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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between July 02, 2021, 12:00 a.m., and July 15, 
2021, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the August 01, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least August 31, 2021.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through November 29, 2021, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R35-1 Filing ID 
53712 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Records Committee 
Building: State Archives 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kendra Yates 801-

531-
3856 

kendrayates@utah.gov 

Rebekkah Shaw 801-
531-
3851 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R35-1.  State Records Committee Appeal Hearing 
Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
These amendments are intended to facilitate the handling 
of electronic records provided for in camera review, and to 
narrow the focus of presentations to issues within the 
committee's purview. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendment to Subsection R35-1-2(5)(b) provides the 
option of destroying records provided to the Committee for 
in camera review, which is often preferable to returning the 
records when the records are in an electronic format.  The 
amendment to Subsection R35-1-2(2) specifies 
parameters for the topics discussed in presentations. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment has no fiscal impact on state budget 
because it is only administrative in nature. 

B)  Local governments: 

This amendment has no fiscal impact on local 
governments because it is only administrative and internal 
in nature. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This amendment has no fiscal impact on small businesses 
because it is only administrative and internal in nature. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment has no fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses because it is only administrative and internal 
in nature. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment has no fiscal impact on persons because 
it is only administrative in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no cost for complying with these changes 
because they are only administrative in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This change will not have a fiscal impact on businesses, 
as it is only administrative in nature and clarifies processes 
around hearings and utilizing staff as they are in their 
current roles.  Jenny Rees, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63G-2-502(2)(a) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

8/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams, 
Director 

Date: 06/10/2021 

 
R35.  Government Operations, Records Committee. 
R35-1.  State Records Committee Appeal Hearing Procedures. 
R35-1-1.  Scheduling Committee Meetings. 
 (1)  The Executive Secretary shall respond in writing to the 
notice of appeal within seven business days. 
 (2)  Two weeks prior to the Committee meeting or appeal 
hearing, the Executive Secretary shall post a notice of the meeting on 
the Utah Public Notice Website. 
 (3)  One week prior to the Committee meeting or appeal 
hearing, the Executive Secretary shall post a notice of the meeting, 
indicating the agenda, date, time, and place of the meeting at the 
building where the meeting is to be held and at the Utah State 
Archives. 
 
R35-1-2.  Procedures for Appeal Hearings. 
 (1)  The meeting shall be called to order by the Committee 
Chair. 
 (2)  Testimony shall be presented by the petitioner and the 
governmental entity.  Presentations shall be limited to records access 
issues and alleged unreasonable denials of requests for fee waivers.  
Each party shall be allowed twenty minutes to present testimony and 
evidence, to call witnesses, and to respond to questions from 
Committee members. 
 (3)  Witnesses providing testimony shall be sworn in by the 
Committee Chair. 
 (4)  Questioning of the witnesses and parties by Committee 
members is permitted. 
 (5)  The governmental entity must bring the disputed 
records to the hearing to allow the Committee to view records in 
camera if it deems an in camera inspection necessary pursuant to 
63G-2-403(9). 
 (a)  If the records withheld are voluminous or the 
governmental entity contends they have not been identified with 
reasonable specificity, the governmental entity shall notify the 
Committee via the Executive Secretary and the adverse party at least 
two days before the hearing and obtain approval from the Committee 
Chair to bring a representative sample of the potentially responsive 
records to the hearing, if it is possible to do so. 
 (b)  Records provided by the governmental entity for in 
camera review by the Committee remain in the custody of the 
governmental entity. Records for in camera review are retained by 
the Committee for only the period of in camera review and all records 
are returned to the governmental entity or destroyed, provided they 
are not the record copy, at the conclusion of the in camera review. 
 (6)  Third party presentations may be permitted.  Prior to 
the hearing, the third party shall notify the Executive Secretary of 
intent to present.  Third party presentations shall be limited to five 
minutes, and must be presented prior to closing arguments. 
 (7)  Closing arguments may be presented by the petitioner 
and the governmental entity.  Each party shall be allowed five 
minutes to present a closing argument and make rebuttal statements. 
 (8)  After presentation of the evidence, the Committee shall 
commence deliberations.  A Committee Member shall make a motion 
to grant or to deny the petitioner's request in whole or in part.  
Following discussion of the motion, the Committee Chair shall call 
for the question.  The motion shall serve as the basis for the 
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Committee Decision and Order.  The Committee shall vote and make 
public the decision of the Committee during the hearing. 
 (9)  The Committee may adjourn, reschedule, continue, or 
reopen a hearing on the motion of a member. 
 (10)  Except as expressly authorized by law, there shall be 
no communication between the parties and the members of the 
Committee concerning the subject matter of the appeal before the 
hearing or prior to the issuance of a final Decision And Order.  Any 
other oral or written communication from the parties to the members 
of the Committee, or from the members of the Committee to the 
parties, shall be directed to the Executive Secretary for transmittal. 
 (11)  The following provisions govern any meeting at 
which one or more members of the Committee or a party appears 
telephonically or electronically, pursuant to Section 52-4-207. 
 (a)  The anchor location is the physical location from which 
the electronic meeting originates or from which the participants are 
connected.  The anchor location, unless otherwise designated in the 
notice, shall be at the offices of the Division of State Archives, Salt 
Lake City, Utah. 
 (b)  If one or more Committee members or parties may be 
participating electronically or telephonically, public notices of the 
meeting shall so indicate.  In addition, the notice shall specify the 
anchor location where the members of the Committee not 
participating electronically or telephonically will be meeting and 
where interested persons and the public may attend and monitor the 
open portions of the meeting. 
 (c)  When notice is given of the possibility of a member of 
the Committee appearing electronically or telephonically, any 
member of the Committee may do so and shall be counted as present 
for purposes of a quorum and may fully participate and vote on any 
matter coming before the Committee.  At the commencement of the 
meeting, or at such time as any member of the Committee initially 
appears electronically or telephonically, the Committee Chair shall 
identify for the record each of those who are appearing telephonically 
or electronically.  Votes by members of the Committee who are not 
at the physical location of the meeting shall be confirmed by the 
Committee Chair. 
 (12)(a)  Pursuant to Subsection 63G-2-401(5)(c) a 
petitioner may request a postponement of a hearing, with the 
consensus of the governmental entity.  If the petitioner wishes to 
postpone the hearing or withdraw the appeal, the petitioner shall 
notify the Committee via the Executive Secretary and the 
governmental entity in writing no later than five days prior to the 
scheduled hearing date. 
 (b)  The Committee Chair has the discretion to grant or 
deny a petitioner's request to postpone a hearing based upon:  (i) the 
reasons given by the petitioner in his or her request, (ii) the timeliness 
of the request, (iii) whether petitioner has previously requested and 
received a postponement, (iv) any other factor determined to protect 
the equitable interests of the parties.  If the request is granted, the 
Chair shall instruct the Executive Secretary to schedule the appeal for 
the next available hearing date pursuant to 63G-2-403(4)(a). 
 (c)  The Chair will ordinarily deny a governmental entity's 
request to postpone the hearing, unless the governmental entity has 
obtained the petitioner's prior consent to reschedule the hearing date. 
 
R35-1-3.  Issuing the Committee Decision and Order. 
 (1)  The Decision and Order shall be signed by the 
Committee Chair and distributed by the Executive Secretary within 
seven business days after the hearing.  Copies of each Decision and 
Order shall be distributed to the petitioner, the governmental entity 
and other interested parties.  The original order shall be maintained 

by the Executive Secretary.  A copy of the order shall be made 
available for public access at the Utah State Archives website. 
 
R35-1-4.  Committee Minutes. 
 (1)  Purpose.  Section 52-4-203 requires any public body to 
establish and implement procedures for the public body's approval of 
the written minutes of each meeting.  This rule establishes procedures 
for the State Records Committee to approve the written minutes of 
each meeting. 
 (2)  Authority.  This rule is enacted under the authority of 
Sections 52-4-203, 63G-3-201, and 63A-12. 
 (3)  Meetings of the Committee shall be recorded.  The 
recording of the open meeting shall be made available to the public 
within three business days.  Access to the audio recordings shall be 
provided by the Executive Secretary on the Utah Public Notice 
Website. 
 (4)  Approved written minutes shall be the official record 
of the meetings and appeal hearings and shall be maintained by the 
Executive Secretary. 
 (a)  Written minutes shall be read by members prior to the 
next scheduled meeting, including electronic meetings. 
 (b)  Written minutes from meetings shall be made available 
no later than one week prior to the date of the next regularly 
scheduled Committee meeting. 
 (c)  When minutes are complete but awaiting official 
approval, they are a public record and must be marked as "Draft." 
 (d)  At the next meeting, at the direction of the Committee 
Chair, minutes shall be amended and/or approved with individual 
votes recorded in the minutes.  The minutes shall be then marked as 
"Approved." 
 (e)  When the minutes are "Approved" they will be so noted 
in the printed and online versions.  A copy of the approved minutes 
shall be made available for public access on the Utah Public Notice 
Website. 
 
KEY:  government documents, state records committee, records 
appeal hearings 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[August 7, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 3, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2-
401(5)(c); 63G-2-403(9); 63G-2-403(4)(a); 63G-2-201; 63A-12-
101; 52-4-203 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R58-1 Filing ID 
53678 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 5 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Leann Hunting 801-
982-
2242 

leannhunting@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-1.  Admission, Identification, and Inspection of 
Livestock, Poultry, and other Animals 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to clarify and expand the 
requirements for captive Cervidae entering Utah.  
Additional changes have been made to make the rule text 
more consistent with the requirements of the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Changes are made to clarify the requirements for captive 
Cervidae entering Utah, as well as specify requirements 
for captive caribou entering Utah and captive Canadian 
Cervidae entering Utah.  Nonsubstantive changes, 
including capitalization, grammar, and punctuation are 
also made to make this rule more consistent with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes merely clarify existing requirements and 
practices of the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department), rather than add or remove requirements.  
No fiscal impact to the state budget is anticipated. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes should not impact local governments 
because they do not import or own Cervidae in Utah. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to small businesses 
because the requirements for bringing animals into Utah 
are being clarified and have not changed. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to non-small businesses 
because the requirements for bringing animals into Utah 
are being clarified and have not changed. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should be no fiscal impact to other persons because 
the requirements for bringing animals into Utah are being 
clarified and have not changed. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs will not be impacted because the fees 
and requirements imposed by the department will not 
change. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will not have a fiscal impact on business.  Craig 
W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-2-103  Title 4, 

Chapter 31 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/07/2021 

 

R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-1.  Admission, Identification, and Inspection of Livestock, 
Poultry, and Other Animals. 
R58-1-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under the authority of Title 4, Chapter 31, 
Control of Animal Disease, and Subsections 4-2-103(1)(c)(i), and 4-2-
103(1)(i). 
 (2)  It is the intent of these rules to eliminate or reduce the 
spread of diseases among animals by providing standards to be met in 
the movement of animals within [the State of ]Utah and the importation 
of animals into the state. 
 
R58-1-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Accredited Veterinarian" means a veterinarian approved 
by the Deputy Administrator of Veterinary Services (VS), Animal and 
Plant Health Inspection Services (APHIS), United States Department of 
Agriculture (USDA), in accordance with the provisions of 9 CFR 161 
to perform functions required by cooperative State-Federal disease 
control and eradication programs. 
 (2)  "Animal identification number (AIN)" means a 
numbering system for the official identification of individual animals in 
the United States that provides a nationally unique identification number 
for each animal.  The AIN consists of 15 digits, with the first 3 being the 
country code (840 for the United States or a unique country code for any 
U.S. territory that has such a code and elects to use it in place of the 840 
code). 
 (3)  "Animals" means [all ]vertebrates, except humans. 
 (4)  "Approved livestock facility" means a stockyard, 
livestock market, buying station, concentration point, or any other 
premises under [S]state or [F]federal veterinary inspection where 
livestock are assembled and that has been approved by the 
[D]department. 
 (5)  "Approved Livestock Market" means a livestock market 
that is licensed by the [D]department under Title 4, Chapter 30, 
Livestock Markets. 
 (6)  "Approved Slaughter Establishment" means a [S]state or 
[F]federally inspected slaughter establishment at which ante-mortem 
and post-mortem inspection is conducted by [S]state or [F]federal 
inspectors. 
 (7)  "Approved tagging site" means a premises, authorized by 
[D]department, where livestock may be officially identified on behalf of 
their owner or the person in possession, care, or control of the animals 
when they are brought to the premises. 
 (8)  "Brand Inspection Certificate" means an official form, 
issued by a government agency or other agency responsible for animal 
identification in the state of origin, used to transfer title of livestock; 
listing the identification marks of the animals[(s)] as well as the 
consignor and consignee contact information. 
 (9)  "Camelidae" means a term referring to members of the 
family of animals which for the purposes of these rules includes camels 
([C]camelus dromedarius and [C]camelus bactrianus), llamas ([L]lama 
glama), alpacas ([V]vicugna pacos) , guanacos ([L]lama guanicoe), and 
vicunas ([V]vicugna vicugna). 
 (10)  "Captive Cervidae" means a term referring to members 
of the family of animals which for the purposes of these rules includes 
captive bred [C]caribou ([R]reindeer ([R]rangifer tarandus)), captive 
bred [E]elk ([C]cervus canadensis nelsoni), and captive bred [F]fallow 
deer ([D]dama dama) or any other captive bred cervidae allowed with 
permission from the State Veterinarian and the Utah Division of Wildlife 
Resources. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 7 

 (11)  "Certificate of Veterinary Inspection" means an official 
paper or electronic form completed by an accredited veterinarian that 
has examined the animal or animals listed on the certificate and has 
completed [all]any disease testing or vaccinations as required. 
 (12)  "Commuter herd" means a herd of cattle located in two 
or more states that is documented as a valid ranching operation by those 
states in which the herd is located and which requires movement of 
cattle interstate from a farm of origin or returned interstate to a farm of 
origin in the course of normal ranching operations, without change of 
ownership, directly to or from another premise owned, leased, or rented 
by the same individual. 
 (13)  "Commuter herd agreement" means a written agreement 
between the owner[(s)] of a herd of cattle and the animal health officials 
for the [S]states or [T]tribes of origin and destination specifying the 
conditions required for the interstate movement from one premises to 
another in the course of normal livestock management operations and 
specifying the time period, up to [1]one year, that the agreement is 
effective.  A commuter herd agreement may be renewed annually. 
 (14)  "Dairy cattle" means a[ll]ny cattle, regardless of age or 
sex or current use, that are of a breed[(s)] used to produce milk or other 
dairy products for human consumption, including[, but not limited to,] 
[A]ayrshire, [B]brown [S]swiss, [H]holstein, [J]jersey, [G]guernsey, 
[M]milking [S]shorthorn, and [R]red and [W]whites. 
 (15)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (16)  "Designated [b]Brucellosis surveillance area" means an 
area within a state that has been designated by the animal health official 
of that state as an area of increased disease risk for bovine 
[b]Brucellosis. 
 (17)  "Direct Movement" means the movement in which the 
animals are not unloaded enroute to their final destination, except for 
stops of less than 24 hours to feed, water, or rest the animals being 
moved, and not commingled with another producer's animals. 
 (18)  "Exotic animal" means a rare or unusual animal pet or 
an animal, not commonly thought of as a pet, kept within a human 
household.  For this chapter, rodents, reptiles, and amphibians are 
considered exotic animals. 
 (19)  "Exposed Animal" means an animal that has been in 
contact with or on the same premises of or within a quarantine zone 
where animals with a contagious or communicable disease are present. 
 (20)  "Farm of Origin" means the farm where the animal was 
born and remains prior to importation into the state. 
 (21)  "Flock-based number system" means the flock-based 
number system that combines a flock identification number (FIN) with 
a producer's unique livestock production numbering system to provide 
a nationally unique identification number for an animal. 
 (22)  "Flock identification number (FIN)" means a nationally 
unique number assigned by a [S]state, [T]tribal, or [F]federal animal 
health authority to a group of animals that are managed as a unit on one 
or more premises and are under the same ownership. 
 (23)  "Group/lot identification number (GIN)" means the 
identification number used to uniquely identify a "unit of animals" of 
the same species that is managed together as one group throughout the 
preharvest production chain. 
 (24)  "Import Permit" means a number given by the 
[D]department to the issuing veterinarian that is recorded on the 
certificate of veterinary inspection and is required before movement of 
the animals into the state. 
 (25)  "Interstate movement" means movement of animals 
from one [S]state into or through any other [S]state. 
 (26)  "Livestock Market Veterinarian" means a Utah licensed 
and USDA accredited veterinarian appointed by the [Utah Department 

of Agriculture and Food]department to work at approved livestock 
markets. 
 (27)  "Location identification (LID) number" means a 
nationally unique number issued by a [S]state, [T]tribal, [and/]or 
[F]federal animal health authority to a location as determined by the 
[S]state or [T]tribe in which it is issued.  The LID number may be used 
in conjunction with a producer's own unique livestock production 
numbering system to provide a nationally unique and herd-unique 
identification number for an animal.  It may also be used as a component 
of a group/lot identification number (GIN). 
 (28)  "National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES)" means 
a numbering system for the official identification of individual animals 
in the United States that provides a nationally unique identification 
number for each animal. 
 (29)  "Official Calfhood Vaccinate" means female bison or 
cattle vaccinated by a USDA Veterinary Services representative, [S]state 
certified technician, or accredited veterinarian with an approved dose of 
RB51 vaccine or other USDA approved agent while from 4 to 12 
months of age in accordance with its labeling.  These cattle [must]shall 
be properly identified by official tattoos and ear tag or registration tattoo 
and be reported on an official vaccination certificate (VS Form 4-24) 
within 30 days to the State Veterinarian. 
 (30)  "Official eartag" means an identification tag approved 
by the [D]department that bears an official identification number for 
individual animals.  The official eartag [must]shall be tamper-resistant 
and have a high retention rate in the animal. 
 (31)  "Official eartag shield" means the shield shaped graphic 
of the U.S. Route Shield with "U.S." or the State postal abbreviation or 
[T]tribal alpha code imprinted within the shield. 
 (32)  "Official identification device or method" means a 
means approved by the [D]department of applying an official 
identification number to an animal of a specific species or associating 
an official identification number with an animal or group of animals of 
a specific species or otherwise officially identifying an animal or group 
of animals. 
 (33)  "Official identification number" means a nationally 
unique number that is permanently associated with an animal or group 
of animals. 
 (34)  "Officially identified" means identified by means of an 
official identification device or method approved by the [D]department. 
 (35)  "Poultry" means domestic fowl [(]such as chickens, 
turkeys, ducks, geese, and guinea and pea fowl[)], pigeons and doves, 
pheasants and other gamebirds, and ratites. 
 (36)  "Premises identification number (PIN)" means a 
nationally unique number assigned by a [S]state, [T]tribal, [and/]or 
[F]federal animal health authority to a premises that is, in the judgment 
of the [S]state, [T]tribal, [and/]or [F]federal animal health authority a 
geographically distinct location from other premises. 
 (37)  "Qualified Feedlot" means a feedlot approved by the 
[Utah Department of Agriculture and Food]department to handle 
heifers, cows, or bulls [which]that are either official calfhood 
vaccinated, or [b]Brucellosis unvaccinated animals confined to a drylot 
area [which]that is used to upgrade or finish feeding animals going only 
to slaughter or another qualified feedlot.  [All such a]Animals 
[must]shall be kept separate from other animals not destined for 
slaughter. 
 (38)  "Quarantine" means a verbal or written restriction of 
movement of animals into or out of an area or premise, issued by a State 
Animal Health Official. 
 (39)  "Reactor" means any animal that has been determined 
by a designated [b]Brucellosis epidemiologist to be infected with 
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[b]Brucellosis based on test results, herd[/] or flock history, [and/]or 
culture results. 
 (40)  "Suspect" means any animal that may be infected with a 
contagious, infectious, or communicable disease based on test results 
[and/]or herd[/] or flock history. 
 (41)  "Test Eligible Cattle and Bison" means [all ]cattle or 
bison six months of age or older, except: 
 [1.](a)  [S]steers, spayed heifers; or 
 [2.](b)  [O]official calfhood vaccinates of any breed under 24 
months of age [which]that are not parturient, springers, or post 
parturient. 
 (42)  "United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) 
approved backtag" means a backtag issued by APHIS that provides a 
temporary unique identification for each animal. 
 (43)  "Zoological animal" means an animal kept at a 
zoological garden (zoo) or other exhibition that is inspected on a regular 
basis by the [United States Department of Agriculture]USDA. 
 
R58-1-3.  Official Identification Devices and Methods. 
 (1)  Any [S]state, [T]tribe, accredited veterinarian, or other 
person or entity who distributes official identification devices 
[must]shall maintain for [5]five years a record of the names and 
addresses of anyone to whom the devices were distributed. 
 (2)  An official identification number is a nationally unique 
number that is permanently associated with an animal or group of 
animals and that adheres to one of the following systems: 
 (a)  National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES)[.]; 
 (b)  Animal identification number (AIN)[.]; 
 (c)  [L]location-based number system[.]; 
 (d)  [F]flock-based number system[.]; or 
 (e)  [A]any other numbering system approved by the animal 
health official of the state of origin for the official identification of 
animals. 
 (3)  The [D]department has approved the following official 
identification devices or methods for the species listed. 
 (a)  The [D]department may authorize the use of additional 
devices or methods for a specific species if the [D]department 
determines that [such]the additional devices or methods will provide for 
adequate traceability. 
 (4)  Cattle and bison that are required to be officially identified 
for interstate movement must be identified by means of: 
 (a)  [A]an official eartag; or 
 (b)  [B]brands registered with a recognized brand inspection 
authority and accompanied by an official brand inspection certificate, 
when agreed to by the shipping and receiving [S]state or [T]tribal animal 
health authorities; or 
 (c)  [T]tattoos and other identification methods acceptable to 
a breed association for registration purposes, accompanied by a breed 
registration certificate, when agreed to by the shipping and receiving 
[S]state or [/T]tribal animal health authorities; or 
 (d)  [G]group[/] or lot identification when a group[/] or lot 
identification number (GIN)  may be used. 
 (5)  Horses and other equine species that are required to be 
officially identified for interstate movement [must]shall be identified by 
one of the following methods: 
 (a)  [A]a description sufficient to identify the individual 
equine including[, but not limited to,] name, age, breed, color, gender, 
distinctive markings, and unique and permanent forms of identification 
when present [(e.g.,]such as brands, tattoos, scars, cowlicks, blemishes 
or biometric measurements[)];[ or] 
 (b)  [E]electronic identification that complies with ISO 
11784/11785;[ or] 

 (c)  [N]non-ISO electronic identification injected to the 
equine on or before June 30, 2013; or 
 (d)  [D]digital photographs sufficient to identify the individual 
equine. 
 (6)  Poultry that are required to be officially identified for 
interstate movement [must]shall be identified by one of the following 
methods: 
 (a)  [S]sealed and numbered leg bands; or 
 (b)  [G]group[/] and lot identification when a group/lot 
identification number (GIN) may be used. 
 (7)  [S]sheep and goats that are required to be officially 
identified for interstate movement must be identified by one of the 
following methods: 
 (a)  [E]electronic implants when accompanied by a certificate 
or owner statement that includes the electronic implant numbers and the 
name of the chip manufacturer;[ or] 
 (b)  [O]official eartags, including tags approved for use in the 
Scrapie Flock Certification Program or APHIS-approved premises 
identification number eartags when combined with a unique animal 
identification number;[ or] 
 (c)  United States Department of Agriculture backtags or 
official premises identification backtags that include a unique animal 
identification number, when used on sheep or goats moving directly to 
slaughter and when applied within 3 inches of the poll on the dorsal 
surface of the head or neck;[ or] 
 (d)  [L]legible official registry tattoos that have been recorded 
in the book of record of a sheep or goat registry association when the 
animal is accompanied by either a registration certificate or a certificate 
of veterinary inspection. 
[ (i)]  These tattoos may also be used as premises identification 
if they contain a unique premises prefix that has been linked in the 
National Scrapie Database with the assigned premises identification 
number of the flock of origin;[ or] 
 (e)  [P]premises identification eartags or tattoos, if the 
premises identification method includes a unique animal number or is 
combined with a flock eartag that has a unique animal number and the 
animal is accompanied by an owner statement;[ or] 
 (f)  [P]premises identification when premises identification is 
allowed and the animal is accompanied by an owner statement; or 
 (g)  [A]any other official identification method or device 
approved by the animal health official of the state of origin. 
 (8)  Swine that are required to be officially identified for 
interstate movement [must]shall be identified by one of the following 
methods: 
 (a)  [O]official eartags;[ or] 
 (b)  [United States Department of Agriculture]USDA 
backtags, when used on swine moving to slaughter;[ or] 
 (c)  [O]official swine tattoos, when used on swine moving to 
slaughter;[ or] 
 (d)  [E]ear notching when used on any swine, if the ear 
notching has been recorded in the book of record of a purebred registry 
association;[ or] 
 (e)  [T]tattoos on the ear or inner flank of any swine, if the 
tattoos have been recorded in the book of record of a swine registry 
association; 
 (f)  [F]for slaughter swine and feeder swine, an eartag or tattoo 
bearing the premises identification number assigned by the [S]state 
animal health official to the premises on which the swine originated;[ 
or] 
 (g)  [A]any other official identification device or method that 
is approved by the animal health official of the state of origin; or 
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 (h)  [G]group[/] or lot identification when a group[/] or lot 
identification number (GIN) may be used. 
 (9)  Captive cervids that are required to be officially identified 
for interstate movement [must]shall be identified by one of the 
following methods: 
 (a)  [O]official eartag[;] and 
[ (b)  A] a tattoo that is placed peri-anally or inside the right ear 
and consists of a number assigned by the animal health official of the 
state of origin; or 
 (c)  [A]a microchip that has been placed in the right ear. 
 
R58-1-4.  Intrastate Cattle Movement - Rules - Brucellosis. 
 (1)  The State Veterinarian may require [b]Brucellosis testing 
of cattle, bison, and elk, moving intrastate as necessary to protect against 
potential disease threat or outbreak. 
 (2)  [Utah Department of Agriculture and Food 
Livestock]department [I]inspectors will help regulate intrastate 
movement of cattle according to Brucellosis rules at the time of change 
of ownership inspection. 
 
R58-1-5.  Interstate Importation Standards. 
 (1)  No animal, poultry, or bird of any species or other animal 
including wildlife, that is known to be affected with or has been exposed 
to a contagious, infectious, or communicable disease, or that originates 
from a quarantined area, shall be shipped, transported, or moved into the 
State of Utah until written permission for [such ]entry is first obtained 
from the [United States Department of Agriculture]USDA, Animal and 
Plant Health Inspection Service, Veterinary Services Division, and the 
[Utah Department of Agriculture and Food]department, State 
Veterinarian, or Commissioner of Agriculture. 
 (a)  Failure to obtain written permission may result in a 
citation. 
 (2)  An official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued by 
an accredited veterinarian is required for importation of [all]any 
animals. 
 (3)  A copy of the certificate shall be immediately forwarded 
to the [Utah Department of Agriculture and Food]department by the 
issuing veterinarian or the animal health official of the state of origin 
within [7]seven calendar days from date on which the Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection or other document is received or issued. 
 (4)  Import permits for livestock, poultry, and other animals 
may be obtained by telephone or via the internet to the accredited 
veterinarian responsible for issuing a Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection. 
 (5)  Certificates of Veterinary Inspection are considered valid 
for 30 days from the date of inspection. 
 
R58-1-6.  Cattle and Bison. 
 (1)  A Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and an import 
permit [must]shall accompany [all]any cattle and bison imported into 
the state. 
 (2)  [All]Any cattle and bison [must]shall carry some form of 
individual identification as listed in Subsection R58-1-3(4). 
 (a)  Individual identification [must]shall be listed on the 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (i)  Official individual identification used for testing purposes 
[must]shall be shown on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection; or 
 (ii)  [A]a copy of the official [b]Brucellosis or [t]Tuberculosis 
test sheets [must]shall be stapled to each copy of the Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection. 
 (b)  [All]Any cattle and bison imported into Utah from 
Canada, except those imported directly to slaughter, [must]shall be 

permanently branded with the letters CAN, not less than two [(2) ]inches 
high nor more than three [(3) ]inches high, placed high on the right hip. 
 (3)  The import permit number [must]shall be listed on the 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (4)  The following cattle are exempted from Subsection R58-
1-6(1)[ above]: 
 (a)  [C]cattle consigned directly to slaughter at an approved 
slaughter establishment; or 
 (b)  [C]cattle consigned directly to a [S]state or [F]federal 
approved Auction Market. 
 (c)  Movements under Subsections R58-1-5(4)(a), and R58-
1-5(4)(b) [must]shall be in compliance with state and federal laws and 
regulations and [must]shall be accompanied by a weighbill, brand 
certificate, or similar document showing some form of positive 
identification, signed by the owner or shipper stating the origin, 
destination, number, and description of animals and purpose of 
movement. 
 (d)  Commuter cattle are exempt as outlined in Subsection 
R58-1-5(6). 
 (5)  A brand inspection certificate or proof of ownership, 
which indicates the intended destination, is required for cattle entering 
the state. 
 (6)  Commuter cattle may enter Utah or return to Utah after 
grazing if the following conditions are met. 
 (a)  A commuter permit approved by the import state and the 
State of Utah [must]shall be obtained prior to movement into Utah.  This 
will allow movements for grazing for the current season if the following 
conditions are met: 
 (i)  [All ]cattle shall meet testing requirements as to [S]state 
classification for interstate movements as outlined in 9 CFR 1-78, which 
is incorporated by reference; USDA, Animal and Plant Health 
Inspection Services (APHIS), Brucellosis Eradication, Uniform 
Methods and Rules, October 1, 2003, and approved by cooperating 
[S]states[.]; 
 (ii)  [C]commuter cattle shall not be mixed with quarantined, 
exposed, or suspect cattle nor change ownership during the grazing 
period[.]; and 
 (iii)  [All ]bulls used in the commuter herd [must]shall be 
tested annually for trichomoniasis as required by the State of Utah. 
 (b)  No quarantined, exposed or reactor cattle shall enter Utah. 
 (7)  Prior to importation of cattle or bison into Utah the 
following health restrictions must be met[.]: 
 (a)  [B]bison and cattle heifers of vaccination age between 
four and 12 months [must]shall be officially calfhood vaccinated for 
[b]Brucellosis prior to entering Utah, unless[;]: 
 (i)  going directly to slaughter[, or]; 
 (ii)  going to a qualified feedlot to be sold for slaughter[,]; or 
 (iii)  going to an approved livestock market to be sold for 
slaughter or for vaccination. 
 (iv)  Bison and cattle heifers of vaccination age may be 
vaccinated upon arrival by special permit from the State Veterinarian. 
 (b)  [All]Any female bison and cattle over 12 months of age 
imported to Utah [must]shall have evidence of a [b]Brucellosis calfhood 
vaccination tattoo to be imported or sold into the State of Utah, unless[;]: 
 (i)  going directly to slaughter[, or]; 
 (ii)  going to a qualified feedlot to be sold for slaughter[, or]; 
 (iii)  going to an approved livestock market to be sold for 
slaughter[,]; or 
 (iv)  they have tested negative for Brucella [a]Abortus within 
30 days prior to entry. 
 (c)  Test eligible cattle imported from states designated as 
[b]Brucellosis free, but that are coming from a designated [b]Brucellosis 
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surveillance area within that state, [must]shall [be ]test[ed] negative for 
[b]Brucellosis within 30 days prior to entry. 
 (i)  Test eligible cattle may enter the state prior to testing with 
approval from the State Veterinarian but [must]shall be tested 
immediately upon arrival and the cattle [must]shall be kept isolated 
away from other cattle until test[ed]ing negative. 
 (d)  [All t]Test eligible cattle imported from states that have 
not been designated as [b]Brucellosis free [must]shall test negative for 
[b]Brucellosis within 30 days before movement into Utah. 
 (e)  Exceptions to the above testing requirements include 
exhibition animals and test eligible cattle imported to Utah and moving 
directly to: 
 (i)  an approved livestock market[, or]; 
 (ii)  [to ]a ["]qualified feedlot[",]; or 
 (iii)  an approved slaughter establishment for immediate 
slaughter[ to an approved slaughter establishment]. 
 (f)  No reactor cattle, or cattle from herds under quarantine for 
[b]Brucellosis will be allowed to enter the state except when consigned 
to an approved slaughter establishment.  An import permit and a 
Veterinary Services Form 1-27 prior to shipment are also required. 
 (g)  Entry of cattle [which]that have been retattooed is not 
permitted unless they are moved for immediate slaughter to an approved 
slaughter establishment or to not more than one state or federal approved 
market for sale to a qualified feedlot or slaughtering establishment. 
 (h)  A negative [t]Tuberculosis test is required within 60 days 
prior to shipment for [all]any dairy cattle [2]two months of age and older 
and bison [6]six months of age and older. 
 (i)  Breeding cattle originating within a quarantined area or 
from reactor or exposed herds and [all ]cattle from an area [which]that 
is not classified as Tuberculosis [F]free are required to be tested for 
tuberculosis within 60 days prior to entry to Utah. 
 (j)  Rodeo bulls and roping steers [must]shall be tested 
annually during the calendar year for tuberculosis prior to entry to Utah. 
 (k)  No cattle infested with, or exposed to scabies shall be 
moved into Utah.  Cattle from a county where scabies has been 
diagnosed during the past 12 months [must]shall be officially treated 
within [10]ten days prior to shipment into Utah.  The date of treating and 
products used [must]shall be shown on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection. 
 (l)  No cattle infested with ticks that can transmit splenic or 
tick fever, or exposed to tick infestations shall be imported into the State 
of Utah for any purpose. 
 (m)  [All]Any bulls imported to Utah shall be in compliance 
with Subsection R58-21-3(A), [which]that requires testing of [all ]bulls 
over [twelve]12 months of age for [t]Trichomoniasis prior to entry, with 
some exceptions [which are ]for slaughter, rodeo, exhibition, and bulls 
kept in confinement. 
 
R58-1-7.  Horses, Mules, Asses, and Other Equidae. 
 (1)  Equidae may be imported into the State of Utah when 
accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or an 
electronic Extended Equine Certificate of Veterinary Inspection created 
by a platform approved by the department. 
 (2)  The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection [must]shall show 
a negative Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA)(Coggins - AGID or ELISA) 
test within one year previous to the time the certificate was issued. 
 (a)  Entry of equidae into Utah shall not be allowed until the 
EIA test has been completed and reported negative. 
 (b)  Equidae [which]that test positive to the EIA test shall not 
be permitted entry into Utah, except by special written permission from 
the State Veterinarian. 

 (c)  A nursing foal less than six [(6) ]months of age 
accompanied by its EIA negative dam, and equidae moving directly to 
an approved livestock market are exempt from the test requirements. 
 (3)  Utah horses returning to Utah as part of a commuter 
livestock shipment are exempted from the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection requirements; however, a valid Utah horse travel permit as 
outlined under Sections 4-24-405 or 4-24-406 and Section R58-9-4 is 
required for re-entering Utah. 
 (4)  An import permit issued by the [D]department [must]shall 
accompany [all]any stallions or semen. 
 (5)  [All]Any stallions used for breeding that enter Utah or 
stallions whose semen will be shipped to Utah shall be tested for Equine 
Viral Arteritis (EVA) by an accredited veterinarian within 30 days prior 
to entry. 
 (a)  Exceptions are stallions that have proof of negative EVA 
status prior to vaccination and proof of subsequent yearly vaccination. 
 (b)  The EVA test or vaccination status [must]shall be 
recorded on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (c)  Breeding stallions and semen infected with Equine 
Arteritis Virus [must]shall be handled only on an approved facility as 
required by Rule R58-23. 
 
R58-1-8.  Swine. 
 (1)  Swine may be shipped into the state if the following 
requirements are met: 
 (a)  [All ]swine [must]shall be accompanied by an approved 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection stating they have not been fed raw 
garbage. 
 (i)  The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection [must]shall show 
individual identification, ear tags, tattoos, registration numbers, 
microchips, or other permanent means. 
 (b)  An import permit issued by the [D]department [must]shall 
accompany [all]any swine imported into the state. 
 (c)  [All b]Breeding and exhibition swine over the age of three 
months shipped into Utah shall be tested negative for [b]Brucellosis 
within 30 days prior to movement into the state or originate from a 
validated [b]Brucellosis free herd or [b]Brucellosis free state. 
 (i)  A validated [b]Brucellosis free herd number and date of 
last test is required to be listed on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection. 
 (ii)  Swine from states with serious disease occurrences or 
known populations of feral or wild hogs may be required to be tested for 
Brucellosis prior to entry to Utah. 
 (d)  [All b]Breeding, feeding and exhibition swine shall be 
tested negative for [p]Pseudorabies within thirty days unless they 
originate from a recognized qualified pseudorabies free herd or 
[p]Pseudorabies Stage V state. 
 (i)  Swine that have been vaccinated with any [p]Pseudorabies 
vaccine shall not enter the state. 
 (ii)  Swine [which]that are infected or exposed to 
[p]Pseudorabies may not enter the state, except swine consigned to a 
slaughterhouse for immediate slaughter [and must]that shall be moved 
in compliance with 9 CFR 71, which is incorporated by reference. 
 (iii)  Swine from states with known populations of feral or 
wild hogs may be required to be tested for Pseudorabies prior to entry 
to Utah. 
 (2)  Prohibition of Non-domestic and Non-native Suidae and 
Tayassuidae. 
 (a)  Javelina or [P]peccary, and feral or wild hogs such as 
Eurasian or Russian wild hogs ([S]sus scrofa) are considered invasive 
species in Utah, capable of establishing wild reservoirs of disease such 
as [b]Brucellosis and [p]Pseudorabies. 
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 (b)  These animals are prohibited from entry to Utah except 
when approved by special application only for purposes of exhibition 
and after meeting the above testing requirements. 
 (c)  Any person who imports [J]javelina, [P]peccary, or feral 
or wild hogs such as Eurasian or Russian wild hogs ([S]sus scrofa) into 
Utah without prior approval by the [D]department shall be subject to 
citation and fines as prescribed by the [D]department or may be called 
to appear before an administrative proceeding by the department. 
 
R58-1-9.  Sheep. 
 (1)  [All]Imported sheep [imported must]shall be 
accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and an import 
permit. 
 (a)  No sheep exhibiting clinical signs of blue tongue may 
enter Utah. 
 (b)  Sheep [must]shall be thoroughly examined for evidence 
of foot rot and verified that they are free from foot rot. 
 (c)  Sheep entering Utah [must]shall comply with federal 
Scrapie identification requirements as listed in 9 CFR 79, which is 
incorporated by reference. 
 (d)  Sheep from scrapie infected, exposed, quarantined, or 
source flocks may not be permitted to enter the state unless an official 
post-exposure flock eradication and control plan has been implemented. 
 (e)  Breeding rams six months of age or older shall test 
negative for Brucella [o]Ovis within 30 days of entry or originate from 
a certified [b]Brucellosis free flock. 
[ (i)]  Rams entering Utah for exhibition purposes only and 
returning immediately to their home state are exempt from the testing 
requirement. 
 
R58-1-10.  Poultry. 
 (1)  [All p]Poultry and hatching eggs being imported into 
Utah [must]shall meet the following requirements: 
 (a)  [All p]Poultry and hatching eggs [must]shall have an 
import permit from the [D]department. 
 (b)  [All p]Poultry and hatching eggs entering Utah must have 
a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or a National Poultry Improvement 
Plan VS Form 9-3. 
 (c)  [All p]Poultry and hatching eggs shall originate from 
flocks or hatcheries that have a Pullorum-Typhoid Clean rating given by 
the official state agency of the National Poultry Improvement Plan 
(NPIP) of the state, or 
 (d)  [All p]Poultry entering Utah from a flock or hatchery 
[which]that does not have a clean rating through NPIP certification 
[must]shall have been tested negative for Pullorum-Typhoid within the 
last 30 days. 
 
R58-1-11.  Goats and Camelids. 
 (1)  Goats being imported into Utah [must]shall meet the 
following requirements: 
 (a)  [D]dairy goats [must]shall have an import permit from the 
[D]department and an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
showing a negative [t]Tuberculosis test within 60 days, and a negative 
[b]Brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry, or be from a certified 
[b]Brucellosis free herd and accredited [t]Tuberculosis free herd.  
Thereto; there [must]shall be no evidence of caseous [l]Lymphadenitis 
(abscesses). 
 (b)  Meat type goats [must]shall have an import permit from 
the [D]department and an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
indicating they are free from any communicable diseases or exposure 
and that there is no evidence of caseous [l]Lymphadenitis (abscesses). 

 (c)  Goats entering Utah [must]shall comply with Federal 
Scrapie identification requirements as listed in 9 CFR 79, which is 
incorporated by reference. 
 (d)  Goats for slaughter may be shipped into Utah directly to 
an approved slaughter establishment or to an approved auction market 
without an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and an import 
permit but [must]shall comply with Federal Scrapie identification 
requirements as listed in 9 CFR 79, which is incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  Camelids being imported into Utah [must]shall have an 
import permit from the [D]department and an official Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection showing a negative [t]Tuberculosis test within 60 
days, and a negative [b]Brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry or 
be from a certified [b]Brucellosis free herd and accredited 
[t]Tuberculosis free herd. 
 (3)  Test eligible age for both [b]Brucellosis and 
[t]Tuberculosis shall be 6 months of age or older for both goats and 
camelids. 
 (4)  Dairy goats and camelids entering Utah for exhibition 
purposes only and returning immediately to their home state are exempt 
from the testing requirement. 
 
R58-1-12.  Psittacine and Passerine Birds and Raptors. 
 (1)  No psittacine or passerine birds or raptors shall be shipped 
into the State of Utah unless an official Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection accompanies the birds. 
 (2)  The number and kinds of birds to be shipped into Utah, 
their origin, date to be shipped, and destination [must]shall be listed on 
the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 
R58-1-13.  Dogs, Cats, and Ferrets. 
 (1)  [All d]Dogs, cats, and ferrets shall be accompanied by an 
official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (2)  [All d]Dogs, cats and ferrets over three months of age 
[must]shall be currently vaccinated against rabies before entering Utah. 
 (a)  The date of vaccination, name of product used, and 
expiration date [must]shall be written on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection. 
 (3)  No puppies or kittens less than 8 weeks of age shall be 
imported into the state unless accompanied by the mother. 
 
R58-1-14.  Exotic Animals. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to import into the State of 
Utah any species of exotic animal that is prohibited for importation or 
possession as listed in [Utah Administrative Code]Rule R657-3. 
 (2)  [All e]Exotic animals [(]like birds, mammals, and 
reptiles[) must] shall be accompanied by an official Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection. 
 (3)  [All a]Aquatic animals [(]like fish, mollusk, crustacean, 
or amphibians[) must] shall fulfill [all]the requirements of [Utah 
Administrative Code]Rule R58-17 prior to importation into the State of 
Utah. 
 
R58-1-15.  Game and Fur-Bearing Animals. 
 (1)  No game or fur bearing animals [will]shall be imported 
into Utah without an import permit [being ]obtained from the 
[D]department. 
 (2)  Each shipment shall be accompanied by an official 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (3)  [All m]Mink entering Utah shall have originated on 
ranches where mink viral enteritis has not been diagnosed or exposed to 
within the past three years. 
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R58-1-16.  Captive Cervidae. 
 [(1)  All captive cervidae entering Utah must meet the 
following requirements: 
 (a)  No captive elk will be imported into Utah unless the 
destination premises is licensed with the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (b)  No captive caribou or fallow deer will be imported into 
Utah unless a Certificate of Registration (COR) has been obtained from 
the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources. 
 (c)  No captive cervidae will be allowed to be imported into 
Utah that have originated from or have ever been east of the 100 degree 
meridian. 
 (d)  All captive elk imported into Utah must meet the genetic 
purity requirement as referenced in Title 4, Chapter 39, Section 301, 
Utah Code Unannotated. 
 (e)  All captive elk must meet the following Chronic Wasting 
Disease (CWD) requirements: 
 (i)  Elk must come from a state with a USDA approved herd 
certification program. 
 (ii)  Elk must originate from a herd that is not affected with or 
is a trace back or forward herd for CWD. 
 (iii)  Elk must originate from a herd that has had a CWD herd 
surveillance program for 5 years prior to movement. 
 (f)  All captive cervidae must be permanently identified using 
either a microchip or tattoo. 
 (g)  All captive cervidae must have an import permit from the 
Department. 
 (h)  All captive cervidae must have an official Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection showing the following: 
 (i)  A negative tuberculosis test within 60 days of import. 
 (ii)  Negative Brucella abortus test results from a single 
sample that has been tested by two USDA approved tests. 
 (iii)  Two forms of individual animal identification. 
 (iv)  A statement the that animals listed on the certificate are 
not known to be infected with Johne's Disease (Paratuberculosis)or 
Malignant Catarrhal Fever and have never been east of the 100 degree 
meridian.] 
 (1)   Captive elk entering Utah shall: 
 (a) meet the health and genetic purity requirements specified 
in Sections R58-18-11 and R58-18-7: and 
 (b)  be imported to a premises licensed with the department. 
 (2)  Any caribou (reindeer) entering Utah shall meet the 
following requirements: 
 (a)  come from a state or province with a USDA approved 
herd certification program; 
 (b)  originate from a herd that is not affected with or is a trace 
back or forward herd for Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD); 
 (c)  originate from a herd that has participated in a National 
CWD Herd Certification program for at least 60 months and has 
received Certified CWD free status from the state or province of origin 
prior to movement; and 
 (d)  each other requirement of this subsection. 
 (3)  Any captive cervidae entering Utah shall: 
 (a)  have a Certificate of Registration (COR) issued by the 
Utah Division of Wildlife Resources; 
 (b)  be permanently identified using an RFID tag, metal 
NUES tag; 
 (c)  have an import permit from the department; 
 (d)  have an import application approved by the department; 
and 
 (e)   have an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
showing the following: 

 (i)  if the cervidae is from the United States, they shall have a 
negative tuberculosis test (DPP or single cervical tuberculin) within 60 
days of import and shall come from an accredited tuberculosis- free state 
or zone; 
 (ii)  if the cervidae is from Canada they shall be sourced from 
a herd officially recognized as free of Turberculosis and Brucellosis 
according to the provisions of the CFIA Captive Ungulate Program and 
shall have a negative Tuberculosis test within 60 days of import with the 
mid-cercival test; 
 (iii)  cervidae from the Untied States shall have a negative 
Brucella Abortus test within 30 days of import and shall come from an 
accredited Brucellosis-free state or zone.  Cervidae coming from 
Brucellosis certified-free herds are exempted from the testing 
requirement; 
 (iv)  any cervidae six months of age or older originating from 
outside of the United States shall have negative Brucella Abortus test 
results from a single sample that has been tested by two USDA approved 
tests; and 
 (v)  a statement that the animals listed on the certificate are 
not known to be infected with Johne's Disease (Paratuberculosis) or 
Malignant Catarrhal Fever. 
 
R58-1-17.  Zoological Animals. 
 (1)  The entry of zoological animals to be kept in zoological 
gardens, or shown at exhibitions is authorized when an import permit, 
subject to requirements established by the State Veterinarian, has been 
obtained from the [D]department and the animals are accompanied by 
an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (2)  Movement of these animals [must]shall also be in 
compliance with the Federal Animal Welfare Act, 7 USC 2131-2159. 
 
R58-1-18.  Wildlife. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to import into the State of 
Utah any species of live native or exotic wildlife except as provided in 
Title 23, Chapter 13 and [Utah Administrative Code ]Rule R657-3. 
 (2)  [All]Any wildlife imports shall meet the same 
[D]department requirements as required for the importation of domestic 
animals. 
 
R58-1-19.  Duties of Carriers. 
 Owners and operators of railroads, trucks, airplanes, and other 
conveyances are forbidden to move any livestock, poultry, or other 
animals into or within the State of Utah or through the State except in 
compliance with the provisions set forth in these rules. 
 (1)  Sanitation.  Any[ll] railway cars, trucks, airplanes, and 
other conveyances used in the transportation of livestock, poultry, or 
other animals shall be maintained in a clean, sanitary condition. 
 (2)  Movement of Infected Animals.  Owners and operators of 
railway cars, trucks, airplanes, and other conveyances that have been 
used for movement of any livestock, poultry, or other animals infected 
with or exposed to any infectious, contagious, or communicable disease 
as determined by the [D]department, shall be required to have cars, 
trucks, airplanes, and other conveyances thoroughly cleaned and 
disinfected under official supervision before further use is permissible 
for the transportation of livestock, poultry, or other animals. 
 (3)  Compliance with Laws and Rules.  Owners and operators 
of railroad, trucks, airplanes, or other conveyances used for the 
transportation of livestock, poultry, or other animals are responsible to 
see that each consignment is prepared for shipment in keeping with the 
[S]state and [F]federal laws and regulations.  Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection, brand certificates, and permits should be attached to the 
waybill accompanying the attendant in charge of the animals. 
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Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [October 9, 
2019]2021 
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Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-31; 4-2-
103(1)(i) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-26 Filing ID 
53708 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Cody James 801-
982-
2376 

codyjames@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-26.  Industrial Hemp Product Registration and 
Labeling 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to clarify the definition of THC, 
consistent with other rule changes that have been filed.  
Changes are also needed to add the requirement that 
industrial hemp products show testing for mycotoxins on a 
certificate of analysis.  This will protect the safety of 
consumers that use industrial hemp products. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This filing adds other THC analogs defined in the Utah 
Controlled Substances Act to the definition of THC.  This 
will allow the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) to limit the concentration of all THC analogs 
in industrial hemp products to 0.3% or less.  The changes 
also add a requirement that a certificate of analysis for an 
industrial hemp product include mycotoxin test results. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes should not pose a significant cost or 
savings to the state budget because the rule changes do 
not bring in additional fees or pose additional 
administrative burden on the Department. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There should be no cost or savings to local governments 
because they do not register or regulate industrial hemp 
products in Utah. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should not be significant additional costs or savings 
to small businesses because industrial hemp 
manufacturers are not currently registering products with 
THC analogs outside of Delta-9-THC.  Additionally, most 
industrial hemp laboratories test for mycotoxins already 
and include the results on a certificate of analysis. 
  
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" 
means a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should not be significant additional costs or savings 
to non-small businesses because industrial hemp 
manufacturers are not currently registering products with 
THC analogs outside of Delta-9-THC.  Additionally, most 
industrial hemp laboratories test for mycotoxins already 
and include the results on a certificate of analysis. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should not be significant additional costs or savings 
to other persons because industrial hemp manufacturers 
are not currently registering products with THC analogs 
outside of Delta-9-THC.  Additionally, most industrial hemp 
laboratories test for mycotoxins already and include the 
results on a certificate of analysis. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or 
its changes?): 
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Compliance costs for affected persons should not change 
because this rule clarifies rather than expands existing 
requirements and limitations for industrial hemp products. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses. Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  
If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be 
included in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

      

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved the 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-41-103 Section 4-41-403  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/09/2021 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-26.  Industrial Hemp Product Registration and Labeling. 
R68-26-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 1)  Pursuant to Subsections 4-41-103(4) and 4-41-403(1), 
this rule establishes the requirements for labeling and registration of 
products made from and containing industrial hemp. 
 
R68-26-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "CBD" means cannabidiol. 
 2)  "Certificate of Analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the quantities of the various 
analytes for which testing was performed. 
 3)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 4)  "Industrial Hemp" means any part of a cannabis plant, 
whether growing or not, with a concentration of less than 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol by weight. 
 5)  "Industrial hemp product" means products derived from, 
or made by processing industrial hemp plants or plant parts. 
 6)  "Label" means the display of each written, printed, or 
graphic matter upon the immediate container or statement 
accompanying an industrial hemp product. 
 7)  "Manufacturer" means a person who makes any 
industrial hemp products. 
 8)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, association, 
firm, trust, limited liability company, or corporation or any 
employees of such. 
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 9)  "THC" means total composite tetrahydrocannabinol, 
including delta[ ]-9-[ ]tetrahydrocannabinol[ and], 
tetrahydrocannabinolic acid, and any THC analogs as defined in 
Subsection 58-37-4(2)(a)(iii)(AA). 
 10)  "Third-[ ]party laboratory" means a laboratory with no 
direct interest in a grower or processor of industrial hemp or 
industrial hemp products that is capable of performing mandated 
testing utilizing validated methods. 
 
R68-26-3.  Product Registration. 
 1)  Each industrial hemp product distributed or available 
for distribution in Utah shall be officially registered annually with the 
department. 
 2)  Application for registration shall be made to the 
department on a form provided by the department including the 
following information: 
 a)  the name and address of the applicant and the name and 
address of the person whose name will appear on the label, if other 
than the applicants; 
 b)  the name of the product; 
 c)  the type and use of the product; 
 d)  a complete copy of the label as it will appear on the 
product in a legible format; and 
 e)  if the product has been assigned a National Drug Code 
in accordance with 21 CFR 207.33, the applicant shall provide the 
National Drug Code number. 
 3)  If the industrial hemp product being registered contains 
a cannabinoid, the application shall include a certificate of analysis 
from a third-party laboratory for the product in compliance with 
Section R68-26-4.  The certificate of analysis shall show the 
cannabinoid profile of the product by percentage of mass. 
 4)  A registration fee per product, as set forth in the fee 
schedule approved by the legislature, shall be paid to the department 
with the submission of the application. 
 5)  The department may deny registration for an incomplete 
application. 
 6)  A new registration is required for any of the following: 
 a)  any change in the industrial hemp product ingredients; 
 b)  any change to the directions for use; and 
 c)  any change of name for the product. 
 7)  Other changes shall not require a new registration but 
the registrant shall submit copies of each label change to the 
department as soon as they are effective. 
 8)  The person registering the industrial hemp product is 
responsible for the accuracy and completeness of information 
submitted. 
 9)  A registration is renewable for up to a one-year period 
with an annual renewal fee per product[,] that shall be paid on or 
before June 30th of each year. 
 10)  An industrial hemp product that has been discontinued 
shall continue to be registered in the state until the product is no 
longer available for distribution. 
 11)  A late fee shall be assessed for a renewal of an 
industrial hemp product registration submitted after June 30th and 
shall be paid before the registration renewal is issued. 
 12)  The department shall not register an industrial hemp 
product containing a cannabinoid if the product: 
 a)  uses the cannabinoid as a food additive; or 
 b)  is represented for use as a conventional food. 
 

R68-26-4.  Certificate of Analysis. 
 1)  A certificate of analysis for any industrial hemp product 
containing a cannabinoid shall be available through a QR code or 
website listed on the label. 
 2)  Testing shall be conducted on the product in its final 
form for: 
 a)  the cannabinoid profile by percentage of mass; 
 b)  solvents; 
 c)  pesticides; 
 d)  microbials;[ and] 
 e)  heavy metals[.]; and 
 f)  mycotoxins. 
 3)  The test results required in Subsection R68-26-4(1) shall 
be reported in accordance with the requirements for a cannabinoid 
product in Rule R68-29 including the specified units of measure. 
 4)  The certificate of analysis shall include the following 
information: 
 a)  the batch identification number; 
 b)  the date received; 
 c)  the date of completion; 
 d)  the method of analysis for each test conducted; and 
 e)  proof that the certificate of analysis is connected to the 
product. 
 
R68-26-5.  Label Requirements. 
 1)  Industrial hemp products containing a cannabinoid 
produced for oral human consumption shall be labeled in accordance 
with: 
 a)  21 CFR 101.1, Principal display panel of package form 
food; 
 b)  21 CFR 101.2, Information panel of package form food; 
 c)  21 CFR 101.3, Identity labeling of food in packaged 
form; 
 d)  21 CFR 101.4, Food; designation of ingredients; 
 e)  21 CFR 101.5, Food; name and place of business of 
manufacturer, packer, or distributor; 
 f)  21 CFR 101.7, Declaration of net quantity of contents; 
 g)  21 CFR 101.9(j)(13) and (17), Nutrition labeling of 
food; 
 h)  21 CFR 101.15, Food; prominence of required 
statements; and 
 i)  21 CFR 101.36, Nutrition labeling of dietary 
supplements; 
 i)  a label may contain the term "product facts" in place of 
"supplement facts" provided the information required in 21 CFR 
101.36 is on the label; and 
 ii)  the label shall include the following text, prominently 
displayed:  "This product has not been evaluated by the Food and 
Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, 
cure, or prevent any disease." 
 2)  A cannabinoid product intended to be vaporized for 
inhalation shall: 
 a)  be labeled in accordance with Subsection R68-26-5(1); 
or 
 b)  be labeled in accordance with 21 CFR 101.1, 21 CFR 
101.2, 21 CFR 101.3, 21 CFR 101.4, 21 CFR 101.5, 21 CFR 101.7, 
21 CFR 101.15, and contain the following text, prominently 
displayed: "This product has not been evaluated by the Food and 
Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, 
cure, or prevent any disease." 
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 3)  Industrial hemp products containing a cannabinoid 
produced for absorption by humans shall be labeled[ 
  ] in accordance with 21 CFR 701, Cosmetic Labeling. 
 4)  Industrial hemp products containing cannabinoids other 
than CBD shall contain the following text, prominently displayed:  
"Warning - The safety of this product has not been determined." 
 5)  Notwithstanding Subsection R68-26-5(1) or R68-25-
5(3), an industrial hemp product containing a cannabinoid produced 
for human use that has a National Drug Code issued shall be labeled 
in accordance with 21 CFR 201.66. 
 6)  In addition to the requirements of Subsections R68-26-
5(1) through R68-26-5(3) an industrial hemp product containing a 
cannabinoid shall have on the label a scannable barcode, QR code, or 
web address linked to a document containing the following 
information: 
 a)  the total quantity produced; and 
 b)  a downloadable link for a certificate of analysis for the 
batch identified. 
 7)  Industrial hemp products shall not contain medical 
claims on the label unless the product has been registered with the 
FDA and is labeled in accordance with Subsection R68-26-5(4). 
 8)  Industrial hemp products that do not contain a 
cannabinoid intended for human consumption shall be labeled in 
accordance with 21 CFR 101, Food Labeling. 
 9)  Industrial hemp products that do not contain a 
cannabinoid and are intended for human absorption shall be labeled 
in accordance with 21 CFR 701, Cosmetic Labeling. 
 10)  Industrial hemp products meant for animal 
consumption shall be labeled and comply with applicable federal 
laws and regulations and other applicable state laws and regulations. 
 11)  Industrial hemp seed products intended for cultivation 
shall be labeled in accordance with Title 4, Chapter 16, Utah Seed 
Act. 
 12)  Each industrial hemp product shall comply with the 
federal Food Drug and Cosmetic Act, 21 U.S.C. Chapter 9 and other 
applicable federal laws and regulations and applicable state laws and 
regulations relating to the labeling of food, cosmetics, and fiber. 
 
R68-26-6.  Inspection and Testing. 
 1)  The department shall conduct randomized inspection of 
industrial hemp products distributed or available for distribution in 
the state for compliance with this rule. 
 2)  The department shall periodically sample, analyze, and 
test industrial hemp products distributed within the state for 
compliance with registration and labeling requirements and the 
certificate of analysis, if applicable. 
 3)  The department may conduct inspection of industrial 
hemp products distributed or available for distribution for any reason 
the department deems necessary. 
 4)  The sample taken by the department shall be the official 
sample. 
 
R68-26-7.  Retailer Responsibilities. 
 1)  A retailer shall: 
 a)  ensure that any industrial hemp product is labeled 
correctly; and 
 b)  ensure that each industrial hemp product sold is properly 
registered with the department. 
 2)  Retailers shall provide the identity of the manufacturer 
of industrial hemp products sold upon request of the department. 
 3)  A retailer may register the product in lieu of the 
manufacturer if the product is not registered. 

R68-26-8.  Violation. 
 1)  Each improperly labeled industrial hemp product shall 
be a separate violation of this rule. 
 2)  Industrial hemp products not meeting the labeling 
requirements shall be deemed to be misbranded. 
 3)  Industrial hemp products shall be considered falsely 
advertised if it does not meet the labeling requirements of this rule. 
 4)  It is a violation to distribute or market an industrial 
hemp product that is not registered with the department. 
 5)  It is a violation to distribute or market industrial hemp 
flower as a final product. 
 6)  It is a violation to distribute or market an industrial 
hemp product that contains greater than 0.3% THC. 
 7)  It is a violation to distribute or market an industrial 
hemp product containing a cannabinoid that has not been tested as 
required by Rule R68-29. 
 8)  It is a violation to distribute or market an industrial 
hemp product containing a cannabinoid as a conventional food 
product. 
 9)  It is a violation to distribute or market a product 
claiming a cannabinoid derived from industrial hemp as a food 
additive. 
 
R68-26-9.  Violation Categories. 
 1)  Public Safety Violations: Each person shall be fined 
$3,000-[ ]$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations that 
present a direct threat to public health or safety including: 
 a)  industrial hemp sold to an unlicensed source; 
 b)  industrial hemp purchased from an unlicensed source; 
 c)  refusal to allow inspection; 
 d)  failure to comply with labeling requirements; 
 e)  failure to comply with testing requirements; 
 f)  possessing, manufacturing, or distributing industrial 
hemp product that a person knows or should know appeals to 
children; or 
 g)  engaging in or permitting a violation of the Title 4, 
Chapter 41, Hemp and Cannabinoid Act that amounts to a public 
safety violation as described in this Subsection. 
 2)  Regulatory Violations: Each person shall be fined 
$1,000-$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations 
involving this rule and other applicable state rules under Title R68 
including: 
 a)  failure to register an industrial hemp product; 
 b)  failure to provide a certificate of analysis as required by 
Section R68-26-4; 
 c)  failure to keep and maintain records; 
 d)  engaging in or permitting a violation of Title 4, Chapter 
41a, Hemp and Cannabinoid Act or this Rule that amounts to a 
regulatory violation as described in this subsection. 
 3)  Licensing Violations:  Each person shall be fined $500-
[ ]$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations involving 
licensing requirements including: 
 a)  engaging in or permitting a violation of this rule, other 
applicable rules under Title R68, or Title 4, Chapter 41, Hemp and 
Cannabinoid Act, that amounts to a licensing violation; or 
 b)  failure to respond to violations. 
 4)  The department shall calculate penalties based on the 
level of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at 
the time of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 
 5)  The department may enhance or reduce the penalty 
based on the seriousness of the violation. 
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KEY:  CBD labeling, CBD products, hemp product registration 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [January 
8,] 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41-403(1); 
4-41-402(2); 4-41-103(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-37 Filing ID 
53704 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Cody James 801-
982-
2376 

codyjames@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-37.  Industrial Hemp Cannabinoid Product Testing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This new rule is needed to allow the Department of 
Agriculture and Food (Department) to set testing 
standards that ensure that industrial hemp cannabinoid 
products sold in Utah are safe for the public to use.  
Current guidance set in rule insufficiently addresses the 
testing of cannabinoid products. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and 
the reenacted rule): 
This rule sets testing requirements for cannabinoid 
products that are similar to the requirements for medical 

cannabis products in Utah, including detailing required 
tests and adulterant standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There should be no fiscal impact to the state under this 
rule because it is merely clarifying specific testing 
requirements for cannabinoid products.  Registered 
cannabinoid products in Utah currently meet the testing 
requirements of this rule based on the guidance of the 
Utah Medical Cannabis Program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There should be no fiscal impact to local governments 
because they do not regulate or sell industrial hemp 
cannabinoid products.   
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to small businesses 
because the cost required to get cannabinoid products 
tested and registered is not changing. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" 
means a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to non-small businesses 
because the cost required to get cannabinoid products 
tested and registered is not changing. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, 
corporation, association, governmental entity, or 
public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
There should be no fiscal impact to other persons because 
the cost required to get cannabinoid products tested and 
registered is not changing. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or 
its changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons should not change 
because the testing required by the Department and cost 
of registration will remain the same under this new rule. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will not have a fiscal impact on business in Utah.  
Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
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6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  
If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be 
included in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

      

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
the regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-41-204   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/09/2021 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-37.  Industrial Hemp Cannabinoid Product Testing. 
R68-37-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 1)  Pursuant to Subsection 4-41-204(2), this rule establishes 
the standards for industrial hemp cannabinoid product potency 
testing and sets limits for foreign matter, microbial life, pesticides, 
residual solvents, heavy metals, and mycotoxins. 
 
R68-37-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "Adulterant" means any poisonous or deleterious 
substance in a quantity that may be injurious to health, including: 
 a)  pesticides; 
 b)  heavy metals; 
 c)  solvents; 
 d)  microbial life; 
 e)  mycotoxins; or 
 f)  foreign matter. 
 2)  "Analyte" means a substance or chemical component 
that is undergoing analysis. 
 3)  "Batch or lot" means a quantity of: 
 a)  cannabinoid concentrate produced on a particular date 
and time, following clean up until the next clean up during which the 
same lots of industrial hemp are used; or 
 b)  cannabinoid product produced on a particular date and 
time, following clean up until the next clean up during which 
industrial hemp concentrate is used. 
 4)  "Cannabinoid" means any: 
 a)  naturally occurring derivative of cannabigerolic acid 
(CAS 25555-57-1); or 
 b)  any chemical compound that is both structurally and 
chemically similar to a derivative of cannabigerolic acid. 
 5)  "Cannabinoid concentrate" means: 
 a)  the product of any chemical or physical process applied 
to naturally occurring biomass that concentrates or isolates the 
cannabinoids contained in the biomass; and 
 b)  any amount of a natural, derivative, or synthetic 
cannabinoid in the synthetic cannabinoid's purified state.  
 6)  "Cannabinoid product" means the same as the term is 
defined in Subsection 4-41-102(1). 
 7)  "CBD" means cannabidiol (CAS 13956-29-1). 
 8)  "CBDA" means cannabidiolic acid, (CAS 1244-58-2). 
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 9)  "Certificate of analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the results for which that 
testing was performed. 
 10)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 11)  "Final product" means a reasonably homogenous 
cannabinoid product in its final packaged form created using the 
same standard operating procedures and the same formulation. 
 12)  "Foreign matter" means: 
 a)  any matter that is present in a cannabis lot that is not a 
part of the cannabis plant; or 
 b)  any matter that is present in a cannabis or cannabinoid 
product that is not listed as an ingredient. 
 13)  "Industrial hemp" means a cannabis plant that contains 
less than 0.3% total THC by dry weight. 
 14)  "Industrial hemp manufacturer" means an entity that 
holds, stores,  packages, or labels an industrial hemp cannabinoid 
product. 
 15)  "Pest" means: 
 a)  any insect, rodent, nematode, fungus, weed; or 
 b)  any other form of terrestrial or aquatic plant or animal 
life, virus, bacteria, or other microorganisms that are injurious to 
health or to the environment or that the department declares to be a 
pest. 
 16)  "Pesticide" means any: 
 a)  substance or mixture of substances, including a living 
organism, that is intended to prevent, destroy, control, repel, attract, 
or mitigate any insect, rodent, nematode, snail, slug, fungus, weed, 
or other forms of plant or animal life that are normally considered to 
be a pest or that the commissioner declares to be a pest; 
 b)  any substance or mixture of substances intended to be 
used as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; and 
 c)  any spray adjuvant, such as a wetting agent, spreading 
agent, deposit builder, adhesive, or emulsifying agent with 
deflocculating properties of its own used with a pesticide to aid in the 
application or effect of a pesticide. 
 17)  "THC" means total composite tetrahydrocannabinol, 
including delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol, tetrahydrocannabinolic acid, 
and any THC analogs as defined in Subsection 58-37-
4(2)(a)(ii)(AA). 
 18)  "THCA" means delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid 
(CAS 23978-85-0). 
 19)  "Total CBD" means the sum of the determined 
amounts of CBD and CBDA, according to the formula: Total CBD = 
CBD + (CBDA x 0.877). 
 20)  "Total THC" means the sum of the determined amounts 
of THC and THCA, according to the formula: Total THC = THC + 
(THCA x 0.877). 
 21)  "Unit" means each individual portion of an 
individually packaged product. 
 
R68-37-3.  Required Cannabinoid Product Tests. 
 1)  An industrial hemp manufacturer may not register or 
sell a cannabinoid product unless a third party testing laboratory has 
tested a representative sample of the cannabinoid product to 
determine: 
 a)  the amount of any THC analogs present in the sample; 
and 
 b)  the presence of adulterants in the sample. 
 2)  A certificate of analysis shall be included with each 
batch of cannabinoid product in accordance with Section R68-26-4. 
 

R68-37-4.  Foreign Matter Standards. 
 A sample and related batch of  cannabinoid product fails 
quality assurance testing if: 
 1)  the sample contains foreign matter visible to the unaided 
human eye; 
 2)  the sample is found to contain microscopic foreign 
matter considered to be harmful or estimated to comprise greater than 
3% of the mass of the representative sample as determined by the 
testing laboratory; or 
 3)  foreign matter is found that is suspected to have been 
intentionally added to the sample to increase its visual appeal or 
market value. 
 
R68-37-5.  Potency Testing. 
 A batch of cannabinoid product shall have the quantity of 
any cannabinoid it is known to contain,  including any THC analog, 
determined and listed on the COA. 
 
R68-37-6.  Microbial Standards. 
 A sample and related batch of cannabinoid product fails 
quality assurance testing for microbiological contaminants if the 
results exceed the limits as set forth in Table 2. 
 

TABLE 2 
Microbial Analytes and Action Levels 

 
Material               Microbial Limit Requirement (cfu) 
 
Concentrated oil       Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Tablet                 Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Capsule                Total Combined Yeast and Mold Count ≤1,000 
Liquid Suspension      Absence of E. Coli and Salmonella spp. 
Gelatinous cube        Absence of Staph 
 
Transdermal          Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤100 
                       Total Yeast and Mold ≤100 
                       Absence of Pseudomonas 
                       Absence of Staph 
 

R68-37-7.  Pesticide Standards. 
 1)  A sample and related batch of cannabinoid product fails 
quality assurance testing for pesticides if the results exceed the limits 
as set forth in Table 3. 
 

TABLE 3 
Pesticide Analytes and Action Levels 

 
Analyte             Chemical Abstract Service     Action Level 
                    (CAS) Registry number         ppm 
Abamectin           71751-41-2                    0.5 
Acephate            30560-19-1                    0.4 
Acequinocyl         57960-19-7                    2 
Acetamiprid         135410-20-7                   0.2 
Aldicarb            116-06-3                      0.4 
Azoxystrobin        131860-33-8                   0.2 
Bifenazate          149877-41-8                   0.2 
Bifenthrin          82657-04-3                    0.2 
Boscalid            188425-85-6                   0.4 
Carbaryl            63-25-2                       0.2 
Carbofuran          1563-66-2                     0.2 
Chlorantraniliprole 500008-45-7                   0.2 
Chlorfenapyr        122453-73-0                   1 
Chlorpyrifos        2921-88-2                     0.2 
Clofentezine        74115-24-5                    0.2 
Cyfluthrin          68359-37-5                    1 
Cypermethrin        52315-07-8                    1 
Daminozide          1596-84-5                     1 
DDVP (Dichlorvos)   62-73-7                       0.1 
Diazinon            333-41-5                      0.2 
Dimethoate          60-51-5                       0.2 
Ethoprophos         13194-48-4                    0.2 
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Etofenprox          80844-07-1                    0.4 
Etoxazole           153233-91-1                   0.2 
Fenoxycarb          72490-01-8                    0.2 
Fenpyroximate       134098-61-6                   0.4 
Fipronil            120068-37-3                   0.4 
Flonicamid          158062-67-0                   1 
Fludioxonil         131341-86-1                   0.4 
hexythiazox         78587-05-0                    1 
imazalil            35554-44-0                    0.2 
Imidacloprid        138261-41-3                   0.4 
Kresoxim-methyl     143390-89-0                   0.4 
Malathion           143390-89-0                   0.2 
Metalaxyl           57837-19-1                    0.2 
Methiocarb          2032-65-7                     0.2 
Methomyl            16752-77-5                    0.4 
Methyl parathion    298-00-0                      0.2 
MGK-264             113-48-4                      0.2 
Myclobutanil        88671-89-0                    0.2 
Naled               300-76-5                      0.5 
Oxamyl              23135-22-0                    1 
Paclobutrazol       76738-62-0                    0.4 
Permethrins         52645-53-1                    0.2 
Phosmet             732-11-6                      0.2 
Piperonyl_butoxide  51-03-6                       2 
Prallethrin         23031-36-9                    0.2 
Propiconazole       60207-90-1                    0.4 
Propoxur            114-26-1                      0.2 
Pyrethrins          8003-34-7                     1 
Pyridaben           96489-71-3                    0.2 
Spinosad            168316-95-8                   0.2 
Spiromesifen        283594-90-1                   0.2 
Spirotetramat       203313-25-1                   0.2 
Spiroxamine         118134-30-8                   0.4 
Tebuconazole        80443-41-0                    0.4 
Thiacloprid         111988-49-9                   0.2 
Thiamethoxam        153719-23-4                   0.2 
Trifloxystrobin     141517-21-7                   0.2 
 

 2)  Permethrins should be measured as cumulative residue 
of cis- and trans-permethrin isomers (CAS numbers 54774-45-7 and 
51877-74-8). 
 3)  Pyrethrins should be measured as the cumulative 
residues of pyrethrin I (CAS 121-21-1), pyrethrin II (CAS 121-29-9), 
cinerin 1 (CAS 25402-06-6), and jasmolin 1 (CAS 4466-14-2). 
 4)  Abamectin is a composite of the amounts of avermectin 
B1a and avermectin B1b. 
 
R68-37-8.  Residual Solvent Standards. 
 1)  A sample and related batch of cannabinoid product fails 
quality assurance testing for residual solvents if the results exceed the 
limits provided in Table 4 unless the solvent is: 
 a)  a component of the product formulation; 
 b)  listed as an ingredient; and 
 c)  generally considered to be safe for the intended form of 
use. 
 

TABLE 4 
List of Solvents and Action Levels 

 
Solvent               Chemical Abstract Service     Action level 
                      (CAS)Registry number          ppm 
1,2 Dimethoxyethane   110-71-4                        100 
1,4 Dioxane           123-9                           380 
1-Butanol             71-36-3                       5,000 
1-Pentanol            71-41-0                       5,000 
1-Propanol            71-23-8                       5,000 
2-Butanol             78-92-2                       5,000 
2-Butanone 78-93-3                                  5,000 
2-Ethoxyethanol       110-80-5                        160 
2-methylbutane        78-78-4                       5,000 
2-Propanol (IPA)      67-63-0                       5,000 
 
 

Acetone               67-64-1                       5,000 
Acetonitrile          75-05-8                         410 
Benzene               71-43-2                           2 
Butane                106-97-8                      5,000 
Cumene                98-82-8                          70 
Cyclohexane           110-82-7                      3,880 
Dichloromethane       75-09-2                         600 
2,2-dimethylbutane    75-83-2                         290 
2,3-dimethylbutane    79-29-8                         290 
1,2-dimethylbenzene   95-47-6                       See Xylenes 
1,3-dimethylbenzene   108-38-3                      See Xylenes 
1,4-dimethylbenzene   106-42-3                      See Xylenes 
Dimethyl sulfoxide    67-68-5                       5,000 
Ethanol               64-17-5                       5,000 
Ethyl acetate         141-78-6                      5,000 
Ethylbenzene          100-41-4                      See Xylenes 
Ethyl ether           60-29-7                       5,000 
Ethylene glycol       107-21-1                        620 
Ethylene Oxide        75-21-8                          50 
Heptane               142-82-5                      5,000 
n-Hexane              110-54-3                        290 
Isopropyl acetate     108-21-4                      5,000 
Methanol              67-56-1                       3,000 
Methylpropane         75-28-5                       5,000 
2-Methylpentane       107-83-5                        290 
3-Methylpentane       96-14-0                         290 
N,N-dimethylacetamide 127-19-5                      1,090 
N,N-dimethylformamide 68-12-2                         880 
Pentane               109-66-0                      5,000 
Propane               74-98-6                       5,000 
Pyridine              110-86-1                        100 
Sulfolane             126-33-0                        160 
Tetrahydrofuran       109-99-9                        720 
Toluene               108-88-3                        890 
Xylenes               1330-20-7                     2,170 
 

 2)  Xylenes is a combination of the following: 
 a)  1,2-dimethylbenzene; 
 b)  1,3-dimethylbenzene; 
 c)  1,4-dimethylbenzene; and 
 d)  ethyl benzene. 
 
R68-37-9.  Heavy Metal Standards. 
 A sample and related batch of cannabinoid product fails 
quality assurance testing for heavy metals if the results exceed the 
limits provided in Table 5. 
 

TABLE 5 
Heavy Metals 

 
Metals               Natural Health Products Acceptable 
                     limits in parts per million 
Arsenic              <2 
Cadmium              <0.82 
Lead                 <1.2 
Mercury              <0.4 
 

R68-37-10.  Mycotoxin Standards. 
 A sample and related batch of cannabinoid product fails 
quality assurance testing for mycotoxin if the results exceed the limits 
provided in Table 6. 
 

TABLE 6 
Mycotoxin 

 
Test                       Specification 
The total of 
Aflatoxin B1, 
Aflatoxin B2, 
Aflatoxin G1, and 
Aflatoxin G2               <20 ppb of substance 
Ochratoxin A.              <20 ppb of substance 
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KEY:  industrial hemp, cannabinoid, testing 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41-204(2) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R70-550 Filing ID 
53656 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Regulatory Services 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 1465000 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller 801-
982-
2250 

twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R70-550.  Utah Inland Shellfish Safety Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to update a statutory reference due 
to renumbering of the Utah Code and update the 
incorporation in the rule to the most recent version. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The statutory reference in Section R70-550-1 is changed 
to Section 4-15-104 and the incorporation by reference in 
Section R70-550-2 is changed to the 2019 version of the 
National Shellfish Safety Program Guide for the Control of 
Molluscan Shellfish. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes just update references in this rule and would 
not result in any cost or savings to the state budget 
because the updates do not require program changes. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There will be no cost or savings to local governments 
because they do not sell or regulate the sale of molluscan 
shellfish in Utah. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The changes just update references in this rule and would 
not result in any cost or savings to small businesses 
because the updates do not require program or fee 
changes. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes just update references in this rule and would 
not result in any cost or savings to non-small businesses 
because the updates do not require program or fee 
changes. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The changes just update references in this rule and would 
not result in any cost or savings to other persons because 
the updates do not require program or fee changes. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not be 
impacted by these changes because the operation of the 
program will remain the same. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will have no fiscal impact on businesses.  
Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approves the 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-5-104   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program 
Guide for the Control of Molluscan 
Shellfish 

Publisher United States Food and Drug 
Administration, Public Health Service 

Date Issued 2019 

Issue, or version 2019 Version 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/06/2021 

 
R70.  Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services. 
R70-550.  Utah Inland Shellfish Safety Program. 
R70-550-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Division of Regulatory 
Services, within the Department of Agriculture and Food under 
authority of Section 4-5-1[7]04. 
 
R70-550-2.  Adopt by Reference. 
 The National Shellfish Sanitation Program Guide for the 
Control of Molluscan Shellfish: 201[3]9 Revision published by the 
United States Public Health Service[/], Food and Drug Administration, 
is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference within this rule. 
 
KEY:  interstate shell fish safety 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [June 23, 
2016]2021 
Notice of Continuation:  January 12, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-5-17 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R357-11 Filing ID 
53741 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Development 
Building: World Trade Center 
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Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

538-
8864 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-11.  Technology Commercialization and Innovation 
Program (TCIP) 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule is to repeal the technology 
commercialization and innovation program rule and pivot 
the program to the Utah technology innovation funding 
pilot. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule will codify definitions, authority, awards amounts, 
contract requirements, contract modification process, and 
funding distribution for the Utah technology innovation 
funding pilot. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
the state budget.  This rule is merely establishing the 
process to receive program awards. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
local governments because local governments are not 
required to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
small businesses because this proposed rule does not 
create new obligations for small businesses, nor does it 
increase the costs associated with any existing obligation. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
non-small businesses because this proposed rule does 
not create new obligations for non-small businesses, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed rule does not 
create new obligations for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no new compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation is optional. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The purpose of this rule filing is to establish the standards 
and review process for participation in the program.  This 
rule will have no negative impact on businesses.  Dan 
Hemmert, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-3-204 

Subsection 
63G-3-201(2)(d) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 07/14/2021 

 

R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
[R357-11.  Technology Commercialization and Innovation Program 
(TCIP). 
R357-11-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of the Technology Commercialization and 
Innovation Act is to catalyze and enhance growth of technologies by 
encouraging interdisciplinary research activity and targeted areas, 
facilitating the transition of technologies out of the higher education to 
enhance job creation, and to support the commercialization of 
technologies developed by small businesses to enhance job creation. 
 
R357-11-2.  Authority. 
 (1)  UCA 63N-3-204(2)(b) requires the office to make rules 
to regulate the Technology Commercialization Innovation Program 
("TCIP") grant structure and awards and to recapture awards when a 
recipient fails to maintain a presence in Utah for at least five years after 
the award is made, as set forth in these rules. 
 
R357-11-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  This rule adopts the definitions set forth in 63N-3-203. 
 (2)  "Board" means the Board of Business Development set 
forth in 63N-1-301. 
 (3)  "Derivative Technology" means: Incremental advance or 
new of application of an existing technology. 
 (4)  "Developmental Research Phase" means:  A phase in 
which the technology is not beyond a basic concept as determined by 
the office. 
 (5)  "New technology means" Intellectual property not 
previously marketed or generated revenue for any entity. 
 (6)  Qualified Pre-screening entity "means" A University's 
Technology Transfer Office or the USTAR Technology Outreach 
Innovation Program.  This term only applies to University team 
applicants. 
 (7)  "Service location" means a location where a grant 
recipient is developing and/or commercializing the new technology in a 
way that provides economic impact to the state; including but not limited 
to: job creation, new state revenue, and new local revenue. 
 (8)  Solicitation Cycle Means:  A granting cycle from 
application to grant distribution to be held at least once a year or more 
depending on availability of funds.  All dates for any solicitation may be 
found on the TCIP website. 
 (9)  "TCIP" means the Technology Commercialization and 
Innovation Program as defined in Utah Code Section 63N-3-203(6). 
 
R357-11-4.  General Grant Requirements. 
 (1)  An applicant can only receive a TCIP award totaling an 
amount defined in policy per new technology.  Policy shall be available 
on the TCIP website. 
 (2)  An applicant may not submit more than one application 
in the same solicitation cycle if the applicant has more than one new 
technology that meets the eligibility requirement for a TCIP grant. 
 (a)  Only one new technology project per applicant will be 
funded in a solicitation cycle. 
 (3)  An applicant that has generated more than $500,000 in 
revenue from the proposed new or derivative technology is not eligible 
for a TCIP grant. 
 (4)  An applicant that has raised more than $3,000,000 at the 
time of application in total prior funding, including equity and debt 
based financing, is not eligible for the TCIP grant. 
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 (5)  An applicant may apply for a TCIP grant up to three times.  
If an applicant has not been awarded a grant for that specific technology 
within three different solicitations, TCIP will reject subsequent 
applications without review.  If an applicant who has previously 
received TCIP funding within the past three years wishes to apply for 
additional funding they can, however once that same technology has 
been reviewed and rejected three times without being funded it may no 
longer be considered for review.  Executive Director of GOED or the 
director's designee has the right to review and accept or reject a 
technology that has been submitted over three times to ensure it meets 
these criteria. 
 
R357-11-5.  Matching Funds. 
 (1)  Matching funds may be considered in granting an award 
if the Office provides notice of such a requirement in the application.  If 
considered a grant recipient must show proof of the matching funds. 
 (2)  Matching funds may be raised and spent at any time prior 
to submitting an invoice to the TCIP 
 (a)  Grant recipient must submit bank statements (for 
Licensees)  or financial statements (for Universities)  demonstrating that 
the matching funds were available during the match period. 
 (b)  If matching funds have been required by the Office to be 
a condition precedent to a grant award, matching funds do not have to 
be in place at the time of the application, but must be in place before 
TCIP funds are disbursed within the contract period of one year. 
 
R357-11-6.  Applicant Specific Requirements. 
 (1)  University Teams: In order to apply for a grant or loan 
under the TCIP program, a University Team must satisfy the following 
initial criteria: 
 (a)  The technology must be organized by faculty led 
university team; 
 (b)  The technology must have completed the developmental 
research phase; and 
 (c)  The applicant must be pre-screened by a qualified pre-
screening entity. 
 (d)  The qualified pre-screening entity must certify that the 
technology meets the criteria set forth in (a)  and (b)  of this section, and 
the certification must be provided before grant is awarded. 
 (2)  Small Businesses: In order to apply for a grant or loan 
under the TCIP program, a small business must satisfy the following 
initial criteria: 
 (a)  The applicant must be a "small business" as defined by 
the Federal Small Business Administration's definition and meet the 
criteria set forth in UCA Section 63N-3-203(5). 
 (3)  A University-licensee is also be eligible if it meets the 
definitions in (a) above. 
 
R357-11-7.  Review of Applications and Awards. 
 (1)  Applicants who successfully meet the eligibility 
requirements set forth in R357-11-4 and R357-11-5 and R357-11-6 may 
submit their application for the TCIP grant through the online 
registration portal. 
 (2)  The Executive Director of GOED or the director's 
designee will evaluate the applications received in each solicitation 
cycle.  The Executive Director or the designee may use the following 
criteria, as defined by the Executive Director or the designee, to evaluate 
applications for TCIP grants: 
 (a)  Quality, diversity, and number of jobs created in Utah, 
 (b)  Quality of Management and Leadership, including 
experience with commercialization of new technologies as 
demonstrated by grant applicant's application and proposal; 

 (c)  Strength of the new technology and potential for 
commercialization; 
 (d)  Size and Growth of the market of the proposed 
technology 
 (e)  Applicant's ability to market the technology and the 
credibility of their "go-to-market" strategy. 
 (f)  Availability of matching funds and the source and 
relevance of those funds as set forth in R357-11-5 
 (g)  Whether the project combines or coordinates related 
research at two or more institutions of higher education; 
 (h)  Any other criteria deemed necessary or valuable to the 
selection process. 
 (3)  Additionally, each applicant's application will be 
compared against and with the strength of all other applicants' 
applications and proposals within the same solicitation cycle. 
 (4)  The Executive Director may assemble an outside review 
team to review the criteria set forth above and to make recommendations 
regarding the application. 
  (5 )   The  Executive  Director  or  his  designee  shall  propose 
funding allocations to the Board. 
  (6  )   After  the  Board  provides  its  advice,  the  Executive 
Director  or  the  designee  shall  determine which applications should be 
prioritized for funding. 
 (7)  Applications will be prioritized and funded based on the 
criteria set forth in (1)-(3).  Award letters will be provided setting forth 
the terms of the grant offer. 
 
R357-11-8.  Requirements for Grant Recipients. 
 (1)  Contract 
 (a)  An applicant who is awarded a TCIP grant must sign a 
contract with the State of Utah prior to receiving any funds 
 (2)  Sub-Contracts 
 (a)  Grant Recipients are prohibited from subcontracting with 
another entity to administer the new technology funded by the Grant. 
 (3)  Time in State 
 (a)  Grant recipients will be expected to retain their company, 
and supported technology, and exploit the technology in the State of 
Utah for a minimum period of five years from the date of their 
agreement with the State. 
 (b)  Any applicant who fails to maintain a manufacturing or 
service location in the state or who fails to exploit the new technology 
from a location in the state will be subject to recapture of the grant 
funding, subject to the provisions of Utah Code Section 63N-3-
204(2)(d)  and R357-11-8. 
 (4)  Authorization to disclose tax information 
 (a)  Licensee grant recipients will be required to sign an 
authorization to disclose tax records for up to five years from the date of 
their agreement with the State. 
 (5)  Mentoring Program 
 (a)  Grant awardees may be required to participate in the TCIP 
Mentoring Program in order to secure funding. 
 (b)  If a grant award is contingent on participation in the TCIP 
Mentoring Program, an awardee will be required to show active 
participation in the program prior to receiving any or part of the grant 
funding as outlined in recipient's contract. 
 
R357-11-9.  Funding. 
 (1)  TCIP funding is for developing existing research to the 
point of commercialization, bridging the "funding gap" between 
research dollars and manufacturing dollars. 
 (2)  TCIP funding may be used to: 
 (a)  Purchase equipment; 
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 (b)  Purchase supplies; 
 (c)  Fund graduate/undergraduate students for time directly 
applicable to center commercialization activities related to the new 
technology; 
 (d)  Fund faculty salaries directly applicable to center 
commercialization and related to the new technology; 
 (e)  Fund technology transfer activities (trade shows, 
brochures, etc.); 
 (f)  Fund market analysis; 
 (g)  Pay for consulting fees directly applicable to center 
commercialization; 
 (h)  Pay for business manager or marketing manager salaries 
directly applicable to center commercialization activities; or 
 (i)  Other purposes approved by GOED in writing. 
 (3)  Carryover Funds 
 (a)  The budget described in the contract is designated for the 
particular fiscal year and is an integral part of the contract.  Upon the 
expiration of the contract, residual funds under the contract can only be 
accessed by amending the contract as described above. 
 (4)  Invoicing Requirement 
 (a)  To receive funds from the program, an invoice should be 
submitted by the awardee upon completion of the milestones or the 
mentor program with verification from the TCIP manager. 
 (b)  Every invoice must include: 
 (i)  Contract Number; 
 (ii)  Name of entity and Principal Investigator.; 
 (iii)  Billing Period; and 
 (iv)  Current and Cumulative Amounts. 
 
R357-11-10.  Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  Reporting and Monitoring 
 (a)  Grant awardees or mentor will be required to submit a 
report of activities, achievements and expenses, etc.  as specified in the 
awardees contract. 
 (b)  Grant awardees or mentor will be required to comply with 
the State's request for information pertaining to the economic impact to 
the State, at least annually for up to five years from date of the 
agreement. 
 (c)  Grant awardees or mentor will also be required to respond 
to additional periodic reporting to the TCIP Director, Governor's Office 
of Economic Development and GOED Board, and the Legislature, at 
any time during the agreement period and thereafter for two additional 
years. 
 (d)  Universities and Small Businesses should also expect 
periodic site visits from TCIP Director or board members.  Such visits 
will be scheduled at mutually convenient times. 
 
R357-11-11.  Recapture. 
 (1)  In order to receive grant funding under these provisions, 
an applicant must commit to maintain a manufacturing location or 
service location in the State of Utah for at least five years from the date 
that the grant award letter is issued. 
 (2)  Maintaining a manufacturing and service location means 
that the applicant will perform at least 51% percent of the grant activities 
listed above in the State of Utah, will exploit the technology into a 
commercial project in Utah and will maintain working operations in the 
State for at least five years from the date the grant award letter is issued. 
 (3)  If the applicant fails to maintain a manufacturing a service 
location in Utah for at least five years from the date the grant award letter 
is issued, the entire grant amount may be subject to recapture. 

 (4)  A repayment by an applicant shall be prorated based on 
the number of full years the applicant operated in the state from the date 
of the awarded grant. 
 (5)  Should an applicant fail to comply with the requirements 
to maintain a manufacturing and service location in Utah for the purpose 
of exploiting the new technology that is the subject of the grant, the 
Office will issue a Notice of Agency Action for Recapture. 
 (6)  The Notice of Agency Action shall contain the grounds 
for recapture, and the prorated amount of the recapture, if any.] 
R357-11.  Utah Technology Innovation Funding Pilot Rule. 
R357-11-101.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of the Utah Technology Innovation Funding 
pilot is to leverage Utah small business success with the federal Small 
Business Innovation Research and Small Business Technology Transfer 
programs. 
 
R357-11-102.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The following terms are defined: 
 (a)  "Micro-grant" means a grant awarded to offset the cost of 
a SBIR or STTR Phase I proposal; 
 (b)  "Nonrecourse loan" means a loan awarded to a company 
that has received Phase I SBIR or STTR funding and has submitted a 
corresponding Phase II proposal; 
 (c)  "Rural County" means a county of the third, fourth, fifth, 
or sixth class. 
 (d)  "SBIR" means the federal small business innovation 
research program; and 
 (e)  "STTR" means the small business technology transfer 
program. 
 
R357-11-103.  Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is adopted by the office under the authority of 
Subsection 63G-3-201 (2) (d) and Section 63N-3-204 
 
R357-11-104.  Award Amounts. 
 (1)  Subject to available funds, a micro-grant may be awarded 
under the following terms: 
 (a)  a company shall not be awarded more than one SBIR or 
STTR micro-grant  within a 5 year period; 
 (b)  a company must work with the Utah Innovation Center to 
prepare and submit a Phase I proposal; 
 (c)  a standard award may not exceed $3,000; and 
 (d)  a company that is minority or women owned or located 
in a rural county may receive an additional award of $2,000 for a total 
award amount of $5,000. 
 (2)  Subject to available funds, a nonrecourse loan may be 
awarded under the following terms: 
 (a)  a company must have received a minimum $100,000 
SBIR or STTR Phase I award; 
 (b)  a company must work with the Utah Innovation Center to 
prepare and submit a corresponding Phase II proposal; 
 (c)  a company shall receive no more than two nonrecourse 
loans; 
 (d)  a standard award shall not exceed $50,000; and 
 (e)  a company that is minority or women owned or located in 
a rural county may receive an additional award of $10,000 for a total 
award amount of $60,000. 
 
R357-40-105.  Required Contract. 
 (1)  The office reserves the right to award funding for any 
proposal in full or in part, to request additional information, or to 
reject any or all proposals. 
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 (2)  Upon award, and prior to disbursement of funds, 
awardee shall enter into a contract with the office governing the use 
of funding. 
 (3)  Unless addressed in the terms and conditions of the 
contract between awardee and the office the following provisions 
shall apply: 
 (a)  funding may not be used to provide a primary benefit 
to any state other than Utah; and 
 (b)  for all other eligibility requirements, awardees must 
maintain eligibility status until the collaboration is complete, scope 
of work requirements have been met, final disbursement of funding 
has been made, and reporting has been completed. 
 
R357-40-106.  Contract Modifications. 
 (1)  An awardee may request a modification to the terms of 
a contract. 
 (2)  The office may deny a modification request for any 
reason. 
 (3)  Approved changes shall be made in writing and through 
an amendment modifying the terms of the contract. 
 (4)  Awardees refusal or failure to sign the contract within 
90 days of receipt of the contract constitutes a rejection of the award 
and a waiver of any rights and benefits. 
 
R357-40-107.  Funding Distribution. 
 (1)  The office shall reimburse the awardee for no more than 
the total amount specified in the contract. 
 (2)  Payment will only be made for those costs authorized and 
approved by the office after sufficient documentation is provided in 
accordance with the terms and conditions provided in the contract. 
 (3)  Misrepresentation to the office or violations of the 
agreement may result in forfeiture of funding, repayment of all or a 
portion of the funding received, or disqualification from continued 
funding. 
 (4)  The office reserves the right to audit the use of grant 
funding. 
 
KEY:  technology, innovations, commercialization, small businesses 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[October 
13, 2017] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 20, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-3-204[(2)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R539-11 Filing ID 
53734 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Services for People with Disabilities 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kelly Thomson 435-

669-
4855 

kthomson@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R539-11.  Intermediate Care Facility Advisory Committee 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Staci Christensen and the  entered into a settlement 
agreement in 2019.  The Christensen v. Miner Settlement 
Agreement requires that the Intermediate Care Facility 
Advisory Committee (Committee) be established by law.  
The Committee will develop and recommend policy and 
practice that further reduces the intermediate care facility 
population. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule codifies Committee membership, duties, and 
reporting requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated costs or savings to the state budget.  
Committee participation will be incorporated into the state 
employee's job duties.  Community participation is 
voluntary and unpaid. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated costs or savings to local governments.  
Local level employees are not required to participate. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No anticipated costs or savings to small businesses.  
Participation by service providers is voluntary and can be 
incorporated into the employee's duties. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No anticipated costs or savings to non-small businesses.  
Participation by service providers is voluntary and can be 
incorporated into the employee's duties. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated costs or savings to persons other than 
small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities.  Participation by members of the 
public is voluntary.  Participation does not require 
purchase of materials. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
Committee does not contain a compliance component.  
Committee recommendations may affect services offered 
through Medicaid. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed new rule will not result in a fiscal impact 
to businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Human 
Services, Tracy Gruber, reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
62A-5-103(2)(b) 

Subsection 
62A-5-103(2)(r) 

Subsection 
62A-5-103(2)(n) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 07/12/2021 

 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
R539-11.  Intermediate Care Facility Advisory Committee. 
R539-11-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish an advisory 
committee as required by the Christensen v. Miner Settlement 
Agreement, resolving Case No. 2:18CV37DAK in the United States 
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District Court for the District of Utah, as approved by Judge Dale A. 
Kimball on December 19, 2019. 
 (2)  The Intermediate Care Facility Advisory Committee 
develops and proposes policy and practice to further reduce the 
intermediate care facility population. 
 (3)  This rule is authorized by Subsections 62A-5-103(2)(b), 
62A-5-103(2)(n), and 62A-5-103(2)(r). 
 
R539-11-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 62A-5-
101, R539-1-3, and R414-510. 
 (2)  "Committee" means the Intermediate Care Facility 
Advisory Committee. 
 (3)  "HCBS" means home and community-based services.  
Home and community-based services are long term services and 
supports provided to individuals in their homes or other community 
settings that satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR Subsection 
441.301(c)(4). 
 (4)  "Large Intermediate Care Facility" means a facility 
with a bed count of 16 or more. 
 (5) "Medium Intermediate Care Facility" means a facility 
with a bed count of more than six and less than 16. 
 (6)  "Settlement Agreement" means the Christensen v. 
Miner Settlement Agreement. 
 (7)  "Small Intermediate Care Facility" means a facility 
with a bed count of six or fewer. 
 
R539-11-3.  Membership. 
 (1)  The committee shall include: 
 (a)  a representative of the division; 
 (b)  a representative of the Utah Department of Health 
Division of Medicaid and Health Financing; 
 (c)  a representative of the Disability Law Center; 
 (d)  at least one resident of an intermediate care facility; 
 (e)  at least one individual living in the community; 
 (f)  at least one family member of a resident of an 
intermediate care facility; 
 (g)  at least one family member of an individual living in 
the community; 
 (h)  a large intermediate care facility provider; 
 (i)  a medium intermediate care facility provider; 
 (j)  an approved provider of an HCBS residential service; 
 (k)  at least one approved provider of an HCBS supported 
living service; 
 (l)  at least one approved provider of HCBS support 
coordination; 
 (m)  a representative of the Utah Parent Center; and 
 (n)  a representative of the Center for Persons with 
Disabilities at Utah State University. 
 (2)  Subsection R539-11-3(1) lists the minimum 
representation required for committee membership. 
 
R539-11-4.  Duties. 
 (1)  The committee shall operate in a manner that ensures 
information, work product, and activity are accessible to each 
member. 
 (2)  The committee shall identify any barrier to HCBS for 
a resident or an individual at risk of residing in an intermediate care 
facility. 
 (3)  The committee shall recommend policy and practice to 
further reduce the intermediate care facility population. 

 (a)  A recommendation may include a change to legislative 
or administrative policy and practice. 
 (b)  The committee shall address each of the following: 
 (i)  strategy to further reduce the number of licensed 
intermediate care facilities; 
 (ii)  strategy to further reduce the number of licensed 
intermediate care facility beds; 
 (iii)  strategy to further reduce the number of large and 
medium size intermediate care facilities; 
 (iv)  strategy to shift to greater reliance on small 
intermediate care facilities; 
 (v)  strategy to ensure the competency of intermediate care 
facility staff and appropriate staffing ratio; 
 (vi)  strategy to increase funding and any other available 
resource for HCBS; and 
 (vii)  strategy to remove a barrier to HCBS. 
 (c)  The committee may address any other topic that further 
reduces the intermediate care facility population. 
 (d)  The committee may consider data and information that 
includes: 
 (i)  data and information developed as a result of the 
Settlement Agreement; 
 (ii)  information about economic development; and 
 (iii)  information about a disability population that resides 
in any other institutional setting. 
 
R539-11-5.  Report. 
 (1)  The committee shall prepare a written report on or 
before the termination date of the Settlement Agreement. 
 (2)  The report shall include each recommendation for 
policy and practice that further reduces the intermediate care facility 
population over a ten-year period. 
 
R539-11-6.  Termination. 
 (1)  Each duty and requirement of the committee shall end 
on the Settlement Agreement termination date. 
 (2)  The committee shall stop meeting after the Settlement 
Agreement termination date. 
 
KEY:  disabilities, intermediate care facility 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-5-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-7 Filing ID 
53742 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-7.  Title Insurance Continuing Education 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended.  The 
Title and Escrow Commission approved these changes in 
a July 12, 2021, meeting by a vote of 5 to 0. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards and to make the language of this rule 
more clear.  It also updates Section R592-7-9, proposed 
Section R592-7-7, to use the Department's current 
language and removes an unlicensed person from the 
scope. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are clerical in nature and do not add, remove, 
or change regulations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule applies to insurance licensees and 
has no bearing on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
Any affected persons are already required to comply with 
the provisions of this rule, and the changes do not add, 
remove, or change regulations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
31A-2-404(2)(a) 
(iii) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 07/15/2021 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-7.  Title Insurance Continuing Education. 
R592-7-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow Commission 
pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-404(2)(a)(iii)[, which directs the Title and 
Escrow Commission to make rules for the administration of the 
provisions related to continuing education courses related to a title 
licensee]. 

R592-7-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose[s] of this rule [are]is to: 
 (a)  adopt continuing education requirements for [the approval 
of ]approving a continuing education course under Subsection 31A-2-
404(2)(a)(iii); 
 (b)  delegate authority from the Commission to the 
commissioner to approve a continuing education course related to a title 
licensee; and 
 (c)  exempt a title licensee from the [provisions ]requirements 
of Subsection R590-142-4(2)(c). 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  a title licensee; and 
 (b)  [an unlicensed individual authorized to do business as a 
title licensee; and 
 (d)  ]a continuing education [course ]provider related to title 
insurance. 
 (3)  This rule does not apply to an individual who [is 
considered to have ]has met the continuing education requirements 
[pursuant to ]under Subsection 31A-23a-202(3)(b)(iii)(C). 
 
R592-7-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301, 
31A-2-402, and Rule R590-142.  An additional term is defined as 
follows:[The following definitions shall apply for the purpose of this 
rule. 
 (1)  "Commission" means the Title and Escrow Commission 
as created under Subsection 31A-2-403(1)(a)]. 
 ([2]1)  "Continuing education course" means a continuing 
education course related to title insurance[. 
 (3)  "Title licensee" has the same meaning as found in 
Subsection 31A-2-402(6)]. 
 
R592-7-4.  Continuing Education Course and Approval. 
 (1)  The Commission [hereby ]delegates to the commissioner 
the authority to approve a continuing education course under Subsection 
31A-2-404(2)(e). 
 (2)  The commissioner shall [rely on ]use the requirements of 
Rule R590-142, Continuing Education Rule, [for the consideration of 
]when considering a request for a continuing education course approval. 
 (3)  When the commissioner approves a continuing education 
course, the course: 
 (a)  is [deemed ]considered approved by the Commission and 
has concurrence of the commissioner under Subsection 31A-2-
404(2)(e) and [this ]Subsection R592-7-4(1); and 
 (b)  [will be ]is added to the [D]department's approved course 
list. 
 (4)  The commissioner shall provide a report to the 
Commission on a quarterly basis listing [new ]continuing education 
courses approved [pursuant to this section]during the prior quarter. 
 (5)  If the commissioner disapproves a continuing education 
course, the commissioner shall: 
 (a)  remove the course from the [D]department's approved 
course list; and 
 (b)  notify the course provider of the disapproved course. 
 
R592-7-5.  Course Submission. 
 A continuing education provider shall submit to the 
commissioner a request for approval of a continuing education course 
[in accordance with ]under Section 31A-23a-202 and Rule R590-142. 
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R592-7-6.  Licensee Course Requirements. 
 (1)  The continuing education credit hours required for the 
renewal of a title insurance producer license [pursuant to ]under 
Subsections 31A-23a-202(3)(b)(iii)(A) and (B), may [only ]be [fulfilled 
through ]satisfied by completing an approved course that is: 
 (a)  related to title insurance, escrow, real estate, or ethics; and 
 (b)  categorized by the commissioner as: 
 (i)  title; 
 (ii)  title ethics; or 
 (iii)  ethics. 
 (2)[(a)]  The restrictions [set forth in ]under Subsection R590-
142-4(2)(c) [shall ]do not apply to a title licensee. 
 ([b]3)  A title licensee may obtain [all ]required credit hours 
through one or more insurers. 
 
R592-7-7[.  Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to 
be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided under 
Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R592-7-8.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule upon the 
rule's effective date. 
 
R592-7-9].  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or situation is held to be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule which can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this 
rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision of this rule, Rule 
R592-7, or its application to any person or situation is held invalid, such 
invalidity does not affect any other provision or application of this rule 
that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid provision 
or application. 
 
KEY:  title insurance continuing education 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[July 30, 
2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 10, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-308; 
31A-2-402; 31A-2-404; 31A-23a-202 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-11 Filing ID 
53743 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-11.  Title Insurance Producer Annual Reports 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended.  The 
Title and Escrow Commission approved these changes in 
a July 12, 2021, meeting by a vote of 5 to 0. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards and to make the language of this rule 
more clear.  It also updates Section R592-11-6, proposed 
Section R592-11-5, to use the Department's current 
language and clarifies this rule's scope.  It does not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are clerical in nature and do not add, remove, 
or change regulations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule applies to insurance licensees and 
has no bearing on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
Any affected persons are already required to comply with 
the provisions of this rule, and the changes do not add, 
remove, or change regulations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-404 Section 

31A-23a-406 
Section 
31A-23a-413 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 07/15/2021 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-11.  Title Insurance Producer Annual Reports. 
R592-11-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow Commission 
pursuant to[: 
 (1) ] Sections 31A-2-404[(2)(a)], 31A-23a-406, and 31A-
23a-413[which requires the Title and Escrow Commission to make rules 
related to title insurance; 
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 (2)  Section 31A-23a-413, which requires certain title 
insurance producers to file an annual report; and 
 (3)  Subsection 31A-23a-406(1)(g), which requires the 
maintenance of a physical address in Utah]. 
 
R592-11-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the [This rule 
establishes the ]requirements of and a filing deadline for the Title 
Insurance Producer Annual Report required by Section 31A-23a-413. 
 (2)  This rule applies to an agency title insurance producer and 
an individual title insurance producer. 
 
R592-11-3.  Title Insurance Producer Annual Report. 
 (1)  The following shall file a Title Insurance Producer Annual 
Report not later than April 30 of each year: 
 (a)  an agency title insurance producer; and 
 (b)  an individual title insurance producer who is not an 
employee of a title insurer or who has not been designated to an agency 
title insurance producer. 
 (2)  A Title Insurance Producer Annual Report shall include: 
 (a)  the number and location of each title or escrow trust 
account; 
 (b)  proof of financial protection [required by ]under 
Subsection 31A-23a-204(2)(a);[:] 
 ([i)  a copy of the declarations page of a fidelity bond; 
 (ii)  a copy of the declarations page of a professional liability 
insurance policy; or 
 (iii)  a copy of the commissioner's approval of equivalent 
financial protection approved by the commissioner; 
 (]c)  the name of the individual title insurance producer 
designated as the "qualifying licensee[,]" [as provided in ]under 
Subsection 31A-23a-204(1); 
 (d)  the physical address in Utah maintained by [the ]an 
agency title insurance producer or an individual title insurance 
producer[, pursuant to ] under Subsection 31A-23a-406(1)(g); and 
 (e)  the physical address of each Utah branch office 
maintained by [the ]an agency title insurance producer or an individual 
title insurance producer[. 
 (3)  A title insurance producer may comply with Subsection 
R592-11-3 by completing and submitting the Title Insurance Producer 
Annual Report Form that is available on the department's website]. 
 
R592-11-4.  Electronic Filing of Title Insurance Producer Annual 
Report. 
 The Title Insurance Producer Annual Report shall be 
submitted electronically using the [Insurance D]department's secure file 
upload site located at https://forms.uid.utah.gov/insurance/fileUploads/. 
 
R592-11-5.  [Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule on its 
effective date. 
 
R592-11-6.  ]Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule which can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this 
rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision of this rule, Rule 
R592-11, or its application to any person or situation is held invalid, such 
invalidity does not affect any other provision or application of this rule 
that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  The 

remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid provision 
or application. 
 
KEY:  title insurance 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[December 23, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 14, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-
404(2)(a); 31A-23a-406(1)(g); 31A-23a-413; 31A-23a-503(8) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R602-1-5 Filing ID 
53711 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600- 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone:

- 
Email: 

Aurora Holley 801-
530-
6865 

auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
362-
3113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R602-1-5.  Official Record 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Adjudication (Division) is eliminating the 
term "audio" as the recording type because the Labor 
Commission is switching to video hearings.  The Division 
is eliminating any term which qualifies the type of recording 
performed. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 35 

substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The Division is removing the term "audio" to reflect that 
recordings may be made using other formats. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This change in Section R602-1-5 will not result in an 
anticipated cost or savings.  Previous hearings were 
recorded in an audio format.  Current and future hearings 
will be recorded in a video format.  The cost of recording 
an audio file is equivalent to the cost of recording a video 
file when the totality is considered.  Audio recordings 
require additional equipment, such as expensive 
professional recording devices and professional 
microphones.  The Division must purchase this audio 
equipment in groups of three for our three hearing rooms.  
Video hearings use more storage on the state servers, but 
do not require additional equipment to be purchased and 
maintained.  Additional storage on the state servers is less 
expensive than maintaining audio equipment. 
 
Ultimately, the change is a financial net zero.  Parties will 
not incur any additional cost because appearing via video 
is less expensive than appearing in person.  The Division 
is loath to call this a "savings" because such a statement 
would need to analyze the method by which hundreds of 
attorneys and their clients access the internet versus 
driving into Salt Lake City proper. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change will not result in an anticipated cost or 
savings to local governments.  Hearings are already 
recorded.  The manner in which the recording is done is all 
that is changing. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will not result in an anticipated cost or 
saving to small businesses.  Hearings are already 
recorded.  The manner in which the recording is done is all 
that is changing. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change will not result in an anticipated cost or 
saving to non-small businesses.  Hearings are already 
recorded.  The manner in which the recording is done is all 
that is changing. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non--small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 

association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will not result in an anticipated cost or 
savings to persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state or local government entities.  Hearings 
are already recorded.  The manner in which the recording 
is done is all that is changing. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There should be no compliance costs for affected persons 
because the hearings will still be recorded, just not audio 
only. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There should be no fiscal impact on businesses by making 
this rule change.  Hearings are already recorded, the 
manner in which the recording will be made is changing.  
Jaceon R. Maughan, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Labor Commission, Jaceson R. 
Maughan, has reviewed and approved the regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 34A-1-302 Section 34A-1-304 Section 

63G-4-102 et seq. 
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

09/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/08/2021 

 
R602.  Labor Commission, Adjudication. 
R602-1.  General Provisions. 
R602-1-5.  Official Record. 
 As contemplated by Section 34A-1-302(3), the only official 
record of any formal or informal hearing conducted by the Division is 
the [audio ]recording kept by the administrative law judge during the 
hearing.  Any recording or record kept of a formal or informal hearing 
other than that kept by the administrative law judge shall not be used for 
any purpose requiring an official record of the proceedings [as 
contemplate]in accordance with by Subsection 34A-1-302(3). 
 
KEY:  witness fees, time, administrative procedures, filing deadlines 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[October 
9, 2015] 

Notice of Continuation:  May 8, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-1-302; 
34A-1-304; 63G-4-102 et seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R602-2-1 Filing ID 
53700 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Aurora Holley 801-

530-
6865 

auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
362-
3113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R602-2-1.  Adjudicative Process 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Adjudication (Division) is modifying the 
already existing hearing rule to designate remote video 
hearings as the default proceeding.  The Division is also 
changing the requirement for filing medical exhibits to 
electronic filings. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Video hearings are now the default.  A party may request 
an in-person hearing for good cause shown.  Medical 
Record Exhibits will now be filed electronically. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change will not result in anticipated cost or 
savings to the state budget.  This rule change establishes 
video hearings and electronic medical record exhibits as 
the default method for each event. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change will not result in anticipated cost or 
savings to local governments.  This rule change 
establishes video hearings and electronic medical record 
exhibits as the default method for each event. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will not result in anticipated cost or 
savings to small businesses.  This rule change establishes 
video hearings and electronic medical record exhibits as 
the default method for each event. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change will not result in anticipated cost or 
savings to non-small businesses.  This rule change 
establishes video hearings and electronic medical record 
exhibits as the default method for each event. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will not result in anticipated cost or 
savings to persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities.  This rule 
change establishes video hearings and electronic medical 
record exhibits as the default method for each event. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule change will not result in anticipated compliance 
costs for affected person because hearings are currently 
held, and medical record exhibits are currently filed.  This 
rule change establishes video hearings and electronic 
medical record exhibits as the default method for each 
event. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not result in a fiscal impact on 
businesses because hearings are currently held, and 
medical record exhibits are currently filed.  This rule 

change establishes video hearings and electronic medical 
record exhibits as the default method for each event.  
Jaceson R. Maughan, Commissioner. 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Labor Commission, Jaceson R. 
Maughan, has reviewed and approved the regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
34A-1-301 et seq. 

Section 
63G-4-102 et seq. 

Subsection 
34A-1-304(2) 

Section 34A-2-212   
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

09/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/08/2021 

 
R602.  Labor Commission, Adjudication. 
R602-2.  Adjudication of Workers' Compensation and 
Occupational Disease Claims. 
R602-2-1.  Adjudicative Process. 
 A.  Definitions. 
 1.  "Commission" means the Labor Commission. 
 2.  "Division" means the Division of Adjudication within 
the Labor Commission. 
 3.  "Application for Hearing" means Adjudication Form 
001 Application for Hearing Industrial Accident Claim, Adjudication 
Form 026 Application for Hearing Occupational Disease Claim, 
Adjudication Form 025 Application for Dependent's Benefits and 
Burial Benefits Industrial Accident, Adjudication Form 027 
Application for Dependent's Benefits Occupational Disease, of other 
request for agency action complying with Section 63G-4-102 et seq. 
filed by an employer or insurance carrier regarding a workers 
compensation claim. 
 4.  "Supporting medical documentation" means 
Adjudication Form 113 Summary of Medical Record or other 
medical report or treatment note completed by a physician that 
indicates the presence or absence of a medical causal connection 
between benefits sought and the alleged industrial injury or 
occupational disease. 
 5.  "Authorization to Release Medical Records" is 
Adjudication Form 308 Authorization to Disclose, Release and Use 
Protected Health Information authorizing the injured workers' 
medical providers to provide medical records and other medical 
information to the commission or a party. 
 6.  "Supporting documents" means supporting medical 
documentation, Adjudication Form 307 Medical Treatment Provider 
List, Adjudication Form 308 Authorization to Disclose, Release and 
Use Protected Health Information and, when applicable, 
Adjudication Form 152 Appointment of Counsel. 
 7.  "Petitioner" means the person or entity who has filed an 
Application for Hearing. 
 8.  "Respondent" means the person or entity against whom 
the Application for Hearing was filed. 

 9.  "Discovery motion" includes a motion to compel or a 
motion for protective order. 
 10.  "Designated agent" is the agent authorized to receive 
all notices and orders in workers' compensation adjudications 
pursuant to Section 34A-2-113.  Designated agents shall provide the 
Adjudication Division an electronic address to receive delivery of 
documents from the Adjudication Division. 
 B.  Application for Hearing. 
 1.  Whenever a claim for compensation benefits is denied 
by an employer or insurance carrier, the burden rests with the injured 
worker, authorized representative of a deceased worker's estate, 
dependent of a deceased worker or medical provider, to initiate 
agency action by filing an appropriate Application for Hearing with 
the Division.  Applications for hearing shall include an original, 
Adjudication Form 308 Authorization to Disclose, Release and Use 
Protected Health Information. 
 2.  An employer, insurance carrier, or any other party with 
standing under the Workers Compensation Act may obtain a hearing 
before the Adjudication Division by filing a request for agency action 
with the Division complying with the Section 63G-4-102 et seq. 
 3.  An Application for Hearing shall include supporting 
medical documentation of the claim where there is a dispute over 
medical issues.  Applications for Hearing without supporting 
documentation and a properly completed Adjudication Form 308 
Authorization to Disclose, Release and Use Protected Health 
Information may not be mailed to the employer or insurance carrier 
for answer until the appropriate documents have been provided.  In 
addition to respondent's answer, a respondent may file a motion to 
dismiss the Application for Hearing where there is no supporting 
medical documentation filed to demonstrate medical causation when 
such is at issue between the parties. 
 4.  When an Application for Hearing with appropriate 
supporting documentation is filed with the Division, the Division 
shall mail to the respondents a copy of the Application for Hearing, 
supporting documents and Notice of Formal Adjudication and Order 
for Answer. 
 5.  In cases where the injured worker is represented by an 
attorney, a completed and signed Adjudication Form 152 
Appointment of Counsel form shall be filed with the Application for 
Hearing or upon retention of the attorney. 
 C.  Answer. 
 1.  The respondent shall have 30 days from the date of 
mailing the Order for Answer to file a written answer to the 
Application for Hearing. 
 2.  The answer shall admit or deny liability for the claim 
and shall state the reasons liability is denied.  The answer shall state 
all affirmative defenses with sufficient accuracy and detail that the 
petitioner and the Division may be fully informed of the nature and 
substance of the defenses asserted. 
 3.  An answer shall include a summary of benefits which 
have been paid to date on the claim, designating such payments by 
category, such as medical expenses, temporary total disability, 
permanent partial disability. 
 4.  When liability is denied based upon medical issues, 
copies of reasonably available, admissible medical reports sufficient 
to support the denial of liability shall be filed with the answer. 
 5.  If the answer filed by the respondents fails to sufficiently 
explain the basis of the denial, fails to include medical reports or 
records to support the denial, or contains affirmative defenses 
without sufficient factual detail to support the affirmative defense, 
the Division may strike the answer filed and order the respondent to 
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file within 20 days a new answer which conforms with the 
requirements of this rule. 
 6.  An answer must state whether the respondent is willing 
to mediate the claim. 
 7.  Petitioners are allowed to timely amend the Application 
for Hearing, and respondents are allowed to timely amend the answer, 
as newly discovered information becomes available that would 
warrant the amendment.  The parties shall not amend their pleadings 
later than 45 days prior to the scheduled hearing without leave of the 
Administrative Law Judge. 
 8.  Responses and answers to amended pleadings shall be 
filed within ten days of service of the amended pleading without 
further order of the Labor Commission. 
 D.  Default. 
 1.  If a respondent fails to file an answer as provided in 
Subsection (c), the Division may enter a default against the 
respondent. 
 2.  If default is entered against a respondent, the Division 
may conduct any further proceedings necessary to take evidence and 
determine the issues raised by the Application for Hearing without 
the participation of the party in default pursuant to Subsection 63G-
4-209(4). 
 3.  A default of a respondent shall not be construed to 
deprive the Employer's Reinsurance Fund or Uninsured Employers' 
Fund of any appropriate defenses. 
 4.  The defaulted party may file a motion to set aside the 
default under the procedures in Subsection 63G-4-209(3).  The 
Adjudication Division shall set aside defaults upon written and 
signed stipulation of parties to the action. 
 E.  [Waiver of ]Hearing. 
 1.  Hearings shall take place through an electronic platform 
as noticed by the Division.  An administrative law judge may grant 
permission for an in-person hearing when good cause is shown. 
 2.  Waiver of Hearing 
 [1]a.  The parties may, with the approval of the 
administrative law judge, waive their right to a hearing and enter into 
a stipulated set of facts, which may be submitted to the administrative 
law judge.  The administrative law judge may use the stipulated facts, 
medical records and evidence in the record to make a final 
determination of liability or refer the matter to a Medical Panel for 
consideration of the medical issues pursuant to Section R602-2-2. 
 [2]b.  Stipulated facts shall include sufficient facts to 
address the issues raised in the Application for Hearing and answer. 
 [3]c.  In cases where Medical Panel review is required, the 
administrative law judge may forward the evidence in the record, 
including medical records, fact stipulations, radiographs and 
deposition transcripts, to a medical panel for assistance in resolving 
the medical issues. 
 F.  Discovery. 
 1.  Upon filing the answer, the respondent and the petitioner 
may commence discovery.  Discovery documents may be delivered 
by electronic transmittal.  Discovery allowed under this rule may 
include interrogatories, requests for production of documents, 
depositions, and medical examinations.  Discovery shall not include 
requests for admissions.  Appropriate discovery under this rule shall 
focus on matters relevant to the claims and defenses at issue in the 
case.  Discovery requests are deemed continuing and shall be 
promptly supplemented by the responding party as information 
becomes available. 
 2.  Without leave of the administrative law judge, or written 
stipulation, any party may serve upon any other party written 
interrogatories, not exceeding 25 in number, including discrete 

subparts, to be answered by the party served.  The frequency or extent 
of use of interrogatories, requests for production of documents, 
medical examinations or depositions shall be limited by the 
administrative law judge if it is determined that: 
 a.  the discovery sought is unreasonably cumulative or 
duplicative, or is obtainable from another source that is more 
convenient, less burdensome, or less expensive; 
 b.  the party seeking discovery has had ample opportunity 
by discovery in the action to obtain the discovery sought; or 
 c.  the discovery is unduly burdensome or expensive, taking 
into account the needs of the case, the amount in controversy, 
limitations on the parties' resources, and the importance of the issues 
at stake in the adjudication. 
 3.  Upon reasonable notice, the respondent may require the 
petitioner to submit to a medical examination by a physician of the 
respondent's choice. 
 a.  Petitioner may seek relief from the medical examination 
detailed in [this subsection]Subsection (3), and the administrative 
law judge may provide such relief, upon the showing by a petitioner 
of an unreasonable demand by respondent related to such medical 
examination. 
 b.  Respondent shall send any questionnaire, consent or 
release forms requested by the examining physician or insurance 
carrier to the petitioner at least 14 days prior to the scheduled medical 
examination. 
 c.  After a reasonable attempt between the parties to resolve 
any issues which may arise due to the forms in [s]Subsection (b), a 
petitioner shall file objections to any questionnaire, consent or release 
forms requested by the examining physician or insurance carrier with 
the administrative law judge at least seven days prior to the scheduled 
medical examination. 
 4.  Parties may conduct depositions pursuant to the Utah 
Rules of Civil Procedure and Section 34A-1-308. 
 5.  Requests for production of documents are allowed, but 
limited to matters relevant to the claims and defenses at issue in the 
case, and shall not include requests for documents provided with the 
petitioner's Application for Hearing, nor the respondents' answer. 
 6.  Parties shall diligently pursue discovery so as not to 
delay the adjudication of the claim.  If a hearing has been scheduled, 
discovery motions shall be filed no later than 45 days prior to the 
hearing unless leave of the administrative law judge is obtained. 
 7.  Discovery motions shall contain copies of relevant 
documents pertaining to the discovery at issue, such as mailing 
certificates and follow up requests for discovery.  The responding 
party shall have [10]ten days from the date the discovery motion is 
mailed to file a response to the discovery motion. 
 8.  Parties conducting discovery under this rule shall 
maintain mailing certificates and follow up letters regarding 
discovery to submit in the event Division intervention is necessary to 
complete discovery.  Discovery documents shall not be filed with the 
Division at the time they are forwarded to opposing parties. 
 9.  Any party who fails to obey an administrative law 
judge's discovery order shall be subject to the sanctions available 
under the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 37. 
 10.  Notwithstanding the disclosures required under 
Section R602-2-1, parties shall remain obligated to respond timely 
and appropriately to discovery requests. 
 G.  Subpoenas. 
 1.  Commission subpoena forms shall be used in discovery 
proceedings to compel the attendance of witnesses.  Subpoenas shall 
be signed by the administrative law judge assigned to the case, or the 
duty judge where the assigned judge is not available.  Subpoenas to 
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compel the attendance of witnesses shall be served at least 14 days 
prior to the hearing consistent with the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, 
Rule 45.  Witness fees and mileage shall be paid by the party which 
subpoenas the witness. 
 2.  A subpoena to produce records shall be served on the 
holder of the record at least 14 days prior to the date specified in the 
subpoena as provided in the Utah Rule of Civil Procedure, Rule 45.  
Fees associated with the production of documents shall be paid by 
the party which subpoenas the record. 
 H.  Medical Records Exhibit. 
 1.  The parties are expected to exchange medical records 
during the discovery period. 
 2.  Petitioner shall submit all relevant medical records 
contained in his possession to the respondent for the preparation of a 
joint medical records exhibit at least twenty working days prior to the 
scheduled hearing. 
 3.  The respondent shall prepare a joint medical record 
exhibit containing all relevant medical records.  The medical record 
exhibit shall include all relevant treatment records that tend to prove 
or disprove a fact in issue.  Hospital nurses' notes, duplicate materials, 
and other non-relevant materials need not be included in the medical 
record exhibit. 
 4.  The medical records shall be indexed, paginated, 
arranged by medical care provider in chronological order and bound.  
The medical records [may not ]shall be filed via electronic 
transmittal. 
 5.  The medical record exhibit prepared by the respondent 
shall be delivered to the Division and the petitioner or petitioner's 
counsel at least ten working days prior to the hearing.  Late-filed 
medical records may or may not be admitted at the discretion of the 
administrative law judge by stipulation or for good cause shown. 
 6.  The administrative law judge may require the 
respondent to submit an additional copy of the joint medical record 
exhibit in cases referred to a medical panel. 
 7.  The petitioner is responsible to obtain radiographs and 
diagnostic films for review by the medical panel.  The administrative 
law judge shall issue subpoenas where necessary to obtain radiology 
films. 
 I.  Hearing. 
 1.  Notices of hearing shall be mailed to the addresses of 
record of the parties.  The parties shall provide current addresses to 
the Division for receipt of notices or risk the entry of default and loss 
of the opportunity to participate at the hearing. 
 2.  Judgment may be entered without a hearing after default 
is entered or upon stipulation and waiver of a hearing by the parties. 
 3.  No later than 45 days prior to the scheduled hearing, 
parties shall file a signed pretrial disclosure form that identifies:  (a) 
fact witnesses the parties actually intend to call at the hearing; (b) 
expert witnesses the parties actually intend to call at the hearing; (c) 
language translator the parties intend to use at the hearing; (d) 
exhibits, including reports, the parties intend to offer in evidence at 
the hearing; (e) the specific benefits or relief claimed by the 
petitioner; (f) the specific defenses that the respondent actually 
intends to litigate; (g) whether, or not, a party anticipates that the case 
will take more than two hours of hearing time; (h) the job categories 
or titles the respondents claim the petitioner is capable of performing 
if the claim is for permanent total disability, and; (i) any other issues 
that the parties intend to ask the administrative law judge to 
adjudicate.  The administrative law judge may exclude witnesses, 
exhibits, evidence, claims, or defenses as appropriate of any party 
who fails to timely file a signed pre-trial disclosure form as set forth 
above.  The parties shall supplement the pre-trial disclosure form 

with information that newly becomes available after filing the 
original form.  The pre-trial disclosure form does not replace other 
discovery allowed under these rules. 
 4.  If the petitioner requires the services of language 
translation during the hearing, the petitioner has the obligation of 
providing a person who can translate between the petitioner's native 
language and English during the hearing.  If the respondents are 
dissatisfied with the proposed translator identified by the petitioner, 
the respondents may provide a qualified translator for the hearing at 
the respondent's expense. 
 5.  The petitioner shall appear at the hearing prepared to 
outline the benefits sought, such as the periods for which 
compensation and medical benefits are sought, the amounts of unpaid 
medical bills, and a permanent partial disability rating, if applicable.  
If mileage reimbursement for travel to receive medical care is sought, 
the petitioner shall bring documentation of mileage, including the 
dates, the medical provider seen and the total mileage. 
 6.  The respondent shall appear at the hearing prepared to 
address the merits of the petitioner's claim and provide evidence to 
support any defenses timely raised. 
 7.  Parties are expected to be prepared to present their 
evidence on the date the hearing is scheduled.  Requests for 
continuances may be granted or denied at the discretion of the 
administrative law judge for good cause shown.  Lack of diligence in 
preparing for the hearing shall not constitute good cause for a 
continuance. 
 8.  Subject to the continuing jurisdiction of the Labor 
Commission, the evidentiary record shall be deemed closed at the 
conclusion of the hearing, and no additional evidence will be 
accepted without leave of the administrative law judge. 
 J.  Motions-Time to Respond. 
 Responses to all motions shall be filed within [10]ten days 
from the date the motion was filed with the Division.  Reply 
memoranda shall be filed within [5]five days from the date a response 
was filed with the Division. 
 K.  Motions - Length and Type 
 1.  Without prior leave of the Administrative Law Judge, 
supporting memorandum shall not exceed a total of 10 pages, 
opposing memorandum shall not exceed [7]seven pages and reply 
memorandum shall not exceed [3]three pages.  Pleadings shall be 
double spaced. 
 a.  The page limitations are inclusive of headings, table of 
contents, introduction, background, conclusion, statement of issues 
and facts, and arguments. 
 b.  The text of motions and memoranda shall be typeset in 
12-point. 
 c.  The Administrative Law Judge shall not consider 
anything contained on pages which exceed the page limits. 
 d.  If a memorandum is to exceed the page limitations set 
forth in this rule, leave of the Administrative Law Judge must first be 
obtained.  A motion for leave to file a lengthy memorandum must 
include a statement of the reasons why additional pages are needed 
and specify the number required.  The Administrative Law Judge will 
approve such requests only for good cause and a showing of 
exceptional circumstances that justify the need for an extension of 
the specified page limitations.  Absent such a showing by the 
requesting party, such requests will not be approved.  A lengthy 
memorandum must not be filed with the Division prior to an entry of 
an order authorizing its filing. 
 2.  Other than one supporting and one opposing and one 
reply memoranda, no other memoranda shall be considered by the 
Administrative Law Judge. 
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 L.  Orders on Continuances. 
 The Administrative Law Judge may rule, ex parte, on 
requests for continuances. 
 M.  Notices. 
 1.  Orders and notices mailed by the Division to the last 
address of record provided by a party are deemed served on that party. 
 2.  Where an attorney appears on behalf of a party, notice 
of an action by the Division served on the attorney is considered 
notice to the party represented by the attorney. 
 N.  Form of Decisions. 
 Decisions of the presiding officer in any adjudicative 
proceeding shall be issued in accordance with the provisions of 
Section 63G-4-203 or 63G-4-208. 
 O.  Motions for Review. 
 1.  Any party to an adjudicative proceeding may obtain 
review of an Order issued by an Administrative Law Judge by filing 
a written request for review with the Adjudication Division in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 63G-4-301 and Section 
34A-1-303.  Unless a request for review is properly filed, the 
Administrative Law Judge's Order is the final order of the 
Commission.  If a request for review is filed, other parties to the 
adjudicative proceeding may file a response within 15 calendar days 
of the date the request for review was filed.  If such a response is 
filed, the party filing the original request for review may reply within 
[5]five calendar days of the date the response was filed.  Thereafter 
the Administrative Law Judge shall: 
 a.  reopen the case and enter a Supplemental Order after 
holding such further hearing and receiving such further evidence as 
may be deemed necessary; 
 b.  amend or modify the prior Order by a Supplemental 
Order; or 
 c.  refer the entire case for review under Section 34A-2-
801. 
 2.  Motions for Review shall not exceed a total of 15 pages.  
Response briefs shall not exceed a total of 12 pages.  Reply briefs 
shall not exceed a total of [5]five pages.  All motions and briefs shall 
be double spaced. 
 a.  The page limitations herein are inclusive of headings, 
table of contents, introduction, background, conclusion, statement of 
issues and facts, and arguments. 
 b.  The text of motions and memoranda shall be typeset in 
12-point font. 
 c.  The Commission and the Appeals Board may disregard 
argument or other writing contained on pages which exceed the page 
limits. 
 3.  If the Administrative Law Judge enters a Supplemental 
Order[, as provided in this subsection] under Subsection (1)(a) or (b), 
it shall be final unless a request for review of the same is filed. 
 P.  Procedural Rules. 
 In formal adjudicative proceedings, the Division shall 
generally follow the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure regarding 
discovery and the issuance of subpoenas, except as the Utah Rules of 
Civil Procedure are modified by the express provisions of Section 
34A-2-802 or as may be otherwise modified by these rules. 
 Q.  Requests for Reconsideration and Petitions for Judicial 
Review. 
 A request for reconsideration of an Order on Motion for 
Review may be allowed and shall be governed by the provisions of 
Section 63G-4-302.  Any petition for judicial review of final agency 
action shall be governed by the provisions of Section 63G-4-401. 
R. Request for Abstract. 
 1.  Timing of Request. 

 a.  A petitioner who seeks an abstract relative to an award 
of benefits other than permanent total disability benefits shall file the 
request after the order of the commission becomes final. 
 b.  A petitioner who seeks an abstract relative to an award 
of permanent total disability benefits may file the request: 
 i.  after the order of the commission becomes final; or 
 ii.  where the award has been subject to agency review, after 
a preliminary determination is issued by the commissioner or the 
appeals board affirming that the petitioner is permanently and totally 
disabled, unless that preliminary decision is stayed under Subsection 
34A-2-212(3), Section 63G-4-405 or set aside by the Utah Court of 
Appeals. 
 c.  A motion to stay a preliminary permanent total disability 
determination shall be filed with the body that conducted agency 
review pursuant to Subsections R612-200-5(C)(1)(d) and R612-200-
5(e). 
 2.  Content of Filing. A request for abstract shall: 
 a.  set forth verbatim the language of the final order or 
preliminary decision that awards the benefits at issue[.]; 
 b.  set forth the specific monetary sums claimed for each 
benefit that has been awarded and that is at issue[.]; 
 c.  include evidence available to the petitioner that 
corroborates the specific monetary sums claimed, [including but not 
limited to]such as: 
 i.  billing statements; 
 ii.  RBRVS calculations; 
 iii.  interest calculations; and 
 iv.  evidence of amounts paid[.]; and 
 d.  [I]include an exact copy, in its entirety, of each order 
that awards benefits for which the abstract is sought. 
 3.  Adjudication of Contest. 
 a.  A request for abstract may be adjudicated by the 
administrative law judge who issued the order awarding the benefits 
at issue, unless reassigned to another judge. 
 b.  Any objection to the request for abstract shall be filed 
within ten days of the filing date of the request. 
 c.  If an objection is filed, any reply shall be filed within 
five days of the filing date of the objection. 
 d.  If a proffer of conflicting evidence demonstrates a need 
to clarify or modify the abstract, the administrative law judge may 
schedule a hearing. Any such hearing may be held using electronic 
means. 
 e.  The administrative law judge shall issue an order 
adjudicating the request for abstract within 20 days of: 
 i.  the respondent's objection deadline, if the respondent 
does not object to the abstract; 
 ii.  the petitioner's reply deadline, if the briefing does not 
demonstrate a need to clarify or modify the abstract; or 
 iii.  the date on which the administrative law judge conducts 
a hearing on the abstract. 
 f.  The administrative law judge's decision regarding the 
request for abstract shall be subject to agency review only if agency 
review is requested before the abstract is filed with the district court. 
 
KEY:  workers' compensation, administrative procedures, 
hearings, abstract of judgment 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[October 22, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 9, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-1-301 
et seq.; 63G-4-102 et seq.; 34A-1-304(2); 34A-2-212 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R614-1-4 Filing ID 
53701 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Occupational Safety and Health 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146650 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6650 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cameron S. 
Ruppe 

801-
530-
6898 

cruppe@utah.gov 

Holly D. 
Lawrence 

801-
530-
6494 

hlawrence@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R614-1-4.  Incorporation of Federal Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The reason for this change is to incorporate the July 1, 
2020, edition of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in 
order to remove and revise safety and health standard 
requirements that are outdated, duplicative, unnecessary 
and inconsistent, which will permit better compliance by 
employers and reduce costs and paperwork burdens 
where possible, without reducing employee protections. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The revisions include an update to the consensus 
standard incorporated by reference for signs and devices 
used to protect workers near automobile traffic, a revision 
to the requirements for roll-over protective structures to 
comply with current consensus standards, updates for 
storage of digital x-rays, and the method of calling 
emergency services to allow for use of current technology.  
Two standards are also being revised to align with current 
medical practice:  A reduction to the number of necessary 

employee x-rays and updates to requirements for 
pulmonary function testing.  To protect employee privacy 
and prevent identity fraud, the requirements that 
employers include an employee's social security number 
(SSN) on exposure monitoring, medical surveillance, and 
other records were also removed from the standards.  This 
is not an economically significant regulatory action. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this proposed rule amendment is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on the state budget, as 
the changes made removes and revises outdated, 
duplicative, unnecessary and inconsistent safety and 
health standard requirements.  There will be no additional 
burden placed on the Utah Occupational Safety and 
Health Division as a result of these changes. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

It is not anticipated that enactment of this proposed rule 
amendment will incur a cost to local governments, as the 
changes made remove and revise outdated, duplicative, 
unnecessary and inconsistent safety and health standard 
requirements.  Some local government entities who fall 
within the scope of 29 CFR 1910.1029 (Coke Oven 
Emissions), 29 CFR 1910.1045 (Acrylonitrile), and 29 CFR 
1910.1018 (Inorganic Arsenic) may anticipate savings as 
a result of the removal of the requirement for periodic chest 
X-rays (CXR).  At the time these standards were 
promulgated, routine screening for lung cancer with CXR 
was considered appropriate; however, recent studies with 
many years of follow-up have not shown a benefit from 
CXR screening for either lung cancer incidence or 
mortality.  The Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA) estimates the CXR cost per each 
exam at $73.11.  The number of employees who are 
affected by these standards are unknown, therefore, the 
anticipated savings is inestimable. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
It is not anticipated that enactment of this proposed rule 
amendment will incur a cost to small businesses, as the 
changes made remove and revise outdated, duplicative, 
unnecessary and inconsistent safety and health standard 
requirements.  Some small businesses who fall within the 
scope of 29 CFR 1910.1029 (Coke Oven Emissions), 29 
CFR 1910.1045 (Acrylonitrile), and 29 CFR 1910.1018 
(Inorganic Arsenic) may anticipate savings as a result of 
the removal of the requirement for periodic CXRs.  At the 
time these standards were promulgated, routine screening 
for lung cancer with CXR was considered appropriate; 
however, recent studies with many years of follow-up have 
not shown a benefit from CXR screening for either lung 
cancer incidence or mortality.  OSHA estimates the CXR 
cost per each exam at $73.11.  The number of employees 
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who are affected by these standards are unknown, 
therefore, the anticipated savings is inestimable. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
It is not anticipated that enactment of this proposed rule 
amendment will incur a cost to non-small businesses, as 
the changes made removes and revises outdated, 
duplicative, unnecessary and inconsistent safety and 
health standard requirements.  Some non-small 
businesses who fall within the scope of 29 CFR 1910.1029 
(Coke Oven Emissions), 29 CFR 1910.1045 (Acrylonitrile), 
and 29 CFR 1910.1018 (Inorganic Arsenic) may anticipate 
savings as a result of the removal of the requirement for 
periodic CXRs.  At the time these standards were 
promulgated, routine screening for lung cancer with CXR 
was considered appropriate; however, recent studies with 
many years of follow-up have not shown a benefit from 
CXR screening for either lung cancer incidence or 
mortality.  OSHA estimates the CXR cost per each exam 
at $73.11.  The number of employees who are affected by 
these standards are unknown, therefore, the anticipated 
savings is inestimable. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this proposed rule amendment may incur a 
cost for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities.  Such 
persons who provide medical services to help employers 
comply with CXR requirements under 29 CFR 1910.1029 
(Coke Oven Emissions), 29 CFR 1910.1045 (Acrylonitrile), 
and 29 CFR 1910.1018 (Inorganic Arsenic) may anticipate 
the loss of revenue as a result of the removal of the 
requirement for periodic CXRs.  OSHA estimates the CXR 
cost per each exam at $73.11.  The number of employees 
who are affected by these standards are unknown, 
therefore, the cost incurred by persons who provide 
periodic CXRs is inestimable. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Affected persons will not incur costs as a result of adhering 
to the proposed rule amendment. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
It is not anticipated that enactment of this proposed rule 
amendment will incur a cost to businesses, as the changes 
made removes and revises outdated, duplicative, 
unnecessary and inconsistent safety and health standard 
requirements.  Some small businesses who fall within the 
scope of 29 CFR 1910.1029 (Coke Oven Emissions), 29 
CFR 1910.1045 (Acrylonitrile), and 29 CFR 1910.1018 

(Inorganic Arsenic) may anticipate savings as a result of 
the removal of the requirement for periodic CXRs.  At the 
time these standards were promulgated, routine screening 
for lung cancer with CXR was considered appropriate; 
however, recent studies with many years of follow-up have 
not shown a benefit from CXR screening for either lung 
cancer incidence or mortality.  OSHA estimates the CXR 
cost per each exam at $73.11.  The number of employees 
who are affected by these standards are unknown, 
therefore, the anticipated savings is inestimable.  Jaceson 
R. Maughan, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Labor Commission, Jaceson R 
Maughan, has reviewed and approved of the regulatory 
impact analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 34A, 
Chapter 6 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

29 CFR 1904 

Date Issued July 1, 2020 

 
B)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Second Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

29 CFR 1910.6 and 1910.21 through 
end of part 1910 

Date Issued July 1, 2020 

 
C)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Third Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

29 CFR 1926.6 and 1926.20 through 
the end of part 1926 

Date Issued July 1, 2020 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

09/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/08/2021 

 
R614.  Labor Commission, Occupational Safety and Health. 
R614-1.  General Provisions. 
R614-1-4.  Incorporation of Federal Standards. 
 A.  The following federal occupational safety and health 
standards are hereby incorporated: 
 1.  29 CFR 1904, July 1, [2019]2020, is incorporated by 
reference, except 29 CFR 1904.36 and the workplace fatality, injury and 
illness reporting requirements found in 29 CFR 1904.1, 1904.2, 1904.7 
and 1904.39.  Workplace fatalities, injuries and illnesses shall be 
reported pursuant to the more specific Utah standards in subsection 
34A-6-301(3)(b)(ii) of the Utah OSH Act and UAC R614-1-5(B)(1). 
 2.  29 CFR 1908, July 1, 2015, is incorporated by reference. 
 3.  29 CFR 1910.6 and 1910.21 through the end of part 1910, 
of the July 1, [2019]2020, edition are incorporated by reference. 
 4.  29 CFR 1926.6 and 1926.20 through the end of part 1926, 
of the July 1, [2019]2020, edition are incorporated by reference. 
 
KEY:  safety 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[October 
23, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 19, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-6 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R616-3-3 Filing ID 
53702 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name:  Email: 
Chris Hill  chill@utah.gov 
Pete Hackford  phackford@utah.gov 
Rick Sturm  rstrum@utah.gov 
Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R616-3-3.  Safety Codes for Elevators 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The reason for the change is to adopt the 2019 Edition of 
ASME A17.1 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The proposed rule change incorporates the 2019 edition 
of ASME A17.1, with the exception of Section 2.27.1 which 
requirements will remain those listed in the 2016 edition.  
The changes in the 2019 edition are mainly clarification of 
construction standards for elevators.  There are no major 
changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no cost or savings to the state budget by the 
adoption of the 2019 edition of ASME A17.1.  This is a 
construction code and elevators must be built to it at the 
factory. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no cost or savings to local governments.  This is 
a construction code and elevators must be built to it at the 
factory. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no cost to small businesses unless they install 
new elevators, or remodel or replace an existing elevator, 
escalator, or moving walk.  Then it would be up to the 
manufacturer if costs were raised to meet the new codes 
adopted throughout the US. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no cost to non-small businesses unless they 
install new elevators, or remodel or replace an existing 
elevator, escalator, or moving walk.  Then it would be up 
to the manufacturer if costs were raised to meet the new 
codes adopted throughout the US. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no cost or savings to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state or local 
government entities, as this is a construction code and 
elevators must be built to it at the factory. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons, as 
this is a construction code and elevators must be built to it 
at the factory. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Because elevators would be built to this standard at the 
factory, it would be up to the manufacturer, whether or not 
an increase in the cost of an elevator would be necessary 
because of this standard.  Jaceson R Maughan, 
Commission 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Labor Commission, Jaceson R 
Maughan, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
34A1-101 et seq. 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

ASME A17.1 

Publisher ASME 

Issue, or version 2019 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

09/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/08/2021 

 

R616.  Labor Commission, Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety. 
R616-3.  Elevator Rules. 
R616-3-3.  Safety Codes for Elevators. 
 The following safety codes are adopted and incorporated by 
reference within this rule: 
 A.  ASME A17.1-201[6]9/CSA B44-16, Safety Code for 
Elevators and Escalators, and amended as follows: 
 1.  Delete 2.2.2.5; 
 2.  The requirements listed in section 2.27.1 will be those 
listed in the 2016 Edition of ASME A17.1 Section 2.27.1 and not those 
listed in the 2019 Edition. 
 [2]3.  Amend 8.6.5.8 as follows: Existing hydraulic cylinders 
installed below ground when found to be leaking shall be replaced with 
cylinders conforming to 3.18.3.4 or the car shall be provided with 
safeties conforming to 3.17.1 and guide rails, guide rail supports and 
fastenings conforming to 3.23.1.  This code is issued every two years.  
New issues become mandatory only when a formal change is made to 
these rules.  Elevators are required to comply with the A17.1 code in 
effect at the time of installation. 
 B.  ASME A17.3 - 2015 Safety Code for Existing Elevators 
and Escalators.  This code is adopted for regulatory guidance only for 
elevators classified as remodeled elevators by the Division of Boiler, 
Elevator and Coal Mine Safety. 
 C.  ASME A90.1-2015, Safety Standard for Belt Manlifts. 
 D.  ANSI A10.4-2016, Safety Requirements for Personnel 
Hoists and Employee Elevators for Construction and Demolition 
Operations. 
 E.  ICC/ANSI A117.1 (2009) Accessible and Usable 
Buildings and Facilities, sections 407 and 408, and 410 approved 
October 20, 2010. 
 F.  ASME A18.1-2014 Safety Standard For Platform Lifts 
And Stairway Chairlifts. 
 G.  ASME A17.6-2010 Standard for Elevator Suspension, 
Compensation, and Governor Systems. 
 H.  The Commission may, by rule, add or delete from the 
applicable safety codes for any good and sufficient safety reason. 
 I.  In the event that adopted safety codes are in conflict with 
one another, the ASME A17.1, Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators 
will take precedence.  The exception to this is for compliance with the 
accessibility guidelines of Pub. L. No. 101-336 "The Americans with 
Disability Act of 1990".  In this instance, the International Building 
Code standards adopted in R616-3-3(E) for accessibility as applied to 
elevators take precedence over ASME A17.1. 
 
KEY:  elevators, certification, safety 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[May 11, 
2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 2, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-1-101 et 
seq. 
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TYPE OF RULE:  New 
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R714-165 Filing ID 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Highway Patrol 
Building: Calvin Rampton Complex 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84119-5994 

Mailing address: PO Box 141100 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1100 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tim Kincaid 801-

580-
9931 

tkincaid@utah.gov 

Kim Gibb 801-
556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Matt Spillman 801-
698-
2186 

mspillman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R714-165.  Standards for School Buses 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being enacted as a result of the passage of 
S.B. 113 during the 2021 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule establishes standards governing the design and 
operation of school buses as authorized by Section 41-6a-
1304. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to the state 
budget because this rule only establishes the standards 
that apply for school buses under Section 41-6a-1304. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

There is not an anticipated cost or savings to the local 
governments because this rule only establishes the 
standards that apply for school buses under Section 41-
6a-1304. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses because this rule only establishes the 
standards that apply for school buses under Section 41-
6a-1304. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses because this rule only establishes the 
standards that apply for school buses under Section 41-
6a-1304. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, 
or local government entities because this rule only 
establishes the standards that apply for school buses 
under Section 41-6a-1304. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is not an anticipated compliance cost for affected 
persons because this rule only establishes the standards 
that apply for school buses under Section 41-6a-1304. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule should not have an impact on businesses 
because it only establishes the standards that apply for 
Utah school buses as determined by the Utah State Board 
of Education through an incorporation by reference of the 
Standards for Utah School Buses and Operation.  Jess L. 
Anderson, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
41-6a-1304 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Standards for Utah School Buses and 
Operation 

Publisher Utah State Board of Education 

Date Issued 03/30/2021 

Issue, or version 2020 Published Edition 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tim Kincaid, 
Captain Utah  
Highway Patrol 

Date: 07/07/2021 

 
R714.  Public Safety, Highway Patrol. 
R714-165.  Standards for School Buses. 
R714-165-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 41-6a-1304. 
 
R714-165-2.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to set standards governing 
the design and operation of school buses. 
 
R714-165-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 53E-3-
401. 
 
R714-165-4.  Adoption of Standards for Utah School Buses and 
Operations Standards. 
 (1)  In cooperation with the Utah State Board of Education, 
the Standards for Utah School Buses and Operations as contained in the 
2020 Published Edition, is incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  The Standards for Utah School Buses and Operations are 
published by the Utah State Board of Education and can be found at 
https://www.schools.utah.gov/file/aadb2d10-f996-4423-badd-
2723d1186176. 
 (3)  The requirements in Subsections (1) and (2) apply to the 
design and operation of all school buses in this state when: 
 (a)  owned and operated by any education entity; 
 (b)  privately owned and operated under contract with an 
education entity; or 
 (c)  privately owned for use by a private school. 
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KEY:  school bus, school bus standards 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-6a-1304 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R728-403 Filing ID 
53740 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Peace Officer Standards and Training 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Scott Stephenson 801-

256-
2322 

sstephen@utah.gov 

Kim Gibb 801-
556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R728-403.  Procedures for Certification 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This change is being made as a result of the passage of 
S.B. 102 during the 2021 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments in the rule: 
1)  allow for a lawful permanent resident to apply for 
training and certification through Peace Officer Standards 
and Training (POST); 
2)  change the waiting period to apply for certification 
following multiple convictions or violations from 
consecutively to concurrently; 
3)  remove the requirement for an applicant to provide a 
BCI proficiency certificate, ICS 100 training, and NIMS 700 
training; 
4)  remove the designation of inactive for a peace officer 
or dispatcher not performing duties for a period of 18 
months; and 
5)  make grammatical corrections. 
 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to the state 
budget because the amendments only allow for a lawful 
permanent resident to apply for training and certification 
through POST, modify some of the requirements for 
certification, and make grammatical corrections. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is not an anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments because the amendments only allow for a 
lawful permanent resident to apply for training and 
certification through POST, modify some of the 
requirements for certification, and make grammatical 
corrections. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses because the amendments only allow for a 
lawful permanent resident to apply for training and 
certification through POST, modify some of the 
requirements for certification, and make grammatical 
corrections. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses because the amendments only allow for a 
lawful permanent resident to apply for training and 
certification through POST, modify some of the 
requirements for certification, and make grammatical 
corrections. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is not an anticipated cost or savings to persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, or 
state or local government entities because the 
amendments only allow for a lawful permanent resident to 
apply for training and certification through POST, modify 
some of the requirements for certification, and make 
grammatical corrections. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is not an anticipated compliance cost for affected 
persons because the amendments only allow for a lawful 
permanent resident to apply for training and certification 
through POST, modify some of the requirements for 
certification, and make grammatical corrections. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is not an anticipated fiscal impact to small or non-
small businesses because the amendments only allow for 
a lawful permanent resident to apply for training and 
certification through POST, remove some of the 
certificates required for certification, remove the 
requirement that a certification expires after an officer or 
dispatcher has not performed related duties for 18 months, 
and make grammatical corrections.  Jess L. Anderson, 
Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53-6-203 Section 53-6-205 Section 53-6-206 
Section 53-6-208 Section 53-6-302 Section 53-6-303 
Section 53-6-304 Section 53-6-306  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Scott 
Stephenson, 
Director POST 

Date: 07/14/2021 

 
R728.  Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and Training. 
R728-403.  Procedures for Certification. 
R728-403-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Subsection 53-6-105(1)(k), which 
provides that the director shall, with the advice of the council, make 
rules necessary to administer Title 53 Chapter 6. 
 
R728-403-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to provide procedures for a 
dispatcher or peace officer to become certified or reactivate certification. 
 
R728-403-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 53-6-102. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Actively Engaged" means a currently certified peace 
officer as defined in Section 53-13-102 through 53-13-105 who works 
while on duty as defined in 53-13-101 for a minimum of 60 hours per 
reporting year and receives annual training as defined in Section 53-6-
306(3)(a). 
 (b)  "Applicant" means a person seeking to become certified 
or reinstate certification as a dispatcher or peace officer; 
 (c)  "Certification examination" means the written test given 
to an applicant to become certified or to reactivate certification as a 
dispatcher or peace officer; 
 (d)  "Physical fitness test" means the physical fitness 
standards adopted by the council on June 4, 2009, which must be met in 
order to become a peace officer; 
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 (e)  "Reporting year" means an annual period starting on July 
1, and ending on June 30 of the following year; 
 (f)  "Training program" means the basic training courses 
offered by the division or one of the certified academies, which are 
required to become a: 
 (i)  special function officer; 
 (ii)  correctional officer; 
 (iii)  law enforcement officer; or 
 (iv)  dispatcher; and 
 (g)  "Training year" means the same as reporting year. 
 
R728-403-4.  Application for Training and Certification. 
 (1)  An applicant seeking to become certified as a dispatcher 
or peace officer shall submit a completed application packet to the 
division that includes: 
 (a)  a written or electronic application form provided by the 
division; 
 (b)  a photocopy of a government-issued identification card; 
 (c)  evidence that the applicant is a United States citizen or 
lawful permanent resident to include: 
 (i)  a photocopy of a birth certificate;[ or] 
 (ii)  a photocopy of a United States passport;[, or,] 
 (iii)  in the case of naturalized citizen, a naturalization 
number; or 
 (iv)  in the case of a lawful permanent resident, a photocopy 
of a lawful permanent resident card that identifies residence for five 
years immediately preceding the day on which the application is made; 
 (d)  one completed FBI applicant fingerprint card (Form FD-
258) with the applicant's legible fingerprints; 
 (e)  one recent color photograph of passport quality with the 
applicant's name written on the back of the photograph; 
 (f)  evidence that the applicant has completed high school or 
obtained the educational equivalent; and 
 (g)  the application fee, unless the applicant has been hired as 
a dispatcher or peace officer by a governmental entity. 
 (2)  An applicant seeking to become a certified peace officer 
shall also submit[: 
 (a)  proof that the applicant has achieved a passing score on 
the National Peace Officer Selection Test (NPOST), unless the applicant 
was certified as a special functions officer prior to 1997 and is applying 
to become a law enforcement officer or correctional officer; and 
 (b) ] a medical evaluation from a medical doctor indicating 
the applicant is able to participate in all aspects of the training program. 
 (3)  The applicant must submit the application packet four 
weeks prior to the start of a training program to allow the division 
adequate time to process the application packet. 
 (a)  The division shall not accept nor process any application 
that is not complete or fails to include all required attachments. 
 (4)  An application shall be considered valid for one year from 
the time the application is completed by the applicant. 
 (5)(a)  Once a completed application packet is received by the 
division, the packet shall be reviewed to determine if the applicant meets 
the requirements in Sections 53-6-203 or 53-6-302. 
 (b)  If the division does not have sufficient information to 
make this determination, the division may request the applicant provide 
additional information. 
 (6)(a)  In determining whether an applicant has demonstrated 
good moral character as required by Sections 53-6-203 or 53-6-302, the 
division shall conduct a criminal history background check of local, 
state, and national criminal history files to determine if the applicant has 
a criminal record. 

 (b)  An applicant with a criminal history that contains any of 
the following shall be denied entrance into a training program and shall 
not receive certification: 
 (i)  a conviction of a felony under state or federal law in this 
or any other state; 
 (ii)  dismissal from the armed services under dishonorable 
conditions; or 
 (iii)  a conviction of domestic violence, unless the conviction 
has been expunged or set aside. 
 (c)  An applicant who has been convicted of, or involved in 
conduct which is a state or federal criminal offense, may not be allowed 
to attend a basic training program or receive POST certification for a 
period of time consistent with the POST Council disciplinary guidelines 
as approved by the council[ on June 5, 2013]. 
 (i)  The waiting period shall run from the date of the 
involvement, unless the applicant is still under court supervision (i.e. 
probation) for the violation, in which case the applicant will not be 
allowed to make application until the probation has been successfully 
completed or the applicant is no longer under court supervision. 
 (ii)  Waiting periods shall run [consecutively]concurrently for 
applicants who have been convicted of or involved in multiple 
violations. 
 (d)  Any activity involving the abuse of alcohol or drugs may 
be considered in determining whether an applicant will be allowed to 
attend a basic training program or receive POST certification. 
 (e)  An applicant convicted of or involved in minor crimes not 
otherwise identified in this rule, including traffic violations that reflect a 
willful disregard for lawful behavior as evidenced by repetitiveness of 
conduct or other aggravating factors, [shall]may not be allowed to attend 
a basic training program or receive POST certification prior to one year 
from the latest conviction or involvement. 
 (i)  In cases where arrest warrants are issued, the one-year 
waiting period will begin at the time the warrant is served on the 
applicant. 
 (f)  If an applicant is found to have falsified any information 
to gain admittance into a basic training program, a two-year waiting 
period shall be applied from the date the division becomes aware of the 
falsification. 
 (i)  If the [information ]falsified information is covered by 
other sections of this rule, (i.e., state or federal criminal offense) and a 
specific waiting period is required, the division shall require the 
applicant to wait the longer of the two periods. Waiting periods will not 
be combined to run [consecutively]concurrently. 
 (ii)  If an applicant completes the basic training program and 
prior to taking the certification examination the division becomes aware 
of a falsification, the applicant shall not be allowed to take the 
certification examination. 
 (iii)  An applicant who is dismissed during the course of a 
basic training program for falsifying any information to obtain 
certification shall not be eligible for further POST training or 
certification until the two-year waiting period has been met. 
 (iv)  If an applicant becomes certifiable and then is 
subsequently discovered to have falsified information to obtain certified 
status, that individual may be subject to suspension of their POST 
certification. 
 (7)  If the applicant is the subject of an ongoing investigation 
by the division, the applicant shall not be deemed eligible to attend a 
training program until the investigation is completed. 
 (8)  If the division determines that the applicant meets all of 
the requirements in Sections 53-6-203 or 53-6-302, the division shall 
notify the applicant that the applicant is eligible to attend a training 
program. 
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 (9)  If the division determines that the applicant does not meet 
the requirements in Sections 53-6-203 or 53-6-302, the applicant shall 
be denied admission to a training program. 
 (10)  Applicants who are accepted into a peace officer training 
program shall pass the POST physical fitness requirements for entrance 
into the specific training program as approved by the [C]council and 
outlined in POST policy and procedure 2390-Physical Training 
Requirements. 
 (11)  Applicants who are accepted into a peace officer training 
program shall be subject to random and "for cause" drug testing as 
outlined in POST policy and procedure 2400-Drug Testing for 
Applicants and Cadets. 
 (12)  Applicants seeking dispatcher certification must also 
provide evidence of[: 
 (a) ] Utah Emergency Medical Dispatcher (EMD) 
certification[; 
 (b)  Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) proficiency 
certificate; and 
 (c)  documentation showing completion of: 
 (i)  Incident Command System (ICS) 100 training; 
 (ii)  ICS 200 training; and 
 (iii)  National Incident Management System (NIMS) 700 
training]. 
 
R728-403-5.  Completion of a Training Program. 
 (1)  An applicant successfully completes the training program 
by: 
 (a)  attending all required training courses; 
 (b)  obtaining passing scores on all intermediate and subject 
specific tests; and 
 (c)  participating in all required physical fitness, practical skill 
training and other required activities. 
 (2)  Applicants shall be subject to all officially published 
policy at the training academy they attend. 
 (3)  An applicant who fails to complete any portion of the 
academic training program may not take the certification examination. 
 (4)  An applicant may take the certification examination prior 
to passing the physical fitness, defensive tactics, firearms, or emergency 
vehicle operations tests. 
 (5)  An applicant who is unable to pass the physical fitness, 
defensive tactics or firearms tests, within one year after completing the 
training program or within one year of taking the certification 
examination shall be denied certification. 
 (6)  An applicant who is unable to pass the emergency vehicle 
operations tests within one year from completion of the emergency 
vehicle operations training program shall be denied certification. 
 (7)  An applicant who fails the certification examination shall 
have one opportunity to take a make-up examination within one year of 
the first examination. 
 (a)  An applicant who fails the certification examination after 
two attempts shall be denied certification and shall not be permitted to 
take the certification examination again until the applicant satisfactorily 
completes another approved basic training program. 
 (8)  An applicant who successfully completes the training 
program shall be certified as a peace officer in the state of Utah. 
 
R728-403-6.  Waiver of Basic Training Program. 
 (1)  An applicant who has not attended a training program 
offered by the division or a satellite academy, may seek to waive a 
training program by submitting a completed waiver packet to the 
division, which includes: 

 (a)  a completed application packet as provided in Section 
R728-403-4; 
 (b)  documentation showing that the applicant has completed 
training equivalent to the training program the applicant is seeking to 
waive, such as: 
 (i)  a copy of the training curriculum; 
 (ii)  the number of hours completed; and 
 (iii)  the date the training was completed; and 
 (c)  evidence of any prior employment as a dispatcher or peace 
officer that includes: 
 (i)  a detailed job description; and 
 (ii)  verification from the applicant's employer of the last date 
the applicant worked as a dispatcher or peace officer. 
 (2)  Once the division has received a completed waiver 
packet, the division shall review the packet to determine if the training 
completed by the applicant is the equivalent of the training program the 
applicant seeks to waive. 
 (a)  If the division does not have sufficient information to 
make this determination, the division may request that the applicant 
submit additional information. 
 (3)  If the division determines the peace officer training 
completed by the applicant is the equivalent of the peace officer training 
program the applicant seeks to waive, and the program was completed 
less than four years prior to the date the applicant will take the 
certification examination, or the applicant has been actively engaged in 
performing the duties of a peace officer within the past four years, and 
the applicant meets all of the requirements in Section R728-403-4 and 
Sections 53-6-203 and 53-6-206, the applicant may take the physical 
fitness test and the certification examination. 
 (a)  If the applicant passes both the physical fitness test and 
the certification examination, the applicant shall be certified as a peace 
officer in the state of Utah. 
 (b)  If the applicant fails to pass the certification examination, 
the applicant shall be given one additional opportunity to pass the 
certification examination, which must be completed within one year of 
the first examination. 
 (c)  An applicant who fails the certification examination after 
two attempts shall be denied certification and shall not be permitted to 
take the certification examination again until the applicant satisfactorily 
completes an approved basic training program. 
 (d)  If the applicant fails to pass the physical fitness test, the 
applicant may be given additional opportunities to pass during regularly 
scheduled fitness tests provided by POST. 
 (e)  The applicant must pass the certification examination and 
the physical fitness test within four years from the date of completion of 
the original training program, or four years from the date they were last 
actively engaged in the duties of a peace officer. 
 (f)  An applicant who successfully completes the waiver 
process for law enforcement officer certification or correctional officer 
certification shall be deemed to have also completed requirements for 
special functions officer certification. 
 (g)  An applicant seeking to be certified as both a law 
enforcement officer and a correctional officer must complete the waiver 
process and pass the certification examinations for each of those peace 
officer classifications. 
 (4)  If the division determines that the dispatcher training 
completed by the applicant is the equivalent of the training program the 
applicant seeks to waive, and the program was completed less than four 
years prior to the date the applicant will take the certification 
examination, or the applicant has been actively engaged in performing 
the duties of a dispatcher within the past four years, and the applicant 
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meets all of the requirements in Section R728-403-4 and Sections 53-6-
302 and 53-6-304, the applicant may take the certification examination. 
 (a)  If the applicant passes the certification examination, the 
applicant shall be certified as a dispatcher in the state of Utah. 
 (b)  If the applicant fails to pass the certification examination, 
the applicant shall be given one additional opportunity to pass the 
certification examination, which must be completed within one year of 
the first examination. 
 (c)  An applicant who fails the certification examination after 
two attempts shall be denied certification and shall not be permitted to 
take the certification examination again until the applicant satisfactorily 
completes an approved basic training program. 
 (5)  If the applicant fails to meet any of the requirements set 
forth in this rule, the applicant may not waive the training program. 
 
R728-403-7.  Reactivation of Certification. 
 (1)  [Pursuant to Section 53-6-208 or 53-6-306, the 
certification of a peace officer or dispatcher who has not been actively 
engaged in performing the duties of a peace officer or dispatcher for 18 
months shall be designated "inactive". 
 (a)  ]The certification of a peace officer or dispatcher that has 
been suspended for more than 18 consecutive months due to disciplinary 
action or failure to complete in-service training shall be considered 
"inactive". 
 (2)  An applicant whose certification has become inactive may 
reactivate the applicant's peace officer or dispatcher certification by 
submitting a completed reactivation packet to the division, which 
includes: 
 (a)  a completed application packet as provided in Section 
R728-403-4; and 
 (b)  evidence of the applicant's prior employment as a 
dispatcher or peace officer. 
 (3)  Once the division has received a completed reactivation 
packet, the division shall review the packet to determine if the applicant 
meets all of the requirements in Sections 53-6-203 and 53-6-208, or 53-
6-302 and 53-6-306. 
 (a)  If the division does not have sufficient information to 
make this determination, the division may request the applicant submit 
additional information. 
 (4)  If an applicant for reactivation of peace officer 
certification meets all of the requirements in Sections 53-6-203 and 53-
6-208, the applicant may take the physical fitness test and the 
certification examination as provided in Section R728-403-5. 
 (a)  If the applicant passes both the physical fitness test and 
the certification examination, the applicant shall be certified as a peace 
officer in the state of Utah. 
 (b)  If the applicant fails to pass the certification examination, 
the applicant shall be given one additional opportunity to pass the 
certification examination, which must be completed within one year of 
the first examination. 
 (c)  An applicant who fails the certification examination after 
two attempts shall be denied certification and shall not be permitted to 
take the certification examination again until the applicant satisfactorily 
complete an approved basic training program. 
 (d)  If an applicant fails to pass the physical fitness test, the 
applicant may be given additional opportunities to pass during regularly 
scheduled fitness tests provided by POST. 
 (4)  If an applicant for reactivation of dispatcher certification 
meets all of the requirements in Sections 53-6-302 and 53-6-306, the 
applicant may take the certification examination, as provided in Section 
R728-403-5. 

 (a)  If the applicant passes the certification examination, the 
applicant shall be certified as a dispatcher in the state of Utah. 
 (b)  If the applicant fails to pass the certification examination 
they will be given one additional opportunity to pass the certification 
examination which must be completed within one year of the first 
examination. 
 (c)  An applicants who fails the certification examination after 
two attempts shall be denied certification and shall not be permitted to 
take the certification examination again until the applicant satisfactorily 
complete an approved basic training program. 
 (5)  If the applicant for reactivation of peace officer or 
dispatcher certification fails to meet any of these requirements, the 
applicant's certification may not be reactivated. 
 (6)  The certification of a peace officer or dispatcher that has 
been suspended or inactive for more than four consecutive years shall 
be considered "lapsed" and the peace officer or dispatcher shall comply 
with the requirements in Section 53-6-208 or 53-6-306 before 
certification may be reinstated. 
 
R728-403-8.  Denial of Certification. 
 (1)  An applicant shall be denied certification for failing to 
satisfy any of the requirements under administrative rule R728-403. 
 (2)  An applicant who is the subject of an ongoing 
investigation by the division, or who is under court supervision for a 
state or federal criminal offense, may not be certified until the 
investigation has been completed and/or the court supervision has been 
terminated. 
 (3)  If the division denies an applicant certification, the 
division shall issue a letter of denial by mail. 
 (a)  The letter of denial shall state the reasons for denial and 
indicate that the applicant may appeal the decision to the director by 
filing a written request for review within 30 days from the date of the 
division's decision as provided by Section 63G-4-301. 
 (b)  Within a reasonable time after receiving the appeal, the 
director shall review the matter and determine whether the applicant 
may be certified. 
 (c)  If upon further review the director denies the applicant's 
appeal, the director shall notify the applicant by letter and indicate that 
the applicant has the right to appeal the director's decision by filing a 
petition for judicial review within 30 days as provided in Section 63G-
4-402. 
 (4)  An applicant who has been denied certification shall meet 
all of the requirements in this rule before being certified. 
 (5)  All adjudicative proceedings under this rule shall be 
informal according to the provisions in Sections 63G-4-202 through 
63G-4-203. 
 
KEY:  dispatchers, peace officers, certifications, waivers 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[August 
23, 2016] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 13, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-6-203; 53-
6-205; 53-6-206; 53-6-208; 53-6-302; 53-6-303; 53-6-304; 53-6-306 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-6 Filing ID 
53745 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Keli Beard 801-

538-
5185 

kelibeard@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-6.  Government Records Access and Management 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This change amends the current GRAMA rule as 
necessary to fully implement Section 53C-2-102. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule change eliminates the duplication language cited 
in the Government Records Access and Management Act.  
Also, proposed to include a provision prohibiting 
disclosure of proprietary information protected under 
Section 53C-2-102 and Rule R850-13.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  
The proposed new Rule R850-13 is under ID No. 53747 in 
this issue, August 1, 2021, of the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The main purposes of the amendments to this rule are:  1) 
to eliminate duplication of the statute; 2) to name the 
"records specialist" as the person designated by the 
director to assist the public in accessing School and 
Institutional Trust Lands Administration (SITLA) records; 
and 3) to clarify that SITLA will deny a request under 
GRAMA if the records are protected under Section 53C-2-
102 as "proprietary information".  SITLA typically shares 
records with other government agencies without going 
through the formal GRAMA process, but to the extent that 
the state requests "records" under GRAMA, this rule will 

not increase the cost of making the request and serves 
only to make the process more predictable. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The main purposes of the amendments to this rule are:  1) 
to eliminate duplication of the statute; 2) to name the 
"records specialist" as the person designated by the 
director to assist the public in accessing SITLA records; 
and 3) to clarify that SITLA will deny a request under 
GRAMA if the records are protected under Section 53C-2-
102 as "proprietary information".  SITLA typically shares 
records with other government agencies without going 
through the formal GRAMA process, but to the extent that 
any local governments request "records" under GRAMA, 
this rule will not increase the cost of making the request 
and serves only to make the process more predictable. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
One of the main purposes of the amendments to this rule 
it to clarify that SITLA will deny a request under GRAMA if 
the records are protected under Section 53C-2-102 as 
"proprietary information".  SITLA works often with small 
businesses and occasionally requires these small 
businesses to provide SITLA with sensitive commercial 
information.  GRAMA provides limited protection for 
sensitive commercial information and these businesses 
have been reluctant to share the information with SITLA.  
This amendment serves to align SITLA's responsibilities 
under GRAMA with its authorization to keep third-party 
"proprietary information" confidential under Section 53C-
2-102 and make it easier for small businesses to share this 
kind of information with SITLA, when necessary.  If 
anything, SITLA expects this rule to save small businesses 
time in producing information to SITLA, thus saving them 
money. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
One of the main purposes of the amendments to this rule 
it to clarify that SITLA will deny a request under GRAMA if 
the records are protected under Section 53C-2-102 as 
"proprietary information".  SITLA works often with non-
small businesses and occasionally requires these 
businesses to provide SITLA with sensitive commercial 
information.  GRAMA provides limited protection for 
sensitive commercial information and these businesses 
have been reluctant to share the information with SITLA.  
This amendment serves to align SITLA's responsibilities 
under GRAMA with its authorization to keep third-party 
"proprietary information" confidential under Section 53C-
2-102 and make it easier for businesses to share this kind 
of information with SITLA, when necessary.  If anything, 
SITLA expects this rule to save businesses time in 
producing information to SITLA, thus saving them money. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
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association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The main purposes of the amendments to this rule are:  1) 
to eliminate duplication of the statute; 2) to name the 
"records specialist" as the person designated by the 
director to assist the public in accessing SITLA records; 
and 3) to clarify that SITLA will deny a request under 
GRAMA if the records are protected under Section 53C-2-
102 as "proprietary information".  For persons doing 
business with SITLA, this rule may save them money by 
making it easier for them to provide SITLA with "proprietary 
information".  For persons requesting records under 
GRAMA, this rule provides clarity about where to send the 
request.  If SITLA does not produce a document requested 
under GRAMA based on Section 53C-2-102, persons may 
seek enforcement through appeal and litigation.  While 
SITLA believes protection of business information under 
GRAMA and "proprietary information" under Section 53C-
2-102 is very similar, "proprietary information" is broader 
and intended to protect commercially sensitive information 
of third parties.  SITLA anticipates litigation, which will raise 
the costs for those persons choosing to litigate the issues. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
To the extent that SITLA must litigate withholding 
"proprietary information" from a response to a GRAMA 
request, this rule will cost the agency money for that 
litigation.  Otherwise, it will not cost SITLA money to 
adhere to this rule. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
SITLA is charged with raising money for the trust land 
beneficiaries and does so primarily by working with 
individuals and businesses.  To ensure that SITLA is 
obtaining market rates, it often requires these individuals 
and businesses to produce sensitive geologic, financial, 
and commercial information.  Businesses are reluctant to 
produce this information for fear that it will become public 
under GRAMA.  The Utah Legislature anticipated these 
concerns by adopting Section 53C-2-102 authorizing 
SITLA to keep confidential this type of third-party 
commercially-sensitive information. 
 
The amendments to this rule, together with the new Rule 
R850-13 is intended to put into effect Section 53C-2-102, 
making it easier for SITLA to obtain information it needs to 
profit from use of the trust assets.  David Ure, Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Administration, David Ure, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Sections 6, 8, 10,  
and 12, Utah 
Enabling Act of  
1894 

Section 
63A-12-104 

Subsection 
53C-1-201(3)(a) 
(i)(A) 

Article X Article XX Section 
63G-2-204 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
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agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

David Ure, 
Director 

Date: 07/15/2021 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-6.  Government Records Access and Management. 
R850-6-100.  Purposes and Authority. 
 1.  This rule provides procedures for appropriate access to 
agency records under the Government Records Access and 
Management Act. 
 2.  This rule is authorized by Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of 
the Utah Enabling Act; Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution; 
and Sections 63A-12-104, 63G-2-204, and [63G-2-603, ]53C-1-
201(3)(a)(i)(A)[, and 53C-2-102]. 
 
R850-6-200.  Definitions. 
 [1.  Terms used in this rule are]In addition to the terms 
defined in [Section 63G-2-103. 
 2.  In addition:]R850-1, the term "records specialist" when 
used in R850-6, means the individual 
[ (a)  Records coordinators: individuals] designated by the 
[agency ]director to [coordinate records access requests and to ]assist 
the public in gaining access to records maintained by the agency.[  
Records coordinators are located in the Salt Lake Office, 675 East 
500 South, Suite 500, Salt Lake City, UT 84102.] 
 
R850-6-300.  [Allocation of Responsibility Within the Agency] 
Requests for Records. 
[ The agency is considered a governmental entity and the 
director of the agency is considered the head of the government 
entity. 
 
R850-6-400.  Requests for Access.] 
 1.  [Request for access to records shall be on a form 
provided by the agency or in another legible written document which 
contains the following information: the requester's name, mailing 
address, daytime telephone, a description of the records requested 
that identifies the record with reasonable specificity, and if the record 
is not public, information regarding requester's status. 
 2.  The request shall be submitted to the records officer or 
coordinator.  The response to the request may be delayed if not 
properly directed. 
 3.  ]A person may request a record by submitting a request 
to the records specialist using the agency's form or as otherwise 

provided in Section 63G-2-204.  Failure to submit the records request 
on the agency's form may delay the agency's response. 
 2.  In addition to the reasons set forth in Title 63G, Chapter 
2, Part 3 of the Utah Code, t[T]he agency shall deny a request for[ 
private, controlled, protected or limited access records if the request 
is not made in writing and does not contain information required in 
this section. 
 4.  Notwithstanding the provision of subsection 63G-2-
204(1), the agency may, at its discretion, waive the requirement for a 
written request if the records requested are public, the records are 
readily accessible and the request is filled promptly by providing 
access or copying at the time the request is made. 
 
R850-6-500.  Other Requests. 
 1.  For research purposes: 
 Access requests for private or controlled records for 
research purposes pursuant to Section 63G-2-202(8), shall be made 
in writing and directed only to the records officer. 
 2.  To amend a record: 
 An individual may contest the accuracy or completeness of 
a document pertaining to him as maintained by the agency pursuant 
to Section 63G-2-603. 
 (a)  The request to amend shall be made in writing to the 
records officer. 
 (b)  Appeals of requests to amend a record shall be handled 
as informal hearings] records that are confidential under[ the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 3.  To claim business confidentiality: 
 A request for protected records status based on a claim of 
business confidentiality may be made pursuant to Section 63G-2-
309.  Such a request shall be submitted in writing to the director or 
his designee.  The request shall contain the claim of business 
confidentiality and a concise statement of reasons supporting the 
claim of business confidentiality. 
 4.  To claim limited records status: 
 A lessee may claim that mineral information provided to 
the agency should be protected under Section] 53C-2-102 and R850-
13. 
[ (a)  Such a request shall be submitted in writing to the 
director or his designee.  The request shall contain a claim that the 
information provided the agency is of a proprietary nature and a 
concise statement of reasons supporting the claim. 
 (b) If the agency agrees the information is of a proprietary 
nature, the request shall be granted and the information shall receive 
limited records status until: 
 i) the lease is terminated and the agency believes the release 
of the information is not detrimental to the trust; or 
 ii) the lessee or its successor in interest ceases to exist as an 
entity and the agency believes the release of the information is not 
detrimental to the trust. 
 (c)  A record granted limited records status under this 
section shall not be released to another party without written 
permission from the lessee providing the information during the 
period the limited records status is in effect. 
 (d)  The agency may make information provided limited 
records status under this section available for inspection, but not for 
copying, by the Utah Geological Survey or the Division of Oil, Gas 
and Mining if consultation is requested by the agency, provided 
further that the confidentiality of such information is safeguarded. 
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R850-6-600.  Denials. 
 1.  If any access or status request is denied in whole or in 
part, a notice of denial shall be given to the requester in person or 
sent to the requester's address. 
 2.  The notice of denial shall contain the information 
required in subsection 63G-2-205(2). 
 
R850-6-700.  Appeal of Determination. 
 1.  Any person aggrieved by an access or status request 
determination including a person not a party to the agency proceeding 
may, within 30 days after the determination, appeal the determination 
to the director by submitting a notice of appeal either on a form 
provided by the agency or another legible written document which 
contains the following information: the petitioner's name, mailing 
address and daytime telephone number (if available); and the relief 
sought. 
 2.  Upon receiving the notice of appeal and review of 
relevant information including that submitted with the appeal and 
criteria prescribed in Sections 63G-2-204, 63G-2-603, and 53C-2-
102, the director may: 
 (a)  uphold the original classification or status request 
determination; or, 
 (b) reclassify the record if he believes the original 
classification was incorrect; or, 
 (c) release the record regardless of its classification if the 
director believes that the interest of the public in obtaining access to 
the record outweighs the interest of the agency in prohibiting access 
to the record. 
 
R850-6-800.  Fees. 
 1.  A fee schedule for the direct and indirect costs of 
duplicating or compiling a record may be obtained from the records 
officer or any records coordinator located at the addresses provided 
in R850-6-200, Definitions.] 
 
KEY:  GRAMA, government documents, public records 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[August 
7, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 27, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
201(3)(a)(i)(A)[; 53C-2-102] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-13 Filing ID 
53747 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 
Keli Beard 801-

538-
5185 

kelibeard@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-13.  Confidential Treatment of Proprietary 
Information 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The rule is designed to permit the agency to treat third-
party proprietary information as confidential and to more 
effectively transact business on trust lands. 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The proposed rule defines "proprietary information" as 
information owned or controlled by the provider, that 
provides a competitive business advantage to the 
provider, that SITLA could not otherwise obtain through 
public sources.  This definition encompasses information 
that would otherwise be non-public which SITLA desires to 
review to evaluate a project or proposal.  Also, it creates a 
process for a provider to submit proprietary information 
and make a request for confidential treatment and includes 
a requirement that SITLA hold as confidential any such 
information the agency agrees is proprietary. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Section 53C-2-102 requires the director to adopt rules to 
permit the agency to "retain, without disclosure to third 
parties," proprietary information received from third parties 
desiring to do business with the agency.  The purpose of 
this new rule is to give effect to this statutory requirement.  
Implementation of the rule will not cost the state any 
money nor save money or generate revenue for the state.  
Other state agencies may continue to request information 
from the agency, which the agency may share under 
confidentiality, if appropriate.  Making these requests will 
not cost the state any additional time or resources than is 
already spent by other state agencies in making informal 
requests or formal requests under GRAMA. 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

58 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule will not create new costs or savings for local 
governments.  Occasionally, local governments request 
information from the agency, which the agency freely 
shares on an informal basis.  The agency may deny a 
request for documents from a local government if the 
document is protected under GRAMA and this rule will give 
agency an additional statutory basis on which to deny a 
request.  While a local governmental agency may disagree 
with the agency's decision, School and Institutional Trust 
Lands Administration (SITLA) does not anticipate 
administrative or judicial proceedings.  This rule does not 
impose any additional requirements for local governments 
to request information, but only permits the agency to 
retain third-party proprietary information. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
One of the primary purposes of this rule is to permit the 
agency to more effectively do business in Utah.  Under 
certain State Records Committee decisions, an entity 
submitting information that could be protected under 
GRAMA is only entitled to such protection if the submitting 
entity follows certain formal rules that are not found in rule 
or statute--such as the requirement that the submitting 
entity request protection under GRAMA at the exact time 
that it submits the information.  Failure to make the request 
at the exact time that the information is provided has 
resulted in the State Records Committee requiring state 
agencies to disclose such information. 
 
Small businesses often are not represented by legal 
counsel and are not aware of these stringent 
requirements.  SITLA anticipates that this rule will save 
small businesses time and money by making it easier to 
submit proprietary information to the agency without such 
information being disclosed after the fact due to a 
technicality.  This rule will also give small businesses 
comfort in submitting proprietary information to the agency 
thus encouraging more disclosure to the agency and 
allowing the agency to better price and compete on trust 
lands. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
One of the primary purposes of this rule is to permit the 
agency to more effectively compete in the marketplace.  
Non-small businesses typically hire attorneys in making a 
deal with the agency.  Often the attorneys advise these 
non-small businesses not to share proprietary information 
with the agency because of the risk of disclosure under 
GRAMA.  This rule is not likely to save these non-small 
businesses money and the agency anticipates that their 
attorneys will continue to review transactions with SITLA.  
This rule is not likely to cost non-small businesses 
additional legal costs.  However, this rule may give non-
small businesses and their attorneys more comfort in 
provided the agency with third party proprietary 
information which will hopefully encourage these 

businesses to share more information and enable the 
agency to more effectively compete in the marketplace. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
To the extent that persons submit proprietary information 
to the agency, this rule will create the same benefits as for 
small businesses by making it more likely that such 
proprietary information is not disclosed based on a 
technicality.  To the extent that persons request records 
from the agency under GRAMA, this rule may frustrate 
such persons by giving the agency an additional ground 
on which to withhold information.  When SITLA withholds 
information under GRAMA, the requesting person may 
appeal the decision to the state records committee.  
However, if SITLA withholds information under Section 
53C-2-102 and this new rule, the state records committee 
will not have jurisdiction to review the decision.  The 
person requesting the information will need to file a lawsuit 
if it believes the information has been withheld 
inappropriately, which will increase the cost of a GRAMA 
request. 
 
Please note that the statute and this rule only protect third 
party information of a commercially sensitive nature  it 
does not protect records created by the agency. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
To the extent that SITLA must litigate withholding 
"proprietary information" from a response to a GRAMA 
request, this rule will cost SITLA money for that litigation.  
SITLA anticipates that this rule will encourage disclosure 
of proprietary information to SITLA thus allowing SITLA to 
more effectively compete in the marketplace and bring in 
more revenue for the trust. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
SITLA is charged with raising money for the trust land 
beneficiaries and does so primarily by working with 
individuals and businesses.  To ensure that SITLA is 
obtaining market rates, it often requires these individuals 
and businesses to produce sensitive geologic, financial, 
and commercial information.  Businesses are reluctant to 
produce this information for fear that it will become public 
under GRAMA.  The Utah Legislature anticipated these 
concerns in adopting Section 53C-2-102 authorizing 
SITLA to keep confidential third party commercially-
sensitive information.  
 
This rule, together with the amendments to Rule R850-6, 
is intended to put into effect Section 53C-2-102, making it 
easier for SITLA to obtain information it needs to profit from 
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use of the trust assets.  David Ure, Director  (EDITOR'S 
NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule R850-6 is 
under ID No. 53745 in this issue, August 1, 2021, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Administration, David Ure, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

28 Stat. 107-112, 
Sections 6, 8, 10,  
and 12, Utah  
Enabling Act of  
1894 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a) 
(ii) 

Subsection 
53C-2-102(3) 

Article X Article XX  
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

David Ure, 
Director 

Date: 07/15/2021 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-13.  Confidential Treatment of Proprietary Information. 
R850-13-100.  Authorities. 
 1.  This rule implements Section 53C-2-102(3), which 
gives the agency independent authority to keep information owned 
by third parties confidential. 
 2.  This rule is authorized by Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of 
the Utah Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, 
and Sections 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-2-102(3) of the Utah 
Code. 
 
R850-13-200.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in R850-1 and Section 53C-
2-102, the terms below, when used in R850-13 are defined as follows: 
 1.  "Propriety information" means information in any form 
that is owned or controlled by the provider, which the agency could 
not reasonably obtain through public sources, and which provides a 
competitive business advantage to the provider, including financial, 
business, engineering, and geologic information and analysis. 
 2.  "Provider" means a prospective applicant, applicant, 
partner, permittee, lessee, or any other third party that provides the 
agency with proprietary information for the purpose of entering into 
a potential transaction or as required by the agency under the terms 
of any permit, lease, or other business arrangement. 
 
R850-13-300.  Request for Proprietary Information. 
 1.  The agency may require that a provider submit 
proprietary information: 
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 (a)  to evaluate a potential or submitted application, bid, 
proposal, or agreement; 
 (b)  as part of negotiating a potential agreement with a third 
party; or 
 (c)  to assess the value and uses of trust lands for potential 
sale, lease, permit, exchange, or other business arrangement. 
 2.  The agency may reject an application, request for 
proposal, or other transaction if the provider fails to submit the 
required proprietary information. 
 3.  The agency may require that a lessee, permittee, or any 
other party in a contractual relationship with the agency submit 
proprietary information to the agency as the agency deems reasonable 
and necessary to determine the provider's compliance with the terms 
of the contract. 
 
R850-13-400.  Submitting Proprietary Information Under 
Confidentiality. 
 1.  If the agency requires and/or a provider desires to submit 
proprietary information to the agency under confidentiality, the 
provider shall make a written request for confidentiality to the 
director. The request for confidentiality must contain: 
 (a)  a claim that the information is of a proprietary nature 
and a concise statement of reasons supporting the claim; 
 (b)  a claim that the information has not been publicly 
disclosed; and 
 (c)  a request for confidential treatment of any or all of the 
proprietary information. 
 2.  The director shall notify the provider in writing of 
whether the director agrees that any or all of the information is of a 
proprietary nature. To the extent possible, the agency shall not review 
the substantive details of the information submitted under a 
confidentiality request until after the director has agreed that the 
information is proprietary in nature. If the director does not agree that 
the information is proprietary, the director shall notify the provider 
and upon the provider's request, return the information to the 
provider. 
 3.  A provider may make a confidentiality request prior to 
or after submitting the proprietary information to the agency. Failure 
to request confidential treatment of proprietary information before 
the agency discloses the information to a third party constitutes 
waiver of a claim of confidentiality with respect to the proprietary 
information so disclosed. 
 4.  The director and provider may agree in writing that 
certain categories of information are proprietary and such agreement 
means that all information previously submitted, or thereafter 
submitted, within the agreed-upon category will be treated as 
confidential pursuant to R850-13-500(1). 

 5.  The agency may execute a confidentiality agreement 
with a provider consistent with these rules. 
 
R850-13-500.  Confidentiality Obligations of the Agency. 
 1.  The agency shall keep confidential all information: 
 (a)  submitted under a request for confidentiality pursuant 
to R850-13-400(1) that the director agrees is of a proprietary nature; 
or 
 (b)  that is proprietary information and submitted pursuant 
to R850-13-400(4) or R850-13-400(5). 
 2.  The agency may not disclose proprietary information 
subject to confidentiality under R850-13-500(1) to third parties 
unless: 
 (a)  the provider agrees to the disclosure in writing; 
 (b)   the information becomes publicly available other than 
through disclosure by the agency; 
 (c) the information is provided to the agency by a third 
party that has no confidentiality obligation to the provider with 
respect to the disclosed information; 
 (d)  the information is independently developed by the 
agency without use of the proprietary information; 
 (e)  the information is required to be disclosed by an 
administrative or judicial order; or 
 (f)  federal or state law requires the information to be of a 
non-proprietary nature. 
 
R850-13-600.  Return or Destruction of Proprietary Information. 
 1.  At the request of the provider, the agency shall return all 
proprietary information to the provider and destroy any proprietary 
information held in digital form, except that the agency may retain: 
 (a)  proprietary information related to the characteristics of 
trust lands; and 
 (b)  proprietary information required to be submitted under 
a lease or other contract through the term of the contract. 
 2.  The agency is not required to destroy proprietary 
information held in digital back-up files or archives if retaining the 
information is consist with the State's records retention policy so long 
as the agency uses reasonable efforts to ensure proprietary 
information remains confidential. 
 
KEY:  proprietary information, confidential, information, 
confidentiality 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
302(1)(a)(ii); 53C-2-102(3) 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends August 31, 2021. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through November 29, 2021, an agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a 
NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 
days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates 
a public comment period, the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public 
comment period nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive 
a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, 
the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 



NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

62 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-7 Filing ID: 53549 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Rob Hougaard 801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-7. Utah Pesticide Control Rule 
 
3.  Publication date of previous proposed rule or 
change in proposed rule: 
06/01/2021 
 
4.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
Changes are needed in response to public comments 
received on the proposed repeal and reenactment. 
 
5.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

Based on feedback from applicable groups, labeling 
restrictions referencing specific terms that may not be on 
a label, and associated violations, are removed from 
Sections R68-7-3 and R68-7-20.  Additionally, the changes 
clarify the spill kit requirement of the rule in Subsection 
R68-7-19(12) to make it clear that a spill kit is required in 
a vehicle that carries any pesticides, rather than "any 
measurable amount" of pesticide.  Finally, the definition of 
non-commercial pesticide applicator license is clarified to 

ensure that non-profit entities would qualify.  (EDITOR'S 
NOTE:  The original proposed repeal and reenactment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 
was published in the June 1, 2021, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 6.  Underlining in the rule below indicates 
text that has been added since the publication of the 
proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates text 
that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and the 
proposed repeal and reenactment together to understand 
all of the changes that will be enforceable should the 
agency make this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
These changes update some sections of this rule to make 
them clearer and remove labeling restrictions that were put 
in place with the first filing.  There would be no increased 
or decreased administration costs based on the changes 
so there are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget. 
 
B) Local government: 
These changes update some sections of this rule to make 
them clearer and remove labeling restrictions.  There 
would be no increased or decreased administration or 
compliance costs for local governments based on the 
changes. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
These changes update some sections of this rule to make 
them clearer and remove labeling restrictions that were put 
in place with the first filing.  There would be no direct 
increased or decreased compliance costs based on the 
changes and the fees charged by the Department of 
Agriculture and Food (Department) will be the same so 
there are no anticipated costs or savings to small 
businesses. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These changes update some sections of this rule to make 
them clearer and remove labeling restrictions that were put 
in place with the first filing.  There would be no direct 
increased or decreased compliance costs based on the 
changes and the fees charged by the Department will be 
the same so there are no anticipated costs or savings to 
non-small businesses. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
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association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons would not be affected by this change 
because the costs to administer the pesticide program and 
the cost to sell pesticides in Utah have not changed. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 
The compliance costs for affected persons will not change.  
Removing labeling restrictions imposed in the first filing 
makes the pesticide program less restrictive overall, 
although potential savings is not direct and measurable. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will not have a fiscal impact on businesses.  Craig 
W. Buttars, Commissioner 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-14-106   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on:  

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/12/2021 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-7.  Utah Pesticide Control Rule. 
[ For the purposes of this rule, "Department or department" 
means the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. 
] 
R68-7-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-14-106. 
 
R68-7-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commercial pesticide applicator" means any person 
who uses or applies pesticides for hire or compensation, or who 
makes pesticidal claims, remedies, or advertises for hire or 
compensation, or who solicits the use of pesticides for hire or 
compensation. 
 (2)  "Commercial pesticide business license" means a 
license issued by the department to a business responsible for 
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supervising commercial pesticide applicators employed to apply 
pesticides on a commercial basis. 
 (3)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food 
 (4[3])  "EPA WPS" means the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) Worker Protection Standard, or the 
standards  described in 40 CFR 170, as of January 2, 2017, which is 
herein incorporated by reference. 
 (5[4])  "EPA WPS Trainer" means a certified pesticide 
applicator of any type who trains workers and handlers in the WPS 
requirements and may also be a graduate of an EPA approved WPS 
Train the Trainer Program. 
 (6[5])  "Good standing" means a person has no outstanding 
infractions with the department and does not owe money to the 
department.  A person who has resolved their infractions, entered into 
and complying with a settlement agreement with the department or 
who has not exhausted their rights to appeal are potentially excluded 
from this categorization with department approval. 
 (7[6])  "Licensee" means the holder of a pesticide 
applicator license or a commercial pesticide business license issued 
by the department or a restricted use pesticide dealer.[ ] 
 (8[7])  "Non-commercial pesticide applicator" means any 
person working as an employee of any entity, firm, or government 
agency who uses or demonstrates the use of any restricted use 
pesticide on the entity's property, or any property occupied, managed, 
or under the direction or authority of any entity, firm, or government 
agency, and does not require[  nor requires] a commercial pesticide 
applicator's license. 
 (9[8])  "Pesticide" means the same as the term is defined in 
Section 4-14-102.[ ] 
 (10[9])  "Pesticide applicator" or "applicator" means a 
person who: 
 (a)  applies or supervises the application of a pesticide; or 
 (b)  is required by Title 4, Chapter 14 ,Utah Pesticide 
Control Act, to have a license. 
 (11[0])  "Person" means an individual or entity 
 (12[1])  "Private pesticide applicator" means any person 
who uses, or supervises the use of, any restricted use pesticide for the 
purpose of producing any agricultural commodity on private property 
owned, rented, or leased by the pesticide applicator, or on the private 
property of another, if applied without compensation. 
 (13[2])  "Qualifying party" means the same as the term is 
defined in Section 4-14-102.[ ] 
 (14[3])  "Registrant" means the company responsible for 
the registration of a pesticide product. 
 (15[4])  "Restricted use pesticide" or "RUP" means any 
pesticide or pesticide use restricted by the administrator of EPA or by 
the department. 
 
R68-7-3.  Registration of Products. 
 Pesticide products distributed in Utah shall be  registered 
annually with the department. 
 (1)  Application for registration shall be made to the 
department on the department website, or on forms prepared and 
provided by the department, and shall include the following 
information:[ ] 
 (a)  The name, address, telephone number, and email 
address of the  registrant, and the name, address, telephone number, 

and email address of the company whose name will appear on the 
label, if other than the registrant; 
 (b)  the name of the pesticide product, including the EPA 
Registration Number; 
 (c)  a list of the active ingredients; 
 (d)  if the product is an RUP, a general use pesticide, or a 
product claiming a Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide 
Act of 1972 (FIFRA), 7 U.S.C Section 136 et seq Section 25(b) 
exemption; and 
 (e)  a complete copy of the pesticide product label as it will 
appear on the pesticide product. 
 (2)  The burden shall be on the registrant to notify the 
department of any changes to their contact information within 30 
days. 
 (3)  The department may require submission of the 
complete formula of any pesticide if it is deemed necessary for the 
administration of Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, 
FIFRA, or to enforce EPA requirements and guidelines. 
 (4)  The product shall be registered if: 
 (a)  it appears to the department that the composition of the 
product warrants the proposed claims for the product; and 
 (b)  the product, its labeling, and any other information that 
may be required to be submitted, complies with the requirements of 
Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, FIFRA, and EPA 
rules, requirements and guidelines 
 (5)  The registrant is responsible for the accuracy and 
completeness of the information submitted concerning any 
application for the registration of a pesticide product. 
 (6)  Once a pesticide product is registered no further state 
registration other than annual renewal is required, provided: 
 (a)  the product remains in the manufacturer's or registrant's 
original container; and 
 (b)  the claims made for it, the directions for its use, and 
other labeling information does not differ in substance from the 
representations made in connection with the registration. 
[ (7)  Any terms, claim, or  non-numerical or comparative 
statement that cannot be well defined, and may be misconstrued by 
consumers as a health or safety claim, shall not be used on a pesticide 
product label.  This includes language such as; 
 (a)  "organic", "natural", "all-natural", "pesticide-free", 
"chemical-free", "trusted", "safe", "nonpoisonous", "non-injurious", 
"harmless", or "nontoxic to humans and pets"; and 
 (b)  any similar language that infers a health or safety claim 
as determined by the department in its sole discretion. 
 (c)  The only exceptions to this requirement are the terms 
"for organic production", "for organic gardening", "for organic lawn 
care", "for use in organic production", and "safe when used as 
directed".  These exemptions are only valid if the language can be 
found on the department or EPA approved label.  
 (d)  If the department identifies a product label that is not 
in compliance with this standard, they shall notify the registrant and 
issue a citation.] 
 ([8]7)  If the name of a pesticide product is changed or there 
are changes in the product ingredients, a new registration is required.  
Other labeling changes do not require a new registration, but the 
registrant shall submit copies of any changes to the department as 
soon as they are effective. 
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 ([9]8)  If a registered pesticide product is to be discontinued 
for any reason, except when suspended or canceled by the EPA, the 
licensee shall provide notice of discontinuation to the department.[ ] 
 (a)  The department requires that a product be registered for 
a two-year discontinuation period starting from the date of the notice 
of discontinuation. 
 (b)  If  a product is found in commercial trade after the 
discontinuation period, the department shall require that the 
registrant register the product as outlined in Section 4-14-103. 
 (c)  If a product is suspended or canceled by the EPA, the 
product shall be removed as quickly as reasonably possible from sale 
in Utah. 
 ([10]9)  The department may exempt, in its sole discretion, 
any pesticide that is determined either: 
 (a)  to be adequately regulated by a federal agency; or 
 (b)  to be of a character that is not subject to FIFRA. 
 (1[1]0)  A registrant who desires to register a pesticide to 
meet special local needs pursuant to FIFRA Section 24(c) shall 
comply with Section 4-14-103. 
 (1[2]1)  No registration is required for a pesticide 
distributed in Utah pursuant to an experimental use permit issued by 
the EPA or under Section 4-14-105. 
 (1[3]2)  A registration fee determined by the department, 
pursuant to Subsection 4-2-103(2), shall be paid annually for each 
product. 
 (1[4]3)  Each registration is renewed for a period of one 
year upon payment of the annual renewal fee determined by the 
department, pursuant to Subsection 4-2-103(2).  The renewal fee 
shall be paid on or before June 30 of each year.  If the renewal of a 
pesticide registration is not received prior to July 1 of each year, an 
additional fee determined by the department, pursuant to Subsection 
4-2-103(2), shall be assessed and added to the original registration 
fee, and shall be paid by the applicant before the registration renewal 
for that pesticide will be issued. 
 
R68-7-4.  Product Labeling. 
 (1)  Each container of pesticide distributed in Utah shall 
bear a label showing the information set forth in Section 4-14-104. 
 (2)  Each pesticide label shall contain the statements, 
words, graphic material, and any other information required by the 
EPA in 40 CFR 156. 
 
R68-7-5.  Classification of Pesticides. 
 (1)  The department shall classify each pesticide product 
registered in Utah for either restricted use or general use according to 
standards consistent with FIFRA Section 3. 
 (2)  The department may also classify other substances as 
pesticides or restrict the use of any substance as a pesticide if the 
department determines, in its sole discretion, that such a substance 
may pose a risk to the health or safety of the public or the 
environment. 
 (3)  Restricted use pesticides shall not be used by any 
person that does not have a valid pesticide applicator license with the 
appropriate category for its use, except they may be used by: 
 (a)  a pesticide handler, supervised by a certified pesticide 
applicator under the EPA WPS and who meets the qualifications in 
Subsection R68-7-6(6); or 
 (b)  a pesticide handler acting upon an emergency use 
permit issued under this rule. 

R68-7-6.  Certification of Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  A pesticide applicator shall be certified by the 
department as a commercial pesticide applicator, non-commercial 
pesticide applicator, or a private pesticide applicator. 
 (2)  A pesticide applicator shall comply with  FIFRA and 
Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act. 
 (3)  A pesticide applicator shall follow the directions on a 
pesticide product label. 
 (4)  To be certified, a pesticide applicator shall be at least 
eighteen years of age. 
 (5)  A commercial pesticide applicator may use restricted 
use, general use, or any other classification of pesticide, including 
FIFRA Section 25(b) products. 
 (6)  A person who is at least 16 years of age may apply 
restricted use pesticides while under the direct supervision of a 
certified pesticide applicator, who is also an immediate family 
member, according to the family exemption of the EPA WPS, if they 
only apply  pesticides on the privately owned agricultural 
establishment of a certified pesticide applicator who is also an 
immediate family member. 
 (7)  An EPA WPS trainer is a certified pesticide applicator 
of any type who trains workers and handlers in the WPS requirements 
under 40 CFR 170. 
 (8)  An EPA WPS trainer may also be a graduate of an EPA 
approved WPS Train the Trainer Program, as set forth in 40 CFR 170. 
 (9)  Commercial and non-commercial EPA WPS trainers 
shall have the Agricultural Pest Control: Plant Pesticide category on 
their license, pursuant to Section R68-7-8. 
 
R68-7-7.  Pesticide Certification Categories. 
 Pesticide applicators shall also be certified by the 
department in one or more of the pest control categories defined 
below: 
 (1)  Agricultural Pest Control. 
 (a)  Plant.  This category includes applicators applying 
pesticides to control pests in the production of agricultural crops 
including field crops, vegetables, fruits, pasture, rangelands, and non-
crop agricultural lands. 
 (b)  Animal.  This category includes applicators applying 
pesticides on animals including beef and dairy cattle, swine, sheep, 
horses, goats, poultry, and to places on or in which animals inhabit.  
Doctors of veterinary medicine, or their employees, engaged in 
applying pesticides for hire, publicly representing themselves as 
pesticide applicators, or engaged in the use of pesticides, are included 
in this category. 
 (2)  Forest Pest Control.  This category includes applicators 
applying pesticides in forests, forest nurseries, and forest seed-
producing areas. 
 (3)  Ornamental and Turf Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying pesticides to control ornamental and 
turf pests in the maintenance and production of ornamental trees, 
shrubs, flowers and turf.  This includes controlling pests on 
sidewalks, driveways, and other similar locations. 
 (4)  Seed Treatment.  This category includes applicators 
applying pesticides on seeds in seed treatment facilities. 
 (5)  Aquatic Pest Control. 
 (a)  Surface Water.  This category includes applicators 
applying pesticides to control pests in standing or running water.  
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This pesticide category does not include applicators engaged in 
public health related activities included in Subsection R68-7-8(8). 
 (b)  Sewer Root Control.  This category includes 
applicators applying pesticides to control roots in sewers or other 
related systems. 
 (6)  Right-of-Way Pest Control.  This category includes 
applicators applying pesticides in the maintenance of public roads, 
electric power lines, pipelines, railway rights-of-way, or other similar 
areas. 
 (7)  Structural and Health Related Pest Control.  This 
category includes applicators applying pesticides in, on, or around 
any public or private food handling establishment; dwelling, 
educational institution, or medical institution; industrial building; 
business establishment; packing house; food-processing facility;  
prison; manufacturing facility; grain elevator;  or any other structure 
or area, or immediately adjacent structure or area, to control pests.  
This category excludes any fumigation pesticide applications.  This 
category includes applicators applying pesticides on vertebrate pests 
in buildings and structures, and immediately adjacent to, or no further 
than three feet from, buildings and structures.  If the label for a 
structural pesticide permits the use of the pesticide more than three 
feet from the structure, then the pesticide may be used beyond three 
feet from the structure, but may not exceed the maximum distance 
permitted by the label. 
 (8)  Public Health Pest Control. 
 (a)  Commercial.  This category is limited to commercial 
pesticide applicators who apply pesticides for the management and 
control of pests due to issues of medical and public health 
importance.  This category is only valid when the pesticide applicator 
is actively contracted by a government entity, and is actively engaged 
in applying pesticides for that government entity. 
 (b)  Non-Commercial.  This category is limited to state and 
federal employees, county or city governments, or persons under 
their direct supervision, who apply pesticides in government-
sponsored public health programs for the management and control of 
pests due to issues of medical and public health importance. 
 (9)  Regulatory Pest Control.  This category is limited to 
state and federal employees who: 
 (a)  apply pesticides in a mechanical ejection device; or 
 (b)  apply pesticides in a protective collar or other method 
to control regulated pests. 
 (10)  Demonstration, Consultation, and Research Pest 
Control.  This category includes individuals who demonstrate or 
provide instruction to the public in the proper use, techniques, 
benefits, and methods of applying restricted use pesticides.  This 
category includes agricultural compliance specialists, educational 
and university personnel, commercial business representatives, 
consultants and advisors, and persons conducting field research with 
restricted use pesticides.  In addition to certification in this pesticide 
category, individuals shall also meet specific standards that may be 
applicable to their particular pesticide category. 
 (11)  Aerial Application Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying pesticides by airplane, drone, 
helicopter, or any other type of aircraft.  Aerial applicators are 
required to be certified in the Aerial Application Pest Control 
category, along with any other applicable pest control category for 
any intended pesticide application.  Aerial pesticide applicators shall 
also possess a valid commercial pilot license, or equivalent remote 

pilot certifications, issued by the Federal Aviation Administration 
(FAA). 
 (12)  Vertebrate Animal Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying pesticides for the outdoor control of 
vertebrate pests, such as rodents, birds, bats, predators, or domestic 
animal pests. 
 (13)  Fumigation Pest Control. 
 (a)  Stored Commodities.  This category includes 
applicators applying fumigants to control pests in, on, or around 
stored grains, grain elevators, mills, structures, railroad cars, 
manufactured products, or similar areas or items. 
 (b)  Structural.  This category includes applicators applying 
fumigants to control pests while additionally tenting, sealing with 
filling, or completely enclosing a structure. 
 (c)  Soil.  This category includes applicators applying 
fumigants in and on the soil of agricultural locations. 
 (14)  Wood Preservation Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying preservative pesticides to wood 
products, such as fence posts, electrical poles, railroad ties, or any 
other form of wood product. 
 (15)  Wood Destroying Organisms Pest Control.  This 
category includes applicators applying pesticides to control wood 
destroying pests, termites, carpenter ants, wood-boring or tunneling 
insects, bees, wasps, wood-decaying fungi, and any other pests 
destroying wood products. 
 
R68-7-8.  Standards of Competence for Certification of Pesticide 
Applicators and Pesticide Businesses. 
 (1)  Pesticide applicators shall be at least 18 years of age in 
order to obtain a commercial, non-commercial, or private pesticide 
applicator license. 
 (2)  The basic standards for certification of pesticide 
applicators have been established by the EPA, and shall be the 
minimum standards required for certification of pesticide applicators 
in Utah. 
 (3)  Commercial and non-commercial pesticide applicators 
shall demonstrate competency and practical knowledge by 
successfully completing the written pesticide applicator core test and 
any additional pesticide category tests.  The pesticide applicator tests 
shall include core standards applicable to each pesticide category, and 
the standards specifically identified for each pesticide category, or 
subcategory, as set forth in 40 C.F.R 171.103, and the EPA-approved 
Utah State Pesticide Applicator Certification Plan, including; 
 (a)  familiarity with pesticide labels and labeling and their 
functions, including each of the following: 
 (i)  the general format and terminology of pesticide labels 
and labeling; 
 (ii)  understanding instructions, warnings, terms, symbols, 
and other information commonly appearing on pesticide labels and 
labeling; 
 (iii)  understanding that it is a violation of federal law to 
use any registered pesticide in a manner inconsistent with its labeling; 
 (iv)  understanding labeling requirements that a certified 
applicator must be physically present at the site of the application; 
 (v)  understanding labeling requirements for supervising 
non-certified applicators working under the direct supervision of a 
certified applicator; 
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 (vi)  understanding that applicators shall comply with any 
use restrictions and directions for use contained in pesticide labels 
and labeling, including being certified in the certification category 
appropriate to the type and site of the application; 
 (vii)  understanding the meaning of product classification 
as either general or restricted use and that a product may be 
unclassified; 
 (viii)  understanding and complying with product-specific 
notification requirements; and 
 (ix)  recognizing and understanding the difference between 
mandatory and advisory labeling language; 
 (b)  safety measures to avoid or minimize adverse health 
effects, including each of the following: 
 (i)  understanding the different natures of the risks of acute 
toxicity and chronic toxicity, as well as the long-term effects of 
pesticides; 
 (ii)  understanding that a pesticide's risk is a function of 
exposure and the pesticide's toxicity; 
 (iii)  recognition of likely ways in which dermal, inhalation, 
and oral exposure may occur; 
 (iv)  common types and causes of pesticide mishaps; 
 (v)  precautions to prevent injury to applicators and other 
individuals in or near treated areas; 
 (vi)  need for, and proper use of, protective clothing and 
personal protective equipment; 
 (vii)  symptoms of pesticide poisoning; 
 (viii)  first aid and other procedures to be followed in case 
of a pesticide mishap; and 
 (ix)  proper identification, storage, transport, handling, 
mixing procedures, and disposal methods for pesticides and used 
pesticide containers, including precautions to be taken to prevent 
children from having access to pesticides and pesticide containers; 
 (c)  the potential environmental consequences of the use 
and misuse of pesticides, including the influence of each of the 
following: 
 (i)  weather and other indoor and outdoor climatic 
conditions; 
 (ii)  types of terrain, soil, or other substrate; 
 (iii)  presence of fish, wildlife, and other non-target 
organisms; and 
 (iv)  drainage patterns; 
 (d)  the proper identification and effective control of pests, 
including each of the following: 
 (i)  the importance of correctly identifying target pests and 
selecting the proper pesticide product for effective pest control; and 
 (ii)  verifying that the labeling does not prohibit the use of 
the product to control the target pests;[ ] 
 (e)  characteristics of pesticides, including each of the 
following: 
 (i)  types of pesticides; 
 (ii)  types of formulations; 
 (iii)  compatibility, synergism, persistence, and animal and 
plant toxicity of the formulations; 
 (iv)  hazards and residues associated with use; 
 (v)  factors that influence effectiveness or lead to problems 
such as pesticide resistance; and 
 (vi)  dilution procedures; 
 (f)  application equipment, including each of the following: 

 (i)  types of equipment and advantages and limitations of 
each type; and 
 (ii)  use, maintenance, and calibration procedures; 
 (g)  selecting appropriate application methods, including 
each of the following: 
 (i)  methods used to apply various forms and formulations 
of pesticides; 
 (ii)  knowledge of which application method to use in a 
given situation and that use of a fumigant, aerial application, sodium 
cyanide, or sodium fluoroacetate requires additional certification; 
 (iii)  how selection of application method and use of a 
pesticide may result in proper use, unnecessary or ineffective use, and 
misuse; and 
 (iv)  prevention of drift and pesticide loss into the 
environment; 
 (h)  knowledge of all applicable state, tribal, and federal 
laws and regulations.; and 
 (i)  professionalism, including understanding the 
importance of each of the following: 
 (i)  maintaining chemical security for restricted use 
pesticides; 
 (ii)  how to communicate information about pesticide 
exposures and risks with customers and the public; and 
 (iii)  appropriate product stewardship for certified 
applicators. 
 (4)  The standards for commercial, non-commercial, and 
private applicators do not apply to the following persons for the 
purposes of this rule: 
 (a)  persons conducting research involving restricted use 
pesticides;[  ] 
 (b)  doctors of medicine and doctors of veterinary medicine 
applying pesticides, drugs, or medication during the course of their 
normal practice, and who do not publicly represent themselves as 
pesticide applicators; 
 (c)  persons using a general use disinfectant, sanitizer, or 
deodorizer commercially, and not for the control of insects, weeds, 
rodents, or similar pests, or use in settings outside of a structure; or 
 (d)  persons using a general use fungicide for interior 
structural cleaning or interior structural mold remediation. 
 (5)  Aerial Pesticide Applicator.  An aerial pesticide 
applicator shall demonstrate competence and practical knowledge of 
aerial pest control in a wide variety of environments by successfully 
completing the aerial pesticide applicator test.  Aerial pesticide 
applicators shall have knowledge of the significance of drift, and of 
the potential for non-target injury and environmental contamination.  
Aerial pesticide applicators shall obtain the Aerial Application Pest 
Control category certification, along with any additional pesticide 
category certifications for which they shall apply pesticides.  Aerial 
pesticide applicators shall comply with each standard set forth by the 
FAA, and shall submit proof of current registration with the FAA as 
an additional requirement for receiving an aerial pesticide applicator 
certification. 
 (6)  Private Pesticide Applicator.  A private pesticide 
applicator shall demonstrate competence and practical knowledge by 
successfully completing the private pesticide applicator test, and any 
required additional pesticide category tests.  This knowledge shall 
include the basic standards for certification of private applicators set 
forth in 40 CFR 171.105. This includes: 
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 (a)  familiarity with pesticide labels and labeling and their 
functions, including each of the following: 
 (i)  the general format and terminology of pesticide labels 
and labeling; 
 (ii)  understanding instructions, warnings, terms, symbols, 
and other information commonly appearing on pesticide labels and 
labeling; 
 (iii)  understanding that it is a violation of federal law to 
use any registered pesticide in a manner inconsistent with its labeling; 
 (iv)  understanding when a certified applicator shall be 
physically present at the site of the application based on labeling 
requirements; 
 (v)  Understanding labeling requirements for supervising 
non-certified applicators working under the direct supervision of a 
certified applicator; 
 (vi)  understanding that applicators shall comply with each 
use restriction and directions for use contained in pesticide labels and 
labeling, including being certified in the appropriate category to use 
restricted use pesticides for fumigation or aerial application, or 
predator control devices containing sodium cyanide or sodium 
fluoroacetate, if applicable; 
 (vii)  understanding the meaning of product classification 
as either general or restricted use, and that a product may be 
unclassified; 
 (viii)  understanding and complying with product-specific 
notification requirements; and 
 (ix)  recognizing and understanding the difference between 
mandatory and advisory labeling language; 
 (b)  safety measures to avoid or minimize adverse health 
effects, including each of the following: 
 (i)  understanding the different natures of the risks of acute 
toxicity and chronic toxicity, as well as the long-term effects of 
pesticides; 
 (ii)  understanding that a pesticide's risk is a function of 
exposure and the pesticide's toxicity; 
 (iii)  recognition of likely ways in which dermal, inhalation, 
and oral exposure may occur; 
 (iv)  common types and causes of pesticide mishaps; 
 (v)  precautions to prevent injury to applicators and other 
individuals in or near treated areas; 
 (vi)  need for, and proper use of, protective clothing and 
personal protective equipment; 
 (vii)  symptoms of pesticide poisoning; 
 (viii)  first aid and other procedures to be followed in case 
of a pesticide mishap; and 
 (ix)  proper identification, storage, transport, handling, 
mixing procedures, and disposal methods for pesticides and used 
pesticide containers, including precautions to be taken to prevent 
children from having access to pesticides and pesticide containers; 
 (c)  the potential environmental consequences of the use 
and misuse of pesticides, including the influence of the following: 
 (i)  weather and other climatic conditions; 
 (ii)  types of terrain, soil, or other substrate; 
 (iii)  presence of fish, wildlife, and other non-target 
organisms; and 
 (iv)  drainage patterns; 
 (d)  the proper identification and effective control of pests, 
including each of the following: 

 (i)  the importance of correctly identifying target pests and 
selecting the proper pesticide product; and 
 (ii)  verifying that the labeling does not prohibit the use of 
the product to control the target pests; 
 (e)  characteristics of pesticides, including all of the 
following: 
 (i)  types of pesticides; 
 (ii)  types of formulations; 
 (iii)  compatibility, synergism, persistence, and animal and 
plant toxicity of the formulations; 
 (iv)  hazards and residues associated with use; 
 (v)  factors that influence effectiveness or lead to problems 
such as pesticide resistance; and 
 (vi)  dilution procedures; 
 (f)  application equipment, including each of the following: 
 (i)  types of equipment and advantages and limitations of 
each type; and 
 (ii)  uses, maintenance, and calibration procedures; 
 (g)  selecting appropriate application methods, including 
each of the following: 
 (i)  methods used to apply various forms and formulations 
of pesticides; 
 (ii)  knowledge of which application method to use in a 
given situation and that use of a fumigant, aerial application, or 
predator control device containing sodium cyanide or sodium 
fluoroacetate requires additional certification; 
 (iii)  how selection of application method and use of a 
pesticide may result in proper use, unnecessary or ineffective use, and 
misuse; and 
 (iv)  prevention of drift and pesticide loss into the 
environment; 
 (h)  knowledge of each applicable state, tribal, and federal 
laws and regulations, including understanding the WPS and the 
circumstances where compliance is required; 
 (i)  certified applicator responsibilities related to 
supervision of non-certified applicators, including each of the 
following: 
 (i)  understanding and complying with requirements in 40 
C.F.R. 171.201 for private applicators who supervise non-certified 
applicators using restricted use pesticides; 
 (ii)  providing use-specific instructions to non-certified 
applicators using restricted use pesticides under the direct 
supervision of a certified applicator; and 
 (iii)  explaining appropriate state, tribal, and federal laws 
and regulations to non-certified applicators working under the direct 
supervision of a certified applicator; 
 (j)  understanding stewardship and the importance of each 
of the following: 
 (i)  maintaining chemical security for restricted use 
pesticides; and 
 (ii)  how to communicate information about pesticide 
exposures and risks with agricultural workers and handlers and other 
persons; 
 (k)  practical knowledge of pest control applications to 
agricultural commodities including each of the following: 
 (i)  specific pests of relevant agricultural commodities; 
 (ii)  how to avoid contamination of ground and surface 
waters; 
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 (iii)  understanding pre-harvest and restricted entry 
intervals and entry-restricted periods and areas; 
 (iv)  understanding specific pesticide toxicity and residue 
potential when pesticides are applied to animal or animal product 
agricultural commodities; and 
 (v)  relative hazards associated with using pesticides on 
animals or places in which animals are confined based on 
formulation, application technique, age of animal, stress, and extent 
of treatment. 
 (7)  A licensed private pesticide applicator that functions in 
a supervisory role shall be responsible for the actions of any non-
certified pesticide handlers under their instruction and control. 
 (8)  A private pesticide applicator shall provide non-
certified pesticide handlers under their supervision instructions on the 
EPA WPS pesticide handler applicator training, and keep records of 
having provided these instructions for a period of two years. 
 (9)  A  private pesticide applicator shall be physically 
present to supervise the application of any pesticide by a non-
certified handler, if such presence is required by the label of the 
pesticide being applied. 
 
R68-7-9.  Pesticide Applicator Licensing and Certification 
Procedures. 
 (1)  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business License Required. 
 (a)  Each person performing the physical act of applying a 
pesticide, shall be certified by the department and have a valid license 
issued by the department.  No person shall apply, advertise for, solicit, 
or hold oneself out as willing to engage in the business of applying 
any pesticide for hire or compensation to the land or property of 
another at any time without becoming certified as a pesticide 
applicator, obtaining a commercial pesticide applicator license, and: 
 (i)  obtaining a commercial pesticide business license, as 
described in Section 4-14-111 issued by the department; or 
 (ii)  working for a company that has already obtained a 
commercial pesticide business license. 
 (b)  The fees for a commercial pesticide applicator license 
and a commercial pesticide business license, shall be determined in 
accordance with Subsection 4-2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504. 
 (c)  A commercial pesticide applicator license is required 
for any individual who applies pesticides for a commercial business.  
No person shall purchase, use, or demonstrate the use of, any 
restricted use pesticide, or shall apply any pesticide for a commercial 
business, without becoming certified and obtaining a commercial 
pesticide applicator license issued by the department. 
 (2)  An applicant for a commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall: 
 (a)  complete an application on the department's website or 
on forms prepared and provided by the department; and 
 (b)  pay the licensing fees. 
 (c)  A license will only be issued after the applicant has 
successfully passed the required pesticide applicator tests to become 
certified, or after recertifying according to the Continuing Education 
Unit (CEU) requirements. 
 (d)  A testing fee, retest fee, or any related fee, may be 
determined by department approved testing centers, according to 
their own individual policies. 
 (3)  An applicant for a commercial pesticide business 
license shall: 

 (a)  complete an application form provided by the 
department; 
 (b)  pay the licensing fee; 
 (c)  be in good standing with the department; 
 (d)  demonstrate good character; and 
 (e)  provide evidence that the owner or qualifying party: 
 (i)  is a certified pesticide applicator in the State of Utah; 
 (ii)  is not a designated qualifying party or employee with 
any other pesticide applicator business; 
 (iii)  has been a certified pesticide applicator for at least two 
years out of the ten years immediately prior to the date of the 
commercial pesticide business application; or 
 (iv)  holds an associate degree, or higher, in horticulture, 
agricultural sciences, biological sciences, pest management, or a 
related and relevant science degree. 
 (f)  A person applying for a commercial pesticide business 
license may be exempted from the two year certification requirement 
if the individual's and entity's sole use of pesticides is limited to: 
 (i)  providing ornamental and turf herbicide spot treatment 
services as part of a lawn maintenance service; and 
 (ii)  using herbicides with labels that contain the signal 
word "caution" or "warning". 
 (g)  A commercial pesticide business operating under more 
than one business identity or name, from a single business location, 
shall be licensed separately for each business identity or name. 
 (h)  A commercial pesticide business  with a single business 
identity or name, but operating from more than one business location, 
shall be licensed at each separate business location.  Business 
locations that are used only for pesticide storage and mixing purposes 
are exempt from licensing requirements, but  shall be disclosed to the 
department. 
 (i)  The department may require a commercial pesticide 
business license applicant to change their requested business name.  
This may occur if the applicant requests a business name that is the 
same, or closely resembles, the name of a currently licensed 
commercial pesticide business.  The department may additionally 
require a commercial pesticide business, or commercial pesticide 
business license applicant, to change their business name if the 
business name could reasonably cause public confusion, public 
alarm, or public offense.  Any determination made pursuant to this 
subsection shall be at the sole discretion of the department in 
coordination with the state Division of Corporations.  The purpose of 
this subsection is to ensure compliance with current guidance from 
the Division of Corporations.  The department shall prioritize 
licensing a business name that is registered with the Division of 
Corporations 
 (j)  Each licensed commercial pesticide business location 
shall have a minimum of one certified commercial pesticide 
applicator at that location who is certified in each pesticide category 
for which pesticide applications are made. 
 (k)  A franchised commercial pesticide business  licensee 
shall have a separate commercial pesticide business license and a 
separate certified commercial pesticide applicator at each business 
location.  Additionally, franchised businesses shall be distinctly 
identifiable from one another, to avoid departmental and public 
confusion, by adding unique words or numbers to distinguish the 
different businesses. 
 (l)  If a commercial pesticide business  licensee  uses a 
Doing Business As (DBA) name, it shall be listed on the pesticide 
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business application along with the company name.  A business may 
list more than one assumed name on a single registration application.  
Any DBA shall be registered and active with the Division of 
Corporations. 
 
R68-7-10.  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business Testing Procedures. 
 (1)  Commercial Pesticide Applicator Testing.  To become 
certified, an applicant for a commercial pesticide applicator license 
shall demonstrate competency and knowledge of pesticide 
applications, laws, and other relevant subjects by successfully 
completing the required pesticide applicator tests and department 
application forms.  Each  pesticide applicator test shall be proctored 
at a department approved testing center. 
 (a)  An applicant shall first pay any licensing fees to the 
department, and obtain a receipt of license payment. 
 (b)  An applicant shall find a testing center from a list of 
approved testing centers on the department's website. 
 (c)  An applicant shall schedule each required pesticide 
applicator test with a testing center. 
 (d)  Fees for testing may be established and charged by the 
testing center, including those operated by the department. 
 (e)  An applicant may acquire study materials from the 
department website or purchase them from a separate vendor. 
 (f)  An applicant shall present their receipt of license 
payment from the department, and valid government issued 
identification, to the proctor at the applicant's chosen testing center. 
 (g)  Cheating, ejection from testing, or failure to follow the 
rules of the department or testing center shall, at the discretion of the 
department, constitute a violation of this rule and may serve as a basis 
for a denial of a license application .  Applicants are subject to state 
and federal law and department rules and policies regardless of 
whether the applicant successfully passes or not. 
 (h)  The pesticide applicator core test must be successfully 
completed with a minimum score of 70% before any pesticide 
category tests may be attempted. 
 (i)  At least one pesticide category test shall be taken and 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before a 
license may be obtained.[ ] 
 (j)  The steps to re-certify solely by testing are the same as 
for an initial applicant.  The pesticide applicator core test must be 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before any 
pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (k)  Upon the successful completion of the appropriate 
pesticide applicator tests, the applicant shall complete the 
department's completion form, which can be found online in the 
testing program. 
 (l)  when the completion form has been submitted, a license 
may be issued. 
 (m)  The rules of a testing center, if more restrictive than 
those of the department, shall take precedence over those of the 
department during the administration of pesticide applicator tests. 
 (n)  If the minimum score of 70% is not obtained after two 
attempts, the person taking the tests shall wait at least 24 hours, pay 
any additional retest fees to the testing center, and begin retesting on 
any failed tests. 
 (2)  Commercial Pesticide Business Testing.  The test shall 
be taken by the  owner, principal agent, manager, or designated 

qualifying party, and that individual shall be bound by the rules for a 
commercial pesticide business contained in Subsection R68-7-10(1). 
 (a)  Business license tests may be taken on any computer 
with internet access. 
 (b)  In the event the individual taking the test does not 
successfully pass the test with a minimum score of 70%, a 
commercial pesticide business license shall not be issued. 
 
R68-7-11.  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business License Issuance. 
 (1)  A temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be issued 
automatically by email following the successful completion of the 
pesticide applicator core test in conjunction with each pesticide 
category test and provided each other department requirement is met.  
The temporary permit will expire 30 days from the date it was issued.  
The pesticide applicator core test must be successfully completed 
with a minimum score of 70% before any pesticide category tests 
may be attempted.  A temporary pesticide applicator permit is invalid 
if only the pesticide applicator core test is successfully completed and 
no additional pesticide category test is successfully completed. 
 (2)  The pesticide applicator and pesticide business is 
responsible for verifying that their license has been processed by the 
department. 
 (3)  A commercial pesticide applicator license or a 
commercial pesticide business license shall be issued when the 
following conditions have been met: 
 (a)  the applicant has submitted an application form to the 
department; 
 (b)  any required fees have been paid; 
 (c)  the applicant is in good standing with the department; 
 (d)  the applicant has successfully passed the appropriate 
tests to apply pesticides in the classifications and categories for which 
they have applied; and 
 (e)  the applicant for the qualifying party for the pesticide 
business license meets the requirements in Section 4-14-111. 
 (4)  A commercial pesticide applicator license shall expire 
on December 31 of the third calendar year from the time of licensure, 
unless it has been revoked or suspended by the department  for cause, 
which may include any combination of the unlawful acts listed  in 
Section R68-7-20. 
 (5)  If an application for a commercial pesticide applicator 
license or commercial pesticide business license is denied, the 
applicant shall be informed of the reason by email or mail. 
 (6)  A pesticide applicator is required to have their license 
in their immediate possession when making a pesticide application. 
 (7)  If a pesticide applicator requests a duplicate license 
from the department, a fee determined by the department, pursuant 
to Subsection 4-2-103(2), shall be paid.  The pesticide applicator 
must be in good standing, having no unresolved violations or fines, 
before a replacement license shall be issued. 
 (8)  A commercial pesticide business license shall be 
required for each commercial pesticide business location, other than 
locations used only to store and load pesticides. 
 (9)  A new commercial pesticide applicator or commercial 
pesticide business license applicant who completes an application 
completed between November 1 and December 31 shall be licensed 
for the remainder of that year and the following three calendar years. 
 (10)  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business License Recertification and Renewal. 



  NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 71 

 (a)  Each commercial pesticide applicator and commercial 
pesticide business license shall expire on December 31 of the third 
calendar year following its issuance.[ ] 
 (b)  Commercial pesticide applicators shall recertify before 
their license expires, and may be subject to re-examination at any 
time during their valid license period. 
 (c)  Recertification options include: 
 (i)  completion of the original certification process by 
taking the required pesticide core and pesticide category tests and 
successfully completing each required test with a minimum score of 
70%; or 
 (ii)  participation in approved CEUs and accumulating the 
required amount of 24 total CEU credits during the licensure period.  
A minimum of two credits in law, six in safety, and ten in pesticide 
use are required, while any combination of the three categories may 
be used for the remaining six credits. 
 (d)  The qualifying party for a commercial pesticide 
business shall complete the related commercial pesticide business 
test every three years. 
 (11)  Records Maintained.  Commercial applicators shall 
keep and maintain records of any pesticide applications.[ ] 
 (a)  These records shall be recorded within 24 hours after 
the pesticide application is made. 
 (b)  The application records shall include the following 
information: 
 (i)  the name and address of the person or entity for whom 
the pesticide is applied; 
 (ii)  the address of the pesticide application location, if the 
pesticide application location differs from Subsection R68-7-
11(11)(a)(i) ; 
 (iii)  the total square footage or total size of the area to be 
treated with pesticides;[ ] 
 (iv)  a description of the specific target sites, crops, 
commodities, or stored products at the pesticide application location 
to which any pesticides are applied; 
 (v)  the time and date, including the month, day, and year 
when the pesticide was applied; 
 (vi)  the brand name of the pesticides, EPA registration 
number, and mix rate for any pesticides applied; 
 (vii)  the total amount of pesticides, including diluted or 
ready-to-use (RTU) pesticides, applied per location and per 
application; 
 (viii)  the purpose of the pesticide application, the pesticide 
target site, and pest to be treated; 
 (ix)  the name, commercial pesticide business address, and 
commercial pesticide applicator license number of the certified 
commercial pesticide applicator who applied the pesticides; and 
 (c)  Records shall be kept for a period of at least two years 
from the date of the pesticide application and shall be available for 
inspection by the department upon request. 
 (d)  Records shall be furnished in a uniform format. 
 (12)  Notwithstanding the requirements of this section, the 
department may give consideration to political subdivisions of the 
state, or a non-profit organization, regarding their need to obtain a 
Commercial Pesticide Business License or the requirement of their 
applicators to obtain a Commercial Pesticide Applicator License. 
 (a)  Consideration shall  be given to political subdivisions 
if their charter includes a fee for pesticide services or products. 

 (b)  Non-profit organizations may not need to obtain the 
commercial pesticide business license or the commercial pesticide 
applicator license to receive reimbursement for applications made on 
public land owned by the federal government or the state. 
 (c)  Application or distribution of restricted use pesticides 
shall be done in accordance with this rule. 
 
R68-7-12.  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License 
Required.  A non-commercial pesticide applicator license is required 
for applying restricted use pesticides for a city, county, state, or 
federal government entity, or for corporations, businesses, or any 
other entity, that  does not require a commercial pesticide applicator 
license.  No person shall purchase, use, or demonstrate the use of any 
restricted use pesticide without becoming certified and obtaining a 
non-commercial pesticide applicator license issued by the 
department.  Each person performing the physical act of applying 
restricted use pesticides shall be certified and have a valid non-
commercial pesticide applicator license. 
 (2)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Application and 
Fee Requirements.  The fees for a non-commercial pesticide 
applicator license shall be determined in accordance with Subsection 
4-2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504. 
 (a)  An application for a non-commercial pesticide 
applicator license shall be made on the approved department form.  A 
non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall only be issued  
after the applicant has successfully passed the required pesticide 
applicator tests, or after recertifying according to CEU requirements.  
Each individual performing the physical act of applying restricted use 
pesticides shall be licensed as a non-commercial pesticide applicator. 
 (b)  A testing fee, retest fee, or any related fee, may be 
determined by approved testing centers, according to their own 
individual policies. 
 (3)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Initial 
Certification. 
 (a)  Fees for testing may be established and charged by any 
testing center, including those operated by the department. 
 (b)  The applicant may acquire any necessary study 
materials from the department website. 
 (c)  The applicant should schedule required pesticide 
applicator tests with a testing center approved by the department. 
 (4)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Testing 
Procedures. 
 (a)  A new applicant for a non-commercial pesticide license 
shall demonstrate competency and knowledge of pesticide 
applications, laws, and other relevant subjects by successfully 
completing the approved pesticide applicator tests and department 
application forms.  Pesticide applicator tests shall be proctored at 
approved testing centers. 
 (b)  An applicant for a non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall first pay licensing fees to the department, and obtain a 
receipt of license payment. 
 (c)  An applicant for a non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall find a testing center from a list of approved testing 
centers on the department's website. 
 (d)  An applicant for a non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall present their receipt of license payment from the 
department, and valid government issued identification, to the 
proctor at the applicant's chosen testing center. 
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 (e)  Cheating, ejection from testing, or failure to follow the 
rules of the department or testing center shall, at the discretion of the 
department, constitute fraud under these rules.  Applicants are subject 
to this rule, regardless if the applicant successfully passes or not. 
 (f)  The pesticide applicator core test must be successfully 
completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any pesticide 
category tests may be attempted. 
 (g)  At least one pesticide category test must be taken and 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before a non-
commercial pesticide applicator license may be obtained. 
 (h)  The steps to re-certify solely by testing are the same as 
for an initial applicant.  The pesticide applicator core test must be 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any 
pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (i)  Upon the successful completion of the appropriate 
pesticide applicator tests, the applicant shall complete the 
department's completion form, which can be found online in the 
testing program. 
 (j)  The rules of a testing center, if more restricting than 
those of the department, shall take precedence over those of the 
department during the administration of the pesticide applicator tests. 
 (k)  If the minimum score of 70% is not obtained after two 
attempts, the person taking the tests must wait 24 hours, pay any 
additional retest fees to the testing center, and begin retesting on any 
failed tests. 
 (5)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 
Tests and Review.  The pesticide applicator tests and methods of 
testing shall be determined and approved by the department.  The 
review of applications shall be made by the department for 
determining eligibility. 
 (6)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License 
Issuance. 
 (a)  A  temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be issued 
automatically by email for the successful completion of the pesticide 
applicator core test and each pesticide category test and provided 
each other department requirement is met.  The temporary permit will 
expire 30 days from the date it was issued.  The pesticide applicator 
core test must be successfully completed with a minimum score of 
70%, before any pesticide category tests may be attempted.  A 
temporary pesticide applicator permit is not valid if only the pesticide 
applicator core test is successfully completed, and no additional 
pesticide category test is successfully completed. 
 (b)  The pesticide applicator is responsible to verify their 
license is processed by the department. 
 (c)  A non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall be 
issued when the following conditions have been met: 
 (i)  an application form has been submitted to the 
department; 
 (ii)  any fees have been paid; 
 (iii)  the applicant is in good standing with the department; 
and 
 (iv)  the applicant has successfully passed the appropriate 
tests to apply pesticides in the classifications for which they have 
applied 
 (d)  The non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall 
expire on December 31 of the third calendar year from the time of 
licensure, unless it has been revoked or suspended by the department  
for cause, which may include any combination of the unlawful acts 
given in Section R68-7-20. 

 (e)  If an application for a non-commercial pesticide 
applicator license is denied, the applicant shall be informed of the 
reason by email or mail. 
 (f)  A pesticide applicator is required to have their license 
in their immediate possession when making a pesticide application. 
 (g)  If the pesticide applicator requests a duplicate license 
from the department, a fee determined by the department, pursuant 
to Subsection 4-2-103(2), shall be paid.  The pesticide applicator 
must also be in good standing, having no unresolved violations or 
fines, before a replacement license shall be issued.[ ] 
 (h)  A new non-commercial pesticide applicator application 
completed between November 1 and December 31 of the same year 
shall be licensed for the remainder of that year and the following 
three calendar years. 
 (7)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License 
Recertification and Renewal. 
 (a)  Each non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall 
expire on December 31 of the third calendar year following its 
issuance. 
 (b)  Non-Commercial pesticide applicators must recertify 
before their license expires, and may be subject to re-examination at 
any time during their valid license period. 
 (c)  Recertification options include: 
 (i)  completion of the original certification process by 
taking the required pesticide core and pesticide category test(s) and 
successfully completing each required test with a minimum score of 
70%; or 
 (ii)  participate in approved CEUs and accumulate the 
required amount of 24 total CEU credits during the valid license time 
period.  A minimum of two  credits in law, six  in safety, and ten in 
pesticide use are required, while any combination of the three 
categories may be used for the remaining six credits. 
 (8)  Records Maintained.  Non-Commercial applicators 
shall keep and maintain records of any  restricted use pesticide 
applications. 
 (a)  These records shall be recorded within 24 hours after 
the pesticide application is made. 
 (b)  The application records shall  include the following 
information: 
 (i)  the name and address of the person for whom the 
restricted use pesticide is applied; 
 (ii)  the address of the restricted use pesticide application 
location, if the pesticide application location differs from the location 
provided pursuant to R68-7-12(8)(b)(i); 
 (iii)  the complete square footage of the area to be treated 
with restricted use pesticides; 
 (iv)  the specific sites at the pesticide application location 
to which any restricted use pesticides are applied; 
 (v)  the time and date, including the month, day, and year 
when the restricted use pesticide was applied; 
 (vi)  the brand name of the restricted use pesticides, EPA 
registration number, and mix rate for any restricted use pesticides 
applied; 
 (vii)  the total amount of restricted use pesticides, including 
diluted or ready-to-use (RTU) pesticides, applied per application; 
 (viii)  the purpose of the restricted use pesticide application, 
the pesticide target site, and pest to be treated; and 
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 (ix)  the name and non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license number of the certified non-commercial pesticide applicator 
who applied the pesticides. 
 (c)  records shall be kept for a period of at least two years 
from the date of the pesticide application and shall be available for 
inspection by the department , upon request. 
 (d)  Records shall be furnished in a uniform format. 
 
R68-7-13.  Private Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  Private Pesticide Applicator License Required.[ ] 
 (a)  A private pesticide applicator license is required for 
applying restricted use pesticides on the owned, rented, or leased 
agricultural property of an individual.  No person shall purchase, use, 
demonstrate the use of, or supervise the use of any restricted use 
pesticide without becoming certified and obtaining a private pesticide 
applicator license issued by the department.  Each person performing 
the physical act of applying restricted use pesticides shall be eighteen 
years of age, or older, and possess a valid private pesticide applicator 
license, except: 
 (i)  a person of at least 16 years of age may apply restricted 
use pesticides while under the direct supervision of a certified 
pesticide applicator, who is also an immediate family member, 
according to the family exemption of the EPA WPS, and only applies 
pesticides on the privately owned agricultural establishment of a 
certified pesticide applicator who is also an immediate family 
member; or 
 (ii)  any person, eighteen years of age, or older, employed 
by, or working on, a privately owned, rented, or leased agricultural 
property who has been trained by an actively certified Utah pesticide 
applicator, or trainer that has successfully completed an EPA 
approved Train the Trainer course, and has been instructed on the 
requirements of the EPA WPS for pesticide handlers. 
 (b)  A private pesticide applicator is considered as having 
each  pesticide category on their license except for the Fumigation 
Pest Control and Aerial Application Pest Control categories.  A 
private pesticide applicator shall successfully complete the respective 
pesticide applicator tests for the Fumigation Pest Control and Aerial 
Application Pest Control categories before applying any pesticides 
restricted by those categories. 
 (c)  Issuance of a private pesticide applicator license shall 
be conditioned upon the applicant complying with the certification 
requirements determined by the department as necessary to prevent 
unreasonable adverse effects on the environment, and to prevent 
unreasonable injury to any person.  A private pesticide applicator 
license certifies the applicator to give instructions on the EPA WPS 
to the workers and pesticide handlers of a private agricultural 
establishment. 
 (d)  Private Pesticide Applicator Application and Fee 
Requirements.  The fees for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall be determined in accordance with Subsection 4-2-103(2) and 
Section 63J-1-504. 
 (i)  Applications for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall be made on the approved department form and shall be 
submitted to the department along with the required fee.  A license 
will only be issued after the applicant has successfully passed the 
required pesticide applicator tests, or after recertifying according to 
the CEU requirements. 

 (ii)  A testing fee, retest fee, or any related fee, may be 
determined by approved testing centers, according to their own 
individual policies. 
 (2)  Private Pesticide Applicator Initial Certification. 
 (a)  Fees for testing may be established and charged by any 
testing center, including those operated by the department. 
 (b)  The applicant may acquire any necessary study 
materials from the department website. 
 (c)  The applicant shall schedule required pesticide 
applicator tests with a testing center approved by the department. 
 (3)  Private Pesticide Applicator Testing Procedures. 
 (a)  A new applicant for a private pesticide license must be 
eighteen years of age, or older, and shall demonstrate competency 
and knowledge of pesticide applications, laws, and other relevant 
subjects by successfully completing the approved private pesticide 
applicator test and department application forms.  Each pesticide 
applicator test shall be proctored at an approved testing center. 
 (b)  An applicant for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall first pay any licensing fees to the department, and obtain a 
receipt of license payment. 
 (c)  An applicant for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall find a testing center from a list of approved testing centers on 
the department's website.  A test may also be proctored by a local 
Utah State University Extension agent. 
 (d)  An applicant for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall present their receipt of license payment from the department, 
and valid government issued identification, to the proctor at the 
applicant's chosen testing center. 
 (e)  Cheating, ejection from testing, or failure to follow the 
rules of the department or testing center shall, at the discretion of the 
department, constitute fraud under this rule.  Applicants are subject 
to this rule, regardless if the applicant successfully passes or not. 
 (f)  The private pesticide applicator test must be 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any 
additional pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (g)  The private pesticide applicator test must be taken and 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before a 
private pesticide applicator license may be obtained.[ ] 
 (h)  Upon the successful completion of the appropriate 
pesticide applicator tests, the applicant shall complete the 
department's completion form, which can be found online in the 
testing program. 
 (i)  The steps to re-certify solely by testing are the same as 
for an initial applicant.  The private pesticide applicator test must be 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any 
additional pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (j)  Upon the successful completion of the private pesticide 
applicator test, the applicant shall complete the department's 
completion form, and the department's pesticide applicator 
application form, online. 
 (k)  The rules of a testing center, if more restricting than 
those of the department, shall take precedence over those of the 
department during the administration of the pesticide applicator tests. 
 (l)  If the minimum score of 70% is not obtained after two 
attempts, the person taking the tests must wait 24 hours, pay any 
additional retest fees to the testing center, and begin retesting on any 
failed tests. 
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 (4)  Private Pesticide Applicator Certification Tests and 
Review.  The pesticide applicator tests and methods of testing shall 
be determined and approved by the department.  The review of 
applications shall be made by the department for determining 
eligibility. 
 (5)  Emergency Use Permit.  An individual may be able to 
acquire an Emergency Use Permit which allows a single individual, 
at a singular location, the permission to apply a restricted use 
pesticide in a situation determined to be an emergency by the 
department.  Determination is at the sole discretion of the department.  
Any subsequent purchase of any restricted use pesticide, or additional 
pesticide application of any restricted use pesticide, or use of any 
restricted use pesticide by the individual obtaining the Emergency 
Use Permit is not allowed without the written consent of the 
department.  This permit shall be issued only in an emergency as a 
substitute for a private pesticide applicator license. 
 (6)  Private Pesticide Applicator License Issuance. 
 (a)  A temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be issued 
automatically by email for the successful completion of the private 
pesticide applicator test and each pesticide category test and provided 
each other department requirement is met.  The temporary permit will 
expire 30 days from the date it was issued.  The private pesticide 
applicator test must be successfully completed with a minimum score 
of 70%, before any pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (b)  The pesticide applicator is responsible to verify their 
license is approved by the department. 
 (c)  A private pesticide applicator license shall be issued 
when the following conditions have been met: 
 (i)  the applicant has successfully passed the appropriate 
tests to apply pesticides in the classifications for which they have 
applied; 
 (ii)  any fees have been paid; and 
 (iii)  the applicant is in good standing with the department. 
 (d)  The private pesticide applicator license shall expire on 
December 31 of the third calendar year from the time of licensure, 
unless it has been revoked or suspended by the department  for cause, 
as set forth in Section R68-7-20. 
 (e)  If an application for a private pesticide applicator 
license is denied, the applicant shall be informed of the reason by 
email or mail. 
 (f)  A pesticide applicator is required to have their license 
in their immediate possession when making a pesticide application. 
 (g)  Duplicate licenses from the department are available 
for a fee as set forth in Subsection 4-2-103(2).  The pesticide 
applicator shall also be in good standing with the department, and 
have no unresolved violations or fines, before a replacement license 
may be issued. 
 (h)  A new private pesticide applicator application 
completed between November 1 and December 31 of the same year 
shall be licensed for the remainder of that year and the following 
three calendar years. 
 (7)  Private Pesticide Applicator License Recertification 
and Renewal. 
 (a)  Each private pesticide applicator license shall expire on 
December 31 of the third calendar year following its issuance.[ ] 
 (b)  Private pesticide applicators shall complete required 
recertifications before their license expires, and may be subject to re-
examination at any time during their valid license period. 
 (c)  Recertification options include: 

 (i)  completion of the original certification process by 
taking the required pesticide core and pesticide category test(s) and 
successfully completing each required test with a minimum score of 
70%; or 
 (ii)  participation in approved CEUs and accumulate the 
required amount of six total CEU credits during the valid license time 
period.  A minimum of one credit in Law, one in Safety, and one in 
Pesticide Use are required, while any combination of the three 
categories may be used for the remaining three credits. 
 (8)  Records Maintained.  Private pesticide applicators shall 
keep and maintain records of any restricted use pesticide 
applications, and of any pesticide applications required by WPS. 
 (a)  These records shall be recorded within 24 hours after 
the pesticide application is made. 
 (b)  The application records shall include the following 
information: 
 (i)  If the licensee is subject to WPS, the location of any 
pesticide applications, detailing the address, the metes and bounds, 
GPS coordinates, or a map showing the number of applications and 
the sites treated; 
 (ii)  If the licensee is not subject to the WPS, the location 
of any restricted use pesticide applications, detailing the address, the 
metes and bounds, GPS coordinates, or a map showing the number 
of applications and the sites treated; 
 (iii)  the complete size description of the pesticide 
application area, using either acres, square footage, section, or other 
legally descriptive and easily understandable terms common to the 
industry; 
 (iv)  the specific sites at the pesticide application location 
to which any restricted use pesticides are applied; 
 (v)  the time and date of the pesticide application, including 
the month, day, and year when the restricted use pesticide was 
applied, and the pesticide application start and end times; 
 (vi)  the pesticide product name, as it is written on the 
pesticide label, of the restricted use pesticides, the EPA registration 
number, and mix rate for any restricted use pesticides applied; 
 (vii)  the active ingredient of the restricted use pesticide; 
 (viii)  the total amount of restricted use pesticides, 
including diluted or RTU pesticides, applied per application; 
 (ix)  the amount of restricted use pesticide used per acre or 
square feet; 
 (x)  the purpose of the restricted use pesticide application, 
the pesticide target site, the pesticide target pest, and, if applicable, 
the crop to be treated; 
 (xi)  the duration, or length of time, required for the 
restricted entry interval: 
 (xii)  the name and pesticide applicator license number of 
the certified pesticide applicator who applied the pesticides, or who 
directly supervised the use of any restricted use pesticides; and 
 (xiii)  the name of any individual who applied pesticides 
under the exemptions provided in Subsection R68-7-13(1)(a)(i) or 
Subsection R68-7-13(1)(a)(ii). 
 (c)  Records shall be kept for a period of at least two years 
from the date of the pesticide application and shall be made available 
for inspection by the department , within 48 hours of a request. 
 (d)  Pesticide application records provided by any 
commercial pesticide business to the agricultural establishment shall 
also be kept for two years, and will provide the same information 
required by Subsection R68-7-13(8). 
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 (e)  Records shall be kept recording the maintenance 
history of pesticide application equipment, any respirator medical 
information, respirator fit testing, and any other records required by 
the label of the product used or by EPA WPS. 
 (f)  Records shall be kept in a uniform format.[ ] 
 
R68-7-14.  Other Individuals. 
 (1)  Employees of Federal Agencies. 
 (a)  Federal government employees requesting to be a 
pesticide applicator in Utah shall be required to certify as a non-
commercial pesticide applicator by successfully passing the written 
pesticide applicator core test and any applicable pesticide category 
tests.  Federal government employees who possess a valid and current 
pesticide applicator license from another state may be exempt, and a 
reciprocal pesticide applicator license may be issued.[ ] 
 (b)  Any federal government agency with an EPA approved 
pesticide applicator certification plan that meets or exceeds the Utah 
pesticide applicator certification standards may qualify for reciprocal 
pesticide applicator certification in Utah. 
 (c)  Federal government employees requesting reciprocal 
licensing status shall apply to the department and confirm that the 
application is approved prior to conducting any activities under this 
rule or Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act. 
 (2)  Certification of Out-of-State Applicants. 
 (a)  An out-of-state pesticide applicator may apply as a 
Utah pesticide applicator by taking the applicable tests in their 
respective state.  Out of state proctors shall be approved by the 
department and the pesticide applicator applicant shall bear the costs 
involved with out-of-state testing and licensing. 
 (b)  If a pesticide applicator possesses a current and valid 
pesticide applicator certification from another state, and requests to 
apply pesticides in  Utah, they shall complete the proper application 
process to the department, including: 
 (i)  payment of any required fees; 
 (ii)  a true copy of  the applicant's credentials, both front 
and back, as proof of certification in the applicant's state of residence; 
 (iii)  a front and back copy of their government issued 
identification; and 
 (iv)  a letter of good standing, or other acceptable 
government documents, from the applicant's state pesticide licensing 
program, sent directly to the department by the licensing entity, 
specifically stating the applicant is in good standing and is currently 
licensed as a pesticide applicator in that state.[ ] 
 (c)  The department may, upon review of the applicant's 
required credentials and other materials, issue a Utah Pesticide 
Applicator License to the applicant in accordance with the pesticide 
categories or pesticide use situations for which the applicant is 
certified in another state, without requiring testing. 
 (d)  Out-of-state pesticide applicators who apply pesticides 
in Utah shall be subject to Utah law. 
 (3)  Changes to License Information. 
 (a)  Each certified commercial, non-commercial, and 
private pesticide applicator shall notify the department of any change 
to the pesticide applicator's name, address, phone number, email 
address, or change of employer within 30 calendar days of the 
change.  Failure to do so shall be considered a violation of this rule. 
 (b)  Each commercial pesticide business and RUP dealer 
shall notify the department of any changes including ownership, 
company name, owner or manager's name, company address, phone 

number, email address, or any other required information, within 30 
calendar days of the change.  Failure to do so shall be considered a 
violation of this rule. 
 (c)  Business licenses are non-transferable, and in the case 
of a change of business ownership, a new application is required, 
along with the payment of any associated fees. 
 (i)  The department shall determine if the name on the 
license may be retained by the new owner. 
 (ii)  The department shall determine the necessary fees for 
a new license. 
 (iii)  The new owner shall either qualify as the qualifying 
party or have an employee of the business that qualifies as a 
qualifying party.  The qualifying party for the business must be an 
employee of the business as defined in Section 4-14-102, and not a 
contractor or third party.  The qualifying party may not be the 
designated qualifying party, or employee, of another pesticide 
applicator business. 
 (d)  The designated representative for a Pesticide Business 
License applicant shall meet the requirements of this section, 
including taking any applicable tests. 
 
R68-7-15.  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer Licensing. 
 Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License Required. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to act, represent, or 
advertise themselves as a restricted use pesticide dealer at any time 
without obtaining a restricted use pesticide dealer license. 
 (a)  A separate license is required for each individual 
business location in the state where restricted use pesticides are sold 
or distributed. 
 (b)  Any manufacturer, registrant, or distributor who has no 
restricted use pesticide dealer business licensed within this state, and 
who distributes a restricted use pesticide directly into Utah, shall 
obtain a restricted use pesticide dealer license for their principal out-
of-state business location. 
 (c)  Any manufacturer, registrant, or distributor who sells 
only through, or to, a pesticide dealer, is not required to obtain a 
restricted use pesticide dealer license. 
 (2)  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License Issuance.  
Applications for a restricted use pesticide dealer license shall be on 
the approved department form.  The fees for a restricted use pesticide 
dealer license shall be determined in accordance with Subsection 4-
2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504.[ ] 
 (a)  The applicant shall certify on the application that the 
business understands and recognizes the rules concerning the sale of 
restricted use pesticides and the records that shall be kept and 
maintained for two years. 
 (b)  The applicant shall take online training prior to the 
initial issuance of their license and with every renewal.  If a new 
manager is hired, the manager shall take online training.[ ] 
 (b)  If the department finds the applicant qualified to sell or 
distribute restricted use pesticides, and the applicant has paid any 
required licensing fees, the department may issue a Restricted Use 
Pesticide Dealer License.  The Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer 
License shall expire on December 31 of the third calendar year from 
the time of licensure, unless it has been revoked or suspended by the 
department for cause, as set forth in Section R68-7-20. 
 (3)  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License Renewal. 
Renewal fees for a restricted use pesticide dealer license shall be 
determined in accordance with Subsection 4-2-103(2) and Section 
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63J-1-504.  If a restricted use pesticide dealer fails to complete and 
submit the necessary renewal forms and certifications to the 
department before the end of their license expiration date, a late fee 
may be assessed and added to the renewal fee, in accordance with 
Subsection 4-2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504. 
 (4)  Records Maintained.  Each licensed restricted use 
pesticide dealer location shall keep a recording of any restricted use 
pesticide sales.  This restricted use pesticide sales record shall be 
submitted to the department on the department's website , and shall 
contain the following information: 
 (a)  the company name of the restricted use pesticide dealer; 
 (b)  the store or location name of the restricted use pesticide 
dealer making the sale; 
 (c)  the complete restricted use pesticide dealer license 
number; 
 (d)  the expiration date of the certified pesticide applicator's 
certification or license; 
 (e)  the categories in which the pesticide applicator is 
certified relevant to the pesticides sold; 
 (f)  the complete date of the sale, including the month, day, 
and year; 
 (g)  the first and last name of the individual who made the 
sale; 
 (h)  the brand name of the restricted use pesticide sold, the 
complete EPA registration number of the restricted use pesticide, and 
the quantity sold; 
 (i)  the restricted use pesticide product container size; 
 (j)  the first and last name of the certified pesticide 
applicator who made the purchase; 
 (k)  the complete pesticide applicator license number of the 
certified pesticide applicator who made the purchase; and 
 (l)  the complete address and contact information of the 
certified pesticide applicator who made the purchase, including street 
name and house number, city, state, zip code, phone number, and 
email address. 
 (m)  If the individual who purchased the restricted use 
pesticide was authorized by letter, the authorization letter shall be 
kept on file for a minimum of two years.  The authorization letter 
shall contain the name, pesticide applicator license number, signature 
of the pesticide applicator who wrote the authorization letter, and the 
full name of the individual being authorized to purchase the restricted 
use pesticide.  The authorization letter may only be used once per 
restricted use pesticide purchase.  The restricted use pesticide dealer 
shall verify the information contained in the authorization letter, and 
shall verify the identity of the authorized individual by a government 
issued identification. 
 (n)  If the individual who purchased the restricted use 
pesticide used a temporary pesticide applicator permit, a copy of the 
temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be kept on file for a 
minimum of two years. 
 (o)  Records shall be kept for a period of two years from 
the date of the restricted use pesticide sale, and shall be made 
available for inspection by the department.  The department, upon 
request and within two business days, shall be furnished a copy of 
any sales records completed by the restricted use pesticide dealer. 
 (5)  Submission of Electronic records.  On or before July 1 
of each year, restricted use pesticide dealers are required to submit 
their restricted use pesticide sales records for the period starting the 
previous July 1 through June 30 of the current year. 

 (6)  Exemption.  Section R68-7-15 shall not apply to a 
certified pesticide applicator who sells restricted use pesticides only 
as an integral part of their commercial pesticide application business 
services when the pesticides are dispensed only through their 
equipment used for pesticide application. 
 (g)  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealers Responsible for the 
Acts of Their Employees.  Each restricted use pesticide dealer shall 
be responsible for the acts of each person under their employ in the 
solicitation and sale of restricted use pesticides, and any claims and 
recommendations for the use of restricted use pesticides.  A restricted 
use pesticide dealer license may be subject to denial, suspension, or 
revocation for any violation of Title 4,Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide 
Control Act or rules promulgated thereunder, whether committed by 
the restricted use pesticide dealer or by the dealer's officer, agent, or 
employee. 
 
R68-7-16.  Responsibilities of Pesticide Applicator Businesses and 
Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  Pesticide Applicator Business Duties and 
Responsibilities. 
 (a)  A pesticide applicator business shall ensure the 
qualifying party of the business, as described in Section 4-14-111, 
receives the training the qualifying party requires to comply fully 
with state law, individual pesticide label restrictions, and any 
applicable labeling directions. 
 (b)  Evidence of any pesticide training and attendance shall 
be recorded and kept on file, and shall include the name of the 
employee, their respective pesticide applicator license number, the 
pesticide topics and specific products covered, and the signatures of 
the trainees and the trainer.  The agenda and copies of the pesticide 
training material shall be retained for two years after the termination 
of any employee. 
 (c)  It is the business owner's responsibility to verify that 
each employed pesticide applicator is properly certified in the 
appropriate pesticide categories. 
 (d)  Each pesticide service vehicle shall carry complete, 
appropriate, legible, and up-to-date labels for each pesticide applied 
directly from that pesticide service vehicle. 
 (i)  Original labels are preferred, and it is prohibited to 
remove any label from any container still containing any pesticide 
concentrate. 
 (ii)  If any pesticide labels are printed from an internet 
source, the revision number or date should be verified with the label 
on the container to ensure the correct version is used. 
 (iii)  Electronic copies of labels are not acceptable. 
 (2)  Responsibilities of the pesticide business and 
employees. 
 (a)  A pesticide business, their qualifying party, or their 
pesticide applicator may be held responsible for the acts or omissions 
of  an employee of the pesticide business.  It is the responsibility of 
the pesticide business to properly train, equip, and prepare their 
employees, and to maintain records of employee training and 
equipment. 
 (b)  Failure to respond to or fully disclose information 
pursuant to any requests by the department within two business days, 
for information relating to the training and equipment of a pesticide 
business and their employees shall be evidence of a failure to 
properly train or equip.  The pesticide business owner, qualifying 
party, or designated pesticide business supervisor has the burden of 
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proof by a preponderance of the evidence that the pesticide business, 
qualifying party, or pesticide business employee  has fulfilled the 
required duties as prescribed by this rule or a written order of the 
department. 
 (3)  Use of pesticide business name and license number. 
 (a)  A pesticide business shall prominently display the 
pesticide business license issued by the department at the primary 
pesticide business office and at each branch office. 
 (b)  In addition to the requirements of Subsection R68-7-
16(3)(a), a pesticide business shall prominently display the pesticide 
business name and corresponding license number, as recorded on the 
license issued by the department, on: 
 (i)  customer proposals or contracts that include pest 
management services; 
 (ii)  service records and service notifications; and 
 (iii)  pesticide business service vehicles and trailers used in 
providing pest management services. 
 (c)  Pesticide business names and corresponding license 
numbers displayed on a pesticide business service vehicle or trailer 
used in providing pest management services shall conform to the 
following: 
 (i)  are affixed to the service vehicle or trailer used in 
providing pest management services within 30 days after the 
department issues the license, or issues a business license change, or 
after the service vehicle or trailer is acquired, whichever is sooner; 
 (ii)  are in a color that contrasts with the color of the service 
vehicle and trailer; 
 (iii)  are prominently displayed on both sides of the service 
vehicle or trailer; 
 (iv)  use at least two-inch letters for the principal words in 
the pesticide business name and at least one and one-half inch letters 
for other words in the pesticide business name; 
 (v)  use at least two-inch numbers for the pesticide business 
license number; and 
 (vi)  use letters and numbers that are weatherproof. 
 (d)  A pesticide business that always uses a pesticide 
business service vehicle and trailer together is required to only mark 
either the service vehicle or trailer as described in Subsection R68-7-
16(3))(c).  A pesticide business that uses a vehicle only for sales, 
solicitations, or solely for inspections, and does not carry a pesticide 
or pesticide application equipment, and does not otherwise use the 
vehicle to provide a pest management service, is not required to mark 
the vehicle as described in Subsection R68-7-16(3)(c). 
 (e)  When complying with Subsection R68-7-16(3)(c), a 
pesticide business  may use a slogan, trade name, or trade mark in 
addition to the pesticide business name and corresponding license 
number.  When complying with Subsection R68-7-16(3)(c), a 
pesticide business  may use a word or phrase to indicate its formerly 
licensed pesticide business name, if it had a formerly licensed 
pesticide business name. 
 (4)  Pesticide Application Notification. 
 (a)  Prior to the time of each application of a restricted use 
pesticide with a Danger or Danger-Poison signal word, the certified 
commercial pesticide applicator, or an employee of the licensed 
pesticide business shall provide the customer with a written statement 
containing the following information: 
 (i)  the pesticide business name, pesticide business license 
number, and telephone number; 

 (ii)  the name and pesticide applicator license number of 
the licensed pesticide applicator who will make  the application; 
 (iii)  the date and time of the pesticide application; 
 (iv)  the type of pesticide application service and brand 
name  and EPA registration number of pesticides applied; and 
 (v)  instructions to the customer to contact the pesticide 
business telephone number if more specific information is desired 
regarding the pesticide product applied. 
 (b)  The written statement required in Subsection R68-7-
16(4)(a) shall be provided to the customer by any of the following 
means: 
 (i)  leave statement at the residence; 
 (ii)  in the case of a multi-unit residence, leave the 
statement with the property manager or their authorized 
representative; or 
 (iii)  mail to the property manager or their authorized 
representative if management is located at a location other than the 
pesticide application site, at least  seven calendar days prior to the 
date of the pesticide application. 
 
R68-7-17.  Termiticide Record Keeping:  Additional 
Requirements. 
 (1)  In addition to the recordkeeping requirements 
contained in Section R68-7-12, any pesticide applicator shall  retain 
a record of a diagram of the structure treated for termites with 
termiticide  that includes the dimensions of the structure, including 
the depth to the footer that the foundation rests upon. 
 (2)  For post construction pesticide treatments, the diagram 
shall also illustrate the area where termites or termite activity was 
found. 
 (3)  Any records of pesticide applications shall be 
maintained for a period of two years  and organized separately for 
each individual structure. 
 (4)  If a termiticide distribution system is used: 
 (a)  the system shall meet the standards listed on the label 
and the use of the system shall be allowed only as stated on the label; 
and 
 (b)  installation, design, and manufacture of the system 
shall be allowed by the termiticide label and manufacturer.  If no 
mention of a system is on the label, a distribution application system 
shall not be used. 
 
R68-7-18.  Minimum Standards for Fumigant Applications. 
 (1)  Application of fumigant products require strict 
adherence to the label, and when required by the label, a verified and 
written Fumigation Management Plan (FMP) shall be prepared in 
advance of treatment.  An FMP shall provide details regarding  the 
information prescribed by the label. Utah standards for fumigation 
treatments of any space that can be occupied by a person, or non-
target species, require the following: 
 (a)  at least two persons present at the time of releasing the 
fumigant and during the initial ventilation, one of whom shall be a 
certified pesticide applicator with the fumigation category, present at 
the time of the releasing of the fumigant and during the initial 
ventilation.  During the interim, the premises shall be adequately 
safeguarded against entry by any other person; 
 (b)  notification of local fire department or first responder 
prior to fumigation of any building or enclosed space, other than a 
fumigating vault, the with the address of the fumigation job, time of 
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gas release, kind of gas to be used, and the beginning time of the 
aeration of the premises. 
 (c)  Premises sealed.  Premises to be fumigated shall be 
sealed in a manner that confines the fumigant to the space intended 
to be fumigated. 
 (d)  Inspection of premises prior to releasing fumigant.  
Immediately before releasing the fumigant, the certified pesticide 
applicator shall conduct a thorough inspection of the premises to 
verify that no person or non-target animals remain, and that effective 
precautions have been taken to safeguard occupants of neighboring 
buildings as set forth below. 
 (e)  Fumigation of apartments within a multiple unit 
apartment building. 
 (i)  Fumigation of apartments within a multiple unit 
apartment building may be fumigated only after  the apartments are 
vacated and the area to be fumigated is properly sealed. 
 (ii)  The adjacent units shall be properly ventilated during 
the entire exposure period. 
 (f)  Notification of dwellings or places of business within 
100 feet of the building being fumigated. 
 (i)  Dwellings or places of business within 100 feet of the 
building being fumigated shall be notified in writing in advance of 
the fumigation. 
 (ii)  Premises within 10 feet shall be vacated during the 
fumigation and aeration periods. 
 (g)  Warning signs. 
 (i)  Warning signs shall be posted conspicuously at 
entrances of the premises to be fumigated and at the entrances of 
adjacent multiple units and structures within ten feet and kept there 
during the entire fumigation and ventilation period.  Signs shall be in 
a bright and conspicuous color with a minimum size of 8 1/2 inches 
by 11 inches, bearing the word "poison", displaying the skull and 
crossbones, the name of the fumigant used, and the name, address, 
and telephone number of the certified pesticide applicator. 
 (ii)  Before the fumigant is released, entrances leading 
directly to the fumigated space shall be closed, sealed, and locked, 
except exits to be used by the fumigating crew.  These exits shall be 
closed, sealed, and locked promptly after the fumigant has been 
released. 
 (h)  Masks worn. 
 (i)  Each member of the fumigating crew shall be equipped 
with a serviceable mask of a type approved by the U.S. Mines, Safety, 
and Health Administration with the correct canister for the type of 
gas used. 
 (ii)  Masks shall be worn while in the enclosed space during 
and after release of the fumigant, and until initial ventilation is 
completed. 
 (i)  Re-entering fumigated premises. 
 (i)  No one other than the certified pesticide applicator shall 
be permitted to re-enter the fumigated premises until the certified 
pesticide applicator has ascertained by personal inspection, with gas 
mask and with a chemical appropriate test, that the premises are safe 
for occupancy. 
 (ii)  Aeration shall be conducted according to the product 
labeling and re-entry allowed according to levels specified on the 
label. 
 (j) [ ] Subsections R68-7-18(1)(a) through R68-7-18(1)(i) 
may not apply to fumigants used to control insects or other pests 

outside of buildings, or for spot fumigations, or restrictive treatments 
inside a building, such as grain bins. 
 (i)  Strict adherence to the label instructions shall be 
adhered to during these applications. 
 (ii)  During the ventilation period of a spot or restrictive 
fumigation, the premises shall not be occupied by anyone except the 
certified pesticide applicator. 
 (iii)  A warning gas is recommended where the fumigant is 
comparatively odorless. 
 (2)  Fumigation of burrowing rodents requires strict 
adherence to the label as well as a Fumigation Management Plan 
(FMP) that shall contain the following information: 
 (a)  the purpose of the pesticide application indicating the 
exact pest to be controlled, and the type of burrow system to be 
treated; 
 (b)  the pesticide used, stating the name of the pesticide, the 
EPA registration number, and dosage used; 
 (c)  the property treated information recording the property 
or facility name and address, and verifying the manager's or property 
owner's name and contact information; 
 (d)  the certified pesticide applicator information recording 
the certified pesticide applicator's name, company, pesticide 
applicator license number, phone numbers, and verifying with valid 
government issued identification; 
 (e)  any emergency agency contact information, recording 
the phone numbers for the nearest hospital, fire department, police 
department, poison control center, and the registrant of the fumigant; 
and 
 (f)  instructions given to personnel, verifying by written 
signatures that personnel have been instructed to: 
 (i)  report any accident or incident related to exposure, 
provide a telephone number for emergency response reporting; 
 (ii)  report to the proper authorities any theft of fumigant or 
equipment related to fumigation; and 
 (iii)  follow label directions, paying particular attention to 
the Monitoring, Notification, Sealing, Application Procedures, 
Fumigation Period, and Use Restrictions portions of the label 
instructions. 
 (g)  Burrowing Rodent Fumigation Record Keeping:  
Additional Standards.  In addition to the recordkeeping requirements 
contained in Section R68-7-12, the applicator shall keep as part of 
the record a scaled diagram of the property treated that includes 
dimensions of the property, any structures present, and mark each 
burrow treated on the diagram. 
 
R68-7-19.  Transportation, Storage, Handling, Usage, and 
Disposal of Pesticides and Pesticide Containers. 
 Any pesticide applying person shall provide a secure 
pesticide and device storage area.  The storage area may include an 
area on a service vehicle.  Any pesticide applying entities shall also 
have, at a minimum, a pesticide spill kit in each pesticide service 
vehicle, pesticide service trailer, and at each pesticide business 
location. 
 (1)  No person shall transport, store, or dispose of any 
pesticide or pesticide container in such a manner as to cause injury to 
humans, other non-target species, or the environment. 
 (2)  Pesticide containers shall be secured during transport 
by use of side or end racks, bracing, chocks, tie downs, or other 
means to prevent their sliding, falling, tipping, rolling, or falling off 
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the vehicle with normal vehicle acceleration, deceleration, or change 
in direction. 
 (3)  Portable tanks shall be secured to prevent their sliding, 
falling, tipping, or rolling with normal vehicle acceleration, 
deceleration, or change in direction.  Stacking or wedging against 
ends, sidewalls, or doors of van bodies shall not be relied upon for 
securement. 
 (4)  Pesticides in leaking, broken, corroded, or otherwise 
damaged containers shall not be displayed, offered for sale or 
transported, and shall be handled or disposed of in a manner that 
would not damage or injure humans, other non-target species, or the 
environment.  Pesticides with obscured, illegible, or damaged labels 
shall not be displayed, offered for sale, or sold. 
 (5)  No person shall distribute or sell any pesticide unless it 
is in the registrant's or manufacturer's unopened, original container, 
and the registered pesticide label is affixed to the container. 
 (6)  No person shall transport, handle, store, load, apply, or 
dispose of any pesticide, pesticide container, apparatus, or rinsate in 
such a manner as to pollute water supplies or waterways, or cause 
damage or injury to land, humans, desirable plants and animals, or 
wildlife, except that a pesticide labeled for aquatic use and used as 
directed shall not be considered a violation of this subsection.  
Disposing of pesticides at disposal sites approved by the appropriate 
agency complies with the requirements of this subsection.  Toxicity, 
volatility, and mobility of pesticides shall be considered in complying 
with this subsection. 
 (7)  No person shall pollute streams, lakes, or other water 
supplies during pesticide loading, mixing, and application and shall 
use appropriately functioning devices and procedures to prevent back 
siphoning. 
 (8)  No pesticides shall be applied by aircraft or air blast 
sprayers to property abutting or adjacent to schools in session, 
hospitals, nursing homes, or other similar establishments, when 
occupied, under conditions that may result in contamination of these 
establishments or their premises. 
 (9)  No person shall apply pesticides if physical drift or 
volatilization may cause damage to adjacent land, injure humans or 
other species, or the environment. 
 (10)  Requirements for unattended pesticides and their 
containers: 
 (a)  Pesticides and their containers shall be maintained in 
accordance with generally accepted industry standards and practices. 
 (b)  The provisions of Subsection 68-7-19(10)(d) and (e) 
and Subsection 68-7-19(11) shall not apply to empty pesticide 
containers once decontaminated. 
 (c)  For the purposes of Subsection 68-7-19(10)(d) and (e) 
and Subsection 68-7-19(11), pesticides and their containers at the 
loading area shall not be considered unattended if the operator 
maintains either visual control or repeatedly returns at closely spaced 
intervals to ensure safe monitoring of the pesticides and containers. 
 (d)  Unattended pesticides labeled with the signal word 
"danger/poison" and their containers shall be constructed, stored and 
locked to prevent children, unauthorized persons, livestock, or other 
animals from gaining entry. 
 (e)  Pesticides labeled with the signal word "danger" when 
not accompanied by the signal word "poison", pesticides labeled with 
the signal word "warning", pesticides labeled with the signal word 
"caution", and their containers, shall be stored in secured storage, out 
of the reach of children, in an enclosure as described in Subsection 

68-7-19(10)(d).  Metal containers, twenty-eight gallons and larger, 
with tight screw-type bungs or secured or locked valves shall be 
considered secured storage. 
 (11)  Requirements for posting of storage area for 
pesticides and their containers labeled with the signal words 
"danger/poison": 
 (a)  For purposes of this subsection, warning signs shall 
show the skull and crossbones symbol and the words:  
"Danger/Poison (Pesticide or Chemical) Storage Area/Keep Out" in 
at least two-inch tall letters. 
 (b)  Warning signs shall be posted: 
 (i)  at each entrance or exit from a storage area and on each 
exterior wall, so that the sign is visible from any direction; and 
 (ii)  if the pesticide storage area is contained in a larger, 
multipurpose structure, warning signs shall be clearly visible on each 
entrance of the storage area. 
 (12)  Each service vehicle and business location operated 
by a commercial pesticide business that carries, transports, or stores 
any [measurable amount of]any pesticide concentrate or mixed 
pesticide solution must have, at minimum, a spill kit containing: 
 (a)  a dustproof five-gallon bucket with a lid; 
 (b)  waterproof gloves; 
 (c)  three spill socks, each approximately three feet by four 
inches; 
 (d)  ten medium weight absorbent pads, each 
approximately 15"x18"; and 
 (e)  one medium weight trash bag to contain used absorbent 
material. 
 
R68-7-20.  Unlawful Acts. 
 Any person who has committed any of the following acts 
is in violation of Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, or 
rules promulgated thereunder, and is subject to the penalties provided 
in Section 4-2-301 through Section 4-2-305: 
 (1)  been convicted under Section 14(b) of FIFRA; 
 (2)  been subject to a final order imposing a civil penalty 
under Section 14(a) of FIFRA; 
 (3)  been found in violation of a final state enforcement 
action for violations of state law; 
 (4)  made false, fictitious, or fraudulent claims, including 
any written or spoken misrepresentation of the use or effect of 
pesticides, the certification of any pesticide applicator, or the 
methods or manner in which pesticides may be applied or utilized; 
 (5)  applied any known ineffective or improper pesticides; 
 (6)  applied any pesticides in a faulty, careless, or negligent 
manner; 
 (7)  failed to comply with the provisions of Title 4,Chapter 
14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, these rules, or any lawful order of the 
department; 
 (8)  failure to keep or maintain records required by these 
rules, or to make reports when and as required, or to notify the 
department within 30 days of any changes required under Section 
R68-7-4 
 (9)  proffered false or fraudulent records, invoices, or 
reports to the department; 
 (10)  engaged in the business, solicitation, advertisement, 
or representation of applying a pesticide for hire or compensation on 
the lands or property of another without having a valid commercial 
pesticide applicator license; 
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 (11)  purchased, used, or supervised the use of, a pesticide 
which is labeled for restricted use without having qualified as a 
certified pesticide applicator; 
 (12)  used fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation in any portion 
of the application process for, or renewal of, a registration, license, 
permit, or certification with the department; 
 (13)  refused or neglected to comply with any limitations 
or restrictions on or in a duly issued license or permit; 
 (14)  used, or caused to be used, any pesticide in a manner 
inconsistent with its labeling or rules of the department, if those rules 
further restrict the uses provided on the labeling; 
 (15)  impersonated any federal, state, county, or other 
government official; 
 (16)  distributed any pesticide labeled for restricted use to 
any person unless that person or their agent: has a valid pesticide 
applicator license, permit to use or supervise the use of, or distribute 
a restricted use pesticide; 
 (17)  applied any pesticides on or in any building, structure, 
or property without the consent of the owner, manager, or responsible 
party, with the exception of any government agency that applies a 
pesticide to abate a public health problem under the direction of the 
department; 
 (18)  for a pesticide applicator, applied a termiticide at less 
than the label rate; 
 (19)  for an employer of a commercial or non-commercial 
pesticide applicator, to allow  an employee to apply pesticide before 
that individual has successfully completed the required pesticide 
applicator certification process; 
 (20)  a certified pesticide applicator failed to possess  a 
current pesticide applicator license on their person during a pesticide 
application; 
 (21)  allowed a pesticide application to run off, or drift, 
from the target pesticide application area, whether or not damage or 
injury occurred; 
 (22)  failed to register a pesticide business with the 
department, or follow the rules set forth in this rule for the licensing 
of a commercial pesticide business; 
 (23)  handled or applied any pesticide for which a person 
does not have an appropriate, complete, legible, and current label at 
hand or affixed to the pesticide; 
 (24)  Failed to comply with the federal pesticide container 
and containment regulations found in 40 CFR 156 and 165; 
 (25)  Failed to perform fumigation applications according 
to the standards required by this rule; 
 (26)  Failed to display the pesticide business license name 
and pesticide business license number in accordance with this rule; 
 (27)  Failed to notify a customer of the application of a 
restricted use pesticide and the information detailed in Section R68-
7-16; 
 (28)  The qualifying party of a commercial pesticide 
business licensee failed to train or prepare a commercial pesticide 
applicator to comply fully with the following: 
 (a)  any Utah pesticide statute; 
 (b)  any Utah pesticide rule; 
 (c)  any pesticide label; 
 (d)  any pesticide labeling directions; and 
 (e)  any equipment they will be using.[ ] 

 (29)  Failure to timely and fully respond to requests by the 
department for information relating to training and equipping of 
pesticide applicators; 
 (30)  transported, stored, handled, used, or disposed of a 
pesticide or pesticides container that is inconsistent with this rule; 
 (31)  cheated on any pesticide test required by the 
department or otherwise failed to comply with testing requirements; 
 (32)  refused or neglected to change contact and 
employment information within 30 days;[.] or 
 (33)  violated the EPA WPS[; or]. 
[ (34)  misrepresented or made deceptive claims regarding 
pesticides and the use of the word or term "organic".  This includes 
terms, claims, and non-numerical or comparative statements that 
cannot be well defined, and may be misconstrued by consumers as a 
health or safety claim.  These terms are prohibited in any form.  This 
includes language such as: 
 (a)  "organic", "natural", "all-natural", "pesticide-free", 
"chemical-free", "trusted", "safe", "nonpoisonous", "non-injurious", 
"harmless", or "nontoxic" to humans and pets; and 
 (b)  any similar language that infers a health or safety claim. 
 (c)  The only exceptions to this unlawful act are:  "For 
Organic Production", "For Organic Gardening", "For Organic Lawn 
Care", "For Use in Organic Production", and "Safe when used as 
directed".  These exemptions are only valid if the language can be 
found on the department or EPA approved label.] 
 
R68-7-21.  Penalty Matrix. 
 In the disposition of administrative cases, the department 
shall use a penalty matrix to determine appropriate penalties.  The 
penalty amount shall be from $50-500 per violation.  The department 
shall calculate penalties based on the level of violation and the 
adverse effect or potential adverse effects at the time of the incident 
giving rise to the violation.  The median penalty shall be assessed 
unless a proportionate adjustment is warranted or there are 
aggravating or mitigating factors present. 
 (1)  The department may also choose to issue a warning, in 
lieu of penalty, where the penalty matrix allows.  Any warning in lieu 
of penalty shall be issued in the department's sole discretion.[ ] 
 (2)  The department may consider circumstances enhancing 
or reducing the penalty based on the seriousness of the violation.  
Aggravating and mitigating factors include the following: 
 (a)  the number of separate alleged violations for a given 
inspection or incident date; 
 (b)  the magnitude of the harm, or potential harm, including 
quantity or degree, to humans, non-target species, property, or the 
environment caused by the violation; 
 (c)  the similarity of the current alleged violation to 
violations committed by the pesticide applicator or business; and 
 (d)  the extent to which the alleged violation is part of a 
pattern of the same or substantially similar conduct. 
 (3)  The department will review past violation trends and 
update the penalty matrix based on compliance history annually.  A 
copy of the penalty matrix shall be made available from the 
department upon request. 
 
KEY:  inspections, pesticides 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Notice of Continuation:  February 3, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-14-106 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-29 Filing ID: 53567 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Cody James 801-
982-
2376 

codyjames@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-29.  Quality Assurance Testing on Cannabis 
 
3.  Publication date of previous proposed rule or 
change in proposed rule: 
07/01/2021 
 
4.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
Two small changes are needed to testing standards to 
ensure product safety. 
 
5.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

The unit of measure requirement for cannabis concentrate 
testing is expanded to include cannabis isolate, which is 
measured in grams rather than milliliters.  In addition, the 
foreign matter standard is clarified to specify that if a 
product is discovered to have foreign matter (in any 
amount) considered to be harmful, the product would fail 
quality assurance testing.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original 
proposed amendment upon which this change in proposed 
rule (CPR) was based was published in the July 1, 2021, 

issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 9.  Underlining in 
the rule below indicates text that has been added since the 
publication of the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-
out indicates text that has been deleted.  You must view 
the CPR and the proposed amendment together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable 
should the agency make this rule effective.) 
  

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There should be no cost or savings to the state budget 
because the changes provide minor clarifications to testing 
requirements and do not alter the testing requirements of 
the program. 
 
B) Local government: 
There is no fiscal impact to local governments because 
they do not regulate or manufacture medical cannabis 
products in Utah.   
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to small businesses 
because the changes clarify but do not expand or reduce 
testing requirements for cannabis products. 
  
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" 
means a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to non-small businesses 
because the changes clarify but do not expand or reduce 
testing requirements for cannabis products. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, 
corporation, association, governmental entity, or 
public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
There should be no fiscal impact to other persons because 
the changes clarify but do not expand or reduce testing 
requirements for cannabis products. 
 
F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not change 
because testing requirements and fees charged by the 
Department of Agriculture and Food will not change. 
  
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 



NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

82 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 

This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on business 
in Utah.  Craig Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  
If there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table.  Inestimable impacts will be 
included in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig Buttars, has reviewed and approved the 
regulator impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-41-701   

 

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on:  

09/07/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/09/2021 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-29.  Quality Assurance Testing on Cannabis. 
R68-29-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 1)  Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-701(3), this rule 
establishes the standards for cannabis and cannabis product potency 
testing and sets limits for water activity, foreign matter, microbial 
life, pesticides, residual solvents, heavy metals, and mycotoxins. 
 
R68-29-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "Adulterant" means any poisonous or deleterious 
substance in a quantity that may be injurious to health, including: 
 a)  pesticides; 
 b)  heavy metals; 
 c)  solvents; 
 d)  microbial life; 
 e)  toxins; or 
 f)  foreign matter. 
 2)  "Analyte" means a substance or chemical component 
that is undergoing analysis. 
 3)  "Batch" means a quantity of: 
 a)  cannabis concentrate produced on a particular date and 
time, following clean up until the next clean up during which the 
same lots of cannabis are used; 
 b)  cannabis product produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which cannabis 
concentrate is used; or 
 c)  cannabis flower from a single strain and growing cycle 
packaged on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up during which lots of cannabis are being used. 
 4)  "Cannabinoid" means any: 
 a)  naturally occurring derivative of cannabigerolic acid 
(CAS 25555-57-1); or 
 b)  any chemical compound that is both structurally and 
chemically similar to a derivative of cannabigerolic acid. 
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 5)  "Cannabis" means any part of the marijuana plant. 
 6)  "Cannabinoid concentrate" means: 
 a)  the product of any chemical or physical process applied 
to naturally occurring biomass that concentrates or isolates the 
cannabinoids contained in the biomass; or 
 b)  any amount of a natural, derivative, or synthetic 
cannabinoid in the synthetic cannabinoid's purified state. 
 7)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person that: 
 a)  possesses cannabis; 
 b)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; and 
 c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility or a cannabis processing facility. 
 8)  "Cannabis cultivation byproduct" means any portion of 
a cannabis plant that is not intended to be sold as a cannabis plant 
product. 
 9)  "Cannabis derivative product" means a cannabis 
product made using cannabis concentrate. 
 10)  "Cannabis plant product" means any portion of a 
cannabis plant intended to be sold in a form that is recognizable as a 
portion of a cannabis plant. 
 11)  "Cannabis processing facility" means a person that: 
 a)  acquires or intends to acquire cannabis from a cannabis 
production establishment; 
 b)  possesses cannabis with the intent to manufacture a 
cannabis product; 
 c)  manufactures or intends to manufacture a cannabis 
product from unprocessed cannabis or cannabis concentrate; and 
 d)  sells or intends to sell a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy. 
 12)  "Cannabis product" means a product that: 
 a)  is intended for human use; and 
 b)  contains cannabis or delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol. 
 13)  "CBD" means cannabidiol (CAS 13956-29-1). 
 14)  "CBDA" means cannabidiolic acid, (CAS 1244-58-2). 
 15)  "Certificate of analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the quantities of the various 
analytes for the performed testing. 
 16)  "Delta-9-tetrahydracannabinol" or "delta-9-THC" 
means the cannabinoid identified as CAS #1972-08-03, the primary 
psychotropic cannabinoid in cannabis. 
 17)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 18)  "Derivative cannabinoid" means any cannabinoid that 
has been intentionally created using a process to convert a naturally 
occurring cannabinoid into another cannabinoid. 
 19)  "Final product" means a reasonably homogenous 
cannabis product in its final packaged form created using the same 
standard operating procedures and the same formulation. 
 20)  "Foreign matter" means: 
 a)  any matter that is present in a cannabis lot that is not a 
part of the cannabis plant; or 
 b)  any matter that is present in a cannabis or cannabinoid 
product that is not listed as an ingredient, including seeds. 
 21)  "Industrial hemp" means a cannabis plant that contains 
less than 0.3% total THC by dry weight. 
 22)  "Industrial hemp waste" means: 
 a)  a cannabinoid extract above 0.3% total THC derived 
from verified industrial hemp biomass; or 

 b)  verified industrial hemp biomass with a total THC 
concentration of less than 0.3% by dry weight. 
 23)  "Lot" means the quantity of: 
 a)  flower from a single strain of cannabis and growing 
cycle produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until 
the next clean up during which the same materials are used; or 
 b)  trim, leaves, or other plant matter from cannabis plants 
produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up. 
 24)  "Pest" means: 
 a)  any insect, rodent, nematode, fungus, weed; or 
 b)  any other form of terrestrial or aquatic plant or animal 
life, virus, bacteria, or other microorganisms that are injurious to 
health or to the environment or that the department declares to be a 
pest. 
 25)  "Pesticide" means any: 
 a)  substance or mixture of substances, including a living 
organism, that is intended to prevent, destroy, control, repel, attract, 
or mitigate any insect, rodent, nematode, snail, slug, fungus, weed, 
or other forms of plant or animal life that are normally considered to 
be a pest or that the commissioner declares to be a pest; 
 b)  any substance or mixture of substances intended to be 
used as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; and 
 c)  any spray adjuvant, such as a wetting agent, spreading 
agent, deposit builder, adhesive, or emulsifying agent with 
deflocculating properties of its own used with a pesticide to aid in the 
application or effect of a pesticide. 
 26)  "Sampling technician" means a person tasked with 
collecting a representative sample of a cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product from a cannabis 
production establishment who is: 
 a)  an employee of the department; 
 b)  an employee of an independent cannabis laboratory that 
is licensed by the department to perform sampling; or 
 c)  a person authorized by the department to perform 
sampling. 
 27)  "Standard operating procedure" (SOP) means a 
document providing detailed instruction for the performance of a 
task. 
 28)  "Synthetic cannabinoid" means any cannabinoid that: 
 a)  was chemically synthesized from starting materials 
other than a naturally occurring cannabinoid; and 
 b)  is not a derivative cannabinoid. 
 29)  "THC" means delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (CAS 
1972-08-3). 
 30)  "THCA" means delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid 
(CAS 23978-85-0). 
 31)(a)  "THC analog" means a substance that is structurally 
or pharmacologically substantially similar to, or is represented as 
being similar to, delta-9-THC. 
 (b)  "THC analog" does not include the following 
substances or their naturally occurring acid forms: 
 (i)  cannabichromene (CBC), CAS# 20675-51-8; 
 (ii)  cannabicyclol (CBL), CAS# 21366-63-2; 
 (iii)  cannabidiol (CBD), CAS# 13956-29-1; 
 (iv)  cannabidivarol (CBDV), CAS# 24274-48-4; 
 (v)  cannabielsoin (CBE), CAS# 52025-76-0; 
 (vi)  cannabigerol (CBG), CAS# 25654-31-3; 
 (vii)  cannabigerovarin (CBGV), CAS# 55824-11-8; 
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 (viii)  cannabinol (CBN), CAS# 521-35-7; or 
 (ix)  cannabivarin (CBV), CAS# 33745-21-0. 
 32)  "Total CBD" means the sum of the determined 
amounts of CBD and CBDA. 
 33)  "Total THC" means the sum of the determined amounts 
of delta-9-THC and delta-9-THCA, according to the formula: Total 
THC = delta-9-THC + (delta-9-THCA x 0.877). 
 34)  "Unit" means each individual portion of an 
individually packaged product. 
 35)  "Water activity" is a dimensionless measure of the 
water present in a substance that is available to microorganisms; 
calculated as the partial vapor pressure of water in the substance 
divided by the standard state partial vapor pressure of pure water at 
the same temperature. 
 
R68-29-3.  Required Cannabis, Cannabis Product, and Industrial 
Hemp Waste Tests. 
 1)  Prior to the transfer of cannabis biomass from a cannabis 
cultivation facility to a cannabis processing facility, the cultivation 
facility shall make a declaration to the department that the biomass 
to be transferred is either a cannabis plant product or a cannabis 
cultivation byproduct. 
 2)  A representative sample of each batch or lot of cannabis 
plant product shall be tested by an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory to determine:[ ] 
 a)  the water activity of the sample; 
 b)  the amount of total [delta-9-]THC, total CBD, and any 
THC analog know to be present in the sample; and 
 c)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified in 
table 1. 
 3)  Required testing shall be performed either: 
 a)  prior to the transfer of the cannabis plant product to a 
cannabis processing facility; or 
 b)  following the transfer of the cannabis plant product to a 
cannabis processing facility. 
 4)  If cannabis plant product is tested prior to being 
transferred to a cannabis processing facility, repeat testing for 
microbial contaminants and foreign matter shall be performed 
following the transfer.[ ] 
 5)  Cannabis cultivation byproduct shall either be: 
 a)  chemically or physically processed to produce a 
cannabis concentrate for incorporation into cannabis derivative 
product; or 
 b)  destroyed pursuant to Section 4-41a-405. 
 6)  Prior to its incorporation into a cannabis derivative 
product, cannabis concentrate shall be tested by an independent 
cannabis testing laboratory to determine: 
 a)  the amount of total THC, total CBD, and any THC 
analog known to be present in the sample; and 
 b)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified in 
table 1. 
 c)  Any derivative or synthetic cannabinoids present in the 
cannabis concentrate shall be isolated to a purity of greater than 95%, 
with a 5% margin of error, as determined by an independent cannabis 
testing laboratory using liquid chromatography-mass spectroscopy or 
an equivalent method. 
 7)  Prior to the transfer of a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy a representative sample of the product shall be 
tested by an independent cannabis testing laboratory to determine: 

 a)  the water activity of the sample, as determined 
applicable by the department; 
 b)  the quantity of any cannabinoid or terpene to be listed 
on the product label; and 
 c)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified in 
table 1. 
 8)  Testing results for cannabis [cannabis ]concentrate may 
be applied to cannabis product derived therefrom, provided that the 
processing steps used to produce the product are unlikely to change 
the results of the test, as determined by the department. 
 9)  Mycotoxin testing of a cannabis plant product, cannabis 
concentrate, or cannabis product may be required if the department 
has reason to believe that mycotoxins may be present. 
 10)  A cannabis plant product, cannabis concentrate, or 
cannabis product that fails any of the required adulterant testing 
standards may be remediated by a cannabis cultivation facility or 
cannabis processing facility after submitting and gaining approval for 
a remediation plan from the department. 
 11)  A remediation plan shall be submitted to the 
department within 15 days of the receipt of a failed testing result. 
 12)  A remediation plan shall be carried out and the 
cannabis plant product or cannabis concentrate shall be prepared for 
resampling within 60 days of department approval of the remediation 
plan. 
 13)  Resampling or retesting of a cannabis lot or batch that 
fails any of the required testing standards is not allowed until the lot 
or batch has been remediated. 
 14)  A cannabis lot or cannabis product batch that is not or 
cannot be remediated in the specified time period shall be destroyed 
pursuant to Section 4-41a-405. 
 15)  In the event that tests results cannot be retained in the 
Inventory Control System, the laboratory shall: 
 a)  keep a record of test results; 
 b)  issue a certificate of analysis for required tests; and 
 c)  retain a copy of the certificate of analysis on the 
laboratory premises. 
 16)  Plant product that has been classified as industrial 
hemp waste may enter the state and be held by a medical cannabis 
cultivation facility until required testing is completed by an 
independent cannabis testing laboratory.  A cannabis cultivation 
facility may not take ownership of the industrial hemp plant product 
until testing requirements have been met. 
 17)  Industrial hemp waste purchased by a cannabis 
cultivation facility in the form of a plant product or a concentrate 
must meet department cannabis testing standards as determined by 
an independent cannabis testing laboratory prior to its transfer to a 
cannabis cultivation facility. 
 18)  Industrial hemp waste that is transferred to a cannabis 
cultivation facility shall be considered to be cannabis for all testing 
and regulatory purposes of the department. 
 

TABLE 1 
Required Tests by Sample Type 

 
                     Cannabis        Cannabis        Cannabis 
Test                 Plant Product   Concentrate     Product 
 
Moisture Content     Required        X               X 
Water Activity       Required        X               X 
Foreign Matter       Required        Required        Required 
Potency              Required        Required        Required 
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Microbial            Required        Required        Required 
Pesticides           Required        Required        Required 
Residual Solvents    X               Required        Required 
Heavy Metals         Required        Required        Required 
Mycotoxins           X               Required        X 
 

R68-29-4.  Sampling Cannabis and Cannabis Products. 
 1)  The entity that requests testing of a cannabis plant 
product lot or cannabis concentrate batch, or cannabis product batch 
shall make the entirety of the lot or batch available to the sampling 
technician. 
 2)  The lot or batch being sampled shall be contained in a 
single location and physically separated from other lots or batches. 
 3)  The sample shall be collected by a sampling technician 
who is unaffiliated with the entity that requested testing of the 
cannabis lot or cannabis product batch unless an exception is granted 
by the department. 
 4)  The owner of the cannabis lot or cannabis product batch 
and any of their employees shall not assist in the selection of the 
sample. 
 5)  The sampling technician shall collect the representative 
sample in a manner set forth in a SOP, that is ISO 17025 compliant, 
maintained by the laboratory that will perform the testing. 
 6)  When collecting the representative sample, the sampling 
technician shall: 
 a)  use sterile gloves, instruments, and a glass or plastic 
container to collect the sample; 
 b)  place tamper proof tape on the container; and 
 c)  appropriately label the sample pursuant to Section R68-
30-6. 
 7)  For cannabis plant product lots the minimum 
representative sample shall be taken according to the following 
schedule: 
 a)  10 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 5 kilograms or less; 
 b)  16 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 5.01-9 kilograms; 
 c)  22 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 9.01-14 kilograms; 
 d)  28 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 14.01-18 kilograms; 
 e)  32 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 18.01-23 kilograms. 
 8)  For cannabis concentrate the minimum representative 
sample shall be taken according to the following schedule: 
 a)  10 mL or grams for batches of one liter or kilogram or 
less; or 
 b)  20 mL or grams for batches of four liters or kilograms 
o[f]r less. 
 9)  For cannabis products in their final product form the 
following minimum number of sample units must be taken, the 
combined total weight of which must be at least 10 grams, not 
including packaging materials: 
 a)  four units for a sample product batch with 5-500 
products; 
 b)  six units for a sample product batch with 501-1000 
products; 
 c)  eight units for a sample product batch with 1,001-5,000 
products; and 
 d)  ten units for a sample product batch with 5,001-10,000 
products. 

 10)  Additional material may be included in the 
representative sample if the material is necessary to perform the 
required testing. 
 
R68-29-5.  Moisture Content Testing and Water Activity 
Standards. 
 1)  The moisture content of a sample and related lot of 
cannabis shall be reported on the COA as a mass over mass 
percentage. 
 2)  A sample and related lot of cannabis fail quality 
assurance testing if the water activity of the representative sample is 
found to be greater than 0.65. 
 3)  A sample and related cannabis or cannabinoid product 
batch intended for human consumption fail quality assurance testing 
if the water activity of the representative sample is greater than 0.65, 
unless water is a component of the product formulation and is listed 
as an ingredient. 
 
R68-29-6.  Foreign Matter Standards. 
 1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis, cannabis 
product, or cannabinoid product fail quality assurance testing if: 
 a)  the sample contains foreign matter visible to the unaided 
human eye; 
 b)  the sample is found to contain microscopic foreign 
matter considered to be harmful or estimated to comprise greater than 
3% of the mass of the representative sample as determined by the 
testing laboratory; or 
 c)  foreign matter is found that is suspected to have been 
intentionally added to the sample to increase its visual appeal or 
market value. 
 
R68-29-7.  Potency Testing. 
 1)  A lot or batch of cannabis plant product, cannabis 
concentrate, or cannabis product shall have [their]its potency 
determined and listed on a COA as total THC, total CBD, and the 
total concentration of any THC analog known to be present. 
 
R68-29-8.  Microbial Standards. 
 1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality 
assurance testing for microbiological contaminants if the results 
exceed the limits as set forth in Table 2. 
 

TABLE 2 
Microbial Analytes and Action Levels 

 
Material               Microbial Limit Requirement (cfu) 
 
Flower                 Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤100,000 
                       Absence of E. Coli and Salmonella spp. 
                       Absence of Aspergillus 
 
Concentrated oil       Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Wax                    Total Combined Yeast and Mold Count ≤1,000 
Resin                  Absence of STEC 
                       Absence of Pseudomonas 
                       Absence of Staph 
 
Tablet                 Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Capsule                Total Combined Yeast and Mold Count ≤1,000 
Liquid Suspension      Absence of E. Coli and Salmonella spp. 
Gelatinous cube        Absence of Staph 
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Transdermal            Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤100 
                       Total Yeast and Mold ≤100 
                       Absence of Pseudomonas 
                       Absence of Staph 
                       Absence of E. coli 
 

R68-29-9.  Pesticide Standards. 
 1)  Only pesticides allowed by the department may be used 
in the cultivation of cannabis. 
 2)  If an independent cannabis laboratory identifies a 
pesticide that is not allowed under Subsection R68-29-5(1) and is 
above the action levels provided in Subsection R68-29-5(3) that lot 
or batch from which the sample was taken has failed quality 
assurance testing. 
 3)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis, cannabis 
product, or cannabinoid product fail quality assurance testing for 
pesticides if the results exceed the limits as set forth in Table 3. 
 

TABLE 3 
Pesticide Analytes and Action Levels 

 
Analyte             Chemical Abstract Service     Action Level 
                    (CAS) Registry number         ppm 
Abamectin           71751-41-2                    0.5 
Acephate            30560-19-1                    0.4 
Acequinocyl         57960-19-7                    2 
Acetamiprid         135410-20-7                   0.2 
Aldicarb            116-06-3                      0.4 
Azoxystrobin        131860-33-8                   0.2 
Bifenazate          149877-41-8                   0.2 
Bifenthrin          82657-04-3                    0.2 
Boscalid            188425-85-6                   0.4 
Carbaryl            63-25-2                       0.2 
Carbofuran          1563-66-2                     0.2 
Chlorantraniliprole 500008-45-7                   0.2 
Chlorfenapyr        122453-73-0                   1 
Chlorpyrifos        2921-88-2                     0.2 
Clofentezine        74115-24-5                    0.2 
Cyfluthrin          68359-37-5                    1 
Cypermethrin        52315-07-8                    1 
Daminozide          1596-84-5                     1 
DDVP (Dichlorvos)   62-73-7                       0.1 
Diazinon            333-41-5                      0.2 
Dimethoate          60-51-5                       0.2 
Ethoprophos         13194-48-4                    0.2 
Etofenprox          80844-07-1                    0.4 
Etoxazole           153233-91-1                   0.2 
Fenoxycarb          72490-01-8                    0.2 
Fenpyroximate       134098-61-6                   0.4 
Fipronil            120068-37-3                   0.4 
Flonicamid          158062-67-0                   1 
Fludioxonil         131341-86-1                   0.4 
hexythiazox         78587-05-0                    1 
imazalil            35554-44-0                    0.2 
Imidacloprid        138261-41-3                   0.4 
Kresoxim-methyl     143390-89-0                   0.4 
Malathion           143390-89-0                   0.2 
Metalaxyl           57837-19-1                    0.2 
Methiocarb          2032-65-7                     0.2 
Methomyl            16752-77-5                    0.4 
Methyl parathion    298-00-0                      0.2 
MGK-264             113-48-4                      0.2 
Myclobutanil        88671-89-0                    0.2 
Naled               300-76-5                      0.5 
Oxamyl              23135-22-0                    1 
Paclobutrazol       76738-62-0                    0.4 
Permethrins         52645-53-1                    0.2 
Phosmet             732-11-6                      0.2 
Piperonyl_butoxide  51-03-6                       2 
Prallethrin         23031-36-9                    0.2 
Propiconazole       60207-90-1                    0.4 

Propoxur            114-26-1                      0.2 
Pyrethrins          8003-34-7                     1 
Pyridaben           96489-71-3                    0.2 
Spinosad            168316-95-8                   0.2 
Spiromesifen        283594-90-1                   0.2 
Spirotetramat       203313-25-1                   0.2 
Spiroxamine         118134-30-8                   0.4 
Tebuconazole        80443-41-0                    0.4 
Thiacloprid         111988-49-9                   0.2 
Thiamethoxam        153719-23-4                   0.2 
Trifloxystrobin     141517-21-7                   0.2 
 

 4)  Permethrins should be measured as cumulative residue 
of cis- and trans-permethrin isomers (CAS numbers 54774-45-7 and 
51877-74-8). 
 5)  Pyrethrins should be measured as the cumulative 
residues of pyrethrin [1]I (CAS 121-21-1), pyrethrin II (CAS 121-29-
9), cinerin 1 (CAS 25402-06-6), and jasmolin 1 (CAS 4466-14-2). 
 6)  Abamectin is a composite of the amounts of avermectin 
B1a and avermectin B1b. 
 
R68-29-10.  Residual Solvent Standards. 
 1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fails quality 
assurance testing for residual solvents if the results exceed the limits 
provided in Table 4 unless the solvent is: 
 a)  a component of the product formulation; 
 b)  listed as an ingredient; and 
 c)  generally considered to be safe for the intended form of 
use. 
 

TABLE 4 
List of Solvents and Action Levels 

 
Solvent               Chemical Abstract Service     Action level 
                      (CAS)Registry number          ppm 
1,2 Dimethoxyethane   110-71-4                        100 
1,4 Dioxane           123-9                           380 
1-Butanol             71-36-3                       5,000 
1-Pentanol            71-41-0                       5,000 
1-Propanol            71-23-8                       5,000 
2-Butanol             78-92-2                       5,000 
2-Butanone 78-93-3                                  5,000 
2-Ethoxyethanol       110-80-5                        160 
2-methylbutane        78-78-4                       5,000 
2-Propanol (IPA)      67-63-0                       5,000 
Acetone               67-64-1                       5,000 
Acetonitrile          75-05-8                         410 
Benzene               71-43-2                           2 
Butane                106-97-8                      5,000 
Cumene                98-82-8                          70 
Cyclohexane           110-82-7                      3,880 
Dichloromethane       75-09-2                         600 
2,2-dimethylbutane    75-83-2                         290 
2,3-dimethylbutane    79-29-8                         290 
1,2-dimethylbenzene   95-47-6                       See Xylenes 
1,3-dimethylbenzene   108-38-3                      See Xylenes 
1,4-dimethylbenzene   106-42-3                      See Xylenes 
Dimethyl sulfoxide    67-68-5                       5,000 
Ethanol               64-17-5                       5,000 
Ethyl acetate         141-78-6                      5,000 
Ethylbenzene          100-41-4                      See Xylenes 
Ethyl ether           60-29-7                       5,000 
Ethylene glycol       107-21-1                        620 
Ethylene Oxide        75-21-8                          50 
Heptane               142-82-5                      5,000 
n-Hexane              110-54-3                        290 
Isopropyl acetate     108-21-4                      5,000 
Methanol              67-56-1                       3,000 
Methylpropane         75-28-5                       5,000 
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2-Methylpentane       107-83-5                        290 
3-Methylpentane       96-14-0                         290 
N,N-dimethylacetamide 127-19-5                      1,090 
N,N-dimethylformamide 68-12-2                         880 
Pentane               109-66-0                      5,000 
Propane               74-98-6                       5,000 
Pyridine              110-86-1                        100 
Sulfolane             126-33-0                        160 
Tetrahydrofuran       109-99-9                        720 
Toluene               108-88-3                        890 
Xylenes               1330-20-7                     2,170 
 

 2)  Xylenes is a combination of the following: 
 a)  1,2-dimethylbenzene; 
 b)  1,3-dimethylbenzene; 
 c)  1,4-dimethylbenzene; and 
 d)  ethyl benzene. 
 
R68-29-11.  Heavy Metal Standards. 
 A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality assurance 
testing for heavy metals if the results exceed the limits provided in 
Table 5. 

TABLE 5 
Heavy Metals 

 
Metals               Natural Health Products Acceptable 
                     limits in parts per million 
Arsenic              <2 
Cadmium              <0.82 
Lead                 <1.2 
Mercury              <0.4 

R68-29-12.  Mycotoxin Standards. 
 A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality assurance 
testing for mycotoxin if the results exceed the limits provided in 
Table 6. 
 

TABLE 6 
Mycotoxin 

 
Test                       Specification 
The total of 
Aflatoxin B1, 
Aflatoxin B2, 
Aflatoxin G1, and 
Aflatoxin G2               <20 ppb of substance 
Ochratoxin A.              <20 ppb of substance 
 

KEY:  cannabis testing, quality assurance, cannabis laboratory 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41a-
701(3) 
 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R70-920 Filing ID: 50177 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Regulatory Services 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller 801-
982-
2250 

twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R70-920.  Packaging and Labeling of Commodities 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted under Section 4-9-103 that allows the 
Department of Agriculture and Food to adopt rules to 
administer Title 4, Chapter 9, Weights and Measures. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule needs to continue because it provides for 
adoption of uniform guidelines regarding the packaging 
and labeling and commodities which protect consumer 
safety and allow for transparency in commodity sales in 
Utah. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/06/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R70-930 Filing ID: 50187 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Regulatory Services 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller 801-
982-
2250 

twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R70-930.  Methods of Sale of Commodities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted under the authority of Section 4-9-103 
which allows the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) to make rules to administer Title 4, Chapter 
9, Weights and Measures. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should continue because it allows the 
Department to follow uniform standards related to the 
method of sale of commodities in the state and provides 
for capacities for specific commodities. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/06/2021 

 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R70-940 Filing ID: 50184 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Regulatory Services 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller 801-
982-
2250 

twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R70-940.  Standards and Testing of Motor Fuel 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted under the authority of Title 4, Chapter 
33, the Motor Fuel Inspection Act (Act), and Section 4-33-
104, which allows the Department of Agriculture and Food 
to make rules necessary to administer the Act.  The 
purpose of the Act is to promote the safety and welfare of 
users of motor fuel in the state and promote the orderly 
marketing of motor fuel.  
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should continue because it provides motor fuel 
performance specifications and monitoring standards that 
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protect consumer safety and ensure consumer confidence 
in the quality of fuel purchased in Utah. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/06/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-55a Filing No. 52921 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Allyson Pettley 801-

530-
6720 

apettley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R156-55a.  Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 58, Chapter 55, provides for the licensure and 
regulation of contractors, other various construction-
related professions outlined in the statute and handyman 
exemption registration.  Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) 
provides that the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing (Division) may adopt and enforce 
rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-55-103(1)(b)(i) 
provides that the Construction Services Commission's 
duties, functions, and responsibilities includes, with the 
concurrence of the Division Director, making reasonable 
rules to administer and enforce Title 58, Chapter 55.  This 
rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, 
Chapter 55, with respect to contractors, other various 
construction-related professions and handyman 
exemption registration. 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Since this rule was last reviewed in August 2016, the rule 
has been amended five times.  The Division has received 
no written comments with respect to this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should be continued as it provides a mechanism 
to inform potential licensees/registrants of the 
requirements for licensure/registration as allowed under 
statutory authority provided in Title 58, Chapter 55.  This 
rule should also be continued as it provides information to 
ensure applicants for licensure/registration are adequately 
trained and meet minimum licensure/registration 
requirements and provides licensees/registrants with 
information concerning unprofessional conduct, 
definitions, and ethical standards relating to the 
professions. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 02/18/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-55b Filing No. 52310 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Duncombe 801-

530-
6235 

sduncombe@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R156-55b.  Electricians Licensing Act Rule 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 58, Chapter 55, provides for the licensure and 
regulation of various classifications of electricians.  
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) provides that the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing (Division) may 
adopt and enforce rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) provides that the Electricians Licensing 
Board's duties, functions, and responsibilities includes 
recommending to the director appropriate rules.  This rule 
was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 
55, with respect to various classifications of electricians. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Since this rule was last reviewed in August 2016, the rule 
has been amended three times.  The Division received the 
following comments regarding proposed amendments 
filed in December 2019.  A December 13, 2019 written 
comment/email received from Ken Adams (IEC of Utah), 
Carl Brailsford (Electrical Training Alliance) and Will Pierce 
(Southwest Tech) commented on amendments being 
made in Section R156-55b-302c and Subsection R156-
55b-302a(5).  A December 6, 2019 email from Royston 
Adam Boling regarding proposed rule amendments was 
also received.  Mr. Boling was concerned about increasing 
the number of electricians being licensed to practice in 
Utah.  Both written comments were reviewed by the 
Division, Electricians Licensing Board, and the 
Construction Services Commission and the proposed rule 
amendments filed in December 2019 were made effective 
in January 2020 with no further amendments. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should be continued as it provides a mechanism 
to inform potential licensees of the requirements for 
licensure as allowed under statutory authority provided in 
Title 58, Chapter 55.  This rule should also be continued 
as it provides information to ensure applicants for 
licensure are adequately trained and meet minimum 
licensure requirements, and provides licensees with 
information concerning unprofessional conduct, 
definitions, and ethical standards relating to the 
profession. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 05/12/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-55c Filing No. 52311 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Duncombe 801-

530-
6235 

sduncombe@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R156-55c.  Plumbers Licensing Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 58, Chapter 55, provides for the licensure and 
regulation of various classifications of plumbers.  
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) provides that the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing (Division) may 
adopt and enforce rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) provides that the Plumber's Licensing 
Board's duties, functions, and responsibilities includes 
recommending to the director appropriate rules.  This rule 
was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 
55, with respect to various classifications of plumbers. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Since this rule was last reviewed in August 2016, the rule 
has been amended three times.  The Division has received 
no written comments with respect to this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
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This rule should be continued as it provides a mechanism 
to inform potential licensees of the requirements for 
licensure as allowed under statutory authority provided in 
Title 58, Chapter 55.  This rule should also be continued 
as it provides information to ensure applicants for 
licensure are adequately trained and meet minimum 
licensure requirements, and provides licensees with 
information concerning unprofessional conduct, 
definitions, and ethical standards relating to the 
profession. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 05/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R251-108 Filing ID: 50358 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14717 S Minuteman Dr 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson 801-

545-
5589 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R251-108.  Adjudicative Proceedings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Sections 63G-3-201, 63G-4-202, 
63G-4-203, and 64-13-10 of the Utah Code.  The purpose 
of this rule is to establish a procedure in which informal 
adjudicative proceedings shall be conducted as a result of 
a notice of agency action, or a request by a person for 
agency action regarding the Department of Corrections 
(Department) rules, orders, policies or procedures.  This 
rule shall not apply to internal personnel actions within the 
Department. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments on this rule have been received since the 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The purpose of this rule is to establish a procedure in 
which informal adjudicative proceedings shall be 
conducted as a result of a notice of agency action, or a 
request by a person for agency action regarding 
Department rules, orders, policies, or procedures.  This 
rule shall not apply to internal personnel actions within the 
Department.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brian Nielson, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 06/15/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-605 Filing ID: 50508 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-605.  Coaching Standards and Athletic Clinics 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
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This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; Subsection 53E-3-
401(4) which allows the Board to make rules to execute 
the Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; and Subsection 53E-3-
501(1)(b) which directs the Board to adopt rules regarding 
access to programs. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no written comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule continues to be necessary because it specifies 
standards for school athletic and activity coaches and 
standards for athletic clinics and workshops.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 06/30/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-923 Filing No. 53282 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-923.  American Indian and Alaskan Native Education 
State Plan Programs 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; Section 53F-5-603 
which provides that the Board may make rules related to 
the programs; and Subsection 53E-3-401(4) which allows 
the Board to make rules to execute the Board's duties and 
responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and state law. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no written comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule continues to be necessary because it provides 
criteria for evaluating grant applications; and procedures 
for: a school district to apply to the Board to receive grant 
money; and the review of the use of grant money.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 07/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R315-319 Filing ID: 50771 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Waste Management and Radiation 

Control, Waste Management 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144880 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4880 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tom Ball 801-

536-
0251 

tball@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R315-319.  Coal Combustion Residuals Requirements 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-6-104(1)(c) requires the Waste 
Management and Radiation Control Board to meet the 
requirements of federal law related to solid and hazardous 
wastes to ensure that the solid and hazardous wastes 
program provided for in this part is qualified to assume 
primacy from the federal government in control over solid 
and hazardous waste. 
 
Section 19-6-108 requires a person who plans to own and 
operate a facility that receives waste generated primarily 
from the combustion of coal or other fossil fuels to submit 
a request to and receive the approval of the director for an 
operation plan for that facility site prior to purchasing, 
constructing, modifying, or operating such a facility. 
 
This rule sets out the procedures and information that must 
be submitted to meet the requirements of the statute. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Rule R315-319 was first adopted with an effective date of 
September 1, 2016.  This is the first five-year review of this 
rule and no comments have been received since it became 
effective. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R315-319 contains the permit requirements, scope 
and applicability, definitions, restrictions, design and 
operating criteria, environmental monitoring requirements, 
closure requirements, and recordkeeping requirements for 
a coal combustion residuals facility.  This rule forms the 
basis of the coal combustion residuals facility permitting 
program required by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Act.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Douglas J. 
Hansen, Director 

Date: 07/08/2021 

 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R362-4 Filing ID: 53145 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor  
Agency: Energy Development (Office of) 
Street address: 60 E South Temple, 3rd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Richard Bell 801-

538-
8682 

Rbell1@utah.gov 

Matt Anderson 801-
910-
3458 

Manderson2@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R362-4.  High Cost Infrastructure Tax Credit Act 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63M-4-606.  Administrative rules. 
The Office of Energy Development (OED) may establish, 
by rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, 
requirements and procedures for the implementation of 
this part. 
 
Tax incentive program is still available and the OED is still 
administering it. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
One comment received requested information about how 
OED will determine the tax credit amount through which 
this rule would help determine. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The administrative rule is valid and needs to be renewed 
because tax incentive program is still available, and OED 
is still administering it.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Matt Anderson, 
Deputy Director 

Date: 07/01/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-513 Filing ID: 52528 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-513.  Intergovernmental Transfers 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26-18-3 requires the Department of Health 
(Department) to implement the Medicaid program through 
administrative rules while Section 26-1-5 authorizes the 
Department to adopt rules as necessary for program 
implementation. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department did not receive any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

The Department will continue this rule because it requires 
government entities to document intergovernmental fund 
transfers, specifies the correct form to use, and specifies 
the content to be included. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 07/08/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R444-14 Filing ID: 53363 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Laboratory Improvement 
Street address: 4431 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84041 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristin Brown 801-

965-
2540 

kristinbrown@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R444-14.  Rule for the Certification of Environmental 
Laboratories 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26-1-30 authorizes this rule by is establishing and 
enforcing standards for laboratory services which are 
provided by any laboratory in the state when the purpose 
of the service to protect the public health. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments were received during or since the last five-
year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
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For Utah to maintain primacy under United States 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), there must exist 
a laboratory certification program within the state.  State 
primacy under the EPA is outlined in 40 CFR 142 Subpart 
B.  As outlined in 40 CFR 142, the state must have a 
program that will certify laboratories that will analyze water 
samples required by the regulations.  This rule allows the 
program to certify laboratories to perform testing 
acceptable to atate regulations.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 07/09/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-14 Filing ID: 53460 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R477-14.  Substance Abuse and Drug-Free Workplace 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63A-17-1002 establishes the authority for the 
Division of Human Resource Management (DHRM) to 
make rules to implement the drug free workplace program 

for  employees as outlined in Sections 63A-17-1001 
through 63A-17-1007. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
DHRM has not received any comment regarding this rule 
in the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order to enable management in 
state agencies to prohibit the influence of drugs and 
alcohol in the workplace and forms the basis upon which 
those who violate the prohibitions may be detected and 
punished.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Director 

Date: 07/06/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-178 Filing ID: 51383 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-178.  Securities Custody 
 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

98 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to implement the provisions of 
Title 31A, Insurance Code.  Section 31A-2-206 authorizes 
the Insurance Commissioner to write rules regarding the 
receipt and handling of deposited securities.  Section 31A-
4-108 authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to write 
rules to safeguard and ensure that securities are not 
loaned to other insurers. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has received no written comments 
regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule allows domestic insurance companies to use 
modern systems for holding and transferring securities 
without the physical delivery of securities certificates.  It 
also sets standards for national banks, state banks, trust 
companies, and broker/dealers to qualify and operate as 
custodians for insurance company securities.  Without this 
rule, insurers could place their investments under risky 
custodial arrangements or in situations that could threaten 
the security of the company's assets and, in the end, the 
security of its insureds.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 07/14/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R651-612 Filing ID: 51650 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Parks and Recreation 
Room no.: Ste 116 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tammy Wright 801-

538-
7359 

tammywright@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R651-612.  Veteran's With Disabilities Honor Pass 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was established as required by Section 79-4-304 as 
amended by H.B. 135 as passed during the 2016 General 
Session of the Utah Legislature. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
State Parks has received some written comments 
regarding benefits for veterans.  There was no direct 
opposition to this rule, but rather those commenting 
wanted the benefits provided to be expanded to include all 
veterans, active duty military, or disabled veterans with a 
lesser degree of disability. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
State Parks feels the current rule provides a great benefit 
to disabled veterans.  This rule coincides with our 
management paradigm, which includes operating on the 
revenues the Division of Parks and Recreation (Division) 
generates at the parks.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 
In 2011, the legislature required State Parks to become 
self-sufficient and to stop relying on tax dollars for 
operating costs.  If the Division provided more benefits to 
veterans, active duty military, and disabled veterans at less 
than 50% disability, it would greatly reduce funding 
available to provide clean, safe, and friendly parks and 
world-class recreational experiences. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen, 
Director 

Date: 07/07/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R655-17 Filing ID: 51727 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Water Rights 
Room no.: 220 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Marianne 
Burbidge 

801-538-
7370 

marianneburbidge@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R655-17.  Water Use Data Reporting and Verification 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is issued pursuant to Subsection 73-2-1(5)(b), 
Section 73-5-4, and Section 73-5-8 which provides that the 
Division of Water Rights (Division) shall adopt rules that 
specify what water use data a person shall report and how 
the Division shall validate data submitted. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comment has been received in the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is still required for processing and acceptance by 
the State Engineer.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Teresa 
Wilhelmsen, State 
Engineer/Director 

Date: 07/08/2021 

 
 
 
 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-9 Filing ID: 53242 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: 2110 
Building: DNR Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-9.  Taking Waterfowl, Wilson's Snipe and Coot 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Under Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, the Wildlife Board 
is authorized and required to provide rules to regulate and 
prescribe the means by which protected wildlife may be 
taken. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments supporting or opposing Rule R657-
9 were received since August 2016, when this rule was last 
reviewed. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R657-9 provides the procedures and standards 
necessary to manage the waterfowl, Wilson's snipe and 
coot program for the Division of Wildlife Resources.  The 
provisions adopted in this rule are effective in 
administering the state's waterfowl management program 
and the continuation of this rule is necessary for its future 
success. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rory Reynolds, 
Division Director 

Date: 07/02/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-10 Filing ID: 53058 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: 2110 
Building: DNR Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-10.  Taking Cougar 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Under Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, the Wildlife Board 
is authorized and required to provide rules to regulate and 
prescribe the means by which protected wildlife may be 
taken. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments supporting or opposing Rule R657-
10 were received since August 2016, when this rule was 
last reviewed. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Rule R657-9 provides the procedures and standards for 
taking and pursuing cougar.  The provisions adopted in this 
rule are effective in administering the state's cougar 
management program and the continuation of this rule is 
necessary for its future success. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rory Reynolds, 
Division Director 

Date: 07/02/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-26 Filing ID: 51746 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: 2110 
Building: DNR Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-26.  Adjudicative Proceedings for a License, Permit, 
or Certificate of Registration 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Under Subsection 23-19-9(14), the Wildlife Board is 
authorized and required to provide rules to regulate and 
prescribe the procedures and standards for the 
suspension of the privilege of applying for, purchasing, and 
exercising the benefits conferred by a license or permit, 
and the suspension of a certificate of registration. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments supporting or opposing Rule R657-
26 were received since August 2016, when this rule was 
last reviewed. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R657-26 provides the procedures and standards for 
the suspension of the privilege of applying for, purchasing, 
and exercising the benefits conferred by a license or 
permit, and the suspension of a certificate of registration.  
The continuation of this rule is necessary for its future 
success. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rory Reynolds, 
Division Director 

Date: 07/02/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R714-163 Filing ID: 51920 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Highway Patrol 
Building: Calvin Rampton Complex 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84119-5994 

Mailing address: PO Box 141100 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1100 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tim Kincaid 801-

580-
9931 

tkincaid@utah.gov 

Kim Gibb 801-
556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Matt Spillman 801-
698-
2186 

mspillman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R714-163.  Street-Legal All-Terrain Vehicles 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsections 53-8-204(5) and 41-
6a-1601(2), which require the Department of Public Safety 
to make rules setting minimum standards covering the 
design, construction, condition, and operation of vehicle 
equipment for safely operating a motor vehicle on the 
highway. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments received since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order to establish minimum 
standards for the inspection of a street legal all-terrain 
vehicle.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tim Kincaid, 
Captain Utah  
Highway Patrol 

Date: 07/12/2021 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Communications Authority Board (Utah) 
Administration 
No.  53362  (Repeal and Reenact)  R174-1:  Utah 
Communications Authority, Administration 
Published:  04/15/2021 
Effective:  07/07/2021 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  53545  (New Rule)  R277-320:  Grow Your Own Teacher 
and School Counselor Pipeline Program 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/20/2021 
 
No.  53546  (Amendment)  R277-404:  Requirements for 
Assessments of Student Achievement 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/20/2021 
 
No.  53547  (Amendment)  R277-477:  Distributions of Funds 
from the Trust Distribution  Account and Administration of the 
School LAND Trust Program 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/20/2021 
 
No.  53548  (Amendment)  R277-491:  School Community 
Councils 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/20/2021 
 
 
Government Operations 
Administration 
No.  53466  (New Rule)  R13-4:  In-State Work Location Rule 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 

Human Resource Management 
No.  53447  (Amendment)  R477-1:  Definitions 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53448  (Amendment)  R477-2:  Administration 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53449  (Amendment)  R477-3:  Classification 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53450  (Amendment)  R477-4:  Filling Positions 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53451  (Amendment)  R477-5:  Employee Status and 
Probation 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53452  (Amendment)  R477-6:  Compensation 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53453  (Amendment)  R477-7:  Leave 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53454  (Amendment)  R477-8:  Working Conditions 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53455  (Amendment)  R477-9:  Employee Conduct 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 



NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES  

104 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 15 

No.  53456  (Amendment)  R477-10:  Employee Developmen 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53457  (Amendment)  R477-11:  Discipline 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53458  (Amendment)  R477-12:  Separations 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53459  (Amendment)  R477-13:  Volunteer Programs 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53460  (Amendment)  R477-14:  Substance Abuse and 
Drug-Free Workplace 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53461  (Amendment)  R477-15:  Workplace Harassment 
Prevention 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53462  (Amendment)  R477-16:  Abusive Conduct 
Prevention 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
No.  53463  (Amendment)  R477-101:  Administrative Law 
Judge Conduct Committee 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
 
Governor 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  53542  (Amendment)  R357-3:  Economic Development 
Tax Increment Financing Rule 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/12/2021 
 
No.  53544  (New Rule)  R357-39:  Talent Development Grant 
Rule 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/12/2021 
 
 
Health 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  53442  (Amendment)  R414-401:  Assessment 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 

Family Health and Preparedness, Emergency Medical 
Services 
No.  53436  (Amendment)  R426-8:  Emergency Medical 
Services Ground Ambulance Rates and Charges 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  53474  (Amendment)  R657-41:  Conservation and 
Sportsman Permits 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/09/2021 
 
No.  53475  (Amendment)  R657-60:  Aquatic Invasive 
Species Interdiction 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/09/2021 
 
 
Regents (Board of) 
Administration 
No.  53422  (Amendment)  R765-134:  Informal Adjudicative 
Procedures Under the Utah Administrative Procedures Act 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/15/2021 
 
No.  53423  (Amendment)  R765-604:  New Century 
Scholarship 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/15/2021 
 
No.  53424  (Amendment)  R765-621:  Terrell H. Bell 
Education Scholarship Program 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/15/2021 
 
No.  53425  (Amendment)  R765-622:  Career and Technical 
Education Scholarship Program 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  07/15/2021 
 
 
Workforce Services 
Employment Development 
No.  53464  (Amendment)  R986-700:  Child Care Assistance 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 
Housing and Community Development 
No.  53437  (Amendment)  R990-8:  Permanent Community 
Impact Fund Board Review and Approval of Applications for 
Funding Assistance 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  07/01/2021 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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