the independent cannabis testing laboratory. 
 5)  Cannabis waste, which is not designated as hazardous, 
shall be rendered unusable by grinding and incorporating the cannabis 
waste with other ground materials so the resulting mixture is at least fifty 
percent non-cannabis waste by volume or other methods approved by 
the department before implementation. 
 6)  Materials used to grind and incorporate with cannabis fall 
into two categories: 
 a)  compostable; or 
 b)  non-compostable. 
 7)  Compostable waste is cannabis waste to be disposed of as 
compost or in another organic waste method mixed with: 
 a)  food waste; 
 b)  yard waste; or 
 c)  vegetable-based grease or oils. 
 8)  Non-compostable waste is cannabis waste to be disposed 
of in a landfill or another disposal method, such as incineration, mixed 
with: 
 a)  paper waste; 
 b)  cardboard waste; 
 c)  plastic waste; or 
 d)  soil. 
 9)  Cannabis waste includes: 
 a)  cannabis plant waste including roots, stalks, leaves, and 
stems; 
 b)  excess cannabis or cannabis products from any quality 
assurance testing; 
 c)  cannabis or cannabis products that fail to meet testing 
requirements; and 
 d)  cannabis or cannabis products subject to a recall. 
 
R68-28-10.  Change in Operation Plans. 
 1)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall submit a 
notice, on a form provided by the department, prior to making any 
changes to: 
 a)  ownership or financial backing of the facility; 
 b)  the facility's name; 
 c)  a change in location; 
 d)  change in testing methods, equipment, remodeling, 
expansion, reduction or physical, non-cosmetic alteration of the lab; or 
 e)  change in written operating procedures. 
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 2)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory may not 
implement changes to the approved operation plan without department 
approval. 
 3)  The department shall respond to the request for changes 
within 15 business days. 
 4)  The department shall approve of requested changes unless 
approval would lead to a violation of the applicable laws and rules of 
the state. 
 5)  The department shall specify the reason for the denial of 
approval for a change to the operation plan. 
 
R68-30-11.  Renewals. 
 1)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall submit a 
notice of intent to renew and the licensing fee to the department by their 
license expiration date[by December 31st of each year]. 
 2)  If the licensing fee and intent to renew are not submitted 
on or before the expiration date[on or before December 31st], the 
licensee may not continue to operate. 
 3)  The department shall renew a license unless renewal 
would lead to a violation of the applicable laws and rules of the state. 
 
R68-30-12.  Proficiency Testing. 
 1)  The department shall establish a proficiency testing 
program for independent cannabis testing laboratories. 
 2)  Each independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
participate in the designated proficiency testing program with 
satisfactory performance as determined by the Department. 
 
R68-30-13.  Violation Categories. 
 1)  Public Safety Violations: $3,000- $5,000 per violation.  
This category is for violations which present a direct threat to public 
health or safety including, but not limited to: 
 a)  cannabis sold to an unlicensed source; 
 b)  cannabis purchased from an unlicensed source; 
 c)  refusal to allow inspection; 
 d)  refusal to participate in proficiency testing; 
 e)  failure to comply with testing requirements; 
 f)  failure to report testing results; 
 g)  unauthorized personnel on the premises; 
 h)  permitting criminal conduct on the premises; 
 i)  engaging in or permitting a violation of the Utah Code 4-
41a which amounts to a public safety violation as described in this 
subsection. 
 2)  Regulatory Violations: $1,000-$5,000 per violation.  This 
category is for violations involving this rule and other applicable state 
rules including, but not limited to: 
 a)  failure to maintain alarm and security systems; 
 b)  failure to keep and maintain records; 
 c)  failure to maintain traceability; 
 d)  failure to follow transportation requirements; 
 e)  failure to follow the waste and disposal requirements; or 
 f)  engaging in or permitting a violation of Utah Code 4-41a 
or this rule which amounts to a regulatory violation as described in this 
subsection. 
 3)  Licensing Violations: $500- $5,000 per violation. This 
category is for violations involving licensing requirements including, 
but not limited to: 
 a)  an unauthorized change to the operating plan; 
 b)  failure to notify the department of changes to the operating 
plan; 
 c)  failure to notify the department of changes to financial or 
voting interests of greater than 2%; 

 d)  failure to follow the operating plan as approved by the 
department; 
 e)  engaging in or permitting a violation of this rule or Utah 
Code 4-41a which amounts to a licensing violation as described in this 
subsection; or 
 f)  failure to respond to violations. 
 4)  The department shall calculate penalties based on the level 
of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at the time 
of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 
 
KEY:  cannabis laboratory, cannabis testing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [August 29, 
2019]2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41a-701(3); 
4-41a-404(3); 4-41a-405(2)(b)(iv); 4-41a-103(5) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-116 Filing No. 
53246 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-116.  Audit Procedure 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to specify how the committee 
would review a request for an extension by a local 
education agency (LEA) and updating specific language 
regarding the Chief Audit Executive. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
These rule amendments include updates to language and 
citations throughout this rule. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule change clarifies procedures and 
roles and will not significantly change the Utah State Board 
of Education (Board) processes. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule change clarifies procedures and 
roles and will not significantly change Board processes. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule change clarifies procedures and 
roles and will not significantly change Board processes. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on revenues or expenditures for persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  This rule change clarifies procedures 
and roles and will not significantly change Board 
processes. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no material compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This rule change clarifies procedures and roles 
and will not significantly change Board processes. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 

are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The State Superintendent of Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  This rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses.  This 
rule change has no fiscal impact on local education 
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agencies and will not have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses either. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Sydnee Dickson, State Superintendent 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-501(1)(e) 

Subsection 
63I-5-201(4) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 12/14/2020 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-116.  Audit Procedure. 
R277-116-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision of public education in the Board; 

 (b)  Subsection 63I-5-201(4) which requires the Board to 
direct the establishment of an internal audit department for programs 
administered by the entities it governs; 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Boards duties and responsibilities under the 
Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (d)  Subsection 53E-3-501(1)(e), which directs the Board 
to develop rules and minimum standards regarding school 
productivity and cost effectiveness measures, school budget formats, 
and financial, statistical, and student accounting requirements for the 
local school districts; 
 (e)  Section 53E-3-602, which allows the Board to approve 
auditing standards for school boards; 
 (f)  Section 53E-3-603, which makes the Board responsible 
for verifying audits of local school districts; 
 (g)  Subsection 53F-2-204(2), which directs the Board to 
assess the progress and effectiveness of all programs funded under 
the State System of Public Education; and 
 (h)  Subsection 53E-3-401(9), which gives the Board 
authority to audit the use of state funds by an education entity that 
receives state funds as a distribution from the Board. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  outline the role of the Chief Audit [Director]Executive, 
Superintendent, and agency in the audit process; and 
 (b)  outline the Board's procedures for audits of agencies. 
 
R277-116-2.  Definitions. 
[ (1)  "Agency" means: 
 (a)  an entity governed by the Board; 
 (b)  an LEA; or 
 (c)  a sub-recipient.] 
 ([2]1)  "Audit committee" means [a standing committee of 
members appointed by the Board in accordance with Board 
bylaws]the same as that term is defined in Subsection 63I-5-102(5). 
[ (3)  "Audit Director" means the person who: 
 (a)  directs the audit program of the Board in accordance 
with Title 63I, Chapter 5, the Utah Internal Audit Act and Board 
policies; 
 (b)  is appointed by and reports to the audit committee; and 
 (c)  is independent of the agencies subject to Board audit.] 
 ([4]2)  "Audit plan" means a prioritized list of audits with 
associated resource requirements to be performed by the audit 
program that is reviewed, approved, and adopted at least annually by 
the Board. 
 ([5]3)  "Audit program" means a department that provides 
internal audit services for the Board that is directed by the Chief 
Audit [Director]Executive. 
 (4)  "Chief Audit Executive" means the person who: 
 (a)  directs the audit program of the Board in accordance 
with Title 63I, Chapter 5, the Utah Internal Audit Act and Board 
policies; 
 (b)  is appointed by and reports to the audit committee; and 
 (c)  is independent of the agencies subject to Board audit. 
 ([6]5)  "Draft audit report" means a draft audit report 
compiled by the Chief Audit [Director]Executive that is classified as 
protected under [Title 63G, Chapter 2, Part 3, Section 305, Protected 
records]Subsection 63G-2-305(10). 
 ([7]6)  "Education entity" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section 53E-3-401. 
 ([8]7)  "Final audit report" means a draft audit report that is 
approved by the audit committee and the Board as a final audit report 
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that is classified as public under [Title 63G, Chapter 2, Part 3, Section 
301, Public records]Subsection 63G-2-301(3)(q). 
 ([9]8)  "Local administrator" means the district 
superintendent or charter school director. 
 ([10]9)  "Sub-recipient" means any entity that receives 
funds from an entity governed by the Board. 
 
R277-116-3.  Chief Audit [Director]Executive Authority and 
Responsibilities. 
 (1)  The Chief Audit [Director]Executive shall: 
 (a)  manage the audit program and facilitate the audit 
process: 
 (i)  as approved and directed by the Board and audit 
committee; 
 (ii)  in accordance with the current International Standards 
for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing; and 
 (iii)  in accordance with the USBE Internal Audit 
Department Policy and Procedure Manual. 
 (b)  act as the liaison for external audits of the Board; 
 (c)  maintain the classification of any public record 
consistent with GRAMA; 
 (d)  be subject to the same penalties under GRAMA as the 
custodian of a public record; 
 (e)  publish final reports on the Internal Audit department 
web[page]site if appropriate; and 
 (f)  make a copy of the USBE Internal Audit Department 
Policy and Procedure Manual to the general public upon request. 
 (2)  The Chief Audit [Director]Executive may contract with 
an LEA or other education entity to provide internal audit services to 
the LEA or other education entity if the contract is approved by the 
audit committee in accordance with Board contract policies. 
 
R277-116-4.  Superintendent Authority and Responsibilities. 
 The Superintendent shall: 
 (1)  provide resources necessary to conduct the audit 
program including adequate funds, staff, tools, and space to support 
the audit program; 
 (2)  facilitate communications with those charged with 
governance, management, and staff as requested by the Chief Audit 
[Director]Executive or the audit committee to ensure the access 
necessary to perform an audit; 
 (3)  ensure access to all personnel, records, data, and other 
agency information that the Chief Audit [Director]Executive or staff 
consider necessary to carry out their assigned duties; 
 (4)  notify the Chief Audit [Director]Executive of external 
audits of entities governed by the Board; 
 (5)  notify the agency that the Chief Audit 
[Director]Executive shall be the liaison for an external audit; 
 (6)  support the audit program as otherwise requested by 
the audit committee or Chief Audit [Director]Executive; and 
 (7)  facilitate appropriate action by the Board on issues 
identified in audits by: 
 (a)  sending the final management response letter and form 
to the governing board and local administrator of an audited agency 
in response to the final audit report; 
 (b)  following up on final management response forms sent 
to the governing board and local administrator of an audited agency 
in accordance with timelines outlined in the management response 
letter, as monitored by the Chief Audit [Director]Executive, to ensure 
either: 
 (i)  the audited agency took appropriate action; 
 (ii)  the audited agency's lack of action is acceptable; or 

 (iii)  implementation of a corrective action plan in 
accordance with Rule R277-114; and 
 (c)  sending the closure letter to the governing board and 
local administrator of an audited agency when the Board accepts the 
audited agency's management response. 
 
R277-116-5.  Agency Authority and Responsibilities. 
 The agency shall wholly cooperate and provide the Chief 
Audit [Director]Executive and the internal audit staff all: 
 (1)  necessary access to those charged with governance, 
management, and staff; and 
 (2)  personnel, records, data, and other agency information 
that the Chief Audit [Director]Executive or staff consider necessary 
to carry out [their ]assigned duties in a timely manner. 
 
R277-116-6.  Audit Process. 
 (1)  The Chief Audit [Director]Executive shall develop and 
recommend an audit plan to the Board and the audit committee based 
on the results of periodic risk assessments and audits. 
 (2)  Once approved and adopted by the Board, the Chief 
Audit [Director]Executive shall implement the audit plan. 
 (3)  At the initiation of an audit, the Chief Audit 
[Director]Executive shall, as necessary: 
 (a)  send an engagement letter to the governing board and 
local administrator of the agency subject to the audit; and 
 (b)  hold an entrance conference with the agency's 
governing board. 
 (4)  After conducting an audit, the Chief Audit 
[Director]Executive shall: 
 (a)  submit a preliminary draft audit report directly to: 
 (i)  the audit committee; and 
 (ii)  the Superintendent;[ and] 
[ (iii)  the governing board of the audited agency;] 
 (b)  after complying with Subsection (4)(a), submit a 
preliminary draft audit report to the audited agency's governing board 
leadership, audit committee, and school administrators, as 
appropriate, and hold an exit conference, if necessary,[ with the 
governing board and local administrator of the audited agency and 
administration] to discuss the preliminary draft audit report; and 
 (c)  edit the preliminary draft audit report, as appropriate, 
based on feedback received. 
 (5)  The Chief Audit [Director]Executive shall submit a 
revised draft audit report directly to: 
 (a)  the audit committee; 
 (b)  the Board; 
 (c)  the governing board and local administrator of the 
audited agency; and 
 (d)  the Superintendent. 
 (6)  Within fourteen days of the [Audit Director's]Chief 
Audit Executive's submission of the revised draft audit report to the 
audited agency governing board, and after the exit conference, if 
applicable, the [auditing]audited agency's governing board shall: 
 (a)  provide a written response or comment on the draft 
audit report to the Chief Audit [Director]Executive and audit 
committee; or 
 (b)  file a written request for an extension [to the audit 
committee]with the Chief Audit Executive setting forth: 
 (i)  the justification for the extension request; and 
 (ii)  the extension time necessary to provide the response; 
 (7)  If the a request for an extension is filed in accordance 
with Subsection (6)(b), the Chief Audit Executive shall respond after 
consulting with the Audit Committee Chair. 
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 [(7)](8)  Upon receiving written response and comment 
from the audited agency governing board, the Chief Audit 
[Director]Executive shall: 
 (a)  incorporate [into the draft audit report ]the written 
response, if any, received from the audited agency governing board 
into the draft audit report; 
 (b)  prepare Auditor concluding remarks, if appropriate; 
and 
 (c)  submit the [amended]revised draft audit report to the 
audit committee for recommendation to the Board. 
 [(8)](9)  The audit committee may: 
 (a)  recommend an amended draft audit report for approval 
and adoption; or 
 (b)  send the amended draft audit report back to the Chief 
Audit [Director]Executive with instructions for additional review. 
 [(9)](10)  Upon recommendation from the audit committee 
on the amended draft audit report, the Board may: 
 (a)  approve and adopt an amended draft audit report as the 
final audit report; or 
 (b)  send the amended draft audit report back to the audit 
committee with instructions for additional review. 
 
R277-116-7.  Audit Reports. 
 (1)  An audit report prepared by the Chief Audit 
[Director]Executive and staff shall be based upon audits of agency 
programs, activities, and functions. 
 (2)  An audit report prepared by the Chief Audit 
[Director]Executive shall include identification of any information 
required by Subsection 63I-5-401(1)(l) related to the scope and 
objectives of the audit.[: 
 (a)  abuse; 
 (b)  illegal acts; 
 (c)  errors; 
 (d)  omissions; or 
 (e)  conflicts of interest.] 
 (3)  The Chief Audit [Director]Executive shall provide, 
upon written request, a copy of [an]a final audit report to the Office 
of Legislative Auditor General or the Office of the State Auditor. 
 (4)  The Chief Audit [Director]Executive shall ensure that 
public release of a final audit report complies with the conditions 
specified by the state laws and rules governing the audited agency. 
 
KEY:  educational administration 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[April 9, 
2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 15, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-[1]3-401; 53E-3-501(1)(e); 53E-3-602; 53E-3-603; 53F-2-
204[; 63I-5-101 through 401] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-550 Filing No. 
53247 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-550.  Charter Schools - Definitions 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Utah State Board of Education (Board) Rule R277-550 is 
being amended to update the definition of satellite school 
to make clear that a satellite school must have the same 
authorizer as the original school. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule contains an updated definition for the term 
"satellite school." 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  This change updates this Board rule to align 
with existing regulatory intent, that a satellite charter 
school must have the same authorizer as the original 
charter school. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.  This change updates this Board rule to align 
with existing regulatory intent, that a satellite charter 
school must have the same authorizer as the original 
charter school. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  This change updates this Board rule to align 
with existing regulatory intent, that a satellite charter 
school must have the same authorizer as the original 
charter school. 
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D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on revenues or expenditures for persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  This change updates this Board rule 
to align with existing regulatory intent, that a satellite 
charter school must have the same authorizer as the 
original charter school. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no material compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This change updates this Board rule to align with 
existing regulatory intent, that a satellite charter school 
must have the same authorizer as the original charter 
school. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  This rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses.  This 
rule change has no fiscal impact on local education 
agencies and will not have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses either. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Sydnee Dickson, State Superintendent 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Title 53G, 
Chapter 5 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
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association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 12/14/2020 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-550.  Charter Schools - Definitions. 
R277-550-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under the 
Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Title 53G, Chapter 5, Charter Schools, which allows the 
Board to make rules governing aspects of operations of charter schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish definitions for 
rules governing charter schools. 
 (3)  The definitions contained in this rule apply to Rules 
R277-550 through R277-555. 
 
R277-550-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Amendment" means a change or addition to a charter 
agreement. 
 (2)  "Authorizer" means an entity approved to authorize the 
establishment of a charter school under Sections 53G-5-304 through 
53G-5-306. 
 (3)  "Charter school" means a public school created in 
accordance with the provisions of Title 53G, Chapter 5, Charter 
Schools. 
 (4)(a)  "Charter school agreement" or "Charter agreement" 
means a written agreement between a charter school and its authorizer 
containing the terms and conditions for the operation of a charter 
school. 
 (b)  The charter school agreement maintained by a charter 
school's authorizer is the final, official, and complete agreement. 
 (5)  "Charter school deficiency" means: 
 (a)  failure of a charter school to comply with its charter 
agreement, including governance, financial, academic, or operational 
obligations; 

 (b)  failure of a charter school to comply with the 
requirements of state or federal law or board rule; 
 (c)  failure of a charter school to meet terms established by 
the school's authorizer as part of a remediation process; or 
 (d)  fraud or misuse of funds by charter school governing 
board members or employees. 
 (6)  "Charter school governing board" means the local board 
that governs a charter school. 
 (7)  "Expansion" means: 
 (a)  an increase in the number of grade levels offered by a 
charter school identified by a single school number; or 
 (b)  an increase in the number of students for which a charter 
school identified by a single school number is authorized to receive 
funding. 
 (8)  "Mentor" means an individual or organization with 
expertise or demonstrated competence, approved by the State Charter 
School Board to advise charter schools in the Mentoring Program. 
 (9)  "Mentoring program" means the State Charter School 
Board mentoring program. 
 (10)  "New school" means any school receiving a new school 
number, including a new charter school, or a new satellite school. 
 (11)  "Net lease adjusted debt burden ratio" means a school's 
cumulative annual debt service payments, inclusive of loans and 
facility lease payments, divided by the school's unrestricted annual 
operating revenue. 
 (12)  "Non-operating charter school" means a charter school 
that has not received minimum school program funds or federal funds 
and is not providing educational services during a fiscal year, such as a 
charter school in a start-up period. 
 (13)  "Operating charter school" means a charter school that 
has received minimum school program funds or federal funds and is 
providing educational services during a fiscal year. 
 (14)  "Probation" means a written formal action and 
notification through which a school is required to demonstrate the 
school's compliance with the authorizer's probationary requirements. 
 (15)  "Restricted revenue" means the same as the term is 
defined in Section 63J-1-102. 
 (16)  "Satellite school" means a charter school affiliated with 
an existing charter school physically located within the state of Utah 
that: 
 (a)  has the same governing board as the existing charter 
school; 
 (b)  has the same authorizer as the existing charter school; 
 ([b]c)  may have a similar or different program of instruction 
or grades served from the existing charter school; 
 ([c]d)  is located at a different site or in a different 
geographical area than the existing charter school; and 
 ([d]e)  has a separate school number than the existing charter 
school. 
 (17)  "School number" means a number assigned by the 
Superintendent in accordance with National Center for Education 
Statistics criteria that identifies a distinct school within an LEA. 
 (18)  "State Charter School Board" means the board 
established in Section 53G-5-201. 
 (19)  "Unrestricted revenue" means revenue that is: 
 (a)  not restricted revenue; or 
 (b)  restricted revenue that may be used for purposes of 
paying for annual debt service payments, including loans and facility 
lease payments. 
 (20)  "Utah Consolidated Application" or "UCA" means the 
web-based grants management tool employed by the Superintendent 
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through which LEAs submit plans and budgets for approval by the 
Superintendent or Board. 
 (21)  "Utah eTranscript and Record Exchange" or "UTREx" 
has the same meaning as described in Subsection R277-484-2(11). 
 
KEY:  education, charter schools 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[August 
12, 2020] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401; 53G-5-205 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-552 Filing No. 
53248 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-552.  Charter School Timelines and Approval 
Processes 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule was amended to clarify misperceptions regarding 
satellite schools and their authorizers. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Changes to this rule clarify that an authorizer must have 
an approved process for considering a request to transfer 
authorizers, as well as to clarify that a satellite school must 
have the same authorizer as the other schools in the 
satellite schools local education agencies (LEA). 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  This change updates the Utah State Board 
of Education (Board) rule to align with existing regulatory 
intent, that a satellite charter school must have the same 
authorizer as the original charter school. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.  This change updates the Board rule to align 
with existing regulatory intent, that a satellite charter 
school must have the same authorizer as the original 
charter school. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  This change updates the Board rule to align 
with existing regulatory intent, that a satellite charter 
school must have the same authorizer as the original 
charter school. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on revenues or expenditures for persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  This change updates the Board rule 
to align with existing regulatory intent, that a satellite 
charter school must have the same authorizer as the 
original charter school. 
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F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no material compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This change updates the Board rule to align with 
existing regulatory intent, that a satellite charter school 
must have the same authorizer as the original charter 
school. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The State Superintendent of Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 

they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  This rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses.  This 
rule change has no fiscal impact on LEAs and will not have 
a fiscal impact on small businesses either. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Sydnee Dickson, State Superintendent 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53F-2-702 Section 
53G-5-306 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 
53G-5-304 

Section 
53G-5-305 

Subsection 
53G-6-504(5) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 12/14/2020 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-552.  Charter School Timelines and Approval Processes. 
R277-552-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities; 
 (c)  Subsection 53G-6-504(5), which requires the Board to 
make rules regarding a charter school expansion or satellite campus; 
 (d)  Sections 53G-5-304 through 53G-5-306, which require 
the Board to make a rule providing a timeline for the opening of a charter 
school; 
 (e)  Section 53F-2-702, which directs the Board to distribute 
funds for charter school students directly to the charter school; 
 (f)  the Charter School Expansion Act of 1998, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 
8063, which directs the Board to submit specific information prior to a 
charter school's receipt of federal funds; and 
 (g)  Subsection 53G-5-205(5), which requires the Board to 
make rules establishing minimum standards that an authorizer is 
required to apply in authorizing and monitoring charter schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  establish procedures for timelines and approval processes 
for new charter schools; and 
 (b)  provide criteria and standards for consideration of high 
performing charter schools to expand and request new schools that are 
satellite schools. 
 
R277-552-2.  Definitions. 
 "Market analysis" means a qualitative and quantitative 
analysis of the educational market near a proposed charter school, 
including: 
 (1)  the school's target demographics; 
 (2)  population and development trends in the area; 
 (3)  nearby competing public schools; 
 (4)  the proposed school's own forecasts, along with 
supporting data; and 
 (5)  any risks, barriers, or regulations that may impact a 
proposed school's success. 
 
R277-552-3.  Charter School Authorization Process. 
 (1)  An individual or non-profit organization as described in 
Subsection 53G-5-302(2)(b) may apply to open a charter school from 
any statutorily approved authorizer. 
 (2)  An authorizer shall submit a process to the Board for 
approval of: 
 (a)  a new charter school; 
 (b)  a request from a school to change authorizers; 
 ([b]c)  a charter school expansion; or 
 ([c]d)  a satellite school. 
 (3)  A new authorizer shall submit a new charter school 
application process to the Board for approval at least six months prior to 
accepting applications for a new charter school. 
 (4)  An existing authorizer may not authorize a new charter 
school for the 2021-22 school year and beyond until the Board approves 
the authorizer's application process. 

 (5)(a)  The Board shall approve or deny an authorizer's 
proposed application process, including expansion and satellite approval 
processes, within 90 days of receipt of the proposed process from an 
authorizer. 
 (b)  If the Board denies an application process, the 
Superintendent shall provide a written explanation of the reasons for the 
denial to the applicant within 45 days. 
 (c)  If an authorizer's application process is denied, the 
authorizer may submit a revised application process for approval at any 
time. 
 (6)  An authorizer shall have an application and charter 
agreement, which shall include all elements required by Title 53G, 
Chapter 5, Part 3, Charter School Authorization. 
 (7)  An authorizer shall maintain the official signed charter 
agreement, which shall presumptively be the final, and complete 
agreement between a school and the school's authorizer. 
 (8)  An authorizer's review process for a new charter school 
shall include: 
 (a)  a plan for mandatory pre-operational and other trainings; 
 (b)  an evaluation of the school's governing board, including: 
 (i)  a review of the resumes of and background information of 
proposed governing board members; and 
 (ii)  a capacity interview of the proposed governing board; 
 (c)  an evaluation of the school's financial viability, including: 
 (i)  a market analysis; 
 (ii)  anticipated enrollment; and 
 (iii)  anticipated and break even budgets; 
 (d)  an evaluation of the school's academic program and 
academic standards by which the authorizer will hold the school 
accountable; and 
 (e)  an evaluation of the school's proposed pre-operational 
plan, including implementation of: 
 (i)  applicable legal requirements for public schools; 
 (ii)  required policies; 
 (iii)  student data systems, including student data privacy 
requirements; 
 (iv)  reporting; and 
 (v)  financial management. 
 (9)  An authorizer's review process shall include contacting 
the school district in which a proposed charter school will be located and 
consideration of any feedback provided by the district. 
 (10)  An authorizer shall design its approval process so that 
the authorizer notifies the Superintendent of an authorizer approval of a 
request identified in Subsection (2) no later than October 1, one fiscal 
year prior to the state fiscal year the charter school intends to serve 
students. 
 
R277-552-4.  Timelines - Charter School Starting Date and 
Facilities. 
 (1)  A charter school may receive state start-up funds if the 
charter school is approved as a new charter school by October 1, one 
fiscal year prior to the state fiscal year the charter school intends to serve 
students. 
 (2)  Prior to receiving state start-up funds an authorizer, other 
than the State Charter School Board, shall certify in writing to the State 
Charter School Board that a charter school has: 
 (a)  completed all required financial documents; 
 (b)  completed background checks for each governing board 
member; and 
 (c)  executed a signed charter agreement, which includes 
academic goals. 
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 (3)  Prior to an LEA receiving state start-up funds, the State 
Charter School Board shall require the LEA to submit documentation 
supporting the information required in Subsections (2)(a) and (c) to the 
Superintendent. 
 (4)  A charter school may receive state funds, including 
minimum school program funds, if the charter school authorizer certifies 
in writing to the Superintendent by June 30 prior to the school's first 
operational year that: 
 (a)  the charter school meets the requirements of Subsection 
(2); 
 (b)  the charter school's governing board has adopted all 
policies required by statute or Board rule, including a draft special 
education policies and procedures manual; 
 (c)  the charter school's governing board has adopted an 
annual calendar in an open meeting and has submitted the calendar to 
the Superintendent; 
 (d)  the authorizer has received the charter school's facility 
contract as required by Subsection 53G-5-404(9); 
 (e)  the charter school has met the requirements of 
Subsections (5) and (6) and that the school's building is scheduled for 
completion, including all required inspections, prior to occupancy; 
 (f)(i)  the charter school has hired an executive director and a 
business administrator; or 
 (ii)(A)  the charter school governing board has designated an 
executive director or business administrator employed by a third party; 
and 
 (B)  the charter school governing board has established 
policies regarding the charter school's supervision of the charter school's 
third-party contractors; 
 (g)  the charter school's enrollment is on track to be sufficient 
to meet the school's financial obligations and implement the charter 
school agreement; 
 (h)  the charter school has an approved student data system 
that has successfully communicated with UTREx, including meeting the 
compatibility requirements of Subsection R277-484-5(3); 
 (i)  the charter school has a functional accounting system; and 
 (j)  the charter school has a budgeted net lease adjusted debt 
burden ratio of under 30% based on the school's executed facility 
agreement; and 
 (k)  the charter school has complied with all legal 
requirements for new charter schools in a school's pre-operational year. 
 (5)  An authorizer shall: 
 (a)  create a process to verify the requirements in Subsection 
(4); 
 (b)  maintain documentation of Subsection (5)(a); and 
 (c)  provide the documentation described in Subsection (5)(b) 
to the Superintendent upon request; and 
 (d)  submit a copy of the process required in Subsection 
(5)(a) to the Board for approval along with the authorizer's process 
for approving new charters under Subsection R277-552-3(2). 
 (6)  A charter school shall begin construction on a new or 
existing facility requiring major renovation, such as requiring a project 
number consistent with Rule R277-471, no later than January 1 of the 
year the charter school is scheduled to open. 
 (7)  A charter school that intends to occupy a facility requiring 
only minimal renovation, such as renovation not requiring a project 
number according to Rule R277-471, shall enter into a written 
agreement no later than May 1 of the calendar year the charter school is 
scheduled to open. 
 (8)  If a charter school fails to meet the requirements of this 
section within 36 months of approval, the approval of the charter school 
shall expire. 

R277-552-5.  Charter Amendment Requests. 
 (1)  An authorizer shall have a policy establishing a process 
for consideration of proposed amendments to a school's charter 
agreement. 
 (2)  An authorizer's timeline for consideration of an 
amendment to a charter agreement may not conflict with any funding 
deadline established in Board rule. 
 
R277-552-6.  Charter School Expansion Requests. 
 (1)  An authorization process developed by an authorizer in 
accordance with Subsection R277-552-[3]2(2) shall comply with this 
Section R277-552-[6]5 for a charter school expansion. 
 (2)  An authorizer may only consider an application from a 
charter school for an expansion if: 
 (a)  the charter school is in compliance with the requirements 
of federal and state law, regulations, and Board rule, including: 
 (i)  Title 53E, Chapter 9, Student Privacy and Data Protection; 
 (ii)  Title 53G, Chapter 7, Part 5, Student Fees; 
 (iii)  Title 53G, Chapter 9, Part 7, Suicide Prevention; 
 (iv)  Title 53G, Chapter 8, Discipline and Safety; 
 (v)  Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act; 
 (vi)  Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code; and 
 (vii)  the IDEA and Rule R277-750, with no unresolved audit 
exceptions; 
 (viii)  Rule R277-113, Local Education Agency (LEA) Fiscal 
and Auditing Policies; 
 (ix)  Section 53G-9-207, Child sexual abuse prevention; and 
 (x)  Subsection 63G-7-301(3) and Rule R277-322; 
 (b)  the request is consistent with the charter school's charter 
agreement; 
 (c)  the expanding school or LEA is performing: 
 (i)  consistent with or above the charter school's stated 
academic goals; and 
 (ii)  at or above the average student performance of other 
nearby schools on statewide assessments, unless serving a specialized 
population consistent with the school's charter agreement; 
 (d)  if the proposed expansion will require additional physical 
facilities, the charter school has maintained a net lease adjusted debt 
burden ratio of under 25% for each of the last three years; 
 (e)  the charter school's financial statements report revenues 
in excess of expenditures for at least three of the last four fiscal years; 
and 
 (f)  the charter school provides any additional information or 
documentation requested by the charter school authorizer. 
 (3)  An authorizer shall provide documentation of an applicant 
school's eligibility to apply under Subsection (2) to the Superintendent 
upon request. 
 (4)  An authorizer may only approve an application from a 
charter school for an expansion if: 
 (a)  the charter school is meeting the terms of its charter 
agreement; 
 (b)  the charter school is academically and operationally 
successful, taking into consideration at least two years of academic 
performance data of students at the charter school; 
 (c)  the charter school: 
 (i)  provides educational services consistent with state law and 
Board rule; 
 (ii)  administers and has capacity to carry out statewide 
assessments including proctoring statewide assessments, consistent with 
Section 53E-4-303 and Rule R277-404; and 
 (iii)  provides evidence-based instruction for special 
populations as required by federal law; 
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 (d)  the charter school has adequate qualified administrators 
and staff to meet the needs of the proposed student population at the 
school; 
 (e)  the school is in compliance with all applicable school 
legal obligations; 
 (f)  the charter school has maintained for each of the last 
three years: 
 (i)  a re-enrollment rate of at least 80%; 
 (ii)  a wait list of at least 40% of its annual enrollment; or 
 (iii)  other evidence of market demand satisfactory to the 
authorizer; 
 (g)  the charter school is financially viable, as evidenced by 
the charter school's financial records, including the charter school's: 
 (i)  most recent annual financial report (AFR); 
 (ii)  annual program report (APR); and 
 (iii)  audited financial statements; 
 [(h)](g)  the charter school's proposal provides an adequate 
facility for the school; and 
 [(i)](h)  the charter school has appropriately dealt with student 
safety issues, if any. 
 (5)  An authorizer shall: 
 (a)  approve a proposed expansion before October 1 of the 
state fiscal year prior to the school year that the intends to expand; and 
 (b)  provide the total number of students by grade that the 
charter school expansion is authorized to enroll to the Superintendent on 
or before October 1 of the state fiscal year prior to the school year that 
the school intends to expand. 
 
R277-552-7.  Requests for a New Satellite School for an Approved 
Charter School. 
 (1)  An authorization process developed by an authorizer in 
accordance with Subsection R277-552-3(2) shall comply with this 
Section R277-552-7 for a satellite school. 
 (2)  An authorizer may only consider an application from a 
charter school for a satellite school if: 
 (a)  the charter school is in compliance with the requirements 
of federal and state law, regulations, and Board rule, including: 
 (i)  Title 53E, Chapter 9, Student Privacy and Data Protection; 
 (ii)  Title 53G, Chapter 7, Part 5, Student Fees; 
 (iii)  Title 53G, Chapter 9, Part 7, Suicide Prevention; 
 (iv)  Title 53G, Chapter 8, Discipline and Safety; 
 (v)  Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act; 
 (vi)  Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code; and 
 (vii)  the IDEA and Rule R277-750, with no unresolved audit 
exceptions; 
 (viii)  Rule R277-113, Local Education Agency (LEA) Fiscal 
and Auditing Policies; 
 (ix)  Section 53G-9-207, Child sexual abuse prevention; and 
 (x)  Subsection 63G-7-301(3) and Rule R277-322; 
 (b)  the request is consistent with the charter school's charter 
agreement; 
 (c)  all schools operating under the governance of the existing 
charter school are performing: 
 (i)  consistent with or above the charter school's stated 
academic goals; or 
 (ii)  if no student performance goals have been established, 
above the standardized student assessment measures of other 
comparable nearby schools; 
 (d)  the charter school has maintained a net lease adjusted debt 
burden ratio of under 25% for each of the last three years; 
 (e)  the charter school's financial statements report revenues 
in excess of expenditures for at least three of the last four years; 

 (f)  the charter school provides a market analysis, including 
documentation of the school's potential for enrollment stability, covering 
all public schools within a ten mile radius, including analysis of whether 
nearby schools are at enrollment capacity; and 
 (g)  the charter school provides any additional information or 
documentation requested by the charter school authorizer. 
 (3)  An authorizer may not consider an application for a 
satellite school from a charter school governed by a different authorizer. 
 ([3]4)  An authorizer shall provide documentation of an 
applicant school's eligibility to apply under Subsection (2) to the 
Superintendent upon request. 
 ([4]5)  An authorizer may only approve an application from a 
charter school for a satellite school if: 
 (a)  the charter school is meeting the terms of its charter 
agreement; 
 (b)  the charter school has maintained for each of the last 
three years: 
 (i)  a re-enrollment rate of at least 80%; 
 (ii)  a wait list of at least 40% of its annual enrollment; or 
 (iii)  there is a demonstrated demand for the proposed satellite, 
taking into consideration the market analysis required under Subsection 
(2)(f); 
 (c)  the charter school is academically and operationally 
successful, taking into consideration at least two years of academic 
performance data of students at the charter school, including whether 
the charter school is performing at or above: 
 (i)  the academic goals established in the charter school's 
agreement; and 
 (ii)  the average academic performance of other district and 
charter schools in the area or schools targeting similar populations or 
demographics; 
 (d)  the charter school has plans for the new school to: 
 (i)  provide educational services consistent with state law and 
Board rule; 
 (ii)  administer and have capacity to carry out statewide 
assessments including proctoring statewide assessments, consistent with 
Section 53E-4-303 and Rule R277-404; and 
 (iii)  provide evidence-based instruction for special 
populations as required by federal law; 
 (e)  the charter school has adequate qualified administrators 
and staff to meet the needs of the proposed student population at the new 
school; 
 (f)  the school is in compliance with all public school legal 
obligations; 
 (g)  the charter school is in good standing with its authorizer; 
and 
 (h)  the charter school is financially viable, as evidenced by 
the charter school's financial records, including the charter school's: 
 (i)  most recent annual financial report (AFR); 
 (ii)  annual program report (APR); and 
 (iii)  audited financial statements. 
 ([5]6)  An authorizer shall: 
 (a)  approve a proposed satellite school before October 1 of 
the state fiscal year prior to the school year that the proposed school 
intends to first serve students; 
 (b)  provide the total number of students by grade that the 
satellite school is authorized to enroll to the Superintendent on or before 
October 1 of the state fiscal year prior to the school year that the 
proposed school intends to first serve students; and 
 (c)  ensure that a proposed school that will receive School 
LAND Trust funds has a charter trust land council and satisfies all 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 21 

requirements of Rule R277-477, including transparency of information 
for parents. 
 ([6]7)  A charter school and all of the charter school's satellite 
schools are a single LEA for purposes of public school funding and 
reporting. 
 ([7]8)  If a satellite charter school does not open within 36 
months of approval, the approval shall expire. 
 ([8]9)  If an authorizer denies an application for a satellite 
school, the school may immediately apply for a new charter in 
accordance with an authorizer's approved processes. 
 
R277-552-8.  Procedures and Timelines to Change Charter School 
Authorizers. 
 (1)  A charter school may transfer to another charter school 
authorizer. 
 (2)  A charter school shall submit an application to the new 
charter school authorizer at least 90 days prior to the proposed transfer. 
 (3)  The charter school authorizer transfer application shall 
include: 
 (a)  the name and contact information of all current governing 
board members; 
 (b)  financial records that demonstrate the charter school's 
financial position, including the following: 
 (i)  most recent annual financial report (AFR); 
 (ii)  annual [project]program report (APR); and 
 (iii)  audited financial statements; 
 (c)  test scores, including all state required assessments; 
 (d)  current employees and assignments; 
 (e)  board minutes for the most recent 12 months; and 
 (f)  affidavits, signed by all board members certifying: 
 (i)  the charter school's compliance with all state and federal 
laws and regulations, including documentation if requested; 
 (ii)  all information on the transfer application is complete and 
accurate; 
 (iii)  the charter school is current with all required charter 
school governing board policies; 
 (iv)  the charter school is operating consistent with the charter 
school's charter agreement; and 
 (v)  there are no outstanding lawsuits, judgments, or liens 
against the charter school. 
 (4)  The current authorizer of a charter school seeking to 
transfer charter school authorizers shall submit a position statement to 
the new charter school authorizer about: 
 (a)  the charter school's status; 
 (b)  compliance with the charter school authorizer 
requirements; and 
 (c)  unresolved concerns. 
 (5)  If a school applies to change authorizer's, the existing 
authorizer shall advise the proposed authorizer if there is any 
outstanding debt to the existing authorizer or the state. 
 (6)  If a school applies to change authorizers, the request shall 
extend to all satellite schools. 
 ([6]7)  A new charter school authorizer shall review an 
application for transferring to another charter school authorizer within 
60 days of submission of a complete application, including all required 
documentation. 
 ([7]8)  Prior to accepting a charter school's transfer from 
another authorizer, the new authorizer shall request and consider 
information from the Board and current authorizer concerning the 
charter school's financial and academic performance. 

 ([8]9)  The Superintendent and current authorizer shall 
provide the information described in Subsection (7) to a new charter 
authorizer within 30 days of request described in Subsection (7). 
 ([9]10)  If an authorizer accepts the transfer of a charter 
school, the new authorizer shall notify the Superintendent within 30 
days. 
 
KEY:  training, timelines, expansion, satellite 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[October 
23, 2020] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401; 53G-5-205; 53F-2-702; 53G-6-503 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-625.  Mental Health Screening Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended in response to public comment 
received by the Disability Law Center regarding more 
specificity around the data sharing of a mental health 
screener's results for a student and how long that data can 
be kept by a local education agency (LEA) to prevent the 
data from following a student for an unreasonable amount 
of time.  Also, feedback from the Division of Substance and 
Mental Health in regard to what is considered a "mental 
health screener" has resulted in subsequent definitions 
being added for "mental health," "mental health screener," 
and "mental health services." 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments include a definition of "mental health 
screener" and "mental health services," it also clarifies a 
requirement that an LEA list all professional positions that 
will have access to a student's mental health screener data 
on the parental consent form. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  The changes are primarily technical and 
clarifying in nature. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.  The changes are primarily technical and 
clarifying in nature. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  The changes are primarily technical and 
clarifying in nature. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on revenues or expenditures for persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  The changes are primarily technical 
and clarifying in nature. 
 

F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no significant compliance costs for affected 
persons.  The changes are primarily technical and 
clarifying in nature. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
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are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  This rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses.  This 
rule change has no fiscal impact on LEAs and will not have 
a fiscal impact on small businesses either. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Sydnee Dickson, State Superintendent 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53F-2-522 Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 12/14/2020 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-625.  Mental Health Screeners[ing Program]. 
R277-625-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 

 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Section 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make 
rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Section 53F-2-522 which directs the board to make 
rules regarding the selection of a mental health screener[ing 
programs] and financial aid for qualifying parents. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  provide the approval process for a mental health 
screener[ing programs] chosen by an LEA; and 
 (b)  establish the approval and distribution of funds for a 
qualifying parent to receive financial assistance for related mental 
health services. 
 
R277-625-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health" or 
"DSAMH" means the same as the term is defined in Subsection 62A-
15-103. 
 (2)  "Mental health" means a person's emotional, 
psychological, and social well-being which can affect how a person 
thinks, feels, and acts including how a person handles stress, relates 
to others, and makes healthy choices. 
 ([2]3)  "Mental health screen[ing]er" or "screener" means 
the use of a systematic tool or process [program" or "screening 
program" means the same as the term is defined in Subsection 53F-
2-522(1)(e).]: 
 (a)  to identify if a student is experiencing, or is at risk of 
experiencing, issues related to the student's mental health; 
 (b)  for an early identification strategy to detect the onset 
of mental health conditions, enabling the mental health conditions to 
be potentially addressed; and 
 (c)  that is not: 
 (i)  a diagnostic tool or process; or 
 (ii)  a system or process used by a student's teacher to 
observe behavior for the purpose of targeted learning interventions. 
 (4)  "Mental health services" means the same as the term is 
defined in Subsection R523-1-3(3). 
 ([3]5)  "Qualifies for financial assistance" means a 
qualifying parent that has a student receiving educational services 
through an LEA who: 
 (a)  receives free or reduced lunch; or 
 (b)  as recommended by the local mental health authority, 
demonstrates need including being: 
 (i)  uninsured; 
 (ii)  underinsured; 
 (iii)  ineligible for Medicaid to cover part or all of any 
recommended mental health treatments; or 
 (iv)  demonstrates a high need for interventions based upon 
results of the LEA's mental health screener[ing program]. 
 ([4]6)  "Qualifying parent" means the same as the term is 
defined in Subsection 53F-2-522(1)(d). 
 ([5]7)  "Relevant services" means mental health services 
provided to a student that are directly related to mental health needs 
identified by a student's mental health screening. 
 
R277-625-3.  Approval of Mental Health Screener[ing 
Program]s. 
 (1)(a)  The Superintendent, in consultation with DSAMH, 
shall publish annually a list of pre-approved mental health 
screener[ing program]s to the Board's website. 
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 (b)  the published pre-approved list shall include: 
 (i)  the name or brand of the mental health screener[ing 
program] including a link to the screener[ing program]'s website; 
 (ii)  the recommended ages for the mental health 
screener[ing program]; 
 (ii)  any limitations of the mental health screener[ing 
program] including the typical level of false positives; 
 (iii)  the mental health conditions the mental health 
screener[ing program] can detect; and 
 (iv)  the scientific data or research used to verify a 
screener[ing program] is evidence-based. 
 (2)  The Board shall approve: 
 (a)  the pre-approved mental health screener[ing program] 
list; and 
 (b)  the mental health conditions for which a screener[ing 
program] can be used. 
 (3)  All pre-approved mental health screeners[ing 
programs] shall comply with the requirements as described in Title 
53E, Chapter 9, Student Privacy and Data Protection, and the Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C. 1232g. 
 (4)  Except as provided for in Subsection (4)(c) and (d), an 
LEA shall notify the Superintendent by May 1: 
 (a)  if the LEA plans to: 
 (i)  use a mental health screener[ing program] from the pre-
approved list; or 
 (ii)  apply to the Superintendent for approval of a mental 
health screener[ing program] that is not on the pre-approved list; 
 (b)  whether an LEA elects to participate in providing a 
qualifying parent with financial assistance; 
 (c)  In accordance with Subsections (4)(a) and (b) and for 
the 2020-2021 school year, an LEA shall notify the Superintendent 
by August 15; and 
 (d)  An LEA is not required to comply with Subsection (4) 
if the LEA chooses not to offer a mental health screener[ing 
program]. 
 (5)  If the LEA chooses to apply for use of a mental health 
screener[ing program] that is not on the pre-approved list, the LEA 
shall submit an application in a form prescribed by the 
Superintendent specifying: 
 (a)  the mental health screener[ing program] proposed for 
use by the LEA; 
 (b)  the reason for choosing the mental health screener over 
a screener from the pre-approved list[ing program]; 
 (c)  the approved mental health conditions the mental health 
screener[ing program] measures; 
 (d)  how the mental health screener[ing program] complies 
with all state and federal data privacy laws; and 
 (e)  the scientific data or research demonstrating the mental 
health screener[ing program] is evidence based and meets industry 
standards; 
 (f)  why the mental health screener[ing program] is age 
appropriate for each grade the screener[ing program] is administered; 
and 
 (g)  why the mental health screener[ing program] is an 
effective tool for identifying whether a student has a mental health 
condition that requires intervention. 
 (6)  The Superintendent shall review the application in 
consultation with DSAMH and approve or deny the application 
within 30 days of receipt. 
 (7)  If the application is approved, the Superintendent shall 
submit the approved application to the Board for final approval. 

 (8)  Subject to legislative appropriation, the Superintendent 
shall provide annually a maximum reimbursement amount an LEA 
may receive for use of a mental health screener[ing program]. 
 (9)  An LEA may request in writing a reimbursement from 
the Superintendent in an amount not to exceed the amount described 
in Subsection (8). 
 (10)(a)  An LEA shall require relevant staff, who will be 
administering a mental health screener[ing program], to attend an 
annual mental health screener[ing program] training provided by the 
Superintendent in collaboration with DSAMH; 
 (b)  the training described in Subsection (10)(a) shall 
provide an LEA with information needed for appropriate parental 
consent including: 
 (i)  consent shall be obtained: 
 (A)  within [8]eight weeks prior to administration of the 
mental health screener[ing program]; and 
 (B)  in accordance with Subsection 53E-9-203(4); 
 (ii)  the consent form shall be provided separately from 
other consent forms given to a parent pursuant to other state or federal 
laws; 
 (iii)  additional variables that might influence a 
screener[ing program]'s results; and 
 (iv)  a statement that: 
 (A)  the mental health screener is optional; 
 (B)  a screener[ing program] is not a diagnostic tool; 
 (C)  a parent has the right to seek outside resources or 
opinions; and 
 (D)  specifies which board approved mental health 
conditions the mental health screener[ing program] measures. 
 (11)  An LEA may not administer a mental health 
screener[ing program] if the LEA has not attended the annual mental 
health screener[ing program] training described in Subsection (10). 
 (12)  An LEA shall report annually to the Superintendent 
aggregate data regarding the types of LEA provided mental health 
interventions, referrals, or other actions taken based on screener[ing 
program] results. 
 
R277-625-4.  Data Privacy. 
 (1)(a)  An LEA shall ensure all data collected or stored by 
a mental health screener[ing program] complies with all state and 
federal data privacy laws and requirements, including those 
described in Subsection R277-625-3(3). 
 (b)  notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a), an LEA shall 
provide a parent with a list of all parties that may receive any data 
related to a student's mental health screener prior to the parent 
providing consent. 
 (2)  An LEA shall provide a parent with a list of all data 
potentially collected by the mental health screener[ing program] prior 
to consenting to a student's mental health screening. 
 (3)  An LEA shall provide the parent of a screened student 
with: 
 (a)  results as described in Subsection 53F-2-522(4)(d); 
 (b)  applicable available resources; and 
 (c)  who has access to the screener[ing program] data 
 (4)  If an LEA has received parental consent, an LEA may 
share data collected from the mental health screener[ing program] 
with a school's multi-disciplinary team. 
 (5)  An LEA shall retain and dispose of all data related to a 
student's mental health screener in accordance with an approved 
retention schedule not to exceed three years. 
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R277-625-5.  Financial Assistance for a Qualifying Parent. 
 (1)  An LEA that has elected to participate as described in 
Subsection R277-625-3(4)(b), may receive reimbursement for 
relevant services obtained by a qualifying parent [that qualifies 
for]who receives financial assistance. 
 (2)  An LEA may not receive reimbursement for a 
qualifying parent if: 
 (a)  the qualifying parent's student has begun to receive 
relevant services outside of the school setting prior to seeking 
reimbursement; 
 (b)  the LEA can provide the relevant services, including 
relevant services provided by a third party through a contract with the 
LEA; 
 (c)  except for as provided in Subsection (d), the qualifying 
parent has received reimbursement for the same relevant services 
within one year from the date the relevant services began for the 
student; or 
 (d)  an LEA may provide reimbursement to a qualifying 
parent for the same relevant services within one year from the date 
relevant services began for the student if: 
 (i)  the LEA has no other qualifying parents seeking 
reimbursement by April 1 and; 
 (ii)  has reimbursement funds remaining. 
 (3)  An LEA may not receive reimbursements that exceed 
the LEA's award amount as described in Subsection (4). 
 (4)  An LEA that has elected to participate as described in 
Subsection R277-625-3(4)(b), shall receive a total award amount 
based on need as determined by the Superintendent. 
 (5)  The Superintendent shall determine a participating 
LEA's need by considering the LEA's ability to support and provide 
mental health services for a student including: 
 (a)  the availability of mental health services within the 
LEA; 
 (b)  the availability of mental health services within the 
LEA's surrounding community; 
 (c)  the overall accessibility of mental health services for 
students within the LEA; 
 (d)  the current student demand for mental health services 
within an LEA; and 
 (e)  capacity of the LEA to meet existing and future student 
demands for mental health services. 
 
KEY:  mental health screener[ing program], mental health, 
prevention 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[August 12, 2020] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [ ]Art X Sec 
3; 53E-3-401(4); 53F-2-522 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-627 Filing No. 
53254 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-627.  Early Warning Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being created due to 2020 General Session 
H.B. 392, Early Warning Program.  H.B. 392 (2020) 
requires the Utah State Board of Education to create a rule 
to define the term "primary exceptionalities" for the early 
warning program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule defines "primary exceptionalities" to have the 
same definition of "child with a disability" in the federal 
regulations for the federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This proposed rule is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule is being created due to H.B. 392 
(2020). 
 
B) Local governments: 

This proposed rule is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule is being created due to H.B. 392 
(2020). 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed rule is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule is being created due to H.B. 392 
(2020). 
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D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because there are no applicable non-small 
businesses and it does not require any expenditures of, or 
generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on revenues or expenditures for persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  This rule is being created due to H.B. 
392 (2020). 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no independent compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This rule is being created due to H.B. 392 (2020). 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  This proposed rule is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses.  This 
proposed rule has no fiscal impact on local education 
agencies and will not have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses either. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Sydnee Dickson, State Superintendent 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53F-4-207(2)(d) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
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A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 12/14/2020 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-627.  Early Warning Program. 
R277-627-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Section 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make 
rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53F-4-207(2)(d), which requires the board 
to make rules to define primary exceptionalities. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to define primary 
exceptionalities for the purpose of the term being used in the early 
warning program. 
 
R277-627-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Primary exceptionalities" means the same as a "child 
with a disability" defined by 34 CFR Section 300.8. 
 
KEY:  early warning system, special education 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented, or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53E-3-401(4); 53F-4-207(2)(d) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-929 Filing No. 
53250 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-929.  State Council on Military Children 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose for the change is to update this rule to 
establish the purple star schools program in Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments include requirements for Utah schools 
to apply for the purple star schools designation and sets 
guidelines for Utah State Board of Education (Board) staff 
to administer the program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures.  This new designation program should not 
create significant new costs for the Board or local 
education agencies (LEAs) that choose to apply to the 
program. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures.  This new designation program should not 
create significant new costs for the Board or LEAs that 
choose to apply to the program. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  This new designation program should not 
create significant new costs for the Board or LEAs that 
choose to apply to the program. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
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There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have independent 
fiscal impact on revenues or expenditures for persons 
other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  The new designation program 
should not create significant new costs for the Board or 
LEAs that choose to apply to the program. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no significant compliance costs for affected 
persons.  The new designation program should not create 
significant new costs for the Board or LEAs that choose to 
apply to the program. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  This rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses.  This 
rule change has no fiscal impact on LEAs and will not have 
a fiscal impact on small businesses either. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Sydnee Dickson, State Superintendent 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 
53E-3-920.1 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
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the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 12/14/2020 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-929.  State Council on Military Children. 
R277-929-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Section 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make 
rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Section 53E-3-920.1, which requires the Board to 
create a state council in accordance with the Interstate Compact on 
Educational Opportunity for Military Children. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  establish a state council for military children[.]; and 
 (b)  establish a purple star schools designation for Utah 
schools meeting eligibility criteria. 
 
R277-929-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commissioner" means the compact commissioner 
appointed by the Governor in accordance with Section 53E-3-921. 
 (2)  "Compact" means [the]Title 53E, Chapter 3, Part 9, 
Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military 
Children. 
 (3)  "Designated staff point of contact" means a counselor, 
administrator, teacher, or other staff member who is familiar with the 
needs of military students and the protections afforded to service 
members' children under the compact. 
 ([3]4)  "State council" means the State Council for Military 
Children created through this rule. 
 
R277-929-3.  Establishment of State Council. 
 (1)  There is hereby created the State Council for Military 
Children. 
 (2)  The state council shall: 
 (a)  coordinate implementation of the compact amongst: 
 (i)  state agencies; 
 (ii)  LEAs; and 

 (iii)  military installations; 
 (b)  safeguard the interests of military impacted students 
within the state; 
 (c)  make recommendations for laws and policies to benefit 
military impacted students; and 
 (d)  promote awareness of compact rights and protections 
with military families. 
 (3)(a)  The Superintendent shall invite the individuals 
identified in Subsection 53E-3-909(1) to participate in the state 
council. 
 (b)  The Superintendent may invite other individuals with 
interest or expertise in working with military students to participate 
in the state council. 
 (4)  The Superintendent shall coordinate with the 
Commissioner to schedule meetings of the state council. 
 (5)  The state council shall meet on an annual basis or with 
such other frequency as may be required by compact rules. 
 (6)  The Commissioner shall be responsible for filing all 
required reports with the national compact office. 
 
R277-929-4.  Purple Star Schools. 
 (1)  There is hereby created a purple star schools 
designation for Utah schools that  excel in protecting the educational 
needs of students from military families. 
 (2)  The Commissioner shall establish an application 
process for Utah schools interested in the purple star schools 
designation. 
 (3)  The Commissioner shall review purple star school 
applications with the state council created in Section R277-929-3 and 
make recommendations for the purple star school designation. 
 (4)  The Superintendent shall award the purple star school 
designation to a Utah school that: 
 (a)  has a designated staff point of contact for military 
students and families who acts as the primary link between a military 
family and the school; 
 (b)  has a dedicated page on its school website featuring 
information and resources for military families; 
 (c)  has a student-led transition program to include a student 
transition team coordinator; 
 (d)  provides professional development for additional staff 
on special considerations for military students and families; and 
 (e)  meets at least one of the following criteria: 
 (i)  the school shall commit to hold a school-wide military 
recognition event; 
 (ii)  the school's governing board shall pass a resolution 
publicizing support for military students and families; or 
 (iii)  the school shall partner with a school liaison officer to 
provide opportunities for active duty parents to volunteer in the 
school. 
 (5)(a)  The Superintendent shall approve a seal for schools 
with a purple star school designation. 
 (b)  A purple star school may use the approved seal on 
school letterhead, the school's website, and other school publications. 
 (6)  The Superintendent shall publish a list of schools 
receiving the purple star designation on the Board's website. 
 (7)(a)  The Commissioner shall review a school's purple 
star school designation with the state council every three years. 
 (b)  The Superintendent may extend or remove a school's 
purple star designation based on the results of the state council's 
review. 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

30 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 

KEY:  state council, military, compact 
Date of Enactment of Last Substantive Amendment:  [March 12, 
2020]2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R317-8 Filing No. 
53240 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Donald Hall 801-

536-
4492 

dghall@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R317-8.  Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(UPDES) 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of the proposed amendments to Section 
R317-8-1 is to add descriptions of federal rule references 
in Subsection R317-8-1(10). 
 
The five main purposes of the proposed amendments in 
Section R317-8-10 are to: 
1.  reword definitions and requirements of the rule to make 
them more concise and understandable; 
 
2.  edit the large weather event definition in Subsection 
R317-8-10(2) to allow rapid snow melt events which will 
provide the regulated an enforcement exemption when 
following requirements outlined in the rule; 
 
3.  allow the Director of the Division of Water Quality 
(DWQ) to approve certified nutrient management planners 
that prepare nutrient management plans for animal 
feeding operations (AFOs) and concentrated animal 
feeding operations (CAFOs); 
 

4.  allow the regulated community to develop voluntary 
compliance assistance programs for some enforcement 
penalty relief, when the program is approved by the 
Director of DWQ; and 
 
5.  remove duplication of references to federal rules that 
are already included in Section R317-8-1. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed changes to Sections R317-8-1 and R317-8-
10 relate to the AFO and CAFO compliance and permit 
requirements.  These changes implement the federal 
CAFO regulations under the National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (NPDES) program.  In Utah, the 
NPDES program is implemented through state rule and 
permits of the Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (UPDES) program.  The proposed rule changes 
would improve federal rule referencing and 
implementation of the state CAFO program. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-1-1(10), improved referencing to 
federal requirements and descriptions of federal rule 
references have been added. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.1), federal references were 
moved to Subsection R317-8-1-(1.10) to consolidate 
references into one rule location. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.2), for thirteen definitions, 
definitions were reworded, added to the rule, or deleted to 
better implement the federal CAFO program in state rule. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.3), rule requirements were 
clarified and consolidated. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.6), the proposed changes 
help clarify required Nutrient Management Plan (NMP) 
content and which AFOs and CAFOs require a NMP. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.7), the proposed rule 
amendments clarify the Technical Standard requirements. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.8), the subsection was 
changed to include program requirements for reasonable 
measures and to describe which AFOs and CAFOs qualify 
for the reasonable measure provisions. 
 
In Subsection R317-8-10(10.9), title and entire content 
was deleted or moved to Subsection R317-8-10(8). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
None--The rule changes would have no net effect on the 
state budget or the budget of the Utah Division of Water 
Quality (Division).  If the Division is to train or approve 
certified nutrient management planners, the costs of 
training which are labor and materials, would already be 
included the Division's budget.  Current employees would 
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do the labor and any printed material costs would be 
minimal (less than $100) and would come out of existing 
budgets.  No additional funding would be required to train 
certified planners.  No other state agencies would have 
financial impact from the rule changes.  There would not 
be any savings in the state budget. 
 
B) Local governments: 

None--There should be no effect on costs or savings to 
local governments.  Local governments do not have 
oversight of AFOs and CAFOs as pertaining to the state 
rule. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None--The rule changes would have no effect on costs to 
the regulated community and no effect on other small 
businesses.  The rule changes allow AFOs and CAFOs to 
voluntarily participate in new compliance assistance 
programs for enforcement protections.  An AFO or CAFO 
may need to improve waste storage structures or improve 
planning in order to meet the requirements of a new 
compliance assistance program.  However, participation in 
a compliance assistance program is voluntary.  This rule 
will not require an AFO or CAFO to invest or participate in 
any new compliance assistance program that may be 
developed under the new rule.  There would not be 
savings for the regulated community or for other small 
businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--There are 5 or less businesses in the regulated 
community employing 50 or more persons.  The rule 
changes would have no effect on costs to the regulated 
community and have no effect on other non-small 
businesses.  The rule changes allow larger AFOs and 
CAFOs to voluntarily participate in new compliance 
assistance programs for enforcement protections.  An AFO 
or CAFO may need to improve waste storage structures or 
improve planning in order to meet the requirements of a 
new compliance assistance program.  However, 
participation in a compliance assistance program is 
voluntary.  The new rule will not require an AFO or CAFO 
to spend more on compliance.  There would not be savings 
for the regulated community or for other non-small 
businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The estimate is $15,000.  The rule changes could result in 
approximately $15,000 in lost revenue for non-
governmental certified planners.  There are two or three 
out-of-state consultants that prepare nutrient management 
plans for AFOs and CAFOs in Utah.  The amended rule 

facilitates approval of additional certified nutrient 
management planners by DWQ.  The new certified 
planners are likely to be state employees from the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF).  UDAF would 
not receive compensation for the preparation and approval 
of nutrient management plans (NMPs).  It is anticipated 
that UDAF would use current employees to prepare NMPs 
and that no new employees would be hired.  The NMPs 
prepared by certified planners at UDAF would be NMPs 
the consultants did not prepare, resulting in lost revenue.  
It is estimated that consultants would prepare about three 
NMPs per year at a fee of about $5,000 per NMP.  Lost 
revenue for the consultants would be approximately 
$15,000 per year.  AFOs and CAFOs could still hire 
consultants to prepare NMPs. However, that is unlikely 
since the AFOs and CAFOs can have NMPs prepared at 
no cost by UDAF certified planners. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

None--There will be no additional costs to AFOs and 
CAFOs to comply with the rule unless they volunteer to be 
part of a compliance assistance program. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$15,000 $15,000 $15,000 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$15,000 $15,000 $15,000 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$-15,000 $-15,000 $-15,000 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of 
Environmental, Scott Baird, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal rule analysis and fiscal information. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The proposed rule amendments would not affect non-
animal agriculture businesses financially, either positively 
or negatively.  Also, the regulated community would not 
have additional costs from the proposed rule changes.  A 
few out-of-state consultants may lose approximately 
$15,000 per year from lost nutrient management planning 
fees.  As enabled through proposed rule changes, 
additional certified planners could be provided to prepare 
nutrient management plans at no cost to the regulated 
community. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Scott Baird, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Title 19, Chapter 5 40 CFR 122 40 CFR 124 
40 CFR 412 40 CFR 503  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 

Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Erica B. Gaddis, 
Director 

Date: 12/08/2020 
 

 
R317.  Environmental Quality, Water Quality. 
R317-8.  Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (UPDES). 
R317-8-1.  General Provisions and Definitions. 
 1.1  COMPARABILITY WITH THE CWA.  The UPDES 
rules promulgated pursuant to the Utah Water Quality Act are intended 
to be compatible with the Federal regulations adopted pursuant to CWA. 
 1.2  CONFLICTING PROVISIONS.  The provisions of the 
UPDES rules are to be construed as being compatible with and 
complementary to each other.  In the event that any of these rules are 
found by a court of competent jurisdiction to be contradictory, the more 
stringent provisions shall apply. 
 1.3  SEVERABILITY.  In the event that any provision of 
these rules is found to be invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, 
the remaining UPDES rules shall not be affected or diminished thereby. 
 1.4  ADMINISTRATION OF THE UPDES PROGRAM.  
The Director has responsibility for the administration of the UPDES 
program, including pretreatment.  The responsibility for the program is 
delegated to the Director in accordance with UCA Subsection 19-5-
104(11) and UCA Subsection 19-5-107(2)(a).  The Director has the 
responsibility for issuance, denial, modification, revocation and 
enforcement of UPDES permits, including general permits, Federal 
facilities permits, and sludge permits; and approval and enforcement 
authority for the pretreatment program. 
 1.5  DEFINITIONS.  The following terms have the meaning 
as set forth unless a different meaning clearly appears from the context 
or unless a different meaning is stated in a definition applicable to only 
a portion of these rules: 
 (1)  "Administrator" means the Administrator of the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency, or an authorized 
representative. 
 (2)  "Applicable standards and limitations" means all 
standards and limitations to which a discharge, a sewage sludge use or 
disposal practice, or a related activity is subject under Subsection 19-5-
104(6) of the Utah Water Quality Act and rules promulgated pursuant 
thereto, including but not limited to effluent limitations, water quality 
standards, standards of performance, toxic effluent standards or 
prohibitions, best management practices, pretreatment standards, and 
standards for sewage sludge use or disposal. 
 (3)  "Application" means the forms available from the 
Division, which are the same as the EPA standard NPDES forms, for 
applying for a UPDES permit, including any additions, revisions or 
modifications. 
 (4)  "Average monthly discharge limit" means the highest 
allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar month, calculated 
as the sum of all daily discharge measured during a calendar month 
divided by the number of daily discharges measured during the month. 
 (5)  "Average weekly discharge limit" means the highest 
allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar week, calculated 
as the sum of all daily discharges measured during a calendar week 
divided by the number of daily discharges measured during that week. 
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 (6)  "Best management practices (BMPs)" means schedules 
of activities, prohibitions of practices, maintenance procedures, and 
other management practices to prevent or reduce the pollution of waters 
of the state.  BMPs also include treatment requirements, operating 
procedures, practices to control plant site runoff, spillage or leaks, 
sludge or waste disposal or drainage from raw material storage. 
 (7)  "Class I sludge management facility" means any POTW 
required to have an approved pretreatment program under R317-8-8 and 
any other treatment works treating domestic sewage classified as a Class 
I sludge management facility by the Director, because of the potential 
for its sludge use or disposal practices to adversely affect public health 
and the environment. 
 (8)  "Continuous discharge" means a discharge which occurs 
without interruption throughout the operating hours of the facility, 
except for infrequent shutdowns for maintenance, process changes, or 
other similar activities. 
 (9)  "CWA" means the Clean Water Act as subsequently 
amended (33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq.). 
 (10)  "Daily discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant 
measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour period that reasonably 
represents the calendar day for purposes of sampling.  For pollutants 
with limitations expressed in units of mass, the daily discharge is 
calculated as the total mass of the pollutant discharged over the day.  For 
pollutants with limitations expressed in other units of measurement, the 
daily discharge is calculated as the average measurement of the pollutant 
over the day. 
 (11)  "Direct discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant. 
 (12)  "Discharge of a pollutant" means any addition of any 
pollutants to "waters of the State" from any "point source."  This 
definition includes additions of pollutants into waters of the State from: 
surface runoff which is collected or channeled by man; discharges 
through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances owned by the State, a 
municipality, or other person which do not lead to a treatment works; 
and discharges through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances, leading into 
privately owned treatment works.  This term does not include an 
addition of pollutants by any "indirect discharger." 
 (13)  "Economic impact consideration" means the reasonable 
consideration given by the Director to the economic impact of water 
pollution control on industry and agriculture; provided, however, that 
such consideration shall be consistent and in compliance with the CWA 
and EPA promulgated regulations. 
 (14)  "Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR)" means EPA 
uniform national form or equivalent State form, including any 
subsequent additions, revisions or modifications, for the reporting of 
self-monitoring results by permittees. 
 (15)  "Draft permit" means a document prepared under R317-
8-6.3 indicating the Director's preliminary decision to issue or deny, 
modify, revoke and reissue, terminate, or reissue a permit.  A notice of 
intent to terminate a permit, and a notice of intent to deny a permit are 
types of draft permits.  A denial of a request for modification, revocation 
and reissuance, or termination as provided in R317-8-5.6 is not a draft 
permit.  A proposed permit prepared after the close of the public 
comment period is not a draft permit. 
 (16)  "Effluent limitation" means any restriction imposed by 
the Director on quantities, discharge rates, and concentrations of 
pollutants which are discharged from point sources into waters of the 
State. 
 (17)  "Effluent limitations guidelines" means a regulation 
published by the Administrator under section 304(b) of CWA to adopt 
or revise effluent limitations. 
 (18)  "Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)" means the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency. 

 (19)  "Facility or activity" means any UPDES point source, or 
any other facility or activity, including land or appurtenances thereto, 
that is subject to regulation under the UPDES program. 
 (20)  "General permit" means any UPDES permit authorizing 
a category of discharges within a geographical area, and issued under 
R317-8-2.5. 
 (21)  "Hazardous substance" means any substance designated 
under 40 CFR Part 116. 
 (22)  "Indirect discharge" means a nondomestic discharger 
introducing pollutants to a publicly owned treatment works. 
 (23)  "Interstate agency" means an agency of which Utah and 
one or more states is a member, established by or under an agreement or 
compact, or any other agency, of which Utah and one or more other 
states are members, having substantial powers or duties pertaining to the 
control of pollutants. 
 (24)  "Major facility" means any UPDES facility or activity 
classified as such by the Director in conjunction with the Regional 
Administrator. 
 (25)  "Maximum daily discharge limitation" means the 
highest allowable daily discharge. 
 (26)  "Municipality" means a city, town, district, county, or 
other public body created by or under the State law and having 
jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes.  
For purposes of these rules, an agency designated by the Governor under 
Section 208 of the CWA is also considered to be a municipality. 
 (27)  "National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(NPDES)" means the national program for issuing, modifying, revoking 
and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits, and 
imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements under Sections 307, 
402, 318 and 405 of the CWA. 
 (28)  "New discharger" means any building, structure, facility, 
or installation: 
 (a)  From which there is or may be a "discharge of pollutants;" 
 (b)  That did not commence the "discharge of pollutants" at a 
particular "site" prior to August 13, 1979; 
 (c)  Which is not a "new source;" and 
 (d)  Which has never received a finally effective UPDES 
permit for discharges at that "site." 
 This definition includes an "indirect discharger" which 
commenced discharging into waters of the state after August 13, 1979. 
 (29)  "New source" means any building, structure, facility, or 
installation from which there is or may be a direct or indirect discharge 
of pollutants, the construction of which commenced; 
 (a)  After promulgation of EPA's standards of performance 
under Section 306 of CWA which are applicable to such source, or 
 (b)  After proposal of Federal standards of performance in 
accordance with Section 306 of CWA which are applicable to such 
source, but only if the Federal standards are promulgated in accordance 
with Section 306 within 120 days of their proposal. 
 (30)  "Non-continuous or batch discharge" for a discharge to 
be considered a non-continuous or batch discharge the following must 
apply: 
 (a)  Frequency of a non-continuous or batch discharge: 
 i.  shall not occur more than once every three (3) weeks, 
 ii.  shall not be more than once during the three (3) weeks and 
 iii.  shall not exceed 24 hours; 
 (b)  Shall not cause a slug load at the POTW. 
 (31)  "Owner or operator" means the owner or operator of any 
facility or activity subject to regulation under the UPDES program. 
 (32)  "Permit" means an authorization, license, or equivalent 
control document issued by the Director to implement the requirements 
of the UPDES rules. "Permit" includes a UPDES "general permit." The 
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term does not include any document which has not yet been the subject 
of final agency action, such as a draft permit or a proposed permit. 
 (33)  "Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, company or body politic, including any agency or 
instrumentality of the United States government. 
 (34)  "Point source" means any discernible, confined, and 
discrete conveyance, including but not limited to any pipe, ditch, 
channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, rolling stock, 
concentrated animal feeding operation, landfill leachate collection 
system, vessel or other floating craft, from which pollutants are or may 
be discharged.  This term does not include agricultural storm-water 
runoff or return flows from irrigated agriculture. 
 (35)  "Pollutant" means, for the purpose of these rules, 
dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator residue, filter backwash, sewage, 
garbage, sewage sludge, munitions, chemical wastes, biological 
materials, radioactive materials (except those regulated under the 
Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended (42 U.S.C. 2011 et seq.)), heat, 
wrecked or discarded equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt and industrial, 
municipal, and agricultural waste discharged into water.  It does not 
mean: 
 (a)  Sewage from vessels; or 
 (b)  Water, gas, or other material which is injected into a well 
to facilitate production of oil or gas, or water derived in association with 
oil and gas production and disposed of in a well, if the well used either 
to facilitate production or for disposal purposes is approved by authority 
of the State in which the well is located, and if the State determines that 
the injection or disposal will not result in the degradation of ground or 
surface water resources. 
 (36)  "Pollution" means any man-made or man-induced 
alteration of the chemical, physical, biological, or radiological integrity 
of any waters of the State, unless such alteration is necessary for the 
public health and safety.  Alterations which are not consistent with the 
requirements of the CWA and implementing regulations shall not be 
deemed to be alterations necessary for the public health and safety.  A 
discharge not in accordance with Utah Water Quality Standards, stream 
classification, and UPDES permit requirements, including technology-
based standards shall be deemed to be pollution. 
 (37)  "Primary industry category" means any industry 
category listed in R317-8-3.11. 
 (38)  "Privately owned treatment works" means any device or 
system which is used to treat wastes from any facility whose operator is 
not the operator of the treatment works and which is not a POTW. 
 (39)  "Process wastewater" means any water which, during 
manufacturing or processing, comes into direct contact with or results 
from the production or use of any raw material, intermediate product, 
finished product, byproduct, or waste product. 
 (40)  "Proposed permit" means a UPDES permit prepared 
after the close of the public comment period and, when applicable, any 
public hearing and adjudicative proceedings, which is sent to EPA for 
review before final issuance by the Director.  A proposed permit is not a 
draft permit. 
 (41)  "Publicly-owned treatment works" (POTW) means any 
facility for the treatment of pollutants owned by the State, its political 
subdivisions, or other public entity.  For the purposes of these rules, 
POTW includes sewers, pipes or other conveyances conveying 
wastewater to a POTW providing treatment, treatment of pollutants 
includes recycling and reclamation, and pollutants refers to municipal 
sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. 
 (42)  "Recommencing discharger" means a source which 
resumes discharge after terminating operation. 

 (43)  "Regional Administrator" means the Regional 
Administrator of the Region VIII office of the EPA or the authorized 
representative of the Regional Administrator. 
 (44)  "Schedule of compliance" means a schedule of remedial 
measures included in a permit, including an enforceable sequence of 
interim requirements leading to compliance with the Utah Water Quality 
Act and rules promulgated pursuant thereto. 
 (45)  "Secondary industry category" means any industry 
category which is not a primary industry category. 
 (46)  "Septage" means the liquid and solid material pumped 
from a septic tank, cesspool, or similar domestic sewage treatment 
system, or a holding tank when the system is cleaned or maintained. 
 (47)  "Seven (7) consecutive day discharge limit" means the 
highest allowable average of daily discharges over a seven (7) 
consecutive day period. 
 (48)  "Sewage from vessels" means human body wastes and 
the wastes from toilets and other receptacles intended to receive or retain 
body wastes that are discharged from vessels and regulated under 
Section 312 of CWA. 
 (49)  "Sewage sludge" means any solid, semi-solid, or liquid 
residue removed during the treatment of municipal wastewater or 
domestic sewage.  Sewage sludge includes, but is not limited to, solids 
removed during primary, secondary or advanced wastewater treatment, 
scum, septage, portable toilet dumpings, type III marine sanitation 
device pumpings, and sewage sludge products.  Sewage sludge does not 
include grit or screenings, or ash generated during the incineration of 
sewage sludge. 
 (50)  "Sewage sludge use or disposal practice" means the 
collection, storage, treatment, transportation, processing, monitoring, 
use, or disposal of sewage sludge. 
 (51)  "Site" means the land or water area where any "facility 
or activity" is physically located or conducted, including adjacent land 
used in connection with the facility or activity. 
 (52)  "Sludge-only facility" means any treatment works 
treating domestic sewage whose methods of sewage sludge use or 
disposal are subject to rules promulgated pursuant to Section 19-5-104 
of the Utah Water Quality Act and which is required to obtain a permit 
under R317-8-2.1. 
 (53)  "Standards for sewage sludge use or disposal" means the 
rules promulgated pursuant to Section 19-5-104 of the Utah Water 
Quality Act which govern minimum requirements for sludge quality, 
management practices, and monitoring and reporting applicable to 
sewage sludge or the use or disposal of sewage sludge by any person. 
 (54)  "State/EPA Agreement" means an agreement between 
the State and the Regional Administrator which coordinates State and 
EPA activities, responsibilities and programs, including those under the 
CWA programs. 
 (55)  "Thirty (30) consecutive day discharge limit" means the 
highest allowable average of daily discharges over a thirty (30) 
consecutive day period. 
 (56)  "Toxic pollutant" means any pollutant listed as toxic in 
R317-8-7.6 or, in the case of sludge use or disposal practices, any 
pollutant identified as toxic in State adopted rules for the disposal of 
sewage sludge. 
 (57)  "Treatment works treating domestic sewage" means a 
POTW or any other sewage sludge or waste water treatment devices or 
systems, regardless of ownership (including federal facilities), used in 
the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of municipal or 
domestic sewage, including land dedicated for the disposal of sewage 
sludge.  This definition does not include septic tanks or similar devices.  
For purposes of this definition, "domestic sewage" includes waste and 
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waste water from humans or household operations that are discharged 
to or otherwise enter a treatment works. 
 (58)  "Variance" means any mechanism or provision under the 
UPDES rules which allows modification to or waiver of the generally 
applicable effluent limitation requirements or time deadlines. 
 (59)  "Waters of the State" means all streams, lakes, ponds, 
marshes, watercourses, waterways, wells, springs, irrigation systems, 
drainage systems, and all other bodies or accumulations of water, 
surface and underground, natural or artificial, public or private, which 
are contained within, flow through, or border upon this State or any 
portion thereof, except that bodies of water confined to and retained 
within the limits of private property, and which do not develop into or 
constitute a nuisance, or a public health hazard, or a menace to fish or 
wildlife, shall not be considered to be "waters of the State."  The 
exception for confined bodies of water does not apply to any waters 
which meet the definition of "waters of the United States" under 40 CFR 
122.2.  Waters are considered to be confined to and retained within the 
limits of private property only if there is no discharge or seepage to 
either surface water or groundwater.  Waters of the State includes 
"wetlands" as defined in the Federal Clean Water Act. 
 (60)  "Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 
saturated by surface or groundwater at a frequency and duration 
sufficient to support, and that under normal circumstance do support, a 
prevalence of vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil 
conditions.  Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 
similar areas. 
 (61)  "Whole effluent toxicity" means the aggregate toxic 
effect of an effluent as measured directly by a toxicity test. 
 (62)  "Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(UPDES)" means the State-wide program for issuing, modifying, 
revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits, 
and imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements under the Utah 
Water Quality Act. 
 1.6  DEFINITIONS APPLICABLE TO STORM-WATER 
DISCHARGES. 
 (1)  "Co-Permittee" means a permittee to a UPDES permit 
that is only responsible for permit conditions relating to the discharge 
for which it is operator. 
 (2)  "Illicit discharge" means any discharge to a municipal 
separate storm sewer that is not composed entirely of storm water except 
discharges pursuant to a UPDES permit (other than the UPDES permit 
for discharges from the municipal separate storm sewer) and discharges 
resulting from fire fighting activities. 
 (3)  "Incorporated place" means a city or town that is 
incorporated under the laws of Utah. 
 (4)  "Large municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 
municipal separate storm sewers that are: 
 (a)  Located in an incorporated place with a population of 
250,000 or more as determined by the 1990 Decennial Census by the 
Bureau of Census; or 
 (b)  Located in counties with unincorporated urbanized areas 
with a population of 250,000 or more according to the 1990 Decennial 
Census by the Bureau of Census, except municipal separate storm 
sewers that are located in the incorporated places, townships or towns 
within the County; or 
 (c)  Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 
described in R317-8-1.6(4)(a) or (b) and that are designated by the 
Director as part of a large or medium municipal separate storm sewer 
system. See R317-8-3.9(6)(a) for provisions regarding this definition. 
 (5)  "Major municipal separate storm sewer outfall" (or 
"major outfall") means a municipal separate storm sewer outfall that 
discharges from a single pipe with an inside diameter of 36 inches or 

more or its equivalent (discharge from a single conveyance other than 
circular pipe which is associated with a drainage area of more than 50 
acres); or for municipal separate storm sewers that receive storm water 
from lands zoned for industrial activity (based on comprehensive zoning 
plans or the equivalent), an outfall that discharges from a single pipe 
with an inside diameter of 12 inches or more or from its equivalent 
(discharge from other than a circular pipe associated with a drainage area 
of 2 acres or more). 
 (6)  "Major outfall" means a major municipal separate storm 
sewer outfall. 
 (7)  "Medium municipal separate storm sewer system" means 
all municipal separate storm sewers that are: 
 (a)  Located in an incorporated place with a population of 
100,000 or more but less than 250,000, as determined by the 1990 
Decennial Census by the Bureau of Census; 
 (b)  Located in counties with unincorporated urbanized areas 
with a population greater than 100,000 but less than 250,000 as 
determined by the 1990 Decennial Census by the Bureau of the Census; 
or 
 (c)  Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 
described in R317-8-1.6(4)(a) and (b) and that are designated by the 
Director as part of the large or medium municipal separate storm sewer 
system. See R317-8-3.9(6)(b) for provisions regarding this definition. 
 (8)  "MS4" means a municipal separate storm sewer system. 
 (9)  "Municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 
separate storm sewers that are defined as "large" or "medium" or "small" 
municipal separate storm sewer systems pursuant to paragraphs R317-
8-1.6(4), (7), and (14) of this section, or designated under paragraph 
R317-8-3.9(1)(a)5 of this section. 
 (10)  "Outfall" means a point source at the point where a 
municipal separate storm sewer discharges to waters of the State and 
does not include open conveyances connecting two municipal separate 
storm sewers, or pipes, tunnels or other conveyances which connect 
segments of the same stream or other waters of the State and are used to 
convey waters of the State. 
 (11)  "Overburden" means any material of any nature, 
consolidated or unconsolidated, that overlies a mineral deposit, 
excluding topsoil or similar naturally occurring surface materials that 
are not disturbed by mining operations. 
 (12)  "Runoff coefficient" means the fraction of total rainfall 
that will appear at a conveyance as runoff. 
 (13)  "Significant materials" means, but is not limited to: raw 
materials; fuels; materials such as solvents, detergents, and plastic 
pellets; finished materials such as metallic products; raw materials used 
in food processing or production; hazardous substances designated 
under section 101(14) of CERCLA: any chemical the facility is required 
to report pursuant to section 313 of Title III of SARA: fertilizers; 
pesticides; and waste products such as ashes, slag and sludge that have 
the potential to be released with storm water discharges. 
 (14)  "Small municipal separate storm sewer system" means 
all separate storm sewers that are: 
 (a)  Owned or operated by the United States, State of Utah, 
city, town, county, district, association, or other public body (created by 
or pursuant to State law) having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, 
industrial waste, storm water, or other wastes, including special districts 
under State law such as a sewer district, flood control district or drainage 
district, or similar entity, or a designated and approved management 
agency under section 208 of the CWA that discharges to waters of the 
State. 
 (b)  Not defined as "large" or "medium" municipal separate 
storm sewer system pursuant to paragraphs R317-8-1.6(4) and (7) of this 
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section, or designated under paragraph R317-8-3.9(1)(a)5 of this 
section. 
 (c)  This term includes systems similar to separate storm 
sewer systems in municipalities, such as systems at military bases, large 
hospital or prison complexes, and highways and other thoroughfares.  
The term does not include separate storm sewers in very discrete areas, 
such as individual buildings. 
 (15)  "Small MS4" means a small municipal separate storm 
sewer system. 
 (16)  "Storm water" means storm water runoff, snow melt 
runoff, and surface runoff and drainage. 
 (17)  "Storm water discharge associated with industrial 
activity" means the discharge from any conveyance which is directly 
related to manufacturing, processing or raw materials storage areas at an 
industrial plant.  The term does not include discharges from facilities or 
activities excluded from the UPDES program.  See R317-8-3.9(6)(c) 
and (d) for provisions applicable to this definition. 
 (18)  "Uncontrolled sanitary landfill means a landfill or open 
dump, whether in operation or closed, that does not meet the 
requirements for runon or runoff controls established pursuant to subtitle 
D of the Solid Waste Disposal Act. 
 1.7  ABBREVIATIONS AND ACRONYMS.  The following 
abbreviations and acronyms, as used throughout the UPDES rules, shall 
have the meaning given below: 
 (1)  "BAT" means best available technology economically 
achievable; 
 (2)  "BCT" means best conventional pollutant control 
technology; 
 (3)  "BMPs" means best management practices; 
 (4)  "BOD" means biochemical oxygen demands; 
 (5)  "BPT" means best practicable technology currently 
available; 
 (6)  "CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations; 
 (7)  "COD" means chemical oxygen demand; 
 (8)  "CWA" means the Federal Clean Water Act; 
 (9)  "DMR" means discharge monitoring report; 
 (10)  "NPDES" means National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System; 
 (11)  "POTW" means publicly owned treatment works; 
 (12)  "SIC" means standard industrial classification; 
 (13)  "TDS" means total dissolved solids; 
 (14)  "TSS" means total suspended solids; 
 (15)  "UPDES" means Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System; 
 (16)  "UWQB" means the Utah Water Quality Board; 
 (17)  "WET" means whole effluent toxicity. 
 1.8  UPGRADE AND RECLASSIFICATION.  Upgrading or 
reclassification of waters of the State by the Utah Water Quality Board 
may be done periodically, but only using procedures and in a manner 
consistent with the requirements of State and Federal law. 
 1.9  PUBLIC PARTICIPATION. The Division will 
investigate and provide written response to all citizen complaints.  In 
addition, the Director shall not oppose intervention in any civil or 
administrative proceeding by any citizen where permissive intervention 
may be authorized by statute, rule or regulation.  The Director will 
publish notice of and provide at least 30 days for public comment on 
any proposed settlement of any enforcement action. 
 1.10  INCORPORATION OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS 
BY REFERENCE. The State adopts the following Federal standards 
and procedures, effective as of December 8, 1999 unless otherwise 
noted, which are incorporated by reference: 

 (1)  40 CFR 129 (Toxic Effluent Standards) with the 
following exceptions: 
 (a)  Substitute "UPDES" for all federal regulation references 
to "NPDES". 
 (b)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "State Director". 
 (c)  Substitute "R317-8-4.4, R317-8-6, and R317-8-7" for all 
federal regulation references to "40 CFR Parts 124 and 125". 
 (2)  40 CFR 133 (Secondary Treatment Regulation) with the 
following exceptions: 
 (a)  40 CFR 133.102 for which R317-1-3.2 is substituted. 
 (b)  40 CFR 133.105. 
 (c)  Substitute "UPDES" or "Utah Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System" for all federal regulation references for "NPDES" 
or "National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System", respectively. 
 (d)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "State Director" in 40 CFR 133.103. 
 (3)  40 CFR 136 (Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for 
the Analysis of Pollutants) 
 (4)  40 CFR 403.6 (National Pretreatment Standards and 
Categorical Standards), effective as of May 16, 2008, with the following 
exception: 
 (a)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "Director". 
 (5)  40 CFR 403.7, effective as of May 16, 2008, (Removal 
Credits) 
 (6)  40 CFR 403.13, effective as of May 16, 2008, (Variances 
from Categorical Pretreatment Standards for Fundamentally Different 
Factors) 
 (7)  40 CFR Parts 405 through 411 
 (8)  40 CFR Part 412, effective as of July 30, 2012, with the 
following changes: 
 (a)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "Director". 
 (b)  Substitute "UPDES" for all federal regulation references 
to "NPDES". 
 (c)  Substitute "surface waters" of the state for all federal 
regulation references to "surface water," "waters of the United States," 
"navigable waters," or "U.S. waters." 
 (9)  40 CFR Parts 413 through 471 
 (10)  40 CFR 503 (Standards for the Use or Disposal of 
Sewage Sludge), effective as of the date that responsibility for 
implementation of the federal Sludge Management Program is 
delegated to the State except as provided in R317-1-6.4, with the 
following changes: 
 (a)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "Director". 
 (11)  40 CFR 122.30 
 (12)  40 CFR 122.32 
 (a)  In 122.32(a)(2), replace the reference 122.26(f) with 
R317-8-3.9(5). 
 (13)  40 CFR 122.33 
 (a)  In 122.33(b)(2)(i), replace the reference 122.21(f) with 
R317-8-3.1(6). 
 (b)  In 122.33(b)(2)(i), replace the reference 122.21(f)(7) with 
R317-8-3.1(6)(g). 
 (c)  In 122.33(b)(2)(ii), replace the reference 122.26(d)(1) and 
(2) with R317-8-3.9(3)(a) and (b) 
 (d)  In 122.33(b)(3), replace the reference 122.26 with R317-
8. 
 (e)  In 122.33(b)(3), replace the reference 122.26(d)(1)(iii) 
and (iv); and (d)(2)(iv) with R317-8-3.9(3)(a)3 and 4; and (3)(b)4. 
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 (14)  40 CFR 122.34 
 (a)  In 122.34(a), replace the reference 122.26(d) with R317-
8-3.9(3). 
 (b)  In 122.34(b)(3)(i), replace the reference 122.26(d)(2) with 
R317-8-3.9(3)(b). 
 (c)  In 122.34(b)(4)(i), replace the reference 122.26(b)(15)(i) 
with R317-8-3.9(6)(e)1. 
 (d)  In 122.34(f), replace the references 122.41 through 
122.49 with R317-8-4.1 through R317-8-5.4. 
 (e)  In 122.34(g)(2), replace the reference 122.7 with R317-8-
3.3. 
 (15)  40 CFR 122.35 
 (a)  In 122.35, replace the reference 122 with R317-8. 
 (16)  40 CFR 122.36 
 (17)  For the references R317-8-1.10(12), (13), (14), (15), and 
(16), make the following substitutions: 
 (a)  Substitute the Director of the Division of Water Quality 
for the "NPDES permitting authority" 
 (b)  Substitute "UPDES" for "NPDES" 
 (18)  Effective as of July 30, 2012, 40 CFR 122.21(i) 
Application requirements for new and existing concentrated animal 
feeding operations and aquatic animal production facilities, 40 CFR 
122.23[(a)] Concentrated animal feeding operations,[ 40 CFR 
122.23(b)(3), 40 CFR 122.23(b)(5), 40 CFR 122.23(b)(7), 40 CFR 
122.23(b)(8), 40 CFR 122.23(c), 40 CFR 122.23(d)(2), 40 CFR 
122.23(e), 40 CFR 122.23(h),] 40 CFR 122.28(b)(2) Authorization to 
discharge, 40 CFR 122.42(e) Additional conditions applicable to 
specified categories of NPDES permits, 40 CFR 122.62(a)(17) 
Modification or revocation and reissuance of permits, Nutrient 
Management Plans, and 40 CFR 122.63(h) Minor modification of 
permits, changes to the terms of a CAFO's Nutrient Management Plan, 
with the following substitutions: 
 (a)  Substitute "Director of the Division of Water Quality" for 
all federal regulation references to "Director" or "State Director". 
 (b)  Substitute "UPDES" for all federal regulation references 
to "NPDES". 
 (c)  Substitute "surface waters of the state" for all federal 
regulation references to "surface water," "waters of the United States," 
"navigable waters," or "U.S. waters." 
 
R317-8-10.  Animal Feeding Operations (AFOs) and Concentrated 
Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs). 
 10.1  Applicability of Rule R317-8, Rule Compatibility, and 
Federal Rule Incorporation. 
 (1)  [This rule]Section R317-8-10, including the federal 
regulations incorporated by reference[ in R317-8-10.1(3)], shall be 
applicable to animal feeding operations and concentrated animal feeding 
operations[ in Utah as provided in the rule]. 
 (2)  Where any requirements, definitions, or conditions in 
Section R317-8-10 conflict with the requirements, definitions, or 
conditions pertaining to animal feeding operations or concentrated 
animal feeding operations in other parts of Rule R317-8, the 
requirements, definitions, and conditions in [this ]Section R317-8-10 
shall govern. 
[ (3)  Included in the federal regulations incorporated by 
reference under R317-8-1.10 are the following federal regulations 
governing concentrated animal feeding operations, effective as of July 
30, 2012, which have been incorporated by reference as specified in 
R317-8-1.10: 
 (a)  40 CFR 122.21(i); 
 (b)  40 CFR 122.23(a), (b)(3), (b)(5), (b)(7), (b)(8), (c), (d)(2), 
(e) and (h); 

 (c)  40 CFR 122.28(b)(2); 
 (d)  40 CFR 122.42(e); 
 (e)  40 CFR 122.62(a)(17); 
 (f)  40 CFR 122.63(h); 
 (g)  40 CFR Part 412. 
 (4)  The following substitutions apply to the federal 
regulations incorporated by reference: 
 (a)  Substitute "Director of the Division of Water Quality" for 
all federal regulation references to "Director". 
 (b)  Substitute "UPDES" for all federal regulation references 
to "NPDES". 
 (c)  Substitute the term "surface waters of the state" for all 
federal regulation references to "surface water", "waters of the United 
States", "navigable waters", or "U.S. waters." 
] 10.2  Definitions. 
 "25-year, 24-hour storm event" means the 25-year, 24-hour 
storm event and "100-year, 24-hour storm event" means the 100-year, 
24-hour storm event as defined in 40 CFR 412.2(i). 
 "Animal Feeding Operation" (AFO) means a lot or facility 
(other than aquatic animal production facility) where the following 
conditions are met: 
 (a)  animals have been, are, or will be stabled, housed, or 
confined and fed or maintained for a total of forty-five (45) days or more 
in any 12-month period; 
 (b)  crops, vegetation, forage growth, or post harvest residues 
are not sustained in the normal growing season over any portion of the 
lot or facility; and 
 (c)  two or more AFOs under common ownership are 
considered to be a single AFO if they adjoin each other or if they use a 
common area or system for the storage or disposal of waste. 
 "Certified Nutrient Management Planner" means a person 
who, after appropriate NRCS or division training, is approved and 
certified by the Utah Natural Resources Conservation Services (NRCS) 
or the Director, to develop and approve nutrient management plans and 
comprehensive nutrient management plans. 
 "Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation" (CAFO) means: 
 (a)  an AFO that is a Large CAFO; or 
 (b)  an AFO that is a Medium CAFO; or 
 (c)  an AFO that is [a Small AFO or Medium AFO that is a 
]Designated as a CAFO. 
 "Approved Agriculture Certificate of Environmental 
Stewardship Program (ACES)" means a program approved by the Water 
Quality Board as meeting the substantive standards of this rule and the 
Utah Water Quality Act, Title 19, Chapter 5. 
 "Designated CAFO" means an AFO that is designated as a 
CAFO by the Director according to criteria in 40 CFR 122.23(c) and 
thereby required to obtain a UPDES permit. 
 "Discharge" has the same meaning as "Discharge of a 
Pollutant" in Subsection R317-8-1.5, except that[, for purposes of this] 
in Section R317-8-10[ only], "discharge" shall refer only to the addition 
of pollutants to surface waters of the state. 
 "Large CAFO" means an AFO that stables, houses, or 
confines the type and number of animals that fall within any of these 
ranges: 
 (a)  Beef, calves, heifers, [and/]or veal:  [     ]1,000 or more 
 (b)  Cows (milking and dry):  [     ]700 or more 
 (c)  Layers, broilers (wet system):  [     ]30,000 or more 
 (d)  Other than layers (dry system):  [     ]125,000 or more 
 (e)  Layers (dry system):  [     ]82,000 or more 
 (f)  Turkeys:  [     ]55,000 or more 
 (g)  Swine (55 pounds or more):  [     ]2,500 or more 
 (h)  Swine (less than 55 pounds):  [     ]10,000 or more 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

38 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 

 (i)  Sheep:  [     ]10,000 or more 
 (j)  Horses:  [     ]500 or more 
 (k)  Ducks (dry system):  [     ]30,000 or more 
 (l)  Ducks (wet system)[     ]5,000 or more 
 "Large Weather Event" [for purposes of ]in Subsection 19-5-
105.5(3)(b)(iii) means either: 
 (a)  a single event or a series of precipitation events, including 
snow, received[ at an AFO (including a CAFO) during any consecutive 
thirty day period that: 
 (a)  occurs in a manner that does not allow an AFO or CAFO 
to appropriately dewater waste storage, treatment or containment 
structures; and] over a 30 day period at an AFO or CAFO that[ 
 (b) ] yields precipitation [in an amount ]greater than the[ total 
of: 
 (i)  the] area's monthly average precipitation for the [period of 
the precipitation event(s); and]30-day period, plus either: 
[ (ii)  (A) for a poultry, swine, or veal AFO or CAFO,] 
 (i)  a 100-year, 24-hour storm event for[ the area; or] poultry, 
swine, or veal AFO or CAFO; or 
 [(B)  for all other AFOs or CAFOs,](ii)  a 25-year, 24-hour 
storm event for [the area.]any other AFOs or CAFOs; or 
 (b)  rapid snow or ice melt at the AFO or CAFO that occurs 
during a 7-day period which results in the runoff of a volume of water 
equivalent to (a). 
 "Medium AFO" means a lot or facility that is an AFO that 
stables, houses or confines the type and number of animals that fall 
within any of these ranges: 
 (a)  Beef, calves, heifers, [and/]or veal:  [     ]300-999 
 (b)  Cows (milking and dry):  [     ]200-699 
 (c)  Layers [and/]or broilers (wet system):  [     ]9,000-29,999 
 (d)  Other than layers (dry system):  [     ]37,500-124,999 
 (e)  Layers (dry system):  [     ]25,000-81,999 
 (f)  Turkeys:  [     ]16,500-54,999 
 (g)  Swine (55 pounds or more):  [     ]750-2,499 
 (h)  Swine (less than 55 pounds):  [     ]3,000-9,999 
 (i)  Sheep:  [     ]3,000-9,999 
 (j)  Horses:  [     ]150-499 
 (k)  Ducks (dry system):  [     ]10,000-29,999 
 (l)  Ducks (wet system):  [     ]1,500-4,999 
 "Medium CAFO" means a[n] Medium AFO[ that confines the 
number of animals to be classified as a Medium AFO, and] where the 
conditions specified in 40 CFR 122.23(b)(6)(ii) are met. 
 "Reasonable Measures" [for purposes of]in Subsection 19-5-
105.5(3)(b)(iii) means the measures described in Subsection R317-8-
10.[9]8. 
 "Small AFO" means a lot or facility that is an AFO that 
stables, houses, or confines the type and number of animals that fall 
within any of these ranges: 
 (a)  Beef, calves, heifers, [and/]or veal:  [     ]1-299 
 (b)  Cows (milking and dry):  [     ]1-199 
 (c)  Layers, broilers (wet system):  [     ]1-8,999 
 (d)  Other than layers (dry system):  [     ]1-37,499 
 (e)  Layers (dry system):  [     ]1-24,999 
 (f)  Turkeys:  [     ]1-16,499 
 (g)  Swine (55 pounds or more):  [     ]1-749 
 (h)  Swine (less than 55 pounds):  [     ]1-2,999 
 (i)  Sheep:  [     ]1-2,999 
 (j)  Horses:  [     ]1-149 
 (k)  Ducks (dry system):  [     ]1-9,999 
 (l)  Ducks (wet system):  [     ]1-1,499 

 "Small CAFO" means a[n] Small AFO [that confines the 
number of animals to be classified as a Small AFO, ]where the following 
conditions are met: 
 (a) [ (i)] the Small AFO discharges: 
 (i)  through a man-made ditch, flushing system, or other 
similar man-made device; or 
 (ii) [ the Small AFO discharges ]into surface waters of the 
state which waters originate outside of and pass over, across, or through 
the facility or otherwise come into direct contact with the animals 
confined at the operation; and 
 (b)  the Director has designated the Small AFO as a CAFO 
according to criteria in 40 CFR 122.23(c)[.] after providing written 
notification to the Utah Conservation Commission. 
 "Surface Waters of the State" for purposes under Section 
R317-8-10 means Waters of the State as defined in Subsection R317-8-
1.5[(60)] that are not ground water, except ground water that has 
hydrologic connection to surface waters of the state. 
[ "Technical Standards" means the standards that nutrient 
management plans must meet, as described in R317-8-10.6. 
] 10.3  UPDES Permit Requirement[ and Prohibition on 
Discharge Without a Permit]. 
 (1)  The following animal feeding operations are required to 
apply for a UPDES permit: 
 (a)  Large CAFOs that discharge; 
 (b)  Medium CAFOs; and 
 (c)  Designated CAFOs. 
 (2)  CAFOs with land application discharges are subject to the 
requirements provided in 40 CFR 122.23(e) and 40 CFR 
122.42(e)(1)(xi) through (ix).  CAFOs that do not meet these 
requirements must apply for a UPDES permit. 
 (3)  An[ Small] AFO [may only]shall be designated as a 
CAFO [if:]per the criteria in 40 CFR 122.23(c) 
[ (i)  Pollutants are discharged from the Small AFO into surface 
waters of the state through a man-made ditch, flushing system, or other 
similar man-made device; or 
 (ii)  Pollutants from the Small AFO are discharged directly 
into surface waters of the state which waters originate outside of the 
facility and pass over, across, or through the facility or otherwise come 
into direct contact with the animals confined in the operation. 
 (4)  No AFO or CAFO shall discharge except as authorized 
under a current UPDES permit]. 
 10.4  Timing of UPDES Permit Application. 
 (1)  An animal feeding operation that has an operational 
change that results in a requirement to obtain a UPDES CAFO permit 
shall submit an application no later than 90 days after the time a facility 
has conditions that require CAFO permit coverage. 
 (2)  No later than 180 days before the expiration of a permit, 
or as provided by the Director, a permitted CAFO must submit an 
application to renew its permit in accordance with 40 CFR 122.21(d) 
unless the CAFO will not discharge upon expiration of the permit. 
 (3)  For facilities in operation prior to April 14, 2003 that have 
an operational change where the facility becomes a Large CAFO that 
discharges, or a Medium or Designated CAFO, must seek to obtain 
UPDES permit coverage no later than 90 days after the time a facility 
has conditions that require CAFO permit coverage. 
 (4)  New source CAFOs that require CAFO permit coverage 
and CAFOs constructed after April 14, 2003 that require CAFO permit 
coverage must seek to obtain UPDES CAFO permit coverage no later 
than 180 days prior to the time a facility commences operation with the 
conditions that require CAFO permit coverage. 
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 (5)  A CAFO that is required to obtain an individual permit or 
that is a Designated CAFO, shall apply for a permit within 60 days of 
notification of permit requirement by the Director, unless otherwise 
determined by the Director. 
 10.5  UPDES CAFO Permit Application Requirements. 
 In order to apply for a UPDES CAFO permit, an AFO or 
CAFO shall submit to the Director an application containing the 
information specified in 40 CFR 122.21(i).  Application forms may be 
obtained from the Division of Water Quality.  If the applicant is seeking 
coverage under a general permit, it shall submit a notice of intent and 
nutrient management plan to the Director, along with any information 
required under the general permit. If the Director has not issued a general 
permit for which the AFO or CAFO is eligible, the owner or operator 
must submit an application, including a nutrient management plan, for 
an individual permit to the Director. 
 10.6  [Technical Standards]Nutrient Management Plans. 
 (1)  [The requirements of the Utah Natural Resources 
Conservation Service (Utah NRCS) Practice Standard 590, Nutrient 
Management, dated January 2013, are hereby incorporated by reference 
as the Technical Standards, for purposes of this rule and 40 CFR 
412.4(c)(2).  Implementation of these standards at a facility requires 
evaluation on a field-specific basis.]Nutrient Management Plan (NMP) 
or Comprehensive Nutrient Management Plan (CNMP) content and 
requirements for compliance under this rule will include, as applicable 
and needed for an AFO or CAFO, the following: 
 (a)  the federal requirements incorporated by rule in 
Subsection R317-8-1.10; 
 (b)  the requirements of 40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i) through (ix) 
and the technical standards needed to implement those requirements at 
an AFO or CAFO as specified in rule R317-8-10.7; and 
 (c)  for permitted AFOs and CAFOs, the NMP or CNMP must 
also include and be consistent with the requirements of the UPDES 
permit. 
 (2)  NMPs or CNMPs shall be developed and implemented 
for the following AFOs and CAFOs, as applicable, and must be 
approved by a certified nutrient management planner: 
 (a)  AFOs and CAFOs seeking CAFO permit coverage or 
with CAFO permit coverage; 
 (b)  AFOs and CAFOs with permit by rule coverage; 
 (c)  AFOs and CAFOs with coverage under a compliance 
assistance program approved by the Director for purposes of compliance 
to reasonable measures under Subsection 19-5-105.5(3)(b)(ii); 
 (d)  AFOs and CAFOs participating in the ACES Program; 
 (e)  AFOs and CAFOs seeking to receive grant or loan 
funding through a division funding program; and 
 (f)  AFOs and CAFOs under an enforcement action issued by 
the Director. 
 (3)  NMPs or CNMPs for AFOs and CAFOs listed in 
Subsections R317-8-10.6(2)(a), (e), and (f), shall be signed or stamped 
by a Utah Professional Engineer or signed by a Natural Resources 
Conservation Service employee/engineer with proper engineering job 
approval authority delegated from the Natural Resources Conservation 
Service, when new or existing structures or facilities need to be 
designed, constructed or substantially altered at an AFO's or CAFO's 
production area or land application area. 
 10.7  [Nutrient Management Plans]Technical Standards. 
 (1)  [An AFO or CAFO with a UPDES permit, and as 
provided in R317-8-10.9, shall have a facility-specific nutrient 
management plan (NMP).  On a field-specific basis, NMPs for 
permitted facilities shall comply with the requirements and standards 
specified in: 
 (a)  R317-8-10; 

 (b)  Applicable federal regulations incorporated by reference 
in R317-8-1.10 and also specified in R317-8-10.1; 
 (c)  The requirements of 40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i) through (viii) 
and the practices and protocols that are required to be identified in those 
provisions; 
 (d)  Technical Standards in R317-8-10.6; and 
 (e)  nutrient management plan requirements in the UPDES 
permit.]Technical standards for NMP or CNMP preparation, content, 
and implementation are: 
 (a)  the practices, standards, and requirements of the Utah 
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Practice Standard 
590, Nutrient Management, dated October 2019 and the Utah Manure 
Application Risk Index (UMARI); and 
 (b)  the NRCS practice standards, policies, specifications, and 
best management practices needed for NMP or CNMP preparation, 
content, or implementation for compliance with 40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i) 
through (ix), as needed for a specific AFO or CAFO. 
 (2)  [An NMP for permitted facilities shall be approved by an 
NRCS certified planner.]Implementation of these standards requires 
evaluation and nutrient management planning specific to each 
individual AFO or CAFO. 
 10.8  [Requirement to Comply with a Permit. 
 In addition to the requirements of this rule, a UPDES CAFO 
Permittee shall comply with all permit requirements. 
 10.9  ]Reasonable Measures for Large Weather Events and 
Agriculture Discharges. 
 (1)  As provided in Subsection 19-5-105.5(3)(b)(iii), no 
penalty shall apply with respect to an agriculture discharge resulting 
from a large weather event if the agriculture producer has taken 
reasonable measures to prevent an agriculture discharge. 
 (2)  An AFO or CAFO will be considered to have taken 
reasonable measures[, for purposes of] as provided by Subsection 19-5-
105.5(3)(b)(iii), if it has [obtained and is in compliance with a UPDES 
CAFO permit.]implemented a NMP or CNMP according to Subsection 
R317-8-10.6, as applicable to an AFO or CAFO, and is participating in 
any of the following: 
 ([3]a)  [A CAFO that is not required to obtain a UPDES 
permit and that has experienced an agriculture discharge from its land 
application areas resulting from a large weather event, will be 
considered to have taken reasonable measures if: 
 (a)  It has obtained and is in compliance with a site-specific 
NMP that implements Technical Standards and the requirements of 40 
CFR 122.42(e)(1)(vi) through (viii), and the practices and protocols 
identified under those provisions]a UPDES CAFO permit; 
 (b)  [It has kept records adequate to demonstrate that it has 
met the requirements in paragraph (3), and has provided copies of those 
records to the Director upon request; and]permit by rule as outlined in 
Subsection R317-10.8(3); 
 (c)  [It has provided one-time notification to the Division that 
it has implemented reasonable measures under this part 10.9.]a 
compliance assistance program approved by the Director; or 
 (d)  the ACES Program. 
 ([4]3)  [An AFO that is not a CAFO will be considered to have 
taken reasonable measures if it has obtained and is in compliance with a 
permit by rule.  ]An AFO will be permitted by rule if: 
 (a)  [(i)  I]it has obtained and is in compliance with a site-
specific NMP that implements Technical Standards and the 
requirements of 40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i) through (viii), and the practices 
and protocols identified under those provisions;[ or 
 (ii)  It has received and is in compliance with the requirements 
of a Certificate of Environmental Stewardship under an Approved 
Agriculture Environmental Stewardship Program; and] 
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 (b)  [I]it keeps records adequate to demonstrate that it has met 
the requirements in [this paragraph (4)]Subsection R317-8-10.8(3) and 
has, upon request, made those records available for review by the 
Director or the Director's representative; and 
 (c)  [(i)  For a facility permitted by rule under 10.9(4)(a)(i), 
]the facility has provided to the Director a notice of intent to be covered 
by this permit by rule provision and has confirmed that it is meeting the 
requirements of [paragraphs (4)(a) and (b)]Subsection R317-8-10(3)[; 
or 
 (ii)  For a facility permitted by rule under 10.9(4)(a)(ii), the 
facility has provided to the Director a copy of the Certificate of 
Environmental Stewardship issued by the Utah Conservation 
Commission]. 
 
KEY:  water pollution, discharge permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April 1, 
2020]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  September 12, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-5; [19-5-
104; 40 CFR 503; 40 CFR 124]40 CFR 122; 40 CFR 124; 40 CFR 
412; 40 CFR 503 
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53244 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Lisa Stevens 801-

536-
4386 

LStevens@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R317-8.  Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(UPDES) 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The rule change is being initiated in response to H.B. 226 
which was passed in the 2020 General Session.  Its intent 
is to make the storm water rules and permits consistent.  
In addition, this rule change is designed to: 
 

1.  reorganize storm water rules making them easier to 
locate and increase readability, 
 
2.  remove inaccuracies; and 
 
3.  correct outdated references. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Storm water rules are currently split up in Subsections 
R317-8-3(3.9), R317-8-4(4.1)(15)(c), and R317-8-
4(4.2)(18).  The proposed amendments move the text into 
a new Section R317-8-11 dedicated to storm water to 
make access and review easier. 
 
Subsection R317-8-1(1.6) was changed to update 
references to text that was previously in Subsection R317-
8-3(3.9) and was moved to Section R317-8-11.  A definition 
for Maximum Extent Practicable (MEP) was added since 
this term is used in rule.  This definition is based on the 
federal clean water act and matches the definition in 
existing storm water permits. 
 
Subsections R317-8-1(1.10), R317-8-3(3.1), R317-8-
3(3.2), R317-8-3(3.4), and R317-8-3(3.5) were changed to 
update references to text that was previously in 
Subsection R317-8-3(3.9) and was moved to Section 
R317-8-11. 
 
Section R317-8-11, Municipal, Industrial, and Construction 
Storm Water Discharges, was created with the text from 
Subsections R317-8-3(3.9), R317-8-4(4.1)(15)(c), and 
R317-8-4(4.2)(18) with the following major modifications: 
 
1.  Added Subsection R317-8-11(11.1) that describes rule 
applicability. 
 
2.  Added Subsection R317-8-11(11.2) that references the 
storm water definitions in Subsection R317-8-1(1.6). 
 
3.  Reordered subsections to improve readability. 
 
4.  Separated the requirements for large construction 
activities that are greater than five acres from industrial 
activities. 
 
5.  Combined small and large construction activities.  
Requirements were combined where possible because 
they are permitted the same. 
 
6.  Combined large, medium, and small municipal 
separate storm sewer system (MS4) requirements where 
possible since they are permitted in the same fashion.  
 
7.  Updated references of Executive Secretary to Director. 
 
8.  Removed outdated text that did not accurately reflect 
current practices. 
 
9.  Updated all references for moved content. 
 
10.  Corrected references that were incorrect. 
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11.  Modified text to meet Office of Administrative Rules 
requirements (removal of superfluous phrases such as 
"the provisions of" before a citation, removal of the term 
and/or, etc.). 
 
12.  Added retention requirements that are currently in 
municipal storm water discharge permits. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
None--The proposed amendments do not change any 
requirements or procedures.  They reflect the 
requirements and procedures that are currently in the 
existing storm water discharge permits.  Therefore, they 
would have no net effect on the state budget or the budget 
of the Utah Division of Water Quality. 
 
B) Local governments: 

None--The proposed amendments do not change any 
requirements or procedures.  They reflect the 
requirements and procedures that are currently in the 
existing storm water discharge permits with no anticipated 
cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
None--The proposed amendments do not change any 
requirements or procedures.  They reflect the 
requirements and procedures that are currently in the 
existing storm water discharge permits with no anticipated 
cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--The proposed amendments do not change any 
requirements or procedures.  They reflect the 
requirements and procedures that are currently in the 
existing storm water discharge permits with no anticipated 
cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--The proposed amendments do not change any 
requirements or procedures.  They reflect the 
requirements and procedures that are currently in the 
existing storm water discharge permits with no anticipated 
cost or savings to other persons. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

None--The proposed amendments do not change any 

requirements or procedures.  They reflect the 
requirements and procedures that are currently in the 
existing storm water discharge permits with no anticipated 
cost or savings for affected persons. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality, L. Scott Baird, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal rule analysis and fiscal information. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
Since this amendment is not incorporating any new 
requirements, but merely reorganizing, clarifying, and 
putting into rule the current permit requirements, there 
should be no fiscal impact to any businesses. 
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B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Scott Baird, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Title 19, Chapter 5 40 CFR 122 40 CFR 123 
40 CFR 124 40 CFR 503  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Erica B. Gaddis,  
Director 

Date: 12/10/2020 

 
R317.  Environmental Quality, Water Quality. 
R317-8.  Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (UPDES). 
R317-8-1.  General Provisions and Definitions. 
 1.1  COMPARABILITY WITH THE CWA.  The UPDES 
rules promulgated pursuant to the Utah Water Quality Act are intended 
to be compatible with the Federal regulations adopted pursuant to CWA. 
 1.2  CONFLICTING PROVISIONS.  The provisions of the 
UPDES rules are to be construed as being compatible with and 
complementary to each other.  In the event that any of these rules are 
found by a court of competent jurisdiction to be contradictory, the more 
stringent provisions shall apply. 
 1.3  SEVERABILITY.  In the event that any provision of 
these rules is found to be invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, 
the remaining UPDES rules shall not be affected or diminished thereby. 

 1.4  ADMINISTRATION OF THE UPDES PROGRAM.  
The Director has responsibility for the administration of the UPDES 
program, including pretreatment.  The responsibility for the program is 
delegated to the Director in accordance with UCA Subsection 19-5-
104(11) and UCA Subsection 19-5-107(2)(a).  The Director has the 
responsibility for issuance, denial, modification, revocation and 
enforcement of UPDES permits, including general permits, Federal 
facilities permits, and sludge permits; and approval and enforcement 
authority for the pretreatment program. 
 1.5  DEFINITIONS.  The following terms have the meaning 
as set forth unless a different meaning clearly appears from the context 
or unless a different meaning is stated in a definition applicable to only 
a portion of these rules: 
 (1)  "Administrator" means the Administrator of the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency, or an authorized 
representative. 
 (2)  "Applicable standards and limitations" means all 
standards and limitations to which a discharge, a sewage sludge use or 
disposal practice, or a related activity is subject under Subsection 19-5-
104(6) of the Utah Water Quality Act and rules promulgated pursuant 
thereto, including but not limited to effluent limitations, water quality 
standards, standards of performance, toxic effluent standards or 
prohibitions, best management practices, pretreatment standards, and 
standards for sewage sludge use or disposal. 
 (3)  "Application" means the forms available from the 
Division, which are the same as the EPA standard NPDES forms, for 
applying for a UPDES permit, including any additions, revisions or 
modifications. 
 (4)  "Average monthly discharge limit" means the highest 
allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar month, calculated 
as the sum of all daily discharge measured during a calendar month 
divided by the number of daily discharges measured during the month. 
 (5)  "Average weekly discharge limit" means the highest 
allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar week, calculated 
as the sum of all daily discharges measured during a calendar week 
divided by the number of daily discharges measured during that week. 
 (6)  "Best management practices (BMPs)" means schedules 
of activities, prohibitions of practices, maintenance procedures, and 
other management practices to prevent or reduce the pollution of waters 
of the state.  BMPs also include treatment requirements, operating 
procedures, practices to control plant site runoff, spillage or leaks, 
sludge or waste disposal or drainage from raw material storage. 
 (7)  "Class I sludge management facility" means any POTW 
required to have an approved pretreatment program under R317-8-8 and 
any other treatment works treating domestic sewage classified as a Class 
I sludge management facility by the Director, because of the potential 
for its sludge use or disposal practices to adversely affect public health 
and the environment. 
 (8)  "Continuous discharge" means a discharge which occurs 
without interruption throughout the operating hours of the facility, 
except for infrequent shutdowns for maintenance, process changes, or 
other similar activities. 
 (9)  "CWA" means the Clean Water Act as subsequently 
amended (33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq.). 
 (10)  "Daily discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant 
measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour period that reasonably 
represents the calendar day for purposes of sampling.  For pollutants 
with limitations expressed in units of mass, the daily discharge is 
calculated as the total mass of the pollutant discharged over the day.  For 
pollutants with limitations expressed in other units of measurement, the 
daily discharge is calculated as the average measurement of the pollutant 
over the day. 
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 (11)  "Direct discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant. 
 (12)  "Discharge of a pollutant" means any addition of any 
pollutants to "waters of the State" from any "point source."  This 
definition includes additions of pollutants into waters of the State from: 
surface runoff which is collected or channeled by man; discharges 
through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances owned by the State, a 
municipality, or other person which do not lead to a treatment works; 
and discharges through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances, leading into 
privately owned treatment works.  This term does not include an 
addition of pollutants by any "indirect discharger." 
 (13)  "Economic impact consideration" means the reasonable 
consideration given by the Director to the economic impact of water 
pollution control on industry and agriculture; provided, however, that 
such consideration shall be consistent and in compliance with the CWA 
and EPA promulgated regulations. 
 (14)  "Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR)" means EPA 
uniform national form or equivalent State form, including any 
subsequent additions, revisions or modifications, for the reporting of 
self-monitoring results by permittees. 
 (15)  "Draft permit" means a document prepared under R317-
8-6.3 indicating the Director's preliminary decision to issue or deny, 
modify, revoke and reissue, terminate, or reissue a permit.  A notice of 
intent to terminate a permit, and a notice of intent to deny a permit are 
types of draft permits.  A denial of a request for modification, revocation 
and reissuance, or termination as provided in R317-8-5.6 is not a draft 
permit.  A proposed permit prepared after the close of the public 
comment period is not a draft permit. 
 (16)  "Effluent limitation" means any restriction imposed by 
the Director on quantities, discharge rates, and concentrations of 
pollutants which are discharged from point sources into waters of the 
State. 
 (17)  "Effluent limitations guidelines" means a regulation 
published by the Administrator under section 304(b) of CWA to adopt 
or revise effluent limitations. 
 (18)  "Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)" means the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency. 
 (19)  "Facility or activity" means any UPDES point source, or 
any other facility or activity, including land or appurtenances thereto, 
that is subject to regulation under the UPDES program. 
 (20)  "General permit" means any UPDES permit authorizing 
a category of discharges within a geographical area, and issued under 
R317-8-2.5. 
 (21)  "Hazardous substance" means any substance designated 
under 40 CFR Part 116. 
 (22)  "Indirect discharge" means a nondomestic discharger 
introducing pollutants to a publicly owned treatment works. 
 (23)  "Interstate agency" means an agency of which Utah and 
one or more states is a member, established by or under an agreement or 
compact, or any other agency, of which Utah and one or more other 
states are members, having substantial powers or duties pertaining to the 
control of pollutants. 
 (24)  "Major facility" means any UPDES facility or activity 
classified as such by the Director in conjunction with the Regional 
Administrator. 
 (25)  "Maximum daily discharge limitation" means the 
highest allowable daily discharge. 
 (26)  "Municipality" means a city, town, district, county, or 
other public body created by or under the State law and having 
jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes.  
For purposes of these rules, an agency designated by the Governor under 
Section 208 of the CWA is also considered to be a municipality. 

 (27)  "National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(NPDES)" means the national program for issuing, modifying, revoking 
and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits, and 
imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements under Sections 307, 
402, 318 and 405 of the CWA. 
 (28)  "New discharger" means any building, structure, facility, 
or installation: 
 (a)  From which there is or may be a "discharge of pollutants;" 
 (b)  That did not commence the "discharge of pollutants" at a 
particular "site" prior to August 13, 1979; 
 (c)  Which is not a "new source;" and 
 (d)  Which has never received a finally effective UPDES 
permit for discharges at that "site." 
 This definition includes an "indirect discharger" which 
commenced discharging into waters of the state after August 13, 1979. 
 (29)  "New source" means any building, structure, facility, or 
installation from which there is or may be a direct or indirect discharge 
of pollutants, the construction of which commenced; 
 (a)  After promulgation of EPA's standards of performance 
under Section 306 of CWA which are applicable to such source, or 
 (b)  After proposal of Federal standards of performance in 
accordance with Section 306 of CWA which are applicable to such 
source, but only if the Federal standards are promulgated in accordance 
with Section 306 within 120 days of their proposal. 
 (30)  "Non-continuous or batch discharge" for a discharge to 
be considered a non-continuous or batch discharge the following must 
apply: 
 (a)  Frequency of a non-continuous or batch discharge: 
 i.  shall not occur more than once every three (3) weeks, 
 ii.  shall not be more than once during the three (3) weeks and 
 iii.  shall not exceed 24 hours; 
 (b)  Shall not cause a slug load at the POTW. 
 (31)  "Owner or operator" means the owner or operator of any 
facility or activity subject to regulation under the UPDES program. 
 (32)  "Permit" means an authorization, license, or equivalent 
control document issued by the Director to implement the requirements 
of the UPDES rules. "Permit" includes a UPDES "general permit." The 
term does not include any document which has not yet been the subject 
of final agency action, such as a draft permit or a proposed permit. 
 (33)  "Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, company or body politic, including any agency or 
instrumentality of the United States government. 
 (34)  "Point source" means any discernible, confined, and 
discrete conveyance, including but not limited to any pipe, ditch, 
channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, rolling stock, 
concentrated animal feeding operation, landfill leachate collection 
system, vessel or other floating craft, from which pollutants are or may 
be discharged.  This term does not include agricultural storm-water 
runoff or return flows from irrigated agriculture. 
 (35)  "Pollutant" means, for the purpose of these rules, 
dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator residue, filter backwash, sewage, 
garbage, sewage sludge, munitions, chemical wastes, biological 
materials, radioactive materials (except those regulated under the 
Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended (42 U.S.C. 2011 et seq.)), heat, 
wrecked or discarded equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt and industrial, 
municipal, and agricultural waste discharged into water.  It does not 
mean: 
 (a)  Sewage from vessels; or 
 (b)  Water, gas, or other material which is injected into a well 
to facilitate production of oil or gas, or water derived in association with 
oil and gas production and disposed of in a well, if the well used either 
to facilitate production or for disposal purposes is approved by authority 
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of the State in which the well is located, and if the State determines that 
the injection or disposal will not result in the degradation of ground or 
surface water resources. 
 (36)  "Pollution" means any man-made or man-induced 
alteration of the chemical, physical, biological, or radiological integrity 
of any waters of the State, unless such alteration is necessary for the 
public health and safety.  Alterations which are not consistent with the 
requirements of the CWA and implementing regulations shall not be 
deemed to be alterations necessary for the public health and safety.  A 
discharge not in accordance with Utah Water Quality Standards, stream 
classification, and UPDES permit requirements, including technology-
based standards shall be deemed to be pollution. 
 (37)  "Primary industry category" means any industry 
category listed in R317-8-3.11. 
 (38)  "Privately owned treatment works" means any device or 
system which is used to treat wastes from any facility whose operator is 
not the operator of the treatment works and which is not a POTW. 
 (39)  "Process wastewater" means any water which, during 
manufacturing or processing, comes into direct contact with or results 
from the production or use of any raw material, intermediate product, 
finished product, byproduct, or waste product. 
 (40)  "Proposed permit" means a UPDES permit prepared 
after the close of the public comment period and, when applicable, any 
public hearing and adjudicative proceedings, which is sent to EPA for 
review before final issuance by the Director.  A proposed permit is not a 
draft permit. 
 (41)  "Publicly-owned treatment works" (POTW) means any 
facility for the treatment of pollutants owned by the State, its political 
subdivisions, or other public entity.  For the purposes of these rules, 
POTW includes sewers, pipes or other conveyances conveying 
wastewater to a POTW providing treatment, treatment of pollutants 
includes recycling and reclamation, and pollutants refers to municipal 
sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. 
 (42)  "Recommencing discharger" means a source which 
resumes discharge after terminating operation. 
 (43)  "Regional Administrator" means the Regional 
Administrator of the Region VIII office of the EPA or the authorized 
representative of the Regional Administrator. 
 (44)  "Schedule of compliance" means a schedule of remedial 
measures included in a permit, including an enforceable sequence of 
interim requirements leading to compliance with the Utah Water Quality 
Act and rules promulgated pursuant thereto. 
 (45)  "Secondary industry category" means any industry 
category which is not a primary industry category. 
 (46)  "Septage" means the liquid and solid material pumped 
from a septic tank, cesspool, or similar domestic sewage treatment 
system, or a holding tank when the system is cleaned or maintained. 
 (47)  "Seven (7) consecutive day discharge limit" means the 
highest allowable average of daily discharges over a seven (7) 
consecutive day period. 
 (48)  "Sewage from vessels" means human body wastes and 
the wastes from toilets and other receptacles intended to receive or retain 
body wastes that are discharged from vessels and regulated under 
Section 312 of CWA. 
 (49)  "Sewage sludge" means any solid, semi-solid, or liquid 
residue removed during the treatment of municipal wastewater or 
domestic sewage.  Sewage sludge includes, but is not limited to, solids 
removed during primary, secondary or advanced wastewater treatment, 
scum, septage, portable toilet dumpings, type III marine sanitation 
device pumpings, and sewage sludge products.  Sewage sludge does not 
include grit or screenings, or ash generated during the incineration of 
sewage sludge. 

 (50)  "Sewage sludge use or disposal practice" means the 
collection, storage, treatment, transportation, processing, monitoring, 
use, or disposal of sewage sludge. 
 (51)  "Site" means the land or water area where any "facility 
or activity" is physically located or conducted, including adjacent land 
used in connection with the facility or activity. 
 (52)  "Sludge-only facility" means any treatment works 
treating domestic sewage whose methods of sewage sludge use or 
disposal are subject to rules promulgated pursuant to Section 19-5-104 
of the Utah Water Quality Act and which is required to obtain a permit 
under R317-8-2.1. 
 (53)  "Standards for sewage sludge use or disposal" means the 
rules promulgated pursuant to Section 19-5-104 of the Utah Water 
Quality Act which govern minimum requirements for sludge quality, 
management practices, and monitoring and reporting applicable to 
sewage sludge or the use or disposal of sewage sludge by any person. 
 (54)  "State/EPA Agreement" means an agreement between 
the State and the Regional Administrator which coordinates State and 
EPA activities, responsibilities and programs, including those under the 
CWA programs. 
 (55)  "Thirty (30) consecutive day discharge limit" means the 
highest allowable average of daily discharges over a thirty (30) 
consecutive day period. 
 (56)  "Toxic pollutant" means any pollutant listed as toxic in 
R317-8-7.6 or, in the case of sludge use or disposal practices, any 
pollutant identified as toxic in State adopted rules for the disposal of 
sewage sludge. 
 (57)  "Treatment works treating domestic sewage" means a 
POTW or any other sewage sludge or waste water treatment devices or 
systems, regardless of ownership (including federal facilities), used in 
the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of municipal or 
domestic sewage, including land dedicated for the disposal of sewage 
sludge.  This definition does not include septic tanks or similar devices.  
For purposes of this definition, "domestic sewage" includes waste and 
waste water from humans or household operations that are discharged 
to or otherwise enter a treatment works. 
 (58)  "Variance" means any mechanism or provision under the 
UPDES rules which allows modification to or waiver of the generally 
applicable effluent limitation requirements or time deadlines. 
 (59)  "Waters of the State" means all streams, lakes, ponds, 
marshes, watercourses, waterways, wells, springs, irrigation systems, 
drainage systems, and all other bodies or accumulations of water, 
surface and underground, natural or artificial, public or private, which 
are contained within, flow through, or border upon this State or any 
portion thereof, except that bodies of water confined to and retained 
within the limits of private property, and which do not develop into or 
constitute a nuisance, or a public health hazard, or a menace to fish or 
wildlife, shall not be considered to be "waters of the State."  The 
exception for confined bodies of water does not apply to any waters 
which meet the definition of "waters of the United States" under 40 CFR 
122.2.  Waters are considered to be confined to and retained within the 
limits of private property only if there is no discharge or seepage to 
either surface water or groundwater.  Waters of the State includes 
"wetlands" as defined in the Federal Clean Water Act. 
 (60)  "Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 
saturated by surface or groundwater at a frequency and duration 
sufficient to support, and that under normal circumstance do support, a 
prevalence of vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil 
conditions.  Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 
similar areas. 
 (61)  "Whole effluent toxicity" means the aggregate toxic 
effect of an effluent as measured directly by a toxicity test. 
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 (62)  "Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(UPDES)" means the State-wide program for issuing, modifying, 
revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits, 
and imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements under the Utah 
Water Quality Act. 
 1.6  DEFINITIONS APPLICABLE TO STORM-WATER 
DISCHARGES. 
 (1)  "Co-Permittee" means a permittee to a UPDES permit 
that is only responsible for permit conditions relating to the discharge 
for which it is operator. 
 (2)  "Illicit discharge" means any discharge to a municipal 
separate storm sewer that is not composed entirely of storm water except 
discharges pursuant to a UPDES permit (other than the UPDES permit 
for discharges from the municipal separate storm sewer) and discharges 
resulting from fire fighting activities. 
 (3)  "Incorporated place" means a city or town that is 
incorporated under the laws of Utah. 
 (4)  "Large municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 
municipal separate storm sewers that are: 
 (a)  Located in an incorporated place with a population of 
250,000 or more as determined by the 1990 Decennial Census by the 
Bureau of Census; or 
 (b)  Located in counties with unincorporated urbanized areas 
with a population of 250,000 or more according to the 1990 Decennial 
Census by the Bureau of Census, except municipal separate storm 
sewers that are located in the incorporated places, townships or towns 
within the County; or 
 (c)  Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 
described in R317-8-1.6(4)(a) or (b) and that are designated by the 
Director as part of a large or medium municipal separate storm sewer 
system. See R317-8-[3.9]11.3(6)(a) for provisions regarding this 
definition. 
 (5)  "Major municipal separate storm sewer outfall" (or 
"major outfall") means a municipal separate storm sewer outfall that 
discharges from a single pipe with an inside diameter of 36 inches or 
more or its equivalent (discharge from a single conveyance other than 
circular pipe which is associated with a drainage area of more than 50 
acres); or for municipal separate storm sewers that receive storm water 
from lands zoned for industrial activity (based on comprehensive zoning 
plans or the equivalent), an outfall that discharges from a single pipe 
with an inside diameter of 12 inches or more or from its equivalent 
(discharge from other than a circular pipe associated with a drainage area 
of 2 acres or more). 
 (6)  "Major outfall" means a major municipal separate storm 
sewer outfall. 
 (7)  "Maximum Extent Practicable" (MEP) means the 
technology-based discharge standard for Municipal Separate Storm 
Sewer Systems established by paragraph 402(p)(3)(B)(iii) of the Federal 
Clean Water Act (CWA), which states that permits for discharges from 
municipal storm sewers shall require controls to reduce the discharge of 
pollutants to the maximum extent practicable, including management 
practices, control techniques, and system, design, and engineering 
methods, and other such provisions as the Administrator or the State 
determines appropriate for the control of such pollutants. 
 ([7]8)  "Medium municipal separate storm sewer system" 
means all municipal separate storm sewers that are: 
 (a)  Located in an incorporated place with a population of 
100,000 or more but less than 250,000, as determined by the 1990 
Decennial Census by the Bureau of Census; 
 (b)  Located in counties with unincorporated urbanized areas 
with a population greater than 100,000 but less than 250,000 as 

determined by the 1990 Decennial Census by the Bureau of the Census; 
or 
 (c)  Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 
described in R317-8-1.6(4)(a) and (b) and that are designated by the 
Director as part of the large or medium municipal separate storm sewer 
system. See R317-8-[3.9]11.3(6)(b) for provisions regarding this 
definition. 
 ([8]9)  "MS4" means a municipal separate storm sewer 
system. 
 ([9]10)  "Municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 
separate storm sewers that are defined as "large" or "medium" or "small" 
municipal separate storm sewer systems pursuant to paragraphs R317-
8-1.6(4), ([7]8), and (1[4]5) of this section, or designated under 
paragraph R317-8-[3.9]11.3(1)(a)[5]6 of this section. 
 (1[0]1)  "Outfall" means a point source at the point where a 
municipal separate storm sewer discharges to waters of the State and 
does not include open conveyances connecting two municipal separate 
storm sewers, or pipes, tunnels or other conveyances which connect 
segments of the same stream or other waters of the State and are used to 
convey waters of the State. 
 (1[1]2)  "Overburden" means any material of any nature, 
consolidated or unconsolidated, that overlies a mineral deposit, 
excluding topsoil or similar naturally occurring surface materials that 
are not disturbed by mining operations. 
 (1[2]3)  "Runoff coefficient" means the fraction of total 
rainfall that will appear at a conveyance as runoff. 
 (1[3]4)  "Significant materials" means, but is not limited to: 
raw materials; fuels; materials such as solvents, detergents, and plastic 
pellets; finished materials such as metallic products; raw materials used 
in food processing or production; hazardous substances designated 
under section 101(14) of CERCLA: any chemical the facility is required 
to report pursuant to section 313 of Title III of SARA: fertilizers; 
pesticides; and waste products such as ashes, slag and sludge that have 
the potential to be released with storm water discharges. 
 (1[4]5)  "Small municipal separate storm sewer system" 
means all separate storm sewers that are: 
 (a)  Owned or operated by the United States, State of Utah, 
city, town, county, district, association, or other public body (created by 
or pursuant to State law) having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, 
industrial waste, storm water, or other wastes, including special districts 
under State law such as a sewer district, flood control district or drainage 
district, or similar entity, or a designated and approved management 
agency under section 208 of the CWA that discharges to waters of the 
State. 
 (b)  Not defined as "large" or "medium" municipal separate 
storm sewer system pursuant to paragraphs R317-8-1.6(4) and ([7]8) of 
this section, or designated under paragraph R317-8-[3.9]11.3(1)(a)[5]6 
of this section. 
 (c)  This term includes systems similar to separate storm 
sewer systems in municipalities, such as systems at military bases, large 
hospital or prison complexes, and highways and other thoroughfares.  
The term does not include separate storm sewers in very discrete areas, 
such as individual buildings. 
 (1[5]6)  "Small MS4" means a small municipal separate storm 
sewer system. 
 (1[6]7)  "Storm water" means storm water runoff, snow melt 
runoff, and surface runoff and drainage. 
 (1[7]8)  "Storm water discharge associated with industrial 
activity" means the discharge from any conveyance which is directly 
related to manufacturing, processing or raw materials storage areas at an 
industrial plant.  The term does not include discharges from facilities or 
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activities excluded from the UPDES program.  See R317-8-
[3.9]11.3(6)(c) and (d) for provisions applicable to this definition. 
 (1[8]9)  "Uncontrolled sanitary landfill means a landfill or 
open dump, whether in operation or closed, that does not meet the 
requirements for runon or runoff controls established pursuant to subtitle 
D of the Solid Waste Disposal Act. 
 1.7  ABBREVIATIONS AND ACRONYMS.  The following 
abbreviations and acronyms, as used throughout the UPDES rules, shall 
have the meaning given below: 
 (1)  "BAT" means best available technology economically 
achievable; 
 (2)  "BCT" means best conventional pollutant control 
technology; 
 (3)  "BMPs" means best management practices; 
 (4)  "BOD" means biochemical oxygen demands; 
 (5)  "BPT" means best practicable technology currently 
available; 
 (6)  "CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations; 
 (7)  "COD" means chemical oxygen demand; 
 (8)  "CWA" means the Federal Clean Water Act; 
 (9)  "DMR" means discharge monitoring report; 
 (10)  "NPDES" means National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System; 
 (11)  "POTW" means publicly owned treatment works; 
 (12)  "SIC" means standard industrial classification; 
 (13)  "TDS" means total dissolved solids; 
 (14)  "TSS" means total suspended solids; 
 (15)  "UPDES" means Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System; 
 (16)  "UWQB" means the Utah Water Quality Board; 
 (17)  "WET" means whole effluent toxicity. 
 1.8  UPGRADE AND RECLASSIFICATION.  Upgrading or 
reclassification of waters of the State by the Utah Water Quality Board 
may be done periodically, but only using procedures and in a manner 
consistent with the requirements of State and Federal law. 
 1.9  PUBLIC PARTICIPATION. The Division will 
investigate and provide written response to all citizen complaints.  In 
addition, the Director shall not oppose intervention in any civil or 
administrative proceeding by any citizen where permissive intervention 
may be authorized by statute, rule or regulation.  The Director will 
publish notice of and provide at least 30 days for public comment on 
any proposed settlement of any enforcement action. 
 1.10  INCORPORATION OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS 
BY REFERENCE. The State adopts the following Federal standards 
and procedures, effective as of December 8, 1999 unless otherwise 
noted, which are incorporated by reference: 
 (1)  40 CFR 129 (Toxic Effluent Standards) with the 
following exceptions: 
 (a)  Substitute "UPDES" for all federal regulation references 
to "NPDES". 
 (b)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "State Director". 
 (c)  Substitute "R317-8-4.4, R317-8-6, and R317-8-7" for all 
federal regulation references to "40 CFR Parts 124 and 125". 
 (2)  40 CFR 133 (Secondary Treatment Regulation) with the 
following exceptions: 
 (a)  40 CFR 133.102 for which R317-1-3.2 is substituted. 
 (b)  40 CFR 133.105. 
 (c)  Substitute "UPDES" or "Utah Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System" for all federal regulation references for "NPDES" 
or "National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System", respectively. 

 (d)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "State Director" in 40 CFR 133.103. 
 (3)  40 CFR 136 (Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for 
the Analysis of Pollutants) 
 (4)  40 CFR 403.6 (National Pretreatment Standards and 
Categorical Standards), effective as of May 16, 2008, with the following 
exception: 
 (a)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "Director". 
 (5)  40 CFR 403.7, effective as of May 16, 2008, (Removal 
Credits) 
 (6)  40 CFR 403.13, effective as of May 16, 2008, (Variances 
from Categorical Pretreatment Standards for Fundamentally Different 
Factors) 
 (7)  40 CFR Parts 405 through 411 
 (8)  40 CFR Part 412, effective as of July 30, 2012, with the 
following changes: 
 (a)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "Director". 
 (b)  Substitute "UPDES" for all federal regulation references 
to "NPDES". 
 (c)  Substitute "surface waters" of the state for all federal 
regulation references to "surface water," "waters of the United States," 
"navigable waters," or "U.S. waters." 
 (9)  40 CFR Parts 413 through 471 
 (10)  40 CFR 503 (Standards for the Use or Disposal of 
Sewage Sludge), effective as of the date that responsibility for 
implementation of the federal Sludge Management Program is 
delegated to the State except as provided in R317-1-6.4, with the 
following changes: 
 (a)  Substitute Director of the Division of Water Quality for 
all federal regulation references to "Director". 
 (11)  40 CFR 122.30 
 (12)  40 CFR 122.32 
 (a)  In 122.32(a)(2), replace the reference 122.26(f) with 
Subsection R317-8-[3.9]11.3(5). 
 (13)  40 CFR 122.33 
 (a)  In 122.33(b)(2)(i), replace the reference 122.21(f) with 
R317-8-3.1(6). 
 (b)  In 122.33(b)(2)(i), replace the reference 122.21(f)(7) with 
R317-8-3.1(6)(g). 
 (c)  In 122.33(b)(2)(ii), replace the reference 122.26(d)(1) and 
(2) with Subsection R317-8-[3.9]11.3(3)(a)[ and (b)] 
 (d)  In 122.33(b)(3), replace the reference 122.26 with R317-
8. 
 (e)  In 122.33(b)(3), replace the reference 122.26(d)(1)(iii) 
and (iv); and (d)(2)(iv) with Subsections R317-8-
[3.9(3)(a)3]11.3(4)(b)2 and [4]6; and (3)(b)[4]. 
 (14)  40 CFR 122.34 
[ (a)  In 122.34(a), replace the reference 122.26(d) with R317-
8-3.9(3). 
 (b)  In 122.34(b)(3)(i), replace the reference 122.26(d)(2) with 
R317-8-3.9(3)(b).] 
 ([c]a)  In 122.34(b)(4)(i), replace the reference 
122.26(b)(15)(i) with Subsection R317-8-[3.9]11.3(6)(e)1. 
 ([d]b)  In 122.34(f), replace the references 122.41 through 
122.49 with R317-8-4.1 through R317-8-5.4. 
 ([e]c)  In 122.34(g)(2), replace the reference 122.7 with R317-
8-3.3. 
 (15)  40 CFR 122.35 
 (a)  In 122.35, replace the reference 122 with R317-8. 
 (16)  40 CFR 122.36 
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 (17)  For the references R317-8-1.10(12), (13), (14), (15), and 
(16), make the following substitutions: 
 (a)  Substitute the Director of the Division of Water Quality 
for the "NPDES permitting authority" 
 (b)  Substitute "UPDES" for "NPDES" 
 (18)  Effective as of July 30, 2012, 40 CFR 122.21(i) 
Application requirements for new and existing concentrated animal 
feeding operations and aquatic animal production facilities, 40 CFR 
122.23 Concentrated animal feeding operations, 40 CFR 122.28(b)(2) 
Authorization to discharge, 40 CFR 122.42(e) Additional conditions 
applicable to specified categories of NPDES permits, 40 CFR 
122.62(a)(17) Modification or revocation and reissuance of permits, 
Nutrient Management Plans, and 40 CFR 122.63(h) Minor modification 
of permits, changes to the terms of a CAFO's Nutrient Management 
Plan, with the following substitutions: 
 (a)  Substitute "Director of the Division of Water Quality" for 
all federal regulation references to "Director" or "State Director". 
 (b)  Substitute "UPDES" for all federal regulation references 
to "NPDES". 
 (c)  Substitute "surface waters of the state" for all federal 
regulation references to "surface water," "waters of the United States," 
"navigable waters," or "U.S. waters." 
 
R317-8-3.  Application Requirements. 
 3.1  APPLYING FOR A UPDES PERMIT 
 (1)  Application requirements 
 (a)  Any person who is required to have a permit, including 
new applicants and permittees with expiring permits shall complete, 
sign, and submit an application to the Director as described in this rule 
and R317-8-2 Scope and Applicability.  On the date of UPDES program 
approval by EPA, all persons permitted or authorized under NPDES 
shall be deemed to hold a UPDES permit, including those expired 
permits which EPA has continued in effect according to 40 CFR 122.6.  
For the purpose of this section the Director will accept the information 
required under R317-8-3.5 for existing facilities, which has been 
submitted to EPA as part of a NPDES renewal.  The applicant may be 
requested to update any information which is not current. 
 (b)  Any person who (1) discharges or proposes to discharge 
pollutants and (2) owns or operates a sludge-only facility and does not 
have an effective permit, shall submit a complete application to the 
Director in accordance with this section and R317-8-6.  A complete 
application shall include a BMP program, if necessary, under R317-8-
4.2(10). The following are exceptions to the application requirements: 
 1.  Persons covered by general permits under R317-8-4.2(10); 
 2.  Discharges excluded under R317-8-2.1(2); 
 3.  Users of a privately owned treatment works unless the 
Director requires otherwise under R317-8-4.2(12). 
 (2)  Time to apply.  Any person proposing a new discharge 
shall submit an application at least 180 days before the date on which 
the discharge is to commence, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the Director.  Facilities proposing a new discharge of storm 
water associated with industrial activity shall submit an application 180 
days before that facility commences industrial activity which may result 
in a discharge of storm water associated with that industrial activity.  
Facilities described under Subsection R317-8-[3.9(6)11]11.3(6)(e)1. 
shall submit applications at least 90 days before the date on which 
construction is to commence.  Different submittal dates may be required 
under the terms of applicable general permits.  Persons proposing a new 
discharge are encouraged to submit their applications well in advance of 
the 90 or 180 day requirements to avoid delay.  See also Subsections 
R317-8-3.2[ and] R317-8-[3.9]11.3(2)(a)1.g[.], and R317-8-
11.3(2)(a)2. 

 (3)  Who Applies.  When a facility or activity is owned by one 
(1) person but is operated by another person, it is the operator's duty to 
obtain a permit. 
 (4)  Duty to reapply. 
 (a)  Any POTW with a currently effective permit shall submit 
a new application at least 180 days before the expiration date of the 
existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by 
the Director.  The Director shall not grant permission for applications to 
be submitted later than the expiration date of the existing permit. 
 (b)  All other permittees with currently effective permits shall 
submit a new application 180 days before the existing permit expires, 
except that: 
 1.  The Director may grant permission to submit an 
application later than the deadline for submission otherwise applicable, 
but no later than the permit expiration date; and 
 2.  The Director may grant permission to submit the 
information required by R317-8-3.5(7), (9) and (10) after the permit 
expiration date. 
 (c)  All applicants for permits, other than POTWs, new 
sources, and sludge-only facilities must complete EPA Forms 1 and 
either 2B or 2C or 2F or equivalent State forms as directed by the 
Director to apply under R317-8-3.  Forms may be obtained from the 
Director.  In addition to any other applicable requirements in this section, 
all POTWs and other treatment works treating domestic sewage, 
including sludge-only facilities, must submit with their applications the 
information listed at 40 CFR 501.15(a)(2) within the time frames 
established in R317-8-3.1(7)(a) and (b). 
 (d)  Continuation of expiring permits.  The conditions of an 
expired permit continue in force until the effective date of a new permit 
if: 
 1.  The permittee has submitted a timely application under 
subsection (2) of this section which is a complete application for a new 
permit; and 
 2.  The Director, through no fault of the permittee, does not 
issue a new permit with an effective date under R317-8-6.11 on or before 
the expiration date of the previous permit. 
 3.  Effect Permits continued under this paragraph remain fully 
effective and enforceable until the effective date of a new permit. 
 4.  Enforcement.  When the permittee is not in compliance 
with the conditions of the expiring or expired permit the Director may 
choose to do any or all of the following: 
 a.  Initiate enforcement action based upon the permit which 
has been continued; 
 b.  Issue a notice of intent to deny the new permit under R317-
8-6.3(2); 
 c.  Issue a new permit under R317-8-6 with appropriate 
conditions; or 
 d.  Take other actions authorized by the UPDES rules. 
 (5)  Completeness.  The Director will not issue a UPDES 
permit before receiving a complete application for a permit except for 
UPDES General Permits.  A permit application is complete when the 
Director receives an application form with any supplemental 
information which is completed to his or her satisfaction. 
 (6)  Information requirements.  All applicants for UPDES 
permits shall provide the following information to the Director, using 
the application form provided by the Director. 
 (a)  The activities being conducted which require the applicant 
to obtain UPDES permit. 
 (b)  Name, mailing address, and location of the facility for 
which the application is submitted. 
 (c)  From one (1) to four (4) SIC codes which best reflect the 
principal products or services provided by the facility. 
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 (d)  The operators name, address, telephone number, 
ownership status, and status as to Federal, State, private, public, or other 
entity. 
 (e)  Whether the facility is located on Indian lands. 
 (f)  A listing of all other relevant environmental permits, or 
construction approvals issued by the Director or other state or federal 
permits. 
 (g)  A topographic map, or other map if a topographic map is 
unavailable, extending one (1) mile beyond the property boundaries of 
the source, depicting the facility and each of its intake and discharge 
structures, each of its hazardous waste treatment, storage, or disposal 
facilities; each well where fluids from the facility are injected 
underground and those wells, springs, other surface water bodies, and 
drinking water wells listed in public records or otherwise known to the 
applicant in the map area. 
 (h)  A brief description of the nature of the business. 
 (i) Additional information may also be required of new 
sources, new dischargers and major facilities to determine any 
significant adverse environmental effects of the discharge pursuant to 
new source rules promulgated by the Director. 
 (7)  Permits Under Section 19-5-107 of the Utah Water 
Quality Act. 
 (a)  POTWs with currently effective UPDES permits shall 
submit the application information required by R317-8-3.1(4)(c) with 
the next application submitted in accordance with R317-8-3.1(4) of this 
section or within 120 days after promulgation of a standard for sewage 
sludge use or disposal applicable to the POTW's sludge use or disposal 
practice(s), whichever occurs first. 
 (b)  Any other existing treatment works treating domestic 
sewage not covered in R317-8-3.1(7)(a) shall submit an application to 
the Director within 120 days after promulgation of a standard for sewage 
sludge use or disposal applicable to its sludge use or disposal practice(s) 
or upon request of the Director prior to the promulgation of an applicable 
standard for sewage sludge use or disposal if the Director determines 
that a permit is necessary to protect to public health and the environment 
from any potential adverse effects that may occur from toxic pollutants 
in sewage sludge. 
 (c)  Any treatment works treating domestic sewage that 
commences operations after promulgation of an applicable standard for 
sewage sludge use or disposal shall submit an application to the Director 
at least 180 days prior to the date proposed for commencing operations. 
 (8)  Recordkeeping.  Except for information required by 
R317-8-3.1(7)(c) which shall be retained for a period of at least five 
years from the date the application is signed or longer as required by the 
Director, applicants shall keep records of all data used to complete 
permit applications and any supplemental information submitted under 
this rule for a period of at least three (3) years from the date the 
application is signed. 
 (9)  Service of process.  Every applicant and permittee shall 
provide the Director an address for receipt of any legal paper for service 
of process.  The last address provided to the Director pursuant to this 
provision shall be the address at which the Director may tender any legal 
notice, including but not limited to service of process in connection with 
any enforcement action.  Service, whether by bond or by mail, shall be 
complete upon tender of the notice, process or order and shall not be 
deemed incomplete because of refusal to accept or if the addressee is not 
found. 
 (10)  Application Forms.  The State will use EPA-developed 
NPDES application forms or State equivalents in administering the 
UPDES program. 
 3.2  APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW 
SOURCES AND NEW DISCHARGES.  New manufacturing, 

commercial, mining and silvicultural dischargers applying for UPDES 
permits (except for new discharges of facilities subject to the 
requirements of Subsection R317-8-3.5 or new discharges of storm 
water associated with industrial activity which are subject to Subsection 
R317-8-[3.9]11.3(2)(a) except as provided by Subsection R317-8-
[3.9]11.3(2)(a)2, shall provide the following information to the Director, 
using application forms provided by the Director: 
 (1)  Expected outfall location.  The latitude and longitude to 
the nearest 15 seconds and the name of the receiving water. 
 (2)  Discharge dates.  The expected date of commencement of 
discharge. 
 (3)  Flows, Sources of Pollution and Treatment Technologies. 
 (a)  Expected treatment of wastewater.  Description of the 
treatment that the wastewater will receive, along with all operations 
contributing wastewater to the effluent, average flow contributed by 
each operation, and the ultimate disposal of any solid or liquid wastes 
not discharged. 
 (b)  Line drawing.  A line drawing of the water flow through 
the facility with a water balance as described in Subsection R317-8-
3.5(2). 
 (c)  Intermittent Flows.  If any of the expected discharges will 
be intermittent or seasonal, a description of the frequency, duration and 
maximum daily flow rate of each discharge occurrence [(]except for 
storm water runoff, spillage, or leaks[)]. 
 (4)  Production.  If a new source performance standard or an 
effluent limitation guideline applies to the applicant and is expressed in 
terms of production, [(]or other measure of operation[)], a reasonable 
measure of the applicant's expected actual production reported in the 
units used in the applicable effluent guideline or new source 
performance standard as required by Subsection R317-8-4.3(2)(b) for 
each of the first three years.  Alternative estimates may also be submitted 
if production is likely to vary. 
 (5)  Effluent Characteristics.  The requirements in Subsection 
R317-8-3.5(7) that an applicant must provide estimates of certain 
pollutants expected to be present do not apply to pollutants present in a 
discharge solely as a result of their presence in intake water; however, 
an applicant must report such pollutants as present.  Net credits may be 
provided for the presence of pollutants in intake water if the 
requirements of Subsection R317-8-4.3(7) are met.  All levels, [(]except 
for discharge flow, temperature and pH,[)] must be estimated as 
concentration and as total mass. 
 (a)  Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average and source of information for each outfall for the 
following pollutants or parameters.  The Director may waive the 
reporting requirements for any of these pollutants and parameters if the 
applicant submits a request for such a waiver before or with his 
application which demonstrates that information adequate to support 
issuance of the permit can be obtained through less stringent reporting 
requirements. 
 1.  Biochemical Oxygen Demand (BOD). 
 2.  Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD). 
 3.  Total Organic Carbon (TOC). 
 4.  Total Suspended Solids (TSS). 
 5.  Flow. 
 6.  Ammonia (as N). 
 7.  Temperature (winter and summer). 
 8.  pH. 
 (b)  Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average, and source of information for each outfall for the 
following pollutants, if the applicant knows or has reason to believe they 
will be present or if they are limited by an effluent limitation guideline 
or new source performance standard either directly or indirectly through 
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limitations on an indicator pollutant: all pollutants in Table IV, R317-8-
3.12(4) [(]certain conventional and nonconventional pollutants[)]. 
 (c)  Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average and source of information for the following pollutants if 
he knows or has reason to believe that they will be present in the 
discharges from any outfall: 
 1.  The pollutants listed in Table III, R317-8-3.12(3) [(]the 
toxic metals, in the discharge from any outfall: Total cyanide, and total 
phenols[)]; 
 2.  The organic toxic pollutants in Subsection R317-8-3.12(2) 
(except bis (chloromethyl) ether, dichlorofluoromethane and 
trichlorofluoromethane).  This requirement is waived for applicants with 
expected gross sales of less than $100,000 per year for the next three 
years, and for coal mines with expected average production of less than 
100,000 tons of coal per year. 
 (d)  The applicant is required to report that 2,3,7,8 
Tetrachlorodibenzo-P-Dioxin (TCDD) may be discharged if he uses or 
manufactures one of the following compounds, or if he knows or has 
reason to believe that TCDD will or may be present in an effluent: 
 1.  2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4,5-T) (CAS #93-76-
5); 
 2.  2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) propanic acid (Silvex, 2,4,5-
TP) (CAS #93-72-1); 
 3.  2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) ethyl 2,2-dichloropropionate 
(Erbon) (CAS #136-25-4);) 
 4.  0,0-dimethyl 0-(2,4,5-trichlorophenyl) phosphorothioate 
(Ronnel) (CAS #299-84-3); 
 5.  2,4,5-trichlorophenol (TCP) (CAS #95-95-4); or 
 6.  Hexachlorophene (HCP) (CAS #70-80-4); 
 (e)  Each applicant must report any pollutants listed in Table 
V, R317-8-3.12(5) (certain hazardous substances) if he believes they 
will be present in any outfall (no quantitative estimates are required 
unless they are already available). 
 (f)  No later than two years after the commencement of 
discharge from the proposed facility, the applicant is required to 
complete and submit Items V and VI of NPDES application Form 2c 
(see R317-8-3.5).  However, the applicant need not complete those 
portions of Item V requiring tests which he has already performed and 
reported under the discharge monitoring requirements of his UPDES 
permit. 
 (6)  Engineering Report.  Each applicant must report the 
existence of any technical evaluation concerning his wastewater 
treatment, along with the name and location of similar plants of which 
he has knowledge. 
 (7)  Other information.  Any optional information the 
permittee wishes to have considered. 
 (8)  Certification.  Signature of certifying official under R317-
8-3.4. 
 3.3  CONFIDENTIALITY OF INFORMATION 
 (1)  Any information submitted to the Director pursuant to the 
UPDES rules may be claimed as confidential by the person submitting 
the information.  Any such claim must be asserted at the time of 
submission in the manner prescribed on the application form or 
instructions or, in the case of other submissions, by stamping the words 
"confidential business information" on each page containing such 
information.  If no claim is made at the time of submission, the Director 
may make the information available to the public without further notice.  
If a claim is asserted, it will be treated according to the standards of 40 
CFR Part 2. 
 (2)  Information which includes effluent data and records 
required by UPDES application forms provided by the Director under 
R317-8-3.1 may not be claimed as confidential. 

 (3)  Information contained in UPDES permits may not be 
claimed as confidential. 
 3.4  SIGNATORIES TO PERMIT APPLICATIONS AND 
REPORTS 
 (1)  Applications.  All permit applications shall be signed as 
follows: 
 (a)  For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer.  For 
the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate officer means: (i) A 
president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in 
charge of a principal business function, or any other person who 
performs similar policy or decision-making functions for the 
corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more manufacturing, 
production, or operating facilities employing more than 250 persons or 
having gross annual sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in 
second-quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has been 
assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures. 
 (b)  For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 
 (c)  For a municipality, State, Federal, or other public agency: 
By either a principal executive officer or ranking elected official.  For 
purposes of this section, a principal executive officer of a Federal agency 
includes: (i) The chief executive officer having responsibility for the 
overall operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency. 
 (2)  Reports. All reports required by permits and other 
information requested by the Director under Subsection R317-8-
[3.9]11.3(3) shall be signed by a person described in [s]Subsection 
R317-8-3.4(1), or by a duly authorized representative of that person.  A 
person is a duly authorized representative only if: 
 (a)  [T]the authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in [s]Subsection R317-8-3.4(1)[ of this section]: 
 (b)  [T]the authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of the regulated 
facility or activity such as the position of plant manager, operator of a 
well or a well field, superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, 
or an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company; and 
 (c)  [T]the written authorization is submitted to the Director. 
 (3)  Changes to authorization.  If an authorization under 
[s]Subsection R317-8-3.4(2) [of this section ]is no longer accurate 
because a different individual or position has responsibility for the 
overall operation of the facility, a new authorization satisfying the 
requirements of [s]Subsection R317-8-3.4(2) [of this section ]must be 
submitted to the Director prior to or together with any reports, 
information, or applications to be signed by an authorized 
representative. 
 (4)  Certification.  Any person signing a document under this 
section shall make the following certification: 
 "I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision in 
accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 
properly gather and evaluate the information submitted.  Based on my 
inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 
accurate, and complete.  I am aware that there are significant penalties 
for submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment for knowing violations." 
 (5)  Discharge Monitoring Reports and related information 
may be signed and submitted electronically to the EPA's NetDMR 
program, if a Subscriber Agreement is in place.  See [Utah Admin. 
Code]Section R317-1-9. 
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 3.5  APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR EXISTING 
MANUFACTURING, COMMERCIAL, MINING, AND 
SILVICULTURAL DISCHARGERS 
 Existing manufacturing, commercial, mining, and 
silvicultural dischargers applying for UPDES permits shall provide the 
following information to the Director, using application forms provided 
by the Director: 
 (1)  Outfall location.  The latitude and longitude to the nearest 
fifteen (15) seconds and the name of the receiving water. 
 (2)  Line drawing.  A line drawing of the water flow through 
the facility with a water balance, showing operations contributing 
wastewater to the effluent and treatment units. Similar processes, 
operations, or production areas may be indicated as a single unit, labeled 
to correspond to the more detailed identification under Subsection 
R317-8-3.5.  The water balance shall show approximate average flows 
at intake and discharge points and between units, including treatment 
units.  If a water balance cannot be determined, the applicant may 
provide a pictorial description of the nature and amount of any sources 
of water and any collection and treatment measures. 
 (3)  Average flows and treatment.  A narrative identification 
of each type of process, operation, or production area which contributes 
wastewater to the effluent for each outfall, including process 
wastewater, cooling water; and storm water runoff; the average flow 
which each process contributes; and a description of the treatment the 
wastewater receives, including the ultimate disposal of any solid or fluid 
wastes other than by discharge.  Processes, operations or production 
areas may be described in general terms, (for example, "dye-making 
reactor," "distillation tower.")  For a privately owned treatment works, 
this information shall include the identity of each user of the treatment 
works.  The average flow of point sources composed of storm water may 
be estimated.  The basis for the rainfall event and the method of 
estimation must be indicated. 
 (4)  Intermittent flows.  If any of the discharges described in 
Subsection R317-8-3.5(3) are intermittent or seasonal, a description of 
the frequency, duration and flow rate of each discharge occurrence, 
except for storm water runoff, spillage, or leaks. 
 (5)  Maximum production levels.  If an EPA effluent guideline 
applies to the applicant and is expressed in terms of production or other 
measure of operation, a reasonable measure of the applicant's actual 
production reported in the units used in the applicable effluent guideline.  
The reported measure shall reflect the actual production of the facility 
as required by Subsection R317-8-4.3(2). 
 (6)  Improvements.  If the applicant is subject to any present 
requirements or compliance schedules for construction, upgrading or 
operation of waste treatment equipment, an identification of the 
abatement requirement, a description of the abatement project, and a 
listing of the required and projected final compliance dates. 
 (7)  Effluent characteristics.  Information on the discharge of 
pollutants specified in this subsection shall be provided, except 
information on storm water discharges which is to be provided as 
specified in Subsection R317-8-[3.9]11.3.  When quantitative data for a 
pollutant are required, the applicant must collect a sample of effluent 
and analyze it for the pollutant in accordance with analytical methods 
approved under 40 CFR 136.  When no particular analytical method is 
required the applicant may use any suitable method but must provide a 
description of the method.  The Director may allow the applicant to test 
only one outfall and report that the quantitative data also applies to the 
substantially identical outfalls.  The requirements in Subsections R317-
8-3.5[paragraphs ](c) and (d) [of this subsection ]that an applicant shall 
provide quantitative data for certain pollutants known or believed to be 
present do not apply to pollutants present in a discharge solely as the 
result of their presence in intake water; however, an applicant shall 

report such pollutants as present.  Grab samples must be used for pH, 
temperature, cyanide, total phenols, residual chlorine,, oil and grease, 
and or E. coli.  For all other pollutants, twenty-four (24)-hour composite 
samples must be used. However, a minimum of one grab sample may 
be taken for effluents from holding ponds or other impoundments with 
a retention period greater than 24 hours.  In addition, the Director may 
waive composite sampling for any outfall for which the applicant 
demonstrates that the use of an automatic sampler is infeasible and that 
the minimum of four (4) grab samples will be a representative sample 
of the effluent being discharged.  For storm water discharges, all samples 
shall be collected from the discharge resulting from a storm event that is 
greater than 0.1 inch and at least 72 hours from the previously 
measurable (greater than 0.1 inch rainfall) storm event.  Where feasible, 
the variance in the duration of the event and the total rainfall of the event 
should not exceed 50 percent from the average or median rainfall event 
in that area.  For all applicants, a flow-weighted composite shall be taken 
for either the entire discharge or for the first three hours of the discharge.  
The flow-weighted composite sample for a storm water discharge may 
be taken with a continuous sampler or as a combination of a minimum 
of three sample aliquots taken in each hour of discharge for the entire 
discharge or for the first three hours of the discharge, with each aliquot 
being separated by a minimum period of fifteen minutes (applicants 
submitting permit applications for storm water discharges under 
Subsection R317-8-[3.9]11.3(3) may collect flow weighted composite 
samples using different protocols with respect to the time duration 
between the collection of sample aliquots, subject to the approval of the 
Director).  However, a minimum of one grab sample may be taken for 
storm water discharges from holding ponds or other impoundments with 
a retention period greater than 24 hours.  For a flow-weighted composite 
sample, only one analysis of the composite of aliquots is required.  For 
storm water discharge samples taken from discharges associated with 
industrial activities, quantitative data must be reported for the grab 
sample taken during the first thirty minutes (or as soon thereafter as 
practicable) of the discharge for all pollutants specified in Subsection 
R317-8-[3.9]11.3(2)(a).  For all storm water permit applicants taking 
flow-weighted composites, quantitative data must be reported for all 
pollutants specified in Subsection R317-8-[3.9]11.3 except pH, 
temperature, cyanide, total phenols, residual chlorine, oil and grease, or 
E. coli, and fecal streptococcus.  The Director may allow or establish 
appropriate site-specific sampling procedures or requirements, 
including sampling locations, the season in which the sampling takes 
place, the minimum duration between the previous measurable storm 
event and the storm event sampled, the minimum or maximum level of 
precipitation required for an appropriate storm event, the form of 
precipitation sampled (snow melt or rainfall), protocols for collecting 
samples under 40 CFR 136, and additional time for submitting data on 
a case-by-case basis.  An applicant is expected to know or have reason 
to believe that a pollutant is present in an effluent based on an evaluation 
of the expected use, production, or storage of the pollutant, or on any 
previous analyses for the pollutant. 
 (a)  Every applicant shall report quantitative data for every 
outfall for the following pollutants: 
 1.  Biochemical Oxygen Demand (BOD) 
 2.  Chemical Oxygen Demand 
 3.  Total Organic Carbon 
 4.  Total Suspended Solids 
 5.  Ammonia (as N) 
 6.  Temperature (both winter and summer) 
 7.  pH 
 (b)  The Director may waive the reporting requirements for 
one or more of the pollutants listed in Subsection R317-8-3.5(7)(a) if the 
applicant has demonstrated that the waiver is appropriate because 
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information adequate to support issuance of a permit can be obtained 
with less stringent requirements. 
 (c)  Each applicant with processes in one or more primary 
industry category, listed in Subsection R317-8-3.11[ of this rule], and 
contributing to a discharge, shall report quantitative data for the 
following pollutants in each outfall containing process wastewater: 
 1.  The organic toxic pollutants in the fractions designated in 
Table 1 of R317-8-3.12 for the applicant's industrial category or 
categories unless the applicant qualifies as a small business under 
Subsection R317-8-3.5(8).  Table II of R317-8-3.12 of this part lists the 
organic toxic pollutants in each fraction.  The fractions result from the 
sample preparation required by the analytical procedure which uses gas 
chromatography/mass spectrometry.  A determination that an applicant 
falls within a particular industrial category for the purposes of selecting 
fractions for testing is not conclusive as to the applicant's inclusion in 
that category for any other purposes. 
 2.  The pollutants listed in Table III of R317-8-3.12 (the toxic 
metals, cyanide, and total phenols). 
 (d)  1.  Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or has 
reason to believe that any of the pollutants in Table IV of R317-8-3.12 
(certain conventional and nonconventional pollutants) is discharged 
from each outfall.  If an applicable effluent limitations guideline either 
directly limits the pollutant or, by its express terms, indirectly limits the 
pollutant through limitations on an indicator, the applicant must report 
quantitative data.  For every pollutant discharged which is not so limited 
in an effluent limitations guideline, the applicant must either report 
quantitative data or briefly describe the reasons the pollutant is expected 
to be discharged. 
 2.  Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or has 
reason to believe that any of the pollutants listed in Table II or Table III 
of R317-8-3.12 (the toxic pollutants and total phenols) for which 
quantitative data are not otherwise required under paragraph (b) of this 
section, is discharged from each outfall.  For every pollutant expected to 
be discharged in concentrations of 10 ppb or greater the applicant must 
report quantitative data.  For acrolein, acrylonitrile, 2.4 dinitrophenol, 
and 2-methyl-4,6  dinitrophenol, where any of these four pollutants are 
expected to be discharged in concentrations of 100 ppb or greater, the 
applicant must report quantitative data.  For every pollutant expected to 
be discharged in concentrations less than 10 ppb, or in the case of 
acrolein, acrylonitrile, 2.4 dinitrophenol, and 2-methyl-4,6 
dinitrophenol, in concentration less than 100 ppb, the applicant must 
either submit quantitative data or briefly describe the reasons the 
pollutant is expected to be discharged.  An applicant qualifying as a 
small business under Subsection R317-8-3.5(8) is not required to 
analyze for pollutants listed in Table II of R317-8-3.12 (the organic toxic 
pollutants). 
 (e)  Each applicant shall indicate whether it knows or has 
reason to believe that any of the pollutants in Subsection R317-8-3.12(5) 
of this rule, certain hazardous substances and asbestos are discharged 
from each outfall.  For every pollutant expected to be discharged, the 
applicant shall briefly describe the reasons the pollutant is expected to 
be discharged, and report any quantitative data for the pollutant. 
 (f)  Each applicant shall report qualitative data, generated 
using a screening procedure not calibrated with analytical standards, for 
2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin(TCDD) if it: 
 1.  Uses or manufactures 2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy acetic acid 
(2,4,5-T); 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) propanoic acid (Silvex, 2,4,5-TP); 
2-(2.4.5-trichlorophenoxy) ethyl 2,2-dichloropropionate (Erbon); O,O-
dimethyl O-(2,4,5-trichlorophenyl) phosphorothioate (Ronnel); 2,4,5-
trichlorophenol (TCP); or hexachlorophene (HCP); or 
 2.  Knows or has reason to believe that TCDD is or may be 
present in an effluent. 

 (8)  Small business exemption.  An applicant which qualifies 
as a small business under one of the following criteria is exempt from 
the requirements in Subsections R317-8-3.5(7)(c) and (d) to submit 
quantitative data for the pollutants listed in Subsection R317-8-3.12(2), 
organic toxic pollutants: 
 (a)  For coal mines, a probable total annual production of less 
than 100,000 tons per year. 
 (b)  For all other applicants, gross total annual sales averaging 
less than $100,000 per year, in second quarter 1980 dollars. 
 (9)  Used or manufactured toxics.  The application shall 
include a listing of any toxic pollutant which the applicant currently uses 
or manufactures as an intermediate or final product or byproduct.  The 
Director may waive or modify this requirement for any applicant if the 
applicant demonstrates that it would be unduly burdensome to identify 
each toxic pollutant and the Director has adequate information to issue 
the permit. 
 (10)  Biological toxicity tests.  The applicant shall identify any 
biological toxicity tests which it knows or has reason to believe have 
been made within the last three (3) years on any of the applicant's 
discharges or on a receiving water in relation to a discharge. 
 (11)  Contract analyses.  If a contract laboratory or consulting 
firm performed any of the analyses required by Subsection R317-8-
3.5(7), the identity of each laboratory or firm and the analyses performed 
shall be included in the application. 
 (12)  Additional information.  In addition to the information 
reported on the application form, applicants shall provide to the Director, 
upon request, other information as the Director may reasonably be 
required to assess the discharges of the facility and to determine whether 
to issue a UPDES permit.  The additional information may include 
additional quantitative data and bioassays to assess the relative toxicity 
of discharges to aquatic life and requirements to determine the cause of 
the toxicity. 
 3.6  CONCENTRATED ANIMAL FEEDING 
OPERATIONS 
 (1)  Refer to Section R317-8-10 for concentrated animal 
feeding operation permit application requirements. 
 3.7  CONCENTRATED AQUATIC ANIMAL 
PRODUCTION FACILITIES 
 (1)  Permit required.  Concentrated aquatic animal production 
facilities, as defined in this section, are point sources subject to the 
UPDES permit program. 
 (2)  Definitions.  "Concentrated aquatic animal production 
facility" means a hatchery, fish farm, or other facility which meets the 
criteria in Subsection R317-8-3.7(5) or which the Director designates 
under Subsection R317-8-3.7(3). 
 (3)  Case-by-Case designation of concentrated aquatic animal 
production facilities. 
 (a)  The Director may designate any warm or cold water 
aquatic animal production facility as a concentrated aquatic animal 
production facility upon determining that it is a significant contributor 
of pollution to the waters of the State.  In making this designation the 
Director will consider the following factors: 
 1.  The location and quality of the receiving waters of the 
State; 
 2.  The holding, feeding, and production capacities of the 
facility; 
 3.  The quantity and nature of the pollutants reaching waters 
of the State; and 
 4.  Other relevant factors. 
 (b)  A permit application will not be required from a 
concentrated aquatic animal production facility designated under this 
section until the Director or authorized representative has conducted an 
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on-site inspection of the facility and has determined that the facility 
could and should be regulated under the UPDES permit program. 
 (4)  Information required.  New and existing concentrated 
aquatic animal production facilities shall provide the following 
information to the Director using the application form provided: 
 (a)  The maximum daily and average monthly flow from each 
outfall. 
 (b)  The number of ponds, raceways, and similar structures. 
 (c)  The name of the receiving water and the source of intake 
water. 
 (d)  For each species of aquatic animals, the total yearly and 
maximum harvestable weight. 
 (e)  The calendar month of maximum feeding and the total 
mass of food fed during that month. 
 (5)  Criteria for determining a concentrated aquatic animal 
production facility.  A hatchery, fish farm, or other facility is a 
concentrated aquatic animal production facility for purposes of this rule 
if it contains, grows, or holds aquatic animals in either of the following 
categories: 
 (a)  Cold water aquatic animals.  Cold water fish species or 
other cold water aquatic animals in ponds, raceways, or other similar 
structures which discharge at least thirty (30) days per year but does not 
include: 
 1.  Facilities which produce less than 9,090 harvest weight 
kilograms (approximately 20,000 pounds) of aquatic animals per year; 
and 
 2.  Facilities which feed less than 2,272 kilograms 
(approximately 5,000 pounds) of food during the calendar month of 
maximum feeding. 
 3.  Cold water aquatic animals include, but are not limited to 
the Salmonidae family of fish. 
 (b)  Warm water aquatic animals. Warm water fish species or 
other warm water aquatic animals in ponds, raceways, or other similar 
structures which discharge at least thirty (30) days per year, but does not 
include: 
 1.  Closed ponds which discharge only during periods of 
excess runoff; or 
 2.  Facilities which produce less than 45,454 harvest weight 
kilograms (approximately 100,000) pounds) of aquatic animals per year. 
 3.  "Warm water aquatic animals" include, but are not limited 
to, the Ameiuride, Centrachidae and Cyprinidae families of fish. 
 3.8  AQUACULTURE PROJECTS 
 (1)  Permit required.  Discharges into aquaculture projects, as 
defined in this section, are subject to the UPDES permit program. 
 (2)  Definitions. 
 (a)  "Aquaculture project" means a defined managed water 
area which uses discharges of pollutants into that designated area for the 
maintenance or production of harvestable freshwater plants and animals. 
 (b)  "Designated project areas" means the portions of the 
waters of the State within which the permittee or permit applicant plans 
to confine the cultivated species, using a method or plan of operation, 
including, but not limited to, physical confinement, which on the basis 
of reliable scientific evidence, is expected to ensure that specific 
individual organisms comprising an aquaculture crop will enjoy 
increased growth attributable to the discharge of pollutants, and be 
harvested within a defined geographic area. 
 3.9  STORM WATER DISCHARGES 
 (1)  Refer to Section R317-8-11.[Permit requirement. 
 (a)  Prior to October 1, 1992, a permit shall not be required 
for a discharge composed entirely of storm water, except for: 
 1.  A discharge with respect to which a permit has been issued 
prior to February 4, 1987; 

 2.  A discharge associated with industrial activity; 
 3.  A discharge from a large municipal separate storm sewer 
system; 
 4.  A discharge from a medium municipal separate storm 
sewer system; 
 5.  A discharge which the Director determines contributes to a 
violation of water quality standard or is a significant contributor of 
pollutants to waters of the State.  This designation may include a 
discharge from any conveyance or system of conveyances used for 
collecting and conveying storm water runoff or a system of discharges 
from municipal separate storm sewers, except for those discharges from 
conveyances which do not require a permit under this section or 
agricultural storm water runoff which is exempted from the definition 
of point source.  The Director may designate discharges from municipal 
separate storm sewers on a system-wide or jurisdiction-wide basis.  In 
making this determination the Director may consider the following 
factors: 
 a.  The location of the discharge with respect to waters of the 
State; 
 b.  The size of the discharge; 
 c.  The quantity and nature of the pollutants discharged to 
waters of the State; and 
 d.  Other relevant factors. 
 (b)  The Director may not require a permit for discharges of 
storm water runoff from mining operations or oil and gas exploration, 
production, processing, or treatment operations or transmission 
facilities, composed entirely of flows which are from conveyances or 
systems of conveyances (including but not limited to pipes, conduits, 
ditches, and channels) used for collecting and conveying precipitation 
runoff and which are not contaminated by contact with or do not come 
into contact with any overburden, raw material, intermediate products, 
finished product, by product, or waste products located on the site of 
such operations. 
 (c)  Large and medium municipal separate storm sewer 
systems. 
 1.  Permits must be obtained for all discharges from large and 
medium municipal separate storm sewer systems. 
 2.  The Director may either issue one system-wide permit 
covering all discharges from municipal separate storm sewers within a 
large or medium municipal storm sewer system or issue distinct permits 
for appropriate categories of discharges within a large or medium 
municipal separate storm sewer system including, but not limited to: all 
discharges owned or operated by the same municipality; located within 
the same jurisdiction; all discharges within a system that discharge to 
the same watershed; discharges within a system that are similar in 
nature; or individual discharges from municipal separate storm sewers 
within the system. 
 3.  The operator of a discharge from a municipal separate 
storm sewer which is part of a large or medium municipal separate storm 
sewer system must either: 
 a.  Participate in a permit application (to be a permittee or a 
co-permittee) with one or more other operators of discharges from the 
large or medium municipal storm sewer system which covers all, or a 
portion of all, discharges from the municipal separate storm sewer 
system; 
 b.  Submit a distinct permit application which only covers 
discharges from the municipal separate storm sewers for which the 
operator is responsible; or 
 4.  A regional authority may be responsible for submitting a 
permit application under the following guidelines: 
 i.  The regional authority together with co-applicants shall 
have authority over a storm water management program that is in 
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existence, or shall be in existence at the time part 1 of the application is 
due; 
 ii.  The permit applicant or co-applicants shall establish their 
ability to make a timely submission of part 1 and part 2 of the municipal 
application; 
 iii.  Each of the operators of municipal separate storm sewers 
within the systems described in R317-8-1.6(4)(a),(b) and (c) or R317-8-
1.6(7)(a),(b), and (c), that are under the purview of the designated 
regional authority, shall comply with the application requirements of 
R317-8-3.9(3). 
 5.  One permit application may be submitted for all or a 
portion of all municipal separate storm sewers within adjacent or 
interconnected large or medium municipal separate storm sewer 
systems.  The Director may issue one system-wide permit covering all, 
or a portion of all municipal separate storm sewers in adjacent or 
interconnected large or medium municipal separate storm sewer 
systems. 
 6.  Permits for all or a portion of all discharges from large or 
medium municipal separate storm sewer systems that are issued on a 
system-wide, jurisdiction-wide, watershed or other basis may specify 
different conditions relating to different discharges covered by the 
permit, including different management programs for different drainage 
areas which contribute storm water to the system. 
 7.  Co-permittees need only comply with permit conditions 
relating to discharges from the municipal separate storm sewers for 
which they are operators. 
 (d)  Discharges through large and medium municipal separate 
storm sewer systems.  In addition to meeting the requirements of R317-
8-3.9(2), an operator of a storm water discharge associated with 
industrial activity which discharges through a large or medium 
municipal separate storm sewer system shall submit, to the operator of 
the municipal separate storm sewer system receiving the discharge no 
later than May 15, 1991, or 180 days prior to commencing such 
discharge: the name of the facility; a contact person and phone number; 
the location of the discharge; a description, including Standard Industrial 
Classification, which best reflects the principal products or services 
provided by each facility; and any existing UPDES permit number. 
 (e)  Other municipal separate storm sewers.  The Director may 
issue permits for municipal separate storm sewers that are designated 
under R317-8-3.9(1)(a)(5) on a system-wide basis, jurisdiction-wide 
basis, watershed basis or other appropriate basis, or may issue permits 
for individual discharges. 
 (f)  Non-municipal separate storm sewers.  For storm water 
discharges associated with industrial activity from point sources which 
discharge through a non-municipal or non-publicly owned separate 
storm sewer system, the Director, in his discretion, may issue: a single 
UPDES permit, with each discharger a co-permittee to a permit issued 
to the operator of the portion of the system that discharges into waters 
of the State; or, individual permits to each discharger of storm water 
associated with industrial activity through the non-municipal 
conveyance system. 
 1.  All storm water discharges associated with industrial 
activity that discharge through a storm water discharge system that is not 
a municipal separate storm sewer must be covered by an individual 
permit, or a permit issued to the operator of the portion of the system 
that discharges to waters of the State, with each discharger to the non-
municipal conveyance a co-permittee to that permit. 
 2.  Where there is more than one operator of a single system 
of such conveyances, all operators of storm water discharges associated 
with industrial activity must submit applications. 

 3.  Any permit covering more than one operator shall identify 
the effluent limitations, or other permit conditions, if any, that apply to 
each operator. 
 (g)  Combined sewer systems.  Conveyances that discharge 
storm water runoff combined with municipal sewage are point sources 
that must obtain UPDES permits and that are not subject to the 
provisions of this section. 
 (h) Small municipal, small construction, TMDL pollutants of 
concern, and significant contributors of pollution. 
 1.  On and after October 1, 1994, for discharges composed 
entirely of storm water, that are not required by paragraph (1)(a) of this 
section to obtain a permit, operators shall be required to obtain a UPDES 
permit only if: 
 a.  The discharge is from a small MS4 required to be regulated 
pursuant to 40 CFR 122.32 (see R317-8-1.10(10)). 
 b.  The discharge is a storm water discharge associated with 
small construction activity pursuant to paragraph R317-8-3.9(6)(e). 
 c.  The Director or authorized representative determines that 
storm water controls are needed for the discharge based on wasteload 
allocations that are part of "total maximum daily loads" (TMDLs) that 
address the pollutant(s) of concern; or 
 d.  The Director or authorized representative determines that 
the discharge, or category of discharges within a geographic area, 
contributes to a violation of a water quality standard or is a significant 
contributor of pollutants to waters of the State. 
 2.  Operators of small MS4s designated pursuant to 
paragraphs (1)(h)1.a., (1)(h)1.c., and (1)(h)1.d. of this section shall seek 
coverage under an UPDES permit in accordance with 40 CFR 122.33, 
122.34, and 122.35 (see R317-8-1.10(11) through R317-8-1.10(13).  
Operators of non-municipal sources designated pursuant to paragraph 
(1)(h)1.b; (1)(h)1.c; and (1)(h)1.d of this section shall seek coverage 
under a UPDES permit in accordance with paragraph (2)(a) of this 
section. 
 3.  Operators of storm water discharges designated pursuant 
to paragraphs (1)(h)1.c. and (1)(h)1.d. of this section shall apply to the 
Director for a permit within 180 days of receipt of notice, unless 
permission for a later date is granted by the Director (see R317-8-
3.6(3)). 
 (2)  Application requirements for storm water discharges 
associated with industrial activity and storm water discharges associated 
with small construction activity. 
 (a)  Individual application.  Dischargers of storm water 
associated with industrial activity and with small construction activity 
are required to apply for an individual permit or seek coverage under a 
promulgated storm water general permit.  Facilities that are required to 
obtain an individual permit, or any discharge of storm water which the 
Director is evaluating under R317-8-3.9(1)(a)5 and is not a municipal 
separate storm sewer, and which is not part of a group application 
described under paragraph R317-8-3.9(2)(b) of this section, shall submit 
an UPDES application in accordance with R317-8-3.1 and 
supplemented by the provisions of the remainder of this paragraph.  
Applicants for discharges composed entirely of storm water shall submit 
Forms 1 and 2F.  Applicants for discharges composed of storm water 
and non-storm water shall submit EPA Forms 1, 2C, and 2F.  Applicants 
for new sources or new discharges composed of storm water and non-
storm water shall submit EPA Forms 1, 2D, and 2F. 
 1.  Except as provided in R317-8-3.9(2)(a)2, 3, and 4, the 
operator of a storm water discharge associated with industrial activity 
subject to this section shall provide: 
 a.  A site map showing topography (or indicating the outline 
of drainage areas served by the outfall(s) covered in the application if a 
topographic map is unavailable) of the facility including: each of its 
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drainage and discharge structures; the drainage area of each storm water 
outfall; paved areas and buildings within the drainage area of each storm 
water outfall; each past or present area used for outdoor storage or 
disposal of significant materials; each existing structural control 
measure to reduce pollutants in storm water runoff; materials loading 
and access areas; areas where pesticides, herbicides, soil conditioners 
and fertilizers are applied; each of its hazardous waste treatment, storage 
or disposal facilities (including each area not required to have a RCRA 
permit which is used for accumulating hazardous waste); each well 
where fluids from the facility are injected underground; springs, and 
other surface water bodies which receive storm water discharges from 
the facility; 
 b.  An estimate of the area of impervious surfaces (including 
paved areas and building roofs) and the total area drained by each outfall 
(within a mile radius of the facility) and a narrative description of the 
following:  Significant materials that in the three years prior to the 
submittal of this application have been treated, stored or disposed in a 
manner to allow exposure to storm water; method of treatment, storage 
or disposal of such materials; materials management practices 
employed, in the three years prior to the submittal of this application, to 
minimize contact by these materials with storm water runoff; materials 
loading and access areas; the location, manner and frequency in which 
pesticides, herbicides, soil conditioners and fertilizers are applied; the 
location and a description of existing structural and non-structural 
control measures to reduce pollutants in storm water runoff; and a 
description of the treatment the storm water receives, including the 
ultimate disposal of any solid or fluid wastes other than by discharge; 
 c.  A certification that all outfalls that should contain storm 
water discharges associated with industrial activity have been tested or 
evaluated for the presence of non-storm water discharges which are not 
covered by a UPDES permit; tests for such non-storm water discharges 
may include smoke tests, fluorometric dye tests, analysis of accurate 
schematics, as well as other appropriate tests.  The certification shall 
include a description of the method used, the date of any testing, and the 
on-site drainage points that were directly observed during a test; 
 d.  Existing information regarding significant leaks or spills 
of toxic or hazardous pollutants at the facility that have taken place 
within the three years prior to the submittal of this application; 
 e.  Quantitative data based on samples collected during storm 
events and collected in accordance with R317-8-3.1 from all outfalls 
containing a storm water discharge associated with industrial activity for 
the following parameters: 
 i.  Any pollutant limited in an effluent guideline to which the 
facility is subject; 
 ii.  Any pollutant listed in the facility's UPDES permit for its 
process wastewater (if the facility is operating under an existing UPDES 
permit); 
 iii.  Oil and grease, pH, BOD5, COD, TSS, total phosphorus, 
total Kjeldahl nitrogen, and nitrate plus nitrite nitrogen; 
 iv.  Any information on the discharge required under R317-8-
3.5(7)(d) and (e); 
 v.  Flow measurements or estimates of the flow rate, and the 
total amount of discharge for the storm event(s) sampled, and the 
method of flow measurement or estimation; and 
 vi.  The date and duration (in hours) of the storm event(s) 
sampled, rainfall measurements or estimates of the storm event (in 
inches) which generated the sampled runoff and the duration between 
the storm event sampled and the end of the previous measurable (greater 
than O.1 inch rainfall) storm event (in hours); 
 f.  Operators of a discharge which is composed entirely of 
storm water are exempt from R317-8-3.5(2),(3),(4),(5),(7)(a),(c), and 
(f); and 

 g.  Operators of new sources or new discharges which are 
composed in part or entirely of storm water must include estimates for 
the pollutants or parameters listed in R317-8-3.9(2)(a)1e instead of 
actual sampling data, along with the source of each estimate.  Operators 
of new sources or new discharges composed in part or entirely of storm 
water must provide quantitative data for the parameters listed in R317-
8-3.5(2)(a)1e within two years after commencement of discharge, unless 
such data has already been reported under the monitoring requirements 
of the UPDES permit for the discharge.  Operators of a new source or 
new discharge which is composed entirely of storm water are exempt 
from the requirements of R317-8-3.2(3)(b) and (c) and 3.2(5). 
 2. An operator of an existing or new storm water discharge 
that is associated with industrial activity solely under R317-8-
3.9(6)(c)11 of this section or is associated with small construction 
activity solely under paragraph R317-8-3.9(6)(e) of this section, is 
exempt from the requirements of R317-8-3.5 and R317-8-3.9(2)(a)1.  
Such operator shall provide a narrative description of: 
 a.  The location (including a map) and the nature of the 
construction activity; 
 b.  The total area of the site and the area of the site that is 
expected to undergo excavation during the life of the permit; 
 c.  Proposed measures, including best management practices, 
to control pollutants in storm water discharges during construction, 
including a brief description of applicable State and local erosion and 
sediment control requirements; 
 d.  Proposed measures to control pollutants in storm water 
discharges that will occur after construction operations have been 
completed, including a brief description of applicable State or local 
erosion and sediment control requirements; 
 e.  An estimate of the runoff coefficient of the site and the 
increase in impervious area after the construction addressed in the 
permit application is completed, the nature of fill material and existing 
data describing the soil or the quality of the discharge; and 
 f.  The name of the receiving water. 
 3.  The operator of an existing or new discharge composed 
entirely of storm water from an oil or gas exploration, production, 
processing, or treatment operation, or transmission facility is not 
required to submit a permit application in accordance with R317-8-
3.9(2)(a)1, unless the facility: 
 a.  Has had a discharge of storm water resulting in the 
discharge of a reportable quantity for which notification is or was 
required pursuant to 40 CFR 117.21 or 40 CFR 302.6 at anytime since 
November 16, 1987; 
 b.  Has had a discharge of storm water resulting in the 
discharge of a reportable quantity for which notification is or was 
required pursuant to 40 CFR 110.6 at any time since November 16, 
1987; or 
 c.  Contributes to a violation of a water quality standard. 
 4.  The operator of an existing or new discharge composed 
entirely of storm water from a mining operation is not required to submit 
a permit application unless the discharge has come into contact with any 
overburden, raw material, intermediate products, finished product, 
byproduct or waste products located on the site of such operations. 
 5.  Applicants shall provide such other information the 
Director may reasonably require to determine whether to issue a permit 
and may require any facility subject to R317-8-3.9(2)(a)2 to comply 
with R317-8-3.9(2)(a)1. 
 (3)  Application requirements for large and medium 
municipal separate storm sewer discharges.  The operator of a discharge 
from a large or medium municipal separate storm sewer or a municipal 
separate storm sewer that is designated by the Director under R317-8-
3.9(1)(a)5, may submit a jurisdiction-wide or system-wide permit 
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application.  Where more than one public entity owns or operates a 
municipal separate storm sewer within a geographic area (including 
adjacent or interconnected municipal separate storm sewer systems), 
such operators may be a coapplicant to the same application.  Permit 
applications for discharges from large and medium municipal storm 
sewers or municipal storm sewers designated under R317-8-3.9(1)(a)5 
shall include: 
 (a)  Part 1.  Part 1 of the application shall consist of: 
 1.  General information.  The applicants' name, address, 
telephone number of contact person, ownership status and status as a 
State or local government entity. 
 2.  Legal authority.  A description of existing legal authority 
to control discharges to the municipal separate storm sewer system.  
When existing legal authority is not sufficient to meet the criteria 
provided in R317-8-3.9(3)(b)1, the description shall list additional 
authorities as will be necessary to meet the criteria and shall include a 
schedule and commitment to seek such additional authority that will be 
needed to meet the criteria. 
 3.  Source identification. 
 a.  A description of the historic use of ordinances, guidance or 
other controls which limited the discharge of non-storm water 
discharges to any Publicly Owned Treatment Works serving the same 
area as the municipal separate storm sewer system. 
 b.  A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map (or equivalent 
topographic map with a scale between 1:10,000 and 1:24,000 if cost 
effective) extending one mile beyond the service boundaries of the 
municipal storm sewer system covered by the permit application.  The 
following information shall be provided: 
 i.  The location of known municipal storm sewer system 
outfalls discharging to waters of the State; 
 ii.  A description of the land use activities (e.g. divisions 
indicating undeveloped, residential, commercial, agriculture and 
industrial uses) accompanied with estimates of population densities and 
projected growth for a ten year period within the drainage area served 
by the separate storm sewer.  For each land use type, and estimate of an 
average runoff coefficient shall be provided; 
 iii.  The location and a description of the activities of the 
facility of each currently operating or closed municipal landfill or other 
treatment, storage or disposal facility for municipal waste; 
 iv.  The location and the permit number of any known 
discharge to the municipal storm sewer that has been issued a UPDES 
permit; 
 v.  The location of major structural controls for storm water 
discharge (retention basins, detention basins, major infiltration devices, 
etc.); and 
 vi.  The identification of publicly owned parks, recreational 
areas, and other open lands. 
 4.  Discharge characterization. 
 a.  Monthly mean rain and snow fall estimates (or summary 
of weather bureau data) and the monthly average number of storm 
events. 
 b.  Existing quantitative data describing the volume and 
quality of discharges from the municipal storm sewer, including a 
description of the outfalls sampled, sampling procedures and analytical 
methods used. 
 c.  A list of water bodies that receive discharges from the 
municipal separate storm sewer system, including downstream 
segments, lakes and estuaries, where pollutants from the system 
discharges may accumulate and cause water degradation and a brief 
description of known water quality impacts.  At a minimum, the 
description of impacts shall include a description of whether the water 
bodies receiving such discharges have been: 

 i.  Assessed and reported in CWA 305(b) reports submitted by 
the State, the basis for the assessment (evaluated or monitored), a 
summary of designated use support and attainment of Clean Water Act 
(CWA) goals (fishable and swimmable waters), and causes of 
nonsupport of designated uses; 
 ii.  Listed under section 304(l)(1)(A)(i), section 
304(l)(1)(A)(ii), or section 304(l)(1)(B) of the CWA that is not expected 
to meet water quality standards or water quality goals; 
 iii.  Listed in Utah Nonpoint Source Assessments that, without 
additional action to control nonpoint sources of pollution, cannot 
reasonably be expected to attain or maintain water quality standards due 
to storm sewers, construction, highway maintenance and runoff from 
municipal landfills and municipal sludge adding significant pollution (or 
contributing to a violation of water quality standards); 
 iv.  Identified and classified according to eutrophic condition 
of publicly owned lakes listed in State reports required under section 
314(a) of the CWA (include the following:  A description of those 
publicly owned lakes for which uses are known to be impaired; a 
description of procedures, processes and methods to control the 
discharge of pollutants from municipal separate storm sewers into such 
lakes; and a description of methods and procedures to restore the quality 
of such lakes); 
 v.  Recognized by the applicant as highly valued or sensitive 
waters; 
 vi.  Defined by the state or U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's 
National Wetlands Inventory as wetlands; and 
 vii.  Found to have pollutants in bottom sediments, fish tissue 
or biosurvey data. 
 d.  Field screening.  Results of a field screening analysis for 
illicit connections and illegal dumping for either selected field screening 
points or major outfalls covered in the permit application.  At a 
minimum, a screening analysis shall include a narrative description, for 
either each field screening point or major outfall, of visual observations 
made during dry weather periods.  If any flow is observed, two grab 
samples shall be collected during a 24 hour period with a minimum 
period of four hours between samples.  For all such samples, a narrative 
description of the color, odor, turbidity, the presence of an oil sheen or 
surface scum as well as any other relevant observations regarding the 
potential presence of non-storm water discharges or illegal dumping 
shall be provided.  In addition, a narrative description of the results of a 
field analysis using suitable methods to estimate pH, total chlorine, total 
copper, total phenol, and detergents (or surfactants) shall be provided 
along with a description of the flow rate.  Where the field analysis does 
not involve analytical methods approved under 40 CFR part 136, the 
applicant shall provide a description of the method used including the 
name of the manufacturer of the test method along with the range and 
accuracy of the test.  Field screening points shall be either major outfalls 
or other outfall points (for any other point of access such as manholes) 
randomly located throughout the storm sewer system by placing a grid 
over a drainage system map and identifying those cells of the grid which 
contain a segment of the storm sewer system or major outfall.  The field 
screening points shall be established using the following guidelines and 
criteria: 
 i.  A grid system consisting of perpendicular north-south and 
east-west lines spaced 1/4 mile apart shall be overlayed on a map of the 
municipal storm sewer system, creating a series of cells; 
 ii.  All cells that contain a segment of the storm sewer system 
shall be identified; one field screening point shall be selected in each 
cell; major outfalls may be used as field screening points; 
 iii.  Field screening points should be located downstream of 
any sources of suspected illegal or illicit activity; 
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 iv.  Field screening points shall be located to the degree 
practicable at the farthest manhole or other accessible location 
downstream in the system, within each cell; however, safety of 
personnel and accessibility of the location should be considered in 
making this determination; 
 v.  Hydrological conditions; total drainage area of the site; 
population density of the site; traffic density; age of the structures or 
building in the area; history of the area; and land use types; 
 vi.  For medium municipal separate storm sewer systems, no 
more than 250 cells need to have identified field screening points; in 
large municipal separate storm sewer systems, no more than 500 cells 
need to have identified field screening points; cells established by the 
grid that contain no storm sewer segments will be eliminated from 
consideration; if fewer than 250 cells in medium municipal sewers are 
created, and fewer than 500 in large systems are created by the overlay 
on the municipal sewer map, then all those cells which contain a 
segment of the sewer system shall be subject to field screening (unless 
access to the separate storm sewer system is impossible); and 
 vii.  Large or medium municipal separate storm sewer 
systems which are unable to utilize the procedures described in R317-8-
3.9(3)(a)4di-vi, because a sufficiently detailed map of the separate storm 
sewer systems is unavailable, shall field screen no more than 500 or 250 
major outfalls respectively (or all major outfalls in the system, if less); 
in such circumstances, the applicant shall establish a grid system 
consisting of north-south and east-west lines spaced 1/4 mile apart as an 
overlay to the boundaries of the municipal storm sewer system, thereby 
creating a series of cells; the applicant will then select major outfalls in 
as many cells as possible until at least 500 major outfalls (large 
municipalities) or 250 major outfalls (medium municipalities) are 
selected; a field screening analysis shall be undertaken at these major 
outfalls. 
 e.  Characterization plan.  Information and a proposed 
program to meet the requirements of R317-8-3.9(3)(b)3.  Such 
description shall include: the location of outfalls or field screening 
points appropriate for representative data collection under R317-8-
3.9(3)(b)3.a, a description of why the outfall or field screening point is 
representative, the seasons during which sampling is intended, a 
description of the sampling equipment.  The proposed location of outfall 
or field screening points for such sampling should reflect water quality 
concerns to the extent practicable. 
 5.  Management programs. 
 a.  A description of the existing management programs to 
control pollutants from the municipal separate storm sewer system.  The 
description shall provide information on existing structural and source 
controls, including operation and maintenance measures for structural 
controls, that are currently being implemented.  Such controls may 
include, but are not limited to: Procedures to control pollution resulting 
from construction activities; floodplain management controls; wetland 
protection measures; best management practices for new subdivisions; 
and emergency spill response programs.  The description may address 
controls established under State law as well as local requirements. 
 b.  A description of the existing program to identify illicit 
connections to the municipal storm sewer system.  The description 
should include inspection procedures and methods for detecting and 
preventing illicit discharges, and describe areas where this program has 
been implemented. 
 6.  Financial resources.  A description of the financial 
resources currently available to the municipality to complete part 2 of 
the permit application.  A description of the municipality's budget for 
existing storm water programs, including an overview of the 
municipality's financial resources and budget, including overall 
indebtedness and assets, and sources of funds for storm water programs. 

 (b)  Part 2.  Part 2 of the application shall consist of: 
 1.  Adequate legal authority.  A demonstration that the 
applicant can operate pursuant to legal authority established by statute, 
ordinance or series of contracts which authorizes or enables the 
applicant at a minimum to: 
 a.  Control through ordinance, permit, contract, order or 
similar means, the contribution of pollutants to the municipal storm 
sewer by storm water discharges associated with industrial activity and 
the quality of storm water discharged from sites of industrial activity; 
 b.  Prohibit through ordinance, order or similar means, illicit 
discharges to the municipal separate storm sewer; 
 c.  Control through ordinance, order or similar means the 
discharge to a municipal separate storm sewer of spills, dumping or 
disposal of materials other than storm water; 
 d.  Control through interagency agreements among 
coapplicants the contribution of pollutants from one portion of the 
municipal system to another portion of the municipal system; 
 e.  Require compliance with conditions in ordinances, 
permits, contracts or orders; and 
 f.  Carry out all inspection, surveillance and monitoring 
procedures necessary to determine compliance and noncompliance with 
permit conditions including the prohibition on illicit discharges to the 
municipal separate storm sewer. 
 2.  Source identification.  The location of any major outfall 
that discharges to waters of the State that was not reported under R317-
8-3.9(3)(a)3b 1.  Provide an inventory, organized by watershed of the 
name and address, and a description (such as SIC codes) which best 
reflects the principal products or services provided by each facility 
which may discharge, to the municipal separate storm sewer, storm 
water associated with industrial activity; 
 3.  Characterization data.  When "quantitative data" for a 
pollutant are required, the applicant must collect a sample of effluent in 
accordance with R317-8-3.5(7) and analyze it for the pollutant in 
accordance with analytical methods approved under 40 CFR part 136.  
When no analytical method is approved the applicant may use any 
suitable method but must provide a description of the method.  The 
applicant must provide information characterizing the quality and 
quantity of discharges covered in the permit application, including: 
 a.  Quantitative data from representative outfalls designated 
by the Director (based on information received in part 1 of the 
application, the Director shall designate between five and ten outfalls or 
field screening points as representative of the commercial, residential 
and industrial land use activities of the drainage area contributing to the 
system or, where there are less than five outfalls covered in the 
application, the Director shall designate all outfalls) developed as 
follows: 
 i.  For each outfall or field screening point designated, 
samples shall be collected of storm water discharges from three storm 
events occurring at least one month apart in accordance with R317-8-
3.5(7) (the Director may allow exemptions to sampling three storm 
events when climatic conditions create good cause for such 
exemptions); 
 ii.  A narrative description shall be provided of the date and 
duration of the storm event(s) sampled, rainfall estimates of the storm 
event which generated the sampled discharge and the duration between 
the storm event sampled and the end of the previous measurable (greater 
than 0.1 inch rainfall) storm event; 
 iii.  For samples collected and described under R317-8-
3.9(3)(b)3.a i and ii, quantitative data shall be provided for: the organic 
pollutants listed in Table II; the pollutants listed in Table III (other toxic 
pollutants metals, cyanide, and total phenols) of R317-8-3.13, and for 
the following pollutants: 
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 Total suspended solids (TSS) 
 Total dissolved solids (TDS) 
 COD 
 BOD5 
 Oil and grease 
 Fecal coliform 
 Fecal streptococcus 
 pH 
 Total Kjeldahl nitrogen 
 Nitrate plus nitrite 
 Dissolved phosphorus 
 Total ammonia plus organic nitrogen 
 Total phosphorus 
 iv.  Additional limited quantitative data required by the 
Director for determining permit conditions (the Director may require 
that quantitative data shall be provided for additional parameters, and 
may establish sampling conditions such as the location, season of 
sample collection, form of precipitation and other parameters necessary 
to insure representativeness); 
 b.  Estimates of the annual pollutant load of the cumulative 
discharges to waters of the State from all identified municipal outfalls 
and the event mean concentration of the cumulative discharges to waters 
of the State from all identified municipal outfalls during a storm event 
for BOD5, COD, TSS, dissolved solids, total nitrogen, total ammonia 
plus organic nitrogen, total phosphorus, dissolved phosphorus, 
cadmium, copper, lead, and zinc.  Estimates shall be accompanied by a 
description of the procedures for estimating constituent loads and 
concentrations, including any modeling, data analysis, and calculation 
methods; 
 c.  A proposed schedule to provide estimates for each major 
outfall identified in either R317-8-3.9(3)(b)2 or R317-8-3.9(3)(a)3b 1 of 
the seasonal pollutant load and of the event mean concentration of a 
representative storm for any constituent detected in any sample required 
under R317-8-3.9(3)(b)3a of this section; and 
 d.  A proposed monitoring program for representative data 
collection for the term of the permit that describes the location of outfalls 
or field screening points to be sampled (or the location of instream 
stations), why the location is representative, the frequency of sampling, 
parameters to be sampled, and a description of sampling equipment. 
 4.  Proposed management program.  A proposed management 
program covers the duration of the permit.  It shall include a 
comprehensive planning process which involves public participation 
and where necessary intergovernmental coordination, to reduce the 
discharge of pollutants to the maximum extent practicable using 
management practices, control techniques and system, design and 
engineering methods, and such other provisions which are appropriate.  
The program shall also include a description of staff and equipment 
available to implement the program.  Separate proposed programs may 
be submitted by each coapplicant.  Proposed programs may impose 
controls on a system wide basis, a watershed basis, a jurisdiction basis, 
or on individual outfalls.  Proposed programs will be considered by the 
Director when developing permit conditions to reduce pollutants in 
discharges to the maximum extent practicable.  Proposed management 
programs shall describe priorities for implementing controls.  Such 
programs shall be based on: 
 a.  A description of structural and source control measures to 
reduce pollutants from runoff from commercial and residential areas that 
are discharged from the municipal storm sewer system that are to be 
implemented during the life of the permit, accompanied with an estimate 
of the expected reduction of pollutant loads and a proposed schedule for 
implementing such controls.  At a minimum, the description shall 
include: 

 i.  A description of maintenance activities and a maintenance 
schedule for structural controls to reduce pollutants (including 
floatables) in discharges from municipal separate storm sewers; 
 ii.  A description of planning procedures including a 
comprehensive master plan to develop, implement and enforce controls 
to reduce the discharge of pollutants from municipal separate storm 
sewers which receive discharges from areas of new development and 
significant redevelopment.  Such plan shall address controls to reduce 
pollutants in discharges from municipal separate storm sewers after 
construction is completed.  Controls to reduce pollutants in discharges 
from municipal separate storm sewers containing construction site 
runoff are addressed in R317-8-3.9(3)(b)4d; 
 iii.  A description of practices for operating and maintaining 
public streets, roads and highways and procedures for reducing the 
impact on receiving waters of discharges from municipal storm sewer 
systems, including pollutants discharged as a result of deicing activities; 
 iv.  A description of procedures to assure that flood 
management projects assess the impacts on the water quality of 
receiving water bodies and that existing structural flood control devices 
have been evaluated to determine if retrofitting the device to provide 
additional pollutant removal from storm water is feasible. 
 v.  A description of a program to monitor pollutants in runoff 
from operating or closed municipal landfills or other treatment, storage 
or disposal facilities for municipal waste, which shall identify priorities 
and procedures for inspections and establishing and implementing 
control measures for such discharges (this program can be coordinated 
with the program developed under R317-8-3.9(3)(b)4c); and 
 vi.  A description of a program to reduce to the maximum 
extent practicable, pollutants in discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers associated with the application of pesticides, herbicides 
and fertilizer which will include, as appropriate, controls such as 
educational activities, permits, certifications and other measures for 
commercial applicators and distributors, and controls for application in 
public right-of-ways and at municipal facilities. 
 b.  A description of a program, including a schedule, to detect 
and remove illicit discharges and improper disposal into the storm 
sewer.  The proposed program shall include: 
 i.  A description of a program, including inspections, to 
implement and enforce an ordinance, orders or similar means to prevent 
illicit discharges to the municipal separate storm sewer system; this 
program description shall address all types of illicit discharges, however 
the following category of non-storm water discharges or flows shall be 
addressed where such discharges are identified by the municipality as 
sources of pollutants to waters of the State: water line flushing, 
landscape irrigation, diverted stream flows, rising ground waters, 
uncontaminated ground water infiltration to separate storm sewers, 
uncontaminated pumped ground water, discharges from potable water 
sources, foundation drains, air conditioning condensation, irrigation 
water, springs, water from crawl space pumps, footing drains, lawn 
watering, individual residential car washing, flows from riparian 
habitats and wetlands, dechlorinated swimming pool discharges, and 
street wash water (program descriptions shall address discharges or 
flows from fire fighting only where such discharges or flows are 
identified as significant sources of pollutants to waters of the State); 
 ii.  A description of procedures to conduct on-going field 
screening activities during the life of the permit, including areas or 
locations that will be evaluated by such field screens; 
 iii.  A description of procedures to be followed to investigate 
portions of the separate storm sewer system that, based on the results of 
the field screen, or other appropriate information, indicate a reasonable 
potential of containing illicit discharges or other sources of non-storm 
water (such procedures may include: sampling procedures for 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

58 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 

constituents such as fecal coliform, fecal streptococcus, surfactants 
(MBAS), residual chlorine, fluorides and potassium; testing with 
fluorometric dyes; or conducting in storm sewer inspections where 
safety and other considerations allow.  Such description shall include the 
location of storm sewers that have been identified for such evaluation); 
 iv.  A description of procedures to prevent, contain, and 
respond to spills that may discharge into the municipal separate storm 
sewer; 
 v.  A description of a program to promote, publicize and 
facilitate public reporting of the presence of illicit discharges or water 
quality impacts associated with discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers; 
 vi.  A description of educational activities, public information 
activities, and other appropriate activities to facilitate the proper 
management and disposal of used oil and toxic materials; and 
 vii.  A description of controls to limit infiltration of seepage 
from municipal sanitary sewers to municipal separate storm sewer 
systems where necessary; 
 c.  A description of a program to monitor and control 
pollutants in storm water discharges to municipal systems from 
municipal landfills, hazardous waste treatment, disposal and recovery 
facilities, industrial facilities that are subject to section 313 of title III of 
the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), 
and industrial facilities that the municipal permit applicant determines 
are contributing a substantial pollutant loading to the municipal storm 
sewer system.  The program shall: 
 i.  Identify priorities and procedures for inspection and 
establishing and implementing control measures for such discharges; 
 ii.  Describe a monitoring program for storm water discharges 
associated with the industrial facilities identified in R317-8-3.9(b)4c to 
be implemented during the term of the permit, including the submission 
of quantitative data on the following constituents: any pollutants limited 
in effluent guidelines subcategories, where applicable; any pollutant 
listed in an existing UPDES permit for a facility; oil and grease, COD, 
pH, BOD5, TSS, total phosphorus, total Kjeldahl nitrogen, nitrate plus 
nitrite nitrogen, and any information on discharges required under 
R317-8-3.5(7)(d) 1, 2, and (e). 
 d.  A description of a program to implement and maintain 
structural and non-structural best management practices to reduce 
pollutants in storm water runoff from construction sites to the municipal 
storm sewer system, which shall include: 
 i.  A description of procedures for site planning which 
incorporate consideration of potential water quality impacts; 
 ii.  A description of requirements for nonstructural and 
structural best management practices; 
 iii.  A description of procedures for identifying priorities for 
inspecting sites and enforcing control measures which consider the 
nature of the construction activity, topography, and the characteristics of 
soils and receiving water quality; and 
 iv.  A description of appropriate educational and training 
measures for construction site operators. 
 v.  Assessment of controls.  Estimated reductions in loadings 
of pollutants from discharges of municipal storm sewer constituents 
from municipal storm sewer systems expected as the result of the 
municipal storm water quality management program.  The assessment 
shall also identify known impacts of storm water controls on ground 
water. 
 vi.  Fiscal analysis.  For each fiscal year to be covered by the 
permit, a fiscal analysis of the necessary capital and operation and 
maintenance expenditures necessary to accomplish the activities of the 
programs under R317-8-3.9(8)(b) 3 and 4.  Such analysis shall include 
a description of the source of funds that are proposed to meet the 

necessary expenditures, including legal restrictions on the use of such 
funds. 
 vii.  Where more than one legal entity submits an application, 
the application shall contain a description of the rules and 
responsibilities of each legal entity and procedures to ensure effective 
coordination. 
 viii.  Where requirements under R317-8-3.9(3)(a)4e, 
3.9(3)(b)3b, and 3.9(3)(b)4 are not practicable or are not applicable, the 
Director may exclude any operator of a discharge from a municipal 
separate storm sewer which is designated under R317-8-3.9(1)(a)5, 
R317-8-1.6(4)(b) or R317-8-1.6(7)(b) from such requirements.  The 
Director shall not exclude the operator of a discharge from a municipal 
separate storm sewer located in incorporated places with populations 
greater than 100,000 and less than 250,000 according to the latest 
decennial census by Bureau of Census; or located in counties with 
unincorporated urbanized areas with a population of 250,000 or more 
according to the latest decennial census by the Bureau of Census, from 
any of the permit application requirements except where authorized. 
 (4)  Application deadlines.  Any operator of a point source 
required to obtain a permit under R317-8-3.9(1)(a) that does not have an 
effective UPDES permit authorizing discharges from its storm water 
outfalls shall submit an application in accordance with the following 
deadlines: 
 (a)  Storm water discharges associated with industrial 
activities. 
 1.  Except as provided in paragraph (4)(a)2. Of this section, 
for any storm water discharge associated with industrial activity 
identified in paragraphs R317-8-3.9(6)(d)1 through 11 of this section 
that is not authorized by a storm water general permit, a permit 
application made pursuant to paragraph R317-8-3.9(2) of this section 
must be submitted to the Executive Secretary by October 1, 1992; 
 2.  For any storm water discharge associated with industrial 
activity from a facility that is owned or operated by a municipality with 
a population of less than 100,000 that is not authorized by a general or 
individual permit, other than an airport, powerplant, or uncontrolled 
sanitary landfill, the permit application must be submitted to the 
Executive Secretary by March 10, 2003. 
 (b)  For any discharge from a large municipal separate storm 
sewer system: 
 1.  Part 1 of the application shall be submitted to the Director 
by November 18, 1991; 
 2.  Based on information received in the part 1 application the 
Director will approve or deny a sampling plan within 90 days after 
receiving the part 1 application; 
 3.  Part 2 of the application shall be submitted to the Director 
by November 16, 1992. 
 (c)  For any discharge from a medium municipal separate 
storm sewer system; 
 1.  Part 1 of the application shall be submitted to the Director 
by May 18, 1992. 
 2.  Based on information received in the part 1 application the 
Director will approve or deny a sampling plan within 90 days after 
receiving the part 1 application. 
 3.  Part 2 of the application shall be submitted to the Director 
by May 17, 1993. 
 (d)  A permit application shall be submitted to the Executive 
Secretary within 180 days of notice, unless permission for a later date is 
granted by the Director for; 
 1.  A storm water discharge which the Director determines that 
the discharge contributes to a violation of a water quality standard or is 
a significant contributor of pollutants to waters of the State. 
 2.  A storm water discharge subject to R317-8-3.9(2)(a)5. 
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 (e)  Facilities with existing UPDES permits for storm water 
discharges associated with industrial activity shall maintain existing 
permits.  New applications shall be submitted 180 days before the 
expiration of such permits.  Facilities with expired permits or permits 
due to expire before May 18, 1992, shall submit applications in 
accordance with the deadline set forth in R317-8-3.9(4)(a). 
 (f) For any storm water discharge associated with small 
construction activity identified in paragraph R317-8-3.9(6)(e)1. of this 
section, see R317-8-3.1(2).  Discharges from these sources require 
permit authorization by March 10, 2003, unless designated for coverage 
before then. 
 (g) For any discharge from a regulated small MS4, the permit 
application made under 40 CFR 122.33 (see R317-8-1.10(11)) must be 
submitted to the Executive Secretary by: 
 1.  March 10, 2003 if designated under 40 CFR 122.32 (a)(1) 
(see R317-8-1.10(10)) unless your MS4 serves a jurisdiction with a 
population under 10,000 and the Executive Secretary has established a 
phasing schedule under 40 CFR 123.35 (d)(3); or 
 2.  Within 180 days of notice, unless the Executive Secretary 
grants a later date, if designated under 40 CFR 122.32(a)(2) and 40 CFR 
122.33(c)(2) (see R317-8-1.10(10) and (11)). 
 (5)  Petitions. 
 (a)  Any operator of a municipal separate storm sewer system 
may petition the Executive Secretary to require a separate UPDES 
permit for any discharge into the municipal separate storm sewer 
system. 
 (b)  Any person may petition the Executive Secretary to 
require a UPDES permit for a discharge which is composed entirely of 
storm water which contributes to a violation of a water quality standard 
or is a significant contributor of pollutants to waters of the State. 
 (c)  The owner or operator of a municipal separate storm 
sewer system may petition the Director to reduce the Census estimates 
of the population served by such separate system to account for storm 
water discharge to combined sewers that is treated in a publicly owned 
treatment works.  In municipalities in which combined sewers are 
operated, the Census estimates of population may be reduced 
proportional to the fraction, based on estimated lengths, of the length of 
combined sewers over the sum of the length of combined sewers and 
municipal separate storm sewers where an applicant has submitted the 
UPDES permit number associated with each discharge point and a map 
indicating areas served by combined sewers and the location of any 
combined sewer overflow discharge point. 
 (d)  Any person may petition the Director for the designation 
of a large, medium, or small municipal separate storm sewer system as 
defined by R317-8-1.6(4), (7), and (14). 
 (e)  The Director shall make a final determination on any 
petition received under this section within 90 days after receiving the 
petition with the exception of the petitions to designate a small MS4 in 
which case the Director shall make a final determination on the petition 
within 180 days after its receipt. 
 (6)  Provisions Applicable to Storm Water Definitions. 
 (a)  The Director may designate a municipal separate storm 
sewer system as part of a large system due to the interrelationship 
between the discharges of designated storm sewer and the discharges 
from the municipal separate storm sewers described under R317-8-
1.6(4)(a) or (b).  In making the determination under R317-8-1.6(4)(b) 
the Director may consider the following factors: 
 1.  Physical interconnections between the municipal separate 
storm sewers; 
 2.  The location of discharges from the designated municipal 
separate storm sewer relative to discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers described in R317-8-1.6(3)(a); 

 3.  The quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to waters 
of the State; 
 4.  The nature of the receiving waters; and 
 5.  Other relevant factors; or 
 The Director may, upon petition, designate as a large 
municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate storm 
sewers located within the boundaries of a region defined by a storm 
water management regional authority based on a jurisdictional, 
watershed, or other appropriate basis that includes one or more of the 
systems described in R317-8-1.6(4). 
 (b)  The Director may designate a municipal separate storm 
sewer system as part of a medium system due to the interrelationship 
between the discharges of designated storm sewer and the discharges 
from the municipal separate storm sewers describer under R317-8-
1.6(7)(a) or (b).  In making the determination under R317-8-1.6(7)(b) 
the Director may consider the following factors; 
 1.  Physical interconnections between the municipal separate 
storm sewers; 
 2.  The location of discharges from the designated municipal 
separate storm sewer relative to discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers described in R317-8-1.6(7)(a); 
 3.  The quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to waters 
of the State; 
 4.  The nature of the receiving waters; or 
 5.  Other relevant factors; or 
 The Director may, upon petition, designate as a medium 
municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate storm 
sewers located within the boundaries of a region defined by a storm 
water management regional authority based on a jurisdictional, 
watershed, or other appropriate basis that includes one or more of the 
systems described in R317-8-1.6(7)(a), (b), and (c). 
 (c)  Storm water discharges associated with industrial activity 
means the discharge from any conveyance that is used for collecting and 
conveying storm water and that is directly related to manufacturing, 
processing or raw materials storage areas at an industrial plant.  The term 
does not include discharges from facilities or activities excluded from 
the UPDES program under this part R317-8.  For the categories of 
industries identified in this section, the term includes, but is not limited 
to, storm water discharges from industrial plant yards; immediate access 
roads and rail lines used or traveled by carriers of raw materials, 
manufactured products, waste materials, or by-products used or created 
by the facility; material handling sites; refuse sites; sites used for the 
application or disposal of process waste water (as defined in 40 CFR 
401); sites used for the storage and maintenance of material handling 
equipment; sites used for residual treatment, storage, or disposal; 
shipping and receiving areas; manufacturing buildings; storage areas 
(including tank farms) for raw materials, and intermediate and final 
products; and areas where industrial activity has taken place in the past 
and significant materials remain and are exposed to storm water.  For 
the purpose of this paragraph, material handling activities include 
storage, loading and unloading, transportation, or conveyance of any 
raw material, intermediate product, final product, by-product or waste 
product.  The term excludes areas located on plant lands separate from 
plant's industrial activities, such as office buildings and accompanying 
parking lots as long as the drainage from the excluded areas is not mixed 
with storm water drained from the above described areas.  Industrial 
facilities (including industrial facilities that are federally, State, or 
municipally owned or operated that meet the description of the facilities 
listed in paragraphs (d)1. through(11.) of this section) include those 
facilities designated under the provisions of paragraph (1)(a)5. of this 
section. 
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 d.  The following categories of facilities are considered to be 
engaging in "industrial activity" for the purposes of this section (see 
R317-8-3.9(1)(a)2 and (6)(c)). 
 1.  Facilities subject to storm water effluent limitations 
guidelines, new source performance standards, or toxic pollutant 
effluent standards, or toxic pollutant effluent standards under 40 CFR 
subchapter N except facilities with toxic pollutant effluent standards 
which are exempted under category R317-8-3.9(6)(c)11; 
 2.  Facilities classified as Standard Industrial Classifications 
24 (except 2434), 26 (except 265 and 267), 28 (except 283 and 285), 29, 
311, 32 (except 323), 33, 3441, 373; 
 3.  Facilities classified as Standard Industrial Classifications 
10 through 14 (mineral industry) including active or inactive mining 
operations (except for areas of coal mining operations no longer meeting 
the definition of a reclamation area because the performance bond 
issued to the facility by the appropriate SMCRA authority has been 
released, or except for areas of non-coal mining operations which have 
been released from applicable State or Federal reclamation requirements 
after December 17, 1990) and oil and gas exploration, production, 
processing, or treatment operations, or transmission facilities that 
discharge storm water contaminated by contact with or that has come 
into contact with, any overburden, raw material, intermediate products, 
finished products, byproducts or waste products located on the site of 
such operations; (inactive mining operations are mining sites that are not 
being actively mined, but which have an identifiable owner/operator; 
inactive mining sites do not include sites where mining claims are being 
maintained prior to disturbances associated with the extraction, 
beneficiation, or processing of mined materials, nor sites where minimal 
activities are undertaken for the sole purpose of maintaining a mining 
claim); 
 4.  Hazardous waste treatment, storage, or disposal facilities, 
including those that are operating under interim status or a permit under 
subtitle C of RCRA; 
 5.  Landfills, land application sites, and open dumps that 
receive or have received any industrial wastes (waste that is received 
from any of the facilities described under this subsection) including 
those that are subject to regulation under subtitle D of RCRA; 
 6.  Facilities involved in the recycling of materials, including 
metal scrap yards, battery reclaimers, salvage yards, and automobile 
junkyards, including but limited to those classified as Standard 
Industrial Classification 5015 and 5093; 
 7.  Steam electric power generating facilities, including coal 
handling sites; 
 8.  Transportation facilities classified as Standard Industrial 
Classifications 40, 41, 42 (except 4221-25), 43, 44, 45, and 5171 which 
have vehicle maintenance shops, equipment cleaning operations, or 
airport deicing operations.  Only those portions of the facility that are 
either involved in vehicle maintenance (including vehicle rehabilitation, 
mechanical repairs, painting, fueling, and lubrication), equipment 
cleaning operations, airport deicing operations, or which are otherwise 
identified under R317-8-3.9(6)(c) 1 through 7 or R317-8-3.9(6)(c) 9 
through 11 are associated with industrial activity; 
 9.  Treatment works treating domestic sewage or any other 
sewage sludge or wastewater treatment device or system, used in the 
storage treatment, recycling, and reclamation of municipal or domestic 
sewage, including land dedicated to the disposal of sewage sludge that 
are located within the confines of the facility, with a design flow of 1.0 
mgd or more, or required to have an approved pretreatment program.  
Not included are farm lands, domestic gardens or lands used for sludge 
management where sludge is beneficially reused and which are not 
physically located in the confines of the facility, or areas that are in 
compliance with requirements for disposal of sewage sludge. 

 10.  Construction activity including clearing, grading and 
excavation, except operations that result in the disturbance of less than 
five acres of total land area.  Construction activity also includes the 
disturbance of less than five acres of total land area that is part of a larger 
common plan of development or sale if the larger common plan will 
ultimately disturb five acres or more; 
 11.  Facilities under Standard Industrial Classifications 20, 21, 
22, 23, 2434, 25, 265, 267, 27, 283, 285, 30, 31 (except 311), 323, 34 
(except 3441), 35, 36, 37 (except 373), 38, 39, 4221-25. 
 (e) Storm water discharge associated with small construction 
activity means the discharge of storm water from: 
 1.  Construction activities including clearing, grading, and 
excavating that result in land disturbance of equal to or greater than one 
acre and less than five acres.  Small construction activity also includes 
the disturbance of less than one acre of total land area that is part of a 
larger common plan of development or sale if the larger common plan 
will ultimately disturb equal to or greater than one and less than five 
acres.  Small construction activity does not include routine maintenance 
that is performed to maintain the original line and grade, hydraulic 
capacity, or original purpose of the facility.  The Director may waive the 
otherwise applicable requirements in a general permit for a storm water 
discharge from construction activities that disturb less than five acres 
where: 
 a.  The value of the rainfall erosivity factor ("R" in the Revised 
Universal Soil Loss Equation) is less than five during the period of 
construction activity.  The rainfall erosivity factor is determined in 
accordance with Chapter 2 of Agriculture Handbook Number 703, 
Predicting Soil Erosion by Water: A Guide to Conservation Planning 
With the Revised Universal Soil Loss Equation (RUSLE), page 21-64, 
dated January 1997.  Copies may be obtained from EPA's Water 
Resource Center, Mail Code RC4100, 401 M St. S.W., Washington, DC 
20460.  A copy is also available for inspection at the U.S. EPA Water 
Docket, 401 M Street S.W., Washington, DC. 20460, or the Office of 
Federal Register, 800 N. Capitol Street N.W. Suite 700, Washington, 
DC.  An Operator must certify to the Director that the construction 
activity will take place during a period when the value of the rainfall 
erosivity factor is less than five; or 
 b.  Storm water controls are not needed based on a "total 
maximum daily load" (TMDL) approved by EPA that addresses the 
pollutant(s) of concern or, for non-impaired waters that do not require 
TMDLs, an equivalent analysis that determines allocations for small 
construction sites for the pollutant(s) of concern or that determines that 
such allocations are not needed to protect water quality based on 
consideration of existing in-stream concentrations, expected growth in 
pollutant contributions from all sources, and a margin of safety.  For the 
purpose of this paragraph, the pollutant(s) of concern include sediment 
or a parameter that addresses sediment (such as total suspended solids, 
turbidity or siltation) and any other pollutant that has been identified as 
a cause of impairment of any water body that will receive a discharge 
from the construction activity.  The operator must certify to the Director 
that the construction activity will take place, and storm water discharges 
will occur, within the drainage area addressed by the TMDL or 
equivalent analysis. 
 2.  Any other construction activity designated by the Director 
based on the potential for contribution to a violation of a water quality 
standard or for significant contribution of pollutants to waters of the 
State. 
 (7)  Conditional exclusion for "no exposure" of industrial 
activities and materials to storm water.  Discharges composed entirely 
of storm water are not storm water discharges associated with industrial 
activity if there is "no exposure" of industrial materials and activities to 
rain, snow, snow melt and/or runoff, and the discharger satisfies the 
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conditions in paragraphs (7)(a) through (7)(d) of this section.  "No 
exposure" means that all industrial materials and activities are protected 
by a storm resistant shelter to prevent exposure to rain, snow, snow melt, 
and/or runoff. Industrial materials or activities include, but are not 
limited to, material handling equipment or activities, industrial 
machinery, raw materials, intermediate products, by-products, final 
products, or waste products.  Material handling activities include the 
storage, loading and unloading, transportation, or conveyance of any 
raw material, intermediate product, final product or waste product. 
 (a)  Qualification.  To qualify for this exclusion, the operator 
of the discharge must: 
 1.  Provide a storm resistant shelter to protect industrial 
materials and activities from exposure to rain, snow, snow melt, and 
runoff: 
 2.  Complete and sign (according to R317-8-3.3) a 
certification that there are no discharges of storm water contaminated by 
exposure to industrial materials and activities from the entire facility, 
except as provided in paragraph (7)(b) of this section: 
 3.  Submit the signed certification to the Director once every 
five years; 
 4.  Allow the Director or authorized representative to inspect 
the facility to determine compliance with the "no exposure" conditions; 
 5.  Allow the Director or authorized representative to make 
any "no exposure" inspection reports available to the public upon 
request; and 
 6.  For facilities that discharge through an MS4, upon request, 
submit a copy of the certification of "no exposure" to the MS4 operator, 
as well as allow inspection and public reporting by the MS4 operator. 
 (b)  Industrial materials and activities not requiring storm 
resistant shelter.  To qualify for this exclusion, storm resistant shelter is 
not required for: 
 1.  Drums, barrels, tanks, and similar containers that are 
tightly sealed, provided those containers are not deteriorated and do not 
leak ("Sealed" means banded or otherwise secured and without 
operational taps or valves); 
 2.  Adequately maintained vehicles used in material handling; 
and 
 3.  Final products, other than products that would be 
mobilized in storm water discharge (e.g., rock salt). 
 (c)  Limitations 
 1.  Storm water discharges from construction activities 
identified in paragraphs R317-8-3.9(6)(d)10. and R317-8-3.9(6)(e) are 
not eligible for this conditional exclusion. 
 2.  This conditional exclusion from the requirement for an 
UPDES permit is available on a facility-wide basis only, not for 
individual outfalls.  If a facility has some discharges of storm water that 
would otherwise be "no exposure" discharges, individual permit 
requirements should be adjusted accordingly. 
 3.  If circumstances change and industrial materials or 
activities become exposed to rain, snow, snow melt, and/or runoff, the 
conditions for this exclusion no longer apply.  In such cases, the 
discharge become subject to enforcement for un-permitted discharge.  
Any conditionally exempt discharger who anticipates changes in 
circumstances should apply for and obtain permit authorization prior to 
the change of circumstances. 
 4.  Notwithstanding the provisions of this paragraph, the 
Director retains the authority to require permit authorization (and deny 
this exclusion) upon making a determination that the discharge causes, 
has a reasonable potential to cause, or contributes to an instream 
excursion above an applicable water quality standard, including 
designated uses. 

 (d)  Certification.  The no exposure certification must require 
the submission of the following information, at a minimum, to aid the 
Director in determining if the facility qualifies for the no exposure 
exclusion: 
 1.  The legal name, address and phone number of the 
discharger (see R317-8-3.1(3)). 
 2.  The facility name and address, the county name and the 
latitude and longitude where the facility is located; 
 3.  The certification must indicate that none of the following 
materials or activities are, or will be in the foreseeable future, exposed 
to precipitation: 
 a.  Using, storing, or cleaning industrial machinery or 
equipment, and areas where residuals from using, storing or cleaning 
industrial machinery or equipment remain and are exposed to storm 
water; 
 b.  Materials or residuals on the ground or in storm water 
inlets from spills/leaks; 
 c.  Materials or products from past industrial activity; 
 d.  Materials handling equipment (except adequately 
maintained vehicles); 
 e.  Materials or products during loading/unloading or 
transporting activities; 
 f.  Materials or products stored outdoors (except final products 
intended for outside use, e.g., new cars, where exposure to storm water 
does not result in the discharge to pollutants); 
 g.  Materials contained in open, deteriorated or leaking 
storage drums, barrels, tanks, and similar containers; 
 h.  Materials or products handled/stored on roads or railways 
owned or maintained by the discharger; 
 i.  Waste material (except waste in covered, non-leaking 
containers, e.g., dumpsters); 
 j.  Application or disposal of process wastewater (unless 
otherwise permitted); and 
 k.  Particulate matter or visible deposits or residuals from roof 
stacks/vents not otherwise regulated, i.e., under an air quality control 
permit, and evident in the storm water outflow. 
 4.  All "no exposure" certifications must include the following 
certification statement, and be signed in accordance with the signatory 
requirements of R317-8-3.3 "I certify under penalty of law that I have 
read and understand the eligibility requirements for claiming a condition 
of "no exposure" and obtaining an exclusion from UPDES storm water 
permitting; and that there are no discharges of storm water contaminated 
by exposure to industrial activities or materials from the industrial 
facility identified in this document (except as allowed under paragraph 
(7)(b) of this section).  I understand that I am obligated to submit a no 
exposure certification form once every five years to the Director and, if 
requested, to the operator of the local MS4 into which this facility 
discharges (where applicable).  I understand that I must allow the 
Director or authorized representative or MS4 operator where the 
discharge is into the local MS4, to perform inspections to confirm the 
condition of no exposure and make such inspection reports publicly 
available upon request.  I understand that I must obtain coverage under 
a UPDES permit prior to any point source discharge of storm water from 
the facility.  I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision in 
accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 
properly gathered and evaluated the information submitted.  Based upon 
my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 
persons directly involved in gathering the information, the information 
submitted is to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate and 
complete.  I am aware there are significant penalties for submitting false 
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information, including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations." 
 (8)  The Director may designate small MS4's other than those 
described in 40 CFR 122.32(a)(1) (see also R317-8-1.10(10)) to be 
covered under the UPDES storm water permit program, and require a 
UPDES storm water permit.  Designations of this kind will be based on 
whether a storm water discharge results in or has the potential to result 
in exceedances of water quality standards, including impairment of 
designated uses, or other significant water quality impacts, including 
habitat and biological impacts; and shall apply to any small MS4 located 
outside of an urbanized area serving a population density of at least 
1,000 people per square mile and a population of at least 10,000. 
 (a)  Criteria used in designation may include; 
 1.  discharge(s) to sensitive waters, 
 2.  areas with high growth or growth potential, 
 3.  areas with a high population density, 
 4.  areas that are contiguous to an urbanized area, 
 5.  small MS4's that cause a significant contribution of 
pollutants to waters of the State, 
 6.  small MS4's that do not have effective programs to protect 
water quality by other programs, or 
 7.  other appropriate criteria. 
 (b)  Permits for designated MS4's under this paragraph shall 
be under the same requirements as small MS4's designated under 40 
CFR 122.32(a)(1) (see also R317-8-1.10(10)).] 
 3.10  SILVICULTURAL ACTIVITIES 
 (1)  Permit requirements.  Silvicultural point sources, as 
defined in this section, are point sources subject to the UPDES permit 
program. 
 (2)  Definitions. 
 (a)  "Silvicultural point source" means any discernible, 
confined, and discrete conveyance related to rock crushing, gravel 
washing, log sorting, or log storage facilities which are operated in 
connection with silvicultural activities and from which pollutants are 
discharged into waters of the State.  The term does not include non-point 
source silvicultural activities such as nursery operations, site 
preparation, reforestation and subsequent cultural treatment, thinning, 
prescribed burning, pest and fire control, harvesting operations, surface 
drainage, or road construction and maintenance from which there is 
natural runoff. 
 (b)  "Rock crushing and gravel washing facilities" means 
facilities which process crushed and broken stone, gravel, and riprap. 
 (c)  "Log sorting and log storage facilities" means facilities 
whose discharges result from the holding of unprocessed wood, for 
example, logs or roundwood with bark or after removal of bark held in 
self-contained bodies of water or stored on land where water is applied 
intentionally on the logs. 
 3.11  APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW AND 
EXISTING POTWS. 
 (1)  The following POTWs shall provide the results of valid 
whole effluent biological toxicity testing to the Director. 
 (a)  All POTWs with design influent flows equal to or greater 
than one million gallons per day; and 
 (b)  All POTWs with approved pretreatment programs or 
POTWs required to develop a pretreatment program; 
 (2)  In addition to the POTWs listed in Subsection R317-8-
3.11(1)(a) and (b) the Director may require other POTWs to submit the 
results of toxicity tests with their permit applications, based on 
consideration of the following factors: 
 (a)  The variability of the pollutants or pollutant parameters in 
the POTW effluent (based on chemical-specific information, the type of 
treatment facility, and types of industrial contributors); 

 (b)  The dilution of the effluent in the receiving water (ratio of 
effluent flow to receiving stream flow); 
 (c)  Existing controls on point or nonpoint sources, including 
total maximum daily load calculations for the waterbody segment and 
the relative contribution of the POTW; 
 (d)  Receiving stream characteristics, including possible or 
known water quality impairment, and whether the POTW discharges to 
a water designated as an outstanding natural resource; or 
 (e)  Other considerations (including but not limited to the 
history of toxic impact and compliance problems at the POTW), which 
the Director determines could cause or contribute to adverse water 
quality impacts. 
 (3)  For POTWs required under Subsections R317-8-3.11(1) 
or (2) to conduct toxicity testing.  POTWs shall use EPA's methods or 
other established protocols which are scientifically defensible and 
sufficiently sensitive to detect aquatic toxicity.  Such testing must have 
been conducted since the last UPDES permit reissuance or permit 
modification under Subsection R317-8-5.6(1) whichever occurred later.  
Prior to conducting toxicity testing, permittees shall contact the Director 
regarding the testing methodology to be used. 
 (4)  All POTWs with approved pretreatment programs shall 
provide to the Director a written technical evaluation of the need to 
revise local limits. 
 3.12  PRIMARY INDUSTRY CATEGORIES.  Any UPDES 
permit issued to dischargers in the following categories shall include 
effluent limitations and a compliance schedule to meet the requirements 
of the UPDES rules and Sections 301(b)(2)(A),(C),(D),(E) and (F) of 
the CWA whether or not applicable effluent limitations guidelines have 
been promulgated. 
 (1)  Adhesives and sealants 
 (2)  Aluminum forming 
 (3)  Auto and other laundries 
 (4)  Battery manufacturing 
 (5)  Coal mining 
 (6)  Coil coating 
 (7)  Copper forming 
 (8)  Electrical and electronic components 
 (9)  Electroplating 
 (10)  Explosives manufacturing 
 (11)  Foundries 
 (12)  Gum and wood chemicals 
 (13)  Inorganic chemicals manufacturing 
 (14)  Iron and steel manufacturing 
 (15)  Leather tanning and finishing 
 (16)  Mechanical products manufacturing 
 (17)  Nonferrous metals manufacturing 
 (18)  Ore mining 
 (19)  Organic chemicals manufacturing 
 (20)  Paint and ink formulation 
 (21)  Pesticides 
 (22)  Petroleum refining 
 (23)  Pharmaceutical preparations 
 (24)  Photographic equipment and supplies 
 (25)  Plastics processing 
 (26)  Plastic and synthetic materials manufacturing 
 (27)  Porcelain enameling 
 (28)  Printing and publishing 
 (29)  Pulp and paper mills 
 (30)  Rubber processing 
 (31)  Soap and detergent manufacturing 
 (32)  Steam electric power plants 
 (33)  Textile mills 
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 (34)  Timber products processing 
 3.13  UPDES PERMIT APPLICATION TESTING 
REQUIREMENTS 
 

TABLE I 
Testing Requirements for Organic Toxic Pollutants 
by Industrial Category for Existing Dischargers 

 
                                          GC/MS fraction (1) 
Industrial category           Volatile   Acid    Base/  Pesticide 
 
Adhesives and sealants           (*)      (*)     (*)          
Aluminum Forming                 (*)      (*)     (*)          
Auto and Other Laundry           (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Battery Manufacturing            (*)              (*)          
Coal Mining                      (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Coil Coating                     (*)      (*)     (*)          
Copper Forming                   (*)      (*)     (*)          
Electric and Electronic 
  Components                     (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Electroplating                   (*)      (*)     (*)          
Explosives Manufacturing                  (*)     (*)          
Foundries                        (*)      (*)     (*)          
Gum and Wood Chemicals           (*)      (*)     (*)          
Inorganic Chemicals 
  Manufacturing                  (*)      (*)     (*)          
Iron and Steel 
  Manufacturing                  (*)      (*)     (*)          
Leather Tanning and 
  Finishing                      (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Mechanical Products 
  Manufacturing                  (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Nonferrous Metals 
  Manufacturing                  (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Ore Mining                       (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Organic Chemicals 
  Manufacturing                  (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Paint and Ink Formulation        (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Pesticides                       (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Petroleum Refining               (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Pharmaceutical Preparations      (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Photographic Equipment 
  and Supplies                   (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Plastic and Synthetic 
  Materials Manufacturing        (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Plastic Processing               (*)                           
Porcelain Enameling              (*)              (*)      (*) 
Printing and Publishing          (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Pulp and Paper Mills             (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Rubber Processing                (*)      (*)     (*)          
Soap and Detergent 
  Manufacturing                  (*)      (*)     (*)          
Steam Electric Power Plant       (*)      (*)     (*)          
Textile Mills                    (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
Timber Products Processing       (*)      (*)     (*)      (*) 
 
     (1) The toxic pollutants in each fraction are listed in Table II. 
     * Testing required. 

 

 
TABLE II 

Organic Toxic Pollutants in Each of Four Fractions in Analysis 
by Gas Chromatography/Mass Spectroscopy (GC/MS) 

 
     (a)  VOLATILES 
 
     1V     acrolein 
     2V     acrylonitrile 
     3V     benzene 
     4V     bis (chloromethyl) ether 
     5V     bromoform 
     6V     carbon tetrachloride 
     7V     chlorobenzene 
     8V     chlorodibromomethane 
     9V     chloroethane 
     10V    2-chloroethylvinyl ether 
     11V    chloroform 

     12V    dichlorobromomethane 
     13V    dichlorodifluoromethane 
     14V    1,1-dichloroethane 
     15V    1,2-dichloroethane 
     16V    1,1-dichloroehtylene 
     17V    1,2-dichloropropane 
     18V    1,2-dichloropropylene 
     19V    ethylbenzene 
     20V    metyl bromide 
     21V    methyl chloride 
     22V    methoylene chloride 
     23V    1,1,2,2-tetrachloroethane 
     24V    tetrachloroethylene 
     25V    toluene 
     26V    1,2-trans-dichloroethylene 
     27V    1,1,1-trichloroethane 
     28V    1,1,2-trichloroethane 
     29V    trichloroethylene 
     30V    trichlorofluoromethane 
     31V    vinyl chloride 
 
     (b)  ACID COMPOUNDS 
 
     1A     2-chlorophenol 
     2A     2,4-dichlorophenol 
     3A     2.4-dimethylphenol 
     4A     4,6-dinitro-o-cresol 
     5A     2,4-dinitrophenol 
     6A     2-nitrophenol 
     7A     4-nitrophenol 
     8A     p-chloro-m-cresol 
     9A     pentachlorophenol 
     10A    phenol 
     11A    2,4,6-trichlorophenol 
 
     (c)  BASE/NEUTRAL 
 
     1B     acenaphthene 
     2B     acenaphthylene 
     3B     anthracene 
     4B     benzidine 
     5B     benzo(a)anthracene 
     6B     benzo(a)pyrene 
     7B     3,4-benzofluoranthene 
     8B     benzo(ghi)perylene 
     9B     benzo(k)fluoranthene 
     10B    bis(2-chloroethoxy)methane 
     11B    bis(2-chloroethyl)ether 
     12B    bis(2-chloroethyl)ether 
     13B    bis(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate 
     14B    4-bromophenyl phenyl ether 
     15B    butylbenzyl phthalate 
     16B    2-chloronaphthanlene 
     17B    4-chlorophenyl phenyl ether 
     18B    chrysene 
     19B    dibenxo(a,h)anthracene 
     20B    1,2-dichlorobenzen 
     21B    1,3-dichlorobenzene 
     22B    1,4-dichlorobenzene 
     23B    3,3-dichlorobenzidine 
     24B    diethyl phthalate 
     25B    dimethyl phtahalate 
     26B    di-n-butyl phthalate 
     27B    2,4-dinitrotoluene 
     28B    2,6-dinitrotoluene 
     29B    di-n-octyl phthalate 
     30B    1,2-diphenylhydrazine (as azobenzene) 
     31B    fluoranthene 
     32B    fluorene 
     33B    hexachlorobenzene 
     34B    hexachlorobutadiene 
     35B    hexachlorocyclopentadiene 
     36B    hexachloroethane 
     37B    indeno(1,2,3-cd)pyrene 
     38B    isophorone 
     39B    naphthalene 
     40B    nitrobenzene 
     41B    N-nitrosodimethylamine 
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     42B    N-nitrosodi-n-propylamine 
     43B    N-nitrosodiphenylamine 
     44B    phenanthrene 
     45B    pyrene 
     46B    1,2,4-trichlorobenzene 
 
     (d)  PESTICIDES 
 
     1P     aldrin 
     2P     alpha-BHC 
     3P     beta-BHC 
     4P     gamma-BHC 
     5P     delta-BHC 
     6P     chlordane 
     7P     4,4'-DDT 
     8P     4,4'-DDE 
     10P    dieldrin 
     11P    alpha-endosulfan 
     12P    beta-endosulfan 
     13P    endosulfan sulfate 
     14P    endrin 
     15P    endrin aldehyde 
     16P    heptachlor 
     17P    heptachlor epoxide 
     18P    PCB-1242 
     19P    PCB-1254 
     20P    PCB-1221 
     21P    PCB-1232 
     22P    PCB-1248 
     23P    PCB-1260 
     24P    PCB-1016 
     25P    toxaphene 

 

 
TABLE III 

Other Toxic Pollutants; Metals, Cyanide, and Total Phenols 
 
     (a)     Antimony, Total 
     (b)     Arsenic, Total 
     (c)     Beryllium, total 
     (d)     Cadmium, Total 
     (e)     Chromium, Total 
     (f)     Copper, Total 
     (g)     Lead, Total 
     (h)     Mercury, Total 
     (i)     Nickel, Total 
     (j)     Selenium, Total 
     (k)     Silver, Total 
     (l)     Thallium, Total 
     (m)     Zinc, Total 
     (n)     Cyanide, Total 
     (o)     Phenols, Total 

 

 
TABLE IV 

Conventional and Nonconventional Pollutants Required to be Tested 
by Existing Dischargers if Expected to be Present 

 
     (a)     Bromide 
     (b)     Chlorine, Total Residual 
     (c)     Color 
     (d)     E. coli 
     (e)     Fluoride 
     (f)     Nitrate-Nitrite 
     (g)     Nitrogen, total Organic 
     (h)     Oil and Grease 
     (i)     Phosphorus, Total 
     (j)     Radioactivity 
     (k)     Sulfate 
     (l)     Sulfide 
     (m)     Sulfite 
     (n)     Surfactants 
     (o)     Aluminum, Total 
     (p)     Barium, Total 
     (q)     Boron, Total 
     (r)     Cobalt, Total 
     (s)     Iron, Total 

     (t)     Magnesium, Total 
     (u)     Molybdenum, Total 
     (v)     Manganese, Total 
     (w)     Tin, Total 
     (x)     Titanium, Total 

 

 
TABLE V 

28 Toxic Pollutants and Hazardous Substances Required 
to be Identified by Existing Dischargers 

if Expected to be Present 
 
     (a)  Toxic Pollutants - Asbestos 
     (b)  Hazardous Substances 
 
     1.     Acetaldhyde 
     2.     Allyl alcohol 
     3.     Allyl chloride 
     4.     Amyl acetate 
     5.     Aniline 
     6.     Benzonitrile 
     7.     Benzyl chloride 
     8.     Butyl acetate 
     9.     Butylamine 
     10.    Captan 
     11.    Carbaryl 
     12.    Carbofuran 
     13.    Carbon disulfide 
     14.    Chlorpyrifos 
     15.    Coumaphos 
     16.    Cresol 
     17.    Crotonaldehyde 
     18.    Cyclohexane 
     19.    2,4-D(2.4-Dichlorophenoxy acetic acid) 
     20.    Diazinon 
     21.    Dicamba 
     22.    Dichlobenil 
     23.    Dichlone 
     24.    2,2-Dichloropropionic acid 
     25.    Dichlorvos 
     26.    Diethyl amine 
     27.    Dimethyl amine 
     28.    Dintrobenzene 
     29.    Diquat 
     30.    Disulfoton 
     31.    Diuron 
     32.    Epichloropydrin 
     33.    Ethanolamine 
     34.    Ethion 
     35.    Ethylene diamine 
     36.    Ethylene dibromide 
     37.    Formaldehyde 
     38.    Furfural 
     39.    Guthion 
     40.    Isoprene 
     41.    Isopropanolamine dodecylbenzenesulfonate 
     42.    Kelthane 
     43.    Kepone 
     44.    Malathion 
     45.    Mercaptodimethur 
     46.    Methoxychlor 
     47.    Methyl mercaptan 
     48.    Methyl methacrylate 
     49.    Methyl parathion 
     50.    Mevinphos 
     51.    Mexacarbate 
     52.    Monoethyl amine 
     53.    Monomethyl amine 
     54.    Naled 
     55.    Npathenic acid 
     56.    Nitrotouene 
     57.    Parathion 
     58.    Phenolsulfanante 
     59.    Phosgene 
     60.    Propargite 
     61.    Propylene oxide 
     62.    Pyrethrins 
     63.    Quinoline 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 65 

     64.    Resorconol 
     65.    Strontium 
     66.    Strychnine 
     67.    Styrene 
     68.    2,4,5-T(2,4,5-Trichlorophenoxy acetic acid) 
     69.    TDE(Tetrachlorodiphenylethane) 
     70.    2,4,5-TP (2-(2,4,5 - trichlorophenoxy)propanic acid) 
     71.    Trichlorofan 
     72.    Triethanolamine dodecylbenzenesulfonate 
     73.    Triethylamine 
     74.    Trimethylamine 
     75.    Uranium 
     76.    Vanadium 
     77.    Vinyl Acetate 
     78.    Xylene 
     79.    Xylenol 
     80.    Zirconium 

 

 3.14  APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS OF 
SUBSECTION R317-8-3.8(7)(E) SUSPENDED FOR CERTAIN 
CATEGORIES AND SUBCATEGORIES OF PRIMARY 
INDUSTRIES.  The application requirements of Subsection R317-8-3.5 
(7)(c) are suspended for the following categories and subcategories of 
the primary industries listed in Subsection R317-8-3.11: 
 (1)  Coal mines. 
 (2)  Testing and reporting for all four organic fractions in the 
Greige Mills subcategory of the Textile Mills Industry and testing and 
reporting for the pesticide fraction in all other subcategories of this 
industrial category. 
 (3)  Testing and reporting for the volatile, base/neutral and 
pesticide fractions in the Base and Precious Metals Subcategory of the 
Ore Mining and Dressing industry, and testing and reporting for all four 
fractions in all other subcategories of this industrial category. 
 (4)  Testing and reporting for all four GC/MS fractions in the 
Porcelain Enameling industry. 
 (5)  Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the Tall 
Oil Resin Subcategory and Rosin-Based Derivatives Subcategory of the 
Gum and Wood Chemicals industry and testing and reporting for the 
pesticide and base/neutral fractions in all other subcategories of this 
industrial category. 
 (6)  Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
Leather Tanning and Finishing, Paint and Ink Formulation, and 
Photographic Supplies industrial categories. 
 (7)  Testing and reporting for the acid, base/neutral and 
pesticide fractions in the Petroleum Refining industrial category. 
 (8)  Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
Papergrade Sulfite subcategories of the Pulp and Paper industry; testing 
and reporting for the base/neutral and pesticide fractions in the following 
subcategories: Deink Dissolving Kraft and Paperboard from Waste 
Paper; testing and reporting for the volatile, base/neutral and pesticide 
fractions in the following subcategories: BCT Bleached Kraft, Semi-
Chemical and Nonintegrated Fine Papers; and testing and reporting for 
the acid, base/neutral, and pesticide fractions in the following 
subcategories: Fine Bleached Kraft, Dissolving, Sulfite Pulp, 
Groundwood-Fine Papers, Market Bleached Kraft, Tissue from 
Wastepaper, and Nonintegrated-Tissue Papers. 
 (9)  Testing and reporting for the base/neutral fraction in the 
Once-Through Cooling Water, Fly Ash and Bottom Ash Transport Water 
process wastestreams of the Steam Electric Power Plant industrial 
category. 
 
R317-8-4.  Permit Conditions. 
 4.1  CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL UPDES 
PERMITS.  The following conditions apply to all UPDES permits.  
Additional conditions applicable to UPDES permits are in Subsection 
R317-8-4.1(15).  All conditions applicable shall be incorporated into the 

permits either expressly or by reference.  If incorporated by reference, a 
specific citation to these rules must be given in the permit.  In addition 
to conditions required in all UPDES permits, the Director will establish 
conditions as required on a case-by-case basis under Subsection R317-
8-4.2 and Section R317-8-5. 
 (1)  Duty to Comply. 
 (a)  General requirement.  The permittee must comply with all 
conditions of the UPDES permit.  Any permit noncompliance is a 
violation of the Utah Water Quality Act, as amended and is grounds for 
enforcement action; permit termination, revocation and reissuance or 
modification; or denial of a permit renewal application. 
 (b)  Specific duties. 
 1.  The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established by the State within the time provided in the 
regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions, even if the 
permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the requirement (40 
CFR, 129). 
 2.  The Utah Water Quality Act, in 19-5-115, provides that any 
person who violates the Act, or any permit, rule, or order adopted under 
it is subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 per day of such 
violation.  Any person who willfully or with gross negligence violates 
the Act, or any permit, rule or order adopted under it is subject to a fine 
of not more than $25,000 per day of violation.  Any person convicted 
under 19-5-115 a second time shall be punished by a fine not exceeding 
$50,000 per day. 
 (2)  Duty to Reapply.  If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of the permit, 
the permittee shall apply for and obtain a new permit as required in 
Subsection R317-8-3.1. 
 (3)  Need to Halt or Reduce Activity Not a Defense.  It shall 
not be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 
have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to 
maintain compliance with the conditions of this permit. (Upon 
reduction, loss, or failure of the treatment facility, the permittee, to the 
extent necessary to maintain compliance with the permit, shall control 
production of all discharges until the facility is restored or an alternative 
method of treatment is provided.) 
 (4)  Duty to Mitigate.  The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or disposal in 
violation of the UPDES permit which has a reasonable likelihood of 
adversely affecting human health or the environment. 
 (5)  Proper Operation and Maintenance.  The permittee shall 
at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of 
treatment and control and related appurtenances which are installed or 
used by the permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of the 
permit.  Proper operation and maintenance also includes adequate 
laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures.  This 
provision requires the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by a permittee only when the 
operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the 
permit. 
 (6)  Permit Actions.  The permit may be modified, revoked 
and reissued, or terminated for cause.  The filing of a request by the 
permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, or 
termination, or a notification of planned changes or anticipated 
noncompliance, does not stay any permit condition. 
 (7)  Property Rights.  This permit does not convey any 
property rights of any kind, or any exclusive privilege. 
 (8)  Duty to Provide Information.  The permittee shall furnish 
to the Director, within a reasonable time, any information which the 
Director may request to determine whether cause exists for modifying, 
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revoking and reissuing, or terminating the permit or to determine 
compliance with this permit. The permittee shall also furnish to the 
Director, upon request, copies of records required to be kept by the 
permit. 
 (9)  Inspection and Entry. The permittee shall allow the 
Director, or an authorized representative, including an authorized 
contractor acting as a representative of the Director) upon the 
presentation of credentials and other documents as may be required by 
law to: 
 (a)  Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records must be kept 
under the conditions of the permit; 
 (b)  Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 
that must be kept under the conditions of the permit; 
 (c)  Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment, 
including monitoring and control equipment, practices or operations 
regulated or required under the permit; and 
 (d)  Sample or monitor at reasonable times for the purposes of 
assuring UPDES program compliance or as otherwise authorized by the 
Utah Water Quality Act any substances or parameters, or practices at any 
location. 
 (10)  Monitoring and records. 
 (a)  Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 
monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 
 (b)  The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 
information, including all calibration and maintenance records and all 
original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring 
instrumentation, copies of all reports required by the permit, and records 
of all data used to complete the application for the permit for a period of 
at least three (3) years from the date of the sample, measurement, report 
or application.  This period may be extended by request of the Director 
at any time.  Records of monitoring information required by this permit 
related to the permittee's sewage sludge use and disposal activities, shall 
be retained for a period of at least five years or longer as required by 
State promulgated standards for sewage sludge use and disposal. 
 (c)  Records of monitoring information shall include: 
 1.  The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements; 
 2.  The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 
measurements; 
 3.  The date(s) and times analyses were performed; 
 4.  The individual(s) who performed the analyses; 
 5.  The analytical techniques or methods used; and 
 6.  The results of such analyses. 
 (d)  Monitoring shall be conducted according to test 
procedures approved under 40 CFR 136 or in the case of sludge use or 
disposal, approved under 40 CFR 136 unless otherwise specified in 
State standards for sludge use or disposal, unless other test procedures, 
approved by EPA under 40 CFR 136, have been specified in the permit. 
 (e)  Section 19-5-115(3) of the Utah Water Quality Act 
provides that any person who falsifies, tampers with, or knowingly 
renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be 
maintained under the permit shall, upon conviction, be punished by a 
fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment for not more than six 
months or by both. 
 (11)  Signatory Requirement.  All applications, reports, or 
information submitted to the Director shall be signed and certified as 
indicated in Subsection R317-8-3.4.  The Utah Water Quality Act 
provides that any person who knowingly makes any false statements, 
representations, or certifications in any record or other document 
submitted or required to be maintained under the permit, including 
monitoring reports or reports of compliance or non-compliance shall, 

upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000 or by 
imprisonment for not more than six months or by both. 
 (12)  Reporting Requirements. 
 (a)  Planned changes.  The permittee shall give notice to the 
Director as soon as possible of any planned physical alteration or 
additions to the permitted facility.  Notice is required only when: 
 1.  The alteration or addition to a permitted facility may meet 
one of the criteria for determining whether a facility is a new source in 
Section R317-8-8; or 
 2.  The alteration or addition could significantly change the 
nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged.  This 
notification applies to pollutants which are subject neither to effluent 
limitations in the permit nor to notification requirements under 
Subsection R317-8-4.1(15). 
 3.  The alteration or addition results in a significant change in 
the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and such alteration, 
addition, or change may justify the application of permit conditions that 
are different from or absent in the existing permit, including notification 
of additional use or disposal sites not reported during the permit 
application process or not reported pursuant to an approved land 
application plan. 
 (b)  Anticipated Noncompliance.  The permittee shall give 
advance notice to the Director of any planned changes in the permitted 
facility or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements. 
 (c)  Transfers.  The permit is not transferable to any person 
except after notice to the Director.  The Director may require 
modification on and reissuance of the permit to change the name of the 
permittee and incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 
under the Utah Water Quality Act, as amended.  (In some cases, 
modification, revocation and reissuance is mandatory.) 
 (d)  Monitoring reports.  Monitoring results shall be reported 
at the intervals specified elsewhere in the permit.  Monitoring results 
shall be reported as follows: 
 1.  Monitoring results must be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR)  or forms provided or specified by the 
Director for reporting results of monitoring of sludge use or disposal 
practices.  Monitoring results may also be submitted electronically to the 
EPA's NetDMR program, if a Subscriber Agreement is in place.  See 
Utah Admin. Code R317-1-9. 
 2.  If the permittee monitors any pollutant more frequently 
than required by the permit, using test procedures approved under 40 
CFR 136 or the in the case of sludge use or disposal, approved under 40 
CFR 136 unless otherwise specified in State standards for sludge use 
and disposal, or as specified in the permit according to procedures 
approved by EPA, the results of this monitoring shall be included in the 
calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the DMR or sludge 
reporting form specified by the Director. 
 3.  Calculations for all limitations which require averaging of 
measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless otherwise 
specified in the permit. 
 (e)  Compliance Schedules.  Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress report on, interim and final 
requirements contained in any compliance schedule of the permit shall 
be submitted no later than fourteen days following each scheduled date. 
 (f)  Twenty-Four Hour Reporting.  The permittee shall (orally) 
report any noncompliance which may endanger health or the 
environment.  Any information shall be provided orally within twenty-
four hours from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances.  (The report shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any 
other reporting requirement applicable to the noncompliance.)  A written 
submission shall also be provided within five days of the time the 
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permittee becomes aware of the circumstances.  The written submission 
shall contain a description of the noncompliance and its cause; the 
period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times, and if the 
noncompliance has not been corrected, the anticipated time it is 
expected to continue; and steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, 
and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance.  (The Director may waive 
the written report on a case-by-case basis if the oral report has been 
received within twenty-four hours.)  The following shall be included as 
events which must be reported within twenty-four hours: 
 1.  Any unanticipated bypass which exceeds any effluent 
limitation in the permit, as indicated in Subsection R317-8-4.1(13). 
 2.  Any upset which exceeds any effluent limitation in the 
permit. 
 3.  Violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any 
of the pollutants listed by the Director in the permit to be reported within 
twenty-four hours, as indicated in R317-8-4.2(7).  The Director may 
waive the written report on a case-by-case basis if the oral report has 
been received within 24 hours. 
 (g)  Other NonCompliance.  The permittee shall report all 
instances of noncompliance not reported under Subsections R317-8-
4.1(12)[ ](d), (e), and (f) at the time monitoring reports are submitted.  
The reports shall contain the information listed in Subsection R317-8-
4.1(12)(f). 
 (h)  Other Information.  Where the permittee becomes aware 
that it failed to submit any relevant fact in a permit application, or 
submitted incorrect information in its permit application or in any report 
to the Director, it shall promptly submit such facts or information. 
 (13)  Occurrence of a Bypass. 
 (a)  Definitions. 
 1.  "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 
from any portion of a treatment facility. 
 2.  "Severe property damage" means substantial physical 
damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities which causes 
them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent loss of natural 
resources which can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of 
a bypass.  Severe property damage does not mean economic loss caused 
by delays in production. 
 (b)  Bypass Not Exceeding Limitations.  The permittee may 
allow any bypass to occur which does not cause effluent limitations to 
be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential maintenance to assure 
efficient operation.  These bypasses are not subject to R317-8-4.1(13)(c) 
or (d). 
 (c)  Prohibition of Bypass. 
 1.  Bypass is prohibited, and the Director may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 
 a.  Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of human life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage; 
 b.  There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such as 
the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or 
maintenance during normal periods of equipment downtime.  This 
condition is not satisfied if adequate backup equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering judgement to 
prevent a bypass which occurred during normal periods of equipment 
downtime or preventive maintenance, and 
 c.  The permittee submitted notices as required under R317-
8-4.1(13)(d). 
 2.  The Director may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the Director determines that it will 
meet the three conditions listed in R317-8-4.1(13)(c) a, b, and c. 
 (d)  Notice. 
 1.  Anticipated bypass. Except as provided in Subsections 
R317-8-4.1(13)(b) and R317-8-4.1(13)(d)2, if the permittee knows in 

advance of the need for a bypass, it shall submit prior notice, at least 90 
days before the date of bypass. The prior notice shall include the 
following unless otherwise waived by the Director: 
 a.  Evaluation of alternatives to the bypass, including cost-
benefit analysis containing an assessment of anticipated resource 
damages; 
 b.  A specific bypass plan describing the work to be performed 
including scheduled dates and times.  The permittee must notify the 
Director in advance of any changes to the bypass schedule; 
 c.  Description of specific measures to be taken to minimize 
environmental and public health impacts; 
 d.  A notification plan sufficient to alert all downstream users, 
the public and others reasonably expected to be impacted by the bypass; 
 e.  A water quality assessment plan to include sufficient 
monitoring of the receiving water before, during and following the 
bypass to enable evaluation of public health risks and environmental 
impacts; and 
 f.  Any additional information requested by the Director. 
 2.  Emergency Bypass. Where ninety days advance notice is 
not possible, the permittee must notify the Director, and the Director of 
the Department of Natural Resources, as soon as it becomes aware of 
the need to bypass and provide to the Director the information in 
Subsections R317-8-4.1(13)(d)1.a. through f. to the extent practicable. 
 3.  Unanticipated bypass.  The permittee shall submit notice 
of an unanticipated bypass to the Director as required in Subsection 
R317-8-4.1(12)(f).  The permittee shall also immediately notify the 
Director of the Department of Natural Resources , the public and 
downstream users and shall implement measures to minimize impacts 
to public health and the environment to the extent practicable. 
 (14)  Occurrence of an Upset. 
 (a)  Definition.  "Upset" means an exceptional incident in 
which there is unintentional and temporary noncompliance with 
technology-based permit effluent limitations because of factors beyond 
the reasonable control of the permittee.  An upset does not include 
noncompliance to the extent caused by operational error, improperly 
designed treatment facilities, inadequate treatment facilities, lack of 
preventive maintenance, or careless or improper operation. 
 (b)  Effect of an Upset.  An upset constitutes an affirmative 
defense to an action brought for noncompliance with such technology-
based permit effluent limitations if the requirements of Subsection 
R317-8-4.1(14)(c) are met.  No determination made during 
administrative review of claims that noncompliance was caused by 
upset, and before an action for noncompliance, if final administrative 
action subject to judicial review. 
 (c)  Conditions Necessary for a Demonstration of Upset.  A 
permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative defense of upset shall 
demonstrate through properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs, 
or other relevant evidence that: 
 1.  An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify the 
specific cause(s) of the upset; 
 2.  The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated; and 
 3.  The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required in 
Subsection R317-8-4.1(12)(f) (twenty-four hour notice). 
 4.  The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Subsection R317-8-4.1(4). 
 (d)  Burden of Proof.  In any enforcement proceeding the 
permittee seeking to establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden 
of proof. 
 (15)  Additional Conditions Applicable to Specified 
Categories of UPDES Permits.  The following conditions, in addition to 
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others set forth in these rules apply to all UPDES permits within the 
categories specified below: 
 (a)  Existing Manufacturing, Commercial, Mining, and 
Silvicultural Dischargers.  In addition to the reporting requirements 
under Subsections R317-8-4.1(12),(13), and (14), any existing 
manufacturing, commercial, mining, and silvicultural discharger shall 
notify the Director as soon as it knows or has reason to believe: 
 1.  That any activity has occurred or will occur which would 
result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of any toxic 
pollutant which is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed 
the highest of the following "notification levels": 
 a.  One hundred micrograms per liter (100 ug/l); 
 b.  Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 ug/l) for acrolein 
and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter (500 ug/l) for 2,4 
dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram 
per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 
 c.  Five times the maximum concentration value reported for 
that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with Subsection 
R317-8-3.5(7) or (10). 
 d.  The level established by the Director in accordance with 
Subsection R317-8-4.2(6). 
 2.  That any activity has occurred or will occur which would 
result in any discharge on a non-routine or infrequent basis of a toxic 
pollutant which is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed 
the highest of the following "notification levels": 
 a.  Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 ug/l). 
 b.  One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony. 
 c.  Ten times the maximum concentration value reported for 
that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with Subsection 
R317-8-3.5(9). 
 d.  The level established by the Director in accordance with 
Subsection R317-8-4.2(6). 
 (b)  POTWs.  POTWs shall provide adequate notice to the 
Director of the following: 
 1.  Any new introduction of pollutants into that POTW from 
an indirect discharger which would be subject to the UPDES rules if it 
were directly discharging those pollutants; and 
 2.  Any substantial change in the volume or character of 
pollutants being introduced into that POTW by a source introducing 
pollutants into the POTW at the time of issuance of the permit. 
 3.  For purposes of this paragraph, adequate notice shall 
include information on the quality and quantity of effluent introduced 
into the POTW; and any anticipated impact of the change on the quantity 
or quality of effluent to be discharged from the POTW. 
[ (c) Municipal separate storm sewer systems.  The operator of 
a large or medium municipal separate storm sewer system or a 
municipal separate storm sewer that has been determined by the Director 
under R317-8-3.9(1)(a)5 of this part must submit an annual report by 
the anniversary of the date of the issuance of the permit for such system.  
The report shall include: 
 1.  The status of implementing the components of the storm 
water management program that are established as permit conditions; 
 2.  Proposed changes to the storm water management 
programs that are established as permit conditions.  Such proposed 
changes shall be consistent with R317-8-3.9(3)(b)3; and 
 3.  Revisions, if necessary, to the assessment of controls and 
the fiscal analysis reported in the permit application under R317-8-
3.9(3)(b)4 and 3.9(3)(b)5; 
 4.  A summary of data, including monitoring data, that is 
accumulated throughout the reporting year; 
 5.  Annual expenditures and budget for year following each 
annual report; 

 6.  A summary describing the number and nature of 
enforcement actions, inspections, and public education programs; 
 7.  Identification of water quality improvements or 
degradation.] 
 4.2  ESTABLISHING PERMIT CONDITIONS.  For the 
purposes of this section, permit conditions include any statutory or 
regulatory requirement which takes effect prior to the final 
administrative disposition of a permit.  An applicable requirement may 
be any requirement which takes effect prior to the modification or 
revocation or reissuance of a permit, to the extent allowed in Subsection 
R317-8-5.6.  New or reissued permits, and to the extent allowed under 
Subsection R317-8-5.6, modified or revoked and reissued permits shall 
incorporate each of the applicable requirements referenced in this 
section.  In addition to the conditions established under Subsection 
R317-8-4.1 each UPDES permit will include conditions on a case by 
case basis to provide for and ensure compliance with all applicable Utah 
statutory and regulatory requirements and the following, as applicable: 
 (1)  Technology-based effluent limitations and standards, 
based on effluent limitations and standards promulgated under Section 
19-5-104 of the Utah Water Quality Act or new source performance 
standards promulgated under Section 19-5-104 of the Utah Water 
Quality Act, on case-by-case effluent limitations, or a combination of 
the two in accordance with Subsection R317-8-7.1. 
 (2)  Toxic Effluent Standards and Other Effluent Limitations.  
If any applicable toxic effluent standard or prohibition, including any 
schedule of compliance specified in such effluent standard or 
prohibition, is promulgated under Section 307(a) of CWA for a toxic 
pollutant and that standard or prohibition is more stringent than any 
limitation on the pollutant in the permit, the Director shall institute 
proceedings under these rules to modify or revoke and reissue the permit 
to conform to the toxic effluent standard or prohibition. 
 (3)  Reopener Clause.  For any discharger within a primary 
industry category, as listed in Subsection R317-8-3.11, requirements 
will be incorporated as follows: 
 (a)  On or before June 30, 1981: 
 1.  If applicable standards or limitations have not yet been 
promulgated, the permit shall include a condition stating that, if an 
applicable standard or limitation is promulgated and that effluent 
standard or limitation is more stringent than any effluent limitation in 
the permit or controls a pollutant not limited in the permit, the permit 
shall be promptly modified or revoked and reissued to conform to that 
effluent standard or limitation. 
 2.  If applicable standards or limitations have been 
promulgated or approved, the permit shall include those standards or 
limitations. 
 (b)  On or after the statutory deadline set forth in Sections 
301(b)(2) (A), (C), and (E) of CWA, any permit issued shall include 
effluent limitations to meet the requirements of Sections 301(b)(2) (A), 
(C), (D), (E), (F), whether or not applicable effluent limitations 
guidelines have been promulgated or approved.  These permits need not 
incorporate the clause required by Subsection R317-8-4.2(3)(a)1. 
 (c)  The Director shall promptly modify or revoke and reissue 
any permit containing the clause required under Subsection R317-8-
4.2(3)(a)1 to incorporate an applicable effluent standard or limitation 
which is promulgated or approved after the permit is issued if that 
effluent standard or limitation is more stringent than any effluent 
limitation in the permit, or controls a pollutant not limited in the permit. 
 (d)  For any permit issued to a treatment works treating 
domestic sewage (including sludge-only facilities), the Director shall 
include a reopener clause to incorporate any applicable standard for 
sewage sludge use or disposal adopted by the State. The Director may 
promptly modify or revoke and reissue any permit containing the 
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reopener clause required by this paragraph if the standard for sewage 
sludge use or disposal is more stringent than any requirements for sludge 
use or disposal in the permit, or controls a pollutant or practice not 
limited in the permit. 
 (4)  Water quality standards and state requirements shall be 
included as applicable.  Any requirements in addition to or more 
stringent than EPA's effluent limitation guidelines or standards will be 
included, when necessary to: 
 (a)  Achieve water quality standards established under the 
Utah Water Quality Act, as amended and rules promulgated pursuant 
thereto, including State narrative criteria for water quality. 
 1.  Permit limitations must control all pollutants or pollutant 
parameters (either conventional, nonconventional, or toxic pollutants) 
which the Director determines are or may be discharged at a level which 
will cause, have the reasonable potential to cause, or contribute to an 
excursion above any State water quality standard, including State 
narrative criteria for water quality. 
 2.  When determining whether a discharge causes, has the 
reasonable potential to cause, or contributes to an in-stream excursion 
above a narrative or numeric criteria within a State water quality 
standard, the Director shall use procedures which account for existing 
controls on point and nonpoint sources of pollution, the variability of the 
pollutant or pollutant parameter in the effluent, the sensitivity of the 
species to toxicity testing (when evaluating whole effluent toxicity), and 
where appropriate, the dilution of the effluent in the receiving water. 
 3.  When the Director determines, using the procedures in 
R317-8-4.2(4)(2), that a discharge causes, has the reasonable potential 
to cause, or contributes to an in-stream excursion above the allowable 
ambient concentration of a State numeric criteria within a State water 
quality standard for an individual pollutant, the permit must contain 
effluent limits for that pollutant. 
 4.  When the Director determines, using the procedures in 
Subsection R317-8-4.2(4)(2), that a discharge causes, has the reasonable 
potential to cause, or contributes to an in-stream excursion above the 
numeric criterion for whole effluent toxicity, the permit will contain 
effluent limits for whole effluent toxicity. 
 5.  Except as provided in Subsection R317-8-4.2, when the 
Director determines, using the procedures in Subsection R317-8-
4.2(4)(2), toxicity testing data, or other information, that a discharge 
causes, has the reasonable potential to cause, or contributes to an in-
stream excursion above a narrative criterion within an applicable State 
water quality standard, the permit will contain effluent limits for whole 
effluent toxicity.  Limits on whole effluent toxicity are not necessary 
where the Director determines in the fact sheet or statement of basis of 
the UPDES permit, using the procedures in Subsection R317-8-
4.2(4)(2), that chemical specific limits for effluent are sufficient to attain 
and maintain applicable numeric and narrative State water quality 
standards. 
 6.  Where the State has not established a water quality 
criterion for a specific chemical pollutant that is present in an effluent at 
a concentration that causes, has the reasonable potential to cause, or 
contributes to an excursion above a narrative criterion within an 
applicable State water quality standard the Director will establish 
effluent limits using one or more of the following options: 
 a.  Establish effluent limits using a calculated numeric water 
quality criterion for the pollutant which the Director determines will 
attain and maintain applicable narrative water quality criteria and will 
fully protect the designated use.  Such a criterion may be derived using 
a proposed State criterion, or an explicit State policy or rule interpreting 
its narrative water quality criteria supplemented with other relevant 
information which may include: EPA's Water Quality Standards 
Handbook, October 1983, risk assessment data, exposure data, 

information about the pollutant from the Food and Drug Administration, 
and current EPA criteria documents: 
 b.  Establish effluent limits on a case-by-case basis, using 
EPA's water quality criteria, published under section 307(a) of the CWA, 
supplemented where necessary by other relevant information; or 
 c.  Establish effluent limitations on an indicator parameter for 
the pollutant of concern, provided: 
 (i)  The permit identifies which pollutants are intended to be 
controlled by the use of the effluent limitations; 
 (ii)  The fact sheet as required by .4 sets forth the basis for the 
limit, including a finding that compliance with the effluent limit on the 
indicator parameter will result in controls on the pollutant of concern 
which are sufficient to attain and maintain applicable water quality 
standards; 
 (iii)  The permit requires all effluent and ambient monitoring 
necessary to show that during the term of the permit the limit on the 
indicator parameter continues to attain and maintain applicable water 
quality standards; and 
 (iv)  The permit contains a reopener clause allowing the 
Director to modify or revoke and reissue the permit if the limits on the 
indicator parameter no longer attain and maintain applicable water 
quality standards. 
 7.  When developing water quality-based effluent limits under 
this paragraph the Director shall ensure that: 
 a.  The level of water quality to be achieved by limits on point 
sources established under this paragraph is derived from, and complies 
with all applicable water quality standards; and 
 b.  Effluent limits developed to protect a narrative water 
quality criterion, a numeric water quality criterion, or both, are 
consistent with the assumptions and requirements of any available 
wasteload allocation for the discharge prepared by the State and 
approved by EPA pursuant to 40 CFR 130.7. 
 (b)  Attain or maintain a specified water quality through water 
quality related effluent limits established under the Utah Water Quality 
Act; 
 (c)  Conform to applicable water quality requirements when 
the discharge affects a state other than Utah; 
 (d)  Incorporate any more stringent limitations, treatment 
standards, or schedule of compliance requirements established under 
federal or state law or regulations. 
 (e)  Ensure consistency with the requirements of any Utah 
Water Quality Management Plan approved by EPA. 
 (f)  Incorporate alternative effluent limitations or standards 
where warranted by "fundamentally different factors," under Subsection 
R317-8-7.3. 
 (5)  Technology-based Controls for Toxic Pollutants.  
Limitations established under Subsections R317-8-4.2[ ](1), (2), or (4) 
to control pollutants meeting the criteria listed in Subsection R317-8-
4.2(5)(a) will be included in the permit, if applicable.  Limitations will 
be established in accordance with Subsection R317-8-4.2(5)(6).  An 
explanation of the development of these limitations will be included in 
the fact sheet under Subsection R317-8-6.4. 
 (a)  Limitations will control all toxic pollutants which: 
 1.  The Director determines, based on information reported in 
a permit application under Subsections R317-8-3.5(7) and (10), or in a 
notification under Subsection R317-8-4.1(15)(a) of this rule or on other 
information, are or may be discharged at a level greater than the level 
which can be achieved by the technology-based treatment requirements 
appropriate to the permittee under Subsections R317-8-7.1(3)(a),(b) and 
(c). 
 2.  The discharger does or may use or manufacture as an 
intermediate or final product or byproduct. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

70 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 

 (b)  The requirement that the limitations control the pollutants 
meeting the criteria of paragraph (a) of this subsection will be satisfied 
by: 
 1.  Limitations on those pollutants; or 
 2.  Limitations on other pollutants which, in the judgment of 
the Director, will provide treatment of the pollutants under paragraph (a) 
of this subsection to the levels required by Subsections R317-8-
7.1(3)(a), (b) and (c). 
 (6)  Notification Level.  A "notification level" which exceeds 
the notification level of R317-8-4.1(15) upon a petition from the 
permittee or on the Director's initiative will be incorporated as a permit 
condition, if applicable.  This new notification level may not exceed the 
level which can be achieved by the technology-based treatment 
requirements appropriate to the permittee under Subsection R317-8-
7.1(3). 
 (7)  Twenty-Four (24) Hour Reporting.  Pollutants for which 
the permittee will report violations of maximum daily discharge 
limitations under Subsection R317-8-4.1(12)(f) shall be listed in the 
permit.  This list will include any toxic pollutant or hazardous substance, 
or any pollutant specifically identified as the method to control a toxic 
pollutant or hazardous substance. 
 (8)  Monitoring Requirements.  The permit will incorporate, 
as applicable in addition to Subsection R317-8-4.1(12) the following 
monitoring requirements: 
 (a)  To assure compliance with permit limitations, 
requirements to monitor; 
 1.  The mass, or other measurement specified in the permit, 
for each pollutant limited in the permit; 
 2.  The volume of effluent discharged from each outfall; 
 3.  Other measurements as appropriate, including pollutants 
in internal waste streams under Subsection R317-8-4.3(8); pollutants in 
intake water for net limitations under Subsection R317-8-4.3(7); 
frequency and rate of discharge for noncontinuous discharges under 
Subsection R317-8-4.3(5); pollutants subject to notification 
requirements under Subsection R317-8-4.1(15)(a); and pollutants in 
sewage sludge or other monitoring as specified in State rules for sludge 
use or disposal or as determined to be necessary pursuant to Subsection 
R317-8-2.1. 
 4.  According to test procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 
136 for the analyses of pollutants having approved methods under the 
federal regulation, and according to a test procedure specified in the 
permit for pollutants with no approved methods. 
 (b)  Except as provided in Subsections R317-8-
4.2[paragraphs ](8)(d) and (8)(e)[ of this section], requirements to report 
monitoring results shall be established on a case-by-case basis with a 
frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the sewage sludge use 
or disposal practice; minimally this shall be a specified in Subsection 
R317-8-1.10(8) (where applicable), but in no case less than once a year. 
 (c)  Requirements to report monitoring results for storm water 
discharges associated with industrial activity which are subject to an 
effluent limitation guideline shall be established on a case-by-case basis 
with a frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the discharge, 
but in no case less than once a year. 
 (d)  Requirements to report monitoring results for storm water 
discharges associated with industrial activity (other than those addressed 
in paragraph (c)above) shall be established on a case-by-case basis with 
a frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the discharge.  At a 
minimum, a permit for such a discharge must require; 
 1.  The discharger to conduct an annual inspection of the 
facility site to identify areas contributing to a storm water discharge 
associated with industrial activity and evaluate whether measures to 
reduce pollutant loadings identified in a storm water pollution 

prevention plan are adequate and properly implemented in accordance 
with the terms of the permit or whether additional control measures are 
needed; 
 2.  The discharger to maintain for a period of three years a 
record summarizing the results of the inspection and a certification that 
the facility is in compliance with the plan and the permit, and identifying 
any incidents of non-compliance; 
 3.  Such report and certification be signed in accordance with 
Subsection R317-8-3.4; and 
 4.  Permits for storm water discharges associated with 
industrial activity from inactivite mining operations may, where annual 
inspections are impracticable, require certification once every three 
years by a Registered Professional Engineer that the facility is in 
compliance with the permit, or alternative requirements. 
 (e)  Permits which do not require the submittal of monitoring 
result reports at least annually shall require that the permittee report all 
instances of noncompliance not reported under Subsections R317-8-
4.1(12)(a),(d),(e), and (f) at least annually. 
 (9)  Pretreatment Program for POTWs.  If applicable to the 
facility the permit will incorporate as a permit condition, requirements 
for POTWs to: 
 (a)  Identify, in terms of character and volume of pollutants, 
any significant indirect dischargers into the POTW subject to 
pretreatment standards under the UPDES rules. 
 (b)  Submit a local program when required by and in 
accordance with Subsection R317-8-8.10 to assure compliance with 
pretreatment standards to the extent applicable in the UPDES rules. The 
local program will be incorporated into the permit as described in 
Subsection R317-8-8.10.  The program shall require all indirect 
dischargers to the POTW to comply with the applicable reporting 
requirements. 
 (c)  For POTWs which are "sludge-only facilities", a 
requirement to develop a pretreatment program under Subsection R317-
8-8 when the Director determines that a pretreatment program is 
necessary to assure compliance with State rules governing sludge use or 
disposal. 
 (10)  Best management practices shall be included as a permit 
condition, as applicable, to control or abate the discharge of pollutants 
when: 
 (a)  Authorized under the Utah Water Quality Act as amended 
and the UPDES rule for the control of toxic pollutants and hazardous 
substances from ancillary activities; 
 (b)  Numeric effluent limitations are infeasible, or 
 (c)  The practices are reasonably necessary to achieve effluent 
limitations and standards or to carry out the purposes and intent of the 
Utah Water Quality Act, as amended. 
 (11)  Reissued Permits. 
 (a)  Except as provided in Subsection R317-8-4.2(11)(b), 
when a permit is renewed or reissued, interim limitations, standards or 
conditions must be at least as stringent as the final limitations, standards, 
or conditions in the previous permit unless the circumstances on which 
the previous permit was based have materially and substantially 
changed since the time the permit was issued and would constitute cause 
for permit modification or revocation and reissuance under Subsection 
R317-8-5.6. 
 (b)  In the case of effluent limitations established on the basis 
of Section 19-5-104 of the Utah Water Quality Act, a permit may not be 
renewed, reissued, or modified on the basis of effluent guidelines 
promulgated by EPA under section 304(b) of the CWA subsequent to the 
original issuance of such permit, to contain effluent limitations which 
are less stringent than the comparable effluent limitations in the previous 
permit. 
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 (c)  Exceptions--A permit with respect to which Subsection 
R317-8-4.2(11)(b) applies may be renewed, reissued or modified to 
contain a less stringent effluent limitation applicable to a pollutant, if-- 
 1.  Material and substantial alterations or additions to the 
permitted facility occurred after permit issuance which justify the 
application of a less stringent effluent limitation; and 
 2.  either: 
 a.  [I]information is available which was not available at the 
time of permit issuance [(]other than revised regulations, guidance, or 
test methods[)] which would have justified the application of a less 
stringent effluent limitation at the time of permit issuance; or 
 b.  [T]the Director determines that technical mistakes or 
mistaken interpretations of law were made in issuing the permit; 
 3.  A less stringent effluent limitation is necessary because of 
events over which the permittee has no control and for which there is no 
reasonably available remedy; 
 4.  The permittee has received a permit modification under 
Subsection R317-8-5.6; or 
 5.  The permittee has installed the treatment facilities required 
to meet the effluent limitations in the previous permit and has properly 
operated and maintained the facilities but has nevertheless been unable 
to achieve the previous effluent limitations, in which case the limitations 
in the reviewed, reissued, or modified permit may reflect the level of 
pollutant control actually achieved [(]but shall not be less stringent than 
required by effluent guidelines in effect at the time of permit renewal, 
reissuance, or modification[)]. 
 (d).  Limitations. In no event may a permit with respect to 
which Subsection R317-8-4.2(11)(b) applies be renewed, reissued or 
modified to contain an effluent limitation which is less stringent than 
required by effluent guidelines in effect at the time the permit is 
renewed, reissued, or modified.  In no event may such a permit to 
discharge into waters be renewed, issued, or modified to contain a less 
stringent effluent limitation if the implementation of such limitation 
would result in a violation of the water quality standard applicable to 
such waters. 
 (12)  Privately Owned Treatment Works.  For a privately 
owned treatment works, any conditions expressly applicable to any user, 
as a limited co-permittee, that may be necessary in the permit issued to 
the treatment works to ensure compliance with applicable requirements 
under this rule will be imposed as applicable.  Alternatively, the Director 
may issue separate permits to the treatment works and to its users, or 
may require a separate permit application from any user.  The Director's 
decision to issue a permit with no conditions applicable to any user, to 
impose conditions on one or more users, to issue separate permits or to 
require separate applications, and the basis for that decision will be 
stated in the fact sheet for the draft permit for the treatment works. 
 (13)  Grants.  Any conditions imposed in grants or loans made 
by the Director to POTWs which are reasonably necessary for the 
achievement of federally issued effluent limitations will be required as 
applicable. 
 (14)  Sewage Sludge.  Requirements governing the disposal 
of sewage sludge from publicly owned treatment works or any other 
treatment works treating domestic sewage for any use for which rules 
have been established, in accordance with any applicable regulations. 
 (15)  Coast Guard.  When a permit is issued to a facility that 
may operate at certain times as a means of transportation over water, the 
permit will be conditioned to require that the discharge comply with any 
applicable federal regulation promulgated by the Secretary of the 
department in which the Coast Guard is operating, and such condition 
will establish specifications for safe transportation, handling, carriage, 
and storage of pollutants, if applicable. 

 (16)  Navigation.  Any conditions that the Secretary of the 
Army considers necessary to ensure that navigation and anchorage will 
not be substantially impaired, in accordance with R317-8-6.9 will be 
included. 
 (17)  State standards for sewage sludge use or disposal.  When 
there are no applicable standards for sewage sludge use or disposal, the 
permit may include requirements developed on a case-by-case basis to 
protect public health and the environment from any adverse effects 
which may occur from toxic pollutants in sewage sludge.  If any 
applicable standard for sewage sludge use or disposal is promulgated 
under Section 19-5-104 of the Utah Water Quality Act, and that standard 
is more stringent than any limitation on the pollutant or practice in the 
permit, the Director may initiate proceedings under these rules to modify 
or revoke and reissue the permit to conform to the standard for sewage 
sludge use or disposal. 
[ (18)  Qualifying State or local programs. 
 (a)  For storm water discharges associated with small 
construction activity identified in R317-8-3.9(6)(e), the Director may 
include permit conditions that incorporate qualifying State or local 
erosion and sediment control program requirements by reference.  
Where a qualifying State or local program does not include one or more 
of the elements in this paragraph then the Director must include those 
elements as conditions in the permit.  A qualifying State or local erosion 
and sediment control program is one that includes: 
 1.  Requirements for construction site operators to implement 
appropriate erosion and sediment control best management practices; 
 2.  Requirements for construction site operators to control 
waste such as discarded building materials, concrete truck washout, 
chemicals, litter, and sanitary waste at the construction site that may 
cause adverse impacts to water quality; 
 3.  Requirements for construction site operators to develop 
and implement a storm water pollution prevention plan.  (A storm water 
pollution prevention plan includes site descriptions of appropriate 
control measures, copies of approved State, local requirements, 
maintenance procedures, inspections procedures, and identification of 
non-storm water discharges); and 
 4.  Requirements to submit a site plan for review that 
incorporates consideration of potential water quality impacts. 
 (b)  For storm water discharges from construction activity 
identified in R317-8-3.9(6)(d)10., the Director may include permit 
conditions that incorporate qualifying State or local erosion and 
sediment control program requirements by reference.  A qualifying State 
or local erosion and sediment control program is one that includes the 
elements listed in paragraph (18)(a) of this section and any additional 
requirements necessary to achieve the applicable technology-based 
standards of "best available technology" and "best conventional 
technology" based on the best professional judgment of the permit 
writer.] 
 4.3  CALCULATING UPDES PERMIT CONDITIONS.  
The following provisions will be used to calculate terms and conditions 
of the UPDES permit. 
 (1)  Outfalls and Discharge Points.  All permit effluent 
limitations, standards, and prohibitions will be established for each 
outfall or discharge point of the permitted facility, except as otherwise 
provided under R317-8-4.2(10) with BMPs where limitations are 
infeasible; and under R317-8-4.3(8), limitations on internal waste 
streams. 
 (2)  Production-Based Limitations. 
 (a)  In the case of POTWs, permit effluent limitations, 
standards, or prohibitions will be calculated based on design flow. 
 (b)  Except in the case of POTWs, calculation of any permit 
limitations, standards, or prohibitions which are based on production, or 
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other measure of operation, will be based not upon the designed 
production capacity but rather upon a reasonable measure of actual 
production of the facility.  For new sources or new dischargers, actual 
production shall be estimated using projected production.  The time 
period of the measure of production will correspond to the time period 
of the calculated permit limitations; for example, monthly production 
will be used to calculate average monthly discharge limitations.  The 
Director may include a condition establishing alternate permit standards 
or prohibitions based upon anticipated increased (not to exceed 
maximum production capability) or decreased production levels. 
 (c)  For the automotive manufacturing industry only, the 
Director may establish a condition under R317-8-4.3(2)(b)2 if the 
applicant satisfactorily demonstrates to the Director at the time the 
application is submitted that its actual production, as indicated in R317-
8-4.3(2)(b)1, is substantially below maximum production capability and 
that there is a reasonable potential for an increase above actual 
production during the duration of the permit. 
 (d)  If the Director establishes permit conditions under and 
R317-8-4.3(2)(c): 
 1.  The permit shall require the permittee to notify the Director 
at least two business days prior to a month in which the permittee 
expects to operate at a level higher than the lowest production level 
identified in the permit.  The notice shall specify the anticipated level 
and the period during which the permittee expects to operate at the 
alternate level.  If the notice covers more than one month, the notice 
shall specify the reasons for the anticipated production level increase.  
New notice of discharge at alternate levels is required to cover a period 
or production level not covered by prior notice or, if during two 
consecutive months otherwise covered by a notice, the production level 
at the permitted facility does not in fact meet the higher level designated 
in the notice. 
 2.  The permittee shall comply with the limitations, standards, 
or prohibitions that correspond to the lowest level of production 
specified in the permit, unless the permittee has notified the Director 
under R317-8-4.3(2)(d)1, in which case the permittee shall comply with 
the lower of the actual level of production during each month or the level 
specified in the notice. 
 3.  The permittee shall submit with the DMR the level of 
production that actually occurred during each month and the limitations, 
standards, or prohibitions applicable to that level of production. 
 (3)  Metals.  All permit effluent limitations, standards, or 
prohibitions for a metal will be expressed in terms of the total 
recoverable metal, that is, the sum of the dissolved and suspended 
fractions of the metal, unless: 
 (a)  An applicable effluent standard or limitation has been 
promulgated by EPA and specifies the limitation for the metal in the 
dissolved or valent form; or total form; or 
 (b)  In establishing permit limitations on a case-by-case basis 
under R317-8-7, it is necessary to express the limitation on the metal in 
the dissolved or valent form in order to carry out the provisions of the 
Utah Water Quality Act; or 
 (c)  All approved analytical methods for the metal inherently 
measure only its dissolved form. 
 (4)  Continuous Discharges.  For continuous discharges all 
permit effluent limitations, standards, and prohibitions, including those 
necessary to achieve water quality standards, unless impracticable will 
be stated as: 
 (a)  Maximum daily and average monthly discharge 
limitations for all dischargers other than publicly owned treatment 
works; and 
 (b)  Average weekly and average monthly discharge 
limitations for POTWs. 

 (5)  Non-continuous Discharges.  Discharges which are not 
continuous, as defined in R317-8-1.5(7), shall be particularly described 
and limited, considering the following factors, as appropriate: 
 (a)  Frequency; for example, a batch discharge shall not occur 
more than once every three (3) weeks; 
 (b)  Total mass; for example, not to exceed 100 kilograms of 
zinc and 200 kilograms of chromium per batch discharge; 
 (c)  Maximum rate of discharge of pollutants during the 
discharge for example, not to exceed 2 kilograms of zinc per minute; 
and 
 (d)  Prohibition or limitation of specified pollutants by mass, 
concentration, or other appropriate measure, (for example, shall not 
contain at any time more than 0.05 mg/l zinc or more than 250 grams 
(0.25 kilogram) of zinc in any discharge). 
 (6)  Mass Limitations. 
 (a)  All pollutants limited in permits shall have limitations, 
standards, or prohibitions expressed in terms of mass except: 
 1.  For pH, temperature, radiation, or other pollutants which 
cannot appropriately be expressed by mass; 
 2.  When applicable standards and limitations are expressed 
in terms of other units of measurement; or 
 3.  If, in establishing permit limitations on a case-by-case 
basis under R317-8-7.1, limitations expressed in terms of mass are 
infeasible because the mass of the pollutant discharged cannot be related 
to a measure of operation; (for example, discharges of TSS from certain 
mining operations), and permit conditions ensure that dilution will not 
be used as a substitute for treatment. 
 (b)  Pollutants limited in terms of mass additionally may be 
limited in terms of other units of measurement, and the permit will 
require the permittee to comply with both limitations. 
 (7)  Pollutants in Intake Water. 
 (a)  Upon request of the discharger, technology-based effluent 
limitations or standards shall be adjusted to reflect credit for pollutants 
in the discharger's intake water if: 
 1.  The applicable effluent limitations and standards contained 
in effluent guidelines and standards provide that they shall be applied on 
a net basis; or 
 2.  The discharger demonstrates that the control system it 
proposes or used to meet applicable technology-based limitations and 
standards would, if properly installed and operated, meet the limitations 
and standards in the absence of pollutants in the intake waters. 
 (b)  Credit for generic pollutants such as biochemical oxygen 
demand (BOD) or total suspended solids (TSS) should not be granted 
unless the permittee demonstrates that the constituents of the generic 
measure in the effluent are substantially similar to the constituents of the 
generic measure in the intake water or unless appropriate additional 
limits are placed on process water pollutants either at the outfall or 
elsewhere. 
 (c)  Credit shall be granted only to the extent necessary to 
meet the applicable limitation or standard, up to a maximum value equal 
to the influent value.  Additional monitoring may be necessary to 
determine eligibility for credits and compliance with permit limits. 
 (d)  Credit shall be granted only if the discharger demonstrates 
that the intake water is drawn from the same body of water into which 
the discharge is made.  The Director may waive this requirement if he 
finds that no environmental degradation will result. 
 (e)  This section does not apply to the discharge of raw water 
clarifier sludge generated from the treatment of intake water. 
 (8)  Internal Waste Streams. 
 (a)  When permit effluent limitations or standards imposed at 
the point of discharge are impractical or infeasible, effluent limitations 
or standards for discharges of pollutants may be imposed on internal 
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waste streams before mixing with other waste streams or cooling water 
streams.  In those instances, the monitoring required by R317-8-4.2(8) 
shall also be applied to the internal waste streams. 
 (b)  Limits on internal waste streams will be imposed only 
when the fact sheet under R317-8-6.4 sets forth the exceptional 
circumstances which make such limitations necessary, such as when the 
final discharge point is inaccessible, for example, under 10 meters of 
water, the wastes at the point of discharge are so diluted as to make 
monitoring impracticable, or the interferences among pollutants at the 
point of discharge would make detection or analysis impracticable. 
 (9)  Disposal of Pollutants Into Wells, Into POTWs, or by 
Land Application.  Permit limitations and standards shall be calculated 
as provided in R317-8-2.6. 
 (10)  Secondary Treatment Information.  Permit conditions 
that involve secondary treatment will be written as provided in 40 CFR 
Part 133, except that Utah effluent limits for secondary treatment will be 
used. 
 
R317-8-11.  Municipal, Industrial, and Construction Storm Water 
Discharges. 
 11.1  APPLICABILITY OF RULE R317-8, RULE 
COMPATIBILITY, AND FEDERAL RULE INCORPORATION. 
 (1)  Section R317-8-11, including the federal regulations 
incorporated by reference, shall be applicable to municipal (Subsections 
R317-8-11.3(c)1, R317-8-1.10(12), and R317-8-11.3(8)), industrial 
(Subsections R317-8-11.3(6)(c) and (d)), and construction (Subsection 
R317-8-11.3(6)(e)) storm water discharges. 
 (2)  Where any requirements, definitions, or conditions in 
Section R317-8-11 conflict with the requirements, definitions, or 
conditions pertaining to storm water discharges in other parts of Rule 
R317-8, the requirements, definitions, and conditions in Section R317-
8-11 shall govern. 
 11.2  DEFINITIONS APPLICABLE TO STORM WATER 
DISCHARGES 
 Refer to Subsection R317-8-1.6. 
 11.3  STORMWATER DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS 
 (1)  Permit requirement. 
 (a)  Prior to October 1, 1992, a permit shall not be required 
for a discharge composed entirely of storm water, except for: 
 1.  a discharge with respect to which a permit has been issued 
prior to February 4, 1987; 
 2.  a discharge associated with industrial activity; 
 3.  a discharge associated with construction activity that 
disturbs five or more acres; 
 4.  a discharge from a large municipal separate storm sewer 
system; 
 5.  a discharge from a medium municipal separate storm 
sewer system; 
 6.  a discharge which the Director determines contributes to a 
violation of water quality standards or is a significant contributor of 
pollutants to waters of the State.  This designation may include a 
discharge from any conveyance or system of conveyances used for 
collecting and conveying storm water runoff or a system of discharges 
from municipal separate storm sewers, except for those discharges from 
conveyances which do not require a permit under this section or 
agricultural storm water runoff which is exempted from the definition 
of point source.  The Director may designate discharges from municipal 
separate storm sewers on a system-wide or jurisdiction-wide basis.  In 
making this determination the Director may consider the following 
factors: 
 a.  the location of the discharge with respect to waters of the 
State; 

 b.  the size of the discharge; 
 c.  the quantity and nature of the pollutants discharged to 
waters of the State; and 
 d.  other relevant factors. 
 (b)  On and after October 1, 1994, for discharges composed 
entirely of storm water, that are not required by Subsection R317-8-
11.3(1)(a) to obtain a permit, operators shall be required to obtain a 
UPDES permit if: 
 1.  the discharge is from a small MS4 required to be regulated 
pursuant to 40 CFR 122.32 (see Subsection R317-8-1.10(12)); 
 2.  the discharge is a storm water discharge associated with 
construction activity pursuant to Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(e); 
 3.  the Director or authorized representative determines that 
storm water controls are needed for the discharge based on wasteload 
allocations that are part of "total maximum daily loads" (TMDLs) that 
address any pollutants of concern; or 
 4.  the Director or authorized representative determines that 
the discharge, or category of discharges within a geographic area, 
contributes to a violation of a water quality standard or is a significant 
contributor of pollutants to waters of the State. 
 (c)  The Director may not require a permit for discharges of 
storm water runoff from mining operations or oil and gas exploration, 
production, processing, or treatment operations or transmission 
facilities, composed entirely of flows which are from conveyances or 
systems of conveyances, including pipes, conduits, ditches, and 
channels used for collecting and conveying precipitation runoff and 
which are not contaminated by contact with or do not come into contact 
with any overburden, raw material, intermediate products, finished 
product, by product, or waste products located on the site of such 
operations. 
 (d)  Large, medium, and small municipal separate storm 
sewer systems. 
 1.  Permits must be obtained for discharges from large, 
medium, and small municipal separate storm sewer systems. 
 2.  The Director may either issue one system-wide permit 
covering discharges from municipal separate storm sewers within a 
large, medium, or small municipal storm sewer system or issue distinct 
permits for appropriate categories of discharges within a large, medium, 
or small municipal separate storm sewer system including: discharges 
owned or operated by the same municipality; located within the same 
jurisdiction; discharges within a system that discharge to the same 
watershed; discharges within a system that are similar in nature; or 
individual discharges from municipal separate storm sewers within the 
system. 
 3.  The operator of a discharge from a municipal separate 
storm sewer which is part of a large, medium, or small municipal 
separate storm sewer system must either: 
 a.  participate in a permit application as permittee or co-
permittee with one or more other operators of discharges from the large, 
medium, or small municipal storm sewer system which covers all, or a 
portion of all, discharges from the municipal separate storm sewer 
system; 
 b.  submit a distinct permit application which only covers 
discharges from the municipal separate storm sewers for which the 
operator is responsible; or 
 c.  a regional authority may be responsible for submitting a 
permit application under the following guidelines: 
 i.  the regional authority together with co-applicants shall have 
authority over a storm water management program that is in existence, 
or shall be in existence at the time the application is due; 
 ii.  the permit applicant or co-applicants shall establish their 
ability to make a timely submission of the municipal application; 
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 iii.  each of the operators of municipal separate storm sewers 
within the systems described in Subsections R317-8-1.6(4), R317-8-
1.6(8), 40 CFR 122.32 with substitutions per Subsection R317-8-
1.10(12), or R317-8-11.3(8) that are under the purview of the designated 
regional authority, shall comply with the application requirements of 
Subsection R317-8-11.3(3). 
 4.  One permit application may be submitted for the entirety 
or a portion of municipal separate storm sewers within adjacent or 
interconnected large, medium, or small municipal separate storm sewer 
systems.  The Director may issue one system-wide permit covering the 
entirety or a portion of municipal separate storm sewers in adjacent or 
interconnected large, medium, or small municipal separate storm sewer 
systems. 
 5.  Permits for the entirety or a portion of the discharges from 
large, medium, or small municipal separate storm sewer systems that are 
issued on a system-wide, jurisdiction-wide, watershed or other basis 
may specify different conditions relating to different discharges covered 
by the permit, including different management programs for different 
drainage areas which contribute storm water to the system. 
 6.  Co-permittees need only comply with permit conditions 
relating to discharges from the municipal separate storm sewers for 
which they are operators. 
 (e)  Other municipal separate storm sewers.  The Director may 
issue permits for municipal separate storm sewers that are designated 
under Subsection R317-8-11.3(1)(a)6 on a system-wide basis, 
jurisdiction-wide basis, watershed basis or other appropriate basis, or 
may issue permits for individual discharges. 
 (f)  Non-municipal separate storm sewers.  For storm water 
discharges associated with industrial activity from point sources which 
discharge through a non-municipal or non-publicly owned separate 
storm sewer system, the Director may issue: a single UPDES permit, 
with each discharger a co-permittee to a permit issued to the operator of 
the portion of the system that discharges into waters of the State; or, 
individual permits to each discharger of storm water associated with 
industrial activity through the non-municipal conveyance system. 
 1.  Storm water discharges associated with industrial activity 
that discharge through a storm water discharge system that is not a 
municipal separate storm sewer must be covered by an individual 
permit, or a permit issued to the operator of the portion of the system 
that discharges to waters of the State, with each discharger to the non-
municipal conveyance a co-permittee to that permit. 
 2.  Where there is more than one operator of a single system 
of such conveyances, each operator of storm water discharges associated 
with industrial activity must submit applications. 
 3.  Any permit covering more than one operator shall identify 
the effluent limitations, or other permit conditions, if any, that apply to 
each operator. 
 (g)  Combined sewer systems.  Conveyances that discharge 
storm water runoff combined with municipal sewage are point sources 
that must obtain UPDES permits and are not subject to this section. 
 (h)  Operators of small MS4s designated pursuant to 
Subsections R317-8-11.3(1)(b)1, R317-8-11.3(1)(b)3, and R317-8-
11.3(1)(b)14 shall seek coverage under a UPDES permit in accordance 
with 40 CFR 122.33, 122.34, and 122.35 with appropriate substitutions 
per Subsections R317-8-1.10(11) through R317-8-1.10(13).  Operators 
of non-municipal sources designated pursuant to Subsections R317-8-
11.3(1)(b)2, R317-8-11.3(1)(b)3, and R317-8-11.3(1)(b)4 shall seek 
coverage under a UPDES permit in accordance with Subsection R317-
8-11.3(2)(a). 
 (i)  Operators of storm water discharges designated pursuant 
to Subsections R317-8-11.3(1)(b)3 and R317-8-11.3(1)(b)4 shall apply 
to the Director for a permit within 180 days of receipt of notice, unless 

permission for a later date is granted by the Director as described in 40 
CFR 124.52. 
 (2)  Application requirements for storm water discharges 
associated with industrial activity and storm water discharges associated 
with construction activity. 
 (a)  Individual application.  Dischargers of storm water 
associated with industrial activity and with construction activity are 
required to apply for an individual permit or seek coverage under a 
promulgated storm water general permit.  Facilities that are required to 
obtain an individual permit, or any discharge of storm water which the 
Director is evaluating under Subsection R317-8-11.3(1)(a)6 and is not a 
municipal separate storm sewer, and which is not part of a group 
application, shall submit a UPDES application in accordance with 
Subsection R317-8-3.1 and supplemented by the provisions of the 
remainder of this section. 
 1.  Except as provided in Subsections R317-8-11.3(2)(a)2 
through R317-8-11.3(2)(a)4, the operator of a storm water discharge 
associated with industrial activity subject to this section shall develop 
before application, or in the time frame indicated by the permit: 
 a.  a site map showing topography of the facility, or indicating 
the outline of drainage areas served by any outfalls covered in the 
application if a topographic map is unavailable, including: each of its 
drainage and discharge structures; the drainage area of each storm water 
outfall; each area used for outdoor storage or disposal of significant 
materials; each existing structural control measure to reduce pollutants 
in storm water runoff; materials loading and access areas; each well 
where fluids from the facility are injected underground; springs, and 
other surface water bodies which receive storm water discharges from 
the facility; 
 b.  a narrative description of the following:  significant 
materials that in the three years prior to the submittal of this application 
have been treated, stored or disposed in a manner to allow exposure to 
storm water; method of treatment, storage or disposal of such materials; 
materials management practices employed, in the three years prior to the 
submittal of this application, to minimize contact by these materials with 
storm water runoff; materials loading and access areas; the location and 
a description of existing structural and non-structural control measures 
to reduce pollutants in storm water runoff; and a description of the 
treatment the storm water receives, including the ultimate disposal of 
any solid or fluid wastes other than by discharge; 
 c.  a certification that each outfall that should contain storm 
water discharges associated with industrial activity has been tested or 
evaluated for the presence of non-storm water discharges which are not 
covered by a UPDES permit, tests for such non-storm water discharges 
may include smoke tests, fluorometric dye tests, analysis of accurate 
schematics, as well as other appropriate tests, and a description of the 
method used, the date of any testing, and the on-site drainage points that 
were directly observed during a test; 
 d.  existing information regarding significant leaks or spills of 
toxic or hazardous pollutants at the facility that have taken place within 
the three years prior to the submittal of this application; 
 e.  quantitative data based on samples collected during storm 
events from each outfall containing a storm water discharge associated 
with industrial activity for the following parameters: 
 i.  any pollutant limited in an effluent guideline to which the 
facility is subject; 
 ii.  any pollutant listed in the facility's UPDES permit for its 
process wastewater if the facility is operating under an existing UPDES 
permit; 
 iii.  any pollutant listed in the facility's UPDES permit for its 
storm water discharges. 
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 iv.  any information on the discharge required under 
Subsections R317-8-3.5(7)(d) and R317-8-3.5(7)(e); 
 v.  an estimate of the total amount of discharge for the storm 
events sampled, and the method of flow measurement or estimation; and 
 vi.  the date and duration in hours of the storm events sampled, 
rainfall measurements or estimates in inches of the storm event  which 
generated the sampled runoff and the duration in hours between the 
storm event sampled and the end of the previous measurable, greater 
than 0.1 inch rainfall, storm event; 
 f.  operators of a discharge which is composed entirely of 
storm water are exempt from Subsections R317-8-3.5(2) through R317-
8-3.5(5), R317-8-3.5(7)(a), R317-8-3.5(7)(c), and R317-8-3.5(7)(f); 
and 
 g.  operators of new sources or new discharges which are 
composed in part or entirely of storm water must include estimates for 
the pollutants or parameters listed in Subsection R317-8-11.3(2)(a)1.e 
instead of actual sampling data, along with the source of each estimate.  
Operators of new sources or new discharges composed in part or entirely 
of storm water must provide quantitative data for the parameters listed 
in Subsection R317-8-11.3(2)(a)1e within two years after 
commencement of discharge, unless such data has already been reported 
under the monitoring requirements of the UPDES permit for the 
discharge.  Operators of a new source or new discharge which is 
composed entirely of storm water are exempt from the requirements of 
Subsections R317-8-3.2(3)(b), R317-8-3.2(3)(c), and R317-8-3.2(5). 
 2.  An operator of an existing or new storm water discharge 
that is associated with construction activity solely under Subsection 
R317-8-11.3(6)(e), is exempt from the requirements of Subsections 
R317-8-3.5 and R317-8-11.3(2)(a)1.  Such operator shall develop 
before application or in the time frame indicated by the permit a 
narrative description of: 
 a.  the location, including a map, and the nature of the 
construction activity; 
 b.  the total area of the site and the area of the site that is 
expected to undergo excavation during the life of the permit; 
 c.  proposed measures, including best management practices, 
to control pollutants in storm water discharges during construction; 
 d.  proposed stabilization, erosion control, and sediment 
control measures to control pollutants in storm water discharges that will 
occur after construction operations have been completed; 
 e.  plans for correct installation and maintenance of storm 
water controls; 
 f.  a schedule for inspections to verify that storm water 
controls and best management practices are operating effectively;  and 
 g.  the name of the receiving water. 
 3.  The operator of an existing or new discharge composed 
entirely of storm water from an oil or gas exploration, production, 
processing, or treatment operation, or transmission facility is not 
required to submit a permit application in accordance with Subsection 
R317-8-11.3(2)(a)1, unless the facility: 
 a.  has had a discharge of storm water resulting in the 
discharge of a reportable quantity for which notification is or was 
required pursuant to 40 CFR 117.21 or 40 CFR 302.6 at any time since 
November 16, 1987; 
 b.  has had a discharge of storm water resulting in the 
discharge of a reportable quantity for which notification is or was 
required pursuant to 40 CFR 110.6 at any time since November 16, 
1987; or 
 c.  contributes to a violation of a water quality standard. 
 4.  The operator of an existing or new discharge composed 
entirely of storm water from a mining operation is not required to submit 
a permit application unless the discharge has come into contact with any 

overburden, raw material, intermediate products, finished product, 
byproduct or waste products located on the site of such operations. 
 5.  Applicants shall provide such other information the 
Director may reasonably require to determine whether to issue a permit 
and may require any facility subject to Subsection R317-8-11.3(2)(a)2 
to comply with Subsection R317-8-11.3(2)(a)1. 
 (3)  Application requirements for large, medium, and small 
municipal separate storm sewer discharges.  The operator of a discharge 
from a large, medium, or small municipal separate storm sewer or a 
municipal separate storm sewer that is designated by the Director under 
Subsection R317-8-11.3(1)(a)6, may submit a jurisdiction-wide or 
system-wide permit application.  Where more than one public entity 
owns or operates a municipal separate storm sewer within a geographic 
area, including adjacent or interconnected municipal separate storm 
sewer systems, such operators may be a co-applicant to the same 
application. 
 (a)  Permit applications shall include: 
 1.  General information consisting of: 
 i.  the name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 
principal executive officer, ranking elected official, or duly authorized 
employee in charge of municipal resources used for implementing the 
SWMP; 
 ii.  the operator type and legal status as a Federal, State, 
private, or other public entity other than Federal or State; 
 iii.  latitude and longitude at the center of land for which 
authorization to discharge is being requested; 
 iv.  the number of people that are served by the municipal 
separate storm sewer system; and 
 v.  name, title, and telephone of the person responsible for 
overseeing implementation and coordination of the storm water 
management program. 
 2.  Outfalls and receiving waters. A list of each separate storm 
sewer outfall and their associated receiving waters that receive 
discharges from the permittee's MS4.  Summary description of the 
overall water quality concerns, priorities, 303(d) list impaired waters. 
 3.  Best management practice identification. A summary of 
the chosen best management practices and description of the program 
elements that will be implemented (or already exist) to meet each of the 
storm water minimum control measures. 
 4.  Measurable goals. Identification of goals with start and end 
dates for each of the storm water minimum control measures and the 
timeframe by which the permittee will achieve required actions, 
including interim milestones. 
 5.  Certification. A certification statement that is signed in 
accordance with Section R317-8-3.4. 
 6.  Contract certification for co-permittees. If more than one 
entity will be implementing the storm water management program then 
a contract certification is required. Each coordinating entity must be 
identified and sign to certify that local agreements and contracts have 
been developed and agreed upon. Permittees which are applying as co-
permittees shall each submit an application and individual storm water 
management program document which will clearly identify the areas of 
the MS4 for which each of the co-permittees are responsible. 
 (b)  A storm water management program shall be developed 
which covers the duration of the permit. It shall include a comprehensive 
planning process which involves public participation and where 
necessary intergovernmental coordination, to reduce the discharge of 
pollutants to the maximum extent practicable using management 
practices, control techniques and system, design and engineering 
methods, and such other provisions which are appropriate.  Separate 
programs may be submitted by each co-applicant.  Programs may 
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impose controls on a system wide basis, a watershed basis, a jurisdiction 
basis, or on individual outfalls and contain: 
 1.  Adequate legal authority.  A demonstration that the 
applicant can operate pursuant to legal authority established by statute, 
ordinance or series of contracts which authorizes or enables the 
applicant at a minimum to: 
 a.  Prohibit through ordinance, order or similar means, illicit 
discharges to the municipal separate storm sewer; 
 b.  Control through ordinance, order or similar means the 
discharge to a municipal separate storm sewer of spills, dumping or 
disposal of materials other than storm water; 
 c.  Require compliance with conditions in ordinances, 
permits, contracts or orders; and 
 d.  Carry out inspection, surveillance and monitoring 
procedures necessary to determine compliance and noncompliance with 
permit conditions including the prohibition on illicit discharges to the 
municipal separate storm sewer. 
 2.  Mapping.  A current map of the storm sewer system 
showing the location of each storm sewer outfall, the name and location 
of each State water that receives discharges from those outfalls, storm 
drain pipe and other storm water conveyance structures within the MS4. 
 3.  Characterization data.  When "quantitative data" for a 
pollutant are required, the applicant must collect a sample of effluent in 
accordance with Subsection R317-8-3.5(7) and analyze it for the 
pollutant in accordance with analytical methods approved under 40 CFR 
136.  When no analytical method is approved, the applicant may use any 
suitable method but must provide a description of the method.  The 
applicant must provide information characterizing the quality and 
quantity of discharges as required by the permit including: 
 a.  quantitative data from representative outfalls; 
 b.  estimates of the annual pollutant load of the cumulative 
discharges to waters of the State from identified municipal outfalls, the 
event mean concentration of the cumulative discharges to waters of the 
State from identified municipal outfalls during a storm event, and a 
description of the procedures for estimating constituent loads and 
concentrations, including any modeling, data analysis, and calculation 
methods; 
 c.  a proposed schedule to provide estimates for each major 
outfall identified in either Subsection R317-8-11.3(3)(b)2 or R317-8-
11.3(3)(a)2 of the seasonal pollutant load and of the event mean 
concentration of a representative storm for any constituent detected in 
any sample required under Subsection R317-8-11.3(3)(b)3; and 
 d.  a proposed monitoring program for representative data 
collection for the term of the permit that describes the location of outfalls 
or field screening points to be sampled (or the location of instream 
stations), why the location is representative, the frequency of sampling, 
parameters to be sampled, and a description of sampling equipment. 
 4.  Structural and source controls. A description of structural 
and source control measures to reduce pollutants from runoff from 
commercial and residential areas that are discharged from the municipal 
storm sewer system that are to be implemented during the life of the 
permit and a proposed schedule for implementing such controls.  At a 
minimum, the description shall include: 
 a.  a description of maintenance activities and a maintenance 
schedule for structural controls to reduce pollutants (including 
floatables) in discharges from municipal separate storm sewers; 
 b.  a description of planning procedures including a 
comprehensive master plan to develop, implement and enforce controls 
to reduce the discharge of pollutants from municipal separate storm 
sewers which receive discharges from areas of new development and 
significant redevelopment.  Such plan shall address controls to reduce 
pollutants in discharges from municipal separate storm sewers after 

construction is completed.  Controls to reduce pollutants in discharges 
from municipal separate storm sewers containing construction site 
runoff are addressed in Subsection R317-8-11.3(3)(b)7; 
 c.  a description of practices for operating and maintaining 
public streets, roads and highways and procedures for reducing the 
impact on receiving waters of discharges from municipal storm sewer 
systems, including pollutants discharged as a result of deicing activities; 
 d.  a description of procedures to assure that flood 
management projects assess the impacts on the water quality of 
receiving water bodies and that existing structural flood control devices 
have been evaluated to determine if retrofitting the device to provide 
additional pollutant removal from storm water is feasible. 
 e.  a description of a program to monitor pollutants in runoff 
from operating or closed municipal landfills, treatment, storage or 
disposal facilities for municipal waste, or other high priority facilities 
owned or operated by the MS4. The description shall identify priorities 
and procedures for inspections and establishing and implementing 
control measures for such discharges (this program can be coordinated 
with the program developed under Subsection R317-8-11.3(3)(b)6); and 
 f.  a description of a program to reduce to the maximum extent 
practicable, pollutants in discharges from municipal separate storm 
sewers associated with the application of pesticides, herbicides and 
fertilizer which will include, as appropriate, controls such as educational 
activities, permits, certifications and other measures for commercial 
applicators and distributors, and controls for application in public right-
of-ways and at municipal facilities. 
 5.  An illicit discharge schedule.  A description of a program, 
including a schedule, to detect and remove illicit discharges and 
improper disposal into the storm sewer.  The proposed program shall 
include: 
 a.  a description of a program, including inspections, to 
implement and enforce an ordinance, orders or similar means to prevent 
illicit discharges to the municipal separate storm sewer system; this 
program description shall address each type of illicit discharge, however 
the following category of non-storm water discharges or flows shall be 
addressed where such discharges are identified by the municipality as 
sources of pollutants to waters of the State: firefighting where such 
discharges or flows are identified as significant sources of pollutants, 
water line flushing, landscape irrigation, diverted stream flows, rising 
ground waters, uncontaminated ground water infiltration to separate 
storm sewers, uncontaminated pumped ground water, discharges from 
potable water sources, foundation drains, air conditioning condensation, 
irrigation water, springs, water from crawl space pumps, footing drains, 
lawn watering, individual residential car washing, flows from riparian 
habitats and wetlands, dechlorinated swimming pool discharges, and 
street wash water); 
 b.  a description of procedures to conduct on-going field 
screening activities during the life of the permit, including areas or 
locations that will be evaluated by such field screens; 
 c.  a description of procedures to be followed to investigate 
portions of the separate storm sewer system that, based on the results of 
the field screen, or other appropriate information, indicate a reasonable 
potential of containing illicit discharges or other sources of non-storm 
water (such procedures may include: sampling procedures for 
constituents such as fecal coliform, fecal streptococcus, surfactants 
(MBAS), residual chlorine, fluorides and potassium; testing with 
fluorometric dyes; or conducting in storm sewer inspections where 
safety and other considerations allow.  Such description shall include the 
location of storm sewers that have been identified for such evaluation); 
 d.  a description of procedures to prevent, contain, and 
respond to spills that may discharge into the municipal separate storm 
sewer; 
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 e.  a description of a program to promote, publicize and 
facilitate public reporting of the presence of illicit discharges or water 
quality impacts associated with discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers; 
 f.  a description of educational activities, public information 
activities, and other appropriate activities to facilitate the proper 
management and disposal of used oil and toxic materials; and 
 g.  a description of controls to limit overflows from municipal 
sanitary sewers to municipal separate storm sewer systems where 
necessary. 
 6.  Priority areas.  A description of a program to monitor and 
control pollutants in storm water discharges to municipal systems from 
municipal landfills, hazardous waste treatment, disposal and recovery 
facilities, industrial facilities that are subject Title III, Section 313 of the 
Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), and 
industrial facilities that the municipal permit applicant determines are 
contributing a substantial pollutant loading to the municipal storm sewer 
system.  The program shall identify priorities and procedures for 
inspection and establishing and implementing control measures for such 
discharges. 
 7.  Construction management program.  A description of a 
program to implement and maintain structural and non-structural best 
management practices to reduce pollutants in storm water runoff from 
construction sites to the municipal storm sewer system, which shall 
include: 
 a.  a description of procedures for site planning which 
incorporate consideration of potential water quality impacts; 
 b.  a description of requirements for nonstructural and 
structural best management practices; 
 c.  a description of procedures for identifying priorities for 
inspecting sites and enforcing control measures which consider the 
nature of the construction activity, topography, and the characteristics of 
soils and receiving water quality; and 
 d.  a description of appropriate educational and training 
measures for construction site operators. 
 8.  Long-term storm water management for new development 
and redevelopment. The program shall include: 
 a.  requirements for construction activities, as defined in 
Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(e)1, associated with new development to 
retain storm water on site and prevent the off-site discharge of 
precipitation from rainfall events less than or equal to the 80th percentile 
rainfall event or a predevelopment hydrologic condition, whichever is 
less; 
 b.  requirements for construction activities, as defined in 
Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(e)1, associated with redevelopment projects 
which will increase the impervious surface by greater than 10% to retain 
storm water on site and prevent the off-site discharge of the net increase 
in the volume associated with precipitation from rainfall events less than 
or equal to the 80th percentile rainfall event; and 
 c.  a process for addressing and documenting infeasibilities 
associated with Subsections R317-8-11.3(3)(b)8.a and b. 
 9.  Applicability.  Where requirements under Subsections 
R317-8-11.3(3)(b)3.b and R317-8-11.3(3)(b)4 through R317-8-
11.3(3)(b)8 are not practicable or are not applicable, the Director may 
exclude any operator of a discharge from a municipal separate storm 
sewer which is designated under Subsection R317-8-11.3(1)(a)6, R317-
8-1.6(4)(b) or R317-8-1.6(8)(b) from such requirements.  The Director 
shall not exclude the operator of a discharge from a municipal separate 
storm sewer located in incorporated places with populations greater than 
100,000 and less than 250,000 according to the latest decennial census 
by Bureau of Census, or located in counties with unincorporated 
urbanized areas with a population of 250,000 or more according to the 

latest decennial census by the Bureau of Census, from any of the permit 
application requirements except where authorized. 
 (4)  Application deadlines.  Any operator of a point source 
required to obtain a permit under Subsection R317-8-11.3(1)(a) that 
does not have an effective UPDES permit authorizing discharges from 
its storm water outfalls shall submit an application in accordance with 
the following deadlines: 
 (a)  Storm water discharges associated with industrial 
activities. 
 1.  Except as provided in Subsection R317-8-11.3(4)(a)2, for 
any storm water discharge associated with industrial activity identified 
in Subsections R317-8-11.3(6)(d)1 through R317-8-11.3(6)(d)10 that is 
not authorized by a storm water general permit, a permit application 
made pursuant to Subsection R317-8-11.3(2) must be submitted to the 
Director by October 1, 1992; 
 2.  For any storm water discharge associated with industrial 
activity from a facility that is owned or operated by a municipality with 
a population of less than 100,000 that is not authorized by a general or 
individual permit, other than an airport, powerplant, or uncontrolled 
sanitary landfill, the permit application must be submitted to the 
Director by March 10, 2003. 
 (b)  For any discharge from a large municipal separate storm 
sewer system the application shall be submitted to the Director by 
November 18, 1991. 
 (c)  For any discharge from a medium municipal separate 
storm sewer system the application shall be submitted to the Director by 
May 18, 1992. 
 (d)  A permit application shall be submitted to the Director 
within 180 days of notice, unless permission for a later date is granted 
by the Director for: 
 1.  A storm water discharge which the Director determines that 
the discharge contributes to a violation of a water quality standard or is 
a significant contributor of pollutants to waters of the State, or 
 2.  A storm water discharge subject to Subsection R317-8-
11.3(2)(a)5. 
 (e)  Facilities with existing UPDES permits for storm water 
discharges associated with industrial activity shall maintain existing 
permits.  New applications for individual permits shall be submitted 180 
days before the expiration of such permits. New applications for general 
permit coverage shall be submitted within 30 days of permit expiration 
date unless otherwise specified in the permit. Facilities with expired 
permits or permits due to expire before May 18, 1992, shall submit 
applications in accordance with the deadline set forth in Subsection 
R317-8-11.3(4)(a). 
 (f)  For any storm water discharge associated with 
construction activity identified in Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(e)1, see 
Subsection R317-8-3.1(2).  Discharges from these sources require 
permit authorization by March 10, 2003, unless designated for coverage 
before then. 
 (g)  For any discharge from a regulated small MS4, the permit 
application made under 40 CFR 122.33, with substitutions as described 
by Subsection R317-8-1.10(11), must be submitted to the Director by: 
 1.  March 10, 2003 if designated under 40 CFR 122.32 (a)(1), 
with substitutions as described by Subsection R317-8-1.10(10), unless 
your MS4 serves a jurisdiction with a population under 10,000 and the 
Director has established a phasing schedule under 40 CFR 123.35 
(d)(3); or 
 2.  Within 180 days of notice, unless the Director grants a later 
date, if designated under 40 CFR 122.32(a)(2) and 40 CFR 122.33(c)(2) 
with substitutions as described by Subsection R317-8-1.10(10) and (11). 
 (5)  Petitions. 
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 (a)  Any operator of a municipal separate storm sewer system 
may petition the Director to require a separate UPDES permit for any 
discharge into the municipal separate storm sewer system. 
 (b)  Any person may petition the Director to require a UPDES 
permit for a discharge which is composed entirely of storm water which 
contributes to a violation of a water quality standard or is a significant 
contributor of pollutants to waters of the State. 
 (c)  The owner or operator of a municipal separate storm 
sewer system may petition the Director to reduce the Census estimates 
of the population served by such separate system to account for storm 
water discharge to combined sewers that is treated in a publicly owned 
treatment works.  In municipalities in which combined sewers are 
operated, the Census estimates of population may be reduced 
proportional to the fraction, based on estimated lengths, of the length of 
combined sewers over the sum of the length of combined sewers and 
municipal separate storm sewers where an applicant has submitted the 
UPDES permit number associated with each discharge point and a map 
indicating areas served by combined sewers and the location of any 
combined sewer overflow discharge point. 
 (d)  Any person may petition the Director for the designation 
of a large, medium, or small municipal separate storm sewer system as 
defined by Subsections R317-8-1.6(4), R317-8-1.6(7), and R317-8-
1.6(14). 
 (e)  The Director shall make a final determination on any 
petition received under this section within 90 days after receiving the 
petition with the exception of the petitions to designate a small MS4 in 
which case the Director shall make a final determination on the petition 
within 180 days after its receipt. 
 (6)  Provisions Applicable to Storm Water Definitions. 
 (a)  The Director may designate a municipal separate storm 
sewer system as part of a large system due to the interrelationship 
between the discharges of designated storm sewer and the discharges 
from the municipal separate storm sewers described under Subsection 
R317-8-1.6(4)(a) or (b).  In making the determination under Subsection 
R317-8-1.6(4)(b) the Director may consider the following factors: 
 1.  physical interconnections between the municipal separate 
storm sewers; 
 2.  location of discharges from the designated municipal 
separate storm sewer relative to discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers described in Subsection R317-8-1.6(4)(a); 
 3.  quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to waters of 
the State; 
 4.  nature of the receiving waters; and 
 5.  other relevant factors; or 
 6.  the Director may, upon petition, designate as a large 
municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate storm 
sewers located within the boundaries of a region defined by a storm 
water management regional authority based on a jurisdictional, 
watershed, or other appropriate basis that includes one or more of the 
systems described in Subsection R317-8-1.6(4). 
 (b)  The Director may designate a municipal separate storm 
sewer system as part of a medium system due to the interrelationship 
between the discharges of designated storm sewer and the discharges 
from the municipal separate storm sewers described under Subsection 
R317-8-1.6(8)(a) or R317-8-1.6(8)(b).  In making the determination 
under Subsection R317-8-1.6(8)(b) the Director may consider the 
following factors: 
 1.  physical interconnections between the municipal separate 
storm sewers; 
 2.  location of discharges from the designated municipal 
separate storm sewer relative to discharges from municipal separate 
storm sewers described in Subsection R317-8-1.6(8)(a); 

 3.  quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to waters of 
the State; 
 4.  nature of the receiving waters; and 
 5.  other relevant factors; or 
 6.  the Director may, upon petition, designate as a medium 
municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate storm 
sewers located within the boundaries of a region defined by a storm 
water management regional authority based on a jurisdictional, 
watershed, or other appropriate basis that includes one or more of the 
systems described in Subsections R317-8-1.6(8)(a), R317-8-1.6(8)(b), 
and R317-8-1.6(8)(c). 
 (c)  Storm water discharges associated with industrial activity 
means the discharge from any conveyance that is used for collecting and 
conveying storm water and that is directly related to manufacturing, 
processing or raw materials storage areas at an industrial plant.  The term 
does not include discharges from facilities or activities excluded from 
the UPDES program under Rule R317-8.  For the categories of 
industries identified in this section, the term includes storm water 
discharges from industrial plant yards; immediate access roads and rail 
lines used or traveled by carriers of raw materials, manufactured 
products, waste materials, or by-products used or created by the facility; 
material handling sites; refuse sites; sites used for the application or 
disposal of process waste water as defined in 40 CFR 401; sites used for 
the storage and maintenance of material handling equipment; sites used 
for residual treatment, storage, or disposal; shipping and receiving areas; 
manufacturing buildings; storage areas, including tank farms, for raw 
materials, and intermediate and final products; and areas where 
industrial activity has taken place in the past and significant materials 
remain and are exposed to storm water.  For this paragraph, material 
handling activities include storage, loading and unloading, 
transportation, or conveyance of any raw material, intermediate product, 
final product, by-product or waste product.  The term excludes areas 
located on plant lands separate from plant's industrial activities, such as 
office buildings and accompanying parking lots as long as the drainage 
from the excluded areas is not mixed with storm water drained from the 
above described areas.  Industrial facilities, including industrial facilities 
that are federally, State, or municipally owned or operated that meet the 
description of the facilities listed in Subsections R317-8-11.3(d)1 
through R317-8-11.3(d)10, include those facilities designated under 
Subsection R317-8-11.3(1)(a)6. 
 (d)  The following categories of facilities are considered to be 
engaging in "industrial activity" for the purposes of this section and as 
referenced in Subsection R317-8-11.3(1)(a)2 and R317-8-11.3(6)(c): 
 1.  facilities subject to storm water effluent limitations 
guidelines, new source performance standards, or toxic pollutant 
effluent standards, or toxic pollutant effluent standards under 40 CFR 
subchapter N except facilities with toxic pollutant effluent standards 
which are exempted under Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(d)10; 
 2.  facilities classified as Standard Industrial Classifications 
24 except 2434, 26 except 265 and 267, 28 except 283 and 285, 29, 311, 
32 except 323, 33, 3441, 373; 
 3.  facilities classified as Standard Industrial Classifications 
10 through 14, mineral industries, including active or inactive mining 
operations, except for areas of coal mining operations no longer meeting 
the definition of a reclamation area because the performance bond 
issued to the facility by the appropriate SMCRA authority has been 
released, or except for areas of non-coal mining operations which have 
been released from applicable State or Federal reclamation requirements 
after December 17, 1990, and oil and gas exploration, production, 
processing, or treatment operations, or transmission facilities that 
discharge storm water contaminated by contact with or that has come 
into contact with, any overburden, raw material, intermediate products, 
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finished products, byproducts or waste products located on the site of 
such operations. Inactive mining operations are mining sites that are not 
being actively mined, but which have an identifiable owner or operator. 
Inactive mining sites do not include sites where mining claims are being 
maintained prior to disturbances associated with the extraction, 
beneficiation, or processing of mined materials, nor sites where minimal 
activities are undertaken for the sole purpose of maintaining a mining 
claim; 
 4.  hazardous waste treatment, storage, or disposal facilities, 
including those that are operating under interim status or a permit under 
subtitle C of RCRA; 
 5.  landfills, land application sites, and open dumps that 
receive or have received any industrial wastes, waste that is received 
from any of the facilities described under this subsection, including 
those that are subject to regulation under subtitle D of RCRA; 
 6.  facilities involved in the recycling of materials, including 
metal scrap yards, battery reclaimers, salvage yards, and automobile 
junkyards, classified as Standard Industrial Classification 5015 and 
5093; 
 7.  steam electric power generating facilities, including coal 
handling sites; 
 8.  transportation facilities classified as Standard Industrial 
Classifications 40, 41, 42 except 4221-25, 43, 44, 45, and 5171 which 
have vehicle maintenance shops, equipment cleaning operations, or 
airport deicing operations.  Only those portions of the facility that are 
either involved in vehicle maintenance, such as vehicle rehabilitation, 
mechanical repairs, painting, fueling, and lubrication, equipment 
cleaning operations, airport deicing operations, or which are otherwise 
identified under Subsections R317-8-11.3(6)(d)1 through R317-8-
11.3(6)(d)7 or R317-8-11.3(6)(d)9 through R317-8-11.3(6)(d)10 are 
associated with industrial activity; 
 9.  treatment works treating domestic sewage or any other 
sewage sludge or wastewater treatment device or system, used in the 
storage treatment, recycling, and reclamation of municipal or domestic 
sewage, including land dedicated to the disposal of sewage sludge that 
are located within the confines of the facility, with a design flow of 1.0 
mgd or more, or required to have an approved pretreatment program.  
Not included are farm lands, domestic gardens or lands used for sludge 
management where sludge is beneficially reused and which are not 
physically located in the confines of the facility, or areas that are in 
compliance with requirements for disposal of sewage sludge; and 
 10.  facilities under Standard Industrial Classifications 20, 21, 
22, 23, 2434, 25, 265, 267, 27, 283, 285, 30, 31 except 311, 323, 34 
except 3441, 35, 36, 37 except 373, 38, 39, 4221-25. 
 (e)  Storm water discharge associated with construction 
activity means the discharge of storm water from: 
 1.  Construction activities including clearing, grading, and 
excavating that result in land disturbance of equal to or greater than one 
acre.  Construction activity also includes the disturbance of less than one 
acre of total land area that is part of a larger common plan of 
development or sale if the larger common plan will ultimately disturb 
equal to or greater than one acre.  Construction activity does not include 
routine maintenance that is performed to maintain the original line and 
grade, hydraulic capacity, or original purpose of the facility.  The 
Director may waive the otherwise applicable requirements in a general 
permit for a storm water discharge from construction activities that 
disturb less than five acres where: 
 a.  the value of the rainfall erosivity factor, "R" in the Revised 
Universal Soil Loss Equation, is less than five during the period of 
construction activity.  The rainfall erosivity factor is determined in 
accordance with Chapter 2 of Agriculture Handbook Number 703, 
Predicting Soil Erosion by Water: A Guide to Conservation Planning 

With the Revised Universal Soil Loss Equation (RUSLE), page 21-64, 
dated January 1997.  Copies may be obtained from EPA's Water 
Resource Center, Mail Code RC4100, 401 M St. S.W., Washington, DC 
20460.  A copy is also available for inspection at the U.S. EPA Water 
Docket, 401 M Street S.W., Washington, DC. 20460, or the Office of 
Federal Register, 800 N. Capitol Street N.W. Suite 700, Washington, 
DC.  An Operator must certify to the Director that the construction 
activity will take place during a period when the value of the rainfall 
erosivity factor is less than five; or 
 b.  storm water controls are not needed based on a "total 
maximum daily load" (TMDL) approved by EPA that addresses the 
pollutants of concern or, for non-impaired waters that do not require 
TMDLs, an equivalent analysis that determines allocations for 
construction sites for the pollutants of concern or that determines that 
such allocations are not needed to protect water quality based on 
consideration of existing in-stream concentrations, expected growth in 
pollutant contributions from each source, and a margin of safety.  For 
this paragraph, the pollutants of concern include sediment or a parameter 
that addresses sediment, such as total suspended solids, turbidity or 
siltation, and any other pollutant that has been identified as a cause of 
impairment of any water body that will receive a discharge from the 
construction activity.  The operator must certify to the Director that the 
construction activity will take place, and storm water discharges will 
occur, within the drainage area addressed by the TMDL or equivalent 
analysis; and 
 2.  any other construction activity designated by the Director 
based on the potential for contribution to a violation of a water quality 
standard or for significant contribution of pollutants to waters of the 
State. 
 (7)  Conditional exclusion for no exposure of industrial 
activities and materials to storm water.  Discharges composed entirely 
of storm water are not storm water discharges associated with industrial 
activity if there is "no exposure" of industrial materials and activities to 
rain, snow, snow melt and runoff, and the discharger satisfies the 
conditions in Subsections R317-8-11.3(7)(a) through R317-8-
11.3(7)(d).  "No exposure" means that industrial materials and activities 
are protected by a storm resistant shelter to prevent exposure to rain, 
snow, snow melt, and runoff. Industrial materials or activities include 
material handling equipment or activities, industrial machinery, raw 
materials, intermediate products, by-products, final products, or waste 
products.  Material handling activities include the storage, loading and 
unloading, transportation, or conveyance of any raw material, 
intermediate product, final product or waste product. 
 (a)  Qualification.  To qualify for this exclusion, the operator 
of the discharge must: 
 1.  provide a storm resistant shelter to protect industrial 
materials and activities from exposure to rain, snow, snow melt, and 
runoff; 
 2.  complete and sign, according to Subsection R317-8-3.4, a 
certification that there are no discharges of storm water contaminated by 
exposure to industrial materials and activities from the entire facility, 
except as provided in Subsection R317-8-11.3(7)(b); 
 3.  submit the signed certification to the Director once every 
five years; 
 4.  allow the Director or authorized representative to inspect 
the facility to determine compliance with the "no exposure" conditions; 
 5.  allow the Director or authorized representative to make any 
"no exposure" inspection reports available to the public upon request; 
and 
 6.  for facilities that discharge through an MS4, upon request, 
submit a copy of the certification of no exposure to the MS4 operator, 
as well as allow inspection and public reporting by the MS4 operator. 
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 (b)  Industrial materials and activities not requiring storm 
resistant shelter.  To qualify for this exclusion, storm resistant shelter is 
not required for: 
 1.  drums, barrels, tanks, and similar containers that are tightly 
sealed, meaning banded or otherwise secured and without operational 
taps or valves, provided those containers are not deteriorated and do not 
leak; 
 2.  adequately maintained vehicles used in material handling; 
and 
 3.  final products, other than products that would be mobilized 
in storm water discharge e.g., rock salt. 
 (c)  Limitations. 
 1.  Storm water discharges from construction activities 
identified in Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(e) are not eligible for this 
conditional exclusion. 
 2.  This conditional exclusion from the requirement for a 
UPDES permit is available on a facility-wide basis only, not for 
individual outfalls.  If a facility has some discharges of storm water that 
would otherwise be no exposure discharges, individual permit 
requirements should be adjusted accordingly. 
 3.  If circumstances change and industrial materials or 
activities become exposed to rain, snow, snow melt, and runoff, the 
conditions for this exclusion no longer apply.  In such cases, the 
discharge becomes subject to enforcement for un-permitted discharge.  
Any conditionally exempt discharger who anticipates changes in 
circumstances should apply for and obtain permit authorization prior to 
the change of circumstances. 
 4.  The Director retains the authority to require permit 
authorization and deny this exclusion upon making a determination that 
the discharge causes, has a reasonable potential to cause, or contributes 
to an instream excursion above an applicable water quality standard, 
including designated uses. 
 (d)  Certification.  The no exposure certification must require 
the submission of the following information, at a minimum, to aid the 
Director in determining if the facility qualifies for the no exposure 
exclusion: 
 1.  the legal name, address and phone number of the 
discharger as identified in Subsection R317-8-3.1(3). 
 2.  the facility name and address, the county name and the 
latitude and longitude where the facility is located; 
 3.  an indication that none of the following materials or 
activities are, or will be in the foreseeable future, exposed to 
precipitation: 
 a.  using, storing, or cleaning industrial machinery or 
equipment, and areas where residuals from using, storing or cleaning 
industrial machinery or equipment remain and are exposed to storm 
water; 
 b.  materials or residuals on the ground or in storm water inlets 
from spills or leaks; 
 c.  materials or products from past industrial activity; 
 d.  materials handling equipment, except adequately 
maintained vehicles; 
 e.  materials or products during loading and unloading or 
transporting activities; 
 f.  materials or products stored outdoors, except final products 
intended for outside use, e.g., new cars, where exposure to storm water 
does not result in the discharge of pollutants; 
 g.  materials contained in open, deteriorated or leaking storage 
drums, barrels, tanks, and similar containers; 
 h.  materials or products handled or stored on roads or 
railways owned or maintained by the discharger; 

 i.  waste material, except waste in covered and non-leaking 
containers such as dumpsters; 
 j.  application or disposal of process wastewater, unless 
otherwise permitted; and 
 k.  particulate matter or visible deposits or residuals from roof 
stacks or vents not otherwise regulated, i.e., under an air quality control 
permit, and evident in the storm water outflow. 
 4.  No exposure certifications must include the following 
certification statement, and be signed in accordance with the signatory 
requirements of Section R317-8-3.3 "I certify under penalty of law that 
I have read and understand the eligibility requirements for claiming a 
condition of no exposure and obtaining an exclusion from UPDES storm 
water permitting. I certify under penalty of law that there are no 
discharges of storm water contaminated by exposure to industrial 
activities or materials from the industrial facility identified in this 
document.  I understand that I am obligated to submit a no exposure 
certification form once every five years to the Division of Water Quality 
and understand that I must obtain coverage under a UPDES permit prior 
to any point source discharge of storm water from the facility.  
Additionally, I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision in 
accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 
properly gathered and evaluated the information submitted.  Based upon 
my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 
persons directly involved in gathering the information, the information 
submitted is to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate and 
complete.  I am aware there are significant penalties for submitting false 
information, including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations." 
 (8)  The Director may designate small MS4s other than those 
described in 40 CFR 122.32(a)(1), with substitutions described in 
Subsection R317-8-1.10(12), to be covered under the UPDES storm 
water permit program, and require a UPDES storm water permit.  
Designations of this kind will be based on whether a storm water 
discharge results in or has the potential to result in exceedances of water 
quality standards, including impairment of designated uses, or other 
significant water quality impacts, including habitat and biological 
impacts; and shall apply to any small MS4 located outside of an 
urbanized area serving a population density of at least 1,000 people per 
square mile and a population of at least 10,000. 
 (a)  Criteria used in designation may include: 
 1.  discharge(s) to sensitive waters; 
 2.  areas with high growth or growth potential; 
 3.  areas with a high population density; 
 4.  areas that are contiguous to an urbanized area; 
 5.  small MS4s that cause a significant contribution of 
pollutants to waters of the State; 
 6.  small MS4s that do not have effective programs to protect 
water quality by other programs; or 
 7.  other appropriate criteria. 
 (b)  Permits for designated MS4s under this paragraph shall 
be under the same requirements as small MS4s designated under 40 
CFR 122.32(a)(1) with substitutions as described in Subsection R317-
8-1.10(12). 
 (9)  Reporting requirements for municipal separate storm 
sewer systems.  The operator of a large, medium, or small municipal 
separate storm sewer system or a municipal separate storm sewer that 
has been determined by the Director under Subsection R317-8-
11.3(1)(a)6 must submit an annual report by October 1st each year.  The 
report shall include: 
 1.  the status of implementing the components of the storm 
water management program that are established as permit conditions; 
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 2.  a summary of data or indicators of overall plan 
effectiveness, including monitoring data, that is accumulated throughout 
the reporting year; 
 3.  a fiscal analysis of the necessary capital and operation and 
maintenance expenditures necessary to accomplish the activities of the 
programs under Subsection R317-8-11.3(3)(b).  Such analysis shall 
include a description of the source of funds that are proposed to meet 
the necessary expenditures, including legal restrictions on the use of 
such funds; 
 4.  a summary describing the number and nature of 
enforcement actions, inspections, and public education programs; and 
 5.  identification of water quality improvements or 
degradation. 
 11.4  QUALIFYING STATE OR LOCAL PROGRAMS 
 (1)  For storm water discharges associated with construction 
activity identified in Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(e), the Director may 
include permit conditions that incorporate qualifying State or local 
erosion and sediment control program requirements by reference.  
Where a qualifying State or local program does not include one or more 
of the elements in this paragraph then the Director must include those 
elements as conditions in the permit.  A qualifying State or local erosion 
and sediment control program is one that includes: 
 (a)  requirements for construction site operators to implement 
appropriate erosion and sediment control best management practices; 
 (b)  requirements for construction site operators to control 
waste such as discarded building materials, concrete truck washout, 
chemicals, litter, and sanitary waste at the construction site that may 
cause adverse impacts to water quality; 
 (c)  requirements for construction site operators to develop 
and implement a storm water pollution prevention plan that includes site 
descriptions of appropriate control measures, copies of approved State, 
local requirements, maintenance procedures, inspections procedures, 
and identification of non-storm water discharges; and 
 (d)  requirements to submit a site plan for review that 
incorporates consideration of potential water quality impacts. 
 (2)  For storm water discharges from construction activity 
identified in Subsection R317-8-11.3(6)(e), the Director may include 
permit conditions that incorporate qualifying State or local erosion and 
sediment control program requirements by reference.  A qualifying State 
or local erosion and sediment control program is one that includes the 
elements listed in Subsection R317-8-11.4(1) and any additional 
requirements necessary to achieve the applicable technology-based 
standards of "best available technology" and "best conventional 
technology" based on the best professional judgment of the permit 
writer. 
 
KEY:  water pollution, discharge permits 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [April 1, 
2020]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  September 12, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-5; [19-5-
104]40 CFR 122; 40 CFR 123; 40 CFR 124; 40 CFR 503[; 40 CFR 
124] 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Child Care Center Licensing 
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Building: Highland 
Street address: 3760 S Highland Drive 
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803-
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sbolivar@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R381-40.  Commercial Preschool Programs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
According to the Child Care Licensing Act, Title 26, 
Chapter 39, commercial preschool programs fall under the 
definition of childcare.  However, there is no rule that 
currently addresses this type of childcare industry.  
Therefore, a rule that meets this type of childcare had to 
be written in order to help protect the health and safety of 
children cared for at these childcare facilities. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule addresses 22 foundational topics related to the 
health and safety of children in care between the ages of 
two and four years old, and five years old if the child is not 
attending school.  It is organized by sections, following the 
same center rule style of the other Child Care Licensing 
center rules.  This rule also addresses the specific type of 
care offered by these types of childcare programs. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Child Care Center Licensing Committee does not 
anticipate any additional costs due to the proposed rule 
because the estimated number of new facilities will be 
manageable by the current staff. 
 
There are 27 facilities in the industry in question (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 624410) 
in Utah that will require this license type, the state may 
have an additional initial revenue from the required 
background checks at $53.25 each and licensure costs at 
$262 plus $1.75 per child fee per provider.  That there are 
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any other facilities this new rule may affect is not known to 
Child Care Licensing. Therefore, any other unexpected 
costs or savings are inestimable. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This proposed new rule is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because commercial preschools are already running as a 
business and should have already paid the individual cities 
for their business license and other related costs to run 
their business officially. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
Commercial preschools operate as small business.  There 
are 27 facilities in the industry in question (NAICS 624410) 
in Utah that will require this license type.  Each of these 
small businesses are expected to experience an initial 
approximate direct fiscal cost of $448 ($200 initial 
application fee, $62 licensing fee, $1.75 per child fee for 
15 children, $53.25 background check costs for 3 
individuals) related to their initial licensing process and an 
ongoing annual fiscal cost of $88.25 ($62 licensing fee, 
$1.75 per child fee for 15 children) related to their renewal 
process.  There are other facilities this new rule may affect; 
however, they are not registered with the NAICS.  
Therefore, any other unexpected costs or savings are 
inestimable. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
According to the NAICS 624410, there was only one of this 
facility type which will require a commercial preschool 
license.  However, the number of employees listed is for 
the entire business and not for the preschool area.  
Therefore, they are expected to experience an initial 
approximate direct fiscal cost of $448 ($200 initial 
application fee, $62 licensing fee, $1.75 per child fee for 
15 children, $53.25 background check costs for 3 
individuals working in the preschool area) related to their 
initial licensing process and an ongoing annual fiscal cost 
of $88.25 ($62 licensing fee, $1.75 per child fee for 15 
children) related to their renewal process.  There are other 
facilities this new rule may affect; however, they are not 
registered with the NAICS.  Therefore, any other 
unexpected costs or savings are inestimable. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Child Care Center Licensing Committee does not 
anticipate any additional costs or savings to persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local entities due to the proposed new rule because the 
new rule only affects small businesses and creates the 

costs or savings previously explained and not related to 
these groups. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There will be two main costs associated with this new rule 
for affected persons.  An initial approximate direct fiscal 
cost of $448 ($200 initial application fee, $62 licensing fee, 
$1.75 per child fee for 15 children, $53.25 background 
check costs for 3 individuals working in the preschool area) 
related to their initial licensing process and an ongoing 
annual fiscal cost of $88.25 ($62 licensing fee, $1.75 per 
child fee for 15 children) related to their renewal process. 
 
The calculation of approximately 15 children and 3 
individuals is based on the most common practice in these 
facilities.  These costs may change depending on 
variations to these two numbers. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$12,096 $2,383 $2,383 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$448 $88.25 $88.25 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$12,544 $2,471.25 $2,471.25 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$12,096 $2,471 $2,471 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$12,096 $2,471 $2,471 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$12,096 $2,471 $2,471 
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H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Richard G. Saunders, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
Business will experience a minimum fiscal impact due to 
the cost of licensing fees and background check 
requirements. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Interim Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Subsection 
26-39-203(1)(a) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G. 
Saunders Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 12/03/2020 

 

R381.  Health, Child Care Center Licensing Committee. 
R381-40.  Commercial Preschool Programs. 
R381-40-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with 
Title 26, Chapter 39, Utah Child Care Licensing Act. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the foundational standards 
necessary to protect the health and safety of children in commercial 
preschool programs and defines the general procedures and 
requirements to get and maintain a license to provide this type of 
child care. 
 
R381-40-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a person or business who has 
applied for a new or a renewal of a license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (2)  "Background Finding" means information in a 
background check that may result in a denial from Child Care 
Licensing. 
 (3)  "Background Check Denial" means that an individual 
has failed the background check and is prohibited from being 
involved with a child care program. 
 (4)  "Barrier" means an enclosing structure such as a fence, 
wall, bars, railing, or solid panel to prevent accidental or deliberate 
movement through or access to something. 
 (5)  "Body Fluid" means blood, urine, feces, vomit, mucus, 
or saliva. 
 (6)  "Business Days and Hours" means the days of the week 
and times the facility is open for business. 
 (7)  "Capacity" means the maximum number of children for 
whom care can be provided at any given time. 
 (8)  "Caregiver-to-Child Ratio" means the number of 
caregivers responsible for a specific number of children. 
 (9)  "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program in the 
Department of Health that is delegated with the responsibility to 
enforce the Utah Child Care Licensing Act. 
 (10)  "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision 
of five or more qualifying children that is: 
 (a)  in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the 
parent's home; 
 (b)  for less than 24 hours a day; and 
 (c)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (11)  "Child Care Center Licensing Committee" means the 
Child Care Center Licensing Committee created in the Utah Child 
Care Licensing Act. 
 (12)  "Child Care Program" means a person or business that 
offers child care. 
 (13)  "Choking Hazard" means an object or a removable 
part on an object with a diameter of less than 1-1/4 inches and a length 
of less than 2-1/4 inches that could be caught in a child's throat 
blocking their airway and making it difficult or impossible to breathe. 
 (14)  "Conditional Status" means that the provider is at risk 
of losing their child care license because compliance with any part of 
Rule R381-40 has not been maintained. 
 (15)  "Covered Individual" means any of the following 
individuals involved with a child care program: 
 (a)  an owner; 
 (b)  a director; 
 (c)  a member of the governing body; 
 (d)  an employee; 
 (e)  a caregiver; 
 (f)  a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the 
child care program; 
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 (g)  an individual age 12 years old or older who resides in 
the facility; and 
 (h)  anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in 
care. 
 (16)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (17)  "Designated Play Surface" means any accessible 
elevated surface for standing, walking, crawling, sitting or climbing; 
or an accessible flat surface at least two by two inches in size and 
having an angle less than 30 degrees from horizontal. 
 (18)  "Director" means an individual who meets the director 
qualifications under Section R381-40-7, and who assumes the child 
care program's day-to-day responsibilities under Rule R381-40. 
 (19)  "Early Childhood Education" means a program of 
study that prepares an individual for the teaching of children in their 
early years, normally from birth up to the age of eight years old. 
 (20)  "Emotional Abuse" means behavior that could harm a 
child's emotional development, such as threatening, intimidating, 
humiliating, demeaning, criticizing, rejecting, using profane 
language, or using inappropriate physical restraint. 
 (21)  "Entrapment Hazard" means an opening greater than 
3-1/2 by 6-1/4 inches and less than nine inches in diameter where a 
child's body could fit through but the child's head could not fit 
through, potentially causing a child's entrapment and strangulation. 
 (22)  "Facility" means a child care program or the premises 
approved by the department to be used for child care. 
 (23)  "Group" means the children who are assigned to and 
supervised by one or more caregivers. 
 (24)  "Guest" means an individual who is not a covered 
individual and is at the child care facility for a short time with the 
provider's permission. 
 (25)  "Homeless" means anyone who lacks a fixed, regular, 
and adequate nighttime residence. 
 (26)  "Inaccessible" means out of reach of children by 
being: 
 (a)  locked, such as in a locked room, cupboard, or drawer; 
 (b)  secured with a child safety device, such as a child safety 
cupboard lock or doorknob device; 
 (c)  behind a properly secured child safety gate; 
 (d)  located at least 36 inches above the floor; or 
 (e)  if in a bathroom, at least 36 inches above any surface 
from where a child could stand or climb. 
 (27)  "Infectious Disease" means an illness that is capable 
of being spread from one individual to another. 
 (28)  "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the 
following at or for a child care program: 
 (a)  care for or supervise children; 
 (b)  volunteer; 
 (c)  own, operate, direct; 
 (d)  reside; 
 (e)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 
 (f)  have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (29)  "License" means a license issued by the department 
to provide child care services. 
 (30)  "Licensee" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (31)  "LIS Supported Finding" means background check 
information from the Licensing Information System (LIS) database 
for child abuse and neglect, maintained by the Utah Department of 
Human Services. 
 (32)  "Over-the-Counter Medication" means medication 
that can be bought without a written prescription, including herbal 
remedies, vitamins, and mineral supplements. 

 (33)  "Parent" means the parent or legal guardian of a child 
in care. 
 (34)  "Person" means an individual or a business entity. 
 (35)  "Physical Abuse" means causing nonaccidental 
physical harm to a child. 
 (36)  "Play Equipment Platform" means a flat surface on a 
piece of stationary play equipment intended for more than one child 
to stand on, and upon which the children can move freely. 
 (37)  "Preschooler" means a child age two through four 
years old. 
 (38)  "Protective Barrier" means a structure such as bars, 
lattice, or a panel that is around an elevated platform and is intended 
to prevent accidental or deliberate movement through or access to 
something. 
 (39)  "Protective Cushioning" means a shock-absorbing 
surface under and around play equipment that reduces the severity of 
injuries from falls. 
 (40)  "Provider" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (41)  "Qualifying Child" means: 
 (a)  a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child 
of an individual other than the child care provider or caregiver; 
 (b)  a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years 
old and is the child of an individual other than the provider or 
caregiver; or 
 (c)  a child who is younger than four years old and is the 
child of the provider or a caregiver. 
 (42)  "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider is 
the parent, legal guardian, step-parent, grandparent, step-
grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, 
great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-uncle. 
 (43)  "Room" is defined by the department as follows: 
 (a)  If a large room is divided into smaller rooms or areas 
with barriers such as furniture or with half walls, the room or area is 
considered: 
 (i)  one room, if the room is divided by a solid barrier that 
is less than 24 inches, whether the barrier is movable or immovable; 
 (ii)  one room, if the room is divided by a solid barrier that 
is between 24 and 40 inches in height and there is an opening in the 
barrier through which caregivers and children can move freely; 
 (iii)  two rooms, if the room is divided by a solid barrier 
that is between 24 and 40 inches in height and there is no opening in 
the barrier through which caregivers and children can move freely, or 
there is an opening between the two sides but the opening is blocked 
such as with a child safety gate.  This also applies to a diaper 
changing station that is located behind a closed gate; or 
 (iv)  two rooms, if the room is divided by a solid barrier 
that is over 40 inches in height and there is no opening in the barrier 
through which caregivers and children can move freely, or there is an 
opening between the two sides but the opening is blocked such as 
with a child safety gate.  If there is an opening through which 
caregivers and children can move freely and the opening is not 
blocked, refer to the instructions for a large opening, archway, or 
doorway. 
 (b)  If two rooms or areas are connected by a large opening, 
archway, or doorway, the rooms or areas are considered: 
 (i)  one room, if the width of the opening or archway is 
equal to or greater than the combined width of the walls on each side 
of the opening or archway, in the larger of the two rooms or areas, 
and there is no furniture or other dividers blocking the opening or 
archway.  Otherwise the department shall consider this to be two 
rooms; or 
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 (ii)  two rooms, if the width of the opening or archway is 
smaller than the combined width of the walls on each side of the 
opening or archway, in the larger of the two rooms or areas. 
 (c)  If in outdoor areas separated by interior fences, areas 
are considered: 
 (i)  one area, if the interior fence is 24 inches in height or 
lower, whether or not the fence has an opening; 
 (ii)  one area, if the interior fence is 40 inches or lower in 
height with an opening through which caregivers and children can 
move freely; 
 (iii)  two areas if the interior fence is higher than 24 inches 
and there is no opening; or 
 (iv)  two areas, if the interior fence is higher than 40 inches 
whether or not the fence has an opening. 
 (44)  "Sanitize" means to use a product or process to reduce 
contaminants and bacteria to a safe level. 
 (45)  "Sexual Abuse" means to take indecent liberties with 
a child with the intention to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of an 
individual or to cause pain or discomfort. 
 (46)  "Sexually Explicit Material" means any depiction of 
actual or simulated sexually explicit conduct. 
 (47)  "Sleeping Equipment" means a cot, mat, crib, 
bassinet, porta-crib, playpen, or bed. 
 (48)  "Stationary Play Equipment" means equipment such 
as a climber, slide, swing, merry-go-round, or spring rocker that is 
meant to stay in one location when a child uses it.  Stationary play 
equipment does not include: 
 (a)  a sandbox; 
 (b)  a stationary circular tricycle; 
 (c)  a sensory table; or 
 (d)  a playhouse that sits on the ground or floor and has no 
attached equipment, such as a slide, swing, or climber. 
 (49)  "Strangulation Hazard" means something on which a 
child's clothes or drawstrings could become caught, or something in 
which a child could become entangled such as: 
 (a)  a protruding bolt end that extends more than two 
threads beyond the face of the nut; 
 (b)  hardware that forms a hook or leaves a gap or space 
between components such as a protruding open S-hook; or 
 (c)  a rope, cord, or chain that is attached to a structure and 
is long enough to encircle a child's neck. 
 (50)  "Unsupervised Contact" means being with, caring for, 
communicating with, or touching a child in the absence of a caregiver 
or other employee who is at least 18 years old and has passed a Child 
Care Licensing background check. 
 (51)  "Use Zone" means the area beneath and surrounding 
a play structure or piece of equipment that is designated for 
unrestricted movement around the equipment, and onto which a child 
falling from or exiting the equipment could be expected to land. 
 (52)  "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no 
form of direct or indirect compensation for their service. 
 (53)  "Working Days" means the days of the week the 
department is open for business. 
 
R381-40-3.  License Required. 
 (1)  A person shall have a preschool program license if they 
provide care: 
 (a)  in the absence of the child's parent; 
 (b)  in a place other than the provider's home or the child's 
home; 

 (c)  for five or more qualifying children between the ages 
of two and four years old, and five years old if the child is not 
attending school; 
 (d)  for each individual child for less than four hours per 
day; 
 (e)  on an ongoing basis for more than two days a week and 
for four or more weeks in a year; 
 (f)  for direct or indirect compensation; and 
 (g)  where care does not include preparing meals to 
children. 
 (2)  A person who is not required to be licensed may 
voluntarily receive a license, except for care that is for related 
children only or on a sporadic basis. 
 (3)  A provider may be licensed to provide child care in a 
facility that is also licensed to offer foster or respite care services, or 
another licensed or certified human services program, if the part of 
the building requesting a CCL license is physically separated from 
the other building services. 
 
R381-40-4.  License Application, Renewal, Changes, and 
Variances. 
 (1)  Each applicant for a new child care license shall: 
 (a)  submit an online application; 
 (b)  submit a copy of a current local fire clearance or a 
statement from the local fire authority that a fire inspection is not 
required; 
 (c)  submit a copy of a current local business license or a 
statement from the city that a business license is not required; 
 (d)  have a copy of the educational credentials of the 
individual who will be the director as required in Section R381-40-7, 
ready for review by the department; 
 (e)  complete CCL background checks for covered 
individuals as required in Section R381-40-8; 
 (f)  complete CCL new provider training no more than six 
months before becoming licensed; and 
 (g)  pay any required fees, which are nonrefundable. 
 (2)  Each applicant shall pass a department's inspection of 
the facility before a new or a renewal license is issued. 
 (3)  If the local fire authority states that an applicant for a 
new or a renewal license does not require a fire inspection, the 
department shall verify the applicant's compliance with the 
following: 
 (a)  address numbers and letters are readable from the 
street; 
 (b)  exit doors operate properly and are well maintained; 
 (c)  there are no obstructions in exits, aisles, corridors, and 
stairways; 
 (d)  exit doors are unlocked from the inside during business 
hours; 
 (e)  exits are clearly identified; 
 (f)  there is at least one unobstructed fire extinguisher on 
each level of the building, currently charged and serviced, and 
mounted not more than five feet above the floor; 
 (g)  there are working smoke detectors that are properly 
installed on each level of the building; and 
 (h)  boiler, mechanical, and electrical panel rooms are not 
used for storage. 
 (4)  If an applicant for a new or a renewal license serves 
food and the local health department states that a kitchen inspection 
is not required, the department shall verify the applicant's compliance 
with the following: 
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 (a)  the refrigerator is clean, in good repair, and working at 
or below 41 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (b)  there is a working thermometer in the refrigerator; 
 (c)  reusable food holders, utensils, and food preparation 
surfaces are washed, rinsed, and sanitized before each use; 
 (d)  chemicals are stored away from food and food service 
items; 
 (e)  food is properly stored, kept to the proper temperature, 
and in good condition; and 
 (f)  there is a working handwashing sink in the kitchen and 
handwashing instructions posted by the sink. 
 (5)  Each applicant for a new license shall have six months 
from the time any portion of the application is submitted to finish the 
licensing process. If unsuccessful, the applicant shall reapply. Any 
resubmission must include the required documentation, payment of 
licensing fees, and a new inspection of the facility in order to be 
licensed. 
 (6)  The department may deny an application for a new or 
renewal license if, within the five years preceding the application 
date, the applicant held a license or a certificate that was: 
 (a)  closed under an immediate closure; 
 (b)  revoked; 
 (c)  closed as a result of a settlement agreement resulting 
from a notice of intent to revoke, a notice of revocation, or a notice 
of immediate closure; 
 (d)  voluntarily closed after an the department found a 
violation to any rule under Rule R381-40 that would have resulted in 
a notice of intent to revoke or a notice of revocation had the provider 
not closed voluntarily; or 
 (e)  voluntarily closed having unpaid fees or civil money 
penalties issued by the department. 
 (7)  Each child care license expires at midnight on the last 
day of the month shown on the license, unless the license was 
previously revoked by the department, or voluntarily closed by the 
provider. 
 (8)  Within 30 to 90 days before a current license expires, 
each provider shall submit for renewal: 
 (a)  an online renewal request; 
 (b)  applicable renewal fees; 
 (c)  any previous unpaid fees; and 
 (d)  a copy of a current fire inspection report. 
 (9)  The department may grant a provider who fails to 
renew their license by the expiration date an additional 30 days to 
complete the renewal process if the provider pays a late fee. 
 (10)  The department may deny renewal of a license for a 
provider who is no longer caring for children. 
 (11)  Each provider shall submit a complete application for 
a new license at least 30 days before any of the following changes 
occur: 
 (a)  a change of the child care facility's location; or 
 (b)  a change that transfers 50 percent or more ownership 
or controlling interest to a new individual or entity. 
 (12)  A provider shall submit a complete online changes 
request to amend an existing license at least 30 days before any of the 
following changes: 
 (a)  an increase or decrease of licensed capacity, including 
any change to the amount of usable indoor or outdoor space where 
child care is provided; 
 (b)  a change in the name of the program; 
 (c)  a change in the regulation type of the program; 
 (d)  a change in the name of the provider; 
 (e)  an addition or loss of a director; or 

 (f)  a change in ownership that does not require a new 
license. 
 (13)  The department may amend a license after verifying 
that the applicant is in compliance with each applicable rule under 
Rule R381-40 and required fees have been paid.  The expiration date 
of the amended license remains the same as the previous license. 
 (14)  Only the department may assign, transfer, or amend a 
license. 
 (15)  If an applicant or provider cannot comply with a rule 
under Rule R381-40 but can meet the intent of the rule in another 
way, the applicant or provider may apply for a variance to that rule 
by submitting a request to the department. 
 (16)  The department may: 
 (a)  require additional information before acting on the 
variance request; and 
 (b)  impose health and safety requirements as a condition 
of granting a variance. 
 (17)  Each provider shall comply with the existing Rule 
R381-40 rules until a variance is approved by the department. 
 (18)  If a variance is approved, the provider shall keep a 
copy of the written approval on-site for review by parents and the 
department. 
 (19)  The department may grant variances for up to 12 
months. 
 (20)  The department may revoke a variance if: 
 (a)  the provider is not meeting the intent of the rule as 
stated in their approved variance; 
 (b)  the provider fails to comply with the conditions of the 
variance; or 
 (c)  a change in statute, rule, or case law affects the basis 
for the variance. 
 
R381-40-5.  Rule Violations, Penalties, and Appeals. 
 (1)  The department may place a program's child care 
license on a conditional status for the following causes: 
 (a)  chronic, ongoing noncompliance with the requirements 
under Rule R381-40; 
 (b)  unpaid fees; or 
 (c)  a serious rule violation that places children's health or 
safety in immediate jeopardy. 
 (2)  The department shall establish the length of the 
conditional status and set the conditions that the child care provider 
shall satisfy to remove the conditional status. 
 (3)  The department may increase monitoring of the 
program that is on conditional status to verify compliance with the 
rules under Rule R381-40. 
 (4)  The department may deny or revoke a license if the 
child care provider: 
 (a)  fails to meet the conditions of a license on conditional 
status; 
 (b)  violates the Child Care Licensing Act; 
 (c)  provides false or misleading information to the 
department; 
 (d)  misrepresents information by intentionally altering a 
license or any other document issued by the department; 
 (e)  fails to allow authorized representatives of the 
department access to the facility to ensure compliance with the 
requirements under Rule R381-40; 
 (f)  fails to submit or make available to the department any 
written documentation needed to verify compliance with the 
requirements under Rule R381-40; 
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 (g)  commits a serious rule violation that results in death or 
serious harm to a child, or that places a child at risk of death or serious 
harm; or 
 (h)  has committed an illegal act that would exclude an 
individual from having a license. 
 (5)  Within ten working days of receipt of a revocation 
notice, the provider shall submit to the department the names and 
mailing addresses of the parents of each enrolled child so the 
department can notify the parents of the revocation. 
 (6)  The department may order the immediate closure of a 
facility if conditions create a clear and present danger to any child in 
care and may require immediate action to protect the children's health 
or safety. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of an immediate closure notice, the 
provider shall give the department the names and mailing addresses 
of the parents of each enrolled child so the department can notify the 
parents of the immediate closure. 
 (8)  If there is a severe injury or the death of a child in care, 
the department may order a child care provider to suspend services 
and prohibit new enrollments, pending a review by the Child Fatality 
Review Committee or a determination of the probable cause of death 
or injury by a medical professional. 
 (9)  If a person is providing care for more than four 
unrelated children without the appropriate license, the department 
may: 
 (a)  issue a cease and desist order; or 
 (b)  allow the person to continue operation if: 
 (i)  the person was unaware of the need for a license; 
 (ii)  conditions do not create a clear and present danger to 
the children in care; and 
 (iii)  the person agrees to apply for the appropriate license 
within 30 calendar days of notification by the department. 
 (10)  If a person providing care without the appropriate 
license agrees to apply for a license but does not submit an 
application and the required application documents within 30 days, 
the department may issue a cease and desist order. 
 (11)  A violation of any of the requirements under Rule 
R381-40 is punishable by an administrative civil money penalty of 
up to $5,000 a day as provided in Section 26-39-601. 
 (12)  The department may assess a civil money penalty and 
also take action to deny, place on conditional status, revoke, 
immediately close, or refuse to renew a license. 
 (13)  The department may deny an application or revoke a 
license for failure to pay any required fees, including fees for 
applications, late fees, returned checks, license changes, additional 
inspections, conditional monitoring inspections, background checks, 
civil money penalties, and other fees assessed by the department. 
 (14)  An applicant or provider may appeal any department 
decision within 15 working days of being informed in writing of the 
decision. 
 
R381-40-6.  Administration and Children's Records. 
 (1)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  be at least 21 years old; 
 (b)  pass a CCL background check; and 
 (c)  complete the new provider training offered by the 
department. 
 (2)  If the owner is not a sole proprietor, the business entity 
shall submit to the department the name(s) and contact information 
of the individual(s) who shall legally represent them and who shall 
comply with the requirements under Subsection R381-40-6(1). 

 (3)  The provider shall protect children from conduct that 
endangers children in care, or is contrary to the health, morals, 
welfare, and safety of the public. 
 (4)  The provider shall know and comply with each 
applicable federal, state, and local law, ordinance, and rule, and shall 
be responsible for the operation and management of a child care 
program. 
 (5)  The provider shall comply with the requirements under 
Rule R381-40 any time a child in care is present. 
 (6)  The provider shall post their unaltered child care 
license on the facility premises in a place readily visible and 
accessible to the public. 
 (7)  The provider shall post a current copy of the 
department's Parent Guide at the facility for parent review during 
business hours. 
 (8)  The provider shall inform parents and the department 
of any changes to the program's telephone number and other contact 
information within 48 hours of the change. 
 (9)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have liability insurance. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that a parent completes an 
admission and health assessment form for their child before the child 
is admitted into the child care program. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that each child's admission 
and health assessment form includes the following information: 
 (a)  child's name; 
 (b)  child's date of birth; 
 (c)  parent's name, address, and phone number, including a 
daytime phone number; 
 (d)  names of individuals authorized by the parent to sign 
the child out from the facility; 
 (e)  name, address, and phone number of an individual to 
be contacted if an emergency happens and the provider cannot 
contact the parent; 
 (f)  if available, the name, address, and phone number of an 
out-of-area emergency contact individual for the child; 
 (g)  parent's permission for emergency transportation and 
emergency medical treatment; 
 (h)  any known allergies of the child; 
 (i)  any known food sensitivities of the child; 
 (j)  any chronic medical conditions that the child may have; 
 (k)  instructions for special or nonroutine daily health care 
of the child; 
 (l)  current ongoing medications that the child may be 
taking; 
 (m)  any other special health instructions for the caregiver; 
and 
 (n)  certification that required immunizations are current. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that the admission and 
health assessment form is: 
 (a)  reviewed, updated, and signed or initialed by the parent 
at least annually; and 
 (b)  kept on-site for review by the department. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that each child's information 
is kept confidential and not released without written parental 
permission except to the department. 
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R381-40-7.  Personnel and Training Requirements. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that employees and 
volunteers are supervised, qualified, and trained as stated under Rule 
R381-40 to: 
 (a)  meet the needs of the children; and 
 (b)  comply with each requirement. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the preschool program 
has a qualified director as required under Section R381-40-7. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the director: 
 (a)  is at least 21 years old; 
 (b)  passes a CCL background check; 
 (c)  receives at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training 
before beginning job duties; 
 (d)  completes the new director training offered by the 
department within 60 working days of assuming director duties; 
 (e)  knows and follows any applicable laws and 
requirements under Rule R381-40; and 
 (f)  completes at least 10 hours of child care training each 
year based on the facility's license date, or at least 45 minutes of child 
care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that new directors have one 
of the following educational credentials: 
 (a)  any bachelor's or higher education degree; 
 (b)  at least 60 clock hours of approved Utah Early 
Childhood Career Ladder courses in child development, 
social/emotional development, and the child care environment; or 60 
clock hours of equivalent training as approved by the department; 
 (c)  at least 12 college credit hours of child development 
courses; 
 (d)  a currently valid national certification such as a 
Certified Childcare Professional (CCP) issued by the National Child 
Care Association, a Child Development Associate (CDA) issued by 
the Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition, or other 
equivalent credential as approved by the department; 
 (e)  at least a Level 9 from the Utah Early Childhood Career 
Ladder system; 
 (f)  a National Administrator Credential (NAC) and at least 
60 clock hours of approved Utah Early Childhood Career Ladder 
courses in child development, social and emotional development, and 
the child care environment; or 60 clock hours of equivalent training 
as approved by the department; or 
 (g)  proof of at least five years of early education teaching 
experience. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the director is on duty at 
the facility for at least half of the time every week the program is 
open. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that there is a director 
designee with authority to act on behalf of the director in the 
director's absence. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that the director designee: 
 (a)  is at least 21 years old; 
 (b)  passes a CCL background check; 
 (c)  receives at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training 
before beginning job duties; 
 (d)  knows and follows any applicable laws and 
requirements under Rule R381-40; and 
 (e)  completes at least 10 hours of child care training each 
year based on the facility's license date, or at least 45 minutes of child 
care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year. 

 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the director or the 
director designee is present at the facility when the program is open 
for care. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers: 
 (a)  are at least 16 years old; 
 (b)  pass a CCL background check; 
 (c)  receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training before 
caring for children; 
 (d)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R381-40; 
 (e)  complete at least 10 hours of child care training each 
year, based on the facility's license date, or at least 45 minutes of child 
care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year; and 
 (f)  do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, 
including during offsite activities and transportation, if the caregivers 
are younger than 18 years old. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that any other employees 
such as drivers, cooks, and clerks: 
 (a)  pass a CCL background check; 
 (b)  receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training before 
beginning job duties; 
 (c)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R381-40, and 
 (d)  do not have unsupervised contact with any child in 
care, including during offsite activities and transportation, if the 
employee is younger than 18 years old. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that volunteers: 
 (a)  pass a CCL background check; and 
 (b)  do not have unsupervised contact with any child in 
care, including during offsite activities and transportation, if the 
volunteer is younger than 18 years old. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that guests: 
 (a)  do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, 
including during offsite activities and transportation; and 
 (b)  wear a guest nametag. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that student interns who are 
registered and participating in a high school or college child care 
course: 
 (a)  do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, 
including during offsite activities and transportation; and 
 (b)  wear a guest nametag. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that parents of children in 
care do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, except 
with their own children. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that household members 
who are: 
 (a)  12 to 17 years old pass a CCL background check and 
do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, including 
during offsite activities and transportation; and 
 (b)  18 years old or older pass a CCL background check that 
includes fingerprints. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who 
provide Individualized Educational Plan (IEP) or Individualized 
Family Service plan (IFSP) services such as physical, occupational, 
or speech therapists: 
 (a)  provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility; and 
 (b)  have received the child's parent's permission for 
services to take place at the facility. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that individuals from law 
enforcement, Child Protective Services, the department, and any 
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similar entities provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that preservice training 
includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  job description and duties; 
 (b)  current department rule Sections R381-40-7 through 
R381-40-22; 
 (c)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (d)  pediatric first aid and cardio pulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR); 
 (e)  children with special needs; 
 (f)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (g)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (h)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (i)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (j)  a review of the information in each child's health 
assessment in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, 
food sensitivities, and other special needs; and 
 (k)  an introduction and orientation to the children in care. 
 (19)  The provider shall keep documentation of each 
individual's preservice training on-site for review by the department 
and shall ensure that documentation includes at least the following: 
 (a)  training topics; 
 (b)  date of the training; and 
 (c)  total hours or minutes of training. 
 (20)  The provider shall ensure that annual child care 
training includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  current department rule Sections R381-40-7 through 
R381-40-22; 
 (b)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (c)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (d)  children with special needs; 
 (e)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (f)  the prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (g)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; and 
 (h)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance. 
 (21)  The provider shall ensure that documentation of each 
individual's annual child care training is kept on-site for review by 
the department and includes the following: 
 (a)  training topic; 
 (b)  date of the training; 
 (c)  name of the individual or organization that presented 
the training; and 
 (d)  total hours or minutes of training. 
 (22)  When there are children at the facility, the provider 
shall ensure that there is at least one staff member present who can 
demonstrate English literacy skills needed to care for children and 
respond to emergencies. 
 (23)  The provider shall ensure that at least one staff 
member with a current Red Cross, American Heart Association, or 
equivalent pediatric first aid and CPR certification is present when 
children are in care: 
 (a)  at the facility; 
 (b)  in each vehicle transporting children; and 

 (c)  at each offsite activity. 
 (24)  The provider shall ensure that CPR certification 
includes hands-on testing. 
 (25)  The provider shall ensure that the following records 
for each covered individual are kept on-site for review by the 
department: 
 (a)  the date of initial employment or association with the 
program; 
 (b)  a current pediatric first aid and CPR certification, if 
required under Rule R381-40; and 
 (c)  a six-week record of the times worked each day. 
 
R381-40-8.  Background Checks. 
 (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care in the program, the provider shall use the CCL 
provider portal search to: 
 (a)  verify that the individual has a current CCL background 
check; and 
 (b)  associate that individual with their facility if the 
covered individual appears in the search. 
 (2)  Before a new covered individual who does not appear 
in the CCL provider portal search becomes involved with child care 
in the program, the provider shall: 
 (a)  have the individual submit an online background check 
form and fingerprints; 
 (b)  authorize the individual's background check through 
the CCL provider's portal; 
 (c)  pay any required fees; and 
 (d)  receive written notice from CCL that the individual 
passed the background check. 
 (3)  The department may include a covered individual by 
name on the CCL provider portal and consider that covered 
individual's background check to be current if the covered individual 
has: 
 (a)  passed a CCL background check; 
 (b)  resided in Utah since the last background check was 
completed; and 
 (c)  been associated with an active, CCL approved child 
care facility within the past 180 days. 
 (4)  Within ten working days from when a child who resides 
in the facility turns 12 years old, the provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure that an online background check form is 
submitted; 
 (b)  authorize the child's background check through the 
CCL provider's portal; and 
 (c)  pay any required fees. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that fingerprints are prepared 
by a local law enforcement agency or an agency approved by local 
law enforcement. 
 (6)  If fingerprints are submitted electronically through live 
scan, the provider shall ensure that the agency taking the fingerprints 
is one that follows the department's guidelines. 
 (7)  The department may deny a covered individual from 
being involved with child care for any of the following background 
findings: 
 (a)  LIS supported findings; 
 (b)  the covered individual's name appears on the Utah or 
national sex offender registry; 
 (c)  any felony convictions; or 
 (d)  for any of the reasons listed under Subsection R381-
40-8(8). 
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 (8)  The department may also deny a covered individual 
from being involved with child care for any of the following 
convictions regardless of severity: 
 (a)  unlawful sale or furnishing alcohol to minors; 
 (b)  sexual enticing of a minor; 
 (c)  cruelty to animals, including dogfighting; 
 (d)  bestiality; 
 (e)  lewdness, including lewdness involving a child; 
 (f)  voyeurism; 
 (g)  providing dangerous weapons to a minor; 
 (h)  a parent providing a firearm to a violent minor; 
 (i)  a parent knowing of a minor's possession of a dangerous 
weapon; 
 (j)  sales of firearms to juveniles; 
 (k)  pornographic material or performance; 
 (l)  sexual solicitation; 
 (m)  prostitution and related crimes; 
 (n)  contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 
 (o)  any crime against an individual; 
 (p)  a sexual exploitation act; 
 (q)  leaving a child unattended in a vehicle; and 
 (r)  driving under the influence (DUI) while a child is 
present in the vehicle. 
 (9)  The department shall approve a covered individual if 
the only background finding is a conviction or plea of no contest to a 
nonviolent drug offense that occurred ten or more years before the 
CCL background check was conducted. 
 (10)  If the provider fails to pass a background check, the 
department may suspend or deny their license until the reason for the 
denial is resolved. 
 (11)  If a covered individual fails to pass a CCL background 
check, including that the individual has been convicted, has pleaded 
no contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion 
agreement for a felony or misdemeanor, the provider shall prohibit 
that individual from being employed by the child care program or 
residing at the facility until the reason for the denial is resolved. 
 (12)  If a covered individual is denied a license or 
employment based upon the criminal background check and 
disagrees with the information provided by the Department of Public 
Safety, the covered individual may appeal the information to the 
Department of Public Safety. 
 (13)  If a covered individual disagrees with a supported 
finding on the Department of Human Services Licensing Information 
System (LIS), the covered individual may appeal the finding to the 
Department of Human Services. 
 (14)  The provider and the covered individual shall notify 
the department within 48 hours of becoming aware of the covered 
individual's arrest warrant, felony or misdemeanor arrest, charge, 
conviction, or supported LIS finding.  Failure to notify the 
department within 48 hours may result in disciplinary action, 
including revocation of the license. 
 (15)  The Executive Director of the Department of Health 
may overturn a background check denial if the Executive Director 
determines that the nature of the background finding or mitigating 
circumstances do not pose a risk to children. 
 
R381-40-9.  Facility. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that any building or play 
structure on the premises constructed before 1978 that has peeling, 
flaking, chalking, or failing paint is tested for lead.  If lead-based 
paint is found, the provider shall contact their local health department 

within five working days and follow required procedures for 
remediation of the lead hazard. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each room and indoor 
area that is used by children is ventilated by mechanical ventilation, 
or by windows that open and have screens. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that windows and glass doors 
within 36 inches from the floor or ground are made of safety or 
tempered glass, or have a protective guard. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that rooms and areas have 
adequate light intensity for the safety of the children and the type of 
activity being conducted. 
 (5)  The provider shall maintain the indoor temperature 
between 65 and 82 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that there is a working 
telephone at the facility, in each vehicle while transporting children, 
and during offsite activities. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
working toilet and one working sink when there are up to 15 children 
in the facility, and at least two working toilets and two working sinks 
when there are more than 15 children present in the facility. 
 (8)  If there is an outdoor area in the facility, the provider 
shall ensure that the outdoor area: 
 (a)  is safely accessible to the children; 
 (b)  is enclosed within a fence, wall, or solid natural barrier 
that is at least four feet high; and 
 (c)  has no gaps five by five inches or greater in or under 
the fence or barrier.  
 (9)  If there is a swimming pool on the premises that is not 
emptied after each use, the provider shall: 
 (a)  meet applicable state and local laws and ordinances 
related to the operation of a swimming pool; 
 (b)  maintain the pool in a safe manner; and 
 (c)  when not in use, cover the pool with a commercially-
made safety enclosure that is installed according to the 
manufacturer's instructions, or enclose the pool within at least a four-
foot-high fence or solid barrier that is kept locked and that separates 
the pool from any other areas on the premises. 
 (10)  The provider shall maintain buildings and outdoor 
areas in good repair and safe condition including: 
 (a)  ceilings, walls, and floor coverings; 
 (b)  lighting, bathroom, and other fixtures; 
 (c)  draperies, blinds, and other window coverings; 
 (d)  indoor and outdoor play equipment; 
 (e)  furniture, toys, and materials accessible to the children; 
and 
 (f)  entrances, exits, steps, and walkways including keeping 
them free of ice, snow, and other hazards. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that accessible raised decks 
or balconies that are five feet or higher, and open stairwells that are 
five feet or deeper have protective barriers that are at least three feet 
high. 
 (12)  If the facility is subdivided, any part of the building is 
rented out, or any area of the facility is shared including the outdoor 
area, the department may inspect the entire facility and the provider 
shall ensure that covered individuals in the facility comply with the 
requirements under Rule R381-40, except when the following 
conditions are met: 
 (a)  there is a separate entrance for the child care program; 
 (b)  there are no connecting interior doorways that can be 
used by unauthorized individuals; and 
 (c)  there is no shared access to the outdoor area used for 
child care. 
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R381-40-10.  Capacity and Ratio. 
 (1)  The department may limit the maximum allowed 
capacity for a child care facility based on local ordinances. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the number of children 
in care at any given time does not exceed the capacity identified on 
the license. 
 (3)  The department may determine the total capacity based 
on the number of rooms and the ages of children cared for in those 
rooms. 
 (4)  As listed in Table 1 for single-age groups of children, 
the provider shall: 
 (a)  maintain at least the number of caregivers; and 
 (b)  not exceed the number of children in the caregiver-to-
child ratio per room. 
 

TABLE 1 
Caregiver-to-Child Ratios 

 
Ages of Children      # of Caregivers   # of Children   
 
2 years old           at least 1            7 
3 years old           at least 1           12 
4 years old           at least 1           15 
5 years old           at least 1           20 

 

 (5)  As listed in Tables 2-4 for mixed-age groups of 
children, the provider shall: 
 (a)  maintain at least the number of caregivers, and 
 (b)  not exceed the number of children in the caregiver-to-
child ratio per room. 
 

TABLE 2 
Two-to-Five-Year-Olds 

 
# Caregivers Required          Age         # Children in the room 
 
     At least 1                2 years             1-6 
                               3, 4, and 5 years   1-10 
              Maximum Total children in the room:  11 

 

 
TABLE 3 

Three-to-Five-Year-Olds 
 
# Caregivers Required     Age       # Children in the room 
 
     At least 1            3 years              1-11 
                           4 years              1-14 
                           5 years              1-14 
             Maximum Total children in the room:  16 

 

 
TABLE 4 

Four-to-Five-Year-Olds 
 
# Caregivers Required     Age       # Children in the room 
 
          At least 1       4 years               1-14 
                           5 years               1-17 
             Maximum Total children in the room:  18 

 

 (6)  The provider may exclude the provider's or an 
employee's child age four years or older from the caregiver-to-child 
ratio when the parent of the child is working at the facility. 
 (7)  The provider may include caregivers, student interns 
who are registered in a high school or college child care course, and 
volunteers who are 16 years old or older in the caregiver-to-child 
ratio. 
 

R381-40-11.  Child Supervision and Security. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers provide and 
maintain active supervision of each child, including: 
 (a)  the caregiver is physically present in the room or area 
with the children; 
 (b)  caregivers know the number of children in their care at 
any time;  
 (c)  caregivers' attention is focused on the children and not 
on caregivers' personal interests;  
 (d)  caregivers are aware of the entire group of children 
even when interacting with a smaller group or an individual child; 
and 
 (e)  caregivers position themselves so each child in their 
assigned group is actively supervised. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that parents have access to 
their child and the areas used to care for their child when their child 
is in care. 
 (3)  To maintain security and supervision of children, the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each child is signed in and out; 
 (b)  only parents or persons with written authorization from 
the parent may sign out a child; 
 (c)  photo identification is required if the individual signing 
the child in or out is unknown to the provider; 
 (d)  persons signing children in and out use identifiers, such 
as a signature, initials, or electronic code; and 
 (e)  the sign-in and sign-out records include the date and 
time each child arrives and leaves. 
 (4)  In an emergency, the provider shall accept the parent's 
verbal authorization to release a child if the provider can confirm the 
identity of: 
 (a)  the person giving verbal authorization; and 
 (b)  the person picking up the child. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that a six-week record of each 
child's daily attendance, including sign-in and sign-out records, is 
kept on-site for review by the department. 
 
R381-40-12.  Child Guidance and Interaction. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that no child is subjected to 
physical, emotional, or sexual abuse while in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall inform parents, children, and those 
who interact with the children of the program's behavioral 
expectations and how any misbehavior will be handled. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who interact 
with the children guide children's behavior by using positive 
reinforcement, redirection, and by setting clear limits that promote 
children's ability to become self-disciplined. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers use gentle, 
passive restraint with children only when it is needed to protect 
children from injuring themselves or others, or to stop them from 
destroying property. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that interactions with the 
children do not include: 
 (a)  any form of corporal punishment or any action that 
produces physical pain or discomfort such as hitting, spanking, 
shaking, biting, or pinching; 
 (b)  restraining a child's movement by binding, tying, or any 
other form of restraint that exceeds gentle, passive restraint; 
 (c)  shouting at children; 
 (d)  any form of emotional abuse; 
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 (e)  forcing or withholding food, rest, or toileting; or 
 (f)  confining a child in a closet, locked room, or other 
enclosure such as a box, cupboard, or cage. 
 (6)  Any individual who witnesses or suspects that a child 
has been subjected to abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall 
immediately notify Child Protective Services or law enforcement as 
required in state law. 
 
R381-40-13.  Child Safety and Injury Prevention. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that the building, outdoor 
area, toys, and equipment are used in a safe manner and as intended 
by the manufacturer to prevent injury to children. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that poisonous and harmful 
plants are inaccessible to children. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that sharp objects, edges, 
corners, or points that could cut or puncture skin are inaccessible to 
children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that choking hazards are 
inaccessible to children younger than three years old. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that strangulation hazards 
such as ropes, cords, chains, and wires attached to a structure and 
long enough to encircle a child's neck are inaccessible to children. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that tripping hazards such as 
unsecured flooring, rugs with curled edges, or cords in walkways are 
inaccessible to children. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that empty plastic bags large 
enough for a child's head to fit inside, latex gloves, and balloons are 
inaccessible to children younger than five years old. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that standing water that 
measures two inches or deeper and five by five inches or greater in 
diameter is inaccessible to children. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that toxic or hazardous 
chemicals such as cleaners, insecticides, lawn products, and 
flammable, corrosive, and reactive materials are: 
 (a)  inaccessible to children; 
 (b)  used according to manufacturer instructions; 
 (c)  stored in containers labeled with the contents of the 
container; and 
 (d)  disposed of properly. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  matches or cigarette lighters; 
 (b)  open flames; 
 (c)  hot wax or other hot substances; and 
 (d)  when in use, portable space heaters, wood burning 
stoves, and fireplaces. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  live electrical wires; and 
 (b)  for children younger than five years old, electrical 
outlets and surge protectors without protective caps or safety devices 
when not in use. 
 (12)  Unless used and stored in compliance with the Utah 
Concealed Weapons Act or as otherwise allowed by law, the provider 
shall ensure that firearms such as guns, muzzleloaders, rifles, 
shotguns, hand guns, pistols, and automatic guns are: 
 (a)  locked in a cabinet or area using a key, combination 
lock, or fingerprint lock; and 
 (b)  stored unloaded and separate from ammunition. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that weapons such as 
paintball guns, BB guns, airsoft guns, sling shots, arrows, and mace 
are inaccessible to children. 

 (14)  The provider shall ensure that alcohol, illegal 
substances, and sexually explicit material are inaccessible, and not 
used on the premises, during offsite activities, or in program vehicles 
any time a child is in care. 
 (15)  If there is an outdoor area used by the children, the 
provider shall ensure that an outdoor source of drinking water, such 
as individually labeled water bottles, a pitcher of water and individual 
cups, or a working water fountain is available to each child when the 
outside temperature is 75 degrees or higher. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that areas accessible to 
children are free of heavy or unstable objects that children could pull 
down on themselves, such as furniture, unsecured televisions, and 
standing ladders. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that hot water accessible to 
children does not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that tobacco, e-cigarettes, 
e-juice, e-liquids, and similar products are inaccessible and, in 
compliance with the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, not used: 
 (a)  in the facility or any other building when a child is in 
care; 
 (b)  in any vehicle that is being used to transport a child in 
care; 
 (c)  within 25 feet of any entrance to the facility or other 
building occupied by a child in care; or 
 (d)  in any outdoor area or within 25 feet of any outdoor 
area occupied by a child in care. 
 
R381-40-14.  Emergency Preparedness and Response. 
 (1)  The provider shall have a written emergency 
preparedness, response, and recovery plan that: 
 (a)  includes procedures for evacuation, relocation, shelter 
in place, lockdown, communication with and reunification of 
families, and continuity of operations; 
 (b)  includes procedures for accommodations for children 
with disabilities, and children with chronic medical conditions; 
 (c)  is available for review by parents, staff, and the 
department during business hours; and 
 (d)  is followed if an emergency happens, unless otherwise 
instructed by emergency personnel.  
 (2)  The provider shall post the facility's street address and 
emergency numbers, including at least fire, police, and poison 
control, near each telephone in the facility or in an area clearly visible 
to anyone needing the information. 
 (3)  The provider shall keep first-aid supplies in the facility, 
including at least antiseptic, bandages, and tweezers. 
 (4)  The provider shall conduct fire evacuation drills at least 
quarterly and make sure drills include a complete exit of each child, 
staff, and volunteers from the building. 
 (5)  The provider shall conduct drills for disasters other 
than fires at least once every 6 months. 
 (6)  The provider shall give parents a written report of every 
incident, accident, or injury involving their child. 
 (7)  If a child is injured and the injury appears serious but 
not life-threatening, the provider shall contact the child's parent 
immediately. 
 (8)  If a life-threatening injury to a child, or an injury that 
poses a threat of the loss of vision, hearing, or a limb happens, the 
provider shall: 
 (a)  call emergency personnel immediately; 
 (b)  contact the parent after emergency personnel are called; 
and 
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 (c)  if the parent cannot be reached, try to contact the child's 
emergency contact individual. 
 (9)  If a child is injured while in care and receives medical 
attention, or for a child fatality, the provider shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed accident report form to the 
department within the next business day of the incident; or 
 (b)  contact the department within the next business day and 
submit a completed accident report form within five business days of 
the incident. 
 (10)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of each 
incident, accident, and injury report on-site for review by the 
department. 
 
R381-40-15.  Health and Infection Control. 
 (1)  The provider shall keep the building, furnishings, 
equipment, and outdoor area clean and sanitary including: 
 (a)  walls and flooring free of spills, dirt, and grime; 
 (b)  areas and equipment used for the storage, preparation, 
and service of food; 
 (c)  surfaces free of rotting food or a build-up of food; 
 (d)  the building and grounds free of a build-up of litter, 
trash, and garbage; 
 (e)  frequently touched surfaces, including doorknobs and 
light switches; and 
 (f)  the facility free of animal feces. 
 (2)  The provider shall take safe and effective measures to 
prevent and eliminate the presence of insects, rodents, and other 
pests. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that fabric toys and items 
such as stuffed animals, cloth dolls, pillow covers, and dress-up 
clothes are machine washable and washed weekly, and as needed. 
 (4)  The provider shall clean and sanitize any toys and 
materials used by children: 
 (a)  at least once a week or more often if needed; and 
 (b)  after being contaminated by a body fluid. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that water play tables or tubs 
are cleaned and sanitized daily, if used by the children. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that bathroom surfaces 
including toilets, sinks, faucets, and counters are cleaned and 
sanitized each day. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that toilet paper is accessible 
to children and kept in a dispenser. 
 (8)  The provider shall post handwashing procedures that 
are readily visible from each handwashing sink and shall ensure that 
the procedures are followed. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that staff and volunteers wash 
their hands thoroughly with liquid soap and running water at required 
times including: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  after using the toilet or helping a child use the toilet; 
 (c)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (d)  after cleaning up or taking out garbage; 
 (e)  after diapering a child; 
 (f)  before administering medications to children; 
 (d)  before and after eating meals and snacks or feeding a 
child; and 
 (e)  when coming in from outdoors. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers teach 
children how to wash their hands thoroughly and oversee 
handwashing when possible. 

 (11)  The provider shall ensure that children wash their 
hands thoroughly with liquid soap and running water at required 
times including: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  after using the toilet; 
 (c)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (d)  before using a water play table or tub; 
 (e)  before eating a snack; and 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that only single-use towels 
from a covered dispenser or an electric hand dryer is used to dry 
hands. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that personal hygiene items, 
such as toothbrushes, combs, and hair accessories, are not be shared 
and are stored so they do not touch each other, or they are sanitized 
between each use. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that a child's clothing is 
promptly changed if the child has a toileting accident. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that children's clothing that 
is wet or soiled from a body fluid is: 
 (a)  not rinsed or washed at the facility; 
 (b)  placed in a leakproof container that is labeled with the 
child's name; and 
 (c)  returned to the parent; or 
 (d)  thrown away with parental consent. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that staff take precautions 
when cleaning floors, furniture, and other surfaces contaminated by 
blood, urine, feces, or vomit. Except for toileting accidents, staff 
shall: 
 (a)  wear waterproof gloves; 
 (b)  clean the surface using a detergent solution; 
 (c)  rinse the surface with clean water; 
 (d)  sanitize the surface; 
 (e)  throw away in a leakproof plastic bag the disposable 
materials, such as paper towels, that were used to clean up the body 
fluid; 
 (f)  wash and sanitize any nondisposable materials used to 
clean up the body fluid, such as cleaning cloths, mops, or reusable 
rubber gloves, before reusing them; and 
 (g)  wash their hands after cleaning up the body fluid. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that a child who is ill with 
an infectious disease is not cared for at the facility except when the 
child shows signs of illness after arriving at the facility. 
 (18)  If a child becomes ill while in care: 
 (a)  the provider shall contact the child's parent or, if the 
parent cannot be reached, an individual listed as the emergency 
contact to immediately pick up the child; and 
 (b)  if the child is ill with an infectious disease, the provider 
shall make the child comfortable in a safe, supervised area that is 
separated from the other children until the parent arrives. 
 (19)  When any child or employee has an infectious disease, 
an unusual or serious illness, or a sudden onset of an illness, the 
provider shall notify the local health department on the day the illness 
is discovered. 
 (20)  If a staff member or child has an infectious disease or 
parasite, the provider shall post a notice at the facility that: 
 (a)  does not disclose any personal identifiable information; 
 (b)  is posted in a conspicuous place where it can be seen 
by parents; 
 (c)  is posted and dated on the same day that the disease or 
parasite is discovered; and 
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 (d)  remains posted for at least five days. 
 
R381-40-16.  Food and Nutrition. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that each child is offered a 
snack when services are provided for three or more hours. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the person who serves 
snacks to children: 
 (a)  is aware of the children in their assigned group who 
have food allergies or sensitivities, and 
 (b)  ensures that the children are not served the snack to 
which they are allergic or sensitive. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that food and drink brought 
in by parents for their child's use is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
 (b)  refrigerated if needed; and 
 (c)  consumed only by that child. 
 
R381-40-17.  Medications. 
 (1)  The provider shall lock nonrefrigerated medications or 
store them at least 48 inches above the floor. 
 (2)  The provider shall lock refrigerated medications or 
store them at least 36 inches above the floor and, if liquid, store them 
in a separate leakproof container. 
 (3)  If parents supply any over-the-counter or prescription 
medications, the provider shall ensure those medications are: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's full name; 
 (b)  kept in the original or pharmacy container; 
 (c)  have the original label; and 
 (d)  have child-safety caps. 
 (4)  The provider shall have a written medication 
permission form completed and signed by the parent before 
administering any medication supplied by the parent for their child. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the medication 
permission form includes at least: 
 (a)  the name of the child; 
 (b)  the name of the medication; 
 (c)  written instructions for administration; and 
 (d)  the parent signature and the date signed. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that instructions for 
administering the medication include at least: 
 (a)  the dosage; 
 (b)  how the medication will be given; 
 (c)  the times and dates to administer the medication; and 
 (d)  the disease or condition being treated. 
 (7)  If the provider supplies an over-the-counter medication 
for children's use, the provider shall ensure that the medication is not 
administered to any child without previous parental consent for each 
instance it is given. The provider shall ensure that the consent is: 
 (a)  written; or 
 (b)  verbal, if the date and time of the consent is 
documented and signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the staff administering 
the medication: 
 (a)  washes their hands; 
 (b)  check the medication label to confirm the child's name 
if the parent supplied the medication; 
 (c)  checks the medication label or the package to ensure 
that a child is not given a dosage larger than that recommended by 
the health care professional or manufacturer; and 
 (d)  administers the medication. 

 (9)  The provider shall ensure that immediately after 
administering a medication, the staff giving the medication records 
the following information: 
 (a)  the date, time, and dosage of the medication given; 
 (b)  any error in administering the medication or adverse 
reactions; and 
 (c)  their signature or initials. 
 (10)  The provider shall report to the parent a child's 
adverse reaction to a medication or error in administration the 
medication immediately upon recognizing the reaction or error, or 
after notifying emergency personnel if the reaction is life-threatening. 
 (11)  The provider shall notify the parent before the time a 
medication needs to be given to a child if the provider chooses not to 
administer medication as instructed by the parent. 
 (12)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of 
medication permission and administration forms on-site for review 
by the department. 
 
R381-40-18.  Activities. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer daily activities that support 
each child's healthy physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and 
language development.  
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that physical development 
activities include light, moderate, and vigorous physical activity for 
a daily total of at least 15 minutes for every 2 hours children spend 
in the program. 
 (3)  The provider shall post a daily schedule that includes 
activities that support children's healthy development. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that toys, materials, and 
equipment needed to support children's healthy development are 
available to the children. 
 (5)  Except for occasional special events, the provider shall 
ensure that the children's primary screen time activity on media such 
as television, cell phones, tablets, and computers is limited to 30 
minutes per day, or 2-1/2 hours per week. 
 (6)  If swimming activities are offered or if wading pools 
are used, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives permission before their child in care 
uses the pool; 
 (b)  caregivers stay at the pool supervising when a child is 
in the pool or has access to the pool, and when an accessible pool has 
water in it; 
 (c)  diapered children wear swim diapers when they are in 
the pool; 
 (d)  wading pools are emptied and sanitized after use by 
each group of children; 
 (e)  if the pool is over four feet deep, there is a lifeguard on 
duty who is certified by the Red Cross or other approved certification 
program any time children have access to the pool; and 
 (f)  lifeguards and pool personnel do not count toward the 
caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 (7)  If offsite activities are offered, the provider shall ensure 
that: 
 (a)  the parent gives written consent before each activity; 
 (b)  the required caregiver-to-child ratio and supervision 
are maintained during the entire activity; 
 (c)  first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers are available; 
 (d)  children wear or carry with them the name and phone 
number of the program; 
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 (e)  children's names are not used on nametags, t-shirts, or 
in other visible ways; and 
 (f)  there is a way for caregivers and children to wash their 
hands with soap and water, or with wet wipes and hand sanitizer if 
there is no source of running water. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers take the 
written emergency information and releases for each child in the 
group on any offsite activity, and that the information includes: 
 (a)  the child's name; 
 (b)  the parent's name and phone number; 
 (c)  the name and phone number of a person to notify in 
case of an emergency if the parent cannot be contacted; 
 (d)  the names of people authorized by the parents to pick 
up the child; and 
 (e)  current emergency medical treatment and emergency 
medical transportation releases. 
 
R381-40-19.  Play Equipment. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children using play 
equipment use it safely and in the manner intended by the 
manufacturer. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that stationary play 
equipment has a surrounding use zone that extends from the 
outermost edge of the equipment, and with the exception of swings, 
that stationary play equipment has at least a six-foot use zone if any 
designated play surface is higher than 20 inches. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone in the front 
and rear of a single-axis, enclosed swing extends at least twice the 
distance of the swing pivot point to the swing seat. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone in the front 
and rear of a single-axis swing extends at least twice the distance of 
the swing pivot point to the ground. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a multi-
axis swing, such as a tire swing, extends at least the measurement of 
the suspending rope or chain plus six feet. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a merry-
go-round extends at least six feet in all directions from its outermost 
edge. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a spring 
rocker extends at least six feet from the outermost edge of the rocker 
when at rest if the seat is higher than 20 inches. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the following use zones 
do not overlap the use zone of any other piece of play equipment: 
 (a)  the use zone in front of a slide; 
 (b)  the use zone in the front and rear of any single-axis 
swing, including a single-axis enclosed swing; 
 (c)  the use zone of a multi-axis swing; and 
 (d)  the use zone of a merry-go-round if the platform 
diameter measures 20 inches or more. 
 (9)  Unless prohibited under Subsection R381-40-19(8), the 
provider shall ensure that the use zones of play equipment only 
overlap when there is at least six feet between the pieces of 
equipment if the designated play surface is 30 inches or lower, or 
there is at least nine feet between the pieces of equipment if the 
designated play surface is higher than 30 inches. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that, when in use, stationary 
play equipment is not placed on a hard surface such as concrete, 
asphalt, dirt, or the bare floor. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that protective cushioning 
covers the entire surface of each required use zone and its depth or 
thickness is determined by the highest designated play surface of the 
equipment. 

 (12)  If sand, gravel, or shredded tires are used as protective 
cushioning, the provider shall ensure that the depth of the material 
meets the guidelines in Table 5, and: 
 (a)  that the cushioning is periodically checked for 
compaction and loosened to the depth listed in Table 5 if compacted; 
and 
 (b)  if the material cannot be loosened due to extreme 
weather conditions, not allow children to play on the equipment until 
the material can be loosened to the required depth. 
 

TABLE 5 
 

Depths of Protective Cushioning Required 
for Sand, Gravel, and Shredded Tires 

 
Highest Designated 
Play Surface, 
Climbing Bar, or 
Swing Pivot Point  Fine    Coarse  Fine     Medium    Shredded 
                   Sand    Sand    Gravel   Gravel    Tires 
 
Up to 5' high      6"        6"       6"       6"         6" 
Over 5' up to 6'   6"        9"       6"       9"         6" 
Over 6' up to 9'   9"        not      9"       not        6" 
                             allowed           allowed 
Over 9' up to 10'  not       not      9"       not        6" 
                   allowed   allowed           allowed 
Over 10' up to 12' not       not      not      not        6" 
                   allowed   allowed  allowed  allowed 

 

 (13)  If shredded wood products are used as protective 
cushioning, the provider shall: 
 (a)  keep on-site for review by the department 
documentation from the manufacturer that the wood product is 
protective cushioning; 
 (b)  ensure there is adequate drainage under the material; 
and 
 (c)  ensure the depth of the shredded wood meets the 
guidelines in Table 6. 
 

TABLE 6 
 

Depths of Protective Cushioning Required 
for Shredded Wood Products 

 
Highest Designated 
Play Surface, 
Climbing Bar, or 
Swing Pivot Point    Engineered    Wood      Double Shredded 
                     Wood Fibers   Chips     Bark Mulch 
 
Up to 6'  high           6"          6"          6" 
Over 6' up to 7'         9"          6"          9" 
Over 7' up to 11'        9"          9"          9" 
Over 11'                 9"          not         not 
                                     allowed     allowed 

 

 (14)  If a unitary cushioning is used, the provider shall 
maintain on-site for review by the department documentation from 
the manufacturer that the material is cushioning for playgrounds. 
 (15)  If a unitary cushioning is used, the provider shall 
ensure that the cushioning material is securely installed, so that it 
cannot become displaced when children jump, run, walk, land, or 
move on it, or be moved by children picking it up. 
 (16)  the provider shall ensure that a play equipment 
platform that is more than 30 inches above the floor or ground has a 
protective barrier that is at least 29 inches high. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that there is no gap greater 
than 3-1/2 inches in or under a required protective barrier on a play 
equipment platform. 
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 (18)  The provider shall ensure that stationary play 
equipment is stable or securely anchored. 
 (19)  The provider shall ensure that there are no trampolines 
on the premises that are accessible to any child in care. 
 (20)  The provider shall ensure that there are no entrapment 
hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 (21)  The provider shall ensure that there are no 
strangulation hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of 
stationary play equipment. 
 (22)  The provider shall ensure that there are no crush, 
shearing, or sharp edge hazards on or within the use zone of any piece 
of stationary play equipment. 
 (23)  The provider shall ensure that there are no tripping 
hazards such as concrete footings, tree stumps, tree roots, or rocks 
within the use zone of any piece of stationary play equipment. 
 (24)  For preschool programs operating before January 1, 
2021 that need to make compliance modifications to existing play 
equipment, the department may facilitate a phase-in schedule for up 
to five years from the initial inspection. 
 
R381-40-20.  Transportation. 
 If transportation services are offered: 
 (1)  For each child being transported, the provider shall 
have a transportation permission form: 
 (a)  signed by the parent; and 
 (b)  on-site for review by the department. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each vehicle used for 
transporting children: 
 (a)  is enclosed with a roof or top; 
 (b)  is equipped with safety restraints; 
 (c)  has a current vehicle registration; 
 (d)  is maintained in a safe and clean condition; and 
 (e)  contains first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the safety restraints in 
each vehicle that transports children are: 
 (a)  appropriate for the age and size of each child who is 
transported, as required by Utah law; 
 (b)  properly installed; and 
 (c)  in safe condition and working order. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that the driver of each vehicle 
who is transporting children: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  has and carries with them a current, valid driver's 
license for the type of vehicle being driven; 
 (c)  has with them the written emergency contact 
information for each child being transported; 
 (d)  ensures that each child being transported is in an 
individual safety restraint that is used according to Utah law; 
 (e)  ensures that the inside vehicle temperature is between 
60-85 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (f)  never leaves a child in the vehicle unattended by an 
adult; 
 (g)  ensures that children stay seated while the vehicle is 
moving; 
 (h)  never leaves the keys in the ignition when not in the 
driver's seat; and 
 (i)  ensures that the vehicle is locked during transport. 
 (5)  If the provider walks or uses public transportation to 
transport children to or from the facility, the provider shall ensure 
that: 

 (a)  each child being transported has a completed 
transportation permission form signed by their parent; 
 (b)  a caregiver goes with the children and actively 
supervises the children; 
 (c)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is maintained; and 
 (d)  a caregiver with the children has written emergency 
contact information and releases for the children being transported. 
 
R381-40-21.  Animals. 
 (1)  The provider shall inform parents of the kinds of 
animals allowed at the facility. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal on the 
premises that: 
 (a)  is naturally aggressive; 
 (b)  has a history of dangerous, attacking, or aggressive 
behavior; or 
 (c)  has a history of biting even one individual. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that animals at the facility are 
clean and free of obvious disease or health problems that could 
adversely affect children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal or 
animal equipment in food preparation or eating areas. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that children do not assist 
with the cleaning of animals or animal cages, pens, or equipment. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that children and staff wash 
their hands immediately after playing with or touching reptiles and 
amphibians. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that dogs, cats, and ferrets 
that are housed at the facility have current rabies vaccinations. 
 (8)  The provider shall keep current animal vaccination 
records on-site for review by the department. 
 
R381-40-22.  Diapering. 
 If the provider accepts children who wear diapers: 
 (1)  The provider shall post diapering procedures at each 
diapering station and ensure that they are followed. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each child's diaper is: 
 (a)  checked at least once every two hours; and 
 (b)  promptly changed when wet or soiled. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers change 
children's diapers at a diapering station and not changed on surfaces 
used for any other purpose. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that the diapering surface is 
smooth, waterproof, and in good repair. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers do not leave 
children unattended on the diapering surface. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers clean and 
sanitize the diapering surface after each diaper change, or use a 
disposable, waterproof diapering surface that is thrown away after 
each diaper change. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers wash their 
hands after each diaper change. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers place wet and 
soiled disposable diapers: 
 (a)  in a container that has a disposable plastic lining and a 
tight-fitting lid; 
 (b)  directly in an outdoor garbage container that has a tight-
fitting lid; or 
 (c)  in a container that is inaccessible to children. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that indoor containers where 
wet and soiled diapers are placed are cleaned and sanitized each day. 
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KEY:  child care facilities, child care, commercial preschool 
programs 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-39-
203(1)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R398-15 Filing No. 
53264 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Children with Special Health Care 
Needs 

Room no.: 334 
Building: Utah Department of Health- Highland 

Building 
Street address: 3760 S Highland Drive 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84106-4260 
Mailing address: PO Box 146610 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6610 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Joyce McStotts 801-

273-
2956 

jmcstotts@utah.gov 

Colin Kingsbury 385-
310-
5238 

ckingsbury@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R398-15.  Adult Autism Treatment Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to identify criteria and 
procedures for selecting adults who may qualify for 
assistance from the account and identify qualifications, 
criteria, and procedures for selecting service and 
treatment providers that receive disbursements from the 
Adult Autism Treatment Account. 
 
The Department, in collaboration with the advisory 
committee, shall make rules in accordance with Title 63G, 
Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, to:  
specify assessment tools and outcomes that a qualified 
provider may use to determine the types of supports that 
a qualified individual needs; define evidence-based 
treatments that a qualified individual may pay for with grant 

funding; establish criteria for awarding a grant under this 
chapter; specify the information that an individual shall 
submit to demonstrate that the individual is a qualified 
individual; specify the information a provider shall submit 
to demonstrate that the provider is a qualified provider; and 
specify the content and timing of reports required from a 
qualified provider, including a report on actual and 
projected treatment outcomes for a qualified individual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule will identify criteria and procedures for selecting 
adults who may qualify for assistance from the Adult 
Autism Treatment Account and identify qualifications, 
criteria, and procedures for selecting service and 
treatment providers that receive disbursements from the 
Adult Autism Treatment Account. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The proposed rule results in an estimated fiscal cost for 
the staff time to complete the following duties:  plan, 
promote, and facilitate quarterly AATA Advisory Committee 
Meetings, take and distribute meeting minutes, follow up 
with grant recipients to ensure funds are used 
appropriately, and the development of a yearly report for 
the state Legislature. 
 
Currently, staff time and benefits are being absorbed within 
the normal state budget, upon receipt of funding it is 
estimated that 10% of funding will be used to cover these 
costs. 
 
B) Local governments: 

These proposed new rule requirements are not expected 
to have any fiscal impact on local governments' revenues 
or expenditures.  This rule does not regulate local 
governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
These proposed new rule requirements are not expected 
to have any fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures.  This rule does not regulate small 
businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These proposed new rule requirements are not expected 
to have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses 
revenues or expenditures.  This rule does not regulate 
non-small businesses. 
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E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These proposed new rule requirements are not expected 
to have any fiscal impact on persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state or local 
government entities revenues or expenditures.  This rule 
does not regulate these groups. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no anticipated costs and no additional resources 
needed to comply with this rule. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Richard G. Saunders, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this new rule will not result in fiscal impact to 
businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Richard G. Saunders, Interim Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Title 26, 
Chapter 67 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Joseph Miner, 
MD, Deputy  
Director 

Date: 11/30/2020 
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R398.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Children with 
Special Health Care Needs. 
R398-15.  Adult Autism Treatment Program. 
R398-15-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Authority for this rule is in Title 26, Chapter 67, Adult 
Autism Treatment Program. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to implement Title 26, Chapter 
67, Adult Autism Treatment Program. 
 
R398-15-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Advisory committee" is defined in Subsection 26-67-
102(2). 
 (2)  "Qualified individual" is defined in Subsection 26-67-
102(6). 
 (3)  "Qualified provider" is defined in Subsection 26-67-
102(7). 
 
R398-15-3.  Approved Assessment Tools. 
 (1)  The following assessment tools shall be used by a 
qualified provider to determine the types of supports that a qualified 
individual needs: 
 (a)  a peer-reviewed, standardized adaptive assessment tool, 
such as the Adaptive Behavior Assessment System - Third Edition, the 
Vineland Adaptive Behavior Scales - Third Edition, within a reasonable 
amount of time as determined by the provider; 
 (b)  a peer-reviewed, standardized behavior assessment tool, 
such as the Conners Parent and Teacher Rating Scales, Vanderbilt 
Assessment Scales, Behavior Assessment System for Children, 
Achenbach Child Behavior Checklist, within a reasonable amount of 
time as determined by the provider; 
 (c)  a peer-reviewed, standardized communication ability 
assessment, such as the Clinical Evaluation of Language Fundamentals 
- Fifth Edition, within a reasonable amount of time as determined by the 
provider; and 
 (d)  a peer-reviewed, standardized cognitive ability 
assessment, such as the Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scales - Fifth 
Edition, the Comprehensive Test of Nonverbal Intelligence - Second 
Edition, Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children - Fourth Edition, 
within a reasonable amount of time as determined by the provider. 
 
R398-15-4.  Approved Evidence-Based Treatments. 
 (1)  The following evidence-based treatments a qualified 
individual may pay for with grant funding include: evidence-based 
treatments found on the National Autism Center's Evidence-Based 
Guidelines, such as Applied Behavior Analysis, Pivotal Response 
Training or Naturalistic Teaching Strategies, to provide treatment in the 
following areas: 
 (a)  academic instruction; 
 (b)  culinary, agriculture, and fitness education; 
 (c)  vocational and daily living skills; and 
 (d)  social and leisure skills. 
 
R398-15-5.  Criteria for Awarding a Grant. 
 (1)  Providers shall submit a funding request to the advisory 
committee on a standard request for application form which will be 
developed and authorized by the advisory committee and made 
available by the department. 
 (2)  An individual may apply for a grant from the program by 
submitting an application to a qualified provider.  
 (3)  The department shall transmit a grant awarded on behalf 
of an applicant to a qualified provider designated by the applicant. 

 (4)  The advisory committee shall consider the availability of 
funds in the Adult Autism Treatment Account before awarding a grant. 
 (5)  The department shall create a file for the qualified 
individual that shall include: 
 (a)  the application; 
 (b)  related medical and service documentation; 
 (c)  correspondence from the qualified provider, qualified 
individual, and the department; 
 (d)  report on the evaluation of benefits and outcomes for 
individuals receiving services from the qualified provider; 
 (e)  the approved grant and supporting documentation; and 
 (f)  the file and documentation will be stored securely for 10 
years after the completion of the grant and then be destroyed. 
 (6)  The advisory committee may review and determine if the 
qualified provider is ineligible to receive funds when: 
 (a)  the qualified provider's approved services are found to be 
inactive for two years; 
 (b)  the qualified provider is no longer providing evidence-
based treatments; 
 (c)  the department has made three documented attempts to 
contact the responsible party or recipient to discuss inactivity without 
response; 
 (d)  there is a violation of the terms of the executed grant; or 
 (e)  the qualified individual is no longer a Utah resident. 
 
R398-15-6.  Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  Funded providers shall submit a report as requested by 
the advisory committee on use of funds as outlined in the request for 
application, which may include: 
 (a)  a detailed description of how the qualified provider will 
report the evaluation of benefits and outcomes for qualified 
individuals receiving services; 
 (b)  types of therapies used; 
 (c)  amount of time qualified individuals received services; 
 (d)  goals for the qualified individuals receiving services; 
 (e)  outcomes for the qualified individuals receiving 
services; and 
 (f)  budget and justification for services provided using 
funding from the Adult Autism Treatment Account. 
 
KEY:  autism treatment, applied behavior analysis, autism, 
spectrum disorders 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 26-67-101; 
26-67-102; 26-67-201; 26-67-202; 26-67-203; 26-67-204; 26-67-
205 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-2 Filing No. 
53225 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
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City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R523-2.  Local Mental Health Authorities and Local 
Substance Abuse Authorities 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Rule R523-2 is a large omnibus rule that has many 
requirements in need of an update to reflect current 
practice.  Also, there are many technical changes needed 
to make the rule more compliant with the standardization 
attempts by the Governor's Office. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment: 
1)  updates citations to statute, 
 
2)  makes technical changes to grammar and syntax, 
 
3)  removes outdated guidance such as requirements for 
DORA funds, which have been discontinued by the 
legislature, 
 
4)  adds the Utah State Hospital as a member of the 
Continuity of Care Committee to reflect current practice, 
 
5)  changes the Continuity of Care Committee meetings 
from monthly to regularly according to need, 
 
6)  requires the Local Mental Health Authority liaisons, to 
participate in the Continuity of Care Committee Meetings 
in person when possible if they have a patient being 
reviewed, 
 
7)  allows liaisons to attend the Continuity of Care 
Committee meetings via telehealth under exceptional 
circumstances, but liaisons must notify the Division and 
the Utah State Hospital in advance of the meeting, 
 
8)  changes reporting requirements from the Readiness, 
Evaluation and Discharge Implementation program to be 
made on Division designated electronic discharge 
programs consistently, 
 
9)  requires Local Mental Health Authorities to have at least 
two designated individuals with access to the designated 

electronic program 
 
10)  changes requirement for discharge to clinically ready, 
and 
 
11)  allows a process for the Local Mental Health 
Authorities to dispute the Utah State Hospital's 
determination of a patient being clinically ready for 
discharge. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Division 
(Division) does not anticipate any costs or savings to state 
budgets as a result of this rule.  The administrative 
requirements modified in this rule are already being 
performed by the Department of Human Services. 
 
B) Local governments: 

The Division does not anticipate any budget costs or 
savings for local governments as a result of this rule.  The 
administrative requirements modified in this rule are 
already being performed by local governments, and the 
changes merely reflect current practices. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The Division does not anticipate any cost or savings to 
small businesses as a result of this rule.  There are no 
regulations in this rule that have an effect on entities 
outside of local governments. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Division does not anticipate any costs or savings to 
non-small businesses as a result of this rule.  There are no 
regulations in this rule that have an effect on entities 
outside of local governments. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Division does not anticipate any cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities as a result 
of this rule.  There are no regulations in this rule that have 
an effect on entities outside of local governments. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The Division does not anticipate any costs or savings to 
affected persons as a result of this rule amendment.  
Programming and services regulated by this rule are core 
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ongoing services that have been provided to the public by 
the state and local governments for many years, and 
changes to Medicaid funds would account for any changes 
of cost to the public. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Human 
Services, Ann Williamson, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The Department does not anticipate any fiscal impact on 
businesses as a result of compliance requirements in this 
rule, which only affects the publicly-funded, county-based 
Local Authority Mental Health system. 
 

B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Ann Williamson, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 
62A-15-105 

Subsection 
62A-15-902(2)(c) 

Subsection 
62A-15-103(2)(a) 

Subsection 
62A-15-103(2)(b) 
(ii) 

Subsection 
62A-15-103(2)(g) 

Subsection 
62A-15-108(1) 

Subsection 
62A-15-108(2) 

Subsection 
62A-15-610(2)(a) 

Subsection 
62A-15-611(2)(a) 

Subsection 
17-43-301(6)(a)(x) 

Section 
76-10-523.5 

Section 
76-8-311.1 

Section 
76-8-311.3 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 11/23/2020 

 
R523.  Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health. 
R523-2.  Local Mental Health Authorities and Local Substance 
Abuse Authorities. 
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R523-2-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated under authority granted to the 
Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (Division) by 
[Subsections]Section 62A-15-105, and Subsections 62A-15-108(1), 
62A-15-611(2)(a),[ 62A-15-612(2)] 62A-15-610(2)(a) and 62A-15-
902(2)(c). 
 
R523-2-2.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide guidance on: 
 (a)  [Guidance on ]the priorities for treatment services; 
 (b)  [Guidance on ]the rights of individuals participating in 
services[.]; 
 (c)  [A ]process for Local Mental Health Authorities 
(LMHAs) and Local Substance Abuse Authorities (LSAAs) to set 
policies on fees for service[.]; 
 (d)  [Guidance on ]LMHA[/] and LSAA program 
standards[.]; 
 (e)  [Guidance on ]the formula for allocation of funding. 
 (f)  [Guidance on ]allocation of Utah State Hospital (Hospital) 
beds to LMHAs[.]; 
 (g)  [Guidance on ]admission to the Hospital and coordination 
of care[.]; 
 (h)  [Guidance on ]determining the proper LMHA under 
special situations[.]; 
 (i)  [Guidance on ]transfer planning between LMHAs from 
the Hospital[.]; 
 (j)  [Guidance on ]conflict resolution[.]; and 
 (k)  [Guidance on ]prohibited items and devices on the 
grounds of public mental health facilities[.]; 
 
R523-2-3.  Priorities for Treatment Services. 
 (1)  [Programs providing substance use disorder and mental 
health treatment services with public funds (federal, state, and local 
match) shall comply with the priorities listed below.  ]The Division shall 
regularly seek, and receive input from the Utah Behavioral Health 
Planning and Advisory Council on priorities for services.[ 
 (2)]  Programs providing substance use and [M]mental 
[H]health services [provided ]with [public funds (]federal, state, and 
local matching funds[)] shall provide: 
 (a)  services based on immediacy of need, and severity of the 
mental illness, and[.  P]priority may also be given to under-served age 
groups as appropriately demonstrated through needs studies[.]; 
 [(a)  E](b)  effective and responsive crisis intervention, suicide 
prevention, assessment, direct care, and referral program available to all 
citizens[.]; 
 [(b)  Provision of](c)  the least restrictive and most appropriate 
treatment and settings for: 
 (i)  [C]children, youth, and adults with severe mental illness; 
 (ii)  [C]children, youth, and adults with acute mental illness; 
and 
 (iii)  [C]children, youth and adults who are receiving services 
from other divisions within the Department of Human Services[.]; 
 [(c)  Provisions of](d)  services to children with emotional 
disabilities, youth and aged citizens who are neither acutely nor severely 
mentally ill, but whose adjustment is critical for their future as well as 
for society in general[.]; 
 [(d)  Provision of](e)  services to emotionally disabled adults 
who are neither acutely nor severely mentally ill, but whose adjustment 
is critical to their personal quality of life as well as for society in 
general[.]; and 
 [(e)  Provision of](f)  consultation, education and preventive 
mental health services targeted at high risk groups in particular. 

 [(3)](2)  Programs providing [S]substance use disorder 
treatment services [provided ]with [public funds (]federal, state, and 
local matching funds[)] shall provide priority admission to the following 
populations [(]in the following order of priority[)]: 
 (a)  [P]pregnant females who use drugs by injection; 
 (b)  [P]pregnant females who use substances; 
 (c)  [O]other persons who use drugs by injection; 
 (d)  [S]substance using females with dependent children and 
their families, including women who are attempting to regain custody 
of their children; and 
 (e)  [All]any other client[s] with a substance use disorder, 
regardless of gender or route of use. 
 
R523-2-4.  Rights of Individuals Participating in Services. 
 (1)  [All]Any service provider[s] contracted with the Division 
and [County Local Authority programs]the LMHAs and LSAAs shall 
disclose the following information in writing to [all]each individual[s] 
participating in treatment services: 
 (a)  [R]their rights and responsibilities to participate in the 
development of the treatment or other type of service plan[.]; 
 (b)  [R]their right to be involved in selection of their primary 
therapist[.]; 
 (c)  [R]their right to access their individual treatment 
records[.]; 
 (d)  [R]their right to informed consent regarding 
medications[.]; 
 (e)  [R]their rights regarding medication-assisted treatment[.]; 
 (f)  [D]disclosure of all program fees and personal financial 
responsibility[.]; 
 (g)  [I]information on grievance procedures that include[s] 
[all]any necessary information to file a formal grievance[.]; and 
 (h)  [S]the service provider's commitment to treat individuals 
with substance use disorders and mental health consumers with dignity 
and individuality in a positive, supportive and empowering manner. 
 (2)  This information shall be shared with the individual 
participating in treatment services at the time of intake, and a signed 
copy made part of [their]that individual's file.  The Division shall 
periodically review this process to assure appropriate content is present 
within the rights statement, and that proper application of the intent of 
this policy is being carried out by the provider. 
 (3)  If an individual is impaired or temporarily incapable of 
understanding the initial information, it shall be shared again when the 
individual is able to understand the information and give informed 
consent, and [.  This ]shall [also be made part of their]documented in the 
individual's file. 
 
R523-2-5.  LMHA[/] and LSAA Fee Policy. 
 (1)  Each LMHA[/], and LSAA shall require [all]any 
program[s] that receives federal, [and ]state and matching funds from 
the Division and provides services to clients to establish a policy to set 
and collect fees. 
[ (a)]  Each fee policy shall include: 
 [(i)  A](a)  a fee reduction plan based on the client's ability to 
pay for services; and 
 [(ii)  A](b)  a provision that clients who have received an 
assessment and require mental health or substance use disorder services 
shall not be denied services based on the lack of ability to pay. 
 [(b)](2)  Any adjustments to the assessed fee shall follow the 
procedures approved by the LMHA[/] or the LSAA. 
 [(2)](3)  The governing body of each LMHA[/] and LSAA 
shall approve the fee policy, and shall set a usual and customary rate for 
services rendered. 
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 [(3)](4)  [All]Each LMHA[/] and LSAA program[s] shall 
provide a written explanation of the fee policy to [all ]clients at the time 
of intake except in the case of emergency services. 
 [(4)](5)  [All clients]Each client shall be assessed fees based 
on: 
 (a)  [T]the usual and customary rate established by the 
LMHA[/] or LSAA, or 
 (b)  [A]a negotiated contracted cost of services rendered to 
clients. 
 [(5)](6)  Fees assessed to clients shall not exceed the average 
cost of delivering the service. 
 [(6)  All](7)  Any fee[s] assessed to clients, including upfront 
administrative fees, shall be reasonable as determined by the LMHA[/] 
or LSAA. 
 [(7)  All programs](8)  Each LMHA and LSAA shall make 
reasonable effort to collect outstanding fee charges and may use an 
outside collection agency. 
 [(8)  All programs](9)  Each LMHA and LSAA may reduce 
the assessed fee for services if the fee is determined to be a financial 
hardship for the client. 
 [(9)](10)  The Division shall annually review each 
[program's]LMHA's and LSAA's policy and fee schedule to ensure that 
the elements set in this rule are incorporated. 
 
R523-2-6.  LMHA[/] and LSAA Minimum Program Standards. 
[ (1)  The Division establishes minimum standards for 
LMHA/LSAA programs.] 
 [(a)](1)  Each LMHA[/] and LSAA program shall have the 
appropriate current license issued by the Office of Licensing, 
Department of Human Services, and any other required licenses. 
 [(b)](2)  Each LMHA[/] and LSAA shall have a 
comprehensive plan of service which shall be reviewed and updated at 
least annually to reflect changing needs.  The plan shall: 
 [(i)](a)  [Be]be consistent with the Division [D]directives[ for 
the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health]; 
 [(ii)](b)  [Designate]designate the projected use of state and 
federal contracted dollars and the 20% county match dollars; and 
 [(iii)](c)  [Define]define the LMHA's[/] or LSAA's priorities 
for service and the population to be served. 
 [(c)](3)  Each LMHA shall provide or arrange for the 
provision of services within the following continuum of care: 
 [(i)](a)  [Inpatient]inpatient care and services[ 
(hospitalization)]; 
 [(ii)](b)  [Residential]residential care and services; 
 [(iii)](c)  [Day]day treatment and psycho-social 
rehabilitation; 
 [(iv)](d)  [Outpatient]outpatient care and services; 
 [(v)](e)  [Twenty-four]twenty-four hour crisis care and 
services; 
 [(vi)](f)  [Psychotropic]psychotropic medication 
management; 
 [(vii)](g)  [Case]case management services; 
 [(viii)](h)  [Community]community supports including in-
home services, housing, family support services and respite services; 
 [(ix)](i)  [Consultation]consultation, education and 
preventative services, including case consultation, collaboration with 
other county service agencies, public education and public information; 
and 
 [(x)](j)  [Services]services to persons incarcerated in a county 
jail or other county correctional facility. 
 [(d)](4)  Each LSAA shall provide or arrange for the provision 
of services within the following continuum of care: 

 [(i)](a)  [Universal]universal prevention; 
 [(ii)](b)  [Selective]selective prevention; 
 [(iii)](c)  [Indicated]indicated prevention including the 
educational series approved by the Division in Rule R523-11 for 
individuals convicted of driving under the influence[;],[ and] 
 [(iv)](d)  [Treatment]treatment services prescribed by 
Division contract and Directives; and 
 [(v)](e)  [Recovery]recovery [S]support [S]services. 
 [(e)](5)  Each LMHA[/] and LSAA shall participate in a 
yearly on-site evaluation conducted by the Division. 
 [(f)](6)  [The]Each LMHA[/] and LSAA shall be responsible 
for monitoring and evaluating all subcontracts to ensure: 
 [(i)](a)  [Services]services delivered to consumers 
commensurate with funds provided; and 
 [(ii)](b)  [Progress]progress is made toward accomplishing 
contract goals and objectives. 
 [(g)](7)  [The]Each LMHA[/] and LSAA shall conduct a 
minimum of one site visit per year with each subcontractor.  There shall 
be a written report to document the review activities and findings, a copy 
of which will be made available to the Division. 
 
R523-2-7.  Formula for the Annual Allocation of Funding. 
[ (1)  The Division establishes by rule, a formula for the annual 
allocation of funds to LSAAs and a formula for the annual allocation of 
funds to the LMHAs.] 
 [(a)](1)  The formulas for the annual allocation of funds to 
LMHAs and LSAAs do not apply to funds used by the Division for 
administration, statewide services consistent with the requirements of 
[Section 62A-15-201 et seq.]Subsection 62A-15-108(2) for 
discretionary grants awarded to the Division, funds appropriated for 
[drug court]Drug Court, [the Drug Offender Reform Act and the 
]Medicaid [M]matching funds, and any other funds where Utah code 
establishes the funding process. 
 [(b)](2)  Funds used by the Division for administration shall 
not exceed 5% of the total annual legislative appropriation to the 
Division excluding the appropriation for the [Utah State ]Hospital. 
 [(c)](3)  The funding formulas shall be applied annually to 
state and federal block grant funds appropriated by the legislature to the 
Division, and are intended for the annual equitable distribution of these 
funds to the state's LMHAs and LSAAs. 
 [(d)](4)  Excluding discretionary grants,[ DORA,] Drug 
Court, and other programs for which Utah [C]code establishes the 
funding process, funds used by the Division for statewide substance use 
disorder services consistent with requirements of [Section 62A-15-201 
et seq.]Subsection 62A-15-108(2) shall not exceed 15% of the total 
annual substance abuse legislative appropriation to the Division. 
 [(e)](5)  Population data used in the formulas shall be updated 
annually using the most current data available from the Utah 
Department of Health's website, Public Health Indicator Based 
Information System (IBIS). 
 [(f)](6)  New funding and[/or] decreases in funding shall be 
processed, and distributed through the funding formulas. 
 [(g)](7)  Each LMHA[/] and LSAA shall provide funding 
equal to at least 20% of the state general fund appropriation that it 
receives to fund services described in that LMHA's[/] or LSAA's annual 
plan, and:[.] 
 [(i)](a)  [T]the Division determines that the funds required by 
Subsection [17-43-301(4)(a)(x)]17-43-301(6)(a)(x), [(]normally called 
the 20% match requirement,[)] shall be paid from tax revenues assessed 
by the county legislative body, and collected by the County Clerk[.]; 
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 [(ii)](b)  [I]if a LMHA[/] or LSAA is unable to provide the 
required matching funds, the LMHA[/] or LSAA shall be allocated the 
amount the LMHA[/] or LSAA can match[.]; 
 [(iii)](c)  [E]excess funds may be allocated on a one-time 
basis to LMHAs[/] and LSAAs with the ability to provide matching 
funds[.]; and 
 [(iv)](d)  [I]if no LMHA[/] or LSAA can provide the required 
match, the Division may use the funds to purchase statewide services. 
[ (h)  Changes in funding related to the adoption of new 
formulas in 2014 shall be phased in over a five year period beginning in 
State Fiscal year 2015.] 
 [(2)](8)  Funding for mental health shall be allocated as 
follows: 
 (a)  [T]the Division shall allocate 5% of mental health funds 
to the 24 smallest counties ranked by population as a rural differential[.]; 
and 
 (b)  The rural differential shall be allocated using the 
following methodology: 
 (i)  35% divided in equal amounts to the six smallest 
counties[.]; 
 (ii)  30% divided in equal amounts to the seventh through 
twelfth smallest counties[.]; 
 (iii) 20% divided in equal amounts to the thirteenth through 
the eighteenth smallest counties[.]; and 
 (iv)  15% divided in equal amounts to the nineteenth through 
the twenty-fourth smallest counties[.]; 
 [(b)](c)  [T]the Division shall allocate all remaining mental 
health funds to the LMHAs on a per capita basis, [according to ]using 
the most current population data available [from]on the Utah 
Department of Health's IBIS website[.]; and 
 [(c)](d)  [T]the funding formula may utilize a determination 
of need other than population if the Division establishes by valid and 
acceptable data, that other defined factors are relevant and reliable 
indicators of need. 
 [(3)](9)  The funding formula for substance use disorder 
services shall be applied annually to state and federal funds appropriated 
by the legislature to the Division, and is intended for the annual equitable 
distribution of these funds to the state's LSAAs. 
[ (a)  The Division shall allocate a total of $2,390,643 in funds 
used for prior cost of living increases and funds previously contracted 
with statewide residential providers to the LMHAs/LSAAs in an 
amount equal to the 2014 allocation.] 
 [(b)](10)  The Division shall allocate 5% of the remaining 
funds to the 24 smallest counties ranked by population.  The rural 
differential shall be allocated using the following methodology: 
 [(i)](a)  35% divided in equal amounts to the six smallest 
counties[.]; 
 [(ii)](b)  30% divided in equal amounts to the seventh through 
twelfth smallest counties[.]; 
 [(iii)](c)  20% divided in equal amounts to the thirteenth 
through the eighteenth smallest counties[.]; 
 [(iv)](d)  15% divided in equal amounts to the nineteenth 
through the twenty-fourth smallest counties[.]; 
 [(c)](e)  [Sixty percent]60% of the remaining funds shall be 
allocated to each county based on the incidence and prevalence of 
substance use disorders based on the following[;]: 
 (i)  [The]the percent of adults estimated to be binge drinkers 
as reported by the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System 
(BRFSS)[.]; 
 (ii)  [The]the percent of adults estimated to be chronic 
drinkers as reported by BRFSS[.]; 

 (iii)  [The]the percent of youth reporting alcohol use within 
the past 30 days by the most current Student Health and Risk Protection 
Survey (SHARP)[.]; 
 (iv)  [The]the percent of youth estimated to be binge drinkers 
by the most current SHARP[.];and 
 (v)  [The]the percent of youth needing drug treatment as 
reported by the most current SHARP[.] and 
 [(d)](f)  [Forty percent]40% of the remaining funds shall be 
allocated to LSAAs on a per capita basis, according to the most current 
population data available from the IBIS. 
 
R523-2-8.  Formula for Allocation of Medicaid Match Funds. 
[ (1)  Medicaid match funds appropriated to the Division shall 
be allocated to the LMHAs/LSAAs using the methodology described 
below:] 
 [(a)](1)  The Division shall obtain the following data from the 
Utah Department of Health: 
 [(i)](a)  [The]the number of eligible Medicaid recipients in 
each county, for each month of the previous state fiscal year hereinafter 
called Medicaid Member Months; and[;] 
 [(ii)](b)  [The]the actuarially established rates for each 
county[.]; 
 [(b)](2)  The Division shall calculate [C]county [N]need for 
Medicaid match funds by multiplying each [C]county's [T]total 
Medicaid Member Months by their corresponding actuarial rates for the 
most current 12 month period. 
 [(c)](3)  The Division shall sum all [C]county [N]need to 
determine the [S]state Medicaid [M]match [N]need. 
 [(d)](4)  The percent of total Medicaid match funds for each 
local authority shall be determined by dividing the sum of [C]county 
[N]need by the [S]state Medicaid [M]match [N]need. 
 [(e)](5)  [Local authorities]LMHAs and LSAAs that do not 
participate in the Medicaid prospective payment-capitation plan shall 
receive the amount of funds they would have received if the funds had 
been distributed using state population. 
 [(f)](6)  Each LMHA and LSAA shall provide funding from 
tax revenues assessed by the County legislative body equal to at least 
20% of the Medicaid match funds[.], and: 
 [(i)](a)  [If]if a LMHA[/] or LSAA is unable to provide the 
required matching funds, the LMHA[/] or LSAA shall be allocated the 
amount the LMHA[/] or LSAA can match[.]; and 
 [(ii)  E](b)  excess funds may be allocated on a one-time basis 
to local authorities with the ability to provide matching funds. 
[ 
R523-2-9.  Distribution of Fee-On-Fine (DUI) Funds. 
 (1)  The Fee-On-Fine funds collected by the court system 
under the criminal surcharge law and remitted to the State Treasurer will 
be allocated to the LSAAs based upon each county's percent of the total 
state population as determined at the time of the funding formula as 
described in Section R523-2-7.  The Division shall authorize quarterly 
releases of these funds to the county commission of each county for 
which they are allocated unless notified in writing by the LSAA's 
governing board to send the funds to the local service provider. 
 (2)  Utah Code 62A-15-503 states these funds "shall be used 
exclusively for the operation of licensed alcohol or drug rehabilitation 
programs and education, assessment, supervision, and other activities 
related to and supporting the rehabilitation of persons convicted of 
driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs.  A 
requirement of the rehabilitation program shall be participation with a 
victim impact panel or program providing a forum for victims of alcohol 
or drug related offenses and defendants to shares experiences on the 
impact of alcohol or drug related incidents in their lives." 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 105 

 (3)  Each counties proposed use of the funds shall be 
identified in the Local authority area plan submitted to the Division each 
year as described in Utah Code 62A-15-103(2)(c)(xi). 
 (4)  Each counties actual expenditures shall be documented in 
an expenditure report submitted by the local authority within 60 days of 
the end of the State fiscal year that describes the actual use of the funds 
from this account. 
 (5)  The Division shall review and monitor funds from this 
project during the annual site visit.] 
 
R523-2-[10]9.  Allocation of[ Utah State] Hospital Adult Bed Days 
to Local Mental Health Authorities. 
 (1)  The [Division herein establishes a formula to allocate to 
LMHAs the adult beds for persons who meet the requirements of 
Subsection 62A-15-610(2)(a). 
 (2)  The formula established provides for ]allocation of adult 
beds shall be based on: 
 (a)  [The]the percentage of the state's adult population located 
within a LMHA catchment area; and 
 (b)  [A]a differential to compensate for the additional demand 
for hospital beds in LMHA catchment areas that are located within urban 
areas. 
 [(3)](2)  The [Division hereby establishes a ]formula to 
determine adult bed allocation shall be based on: 
 (a)  [T]the most recent available population estimates [are 
]obtained from the Utah Department of Health's IBIS website[.]; 
 (b)  [T]the total adult population figures for the [S]state; and[ 
are identified.  Adult means age 18 and over.] 
 (c)  the [A]adult population numbers [are identified ]for each 
county. 
 [(d)](3)  [The urban counties are identified (county 
classifications are determined]Counties that are currently classified as 
urban by the lieutenant governor's office pursuant to 
[Subsections]Section 17-50-501 [and 17-50-502 and the most recent 
classifications are used to determine which counties are defined as 
urban) and]are given a differential as follows: 
 [(i)](a)  [The]the total number of adult beds available at the[ 
Utah State] Hospital [is]shall be determined[.]; and 
 [(ii)](b)  4.8% [is]shall be subtracted from the total number of 
beds available for adults to be allocated as an urban differential. 
 [(e)](4)  The total number of available adult beds minus the 
urban differential [is]shall be multiplied by the county's percentage of 
the state's total adult population to determine the number of allocated 
beds for each county. 
 [(f)](5)  Each [catchment area's]LMHA's service areas for 
individual county numbers [are]shall be added to determine the total 
number of beds allocated to a [catchment area]LMHA.  This fractional 
number [is]shall be rounded to the nearest whole bed. 
 [(g)](6)  The urban differential [beds are then]shall be 
distributed to urban counties based on their respective percentage of 
urban counties as a whole. 
 [(h)](7)  At least one adult bed [is]shall be allocated to each 
LMHA. 
[ (4)  In accordance with Subsection 62A-15-611(6), the 
Division shall periodically review and make changes in the formula as 
necessary to accurately reflect changes in population. 
 (5)  Applying the formula:] 
 [(a)](8)  Adjustments of adult beds, as the formula is applied, 
shall become effective at the beginning of the next fiscal year. 
 [(b)](9)  The Division is responsible to calculate the adult bed 
allocation[.],and 

[ (c)  Each]to notify each LMHA [will be notified ]of changes 
in adult bed allocations. 
 [(6)](10)  The number of allocated adult beds shall be 
reviewed and adjusted as necessary or at least every three years as 
required by statute. 
 [(7)](11)  A LMHA may sell or loan its allocation of adult beds 
to another LMHA. 
 
R523-2-[11]10.  Allocation of[ Utah State] Hospital Pediatric Beds 
to Local Mental Health Authorities for Individuals Under the Age 
of 18. 
 (1)  [The Division establishes a formula to allocate to LMHAs 
the pediatric beds at the Utah State Hospital. 
 (2)  ]The formula established provides for allocation based on 
the percentage of the state's population of persons under the age of 18 
located within a LMHA [catchment]service area. 
 [(3)](2)  Each LMHA shall be allocated at least one pediatric 
bed. 
 [(4)](3)  The formula to determine pediatric bed allocation 
shall be based on: 
 (a)  [T]the most recent available population estimates [are 
]obtained from the Utah Department of Health's Indicator Based 
Information System (IBIS) website[.]; 
 (b)  [T]the total pediatric population figures for the [S]state; 
and[ are identified.  Pediatric means under the age of 18.] 
 (c)  the [P]pediatric population figures [are identified ]for each 
county. 
 [(d)](4)  The total number of pediatric beds available [is]shall 
be multiplied by the county's percentage of the state's total pediatric 
population.  This will determine the number of allocated pediatric beds 
for each county. 
 [(e)](5)  Each [catchment area's]LMHA's service area for 
individual county numbers [are]shall be added to determine the total 
number of pediatric beds allocated to a [catchment]LMHA's service 
area.  This fractional number [is]shall be rounded to the nearest whole 
bed. 
[ (5)  The Division shall periodically review and make changes 
in the formula as necessary. 
 (6)  Applying the formula:] 
 [(a)](6)  Adjustments of pediatric beds[, as the formula is] 
shall be applied, [shall]and become effective at the beginning of the new 
fiscal year. 
 [(b)](7)  Each LMHA shall be notified of changes in pediatric 
bed allocations. 
 [(7)](8)  The number of allocated pediatric beds shall be 
reviewed, and adjusted as necessary or at least every three years as 
required by statute. 
 [(8)](9)  A LMHA may sell or loan its allocation of pediatric 
beds to another LMHA. 
 
R523-2-[12]11.  Admission to the Hospital and Coordination of 
Care. 
 (1)  The Division has oversight of the[ Utah State] Hospital as 
per Subsection 62A-15-103(2)(b)(ii) and shall oversee the Continuity of 
Care Committees for adult and children, [/]youths and their patients.  
[(when]When the patient is a child or youth, then patient also refers to 
the parent [and/]or legal guardian[),] as it pertains to [A]admissions, 
[C]coordination of [C]care, [D]discharges and [T]transfers between 
LMHAs of patients to and from the[ Utah State] Hospital[ (Hospital)]. 
 (2)  The Division and Hospital shall conduct [monthly 
]Continuity of Care Committee meetings regularly according to need, 
unless the time for the meetings is postponed or canceled for good cause. 
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 [(2)](3)  Each LMHA shall assign a liaison to the Hospital as 
the identified representative of the LMHA. 
 [(a)](4)  The [L]liaison shall coordinate patient needs for 
admission to the Hospital and shall complete the Hospital Pre-admission 
packet, which includes identifying community discharge and treatment 
options prior to admission.  Any individual or family member 
independently requesting voluntary Hospital admission shall be referred 
to the appropriate LMHA geographical area in which the individual 
currently resides. 
 [(b)](5)  LMHA liaisons are responsible to participate in the 
coordination of care at the Hospital.  This includes participation in 
clinical staffing in person when possible, when the LMHA has a patient 
in the Hospital, and when the Continuity of Care Committee is 
meeting[at least monthly].  The liaisons and Hospital staff are required 
to participate in order to coordinate patient treatment, discuss the 
progress of assigned patients and meet with patients and Hospital staff 
jointly to formulate patient care.  On occasion in exceptional 
circumstances, liaisons may attend a Continuity of Care Committee 
meeting, and to coordinate patient treatment via teleconference, 
preferably video conference, if circumstances make travel unreasonable.  
Liaisons will inform the Division and Hospital staff in advance if this is 
the case. 
 [(c)](6)  Patients admitted to the [F]forensic units are under 
the jurisdiction of the criminal court system; if the need arises the 
LMHA liaison will participate in community discharge placements, and 
follow up care. 
 [(d)](7)  Hospital staff and liaison shall coordinate discharge 
plans.  As there are multiple factors inherent in determining "readiness 
for discharge," this decision will be made: 
 (a)  on an individual basis, with input from the patient, the 
Hospital, the LMHA and the Division as necessary[.]; and 
 (b)  with patient's preferences and feedback regarding 
discharge placements as a consideration. 
 (8)  Outplacement funds shall be used to resolve financial 
barriers that delay or complicate patients discharge.[  Patient's 
preferences and feedback regarding discharge placements shall be 
considered.] 
 (9)  For adult patients the LMHA liaison is required to arrange 
discharge placement and follow up care once the patient is ready for 
discharge as indicated by the Division's [REDI]designated electronic 
discharge program[ (Readiness, Evaluation and Discharge 
Implementation)]. 
 (10)  The Hospital and LMHAs are required to use the 
[REDI]designated program consistently, and:[.] 
 (a)  LMHAs are required to have at least two designated 
individuals with access to the electronic program to ensure uninterrupted 
coverage; and[REDI information] 
 (b)  information from the designated program will be 
distributed monthly to the Hospital, and the LMHAs to track progress 
toward discharge. 
 (11)  The philosophy of the Hospital is to provide short-term 
inpatient care for the purpose of stabilization with the goal of transition 
to a less restrictive level of care as soon as possible.  If the Hospital 
[and/]or the LMHA determine that the patient is clinically ready for 
discharge, and the coordination of the placement is not occurring, the 
Hospital and[/or] liaison [is]are required to notify the Division within 
five business days. 
 (12)  If the LMHA does not agree the patient is clinically 
ready for discharge then the LMHA shall indicate disagreement, 
including a note in the coordination software system, within 5 business 
days of the Hospital indicating readiness for discharge. 

 [(e)](13)  The [L]liaison shall follow the Hospital's policies on 
admission, treatment, discharge, and transfers of [all]each Hospital 
patient[s]. 
 
R523-2-[13]12.  Determining the Proper LMHA Under Special 
Situations. 
 (1)  [In the following special situations, the proper LMHA will 
be determined as follows: 
 (a)  Homeless: ]An [I]individual[s] who [are]is homeless and 
in need of Hospital admission shall be [the responsibility of]referred by 
the LMHA in which the individual [came]comes to the attention of local 
emergency services.  If from out of state, the homeless individual shall 
be referred to the LMHA where the individual was identified as mentally 
ill and in need of services. 
 [(b)](2)  [Children and Adolescent Patients: Children and 
Adolescents]A child or adolescent in state custody shall be referred to 
the LMHA in which they resided prior to their custody being changed 
to the Division of Child and Family Services or the Division of Juvenile 
Justice Services. 
 [(c)](3)  [Forensic Patients:  When a]A forensic patient, placed 
at the Hospital pursuant to criminal adjudication as set forth in [Utah 
Code ]Section 62A-15-902, and[ is] determined to meet [criteria for 
]civil commitment criteria[, the patient] shall be committed to the 
LMHA where the patient resided [prior to his/her arrest]before being 
arrested. 
 [(d)](4)  [Prison Transfers:  ]Utah State Prison inmates who 
are transferred to the Hospital Forensic Unit, and subsequently civilly 
committed, become the responsibility of the LMHA where the person 
resided prior to incarceration. 
 [(e)](5)  [Developmental Center Transfers:  ]An 
[I]individual[s] placed at the Utah State Developmental Center (USDC), 
who [are]is transferred to the Hospital for treatment of a mental illness 
[are]is the responsibility of the LMHA of the[ir] individual's last 
community residence, [(]excluding foster and group home placements 
less than one year in duration[)].  If the individual was admitted to the 
USDC as a child, [the residence of ]the custodial parent's[(s)] residence 
at the time of admission to USDC shall be used to determine the 
responsible LMHA.  The LMHA is responsible for treatment and 
discharge planning during the course of the individual's Hospital stay. 
 
R523-2-[14]13.  Transfer Planning Between LMHAs From the 
Hospital. 
 (1)  When a Hospital patient or the patient's legal guardian 
desires to relocate to a new geographical area, the patient's LMHA 
liaison [(the liaison ]responsible for the civil bed in which the patient 
currently resides[),] shall notify the receiving LMHA regarding the 
desire of the patient.  [It is the]The referring liaison['s] has the 
responsibility to discuss the matter with the patient, and with the 
receiving LMHA, and work toward discharge. 
 (2)  The referring and receiving LMHA liaison shall discuss 
the transfer, and shall provide information as needed. 
 (3)  Once the receiving LMHA accepts the referral, the 
receiving LMHA shall proceed with Hospital patient discharge 
planning.  During the time period between the referral to the receiving 
LMHA and Hospital discharge, the Hospital patient shall continue to be 
assessed against the bed allocation of the referring LMHA.  The 
receiving LMHA is expected to work toward discharge. 
 (4)  The LMHAs may negotiate an agreement [(LMHA to 
LMHA)]with one another, and if the patient returns to the Hospital, the 
patient returns to the referring LMHA's bed.  The agreement is not to 
exceed one year, whereby the referring LMHA agrees the patient's bed 
shall be assessed against the bed allocation of the referring LMHA.  The 
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agreement shall [specifies]specify the role of each LMHA, and who is 
responsible for providing needed services and payment for those 
services.  Any such agreement shall be made in writing.  If a LMHA to 
LMHA agreement cannot be reached, then the conflict resolution 
process as outlined in Section R523-2-14[15 below] shall be followed. 
 (5)  At the conclusion of the negotiated period, the receiving 
LMHA shall assume all responsibility for the full continuum of mental 
health services, including Hospital care. 
 
R523-2-[15]14.  Conflict Resolution. 
 (1)  The Division will work to resolve conflicts between the 
Hospital and a LMHA, as well as conflicts between LMHAs. 
 [(a)](2)  If negotiations between a LMHA[s] and the 
[USH]Hospital regarding admissions, discharges or provisions of 
[consumer]patient services fails to be resolved at the local level, the 
following steps shall be taken: 
 [(i)  T](a)  the director of the Division or designee shall 
appoint a committee to review the facts of the conflict, and make 
recommendations; 
 [(ii)  I](b)  if the recommendations of the committee do not 
adequately resolve the conflict, the clinical or medical director of the 
LMHA and [USH]the Hospital clinical director shall meet, and attempt 
to resolve the conflict; 
 [(iii)  I](c)  if a resolution cannot be reached, the LMHA 
director and the superintendent of the [USH]Hospital shall meet, and 
attempt to resolve the conflict; or 
 [(iv)  I](d)  if a resolution cannot be reached, the director of 
the Division or designee shall make the final decision. 
 [(b)](3)  If conflicts arise between LMHAs regarding 
admissions, discharges, or provisions of consumer services, the final 
authority for resolution shall rest with the director of the Division or 
designee. 
 
R523-2-[16]15.  Prohibited Items and Devices on the Grounds of 
Public Mental Health Facilities. 
 (1)  Pursuant to [the requirements of Subsection 62A-15-602 
(9), and ]Sections 76-10-523.5, 76-8-311.1, and 76-8-311.3, [all 
facilities]any facility owned or operated by community mental health 
centers that have any contracts with a LMHA [and/]or the Division are 
designated as secure areas. 
 (2)  [Accordingly all]Any weapons, contraband, controlled 
substances, implements of escape, ammunition, explosives, spirituous 
or fermented liquors, firearms, or any other devices that are normally 
considered to be weapons are prohibited from entry into community 
mental health centers. 
 (3)  There shall be a prominent visual notice of secure area 
designation. 
 (4)  Law enforcement personnel are authorized to carry 
firearms while completing official duties on the grounds of those 
facilities. 
 
KEY:  funding formula, bed allocations, Local Mental Health 
Authority, Local Substance Abuse Authority 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[April 
17, 2019] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  17-43-
301[(4)](6)(a)(x);[ 17-50-501; 17-50-502;] 62A-10-103(2)(a); 62A-
15-103(2)(b)(ii); 62A-15-103(2)(g); 62A-15-105; 62A-15-108(1); 
62A-15-108(2);[ 62A-15-201 et seq.; 62A-15-602(9);] 62A-15-
610(2)(a); 62A-15-611(2)(a);[ 62A-15-612;] 62A-15-902(2)(c); 76-8-
311.1; 76-8-311.3; 76-10-523.5 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 
Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Scott Weight 801-

741-
7435 

sweigh2@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-300.  Income Withholding 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This amendment is intended to make Section R527-300-
4, Affidavit of Delinquency, consistent with Rule R527-254, 
Limitation on Collection of Arrears. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Section R527-300-1 was amended to include a statement 
that Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized by 
statute to use income withholding to collect child support. 
 
Section R527-300-2 is being removed because the 
information is available in the Utah Code. 
 
Section R527-300-3 (Section becoming R527-300-2) is 
being re-worded to clarify how delinquency is determined. 
 
Section R527-300-4 (becoming Section R527-300-3) is 
being amended based on Rule R527-254 which defines 
the circumstances in which ORS will collect support 
arrears which accrue during time periods when there is not 
an open IV-D services case with ORS. 
 
Section R527-300-5 is being removed because this 
information is available in the Utah Code. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

108 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 

Section R527-300-6 becomes Section R527-300-4. 
 
Section R5427-300-7 is being removed. 
 
Section R527-300-8 is being removed because the 
information is available to employers on the income 
withholding documents. 
 
Section R527-300-9 (becoming Section R527-300-5) was 
reformatted (nonsubstantive change). 
 
Section R527-300-10 was removed because this 
information is available in the Utah Code. 
 
Applicable references to the Utah Code were added to the 
Authorizing, and Implemented or interpreted Law 
reference at the end of the text, and Utah Code that is no 
longer applicable due to the amendment was removed. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule is being amended so that it is consistent with Rule 
R527-254 and to provide clarity regarding the conditions 
upon which ORS may initiate income withholding.  
Therefore, there is no anticipated cost or savings to the 
state budget due to the amendments to this rule. 
 
B) Local governments: 

Administrative rules of the Office of Recovery Services do 
not apply to local governments.  This rule concerns income 
withholding initiated by ORS.  Therefore, there are no 
anticipated costs or savings for local governments due to 
this amendment. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendments to this rule do not change ORS 
processes or procedures regarding sending income 
withholdings or the volume of income withholdings sent.  
Therefore, there are no anticipated costs or savings to 
small businesses due to the amendments. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendments to this rule do not change ORS 
processes or procedures regarding sending income 
withholdings or the volume of income withholdings sent.  
Therefore, there are no anticipated costs or savings to 
non-small businesses due to the amendments. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The amendments to this rule do not change ORS 
processes or procedures regarding sending income 
withholdings or the volume of income withholdings sent.  
Therefore, there is no anticipated effect to other persons 
due to the amendments to this rule. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The amendments to this rule do not change ORS 
processes or procedures regarding sending income 
withholdings or the volume of income withholdings sent.  
Therefore, there are no compliance costs due to the 
amendments to this rule. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Human 
Services, Ann Silverberg Williamson, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
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6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
The Department does not anticipate any fiscal impacts on 
businesses as a result of language changes throughout 
this rule. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Ann Silverberg Williamson, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 
62A-1-111 

Section 
62A-11-107 

Section 
62A-11-401 

Section 
62A-11- 405 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 10/27/2020 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-300.  Income Withholding. 
R527-300-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)[.]  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for the provision of social services by Sections 
62A-1-111 and 62A-11-107. 

 (2)[.]  The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized 
to use income withholding to collect child support by Section 62A-
11-401.  The purpose of this rule is to specify the responsibilities and 
procedures for [the Office of Recovery Services/Child Support 
Services for ]ORS related to income withholding. 
 
[R527-300-2.  Income Withholding. 
 1.  Income withholding is defined as withholding child 
support from an obligor's income.  The payor of income forwards the 
amount withheld to the Office of Recovery Services/Child Support 
Services (ORS/CSS). 
 2.  Income withholding may be initiated in a IV-D case, 
with concurrent notice to the obligor: 
 a.  in a case which has an order issued prior to October 13, 
1990, which has not been modified since October 13, 1990, even 
though the obligor is not delinquent as defined in Section 62A-11-
401(6) or R527-300-3, if the obligor and the obligee have signed a 
subsequent agreement which the obligor has failed to meet; for 
example, while the order does not require payment by a specific date, 
there is a written agreement that payment will be made on the first 
day of each month, or 
 b.  in a case which has an order issued or modified after 
October 13, 1990, which found a demonstration of good cause or 
entered a written agreement that immediate income withholding is 
not required, if the obligor and the obligee have signed a subsequent 
agreement which the obligor has failed to meet; for example, while 
the order does not require payment by a specific date, there is a 
written agreement that payment will be made on the first day of each 
month.] 
 
[R527-300-3.]R527-300-2.  Determining Delinquency. 
 (1)  Delinquency occurs when: 
 (a)  a current support has been ordered but is not presently 
in effect and the obligor has accrued a debt in an amount equal to or 
greater than the previously ordered current support for one month; 
 (b)  the result of an underpayment for several months totals  
at least one month's current support; 
 (c)  an obligor was ordered to pay on specific days of the 
month and failed to do so; or 
 (b)  there was not a previous current support order but there 
is a judgment for arrears, delinquency has occurred when the obligor 
fails to pay as agreed, provided the judgment was for at least one 
month's current support amount used to compute the judgment for 
arrears.  If the judgment was by default and the judgment amount was 
for at least one month's current support amount used to compute the 
judgment, income withholding may begin immediately upon entry of 
the judgment. 
 (2)  Pursuant to Section 62A-11-405, orders issued prior to 
October 13, 1990 and not otherwise modified after that date require 
ORS to establish that a delinquency occurred under the order prior to 
utilizing income withholding. 
[ 1.  If current support has been ordered but is not presently 
in effect; for example, the children are 18 years old, the children have 
been adopted, custody has changed, or the obligor is paying current 
support to the obligee; delinquency has occurred when the obligor 
has accrued a debt in an amount equal to or greater than the 
previously ordered current support for one month. 
 2.  If there was not a previous current support order but 
there is a judgment for arrears, delinquency has occurred when the 
obligor fails to pay as agreed, provided the judgment was for at least 
one month's current support amount used to compute the judgment 
for arrears.  If the judgment was by default and the judgment amount 
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was for at least one month's current support amount used to compute 
the judgment, income withholding may begin immediately upon 
entry of the judgment. 
 3.  A delinquency could be the result of an underpayment 
for several months that totals at least one month's current support. 
 4.  A delinquency can occur prior to the end of the month if 
the obligor was ordered to pay on specific days of the month and 
failed to do so.] 
 
[R527-300-4.]R527-300-3.  Affidavit of Delinquency. 
 (1)  The ORS verified statement or affidavit alleging that a 
delinquency has occurred pursuant to Section 62A-11-405 is satisfied 
in the following ways: 
 (a)  for time periods when a statement of arrears was part 
of the child support application for services packet, [T]the Non-IV-A 
applicant's prepared[s a] month-by-month computation of the support 
debt with an attestation[, which is referred to as a statement of arrears.  
The statement of arrears is part of the application packet.  As part of 
the statement of arrears, the applicant attests] that the statement is 
true and accurate to the best knowledge and belief of the applicant; 
or,[.  This signed statement shall satisfy the verified statement 
requirement of Section 62A-11-405.] 
 (b)  calculations of delinquencies provided by Title IV-D 
agencies in other states on incoming intergovernmental cases where 
the referring state requested the collection of delinquent support. 
 
[R527-300-5.  Administrative Review. 
 1.  Section 62A-11-405(2)(b)(ii)(B) requires the obligor to 
file a written request for review with the office within 15 days to 
contest withholding.  This written request for review shall state the 
obligor's basis for contesting the withholding. 
 2.  If an administrative review is conducted pursuant to 
Section 62A-11-405(3), the notice of decision required may be 
mailed or delivered to the obligor in the ordinary course of business.] 
 
[R527-300-6.]R527-300-4.  Income Subject To Withholding. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 62A-11-406, income 
subject to withholding is as follows: 
 (a)  income withholding will be limited to withholding 50% 
of the obligor's disposable income; or 
 (b)  if 50% does not result in withholding enough to cover 
the current support obligation, the office may review an obligor's 
circumstances under the provisions of the Consumer Credit 
Protection Act to determine whether a higher percentage is permitted. 
[ Section 62A-11-406 limits the total amount of the income 
withheld for child support to the maximum permitted under Section 
303(b) of the Consumer Credit Protection Act as cited in 15 U.S.C. 
Section 1673(b).  In general, income withholding will be limited to 
withholding 50% of the obligor's disposable income.  However, if 
50% does not result in withholding enough to cover the current 
support obligation, the office may review an obligor's circumstances 
under the provisions of the Consumer Credit Protection Act to 
determine whether a higher percentage is permitted.] 
 
[R527-300-7.  Arrears Payments. 
 If the obligor owes back child support, ORS/CSS will work 
with the obligor in an effort to encourage timely payment of the debt 
by the obligor.  If the obligor is unable to pay the debt in full, the 
office may accept monthly payments towards the back child support 
debt.  The minimum arrears payment will be based on 10% of the 
current support obligation.  Exceptions to the minimum arrears 
payment will be determined by the ORS or CSS Director.] 

[R527-300-8.  Modification of Withholding Amounts. 
 1. Once a Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support has 
been sent to the obligor's payor of income, any changes to the 
withholding amount will be made by sending the payor a modified 
Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support.  The obligor will be 
provided concurrent notice of any changes. 
 2.  If the obligor changes from one payor of income to 
another payor of income, a new Notice to Withhold Income for Child 
Support must be sent to the new payor in accordance with ORS/CSS 
assessment procedures.] 
 
[R527-300-9.]R527-300-5.  Income Withholding Termination. 
 (1)[.]  Income withholding administratively initiated by 
ORS [should]shall be terminated if: 
 (a)[.]  the obligor:[ no longer has an obligation for current 
child support, and no longer has a debt to Utah or another state on 
whose behalf Utah is acting or to a Non-IV-A obligee on whose 
behalf Utah is acting;] 
 (i)  no longer has an obligation for current child support; 
and 
 (ii)  no longer has a debt to Utah or another state on whose 
behalf Utah is acting, or to a Non-IV-A obligee on whose behalf Utah 
is acting; 
 (b)[.]  the Non-IV-A [obligee]applicant:[ terminates the 
ORS/CSS case, income withholding was administratively 
implemented and the obligor no longer owes child support to Utah or 
other state on whose behalf Utah is acting, and the obligee does not 
want withholding to continue;] 
 (i)  terminates the ORS/CSS case; and 
 (ii)  the obligor no longer owes child support to Utah or 
another state on whose behalf Utah is acting; or 
 (c)[.]  the obligor successfully contests the withholding 
which is currently in effect through the court or administrative review 
process.  If income withholding was terminated based on a court or 
administrative order and the obligor later becomes delinquent, 
income withholding will be reinstated. 
 
[R527-300-10.  Contesting an Income Withholding Order Issued 
by Another State. 
 The Obligor may contest the validity or enforcement of an 
income-withholding order issued by another state in this state by 
registering and filing a contest to that order in the appropriate Utah 
court.] 
 
KEY:  child support, income, wages 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [June 30, 
2009]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  January 23, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 
62A-11-107; 62A-11-401 et seq.; 62A-11-405[; 62A-11-404; 62A-
11-405; 62A-11-406; 62A-11-413; 62A-11-414; 78B-14-506] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-284 Filing No. 
53245 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
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Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 3110 
Building: State Office Building 
Street address: 450 N State St. 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

538-
3803 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-284.  Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being changed to bring its formatting and style 
in line with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah and to update 
the severability section. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
All changes to the rule text are being made to meet the 
standards in the Rulewriting Manual for Utah.  The 
changes are comprised of number fixes, grammatical 
fixes, revisions to clarify language, and other clerical 
improvements.  It also updates the severability section to 
the version the Insurance Department is currently using. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are clerical in nature and do not add or 
remove any requirements to this rule. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are clerical in nature and do 
not add or remove any requirements to this rule. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add or remove any requirements to this rule. 
 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add or remove any requirements to this rule. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add or remove any requirements to this rule. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons. 
 
G) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2021 FY2022 FY2023 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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H) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Commissioner of the Insurance Department, 
Tanji J. Northrup, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
6. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Tanji J. Northrup, Interim Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  This rule change is authorized or mandated by state 
law, and implements or interprets the following state 
and federal laws.  State code or constitution citations 
(required): 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-16b-104 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  The agency is required to hold a hearing if it 
receives requests from ten interested persons or from an 
association having not fewer than ten members.  
Additionally, the request must be received by the agency 
not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in 
the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule 
R15-1 for more information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/01/2021 

 
10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY 
become effective.  It is NOT the effective date.  After the 
date designated in Box 10, the agency must submit a 
Notice of Effective Date to the Office of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective.  Failure to submit a 
Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and 
will require the agency to start the rulemaking process 
over.  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 12/11/2020 

 

R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-284.  Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure Rule. 
R590-284-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-
201(3)(a), which authorizes rules to implement [the ]Title 31A, 
Insurance Code, and Section 31A-16b-104, which authorizes rules to 
implement [the ]Title 31A, Chapter 16b, Corporate Governance 
Annual Disclosure Act[ at Title 31A, Chapter 16b]. 
 
R590-284-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  This rule sets forth the filing procedures and the content 
requirements for the Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure 
(CGAD) required by Title 31A, Chapter 16b, Corporate Governance 
Annual Disclosure Act. 
 (2)  This rule applies to an insurer or insurance group 
domiciled in Utah. 
 
R590-284-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in Section 31A-1-301 apply to this rule. 
 (2)  "Senior Management" means any corporate officer 
responsible for reporting information to the board of directors at 
regular intervals or providing this information to shareholders or 
regulators and includes the Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial 
Officer, Chief Operations Officer, Chief Procurement Officer, Chief 
Legal Officer, Chief Information Officer, Chief Technology Officer, 
Chief Revenue Officer, Chief Visionary Officer, or any other "C" 
level executive. 
 
R590-284-4.  Filing Procedures. 
 (1)  [The ]An insurer or insurance group has discretion 
regarding the appropriate format for providing the information 
required by these regulations[.  The insurer or insurance group has 
discretion to] and may customize the CGAD to provide the most 
relevant information necessary to permit the commissioner to gain an 
understanding of the corporate governance structure, policies, and 
practices utilized by the insurer or insurance group. 
 (2)(a)  An insurer or insurance group may comply with this 
rule by referencing any other existing document[s], for example, an 
ORSA Summary Report, a Holding Company Form B or F Filing[s], 
a Securities and Exchange Commission Proxy Statement[s], or 
foreign regulatory reporting requirements, if the document[s] 
provides information that is comparable to the information described 
in Section R590-284-5. 
 (b)  [The ]An insurer or insurance group shall clearly 
reference the location of the relevant information within the CGAD 
and attach the referenced document if it is not already filed or 
available to the regulator. 
 (3)(a)  Each year following the initial filing of the CGAD, 
[the ]an insurer or insurance group shall file an amended version of 
the previously filed CGAD indicating where any change[s have] has 
been made. 
 (b)  If no changes were made in the information or activities 
reported by the insurer or insurance group, the filing should so state. 
 
R590-284-5.  Contents of the CGAD. 
 (1)  [The ]An insurer or insurance group shall be as 
descriptive as possible in completing the CGAD[, with inclusion of] 
and should include any attachment[s] or example document[s] that 
[are]is used in the governance process[,] because these may provide 
a means to demonstrate the strengths of [their ]the insurer's or 
insurance group's governance framework and practices. 
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 (2)  The CGAD shall describe [the ]an insurer's or 
insurance group's corporate governance framework and structure 
including consideration of the following[.]: 
 (a)  [T]the insurer's board of directors (Board) and its 
various committees that are ultimately responsible for overseeing the 
insurer or insurance group and the level[(s)] or levels at which that 
oversight occurs, for example, ultimate control level, intermediate 
holding company, or legal entity,[.  The insurer or insurance group 
shall describe and discuss] and a description and discussion of the 
rationale for the current Board size and structure; and 
 (b)  [T]the duties of the Board and each of its significant 
committees and how they are governed, for example bylaws, 
charters, or informal mandates, as well as how the Board's leadership 
is structured, including a discussion of the roles of Chief Executive 
Officer (CEO) and Chairman of the Board within the organization. 
 (3)  [The ]An insurer or insurance group shall describe the 
policies and practices of the most senior governing entity and 
significant committees thereof, including a discussion of the 
following: 
 (a)  how the qualifications, expertise, and experience of 
each Board member meet the needs of the insurer or insurance group; 
 (b)  how an appropriate amount of independence is 
maintained on the Board and its significant committees; 
 (c)  the number of meetings held by the Board and its 
significant committees over the past year, as well as information on 
director attendance; 
 (d)  how the insurer or insurance group identifies, 
nominates, and elects members to the Board and its committees 
including, for example: 
 (i)  whether a nomination committee is in place to identify 
and select individuals for consideration; 
 (ii)  whether term limits are placed on directors; 
 (iii)  how the election and re-election processes function; 
and 
 (iv)  whether a Board diversity policy is in place and if so, 
how it functions; and 
 (e)  the processes in place for the Board to evaluate its 
performance and the performance of its committees, as well as any 
recent measures taken to improve performance, including any Board 
or committee training programs[ that have been put in place]. 
 (4)  [The ]An insurer or insurance group shall describe the 
policies and practices for directing Senior Management, including a 
description of the following factors: 
 (a)  any process[es] or practice[s], for example, suitability 
standards, used to determine whether officers and key persons in 
control functions have the appropriate background, experience, and 
integrity to fulfill their prospective roles, including: 
 (i)  identification of [the ]each specific position[s] for 
which suitability standards have been developed and a description of 
the standards employed[.]; and 
 (ii)  any change[s] in an officer's or key person's suitability 
as outlined by the insurer's or insurance [ ]group's standards and 
procedures to monitor and evaluate such changes; 
 (b)  the insurer's or insurance group's code of business 
conduct and ethics, the discussion of which considers, for example: 
 (i)  compliance with laws, rules, and regulations; and 
 (ii)  proactive reporting of any illegal or unethical behavior; 
 (c)  the insurer's or insurance group's processes for 
performance evaluation, compensation, and corrective action to 
ensure effective senior management throughout the organization, 
including a description of: 

 (i)  the general objectives of any significant compensation 
program[s]; 
 (ii)  what [the ]each program[s are ] is designed to reward; 
and 
 (iii)  how the organization ensures that a compensation 
program[s] does not encourage and/or reward excessive risk taking, 
including a discussion of: 
 (A)  the Board's role in overseeing management 
compensation programs and practices; 
 (B)  the various elements of compensation awarded in [the 
insurer's or insurance group's ]each compensation program[s] and 
how the insurer or insurance group determines and calculates the 
amount of each element of compensation paid; 
 (C)  how each compensation program[s are] is related to 
both company and individual performance over time; 
 (D)  whether each compensation program[s] includes risk 
adjustments and how those adjustments are incorporated into the 
programs for employees at different levels; 
 (E)  any clawback provision[s] built into [the ]a 
compensation program[s] to recover awards or payments if the 
performance measures upon which they are based are restated or 
otherwise adjusted; and 
 (F)  any other factor[s] relevant in understanding how the 
insurer or insurance group monitors its compensation policies to 
determine whether its risk management objectives are met by 
incentivizing its employees; and 
 (d)  the insurer's or insurance group's plans for CEO and 
Senior Management succession. 
 (5)(a)  [The ]An insurer or insurance group shall describe 
[the ]any process[es] by which the Board, its committees, and Senior 
Management ensure an appropriate amount of oversight to [the ]each 
critical risk area[s] impacting the insurer's business activities, 
including a discussion of: 
 ([a]i)  [H]how oversight and management responsibilities 
are delegated between the Board, its committees, and Senior 
Management; 
 ([b]ii)  [H]how the Board is kept informed of the insurer's 
or insurance group's strategic plans, the associated risks, and steps 
that Senior Management [is taking ]may take to monitor and manage 
those risks; and 
 ([c]iii)  [H]how reporting responsibilities are organized for 
each critical risk area. 
 ([i]b)  The description should allow the commissioner to 
understand the frequency at which information on each critical risk 
area is reported to and reviewed by Senior Management and the 
Board. 
 ([ii]c)  The[is] description may include, for example, the 
following critical risk areas of the insurer: 
 (A)  risk management processes, such as an ORSA 
Summary Report pursuant to Title 31A, Chapter 16a, Risk 
Management and Own Risk and Solvency Assessment Act; 
 (B)  actuarial function; 
 (C)  investment decision-making processes; 
 (D)  reinsurance decision-making processes; 
 (E)  business strategy/finance decision-making processes; 
 (F)  compliance function; 
 (G)  financial reporting/internal auditing; and 
 (H)  market conduct decision-making processes. 
 
R590-284-6.  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any 
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other provision or application of this rule which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision 
of this rule, R590-284, or its application to any person or situation is 
held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 
application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. The remainder of this rule shall be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application. 

KEY:  corporate governance disclosure 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[March 10, 2020] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-16b-104 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 

120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 
 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R357-37 Filing No. 53255 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Development 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

538-
8664 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-37.  COVID-19 Live Events Grant Program Rule 
 
3.  Effective Date: 
12/14/2020 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule filing is to create the COVID-19 
Live Events Grant Program to support small businesses 
and the retention of jobs throughout the state during the 
state of emergency due to novel coronavirus disease 2019 
(COVID-19). 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule will codify the administration of the COVID-19 
Live Events Grant Program by establishing definitions, 
authority, program, and documentation requirements.  The 
program will provide assistance to live event promotion 
businesses that have been impacted by the COVID-19 
pandemic. 
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6.  Regular rulemaking would: 
X cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
 place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
Specific reason and justification: 
The Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED) 
is responsible for economic development in the state and 
is tasked with, among other things, administering grant 
programs to enhance the economic health and vitality of 
the state and its business community.  This rule will govern 
the new COVID-19 Live Events Grant Program that will 
provide assistance to the live event promotion industry. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
7.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to the 
state budget.  This rule establishes the requirements for 
participation in the COVID-19 Live Events Grant Program. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments because local governments are not required 
to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
Three million dollars in funds were allocated towards this 
program.  GOED anticipates a large portion will be 
awarded to small businesses in the state.  The COVID-19 
Live Events Grant Program is designed to serve Utah's 
businesses that have been impacted by the COVID-19 
pandemic. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed rule does not 
create new obligations for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation. 
 
8.  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 

9.  A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses: 
I have reviewed this fiscal analysis and agree with the 
described fiscal impacts associated with this rule.  Live 
events are an important part of Utah's culture, and GOED 
hopes this grant will help many of these businesses. 
 
B) Name and title of department head commenting on 
the fiscal impacts: 
Val Hale, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
10. This rule change is authorized or mandated by 
state law, and implements or interprets the following 
state and federal laws. State code or constitution 
citations (required): 
Section 
63N-1-402 

Section 
63N-1-203 

 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Val Hale, 
Executive 
Director  

Date: 12/14/2020 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
R357-37.  COVID-19 Live Events Grant Program Rule. 
R357-37-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "COVID-19 Live Events Grant 
Program Rule." 
 
R357-37-102.  Definitions. 
 The following terms are defined: 
 (1)  "Awardee" means a qualified business entity that has 
been awarded a grant under the program.  
 (2)  "Full-time equivalent employee" means any person 
that on average works 40 or more hours per week on behalf of the 
business entity in Utah. 
 (3)  "Profit & loss or equivalent financial statement" means 
official documents that, at a minimum, establish: 
 (a)  the business entity's name; 
 (b)  the timeframe the document represents; 
 (c)  gross revenue; 
 (d)  expenses; and 
 (c)  net income. 
 
R357-37-103.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by the office under the authority of 
Sections 63N-1-203 and 63N-1-402. 
 
R357-37-104.  Documentation Requirements. 
 (1)  An applicant shall submit to the office a: 
 (a)  signed W-9 form; 
 (b)  profit & loss or equivalent financial statement for; 
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 (i)  March 1, 2019 through November 30, 2019 if the 
business entity began operating prior to July 1, 2019; or 
 (ii)  July 1, 2019 through March 31, 2020  if the business 
entity began operating on or after July 1, 2019; and 
 (c)  profit & loss or equivalent financial statement for 
March 1, 2020 through November 30, 2020. 
 
R357-37-105.  Program Requirements. 
 (1)  The office will not issue a grant until all required 
information and documentation is submitted and approved, as 
determined by the office. Only complete applications will be 
considered submitted.  
 (2)  To qualify for a grant, applicants shall, at a minimum: 
 (a)  be substantially involved in the promotion of 
performing arts, sports, or similar events as determined by the office; 
 (b)  have experienced a Utah revenue decline related to 
COVID-19; 
 (c)  have employees physically located in Utah; 
 (d)  have fewer than 250 full-time equivalent employees; 
 (e)  establish that the use of funds will benefit Utah's 
economy; 
 (f)  verify grant funds will be spent before Dec. 30, 2020; 
 (g)  follow best practices to protect the health and safety of 
employees and customers; 

 (h)  submit to audits and information requests as reasonably 
requested by GOED or its designee; and 
 (i)  be a for-profit or non-profit business entity properly 
registered with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial 
Code; or 
 (ii)  a sole proprietor whose primary place of business is 
located in Utah. 
 (3)  Submitting an application does not guarantee funding.  
 
R357-34-106.  Maximum Award Calculation. 
 (1)  For a business entity whose revenue decline was: 
 (a)  50% or more, the lesser of 75% of revenue decline or 
$150,000; 
 (b)  more than 25% but less than 50%, the lesser of 50% of 
revenue decline or $100,000; or 
 (c)  25% or less, the lesser of 25% of revenue decline or 
$50,000. 
 
KEY:  Live Events Grant, COVID-19 assistance  
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  December 
14, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-1-203 
and 63N-1-402 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at https://rules.utah.gov/.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R154-2 Filing No. 50246 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Corporations and Commercial Code 
Building: Heber M Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
Mailing address: PO BOX 146705 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6705 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jason Sterzer 801-

530-
6403 

jsterzer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R154-2.  Utah Uniform Commercial Code, Revised Article 
9 Rules 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 70A, Chapter 9a, directs the Division of Corporations 
and Commercial Code (Division) to publish and implement 
rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received from either those 
supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As long as it is required or authorized by statute, the 
Division continue to renew the rule.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Jason Sterzer, 
Director 

Date: 12/10/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R384-415 Filing No. 50903 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Health Promotion 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Mailing address: PO Box 142106 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Braden Ainsworth 801-

538-
6187 

bainsworth@utah.gov 

Christy Cushing 801-
538-
6260 

ccushing@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R384-415.  Electronic-Cigarette Substance Standards 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This administrative rule is mandated by Section 26-57-103 
due to the passage of H.B. 415 during the 2015 General 
Session, requiring the Department of Health (Department) 
to establish labeling; nicotine content; packaging; and 
product quality standards for non-manufacturer sealed 
electronic cigarette substances. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received supporting or opposing 
this rule in the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Section 26-57-103 requires the continuation of this rule 
and the passage of S.B. 37, passed during the 2020 
General Session, funds the enforcement of this rule by 
Utah's 13 local health departments.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Richard G.  
Saunders, Interim 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 12/08/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R456-1 Filing No. 51136 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Heritage and Arts 

Agency: Indian Affairs 
Room no.: Suite A 
Building: Utah State Library 
Street address: 250 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Josh Loftin 801-

245-
7205 

jloftin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R456-1.  Native American Grave Protection and 
Repatriation 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Sections 9-9-403 and 9-9-405, 
the Native American Grave Protection and Repatriation Act, 
and Subsection 9-9-104(2)(c). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The continuation of this rule is justified because of 
agreements with tribes and federal rules that require the 
proper protection of graves and repatriation of remains as 
detailed in Sections 9-9-403 and 9-9-405. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Josh Loftin, Public 
Information 
Officer 

Date: 12/04/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-1 Filing No. 51242 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
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Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-1.  General Provisions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was established to set policy for its operation and 
for programs funded with state and federal money under 
Sections 17-43-201, 17-43-301, 17-43-304, and 62A-15-
110 as granted by Section 62A-15-105. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it establishes the 
overall standards on which all publicly funded behavioral 
health programs must build their services in order to 
receive continues federal, and state general funds for 
providing substance use and mental health services.  This 
rule also binds subcontractors to the standards set on the 
local authorities that receive public behavioral health 
funds. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-2 Filing No. 51243 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-2.  Local Mental Health Authorities and Local 
Substance Abuse Authorities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule provides overall guidance and procedures for the 
funding and programing requirements place on the local 
behavioral health authorities by the Division of Substance 
Abuse and Mental Health by as required in Section 62A-
15-105, and Subsections 62A-15-108(1), 62A-15-
611(2)(a), and 62A-15-902(2)(c). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it provides a large 
range of guidance to the publicly funded behavioral health 
provider network ran by the 29 counties that are contracted 
by the state to receive behavioral health federal and state 
funds.  These directions include: 
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(a)  Guidance on the priorities for treatment services. 
(b)  Guidance on the rights of individuals participating in 
services. 
(c)  A process for Local Mental Health Authorities (LMHAs) 
and Local Substance Abuse Authorities (LSAAs) to set 
policies on fees for service. 
(d)  Guidance on LMHA/LSAA program standards. 
(e)  Guidance on the formula for allocation of funding. 
(f)  Guidance on allocation of Utah State Hospital 
(Hospital) beds to LMHAs. 
(g)  Guidance on admission to the Hospital and 
coordination of care. 
(h)  Guidance on determining the proper LMHA under 
special situations. 
(i)  Guidance on transfer planning between LMHAs from 
the Hospital. 
(j)  Guidance on conflict resolution. 
(k)  Guidance on prohibited items and devices on the 
grounds of public mental health facilities. 
 
A large review of this rule started in FY2020, and a major 
revision is in the process of being submitted to the Office 
of Administrative Rules for public comment. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R523-2 is under Filing No. 53225 in this issue, January 1, 
2021, of the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/08/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-3 Filing No. 51245 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-3.  Screening, Assessment, Education and 
Treatment Standards for Court-referred Youth Under the 
Age of 21 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 62A-15-105(6) 
requiring the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health (Division) to provide form and content of screening, 
assessment, education, and treatment as defined in 
Section 41-6a-501. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute, and provides the standards for substance use 
disorder screening, assessment, treatment, and required 
educational series for court-referred youth under the age 
of 21 and sets forth the certification and documentation 
requirements of agencies certified by the Division as youth 
educational series and treatment programs. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-4 Filing No. 52826 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 



  FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 123 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-4.  Certification Requirements for Screening, 
Assessment, Prevention, Treatment and Recovery 
Support Programs for Adults 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsections 62A-15-103(2)(i) and 
62A-15-103(2)(j) requiring the Division of Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health to establish by rule, minimum standards 
and requirements for the provision of substance use disorder 
and mental health treatment for adults required to participate 
in treatment by the court or the Board of Pardons and Parole. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute and prescribes the minimum standards required for 
justice certification of mental health and substance use 
disorder providers serving adults participating in 
mandatory education and treatment programs designed to 
reduce criminogenic risk.  Also, an amendment to this rule 
was completed in FY 2021, and the amended rule was 
made effective on 08/13/2020. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-5 Filing No. 51254 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-5.  Peer Support Specialist Training and Certification 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is promulgated by the Utah Department of 
Human Services through the Division of Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health and currently state authorization by 
Subsection 62A-15-103(2)(v), which is technically correct, 
but an amendment needs to be made to add Subsection 
62A-15-103(h), which mandates rulemaking specifically 
for peer support services. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute, prescribes standards for certification of Peer 
Support Specialist Training programs, the qualifications 
required of instructors for providing Peer Support training, 
the requirements to become a Peer Support Specialist, 
and establishes guidelines for population specific peer 
support services.  These services are integral to the 
treatment of behavioral health disorders within the Utah 
public behavioral health network and are conducted by 
individuals with lived experiences that might not have had 
formal education in the behavioral health field.  These 
standards and requirements help to ensure individuals 
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receiving peer support services are able to obtain proper 
and effective interventions. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-6 Filing No. 51250 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-6.  Child/Family Peer Support Specialist Training 
and Certification 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is promulgated by the Utah Department of 
Human Services through the Division of Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health, and currently state authorization 
through Section 62A-15-402, which is incorrect due to 
changes in the statute over the years since the last review 
of this rule.  An amendment needs to be made to replace 
the stated authority with Subsection 62A-15-103(h), which 
mandates rulemaking specifically for peer support 
services. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute and prescribes standards for certification of Peer 
Support Specialist Training programs, the qualifications 
required of instructors for providing Peer Support training, 
the requirements to become a Child/Family Peer Support 
Specialist, and establishes guidelines for population 
specific Child/Family Peer Support Specialist services.  
These services are integral to the treatment of behavioral 
health disorders within the Utah public behavioral health 
network and are conducted by individuals with lived 
experiences that might not have had formal education in 
the behavioral health field.  These standards and 
requirements help to ensure individuals receiving peer 
support services are able to obtain proper and effective 
interventions. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-7 Filing No. 51249 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-7.  Certification of Designated Examiners and 
Certified Case Managers 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is promulgated under authority of Subsection 
62A-15-105(2). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it establishes 
certification, scope of practice and professional conduct 
requirements for both Designated Examiners and Case 
managers in the publicly funded behavioral health 
network.  Both of these positions/services are critical to the 
overall treatment continuum of care for individuals in 
substance use and mental health treatment settings.  
Designated Examiners are used to determine the need for 
commitment in the behavioral health network, and case 
managers provide a large array of supportive services that 
cannot be and are not billable under treatment for a 
behavioral health issue.  This rule does need to be 
updated because the citation for the definition of a 
designated examiner needs to change from Subsection 
62A-15-603(3) to Subsection 62A-15-602(6). 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-8 Filing No. 51251 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-8.  Medication, Psychosurgery and Electroshock 
Procedures for Children, Consumer Rights, Due Process, 
Family Involvement 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was established under authority of Section 62A-
15-105. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it establishes 
guidance on medication procedures for children, 
psychosurgery and electroshock therapy procedures for 
children, family Involvement in services provided to 
children, and on consumer rights.  These particular topics 
are highly controversial and have long reaching effects on 
the child and family seeking mental health services, as well 
as society in general.  This rule helps to ensure that 
publicly funded mental health agencies provided extreme 
interventions in a competent, ethical, and informed 
manner, having weighed all the cost to life and liberty for 
children who have no consent for themselves, and ensure 
that families are fully informed on the procedure and 
possible outcomes. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
 
 
 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

126 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 01 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-9 Filing No. 51253 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-9.  Evidence-Based Prevention Registry 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was established by the Division of Substance 
Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) as authorized by 
Subsection 32B-2-402(1)(f). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute, establishes the required definition of evidence-
based, and evidence-informed prevention.  It also 
prescribes standards for listing a prevention program or 
intervention on a statewide registry of evidence-based 
prevention programs.  These standards allow programing 
to expand and become more effective as research and 
practices are refined. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-10 Filing No. 51260 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-10.  Standards for Methadone Addiction Treatment 
Providers 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was established to set standards for providers of 
methadone and other opioid treatment medication 
services by authority granted in Subsection 62A-15-
105(5). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is mandated by 
statute and defines the program standards for critical 
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medication assisted management programs that are vital 
in providing treatment to individuals with an opioid use 
disorder. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-11 Filing No. 51265 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-11.  Utah Standards for Approval of Alcohol and 
Drug Educational Providers and Instructors for Court-
Referred DUI Offenders 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule established an educational series for individuals 
convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) as required 
by Subsections 62A-15-105(6) and 62A-15-103(2)(x). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute and standards for approval of Providers and 
certification of Instructors for providing alcohol and drug 
education to court-referred offenders convicted of a (DUI) 
violation, to ensure statewide continuity in services 
provided. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-12 Filing No. 51256 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-12.  On-Premise Alcohol Training and Education 
Seminar Rules of Administration 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was established under the authority of 
Subsection 62A-15-401(5) to administer an alcohol 
training and education seminar program for individuals 
who sell alcohol for on premise consumption. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute, requires every person who sells or furnishes 
alcoholic beverages to the public for on-premise 
consumption to complete a training seminar in the scope 
of the person's employment, defines certification of 
providers, approval of the seminar curriculum, the ongoing 
activities of providers, and the process for approval, 
denial, suspension, and revocation of provider 
certification. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-13 Filing No. 51258 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-13.  Off-Premise Retailer (Clerk, Licensee and 
Manager) Alcohol Training and Education Seminar Rules 
of Administration 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was established by Subsection 62A-15-40192)(f) 
for the purpose of administering an alcohol training and 
education seminar program for individuals who sell alcohol 
for off premise consumption. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute, requires every person who sells or furnishes 
alcoholic beverages to the public for off-premise 
consumption to complete a training seminar in the scope 
of the person's employment, defines certification of 
providers, approval of the seminar curriculum, the ongoing 
activities of providers, and the process for approval, 
denial, suspension, and revocation of provider 
certification. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R523-14 Filing No. 51255 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thom Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-14.  Suicide Prevention 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule states authority through Subsection 62A-15-
1101(8), but changes in statute has moved the rulewriting 
authority to Subsection 62A-15-1101(7) to implement a 
statewide suicide prevention program.  An update to this 
rule will be required. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments relating to this rule have been received over 
the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it is required by 
statute and sets forth the creation and function of the Utah 
Suicide Prevention Coalition and the Utah Behavioral 
Health Planning and Advisory Council. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Mark Brasher, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/07/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-200 Filing No. 51288 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 
Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Scott Weight 801-

741-
7435 

sweigh2@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R527-200.  Administrative Procedures 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 62A-11-107 authorizes the Office of Recovery 
Services (ORS) to adopt, amend, and enforce rules as 
may be necessary to carry out its legal responsibilities 
outlined in Title 62A, Chapter 11.  Section 63G-4-203 
requires ORS to implement, by administrative rule, 
procedures to perform informal adjudicative proceedings.  
This rule also outlines the procedures for reconsideration 
in accordance with Section 63G-4-302. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The statutes under which this rule was enacted are still in 
effect.  This rule is necessary to provide the procedures for 
informal adjudicative proceedings conducted by ORS, 
which includes sections on who presides over the hearing, 
service of notices of agency action, hearings, telephonic 
hearings, how to conduct the hearings, and agency review.  
This rule also provides information about reconsideration, 
while also limiting reconsideration to only one request 
during an informal adjudicative proceeding.  There is also 
additional information about setting aside and amending 
administrative orders, both establishment and paternity 
orders.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Liesa Stockdale, 
ORS Director 

Date: 11/24/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-250 Filing No. 51293 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 
Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Scott Weight 801-

741-
7435 

sweigh2@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R527-250.  Emancipation 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 62A-11-107 authorizes the Office of Recovery 
Services (ORS) to adopt, amend, and enforce 
administrative rules.  This rule was enacted to clarify 
language found in Section 78B-12-219 to define a "child's 
normal and expected year of graduation" as it applies to 
emancipation in relation to child support.  Sections 62A-
11-303, 62A-11-401, and 78B-12-102 all provide 
definitions for terms used in this rule such as child, child 
support, child support order, and parent. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the 
implementation of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The statutes under which this rule was enacted are still in 
effect and this rule is necessary to provide ORS 
employees guidance on making a determination of a 
child's date of emancipation.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Liesa Stockdale, 
ORS Director 

Date: 11/24/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-233 Filing No. 51413 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 3110 
Building: State Office Building 
Street address: 450 N State St 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

538-
3803 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-233.  Health Benefit Plan Insurance Standards 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 31A-2-201(3)(a) authorizes rules to implement 
Title 31A, Insurance Code.  Sections 31A-2-202 and 31A-
23a-412 authorize the Insurance Commissioner to request 
reports, conduct examinations, and inspect records of any 
licensee.  Subsection 31A-22-605(4) requires the 
Insurance Commissioner to adopt rules to establish 
standards for disclosure in the sale of, and benefits to be 
provided by, individual and franchise accident and health 
policies.  Section 31A-22-623 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to establish by rule minimum standards of 
coverage for dietary products for inborn metabolic errors.  
Section 31A-22-626 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to establish by rule minimum standards of 
coverage for diabetes for accident and health insurance.  
Subsection 31A-23a-402(8) authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to define by rule acts and practices that are 
unfair and unreasonable.  Subsection 31A-26-301(a) 
authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to set standards 
for timely payment of claims. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The purpose of this rule is to provide reasonable 
standardization and simplification of terms and coverages 
of insurance policies to facilitate public understanding and 
comparison, and to prohibit provisions that may be 
misleading or confusing in connection either with the 
purchase of such coverages or with the settlement of 
claims, and to provide for full disclosure in the sale of such 
insurance.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 12/03/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R623-4 Filing No. 51516 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Lieutenant Governor 
Agency: Elections 
Room no.: Suite 220 
Building: Utah State Capitol 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Mailing address: PO Box 142325 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2325 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Justin Lee 801-

538-
1129 

justinlee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R623-4.  Processing Partisan Candidate Nomination 
Petitions 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is required by Subsection 20A-9-403(3)(f) and 
Section 20A-9-410.  This rule provides for the transparent 
orderly, and timely submission, verification, and 
certification of nomination petition signatures. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by law.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Justin Lee, 
Director of  
Elections 

Date: 12/10/2020 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R652-2 Filing No. 51686 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Forestry, Fire and State Lands 
Room no.: 352 
Building: DNR 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
Mailing address: PO BOX 145703 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-5703 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Brianne Emery 385-

239-
0791 

brianneemery@utah.gov 

Jamie Barnes 385-
222-
1536 

jamiebarnes@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R652-2.  Sovereign Lands Management Objectives 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule implements Sections 65A-1-2 and 65A-10-1 which 
authorize the Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands to 
prescribe the general land management objectives for 
sovereign lands. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule gives the Division of Forestry, Fire and State 
Lands the authority to prescribe land management 
objectives for sovereign lands within the state.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Brian Cottam, 
Director 

Date: 12/10/2020 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 

RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  53103  (Amendment)  R68-29:  Quality Assurance 
Testing on Cannabis 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/18/2020 
 
No.  53110  (New Rule)  R68-32:  Sale and Transfer of 
Industrial Hemp Waste Material to Medical Cannabis 
Cultivators 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/18/2020 
 
 
Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No.  53108  (Amendment)  R156-11a:  Cosmetology and 
Associated Professions Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/17/2020 
 
No.  53102  (Amendment)  R156-46a:  Hearing Instrument 
Specialist Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/10/2020 
 
No.  53162  (Repeal)  R156-82:  Electronic Prescribing Act 
Rule 
Published:  11/15/2020 
Effective:  12/24/2020 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  53111  (Amendment)  R277-462:  School Counseling 
Program 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 

No.  53112  (Amendment)  R277-494:  Charter, Online, 
Home, and Private School Student Participation in 
Extracurricular or Co-curricular School Activities 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 
No.  53107  (Repeal)  R277-508:  Employment of Substitute 
Teachers 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 
No.  53113  (Repeal)  R277-611:  Certified Volunteer 
Instructors and Material Approval Requirements and Process 
for Firearm Safety in the Public Schools 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 
No.  53114  (Amendment)  R277-616:  Education for 
Homeless and Emancipated Students 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 
No.  53106  (Amendment)  R277-706:  Public Education 
Regional Service Centers 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 
No.  53109  (Amendment)  R277-752:  Special Education 
Intensive Services Fund 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 
Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 
No.  53056  (Amendment)  R307-110-17:  Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part H, Emission 
Limits 
Published:  10/01/2020 
Effective:  12/03/2020 
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Water Quality 
No.  53043  (Amendment)  R317-2:  Standards of Quality for 
Waters of the State 
Published:  09/15/2020 
Effective:  12/03/2020 
 
 
Health 
Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental Services 
No.  53095  (New Rule)  R392-105:  Agritourism Food 
Establishment Sanitation 
Published:  10/15/2020 
Effective:  12/21/2020 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  53161  (Amendment)  R414-49:  Dental, Oral and 
Maxillofacial Surgeons and Orthodontia 
Published:  11/15/2020 
Effective:  01/01/2021 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  53178  (Amendment)  R590-281:  License Applications 
Submitted by Individuals Who Have a Criminal Conviction 
Published:  11/15/2020 
Effective:  12/23/2020 
 
 
Lieutenant Governor 
Elections 
No.  52996  (Amendment)  R623-4:  Processing Partisan 
Candidate Nomination Petitions 
Published:  10/15/2020 
Effective:  12/08/2020 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  53118  (Repeal)  R657-48:  Wildlife Sensitive Species 
Published:  11/15/2020 
Effective:  12/23/2020 
 
 
Navajo Trust Fund 
Trustees 
No.  53000  (New Rule)  R661-21:  Electronic Meetings 
Published:  08/15/2020 
Effective:  12/08/2020 
 
No.  53001  (New Rule)  R661-23:  Adult Education Program 
GED Financial Aid 
Published:  08/15/2020 
Effective:  12/08/2020 

 
 
Public Service Commission 
Administration 
No.  53104  (New Rule)  R746-315:  Wildland Fire Protection 
Plans 
Published:  11/01/2020 
Effective:  12/09/2020 
 
 
System of Technical Colleges (Utah) 
Southwest Technical College 
No.  52994  (Amendment)  R957-1:  Student Due Process 
Published:  08/15/2020 
Effective:  12/09/2020 
 
 
Tax Commission 
Auditing 
No.  53093  (Amendment)  R865-19S-12:  Filing of Returns 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-12-107 and 59-12-
118 
Published:  10/15/2020 
Effective:  11/30/2020 
 
Motor Vehicle 
No.  53062  (Amendment)  R873-22M-34:  Rule for Denial of 
Personalized Plate Requests Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 41-1a-104 and 41-1a-411 
Published:  10/15/2020 
Effective:  11/30/2020 
 
Property Tax 
No.  53092  (Amendment)  R884-24P-53:  2020 Valuation 
Guides for Valuation of Land Subject to the Farmland 
Assessment Act 
Published:  10/15/2020 
Effective:  11/30/2020 
 
 
Transportation 
Administration 
No.  53088  (Amendment)  R907-80:  Disposition of Surplus 
Land 
Published:  10/15/2020 
Effective:  12/01/2020 
 
Operations, Traffic and Safety 
No.  53061  (Amendment)  R920-8:  Flashing Light Usage on 
Highway Construction or Maintenance Vehicles 
Published:  10/01/2020 
Effective:  12/16/2020 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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