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NOTICES OF

PROPOSED RULES 

A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule. 
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between November 02, 2021, 12:00 a.m., and 
November 15, 2021, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the December 01, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 

In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 

Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 

The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least January 03, 2022.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 

From the end of the public comment period through March 31, 2022, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 

RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 

DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 

The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 

PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10.

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R58-11 Filing ID 
54114 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 

Agency: Animal Industry 

Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500  

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Amber Brown 801-
982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Leann Hunting 801-
982-
2242 

leannhunting@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The changes are necessary to ensure that the Model Food 
Code is being followed with regard to labeling 
requirements for poultry subject to the 1,000 bird 
exemption under Subsection R58-11-8(3). 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

Subsection R58-11-8(3) has been amended to add 
labeling requirements for poultry subject to the 1,000 bird 
exemption.  This includes requirements that the label 
contain the name of the product and the name and 
business location of the processor.  These requirements 
are consistent with the requirements of the Model Food 
Code of 2013 Paragraph 3-602.11(B), which has been 
adopted by the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) in Section R70-530-3.  Additional 
nonsubstantive changes have been made to make the text 

more compliant with the requirements of the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This change should not impact the state budget because 
this is a small clarification and the Department is able to 
continue to administer the poultry inspection and 
regulatory food programs utilizing existing resources. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This change should not impact local governments 
because they do not operate as exempt poultry 
processors. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This change should not impact small businesses that 
operate under the 1,000 bird exemption because the 
change clarifies currently labeling requirements for food 
sold at food establishments. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

This change should not impact non-small businesses 
because they do not act as exempt poultry producers 
under this rule. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This change should not impact other persons because 
they do not act as exempt poultry producers under this 
rule. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

Compliance costs for affected persons should not change 
because the rule change merely codifies and clarifies an 
existing requirement for food sold at food establishments. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

This rule should not have a fiscal impact on businesses.  
Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
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6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Section 4-32-109 Section 4-5-104 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 

R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry. 

R58-11-1.  Authority. 

Promulgated under authority of Section 4-32-109. 

R58-11-2.  Definitions. 

(1) "Adulterated" means any meat or poultry product as

described in Subsection 4-32-105(1). 

(2) "Bill of Sale for Hides" means a hide release or other

formal means of transferring the title of a hide. 

(3) "Business" means an individual or organization

receiving remuneration for a service. 

(4) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of

Agriculture or their designee. 

(5) "Custom Slaughter-Release Permit" means a permit

that serves as a [b]Brand [i]Inspection [c]Certificate and  allows an 

animal owner to have their animal farm custom slaughtered. 

(6) "Department" means the Utah Department of

Agriculture and Food. 

(7) "Detain or Embargo" means the holding of a food or

food product for legal verification of adulteration, misbranding, or 

proof of ownership. 

(8) "Emergency Slaughter" for the purpose of this rule,

does not include slaughter of non-ambulatory injured cattle.  For the 

purposes of this chapter, non-ambulatory disabled cattle that cannot 

rise from a recumbent position or cannot walk, including, those with 

broken appendages, severed tendons or ligaments, nerve paralysis, 

fractured vertebral column or metabolic conditions, are not allowed 

to be slaughtered for food. 

(9) "Farm Custom Slaughtering" means the slaughtering,

skinning, and preparing of livestock and poultry by humane means 

for the purpose of human consumption that is done at a place other 

than a licensed slaughtering house by a person who is not the owner 

of the animal. 

(10) "Food" means a product intended for human

consumption. 

(11) "Immediate Family" means persons living together in

a single dwelling unit and their sons and daughters. 

(12) "License" means a license issued by the Utah

Department of Agriculture and Food to allow farm custom 

slaughtering. 

(13) "Licensee" means a person who possesses a valid

farm custom slaughtering license. 
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 (14)  "Misbranded" means any meat or poultry product as 

described in Subsection 4-32-105 (27). 

 (15)  "Owner" means a person holding legal title to the 

animal. 

 (17)  "Commerce" means the exchange transportation of 

poultry product between states, U.S. territories, including Guam, 

Virgin Islands of the United States, American Samoa, and the District 

of Columbia. 

 

R58-11-3.  Sanitation Standards. 

 Sanitation standards shall include: 

 (1)  Sanitary operating conditions:  Food-contact surfaces 

and non-food-contact surfaces shall be cleaned and sanitized as 

frequently as necessary to prevent the creation of insanitary 

conditions and the adulteration of product.  Cleaning compounds, 

sanitizing agents, processing aids, and other chemicals used shall be 

safe and effective under the conditions of use.  These chemicals shall 

be used, handled, and stored in a manner that will not adulterate 

product or create insanitary conditions.  Documentation 

substantiating the safety of a chemical's use in a food processing 

environment shall be available to inspection program employees for 

review.  Product shall be protected from adulteration during 

processing, handling, storage, loading, and unloading, and during 

transportation. 

 (2)  Grounds and pest control:  Grounds shall be maintained 

to prevent conditions that could lead to insanitary conditions or 

adulteration of product.  A pest management program shall be in 

place to prevent the harborage and breeding of pests on the grounds 

and within buildings.  The pest control program shall be capable of 

preventing product adulteration.  Every effort shall be made to 

prevent entry of rodents, insects, or animals into areas where product 

is handled, processed, or stored.  Each opening leading to the outside 

or to an area holding inedible product shall have an effective closure 

that completely fills the opening.  Each area inside and outside shall 

be maintained to prevent harborage of rodents and insects.  Any pest 

control substance used shall be safe and effective under the 

conditions of use and shall not be applied or stored in a manner that 

would result in the adulteration of product or the creation of 

insanitary conditions. 

 (3)  Each sewage and waste disposal system shall properly 

remove sewage and waste material such as feces, feathers, trash, 

garbage, and paper.  Sewage shall be disposed of into a sewage 

system separate from other drainage lines or disposed of through 

other means sufficient to prevent backup of sewage into areas where 

product is processed, handled, or stored.  If the sewage disposal 

system is a private system requiring approval by a state or local health 

authority, a letter of approval from that authority to the inspector shall 

be provided upon request. 

 (4)  A supply of running water that complies with the 

National Primary Drinking Water regulations, 40 CFR 141, at a 

suitable temperature and under pressure as needed, shall be provided 

in any area where required for processing product; for cleaning rooms 

and equipment, utensils, and packaging materials; and for employee 

sanitary facilities.  If a municipal water supply is used, the supplier 

shall provide a water report, issued under the authority of the state or 

local health agency, certifying or attesting to the potability of the 

water supply, and make the report available to the inspector, upon 

request.  If a private well is used, the potability of the water supply 

shall be documented at least semi-annually and documentation shall 

be made available to the inspector, upon request. 

 (5)  Maintenance of facilities during slaughtering and 

processing shall be accomplished in a manner to ensure the 

production of wholesome, unadulterated product. 

 (6)  Dressing rooms, toilet rooms, and urinals shall be 

sufficient in number, ample in size, conveniently located, and 

maintained in a sanitary condition and in good repair to ensure 

cleanliness of any person handling any product.  Dressing rooms, 

lavatories, and toilets shall be separate from the rooms and 

compartments in which products are processed, stored, or handled. 

 (7)  Inedible material shall be handled and maintained in a 

manner that prevents the diversion of inedible animal product into 

human food channels and prevents the adulteration of human food. 

 

R58-11-4.  Farm Custom Slaughtering License. 

 (1)  Any person who desires to do farm custom slaughtering 

shall apply to the department for a Farm Custom Slaughtering 

License. 

 (2)  An application for a Farm Custom Slaughtering license 

shall be on a form provided by the department.  The application shall 

show: 

 (a)  the name, address, and telephone number of the owner; 

 (b)  the name, address, and telephone number of the 

operator if it is different than the owner; and 

 (c)  a brief description of the vehicle to be used, along with 

the license number. 

 (3)  Farm Custom Slaughtering licenses will be valid for 

the calendar year.  Each licensee will be required to re-apply for a 

license each calendar year.  Change of ownership or change of 

vehicle license will require a new application to be filed with the 

department. 

 (4)  Farm Custom Slaughtering licensure will not be 

recognized as complete until the applicant has demonstrated the 

ability to slaughter and has completed and signed the license 

application form. 

 (5)  A fee, as set forth in the fee schedule approved by the 

legislature, shall be paid prior to license issuance. 

 

R58-11-5.  Equipment and Sanitation Requirements-Farm 

Custom Slaughter. 

 The following equipment and sanitation requirements shall 

apply to farm custom slaughtering: 

 (1)  The unit or vehicle used for farm custom slaughtering 

shall be constructed so as to permit maintenance consistent with the 

sanitation standards listed in Section R58-11-3. 

 (2)  A tripod or rail capable of lifting a carcass to a height 

that enables the carcass to clear the ground for bleeding and 

evisceration shall be incorporated into the unit or vehicle.  Any hook, 

gamble, or rack used to hoist and eviscerate animals shall be of easily 

cleanable metal construction. 

 (3)  Knives, scabbards, saws, and other equipment  shall be 

of rust resistant metal or other impervious easily cleanable material. 

[ (a)]  A clean dust proof container shall be used to transport 

and store each instrument and utensil used in slaughtering animals. 

 (4)  A water tank shall be an integral part of the unit or 

vehicle.  It shall be of approved construction with a minimum 

capacity of 40 gallons.  Each water system shall be maintained 

according to sanitary standards, and only potable water shall be used. 

 (5)  A sanitation tank large enough to allow complete 

immersion of each tool used for slaughtering shall be filled during 

slaughter operations with potable water and maintained at a  
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temperature of at least 180 degrees Fahrenheit.  In lieu of 180 degrees 

Fahrenheit water, chemical sterilization may be used with an 

approved chemical agent after equipment has been thoroughly 

cleaned. Chloramine, hypochlorite, and quaternary ammonium 

compounds or other approved chemical compounds may be used for 

this purpose and a concentration shall be maintained at a sufficient 

level to disinfect each utensil.  Hot water, cleaning agents, and 

disinfectant shall be available if chemicals are used in lieu of 180 

degrees Fahrenheit water. 

 (6)  Cleaning agents and paper towels shall be available so 

hands and equipment may be cleaned as needed. 

 (7)  Any apron, frock, or[ and] other outer clothing worn by 

a person who handles meat [must]shall be clean and of material that 

is easily cleanable. 

 (8)  Any inedible product and offal will be denatured, 

pursuant to 9 CFR 325.13 with either an approved denaturing agent 

or by use of pounch material as a natural denaturing agent. 

 (9)  When a licensee transports uninspected meat to an 

establishment for processing, they shall: 

 (a)  do so in a manner whereby product will not be 

adulterated or misbranded, or mislabeled;[ and] 

 (b)  transport the meat in such a way that it is properly 

protected; and 

 (c)  deliver carcasses in [such ]a way that they shall be 

placed under refrigeration at a temperature at or below 40 degrees 

Fahrenheit within one hour of the time of slaughter. 

 (10)  Sanitation. 

 (a)  Unit or Vehicle. 

 (i)  [The]Each unit or vehicle [must]shall be thoroughly 

cleaned after each daily use. 

 (ii)  Food-contact and non-food[ ]-contact surfaces of 

utensils and equipment [must]shall be cleaned and sanitized as 

necessary to prevent the creation of insanitary conditions and the 

adulteration of carcasses and parts. 

 (iii)  Carcasses shall be protected from adulteration during 

processing, handling, storage, loading, unloading, and during 

transportation to processing establishments. 

 (b)  Equipment. 

 (i)  Knives, scabbards, saws, and other food[ ]-contact 

surfaces shall be cleaned and sanitized prior to slaughter and as 

needed to prevent adulteration. 

 (ii)  Equipment shall be cleaned and sanitized after each 

slaughter and immediately before each slaughter. 

 (c)  Inedible. 

 (i)  Inedible shall be placed in designated containers and be 

properly denatured, and the inedible containers shall be clearly 

marked "Inedible Not For Human Consumption" in letters not less 

than 4 inches in height. 

 (ii)  Containers for inedible shall be kept clean and properly 

separated from edible carcasses to prevent adulteration. 

 (d)  Personal Cleanliness. 

 (i)  Adequate care shall be taken to prevent contamination 

of the carcasses from fecal material, ingesta, milk, perspiration, hair, 

cosmetics, medication, and similar substances. 

 (ii)  Outer clothing worn by a permittee while handling 

exposed carcasses shall be clean. 

 (iii)  No licensee with a communicable disease or who is a 

disease carrier or is infected with boils, infected wounds, sores, or an 

acute respiratory infection shall participate in livestock slaughtering. 

 (iv)  Hand wash facilities shall be used as needed to 

maintain good personal hygiene. 

 

R58-11-6.  Slaughtering Procedures of Livestock. 

 License holders shall ensure the following procedures are 

followed: 

 (1)  Slaughter Area 

 (a)  Slaughtering may not take place under adverse 

conditions such as blowing dirt, dust, or in mud. 

 (b)  If a slaughter area is used for repeated kills, the area 

should be maintained to prevent blood from collecting, running off 

on to adjacent property, or contaminating a water source. 

 (c)  Hides, viscera, blood, pounch material, and tissue shall 

be removed and disposed at a rendering facility, landfill, composting, 

or by burial as allowed by law. 

 (2)  Humane Slaughter.  Each animal shall be rendered 

insensible to pain by a single blow, or gun shot or electrical shock, or 

other means that is instantaneous and effective before being shackled, 

hoisted, thrown, cast or cut. 

 (3)  Hoisting and Bleeding.  Each animal shall be hoisted 

and bled as soon after stunning as possible to utilize post-stunning 

heart action and to obtain complete bleeding.  Carcasses shall be 

moved away from the bleeding area for skinning and butchering. 

 (4)  Skinning.  Carcass and head skin shall be handled 

without neck tissue contamination.  This may be done by leaving the 

ears on the hide and tying the head skin.  Feet shall be removed before 

carcass is otherwise cut.  Except for skinning and starting skinning 

procedures, skin should be cut from inside outward to prevent carcass 

contamination with cut hair.  Hair side of hide should be carefully 

rolled or reflected away from carcass during skinning.  When carcass 

is moved from skinning bed, caution should be taken to prevent 

exposed parts from coming in contact with adulterating surfaces. 

 (5)  Evisceration.  Before evisceration, rectum shall be tied 

to include bladder neck and to prevent urine and fecal leakage.  Care 

should also be taken while opening abdominal cavities to prevent 

carcass or viscera contamination. 

 (6)  Carcass washing.  Hair, dirt, and other accidental 

contamination should be trimmed prior to washing.  Washing should 

proceed from the carcass top downward to move away any possible 

contaminants from clean areas. 

 

R58-11-7.  Identification and Records. 

 (1)  Livestock Identification.  Pursuant to Section 4-24-304, 

it shall be unlawful for any license holder to slaughter livestock 

which do not have a Brand Inspection Certificate or Farm Custom 

Slaughter Tag filled out at the time of slaughter. 

 (a)  Animal owners shall have a Brand Inspection 

Certificate for livestock intended to be farm custom slaughtered, 

issued by a department Brand Inspector prior to slaughter, and shall 

pay the legal brand inspection fee and beef promotion fee.  This is 

accomplished by the animal owner contacting a [D]department Brand 

Inspector and obtaining a Brand Inspection Certificate, [(]Custom 

Slaughter-Release Permit[)]. 

 (b)  Animal owners shall obtain farm custom slaughter 

identification tags from a [D]department Brand Inspector for a fee of 

$1 each.  These tags will be required on beef, pork, and sheep. 

 (2)  Records. 

 (a)  The Custom Slaughter-Release Permit or Farm Custom 

Slaughter Tag shall include the following information: 

 (i)  An affidavit with a statement that shall read "I hereby 

certify ownership of this animal to be slaughtered by ('insert name').  

I fully understand that having my animal farm custom slaughtered 

means my animal will not receive meat inspection and is for my use, 

the use of my immediate family, non-paying guests, or full-time 
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employees.  The carcass will be stamped "NOT FOR SALE" and will 

not be sold."  This statement shall be signed by the owner or designee; 

 (ii)  In addition to this affidavit, the following information 

will be recorded: 

 (A)  date; 

 (B)  owner's name, address and telephone number; 

 (C)  animal description including brands and marks; 

 (D)  Farm Custom Slaughter Tag number; 

 (E)  location of slaughter; 

 (F)  name of licensee; 

 (G)  licensee permit number; and 

 (H)  carcass destination. 

 (b)  Prior to slaughter the licensee shall prepare the Farm 

Custom Slaughter Tag with complete and accurate information. 

 (i)  One tag shall stay in the license holder's file for at least 

one year. 

 (ii)  One tag plus a copy of the Farm Custom Slaughter-

Release Permit shall be sent into the department by the 10th of each 

month for the preceding month's slaughter by the licensee. 

 (iii)  After slaughter, carcasses must be stamped "NOT 

FOR SALE" on each quarter with letters at least 3/8" in height; 

further, a Farm Custom Slaughter "NOT FOR SALE" tag shall be 

affixed to each quarter of beef and each half of pork and sheep. 

 (c)  Hide Purchase.  Licensee receiving hides for 

slaughtering services shall obtain a copy of the Custom Slaughter-

Release Permit to record transfer of ownership, pursuant to Section 

4-24-18. 

 

R58-11-8.  Poultry Slaughter. 

 (1)  Personal Use Exemption.[ 

 (a)]  A person who raises poultry may slaughter or process 

the poultry if: 

 (i)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 

local ordinance; 

 (ii)  the poultry product derived from the slaughtered 

poultry is consumed exclusively by the person or the person's 

immediate family, regular employees of the person, or non-paying 

guests; 

 (iii)  the slaughtering and processing of the poultry is 

performed only by the owner or an employee; 

 (iv)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 

 (v)  the exempt poultry is not sold or donated for use as 

human food; and 

 (vi)  the immediate container bears the statement, "NOT 

FOR SALE". 

 (2)  Farm Custom Slaughter and Processing[ 

 (a) ] A person may slaughter or process poultry belonging 

to another person if: 

 (i)  the person holds a valid farm custom slaughter license 

issued by the department; 

 (ii)  slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by 

local ordinance; 

 (iii)  the licensee does not engage in the business of buying 

or selling poultry product capable for use as human food; 

 (iv)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 

 (v)  the slaughtering or processing is conducted in 

accordance with sanitation standards that produce poultry product 

that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 

 (vi)  the unit or vehicle used for farm custom slaughtering 

shall be so constructed as to permit maintenance according to 

sanitation standards; and 

 (vii)  the immediate container bears the following 

information: 

 (A)  the owner's name and address; 

 (B)  the licensee's name and address, and; 

 (C)  the statement, "NOT FOR SALE". 

 (3)  Producer or Grower 1,000 Bird Limit Exemption 

 (a)  A poultry grower may slaughter no more than 1,000 

birds of their own raising in a calendar year for distribution as human 

food if: 

 (i)  the poultry grower does not engage in buying or selling 

poultry product other than product produced from poultry raised on 

their own farm, including  rented or leased property; 

 (ii)  the slaughtering and or processing are conducted under 

the sanitation standards capable of producing poultry products that 

are sound, clean, fit for human food, and not adulterated; 

 (iii)  the producer keeps slaughter records and records 

covering the sales of poultry product to customers for the current 

calendar year;[ and] 

 (iv)  the poultry products do not move in commerce[.]; and 

 (v)  as required by the U.S. Public Health Service, Food and 

Drug Administration, Food Code 2013, adopted by the department in 

Section R70-530-3, the immediate container bears the following 

information: 

 (A)  name of product; and 

 (B)  name and place of business of the processor; and 

 (vi)  the immediate container bears the statement "Exempt 

R58-11-8(3)." 

 (b)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons 

who slaughter or process fewer than 1,000 poultry during the 

calendar year. 

 (4)  Producer or Grower 20,000 Bird Limit Exemption. 

 (a)  A poultry grower may slaughter no more than 20,000 

healthy birds of [his or her]their own raising in a calendar year for 

distribution as human food if: 

 (i)  the poultry grower does not engage in buying or selling 

poultry product other than that produced from poultry raised on their 

own farm, including  rented or leased property; 

 (ii)  the slaughtering or processing is conducted in a fixed 

establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that 

produce poultry product that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 

 (iii)  the producer keeps slaughter records and records 

covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the current 

calendar year[,]; 

 (iv)  the poultry product does not move in commerce, as the 

term is defined in 9 CFR 381.1; and 

 (v)  the immediate container bear the following 

information: 

 (A)  name of product; 

 (B)  name and address of processor; 

 and[;] 

 (C)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(4)." 

 (b)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons 

who slaughter or process fewer than 20,000 poultry during the 

calendar year. 

 (5)  Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption 

 (a)  The term "Producer or Grower or Other Person" in this 

section means a single entity, which may be: 

 (i)  A poultry grower who slaughters and processes poultry 

that they raised for sale directly to household consumers, restaurants, 

hotels, and boarding houses to be used in those homes and dining 

rooms for the preparation of meals served or sold directly to 

customers. 
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(ii)  A person who purchases live poultry from a grower and

then slaughters these poultry and processes such poultry for sale 

directly to household consumers, restaurants, hotels, and boarding 

houses to be served in those homes or dining rooms for the 

preparation of meals sold directly to customers. 

(b) A business may slaughter and process poultry under

this exemption if; 

(i) the person holds a valid poultry exemption license

issued by the department; 

(ii) slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by

local ordinance; 

(iii) the producer or grower or other person slaughters for

processing and sale directly to household consumers, restaurants, 

hotels, and boarding houses for use in dining rooms or in the 

preparation of meals sold directly to customers; 

(iv) the producer or grower or other person slaughters no

more than 20,000 birds in a calendar year that the producer or grower 

or other person raised or purchased; 

(v)  the producer or grower or other person does not engage

in the business of buying or selling poultry or poultry products 

prepared under an other exemptions in the same calendar year they 

claim the Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption; 

(vi) the poultry products do not move in commerce.

Distribution is directly to household consumers, restaurants, hotels, 

and boarding houses for use in their dining rooms or in the 

preparation of meals sold directly to consumers within the 

jurisdiction where it is prepared;[ and] 

(vii) the slaughtering or processing is conducted in a fixed

establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that 

produce poultry products that are sound, clean, and fit for human 

food; 

(viii) the producer keeps slaughter records and records

covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the current 

calendar year[,]; and[;] 

(ix) the immediate containers bear the following

information: 

(A) name of product;

(B) ingredients statement if applicable;

(C) net weights statement;

(D) name and address of processor;

(E) safe food handling statement;

(F) date of package or Lot number, and;

(G) the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(5)".

(c) A business preparing poultry product under the

Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not slaughter or 

process poultry owned by another person. 

(d) A business preparing poultry products under the

Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not sell poultry 

products to a retail store or other producer or grower. 

(6) Small Enterprise Exemption

(a) A business that qualifies for the Small Enterprise

Exemption may be: 

(i)  a producer or grower who raises, slaughters, and dresses

poultry for use as human food whose processing of dressed exempt 

poultry is limited to cutting up; 

(ii) a business that purchases live poultry that it slaughters

and whose processing of the slaughtered poultry is limited to the 

cutting up; or 

(iii) a business that purchases dressed poultry, that it

distributes as carcasses and whose processing is limited to the cutting 

up of inspected or exempted poultry products, for distribution for use 

as human food. 

(b) a business may slaughter, dress, and cut up poultry for

distribution as human food if: 

(i) the person holds a valid poultry exemption license

issued by the department; 

(ii) slaughtering or processing poultry is not prohibited by

local ordinance; 

(iii) the processing of federal or state inspected or exempt

poultry product is limited to the cutting up of carcasses or the 

business slaughters and dresses or cuts up no more than 20,000 birds 

in a calendar year; 

(iv) the slaughtering and or processing is conducted in a

fixed establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that 

produce poultry product that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 

(v) the facility used to slaughter or process poultry is not

used to slaughter or process another person's poultry; and 

(vi) the immediate containers bear the following

information: 

(A) name of product;

(B) ingredients statement if applicable;

(C) net weights statement;

(D) name and address of processor;

(E) safe food handling statement;

(F) date of package or Lot number, and;

(G) the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(6)."

(c) A business may not cut up and distribute poultry

product produced under the Small Enterprise Exemption to a 

business operating under the following exemptions: 

(i) Producer or Grower or PGOP Exemption;

(ii) Retail Dealer; or

(iii) Retail Store.

R58-11-9.  Producer and Grower Sharing a Fixed Facility. 

(1) Each producer or grower shall comply with the laws

and regulations governing establishments as set forth in Title 4, 

Chapter 32, Utah Meat and Poultry and Poultry Products Inspection 

and Licensing Act, this rule, the United States Department of 

Agriculture [(USDA) ]Poultry Exemptions, and federal regulations 

that apply. 

(2) The poultry producer or grower shall hold a valid

Custom Exempt Meat Establishment License (2202) issued by the 

department. The individual who holds the 2202 license shall be 

present when slaughter and processing operations are being 

performed. 

(3) The department shall be notified five business days

prior to slaughtering and processing.  The individual shall provide the 

department with the following information pertaining to the 

slaughtering and processing of birds: 

(a) the date;

(b) the time; and

(c) the location.

(4) The producer or grower shall:

(a) conduct a pre-operational inspection on any food-

contact surfaces; 

(b)  document the findings of the pre-operational inspection

and corrective actions pursuant to 9 CFR 416.12(a) and 416.15 prior 

to the commencement of operations; 

(c) maintain records for at least one year and have them

available for inspection by department officials; 

(d) fully label product in accordance with this rule before

leaving the facility; 

(e)  maintain the product temperature at 40 degrees F or less

during transport; and 
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 (f)  keep a written recall plan pursuant to 9 CFR 418 and 

have it available for inspection by department officials[;]. 

 (5)  Producers or growers shall not process on the same day 

as any other producer or grower. 

 

R58-11-10.  Enforcement Procedures. 

 (1)  Livestock and Poultry Slaughtering License. 

 (a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to slaughter or assist 

in slaughtering livestock and poultry as a business outside of a 

licensed slaughterhouse unless they hold a valid Farm Custom 

Slaughtering License issued by the department. 

 (b)  Only persons who comply with Title 4, Chapter 32, 

Utah Meat and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act and 

associated rules, and Title 4, Chapter 24, Utah Livestock Brand and 

Anti-Theft Act, shall be entitled to receive and retain a license. 

 (c)  A [L]license may be renewed annually and shall expire 

on the 31st of December of each year. 

 (2)  [Suspension of license ]A license may be suspended 

whenever: 

 (a)  the department has reason to believe that an eminent 

public health hazard exists; 

 (b)  insanitary conditions are such that carcasses would be 

rendered adulterated and or contaminated; 

 (c)  the license holder has interfered with the department in 

the performance of its duties; or 

 (d)  the licensee violates Title 4, Chapter 32, the Utah Meat 

and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act or Title 4, Chapter 

24, Utah Livestock Brand and Anti-Theft Act or associated rules. 

 (3)  The department may, pursuant to 9 CFR 500, suspend 

or terminate any exemption with respect to any person whenever the 

department finds that [such]the action will aid in effectuating the 

purposes of the Act.  Failure to comply with the conditions of the 

exemption, including failure to process poultry and poultry product 

under sanitation standards, may result in termination of an 

exemption, in addition to other penalties consistent with 9 CFR 

318.13. 

 (4)  Warning letter.  In instances when a violation may have 

occurred a warning letter may be sent to the licensee that specifies 

the violations and affords the holder a reasonable opportunity to 

correct them. 

 (5)  Hearings.  Whenever a licensee has been given notice 

by the department that suspected violations may have occurred or 

when a license is suspended, they may have an opportunity for a 

hearing to state their views before the department. 

 (6)  Reinstatement of Suspended Permit.  Any person 

whose license has been suspended may make application for [the 

purpose of ]reinstatement of the license.  The department may then 

re-evaluate the applicant and conditions. If the applicant has 

demonstrated to the department that they will comply with the rules, 

the license may be reinstated. 

 (7)  Detainment or Embargo.  Any meat found in a food 

establishment that does not have the proper identification or any 

uninspected meat slaughtered by a licensee that does not meet the 

requirements of these rules may be detained or embargoed. 

 (8)  Condemnation.  Meat that is determined to be unfit for 

human consumption may be denatured or destroyed. 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
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54123 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R277-301.  Educator Licensing 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being amended to bring licensing requirements 
into compliance with federal special education 
requirements for licensees working with students with 
disabilities. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The amendments place limitations on Associate and local 
education agencies (LEA)-Specific licenses in special 
education license areas of concentration.  The 
amendments also clarify the preparation requirements for 
license areas of concentration in special education related 
fields. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This rule change is not expected to have direct fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  It 
does create additional requirements for an educator to get 
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an Associate License, in certain circumstances.  These 
additional costs are normally paid for by applying educator 
candidates.  If an LEA chooses to pay for these costs, to 
bolster recruitment of teachers, it would be discretionary, 
and therefore, not a direct fiscal impact. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have direct fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  It 
does create additional requirements for an educator to get 
an Associate License, in certain circumstances.  These 
additional costs are normally paid for by applying educator 
candidates.  If an LEA chooses to pay for these costs, to 
bolster recruitment of teachers, it would be discretionary, 
and therefore, not a direct fiscal impact. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule change is not expected to have direct fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  It 
does create additional requirements for an educator to get 
an Associate License, in certain circumstances.  These 
additional costs are normally paid for by applying educator 
candidates.  If an LEA chooses to pay for these costs, to 
bolster recruitment of teachers, it would be discretionary, 
and therefore, not a direct fiscal impact. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This rule change may have some fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  It 
creates additional requirements for an educator to get an 
Associate License, in certain circumstances.  These 
additional costs are normally paid for by applying educator 
candidates. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There may be some compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This rule change creates additional 
requirements for an educator to get an Associate License, 
in certain circumstances.  These additional costs are 
normally paid for by applying educator candidates. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this rule change is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53E-6-201 Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-301.  Educator Licensing. 

R277-301-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 

 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 

general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 

 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 

make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under the 

Utah Constitution and state law; and 

 (c)  Section 53E-6-201, which gives the Board power to issue 

licenses. 

 (2)  This rule specifies the types of licenses and license areas 

of concentration available and the requirements and procedures for 

obtaining a license, required for employment as a licensed educator in 

the public schools of Utah. 

 

R277-301-2.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Accredited school" means a public or private school 

that: 

 (a)  meets standards essential for the operation of a quality 

school program; and 

 (b)  has received formal approval through a regional 

accrediting association. 

 (2)  "Currently enrolled" means: 

 (a)  that an individual has been formally accepted into a 

Board-approved educator preparation program; and 

 (b)  that the program considers the individual to be an active 

participant. 

 (3)  "Educator preparation program" means the same as that 

term is defined in Section R277-303-2. 

 (4)  "Eminence" means the same as that terms is defined in 

Section R277-303-9. 

 (5)  "Endorsement" means a designation on a license area of 

concentration earned through demonstrating required competencies 

established by the Superintendent that qualifies the individual to: 

 (a)  provide instruction in a specific content area; or 

 (b)  apply a specific set of skills in an education setting. 

 (6)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah 

Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 

 (7)(a)  "License areas of concentration" or "license area" 

means a designation on a license of the specific educational setting or 

role for which the individual is qualified, to include the following: 

 (i)  Early Childhood; 

 (ii)  Elementary; 

 (iii)  Secondary; 

 (iv)  School Leadership 

 (v)  Career and Technical Education or "CTE"; 

 (vi)  School Counselor; 

 (vii)  School Psychologist; 

 (viii)  Special Education; 

 (ix)  Preschool Special Education; 

 (x)  Deaf Education; 

 (xi)  Speech-Language Pathologist; 

 (xii)  Speech-Language Technician; 

 (xiii)  School Social Worker; and 

 (xiv)  Audiologist. 

 (8)  "Licensing Jurisdiction" means the designated educator 

licensing authority in any foreign country or state of the United States 

of America and the Department of Defense Education Activity 

(DoDEA). 

 (9)  "NASDTEC" means the National Association of State 

Directors of Teacher Education and Certification. 

 (10)  "NASDTEC Stage 2 Educator License" means a 

license issued to an individual who holds a bachelor's degree and has 

completed an approved program but has not met the jurisdiction-

specific requirement for a Stage 3 license of a member jurisdiction. 

 (11)  "Renewal" means reissuing or extending the length of 

a license consistent with Rule R277-302. 

 

R277-301-3.  License Structure. 

 (1)  Utah educator licenses include the following licenses: 

 (a)  Associate educator license; 

 (b)  Professional educator license; and 

 (c)  LEA-specific educator license. 

 (2)  The Superintendent may only issue one single active 

Utah educator license to an individual. 

 (3)  An educator license shall include at least one license 

area of concentration. 

 (4)  License areas of concentration and endorsements shall 

have a designation of: 
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(a) associate;

(b) professional; or

(c) LEA-specific.

(5) An associate educator license may only include

associate or LEA-specific license areas of concentration and 

endorsements. 

(6) An LEA-specific educator license may only include

LEA-specific license areas of concentration and endorsements. 

(7)  An educator may add a license area or endorsement to

an existing license or license area of concentration by meeting the 

requirements for an associate, professional, or LEA[ ]-specific 

endorsement as established in this rule. 

(8) The Superintendent may establish deadlines and

uniform forms and procedures for all aspects of licensing. 

(9)(a)  All licenses expire on June 30 of the year of 

expiration and a licensee may renew any time after January 1 of the 

same year. 

(b) Responsibility for license renewal rests solely with the

licensee. 

R277-301-4.  Associate Educator License Requirements. 

(1) The Superintendent shall issue an associate educator

license to an individual that applies for the license and that meets all 

requirements in this Section R277-301-4. 

(2) An associate educator license, license area, or

endorsement is valid for three years. 

(3) The Superintendent may only renew an associate

educator license if: 

(a) the individual has less than three years of experience in

a Utah public or accredited private school; or 

(b) the individual is employed by a Utah public or

accredited private school and the employer has requested a one year 

extension of the license. 

(4) Notwithstanding Subsection (3), the Superintendent

may not renew an associate license with a license area in special 

education or related services, if the educator has three years of 

experience with the associate license. 

([4]5)  The general requirements for an associate educator 

license shall include: 

(a) completion of a criminal background check including

review of any criminal offenses and clearance in accordance with 

Rule R277-214 and continued monitoring in accordance with 

Subsection 53G-11-403(1); 

(b) completion of the educator ethics review within one

calendar year prior to the application; and 

(c) one of the following:

(i) a bachelor's degree or higher from a regionally

accredited institution; 

(ii) current enrollment in a university-based Board-

approved educator preparation program that will result in a bachelor's 

degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution; or 

(iii) skill certification in a specific CTE area as established

by the Superintendent. 

([5]6) The content knowledge requirements for an 

associate educator license shall include: 

(a) for an elementary license area, passage of an

elementary content knowledge test, approved by the Superintendent, 

that distinctly measures content in: 

(i) mathematics;

(ii) reading/language arts;

(iii) social studies; and

(iv) science;

(b) for a secondary or CTE license area with a content

endorsement, or for an endorsement being added to a professional 

license area, one of the following: 

(i)(A)  passage of a content knowledge test approved by the 

Superintendent, where required; or 

(B) demonstration of the competency criteria established

by the Superintendent if no content knowledge test is required; 

(ii) a bachelor's degree or higher with a major in the

content area from a regionally accredited university; or 

(iii) enrollment in a program that will result in a degree

described in Subsection ([6]7)(b)(ii); 

(c)  for an early childhood license area, passage of a content

knowledge test approved by the Superintendent; and 

(d) for a [all other]school leadership license area[s],

enrollment in: 

(i) a university-based Board-approved educator

preparation program; or 

(ii) an educator preparation program administered by the

Superintendent. 

([6]7) Notwithstanding, Subsection ([4]5)(c)(ii)[ and 

Subsection (5)(d)], 

(a) an applicant for an associate educator license with

[a]the following license areas[ in]:

(i) special education (K-12);

(ii) pre-school special education;[ or]

(iii) deaf education;

(iv) audiologist;

(v) speech language technician; or

(vi) speech language pathologist;

(b) [may also meet the general requirements and content

knowledge]shall meet the following requirements for an associate 

educator license[;]: 

[ (c) if the applicant has successfully:]

(i) [passed a ]demonstrate content knowledge

[test]competencies approved by the Superintendent; and 

(ii) complete[d] a special education law training approved

by the Superintendent;[ and] 

(iii) earn a bachelor's degree; and

([iii]iv)  [is ]enroll[ed] in[:] a preparation program as 

provided in Subsection (9). 

([A]8)(a)  For a special education or pre-school special 

education license area, an applicant for an associate educator license 

shall enroll in a: 

(i)  Board-approved non-university based special education

preparation program; or 

([B]ii)  a special education program at a regionally 

accredited institution that will yield a NASDTEC Stage 2 educator 

license. 

(b) For a deaf education license area, an applicant shall

enroll in a deaf education program at a regionally accredited 

institution that will yield a NASDTEC Stage 2 educator license. 

(c) For a speech language pathologist license area, an

applicant shall enroll in a speech language pathologist program at a 

regionally accredited institution of higher education that: 

(i) results in a masters degree or higher in speech language

pathology; and 

(ii) will yield a NASDTEC Stage 2 educator license.

(d) For a school counselor license area, an applicant shall

enroll in a school counselor program at a regionally accredited 

institution of higher education that: 

(i) results in a masters degree or higher in school

counseling; and 
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 (ii)  will yield a NASDTEC Stage 2 educator license. 

 (e)  For a speech language technician license area, an 

applicant shall enroll in a speech language technician program that 

is: 

 (i)  approved by the Board; or 

 (ii)  administered by the Superintendent. 

 (f)  For an audiologist license area, an applicant shall enroll 

in an audiology program at a regionally accredited institution of 

higher education that will yield a NASDTEC Stage 2 educator 

license. 

 (9)  Notwithstanding Subsection (5)(c)(ii), an applicant for 

an associate educator license with a license area in school 

psychologist or school social worker shall meet the following 

requirements: 

 (a)  demonstrate content knowledge competencies 

approved by the Superintendent; 

 (b)  earn a Bachelor's degree; and 

 (c)  complete all requirements for a regionally accredited 

master's level preparation program, except completion of capstone 

school-based clinical experience and any co-requisite coursework. 

 ([7]10)  Additional requirements for an associate educator 

license shall include: 

 (a)  successful completion of professional learning modules 

created or approved by the Superintendent in: 

 (i)  educator ethics; 

 (ii)  classroom management and instruction; 

 (iii)  basic special education law and instruction; 

 (iv)  the Utah Effective Teaching Standards described in 

R277-530; or 

 (b)  enrollment in a university-based Board-approved 

educator preparation program. 

 (c)  Notwithstanding Subsection (11)(a), the 

Superintendent may waive an individual module, if the module is not 

necessary given the preparation of an applicant. 

 ([8]11)  An educator that holds a professional license area 

of concentration and has met the competency criteria established by 

the Superintendent need not complete the requirements detailed in 

Subsection (6). 

 ([9]12)  A license applicant who has received or completed 

license preparation activities inconsistent with this rule may present 

compelling information and documentation for review and approval 

by the Superintendent to satisfy the associate educator license 

requirements. 

 ([10]13)  The Superintendent shall designate a panel of at 

least three Board staff members to review an appeal made under 

[s]Subsection ([9]12). 

 ([11]14)  An LEA that employs an individual that holds an 

associate educator license shall develop a personalized professional 

learning plan designed to support the educator in meeting the 

requirements for a professional educator license no later than 60 days 

after beginning work in the classroom, which shall: 

 (a)  be provided to the Superintendent upon request; 

 (b)  include a formal discussion and observation process no 

later than 30 days after beginning work in the classroom; and 

 (c)  consider: 

 (i)  previous education related experience; and 

 (ii)  previous educational preparation activities. 

 ([12]15)  An educator with an associate educator license 

may upgrade to a professional educator license at any time prior to 

expiration of the associate educator license if the educator meets all 

requirements of Section R277-301-5. 

 

R277-301-5.  Professional Educator License Requirements. 

 (1)  The Superintendent shall issue a professional educator 

license to an individual that applies for the license and meets all 

requirements in this Section R277-301-5. 

 (2)  A professional educator license, license area, or 

endorsement is valid for five years. 

 (3)  The general requirements for a professional educator 

license shall include: 

 (a)  all general requirements for an associate educator 

license under Subsection R277-301-5(4); 

 (b)  completion of: 

 (i)  a bachelor's degree or higher from a regionally 

accredited institution; or 

 (ii)  skill certification in a specific CTE area as established 

by the Superintendent; 

 (c)  for an individual with an early childhood, elementary, 

special education, or pre-school special education license area of 

concentration, completion of a literacy preparation assessment; and 

 (d)  one of the following: 

 (i)  a recommendation from a Board-approved educator 

preparation program; or 

 (ii)  a standard educator license in the area issued by a 

licensing jurisdiction outside of Utah that is currently valid or is 

renewable consistent with Section 53E-6-307. 

 (4)  The content knowledge requirements for a professional 

educator license, license area, and endorsement shall include: 

 (a)  all content knowledge requirements for an associate 

educator license under Subsection R277-301-4(5); 

 (b)  demonstration of all content knowledge competencies 

as established by the Superintendent; and 

 (c)  passage of a content knowledge test provided by the 

Superintendent, where required by the Superintendent. 

 (5)  An applicant for a secondary or CTE content area 

endorsement that holds a bachelor's degree or higher with a major in 

the content area from a regionally accredited university need not 

complete the requirement described in Subsection (4)(c). 

 (6)  The pedagogical requirements for professional 

educator license shall include: 

 (a)  demonstration of all pedagogical competencies as 

established by the Superintendent; and 

 (b)  when applicable to the license area, passage of a 

pedagogical performance assessment meeting standards: 

 (i)  established by the Superintendent; and 

 (ii)  approved by the Board. 

 (7)  An individual holding a Utah level 1, level 2, or level 

3 educator license on January 1, 2020 meets the pedagogical 

requirements described in Subsection (6). 

 (8)  An individual holding a Utah level - APT educator 

license that is employed by a Utah LEA and an individual enrolled in 

ARL or a university-based Board-approved educator preparation 

program on January 1, 2020 may meet the content knowledge and 

pedagogical requirements described in this Section R277-301-6 by 

completing all requirements of the applicable program. 

 (9)  An individual holding a Utah professional educator 

license and license area in early childhood education, elementary, 

secondary, CTE, special education, or deaf education is considered to 

have met the pedagogical performance assessment requirement of 

Subsection (5)(b) if applying to add any of the license areas in the 

subsection. 

 (10)  A license applicant who has received or completed 

license preparation activities inconsistent with this rule may present 

compelling information and documentation for review and approval 
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or denial by the Superintendent to satisfy the professional educator 

license requirements. 

 (11)  The Superintendent shall designate a panel of at least 

three individuals, including at least two Board licensed educators not 

employed by the Board, to review an appeal and make a 

recommendation to the Superintendent for the Superintendent's 

review and decision described in Subsection (10). 

 

R277-301-6.  Educator Licenses Issued by Licensing 

Jurisdictions Outside of Utah. 

 (1)  The Superintendent shall review applications for a Utah 

educator license for individuals holding educator licenses issued by 

licensing jurisdictions outside of Utah to determine if the applicant 

has met the requirements for a Utah license under this rule. 

 (2)  The Superintendent shall accept scores from an 

applicant that meet the Utah standard for passing on assessments 

from licensing jurisdictions outside of Utah that utilize the same 

assessment as Utah as meeting the requirements of this rule. 

 (3)  The Superintendent shall accept scores from an 

applicant on reasonably equivalent content knowledge or 

pedagogical performance assessments utilized by licensing 

jurisdictions outside of Utah that meet the passing standard of that 

jurisdiction as meeting the requirements of this rule. 

 (4)  The Superintendent shall accept demonstrations of 

content knowledge and pedagogical competencies from an applicant 

utilized by licensing jurisdictions outside of Utah that are reasonably 

equivalent to Utah competencies. 

 (5)  An individual with one year of successful experience 

in a public or accredited private school under a standard license 

issued by another jurisdiction need not complete the content 

knowledge and pedagogical assessment requirements in the areas and 

subjects taught. 

 (6)  An individual holding a standard license from another 

jurisdiction that was enrolled in a preparation program prior to 

January 1, 2020 and received the standard license prior to August 1, 

2021 need not complete the requirements of Subsection R277-301-

5(6)(b). 

 

R277-301-7.  LEA-specific Educator License Requirements. 

 (1)  The Superintendent may issue an LEA-specific 

educator license to a candidate if: 

 (a)  the LEA requesting the LEA-specific educator license 

has an adopted policy, posted on the LEA's website, which includes: 

 (i)  educator preparation and support: 

 (A)  as established by the LEA; and 

 (B)  aligned with the Utah Effective Teaching Standards 

described in R277-530; 

 (ii)  criteria for employing educators with an LEA-specific 

license; and 

 (iii)  compliance with all requirements of this [R]rule[ 

R277-301]; 

 (b)  an LEA governing board applies on behalf of the 

candidate; 

 (c)  the candidate meets all the requirements in this Section 

R277-301-7; and 

 (d)  within the first year of employment, the LEA trains the 

candidate on: 

 (i)  educator ethics; 

 (ii)  classroom management and instruction; 

 (iii)  basic special education law and instruction; and 

 (iv)  the Utah Effective Teaching Standards described in 

R277-530. 

 (2)  An LEA-specific license, license area, or endorsement 

is valid only within the requesting LEA. 

 (3)  An LEA-specific license, license area, or endorsement 

is valid for one, two, or three years in accordance with the LEA 

governing board's application and this Section R 277-301-7. 

 (4)  The first renewal of an LEA-specific educator license, 

license area, or endorsement shall be approved or denied by the 

Board. 

 (5)  The Board may require that subsequent renewals be 

approved by the Board on a case by case basis. 

[ (6)(a)  An LEA-specific license area of concentration may 

only be issued for one school year and may not be renewed for a 

license area in: 

 (i)  special education; or 

 (ii)  pre-school special education. 

 (b)  If an LEA grants a license area of concentration under 

this Subsection (6), the LEA shall provide special education law 

training recommended by the Superintendent within the first month 

of the educator's employment.] 

 (6)  An LEA may not issue an LEA-specific license area of 

concentration to an educator for the following license areas: 

 (a)  special education; 

 (b)  pre-school special education; 

 (c)  deaf education; 

 (d)  school psychologist; 

 (e)  school social worker; 

 (f)  audiologist; 

 (g)  speech language therapist; or 

 (h)  speech language pathologist. 

 (7)  An LEA-specific license expires immediately if the 

educator's employment with the LEA that requested the license ends. 

 (8)  The general requirements for an LEA-specific educator 

license shall include: 

 (a)  completion of a criminal background check including 

review of any criminal offenses and clearance in accordance with 

Rule R277-214 and continued monitoring in accordance with 

Subsection 53G-11-403(1); 

 (b)  completion of the educator ethics review within one 

calendar year prior to the application; and 

 (c)  approval of the request by the LEA governing board in 

a public meeting no more than 60 days prior to the application, which 

includes the LEA's rationale for the request. 

 (9)  The content knowledge and pedagogical requirements 

for an LEA-specific educator license shall be established by the LEA 

governing board. 

 (10)  An LEA school that requests an LEA-specific license, 

license area, or endorsement shall prominently post the following 

information on each school's website: 

 (a)  disclosure of the fact that the school employs 

individuals holding LEA-specific educator licenses, license areas, or 

endorsements; 

 (b)  an explanation of the types of licenses issued by the 

board; 

 (c)  the percentage of the types of licenses, license areas, 

and endorsements held by educators employed in the school[ ]-based 

on the employees' FTE as reported to the Superintendent; and 

 (d)  a link to the Utah Educator Look-up tool provided by 

the Superintendent in accordance with Subsection R277-[5]312-7(6). 

 

R277-301-8.  Eminence. 

 (1)  The purpose of an eminence designation is to allow an 

individual with exceptional training or expertise, consistent with 
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Section R277-301-2, to teach or work in the public schools on a 

limited basis. 

 (2)  An LEA may request an eminence designation for an 

LEA-specific license, license area, or endorsement for a teacher 

whose employment with the LEA is no more than 37% of a teacher's 

regular instructional load. 

 (3)(a)  The Superintendent may approve or deny a request 

under Subsection (2). 

 (b)  The Superintendent may require documentation of the 

exceptional training, skills, or expertise of a candidate for an 

eminence designation. 

 (4)(a)  The Superintendent may approve or deny the 

renewal of an LEA-specific license, license area, or endorsement 

with an eminence designation at the request of the LEA that requested 

the designation. 

 (b)  Subsection (4)(a) supersedes Subsection R277-301-

7(5) for a licensee with an eminence designation. 

 (c)  If a request for an eminence designation or renewal of 

an eminence designation is denied by the Superintendent, the LEA 

may appeal the denial to the Board. 

 

R277-301-9.  Superintendent Annual Report to the Board. 

 (1)  The Superintendent shall annually report to the Board 

on licensing, including: 

 (a)  educator licensing; 

 (b)  educator preparation; and 

 (c)  equitable distribution of teachers. 

 (2)  The Superintendent shall use a process approved by the 

Board to: 

 (a)  establish the content knowledge competency 

requirements required for associate and professional endorsements; 

and 

 (b)  review, adopt, and establish passing standards for all 

assessments required for educator licensing. 

 (3)  The Superintendent shall create an ethics review for all 

licensed educators based upon Rule R277-217, Educator Standards 

and Local Education Agency (LEA) Reporting. 

 (4)  The Superintendent may correct identified errors in 

licensing information with notice to the license holder. 
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Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R277-307.  Teacher Leader 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This is a new rule which replaces a previous version with 
a different number, Rule R277-513.  This rule updates the 
requirements for becoming a teacher leader and the roles 
of a teacher leader.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  Rule R277-513 
expired on 11/08/2021.  The notice is under ID 50477 in 
this issue, December 1, 2021, of the Bulletin.) 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This new rule establishes requirements for becoming a 
teacher leader and updates criteria and roles for a teacher 
leader in schools as outlined in Sections R277-307-3 and 
R277-307-4. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This proposed rule is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  
This new rule is intended to replace Rule R277-513 and 
gives LEAs flexibility in choosing teacher leaders. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  
This new rule is intended to replace Rule R277-513 and 
gives LEAs flexibility in choosing teacher leaders. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This proposed rule is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  
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This new rule is intended to replace Rule R277-513 and 
gives LEAs flexibility in choosing teacher leaders. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because there are no applicable non-small 
businesses and it does not require any expenditures of, or 
generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This proposed rule is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on revenues or expenditures for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities.  This new rule is intended to replace Rule R277-
513 and gives LEAs flexibility in choosing teacher leaders. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no significant compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This new rule is intended to replace Rule R277-
513 and gives LEAs flexibility in choosing teacher leaders. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this proposed rule is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, Section 
3 

Section 53E-6-902 Subsection 53E-3-
401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-307.  Teacher Leader. 

R277-307-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 

 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 

general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 

 (b)  Section 53E-6-902, which requires the Board to: 

 (i)  define the role of a teacher leader; and 

 (ii)  establish the minimum criteria for a teacher to qualify 

as a teacher leader;  and 

 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 

make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 

the Utah Constitution and state law. 

 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 

 (a)  define the role of a teacher leader; and 

 (b)  establish the minimum criteria for a teacher to qualify 

as a teacher leader. 

 

R277-307-2.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Teacher" has the same meaning as defined in 

Subsection 53E-6-902(1). 

 (2)  "Teacher leader" has the same meaning as defined in 

Subsection 53E-6-902(2). 

 

R277-307-3.  Minimum Criteria for a Teacher Leader. 

 An LEA may designate a teacher as a teacher leader if the 

teacher: 

 (1)  has a professional educator license; 

 (2)(a)  has an educator evaluation effectiveness rating of 

effective or highly effective for at least the two years prior to being 

designated as a teacher leader; or 

 (b)  has a successful or equivalent evaluation rating using a 

local board-approved evaluation system for at least the two years 

prior to being designated as a teacher leader; 

 (3)  demonstrates competence in working with adult 

learners and peers; 

 (4)  demonstrates: 

 (a)  consistent leadership; 

 (b)  focused collaboration; 

 (c)  distinguished teaching; and 

 (d)  a commitment to ongoing professional growth; and 

 (5)  is recommended by the building administrator to be 

designated as a teacher leader. 

 

R277-307-4.  Roles of a Teacher Leader. 

 (1)  A teacher leader may exhibit leadership in a school 

through formally or informally designated responsibilities. 

 (2)  A teacher leader shall maintain the teacher leader's 

assignment as a classroom teacher while exercising appropriate 

leadership responsibilities, consistent with this section. 

 (3)  A teacher leader may perform the following functions: 

 (a)  Professional learning lead, including: 

 (i)  generally supporting school-based professional 

learning; or 

 (ii)  serving as a learning designed or facilitator for 

professional learning activities; 

 (b)  Formally trained and recognized mentor, including: 

 (i)  modeling effective instructional strategies for other 

teachers; 

 (ii)  training, supervising, and mentoring: 

 (A)  student teachers; 

 (B)  new teachers; or 

 (C)  teachers that supervise student teachers; or 

 (iii)  coaching the development of effective instruction; 

 (c)  Lead or master teacher, including: 

 (i)  guiding other educators in collecting, understanding, 

analyzing, and interpreting student-achievement data and using those 

findings to improve instruction; 

 (ii)  leading efforts to modify or improve curriculum; or 

 (iii)  facilitating and coordinating professional learning 

communities; 

 (d)  Education policy advocate, including: 

 (i)  positively contributing to informed decisions made by 

policy makers; or 

 (ii)  sharing information with colleagues regarding impact 

of policy on classroom practices; 

 (e)  School outreach lead, including: 

 (i)  leading specific school improvement initiatives; or 

 (ii)  acting as a liaison for community projects; or 

 (f)  Education ambassador, including: 

 (i)  networking within and beyond local, state, and national 

education organizations; or 

 (ii)  serving on task forces, committees, and advisory 

boards. 

 (4)  An LEA may provide additional incentives to teacher 

leaders for fulfilling the responsibilities outlined in this section, 

including: 

 (a)  a pay increase, bonus, or other financial incentive; or 

 (b)  a reduction in the teacher leader's regular classroom 

workload. 

 

KEY:  teacher, leader, qualification 

Date of Last Change:  2022 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 

53E-6-902; 53E-3-401(4) 
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Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R277-424.  Indirect Costs for State Programs 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being amended due to requests from Regional 
Education Service Agency (RESA) Directors and Board 
members to give RESAs the authority to charge indirect 
costs to state funded programs. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

Rule R277-424 is being amended to allow a RESA to 
charge indirect costs against state programs. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  It 
allows a RESA to charge indirect costs.  This may cause 
some increased activities within the agency that can be 
absorbed within current budgets and procedures. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have direct fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  It 
allows a RESA to charge indirect costs.  If a RESA 
chooses to charge indirect costs, this will have an impact 
on grant funding amounts received by LEAs that partner 

with the RESA.  However, these impacts would be up to 
local discretion and, therefore, would not be a direct fiscal 
impact. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule change is not expected to have direct fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  It 
allows a RESA to charge indirect costs.  If a RESA 
chooses to charge indirect costs, this will have an impact 
on grant funding amounts received by LEAs that partner 
with the RESA.  However, these impacts would be up to 
local discretion and, therefore, would not be a direct fiscal 
impact. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This rule change is not expected to have direct fiscal 
impact on revenues or expenditures for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities.  It allows a RESA to charge indirect costs.  If a 
RESA chooses to charge indirect costs, this will have an 
impact on grant funding amounts received by LEAs that 
partner with the RESA.  However, these impacts would be 
up to local discretion and, therefore, would not be a direct 
fiscal impact. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no direct compliance costs for affected persons.  
This rule change allows a RESA to charge indirect costs.  
If a RESA chooses to charge indirect costs, this will have 
an impact on grant funding amounts received by LEAs that 
partner with the RESA.  However, these impacts would be 
up to local discretion and, therefore, would not be a direct 
fiscal impact. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this rule change is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-501(1)(e) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-424.  Indirect Costs for State Programs. 

R277-424-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 

 (a)  Article X, Section 3 of the Utah Constitution, which 

vests general control and supervision over public education in the 

Board; 

 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 

make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 

the Utah Constitution and state law; and 

 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-501(1)(e), which directs the Board 

to adopt rules for financial, statistical, and student accounting 

requirements. 

 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish Board standards 

for claiming indirect costs for state programs. 

 

R277-424-2.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Direct costs" mean costs that can be easily, obviously, 

and conveniently identified by the Superintendent with a specific 

program. 

 (2)  "Indirect costs" mean the costs of providing indirect 

services. 

 (3)  "Indirect Services" mean services that cannot be 

identified with a specific program. 

 (4)  "Regional education service agency" or "RESA" the 

same as that term is defined in Section 53G-4-410. 

 [(4)](5)  "Restricted indirect cost rate" means: 
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(a)  for an LEA, a rate assigned to each LEA annually based

on the ratio of restricted indirect costs to direct costs as reported in 

the annual financial report for the specific LEA; and 

(b) for a RESA, a rate determined by the RESA, up to the

de-minimis rate when allowable. 

[(5)](6)  "Unallowable costs" mean expenditures directly 

attributable to governance, including: 

(a) salaries;

(b)  expenditures of the office of the district superintendent,

the governing board, and election expenses; and 

(c) expenditures for fringe benefits, which are associated

with unallowable salary expenditures. 

[(6)](7)  "Unrestricted indirect cost rate" means: 

(a)  for an LEA, a rate assigned to each LEA annually, based

on the ratio of unrestricted indirect costs to direct costs as reported in 

the annual financial report for the specific LEA; and 

(b) for a RESA, a rate determined by the RESA, up to the

de-minimis rate when allowable. 

R277-424-3.  Standards. 

(1)(a)  An LEA or RESA may charge indirect costs to state 

funded programs unless prohibited by Utah Code or Board Rule. 

(b)  An LEA or RESA may charge indirect costs to federally

funded programs in accordance with 2 CFR Part 200, Uniform 

Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit 

Requirements for Federal Awards. 

(2) The Superintendent may not authorize or pay indirect

costs to higher education institutions for state funded contractual 

work. 

(3)(a)  Prior to the beginning of each fiscal year, the 

Superintendent shall publish a schedule of the indirect cost rates for 

state programs. 

(b) The Superintendent shall develop the schedule from

information contained in the annual financial reports and specifically 

identified items submitted by LEAs. 

(c) Each program schedule shall include:

(i)  whether or not the restricted or unrestricted indirect cost

rate applies; and 

(ii) whether or not indirect costs are allowable or

applicable. 

(4)(a)  An LEA or RESA may recover indirect costs if funds 

are available. 

(b) If a combination of direct and indirect costs exceeds

funds available, then the LEA may not recover the total cost of the 

project or program. 

(c) Recovery of indirect costs is not optional for state

programs. 

(d) If an LEA or RESA elects to recover indirect costs, the

LEA or RESA shall use the annual rates negotiated by the 

Superintendent for [all ]applicable federal and state programs. 

(5)(a)  An LEA or RESA may only recover indirect costs 

for state programs to the extent that direct costs were incurred. 

(b) The Superintendent shall apply the indirect cost rate to

the amount expended, not to the total grant, [in order ]to determine 

the amount for indirect costs. 

KEY:  education finance 

Date of Last Change:  2022[November 7, 2017] 

Notice of Continuation:  September 13, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 

53E-3-501(1)(e); 53E-3-401(4) 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-477 Filing ID 
54126 

Agency Information 

1. Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 

2. Rule or section catchline:

R277-477.  Distributions of Funds from the Trust 
Distribution Account and Administration of the School 
LAND Trust Program 

3. Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?):

This rule is being amended to update the requirements for 
providing charter TRUST land council contact information 
on school websites and to update outdated code 
reference. 

4. Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule):

The amendments update requirements for publicizing 
contact information on charter TRUST land councils as 
outlined in Subsection R277-477-3(5)(c)(vi).  The 
amendments also update a code reference in citation 
block at the bottom of the text from Section 53A-1-401 to 
Section 53E-3-401. 

Fiscal Information 

5. Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to:
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A)  State budget: 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  It 
gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  It 
gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  It 
gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on revenues or expenditures for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities.  It gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no significant compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This rule change gives more discretion to LEAs 
on how to meet requirements in rule while still providing a 
means for interested persons to contact their community 
council representatives. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this rule change is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 
53G-7-1206 

Section 53F-2-404 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Rule R277-491 Subsection 
53F-2-404(2)(d) 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-477.  Distributions of Funds from the Trust Distribution 

Account and Administration of the School LAND Trust Program. 

R277-477-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 

 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 

general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 

 (b)  Subsection 53F-2-404(2)(d), which allows the Board 

to adopt rules regarding the time and manner in which a student count 

shall be made for allocation of funds; and 

 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 

make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 

the Utah Constitution and state law. 

 (2)  In accordance with Section 53D-2-202, through 

representation on the Land Trusts Protection and Advocacy 

Committee, the Board exercises trust oversight of: 

 (a)  the Common School Trust; 

 (b)  the School for the Deaf Trust; and 

 (c)  the School for the Blind Trust. 

 (3)  The Board implements the School LAND Trust 

program and provides oversight, support, and training for school 

community councils and Charter Trust Land Councils consistent with 

Section 53G-7-1206, Rule R277-491, and this Rule R277-477. 

 (4)  The purpose of this rule is to: 

 (a)  provide financial resources to a public school to 

implement a component of a school's Teacher and Student Success 

Plan [in order ]to enhance and improve student academic 

achievement; 

 (b)  provide a means to involve a parent of a school's 

student in decision-making regarding the expenditure of School 

LAND Trust program funds allocated to the school; 

 (c)  provide direction in the distribution of funds from the 

Trust Distribution Account, as funded in Section 53F-2-404; 

 (d)  provide for appropriate and adequate oversight of the 

expenditure and use of funds by an approving entity, school 

administration, and the Board; 

 (e)  provide for proper allocation of funds as stated in 

Section 53F-2-404, and the appropriate and timely distribution of the 

funds; 

 (f)  enforce compliance with statutory and rule 

requirements, including the responsibility for a school community 

council to notify school community members regarding the use of 

funds; and 

 (g)  define the roles, duties, and responsibilities of the 

Superintendent with regards to the School Children's Trust. 

 

R277-477-2.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Approving entity" means a school district board or a 

charter authorizer consistent with Section 53G-7-1206. 

 (2)(a)  "Charter trust land council" means a council 

comprised of a two person majority of parents or grandparents of 

students attending the charter school, elected by parents of students 

attending the charter school, convened to act in lieu of the school 

community council for the charter school. 

 (b)  "Charter trust land council" includes a charter school 

governing board if: 

 (i)  the charter governing board meets the two-parent 

majority requirement; and 

 (ii)  the charter school governing board chooses to serve as 

the charter trust land council. 

 (3)  "Council" means a school community council or a 

charter trust land council. 

 (4)  "Digital citizenship" means the same as that term is 

defined in Section 53G-7-1202. 

 (5)  "Fall enrollment report" means the audited census of 

students registered in Utah public schools as reported in the audited 

October 1 Fall Enrollment Report of the previous year. 

 (6)  "Funds" means School LAND Trust program funding 

as defined in Section 53F-2-404. 

 (7)  "Most critical academic need" means an academic 

need, consistent with the core standards in Rule R277-700, identified 

by a council through the annual review of schoolwide assessment 

data and other relevant indicators. 

 (8)  "Parent," for a charter school, includes a grandparent 

of a student currently enrolled at the school. 

 (9)(a)  "Principal" means an administrator licensed as a 

principal in the state and employed in that capacity at a school. 

 (b)  "Principal" includes the director of a charter school. 

 (10)  "Sample" means: 

 (a)  one-third of schools within a district; 
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 (b)  at least ten schools; and 

 (c)  all schools if there are less than ten schools in a district. 

 (11)  "Satellite charter school" has the same meaning as that 

term is defined in Section R277-550-2. 

 (12)  "School safety principles" has the same meaning as 

described in Section 53G-7-1202. 

 (13)  "Student" means a child in public school grades 

kindergarten through 12 counted on the fall enrollment report of an 

LEA. 

 (14)  "Teacher and Student Success Plan" or "TSSP" means 

the plan required of each school under Section 53G-7-1305. 

 (15)  "Trust Distribution Account" means the restricted 

account within the Uniform School Fund created under Subsection 

53F-9-201(2). 

 (16)  "UPEFS" means the Utah Public Education Finance 

System. 

 (17)  "Website" means the School LAND Trust website. 

 

R277-477-3.  Distribution of Funds - Local Board or Local 

Charter Board Approval of School LAND Trust Plans. 

 (1)  A public school receiving School LAND Trust program 

funds shall have: 

 (a)  a school community council as required by Section 

53G-7-1202 and Rule R277-491; 

 (b)  a charter school trust land council as required by 

Section 53G-7-1205; or 

 (c)  an approved exemption under this rule. 

 (2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a), the USDB 

Advisory Council may fill the responsibilities of a school community 

council for USDB. 

 (3)  A public school receiving School LAND Trust program 

funds shall submit a membership form consistent with the required 

membership in Subsection (1) that includes a principal assurance 

consistent with Subsection 53G-7-1206(3)(c) by October 1 annually. 

 (4)  A charter school that elects to receive School LAND 

Trust funds shall: 

 (a)  have a charter trust land council consistent with Section 

53G-7-1205; and 

 (b)  receive training about Section 53G-7-1206. 

 (5)  A charter trust land council that is not a charter 

governing board shall: 

 (a)  be subject to Section 53G-7-1203; 

 (b)  have parent or grandparent members elected by parents 

of students attending the charter school; and 

 (c)  post the following items on the school's website by 

October 1 annually: 

 (i)  an invitation to parents to serve on the Charter Trust 

Land Council; 

 (ii)  the dollar amount the school receives each year from 

the School LAND Trust program; 

 (iii)  a copy or link to the current Teacher and Student 

Success Plan; 

 (iv)  approved minutes of Charter Trust Land Council 

meetings for at least a year; 

 (v)  the proposed council meeting scheduled for the school 

year; 

 (vi)  [a telephone number, email address, or both where 

each council member can be contacted directly]a means to contact 

the members of the school's Charter Trust Land Council directly; 

 (vii)  a link or copy of the final reports of the school for the 

last two years, as required by Subsection 53G-7-1206(5); 

 (viii)  a link or copy of the school plan for the current year. 

 (6)  A charter school that is a small or special school may 

receive an exemption from the charter land trust council composition 

requirements contained in Section 53G-7-1205 upon application to 

the school's authorizer if the small or special school demonstrates and 

documents a good faith effort to recruit members to the charter trust 

land council. 

 (7)  The principal of a charter school that elects to receive 

School LAND Trust funds shall submit a plan, approved by the 

school's governing board, to the approving entity on the School 

LAND Trust website: 

 (a)  no later than April 1 for schools authorized by the State 

Charter School Board; or 

 (b)  for a newly opening charter school, no later than 

November 1 in the school's first year [in order ]to receive funding in 

the year the newly opening charter school opens. 

 (8)(a)  An approving entity: 

 (i)  shall consider a plan annually; and 

 (ii)  may approve or disapprove a school plan. 

 (b)  If an approving entity does not approve a plan, the 

approving entity shall: 

 (i)  provide a written explanation why the approving entity 

did not approve the plan; and 

 (ii)  request that the school revise the plan, consistent with 

Subsection 53G-7-1206(4)(d). 

 (9)(a)  To receive funds, the principal of a public school 

shall submit a School LAND Trust plan to the approving entity 

annually through the School LAND Trust website using the form 

provided. 

 (b)  The Board may grant an exemption to a school using 

the Superintendent-provided form, described in Subsection (8)(a), on 

a case-by-case basis. 

 (10)  In addition to the requirements of Subsection (7), the 

School LAND Trust plan described in Subsections (6) and (8)(a) shall 

include the date the council voted to approve the plan. 

 (11)(a)  The principal of a school shall ensure that a council 

member has an opportunity to provide a signature indicating the 

member's involvement in implementing the current School LAND 

Trust plan and developing the school plan for the upcoming year. 

 (b)  The principal shall collect a council member's signature 

digitally through the website. 

 (c)  An approving entity may design the approving entity's 

own form to collect the information required by this Subsection (10). 

 (12)(a)  An approving entity for a district school or a charter 

school authorized by an authorizer other than the State Charter 

School Board shall establish a timeline, including a deadline, for a 

school to submit a school's School LAND Trust plan. 

 (b)  A timeline described in Subsection (10)(a) shall: 

 (i)  require a school's School LAND Trust plan to be 

submitted to the approving entity with sufficient time so that the 

approving entity may approve the school's School LAND Trust plan 

no later than May 15 of each year; and 

 (ii)  allow sufficient time for a council to reconsider and 

amend the council's School LAND Trust plan if the approving entity 

rejects the school's plan and still allow the school to meet the May 15 

approving entity's approval deadline. 

 (c)  After an approving entity has completed the approving 

entity's review, the approving entity shall notify the Superintendent 

that the review is complete. 

 (d)  For an LEA to receive its full distribution in July, the 

LEA shall submit plans with all required approvals online no later 

than May 15. 
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(13)(a)  Prior to approving a plan, an approving entity shall 

review a School LAND Trust plan under the approving entity's 

purview to confirm that a School LAND Trust plan contains: 

(i) academic goals;

(ii) specific steps to meet the academic goals described in

Subsection (11)(a)(i); 

(iii) measurements to assess improvement; and

(iv) specific expenditures focused on student academic

improvement needed to implement plan goals. 

(b)  The approving entity shall determine whether a School

LAND Trust plan is evidence based and consistent with the 

approving entity's pedagogy, programs, and curriculum. 

(c) The president or chair of the approving entity shall

provide training annually on the requirements of Section 53G-7-1206 

to the members of the approving entity. 

(14)(a)  After receiving the notice described in Subsection 

(10)(c), the Superintendent shall review each School LAND Trust 

plan for compliance with the law governing School LAND Trust 

plans. 

(b) The Superintendent shall report back to the approving

entity concerning which School LAND Trust plans were found to be 

out of compliance with the law. 

(c) An approving entity shall ensure that a School LAND

Trust plan that is found to be out of compliance with the law by the 

Superintendent is amended or revised by the council to bring the 

school's School LAND Trust plan into compliance with the law. 

(15) If an approving entity fails to comply with Subsection

(12)(c), Superintendent may report the failure to the Audit Committee 

of the Board as described in Section R277-477-8. 

R277-477-4.  Appropriate Use of School LAND Trust Program 

Funds. 

(1) Parents, teachers, and the principal, in collaboration

with an approving entity, shall review school[-] wide assessment data 

annually and use School LAND Trust program funds in data-driven 

and evidence-based ways to improve educational outcomes, 

consistent with the academic goals of the school's teacher and student 

success plan framework under Section 53G-7-1304 and the priorities 

of the LEA governing board, including: 

(a) strategies that are measurable and show academic

outcomes with multi-tiered systems of support; and 

(b) counselors and educators working with students and

families on academic and behavioral issues when a direct impact on 

academic achievement can be measured. 

(2) A school's School LAND Trust program expenditures

shall have a direct impact on the instruction of students in the 

particular school's areas of most critical academic need and 

consistent with the academic priorities of the LEA's governing board: 

(a) to increase achievement in:

(i) English;

(ii) language arts;

(iii) mathematics; and

(iv) science; and

(b) for high schools to:

(i) increase graduation rates; and

(ii) promote college and career readiness.

(3) A school may not use School LAND Trust program

funds for the following: 

(a) costs related to district or school administration,

including accreditation; 

(b) expenses for:

(i) construction;

(ii) maintenance;

(iii) facilities;

(iv) overhead;

(v) furniture;

(vi) security; or

(vii) athletics; or

(c) expenses for non-academic in-school, co-curricular, or

extracurricular activities. 

(4) A school that demonstrates appropriate progress and

achievement consistent with the academic priorities of the LEA 

governing board outlined in Subsection (2) may request local board 

approval of a plan to address other academic goals if the plan 

includes: 

(a) how the goal is in accordance with the core standards

established in Rule R277-700; 

(b) how the action plan for the goal is:

(i) data[ ]-driven;

(ii) evidence based; and

(iii) has a direct impact on the instruction of students

consistent with Subsections (1) and (2); 

(c) the data driving the decision to spend School LAND

Trust funds for academic needs outlined in this Subsection (4); and 

(d) the anticipated data source the school will use to

measure progress. 

(5)  A council may budget and spend no more than $7,000

for an academic goal or component of an academic goal than 

incorporates any combination of the following: 

(a) digital citizenship training under Subsection 53G-7-

1202(3)(a)(iii); or 

(b) safety principles consistent with Subsection 53G-7-

1202(3)(a)(v). 

(6)  A school district or local school board may not require

a council or school to spend the school's School LAND Trust 

program funds on a specific use or set of uses. 

(7) Student incentives implemented as part of an academic

goal in the School LAND Trust program may not exceed $2 per 

student in an academic school year. 

R277-477-5.  Distribution of Funds - Determination of 

Proportionate Share. 

(1) An LEA shall report the prior year expenditure of

distributions for each school. 

(2) The total expenditures each year described in

Subsection (1) may not be greater than the total available funds for 

an LEA. 

(3)(a)  In an unanticipated circumstance, a school within an 

LEA may be allowed a small advance from a school's allocation for 

the next fiscal year when: 

(i)  the LEA has unspent School LAND Trust funds to cover

the advance; and 

(ii) the LEA governing board approves the advance.

(b) If a school receives an advance under Subsection

(3)(a): 

(i) the LEA shall decrease the beginning allocation to the

school for the next fiscal year in the same amount as the advance; and 

(ii)  restore the same advance amount to the unspent School

LAND Trust funds of the LEA. 

(c) A school's beginning School LAND Trust funds

balance for a new school year shall be: 

(i) the school's allocation for the new school year;

(ii) minus any advance approved under Subsection (3)(a);

(iii) plus any carry-over from the prior year.
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 (4)  A school district shall adjust the current year 

distribution of funds received from the School LAND Trust program 

as described in Section 53F-2-404, as necessary to maintain an equal 

per student distribution within a school district based on: 

 (a)  school openings and closings; 

 (b)  boundary changes; and 

 (c)  other enrollment changes occurring after the fall 

enrollment report. 

 (5)  An LEA shall provide the current year distribution and 

carry-over amount from the prior school year to the principal by 

October 1 annually. 

 (6)  A charter school and each of the charter school's 

satellite charter schools are a single LEA for purposes of public 

school funding. 

 (7)(a)  For purposes of this [S]section[ (5)], "qualifying 

charter school" means a charter school that: 

 (i)  would receive more funds from a per pupil distribution 

than the charter school receives from the base payment described in 

Subsection (6)(c); and 

 (ii)  is not a newly opening charter school as described in 

Subsection (7). 

 (b)  The Superintendent shall distribute the funds allocated 

to charter schools as described in this Subsection (6). 

 (c)  The Superintendent shall first distribute a base payment 

to each charter school that is equal to the product of: 

 (i)  an amount equal to the total funds available for all 

charter schools; and 

 (ii)  at least 0.4%. 

 (d)  After the Superintendent distributes the amount 

described in Subsection (6)(c), the Superintendent shall distribute the 

remaining funds to qualifying charter schools on a per pupil basis. 

 (8)(a)  The Superintendent shall distribute an amount of 

funds to a newly opening charter school that is equal to the greater 

of: 

 (i)  the base payment described in Subsection (6)(c); or 

 (ii)  a per pupil amount based on the newly opened charter 

school's projected October 1 enrollment count. 

 (b)  The Superintendent shall increase or decrease a newly 

opening charter school's first year distribution of funds in the school's 

second year to reflect the newly opening charter school's actual first 

year October 1 enrollment. 

 (9)  If a school chooses not to apply for funds or does not 

meet the requirements for receiving funds, the Superintendent shall 

deposit the unused balance in the Trust Distribution Account. 

 

R277-477-6.  School LAND Trust Program - Implementation of 

Plans and Required Reporting. 

 (1)  A school shall implement a plan as approved. 

 (2)(a)  The principal shall submit a plan amendment 

authorized by Subsection 53G-7-1206(4)(d)(iii) through the School 

LAND Trust website for approval, including the date the council 

approved the amendment and the number of votes for, against, and 

absent. 

 (b)  The approving entity shall: 

 (i)  consider the amendment for approval; 

 (ii)  approve an amendment before the school uses funds 

according to the amendment; and 

 (iii)  notify the Superintendent an amendment is ready for 

review. 

 (c)  The Superintendent shall review an amendment for 

compliance with statute and rule before the school uses funds 

according to the amendment. 

 (3)(a)  A school shall provide an explanation for any carry-

over that exceeds one-tenth of the school's allocation in a given year 

in the School LAND Trust Plan or final report. 

 (b)  The Superintendent shall recommend a district or 

school with a consistently large carry-over balance over multiple 

years for corrective action for not making adequate and appropriate 

progress on an approved plan. 

 (c)  The Superintendent may take corrective action to 

remedy excessive carry-over balances consistent with Rule R277-

114. 

 (4)  By approving a plan on the School LAND Trust 

website, the approving entity affirms that: 

 (a)  the entity has reviewed the plan; and 

 (b)  the plan meets the requirements of statute and rule. 

 (5)(a)  A district or charter school business official shall 

enter prior year audited expenditures of School LAND Trust funds 

through UPEFS consistent with UPEFS requirements and timelines. 

 (b)  The expenditure data shall appear in the final report 

submitted online by a principal, as required by Subsection 53G-7-

1206(5)(b). 

 (6)  A principal shall submit a final report on the School 

LAND Trust website annually before a School LAND Trust plan for 

the coming school year is submitted. 

 (7)  An approving entity shall ensure that a final report 

includes clear explanations of plan implementation and expenditures 

and meets the confidentiality requirements of Rule R277-487 prior to 

March 1 to allow the review required by Section R277-477-7. 

 (8)  An LEA shall provide an annual report to its governing 

board on the implementation of each school's prior year School 

LAND Trust plans by March 1 annually. 

 

R277-477-7.  Compliance Review. 

 (1)(a)  The Superintendent shall review a sample of school 

final reports for consistency with the approved school plan. 

 (b)  The Superintendent shall create a list of all schools in 

the sample whose final reports indicate that funds from the School 

LAND Trust program were expended inconsistent with the statute, 

rule, or the school's approved plan. 

 (c)  The Superintendent shall annually report a school 

described in Subsection (1)(b) to the school district contact person, 

district superintendent, and president of the local board of education 

or charter board and charter approving entity, as applicable. 

 (2)  The Superintendent may visit a school receiving funds 

from the School LAND Trust program to discuss the program, 

receive information and suggestions, provide training, and answer 

questions. 

 (3)(a)  The Superintendent shall supervise annual 

compliance reviews to review expenditure of funds consistent with 

the approved plan, allowable expenses, and the law. 

 (b)  The Superintendent shall report annually to the Board 

Audit Committee on compliance review findings and other 

compliance issues. 

 

R277-477-8.  Superintendent Responsibilities. 

 The Superintendent shall: 

 (1)  represent the Board on the Land Trusts Protection and 

Advocacy Committee in accordance with Section 53D-2-202; 

 (2)  review and approve a charter school plan on behalf of 

the State Charter School Board; 

 (3)  provide notice as necessary to the State Charter School 

Board of changes required of charter schools for compliance with 

statute and rule; 
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(4) review and approve a plan submitted by the USDB

Advisory Council as necessary; 

(5) prepare the annual distribution of funds to implement

the School LAND Trust program pursuant to Section 53F-2-404; 

(6) provide training to entities involved with the School

LAND Trust program consistent with Subsection 53G-7-1206(8); 

and 

(7) implement corrective action, if appropriate, consistent

with Rule R277-114 if an LEA or its council fails to comply with [the 

provisions of ]this rule. 

KEY:  schools, trust lands funds, school community councils 

Date of Last Change:  2022[July 20, 2021] 

Notice of Continuation:  July 28, 2021 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 

[53A-1-401]53E-3-401; 53F-2-404 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-484 Filing ID 
54127 

Agency Information 

1. Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 

2. Rule or section catchline:

R277-484.  Data Standards 

3. Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?):

This rule is being amended to update data reporting 
deadlines and clarify Utah eTranscript and Record 
Exchange (UTREx) submission requirements. 

4. Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule):

The amendments move the data reporting deadlines table 
to a document incorporated into this rule by reference, add 
new deadlines for school fees compliance, update 
deadlines, and clarify UTREx submission requirements. 

Fiscal Information 

5. Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to:

A) State budget:

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  It 
contains technical changes to UTREx submission 
requirements and adds deadlines for school fees reporting 
that already exist elsewhere in rule. 

B) Local governments:

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  It 
contains technical changes to UTREx submission 
requirements and adds deadlines for school fees reporting 
that already exist elsewhere in rule. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons):

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on small business revenues or expenditures.  It 
contains technical changes to UTREx submission 
requirements and adds deadlines for school fees reporting 
that already exist elsewhere in rule. 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons):

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on revenues or expenditures for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities.  It contains technical changes to UTREx 
submission requirements and adds deadlines for school 
fees reporting that already exist elsewhere in rule. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no significant compliance costs for affected 
persons.  The rule changes to UTREx submission 
requirements are technical in nature and the amendments 
add deadlines for school fees reporting that already exist 
elsewhere in rule. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this rule change is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-511(8) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(8)(a) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 

8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 

 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

USBE Reporting Deadlines 

Publisher Utah State Board of Education 

Date Issued 11/04/2021 

Issue, or version 1 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 
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R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-484.  Data Standards. 

R277-484-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

(1) This rule is authorized by:

(a) Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests

general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 

(b) Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to

make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 

the Utah Constitution and state law; 

(c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(8)(a), which allows the Board to

take corrective action against an education entity that fails to comply 

with Board rules; and 

(d) Subsection 53E-3-511(8), which requires the Board to

ensure LEA inclusion of data in an LEA's Student Information 

System. 

(2) The Superintendent is required to perform certain data

collection related duties essential to the operation of statewide 

educational accountability and financial systems as mandated in state 

and federal law. 

(3) The purpose of this rule is to:

(a) support the operation of required educational

accountability and financial systems by ensuring timely submission 

of data by LEAs[.]; 

(b)  support the provision of equal opportunity for students;

(c) support accuracy, efficiency, and consistency of data;

and 

(d) ensure maintenance of basic contact and demographic

information for each LEA and school. 

R277-484-2.  Definitions. 

As used in this rule and the Board Reporting Deadline 

Table incorporated by reference in this rule: 

(1) "Annual Financial Report" means an account of LEA 

revenue and expenditures by source and fund sufficient to meet the 

reporting requirements specified in Subsections 53E-3-301(3)(d) and 

(e). 

(2) "Annual Program Report" means an account of LEA 

revenue and expenditures by source and program sufficient to meet 

the reporting requirements specified in Subsections 53E-3-301(3)(d) 

and (e). 

(3) "Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for

Teachers in Utah Schools" or "CACTUS" means the [same as that 

term is defined in Subsection R277-512(1)(a).]online licensing 

database maintained by the Superintendent, which will be phased out 

and replaced by EdUcate. 

(4) "Contact information" means the name, title, email

address, and phone number for a designated individual. 

([4]5)  "Data Warehouse" means the database of 

demographic information, course taking, and test results maintained 

by the USOE on all students enrolled in Utah schools. 

(6) "Designated individual" means:

(a) an LEA governing board chair;

(b) a local administrator;

(c) a business administrator; or

(d) a school principal.

([5]7)  "EDEN" means the Education Data Exchange 

Network, the mechanism by which state education agencies are 

mandated to submit data to the U.S. Department of Education. 

(8) "EdUcate" has the same meaning as described in

Subsection R277-312-2(1). 

(9) "Fee waiver status" means the designation, maintained

in the Data Warehouse, that a student has been approved or denied 

for a fee waiver in accordance with Rule R277-407. 

(10) "Governing board chair" means the chair or president

of an LEA governing board. 

([6]11)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah 

Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 

(12) "LEA demographic information" means:

(a) the LEA name;

(b) the LEA number;

(c) the physical address;

(d) the website;

(e) a phone number; and

(f) the LEA's grade range.

(13) "Local administrator" means a district superintendent

or charter school director. 

([7]14)  "MSP" means Minimum School Program, the set 

of state supported K-12 public school funding programs. 

(15) "School demographic information" means:

(a) the school name;

(b) the school number;

(c) the physical and mailing address;

(d) the website;

(e) a phone number;

(f) the school type; and

(g) the school grade range.

([8]16)  "Schools interoperability framework" or "SIF" 

means an open global standard for seamless, real time data transfer 

and usage for Utah public schools. 

([9]17)  "Student achievement backpack" has the same 

meaning as that term is defined in Subsection 53E-3-511(1)(d). 

([10]18)  "Student information system" or "SIS" means a 

student data collection system used for Utah public schools. 

(19) "UDOH" means Utah Department of Health.

([11]20)  "Utah eTranscript and Record Exchange" or 

"UTREx" means a system that allows individual detailed student 

records to be exchanged electronically between public education 

LEAs and the Board, and allows electronic transcripts to be sent to 

any post-secondary institution, private or public, in-state or out-of-

state, that participates in the e-transcript service. 

([12]21)  "Utah Student Record Store" has the same 

meaning as that term is defined in Subsection 53E-3-511(e). 

([13]22)  "Year" means both the school year and the fiscal 

year for a Utah LEA, which runs from July 1 through June 30. 

R277-484-3.  Incorporation by Reference of Board Reporting 

Deadline Table. 

(1) This rule incorporates by reference the Board

Reporting Deadline Table dated October 1, 2021. 

(2) A copy of the Board Reporting Deadline Table is

located at: 

(a) 

http://schools.utah.gov/administrativerules/documentsincorporated; 

and 

(b) the Utah State Board of Education - 250 East 500

South, Salt Lake City, Utah - 84111. 

R277-484-[3]4.  Deadlines for Data Submission. 

(1) An LEA shall submit student level data to the Board

through UTREx. 
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 (2)  An LEA shall, by 5[:00] p.m. Mountain Standard Time 

on the date specified in [Table 1]the Board Reporting Deadline Table, 

submit reports in the format specified by the Superintendent. 

 (3)  If a deadline in [Table 1]the Board Reporting Deadline 

Table falls on a weekend or state holiday in a given year, an LEA 

shall submit the report on the next business day following the date 

specified in [Table 1]the Board Reporting Deadline Table. 

 (4)  An LEA shall assign an individual to oversee 

compliance with this rule. 

 

[TABLE 1 
 

Reporting Deadlines 
 
Report                                                  Deadline 
Adult Education - Final Report - 
  Prior Year                                             July 15 
Adult Education - Final Audit Report - 
  Prior Year                                        September 15 
Annual Assurance Letter - R277-108                     October 1 
Annual Financial Report - Prior Year                   October 1 
Annual Program Report - Prior Year                     October 1 
Bus Driver Credentials Report - 
  Current Year                                       December 15 
Bus Inventory Report                                     July 15 
CACTUS - Final Update - Current Year                     June 29 
CACTUS - Midyear Update - Current Year               November 15 
Charter School Projections                          September 15 
Classified Personnel Report - Prior Year                 July 15 
Community Development and 
  Renewal Agency Representative List                 February 28 
Driver Education Report - Prior Year                     July 15 
Emergency Preparedness Compliance Statement - 
  Prior Year                                              July 1 
Emergency Response Plan - Prior Year                      July 1 
Enrollment and Transfer Student 
  Documentation Audit - Current Year                  November 1 
ESEA Choice and Supplemental Services Report - 
  Prior Year                                             July 15 
Financial Audit Report - Prior Year                  November 30 
Fire Drill Compliance Statement - Prior Year              July 1 
Free and Reduced Price Lunch October 31 
  Enrollment Survey - Current Year                   November 15 
Home Schooled Students Report - Prior Year               July 15 
Immunization Status Report 
  (to Utah Department of Health) - Final                 June 15 
Immunization Status Report - Current Year             November 1 
LEA Budget - Next Fiscal Year                            July 15 
LEA Budget - Next Fiscal Year - 
  Planned Truth in Taxation Process                    August 15 
Membership Audit Report - Prior Year                September 15 
Negotiations Report - Current Year                    November 1 
Other Emergency (Earthquake and 
  School Violence) Drills 
  Compliance Statement - Prior Year                       July 1 
Pupil Transportation - Schedule A1 
  (Miles, Minutes, Students Report) - 
  Current Year Projected                              November 1 
Pupil Transportation Schedule B 
  (Miscellaneous Expenditure Report) - 
  Prior Year                                          November 1 
Pupil Transportation Statistics 
  Year End Report- Prior Year                            July 15 
Redevelopment Agency Taxing Entity 
  Committee Representative List                      February 28 
UTREx - Complete December 1 Update - Current Year  December 7 
UTREx - Complete October 1 Update - 
  Current Year                                      October 7 
UTREx - Revised December 1 Update - 
  Current Year - Significant Errors 
  Identified by the Superintendent or LEA            December 15 
UTREx - Revised October 1 Update - 

  Current Year 
  Significant Errors Identified by 
  the Superintendent or LEA                           October 15 
UTREx - Final Comprehensive Update - 
  Prior Year                                              July 7] 
 

R277-484-[4]5.  Adjustments to Deadlines. 

 (1)  An LEA may seek an extension of a deadline to ensure 

continuation of funding and provide more accurate information to 

allocation formulas by submitting a written request to the 

Superintendent no later than 24 hours before the specified deadline 

in Table 1. 

 (2)  An extension request shall include: 

 (a)  The reasons for the extension request; 

 (b)  The signatures of the LEA business administrator and 

superintendent or director; and 

 (c)  The date by which the LEA proposes to submit the 

report. 

 (3)  If an LEA requests an extension under Subsection (1), 

the Superintendent may do any of the following after taking into 

consideration the pattern of LEA compliance with reporting 

deadlines and the urgency of the need for the data to be submitted: 

 (a)  Approve the request and allow the MSP fund transfer 

process to continue; or 

 (b)  Deny the request and stop the MSP fund transfer 

process; or 

 (c)  Recommend corrective action to the Board in 

accordance with Rule R277-114. 

 (4)  If, after receiving an extension, an LEA fails to submit 

the report by the designated date, the MSP fund transfer process shall 

be stopped and the procedures described in Section R277-484-7 shall 

apply. 

 (5)  An extension shall apply only to the specific reports 

and dates for which an extension was requested. 

 (6)  The Superintendent may not extend deadlines for the 

following reports: 

 (a)  AFR; 

 (b)  APR; 

 (c)  Mid-year or Final CACTUS updates; 

 (d)  a Financial Audit Report; or 

 (e)  any UTREx updates. 

 (7)  Notwithstanding Subsection (6)(e), if an LEA identifies 

significant errors in a UTREx update, the Superintendent may grant 

the LEA an extension of no more than eight calendar days to file a 

new update. 

 

R277-484-[5]6.  Official Data Source and Required LEA 

Compatibility. 

 (1)  The Superintendent shall load operational data 

collections into the Data Warehouse as of the submission deadlines 

specified. 

 (2)  The Data Warehouse shall be the sole official source of 

data for annual: 

 (a)  school performance reports required under Section 

53E-5-204; 

 (b)  determination of state and federal accountability 

reports; and 

 (c)  submission of data files to the U.S. Department of 

Education via EDEN. 

 (3)  The Superintendent shall maintain a database of LEA 

and school: 
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(a) demographic information;

(b) openings;

(c) closures; and

(d) contact information for designated individuals.

([3]4)(a)  An LEA shall use an SIS approved by the 

Superintendent to ensure compatibility with Board data collection 

systems. 

(b) The Superintendent shall maintain a list of approved

student information systems. 

([4]5)  Prior to the Superintendent granting approval for an 

LEA to initiate or replace a student information system that was not 

previously approved, the LEA shall: 

(a) send written request for approval to the Superintendent

no later than November 15 of the year prior to the year the LEA 

proposes to use the SIS for production software; 

(b) submit documentation to the Superintendent that the

new or modified student information system is SIF certified; 

(c)  submit documentation to the Superintendent that an SIF

agent can meet the UTREx specifications profile for Vertical 

Reporting Framework (VRF) and eTranscripts; 

(d) ensure that a new student information system can

generate valid data collection by submitting an actual file to the 

Superintendent for review; 

(e) ensure that the new student information system can

generate the Statewide Student Identifier (SSID) request file by 

submitting an actual file to the Superintendent for review. 

([5]6)(a)  The Superintendent shall review documentation 

and grant or deny an LEA submission under Subsection (4) within 30 

calendar days. 

(b) An approved replacement system shall run in parallel

to a state-approved system for a period of at least three months and 

be able to generate duplicate reports to previously generated 

information. 

([6]7)  An LEA shall submit daily updates to the Board 

Clearinghouse using[ all] School Interoperability Framework (SIF) 

objects defined in the UTREx Clearinghouse specification. 

([7]8)  An LEA shall electronically submit all public high 

school transcripts requested by a public education post-secondary 

school if the post-secondary school is capable of receiving transcripts 

through the electronic transcript service designated by the 

Superintendent. 

([8]9)  No later than June 30, 2017, an LEA shall ensure 

that data collected in the Utah Student Record Store for a Student 

Achievement Backpack is integrated into the LEA's SIS and is made 

available to a student's parent or guardian and an authorized LEA user 

in an easily accessible viewing format. 

([9]10)  Failure to comply with any of the requirements of 

this Section R277-484-5 may result in a recommendation for 

corrective action in accordance with Rule R277-114. 

R277-484-[6]7.  Adjustments to Summary Statistics Based on 

Compliance Audits. 

(1) [For the purpose of allocating]To allocate MSP funds

and projecting enrollment, the Superintendent may modify LEA level 

aggregate membership and fall enrollment counts on the basis of the 

values in the Membership and Enrollment audit reports, respectively, 

when an audit report review team agrees that an adjustment is 

warranted by the evidence of an audit. 

(2)  An audit report review team shall make a determination

under Subsection (1) within 60 working days of the authorized audit 

report deadline. 

(3) The Superintendent may only adjust values downward

if an audit report is received after an authorized deadline. 

R277-484-[7]8.  Financial Consequences of Failure to Submit 

Reports on Time. 

(1) If an LEA fails to submit a report by its deadline as

specified in Table 1, consistent with procedures outlined in R277-

114, the Superintendent may recommend corrective action, including 

stopping the LEA's MSP funds transfer process, unless the LEA has 

obtained an extension of the deadline in accordance with the 

procedure described in Section R277-484-4. 

(2) The Superintendent may recommend loss of up to 1.0

WPU from Kindergarten or Grades 1-12 programs, depending on the 

grade level and aggregate membership of the student, in the current 

year Mid Year Update for each student whose prior year 

immunization status was not accounted for in accordance with [Utah 

Code]Section 53G-9-302 as of June 15. 

KEY:  data standards, reports, deadlines 

Date of Last Change:  2022[April 8, 2021] 

Notice of Continuation:  June 6, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 

53E-3-301(d) and (e); 53E-3-401; 53E-3-401(8)(a); 53E-3-511(8)2 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-491 Filing ID 
54128 

Agency Information 

1. Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 

2. Rule or section catchline:

R277-491.  School Community Councils 

3. Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?):
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This rule is being amended to clarify requirements for 
publicizing contact information for school community 
councils. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The amendments update the requirements for sharing 
contact information for school community councils on a 
school's website as outlined in Subsection R277-491-
4(2)(f). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  It 
gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  It 
gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  It 
gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This rule change is not expected to have significant fiscal 
impact on revenues or expenditures for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities.  It gives more discretion to LEAs on how to meet 
requirements in rule while still providing a means for 
interested persons to contact their community council 
representatives. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no significant compliance costs for affected 
persons.  This rule change gives more discretion to LEAs 
on how to meet requirements in rule while still providing a 
means for interested persons to contact their community 
council representatives. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this rule change is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 
53G-7-1203 

Section 
53G-7-1202 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 

R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-491.  School Community Councils. 

R277-491-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

(1)  This rule is authorized by:

(a) Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests

general control and supervision over public education in the Board; and 

(b) Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to

make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under the 

Utah Constitution and state law. 

(2)  The purpose of this rule is to:

(a)  provide procedures and clarifying information to a school

community council to assist the council in fulfilling school community 

council responsibilities consistent with Sections 53G-7-1202 through 

53G-7-1203; 

(b) provide direction to a local school board, school, and

school district in establishing and maintaining a school community 

council; 

(c)  provide a framework and support for improved academic

achievement of students that is locally driven from within an individual 

school; 

(d) encourage increased participation of a parent, school

employee, and others to support the mission of a school community 

council; 

(e) increase public awareness of:

(i) school trust lands;

(ii) the permanent State School Fund; and

(iii) educational excellence; and

(f) enforce compliance with the laws governing a school

community council. 

(3)  This rule does not apply to charter schools.

R277-491-2.  Definitions. 

(1) "Local school board" means the locally elected school

board designated in Section 53G-4-201. 

(2)  "Parent member" means the same as the term is defined

in Section 53G-7-1202. 

(3)(a)  "Principal" means an administrator licensed as a 

principal in the state and employed in that capacity at a school. 

(b) "Principal" includes a specific designee of the principal.

(4)  "School community" means the geographic area a school

district designates as the attendance area, with reasonable inclusion of 

a parent of a student who attends the school but lives outside the 

attendance area. 

(5) "Student" means a child in a public school, grades

kindergarten through 12, counted on the audited October 1 fall 

enrollment report. 

R277-491-3. School Community Council Member Election 

Provisions. 

(1)  In addition to the election notice requirements of Section

53G-7-1202, the principal shall provide notice of: 

(a) the location where a ballot may be cast; and

(b) the means by which a ballot may be cast, whether in

person, by mail, or by electronic transfer. 

(2)(a)  A school community council may establish a 

procedure that allows a parent to mail a ballot to the school in the event 

the distance between a parent and the voting location would otherwise 

discourage parental participation. 

(b) A mailed or hand-delivered ballot shall meet the same

timeline as a ballot voted in person. 
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 (3)(a)  A school, school district, or local school board may 

allow a parent to vote by electronic ballot through a district approved 

election process that is consistent with the election requirements in 

Subsection 53G-7-1202(5). 

 (b)  If allowed, the school or school district shall clearly 

explain on its website the opportunity to vote by electronic means. 

 (4)  In the event of a change in statute or rule affecting the 

composition of a school community council, a council member who is 

elected or appointed prior to the change may complete the term for 

which the member was elected. 

 (5)(a)  A public school that is a secure facility, juvenile 

detention facility, hospital program school, or other small or special 

school may receive School LAND Trust Program funds without having 

a school community council if the school demonstrates and documents 

a good faith effort to: 

 (i)  recruit members; 

 (ii)  have meetings; and 

 (iii)  publicize the opportunity to serve on the council. 

 (b)  A local school board shall make the determination 

whether to grant the exemption for a school described in Subsection 

(5)(a). 

 

R277-491-4.  School Community Council Principal 

Responsibilities. 

 (1)  Following an election, the principal shall enter and 

electronically sign on the School LAND Trust Program website a 

principal's assurance affirming: 

 (a)  the school community council's election; 

 (b)  that unfilled positions were filled by appointment as 

necessary, consistent with Subsection 53G-7-1202(5); and 

 (c)  that the school community council's bylaws or 

procedures comply with Sections 53G-7-1202, 53G-7-1203, and this 

rule. 

 (2)  To encourage parental involvement in a school, each year 

the principal shall post the following information on the school's 

website on or before October 1: 

 (a)  an invitation to a parent to serve on the school 

community council; 

 (b)  the dollar amount the school receives each year from the 

School LAND Trust Program; 

 (c)  a copy of or link to the school's current Teacher and 

Student Success Plan; 

 (d)  approved minutes of the school's council meetings for 

[for ]at least a year; 

 (e)  a proposed council meeting schedule for the year; 

 (f)  [direct contact information for each council member, 

including a telephone number or email address, or both]a means to 

contact the members of the school's community council directly; 

 (g)  a copy of or link to the school's plan or final report for 

the most recent two prior years, consistent with Section 53G-7-1206; 

and 

 (h)  a copy of or link to the school's current year plan. 

 

R277-491-5.  School Community Council Chair Responsibilities. 

 (1)  After the school community council election, the school 

community council shall annually elect at the council's first meeting a 

chair and vice chair in accordance with Subsection 53G-7-1202(5)(j). 

 (2)  The school community council chair shall: 

 (a)  set the agenda for every meeting; 

 (b)  conduct every meeting; 

 (c)  keep written minutes of every meeting, consistent with 

Section 53G-7-1203; 

 ([e]d)  inform council members about resources available on 

the School LAND Trust Program website; and 

 ([f]e)  welcome and encourage public participation in school 

community council meetings. 

 (3)  The chair may delegate the responsibilities established in 

this section as appropriate at the chair's discretion. 

 

R277-491-6.  School Community Council Business. 

 (1)(a)  The school community council shall adopt rules of 

order and procedure to govern a council meeting in accordance with 

Subsection 53G-7-1203(10). 

 (b)  The rules of order and procedure shall outline the process 

for: 

 (i)  electing the school community council, including: 

 (A)  the number of parent members and school employee 

members on the council; and 

 (B)  member positions beginning in odd years or even years 

to ensure half of the council members positions are open for election 

each year; 

 (ii)  selecting a chair and vice chair; 

 (iii)  removing from office a member who moves away or 

fails to attend meetings regularly; and 

 (iv)  a member to declare a conflict of interest if required by 

the local school board's policy. 

 (2)  The school community council shall: 

 (a)  report on a plan, including programs, practices, and 

expenditures at least annually to the local school board; and 

 (b)  encourage participation on the school community 

council by members of the school community and recruit a potential 

candidate to run for an open position on the council. 

 (3)(a)  The principal shall provide an annual report to the 

school community council that summarizes current safety principles 

and practices used by the school district and school to facilitate the 

school community council's responsibilities under Subsection 53G-7-

1202(3). 

 (b)  The report described in Subsection (3)(a) shall include: 

 (i)  information concerning internet filtering protocols for 

school and district devices that access the internet; 

 (ii)  local instructional practices, monitoring, and reporting 

procedures; and 

 (iii)  internet safety training provided to a student and parent 

by the school or district. 

 (4)  A school community council shall comply with the 

requirements of Subsection 53G-7-1202(3)(vi). 

 (5)  A school community council may advise and inform the 

local school board and other members of the school community 

regarding the uses of School LAND Trust Program funds. 

 (6)  A school community council may hold electronic 

meetings consistent with: 

 (a)  the policies of the local school board; and 

 (b)  the requirements of Section 53G-7-1203. 

 

KEY:  school community councils 

Date of Last Change:  2022[July 20, 2021] 

Notice of Continuation:  July 28, 2021 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 

53E-3-401(4); Title 53G, Chapter 7, Part 12 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-706 Filing ID 
54129 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R277-706.  Regional Education Service Agencies 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being amended due to feedback from Regional 
Education Service Agencies (RESAs) and State Board 
members on how to align this rule with best practices and 
consolidate reports. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The amendments to Rule R277-706 amend: 1) RESA 
annual reporting requirements; 2) the Superintendent's 
annual legislative funding request process to a 
recommendation to the Legislature to increase RESA 
budgets by a certain percentage; and 3) streamline and 
reduce RESA reporting requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  It updates 

this rule to reflect current reporting and accountability 
practices for RESAs. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  It updates 
this rule to reflect current reporting and accountability 
practices for RESAs. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impacts on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  It updates 
this rule to reflect current reporting and accountability 
practices for RESAs. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  It 
updates this rule to reflect current reporting and 
accountability practices for RESAs. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no significant compliance costs for affected 
persons.  The rule changes reflect current reporting and 
accountability practices for RESAs. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
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are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this rule change is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 
53G-4-410 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 

Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-706.  Regional Education Service Agencies. 

R277-706-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 

 (a)  the Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 

general control and supervision of public education in the Board; 

 (b)  Section 53G-4-410, which directs the Board to make 

rules regarding regional education service agencies; and 

 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which permits the Board to 

adopt rules in accordance with the Board's responsibilities. 

 (2)  The purpose of this rule is: 

 (a)  to provide definitions and procedures for school 

districts to form interlocal agreements; and 

 (b)  to provide for distribution of legislative funds to 

eligible regional education service agencies by the Board. 

 

R277-706-2.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Eligible Regional education service agency" or 

"Eligible RESA" has the same meaning as the term is defined in 

Section 53G-4-410. 

 (2)  "Regional education service agency" or "RESA" has 

the same meaning as the term is defined in Section 53G-4-410. 

 

R277-706-3.  Regional Education Service Agencies. 

 (1)  Two or more school districts may enter into an 

interlocal agreement and form regional education service agency as 

described in Section 53G-4-410. 

 (2)  An interlocal agreement described in Subsection (1) 

shall confirm or formalize a RESA as described in Subsection 53G-

4-410(4) as of the effective date of the agreement. 

 (3)  A RESA may provide services and participate in 

programs consistent with state law and Board rule, including: 

 (a)  apply for any grant or program in which an LEA may 

participate on behalf of its LEAs if the RESA has written consent 

from the LEAs that the RESA serves; 
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(b) apply for any grant or program in addition to its LEAs

in accordance with the Board rule implementing the grant or 

program; 

(c) recommend educators to USBE for licensing;

(d) provide student services as approved by the RESA's

board; 

(e) access, Board systems, on behalf of member LEAs, as

approved by the Superintendent; 

(f) elect to participate as an employer for retirement

programs in the Public Employees Contributory retirement program;[ 

and] 

(g) may receive services from or partner with any

department, division, or agency of the state, including coverage 

through the Division of Risk Management in accordance with 

Subsection 53G-4-410(3)(c); and 

(h) may charge indirect costs to a state funded program as

described in R277-424. 

(4)  A RESA does not have authority over the LEAs which

the RESA serves. 

R277-706-4.  Distribution of Funds. 

(1) The Superintendent shall distribute funds, if provided

by the Legislature, in equal amounts to each eligible regional 

education service agency if the RESA: 

(a) submits the RESA's annual report described in

Subsection R277-706-5(1)[a request for funds]; and 

(b) satisfies all requirements established by the Board.

(2) The Superintendent shall provide notice to an eligible

RESA of the deadlines and requirements for the annual report[a 

request for funds] described in Subsection (1)(a). 

(3)  Subject to legislative appropriation, the Superintendent

shall distribute funds to an eligible RESA after July 1 annually. 

(4)  The Board may provide additional funding, if available,

to a RESA without prejudice to existing legislative appropriations to 

eligible RESAs. 

(5) The Superintendent shall review the funding the

legislature appropriates to support eligible RESAs by October 1 

annually and make recommendations for consideration by the Board. 

(6) The Superintendent shall:

(a) include the RESA appropriation as a category in the

Board's annual funding requests to be considered by the Board to 

receive an increase of the appropriation up to the percentage increase 

approved for state employees during the previous fiscal year; and 

(b) including the request described in Subsection (6)(a) as

part of the Board's recommendation to the Governor's budget office 

in accordance to the budgetary procedures act. 

R277-706-5.  Eligible Regional Education Service Agency 

Responsibilities. 

(1) An eligible regional education service agency shall

submit an annual report[application for available funds] to the 

Superintendent. 

(2) An eligible RESA's annual report[application for

funds] shall include: 

(a) if amended or updated within the previous year, a copy

of the eligible RESA's completed interlocal agreement; 

(b) a proposed budget and [request for]use of funds;

(c) a [current]copy of the previous fiscal year's:

(i) external audit report, management letter, and if

applicable, corrective action plan related to audit findings; and 

(ii) financial statements[of the eligible RESA's assets and

liabilities]; and 

(d) assurance, signed by the executive director and chair

of the eligible RESA's board of directors[all parties to the interlocal 

agreement], that the eligible RESA will provide the eligible RESA's 

records to the Superintendent upon request[;] 

(e) [an annual ]a financial report from the [previous

]current fiscal year[; and 

(f)  a plan for the use and distribution of the eligible RESA's

funds for the applicable fiscal year with specific attention to: 

(i) the delivery of Utah Education Network and Telehealth

services to the LEAs within the eligible RESA; and 

(ii) the delivery of education-related services].

(3) An eligible regional service center shall provide an

annual performance report to the Superintendent and the Board.[, 

including the following information: 

(a) the eligible regional service center's delivery of Utah

Education and Telehealth Network services; 

(b) the eligible regional service center's type, amount, and

effectiveness of delivery of public and higher education related 

services; and 

(c) the eligible regional service center's coordination of

public and higher education related services.] 

R277-706-6.  Regional Education Service Agency Coordinating 

Council. 

(1) There is hereby created a regional education service

agency coordinating council. 

(2)  The council is an advisory body, which shall consist of

the following members: 

(a) the executive director of each RESA;

(b) the board chair of each RESA's governing board;

(c) A member of the Board appointed by the Board chair;

and 

(d) the Superintendent.

(3) The council created in Subsection (1) shall be chaired

by one of the RESA board chairs as selected by the council's 

members. 

(4) The regional education service agency coordinating

council shall meet at least biannually, but may meet more often if 

necessary, to coordinate with the Superintendent on implementing 

state initiatives in the areas the RESAs cover. 

KEY:  eligible regional service agencies 

Date of Last Change:  2022[December 16, 2020] 

Notice of Continuation:  August 6, 2019 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 

53G-4-410; 53E-3-401(4) 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-925 Filing ID 
54130 

Agency Information 

1. Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-
538-
7830 

Angie.stallings@schools.utah
.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R277-925.  Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools 
Incentive Program 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being amended due to passage of H.B. 323, 
High Poverty Schools Teacher Bonus Program 
Amendments, passed in the 2021 General Session which 
required USBE to: 1) establish a method for norm-
referencing available reading assessment data for grade 
4; and 2) set criteria for the purpose of determining teacher 
eligibility for salary bonuses awarded in the 2021-2022 
school year for teachers in grade 4. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The amendments to this rule include a method for norm-
referencing available reading assessment data for grade 4 
and set criteria to determine teacher eligibility for salary 
bonuses awarded in the 2021-2022 school year for 
teachers in grade 4. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  The 
amendments remove duplication and provide additional 
clarity on the USBE internal audit process. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  The 
amendments to this rule affect only the Utah School for the 
Deaf and the Blind (USDB). 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  The 
amendments to this rule affect only USDB. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  The 
amendments to this rule affect only USDB. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
amendments to this rule affect only USDB. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (NAICS 
611110).  Because there are no non-small businesses, 
they do not account for any service delivery for Elementary 
and Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses 
are not expected to receive increased or decreased 
revenues per year.  In addition, this rule change is not 
expected to have direct fiscal impact on small businesses.  
Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53F-2-513(2)(b) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 

R277-925.  Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools Incentive 

Program. 

R277-925-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 

 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 

general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 

 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 

make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 

the Utah Constitution and state law; and 

 (c)  Subsection 53F-2-513(2)(b), which requires the Board 

to make rules for the administration of the Effective Teachers in High 

Poverty Schools Incentive Program. 

 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 

 (a)  provide standards and procedures for the administration 

of the Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools Incentive 

Program; and 

 (b)  establish a method for determining teacher eligibility 

for salary bonuses awarded in the 2022-2023 school year for teachers 

in grade 4 as required in Subsection 53F-2-513(2)(b)(iv). 

 

R277-925-2.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Benchmark assessment" means the assessment 

described in Section 53E-4-307. 

 (2)  "Eligible teacher" means: 

 (a)  the same as that term is defined in Section 53F-2-513; 

and 

 (b)  a teacher who is a regular or special education 

classroom teacher. 

 (3)  "High poverty school" means the same as that term is 

defined in Section 53F-2-513. 

 (4)  "Local education agency" or "LEA" includes, for 

purposes of this rule, the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 

 (5)  "Median growth percentile" or "MGP" means the same 

as that term is defined in Section 53F-2-513. 

 (6)  "Program" means the Effective Teachers in High 

Poverty Schools Incentive Program. 

 (7)  "Standards assessment" means the assessment 

described in Section 53E-4-303. 

 (8)  "State-assessed subject" means English language arts, 

mathematics, or science. 

 

R277-925-3.  Administration of the Program. 

 (1)  On or before December 1, the Superintendent shall: 
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 (a)  identify high poverty schools and eligible teachers in 

accordance with Subsection (2); 

 (b)  distribute a list of eligible teachers to LEAs; and 

 (c)  inform LEAs of program requirements and the timeline 

for applying on behalf of an eligible teacher. 

 (2)  The Superintendent shall identify: 

 (a)  high poverty schools based on the proportion of 

students who: 

 (i)  qualify for free or reduced lunch in the current school 

year, based on: 

 (A)  the most recent end of school year enrollment 

headcounts for existing schools; or 

 (B)  the October 1 enrollment headcounts for new schools; 

and 

 (ii)  are classified as children affected by intergenerational 

poverty, as determined by the Utah Department of Workforce 

Services, for the most recent year data is available; and 

 (b)  eligible teachers by determining: 

 (i)  whether the teacher's MGP was greater than or equal to 

70: 

 (A)  for at least one state-assessed subject taught by the 

teacher; 

 (B)  as measured by student performance on a standards 

assessment; 

 (C)  two years before the current school year; and 

 (D)  excluding subjects or teachers with less than [10]ten 

tested students; or 

 (ii)  for a teacher in grades 1-3, whether at least 85% of the 

teacher's students assess as typical or better on an end of year 

benchmark assessment. 

 (3)  An eligible teacher who is part-time in a regular or 

special education classroom assignment in the current year shall 

receive a partial salary bonus based on the number of hours worked 

in the classroom assignment. 

 [(3)](4)  To receive matching funds for the program, on or 

before January 15, an LEA shall: 

 (a)  apply on behalf of an eligible teacher; and 

 (b)  provide assurances that the LEA will pay half of the: 

 (i)  teacher salary bonus; and 

 (ii)  employer-paid benefits described in Section 53F-2-

513. 

 ([4]5)(a)  Subject to legislative appropriations, on or before 

June 1, the Superintendent shall: 

 (i)  ensure that a teacher who was determined eligible under 

Subsection (1) and (2) taught at a high poverty school for the full 

school year; and 

 (ii)  distribute to an LEA that meets the criteria described 

in Subsection ([3]4) half of the: 

 (A)  teacher salary bonus; and 

 (B)  employer-paid benefits described in Section 53F-2-

513. 

 (b)  Consistent with Section 53F-2-513, the Superintendent 

may distribute the funds on a pro rata basis if the number of eligible 

applicants exceeds the amount of available funds. 

 ([5]6)(a)  An LEA or an eligible teacher may appeal 

eligibility to the Superintendent on the basis that the teacher: 

 (i)  is teaching at a high poverty school; 

 (ii)  is an eligible teacher; or 

 (iii)  has less than [10]ten tested students, but can 

demonstrate extenuating circumstances that merit an exception. 

 (b)  An LEA or eligible teacher shall provide 

documentation to the Superintendent to assist the Superintendent in 

deciding on the appeal. 

 (7)  For purposes of determining whether a teacher who 

teaches grade 4 is 

eligible for a salary bonus in the 2022-2023 school year, a teacher is 

eligible if at least 85% of the teacher's students' progress is assessed 

as typical or better based on the beginning of year to end of year 

benchmark assessment described in Section 53F-2-503 for 2020-21 

school year. 

 (8)  An LEA that intends to apply on behalf of an eligible 

teacher who teaches grade 4 for a salary bonus for the 2022-2023 

school year, shall provide the Superintendent grade 4 benchmark 

assessment data necessary to determine whether the LEA's grade 4 

teachers meet the criteria described in Subsection (7). 

 

KEY:  teachers, poverty schools, incentives 

Date of Last Change:  2022[August 12, 2021] 

Notice of Continuation:  June 4, 2021 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 

53E-3-401(4); 53F-2-513 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R309-200-5 Filing ID 
54090 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Environmental Quality 

Agency: Drinking Water 

Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

Street address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144830 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4830 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Julie Cobleigh 385-
214-
9770 

jjcobleigh@utah.gov 

Dani Zebelean 385-
278-
5110 

dzebelean@utah.gov 

Michael 
Newberry 

385-
515-
1464 

mnewberry@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R309-200-5.  Primary Drinking Water Standards 
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3. Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?):

The Division of Drinking Water (Division) is proposing to 
amend Subsection R309-200-5(5)(a) to clarify a turbidity 
limit, provide water suppliers with a consistent turbidity 
standard for membrane facilities treating surface water, 
and to correct errors in the subsection. 

4. Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule):

Subsection R309-200-5(5)(a)(i)(B) currently requires 
turbidity samples from combined filter effluent for 
conventional or direct filtration not to exceed 1 
Nephelometric Turbidity Unit (NTU) at any time.  With the 
rounding of turbidity results, the actual combined-filter-
effluent-turbidity level can be up to 1.49 NTU's and still 
meet the 1 NTU requirement.  Therefore, the proposed 
amendment revises the combined-filter-effluent-turbidity 
limit from 1 NTU to 1.0 NTU to assure compliance with the 
1 NTU requirement. 

In Subsection R309-200-5(5)(a)(ii), the reference to 
Section R309-200-7 is incorrect and is being corrected to 
Subsection R309-200-5(7); a missing period is being 
added to the last sentence in Subsection R309-200-
5(5)(a)(ii); and new turbidity performance requirements 
are being added for water suppliers using membrane 
filtration to treat surface water or groundwater under the 
direct influence of surface water.  The turbidity 
performance requirements are being added in conjunction 
with the amendment of Section R309-530-8, Membrane 
Technology. 

(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The amendment to Rule R309-530 is 
under ID 54089 in this issue, December 1, 2021, of the 
Bulletin.) 

Fiscal Information 

5. Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to:

A) State budget:

The proposed amendment is anticipated to have no 
aggregate costs or savings to the state budget because it 
has no effect on government resources needed to 
implement the amendment. 

B) Local governments:

The proposed amendment is anticipated to have no 
aggregate costs or savings to local governments.  The 
amendment only applies to a local government that owns 
or operates a public drinking water system that treats 
surface water with conventional filtration, direct filtration, 
or membrane filtration.  Other than correcting errors and 
clarifying the combined-filter-effluent-turbidity limit for 
conventional or direct filtration, the proposed amendment 

codifies turbidity performance requirements that until now 
have been set by the director with each approval of a 
membrane filtration facility.  Membrane filtration facilities 
that are properly designed, operated, and maintained can 
consistently produce filtered water turbidity levels below 
the new turbidity performance requirements. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons):

The proposed amendment is anticipated to have no 
aggregate costs or savings to small businesses.  The 
amendment only applies to a small business that owns or 
operates a public drinking water system that treats surface 
water with conventional filtration, direct filtration, or 
membrane filtration.  Other than correcting errors and 
clarifying the combined-filter-effluent-turbidity limit for 
conventional or direct filtration, the proposed amendment 
codifies turbidity performance requirements that until now 
have been set by the director with each approval of a 
membrane filtration facility.  Membrane filtration facilities 
that are properly designed, operated, and maintained can 
consistently produce filtered water turbidity levels below 
the new turbidity performance requirements. 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons):

The proposed amendment is anticipated to have no 
aggregate costs or savings to non-small businesses.  The 
amendment only applies to a non-small business that 
owns or operates a public drinking water system that treats 
surface water with conventional filtration, direct filtration, 
or membrane filtration.  Other than correcting errors and 
clarifying the combined-filter-effluent-turbidity limit for 
conventional or direct filtration, the proposed amendment 
codifies turbidity performance requirements that until now 
have been set by the director with each approval of a 
membrane filtration facility.  Membrane filtration facilities 
that are properly designed, operated, and maintained can 
consistently produce filtered water turbidity levels below 
the new turbidity performance requirements. 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):

The proposed amendment is anticipated to have no 
aggregate costs or savings to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state government, or 
local governments.  The amendment applies to public 
water systems that treat surface water with conventional 
filtration, direct filtration, or membrane filtration.  Other 
than correcting errors and clarifying the combined-filter-
effluent-turbidity limit for conventional or direct filtration, 
the proposed amendment codifies turbidity performance 
requirements that until now have been set by the director 
with each approval of a membrane filtration facility.  
Membrane filtration facilities that are properly designed, 
operated, and maintained can consistently produce filtered 
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water turbidity levels below the new turbidity performance 
requirements. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

The proposed amendment is expected to have no new 
compliance costs for most affected persons, which are 
public water systems that treat surface water with 
conventional filtration, direct filtration, or membrane 
filtration.  Other than correcting errors and clarifying the 
combined-filter-effluent-turbidity limit for conventional or 
direct filtration, the proposed amendment codifies turbidity 
performance requirements that until now have been set by 
the director with each approval of a membrane filtration 
facility.  Most of the current membrane facilities are able to 
meet the new turbidity performance standards.  Three very 
small membrane facilities may not be able, as currently 
operated, to consistently meet the new standard. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

The proposed amendment will have no fiscal impact on 
businesses in Utah.  Kimberly Shelley, Executive Director 
 

6. A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kimberly Shelley, has reviewed 
and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Subsection 
19-4-104(1)(a)(i) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tim Davis, 
Director 
 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 

R309-200.  Monitoring and Water Quality: Drinking Water 

Standards. 

R309-200-5.  Primary Drinking Water Standards. 

 

. . . . . . . 

 

 (5)  TURBIDITY 

 (a)  All public water systems using surface water or ground 

water under the direct influence of surface water shall provide treatment 

consisting of both disinfection, as specified in R309-200-5(7)(a), and 

filtration treatment which complies with the requirements of paragraph 

(i), (ii) or (iii) of this section. 
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 (i)  Conventional filtration treatment or direct filtration. 

 (A)  For systems using conventional filtration or direct 

filtration, the turbidity level of representative samples of a system's 

combined filtered effluent water shall be less than or equal to 0.3 NTU 

in at least 95 percent of the measurements taken each month, measured 

as specified in R309-200-4(3) and R309-215-9. 

 (B)  The turbidity level of representative samples of a system's 

combined filtered effluent water shall at no time exceed 1.0 NTU, 

measured as specified in R309-200-4(3) and R309-215-9. 

 (C)  A system that uses lime softening may acidify 

representative samples prior to analysis using a protocol approved by 

the Director. 

 (ii) Filtration technologies other than conventional filtration 

treatment, direct filtration, slow sand filtration, or diatomaceous earth 

filtration.  A public water system may use a filtration technology not 

listed in paragraph (i) or (iii) of this subsection if it demonstrates to the 

Director, using pilot plant studies or other means, that the alternative 

filtration technology, in combination with disinfection treatment that 

meets the requirements of R309-200-5(7), consistently achieves 99.9 

percent removal and/or inactivation of Giardia lamblia cysts and 99.99 

percent removal and/or inactivation of viruses, and 99 percent removal 

of Cryptosporidium oocysts, and the Director approves the use of the 

filtration technology.  For each approval, the Director will set turbidity 

performance requirements that the system shall meet at least 95 percent 

of the time and that the system may not exceed at any time at a level that 

consistently achieves 99.9 percent removal and/or inactivation of 

Giardia lamblia cysts, 99.99 percent removal and/or inactivation of 

viruses, and 99 percent removal of Cryptosporidium oocysts.  For 

alternative filtration technology using membrane filtration, the turbidity 

performance requirements shall be a turbidity level of less than or equal 

to 0.1 NTU in at least 95 percent of the measurements taken each month 

and that at no time exceeds 0.5 NTU, measured as specified in 

Subsection R309-200-4(3) and Section R309-215-9. For alternative 

filtration technology other than membrane filtration, [T]the turbidity 

level of representative samples shall at no time exceed 5.0 NTU for any 

treatment technique, measured as specified in R309-215-9(1)(c) and (d). 

 (iii)  The turbidity limit for slow sand filtration and 

diatomaceous earth filtration shall be less than or equal to 1.0 NTU in at 

least 95 percent of the measurements taken each month, measured as 

specified in R309-215-9(1)(c) and (d).  For slow sand filtration only, if 

the Director determines that the system is capable of achieving 99.9 

percent removal and inactivation of Giardia lamblia cysts at some 

turbidity level higher than 1.0 NTU in at least 95 percent of the 

measurements, the Director may substitute this higher turbidity limit for 

that system.  The turbidity level of representative samples shall at no 

time exceed 5.0 NTU for any treatment technique, measured as 

specified in R309-215-9(1)(c) and (d). 

 (c)  Ground water sources not under the direct influence of 

surface water: 

 (i)  The following turbidity limit applies to community water 

systems only. 

 (ii)  The limit for turbidity in drinking water from ground 

water sources not under the direct influence of surface sources is 5.0 

NTU based on an average for two consecutive days pursuant to R309-

205-8(3). 

. . . . . . . 

 

KEY:  drinking water, quality standards, regulated contaminants 

Date of Last Change:  2022[January 15, 2019] 

Notice of Continuation:  March 12, 2020 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-4-104 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE: Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R309-530 Filing ID 
54089 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Environmental Quality 

Agency: Drinking Water 

Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

Street address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144830 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4830 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Julie Cobleigh 385-
214-
9770 

jjcobleigh@utah.gov 

Dani Zebelean 385-
278-
5110 

dzebelean@utah.gov 

Michael 
Newberry 

385-
515-
1464 

mnewberry@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R309-530.  Facility Design and Operation:  Alternative 
Surface Water Treatment Methods 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The Division of Drinking Water (Division) is proposing to 
amend three sections in Rule R309-530 to provide 
detailed design and construction standards for membrane 
filtration facilities treating surface water and groundwater 
under the direct influence of surface water and to update 
certain requirements for all types of alternative filtration. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

Section R309-530-4 is being edited for clarity and new 
requirements for the collection of source water quality data 
are being added for all types of alternative filtration. 
 
Section R309-530-8 currently has minimal requirements 
for the design, construction, and operation of membrane 
filtration facilities.  It requires a water supplier that 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

42 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 

proposes the use of membrane filtration to do a pilot study.  
It also requires a membrane treatment facility to have an 
on-line particle counter for the final effluent and an 
automatic membrane integrity test system.  That is the 
extent of the current requirements. 
 
The proposed amendment to Section R309-530-8 adds 
extensive requirements for the design, construction, and 
operation of membrane facilities that treat surface water or 
groundwater under the direct influence of surface water.  
The proposed amendment includes a new section title 
(Membrane Filtration), 25 new definitions, and a new 
applicability subsection.  It also includes new requirements 
for challenge testing of proposed membrane modules, 
pilot testing of proposed membrane modules, preparation 
of a preliminary design report, facility design, facility start-
up, obtaining an operating permit, membrane integrity 
testing and monitoring, membrane replacement, and 
calibration of instrumentation. 
 
Additionally, Section R309-530-8 currently requires the 
director to establish turbidity limits for a membrane facility 
and requires plant effluent to meet the primary drinking 
water standards for turbidity.  Since these requirements 
are already included in a subsection of another rule, 
Subsection R309-200-5(5), the amendment removes the 
repetitive requirements from Section R309-530-8 and 
replaces them with references to Subsection R309-200-
5(5). 
 
Section R309-530-9 is being amended to remove a 
reference to a technology verification program that no 
longer exists and to replace an incorrectly used word 
(insure). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The proposed amendment is anticipated to have no 
aggregate costs or savings to the state budget because it 
has no effect on government resources needed to 
implement the amendment. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

The proposed amendment will have no aggregate costs or 
savings for the majority of local governments because it 
only applies to a local government that owns or operates 
a public water system that either has, or plans to construct, 
a membrane filtration facility to treat surface water. 
 
Because the amendment codifies industry design 
standards and the process currently used by the Division 
to review and approve a membrane filtration treatment 
facility, it is anticipated to have no new incremental costs 
or savings for proposed facilities. 
 

The aggregate compliance costs are unquantifiable for the 
approximately 10 existing membrane filtration facilities 
owned or operated by local governments because there is 
no way to predict what, if anything, will need to be done by 
a particular water supplier to comply with a requirement of 
the proposed amendment. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The proposed amendment will have no aggregate costs or 
savings for the majority of small businesses because it 
only applies to a small business that owns or operates a 
public water system that either has, or plans to construct, 
a membrane filtration facility to treat surface water. 
 
Because the amendment codifies industry design 
standards and the process currently used by the Division 
to review and approve a membrane filtration treatment 
facility, it is anticipated to have no new incremental costs 
or savings for proposed facilities. 
 
The aggregate compliance costs are unquantifiable for the 
approximately five existing membrane filtration facilities 
owned or operated by small businesses because there is 
no way to predict what, if anything, will need to be done by 
a particular water supplier to comply with a requirement of 
the proposed amendment. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The proposed amendment will have no aggregate costs or 
savings for the majority of non-small businesses because 
it only applies to a non-small business that owns or 
operates a public water system that either has, or plans to 
construct, a membrane filtration facility to treat surface 
water. 
 
Because the amendment codifies industry design 
standards and the process currently used by the Division 
to review and approve a membrane filtration treatment 
facility, it is anticipated to have no new incremental costs 
or savings for proposed facilities. 
 
The aggregate compliance costs are unquantifiable for the 
approximately seven existing membrane filtration facilities 
owned or operated by non-small businesses because 
there is no way to predict what, if anything, will need to be 
done by a particular water supplier to comply with a 
requirement of the proposed amendment. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The proposed amendment applies to public water 
suppliers that either have, or plan to construct, membrane 
filtration facilities to treat surface water. 
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Because the amendment codifies industry design 
standards and the process currently used by the Division 
to review and approve a membrane filtration treatment 
facility, it is anticipated to have no new incremental costs 
or savings for proposed facilities. 

The aggregate compliance costs are unquantifiable for the 
approximately 22 existing membrane filtration facilities 
owned or operated by public water suppliers because 
there is no way to predict what, if anything, will need to be 
done by a particular water supplier to comply with a 
requirement of the proposed amendment. 

F) Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?):

The proposed amendment is likely to have no new 
compliance costs for a water supplier designing and 
constructing a new membrane treatment facility to provide 
drinking water.  Although the proposed amendment is 
substantially longer and more detailed than the current 
membrane treatment section of the rule, it is primarily 
codifying the current process followed by the Division for 
review and approval of membrane filtration facilities used 
for drinking water treatment. 

The compliance costs are unquantifiable for an existing 
membrane filtration facility owned or operated by a public 
water supplier because there is no way to predict what, if 
anything, will need to be done by a particular water 
supplier to comply with a requirement of the proposed 
amendment. 

G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

The proposed amendment will have no fiscal impact on 
businesses in Utah that do not own or operate public 
drinking water systems. 

The proposed amendment will have no new fiscal impact 
on a business in Utah that owns or operates a public water 
system and proposes to design and construct a new 
membrane treatment facility to provide drinking water. 

The proposed amendment could have a fiscal impact on a 
business that owns or operates an existing membrane 
filtration system providing public drinking water if it had to 
retrofit the facility to comply with a requirement of the 
proposed amendment.  The fiscal impact in such case is 
unquantifiable because of the unique nature of what, if 
anything, would need to be retrofitted. 

Kimberly Shelly, Executive Director 

6. A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kimberly Shelley, has reviewed 
and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Subsection 
19-4-104(1)(a)(ii)

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 
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10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tim Davis, 
Director 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 

R309-530.  Facility Design and Operation:  Alternative Surface 

Water Treatment Methods. 

R309-530-4.  General. 

 (1)  Alternative Methods. 

 In addition to conventional surface water treatment,[ method 

(i.e.] coagulation, sedimentation, and filtration as outlined in Rule R309-

525[)], several alternative filtration methods may [also ]be suitable for 

treating surface water.  They are[:] [D]direct [F]filtration[;], [S]slow 

[S]sand [F]filtration[;], [M]membrane [F]filtration[;], and 

[D]diatomaceous [E]earth [F]filtration. 

 (2)  Incorporation of Other Rules. 

 [For each process described in this section pertinent rules are 

given.  The designer shall also incorporate the relevant rules given in 

other sections into the plans and specifications for any of these 

specialized treatment methods.  Where applicable, the following topics 

shall be addressed:]The following requirements are incorporated into 

Sections R309-530-5 through R309-530-9 for alternative surface water 

treatment methods. 

 (a)  Plant Siting, [(see ]Section R309-525-6[)]. 

 (b)  Pre-design Submittal, [(see ]Subsection R309-515-

5(2)[)]. 

 (c)  Plant Reliability, [(see ]Section R309-525-7[)]. 

 (d)  Color Coding and Pipe Marking, [(see ]Section R309-

525-8[)]. 

 (e)  Chemical Addition, [(see ]Section R309-525-11[)]. 

 (f)  Miscellaneous Plant Facilities, [(see ]Section R309-525-

17, [particularly]including [s]Sub[-]section R309-525-17(1), 

Laboratory[)]. 

 (g)  Operation and Maintenance Manuals, [(see ]Section 

R309-525-19[)]. 

 (h)  Safety, [(see ]Section R309-525-21[)]. 

 (i)  Disposal of Treatment Plant Waste, [(see ]Section R309-

525-23[)]. 

 (j)  Disinfection, [(see ]Rule R309-520[)]. 

 (3)  Source Water Quality Data. 

 (a)  A water supplier proposing to use alternative filtration to 

treat surface water or groundwater under the direct influence of surface 

water shall obtain sufficient source water quality data to: 

 (i)  determine the feasibility of alternative filtration treatment; 

 (ii)  identify substances that may affect the alternative 

filtration process and finished water quality; 

 (iii)  estimate productivity of the alternative filtration process; 

and 

 (iv)  determine if seasonal variation is substantial enough to 

affect design. 

 (b)  Source water quality data required by Subsection R309-

530-4(3) shall be collected no more than two years prior to the date that 

plans and specifications for a treatment facility are submitted to the 

division. 

 (c)  The source water quality data for alternative filtration 

shall include at least: 

 (i)  one round of sampling for the contaminants required for 

initial analysis by Subsection R309-515-4(5); and 

 (ii)  four quarters of sampling collected over a period of 12 

months for: 

 (A)  alkalinity; 

 (B)  pH; 

 (C)  temperature; 

 (D)  total organic carbon; 

 (E)  total suspended solids; 

 (F)  turbidity; and 

 (G)  any additional parameter needed to design the treatment 

facility as determined by consultation with the division. 

 (d)  No later than the date that plans and specifications for an 

alternative filtration facility are submitted to the division, a water 

supplier shall also submit: 

 (i)  a summary of source water quality data used to design the 

facility; and 

 (ii)  a description of how the source water quality data address 

items (i) through (iv) of Subsection R309-530-4(3)(a). 

 

[R309-530-8.  Membrane Technology. 

 (1)  Acceptability. 

 Surface waters, or groundwater under the direct influence of 

surface water (UDI), may be treated using membrane technology 

(microfiltration, ultrafiltration, nanofiltration) coupled with "primary 

and secondary disinfection." 

 (2)  Pilot Plant Study. 

 Because this is a relatively new technology, appropriate 

investigation shall be conducted by the public water system to assure 

that the process will produce the required quality of water at a cost which 

can be borne by the public water system consumers.  A pilot plant study 

shall be conducted prior to the commencement of design.  The study 

must be conducted in accordance with EPA's Environmental 

Technology Verification Program (ETV) or the protocol and treated 

water parameters must be approved prior to conducting any testing by 

the Director. 

 (3)  Design Requirements. 

 The following items shall be addressed in the design of any 

membrane technology plant intended to provide microbiological 

treatment of surface waters or groundwater "UDI:" 

 (a)  The facility shall be equipped with an on-line particle 

counter on the final effluent. 

 (b)  The facility shall be equipped with an automatic 

membrane integrity test system. 

 (4)  The Director shall establish the turbidity limit for 95% of 

turbidity measurements and the maximum turbidity limit which shall not 

be exceeded.  The plant effluent shall meet the requirements of R309-

200-5(5)(a)(ii).] 

R309-530-8.  Membrane Filtration. 

 (1)  Definitions. 

 (a)  "Backwash" means the cleaning operation that 

typically involves periodic reverse flow to remove foulants 

accumulated at the membrane surface or the intermittent waste 

stream from a microfiltration or ultrafiltration membrane system. 
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(b) "Baseline Response" means the amount of airflow or

pressure decay due to diffusion of air through water in wetted pores 

or membrane material in an integral membrane unit. 

(c)  "Challenge Test" means a study conducted to determine

the removal efficiency, known as the log removal value, of a 

membrane material for a particular organism, particulate, or 

surrogate. 

(d) "Chemically Enhanced Backwash" means a backwash

process that includes the addition of chemicals to reduce or remove 

membrane foulants. 

(e) "Clean-in-Place (CIP)" means the periodic application

of a chemical solution, or series of chemical solutions, to a membrane 

unit for the intended purpose of removing accumulated foulants and thus 

restoring permeability and resistance to baseline levels; commonly used 

term for in-situ chemical cleaning. 

(f) "Concentrate" means the continuous waste stream,

typically consisting of concentrated dissolved solids, from a 

membrane process, usually in association with nanofiltration and 

reverse osmosis processes; in some cases, also used to describe a 

continuous bleed stream of concentrated suspended solids wasted 

from microfiltration and ultrafiltration systems operated in a 

crossflow, or feed-and-bleed, hydraulic configuration. 

(g) "Control Limit" means a response from an integrity

test, which, if exceeded, indicates a potential problem with the 

membrane filtration system and triggers a response; synonymous 

with "upper control limit" as used in the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency's Membrane Filtration Guidance Manual, EPA 

815-R-06-009, to distinguish from additional voluntary or State-

mandated "lower control limits." 

(h) "Differential Pressure" means pressure drop across a

membrane module or unit from the feed inlet to concentrate outlet, as 

distinguished from transmembrane pressure, which represents the 

pressure drop across the membrane barrier. 

(i) "Direct Integrity Test (DIT)" means a physical test

applied to a membrane unit to identify and isolate integrity breaches. 

(j) "Feedwater" means the influent stream to a water

treatment process. 

(k) "Filtrate" means the water produced from a membrane

filtration unit. 

(l) "Foulant" means a substance that causes fouling.

(m) "Fouling" means the gradual accumulation of

contaminants on a membrane surface or within a porous membrane 

structure that inhibits the passage of water, thus decreasing 

productivity. 

(n) "Flux" means the filtration rate of a membrane

filtration system expressed as flow per unit of membrane area, such 

as gallons per square foot per day. 

(o) "Indirect Integrity Monitoring" means monitoring

some aspect of filtrate water quality that is indicative of the removal 

of particulate matter. 

(p) "Log Removal Value (LRV)" means the filtration

removal efficiency for a target organism, particulate, or surrogate 

expressed as log10; LRV = log10(feed concentration) -- log10(filtrate 

concentration). 

(q) "Maintenance Clean" means a routine, short-duration

chemical cleaning to minimize the accumulation of foulants. 

(r)  "Membrane Unit" means a group of membrane modules

that share common valving that allows the unit to be isolated from 

the rest of the system for integrity testing or other maintenance. 

(s) "Membrane Module" means the smallest component of

a membrane unit in which a specific membrane surface area is housed 

in a device with a filtrate outlet structure. 

(t) "Normalized Flux" means the filtration rate of a

membrane filtration system expressed as flow per unit of membrane 

area, such as gallons per square foot per day, at a given reference 

temperature for monitoring system productivity independent of 

changes in water temperature. For microfiltration, ultrafiltration, and 

membrane cartridge filtration, 20 degrees Celsius is used for 

normalization. For nanofiltration and reverse osmosis, 25 degrees 

Celsius is used for normalization. 

(u) "Productivity" means the amount of filtered water that

can be produced from a membrane module, filtration unit, or system 

over a period of time, accounting for the use of filtrate in backwash 

and chemical cleaning operations, as well as otherwise productive 

time that a unit or system is offline for routine maintenance processes 

such as backwashing, chemical cleaning, integrity testing, or repair. 

(v) "Recovery" means the volumetric percent of feedwater

that is converted to filtrate in the treatment process over the course of 

an operating cycle uninterrupted by chemical cleaning or a solids-

removal process such as backwashing and excluding losses that occur 

due to the use of filtrate in backwashing or cleaning operations. 

(w) "Resolution" means the size of the smallest integrity

breach that contributes to a response from a DIT; also applicable to 

some indirect integrity monitoring methods. 

(x) "Sensitivity" means the maximum LRV that can be

reliably verified by a DIT; also applicable to some continuous 

indirect integrity monitoring methods. 

(y) "Transmembrane Pressure (TMP)" means the

difference in pressure from the feed, or feed-concentrate average, if 

applicable, to the filtrate across a membrane barrier. 

(2) Applicability. The requirements of Section R309-530-

8 apply to membrane filtration used to treat surface water or 

groundwater under the direct influence of surface water to: 

(a) obtain LRV credit for Giardia, Cryptosporidium, and

viruses; 

(b) meet the turbidity treatment technique requirements of

Rule R309-200; or 

(c)  meet the filtration treatment technique requirements for

enhanced treatment for Cryptosporidium of Section R309-215-15. 

(3) Turbidity Treatment Technique and Performance

Requirements. 

(a) The turbidity treatment technique and turbidity

performance requirements for a water system using membrane 

filtration to treat surface water or groundwater under the direct 

influence of surface water are specified in Subsection R309-200-

5(5)(a)(ii). 

(b) To receive log removal credit for Giardia,

Cryptosporidium, or viruses under Subsection R309-200-5(5)(a)(ii), 

a membrane shall: 

(i) meet the definition of membrane filtration in Rule

R309-110; 

(ii) be capable of establishing removal efficiency through

product-specific challenge testing and direct integrity testing; and 

(iii) undergo direct integrity testing and continuous

indirect integrity monitoring during operation. 

(4) Challenge Testing of Membrane Modules and LRV 

Credit. 

(a)  A membrane module proposed for treatment of surface

water or groundwater under the direct influence of surface water 

shall: 

(i) undergo product-specific challenge testing meeting the

requirements of Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(ii) to evaluate the 

membrane's removal efficiency; and 
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 (ii)  either have NSF/ANSI 419 certification or be accepted 

by a state with a public drinking water program approved by U.S. 

EPA. 

 (b)  A water supplier shall submit challenge test results for 

a proposed membrane module to the division for review prior to pilot 

testing and facility design. 

 (c)  The division shall award a maximum LRV credit for 

Giardia, Cryptosporidium, and viruses to a membrane module 

proposed by a water supplier to be used for design of a membrane 

filtration facility. 

 (d)  A water supplier shall verify an LRV credit awarded to 

a membrane module by direct integrity testing meeting the 

requirements of Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iii) during normal 

operation of a constructed membrane filtration facility. 

 (5)  Pilot Test or Comparable Full-Scale Membrane 

Filtration Operational Data. Prior to design of a membrane filtration 

facility, a water supplier shall: 

 (a)  complete a pilot test of a proposed membrane module; 

or 

 (b)  request and receive approval from the division to use 

comparable operational data from a full-scale membrane facility 

treating water of the same or similar quality for a proposed membrane 

module. 

 (6)  Pilot Test Protocol. 

 (a)  Prior to initiating a pilot test, a water supplier shall: 

 (i)  submit a test protocol to the division for review; and 

 (ii)  receive written concurrence with the protocol from the 

division. 

 (b)  The pilot test protocol shall specify the: 

 (i)  source of water for the test; 

 (ii)  membrane module selected for the test; 

 (iii)  number of membrane modules to be tested for the full 

duration of the pilot test; 

 (iv)  test duration, including number of clean-in-place 

cycles; 

 (v)  time of year to perform the test; 

 (vi)  objectives of the test, including operating procedures 

to analyze the optimal balance among: 

 (A)  flux; 

 (B)  productivity; 

 (C)  backwash frequency; 

 (D)  maintenance-clean frequency; and 

 (E)  clean-in-place frequency; 

 (vii)  hydraulic configuration to match the full-scale 

system; 

 (viii)  continuous operational parameter monitoring for 

each filter run, including: 

 (A)  elapsed run time; 

 (B)  feedwater, filtrate, and concentrate pressure; 

 (C)  feedwater, filtrate, and concentrate flow; and 

 (D)  feedwater or filtrate temperature; 

 (ix)  water quality monitoring of the feedwater, filtrate, and 

concentrate, including: 

 (A)  parameters to be sampled; and 

 (B)  frequency of sample collection; 

 (x)  backwash process, including chemical enhancement, 

and data collection; 

 (xi)  maintenance-clean process; 

 (xii)  clean-in-place process, including: 

 (A)  data collection; and 

 (B)  direct integrity testing prior to returning the pilot unit 

to service; 

 (xiii)  direct integrity testing process and data collection; 

 (xiv)  indirect integrity monitoring process and data 

collection; 

 (xv)  prescreening to protect membrane plugging or 

damage; 

 (xvi)  pretreatment required for membrane treatment 

efficiency and removal of substances not removed by membrane 

treatment; 

 (xvii)  post-treatment required; and 

 (xviii)  waste disposal. 

 (7)  Preliminary Design Report. 

 (a)  Prior to submitting plans and specifications to the 

division, a water supplier proposing a new or modified membrane 

filtration facility shall: 

 (i)  submit a preliminary design report to the division that 

establishes design parameters for a full-scale membrane filtration 

facility that meets the requirements of Section R309-530-8; and 

 (ii)  receive written concurrence with the report from the 

division. 

 (b)  The preliminary design report shall include: 

 (i)  a summary of pilot test results or comparable full-scale 

membrane operational data addressing each of the items listed in 

Subsection R309-530-8(6), Pilot Test Protocol; 

 (ii)  preliminary design specifications for membrane 

filtration, including: 

 (A)  flux operating range; 

 (B)  differential pressure operating range; 

 (C)  recovery; 

 (D)  productivity; 

 (E)  membrane fouling potential based on pilot test results; 

 (F)  membrane removal efficiency, LRV, verified during the 

pilot test; 

 (G)  total membrane area per module; and 

 (H)  number of membrane modules for the full-scale 

facility. 

 (iii)  treatment objectives based on source water quality, 

including: 

 (A)  potential of the treated water to produce disinfection 

byproducts when chlorine is added for disinfection prior to 

distribution; and 

 (B)  potential of the filtration process to produce corrosive 

water and the need for chemical conditioning of the filtrate prior to 

distribution; 

 (iv)  design capacity and its basis; 

 (v)  mode of filtration operation -- constant flux or constant 

pressure; 

 (vi)  expected useful life of selected membranes; 

 (vii)  identification of critical components to be provided in 

duplicate to assure continued operation of membrane filtration in the 

case of a component failure; 

 (viii)  details of direct integrity testing representative of an 

integral membrane filtration unit, including: 

 (A)  description of the testing procedure; 

 (B)  method of direct integrity testing meeting the 

requirements of Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iii); 

 (C)  frequency of testing meeting the requirements of 

Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iii)(F); 

 (D)  estimated test resolution meeting the requirements of 

Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iii)(B); 

 (E)  estimated test sensitivity meeting the requirements of 

Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iii)(C); 
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(F) for pressure-based testing, calculations that

demonstrate how the measured pressure or flow is converted to an 

equivalent LRV; 

(G) for marker-based testing, identification of:

(I) the particulate or molecular marker; and

(II) how the marker will be discretely quantified or

measured; 

(H) estimated control limit meeting the requirements of

Subsections R309-215-15(18)(b)(iii)(D) and (E); and 

(I) for pressure-based testing, a baseline response if

applicable, and how it was determined. 

(ix) details of continuous indirect integrity monitoring of

filtrate quality from each membrane filtration unit, including: 

(A) description of the monitoring procedure;

(B) method of continuous indirect integrity monitoring

meeting the requirements of Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iv); 

(C) frequency of monitoring meeting the requirements of

Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iv)(B); 

(D)  estimated performance-based control limit meeting the

requirements of Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iv)(D) or (E); and 

(E) triggers for initiating a DIT meeting the requirements

of Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iv)(D) or (E); 

(x) details of the backwashing process and chemically

enhanced backwashing process for membranes requiring 

backwashing, including: 

(A) triggers for initiating the processes;

(B) backwashing and chemically enhanced backwashing

frequencies; 

(C) duration of processes;

(D) water supply for backwashing;

(E) chemical supply for enhanced backwashing;

(F) list of chemicals used for chemically enhanced

backwashing; 

(G) treatment and disposal of backwash water and

chemicals at completion of the processes; 

(H) backwash-water recycling; and

(I) description of cross-connection control for the

chemically enhanced backwashing process; 

(xi)  details of the maintenance-clean process and the clean-

in-place process for membranes requiring chemical cleaning, 

including: 

(A) triggers for initiating the process;

(B) process frequency;

(C) chemical supply for the process;

(D) list of chemicals used in the cleaning process;

(E) heating requirements for the cleaning solution;

(F) cleaning-solution recirculation;

(G) soak cycle;

(H) chemical recycling;

(I) post-CIP process for verification that the chemical

concentration was adequate for the cleaning cycle; 

(J) post-cleaning requirements for returning a membrane

unit to filtration, including: 

(I) backwashing or flushing;

(II) direct integrity testing; and

(III) disposal of chemical waste stream and rinse water;

and 

(K)  description of cross-connection control for the process.

(8) Design Criteria.

(a) See Subsection R309-530-4(3) for source water quality

data collection and submission requirements that a water supplier 

shall meet no later than the date that plans and specifications are 

submitted to the division. 

(b) Treatment Capacity of a Membrane Filtration Facility.

(i) A membrane filtration facility that provides the sole

source of water to a water system shall be capable of meeting peak 

day demand at the lowest feedwater temperature when the largest 

membrane unit is out of service by providing either: 

(A) one redundant membrane unit; or

(B) multiple membrane units with excess treatment

capacity for each unit at maximum design flux. 

(ii) A membrane filtration facility that provides the sole

source of water to a noncommunity water system that can discontinue 

water service and shut down does not have to be capable of meeting 

peak day demand when the largest membrane unit is out of service. 

(iii) The treatment capacity of a membrane filtration

facility shall account for the: 

(A) use of filtrate for backwashing and chemical cleaning;

(B) loss of concentrate; and

(C)  loss of filtrate from flushing membranes after chemical

cleaning. 

(c) Redundancy of Critical Components.

(i) A membrane filtration facility that provides the sole

source of water to a water system shall provide critical components 

needed to maintain continuous operation of the filtration process, as 

identified in the preliminary design report, in duplicate. 

(ii) A membrane filtration facility that provides the sole

source of water to a noncommunity water system that can discontinue 

water service and shut down does not have to provide critical 

components in duplicate. 

(d) Certification of Chemicals and Components.

(i) Chemicals added during water treatment, including

chemicals used to clean membrane modules and associated piping, 

shall be certified to meet NSF/ANSI 60. 

(ii) Materials in contact with water during or following the

treatment process, including membrane filtration modules and 

membrane repair materials, shall be certified to meet NSF/ANSI 61. 

(e) Membrane Facility Housing. A membrane filtration

facility shall be housed in a structure that is: 

(i) weatherproof;

(ii) accessible at times that the facility is active;

(iii) protected from flooding;

(iv) drained to prevent the accumulation of water on the

floor; 

(v) locked and secured to prevent vandalism and

unauthorized entry; 

(vi) heated, cooled, and vented to protect the equipment;

(vii) dehumidified, if necessary, to protect the equipment;

(viii) lighted to allow routine operation and maintenance;

and 

(ix) sized and configured to allow operation and

maintenance, including the removal and replacement of membrane 

equipment. 

(f) Prefiltration Screening and Pretreatment. Prefiltration

screening and pretreatment shall be provided based on source water 

quality, pilot testing, and preliminary design report 

recommendations. 

(i)  Prefiltration screening shall remove particles and debris

that may damage or plug a membrane. 

(ii) Chemicals used in pretreatment shall be compatible

with the membrane material. 
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 (iii)  A pretreatment process that uses a polymer upstream 

of a membrane shall minimize or eliminate polymer carryover to the 

membrane. 

 (iv)  Equipment shall be provided for routine testing of the 

effectiveness of the pretreatment process. 

 (g)  Post-treatment. Post-treatment for membrane filtration 

shall be provided based on pilot testing or preliminary design report 

recommendations. 

 (i)  Equipment shall be provided for: 

 (A)  routine testing of the effectiveness of the post-

treatment process; and 

 (B)  compliance monitoring required by drinking water 

rules. 

 (ii)  Requirements for disinfection following membrane 

filtration are specified in Rules R309-200, R309-210, R309-215, and 

R309-520. 

 (h)  Bypass Water Handling. 

 (i)  Untreated surface water or groundwater under the direct 

influence of surface water may not bypass the membrane filtration 

process. 

 (ii)  Water blended with filtrate from membrane filtration 

treatment prior to distribution shall meet drinking water standards. 

 (i)  Filter-to-Waste. Each membrane unit shall be equipped 

to allow filtrate to be sent to waste instead of distribution. 

 (j)  Waste Disposal. Waste generated by membrane 

filtration, including concentrate, filter-to-waste water, backwash 

water, and spent membrane-cleaning solution, shall be disposed of 

according to applicable regulations. 

 (k)  Backwashing Equipment. 

 (i)  For membranes that require backwashing, backwashing 

equipment shall be provided to remove accumulated foulants from 

the membrane surface. 

 (ii)  Piping and pumps shall be compatible with chemicals 

used for chemically enhanced backwashing. 

 (iii)  Air provided during backwashing shall be: 

 (A)  filtered; 

 (B)  dry; and 

 (C)  oil free. 

 (iv)  If water from backwashing is recycled, it shall be: 

 (A)  treated to remove solids; and 

 (B)  returned to the head of the treatment facility. 

 (v)  To prevent damage to a membrane or its housing, for 

automatic backwashing, a backwash pump shall be equipped with: 

 (A)  a variable frequency drive; 

 (B)  soft start and stop capabilities; or 

 (C)  slow opening and closing automatic valves. 

 (vi)  A means shall be provided to measure the total flow 

and the rate of flow of the backwash water during the backwashing 

process. 

 (vii)  Filtrate shall be: 

 (A)  used to backwash membrane modules or membrane 

units; and 

 (B)  supplied in sufficient volume to maintain rated plant 

capacity. 

 (l)  Clean-in-Place and Maintenance-Clean Equipment. 

 (i)  For membranes that require chemical cleaning, 

equipment shall be provided to remove accumulated foulants on the 

membrane surface not removed by backwashing. 

 (ii)  Piping and pumps shall be compatible with the 

chemicals used for cleaning. 

 (iii)  Equipment for chemical cleaning shall be provided 

with cross-connection control to isolate chemicals from the feedwater 

and filtrate during the cleaning process. 

 (iv)  Secondary containment for leaks and spills from a 

chemical storage tank shall be provided to: 

 (A)  protect the operator and equipment; and 

 (B)  prevent release of chemicals to the environment. 

 (m)  Direct Integrity Testing Equipment. 

 (i)  Equipment shall be provided for automatic direct 

integrity testing of each membrane unit to: 

 (A)  detect potential breaches; and 

 (B)  record test results. 

 (ii)  Equipment shall be capable of applying direct integrity 

testing to physical elements of the membrane unit, including: 

 (A)  membranes; 

 (B)  seals; 

 (C)  potting material; 

 (D)  valves; 

 (E)  piping; and 

 (F)  any other component that could result in contamination 

of the filtrate if the component's integrity were compromised. 

 (iii)  Air provided for pressure-based testing shall be: 

 (A)  filtered; 

 (B)  dry; and 

 (C)  oil free. 

 (iv)  A particle used for marker-based testing shall: 

 (A)  be certified to meet NSF/ANSI 60; 

 (B)  be inert; 

 (C)  be compatible with the membrane material; 

 (D)  have an effective size of 3 µm or less; 

 (E)  have a neutral surface charge; 

 (F)  be capable of being discretely measured; and 

 (G)  be removed less efficiently than the organism targeted 

for treatment by membrane filtration. 

 (v)  A molecule used for marker-based testing shall: 

 (A)  be capable of being discretely quantified; and 

 (B)  have an effective size equivalent to 3 µm or less. 

 (n)  Indirect Integrity Monitoring Equipment. Equipment 

shall be provided for the continuous monitoring and recording of 

turbidity levels of the filtrate at each membrane unit as specified in 

Subsection R309-530-8(8)(s). 

 (o)  Sample Collection. A means to collect samples shall be 

provided for the: 

 (i)  raw-water inlet to a membrane filtration facility; 

 (ii)  feedwater inlet to a membrane unit; 

 (iii)  filtrate outlet from a membrane unit; 

 (iv)  concentrate outlet; 

 (v)  combined-filter outlet; 

 (vi)  finished-water outlet from a membrane filtration 

facility; 

 (vii)  water supply for membrane backwashing; and 

 (viii)  clean-in-place chemical solution. 

 (p)  Flow Measurement. A means to measure and record the 

total flow and the rate of flow shall be provided for the: 

 (i)  raw-water inlet to a membrane filtration facility; 

 (ii)  feedwater inlet to a membrane unit; 

 (iii)  filtrate outlet from a membrane unit; 

 (iv)  concentrate outlet; 

 (v)  finished-water outlet from a membrane filtration 

facility; 
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(vi) water supply for membrane backwashing; and

(vii) recycled water.

(q) pH and Temperature Measurement. A means to

measure and record pH and temperature shall be provided for the: 

(i) raw-water inlet to a membrane filtration facility; and

(ii) finished-water outlet from a membrane filtration

facility. 

(r) Pressure Measurement. A means to measure and record

pressure for a membrane filtration unit shall be provided for the: 

(i) feedwater inlet;

(ii) concentrate outlet; and

(iii) filtrate outlet.

(s)  Turbidity Measurement. A means to measure and record

turbidity shall be provided for the: 

(i) raw-water inlet to a membrane filtration facility;

(ii) outlet from a pretreatment process;

(iii) filtrate outlet from a membrane unit;

(iv) combined-filter outlet;

(v) outlet from any other process downstream of

membrane filtration that may increase turbidity; and 

(vi) clearwell outlet as required by Subsection R309-215-

9(1)(a). 

(t) Cross-Connection Control. Cross-connection control

shall be provided to prevent contamination of feedwater and filtrate 

from cleaning chemicals and waste disposal. 

(u) System Controls.

(i) System controls for a membrane filtration facility shall

be: 

(A) located above ground;

(B) protected from flooding; and

(C) capable of automatically shutting down the membrane

filtration process to prevent damage to the membranes or distribution 

of inadequately treated drinking water. 

(ii)  Automated system controls shall be provided with:

(A) spare input/output cards of each type;

(B) a backup power supply; and

(C) surge protection.

(v)  Alarms. A membrane filtration facility shall include an

alarm system that immediately notifies a water system operator 

when: 

(i) feedwater turbidity exceeds the maximum design level;

(ii) filtrate turbidity exceeds the level not to be exceeded

at any time as specified in Subsection R309-200-5(5)(a)(ii); 

(iii) a direct or indirect integrity test exceeds a control

limit; 

(iv) the maximum flow rate setting corresponding to the

maximum design flux level is exceeded; 

(v) TMP exceeds the maximum design level; and

(vi) a pump driving the filtration, backwashing, or

chemical cleaning process fails. 

(w) Control of Remote or Unoccupied Membrane

Filtration Facility. 

(i) A remote or unoccupied membrane filtration facility

shall be provided with alarms, communication systems, and the 

ability to automatically shut down processes to prevent the 

distribution of inadequately treated drinking water. 

(ii) In addition to the items listed in Subsection R309-530-

8(8)(v), a remote or unoccupied membrane filtration facility shall 

include an alarm system that immediately notifies a water system 

operator of: 

(A) failure of a critical component identified in the

preliminary design report; 

(B) failure of a programable logic controller;

(C) membrane unit shutdown;

(D)  clearwell water level above the maximum or below the

minimum; 

(E) chlorine residual level above the maximum or below

the minimum; 

(F) low level in a chemical storage tank;

(G) loss of electrical power;

(H) unauthorized entry; and

(I) low interior temperature of a treatment building.

(9) Facility Startup.

(a) A membrane filtration facility shall be equipped to

allow for disposal of feedwater and filtrate during the startup process. 

(b) Prior to installing membrane modules:

(i) piping shall be flushed to remove dirt and construction

debris; 

(ii) chemical-feed equipment shall be tested to assure:

(A) proper operation; and

(B) delivery of chemicals at proper dosages;

(iii) mechanical equipment shall be tested for leaks and

proper operation; 

(iv) instrumentation shall be calibrated and tested for

proper operation; 

(v) the control system shall be verified for:

(A) digital and analog control inputs and outputs;

(B) instrumentation alarm limits;

(C) programming logic;

(D) instrumentation loops; and

(E) operational sequences.

(c)  After installation, a membrane module shall be:

(i) flushed to waste to remove the storage solution; and

(ii) tested to assure smooth startup and shutdown.

(d)  A water supplier shall comply with applicable disposal

requirements for waste flushed from newly installed piping, tanks, 

equipment, and membranes at a membrane filtration facility. 

(e) Prior to use of a membrane filtration facility to provide

drinking water: 

(i) pipes, tanks, and associated equipment shall be

disinfected and flushed according to AWWA procedures; 

(ii) membrane modules shall be disinfected and flushed

according to instructions from the membrane manufacturer taking 

into consideration the chlorine tolerance of the membranes; 

(iii) a facility shall be operated continuously for a trial

period to verify design parameters; 

(iv)  treated water quality shall be sampled and demonstrate

compliance with drinking water standards; 

(v) final, operational control limits for direct integrity

testing shall be established; 

(vi) a DIT shall be done per Subsection R309-215-

15(18)(b)(iii), and the result may not exceed the established upper 

control limit; and 

(vii) a water supplier shall obtain an operating permit as

required by Section R309-500-9. 

(f) A water supplier shall assure that adequate operator

training and instruction are provided by the supplier of the membrane 

units on each aspect of startup and operation of a membrane filtration 

facility. 

(10) Operating Permit -- Additional Information. In

addition to meeting the requirements for an operating permit in 

Section R309-500-9, a water supplier requesting an operating permit 

for a membrane filtration facility treating surface water or 
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groundwater under the direct influence of surface water shall provide 

to the division: 

 (a)  a statement acknowledging that the facility startup 

requirements of Subsection R309-530-8(9) have been completed; 

 (b)  normalized operating flux range; 

 (c)  normalized operating flux per membrane unit; 

 (d)  maximum operating differential pressure for a 

membrane unit; 

 (e)  membrane unit backwashing frequency; 

 (f)  membrane unit clean-in-place frequency; 

 (g)  minimum, verified, operational, direct integrity testing 

resolution; 

 (h)  maximum, verified, operational, direct integrity testing 

sensitivity; 

 (i)  verified, operational, direct integrity testing control 

limit; and 

 (j)  verified, indirect integrity monitoring performance-

based upper control limit. 

 (11)  Operational Membrane Integrity Testing and 

Monitoring and Reporting. 

 (a)  Membrane Integrity Testing and Monitoring. 

 (i)  Direct Integrity Testing. 

 (A)  A water system using membrane filtration to treat 

surface water or groundwater under the direct influence of surface 

water to meet the requirements of Section R309-530-8 shall comply 

with the direct integrity testing requirements of Subsection R309-

215-15(18)(b)(iii). 

 (B)  A DIT shall be done on a membrane unit following: 

 (I)  a clean-in-place process for a membrane unit; and 

 (II)  repair of a membrane unit. 

 (C)  A membrane unit that has been chemically cleaned in 

place or repaired may not be returned to service unless the result of a 

DIT of the membrane unit is at or below the established control limit. 

 (ii)  Indirect Integrity Monitoring. A water system using 

membrane filtration to treat surface water or groundwater under the 

direct influence of surface water to meet the requirements of Section 

R309-530-8 shall comply with the indirect integrity monitoring 

requirements of Subsection R309-215-15(18)(b)(iv). 

 (b)  Reporting Requirements for Membrane Integrity 

Testing. A water system using membrane filtration to treat surface 

water or groundwater under the direct influence of surface water to 

meet the requirements of Section R309-530-8 shall comply with the 

reporting requirements for direct integrity testing and indirect 

integrity monitoring of Subsection R309-215-15(20)(d)(x)(B). 

 (12)  Membrane Replacement. 

 (a)  A water supplier shall obtain plan approval and an 

operating permit for replacement of: 

 (i)  an approved membrane module with a different module; 

and 

 (ii)  an approved number of modules with a greater number 

of the same modules. 

 (b)  Replacement of a membrane module with exactly the 

same product is considered ongoing operation and maintenance and 

is not a public drinking water project that requires plan approval or 

an operating permit. 

 (13)  Calibration of Instrumentation. Instrumentation used 

to verify operation of a treatment process or determine compliance 

with monitoring and reporting requirements for a drinking water rule, 

shall be: 

 (a)  calibrated monthly; 

 (b)  tested for accuracy monthly; and 

 (c)  maintained according to manufacturer's 

recommendations. 

 

R309-530-9.  New Treatment Processes or Equipment. 

 The policy of the Board is to encourage, rather than to 

obstruct, the development of new methods and equipment for the 

treatment of water.  Nevertheless, any new processes or equipment must 

have been thoroughly tested in full-scale, comparable installations, 

before approval of plans can be issued.[  Refer to EPA's Environmental 

Technology Verification Program (ETV).] 

 No new treatment process will be approved for use in Utah 

unless the designer or supplier can present evidence satisfactory to the 

Director that the process will [insure]ensure the delivery of water of 

safe, sanitary quality, without imposing undue problems of supervision, 

operation, [and/]or control. 

 The Director shall establish the turbidity limit for 95% of 

turbidity measurements and the maximum turbidity limit which shall not 

be exceeded.  The plant effluent shall meet the requirements of 

Subsection R309-200-5(5)(a)(ii). 

 

KEY:  drinking water, direct filtration, slow sand filtration, 

membrane technology 
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General Information 

2. Rule or section catchline:

R398-20.  Early Intervention 

3. Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?):

The reason for the changes are to update this rule to 
reflect the new electronic billing and payment systems, 
clarify terms, and update formatting to meet Executive 
Order No. 2021-12 and adhere to the deadline date of 
January 1, 2022. 

4. Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule):

The changes update new electronic billing and payment 
system terminology, from family fee determination form, 
provide clarification, and update formatting to meet 
Executive Order No. 2021-12 and adhere to the deadline 
date of January 1, 2022. 

Fiscal Information 

5. Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to:

A) State budget:

No anticipated cost to the state budget as there is no 
requirement changes -- just an update to the new 
electronic billing and payment system terminology, 
clarification of terms, and updates to formatting to meet 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 

B) Local governments:

No anticipated cost to local governments as there is no 
requirement changes -- just an update to the new 
electronic billing and payment system terminology, 
clarification of terms, and updates to formatting to meet 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons):

No anticipated cost to small businesses as there is no 
requirement changes -- just an update to the new 
electronic billing and payment system terminology, 
clarification of terms, and updates to formatting to meet 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons):

No anticipated cost to non-small businesses as there is no 
requirement changes -- just an update to the new 
electronic billing and payment system terminology, 
clarification of terms, and updates to formatting to meet 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):

No anticipated cost to persons other than small 
businesses as there is no requirement changes -- just an 
update to the new electronic billing and payment system 
terminology, clarification of terms, and updates to 
formatting to meet Executive Order No. 2021-12. 

F) Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?):

No anticipated compliance costs for affected persons as 
there is no requirement changes -- just an update to the 
new electronic billing and payment system terminology, 
clarification of terms, and updates to formatting to meet 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 

G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

This rule amendment updates new electronic billing and 
payment system terminology, from family fee 
determination form, provide clarification, and update 
formatting to meet Executive Order No. 2021-12 
requirements.  There is no fiscal impact on business.  
Nathan Checketts, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Department of Health, 
Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

34 CFR 303.521 Section 26-5-1  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

 
R398.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Children with 

Special Health Care Needs. 

R398-20.  Early Intervention. 

R398-20-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized by 34 CFR 303.521 and Section 

26-1-5. 

 (2)  This rule implements a family fee[the parent cost 

participation fee] for the Baby Watch Early Intervention program 

under Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 

(IDEA).  [This]The family fee was mandated by the Utah State 

Legislature in the 2003 General Session, and modified in the 2013 

General Session. 

 

R398-20-2.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health, 

Baby Watch Early Intervention Program. 

 (2)  "[Provider]Early Intervention (EI) Program" means a 

local EI Program[direct service provider] with whom the Department 

contracts to provide Part C services. 

 

R398-20-3.  Fees. 

 (1)  The parent or legal guardian of an eligible child shall 

pay a [monthly cost participation]family fee if their child is enrolled 

in [the]a Baby Watch EI Program [early intervention program ]and 

receives fee eligible services. The [monthly]family fee is applicable 

for any month in which at least one billable service is: 

 (a)  provided to the child; or 

 (b)  [scheduled and not canceled within required time 

frames]not cancelled by the family by 9 a.m. the morning of the 

scheduled service. 

 (2)  [Fees]The family shall be charged based on a sliding 

fee schedule established by the Department annually. The sliding fee 

schedule shall begin at 185% of the most recently published federal 

poverty guidelines. 

 (3)  The maximum family fee on the sliding fee schedule 

shall be $200 per month. 

 (4)  The family [cost participation ]fee shall not be charged 

if the child or the child's family receives benefits under any of the 

following programs: 

 (a)  Medicaid; 

 (b)  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families; 

 (c)  Family Employment Plan - Cash Assistance; 

 (d)  Women Infants and Young Children; 

 (e)  Early Head Start based on income; 

 (f)  Child is a ward of the state; 

 [(f)](g)  Primary Care Network; or 

 [(g)](h)  Children's Health Insurance Program. 

 

R398-20-4.  Income Reporting and Fee Determination. 

 (1)  Each child's parent or legal guardian shall annually 

report the family income using the [Department's Family Fee 

Determination Form]electronic Baby Watch Billing and Payment 

System to determine [the]their monthly family fee. 

 (2)  [Upon request, the]The parent or legal guardian must 

[provide]upload [a copy of the]their most recent federal income tax 

filing to the Billing and Payment System or provide to the 

Department [and its early intervention providers ]to verify family 

income as reported by the child's parent or legal guardian. If the 

federal income tax filing is unavailable, the parent or legal guardian 

may submit the prior three months' check stubs to extrapolate annual 

income. 

 (3)  Completion of [the Family Fee Determination 

Form]the Baby Watch Billing and Payment System registration is 

voluntary. If a child's parent or legal guardian chooses not to 

complete the [Family Fee Determination Form]Billing and Payment 

System registration, the family [must pay the maximum level on the 

fee schedule]will be required to pay a monthly late fee, established 

by Baby Watch and defined within the Baby Watch System of 

Payment and Fees Policy. 
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R398-20-5.  Hardship, Extenuating Circumstances. 

(1)  An eligible child shall not be denied service because of

a family's inability to pay. The provider may waive all or part of the 

fee if there are extenuating family circumstances that affect a family's 

ability to pay, such as long-term hospitalization of a family member, 

casualty loss, moving expense, or other unusual expenses. 

(2) If a family is able to pay, but chooses not to pay, the

[Department may instruct the local early intervention]EI [p]Program 

[to]may withhold fee eligible services. 

R398-20-6.  Services Not Subject to Fees. 

(1) In accordance with [F]federal IDEA regulation,

[providers]EI Programs may not charge a family fee for the following 

IDEA activities and services: 

(a) implementation of child find, such as child

developmental screening, or public awareness activities; 

(b) evaluation and assessment;

(c) service coordination;

(d) activities to assist a child and the family to receive the

authorized services; 

(e) activities related to the development, review and

evaluation of the Individualized Family Service Plan; 

(f) activities related to child and family rights, including

the administrative complaint process and mediation; or 

(g) specialized services related to sensory loss provided

through the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind Parent Infant 

Programs, or Deaf Blind services. 

KEY:  early intervention, education, disabilities 

Date of Last Change:  2022[January 28, 2014] 

Notice of Continuation:  July 2, 2018 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-10-2 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-200 Filing ID 
54081 

Agency Information 

1. Department: Health 

Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 
Licensing 

Room no.: 4th Floor 

Building: Cannon Health Building 

Street address: 288 N 1460 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Kristi Grimes 385-
214-
9187 

kristigrimes@utah.gov 

Joel Hoffman 801-
273-
2804 

jhoffman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 

2. Rule or section catchline:

R432-200.  Small Health Care Facility (Four to Sixteen 
Beds) 

3. Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?):

The purpose of this amendment is to comply with the 
settlement agreement with the Disability Law Center 
(DLC).  The DLC filed a lawsuit against the Department of 
Health (Department), regarding Intermediate Care 
Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities 
(ICF/IID's), several years ago.  These changes satisfy the 
provisions of the settlement agreement for individuals 
residing in ICF/IID's. 

4. Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule):

This amendment ensures ICF/IID's employees receive 
specialized training regarding the care of children and 
youth with intellectual disabilities when there are 
individuals under 22 years of age in the facility.  In addition, 
no individuals under the age of 22 years old shall live in 
the same room with more than one individual; or with 
individuals over the age of 22 years, unless they are 
members of the individual's immediate family.  Outdated 
language and formatting issues were also modified in this 
amendment. 

The Health Facility Committee reviewed and approved this 
rule amendment on 05/12/2021. 

Fiscal Information 

5. Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to:

A) State budget:

The state government small health care facility survey 
process was thoroughly reviewed.  This change will not 
impact the current process for licensure and re-licensure 
surveys.  No change to the state budget is expected. 

B) Local governments:

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures.  
Small health care facilities are regulated by the state 
health department and not local governments.  There will 
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be no change in local business licensing or any other 
item(s) with which local government is involved. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
business Small Health Care Facilities.  There are 15 
ICF/IID's, as determined by the Department's licensing 
data system.  (North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) codes used – Residential Mental Health 
Facilities 6232, reports 35 small businesses).  None of the 
Department-licensed ICF/IID's are listed as a small 
business.  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small business Small Health Care Facilities.  There are 15 
ICF/IID's, as determined by the Department's licensing 
data system.  North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) codes used – Residential Mental Health 
Facilities 6232, reports 33 non-small businesses.   Six of 
the Department-licensed ICF/IID's are listed as non-small 
businesses.  Employee training is currently provided in 
these facilities and the additional of specialized training to 
the facilities that serve individuals under 22 years of age, 
would be negligible.  In addition, no cost would be 
associated with room placement requirements for 
individuals under 22 years of age. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment adds employee 
training requirements and room placement requirements 
for individuals residing in an ICF/IID and therefore, would 
not add cost for persons, businesses, or local government 
entities. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment adds employee 
training requirements and room placement requirements 
for individuals residing in an ICF/IID and therefore, would 
not add cost for persons, businesses, or local government 
entities. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for either 
small business or non-small business.  Employee training 
is currently provided in these facilities and the additional of 
specialized training to the facilities that serve individuals 
under 22 years of age, would be negligible.  In addition, no 
cost would be associated with room placement 
requirements for individuals under 22 years of age.  Nate 
Checketts, Executive Director 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/02/2021 

R432.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing. 

R432-200.  Small Health Care Facility - [(]Four to Sixteen Beds[)]. 

R432-200-4.  Definitions. 

(1) See common definitions in Section R432-1-3.

(2) [Special Definitions:

(a) ]"Levels of Care" mean the range of programs and the 

physical facilities [in which ]where they may be offered according to 

these rules. 

([b]3)  "Level I" refers to a skilled nursing care facility that 

provides at least 24-hour care and licensed nursing services to persons 

who are [non-mobile and ]non-ambulatory.  [All ]Level I facilities shall 

conform to the requirements in [the Utah Department of Health, Nursing 

Care Facility rules ]Rule R432-150.[  A Level I facility with a bed 

capacity of 16 beds or less, may request a variance from some 

construction standards for nursing care facilities, if the health, safety, 

and welfare of residents can be preserved.]  Level I facilities may 

include: 

([i]a)  a Skilled Nursing Facility shall maintain and operate 

24-hour skilled nursing services for the care and treatment of chronically 

ill or convalescent residents whose primary need is [the availability of 

]skilled nursing care or related services on an extended basis[.]; and 

([ii]b)  an Intermediate Care Facility shall provide 24-hour [in 

resident ]care to residents who need licensed nursing supervision and 

supportive care,[,] but who do not require continuous nursing care. 

([c]4)  "Level II" refers to a facility that provides [at least ]24-

hour care[, 24-hour staff coverage,] and licensed therapy or nursing care 

[(based on program requirements) ]to 4-16 persons who are [non-mobile 

and ]non-ambulatory.  Level II facilities may include: 

([i]a)  a Health Care Nursery shall provide [full-time 

supervision and ]24-hour care to children under six years of age who do 

not require continuous nursing care.  The facility shall provide [at least 

]the following: 

([A]i)  [Twenty-four ]24-hour care[ and/or staff availability]; 

([B]ii)  [Provision for ]medical coverage; 

([C]iii)  [Provision for ]dietary services; and 

([D]iv)  [Provision for ]licensed therapies, as required[.]; 

([ii]b)  an Intermediate Care Facility for [the Mentally 

Retarded]Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities shall provide 24-hour 

supervisory care to [developmentally disabled and mentally retarded 

]individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities, [(note: An 

ICF/MR facility may be categorized as a Level IV facility if no resident 

is under therapy that utilizes chemical or physical restraints which may 

render the resident incapable of self-preservation in an emergency), 

]who need supervision in a coordinated and integrated program of 

health, habilitative and supportive services, but who do not require 

continuous nursing care. A facility may be categorized as a Level IV 

facility if no resident receives therapy that utilizes chemical or physical 

restraints that render the resident incapable of self-preservation in an 

emergency. The facility shall[, except as indicated in the supplement,] 

provide the following: 

([A]i)  [Twenty-four ]24-hour care[ and staff availability]; 

([B]ii)  [Provision for ]medical coverage; 

([C]iii)  [Provision for ]dietary services; and 

([D]iv)  [Provision for ]licensed therapies, as required[.]; 

([iii]c)  a Home for the Aging shall provide group housing, 

supervision, social support, personal care, therapy[,] and some nursing 

care to elderly persons who do not need intermediate or skilled nursing 

care.  The facility shall provide at least the following: 

([A]i)  [Twenty-four ]24-hour [staff availability]care; 

([B]ii)  [Provision for ]medical coverage; 

([C]iii)  [Provision for ]dietary services for at least three meals 

a day; and 

([D]iv)  [Provision for ]licensed therapies, as 

[necessary.]required; and 

([iv]d)  a Social Rehabilitation Facility shall provide group 

housing, personal care, social rehabilitation[,] and treatment for 

alcoholism, drug abuse[,] or mental problems to persons who do not 

require intermediate or skilled nursing care. [(Note: i]If each resident in 

the program is certified by a physician or [QMRP]Qualified Intellectual 

Disabilities Professional, as ambulatory and in an alcohol or drug abuse 

rehabilitation program designed to lead to independent living, then the 

facility may be categorized as a Level IV facility.[)]  The facility shall 

provide the following: 

([A]i)  [Twenty-four ]24-hour [staff availability or program 

]care; 

([B]ii)  [Provision for ]medical coverage; 

([C]iii)  [Provision for ]dietary services for [at least ]three 

meals a day; and 

([D]iv)  [Provision for ]licensed therapies, as 

[necessary]required. 

([d]5)  "Level III" refers to a facility that provides [at least ]24-

hour staff coverage and licensed therapy [(based on program 

requirements) ]to 4-16 persons who are ambulatory and [mobile but who 

]are under chemical or physical restraints. Level III facilities may 

include: 

([i]a)  a Mental Health Facility shall provide 24[ ]-hour care 

to persons with mental illness who require medical and psychiatric 

supervision, including diagnosis and treatment.  The facility shall 

provide at least the following: 
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 ([A]i)  [Twenty-four ]24-hour [staff coverage]care; 

 ([B]ii)  [Provision for ]medical and psychiatric supervision; 

 ([C]iii)  [Provision for ]dietary services; and 

 ([D]iv)  [Provision for ]licensed therapies, as 

[necessary.]required; and 

 ([ii]b)  a Youth Correction Center shall provide 24-hour 

supervision, care, training, treatment[,] and therapy to persons who by 

court order may be restricted in their daily activities, and under security 

control that includes lock-up.  The facility shall provide at least the 

following: 

 ([A]i)  [Twenty-four ]24-hour [staff coverage]care; 

 ([B]ii)  [Provision for ]medical and psychiatric supervision; 

 ([C]iii)  [Provision for ]dietary services; and 

 ([D]iv)  [Provision for ]licensed therapies, as 

[necessary]required. 

 ([e]6)  "Level IV" refers to a facility that provides specialized 

program and support care to 4-16 persons who are ambulatory[ and 

mobile, who] and require programs of care and more supervision than 

provided in a residential care facility.  Level IV facilities may include: 

 ([i]a)  an Intermediate Care Facility for [the Mentally 

Retarded]Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities. [All mentally 

retarded residents]Individuals with intellectual disabilities in a Level IV 

facility must be ambulatory to qualify for Medicaid[/] or Medicare 

reimbursement[.] and comply with; 

 ([ii]b)  Mental Health Facility[. (See], Subsection R432-200-

4(5)(a)[-4(2)(d)(i), Level III)]; 

 ([iii]c)  Home for the Aging[. (See], Subsection R432-200-

4(4)(c)[-4(2)(c)(iii), Level II)]; and 

 ([iv]d)  Social Rehabilitation Facility[. (See], Subsection 

R432-200-4(4)(d)[-4(2)(c)(iv), Level II)]. 

 

R432-200-7.  Administration and Organization. 

 (1)  [Organization. 

 ]Each facility shall be [operated by a licensee]licensed to 

operate. 

 (2)  [Duties and Responsibilities. 

 ]The licensee shall be responsible for compliance with [Utah 

]laws and licensure requirements and for the organization, management, 

operation[,] and control of the facility. [ ]Responsibilities shall include 

[at least ]the following: 

 (a)  [C]comply with [all ]federal, state and local laws, rules[,] 

and regulations; 

 (b)  [A]adopt and [institute ]implement by-laws, policies and 

procedures relative to the general operation of the facility, including the 

health care of the residents and the protection of their rights; 

 (c)  [A]adopt a policy that states the facility will not 

discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, ancestry or national 

origin in accordance with Section 13-7-1; 

 (d)  [A]appoint, in writing, a qualified administrator to be 

responsible for the implementation of facility by-laws and policies and 

procedures, and for the overall management of the facility; 

 (e)  [S]secure and update contracts for professional and other 

services; 

 (f)  [R]receive and respond[, as appropriate,] to [the 

]inspection reports issued by the Department; and 

 (g)  [N]notify the Department, in writing, at least 30 days prior 

to, but not later than five days after, a change of administrator.[ The 

notice shall include the name of the new administrator and the effective 

date of the change.] 

 (3)  [Administrator.]The administrator shall oversee the daily 

operation of the facility. 

 (a)  [Administrator's Appointment. 

 Each facility shall appoint, in writing, an ]The administrator 

shall be professionally licensed by the Utah Department of Commerce 

in a health care field. 

 (b)  A copy of the administrator's license or credentials shall 

be posted [alongside ]with the facility['s] license in a place readily 

visible to the public. 

 (c)  The administrator shall act as the administrator of no more 

than four small health care facilities [(or a maximum of 60 beds)  ]at any 

one time. The maximum number of beds is limited to 60. 

 (d)  The administrator shall have sufficient freedom from 

other responsibilities and shall be on the premises of the facility a 

sufficient number of hours in the business day [(at least four hours per 

week for each six residents)  ]and as necessary to properly manage the 

facility and respond to [appropriate ]requests by the Department. 

 (e)  The administrator shall designate, in writing, the name 

and title of the person who shall act as administrator in [his ]their 

absence. This person shall have sufficient power, authority[,] and 

freedom to act in the best interests of resident safety and well-being. It 

is not the intent of this paragraph to permit an unlicensed de facto 

administrator to supplant or replace the designated, licensed 

administrator. 

 (4)  [Administrator Responsibilities. 

 ]The administrator shall have the following responsibilities: 

 (a)  [C]complete, submit and file [all ]records and reports 

required by the Department; 

 (b)  [A]act as a liaison [among ]between the licensee[, medical 

and nursing staff, and other supervisory ] and other staff of the facility, 

[as appropriate, ]and respond to recommendations of the quality 

assurance committee; 

 (c)  [A]assure that employees are oriented to their job 

functions and receive appropriate in-service training; 

 (d)  [I]implement policies and procedures for the operation of 

the facility; 

 (e)  [H]hire and maintain the required number of [licensed and 

non-licensed ]staff as specified in these rules to meet the needs of 

residents; 

 (f)  [M]maintain facility staffing records for 12 months; 

 (g)  [S]secure and update contracts required for professional 

and other services not provided directly by the facility; 

 (h)  [V]verify [all ]required licenses and permits of staff and 

consultants at the time of hire and effective date of contract; and 

 (i)  [R]review [all ]incident and accident reports and take 

appropriate action. 

 (5)  [Medical Director. 

 ]The administrator of each facility shall retain[, by formal 

agreement,] a licensed physician to serve as medical director or advisory 

physician on a consulting basis according to [the ]resident[s'] and 

facility['s] needs. 

 (6)  [Medical Director Responsibilities. 

 ]The medical director or advisory physician shall have 

responsibility for [at least ]the following: 

 (a)  [Review or ]develop written resident-care policies and 

procedures including the delineation of responsibilities of attending 

physicians; 

 (b)  [R]review resident-care policies and procedures annually 

with the administrator; 

 (c)  [S]serve as liaison between the resident's physician and 

the administrator; 

 (d)  [S]serve as a member of the quality assurance committee[ 

(see R432-200-10)]; 
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(e) [R]review incident and accident reports at the request of

the administrator to identify health hazards to residents and employees; 

and 

(f) [A]act as consultant to the health services supervisor in

matters relating to resident-care policies. 

(7) [Staff and Personnel.

(a) Organization.]

The administrator shall employ qualified personnel who are 

able and competent to perform their respective duties, services[,] and 

functions. 

([b]a)  [Qualifications and Orientation. 

(i) ]The administrator shall develop job descriptions

including job title, job summary, responsibilities, qualifications, 

required skills and licenses, and physical requirements for each position 

or employee. 

([ii]b)  The administrator shall conduct and document 

[P]periodic employee performance evaluations[ shall be documented]. 

([iii]c)  [All]The administrator shall ensure that personnel 

[shall ]have access to the facility's policies and procedures manuals, 

resident-[ ]care policies, therapeutic manuals[,] and other information 

necessary to effectively perform their duties and carry out their 

responsibilities. 

(8) [Health Surveillance.

(a) ]The facility shall establish a policy and procedure for the 

health screening of [all ]facility personnel [which conforms ]to comply 

with [the provisions of ]Subsection R432-150-10(4). 

([b]9)  [All d]Dietary and other staff who handle food shall 

obtain a Food Handler's Permit from the local health department. 

([9]10)  [In-service Training. 

]The[re] facility shall [be planned and]provide documented 

in-service training for [all facility personnel]employees. The following 

topics shall be addressed annually: 

(a) [F]fire prevention[ (see R432-200-11)];

(b) [A]accident prevention and safety procedures including

instruction in the following: 

(i) [B]body mechanics for [all ]employees required to lift,

turn, position[,] or [ambulate ]transfer residents; 

(ii) [P]proper safety precautions when floors are wet or

[waxed]are being cleaned; and 

(iii) [S]safety precautions and procedures for heat lamps, hot

water bottles, bathing and showering temperatures; 

(c) [R]review and drill of emergency procedures and

evacuation plan[ (See R432-200-11)]; 

(d) [P]prevention and control of infections as outlined in

Section [(see ]R432-150-25[)]; 

(e) [C]confidentiality of resident information;

(f) [R]resident[s'] rights;

(g) [B]behavior [M]management and proper use and

documentation of restraints; 

(h) [O]oral hygiene and first aid;[ and]

(i) [T]training in the principles of Cardiopulmonary

Resuscitation [(CPR)  ]for licensed nursing personnel and others as 

appropriate; 

(j) [T]training in habilitative care; and

(k) [R]reporting abuse, neglect and exploitation.

(11) Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with

Intellectual Disabilities shall ensure that employees receive specialized 

training regarding the care of children and youth with intellectual 

disabilities, when there are individuals under 22 years of age in the 

facility. 

R432-200-12.  Resident[s'] Rights. 

(1) Resident[s' R] rights [P]policies and [P]procedures shall

include[.]: 

(a) [A ]a committee that shall be appointed to update policy,

evaluate[,] and act on resident[s'] rights complaints[.]; 

(b) [W]written [residents' ]rights that shall be [established,

]posted in areas accessible to residents[,] and made available to the 

resident, [or ]guardian[,] or next of kin[.]; and 

(c) [These ]they shall be available to the public and the 

Department upon request. 

(2) Each resident admitted to the facility shall have the 

following rights: 

(a) [T]to be fully informed, as evidenced by [the resident's 

]written acknowledg[e]ment prior to or at the time of admission and 

during stay, of resident[s'] rights and of [all ]rules governing resident 

conduct; 

(b) [T]to be fully informed, prior to or at the time of

admission and during stay, of services available in the facility and of 

related charges, including any charges for services not covered by the 

facility's basic per diem rate or not covered under Titles XVIII or XIX 

of the Social Security Act; 

(c) [T]to be fully informed of [his ]the resident's medical

condition[, by a physician, unless medically contraindicated and 

documented in the resident's health record] by the attending physician; 

(d) [T]to be afforded the opportunity to participate in the 

planning of [his ]medical treatment and to refuse to participate in 

experimental research; 

(e) [T]to refuse treatment to the extent permitted by law and

to be informed of the medical consequences of such refusal; 

(f) [T]to be [transferred or discharged only for medical

reasons, or his welfare or that of other residents, or for nonpayment for 

his stay, and to be ]given reasonable advance notice [of discharge ]to 

ensure orderly transfer or discharge;[ such actions shall be documented 

in his health record;] 

(g)  [T]to be encouraged and assisted throughout the period of

stay to exercise rights as a resident and as a citizen, and [to this end ]to 

voice grievances and recommend changes in policies and services to 

facility staff or outside representatives of [his ]choice, and to be free 

from [restraint, ]interference, coercion, discrimination[,] or reprisal; 

(h) [T]to manage [his ]personal financial affairs, or to be

given at least quarterly or upon request, an accounting of financial 

transactions made on [his ]the resident behalf should the facility accept 

[his ]written delegation of this responsibility; 

(i) [T]to be free from mental and physical abuse and to be 

free from chemical and [(except in emergencies)  ]physical restraints 

except as authorized in writing by a physician for a specified [and 

limited ]period of time, or when necessary to protect the resident from 

injury to [himself ]themselves or to others[ (see R432-150-12)]; 

(j) [T]to be assured confidential treatment of [his ]personal

and medical records and to approve or refuse the[ir] release to any 

individual outside the facility, except in the case of [his ]transfer to 

another health facility, or as required by law or third party payment 

contract; 

(k) [T]to be treated with consideration, respect and full

recognition of [his ]dignity and individuality, including privacy in 

treatment and in care for personal needs; 

(l) [N]not to be required to perform services for the facility

that are not included for therapeutic purposes in [his ]the plan of care; 

(m)  [T]to associate and communicate privately with [persons

of his choice]others, and to send and receive personal mail unopened; 
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 (n)  [T]to meet with and participate in activities of social, 

religious[,] and community groups[ at his discretion]; 

 (o)  [T]to retain and use personal clothing and possessions as 

space permits, unless [to do so ]it would infringe upon the rights of other 

residents; 

 (p)  [I]if married, to be assured privacy for visits by [his ]a 

spouse. [and i]If both are residents in the facility, to be permitted to share 

a room; 

 (q)  [T]to have daily visiting hours established; 

 (r)  [T]to have members of the clergy admitted at the request 

of the resident or person responsible at any time; 

 (s)  [T]to allow relatives or responsible persons [responsible 

]to visit [residents ]at any time; 

 (t)  [T]to be allowed privacy for visits with family, friends, 

clergy, social workers or for professional or business purposes; 

 (u)  [T]to have reasonable access to telephones [both ]to make 

and receive confidential calls[.]; and 

 (v)  [T]to wear appropriate personal clothing and religious or 

other symbolic items as long as they do not interfere with diagnostic 

procedures or treatment. 

 (3)  [Safeguards for Residents' Monies and Valuables 

 ]Each facility [to whom a resident's money or valuables have 

been entrusted according to R432-200- 12(2)(h), above ]that manages 

resident money shall comply with the following: 

 (a)  [No licensee shall use residents' monies or valuables as 

his own or mingle them with his own.]the facility shall not mingle or 

use resident funds for facility purposes; 

 (i)  [R]resident[s'] monies and valuables shall be separated 

and [intact and ]free from any liability that the licensee incurs in the use 

of [his own or ]the institution's funds and valuables[.]; and 

 (ii)  [E]each licensee shall maintain adequate safeguards and 

accurate records of resident[s'] monies and valuables entrusted to the 

licensee['s care.]; 

 (b)  [R]records of resident[s'] monies [which ]that are 

maintained as a drawing account shall include a control account for [all 

]receipts and expenditures, an account for each resident and supporting 

vouchers filed in chronological order. Each account shall be kept current 

with columns for debits, credits[,] and balance[.]; 

 (c)  [R]records of resident[s'] monies and other valuables 

entrusted to the licensee for safekeeping shall include a copy of the 

receipt furnished to the resident or to the person responsible for the 

resident[.]; 

 (d)  [R]resident[s'] monies not kept in the facility shall be 

deposited within five days of receipt of such funds in an interest-bearing 

account in a local bank authorized to do business in Utah[,]. [t]The 

deposits [of which must ]shall be insured[.]; 

 (e)  [A]a person, firm, partnership, association or corporation 

[which ]that is licensed to operate more than one health facility shall 

maintain a separate account for each such facility and shall not 

commingle resident funds from one facility with another[.]; 

 (f)  [W]when the amount of resident[s'] money entrusted to a 

licensee exceeds $150, [all money in ]excess [of $150 ]funds shall be 

deposited in an interest-bearing account[ as specified in R432-200-

12(3)(c) and (d)  above.]; 

 (g)  [U]upon discharge of a resident, [all ]money and 

valuables of that resident [which ]that have been entrusted to the 

licensee shall be surrendered to the resident in exchange for a signed 

receipt.  Money and valuables kept within the facility shall be 

surrendered upon demand and those kept in an interest-bearing account 

shall be made available within three normal banking days[.]; and 

 (h)  [W]within 30 days following the death of a resident, 

except in a coroner or medical examiner case, [all ]money and valuables 

of that resident [which ]that have been entrusted to the licensee shall be 

surrendered to the person responsible for the resident or to the executor 

or the administrator of the estate in exchange for a signed receipt. When 

a resident dies without a representative or known heirs, immediate 

written notice thereof shall be given by the facility to the [State 

M]medical [E]examiner and the registrar of the local probate court, and 

a copy of [said ]the notice shall be filed with the Department. 

 (4)  For residents of Intermediate Care Facilities for 

Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities, no individuals under the age of 

22 years old shall live in the same room with: 

 (a)  more than one individual; or 

 (b)  with individuals over the age of 22 years, unless they are 

members of the individual's immediate family. 

 (5)  The administrator is responsible to develop written 

policies and procedures to implement these requirements and shall 

obtain written approval from the Department for any exceptions to these 

rules. 

 

R432-200-13.  Admission and Discharge. 

[ Each facility shall develop admission and discharge policies 

that shall be available to the public upon request.] 

 (1)  [Admission Policies.]Each facility shall have written 

policies and procedures for admission of residents. 

 (a)  Residents shall be accepted for treatment and care only if 

the facility is properly licensed for the treatment required and has the 

staff and resources to meet the medical, physical[,] and emotional needs 

of the resident. 

 (b)  Residents shall be admitted by, and remain under the care 

of, a physician or individual licensed to prescribe care for the resident. 

 (c)  There shall be a written order [(a documented telephone 

order is acceptable) ]for admission and care at the time of admission. 

 (d)  A resident shall be assessed within seven days of 

admission unless otherwise indicated by a program requirement.  

Admission policies shall define the assessment process, including an 

identification of the resident's medical, nursing, social, physical[,] and 

emotional needs. 

 (e)  A physical examination shall be performed[, in 

accordance with R432-200-14(2),] by the attending physician or by an 

individual licensed and [so ]authorized to do so. 

 (f)  Upon admission, the facility shall document a brief 

narrative of the resident's condition, including [his ]temperature, pulse, 

respiration, blood pressure[,] and weight[ shall be documented]. 

 (g)  The [resident shall be informed of his rights as a 

resident]facility shall inform each resident of their rights upon 

admission. 

 (i)  A written copy of the facility's resident[s'] rights shall be 

explained and given to the resident. 

 (ii)  If the resident is unable to comprehend [his ]the resident 

rights, a written copy shall be given to the next of kin or other 

responsible party. 

 (iii)  The inability of the resident to provide consent shall be 

documented in the resident['s] record. 

 (2)  [Discharge Policies.]A resident may be discharged or 

transferred for one or more of the following reasons: 

 (a)  [The resident shall be discharged when ]the facility is no 

longer able to meet the resident's identified needs[.]; 

 (b)  [There shall be an order for the resident's discharge by the 

physician or person in charge of the resident's care.]the resident poses a 

threat to themselves or others; or 
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(c) [A discharge summary containing a brief narrative of the 

resident's diagnoses, course of treatment, conditions, and final 

disposition shall be documented in the medical record.]the resident or 

responsible person wishes to transfer. 

([d]3)  Upon discharge of a resident, [all ]money and 

valuables of that resident [which]that have been entrusted to the licensee 

shall be surrendered to the resident in exchange for a signed receipt[ (see 

R432-200-12(3))]. 

(4) The facility shall issue a discharge notice to the resident

and responsible person 30 days prior to discharge, unless an immediate 

discharge is necessary to protect the resident. 

(5)  There shall be a physician order for the resident discharge,

along with a summary of the resident's condition, treatment and final 

disposition in the medical record. 

KEY:  health care facilities 

Date of Last Change:  2022[October 1, 2011] 

Notice of Continuation:  August 13, 2021 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-

21-6 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R495-883 Filing ID 
54094 

Agency Information 

1. Department: Human Services 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: DHS Administration Office 

Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

Street address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 

2. Rule or section catchline:

R495-883.  Children in Care Support Services 

3. Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?):

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 

4. Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule):

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 

Fiscal Information 

5. Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to:

A) State budget:

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 

B) Local governments:

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

45 CFR 301 
through 305 

Section 
62A-11-301 

Section 
78B-12-108 

45 CFR 307 Section 
62A-11-320.5 

Section 
78B-12-301 

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-320.6 

Section 
78B-12-302 

Section 
62A-11-104 

Section 78A-6-356 Section 
78B-12-106 

Section 
62A-11-107 

  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

 
R495.  Human Services, Administration. 

R495-883.  Children in Care Support Services. 

R495-883-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

[ (1)  The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized 

to adopt, amend, and enforce rules as necessary by Section 62A-11-

107.] 

 (1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 

create rules necessary for social services pursuant to Section 62A-1-

111. The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, 

amend, and enforce rules pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 

 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide definitions of 

terms used in this rule and information about child support services 

for children in care or custody of the [State of Utah]state. 

 

R495-883-2.  Definitions. 

 [Terms used in this rule are defined as]As used in this rule: 

 (1)  "Child [S]support [S]services" [--]means efforts to 

enforce and collect the child support amount due for a calendar 

month. 
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(2) "Custodial [P]parent" [--]means one of the financially

obligated parents of a child placed in the care or custody of the state. 

[ (3) Third Party Payments -- entitlement benefits (SSA,

SSI), insurance benefits, trust fund benefits, paid in behalf of the 

child.] 

R495-883-3.  Child Support Services for Children in Care. 

(1) ORS shall collect child support [and Third Party

Payments in]on behalf of children placed in the custody of the [State 

of Utah]state [in accordance with]pursuant to Sections 78A-6-

[1106]356, [78B-12-101 et seq.]78B-12-106, 78B-12-108, 78B-12-

301, 78B-12-302, 62A-1-117, 62A-11-104, 62A-11-107, 62A-11-

301[ et seq.], 62A-11-320.5, and 62A-11-320.6, and [F]federal 

[R]regulations 45 CFR [300]301 through 305 and 45 CFR 307.

(2) [If a current child support order exists, ]Pursuant to

Section 78B-12-108, ORS may collect and enforce the child support 

on behalf of the state or a state-licensed facility based on the current 

existing order[ in accordance with Section 78B-12-108]. 

(3) ORS may conduct a review of circumstances to

determine if an existing order is in compliance with the child support 

guidelines and if the case meets the review criteria [in accordance 

with]pursuant to Sections 62A-11-320.5 and 62A-11-320.6.  If the 

order is not in compliance with the child support guidelines but still 

meets the review criteria, ORS may issue an administrative order[ 

may be issued], under the administrative adjudication process as 

provided in [r]Rule [R497-100-1 et seq.]R527-200, while the child is 

under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court and in a placement other 

than with [his]the child's parents. 

(4)  If a current child support order does not exist, ORS will

determine the monthly child support obligation [will be determined 

in accordance with]pursuant to the child support guidelines enacted 

in Sections 78B-12-301 and 78B-12-302. 

(5) Child [S]support [Services]payments are due and

payable on the first day of the month.  [Child support shall not be 

prorated]ORS shall not prorate child support for partial months. 

R495-883-4.  Child Support Services During Trial Placements or 

Temporary Lapses in State Custody. 

(1) Pursuant to Section 78A-6-356, ORS may continue to

collect child support based on an administrative order[If an 

administrative order for child support is] issued at the time the child 

is initially placed in custody[;] if: 

(a) the child returns home; and[,]

(b) the child is subsequently returned to state custody[,

ORS may collect and enforce child support based on the existing 

administrative order in accordance with Section 78A-6-1106]. 

(2) Child [S]support [S]services shall not be provided on

behalf of the Division of Child and Family Services when a child in 

custody returns to the home of a custodial parent for more than seven 

consecutive days. 

(a)  The more than seven consecutive days at the home of a

custodial parent may span two or more calendar months.  If the more 

than seven consecutive days span over more than one calendar 

month, ORS shall not provide child support services [shall not be 

provided ]for any of the affected months. 

(b)  The child support debt will be retroactively adjusted to

remove the child support amount due for each calendar month 

affected by the more than seven consecutive day stay and child 

support services to collect any child support due for the affected 

calendar month(s) will not be provided. 

(c)  Adjustments [for this purpose]under Subsection (2)(b)

cannot be made to a child support case by ORS until information 

verifying the date, duration and location of the more than seven 

consecutive day stay is received from the Division of Child and 

Family Services. 

(d) ORS shall complete the adjustment to the child support

debt within ten business days of receiving the necessary verification 

from the Division of Child and Family Services. 

(e) If ORS has collected the child support amount [has

been collected ]from the custodial parent prior to ORS receiving the 

necessary verification from the Division of Child and Family 

Services, ORS will first apply the amount collected [will be first 

applied ]to other debts owed to the state for times that the child has 

been in care or custody of the state. If no other child in care debts 

exists, ORS will refund the amount [will be refunded ]to the custodial 

parent. 

(f) If the consecutive day stay becomes a permanent

placement in the custodial parent's home according to information 

received from the Division of Child and Family Services, ORS will 

provide continuing child support services, if appropriate, as of the 

date of the permanent placement [as required by]pursuant to 45 CFR 

302.33(a)(4). 

KEY:  child support, foster care, youth corrections 

Date of Last Change:  2022[August 9, 2010] 

Notice of Continuation:  April 16, 2020 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  45 CFR [300 

- 307]301 through 305; 45 CFR 307; 62A-1-117; 62A-1-111; 62A-

11-104; 62A-11-107; 62A-11-301; 62A-11-320.5; 62A-11-320.6;

78A-6-[1106]356;[ 78B-12-101;] 78B-12-106; 78B-12-108; 78B-

12-301; 78B-12-302

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R495-884 Filing ID 
54103 

Agency Information 

1. Department: Human Services 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: DHS Administration Office 

Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

Street address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Jodi Witte 801-
741-
7417 

jwitte@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

62 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R495-884.  Kinship Locate 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 

is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
  

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

42 U.S.C. 653 45 CFR 302.35 45 CFR 303.21 

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-107 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

R495.  Human Services, Administration.Error! Bookmark not 

defined. 

R495-884.  Kinship Locate. 

R495-884-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

(1) The Department of Human Services is authorized to

create rules necessary for social services pursuant to Section 62A-1-

111. The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt,

amend, and enforce rules [as necessary by]pursuant to Section

[U.C.A. ]62A-11-107.

(2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide information about

kinship locate services provided pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 653 

including[,] who is authorized to request kinship locate services, 

what information is required to make a request, and what information 

may be provided from ORS. 

R495-884-2. Authorized Persons. 

[ (1) 42 USC 653 (2008) defines "authorized persons" and

is incorporated by reference.] 

[(2)](1)  [ORS provides locate information to authorized 

persons who request location information about the parents, putative 

father and/or non-parental relatives of children in the custody of the 

Department of Child and Family Services (DCFS).]"Authorized 

persons" for the purpose of this rule regarding kinship locate is 

defined in 42 U.S.C. 653(c)(4). An "authorized person" is an agent of 

a state agency that administers a program pursuant to Part B or Part 

E of Title IV of the Social Security Act. 

[(3)](2)  [An authorized person for kinship locate purposes 

is a State agency that administers a program under Title IV-B (Child 

and Family Services) or Title IV-E (Foster Care and Adoption 

Assistance).]ORS provides locate information to authorized persons 

who request location information about the parents, putative father or 

non-parental relatives of children in the custody of the Department of 

Child and Family Services. 

R495-884-3.  Requesting Kinship Locate Services. 

[(1)  ]A request from an authorized person must include the 

following information: 

[(a)](1)  the child's name; 

[(b)](2)  the child's date of birth or [s]Social [s]Security 

number; 

[(c)](3)  the individual's name; 

[(d)](4)  the individual's relationship to the child; and[,] 

[(e)](5)  the individual's date of birth or [s]Social 

[s]Security number.

R495-884-4.  Information Provided for Kinship Locate. 

(1) ORS will only provide locate information found using

the Federal Parent Locator Service [(Federal PLS) ]and the State 

Parent Locator Services[ (State PLS)]. 

(2) ORS will provide the following kinship locate

information, if known, about a parent, alleged father or non-parent 

relative[.]: 

(a) the individual's name;

(b) the individual's [s]Social [s]Security number;

(c) the individual's most recent address; and[,]

(d) the individual's employer name, employer

identification number (EIN), address. 

(3)  If ORS has issued an administrative child support order

that establishes the legal paternity relationship for the child in 

custody, ORS will provide a copy of that administrative order to the 

authorized person.  Other documentation establishing paternity must 

be obtained by the requesting agency directly from the keeper of the 

record. 

[(3)](4)  Pursuant to 45 CFR 303.21, [If]if a safeguard 

determination has been made for an individual on an ORS case, the 

individual's information will not be released[ in accordance with 45 

CFR 303.21]. 

KEY:  child support, foster care, kinship locate 

Date of Last Change:  2022[August 15, 2012] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 27, 2017 
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Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  45 CFR 

302.35; 45 CFR 303.21; [45 CFR 303.70; ]42 U.S.C. 653; 62A-1-

111; 62A-11-107 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-36 Filing ID 
54113 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mary Burgener 801-
741-
7465 

mburgene@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-36.  Collection of Child Support After a Termination 
of Parental Rights or Adoption 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 

Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
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G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Section 
62A-11-107 

Section 
78B-6-138 

Section 80-4-105 

Section 62A-1-111 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2021 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services.Error! Bookmark not 

defined. 

R527-36.  Collection of Child Support After a Termination of 

Parental Rights or Adoption. 

R527-36-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

[1.](1)  The Department of Human Services [is authorized 

to]may create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services 

[by]pursuant to Section 62A-1-111[ and 62A-11-107].  The Office of 

Recovery Services (ORS) may adopt, amend, and enforce rules pursuant 

to Section 62A-11-107. 

[2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to specify how [the Office 

of Recovery Services/Child Support Services (]ORS[/CSS)] will handle 

support obligations when there is a termination of parental rights or an 

adoption order [which]that does not specifically preserve arrears. 

R527-36-2. ORS[/CSS] Collection of Child Support after 

Termination of Parental Rights Orders or Adoption Orders. 

(1) Pursuant to Section [78A-6-513]80-4-105 and Section

78B-6-138, a parent is released from any legal obligation to pay child 

support or provide medical support when there is a termination of 

parental rights order or an adoption order. 

(2) [If the parental rights of either the parent paying support

or the parent receiving support have been terminated, or if the child has 

been legally adopted, ]ORS[/CSS] will [not ]continue collection efforts 

toward any accrued child support arrears from or for a parent whose 

rights have been terminated if the parental termination of rights or 

adoption order [does not ]specifically preserves the arrears balance to be 

collected.[ 

]  An exception exists pursuant to [Department of Human 

Services' ]Rule R495-882 when the child is placed in the care or custody 

of the state[ or with an individual other than the parent] for at least 30 

days. 

KEY:  parental rights, adoption, child support 
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Date of Last Change:  2022[September 26,] 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 

62A-11-107; [78A-6-513]80-4-105; 78B-6-138 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-38 Filing ID 
54109 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Nick Buchei 801-
741-
7520 

nabuchei@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-38.  Unenforceable Cases 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to affected persons. 
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G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-107 

45 CFR 303.11 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services.Error! Bookmark not 

defined. 

R527-38.  Unenforceable Cases. 

R527-38-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

[1.](1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized 

to create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services 

[by]pursuant to Section 62A-1-111.[ and] The Office of Recovery 

Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules 

pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 

[2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the criteria 

[which]that a support case must satisfy to be categorized as 

unenforceable pursuant to 45 CFR 303.11. 

R527-38-2.  Unenforceable Case Criteria. 

[1.  All of t]The following criteria must be met for a support 

case to be categorized as unenforceable: 

[a.](1)  The case is currently not a paying case[;], 

[in]meaning that payments [shall not ]have not[been] posted to the 

case during the last 12 months[;], and payments are not expected to[ 

be] post[ed] in the near future[.]; 

[b.](2)  [No federal offset money has been received by the 

Office of Recovery Services (ORS)]ORS has not received any federal 

offset money [during]within the last two years[.]; 

[c.](3)  [No state tax money shall have been received by 

ORS]ORS has not received any state tax money within the [most 

recent]last two years[.]; 

[d.](4)  ORS [shall have]has collected $1,000 or less on the 

case over the last two years by methods other than federal offset or 

state tax[.]; 

[e.](5)  [There are no]ORS has not located any financial 

institution accounts belonging to the non-custodial parent that can be 

levied or attached[.]; 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

68 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 

 [f.](6)  ORS has not located any [No ]executable assets 

belonging to the non-custodial parent[ have been identified.]; and 

 [g.](7)  If the matter concerns a Title IV-E case, [all of ]the 

children identified as being part of the case [shall ]have been out of 

state custody for at least one year or parental rights [shall ]have been 

terminated. 

 

KEY:  child support 

Date of Last Change:  2022[July 18, 2019] 

Notice of Continuation:  November 26, 2018 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  45 CFR 

303.11; 62A-1-111; 62A-11-107 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-275 Filing ID 
54102 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-275.  Passport Release 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 

G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

22 CFR 51.60 Section 62A-1-111 Section 62A-1-107 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services.Error! Bookmark not 

defined. 

R527-275.  Passport Release. 

R527-275-1.  [Purpose and ]Authority and Purpose. 

[1.](1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized 

to create rules necessary for social services pursuant to Section 62A-

1-111. The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to

[create]adopt, amend, and enforce rules [necessary for the provision

of social services by]pursuant to Section 62A-11-107.

[2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to specify the procedures 

for [the office]ORS to release an obligor's passport after it has been 

denied for failure to pay child support pursuant to 22 CFR 

51.60(a)(2). 

[R527-275-2.  Federal Requirements. 

The Office of Recovery Services/Child Support Services 

(ORS/CSS) adopts the federal regulations as published in 22 CFR 

51.60, 51.70, 51.71(1), 51.72, 51.73, and 51.74 April 1, 2008 ed., 

which are incorporated by reference in this rule. 

] 

R527-275-[3]2.  Passport Release Criteria. 

[1.](1)  If the obligor applies for a new passport or to have 

a previously-issued passport renewed and is notified that the 

application has been denied for failure to pay child support, the 

obligor must contact ORS[/CSS] to get the passport released.  The 

passport will be released if the obligor pays [all ]in full the past-due 

child support owing to the state IV-D Agency and[/or] obligee. 

[2.](2)  If the obligor's employment requires a valid 

passport or there are other extenuating circumstances that require the 

obligor to maintain a valid passport, an exception may be granted if: 
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 [a.](a)  the [case is ]debts on the case are IV-A or assigned 

to the state [- if]and the ORS [or CSS D]director or designee approves 

an exception to the payment-in-full requirement[.]; or 

 [b.](b)  the [case is ]debts on the case are non-IV-A[:], or 

owed to the obligee; and 

 [i.](i)  [if ]the ORS [or CSS D]director or designee 

approves an exception to the payment-in-full requirement; and[,] 

 [ii.](ii)  [if the child support is owed to the obligee, 

ORS/CSS]ORS is able to obtain written approval from the obligee to 

release the passport. 

 

KEY:  child support, passport 

Date of Last Change:  2022[June 9, 2009] 

Notice of Continuation:  December 14, 2018 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [18 U.S.C. 

1073; ]22 CFR 51.60; [22 CFR 51.70; 22 CFR 51.71(1); 22 CFR 

51.72; 22 CFR 51.73; 22 CFR 51.74; ]62A-1-111; 62A-11-107 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-330 Filing ID 
54108 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Jodi Witte 801-
741-
7417 

jwitte@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-330.  Posting Priority of Payments Received 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive No. Order 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
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F) Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?):

There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 

G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-107 

42 U.S.C. 657 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 

R527-330.  Posting [Priority of ]Payments Received. 

R527-330-1.  [Purpose and ]Authority and Purpose. 

[1.](1)  The [Office of Recovery Services 

(ORS)]Department of Human Services is authorized to create rules 

necessary for [the provision of ]social services [by]pursuant to 

Section [62A-11-107]62A-1-111.  The Office of Recovery Services 

(ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules pursuant to 

Section 62A-11-107. 

[2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to clarify that ORS must 

first apply support payments to current support obligations before 

applying the money to [past-due ]arrears debts.  It also establishes a 

method for posting payments when the obligor does not provide 

instructions for the payment and has more than one child support 

case. 

R527-330-2.  Posting Priority of Payments Received. 

(1)  [The Office of Recovery Services]ORS shall determine

[to which]the debt [payment will]to be credited in instances where 

the obligor has more than one child support case, and the obligor has 

not [expressed his/her intention]expressly designated that the 

payment go to a specific debt. 

(2)  For [C]child [S]support [S]services cases, if the obligor

[expresses intent, the payment shall be credited to the case indicated. 

When the obligor has not expressed his/her intention, the Office of 

Recovery Services/Child Support Services (ORS/CSS) shall pro-rate 

payments, other than payments received from the Federal tax refund 

intercept program, among all of the obligor's current support 

obligations.  Once the current support obligations have been met, a 
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payment shall be split equally among all of the obligor's child support 

cases with arrears]designates the debt where the payment should be 

posted, ORS shall honor the obligor's expressed intent and credit the 

payment to the designated debt. 

 (3)  Absent a specific designation, ORS shall apply 

payments in the following order: 

 (a)  pro-rated among the obligor's current support 

obligations; and then 

 (b)  divided equally among child support cases with arrears. 

 (4)  A payment credited to a child support case with arrears 

shall be applied to the oldest debt, and arrears owed to the family 

shall be paid before arrears owed to the [S]state [according 

to]pursuant to the priority designations specified in 42 U.S.C. [Sec. 

]657. 

 (5)  The provisions in this section do not apply to payments 

received from the following as they have their own disbursement 

protocols: 

 (a)  Federal Tax Refund Intercept Program; and 

 (b)  discounted settlements. 

 

KEY:  child support, debt, public assistance programs 

Date of Last Change:  2022[October 23, 2012] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 23, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 

62A-11-107; 42 U.S.C. 657 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-332 Filing ID 
54104 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mary Burgener 801-
741-
7465 

mburgene@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-332.  Unreimbursed Assistance Calculation 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
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E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 

F) Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?):

There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 

G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Section 
62A-11-107 

Section 
62A-11-111 

45 CFR 302.32 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services.Error! Bookmark not 

defined. 

R527-332.  Unreimbursed Assistance[ Calculation]. 

R527-332-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

[1.](1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 

create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services [by]pursuant 

to Section 62A-1-111.  The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is 

authorized to [create]adopt, amend, and enforce rules [necessary to 

fulfill its duties by ]pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 

[2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to meet the requirements of 

45 CFR 302.32[ and 45 CFR 302.51,] [which]that requires [the 

office]ORS, in months where there is an assignment of support, to 
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refund collections in excess of the unreimbursed assistance amount 

(URA) to the family within two [calendar]business days of the end of 

[each]the month that [assistance]payment was received. 

 

R527-332-2.  Definitions. 

 [1.](1)  "IV-A Assistance" means cash assistance [which was 

]issued [based upon ]per Title IV-A [funding of AFDC or FEP 

programs]of the Social Security Act.  Cash assistance has been called 

Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC), Temporary 

Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and Family Employment 

Program (FEP). 

 [2.](2)  "Unreimbursed Assistance" means the total lifetime 

amount of IV-A cash assistance that the [S]state has 

[expended]disbursed to a participating individual's [on behalf of the IV-

A ]household for which the [S]state[/] or [F]federal government have 

not been reimbursed by assigned support collections. 

 

R527-332-3.  [Unreimbursed Assistance ]Calculation of 

Unreimbursed Assistance. 

 [The Office of Recovery Services](1)  ORS shall calculate the 

amount of unreimbursed assistance.  The calculation shall compare the 

amount of IV-A child support payments plus the amount of IV-A 

overpayment payments against the lifetime IV-A benefit amount. 

 [In the event that](2)  If the unreimbursed assistance amount 

in Subsection (1) becomes zero, or greater than zero:[,] 

 (a)  remaining assigned debts become payable to the case 

participant receiving support instead of to the state; and 

 (b)  collection of [the ]IV-A overpayment [amount]debts will 

be suspended. 

 

KEY:  assistance, overpayments, child support 

Date of Last Change:  2022[February 9, 2010] 

Notice of Continuation:  May 3, 2019 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 

62A-11-107; 45 CFR 302.32[; 45 CFR 302.51] 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-394 Filing ID 
54110 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Nick Buchei 801-
741-
7520 

nabuchei@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-394.  Posting Bond or Security 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
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D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 

F) Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to affected persons. 

G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-321 

45 CFR 303.104 

Section 
62A-11-107 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 
become effective on:

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 
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R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services.Error! Bookmark not 

defined. 

R527-394.  Posting Bond or Security. 

R527-394-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 [1.](1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 

create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services [by]pursuant 

to Section 62A-1-111.[ and] The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is 

authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules pursuant to Section 62A-

11-107. 

 [2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to meet the requirements of 

45 CFR 303.104 and Section 62A-11-321 that [the office]ORS 

develop[s] guidelines to determine whether posting bond or security is 

appropriate on a support case. 

 

R527-394-2.  Criteria. 

 [The Office of Recovery Services may petition the court to 

require the obligor to post bond or provide other security for the payment 

of a support debt if:](1)  For ORS to petition the court to require the 

obligor to post bond or security for payment of a support debt there must 

be: 

 (a)  no payment for the 90 day period prior to the time of 

petitioning the court; and 

 (b)  a determination by ORS that such an action is 

appropriate. 

 (2)  ORS will determine whether an action is appropriate 

by considering the following criteria: 

 [1.](a)  [the Office determines ]the obligor has [or has had ]the 

ability to pay but has failed or refused to pay[, and]; 

 [2.](b)  the obligor has the ability to provide bond or security 

and to pay court ordered child support[, and]; 

 [3.](c)  [the Office determines that ]income withholding [and 

garnishment are ]is not a viable [or cost effective ]method[s] of 

collecting the support obligation[,]; and[;] 

[ 4.  the obligor has not made a payment during the period of 

90 days prior to the time of a petition to the court in accordance with 

section (1) above, and;] 

 [5.](d)  the circumstances of the case include one of the 

following conditions: 

 [a.](i)  the obligor is self-employed, voluntarily unemployed 

or underemployed, or receives income-in-kind[, or]; 

 [b.](ii)  the obligor realizes income from seasonal or other 

irregular employment or from commissions[,]; or[;] 

 [c.](iii)  there is reason to believe that the obligor is preparing 

to leave the state. 

 

KEY:  child support, bonding requirements 

Date of Last Change:  2022[July 13, 2009] 

Notice of Continuation:  April 29, 2019 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 

62A-11-107; 62A-11-321; 45 CFR 303.104 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-412 Filing ID 
54107 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Nick Buchei 801-
741-
7520 

nabuchei@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-412.  Intercept of Unemployment Compensation 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
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B) Local governments:

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 

F) Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?):

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to affected persons. 

G) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head):

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.)

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B) Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis:

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy 
Gruber, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 

Citation Information 

7. Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement:

Section 62A-1-111 Section 35A-4-103 Section 
62A-11-401 

Section 
62A-11-107 

15 U.S.C. Sec. 
1673 

Public Notice Information 

9. The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.)

A) Comments will be accepted 
until:

01/03/2022 

10. This rule change MAY 01/10/2022 
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become effective on: 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 

R527-412.  Intercept of Unemployment Compensation. 

R527-412-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 [1.](1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized 

to create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services 

[by]pursuant to Section 62A-1-111.  The Office of Recovery Services 

(ORS) is authorized to [create]adopt, amend, and enforce rules 

[necessary to fulfill its duties by]pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 

 [2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to define the [conditions 

under which]criteria used by [the Office of Recovery Services]ORS 

[may]to collect child support from unemployment compensation and 

the legal limitations on [those]the amounts collected. 

 

R527-412-2.  Intercept of Unemployment Compensation. 

 [1.](1)  Unemployment compensation shall be subject to 

income withholding if the case meets the criteria described in Rule 

R527-300.  If [for any reason ]the unemployment compensation is 

not subject to income withholding, the unemployment compensation 

may be subject to garnishment. 

 [2.](2)  The obligor [may volunteer but ]shall not be 

required to pay more than 50% of [his]the [gross]disposable earnings 

from the obligor's [U]unemployment [C]compensation benefit, or the 

maximum amount [permitted under] as provided in the [Section 

303(b), Consumer Credit Protection Act, 15 USC 1673(b)]Consumer 

Credit Protection Act, 15 U.S.C. 1673(b).[ ] 

 (3)  If the obligor volunteers to pay more than 50% of the 

[U]unemployment [C]compensation benefit, or more than the 

maximum amount [permitted under]provided in the [Section 303(d), 

Consumer Credit Protection Act, 15 USC 1673(b)]Consumer Credit 

Protection Act, 15 U.S.C. 1673(b), that agreement shall be in writing. 

 

KEY:  child support, unemployment compensation 

Date of Last Change:  2022[February 9, 2010] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 26, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-4-

103[(5)]; 62A-1-111; 62A-11-107; 62A-11-401; and 15 U.S.C. Sec. 

1673 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-601 Filing ID 
54106 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Human Services 

Agency: Recovery Services 

Street address: 515 E 100 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Scott Weight 801-
741-
7435 

sweigh2@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R527-601.  Establishing or Modifying an Administrative 
Award for Child Support 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Office of Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rules' Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
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B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses because this rule is being amended.  Tracy 
Gruber, Executive Director 
  

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
  

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-107 

Section 
78B-12-201 

Section 
78B-12-203 

  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 
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10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services.Error! Bookmark not 

defined. 

R527-601.  Establishing or Modifying an Administrative Award for 

Child Support. 

R527-601-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 [1.](1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 

create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services [by]pursuant 

to [s]Section 62A-1-111.  The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is 

authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules [as necessary by]pursuant 

to Section 62A-11-107. 

 [2.](2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide information as 

to when ORS will use best available income, what is considered best 

evidence available, and the procedures that must be taken for best 

evidence available to be used when establishing or modifying an 

administrative order. 

 

R527-601-2.  Documentation of Income. 

 When complete documentation of current income [as 

required by]pursuant to Section 78B-12-203 is not available for both 

parents in an administrative [default, participation, or stipulation 

]proceeding, [the office]ORS shall use the best evidence available to 

determine the appropriate child support award, [in accordance 

with]pursuant to Section 78B-12-201. 

 

R527-601-3.  Definition. 

 "Best evidence available" shall include the following:[ an 

affidavit from a cooperating parent concerning the income of a parent 

who is not cooperating in providing documentation of his/her income; ] 

 (1)  historical records; including[ ] 

 (a)  [old ]tax returns[,];[ ] 

 (b)  pay stubs[,];[ ] 

 (c)  employer statements[,]; or[ ] 

 (d)  Department of Workforce Services records.[; ] 

 (2)  market rate earned by persons with the same occupation 

as reported by the Department of Workforce Services; or[ ] 

 (3)  the federal minimum wage. 

 

R527-601-4.  Procedures. 

 Prior to [using the best evidence available to ]establishing or 

modifying an administrative order, [the office]ORS shall [mail]provide 

a copy of an affidavit describing the income evidence used to the last 

known address of [the uncooperative parent against whom the evidence 

is being used]each case participant that is a respondent in the order.  The 

affidavit will be updated if new income information is presented by the 

case participants and a copy will be provided with the final order. 

 

KEY:  child support 

Date of Last Change:  2022[June 15, 2009] 

Notice of Continuation:  June 2, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 

62A-11-107; 78B-12-201; 78B-12-203 

 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-116 Filing ID 
54096 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Insurance 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: Suite 2300 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Steve Gooch 801-
957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R590-116.  Valuation of Assets 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Other changes make the language 
of this rule more clear and update the new Section R590-
116-6 to use the Department's current language.  The 
changes do not add, remove, or change any regulations or 
requirements. 
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Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
  

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
  

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 31A-2-201 Section 
31A-17-401 

 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 
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NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 

R590-116.  Valuation of Assets. 

R590-116-1.  Authority. 

 This rule is [adopted pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-201(3), 

which authorizes rules to implement the Insurance Code, Subsection 

31A-17-401(3)(a)(ii), which requires the commissioner to adopt a rule 

to determine the present value of future income derived from securities 

issued by an insurer's insurance subsidiaries, and Subsection 31A-17-

401(4), which requires the commissioner to adopt rules for the valuation 

of insurer assets]promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to Sections 

31A-2-201 and 31A-17-401. 

 

R590-116-2.  Purpose and Scope. 

 [A.](1)  The purpose of this rule is to [comply with the 

statutory requirement of Subsection 31A-17-401(4), to adopt a rule for 

the valuation of insurer assets.  The values established under this rule 

shall be used to determine compliance with other financial requirements 

of the ]provide direction to establish the value of insurer assets used to 

determine compliance with the financial requirements of Title 31A, 

Insurance Code. 

 [B.](2)  This rule [shall apply ]applies to [all ]any person[s] 

transacting insurance business under [the Utah ]Title 31A, Insurance 

Code. 

 

R590-116-3.  Definitions. 

[ In addition to the definitions of Section 31A-1-301, the 

following definitions shall apply for the purposes of this rule: 

 A.  "Valuation of Securities" shall mean the publication of the 

Securities Valuation Office of the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners (NAIC). 

 B.  "Amortizable" shall mean having been accorded that 

rating in "Valuation of Securities". 

 C.  "In Good Standing" shall mean having been accorded that 

rating in "Valuation of Securities". 

 D.  "Purchase Money Mortgages" shall mean mortgages or 

liens received as consideration, either in whole or part, on the disposal 

of real estate which secures such mortgage or liens. 

 E.  "Burial Certificate" or "Burial Contract" if issued by an 

insurer shall be defined as an insurance contract and not as a 

security.]Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 

Additional terms are defined as follows: 

 (1)  "Amortizable" means accorded that rating in Valuation of 

Securities. 

 (2)  "In good standing" means accorded that rating in 

Valuation of Securities. 

 (3)  "NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

 (4)  "Purchase money mortgage" means a mortgage or lien 

received as consideration, either in whole or in part, on the disposal of 

real estate that secures the mortgage or lien. 

 (5)  "Valuation of Securities" means the publication of the 

Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC. 

R590-116-4.  [Rule]Valuation of Assets. 

 [A.  ]An insurer's assets [of insurers transacting insurance 

under the Utah Insurance Code ]shall be valued as follows: 

 [1.](1)  Bonds. 

 [a.](a)(i)  [All obligations having ]Each obligation with a 

fixed term and rate, if not in default [as to ]on principal or interest, shall 

be valued: 

 ([i]A)  [A]at the par value, if purchased at par[,]; or 

 ([ii]B)  [If purchased above or below par, ]at the value to par 

at maturity and [so as ]to yield, in the meantime, the effective rate of 

interest at which the purchase was made, if purchased above or below 

par. 

 (ii)  For valuation purposes, the purchase price may not be 

higher than actual market value at the date of acquisition, including 

brokerage and any other related fee[s]. 

 (b)  A[  The] bond[s] may not be carried at a value greater than 

the call price at which the entire issue may be called. 

 [b.](c)(i)  [O]An obligation[s] subject to amortization under 

the published findings of the NAIC shall be carried at [their ]its 

amortized value[s].[  O] 

 (ii)  An obligation[s which do ] that does not qualify for 

amortization under the published findings of the NAIC shall be carried 

at [their ]its market value or book value, whichever is lower. 

 [c.](d)  [D]A demand deposit[s and] or certificate[s] of deposit 

in a solvent bank[s and] or savings and loan institution[s] shall be valued 

at the account or certificate balance.[  N] 

 (i)  A negotiable certificate[s] of deposit[s] with a maturity 

term[s] of less than three years shall be valued at face value.[  N] 

 (ii)  A negotiable certificate[s] of deposit with a maturity 

term[s] of more than three years shall be valued at face value or market 

value, whichever is less. 

 [d.](e)  [O]An obligation[s] of an insurance subsidiary shall 

[ies are to ]be valued in accordance with [the requirements of Section 

]Subsection 31A-17-401(3)(a)[, U.C.A.,] and Section [(4)(B) of this 

rule]R590-116-5. 

 [2.](2)  Equipment Trust Certificates. 

 (a)  [E]An equipment trust certificate[s] subject to 

amortization under the published findings of the NAIC shall be carried 

at the[ir] certificate's amortized value[s].[  E] 

 (b)  An equipment trust certificate[s which are ] that is not 

listed as qualified for amortization under the published findings of the 

NAIC shall be carried at a value not to exceed the certificate's 

proportionate part of the aggregate principal amount of the equipment 

obligations outstanding times 70% of the net depreciated value of the 

equipment pledged. 

 [3.](3)  Loans Secured By Real Estate Interest. 

 (a)  [Loans]A loan, other than a purchase money mortgage[s, 

which are ], that is adequately secured by a real estate interest[s] and [are 

]is not in default [as to ]on principal or interest, shall be valued at the 

unpaid principal balance if the acquisition was at par.[  Further,] 

 (b)  A mortgage loan[s] acquired at a premium or at a discount 

[are to ]shall be valued at amortized cost[.  Procedures relating to the 

amortization of premiums and accrual of discounts on mortgage loans 

are] as follows: 

 [a.](i)  [F]for a Federal Housing Administration (FHA) 

[and]or Veterans Administration (VA) [M]mortgage[s.  P]: 
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 (A)  a premium[s] shall be amortized and discounts accrued 

over a five[ ]-year period from date of acquisition[.  Companies ]; and 

 (B)  a company may adjust the asset value[s of these 

mortgages to their ] to its face amount[s], but any excess of aggregate 

permissive amortized value, cost of mortgage[s] less repayment[s] of 

principal, adjusted for amortization of premium[s] and accrual of 

discounts on a five[ ]-year basis, shall be treated as a nonadmitted 

asset[.]; and 

 [b.](ii)  [M]for a mortgage[s] other than an FHA [and]or VA 

Mortgage[s.  T]: 

 (A)  the book value of a real estate mortgage[s] acquired at a 

premium shall be reported at a value[s] reflecting any write-off[s] of 

[such ]the premium[s] over a three[ ]-year period from date of 

acquisition[.  R]; and 

 (B)  a real estate mortgage[s] purchased at a discount shall be 

carried at the amortized value. 

 [c.](c)  Premium amortization or discount accretion as 

required in [R590-116-4.A.3.a. or 3.b. above ]Subsection (3)(b) shall be 

on the straight-line method of computation. 

 [d.](d)  An adequately secured purchase money mortgage[s] 

shall be valued at the unpaid principal balance of the lien reduced by a 

reserve for unrealized gain on the sale of real estate[.  T]; the reserve 

shall maintain the same proportionate relationship between the unpaid 

principal balance as the original gain on the sale bore to the original note 

principal balance. 

 [e.](e)  For a loan[s] that [are]is in default or in foreclosure 

proceedings, the carrying value[s] may be adjusted for additional 

expenses, such as taxes, insurance, and legal fees, [that have been 

]incurred to protect the investment or to obtain clear title to the property. 

 (i)  [  To the extent that such costs are to be ]If a cost is 

recoverable from the ultimate disposition of the property, the[se] cost[s] 

may be added to the carrying value of the mortgage loan[s].[  However, 

such c] 

 (ii)  A cost[s] that cannot reasonably be expected to be 

recovered shall be expensed when incurred. 

 [f.](f)  [L]A loan[s] with any of the following provisions may 

be valued, at the option of the commissioner, at a discounted value[s 

which ] that approximates the market value[s] of the loan[s] at the 

valuation date: 

 [i.](i)  [P]a payment[s] other than in equal installments; 

 [ii.](ii)  [P]a payment period[s] less often than annually; or 

 [iii.](iii)  [I]interest below a conventional rate[s] of return on 

the date the loan is granted. 

 [4.](4)  Loans Secured By Pledged Securities Or Evidences 

Of Debt Eligible For Investment Under Section 31A-18-105. 

 (a)  A loan that is [  Loans which are ]adequately secured by a 

pledge of securities or evidence[s] of debt eligible for investment under 

Section 31A-18-105 shall be valued at par, if the acquisition was at par.[  

Further, such loans ] 

 (b)  A loan acquired at a premium or at a discount [are to ]shall 

be valued at the unpaid principal balance or cost, whichever is less. 

 [5.](5)  Preferred and Guaranteed Stocks. 

 [a.](a)  [Preferred or guaranteed stocks in good standing are 

to be valued at cost by companies which are maintaining a mandatory 

securities valuation reserve.  Companies not maintaining a mandatory 

securities valuation reserve shall value such stocks at market value]A 

company that maintains a mandatory securities valuation reserve shall 

value preferred or guaranteed stock in good standing at cost. 

 (b)  A company that does not maintain a mandatory securities 

valuation reserve shall value preferred or guaranteed stock in good 

standing at market value. 

 [b.](c)  Preferred or guaranteed stock[s] not in good standing 

[are to ]shall be valued at market value. 

 [c.](i)  Market value, as used for valuation of preferred or 

guaranteed stock[s], means in accordance with the values listed in 

["]Valuation of Securities[".  For securities which are ]. 

 (ii)  A security traded on a registered national securities 

exchange[,] but [are ]not listed in [that publication, market value may be 

established ]Valuation of Securities may establish market value at the 

most recent published trade value.[  Securities ] 

 (iii)  A security not listed in Valuation of Securities and not 

actively traded on a major stock exchange shall have a market value [in 

an amount ]that the insurer can justify to the commissioner. 

 [d.](d)  Preferred or guaranteed stock[s] of an insurance 

subsidiary shall [ies are to ]be valued [in accordance with the 

requirements of ]under Subsection 31A-17-401(3)(a)[,] and [Subsection 

R590-116-4.B. of this rule]Section R590-116-5. 

 [6.](6)  Common Stock[s]. 

 [a.](a)  Common stock[s are to ] shall be valued at market 

value. 

 (i)  Market value, as used for valuation of common stocks, 

means in accordance with the values listed in ["]Valuation of 

Securities[".  For securities which are ]. 

 (ii)  A security traded on a registered national securities 

exchange[,] but [are ]not listed in [that publication, market value may be 

established ]Valuation of Securities may establish market value at the 

most recent published trade value.[  Securities ] 

 (iii)  A security not listed in Valuation of Securities and not 

actively traded on a registered national securities exchange shall have a 

market value [in an amount ]that the insurer can justify to the 

commissioner. 

 [b.](b)  Common stock[s] of an insurance subsidiary shall [ies 

are to ]be valued [in accordance with the requirements of ]under 

Subsection 31A-17-401(3)(a). 

 [7.](7)  Real Estate. 

 [a.](a)  An investment in real estate [will ]shall be valued at 

not more than [its ]the reasonable cost of the property plus capitalized 

permanent improvements less depreciation spread evenly over the life 

of the property or, at the option of the company, less depreciation 

computed on any basis permitted under the Internal Revenue Code and 

regulations. 

 [b.](b)  Property acquired in satisfaction of a debt shall be 

valued at its fair market value or the amount of debt, including interest, 

taxes, and expenses incurred as cost in foreclosure, whichever is less. 

 [8.](8)  Loans Upon the Security of the Insurer's Own 

Policies.  [Loans ]A loan upon the security of the insurer's own policies 

shall be valued at the unpaid loan balance or the policy reserve[s] 

securing [such ]the loan, whichever is less. 

 [9.](9)  Financial Futures Contracts.  [F]A financial futures 

contract[s], if approved by [Insurance D]department rule, shall be 

valued in the manner set forth by the commissioner. 

 [10.](10)(a)  Investment in Foreign Securities.  [F]A foreign 

security[ies] permitted under Subsection 31A-18-105(11)[,] shall be 

valued as follows: 

 [a.](i)  [Where information is available, at the value published 

by the NAIC.  If the security is payable in a foreign currency the value 

shall reflect the currency exchange rate]if the value of the security is 

listed in Valuation of Securities, the market value shall be the listed 

value[.]; or 

 [b.](ii)  [Where information is not available, ]if the value of 

the security is not listed in Valuation of Securities, the security shall have 

a market value that the insurer can justify to the commissioner. 
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 (b)  If the security is payable in a foreign currency, the value 

shall reflect the currency exchange rate. 

 [11.](11)  Separate Account Assets.  [S]Each separate account 

asset[s] shall have a value as required under Subsection 31A-18-102(4). 

 

R590-116-5.  Valuation of a Security Other Than Common Stock 

Issued by an Insurance Subsidiary. 

 [B.  Value of Securities Other Than Common Stock Issued by 

an Insurance Subsidiary.  ]The following provisions [shall ]supplement 

Subsection 31A-17-401(3)(a)[,] in controlling the [manner in which 

]way assets of an insurance subsidiary[ies] are valued on the books of 

the parent insurer[:]. 

 [1.](1)  A parent insurer may attribute value to the security of 

an insurance subsidiary only if a dividend[s] or interest [are ]is being 

paid and payment [can reasonably be ]is anticipated to continue. 

 [2.](2)  The value of a security[ies] other than common stock 

issued by an insurance subsidiary is the lesser of: 

 [a.](a)  [T]the present value of future income to be derived 

under the security[ies,]; or 

 [b.](b)  [T]the amount the parent would receive following 

liquidation of the subsidiary with payment, in full, of [all ]each 

creditor[s] and holder[s] with senior priority. 

 [3.](3)  The present discounted value of future income under 

Subsection [R590-116-4.B.2.a. of this rule ](2)(a) shall be determined as 

follows: 

 NPV = ((CF1)/((1 + i)1)) + ((CF2)/((1 + i)2)) + (CF3)/((1 + 3)3)) 

+ ... ((CFn)/((1 + i)n)) 

 NPV = Net present value 

 CF = Cash flow 

 i = Assumed interest rate per period 

 n = Number of periods 

 If cash flows remain constant, the following formula may be 

used: 

 NPV = CF(1-(1 / (1 + i)n) / i) 

 [4.](4)  The interest rate used shall be [equal to ]Moody's AA 

Bond rate [given ]for a security[ies] of substantially equal duration, or 

another rate [which ]that can be justified by the insurer and is accepted 

by the commissioner. 

 

R590-116-[5]6.  Separability. 

 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 

or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the 

rule and the application of such provision to other persons or 

circumstances will not be affected.]If any provision of this rule, Rule 

R590-116, or its application to any person or situation is held invalid, 

such invalidity does not affect any other provision or application of this 

rule that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  

The remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 

provision or application. 

 

KEY:  insurance companies, rules and procedures 

Date of Last Change:  2022[1987] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 26, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-17-401 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-147 Filing ID 
54097 

 

Agency Information 

1.  Department: Insurance 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: Suite 2300 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Steve Gooch 801-
957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R590-147.  Annual and Quarterly Statement Filing 
Instructions 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Other changes make the language 
of this rule more clear, update the new Section R590-147-
5 to use the Department's current language, and remove 
Section R590-147-7 because this rule is already in force.  
The changes do not add, remove, or change any 
regulations or requirements. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
  

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other $0 $0 $0 

Persons 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
  

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-4-113  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/08/2021 
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R590.  Insurance, Administration. 

R590-147.  Annual and Quarterly Statement Filing Instructions. 

R590-147-1.  Authority. 

 This rule is promulgated [pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-

201(3), which authorizes the commissioner to establish by rule 

specific requirements for filing forms, rates, or reports required by 

the Utah Insurance Code; Section 31A-2-202, which authorizes the 

commissioner to require statements, reports and information to be 

delivered to the department or the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners (NAIC) in a form specified by the commissioner; and 

Section 31A-4-113, which authorizes the commissioner to prescribe 

by rule the information to be submitted with and form of the annual 

statement]by the commissioner pursuant to Sections 31A-2-201 and 

31A-4-113. 

 

R590-147-2.  Purpose and Scope. 

 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide instructions for 

[the filing of insurer annual and quarterly statements ]filing an annual 

statement, a quarterly statement, and any required supplemental 

schedule[s], exhibit[s], [and ]or document[s]. 

 (2)  This rule applies to an insurer required to file an annual 

statement or a quarterly statement with the commissioner. 

 

R590-147-3.  [Scope. 

 This rule applies to all insurers required to file annual and 

quarterly statements with the commissioner in this state. 

 

R590-147-4.  ]Definitions. 

[ (1)  For purposes of this rule: 

 (a)  the commissioner adopts the definitions as particularly 

set forth in Section 31A-1-301; and 

 (b)  "Insurer" includes all licensees who are licensed under 

Chapters 5, 7, 8, 9, 14 or 15 of Title 31A of the Utah Code]Terms 

used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. Additional terms 

are defined as follows: 

 (1)  "Insurer" means a licensee who is licensed under Title 

31A, Chapters 5, 7, 8, 9, 14, or 15. 

 (2)  "NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

 

R590-147-[5]4.  [Rule]Annual and Quarterly Statement Filings. 

 (1)  [The ]An annual statement, quarterly statement[s], and 

any required supplemental schedule[s], exhibit[s], [and ]or 

document[s] shall be prepared [in accordance with ]according to the 

latest edition of the NAIC annual and quarterly statement instructions 

and the [a]Accounting [p]Practices and [p]Procedures [m]Manual 

published by the NAIC. 

 (2)(a)  [All ]An insurer[s] shall file [their ]its annual 

statement[s], quarterly statement[s], and any required supplemental 

schedule[s], exhibit[s], [and ]or document[s] electronically with the 

NAIC [in accordance with ]according to the NAIC annual and 

quarterly statement instructions[.  The commissioner may allow 

insurers that operate only in Utah to file hard copy forms with the 

department and exempt them from filing electronically with the 

NAIC. 

 (b)  Domestic insurers ONLY shall additionally file two 

paper copies of all documents required by Subsection R590-147-5(1) 

with the department, in accordance with the deadlines established in 

the NAIC annual and quarterly statement instructions]. 

 ([c]b)  [F]A foreign insurer or [and ]an alien insurer[s shall 

NOT ] may not file a paper copy[ies] of any document[s] required by 

Subsection [R590-147-5](1) with the department, unless specifically 

requested by the commissioner. 

 (3)  [Administrative penalties, authorized by 31A-2-308, 

may be assessed to any insurer that: 

 (a)  Fails to file an annual statement, quarterly statements, 

or required supplemental schedules, exhibits, and documents by the 

dates specified in the NAIC and department annual and quarterly 

statement instructions, or by the deadline established in any filing 

extensions granted by the department; or 

 (b)  Fails to file a complete annual or quarterly statement 

filing. 

 (4)  ]NAIC and department filing instructions, including 

due dates, may be found at the following websites: www.naic.org and 

[www.]https://insurance.utah.gov. 

 

R590-147-[6.  Separability]5.  Severability. 

 [If any provision of this rule or the application thereof to 

any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 

remainder of the rule and the application of such provision to other 

persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby. 

 

R590-147-7.  Enforcement Date. 

 The commissioner will begin enforcing the revised 

portions of this rule 45 days from the effective date of the rule]If any 

provision of this rule, Rule R590-147, or its application to any person 

or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other 

provision or application of this rule that can be given effect without 

the invalid provision or application.  The remainder of this rule shall 

be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 

 

KEY:  insurance 

Date of Last Change:  2022[February 10, 2005] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 9, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 

31A-2-202; 31A-4-113 
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Agency Information 

1.  Department: Insurance 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: Suite 2300 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Steve Gooch 801-
957-

sgooch@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R590-149.  Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) 
Grievance Procedures 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Other changes make the language 
of this rule more clear and add Sections R590-149-2 and 
R590-149-10.  The changes do not add, remove, or 
change any regulations or requirements. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of Insurance, Jonathan T. Pike, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
  

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 31A-2-201   

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 

R590-149.  Americans with Disabilities Act [(ADA) ]Grievance 

Procedures. 

R590-149-1.  Authority[ and Purpose]. 

 [(1)  ]This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant 

to Section 31A-2-201[(3)(a) and Subsection 63G-3-201(3) of the State 

Administrative Rulemaking Act.  The Insurance Department, pursuant 

to 28 CFR 35.107, adopts, defines, and publishes within this rule 

complaint procedures providing for prompt and equitable resolution of 

complaints filed in accordance with Title II of the Americans With 

Disabilities Act, as amended]. 

 

R590-149-2.  Purpose and Scope. 

 ([2]1)  The purpose of this rule is to implement the [provisions 

of 28 CFR 35, and Title II of the ]Americans [W]with Disabilities Act 

(ADA), 42 U.S.C. 12101-12213 and 28 CFR 35, which provides that no 

individual [shall ]may be excluded from participation in or be denied the 

benefits of the services, programs, or activities of the [Insurance 

D]department, or be subjected to discrimination by the department 

because of a disability. 

 (2)  This rule applies to: 

 (a)  a qualified individual; and 

 (b)  the department. 

R590-149-[2]3.  Definitions. 

 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. The 

definitions in the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 12101-

12213 and 28 CFR 35, are incorporated by reference. Additional terms 

are defined as follows: 

 (1)(a)  "[The ]ADA [C]coordinator" means [the ]an employee 

assigned by the commissioner to investigate and facilitate the prompt 

and equitable resolution of a complaint[s] filed by a qualified [persons 

with disabilities]individual. 

 (b)  The ADA [C]coordinator may be a representative of the 

Department of Government Operations, Division of Human Resource 

Management assigned to the department. 

 (2)  ["Department" means the Insurance 

Department]"Complainant" means a qualified individual or a qualified 

individual's authorized representative. 

 (3)(a)  "Designee" means an individual appointed by the 

commissioner [or a director ]to investigate an allegation[s] of ADA 

non[-]compliance [in the event ]when the ADA [C]coordinator is unable 

or unwilling to [conduct an investigation ]investigate for any reason, 

including a conflict of interest. 

 (b)  A designee does not have to be an employee of the 

department; however, the designee must have a working knowledge of 

the responsibilities and obligations required of employers and 

employees by the ADA. 

 (4)  "Director" means the head of the division of the 

department affected by a complaint filed under this rule. 

[ (5)  "Disability" means, with respect to an individual, a 

physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of 

the major life activities of such individual; a record of such an 

impairment; or being regarded as having such an impairment. 

 (6)  "Major life activities" includes caring for one's self, 

performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping 

standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning, reading, 

concentrating, thinking and working. A major life activity also includes 

the operation of a major bodily function, such as functions of the 

immune system, normal cell growth, digestive, bowel, bladder, 

neurological, brain, respiratory, circulatory, endocrine, and reproductive 

functions. 

 (7)  "Qualified Individual" means an individual who meets the 

essential eligibility requirement for the receipt of services or the 

participation in programs or activities provided by the department. A 

qualified individual also who, with or without reasonable 

accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the employment 

position that individual holds or desires.] 

 

R590-149-[3]4.  [Filing of ]Complaint[s]. 

 (1)  Any qualified individual may file a complaint alleging 

noncompliance with [Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act, as 

amended, or the ]the ADA or a federal regulation[s] promulgated 

thereunder. 

 (2)  [Q]A qualified individual[s] shall file [their ]a 

complaint[s] with the [department's ]ADA coordinator, unless the 

complaint alleges that the ADA coordinator [was ]is non-compliant, in 

which case a qualified individual[s] shall file [their ]a complaint[s] with 

the [department's ]designee. 

 (3)  [Q]A qualified individual[s] shall file [their ]a 

complaint[s] within 90 days after the date of the alleged noncompliance 

to facilitate the prompt and effective consideration of pertinent facts and 

appropriate remedies; however, the commissioner has the discretion to 
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direct that the grievance process be utilized to address legitimate 

complaints filed more than 90 days after alleged noncompliance. 

 (4)  Each complaint shall: 

 (a)  include the qualified individual's name and address; 

 (b)  include the nature and extent of the qualified individual's 

disability; 

 (c)  describe the department's alleged discriminatory action in 

sufficient detail to inform the department of the nature and date of the 

alleged violation; 

 (d)  describe the action and accommodation desired; and 

 (e)  be signed by the complainant[ or by his legal 

representative]. 

 (5)  [C]A complaint[s] filed on behalf of a class[es] of 

qualified individuals or a third party[ies] shall describe [or ]and identify 

by name, if possible, the alleged victims of discrimination. 

 (6)  If [the ]a complaint is not in writing, the ADA coordinator 

or designee shall [transcribe or otherwise ]reduce the complaint to 

writing[ upon receipt of the complaint]. 

 (7)  By [the ]filing [of ]a complaint or a subsequent appeal, 

the complainant authorizes [necessary parties ]the ADA coordinator or 

designee to conduct a confidential review of all relevant information, 

including: 

 (a)  any record[s] classified as private or controlled under [the 

Government Records Access and Management Act, Utah Code, 

Subsection ]Sections 63G-2-302[(1)(b)] and [Section ]63G-2-304, 

consistent with [42 U.S.C. 12112(d)(4)(A), (B), and (C) and ]42 U.S.C. 

Section 12112(d)(3)(B) and (C)[,] and 42 U.S.C. 12112(d)(4)(A), (B), 

and (C); and 

 (b)  any relevant information otherwise protected by statute, 

rule, regulation, or other law. 

 

R590-149-[4]5.  Investigation[ of Complaint]. 

 (1)  The ADA coordinator or designee shall [conduct an 

investigation of ]investigate each complaint received[.  The 

investigation shall be conducted] to the extent necessary to assure all 

relevant facts are determined and documented[.  This may include 

gathering all information listed in Subsection R590-149-3(4) and (7) of 

this rule if it is not made available by the complainant]. 

 (2)(a)  The ADA coordinator or designee may seek assistance 

from the Attorney General's [staff, ]Office and the [department's human 

resource and budget staff in determining ]Division of Human Resource 

Management to determine what action, if any, should be taken on the 

complaint. 

 (b)  The ADA coordinator or designee may also consult with 

the director of the affected division in making a recommendation. 

[ (3)  The ADA coordinator or designee shall consult with 

representatives from other state agencies that may be affected by the 

decision, including the Office of Planning and Budget, the Department 

of Human Resource Management, the Division of Risk Management, 

the Division of Facilities Construction Management, and the Office of 

the Attorney General before making any recommendation that would: 

 (a)  involve an expenditure of funds beyond what is 

reasonably able to be accommodated within the applicable line item so 

that it would require a separate appropriation; 

 (b)  require facility modifications; or 

 (c)  require reassignment to a different position.] 

 

R590-149-[5]6.  [Issuance of ]Decision. 

 (1)  [W]The ADA coordinator or designee shall issue a 

recommendation to the director within 15 working days after receiving 

the complaint[, the ADA coordinator or designee shall recommend to 

the director in writing or in another acceptable suitable format stating 

what action, if any, should be taken on the complaint]. 

 (2)  If the ADA coordinator or designee is unable to make a 

recommendation within [the ]15 working days[ period], the complainant 

shall be notified [in writing, or by another acceptable format suitable to 

the complainant, stating why ]that the recommendation is delayed and 

[what ]given an estimate of the additional time [is ]needed. 

 (3)  The director may confer with the ADA coordinator or 

designee and the complainant and may accept or modify the 

recommendation from the ADA coordinator or designee to resolve the 

complaint. 

 (4)  The director shall [render a ]issue a written decision 

within 15 working days after the director's receipt of the 

recommendation from the ADA coordinator or designee. 

 (5)  The director shall take all reasonable steps to implement 

the decision[.  The director's decision shall be in writing, or in another 

accessible format suitable to the complainant, and shall be promptly 

delivered to the complainant]. 

 (6)  The ADA coordinator or designee shall consult with 

representatives from other state agencies that may be affected by the 

decision, including the Governor's Office of Planning and Budget, the 

Division of Human Resource Management, the Division of Risk 

Management, the Division of Facilities Construction Management, and 

the Office of the Attorney General before making any recommendation 

that would require: 

 (a)  an expenditure of funds beyond the applicable budgetary 

line item; 

 (b)  a facility modification; or 

 (c)  reassigning the qualified individual to a different position. 

 

R590-149-[6]7.  Appeal[s]. 

 (1)  The complainant may appeal the decision of the director 

to the commissioner by filing an appeal within ten working days [from 

the ]of receipt of the director's decision. 

 (2)  The appeal shall be filed in writing, or in another 

accessible format reasonably suited to the complainant's ability. 

 (3)(a)  The commissioner may name [a designee to assist on 

]an assistant to help with the appeal.[ The ] 

 (b)  Neither the director, the ADA coordinator[ and the 

director's designee may not also ], nor the designee may be the 

commissioner's [designee ]assistant for the appeal. 

 (4)  [In the appeal the complainant ]The appeal shall describe, 

in sufficient detail, why the director's decision does not effectively 

address the complainant's [needs]requirements. 

 (5)(a)  The commissioner [or designee ]shall review the ADA 

coordinator's recommendation, the director's decision, and the [points 

]issues raised on appeal prior to reaching a decision. 

 (b)  The commissioner may direct additional investigation, as 

necessary. 

 (6)  The commissioner shall consult with representatives from 

any other state agency[ies] that [would ]may be affected by the 

decision,[ including the Office of Planning and Budget, the Department 

of Human Resource Management, the Division of Risk Management, 

the Division of Facilities Construction Management, and the Office of 

the Attorney General before making any decision that would: 

 (a)  involve an expenditure of funds beyond what is 

reasonably able to be accommodated within the applicable line item so 

that it would require a separate appropriation; 

 (b)  require facility modifications; or 

 (c)  require reassignment to a different position] as provided 

in Subsection R590-149-6(6). 
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 ([6]7)  The final written decision shall be issued by the 

commissioner within [fifteen ]15 working days [after ]of receiving the 

[complainant's appeal and shall be in writing or in another accessible 

format suitable to the complainant, and shall be promptly delivered to 

the complainant]appeal. 

 ([7]8)  If the commissioner [or designee ]is unable to reach a 

final decision within [the fifteen working day period]15 working days, 

[he shall notify the complainant in writing or by another accessible 

format suitable to the complainant, why ]the qualified individual will be 

notified that the final decision is being delayed and given an estimate of 

the additional time needed to reach a decision. 

 

R590-149-[7]8.  [Classification of ]Records Classification. 

 (1)(a)  [R]A record[s] created in administering this rule [are 

]is classified as "protected" under [Subsection ]Section 63G-2-305[(9), 

(22), (24), and (25)]. 

 ([2]b)  After [issuing ]a decision is issued under Section 

R590-149-[5]6 or a final decision [up]on appeal under Section R590-

149-[6]7, any portion[s] of the record pertaining to the [complainant's 

]qualified individual's medical condition shall remain classified as 

"private" [as defined ]under Section 63G-2-302[(1)(b)] or "controlled" 

[as defined in ]under Section 63G-2-304, [as ]consistent with 42 U.S.C. 

12112(d)(4)(A), (B), and (C) and 42 U.S.C. 12112(d)(3)(B) and (C)[, at 

the option of the ADA coordinator]. 

 [(a)  The ](2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1), the written 

decision of the [division ]director or commissioner [shall be ]is 

classified as "public" [information. All other records, except 

"controlled" records under Subsection R590-149-7(2), shall be 

classified as "private."]under Section 63G-2-301. 

 

R590-149-[8]9.  Relationship to Other Laws. 

 This rule does not prohibit or limit the use of any remedy[ies] 

available to an individual[s] under: 

 (1)  [the state Anti-Discrimination Complaint Procedures 

Section 67-19-32 and 34A-5-107]Title 34A, Chapter 5, Utah 

Antidiscrimination Act; 

 (2)  [the Federal ADA Complaint Procedures 28 CFR 35.170 

through 28 CFR 35.178]the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 

Section 12101-12213; or 

 (3)  any other [Utah S]state or federal law that provides equal 

or greater protection for the rights of an individual[s] with a 

disability[ies]. 

 

R590-149-10.  Severability. 

 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-149, or its application 

to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect 

any other provision or application of this rule that can be given effect 

without the invalid provision or application.  The remainder of this rule 

shall be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 

 

KEY:  insurance, ADA 

Date of Last Change:  2022[August 2, 2011] 

Notice of Continuation:  June 5, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3-201(2) 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-150 Filing ID 
54099 

 

Agency Information 

1.  Department: Insurance 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: Suite 2300 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Steve Gooch 801-
957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R590-150.  Commissioner's Acceptance of Examination 
Reports 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Other changes make the language 
of this rule more clear, add Section R590-150-3, and 
update the new Section R590-150-5 to use the 
Department's current language.  The changes do not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
  

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
  

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-2-203  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 

R590-150.  Commissioner's Acceptance of Examination Reports. 

R590-150-1.  Authority. 

 This rule is [issued pursuant to the general rule making 

authority vested in the commissioner by Section 31A-2-201, Utah Code, 

and pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-203(4), Utah Code]promulgated by 

the commissioner pursuant to Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-2-203. 

 

R590-150-2.  Purpose and Scope. 

 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to identify the examination 

reports [that ]acceptable to the commissioner[ will accept in lieu of his 

own examination and report]. 

 (2)  This rule applies to [all ]an insurer[s] licensed under Title 

31A, Chapter[s] 5, 9, [and]or 14[ of Title 31A of the Utah Code]. 

 

R590-150-3.  Definitions. 

 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 

 

R590-150-4.  Rule. 

 [In lieu of an examination under Section 31A-2-203 of the 

Utah Code, of any domestic, foreign or alien insurer licensed in this 

state, the commissioner may accept an examination report on the 

company as prepared by the insurance department for the company's 

state of domicile or port-of-entry until January 1, 1994.  Thereafter, such 

reports may only be accepted if: ]An examination report prepared by the 

state of domicile or port of entry state will be accepted in lieu of an 

examination under Section 31A-2-203 if: 

 (1)  the insurance department that prepared the report was, at 

the time of the examination, accredited under the National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners' Financial Regulation Standards and 

Accreditation Program;[ or ] 

 (2)  the examination is performed under the supervision of an 

accredited insurance department; or 

 (3)  the examination is performed with the participation of one 

or more examiners [who are ]employed by an accredited [state 

]insurance department [and ]who, after a review of the examination 

work papers and report, state under oath that the examination was 

performed in a manner consistent with the standards and procedures 

required by their insurance department. 

 

R590-150-[4]5.  [Separability]Severability. 

 [If any provision of this rule or the application thereof to any 

person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 

remainder of the rule and the application of such provision to other 

persons or circumstances may not be affected thereby.]If any provision 

of this rule, Rule R590-150, or its application to any person or situation 

is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 

application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 

provision or application.  The remainder of this rule shall be given effect 

without the invalid provision or application. 

 

KEY:  insurance companies 

Date of Last Change:  2022[1992] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 9, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-203(4) 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-151 Filing ID 
54095 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Insurance 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: Suite 2300 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Steve Gooch 801-
957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R590-151.  Records Access Rule 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being repealed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance determined that this rule was no 
longer necessary and should be repealed. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule is being repealed in its entirety.  Government 
record requests are already provided for and regulated by 
statute. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
This rule is being repealed and had no fee associated with 
it. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule is being repealed and had no fee 
associated with it. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  This rule is being repealed and had no fee 
associated with it. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  This rule is being repealed and had no fee 
associated with it. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  This rule is being repealed and had no fee 
associated with it. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
This rule is being repealed and there is no cost to comply. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule repeal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
  

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
  

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 31A-2-201   

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 

[R590-151.  Records Access Rule. 

R590-151-1.  Authority. 

 This rule is adopted pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 2, 

Title 63G, the Government Records Access and Management Act 

(GRAMA), specifically Subsections 63G-2-204(2), and 63A-12-

104(2). 

 

R590-151-2.  Purposes. 

 The purposes of this rule are to define how record requests are 

to be made to the Insurance Department and to define how an individual 

may contest the accuracy and completeness of records concerning that 

individual which are maintained by the department. 

 

R590-151-3.  Rule. 

 (1)  Making a Request for Access to Records. 

 (a)  All record requests made under the provisions of GRAMA 

shall be made in writing by completing the online Request Form 

available through Utah's Open Record Portal at 

https://openrecords.utah.gov. 

 (b)  The department's response may be delayed if a submitted 

request is incomplete. 

 (2)  The department may, at its discretion, waive the 

requirement for a written request if the records requested are public and 

readily accessible, or for other good cause shown. 

 (3)  Appeals From Initial Decisions.  All appeals from an 

initial decision by the department, which denies access to a record, shall 

be addressed to the insurance commissioner and shall conform to the 

requirements of Section 63G-2-401.  The authority to order disclosure 

or nondisclosure is delegated to the head of the division which maintains 

the record or to any other person the commissioner may designate from 

time to time. 

 (4)  Contesting Accuracy or Completeness of a Record. 

 (a)  Any request pursuant to Subsection 63G-2-603(2) shall 

be directed to the records officer. 

 (b)  Consideration of the request shall be conducted as an 

informal adjudicative proceeding unless converted to a formal 

adjudicative proceeding by the presiding officer. 

 (c)  A request to amend findings of fact in any administrative 

proceeding where the time for appeal has expired shall be denied.  These 

types of records shall be maintained in their original form to protect the 

public interest and the integrity of the Administrative Records.  Section 

63G-2-603, may not apply. 

 

R590-151-4.  Severability. 

 If any provision or clause of this rule or the application of it 

to any person or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not 

affect any other provision or application of this rule which can be given 

effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 

provision of this rule are declared to be severable. 

 

KEY:  insurance records access 

Date of Last Change:  December 8, 2017 

Notice of Continuation:  July 12, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2-204; 

63A-12-104 

] 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-154 Filing ID 
54100 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Insurance 

Agency: Administration 

Room no.: Suite 2300 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Steve Gooch 801-
957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R590-154.  Unfair Marketing Practices Rule; Misleading 
Names 
  

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
No. Order 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
  

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Other changes make the language 
of this rule more clear, update the new Section R590-154-
14 to use the Department's current language, and remove 
Section R590-154-15 because the rule is already in force.  
The changes do not add, remove, or change any 
regulations or requirements. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
  

B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
  

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
  

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect non-small businesses. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
  

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
  

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
  

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 31A-2-201   

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 

R590-154.  Unfair Marketing Practices Rule; Misleading Names. 

R590-154-1.  Authority. 

 This rule is [adopted pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-201(3) in 

which the commissioner is empowered to adopt rules to implement the 

provisions of the Utah Insurance Code, Section 31A-23a-402, which 

provides that the commissioner may find certain practices to be 

misleading, deceptive, unfairly discriminatory, or unreasonably restrain 

competition, and to prohibit them by rule, and Subsection 31A-23a-

110(2), which provides that a licensee may do business under a name 

other than the licensee's legal name by notifying the 

commissioner]promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to Section 

31A-2-201. 

 

R590-154-2.  Purpose and Scope. 

 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide guidance to a[ll] 

licensee[s] regarding unfair marketing practices. 

 (2)  This rule applies to [all insurance producers, limited lines 

producers, consultants and insurers licensed ]a licensee under Title 31A, 

[Utah ]Insurance Code. 

 

R590-154-3.  Definitions. 

 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 

Additional terms are defined as follows: 

 (1)  "Licensee" means a person who holds a license[, as used 

in this rule, all individual producers, all agency producers, all individual 

limited line producers, all agency limited line producers, all individual 

consultants, all agency consultants, and all insurers]. 

 

R590-154-4.  Prohibited Practices Findings. 

 The commissioner finds that each [of the ]practice[s] 

prohibited in this rule constitutes a misleading, deceptive, or unfairly 

discriminatory practice[s or] that unreasonably restrains competition, 

except as specifically allowed in this rule. 

 

R590-154-5.  Licensee Name. 

 (1)  A licensee [licensed under the Utah Insurance Code shall 

]may not use any name that[ is]: 

 (a)  is misleading or deceptive; 

 (b)  is likely to be mistaken for another licensee already in 

business; or 

 (c)  implies association or connection with any other 

organization where actual bona fide association or connection does not 

exist. 

 (2)  "Insurance consulting," "insurance consultants" or similar 

words shall only be used if the licensee is licensed as a consultant. 

 (3)  A licensee shall be licensed using the licensee's legal 

name. 

 (4)[(a)  Section 31A-23a-110(2) permits a licensee to use an 

assumed name by notifying the commissioner. 

 (b)  In order to give notice of an assumed name as required by 

Section 31A-23a-110(2), the licensee shall comply with R590-244-13. 

 (5)]  A licensee may use its legal name[,] or an assumed name 

[provided ]if the commissioner is [properly ]notified[ of the assumed 

name]. 

 

R590-154-6.  [Sale, Solicitation, or Negotiation of Insurance; 

Consultation]Selling, Soliciting, or Negotiating for Insurance or 

Advising or Consulting About Insurance. 

 (1)  [A licensee shall not, orally or in writing, fail to disclose 

that the licensee is an insurance licensee. 

 (2)  A licensee shall not use or imply license types or lines of 

authority not held by the licensee. 

 (3)  An individual licensee may only use the name of an 

agency licensee if the individual licensee is designated to act under the 

agency's license. 

 (4)  An individual licensee may not sell, solicit, or negotiate 

insurance; or consult or advise for an agency licensee unless the 

individual licensee is designated to act under the agency's license.]When 

selling, soliciting, or negotiating for insurance or advising or consulting 

about insurance, a licensee shall: 

 (a)  disclose that the licensee is an insurance licensee; and 

 (b)  use the name of the agency licensee if the individual 

licensee is designated to act under an agency's license. 

 (2)  When selling, soliciting, or negotiating for insurance or 

advising or consulting about insurance, a licensee may not: 

 (a)  use or imply a license type or line of authority not held by 

the licensee; and 

 (b)  sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance or consult or advise for 

an agency licensee unless the individual licensee is designated to act 

under the agency's license. 

 

R590-154-7.  Claiming or Representing Department Approval. 

 (1)  A licensee may not represent, either directly or indirectly, 

that the department, the commissioner, or any employee of the 

department, has approved, reviewed, or endorsed any marketing 

program, insurance product, insurance company, practice, or act. 

 (2)  A licensee may report: 

 (a)  the [fact of the ]filing of any form, financial report, or 

other document with the department[,]; or[ of ] 

 (b)  any licensure, examination, or other action involving the 

department[,] or the commissioner[ but ]. 

 (3)  A licensee may not misrepresent the[ir] effect or import 

of any item reported under Subsection (2). 

 

R590-154-8.  [Bartering for Insurance. 

 Any licensee bartering for the sale of insurance or an annuity 

contract shall fully document the receipt of goods, services or other thing 

of value, establishing the value of the thing received and how the value 

was established, from whom received, the date received, and the 

premium cost of the insurance or annuity contract bartered for, and shall 

retain said documentation for three years following the expiration of the 

policy period or bartering transaction, whichever is longer.  Any licensee 

bartering for the sale of an insurance or annuity contract shall disclose 

at the time of application to the insurer said bartering arrangement. 

 

R590-154-9.  Prohibited Insurance Sales Tie-Ins]Unfair 

Inducements. 

 (1)  A [M]multi-level marketing program[s], investment 

program[s], membership[s], or other similar program[s,] designed or 

represented to produce or provide funds to pay [all or ]any part of the 

cost of insurance constitutes an [illegal ]unfair inducement. 

 (2)  A [This does not preclude the provision of insurance 

through a ]bona fide employee benefit[s] program is not an unfair 

inducement. 
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R590-154-[10]9.  Premium Reduction Through Commissions or 

Consulting Fees. 

 (1)  A licensee [shall ]may not give or offer to give a premium 

reduction [by means of ]through a commission or a consulting fee back 

to the insurer for any purpose, including competition, unless the 

reduction is for expense savings and is justified by a reasonable standard 

and with reasonable accuracy.[  The ] 

 (2)(a)  An insurer's underwriting files must document [the 

]any savings [in order ]to enable the commissioner to verify 

compliance.[  This ] 

 (b)  The documentation must demonstrate legitimate expense 

savings realized by the insurer and its producer. 

 

R590-154-[11]10.  Prohibited Financing Arrangements. 

 A licensee may not obtain or arrange for third party financing 

of premium without the knowledge and consent of the insured. 

 

R590-154-[12]11.  Acting as [A]a Licensee in Other Jurisdictions. 

 A resident licensee may not sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance 

or advise or consult about insurance in another jurisdiction unless 

licensed or permitted by law to do so in that jurisdiction. 

 

R590-154-[13]12.  Use of Comparative Information. 

 (1)  [Every ]An insurer marketing insurance in [the State of 

]Utah shall establish written marketing procedures to assure that any 

comparison of insurance contracts, annuities, or insurance companies by 

its producers will be fair and accurate. 

 (2)  A licensee may not use any published rating information 

regarding an insurer in connection with the marketing of any insurance 

contract or annuity unless that person also provides at the same time an 

explanation of what the rating means, as defined by [the ]a credit rating 

[service]agency. 

 

R590-154-[14]13.  Disclosure of Insurer in Group Insurance. 

 [Every ]A certificate of insurance or booklet describing 

coverage of a group insurance policy shall prominently state on the 

cover of the certificate or booklet the legal name and address of the 

actual insurer. 

 

R590-154-[15.  Enforcement Date. 

 The commissioner shall begin enforcing the revised 

provisions of this rule on the rule's effective date. 

 

R590-154-16]14.  Severability. 

 [If any provision of this rule or the application to any person 

or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any other 

provision or application of this rule which can be given effect without 

the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provision of this 

rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision of this rule, Rule 

R590-154, or its application to any person or situation is held invalid, 

such invalidity does not affect any other provision or application of this 

rule that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  

The remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 

provision or application. 

 

KEY:  insurance, unfair marketing practices, misleading names 

Date of Last Change:  2022[January 15, 2016] 

Notice of Continuation:  March 14, 2018 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 

31A-23a-402; 31A-23a-110 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-14 Filing ID 
54101 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Insurance 

Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 

Room no.: Suite 2300 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Steve Gooch 801-
957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R592-14.  Delay or Failure to Record Documents and the 
Insuring of Properties with the False Appearance of 
Unmarketability as Unfair Title Insurance Practices 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended.  The 
Title and Escrow Commission approved these changes in 
a November 8, 2021, meeting by a vote of 3 to 0. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Others are changes to make the 
language of this rule more clear.  The new Section R592-
14-5 is being updated to use the Department's current 
language and the current Section R592-14-5 is being 
removed because this rule is currently being enforced.  
The changes do not add, remove, or change any 
regulations or requirements. 
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Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Subsection 
31A-2-404(2) 

Subsection 
31A-23a-406(8) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
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must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 

R592-14.  [Delay or Failure to Record Documents and the Insuring 

of Properties with the False Appearance of Unmarketability as 

Unfair Title Insurance Practices]Unfair or Deceptive Acts or 

Practices Affecting Title to Real Property. 

R592-14-1.  Authority. 

 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow Commission 

pursuant to [Section ]Subsections 31A-2-404(2) and 31A-23a-406(8). 

 

R592-14-2.  Purpose and Scope. 

 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to [prohibit intentional delay, 

neglect or refusal by insurers, through their agents, to record or deliver 

for recording documentation necessary to support policy insuring 

provisions, resulting in the false appearance of unmarketability, in the 

record only, of property which would otherwise be marketable.  This 

practice is deemed to be an unfair or deceptive act or practice 

detrimental to free competition in the business of insurance and injurious 

to the public]identify a misleading, unfair, or deceptive act or practice 

affecting title to real property. 

 (2)  This rule applies to a[ll] title insurance company[ers], an 

agency title insurance producer[s], and an individual title insurance 

producer[s]. 

 

R592-14-3.  Definitions. 

 [For the purpose of this rule, the Commission adopts the 

definitions as particularly set forth in Section 31A-1-301 and in addition 

the following]Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 

and 31A-2-402. Additional terms are defined as follows: 

 [A.](1)  "Document" means [any instrument in writing ]a 

written instrument that: 

 (a)  relates[relating] to real property described in [any ]a title 

insurance policy, contract, or commitment[,]; and 

 (b)  [reasonably required for the support of the insuring 

provisions]is required to support an insurance provision in a policy. 

 [B.](2)  "Record" means to cause to be delivered to the county 

recorder, or other appropriate public official[ as may be appropriate], 

[any ]a document in the possession or control of [any title insurance 

company or title insurance agent for which ]a title insurance company, 

an agency title insurance producer, and an individual title insurance 

producer when a request to record has been made by an insured party, a 

title insurance company, an agency title insurance producer, or an 

individual title insurance [agent]producer. 

 

R592-14-4.  [Definition and Classification of Unfair or Deceptive 

Practices and Material Inducements]Prohibited Acts or Practices 

Affecting Title to Real Property. 

 [A.  Any knowing conduct by a title insurance company or 

title insurance agent which results in the failure, neglect, refusal to 

record, or to obtain for recording, any document which, unless recorded, 

results in the apparent unmarketability of title or a title which may not 

be insurable by another insurer, is defined as an unfair or deceptive act 

or practice as prohibited by Section 31A-23a-402. 

 B.  The issuance or agreement to issue title insurance, or the 

affirmation of current marketability of title, when the possible recording 

of documents of title has not occurred, and the record does not manifest 

a title which would be insurable according to generally accepted title 

insurance standards, is classified and proscribed as an advantage and 

material inducement to obtaining title insurance business as prohibited 

under Section 31A-23a-402(2)(c)(i)(D)]A title insurance company, an 

agency title insurance producer, and an individual title insurance 

producer are prohibited from engaging in the following unfair or 

deceptive acts or practices: 

 (1)  knowingly failing to obtain a document for recording or 

knowingly failing to record a document that results in unmarketable or 

uninsurable title to real property; or 

 (2)  issuing or agreeing to issue title insurance, or affirming 

current marketability of title to real property when: 

 (a)  necessary documents for title have not been recorded; and 

 (b)  the record does not manifest an insurable title, according 

to generally accepted title insurance standards. 

 

R592-14-5.  [Enforcement Date. 

 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule upon the 

rule's effective date. 

 

R592-14-6.  ]Severability. 

 [If any provision or clause of this rule or the application of it 

to any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 

remainder of the rule and the application of this provision to other 

persons or circumstances may not be affected by it]If any provision of 

this rule, Rule R592-14, or its application to any person or situation is 

held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 

application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 

provision or application.  The remainder of this rule shall be given effect 

without the invalid provision or application. 

 

KEY:  insurance law 

Date of Last Change:  2022[August 9, 2011] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 9, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-404 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R634-3-3 Filing ID 
54116 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Natural Resources 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 1594 W North Temple 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Tyler Thompson 801-
510-
7062 

tylerthompson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R634-3-3.  Definitions 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Newly published research has necessitated a change of 
definition for "functional habitat":  Dahlgren, D.K., 
Messmer, T.A., Crabb, B.A., Kohl, M.T., Frey, S.N., 
Thacker, E.T., Larsen, R.T. and Baxter, R.J. (2019), Sage‐
grouse breeding and late brood‐rearing habitat guidelines 
in Utah. Wildl. Soc. Bull., 43: 576-589. 
doi:10.1002/wsb.1029 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule change will amend the definition of "functional 
habitat" from a blanket 10% required canopy of sagebrush 
cover to a more nuanced definition that makes 
recommended canopy cover values for differing habitat 
clusters as defined in the Utah Conservation Plan for 
Greater Sage-grouse.  7% for low habitat cluster, 14% for 
Wasatch habitat cluster and 16% for Parker habitat cluster. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

The proposed rule amendment makes a small change to 
the requirements for compensatory mitigation credits to be 
created.  These changes can be initiated within the current 
workload and resources of the Department of Natural 
Resources (DNR); therefore, DNR determines that this 
amendment does not create a cost or savings impact to 
the state budget or the DNR's budget since the changes 
will not increase workload and can be carried out with 
existing budget. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendment only makes small change 
to the definition of "functional habitat" this filing does not 
create any direct cost or savings impact to local 
governments.  Nor are local governments indirectly 
impacted because this rule change does not create a 
situation requiring services from local governments. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

The proposed rule amendment will not directly impact 
small businesses nor is there a service required of them. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
non-small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The proposed amendment change may make it easier for 
persons to achieve the status of "functional habitat" 
following a credit generation project or creation of a 
conservation easement in occupied sage grouse habitat.  
These credits can then be enrolled and sold through 
DNR's sage-grouse compensatory mitigation program. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

The proposed amendment change may reduce the cost for 
persons of maintaining the active status of any created and 
enrolled mitigation credits in DNR's sage-grouse 
compensatory mitigation program as it lowers the amount 
of sagebrush cover in many areas of the state that must 
be maintained before a re-treatment is required. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to small businesses.  Brian Steed, Executive 
Director 
 

6. A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Utah Department of Natural 
Resources, Brian Steed, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 79-2-501   

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brian Steed, DNR 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R634.  Natural Resources, Administration. 

R634-3.  Compensatory Mitigation Program. 

R634-3-3.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Agreement Fee" means a sum of money set by the 

Legislature and paid by a Credit Provider upon entering into a Term 

Mitigation Agreement or Conservation Bank Agreement with the 

Department to offset the Department's costs in administering the 

Agreement. 

 (2)  "Application Fee" means a sum of money set by the 

Legislature and paid by an applicant to the Department to offset the cost 

of processing a compensatory mitigation application submitted to the 

Department. 

 (3)  "Area of Permanent Disturbance" means the area within 

a spatial polygon circumscribing the actual permanently disturbed area 

directly impacting sage-grouse or its habitat. 

 (4)  "Baseline" means the pre-existing condition of a defined 

project area, prior to commencing any Credit Generation Project. 

 (5)  "Bank Manager" means the person(s) or entity 

responsible for managing the Bank Property and implementing the 

terms and requirements contained in the Conservation Bank Agreement 

for the long-term conservation of sage-grouse habitat. 

 (6)  "Bank Property" means permanently protected real 

property included in or devoted to the development of a Conservation 

Bank. 

 (7)  "Compensatory Mitigation" means the restoration or 

establishment of sage-grouse habitat or permanent protection of existing 

occupied habitat to offset the unavoidable adverse impacts which 

remain following permanent disturbance to sage grouse habitat. 

 (8)  "Compensatory Mitigation Program" means the sage-

grouse habitat mitigation program created by Title 79, Chapter 2, Part 5 

of the Utah Code and this Rule. 

 (9)  "Conservation Bank" means a site or suite of sites of at 

least 640 contiguous acres established under a Conservation Bank 

Agreement with the Department that provides ecological functions and 

services for sage-grouse, expressed as Credits that are conserved and 

managed in perpetuity and used to offset impacts to sage-grouse habitat 

expressed as Debits, occurring elsewhere. 

 (10)  "Conservation Bank Agreement" means the legal 

document for the establishment, operation and use of a conservation 

bank. 

 (11)  "Conservation Easement" means an easement, covenant, 

restriction, or condition in a deed, will, or other instrument signed by or 

on behalf of the record owner(s) of the underlying real property and is 

an interest in land that runs with the land benefited or burdened by the 

easement for the purpose of preserving and maintaining land as sage-

grouse habitat or Corridors.  To be valid, a Conservation Easement must 

comply with the "Land Conservation Easement Act" in Utah State Code, 

Title 57 Chapter 18, as amended, which terms and requirements are 

incorporated herein by reference. 

 (12)  "Corridor" means an area of land that facilitates sage-

grouse movement between two or more areas of Occupied Habitat 

containing less than 1% canopy cover in conifers and at least 15% 

ground cover in perennial grasses, shrubs, and forbs, and is at least 100 

acres in size with a width of at least 2000 feet. 

 (13)  "Credit" means an acre of Functional Habitat or Corridor 

lands created or restored or an acre of Occupied Habitat preserved by a 

Credit Provider that may be transferred to a Credit Buyer to offset 

impacts of Permanent Disturbances and which represents the value in 

Compensatory Mitigation activities. 

 (14)  "Credit Buyer" means any person who purchases Credits 

to offset the impacts of permanent disturbance to sage-grouse habitat. 

 (15)  "Credit Exchange Service" means a tool created by the 

Department to track the development, maintenance and transfer of 

Credits. 

 (16)  "Credit Generation Project" means any planned project 

implemented by a Credit Provider or a designee within any SGMA to 
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create or restore Functional Habitat or Corridors or preserve Occupied 

Habitat to generate Credits. 

 (17)  "Credit Maintenance" means the actions required to 

ensure that Credit acreage continues to operate as Functional Habitat, 

Corridors or Occupied Habitat for the duration of the disturbance it was 

intended to offset. 

 (18)  "Credit Provider" means any person or entity that creates 

or restores Functional Habitat or Corridor(s) or preserves occupied 

habitat to generate Credits to be transferred utilizing the Credit 

Exchange Service. 

 (19)  "Credit Transfer Fee" means a sum of money set by the 

Legislature and paid by a Credit Buyer to the Department when a Credit 

Provider transfers Credits to a Credit Buyer to offset the Department's 

costs in administering this Program. 

 (20)  "Debit" means an acre of sage-grouse habitat 

permanently disturbed in a SGMA for which Compensatory Mitigation 

is applicable. 

 (21)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Natural 

Resources, the agency responsible for administering the Compensatory 

Mitigation Program. 

 (22)  "Durability" means the ability for mitigation measures 

to remain effective for a period of time that is at least as long as the 

impacts from the permanent disturbance that the mitigation is designed 

to offset. 

 (23)  "Functional Habitat" means any sage-grouse habitat, 

created through a Credit Generation Project, contiguous with existing 

Occupied Habitat, and which includes a live sagebrush canopy cover of 

at least [10]7% (Low habitat cluster), 14% (Wasatch habitat cluster), or 

16% (Parker habitat cluster) and no more than 1% canopy cover of 

conifer trees over 0.5 meters in height. Low, Wasatch and Parker Habitat 

clusters are described in the Utah Conservation Plan for Greater Sage-

grouse. 

 (24)  "Habitat" means the aggregation of Seasonal Habitats 

used by sage-grouse during their yearly life-cycle. 

 (25)  "In-lieu Fee" means money provided to the State, at the 

direction of a regulatory agency, to be used for restoration and 

enhancement of sage-grouse habitat, with the goal to create or restore 

Functional Habitat that satisfies Compensatory Mitigation requirements 

to offset Permanent Disturbance. 

 (26)  "Mitigation Ratio" means the ratio of Credits needed by 

a Credit Buyer or produced by the State to offset any Permanent 

Disturbance within sage-grouse habitat.  Where a regulatory agency is 

involved, the agency establishes the mitigation ratio but it is 

recommended that any person causing Permanent Disturbance to an 

acre of sage-grouse habitat should provide four acres of Functional 

Habitat, Protected Habitat, or Corridors as a proper Mitigation Ratio to 

offset indirect impacts from disturbance and account for differences in 

habitat quality without conducting a detailed analysis of either factor. 

 (27)  "Occupied Habitat" means any Habitat utilized by Sage-

grouse during any portion of their annual lifecycle. 

 (28)  "Permanent Disturbance" means a human caused action 

that results in a loss of sage-grouse Habitat for a period of five or more 

years and includes all areas where the direct effects of the action could 

be expected to disrupt the common activities of sage-grouse for a period 

of five years or more. 

 (29)  "Plan" means the current Conservation Plan for Greater 

Sage-grouse in Utah. 

 (30)  "Program Administrator" means the Executive Director 

of the Department, or their designee, with authority to establish, operate 

and manage the Compensatory Mitigation Program. 

 (31)  "Project Area" means the geographic boundary of any 

Credit Generation Project. 

 (32)  "Protected Habitat" means an area of Occupied Habitat 

that is preserved from Permanent Disturbance through a Conservation 

Easement for at least 20 years and is maintained as suitable habitat for 

the length of the easement. 

 (33)  "Remedial Action" means any corrective measures 

which a Credit Provider is required to take to ameliorate any injury or 

adverse impact to Credits or Transferred Credits to ensure long-term 

Durability. 

 (34)  "Reserve Pool" means a pool of Credits, managed by the 

Program Administrator or a Bank Manager, intended to cover risks of 

potential Reversals on any Project Area. 

 (35)  "Reversal" means a Compensatory Mitigation Credit 

that does not persist for the full duration of the Permanent Disturbance. 

 (36)  "SGMA" means Sage-grouse Management Areas as 

identified in the Plan. 

 (37)  "Seasonal Habitat" means all habitats utilized by sage-

grouse for survival during some portion of its life cycle, including leks, 

nesting, brood rearing, late brood rearing, transitional corridors, and 

winter habitat. 

 (38)  "Service Area" means any SGMA within the State of 

Utah. 

 (39)  "SITLA Lands" means lands owned or managed by the 

Utah School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration. 

 (40)  "State Lands" means lands owned or managed by any 

State of Utah agency other than SITLA. 

 (41)  "Term Mitigation Agreement" means an agreement 

between the Department and any person(s) owning or controlling 

property within any SGMA, where the landowner conducts a Credit 

Generation Project for the benefit of sage-grouse, and which actions 

result in the creation of Credits to be transferred to Credit Buyers to 

offset Permanent Disturbances to sage-grouse Habitat. 

 (42)  "Transfer" means the conveyance of Credits from one 

person or entity to another to offset impacts from Permanent 

Disturbance. 

 (43)  "Transferred Credit" means any Credit transferred 

within the Department's Credit Exchange Service to offset impacts from 

Permanent Disturbance. 

 (44)  "Verification" means the process used to confirm that 

Compensatory Mitigation Program rules have been followed through 

standardized reporting and monitoring. 

 (45)  "Verifier" means any person or entity that has been 

accredited by the Department and certifies or monitors Functional 

Habitat, Corridors or Protected Habitat following Credit Generation 

Projects utilizing the scientific methods and guidelines approved by the 

Department. 

 

KEY:  Sage Grouse, mitigation 

Date of Last Change:  2022[March 26, 2018] 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-2-501 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R765-611 Filing ID 
54119 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 

Agency: Administration 
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Building: Board of Regents Building, The 
Gateway 

Street address: 60 S 400 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Kevin V. Olsen 801-
556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Ashley Reyes 801-
321-
7211 

areyes@utahsbr.edu 

Geoffrey T. 
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R765-611.  Veterans Tuition Gap Program 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The reason for filing this amendment is to require 
applicants of the Veterans Tuition Gap Program to 
complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid as 
required by Subsection 53B-13b-104(3).  In addition, the 
title of the agency needs to be renamed to comply with 
S.B. 111 from the 2020 General Session. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The amendment provides an additional requirement for 
applicants of the Veterans Tuition Gap Program to 
complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid, with 
the ability to opt out due to financial and privacy concerns.  
In addition, the reference to "Regents (Board of)" as the 
agency is changed to "Higher Education (Utah Board of)."  
Further, there are several other technical changes, 
including the renumbering of subsections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not materially 
impact state revenue because this rule applies only to 
students who apply under the Veterans Tuition Gap 
Program. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
applies to students of higher education institutions who 
apply under the Veterans Tuition Gap Program. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in a 
change of the regulatory burden for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in a 
change of the regulatory burden for non-small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect non-small 
businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because this rule applies only to 
students who apply under the Veterans Tuition Gap 
Program. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for affected persons since 
the Veterans Tuition Gap Program is voluntary. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

The rule affects the Veterans Tuition Gap Program that is 
administered by Utah Higher Education Assistance 
Authority and has no fiscal impact on businesses.  David 
R. Woolstenhulme, Commissioner 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of Higher Education, David R. 
Woolstenhulme, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Subsection 
53B-13b-104(3)(c) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 

must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen, 
Designee and  
Assistant Attorney 
General  

Date: 11/10/2021 

 
R765.  [Regents]Higher Education (Utah Board of), 

Administration. 

R765-611.  Veterans Tuition Gap Program. 

R765-611-1.  Purpose. 

 The purpose of this rule is to [To ]provide [Board of 

Regents ("the Board") policy]the rules and procedures for 

implementing [the]Title 53B, Chapter 13b, Veterans Tuition Gap 

Program Act.[, Utah Code Title 53B, Chapter 13b, enacted in S.B. 16 

by the 2014 General Session of the Utah Legislature and amended by 

S.B. 35 of the 2017 General Session of the Utah Legislature.] 

 

R765-611-2.  [References]Authority. 

 This rule is authorized by Subsection 53B-13b-

104(3)(c).[2.1.  Utah Code Section 68-3-12.5 (Definition of Veteran) 

 2.2.  Utah Code Section 53B-8-106 (Resident tuition - 

Requirements - Rules) 

 2.3.  Utah Code Section 53B-8-102 (Definition of Resident 

Student) 

 2.4.  Utah Code Section 53B-13b-101 to 104 (Veterans 

Tuition Gap Program Act) 

 2.5.  Policy and Procedures R512, Determination of 

Resident Status] 

 

R765-611-3.  [Effective Date]Definitions. 

 (1)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education. 

 (2)  "Eligible institution" means a higher education 

institution that grants baccalaureate degrees and is: 

 (a)  a public institution of higher education described in 

Subsection 53B-2-101(1); or 

 (b)  a private, nonprofit, postsecondary institution that is: 

 (i)  recognized by the Internal Revenue Service or the state; 

 (ii)  located within the state; and 

 (iii)  accredited by an accrediting organization recognized 

by the U.S. Department of Education. 

 (3)  "Eligible student" means a student attending an eligible 

institution who: 

 (a)  is a resident student of the state as established under 

Section 53B-8-102 and Board Policy R512 or exempt from paying 

the nonresident portion of total tuition under Section 53B-8-106; 

 (b)  is a veteran as defined by Section 68-3-12.5; 

 (c)  is unconditionally admitted and currently enrolled in an 

eligible program leading to a bachelor's degree at an eligible 

institution; 

 (d)  is maintaining satisfactory academic progress, as 

defined by the institution, toward the degree in which enrolled; 

 (e)  has exhausted the federal benefit under any veterans 

educational assistance program or such benefits are unavailable; 

 (f)  has not completed a bachelor's degree; 

 (g)  is in the final year of the student's academic 

baccalaureate program; and 
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 (h)  has completed the FAFSA to the extent that it will 

benefit the student's ability to maximize financial aid opportunities, 

except that the student may opt out of this requirement due to: 

 (i)  financial ineligibility for any potential grant or other 

financial aid; 

 (ii)  personal privacy concerns; or 

 (iii)  advice of the institution based on its assessment of the 

factors that may impact the student's ability to access maximum 

financial aid opportunities. 

 (4)  "FAFSA" means the financial reporting form known as 

Free Application for Federal Student Aid that is administered by the 

U.S. Department of Education to determine the need and eligibility 

of a higher education student for financial aid. 

 (5)  "Institutional Participation agreement" means a written 

agreement between the program administrator and an eligible 

institution that is needed for the eligible institution to participate in 

VeT Gap. 

 (6)  "Program administrator" means the Associate 

Commissioner for Student Financial Aid, or a person designated in a 

formal delegation of authority by the Associate Commissioner, under 

executive direction of the Commissioner of Higher Education. 

 (7)  "VeT Gap" means Veterans Tuition Gap 

Program.[These policies and procedures are effective July 1, 2017.] 

 

R765-611-4.  [Policy]Program Description and Length of Award 

Year. 

 [4.1.  Program Description:  The Veterans Tuition Gap 

Program (](1)  VeT Gap[)] is a [S]state supplement grant to provide 

tuition assistance for veterans who are attending institutions of higher 

education in Utah and whose benefits under the [F]federal program 

have been exhausted or are not available.  This program [is]shall be 

only available to [higher education]eligible institutions that grant 

baccalaureate degrees. 

 [4.2.](2)  [Award Year:  ]The award year for VeT Gap is the 

twelve-month period coinciding with the [S]state fiscal year 

beginning July 1 and ending June 30. 

[ 4.3.  Institutions Eligible to Participate: Eligible institutions 

include those located within the State of Utah which are accredited 

by a regional or national accrediting organization recognized by the 

Board. 

 4.4.  Students Eligible to Participate: To be eligible for 

assistance from VeT Gap funds, a student must: 

 4.4.1.  be a resident student of the State of Utah under Utah 

Code Section 53B-8-102 and Board Policy R512 or exempt from 

paying the nonresident portion of total tuition under Utah Code 

Section 53B-8-106; and 

 4.4.2.  be a veteran as defined by Utah Code Section 68-3-

12.5; and 

 4.4.3.  be unconditionally admitted and currently enrolled 

in an eligible program leading to a bachelor's degree at an eligible 

institution; and 

 4.4.4.  be maintaining satisfactory academic progress, as 

defined by the institution, toward the degree in which enrolled; and 

 4.4.5.  has exhausted the Federal benefit under any veterans 

educational assistance program or such benefits are unavailable; and 

 4.4.6.  has not completed a bachelor's degree; and 

 4.4.7.  be in the final year of his or her academic 

baccalaureate program.] 

 [4.5.](3)  [Length of Award Period. ]An [qualifying military 

veteran]eligible student may receive a [program]VeT Gap grant until 

the earlier of the following occurs: 

 [4.5.1.](a)  the [qualifying military veteran]eligible student 

completes the requirements for a bachelor's degree; or 

 [4.5.2.](b)  12 months from the beginning of the initial 

academic term for which the [qualifying military veteran]eligible 

student receives an initial program grant. 

[ 4.6.  Program Administrator: The program administrator 

for the VeT Gap is the Associate Commissioner for Student Financial 

Aid, or a person designated in a formal delegation of authority by the 

Associate Commissioner, under executive direction of the 

Commissioner of Higher Education.] 

[ 4.7.  Availability of Funds for the Program:] 

 

R765-611-5.  Availability of Program Funds. 

 (1)  Funds available for VeT Gap allocations to eligible 

institutions may come from specifically earmarked [S]state 

appropriations, or from other sources such as private contributions. 

[Amounts available for allocations]An eligible institution's ability to 

participate in VeT Gap shall be determined each year [shall be 

allocated ]as follows: 

[ 4.8.  Allocation of Program Funds to Institutions] 

 [4.8.1.](a)  Annually, [the participating institution will 

provide the following required data, for the most recently completed 

academic year, ]by March 1st[.], [T]the director of financial aid of an 

eligible institution, in consultation with the institution's veterans 

affairs officer, [will]shall demonstrate intention to continue 

participation in VeT Gap by submitting to the program administrator 

a certification, subject to audit, of the total number of veterans who 

were resident students of the [S]state [of Utah ]under [Utah Code 

]Section 53B-8-102 and Board Policy R512 who have graduated 

from the institution with a baccalaureate degree in the most recently 

completed academic year. 

 [4.8.2.](b)  Failure to submit the certification required in 

[4.8.1]Subsection (1)(a) by the requested date shall constitute[s] an 

automatic decision by [an]the eligible institution to not [to 

]participate in the program for the next fiscal year. 

 

R765-611-6.  Allocation of Program Funds to Eligible 

Institutions. 

 [4.8.3.](1)  Allocation of program funds to [participating]an 

eligible institution[s] [will]shall be based on the proportion of the 

[total number of an ]institution's Utah resident students who are 

veterans who graduated with a baccalaureate degree in the most 

recently completed academic year when compared to[and the 

proportion of each participating institution's number of those students 

to] the total population of such students in each of the other eligible 

institutions that are participating in VeT Gap that year.  For 

example[:],[ 

 4.8.3.1.  A participating] a particular eligible institution's 

number of Utah resident students who are veterans and graduated 

with a baccalaureate degree during the most recently completed 

academic year [/ ]divided by the [Total]total number of Utah resident 

students who are veterans and graduated from [all]each of the other 

participating eligible institutions with a baccalaureate degree during 

the most recently completed academic year [= % ]equals the percent 

of VeT Gap funds allocated to [the participating]that particular 

eligible institution. 

 [4.8.4.](2)  The program administrator [will]shall send 

official notification of each participating eligible institution's 

allocation to the institution's director of financial aid each fiscal year. 
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[ 4.8.5.  The program administrator will send a blank copy of 

the format for the institutional VeT Gap performance report, to be 

submitted within 30 days of the end of the applicable fiscal year, to 

the director of financial aid of each participating institution each 

fiscal year.] 

[ 4.9.  Institutional Participation Agreement:] 

 

R765-611-7.  Institutional Participation Agreement. 

 Each participating eligible institution [will]shall enter into 

an [written]institutional participation agreement with the program 

administrator or assigned designee and agree[ing] to abide by the 

program [policies]rules, accept and disburse funds per program rules, 

[provide the required report each year ]and retain documentation for 

the program to support the awards and actions taken.[ By accepting 

the funds, the participating institution agrees to the following terms 

and conditions:] 

[ 4.9.1.  Use of Program Funds Received by the Institution] 

 

R765-611-8.  Use of Program Funds Received by an Eligible 

Institution. 

 [4.9.1.1.](1)  [The]An eligible institution may at its 

discretion place up to, but in no case more than, 3.0% of the total 

amount of program funds allocated to it for the award year in a budget 

for student financial aid administrative expenses of the institution. 

 (2)  If an eligible institution determines that it cannot use 

any portion of its VeT Gap allocation in an award year, the institution 

may return that portion of its allocation to the program administrator 

and the program administrator may redistribute the returned funds to 

other eligible institutions that it determines have unmet needs for that 

same award year. 

 [4.9.1.2.](3)  [The]An eligible institution may not carry 

forward or carry back from one fiscal year to another any of its VeT 

Gap allocation for a fiscal year. Any unused funds [will]shall be 

returned to the program administrator as directed. Returned funds 

[will]shall be re[-]distributed to eligible institutions as regular VeT 

Gap allocations for disbursement the next award year. 

 [4.9.1.3.](4)  [The]An eligible institution may establish 

processes to determine the distribution of funds to students so long 

as it does so in accordance with the provisions established in this 

[policy]rule. 

[ 4.9.2.  Determination of Awards to Eligible Students] 

 

R765-611-9.  Determination of Awards to Eligible Students. 

 [4.9.2.1.](1)  Student cost of attendance budgets [will]shall 

be established by the eligible institution, in accordance with 20 

U.S.C. Sec. 1087[11]ll[ (2010)], for specific student categories 

authorized in the [F]federal regulations, and providing for the total of 

costs payable to the institution plus other direct educational expenses, 

transportation and living expenses. 

 [4.9.2.2.  The total amount of any VeT Gap funds awarded 

to an eligible student in an academic year will not exceed the amount 

of tuition (not fees) for that academic year and may be impacted by 

the following: 

 (a)  An eligible student whose period of enrollment is less 

than the normally-expected period of enrollment within the award 

year (such as two semesters, three quarters, nine months, or 900 clock 

hours) will be awarded an amount in proportion to the normally-

expected period of enrollment represented by the term, or terms, e.g. 

semester or quarter) for which the student is enrolled; or 

 (b)  The minimum student award amount may be the 

balance of funds remaining in the institution's allocation for the 

award year in the case that the previous eligible student receiving a 

VeT Gap award for the year reduced the total available funds to an 

amount less than that for which an individual qualified.](2)  An 

eligible student who receives a program grant may only use the grant 

toward tuition, fees and books at an eligible institution. 

 [4.9.2.3.](3)  VeT Gap funds [will]shall be awarded and 

packaged on an annual award year basis unless the remaining period 

of enrollment until completion of the academic program is less than 

one award year. Funds [will]shall be paid one quarter or semester at 

a time [(]or in thirds, if applicable to some other enrollment basis 

such as total months or total clock hours[)], contingent upon the 

student's maintaining satisfactory progress as defined by the 

institution in published policies or rules. 

 [4.9.2.4.](4)  [All]Each award[s] under the program 

[will]shall be made in accordance with the non-discrimination 

requirements of 34 C.F.R. Part 100[ (2000)]. 

 [4.9.2.5.](5)  Each eligible [S]student[s] receiving financial 

aid under the program [will]shall be required to agree in writing to 

use the funds received for expenses covered in the student's cost of 

attendance budget.[ 

 (a) ] The student's signature on the [Free Application for 

Federal Student Aid]FAFSA shall satisfy[ies] this requirement. 

 [(b)](6)  If the eligible institution determines, after 

opportunity for a hearing on appeal according to established 

institutional procedures, that an eligible student used VeT Gap funds 

for other purposes, the institution [will]shall disqualify the student 

from VeT Gap eligibility beginning with the quarter, semester or 

other defined enrollment period after the one in which the 

determination is made. 

 [4.9.2.6.](7)  [In no case will the]An eligible institution 

may not initially award program funds in amounts which, with 

Federal Direct, Federal Direct PLUS [and/]or Perkins Loans [and]or 

other financial aid from any source, both need and merit-based, and 

with expected family contributions, exceed the cost of attendance for 

the student at the institution for the award year. 

 [4.9.2.7.](8)  If, after the eligible student's financial aid has 

been packaged and awarded, the student later receives other financial 

assistance, such as, [(]for example, merit or program-based 

scholarship aid[)] or the student's cost of attendance budget changes, 

resulting in a later over-award of more than $300, the eligible 

institution [will]shall appropriately reduce the amount of financial 

aid disbursed to the student so that the total does not exceed the cost 

of attendance. 

[ 4.9.3.  Reports: The institution will submit an annual report 

within 30 days after completion of the award year, providing 

information on individual awards and such other program-relevant 

information as the Board may reasonably require.] 

 

R765-611-10.  Records, Retention and Cooperation in Program 

Reviews. 

 [4.9.4.  Records Retention and Cooperation in Program 

Reviews: The]Each eligible institution [will]shall cooperate with the 

program administrator in providing records and information 

requested for any scheduled audits or program reviews, and 

[will]shall maintain records substantiating its compliance with all 

terms of the institutional participation agreement for three years after 

the end of the award year, or until a program review has been 

completed and any exceptions raised in the review have been 

resolved, whichever occurs first. If at the end of the three-year 

retention period, an audit or program review exception is pending 

resolution, the institution [will]shall retain records for the award year 

involved until the exception has been resolved. 
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R765-611-11.  FAFSA Training. 

 To assist eligible students with the FAFSA requirement, 

each institution shall ensure that: 

 (1)  each institution advisor encourages, to the extent 

practicable, each eligible student to annually complete the FAFSA; 

and 

 (2)  the staff and faculty who advise eligible students on 

financial aid are properly trained on the benefits of completing the 

FAFSA. 

 

KEY:  financial aid, higher education, veterans benefits 

Date of Last Change:  2022[August 31, 2018] 

Notice of Continuation:  May 27, 2020 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-13b-

104(3); 53B-8-102; 53B-8-106; Pub. L. No. 110-252 

 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R765-800 Filing ID 
54120 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Regents Building, The 
Gateway 

Street address: 60 S 400 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Kevin V. Olsen 801-
556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Geoffrey T. 
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R765-800.  Free Expression on Campus 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The reason for this amendment is to change the title of the 
agency to comply with S.B. 111 from the 2020 General 
Session. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The amendment changes the agency name from "Regents 
(Board of)" to "Higher Education (Utah Board of)."  In 
addition, the policies of Salt Lake Community College and 
several technical colleges are added to those policies that 
are incorporated by reference.  Further, there are several 
other technical changes, including the renumbering of 
subsections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not materially 
impact state revenue because this rule applies to the civil 
rights of students who attend the state's institutions of 
higher education. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
applies to the civil rights of students who attend the state's 
institutions of higher education. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because this rule provides civil rights 
protections to students who attend the state’s institutions 
of higher education. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for affected persons since 
this rule addresses the civil rights of students who attend 
the state's institutions of higher education. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

This rule affects the civil rights of students who attend 
institutions in the state's system of higher education and 
has no fiscal impact on businesses.  David R. 
Woolstenhulme, Commissioner 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of Higher Education, David R. 
Woolstenhulme, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 
53B-27-302  

  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen, 
Designee and  
Assistant Attorney 
General 

Date: 11/10/2021 

 
R765.  [Regents]Higher Education (Utah Board of), 

Administration. 

R765-800.  Free Expression on Campus. 

R765-800-1.  Purpose. 

 [(1)  ]In accordance with Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 3, 

[Campus]Student Civil Liberties Protection Act, the rule establishes 

general rights to expression on campus as established by law and 

recognizes narrow limits on speech, including time, place, and 

manner restrictions. 

 

R780-800-2.  [References]Authority. 

 [(1)  United States Constitution, Amendment 1, Freedom of 

Expression and Religion. 

 (2)  Utah Constitution, Article 1, Section 15, Freedom of 

Speech and of the Press. 

 (3)  Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 2, Campus Free Expression 

Act. 

 (4)  Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 3, Campus Civil Liberties 

Protection Act]This rule is authorized by Section 53B-27-302. 

 

R780-800-3.  Definitions. 

 (1)  "Free Expression" means all forms of verbal, written, 

or symbolic communication, including peaceful assembly, protests, 

speaking verbally, holding signs, circulating petitions, and 

distributing written materials. 

 ([a]2)  "Free expression" does not include speech or 

conduct that is not recognized as protected by the First Amendment 

to the U.S. Constitution and Article 1, Section 15 of the Utah 

Constitution, including speech or conduct that is a true threat, 

fraudulent, harassment, obscene, defamatory, or otherwise unlawful. 
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R780-800-4.  General Rights of Free Expression on Campus. 

 (1)  Each [I]institution[s] shall uphold and promote free 

expression on campus.  Except as limited by regulations consistent 

with the law and this rule, the following rules shall apply: 

 (a)  [all]each student and member of the faculty[, students,] 

and staff shall have the right to express views and ideas, and 

[are]shall be free to criticize, contest, and condemn views expressed 

on campus and[ ] 

 (b)  [neither]no student or member of the faculty[,] and 

staff[, nor students] may obstruct, disrupt, suppress or otherwise 

interfere with the freedom of others to express views and ideas. 

 ([3]2)  Each [I]institution's['] outdoor areas are [a ]public 

forums. 

 ([4]3)  Subject to Section R765-800-5, an institution[s] 

may not prohibit: 

 (a)  a member of the institution's community or the public 

from spontaneously and contemporaneously assembling in an 

outdoor area of the institution's campus; or 

 (b)  a person from freely engaging in noncommercial 

expressive activity in an outdoor area of the institution's campus if 

the person's conduct is lawful. 

 

R765-800-5.  Time, Place and Manner Restrictions. 

 (1)  An [I]institution[s] may reasonably regulate the time, 

place, and manner of free expression to ensure that it does not disrupt 

the institution's ordinary activities.  This restriction includes 

established procedures for engaging in organized speech activities, 

such as protest marches or invited speakers. 

 (2)  These exceptions to the principle of freedom of 

expression must be viewpoint neutral, generally content neutral, 

narrowly tailored, and leave ample opportunity for alternative means 

for expression.  Institutions [will]may not use these exceptions in a 

manner that is inconsistent with the institutions'' commitment to free 

and open discussion of ideas. 

 

R780-800-6.  Incorporation[s] of Institution Policies. 

 (1)  The following [I]institutions have adopted the 

following policies that are incorporated by reference within this rule, 

including any amendments: 

 ([1]a)  Utah State University[.]'s[ 

 (a) ] Student Code Article III, [(]April 10, 2009[).]; 

 ([2]b)  Weber State University[.]'s: 

 ([a]i)  PPM 6-22, Student Code, [(]September 13, 2018[).]; 

 ([b]ii)  PPM 5-37, Campus Facilities Use, [(]December 4, 

2012[).]; and 

 ([c]iii)  PPM 7-10, Posting and Distribution of Written 

Materials, [(]October 3, 2017[).]; 

 ([3]c)  University of Utah[.]'s: [ 

 (a) ] Policy 1-007, University Speech Policy, [(]June 12, 

2008[).]; 

 ([4]d)  Utah Valley University[.]'s: 

 ([a]i)  161 Freedom of Speech, [(]June 22, 2017[).]; 

 ([b]ii)  162 Sexual Misconduct, [(]June 18, 2019[).]; and 

 ([c]iii)  165 Discrimination, Harassment, and Affirmative 

Action, [(]June 18, 2019[).]; 

 ([5]e)  Snow College[.]: 

 ([a]i)  Student Rights and Responsibilities, [(]May 31, 

2019[).]; and 

 ([b]ii)  Snow College Free Speech Policy, [(]December 8, 

2017[).]; 

 ([6]f)  Southern Utah University[.]'s:[ 

 (a) ] Policy 5.1, Free Speech and Advocacy on Campus, 

[(]May 3, 2018[).]; 

 ([7]g)  Dixie State University[.]'s: 

 ([a]i)  Policy 110, Free Speech, [(]March 5, 2018[).]; and 

 ([b]ii)  Policy 552, Student Rights and Responsibilities, 

[(]April 28, 2017[).]; 

 (h)  Salt Lake Community College's Campus Speech 3-

2.03. (08/01/2018); 

 (i)  Davis Technical College's Free Expression on Campus 

Policy, 7/30/2019; 

 (j)  Dixie Technical College's Student Free Expression 

Rule, 9/24/2019; 

 (k)  Mountainland Technical College's Free Expression 

500.590, effective 7.23.19: 

 (l)  Ogden-Weber Technical College's Free Expression on 

Campus 500.2, approved on July 25, 2019; and 

 (m)  Southwest Technical College's: 

 (i)  Grievance Policy, July 29, 2019; 

 (ii)  Student Conduct Policy, July 29, 2019; and 

 (iii)  Harassment, Nondiscrimination and Equal 

Opportunity, July 29, 2019. 

 

KEY:  civil liberties, free speech 

Date of Last Change:  2022[October 19, 2019] 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-27-302 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R765-801 Filing ID 
54121 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Regents Building, The 
Gateway 

Street address: 60 S 400 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Kevin V. Olsen 801-
556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Geoffrey T. 
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R765-801.  Student Due Process 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The reason for this amendment is to change the title of the 
agency to comply with S.B. 111 from the 2020 General 
Session. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The amendment changes the agency name from "Regents 
(Board of)" to "Higher Education (Utah Board of)."  In 
addition, the policies of several technical colleges are 
added.  Further, there are several other technical changes, 
including the renumbering of subsections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not materially 
impact state revenue because this rule applies to the civil 
rights of students who attend the state's institutions of 
higher education. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
applies to the civil rights of students who attend the state's 
institutions of higher education. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because the rule provides civil rights 

protections to students who attend the state's institutions 
of higher education. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for affected persons since 
this rule addresses the civil rights of students who attend 
the state's institutions of higher education. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

This rule protects the civil rights of students who attend 
institutions in the state's system of higher education and 
has no fiscal impact on businesses.  David R. 
Woolstenhulme, Commissioner 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of Higher Education, David R. 
Woolstenhulme, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 
53B-27-302 

  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen, 
Designee and  
Assistant Attorney 
General 

Date: 11/10/2021 

 
R765.  [Regents]Higher Education (Utah Board of), 

Administration. 

R765-801.  Student Due Process. 

R765-801-1.  Purpose. 

 [(1)  ]In accordance with Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 3, 

[Campus]Student Civil Liberties Protection Act, this rule establishes 

general elements of due process that institutions must provide to a 

student prior to being expelled or suspended for 10 days or more for 

non-academic code of conduct violations. 

 

R765-801-2.  [References]Authority. 

 [(1)  United States Constitution, Amendment 14, Due 

Process. 

 (2)  Utah Constitution, Article 1, Section 7, Due Process of 

Law. 

 (3)  Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 3, Campus Civil Liberties 

Protection Act]This rule is authorized by Section 53B-27-302. 

 

R765-801-3.  General Rights of Due Process. 

 (1)  In matters of non-academic conduct that may result in 

either expulsion or a minimum 10-day suspension, each institution[s] 

[will]shall provide students the following minimum due process: 

 (a)  [Notice: ]Prior to being interviewed about allegations 

of misconduct, the institution shall provide the student[s] with notice 

of the allegations against the[m] student and of the[ir] student's right 

to have an advisor throughout the process who may, but need not be, 

an attorney. 

 ([i]b)  During an inquiry, investigation, or other informal 

process, an advisor may only advise the student and may not actively 

participate in the investigation or informal process. 

 ([b]c)  [Explanation of the evidence:  ]Prior to a formal 

hearing, unless prohibited by reasonable circumstances, each party 

shall provide to the hearing committee chair [(]or hearing officer[)] 

copies of the documents they intend to submit as evidence and a list 

of witnesses they intend to call during the formal hearing.  This 

information [will]shall be shared with [both]each part[ies]y.  In all 

circumstances, including an informal process[es], the institution[s] 

[will]shall provide the student[s] an explanation of the evidence 

against the[m] student. 

 ([c]d)  [Opportunity to respond: ]Each [I]institution[s] 

[will]shall provide the student[s] an opportunity for a full hearing at 

which the[y] student can respond to the allegations and evidence 

against the[m] student.  With the agreement of [all]each part[ies]y, 

the institution[s] may also provide an informal hearing or opportunity 

to respond or an agreed upon informal resolution. 

 ([i]e)  At a formal adjudicatory hearing[s], the student[s] 

may have an advisor advocate for the[m] student.  The student's 

advisor may be an attorney.  The student's advisor may actively 

participate in the hearing in accordance with the institution's policies 

regarding active participation. 

 

R765-801-4.  Standard of Proof. 

 Each [S]student[s are] shall be presumed not to have 

engaged in a [C]code of [C]conduct violation until [an]the institution 

has established a violation by a preponderance of the evidence. 

 

R765-801-5.  Incorporations of Institutions' Policies. 

 (1)  The following [I]institutions have adopted the 

following policies that are incorporated by reference within this rule, 

including amendments: 

 ([1]a)  Utah State University[.]'s: 

 ([a]i)  Policy 305, Discrimination Complaints, [(]May 6, 

2016[).]; and 

 ([b]ii)  Student Code Article VIII, [(]April 10, 2009[).]; 

 ([2]b)  Weber State University[.]'s[ 

 (a) ] PPM 6-22, Student Code, [(]September 13, 2018[).]; 

 ([3]c)  University of Utah[.]'s; 

 ([a]i)  Policy 6-400, Code of Student Rights and 

Responsibilities, Sections III(C), VI (C), [(]July 9, 2009[).]; 

 ([b]ii)  University's Rule 1-012A, Discrimination 

Complaint Process Rule, [(]February 14, 2017[).]; 

 ([c]iii)  University's Rule 1-012B(III)(E-K), Sexual 

Misconduct Complaint Process Rule, [(]February 14, 2017[).]; and 

 ([d]iv)  Procedure 1-012, Discrimination Hearing 

Procedure, [(]February 14, 2017[).]; 

 ([4]d)  Utah Valley University[.]'s; 

 ([a]i)  162 Sexual Misconduct, [(]June 18, 2019[).]; 
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 ([b]ii)  165 Discrimination, Harassment, and Affirmative 

Action, [(]June 18, 2019[).]; 

 ([c]iii)  502 Determination of Utah Resident Status for 

Tuition Purposes, [(]December 4, 2014[).]; and 

 ([d]iv)  541 Student Code of Conduct, [(]November 29, 

2018[).]; 

 ([5]e)  Snow College[.]'s[ 

 (a) ] Student Rights and Responsibilities, [(]May 31, 

2019[).]; 

 ([6]f)  Southern Utah University[.]'s[ 

 (a) ] Policy 11.2, Student Code of Conduct, [(]April 29, 

2016[).]; 

 ([7]g)  Dixie State University[.]'s: 

 ([a]i)  154, Title IX, Harassment and Nondiscrimination, 

[(]September 1, 2016[).]; and 

 ([b]ii)  552, Student Rights and Responsibilities, [(]April 

28, 2017[).]; 

 (h)  Salt Lake Community College's Student Sexual 

Misconduct 3-2.02, 01/17/2017; 

 (i)  Davis Technical College's 

 (i)  Davis Technical College Student Code of Conduct and 

Discipline Policy, July, 30, 2019; and 

 (ii)  Davis Technical College Student Grievance Policy, 

July 30, 2019; 

 (j)  Mountainland Technical College's Student Grievance 

600.608, December 21, 2005; 

 (k)  Ogden-Weber Technical College's Student Rights and 

Responsibilities, and Code of Conduct 530.4., July 25, 2019; 

 (l)  Southwest Technical College's: 

 (i)  Student Conduct Policy, July 1, 2020; 

 (ii)  Grievance Policy, July 21, 2020; 

 (iii)  Harassment, Nondiscrimination and Equal 

Opportunity, July 21, 2020; and 

 (iv)  Title IX Due Process Policy, July 21, 2020; and 

 (m)  Tooele Technical College's: 

 (i)  Student Code of Conduct and Discipline, July 31, 2019; 

and 

 (ii)  Student Grievances, July 31, 2019. 

 

KEY:  civil liberties, due process 

Date of Last Change:  2022[October 19, 2019] 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-27-302 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R765-802 Filing ID 
54122 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Regents Building, The 
Gateway 

Street address: 60 S 400 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Kevin V. Olsen 801-
556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Geoffrey T. 
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R765-802.  Weapons on Campus 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The reason for this amendment is to change the title of the 
agency to comply with S.B. 111 from the 2020 General 
Session. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This amendment changes the agency name from 
"Regents (Board of)" to "Higher Education (Utah Board 
of)."  In addition, the policies of Salt Lake Community 
College and Ogden-Weber Technical College are added.  
Further, there are several other technical changes, 
including the renumbering of subsections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not materially 
impact state revenue because this rule applies to the civil 
rights of students who attend the state's institutions of 
higher education. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
applies to the civil rights of students who attend the state's 
institutions of higher education. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because this rule provides civil rights 
protections to students who attend the state's institutions 
of higher education. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs for affected persons since 
this rule addresses the civil rights of students who attend 
the state's institutions of higher education. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

This rule affects the civil rights of students who attend 
institutions in the state's system of higher education and 
has no fiscal impact on businesses.  David R. 
Woolstenhulme, Commissioner 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of Higher Education, David R. 
Woolstenhulme, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 
53B-27-302 

  

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen, 
Designee and  
Assistant Attorney 
General 

Date: 11/10/2021 
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R765.  [Regents]Higher Education (Utah Board of), 

Administration. 

R765-802.  Weapons on Campus. 

R765-802-1.  Purpose. 

 [(1)  ]In accordance with Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 3, 

[Campus]Student Civil Liberties Protection Act, this rule establishes 

general rights and restrictions on possessing weapons on campus. 

 

R765-802-2.  [References]Authority. 

 [(1)  Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 500 Uniform Law (Right to 

bear arms in Utah). 

 (2)  Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 501 Definitions. 

 (3)  Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 505.5 Possession of a 

dangerous weapon, firearm, or sawed off shotgun on or about school 

premises - Penalties. 

 (4)  Title 76, Chapter 3, Part 203.2 Definitions - Use of 

dangerous weapon in offenses committed on or about school 

premises - Enhanced penalties. Exceptions. 

 (5)  Title 53, Chapter 5, Section 704 Bureau duties -- Permit 

to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms 

instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, 

suspension, or revocation -- Appeal Procedure. 

 (6)  Title 53, Chapter 5, Section Temporary permit to carry 

concealed firearm - Denial, suspension, or revocation - Appeal. 

 (7)  Title 76, Chapter 10, Possession of firearm at residence 

or on real property authorized. 

 (8)  Title 76, Chapter 10, Persons exempt from weapons 

laws. 

 (9)  Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 3, Campus Civil Liberties 

Protection Act]This rule is authorized by Section 53B-27-302. 

 

R765-802-3.  Possession of Weapons on Campus. 

 (1)  Each [I]institution[s] shall comply with and enforce the 

following state laws [referenced in section 2 ]governing firearms on 

campus[.]: 

 (a)  Title 53B, Chapter 27, Part 3, Student Civil Liberties 

Protection Act; 

 (b)  Title 76, Chapter 3, Part 2, Sentencing; and 

 (c)  Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 5, Weapons. 

 

R765-802-4.  Incorporations of Institution Policies. 

 (1)  The following [I]institutions have adopted the 

following policies that are incorporated by reference within this rule, 

including any amendments: 

 ([1]a)  Weber State University[.]'s[ 

 (a) ] PPM 5-35a, Firearms on Campus, August 10, 2010[.]; 

 ([2]b)  University of Utah[.]'s[ 

 (a) ] Policy 1-003, Firearms on Campus, September 24, 

2007[.]; 

 ([3]c)  Utah Valley University[.]'s[ 

 (a) ] 541 Student Code of Conduct, November 29, 2018[.]; 

 (d)  Salt Lake Community College's Weapons 2-3.14, 

10/02/2018; and 

 (e)  Ogden-Weber Technical College's Weapons Prohibited 

on College Property and at College Activities 520.52., July 25, 2019. 

 

KEY:  civil liberties, due process, weapons 

Date of Last Change:  2022[October 19, 2019] 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-27-302 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R861-1A-16 Filing ID 
54131 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Utah State Tax Commission 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R861-1A-16.  Utah State Tax Commission Management 
Plan Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-1-207 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The reason for the change is to make conforming changes 
consistent with organizational modifications in the Tax 
Commission and state government. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

The proposed rule amendments modify the Utah State Tax 
Commission's management plan to delegate certain 
responsibilities related to public information from the Office 
of the Commission to the executive director. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 

This amendment is not expected to impact the state 
budget because it only impacts Tax Commission internal 
operations. 
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B)  Local governments: 

This amendment is not expected to impact local 
governments because it only impacts Tax Commission 
internal operations. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This amendment is not expected to impact small 
businesses because it only impacts Tax Commission 
internal operations. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

This amendment is not expected to impact non-small 
businesses because it only impacts Tax Commission 
internal operations. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This amendment is not expected to impact persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities because it only impacts Tax 
Commission internal operations. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

This amendment is not expected to impact compliance 
costs for affected persons because it only impacts Tax 
Commission internal operations. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

This amendment is not expected to result in a fiscal impact 
on businesses because it only impacts Tax Commission 
internal operations.  Rebecca Rockwell, Commissioner 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Commissioner of the Utah State Tax Commission, 
Rebecca L. Rockwell, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 59-1-207   

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

116 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Commissioner 
Rebecca L.  
Rockwell 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R861.  Tax Commission, Administration. 

R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures. 

R861-1A-16.  Utah State Tax Commission Management Plan 

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-1-207. 

 (1)  The executive director reports to the commission.  The 

executive director shall meet with the commission periodically to report 

on the status and progress of this agreement, update the commission on 

the affairs of the agency and seek policy guidance.  The chairman of the 

commission shall designate a liaison of the commission to coordinate 

with the executive director in the execution of this agreement. 

 (2)  The structure of the agency is as follows: 

 (a)  The Office of the Commission, including the 

commissioners and the following units that report to the commission: 

 (i)  Internal Audit; 

 (ii)  Appeals; and 

 (iii)  Economic and Statistical.[; and 

 (iv)  Public Information.] 

 (b)  The Office of the Executive Director, including the 

executive director's staff and the following divisions that report to the 

executive director: 

 (i)  Administration; 

 (ii)  Taxpayer Services; 

 (iii)  Motor Vehicle; 

 (iv)  Auditing; 

 (v)  Property Tax; 

 (vi)  [Processing]Financial Operations; and 

 (vii)  Motor Vehicle Enforcement. 

 (3)  The Executive Director shall oversee service agreements 

from other departments.[, including the Department of Human 

Resources and the Department of Technology Services.] 

 (4)  The commission hereby delegates full authority for the 

following functions to the executive director: 

 (a)  general supervision and management of the day to day 

management of the operations and business of the agency conducted 

through the Office of the Executive Director and through the divisions 

set out in Subsection (2)(b); 

 (b)  management of the day to day relationships with the 

customers of the agency; 

 (c)  all original assessments, including adjustments to audit, 

assessment, and collection actions, except as provided in Subsections 

(4)(d) and (5); 

 (d)  in conformance with standards established by the 

commission, waivers of penalty and interest pursuant to Section 59-1-

401 in amounts under $10,000, or offers in compromise agreements in 

amounts under $10,000; 

 (e)  except as provided in Subsection (5)(g), voluntary 

disclosure agreements with companies, including multilevel marketers; 

 (f)  determination of whether a county or taxing entity has 

satisfied its statutory obligations with respect to taxes and fees 

administered by the commission; 

 (g)  human resource management functions, including 

employee relations, final agency action on employee grievances, and 

development of internal policies and procedures; and 

 (h)  administration of Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government 

Records Access and Management Act. 

 (5)  The executive director shall prepare and, upon approval 

by the commission, implement the following actions, agreements, and 

documents: 

 (a)  the agency budget; 

 (b)  the strategic plan of the agency; 

 (c)  administrative rules[ and bulletins]; 

 (d)  waivers of penalty and interest in amounts of $10,000 or 

more pursuant to Section 59-1-401 as per the waiver of penalty and 

interest policy; 

 (e)  offer in compromise agreements that abate tax, penalty 

and interest over $10,000 as per the offer in compromise policy; 

 (f)  the annual report; 

 [(f)](g)  stipulated or negotiated agreements that dispose of 

matters on appeal; and 

 [(g)](h)  voluntary disclosure agreements that meet the 

following criteria: 

 (i)  the company participating in the agreement is not licensed 

in Utah and does not collect or remit Utah sales or corporate income tax; 

and 

 (ii)  the agreement forgives a known past tax liability of 

$10,000 or more. 

 (6)  Subject to Subsections (5) and (7) through (10), [The]the 

commission shall retain authority for the following functions: 

 (a)  rulemaking; 

 (b)  adjudicative proceedings; 

 (c)  private letter rulings issued in response to requests from 

individual taxpayers for guidance on specific facts and circumstances; 

 (d)  internal audit processes; 

 (e)  liaison with the governor's office: 

 (i)  [Correspondence]correspondence received from the 

governor's office relating to tax policy will be directed to the Office of 

the Commission for response[.],  [Correspondence]correspondence 

received from the governor's office that relates to operating issues of the 

agency will be directed to the Office of the Executive Director for 

research and appropriate action[.],  [The]the executive director shall 

prepare a timely response for the governor with notice to the 

commission as appropriate[.]; and 

 (ii)  [The]the executive director and staff may have other 

contact with the governor's office upon appropriate notice to the 

commission; 

 (f)  liaison with the Legislature: 

 (i)  The commission will set legislative priorities and 

communicate those priorities to the executive director. 

 (ii)  Under the direction of the executive director, staff may be 

assigned to assist the commission and the executive director in 

monitoring legislative meetings and assisting legislators with policy 

issues relating to the agency;[ and] 

 (g)  litigation: 

 (i)  The executive director shall advise the commission on 

matters under litigation. 

 (ii)  If a settlement offer is received, the executive director 

shall inform the commission of the: 

 (A)  terms of the offer; and 

 (B)  the division's recommendations with regards to that 

offer[.], and 

 (h)  public information. 

 (7)  Correspondence that has been directed to the commission 

or individual commissioners that relates to matters delegated to the 

executive director shall be forwarded to a staff member of the Office of 

the Executive Director for research and appropriate action.  A log shall 

be maintained of all correspondence and periodically the executive 
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director will review with the commission the volume, nature, and 

resolution of all correspondence from all sources. 

 (8)  The executive director's staff may occasionally act as 

support staff to the commission for purposes of conducting research or 

making recommendations on tax issues. 

 (a)  Official communications or assignments from the 

commission or individual commissioners to the staff reporting to the 

executive director shall be made through the executive director. 

 (b)  The commissioners and the Office of the Commission 

staff reserve the right to contact agency staff directly to facilitate a 

collegial working environment and maintain communications within the 

agency.  These contacts will exclude direct commands, specific policy 

implementation guidance, or human resource administration. 

 (9)  The commission shall meet with the executive director 

periodically [for the purpose of exchanging]to exchange information 

and [coordinating]coordinate operations. 

 (a)  The commission shall discuss with the executive director 

all policy decisions, appeal decisions or other commission actions that 

affect the day to day operations of the agency. 

 (b)  The executive director shall keep the commission 

apprised of significant actions or issues arising in the course of the daily 

operation of the agency. 

 (c)  When confronted with circumstances that are not covered 

by established policy or by instances of real or potential conflicts of 

interest, the executive director shall refer the matter to the commission. 

 (10)  Subject to supervision and input by the commission, the 

executive director shall oversee the following: 

 (a)  publications; 

 (b)  bulletins; and 

 (c)  formal responses to media and public inquiries. 

 

KEY:  developmental disabilities, grievance procedures, 

taxation, disclosure requirements 

Date of Last Change:  2022[January 1, 2022] 

Notice of Continuation:  November 9, 2021 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  10-1-405; 

41-1a-209; 52-4-207; 59-1-205; 59-1-207; 59-1-210; 59-1-301; 59-

1-302.1; 59-1-304; 59-1-401; 59-1-403; 59-1-404; 59-1-405; 59-1-

501; 59-1-502.5; 59-1-602; 59-1-611; 59-1-705; 59-1-706; 59-1-

1004; 59-1-1404; 59-7-505; 59-10-512; 59-10-532; 59-10-533; 59-

10-535; 59-12-107; 59-12-114; 59-12-118; 59-13-206; 59-13-210; 

59-13-307; 59-10-544; 59-14-404; 59-2-212; 59-2-701; 59-2-705; 

59-2-1003; 59-2-1004; 59-2-1006; 59-2-1007; 59-2-704; 59-2-924; 

59-7-517; 63G-3-301; 63G-4-102; 76-8-502; 76-8-503; 59-2-701; 

63G-4-201; 63G-4-202; 63G-4-203; 63G-4-204; 63G-4-205 

through 63G-4-209; 63G-4-302; 63G-4-401; 63G-4-503; 63G-3-

201(2); 68-3-7; 68-3-8.5; 69-2-5; 42 USC 12201; 28 CFR 25.107 

1992 Edition 

 

 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 

After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends January 03, 2022. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through March 31, 2022, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 

DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 

EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 

IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R986-700 Filing ID: 53955 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Workforce Services 

Agency: Employment Development 

Building: Olene Walker Building 

Street address: 140 E Broadway (300 S) 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Amanda McPeck 801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R986-700.  Child Care Assistance 
 

3.  Publication date of previous proposed rule or 
change in proposed rule: 

10/01/2021 
 

4.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 

The Department of Workforce Services (DWS) received 
public comment concerning the definition of employment 
and is redefining employment in response to that 
commentary. 
 

5.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

The change in the proposed rule describes the purpose of 
child care assistance as supporting employment and 
further defines employment for the purposes of the rule.  
The phrase "and wages or other remuneration are 
obtained legally" has been removed from the proposed 
definition of employment.  If the rule change is enacted, 
DWS policy will be updated to reflect the change.  As 
explained in the previous proposed rule change, the Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) policy allows 
payment of Child Care assistance to "mixed status" 
families, or families where some household members are 
United States citizens and some are not.  The proposed 
rule change clarifies that Child Care assistance is provided 

to support employment for qualified households with at 
least one minor dependent child who is a United States 
citizen or who meets qualified alien status. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 
was published in the October 1, 2021, issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin, on page 239.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates 
text that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and 
the proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make 
this rule effective.) 
 
 

 
Fiscal Information 

6.  Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A) State budget: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government because any costs associated with 
implementing this rule change will be paid with funds 
granted to the state through the federal CCDF. 
 

B) Local government: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments because the program is federally-
funded and does not rely on local governments for funding, 
administration, or enforcement. 
 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 

The rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on small businesses because the change provides only 
technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance 
with the CCDF plan for Utah and DWS practice. 
 

D) Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses because the change provides 
only technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in 
accordance with the CCDF plan for Utah and DWS 
practice. 
 

E) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on other persons because the change provides only 
technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance 
with the CCDF plan for Utah and DWS practice. 
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F) Compliance costs for affected persons: 

The rule change is not expected to cause any compliance 
costs for affected persons because this rule change does 
not create any new eligibility or administrative 
requirements for recipients or any other affected persons. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After a thorough analysis, it was determined that this rule 
change will have no fiscal impact to businesses.  Casey 
Cameron, Executive Director 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 

Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 

7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 35A-3-203 Section 35A-3-310 Section 53F-5-210 

 
Public Notice Information 

9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A) Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/03/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on:  

01/10/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/12/2021 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 

R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 

R986-700-701.1.  Definitions and Acronyms. 

 (1)  The terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 35A-

3-102 and 35A-3-201. 

 (2)  In addition: 

 (a)  "ALJ" means Administrative Law Judge. 

 (b)  "Applicant" means any person requesting CC. 

 (c)  "Approved Provider" means a provider who meets the 

requirements in Section R986-700-726. 

 (d)  "CC" means Child Care assistance or subsidy. 

 (e)  "CCDF" means Child Care and Development Fund. 

 (f)  "Certification period" as it relates to a recipient of CC 

is the period of time for which CC is presumptively approved. 

 (g)  "Client" means an applicant for, or recipient of, CC. 

 (h)  "Child" includes children and vice versa. 
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 (i)  "Child Care Provider" or "Provider" means any person, 

individual or corporation, institution or organization that provides 

child care services. 

 (j)  "Department" means Department of Workforce 

Services. 

 (k)  "DWS" means Department of Workforce Services. 

 (l)  "Employment" means a job or providing a service that 

pays wages, a salary, in-kind benefits, or self-employment income, 

provided federal or state law does not prohibit the occupation[ and 

wages or other remuneration are obtained legally]. 

 (m)  "Employment plan" is a written agreement between 

the Department and a client that describes the requirements for 

continued eligibility and the result if an obligation is not fulfilled. 

 (n)  "FEP" means Family Employment Program. 

 (o)  "FEPTP" means Family Employment Program Two 

Parent. 

 (p)  "FFN" means Family, Friend and Neighbor provider. 

 (q)  "Financial assistance" means a payment, other than for 

SNAP, CC, or medical care, to an eligible individual or household 

that is intended to provide for the individual's or household's basic 

needs. 

 (r)  "Household assistance unit" means a group of 

individuals who are living together or who are considered to be living 

together, and for whom assistance is requested or issued. 

 (s)  "IPV" means intentional program violation. 

 (t)  "Licensed-center provider" means a non-hourly, 

licensed child care center that is regulated through CCL. 

 (u)  "Local office" means the Employment Center that 

serves the geographical area in which the client resides. 

 (v)  "Minor child" means a child under the age of 18, or 

under 19 years of age and in school full time and expected to 

complete the educational program prior to turning 19, and who has 

not been emancipated either by a lawful marriage or court order. 

 (w)  "OCC" means Department of Workforce Services, 

Office of Child Care. 

 (x)  "ORS" means Office of Recovery Service, Utah State 

Department of Human Services. 

 (y)  "Parent" includes natural, adoptive, and stepparents.  

"Parent" includes "parents" and vice versa. 

 (z)  "Recipient" means any individual receiving CC. 

 (aa)  Review or recertification. Clients who are found 

eligible for CC are given a date for review or recertification at which 

point continuing eligibility is determined. 

 (bb)  "SSA" means Social Security Administration. 

 (cc)  "SSI" means Supplemental Security Insurance. 

 (dd)  "TCA" means Transitional Cash Assistance. 

 (ee)  "VA" means US Department of Veteran Affairs. 

 

R986-700-702.  General Provisions. 

 (1)  Child Care assistance is provided to support 

employment for a qualified household with at least one minor 

dependent child who is a United States citizen or who meets qualified 

alien status.  Child Care assistance for approved education and 

training activities, job search, or for an approved temporary change 

as defined in Section R986-700-703 may be authorized in accordance 

with this rule. 

 (2)  Child Care assistance is available, as funding permits, 

to a client who is employed or is participating in activities that lead 

to employment, and is: 

 (a)  a parent, including a foster care parent who receives 

foster care reimbursement from the Utah Department of Human 

Services, Division of Family and Child Care Services, or its 

successor; 

 (b)  a specified relative; or 

 (c)  a client who has been awarded custody or appointed 

guardian of the child by court order and both parents are absent from 

the home.  If there is no court order, an exception can be made on a 

case by case basis in unusual circumstances by the Department 

program specialist. 

 (3)  Child care assistance is provided only for a child who 

lives in the home of the client and only during hours when no parent 

or other guardian is available to provide care for the child.  To be 

eligible, the child must have a need for at least eight hours of child 

care per month as determined by the Department. 

 (4)  If a client is eligible to receive CC, each of the 

following children, living in the household unit, are eligible: 

 (a)  a child under the age of 13 years; and 

 (b)  a child up to the age of 18 years if the child: 

 (i)  meets the requirements of Section R986-700-717; or 

 (ii)  is under court supervision. 

 (5)  A client who qualifies for CC will be paid if and as 

funding is available.  When the child care needs of an eligible 

applicant exceeds available funding, the applicant will be placed on 

a waiting list.  Eligible applicants on the waiting list will be served as 

funding becomes available.  Special needs children, homeless 

children, and FEP or FEPTP eligible children will be prioritized at 

the top of the waiting list and will be served first.  "Special needs 

child" is defined in Section R986-700-717. 

 (6)  Child Care assistance is issued monthly based on a 

client's eligibility for services in that month.  The amount of CC 

might not cover the entire cost of care. 

 (7)  A client is only eligible for CC if the client has no other 

options available for child care.  The client is encouraged to obtain 

child care at no cost from a parent, sibling, relative, or other suitable 

provider.  If suitable child care is available to the client at no cost 

from another source, CC cannot be provided. 

 (8)  Child Care assistance can only be provided by an 

eligible provider approved by the Department and will not be 

provided for illegal or unsafe child care.  Illegal child care is care 

provided by any person or facility required to be licensed or certified 

but where the provider has not fulfilled the requirements necessary 

to obtain the license or certification. 

 (9)  Child Care assistance will not be paid for the care of a 

client's own child during the time the client is working as a caregiver 

in the same residential setting where care is being provided.  Child 

Care assistance will not be approved where the client is working for 

an approved child care center and regularly watches the client's own 

children at the center or has an ownership interest in the child care 

center.  Child Care assistance will not be paid for the care of a client's 

own child if the client is also the licensee or is a stockholder, officer, 

director, partner, manager, or member of a corporation, partnership, 

limited liability partnership or company, or similar legal entity 

providing the child care. 

 (10)  Neither the Department nor the state is liable for an 

injury that may occur when a child is placed in child care even if the 

parent receives CC from the Department. 
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 (11)  Once eligibility for CC has been established, 

eligibility must be reviewed once every 12 months.  The review is 

not complete until the client has completed, signed, and returned each 

necessary review form to the local office.  Each requested verification 

must be provided at the time of the review.  If the Department 

determines the household's gross monthly income exceeds the 

percentage of the state median income as determined by the 

Department in Subsection R986-700-710(3), the Department may 

terminate CC even if the certification period has not expired. 

 

KEY:  child care, grant programs 

Date of Last Change:  2022[2021] 

Notice of Continuation:  August 28, 2020 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-203; 

35A-3-310; 53F-5-210 

 

 

 
End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 

Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 

CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R27-4 Filing ID: 53498 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Government Operations 

Agency: Fleet Operations 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W FL 3 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Cory Weeks 801-
957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R27-4.  Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State 
Fleet 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is established pursuant to Subsections 63A-9-
401(1)(a), 63A-9-401(1)(d)(v), 63A-9-401(1)(d)(ix), 63A-9-
401(1)(d)(x), 63A-9-401(1)(d)(xi), 63A-9-401(1)(d)(xii), 
63A-9-401(4)(ii), and 63A-9-401(6), which require the 
division to: coordinate all purchases of state vehicles; 
make rules establishing requirements for the procurement 
of state vehicles, whether for the replacement or upgrade 
of current fleet vehicles or fleet expansion; make rules 
establishing requirements for cost recovery and billing 
procedures; make rules establishing requirements for the 
disposal of state vehicles; make rules establishing 
requirements for the reassignment and reallocation of 
state vehicles; and make rules establishing rate structures 
for state vehicles. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Office of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst requested an 
amendment to Section R27-4-5 that would make 
legislative approval easier.  The Division of Fleet 
Operations agreed and an amendment is pending 
publication. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

The statute requiring this rule still exists.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Cory Weeks, 
Director 

Date: 10/22/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R27-5 Filing ID: 53508 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Government Operations 

Agency: Fleet Operations 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W FL 3 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Cory Weeks 801-
957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R27-5.  Fleet Tracking 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-
401(1)(c), which requires the Division of Fleet Operations 
to establish one or more fleet automation and information 
systems for state vehicles. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Subsection 63A-9-401(1)(c) continues to require this rule.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Cory Weeks, 
Director 

Date: 10/22/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R27-6 Filing ID: 53509 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Government Operations 

Agency: Fleet Operations 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W FL 3 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Cory Weeks 801-
957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R27-6.  Fuel Dispensing Program 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is established pursuant to Subsections 63A-9-
401(1)(d)(vi) and 63A-9-401(1)(f) which require the 
Division of Fleet Operations to make rules establishing 
requirements for fuel management programs, and to 
create and administer a fuel dispensing services program. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Subsections 63A-9-401(1)(d)(vi) and 63A-9-401(1)(f) 
continue to require this rule.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Cory Weeks, 
Director 

Date: 10/22/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R27-8 Filing ID: 53502 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Government Operations 

Agency: Fleet Operations 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W FL 3 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Cory Weeks 801-
957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R27-8.  State Vehicle Maintenance Program 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is established pursuant to Subsections 63A-9-
401(1)(d)(i) and (iv), which require the Division of Fleet 
Operations to establish rules governing maintenance 
operations for state vehicles, and preventative 
maintenance programs. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Subsections 63A-9-401(1)(d)(i) and (iv) continue to require 
this rule.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Cory Weeks, 
Director 

Date: 10/22/2021 

 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R27-9 Filing ID: 53503 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Government Operations 

Agency: Fleet Operations 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W FL 3 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Cory Weeks 801-
957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R27-9.  Dispensing Compressed Natural Gas to the Public 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-
702(3) which requires the Division of Fleet Operations 
(Division) to make rules establishing requirements for the 
sale of compressed natural gas (CNG) to the public. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

The Division no longer sells compressed natural gas to the 
public.  This rule is continued until the Division can repeal 
it. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The filing for the repeal of Rule R27-9 
is under ID No. 53964 published in the November 15, 
2021, issue of the Bulletin.) 
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Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Cory Weeks, 
Director 

Date: 10/22/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R27-10 Filing ID: 53504 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Government Operations 

Agency: Fleet Operations 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W FL 3 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Cory Weeks 801-
957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R27-10.  Identification Mark for State Motor Vehicles 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-401(5), the Division of Fleet 
Operations (Division) is responsible for ensuring that 
state-owned vehicles for all departments, universities, and 
colleges are marked as required by Section 41-1a-407.  If 
"EX" license plates are required, the identification mark is 
also required for these agencies.  Subsection 63A-9-
601(1)(c) requires the Division to enact rules relating to the 
size and design of the identification mark. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Statutory requirements remain in Section 41-1a-407 and 
Subsections 63A-9-401(5) and 63A-9-601(1)(c).  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Cory Weeks, 
Director 

Date: 10/22/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-1 Filing ID: 53292 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Commerce 

Agency: Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

Building: Heber M. Wells Building 

Street address: 160 E 300 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Deborah 
Blackburn 

801-530-
6060 

deborahblackburn@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R156-1.  General Rule of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) provides that the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing (Division) may 
adopt and enforce rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 
58-1-308(1)(a) provides that the Division will establish a 
rule with respect to the renewal cycle of occupations and 
professions regulated by the Division.  This rule was 
enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 1, with 
respect to all occupations and professions regulated by 
the Division. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

Since this rule was last reviewed in December 2016, it has 
been amended several times.  The only written comment 
received in response to a November 2017 proposed rule 
filing was a November 14, 2017, email from April Ellis with 
Intermountain in which she offered various comments on 
behalf of Intermountain regarding telehealth amendments.  
The Division considered the written comments and 
allowed OAR File No. 42221 to lapse.  The Division then 
refiled proposed amendments under OAR File No. 42582 
which incorporated changes based on Intermountain's 
November 2017 comments. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule should be continued as it provides a mechanism 
to inform potential licensees of the general rules of the 
Division, as allowed under statutory authority provided in 
Title 58, Chapter 1, applicable to all occupations and 
professions regulated by the Division.  This rule should 
also be continued as it provides information to ensure 
applicants for licensure are knowledgeable about general 
rules of the Division with respect to items that are not 
covered separately in each occupational/professional rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Division Director 

Date: 09/22/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R251-106 Filing No. 50348 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Corrections 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 14717 S. Minuteman Dr. 

City, state, zip: Draper, UT 84020 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Matt Anderson 801-
545-
5589 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R251-106.  Media Relations 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized under Sections 63G-3-201, 64-13-10, 
63G-2-204, 77-19-11, and Subsection 63G-2-201(12).  The 
purpose of this rule is to define the Utah Department of 
Corrections' (UDC) policy under which persons representing 
the news media shall be allowed access to correctional 
institutions, inmates, and other supervised offenders.  It is 
also intended to define UDC actions when a need exists for 
the safeguarding of information. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No comments on this rule have been received since the 
last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

The purpose of this rule is to define the UDC's policy under 
which persons representing the news media shall be allowed 
access to correctional institutions, inmates, and other 
supervised offenders.  It is also intended to define UDC 
actions when a need exists for the safeguarding of 
information.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brian Nielson, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/12/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-301 Filing ID: 53411 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
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Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R277-301.  Educator Licensing 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; Subsection 53E-3-
401(4) allows the Board to make rules to execute the 
Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; and Section 53E-6-201 gives 
the Board power to issue licenses. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule continues to be necessary because it specifies 
the types of licenses and license areas of concentration 
available and the requirements and procedures for 
obtaining a license, required for employment as a licensed 
educator in the public schools of Utah.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/05/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-424 Filing ID: 50424 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R277-424.  Indirect Costs for State Programs 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; Subsection 53E-3-
401(4) allows the Board to make rules to execute the 
Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; and Subsection 53E-3-
501(1)(e) directs the Board to adopt rules for financial, 
statistical, and student accounting requirements. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received.  
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule continues to be necessary because it establishes 
Board standards for claiming indirect costs for state 
programs.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/05/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-477 Filing ID: 53547 
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Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R277-477.  Distributions of Funds from the Trust 
Distribution Account and Administration of the School 
LAND Trust Program 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; Subsection 53F-2-
404(2)(d) allows the Board to adopt rules regarding the 
time and manner in which a student count shall be made 
for allocation of funds; and Subsection 53E-3-401(4) 
allows the Board to make rules to execute the Board's 
duties and responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and 
state law. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received.  
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule continues to be necessary because it provides 
financial resources to a public school to implement a 
component of a school's Teacher and Student Success 
Plan in order to enhance and improve student academic 
achievement; provides a means to involve a parent of a 
school's student in decision-making regarding the 
expenditure of School LAND Trust program funds 
allocated to the school; provides direction in the 
distribution of funds from the Trust Distribution Account, as 
funded in Section 53F-2-404; provides for appropriate and 
adequate oversight of the expenditure and use of funds by 

an approving entity, school administration, and the Board; 
provides for proper allocation of funds as stated in Section 
53F-2-404 and the appropriate and timely distribution of 
the funds; enforces compliance with statutory and rule 
requirements, including the responsibility for a school 
community council to notify school community members 
regarding the use of funds; and defines the roles, duties, 
and responsibilities of the Superintendent with regards to 
the School Children's Trust.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/05/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-484 Filing ID: 53323 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R277-484.  Data Standards 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; Subsection 53E-3-
401(4) allows the Board to make rules to execute the 
Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; Subsection 53E-3-401(8)(a) 



 

132 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 

which allows the Board to take corrective action against an 
education entity that fails to comply with Board rules; and 
Subsection 53E-3-511(8) requires the Board to ensure 
LEA inclusion of data in an LEA's Student Information 
System. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received.  
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule continues to be necessary because it supports 
the operation of required educational accountability and 
financial systems by ensuring timely submission of data by 
LEAs.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/05/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-491 Filing ID: 53548 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R277-491.  School Community Councils 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; and Subsection 53E-
3-401(4) allows the Board to make rules to execute the 
Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received.  
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule continues to be necessary because it provides 
procedures and clarifying information to a school 
community council to assist the council in fulfilling school 
community council responsibilities consistent with 
Sections 53G-7-1202 through 53G-7-1203; provides 
direction to a local school board, school, and school district 
in establishing and maintaining a school community 
council; provides a framework and support for improved 
academic achievement of students that is locally driven 
from within an individual school; and encourages 
increased participation of a parent, school employee, and 
others to support the mission of a school community 
council.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/05/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-706 Filing ID: 53106 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 



  FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 133 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R277-706.  Regional Education Service Agencies 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision of 
public education in the Board; Section 53G-4-410 directs 
the Board to make rules regarding regional education 
service agencies; and Subsection 53E-3-401(4) permits 
the Board to adopt rules in accordance with the Board's 
responsibilities. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received.  
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule continues to be necessary because it provides 
definitions and procedures for school districts to form 
interlocal agreements and provides for distribution of 
legislative funds to eligible regional education service 
agencies by the Board.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/05/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-925 Filing ID: 53601 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Angie Stallings 801-538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R277-925.  Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools 
Incentive Program 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 
over public education in the Board; Subsection 53E-3-
401(4) allows the Board to make rules to execute the 
Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; and Subsection 53F-2-
513(2)(b) requires the Board to make rules for the 
administration of the Effective Teachers in High Poverty 
Schools Incentive Program. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received.  
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule continues to be necessary because it provides 
standards and procedures for the administration of the 
Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools Incentive 
Program.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 11/05/2021 

 
 
 
 



 

134 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R386-900 Filing ID: 52320 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Health 

Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 
Epidemiology 

Building: Cannon Health Building 

Street address: 288 N 1460 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: Box 142104 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2104 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Heather Bush 801-
538-
6194 

hbush@utah.gov 

Scott White 801-
538-
6288 

swhite1@utah.gov 

Sam LeFevre 801 
989-
8328 

slefevre@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R386-900.  Special Measures for the Operation of Syringe 
Exchange Programs 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 26-7-8 provides that the Department of Health 
(Department) shall make rules in accordance with Title 
63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, 
specifying how and when an entity operating a syringe 
exchange program shall make the report required by 
Subsection (2)(c). 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The only comment the Department received in the three 
times this rule has been open for comment is the following 
from the Utah Harm Reduction Coalition on March 4, 2019: 
"We are writing on behalf of the staff and board of directors 
of the Utah Harm Reduction Coalition to offer our 
enthusiastic support of the draft Administrative Rule R386-

900.  It has been over two years since our organization 
was created to respond to the critical lack of harm 
reduction services in Utah.  As you know, since December 
1, 2016, we have operated syringe exchange programs as 
authorized by H.B. 308 and subsequent administrative 
rule.  We are proud of the work we have done since then 
and believe that the proposed rule builds upon our existing 
practices and procedures.  We seek to be a collaborative 
partner to organizations and stakeholders the 
communities we serve.  The drafted rule strengthens our 
ability to forge these collaborations and as a result we 
believe they add value to the harm reduction services we 
are delivery throughout the state." 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule has been amended twice with no comments 
opposing this rule.  The last update was effective January 
1, 2020.  The Department has submitted reports for 
Legislature in 2017, 2019, and 2021.  There have been no 
challenges or questions from the Legislature or state 
agency since the passing of the first rule in 2016.  Syringe 
exchange programs operating in Utah are proven to be 
successful at reducing unsterile injections, follow all 
guidelines outlined in the Administrative Rule, and are 
closely monitored by UDOH staff.  Further data on the 
success of syringe exchange programs operating in Utah 
can be found at https://ptc.health.utah.gov/prevention/ 
syringe-services/.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/04/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-20 Filing ID: 51743 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Natural Resources 

Agency: Wildlife Resources 

Room no.: 2110 

Building: DNR – Salt Lake Complex 

Street address: 1594 W North Temple 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 



  FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 135 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Staci Coons 801-
450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R657-20.  Falconry 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Under Section 23-17-7 and in accordance with 50 CFR 21, 
2000 ed., which is incorporated by reference into Rule 
R657-20, the Wildlife Board is authorized and required to 
provide rules to regulate the possession and use of raptors 
for falconry. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received during or since the 
last five-year review of Rule R657-20. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Rule R657-20 provides the requirements, procedures, and 
standards for possessing and using raptors for falconry.  
The provisions adopted in this rule are effective in 
providing the requirements, procedures, and standards for 
managing the falconry program.  Continuation of this rule 
is necessary for continued success of this program. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

J. Shirley, DWR 
Director 

Date: 11/04/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-203 Filing ID: 51809 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-203.  Victim Input and Notification 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12, 
establishes the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) and 
provides for its authority.  Title 63G, Chapter 3, is the Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act which provides 
requirements for the rulemaking process.  Section 77-27-
9.5 provides that victims may attend hearings conducted 
by the Board and receive notification of hearings.  Title 77, 
Chapter 37, includes specific rights for victims of crime, 
such as attending and participating in Board hearings.  
Title 77, Chapter 38, is referred to as the Right of Crime 
Victims Act which outlines rights established in statute for 
victims of crime, including interactions with the Board.  
More generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, outlines statutory 
responsibilities of the Board of Pardons and Parole. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-203 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule needs to continue because it provides the 
detailed guidance to victims of crime, as established in 
statute, on how to provide input to the Board as it makes 
decisions, as well as rights to notification of hearings 
conducting by the Board. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-205 Filing ID: 51813 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-205.  Credit for Time Served 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12, 
establishes the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) and 
provides for its authority.  Title 77, Chapter 18, outlines the 
judgement processes associated with Utah's code of 
criminal procedure, including guidance on how credit for 
time served should be established for incarcerated 
individuals.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, defines the 
responsibilities and processes of the Utah Board of 
Pardons and Parole, including how credit for time served 
is accounted for in determining an incarceration sentence. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-205 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is required as it outlines detailed processes the 
Board must follow in establishing any credit for previous 
time served when making incarceration duration 
decisions.  Statute requires the Board to consider credit for 
time served as it makes prison release decisions.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-207 Filing ID: 51821 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-207.  Mentally Ill and Deteriorating Offender Custody 
Transfer 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Title 77, Chapter 16a, outlines processes and 
requirements associated with the commitment and 
treatment of individuals with a mental illness.  Specifically, 
this chapter outlines processes required in transferring 
individuals with mental illness both to and from the prison 
system to the State Hospital. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-207 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is required because it provides two state entities, 
the Department of Corrections and the State Hospital, with 
the processes involving the transfer or movement of 
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mentally ill individuals between the prison system and the 
State Hospital, as well as the notifications required of each 
in relation to the Board of Pardons and Parole.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-301 Filing ID: 51816 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-301.  Personal Appearance 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Title 63G, Chapter 3, outlines the state's rulemaking 
process.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, outlines the 
responsibilities and processes for the Board of Pardons 
and Parole (Board), including requirements associated 
with convening public hearings and personal appearance 
hearings for incarcerated individuals. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-301 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is required because it provides necessary details 
on how the Board of Pardons and Parole conducts 
personal appearance hearings and when they are required 
by state statute.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-303 Filing ID: 51817 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-303.  Information Received, Maintained or Used by 
the Board 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Title 63G, Chapter 3, outlines the state's rulemaking 
process.  Section 77-27-7 establishes a rulemaking 
requirement for the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
related to its hearing processes.  This includes the 
development of rules that detail when and how information 
is provided and used by the Board. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
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No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-303 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is required because the Board, by statute and 
case law, must provide offenders with access to 
information that may be used in making decisions.  The 
rule defines processes more specifically than is provided 
in statute, and all parties interacting with the Board rely on 
these processes.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-304 Filing ID: 51818 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-304.  Hearing Record 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Title 63G, Chapter 3, outlines the state's rulemaking 
process.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, establishes 
operational processes and requirements for the Board of 
Pardons and Parole.  This includes requirements 
associated with creating and maintaining a hearing record. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-304 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary because the Board the Pardons and 
Parole is required by statute to create and maintain audio 
records of all its hearings.  The recorded hearings also 
must be made available to the public.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-305 Filing ID: 51819 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-305.  Board Decisions and Orders 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12, creates 
and provides authority for the Board of Pardons and Parole 
(Board).  Title 63G, Chapter 3, outlines the state's 
rulemaking process.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, 



  FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 139 

establishes operational processes and requirements for 
the Board of Pardons and Parole including reducing its 
orders to writing. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-305 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary because it outlines the specific 
types of hearings conducted by the Board where orders 
must be reduced to a written order, as well as contain a 
brief rationale for the order.  All such orders are then made 
available to the public via the Board's public website.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-308 Filing ID: 51826 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-308.  Offender Hearing Assistance 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, establishes operational 
processes and requirements for the Board of Pardons and 
Parole (Board) including the right to representation by 
legal counsel for certain offenders.  Section 78A-9-103 
provides a statutory prohibition for practicing law without a 
license. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-308 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary because it provides detailed 
information related to situations when the Board must 
appoint or provide legal counsel for offenders for certain 
types of hearings conducted.  It further outlines situations 
and hearings where there is no expectation of a right to 
counsel for the offender.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-310 Filing ID: 51827 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-310.  Rescission Hearings 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, establishes operational 
processes and requirements for the Board of Pardons and 
Parole (Board).  Within this chapter are descriptions of 
situations where the Board may review and rescind a prior 
Board decision or order. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-310 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary as it explains in greater detail when 
and how the Board may rescind a previous order or 
decision.  A hearing conducted to review and potentially 
rescind a previous order or decision is referred to as a 
rescission hearing.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-311 Filing ID: 51822 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-311.  Special Attention Reviews, Hearings and 
Decisions 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12, 
establishes the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) and 
outlines its authority.  Title 63G, Chapter 3, outlines the 
state's rulemaking processes.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 
27, establishes operational processes and requirements 
for the Board.  Within this chapter, the Board is statutorily 
authorized to use special attention hearings or reviews to 
adjust parole conditions, review prior board decisions, and 
modify prior decisions.  Title 64, Chapter 13, relates to the 
processes and requirements associated with the 
Department of Corrections. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-311 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary as it provides for and explains the 
special attention process of the Board, including reviews 
and decisions.  Much of the work of the Board is conducted 
through this specific process.  This rule further outlines 
how the statutory earned time adjustment functions and 
where these adjustments may or may not be applicable.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-315 Filing ID: 51829 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
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Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-315.  Pardons 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12 establishes 
the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) and outlines its 
authority.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, establishes 
operational processes and requirements for the Board.  
Utah's Constitution places pardon authority primarily with 
the Board.  State statute provides a more specific 
delineation of that authority. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-315 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary as it provides the specific process 
through which the Board exercises its Constitutional 
pardon authority.  This includes information of how 
individuals may request a pardon from the Board, and how 
the Board will consider moving forward with a pardon 
hearing.  This rule outlines specific requirements the Board 
must follow to notify crime victims and prosecuting entities 
of the pardon request and pardon hearing.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-316 Filing ID: 51835 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-316.  Redetermination 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12 establishes 
the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) and outlines its 
authority.  Title 63G, Chapter 3, outlines the state's 
rulemaking processes.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 27, 
establishes operational processes and requirements for 
the Board.  Within this chapter, the process for the Board 
to consider new and additional information that may result 
in a reconsideration of a prior decision. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-316 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary as it provides the specific avenues 
available to the Department of Corrections or offenders to 
bring new, material, and significant information forward 
with a request that the Board reconsider a prior decision.  
This rule provides necessary clarity regarding what 
situations may merit a redetermination by the Board and 
the processes that must be followed prior to the Board 
reconsidering a prior decision.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-403 Filing ID: 51831 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-403.  Restitution 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 64-13-30 outlines application of restitution for 
costs incurred while an individual is incarcerated, and 
Section 64-13-33 allows the Department of Corrections to 
administer fines for violations while an individual is 
incarcerated.  Title 77, Chapter 27, relates to the Board of 
Pardons and Parole (Board) processes and 
responsibilities which includes a role in victim restitution 
processes.  Title 77, Chapters 18 and 22, outline judgment 
processes in the criminal code which includes the 
establishment of restitution.  Finally, Title 77, Chapter 38a, 
is the Crime Victims Reparation Act.  Each of these 
chapters and sections combine to establish restitution 
processes in Utah's criminal justice system. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-403 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is needed because the Board continues to play 
an important role in the crime victim restitution process.  
This rule defines restitution from the perspective of the 
Board and establishes processes for determining 
restitution amounts and for making adjustments to 
restitution amounts.  The Board may hold hearings related 
to requests for additional restitution or the modification of 
restitution, and this rule outlines how these hearings are 
requested and how they operate.  Finally, this rule 
addresses the Board's ability to convert unpaid restitution 
into a civil judgment if not fully paid when an individual's 
sentence expires or terminates.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/10/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-405 Filing ID: 51838 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 

City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Mike Haddon 801-
261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R671-405.  Parole Termination 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12, 
establishes the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) and 
outlines its authority.  Title 63G, Chapter 3, outlines the 
state's rulemaking processes.  Generally, Title 77, Chapter 
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27, establishes operational processes and requirements 
for the Board.  Within this chapter, the authority of the 
Board to consider and terminate parole supervision of 
offenders released from prison and supervised in the 
community.  Section 64-13-21 outlines how the 
Department of Corrections is to provide parole 
supervision, and Title 76, Chapter 3, establishes the 
punishment of prison and the supervision of released 
inmates onto parole. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-405 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is necessary as it provides the specific 
implementation steps required for the Board to terminate 
parole supervision – thus terminate the offender's 
sentence.  It outlines the reports and information the Board 
requires prior to considering parole termination and 
specifies that the Department of Corrections may submit a 
discretionary termination of parole prior to the expiration of 
a sentence.  Finally, this rule defines and establishes the 
Earned Early termination of parole process.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R861-1A Filing ID: 52377 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Administration 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 10-1-306 requires the State Tax Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules to determine how delivered 
value of taxable energy is determined for purposes of the 
Municipal Energy Sales and Use Tax Act. 
 
Section 10-1-405 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules to necessary to administer the Municipal 
Telecommunications Tax Act. 
 
Section 41-1a-104 authorizes the Commission to make 
and enforce rules necessary to effectuate the Motor 
Vehicle Act. 
 
Section 41-3-105 authorizes the Motor Vehicle 
Enforcement Division of the Commission to make rules 
necessary to carry out the purposes of the Motor Vehicle 
Business Regulation Act. 
 
Section 52-4-207 requires the Commission to adopt a rule 
governing the use of electronic public meetings. 
 
Section 59-1-206 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules to prescribe the procedures for hearing appeals to 
the Commission. 
 
Section 59-1-207 requires the Commission to establish by 
rule the duties and responsibilities to be delegated to the 
executive director. 
 
Section 59-1-210 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules and exercise powers necessary to perform the duties 
imposed by law in the administration and supervision of 
Utah tax laws.  Also permits the adoption of rules to govern 
the Commission, executive director, division directors, and 
Commission employees in the performance of their duties. 
 
Section 59-1-211 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules related to the administration of a uniform system of 
accounts. 
 
Section 59-1-304 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to simplify and expedite the administrative remedies 
that must be exhausted before a person may be included 
as a member of a class action related to a tax or a fee. 
 
Section 59-1-401 authorizes the Commission to prescribe 
what constitutes a return, affidavit, or claim for purposes of 
a tax or a fee. 
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Section 59-1-403 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules related to the sharing of data with the federal 
government, another state, a political subdivision of this 
state, and a political subdivision of another state.  This 
section also authorizes the Commission to adopt rules 
related to sharing information of taxpayers who have failed 
to file a return or pay a tax that is due. 
 
Section 59-1-404 authorizes the Commission to define 
"commercial information" for purposes of prescribing the 
circumstances under which information is intended for 
public use and may be disclosed. 
 
Section 59-1-405 requires that the Commission adopt 
rules to establish the procedures for holding and recording 
a meeting that is not open to the public to conduct a 
hearing on, discuss, or take action on a confidential tax 
matter. 
 
Section 59-1-1404 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules designating approved delivery services for purposes 
of document delivery and establishing the procedures for 
determining date of delivery. 
 
Section 59-1-1410 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules describing the persons who are eligible for a refund 
of an erroneously paid liability. 
 
Section 59-2-704 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules to establish the method, procedure, and timetable for 
counties to annually evaluate the county's appraisal 
performance of taxable real property. 
 
Section 59-2-1004 requires the Commission to adopt rules 
providing for the circumstances under which the county 
board of equalization is required to accept a late filed 
appeal. 
 
Section 59-5-204 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules reasonable and necessary to obtain information for 
the proper enforcement of the Severance Tax on Oil, Gas, 
and Mining. 
 
Section 59-6-104 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules necessary to effectuate the purposes of Mineral 
Production Tax Withholding. 
 
Section 59-7-405 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules as necessary to reflect a corporation's tax liability and 
to prevent avoidance of corporate tax liability. 
 
Section 59-7-707 authorizes the Commission to make rule 
necessary to administer the income taxation of S-
corporations. 
 
Section 59-8-106 authorizes the Commission to 
promulgate rules as required to effectuate the Gross 
Receipts Tax on Certain Corporations Not Required to Pay 
Corporate Franchise or Income Tax Act. 
 

Section 59-10-501 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to allow a taxpayer to submit excerpts from their 
federal income tax return rather than the entire return. 
 
Section 59-11-113 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules necessary for the enforcement of the purposes of the 
Inheritance Tax Act. 
 
Section 59-12-107 authorizes the Commission to 
prescribe by rule the form and the information that must be 
contained in a return filed under the Sales and Use Tax 
Act. 
 
Section 59-12-111 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to prescribe the filing and payment requirements to 
enforce the Sale and Use Tax Act. 
 
Sections 59-13-202.5 and 59-13-210 authorize the 
Commission to make rules to enforce the tax on Motor 
Fuel. 
 
Sections 59-13-313 and 59-13-322 authorize the 
Commission to make rules to enforce the tax on Special 
Fuel. 
 
Section 59-14-607 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules necessary to enforce the provisions of the Tobacco 
Manufacturer Stamping Enforcement Provisions. 
 
Section 59-23-7 authorizes the Commission to make rules 
to implement and enforce the Brine Shrimp Royalty Act. 
 
Section 59-24-108 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to implement and enforce the Radioactive Waste 
Facility Tax Act. 
 
Section 59-26-106 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to implement and enforce the Multi-Channel Video or 
Audio Service Tax Act. 
 
Section 63G-3-201 requires the Commission to make 
rules when an agency action authorizes, requires, or 
prohibits an action or material benefit.  Requires the 
Commission to make rules when an agency action applies 
to a class of persons or is implicitly authorized in statute.  
Also requires the Commission to make rules to issue 
written interpretations of state or federal legal mandates. 
 
Section 63G-4-201 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to prescribe the procedure by which a person initiates 
adjudicative proceedings related to requested agency 
action. 
 
Section 63G-4-202 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to designate categories of adjudicative proceedings 
to be conducted informally. 
 
Section 63G-4-203 requires that an agency permitting 
informal adjudicative proceedings to make rules 
prescribing the procedures for those proceedings. 
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Section 63G-4-204 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules related to the permitted or required pleadings in 
formal adjudicative proceedings. 
 
Section 63G-4-205 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules related to the permitted form of discovery in formal 
adjudicative proceedings. 
 
Section 63G-4-503 requires an agency to issue rule 
prescribing the procedures and circumstances related to 
the agency issuing declaratory orders. 
 
Section 69-2-401 authorizes the Commission to determine 
by rule the requirements and procedures for administering, 
collecting, and enforcing the charges levied under the 
Prepaid Wireless Telecommunication Service Charges. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R861-1A-2 clarifies the process by which the 
Commission makes rules, including notice, hearing, and 
publication of rules. 
 
Section R861-1A-3 allows persons or parties affected by a 
Commission action the right to a division conference and 
a prehearing conference for the purpose clarifying and 
narrowing the issues and encouraging settlement. 
 
Section R861-1A-9 clarifies duties and responsibilities of 
the commission when acting as the Utah State Board of 
Equalization; provides procedures for a person to file an 
appeal of a county board of equalization determination 
with the commission. 
 
Section R861-1A-10 provides instructions concerning:  1) 
rights of parties; 2) effect of partial invalidation of rules; 3) 
enactment of inconsistent legislation; and 4) presumption 
of familiarity. 
 
Section R861-1A-11 clarifies the process of appealing a 
corrective action. 
 
Section R861-1A-12 outlines the policies and procedures 
of the commission regarding disclosure of and access to 
documents, work papers, decisions, and other information 
prepared by the commission. 
 
Section R861-1A-13 outlines the manner by which 
disabled persons may request reasonable 
accommodations to services, programs, activities, or a job 
or work environment at the Commission. 
 

Section R861-1A-15 requires all taxpayers to provide the 
Commission with their social security number or federal 
identification number, as required by the Commission. 
 
Section R861-1A-16 outlines the management plan of the 
Commission. 
 
Section R861-1A-18 indicates how remittances received 
by the Commission shall be allocated to penalty, interest 
and tax. 
 
Section R861-1A-20 provides guidelines on the timeliness 
of requests for a hearing to correct a centrally assessed 
property tax assessment, a petition for redetermination, 
and those seeking judicial review. 
 
Section R861-1A-22 clarifies the time a petition for 
adjudicative action may be filed and the contents of the 
petition; does not allow the Commission to reject a petition 
because of nonconformance but allows the Commission to 
require an amended or substitute petition be filed. 
 
Section R861-1A-23 requires all matters to be designated 
as formal proceedings and set for a prehearing 
conference, initial hearing, or scheduling conference; 
allows matters to be diverted to mediation. 
 
Section R861-1A-24 provides guidelines for a formal 
adjudicative proceeding, including the initial hearing. 
 
Section R861-1A-26 outlines procedures to be followed in 
a formal adjudicative proceeding. 
 
Section R861-1A-27 establishes discovery procedures in 
a formal proceeding. 
 
Section R861-1A-28 authorizes formal proceedings to be 
conducted the same as in judicial proceedings in the state 
court; allows every party the right to introduce evidence 
and provides guidelines on testimonies. 
 
Section R861-1A-29 clarifies that the presiding officer shall 
submit all written decisions and orders to the commission 
for agency review before issuing the order; authorizes any 
party to file a written request for reconsideration alleging 
mistake of law or fact, or discovery of new evidence. 
 
Section R861-1A-30 prohibits any party from having an ex 
parte communication with a commissioner or 
administrative law judge; provides guidelines if relevant ex 
parte communications are received by a commissioner or 
administrative law judge. 
 
Section R861-1A-31 provides for situations when a 
petition for a declaratory order may be filed; authorizes the 
Commission to refuse to render the order under certain 
circumstances. 
 
Section R861-1A-32 authorizes the use of mediation to 
obtain a settlement agreement. 
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Section R861-1A-33 defines "settlement agreement;" 
outlines procedures to be followed for submitting and 
approving settlement agreements. 
 
Section R861-1A-34 defines private letter rulings; provides 
procedures for requesting a private letter ruling; indicates 
the weight afforded a private letter ruling, as well as 
actions that may be taken if the  ruling leads to the denial 
of a claim, audit assessment, or other agency action. 
 
Section R861-1A-35 defines "database management 
system," "electronic data interchange," "hard copy," 
"machine-sensible record," "storage-only imaging 
system," and "taxpayer;" provides guidelines for storage of 
records in various media. 
 
Section R861-1A-36 clarifies what constitutes a signature 
for taxpayers who submit a vehicle registration over the 
internet, or a tax return through an authorized web site.  
 
Section R861-1A-37 defines "assessed value of the 
property," "disclosure," and "published decision;" indicates 
property tax information that may be disclosed – in 
general, during an action or proceeding, or in a published 
decision. 
 
Section R861-1A-38 indicates the actions the commission 
may take to expedite exhaustion of administrative 
remedies for purposes of determining the persons who 
may be included in a class action. 
 
Section R861-1A-39 defines "failure to file a tax return" 
and "unpaid tax" for purposes of imposing the penalty for 
failure to file a tax return. 
 
Section R861-1A-40 indicates how a taxpayer that seeks 
judicial review of a final commission determination of a 
deficiency may apply for a waiver of the requirement to 
post a bond with the Commission. 
 
Section R861-1A-42 provides the circumstances that 
constitute reasonable grounds for waiver of a penalty. 
 
Section R861-1A-43 provides the conditions under which 
a tax commissioner may participate electronically in a 
public meeting. 
 
Section R861-1A-44 for purposes of determining the date 
on which a document has been mailed, sets forth delivery 
services and the date a delivery service receives a 
document. 
 
Section R861-1A-45 sets forth the procedures the 
Commission shall follow when the commission holds a 
meeting that is not open to the public, including procedures 
for written and recorded minutes. 
 
Section R861-1A-46 defines a purchaser refund request; 
indicates the information that must be submitted to the 
commission when submitting a purchaser refund request; 
and provides procedures for the Commission to verify the 
accuracy of the purchaser refund request. 

Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-3C Filing ID: 52059 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-3C.  Corporation Income Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-7-302 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to define "economic activity" for purposes of 
the Corporate Income Tax. 
 
Section 59-7-319 authorizes the Commission to prescribe 
by rule the circumstances when a purchaser of a service 
receives a greater benefit of the service in this state than 
in any other single state or foreign country. 
 
Section 59-7-405 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules as necessary to reflect a corporation's tax liability and 
to prevent avoidance of corporate tax liability. 
 
Section 59-7-707 authorizes the Commission to make rule 
necessary to administer the income taxation of S-
corporations. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-3C-1 indicates how a corporation subject to 
the corporation income tax shall determine the net income 
attributable to Utah. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-4D Filing ID: 52067 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-4D.  Special Fuel Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-13-301 requires the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make rules governing the application and 
refund of special fuel tax paid by the United States 
Government, its instrumentalities, this state, and political 
subdivisions of this state.  This section also requires rules 

governing the application and refund for special fuel tax 
paid for off-highway and nonhighway uses of special fuel; 
and requires rules governing the reduction in the special 
fuel tax under certain circumstances for special fuel sold 
by the Navajo Nation. 
 
Section 59-13-301.5 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules regarding the procedures for seeking a refund for 
special fuel tax paid under an agreement with the Ute 
Tribe. 
 
Sections 59-13-313 and 59-13-322 authorize the 
Commission to make rules to administer and enforce the 
tax on Special Fuel. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-4D-1 defines "motor vehicle" and "user" for 
purposes of imposing the special fuels tax. 
 
Section R865-4D-2 provides guidance on when the fee for 
the special fuel tax exemption certificate shall be paid; 
clarifies when the special fuel tax exemption applies; 
outlines formula for calculating fuel use. 
 
Section R865-4D-6 sets forth the record-keeping 
requirements for special fuel user-dealers. 
 
Section R865-4D-18 sets forth the record-keeping 
requirements for special fuel users. 
 
Section R865-4D-19 outlines how a government entity is 
to obtain a refund for special fuel taxes paid and indicates 
records needed to support the refund. 
 
Section R865-4D-20 indicates the conditions under which 
the exemption or refund for exported undyed diesel fuel 
shall apply. 
 
Section R865-4D-21 defines "gross gallon" and "net 
gallon;" requires suppliers to calculate tax liability on a 
consistent gross gallon or net gallon basis; specifies that 
both gross and net amounts must be on all invoices, bills 
of lading, and special fuel tax returns. 
 
Section R865-4D-22 provides procedures for 
administering the reduction of special fuel tax on fuel that 
is subject to a tax imposed by the Navajo Nation. 
 
Section R865-4D-23 indicates that the Commission 
entered into the International Fuel Tax Agreement effective 
January 1, 1990. 
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Section R865-4D-24 provides the conditions under which 
the commission may determine that a special fuels tax 
licensee has ceased doing business or changed address 
and provides procedures for the Commission to then 
invalidate that license. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-6F Filing ID: 52068 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-6F.  Franchise Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 53B-8a-112 authorized the Tax Commission 
(Commission) in consultation with the Utah Board of 
Higher Education and the Utah Educational Savings Plan 
to adopt rules necessary to monitor and implement the tax 
provisions related to the Utah Educational Savings Plan's 
property and income. 
 
Section 59-1-101 authorizes the Commission to define by 
rule "established securities market"; "cash or cash 
equivalents"; and "listed Australian property trust" for 
purposes of captive insurance companies and captive real 
estate investment trusts.  Also authorizes the Commission 
to define "member"; "producer"; and what constitutes an 

association, corporation, or organization of farmers or fruit 
growers.  Additionally, authorizes the Commission to 
define "Taxable year" in situation where a return is made 
for a fractional part of a year. 
 
Section 59-1-1302 authorizes the Commission to identify 
by rule certain transactions that are "listed transactions" or 
"reportable transactions" for purposes of the corporate 
income or franchise tax. 
 
Sections 59-1-1303, 59-1-1306, and 59-1-1307 requires 
the Commission to make rules describing the manner in 
which a taxpayer shall disclose a reportable transaction for 
purposes of the corporate income and franchise tax. 
 
Section 59-7-106 authorizes the Commission to define 
what constitutes income generated from intangible 
property or a capital gain, dividend, interest, rent, royalty, 
or other similar item that is generated from an asset held 
for investment and not from the regular business trading 
activity.  Also authorized the Commission to define an 
"amortization expense", a "depreciation expense", a 
"gain", and a "loss" for purposes of determining adjusted 
gross income. 
 
Section 59-7-107 authorizes the Commission to establish 
rules determining permissible adjustments to basis in a 
combined report. 
 
Section 59-7-114 authorizes the Commission to prescribe 
rules as necessary to provide for the equitable treatment 
of any transaction subject to Section 338, Internal 
Revenue Code. 
 
Section 59-7-115 authorizes the Commission to prescribe 
rules as necessary to provide for the equitable treatment 
of any transaction subject to Section 336(e), Internal 
Revenue Code. 
 
Section 59-7-117 requires the Commission to prescribe by 
rule adjustments to Utah taxable income necessary to 
avoid a double tax benefit or detriment. 
 
Section 59-7-302 authorizes the Commission to define 
"activity" for purposes of the Corporate Income and 
Franchise Tax. 
 
Section 59-7-319 authorizes the Commission to prescribe 
by rule the circumstances when a purchaser of a service 
receives a greater benefit of the service in this state than 
in any other single state or foreign country. 
 
Section 59-7-405 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules as necessary to reflect a corporation's tax liability and 
to prevent avoidance of corporate tax liability. 
 
Section 59-7-503 authorized the Commission to prescribe 
by rule the circumstances under which a short period 
corporate income or franchise tax return must be filed. 
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Section 59-7-614 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to address the certification of a renewable energy 
systems tax credit. 
 
Section 59-7-707 authorizes the Commission to make rule 
necessary to administer the income taxation of S-
corporations. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-6F-1 clarifies franchise tax responsibilities 
of foreign corporations.  Also, clarifies the manner in which 
a foreign corporation terminates its corporate franchise tax 
responsibilities. 
 
Section R865-6F-2 establishes taxable year for purposes 
of the corporate franchise tax and clarifies when first return 
period begins. 
 
Section R865-6F-6 sets forth guidelines to determine 
whether nexus has been established for purposes of 
subjecting a corporation to the Utah corporation franchise 
tax. 
 
Section R865-6F-8 classifies all business income as either 
"business" or "nonbusiness," provides rules to determine 
whether income is business or nonbusiness, defines and 
establishes criteria for apportionment of tax, and defines 
the three elements of the apportionment formula:  the 
property factor, payroll factor, and sales factor. 
 
Section R865-6F-14 states the Commission policy to 
follow federal law as closely as possible in determining net 
income for Utah corporate franchise tax.  The section lists 
items normally followed in conformity with federal law and 
items requiring different state tax treatment. 
 
Section R865-6F-15 clarifies that the installment method 
of reporting corporate income is a postponement of tax, 
not an exemption from tax.  This section states when the 
privilege of installment reporting is terminated.  This 
section also states that installment income is subject to the 
same allocation and apportionment provisions as all other 
corporate income. 
 
Section R865-6F-16 provides a methodology for 
apportioning income from long-term construction projects 
when a taxpayer elects to use the percentage-of-
completion method of accounting or the completed 
contract method of accounting. 
 
Section R865-6F-18 defines "member" and "producer" for 
purposes of the corporate franchise and income tax 

exemption for a farmers' cooperative; provides procedures 
for qualifying for and applying the exemption. 
 
Section R865-6F-19 provides a methodology for 
apportioning trucking company income to Utah. 
 
Section R865-6F-22 defines "worldwide year" and "water's 
edge year" in treatment of carrybacks and carry forwards, 
and notes criteria and penalties for switching from 
worldwide method to water's edge or from water's edge 
method to worldwide method. 
 
Section R865-6F-24 provides that, in the case of a unitary 
group, nexus created by any member of the group creates 
nexus for the entire unitary group. 
 
Section R865-6F-26 provides instructions for applying for 
and receiving historic preservation tax credit, and any 
subsequent carryforwards of that credit. 
 
Section R865-6F-27 provides that the order of deducting 
credits against the corporate franchise tax is:  1) 
nonrefundable credits; 2) nonrefundable credits with a 
carryforward; and 3) refundable credits. 
 
Section R865-6F-29 provides a methodology for 
apportioning railroad income to Utah. 
 
Section R865-6F-30 sets forth the information a trustee of 
the Utah Educational Savings Plan Trust must provide to 
the Commission and the forms necessary to provide this 
information to the Commission. 
 
Section R865-6F-31 defines "outer-jurisdictional property," 
"print," "printed materials," "purchaser," "subscriber," and 
"terrestrial facility."  Provides a methodology for 
apportioning income of publishing companies to the state 
for franchise tax purposes. 
 
Section R865-6F-32 provides a methodology for 
apportioning the income of financial institutions to the state 
for franchise tax purposes.  Defines terms related to 
financial institutions. 
 
Section R865-6F-33 defines terms related to 
telecommunications corporations; provides a 
methodology for apportioning and allocating income for 
telecommunications corporations to the state for purposes 
of franchise tax. 
 
Section R865-6F-36 defines terms for registered securities 
or commodities brokers or dealers; provides a 
methodology for apportioning the income of registered 
securities or commodities brokers or dealers to the state 
for corporate franchise and income tax purposes. 
 
Section R865-6F-37 indicates how a taxpayer shall 
disclose a reportable transaction to the Commission and 
how a material advisor shall disclose a reportable 
transaction to the Commission. 
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Section R865-6F-38 provides that, in the absence of fraud, 
the amount certified as qualifying for the renewable energy 
systems tax credit shall be the amount allowed by the 
Commission as a credit. 
 
Section R865-6F-39 defines captive real estate 
investment trust for purposes of the addition to unadjusted 
income required to compute the taxable income of a 
captive real estate investment trust. 
 
Section R865-6F40 indicates that the activities of a 
partnership are taken into consideration in determining 
whether a corporation qualifies as a foreign operating 
company. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-7H Filing ID: 52062 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-7H.  Environmental Assurance Fee 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 19-6-410.5 requires the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make rules to establish the method of 
payment of the environmental assurance fee; the 
procedure for reimbursement or exemption of an owner or 

operator that does not participate in the program; and the 
procedure for confirming with the Department of 
Environmental Quality that an owner or operator qualifies 
for reimbursement or exemption. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-7H-1 sets the guidelines for owners or 
operators of tanks, including above-ground storage tanks, 
to obtain an exemption from the Environmental Assurance 
Fee, if they do not participate in the Environmental 
Assurance Program. 
 
Section R865-7H-2 sets the guidelines for exemptions 
from the environmental assurance fee on packaged 
petroleum products, or bulk petroleum products which are 
brought into Utah and subsequently repackaged; provides 
guidelines for qualified individuals to obtain a refund of 
environmental assurance fees, no more often than on a 
monthly basis. 
 
Section R865-7H-3 sets guidelines for an exemption from 
the environmental assurance fee for petroleum products 
exported from a refinery directly out of state; or for 
petroleum products not stored in a tank covered by the 
Environmental Assurance Program which are 
subsequently exported from the state.  Explains that 
qualified individuals may apply for a refund of those fees 
paid, no more often than on a monthly basis. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-9I Filing ID: 52579 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-9I.  Income Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 31A-32a-106 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules necessary to implement the 
medical care savings account tax deduction. 
 
Section 53B-8a-112 authorizes the Tax Commission to 
adopt rules necessary to implement the educational 
saving plan tax deduction. 
 
Section 59-1-210 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules and exercise powers necessary to perform the duties 
imposed by law in the administration and supervision of 
Utah tax laws.  Also permits the adoption of rules to govern 
the Commission, executive director, division directors, and 
Commission employees in the performance of their duties. 
 
Section 59-1-401 authorizes the Commission to prescribe 
what constitutes a return, affidavit, or claim for purposes of 
a tax or a fee. 
 
Sections 59-10-120 and 59-10-121 authorize the 
Commission to prescribe by rule the individual income tax 
filing requirements and apportionment methodology to be 
applied if an individual's residency status changes during 
a taxable year. 
 
Sections 59-10-124 and 59-10-125 authorize the 
Commission to make rules require an adjustment to 
taxable income to account for differences in accounting 
methodology between tax years. 
 
Section 59-10-136 authorizes the Commission to define by 
rule what constitutes spending a day of the taxable year in 
the state for purposes of Utah domicile. 
 
Section 59-10-207 authorizes the Commission to establish 
by rule one or more methods of determining the shares of 
a beneficiary in the income and deductions of an estate or 
trust. 
 
Section 59-10-209.1 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to allow for an adjustment of unadjusted gross 

income for the purpose of preventing a double tax benefit 
or detriment. 
 
Section 59-10-210 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules for determining the allocation of fiduciary 
adjustments to ensure an equitable allocation of income. 
 
Sections 59-10-402, 59-10-403, 59-10-406, and 59-10-
408 require and authorize the commission to make any 
rules necessary to prescribe employer withholding 
requirements. 
 
Section 59-10-406 authorizes the Commission to 
designate by rule the federal form. 
  
Section 59-10-501 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to allow a taxpayer to submit excerpts from their 
federal income tax return rather than the entire return. 
 
Section 59-10-512 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules prescribing return signature requirements. 
 
Section 59-10-514 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules prescribing what constitutes an individual income tax 
return. 
 
Sections 59-10-515, 59-10-517, and 59-10-519 authorize 
and require the Commission to fix by rule the acceptable 
time and place for filing documents related to an individual 
income tax return. 
 
Sections 59-10-527 and 59-10-529 authorize the 
Commission to make rules prescribing the assessment 
and collection of liabilities under Title 59, Chapter 10. 
 
Section 59-10-1003 requires the Commission to make 
rules prescribing the computation of the tax credit for taxes 
paid by an individual to another state. 
 
Section 59-10-1006 requires the Commission to make any 
rules necessary to implement the historic preservation tax 
credit. 
 
Section 59-10-1007 requires the Commission to make 
rules prescribing the information that must be filed with the 
Commission to verify the entitlement to and the amount of 
the recycling market development zone tax credit. 
 
Section 59-10-1010 authorizes the Commission to make 
any rules necessary to implement the Utah low income 
housing tax credit. 
 
Section 59-10-1012 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules prescribing the certification process for qualified 
organization to ensure the amounts paid to the qualified 
organizations are for basic research conducted in this 
state for purposes of the tax credit for research activities 
conducted in the state. 
 
Section 59-10-1028 authorizes the Commission to make 
any rules necessary to implement the tax credit for capital 
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gain transaction on the exchange of one form of legal 
tender for another form of legal tender. 
 
Section 59-10-1042 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules governing the calculation and method of claiming the 
tax credit for social security benefits. 
 
Section 59-10-1106 authorizes the Commission to make 
any rules necessary to address the certification of the 
refundable renewable energy systems tax credit. 
 
Section 59-10-1113 authorizes the Commission to make 
any rules necessary to address the certification of the 
refundable tax credit for nonrenewable hydrogen 
production systems. 
 
Section 59-10-1403.1 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules for a pass-through entity taxpayer who is not a Utah 
resident, to file a return under Title 59, Chapter 10. 
 
Sections 59-10-1403.2 and 59-10-1405 require and 
authorize the Commission to make rules determining the 
tax a pass-through entity shall pay on behalf of a pass-
through entity taxpayer for a taxable year. 
 
Section 59-10-1403.3 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules establishing the information that a pass-through 
entity shall provide to the commission to obtain a refund of 
qualifying excess withholding. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-9I-2 defines "resident,", "resident taxpayer," 
"nonresident," "nonresident taxpayer," "part year resident," 
and "domicile" and clarifies domicile for purposes of a 
person in active military service. 
 
Section R865-9I-3 provides instructions on how to file for 
an income tax credit for income taxes paid to another 
state. 
 
Section R865-9I-6 provides instructions for a husband and 
wife, if either one is a nonresident, to file separate returns 
even though they filed a joint federal return; provides a 
method to determine each spouse's FAGI when they 
qualify to file separate state returns. 
 
Section R865-9I-7 provides definitions of "part year 
resident" and "FAGI", provides instructions for determining 
the FAGI of a part-year resident and a business with 
income from within and without Utah. 
 

R864-9I-8 provides that two returns are not required when 
an individual changes status as resident or nonresident, 
except in unusual circumstances. 
 
Section R865-9I-9 provides instructions for calculating a 
taxpayer's taxable state income when required to convert 
income from a period of less than a year to an annual basis 
for federal tax purposes. 
 
Section R865-9I-10 states that a taxpayer must include a 
statement setting forth all differences when an alternate 
method of accounting is used to compute income from the 
method used the previous year. 
 
Section R865-9I-13 provides guidance for pass-through 
entity required withholding of Utah income tax from certain 
taxpayers. 
 
Section R865-9I-14 requires withholding only on Utah 
income and allows credit for withholding paid to another 
state.  Provides instructions to employers regarding 
withholding of wages, including income subject to 
withholding, the number of exemptions that may be 
claimed, and use of tables published by the Commission. 
 
Section R865-9I-15 states that an employer need not 
withhold wages from an employee with a federal 
withholding certificate. 
 
Section R865-9I-16 prescribes the forms necessary to file 
withholding returns and sets forth penalties incurred by 
employers not filing properly.  This section also prescribes 
information that must be on W-2 form. 
 
Section R865-9I-17 establishes conditions for employers 
to file withholding returns on a monthly basis and 
directions for filing monthly. 
 
Section R865-9I-18 clarifies taxpayer responsibility to 
keep and store adequate records for income tax purposes. 
 
Section R865-9I-19 clarifies whether a joint return or a 
separate return should be filed in a year in which one 
spouse dies. 
 
Section R865-9I-20 clarifies when a fiduciary is required to 
file a return and the information required to be on the 
fiduciary return and establishes liability for payment of the 
estate's or trust's taxes. 
 
Section R865-9I-21 provides income tax filing instructions 
for individuals involved in a partnership.  Clarifies method 
of filing if one member of partnership is a nonresident and 
the partnership has income from inside and outside the 
state. 
 
Section R865-9I-22 clarifies that any return filed with the 
tax commission is not valid unless the sender signs the 
return.  Also, clarifies the conditions a taxpayer must 
satisfy to file returns on reproduced or facsimile copies of 
state tax returns. 
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Section R865-9I-23 provides information for prepaying 
income tax.  This rule indicates when interest shall be 
charged on a return filed pursuant to an extension, and the 
amount of extension Utah residents in military service 
stationed outside the U.S. have to file their return. 
 
Section R865-9I-24 clarifies that provisions relating to 
prima facie evidence of delivery and the postmark date on 
registered mail from the United States postal system apply 
to certified mail as well. 
 
Section R865-9I-30 provides for a taxpayer to waive the 
statute of limitations in order to determine whether an 
activity is engaged in for profit. 
 
Section R865-9I-33 states that all Utah residents keeping 
forms for reporting rents, royalties, interest, and 
remuneration from Utah sources not subject to federal 
withholding must make them available to authorized 
representatives of the Commission or submit them to the 
Commission upon request. 
 
Section R865-9I-34 states that, for property tax relief 
purposes, individuals living in an owned trailer home 
situated on rented land must complete two computations:  
1) for property taxes on the mobile home; and 2) for the 
rental of the land, excluding charges for utilities, services, 
or furnishings supplied by the landlord.  This section also 
states what portions of renter received assistance may be 
included in rent paid. 
 
Section R865-9I-41 provides instructions for applying for 
and receiving historic preservation tax credit, and any 
subsequent carryforwards of that credit. 
 
Section R865-9I-42 provides that the order of deducting 
credits against individual income tax is:  1) nonrefundable 
credits; 2) nonrefundable credits with a carryforward; and 
3) refundable credits. 
 
Section R865-9I-44 defines "professional athletic team", 
"member of a professional athletic team," and "duty days" 
for purposes of apportioning income subject to Utah tax for 
all professional athletes performing in the ; provides that a 
professional athletic team is an employer required to 
withhold state income tax from the team members. 
 
Section R865-9I-46 requires medical savings account 
administrators to file information on each account they 
administer, along with a reconciliation, with the 
Commission on an annual basis.  This rule outlines the 
content of the form, along with record keeping 
requirements and the necessity of each account holder to 
attached the form to their state return. 
 
Section R865-9I-47 states that combat pay is excluded 
from withholding requirements and provides an extension 
of time to pay income taxes for individuals receiving 
combat pay. 
 
Section R865-9I-49 requires the trustee of the Utah 
Educational Savings Plan Trust to provide trust 

participants and the Commission with certain information 
on the status of the participant's account with the trust. 
 
Section R865-9I-50 indicates when the addition to federal 
taxable income for interest on certain bonds shall apply. 
 
Section R865-9I-51 provides conditions under which a 
withholding tax licensee will be considered to have 
changed the licensee's business address or ceased to do 
business. 
 
Section R865-9I-52 provides that a credit for health benefit 
plan insurance shall be determined in the manner that 
provides the greatest possible credit.  
 
Section R865-9I-53 indicates how a taxpayer shall 
disclose a reportable transaction to the Commission and 
how a material advisor shall disclose a reportable 
transaction to the Commission. 
 
Section R865-9I-55 provides that a qualified subchapter S 
subsidiary shall be treated in the same manner for Utah 
taxes as it is for federal taxes. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-11Q Filing ID: 52063 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-11Q.  Self-Insured Employer Assessment 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 34A-2-202 requires the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to establish by rule the reasonable time 
period within which a self-insured employer paying 
compensation must obtain an experience modification 
factor.  
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-11Q-1 clarifies when employers need to 
obtain the experience modification factor and provides 
direction for those who fail to obtain the factor within the 
specified time. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-12L Filing ID: 52064 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-12L.  Local Sales and Use Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-1-210 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules and exercise powers 
necessary to perform the duties imposed by law in the 
administration and supervision of Utah tax laws. 
 
Section 59-1-403 authorizes the Commission to make a 
rule establishing the procedure and circumstances for 
sharing sales and use tax data with the political 
subdivisions of this state. 
 
Section 59-12-107 authorizes the Commission to establish 
by rule the form and information that must be filed for 
purposes of sales and use taxation.  Additionally, 
authorizes the Commission to extend the time for making 
returns and paying the taxes. 
 
Section 59-12-210.1 authorizes the Commission to define 
"extraordinary circumstances" for purposes of a 
redistribution of local sale and use tax revenue. 
 
Section 59-12-211 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to establish the method by which a location of a 
transaction is determined if a seller or certified service 
provider is unable to determine the local taxing jurisdiction 
in which the transaction occurred. 
 
Section 69-2-303 authorizes the Commission to define 
"extraordinary circumstances" for purposes of a 
redistribution of 911 emergency service charges. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-12L-1 provides that all rules made with 
respect to the state sales and use tax shall apply to the 
local sales and use tax. 
 
Section R865-12L-3 permits use of sales tax rate charts to 
determine sales tax due on a taxable sale. 
 
Section R865-12L-4 requires that the local sales and use 
tax be reported to the Commission on a combined return 
with the state sales and use tax. 
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Section R865-12L-11 outlines the sales tax liability of a 
person who purchases a motor vehicle from someone 
other than a licensed dealer. 
 
Section R865-12L-14 provides procedures for local 
governing bodies' review of local sales and use taxes 
remitted by businesses located within that political 
subdivision.  Rule R865-12L also provides procedures for 
corrections for firms omitted from the list of a particular 
political subdivision or firms listed but not doing business 
in the jurisdiction of the political subdivision and defines 
"de minimis" and "extraordinary circumstances" for 
purposes of a redistribution of sales tax revenues. 
 
Section R865-12L-17 defines "primary business," and 
"retail establishment," and provides guidance necessary to 
administer the restaurant tax. 
 
Section R865-12L-18 clarifies the Commission's exclusive 
authority to administer and enforce the local sales and use 
tax and lists the circumstances under which local 
governments:  1) shall have access to the Tax Commission 
records; and 2) may intervene in or appeal from a 
proposed final Commission action. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-13G Filing ID: 52074 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-13G.  Motor Fuel Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-13-201 requires the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make rules governing the procedures for 
administering the tax exemption for motor fuel that is sold 
to the United States government, this state, or the political 
subdivisions of this state.  This section also requires the 
commission to make rules governing the procedures for 
administering the reduction of tax on motor fuel sold, used, 
or received on the Navajo Nation. 
 
Section 59-13-202 authorizes the Commission to makes 
rules providing procedures for making a refund of motor 
fuel tax paid by a nonhighway agricultural claimant. 
 
Section 59-13-210 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to administer and enforce this Title 59, Chapter 13, 
Part 2, Motor Fuel. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-13G-1 defines "carrier" with regard to motor 
fuel deliveries, and requires that every carrier delivering 
motor fuels within this state submit written reports 
concerning all deliveries from outside Utah. 
 
Section R865-13G-3 provides criteria for determining 
whether a sale of motor fuel meets the export exemption 
from motor fuels tax.  This section also requires that each 
export sale of motor fuel be supported by records. 
 
Section R865-13G-5 allows motor fuel dealers that sell 
motor fuel in wholesale quantities to become a licensed 
distributor, and allows licensed distributor to purchase 
motor fuel tax exempt if they satisfy certain conditions. 
 
Section R865-13G-6 upon Commission approval, exempts 
from motor fuel tax volatile or inflammable liquids that 
qualify as motor fuels, but are not useable in their present 
state in internal combustion engines. 
 
Section R865-13G-8 clarifies definition of "agricultural 
purposes", for purposes of allowing tax refund for persons 
engaged in commercial agricultural work. 
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Section R865-13G-9 clarifies exemption from motor fuel 
tax for motor fuels refined in Utah from solid hydrocarbons. 
 
Section R865-13G-10 provides procedures for distributors 
that make sales to government agencies to claim the fuel 
tax exemption for sales to government agencies.  Clarifies 
the exemption from motor fuel tax for sale of motor fuel to 
Indian tribes and government agencies. 
 
Section R865-13G-11 defines "gross gallon" and "net 
gallon" for use in calculating motor fuel tax liability.  This 
section requires that all licensed distributors calculate 
motor fuel tax using either gross gallon or net gallon basis, 
and requires distributors to inform tax commission of 
choice then exclusively use this basis of calculation for 12 
months without alternating. 
 
Section R865-13G-13 sets procedure for government 
entities to apply for a refund for motor fuel taxes paid; lists 
the records required to be maintained for purchases on 
which the refund is claimed. 
 
Section R865-13G-15 provides procedures for 
administering the reduction of motor fuel tax authorized 
under Section 59-13-201. 
 
Section R865-13G-17 sets forth the parameters under 
which a motor fuels tax licensee will be considered to have 
changed the licensee's business address or ceased to do 
business. 
 
Section R865-13G-18 defines the statewide average rack 
price of a gallon of motor fuel as the average of the Salt 
Lake City and Cedar City terminal prices of the average 
daily average net closing price of a gallon of branded 
regular, 10% ethanol, 9.0 Reid Vapor Pressure unleaded 
motor fuel for each terminal. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-14W Filing ID: 52071 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-14W.  Mineral Producers' Withholding Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-6-104 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make rules necessary to effectuate the 
purposes of the Title 59, Chapter 6, Mineral Production 
Withholding. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-14W-1 defines "working interest owner," 
"first purchaser," "person," and "producer" with regard to 
the state mineral producer's withholding tax; and clarifies 
withholding requirements, who is responsible to pay tax, 
including unpaid tax, and how claims for credits against 
the withholding tax should be made. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
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Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 
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Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-15O.  Oil and Gas Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-1-210 authorizes the State Tax Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules and administer and supervise 
the tax laws of the state. 
 
Section 59-5-101 authorizes the Commission to define the 
term "Operator" in regards to oil and gas severance tax. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule defines terms necessary to administer severance 
tax on oil and gas and provides guidelines for operators 
and working interest owners engaged in the business of 
operating an oil or gas well in the state. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head  
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-16R Filing ID: 52072 

Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-16R.  Severance Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-5-203 requires the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make a rule designating an established 
authority for market prices of metals, and a process for 
determining the value of metals sold between affiliated 
companies where a bona fide sale has not taken place. 
 
Section 59-5-204 authorizes the Commission to make a 
rule setting filing requirements that are reasonable and 
necessary to the proper enforcement of Title 59, Chapter 
5, Severance Tax on Oil, Gas, and Mining. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-16R-1 establishes the authority and 
promulgates processes both required by statute and 
necessary in the determination of fair market value.  This 
rule is necessary to ensure that the measurement of 
taxable value is consistent among the different taxpayers, 
thereby ensuring that all pay their fair share of tax. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-19S Filing ID: 53093 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-19S.  Sales and Use Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 10-1-306 requires the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make rules establishing the "delivered 
value of taxable energy" under Title 10, Chapter 1, Part 3, 
Municipal Energy Sales and Use Tax Act. 
 
Section 10-1-308 requires the Commission to make rules 
to proportionally distribute all taxes collected under the 
Municipal Energy Sales and Use Tax if the municipality 
where the taxpayer is located cannot be accurately 
determined. 
 
Section 10-1-405 requires the Commission to develop by 
rule a uniform interlocal agreement that meet the 
requirements of Section 10-1-405. 
 
Subsection 59-12-102(22) requires the Commission to 
make rules listing the items that constitute "clothing" and 
that are consistent with the list of items that constitute 
clothing under the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement. 
 
Subsection 59-12-102(102) requires the Commission to 
make rules listing the items that constitute "protective 

equipment" and that are consistent with the list of items 
under the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement. 
 
Subsection 59-12-102(127) requires the Commission to 
make rules listing the items that constitute "sports or 
recreational equipment" and that are consistent with the 
list of items under the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement. 
 
Section 59-12-102.3 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules reasonably required to implement the provisions of 
the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement. 
 
Subsection 59-12-104(7) authorizes the Commission to 
make rules governing the circumstances under which 
sales are at the same business location and establishing 
procedures and requirements for a seller to separately 
account for sales of assisted cleaning or washing tangible 
personal property. 
 
Subsection 59-12-104(13) requires the Commission to 
make rules establishing the circumstances under a person 
is regularly engaged in the business of selling a type of 
tangible personal property or product transferred 
electronically. 
 
Subsection 59-12-104(37) requires the Commission to 
make rules determining the method for calculating sales 
exempt from sales and use tax that are not separately 
metered and accounted for in utility billings to a ski resort 
to operate a passenger ropeway. 
 
Section 59-12-104.1 requires the Commission to make 
rules establishing the procedures for applying for a sales 
and use tax refund and establishing the standards for 
determining and verifying the amount of purchase at the 
point of sale. 
 
Subsection 59-12-107(3) authorizes the Commission to 
make rules determining the amount of tax due if the 
London fixing price is not available for a particular day. 
 
Subsection 59-12-107(4) authorizes the Commission to 
prescribe by rule the information that must be contained in 
a sales and used tax return and the time and place that a 
return must be filed and a liability paid. 
 
Section 59-12-107.1 authorizes the Commission to make 
any rules necessary to administer Section 59-12-107.1 
Direct Pay Permit. 
 
Section 59-12-118 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules necessary for the making of returns and for the 
ascertainment, assessment, and collection of the taxes 
imposed under Title 59, Chapter 12, Sales and Use Tax 
Act. 
 
Subsection 59-12-211(11) authorizes the Commission to 
define by rule the terms "business location," "florist," and 
define what constitutes a means of communication similar 
to a telegraph or telephone. 
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Subsection 59-12-211(12) authorizes the Commission to 
establish a method for determining the location of a 
transaction for the sale of computer software that is used 
at more than one location. 
 
Section 59-12-1102 requires the Commission to establish 
rules to implement the distribution of the county option 
sales and use tax collections. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-19S-1 distinguishes between sales and use 
taxes. 
 
Section R865-19S-2 describes sales and use taxes as 
transaction taxes rather than taxes on articles sold; 
explains that purchaser pays the tax, not the vendor.  The 
vendor merely remits the tax to the state. 
 
Section R865-19S-4 indicates that, unless otherwise 
provided by statute, an invoice or receipt shall show sales 
tax as a separate line item or in the underlying books and 
records kept in the vendor's ordinary course of business. 
If vendors collect an excess amount of tax, they must 
refund the tax to customers or remit excesses to the 
Commission.  Indicates circumstances under which an 
over collection of taxes may be offset against an under 
collection of taxes. 
 
Section R865-19S-7 explains sales tax license 
requirements for businesses.  Outlines rules for business 
address changes and business closures. 
 
Section R865-19S-12 prescribes the basic form for vendor 
tax returns; outlines Commission rules for timely filing and 
extensions; distinguishes between annual filing status and 
quarterly filing status requirement; and explains alternative 
sales tax deposits (daily, weekly, or monthly) if necessary 
for the remittance of tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-13 explains confidentiality of returns 
and states that persons requesting a copy of their own tax 
returns must present proper identification. 
 
Section R865-19S-16 clarifies vendor procedure when 
vendor has collected excess taxes. 
 
Section R865-19S-20 defines the term "total sales" for 
sales tax purposes; enumerates the circumstances under 
which the Commission will give adjustments and credits; 
and vendor commissions are not deductible. 
 

Section R865-19S-22 describes the proper method of 
sales and use tax record keeping for retailers, lessees, and 
lessors; discusses proper microfilm and microfiche 
methods and ADP accounting system records; and 
explains Commission prerogatives if records are not 
prepared and maintained in the prescribed manner. 
 
Section R865-19S-23 describes the exemption certificate 
requirement for vendors of exempt tangible personal 
property. 
 
Section R865-19S-25 requires sales tax license holders to 
return tax licenses for cancellation upon sales of business; 
and requires sales tax license holders to retain business 
records for three years after discontinuation of business. 
 
Section R865-19S-30 lists the evidence required for 
calculating sales and use tax for vehicle sales with or 
without a trade-in vehicle used as partial payment. 
 
Section R865-19S-31 time and place of sale determined 
by contract between seller and buyer.  The intent of the 
parties is subject to generally accepted contract law. 
 
Section R865-19S-32 explains sales tax implications for 
leases, rentals, and conditional sales leases; and provides 
examples of taxable leases. 
 
Section R865-19S-33 defines "admissions," "annual 
membership dues," and "season passes;" clarifies what is 
not an admission; states that amounts paid for activities 
that are not admissions must be separately stated on the 
invoice. 
 
Section R865-19S-34 defines "place of amusement" as a 
definite location.  Admission is subject to tax even though 
the charge includes the right to participate in an activity. 
 
Section R865-19S-35 clarifies definition of "residential 
use" to include nursing homes.  Definition of "fuels" does 
not include explosives.  Taxable status of fuel furnished 
through a single meter is determined by its predominant 
use. 
 
Section R865-19S-37 defines "commercials," "audio 
tapes," "video tapes," "motion picture exhibitor," and 
"distributor." 
 
Section R865-19S-38 clarifies definition of "isolated or 
occasional" sales. 
 
Section R865-19S-40 sales tax exemption for agricultural 
produce/agricultural products exchanges explained. 
 
Section R865-19S-41 clarifies, for purposes of the sales 
tax exemption for the U. S. government, when a sale is 
made to the U. S. government. 
 
Section R865-19S-42 clarifies when a sale is made to "" 
for exemption purposes; indicates the procedures a state 
or local government must follow to receive a refund of 
sales tax paid on lodging related purchases that are 
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exempt from sales tax, including the records the state or 
local government must retain. 
 
Section R865-19S-43 outlines exemption qualification 
requirements for religious or charitable institutions. 
 
Section R865-19S-44 explains meaning of "sales made in 
interstate commerce." 
 
Section R865-19S-48 explains that returnable containers 
are not exempt from sales tax (although non-returnable 
containers are).  Containers sold for final use to the 
consumer are not exempt.  Deposits on containers are 
subject to sales tax; retailer may take tax credit if deposit 
refund is made to customer. 
 
Section R865-19S-49 defines "farming operations" for 
purposes of the agricultural exemption; food, medicine, 
and supplies for animals in agricultural use exempt from 
sales tax.  Fur bearing animals raised for fur are exempt 
agricultural products.  These exemptions are only 
applicable to commercial farming operations.  Purchaser 
must supply exemption certificate to vendor.  Explains that 
poultry, eggs, and dairy products are not seasonal 
products under section 59-12-104 (21). 
 
Section R865-19S-50 defines flowers, trees bouquets, 
plants, etc. as agricultural products; and explains tax rules 
for florist telegraphic deliveries.  Florist receiving the order 
from the buyer must collect tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-51 clarifies tax rules for manufacturing 
and assembling labor on tangible personal property.  Sale 
of the personal property itself is not exempt unless 
specifically exempted. 
 
Section R865-19S-53 sales by finance companies of 
tangible personal property acquired by repossession or 
foreclosure are subject to tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-56 explains that sales by employers to 
employees are generally subject to sales tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-57 retail sales of ice are taxable.  Ice to 
be re-sold is not taxable.  Contract sales of ice to railroads 
or freight lines are taxable; no deduction for services is 
allowed. 
 
Section R865-19S-58 explains that construction materials 
are taxable to contractor or repairman if contractor or 
repairman converts them to real property; defines 
"construction materials"; and sales of materials to 
contractors are taxable; sale of completed real property is 
not.  Contractor is the final consumer when contractor 
converts tangible personal property to real property.  This 
section defines conditions under which sales of 
construction materials to religious or charitable institutions 
are exempt; and provides examples of items that remain 
tangible personal property even when attached to real 
property (and hence are taxable). 
 

Section R865-19S-59 defines sales of tangible personal 
property to repair persons or renovators as "for resale" 
sales, and there- fore exempt.  Sales of supplies 
consumed by repair persons or renovators are taxable. 
 
Section R865-19S-60 explains that items sold to 
businesses for use in carrying on business are taxable; 
and gives examples of office supplies, trade fixtures, etc. 
that are subject to tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-61 clarifies definition of tax exempt 
meal sales.  Meals available to general public are not 
exempt.  This section also defines "available to general 
public." 
 
Section R865-19S-62 meal tickets, coupon books, and 
merchandise cards, sold by persons engaged in selling 
those items, are taxable.  This section also explains 
collection procedure. 
 
Section R865-19S-63 defines tombstones and grave 
markers as improvements to real property; and defines tax 
rules for sales of these items. 
 
Section R865-19S-65 clarifies tax rules for newspaper 
sales; defines "newspaper" for tax exemption purposes; 
and explains rules for advertising inserts. 
 
Section R865-19S-66 distinguishes between services 
rendered and tangible personal property sold by 
optometrists, ophthalmologists, and opticians.  Services 
are not taxable, but sales of the tangible personal property 
are taxable. 
 
Section R865-19S-68 defines premiums, gifts, rebates, 
and coupons as taxable tangible personal property; and 
explains tax rules for donations of these items. 
 
Section R865-19S-70 defines persons who render 
services (doctors, dentists, barbers, or beauticians) as the 
consumers of the tangible personal property dispensed 
during their services. 
 
Section R865-19S-72 explains sales tax exemption for 
trade-ins and exchanges of tangible personal property. 
 
Section R865-19S-73 explains the responsibility of 
trustees, receivers, executors, administrators, etc. of 
collecting and remitting sales tax on all taxable sales, 
including those made at liquidation. 
 
Section R865-19S-74 defines vending machine operators 
as retailers; defines "cost" for the purposes of the 150% 
cost formula in Section 59-12-104(3); and requires 
vending machine operators to secure a sales tax license 
and to display license number on each vending machine. 
 
Section R865-19S-75 defines sales by photographers, 
photofinishers, and photostat producers as sales of 
tangible personal property; and requires these persons to 
collect tax on their services and on sales of related tangible 
personal property. 
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Section R865-19S-76 defines charges for painting, 
polishing, washing, cleaning, and waxing tangible 
personal property as subject to tax, with no deduction 
allowed for the service involved; and explains that sales of 
items used in providing these services are subject to tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-78 explains that labor charges for 
installation, repair, renovation, and cleaning of tangible 
personal property are taxable; labor charges for 
installation of tangible personal property that becomes real 
property are not subject to tax. (Clarifies 59-12-103(1)(g)). 
 
Section R865-19S-79 defines "tourist home," "hotel," 
"motel," "trailer court," "trailer," and "accommodations and 
service charges." 
 
Section R865-19S-80 defines "Pre-press materials" and 
"printer"; and describes sales tax liability for sales and 
purchases made by printers. 
 
Section R865-19S-81 explains that the sale of artwork is 
taxable.  Purchase of art supplies that become part of the 
finished product may be purchased tax free. 
 
Section R865-19S-82 outlines sales tax rules for items 
used for display, trial, or demonstration.  Tangible personal 
property used for display, trial, or demonstration is not 
subject to tax.  Demonstration items used primarily for 
company or personal use are subject to tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-85 defines "establishment," "machinery 
and equipment" and "manufacturer," for the purpose of the 
exemption for new and expanding operations and normal 
operating replacements; indicates when different activities 
performed at a single location constitute a separate and 
distinct establishment. 
 
Section R865-19S-86 outlines procedures for mandatory 
filers, defines "mandatory filer" and related terms; 
describes criteria for vendor reimbursement of the cost of 
collecting and remitting sales taxes; and delineates 
procedures for Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) remittance 
of sales taxes. 
 
Section R865-19S-87 defines "tooling," "special tooling," 
"support equipment," and "special test equipment" for 
purposes of the aerospace or electronics industry contract 
exemption set forth in Section 59-12-104. 
 
Section R865-19S-90 defines "interstate," "intrastate," and 
"two-way transmission" for purposes of Section 59-12-
103; and enumerates taxable telephone services and 
gives examples of nontaxable charges. 
 
Section R865-19S-91 explains that sales to government 
contractors are subject to sales tax if the contractor uses 
or consumes the property; and lists criteria for qualification 
as a purchasing agent for a government entity. 
 
Section R865-19S-92 defines "computer generated 
output;" indicates that prewritten computer software is 
subject to sales tax regardless of the form in which it is 

transferred; indicates that custom computer software is 
exempt from sales tax regardless of the form in which it is 
transferred; indicates how a transaction involving 
computer software is sourced if the transaction does not 
include a copy of the software to the purchaser and the 
purchaser uses the software at more than one location. 
 
Section R865-19S-93 describes procedure for payment of 
waste tire recycling fees and clarifies what sales of tires 
are subject to the fee. 
 
Section R865-19S-94 distinguishes between taxable and 
non-taxable tips, gratuities, and cover charges at 
restaurants, cafes, and clubs. 
 
Section R865-19S-98 defines "use" for purposes of 
vehicle sales tax exemption for nonresidents; describes 
qualifications for nonresident status; describes 
qualifications for vehicles deemed not used in this state. 
 
Section R865-19S-100 explains procedures for sales tax 
exemptions and refunds for religious and charitable 
organizations. 
 
Section R865-19S-101 explains that document 
preparation fees assessed for motor vehicle sales are 
exempt from sales tax if separately identified and not 
included in the vehicle sale price. 
 
Section R865-19S-102 states that ski resorts that do not 
have a separate meter for their exempt purchases shall 
determine a methodology to calculate exempt electricity 
purchases, and to receive Commission approval prior to 
using that methodology. 
 
Section R865-19S-103 defines "gas" and "supplying 
taxable energy" for purposes of the municipal energy sales 
and use tax.  The section also defines "delivered value" 
and "point of sale" of taxable energy; and sets forth 
responsibilities of an energy supplier and a user of taxable 
energy. 
 
Section R865-19S-104 clarifies that the annual distribution 
of the county option sales tax shall be based on a calendar 
year; adjustments shall be reflected in the February 
distribution. 
 
Section R865-19S-108 defines "user fee" for purposes of 
sales and use tax on admission or user fees. 
 
Section R865-19S-109 distinguishes between the taxable 
and non-taxable status of purchases and sales made by a 
veterinarian; provides that if a sale by a veterinarian 
includes both taxable and nontaxable items, the 
nontaxable items must be separately stated or the entire 
invoice is subject to tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-110 defines "advertiser", and clarifies 
taxable status of purchases and sales made by 
advertisers. 
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Section R865-19S-111 clarifies when a graphic design 
service is non-taxable; provides that a vendor who 
provides both nontaxable graphic design services and 
taxable tangible personal property must separately state 
nontaxable amounts or the entire sale is taxable. 
 
Section R865-19S-113 defines "federal airway;" indicates 
when amounts paid for aircraft or watercraft tours are 
exempt from sales tax; indicates when sales tax shall be 
collected in Utah for a service that occurs in Utah and 
another state. 
 
Section R865-19S-114 defines items that constitute 
clothing in accordance with the Streamlined Sales and 
Use Tax Agreement. 
 
Section R865-19S-115 defines items that constitute 
protective equipment in accordance with the Streamlined 
Sales and Use Tax Agreement. 
 
Section R865-19S-116 defines items that constitute sports 
or recreational equipment in accordance with the 
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement. 
 
Section R865-19S-117 provides guidelines for rounding 
the computation of sales tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-118 provides the terms of the uniform 
interlocal agreement that governs the Commission's 
administration of the municipal telecommunications 
license tax. 
 
Section R865-19S-120 defines terms for the sales tax 
exemption relating to film, television, and video; indicates 
transactions that do not qualify for the sales tax exemption. 
 
Section R865-19S-121 defines terms for purposes of the 
sales tax exemption for certain purchases by a mining 
facility; indicates the items the exemption applies to. 
 
Section R865-19S-122 defines terms for purposes of the 
sales tax exemption for certain purchases by a web search 
portal establishment; indicates the items the exemption 
applies to. 
 
Section R865-19S-123 indicates the London fixing price 
that a seller shall use to determine the amount of sales tax 
due in specie legal tender and in dollars when the London 
fixing price is not available for the day on which a purchase 
is made in specie legal tender. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-20T Filing ID: 52073 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-20T.  Tobacco Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-14-102 requires the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make rules establishing the 
determination of "moisture content" under the definition of 
"moist snuff." 
 
Section 59-14-202 requires the Commission to make rules 
establishing the procedures for the renewal and 
reinstatement of cigarette sales licenses. 
 
Section 59-14-205 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules permitting cigarettes to remain unstamped until the 
original case is broken, unpacked, or sold, and to remain 
unstamped is the cigarettes are exported to a regular 
dealer outside of the state. 
 
Section 59-14-208 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to provide for the method of breaking packages, the 
form and kinds of containers, and the method of affixing or 
cancelling stamps. 
 
Section 59-14-302 requires the Commission to make rules 
setting out the calculation of tax on moist snuff for a 
fractional part of an ounce. 
 
Section 59-14-407 requires the Commission to make rules 
establishing the procedures and reports to be used 
manufacturers, distributers, wholesalers, or retailers to 
report the tax on cigarettes and tobacco products. 
 



  FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 01, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 23 163 

Section 59-14-503 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules permitting smokeless tobacco products to remain 
unstamped until the original case is unpacked, broken, or 
sold, or if the product is exported. 
 
Section 59-14-607 authorizes the Commission to 
promulgate rules as necessary to enforce the provisions of 
Title 59, Chapter 14, Part 6, Tobacco Manufacturer 
Stamping Enforcement Provisions. 
 
Section 59-14-707 authorizes the Commission to make 
rule necessary to verify information for purposes of 
granting or denying a certification of renewal under Title 
59, Chapter 14, Part 7, Cigarette Rolling Machine 
Operators Act. 
 
Section 59-14-803 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules establishing the procedure and application for 
obtaining a license to sell an electronic cigarette product 
or a nicotine product. 
 
Section 59-14-302 requires the Commission to make rules 
setting out the calculation of tax on alternative nicotine 
products for a fractional part of an ounce. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-20T-1 clarifies that the cigarette tax and 
tobacco products tax are imposed upon the first purchase, 
use, storage, or consumption in the state, and clarifies that 
no tax is due from a nonresident or tourist who purchases 
cigarettes outside the state for use, storage, or 
consumption inside the state. 
 
Section R865-20T-3 states that each vending machine 
selling tobacco is to be licensed as a separate place of 
business.  The license will be posted in a conspicuous 
place on the machine.  This section also provides 
guidelines for application for license and to change the 
place of business. 
 
Section R865-20T-5 sellers of tobacco products not 
required to post bond if previous seller has paid the tax on 
the products; and indicates how the amount of the bond 
shall be calculated. 
 
Section R865-20T-7 clarifies that sales of cigarettes and 
tobacco products to vendors outside the state are not 
subject to this tax.  This section also provides guidelines 
on records that must be maintained to evidence this 
exemption. 
 

Section R865-20T-8 requires manufacturers, jobbers, 
distributors, wholesalers, retailers, users, or consumers of 
tobacco products or cigarettes to keep records necessary 
to determine the amount of tax due on the sale and 
consumption of these products for a period of three years. 
 
Section R865-20T-9 allows inventories of cigarettes held 
by manufacturers to be delivered to wholesalers or jobbers 
without being stamped.  Records of those deliveries must 
be kept with information provided in this section, and made 
available to the Commission. 
 
Section R865-20T-11 allows manufacturers, distributors, 
wholesalers, and retailers that are required to provide, on 
a quarterly basis, a copy of the importer's federal import 
permit and customs form, to exclude those items from 
enclosure with their quarterly report so long as that 
information is kept in their records, and provided to the 
Commission upon request. 
 
Section R865-20T-12 defines a "counterfeit stamp" for 
purposes of the definition of a "counterfeit cigarette." 
 
Section R865-20T-13 indicates how the moisture content 
of a tobacco product shall be measured and how the tax 
on moist snuff shall be calculated. 
 
Section R865-20T-14 indicates how the directory of 
cigarettes approved for stamping and sale in the state shall 
be updated. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R865-21U Filing ID: 52083 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Auditing 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R865-21U.  Use Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-12-118 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to prescribe rules necessary to conform 
with Title 59, Chapter 12, Sales and Use Tax Act, for the 
making of returns and for the ascertainment, assessment, 
and collection of sales and use taxes. 
 
Section 59-12-1102 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to implement the distribution of sales and use tax 
revenue to local jurisdictions. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R865-21U-1 clarifies the purpose of the use tax 
and when the use tax applies. 
 
Section R865-21U-2 clarifies that all rules promulgated for 
sales taxes are applicable to use taxes. 
 
Section R865-21U-6 sets forth a purchaser's 
responsibilities with regard to payment of and accounting 
for use tax. 
 
Section R865-21U-16 clarifies that use tax is required on 
goods sold in interstate commerce but stored, used, or 
consumed within the state. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R867-2B Filing ID: 52081 

 

Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Collections 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R867-2B.  Delinquent Tax Collections 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-1-210 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules and exercise powers 
necessary to perform the duties imposed by law in the 
administration and supervision of Utah tax laws. 
 
Section 59-1-1403 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules prescribing methods of collecting a liability for an 
unpaid tax or fee. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R867-2B-1 clarifies that certain individuals may be 
subject to a tax lien. 
 
Section R867-2B-3 clarifies the procedures the 
Commission follows prior to sale of property seized under 
a jeopardy assessment. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R873-22M Filing ID: 52327 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Motor Vehicle 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R873-22M.  Motor Vehicle 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 41-1a-104 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make and enforce rules necessary to 
effectuate Title 41, Chapter 1a, Motor Vehicle Act. 
 
Section 41-1a-216 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules establishing procedures for an individual to apply for 
and the division to administer automatic renewal of 
registration and automatic payment of fees and relevant 
taxes. 
 
Section 41-1a-407 requires the Commission to make rules 
establishing the procedure for application for a distribution 
of "EX" and "UHP" plates. 
 
Section 41-1a-416 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules for the implementation of Section 41-1a-416 Original 
issue license plates – Alternative stickers – Rulemaking. 
 
Section 41-1a-419 requires the Commission to make rules 
establishing the maximum number of characters on 
special group license plates and the qualifying criteria for 
persons to receive, renew, or surrender special group 
license plates. 
 
Section 41-1a-420 requires the Commission to make rules 
establishing the maximum number of characters on 
disability special group license plates and the qualifying 
criteria for persons to receive, renew, or surrender a 
disability special group license plate, a temporary placard, 

a temporary removable windshield placard, a removable 
windshield placard, a temporary wheelchair user placard, 
or a wheelchair user placard.  The section also requires 
the Commission, by rule, to require disability placards to 
contain an identification number, expiration date, and 
division seal or identifying mark of authenticity. 
 
Section 41-1a-1005 requires the Commission to make 
rules establishing the requirements for an insurance 
company to prove compliance with Subsection 41-1a-
1005(1)(a)(iii) or (iv) to receive a salvage certificate. 
 
Section 41-1a-1005.5 requires the Commission to make 
rules establishing the requirements for an insurance 
company to prove compliance with Subsection 41-1a-
1005.5(1)(a)(iii) or (iv) to receive a nonrepairable 
certificate. 
 
Section 41-1a-1101 requires the Commission to make 
rules setting standards for public garages, impound lots, 
and impound yards that may be used by peace officers 
and the division. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R873-22M-2 clarifies documentation necessary 
for registration or titling of vehicles under unique 
circumstances. 
 
Section R873-22M-7 specifies procedures for transfer of 
license plates from one vehicle to another; provides a 
method for determining additional registration fees if the 
gross laden weight of a vehicle registered by gross laden 
weight increases during the registration year. 
 
Section R873-22M-8 clarifies when a registration issued 
for a period of three, six, or nine calendar months expires. 
 
Section R873-22M-11 allows a driver to carry a copy of the 
original registration card in lieu of the original in state-
owned or state- leased vehicles. 
 
Section R873-22M-14 clarifies positioning of decals on 
license plates. 
 
Section R873-22M-15 sets forth procedures for applying 
for a state-issued vehicle identification number (VIN) if the 
original VIN has been removed or altered or if one never 
existed.  This section also states where a state-issued VIN 
shall be placed on the vehicle.  This section also sets forth 
specifications for state-issued VIN. 
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Section R873-22M-16 establishes requirements for:  1) a 
lien holder who repossesses a motor vehicle to obtain title 
on that vehicle; 2) recording a new lien; and 3) issuing a 
new certificate of title showing the assignee as lienholder. 
 
Section R873-22M-17 provides criteria that an impound lot 
must meet to be used by the . 
 
Section R873-22M-20 defines "aircraft;" provides that 
aircraft subject to FAA registration shall be registered in 
Utah; provides a registration period; aircraft assessed as 
part of an airline by the Tax Commission are exempt from 
registration; requires a decal to be placed on a registered 
aircraft; and sets forth the contents of the database 
maintained by the Utah Division of Aeronautics on all 
aircraft based within the state. 
 
Section R873-22M-22 allows an out-of-state branded 
vehicle to be issued a comparable Utah branded title; Utah 
registration expires when a vehicle qualifies for a title 
brand; and defines "cost to repair or restore a vehicle for 
safe operation" for purposes of unbranding a vehicle. 
 
Section R873-22M-25 requires written notification that a 
vehicle has been issued a salvage certificate or branded 
title to a prospective buyer on a form provided by the Motor 
Vehicle Enforcement Division; states where the form must 
be displayed if the seller is a dealer. 
 
Section R873-22M-27 sets forth requirements individuals 
must meet to qualify for special group license plates. 
 
Section R873-22M-28 allows the owner of a vehicle that is 
forty years or older with a horseless carriage plate issued 
prior to July 1, 1992, the privilege of exchanging it for a 
vintage vehicle special group license plate issued after 
July 1, 1992. 
 
Section R873-22M-29 details what a removable and a 
temporary removable disabled windshield placard shall 
look like; provides when the windshield placard may be 
issued and where it must be placed in the vehicle. 
 
Section R873-22M-30 defines the term "series" with 
regard to the issuance of an original issue license plate; 
states that the numeric code on the original issue plate 
cannot mirror a numeric code on a license plate already in 
existence. 
 
Section R873-22M-32 defines certificate of title with regard 
to Section 41-1a-1010; and requires an applicant with a 
vehicle eligible for retitling under Section 41-1a-1010 to 
receive a title consistent with the title at the time of 
application for a permit to dismantle. 
 
Section R873-22M-33 provides a definition of "private 
institution of higher education" and  "standard collegiate 
degree" for purposes of collegiate license plates. 
 
Section R873-22M-34 states conditions under which a 
personalized license plate may not be issued; and allows 

an applicant the right to request a review of the denial; 
provides procedures for review. 
 
Section R873-22M-35 if the user of a personalized plate 
fails to renew the plate within one year of the expiration, 
the plate will be considered surrendered to the division and 
the plate may be reissued to a new requestor. 
 
Section R873-22M-36 defines "advisory notice" and 
provides the procedures necessary to access protected 
motor vehicle records by telephone or in person. 
 
Section R873-22M-40 provides a method to determine the 
age of a vehicle for purposes of determining the frequency 
of the state safety inspection required under Section 53-8-
205. 
 
Section R873-22M-41 indicates when the Commission 
shall issue a salvage certificate for a vehicle to an 
insurance company. 
 
Section R873-22M-42 indicates when the Commission 
shall issue a nonrepairable certificate for a vehicle to an 
insurance company. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R877-23V Filing ID: 52761 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Motor Vehicle Enforcement 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R877-23V.  Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 41-3-105 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to make rules to carry out the purposes Title 
41, Chapter 3, Motor Vehicle Business Regulation Act; and 
Title 41, Chapter 1a, Part 10, Salvage Vehicles – Junk and 
Dismantled Vehicles; including the authority to determine 
the allowable size and shape of signs or devices, and the 
location of signs or devices. 
 
Section 41-3-202 requires the Commission to makes rules 
establishing the qualifications of an applicant for a salvage 
vehicle buyer license and authorizes the Commission to 
create an application procedures for a provisional license. 
 
Section 41-3-301 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules allowing electronic notices of motor vehicle sales to 
be filed with the Commission. 
 
Section 41-3-302 requires the Commission to make rules 
establishing the procedure for the issuance of temporary 
permits by motor vehicle dealers. 
 
Section 76-8-311.1 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules establishing a secure area within the Commission 
facility and prohibit firearms, ammunition, dangerous 
weapons, or explosives. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Commission is not aware of any written comments 
received regarding this rule since the last five-year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R877-23V-3 prohibits holders of a dealer license 
from working as a salesperson for another dealer.  This 
section does allow dealership owners to engage as no-fee 
salespersons for their own dealerships. 
 
Section R877-23V-5 establishes guidelines for issuance, 
placement, and records of temporary motor vehicle 
registration permits and extension permits issued by 
dealers. 
 
Section R877-23V-6 clarifies issuance of in-transit permits 
for piggybacked semi tractors. 
 
Section R877-23V-7 sets forth standards of practice for 
advertising and sale of motor vehicles. 
 

Section R877-23V-8 requires all dealers, dismantlers, 
manufacturers, remanufactures, transporters, crushers, 
and body shops to post a legible sign at principal and 
additional places of business; requires these entities to 
identify their vehicles through signage on the vehicles. 
 
Section R877-23V-10 requires all automobile 
manufacturers licensed in Utah, to comply with federal 
vehicle identification number (VIN) requirements. 
 
Section R877-23V-11 requires all persons licensed under 
Section 41-3-202 to notify the motor vehicle enforcement 
division immediately of any change in ownership, address, 
or circumstance relating to its fitness to be licensed. 
 
Section R877-23V-12 establishes criteria that must be met 
before the issuance of a motor vehicle related license. 
 
Section R877-23V-14 requires a dealer issuing temporary 
permits to segregate and identify state mandated fees.  
This section also requires dealer to post a visible and 
prominent sign if the dealer charges a customer a dealer 
documentary service fee. 
 
Section R877-23V-16 provides that a lost or stolen special 
plate may be replaced only after it has expired; requires a 
replaced special plate to be included in the calculation of 
special plates under Section 41-3-503. 
 
Section R877-23V-18 outlines qualifications for a salvage 
vehicle buyer license and evidence needed to support 
those qualifications. 
 
Section R877-23V-20 provides circumstances under 
which there is a rebuttable presumption that reasonable 
cause to deny, suspend, or revoke a license exists. 
 
Section R877-23V-22 indicates when reasonable cause to 
waive, reduce, or compromise a civil penalty does and 
does not exist. 
 
Section R877-23V-23 designates a secure area within the 
tax commission facility. 
 
Section R877-23V-24 sets out the procedures for an 
electronic meeting of the Motor Vehicle Advisory Board. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R884-24P Filing ID: 52382 
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Agency Information 

1.  Department: Tax Commission 

Agency: Property Tax 

Building: Tax Commission Building 

Street address: 210 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Chantay Asper 801-
297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R884-24P.  Property Tax 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 59-1-210 authorizes the Tax Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules and exercise powers 
necessary to perform the duties imposed by law in the 
administration and supervision of Utah tax laws.  This 
section also authorizes the Commission to adopt rules 
consistent with the constitution and the laws of the state, 
to govern county boards and officers in the performance of 
any duty relating to the assessment, equalization, and 
collection of taxes. 
 
Section 59-1-404 authorizes the Commission to define 
"commercial information" for purposes of prescribing the 
circumstances under which information is intended for 
public use and may be disclosed. 
 
Section 59-2-103 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules defining the term "domicile." 
 
Section 59-2-103.5 requires the Commission to prescribe 
by rule the contents of the form used by counties as an 
application for the primary residential exemption from 
property tax. 
 
Section 59-2-107 requires the Commission to make rules 
defining the classes of items considered to be personal 
property for purposes of Title 59, Chapter 2, Property Tax 
Act. 
 
Sections 59-2-108 and 59-2-1115 authorize the 
Commission to make rules defining the term "item of 
taxable tangible personal property." 
 
Section 59-2-515 authorizes the Commission to make any 
rules necessary to effectuate the purposes of Title 59, 
Chapter 2, Part 5, Farmland Assessment Act. 

Section 59-2-701 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to establish the qualifications for personal property 
appraisers exempt from licensure. 
 
Section 59-2-704 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rules to establish the method, procedure, and timetable for 
counties to annually evaluate the county's appraisal 
performance of taxable real property. 
 
Section 59-2-704.5 requires the Commission to make 
rules determining acceptable standards, assessment 
levels, and valuation deviations within each county. 
 
Sections 59-2-919 and 59-2-919.2 authorize and require 
the Commission to make rules governing advertisements 
for tax increases by local governmental entities. 
 
Section 59-2-1004 requires the Commission to adopt rules 
providing for the circumstances under which the county 
board of equalization is required to accept a late filed 
appeal. 
 
Section 59-2-1102 requires the Commission to make rules 
providing the form and contents of the annual statement 
establishing that property continues to be eligible for 
certain exemptions from property tax. 
 
Section 59-2-1110 authorizes the Commission to adopt all 
rules necessary to determine the exemption of property 
used to furnish power for irrigation purposes and to prorate 
the tax benefits provided. 
 
Section 59-2-1114 authorizes the Commission to adopt 
rule necessary to implement the exemption of inventory 
held for sale. 
 
Section 59-2-1115 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules to administer the exemption of certain tangible 
personal property from taxation and provide for uniform 
implementation. 
 
Section 59-2-1308.5 requires the Commission to make 
rules to ensure that revenue derived from equal payment 
agreements do not affect the calculation of the certified tax 
rate. 
 
Section 59-2-1351.1 requires the Commission to establish 
by rule the minimum procedural standards applicable to 
tax sales. 
 
Section 59-2-1361 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules necessary to implement Section 59-2-1361. 
 
Section 59-2-1712 authorizes the Commission to make 
rules necessary to administer Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 17, 
Urban Farming Assessment. 
 
Section 59-2-1804 authorizes the Commission to make 
rule necessary to implement Section 59-2-1804 
Application for tax deferral or tax abatement. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

In October of 2018, the Commission received written 
comments from the Salt Lake and Davis County Assessors 
related to Section R884-24P-33.  These comments 
requested that the 50% adjustment for certain pollution 
control equipment be repealed.  Upon consideration of 
these comments the Commission was reluctant to make 
this change without input from the Legislature, industry, 
and other interested parties.  The Commission felt that a 
legislative interim committee would provide an enhanced 
forum for competing interest to be heard and examined by 
state policy makers. 
 
In a letter dated November 28, 2018, the Commission 
outlined this issue to the Revenue and Taxation Interim 
Committee and the Administrative Rules Review 
Committee (ARRC)and requested the Legislature 
consider this change.  Commissioner Rockwell 
subsequently testified before the ARRC of the Legislature 
on January 9, 2019.  While the ARRC initially favored the 
repeal of the 50% adjustment and proposed amending the 
annual rule reauthorization bill to exclude this provision, 
the change ultimately did not pass during the 2019 
General Session and the rule was reauthorized in its 
current form. 
 
In light of this, the Commission determined that it would be 
inappropriate to make any change to the 50% reduction 
without further legislative input.  The Counties 
subsequently filed a petition for a rule change on February 
20, 2020, which the Commission denied on April 21, 2020, 
for the forgoing reason.  It is the Commission's 
understanding that the Legislature may reconsider this 
issue during the 2022 General Session.  Additionally, the 
Commission is currently in discussions with interested 
parties related to changes to Section R884-24P-62.  
However, no changes to this section have been adopted 
at this time. 
 
The Commission is not aware of any other written 
comments received regarding this rule since the last five-
year review. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Section R884-24P-5 defines "household income" with 
regard to property tax abatements or deferrals for indigent 
persons; states that absence from residence due to 
vacation, confinement to hospital or other temporary 
situations shall not be deducted from the ten-month 
residency requirement of Section 59-2-1109. 
 
Section R884-24P-7 defines terms; provides a 
methodology for assessment of mining properties. 
 
Section R884-24P-10 defines terms and provides 
methodology necessary for taxation of underground rights 

in land that contains deposits of oil or gas; also provides 
for withholding of these taxes. 
 
Section R884-24P-14 requires assessor to consider 
preservation easements when valuing historically 
significant real property and structures; also requires 
property owner to inform assessor of the preservation 
easement. 
 
Section R884-24P-16 defines terms and provides a 
methodology for valuing Interlocal Cooperation Act project 
entity properties; and refers to Section 11-13-25 which is 
renumbered. 
 
Section R884-24P-19 sets forth the ad valorem training 
and designation program. 
 
Section R884-24P-20 defines terms concerning the 
appraisal of property under construction and provides 
methodology for valuing that property. 
 
Section R884-24P-24 sets forth form county auditor must 
use to notify real property owners of property valuation and 
tax changes; and provides guidelines to be used in 
determining new growth, the certified tax rate, and 
increase in property tax revenues. 
 
Section R884-24P-27 defines terms related to the 
standards of assessment performance; sets forth 
standards of assessment performance regarding 
assessment level and uniformity; states when corrective 
action is necessary; and provides an alternate 
performance evaluation. 
 
Section R884-24P-28 sets forth a procedure for reporting 
heavy equipment leased or rented during the tax year. 
 
Section R884-24P-29 states situations when household 
furnishings, furniture and equipment are subject to 
property tax. 
 
Section R884-24P-32 clarifies that leasehold 
improvements shall be included in the value of the 
underlying real property and assessed to the owner of the 
underlying real property unless the underlying real 
property is owned by an exempt entity. 
 
Section R884-24P-33 defines terms; provides percent 
good schedules for all personal property to be used to 
arrive at the property's taxable value. 
 
Section R884-24P-35 requires the owner of property 
receiving a property tax exemption based on exclusive use 
for religious, charitable, or educational purposes to file an 
annual affidavit. 
 
Section R884-24P-36 sets forth items that must appear on 
the real property tax notice, in addition to items required in 
Section 59-2-1317. 
 
Section R884-24P-37 requires the county assessor to 
maintain an appraisal record of all real property subject to 
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assessment by the county; indicates what information 
shall be included in the record; and requires the value of 
the land and improvements be shown separately. 
 
Section R884-24P-38 provides definitions and a 
methodology for assessing nonoperating railroad 
properties. 
 
Section R884-24P-40 clarifies when parsonages, 
rectories, monasteries, homes and residences are used 
exclusively for religious purposes; and states that vacant 
land not actively used by the religious organization is not 
exempt from property tax. 
 
Section R884-24P-42 provides procedures an assessor 
must follow upon Commission completion of audits of 
personal property and land subject to the Farmland 
Assessment Act. 
 
Section R884-24P-44 indicates who is the owner for 
purposes of the property tax exemption for the owner of 
equipment and machinery used for agricultural purposes; 
clarifies when machinery and equipment are not used for 
farming purposes. 
 
Section R884-24P-49 defines terms and provides a 
methodology for valuating a private rail car company 
apportioned to Utah. 
 
Section R884-24P-50 defines terms and provides a 
methodology for apportioning the Utah portion of 
commercial aircraft. 
 
Section R884-24P-52 defines terms and establishes 
criteria necessary for the determination of whether a 
residence is a primary residence in Utah. 
 
Section R884-24P-53 provides valuation tables for the 
valuation of land subject to the Farmland Assessment Act. 
 
Section R884-24P-55 requires each county to establish a 
written ordinance for real property sale procedures and 
indicates what issues the ordinance must address.  This 
section requires that the ordinance be displayed in a public 
place and be available to all interested parties. 
 
Section R884-24P-56 provides a formula to calculate the 
previous year's statewide rate; apportions vehicles 
assessed under Section 41-1a-301 at the same 
percentage filed with the Customer Service Division of the 
Tax Commission; and defines "principal route." 
 
Section R884-24P-57 defines terms related to a judgment 
levy; provides guidelines on a judgment levy public 
hearing and advertisement; and requires taxing entities to 
file with the Tax Commission a statement certifying that 
they meet the qualifications for imposing a judgment levy. 
 
Section R884-24P-58 indicates how the one-time 
decrease in the certified rate based on the county option 
sales tax shall be determined. 
 

Section R884-24P-59 indicates how the one-time 
decrease in the certified rate based on resort community 
sales tax shall be determined. 
 
Section R884-24P-60 excludes motorcycles from the 
definition of "motor vehicle;" provides additional guidelines 
on the calculation of the age-based uniform fee on tangible 
personal property. 
 
Section R884-24P-61 defines "recreational vehicle" and 
excludes motorcycles from the definition of "motor 
vehicle;" clarifies what types of personal property the 
uniform fee applies to; and provides a formula to determine 
the fair market value of tangible personal property. 
 
Section R884-24P-62 defines terms related to state-
assessed utility and transportation properties; and 
provides a methodology for valuation of state-assessed 
utility and transportation properties. 
 
Section R884-24P-63 requires a written customer service 
performance plan to be developed by the party contracting 
to collect both state registration fees and county property 
taxes on vehicles; and requires county offices and the 
Commission to provide training. 
 
Section R884-24P-64 provides a formula for determining 
the taxable value of vehicles owned by disabled veterans 
and the blind for purposes of the property tax exemptions 
for the disabled veterans and the blind. 
 
Section R884-24P-65 defines "transitory personal 
property" and clarifies when this type of property is subject 
to a proportional assessment of property tax. 
 
Section R884-24P-66 defines "factual error;" indicates 
when a board of equalization must accept a property tax 
appeal that is filed beyond the period allowed under the 
statute of limitations; and sets forth criteria for county 
board of equalization hearing procedures. 
 
Section R884-24P-67 provides an annual reporting 
mechanism to assist county assessors in gathering data 
necessary for accurate valuation of low-income housing 
projects. 
 
Section R884-24P-68 provides guidance in determining 
whether a taxpayer qualifies for the property tax exemption 
for tangible personal property with a total aggregate fair 
market value of $3,500 or less. 
 
Section R884-24P-70 provides that county mass appraisal 
systems shall use accepted valuation methodologies to 
perform the annual update of all residential parcels and 
defines "accepted valuation methodologies;" and indicates 
what a detailed review of property characteristics includes. 
 
Section R884-24P-71 indicates how the Commission will 
ensure that an equal property tax payment agreement 
does not impact the certified tax rate; indicates the period 
for which an agreement is effective. 
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Section R884-24P-72 allows a member of the State 
Farmland Evaluation Advisory Committee to participate 
electronically in a meeting of that committee. 
 
Section R884-24P-74 outlines changes to the jurisdiction 
of mining claims. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/09/2021 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R909-4 Filing ID: 52110 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Transportation 

Agency: Motor Carriers 

Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 

Building: Calvin Rampton 

Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Linda Hull 801-
965-
4253 

lhull@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R909-4.  Motor Carrier, Enforcement, Penalties 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 72-9-301 grants the Department of Transportation 
(Department) authority to enforce motor carrier safety and 
size and weight law.  Section 72-9-103 grants the 
Department authority to make rules for enforcement of 
Title 72, Chapter 9; and Title 72, Chapter 9, Part 7, grants 
the Department authority to impose penalties.  Section 72-
9-303 grants the Department authority to issue cease and 
desist orders. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Department has not received any written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule authorizes the Department to enforce state and 
federal motor carrier safety laws and impose civil penalties 
to improve roadway safety and protect the public 
infrastructure by encouraging compliance with motor 
carrier regulations.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/10/2021 

 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section 
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NOTICES OF 

FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 
 

Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 

EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R384-205 Filing ID: 50911 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Health 

Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 
Health Promotion 

Building: Cannon Health Building 

Street address: 288 N 1460 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Teresa Brechlin 385-
214-
5933 

tbrechlin@utah.gov 

Anna Fondario 385-
258-
8537 

afondario@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 

2.  Rule catchline: 

R384-205.  Opiate Overdose Outreach Pilot Program 
 

3.  Reason for requesting the extension and the new 
deadline date: 

The agency intends to repeal this rule.  The program was 
funded for one year.  It no longer receives funds and is no 
longer active.  An extension is being filed to keep this rule 
in place while the process is followed to repeal this rule.  
The new deadline is 03/07/2022. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 

Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, 
Interim Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/04/2021 

 

 

 
End of Notices of the Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 

FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 
 

Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 

 
 

NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 

Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-513 ID No. 50477 

 
Agency Information 

1.  Department: Education 

Agency: Administration 

Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Email: 

Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 

2.  Title of rule (catchline): 

R277-513.  Teacher Leader 
 

3.  Effective 
Date: 

11/08/2021 

4.  Summary: 

The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 

 

 

 
End of Notices of the Five-Year Review Expirations Section 
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NOTICES OF 

RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
 

State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 

RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  53641  (Amendment)  R68-25:  Industrial Hemp 
Research Pilot Program for Processors 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  10/29/2021 
 
No.  53641  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R68-25:  Industrial 
Hemp Research Pilot Program for Processors 
Published:  09/01/2021 
Effective:  10/29/2021 
 
 
Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No.  53992  (New Rule)  R156-4a:  Utah Professionals Health 
Program Rule 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/23/2021 
 
No.  53945  (Amendment)  R156-70a:  Physician Assistant 
Practice Act Rule 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
No.  53994  (Amendment)  R156-71:  Naturopathic Physician 
Practice Act Rule 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/23/2021 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  53970  (Amendment)  R277-113:  LEA Fiscal and 
Auditing Policies 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 

No.  53971  (Amendment)  R277-116:  Audit Procedure 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53972  (New Rule)  R277-123:  Process for Members of 
the Public to Report Violations of Statute and Board Rule 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53973  (New Rule)  R277-312:  Online Educator 
Licensure 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53974  (New Rule)  R277-315:  Educator Professional 
Learning Procedures and USBE Credit 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53975  (New Rule)  R277-321:  Paraeducator to Teacher 
Scholarship Program 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53976  (Amendment)  R277-324:  
Paraprofessional/Paraeducator Programs, Assignments, and 
Qualifications 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53977  (Repeal)  R277-512:  Online Licensure 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53978  (Repeal)  R277-519:  Educator Professional 
Learning Procedures and USBE Credit 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
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No.  53979  (Repeal)  R277-526:  Paraeducator to Teacher 
Scholarship Program 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53980  (New Rule)  R277-556:  Charter School Closure 
Reserve Account 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53981  (Amendment)  R277-712:  Competency-based 
Grant Programs 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53982  (Amendment)  R277-720:  Reimbursement 
Program for Early Graduation from Competency-Based 
Education 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53983  (Repeal)  R277-753:  LEA Reporting 
Requirements for Section 504 Students 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53984  (Amendment)  R277-914:  Career and Technical 
Student Organizations 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
 
Government Operations 
Fleet Operations 
No.  53956  (Amendment)  R27-1:  Definitions 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/25/2021 
 
No.  53957  (Amendment)  R27-2:  Fleet Operations 
Adjudicative Proceedings 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/25/2021 
 
No.  53958  (Amendment)  R27-3:  Vehicle Use Standards 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/25/2021 
 
 
Governor 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  53996  (Amendment)  R357-13:  Hotel Convention 
Center Incentive 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  53997  (Amendment)  R357-15:  Enterprise Zone Tax 
Credit 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 

No.  53991  (Repeal)  R357-17:  Air Quality Incentive 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
 
Health 
Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental Services 
No.  53643  (New Rule)  R392-106:  Microenterprise Home 
Kitchen Sanitation 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  11/16/2021 
 
No.  53643  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R392-106:  
Microenterprise Home Kitchen Sanitation 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/16/2021 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  53952  (Amendment)  R414-1:  Services Available 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
No.  53953  (Amendment)  R414-10:  Physician Services 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
No.  53836  (Repeal and Reenact)  R414-29:  Client 
Review/Education and Restriction Policy 
Published:  09/15/2021 
Effective:  11/01/2021 
 
No.  53954  (Amendment)  R414-200:  Services Available 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
 
Human Services 
Child and Family Services 
No.  53908  (Amendment)  R512-11:  Accommodation of 
Moral and Religious Beliefs and Culture 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53906  (Amendment)  R512-32:  Children with 
Reportable Communicable Diseases 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53907  (Repeal)  R512-42:  Adoption by Relatives 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health, State Hospital 
No.  53932  (Repeal)  R525-2:  Patient Rights 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
No.  53933  (Repeal)  R525-3:  Medication Treatment of 
Patients 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
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No.  53934  (Repeal)  R525-4:  Visitors 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
No.  53883  (Repeal)  R525-5:  Background Checks 
Published:  09/15/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
No.  53935  (Amendment)  R525-6:  Prohibited Items and 
Devices 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
No.  53884  (Repeal)  R525-7:  
Complaints/Suggestions/Concerns 
Published:  09/15/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
Recovery Services 
No.  53904  (Amendment)  R527-34:  Non-IV-A Services 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
No.  53905  (Amendment)  R527-303:  Automatic Payment 
Withdrawl 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/09/2021 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  53927  (Amendment)  R590-85:  Accident and Health 
Insurance and Medicare Supplement Rates 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53928  (Amendment)  R590-98:  Unfair Practice in 
Payment of Life Insurance and Annuity Policy Values 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53911  (Amendment)  R590-108:  Interest Rate During 
Grace Period or Upon Reinstatement of Policy 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53929  (Amendment)  R590-114:  Letters of Credit 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53910  (Amendment)  R590-117:  Valuation of Liabilities 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 
 
No.  53909  (Amendment)  R590-121:  Rate Modification Plan 
Rule 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/08/2021 

 
No.  53986  (Amendment)  R590-122:  Permissible Arbitration 
Provisions 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  53988  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-128:  Unfair 
Discrimination Based on the Failure to Maintain Automobile 
Insurance. (Revised.) 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  53987  (Amendment)  R590-144:  Commercial Aviation 
Insurance Exemption From Rate and Form Filing 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
 
Public Safety 
Driver License 
No.  53990  (Amendment)  R708-45:  Renewal or Duplicate 
License for Utah Residents Temporarily Residing Out of State 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
 
Tax Commission 
Auditing 
No.  53925  (Amendment)  R865-7H-1:  Environmental 
Assurance Fee for Retailers or Consumers Not Participating 
in the Environmental Assurance Program Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 19-6-410.5 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
No.  53924  (Amendment)  R865-20T-15:  Calculation of Tax 
on Alternative Nicotine Products Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 59-14-804 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
Motor Vehicle 
No.  53923  (Amendment)  R873-22M-2:  Documentation 
Required and Procedures to Follow to Register or Title 
Certain Vehicles Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 41-1a-
104 and 41-1a-108 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
Property Tax 
No.  53920  (Amendment)  R884-24P-33:  2021 Personal 
Property Valuation Guides and Schedules 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 

 

 
End of Rule Effective Dates 
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