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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between August 03, 2021, 12:00 a.m., and August 
16, 2021, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the September 01, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least October 01, 2021.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through December 30, 2021, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R357-1 Filing ID 
53834 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

538-
8864 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-1.  Rural Fast Track Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
During the 2020 General Session, S.B. 95 passed and 
repealed the Rural Fast Track Program.  Thus, the 
purpose of this rule filing is to repeal the rule in its entirety. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule is repealed because the program was 
discontinued. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to the 
state budget.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being discontinued. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being discontinued. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being discontinued. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to non-
small businesses.  The repeal of this rule is due to the 
program being discontinued. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  The repeal of this rule is due to the 
program being discontinued. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
repeal of this rule is due to the program being 
discontinued. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule filing will have no impact on businesses.  Dan 
Hemmert, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-3-104 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director  

Date: 08/06/2021 

 

R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
[R357-1.  Rural Fast Track Program. 
R357-1-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Subsection 63N-3-104 permits the administrator to make 
rules governing the following aspects of the Rural Fast Track Program: 
 (a)  The content of the application form; 
 (b)  Who qualifies as an employee; and 
 (c)  The verification procedure. 
 
R357-1-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Administrator" means the Director of the Governor's 
Office of Economic Development or the Director's designee. 
 (2)  "Office" means the Utah Governor's Office of Economic 
Development (GOED). 
 (3)  "Baseline employment number" means the same as the 
term is used in part R357-1-5(4)(a) of this section. 
 (4)  "Full Time Employee" (FTE) means an employee who 
works at least 30 hours per week at the location of the Rural Fast Track 
project. 
 (5)  "In business" means the business was legally formed, and 
is measured from the date upon which a business or company was 
formed or created as shown on articles of incorporation, certificate of 
existence, state registration, or other similar, legally sufficient 
document. 
 (6)  "Leisure and Hospitality" has the same meaning as the 
definition in the North American Industry Classification System 
(NAICS) Codes. 
 (7)  "New incremental job" means a Full Time Employee 
position created in addition to the baseline employment number. 
 (8)  "Production agriculture" means the act of cultivating land 
and rearing crops and livestock. 
 (9)  "Professional services" means services that are provided 
by a certified member of a professional body, e.g. accounting, legal, or 
medical. 
 (10)  "Profitability" means a positive net income as 
demonstrated on tax returns for the most recent two years for which tax 
returns are available. 
 (a)  If net income shown on tax returns is less than $1, the 
applicant company may still demonstrate profitability by providing 
receipts to ORD that show capital improvements made in company 
infrastructure for the corresponding tax years. 
 (b)  Qualifying capital investment receipts plus net income 
must be greater than $1 to demonstrate profitability. Accelerated 
depreciation may not be used in this calculation. 
 (11)  "Resort community" means a municipality in which the 
transient room capacity as defined in Utah Code Section 59-12-405 is 
greater than or equal to 66% of the municipality's permanent census 
population. 
 (12)  "Retail" means a business or person that sells goods to 
an end-user or consumer. 
 (13)  "Small company" means the same as the definition for 
small business as set forth by the United States Small Business 
Administration's Table of Small Business Size Standards Match to 
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. 
 (14)  "Specialized vehicle" means a vehicle which is used 
exclusively for business purposes, and has been modified or specialized 
through the addition of equipment, and other permanently attached 
tools, and performs specific and specialized functions. 
 (15)  "Unique project" means a project that adds a new 
product, service, or process distinct and separate from any project for 
which the applicant company has previously received funding under this 
program. 
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 (16)  "Value-added agriculture" is a process which results in a 
change in the physical state or form of an agricultural product in a 
manner that enhances its value and expands the customer base of the 
product, e.g. milling wheat into flour or making strawberries into jam. 
 
R357-1-3.  Content of the Application. 
 (1)  An application shall include the following information: 
 (a)  Company name; 
 (b)  Federal tax ID number; 
 (c)  Primary North American Industry Classification System 
(NAICS) Code for the applicant's business; 
 (d)  Mailing and street address; 
 (e)  Telephone number; 
 (f)  Date that company was created; 
 (g)  The following additional information shall be provided in 
a form prescribed by the Office: 
 (i)  The number of full time employees employed by the 
applicant for the prior two calendar years; and 
 (ii)  Wages paid to all of the applicant's employees for the prior 
two calendar years. 
 (iii)  Articles of incorporation, certificate of existence, state 
registration, or other document showing the date the business was 
legally formed; 
 (iv)  Applicant Company must demonstrate profitability for 
the previous 2 years, through the submission of Applicant's State and 
Federal tax returns for the previous two tax cycles; 
 (v)  If net income from tax returns is less than $1: 
 (vi)  Receipts for capital improvements during tax years for 
which Applicant provided tax returns; 
 (vii)  Letter of Support from local Economic Development 
Director (EDD) or elected official over economic development in the 
county, tribe, or city where the business is located; 
 (viii)  A report issued by the Department of Workforce 
Services documenting the number of employees at the company and the 
total wages paid to employees of the company for the past 2 calendar 
years; and 
 (ix)  If an applicant is seeking a grant pursuant to Utah Code 
Section 63N-3-104(5)(d), the applicant shall submit a detailed project 
description that demonstrates what the project is, how the project will 
benefit the company and how many new full-time employees applicant 
will hire as a result of the project. 
 (x)  Any other information as requested by Office of Rural 
Development (ORD), or the Governor's Rural Partnership Board 
(GRPB), or the Office. 
 
R357-1-4.  Application and Approval Procedure. 
 (1)  Pre-Application 
 (a)  All companies must fill out and submit a pre-application 
that shall be reviewed, and approved by GOED staff, before proceeding 
to a full application. 
 a.  The Pre-Application process will be used to determine 
eligibility and sufficiency of documentation. 
 (2)  Full Application 
 (a)  If applicant is approved to proceed to a full application, 
full applications shall undergo a comprehensive internal review by ORD 
and may be sent to the Governor's Rural Partnership Board (GRPB) 
executive committee for endorsement. 
 (b)  Applications may also be reviewed and endorsed by the 
Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED) Board. 
 (c)  All applications must have final approval from the 
administrator. 

 (3)  Company may not commence performance on the 
contract until the Rural Fast Track contract agreement is completely 
executed without prior written permission from the administrator. 
 
R357-1-5.  Employees. 
 (1)  When counting FTEs, if an FTE has its employment with 
Applicant terminated for any reason before completion of the applicable 
Rural Fast Track Disbursement Period, another employee otherwise 
meeting the requirements described above may be promptly hired to fill 
the terminated FTE's position and complete the year of qualifying full-
time employment.  In such case, applicant and the office would count 
the combined contribution of these two (2) full time employees as one 
(1) FTE. 
 (a)  A replacement employee must be hired within 60 days of 
the first employee's termination date for the position to remain 
qualifying for FTE purposes during a given Rural Fast Track 
Disbursement Period. 
 (2)  At the time of application, the ORD Business Analyst 
shall establish the company's baseline employment number. 
 (a)  The baseline employment number is the highest total 
number of Full Time Employees at any time during the previous 24 
month period. 
 (3)  A new incremental job may be filled by an existing 
employee if a new employee fills the position vacated by the current 
employee. 
 (4)  Applicant Company must demonstrate at least one new 
incremental job above the baseline through documentation provided by 
the Department of Workforce Services. 
 
R357-1-6.  Grants, Loans, and Other Financial Assistance Pursuant 
to Utah Code Section 63N-3-104(5). 
 (1)  Applications for grants, loans, and other financial 
assistance may be approved up to $50,000 if the applicant passes the 
verification and approval process described below. 
 (2)  All financial assistance granted pursuant to this section 
shall be awarded as post-performance reimbursements. 
 (3)  Awards will be made on a dollar for dollar matching basis 
up to $50,000 with the applicant providing matching funds; 
 (a)  Awards will not be made for equipment or other 
qualifying items that are replacing existing items, but replacement costs 
may be considered as part of the total project cost; 
 (b)  Applications for specialized vehicles may be approved on 
a dollar for dollar matching basis up to $25,000 with the applicant 
providing matching funds. 
 (4)  Payment under this part shall be made only after 
qualifying expenditures are verified and a site visit is completed by ORD 
staff. 
 (5)  Any subsequent applications by a company having 
received a Rural Fast Track award may only be considered for another 
grant if the second application is for a unique project and at least 18 
months have passed after the most recent award was granted. 
 (6)  ORD staff may require additional information during the 
grant process. 
 (7)  Items that are not eligible for grants, loans, or other 
financial assistance under 63N-3-104(5) include the following: 
 (a)  Laptop or desktop computers and other standard office 
equipment; 
 (b)  Non-specialized vehicles; 
 (c)  Bare ground; 
 (d)  Retail, except in eligible L and H counties or resort 
communities; and 
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 (e)  Other items as identified by GOED, ORD, or GRPB on a 
case by case basis. 
 (f)  The above ineligible items may be approved in 
exceptional circumstances with the written approval of the 
administrator. 
 
R357-1-7.  Verification. 
 (1)  Following completion of the applicant project the ORD 
may conduct a site visit to the applicant company location. During that 
site visit ORD shall visually inspect the physical property to determine 
the completion of the project. 
 (2)  Applicant shall provide to ORD documentation of all 
expenses related to applicant project, including, but not limited to 
receipts, invoices, loan documents, etc. 
 (3)  Applicant shall provide documentation from the 
Department of Workforce Services demonstrating at least one new 
incremental job over the baseline job number. 
 (4)  Applicant shall provide documentation detailing the 
salary paid to the new incremental job. 
 
KEY:  economic opportunity, job creation, rural economic 
development, Rural Fast Track Program 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  July 22, 2016 
Notice of Continuation:  March 31, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-3-104] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R357-5 Filing ID 
53838 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

538-
8864 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-5.  Motion Picture Incentive Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This proposed rule amendment establishes that a project 
must have a minimum budget of $100,000 to qualify for a 
community film incentive and makes nonsubstantive 

changes to comply with Executive Order 2021-12.  Also, 
during the 2021 General Session, H.B 348 passed and 
changed the Governor's Office of Economic Development 
(GOED) to the Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity 
(Go Utah) and modified the statute so that the references 
in rule and the Agreed-Upon Procedures need to be 
updated. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule filing amends references of Development to 
Opportunity; amends statute references so that they are 
correct; makes nonsubstantive changes to comply with the 
Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual for Utah 
as required by Executive Order 2021-12; amends Section 
R357-5-105 to establish that a project must have a 
minimum budget of $100,000 to qualify for a community 
film incentive; and amends reference of GEOD to Go Utah 
the Agreed-Upon Procedures referenced in rule. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to the 
state budget.   These changes merely make technical 
changes and codify a procedure the office has historically 
used. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments because local governments are not required 
to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses because this proposed amendment does not 
create new obligations for small businesses, nor does it 
increase the costs associated with any existing obligation.  
Participation in the program is optional. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
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("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will have no negative impact on businesses. The 
purpose of this rule filing is to make technical changes and 
establish that a project must have a minimum budget of 
$100,000 to qualify for a community film incentive.  Dan 
Hemmert, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-8-104 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references  
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Agreed-Upon Procedures 

Publisher Go Utah 

Date Issued 07/28/2021 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/13/2021 
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R357.  Governor, Economic [Development]Opportunity. 
R357-5.  Motion Picture Incentive Rule. 
R357-5-101.  Authority. 
 (1)  [Subs]Section 63N-8-104[(1)] requires the [o]Office to 
make rules establishing the standards that a motion picture company 
and digital media company must meet to qualify for a motion picture 
incentive and the criteria for determining the amount of the motion 
picture incentive. 
 
R357-5-102.  Definitions. 
 The definitions [below]in this rule are in addition to or 
serve to clarify the definitions found in [Utah Code ]Section 63N-8-
102. 
 (1)  "Cast" means performers appearing in a particular film 
with featured or speaking roles. 
 (2)  "Community Film Incentive Program" means a 
production where a motion picture company has a maximum budget 
of under $500,000. 
 (3)  "Crew" means those involved in the production of a 
film who are not defined as cast or extras. 
 (4)  "Deferred Payment" means, tax credits in amounts over 
$2,000,000 paid in installments over a specified number of years but 
not to exceed three years. 
 (5)  "Extras" means an extra or background actor is a 
performer in a production, who appears in a non-speaking or non-
singing [(silent) ]capacity, usually in the background. 
 (6)  "Independent Utah CPA" means[,] a Certified Public 
Accountant [(CPA) ]holding an active license in the state [of Utah 
]that is independent of the production and production activities. 
 (7)  "Made-For-Television" means feature length motion 
pictures specifically made-for-television or streaming platforms. 
 (8)  "Motion Pictures" means a production that is originally 
intended for commercial distribution and does not include: 
 (a)  news; 
 (b)  commercials; 
 (c)  live broadcasts; 
 (d)  digital media products; 
 (e)  live sporting events; 
 (f)  live coverage of theatrical or entertainment events; or 
 (g)  programs that solicit funds. 
 (9)  "Principal photography", "Producing" or "Production" 
means the filming of major and significant portions of a film that 
involves the [main/]lead actors[/] and actresses. 
 (10)  "Rural Utah" means [all]each count[ies]y outside of 
Davis County, Salt Lake County, Utah County, and Weber County. 
 (11)  "Significant Percentage of cast and crew from Utah" 
means: 
 (a)  For productions that have less than $500,000 dollars 
left in state: that at least 85% of the cast and crew are Utah residents 
excluding extras[.]; 
 (b)  For productions that have more than $500,000 dollars 
left in state: that at least 75% of the cast and crew are Utah residents 
excluding extras and five principal cast members. 
 (12)  "State-approved production" means a production that 
is: 
 (a)  approved by the [o]Office and ratified by the 
Governor's Office of Economic [Development]Opportunity Board; 
and 
 (b)  [all or a portion]any of the production is produced in 
the state. 

 (13)  "Total budget for the project" means the total budget 
for [D]dollars left in state of pre-production, production and post-
production. 
 (14)  "Television series" means a group of episodes of a 
production released on television or streaming platforms. 
 (15)  "Treatment" means: A written description of the 
production. 
 (16)  "UFC" means: the Utah Film Commission, a sub-
entity of the Utah Governor's Office of Economic 
[Development]Opportunity. 
 (17)  "Utah Resident" means a person who has lived in Utah 
for [the entire year (]at least 183 days[)] even if temporarily outside 
of Utah for an extended length of time, maintains a permanent home 
in Utah, and is subject to [State of ]Utah personal income tax. 
 
R357-5-103.  Motion Picture Incentive Applications: Procedures 
and Minimum Requirements for a Motion Picture Company. 
 (1)  A motion picture company's application may be 
approved for a motion picture incentive award only if [all]each of the 
following requirements are met in addition to those listed throughout 
Title 63N[-8], Economic Opportunity Act, Chapter 8, Motion Picture 
Incentives: 
 (a)  the motion picture company is producing [all or a 
portion]any of a motion picture in [the state of ]Utah; 
 (b)  the motion picture is a state[ ]-approved production; 
 (c)  the motion picture company guarantees UFC access to 
production's behind the scenes footage, interviews and still 
photography or allow the [o]Office to produce its own; 
 (d)  the motion picture company guarantees the production 
will display the Utah logo as outlined in the incentive agreement and 
provide a screen[ ]shot of the logo as it appears in the credits; 
 (e)  the motion picture company has obtained financing for 
100% of the anticipated [D]dollars left in state for the project, and the 
applicant provides proof of financing in a form specified in the 
application documents[.]; 
 (f)  the motion picture company must retain financing as set 
forth in [s]Subsection (1)(e) for the life of the contract with the 
[S]state; 
 (g)  the motion picture company intends to report at least 
$500,000 dollars left in state if applying for a film incentive [pursuant 
to]under Subsection R357-5-5(1) or a maximum of under $500,000 
if applying for an incentive [pursuant to]under Subsection R357-5-
5(2); and 
 (h)  if a production has initiated principal photography prior 
to the Office's receipt of a completed application or will not 
commence principal photography for more than 90 days from date of 
application, the application for incentive may be denied. 
 (2)  The motion picture incentive application shall not be 
construed as a property right and neither the Office nor the Board is 
required to approve an application. 
 (3)  [In order t]To receive state approval for an incentive 
application, a production must, in the [S]state's sole discretion, reflect 
positively on the image of [state of ]Utah.[ 
 (a)]  In determining whether or not a production reflects 
positively on the image of the state[ of Utah], the Office and Board 
may take into consideration: 
 ([i]a)  whether and to what extent the motion picture 
promotes Utah as a tourist destination; 
 ([ii]b)  general standards of decency and respect for the 
diverse beliefs and values of Utahns; and 
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 ([iii]c)  any other factors related to the production or the 
motion picture company that may reasonably affect the image of the 
state[ of Utah]. 
 (4)  The Office and Board may consider the relative merit 
of applications, and the need to reserve its allocations for future 
applications. 
 (a)  Factors that contribute to the relative merit include[, 
but are not limited to]: 
 (i)  the overall strength and viability of the script of the 
production; 
 (ii)  the industry reputation of the production or motion 
picture company; 
 (iii)  the record of the motion picture company in matters 
of safety and responsible filmmaking; 
 (iv)  the existence of any legal action or the likelihood of 
any legal action in relation to either the production or the motion 
picture company; and 
 (v)  anticipated: 
 (A)  number of jobs in Utah; 
 (B)  number of production days in Utah; 
 (C)  dollars left in state; 
 (D)  local cast and crew wages; and 
 (E)  new state revenue that the film contributes in [the State 
of ]Utah[;]. 
 (b)  Applications shall be made in the form prescribed by 
the Office, including required attachments or additional information. 
 (i)  Incomplete applications will not be considered received 
until the application is deemed complete by the UFC. 
 (ii)  A script is required as part of the application. 
 (iii)  A treatment may only be submitted where a script for 
a project type is not possible, for example when the project is a 
documentary.  The Utah Film Commission will determine in its sole 
discretion if a treatment can be substituted for a script. 
 (5)  A production company may file more than one 
application if it has more than one production in the state, but a 
separate application must be filed for each production. 
 (6)  Applications will be subject to submission deadlines, 
which will be posted on the Utah Film Commission Website and are 
available in other formats upon request. 
 (7)  If the applicant fails to submit a completed application 
prior to the submission deadline, the application may be considered 
with the next round of submissions. 
 (8)  Submitting an application does not guarantee approval 
of a film incentive. 
 (9)  [All f]Film incentives are subject to and contingent 
upon the amount of available funding and[/or] tax credit allocation 
available in the Motion Picture Restricted account[;]. 
 (10)  Lack of state approval shall not be construed as 
prohibiting a production or prohibiting a motion picture company 
from filming in Utah. 
 (11)  A production's eligibility for an incentive ends upon 
approval or denial by the Office.  A production may reapply, subject 
to compliance with program statutes and rules. 
 
R357-5-104.  Motion Picture Incentive Applications: Award for a 
Motion Picture Production. 
 (1)  Upon receipt of a completed application, the Office will 
align each project into incentive categories as set forth in Section 
R357-5-105. 
 (2)  In calculating dollars left in the state, the Office may 
limit the following expenditures: 

 (a)  [all ]salary above $500,000 for one individual; 
 (b)  marketing and distributions expenditures; 
 (c)  any value beyond the depreciated amount for capital 
expenditures, rentals, and any purchases made where the item is used 
for only a portion of its useful life; and 
 (d)  any per diem value beyond 100[ percent]% of the 
current federal rate for the area. 
 
R357-5-105.  Film Categories and Conditions. 
 (1)  Utah Motion Picture Incentive Program. 
 (a)  The Utah Motion Picture Incentive Program will have 
an incentive cap of 20% of the dollars left in state, unless a higher 
cap is awarded pursuant to [s]Subsection (1)(c). 
 (b)  Incentives will only be awarded if the motion picture 
company meets criteria listed in [statute,]Section R357-5-103; 
 (c)  An additional cap of up to 5% may be granted if the 
motion picture company: 
 (i)  Motion picture company has at least $1,000,000 in 
qualified dollars left in state[,]; and 
 (ii)  75% of the; 
 (A)  cast and crew are Utah residents excluding extras and 
five principal cast members[,]; or 
 ([iii]B)  [75% of ]production days occur in rural Utah. 
 (2)  Community Film Incentive Program. 
 (a)  The Community Film Incentive Program will provide 
a maximum of a 20% post-performance cash rebate or tax incentive 
for dollars left in state by a community film production[.]; 
 (b)  Community Film Incentive Program incentives will 
only be awarded if the motion picture company meets criteria listed 
in [statute,]Section R357-5-103[,] has a minimum budget of 
$100,000 and a maximum budget of under $500,000, and meets the 
criteria found on the Utah Film Commission Website[.]; 
 (c)  Applications for the Community Film Incentive 
Program will be reviewed monthly. 
 (d)  Awards will be made to motion picture companies 
based upon the criteria outlined in the Community Film Incentive 
Program application provided by UFC. 
 (3)  For applications made under [either ]Subsections (1) or 
(2), the motion picture company must provide [all]any information 
and documentation to show measur[e]able outcomes as outlined in 
the application for any incentive listed in this section [R357-5-105]. 
 
R357-5-106.  Funding -- Post-Performance Compliance. 
[ (1)  A motion picture company may qualify for issuance of 
either a Post-Performance Refundable Tax Credit or Post-Performance 
Cash award based on the method outlined in their contract if all of the 
following requirements are met in addition to those listed throughout 
63N-8: 
 (a)  The motion picture company adheres to the Agreed-Upon 
Procedures version 1.0 dated November 1, 2019  which will be posted 
on the Utah Film Commission Website and hereby adopted and 
incorporated by reference.] 
 (1)  A motion picture company may qualify for issuance of 
either a Post-Performance Refundable Tax Credit or Post-Performance 
Cash award: 
 (a)  based on the method outlined in their contract; and 
 (b)  the motion picture company adheres to the Agreed-Upon 
Procedures version 1.1 dated July 28, 2021 posted on the Utah Film 
Commission Website and hereby adopted and incorporated by 
reference. 
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R357-5-107.  Funding -- Post-Performance Refundable Tax 
Credit. 
 (1)  Post-performance refundable tax credits are non - 
transferable and can only be issued to the state-approved motion 
picture that submits the motion picture incentive application and is 
approved by the [o]Office with advice from the Board. 
 (2)  Post-performance refundable tax credits in amounts 
over $2,000,000 may be paid in deferred payments over multiple 
years as authorized by the [o]Office within the approved [b]Board 
motion for the tax credit. 
 (a)  [All d]Deferred payments for tax credits over 
$2,000,000 are subject to available tax credit allocation as authorized 
by the legislature. 
 (b)  Each annual installment of the deferred payment 
amount shall be outlined in the tax credit agreement. 
 (c)  A deferred payment plan cannot exceed three years. 
 
R357-5-108.  Request for Incentive Amendment. 
 (1)  A motion picture company may request an incentive 
amendment only under the conditions prescribed by the Office. 
 (2)  Amendments will be reviewed and approved by the 
UFC on a case by case basis with a written explanation for the 
approval or denial provided to the applicant. 
 
KEY:  economic development, motion picture, digital media, new 
state revenue 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[January 1, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 11, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-8-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R357-19 Filing ID 
53835 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

538-
8864 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-19.  Business Resource Centers 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
During the 2021 General Session, H.B. 348 passed and 
repealed the Utah Business Resource Centers Act.  Thus, 
the purpose of this rule filing is to repeal the rule in its 
entirety. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule is repealed because the program was 
discontinued. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to the 
state budget.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being discontinued. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being discontinued. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being discontinued. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to non-
small businesses.  The repeal of this rule is due to the 
program being discontinued. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  The repeal of this rule is due to the 
program being discontinued. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
repeal of this rule is due to the program being 
discontinued. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule filing will have no impact on businesses.  Dan 
Hemmert, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-3-307 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert,  
Executive Director  

Date: 08/06/2021 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
[R357-19.  Business Resource Centers. 
R357-19-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Subsection 63N-3-307(3) requires the Office to make 
rules establishing matching fund exceptions; criteria for the approval, 
creation, and oversight of each business resource center and its staff, 
including a non-state funded satellite business resource center; metrics 
to report the performance of economic development output in each 
region serviced by a business resource center; and criteria for approving 
and overseeing business plans. 
 
R357-19-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  This rule adopts the definitions found in Utah Code 
Section 63N-3-303. 
 
R357-19-3.  Matching Funds Exceptions. 
 (1)  A Business Resource Center (BRC) must with its annual 
state funding proposal provide documentation detailing matching funds 
used to cover the center's operating expenses.  This documentation 
should be in the form of a spreadsheet that details matching funds and 
lists funding sources and other relative financial information and should 
include the following: 
 (a)  Past use of funds awarded from the State of Utah. 
 (b)  Budget -- Expected use of funds. 
 (c)  Expenses -- Include sources of matching funds.  At a 
minimum, matching funds should be designated as (1) host institution 
funding, (2) other State funding, (3) all other funding. 
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 (d)  An explanation of whether matching funds will be cash 
or in-kind. In-kind contributions should listed by type. 
 (2)  Exceptions to the requirement that a host institution 
contribute 50% of a business resource center's operating costs may be 
granted in the following circumstances: 
 (a)  The host institution may provide more than 50% of the 
BRC's operating costs through cash or in-kind contributions. 
 (b)  A host institution may enter into a partnership or 
agreement with another local entity to contribute cash, employee's 
services, or facilities for the operation of the BRC where the purposes 
and goals of the third party are consistent with those of the host 
institution and the host institution retains control and oversight over the 
BRC.  In this circumstance the contributions of the third party may be 
considered toward meeting the 50% matching funds requirement. 
 
R357-19-4.  Criteria for the Approval, Creation, and Oversight of 
Business Resource Centers. 
 (1)  An existing Business Resource Center shall: 
 (a)  Be the access point to coordinated business assistance 
through partnerships with governmental entities, academia and other 
business resources in a local area; 
 (b)  In rural counties, utilize the connection between the 
Business Expansion and Retention Initiative (BEAR) and the services 
of the BRC to initiate, facilitate, and document more referrals to the 
BRC's associated service providers; 
 (c)  Initiate business education programs, including programs 
in coordination and collaboration with public, private, and governmental 
institutions; 
 (d)  Provide research, development, or training programs for 
new businesses; 
 (e)  Develop programs to aid business clients in finding the 
resource they need; 
 (f)  Work with the host institution in providing academic 
resources, including faculty and student participation and support for the 
programs, events, and daily operations of the BRC, as appropriate; 
 (g)  Develop programs for outreach to entrepreneurs in rural 
areas of the state as appropriate; 
 (h)  Develop, maintain, and report metrics to determine 
effectiveness of efforts; 
 (i)  Partner with and house the federal, state, and local 
business service providers; 
 i.  Potential business service providers are further defined in 
the BRC's agreement with the Office. 
 (2)  An entity establishing a new Business Resource Center 
shall: 
 (a)  Provide a physical office space in a regional area or 
county where no BRC currently exists to serve as an access point to 
coordinated business assistance through partnerships with governmental 
entities, academia and other business resources in a local area; 
 i.  Money awarded by the Office cannot be used to lease office 
space; 
 (b)  In rural counties, utilize the connection between BEAR 
and the services of the BRC to facilitate, initiate, and document referrals 
to the BRC's associated service providers; 
 (c)  Initiate and encourage business education programs, 
including programs in coordination and collaboration with public, 
private, and governmental institutions; 
 (d)  Provide research, development, or training programs for 
new businesses; 
 (e)  Develop programs to aid business clients in finding the 
resource they need; 

 (f)  Work with the host institution in providing academic 
resources, including faculty and student assistance, as appropriate; 
 (g)  Develop programs for outreach to entrepreneurs in rural 
areas of the state as appropriate; 
 (h)  Develop, maintain, and report metrics to determine 
effectiveness of efforts; 
 (i)  Partner with and house on an as-needed or regularly 
scheduled basis federal, state, and local business service providers, as 
listed below; 
 (j)  Enter into agreements and provide letters of commitment 
from service providers that their services will be available at the newly 
established BRC according to a regular schedule and/or on an as-needed 
basis. These service providers should include 
 (3)  An existing or new Business Resource Center may: 
 (a)  Provide a needs assessment relating to new or existing 
businesses in conjunction with other public or private economic 
development programs or initiatives; 
 (b)  Provide business incubator space or services, or both, to 
businesses based on criteria established by the Office in consultation 
with the board; 
 (c)  Participate with local business leaders and government 
officials to assist in formulating economic development direction or 
strategy for their communities; 
 (d)  Develop and establish web-based access to virtual 
business resource center services over the Internet to assist in 
establishing and growing businesses in the state, and particularly in 
those situations where traveling to the Business Resource Center site is 
not possible or practical. 
 (4)  The Office will facilitate a quarterly meeting with all BRC 
directors to discuss overall goals and progress. 
 
R357-19-5.  Metrics. 
 (1)  Each Business Resource Center must report the metrics 
listed below on a quarterly basis: 
 (a)  Number of businesses/people served. (This will be the 
primary metric to measure BRC activity.  This is the number of unique 
individuals who were served through the BRC and its partner agencies.) 
 (b)  Total attendance at outreach/networking/training/other 
events. 
 (c)  Virtual activity/ online tracking/usage, as appropriate 
 (d)  Number of incubator clients 
 (2)  The metrics reports must be received by the Governor's 
Office of Economic Development on or before the second Friday of 
each financial quarter at 5pm. 
 (3)  The Office may withhold payment of a BRC's invoiced 
expenses until required metrics are reported. 
 (4)  The Office will monitor the progress towards all metrics 
and goals detailed in the annual proposal and established in the contract. 
 
R357-19-6.  Criteria for Approving Business Plans and Awarding 
Funding. 
 (1)  A BRC seeking state funding shall provide an annual 
proposal with a business plan detailing how that funding will be used 
during the fiscal year. 
 (2)  BRC funds provided by the Office shall only be used for 
approved activities and expenses. 
 (3)  The Office shall determine the amount granted to each 
BRC in the following manner: 
 (a)  larger amounts may be granted to BRCs that serve a larger 
geographic area. 
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 (b)  BRCs that serve a larger population size may receive 
larger amounts 
 (c)  Award amounts may be determined and influenced by 
types of services and the overall service packages offered by the BRC. 
A more comprehensive service model may receive larger award 
amounts. 
 i.  Examples of a more comprehensive service models would 
be those that include the following: 
 A.  Diverse programs to help businesses with varying needs; 
 B.  Business education programs, including programs in 
collaboration with public, private, governmental and educational 
institutions; 
 C.  Academic resources, including faculty and student 
assistance 
 (d)  Award amounts may be determined and influenced by the 
amount the BRC has been utilized when considering overall geographic 
and population size that the BRC potentially services. BRCs that 
demonstrate a higher amount of overall use in relation to the service area 
size and population size may receive larger award amounts. 
 i.  Demonstration of past use can be shown through: 
 A.  Reports highlighting overall economic output for the area 
serviced; 
 B.  The number of business serviced on a year over year basis; 
 C.  Measured output of businesses serviced; 
 D.  The existence of research, development, or training 
programs for new or existing businesses, industries, or high technology 
business located in its region; 
 E.  Needs assessments relating to new or existing businesses, 
industries, or high technology business in conjunction with other public 
or private economic development programs or initiatives; 
 F.  Develop and implement with local business leaders sound, 
coordinated, and measurable economic development programs for their 
communities; 
 G.  Developing and certifying non-state funded satellite 
BRCs. 
 (e)  Award amounts may be determined and influenced by 
how past awards have been used and if past award amounts have not 
been fully expended. 
 (f)  Award amounts may be influenced by the amount of 
additional funds from other sources the BRC will receive in the same 
fiscal year that the award will be used. 
 (g)  Award amounts can be increased for BRCs that 
demonstrate an expansion of current services into areas not currently 
served by another BRC. 
 (h)  Consider other criteria in determining the appropriate 
award amount including the recommendations of an advisory group as 
established in 63N-3-306. 
 (4)  The Office will establish an agreement via contract with 
BRCs who are awarded funding during each fiscal year. 
 (5)  The Office will disburse all funds on a post-performance 
or reimbursement basis only. 
 (6)  Invoice documentation will be reviewed by the Office to 
verify fidelity to the BRC's business plan. 
 
KEY:  Business Resource Center, institution of higher education, 
economic development 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  February 22, 
2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-3-307(3)] 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R357-20 Filing ID 
53769 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

538-
8864 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-20.  Education Computing Partnerships 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule filing is to repeal the rule in its 
entirety.  During the 2019 General Session, S.B. 127 
passed and moved the STEM Action Center to the now 
Department of Cultural and Community Engagement.  
Thus, this rule is repealed and the Department of Cultural 
and Community Engagement will file a new rule under the 
correct authority. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule is repealed because the program is now under 
the Department of Cultural and Community Engagement. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to the 
state budget.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being moved to a different state agency. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being moved to a different state agency. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The repeal of this rule is due to the program 
being moved to a different state agency. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to non-
small businesses.  The repeal of this rule is due to the 
program being moved to a different state agency. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities.  The repeal of this rule is due to the 
program being moved to a different state agency. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
repeal of this rule is due to the program being moved to a 
different state agency. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Go Utah has coordinated with the STEM Action Center 
and they will recodify a rule under the correct authority.  
This rule filing will have no impact on businesses.  Dan 
Hemmert, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 9-11-114   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert,  
Executive Director  

Date: 08/06/2021 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
[R357-20.  Education Computing Partnerships. 
R357-20-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Utah Code Annotated 63N-12-214(4) requires the 
STEM Action Center in consultation with the Utah State Board of 
Education makes rules for the administration of the grant program 
and awarding of grants; and to define outcome-based measures 
appropriate to the type of grant awarded under this part of the Utah 
Code. 
 
R357-20-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  This rule adopts the definitions found in Utah Code 
Section 63N-12-201 et seq. 
 (2)  "USBE" means Utah State Board of Education. 
 
R357-20-3.  Grant Requirements and Review Process. 
 (1)  The STEM Action Center, in consultation with the 
USBE, will determine the maximum amount of the award during any 
application cycle. 
 (2)  The number of awards in each grant cycle can vary. 
 (3)  The STEM Action Center, in consultation with the 
USBE, shall determine applicant eligibility criteria during any 
application cycle and all criteria will be posted in the applications for 
that grant cycle. 
 (4)  The STEM Action Center, with input from the 
established review committee and the USBE and in accordance with 
statute, will determine allowed and disallowed costs during any 
application period and a list of all allowable and disallowed costs will 
be included in the application for each grant cycle. 
 (5)  Applicants may request funds for activities that 
represent a critical component of a full pathway, as long as they 
indicate where the activities or efforts fit into a pathway, or are 
envisioned to fit within a pathway. 
 (6)  Hardware and capital infrastructure funding requests 
may not exceed 10% of the total budget request.  Hardware and 
capital infrastructure shall be defined by the grant agreement received 
by a successful applicant. 
 (7)  The STEM Action Center Board, with 
recommendations by the STEM AC staff and in consultation with the 
USBE, shall have final funding approval rights for all successful 
applicants. 
 (8)  Eligible applicants shall include Local Education 
Agencies and individual schools. 
 (9)  Fiscal agents may sub-contract with partners that are 
approved for funding and they shall use their organization's approved 
procurement procedures and policies for sub-contract awards. 
 (10)  The type of grants (one year versus multiple years; 
pilot versus scale and replication) are allowed and can vary with each 
application cycle and clear indications of what type of grant is and 
are available will be provided on the STEM Action Center's website 
or wherever the application is made available. 
 (11)  The competitive application process will include a 
Request for Grants solicitation, subsequent review and recommended 
selection for funding by an independent committee and final awards  
 
 
 

to be made by the STEM Action Center, in consultation with the 
USBE and with approval of the STEM Action Center Advisory 
Board.  Awards will be administered by the STEM Action Center, 
using an established Grant Agreement process that has been approved 
by the State Procurement office. 
 (12)  The review committee, with the organizational 
representation defined in 63N-12-214, shall consist of four K-16 
education representatives (with equal representation from elementary 
and secondary), two higher education representatives, one USBE 
representative, one Talent Ready Utah representative and three 
industry representatives.  The STEM Action Center, in consultation 
with USBE, shall select the representatives for the review committee. 
 
R357-20-4.  Outcome Based Measures. 
 (1)  The measures can be quantitative and/or qualitative in 
nature 
 (2)  The STEM Action Center, with input from the review 
committee, shall define the outcome-based measures for each 
application cycle and make such measures available online or in the 
application for each grant cycle. 
 (3)  The STEM Action Center shall provide evaluation, 
monitoring and reporting support for the grants through its third party 
evaluation partners (Utah Valley University and the University of 
Utah). 
 
KEY:  STEM action center, computing partnerships, pathways 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  July 14, 
2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-12-214] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R434-100 Filing ID 
53847 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Primary Care and Rural Health 
Room no.: 4163 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142005 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2005 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ashley Moretz 801-

350-
1546 

amoretz@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R434-100.  Physician Visa Waivers 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Conrad State 30/J-1 Visa Waiver Program exists to 
help recruit physicians to underserved areas.  When 
physicians come to the US to complete their graduate 
medical education (GME), they come on a J-1 Visa.  This 
visa allows them to complete their training, but then 
requires them to return to their home country for two years 
before applying for a work visa.  Physicians can waive this 
requirement by obtaining a waiver through the Conrad 
State 30/J-1 Visa Waiver Program. 
 
The Office of Primary Care and Rural Health (OPCRH) is 
designated by the Governor of the  and United States 
Department of State to act as the State Department of 
Health Agency to review and recommend waiver 
applications for approval.  Each year, Utah is allocated up 
to 30 waivers from the home country return requirement 
for international medical graduates who studied in the U.S. 
and are willing to work in an underserved area for 3 years.  
 
Over the past 4 years, Utah has only used an average of 
6 of the allocated 30 waivers per year and has never used 
its full allocation.  As a result, OPCRH is proposing 
amendments to this rule governing the J-1 visa waiver 
program in Utah.  The proposed amendments will reduce 
potential barriers to Utah health care institutions attracting 
the best possible physicians, and might contribute to 
increase uptake of the program, which is one tool to 
reduce Utah's ongoing healthcare professional shortages.  
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The current rule limits each health care facility to no more 
than two requests per federal fiscal year; this limit is 
proposed for elimination since it arbitrarily limits the 
number of physicians per facility in the absence of 
competition for the state's full annual allocation of waivers.  
The requirement that facilities document their recruitment 
efforts to hire a qualified United States citizen for at least 
one immediate prior year for the position the J-1 visa 
waiver physician seeks to fill is also proposed for 
elimination, as it presents a barrier to Utah's health 
facilities attracting the best available physicians.  The 
current requirement that applicants work as a primary care 
physician located within a federally designated primary 
care Health Professional Shortage Area would be 
expanded to include Medically Underserved 
Areas/Populations (MUA/P), since this will expand the 
range of potential facilities that may employ J-1 visa waiver 
physicians. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--State government will not receive or be required to 
expend any funds as a result of the amendment. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

None--Local governments will not receive or expend any 
additional funding as a result of the required match. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--Small businesses will not receive or be required to 
expend any funds as a result of the amendment. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--Non-small businesses will not receive or be 
required to expend any funds as a result of the 
amendment. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--Non-small businesses will not receive or be 
required to expend any funds as a result of the 
amendment. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
None--Participation in the program is voluntary for health 
care providers. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact to business because businesses 
will not receive or be required to expend any funds as a 
result of the amendment.  Nathan Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-18   

 
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
R434.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Primary Care and 
Rural Health. 
R434-100.  Physician Visa Waivers. 
R434-100-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Sections 1182(e) and 1184 of Title 8 of U.S. Code[III of 
the Immigration and Nationality Act] and 22 CFR 41.63 provide that 
the state may request a waiver of the federal two[ ]-year home residence 
requirement on behalf of J-1 visa physicians each fiscal year if they 
work in a medically underserved area of the state and if the waiver is in 
the public interest.  Section 26-1-18 authorizes the Utah Department of 
Health to implement this program. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the criteria to determine whether it 
is in the public interest to request a J-1 visa waiver for an applicant.  
It establishes the procedures for the submission, review, and disposition 
of applications. 
 
R434-100-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (2)  "Health care facility" means a doctor's office, local 
health department, clinic, or licensed health care facility where a J-1 
visa waiver physician may work under the supervision of the sponsoring 
physician. 
 (3)  "Primary care physician" means a physician who 
specializes in general internal medicine, family medicine, general 
pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, or psychiatry. 
 (4)  "Principal" means any person who owns 10% or more 
beneficial or equitable interest in the health care facility. 
 (5)  "Subspecialty care physician" means a physician who 
specializes in a specialty other than general internal medicine, family 
medicine, general pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, or psychiatry. 
 
R434-100-3.  Maximum Number of Visa Waivers. 
 [(1)  ]The Department may recommend J-1 visa waivers up 
to the maximum number of eligible J-1 visa waivers that have been 
granted in a federal fiscal year.  If the maximum number of J-1 visa 
waivers have been granted, the Department shall consider pending 
applications in the following federal fiscal year in the order each was 
received. 
[ (2)  Each health care facility may make up to two requests per 
federal fiscal year.] 
 
R434-100-4.  Physician Eligibility. 
 A physician is eligible to apply for a J-1 visa waiver 
recommendation if [he]the physician: 
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 (1)  is enrolled in or has completed a minimum three[ ]-year 
postgraduate training program in the United States accredited by the 
Accreditation Committee on Graduate Medical Education or the 
American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Professional Education 
before applying[prior to submitting an application]; 
 (2)  has passed the examination requirements for licensure as 
a physician or surgeon or osteopathic physician or surgeon in Utah, 
pursuant to rule established by the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing; and 
 (3)  has the specialty training and previous work experience 
that corresponds to the health care facility's recruitment descriptions. 
 
R434-100-5.  Requests. 
 The health care facility or the physician must submit to the 
Department a written request for the J-1 visa waiver. 
 (1)  The request must include from the health care facility: 
 (a)  the special[i]ty of physician that the facility has been 
unable to recruit; 
[ (b)  documentation of its recruitment efforts to hire a qualified 
United States citizen for at least one immediate prior year for the 
position the J-1 visa waiver physician seeks to fill;] 
 [(c)](b)  documentation that it implements a sliding fee 
scale, payment schedule, or similar method that demonstrates that it 
provides discounts to medically indigent patients; and 
 [(d)](c)  an assurance letter that the health care facility and its 
principals are not under investigation for, under probation for, or under 
restriction for: 
 (i)  Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicaid, or 
Medicare fraud; 
 (ii)  violations of Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing statute or rules; or 
 (iii)  other violations of law that may indicate that it may not 
be in the public interest that a waiver of the two-year home residency 
requirement be granted. 
 (2)  The request must include from the physician: 
 (a)  a completed application that includes [ all ] professional 
experience, education, licenses and certificates, specialty or 
specialties, research, honors, professional memberships, and three 
professional references; 
 (b)  a copy of [all ]IAP-66 forms "Certificate of Eligibility 
for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status" and INS forms I-94 for the 
physician and the physician's[his or her] spouse and children; and 
 (c)  the case number issued by the United States Department 
of State indicating payment of the federal fee required to apply for the 
visa waiver. 
 (3)  The request must also include: 
 (a)  a copy of the complete contract between the J-1 visa 
waiver physician and the health care facility; 
 (b)  any required processing fees; and 
 (c)  other information requested by the Department as may be 
reasonably necessary to determine whether it is in the public interest 
that a waiver of the two-year home residency requirement be granted. 
 
R434-100-6.  Contract Requirements. 
 To obtain a state recommendation that the visa waiver is in 
the public interest, the contract that the applicant submits must meet 
the following criteria: 
 (1)  The contract must be for employment at a health care 
facility: 
 (a)  to work as a primary care physician located within a 
federally designated primary care Health Professional Shortage Area or 

Medically Underserved Area/Population (MUA/P), or to work as a 
subspecialty care physician serving medically needy population; 
 (b)  that has been operating for at least one year; 
 (c)  whose principals are free from default on any federal or 
state scholarship or loan repayment program offered by the National 
Health Service Corps or by the state under Title 26, Chapter 46, Rural 
Physician Loan Repayment Program; 
 (d)  that it or its principals are not under investigation for, 
under probation for, or under restriction for: 
 (i)  Medicaid or Medicare fraud; 
 (ii)  violations of Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing statute or rules; or 
 (iii)  other violations of law that may indicate that it may not 
be in the public interest that a waiver of the two-year home residency 
requirement be granted. 
 (e)  that accepts [all ]Medicaid, Medicare, Children's Health 
Insurance Program, Primary Care Network and Utah Medical 
Assistance Program eligible patients; and 
 (f)  that implements a sliding fee scale, payment schedule, or 
similar method that demonstrates that it provides discounts to medically 
indigent patients. 
 (2)  The contract must provide: 
 (a)  that the physician agrees to meet the requirements set 
forth in section 214(k) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 USC 
1184(k); 
 (b)  the specific address of the health care facility where the 
physician will practice medicine; 
 (c)  a description of the geographic area that will be served by 
the physician; 
 (d)  that the physician agrees to work an annual full-time 
equivalency of 40 hours in patient care per week; 
 (e)  for an obligation committing both parties to three years of 
employment; and 
 (f)  that the physician agrees to begin employment at the 
health care facility within ninety (90) days of the waiver being 
granted.[;] 
 (3)  The contract shall not contain a ["]non[ ]-competition["] 
clause or other provision that would discourage or inhibit the physician 
from working anywhere in the state upon termination of his employment 
with the health care facility. 
 
R434-100-7.  Application Deferral. 
 (1)  The Department may defer processing of a request if the 
health care facility or any of its principals is under investigation or 
awaiting trial for possible: 
 (a)  Medicaid or Medicare fraud; 
 (b)  violations of Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing statute or rules; or 
 (c)  other violations of law that may indicate that it may not 
be in the public interest that a waiver of the two[ ]-year home residency 
requirement be granted. 
 (2)  The Department may defer processing of a request if the 
health care facility or any of its principals is under probation or has 
entered a plea in abeyance for any alleged violation of the elements 
listed in [s]Subsection (1). 
 (3)  A physician applicant may seek to obtain a J-1 visa 
waiver as an employee of another health care facility if the 
Department has deferred processing of a request under [s]Subsections 
(1) or (2). 
 (4)  If a health care facility for which a request has been 
deferred desires the Department to remove the deferral, it must notify the 
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Department and provide documentation that the reason for the deferral 
no longer exists. 
 
R434-100-8.  Program Improvement. 
 The Department may require the health care facility and J-
1 visa waiver physician to provide information regarding the 
performance, commitment to the medically underserved area, service 
obligation fulfillment, and any other information regarding their 
experience under the J-1 visa waiver as is reasonably necessary for the 
administration of the program. 
 
KEY:  waivers, underserved, physicians 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[September 30, 2008] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 24, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-18 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-76 Filing ID 
53844 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-76.  Health Maintenance Organizations and Limited 
Health Plans 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The rule is being repealed as a result of Executive Order 
2021-12.  The rule is being repealed because it is no 
longer necessary due to more specific regulations being 
enacted in subsequent rules and statutes. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule is being repealed because the Department of 
Insurance uses more specific regulations enacted in other 
rules and statutes.  Sections R590-76-3, R590-76-4, 
R590-76-5, and R590-76-8 are all regulated under Rule 
R590-277.  Section R590-76-6 is regulated under Section 
31A-21-201.  Section R590-76-7 is regulated under Rule 
R590-237.  Sections R590-76-9, R590-76-10, and R590-
76-11 are no longer necessary. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget.  The provisions in the rule being repealed are 
regulated under other rules and statutes. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments.  The provisions in the rule being repealed 
are regulated under other rules and statutes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to small 
businesses.  The provisions in the rule being repealed are 
regulated under other rules and statutes. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The provisions in the rule being repealed are 
regulated under other rules and statutes. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to any other 
persons.  The provisions in the rule being repealed are 
regulated under other rules and statutes. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The provisions in the rule being repealed are regulated 
under other rules and statutes. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Title 31A, 
Chapter 8 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
[R590-76.  Health Maintenance Organizations and Limited Health 
Plans. 
R590-76-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is issued pursuant to the authority set forth in Title 
31A, Chapter 8, Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs) and 
Limited Health Plans. 
 
R590-76-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to implement Chapter 8 of Title 
31A to assure the availability, accessibility and quality of services 
provided by HMOs and to provide reasonable standards for terms and 
provisions contained in HMO group and individual contracts and 
evidences of coverage. 
 
R590-76-3.  Applicability and Scope. 
 (1)  This rule applies to all organizations defined in 31A-8-
101(5).  In the event of conflict between the provisions of this regulation 
and the provisions of any other regulation issued by the commissioner, 
the provisions of this regulation shall be controlling.  This rule also 
applies to all HMO contracts covering individuals and groups issued or 
renewed and effective on or after January 1, 2003. 
 (2)  Sections 4 and 5 of this rule do not apply to an HMO 
contract subject to R590-277, Managed Care Health Benefit Plan Policy 
Standards. 
 
R590-76-4.  HMO Definitions. 
 A group or individual contract and evidence of coverage 
delivered or issued for delivery to any person in this state by an HMO 
required to obtain a certificate of authority in this state shall contain 
definitions respecting the matters set forth below.  The definitions shall 
comply with the requirements of this section.  Definitions other than 
those set forth in this regulation may be used as appropriate providing 
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that they do not contradict these requirements.  As used in this regulation 
and as used in the group or individual contract and evidence of coverage: 
 (1)  "Coinsurance" is the enrollee's cost-sharing amount 
expressed as a percentage of covered charges. 
 (2)  "Copayment" means, other than coinsurance, the amount 
an enrollee must pay in order to receive a specific service that is not fully 
prepaid. 
 (3)  "Deductible" means the amount an enrollee is responsible 
to pay out-of-pocket before the HMO begins to pay the costs or provide 
the services associated with treatment. 
 (4)  "Directors" mean the executive director of Department of 
Health or his authorized representative, and the director of the Health 
Division of the Utah Insurance Department. 
 (5)  "Eligible dependent" means any member of an enrollee's 
family who meets the eligibility requirements set forth in the contract. 
 (6)  "Emergency care services" means services for an 
emergency medical condition as defined in 31A-22-627(3). 
 (a)  Within the service area, emergency care services shall 
include covered health care services from non-affiliated providers only 
when delay in receiving care from the HMO could reasonably be 
expected to cause severe jeopardy to the enrollee's condition. 
 (b)  Outside the service area, emergency care services include 
medically necessary health care services that are immediately required 
because of unforeseen illness or injury while the enrollee is outside the 
geographical limits of the HMO's service area. 
 (7)  "Evidence of coverage" means a certificate or a statement 
of the essential features and services of the HMO coverage that is given 
to the subscriber by the HMO or by the group contract holder. 
 (8)  "Facility" means an institution providing health care 
services or a health care setting, including but not limited to hospitals 
and other licensed inpatient centers, ambulatory surgical or treatment 
centers, skilled nursing centers, residential treatment centers, diagnostic, 
laboratory and imaging centers, and rehabilitation and other therapeutic 
health settings which operate within their specific licensures 
requirements. 
 (9)  "Grievance" means a written complaint submitted in 
accordance with the HMO's formal grievance procedure by or on behalf 
of the enrollee regarding any aspect of the HMO relative to the enrollee. 
 (10)  "Group contract" means a contract for health care 
services by which its terms limit eligibility to enrollees of a specified 
group. 
 (11)  "Group contract holder" means the person to which a 
group contract has been issued. 
 (12)  "Incidental coverage" means a contract or endorsement 
offered by an HMO that provides limited health plan benefits as defined 
in Subsection 31A-8-101(3)(a). 
 (13)  "Individual contract" means a contract for health care 
services issued to and covering an individual.  The individual contract 
may include coverage for dependents of the subscriber. 
 (14)  "Medical necessity" or "medically necessary" means: 
 (a)  Health care services or products that a prudent health care 
professional would provide to a patient for the purpose of preventing, 
diagnosing or treating an illness, injury, disease or its symptoms in a 
manner that is: 
 (i)  in accordance with generally accepted standards of 
medical practice in the United States; 
 (ii)  clinically appropriate in terms of type, frequency, extent, 
site, and duration; 
 (iii)  not primarily for the convenience of the patient, 
physician, or other health care provider; and 
 (iv)  covered under the contract; and 

 (b)  when a medical question-of-fact exists medical necessity 
shall include the most appropriate available supply or level of service 
for the individual in question, considering potential benefits and harms 
to the individual, and known to be effective. 
 (i)  For interventions not yet in widespread use, the 
effectiveness shall be based on scientific evidence. 
 (ii)  For established interventions, the effectiveness shall be 
based on: 
 (a)  scientific evidence; 
 (b)  professional standards; and 
 (c)  expert opinion. 
 (15)  "Out-of-area services" means the health care services 
that an HMO covers when its enrollees are outside of the service area. 
 (16)  "Physician" means a duly licensed doctor of medicine or 
osteopathy practicing within the scope of the license. 
 (17)  "Primary care physician" means a physician who 
supervises, coordinates, and provides initial and basic care to enrollees, 
and who initiates their referral for specialist care and maintains 
continuity of patient care. 
 (18)  "Scientific evidence" means: 
 (a)  scientific studies published in or accepted for publication 
by medical journals that meet nationally recognized requirements for 
scientific manuscripts and that submit most of their published articles 
for review by experts who are not part of the editorial staff; or 
 (b)  findings, studies or research conducted by or under the 
auspices of federal government agencies and nationally recognized 
federal research institutes. 
 (c)  Scientific evidence shall not include published peer-
reviewed literature sponsored to a significant extent by a pharmaceutical 
manufacturing company or medical device manufacturer or a single 
study without other supportable studies. 
 (19)  "Service area" means the geographical area within a 40-
mile radius of the HMO's health care facility. 
 (20)  "Subscriber" means an individual whose employment or 
other status, except family dependency, is the basis for eligibility for 
enrollment in the HMO, or in the case of an individual contract, the 
person in whose name the contract is issued. 
 
R590-76-5.  Requirements for HMO Contracts and Evidence of 
Coverage. 
 (1)(a)  Individual contracts.  Each subscriber shall be entitled 
to receive an individual contract and evidence of coverage in a form that 
has been filed with the commissioner. 
 (b)  Group contracts.  Each group contract holder shall be 
entitled to receive a group contract that has been filed with the 
commissioner. 
 (c)  Group contracts, individual contracts and evidences of 
coverage shall be delivered or issued for delivery to subscribers or group 
contract holders within a reasonable time after enrollment, but not more 
than 90 days from the effective date of coverage. 
 (2)  HMO information.  The group or individual contract and 
evidence of coverage shall contain the name, address and telephone 
number of the HMO, and where and in what manner information is 
available as to how services may be obtained.  A telephone number 
within the service area for calls, without charge to members, to the 
HMO's administrative office shall be made available and disseminated 
to enrollees to adequately provide telephone access for enrollee services, 
problems or questions.  The group or individual contract and evidence 
of coverage may indicate the manner in which the number will be 
disseminated rather than list the number itself. 
 (3)  Eligibility requirements.  The group or individual contract 
and evidence of coverage shall contain eligibility requirements 
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indicating the conditions that shall be met to enroll.  The forms shall 
include a clear statement regarding coverage of dependents and 
newborn children. 
 (4)  Benefits and services within the service area.  The group 
or individual contract and evidence of coverage shall contain a specific 
description of benefits and services available within the service area. 
 (5)  Emergency care benefits and services.  The group or 
individual contract and evidence of coverage shall contain a specific 
description of benefits and services available for emergencies 24 hours 
a day, 7 days a week, including disclosure of any restrictions on 
emergency care services.  No group or individual contract and evidence 
of coverage shall limit the coverage of emergency services within the 
service area to affiliated providers only. 
 (6)  Out-of-area benefits and services.  Other than emergency 
care, if benefits and services are covered outside the service area, a 
group or individual contract and evidence of coverage shall contain a 
specific description of that coverage. 
 (7)  Copayments, coinsurance, and deductibles.  The group or 
individual contract and evidence of coverage shall contain a description 
of any copayments, coinsurance, or deductibles that must be paid by 
enrollees. 
 (8)  Limitations and exclusions.  The group or individual 
contract and evidence of coverage shall contain a description of any 
limitations or exclusions on the services or benefits, including any 
limitations or exclusions due to preexisting conditions or waiting 
periods. 
 (9)  Claims procedures.  The group or individual contract and 
evidence of coverage shall contain procedures for filing claims that 
include: 
 (a)  any required notice to the HMO; 
 (b)  any required claim forms, including how, when and where 
to obtain them; 
 (c)  any requirements for filing proper proofs of loss; 
 (d)  any time limit of payment of claims; 
 (e)  notice of any provisions for resolving disputed claims, 
including arbitration; and 
 (f)  a statement of restrictions, if any, on assignment of sums 
payable to the enrollee by the HMO. 
 (10)  Enrollee grievance procedures and arbitration.  In 
compliance with R590-76-8(4), the group or individual contract and 
evidence of coverage shall contain a description of the HMO's method 
for resolving enrollee grievances, including procedures to be followed 
by the enrollee in the event any dispute arises under the contract, 
including any provisions for arbitration. 
 (11)  Extension and conversion of coverage.  A group 
contract, and evidence of coverage shall contain a conversion provision 
which provides each enrollee the right to a conversion policy and/or 
extend coverage to a contract as set forth in Chapter 22 of Title 31A, 
Part VII. 
 (12)  Coordination of benefits.  The group or individual 
contract and evidence of coverage may contain a provision for 
coordination of benefits that shall be consistent with that applicable to 
other carriers in the jurisdiction.  Any provisions or rules for 
coordination of benefits established by an HMO shall not relieve an 
HMO of its duty to provide or arrange for a covered health care service 
to an enrollee because the enrollee is entitled to coverage under any 
other contract, policy or plan, including coverage provided under 
government programs. 
 (13)  Description of the service area.  The group or individual 
contract and evidence of coverage shall contain a description of the 
service area. 

 (14)  Entire contract provision.  The group or individual 
contract shall contain a statement that the contract, all applications and 
any amendments thereto shall constitute the entire agreement between 
the parties.  No portion of the charter, bylaws or other document of the 
HMO shall be part of the contract unless set forth in full in the contract 
or attached to it.  However, the evidence of coverage may be attached to 
and made a part of the group contract. 
 (15)  Term of coverage.  The group or individual contract and 
evidence of coverage shall contain the time and date or occurrence upon 
which coverage takes effect, including any applicable waiting periods, 
or describe how the time and date or occurrence upon which coverage 
takes effect is determined.  The contract and evidence of coverage shall 
also contain the time and date or occurrence upon which coverage will 
terminate. 
 (16)  Cancellation or termination.  The group or individual 
contract and evidence of coverage shall contain the conditions upon 
which cancellation or termination may be effected by the HMO, the 
group contract holder or the subscriber. 
 (17)  Renewal.  The group or individual contract and evidence 
of coverage shall contain the conditions for, and any restrictions upon, 
the subscriber's right to renewal. 
 (18)  Reinstatement of group or individual contract holder.  If 
an HMO permits reinstatement of a group or individual, the contract and 
evidence of coverage shall include any terms and conditions concerning 
reinstatement.  The contract and evidence of coverage may state that all 
reinstatements are at the option of the HMO and that the HMO is not 
obligated to reinstate any terminated contract. 
 (19)  Conformity with State Law.  A group or individual 
contract and evidence of coverage delivered or issued for delivery in this 
state shall include a provision that states that any provision not in 
conformity with Chapter 8 of Title 31A, this regulation or any other 
applicable law or regulation in this state shall not be rendered invalid but 
shall be construed and applied as if it were in full compliance with the 
applicable laws and regulations of this state. 
 (20)  Definitions.  All definitions used in the group or 
individual contract and evidence of coverage shall be in alphabetical 
order. 
 
R590-76-6.  Unfair Discrimination. 
 An HMO shall not unfairly discriminate against an enrollee 
or applicant for enrollment on the basis of the age, sex, race, color, creed, 
national origin, ancestry, religion, marital status or lawful occupation of 
an enrollee, or because of the frequency of utilization of services by an 
enrollee.  An HMO shall not expel or refuse to re-enroll any enrollee nor 
refuse to enroll individual members of a group on the basis of an 
individual's or enrollee's health status or health care needs, except for a 
policy which contains a lifetime policy maximum and such maximum 
has been reached.  However, nothing shall prohibit an HMO from setting 
rates, establishing a schedule of charges in accordance with actuarially 
sound and appropriate data, or appropriately applying policy provisions 
in compliance with the Utah Insurance Code. 
 
R590-76-7.  HMO Services. 
 (1)  Access to Care. 
 (a)  An HMO shall establish and maintain adequate 
arrangements to provide health services for its enrollees, including: 
 (i)  reasonable proximity to the business or personal 
residences of the enrollees so as not to result in unreasonable barriers to 
accessibility; 
 (ii)  reasonable hours of operation and after-hours services; 
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 (iii)  emergency care services available and accessible within 
the service area 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; and 
 (iv)  sufficient providers, personnel, administrators and 
support staff to assure that all services contracted for will be accessible 
to enrollees on an appropriate basis without delays detrimental to the 
health of enrollees. 
 (b)  If a primary care physician is required in order to obtain 
covered services, an HMO shall make available to each enrollee a 
primary care physician and provide accessibility to medically necessary 
specialists through staffing, contracting or referral. 
 (c)  An HMO shall have written procedures governing the 
availability of services utilized by enrollees, including at least the 
following: 
 (i)  well-patient examinations and immunizations; 
 (ii)  treatment of emergencies; 
 (iii)  treatment of minor illness; and 
 (iv)  treatment of chronic illnesses. 
 (2)  Basic health care services.  An HMO shall provide, or 
arrange for the provision of, as a minimum, basic health care services, 
which shall include the following: 
 (a)  emergency care services; 
 (b)  inpatient hospital services, meaning medically necessary 
hospital services including: 
 (i)  room and board; 
 (ii)  general nursing care; 
 (iii)  special diets when medically necessary; 
 (iv)  use of operating room and related facilities; 
 (v)  use of intensive care units and services; 
 (vi)  x-ray, laboratory and other diagnostic tests; 
 (vii)  drugs, medications, biologicals; 
 (viii)  anesthesia and oxygen services; 
 (ix)  special nursing when medically necessary; 
 (x)  physical therapy, radiation therapy and inhalation therapy; 
 (xi)  administration of whole blood and blood plasma; and 
 (xii)  short-term rehabilitation services; 
 (c)  inpatient physician care services, meaning medically 
necessary health care services performed, prescribed, or supervised by 
physicians or other providers including diagnostic, therapeutic, medical, 
surgical, preventive, referral and consultative health care services; 
 (d)  Outpatient medical services, meaning preventive and 
medically necessary health care services provided in a physician's office, 
a non-hospital-based health care facility or at a hospital.  Outpatient 
medical services shall include: 
 (i)  diagnostic services; 
 (ii)  treatment services; 
 (iii)  laboratory services; 
 (iv)  x-ray services; 
 (v)  referral services; 
 (vi)  physical therapy, radiation therapy and inhalation 
therapy; and 
 (vii)  preventive health services, which shall include at least a 
range of services for the diagnosis of infertility, well-child care from 
birth, periodic health evaluations for adults, screening to determine the 
need for vision and hearing correction, and pediatric and adult 
immunizations in accordance with accepted medical practice; 
 (e)  Coverage of inborn metabolic errors as required by 31A-
22-623 and Rule R590-194, Coverage of Dietary Products for Inborn 
Errors of Amino Acid or Urea Cycle Metabolism, and benefits for 
diabetes as required by 31A-22-626 and Rule R590-200, Diabetes 
Treatment and Management. 
 (3)  Out-of-area benefits and services.  Other than emergency 
care, if the contract provides out-of-area services, they shall be subject 

to the same copayment, coinsurance, and deductible requirements set 
forth in R590-76-5(7). 
 (4)(a)  An HMO may offer a contract or endorsement that 
provides incidental coverage. 
 (b)  An incidental coverage contract or endorsement is exempt 
from the basic health care services and emergency care requirements set 
forth in this rule. 
 (c)  An HMO offering an incidental benefit contract or 
endorsement may offer all of the basic health care services. 
 
R590-76-8.  Other HMO Requirements. 
 (1)  Provider lists. 
 (a)  An HMO shall provide its subscribers with a list of the 
names and locations of all of its providers no later than the time of 
enrollment or the time the group or individual contract and evidence of 
coverage are issued and upon reenrollment. 
 (b)  Upon notification to an HMO that a provider is no longer 
affiliated, the HMO shall within 30 days: 
 (i)  notify enrollees who are receiving ongoing care; and 
 (ii)  update any applicable web site provider lists. 
 (c)  Subject to the approval of the commissioner, an HMO 
may provide its subscribers with a list of providers or provider groups 
for a segment of the service area.  However, a list of all providers shall 
be made available to subscribers upon request. 
 (d)  Provider lists shall contain a notice regarding the 
availability of the listed primary care physicians.  The notice shall be in 
not less than 12-point type and be placed in a prominent place on the list 
of providers.  The notice shall contain the following or similar language: 
 "Enrolling in (name of HMO) does not guarantee services by 
a particular provider on this list.  If you wish to receive care from 
specific providers listed, you should contact those providers to be sure 
that they are accepting additional patients for (name of HMO)." 
 (2)  Description of the services area.  An HMO shall provide 
its subscribers with a description of its service area no later than the time 
of enrollment or the time the group or individual contract and evidence 
of coverage are issued and upon request thereafter.  If the description of 
the service area is changed, the HMO shall provide at such time a new 
description of the service area to its affected subscribers within 30 days. 
 (3)  Copayments, coinsurance, and deductibles.  An HMO 
may require copayments, coinsurance, or deductibles of enrollees as a 
condition for the receipt of health care services.  Copayments, 
coinsurance, and deductibles shall be the only allowable charge, other 
than premiums, insurers may assess to subscribers, unless otherwise 
allowed by law. 
 (4)  Grievance procedure.  A grievance procedure in 
compliance with 31A-22-629 and Rule R590-203, Health Care Benefit 
Plans-Grievance and Voluntary Independent Review Procedures Rule, 
to resolve an adverse benefit determination, shall be established and 
maintained by an HMO to provide reasonable procedures for the prompt 
and effective resolution of written grievances. 
 (5)  Provider contracts.  All provider contracts must be on file 
and available for review by the commissioner and the director of the 
Utah Department of Health. 
 
R590-76-9.  Quality Assurance. 
 (1)  Quality assurance plan. 
 (a)  Each HMO shall develop a quality assurance plan.  The 
plan shall be designed to objectively and systematically monitor and 
evaluate the quality and appropriateness of patient care, pursue 
opportunities to improve patient care, and resolve identified problems. 
 (b)  Certification of quality assurance plan. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 17 23 

 (i)  A new HMO shall arrange and pay for a review and 
certification of its quality assurance plan no later than 18 months after 
receiving a Certificate of Authority and commencing operation. 
 (ii)  An existing HMO shall arrange a pay for a review and 
certification of its quality assurance plan every three years unless 
required sooner by the certifying entity. 
 (iii)  Reviews shall be conducted by the National Committee 
of Quality Assurance (NCQA), the Joint Commission on Accreditation 
of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), the American Accreditation 
HealthCare Commission (URAC), formerly known as the Utilization 
Review Accreditation Commission, Health Insight, or other entities as 
approved by the commissioner.  Reviews conducted for the federal 
government shall satisfy these requirements if the requirements of this 
subsection are met. 
 (iv)  Each HMO shall arrange for the directors to receive a 
copy of the review findings, recommendations, and certification, or 
notice of non-approval, of the quality assurance plan.  This material shall 
be sent directly from the certifying entity to the directors.  Certification 
status and review materials will be maintained as a protected record by 
the directors. 
 (v)  Each HMO shall implement clinical and procedural 
requirements made by the certifying entity after the findings are received 
by the HMO. 
 (c)  Each year on or before July 1, an HMO shall file to the 
directors a written report of the effectiveness of its internal quality 
control.  The report must include a copy of the HMO's quality assurance 
plan. 
 (2)  Quality assurance audits.  The commissioner may audit 
an HMO's quality control system.  Such audit shall be performed by 
qualified persons designated by the commissioner. 
 (a)  The HMO shall comply with reasonable requests for 
information required for the audit and necessary to: 
 (i)  measure health care outcomes according to established 
medical standards; 
 (ii)  evaluate the process of providing or arranging for the 
provision of patient care; 
 (iii)  evaluate the system the HMO uses to conduct concurrent 
reviews and preauthorized medical care; 
 (iv)  evaluate the system the HMO uses to conduct 
retrospective reviews of medical care; and 
 (v)  evaluate the accessibility and availability of medical care 
provided or arranged for by the HMO. 
 (b)  Information furnished shall only be used in accordance 
with 31A-8-404. 
 (3)  Internal peer review.  The HMO shall show written 
evidence of continuing internal peer reviews of medical care given.  The 
program must provide for review by physicians and other health 
professionals; have direct accountability to senior management; and 
have resources specifically budgeted for quality assessment, 
monitoring, and remediation. 
 
R590-76-10.  Reporting Requirements and Fee Payments. 
 Section 31A-3-103 and 31A-4-113 apply to organizations.  
Both types of entities shall submit their annual reports on the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioner's (NAIC) blanks that have been 
adopted for HMOs.  In addition, all HMOs shall submit the information 
asked for in the annual statistical report required by the Utah Department 
of Health.  The annual statement blank will be filed with the Insurance 
Department and the Utah Department of Health by March 1 each year. 
 

R590-76-11.  Financial Condition. 
 (1)  Qualified assets.  In determining the financial condition 
of any organization, only the following assets may be used: 
 (a)  assets as determined to be admitted in the Accounting 
Practices and Procedures Manual published by the NAIC; and 
 (b)  other assets, not inconsistent with the foregoing 
provisions, deemed by the commissioner available for the provision of 
health care, at values determined by him/her. 
 (2)  Investments.  Investments of organizations shall be 
consistent with Title 31A, Chapter 18. 
 (3)  Liability insurance.  Evidence of adequate general 
liability and professional liability insurance, or a plan for self-insurance 
approved by the commissioner, must be maintained by the organization.  
Organizations may only contract with providers of health services that 
have liability insurance. 
 
R590-76-12.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or its application to any person or 
situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule which can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this 
rule are declared to be severable. 
 
KEY:  HMO insurance 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  December 23, 
2019 
Notice of Continuation:  August 20, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201] 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-88.  Prohibited Transactions Between Producers 
and Unauthorized Multiple Employer Trusts 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The rule is being repealed as a result of Executive Order 
2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the Department of 
Insurance determined that this rule is unnecessary. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being repealed because it is unnecessary.  
Entities wishing to organize a multiple employer trust are 
required to register with the US Department of Labor rather 
than the state. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
Only one entity ever registered a multiple employer plan 
with the state, and that entity voluntarily surrendered its 
license in 2012.  Also, the licensing chapter for this type of 
entity was repealed during the 2016 General Session in 
H.B. 36, Insurance Revisions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The option to organize a multiple employer 
plan is still available through the US Department of Labor, 
should an entity meet the required criteria and wish to do 
so. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The option to organize a multiple employer 
plan is still available through the US Department of Labor, 
should an entity meet the required criteria and wish to do 
so. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The option to organize a multiple employer 
plan is still available through the US Department of Labor, 
should an entity meet the required criteria and wish to do 
so. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The option to organize a multiple employer plan 
is still available through the US Department of Labor, 
should an entity meet the required criteria and wish to do 
so. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
There are currently no entities in Utah to which this rule 
applies; repealing the rule will have no affect and require 
no compliance. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-23a-402 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
[R590-88.  Prohibited Transactions Between Producers And 
Unauthorized Multiple Employer Trusts. 
R590-88-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 It is the responsibility of the Utah State Insurance Department 
to assist with the maintenance of a fair and honest insurance market and 
to protect the residents of this state against acts by persons attempting to 
evade the insurance laws of the state.  The insurance market is subject 
to regulation to prevent, among other things, unfair competition from 
persons and entities not authorized to conduct an insurance business. 
 This rule is issued pursuant to the authority vested in the 
commissioner under Sections 31A-2-201, and 31A-23a-402. 
 

R590-88-2.  Background. 
 In the State of Utah entities representing themselves as 
Multiple Employer Trusts (METs) under the Employee Retirement 
Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) are undertaking contractual 
obligations to provide life, accident and health, disability, or other 
related insurance-type benefits.  In many cases these programs are not 
insured by an insurer licensed in the State of Utah.  These programs and 
entities appear to be providing insurance benefits, although a MET may 
not refer to such benefits as "insurance." 
 METs are not licensed to provide insurance benefits under 
Section 31A-4-103.  METs do not submit reports of financial condition 
to the Utah State Insurance Department or remit premium taxes on 
business written.  Furthermore, most METs do not meet certain 
minimum capital and surplus requirements of the Utah insurance laws 
which are designed to provide protection against an insolvency.  A MET 
may offer certain annuity or insurance-type benefits to persons because 
of their status as employees.  These benefits include those common to 
the following types of insurance: medical, surgical, hospital, sickness, 
accident, disability, death, retirement income, income deferral. 
 METs are required to file annual reports with the United 
States Department of Labor.  The annual report should state the extent 
to which a MET's annuity or insurance-type benefits are provided by an 
insurance carrier. 
 
R590-88-3.  Definitions. 
 (A)  Multiple Employer Trust (MET) - An entity is herein 
referred to as a Multiple Employer Trust (MET) if that entity is 
providing insurance type benefits to employees of more than one 
employer, and that entity is not an insurance company authorized to do 
business in the state of Utah. 
 (B)  Unauthorized Multiple Employer Trust - An entity 
purporting to be a Multiple Employer Trust (MET) is hereby defined as 
an Unauthorized Multiple Employer Trust if: 
 (1)  The MET has not received an opinion letter from the 
United States Department of Labor recognizing the entity as a qualified 
trust under ERISA, or 
 (2)  The benefits offered are not fully insured by an insurer 
licensed to do business in the State of Utah and no opinion letter 
recognizing the entity as a qualified ERISA plan has been issued from 
the U.S. Department of Labor. 
 (C)  An unauthorized MET is defined to be an unauthorized 
insurer.  Any claimed multiple employer trust which does not fulfill the 
requirements of a multiemployer plan as defined by ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 
1001 et seq., as amended, is also defined to be an unauthorized MET 
and consequently an unauthorized insurer. 
 (D)  All other definitions are the same as are provided in 
Chapter 1, Title 31A. 
 
R590-88-4.  Prohibited Transactions. 
 When the Insurance Department finds evidence that a person 
(as defined in Section 31A-1-301) is engaging, or has engaged, in one 
or more of the following practices, that person's actions will be treated 
as prima facie evidence that the person has shown himself to be 
incompetent, untrustworthy, and/or a source of injury to the public 
pursuant to Section 31A-23a-111.  These practices are: 
 (A)  Accepting commissions, salaries, or any other 
remuneration for placing business with or soliciting membership in an 
unauthorized MET, whether or not the arrangement involves a formal 
contract or is called a commission. 
 (B)  Using the status or title as a licensed insurance producer 
in any way in connection with placement of business with an 
unauthorized MET.  This shall include, but not be limited to: 
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 (1)  Using a producer's letterhead; 
 (2)  Using a producer's office; 
 (3)  Using customer lists or contracts developed as a producer; 
and 
 (4)  Representing in any manner that the person placing this 
business is a licensed insurance producer. 
 
R590-88-5.  Sanctions. 
 Producers found to be engaging in, or to have engaged in, the 
prohibited transactions with unauthorized METs set forth under Section 
4 of this rule are subject to one or more of the following sanctions: 
 (A)  Revocation or suspension of the producer's license and/or 
the imposition of a fine pursuant to Section 31A-23a-111; and 
 (B)  Recovery of any claims or losses pursuant to Section 
31A-15-105; and 
 (C)  Any other sanctions provided by law including those 
found in Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-88-6.  Inquiries. 
 In the event any person wishes to determine if a particular 
entity is a licensed insurer in the State of Utah, an inquiry should be 
made to the Insurance Department.  Inquiries should be addressed as 
follows: Commissioner of Insurance, Utah State Insurance Department, 
State Office Building, 450 North State Street, Room 3110, Salt Lake 
City, Utah 84114, Attention: Producer Licensing Division.  Inquiries 
may also be made by telephone to the Insurance Department at (801) 
538-3800. 
 
R590-88-7.  Severability. 
 If any provision or clause of this rule or the application thereof 
to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect 
any other provision or application of the rule which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  1989 
Notice of Continuation:  December 16, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-101; 
31A-2-201; 31A-2-211] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-8 Filing ID 
53842 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-8.  Application Process for an Attorney Exemption 
for Agency Title Insurance Producer Licensing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended.  The 
Title and Escrow Commission approved these changes in 
an August 9, 2021, meeting by a vote of 5 to 0. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards and to make the language of this rule 
more clear. It also updates the proposed Section R592-8-
6 to use the Department's current language. It does not 
add, remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget. 
The changes are clerical in nature and do not add, remove, 
or change regulations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments. This rule applies to insurance licensees and 
has no bearing on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses. The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
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There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses. The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons. The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons. 
Any affected persons are already required to comply with 
the provisions of this rule, and the changes do not add, 
remove, or change regulations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-404 Section 

31A-23a-204 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-8.  Application Process for an Attorney Exemption for Agency 
Title Insurance Producer Licensing. 
R592-8-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow Commission 
pursuant to Sections 31A-2-404 and 31A-23a-204[ which authorizes the 
Commission to make rules for the administration of the provisions in 
this title related to title insurance and Section 31A-23a-204 which 
authorizes the Commission to make a rule to exempt attorneys with real 
estate experience from the three year licensing requirement to license an 
agency title insurance producer]. 
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R592-8-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose[s] of this rule [are]is to: 
 (a)  [to ]delegate to the [C]commissioner preliminary 
approval or denial of a request for an attorney exemption; 
 (b)  [to ]provide [a description of the types of ]acceptable real 
estate experience that [could ]may be used by an attorney seeking [to 
qualify for the ]an exemption; 
 (c)  [to ]provide a process to apply for [a request for ]an 
attorney exemption; and 
 (d)  [to ]provide a process to appeal a denial of [a request for 
]an attorney exemption. 
 (2)  This rule applies to [all attorneys ]an attorney seeking an 
exemption under [the provisions of ]Section 31A-23a-204. 
 
R592-8-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301, 
31A-2-402, and 31A-23a-10. Additional terms are defined as follows[In 
addition to the definitions of Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-2-402 and 31A-
23a-102, the following definitions shall apply for the purposes of this 
rule]: 
 (1)  "Attorney" means a person licensed, [and ]in good 
standing, with the Utah State Bar. 
 (2)  "Real estate experience" includes: 
 (a)  law firm transactional experience consisting of any [or all 
]of the following: 
 (i)  real estate transactions, [including ]drafting documents, 
reviewing and negotiating contracts of sale, [including ]real estate 
purchase contracts (REPC), commercial transactions, residential 
transactions; 
 (ii)  financing and securing construction and permanent 
financing; 
 (iii)  title review, due diligence, consulting and 
[negotiations]negotiating with title companies, researching and drafting 
[opinions of ]title opinions, coordinating with title companies, pre-
closing; 
 (iv)  zoning, development, construction, homeowners' 
associations, subdivisions, condominiums, planned unit developments; 
 (v)  conducting closings; and 
 (vi)  estate planning, [and ]probate-related transactions and 
conveyances. 
 (b)  law firm litigation experience consisting of any [or all ]of 
the following: 
 (i)  foreclosures; 
 (A)  judicial and non-judicial; 
 (B)  homeowner association (HOA) lien foreclosure; 
 (ii)  [either side of ]homeowner vs. HOA litigation; 
 (iii)  state construction registry litigation, [- ]mechanics lien 
filing and litigation; 
 (iv)  real estate disputes or litigation involving: 
 (A)  a real estate contract; 
 (B)  a boundary line; 
 (C)  a right[s] of way, an easement, or both[ and/or easement]; 
 (D)  a zoning issue; 
 (E)  a property tax issue; 
 (F)  a title issue or claim; 
 (G)  [a landlord/tenant issue]an issue between a landlord and 
a tenant; and 
 (F)  an estate [and/]or probate litigation, or both, involving 
real property assets, claims, and disputes. 
 (c)  non-law firm experience consisting of any [or all ]of the 
following: 
 (i)  real estate agent, broker, developer, investor; 

 (ii)  mortgage broker; 
 (iii)  general contractor; 
 (iv)  professor or instructor teaching real estate licensing, real 
estate contracts, or real estate law; 
 (v)  lender involved with any [or all ]of the following real 
estate lending activities: 
 (A)  lending; 
 (B)  escrow; or 
 (C)  foreclosure; 
 (vi)  private lender; 
 (vii)  in-house counsel involved in real estate transactions for 
bank, mortgage lender, credit union, title company, or agency title 
insurance producer; 
 (viii)  employment with or counsel to a government agency 
involved in regulation of real estate, such as HUD, FHA, zoning, tax 
assessor, county recorder, insurance department, and [F]federal or state 
legislatures; 
 (ix)  escrow officer; 
 (x)  title searcher; or 
 (xi)  surveyor; and 
 (d)  other experience with real estate not included in 
Subsections (a), (b), and (c)[ above]. 
 
R592-8-4.  Delegation of Authority. 
 The Commission hereby grants to the commissioner its 
preliminary concurrence [to the ]for approval or denial of [a request for 
]an attorney exemption [requested by an attorney pursuant to ]under 
Section 31A-23a-204[ to the Utah Insurance Commissioner]. 
 
R592-8-5.  Request for Exemption Process. 
 (1)  An individual title licensee, who is an attorney [as defined 
in this rule desiring to obtain ]seeking an agency title insurance producer 
license under [the exemption provided in ]Subsection 31A-23[A]a-
204(1)(c), shall [make a request for exemption to the Commissioner in 
accordance with the requirements of this subsection. 
 (2)  The applicant will ]submit a letter addressed to the 
Commission: 
 (a)  requesting an exemption from the licensing time period 
requirements in Subsection 31A-23a-204(1)(a)[(i)]; and 
 (b)  providing the following information: 
 (i)  the applicant's name, mailing address, [and ]email address, 
telephone number, and title license number; 
 (ii)  a description of the applicant's real estate experience; and 
 (iii)  a statement explaining why the applicant feels [that ]the 
experience qualifies the applicant for the exemption. 
 ([3]2)  The [C]commissioner [will ]shall review the request 
for exemption within five business days of its receipt, and: 
 (a)  request additional information from the applicant, if 
necessary; 
 (b)  preliminarily approve the request for exemption; or 
 (c)  preliminarily disapprove the request for exemption. 
 ([4]3)  The [C]commissioner [will ]shall report monthly to the 
Commission [all ]any preliminarily approved or denied requests for 
exemption received and reviewed[ since the previous Commission 
meeting]. 
 ([5]4)  The Commission [will ]shall concur or [non-]not 
concur with the [C]commissioner's preliminary approval or denial of a 
request for exemption. 
 ([6]5)  If the [C]commissioner's preliminary denial of a 
request for exemption is concurred with by the Commission, the 
[C]commissioner will: 
 (a)  notify the applicant of the denial; and 
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 (b)  inform the applicant of the applicant's right to a hearing. 
 ([7]6)  If the [Commissioner's ]Commission concurs with the 
commissioner's preliminary approval of a request for exemption[ is 
concurred with by the Commission], the [C]commissioner will 
expeditiously notify the applicant to submit an electronic license 
application and pay [the ]any required fee[s and ] or assessment[s]. 
 ([8]7)  If the Commission does not concur with the 
commissioner's preliminary approval or preliminary denial, the 
applicant shall be informed of the applicant's right to a hearing. 
 
R592-8-6[.  Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to 
be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided under 
Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R592-8-7.  Enforcement Date. 
 The Commission will begin enforcing this rule on the rule's 
effective date. 
 
R592-8-8].  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or the application of it to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remaining provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected.]If any provision of this rule, Rule R592-8, or its application to 
any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule that can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application.  The remainder of this rule 
shall be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  attorney exemption application process 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[March 
10, 2014] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 10, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-1-301; 
31A-2-308; 31A-2-402; 31A-2-404; 31A-23a-102; 31A-23a-204 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-9 Filing ID 
53845 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-9.  Title Insurance Recovery, Education, and 
Research Fund Assessment Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended.  The 
Title and Escrow Commission approved these changes in 
an August 9, 2021, meeting by a vote of 5 to 0. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards and to make the language of this rule 
more clear.  The change also removes large sections of 
this rule because they already properly appear in Rule 
R590-102, Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule, 
making their inclusion here duplicative and redundant, and 
it updates the proposed Section R590-9-7 to use the 
Department's current language.  It does not add, remove, 
or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are clerical in nature and do not add, remove, 
or change regulations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule applies to insurance licensees and 
has no bearing on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
Any affected persons are already required to comply with 
the provisions of the rule, and the changes do not add, 
remove, or change regulations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-404 Section 

31A-41-202 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-9.  Assessment for Title Insurance Recovery, Education, and 
Research Fund[ Assessment Rule]. 
R592-9-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow Commission 
pursuant to Sections 31A-2-404 and 31A-41-202[ which requires the 
Title and Escrow Commission to determine the amount of required 
assessments from individual title insurance producers and agency title 
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insurance producers to provide funding for the recovery, education, and 
research fund]. 
 
R592-9-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  [to ]establish the amount[s] for an individual title 
insurance producer assessment[s]; and 
 (b)  [to ]establish the amount[s] for an agency title insurance 
producer assessment[s]. 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  an agency title insurance producer; and 
 (b)  an individual title insurance producer[ all individual title 
insurance producer applicants and licensees and all agency title 
insurance producer license applicants and licensees and any unlicensed 
person doing the business of title insurance]. 
 
R592-9-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 and 
31A-41-102. 
 
R592-9-4.  Establishing Assessment Amounts. 
 (1)  The Commission adopts the Annual Title Recovery, 
Education, and Research Fund assessment set forth in Rule R590-102, 
Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule[Prior to July 1 of each year, 
the Commission shall establish the assessment amounts for: 
 (a)  an initial producer license for an individual title insurance 
producer applicant; 
 (b)  a renewal license for a licensed individual title insurance 
producer; 
 (c)  an initial agency license for a title insurance agency 
applicant; and 
 (d)  an annual assessment for a licensed agency title insurance 
producer. 
 (2)  Annual licensed agency title insurance producer 
assessment amounts shall be established for the following four premium 
bands of title insurance premiums: 
 (a)  Band A:  $0 to $1 million; 
 (b)  Band B:  more than $1 million to $10 million; 
 (c)  Band C:  more than $10 million to $20 million; and 
 (d)  Band D:  more than $20 million. 
 (3)  The individual title insurance producer and agency title 
insurance producer assessment amounts shall be adopted by motion of 
the Commission. 
 (4)  The adopted assessment amounts shall be posted on the 
Insurance Department's web page]. 
 
R592-9-[4]5.  Individual Title Insurance Producer Assessment. 
 (1)  An individual title insurance producer assessment shall be 
paid in accordance with Rule R590-102, Insurance Department Fee 
Payment Rule[Beginning July 1, 2009: 
 (a)  A person applying for an initial individual title insurance 
producer license or a licensed individual title insurance producer adding 
an additional title insurance line of authority shall pay an assessment not 
to exceed $20.00 at the time of application; and 
 (b)  a licensee renewing an individual title insurance producer 
license shall pay an assessment not to exceed $20.00 at the time of 
application. 
 (2)  An individual title insurance producer assessment will be 
paid in accordance with R590-102, Insurance Department Fee Payment 
Rule]. 
 

R592-9-[5]6.  Agency Title Insurance [Agency ]Producer 
Assessment. 
 (1)  An agency title insurance producer assessment shall be 
paid in accordance with Rule R590-102, Insurance Department Fee 
Payment Rule[Beginning July 1, 2008, a person applying for an initial 
title insurance agency license shall pay an assessment of $1,000 at the 
time of application. 
 (2)  Beginning January 1, 2009, a licensed title insurance 
agency shall pay an annual assessment. 
 (3)  An agency's placement in one of the four assessment 
bands will be determined by an agency's title insurance written premium 
volume for the preceding calendar year as of December 31 of that 
calendar year. 
 (4)  An agency title insurance producer's annual assessment 
will be paid in accordance with R590-102, Insurance Department Fee 
Payment Rule. 
 
R592-9-6.  Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to 
be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided under 
Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R592-9-7.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule upon the 
rule's effective date]. 
 
R592-9-[8]7.  Severability. 
 [If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to any 
person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity may not affect any 
other provision or application of this rule which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision of 
this rule, Rule R592-9, or its application to any person or situation is 
held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 
application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application.  The remainder of this rule shall be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY: title insurance recovery assessment 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2021[June 25, 
2009] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 10, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-308; 
31A-41-202 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-10 Filing ID 
53843 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

32 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 17 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-10.  Title Insurance Regulation Assessment for 
Agency Title Insurance Producers and Title Insurers 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended.  The 
Title and Escrow Commission approved these changes in 
an August 9, 2021, meeting by a vote of 5 to 0. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards and to make the language of this rule 
more clear.  It also updates the proposed Section R592-
10-8 to use the Department's current language.  It does 
not add, remove, or change any regulations or 
requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are clerical in nature and do not add, remove, 
or change regulations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule applies to insurance licensees and 
has no bearing on local governments. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are clerical in nature and do not 
add, remove, or change regulations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
Any affected persons are already required to comply with 
the provisions of the rule, and the changes do not add, 
remove, or change regulations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
31A-2-404(2)(d) 

Subsection 
31A-23a-415(2)(d) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 

R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-10.  [Title Insurance Regulation ]Assessment for the Title 
Licensee Enforcement Restricted Account[Agency Title Insurance 
Producers and Title Insurers]. 
R592-10-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow Commission 
[(Commission) ]pursuant to Subsections 31A-2-404(2)(d) and 31A-
23a-415(2)(d)[: 
 (1)  31A-2-404(2)(d) which requires the Commission to 
determine by rule the assessment required by 31A-23a-415; and 
 (2)  31A-23a-415(2)(d) which requires the Commission to 
establish the amount of costs and expenses that will be covered by the 
assessment]. 
 
R592-10-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose[s] of this rule [are ]is to: 
 (a)  determine the assessment on a title insurer and an agency 
title insurance producer; 
 (b)  establish the [categories of ]costs and expenses covered 
by the assessment[incurred by the department in administering, 
investigating and enforcing the provisions of Title 31A, Chapter 23a, 
Parts IV and V related to the marketing of title insurance and the audits 
of agency title insurance producers]; 
 ([b]c)  require [the reporting by ]a title insurer and an agency 
title insurance producer [and a title insurer of ]to report the mailing 
address and physical location of each office in each county where the 
title insurer or agency title insurance producer [or title insurer ]maintains 
an office; 
 ([c]d)  [establish a calculation method for the calculation of 
]calculate the number of title insurer or agency title insurance producer 
[or title insurer ]offices; and 
 ([d]e)  determine the premium year used in calculating the 
assessment of title insurers. 
 (2)  This rule applies to [all]each title insurer[s] and each 
agency title insurance producer[s]. 
 
R592-10-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301, 
31A-2-402, and 31A-23a-415. Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)[  For the purpose of the rule the Commission adopts the 
definitions as set forth in Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-2-402, and the 
following: 
 ](a)  "Office" means each physical location of a title insurer 
or an agency title insurance producer [or a title insurer ]in a county. 
 (b)  "Office" includes any physical location that is open and 
available to the public. 
 
R592-10-4.  Costs and Expenses. 
 The [amount of costs and expenses that will be covered by the 
]assessment [imposed by ]under Section 31A-23a-415 covers the cost 
of [for any fiscal year in which an assessment exists: 
 (1)  will be for ]a Market Conduct Examiner I, as determined 
by the department's budget [as ]and approved by the [Utah State 
L]legislature, including[ any approved salary increases or increases in 
benefits; and 
 (2)  will include the following expenses]: 
 ([a]1)  salary and state paid benefits; 
 ([b]2)  travel expenses, including daily vehicle expenses; 
 ([c]3)  computer hardware and software expenses; 
 ([d]4)  e-commerce expenses; 
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 ([e]5)  wireless communications expenses; and 
 ([f]6)  training expenses. 
 
R592-10-5.  Office Report. 
 (1)  A title insurer and an agency title insurance producer [and 
a title insurer ]shall submit a completed Office Report Form not later 
than 30 days after the date a change described [below]in this subsection 
occurs in a county where the title insurer or agency title insurance 
producer [or title insurer ]maintains an office: 
 (a)  the opening or closing of an office; or 
 (b)  a change of address of an office. 
 (2)  An Office Report Form shall be submitted electronically 
via email to licensing.uid@utah.gov. 
 (3)  The department's Office Report Form[, which] is 
available on the department's website, https://insurance.utah.gov[, shall 
be used to report changes in offices]. 
 (a)  An actual copy of the form may be used or may be adapted 
to a particular word processing system. 
 (b)  If adapted, the content, size, font, and format must be 
similar. 
[ 
R592-10-6.  Calculation Method for the Calculation of the Number 
of Agency Title Insurance Producer Offices.] 
 ([1]4)  All offices reported [in accordance with ]under Section 
R592-10-5 are used to calculate the [will be included in the calculation 
of the title insurance ]assessment. 
 ([2]5)  An annual assessment calculation for a title insurer or 
an agency title insurance producer [or title insurer that is calculated 
using ]that uses an incorrect number[s] of offices because the number of 
offices was incorrectly reported will not be recalculated[. 
 (3)  An agency title insurance producer or title insurer found 
to have improperly reported their offices may be subject to penalties in 
accordance with Section R592-10-9]. 
 
R592-10-[7]6.  Premium Year for Title Insurer Assessment. 
 [(1)  ]The title insurance assessment [shall be]is calculated 
using direct premium[s] written during the preceding calendar year and[. 

 (2)  The direct premiums written] shall be taken from the 
insurer's annual statements for that year. 
 
R592-10-[8]7. Assessment Payment. 
 (1)  An annual assessment shall be paid by the due date on the 
invoice. 
 (2)  Payments shall be made in accordance with Rule R590-
102, Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule. 
 
R592-10-[9.  Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to 
be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided under 
31A-2-308. 
 
R592-10-10.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 45 days from 
the rule's effective date. 
 
R592-10-11]8.  Severability. 
 [If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to any 
person or situation is held invalid, that invalidity will not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule which can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this 
rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision of this rule, Rule 
R592-10, or its application to any person or situation is held invalid, 
such invalidity does not affect any other provision or application of this 
rule that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  
The remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  title insurance 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  
2021[November 9, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 10, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-23a-415 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends October 01, 2021. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through December 30, 2021, an agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a 
NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 
days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates 
a public comment period, the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public 
comment period nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive 
a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, 
the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 



  

36 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 17 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-25 Filing ID: 53641 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2202 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Cody James 801-
982-
2376 

Codyjames@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-25.  Industrial Hemp Program for Processors 
 
3.  Publication date of previous proposed rule or 
change in proposed rule: 
07/15/2021 
 
4.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
Based on public feedback, the Department of Agriculture 
and Food (Department) would like to make changes to the 
transportation requirements that were added with the initial 
rule filing. 
 
5.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

This filing makes changes to Section R68-25-13 to simplify 
the transportation requirements for industrial hemp 
material and make them more in line with the requirements 
in the previous version of the rule.  A transportation 
reporting requirement for the receiving licensee has also 
been added, based on industry feedback and experience 
with the Department's management of the program.  

(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 
was published in the July 15, 2021, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 11.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates 
text that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and 
the proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make 
this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
These changes should not have any impact on the state 
budget.  They do not increase fees or compliance 
requirements.  They simply clarify and simplify the 
reporting requirements related to the transportation of 
industrial hemp. 
 
B) Local government: 
There should be no impact on local governments because 
they do not regulate or operate as industrial hemp 
processors. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
These changes should not have any impact on small 
businesses.  They do not increase fees or compliance 
requirements.  They simply clarify and simplify the 
reporting requirements related to the transportation of 
industrial hemp. 
 
D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These changes should not have any impact on non-small 
businesses.  They do not increase fees or compliance 
requirements.  They simply clarify and simplify the 
reporting requirements related to the transportation of 
industrial hemp. 
 
E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These changes should not have any impact on other 
persons.  They do not increase fees or compliance 
requirements.  They simply clarify and simplify the 
reporting requirements related to the transportation of 
industrial hemp. 
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F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 
The compliance costs for affected persons will not change.  
The rule changes clarify existing practice and remove 
reporting requirements put in place with the first filing. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will not have a fiscal impact on businesses.  Craig 
W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-41-103(4) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/01/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on:  

10/08/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner  

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-25.  Industrial Hemp Program for Processors. 
R68-25-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsection 4-41-103(4), this rule establishes 
the standards, practices, procedures, and requirements for 
participation in the Utah Industrial Hemp Program for the processing 
and handling of industrial hemp. 
 
R68-25-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "CBD" means cannabidiol (CAS #13956-29-1). 
 2)  "Cannabinoid" means any: 
 a)  naturally occurring derivative of cannabigerolic acid 
(CAS 25555-57-1); or 
 b)  any chemical compound that is both structurally and 
chemically similar to a derivative of cannabigerolic acid. 
 3)  "Cannabinoid concentrate" means: 
 a)  the product of any chemical or physical process applied 
to naturally occurring biomass that concentrates or isolates the 
cannabinoids contained in the biomass; and 
 b)  any amount of a natural, derivative, or synthetic 
cannabinoid in the synthetic cannabinoid's purified state. 
 4)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 5)  "Final product" means a reasonably homogenous 
industrial hemp product in its final packaged form created using the 
same standard operating procedures and the same formulation. 
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 6)  "Industrial Hemp" means any part of a cannabis plant, 
whether growing or not, with a concentration of less than 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol by weight. 
 7)  "Handle" or "Handling" means possessing, transporting, 
or storing industrial hemp for any period of time. 
 8)  "Processing" means any action taken to prepare 
industrial hemp, or material derived from industrial hemp, for 
market. 
 9)  "Processor" means a person licensed by the department[ 
to] process industrial hemp or a material derived from industrial 
hemp. 
 10)  "Manufacturing" means storing, preparing, packaging, 
or labeling of industrial hemp or hemp products. 
 11)  "Raw plant material" or "Raw concentrate" means 
industrial hemp plant material or concentrate that is not in final 
product form. 
 12)  "THC" means total composite tetrahydrocannabinol, 
including delta -9- tetrahydrocannabinol, tetrahydrocannabinolic 
acid, and any THC analogs as defined in Subsection 58-37-
4(2)(a)(iii)(AA). 
 13)  "Third-party laboratory" means a laboratory that has 
no direct interest in a grower or processor of industrial hemp or 
industrial hemp products that is capable of performing mandated 
testing utilizing validated methods. 
 
R68-25-3.  Industrial Hemp Processor Licenses. 
 1)  The department shall issue the following industrial 
hemp processor licenses: 
 a)  a Tier One license, which allows a licensee to receive, 
store, extract, transport, and sell raw plant material or raw 
concentrate, and manufacture finished industrial hemp product;[ ] 
 b)  a Tier Two license, which allows a licensee to receive 
raw plant material and extract it into raw concentrate to store, sell, or 
transport; 
 c)  a Tier Three license, which allows a licensee to receive, 
store, package, and label finished industrial hemp product; and 
 d)  a Tier Four license, which allows a licensee to receive, 
store, transport, or sell raw concentrate, raw plant material, or 
finished industrial hemp product, and perform minimal processing 
for [the purpose of ]storage only. 
 2)  A Tier One processor may accept industrial hemp 
derived cannabinoid concentrate with greater than 0.3% THC 
concentration from another Tier One processor or a Tier two 
processor. 
 
R68-25-4.  Application Requirements. 
 1)  The applicant shall be a minimum of 18 years old. 
 2)  The applicant is not eligible to receive a license if they 
have: 
 a)  been convicted of a felony or its equivalent; or 
 b)  been convicted of a drug-related misdemeanor within 
the last ten years. 
 3)  An applicant seeking an industrial hemp processing 
license shall submit the following to the department: 
 a)  a complete application form provided by the 
department; 
 b)  a physical description of the processing facility; 
 c)  a plan review of the building, facilities, and equipment; 

 d)  a photographic aerial map and street address for each 
building or site where industrial hemp will be processed, handled, or 
stored; 
 e)  the planned source of industrial hemp material; 
 f)  a statement of the intended end use or disposal for each 
part of the industrial hemp plant and hemp material; and 
 g)  a research plan. 
 4)  An applicant shall submit a nationwide criminal history 
from the FBI completed within three months of their application. 
 5)  The applicant shall submit a fee as approved by the 
legislature in the fee schedule. 
 6)  The department shall deny any applicant who does not 
submit the required information. 
 7)  Each applicant for a Tier one, Tier Two, or Tier Three 
license shall be required to register as a food establishment under 
Section 4-5-301 pursuant to the requirements of Section R68-25-7. 
 
R68-25-5.  Processing Facility Restrictions. 
 1)  A licensee shall not process or store leaf or floral 
material from industrial hemp in any structure that is used for 
residential purposes. 
 2)  A licensee shall not process or store industrial hemp 
within 1,000 feet of a school or a public recreational area. 
 3)  A licensee shall not process or handle industrial hemp 
or hemp material from any person who is not licensed by the 
department or from a person outside the state who is not authorized 
by the laws of that state. 
 4)  A licensee shall not permit a person under the age of 18 
to handle living plants, viable plant parts, viable seeds, leaf material, 
or floral material. 
 5)  A licensee shall submit a nationwide criminal history 
from the FBI to the department for each employee with access to 
material which contains, or may contain, over 0.3% THC within the 
first month of employment. 
 
R68-25-6.  Extraction Methods. 
 1)  In addition to the requirements of Section R68-25-4, an 
applicant seeking to engage in the extraction of cannabinoid 
concentrate from industrial hemp shall submit to the department a 
detailed description of the proposed extraction method. 
 2)  The applicant shall describe the proposed process for 
the removal of any harmful solvents added during the extraction 
process, if applicable. 
 3)  The applicant shall describe the safety measures 
proposed to protect the public and employees from dangers 
associated with extraction methods. 
 4)  The department may deny a license for methods that 
pose a significant risk to public health and safety. 
 5)  The department shall not allow the use of butane or 
propane in any extraction method. 
 
R68-25-7.  Processing Practices. 
 1)  The department incorporates by reference 21 CFR 111, 
Current Good Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 
Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements for a 
licensee engaged in processing a CBD product intended for human 
consumption. 
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 2)  The department incorporates by reference 21 CFR 117, 
Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Hazard analysis, and Risk-
Based Preventive Controls for Human Food for a licensee engaged 
in processing non-cannabinoid products for human or animal 
consumption. 
 3)  Processors shall comply with the federal Food Drug and 
Cosmetic Act, 21 U.S.C. Chapter 9, and any other applicable state 
laws and regulations relating to product development, product 
manufacturing, consumer safety, and public health. 
 
R68-25-8.  Required Reports. 
 1)  A licensee shall submit a completed Production Report 
on a form provided by the department by December 31st. 
 2)  A licensee shall submit a report of the results of the 
research as set forth in the research plan by December 31st. 
 3)  The failure to submit a timely completed form may 
result in the denial of a renewal license. 
 
R68-25-9.  Additional Records. 
 1)  The licensee shall keep records of receipt for any 
industrial hemp material obtained including: 
 a)  the date of receipt; 
 b)  quantity received; 
 c)  an identifying lot number created by the licensee; and 
 d)  the seller's information including: 
 i)  the seller's department license number; 
 ii)  seller's contact information; and 
 iii)  the address of the facility or growing area from which 
the industrial hemp material was shipped. 
 2)  The licensee shall keep records that include the 
following information for each batch of industrial hemp material 
processed[:]; 
 a)  the date of processing; 
 b)  the lot number of the material; 
 c)  the amount processed; 
 d)  the type of processing; and 
 e)  any lab test conducted on the industrial hemp material 
or product during the processing. 
 3)  The licensee shall keep records of any tests conducted 
with the identifying lot number. 
 4)  A licensee processing a cannabinoid product shall keep 
records required by 21 CFR 111  including: 
 a)  written procedures for preventing microbial 
contamination; 
 b)  documentation of training of employees; 
 c)  cleaning logs of equipment; 
 d)  procedures for cleaning the physical facility; 
 e)  documentation of your qualification of supplier; and 
 f)  documentation of calibration of machinery. 
 5)  A licensee processing a non-cannabinoid product shall 
keep records as required by 21 CFR 117 including: 
 a)  written procedures for preventing microbial 
contamination; 
 b)  documentation of training of employees; 
 c)  cleaning logs of equipment; 
 d)  procedures for cleaning the physical facility; and 
 e)  documentation of calibration of machinery. 
 6)  Records shall be maintained for a minimum of three 
years. 

 7)  Records are subject to review by department officials at 
the time of inspection or upon request. 
 
R68-25-10.  Testing. 
 1)  For industrial hemp products that will be used for human 
consumption or absorption the product shall be tested for the 
following before being made available for retail sale: 
 a)  cannabinoid profile; 
 b)  solvents; 
 c)  pesticides; 
 d)  microbials; and 
 e)  heavy metals. 
 2)  The testing shall be completed by a third-party 
laboratory. 
 3)  The department shall conduct random testing of 
industrial hemp products and materials. 
 4)  The sample taken by the department shall be the official 
sample. 
 
R68-25-11.  Inspections and Sampling. 
 1)  The department shall have complete and unrestricted 
access to industrial hemp plants, seeds, and materials and [all ]land, 
buildings, and other structures used to process industrial hemp. 
 2)  Samples of each industrial hemp product may be 
randomly taken from the facilities by department officials. 
 3)  The department may review records kept in accordance 
with rule requirements. 
 4)  The department shall notify a licensee of test results 
greater than 0.3% THC. 
 5)  Any laboratory test with a result greater than 0.3% THC 
may be considered a violation of the terms of the license and may 
result in an immediate license revocation. 
 6)  Any laboratory test of a final product with a result of 
1% THC or greater shall be turned over to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency and revocation of the processor license shall be 
immediate. 
 7)  The department shall notify the licensee of any solvents, 
metals, microbials, or pesticides found during testing. 
 8)  The presence of deleterious or harmful substances may 
be considered a violation of the terms of the license and may result 
in a license revocation. 
 
R68-25-12.  Storage of Industrial Hemp and Hemp Material. 
 1)  A licensee may store hemp and hemp products provided: 
 a)  the licensee notifies the department of the location of 
the storage facility; 
 b)  the licensee informs the department of the type and 
amount of the product being stored in the storage facility; 
 c)  the storage facility is outside of the public view; and 
 d)  the storage facility is secured with physical containment 
such as walls, fences, locks, and with an alarm system to provide 
maximum reasonable security. 
 2)  A licensee may store a cannabinoid concentrate that 
exceeds 0.3% THC provided: 
 a)  the concentrate is kept in a secure room; 
 b)  the concentrate is kept separate from other hemp 
products; 
 c)  access to the concentrate is limited; and 



  

40 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 17 

 d)  a record is kept of the amount of concentrate being 
stored and when it is being moved. 
 3)  Storage facilities shall be maintained in accordance with 
the practice adopted in R68-25-7. 
 4)  Storage facilities and records are subject to random 
inspection by department officials. 
 
R68-25-13.  Transportation of Industrial Hemp Material. 
 1)  A licensee may move nonviable hemp product without 
an industrial hemp transportation permit. 
 2)  An industrial hemp transportation permit is required for 
each day and each vehicle used to move industrial hemp, cannabinoid 
concentrate, or industrial hemp products. 
 3)  The sending licensee shall request an industrial hemp 
transportation permit on a form provided by the department. 
 4)  Requests for an industrial hemp transportation permit 
shall be submitted to the department at least five business days prior 
to movement. 
 5)  An industrial hemp transportation permit authorizes the 
transportation of industrial hemp materials only within the borders of 
the state. 
 6)  The department may deny any application for an 
industrial hemp transportation permit that is not completed in 
accordance with this rule. 
 7)  The receiving licensee shall verify the receipt of the 
industrial hemp on a form provided by the department. 
 8)  A licensee extracting cannabinoids from industrial hemp 
shall not transport any product until the department has been notified 
of the THC test results for the product being transported. 
[ 1)  A printed transport manifest shall accompany each 
transport of any industrial hemp material within the possession of an 
industrial hemp processor. 
 2)  The manifest shall contain the following information: 
 a)  the address and license number of the departure 
location; 
 b)  the physical address and license number of the receiving 
location; 
 c)  the strain name, quantities by weight, and unique 
identification numbers of each industrial hemp material to be 
transported; 
 d)  date and time of departure; 
 e)  estimated date and time of arrival; and 
 f)  name and signature of each agent accompanying the 
industrial hemp material. 
 3)  The transport manifest may not be voided or changed 
after departing from the original industrial hemp licensee. 
 4)  A copy of the transport manifest shall be given to the 
receiving industrial hemp licensee. 
 5)  The receiving industrial hemp licensee shall ensure that 
the industrial hemp material received is as described in the transport 
manifest and shall: 
 a)  record the amounts received for each strain; and 
 b)  document any differences between the quantity 
specified in the transport manifest and the quantities recorded. 
 6)  During transportation, industrial hemp material shall be: 
 a)  shielded from the public view; 
 b)  secured; and 
 c)  temperature controlled if perishable. 

 7)  An industrial hemp licensee shall contact the department 
within 24 hours if a vehicle transporting industrial hemp material is 
involved in an accident that involves product loss. 
 8)  Only the registered agents of an industrial hemp licensee 
may occupy a transporting vehicle. 
 9)  If a cannabinoid concentrate with a THC concentration 
above 0.3% is transported to a Tier One industrial hemp processor, a 
copy of the transport manifest shall be provided to the department 
within three days.] 
 
R68-25-14.  Restriction on the Sale and Transfer of Industrial 
Hemp Material. 
 1)  A licensee shall not sell or transfer living plants, viable 
plants, viable seed, leaf material, or floral material to any person not 
licensed by the department. 
 2)  A licensee shall not sell or transfer living plants, viable 
seed, leaf material, or floral material to any person outside the state 
who is not authorized by the laws of that state. 
 3)  A licensee may sell stripped stalks, fiber, and nonviable 
seed to the general public provided the product's THC level is less 
than 0.3%. 
 
R68-25-15.  Renewal. 
 1)  A licensee shall resubmit the documents required in 
Section R68-25-4, with updated information, before December 31st 
of the current year. 
 2)  The department may deny a renewal for an incomplete 
application. 
 3)  The department may deny renewal for any licensee who 
has violated any portion of this rule or state law. 
 
R68-25-16.  Violation. 
 1)  It is a violation to process industrial hemp or industrial 
hemp material on a site not approved by the department as listed on 
the license or within 1,000 feet of a school or public recreational area. 
 2)  It is a violation to process industrial hemp or industrial 
hemp material from a source that is not approved by the department. 
 3)  A licensee shall not allow unsupervised public access to 
hemp processing facilities. 
 4)  It is a violation to employ a person under the age of 18 
in the processing or handling of industrial hemp or its products. 
 5)  It is a violation to sell a product to the general public in 
violation of this section or state laws governing the final product. 
 6)  It is a violation to add cannabinoids to a food product. 
 7)  It is a violation to process raw concentrate without an 
industrial hemp processor license. 
 8)  It is a violation to fail to keep records required by this 
section. 
 9)  It is a violation for a licensee to allow an employee that 
has been convicted of a felony or its equivalent access to hemp 
material or product which contains over 0.3% THC or has the 
potential to contain over 0.3% THC. 
 10)  It is a violation for a licensee to allow an employee that 
has been convicted of a drug-related misdemeanor within the last ten 
years access to hemp material or product which contains over 0.3% 
THC or has the potential to contain over 0.3% THC. 
 11)  It is a violation to possess cannabinoid concentrate 
without an industrial hemp processing license. 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R23-32 Filing ID: 53632 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jim Russell 801-

957-
7191 

jimrussell@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-32.  Rules of Procedure for Conduct of Utah State 
Building Board Meetings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Subsection 63A-5-102(2) allows the Building Board to 
"adopt rules of procedure for the conduct of its meetings."  
Subsection 63A-5-103(1)(e) grants the Building Board 
administrative rulemaking authority. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no public comments during or since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should be continued to allow the Building Board 
to continue to have meetings to conduct Building Board 
business, as mandated by Utah law. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Joe Burgess, 
State Building  
Board Chair 

Date: 08/10/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R25-2 Filing ID: 53484 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Finance 
Room no.: Floor 3 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

44 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 17 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141031 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1031 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janica Gines 801-

957-
7727 

jmgines@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R25-2.  Finance Adjudicative Proceedings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Pursuant to Section 63G-4-203, if an agency enacts rules 
designating one or more categories of adjudicative 
proceedings as informal adjudicative proceedings, the 
agency shall, by rule, prescribe procedures for informal 
adjudicative proceedings. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received in the last five 
years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The legislative direction for this rule still exists.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Janica Gines,  
Director 

Date: 07/20/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-15 Filing No. 50261 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 

Agency: Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Lynne Anthony 801-

530-
6179 

lanthony@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R156-15.  Health Facility Administrator Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 58, Chapter 15, provides for the licensure and 
regulation of health facility administrators.  Subsection 58-
1-106(1)(a) provides that the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing may adopt and enforce rules to 
administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides 
that the Health Facility Administrators Licensing Board's 
duties, functions, and responsibilities includes 
recommending to the director appropriate rules.  This rule 
was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 
15, with respect to health facility administrators. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Since this rule was last reviewed in August 2016, the rule 
has been amended one time.  The Division did receive a 
November 20, 2018, email from Randy Lindner/National 
Association of Long Term Care Administrators Board in 
which he suggested one word change in Section R156-15-
308 of the proposed rule.  As a result of Mr. Lindner's 
request, the Division filed a nonsubstantative change on 
December 10, 2018, under Filing No. 43433.  The Division 
has received no other written comments with respect to 
this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should be continued as it provides a mechanism 
to inform potential licensees of the requirements for 
licensure as allowed under statutory authority provided in 
Title 58, Chapter 15.  This rule should also be continued 
as it provides information to ensure applicants for 
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licensure are adequately trained and meet minimum 
licensure requirements, and provides licensees with 
information concerning unprofessional conduct, 
definitions, and ethical standards relating to the 
profession. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 05/21/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-71 Filing No. 50308 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 
Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Marx 801-

530-
6254 

lmarx@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R156-71.  Naturopathic Physician Practice Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 58, Chapter 71, provides for the licensure and 
regulation of naturopathic physicians.  Subsection 58-1-
106(1)(a) provides that the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing may adopt and enforce rules to 
administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides 
that the Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Board's duties, 
functions, and responsibilities includes recommending to 
the director appropriate rules.  This rule was enacted to 
clarify the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 71, with respect 
to naturopathic physicians. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Since this rule was last reviewed in August 2016, the rule 
has been amended one time.  The Division has received 
no written comments with respect to this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should be continued as it provides a mechanism 
to inform potential licensees of the requirements for 
licensure as allowed under statutory authority provided in 
Title 58, Chapter 71.  This rule should also be continued 
as it provides information to ensure applicants for 
licensure are adequately trained and meet minimum 
licensure requirements, and provides licensees with 
information concerning unprofessional conduct, 
definitions, and ethical standards relating to the 
profession. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 03/02/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-124 Filing ID: 50574 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: P.O. Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mat Carlile 385-

306-
3565 

mcarlile@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-124.  General Requirements:  Conversion to 
Alternative Fuel Grant Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 19-2-304, which 
establishes the requirements, procedures, criteria, and 
definitions used to determine eligibility for the Conversion to 
Alternative Fuel Grant Program.  Rule R307-124 sets the 
minimum requirements for the application and the awarding 
of funds that are designated for the Conversion to Alternative 
Fuel Grant Program. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments received during 
and since the rule was enacted from interested persons 
supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-124 should be continued because it provides 
necessary guidance in the administration of the 
Conversion to Alternative Fuel Grant Program. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or desinee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 08/04/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R428-1 Filing ID: 53300 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Center for Health Data, Health Care 

Statistics 
Room no.: 106 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N. 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO 144004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4004 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carl Letamendi 801-

538-
7052 

cletamendi@utah.gov 

Stephanie 
Saperstein 

801-
538-
6430 

stephaniesaperstein@utah.
gov 

Mike Martin 801-
538-
9205 

mikemartin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R428-1.  Health Data Plan and Incorporated Documents 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is required by Subsection 26-33a-104(2) which 
reads in part: "The committee shall: (a) with the 
concurrence of the department and in accordance with 
Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, 
develop and adopt by rule, following public hearing and 
comment, a health data plan…" 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Health Care Statistics has not received any 
written comments since the last five-year review of this rule 
from interested persons supporting or opposing this rule.  
Only general inquires have been made and responded to 
by the Office.  On July 20, 2021, the Health Data 
Committee voted, with unanimous consent, to continue 
Rule R428-1. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R428-1 establishes the basic operational 
requirement for the Health Data Committee (HDC) to 
manage the data collection, analysis, and distribution; that 
is, to adopt a health data plan through a public process.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
 
 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title63G/Chapter3/63G-3.html?v=C63G-3_1800010118000101
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R428-2 Filing ID: 51037 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Center for Health Data, Health Care 

Statistics 
Room no.: 106 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO 144004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4004 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carl Letamendi 801-

538-
7052 

cletamendi@utah.gov 

Stephanie 
Saperstein 

801-
538-
6430 

stephaniesaperstein@utah.
gov 

Mike Martin 801-
538-
9205 

mikemartin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R428-2.  Health Data Authority Standards for Health Data 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 26-33a-104, which 
provides for data collection activities and rulemaking to 
carry out these activities. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Health Care Statistics has not received any 
written comments since the last five-year review of this rule 
from interested persons supporting or opposing this rule.  
Only general inquires have been made and responded to 
by the Office.  On July 20, 2021, the Health Data 
Committee voted, with unanimous consent, to continue 
Rule R428-2. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R428-2 establishes the reporting standards which 
apply to data suppliers, and the classification, control, use, 
and release of data received by the Health Data 
Committee pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 33a.  
Continuation of Rule R428-2 will assure the data 
definitions, standards, security, and disclosure under the 
Health Data Authority Act are consistent across all data 
suppliers, data users, and public inquiries.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R428-5 Filing ID: 51042 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Center for Health Data, Health Care 

Statistics 
Room no.: 106 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO 144004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4004 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carl Letamendi 801-

538-
7052 

cletamendi@utah.gov 

Stephanie 
Saperstein 

801-
538-
6430 

stephaniesaperstein@utah.
gov 

Mike Martin 801-
538-
9205 

mikemartin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R428-5.  Appeal and Adjudicative Proceedings 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is allowed by Section 26-33a-104 and Title 63, 
Chapter 46b, the Utah Administrative Procedures Act.  It is 
necessary to clarify administrative adjudicative procedures 
under the Utah Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Health Care Statistics has not received any 
written comments since the last five-year review of this rule 
from interested persons supporting or opposing this rule.  
Only general inquires have been made and responded to 
by the Office.  On July 20, 2021, the Health Data 
Committee voted, with unanimous consent, to continue 
Rule R428-5. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R428-5 outlines the formal adjudicative procedures 
requirements for administrative adjudicative actions of the 
Health Data Committee (HDC).  The Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act allows administrative agencies to adopt 
certain procedures by rule if the agency conducts formal 
administrative adjudicative proceedings.  This rule 
provides appropriate administrative procedures to handle 
a disagreement by the HDC, if any, in data collection 
activities.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R428-10 Filing ID: 51040 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Center for Health Data, Health Care 

Statistics 
Room no.: 106 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO 144004 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4004 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carl Letamendi 801-

538-
7052 

cletamendi@utah.gov 

Stephanie 
Saperstein 

801-
538-
6430 

stephaniesaperstein@utah.
gov 

Mike Martin 801-
538-
9205 

mikemartin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R428-10.  Health Data Authority Healthcare Facility Data 
Reporting Rule 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 26-33a-104(3), 
which states "In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, 
Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the committee, with 
the concurrence of the department, may adopt rules to 
carry out the provisions of this chapter." 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Health Care Statistics has not received any 
written comments since the last five-year review of this rule 
from interested persons supporting or opposing this rule.  
Only general inquires have been made and responded to 
by the Office.  On July 20, 2021, the Health Data 
Committee voted, with unanimous consent, to continue 
Rule R428-10. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R428-10 establishes the reporting standards and 
procedures for discharge and encounter data submitted by 
licensed hospitals, ambulatory surgery centers and 
emergency departments in the .  Continuation of the rule 
will assure that the  continuously carries out its activities in 
developing and using the statewide healthcare facility 
database to improve health care cost, quality, and access.  
There is widespread use of nearly 30 years of data within 
many programs at the health department for planning and 
reports on hospitalization trends.  Also, public use data 
files have been purchased by many individuals in the 
healthcare industry, researchers, and the Federal Agency 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title63G/Chapter3/63G-3.html?v=C63G-3_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title63G/Chapter3/63G-3.html?v=C63G-3_1800010118000101
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for Healthcare Research and Quality.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R428-12 Filing ID: 51038 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Center for Health Data, Health Care 

Statistics 
Room no.: 106 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO 144004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4004 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carl Letamendi 801-

538-
7052 

cletamendi@utah.gov 

Stephanie 
Saperstein 

801-
538-
6430 

stephaniesaperstein@utah.
gov 

Mike Martin 801-
538-
9205 

mikemartin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R428-12.  Health Data Authority Survey of Enrollees in 
Health Plans 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 26-33a-104(3), 
which states "In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, 
Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the committee, with 

the concurrence of the department, may adopt rules to 
carry out the provisions of this chapter." 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Health Care Statistics has not received any 
written comments since the last five-year review of this rule 
from interested persons supporting or opposing this rule.  
Only general inquires have been made and responded to 
by the Office.  On July 20, 2021, the Health Data 
Committee voted, with unanimous consent, to continue 
Rule R428-12. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R428-12 allows monitoring of satisfaction with the 
quality and access of care provided by participating Utah 
health plans.  Continuation of this rule will assure that 
health plans are monitored using nationally-recognized 
standards.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/13/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-200 Filing ID: 51077 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title63G/Chapter3/63G-3.html?v=C63G-3_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title63G/Chapter3/63G-3.html?v=C63G-3_1800010118000101
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-200.  Small Health Care Facility (Four to Sixteen 
Beds) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 26, Chapter 21, is the health code that mandates the 
licensing of health facilities.  The purpose of this rule is to 
provide regulations for a small healthcare facility (four to 
sixteen beds) to allow services at varying levels of health 
care intensity to be provided in structures that depart from 
the traditional institutional setting. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments from any party 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Health care may be delivered in a less restrictive, 
residential, or home-like setting.  There are facilities 
currently licensed in this category.  The Department of 
Health agrees with the need to continue this rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-300 Filing ID: 51081 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-300.  Small Health Care Facility - Type N 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 26, Chapter 21, is the health code that mandates the 
licensing of health facilities.  The purpose of this rule is to 
establish standards for protection of the health, safety, and 
welfare of individuals who receive nursing care in 
privately-owned homes. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments from any party 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
There are facilities currently licensed in this category.  The 
Department of Health agrees with the need to continue this 
rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-650 Filing ID: 51082 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-650.  End Stage Renal Disease Facility Rules 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 26, Chapter 21, is the health code that mandates the 
licensing of health facilities.  The purpose of this rule is to 
promote the public health and welfare through the 
establishment and enforcement of licensure standards. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments from any party 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets standards for the operation and 
maintenance for End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) 
facilities in order to provide safe and effective services.  
There are facilities currently licensed in this category.  The 
Department of Health agrees with the need to continue this 
rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-700 Filing ID: 51091 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-700.  Home Health Agency Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 26, Chapter 21, is the health code that mandates the 
licensing of health facilities.  The purpose of this rule is to 
promote the public health and welfare through the 
establishment and enforcement of licensure standards. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments from any party 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets standards for the operation of home health 
agencies.  There are agencies currently licensed in this 
category.  The Department of Health agrees with the need 
to continue this rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/12/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-725 Filing ID: 53420 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-725.  Personal Care Agency Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 26, Chapter 21, is the health code that mandates the 
licensing of health facilities.  The purpose of this rule is to 
promote the public health and welfare through the 
establishment and enforcement of licensure standards. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments from any party 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets standards for the operation of personal care 
agencies.  There are agencies currently licensed in this 
category.  The Department of Health agrees with the need 
to continue this rule. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-750 Filing ID: 51085 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-750.  Hospice Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 26, Chapter 21, is the health code that mandates the 
licensing of health facilities.  The purpose of this rule is to 
promote the public health and welfare through the 
establishment and enforcement of licensure standards. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments from any party 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
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This rule sets standards for the operation of hospice 
agencies.  There are agencies currently licensed in this 
category.  The Department of Health agrees with the need 
to continue this rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-950 Filing ID: 51104 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Bldg 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-950.  Mammography Quality Assurance 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 26, Chapter 21, is the health code that mandates the 
licensing of health facilities.  The purpose of this rule is to 
promote the public health and welfare through the 
establishment and enforcement of licensure standards. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

There have been no written comments from any party 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule ensures the agency is in compliance with the 
Mammography Quality Standards Act of 1992.  There are 
agencies currently licensed in this category.  The 
Department of Health agrees with the need to continue this 
rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-207 Filing ID: 51408 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-207.  Health Producer Commissions for Small 
Employer Groups 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 31A-2-201(3) authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to implement the provisions of 
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Title 31A, the Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-30-104(7) 
authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to establish 
guidelines relating to the Commission structure for small 
group health insurance agents in the small employer group 
market.  Commission structure can affect access to health 
insurance coverage for small employer groups. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule requires that Commission schedules not be set 
up by insurers to restrict or hinder agents from selling to 
small business owners.  This rule is important because it 
eliminates the pressure on agents from insurers regarding 
the sale of guaranteed issue or renewal policies to small 
business owners.  In this way, small employers are 
guaranteed health insurance coverage.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-210 Filing ID: 51406 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-210.  Privacy of Consumer Information Exemption 
for Manufacturer Warranties and Service Contracts 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to implement the provisions of Title 31A, 
the Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-23a-417(3) 
authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to adopt rules to 
implement the requirements of Title V, Sections 501 
through 505 of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act of 1999 (15 
U.S.C. 6801 through 6820).  Title V, Section 505 
empowers the Insurance Commissioner to enforce 
Subtitle A of Title V of the Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance (Department) has received 
no written comments regarding this rule during the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R590-206 applies to licensees of the Department, 
and Rule R590-210 exempts certain licensees from the 
provisions of that rule.  Persons or entities that provide 
warranty or service contracts on consumer goods are 
required to register with the Department and to provide 
certain information about their ability to perform under the 
warranty or service contract.  Technically, a registration 
may be considered a license issued by the Department.  
Unless those contracts are exempted from this rule, the 
provider must comply with Rule R590-206. 
 
Without the exemption, the persons or entities providing 
the warranties or service contracts will experience 
immediate and substantial costs to comply with Rule 
R590-206.  Without the exemption, they will either be out 
of compliance or must stop providing the product or 
provide the product subject to being in violation of this rule.  
The impact to the public would be immediate and perilous.  
It would impact the delivery of these products in interstate 
commerce and result in increased cost to purchasers.  It 
would impact the supply of these products in the market.  
Warranty and service contract providers are not subject to 
the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act. 
 
However, because they are required to register with the 
Department, they can technically be considered 
"licensees" of the Department.  Without the exemption, 
they would be subject to Rule R590-206, which applies 
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only to financial services entities under the Gramm-Leach 
Bliley Act.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-237 Filing ID: 52982 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-237.  Access to Health Care Providers in Rural 
Counties 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 31A-2-201(3)(a) authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to implement the provisions of Title 31A, 
the Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-45-501(8)(c) 
authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to identify, by rule, 
counties with a population density of less than 100 people 
per square mile, independent hospitals, and federally 
qualified health centers. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Department of Insurance (Department) received one 
written comment regarding this rule during the past five 
years.  The commenter requested the addition of clarifying 
language to this rule, which the Department added in a 
subsequent amendment. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule requires health maintenance organizations 
(HMO) to provide enrollees in rural areas a notice that 
includes a list of non-HMO contracted medical providers 
they can use.  This rule is needed to ensure that people 
living in rural areas have access to adequate health care 
services.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/12/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R907-66 Filing ID: 52097 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda Hull 801-

965-
4253 

lhull@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 

R907-66.  Procurement of Consultant Services - 
Procedures and Contract Administration 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Authority for this rule is under Subsections 63G-6a-
106(3)(a) and 72-1-201(1)(h). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Transportation has not received any 
written comments during and since the last five-year 
review of this rule from interested persons supporting or 
opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule incorporates by reference applicable federal 
regulations required to receive federal-aid funds for 
transportation-related projects, i.e., 2 CFR Part 200 and 23 
CFR Part 172 for both federal and state-funded projects; 
matches the federal simplified acquisition threshold in 48 
CFR 2.101 for small purchase contracts as allowed by 23 
CFR Part 172 and Subsection 63G-6a-506(2); and, adopts 
a qualifications-based consultant selection process for 
other professional services in addition to design and 
engineering-related services.  All these functions help the 
consultant services division to run efficiently and 
effectively.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R909-1 Filing ID: 53050 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Motor Carrier 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 

Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda Hull 801-

965-
4253 

lhull@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 

R909-1.  Safety Regulations for Motor Carriers 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 72-9-103(1) requires the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to regulate motor carrier 
safety in the state with an administrative rule that includes 
the components in this rule. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department must continue this rule because 
Subsection 72-9-103(1), which is still in effect, requires the 
Department to regulate motor carrier safety with an 
administrative rule that includes the components included 
in this rule. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 07/30/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R926-2 Filing ID: 52129 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Program Development 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda Hull 801-

965-
4253 

lhull@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 

R926-2.  Evaluation of Proposed Additions to or Deletions 
from the State Highway System 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 72-4-102.5(7)(a) requires the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to make rules establishing 
and defining a functional classification of highways for the 
purpose of implementing Section 72-4-102.5, defining and 

designating regionally significant arterial highways, and 
establishing an access management policy consistent with 
the functional classification of roadway.  This rule satisfies 
these requirements. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has received no written comments during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule must continue because Subsection 72-4-
102.5(7)(a) is still in effect. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 07/30/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R926-3 Filing ID: 52131 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Program Development 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda Hull 801-

965-
4253 

lhull@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 
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Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 

R926-3.  Class B and Class C Road Funds 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 72-2-109(1) requires the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to "make rules providing for 
uniform accounting of funds to be expended upon class B 
and C roads as required by the federal government under 
Title 23, United States Code Annotated, relating to federal 
aid for highway purposes together with all amendatory 
acts."  This rule satisfies that statutory requirement. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department must continue this rule.  Subsection 72-
2-109(1) requires the Department to maintain this rule, and 
it includes procedures the Department must follow to 
distribute Class B and C road funds to counties and 
municipalities. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/03/2021 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 
Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  53550  (Amendment)  R68-27:  Cannabis Cultivation 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 
 
No.  53566  (Amendment)  R68-28:  Cannabis Processing 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 
 
No.  53565  (Amendment)  R68-32:  Sale and Transfer of 
Industrial Hemp Waste Material to Medical Cannabis 
Cultivators 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 
 
 
Capitol Preservation Board (State) 
Administration 
No.  53560  (Amendment)  R131-3:  Use of Magnetometers 
on Capitol Hill 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/04/2021 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  53595  (Amendment)  R277-309:  Appropriate Licensing 
and Assignment of Teachers 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
No.  53748  (Amendment)  R277-317:  Incentives for National 
Board Certification 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
No.  53596  (New Rule)  R277-328:  Educational Equity in 
Schools 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 

No.  53645  (Repeal)  R277-503:  Licensing Routes 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/25/2021 
 
No.  53597  (Amendment)  R277-601:  Standards for Utah 
School Buses and Operations 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
No.  53644  (Amendment)  R277-605:  Coaching Standards 
and Athletic Clinics 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/25/2021 
 
No.  53646  (Amendment)  R277-607:  Absenteeism and 
Truancy Prevention 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/25/2021 
 
No.  53598  (Amendment)  R277-607:  Absenteeism and 
Truancy Prevention 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
No.  53647  (Amendment)  R277-609:  Standards for LEA 
Discipline Plans and Emergency Safety Interventions 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/25/2021 
 
No.  53599  (Amendment)  R277-700:  The Elementary and 
Secondary School General Core 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
No.  53600  (Amendment)  R277-920:  School Improvement - 
Implementation of the School Turnaround and Leadership 
Development Act 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
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No.  53601  (Amendment)  R277-925:  Effective Teachers in 
High Poverty Schools Incentive Program 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
No.  53651  (New Rule)  R277-930:  English Language 
Learner Software 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/25/2021 
 
 
Health 
Administration 
No.  53445  (Repeal)  R380-200:  Patient Safety Surveillance 
and Improvement Program (PSSIP) 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/18/2021 
 
No.  53444  (Repeal)  R380-210:  Health Care Facility Patient 
Safety Program 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/18/2021 
 
Disease Control and Prevention, Health Promotion 
No.  53435  (Amendment)  R384-100:  Cancer Reporting 
Rule 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  08/02/2021 
 
No.  53559  (Amendment)  R384-415:  Electronic Cigarette 
Substance Standards 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  09/09/2021 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  53604  (Amendment)  R414-1:  Withholding of Payments 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/16/2021 
 
No.  53579  (Amendment)  R414-2a-7:  Limitations 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/13/2021 
 
Patient Safety Program 
No.  53439  (New Rule)  R429-1:  Patient Safety Surveillance 
and Improvement Program (PSSIP) 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/18/2021 
 
No.  53440  (New Rule)  R429-2:  Health Care Facility Patient 
Safety Program 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/18/2021 
 
No.  53441  (New Rule)  R429-3:  Adverse Events from the 
Administration of Sedation or Anesthesia; Recording and 
Reporting 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/18/2021 
 

Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing 
No.  53605  (Amendment)  R432-30:  Adjudicative Procedure 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
No.  53420  (Amendment)  R432-725-4:  Personal Care 
Agency Rule 
Published:  05/15/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, Primary Care and Rural 
Health 
No.  53443  (Repeal)  R434-150:  Adverse Events from the 
Administration of Sedation or Anesthesia; Recording and 
Reporting 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/14/2021 
 
Center for Health Data, Vital Records and Statistics 
No.  53434  (Repeal and Reenact)  R436-18:  Adoption 
Program Procedures, Form Content, and Donations 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  08/03/2021 
 
 
Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Administration 
No.  53603  (Amendment)  R765-431:  State Authorization 
Reciprocity Agreement Rule 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/19/2021 
 
No.  53591  (Amendment)  R765-605:  Higher Education 
Success Stipend Program 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/19/2021 
 
No.  53592  (Amendment)  R765-613:  Public Safety Officer 
Career Advancement Reimbursement (POSCAR) 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/19/2021 
 
 
Human Services 
Administration 
No.  53387  (New Rule)  R495-830:  Qualifications for 
Forensic Evaluator 
Published:  05/01/2021 
Effective:  08/12/2021 
 
 
Insurance 
Title and Escrow Commission 
No.  53653  (Amendment)  R592-1:  Title Insurance Licensing 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/23/2021 
 
No.  53654  (Amendment)  R592-5:  Title Insurance Product 
or Service Approval for a Dual Licensed Title Licensee 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/23/2021 
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No.  53655  (Amendment)  R592-6:  Unfair Inducements and 
Marketing Practices in Obtaining Title Insurance Business 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/23/2021 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  53588  (Amendment)  R657-6:  Taking Upland Game 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 
 
No.  53636  (Amendment)  R657-9:  Taking Waterfowl, 
Wilson’s Snipe and Coot 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/23/2021 
 
No.  53589  (Amendment)  R657-39:  Wildlife Board and 
Regional Advisory Councils 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 
 
 
Navajo Trust Fund 
Trustees 
No.  53472  (New Rule)  R661-24:  Utah Navajo Trust Fund 
Higher Education Financial Assistance and Scholarship 
Program 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 

 
No.  53473  (New Rule)  R661-25:  Utah Navajo Trust Fund 
Housing Projects Policy 
Published:  06/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 
 
 
Public Safety 
Administration 
No.  53556  (Amendment)  R698-8:  Local Public Safety and 
Firefighter Surviving Spouse Trust Fund 
Published:  06/15/2021 
Effective:  08/04/2021 
 
Highway Patrol 
No.  53703  (New Rule)  R714-164:  School Bus Inspection, 
Maintenance and Auditing Requirements 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  08/23/2021 
 
No.  53610  (New Rule)  R714-560:  Technology and 
Equipment for Officer-Involved Critical Incident Investigation 
Published:  07/01/2021 
Effective:  08/09/2021 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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