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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between November 16, 2021, 12:00 a.m., and 
December 01, 2021, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the December 15, 2021, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least January 14, 2022.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through April 14, 2022, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R51-5 Filing ID 
54137 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116  

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Jim Bowcutt 801-
536-
4336 

jdbowcutt@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R51-5.  Rural Rehabilitation Loans 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to make this rule consistent with 
changes to the Agricultural Advisory Board that were made 
in H.B. 163, Agricultural Advisory Board Amendments, 
passed during the 2021 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule has been updated to change "Executive Loan 
Committee" to "Executive Committee" both in the definition 
Section R51-5-2, as well as throughout thia rule.  Per the 
requirements of H.B. 163 (2021), the newly created 
Executive Committee will assume the responsibilities 
previously held by the Executive Loan Committee.  
Additional changes have been made to this rule to make 
the text more consistent with the requirements of the Utah 
Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There should be no impact to the state budget.  The Rural 
Rehabilitation Loan program will continue to operate under 
their existing budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There should be no impact on local governments because 
they do not administer or participate in the rural 
rehabilitation loan program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no impact on small businesses because 
the requirements of the program or availability of funds will 
not change.  This rule change just impacts which 
committee under the Agricultural Advisory Board will be 
responsible for approval of loans. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no impact on non-small businesses 
because the requirements of the program or availability of 
funds will not change.  This rule change just impacts which 
committee under the Agricultural Advisory Board will be 
responsible for approval of loans. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should be no impact on other persons because the 
requirements of the program or availability of funds will not 
change. This rule change just impacts which committee 
under the Agricultural Advisory Board will be responsible 
for approval of loans. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not change 
because any fees charged by the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food associated with the program will 
remain in place. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses in Utah.  Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
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6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
the regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-19-101   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/30/2021 

 
R51.  Agriculture and Food, Administration. 
R51-5.  Rural Rehabilitation Loans. 
R51-5-1.  Authority. 
 Pursuant to Section 4-19-101 and Subsection 4-2-103(1)(i), 
this rule establishes the general operating practices by which the 
Rural Rehabilitation Loan program shall function. 
 
R51-5-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  [AGRICULTURAL ADVISORY BOARD: 
]"Agricultural Advisory Board" means [A]a twenty-one-member 
board appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture to advise the 
Commissioner regarding[:] the planning, implementation, and 
administration of the Department of Agriculture and Food's programs 
as authorized by Section 4-2-108. 
 (2)  [BOARD: ]"Board" means [T]the Agricultural 
Advisory Board. 
 (3)  [BORROWER/APPLICANT: ]"Borrower" or 
"Applicant" means [A]a person applying to or borrowing Rural 
Rehabilitation federal or state funds. 
 (4)  [COMMISSIONER: ]"Commissioner" means [T]the 
Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, who 
is responsible for the conduct and administration of the Rural 
Rehabilitation Loan Program within the [S]state in accordance with 
the Use Agreement entered into in January 1975. 
 (5)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 ([5]6)  "Executive Committee' means a committee 
consisting of members of the Board that is organized under 
Subsection 4-2-108(9) and is tasked with approval of Rural 
Rehabilitation Loans.  Pursuant to Subsection 4-19-104(5), the 
Executive Committee may create a Subcommittee from Board 
membership to approve a loan or renewal.[EXECUTIVE LOAN 
COMMITTEE: A committee consisting of the Board's chair, vice 
chair, and two other members selected for the Board who approve 
loans. The Executive Loan Committee shall be nominated at the 
beginning of each calendar year and shall serve a one-year term.] 
 
R51-5-3.  Rural Rehabilitation Loan Program 
Operation[Objectives]. 
 (1)  The program is available to any entity allowed under 
the January 1975 [U]use [A]agreement[,] between the department 
and the United States Farm Home Administration or state or federal 
law, including individual farmers and ranchers or agricultural 
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cooperatives, corporations, or other entities that directly or indirectly 
provide assistance to [such ]farmers or members of their families. 
 (2)  Borrowers[The Rural Rehabilitation Loan program] 
may use funds for any purpose allowed under the January 1975 
[U]use [A]agreement, including for one or more of the following 
[r]Rural [r]Rehabilitation purposes: 
 (a)  [L]loans[;], such as: 
 (i)  [R]real [E]estate [L]loans; 
 (ii)  [F]farm [O]operating [L]loans; 
 (iii)  [Y]youth [L]loans; 
 (iv)  [E]education [L]loans; or 
 (v)  loans for [I]irrigation and [W]water [C]conservation 
[P]projects; 
 (b)  [G]grants, such as[; 
 (i) ] [Y]youth and [E]education [G]grants; 
 (c)  [R]reserve [F]funds; and 
 (d)  [O]other [R]rural [R]rehabilitation [P]purposes. 
 (3)  Borrowers may use [L]loans [shall be ]for the purchase 
of land[s] within the borders of [the State of ]Utah, and any collateral 
or security for a loan must be located within [the State of ]Utah. 
 (4)  [Such]The department may use a portion of [the cost 
of administration and protection of assets as necessary]program 
funds [may be also used by the state ]for: 
 (a)  [C]costs of [A]administration; 
 (b)  [P]protection of the [A]assets; and 
 (c)  [T]temporary investments, annual reports, 
implementing agreements, and other allowed uses under Title 4, 
Chapter 19, Rural Rehabilitation. 
 (5)  The [D]department may not make a loan authorized 
under [this chapter]Title 4, Chapter 19, Rural Rehabilitation, for a 
period to exceed 10-years[ but the loan is renewable].  Loans are 
renewable.  [Total borrowings by any one entity shall be limited to 
no more than $350,000 with each application.]A limitation on total 
borrowings by any one entity shall be set in policy approved by the 
Executive Committee. 
 (6)  [For the purposes of protecting]To protect its interest 
in a defaulting loan, the Board may use either appropriated or 
repayment monies to purchase or otherwise obtain property in which 
the Board has acquired a security interest by any mortgage, trust 
deed, pledge, assignment, judgment, or other means at any execution, 
bankruptcy, or foreclosure sale. 
 (7)  The Board may [also ]operate or lease, if necessary to 
protect [is]an investment, any property in which it has an interest, or 
sell or otherwise dispose of such property to recover loaned funds. 
 (8)  The department, through the Executive Committee or 
Board and in conjunction with the Commissioner, may adopt 
additional policies and procedures as necessary to carry out the 
purposes of the Rural Rehabilitation Loan program.  These policies 
and procedures may be in addition to those outlined in this rule. 
 
R51-5-4.  Loan Application. 
 (1)  The department shall accept and process [L]loan 
requests [shall be accepted and processed ]from eligible 
[A]applicants regardless of race, age, sex, creed, color, religion, 
national origin, or on any other basis prohibited by law. 
 (2)  An applicant shall request a loan in writing[A request 
for a loan must be in writing as required] on the forms provided by 
the [D]department. 
 (3)  The Executive [Loan ]Committee [and Board ]requires 
a minimum of 90 days to process, approve, and close a loan. 
 (4)  An applicant may request a loan[A request for a loan 
may be filed] at any time during the program year. 

 (5)  Approval of a loan shall be subject to availability of 
funds. [The]Department loan staff shall impartially consider each 
loan application on the basis of program objectives and priorities set 
in place and approved by the Executive [Loan ]Committee and 
Board. 
 (6)  [Use of loan money in conjunction with federal funds 
is encouraged.  ]Applicants [should]are encouraged to apply for 
available federal funds, such as from the [(]United States Department 
of Agriculture Farm Service Agency[)], or other cost-share 
assistance. 
[ (7)  The Department, through the Executive Loan 
Committee and/or Board and in conjunction with the Commissioner, 
may adopt additional policies and procedures as necessary to carry 
out the purposes of the Rural Rehabilitation Loan program.  These 
policies and procedures may be in addition to those outlined in this 
Rule.] 
 
R51-5-5.  Application Procedure. 
 (1)  Any person or group of persons [desiring]who desires 
to participate in the Rural Rehabilitation Loan program [must]shall 
apply [through]to the [Utah Department of Agriculture and 
Food]department through the staff of the [A]agriculture [L]loan 
department. 
 (2)  Any person who contacts the department to express 
interest in the program shall be given an applicant information page 
that lists the information required  in the application. 
 (3)  The applicant shall include the required information in 
a one page application letter, including any necessary  personal 
information. 
[ (2)  The one-page application letter must contain all 
information needed as instructed on the Application Information page 
that shall be sent to the prospective Applicant upon inquiry to the loan 
program. To be considered, the application must contain all 
appropriate information as instructed, be fully completed, and must 
provide all requested personal information.] 
 ([3]4)  The applicant shall send the completed 
application[The completed application shall be sent] directly to the 
[A]agriculture [L]loan department either by email or regular mail. 
 (5)  [Upon receipt,]If necessary, loan staff shall contact the 
[A]applicant and provide further information [to the Applicant ]about 
the policies and procedures [to]that shall be followed in order for the 
loan application to be approved [obtain approval ]by the Board.  This 
conversation and[/or] any other actions by the loan staff does not 
guarantee loan approval. 
 
R51-5-6.  Loan Review. 
 (1)  Loan staff shall review and discuss [T]the application 
and required documentation [shall be reviewed by loan staff and 
discussed ]with the [A]applicant[(s)] or the[ir] applicants 
representative.  Loan staff shall [proceed with]shall conduct a policy 
compliance review, credit analysis, and underwriting [prior to]before 
presenting a written loan proposal to the Executive [Loan 
]Committee for approval. 
 (2)  The Executive Committee shall make [D]decisions 
concerning the use of loan program funds[ shall be the decision of 
the Agricultural Advisory Board by], and shall consider the 
recommendation of the Commissioner and the [D]department loan 
staff. 
 (3)  The Board shall ensure, to the best of its ability, that 
available [r]Rural [r]Rehabilitation [l]Loan funds [can be 
borrowed]are made available in accordance with this rule and state 
and federal laws.  If there are insufficient funds to fund [all]each loan 
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application[s], funds shall be distributed based on the date the 
complete application is received, in sequential order. 
 (4)  [All]The Executive Committee shall approve loans by 
majority vote[shall be approved by a majority of the Executive Loan 
Committee and ratified by the Agricultural Advisory Board]. 
 (5)  [All]The Executive Committee shall report approved 
loans [credit approved on this basis shall be reported ]to the Board[ 
for ratification at the next scheduled Board meeting]. 
 
R51-5-7.  Loan Closing. 
 (1)  [Upon approval by the Executive Loan Committee and 
ratification by the Board, t]The Commissioner shall sign loans that 
have been approved by the Executive Committee and make the final 
obligation of funds by signing the Rural Rehabilitation Obligation to 
Purchase form. 
 (2)  Loan staff shall prepare loan documents and an 
instruction letter for the title company closing; including a signed 
[W]warrant [R]request to disburse funds. 
 (3)  The [B]borrower may proceed with the closing at the 
title company. 
 (4)  Neither the state, the [D]department, nor the Board 
have any obligation to disburse funds [prior to]before the completion 
of the procedures described in Rule R51-5[above described 
procedures]. 
 (5)  The [Applicant]borrower shall be required to cover any 
costs incurred for loan closing including escrow fees, title insurance, 
recording fees, and appraisal when necessary. 
 
R51-5-8.  Collections. 
 (1)  Collection Policy.  The department shall follow the 
following procedures [should be followed ]on delinquent loans: 
 (a)  30 Days Past Due:  If [payment has not been 
received]the department does not receive payment within 30 days 
after the due date, a delinquent notice reflecting the amount due 
including penalty shall be sent to the [B]borrower. 
 (b)  60 Days Past Due:  If [payment has not been 
received]the department does not receive payment within 60 days 
after the due date, a second delinquent notice shall be sent [out]to the 
borrower.  Loan staff shall also make p[P]ersonal contact [shall also 
be made by loan staff ]with the [B]borrower during this time period 
to try to collect the payment. 
 (c)  90 Days Past Due:  If [payment has not been 
received]the department does not receive payment within 90 days 
after the due date, a third delinquent notice shall be sent [out]to the 
borrower.  This notice may also advise the [B]borrower that payment 
[must]shall be made or other satisfactory arrangements made with 
loan staff within 30 days or the account shall be assigned to the 
Attorney General's Office for appropriate action.  [Attempts to make 
personal contact by loan staff shall be made]Loan staff shall attempt 
to make personal contact during this period [of time ]to try to collect 
the payment or make acceptable arrangements with the [B]borrower. 
 (d)  120 to 180 Days Past Due:  Loan staff shall work with 
the [B]borrower to make satisfactory arrangements for payment of 
past due amounts.  This may include: 
 (i)  modifying of the terms of the original contract to meet 
the [B]borrower's ability to perform on the obligation[, ]; 
 (ii)  taking additional or substitute collateral if the lender is 
deemed insecure[,]; or 
 (iii)  any other appropriate actions to provide service for the 
[B]borrower and protect against loss[ should be done]. 

 (e)  If it appears that the [B]borrower shall be unable to pay 
the loan, refuses to communicate or cooperate with the 
[D]department or loan staff, or fails to cure the delinquency, the 
account shall be assigned to the Attorney General's [o]Office for 
collection and foreclosure proceedings. 
 (f)  These actions are at the discretion of the loan staff in 
consultation with the Commissioner or [his/her]the Commissioner's 
designee and the Attorney General's Office. 
 (2)  Notwithstanding the [above time guidelines] 
procedures set in Subsection R51-5-8(1), at any time, the loan staff, 
with approval from the Commissioner [his/her] or the 
Commissioner's designee, may consult with the Attorney General's 
Office on behalf of the [D]department to protect the state's interest in 
any pledged security or collateral on a loan or to protect its interest 
in any property, real or otherwise. 
 (3)  Notwithstanding the [above time guidelines] 
procedures set in Subsection R51-5-8(1), the state or the 
[D]department may, at any time, pursue any legal or equitable 
remedy allowed under state or federal law to protect its interest in any 
pledged security or collateral on a loan or to protect its interest in any 
property, real or otherwise. 
 
KEY:  Rural Rehabilitation Loans, loans 
Date of Last Change:  [May 2, 2018]2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-19-103; 4-
2-103(i); 4-19-102 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R64-1 Filing ID 
54136 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Conservation Commission 
Street address: 350 N Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 801-

982-
2204 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Jim Bowcutt 801-
536-
4336 

jdbowcutt@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R64-1.  Agriculture Resource Development Loans (ARDL) 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Additional language is needed in this rule to address the 
Emergency Disaster Relief loan program that has been 
created under the Agriculture Resource Development 
Loan (ARDL) program and is being used to provide loans 
to agriculture producers to address losses related to 
drought and other natural disasters.  This rule change will 
make permanent changes that were filed as emergency 
changes in September 2021. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The 120-day (emergency) rule was 
effective on 09/13/2021 and is under ID No. 53936 in the 
October 1, 2021, Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
A new Subsection R64-1-3(8) has been added to Section 
R64-1-3 allowing for the issuance of disaster related loans 
under the ARDL program that would not be subject to the 
same requirements as typical ARDL loans.  This is 
authorized under Subsection 4-18-106(3)(g) that allows 
the Utah Conservation Commission to make loans or 
grants out of the ARDL fund for a "project or program to 
improve water quality or address other issues."  Additional 
changes to this rule are also made to make the text more 
consistent with the requirements of the Utah 
Administrative Rulewriting Manual and current 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department) 
practices. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Department has been granted funding of $5,000,000 
from the state's Industrial Assistance Account to provide 
loans under this program with an application period that 
lasts through 04/30/2022.  $250,000 of that initial amount 
was set aside to cover administrative expenses.  To date, 
approximately $300,000 of the remaining funds have been 
disbursed.  Of the remaining approximately $4,450,000 
undisbursed funds, the Department estimates that 80% 
($3,560,000) will benefit other persons including 
individuals or partnerships and the remaining $890,000 
will benefit small businesses.  The funds may be expended 
through the current loan period and, per the application 
requirements, loan funds must be used by the end of 
Fiscal Year 2022, as is reflected in the regulatory impact 
table.  There is a chance that all funds will not be used, 
however, based on the needs of producers.  There is also 
a chance that the program will be extended based on 
drought or other emergency conditions.  Loans should be 

paid back within seven years under the program, however, 
that is not reflected in the three-year table. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There should be no cost or savings to local governments 
because they do not administer or participate in the 
emergency disaster relief loan program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Current program loan funds will benefit agricultural 
producers who have been impacted by drought conditions.  
The Department estimates that 20% of currently 
undisbursed funds or approximately $890,000 will benefit 
small businesses in the state. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Because of program requirements, the Department does 
not anticipate that non-small businesses will benefit from 
this program. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Department estimates that 80% of the funds under 
this program will be disbursed to other persons, including 
mainly individuals and partnerships.  This would be a total 
of approximately $3,560,000 of remaining funds under the 
current loan period. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs or loan application costs 
required to participate in this program. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change codifies an emergency disaster relief 
loan program that will have a positive fiscal impact on 
agricultural businesses by allowing them access to low 
interest loans if their business is impacted by drought or 
other emergency conditions.  Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$4,450,000 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$4,450,000 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$890,000 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$3,560,000 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$4,450,000 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-18-105 Section 4-18-106  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/17/2021 

 
R64.  Agriculture and Food, Conservation Commission. 
R64-1.  Agriculture Resource Development Loans (ARDL). 
R64-1-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Section 4-18-105, this rule establishes general 
operating practices by which the Agriculture Resource Development 
Loan (ARDL) program shall function. 
 
R64-1-2.  Definitions. 
 [(1)  "Commission" means the Utah Conservation 
Commission created by Section 4-18-4, which directs and 
implements the Agriculture Resource Development Loan program 
throughout the State of Utah, chaired by the Commissioner of the 
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (2)  "ZEC" means a zone executive committee representing 
several conservation districts in a geographic area consisting of one 
member from each of the conservation districts in that zone to 
coordinate ARDL activities. 
 (3)  "CD Board" means a conservation district board 
consisting of five elected supervisors within each conservation 
district created by Section 4-18-105, to coordinate ARDL activities 
at the district level. 
 (4)  "ARDL Program Coordinator or Loan Administrator" 
means the staff administrator of the ARDL program employed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (5)  "Technical Assistance" or "Technical Assistance 
Agency" means such individuals or group of individuals, including 
administrative services, who may be requested by an applicant client 
to provide specialized input for proposed projects. 
 (6)  "Executive Committee" means a committee, made up 
of the commission chair and at least two other members selected from 
and approved by the commission, who approve applications for 
presentation to the commission. 
 (7)  "Application" means a project proposal which is 
prepared by an individual seeking ARDL funds through the process 
established by the commission and in accordance with Section 4-18-
105. 
 (8)  "Resource Improvement and Management Plan" means 
a plan providing a schedule of operations, implementation and cost 
estimates, and other pertinent information prepared by a technical 
assistant, or technical assistance agency, which has been approved by 
the commission.](1)  "Application" means a project proposal which 
is prepared by an individual seeking ARDL funds through the process 
established by the commission and in accordance with Section 4-18-
105. 
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 (2)  "ARDL Program Coordinator or Loan Administrator" 
means the staff administrator of the ARDL program employed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (3)  "CD Board" means a conservation district board 
consisting of five appointed supervisors within each conservation 
district created by Section 4-18-105, to coordinate ARDL activities 
at the district level. 
 (4)  "Commission" or "UCC" means the Utah Conservation 
Commission created by Section 4-18-104, that directs and 
implements the ARDL program throughout Utah, chaired by the 
Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (5)  "Resource Improvement and Management Plan" means 
a plan providing a schedule of operations, implementation and cost 
estimates, and other pertinent information prepared by a technical 
assistant, or technical assistance agency, that has been approved by a 
conservation district. 
 (6)  "Technical Assistance" or "Technical Assistance 
Agency" means individuals or group of individuals, including 
administrative services individuals, who may be requested by an 
applicant client to provide specialized input for proposed projects. 
 (7)  "UCC Subcommittee" means a committee, made up of 
the commission chair and at least two other members selected from 
and approved by the commission, who approve loans for ratification 
by the commission. 
 
R64-1-3.  Administration of Agriculture Resource Development 
Fund. 
 [(1)  The objectives of the ARDL program are to conserve 
agricultural resources of the state, increase agriculture yields and 
efficiency for croplands, orchards, pastures, range and livestock, 
maintain and improve water quality, conserve and improve wildlife 
habitat, prevent flooding, conserve or develop on-farm energy 
resources, mitigate damages to agriculture as a result of flooding, 
drought, or other natural disasters, and provide and maintain 
protection of a crop or animal resource.  The commission shall 
annually allocate funds appropriated for projects that further these 
objectives.](1)  The commission shall annually allocate funds 
appropriated for projects that further the objectives of the ARDL 
program, including: 
 (a)  conserve agricultural resources of the state; 
 (b)  increase agriculture yields and efficiency for croplands, 
orchards, pastures, range, and livestock; 
 (c)  maintain and improve water quality; 
 (d)  conserve and improve wildlife habitat; 
 (e)  prevent flooding, drought, or other natural disasters; 
and 
 (f)  provide and maintain protection of a crop or animal 
resource. 
[ (2)  Applicant clients shall submit finalized project 
proposals to the loan administrator through the conservation districts 
for review.  Applications shall be reviewed for funding by  the 
executive committee if they exceed loan limits established by policy.  
Applicant clients shall comply with district, zone and commission 
application procedures, which are available at the district level.  
Applicant clients shall be investigated for credit and security as may 
be required by the commission including repayment capability, past 
and current financial holdings, fiscal obligations, and debt history.  
When requests are expected to exceed available funds, projects shall 
be rated and prioritized according to levels of quality of 
improvement(s) sought.  Rating and approval information from ZEC 
committees and CD boards shall be duly considered.] 

 (2)  An applicant shall: 
 (a)  submit finalized project proposals to the loan 
administrator through the conservation districts for review; 
 (b)  comply with district, zone, and commission application 
procedures that are available at the district level; and 
 (c)  be subject to credit analysis and collateral valuation as  
required by the commission, including repayment capability, past and 
current financial holdings, fiscal obligations, and debt history. 
 (3)  The UCC subcommittee shall: 
 (a)  review applications for funding if the application 
exceeds loan limits established by commission policy; 
 (b)  rate and prioritized applications, when requests may 
exceed available funds, according to: 
 (i)  the quality of improvement, projects; and 
 (ii)  the improvements sought by the commission; and 
 (c)  consider rating and approval information from CD 
boards. 
 ([3]4)  The commission will award [L]loan contracts [will 
be awarded ]upon receipt of executed documents, generally 
consisting of promissory notes and other documents that are agreed 
to and signed by the borrower to perfect liens on required security. 
 ([4]5)  The commission may charge an applicant a loan or 
technical assistance fee [When]if proposed projects include technical 
issues that are sufficiently complex[, loan and technical assistance 
fees may be charged to clients].  The commission may require 
projects be supervised by designated personnel.[Some projects may 
require supervision by commission designated personnel.] 
 ([5]6)  Contracts with applicants [clients ]shall be based on 
repayment ability or defined collateral.  Contracts shall include 
schedules for loan repayment according to the agreed upon interest 
rates and related fiscal conditions.  The loan administrator may 
acquire appraisals and estimates of collateral values[,] and is 
authorized to obtain security or collateral [in order to meet the 
provisions of]to satisfy the contract until agreed upon amounts have 
been collected. 
 ([6]7)  Loan funded [P]projects [for which funds are loaned 
]shall be inspected and certified by commission designated personnel 
for compliance with contractual provisions. 
  ([7]8)  Under direction of the commission, the loan 
administrator shall: 
 (a)  manage the program[;]; 
 (b)  interpret guidelines[,]; 
 (c)  administer record-keeping operations[,]; 
 (d)  research financial collateral security information[,]; 
 (e)  process and service contracts associated with program 
functions[,]; 
 (f)  recommend loan approvals to the commission[,]; 
 (g)  analyze resource improvement and management 
plans[,]; and 
 (h)  administer loan servicing[/] and collection activities. 
 (9)  The commission may provide ARDL loan funds to 
agriculture producers to provide emergency disaster relief based on 
unusual or extraordinary circumstances such as flood, drought, or 
other natural disasters if: 
 (a)  an emergency or natural disaster that has been declared 
within the prior six months by an authorized federal, state, or county 
entity, including the Utah governor's office; 
 (b)  the parameters of the emergency loan program are set 
forth in policies and procedures adopted by the commission; 
 (c)  the loans are approved by the commission or a 
subcommittee of the commission; and 
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 (d)  the objectives of the loan program are consistent with 
those set forth in state law. 
 (9)  The commission may exempt emergency loans from 
the requirements of ARDL loans set forth in Section R64-1-3. 
 (10)  Emergency loan funds may not be used for projects 
that would normally be approved under the ARDL program. 
 
KEY:  loans 
Date of Last Change:  [October 8, 2014]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  July 23, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-18-105 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R123-6-3 Filing ID 
54112 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Auditor 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: E310 
Building: Utah State Capitol Complex, East 

Building 
Street address: 450 N State Streeet 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mandy Teerlink 801-

538-
1363 

mteerlink@utah.gov 

Seth Oveson 435-
572-
0440 

soveson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R123-6-3.  Disbursements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
H.B. 19 passed in the 2021 General Session altered 
population limits for county classes.  This legislative 
change would have negatively impacted several small 
counties that currently receive assistance via the multi-
county assessing and collecting program.  As such, 
modifying this rule was deemed necessary to reduce the 
potentially significant loss to funding assistance some 
counties might have experienced.  The intent of this 
program is to assist counties, particularly small counties 
who have above average assessing and collecting 
property tax rates, have sufficient funding to comply with 

property valuation requirements in Utah's Constitution and 
statute. 
 
During calendar year 2020, the following 13 counties 
received assistance: 
6th class: Daggett, Piute, Rich, and Wayne 
5th class: Emery, Garfield, Juab, Kane, and Morgan 
4th class: Carbon, Duchesne, Sanpete, and Sevier 
 
This assistance program only applies to certain counties. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Modified distribution formula to guarantee minimum 
funding to qualifying 6th counties, while also limiting 
possible funding reductions for qualifying 4th and 5th class 
counties who currently receive assistance via this program 
due to recent legislative changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No fiscal impact.  No state funds are used by this program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Only counties are involved in this program.  Most counties 
will see little to no impact.  16 counties have not received 
assistance from this program.  The 13 counties who 
received assistance during 2020, would generally see 
modest changes, with a particular focus on limiting 
financial loss (based on an analysis had this proposed rule 
been in place prior to the most recent disbursement).  The 
revenue generated from the multi-county assessing and 
collecting levy imposed by all counties is distributed to the 
limited numbers of small counties who qualify to receive 
assistance.  Revenues equal disbursements, resulting in 
an aggregate $0 net fiscal impact.  No other local 
governments are involved in this program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No fiscal impact.  This change has no impact on the 
associated statutorily-imposed tax levy. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No fiscal impact.  This change has no impact on the 
associated statutorily-imposed tax levy. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
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association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No fiscal impact.  This change has no impact on the 
associated statutorily-imposed tax levy. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No additional cost or savings.  This change alters how the 
Office of the State Auditor computes program assistance 
and can be handled within the office's current budget. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
No fiscal impact.  This change has no impact on the 
associated statutorily-imposed tax levy.  John Dougall, 
Auditor 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 (net) $0 (net) $0 (net) 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 (net) $0 (net) $0 (net) 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The state Auditor, John Dougall, has reviewed the fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 59-2-1603   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Seth Oveson, 
Local 
Government 
Manager 

Date: 11/30/2021 

 
R123.  Auditor, Administration. 
R123-6.  Allocation of Money in the Property Tax Valuation Agency 
Fund. 
R123-6-3.  Disbursements. 
 1.  Subject to [s]Subsection (2), the disbursement of monies 
held in the fund shall be determined based on the following: 
 a.  [Fourth, fifth, or s]Sixth class counties whose respective 
combined levy exceeds the mean of the combined levies of all counties 
shall receive an amount from the fund equal to [50%]80% of the amount 
calculated when multiplying the county's Proposed Tax Rate Value[ (], 
as calculated by Utah State Tax Commission[)], by the portion of their 
combined rate that exceeds the mean rate; and 
 b.  Fifth class counties whose respective combined levy 
exceeds the mean of the combined levies of all counties shall receive an 
amount from the fund equal to 50% of the amount calculated when 
multiplying the county's Proposed Tax Rate Value, as calculated by Utah 
State Tax Commission, by the portion of their combined rate that 
exceeds the mean rate; and 
 c.  Fourth class counties whose respective combined levy 
exceeds the mean of the combined levies of all counties shall receive an 
amount from the fund equal to 20% of the amount calculated when 
multiplying the county's Proposed Tax Rate Value, as calculated by Utah 
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State Tax Commission, by the portion of their combined rate that 
exceeds the mean rate but not to exceed 0.000100. 
 [b.]d.  a sixth class county shall not receive less than 
[$30,000]$20,750 annually from the fund. 
 2.  If available monies held in the fund are not sufficient to 
cover amounts calculated in [s]Subsection (1):[ the disbursement shall 
be reduced on a pro-rata basis.] 
 a.  Full distributions shall be made to sixth class counties; and 
 b.  Distributions to fourth and fifth class counties shall be 
reduced on a pro-rata basis based on monies available after the 
distributions in Subsection (2)(a). 
 c.  Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(b), fourth and fifth class 
counties who have received previous distributions shall receive 
distributions which minimize reductions compared to previous year 
distributions. 
 3.  If available monies held in the fund exceed amounts 
calculated in Subsection (1), distributions shall be increased on a pro-
rata basis. 
 [3.]4.  The Office shall authorize these disbursements on an 
annual basis. 
 
KEY:  counties, property tax 
Date of Last Change:  2022[April 8, 2015] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 28, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  59-2-1603 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-17b Filing ID 
54139 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber M Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jennifer 
Falkenrath 

801-
530-
7632 

jzaelit@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-17b.  Pharmacy Practice Act Rule 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This filing updates this rule to implement S.B. 177 and H. 
B 178 passed during the 2021 General Session, which 
amended the Pharmacy Practice Act provisions governing 
administration of injectables by pharmacists and permits a 
pharmacist to prescribe certain prescription drugs and 
devices.  This filing also amends this rule in accordance 
with Executive Order No. 2021-12 to update and clarify this 
rule to facilitate compliance and enforcement, in particular 
with respect to recommendations by the Board of 
Pharmacy and the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing (Division) regarding certain 
definitions and the scopes of practice for a pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern, and pharmacy technician, and to make 
changes consistent with the Utah Administrative 
Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments to Section R156-17b-102 add definitions 
for "consulting pharmacist," "designated representative," 
and "responsible individual," and clarify that compounding 
as defined in Section 58-17b-102(18) does not include 
adding flavoring agents to conventionally manufactured 
and commercially available liquid medication if the 
flavoring agents are therapeutically inert and do not 
exceed five percent of a preparation's total volume. 
 
The amendments to Sections R156-17b-601 and R156-
17b-612 will permit a pharmacy technician or pharmacy 
intern to transfer a legend prescription and permit 
dispensing of emergency prescriptions. 
 
The amendment to Section R156-17b-603 will require a 
consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC to complete 
a self-audit after certain changes, and prior to the end of a 
renewal cycle. 
 
The amendment to Section R156-17b-614a clarifies that 
the pharmacy department shall be equipped with a lock 
where drugs are stored. 
 
The amendments to Section R156-17b-621a deletes the 
continuing education requirement for pharmacists 
engaging in the administration of long-acting injectable 
drugs.   
 
The addition of Section R156-17b-627 defines operating 
standards for a pharmacist prescribing prescription drugs 
or devices.  The Department of Health may address drugs 
or devices for prescribing of public health concerns and 
make recommendations to guidance documents. 
 
In accordance with Executive Order No. 2021-12, the 
remaining amendments make formatting changes 
throughout to update and clarify this rule to facilitate 
compliance and enforcement and make changes 
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consistent with the Utah Administrative Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 
A rule hearing will be held electronically before the Division 
via Google Meet.  Join with Google Meet: 
meet.google.com/aoa-iezt-ufs; or join by phone: (US) +1 
513-818-0954 (PIN: 738852788) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None of these proposed changes are expected to impact 
state government revenues or expenditures because the 
changes merely update this rule to establish operating 
standards that encompass current statutory requirements 
and practices in the profession, and make nonsubstantive 
changes for clarity to facilitate compliance and 
enforcement in accordance with Executive Order No. 
2021-12, and will not affect existing state government 
procedures. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Division estimates that these proposed amendments 
will have no impact on local governments because the 
changes merely update this rule to establish operating 
standards that encompass current statutory requirements 
and practices in the profession, and make nonsubstantive 
changes for clarity to facilitate compliance and 
enforcement in accordance with Executive Order No. 
2021-12. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to impact small 
businesses' revenues or expenditures.  These 
amendments are based on extensive collaboration with 
the Board of Pharmacy to update this rule to establish 
operating standards that encompass current statutory 
requirements and practices in the profession, and make 
nonsubstantive changes for clarity to facilitate compliance 
and enforcement in accordance with Executive Order No. 
2021-12. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to impact non-small 
businesses' revenues or expenditures.  These 
amendments are based on extensive collaboration with 
the Board of Pharmacy to update this rule to establish 
operating standards that encompass current statutory 
requirements and practices in the profession, and make 
nonsubstantive changes for clarity to facilitate compliance 
and enforcement in accordance with Executive Order No. 
2021-12. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to impact any 
person.  These amendments are based on extensive 
collaboration with the Board of Pharmacy to update this 
rule to establish operating standards that encompass 
current statutory requirements and practices in the 
profession, and make nonsubstantive changes for clarity 
to facilitate compliance and enforcement in accordance 
with Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs expected for affected 
persons.  These amendments are based on extensive 
collaboration with the Board of Pharmacy to update this 
rule to establish operating standards that encompass 
current statutory requirements and practices in the 
profession, and make nonsubstantive changes for clarity 
to facilitate compliance and enforcement in accordance 
with Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The Division proposes amendments to the Pharmacy 
Practice Act Rule.  This filing updates the rule to implement 
S.B. 177 and H. B 178 (2021).  The Division has updated 
this rule to conform to Executive Order No. 2021-1 with the 
Board of Pharmacy's review and approval.  Further, in 
compliance with Executive Order No. 2021-12 issued by 
Governor Cox on 05/06/2021, this filing makes 
nonsubstantive formatting changes to comport to the Utah 
Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
These amendments are not expected to impact small 
businesses' revenues or expenditures.  These 
amendments are based on extensive collaboration with 
the Board of Pharmacy to update this rule in accordance 
with Executive Order No. 2021-12. Further, no fiscal 
impact is expected for small businesses beyond the fiscal 
notes for S.B. 177 and H.B. 178 (2021) as the costs are 
either inestimable or there is no fiscal impact. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or more 
employees): 
These amendments are based on extensive collaboration 
with the Board of Pharmacy to update this rule to establish 
operating standards and practices in the profession 
making nonsubstantive changes for clarity in accordance 
with Executive Order No. 2021-12.  There is no expected 
fiscal impact for non-small businesses in Utah for the same 
rationale as described above for small businesses. These 
costs are either inestimable, for the reasons stated above, 
or there is no fiscal impact. 
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Margaret W. Busse, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
58-17b-101 

Subsection 
58-17b-601(1) 

Section 58-37-1 

 

Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Utah Guidance for Pre-Exposure and 
Post-Exposure Prophylaxis of HIV 

Publisher Utah State Board of Pharmacy, 
Division of Occupational and  
Professional LIcensing 

Date Issued September 28, 2021 

 
B)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Second Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Uah Guidance for Self-Administered 
Hormonal Contraceptives 

Publisher Utah State Board of Pharmacy, 
Division of Occupational and  
Professional Licensing 

Date Issued September 28, 2021 

 
C)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Third Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Utah Guidance for Tobacco 
Cessation Products 

Publisher Utah State Board of Pharmacy, 
Division of Occupational and  
Professional Licensing 

Date Issued September 28, 2021 

 
D)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Fourth Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Utah Guidance for Naloxone 

Publisher Utah State Board of Pharmacy, 
Division of Occupational and  
Professional Licensing 

Date Issued September 28, 2021 
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
12/20/2021 9:00 AM Rule hearing will be 

conducted before 
the Division  
electronically only  
via Google Meet  
(see information in 
Box 4 above) 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Division Director 

Date: 11/18/2021 

 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-17b.  Pharmacy Practice Act Rule. 
R156-17b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions [regarding pharmacy practice 
]in Title 58, Chapter[s] 1, Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing Act, and Title 58, Chapter [and ]17b, Pharmacy Practice 
Act, the following rule definitions supplement the statutory 
definitions: 
 (1)  "Accredited by ASHP" means a program that: 
 (a)  was accredited by the ASHP on the day the applicant 
for licensure completed the program; or 
 (b)  was in ASHP candidate status on the day the applicant 
for licensure completed the program. 
 (2)  "ACPE" means the American Council on 
Pharmaceutical Education or Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 
Education. 
 (3)  "Analytical laboratory": 
 (a)  means a facility in possession of prescription drugs for 
[the purpose of ]analysis; and 
 (b)  does not include a laboratory possessing prescription 
drugs used as standards and controls in performing drug monitoring 
or drug screening analysis, if the prescription drugs are pre-diluted in 
a human or animal body fluid, human or animal body fluid 
components, organic solvents, or inorganic buffers at a concentration 
not exceeding one milligram per milliliter when labeled or otherwise 
designated as being for in-vitro diagnostic use. 

 (4)  "Area of need" as used in Subsection 58-17b-
612(1)(b)(i) means: 
 (a)  a remote-rural hospital, as defined in Section 26-21-
13.6; 
 (b)  a county of the fourth, fifth, or sixth class, as classified 
in Section 17-50-501; or 
 (c)  any area where a demonstration of need is approved by 
the Division in collaboration with the Board, based on any factors 
affecting the access of persons in that area to pharmacy resources. 
 (5)  "ASHP" means the American Society of Health System 
Pharmacists. 
 (6)  "Authorized distributor of record" means a 
pharmaceutical wholesaler with whom a manufacturer has 
established an ongoing relationship to distribute the manufacturer's 
prescription drugs.  An ongoing relationship is deemed to exist, as 
defined in Section 1504 of the Internal Revenue Code, if the 
pharmaceutical wholesaler: 
 (a)  has a written agreement currently in effect with the 
manufacturer evidencing the ongoing relationship; and 
 (b)  is listed on the manufacturer's current list of authorized 
distributors of record. 
 (7)  "Authorized personnel" means any person who is a part 
of the pharmacy staff who participates in the pharmacy's operational 
processes of the pharmacy and contributes to the natural flow of 
pharmaceutical care. 
 (8)  "Chain pharmacy warehouse" means a physical 
location for prescription drugs that acts as a central warehouse and 
performs intracompany sales or transfers of the prescription drugs to 
a group of chain pharmacies with the same common ownership and 
control. 
 (9)  "Clinic" as used in Subsection 58-17b-625(3)(b) means 
a [c]Class B pharmacy as defined in Subsection 58-17b-102(11), or 
a facility that provides out[-]patient health care services whose 
primary practice includes the therapeutic use of drugs related to a 
specific patient for[ the purpose of]: 
 (a)  curing or preventing the patient's disease; 
 (b)  eliminating or reducing the patient's disease; or 
 (c)  arresting or slowing a disease process. 
 (10)  "Co-licensed partner" means a person that has the 
right to engage in the manufacturing or marketing of a co-licensed 
product. 
 (11)  "Co-licensed product" means a device or prescription 
drug for which two or more persons have the right to engage in the 
manufacturing, marketing, or both consistent with 21 CFR 203 
(2021)[FDA's implementation of the Prescription Drug Marketing 
Act as applicable]. 
 (12)  "Community pharmacy" as used in Subsection 58-
17b-625(3)(b) means a [c]Class A pharmacy as defined in Subsection 
58-17b-102(10). 
 (13)  "Compounding," as defined in [Section]Subsection 
58-17b-102(18), in accordance with 21 U.S.C. 353a(e) Pharmacy 
Compounding, does not include: 
 (a)  mixing, reconstituting, or other such acts that are 
performed in accordance with directions [contained ]in approved 
labeling provided by the product's manufacturer and other 
manufacturer directions consistent with that labeling[.]; or 
 (b)  the addition of flavoring agents to conventionally 
manufactured and commercially prepared available liquid 
medications, if the flavoring agents: 
 (i)  are therapeutically inert; and 
 (ii)  do not exceed 5% of a preparation's total volume. 
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 (14)  "Consulting pharmacist" means a licensed pharmacist 
who provides consultation on an aspect of a pharmaceutical 
administration facility under Section R156-17b-614c. 
 ([14]15)  "Cooperative pharmacy warehouse" means a 
physical location for drugs that acts as a central warehouse and is 
owned, operated or affiliated with a group purchasing organization 
(GPO) or pharmacy buying cooperative and distributes those drugs 
exclusively to its members. 
 ([15]16)  "Counterfeit prescription drug" has the meaning 
given that term in 21 USC 321(g)(2)[, including any amendments 
thereto]. 
 ([16]17)  "Counterfeiting" means engaging in activities that 
create a counterfeit prescription drug. 
 ([17]18)  "Dispense," as defined in Subsection 58-17b-
102(22), does not include transferring medications for a patient from 
a legally dispensed prescription for that particular patient into a daily 
or weekly drug container to facilitate the patient taking the correct 
medication. 
 (19)  "Designated representative" or "DR" means an 
individual supervising the licensed facility in accordance with 
Subsections R156-17b-615(4) and (5). 
 ([18]20)  "Device" means a prescription device as defined 
in 21 CFR 801.109 (2021).[an instrument, apparatus, implement, 
machine, contrivance, implant, or other similar or related article, 
including any component part or accessory, that is required under 
Federal law to bear the label, "Caution: Federal or State law requires 
dispensing by or on the order of a physician."] 
 ([19]21)  "DMP" means a dispensing medical practitioner 
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 17b, Part 8, Dispensing Medical 
Practitioner and Dispensing Medical Practitioner Clinic Pharmacy. 
 ([20]22)  "DMP designee" means an individual, acting 
under the direction of a DMP, who: 
 (a)(i)  holds an active health care professional license under 
one of the following chapters: 
 (A)  Chapter 67, Utah Medical Practice Act; 
 (B)  Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act; 
 (C)  Chapter 70a, Physician Assistant Act; 
 (D)  Chapter 31b, Nurse Practice Act; 
 (E)  Chapter 16a, Utah Optometry Practice Act; 
 (F)  Chapter 44a, Nurse Midwife Practice Act; or 
 (G)  Chapter 17b, Pharmacy Practice Act; or 
 (ii)  is a medical assistant as defined in Subsection 58-67-
102(12); 
 (b)  meets requirements [established ]in Subsection 58-
17b-803 (4)(c); and 
 (c)  can document successful completion of a formal or on-
the-job dispensing training program [that meets standards established 
in]under Section R156-17b-622. 
 ([21]23)  "DMPIC" means a dispensing medical 
practitioner in charge licensed under Title 58, Chapter 17b, Part 8, 
Dispensing Medical Practitioner and Dispensing Medical 
Practitioner Clinic Pharmacy who is designated by a dispensing 
medical practitioner clinic pharmacy to be responsible for activities 
of the pharmacy. 
 ([22]24)  "Drop shipment" means the sale of a prescription 
drug to a pharmaceutical wholesaler by the manufacturer of the drug; 
by the manufacturer's co-licensed product partner, third party 
logistics provider, or exclusive distributor; or by an authorized 
distributor of record that purchased the product directly from the 
manufacturer or from one of these entities; whereby: 
 (a)  the pharmaceutical wholesale distributor takes title to 
but not physical possession of such prescription drug; 

 (b)  the pharmaceutical wholesale distributor invoices the 
pharmacy, pharmacy warehouse, or other person authorized by law 
to dispense to administer such drug; and 
 (c)  the pharmacy, pharmacy warehouse, or other person 
authorized by law to dispense or administer such drug receives 
delivery of the prescription drug directly from the manufacturer; from 
the co-licensed product partner, third party logistics provider, or 
exclusive distributor; or from an authorized distributor of record that 
purchases the product directly from the manufacturer or from one of 
these entities. 
 ([23]25)  "Drug therapy management" means the review of 
a drug therapy regimen of a patient by one or more pharmacists [for 
the purpose of ]evaluating and rendering advice to one or more 
practitioners regarding adjustment of the regimen. 
 ([24]26)  "Drugs," as used in this rule, means drugs or 
devices. 
 ([25]27)  "Durable medical equipment" or "DME" means 
equipment that: 
 (a)  can withstand repeated use; 
 (b)  is primarily and customarily used to serve a medical 
purpose; 
 (c)  generally is not useful to a person in the absence of an 
illness or injury; 
 (d)  is suitable for use in a health care facility or in the 
home; and 
 (e)  may include devices and medical supplies. 
 ([26]28)  "Entities under common administrative control" 
means an entity holds the power, actual as well as legal, to influence 
the management, direction, or functioning of a business or 
organization. 
 ([27]29)  "Entities under common ownership" means entity 
assets are held indivisibly rather than in the names of individual 
members. 
 ([28]30)  "ExCPT[,]" [as used in this rule, ]means the Exam 
for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians. 
 ([29]31)  "FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 
Administration and any successor agency. 
 ([30]32)  "FDA-[a]Approved" means the federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21 U.S.C.A. Section 301 et seq. and 
regulations promulgated thereunder permit the subject drug or device 
to be lawfully manufactured, marketed, distributed, and sold. 
 ([31]33)  "High-risk, medium-risk, and low-risk drugs" 
refers to the risk level to a patient's health from compounding sterile 
preparations, as referred to in USP-NF Chapter 797[, for details of 
determining risk level]. 
 ([32]34)  "Hospice facility pharmacy" means a pharmacy 
that supplies drugs to patients in a licensed healthcare facility for 
terminal patients. 
 ([33]35)  "Hospital clinic pharmacy" means a pharmacy 
that is located in an outpatient treatment area where a pharmacist or 
pharmacy intern is compounding, admixing, or dispensing 
prescription drugs, and where: 
 (a)  prescription drugs or devices are under the control of 
the pharmacist, or the facility for administration to patients of that 
facility; 
 (b)  prescription drugs or devices are dispensed by the 
pharmacist or pharmacy intern; or 
 (c)  prescription drugs are administered in accordance with 
the order of a practitioner by an employee or agent of the facility. 
 ([34]36)  "Legend drug" or "prescription drug" means a 
drug or device that has been determined to be unsafe for self-
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medication or [a drug or device]one that bears or is required to bear 
the legend: 
 (a)  "Caution: federal law prohibits dispensing without 
prescription"; 
 (b)  "Caution: federal law restricts this drug to use by or on 
the order of a licensed veterinarian"; or 
 (c)  "Rx only". 
 ([35]37)  "Long-term care facility" as used in Section 58-
17b-610.7 means the same as defined in Section 58-31b-102. 
 ([36]38)  "Maintenance medications" means medications 
the patient takes on an ongoing basis. 
 ([37]39)(a)  "Manufacturer's exclusive distributor" means 
an entity that contracts with a manufacturer to provide or coordinate 
warehousing, distribution, or other services on behalf of a 
manufacturer and who takes title to that manufacturer's prescription 
drug, but who does not have general responsibility to direct the drug's 
sale or disposition. 
 (b)  A manufacturer's exclusive distributor shall be licensed 
as a pharmaceutical wholesaler [under this chapter ]and be an 
"authorized distributor of record" to be considered part of the normal 
distribution channel. 
 ([38]40)  "Medical supplies" means items for medical use 
that are: 
 (a)  suitable for use in a health care facility or in the home; 
and 
 (b)  disposable or semi-disposable and non-reusable. 
 ([39]41)  "MPJE" means the Multistate Jurisprudence 
Examination. 
 ([40]42)  "NABP" means the National Association of 
Boards of Pharmacy. 
 ([41]43)  "NAPLEX" means North American Pharmacy 
Licensing Examination. 
 ([42]44)  "[Non drug]Non-drug or device handling central 
prescription processing pharmacy" means a central prescription 
processing pharmacy that does not engage in compounding, 
packaging, labeling, dispensing, or administering of drugs or devices. 
 ([43]45)  "Normal distribution channel" means a chain of 
custody for a prescription drug that goes directly, by drop shipment 
as defined in Subsection ([22]24), or via intracompany transfer from 
a manufacturer; or from the manufacturer's co-licensed partner, 
[third-party]third party logistics provider, or the exclusive distributor, 
to: 
 (a)  a pharmacy or other designated persons authorized 
[under this chapter ]to dispense or administer prescription drugs to a 
patient; 
 (b)  a chain pharmacy warehouse that performs 
intracompany sales or transfers of such drugs to a group of 
pharmacies under common ownership and control; 
 (c)  a cooperative pharmacy warehouse to a pharmacy that 
is a member of the pharmacy buying cooperative or GPO to a patient; 
 (d)  an authorized distributor of record, and then to either a 
pharmacy or other designated persons authorized [under this chapter 
]to dispense or administer such drug for use by a patient; 
 (e)  an authorized distributor of record, and then to a chain 
pharmacy warehouse that performs intracompany sales or transfers 
of such drugs to a group of pharmacies under common ownership and 
control; or 
 (f)  an authorized distributor of record to another authorized 
distributor of record to a licensed pharmaceutical facility or a 
licensed healthcare practitioner authorized [under this chapter ]to 
dispense or administer such drug for use by a patient. 

 ([44]46)  "Other health care facilities" means an[y] entity 
as defined in Subsection [26-21-2(13)(a) or Subsection ]R432-1-
3(55). 
 ([45]47)  "Parenteral" means a method of drug delivery 
injected into body tissues but not via the gastrointestinal tract. 
 ([46]48)  "Patient's agent" means a: 
 (a)  relative, friend, or other authorized designee of the 
patient involved in the patient's care; or 
 (b)  if requested by the patient or the individual under 
Subsection ([40]45)(a), one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  an office of a licensed prescribing practitioner in Utah; 
 (ii)  a long-term care facility where the patient resides; or 
 (iii)  a hospital, office, clinic or another medical facility that 
provides health care services. 
 ([47]49)  "Pedigree" means a document or electronic file 
containing information that records each distribution of any given 
prescription drug. 
 ([48]50)  "PIC," as used in this rule, means the pharmacist-
in-charge. 
 ([49]51)  "Prepackaged" or "Prepackaging" means the act 
of transferring a drug, manually or by use of an automated pharmacy 
system, from a manufacturer's or distributor's original container to 
another container in advance of receiving a prescription drug order 
or for a patient's immediate need for dispensing by a pharmacy or 
practitioner authorized to dispense in the establishment where the 
prepackaging occurred. 
 ([50]52)  "Prescription files" means [hard-copy]hard copy 
and electronic prescriptions that includes pharmacist notes or 
technician notes, clarifications or information written or attached that 
is pertinent to the prescription. 
 ([51]53)  "Professional entry degree," as used in Subsection 
58-17b-303(1)(f), means the professional entry degree offered by the 
applicant's [ACPE-accredited]ACPE-accredited school or college of 
pharmacy in the applicant's year of graduation, either a baccalaureate 
in pharmacy (BSPharm) or a doctorate in pharmacy (PharmD). 
 ([52]54)  "PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician 
Certification Board. 
 ([53]55)  "Qualified continuing education", as used in this 
rule, means continuing education that meets the standards set forth in 
Section R156-17b-309. 
 ([54]56)  "Refill" means to fill again. 
 ([55]57)  "Remote dispensing pharmacist-in-charge" or 
"RDPIC" means the PIC of a remote dispensing pharmacy.  The 
RDPIC shall be the PIC of the remote dispensing pharmacy's 
supervising pharmacy. 
 ([56]58)  "Remote dispensing pharmacy" means a Class A 
or Class B pharmacy located in Utah that serves as the originating 
site where a patient receiving services through a telepharmacy system 
is physically located and the practice of telepharmacy occurs, 
pursuant to Section R156-17b-614g. 
 ([57]59)  "Repackage" means repackaging or otherwise 
changing the container, wrapper, or labeling to further the distribution 
of a prescription drug, excluding that completed by the pharmacist or 
DMP responsible for dispensing the product to a patient. 
 ([58]60)  "Research facility" means a facility where 
research takes place that has policies and procedures describing such 
research. 
 (61)  "Responsible party" means the identity of the 
supervisor or director or the Class E pharmacy under Section R156-
17b-617a. 
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 ([59]62)  "Reverse distributor" means a person or company 
that retrieves unusable or outdated drugs from a pharmacy [for the 
purpose of]by removing those drugs from stock and destroying them. 
 ([60]63)  "Self-administered hormonal contraceptive" 
means the same as defined in Subsection 26-[62]64-102(9). 
 ([61]64)  "Sterile products preparation facility" means any 
facility, or portion of the facility, that compounds sterile products 
using aseptic technique. 
 ([62]65)  "Supervising pharmacy" means the Class A or 
Class B pharmacy responsible for overseeing the operation of a 
remote dispensing pharmacy, and whose PIC is the RDPIC for the 
remote dispensing pharmacy, pursuant to Section R156-17b-614g. 
 ([63]66)  "Supervisor" means a licensed pharmacist or 
DMP in good standing with the Division. 
 ([64]67)  "Telepharmacy system" means a 
telecommunications and information technologies system that 
monitors the preparation and dispensing of prescription drugs and 
provides for related drug review and HIPAA-compliant patient 
counseling services using: 
 (a)  asynchronous store and forward transfer as defined in 
Subsection 26-60-102(1); 
 (b)  synchronous interaction as defined in Subsection 26-
60-102([6]7); or 
 (c)  still image capture. 
 ([65]68)  "Third party logistics provider" means anyone 
who contracts with a prescription drug manufacturer to provide or 
coordinate warehousing, distribution, or other similar services on 
behalf of a manufacturer, but does not take title to the prescription 
drug or have any authoritative control over the prescription drug's 
sale. 
 ([66]69)  "Unauthorized personnel" means a person not 
participating in the operational processes of the pharmacy who in 
some way would interrupt the natural flow of pharmaceutical care. 
 ([67]70)  "Unit dose" means the ordered amount of a drug 
in a dosage form prepared for a one-time administration to an 
individual and indicates the name, strength, lot number and beyond 
use date for the drug. 
 ([68]71)  "Unprofessional conduct," as defined in Title 58, 
Chapter[s] 1, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
Act, and Title 58, Chapter [and ]17b, Pharmacy Practice Act, is 
further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in 
Section R156-17b-502. 
 ([69]72)  The "Utah Hormonal Contraceptive Self-
screening Risk Assessment Questionnaire," adopted September 18, 
2018, by the Division in collaboration with the Utah State Board of 
Pharmacy and Physicians Licensing Board, [as posted on the 
Division's website]which is incorporated by reference, is the self-
screening risk assessment questionnaire approved by the Division 
pursuant to Section 26-[62]64-106. 
 ([70]73)  "USP-NF" means the United States 
Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP 41-NF 36), either First 
Supplement, dated August 1, 2018, or Second Supplement, dated 
December 1, 2018, which is hereby adopted and incorporated by 
reference. 
 (74)  "Vaccine Administration Protocol" means the Vaccine 
Administration Protocol: Standing Order to Administer 
Immunizations and Emergency Medications, adopted September 24, 
2020, by the Division in collaboration with the Board and Utah 
Physicians Licensing Board, which is incorporated by reference. 
 ([71]75)  "Wholesaler" means a wholesale distributor who 
supplies or distributes drugs or medical devices that are restricted by 

federal law to sales based on the order of a physician to a person other 
than the consumer or patient. 
 ([72]76)  "Wholesale distribution" means the same as 21 
CFR 203.3(cc) (2021)[distribution of drugs to persons other than 
consumers or patients, but does not include: 
 (a)  intracompany sales or transfers; 
 (b)  the sale, purchase, distribution, trade, or other transfer 
of a prescription drug for emergency medical reasons, as defined 
under 21 CFR 203.3(m), including any amendments thereto; 
 (c)  the sale, purchase, or trade of a drug pursuant to a 
prescription; 
 (d)  the distribution of drug samples; 
 (e)  the return or transfer of prescription drugs to the 
original manufacturer, original wholesale distributor, reverse 
distributor, or a third party returns processor; 
 (f)  the sale, purchase, distribution, trade, or transfer of a 
prescription drug from one authorized distributor of record to one 
additional authorized distributor of record during a time period for 
which there is documentation from the manufacturer that the 
manufacturer is able to supply a prescription drug and the supplying 
authorized distributor of record states in writing that the prescription 
drug being supplied had until that time been exclusively in the normal 
distribution channel; 
 (g)  the sale, purchase or exchange of blood or blood 
components for transfusions; 
 (h)  the sale, transfer, merger or consolidation of the whole 
or part, of the business of a pharmacy; 
 (i)  delivery of a prescription drug by a common carrier; or 
 (j)  other transactions excluded from the definition of 
"wholesale distribution" under 21 CFR 203.3 (cc), including any 
amendments thereto]. 
 
R156-17b-105.  Licensure - Administrative Inspection. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-103(3)(f), the 
procedure for disposing of [any ]drugs or devices seized by the 
Division during an administrative inspection [shall be handled]is as 
follows: 
 (1)  [Any l]Legal drugs or devices [found and temporarily 
seized by]that the Division [that are found]finds to be in compliance 
with [this chapter]Title 58, Chapter 17b, Pharmacy Practice Act, shall 
be returned to the involved pharmacy's consulting pharmacist, 
designated representative, responsible party, PIC, RDPIC, or 
DMPIC, [of the pharmacy involved ]at the conclusion of [any]the 
investigative or adjudicative proceedings and appeals. 
 (2)(a)  Drugs[  Any drugs] or devices [that are temporarily 
seized by]that the Division [that are found]finds to be unlawfully 
possessed, adulterated, misbranded, outdated, or otherwise in 
violation of [this rule]Title 58, Chapter 17b, Pharmacy Practice Act, 
shall be destroyed by Division personnel at the conclusion of [any]the 
investigative or adjudicative proceedings and appeals. 
 (b)  The destruction of [any ]seized controlled substance 
drugs shall be witnessed by two Division individuals.  A controlled 
substance destruction form shall be completed and retained by the 
Division. 
 (3)  An investigator may, upon determination that the 
violations observed [are of a nature that ]pose an imminent peril to 
the public health, safety and welfare, recommend to the Division 
Director to issue an emergency licensure action, such as cease and 
desist.[ 
 (4)  In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-103(1) and 58-
17b-601(1), a secure email address must be established by the PIC, 
RDPIC, or DMPIC and responsible party for the pharmacy to be used 
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for self-audits or pharmacy alerts initiated by the Division.  The PIC, 
RDPIC or DMPIC and responsible party shall cause the Division's 
Licensing Bureau to be notified on the applicable form prescribed by 
the Division of the secure email address or any change thereof within 
seven days of any email address change.  Only one email address 
shall be used for each pharmacy.] 
 
R156-17b-309.7.  Exemptions from Licensure - Opioid Treatment 
Program. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-17-b-309.7 "under the 
direction of a pharmacist" means that the pharmacist has delegated to 
a [licensed practitioner]covered provider the authority to perform one 
or more selected dispensing tasks on behalf of the pharmacist: 
 (a)  in accordance with [all ]state and federal laws and rules; 
and 
 (b)  under the general supervision of the pharmacist as 
defined in Subsection R156-1-102a(4)(c). 
 (2)  [Dispensing tasks that may be delegated include 
preparing, packaging, or labeling take-home dosages and 
medications for subsequent use. 
 (3)  ]A [delegating ]pharmacist retains accountability for 
the appropriate delegation of dispensing stasks[ and for the 
pharmaceutical care of the patient]. 
 (3)  The covered provider is accountable for the accuracy 
of the dispensing task and shall consult the pharmacist as needed. 
 (4)  A [practitioner]covered provider may not: 
 (a)  further delegate to another person any dispensing task 
delegated to the [practitioner]covered provider by the pharmacist; or 
 (b)  expand the scope of a delegated dispensing task 
without the express permission of the pharmacist. 
 
R156-17b-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  violating [any provision of ]the American 
Pharmaceutical Association (APhA) Code of Ethics for Pharmacists, 
October 27, 1994, which is hereby incorporated by reference; 
 (2)(a)  failing to comply with the USP-NF Chapter 795 if 
applicable to activities performed; 
 (b)  failing to comply with the USP-NF Chapter 797, if 
applicable to activities performed; 
 (3)  failing to comply with [the ]continuing education 
requirements[ set forth in these rules]; 
 (4)  failing to provide the Division with a current mailing 
address within [a 10 business day period of time following any]ten 
business days of a change of address; 
 (5)  defaulting on a student loan; 
 (6)  failing to abide by [all ]applicable federal and state law 
regarding the practice of pharmacy; 
 (7)  failing to comply with administrative inspections; 
 (8)  failing to return [according to]a self-audit report by the 
deadline established by the Division[, or]; 
 (9)  providing false information on a [self-inspection]self-
audit report; 
 ([9]10)(a)  violating the laws and rules regulating operating 
standards in a pharmacy, as discovered upon inspection by the 
Division; or 
 (b)  after discovery upon inspection by the Division of 
violation of laws and rules regulating operating standards in a 
pharmacy, failing to comply within the time established by the 
Division; 
 ([10]11)  abandoning a pharmacy or leaving prescription 
drugs accessible to the public; 

 ([11]12)  failing to identify licensure classification when 
communicating by any means; 
 ([12]13)(a)  as a pharmacist, practicing pharmacy with an 
inappropriate pharmacist to pharmacy intern ratio [established 
by]under Subsection R156-17b-606(1)(d), or pharmacist to 
pharmacy technician trainee ratio [as established by]under 
Subsection R156-17b-601([5]3); or 
 (b)  as a pharmacy, practicing pharmacy with an 
inappropriate pharmacist to pharmacy intern ratio [established 
by]under Subsection R156-17b-606(1)(d), or pharmacist to 
pharmacy technician trainee ratio [as established by]under 
Subsection R156-17b-601([5]4); 
 ([13]14)(a)  as a pharmacist, allowing an[y] unauthorized 
person[s] in the pharmacy; or 
 (b)  as a pharmacy, allowing an[y] unauthorized person[s] 
in the pharmacy; 
 ([14]15)(a)  as a pharmacist, failing to offer to counsel 
a[ny] person receiving a prescription medication; or 
 (b)  as a pharmacy, failing to offer to counsel a[ny] person 
receiving a prescription medication; 
 ([15]16)  failing to timely pay an administrative fine[ that 
has been assessed in the time designated by the Division]; 
 ([16]17)  failing to comply with the PIC, consulting 
pharmacist, RDPIC or DMPIC standards [as established in]under 
Section R156-17b-603; 
 ([17]18)  failing to adhere to institutional policies and 
procedures related to technician checking of medications when 
technician checking is utilized; 
 ([18]19)  failing to take appropriate steps to avoid or 
resolve identified drug therapy management problems [as referenced 
in]under Subsection R156-17b-611(3); 
 ([19]20)  dispensing medication that has been discontinued 
by the FDA; 
 ([20]21)  failing to keep or report accurate records of 
training hours; 
 ([21]22)  failing to provide consulting pharmacist, 
designated representative, responsible party, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC 
information to the Division within 30 days of a change in consulting 
pharmacist, designated representative, responsible party, PIC, 
RDPIC or DMPIC; 
 ([22]23)  requiring a pharmacy, pharmacist, or DMP to 
operate the pharmacy or allow operation of the pharmacy with a ratio 
of supervising pharmacist or DMP to other pharmacy personnel in 
circumstances that result in, or reasonably would be expected to 
result in, an unreasonable risk of harm to public health, safety, and 
welfare; 
 ([23]24)(a)  as a pharmacist, failing under Subsection 
R156-17b-603(3)(t) to [update]notify the Division within seven 
calendar days of a[ny] change in the email address designated for use 
in self-audits or pharmacy alerts; or 
 (b)  as a pharmacy, failing to [update]notify the Division 
within seven calendar days of a[ny] change in the email address 
designated for use in self-audits or pharmacy alerts; 
 ([24]25) failing to ensure, as a DMP or DMP clinic 
pharmacy, that a DMP designee has completed a formal or on-the-job 
dispensing training program [that meets standards established 
in]under Section R156-17b-622; 
 ([25]26)  failing to make a timely report regarding 
dispensing of an opiate antagonist to the [d]Division and to the 
physician who issued the standing order, under [as required in 
]Section R156-17b-625; and 
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 ([26]27)  failing to comply with the operating standards for 
a remote dispensing pharmacy [as established in]under Section 
R156-17b-614g. 
 
R156-17b-601.  Operating Standards - Pharmacy Technician and 
Pharmacy Technician Trainee. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-102(56), practice as 
a licensed pharmacy technician is defined as follows: 
 (1)  A pharmacy technician may perform any task 
associated with the physical preparation and processing of 
prescription and medication orders, including: 
 (a)  receiving written prescriptions; 
 (b)  taking refill orders, including refill authorizations; 
 (c)  entering and retrieving information into and from a 
database or patient profile; 
 (d)  preparing labels; 
 (e)  retrieving medications from inventory; 
 (f)  counting and pouring into containers; 
 (g)  placing medications into patient storage containers; 
 (h)  affixing labels; 
 (i)  compounding; 
 (j)  counseling for over-the-counter drugs and dietary 
supplements under the direction of the supervising pharmacist; 
 (k)  receiving new prescription drug orders when 
communicating telephonically or electronically, if the original 
information is recorded so the pharmacist may review the 
prescription drug order as transmitted, including accepting new 
prescription drug orders saved on voicemail for a pharmacist to 
review; 
 (l)  transferring prescriptions under Sections 58-17b-604 
and R156-17b-609; 
 ([l]m)  performing checks of certain medications prepared 
for distribution filled or prepared by another technician within a Class 
B hospital pharmacy, such as medications prepared for distribution to 
an automated dispensing cabinet, cart fill, crash cart medication tray, 
or unit dosing from a prepared stock bottle, in accordance with the 
following operating standards: 
 (i)  technicians authorized by a hospital to check 
medications shall have at least: 
 (A)  one year of experience working as a pharmacy 
technician; and 
 (B)  [at least ]six months of experience at the hospital where 
the technician is authorized to check medications; 
 (ii)  technicians shall only check steps in the medication 
distribution process that do not require the professional judgment of 
a pharmacist and that are supported by sufficient automation or 
technology to ensure accuracy, such as [(e.g. ]barcode scanning, drug 
identification automation, checklists, visual aids); 
 (iii)  hospitals that authorize technicians to check 
medications shall: 
 (A)  have a training program and ongoing competency 
assessment that is documented and retrievable for the duration of 
each technician's employment and at least three years beyond 
employment[,]; and 
 (B)  [shall ]maintain a list of technicians on staff that are 
allowed to check medications; 
 (iv)  hospitals that authorize technicians to check 
medications shall have a medication error reporting system in place 
and shall be able to produce documentation of its use; 
 (v)  a supervising pharmacist shall be immediately 
available during [all ]times that a pharmacy technician is checking 
medications; and 

 (vi)  hospitals that authorize technicians to check 
medications shall have comprehensive policies and procedures that 
guide technician checking that include the following: 
 (A)  process for technician training and ongoing 
competency assessment and documentation; 
 (B)  process for supervising technicians who check 
medications; 
 (C)  list of medications, or types of medications that may 
or may not be checked by a technician; 
 (D)  description of the automation or technology to be 
utilized by the institution to augment the technician check; 
 (E)  process for maintaining a permanent log of the unique 
initials or identification codes that identify each technician 
responsible for checked medications by name; and 
 (F)  description of processes used to track and respond to 
medication errors; and 
 ([m]n)  additional tasks not requiring the judgment of a 
pharmacist. 
 (2)  A pharmacy technician may not: 
 (a)  receive a new prescription or medication order, except 
as described in Subsection (1 )(k); 
 (b)  clarify a prescription or medication order from a 
prescriber; 
 (c)  perform a drug utilization review; 
 (d)  perform final review of a prescribed drug prepared for 
dispensing; 
 (e)  dispense a drug; or 
 (f)  counsel a patient with respect to a prescription drug. 
 (3)  A pharmacy technician may administer vaccines and 
emergency medications pursuant to delegation by a pharmacist under 
the Vaccine Administration Protocol[: Standing Order to Administer 
Immunizations and Emergency Medications, adopted March 26, 
2019, by the Division in collaboration with the Utah State Board of 
Pharmacy and Utah Physicians Licensing Board, as posted on the 
Division website], if the pharmacy technician: 
 (a)  has completed the initial training required by Section 
R156-17b-621; 
 (b)  is under ["]direct["], on-site supervision by the 
delegating pharmacist as defined in Subsection R156-1-102a(4)(a); 
and 
 (c)  for each renewal cycle after the initial training, has 
completed a minimum of two hours of continuing education in 
immunization or vaccine-related topics in accordance with Section 
R156-17-309. 
 (4)  A pharmacy technician trainee: 
 (a)  shall practice only under the direct supervision of a 
pharmacist, and in a ratio not to exceed one pharmacy technician 
trainee to one pharmacist; and 
 (b)  may perform any task in Subsection (1), except 
performing checks of certain medications prepared for distribution 
filled or prepared by a technician within a Class B hospital pharmacy 
as described in Subsection (1)([l]n). 
 
R156-17b-603.  Operating Standards - Consulting Pharmacist, 
Pharmacist-In-Charge, Remote Dispensing Pharmacist-in-
Charge, or Dispensing-Medical-Practitioner-In-Charge. 
 (1)  The consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC 
shall have the responsibility to oversee the operation of the pharmacy 
in conformance with [all ]laws and rules pertinent to the practice of 
pharmacy and the distribution of drugs, durable medical equipment, 
and medical supplies.  The consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, or 
DMPIC shall be personally in full and actual charge of the pharmacy. 
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 (2)(a)  In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-103(1) and 
58-17b-601(1), a unique email address shall be established by the 
consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, DMPIC, or responsible party for 
the pharmacy to be used for self-audits or pharmacy alerts initiated 
by the Division. 
 (b)  The consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, DMPIC, or 
responsible party shall notify the Division of the pharmacy's email 
address in the initial application for licensure. 
 (3)  The duties of the consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, 
or DMPIC shall include: 
 (a)  assuring that a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, DMP, or 
DMP designee dispenses drugs or devices, including: 
 (i)  packaging, preparation, compounding and labeling; and 
 (ii)  ensuring that drugs are dispensed safely and accurately 
as prescribed; 
 (b)  assuring that pharmacy personnel deliver drugs to the 
patient or the patient's agent, including ensuring that drugs are 
delivered safely and accurately as prescribed; 
 (c)  assuring that a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or DMP 
communicates to the patient or the patient's agent, at their request, 
information concerning any prescription drugs dispensed to the 
patient by the pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or DMP; 
 (d)  assuring that a reasonable effort is made to obtain, 
record and maintain patient medication records; 
 (e)  education and training of pharmacy personnel; 
 (f)  establishment of policies for procurement of 
prescription drugs and devices and other products dispensed from the 
pharmacy; 
 (g)  disposal and distribution of drugs from the pharmacy; 
 (h)  bulk compounding of drugs; 
 (i)  storage of [all ]materials, including drugs, chemicals 
and biologicals; 
 (j)  maintenance of records of [all ]transactions of the 
pharmacy necessary to maintain accurate control over and 
accountability for [all ]pharmaceutical materials required by 
applicable state and federal laws and regulations; 
 (k)  establishment and maintenance of effective controls 
against theft or diversion of prescription drugs and records for such 
drugs; 
 (l)  if records are kept on a data processing system, the 
maintenance of records stored in that system shall be in compliance 
with pharmacy requirements; 
 (m)  legal operation of the pharmacy including meeting [all 
]inspection and other requirements of [all ]state and federal laws, 
rules and regulations governing the practice of pharmacy; 
 (n)  implementation of an ongoing quality assurance 
program that monitors performance of the automated pharmacy 
system, which is evidenced by written policies and procedures 
developed for pharmaceutical care; 
 (o)  if permitted to use an automated pharmacy system for 
dispensing purposes: 
 (i)  ensuring that the system is in good working order and 
accurately dispenses the correct strength, dosage form and quantity 
of the drug prescribed while maintaining appropriate record keeping 
and security safeguards; and 
 (ii)  implementation of an ongoing quality assurance 
program that monitors performance of the automated pharmacy 
system, which is evidenced by written policies and procedures 
developed for pharmaceutical care; 
 (p)  assuring that [all ]relevant information is submitted to 
the Controlled Substance Database in the appropriate format and in a 
timely manner; 

 (q)  assuring that [all ]pharmacy personnel have the 
appropriate licensure; 
 (r)  assuring that no pharmacy operates with a ratio of 
pharmacist or DMP to other pharmacy personnel in circumstances 
that result in, or reasonably would be expected to result in, an 
unreasonable risk of harm to public health, safety, and welfare; 
 (s)  assuring that the consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, 
or DMPIC assigned to the pharmacy is recorded with the Division on 
a form provided by the Division, and that the Division is notified of 
a change in consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC within 
30 days of the change;[ and] 
 (t)  assuring, with regard to the unique email address used 
for self-audits and pharmacy alerts, that the pharmacy: 
 (i)  [the pharmacy ]uses a single email address; and 
 (ii)  [the pharmacy ]notifies the Division, on the form 
prescribed, of a[ny] change in the email address within seven 
calendar days of the change[.]; 
 (u)  under Subsection 58-17b-103(1), conducting a 
pharmacy self-audit on a form provided by the Division, in 
accordance with the following timeframes: 
 (i)  within 30 days of a change o consulting pharmacist, 
PIC, DMPIC or RDPIC; 
 (ii)  within 30 days of the opening of a new facility; and 
 (iii)  at least 90 days prior to the end of each renewal cycle; 
and 
 (iv)  maintaining each pharmacy self-audit form for a 
period of two years from the date of the self-audit. 
 
R156-17b-604.  Operating Standards - Closing a Pharmacy. 
 [At least 14 days prior to the closing of a pharmacy, the](1)  
The consulting pharmacist, DR, Responsible Party, PIC, RDPIC, or 
DMPIC of the registered pharmacy shall comply with 21 CFR 
1301.52 (2021) and 21 CFR 1305.18 and 1305.19 (2021).[the 
following: 
 (1)  If the pharmacy is registered to possess controlled 
substances, send a written notification to the appropriate regional 
office of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) containing the 
following information: 
 (a)  the name, address and DEA registration number of the 
pharmacy; 
 (b)  the anticipated date of closing; 
 (c)  the name, address and DEA registration number of the 
pharmacy acquiring the controlled substances; and 
 (d)  the date the transfer of controlled substances will 
occur.] 
 (2)  If the pharmacy dispenses prescription drug orders, 
post a closing notice sign in a conspicuous place in the front of the 
prescription department and at [all ]public entrance doors to the 
pharmacy.  [Such]The closing notice shall contain the following 
information: 
 (a)  the date of closing; and 
 (b)  the name, address, and telephone number of the 
pharmacy acquiring the prescription drug orders, including refill 
information and patient medication records of the pharmacy. 
 (3)  On the date of closing, the consulting pharmacist, PIC, 
RDPIC, or DMPIC shall remove [all ]prescription drugs from the 
pharmacy by one or a combination of the following methods: 
 (a)  return prescription drugs to manufacturer or supplier 
for credit or disposal; or 
 (b)  transfer, sell, or give away prescription drugs to a 
person who is legally entitled to possess drugs, such as a hospital or 
another pharmacy. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 21 

 (4)  If the pharmacy dispenses prescription drug orders: 
 (a)  transfer the prescription drug order files, including 
refill information and patient medication records, to a licensed 
pharmacy within a reasonable distance of the closing pharmacy; and 
 (b)  move [all ]signs or notify the landlord or owner of the 
property that it is unlawful to use the word "pharmacy", or any other 
word or combination of words of the same or similar meaning, or any 
graphic representation that would mislead or tend to mislead the 
public that a pharmacy is located at this address. 
 (5)  Within ten days of the closing of the pharmacy, the 
pharmacy owner, consulting pharmacist, DR, Responsible Party, PIC, 
RDPIC, or DMPIC shall forward to the Division a surrender[written] 
notice, on a form provided by the Division, of the closing that 
includes the following information: 
 (a)  the actual date of closing; 
 (b)  a surrender of the license issued to the pharmacy; 
 (c)  a statement attesting: 
 (i)  that an inventory as specified in Subsection R156-17b-
605(4) has been conducted; and 
 (ii)  the manner in which the legend drugs and controlled 
substances possessed by the pharmacy were transferred or disposed; 
and 
 (d)  if the pharmacy dispenses prescription drug orders, the 
name and address of the pharmacy to which the prescription drug 
orders, including refill information and patient medication records, 
were transferred. 
 (6)  [If the pharmacy is registered to possess controlled 
substances, a letter shall be sent to the appropriate DEA regional 
office explaining that the pharmacy has closed.  The letter shall 
include the following items: 
 (a)  DEA registration certificate; 
 (b)  all unused DEA order forms (Form 222) with the word 
"VOID" written on the face of each order form; and 
 (c)  copy #2 of any DEA order forms (Form 222) used to 
transfer Schedule II controlled substances from the closed pharmacy. 
 (7)  ]If the pharmacy is closed suddenly due to fire, 
destruction, natural disaster, death, property seizure, eviction, 
bankruptcy or other emergency circumstances and the consulting 
pharmacist, DR, Responsible Party, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC cannot 
provide notification 14 days prior to the closing, the consulting 
pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC shall comply with [the 
provisions of ]Subsection (1) as far in advance of the closing as 
allowed by the circumstances. 
 ([8]7)  If the consulting pharmacist, DR, Responsible Party, 
PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC is not available to comply with the 
requirements of this section, the owner or legal representative shall 
be responsible for compliance with [the provisions of ]this section. 
 ([9]8)  Notwithstanding the requirements of this section, a 
DMP clinic pharmacy that closes but employs licensed practitioners 
who [desire to]will continue providing services other than dispensing 
may continue to use prescription drugs in their practice as authorized 
under their respective licensing act. 
 
R156-17b-605.  Operating Standards - Inventory Requirements. 
 (1)  [All out of date]Authorized personnel shall remove out-
of-date legend drugs and controlled substances [shall be removed 
]from the inventory at regular intervals and in correlation to the 
beyond use date imprinted on the label. 
 (2)  General requirements for inventory of a pharmacy shall 
include the following: 
 (a)  the consulting pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC 
shall be responsible for taking [all ]required inventories, but may 

delegate the performance of the inventory to another person or 
persons; 
 (b)  the inventory records shall be maintained for a period 
of five years and be readily available for inspection; 
 (c)  the inventory records shall be filed separately from all 
other records; 
 (d)  the inventory records shall be in a written, typewritten, 
or printed form and include [all ]each stock[s] of controlled 
substances on hand on the date of the inventory, including any that 
are [out of date]out-of-date drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy 
systems[.] 
 (e)  [A]an inventory taken by use of a verbal recording 
device shall be promptly transcribed; 
 ([e]f)  the inventory may be taken either as the opening of 
the business or the close of business on the inventory date; 
 ([f]g)  the person taking the inventory and the consulting 
pharmacist, PIC, RDPIC, or DMPIC shall indicate the time the 
inventory was taken and shall sign and date the inventory with the 
date the inventory was taken[.]; 
 (h)  [T]the signature of the consulting pharmacist, PIC, 
RDPIC, or DMPIC and the date of the inventory shall be documented 
within 72 hours or three working days of the completed initial, 
annual, change of ownership and closing inventory; 
 ([g]i)  the person taking the inventory shall make an exact 
count or measure [all ]controlled substances listed in Schedule I or 
II; 
 ([h]j)  the person taking the inventory shall make an 
estimated count or measure of [all ]Schedule III, IV, or V controlled 
substances, unless the container holds more than 1,000 tablets or 
capsules in which case an exact count of the contents shall be made; 
 ([i]k)  the inventory of Schedule I and II controlled 
substances shall be listed separately from the inventory of Schedule 
III, IV and V controlled substances; 
 ([j]l)  if the pharmacy maintains a perpetual inventory of 
any of the drugs required to be inventorie[s]d, the perpetual inventory 
shall be reconciled on the date of the inventory. 
 (3)  Requirements for taking the initial controlled 
substances inventory shall include the following: 
 (a)(i)  [all ]pharmacies having [any ]stock of controlled 
substances shall take an inventory, including out-of-date drugs and 
drugs in automated pharamcy systems, on the opening day of 
business[.];[  Such inventory shall include all controlled substances 
including any out-of-date drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy 
systems;] 
 (b)  if[  in the event] a pharmacy commences business with 
no [controlled substances on hand,]Schedule I or II controlled 
substances, the pharmacy shall record this fact as the initial 
inventory[.] and shall document Schedule I and II controlled 
substance inventory separately from an inventory reporting no 
Schedule III, IV, and V controlled substances;[ An inventory 
reporting no Schedule I and II controlled substances shall be listed 
separately from an inventory reporting no Schedule III, IV, and V 
controlled substances;] 
 (c)  the initial inventory shall serve as the pharmacy's 
inventory until the next completed inventory as specified in 
Subsection (4) of this section; and 
 (d)  when combining two pharmacies, each pharmacy shall: 
 (i)  conduct a separate closing pharmacy inventory of 
controlled substances on the date of closure; and 
 (ii)  conduct a combined opening inventory of controlled 
substances for the new pharmacy prior to opening. 
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 (4)  Requirement for annual controlled substances 
inventory shall be within 12 months following the inventory date of 
each year and may be taken within four days of the specified 
inventory date and shall include [all ]stocks including out-of-date 
drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy systems. 
 (5)  Requirements for change of ownership shall include 
the following: 
 (a)  a pharmacy that changes ownership shall take an 
inventory of [all ]legend drugs and controlled substances including 
out-of-date drugs and drugs in automated pharmacy systems on the 
date of the change of ownership; 
 (b)  such inventory shall constitute[, for the purpose of this 
section,] the closing inventory for the seller and the initial inventory 
for the buyer; and 
 (c)  transfer of Schedule I and II controlled substances shall 
require the use of official DEA order form[s (Form] 222[)]. 
 (6)  [Requirement for taking inventory when closing a 
pharmacy includes the PIC, RDPIC, DMPIC, owner, or the legal 
representative of a pharmacy that ceases to operate as a pharmacy 
shall forward to the Division, within ten days of cessation of 
operation, a statement attesting that an inventory has been conducted, 
the date of closing and a statement attesting the manner by which 
legend drugs and controlled substances possessed by the pharmacy 
were transferred or disposed. 
 (7)  All]A pharmacy [pharmacies ]shall maintain a 
perpetual inventory of [all ]Schedule II controlled substances that 
shall be reconciled according to facility policy. 
 
R156-17b-612.  Operating Standards - Prescriptions. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1), the 
following shall apply to prescriptions: 
 (1)  Prescription orders for controlled substances 
[(]including prescription transfers[)] shall be handled in accordance 
with 21 CFR 1306.25 (2021)[according to the rules of the Federal 
Drug Enforcement Administration]. 
 (2)  A prescription issued by an authorized licensed 
practitioner, if verbally communicated by an agent of that practitioner 
upon that practitioner's specific instruction and authorization, may be 
accepted by a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or DMP. 
 (3)  A prescription issued by a licensed prescribing 
practitioner, if electronically communicated by an agent of that 
practitioner, upon that practitioner's specific instruction and 
authorization, may be accepted by a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, 
pharmacy technician, pharmacy technician trainee, DMP, or DMP 
designee. 
 (4)  In accordance with Sections 58-17b-609 and 58-17b-
611, prescription files, including refill information, shall be 
maintained for a minimum of five years and shall be immediately 
retrievable in written or electronic format. 
 (5)  In accordance with Section 58-17b-604, 
prescriptions[Prescriptions] for legend drugs having a remaining 
authorization for refill may be transferred by the pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician, at the discretion of the 
pharmacist on duty, or DMP at the pharmacy holding the prescription 
to a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician, or DMP at 
another pharmacy upon the authorization of the patient to whom the 
prescription was issued or electronically as authorized under 
Subsection R156-17b-613(9).  The transferring pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern, or DMP and receiving pharmacist, pharmacy intern, 
or DMP shall act diligently to ensure that the total number of 
authorized refills is not exceeded.  The following additional terms 
apply to such a transfer: 

 (a)  the transfer shall be communicated directly between 
pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy technicians or DMPs or as 
authorized under Subsection R156-17b-613(9); 
 (b)  both the original and the transferred prescription drug 
orders shall be maintained for a period of five years from the date of 
the last refill; 
 (c)  the pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or DMP transferring 
the prescription drug order shall void the prescription electronically 
or write void[/] or transfer on the face of the invalidated prescription 
manually; 
 (d)  the pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or DMP receiving the 
transferred prescription drug order shall: 
 (i)  indicate on the prescription record that the prescription 
was transferred electronically or manually; and 
 (ii)  record on the transferred prescription drug order the 
following information: 
 (A)  original date of issuance and date of dispensing or 
receipt, if different from date of issuance; 
 (B)  original prescription number and the number of refills 
authorized on the original prescription drug order; 
 (C)  number of valid refills remaining and the date of last 
refill, if applicable; 
 (D)  the name and address of the pharmacy and the name 
of the pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician, or DMP to 
whom such prescription is transferred; and 
 (E)  the name of the pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or DMP 
transferring the prescription drug order information; 
 (e)  the data processing system shall have a mechanism to 
prohibit the transfer or refilling of legend drugs or controlled 
substance prescription drug orders that have been previously 
transferred; and 
 (f)  a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician, or 
DMP may not refuse to transfer original prescription information to 
another pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician, or DMP 
who is acting on behalf of a patient and who is making a request for 
this information as specified in Subsection (12) of this section. 
 (6)  Prescriptions for terminal patients in licensed hospices, 
home health agencies or nursing homes may be partially filled if the 
patient has a medical diagnosis documenting a terminal illness and 
may not need the full prescription amount. 
 (7)  Refills may be dispensed only in accordance with the 
prescriber's authorization as indicated on the original prescription 
drug order[;]. 
 (8)  If there are no refill instructions on the original 
prescription drug order, or if [all ]refills authorized on the original 
prescription drug order have been dispensed, authorization from the 
prescribing practitioner shall be obtained prior to dispensing any 
refills. 
 (9)  Refills of prescription drug orders for legend drugs may 
not be refilled after one year from the date of issuance of the original 
prescription drug order without obtaining authorization from the 
prescribing practitioner prior to dispensing any additional quantities 
of the drug. 
 (10)  Refills of prescription drug orders for controlled 
substances shall be done in accordance with Subsection 58-37-
6(7)(f). 
 (11)  A pharmacist or DMP may exercise professional 
judgment in refilling a prescription drug order for a drug, other than 
a Schedule II controlled substance, without the authorization of the 
prescribing practitioner, if: 
 (a)  the quantity of prescription drug dispensed does not 
exceed a 72-hour supply, unless the packaging is in a great quantity; 
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 (b)  failure to refill the prescription might result in an 
interruption of a therapeutic regimen or create patient suffering; 
 (c)  either: 
 (i)  a natural or manmade disaster has occurred that 
prohibits the pharmacist or DMP from being able to contact the 
practitioner; or 
 (ii)  the pharmacist or DMP is unable to contact the 
practitioner after a reasonable effort, with the effort documented and 
the documentation available to the Division upon request; 
 (d)  if the prescription was originally filled at another 
pharmacy: 
 (i)  the patient has the prescription container label, receipt, 
or other documentation from the other pharmacy that contains the 
essential information; and 
 (ii)  after a reasonable effort, the pharmacist or DMP is 
unable to contact the other pharmacy to transfer the remaining 
prescription refills or there are no refills remaining on the 
prescription; and 
 (e)  the pharmacist or DMP: 
 (i)  informs the patient or patient's agent at the time of 
dispensing that the refill is being provided without practitioner 
authorization, and that authorization is required for future refills; 
 (ii)  informs the practitioner of the emergency refill at the 
earliest reasonable time; 
 (iii)  maintains a record of the emergency refill containing 
the information required to be maintained on a prescription as 
specified in this subsection; and 
 (iv)  affixes a label to the dispensing container as specified 
in Section 58-17b-602. 
 (12)  The address specified in Subsection 58-17b-602(1)(b) 
shall be a physical address, not a post office box. 
 (13)  In accordance with Subsection 58-37-6(7)(e), a 
prescription may not be written, issued, filled, or dispensed for a 
Schedule I controlled substance unless: 
 (a)  the person who writes the prescription is licensed to 
prescribe Schedule I controlled substances; and 
 (b)  the prescribed controlled substance is to be used in 
research. 
 (14)  A pharmacist or pharmacy intern may dispense an 
emergency refill prescription for a drug a patient is currently using 
and on file with the pharmacy, other than a controlled substance, 
without the prescribing practitioner's authorization if they are not 
available promptly, in accordance with Section 58-17b-608, for: 
 (a)  a 30 day supply with the prescribing practitioners 
instructions; or 
 (b)  the quantity last dispensed at the pharmacy pursuant to 
the prescription as either a fill or a refill. 
 
R156-17b-613.  Operating Standards - Issuing Prescription 
Orders by Electronic Means. 
 In accordance with Rules R156-1 and R156-37, and 
Subsections 58-17b-102(29), [and ]58-17b-102(30), 58-17b-602(1), 
[R156-82, and R156-1, ]prescription orders may be issued by 
electronic means of communication according to the following 
standards: 
 (1)  Prescription orders for Schedule II - V controlled 
substances received by electronic [means of ]communication shall be 
handled according to [Part 1304.04 of Section 21 of the CFR]21 CFR 
1304.06 (2021). 
 (2)  Prescription orders for non-controlled substances 
received by electronic [means of ]communication may be dispensed 

by a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or DMP only if [all of ]the 
following conditions are satisfied: 
 (a)  [all electronically]Electronically transmitted 
prescription orders shall include the following: 
 (i)  [all ]information that is required to be contained in a 
prescription order pursuant to Section 58-17b-602; 
 (ii)  the time and date of the transmission, and if a facsimile 
transmission, the electronically encoded date, time, and fax number 
of the sender; and 
 (iii)  the name of the pharmacy intended to receive the 
transmission[;]. 
 (b)  [the]A prescription order shall be transmitted under the 
direct supervision of the prescribing practitioner or [his]the 
prescribing practitioner's designated agent[;]. 
 (c)  [the]The pharmacist or DMP shall exercise professional 
judgment regarding the accuracy and authenticity of the transmitted 
prescription.[  Practitioners or their agents transmitting medication 
orders using electronic equipment are to] 
 (d)  A practitioner or the practitioner's agent shall provide 
voice verification when requested by the pharmacist receiving [the]a 
medication order. 
 (e)  The pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician 
at the discretion of the pharmacist on duty, or DMP [is responsible 
for assuring]shall assure that each electronically transferred 
prescription order is valid and shall authenticate a prescription order 
issued by a prescribing practitioner that has been transmitted to the 
dispensing pharmacy before filling it, whenever there is a question[;]. 
 ([d]f)(i)  A[  a] practitioner may authorize an agent to 
electronically transmit a prescription [provided that]if the agent's [the 
]identifying information [of the transmitting agent ]is [included ]on 
the transmission. 
 (ii)  The practitioner's electronic signature, or other secure 
method of validation, shall be provided with the electronic 
prescription[; and]. 
 ([e]3)  an electronically transmitted prescription order that 
meets the requirements [above]of Subsection (2) shall be [deemed to 
be ]the original prescription. 
 ([3]4)  This section does not apply to the use of electronic 
equipment to transmit prescription orders within inpatient medical 
facilities. 
 ([4]5)  [No]An agreement between a prescribing 
practitioner and a pharmacy [shall]may not require that prescription 
orders be transmitted by electronic means from the prescribing 
practitioner only to that pharmacy[ only]. 
 ([5]6)  The pharmacist or DMP shall retain a printed copy 
of an electronic prescription, or a record of an electronic prescription 
that is readily retrievable and printable, for a minimum of five years.  
The printed copy shall be of non-fading legibility. 
 ([6]7)  Wholesalers, distributors, manufacturers, 
pharmacists, and pharmacies [shall]may not supply electronic 
equipment to a[ny] prescriber for transmitting prescription orders. 
 ([7]8)  An electronically transmitted prescription order 
shall be transmitted to the pharmacy of the patient's choice. 
 ([8]9)  Prescription orders electronically transmitted to the 
pharmacy by the patient [shall]may not be filled or dispensed. 
 ([9]10)  A prescription order for a legend drug or controlled 
substance in Schedule III through V may be transferred up to the 
maximum refills permitted in accordance with 21 CFR 1306.22 
(2021)[by law] or by the prescriber by electronic transmission, if: 
 (a)  [ providing ]the pharmacies share a real-time, on[-]line 
database; 
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 (b)  [ provided that: 
 (a)  ]the information required to be on the transferred 
prescription has the same information [as ]described in Subsection 
R156-17b-612(5)(a) through (f); and 
 ([b]c)  pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy 
technicians, or pharmacy technician trainees, DMPs, and DMP 
designees electronically accessing the same prescription drug order 
records may electronically transfer prescription information if the 
data processing system has a mechanism to send a message to the 
transferring pharmacy containing the following information: 
 (i)  the fact that the prescription drug order was transferred; 
 (ii)  the unique identification number of the prescription 
drug order transferred; 
 (iii)  the name of the pharmacy to which it was transferred; 
and 
 (iv)  the date and time of the transfer. 
 
R156-17b-614a.  Operating Standards - Class A or Class B 
Pharmacy - General Operating Standards. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1), the 
following operating standards apply to Class A and Class B 
pharmacies, and may be supplemented or amended by additional 
standards [defined ]in this rule applicable to specific types of Class A 
and B pharmacies. 
 (1)  The general operating standards include: 
 (a)  A facility shall be well lighted, well ventilated, clean 
and sanitary. 
 (b)  A facility that transfers a drug from a manufacturer's or 
distributor's original container to another container shall have a sink 
with hot and cold culinary water separate and apart from restroom 
facilities.  This sink requirement does not apply to clean rooms where 
sterile products are prepared.  Clean rooms may not have sinks or 
floor drains. 
 (c)  Required equipment shall be clean and in good 
operating condition. 
 (d)  A facility shall be equipped to store prescription drugs 
and durable medical equipment: 
 (i)  in an orderly manner that permits clear identification, 
separation, and easy retrieval of products; and 
 (ii)  in an environment necessary to maintain the integrity 
of the product inventory. 
 (e)  A facility shall be equipped to permit practice within 
the standards and ethics of the profession as dictated by the usual and 
ordinary scope of practice conducted within that facility. 
 (f)  A facility shall be stocked with the quality and quantity 
of product necessary for the facility to meet its scope of practice in a 
manner consistent with the public  safety. 
 (g)  A facility that dispenses controlled substances shall be 
equipped with a security system that: 
 (i)  permits detection of entry at all times when the facility 
is closed; and 
 (ii)  provides notice of unauthorized entry to an individual. 
 (h)  A [facility]pharmacy department shall: 
 (i)  be equipped with a lock [on each entrance ]where drugs 
are stored; and 
 (ii)  be securely locked when the pharmacy department is 
closed. 
 (i)  A facility shall have a counseling area to allow for 
confidential patient counseling, if applicable. 
 (2)(a)  Prescription labels for compounded sterile and non-
sterile medications, when dispensed to the patient or patient's agent, 
shall include: 

 (i)  the minimum information required under Section 58-
17b-602; 
 (ii)  generic name; 
 (iii)  quantity or concentration of each active ingredient; 
and 
 (iv)  labeling for sterile preparation for parenteral use shall 
include: 
 (A)  the name of the diluent; 
 (B)  assigned compounding record or lot number; and 
 (C)  the phrase "compounded preparation." 
 (b)  The requirements described in Subsections (2)(a)(i) 
and (2)(a)(iv) shall not apply to a label on the container of a drug that 
a health care provider administers to a patient at: 
 (i)  a pharmaceutical administration facility; or 
 (ii)  a hospital licensed under Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 (3)  The temperature of the pharmacy shall be maintained 
within a range compatible with the proper storage of drugs.  If a 
refrigerator or freezer is necessary to properly store drugs at the 
pharmacy, the pharmacy shall keep a daily written or electronic log 
of the temperature of the refrigerator or freezer on days of operation. 
The pharmacy shall retain each log entry for at least three years. 
 (4)  A facility shall have current editions of the following 
reference publications in print or electronic format, that are readily 
available to and retrievable by facility personnel: 
 (a)  Title 58, Chapter 1, Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing Act; 
 (b)  Rule R156-1, General Rule of the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing; 
 (c)  Title 58, Chapter 17b, Pharmacy Practice Act; 
 (d)  Rule R156-17b, Utah Pharmacy Practice Act Rule; 
 (e)  Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances Act; 
 (f)  Rule R156-37, Utah Controlled Substances Act Rule; 
 (g)  Title 58, Chapter 37f, Controlled Substance Database 
Act; 
 (h)  R156-37f, Controlled Substance Database Act Rule; 
 (i)  [Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 21, Food and 
Drugs, Part 1300 to end]21 CFR 1300 et seq. (2021) or equivalent 
such as the USP DI Drug Reference Guides; 
 (j)  current [FDA Approved]FDA-Approved Drug 
Products; and 
 (k)  any other general drug references necessary to permit 
practice, as dictated by the usual and ordinary scope of practice 
conducted within that facility. 
 (5)(a)  A facility shall maintain a current list of licensed 
employees involved in the practice of pharmacy at the facility, that 
includes: 
 (i)  individual licensee names; 
 (ii)  license classifications; 
 (iii)  license numbers; and 
 (iv)  license expiration dates. 
 (b)  The list shall be readily retrievable for inspection by 
the Division, and may be maintained in paper or electronic form. 
 (6)  A pharmacy may not dispense a prescription drug or 
device to a patient unless a pharmacist or DMP is physically present 
and immediately available in the facility, or, for a remote dispensing 
pharmacy, physically present and immediately available in the 
facility or supervising through a telepharmacy system. 
 (7)  Only a licensed Utah pharmacist, DMP, or authorized 
[pharmacy ]personnel shall have access to the pharmacy when the 
pharmacy is closed. 
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 (8)  The facility or parent company shall maintain a record 
for [not less than]at least five years of the initials or identification 
codes that identify each dispensing pharmacist or DMP by name.  The 
initials or identification code shall be unique to ensure that each 
pharmacist or DMP can be identified; therefore identical initials or 
identification codes [shall]may not be used. 
 (9)  The pharmacy facility shall maintain: 
 (a)  copy 3 of DEA order form [(Form ]222[)] that has been 
properly dated, initialed, and filed; 
 (b)  [all ]copies of each unaccepted or defective order form; 
and 
 (c)  any attached statements or other documents. 
 (10)  If applicable, a hard copy of a power of attorney 
authorizing a pharmacist, DMP, or DMP designee to sign DEA order 
form[s (Form] 222[)] shall be available to the Division upon request. 
 (11)  A pharmacist, DMP, or other responsible individual 
shall verify that controlled substances are listed on the suppliers' 
invoices and were actually received, by clearly recording their initials 
and the actual date of receipt of the controlled substances. 
 (12)  The [pharmacy ]facility shall maintain a record of 
suppliers' credit memos for controlled substances. 
 (13)  A copy of the inventories required under Section 
R156-17b-605 shall be made available to the Division when 
requested. 
 (14)  The [pharmacy ]facility shall maintain hard copy 
reports of surrender or destruction of controlled substances and 
legend drugs submitted to appropriate state or federal agencies. 
 (15)  If the pharmacy does not store drugs in a locked 
cabinet and has a drop or false ceiling, the pharmacy's perimeter walls 
shall extend to the hard deck, or the pharmacy shall take other 
measures to prevent unauthorized entry into the pharmacy. 
 
R156-17b-614c.  Operating Standards - Class B - Pharmaceutical 
Administration Facility. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-102(44) and 58-
17b-601(1), the following [applies with respect]operating standards 
apply to prescription drugs [which]that are held, stored, or otherwise 
under the control of a pharmaceutical administration facility for 
administration to patients: 
 (1)  The licensed consulting pharmacist shall provide 
consultation on [all ]each aspect[s] of pharmacy services in the 
facility; establish a system of records of receipt and disposition of [all 
]controlled substances in sufficient detail to enable an accurate 
reconciliation; and determine that drug records are in order and that 
an account of all controlled substances is maintained and periodically 
reconciled. 
 (2)  Authorized destruction of [all ]prescription drugs shall 
be witnessed by the medical or nursing director or a designated 
physician, registered nurse or other licensed person employed in the 
facility and the consulting pharmacist or licensed pharmacy 
technician, and [must]shall be in compliance with 21 CFR 1317 
(2021)[DEA regulations]. 
 (3)  Prescriptions for patients in the facility [can]may be 
verbally requested by a licensed prescribing practitioner and may be 
entered as the prescribing practitioner's order; but the practitioner 
must personally sign the order in the facility record within 72 hours 
if a Schedule II controlled substance and within 30 days if any other 
prescription drug.  The prescribing practitioner's verbal order may be 
copied and forwarded to a pharmacy for dispensing and may serve as 
the pharmacy's record of the prescription order. 
 (4)  Prescriptions for controlled substances for patients in 
Class B pharmaceutical administration facilities shall be dispensed 

according to Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances Act, 
and Rule R156-37, Utah Controlled Substances Act Rules. 
 (5)  Requirements for emergency drug kits shall include: 
 (a)  an emergency drug kit may be used by pharmaceutical 
administration facilities. The emergency drug kit shall be considered 
to be a physical extension of the pharmacy supplying the emergency 
drug kit and shall [at all times ]remain under the ownership of that 
pharmacy; 
 (b)  the contents and quantity of drugs and supplies in the 
emergency drug kit shall be determined by the Medical Director or 
Director of Nursing of the pharmaceutical administration facility and 
the consulting pharmacist of the supplying pharmacy; 
 (c)  a copy of the approved list of contents shall be 
conspicuously posted on or near the kit; 
 (d)  the emergency kit shall be used only for bona fide 
emergencies and only when medications cannot be obtained from a 
pharmacy in a timely manner; 
 (e)  records documenting the receipt and removal of drugs 
in the emergency kit shall be maintained by the facility and the 
pharmacy; 
 (f)  the pharmacy shall be responsible for ensuring proper 
storage, security and accountability of the emergency kit and shall 
ensure that: 
 (i)  the emergency kit is stored in a locked area and is 
locked itself; and 
 (ii)  emergency kit drugs are accessible only to licensed 
physicians, physician assistants and nurses employed by the facility; 
 (g)  the contents of the emergency kit, the approved list of 
contents and [all ]related records shall be made freely available and 
open for inspection to appropriate representatives of the Division and 
the Utah Department of Health. 
 
R156-17b-621a.  Operating Standards - Pharmacist 
Administration of a Long-acting Injectable [Drug Therapy]and 
Naloxone - Training. 
 In accordance with Subsections 58-17b-502(1)(i) and 58-
17b-625(2): 
 (1)  Prior to engaging in the administration of a long-acting 
injectable drug pursuant to Section 58-17b-625, a pharmacist shall 
successfully complete: 
 (a)  current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification; and 
 (b)  a training program for administering long-acting 
injectables intramuscularly that is provided by an [ACPE 
accredited]ACPE-accredited provider. 
 (2)  An individual who engages in the administration of 
long-acting injectable drugs intramuscularly shall[: 
 (a) ] maintain documentation that they obtained their 
required training[ prior to any administration; and 
 (b)  for each renewal cycle after the initial training, 
successfully complete at least two hours of continuing education 
related to administering long-acting injectable drugs, in accordance 
with Section R156-17b-309]. 
 
R156-17b-627.  Operating Standards - Prescription of Drugs or 
Devices by a Pharmacist. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-17b-601(1) and 
Section 58-17b-627, a pharmacist from a Class A or Class B 
pharmacy may prescribe a prescription drug or device as follows: 
 (a)  Prior to prescribing, the pharmacist shall conduct a 
patient assessment that includes: 
 (i)  current health status; 
 (ii)  past medical history; 
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 (iii)  allergies; 
 (iv)  medication sensitivities; 
 (v)  rationale for care; 
 (vi)  current medication; and 
 (vii)  if the pharmacist should refer the patient to an 
appropriate health care provider or otherwise encourage the patient 
to seek further medical care. 
 (b)  The pharmacist shall follow the guidelines for 
prescribing health care providers established by: 
 (i)  the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; 
 (ii)  nationally accepted guidelines; and 
 (iii)  the Department of Health and the Division in 
collaboration with the Board, in the guidance documents 
incorporated by reference in Subsection (2). 
 (c)  The pharmacist shall comply with the requirements of 
Sections 58-17b-602 and 58-17b-609. 
 (d)  The pharmacist shall develop and implement an 
appropriate follow-up care plan with the patient that includes: 
 (i)  monitoring parameters for efficacy and safety; 
 (ii)  adverse reactions; and 
 (iii)  further medical care. 
 (e)(i)(A)  The pharmacist shall notify the patient's primary 
care or other health care provider about the prescription within five 
business days of the prescribing. 
 (B)  The prescription notification may be conveyed in 
writing, by electronic transmission, or by telephone. 
 (C)  If the patient does not have a primary care or other 
health care provider, the pharmacist shall provide the prescription 
notification to the patient. 
 (D)  The pharmacy shall maintain the prescription 
notification in the patient record for at least five years from the date 
of notification, in an immediately retrievable written or electronic 
format. 
 (ii)  Each prescription notification shall include the 
following: 
 (A)  prescribing pharmacist; 
 (B)  pharmacy name; 
 (C)  pharmacy phone number; 
 (D)  patient; 
 (E)  patient date of birth; 
 (F)  drug or device; 
 (G)  if dispensed, dispensed quantity; 
 (H)  directions for use; 
 (I)  refill; and 
 (J)  identity of the patient's primary care or other health care 
provider, if any. 
 (2)(a)  A pharmacist may prescribe drugs or devices under 
Subsection 58-17b-627(3)(a) as established in the following 
guidance documents posted on the Division's website at 
dopl.utah.gov/pharm: 
 (i)  Utah Guidance for Pre-Exposure and Post-Exposure 
Prophylaxis of HIV, adopted September 28, 2021; 
 (ii)  Utah Guidance for Self-Administered Hormonal 
Contraceptives, adopted September 28, 2021; 
 (iii)  Utah Guidance for Tobacco Cessation Products, 
adopted September 28, 2021; and 
 (iv)  Utah Guidance for Naloxone, adopted September 28, 
2021. 
 (b)  The Division incorporates by reference the guidance 
documents in Subsection (2)(a). 
 (3)  The Division in collaboration with the Board shall 
review the guidance documents in Subsection (2) on a biennial basis, 

in collaboration with the individuals identified in Subsection 58-17b-
627(4) and other persons as determined by the Division in 
collaboration with the Board. 
 (4)(a)  Beginning June 2022 and commencing annually 
thereafter, the Department of Health may submit to the Division a 
written proposal that includes: 
 (i)  in accordance with Subsection 58-17b-627(3)(a), 
designated public health concerns that the Department of Health has 
determined can be addressed through pharmacist prescribing of drugs 
or devices; and 
 (ii)  any recommendations for updates to the guidance 
documents in Subsection (2). 
 (b)  After receipt of the Department of Health's annual 
designation, the Division: 
 (i)  shall contact the Department of Health to review its 
proposal; and 
 (ii)  may review the rules made by the Division, including 
the guidance documents in Subsection (2), in accordance with 
Subsections 58-17b-627(3) and (4). 
 (5)  The Division shall review the guidance documents in 
Subsection (2) on a biennial basis, in collaboration with: 
 (a)  the Board; 
 (b)  the individuals identified in Subsection 58-17b-627(4); 
and 
 (c)  other persons as determined by the Division. 
 
KEY:  pharmacists, licensing, pharmacies 
Date of Last Change:  [March 11, 2021]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  September 5, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-17b-101; 
58-17b-601(1); 58-37-1; 58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-60b.  Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Governor Cox issued Executive Order No. 2021-1 which 
required a review of all regulated Occupations and 
Professions.  Based upon the Board's review, the Board 
proposes these amendments to this rule to reduce 
regulation that created barriers to working in the field, to 
clarify provisions regarding supervision, and to align 
provisions with national education standards for licensure.  
Additionally, in compliance with Executive Order No. 2021-
12 issued by Governor Cox on 05/06/2021, this filing 
further amends this rule by making nonsubstantive 
formatting changes throughout to facilitate compliance and 
enforcement and to make changes consistent with the 
Utah Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Section R156-60b-102 clarifies coursework identified in 
the rule as a deficiency and removes unnecessary 
language regarding supervision. 
 
Section R156-60b-302a amends the practicum 
supervision to align with national education requirements. 
 
Section R156-60b-302b amends this rule for clarity 
regarding supervision for a student in a doctorate program 
and further clarifies supervision. 
 
Section R156-60b-302d clarifies continuing education for 
a marriage and family therapy supervisor. 
 
Section R156-60b-502 amends unprofessional conduct to 
align with the American Association for Marriage and 
Family Therapy Code of Ethics. 
 
Additional nonsubstantive formatting changes are made 
throughout this rule to facilitate compliance and 
enforcement and to make changes consistent with the 
Utah Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
A rule hearing will be held before the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 
(Division)electronically only via Google Meet information 
below.  Join with Google Meet:  meet.google.com/qno-
uxfb-wih; or join by phone: (US) +1 475-328-0593 (PIN: 
732962552) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
The changes to Sections R156-60b-102, R156-60b-302a, 
and R156-60b-302b that reduce regulation and align 
provisions with national educational standards may result 
in a cost savings to agencies that are more able to employ 
licensees but calculating the savings specific to such state 
agencies is not possible because it will vary widely 
depending on the characteristics of each employer and 
employee.  The amendments to Section R156-60b-502 
defining violations with more particularity to align with the 
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Code of Ethics are expected to have zero net impact on 
state revenues or expenditures because these changes 
should not result in any additional complaints, 
investigations, or disciplinary actions or any additional 
licensing issues.  None of the remaining proposed 
changes are expected to impact state government 
revenues or expenditures because the changes merely 
update this rule to establish supervision and education 
standards that encompass current requirements and 
practices in the profession and make formatting changes 
for clarity. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These proposed amendments may impact businesses in 
the mental health industry who employ associate marriage 
and family therapists, associate marriage and family 
therapist externs, and marriage and family therapists, 
which may potentially include certain local government 
entities acting as businesses.  However, as described for 
Small Businesses, the Division estimates that these 
proposed amendments will have no impact on local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are approximately 743 small businesses in Utah 
with licensees engaged in the practice of mental health 
therapy and who may employ those engaged in the 
practice of mental health therapy, such as private or group 
practices, hospitals, or medical centers (North American 
Industry Classification System (NAICS) 621112, 621420, 
621330, 622210, 623220, 622310).  These proposed 
amendments may impact these small businesses.  
Specifically, the amendments to Section R156-60b-302a 
which amend the practicum supervision to a national 
standard for professionals who are learning proper 
techniques in a clinical setting.  However, although these 
amendments may result in a cost savings to such 
businesses who are able to more easily hire licensees, the 
savings is not measureable as it will depend on specific 
characteristics of each employer and employee.  The 
remaining amendments are not expected to impact small 
business as they are based on extensive collaboration 
with the Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Board to 
incorporate generally accepted professional standards 
common in the industry, and the changes merely update 
rules, clarify existing statutes, rules, and codify existing 
standards already adhered to in the industry. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are approximately 50 non-small businesses in Utah 
comprising of licensees engaged in the practice of mental 
health therapy who may employ those engaged in the 
practice of mental health therapy, such as private or group 
practices, hospitals, or medical centers (NAICS 621112, 
621420, 621330, 622210, 623220, 622310).  These 
proposed amendments may impact these non-small 
businesses.  Specifically, the amendments to Section 
R156-60b-302a which amend the practicum supervision to 
a national standard for professionals who are learning 
proper techniques in a clinical setting.  However, although 
these amendments may result in a cost savings to such 
businesses who are able to more easily hire licensees, the 
savings is not measurable as it will depend on specific 
characteristics of each employer and employee.  
Additionally, the estimated fiscal benefit to students 
described in Box 5E from a resulting reduction in tuition is 
not expected to cause a corresponding indirect fiscal cost 
to non-small business schools (NAICS 611310) as it 
should be offset by the cost savings to the schools from 
reduced supervision and monitoring.  The remaining 
amendments are not expected to impact small business 
as they are based on extensive collaboration with the 
Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Board to 
incorporate generally accepted professional standards 
common in the industry, and the changes merely update 
rules, clarify existing statutes, rules, and codify existing 
standards already adhered to in the industry. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendments to Sections R156-60b-102, R156-60b-
302a, and R156-60b-302b that clarify supervision and 
education standards, including amending practicum 
supervision requirements to align with national education 
requirements, are expected to result in an average $1,200 
reduction in tuition costs for a marriage and family therapy 
student who will be receiving supervised training through 
an educational practicum at a facility that engages in 
mental health.  The Division estimates that approximately 
100 marriage and family therapy students will benefit from 
this reduction in tuition costs per year, for a total direct 
fiscal benefit for these individuals per year ongoing of 
$120,000 per year. 
 
The amendments for Section R156-60b-302d will affect 
marriage and family therapist supervisors, who require 
continuing education to renew their license; however, 
these amendments are expected to have no fiscal impact 
for these persons because the amendments merely clarify 
existing standards and requirements.  
 
The amendment to Section R156-60b-502 defining a 
violation of unprofessional conduct is not expected to 
impact these other persons as it should not result in any 
additional investigations or disciplinary actions; the 

definition encompasses existing practices.  Further, the 
goal of defining unprofessional conduct is to provide a 
deterrent, such that there is $0 net impact on all parties 
involved and minimal occasions for noncompliance, so for 
the typical person the amendments would have no direct 
or indirect fiscal impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described above for other persons, there are no 
expected compliance costs for affected persons as the 
amendments will result in either a savings to affected 
persons or will have no measurable impact on affected 
persons. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The Division proposes amendments to the Marriage and 
Family Therapist Licensing Act Rule.  The Division has 
updated this rule to conform to Executive Order No. 2021-
1, and after the Board's review, the Board proposes these 
amendments to this rule to reduce regulations and align 
provisions with national education standards for licensure.  
Further, in compliance with Executive Order No. 2021-12 
issued by Governor Cox on 05/06/2021, this filing makes 
nonsubstantive formatting changes to comport to the Utah 
Administrative current Rulewriting Manual. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
There are approximately 743 small businesses in Utah 
with licensees engaged in the practice of mental health 
therapy and who may employ those engaged in the 
practice of mental health therapy, such as private or group 
practices, hospitals, or medical centers (NAICS 621112, 
621420, 621330, 622210, 623220, 622310).  These 
amendments may result in a cost savings to such 
businesses who are able to more easily hire licensees.  
The proposed rule is not expected to impact small 
business revenues or expenditures.  The Division 
estimates that approximately 100 marriage and family 
therapy students will benefit from this reduction in tuition 
costs per year, for a total direct fiscal benefit for these 
individuals per year ongoing of $120,000 per year.  
Further, no fiscal impact is expected for small businesses 
as the costs are either inestimable or there is no fiscal 
impact. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or more 
employees): 
There are approximately 50 non-small businesses in Utah 
comprising of licensees engaged in the practice of mental 
health therapy who may employ those engaged in the 
practice of mental health therapy, such as private or group 
practices, hospitals, or medical centers (NAICS 621112, 
621420, 621330, 622210, 623220, 622310).  The Division 
estimates that approximately 100 marriage and family 
therapy students will benefit from this reduction in tuition 
costs per year, for a total direct fiscal benefit for these 
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individuals per year ongoing of $120,000 per year.  
However, there will be no expected fiscal impact for non-
small businesses in Utah for the same rationale as 
described above for small business.  These costs are 
either inestimable, for the reasons stated above, or there 
is no fiscal impact. 
Margaret W. Busse, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$120,000 $120,000 $120,000 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$120,000 $120,000 $120,000 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

Section 58-60-301 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
12/20/2021 10:30 AM Rule hearing will be 

held before the  
Division 
electronically only  
via Google Meet  
(see information in  
box 4 above) 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Division Director 

Date: 11/18/2021 

 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-60b.  Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-60b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions [regarding marriage and 
family therapy ]in Title 58, Chapter[s] 1, Division of Occupational 
and Professional Licensing Act, and Chapter 60, Mental Health 
Professional Practice Act[as used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60], the 
following rule definitions supplement the statutory definitions: 
 (1)  "AAMFT" means the American Association for 
Marriage and Family Therapy. 
 (2)  "Deficiency," as used in Subsection 58-60-117(1)(d), 
means the educational degree upon which licensure to be based fails 
to include no more than a combined total of six semester or eight 
quarter hours in coursework listed in one or more of Subsections 
R156-60b-302a(20)(a) through (g)[: 
 (a)  theoretical foundations of marital and family therapy; 
 (b)  assessment and treatment in marriage and family 
therapy, including Diagnostic Statistical Manual (DSM); 
 (c)  human development and family studies that include 
ethnic minority issues, and gender issues including sexuality, sexual 
functioning, and sexual identity; 
 (d)  research methodology and data analysis; and 
 (e)  electives in marriage and family therapy]. 
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 (3)  "Direct supervision" is the same as defined under 
Subsection R156-60-102(4). 
 ([3]4)  "Directly related to marriage and family therapy", 
as used in Section R156-60b-304 and Subsection R156-60-105(1)(c), 
means that the continuing education course[ meets at least one of the 
following criteria]: 
 (a)  is approved by an international, national, or state 
marriage and family therapy association, national or state marriage 
and family therapy regulatory board, or a Commission on 
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education[COAMFTE] accredited program; or 
 (b)  title, objective, or official description of the course 
indicates instruction on relationships, couples, or families.[ 
 (4)  "Face to face supervision" as used in this rule includes 
both individual and group supervision. 
 (5)  "Group supervision" means, in accordance with 
Section 58-60-307, supervision between the supervisor and no more 
than six individuals who are lawfully engaged in training for the 
practice of mental health therapy, unless the supervisor is granted an 
exception in writing from the Division in collaboration with the 
Board. 
 (6)  "Individual supervision" means supervision between 
the supervisor and one or two supervisees.] 
 ([7]5)  "Practicum," as used in Subsection R156-60b-
302a(2)(g) means a clinical program of training at an accredited 
school [under general supervision ]in a setting other than a student's 
supervised private practice. 
 ([8]6)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
Chapter[s] 1, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
Act, and Chapter 60, Mental Health Professional Practice Act, is 
further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in 
Section R156-60b-502. 
 
R156-60b-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 60, Part 3, Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act. 
 
R156-60b-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education 
Requirements. 
 (1)  [Pursuant to]Under Subsection 58-60-305(1)([d]c), an 
applicant applying for licensure as a marriage and family therapist 
shall produce certified transcripts evidencing completion of: 
 (a)  a clinical master's or doctorate degree in marriage and 
family therapy, from a program accredited by the Commission on 
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education at the time 
the applicant obtained the education; or 
 (b)  a clinical master's degree in marriage and family 
therapy or equivalent, from an [program]institution accredited by a 
professional accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher 
Education Accreditation of the American Council on Education at the 
time the applicant obtained the education. 
 (2)  [A program]Certified transcripts evidencing 
completion of a degree under Subsection (1)(b) shall include the 
following: 
 (a)  six semester hours or nine quarter hours of course work 
in theoretical foundations of marital and family therapy; 
 (b)  nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours of course work 
in assessment and treatment in marriage and family therapy, 
including Diagnostic Statistical Manual[ (DSM)]; 

 (c)  six semester hours or nine quarter hours of course work 
in human development and family studies that include ethnic 
minority issues, and gender issues including sexuality, sexual 
functioning, and sexual identity; 
 (d)  three semester hours or four quarter hours in 
professional ethics; 
 (e)  three semester hours or four quarter hours in research 
methodology and data analysis; 
 (f)  three semester hours or four quarter hours in electives 
in marriage and family therapy; and 
 (g)  a clinical practicum under supervision [meeting the 
criteria of Sections R156-60b-302d and R156-60-302, which]that 
includes at least [600]400 hours as follows: 
 (i)  [at least ]100 hours of [face to face]direct supervision; 
and 
 (ii)  [at least 500]300 hours of mental health therapy under 
direct [contact hours of face to face ]supervised clinical practice, 
[that]with at least [250]150 hours in couple or family therapy with 
two or more clients participating.[shall be with couples or families 
who are physically present in the therapy room.] 
 
R156-60b-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Supervised 
Training Requirements. 
 (1)  [Pursuant to]Under Subsections 58-60-305(1)([e]d) 
and 58-60-305(1)([f]e) and Section R156-60-302, an applicant shall 
have completed a minimum of 4,000 hours of supervised marriage 
and family therapy training as follows: 
 (a)  in not less than two years; 
 (b)  while the applicant is engaged in mental health therapy 
as: 
 (i)  a W-2 employee of a public or private agency[ engaged 
in mental health therapy]; or 
 (ii)  a doctorate program student who is not paid as a 1099 
independent contractor; 
 (c)  under [the ]supervision [of a supervisor meeting the 
requirements of]that complies with Sections 58-60-307, [and Section 
]R156-60-302, and R156-60b-302d; 
 (d)  [in accordance with]under Subsections 58-60-
305(1)([e]d) and 58-60-305(1)([f]e), include a minimum of 1,000 
hours of supervised training in mental health therapy, with at least 
500 hours in couple or family therapy with two or more clients 
participating;[:] 
 (e)  count training hours completed in a group therapy 
session only if the applicant functioned as the primary therapist or 
co-therapist; and 
 ([i]f)  [at least ]100 hours [under]of direct supervision, 
spread uniformly and continually throughout supervised training[the 
training period; and 
 (ii)  at least 500 hours in couple or family therapy with two 
or more clients participating and at least one physically present; and 
 (e)  count training hours completed in a group therapy 
session only if the supervisee functions as the primary therapist]. 
 (2)  An applicant for licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist, who is not seeking licensure by endorsement based upon 
licensure in another jurisdiction, and who has completed [all or 
part]any of the marriage and family therapy training requirements 
outside the state, may receive credit for that training completed 
outside of the state if the applicant demonstrates, by evidence 
satisfactory to the Division and Board, that the training is equivalent 
to and meets the requirements for training under this [S]section and 
Subsections 58-60-305(1)([e]d) and 58-60-305(1)([f]e). 
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R156-60b-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
 [Pursuant to]Under Subsection 58-60-305(1)(f), an 
applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall pass 
the [Examination of ]Marital and Family Therapy National 
Examination administerd by the American [written for the 
]Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards. 
 
R156-60b-302d.  Qualifications to be a Marriage and Family 
Therapist Training Supervisor. 
 [Pursuant to]Under Subsection 58-60-307(1), to be 
qualified as a marriage and family therapist training supervisor under 
Subsections 58-60-305(1)([e]d) and ([f]e) and Section R156-60-302, 
an individual shall: 
 (1)  have been licensed in good standing as a marriage and 
family therapist, clinical mental health counselor, psychiatrist, 
psychologist, registered psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner, 
or clinical social worker for at least two consecutive years prior to 
beginning supervised training; 
 (2)  be currently licensed in good standing in the state that 
the training is being performed; 
 (3)(a)  be currently approved by AAMFT as a marriage and 
family therapist supervisor; 
 (b)  have successfully completed a supervision course in a 
Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education [(COAMFTE) ]accredited marriage and family therapy 
[(MFT) ]program at an accredited university; or 
 (c)  have successfully completed 20 clock hours of 
instruction sponsored by AAMFT or the Utah Association for 
Marriage and Family Therapy [(UAMFT) ]as follows: 
 (i)  four hours of review of models of [MFT]marriage and 
family therapy and supervision; 
 (ii)  eight hours of [MFT]marriage and family therapy 
supervision processes and practice; 
 (iii)  four hours of research on effective outcomes and 
processes of supervision; and 
 (iv)  four hours of AAMFT Code of Ethics, state rules, and 
case studies related to [MFT]marriage and family therapy 
supervision; 
 (4)(a)  enter into a written supervision contract with the 
supervisee [in accordance with Subsection]under Section R156-60-
302; and 
 (b)  [provide at least one hour of face to face supervision 
for each ten hours of client contact by the supervisee; 
 (c)  ]comply with each of the duties and responsibilities 
uniformly established in Section R156-60-302; and 
 (5)  for a supervisor meeting criteria in Subsection (3)(b) or 
(3)(c), in each two-year renewal cycle, complete four hours of the 
required 40 hours of continuing professional education in topics 
directly related to marriage and family therapy supervisor training. 
 
R156-60b-303.  Renewal Cycle - Procedures. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the 
renewal date for the two-year renewal cycle applicable to licenses 
under Title 58, Chapter 60, Mental Health Professional Practice Act, 
is established [by rule ]in [Section]Subsection R156-1-308a(1). 
 (2)  Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with 
Sections R156-1-308[c]b through R156-1-308l and R156-60b-306. 
 
R156-60b-304.  Continuing Education. 
 [In accordance with]Under Section 58-60-105, the 
continuing professional education requirements for a marriage and 

family therapist licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 3, Marriage 
and Family Therapist Licensing Act, are [established ]in Section 
R156-60-105. 
 
R156-60b-306.  License Reinstatement [Requirements]- Between 
Two Years and Five Years After Expiration. 
 [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-308(5)(ii)(B) 
and subject to [Section]Subsection R156-1-308g([4]3)(b), an 
applicant for reinstatement of a license that was active and in good 
standing at expiration, between two years and five years [more than 
two years ]after the date of expiration[the license expired] shall: 
 (1)  upon request, meet with the Board to evaluate the 
applicant's ability to safely and competently practice as a marriage 
and family therapist, and determine any additional education, 
experience, or examination requirements before reinstatement; 
 (2)  [upon the recommendation of]if recommended by the 
Board, establish a plan of supervision under an approved supervisor 
that may include up to 4,000 hours of marriage and family therapy 
and mental health therapy training as a marriage and family therapist-
temporary; 
 (3)  if recommended by the Board, pass the [Examination 
of ]Marital and Family Therapy National Examination administered 
by[of] the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Regulatory Boards[Therapists if the Board determines it necessary to 
demonstrate the applicant's ability to safely and competently practice 
as a marriage and family therapist]; and 
 (4)  as required by the Board, complete a minimum of 40 
hours of professional education in subjects determined by the Board[ 
as necessary to ensure the applicant's ability to safely and 
competently practice as a marriage and family therapist]. 
 
R156-60b-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision duties 
of a supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
[the requirements of ]Sections R156-60-302 and R156-60b-302d; 
 (2)  engaging in the supervised practice of mental health 
therapy if not in compliance with Sections R156-60-302 [or]and 
R156-60b-302b; 
 (3)  engaging in or aiding or abetting conduct or practices 
that are dishonest, deceptive or fraudulent; 
 (4)  engaging in or aiding or abetting deceptive or 
fraudulent billing practices; 
 (5)  failing to maintain professional boundaries with a client 
by entering into a dual or multiple relationship without ensuring that 
there has been no exploitation or injury to the client or to the client's 
immediate family;[within two years after the formal termination of 
therapy or last professional contact, with or without client consent, 
including engaging in any of the following: 
 (a)  dual or multiple relationships; or 
 (b)  romantic, intimate or sexual relationship;] 
 (6)  [if engaging in any activity or relationship referenced 
in Subsection (5) with a client after two years following the formal 
termination of therapy or last professional contact, failing to 
demonstrate that there has been no exploitation or injury to the client 
or to the client's immediate family]with or without client consent, 
failing to maintain professional boundaries with a client after the 
formal termination of therapy or last professional contact, including 
engaging in a romantic, intimate, or sexual relationship; 
 (7)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
client's relative or other individual with whom the client maintains a 
relationship, if that individual is especially vulnerable or susceptible 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

32 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 

to being disadvantaged because of the personal history, current 
mental status, or any condition that could reasonably be expected to 
place that individual at a disadvantage recognizing the power 
imbalance that exists or may exist between the marriage and family 
therapist and that individual; 
 (8)  physical contact with a client when there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the contact; 
 (9)  engaging in or aiding or abetting sexual harassment or 
any conduct that is exploitive or abusive with respect to a student, 
trainee, employee, or colleague with whom the licensee has 
supervisory or management responsibility; 
 (10)  failing to render impartial, objective, and informed 
services, recommendations or opinions with respect to custodial or 
parental rights, divorce, domestic relationships, adoptions, sanity, 
competency, mental health or any other determination concerning an 
individual's civil or legal rights; 
 (11)  exploiting a client for personal gain; 
 (12)  use of a professional client relationship to exploit a 
person that is known to have a personal relationship with a client for 
personal gain; 
 (13)  failing to maintain appropriate client records for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (14)  failing to obtain informed consent from the client or 
legal guardian before taping, recording or permitting third party 
observations of client care or records; 
 (15)  failure to cooperate with the Division during an 
investigation; [and]or 
 (16)  violating a provision of the Revised AAMFT Code of 
Ethics effective January 1, 2015, which is adopted and incorporated 
by reference. 
 
KEY:  licensing, therapists, marriage and family therapist 
Date of Last Change:  [November 10, 2020]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  June 13, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-60-301 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-301 Filing ID 
54174 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R307-301.  Utah and Weber Counties: Oxygenated 
Gasoline Program as a Contingency Measure 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
During the required five-year review analysis, the Division 
of Air Quality (DAQ) staff determined that this rule is no 
longer necessary.  This rule was originally adopted as a 
contingency measure for the carbon monoxide (CO) 
attainment and maintenance state implementation plan 
(SIP) revisions for Utah and Weber counties, last approved 
by the Air Quality Board in 2004.  This rule requires 
gasoline sold in Utah and Weber Counties between 
November 1 and the end of February to be oxygenated 
with a 2.7% minimum blend of ethanol, should the area 
violate the standard and the contingency be triggered. 
 
According to the U.S. Department of Energy, more than 
98% of gasoline sold in the United States today is 
oxygenated with a blend of 10% ethanol, exceeding the 
2.7% required by this rule.  Considering this, the DAQ in 
consultation with the Environmental Protection Agency, 
have determined that this rule is no longer required to meet 
any SIP requirements. 
 
Additionally, monitored data shows that neither area has 
exceeded the CO standard since 1993.  The DAQ 
continues to operate an air quality monitoring network in 
accordance with 40 CFR Part 58 to verify the continued 
attainment of the CO NAAQS, but as CO emissions 
continue to decline, it is unlikely that a violation of the 8-
Hour CO standard will occur. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 
A public hearing is set for Tuesday, 01/18/2022.  Further 
details may be found below.  The hearing will be cancelled 
should no request for one be made by Monday, 
01/17/2022 at 10:00am MST.  The final status of the public 
hearing will be posted on Monday, 01/17/2022, after 
10:00AM MST.  The status of the public hearing may be 
checked at the following website location under the 
corresponding rule. 
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https://deq.utah.gov/public-notices-archive/air-quality-
rule-plan-changes-open-public-comment 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget because the tax credit no longer exists. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments because this rulemaking is not applicable to 
them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to small 
businesses because the tax credit no longer exists. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to non-small 
businesses because the tax credit no longer exists. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings for persons other 
than small businesses, and non-small businesses, state, 
or local government because the tax credit no longer 
exists. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no anticipated compliance costs for affected 
persons.  
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
DAQ does not expect any measurable fiscal impact on 
businesses due to this rule repeal.  Kimberly D. Shelley, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kimberly D. Shelley, has reviewed 
and approved of this impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-2-101 Section 19-2-104  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 
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B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
01/18/2022 10:00 am https://meet.google.

com/zvn-ketw-ftd, or 
 1-513-828-0269.  
PIN 107-613-936 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 12/01/2021 

 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
[R307-301.  Utah and Weber Counties:  Oxygenated Gasoline 
Program As a Contingency Measure. 
R307-301-1.  Definitions. 
 The following additional definitions apply to R307-301. 
 "Averaging period" is the control period and means the 
period of time over which all gasoline sold or dispensed for use in a 
control area by any control area responsible party or blender control 
area responsible party must comply with the average oxygen content 
standard. 
 "Blender control area responsible party (blender CAR)" 
means a person who owns oxygenated gasoline which is sold or 
dispensed from a control area oxygenate blending installation. 
 "Blending Allowance" means the amount of oxygen a 
gasoline blend is allowed above its upper oxygen content limit.  Any 
gasoline blended under the provisions of 42 U.S.C. 7545(f)(1) 
addressing substantially similar fuels are permitted a blending 
allowance of 0.2% oxygen by weight.  Blending allowances are not 
given to gasoline blends granted a waiver by the Administrator under 
42 U.S.C. 7545(f)(4). 
 "Carrier" means any person who transports, stores or 
causes the transportation or storage of gasoline at any point in the 
gasoline distribution network, without taking title to or otherwise 
having ownership of the gasoline, and without altering the quality or 
quantity of the gasoline. 
 "Control area" means a geographic area in which only 
gasoline under the oxygenated gasoline program may be sold or 
dispensed during the control period. 
 "Control area oxygenate blending installation" means any 
installation or truck at which oxygenate is added to gasoline or 
gasoline blendstock which is intended for use in any control area, and 
at which the quality or quantity of the gasoline or gasoline blendstock 
is not otherwise altered, except through the addition of deposit-
control additives. 
 "Control area responsible party (CAR)" means a person 
who owns oxygenated gasoline which is sold or dispensed from a 
control area terminal. 

 "Control area terminal" means either a terminal which is 
capable of receiving gasoline in bulk, i.e., by pipeline, marine vessel 
or barge, or a terminal at which gasoline is altered either in quantity 
or quality, excluding the addition of deposit control additives, or both.  
Gasoline which is intended for use in any control area is sold or 
dispensed into trucks at these control area terminals. 
 "Control period" means November 1 through the last day 
of February, during which time only oxygenated gasoline may be sold 
and dispensed in any control area. 
 "Distributor" means any person who transports or stores or 
causes the transportation or storage of gasoline at any point between 
any gasoline refiner's installation and any retail outlet or wholesale 
purchaser-consumer's installation. A distributor is a blender CAR if 
the distributor alters the oxygen content of gasoline intended for use 
in any control area through the addition of one or more oxygenates, 
or lowers its oxygen content below the minimum oxygen content 
specified in R307-301-6. 
 "Gasoline" means any fuel sold for use in motor vehicles 
and motor vehicle engines, and commonly or commercially known 
or sold as gasoline. 
 "Gasoline blendstock" means a hydrocarbon material 
which by itself does not meet specifications for finished gasoline, but 
which can be blended with other components, including oxygenates, 
to produce a blended gasoline fully meeting the American Society for 
Testing and Materials (ASTM) or state specifications. 
 "Non-oxygenated gasoline" means any gasoline which 
does not meet the definition of oxygenated gasoline. 
 "Oxygen content of gasoline blends" means percentage of 
oxygen by weight contained in a gasoline blend, based upon the 
percent by volume of each type of oxygenate contained in the 
gasoline blend, excluding denaturants and other non-oxygen-
containing compounds.  All measurements shall be adjusted to 60 
degrees Fahrenheit. 
 "Oxygenate" means any substance, which when added to 
gasoline, increases the amount of oxygen in that gasoline blend.  
Lawful use of any combination of these substances requires that they 
be substantially similar as provided for under 42 U.S.C. 7545(f)(1), 
or be permitted under a waiver granted by the Administrator of the 
Environmental Protection Agency under the authority of 42 U.S.C. 
7545(f)(4). 
 "Oxygenate blender" means a person who owns, leases, 
operates, controls, or supervises a control area oxygenate blending 
installation. 
 "Oxygenated gasoline" means any gasoline which contains 
at least 2.0% oxygen by weight, or 2.6% oxygen by weight if the 
average oxygen content standard is 3.1%, that was produced through 
the addition of one or more oxygenates to a gasoline and has been 
included in the oxygenated gasoline program accounting by a control 
area responsible party or blender control area responsible party and 
which is intended to be sold or dispensed for use in any control area.  
Notwithstanding the foregoing, if the Board determines that the 
requirement of 2.0% oxygen by weight, or 2.6% oxygen by weight if 
the average oxygen content standard is 3.1%, will prevent or interfere 
with attainment of the PM10 National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
and the State requests and is granted a waiver from the Administrator 
of the Environmental Protection Agency under 42 U.S.C. 7545, the 
waiver amount granted by the Administrator of the Environmental 
Protection Agency shall apply.  Oxygenated gasoline containing lead 
is required to conform to the same waiver conditions or substantially 
similar ruling as unleaded gasoline as described in the definition of 
oxygenate. 
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 "Refiner" means any person who owns, leases, operates, 
controls, or supervises a refinery which produces gasoline for use in 
a control area during the applicable control period. 
 "Refinery" means a plant at which gasoline is produced. 
 "Reseller" means any person who purchases gasoline and 
resells or transfers it to a retailer or a wholesale purchaser-consumer. 
 "Retail outlet" means any establishment at which gasoline 
is sold or offered for sale to the ultimate consumer for use in motor 
vehicles. 
 "Retailer" means any person who owns, leases, operates, 
controls, or supervises a retail outlet. 
 "Terminal" means an installation at which gasoline is sold, 
or dispensed into trucks for transportation to retail outlets or 
wholesale purchaser-consumer installations. 
 "Trigger date" means the date on which is triggered the 
Contingency Action Level specified in Section IX.C.8.h or IX.C.6.e 
of the state implementation plan. 
 "Wholesale purchaser-consumer" means any organization 
that: 
 (1)  is an ultimate consumer of gasoline; 
 (2)  purchases or obtains gasoline from a supplier for use in 
motor vehicles; and 
 (3)  receives delivery of that product into a storage tank of 
at least 550-gallon capacity substantially under the control of that 
organization. 
 "Working day" means Monday through Friday, excluding 
observed federal and Utah state holidays. 
 
R307-301-2.  Applicability and Control Period Start Dates. 
 (1)  Unless waived under authority of 42 U.S.C. 
7545(m)(3) by the Administrator of the Environmental Protection 
Agency, R307-301 is applicable in Utah and Weber Counties. 
 (2)  The first control period for areas for which R307-301 
is applicable begins on November 1 following the trigger date for the 
county in which it has been triggered. 
 
R307-301-3.  Average Oxygen Content Standard. 
 (1)  All gasoline sold or dispensed during the control 
period, for use in each control area, by each CAR or blender CAR as 
defined in R307-301-1, shall be blended for each averaging period to 
contain an average oxygen content of not less than 2.7% oxygen by 
weight. 
 (2)  The averaging period over which all gasoline sold or 
dispensed in the control area is to be averaged shall be equal to the 
control period. 
 (3)  All gasoline, both leaded and unleaded, shall be 
blended in compliance with 40 CFR Part 79 (1991) - Registration of 
Fuels and Fuel Additives and 40 CFR Part 80 (1991) - Regulation of 
Fuels and Fuel Additives. 
 (4)  Any gasoline blended under 42 U.S.C. 7545(f)(1) 
dealing with substantially similar fuels must be blended in 
compliance with the criteria specified in the substantially similar 
ruling.  Any extra volume of oxygenate or oxygenates added to 
gasoline blended under a substantially similar ruling as provided for 
under 42 U.S.C. 7545(f)(1) in excess of the criteria specified in 42 
U.S.C. 7545(f)(1) may not be included in the compliance calculations 
specified in R307-301-5(2) and (3). 
 (5)  Any gasoline blended under a waiver granted by the 
Environmental Protection Agency under the provisions of 42 U.S.C. 
7545(f)(4) must be blended in compliance with the criteria specified 
in the appropriate waiver.  Gasoline blends waived to oxygen content 
above 2.7% oxygen by weight are not permitted a blending allowance 

for blending tolerance purposes.  Any extra volume of oxygenate in 
excess of the criteria specified in the appropriate waiver may not be 
included in the compliance calculations specified in R307-301-5(2) 
or (3). 
 (6)  Oxygen content shall be determined in accordance with 
R307-301-4. 
 
R307-301-4.  Sampling, Testing, and Oxygen Content 
Calculations. 
 (1)  For the purpose of determining compliance with the 
requirements of R307-301, the oxygen content of gasoline shall be 
determined by one or both of the two following methods. 
 (a)  Volumetric Method. Oxygen content may be calculated 
by the volumetric method specified in the Environmental Protection 
Agency Guidelines for Oxygenated Gasoline Credit Programs under 
Section 211(m) of the Clean Air Act as Amended - Supplementary 
Information - Oxygen Content Conversions, published in the Federal 
Register on October 20, 1992. 
 (b)  Chemical Analysis Method. 
 (i)  Use the sampling methodologies detailed in 40 CFR 
Part 80 (1993), Appendix D, to obtain a representative sample of the 
gasoline to be tested; 
 (ii)  Determine the oxygenate content of the sample by use 
of: 
 (A)  the test method specified in ASTM Designation 
D4815-93, Testing Procedures--Method--ASTM Standard Test 
Method for Determination of C1 to C4 Alcohols and MTBE in 
Gasoline by Gas Chromatography, 
 (B)  the test method specified in Appendix C of 
Environmental Protection Agency Guidelines for Oxygenated 
Gasoline Credit Programs under Section 211(m) of the Clean Air Act 
as Amended - Test Procedure Test for the Determination of 
Oxygenates in Gasoline as published in the Federal Register on 
October 20, 1992, or 
 (C)  an alternative test method approved by the director. 
 (iii).  Calculate the oxygen content of the gasoline sampled 
by multiplying the mass concentration of each oxygenate in the 
gasoline sampled by the oxygen molecular weight contribution of the 
oxygenate set forth in (3) below. 
 (2)  All volume measurements required in R307-301-4 shall 
be adjusted to 60 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (3)  For the purposes of R307-301, the oxygen molecular 
weight contributions and specific gravities of oxygenates currently 
approved for use in the United States by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency are the following: 
 

TABLE 
 

Specific Gravity and Weight Percent Oxygen of Common Oxygenates 
 
oxygenate                   weight fraction  specific gravity 
                                   oxygen    at 60 degrees F 
ethyl alcohol                      0.3473       0.7939 
normal propyl alcohol              0.2662       0.8080 
isopropyl alcohol                  0.2662       0.7899 
normal butyl alcohol               0.2158       0.8137 
isobutyl alcohol                   0.2158       0.8058 
secondary butyl alcohol            0.2158       0.8114 
tertiary butyl alcohol             0.2158       0.7922 
methyl tertiary-butyl ether (MTBE) 0.1815       0.7460 
tertiary amyl methyl ether (TAME)  0.1566       0.7752 
ethyl tertiary-butyl ether (ETBE)  0.1566       0.7452 
 

 (4)  Sampling, testing, and oxygen content calculation 
records shall be maintained for not less than two years after the end 
of each control period for which the information is required. 
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 (5)  Every refiner must determine the oxygen content of all 
gasoline produced for use in a control area by use of the methodology 
specified in (1) above.  Documentation shall include the percent 
oxygen by weight, each type of oxygenate, the purity of each 
oxygenate, and the percent oxygenate by volume for each oxygenate.  
If a CAR or blender CAR alters the oxygen content of a gasoline 
intended for use within a control area during a control period, the 
CAR or blender CAR must determine the oxygen content of the 
gasoline by use of the methodology specified in (1) above. 
 
R307-301-5.  Alternative Compliance Options. 
 (1)  Each CAR or blender CAR shall comply with the 
standard specified in R307-301-3 by means of the method set forth 
in either (2) or (3) below and shall specify which option will be used 
at the time of the registration required under R307-301-7. 
 (2)  Compliance calculation on average basis. 
 (a)  The CAR or blender CAR shall determine compliance 
with the standard specified in R307-301-3 for each averaging period 
and for each control area by: 
 (i)  Calculating the total volume of gasoline labeled as 
oxygenated that is sold or dispensed, not including volume dispensed 
or sold to another CAR or blender CAR, for use in the control area 
which is the sum of: 
 (A)  the volume of each separate batch or truckload of 
gasoline labeled as oxygenated that is sold or dispensed; 
 (B)  minus the volume of each separate batch or truckload 
of gasoline labeled as oxygenated that is sold or dispensed for use in 
a different control area; 
 (C)  minus the volume of each separate batch or truckload 
of gasoline labeled as oxygenated that is sold or dispensed for use in 
any non-control area. 
 (ii)  Calculating the required total oxygen credit units.  
Multiply the total volume in gallons of gasoline labeled as 
oxygenated that is sold or dispensed for use in the control area, as 
determined by (i) above, by the oxygen content standard specified in 
R307-301-3(1). 
 (iii)  Calculating the actual total oxygen credit units 
generated.  The actual total oxygen credit units generated is the sum 
of the volume of each batch or truckload of gasoline labeled as 
oxygenated that was sold or dispensed for use in the control area as 
determined by (i) above, multiplied by the actual oxygen content by 
weight percent associated with each batch or truckload.  If a batch or 
truckload of gasoline is blended under the substantially similar 
provisions of 42 U.S.C. 7545(f)(1) or under a waiver granted by the 
Environmental Protection Agency under the provisions of 42 U.S.C. 
7545(f)(4), any extra volume of oxygenate in excess of the 
substantially similar criteria including the blending tolerance of 0.2% 
oxygen by weight, or in excess of the appropriate waiver, cannot be 
included in the calculation of oxygen credit units. 
 (iv)  Calculating the adjusted actual total oxygen credit 
units.  The adjusted actual total oxygen content units is the sum of 
the actual total oxygen credit units generated, as determined by (iii) 
above; 
 (A)  plus the total oxygen credit units purchased, acquired 
through trade and received; and 
 (B)  minus the total oxygen credit units sold,given away 
and provided through trade. 
 (v)  Comparing the adjusted actual total oxygen credit units 
with the required total oxygen credit units.  If the adjusted actual total 
content oxygen credit units is greater than or equal to the required 
total oxygen credit units, then the standard in R307-301-3 is met.  If 
the adjusted actual total oxygen credit units is less than the required 

total oxygen credit units, then the purchase of oxygen credit units is 
required in order to achieve compliance. 
 (vi)  In transferring oxygen credit units, the transferor shall 
provide the transferee with information as to how the credits were 
calculated, including the volume and oxygen content by weight 
percent of the gasoline associated with the credits. 
 (b)  To determine the oxygen credit units associated with 
each batch or truck load of oxygenated gasoline sold or dispensed 
into the control area, use the running weighted oxygen content 
(RWOC) of the tank from which and at the time the batch or truckload 
was received (see (c) below).  In the case of batches or truckloads of 
gasoline to which oxygenate was added outside of the terminal 
storage tank from which it was received, use the weighted average of 
the RWOC and the oxygen content added as a result of the volume of 
the additional oxygenate added. 
 (c)  Running weighted oxygen content.  The RWOC 
accounts for the volume and oxygen content of all gasoline, including 
transfers to or from another CAR or blender CAR, which enters or 
leaves a terminal storage tank, and the oxygen contribution of all 
oxygenates which are added to the tank.  The RWOC must be 
calculated each time gasoline enters or leaves the tank or whenever 
oxygenates are added to the tank.  The RWOC is calculated weighing 
the following: 
 (i)  the volume and oxygen content by weight percent of the 
gasoline in the storage tank at the beginning of the averaging period; 
 (ii)  the volume and oxygen content by weight percent of 
gasoline entering the storage tank; 
 (iii)  the volume and oxygen content by weight percent of 
gasoline leaving the storage tank; and 
 (iv)  the volume, type, purity and oxygen content by weight 
percent of the oxygenates added to the storage tank. 
 (d)  Credit transfers.  Credits may be used in the compliance 
calculation in (2)(a)(i) above, provided that: 
 (i)  the credits are generated in the same control area as they 
are used, i.e., no credits may be transferred between nonattainment 
areas; 
 (ii)  the credits are generated in the same averaging period 
as they are used; 
 (iii)  the ownership of credits is transferred only between 
CARs or blender CARs registered under the averaging compliance 
option specified in R307-301-7; 
 (iv)  the credit transfer agreement is made no later than 30 
working days, as defined in R307-301-1, after the final day of the 
averaging period in which the credits are generated; and 
 (v)  the credits are properly created. 
 (e)  Improperly created credits. 
 (i)  No party may transfer any credits to the extent such a 
transfer would result in the transferor having a negative credit 
balance at the conclusion of the averaging period for which the 
credits were transferred.  Any credits transferred in violation of this 
paragraph are improperly created credits. 
 (ii)  Improperly created credits may not be used, regardless 
of a credit transferee's good faith belief that the transferee was 
receiving valid credits. 
 (3)  Compliance calculation on a per gallon basis.  Each 
gallon of gasoline sold or dispensed by a CAR or blender CAR for 
use within each control area during the averaging period as defined 
in R307-301-1 shall have an oxygen content of at least the average 
oxygen content standard specified in R307-301-3(1).  The maximum 
oxygen content which may be used to calculate compliance is the 
average oxygen content standard specified in R307-301-3.  In 
addition, the CAR or blender CAR is prohibited from selling, trading 
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or providing oxygen credits based on gasoline for which compliance 
is calculated under this alternative per-gallon method. 
 
R307-301-6.  Minimum Oxygen Content. 
 (1)  Any gasoline which is sold or dispensed by a CAR, 
blender CAR, carrier, distributor, or reseller for use within a control 
area, as defined in R307-301-1, during the control period, shall 
contain not less than 2.0% oxygen by weight, or 2.6% oxygen by 
weight if the average oxygen content standard is 3.1%, unless it is 
sold or dispensed to another registered CAR or blender CAR.  This 
requirement shall begin five working days, as defined in R307-301-
1, before the applicable control period and shall apply until the end 
of that period. 
 (2)  This requirement shall apply to all parties downstream 
of the CAR or blender CAR unless the gasoline will be sold or 
dispensed to another CAR or blender CAR.  Any gasoline which is 
offered for sale, sold or dispensed to an ultimate consumer within a 
control area during a control period, as defined in R307-301-1, shall 
not contain less than 2.0% oxygen by weight, or 2.6% oxygen by 
weight if the average oxygen content standard is 3.1%.  This 
requirement shall apply during the entire applicable control period. 
 (3)  Every refiner must determine the oxygen content of all 
gasoline produced by use of the methodologies described in R307-
301-4.  This determination shall include the oxygen content by 
weight percent, each type of oxygenate, and percent oxygenate by 
volume for each type of oxygenate. 
 (4)  Any gasoline sold or dispensed by a CAR or blender 
CAR for use within a control area and for which compliance is 
demonstrated using the method specified in (3) shall contain not less 
than the average oxygen content standard specified in R307-301-
3(1), unless the gasoline is sold or dispensed to another registered 
CAR or blender CAR. 
 
R307-301-7.  Registration. 
 (1)  All persons who sell or dispense gasoline directly or 
indirectly to persons who sell or dispense to ultimate consumers in a 
control area during a control period, including CARs, blender CARs, 
carriers, resellers, and distributors, shall petition the director for 
registration not less than one calendar month in advance of such sales 
or transfers of gasoline into the control area during the control period. 
 (2)  This petition for registration shall be on forms 
prescribed by the director and shall include the following 
information: 
 (a)  the name and business address of the CAR, blender 
CAR, carrier, reseller, or distributor; 
 (b)  in the case of a CAR, the address and physical location 
of each of the control area terminals from which the CAR operates; 
 (c)  in the case of a blender CAR, the address and physical 
location of each control area oxygenate blending installation which 
is owned, leased, operated, or controlled, or supervised by a blender 
CAR; 
 (d)  in the case of a carrier, distributor, or reseller, the names 
and addresses of retailers they supply; 
 (e)  the address and physical location where documents 
which are required to be retained by R307-301 shall be kept; and 
 (f)  in the case of a CAR or blender CAR, the compliance 
option chosen under provisions of R307-301-5 and a list of 
oxygenates which will be used. 
 (3)  If the registration information previously supplied by a 
registered party under the provisions of (2)(a) through (e) becomes 
incomplete or inaccurate, that party shall submit updated registration 
information to the director within 15 working days as defined in 

R307-301-1.  If the information required under (2)(f) is to change, 
the updated registration information must be submitted to the director 
before the change is made. 
 (4)  No person shall participate in the oxygenated gasoline 
program as a CAR, blender CAR, carrier, reseller, or distributor until 
such person has been notified by the director that such person has 
been registered as a CAR, blender CAR, carrier, reseller, or 
distributor.  Registration shall be valid for the time period specified 
by the director. The director shall issue each CAR, blender CAR, 
carrier, reseller, or distributor a unique identification number within 
one calendar month of the petition for registration. 
 
R307-301-8.  Recordkeeping. 
 (1)  Records.  All parties in the gasoline distribution 
network, as described below, shall maintain records containing 
compliance information enumerated or described below.  These 
records shall be retained by the regulated parties for a period of two 
years after the end of each control period for which the information 
is required. 
 (a)  Refiners.  Refiners shall, for each separate quantity of 
gasoline produced or imported for use in a control area during a 
control period, maintain records containing the following 
information: 
 (i)  results of the tests utilized to determine the types of 
oxygenates and percent by volume; 
 (ii)  percent oxygenate content by volume of each 
oxygenate; 
 (iii)  oxygen content by weight percent; 
 (iv)  purity of each oxygenate; 
 (v)  total volume of gasoline; and 
 (vi)  the name and address of the party to whom each 
separate quantity of oxygenated gasoline was sold or transferred. 
 (b)  Control area terminal operators.  Persons who own, 
lease, operate or control gasoline terminals which serve control areas, 
or any truck- or terminal-lessee who subleases any portion of a leased 
tank or terminal to other persons, shall maintain a copy of the transfer 
document for each batch or truckload of gasoline received, 
purchased, sold or dispensed, and shall maintain records containing 
the following information: 
 (i)  the owner of each batch of gasoline handled by each 
regulated installation if known, or the storage customer of record; 
 (ii)  volume of each batch or truckload of gasoline going 
into or out of the terminal; 
 (iii)  for all batches or truckloads of gasoline leaving the 
terminal, the RWOC of the batch or truckload; 
 (iv)  for each oxygenate, the type of oxygenate, purity if 
available, and percent oxygenate by volume; 
 (v)  oxygen content by weight percent of all batches or 
truckloads received at the terminal; 
 (vi)  destination county of each tank truck sale or batch of 
gasoline as declared by the purchaser of the gasoline, if the 
destination is within Utah or Weber County; 
 (vii)  the name and address of the party to whom the 
gasoline was sold or transferred and the date of the sale or transfer, 
and 
 (viii)  the results of the tests for oxygenates, if performed, 
of each sale or transfer, and who performed the tests. 
 (c)  CARs and blender CARs.  Each CAR must maintain 
records containing the information listed in (b) above.  Each CAR 
and blender CAR must maintain a copy of the transfer document for 
each shipment of gasoline received, purchased, sold or dispensed, as 
well as the records containing the following information: 
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 (i)  CAR or blender CAR identification number; 
 (ii)  the name and address of the person from whom each 
shipment of gasoline was received, and the date when it was received; 
 (iii)  data on each shipment of gasoline received, including: 
 (A)  the volume of each shipment; 
 (B)  type of oxygenate or oxygenates, and percentage by 
volume; and 
 (C)  oxygen content by weight percent; 
 (iv)  the volume of each receipt of bulk oxygenates; 
 (v)  the name and address of the parties from whom bulk 
oxygenate was received; 
 (vi)  the date and destination county of each sale of 
gasoline, if the destination is within Utah or Weber County; 
 (vii)  data on each shipment of gasoline sold or dispensed 
including: 
 (A)  the volume of each shipment; 
 (B)  type of each oxygenate, and percent by volume for 
each oxygenate, and 
 (C)  oxygen content by weight percent; 
 (viii)  documentation of the results of all tests done 
regarding the oxygen content of gasoline; 
 (ix)  the names, addresses and CAR or blender CAR 
identification numbers of the parties to whom any gasoline was sold 
or dispensed, and the dates of these transactions; and 
 (x)  in the case of CARs or blender CARs that elect to 
comply with the average oxygen content standard specified in R307-
301-3 by means of the compliance option specified in R307-301-5(2) 
must also maintain records containing the following information: 
 (A)  records supporting and demonstrating compliance 
with the averaging standard specified in R307-301-3; and 
 (B)  for any credits bought, sold, traded, or transferred, the 
dates of the transactions, the names, addresses and CAR or blender 
CAR identification numbers of the CARs and blender CARs 
involved in the individual transactions, and the amount of credits 
transferred.  Any credits transferred must be accompanied by a 
demonstration of how those credits were calculated.  Adequate 
documentation that both parties have agreed to all credit transfers 
within 30 working days, as defined in R307-301-1, following the 
close of the averaging period must be included. 
 (d)  Retailers and wholesale purchaser-consumers within a 
control area must maintain the following records: 
 (i)  the names, addresses and CAR, blender CAR, carrier, 
distributor, or reseller identification numbers of the parties from 
whom all shipments of gasoline were purchased or received, and the 
dates when they were received and for each shipment of gasoline 
bought, sold or transported: 
 (A)  the transfer document as specified in R307-301-8(3) 
and 
 (B)  a copy of each contract for delivery of oxygenated 
gasoline and 
 (ii)  data on every shipment of gasoline bought, sold or 
transported, including: 
 (A)  volume of each shipment; 
 (B) for each oxygenate, the type, percent by volume and 
purity (if available); 
 (C)  oxygen content by weight percent; and 
 (D)  destination county of each sale or shipment of 
gasoline, if the destination is within Utah or Weber County; and 
 (iii)  the name and telephone number of the person 
responsible for maintaining the records and the address where the 
records are located, if the location of the records is different from the 
station or outlet location. 

 (e)  Carriers, distributors, resellers, terminal operators, and 
oxygenate blenders must keep a copy of the transfer document for 
each truckload or shipment of gasoline received, obtained, 
purchased, sold or dispensed. 
 
R307-301-9.  Reports. 
 (1)  Each CAR or blender CAR that elects to comply with 
the average oxygen content standard specified in R307-301-3 by the 
compliance option specified in R307-301-5(2) shall submit a report 
to the director for each control period for each control area as defined 
in R307-301-1 reflecting the compliance information detailed in 
R307-301-5(2). 
 (2)  Each CAR or blender CAR that elects to comply with 
the average oxygen content standard specified in R307-301-3 shall 
submit a report to the director for each control period for each control 
area as defined in R307-301-1 reflecting the compliance information 
detailed in R307-301-5(3), including the volume of oxygenated 
gasoline sold or dispensed into each control area during the control 
period. 
 (3)  The report is due 30 working days, as defined in R307-
301-1, after the last day of the control period for which the 
information is required.  The report shall be filed using forms 
provided by the director. 
 
R307-301-10.  Transfer Documents. 
 Each time that physical custody or title of gasoline destined 
for a control area changes hands other than when gasoline is sold or 
dispensed for use in motor vehicles at a retail outlet or wholesale 
purchaser-consumer installation, the transferor shall provide to the 
transferee, in addition to, or as part of, normal bills of lading, 
invoices, etc., a document containing information regarding that 
shipment.  This document shall accompany every shipment of 
gasoline to a control area after it has been dispensed by a terminal, or 
the information shall be included in the normal paperwork which 
accompanies every shipment of gasoline.  The information shall 
legibly and conspicuously contain the following information: 
 (1)  the date of the transfer; 
 (2)  the name, address, and CAR, blender CAR, carrier, 
distributor, or reseller identification number, if applicable, of the 
transferor; 
 (3)  the name, address, and CAR, blender CAR, carrier, 
distributor, or reseller identification number, if applicable, of the 
transferee; 
 (4)  the volume of gasoline which is being transferred; 
 (5)  identification of the gasoline as oxygenated or, if non-
oxygenated, with a statement labeling it as "Non-oxygenated 
gasoline, not for sale to ultimate consumer in a control area during a 
control period"; 
 (6)  the location of the gasoline at the time of the transfer; 
 (7)  type of each oxygenate and percentage by volume for 
each oxygenate; 
 (8)  oxygen content by weight percent; and 
 (9)  for gasoline which is in the gasoline distribution 
network between the refinery or import installation and the control 
area terminal, for each oxygenate used, the type of oxygenate, its 
purity and percentage by volume and the oxygen content by weight 
percent. 
 
R307-301-11.  Prohibited Activities. 
 (1)  During the control period, no refiner, oxygenate 
blender, CAR, blender CAR, control area terminal operator, carrier, 
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distributor or reseller may manufacturer, sell, offer for sale, dispense, 
supply, offer for supply, store, transport, or cause the transport of: 
 (a)  gasoline which contains less than 2.0% oxygen by 
weight, or 2.6% oxygen by weight if the average oxygen content 
standard is 3.1% oxygen, for use during the control period, in a 
control area unless clearly marked documents accompany the 
gasoline labeling it as "Non-oxygenated gasoline, not for sale to 
ultimate consumer in a control area during a control period"; or 
 (b)  gasoline represented as oxygenated which has an 
oxygen content which is improperly stated in the documents which 
accompany such gasoline. 
 (2)  No retailer or wholesale purchaser-consumer may 
dispense, offer for sale, sell or store, for use during the control period, 
gasoline which contains less than 2.0% oxygen by weight, or 2.6% 
oxygen by weight if the average oxygen content standard is 3.1% in 
a control area. 
 (3)  No person may operate as a CAR or blender CAR or 
hold themselves out as such unless they have been properly registered 
by the director.  No CAR or blender CAR may offer for sale or store, 
sell, or dispense gasoline, to any person not registered as a CAR or 
blender CAR for use in a control area, unless: 
 (a)  the average oxygen content of the gasoline during the 
averaging period meets the standard established in R307-301-3; and 
 (b)  the gasoline contains at least 2.0% oxygen by weight, 
or 2.6% oxygen by weight if the average oxygen content standard is 
3.1% on a per-gallon basis. 
 (4)  For terminals which sell or dispense gasoline intended 
for use in a control area during a control period, the terminal owner 
or operator may not accept gasoline into the terminal unless: 
 (a)  transfer documentation containing the information 
specified in R307-301-8(3) accompanies the gasoline and 
 (b)  the terminal owner or operator conducts a quality 
assurance program to verify the accuracy of this information. 
 (5)  No person may sell or dispense non-oxygenated 
gasoline for use in any control area during the control period, unless: 
 (a)  the non-oxygenated gasoline is segregated from 
oxygenated gasoline; 
 (b)  clearly marked documents accompany the non-
oxygenated gasoline labeling it as "non-oxygenated gasoline, not for 
sale to ultimate consumer in a control area during a control period," 
and 
 (c)  the non-oxygenated gasoline is in fact not sold or 
dispensed to ultimate consumers during the control period in the 
control area. 
 (6)  No named person may fail to comply with the 
recordkeeping and reporting requirements contained in R307-301-8 
through 10. 
 (7)  No person may sell, dispense or transfer oxygenated 
gasoline, except for use by the ultimate consumer at a retail outlet or 
wholesale purchaser-consumer installation, without transfer 
documents which accurately contain the information required by 
R307-301-10). 
 (8)  Liability for violations of the prohibited activities. 
 (a)  Where the gasoline contained in any storage tank at any 
installation owned, leased, operated, controlled or supervised by any 
retailer, wholesale purchaser-consumer, distributor, reseller, carrier, 
refiner, or oxygenate blender is found in violation of the prohibitions 
described in (1)(a) or (2) above, the following persons shall be in 
violation: 
 (i)  the retailer, wholesale purchaser-consumer, distributor, 
reseller, carrier, refiner, or oxygenate blender who owns, leases, 

operates, controls or supervises the installation where the violation is 
found; and 
 (ii)  each oxygenate blender, distributor, reseller, and carrier 
who, downstream of the control area terminal, sold, offered for sale, 
dispensed, supplied, offered for supply, stored, transported, or caused 
the transportation of any gasoline which is in the storage tank 
containing gasoline found to be in violation. 
 (b)  Where the gasoline contained in any storage tank at any 
installation owned, leased, operated, controlled or supervised by any 
retailer, wholesale purchaser-consumer, distributor, reseller, carrier, 
refiner, or oxygenate blender is found in violation of the prohibitions 
described in (1)(b) or (2) above, the following persons shall be in 
violation: 
 (i)  the retailer, wholesale purchaser-consumer, distributor, 
reseller, carrier, refiner, or oxygenate blender who owns, leases, 
operates, controls or supervises the installation where the violation is 
found; and 
 (ii)  each refiner, oxygenate blender, distributor, reseller, 
and carrier who manufactured, imported, sold, offered for sale, 
dispensed, supplied, offered for supply, stored, transported, or caused 
the transportation of any gasoline which is in the storage tank 
containing gasoline found to be in violation. 
 (9)  Defenses for prohibited activities. 
 (a)  In any case in which a refiner, oxygenate blender, 
distributor, reseller or carrier would be in violation under (1) above, 
that person shall not be in violation if they can demonstrate that they 
meet all of the following: 
 (i)  that the violation was not caused by the regulated party 
or its employee or agent; 
 (ii)  that refiner, oxygenate blender, distributor, reseller or 
carrier possesses documents which should accompany the gasoline, 
which contain the information required by R307-301-8; and 
 (iii)  that refiner, oxygenate blender, distributor, reseller or 
carrier conducts a quality assurance sampling and testing program as 
described in (10) below. 
 (b)  In any case in which a retailer or wholesale purchaser-
consumer would be in violation under (2) above, the retailer or 
wholesale purchaser-consumer shall not be in violation if it can 
demonstrate that they meet all of the following: 
 (i)  that the violation was not caused by the regulated party 
or its employee or agent; and 
 (ii)  that the retailer or wholesale purchaser-consumer 
possess documents which should accompany the gasoline, which 
contain the information required by R307-301-8 through 10. 
 (c)  Where a violation is found at an installation which is 
operating under the corporate, trade or brand name of a refiner, that 
refiner must show, in addition to the defense elements required by (a) 
above, that the violation was caused by any of the following: 
 (i)  an act in violation of law (other than the Clean Air Act 
or R307-301), or an act of sabotage or vandalism, or 
 (ii)  the action of a reseller, distributor, oxygenate blender, 
carrier, or a retailer, or wholesale purchaser-consumer which is 
supplied by any of the persons listed in (a) above, in violation of a 
contractual undertaking imposed by the refiner designed to prevent 
such action, and despite periodic sampling and testing by the refiner 
to ensure compliance with such contractual obligation; or 
 (iii)  the action of any carrier or other distributor not subject 
to a contract with the refiner but engaged by the refiner for 
transportation of gasoline, despite specification or inspection of 
procedures and equipment by the refiner or periodic sampling and 
testing which are reasonably calculated to prevent such action. 
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 (d)  In R307-301-8 through 11, the term "was caused" 
means that the party must demonstrate by specific showings or by 
direct evidence, that the violation was caused or must have been 
caused by another. 
 (10)  Quality Assurance Program.  In order to demonstrate 
an acceptable quality assurance program, a party must conduct 
periodic sampling and testing to determine if the oxygenated gasoline 
has oxygen content which is consistent with the product transfer 
documentation. 
 
R307-301-12.  Labeling of Pumps. 
 (1)  Any person selling or dispensing oxygenated gasoline 
pursuant to R307-301 is required to label the fuel dispensing system 
with one of the following notices. 
 (a)  "The gasoline dispensed from this pump is oxygenated 
and will reduce carbon monoxide pollution from motor vehicles.  
This fuel contains up to (specify maximum percent by volume) 
(specific oxygenate or specific combination of oxygenates in 
concentrations of at least one percent)." 
 (b)  "The gasoline dispensed from this pump is oxygenated 
and will reduce carbon monoxide pollution from motor vehicles.  
This fuel contains up to (specify maximum percent by volume) 
(specific oxygenate or combination of oxygenates present in 
concentrations of at least one percent) from November 1 through 
February 29." 
 (2)  The label letters shall be block letters of no less than 
20-point type, at least 1/16 inch stroke (width of type), and of a color 
that contrasts with the label background color.  The label letters that 
specify maximum percent oxygenate by volume and that disclose the 
specific oxygenate shall be at least 1/2 inch in height, 1/16 inch stroke 
(width of type). 
 (3)  The label must be affixed to the upper one-half of the 
vertical surface of the pump on each side with gallonage and dollar 
amount meters from which gasoline can be dispensed and must be 
clearly readable to the public. 
 (4)  The retailer or wholesale purchaser-consumer shall be 
responsible for compliance with R307-301-12. 
 
R307-301-13.  Inspections. 
 Inspections of registered parties, control area retailers, 
refineries, control area terminals, oxygenate blenders and control 
area wholesale purchaser-consumers may include the following: 
 (1)  physical sampling, testing, and calculation of oxygen 
content of the gasoline as specified in R307-301-4; 
 (2)  review of documentation relating to the oxygenated 
gasoline program, including but not limited to records specified in 
R307-301-8; and 
 (3)  in the case of control area retailers and wholesale 
purchaser-consumers, verification that gasoline dispensing pumps 
are labeled in accordance with R307-301-12. 
 
R307-301-14.  Public and Industry Education Program. 
 The director shall provide to the affected public, 
mechanics, and industry information regarding the benefits of the 
program and other issues related to oxygenated gasoline. 
 
KEY:  air pollution control, motor vehicles, gasoline, petroleum 
Date of Last Change:  May 18, 2004 
Notice of Continuation:  January 27, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-101; 
19-2-104] 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R384-205 Filing ID 
54142 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Health Promotion 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Teresa Brechlin 385-

214-
5933 

tbrechlin@utah.gov 

Anna Fondario 385-
258-
8537 

afondario@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R384-205.  Opiate Overdose Outreach Pilot Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency is requesting to repeal this rule.  The program 
was funded for one year.  It no longer receives funds and 
is no longer active. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no fiscal impact to the state budget because the 
funding for this program was one time funding and the 
program is no longer active.  Please see Subsections 25-
55-107(4-7). 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no fiscal impact to the local governments because 
the funding for this program was one time funding and the 
program is no longer active.  Please see Subsections 25-
55-107(4-7). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no fiscal impact to small business because the 
funding for this program was one time funding and the 
program is no longer active.  Please see Subsections 25-
55-107(4-7). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no fiscal impact to non-small businesses because 
the funding for this program was one time funding and the 
program is no longer active.  Please see Subsections 25-
55-107(4-7). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no fiscal impact to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because the funding for this program 
was one time funding and the program is no longer active.  
Please see Subsections 25-55-107(4-7). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because the funding for this program was one time funding 
and the program is no longer active.  Please see 
Subsections 25-55-107(4-7). 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact on business unless it was the 
recipient of a prior grant of funds that no longer exist.  
Nathan Checketts, Interim Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of Health, 
Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 26, Chapter 55   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
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Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/21/2021 

 
R384.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Health Promotion. 
[R384-205.  Opiate Overdose Outreach Pilot Program. 
R384-205-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 This rule establishes procedures and application processes 
pursuant to Title 26 Chapter 55 Opiate Overdose Response Act for the 
Utah Department of Health.  Funding will provide for the purchase of 
an opiate antagonist; and/or for the cost of training on the proper 
administration of an opiate antagonist, in response to an opiate-related 
drug overdose event. 
 
R384-205-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The following definitions apply to this rule: 
 (a)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
Violence and Injury Prevention Program. 
 (b)  "Harm Reduction" means services that are aimed at 
reducing negative consequences associated with drug use. 
 (c)  "High risk populations" means tribal communities, rural 
communities, geographic areas and/or populations with significantly 
high rates of opioid abuse, misuse, or overdose. 
 (d)  "Opiate antagonist" is as defined in Subsection 26-55-
102(8). 
 
R384-205-3.  Application Process. 
 (1)  The Department will establish an Opiate Overdose 
Outreach grant application process and packet on an annual basis, as 
funding is available.  The packet will include the review schedule, 
submission details, review criteria and eligibility details.  The 
application packet with all details will be posted on the Utah Department 
of Health Violence and Injury Prevention Program website. 
 
R384-205-4.  Criteria for Application for the Opiate Overdose 
Outreach Pilot Program. 
 (1)  Eligible applicants may include organizations as defined 
in Subsection 26-55-107(1) which includes organizations that provide 
harm reduction services, and an overdose outreach provider as defined 
in Subsection 26-55-102(10)(e),(f)and(g). 
 (2)  Additional weight for awarding a grant will be given 
based on applicant's ability to demonstrate: 
 (a)  how they will serve high risk populations and 
 (b)  size of population served. 
 
R384-205-5.  Criteria for Funding Allocation. 
 (1)  The Department shall select a grant allocation committee.  
The committee will include five professionals from one or more of the 
following professions: 
 (a)  health care, 
 (b)  pharmacy, 
 (c)  public health, and 
 (d)  emergency medical services. 
 (2)  The committee will review the applications and assign a 
score based on the following evaluation criteria of the application: 
 (a)  Demonstrated burden and identified target audience, 
 (b)  Capacity to reach target audience, 

 (c)  Ability to operate under deadline, and 
 (d)  Detailed budget breakdown. 
 (3)  Allocation of funding for each application will be based 
upon the criteria outlined in the Scope of Services and Requirements 
section of the grant application. 
 (4)  Applicant's funding request shall meet the criteria stated 
in Subsection 26-55-107(7)(b)(ii) as it relates to training costs. 
 (5)  Funding will be allocated according to applicant scores. 
 
R384-205-6.  Report Requirements. 
 The grantee shall submit an annual report to the Department 
in accordance to Subsection 26-55-107(7)(d). 
 
R384-205-7.  Audit Provisions. 
 The grantee shall record, preserve, and make data available 
for audit by the Department.  The retention schedule shall be according 
to that specified in the application packet when applying for funding. 
 
KEY:  opioids, naloxone, overdoses, prescription drugs 
Date of Last Change:  November 7, 2016 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-55-107] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R386-703 Filing ID 
54145 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Epidemiology 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mark Jones 801-

538-
6191 

markejones@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R386-703.  Injury Reporting Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
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Executive Order No. 2021-12 requires state agencies to 
amend rules that are inconsistent with the current edition 
of the Utah Administrative Rulewriting Manual.  As 
required, the amendments to Rule R386-703 provide 
technical and conforming changes in accordance with 
Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Technical and conforming amendments were made to all 
sections of this rule to align with the Utah Administrative 
Rulewriting Manual and remove superfluous and repetitive 
language, including the following: 
 
In Section R386-703-2, definitions for technical terms that 
were defined in the body of the rule were moved to the 
definitions section. 
 
In Section R386-703-3, the list of reportable injuries was 
simplified due to the removal of definitions. 
 
Section R386-703-4 was broken into separate sections for 
their respective reporting requirements.  This created a 
new Section R386-703-5, a new Section R386-703-6, and 
a new Section R386-703-7. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact to businesses because it does 
not add any additional requirements or obligations.  
Nathan Checketts, Interim Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-30 Section 26-6-3  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/22/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/21/2021 

 
R386.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Epidemiology. 
R386-703.  Injury Reporting Rule. 
R386-703-1.  Purpose Statement. 
 (1)  The Injury Reporting Rule is adopted under authority 
of Sections 26-1-30 and 26-6-3. 
 (2)  The Injury Reporting Rule establishes an injury 
surveillance and reporting system for [major injuries occurring in 
Utah.  Injuries constitute a leading cause of death and disability in 
Utah and, therefore, pose an important risk to public health.]specified 
injuries with the intent of identifying the risk factors that contribute 
to the causes of injury that can be ameliorated, thereby reducing 
morbidity and mortality. 
[ (3)  Rule R386-703 is adopted with the intent of identifying 
causes of major injury which can be reduced or eliminated, thereby 
reducing morbidity and mortality.] 
 
R386-703-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Acute Traumatic Brain Injury" means a head injury of 
sufficient severity to cause death or to require admission to a health 
care facility.  Acute traumatic brain injuries may be associated with 
transient or persistent neurological dysfunction and may be 

diagnosed as brain concussions, brain contusions, or traumatic 
intracranial hemorrhages. 
 (2)  "Acute Spinal Cord Injury" means a traumatic injury to 
the contents of the spinal canal, spinal cord or cauda equina, which 
result in death or which result in transient or persistent neurological 
dysfunction of sufficient severity to require health care facility 
admission. 
 (3)  "Agency" means the health care facility or laboratory 
at which a reportable injury is treated or evaluated. 
 (4)  "Asphyxiation" means an injury which arises from 
atmospheric oxygen deprivation or from traumatic respiratory 
obstruction which results in death or is of sufficient severity to 
require admission to a health care facility. 
 (5)  "Authorized Health Personnel" means a person 
representing the Department or a local health department who is 
authorized to inspect medical records for injury investigations. 
 (6)  "Blunt Force Injury" means a blunt force injury which 
results in death or is of sufficient severity to require admission to a 
health care facility. 
 (7)  "Bureau of Emergency Medical Services" means the 
Bureau of Emergency Medical Services in the Division of Family 
Health and Preparedness in the Utah Department of Health. 
 (8)  "Bureau of Epidemiology" means the Bureau of 
Epidemiology in the Division of Disease Control and Prevention in 
the Utah Department of Health. 
 (9)  "Burns" means an injury resulting from acute thermal 
exposure or exposure to fire which results in death or is of sufficient 
severity to require admission to a health care facility. 
 (10)  "Chemical Poisoning" means any case where a person 
has an acute exposure to toxic chemical substances which result in 
death or require admission to a health care facility or emergency 
department evaluation. 
 (11)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (12)  "Drowning" and "Near Drowning" means a water 
immersion injury resulting in death and any water immersion injury 
of sufficient severity to require admission to a health care facility. 
 (13)  "Electrocution" means an injury arising from 
exposure to electricity which results in death or is of sufficient 
severity to require admission to a health care facility. 
 (14)  "Elevated Blood Lead" means any case where a 
person has a blood lead concentration equal to or greater than 5 
micrograms per deciliter. 
 (15)  "Health Care Facility" means the same as in Title 26, 
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 (16)  "Individual" means the medical examiner, head start 
coordinator, or licensed medical personnel of a private office who 
treated or evaluated a reportable injury. 
 ([1]17)  "Injury" [is defined as]means bodily damage 
resulting from exposure to physical agents [such as]including 
mechanical energy, thermal energy, ionizing radiation, or chemicals, 
or resulting from the deprivation of basic environmental 
requirements [such as]including oxygen or heat.[  Mechanical energy 
injuries include acceleration and deceleration injuries, blunt trauma, 
and penetrating wound injuries.] 
 (18)  "Injury Related to Substance Abuse" means any case 
of injury resulting in death or hospitalization and associated with 
alcohol or drug intoxication of any person involved in the injury 
occurrence. 
 (19)  "Intentional Injuries" means any case of suicide or 
attempted suicide resulting in admission to a health care facility or 
any case of homicide, attempted homicide, or battery resulting in 
hospitalization. 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26/Chapter21/26-21-S2.html?v=C26-21-S2_2020051220200512
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26/Chapter21/26-21-S2.html?v=C26-21-S2_2020051220200512
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 ([2]20)  "Laboratory" is defined as any clinical laboratory, 
physician office, [hospital]health care facility, health clinic, reference 
laboratory or any facility that performs blood lead analysis. 
 (21)  "Local health department" has the same meaning as 
defined in Section 26A-1-102. 
 (22)  "Local health officer" means the executive director of 
the jurisdictional local health department or a designated 
representative. 
 (23)  "Mechanical Energy Injuries" means acceleration and 
deceleration injuries, blunt trauma, and penetrating wound injuries. 
 (24)  "Office of Vital Records and Statistics" means the 
Office of Vital Records and Statistics in the Center for Health Data 
and Informatics in the Utah Department of Health. 
 (25)  "Traumatic Amputations" means a traumatic 
amputation of a limb or part of a limb which results in death or which 
require admission to a health care facility or emergency department 
treatment. 
 
R386-703-3.  Reportable Injuries. 
 ([3]1)  [The Utah Department of Health declares the 
following injuries to be of concern to the public's health.  Each case 
shall be reported to the Utah Department of Health as described in 
R386-703-4.]An individual or agency shall report the following to 
the Department as outlined in Section R386-703-4: 
[ (a)  Acute traumatic brain injury.  Reportable acute 
traumatic brain injuries include head injuries of sufficient severity to 
cause death or to require admission to a hospital.  Acute traumatic 
brain injuries may be associated with transient or persistent 
neurological dysfunction, and may be diagnosed as brain 
concussions, brain contusions, or traumatic intracranial hemorrhages. 
 (b)  Acute spinal cord injury.  Reportable acute spinal cord 
injuries include traumatic injuries to the contents of the spinal canal, 
spinal cord or cauda equina, which result in death or which result in 
transient or persistent neurological dysfunction of sufficient severity 
to require hospital admission. 
 (c)  Blunt force injury.  Reportable injuries include all blunt 
force injuries which result in death or which are of sufficient severity 
to require hospital admission. 
 (d)  Drowning and near drowning.  Reportable drownings 
and near drownings include all water immersion injuries resulting in 
death and other water immersion injuries of sufficient severity to 
require hospital admission. 
 (e)  Asphyxiation.  Reportable asphyxiations include 
injuries which arise from atmospheric oxygen deprivation or from 
traumatic respiratory obstruction which result in death or which are 
of sufficient severity to require hospital admission. 
 (f)  Burns.  Reportable burn injuries include injuries 
resulting from acute thermal exposure or exposure to fire which result 
in death or which are of sufficient severity to require hospital 
admission. 
 (g)  Electrocution.  Reportable electrocution injuries 
include injuries arising from exposure to electricity which result in 
death or which are of sufficient severity to require hospital admission. 
 (h)  Blood Lead.  All blood lead test results are reportable.  
Cases of elevated blood lead levels include all persons with blood 
lead concentrations equal to or greater than 5 micrograms per 
deciliter.  All cases shall be confirmed by either a venous or capillary 
blood sample, if the first sample was a capillary blood sample. 
 (i)  Chemical Poisoning.  Reportable cases of chemical 
poisoning include all persons with acute exposure to toxic chemical 
substances which result in death or which require hospital admission 
or hospital emergency department evaluation. Unintentional adverse 

health effects resulting from the use of pharmacological agents as 
prescribed by physicians do not require reporting under this rule. 
 (j)  Intentional Injuries.  Reportable intentional injuries 
include all cases of suicide or attempted suicide resulting in hospital 
admission and all cases of homicide, attempted homicide, or battery 
resulting in hospitalization. 
 (k)  Injuries Related to Substance Abuse.  Reportable 
injuries include all cases of injury resulting in death or hospitalization 
and associated with alcohol or drug intoxication of any person 
involved in the injury occurrence. 
 (l)  Traumatic Amputations.  Reportable amputations 
include traumatic amputations of a limb or part of a limb which result 
in death or which require hospital admission or hospital emergency 
department treatment.  Only amputations resulting in bone loss shall 
be reported.] 
 (a)  chemical poisoning, except unintentional adverse 
health effects resulting from the use of pharmacological agents as 
prescribed by a physician do not require reporting under this rule; 
 (b)  acute traumatic brain injury; 
 (c)  acute spinal cord injury; 
 (d)  blunt force injury; 
 (e)  drowning and near drowning; 
 (f)  asphyxiation; 
 (g)  burns; 
 (h)  electrocution; 
 (i)  intentional injuries; 
 (j)  injuries related to substance abuse; 
 (k)  traumatic amputation; and 
 (l)  each blood lead test result. 
 (2)  In the case of an elevated blood lead test result, if the 
initial test result was from a capillary blood sample the attending 
individual or agency shall confirm each case of elevated blood lead 
by either a venous or capillary blood sample. 
 
R386-703-4.  [Report Requirements.]Report Requirements: 
Blood Lead Testing Results. 
 (1)  [Reporting blood lead testing results. 
 (a)  Non-Case Report Contents.  Unless otherwise 
specified, each blood lead result ]When reporting a non-case blood 
lead result, the individual or agency taking the sample shall provide 
[at minimum ]the following information for the person being tested:[  
name, date of birth or age if date of birth is unknown, sex, zip code, 
and the individual or agency submitting the report.] 
 (a)  name; 
 (b)  date of birth or age if date of birth is unknown; 
 (c)  sex; 
 (d)  zip code; and 
 (e)  the individual or agency submitting the report. 
 ([b]2)  [Case Report Contents.  Unless otherwise specified, 
each injury report ]When reporting a case of elevated blood lead the 
individual or agency taking the sample shall provide the following 
information with each injury report pertaining to the injured person:[  
name, date of birth or age if date of birth is unknown, sex, address of 
residence, date of injury, type of injury, external cause of injury, 
locale of injury, intentionality, relation of injury to occupation, 
disposition of the injured person, and the individual or agency 
submitting the report.  A standard report format has been adopted and 
shall be supplied to reporting sources by the Department of Health 
upon request.] 
 (a)  name; 
 (b)  date of birth or age if date of birth is unknown; 
 (c)  sex; 
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 (d)  address of residence; 
 (e)  date of injury; 
 (f)  type of injury; 
 (g)  external cause of injury; 
 (h)  locale of injury; 
 (i)  intentionality; 
 (j)  relation of injury to occupation; 
 (k)  disposition of the injured person; and 
 (l)  the name of the individual or agency submitting the 
report. 
 (3)  The Department shall adopt a standard report format 
which may be supplied to reporting sources upon request. 
 
R386-703-5.  Report Requirements: Agencies or Individuals 
Required to Report Injuries. 
 [(2)  Agencies or Individuals Required to Report Injuries.  
A reportable injury evaluated or treated at a hospital shall be reported 
by that hospital.  Reportable injuries not evaluated at a hospital shall 
be reported by the involved physician, nurse, other health care 
practitioner, medical examiner, head start health coordinator or 
laboratory administrator.]Each individual or agency treating or 
evaluating a reportable injury shall report the injury as required in 
Sections R386-703-3 through R386-703-7. 
 
R386-702-6.  Report Requirements: Time Requirements. 
 [(3)  Time Requirements.  Persons]An individual or agency 
required to report a reportable injury shall submit [their ]the report[s] 
[to the local health department or the Utah Department of Health 
]within 60 days of the time of diagnosis or recognition of injury.  In 
the event of an unusual or excessive occurrence of injuries [which 
may arise from a continuing or immediate threat to the public's 
health, persons]an individual or agency required to report shall 
immediately report by telephone to the local health officer or to the 
Utah Department of Health. 
 
R386-703-7.  Report Requirements: Report Destinations. 
 ([4]1)  [Case Report Destinations.  Each case of injury shall 
be reported ]Except in (a), (b), and (c), an individual or agency shall 
report a reportable injury to the Bureau of Epidemiology [Utah 
Department of Health ]or to the local health department responsible 
for the geographic area where the injury occurred. 
[ (a)  The local health officer shall forward all original 
reports to the Utah Department of Health.  Local health departments 
may maintain copies of these reports. 
 (b)  Except as noted in R386-703-4(4)(c), (d) and (e), case 
reports shall be sent to the Bureau of Epidemiology of the Utah 
Department of Health.] 
 ([c]a)  [In fatal cases]When a case results in death, 
[submission of completed death certificates to the Bureau of Vital 
Records fulfills reporting requirements.]an individual or agency 
reporting a reportable injury may submit a completed death 
certificate to the Office of Vital Records and Statistics in lieu of 
reporting to the Bureau of Epidemiology. 
 ([d]b)  In the case[s] where an injury is evaluated in 
[hospital emergency departments]an emergency department of a 
health care facility, [submission of properly completed hospital 
emergency department logs to the Bureau of Emergency Medical 
Services will fulfill reporting requirements, provided that the records 
are submitted through an electronic medium in a computer database 
format acceptable to the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.]the 
health care facility may, in lieu of reporting to the Bureau of 
Epidemiology, submit a complete emergency department log to the 

Bureau of Emergency Medical Services if the records are submitted 
through an electronic medium and format acceptable to the Bureau 
of Emergency Medical Services. 
 ([e]c)  In the case[s] where a reportable [injuries]injury 
listed in Section R386-703-3[ are] is reported under the requirements 
of the Utah Health Data Authority Act, 26-33a[, the data supplier may 
notify the Utah Department of Health in writing that information 
relating to individuals with a reportable injury will be supplied to the 
Bureau of Epidemiology before the identifying information is 
removed from the data file.  Any data provided in this manner fulfills 
reporting requirements.  If permission is not granted by the data 
supplier, duplicate reporting is required.], the individual or agency 
may: 
 (i)  grant permission to the Department in writing that 
information relating to a case with a reportable injury may be 
supplied to the Bureau of Epidemiology before the identifying 
information is removed from the report; or 
 (ii)  report the injury both in accordance with the Utah 
Health Data Authority Act, 26-33a, and to the Bureau of 
Epidemiology. 
 (2)  The local health officer shall forward each original 
report to the Bureau of Epidemiology.  The local health department 
may maintain copies of these reports. 
 
R386-703-[5]8.  Special Investigations of Injury. 
 (1)  The [Utah Department of Health]Department and local 
health [departments]officer may conduct epidemiologic 
investigations [of injury occurrence.  The Utah Department of Health 
and local health departments may collect]including the collection of 
additional information pertaining to risk factors, medical condition, 
and circumstances of an injury. 
 (2)  [Hospitals and other health care providers]A individual 
or agency required to submit reports in Section R386-703(5) shall, 
upon request by the Department and the local health officer, provide 
authorized health personnel the [occasion]authority to inspect 
medical records of reportable injuries. 
 (3)  The Utah Department of Transportation, Utah 
Industrial Commission, Utah Department of Public Safety, and local 
public safety agencies shall make available to authorized health 
personnel information on reportable injuries. 
 
R386-703-[6]9.  Confidentiality of Reports. 
 [(1)  All]Each report[s] [herein ]required in Section R386-
703-3 [are]is confidential and [are]is not open to public inspection.  
The Department shall maintain the confidentiality of personal 
information obtained under this rule[ shall be maintained] according 
to [the provisions of ]Sections 26-6-27 through 26-6-30.  Nothing in 
this rule[, however,] precludes the discussion of case information 
with the attending [physician or public health workers]individual, 
agency, or authorized health personnel. 
 
R386-703-[7]10.  Penalties. 
 [(1)  ]Enforcement provisions and penalties for the 
violation or for the enforcement of public health rules, including [this 
Injury Reporting Rule]Rule R386-703, are prescribed under Sections 
26-23-3 through 26-23-6. 
 
KEY:  [rules and procedures, injuries]report, injury, blood lead 
Date of Last Change:  2022[August 23, 2017] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 31, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-30 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R392-300 Filing ID 
54166 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health, Disease Control and 

Prevention, Environmental Services 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142101 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2101 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman 801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R392-300.  Recreation Camp Sanitation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Executive Order No. 2021-12 requires state agencies to 
amend rules that are inconsistent with the current edition 
of the Administrative Rulewriting Manual.  As required, the 
amendments to Rule R392-300 provide technical and 
conforming changes in accordance with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Technical and conforming amendments were made to all 
sections of this rule to align with the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah and remove superfluous and repetitive language, 
including the following: 
 
Tables 1, 2, and 3 were reformatted. 
 
A new Section R392-300-16 was added to include a 
severability clause. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact on business because the 
changes do not affect existing business operations.  
Nathan Checketts, Interim Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-15-2 Subsection 

26-1-30(23) 
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2021 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2021 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.  To make this rule effective, the agency must 
submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 

Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 12/01/2021 

 
R392.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental 
Services. 
R392-300.  Recreation Camp Sanitation. 
R392-300-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized under Sections 26-1-5, [26-1-
30(23), and ]26-15-2, and Subsection 26-1-30(23). 
 (2)  This rule establishes definitions; sets standards for health, 
safety, and welfare of individuals and for the prevention of the spread of 
disease in or from a recreational camp. 
 
R392-300-2.  Applicability. 
 [This](1)  Except as provided in Subsection (2), this [rule 
applies to any person who owns or operates a camp in Utah, unless 
specifically exempted.  This ]rule applies to the repair, maintenance, use, 
operation, and occupancy of any camp[s] or campsite[s] designed, 
intended for use, or otherwise used for temporary human habitation[ in 
Utah. This rule does not apply to primitive or backcountry camping]. 
 (2)  This rule does not apply to primitive or back-country 
camping. 
 
R392-300-3.  Definitions. 
 For the purposes of this rule[, the following terms, phrases, 
and words shall have the meanings herein expressed]: 
 (1)  "Camp" means any day-use area, primitive camp, modern 
camp, semi-developed, or semi-primitive campground. 
 (2)  "Day-use area" means an area in which human occupation 
is limited specifically to day[ ]-use, and does not include overnight 
sleeping accommodations[.  A day-use area may include ] including any 
parcel or tract of land designated as a recreation park, picnic ground[s], 
or recreational area located within the confines of an organized 
recreation camp. 
 (3)  "Local health officer" means the [health officer of the 
local health department having jurisdiction, or designated 
representative.]executive director of the jurisdictional local health 
department or a designated representative. 
 (4)  "Modern camp" means a campground of two or more 
campsites accessible by any type of vehicular traffic, and having 
permanent buildings for sleeping, a potable water supply under pressure, 
and food service facilities.  Modern camps may be operated on a 
seasonal or short-term basis, and may include privately owned 
campgrounds such as youth camps, boy or girl scout camps, mixed-age 
group camps, summer camps, athletic camps, family group camps, or 
camps that are operated and maintained under the guidance, supervision 
or auspices of religious, public and private educational, and community 
service organizations. 
 (5)  "Operator" means a person with ownership or overall 
responsibility for managing or operating a camp[ in the State of Utah]. 
 (6)  "Plumbing Code" means International Plumbing Code as 
incorporated and amended in Title 15A, State Construction and Fire 
Codes Act. 
 (7)  "Primitive" or "Back-country" means camping in a 
completely naturalized wilderness location that is in no way 
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preconditioned for camping, and where no services or amenities are 
provided to the camper. 
 (8)  "Service building" means a permanent structure located 
within a camp that contains toilet, hand sink, or bathing facilities for use 
by recreation camp occupants. 
 (9)  "Semi-developed" means a campground of two or more 
campsites where potable water services are made available.  These 
campsites are accessible by any type of vehicular traffic and are not 
furnished with permanent sleeping or culinary buildings. Roads, trails, 
and campsites are defined, and basic facilities such as [(]toilets or 
privies, tables, fire pits or tent pads[)] are provided.  These camps 
include state forest campgrounds, privately owned campgrounds, and 
youth camps. 
 (10)  "Semi-primitive" means a campground where potable 
water services are not available.  Rudimentary facilities including vault 
privies or earthen pit privies and fire pits are present. 
 (11)  "Wastewater" means a discharge[s] from [all ]a 
plumbing facility[ies], including[,] a rest room[s], or kitchen[, and] or 
laundry fixture[s] either separately or in combination. 
 
R392-300-4.  General. 
 (1)  This rule does not require a construction change in any 
portion of a camp if the camp was in compliance with the law in effect 
[at the time]when the camp was constructed[, except as in R392-300-
4(1)(a). 
 (a)  The], except the local health officer may require 
construction changes if it is determined the camp or portion thereof is 
dangerous, unsafe, unsanitary, or a nuisance or menace to life, health, or 
property. 
 (2)  The operator shall [carry out the provisions of]ensure 
compliance with this rule. 
[ (3)  Severability - If any provision of this code, or its 
application to any person or circumstance is declared invalid, the 
application of such provision to other person or circumstances, and the 
remainder of this code, shall not be affected thereby.] 
 ([4]3)  The operator shall comply with [all ]applicable 
building, zoning, electrical, [health,]and fire codes, and [all ]local 
ordinances. 
 ([5]4)  Campsites, including day-use areas, shall be 
constructed to provide adequate surface drainage, and shall be isolated 
from any existing or potential public health hazard or nuisance. 
 
R392-300-5.  Water Supply. 
 (1)  [Potable]Each potable water supply system[s] for use by 
[public lodging]camp occupants shall be designed, installed, and 
operated according to the requirements set forth by: 
 (a)  Plumbing Code; 
 (b)  [T]the Utah Department of Environmental Quality, 
Division of Drinking Water under Title R309 Drinking Water; and 
 (c)  local health department regulations. 
 (2)(a)  The operator shall ensure that each day-use area and 
modern or semi-developed camp is provided with potable water. 
 ([a]b)  Where individual water connections are not provided 
to camp sites, common-use water faucets shall be accessible to camp 
occupants, and located not more than 300 feet from any camp site. 
 ([b]c)  A threaded spigot is prohibited on any water faucet 
providing potable water to a camp. 
 ([c]d)  The operator shall ensure that the area immediately 
around a water faucet [(i.e. spigot)]or spigot is designed to promote 
surface drainage by using a constructed drain system such as a gravel 
pit, subsurface drywell, French drain, or seepage trench.  The operator 

shall prevent water in this area from flowing into traffic areas and 
surface waters, or from pooling, standing, or becoming stagnant. 
 (3)  The operator may be required to sample any water 
system[s] operated on a seasonal basis for bacteriologic analysis, as 
determined by the local health officer. 
 (4)  When a semi-primitive camp is provided with potable 
water, the operator shall comply with [all]the requirements of [R392-
300-5]this section. 
 
R392-300-6.  Wastewater Disposal Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall make sewer service available to any 
modern camp or semi-developed camp. 
 ([2]b)  Sewer systems for use by camp occupants shall be 
designed, installed, and operated according to the requirements set forth 
by: 
 ([a]i)  Plumbing Code; 
 ([b]ii)  [The]the Utah Department of Environmental Quality, 
Division of Water Quality under Title R317, Water Quality; and 
 ([c]iii)  local health department regulations. 
 ([3]c)  [All w]Wastewater shall be discharged to a public 
sanitary sewer system when[ever] practicable.[ 
 (a)]  Where connection to a public sewer is not practicable, 
wastewater shall be discharged into an approved wastewater disposal 
system meeting the requirements of Title R317,[ Environmental 
Quality,] Water Quality, and local health department regulations. 
 ([b]d)  Before commencing construction or alteration, 
[The]the operator shall submit to the local health department[ all] 
required plans for the construction or alteration of a wastewater disposal 
system in accordance with Title R317, Water Quality[ prior to 
commencing construction or alteration]. 
 ([4]e)  Sanitary vault privies or earthen pit privies shall be 
located, constructed, and maintained according to the requirements of 
Rule R317-560 and local health department regulation in such a manner 
that: 
 ([a]i)  users do not contact waste matter deposited; 
 ([b]ii)  access to the privy interior or vault is minimized for 
flies, insects, rats, and other animals; 
 ([c]iii)  surface or ground water cannot enter the vault or pit, 
either as runoff or as flood water; 
 ([d]iv)  the waste material in the privy cannot contaminate a 
water supply, stream, or body of water; and 
 ([e]v)  odors are minimized both inside and outside the privy 
structure. 
 ([5]2)  The operator shall take measures to ensure that 
campers do not defecate or urinate or otherwise dispose of human waste 
except at designated privies or toilet facilities. 
 
R392-300-7.  Required Plumbing - Modern Camps. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall ensure that [The]the minimum 
number of plumbing fixtures[ to be provided for modern camps] are 
provided to each modern camp in a service building according to Table 
1. 
 (b)  Where a camp is not used exclusively by one gender, the 
number of fixtures shall be based on 50%[ percent] of the total number 
of occupants being male and 50%[ percent] being female[, except where 
the camp is used exclusively by one gender, and shall be calculated from 
Table I]. 
 ([a]2)  Showers and sinks shall be provided with hot and cold 
potable water. 
[ 
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TABLE I 
Required Minimum Plumbing Fixtures For Modern Camps 

 
Plumbing Fixtures    Ratio of Plumbing Fixtures 
                     For Number of Camp Occupants 
 
                     Males     Females   Both Sexes 
 
Toilets              1:40*      1:25*       -- 
Sinks                1:35*      1:35* 
Showers              1:35*      1:35* 
Drinking 
  Fountains             --        --       1:300* 
Service Sink            --        --       1 per service building 
Potable Water Faucet    --        --       1 per service building 
 
*Or fraction thereof] 
 

 ([2]3)  [S]A sink[s] shall be located either in the same room 
as each toilet[s], or immediately adjacent to the service building. 
 ([3]4)  [U]For any toilet room intended to be used by males 
only, a urinal[s] may be substituted for a toilet for up to half of the 
required number of toilets [for males, provided]as long as the urinal is 
installed [in addition to a toilet at ]in the same location as the toilets. 
 ([4]5)  A [S]service building[s] shall be located not less than 
15 feet and not more than 300 feet from any living and camping space[s] 
served, unless integrated into a permanent building at a modern camp. 
 ([5]6)  Soap and toilet tissue in a suitable dispenser[s], and a 
waste receptacle[s] with a lid[s] shall be provided in each service 
building. 
 ([6]7)  Clean individual disposable towels, or other alternate 
hand drying method approved by the local health officer, shall be 
provided at each sink.[  Alternate hand drying methods approved by the 
local health officer may be substituted for individual disposable towels.] 
 ([7]8)  The operator shall [maintain]ensure that each service 
building is maintained in a clean and sanitary condition. 
 

TABLE 1 
Required Minimum Plumbing Fixtures for Modern Camps 

Plumbing Fixtures Ratio of Plumbing Fixtures for Number of Camp 
Occupants 
*or fraction thereof 

 Males Females Both Genders 
Toilets 1:40* 1:25* -- 
Sinks 1:35* 1:35* -- 
Showers 1:35* 1:35* -- 
Drinking Fountains -- -- 1:300 
Service Sink -- -- 1 per service 

building 
Potable Water 
Faucet 

-- -- 1 per service 
building 

 
R392-300-8.  Required Plumbing -- Semi-Developed Camps. 
 [(1)  ]The operator shall ensure that [For semi-developed 
camps, ]the minimum number of plumbing fixtures at any semi-
developed camp [to be]are provided [shall be ]based on the number of 
sites, according to Table [II]2. 
[ (a)  The operator shall calculate the minimum required 
number of fixtures according to Table II. 
 

TABLE II 
Required Minimum Plumbing Fixtures for Semi-Developed 

Camps 
 
Plumbing Fixtures               Ratio of Plumbing Fixtures 
                                 Per Number of Camp Sites 
 
Toilets or vault privies       1:15* 
Potable Water Faucet           1:15* 

 
*Or fraction thereof] 

TABLE 2 
Required Minimum Plumbing Fixtures for Semi-Developed Camps 

Plumbing Fixtures Ration of Plumbing Fixtures per 
Number of Camp Sites 
*or fraction thereof 

Toilets or vault privies 1:15* 
Potable Water Faucet 1:15* 

 
R392-300-9.  Required Plumbing -- Day[ ]-Use Areas. 
 The operator shall ensure that the minimum number of 
plumbing fixtures at any day-use area [to be]are provided[ for day use 
areas shall be calculated from ] according to Table [III]3. 
 

[TABLE III 
Required Minimum Plumbing Fixtures for Day Use Areas 

 
Plumbing Fixtures    Ratio of Plumbing Fixtures 
                     Per Number of Day Use Sites 
 
Toilets or vault privies       1:15*    
Potable Water Faucet           1:15*    
 
*Or fraction thereof] 

TABLE 3 
Required Minimum Plumbing Fixtures for Day-Use Areas 

Plumbing Fixtures Ratio of Plumbing Fixtures Per Number 
of Day-Use Sites 
*or fraction thereof 

Toilets or vault privies 1:15* 
Potable Water Faucet 1:15* 

 
R392-300-10.  Operation and Maintenance. 
 (1)  When tents, or permanent or semi-permanent buildings 
are provided by the operator, they shall: 
 (a)  be of sound construction; 
 (b)  assure adequate protection against the weather; 
 (c)  include essential facilities to permit maintenance in a 
clean and operable condition; 
 (d)  include openable windows or mechanical ventilation; and 
 (e)  provide adequate storage for personal belongings. 
 (2)(a)  Except when using double stacked bunks, [In]in open 
bay type sleeping areas containing four or more beds, the operator shall 
separate beds by a horizontal distance of at least five feet, reducible to 
three feet if beds are alternated head to foot[, except in the case of double 
stacked bunks, which ]. 
 (b)  Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(c), double stacked bunks 
shall have a minimum horizontal separation of six feet[ under all 
circumstances.  ]. 
 (c)  If partitions are utilized to preclude face-to-face exposure 
between beds, spacing requirements may be modified to a minimum 
separation distance of three feet between adjacent beds upon approval 
of the local health officer. 
 (3)(a)  [Each provided]The operator shall ensure that each 
bed, bunk, or cot [shall be]is maintained in a sanitary condition. 
 (b)  [M]Each mattress[es], mattress cover[s], quilt[s], 
blanket[s], pillow[s], pillowcase[s], sheet[s], bedcover[s], and other 
bedding shall be kept clean and in good repair. 
 (c)  A sheet shall be provided for each bed, and shall be large 
enough to cover the top and [all four sides]each side of the mattress. 
 (d)  A pillowcase shall be provided for each supplied pillow. 
 (e)  Supplied bedding shall be replaced with clean linen, 
including sheets and pillowcases, before new occupant use. 
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 (4)  [All]The operator shall ensure that each building[s], 
room[s], [and ]equipment,[ including], and furnishing[s and equipment] 
provided in a camping area[s], and the grounds surrounding them [shall 
be]is maintained in a clean and operable condition. 
 (5)  Where electric power is available, each service 
building[s] shall be provided with outside lighting to [indicate]show the 
location [and entrance doorways of each]of each entrance. 
 (6)(a)  [Where necessary, all]The operator shall use 
reasonable means [shall be employed ]to eliminate or control 
infestations of vermin, vectors, or pests within [all parts of any ]each 
camp. 
 (b)  [This shall include approved screening or other approved 
control of outside openings in structures intended for occupancy or food 
service facilities.]The operator shall use, on each outside opening of a 
structure intended for occupancy or food service, a screen to prevent 
ingress by vermin, vectors, and pests, or another method of control of 
outside openings approved by the local health officer. 
 (7)  Each modern camp shall be equipped with at least a 24-
unit ANSI compliant first aid kit[.  The operator shall ensure that each 
first aid kit is] that is: 
 (a)  properly stocked; 
 (b)  readily accessible; and 
 (c)  conveniently located in critical areas. 
 (8)  The operator of a camp with onsite staff shall employ at 
least one individual who is [adequately ]trained to [render]give first aid[.  
This individual should] and who possesses at least a certificate of 
completion of the Basic First Aid Course as presented by the American 
National Red Cross or its equivalent. 
 
R392-300-11.  Food Service. 
 [When]The operator shall ensure that when food service is 
provided for camp occupants, food service, storage, and food 
preparation [shall comply]complies with the FDA Model Food Code as 
incorporated and amended in Rule R392-100, Food Service Sanitation, 
and local health department regulations. 
 
R392-300-12.  Solid Wastes. 
 The operator shall ensure that: 
 (1)  [The operator shall provide ]adequate containers are 
provided to prevent the accumulation of solid waste in the camp[.]; 
 (2)  [S]solid waste generated at a camp or picnic area [shall 
be]is stored in a leak-proof, non-absorbent container[, which shall be] 
that is kept covered with a tight-fitting lid[.]; and 
 (3)  [All ]solid waste[s] [shall be]is disposed with sufficient 
frequency and in such a manner as to prevent insect breeding, rodent 
harborage, or a public health nuisance. 
 
R392-300-13.  Swimming Pool. 
 The operator shall comply with Rule R392-302, Design, 
Construction, and Operation of Public Pools as well as other local health 
department regulations for [all]each pool[s] or spa[s] made available to 
camp occupants or staff. 
 
R392-300-14.  Inspections and Investigations. 
 (1)[(a)]  [Upon]Except as in Subsection (1)(b), and upon 
presenting proper identification, the operator shall permit a local health 
officer to enter upon the premises of a camp to perform inspections, 
investigations, reviews, and other actions as necessary to ensure 
compliance with [Rule R392-300]this rule. 
 ([b]2)  The local health officer may not enter an occupied tent 
or other structure designed or intended for temporary human habitation 
without the express permission of the occupant except: 

 (a)  when a warrant is issued to a [duly ]authorized public 
safety officer which authorizes the local health officer to enter[,]; or 
 (b)  when the operator and the local health officer determine 
that there exists an imminent risk to the life, health, or safety of the 
occupant. 
 
R392-300-15.  Closing or Restricting of Camps or Sites. 
 (1)  [If a local health officer deems a camp, campsite, or 
portion thereof to be an imminent risk to the life, health, or safety of the 
public, the area may be closed or its use may be restricted, as determined 
by the local health officer.]A local health officer may close or restrict the 
use of any camp, campsite, or portion thereof if it poses an imminent 
risk to the life, health, or safety of the public. 
 (2)  Within a reasonable time as ordered by the local health 
officer, the operator shall restrict public access to the impacted area of 
any camp, campsite, or portion thereof that has been closed or restricted 
to use by a local health officer. 
 (3)  [It shall be unlawful for an operator to ]The operator may 
not allow any person to occupy a camp or campsite that has been 
deemed unfit for human habitation until written approval of the local 
health officer is given. 
 
R392-300-16.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, or its application to any person or 
circumstance is declared invalid, the application of such provisions to 
other persons or circumstances, and the remainder of this rule shall be 
given effect without the invalidated provision or application. 
 
KEY:  camp, campground, public health, recreation areas 
Date of Last Change:  2022[March 26, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 21, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-15-2, 26-1-
30(23); 26-15-2 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
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R392-400 Filing ID 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health  
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Environmental Services 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building  
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman  801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R392-400.  Temporary Mass Gatherings Sanitation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Executive Order No. 2021-12 requires state agencies to 
amend rules that are inconsistent with the current edition 
of the Administrative Rulewriting Manual for Utah.  As 
required, the amendments to Rule R392-400 simplify this 
rule, remove outdated language and redundancies, and 
provide technical and conforming changes in accordance 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments to Rule R392-400 provide technical and 
conforming changes throughout the rule and remove 
unnecessary and repetitive language. 
 
Section R392-400-1 is a new section added to specify the 
statute under which this rule is authorized, and to explain 
the purpose of this rule. 
 
Section R392-400-2 is a new section added to describe 
individuals and groups to whom this rule applies, and to 
specify exclusions to such. 
 
In Section R392-400-3: 1) added definitions for Imminent 
health hazard, and local health department; 2) modified 
the definitions for local health officer, safe drinking water, 
and wastewater; and 3) removed unnecessary definitions 
for Department, and Director. 
 
In Sections R392-400-4 through R392-400-17, the 
Department has made nonsubstantive revisions including 
the rewording and restructuring of these sections to 
simplify the language and to clarify the intent to align more 
closely with the authorizing statute and the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 
The Department made the following substantive 
amendments:  1) Tables 1, 2, and 3 were reformatted, and 
2) Section R392-400-17 was modified to match the clause 
in most other rules promulgated under Title R392. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 

B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact on business because the 
changes do not affect existing operations.  Nathan 
Checketts, Interim Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-15-2 Section 26-1-30 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/21/2021 

 
R392.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental 
Services. 
R392-400.  Temporary Mass Gathering[s] Sanitation. 
R392-400-1.  Authority and Purpose. 

 (1)  This rule is authorized under [Utah Code ]Sections 26-15-
2, 26-1-5 and 26-1-30. 
 (2)  This rule establishes minimum standards for the 
sanitation, operation, and maintenance of a temporary mass gathering 
to: 
 (a)  protect, preserve and promote the health and safety of the 
public; 
 (b)  prevent and control the incidence of communicable 
diseases; 
 (c)  reduce hazards to health and environment; 
 (d)  maintain adequate sanitation and public health; and 
 (e)  promote the general welfare of the public. 
 
R392-400-2.  [Purpose]Applicability. 
 (1)  Unless exempted in Subsection (2), this rule applies to 
any person who owns or operates a temporary mass gathering, as 
defined. 
 (2)  A temporary mass gathering does not include an assembly 
of people at a location with permanent facilities designed for that 
specific assembly, unless the designed occupancy levels are exceeded.[It 
is the purpose of this rule: 
 (1)  to protect, preserve and promote the health and safety of 
the public; 
 (2)  to prevent and control the incidence of communicable 
diseases; 
 (3)  to reduce hazards to health and environment; 
 (4)  to maintain adequate sanitation and public health; and 
 (5)  to promote the general welfare of the public.] 
 
R392-400-3.  Definitions. 
 The following definitions apply in this rule: 
[ (1)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
(UDOH). 
 (2)  "Director" means the executive director of the Utah 
Department of Health or the executive director's designee.] 
 (1[3])  "Drinking [W]water [S]station" means a location 
where a person may [obtain]get safe drinking water free of charge. 
 (2[4])  "Emergency [M]medical [P]provider" means the same 
as [E]emergency [M]medical [S]services [P]provider as defined in 
Section 26-8a-102. 
 (3[5])  "First [A]aid [S]station" means a temporary or 
permanent enclosed space or structure where a person can receive first 
aid and emergency medical care. 
 (4)  "Imminent health hazard" means a significant threat or 
danger to health that is considered to exist when there is evidence 
sufficient to show that a product, practice, circumstance, or event creates 
a situation that can cause infection, disease transmission, pest 
infestation, or hazardous condition that requires immediate correction or 
cessation of operation to prevent injury, illness, or death. 
 (5)  "Local health department" has the same meaning as 
provided in Subsection 26A-1-102(5). 
 (6)  "Local [H]health [O]officer" means the [director]health 
officer of the local health department having jurisdiction, or [the health 
officer's designee]a designated representative. 
 (7)  "Operator" means a person who represents a group, 
corporation, partnership, governing body, association, or other public or 
private organization legally responsible for obtaining the necessary 
permits for the overall operation of a temporary mass gathering. 
 (8)  "Owner" means any person who alone, jointly, or 
severally with others: 
 (a)  has legal title to any premises, with or without 
accompanying actual possession[ thereof]; or[;] 
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 (b)  has charge, care, or control of any premises, as legal or 
equitable owner, agent of the owner, or lessee. 
 (9)  "Permit" means a written form of authorization written in 
accordance with this rule. 
 (10)  "Person" means any individual, public or private 
corporation and its officers, partnership, association, firm, trustee, 
executor of an estate, the [S]state or its departments, institution, bureau, 
agency, county, city, political subdivision, or any legal entity recognized 
by law. 
 (11)  "Safe [D]drinking [W]water" means potable water 
meeting the Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Drinking 
Water[State safe drinking water] rules or bottled water as regulated by 
the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (12)  "Solid [W]waste" means garbage, refuse, trash, rubbish, 
hazardous waste, dead animals, sludge, liquid or semi liquid waste, other 
spent, useless, worthless, or discarded materials or materials stored or 
accumulated for [the purpose of ]discarding, materials that have served 
their original intended purpose. 
 (13)  "Staff' means any person who: 
 (a)  works for or provides services for or on behalf of the 
operator or a vendor, or 
 (b)  is a vendor at a gathering. 
 (14)  "Temporary [M]mass [G]gathering" or "Gathering" 
means an actual or reasonably anticipated assembly of 1,000 or more 
people, which continues or can reasonably be expected to continue for 
two or more hours [per]a day, at a site or sites for a purpose different 
from the designed use and usual type of occupancy.[  A temporary mass 
gathering does not include an assembly of people at a location with 
permanent facilities designed for that specific assembly, unless the 
designed occupancy levels are exceeded.] 
 (15)  "Vendor" means any person who sells or offers food for 
public consumption. 
 (16)  "Wastewater" means [used water or water carried 
wastes]sewage, industrial waste, or other liquid or waterborne 
substances causing or capable of causing pollution of waters of the state. 
 
R392-400-4.  Permit [To]to Operate Required. 
 (1)  A person may not operate a temporary mass gathering 
without a valid written permit issued by the local health officer. 
 (2)  The local health officer may exempt a parade from the 
permit requirement if the operator submits an application as required in 
Section R392-400-6 and the local health officer determines that the 
availability of existing public sanitary facilities, drinking water and trash 
containers is sufficient to protect public health. 
 (3)  A temporary mass gathering may not exceed 16 
consecutive days unless otherwise approved by the local health officer. 
 (4)  The local health officer may attach conditions or grant 
waivers to a permit, in accordance with this rule, [in order ]to meet 
specific public health and safety concerns. 
 
R392-400-5.  Gathering Operator Required [On]on Site. 
 (1)  The operator shall establish a headquarters at the 
gathering site. 
 (2)  The operator or the operator's designee shall be present at 
the gathering [at all times ]during operating hours. 
 
R392-400-6.  Permit Application Required. 
 (1)  The local health officer shall prescribe the application 
process, and shall require the applicant to submit an application at least 
15 days [prior to]before the first advertisement of the gathering and at 
least 30 days [prior to]before the first day of the gathering. The local 
health officer may grant an exception to this requirement on a case by 

case basis because of the nature of the event, scarcity of problems 
associated with the event in the past or other public health related 
criteria. 
 (2)  An application for a permit shall be submitted to the local 
health officer and include the following information: 
 (a)  name, address, telephone number, and email [and fax 
number (if applicable) ]of the operator; 
 (b)  number of people expected to attend the gathering; 
 (c)  a description of the type of gathering to be held with the 
date[(s)] range and times the gathering will be held; 
 (d)  estimated length of stay of attendees; 
 (e)  name, address, telephone number, and email [and fax 
number (if applicable) ]of property owner; 
 (f)  the location of the gathering and a site plan delineating the 
area where the gathering is to be held including the following: 
 (i)  the parking area available for patrons; 
 (ii)  location of entrance, exit, and interior roadways and 
walks; 
 (iii)  location, type, and provider of restroom facilities; 
 (iv)  location and description of water stations; 
 (v)  location and number of food stands, and the types of food 
to be served if known; 
 (vi)  location, number, type, and provider of solid waste 
containers; 
 (vii)  location of operator's headquarters at the gathering; 
 (viii)  a plan to provide lighting adequate to ensure the safety 
of attendees and staff; 
 (ix)  location of [all]each parking area[s] designated for the 
gathering and under the operator's control; and[.] 
 (x)  the location of [all]each first aid station[s] and emergency 
medical [resources.]provider; 
 (g)  the name of the solid and liquid waste haulers with whom 
the operator has contracted, unless exempted by this rule; 
 (h)  a site clean up plan after the gathering; 
 (i)  the total number, and qualifications of first aid station 
personnel; 
 (j)  a plan for directional and exit signs; 
 (k)  a plan developed by the operator to address nuisances or 
health hazards associated with animals present at the gathering; 
 (l)  a plan[s] to address hazardous conditions as required in 
Section R392-400-12; 
 (m)  information and plans on any artificially constructed 
structure or modified natural structure intended for recreational or 
therapeutic purposes where the public may be exposed to water via 
contact, ingestion, or aerosolization[.]; 
 (n)  an emergency medical services operational plan and the 
contact information of the emergency medical provider; and 
 (o)  any other information specifically requested by the local 
health officer as necessary to protect public health. 
 
R392-400-7.  Inspections. 
 (1)  The local health officer may conduct inspections before, 
during, and after a gathering to ensure compliance with [R392-400]this 
rule, and approved plans. 
 (2)  The operator shall provide the local health officer with 
access to [all]each area[s] of the gathering that the local health officer 
deems necessary [and]with the number of access credentials [they 
]requested. 
 (3)  The operator shall effectively communicate the local 
health officer's access privileges to staff. 
 
R392-400-8.  Notice [Of]of Violation [Or]or Closing. 
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 (1)  The local health officer may issue a notice of violation to 
the owner, operator or the operator's designee if the gathering fails to 
meet the requirements of this rule or the conditions of the permit. 
 (2)  The local health officer shall, in accordance with Rule 
R392-100 Food Service Sanitation, direct the disposition of any food 
items, including ice and water, that have been adulterated or are 
otherwise unfit for human consumption. 
 (3)  The local health officer may issue and post a notice of 
closure of the gathering or affected part[ thereof] to the owner, operator 
or the operator's designee if the local health officer determines that 
conditions at the gathering constitute a serious or imminent health 
hazard. 
 (4)(a)  No gathering site or affected part[ thereof] that has 
been closed may be used for a gathering until the local health officer 
determines that the conditions causing the closure have been abated and 
written approval is received from the local health officer. 
 (b)  The local health officer shall remove the posted notice 
described in Subsection (3) when[ever] the [violation(s) upon which 
closing, and posting were based]imminent health hazard has been 
remedied. 
 (5)  No unauthorized person may deface or remove a posted 
notice from any gathering site that has been closed by the local health 
officer. 
 (6)  The operator may appeal a notice or closure in accordance 
with the procedures established by the local Board of Health or Title 
63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act[the Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act], whichever [is applicable]applies. 
 
R392-400-9.  Solid Waste Management. 
 (1)  The operator shall contract with a solid waste hauler 
approved by the local health officer. 
 (2)(a)  The operator shall provide and strategically locate [a 
sufficient number of]enough covered waste containers [approved by the 
health officer ]to effectively accommodate the solid waste generated at 
the gathering, as approved by the local health officer. 
 ([a]b)  The operator shall provide waste containers next to the 
hand wash stations. 
 (3)  The operator shall ensure that the waste containers are 
emptied as often as necessary to prevent overflowing, littering, or insect 
or rodent infestation. 
 (4)  The operator shall ensure that solid waste is cleaned from 
the property periodically during the gathering and that, within 24 hours 
following the gathering, the property is free of solid waste and is clean.  
The local health officer may allow for more than 24 hours to clean up 
the site because of the time of year, nature of the event or other 
extenuating circumstances if the local health officer is satisfied that the 
extension will not adversely affect public health 
 (5)  The operator shall ensure that solid waste is prevented 
from being blown from the gathering site onto adjacent properties. 
 (6)  The operator shall ensure that [all ]solid waste is collected 
and disposed of at a solid waste disposal or recycling facility meeting 
[S]state and local solid waste disposal facility requirements. 
 (7)  The operator, staff, participants, and spectators shall 
comply with [all ]applicable [S]state and local requirements for solid 
waste management. 
 
R392-400-10.  Site Maintenance. 
 (1)  [All b]Buildings, structures and overnight parking 
provided for the gathering shall be maintained safe, clean, in good repair, 
and shall comply with[ all] applicable laws. 
 ([3]2)  The operator shall eliminate any infestation of vermin 
within any part of a structure intended for occupancy, food storage, or 

restroom facilities [prior to]before, during, and immediately following a 
gathering. 
 ([4]3)  The operator is responsible for the maintenance and 
sanitation of the gathering site and facilities. The operator shall take 
steps to prevent and abate any nuisance or insanitary condition 
[which]that may develop. 
 ([5]4)  A gathering site shall be constructed to provide surface 
drainage adequate to prevent flooding of the gathering site and to 
prevent water related nuisances on adjacent properties. 
 ([6]5)  The operator shall ensure [S]sufficient signs [shall 
identify]identifying and showing the location of first aid, restroom, and 
drinking water facilities so spectators and participants can readily find 
them from any place on the gathering site. 
 ([7]6)  The operator shall provide lighting adequate to ensure 
the safety of attendees. 
 ([8]7)  [All]Each parking area[s] used for the gathering and 
under the control of the gathering operator [must]shall meet the 
requirements of this rule. 
 
R392-400-11.  Emergency Medical Care Requirements. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the gathering has at least one first aid station[.]; 
 (b)  [E]emergency medical care and necessary supplies and 
equipment [shall be]are provided as determined by the local health 
officer, the emergency medical provider, and the emergency medical 
operations plan;[.  The health officer or emergency medical provider 
may require more than one first aid station.] 
 ([2]c)  [F]first aid stations [shall ]afford privacy to a person 
receiving care or treatment;[.] 
 ([3]d)  [F]first aid stations [shall be]are of sufficient size to 
accommodate the number of care givers required, and the predicted 
number of sick or injured persons;[.] 
 ([4]e)  [F]first aid stations [shall be]are strategically located to 
provide expedient medical care for those attending or participating in 
the gathering;[.] 
 ([5]f)  [F]first aid stations [shall be]are easily accessible by 
emergency vehicles;[.] 
 (g)  [The operator shall provide ]the emergency medical 
provider is provided with a map of the gathering site [which]that 
includes: 
 (i)  location of first aid stations[,]; 
 (ii)  emergency vehicle ingress and egress routes[,]; 
 (iii)  landing zones, [(]if applicable[)]; and 
 (iv)  rendezvous locations;[.] 
 ([6]h)  [A]a first aid station [shall be]that is clearly marked 
and identifiable as a first aid station is provided;[.] 
 (i)  medical staff have access to telephones or radios to contact 
outside emergency medical services; 
 (j)  the staff person in charge of the first aid station keeps 
accurate records of patients and treatment; and 
 (k)  the local health officer is notified of each case involving 
a serious injury or communicable disease in accordance with Rule 
R386-702, Communicable Disease, and Rule R386-703, Injury 
Reporting. 
 ([7]2)  The local health officer or emergency medical provider 
may require: 
 (a)  more than one first aid station; 
 (b)  [The health officer or emergency medical provider may 
require ]additional emergency medical services personnel as deemed 
necessary; or 
 (c)  the operator to provide dedicated stand-by ambulances 
and personnel at the gathering. 
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[ (8)  The operator shall ensure that all medical staff have access 
to telephones or radios to contact outside emergency medical services. 
 (9)  The local health officer or emergency medical provider 
may require the operator to provide dedicated stand-by ambulances and 
personnel at the gathering. 
 (10)  The operator shall ensure that the staff person in charge 
of the first aid station keeps accurate records of patients and treatment, 
and that the health officer is notified of all cases involving a serious 
injury or communicable disease in accordance with R386-702 
Communicable Disease Rule and R386-703 Injury Reporting Rule.] 
 
R392-400-12.  Hazardous Conditions. 
 The operator shall develop contingency plans for any 
dangerous condition[s which] that may occur during the gathering.  The 
plans may include evacuation, cancellation, or delay of the gathering, 
and provision for support facilities. 
 
R392-400-13.  Food Protection. 
 (1)  The operator and vendors shall comply with Rule R392-
100, Food Service Sanitation. 
 (2)  The operator shall assure that food vendors [obtain]get 
required food service operating permits from the local health 
[officer]department. 
 
R392-400-14.  Safe Drinking Water Supply Requirements. 
 (1)  The operator shall provide water free of charge and 
strategically locate drinking water stations to effectively meet the 
drinking water needs of attendees and staff. 
 (2)  Supplied potable drinking water for public use shall be: 
 (a)  dispensed from a potable water supply system that is 
designed, installed, and operated according to the requirements set forth 
by: 
 (i)   the Utah Department of Environmental Quality, Division 
of Drinking Water under Title R309, Drinking Water; and 
 (ii)  local health department regulations; or 
 (b)  [The operator shall ensure that all drinking water is from 
a state-approved drinking water system or ]commercially bottled water 
meeting 21 CFR 129, Processing and Bottling of Bottled Drinking 
Water [(April 1, 2015) ]and 21 CFR 165.110, Bottled Water [(April 1, 
2015) ]from a company registered with the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration and the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 ([2]3)  Drinking water hauled to the gathering shall be hauled 
and dispensed in a manner that protects public health as determined by 
the local health officer. 
[ (3)  The operator shall provide water free of charge and 
strategically locate drinking water stations to effectively meet the 
drinking water needs of attendees and staff.] 
 (4)  At least four drinking water stations are required.  An 
additional drinking water station is required for each additional 500 
attendees above 1,000 persons.  The local health officer may reduce the 
number of additional drinking water stations or require more than one 
drinking water station for each additional 500 attendees above 1,000 
persons because of the time of year, heat index, nature of the event or 
other public health related criteria.  If containers are needed to drink the 
water at the required drinking water stations, the operator [must]shall 
provide single use containers. 
 
R392-400-15.  Wastewater Disposal Requirements. 
 (1)  [All w]Wastewater shall be disposed of in accordance 
with state and local wastewater rules. 
 ([3]2)  The operator may use portable restroom facilities and 
wastewater holding tanks as determined by the local health officer. 

 ([4]3)  The number of toilets shall be provided in accordance 
with Table 1. 
 

[TABLE 1 
 

Minimum Numbers of Toilets Required 
 
        Average Time at Gathering (hours) 
 
             1       2       3       4        5 
 Peak 
Crowd 
 
 1000        4       6       8       8        9 
 2000        5       6       9      12       14 
 3000        6       9      12      16       20 
 4000        8      13      16      22       25 
 5000       12      15      20      25       31 
 6000       12      15      23      30       38 
 7000       12      18      26      35       44 
 8000       12      20      30      40       50 
10000       15      25      38      50       63 
12500       18      31      47      63       78 
15000       20      38      56      75       94 
17500       22      44      66      88      109 
20000       25      50      75     100      125 
25000       38      69      99     130      160 
30000       46      82     119     156      192 
35000       53      96     139     181      224 
40000       61     109     158     207      256 
45000       68     123     178     233      288 
50000       76     137     198     259      320 
55000       83     150     217     285      352 
60000       91     164     237     311      384 
65000       98     177     257     336      416 
each 
additional 
10,000      15      25      38      50       63 
 
              (table continued for 6-10 hours) 
             6       7       8       9       10 
 
 1000        9      11      12      13       13 
 2000       16      18      20      23       25 
 3000       24      26      30      34       38 
 4000       30      35      40      45       50 
 5000       38      44      50      56       63 
 6000       45      53      60      68       75 
 7000       53      61      70      79       88 
 8000       60      70      80      90      100 
10000       75      88     100     113      125 
12500       94     109     125     141      156 
15000      113     131     150     169      188 
17500      131     153     175     197      219 
20000      150     175     200     225      250 
25000      191     221     252     282      313 
30000      229     266     302     339      376 
35000      267     310     352     395      438 
40000      305     354     403     452      501 
45000      343     398     453     508      563 
50000      381     442     503     564      626 
55000      419     486     554     621      688 
60000      457     531     604     677      751 
65000      495     575     654     734      813 
each 
additional 

10,000      75      88     100     113      125] 
TABLE 1 

Minimum Numbers of Toilets Required 
 Average Time at Gathering (hours) 
Peak Crowd 1 2 3 4 5 
1,000 4 5 8 8 9 
2,000 5 6 9 12 14 
3,000 6 9 12 16 20 
4,000 8 13 16 22 25 
5,000 12 15 20 25 31 
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6,000 12 15 23 30 38 
7,000 12 18 26 35 44 
8,000 12 20 30 40 50 
10,000 15 25 38 50 63 
12,500 18 31 47 63 78 
15,000 20 38 56 75 94 
17,500 22 44 66 88 109 
20,000 25 50 75 100 125 
25,000 38 69 99 130 160 
30,000 46 82 119 156 192 
35,000 53 96 139 181 224 
40,000 61 109 158 207 256 
45,000 68 123 178 233 288 
50,000 76 137 198 259 320 
55,000 83 150 217 285 352 
60,000 91 164 237 311 384 
65,000 98 177 257 336 416 
Each additional 10,000 15 25 38 50 63 
Table continued for 6-10 hours 
 Average Time at Gathering (hours) 
Peak Crowd 6 7 8 9 10 
1,000 9 11 12 13 13 
2,000 16 18 20 23 25 
3,000 24 26 30 34 38 
4,000 30 35 40 45 50 
5,000 38 44 50 56 63 
6,000 45 53 60 68 75 
7,000 53 61 70 79 88 
8,000 60 70 80 90 100 
10,000 75 88 100 113 125 
12,500 94 109 125 141 156 
15,000 113 131 150 169 188 
17,500 131 153 175 197 219 
20,000 150 175 200 225 250 
25,000 191 221 252 282 313 
30,000 229 266 302 339 376 
35,000 267 310 352 395 438 
40,000 305 354 403 452 501 
45,000 343 398 453 508 563 
50,000 381 442 503 564 626 
55,000 419 486 554 621 688 
60,000 457 531 604 677 751 
65,000 495 575 654 734 813 
Each additional 10,000 75 88 100 113 125 

 

 ([a]4)  If alcoholic beverages are consumed at the gathering, 
the operator shall increase the number of required toilets by 40%. 
 ([b]5)  Five percent, with a minimum of one, of the required 
number of toilets shall be [handicap ]accessible and shall be identified 
by the International Symbol of Accessibility in compliance with 36 CFR 
1191[ (July 1, 2011), Appendices B and D, of the], Americans with 
Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines. 
 ([c]6)  For an event lasting longer than ten hours, the number 
of required toilets is calculated by adding the number of toilets for ten 
hours to the number of toilets for those hours over ten or a portion 
thereof, as determined in Table 1. 
 ([d]7)  The operator shall locate portable toilets a minimum of 
100 feet from any food service operation and not more than 300 feet 
from grand stand or spectator or from other areas of activity [which]that 
pertain to the gathering, as outlined in the permit application.  Where 
site conditions limit the placement of portable toilets, the local health 
officer may allow exemptions to these distances. 
 ([e]8)(a)  The operator shall provide working hand wash 
stations at a minimum rate of one per ten portable toilets or portion 
thereof. 
 (b)  The operator shall provide soap, water and single use 
towels at each hand wash station. 

 (c)  Where conditions make the use of soap and water 
impractical, the local health officer may allow sanitizing gel in place of 
soap and water. 
 (d)  Sanitizing gel may not be used in place of soap and water 
at hand wash stations used by food service workers. 
 ([f]9)  The operator shall provide a minimum of one covered 
trash container for every ten portable toilets or portion thereof. 
 ([g]10)  The operator shall ensure that[ all] portable toilets are 
of sound construction[ (such as non-absorbent polyethylene)], easily 
cleanable, and durable. 
 ([h]11)  Each portable toilet [must]shall be secured against 
vandalism and adverse weather conditions by tie[ ]-downs, anchors or 
similar effective means. 
 ([i]12)  The operator shall contract with a liquid waste hauler 
that is permitted by the local health department in accordance with Rule 
R317-550, Rules for Liquid Waste Operations. 
 ([l]13)(a)  The operator shall ensure that[ all] wastewater is 
removed from each portable toilet at least once every 24 hours or more 
frequently as necessary. 
 (b)  On a case by case basis, the local health officer may 
change this frequency because of the time of year, weather conditions, 
nature of the event or other public health related criteria. 
 (c)  [All]Any wastewater removed shall be disposed of at a 
wastewater treatment facility in accordance with [S]state and local 
wastewater disposal laws. 
 ([m]14)  The operator shall ensure that each portable toilet is 
serviced and sanitized as necessary to maintain sanitary conditions. 
 ([n]15)  At the conclusion of the gathering, each portable 
restroom unit [must]shall be serviced then removed within 48 hours.  
The local health officer may extend or shorten this time because of the 
time of year, weather conditions, [the ]nature of the event, or to meet 
other public health related criteria. 
 
R392-400-16.  Penalty. 
 (1)  Any person who violates [any provision of ]this rule may 
be assessed a penalty as provided in [Subsection]Section 26-23-6. 
 (2)  Each day [such]a violation is committed or permitted to 
continue shall constitute a separate violation. 
 (3)  In addition to other penalties imposed, any person who 
violates any requirement of this rule shall be liable for [all]any 
expense[s] incurred by the [department and ]local health department in 
removing or abating any nuisance, source of filth, cause of sickness or 
infection, health hazard, or sanitation violation. 
 
R392-400-17.  Severability. 
 [If a provision, clause, sentence, or paragraph of this rule or 
the application thereof to any person or circumstances shall be ruled 
invalid, such ruling shall not affect the other provisions or applications 
of this rule, and to this end the provisions of this rule are severable.]If a 
provision of this rule, or its application to any person or circumstance is 
declared invalid, the application of such provisions to other persons or 
circumstances, and the remainder of this rule shall be given effect 
without the invalidated provision or application. 
 
KEY:  public health, temporary mass gatherings, special events 
Date of Last Change:  2022[November 1, 2016] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 1, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-15-2, 26-1-
5, and 26-1-30 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R392-501 Filing ID 
54165 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Environmental Services 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman 801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R392-501.  Temporary Labor Community Sanitation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Executive Order No. 2021-12 requires state agencies to 
amend rules that are inconsistent with the current edition 
of the Administrative Rulewriting Manual for Utah.  As 
required, the amendments to Rule R392-501 provide 
technical and conforming changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Technical and conforming amendments were made to all 
sections of this rule to align with the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah and remove superfluous and repetitive language, 
including the following: Tables 1, 2, and 3 were 
reformatted. 
 
A new Section R392-501-19 was added to include a 
severability clause. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact on business because the 
changes do not affect existing business operations.  
Nathan Checketts, Interim Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-15-2 Subsection 

26-1-30(9) 
Section 26-7-1 Subsection 

26-1-30(23) 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 12/01/2021 

 
R392.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental 
Services. 
R392-501.  Temporary Labor Community Sanitation. 
R392-501-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized under [Sections 26-1-5, 26-1-
30(9), 26-1-30(23), 26-7-1, and 26-15-2]Sections 26-1-5, 26-7-1, 26-
15-2, and Subsections 26-1-30(9) and 26-1-30(23). 
 (2)  This rule establishes minimum standards for the 
sanitation, operation, and maintenance of a temporary labor community, 
as defined by this rule, and provides for the prevention and control of 
health hazards associated with a temporary labor community that are 
likely to affect individuals dwelling temporarily therein including risk 
factors contributing to injury, sickness, death, and disability. 
 
R392-501-2.  Applicability. 
 (1)  This rule applies to any person who owns or operates a 
temporary labor community[ in Utah], unless specifically exempted. 
 (2)  This rule applies to the repair, maintenance, use, 
operation, and occupancy of a temporary labor communit[ies]y 
designed, intended for use, or otherwise used for temporary human 
habitation[ in Utah]. 
 (3)  This rule does not apply to any recreational camping, 
recreational vehicle park[s], or manufactured home communit[ies]y. 
 
R392-501-3.  Definitions. 
 For the purposes of this rule[, the following terms, phrases, 
and words shall have the meanings herein expressed]: 
 (1)  "Building Code" means International Building Code as 
incorporated and amended in Title 15A, State Construction and Fire 
Codes Act. 
 (2)(a)  "Housing unit" means any living quarter[s], including 
a housing accommodation[s], rooming house[s], dormitory[ies], and 
manufactured home[s,] maintained, directly or indirectly, in connection 
with any work of or place where work is being performed by a seasonal 
or temporary worker[s], whether or not rent is paid or reserved for use 
or occupancy. 
 (b)  The term includes [the ]any facility[ies] necessary to, or 
associated with, the buildings; and any area or site set aside and provided 
for camping of seasonal or temporary workers. 
 (c)  [The term]"Housing unit" does not include a building[s] 
reserved exclusively for the personal use of the landowner or employer, 
including the primary residence, which may [also ]serve as housing for 
family members and friends of the family. 
 (3)  "Local health department" has the same meaning as 
provided in [S]Subsection 26A-1-102(5). 
 (4)  "Local health officer" means the health officer of the local 
health department having jurisdiction, or designated representative. 
 (5)  "Manufactured home" means a factory assembled 
structure [or structures ]equipped with the necessary service connections 
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and made so as to be readily movable as a unit [or units ]on its own 
running gear and designed to be used as a dwelling unit without a 
permanent foundation.  A modular home transported on wheels to its 
foundation is not a manufactured home. 
 (6)  "Nuisance" means a condition or hazard, or the source 
thereof, which may be deleterious or detrimental to the health, safety, or 
welfare of the public. 
 (7)  "Operator" means a person with ownership or overall 
responsibility for managing or operating a labor community. 
 (8)  "Pest" means a noxious, destructive, or troublesome 
organism whether plant or animal, when found in and around places of 
human occupancy, habitation, or use that threatens the health or well-
being of the public. 
 (9)  "Plumbing Code" means International Plumbing Code as 
incorporated and amended in Title 15A, State Construction and Fire 
Codes Act. 
 (10)  "Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that is 
connected to the water supply system of the premises; or discharges 
wastewater, liquid-borne waste materials, or sewage to the drainage 
system of the premises. 
 (11)  "Premises" means any lot, parcel, or plot of land, 
including any buildings or structure. 
 (12)  "Sanitary" means the condition of being free from 
infective, physically hurtful, diseased, poisonous, unwholesome, or 
otherwise unhealthful substances and being completely free from 
vermin, vectors, and pests and from the traces of either, and free of 
harborage for vermin, vectors, or pests. 
 (13)  "Service building" means a structure located within a 
labor community that contains a toilet, hand sink, bathing, laundry, or 
recreational facilities. 
 (14)  "Temporary labor community" or "Labor community" 
means one or more buildings, structures, tents or related facilities 
together with surrounding grounds designed, constructed, or used or 
intended for use as living quarters or housing facilities to temporarily 
accommodate groups such as seasonal migrant laborers or construction, 
exploration, mining, or demolition workers[, etc]. 
 (15)  "Toilet fixture", [as defined in this rule, ]means: 
 (a)  a water flush toilet that discharges to a public sanitary 
sewer system or an approved onsite wastewater disposal system; 
 (b)  a privy seat in a vault privy; or 
 (c)  a chemical toilet in a portable restroom. 
 (16)  "Vault privy" - means a toilet facility wherein the waste 
is deposited without flushing into a permanently-installed, watertight 
vault or receptacle.  Vault wastes is periodically removed and disposed 
of in accordance with Rule R317-560. 
 (17)  "Vector" means any organism such as an insect or rodent 
that transmits a pathogen that can adversely affect public health. 
 (18)  "Vermin" means rats, mice, cockroaches, bedbugs, flies, 
or any other pest or vector as determined by the local health officer to 
be harmful to the life, health, or welfare of the public. 
 (19)  "Wastewater" means discharges from [all]any plumbing 
facility[ies] including[,] rest room[s], kitchen, and laundry fixtures, 
either separately or in combination. 
 
R392-501-4.  General. 
 (1)  [This]Except as in Subsection (2) this rule does not 
require a construction change in any portion of a labor community if the 
community was in compliance with the law in effect [at the time]when 
the community was constructed[, except as in R392-501-4(1)(a)]. 
 ([a]2)  The local health officer may require construction 
changes if it is determined the labor community or portion thereof is 

dangerous, unsafe, unsanitary, a nuisance or menace to life, health, or 
property. 
[ (2)  Severability - If any provision of this code, or its 
application to any person or circumstance is declared invalid, the 
application of such provision to other person or circumstances, and the 
remainder of this code, shall not be affected thereby.] 
 (3)  The operator shall [carry out the provisions]ensure any 
temporary labor community meets the requirements of this rule. 
 (4)  The operator shall comply with [all ]applicable building, 
zoning, electrical, health, fire codes and [all ]local ordinances. 
 (5)(a)  An operator shall select or construct a location for the 
labor community that will provide adequate surface drainage. 
 (b)  [All]Each site[s] used for a labor community[ies] shall be 
adequately drained. 
 (c)  [They shall]The location may not be subject to [areas of 
]periodic flooding, nor located within 200 feet of any swamp[s], pool[s], 
sink hole[s], or other surface collection[s] of water unless such stagnant 
water surface[s are] is subjected to continued mosquito control 
measures. 
 ([c]d)  The labor community shall be located so the drainage 
from and through the community will not endanger any domestic or 
public water supply. 
 ([d]e)  [All]Each site[s] shall be graded, ditched, and rendered 
free from depressions in which water may become a nuisance. 
 ([e]6)  The operator shall make a reasonable effort to locate 
the labor community away from any known existing public health 
nuisance. 
 ([6]7)  For a labor community employing and housing ten or 
more individuals, the operator shall be on duty within the community 
premises or on call at [all]any time[s that] the labor community is 
occupied or shall designate a manager or attendant to do so. 
 ([7]8)  [No labor community shall be operated]A labor 
community may not operate for longer than one year without approval 
of the local health officer. 
 ([8]9)  In a labor community[ies] where any dormitory type 
housing facility[ies are] is provided or where any occupied housing unit 
is not equipped with operable plumbing fixtures, the operator shall 
construct and maintain a service building according to the requirements 
of Section R392-501-11. 
 
R392-501-5.  Housing Requirements. 
 (1)  Housing for workers and their families shall be limited to 
one of the following: 
 (a)  a building used exclusively for [the purpose of ]human 
habitation; 
 (b)  a fully-partitioned room in a building used for purposes 
other than human habitation, provided that persons may not be housed 
in buildings used for the shelter of livestock; 
 (c)  a manufactured home approved by the local health officer; 
or 
 (d)  a dormitory or sleeping room shared by workers, which 
shall be separate for each [sex]gender. 
 (2)  [Every]Each housing foundation, exterior and interior 
wall, floor, ceiling, roof, gutter, leader and downspout, stairway, door 
and appurtenances[ thereto] shall be: 
 (a)  constructed in accordance with Building Code; and 
 (b)  maintained in sound condition and in good repair. 
 (3)  [The]Each floor[s] of a habitable room[s], hallway[s], 
corridor[s], toilet room[s], laundry[ies], pantry[ies] and storage area[s] 
shall meet the following requirements: 
 (a)  Wooden floors shall be elevated a minimum of 12 inches 
above ground level at all points[;]. 
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 (b)  [Every]Each toilet room, shower room, laundry room, 
and kitchen wall and ceiling surface shall be constructed and maintained 
[reasonably ]impervious to water[;]. 
 (c)  Each [F]floor to wall juncture[s] shall be coved and sealed 
in any toilet room[s], shower room[s], laundry room[s], and kitchen[s;]. 
 (d)  Each [F]floor surface[s] within two feet of [the]a toilet or 
urinal shall be smooth, non-absorbent, and easily cleanable[;]. 
 (e)  A [F]floor drain[s] shall be provided in [all]each 
shower[s], bath[s], shower room[s], and laundry room[s][; and]. 
 (f)  Minimum ceiling height, usable space, and habitable room 
size shall be constructed in compliance with Building Code. 
 (4)(a)  [Every]The operator shall ensure that each habitable 
room [shall be]is provided with windows that are: 
 (i)  weathertight[, ]; 
 (ii)  operable; 
 (iii)  [and ]in good repair; and 
 (iv)  [and shall be ]except where the operator has supplied an 
operable mechanical ventilation device, openable[ except where the 
operator has supplied an operable mechanical ventilation device]. 
 (b)  A [P]properly fitted screen[s] of at least 16 mesh shall be 
provided for [every]each openable window. 
 (5)(a)  Each [E]exterior door[s] shall be weathertight and in 
sound operating condition. 
 (b)  If [the]a doorway is used for ventilation, a tight[ ]-fitting 
screen door with a self-closing device shall be provided. 
 (6)  Except in an interior space only inhabited during the 
summer months, each [I]interior space[s] intended for human 
occupancy shall [be provided with]have a [active or passive ]space 
heating system[s] capable of maintaining an indoor temperature of not 
less than 68 degrees F at a point three feet above the floor. 
[ (a)  Space heating systems are not required for interior spaces 
that are only inhabited during the summer months.] 
 (7)(a)  The operator shall provide water heating equipment 
capable of heating water to a minimum temperature of 110 degrees F, 
and shall maintain [such]the water heating equipment in proper 
operating condition. 
 (b)  The operator shall supply hot water to each kitchen[s], 
hand sink[s], shower[s], tub[s], and laundry fixture[s]. 
 (8)  [Unvented or unventable heaters employing a flame are 
prohibited.]The operator may not use a heater employing a flame that is 
unvented or unventable. 
 
R392-501-6.  Sleeping Room Contents. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall provide each occupant of the labor 
community with: 
 ([a]i)  a bed and mattress with an impermeable mattress cover; 
or 
 ([b]ii)  a cot. 
 ([2]b)  Each [provided ]bed or cot shall be maintained in a 
sanitary condition and in good repair. 
 ([3]c)  The operator shall ensure that each mattress[es], 
mattress cover[s], quilt[s], blanket[s], pillow[s], pillowcase[s], sheet[s], 
bedcover[s], and other bedding [are]is kept clean and in good repair. 
 ([4]d)  Beds or cots shall be elevated at least 12 inches from 
the floor. 
 ([5]2)(a)  [In]Except in Subsections (2)(b) and (2)(c), an open 
bay type sleeping area[s] containing four or more beds, the operator shall 
separate beds by a horizontal distance of at least five feet, reducible to 
three feet if beds are alternated head to foot. 
 (b)  [, except in the case of double stacked bunks, which shall 
have a minimum horizontal separation of six feet under all 

circumstances]If a double stacked bunk is used, the minimum horizontal 
separation shall be a minimum of six feet. 
 (c)  If a partition[s are] is utilized to preclude face-to-face 
exposure between beds, spacing requirements may be modified to a 
minimum separation distance of three feet between adjacent beds upon 
approval of the local health officer. 
 (d)  Triple deck bunks may not be used. 
[ (6)  Triple deck bunks are prohibited.] 
 ([7]3)  The operator shall provide each labor community 
occupant with[ suitable storage facilities in the sleeping room area. The 
following are acceptable] a: 
 (a)  locker[s] or closet[s]; 
 (b)  three feet of rod and shelving;[ or] 
 (c)  a dresser; or 
 (d)  equivalent storage space. 
 
R392-501-7.  Water Supply. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall ensure that the labor community and 
each service building [provided with]that has a plumbing fixture[s] is 
supplied with [adequate and convenient potable water for drinking, 
cooking, washing of foods, washing of cooking or eating utensils, 
washing of food preparation or processing areas, hand washing, and 
bathing]potable water adequate and convenient for the use of each 
plumbing fixture. 
 (b)  A water supply shall be capable of delivering a minimum 
of 35 gallons per person per day. 
 (c)  [Water outlets shall be distributed throughout the 
community in such a manner that no housing unit is more than 100 feet 
from a water faucet (i.e. spigot) if water is not piped directly to the 
housing unit]If water is not piped directly to a housing unit, each 
housing unit shall have available a water faucet no more than 100 feet 
away. 
 (2)  Potable water supply systems for use by labor community 
occupants shall be designed, installed, and operated according to the 
requirements set forth by: 
 (a)  Plumbing Code; 
 (b)  The Utah Department of Environmental Quality, Division 
of Drinking Water under Title R309, Drinking Water; and 
 (c)  local health department regulations. 
 (3)  If a labor community experiences or will experience a 
disruption of potable water or sewer service for more than four hours, 
for any reason the operator shall: 
 (a)  [The operator shall n]Notify the local health officer within 
one hour of becoming aware of the service disruption, and; 
 (b)  [The operator shall h]have a backup water supply plan[, 
which shall] that: 
 (i)  provides for two liters of water per day per person for 
drinking[,]; and[;] 
 (ii)  includes a strategy for either relocating laborers or 
providing the following services, as approved by the local health officer: 
 (A)  [an]An alternative source of potable water; and 
 (B)  an alternative process for the disposal of human waste. 
 (4)  [O]Each outlet[s] for non-potable water, [such as water 
]including each outlet for industrial or firefighting purposes, shall be 
posted or otherwise marked in a manner that will [indicate ]clearly show 
that the water is unsafe and is not to be used for any purpose detailed in 
Subsection R392-501-5(1)(a). 
 (5)  [In]Except as in Subsection (6), a labor community[ies] 
as described in Subsection R392-501-4([8]9)[, one drinking fountain 
shall be provided for each 100 occupants or fraction thereof, except as 
in R392-501-7(6).] shall be provided with at least one drinking fountain 
for each 100 occupants or fraction thereof that is: 
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 (a)  [Drinking fountains shall be ]equipped with a pressure 
regulating valve; and 
 (b)  [shall be ]maintained in a sanitary manner. 
 (6)(a)  [If the provision of a drinking fountain is impractical 
as determined by a local health officer, ]If a local health officer 
determines that the inclusion of a drinking fountain is impractical, the 
operator shall provide: 
 ([a]i)  commercially bottled water; or 
 ([b]ii)  a[n adequate] supply of single service drinking cups to 
be used in conjunction with a drinking water dispenser[ as follows:]. 
[ (i)  Common drinking cups are prohibited.] 
 ([ii]b)  [S]A suitable waste container[s] shall be provided for 
discarded single service drinking cups. 
 ([iii]c)  [D]Each drinking water dispenser[s] shall be: 
 ([A]i)  filled only with potable drinking water; 
 ([B]ii)  designed, constructed, and serviced so that sanitary 
conditions are maintained; 
 ([C]iii)  capable of being closed; 
 ([D]iv)  equipped with a tap; and 
 ([E]v)  clearly marked as to the nature of its contents and not 
used for any other purpose. 
 ([iv]d)  [O]An alternative method of providing drinking water 
as described in Section R392-501-6 may not use any common drinking 
cup or open container[s] [such as ]including any barrel[s], pail[s], or 
tank[s] [for drinking water ]from which the water must be dipped or 
poured[, are prohibited, whether or not they are fitted with a removable 
cover]. 
 (7)  [The operator may be required to sample water systems 
operated on a seasonal basis for bacteriologic analysis, as determined by 
the local health officer]The local health officer may require an operator 
to sample a water system operated on a seasonal basis for bacteriologic 
analysis. 
 
R392-501-8.  Wastewater Disposal Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall make sewer service available to a 
labor community. 
 ([2]b)  [S]A sewer system[s] for use by community occupants 
shall be designed, installed, and operated according to the requirements 
set forth by: 
 ([a]i)  Plumbing Code; 
 ([b]ii)  The Utah Department of Environmental Quality, 
Division of Water Quality under Title R317, Water Quality; 
 ([c]iii)  local health department regulations; and 
 ([d]iv)  the local sewer district having jurisdiction. 
 ([3]2)  [All w]Wastewater shall be discharged to a public 
sanitary sewer system when[ever] practicable. 
 ([4]3)  Where connection to a public sanitary sewer is not 
practicable, wastewater shall be discharged to: 
 (a)  an approved onsite wastewater disposal system; 
 (b)  a permitted holding tank; or 
 (c)  a vault privy which shall be located, constructed, and 
maintained according to the requirements of Rule R317-560, Rules for 
the Design, Construction, and Maintenance of Vault Privies and Earthen 
Pit Privies, and local health department regulation in such a manner that: 
 (i)  users do not contact waste matter deposited; 
 (ii)  access to the privy interior or vault is minimized for flies, 
insects, rats, and other animals; 
 (iii)  surface or ground water cannot enter the vault, either as 
runoff or as flood water; 
 (iv)  the waste material in the vault privy cannot contaminate 
a water supply, stream, or body of water; and 

 (v)  odors are minimized both inside and outside the privy 
structure. 
 ([5]4)  The operator shall submit [all required ]plans for the 
construction or alteration of a wastewater disposal system in accordance 
with Title R317, Water Quality, before[ prior to] commencing 
construction or alteration. 
 
R392-501-9.  Laundry Facility Requirements. 
 (1)  The operator shall provide: 
 (a)  one mechanical washing machine or one double laundry 
tray or two tubs for each 30 workers, or fraction thereof;[ or] 
 (b)  transportation at least weekly to nearby laundromat; or 
 (c)  a contract with a commercial linen service. 
 (2)  The operator shall provide: 
 (a)  one service sink in the same area as each laundry 
facility[ies][.]; and 
 ([3]b)  [The operator shall provide facilities ]a facility for 
drying clothes. 
 ([4]3)  The operator shall ensure that each building[s] 
containing laundry facilities [are]is maintained in a clean and sanitary 
condition. 
 
R392-501-10.  Toilet and Bath Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall [make]ensure that each of the 
following [operable ]plumbing fixtures is available to each labor 
community occupant: 
 ([a]i)  a toilet fixture; 
 ([b]ii)  a shower or bath fixture; and 
 ([c]iii)  a hand sink installed at a ratio of one per six workers 
in a convenient location, as approved by the local health officer. 
 ([2]b)  The number of toilet fixtures or privy seats provided 
for each [sex]gender shall be based on the maximum number of workers 
of that [sex]gender which the labor community is designed to house at 
any one time, and shall be calculated from[ Section R392-501-11] Table 
[I]1. 
 ([3]c)  The number of shower or bathing facilities provided 
for each [sex]gender shall be based on the maximum number of workers 
of that [sex]gender which the labor community is designed to house at 
any one time, and shall be calculated from[ Section R392-501-11] Table 
[II]2. 
 ([4]2)  [When]If [the plumbing fixtures listed in Subsection 
R392-501-10(1) are]a toilet or bath fixture is located within a housing 
unit, the toilet or bath area shall be provided with: 
[ (a)  a toilet and bathing room shall have:] 
 ([i]a)  a window not less than six square feet in area opening 
directly to the outside area; or 
 ([ii]b)  [operable ]mechanical ventilation. 
[ (5)  Toilet facilities and toilet rooms shall be easily cleanable.] 
 ([6]3)  The operator shall ensure that each toilet facility, toilet 
room[s], and bathroom[s are] is easily cleanable and maintained in a 
clean and sanitary condition. 
 
R392-501-11.  Service Building Requirements. 
 (1)  [E]The operator shall ensure that each labor community 
having housing units as described in R392-501-4([8]9) [shall be]is 
provided with at least one service building[ or buildings] for the use of 
labor community occupants that meets the following requirements:[.] 
[ (2)  A service building shall meet the following requirements:] 
 (a)  [It shall have i]Interior walls shall be constructed of 
smooth, moisture-resistant material to facilitate frequent washing and 
cleaning. 
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 (b)  [All]Each outer opening[s] shall be effectively screened. 
 (c)  [It shall be provided with a]A minimum of 10 foot candles 
of exterior lighting shall be provided to [indicate]show the location of 
the building and entrance doorway[s]. 
 (d)  [T]Each toilet or privy room[s] and laundry facility[ies] 
shall be provided with a minimum of 10 foot candles of interior lighting. 
 (e)  [A]Any approach[es] to [any]a service building shall be 
free from obstruction. 
 (f)  Any common-use potable water faucet inside or connected 
to a service building [shall]may not have a threaded spigot. 
 ([3]2)  [T]Except for Subsection (3), the number of toilets or 
privy seats provided in a service building for each [sex]gender shall be 
based on the maximum number of workers of that [sex]gender which 
the labor community is designed to house at any one time, and shall be 
calculated from Table [I]1. 
 

[TABLE I 
Required Minimum Toilet Fixtures in a Labor Community 

 
Number of 
Workers of 
Same Sex            Required Toilet Fixture(s) 
 
 1 -- 5                1 toilet or privy seat 
 6 - 30                2 toilets or privy seats 
31 - 45                3 toilets or privy seats 
46 - 60               4 toilets or privy seats] 

TABLE 1 
Required Minimum Toilet Fixtures in a Labor Community 

Number of Workers of Same 
Gender 

Required Toilet Fixtures 

1 - 5 1 toilet or privy seat 
6 - 30 2 toilets or privy seats 
31 - 45 3 toilets or privy seats 
46 - 60 4 toilets or privy seats 

 
 ([4]3)  Labor communities employing fewer than six workers, 
irrespective of [sex]gender, only require one toilet or privy if located in 
a single occupancy toilet room that can be locked from the inside. 
 ([5]4)(a)  [U]A urinal[s] may be provided on the basis of one 
unit for each 18 men or fraction thereof, provided the urinal is installed 
in addition to a toilet at the same location. 
 (b)  The required number of toilet fixtures for men may be 
reduced by up to 1/3 by installing urinals in this ratio. 
 (c)  The floor from the wall and for a distance not less than 15 
inches measured from the outward edge of the urinals shall be 
constructed of materials impervious to moisture. 
 ([6]5)  Each [T]toilet facility[ies] and toilet room[s] shall be 
easily cleanable. 
 ([7]6)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection [R392-501-
11]([7]6)([a]c), a separate toilet room[s] within the service building shall 
be provided for each [sex]gender. 
 (b)  [These rooms]Each toilet room shall be distinctly marked 
"for men" [and]or "for women" by a sign[s] printed in [E]english and in 
the native languages of the persons occupying the temporary labor 
community, or marked with easily understood pictures or symbols. 
 ([a]c)  Where a toilet room will be occupied by no more than 
one person at a time, can be locked from the inside, and contains at least 
one toilet, separate toilet rooms for each [sex]gender need not be 
provided. 
 ([8]7)(a)  A service building toilet room shall: 
 (i)  have a window not less than [6]six square feet in area 
opening directly to the outside area; or 
 (ii)  [shall ]be[ otherwise satisfactorily] ventilated in a manner 
approved by the local health officer. 

 (b)  Outside openings shall be screened with 16 mesh 
material. 
 (c)  Each vault privy room shall be ventilated with a properly 
screened opening or openings of at least two square feet. 
 ([9]8)  A toilet fixture or urinal may not be located in a room 
used for other than toilet purposes. 
 ([10]9)(a)  A service building as required in Subsection R392-
501-4([8]9) shall be located within 200 feet of the door of any housing 
unit. 
 (b)  A vault privy may not be located closer than 100 feet to a 
sleeping room, dining room, designated lunch area, or kitchen. 
 ([11]10)  [S]A sink[s] shall be located [either ]in the same 
room as a toilet fixture[s] or immediately adjacent to the toilet room or 
service building. 
 ([12]11)  The operator shall provide soap and toilet tissue in 
[suitable ]dispensers in each service building. 
 ([13]12)  The operator shall provide at least one solid, easily 
cleanable, covered waste receptacle for the collection of solid waste for 
each toilet room within a service building. 
 ([14]13)  Except where an alternate hand drying method is 
approved by the local health officer, [T]the operator shall provide clean 
individual disposable towels at each sink.[ Alternate hand drying 
methods approved by the local health officer may be substituted for 
individual disposable towels.] 
 ([15]14)  The number of shower or bathing facilities provided 
in a service building for each [sex]gender shall be based on the 
maximum number of workers of that [sex]gender which the labor 
community is designed to house at any one time, and shall be calculated 
from Table [II]2. 
 

[TABLE II 
Required Minimum Shower or Bathing Facilities 

in a Labor Community 
 
Number of 
Workers of 
Same Sex             Required Shower or Bathing Facility 
 
 1 -- 15               1 shower or bath 
16 -  30               2 showers or baths 
31 -  45               3 showers or baths 
46 -- 60               4 showers or baths 
] 

TABLE 2 
Required Minimum Shower or Bathing Facilities 

Number of Workers of Same Gender Required Shower or Bathing 
Facilities 

1 - 5 1 toilet or privy seat 
6 - 30 2 toilets or privy seats 
31 - 45 3 toilets or privy seats 
46 - 60 4 toilets or privy seats 

 
 ([16]15)  Labor communities employing fewer than six 
workers, irrespective of [sex]gender, only require one shower or bath if 
located in a single occupancy room that can be locked from the inside. 
 ([17]16)(a)  [Except as provided in Subsection R392-501-
11(15)(a), where shower or bathing facilities are communal, s]Except as 
in Subsection (16)(c), separate bathing or shower area[s] shall be 
provided for each [sex]gender. 
 (b)  [These areas]Each bathing or shower area shall be 
distinctly marked "MEN" or "WOMEN" by signs printed in English and 
in the native languages of the persons occupying the temporary labor 
community, or marked with easily understood pictures or symbols. 
 ([a]c)  [S]A separate shower or bathing area[s] for each 
[sex]gender need not be provided if: 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

64 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 

 (i)  each shower or bathing room[s are] is designed to be 
occupied by no more than one person at a time; and 
 (ii)  each shower or bathing room[s] can be locked from the 
inside. 
 
R392-501-12.  Toilet and Handwashing Accessibility Requirements 
for Offsite Labor Locations. 
 (1)(a)  [On]Except in Subsection (1)(d), at any offsite 
[premises]labor location where a worker[s are] is employed or permitted 
to work for a period of three hours or more, the operator shall provide 
within a convenient distance of the work[ing] area sufficient, suitable 
and separate toilet and handwashing facilities.[  The operator shall use 
the following standards to determine the number of toilet and 
handwashing facilities needed, and the distance to each:] 
 ([a]b)  For one to 20 workers, male or female, one toilet 
facility and one handwashing facility shall be provided within a one-
quarter-mile walk of the work area[;]. 
 ([b]c)  For [work crews of ]21 or more workers, one toilet 
facility per every 20 males or fraction thereof and one toilet facility for 
every 20 females or fraction thereof[.  These toilet facilities shall be ] 
shall be provided within a one-quarter-mile walk of the work area[; or]. 
 ([c]d)  [As]If approved by the local health officer and through 
a written agreement with the workers, in the native language of the 
workers, informing them of such, the operator may [develop a written 
agreement in the native language of the workers that shall state that the 
operator will furnish readily available transportation that 
provides]provide readily available transportation with prompt access, 
within 10 minutes, to a toilet facility once during any continuous four 
hours of work. 
 (2)  Each [T]toilet and associated handwashing facility[ies] 
shall be [accessibly ]located in close proximity to each other. 
 (3)  The operator shall notify each employee of the location 
of [the]each available toilet[ and], handwashing facility[ies], and 
drinking water, and shall allow each employee reasonable opportunities 
during the workday to use them. 
 (4)  Each [P]portable toilet facility[ies] shall be operational 
and maintained in a clean and sanitary condition. 
 (5)  [P]Each portable handwashing facility[ies] shall be: 
 (a)  refilled with potable water as necessary to ensure an 
adequate supply; and 
 (b)  shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition. 
 (6)  The [D]disposal of any waste[s] from a toilet [and]or 
handwashing facility[ies] [shall]may not cause an unsanitary 
condition[s]. 
 (7)  The operator shall provide an adequate supply of 
disposable toilet tissue and single use towels for worker use. 
 
R392-501-13.  Operation and Maintenance. 
 (1)  [All]Each building[s,] and associated grounds, rooms, 
equipment, and furnishings shall be maintained in a clean and operable 
condition. 
 (2)  [All r]Reasonable means shall be employed to eliminate 
or control infestations of vermin within [all]each part[s] of any 
community[.  This shall include ] including approved screening or other 
approved control of outside openings in structures intended for 
occupancy or food service facilities. 
 (3)  Each labor community shall be equipped with at least a 
24-unit ANSI compliant first aid kit. The operator shall ensure that each 
first aid kit is: 
 (a)  properly stocked; 
 (b)  readily accessible; and 
 (c)  conveniently located. 

 (4)  The operator of a community with onsite staff shall 
employ at least one individual who is adequately trained to 
[render]provide first aid[.  This individual should ] and possesses at least 
a certificate of completion of the Basic First Aid Course as presented by 
the American National Red Cross or its equivalent. 
 
R392-501-14.  Food Service. 
 When food service is provided for labor community 
members, any food service, storage, and preparation shall comply with 
the FDA Model Food Code as incorporated and amended in Rule R392-
100, Food Service Sanitation, and local health department regulations. 
 
R392-501-15.  Solid Wastes. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall provide adequate containers to 
prevent the accumulation of solid waste in the labor community. 
 ([2]b)  Solid waste generated at a labor community shall be 
stored in a container that is: 
 (i)  leak-proof[, ]; 
 (ii)  non-absorbent[ container, which shall be ]; and 
 (iii)  kept covered with a tight-fitting lid. 
 ([3]2)  [All s]Solid waste[s] shall be disposed with sufficient 
frequency and in such a manner as to prevent insect breeding, rodent 
harborage, or a public health nuisance. 
 
R392-501-16.  Swimming Pool. 
 The operator shall comply with Rule R392-302, Design, 
Construction, and Operation of Public Pools [as well as other]and local 
health department regulations for [all]any pool[s] or spa[s] made 
available to labor community members or staff. 
 
R392-501-17.  Inspections and Investigations. 
 (1)[(a)]  [U]Except as in Section R392-501-2, and upon 
presenting proper identification, the operator shall permit the local 
health officer to enter [upon ]the premises of a labor community to 
perform inspections, investigations, reviews, and other actions as 
necessary to ensure compliance with [Rule R392-501]this rule. 
 ([b]2)  The local health officer may not enter an occupied tent 
or other structure designed or intended for temporary human habitation 
without the express permission of the occupant except when a warrant 
is issued to an [duly ]authorized public safety officer which authorizes 
the local health officer to enter, or when the operator and the local health 
officer determine that there exists an imminent risk to the life, health, or 
safety of the occupant. 
 
R392-501-18.  Closing or Restricting of Temporary Labor 
Communities or Housing Units. 
 (1)  If [a]the local health officer deems a temporary labor 
community, housing unit, or portion thereof, to be an imminent risk to 
the life, health, or safety of the public, the temporary labor community, 
or [unit area]or portion thereof, may be closed or its use [may be 
]restricted, as determined by the local health officer. 
 (2)  The operator shall restrict public access to the impacted 
area of any temporary labor community or housing unit closed or 
restricted to use by a local health officer within a reasonable time as 
ordered by the local health officer. 
 (3)  [It shall be unlawful for an operator to]The operator may 
not allow the public to utilize any temporary labor community, housing 
unit, or portion thereof that has been deemed unfit for use until written 
approval of the local health officer is given. 
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R392-501-19.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or its application to any person or 
circumstance is declared invalid, the application of such provision to 
other person or circumstances, and the remainder of this code, shall not 
be affected thereby. 
 
KEY:  public health, oil-gas-and mining camp, labor camp, migrant 
camp 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 10, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 21, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-15-2; 26-1-
5; 26-1-30(9); 26-1-30(23); 26-7-1 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R392-700 Filing ID 
54173 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health  
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Environmental Services 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building  
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman  801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R392-700. Indoor Tanning Bed Sanitation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Executive Order No. 2021-12 requires state agencies to 
amend rules that are inconsistent with the current edition 
of the Administrative Rulewriting Manual for Utah.  As 
required, the amendments to Rule R392-700 provide 
technical and conforming changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah.  
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 

substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments to Rule R392-700 provide 
nonsubstantive technical and conforming changes 
throughout this rule and remove superfluous and repetitive 
language.  
 
Section R392-700-1 is expanded to explain the purpose of 
this rule. 
 
Section R392-700-2 is modified to remove cumbersome, 
superfluous language. 
 
In Section R392-700-3:  1) added definitions for Clean, 
Guardian, Local health department, Local health officer, 
and Minor; 2) amended definitions for Patron, 
Phototherapy device, Tanning device, and Tanning facility. 

 
In Sections R392-700-4 through R392-700-12, the 
Department of Health (Department) has made mostly 
nonsubstantive revisions including the rewording and 
restructuring of these sections to simplify the language 
and to clarify the intent to align more closely with the 
authorizing statute and the Rulewriting Manual for Utah.  
The Department also created new sections and moved 
existing provisions from other sections in the rule to 
improve readability and flow. 
 
Substantive changes include:  1) Subsection R392-700-
6(7)(i) is amended to remove "regarding skin cancer" to 
clarify that the information a patron may receive by 
contacting the local health department is not limited to skin 
cancer; 2) Subsection R392-700-10 is amended to require 
the operator to disinfect reusable protective eyewear with 
an EPA registered disinfectant after each use rather than 
sanitizing eyewear because a sanitizer is not sufficiently 
strong to control the spread of communicable diseases like 
conjunctivitis and impetigo.  This amended language is 
now located in Section R392-700-7; and 3) Section R392-
700-12 is a severability clause that is added to be 
consistent with other rules promulgated under Title R392. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures at the Department. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures at the local health departments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
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No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes reflect current industry practice. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes reflect current industry practice. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes reflect current industry practice. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes reflect current industry practice. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact to business because the 
substantive changes reflect current industry practices.  
Nathan Checketts, Interim Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Interim Executive Director of the Department of 
Health, Nathan Checketts, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-15-2 Section 26-1-5 Section 26-1-30 
Section 26-15-13   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/21/2021 

 
R392.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental 
Services. 
[R392-700.  Indoor Tanning Bed Sanitation. 
R392-700-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 This rule establishes tanning facility standards.  It is 
authorized by Section 26-15-2 and 26-15-13. 
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R392-700-2.  Applicability. 
 This rule applies to places where consideration is given in 
exchange for access to a tanning device.  This rule does not apply to 
private, non-commercial use of tanning equipment exclusively for non-
commercial use.  A tanning facility may not operate in Utah unless the 
facility owner has obtained a permit to do so from the local health 
department with jurisdiction. 
 
R392-700-3.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (2)  "Operator" means any person who owns, leases, or 
manages a business operating a tanning facility. 
 (3)  "Patron" mean any person who enters a tanning facility 
with the intent to use a tanning device. 
 (4)  "Phototherapy Device" means equipment that emits 
ultraviolet radiation used by a health care professional in the treatment 
of disease when used at the health care professional's health care office 
or clinic. 
 (5)(a)  "Tanning device" means equipment to which a tanning 
facility provides access that emits electromagnetic radiation with 
wavelengths in the air between 200 and 400 nanometers and is used for 
tanning of the skin, including: 
 (i)  a sunlamp; and 
 (ii)  a tanning booth or bed. 
 (b)  "Tanning device" does not include a phototherapy device. 
 (6)  "Tanning Facility" means a commercial location, place, 
area, structure, or business that provides access to a tanning device. 
 (7)  "Timing Device" means a device that is capable of ending 
the emission of ultraviolet radiation from tanning device after a preset 
period of time. 
 (8)  "Ultraviolet Radiation" means electromagnetic radiation 
that has a wave length interval of 200 nanometers to 400 nanometers in 
air. 
 
R392-700-4.  Warning Sign Placement. 
 (1)  The operator of a tanning facility shall post a warning sign 
that meets the requirements of this rule in a conspicuous location that is 
readily visible to a person about to use a tanning device. 
 (a)  The operator shall place the warning sign so that all 
patrons are alerted to the hazard and informed before being exposed to 
UV radiation.  At a minimum, the operator shall post the warning sign: 
 (i)  in the line of sight of a person presenting at the reception 
or sales counter and no more than 10 feet from where a patron checks in 
or pays for the tanning session; and 
 (ii)  on a vertical surface in the reception area so that the top 
border of the writing is between five and six feet above the patron floor 
level at the reception or sales counter area. 
 
R392-700-5.  Warning Sign Requirements. 
 (1)  The warning sign required by R392-700-5 shall meet the 
requirements of this section.  An Adobe Acrobat Portable Document 
Format, .pdf, file that meets the requirements of this section is available 
from the Department or the local health department. 
 (2)  The sign shall be in a landscape format 11 inches high by 
17 inches wide on a white background. 
 (3)  All lettering shall be in Arial font as produced in Adobe 
Acrobat.  In addition, the letters shall be: 
 (a)  black in color 
 (b)  all uppercase 
 (c)  adequately spaced and not crowded 

 (4)  There must be a panel at the top of the sign.  The 
background of the panel shall be safety orange in color and shall: 
 (a)  be 3.3 centimeters, high and 42 centimeters wide, 
including a black line border that is 0.16 centimeter wide surrounding 
the safety orange background; 
 (b)  have the word "WARNING" in capital letters that are 80 
points in size (approximately two centimeters high); and 
 (c)  have an internationally recognized safety alert symbol that 
is two centimeters high and placed immediately to the left of the word 
"WARNING" 
 (5)  The safety alert symbol shall be black with a yellow field. 
 (6)  The word "WARNING" and the symbol shall be 
vertically and horizontally centered within the orange panel. 
 (7)  Immediately below the orange panel shall appear the 
words: "UV RADIATION HEALTH RISK" in letters that are 61 points 
in size (approximately 1.5 centimeters high) and centered between the 
vertical margins.  The vertical space between the "WARNING" panel 
and the top of the words "UV RADIATION HEALTH RISK" shall be 
approximately 1.6 centimeters.  The vertical space between the bottom 
of the words "UV RADIATION HEALTH RISK" and the top of the 
words of the first bulleted statement required in subsection (9) shall be 
approximately 1.6 centimeters. 
 (8)  Beneath the "UV RADIATION HEALTH RISK" line 
shall appear the body wording of the sign in letters that are 39 points in 
size (approximately one centimeter high). 
 (9)  The body of the sign shall be the following four bulleted 
statements: 
 -TANNING DEVICES MAY CAUSE SEVERE EYE AND 
SKIN DAMAGE AND MAY CAUSE CANCER 
 -TALK TO A DOCTOR IF YOU ARE PREGNANT OR ON 
ORAL CONTRACEPTIVES OR OTHER DRUGS 
 -WAIT AT LEAST 48 HRS BEFORE RE-TANNING 
 -REQUIRED FOR ALL PERSONS UNDER 18 YEARS 
FOR EACH TANNING SESSION: IN PERSON WRITTEN 
CONSENT BY PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN OR PHYSCIAN'S 
WRITTEN ORDER 
 (10)  The vertical spacing between each of the bulleted 
statements shall be approximately 1.6 centimeters.  The margins to the 
right and left of the bulleted statements shall be no less than 4.4 
centimeters. 
 (11)  The vertical spacing between the last bulleted statement 
and the bottom margin of the paper shall be no less than two centimeters. 
 (12)  Local health departments may add additional warning 
requirements that are applicable to all patrons of all tanning facilities. 
 
R392-700-6.  Written Health Risk Warning and Signed Consent. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any operator of a tanning facility to allow 
a person younger than 18 years old (hereinafter "minor" ) to use a 
tanning device, unless the person either: 
 (a)  has a written order from a physician as a medical 
treatment that includes the frequency and duration of tanning sessions; 
or 
 (b)  at each time of use is accompanied at the tanning facility 
by a parent or legal guardian who signs a written consent form 
authorizing the minor to use the tanning device (the parent or legal 
guardian is not required to remain at the facility for the duration of the 
use). 
 (2)  The operator shall not allow a minor to exceed a 
physician's order for tanning in either frequency or duration of the 
tanning sessions. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

68 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 

 (3)  The consent form for use of a tanning device by a minor 
shall conform to the Utah Department of Health Tanning Consent Form, 
July 2012, which is incorporated by reference. 
 (4)  Before allowing a patron to use a tanning device, the 
operator shall require the patron to provide proof of age. 
 (5)  The operator or designee shall not allow any person to use 
a tanning device without providing the information listed under (6) to 
the patron (or parent or legal guardian in the case of a minor). 
 (6)  Before allowing any patron to use a tanning device, the 
operator shall upon a patron's initial visit to the tanning facility and 
annually thereafter: 
 (a)  provide the patron (or parent or legal guardian in the case 
of a minor) a written paper health risk warning notice containing the 
health risk information in subsection (7); 
 (b)  provide the patron (or parent or legal guardian in the case 
of a minor) an opportunity to read the notice and ask questions; 
 (c)  obtain the patron's (or parent's or legal guardian's in the 
case of a minor) dated signature signifying that the patron (or parent or 
legal guardian in the case of a minor) has read and understands the 
notice; 
 (d)  give the patron (or parent or legal guardian in the case of 
a minor) a copy of the notice. 
 (7)  The notice required in subsection (3) shall include the 
following: 
 (a)  a representative list of potential photosensitizing drugs 
and agents and the importance of consulting a physician before tanning 
if the patron is taking certain medicines, has a history of skin problems, 
is pregnant, or is sensitive to sunlight; 
 (b)  information regarding potential negative health effects 
related to ultraviolet exposure including: 
 (i)  the increased risk of skin cancer and increased risk for 
those patrons with health problems who sunburn easily, have a family 
history of melanoma, or often get cold sores; 
 (ii)  the increased risk of skin thinning, wrinkling, and 
premature aging; 
 (iii)  the possible adverse effect on some viral conditions or 
medical condition, such as lupus when using a tanning device. 
 (c)  information on how to determine skin sensitivity and 
information on how different skin types respond to the tanning facilities 
different tanning devices and the importance of adhering to the time 
limit the manufacturer recommends for each skin type; 
 (d)  an explanation of Ultraviolet-A (UVA) and Ultraviolet-B 
(UVB) light's effect on the body, the need to use proper protective eye 
wear with both UV-A and UV-B systems, and that closing the eyes is 
not sufficient to prevent possible eye damage; 
 (e)  information on the capacity of devices, including proper 
exposure times and intensity; 
 (f)  information on the risk of tanning too frequently and on 
over exposure including advice to space tanning sessions 48 hours apart 
and information on how long it takes before skin burns may develop; 
 (g)  the importance of the use of protective eye wear including 
the possibility of eye damage if the eye wear is not used and the tanning 
device's recommendations on how to properly use eye wear while using 
the tanning device; 
 (h)  information that tanning may be inadvisable during 
pregnancy; and 
 (i)  other relevant medical information as determined by the 
local health department, but at a minimum, the local health department 
contact information to enable the patron to obtain additional information 
regarding skin cancer. 

 (8)  The operator shall retain the signed patron notices at the 
tanning facility and make them readily available for inspection by the 
Department and local health department. 
 (9)  The operator shall provide a separate enclosed area for 
each tanning device that ensures patron safety and privacy. 
 (10)  The operator shall ensure that only one person enters 
tanning area during a tanning session. 
 (11)  The operator shall not allow an animal, except for a 
service animal, to be in a tanning area during a tanning session.  The 
operator shall ensure that service animals allowed in tanning areas be 
provided eye protection from UV exposure. 
 
R392-700-7.  Tanning Devices. 
 (1)  A tanning facility may use only commercially available 
tanning devices manufactured and certified in compliance with 21 CFR 
801.4, 21 CFR 1010.2 and 1010.3, and 21 CFR 1040.20. 
 (a)  The operator shall follow all manufacturer safety 
instructions applicable to each tanning device. 
 (b)  The operator shall not: 
 (i)  operate any tanning device that has an ineffective or 
inoperable timing device or for which the timing device is missing; 
 (ii)  exceed the manufacturer's maximum recommended 
exposure time; or 
 (iii)  exceed the exposure time recommended by the 
manufacturer in compliance with 21 CFR 1040.20(d)(1)(iv). 
 (3)  The operator shall maintain at the tanning facility the 
manufacturer's operating instructions, exposure recommendations, and 
safety instructions for each tanning device. 
 (4)  The operator shall centrally install and locate the timing 
device controls for each tanning device so that a patron may not set or 
reset the exposure time on any tanning device. 
 (5)  The operator shall control the temperature of the 
consumer contact surfaces of a tanning device and the surrounding area 
so that it will not exceed 100 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (6)  The operator shall maintain the tanning devices in good 
repair. 
 (7)  The operator shall provide physical barriers to protect 
patrons from possible injury which may be induced by touching or 
breaking tanning equipment lamps. 
 (8)  The operator shall provide physical barriers or other 
methods, such as handrails or floor markings to indicate the proper 
exposure distance between ultraviolet lamps and the patron's skin. 
 (9)  The operator shall replace defective or burned-out lamps 
or filters with lamps and filters that are clearly identified by brand and 
model designation by the replacement lamp by the lamp manufacturer.  
The operator shall maintain lamp manufacturer's labeling and user 
instructions at the facility that demonstrate the equivalence of any 
replacement lamp or filter. 
 (10)  An operator shall not advertise or promote the use of any 
tanning equipment using wording such as "safe," "safe tanning," "no 
harmful rays," "no adverse effect," "free from risk," or similar wording 
or concept. 
 (11)  The operator shall track each patron's usage to ensure 
that a patron does not use a tanning device more frequently than once 
each calendar day or in excess of the manufacturer's recommended 
exposure. 
 (12)  The tanning device shall allow each patron to exit the 
tanning device without assistance from the operator. 
 (13)  The operator shall assess each patron's skin type and 
sensitivity and consider the intensity of the radiation output of the 
tanning devices in the tanning facility when assigning a patron to use a 
particular tanning device. 
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R392-700-8.  Protective Eye Wear. 
 Prior to each tanning session, the operator shall offer 
protective eye wear to each patron, instruct the patron on proper use and 
the importance of proper use of eye wear, and notify the patron of 
possible damage that might occur to the patron if the patron does not 
wear it.  Protective eye wear shall be eye wear that is supplied by the 
manufacturer for use with the tanning device or that is the equivalent to 
the protective eye wear supplied by the manufacturer. 
 
R392-700-9.  Tanning Physical Facilities. 
 (1)  The operator shall provide a restroom that includes a 
flushing toilet and a hand-washing sink with hot and cold running water 
accessible to patrons at each tanning facility.  The operator shall ensure 
that tanning facility floors and walls in the toilet rooms and hand-
washing areas are constructed of smooth, non-absorbent material. 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that all areas of the tanning 
facility and temporary tanning facility are properly ventilated.  The 
internal ambient air temperature of the facility shall not exceed 85 
degrees F. 
 (3)  The operator shall ensure that all rooms of a tanning 
facility are capable of being illuminated to allow for proper cleaning and 
sanitizing. 
 (4)  To prevent patron slip injury, the operator shall ensure that 
the floor adjacent to each tanning device is clean and slip resistant to 
allow for safe entry and exit from the tanning device. 
 
R392-700-10.  Tanning Facility Sanitation. 
 (1)  The operator shall maintain in good repair and in a 
sanitary condition all portions of the tanning facility, including wall, 
floors, ceilings, and equipment. 
 (2)  The operator shall clean and sanitize before each use, all: 
 (a)  reusable protective eye wear; 
 (b)  body contact surfaces of the tanning device; and 
 (c)  body contact surfaces of the tanning booth, including all 
seating surfaces and door knobs. 
 (3)  The operator shall clean the items in subsection (2) using 
a detergent or other agent able to emulsify oils and hold dirt in 
suspension using a concentration as indicated by the detergent or other 
agent manufacturer's use directions included on the product labeling.  
The operator shall sanitize the items in subsection (2) with a chlorine 
sanitizer or a quaternary ammonia compound using a concentration as 
indicated by the sanitizer or compound manufacturer's use directions 
included on the product labeling. 
 (4)  If the operator cleans the items in a separate process from 
sanitizing the items, the operator shall clean the items prior to sanitizing 
them.  The operator may use a single product to both clean and sanitize 
if that product meets the requirements of subsection (3) for the cleaning 
and sanitizing of the items in subsection (2). 
 (5)  The operator shall ensure that restroom facilities are 
maintained in a clean and sanitary condition.  The operator shall provide 
hand soap and single use hand drying towels or a hand drying 
mechanism for patron use. 
 (6)  The operator shall clean and sanitize towels or other linens 
after each use. 
 
R392-700-11.  Permit Requirements. 
 (1)  A tanning facility may not operate in Utah unless it has 
first obtained a permit to operate from the local health department with 
jurisdiction. 
 (2)  In order to obtain a permit, the facility must fill out the 
required local health department form, submit the form to the local 

health department, and pay the associated fee.  A permit, unless revoked, 
is good for one year. 
 (3)  Before the facility is eligible for a permit, the tanning 
facility operator must demonstrate to the local health department that the 
facility can meet the tanning physical facility requirements, warning 
sign requirements, and the tanning device requirements in this rule.  The 
tanning facility operator must also demonstrate that the facility has the 
systems in place to meet the written consent requirements, information 
notification requirements, eye wear requirements, and operational 
requirements in this rule. 
 (4)  The tanning facility operator must be able to demonstrate 
to the local health department initially and upon subsequent inspections 
sufficient knowledge of safe operation of the tanning device in 
accordance with manufacturers recommendations. 
 
R392-700-12.  Enforcement and Penalties. 
 A person who violates a provision of this rule that is also a 
provision of Section 26-15-13 may be subject to a class C misdemeanor, 
and revocation of the permit to operate.  A person who violates a 
provision of this rule that is not also a provision of Section 26-15-13 is 
subject to a civil penalty as provided in Section 26-23-6.] 
R392-700.  Indoor Tanning Facility Sanitation. 
R392-700-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 26-1-5, 26-1-30, 26-15-
2 and 26-15-13. 
 (2)  This rule establishes minimum standards for the 
sanitation, operation, and maintenance of an indoor tanning facility, 
as defined by this rule, and provides for the prevention and control of 
hazards associated with indoor tanning that are likely to adversely 
affect public health and wellness including risk factors to injury, 
sickness, death, disability, and the spread of disease. 
 
R392-700-2.  Applicability. 
 This rule applies to a tanning facility where a member of the 
public is provided access to a tanning device. This rule does not apply to 
private use of a tanning device when operated exclusively for non-
commercial use. 
 
R392-700-3.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Clean" means the condition of an object visibly free from 
dirt, soil stain, or other materials not intended to be a part of the object. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (3)  "Guardian" means the parent of a minor, or a person who 
has qualified as a guardian of a minor pursuant to Title 75, Chapter 5, Part 
2, Guardians of Minors. 
 (4)  "Local health department" has the same meaning as 
provided in Subsection 26A-1-102(5). 
 (5)  "Local health officer" means the health officer of the local 
health department having jurisdiction or the local health officer's 
designated representative. 
 (6)  "Minor" means a person under 18 years of age. 
 (7)  "Operator" means any person who, whether permitted or 
not, controls, operates,  owns, or manages a tanning facility as defined, 
or any individual who has been designated by the operator as the person 
in charge. 
 (8)  "Patron" means any person who enters a tanning facility 
with the intent to use a tanning device. In Section R392-700-5, the term 
"patron" includes a parent or guardian in the case of a minor. 
 (9)  "Phototherapy device" has the same meaning as provided 
in Subsection 26-15-13(1)(b). 
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 (10)  "Tanning device" has the same meaning as provided in 
Subsection 26-15-13(1)(c). 
 (11)  "Tanning facility" has the same meaning as provided in 
Subsection 26-15-13(1)(d). 
 (12)  "Timing Device" means a device that is capable of ending 
the emission of ultraviolet radiation from tanning device after a preset 
period. 
 (13)  "Ultraviolet radiation" means electromagnetic radiation 
that has a wavelength interval of 200 nanometers to 400 nanometers in 
air. 
 
R392-700-4.  Warning Sign. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall post a warning sign that meets the 
requirements of Subsection (2) in a conspicuous location that is readily 
visible to a person who intends to use a tanning device. 
 (b)  The operator shall place the warning sign so that the patron 
is alerted to the hazard and informed before being exposed to UV 
radiation. 
 (c)  At a minimum, the operator shall post the warning sign: 
 (i)  in the line of sight of a person presenting at the reception or 
sales counter and no more than 10 feet from where a patron checks in or 
pays for the tanning session; and 
 (ii)  on a vertical surface in the reception area so that the top 
border of the writing is between five and six feet above the floor level at 
the reception or sales counter area. 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the warning sign required in Subsection (1) is in a 
landscape format 11 inches high by 17 inches wide on a white 
background; 
 (b)  warning sign lettering is in Arial font as produced in Adobe 
Acrobat, and the letters are: 
 (i)  black in color; 
 (ii)  uppercase; and 
 (iii)  adequately spaced and not crowded; 
 (c)  the top of the sign includes a panel that is safety orange in 
color and: 
 (i)  is 3.3 centimeters high and 42 centimeters wide, including 
a black line border that is 0.16 centimeters wide surrounding the safety 
orange background; 
 (ii)  includes the word, "warning" in capital letters that are 80 
points in size; and 
 (iii)  has an internationally recognized safety alert symbol that 
is two centimeters high and placed immediately to the left of the word, 
"warning"; 
 (d)  the safety alert symbol is black with a yellow field; 
 (e)  the word, "warning" and the symbol are vertically and 
horizontally centered within the orange panel; 
 (f)  immediately below the orange panel appear the words, 
"UV radiation health risk" in letters that are 61 points in size and centered 
between the vertical margins; 
 (g)  the vertical space between the "warning" panel and the top 
of the words, "UV radiation health risk" is about 1.6 centimeters; 
 (h)  the vertical space between the bottom of the words, "UV 
radiation health risk" and the top of the words of the first bulleted 
statement required in Subsection (2)(j) are about 1.6 centimeters; 
 (i)  beneath the "UV radiation health risk" line appear the body 
wording of the sign in letters that are 39 points in size; 
 (j)  the body of the sign includes the following four statements: 
 (i)  "Tanning devices may cause severe eye and skin damage, 
and may cause cancer;" 
 (ii)  "Talk to a doctor if you are pregnant or on oral 
contraceptives or other drugs;" 

 (iii)  "Wait at least 48 hours before tanning again;" and 
 (iv)  "In person written consent by parent or legal guardian or 
physician's written order is required for any person under 18 years for 
each tanning session;" 
 (k)  the vertical spacing between each of the bulleted 
statements is about 1.6 centimeters; 
 (l)  the margins to the right and left of the bulleted statements 
are no less than 4.4 centimeters; and 
 (m)  the vertical spacing between the last bulleted statement 
and the bottom margin of the paper is no less than two centimeters. 
 (3)  A local health officer may add additional warning 
requirements that apply to each patron. 
 
R392-700-5.  Written Health Risk Warning Notice, and Signed 
Consent. 
 (1)  The operator shall prohibit a minor from using a tanning 
device except if the minor: 
 (a)  has a written order from a physician as a medical treatment 
that includes the frequency and duration of tanning sessions; or 
 (b)  at each time of use, is accompanied at the tanning facility 
by a parent or guardian who signs a written consent form authorizing the 
minor to use the tanning device. 
 (2)  The parent or guardian of a minor is not required to remain 
at the tanning facility during the minor's use of a tanning device. 
 (3)  The operator may not allow a minor to exceed a physician's 
order for tanning in either frequency or duration of a tanning session. 
 (4)  The consent form for use of a tanning device by a minor 
shall conform to the Department's Tanning Consent Form, July 2012, 
which is incorporated by reference. 
 (5)  Before using a tanning device, the patron shall provide 
proof of age to the operator. 
 (6)  Before the patron's use of a tanning device, the operator 
shall provide the patron with the information listed under Subsection (7). 
 (7)  Upon a patron's initial visit to the tanning facility and 
annually thereafter, the operator shall: 
 (a)  provide the patron with a written paper health risk warning 
notice containing the health risk information listed in Subsection (8); 
 (b)  provide the patron an opportunity to read the notice and 
ask questions; 
 (c)  have the patron sign and date the notice to signify that the 
patron has read and understands; and 
 (d)  give the patron a copy of the notice. 
 (8)  The health risk warning notice required in subsection 
(7)(a) shall include: 
 (a)  a representative list of potential photosensitizing drugs and 
agents; 
 (b)  a statement on the importance of consulting a physician 
before tanning if the patron: 
 (i)  is taking certain medicines; 
 (ii)  has a history of skin problems; 
 (iii)  is pregnant; or 
 (iv)  is sensitive to sunlight; 
 (c)  information regarding potential negative health effects 
related to ultraviolet exposure including: 
 (i)  the increased risk of skin cancer and increased risk for 
patrons with: 
 (A)  health problems who sunburn easily; 
 (B)  a family history of melanoma; or 
 (C)  frequent cold sores; 
 (ii)  the increased risk of skin thinning, wrinkling, and 
premature aging; and 
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 (iii)  the possible adverse effect on some viral or medical 
conditions, like lupus, when using a tanning device; 
 (d)  information on: 
 (i)  how to determine skin sensitivity; 
 (ii)  how different skin types respond to different tanning 
devices; 
 (iii)  the importance of adhering to the time limit the 
manufacturer recommends for each skin type; 
 (iv)  how ultraviolet-A (UVA) and ultraviolet-B (UVB) affect 
the human body; 
 (v)  the required use of proper protective eyewear with both 
UVA and UVB systems, and a statement that closing the eyes is not 
sufficient to prevent possible eye damage; 
 (vi)  the use of protective eyewear including the possibility of 
eye damage if the eyewear is not used; 
 (vii)  the tanning device manufacturer's recommendations on 
how to properly use eyewear while using the tanning device; 
 (viii)  the capacity of each tanning device, including proper 
exposure time and intensity; 
 (ix)  the risk of tanning too frequently and on over exposure 
including advice to space tanning sessions 48 hours apart; 
 (x)  the typical amount of time for a sunburn to develop; 
 (xi)  the inadvisability of tanning during pregnancy; and 
 (xii)  additional relevant medical considerations as determined 
by the local health officer; and 
 (e)  how to contact the local health department to get additional 
information. 
 (9)  The operator shall keep each signed patron consent form 
at the tanning facility and shall make the forms readily available for 
review by the local health officer upon request. 
 
R392-700-6.  Tanning Devices. 
 (1)(a)  The operator shall use only commercially available 
tanning devices manufactured and certified in compliance with 21 CFR 
801.4, 21 CFR 1010.2, 21 CFR 1010.3, and 21 CFR 1040.20. 
 (b)  The operator shall follow the manufacturer's safety 
instructions applicable to each tanning device. 
 (2)  The operator shall: 
 (a)  maintain at the tanning facility the manufacturer's 
operating instructions, exposure recommendations, and safety 
instructions for each tanning device; 
 (b)  centrally install and locate the timing device controls for 
each tanning device so that a patron may not set or reset the exposure 
time on any tanning device; 
 (c)  control the temperature of each body contact surface of a 
tanning device and the surrounding area to ensure that the surface does 
not exceed 100 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (d)  maintain each tanning device in good repair; 
 (e)  provide a physical barrier to protect a patron from possible 
injury that could occur by touching or breaking a tanning device lamp; 
 (f)  provide a physical barrier or other method, such as a 
handrail or floor marking to show the patron the proper exposure distance 
between an ultraviolet lamp and the patron's skin; 
 (g)  replace each defective or burned-out lamp or filter with a 
lamp or filter that is clearly identified by brand and model designation by 
the lamp or filter manufacturer; 
 (h)  maintain lamp manufacturer's labeling and user 
instructions at the tanning facility that demonstrate the compatibility 
equivalence of any replacement lamp or filter; 
 (i)  track each patron's usage to ensure that a patron does not 
use a tanning device more frequently than once each calendar day or in 
excess of the manufacturer's recommended exposure; 

 (j)  ensure that each tanning device allows a patron to exit the 
tanning device without assistance from the operator; 
 (k)  assess each patron's skin type and sensitivity and consider 
the intensity of the radiation output of the tanning devices in the tanning 
facility when assigning a patron to use a particular tanning device; 
 (l)  provide a separate enclosed tanning area for each tanning 
device that ensures patron safety and privacy; and 
 (m)  ensure that only one person enters an enclosed tanning 
area during a tanning session; 
 (3)  The operator may not: 
 (a)  operate any tanning device that has an ineffective or 
inoperable timing device or for which the timing device is missing; 
 (b)  exceed the manufacturer's maximum recommended 
exposure time; 
 (c)  exceed the exposure time recommended by the 
manufacturer in compliance with 21 CFR 1040.20(d)(1)(iv); 
 (d)  advertise or promote the use of any tanning equipment 
using wording such as "safe," "safe tanning," "no harmful rays," "no 
adverse effect,"free from risk," or similar wording or concept; and 
 (e)  allow an animal, except for a service animal, to be in an 
enclosed tanning area during a tanning session. 
 
R392-700-7.  Protective Eyewear. 
 The operator shall ensure that: 
 (1)  protective eyewear is offered to each patron before each 
tanning session; 
 (2)  each patron is instructed on proper use of protective 
eyewear and warned of possible damage to the eyes if the protective 
eyewear is not worn; 
 (3)  provided protective eyewear is compatible with the 
tanning device being used; 
 (4)  reusable protective eyewear is cleaned and disinfected 
with an EPA registered disinfectant after each use; and 
 (5)  a service animal allowed in an enclosed tanning area is 
provided with protective eyewear. 
 
R392-700-8.  Construction and Maintenance Requirements. 
 The operator shall ensure that: 
 (1)  a restroom is provided for patron use that includes: 
 (a)  a flushing toilet; 
 (b)  a handwashing sink with hot and cold running water; and 
 (c)  hand soap and single use hand drying towels or a hand 
drying mechanism; 
 (2)  each floor and wall in the toilet room and handwashing 
area is constructed of smooth, non-absorbent material; 
 (3)  each tanning facility area is properly ventilated; 
 (4)  the internal ambient air temperature of the facility does not 
exceed 85 degrees F; 
 (5)  each tanning facility room is capable of being illuminated 
to allow for proper cleaning and sanitizing; and 
 (6)  the floor adjacent to each tanning device is clean and slip 
resistant to allow for safe entry and exit from the tanning device. 
 
R392-700-9.  Tanning Facility Sanitation. 
 (1)  The operator shall maintain walls, floors, ceilings, 
restrooms, and equipment of a tanning facility in good repair and in a 
clean and sanitary condition. 
 (2)  The operator shall clean each body contact surface of a 
tanning device, including each seating surface and doorknob: 
 (a)  before each use; 
 (b)  using a detergent or other agent able to emulsify oils and 
hold dirt in suspension; and 
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 (c)  using a concentration as indicated by the chemical 
manufacturer's use directions included on the product label; 
 (3)  The operator shall sanitize each body contact surface of the 
tanning device, including each seating surface and doorknob: 
 (a)  before each use; 
 (b)  with a chlorine sanitizer or a quaternary ammonia 
compound; and 
 (c)  using a concentration as indicated by the chemical 
manufacturer's use directions included on the product label. 
 (4)  The operator may use a single product to both clean and 
sanitize if that product meets the requirements of Subsections (2) and (3) 
for the cleaning and sanitizing of body contact surfaces of the tanning 
device. 
 (e)  If the operator cleans a body contact surface of a tanning 
device in a separate process from sanitizing the surface, the operator shall 
clean the surface before sanitizing it. 
 (5)  The operator shall wash and dry towels and other linens 
between each use. 
 
R392-700-10.  Permit Requirements. 
 (1)  A tanning facility may not operate unless the operator has 
first obtained a permit to operate from the local health department having 
jurisdiction. 
 (2)  To get a permit, the operator shall complete an application 
provided by the local health department and pay the associated fee. A 
permit, unless revoked, is valid for one year. 
 (3)  Before the tanning facility is eligible for a permit, the 
operator shall demonstrate to the local health officer that: 
 (a)  the tanning facility can meet the requirements of Sections 
R392-700-4, R392-700-6, and R392-700-8; and 
 (b)  the facility has the systems in place to meet the 
requirements of Sections R392-700-5, R392-700-7, and R392-700-9. 
 (4)  The operator shall be able to demonstrate to the local health 
officer, initially and upon subsequent inspections, that the operator has 
sufficient knowledge to safely operate each tanning device in accordance 
with manufacturer's directions. 
 
R392-700-11.  Enforcement and Penalties. 
 (1)  A person who violates a requirement of this rule that is also 
a requirement of Section 26-15-13 may be subject to a class C 
misdemeanor, and revocation of the permit described in Section R392-
700-10. 
 (2)  A person who violates a requirement of this rule that is not 
also a requirement of Section 26-15-13 is subject to a civil penalty as 
provided in Section 26-23-6. 
 
R392-700-12.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, or its application to any person 
or circumstance is declared invalid, the application of such provisions 
to other persons or circumstances, and the remainder of this rule shall 
be given effect without the invalidated provision of the application. 
 
KEY:  tanning beds, [salons]indoor tanning, sanitation, ultraviolet 
light safety 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 15, 2012] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 16, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-15-2; 26-15-
13; 26-1-5; 26-1-30 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

kristigrimes@utah.gov 

Joel Hoffman 801-
273-
2804 

jhoffman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-152.  Mental Retardation Facility 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this amendment is to comply with the 
settlement agreement with the Disability Law Center 
(DLC).  The DLC filed a lawsuit against the Department of 
Health (Department), regarding Intermediate Care 
Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities 
(ICF/IID's), several years ago.  These changes satisfy the 
provisions of the settlement agreement for individuals 
residing in ICF/IID's. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment ensures ICF/IID's employees receive 
specialized training regarding the care of children and 
youth with intellectual disabilities when there are 
individuals under 22 years of age in the facility.  The facility 
shall not admit clients under the age of 22 years without 
the expressed permission of the Department.  In addition, 
no one under the age of 22 years shall live in the same 
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room with more than one individual; or with individuals 
over the age of 22 years, unless they are members of the 
individual's immediate family.  Outdated language and 
formatting issues were also modified in this amendment. 
 
The Health Facility Committee reviewed and approved this 
rule amendment on 05/12/2021. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government small health care facility survey process 
was thoroughly reviewed.  This change will not impact the 
current process for licensure and re-licensure surveys.  No 
change to the state budget is expected. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures.  
Small health care facilities are regulated by the state 
health department and not local governments.  There will 
be no change in local business licensing or any other items 
with which local government is involved. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
business Small Health Care Facilities.  There are 15 
ICF/IID's, as determined by the Department's licensing 
data system.  (North American Industry Classification 
System (NAICS) codes used – Residential Mental Health 
Facilities 6232, reports 35 small businesses).  None of the 
Department licensed ICF/IID's are listed as a small 
business. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small business Small Health Care Facilities.  There are 15 
ICF/IID's, as determined by the Department's licensing 
data system.  (NAICS) codes used – Residential Mental 
Health Facilities 6232, reports 33 non-small businesses).  
Six of the Department licensed ICF/IID's are listed as non-
small businesses.  Employee training is currently provided 
in these facilities and the additional of specialized training 
to the facilities that serve individuals under 22 years of 
age, would be negligible.  In addition, no cost would be 
associated with room placement requirements for 
individuals under 22 years of age. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment adds employee 
training requirements and room placement requirements 
for individuals residing in an ICF/IID and therefore, would 
not add cost for persons, businesses, or local government 
entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment adds employee 
training requirements and room placement requirements 
for individuals residing in an ICF/IID and therefore, would 
not add cost for persons, businesses, or local government 
entities. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for either 
small business or non-small business.  Employee training 
is currently provided in these facilities and the addition of 
specialized training to the facilities that serve individuals 
under 22 years of age, would be negligible.  No cost would 
be associated with room placement requirements for 
individuals under 22 years of age.  Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 120/01/2021 

 

R432.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-152.  [Mental Retardation Facility]Intermediate Care Facility 
for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities. 
R432-152-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21 Health 
Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 
R432-152-2.  Purpose. 
 It is the purpose of the rule to meet the intent of the Legislature 
as expressed in Section 26-21-13.5. 
 
R432-152-3.  Definitions. 
 [(1)  ]The definitions in Section R432-1-3 apply to this rule.  
In addition, the following [special ]definitions apply to this rule: 
 ([a]1)  "Administrator" means the person in charge of the 
daily operations of the Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with 
Intellectual Disabilities.["Significantly Subaverage General Intellectual 
Functioning" is operationally defined as a score of two or more standard 
deviations below the mean on a standardized general intelligence test.] 
 ([b]2)  "Developmental Period" means the period between 
conception and the 18th birthday. 
 ([c]3)  "Direct Care Staff" means personnel who provide care, 
training, treatment or supervision of residents. 
 ([d]4)  "[QMRP]QIDP" means a Qualified [Mental 
Retardation ]Intellectual Disabilities Professional as defined in 42 CFR 
483.403(a)[, 1997]. 
 (5)  "Significantly Sub-average General Intellectual 
Functioning" is operationally defined as a score of two or more standard 
deviations below the mean on a standardized general intelligence test. 
 
R432-152-4.  Licensure. 
 These rules apply to [all ]Intermediate Care Facilities for [the 
Mentally Retarded]Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities licensed 
[prior to]before July 1, 1990, pursuant to Section 26-21-13.5. 
 
R432-152-5.  Construction and Physical Environment. 
 Intermediate Care Facilities for [the Mentally 
Retarded]Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities shall be constructed 
and maintained in accordance with Rule R432-5 Nursing Facility 
Construction. 
 
R432-152-6.  Governing Body and Management. 
 (1)  The licensee shall identify an individual or group to 
constitute the governing body of the facility. 
 (2)  The governing body shall: 
 (a)  exercise general policy, budget[,] and operating direction 
over the facility; and 
 (b)  set the qualifications[, in addition to the requirements of 
Title 58, Chapter 15,] for the administrator of the facility. 
 (3)  The licensee shall comply with [all ]applicable 
[provisions of ]federal, state and local laws, regulations and codes 
pertaining to health, safety[,] and sanitation. 
 (4)  The licensee shall appoint, in writing, an administrator 
professionally licensed by the Utah Department of Commerce as a 
nursing home administrator.  The administrator shall supervise no more 
than one licensed [nursing care facility or mental retardation 
facility]Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual 
Disabilities. 
 (a)  The administrator shall be on the premises of the facility 
[a sufficient number of]enough hours in the business day, and at other 
times as necessary, to permit attention to the management and 
administration of the facility. 
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 (b)  The administrator shall designate, in writing, the name 
and title of a person to act as administrator in any temporary absence of 
the administrator.  This designated person shall have sufficient power, 
authority, and freedom to act in the best interests of client safety and 
well-being.  It is not the intent of this paragraph to permit an unlicensed 
de facto administrator to supplant or replace the designated, licensed 
administrator. 
 (5)  The administrator's responsibilities shall be included in a 
written job description on file in the facility and available for 
Department review.  The job description [must]shall include at least the 
following responsibilities: 
 (a)  complete, submit[,] and file [all ]records and reports 
required by the Department; 
 (b)  function as liaison between the licensee, qualified [mental 
retardation]intellectual disabilities professional[,] and other supervisory 
staff of the facility; 
 (c)  respond appropriately to recommendations made by the 
facility committees; 
 (d)  assure that employees are oriented to their job functions 
and receive appropriate and regularly scheduled in-service training; 
 (e)  implement policies and procedures for the operation of 
the facility; 
 (f)  hire and maintain the required number of licensed and 
non-licensed staff, as specified in these rules, to meet the needs of 
clients; 
 (g)  maintain facility staffing records for at least the preceding 
12 months; 
 (h)  secure and update contracts for required professional and 
other services not provided directly by the facility; 
 (i)  verify [all ]required licenses and permits of staff and 
consultants at the time of hire or effective date of contract; and 
 (j)  review [all ]incident and accident reports and take 
appropriate action. 
 (6)  The administrator, [QMRP]Qualified Intellectual 
Disabilities Professional[,] and facility department supervisors shall 
develop job descriptions for each position including job title, job 
summary, responsibilities, qualifications, required skills and licenses, 
and physical requirements. 
 (a)  The administrator or designee shall conduct and 
document periodic employee performance evaluations. 
 (b)  [All p]Personnel shall have access to facility policy and 
procedure manuals and other information necessary to effectively 
perform duties and carry out responsibilities. 
 (7)  The administrator shall establish policies and procedures 
for health screening that meet Subsection R432-150-10[-](4). 
 
R432-152-7.  Client Rights. 
 (1)  The administrator is responsible to ensure the rights of [all 
]clients.  The administrator or designee shall: 
 (a)  inform each client, parent, if the client is a minor, or legal 
guardian, of the client's rights and the rules of the facility; 
 (b)  inform each client or legal guardian of the client's medical 
condition, developmental and behavioral status, attendant risks of 
treatment, and of the right to refuse treatment; 
 (c)  allow and encourage individual clients to exercise their 
rights as clients of the facility, and as citizens of the United States, 
including the right to file complaints, voice grievances, and recommend 
changes in policies and procedures to facility staff and outside 
representatives of personal choice, free from restraint, interference, 
coercion, discrimination[,] or reprisal; 
 (d)  allow individual clients to manage their financial affairs 
and teach them to do so to the extent of their capabilities; 

 (e)  ensure that clients are not subjected to physical, verbal, 
sexual or psychological abuse or punishment; 
 (f)  ensure that clients are free from unnecessary 
[drugs]medications and physical restraints and are provided active 
treatment to reduce dependency on [drugs]medications and physical 
restraints; 
 (g)  provide each client with the opportunity for personal 
privacy and ensure privacy during treatment and care of personal needs; 
 (h)  ensure the clients are not compelled to participate in 
publicity events, fund raising activities, movies or anything that would 
exploit the client; 
 (i)  ensure that clients are not compelled to perform services 
for the facility and ensure that clients who do work for the facility are 
compensated for their efforts at prevailing wages commensurate with 
their abilities; 
 (j)  ensure clients the opportunity to communicate, associate 
and meet privately with individuals of their choice, including legal 
counsel and clergy, and to send and receive unopened mail; 
 (k)  ensure that clients have access to telephones with privacy 
for incoming and outgoing local and long distance calls except as 
contraindicated by factors identified within their individual program 
plans; 
 (l)  ensure clients the opportunity to participate in social and 
community group activities and the opportunity to exercise religious 
beliefs and to participate in religious worship services without being 
coerced or forced into engaging in any religious activity; 
 (m)  ensure that clients have the right to [retain]keep and use 
appropriate personal possessions and clothing, and ensure that each 
client is dressed in [his or her]their own clothing each day; and 
 (n)  permit a married couple [both of whom reside in the 
facility ]to reside together as a couple. 
 (2)  The administrator shall establish and maintain a system 
that assures a [full and ]complete accounting of clients' personal funds 
entrusted to the facility on behalf of clients and precludes any 
commingling of client funds with facility funds or with the funds of any 
person other than another client. 
 (a)  The client's financial record shall be available on request 
to the client or client's legal guardian. 
 (b)  The administrator[licensee must] shall ensure that [all 
]monies entrusted to the facility on behalf of clients are kept in the 
facility or are deposited within five days of receipt in an insured interest-
bearing account in a local bank, credit union or savings and loan 
association authorized to do business in Utah. 
 (c)  When the amount of a client's money entrusted to the 
facility exceeds $150, [all ]money in excess of $150 [must]shall be 
deposited in an interest-bearing account[ as specified in R432-152-
7(2)(b) above]. 
 (d)  Upon discharge of a client, [all ]money and valuables of 
that client [which]that have been entrusted to the licensee shall be 
surrendered to the client in exchange for a signed receipt. Money and 
valuables kept within the facility [must]shall be surrendered upon 
demand and those kept in an interest-bearing account [must]shall be 
obtained and surrendered to the client in a timely manner. 
 (e)  Within 30 days following the death of a client, except in 
a medical examiner case, [all ]money and valuables of that client 
[which]that have been entrusted to the licensee [must]shall be 
surrendered to the person responsible for the client or to the executor or 
the administrator of the estate in exchange for a signed receipt. If a client 
dies without a representative or known heirs, the licensee [must]shall 
immediately notify in writing the local probate court[ and the 
Department]. 
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 (3)  The administrator [must]shall promote communication[,] 
and encourage participation of clients, parents and guardians in the 
active treatment process.  Facility staff shall: 
 (a)  promote participation of parents [(if the client is a minor) 
]and legal guardians, if the client is a minor, in the process of providing 
active treatment to a client unless their participation is unobtainable or 
inappropriate; 
 (b)  answer communications from clients' families and friends 
promptly and appropriately; 
 (c)  promote visits by individuals with a relationship to the 
client, such as family, close friends, legal guardians and advocates, at 
any reasonable hour, without prior notice, consistent with the right of the 
client's and other clients' privacy, unless the interdisciplinary team 
determines that the visit would not be appropriate for that client; 
 (d)  promote visits by parents or guardians to any area of the 
facility that provides direct client care services to the client, consistent 
with right of that client's and other clients' privacy; 
 (e)  promote frequent and informal leaves from the facility for 
visits, trips[,] or vacations; and 
 (f)  [notify ]promptly notify the client's parents or guardian of 
any significant incidents[,] or changes in the client's condition 
including[, but not limited to,] serious illness, accident, death, abuse[,] 
or unauthorized absence. 
 (4)  The administrator [is responsible to]shall develop and 
implement written policies and procedures that prohibit abuse, neglect[,] 
or exploitation of clients. 
 (a)  Any person, including a social worker, physician, 
psychologist, nurse, teacher[,] or employee of a private or public facility 
serving adults, who has reason to believe that any disabled or elder adult 
has been the subject of abuse, emotional or psychological abuse, 
neglect[,] or exploitation, shall immediately notify the nearest peace 
officer, law enforcement agency[,] or local office of Adult Protective 
Services pursuant to Section 62A-3-302. 
 (i)  The administrator [must]shall document that [all ]alleged 
violations are thoroughly investigated and shall prevent further potential 
abuse while the investigation is in progress. 
 (ii)  The administrator shall[is responsible to] report the 
results of [all ]investigations within five working days of the incident.  
If the alleged violation is verified, the administrator shall take 
appropriate corrective action. 
 (iii)  The administrator or designee shall plan and document 
annual in-service training of [all ]staff on the reporting requirements of 
suspected abuse, neglect[,] and exploitation. 
 (b)  A licensee shall not retaliate, discipline[,] or terminate an 
employee who reports suspected abuse, neglect[,] or exploitation for that 
reason alone. 
 (5)  Clients under the age of 22 years shall not live in the same 
room with: 
 (a)  more than one individual; or 
 (b)  individuals over the age of 22 years, unless they are 
members of the individual's immediate family. 
 (6)  The administrator shall develop written policies and 
procedures to implement Subsection R432-200-7(5) and shall obtain 
written approval from the Department for any exceptions. 
 
R432-152-8.  Facility Staffing. 
 (1)  A Qualified [Mental Retardation ]Intellectual Disabilities 
Professional [must]shall integrate, coordinate and monitor each client's 
active treatment program. 
 (2)  Each client shall receive the professional services 
required to implement the active treatment program defined by each 
client's individual program plan. 

 (a)  Professional program staff shall work directly with clients 
and with other staff who work with clients. 
 (b)  The licensee shall have available enough qualified 
professional staff to carry out and monitor the various professional 
interventions in accordance with the stated goals and objectives of every 
individual program plan. 
 (c)  Professional program staff shall participate in on[-]going 
staff development and training of other staff members. 
 (d)  Professional program staff [must]shall be licensed and 
provide professional services in accordance with each respective 
professional practice act as outlined in Title 58 Occupations and 
Professions.  A copy of the current license, registration or certificate 
[must]shall be posted or maintained in employee personnel files. 
 (e)  Those professional program staff designated as a human 
services professional who do not fall under the jurisdiction of [state 
]licensure, certification[,] or registration requirements[,] specified in 
Title 58 Occupations and Professions, shall have at least a bachelor's 
degree in a human services field[, including, but not limited to: 
sociology, special education, rehabilitation counseling, and 
psychology]. 
 (f)  If the client's individual program plan is being successfully 
implemented by facility staff, professional program staff meeting the 
qualifications of Subsection R432-152-8(2)(d) are not required: 
 (i)  except for [q]Qualified [mental retardation ]Intellectual 
Disabilities [p]Professionals; 
 (ii)  except for the requirements of Subsection [R432-152-
8](2)(b) of this section [concerning the facility's provision of ]requiring 
enough qualified professional program staff; and 
 (iii)  as otherwise specified by [State ]licensure and 
certification requirements. 
 (3)  There shall be responsible direct care staff on duty and 
awake on a 24-hour basis, when clients are present, to take prompt, 
appropriate action in case of injury, illness, fire or other emergency, in 
each defined residential living unit housing as follows: 
 (a)  for clients for whom a physician has ordered a medical 
care plan; 
 (b)  for clients who are aggressive, assaultive or are security 
risks; 
 (c)  when there are more than 16 clients; or 
 (d)  with each unit of [sixteen]16 or fewer clients within a 
multi-unit building. 
 (4)  There shall be a responsible direct care staff person on 
duty on a 24-hour basis, when clients are present, to respond to injuries 
and symptoms of illness and to handle emergencies in each defined 
residential living unit housing as follows: 
 (a)  for clients for whom a physician has not ordered a medical 
care plan; 
 (b)  for clients who are not aggressive, assaultive or security 
risks; or 
 (c)  with residential living units housing [sixteen]16 or fewer 
clients. 
 (5)  Sufficient support staff [must]shall be available so that 
direct care staff are not required to perform support services to the extent 
that these duties interfere with the exercise of their primary direct client 
care duties. 
 (6)  Clients or volunteers may not perform direct care services 
for the facility. 
 (7)  The licensee shall employ sufficient direct care staff to 
manage and supervise clients in accordance with their individual 
program plans. 
 (a)  Direct care staff shall meet the following minimum ratios 
of direct care staff to clients: 
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 (i)  for each defined residential living unit serving children 
under the age of 12, with severe[ly] and profound[ly retarded clients] 
intellectual disabilities, clients with severe physical disabilities[,] or 
clients who are aggressive, assaultive[,] or security risks, or who 
manifest severely hyperactive or psychotic-like behavior, the staff to 
client ratio is 1 to 3.2, [(]2.5 hours per client per 24 hour period[)]; 
 (ii)  for each defined residential living unit serving individuals 
with moderate[ly retarded clients] intellectual disabilities, the staff to 
client ratio is 1 to 4, [(]2[.0] hours per client per 24 hour period[)]; and 
 (iii)  for each defined residential living unit serving clients 
who function within the range of mild [retardation]intellectual 
disabilities, the staff to client ratio is 1 to 6.4, [(]1.25 hours per client per 
24 hour period[)]. 
 (b)  When there are no clients present in the living unit, a 
responsible staff member shall be available by telephone. 
 (8)  Each employee shall have initial and ongoing training to 
include the necessary skills and competencies required to meet the 
clients' developmental, behavioral[,] and health needs. 
 (9)  When there are clients under the age of 22 years, each 
employee shall receive specialized training regarding the care of 
children and youth with intellectual disabilities. 
 
R432-152-9.  Volunteers. 
 (1)  Volunteers may be included in the daily activities with 
clients, but may not be included in the staffing plan or staffing ratios. 
 (2)  Volunteers shall be supervised by staff and oriented to 
client['s] rights and the facility's policies and procedures. 
 
R432-152-10.  Services Provided Under Agreements with Outside 
Sources. 
 (1)  If a service required under this rule is not provided 
directly, the licensee shall have a written agreement with an outside 
program, resource[,] or service to furnish the necessary service, 
including emergency and other health care. 
 (2)  The agreement under Subsection (1) shall: 
 (a)  contain the responsibilities, functions, objectives[,] and 
other terms agreed to by both parties; and 
 (b)  [provide that]require the licensee [is]to be responsible for 
assuring that the outside services meet the standards for quality of 
services contained in this rule. 
 (3)  If living quarters are not provided in a facility owned by 
the licensee, the licensee shall be[remains directly] responsible for the 
standards relating to physical environment that are specified in Rule 
R432-5. 
 
R432-152-11.  Individual Program Plan. 
 (1)  An interdisciplinary team shall develop an[Each client 
shall have an] individual program plan [developed by an 
interdisciplinary team]for each client that represents the professions, 
disciplines or service areas that are relevant to: 
 (a)  identifying the client's needs, as described by the 
comprehensive functional assessments required in Subsection R432-
152-12(4); and 
 (b)  designing programs that meet the client's needs. 
 (2)  Interdisciplinary team meetings shall include the 
following participants: 
 (a)  representatives of other agencies who may serve the 
client; and 
 (b)  the client and the client's legal guardian unless 
participation is unobtainable or inappropriate. 
 (3)  Within 30 days after admission, the interdisciplinary team 
shall prepare for each client an individual program plan that states the 

specific objectives necessary to meet the client's needs, as identified by 
the comprehensive assessment required by Section R432-152-12, and 
the planned sequence for dealing with those objectives. 
 (a)  The program objectives shall: 
 (i)  be stated separately, in terms of a single behavioral 
outcome; 
 (ii)  be assigned projected completion dates; 
 (iii)  be expressed in behavioral terms that provide measurable 
indices of performance; 
 (iv)  be organized to reflect a developmental progression 
appropriate to the individual; and 
 (v)  be assigned priorities. 
 (b)  Each written training program designed to implement the 
objectives in the individual program plan shall specify: 
 (i)  the methods to be used; 
 (ii)  the schedule for use of the method; 
 (iii)  the person responsible for the program; 
 (iv)  the type of data and frequency of data collection 
necessary to be able to assess progress toward the desired objectives; 
 (v)  the inappropriate client behavior, if applicable; and 
 (vi)  [provision for ]the appropriate expression of behavior 
and the replacement of inappropriate behavior, if applicable, with 
behavior that is adaptive or appropriate. 
 (c)  The individual program plan shall[ also]: 
 (i)  describe relevant interventions to support the individual 
toward independence; 
 (ii)  identify the location where program strategy information, 
[which]that shall be accessible to any person responsible for 
implementation, can be found; 
 (iii)  include, for those clients who lack them, training in 
personal skills essential for privacy and independence, including toilet 
training, personal hygiene, dental hygiene, self-feeding, bathing, 
dressing, grooming[,] and communication of basic needs, until it has 
been demonstrated that the client is developmentally incapable of 
acquiring them; 
 (iv)  identify mechanical supports, if needed, to achieve 
proper body position, balance[,] or alignment, including the reason for 
each support, the situations [in which ]that each is to be applied, and a 
schedule for the use of each support; 
 (v)  provide that clients who have multiple disabling 
conditions spend a major portion of each waking day out of bed and 
outside the bedroom area, moving about by various methods and devices 
when[ever] possible; and 
 (vi)  include opportunities for client choice and self-
management. 
 (4)  The facility shall make available a[A] copy of each client's 
individual program plan[ shall be made available] to [all ]relevant staff, 
staff of other agencies who work with the client or a legal guardian. 
 (5)  As soon as the interdisciplinary team has formulated a 
client's individual program plan, each client shall receive a continuous 
active treatment program consisting of needed interventions and 
services in sufficient number and frequency to support the achievement 
of the objectives identified in the individual program plan. 
 (a)  The facility shall develop an active treatment schedule 
that outlines the current active treatment program and that is readily 
available for review by relevant staff. 
 (b)  Staff who work with the client shall  implement each 
client's individual program plan, e[E]xcept [for ]those facets of the 
individual program plan that may be implemented only by licensed 
personnel[, each client's individual program plan shall be implemented 
by all staff who work with the client]. 
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 (6)  The facility [must]shall document, in measurable terms, 
data and significant events relative to the accomplishment of the criteria 
specified in individual client program plans. 
 (7)  [The individual program plan shall be reviewed at least 
by the q]The Qualified [mental retardation]Intellectual Disabilities 
[p]Professional shall review and revise the individual program plan[and 
revised as necessary]; including situations [in which]that the client: 
 (a)  has successfully completed an objective or objectives 
identified in the individual program plan; 
 (b)  is regressing or losing skills already gained; 
 (c)  is failing to progress toward identified objectives after 
reasonable efforts have been made; or 
 (d)  is being considered for training towards new objectives. 
 
R432-152-12.  Comprehensive Functional Assessment. 
 (1)  Within 30 days after admission, the interdisciplinary team 
[must]shall complete accurate assessments or reassessments as needed 
to supplement the preliminary evaluation referred to in Subsection 
R432-152-14(3). 
 (2)  The comprehensive functional assessment in Subsection 
(1) shall take into consideration the client's age and the implications for 
active treatment and shall: 
 (a)  identify the presenting problems and disabilities and, 
where possible, their causes; 
 (b)  identify a client's specific developmental strengths; 
 (c)  identify a client's specific developmental and behavioral 
management needs; 
 (d)  identify a client's need for services without regard to the 
actual availability of the services needed; and 
 (e)  include physical development and health, nutritional 
status, sensorimotor development, affective development, speech and 
language development, auditory functioning, cognitive development, 
social development, adaptive behaviors and independent living skills 
necessary for a client to be able to function in the community[,] and [as 
applicable, ]vocational skills. 
 (3)  The interdisciplinary team shall annually review the 
comprehensive functional assessment of each client [shall be reviewed 
annually by the interdisciplinary team ]and updated the plan as needed 
including the identified assessments[repeating the process] required in 
Section R432-152-14(3). 
 
R432-152-13.  Human Rights Committee. 
 (1)  The facility shall designate and use a specially constituted 
committee or committees consisting of members of the facility staff, 
parents, legal guardians, clients as appropriate, qualified persons who 
have experience or training in contemporary practices to change 
inappropriate client behavior[,] and persons with no ownership or 
controlling interest in the facility to: 
 (a)  review, approve[,] and monitor individual programs 
designed to manage inappropriate behavior and other programs that, in 
the opinion of the committee, involve risks to client protection and 
rights; 
 (b)  [i]ensure that these programs are conducted only with the 
written informed consent of the client, parent, if the client is a minor, or 
legal guardian; and 
 (c)  review, monitor and make suggestions to the facility about 
its practices and programs as they relate to [drug]medication usage, 
physical restraints, time-out rooms, application of painful or noxious 
stimuli, control of inappropriate behavior, protection of client rights and 
funds[,] and any other area that the committee believes need to be 
addressed. 
 

R432-152-14.  Admissions, Transfers, and Discharge. 
 (1)  The facility may only admit clients who need active 
treatment services. 
 (2)  The facility shall base its admission decision on a 
preliminary evaluation of the client.  The preliminary evaluation may be 
conducted or updated by the facility or an outside source and [must]shall 
determine that the facility can provide for the client's needs and that the 
client is likely to benefit from placement in the facility. 
 (3)  A preliminary evaluation under Subsection (2) shall 
contain background information as well as current valid assessments of 
the following: 
 (a)  functional developmental[,]; 
 (b)  behavioral status[,]; 
 (c)  social status[,]; and 
 (d)  health and nutritional status. 
 (4)  The facility shall not admit clients under the age of 22 
years without express permission of the Department. 
 (5)  Client transfers and discharges [must]shall comply with 
the requirements of Section R432-150-22. 
 
R432-152-15.  Client Behavior and Facility Practices. 
 (1)  The facility shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures for the management of conduct between staff and 
clients. 
 (2)  The policies and procedures under Subsection (1) shall: 
 (a)  promote the growth, development and independence of 
the client; 
 (b)  address the extent [to which]that client choice will be 
accommodated in daily decision-making, emphasizing self-
determination and self-management to the extent possible; 
 (c)  specify client conduct to be allowed or not allowed; and 
 (d)  be available to [all ]staff, clients, parents of minor 
children[,] and legal guardians. 
 (3)  To the extent possible, clients shall participate in the 
formulation of the[se] policies and procedures under Subsection (1). 
 (4)  Clients shall not discipline other clients, except as part of 
an organized system of self-government, as set forth in facility policy. 
 (5)  The facility shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures that govern the management of inappropriate client 
behavior. 
 (a)  The policies and procedures shall be consistent with the 
[provisions of ]Subsection R432-152-15(2). 
 (b)  The policies and procedures shall: 
 (i)  specify [all ]facility-approved interventions to manage 
inappropriate client behavior; 
 (ii)  designate these interventions on a hierarchy to be 
implemented, ranging from most positive or least intrusive, to least 
positive or most intrusive; and 
 (iii)  ensure, [prior to]before the use of more restrictive 
techniques, that less restrictive measures have been implemented with 
the results documented in the client's record. 
 (c)  The policies and procedures shall address the following: 
 (i)  the use of time-out rooms; 
 (ii)  the use of physical restraints; 
 (iii)  the use of chemical restraints to manage inappropriate 
behavior; 
 (iv)  the application of painful or noxious stimuli; 
 (v)  the staff members who may authorize the use of specified 
interventions; and 
 (vi)  a mechanism for monitoring and controlling the use of 
such interventions. 
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 (d)  Interventions to manage inappropriate client behavior 
shall be employed with safeguards and supervision to ensure that the 
safety, welfare and civil and human rights of clients are adequately 
protected. 
 (e)  A facility may not utilize [p.r.n. or ]"as needed" programs 
to control inappropriate behavior. 
 (6)  A client may be placed in a time-out room [from which 
]where egress is prevented only if the following conditions are met: 
 (a)  [T]the placement is part of an approved systematic time-
out program as required by Subsection R432-152-15(5)[.]; 
 (b)  [T]the client is under the direct constant visual 
supervision of designated staff[.]; 
 (c)  [T]the door to the room is held shut by staff or by a 
mechanism requiring constant physical pressure from a staff member to 
keep the mechanism engaged[.]; 
 (d)  [P]placement of a client in a time-out room shall not 
exceed one hour per incident of maladapted behavior[.]; 
 (e)  [C]clients placed in time-out rooms shall be protected 
from hazardous conditions including sharp corners and objects, 
uncovered light fixtures[,] and unprotected electrical outlets[.]; and 
 (f)  [T]the facility [must]shall maintain a log for each time-out 
room. 
 (7)  A facility may [employ]use physical restraints only: 
 (a)  as an integral part of an individual program plan that is 
intended to lead to less restrictive means of managing and eliminating 
the behavior [for which ]that the restraint is applied for; 
 (b)  as an emergency measure, but only if absolutely necessary 
to protect the client or others from injury; or 
 (c)  as a health-related protection prescribed by a physician, 
but only if absolutely necessary during the conduct of a specific medical 
or surgical procedure, or only if absolutely necessary for client 
protection during the time that a medical condition exists. 
 (8)  A facility may apply emergency restraints for initial or 
extended use for no longer than 12 consecutive hours for the combined 
initial and extended use time period provided that authorization is 
obtained as soon as the client is restrained or stable. 
 (9)  A facility may not issue orders for restraint on a standing 
or as needed basis. 
 (10)  Facility staff [must]shall check clients placed in 
restraints at least every 30 minutes and maintain documentation of these 
checks. 
 (a)  Restraints [must]shall be applied to cause the least 
possible discomfort and may not cause physical injury to the client. 
 (b)  Facility staff [must]shall provide and document 
opportunity for motion and exercise for a period of not less than 10 
minutes during each two hour period [in which ]that a restraint is 
employed. 
 (c)  Barred enclosures shall not be more than three feet in 
height and shall not have tops. 
 (11)  The facility shall not administer [drugs]medications at a 
dose that interferes with a client's daily living activities. 
 (a)  The interdisciplinary team shall approve 
[Drugs]medications used for the control of inappropriate behavior [must 
be approved by the interdisciplinary team ]and be used only as an 
integral part of the client's individual program plan that is directed 
specifically towards the reduction of and eventual elimination of the 
behaviors [for which ]that the [drugs]medications are employed for. 
 (b)  [Drugs]Medications used for control of inappropriate 
behavior shall be: 
 (i)  monitored closely, in conjunction with the physician and 
the [drug]medication review requirement; and 

 (ii)  gradually withdrawn at least annually in a carefully 
monitored program conducted in conjunction with the interdisciplinary 
team, unless clinical evidence justifies that this is contraindicated. 
 
R432-152-16.  Physician Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall ensure the availability of physician 
services 24 hours a day. 
 (a)  The physician shall develop, in coordination with facility 
licensed nursing personnel, a medical care plan of treatment for a client 
if the physician determines that the client requires 24-hour licensed 
nursing care. 
 (b)  The care plan shall be integrated into the client's program 
plan. 
 (c)  Each client requiring a medical care plan of treatment 
shall be admitted by and remain under the care of a health practitioner 
licensed to prescribe medical care for the client. 
 (d)  The facility shall obtain written orders for medical 
treatment [(documented telephone orders are acceptable) ]at the time of 
admission. 
 (e)  The facility shall provide or obtain preventive and general 
medical care as well as annual physical examinations of each client that 
[at a minimum ]includes: 
 (i)  an evaluation of vision and hearing; 
 (ii)  immunizations, using as a guide the recommendations of 
the Public Health Service Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices or of the Committee on the Control of Infectious Diseases of 
the American Academy of Pediatrics; 
 (iii)  routine screening laboratory examinations, as 
determined necessary by the physician[, and special studies when 
needed]; and 
 (iv)  tuberculosis control in accordance with Rule R388-804, 
Tuberculosis Control[ Rule]. 
 (2)  A physician shall participate in the establishment of each 
newly admitted client's initial individual program plan as required by 
Section R432-152-11. 
 (a)  If appropriate, physicians shall participate in the review 
and update of an individual program plan as part of the interdisciplinary 
team process either in person or through written report to the 
interdisciplinary team. 
 (b)  A physician shall participate in the discharge planning of 
clients under a medical care plan of treatment.  In cases of discharge 
against medical advice, the facility [must]shall immediately notify the 
attending physician. 
 
R432-152-17.  Nursing Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide nursing services in accordance 
with client needs.  Nursing services shall include: 
 (a)  participation as appropriate in the development, review[,] 
and update of an individual program plan as part of the interdisciplinary 
team process; 
 (b)  the development, with a physician, of a medical care plan 
of treatment for a client if the physician has determined that an 
individual client requires such a plan; and 
 (c)  for those clients certified as not needing a medical care 
plan, a documented quarterly health status review by direct physical 
examination conducted by a licensed nurse including identifying and 
implementing nursing care needs as prescribed by the client's physician. 
 (2)  Nursing services shall coordinate with other members of 
the interdisciplinary team to implement appropriate protective and 
preventive health measures that include: 
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 (a)  training clients and staff as needed in appropriate health 
and hygiene methods; 
 (b)  control of communicable diseases and infections, 
including the instruction of other personnel in methods of infection 
control; and 
 (c)  training direct care staff in detecting signs and symptoms 
of illness or dysfunction, first aid for accidents or illness[,] and basic 
skills required to meet the health needs of the clients. 
 (3)  Nursing practice and delegation of nursing tasks 
[must]shall comply with Section R156-31b-701[, Delegation of Nursing 
Tasks]. 
 (a)  If the facility utilizes only licensed practical nurses to 
provide health services, there [must]shall be a formal arrangement for a 
registered nurse to provide verbal or on-site consultation to the licensed 
practical nurse. 
 (b)  Non-licensed staff who work with clients under a medical 
care plan [must]shall be supervised by licensed nursing personnel. 
 (4)  The administrator shall employ and designate, in writing, 
a nursing services supervisor. 
 (a)  The nursing services supervisor may be either a registered 
nurse or a licensed practical nurse. 
 (b)  The nursing services supervisor shall designate, in 
writing, a licensed nurse to be in charge during any temporary absence 
of the nursing services supervisor. 
 (5)  The nursing services supervisor shall[is responsible to 
ensure that the following duties are carried out]: 
 (a)  establish a system to assure nursing staff implement 
physician orders and deliver health care services as needed; 
 (b)  plan and direct the delivery of nursing care, treatments, 
procedures, and other services to assure that each client's needs are met; 
 (c)  review each client's health care needs and orders for care 
and treatment; 
 (d)  review client individual program plans to assure 
necessary medical aspects are incorporated; 
 (e)  review the medication system for completeness of 
information, accuracy in the transcription of physician's orders, and 
adherence to stop-order policies; 
 (f)  instruct the nursing staff on the legal requirements of 
charting and ensure that a nurse's notes describe the care rendered and 
include the client's response; 
 (g)  teach and coordinate rehabilitative nursing to promote and 
maintain optimal physical and mental functioning of the client; 
 (h)  inform the administrator, attending physician[,] and 
family of significant changes in the client's health status; 
 (i)  when appropriate, plan with the physician, family, and 
health-related agencies for the care of the client upon discharge; 
 (j)  develop, with the administrator, a nursing services 
procedure manual including [all ]procedures practiced in the facility; 
 (k)  coordinate client services through appropriate quality 
assurance and interdisciplinary team meetings; 
 (l)  respond to the pharmacist's quarterly medication report; 
 (m)  develop written job descriptions for [all ]levels of nursing 
personnel and orient [all ]new nursing personnel to the facility and their 
duties and responsibilities; 
 (n)  complete written performance evaluations for each 
member of the nursing staff at least annually; and 
 (o)  plan or conduct documented training programs for 
nursing staff and clients. 
 

R432-152-18.  Dental Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide or arrange for comprehensive 
dental diagnostic services and comprehensive dental treatment for each 
client. 
 (a)  "Comprehensive dental diagnostic services" means: 
 (i)  a complete extra-oral and intra-oral examination, using [all 
]diagnostic aids necessary to properly evaluate the client's oral 
condition, [not later than]before one month after admission to the 
facility, unless the client's record contains an examination that was 
completed within [twelve ]12 months before admission; 
 (ii)  periodic examination and diagnosis performed annually, 
including radiographs when indicated and detection of manifestations of 
systemic disease; and 
 (iii)  a review of the results of examination and entry of the 
results in the client's dental record. 
 (b)  "Comprehensive Dental Treatment" means: 
 (i)  the available emergency dental treatment on a 24-hour[-a-
day] basis by a licensed dentist; and 
 (ii)  dental care needed for relief of pain and infection, 
restoration of teeth[,] and maintenance of dental health. 
 (2)  If appropriate, a dental professional shall participate in the 
development, review and update of the individual program plan as part 
of the interdisciplinary process, either in person or through written report 
to the interdisciplinary team. 
 (3)  The facility shall provide education and training for 
clients and responsible staff in the maintenance of clients' oral health. 
 (4)  If the facility maintains an in-house dental service, the 
facility shall keep a permanent dental record for each client with a dental 
summary maintained in the client's living unit. 
 (5)  If the facility does not maintain an in-house dental service, 
the facility shall obtain a dental summary of the results of dental visits 
and maintain the summary in the client's record. 
 
R432-152-19.  Pharmacy Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide routine and emergency 
[drugs]medications and biologicals. 
 (a)  Medications[Drugs] and biologicals may be obtained 
from community or contract pharmacists, or the facility may maintain a 
licensed pharmacy. 
 (b)  Pharmacy services shall be under the direction and 
responsibility of a qualified, licensed pharmacist.  The pharmacist may 
be employed full time by the facility or may be retained by contract. 
 (c)  The pharmacist shall develop pharmacy service policies 
and procedures in conjunction with the administrator.  Pharmacy 
policies shall address: 
 (i)  medication[drug] orders; 
 (ii)  labeling; 
 (iii)  storage; 
 (iv)  emergency medication[drug] supply; 
 (v)  administration of medications; 
 (vi)  pharmacy supplies; and 
 (vii)  automatic-stop orders. 
 (2)  The pharmacist, with input from the interdisciplinary 
team, shall review the medication[drug] regimen of each client at least 
quarterly. 
 (a)  The pharmacist shall report any irregularities or errors in 
a client's medication[drug] regimen to the prescribing physician and 
interdisciplinary team. 
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 (b)  The pharmacist shall develop and review a record of each 
client's medication[drug] regimen. 
 (3)  The facility shall maintain a[A]n individual medication 
administration record [shall be maintained ]for each client. 
 (4)  As appropriate, the pharmacist shall participate in the 
development, implementation, and review of each client's individual 
program plan, either in person or through written report to the 
interdisciplinary team. 
 (5)  The facility shall have an organized system for 
medication[drug] administration that identifies each medication[drug] 
up to the point of administration.  The system shall assure that [all 
]medications and treatments: 
 (a)  are administered in compliance with the physician's 
orders; 
 (b)  are administered without error; and 
 (c)  are administered by licensed medical or licensed nursing 
personnel. 
 (6)  The facility shall teach c[C]lients [shall be taught ]how to 
administer their own medications if the interdisciplinary team 
determines that self-administration of medications is an appropriate 
objective. 
 (a)  The facility shall inform the client's physician [shall be 
informed ]of the interdisciplinary team's recommendation that self-
administration of medications is an objective for the client. 
 (b)  No client may self-administer medications until [he or 
she]they demonstrate[s] the competency to do so. 
 (7)  The facility shall immediately record e[E]ach telephone 
order[s] for medications [shall be recorded immediately ]including the 
date and time of the order and the receiver's signature and title.  The 
person who prescribed the order [must]shall[ be] countersign[ed] and 
date[d] the order within 15 days of writing the order[ by the person who 
prescribed the order]. 
 (8)  The facility shall maintain records of the receipt and 
disposition of [all ]controlled medications[drugs]. 
 (a)  The facility shall maintain r[R]ecords of s[S]chedule III 
and IV d[D]rugs [shall be maintained ]in such a manner that the receipt 
and disposition are[ shall be] readily traced. 
 (b)  The facility shall, on a sample basis, periodically 
reconcile the receipt and disposition of [all ]controlled drugs in 
schedules II through IV, drugs subject to the Comprehensive Drug 
Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970[, 21 U.S.C. 801 et sec.,] as 
implemented by 42 CFR Part 308. 
 (9)  The facility shall store medications[drugs] under proper 
conditions of sanitation, temperature, light, humidity[,] and security. 
 (a)  [All ]The facility shall secure controlled substances [shall 
be secured ]in a manner consistent with applicable [state ]pharmacy 
laws. 
 (b)  [Provision ]The facility shall [be made for the ]separate 
and secure the storage of [all ]non-medication items such as poisonous 
and caustic materials. 
 (c)  Medication containers shall be clearly labeled. 
 (d)  Only persons authorized by facility policy shall have 
access to medications. 
 (e)  The facility shall store m[M]edication intended for 
internal use [shall be stored ]separately from medication intended for 
external use. 
 (f)  The facility shall maintain m[M]edications stored at room 
temperature [shall be maintained within]between 59 [-]and 80 degrees 
Fahrenheit[ (15 to 30 degrees C)][;] and shall maintain refrigerated 
medications [shall be maintained within ]between 36 and[-] 46 degrees 
Fahrenheit[ (2 to 8 degrees C)]. 

 (g)  The facility shall store m[M]edications, and similar items 
that require refrigeration, [shall be stored ]securely and segregated from 
food items. 
 (h)  The facility shall keep m[M]edications [shall be kept ]in 
the original pharmacy container and shall not [be ]transfer[red] the 
medications to other containers.  Medications[Drugs] taken out of the 
facility for home visits, workshops, school[, etc.] or other activities shall 
be packaged and labeled by a person authorized to package medications 
in accordance with [State ]law[ by a person authorized to package 
medications]. 
 (i)  Clients who have been trained to self-[ ]administer [drugs 
]medications in accordance with Subsection R432-152-19(6) may have 
access to keys to their individual [drug]medication supply. 
 (10)  Labeling of medications[drugs] and biologicals shall: 
 (a)  be based on currently accepted professional principles and 
practices; and 
 (b)  include the appropriate accessory and cautionary 
instructions, as well as the expiration date, if applicable. 
 (11)  The facility shall remove from use outdated 
medications[drugs] and medication[drug] containers with worn, 
illegible[,] or missing labels. 
 (12)  The facility shall immediately remove 
medications[Drugs] and biologicals packaged in containers designated 
for a particular client [shall be immediately removed ]from the client's 
current medication supply if the medication is discontinued by the 
physician. 
 (13)  Medications[Drugs] may be sent with the client upon 
discharge if so ordered by the discharging physician, provided [that ]the 
medications[drugs] are released in compliance with Utah pharmacy law 
and rules and a record of the medications[drugs] sent with the client is 
documented in the client's health record. 
 (14)  Within one month of a medication being discontinued, 
the facility shall destroy the [Discontinued ]individual client 
medications[drugs] supplied by prescription or those [which ]that 
remain in the facility after discharge or death of the client [shall be 
destroyed within one month by the facility ]in the following manner: 
 (a)  [All drugs]medications shall be destroyed by the facility 
in the presence of the staff pharmacist or consulting pharmacist and an 
appointed licensed nurse employed by the facility[.]; 
 (b)  [I]if one or both of these persons are not available within 
the month, a licensed nurse and an individual appointed by the 
administrator may serve as witnesses[.]; 
 (c)  [T]the[se] appointments shall be rotated periodically 
among responsible staff members[.]; and 
 (d)  [T]the name of the client, the name and strength of the 
[drug]medication, the prescription number, the amount destroyed, the 
method of destruction, the date of destruction[,] and the signatures of the 
witnesses [required above ]shall be recorded in the client's record or in 
a separate log and retained for at least three years. 
 (15)  Unless otherwise prohibited under applicable federal or 
state laws, individual client [drugs]medications supplied in sealed 
containers may be returned, if unopened, to the issuing pharmacy for 
disposition provided that: 
 (a)  no controlled [drugs]medications are returned; 
 (b)  [all such drugs ]medications are identified as to lot or 
control number; and 
 (c)  the signatures of the receiving pharmacist and a licensed 
nurse employed by the facility are recorded and retained for at least three 
years in a separate log [which ]that lists the name of the client, the name, 
strength, prescription number, if applicable, the amount of the 
[drug]medication returned[,] and the date of return. 
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 (16)  The facility shall maintain a[A]n emergency 
[drug]medication supply appropriate to the needs of the clients served[ 
shall be maintained in the facility]. 
 (a)  The pharmacist in coordination with the administrator 
shall develop an emergency [drug]medication supply policy to include 
the following requirements: 
 (i)  [S]specific [drugs]medications and dosages to be included 
in the emergency [drug]medication supply shall be listed[.]; 
 (ii)  [C]containers shall be sealed to prevent unauthorized 
use[.]; 
 (iii)  [C]contents of the emergency [drug]medication supply 
shall be listed on the outside of the container and the use of contents 
shall be documented by nursing staff[.]; 
 (iv)  [T]the emergency [drug]medication supply shall be 
accessible to nursing staff[.]; and 
 (v)  [T]the pharmacist shall inventory the emergency 
[drug]medication supply monthly.  Used or outdated items shall be 
replaced within 72 hours. 
 (17)  The pharmacy shall furnish [drugs]medications and 
biologicals as follows: 
 (a)  [Drugs]medications ordered for administration as soon as 
possible shall be available and administered within two hours of a 
physician's order[.]; 
 (b)  [Anti-infectives]antibiotics shall be available and 
administered within four hours of a physician's order[.]; 
 (c)  [All ]new [drug]medication orders shall be initiated 
within 24 hours of the order or as indicated by the physician[.]; 
 (d)  [P]prescription [drugs]medications shall be refilled in a 
timely manner[.]; and 
 (e)  [O]orders for controlled substances shall be sent to the 
pharmacy within 48 hours of the order.  The order sent to the pharmacy 
may be a written prescription by the prescriber, a direct copy of the 
original order, or an electronic reproduction. 
 
R432-152-20.  Laboratory Services. 
 (1)  The facility [must]shall provide laboratory services in 
accordance with the size and needs of the client population. 
 (2)  Laboratory services shall comply with the requirements 
of the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988[ 
(CLIA)].  [CLIA]Laboratory inspection reports shall be available for 
Department review. 
 
R432-152-21.  Environment. 
 (1)  Infection control procedures and reporting shall comply 
with Subsection R432-150-11(4). 
 (2)  The facility shall have a safety committee [which ]that 
includes the administrator, [QMRP]Qualified Intellectual Disabilities 
Professional, head housekeeper, chief of facility maintenance[,] and 
others as designated by facility policy. 
 (a)  The safety committee [must]shall: 
 (i)  review [all ]incident and accident reports and recommend 
changes to the administrator to prevent or reduce reoccurrence; 
 (ii)  review facility safety policies and procedures at least 
annually, and make appropriate recommendations; and 
 (iii)  establish a procedure to inspect the facility periodically 
for hazards. 
 (b)  Inspection reports shall be filed with the safety 
committee. 
 

R432-152-22.  Emergency Plan and Procedures. 
 (1)  The facility shall develop and implement detailed written 
plans and procedures to meet [all ]potential emergencies and disasters 
such as fire, severe weather[,] and missing clients. 
 (a)  The facility shall periodically review and update written 
emergency procedures. 
 (b)  The emergency plan [must]shall be made available to the 
staff. 
 (c)  Facility staff [must]shall receive periodic training on 
emergency plan procedures. 
 (d)  The emergency plan shall address the following: 
 (i)  evacuation of occupants to a safe place within the facility 
or to another location; 
 (ii)  delivery of essential care and services to facility 
occupants by alternate means; 
 (iii)  delivery of essential care and services when additional 
persons are housed in the facility during an emergency; 
 (iv)  delivery of essential care and services to facility 
occupants when the staff is reduced by an emergency; and 
 (v)  maintenance of safe ambient air temperatures within the 
facility.  Ambient air temperature of at least 58 degrees Fahrenheit. 
[Must]shall be maintained during emergencies. 
 (e)  Emergency heating [must]shall be approved by the local 
fire department. 
 (2)  The facility's emergency plan shall identify: 
 (a)  the person with decision-making authority for fiscal, 
medical[,] and personnel management; 
 (b)  on-hand personnel, equipment[,] and supplies and how to 
acquire additional [help, supplies, and equipment]resources after an 
emergency or disaster; 
 (c)  assignment of personnel to specific tasks during an 
emergency; 
 (d)  methods of communicating with local emergency 
agencies, authorities[,] and other appropriate individuals; 
 (e)  the individuals who shall be notified in an emergency, in 
order of priority; 
 (f)  method of transporting and evacuating clients and staff to 
other locations; and 
 (g)  conversion of the facility for emergency use. 
 (3)  Emergency telephone numbers shall be posted near 
telephones accessible to staff. 
 (4)  The facility shall hold s[S]imulated disaster drills [shall 
be held ]semi-annually for [all ]staff, in addition to fire drills.  
Documentation shall be maintained for Department review. 
 (5)  The licensee and administrator shall develop a written fire 
emergency and evacuation plan in consultation with qualified fire safety 
personnel. 
 (a)  The evacuation plan shall delineate evacuation routes and 
location of fire alarm boxes and fire extinguishers. 
 (b)  The written fire[-] emergency plan shall include fire-
containment procedures and how to use the facility alarm systems and 
signals. 
 (c)  Fire drills and fire drill documentation shall be in 
accordance with Buildings [U]under the [J]jurisdiction of the [State 
]Fire Prevention Board[, R710-4]. 
 (d)  The facility shall evacuate clients during at least one drill 
each year on each shift that shall includ[ing]e: 
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 (i)  [making special provisions for the ]evacuation of clients 
with physical disabilities; 
 (ii)  filing a report and evaluation on each evacuation drill; and 
 (iii)  investigat[ing]ion of [all ]problems with evacuation 
drills, including accidents, and [take ]corrective action taken. 
 
R432-152-23.  Smoking Policies. 
 Smoking policies shall comply with [UCA ]Title 26, Chapter 
38, [the ]"Utah Indoor Clean Air Act"[,].[ and Sections 12-7.4 and 13-
7.4 of the 1997 Life Safety Code.] 
 
R432-152-24.  Pets in Long-Term Care Facilities. 
 (1)  Each facility shall develop a written policy regarding pets 
in accordance with these rules and local ordinances. 
 (2)  The facility shall adhere to the requirements of Section 
R432-150-21. 
 
R432-152-25.  Housekeeping Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide[There shall be] housekeeping 
services to maintain a clean, sanitary[,] and health[ful]y environment[ in 
the facility]. 
 (2)  If the facility contracts for housekeeping services with an 
outside agency, there shall be a signed and dated agreement that details 
[all ]services provided. 
 (3)  The housekeeping service shall meet [all ]the 
requirements of Section R432-150-26. 
 
R432-152-26.  Laundry Services. 
 The facility shall adhere to the requirements of Section R432-
150-27. 
 
R432-152-27.  Maintenance Services. 
 The facility shall adhere to the requirements of Section R432-
150-28. 
 
R432-152-28.  Dietary Services. 
 The facility shall adhere to the requirements of Section R432-
150-24. 
 
R432-152-29.  Client Records. 
 (1)  The facility shall develop and maintain a record keeping 
system that includes a separate record for each client with 
documentation of the client's health care, active treatment, social 
information[,] and protection of the client's rights. 
 (a)  The facility shall keep confidential [all ]information 
contained in the client's records[, regardless of the form or storage 
method of the records]. 
 (b)  The facility shall develop and implement policies and 
procedures governing the release of any client information, including 
consent[s] necessary from the client or client's legal guardian. 
 (c)  [All e]Entries into client records [must]shall be legible, 
dated and signed by the individual making the entry. 
 (d)  The facility shall provide a legend to explain any symbol 
or abbreviation used in a client's record. 
 (e)  The facility shall insure each identified residential living 
unit has available on-site pertinent information of each client's record. 
 (f)  Client's records shall be complete and systematically 
organized according to facility policy to facilitate retrieval and 
compilation of information. 
 (2)  The client record department shall be under the direction 
of a [r]Registered[ record administrator, RRA,] Health Information 
Administrator or a[n accredited record technician, ART] Registered 

Health Information Technician through employment or consultation.  If 
[an RRA or ART is not employed at least part time, the facility shall 
consult at least semi-annually with an RRA or ART according to the 
needs of the facility]retained by consultation, visits shall be at least semi-
annually and documented through written reports to the administrator. 
 (3)  The facility shall safeguard c[C]lient records [shall be 
safeguarded ]from loss, defacement, tampering, fires[,] and floods. 
 (4)  The facility shall protect c[C]lient records [shall be 
protected ]against access by unauthorized individuals. 
 (5)  The facility shall retain c[C]lient records [shall be retained 
]for at least seven years after the last date of client care. 
 (a)  The facility shall retain r[R]ecords of minors [shall be 
retained ]as follows: 
 (i)  at least two years after the minor reaches age 18 or the age 
of majority; and 
 (ii)  a minimum of seven years. 
 (b)  [All c]The facility shall retain client records [shall be 
retained ]within the facility upon change of ownership. 
 (c)  If a facility ceases operation, [provision ]the facility shall 
[be made ]arrange for appropriate safe storage and prompt retrieval of 
[all ]client records, client indices[,] and discharges for the period 
specified. 
 (d)  The facility may arrange storage of client records with 
another facility or may return client records to the attending physician 
who is still in the community. 
 
R432-152-30.  Respite Care. 
 (1)  [Mental Retardation Facilities]Intermediate Care 
Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities may provide 
respite services that comply with the following requirements: 
 (a)  [T]the purpose of respite is to provide intermittent, time-[ 
]limited care to give primary caretakers relief from the demands of 
caring for a person[.]; 
 (b)  [R]respite services may be provided at an hourly rate or 
daily rate, but shall not exceed 14-days for any single respite stay.[  Stays 
which exceed 14 days are a mental retardation facility admission, and 
shall be subject to the requirements of this rule applicable to non-respite 
residents.] 
 (c)  [T]the facility shall coordinate the delivery of respite 
services with the recipient of services, case manager[, if one exists,] and 
the family member or primary caretaker[.]; 
 (d)  [T]the facility shall document the person's response to the 
respite placement and coordinate with [all ]provider agencies to ensure 
an uninterrupted service delivery program[.]; 
 (e)  [T]the facility [must]shall complete a service agreement 
to serve as the plan of care, and[.  The service agreement must] shall 
identify the prescribed medications, physician treatment orders, need for 
assistance for activities of daily living and diet orders[.]; 
 (f)  [T]the facility shall have written policies and procedures 
available to staff regarding the respite care clients [which ]that include: 
 (i)  medication administration; 
 (ii)  notification of a responsible party in the case of an 
emergency; 
 (iii)  service agreement and admission criteria; 
 (iv)  behavior management interventions; 
 (v)  philosophy of respite services; 
 (vi)  post-service summary; 
 (vii)  training and in-service requirement for employees; and 
 (viii)  handling personal funds[.]; 
 (g)  [P]The facility shall provide persons receiving respite 
services [shall be provided ]a copy of the Resident Rights documents 
upon initial day of service and updated annually[.]; 
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 (h)  [T]the facility shall maintain a record for each person 
receiving respite services [which ]that includes: 
 (i)  [R]retention and storage of records shall comply with 
Subsections R432-152-29(3) and (4)[.]; 
 (ii)  [C]confidentiality and release of information shall 
comply with Subsection R432-150-25(3)[.]; and 
 (iii)  [T]the record shall contain the following: 
 (A)  a service agreement; 
 (B)  demographic information and resident identification 
data; 
 (C)  nursing notes; 
 (D)  physician treatment orders; 
 (E)  records made by staff regarding daily care of the person 
in-[ ]service; 
 (F)  accident and injury reports; and 
 (G)  a post-service summary[.]; and 
 (i)  [I]The facility shall file in the client record and inform staff 
if a [person]client has an advanced directive[, a copy shall be filed in the 
record and staff informed]. 
 
R432-152-31.  Penalties. 
 Any person who violates [any provision of ]this rule may be 
subject to the penalties enumerated in Section 26-21-11 and Section 
R432-3-6 and be punished for violation of a class A misdemeanor as 
provided in Section 26-21-16. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 6, 1999] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 13, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-
21-13.5 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-153 Filing ID 
54093 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristi Grimes 385-

214-
9187 

kristigrimes@utah.gov 

Joel Hoffman 801-
273-
2804 

jhoffman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-153.  Pediatric Respite Care Facility 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule establishes health and safety standards to 
provide for the physical and psycho-social well-being of 
individuals receiving services in a pediatric respite care 
facility. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule establishes regulations for the operation of a 
pediatric respite care facility.  The facility would provide 
intermittent, time-limited care to give primary caretakers 
relief from the demands of caring for a person.  The facility 
would provide skilled nursing care for individuals up to age 
17, not to exceed 14 days for any single respite stay.  This 
rule was presented and approved by the Health Facility 
Committee on 07/01/2021. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are currently no pediatric respite care facilities.  
When such a facility applies for licensure, construction will 
begin, and it is unlikely they will be operational in the year 
2022.  A relicensure survey inspection may be needed in 
2023, and each year thereafter, for one facility.  This 
relicensure survey will require two staff, along with support 
staff.  The estimated cost to the state budget for a 
relicensure survey is $950. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule should not impact 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  Pediatric 
Respite Care Facilities will be regulated by the state health 
department and not local governments.  There will be no 
change in local business licensing or any other items with 
which local government is involved. 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This is a new rule and there are currently no small 
businesses operating as a pediatric respite care facility.  
When such a facility applies for licensing, it is unlikely they 
will fall within a small business category. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This is a new rule and there are currently no non-small 
businesses operating as a pediatric respite care facility.  
When such a facility applies for licensure, the proposed 
rule will result in a fiscal impact to the facility.  The facility 
will incur licensing fees, to include:  New Provider Fee of 
$747.50, Initial License Fee of $260, and Per Bed Fee of 
$19.50.  The facility will incur license renewal fees every 
two years following the first year to include:  Base Fee of 
$520, and a per bed fee of $39.  The Department is aware 
of one facility that plans to apply for licensure, and an 
estimated 15 beds is used for anticipated cost analysis. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons other than non-small businesses. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule will not result in compliance costs 
for affected persons. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Because this is a new rule, there are currently no small 
businesses operating as a pediatric respite care facility.  
When such a facility applies for licensing, it is unlikely they 
will fall within a small business category.  This is a new rule 
and there are currently no non-small businesses operating 
as a pediatric respite care facility.  When such a facility 
applies for licensure, the proposed rule will result in a fiscal 
impact to the facility.  The facility will incur licensing fees, 
to include:  New Provider Fee of $747.50, Initial License 
Fee of $260 and Per Bed Fee of $19.50.  The facility will 
incur license renewal fees every two years following the 
first year to include: Base Fee of $520, and a per bed fee 
of $39.  The Department is aware of one facility that plans 
to apply for licensure, and an estimated 15 beds is used 
for anticipated cost analysis.  Nate Checketts, Executive 
Director 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $950 $950 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $1300 $1105 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $2250 $2055 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$ $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $-2250 $-2055 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/08/2021 

 
R432.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-153.  Pediatric Respite Care Facility. 
R432-153-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21, Health 
Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 
R432-153-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes health and safety standards to provide 
for the physical and psycho-social well-being of individuals 
receiving services in pediatric respite care facilities. 
 
R432-153-3.  Construction Standard. 
 Pediatric Respite Care Facilities shall be constructed and 
maintained in accordance with Rule R432-5, Nursing Care and 
Respite Care Facility Construction. 
 
R432-153-4.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions found in Section R432-1-3 apply to this 
rule. 
 (2)  The following definitions apply to pediatric respite care 
facilities. 
 (a)  "Administrator" means the person in charge of the daily 
operations of the pediatric respite care facility. 
 (b)  "Certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation" 
(CPR) refers to certification issued after completion of an in-person 
course, to include skills testing and evaluation on-site with a licensed 
instructor. 
 (c)  "Chemical Restraint" means any medication 
administered to a client to control or restrict the client's physical, 
emotional, or behavioral functioning for the convenience of staff, for 
punishment, discipline, or as a substitute for direct client care. 
 (d)  "Facility" means a pediatric respite care facility. 
 (e)  "Licensed health care professional" means a registered 
nurse, physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, or 
physician licensed by the Utah Department of Commerce who has 
education and experience to assess and evaluate the health care needs 
of the resident. 
 (f)  "Nurse Aide" means any individual, other than an 
individual licensed in another category, providing nurse related 
services to clients under the direction of a licensed nurse. This 
definition does not include an individual who volunteers to provide 
such services without pay. 

 (g)  "Pediatric Respite Care Facility" means a facility that 
provides respite care to pediatric clients up to age 17. 
 (h)  "Registered Nurse" as defined in the Title 58, Chapter 
31b, Nurse Practice Act. 
 (i)  "Respite Care" means to provide intermittent, time-
limited care to give primary caretakers relief from the demands of 
caring for a person. Respite services shall not exceed 14 days for any 
single respite stay. 
 
R432-153-5.  Scope of Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide 24-hour licensed nursing 
services.  
 (a)  The facility shall ensure that nurses are present on the 
premises at all times to meet the needs of clients. 
 (b)  The facility shall provide at least one registered nurse 
either by direct employ or by contract to act as the director of nursing. 
 (c)  The facility shall employ a registered nurse for at least 
eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week. 
 (d)  A licensed nurse shall serve as charge nurse on each 
shift. 
 (2)  The facility shall provide medical supervision and 
dietary services. 
 (3)  The following services shall be provided as required in 
the client service agreement: 
 (a)  physical therapy; 
 (b)  occupational therapy; 
 (c)  speech therapy; 
 (d)  respiratory therapy; and 
 (e)  other therapies as indicated. 
 (4)  The facility shall coordinate the delivery of respite 
services with the recipient of services, the case manager if one exists, 
and the family member or primary caregiver. 
 (5)  The facility shall document the client's response to the 
respite placement and coordinate with each provider agency to ensure 
an uninterrupted service delivery program. 
 (6)  The facility shall complete a service agreement to serve 
as the plan of care, which shall identify the prescribed medications, 
primary care provider treatment orders, need for assistance with 
activities of daily living and diet orders. 
 (7)  The facility shall have access to supplemental services 
such as laboratory and pharmacy as needed. 
 
R432-153-6.  Governing Body. 
 (1)  The facility shall have a governing body or designated 
persons functioning as a governing body. 
 (2)  The governing body or designated persons in 
Subsection (1) shall: 
 (a)  establish and implement policies regarding the 
management and operation of the facility; 
 (b)  institute bylaws, policies and procedures relative to the 
general operation of each facility service, including the health care of 
the clients and the protection of client rights; and 
 (c)  appoint the administrator in writing. 
 
R432-153-7.  Administrator. 
 (1)  The administrator shall have the following 
qualifications: 
 (a)  be 21 years of age or older; 
 (b)  have knowledge of applicable laws and rules; and 
 (c)  is able to deliver, or direct the delivery of, appropriate 
care to clients; and 
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 (2)  The administrator shall have at least one of the 
following: 
 (a)  a Utah health facility administrator license; 
 (b)  a bachelor's degree in a health care field, to include 
management training or one or more years of management 
experience; 
 (c)  a bachelor's degree in any field, to include management 
training or one or more years of management experience and one year 
or more experience in a health care field; or 
 (d)  an associate degree and four years or more 
management experience in a health care field. 
 (3)  The administrator shall supervise no more than one 
facility. 
 (4)  The administrator shall be on the premises a sufficient 
number of hours in the business day, and at other times as necessary 
to manage and administer the facility. 
 (5)  The administrator shall designate, in writing, the name 
and title of the person who shall act as administrator in any temporary 
absence of the administrator. This person shall have the authority and 
freedom to act in the best interests of client safety and well-being. It 
is not the intent of this subsection to permit a de facto administrator 
to replace the designated administrator. 
 (6)  The administrator's responsibilities shall be defined in 
a written job description on file in the facility. The job description 
shall include at least the following responsibilities: 
 (a)  act as a liaison between the licensee, medical and 
nursing staff, and other supervisory staff of the facility; 
 (b)  respond to recommendations made by the Quality 
Assurance Committee; 
 (c)  implement policies and procedures governing the 
operation of each function of the facility; 
 (d)  review each incident and accident report and document 
the corrective action taken or reason for no action; 
 (e)  complete and document an investigation whenever 
there is reason to believe that a client has been subject to abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation; and 
 (f)  report any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation in 
accordance with Section 62A-3-305, and document appropriate 
action taken if the alleged violation is verified. 
 (7)  The administrator shall secure and update contracts for 
required services not provided directly by the facility. 
 
R432-153-8.  Medical Director. 
 The administrator shall retain by formal agreement a 
licensed physician to serve as medical director or advisory physician 
according to client and facility needs. 
 
R432-153-9.  Staff and Personnel. 
 (1)  Direct-care personnel shall be on the facility premises 
24 hours a day to meet clients' needs as determined by the clients' 
assessment and service agreements. 
 (a)  The administrator shall develop job descriptions for 
each position, including job title, job summary, responsibilities, 
qualifications, required skills and licenses, and physical 
requirements. 
 (b)  The administrator shall ensure all personnel are 
icensed, certified, or registered as required by the Utah Department 
of Commerce. A copy of the license, certification or registration shall 
be maintained for Department review. 
 (2)  The facility shall maintain staffing records for the 
preceding 12 months. 

 (3)  The facility shall establish a personnel health program 
through written personnel health policies and procedures. 
 (4)  The facility shall complete a health evaluation and 
inventory for each employee upon hire. The health inventory shall 
obtain at least the employee's history of the following: 
 (a)  conditions that predispose the employee to acquiring or 
transmitting infectious diseases; 
 (b)  conditions that may prevent the employee from 
performing certain assigned duties satisfactorily; and 
 (c)  health screening and immunizations. 
 (5)  Employee skin testing by the Mantoux method or other 
Food and Drug Administration approved in-vitro serologic test and 
follow up for tuberculosis shall be done in accordance with Section 
R388-804, Special Measures for the Control of Tuberculosis. 
 (a)  The licensee shall ensure that each employee is skin-
tested for tuberculosis within two weeks of: 
 (i)  initial hiring; 
 (ii)  suspected exposure to a person with active 
tuberculosis; and (iii) development of symptoms of tuberculosis. 
 (b)  Skin testing shall be exempted for each employee with 
known positive reactions to skin tests. 
 (6)  The facility director of nursing shall report any 
infection and communicable disease reportable by law to the local 
health department in accordance with Section R386-702-3. 
 (7)  Each employee shall receive documented orientation to 
the facility and the job for which they are hired. Orientation shall 
include the following: 
 (a)  job description; 
 (b)  ethics, confidentiality and client rights; 
 (c)  fire and disaster plan; 
 (d)  policy and procedures; and 
 (e)  reporting responsibility for abuse, neglect, and 
exploitation. 
 (8)  Each employee shall receive documented in-service 
training. The training shall be tailored to annually include the 
following subjects that are relevant to the employees' job 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  fire prevention; 
 (b)  review and drill of emergency procedures and 
evacuation 
plan; 
 (c)  the reporting of client abuse, neglect, or exploitation to 
the proper authorities; 
 (d)  prevention and control of infections; 
 (e)  accident prevention and safety procedures, including 
instruction in body mechanics for each employee required to lift, 
turn, position or ambulate clients; 
 (f)  proper use and documentation of restraints; 
 (g)  client rights; 
 (h)  a basic understanding of the various types of mental 
illness, including symptoms, expected behaviors and intervention 
approaches; 
 (i)  confidentiality of client information; 
 (j)  first aid; and 
 (k)  prevention and control of infections. 
 (9)  Any person who provides nursing care activities, 
including nurse aides, shall work under the supervision of an RN or 
LPN and shall demonstrate competency and dependability in client 
care. 
 (10)  Personnel who provide care to clients shall be 
certified nurse aides or complete a state-certified nurse aide program 
within four months of the date of hire. 
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 (11)  There shall always be one staff person on duty that 
has current training in basic first aid, the Heimlich maneuver, 
certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and emergency 
procedures to ensure that each client receives prompt first aid as 
needed. 
 (12)  The facility may utilize volunteers in activities in the 
facility, provided that volunteers are not included in the facility's 
staffing plan in lieu of facility employees. Volunteers shall be 
supervised and familiar with clients' rights and the facility's policies 
and procedures. 
 (13)  An employee who reports suspected abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation may not be subject to retaliation, disciplinary action 
or termination by the facility for making the report. 
 (14)  The facility shall develop and implement policies and 
procedures governing an infection control program to protect clients, 
family and personnel; that includes appropriate task related employee 
infection control procedures and practices. 
 
R432-153-10.  Quality Assurance. 
 (1)  The administrator shall implement a quality assurance 
program to include a Quality Assurance Committee. The committee 
shall: 
 (a)  consist of at least the facility administrator and either 
the medical director or the director of nursing; 
 (b)  meet at least quarterly to identify and act on quality 
issues; 
 (c)  review medication errors; and 
 (d)  review incident reports. 
 (2)  The facility shall have written incident and injury 
reports to document client death, injuries, elopement, fights or 
physical confrontations, situations that require the use of passive 
physical restraint, suspected abuse or neglect, and other situations or 
circumstances affecting the health, safety or well-being of clients. 
The reports shall be kept on file for at least three years. 
 
R432-153-11.  Client Rights. 
 (1)  The facility shall establish written client rights. 
 (2)  The facility shall make a copy of the client rights 
document available to the clients, the client guardian or responsible 
person, and to the public and the Department upon request. 
 (3)  The facility shall ensure that each client admitted to the 
facility has the right to: 
 (a)  be informed, prior to or at the time of admission and 
for the duration of stay, of client rights and each rule and regulation 
governing client conduct; 
 (b)  be informed, prior to or at the time of admission and 
for the duration of stay, of services available in the facility and of 
related charges, including any charges for services not covered by the 
facility's basic per diem rate; 
 (c)  be transferred or discharged only for medical reasons, 
for personal welfare or that of other clients, or for nonpayment for 
the stay, and to be given reasonable advance notice to ensure orderly 
transfer or discharge; 
 (d)  be free from mental and physical abuse, neglect, and 
exploitation; 
 (e)  be assured confidential treatment of personal and 
medical records, including photographs, and to approve or refuse 
their release to any individual outside the facility, except in the case 
of transfer to another health facility, or as required by law or third 
party payment contract; 

 (f)  be treated with consideration, respect, and full 
recognition of dignity and individuality, including privacy in 
treatment and in care for personal needs; 
 (g)  not be required to perform services for the facility that 
are not included for therapeutic purposes in the service agreement; 
 (h)  associate and communicate privately with persons of 
the client's choice, and to send and receive personal mail unopened; 
 (i)  meet with social, religious, and community groups and 
participate in activities provided that the activities do not interfere 
with the rights of other clients in the facility; 
 (j)  retain and use personal clothing and possessions as 
space permits, unless to do so would infringe upon rights of other 
clients; 
 (k)  have members of the clergy admitted at the request of 
the client or responsible person at any time; 
 (l)  allow relatives, responsible persons or individuals 
designated by the responsible person to visit critically ill clients at 
any time; 
 (m)  be allowed privacy for visits with family, friends, 
clergy or social workers; 
 (n)  have confidential access to telephones for 
communication; 
 (o)  choose activities, schedules, and health care consistent 
with individual interests, assessments and service agreement; 
 (p)  interact with members of the community both inside 
and outside the facility; 
 (q)  make choices about each aspect of life in the facility 
that is significant to the client; 
 (r)  be informed of complaint or grievance procedures; and 
 (s)  access to each record pertaining to the client, upon oral 
or written request. 
 (4)  The facility shall accommodate client needs and 
preferences, except when the health and safety of the individual or 
other clients may be endangered. A client shall be given at least a 24-
hour notice before an involuntary room move is made in the facility. 
 (5)  In an emergency when there is actual or threatened 
harm to others, property or self, the 24-hour notice requirement for 
an involuntary room move may be waived. The circumstances 
requiring the emergency room change shall be documented for 
Department review. 
 (6)  The facility shall make and document efforts to 
accommodate the client's adjustment and choices regarding room 
changes. 
 (7)  The facility shall have available in a public area the 
results of the current facility survey and any plans of correction. 
 (8)  The facility shall notify the client's responsible party 
within 24 hours of any incidents, accidents with injuries or change in 
medical condition. Notification of medical emergencies shall be 
made immediately. 
 
R432-153-12.  Assessment and Service Agreement. 
 (1)  The facility shall assess each client prior to admission 
to ensure that the needs of the client can be met. 
 (2)  The licensed healthcare professional shall complete 
and sign the client assessment. 
 (3)  The facility shall develop a service agreement to 
outline services to be provided during the respite stay. 
 (4)  The service agreement in Subsection (3) shall include: 
 (a)  medication administration; 
 (b)  emergency contact information for the responsible 
party; and 
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 (c)  other therapies and treatments required for care. 
 (5)  The facility shall ensure that the services provided meet 
professional standards of quality and are provided by qualified 
persons in accordance with the client's written service agreement. 
 (6)  If the client has an advance directive, a copy shall be 
included with the service agreement. 
 
R432-153-13.  Restraint Policy. 
 (1)  Each client has the right to be free from physical or 
chemical restraints used for discipline, convenience or not required 
to treat the client's medical symptoms. 
 (2)  The facility shall have written policies and procedures 
regarding the proper use of restraints, which shall include: 
 (a)  restraints shall only be used to assist clients to attain 
and maintain optimum levels of physical and emotional functioning; 
 (b)  restraints shall not be used as substitutes for direct 
client care, activities or other services; 
 (c)  restraints shall not unduly hinder evacuation of the 
client in the event of fire or other emergency; and 
 (d)  if use of a physical or a chemical restraint is 
implemented, the facility shall inform the client and their responsible 
party of the reasons for the restraint. 
 (3)  Physical and chemical restraint policies under 
Subsection (2)(d) shall incorporate and address at least the following: 
 (a)  appropriateness of use; 
 (b)  procedures for use; and 
 (c)  less restrictive alternatives prior to the use of more 
restrictive measures. 
 (4)  Emergency use of physical and chemical restraints 
shall comply with the following: 
 (a)  a physician, a licensed health practitioner or the director 
of nursing shall authorize the emergency use of restraints; and 
 (b)  the facility shall document in the client's record the 
circumstances necessitating emergency use of the restraint and the 
client's response. 
 
R432-153-14.  Medical Records. 
 (1)  The facility shall retain, store and safeguard the client 
medical record and its contents. 
 (2)  The facility shall protect the client medical record 
against access by unauthorized individuals. 
 (3)  The facility shall retain the client medical record for at 
least seven years. Medical records of minors shall be kept until the 
age of 18 plus four years, but in no case less than seven years. 
 (4)  The facility shall maintain a record for each client 
receiving respite services that includes: 
 (a)  the assessment and service agreement; 
 (b)  demographic information and client identification data; 
 (c)  contact information for the responsible party; 
 (d)  nursing notes; 
 (e)  physician treatment orders; 
 (f)  records made by staff regarding daily care of the client 
in service; and 
 (g)  a post-service summary. 
 
R432-153-15.  Pet Policy. 
 (1)  The facility shall develop a written policy regarding 
pets in accordance with local ordinances. 
 (2)  The administrator or designee shall determine which 
pets may be brought into the facility. Family members may bring pets 
to visit provided they have approval from the administrator and offer 
assurance that the pets are clean, disease free and vaccinated. 

 (3)  Pets are not permitted in food preparation or storage 
areas. Pets are not permitted in any area where their presence would 
create a health or safety risk. 
 
R432-153-16.  Food Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide each client with a safe, 
palatable, well-balanced diet that meets their daily nutritional and 
special dietary needs. 
 (2)  There shall be adequate staff employed by the facility 
to meet the dietary needs of the clients. 
 (3)  The facility shall employ a dietitian either full-time, 
part-time or on a consultant basis. 
 (a)  The dietitian shall be certified in accordance with Title 
58, Chapter 49, Dietitian Certification Act. 
 (b)  If a dietitian is not employed full-time, the 
administrator shall designate a full-time person to serve as the dietetic 
supervisor. 
 (c)  The dietetic supervisor shall be available when the 
consulting dietitian visits the facility. 
 (4)  Any personnel who prepares or serves food shall have 
a current food handler's permit. 
 (5)  If the facility admits clients requiring therapeutic or 
special diets, the facility shall have an approved dietary manual for 
reference when preparing meals. 
 (6)  The facility shall develop menus that meet the 
nutritional needs of clients. Menus shall be: 
 (a)  prepared in advance; 
 (b)  followed; 
 (c)  have different choices each day; 
 (d)  posted for each day of the week; 
 (e)  approved and signed by a certified dietician; and 
 (f)  cycled no less than every two weeks. 
 (7)  The facility shall retain documentation of any 
substitution to the menu for at least three months. 
 (8)  The facility shall make available for Department 
review any food sanitation inspection reports of state or local health 
department inspections. 
 (9)  The facility shall have no more than a 14-hour interval 
between the evening meal and breakfast, unless a substantial snack is 
served in the evening. 
 (10)  The facility shall provide special eating equipment 
and assistive devices for clients who need them. 
 (11)  The facility shall maintain a one-week supply of 
nonperishable staple foods and a three-day supply of perishable foods 
to complete the established menu. 
 (12)  The facility may use trained dining assistants to aid 
clients in eating and drinking if: 
 (a)  a licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, advance 
practice registered nurse, speech pathologist, occupational therapist, 
or dietitian has assessed that the client does not have complicated 
feeding problems, such as recurrent lung aspirations, behaviors 
which interfere with eating, difficulty swallowing, or tube or 
parenteral feeding; and 
 (b)  the service agreement documents that the client needs 
assistance with eating and drinking and defines who is qualified to 
offer the assistance. 
 (13)  If the facility uses a dining assistant, the facility shall 
assure that the dining assistant: 
 (a)  has completed a dietary assistant training course; and 
 (b)  performs duties only for those clients who do not have 
complicated feeding problems. 
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R432-153-17.  Housekeeping Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide a safe, clean, comfortable 
environment, allowing the client to use personal belongings to create 
a homelike environment. 
 (2)  The facility shall store in a locked area all cleaning 
agents, bleaches, insecticides, poisonous, dangerous, or flammable 
materials to prevent unauthorized access. 
 
R432-153-18.  Laundry Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall provide laundry services to meet the 
needs of the clients, including a sufficient supply of linens. 
 (2)  The facility shall inform the client and family of facility 
laundry policy for personal clothing. 
 (3)  Soiled linen shall be handled, stored, and processed in 
a manner to prevent contamination and the spread of infections. 
 (4)  The laundry area shall be separate from any room 
where food is stored, prepared or served. 
 
R432-153-19.  Maintenance Services. 
 (1)  The facility shall ensure that buildings, equipment and 
grounds are maintained in good repair and in a clean and sanitary 
condition for the safety and well-being of clients, staff and visitors. 
 (2)  The facility shall ensure that the premises are free from 
vermin and rodents. 
 (3)  The facility shall maintain entrances, exits, steps, 
ramps and outside walkways in a safe condition with regard to snow, 
ice and other hazards. 
 (4)  Facilities shall make provision for emergency lighting 
and heat. 
 (5)  The facility shall deliver hot water to public and client 
care areas at temperatures between 105-120 degrees. 
 (6)  The facility shall have at least one first aid kit available 
at a specified location in the facility. 
 (7)  The facility shall have a current edition of a basic first 
aid manual approved by the American Red Cross, the American 
Medical Association or a state or federal health agency. 
 (8)  The facility shall have a clean-up kit for blood-borne 
pathogens. 
 
R432-153-20.  Emergency Response and Preparedness Plan. 
 (1)  The facility shall ensure the safety and well-being of 
clients and make provisions for a safe environment in the event of an 
emergency or disaster. 
 (2)  The facility shall develop an emergency and disaster 
plan to delineate: 
 (a)  the names of persons in charge and persons with 
decision-making authority; 
 (b)  on-hand personnel, equipment, and supplies and how 
to acquire additional help, supplies and equipment after an 
emergency or disaster; 
 (c)  assignment of personnel to specific tasks during an 
emergency; 
 (d)  evacuation routes, location of fire alarm boxes, fire 
extinguishers; 
 (e)  the names and telephone numbers of emergency 
medical personnel, fire department, paramedics, ambulance service, 
police and other appropriate agencies; 
 (f)  individuals who shall be notified in an emergency in 
order of priority; 
 (g)  methods of transporting and evacuating clients and 
staff to other locations; and 

 (h)  instructions on how to contain a fire and how to use the 
facility alarm systems. 
 (3)  The facility shall conduct and document simulated 
disaster drills semi-annually. 
 (4)  The facility shall conduct and document simulated fire 
drills quarterly on each shift. 
 
R432-153-21.  Penalties. 
 Any person who violates any provision of this rule may be 
subject to the penalties enumerated in Sections 26-21-11 and R432- 
3-7 and be punished for violation of a class A misdemeanor as 
provided in Section 26-21-16. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-
21- 16 
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(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 91 

The purpose of this amendment is to expand the definition 
of "physician" to include other practitioners.  This is in 
response to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) rule change to allow other practitioners to 
give orders for home health patients.  This will allow for 
better and faster care for patients receiving care from 
home health agencies, especially in rural areas where 
practitioners are fewer. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendment removes "physician" and adds "primary 
care provider" to the definitions.  This will be defined to 
include physicians as well as advanced practice registered 
nurses who are the primary care providers for patients and 
those on-call for the primary care provider.  The Health 
Facility Committee reviewed and approved this rule 
amendment on 05/12/2021. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government home health agency survey process 
was thoroughly reviewed.  This change will not impact the 
current process for licensure and re-licensure surveys.  No 
change to the state budget is expected. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures.  
Home health agencies are regulated by the state health 
department and not local governments.  There will be no 
change in local business licensing or any other items with 
which local government is involved. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
business Licensed Home Health Agencies.  There are 126 
home health agencies, as determined by the Department's 
licensing data system. (North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) codes used – Home Health 
Care Services 621610, reports 54 small businesses). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected non-small businesses because this amendment 
removes the definition of "physician" and adds the 
definition of "primary care provider" and therefore, would 

not add cost for persons, businesses, or local government 
entities. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment removes the 
definition of "physician" and adds the definition of "primary 
care provider" and therefore, would not add cost for 
persons, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment removes the 
definition of "physician" and adds the definition of "primary 
care provider" and therefore, would not add cost for 
persons, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact on business because the 
expanded definition will not create any additional 
requirements for providers or facilities.  Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 10/11/2021 

 
R432.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-700.  Home Health Agency Rule. 
R432-700-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21 Health 
Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 

R432-700-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to promote the public health and 
welfare through the establishment and enforcement of licensure 
standards.  This rule sets standards for the operation of home health 
agencies. 
 
R432-700-3.  Compliance. 
 [All h]Home health agencies shall comply with these rules 
and their own policies and procedures. 
 
R432-700-4.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 26-21-2, and 
section R432-1-3.  In addition: 
 (1)  [See common definitions rule R432-1-3. 
 (2)  Special definitions: 
 (a)  "Branch Office" means a location from which a home 
health agency provides services within a portion of the total geographic 
area served by the parent agency.  The branch office is a part of the 
parent home health agency and shares administration and services. 
 (b)  ]"Certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation" (CPR) 
refers to certification issued after completion of an in- person course, to 
include skills testing and evaluation on-site with a licensed instructor[ 
that is consistent with the most current version of the American Heart 
Association Guidelines for Health Care Provider CPR]. 
 ([c]2)  "Licensed health care professional" means a registered 
nurse, physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, or 
physician licensed by the Utah Department of Commerce who has 
education and experience to assess and evaluate the health care needs of 
the resident. 
 ([d]3)  "Primary Care Provider" means the physician, 
physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse who is the 
primary care provider of the patient, and who has education and 
experience to assess and evaluate the health care needs of the patient. 
This definition also applies to a physician, physician assistant, or 
advanced practice registered nurse who is on call for the primary care 
provider of the patient.["Parent Home Health Agency" means the 
agency that has administrative control of branch offices.] 
 ([e]4)  "Service Agreement" means a written agreement for 
services between the client and the personal care provider which 
outlines how the services are to be provided according to the 
requirements of Section R432-700-24. 
 
R432-700-5.  Categories of Home Health Agencies. 
 Home health agencies include institutionally based home care 
programs, freestanding public and proprietary home health agencies, 
and any subdivision of an organization, public agency, hospital, or 
nursing home licensed to provide intermittent part-time services or full-
time private duty services to patients in their places of residence[s]. 
 
R432-700-6.  Services Provided by a Home Health Agency. 
 (1)  A home health agency shall provide services to patients in 
their place of residence, or in special circumstances, the place of 
employment. 
 (2)  Services shall be directed and supervised by a licensed 
practitioner.[  These services may help avoid premature or inappropriate 
institutionalization.] 
 (3)  Professional and supportive personnel shall be 
responsible to the home health agency for any of the following services 
[which]that they may perform: 
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 (a)  [P]provision of skilled services authorized by a primary 
care provider[physician]; 
 (b)  [N]nursing services assessed, provided, or supervised by 
registered nurses; or 
 (c)  [O]other related health services approved by a licensed 
practitioner. 
 
R432-700-7.  Licensure Required. 
 (1)  R432-700 Home Health Agency Rule does[These 
provisions do] not apply to a single individual providing professional 
services under the authority granted by [his]a professional license or 
registration. 
 (2)  The home health agency shall comply with[See] Rule 
R432-2 General Licensing Provisions. 
 
R432-700-8.  Governing Body and Policies. 
 (1)  The home health agency shall be organized under a 
governing body that assumes full legal responsibility for the conduct of 
the home health agency. 
 (2)  The governing body shall develop an organization chart 
that shows [T]the administrative structure of the home health agency[ 
must be shown by an organization chart]. 
 (3)  The governing body shall assume responsibility to: 
 (a)  [C]comply with [all ]federal regulations, state rules, and 
local laws; 
 (b)  [A]adopt policies and procedures which describe 
functions or services of the home health agency and protect patient 
rights; 
 (c)  [A]adopt a statement that there is no discrimination 
because of race, color, sex, religion, ancestry, or national origin; and 
 (d)  [D]develop and implement bylaws which shall include at 
least: 
 (i)  [A]a statement of purpose; 
 (ii)  [A]a statement of qualifications for membership and 
methods to select members of the governing board; 
 (iii)  [A]a provision for the establishment, selection[,] and 
term of office for committee members and officers; 
 (iv)  [A]a description of functions and duties of the governing 
body, officers[,] and committees; 
 (v)  [A]a statement of the authority and responsibility 
delegated to the administrator; 
 (vi)  [A]a policy statement relating to conflict of interest of 
members of the governing body or employees who may influence home 
health agency decisions; 
 (vii)  [M]required meetings as stated in bylaws, at least 
annually; and 
 (viii)  [A]appointment by name and in writing of a qualified 
administrator who is responsible for the home health agency's overall 
functions. 
 (4)  The governing body shall r[R]eview the written annual 
evaluation report from the administrator and make recommendations as 
necessary.  Documentation of this review shall be available to the 
Department. 
 (5)  The governing body shall m[M]ake provision for 
resources and equipment to provide a safe working environment for 
personnel. 
 (6)  The governing body shall e[E]stablish a system of 
financial management and accountability. 
 
R432-700-9.  Administrator. 
 (1)  The administrator is the individual the home health 
agency's governing body appoints to be responsible for the overall 

functions of the home health agency[designated by the governing body 
shall be responsible for the overall management of the agency]. 
 (2)  The administrator shall have at least one year of 
managerial or supervisory experience. 
 (3)  The administrator shall designate in writing a qualified 
person who shall act in their[his] absence.  The administrator's 
designee[ated] [person ]shall have sufficient power, authority, and 
freedom to act in the best interests of patient safety and well-being. 
 (4)  The administrator or designee shall be available during 
the home health agency's hours of operation. 
 (5)  [Responsibilities. 
 ]The administrator shall have the responsibility to: 
 (a)  [C]complete, submit[,] and file [all ]records and reports 
required by the Department; 
 (b)  [R]review home health agency policies and procedures at 
least annually and revise as necessary and document the date of review; 
 (c)  [I]implement home health agency policies and 
procedures; 
 (d)  [O]organize and coordinate functions of the home health 
agency by delegating duties and establishing a formal means of staff 
accountability; 
 (e)  [A]appoint a [physician]primary care provider,[ or] 
registered nurse, or health care professional to provide general 
supervision, coordination, and direction for professional services of the 
home health agency; 
 (f)  [A]appoint a registered nurse to be the director of nursing 
services; 
 (g)  [A]appoint the members and their terms of membership 
in the interdisciplinary quality assurance committee; 
 (h)  [A]appoint other committees as deemed necessary, 
describe committee functions and duties, and make provision for 
selection, term of office[,] and responsibilities of committee members; 
 (i)  [D]designate a person responsible for maintaining a 
clinical record system on [all]each patient[s]; 
 (j)  [M]maintain current written designations or letters of 
appointment in the home health agency; 
 (k)  [E]employ or contract with competent personnel whose 
qualifications are commensurate with job responsibilities and authority, 
and who have the appropriate license or certificate of completion; 
 (l)  [D]develop job descriptions that delineate functional 
responsibilities and authority; 
 (m)  [D]develop a staff communication system that 
coordinates implementation of plans of treatment, utilizes services or 
resources to meet patient needs[,] and promotes an orderly flow of 
information within the organization; 
 (n)  [P]provide staff orientation as well as continuing 
education [(staff development) ]in applicable policies, rules, 
regulations[,] and resource materials; 
 (o)  [S]secure contracts for services not directly provided by 
the home health agency; 
 (p)  [I]implement a program of budgeting and accounting; and 
 (q)  [E]establish a billing system which itemizes services 
provided and charges submitted to the payment source. 
 
R432-700-10.  Personnel. 
 (1)  The administrator shall employ qualified personnel who 
are competent to perform their respective duties, services[,] and 
functions. 
 (2)  The home health agency shall develop written policies 
and procedures that address at least the following: 
 (a)  [J]job descriptions, qualifications, validation of licensure 
or certificates of completion for each position held; 
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 (b)  [O]orientation for direct and contract employees; 
 (c)  [C]criteria for, and frequency of, performance 
evaluations; 
 (d)  [W]work schedules[;], method and period of payment[;], 
fringe benefits such as sick leave, vacation[,] and insurance[, etc.]; 
 (e)  [F]frequency and documentation of in-service training; 
and 
 (f)  [C]contents of personnel files. 
 (3)  Each employee shall be licensed, certified or registered as 
required by the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
 (4)  Failure to ensure that [all ]staff are licensed, certified or 
registered may result in sanctions to the home health agency license. 
 (5)  The home health agency shall [An annual in-service shall 
be ]document[ed] that staff have been trained annually in the reporting 
requirements for suspected abuse, neglect and exploitation. 
 
R432-700-11.  Health Surveillance. 
 (1)  The home health agency shall establish and implement a 
policy and procedure for health screening of [all ]home health agency 
health care workers [(persons with direct patient contact) ]to identify any 
situation which would prevent the employee from performing assigned 
duties in a satisfactory manner. 
 (2)  Employee health screening and immunization 
components of personnel health programs shall be developed by the 
home health ageny, in accordance with Rule R386-702, Communicable 
Disease Rules. 
 (3)  Employees shall be tested for tuberculosis[ skin testing] 
by the Mantoux Method or other FDA approved in-vitro serologic test 
[and follow up for tuberculosis shall be done ]in accordance with Rule 
R388-804, Special Measures for Control of Tuberculosis. 
 (a)  The licensee shall ensure that [all ]employees are skin-
tested for tuberculosis within two weeks of: 
 (i)  initial hiring; 
 (ii)  suspected exposure to a person with active tuberculosis; 
and 
 (iii)  development of symptoms of tuberculosis. 
 (b)  Skin testing shall be exempted for [all ]employees with 
known positive reaction to skin tests. 
 (4)  [All i]Infections and communicable diseases reportable 
by law shall be reported by the home health agency[facility] to the local 
health department in accordance with Section R386-702-3. 
 
R432-700-12.  Orientation. 
 (1)  The home health agency[There] shall [be 
]document[ation] that [all ]employees are oriented to the home health 
agency and the job for which they are hired. 
 (2)  Orientation under Subsection (1) shall include[ but is not 
limited to]: 
 (a)  [T]the functions of home health agency employees and 
the relationships between various positions or services; 
 (b)  [J]job descriptions; 
 (c)  [D]duties for which persons are trained, [hold a 
registration, certificate,]certified or[ are] licensed for; 
 (d)  [E]ethics, confidentiality[,] and patients' rights; 
 (e)  [I]information about other community agencies including 
emergency medical services; 
 (f)  [O]opportunities for continuing education appropriate to 
the patient population served; and 
 (g)  [R]reporting requirements for suspected abuse, neglect or 
exploitation. 
 

R432-700-13.  Contracts. 
 (1)  The administrator shall secure written contracts or 
agreements from other providers, or independent contractors, who 
provide patient services through the home health agency and shall 
arrange for an orientation to ensure that the contractor is prepared to 
meet the job expectations. 
 (2)  The home health agency shall make any contract [shall be 
]under Subsection (1) available for review by the Department. 
 (3)  The contract shall include: 
 (a)  [T]the effective and expiration dates; 
 (b)  [A]a description of goods or services to be provided; and 
 (c)  [A]a copy of the professional license[ must be available, 
upon Department request]. 
 
R432-700-14.  Acceptance Criteria. 
 (1)  The home health agency shall develop written acceptance 
criteria and shall make these policies available to the public upon 
request. 
 (2)  The home health agency shall accept p[P]atients [shall be 
accepted ]for treatment if the patient's needs can be met by the home 
health agency in the patient's place of residence.  The home health 
agency shall base the acceptance determination on an assessment using 
the following criteria: 
 (a)  [T]the patient needs skilled nursing services which meet 
the following criteria[, to determine whether a service is skilled, the 
following criteria shall apply]: 
 (i)  the complexity of prescribed services can be safely or 
effectively performed only by, or under the close supervision of, 
technical or professional personnel[.]; 
 (ii)  care is needed to prevent, to the extent possible, 
deterioration of the condition or to sustain current capacities of a patient, 
such as one with terminal cancer[.]; and 
 (iii)  special medical complications necessitate service 
performance or close supervision by technical or professional persons, 
as in the care of a diabetic patient with impaired circulation, fragile 
skin[,] and a fractured leg in a cast[.]; 
 (b)  [T]the patient needs therapy services or support services; 
 (c)  [T]the patient, responsible family members, guardians or 
legal representatives[ and family] request care at home; or 
 (d)  [T]the physical facilities in the patient's place of residence 
can be adapted to provide a safe environment for care. 
 
R432-700-15.  Termination of Services Policies. 
 (1)  The home health agency may discharge a patient under 
one or more[ any] of the following circumstances: 
 (a)  [A]a licensed practitioner signs a discharge statement for 
termination of services; 
 (b)  [T]treatment objectives are met; 
 (c)  [T]the patient's status changes, which makes treatment 
objectives unattainable[,] and new treatment objectives are not an 
alternative; 
 (d)  [T]the family situation changes and affects the delivery of 
services; 
 (e)  [T]the patient or family is uncooperative in efforts to 
attain treatment objectives; 
 (f)  [T]the patient moves from the geographic area served by 
the home health agency; 
 (g)  [T]the [physician]primary care provider fails to renew 
orders as required by the rules for skilled nursing or therapy services, 
or[,] the patient changes [physician's]primary care providers and the 
home health agency cannot obtain orders for continuation of services 
from the new [physician]primary care provider; 
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 (h)  [T]the patient's payment sources are exhausted and the 
home health agency is fiscally unable to provide free or [part-
cost]reduced care; 
 (i)  [T]the home health agency discontinues a particular 
service or terminates [all ]services; 
 (j)  [T]the home health agency can no longer provide quality 
care in the place [for]of residence; 
 (k)  [T]the patient or family requests home health agency 
services to be discontinued; 
 (l)  [T]the patient dies; 
 (m)  the patient or family is unable or unwilling to provide an 
environment that ensures safety for the both the patient and provider of 
service; or 
 (n)  [T]the patient's pay[o]er excludes the home health agency 
from participating as a covered provider or refuses to authorize services 
the home health agency determines are medically necessary. 
 (2)  The person who is assigned to supervise and coordinate 
care for a particular patient [must]shall complete a discharge summary 
when services to the patient are terminated. 
 
R432-700-16.  Patients' Rights. 
 (1)  Written patients' rights shall be established by the home 
health agency and made available to the patient, guardian, next of kin, 
sponsoring agency, representative payee[,] and the public. 
 (2)  Home health a[A]gency policy [may]shall determine how 
patients' rights information is distributed. 
 (3)  The home health agency shall [i]ensure that each patient 
receiving care has the following rights: 
 (a)  [T]to be fully informed of these rights and [all ]rules 
governing patient conduct, as evidenced by documentation in the 
clinical record; 
 (b)  [T]to be fully informed of services and related charges for 
which the patient or a private insurer may be responsible, and to be 
informed of [all ]changes in charges; 
 (c)  [T]to be fully informed of the patient's health condition, 
unless medically contraindicated and documented in the clinical record; 
 (d)  [T]to be afforded the opportunity to participate in the 
planning of home health services, including referral to health care 
institutions or other agencies, and to refuse to participate in experimental 
research; 
 (e)  [T]to refuse treatment to the extent permitted by law and 
to be informed of the medical consequences if treatment is refused; 
 (f)  [T]to be assured confidential treatment of personal and 
medical records, and to approve or refuse their release to any individual 
outside the home health agency, except in the case of transfer to another 
home health agency or health facility, or as required by law or third-
party payment contract; 
 (g)  [T]to be treated with consideration, respect[,] and full 
recognition of dignity and individuality, including privacy in treatment 
and in care for personal needs; 
 (h)  [T]to be assured the patient,[ and the] family members or 
[significant ]other[s] individuals providing care to the patient will be 
taught about required services, so the patient can develop or regain self-
care skills and the family members or other[s] individuals providing care 
to the patient can understand and help the patient; 
 (i)  [T]to be assured that personnel who provide care 
demonstrate competency through education and experience to carry out 
the services for which they are responsible; 
 (j)  [T]to receive proper identification from the individual 
providing home health services; and 
 (k)  [T]to receive information concerning the procedures to 
follow to [voice]submit complaints about services being performed. 

R432-700-17.  [Physician's]Primary Care Provider Orders. 
 (1)  [Physician's]Primary care provider orders shall be 
incorporated into the plan of care when skilled care is being provided. 
 (2)  [Physician's]Primary care provider orders in Subsection 
(1) may include: 
 (a)  [D]diet and nutritional requirements; 
 (b)  [M]medications; 
 (c)  [F]frequency and type of service; 
 (d)  [T]treatments; 
 (e)  [M]medical equipment and supplies; and 
 (f)  [P]prognosis. 
 
R432-700-18.  Patient Records. 
 (1)  The home health agency shall develop and implement 
record-[ ]keeping policies and procedures that address use of patient 
records by authorized staff, content, confidentiality, retention[,] and 
storage. 
 (2)  Records in Subsection (1) shall be maintained in an 
organized format. 
 (3)  To facilitate locating each patient's current or closed 
record, [T]the home health agency shall maintain a[n] patient record 
identification system[ to facilitate location of each patient's current or 
closed record]. 
 (4)  An accurate, up-to-date record [must]shall be maintained 
by the home health agency, for every patient receiving service through 
the home health agency. 
 (5)  Each person who has patient contact or provides a service 
in the patient's place of residence [must]shall enter a clinical note of that 
contact or service in the patient's record. 
 (6)  [All e]Entries in Subsection (5) shall be dated and 
authenticated with the signature, or identifiable initials of the person 
making the entry. 
 (7)  Services provided by the home health agency and 
outcomes of these services [must]shall be documented in the individual 
patient record. 
 (8)  Each patient['s] record shall contain at least the following 
information: 
 (a)  [I]identification data including patient's name, address, 
age, date of birth, name and address of nearest relative or responsible 
[person]individual, name and telephone number of [physician]the 
primary care provider with [primary ]responsibility for patient care, and 
[if applicable, ]the name and telephone number of [the]any person or 
family member who[, in addition to agency staff,] provides care in the 
place of residence; 
 (b)  [A]a written plan of care; 
 (c)  [A]a signed and dated patient assessment which identifies 
pertinent information required to carry out the plan of care; 
 (d)  [R]reasons for referral to the home health agency; 
 (e)  [S]statement of the suitability of the patient's place of 
residence for the provision of health care services; 
 (f)  [D]documentation of telephone consultation or case 
conferences with other individuals providing services; 
 ([j]g)  [S]signed and dated clinical notes for each patient 
contact or home visit including services provided; and 
 (h)  [A]a written [T]termination of [S]services summary 
which describes: 
 (i)  [T]the care or services provided; 
 (ii)  [T]the course of care and services; 
 (iii)  [T]the reason for discharge; 
 (iv)  [T]the status of the patient at time of discharge; and 
 (v)  [T]the name of the agency or facility if the patient was 
referred or transferred. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

96 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 

 (9)  For those patients who receive skilled services, the home 
health agency shall include the following items [shall be included ]in the 
patient record in addition to the items under Subsection [R432-700-
18](8): 
 (a)  [D]diagnosis; 
 (b)  [P]pertinent medical and surgical history; 
 (c)  [A]a list of medications and treatments; 
 (d)  [A]allergies or reactions to drugs or other substances; 
 (e)  clinical summaries or other documents obtained when 
necessary for promoting continuity of care, especially when a patient 
receives care elsewhere, such as: 
 (i)  a hospital; 
 (ii)  an ambulatory surgical center; 
 (iii)  a nursing home; 
 (iv)  a primary care providers or consultant's office; or 
 (v)  other home health agency; and 
 (f[e])  [C]clinical notes to include a description of the patient 
condition and significant changes such as: 
 (i)  [O]objective signs of illness, disorders[,] and body 
malfunction; 
 (ii)  [S]subjective information from the patient and family; 
 (iii)  [G]general physical condition; 
 (iv)  [G]general emotional condition; 
 (v)  [P]positive or negative physical and emotional responses 
to treatments and services; 
 (vi)  [G]general behavior; and 
 (vii)  [G]general appearance. 
[ (f) Clinical summaries or other documents obtained when 
necessary for promoting continuity of care, especially when a patient 
receives care elsewhere, such as a hospital, ambulatory surgical center, 
nursing home, physician or consultant's office or other home health 
agency.] 
 
R432-700-19.  Confidentiality and Release of Information. 
 (1)  The home health agency [must]shall develop and 
implement policies and procedures to safeguard patient records against 
loss, destruction[,] or unauthorized use. 
 (2)  [There]The home health agency shall [be]have written 
procedures for the use and removal of medical records.  The release of 
information, including photographs, shall require the written consent of 
the patient. 
 (3)  The home health agency shall keep [P]patient records 
[shall be ]confidential.  Information may be disclosed only to authorized 
persons in accordance with federal regulations, state rules[,] and local 
laws. 
 (4)  Authorized representatives of the Department shall be 
allowed to review records to determine compliance with licensure rules 
and standards. 
 (5)  When a patient is referred to another agency or facility, 
the home health agency may release information only with the written 
consent of the patient. 
 (6)  The home health agency shall make [P]provisions [shall 
be made ]for filing, safe storage[,] and easy access[ibility of] to medical 
records. 
 
R432-700-20.  Quality Assurance. 
 (1)  The quality, appropriateness[,] and scope of services 
rendered shall be reviewed and evaluated at least annually by the 
governing body to determine overall effectiveness in meeting home 
health agency objectives. 

 (2)  The administrator shall conduct an annual evaluation of 
the home health agency's overall program and submit a written report of 
the findings to the governing body. 
 (3)  The home health agency shall demonstrate concern for 
cost of care by evaluating[on of the following]: 
 (a)  [R]relevance of health care services; 
 (b)  [A]appropriateness of treatment frequency; 
 (c)  [U]use of less expensive, but [still ]effective[,] resources 
whenever possible; and 
 (d)  [U]use of ancillary services consistent with patient needs. 
 (4)  An interdisciplinary quality assurance committee shall 
evaluate patient services on [at least ]a quarterly basis.  A written report 
of findings from each meeting shall be submitted to the administrator 
and shall be available in the home health agency. 
 (a)  Each member of the quality assurance committee shall be 
appointed by the administrator for a given term of membership. 
 (b)  The quality assurance committee shall have a minimum 
of three members who represent at least three different licensed or 
certified health care professions. 
 (5)  The methodology for evaluation by the quality assurance 
committee shall include[ but is not limited to]: 
 (a)  [R]review and evaluation of active and closed patient 
records to assure that established policies and procedures are being 
followed.  Home health a[A]gency policy and procedure will determine 
the methods for selecting and reviewing a representative sample of 
records[.  Examples of methods of selection could either be a given 
percentage for both active and closed records, or a given number of 
records for each category of service provided during the review period]; 
 (b)  [R]review and evaluation of coordination of services 
through documentation of written reports, telephone consultation, or 
case conferences; and 
 (c)  [R]review and evaluation of plans of treatment for 
content, frequency of updates[,] and whether clinical notes correspond 
to goals written in the plan of care. 
 
R432-700-21.  Nursing Services. 
 (1)  Nursing services provided through a home health agency 
shall be under the supervision of a director of nursing services. 
 (2)  Nursing services shall be provided by or under the 
supervision of a registered nurse and according to the plan of care. 
 (3)  When a[n] home health agency provides or contracts for 
services, the service shall be provided according to the plan of care and 
supervised by designated, qualified personnel. 
 (4)  The n[N]ursing staff of the home health agency shall 
observe, report[,] and record written clinical notes. 
 (5)  Nursing services provided through a home health agency 
shall [should ]recognize and use opportunities to teach health concepts 
to the patient and family. 
 (6)  [All r]Registered nurses or licensed practical nurses 
employed by[,] or [on ]contracted with[,] the home health agency shall 
have a valid license from the Utah Department of Commerce[, Title 58, 
Chapter 31b]. 
 (7)  A l[L]icensed nurse[s] of the home health agency shall 
[have]include the following responsibilities: 
 (a)  [A]administer prescribed medications and treatments 
according to law and as permitted within the scope of the individual's 
license; 
 (b)  [P]perform nursing care according to the needs of the 
patient and as indicated in the written plan of care; 
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 (c)  [I]inform the [physician]primary care provider and other 
personnel of changes in the patient's condition and needs; 
 (d)  [W]write clinical notes in the individual patient record for 
each visit or contact; 
 (e)  [T]teach self-care techniques to the patient or family, or 
both; 
 (f)  [D]develop plans of care; and 
 (g)  [P]participate in in-service programs. 
 (8)  The director of nursing services of the home health 
agency shall be responsible for and shall be accountable for the 
following functions: 
 (a)  [D]designate a registered nurse to act as director of 
nursing services during [his]their absence; 
 (b)  [A]assume responsibility for the quality of nursing 
services provided by the home health agency; 
 (c)  [D]develop nursing service policies and procedures that 
[must]shall be reviewed annually and revised as necessary; 
 (d)  [E]establish work schedules for nursing personnel 
according to patient needs; 
 (e)  [A]assist in development of job descriptions for nursing 
personnel; 
 (f)  [C]complete performance evaluations for nursing 
personnel according to home health agency policy; and 
 (g)  [D]direct in-service programs for [all ]nursing personnel. 
 (9)  In addition to the [general ]responsibilities in Subsection 
(7), a registered nurse of the home health agency shall include[have] the 
following responsibilities: 
 (a)  [M]make the initial nursing evaluation visit; 
 (b)  [R]re-evaluate nursing needs based on the patient's status 
and condition; 
 (c)  [I]initiate the plan of care and make necessary revisions; 
 (d)  [P]provide services that[which] require specialized 
nursing skills; 
 (e)  [I]initiate appropriate preventive and rehabilitative 
nursing procedures; 
 (f)  [S]supervise staff assignments based on specific patient 
needs, family capabilities, staff training and experience, and degree of 
supervision needed; 
 (g)  [A]assist in coordinating [all ]services provided; 
 (h)  [P]prepare termination of services statements; 
 (i)  [S]supervise and consult with licensed practical nurses as 
necessary; 
 (j)  [P]provide written instructions for a certified nursing aide 
to ensure provision of required services written in the plan of care; 
 (k)  [S]supervise certified nursing aide in the patient's home 
as necessary, and be readily available for consultation by telephone; and 
 (l)  [M]make supervisory visits with or without the certified 
nursing aide's presence as follows: 
 (i)  [I]initial assessment; 
 (ii)  [E]every two weeks to patients who receive skilled 
services; 
 (iii)  [E]every three months to patients who require long-term 
maintenance services; and 
 (iv)  [A]any time there is a question of change in the patient's 
condition. 
 (10)  The licensed practical nurse of the home health agency 
shall [have]include the following responsibilities: 
 (a)  [W]work under the supervision of a registered nurse; 
 (b)  [O]observe, record[,] and report to the immediate 
supervisor the general physical or mental condition of the patient; 
 (c)  [A]assist the registered nurse in performing specialized 
procedures; and 

 (d)  [A]assist in development of the plan of care. 
 
R432-700-22.  Certified Nursing Aide. 
 (1)  A c[C]ertified nursing aide[s] of the home health agency 
may have the following responsibilities: 
 (a)  [P]provide only those services written in the plan of care 
and received as written instructions from the registered nurse 
supervisor[. I], if the service is an extension of therapy, the instructions 
shall be written by the licensed therapist; 
 (b)  [P]perform normal household services essential to health 
care at home; 
 (c)  [M]make occupied or unoccupied beds; 
 (d)  [S]supervise the patient's self-administration of 
medication[ by: 
 (i)  Reminding the patient it is time to take medications; 
 (ii)  Opening the bottle cap; 
 (iii)  Reading the medication label to patients; 
 (iv)  Checking the self-administered dosage against the label 
of the container; 
 (v)  Reassuring the patient that the dose being taken is correct; 
 (vi)  Observing the patient taking the medication.]; 
 (e)  [O]observe, record and[/or] report basic patient status; 
 (f)  [P]perform activities of daily living as written in the plan 
of care; 
 (g)  [G]give nail care as described in the plan of care; 
 (h)  [O]observe and record food and fluid intake when 
ordered; 
 (i)  [C]change dry dressings according to written instructions 
from the supervisor; 
 (j)  [A]administer emergency first aid; 
 (k)  [P]provide escort and transportation to [doctor's 
]appointments [and elsewhere as part of]for patient[-] care services; 
 (l)  [P]provide social interaction and reassurance to the patient 
and family in accordance with the plan of care; and 
 (m)  [W]write clinical notes in individual patient records. 
 (2)  A c[C]ertified Nursing Aide[s] shall be at least 18 years 
old. 
 (3)  A c[C]ertified Nursing Aide[s] shall have [received ]a 
certificate of completion for the employment position within six months 
of the date of hire. 
 (4)  A c[C]ertified Nursing Aide[s] [must]shall be certified in 
CPR[cardiopulmonary resuscitation] and emergency procedures. 
 
R432-700-23.  Personal Care Aides. 
 (1)  A p[P]ersonal care aide[s] shall be at least 18 years of age 
and [have]include the following responsibilities: 
 (a)  [R]receive written instructions from the supervisor; 
 (b)  [P]perform only the tasks and duties outlined in the 
service agreement; 
 (c)  [H]have knowledge of home health agency policy and 
procedures; 
 (d)  [B]be trained in first aid; 
 (e)  [B]be oriented and trained in [all ]aspects of care to be 
provided to clients; 
 (f)  [B]be able to demonstrate competency in [all ]areas of 
training for personal care; and 
 (g)  [M]maintain a minimum of six hours of in-service 
training per calendar year, prorated for the first year of employment[;]. 
 (2)  A p[P]ersonal Care Aide[s] may assist clients with the 
following activities: 
 (a)  [S]self-administration of medications by: 
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 (i)  reminding the client to take medications, and 
 (ii)  opening containers for the client; 
 (b)  [H]housekeeping; 
 (c)  [P]personal grooming and dressing; 
 (d)  [E]eating and meal preparation; 
 (e)  [O]oral hygiene and denture care; 
 (f)  [T]toileting and toilet hygiene; 
 (g)  [A]arranging for medical and dental care including 
transportation to and from [the ]appointments; 
 (h)  taking and recording oral temperatures; 
 (i)  [A]administering emergency first aid; 
 (j)  [P]providing or arranging for social interaction; and 
 (k)  [P]providing transportation. 
 (3)  A p[P]ersonal Care Aide[s] shall document observations 
and services in the individual client record. 
 
R432-700-24.  Plan of Care. 
 (1)  For each patient, the home health agency shall: 
 (a)  establish a plan of care for any care, services, or treatment 
provided by: 
 (i)  the home health agency; or 
 (ii)  any indirect contracted  services; 
 (b)  describe the plan of care under Subsection (a) in the 
patient's record; and 
 (c)  document the activities of the home health agency or 
indirect contracted services to implement the plan of care under 
Subsection (1) in the patient's record.[A plan of care shall be established 
and documented in the patient's record to describe any direct or contract 
services, care, or treatment provided by the home health agency.] 
 (2)  [A ]The plan of care under Subsection (1) shall be 
developed and signed by a licensed health care professional. 
 (3)  The plan of care under Subsection (1) shall be developed 
with consultation[, as needed,] from other home health agency staff or 
contract personnel. 
 (4)  Modifications or additions to the initial plan of care shall 
be made by a licensed health care professional as necessary. 
 (5)  Each plan of care under Subsection (1) shall be reviewed 
and approved by the licensed health care professional as the patient's 
condition warrants, at intervals not to exceed 63 days. 
 (6)  For patients receiving skilled services, the written plan of 
care under Subsection (1) shall be approved by a [physician]primary 
care provider at intervals not to exceed 63 days. 
 (7)  The person who is assigned to supervise and coordinate 
care for a patient shall have the primary responsibility to notify the 
attending [physician]primary care provider and other home health 
agency staff of any significant changes in the patient's status. 
 (8)  [All care plans and n]Notifications under Subsection (7) 
shall be made part of the patient's record. 
 (9)  The plan of care under Subsection (1), [usually 
]developed in accordance with the referring [physician's]primary care 
provider's orders, shall include: 
 (a)  [N]name of the patient; 
 (b)  [D]diagnoses[ (required for patients receiving skilled 
services)]; 
 (c)  [T]treatment goals stated in measurable terms; 
 (d)  [S]services to be provided, at what intervals, and by 
whom; 
 (e)  [N]needed medical equipment and supplies; 
 (f)  [M]medications to be administered by designated, 
licensed home health agency personnel; 
 (g)  [S]supervision of self-administered medication; 
 (h)  [D]diet or nutritional requirements; 

 (i)  [N]necessary safety measures; 
 (j)  [I]instructions[, if any,] to patient and[/or] family; and 
 (k)  [D]date plan was initiated and dates of subsequent review. 
 
R432-700-25.  Medication and Treatment. 
 (1)  Skilled treatments shall be administered only by licensed 
personnel to comply with signed orders from a person lawfully 
authorized to give the order.  The[is] order may be remotely given but 
shall be subsequently signed by the person giving the order within 31 
days. 
 (2)  Medications shall be administered according to signed 
orders from a person lawfully authorized to give the order.  The[is] order 
may be remotely given but shall be subsequently signed by the person 
giving the order within 31 days. 
 (3)  [All o]Orders remotely given shall be received and 
verified only by licensed personnel lawfully authorized to accept the 
order.  Remotely given orders shall be recorded in the patient's record. 
 (4)  If medications are administered by home health agency 
personnel, the orders and subsequent changes in orders[,] shall be signed 
by the [physician]primary care provider and included in the patient's 
record. 
 (5)  Unlicensed staff may administer medications only after 
delegation by a licensed health care professional under the professional 
scope of practice with the following requirements:[.] 
 ([i]a)  [If a licensed health care professional delegates the task 
of medication administration to unlicensed assistive personnel, ]the 
delegation shall be in accordance with [the Nurse Practice Act and 
]Section R156-31B-701; 
 ([ii]b)  [T]the medications [must]shall be administered 
according to the prescribing order; 
 ([iii]c)  [T]the delegating authority [must]shall provide and 
document supervision, evaluation[,] and training of unlicensed assistive 
personnel assisting with medication administration; and 
 ([iv]d)  [T]the delegating authority or another registered nurse 
shall be readily available either in person or by telecommunication.[; 
and] 
[ (v)  Delegation to unlicensed staff shall not include delegating 
medication set up for subsequent medication administration.] 
 (6)  Orders for therapy services shall include the procedures 
to be used, the frequency of therapy[,] and the duration of therapy. 
 (7)  Orders for skilled services shall be reviewed or renewed 
by the attending [physician]primary care provider at intervals not to 
exceed 63 days.  [Physician]Primary care provider's signature and date 
shall be evidence of this review or renewal. 
 (8)  [Physician]Primary care provider orders may be 
transmitted by facsimile machine.  The home health agency [must be 
able to]shall obtain the original signature, upon request, if verification 
of the signature is requested. 
 
R432-700-26.  Therapy Services. 
 (1)  Physical, occupational, speech[,] and nutrition therapy 
services offered by the home health agency, as either direct or contract 
services, shall be provided by, or under the supervision of, a licensed or 
certified therapist in accordance with the plan of care[ under Title 58]. 
 (2)  The qualified therapist in Subsection (1) shall have the 
following general responsibilities: 
 (a)  [P]provide treatment as ordered and approved by the 
attending [physician]primary care provider; 
 (b)  [E]evaluate the home environment and make 
recommendations; 
 (c)  [D]develop the plan of care for therapy; 
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 (d)  [O]observe and report findings about the patient's 
condition to the attending [physician]primary care provider and other 
home health agency staff[,] and document information in the patient's 
record; 
 (e)  [A]advise, consult[,] and instruct [when necessary, ]other 
home health agency personnel and family about the patient's therapy 
program; 
 (f)  [P]provide written instructions for the certified nursing 
aide to promote extension of therapy services; 
 (g)  [S]supervise other home health agency personnel when 
appropriate; and 
 (h)  [P]participate in in-service programs. 
 (3)  In addition to the general responsibilities in Subsection 
(2), a physical, speech, or occupational therapist may perform the 
following: 
 (a)  [P]provide written instructions for personal care aides and 
certified nursing aides to ensure provision of required services written 
in the plan of care; 
 (b)  [S]supervise aides in the patient's home as necessary, and 
be readily available for consultation by phone; and 
 (c)  [M]make supervisory visits with or without the aide's 
presence, as required. 
 
R432-700-27.  Medical Supplies and Equipment. 
 [(1)  ]The home health agency shall develop and follow 
written medical supply policies and procedures which describe: 
 ([a]1)  [A]home health agency provision of or use of durable 
medical equipment[,] and disposable [and semi-disposable ]medical 
supplies; 
 ([b]2)  [C]categories of medical supplies and equipment 
available through the home health agency; 
 ([c]3)  [C]charges and reimbursement for medical supplies 
and equipment; and 
 ([d]4)  [P]processes for billing medical supplies and 
equipment to the patient, insurance carrier, or an other payment source. 
 
R432-700-28.  Emergency and After-Hours Care. 
 Emergency and after-hours care shall be described in home 
health agency written policies and procedures and made available to the 
patient and family. 
 
R432-700-29.  Social Services. 
 (1)  When medical social services are provided by the home 
health agency, the[y] services shall be provided by a certified social 
worker [(CSW)]or by a social service worker [(SSW) ]supervised by a 
certified social worker, in accordance with the plan of care. 
 (2)  The social worker in Subsection (1) shall be responsible 
to: 
 (a)  [A]assist team members in understanding significant 
social and emotional factors related to health problems; 
 (b)  [P]participate in the development of the plan of care; 
 (c)  [P]prepare clinical notes according to rules and home 
health agency policy; 
 (d)  [U]utilize community resources; and 
 (e)  [P]participate in in-service programs. 
 
R432-700-30.  Penalties. 
 Any person who violates any provision of this rule may be 
subject to the penalties enumerated in Section 26-21-11 and Section 
R432-3-7 and be punished for violation of a class A misdemeanor as 
provided in Section 26-21-16. 
 

KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 17, 2017] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 13, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-
21-2.1 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-40 Filing ID 
54169 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nick Buchei 801-

741-
7520 

nabuchei@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-40.  Retained Support 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
62A-11-107 

Section 
62A-11-307.1 

Section 
62A-11-304.1 

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-307.2  



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 101 

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/29/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-40.  Retained Support. 
R527-40-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services [by]pursuant 
to Section 62A-1-111.  The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is 
authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules as necessary [by]pursuant 
to Section 62A-11-107. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to define ["]retained support["] 
in regards to a child support case, and to provide details as to how the 
amount owed is calculated once a retained support case [has been]is 
opened for an obligee who has retained payments that were assigned to 
the state. 
 
R527-40-2.  Retained Support. 
 (1)  [The term ]"Retained [S]support" refers to a situation [in 
which]when an obligee who has assigned support rights to the state has 
received child support but failed to forward the payment[(s)] to ORS. 
 (2)  [The agent will refer the case]If support has been retained, 
a referral to recoup the retained support [to the appropriate child support 
team with ]and the supporting evidence may be sent to the appropriate 
ORS team to open a recovery case[to support the referral]. 
[ (3)  In computing the amount owed, the obligee will be given 
credit for the $50 pass-through payment for any months prior to March, 
1997, in which support was retained by the client.  For example, if the 
obligee received and kept a support payment of $200 in February, 1997, 
the referral will be made as a $150 debt.  For support payments retained 
on or after March 1, 1997, no credit shall be given because there will be 
no pass-through payments for support payments made after February 
28, 1997.] 
 
R527-40-3.  Recoupment of Public Assistance Overpayment[s/] or 
Retained Support. 
 For this subsection, the obligee who retained support on the 
child support case becomes the obligor on the new case to recover the 
retained support. 

 (1)  If the [O]obligor is not receiving assistance[.]: 
 (a)  [T]the obligor will be asked to complete an income asset 
affidavit[.]; 
 (b)  [T]the total liability shall be reviewed with the obligor[.]; 
and, 
 (c)  [T]the obligor will be requested to pay the[ total] 
obligation in full. 
 ([d]2)  If total payment is not possible, the following will be 
reviewed:[type of debt, the anticipated length of time to repay the debt, 
total income, assets and expenses of the obligor's household, and any 
anticipated changes in the household circumstances will be reviewed.] 
 (a)  type of debt; 
 (b)  anticipated length of time to repay the debt; 
 (c)  total income, assets, and expenses of the obligor's 
household; and, 
 (d)  any anticipated changes in the household circumstances. 
 ([2]3)  If the [O]obligor is receiving assistance,[.][ 
 (a)  P] payment may be made by assistance recoupment. The 
recoupment may be voluntary or may be recouped without consent[ in 
accordance with rule or federal regulation]. 
 
KEY:  child support, public assistance overpayments 
Date of Last Change:  2022[March 9, 2016] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 28, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 
62A-11-107; 62A-11-304.1; 62A-11-307.1[(3)]; 62A-11-307.2[(3)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-300 Filing ID 
54111 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jodi Witte 801-

741-
7417 

jwitte@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-300.  Income Withholding 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 

association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to Persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 62A-1-111 Section 

62A-11-107 
45 CFR 303.100 

Rule R527-303   
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/01/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-300.  Income Withholding. 
R527-300-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services 
[by]pursuant to Section[s] 62A-1-111[ and]. The Office of Recovery 
Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules 
pursuant to 62A-11-107. ORS is authorized to terminate income 
withholding pursuant to 45 CFR 303.100(a)(7). 
 (2)  [The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized 
to use income withholding to collect child support by Section 62A-
11-401.  ]The purpose of this rule is to specify [the responsibilities 
and]ORS procedures [for ORS related to]for income withholding. 
 
[R527-300-2.  Determining Delinquency. 
 (1)  Delinquency occurs when: 

 (a)  a current support has been ordered but is not presently 
in effect and the obligor has accrued a debt in an amount equal to or 
greater than the previously ordered current support for one month; 
 (b)  the result of an underpayment for several months totals  
at least one month's current support; 
 (c)  an obligor was ordered to pay on specific days of the 
month and failed to do so; or 
 (b)  there was not a previous current support order but there 
is a judgment for arrears, delinquency has occurred when the obligor 
fails to pay as agreed, provided the judgment was for at least one 
month's current support amount used to compute the judgment for 
arrears.  If the judgment was by default and the judgment amount was 
for at least one month's current support amount used to compute the 
judgment, income withholding may begin immediately upon entry of 
the judgment. 
 (2)  Pursuant to Section 62A-11-405, orders issued prior to 
October 13, 1990 and not otherwise modified after that date require 
ORS to establish that a delinquency occurred under the order prior to 
utilizing income withholding. 
 
R527-300-3.  Affidavit of Delinquency. 
 (1)  The ORS verified statement or affidavit alleging that a 
delinquency has occurred pursuant to Section 62A-11-405 is satisfied 
in the following ways: 
 (a)  for time periods when a statement of arrears was part 
of the child support application for services packet, the Non-IV-A 
applicant's prepared month-by-month computation of the support 
debt with an attestation that the statement is true and accurate to the 
best knowledge and belief of the applicant; or, 
 (b)  calculations of delinquencies provided by Title IV-D 
agencies in other states on incoming intergovernmental cases where 
the referring state requested the collection of delinquent support. 
 
R527-300-4.  Income Subject To Withholding. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 62A-11-406, income 
subject to withholding is as follows: 
 (a)  income withholding will be limited to withholding 50% 
of the obligor's disposable income; or 
 (b)  if 50% does not result in withholding enough to cover 
the current support obligation, the office may review an obligor's 
circumstances under the provisions of the Consumer Credit 
Protection Act to determine whether a higher percentage is 
permitted.] 
 
R527-300-[5]2.  Income Withholding Termination. 
 (1)  Income withholding administratively initiated by ORS 
shall be terminated if: 
 (a)  the obligor no longer has an obligation for current child 
support and: 
[ (i)  no longer has an obligation for current child support; 
and] 
 [(ii)](i)  no longer has a debt to Utah or another state on 
whose behalf Utah is acting, or to a [N]non-IV-A obligee on whose 
behalf Utah is acting; 
 (ii)  successfully contests the withholding currently in 
effect through the court or administrative review process; or 
 (iii)  has entered into an Automatic Payment Withdrawal 
plan with ORS pursuant to Rule R527-303. 
 (b)  the [N]non-IV-A applicant: 
 (i)  terminates the ORS[/CSS] case; and 
 (ii)  the obligor no longer owes child support to Utah or 
another state on whose behalf Utah is acting[; or]. 
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[ (c)  the obligor successfully contests the withholding which 
is currently in effect through the court or administrative review 
process.  If income withholding was terminated based on a court or 
administrative order and the obligor later becomes delinquent, 
income withholding will be reinstated.] 
 
R527-300-3.  Income Withholding Reinstatement. 
 (1)  Income withholding may be reinstated if: 
 (a)  income withholding was terminated based on a court or 
administrative order and the obligor later becomes delinquent by at 
least one month's support; 
 (b)  ORS resumes collection of support on behalf of the 
state, another state or a non-IV-A obligee; or 
 (c)  the obligor fails to abide by the Automatic Payment 
Withdrawal plan with ORS. 
 
KEY:  child support, income, wages 
Date of Last Change:  2022[February 10, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 23, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 
62A-11-107; [62A-11-401 et seq.; 62A-11-405]45 CFR 303.100; 
R527-303 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-301 Filing ID 
54167 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Scott Weight 801-

741-
7435 

sweigh2@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-301.  Non-IV-D Income Withholding 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
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is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses because this rule is being amended.  Tracy 
Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 62A-1-111 Section 

62A-11-107 
Section 
62A-11-502 

Section 
62A-11-504 

Section 
62A-11-506 

Section 
62A-11-508 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/29/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-301.  Non-IV-D Income Withholding. 
R527-301-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)[.]  The Department of Humans Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for social services pursuant to Section 62A-1-111.  
The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, 
and enforce rules [as necessary by]pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 
 (2)[.]  The purpose of this rule is to provide information about 
the [requirements of the Office of Recovery Services in regards to Non-
IV-D Income Withholding]responsibilities, requirements and 
procedures for non-IV-D income withholding services through ORS.[  
The rule states who can request income withholding and the proper 
procedures to pursue income withholding.] 
 
R527-301-2.  Responsibilities[y] of [the Office of Recovery 
Services]ORS in a Non-IV-D Income Withholding Case. 
 (1)  ORS will:[The responsibilities of the Office of Recovery 
Services in regard to Non-IV-D Income Withholding are limited to] 
 (a)  receive[ing the] income withholding[,]; 
 (b)  process[ing] the payment[,]; 
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 (c)  issue[ing a] the payment to the custodial parent at their 
known address[,];[ and] 
 (d)  maintain[ing] a payment record; and[.] 
 (e)  close its case if a copy of an order terminating income 
withholding is provided to ORS. 
 (2)  [Modifications to the support order or withholding 
amounts are the responsibility of the parents.]ORS will not: 
 (a)  collect child care expenses; 
 (b)  modify the support order or withholding amounts; 
 (c)  obtain an order terminating the income withholding order; 
or 
 (d)  utilize any enforcement or collection methods available 
to assist with debt collection in addition to the Income Withholding 
Order. 
 
R527-301-3.  [Child Support Order Does Not Require 
Immediate]Modification of Income Withholding Order. 
 [Either party to the support order may pursue]If the income 
withholding [by]order needs to be modified, a parent may:[ filing for an 
Order/Notice to Withhold in the court, by] 
 (1)  [a]Apply[ing] for IV-D [child support enforcement 
]services through ORS[,]; or[ by ] 
 (2)  [receiving IV-A assistance]Take further judicial action in 
the court that issued the support order. 
 
R527-301-4.  [Collection of Child Care Expenses Through Income 
Withholding]ORS Procedure if Custodial Parent's Mailing Address 
is Unknown. 
 [Child care expenses shall not be collected through Non-IV-
D Income Withholding.](1)  The custodial parent should notify ORS of 
a change in their mailing address. 
 (2)  If ORS determines that the custodial parent's address is 
unknown, ORS will hold the payments received through income 
withholding for 60-days and during the 60-day period will use available 
resources to make at least one attempt to locate the custodial parent. 
 (3)  If at the end of the 60-day period the custodial parent's 
address remains unknown, ORS will refund the support payment to the 
non-custodial parent. 
 (4)  The support will not accrue interest during the time it is 
held to attempt to locate the custodial parent. 
 
[R527-301-5.  Enforcement of Notice to Withhold When Payor Fails 
to Comply. 
 If a payor fails to comply with the Notice to Withhold, either 
the custodial parent or the non-custodial parent may proceed with 
judicial action against the employer to enforce the Notice to Withhold 
and to obtain a judgment in accordance with Subsections 62A-11-
506(1)(f), (j) and (k). 
 
R527-301-6.  Modification of Income Withholding Amount. 
 If the Notice to Withhold needs to be modified for any reason, 
the parent must apply for IV-D services or file for an Order/Notice to 
Withhold in the court that issued the support order. 
 
R527-301-7.  Custodial Parent's Failure to Keep Office Notified of 
Mailing Address. 
 The office shall hold income withholding payments for 60 
calendar days after the office determines that the custodial parent's 
address is unknown.  During this 60-day period, the office shall make 
one attempt to locate the custodial parent, using resources available to 
the office.  If the custodial parent's address is still unknown at the end of 
60 calendar days, the office shall refund the support to the non-custodial 

parent.  The support shall not accrue interest during the time it is being 
held to locate the custodial parent. 
 
R527-301-8.  Termination of Income Withholding. 
 At any time after the date income withholding begins, a party 
to the child support order may request a judicial hearing to determine 
whether income withholding should be terminated.  If the court orders 
that income withholding should be terminated, the obligee will provide 
written notice of termination to each payor of income.] 
 
KEY:  child support 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 1, 2009] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 15, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 
62A-11-107; 62A-11-502; 62A-11-504; 62A-11-506; 62A-11-508 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-305 Filing ID 
54172 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jodi Witte 801-

741-
7417 

jwitte@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-305.  High-Volume, Automated Administrative 
Enforcement in Interstate Child Support Cases 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
42 U.S.C. 666 Section 62A-1-111 Section 

62A-11-107 
Section 
62A-11-305   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/29/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-305.  High-Volume, Automated Administrative Enforcement 
in Interstate Child Support Cases. 
R527-305-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)[.]  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for [the provision of ]social services [by]pursuant 
to Section [62A-11-107]62A-1-111. The Office of Recovery Services 
(ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, and enforce rules pursuant to 
Section 62A-11-107.[ Section 62A-11-111 provides for collection with 
liens and the disposition of property acquired by the department.] 
 (2)[.]  [This rule establishes procedures for High-Volume, 
Automated Administrative Enforcement in Interstate child support cases 
pursuant to Section 62A-11-305, and Subsection 466(a)(14) of the 
Social Security Act.]The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures 
when a request is received from a IV-D child support agency of another 
state for high-volume, automated administrative enforcement of support 
orders pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 666(a)(14) and Section 62A-11-305. 
[ 
R527-305-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to provide procedures for the Office 
of Recovery Services/Child Support Services (ORS/CSS), when a 
request is received from a IV-D child support agency of another state for 
high-volume, automated administrative enforcement of support orders.] 
 

R527-305-[3]2.  Definitions. 
 (1)[.]  "High-Volume, Automated Administrative 
Enforcement" means the use of automated data processing to search 
Utah databases to determine whether information is available regarding 
a parent who owes child support in the initiating state, and the seizure of 
identified assets, if appropriate, using the same techniques as used in 
intrastate cases.["Requesting State" means the state sending an 
administrative interstate enforcement request to the assisting state.] 
 (2)  "Initiating state" means another state's Title IV-D agency 
that sends an administrative interstate enforcement request to the 
responding state for assistance. 
 ([2]3)[.]  ["Assisting State" means the state matching the 
requesting state's delinquent]"Responding state" means the state Title 
IV-D agency, or ORS, that matches the initiating state's obligors against 
databases and, if appropriate, seizing assets on behalf of the 
[requesting]initiating state. 
[ 3. "High-Volume, Automated Administrative Enforcement in 
Interstate Cases" means the use of automated data processing to search 
the assisting state's databases to determine whether information is 
available regarding parents who owe child support in the requesting 
state, and the seizure of identified assets, if appropriate, using the same 
techniques as used in intrastate cases. 
 4.  "IV-D agency" means an agency authorized by Title IV, 
Section D of the Social Security Act to administer child support services 
and collections.] 
 
R527-305-[4]3.  Procedures for High-Volume, Automated 
Administrative Enforcement of Interstate Referrals. 
[ The procedures below apply whenever ORS/CSS receives a 
request for high-volume, automated administrative enforcement of 
interstate cases from another state's IV-D agency.] 
 (1)[.]  [Another]An initiating state may [transmit]send a 
request for automated administrative enforcement of support orders to 
ORS[/CSS] by electronic or other means.  The [requesting]initiating 
state may [transmit]send a single high-volume referral that includes 
multiple requests. 
 (2)[2.]  A request for automated administrative interstate 
enforcement shall not be considered a transfer of the cases referred to 
the ORS[/CSS] caseload. 
 (3)[3.]  ORS[/CSS] will conduct a match of the referral data 
against the Utah[ state] databases [to which it]that ORS has access to, 
determine if information regarding the obligor is available[.  ORS/CSS 
will], and notify the [requesting]initiating state of the results of the 
search. 
 (4)[.]  ORS[/CSS] will give an automated administrative 
interstate enforcement request the same priority it gives to a regular 
interstate case referred by another state for collection services or 
establishment, modification, or registration of an order. 
 
KEY:  child support, interstate 
Date of Last Change:  2022[April 21, 2008] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 15, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  42 U.S.C. 666; 
62A-1-111; 62A-11-107; 62A-11-305 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-430 Filing ID 
154170 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Casey Cole 801-

741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-430.  Administrative Notice of Lien-Levy Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the Administrative 
Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 

is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
62A-11-107 

Section 
62A-11-303 

Subsection 
62A-11-304.1(5) 
(b) 

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-401 

Subsection 
62A-11-304.1(5) 
(a) 

Section 
62A-11-103   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/29/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-430.  Administrative Notice of Lien-Levy Procedures. 
R527-430-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for social services pursuant to Section 62A-1-111.  
The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, 
and enforce rules pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide a process for an 
unobligated spouse to contest a Notice of Lien-Levy placed by ORS on 
a jointly owned financial account or a non-means tested lump sum 
payment, judgment, settlement or lottery, where the unobligated spouse 
is a joint recipient. This rule establishes procedures for ORS to 
determine the amount that a financial institution or payor should release 
to the unobligated spouse. 
[ This rule establishes procedures for Notice of Lien and Levy 
pursuant to Subsections 62A-11-103(4), (14); 62A-11-104(9); 62A-11-
304.1(1)(h)(i)(A) and (B), (1)(h)(ii), (1)(h)(iii), (1)(h)(iv), (2), (5)(b); 
62A-11-304.5 (1)(b); and Section 62A-11-313.] 
 
[R527-430-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to provide procedures for the Office 
of Recovery Services/Child Support Services (ORS/CSS) to determine 
the amount that a financial institution or payor should release to an 
unobligated spouse who jointly owns a financial account, as defined in 
Subsection 62A-11-103(4), or who is a joint-recipient of a non-means 
tested lump sum payment, judgment, settlement, or lottery, when 
ORS/CSS has subjected the account, non-means tested lump sum 
payment, judgment, settlement, or lottery to a Notice of Lien-Levy, and 
the unobligated spouse has contested the action.] 
 
R527-430-[3]2.  Definitions. 
[ 1.  Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 62A-11-103, 
62A-11-303 and 62A-11-401.] 
 [2.](1)  [In addition,]"[u]Unobligated spouse" means a spouse 
and joint-owner of a financial account, [joint-recipient]joint recipient of 
a non-means tested lump sum payment, judgment, settlement, or lottery 
who is not obligated [under]by the child support order that is the basis 
for the action. 
 (2)  Other terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 62A-
11-103, 62A-11-303 and 62A-11-401. 
 
R527-430-[4]3.  [Procedures]Process for an Unobligated Spouse to 
Contest a Notice of Lien-Levy[ on Joint Financial Accounts, Non-
means Tested Lump Sum Payments, Judgments, Settlements, and 
Lotteries]. 
[ The procedures below will apply when an unobligated spouse 
contests a Notice of Lien-Levy or a Notice of Lien-Levy, Lump Sum 
Payment upon a joint financial account or payor of a non-means tested 
payment, judgment, settlement, or lottery.] 
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 [1.](1)  [The]An unobligated spouse [must make]may contest 
a Notice of Lien-Levy by submitting a written request to ORS[/CSS] to 
review the action. The written request must be submitted within 15 days 
of the date the [concurrent n]Notice of [l]Lien-[l]Levy was sent to the 
obligor and the unobligated spouse[, pursuant to Subsection 62A-11-
304.1(5)(a)] at the last known address for the obligor. 
 [2.](2)  In a case[s] that involves amounts from financial 
institutions, the unobligated spouse must provide ORS[/CSS] with 
documentation of recent income, [and/or documentation of the sources 
of ]deposit[s] information[ made to the financial account], or a 
combination of both.[  Examples of income documentation include:  
copies of tax returns for the prior year with W-2's attached; or, copies of 
two or more recent pay records.  Examples of documentation of deposits 
to a financial account include:  receipts or statements which show the 
sources of deposits made to the financial institution for the current 
month and one or more prior months.] 
 (3)  In a case[s] that involves amounts from a non-means 
tested lump sum payment, judgment, settlement, or lottery, the 
unobligated spouse must provide ORS[/CSS] with documentation of the 
[settlement ]percentage that each recipient [should]may receive.[ 
Examples of payment documentation include:  written verification from 
the insurance company or other payor, a copy of the payment or 
settlement agreement, and/or a copy of a signed judgment.] 
 
R527-430-4.  Procedures for Determining Amount Due to an 
Unobligated Spouse and Release. 
[ 3.  ORS/CSS will determine the amount that the financial 
institution should release to the unobligated spouse based upon the 
proportionate share of the income earned by the unobligated spouse, or 
the proportionate share of deposits made to the financial account by the 
unobligated spouse, or a combination of the two methods.  In cases that 
involve amounts from a non-means tested lump sum payment, 
judgment, settlement, or lottery, ORS/CSS will determine the amount 
that the payor should release to the unobligated spouse based upon the 
validity of the documentation provided to ORS/CSS.] 
 [4.](1)  If ORS[it is] determine[d]s that a portion of the 
property should be released to the unobligated spouse, ORS[/CSS] will 
notify the financial institution or payor pursuant to Subsection 62A-11-
304.1(5)(b). 
 (2)  In a case that involves financial institutions, ORS will 
determine the amount that the financial institution should release to the 
unobligated spouse based upon the proportionate share of the income 
earned by the unobligated spouse, or the proportionate share of deposits 
made to the financial account by the unobligated spouse, or a 
combination of the two methods. 
 (3)  In a case that involves amounts from a non-means tested 
lump sum payment, judgment, settlement, or lottery, ORS will 
determine the amount that the payor should release to the unobligated 
spouse based upon the validity of the documentation provided to ORS. 
 [5.](4)  Upon receipt of a notice of release from ORS[/CSS], 
the financial institution or payor shall release the property that is 
specified in the notice of release, but continue to secure the remaining 
property from unauthorized transfer or disposition until 21 days after the 
date the original Notice of Lien-Levy was sent, at which time the 
financial institution or payor shall surrender the remaining property to 
ORS[/CSS] pursuant to Subsection 62A-11-304.1(5)(b). 
 
KEY:  child support 
Date of Last Change:  2022[March 18, 1999] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 15, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-11-304.1; 
62A-11-107; 62A-11-103; 62A-11-303; 62A-11-401; 62A-1-111; 62A-
11-304.5; 62A-11-313 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-450 Filing ID 
54171 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Casey Cole 801-

741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-450.  Federal Tax Refund Intercept 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 

6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
62A-11-107 

42 U.S.C. 664 45 CFR 303.72 

Section 62A-1-111   
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
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agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/29/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-450.  Federal Tax Refund Intercept. 
R527-450-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for social services pursuant to Section 62A-1-111.  
The Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, 
and enforce rules pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is establish the steps for the 
interception of a federal tax refund intercept. 
 
R527-450-[1]2.  Certification[ Criteria]. 
 [The Office of Recovery Services/Child Support Services 
(](1)  ORS[/CSS)] will refer qualified support debts to the federal Office 
of Child Support Enforcement [(OCSE) ]for offset by federal tax refund 
intercept [as authorized in]pursuant to 45 CFR 303.72 [(2003) ]and 42 
U.S.C.[ Section] 664. 
 [1.](2)  [Effective October 1, 2007, all ]IV-A and [N]non-IV-
A child support debts will be submitted for federal tax refund offset for 
past-due support owed to any child, whether or not the child is a minor 
at the time of certification or offset. 
 [2.](3)  IV-A and [N]non-IV-A debts [which]that meet 
certification criteria may be certified and the federal tax refund may be 
intercepted, even if the obligor is paying on arrearages. 
 
R527-450-[2]3.  Notice of Offset. 
 (1)  ORS[/CSS] will send an annual notice to [all]the 
obligor[s] [certified for the federal tax refund intercept and to all]and 
potential unobligated spouse[s] at the obligor's last known address that 
the debts may be certified for[of these] federal tax intercept.[obligors, 
notifying the obligor of the amount of the arrearage certified, outlining 
the unobligated spouse's rights, and directing the obligor to contact 
ORS/CSS if he has questions]. 
 (2)  The annual notice will [advise]notify the obligor and an 
unobligated spouse of:[ his] 
 (a)  the amount of the arrearage certified; 
 (b)  the rights of the unobligated spouse; 
 (c) the obligor's right to contest the amount of past-due 
support; 
 (d)  [and of his]the obligor's right to an administrative review; 
and 
 (e)  how the obligor may contact ORS with questions. 

 
R527-450-[3]4.  Earned Income Credit. 
 (1)  ORS[/CSS] will refund the portion of the obligor's 
intercepted federal tax refund that result[ed]s from an earned income 
credit[,] if the obligor makes a written request and includes a copy of the 
federal tax return. 
 (2)  If the intercept payment has been credited to a [N]non-IV-
A case and has disbursed to the family, the request will be denied. 
 
R527-450-[4]5.  Distribution of Collections. 
 [1.](1)  Any money collected through the tax refund offset 
process can be applied only to the arrearage certified. 
 [2.](2)  Collections received through federal tax refund 
intercept will be applied to satisfy certified IV-A and foster care 
arrearages before [N]non-IV-A arrearage. 
 [3.](3)  On [N]non-IV-A cases, the federal tax intercept 
payments will be held for at least 30 days but not more than 180 days 
before being disbursed to the obligee. 
 [4.](4)  [In the event that]If the Department of the Treasury, 
[Financial Management Service (FMS)]Bureau of the Fiscal Service 
(BFS) reclaims money [which]that has been refunded to a [N]non-IV-A 
obligee, that obligee will be required to repay to the state the amount 
reclaimed by [FMS]BFS. 
 
R527-450-[5]6.  Deleting or Modifying a Federal Tax Certification. 
 [1.](1)  If the total amount certified for IV-A and [N]non-IV-
A is reduced to zero after the certification, ORS[/CSS] will delete the 
obligor from the certification list. 
 [2.](2)  If the obligor's arrearage increases or decreases, 
ORS[/CSS] will [modify]change the certification amount accordingly. 
 
KEY:  alimony, child support 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 25, 2007] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 20, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 
62A-11-107; 45 CFR 303.72; 42 U.S.C. 664 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R527-920 Filing ID 
54168 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Street address: 515 E 100 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-4211 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nick Buchei 801-

741-
7520 

nabuchei@utah.gov 
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Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R527-920.  Mandatory Disbursement to Obligee Through 
Electronic Funds Transfer 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Executive Order No. 2021-12, this rule is being 
amended to become consistent with the current edition of 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being amended to meet the standards found in 
the Administrative Rulewriting Manual, pursuant to 
Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule is due to Executive Order No. 
2021-12, it is technical in nature and does not reflect 
substantive changes to current practices or procedures.  It 
is not anticipated that this amendment would create a 
fiscal cost or savings to persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with the 
amendment of this rule, it is technical in nature and does 
not reflect substantive changes to current practices or 
procedures. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Human Services, Tracy Gruber, 
has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
62A-11-107 

Section 62A-1-111 Section 
62A-11-704 

45 CFR 302.32   
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/29/2021 

 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-920.  Mandatory Disbursement to Obligee Through 
Electronic Funds Transfer. 

R527-920-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  [Section 62A-11-107 authorizes the Office of Recovery 
Services/Child Support Services (ORS/CSS) to adopt, amend and 
enforce rules.  Section 62A-11-704 authorizes ORS/CSS to make rules 
to allow exceptions to mandatory disbursements by electronic funds 
transfer.]The Department of Human Services is authorized to create 
rules necessary for social services pursuant to Section 62A-1-111. The 
Office of Recovery Services (ORS) is authorized to adopt, amend, and 
enforce rules pursuant to Section 62A-11-107. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to outline the procedures for 
establishing electronic funds transfers to an obligee[s] and to specify 
appropriate exceptions to the requirement for ORS[/CSS] to make 
disbursements by electronic funds transfer [as allowed in]pursuant to 
Section 62A-11-704. 
 
R527-920-2.  Procedures. 
 (1)  ORS[/CSS] will notify an obligee[s] that [have]has an 
enforceable support order[s] of the available options for receiving 
electronic funds transfers.[  Written information about electronic funds 
transfer options will be sent to the best available addresses for eligible 
obligees.] 
 (2)  Written information about electronic funds transfer 
options will be sent to the best available address for an eligible obligee. 
 (3)  [Written information about electronic funds transfer 
options will be sent at the following points in time if an obligee has not 
already arranged for electronic funds transfers:]In a case where the 
obligee has not already arranged for an electronic funds transfer, written 
information about electronic funds transfer options will be sent when 
one of the following occurs: 
[ (a)  When Section 62A-11-704, mandating disbursement 
through electronic funds transfers, is implemented by ORS/CSS;] 
 [(b)](a)  [When ]ORS opens a new case [is opened with 
ORS/CSS that is ]accompanied by an enforceable support order; or 
 [(c)](b)  [When ]ORS establishes a first-time support order [is 
established ]for an open case.[ with ORS/CSS;] 
[ (d)  When an established account for receiving electronic 
funds transfers is no longer appropriate for future transfers; or,] 
[ (e)  When a previously-selected method for receiving 
electronic funds transfers will no longer be offered by ORS/CSS.] 
 [(3)](4)  In a case where the obligee has previously enrolled 
in the electronic funds transfer service, [W]written information about 
electronic funds transfer options will be [sent to obligees that have 
previously enrolled in this service]provided in the following situations: 
 (a)  [When ]a previously[-] established account for receiving 
electronic funds transfers is no longer available to the obligee for future 
transfers; or[,] 
 (b)  [When ]ORS no longer offers a [previously-
selected]previously selected method for receiving electronic funds 
transfers.[ will no longer be offered by ORS/CSS.] 
 [(4)](5)  The obligee may designate their preferred method to 
receive electronic payments by indicating their preference and returning 
the form to ORS.[Upon receiving the written information about 
electronic funds transfer options, each obligee will be allowed to select 
from the available options and return the form to ORS/CSS to indicate 
his or her preferred method for receiving electronic payments.  If an 
obligee fails to indicate a preference or fails to provide the necessary 
information to establish the preferred method of electronic funds 
transfer within sixty days of the date on the written notice, ORS/CSS 
has the option of enrolling that obligee in a plan to receive payments in 
an account that may be accessed through the use of an electronic access 
card.] 
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 (6)  If, within 60 days of the date on the written notice, the 
obligee fails to show a preference of payment or fails to provide the 
necessary information to establish the preferred method of electronic 
funds transfer, ORS may enroll the obligee in a plan to receive payments 
in an account accessible by an electronic access card. 
 [(5)](7)  Until the electronic funds transfer account is 
established, payments will be disbursed by paper checks.[Payments will 
be disbursed by paper checks while the method of electronic funds 
transfer is established.] 
 
R527-920-3.  Exceptions. 
 (1)  Exceptions to mandatory disbursements through 
electronic funds transfer are allowed as follows: 
 (a)  [F]for a period of no more than 60 days after a case is 
opened with an enforceable support order; 
 (b)  [F]for a period of no more than 60 days after a first-time 
support order is established; 
 (c)  [F]for a period of no more than 60 days while an obligee 
changes the account to be used for receiving future electronic funds 
transfers;[ or,] 
 (d)  [F]for an indefinite time period if an obligee resides in a 
foreign country and an electronic funds transfer cannot be facilitated; or 
 (e)  for an indefinite period of time if the obligee is not 
bankable by a financial institution or eligible for any electronic payment 
program or electronic access card offered by ORS. 
 (2)  The ORS director or [ORS/CSS]deputy [D]director may 
approve additional exceptions to mandatory disbursements through 
electronic funds transfers on a case-by-case basis if the obligee presents 
a request in writing and can demonstrate that electronic funds transfers 
would result in an undue hardship to that obligee.  The ORS director or 
[ORS/CSS]deputy [D]director will determine the duration of the 
exception based on the individual circumstances. 
 (3)  Disbursements through electronic funds transfer will not 
be mandatory for ORS[/CSS] if technical problems prevent successful 
electronic disbursement within the federally-mandated disbursement 
time frames found in 45 CFR 302.32. 
 
KEY:  electronic funds transfer, child support 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 27, 2008] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 23, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-111; 
62A-11-107; 62A-11-704; 45 CFR 302.32 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-155 Filing ID 
54149 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-155.  Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 
Association Summary Document 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being repealed and reenacted in compliance 
with Executive Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of 
this rule, the Insurance Department (Department) 
discovered a significant number of minor issues that 
needed to be amended and determined that a repeal and 
replace was the proper method. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring the rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Other changes make the language 
of this rule more clear, update Section R590-155-5 to use 
the Department's current language, and remove Section 
R590-155-4 because penalties are already provided for in 
statute.  The changes do not add, remove, or change any 
regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
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There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of Insurance, Jonathan T. Pike, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-28-119 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/22/2021 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-155.  Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 
Summary Document. 
[R590-155-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to: 
 (1)  Subsection 31A-2-201(3)(a), in which the commissioner 
is empowered to administer and enforce this title and to make rules to 
implement the provisions of this title; and 
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 (2)  Subsection 31A-28-119(3), to provide guidelines for the 
Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association summary and 
disclaimer document. 
 
R590-155-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to specify the form and content 
of the summary and disclaimer document for insurers to disclose to 
policy or contract holders the extent that contractual guarantees are not 
covered or have limited coverage by the Utah Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association as required by Section 31A-28-119. 
 (2)  The rule shall apply to all insurance transactions in this 
state involving life and health insurance policies and annuity contracts 
as specified in Section 31A-28-103. 
 
R590-155-3.  Rule. 
 (1)  An insurer authorized to do business in this state, which 
is subject to the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 
Act, shall disclose to its policy or contract holders that its contractual 
guarantees may not be covered by the Utah Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association. 
 (2)  For the purpose of this rule, the term "policy or contract 
holders" shall also mean insureds, subscribers, or certificate holders of 
group policies. 
 (3)  Disclosure shall be made in writing using the text in the 
Notice of Protection Provided by the Utah Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association, which is available on the department website, 
https://insurance.utah.gov. 
 (4)  Disclosure shall be given before or at the time of delivery 
of the policy, contract, or certificate.  The summary and disclaimer 
document shall also be available upon request by a policy or contract 
holder. 
 (5)  Each insurer shall file with the commissioner a copy of 
the summary and disclaimer document. 
 
R590-155-4.  Penalties. 
 A person found to be in violation of this rule shall be subject 
to penalties as provided under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-155-5.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or its application to any person or 
situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule which can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this 
rule are declared to be severable.] 
R590-155-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-28-119. 
 
R590-155-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide guidelines regarding 
the form and content of the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 
Association summary and disclosure document. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a life insurance policy, a health 
insurance policy, and an annuity contract. 
 
R590-155-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Contract holder" means the holder of an annuity contract. 
 

R590-155-4.  Rule. 
 (1)  An insurer shall disclose to a policyholder and to a 
contract holder that the Utah Life and Health Guaranty Association may 
not cover the contractual guarantees in the policy or contract. 
 (2)  The disclosure required in Subsection (1) shall be: 
 (a)  in writing; 
 (b)  given before or at the time a policy, contract, or certificate 
is delivered; 
 (c)  available upon request by a policyholder, an enrollee, or a 
contract holder; and 
 (d)  filed with the commissioner. 
 (3)  The disclosure required in Subsection (1) shall use the text 
in the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association's Notice of 
Protection, which is available on the department's website, 
https://insurance.utah.gov. 
 
R590-155-5.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-155, or its application 
to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule that can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application. The remainder of this rule 
shall be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 7, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 8, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-28-119 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R600-2 Filing ID 
54138 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Third Floor  
Building: Heber M. Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Hill 801-

530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R600-2.  Operations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule change is to delete the reference 
to a St. George Office.  The Labor Commission has closed 
the St. George Office and is handling filings online. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule change removes the reference of office hours for 
an office in St. George, Utah. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There will be no cost or savings to the state budget since 
the St. George Office was closed in June 2021. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There will be no cost or savings to local governments since 
filings are accepted online. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There will be no cost or savings to small businesses since 
filings are accepted online. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There will be no cost or savings to non-small businesses 
since filings are accepted online. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There will be no cost or savings to persons other than 
small businesses, non-small businesses, state or local 
government entities since filings are accepted online. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will be no compliance costs for affected person 
since filings are accepted online. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There will be no fiscal impact on businesses since filings 
are accepted online.  Jaceson R. Maughan, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Labor Commission, Jaceson R. 
Maughan, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 34A-1-104   
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/15/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/22/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/16/2021 

 
R600.  Labor Commission, Administration. 
R600-2.  Operations. 
R600-2-1.  Business Hours. 
 A.  The offices of the Commission shall be open for receipt of 
official documents between the hours of 8[:00] a.m. to 5[:00] p.m. 
Monday through Friday.[  The Labor Commission's St. George office 
shall be open for receipt of official documents between the hours of 8:00 
a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.]  Commission offices shall 
not be open for business Saturday or Sunday and on state-recognized 
holidays. 
 B.  Notwithstanding the 5[:00] p.m. filing deadline provided 
in R600-2-1(A)[above], official documents filed with the Labor 
Commission will be deemed timely if filed electronically, [(]either by 
email or facsimile[)], before midnight on the day the document is due. 
 
KEY:  Labor Commission, hours of business 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 23, 2013] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 5, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-1-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R612-400-5 Filing ID 
54141 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Industrial Accidents 
Room no.: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 

Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ron Dressler 801-

530-
6841 

rdressler@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R612-400-5.  Premium Rates for the Uninsured 
Employers' Fund and the Employers' Reinsurance Fund 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Workers' compensation insurance premiums in Utah 
include assessments to fund the Employers' Reinsurance 
Fund (ERF), the Uninsured Employers' Fund (UEF), the 
Workplace Safety Account (WSA), and the Industrial 
Accident's Restricted Account (IARA).  These assessment 
rates are reviewed annually and amended as appropriate 
to ensure the funds remain viable.  The proposed change 
establishes these assessment rates for the 2022 calendar 
year. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule update establishes the following premium rates 
for 2022:  0.50% for the UEF and 0% for the ERF.  The 
rates for WSA and IARA are 0.25% and 0.50% respectively 
and are set by statute. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There will be no impact to the cost or savings to the state 
budget as the premium assessment rates will be the same 
as last year. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There will be no impact to the cost or savings to local 
governments as the premium assessment rates will be the 
same as last year. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There will be no impact to the cost or savings to small 
businesses as the premium assessment rates will be the 
same as last year. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There will be no impact to the cost or savings to non-small 
businesses as the premium assessment rates will be the 
same as last year. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There will be no impact to the cost or savings to other 
persons as the premium assessment rates will be the 
same as last year. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no anticipated changes to compliance costs as 
these premiums are collected and paid each year. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There should be no fiscal impact from this rule change as 
the premium assessment rates are remaining the same as 
in 2021.  Jaceson R. Maughan, Commissioner 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Labor Commission, Jaceson R. 
Maughan, had reviewed the regulatory impact analysis 
and approved it. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
59-9-101(2) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/15/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/22/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/17/2021 

 
R612.  Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents. 
R612-400.  Workers' Compensation Insurance, Self-Insurance and 
Waivers. 
R612-400-5.  Premium Rates for the Uninsured Employers' Fund 
and the Employers' Reinsurance Fund. 
 A.  Pursuant to Subsection 59-9-101(2), Sections 59-9-101.3 
and 34A-2-202 the workers' compensation premium rates effective 
January 1, [2021]2022, as established by the Labor Commission, shall 
be: 
 1.  0.50% for the Uninsured Employers' Fund; and 
 2.  0.0% for the Employers' Reinsurance Fund.[;] 
 B.  The premium rates are a percentage of the total workers' 
compensation insurance premium income as detailed in Subsection 59-
9-101(2)(a). 
 
KEY:  workers' compensation, insurance, rates, waivers 
Date of Last Change:  2022[January 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 8, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  59-9-101(2) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-301 Filing ID 
53946 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E. Winchester Street, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Haddon 801-

261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-301.  Personal Appearance 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Rule R671-301 was set for review by 01/30/2022.  The 
contents of this rule were reviewed due to the approaching 
review date.  Upon review, it was determined that the text 
of this rule could be both simplified and clarified.  In 

addition, based on review by the Board's Assistant 
Attorney General, some statutory citations require update. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes amend Rule R671-301 to indicate that an 
offender has a right to be present for a hearing if housed 
in the state.  Previously, the rule itemized various types of 
hearings.  The amendment simplifies the text to reflect that 
the offender has a right to be present for all hearing types 
if housed in Utah.  The amendment further clarifies that the 
offender may ask questions of the hearing official during a 
personal appearance hearing.  It adopts current practice 
by delineating specifically to whom the offender may ask 
questions.  The offender may only ask questions of the 
hearing official.  Minor adjustments are included in the 
amendment by substituting the word "request" for the word 
"seek," and appropriately broadening who the Board can 
request a courtesy hearing by changing "custodial state" 
to "custodial jurisdiction."  The amendment also updates a 
statutory reference from Subsection 63G-3-201(3) to both 
Subsection 63G-3-201(2) and Subsection 63G-3-201(3).  
It also updates a statutory reference from Subsection 77-
27-9(4)(a) to Subsection 77-27-9(5). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings in the state budget.  There is no 
change to current Board processes.  Rather, this rule 
clarifies that an offender is only allowed to ask questions 
of the hearing official.  Other changes are stylistic.  
Because there is no change to current processes, there 
will not be additional costs associated with this proposed 
rule amendment. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings to local governments.  There is 
nothing in the amendments that change the current 
working relationship between the Board and any local 
governmental entities.  Therefore, there will be no fiscal 
impact on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses would not be involved in these Board 
decisions unless they are considered a victim of a crime 
related to the offender.  These amendments do not 
financially impact victims of crime. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses would not be involved in these 
Board decisions unless they are considered a victim of a 
crime related to the offender.  These amendments do not 
financially impact victims of crime. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No other persons will be financially impacted by the 
changes proposed in the amendments to this rule as it 
does not regulate any other individuals or groups. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Amendments to this rule do not impact compliance in any 
way.  There will be no compliance costs for those working 
directly with the Board. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The changes incorporated in this rule will not have a fiscal 
impact on any businesses.  Carrie Cochran, Chair 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Chair of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole, Carrie 
Cochran, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsections 
63G-3-201(2) 
and (3) 

Subsection 
77-27-7(2) 

Subsection 
77-27-9(5) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-301.  Personal Appearance. 
R671-301-1.  Personal Appearance. 
 [A.](1)  By statute, the Board or its designee is required to 
convene at least one public hearing for [all]each offender[s] except 
those serving life without parole or a death sentence.  In rehearings, 
the offender is afforded [all the ]rights and considerations afforded in 
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the initial hearing except as provided by other Board rules because 
the setting of a parole date is still at issue. 
 [B.](2)  An offender has the right to be present [at a parole 
grant, rehearing, or parole violation hearing ]if the offender is housed 
in the state ([UCA]Section 77-27-7).  The offender may speak, 
present documents, ask questions of the hearing official, and answer 
questions. In the event an offender waives this right to appear, or 
refuses to personally attend the hearing, the Board may proceed with 
the hearing and issue a decision. 
 [C.](3)  If an offender is housed out of state:[, the Board 
may proceed as follows:] 
 [1.](a)  The offender may waive the right to be present, and 
the Board may then conduct the hearing in absentia. 
 [2.](b)  The Board may request the Department of 
Corrections to return the offender to the state for the hearing. 
 [3.](c)  The Board may [seek]request that a courtesy 
hearing be conducted by the appropriate paroling authority of the 
custodial jurisdiction[state].  A request along with a complete copy 
of Utah's record shall be forwarded for the hearing.  [All r]Reports, a 
record of the hearing, and a recommendation shall be returned to the 
Utah Board for final action. 
 [4.](d)  An individual Board member or designee may 
travel to the custodial facility and conduct the hearing, record the 
proceeding, and make a recommendation for the Board's final 
decision. 
 [5.](e)  A hearing may be conducted by videoconference or 
conference telephone call. 
 
KEY:  inmates, parole 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 4, 2012] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 30, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3-
201(2) and (3); 77-27-7(2); 77-27-9([4]5)[(a)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-303 Filing ID 
53947 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E. Winchester Street, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Haddon 801-

261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-303.  Information Received, Maintained or Used by 
the Board 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Rule R671-303 was set for review by 01/30/2022.  The 
contents of this rule were reviewed due to the approaching 
review date.  Upon review, it was determined that sections 
of this rule required clarification and some modification.  In 
addition, based on review by the Board of Pardons and 
Parole's (Board) Assistant Attorney General, some 
statutory citations require update. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments to Rule R671-303 are primarily to simply 
and clarify the processes outlined in this rule.  One 
adjustment eliminates the 14 day time requirement for an 
offender to submit additional information for consideration 
by the Board.  Adjustment also makes it clear that the 
Board will receive information provided by the Department 
of Corrections.  The amendment addresses issues related 
to photographs submitted for consideration by the Board.  
It makes clear that photographs will only be received in 
extraordinary situations.  Where photographs are received 
by the Board, the offender will be allowed to view them 
during a hearing, but the offender will not be allowed retain 
copies of the photographs.  The Board is also permitted to 
strike from the offender's record and refuse to accept any 
material it considers inflammatory.  Finally, the amendment 
also updates statutory references by eliminating the 
incomplete reference to Chapter 63G-2 and adds a 
reference to Subsection 77-27-7(6). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amended language only clarifies and makes small 
adjustments to a Board disclosure process.  The changes 
do not materially adjust the way the Board currently 
operates.  Therefore, the changes to this rule will not result 
in either increased costs or cost savings in the state 
budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings to local governments.  There is 
nothing in the amendments that change the current 
working relationship between the Board and any local 
governmental entities.  Therefore, there will be no fiscal 
impact on local governments. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 125 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses would not be involved with the Board 
unless they are considered a victim of a crime related to 
the offender.  This rule and the proposed changes do not 
change any processes or interactions between the Board 
and victims of crime.  Therefore, there will be no financial 
impact on small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses would not be involved in these 
Board decisions unless they are considered a victim of a 
crime related to the offender.  This rule and the proposed 
changes do not change any processes or interactions 
between the Board and victims of crime.  Therefore, there 
will be no financial impact on non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amended language makes minor adjustments to a 
Board disclosure process related to offenders.  These 
changes do not materially adjust the way the Board 
currently operations.  Therefore, the changes to this rule 
will not result in a financial impact on other persons or 
entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Amendments to this rule do not impact compliance for 
offenders in any way.  They will be helpful to offenders in 
their understanding of disclosure processes.  There will be 
no compliance costs for those working directly with the 
Board due to changes within this rule. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The changes incorporated in this rule will not have a fiscal 
impact on any businesses.  Carrie Cochran, Chair 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Chair of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole, Carrie 
Cochran, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
77-27-7(6) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-303.  Information Received, Maintained or Used by the 
Board. 
R671-303-1.  Information Received, Maintained or Used by the 
Board. 
 (1)  Offender [A]access to [I]information 
 (a)  Absent a security or safety concern, as determined by 
the Board, the Board will provide the[ an] offender [will be provided 
]access to information the Board will consider [being considered by 
the Board ]and given an opportunity to respond to such information, 
whenever the Board sets or extends the offender's parole or release 
date. [If t]The Board will provide the offender a written summary of 
information being considered if  [determines offender ]access to 
information presents a security or safety concern[, the offender will 
be provided a written summary of the material information being 
considered]. 
 (b)  The Board, upon request or upon its own motion, may: 
 (i)  continue a hearing; or 
 (ii)  [to ]allow the offender to submit[submission of] 
additional documentation or information[. The Board will consider] 
for consideration pursuant to the Board's order[ any relevant facts 
obtained at the hearing or later submitted by the offender, provided 
such later submitted information is received within fourteen (14) 
days following the hearing]. 
 (c)  The Board shall: 
 (i)  [will ]provide an offender with a copy of the records not 
provided for previous hearings and contained in the offender's 
[file]record at least three days prior to any personal appearance 
hearing in which a parole or release date may be fixed or extended 
by the Board[.]; 
 (ii)  at the beginning of the hearing, provide [ A]any 
additional information not provided under Subsection (1)(c)(i) 
obtained by the Board after this initial disclosure[ will be provided to 
the offender at the beginning of the hearing.]; 
 (iii)  allow [ In such event, ]the offender [will be given ]an 
opportunity to review the supplemental information before the 
hearing proceeds[ing] in circumstances described under Subsection 
(1)(c)(ii);[.] and 
 (iv)  proceed with the hearing as scheduled [ I]if the 
offender requests no additional time for review as described under 
Subsection (1)(c)(iii)[is requested by the offender, the hearing will 
proceed as scheduled]. 
[ (d)  For administrative routings to fix an original hearing 
date, the Board will only consider information available to the court 
at the time of sentencing.  This information will be disclosed to the 
offender at the time of an original hearing.] 
 (2)  Submission of [I]information 
 (a)  Other than [concise and brief letters, or ]statements by 
the offender or information the Department of Corrections 
(Department) submits, [all ]other materials, briefs or written 
memoranda or argument submitted by or on behalf of any person, in 
preparation for a hearing, [(]excluding commutation hearings 
governed by Rule R671-312[)], shall be limited to no more than five 
[(5) ]pages in length. 
 (b)  In extraordinary circumstances, [P]photographs or 
electronic images may be submitted [but should ]and must be 

relevant to the offense.  The Department [of Corrections ]limits the 
number of photographs or electronic images that an inmate may 
possess and photographs or electronic images of victims are 
contraband.  [Therefore t]The Board will disclose accepted 
photographs or electronic images at the beginning of a hearing.  The 
offender may view the photographs or electronic images but not 
retain them.  [As noted in section (1)]Pursuant to Subsection R671-
303-1(1)(b), the offender may request additional time to respond or 
submit supplemental information. 
 (c)  Submissions by legal counsel for or on behalf of an 
offender must be received by the Board no later than seven[ (7)] days 
prior to any scheduled hearing. 
 (d)  The Board reserves the right to strike from the 
offender's [file]record, and to refuse to accept or consider any 
material or submissions [which]that are irrelevant, defamatory, 
inflammatory, or [which]that do not otherwise conform to this rule. 
 
KEY:  inmates' rights, inmates, parole, records 
Date of Last Change:  2022[April 7, 2015] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 30, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [63G-2]77-
27-7(6) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-304 Filing ID 
53948 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E. Winchester Street, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Haddon 801-

261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-304.  Hearing Record 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Rule R671-304 was set for review by 01/30/2022.  The 
contents of this rule were reviewed due to the approaching 
review date.  Upon review, it was determined that the text 
of this rule could be both simplified and clarified.  In 
addition, based on review by the Board's Assistant 
Attorney General, some statutory citations require update. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes amend Rule R671-304 to clarify that anyone 
requesting a recording of a Board hearing may submit an 
affidavit indicating they are unable to pay a fee associated 
with generating a copy of the recording.  It makes charging 
a fee for a requested recording permissive rather than a 
requirement by changing a "shall" to "may."  The 
amendment also updates a statutory reference from 
Subsection 77-27-9(4)(a) to Subsection 77-27-9(5). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings in the state budget.  The change 
allows the Board to not charge a fee for a hearing 
recording requested by an individual.  However, so few 
requests are made that require copying the hearing to 
physical digital media, that this minor adjustment will not 
create savings or additional costs for the Board. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings to local governments.  There is 
nothing in the amendments that change the current 
working relationship between the Board and any local 
governmental entities.  Therefore, there will be no fiscal 
impact on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses would not be involved with the Board 
unless they are considered a victim of a crime related to 
the offender.  At most, there could be less of a financial 
burden on a victim because the changes no longer require 
the Board to charge a fee for hearing reproduction. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses would not be involved in these 
Board decisions unless they are considered a victim of a 
crime related to the offender.  At most, there could be less 
of a financial burden on a victim because the changes no 
longer require the Board to charge a fee for hearing 
reproduction. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

No other persons will be financially impacted by the 
changes proposed in the amendments to this rule.  At 
most, there could be less of a financial burden on other 
persons or entities because the changes no longer require 
the Board to charge a fee for hearing reproduction. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The rule itself does require a request for the hearing 
reproduction fee waiver, due to an inability to pay, to be 
affirmed by an affidavit.  However, this requirement is not 
adjusted or modified by the amendments. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The changes incorporated in this rule will not have a fiscal 
impact on any businesses.  Carrie Cochran, Chair 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Chair of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole, Carrie 
Cochran, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63G-3-201(3) 

Section 
77-27-1 et seq. 

Section 77-27-8 

Subsection 
77-27-9(5) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/23/2021 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-304.  Hearing Record. 
R671-304-1.  Hearing Record. 
 [(a)](1)  An electronic audio record shall be made of each[all] 
in[ ]-person, video, or telephonic hearings held by the Board of Pardons 
and Parole (Board). 
 [(b)](2)  Pursuant to [Utah Code Ann. ]Section 77-27-8, a 
certified shorthand reporter shall record and transcribe the proceedings of 
any death penalty commutation hearing held by the Board. 
 [(c)](3)  The electronic record made pursuant to this [R]rule 
shall be maintained by the Board for [7 ]seven years. 
 [(d)](4)  Any magnetic, analog, or other non-digital hearing 
record made prior to January 1, 2009 shall [only ]be maintained for ten 
years from the date of the hearing. 

 (5)  An offender or any member of the public may[Upon 
written] request[,] a copy of the recording in writing[ may be provided to 
an offender or any member of the public]. 
 (a)  If the request for the recording requires that the record be 
copied to an electronic or digital medium, the Board [shall]may charge a 
fee, approved by the Legislature, for the copy. 
 (b)  When [an offender]requestors affirm[s] by affidavit that 
[he or she is ]they are unable to pay for a copy of the recording, the Board 
may furnish a copy of the record, at no fee, to the [offender]requestor. 
 
KEY:  government hearings 
Date of Last Change:  2022[January 8, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 30, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3-
201(3); 77-27-1 et seq.; 77-27-8; 77-27-9[(4)(a)](5) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-305 Filing ID 
53949 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E. Winchester Street, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Haddon 801-

261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-305.  Board Decisions and Orders 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Rule R671-305 was set for review by 01/30/2022.  The 
contents of this rule were reviewed due to the approaching 
review date.  Upon review, it was determined that 
additional types of decisions made by the Board of 
Pardons and Parole (Board) should be incorporated into 
this rule.  In addition, based on review by the Board's 
Assistant Attorney General, some statutory citations 
require update. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
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The changes amend Rule R671-305 to incorporate 
redetermination decisions and compassionate release 
decisions to the types of decisions where the Board will 
provide a brief rationale for the decision.  The amendment 
also updates a statutory reference from Subsection 63G-
3-201(3) to Section 63G-3-201.  It also updates a statutory 
reference from Subsection 77-27-9(4)(a) to Subsection 
77-27-9(5).  Finally, the amendment eliminates the 
statutory reference to Subsection 77-27-10. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings in the state budget.  These are 
decisions the Board of Pardons and Parole currently 
conducts and provides a rationale for their decision.  
Because there is no change to current processes, there 
will not be additional costs associated with this proposed 
rule amendment. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings to local governments.  There is 
nothing in the amendments that change the current 
working relationship between the Board and any local 
governmental entities.  Therefore, there will be no fiscal 
impact on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses would not be involved in these Board 
decisions unless they are considered a victim of a crime 
related to the offender.  These amendments do not 
financially impact victims of crime. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses would not be involved in these 
Board decisions unless they are considered a victim of a 
crime related to the offender.  These amendments do not 
financially impact victims of crime. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No other persons will be financially impacted by the 
changes proposed in the amendments to this rule as it 
does not regulate any other individuals or groups. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

Amendments to this rule do not impact compliance in any 
way.  There will be no compliance costs for those working 
directly with the Board. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The changes incorporated in this rule will not have a fiscal 
impact on any businesses.  Carrie Cochran, Chair 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Chair of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole, Carrie 
Cochran, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-3-201 

Subsection 
77-27-9(5) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-305.  Board Decisions and Orders. 
R671-305-1.  Board Decisions and Orders. 
 The Board will reduce [D]decisions [of the Board will be 
reduced ]to a written order.  Orders entered following original 
hearings, re-hearings, special attention hearings, parole violation 
hearings, evidentiary hearings, rescission hearings, redetermination 
decisions, and compassionate release decisions [and rescission 
hearings ]will [be accompanied by ]contain a brief rationale for the 
order.  The Board's written orders and rationale statements are public 
documents.  The Board shall provide or mail a[A] copy of the order, 
and rationale statement if entered, [shall be provided or mailed ]to 
the person who is the subject of the order.  The Board shall maintain 
a copy of [all ]orders entered in each case.  The Board may publish 
its orders on its website at its discretion and convenience. 
 
KEY:  government hearings 
Date of Last Change:  2022[April 7, 2015] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 30, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art VII, Sec 
12; 63G-3-201[(3)]; 77-27-9[(4)(a)](5)[; 77-27-10] 
 
 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-310 Filing ID 
53950 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E. Winchester Street, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Haddon 801-

261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-310.  Rescission Hearings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Rule R671-310 was set for review by 01/30/2022.  The 
contents of this rule were reviewed due to the approaching 
review date.  Upon review, it was determined that sections 
of this rule required clarification and some modification. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments to Rule R671-310 are primarily to simply 
and clarify the processes outlined in this rule.  Rather than 
specifically referring to offender notification regarding 
allegations, the adjustment simply indicates the Board of 
Pardons and Parole (Board) will notify the offender of the 
basis for considering a rescission which would include 
allegations and possibly other information.  The 
amendments also clarify rescission processes in the event 
of an inmate escape.  The Board is allowed to continue a 
hearing when waiting for resolution of criminal or 
administrative proceedings.  Finally, this rule allows the 
Board to make an interim rescission decision upon 
receiving a rescission request prior to a rescission hearing. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amended language makes small adjustments to the 
Board's rescission process.  The changes do not 
materially adjust the way the Board currently operates.  
Therefore, the changes to this rule will not result in either 
increased costs or cost savings in the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings to local governments.  There is 
nothing in the amendments that change the current 
working relationship between the Board and any local 
governmental entities.  Therefore, there will be no fiscal 
impact on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses would not be involved with the Board 
unless they are considered a victim of a crime related to 
the offender.  This rule and the proposed changes do not 
directly involve victims of crime.  Therefore, there will be 
no financial impact on small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses would not be involved in these 
Board decisions unless they are considered a victim of a 
crime related to the offender.  This rule and the proposed 
changes do not directly involve victims of crime.  
Therefore, there will be no financial impact on non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amended language makes minor adjustments to the 
Board's rescission process related to offenders.  These 
changes do not materially adjust the way the Board 
currently operations.  Therefore, the changes to this rule 
will not result in a financial impact on other persons or 
entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Amendments to this rule do not impact compliance issues 
in any way.  There will be no compliance costs for those 
working directly with the Board due to changes within this 
rule. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The changes incorporated in this rule will not have a fiscal 
impact on any businesses.  Carrie Cochran, Chair 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Chair of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole, Carrie 
Cochran, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 77-27-5 Section 77-27-6 Section 77-27-11 
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-310.  Rescission Hearings. 
R671-310-1.  Rescission Hearings. 
 (1)  Any [prior ]Board decision may be reviewed and 
rescinded by the Board at any time [until an]prior to an offender's 
actual release from custody. 
 (2)  If the rescission of a release or rehearing date is being 
requested by an outside party:[,] 
 (a)  information shall be provided to the Board establishing 
the basis for the request[.]; and 
 (b)  [U]upon receipt of such information, the Board may 
schedule the offender [may be scheduled ]for a rescission hearing. 
 (3)  The Board may[ also] review and rescind an offender's 
release or rehearing date on its own initiative. 
 (a)  Except under extraordinary circumstances, the offender 
should be notified of [all allegations]the basis for consideration of 
rescission and the date of the scheduled hearing at least seven 
calendar days in advance of the hearing. 
 (b)  The offender may waive this period. 
 (4)  In the event of an escape, the Board will rescind the 
inmate's date upon [official ]notification of escape from custody and 
continue the hearing until the inmate is available for appearance.[,] 
The hearing may be continued pending criminal or administrative 
proceedings [charges have been ]being resolved [and ]or until the 
Board receives appropriate information regarding the escape[ has 
been provided]. 
 (5) The Board may make an interim rescission decision 
upon receipt of a rescission request and prior to a rescission 
hearing.[The hearing officer will conduct the hearing and make an 
interim decision to be reviewed, along with a summary report of the 
hearing, by the Board members.] 
 
KEY:  parole, inmate 
Date of Last Change:  2022[February 18, 1998] 

Notice of Continuation:  January 30, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  77-27-5; 77-
27-6; 77-27-11 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R671-316 Filing ID 
53951 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E. Winchester Street, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Haddon 801-

261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-316.  Redetermination 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Rule R671-316 was set for review by 01/30/2022.  The 
contents of this rule were reviewed due to the approaching 
review date.  Upon review, it was determined that sections 
of this rule required clarification and some modification.  In 
addition, based on review by the Board's Assistant 
Attorney General, some statutory citations require update. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes amend Rule R671-316 in three primary 
ways.  First, the amended language allows an offender's 
legal representative to request a redetermination review.  
Second, the amendment removes specific language 
indicating the Board must find significant and material 
changes in circumstances that were not previously 
considered to meet redetermination review requirements.  
This requirement is made more general, allowing the 
Board to consider redetermination review simply if they 
find cause to review the previous decision.  Third, the 
amendment requires the Board, once it has reached a 
decision, to include a brief statement or rationale for the 
decision.  Previously, this was only required if the Board 
denied the redetermination review request.  Finally, the 
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amendment also updates a statutory reference to include 
Subsection 63G-3-201(2) in addition to a reference to 
Subsection 63G-3-201(3). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amended language makes small adjustments to a 
single Board process.  These changes do not materially 
adjust the way the Board currently operations.  Therefore, 
the changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings in the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes to this rule will not result in either increased 
costs or cost savings to local governments.  There is 
nothing in the amendments that change the current 
working relationship between the Board and any local 
governmental entities.  Therefore, there will be no fiscal 
impact on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses would not be involved with the Board 
unless they are considered a victim of a crime related to 
the offender.  This rule and the proposed changes do not 
change any processes or interactions between the Board 
and victims of crime.  Therefore, there will be no financial 
impact on small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses would not be involved in these 
Board decisions unless they are considered a victim of a 
crime related to the offender.  This rule and the proposed 
changes do not change any processes or interactions 
between the Board and victims of crime.  Therefore, there 
will be no financial impact on non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amended language makes small adjustments to a 
single Board process.  These changes do not materially 
adjust the way the Board currently operations.  Therefore, 
the changes to this rule will not result in a financial impact 
on other persons or entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

Amendments to this rule do not impact compliance for 
affected persons in any way.  There will be no compliance 
costs for those working directly with the Board with the 
proposed changes to this rule. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The changes incorporated in this rule will not have a fiscal 
impact on any businesses.  Carrie Cochran, Chair 
 
6. A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Chair of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole, Carrie 
Cochran, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsections 
63G-3-201(2) 
and (3) 

Section 77-27-5 Section 77-27-9 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director of  
Administrative 
Services 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-316.  Redetermination. 
R671-316-1.  Redetermination Review. 
 (1)  Redetermination is a process whereby the Department 
of Corrections (Department), a legal representative of the offender, 
or [an]the offender may request that the Board review new, material, 
and significant information, or reconsider a prior decision. 
 (2)  Redetermination of a previous decision may be 
considered if: 
 (a)  the time requirements of this rule are met; 
 (b)  the offender has no new criminal convictions since the 
entry of the decision for which redetermination is sought; 
 (c)  the offender has no pending major disciplinary 
violations; and 
 (d)  the Board [finds that a significant and material change 
in circumstances has occurred which it has not previously 
considered]finds cause to review the previous decision. 
 (3)  The Department, a legal representative of the offender, 
or [an]the offender may submit a redetermination request, asking the 
Board to reconsider a prior decision, if: 
 (a)  the decision ordered the expiration of a life sentence, 
and at least ten years have passed since the Board's decision or any 
subsequent redetermination decision; 
 (b)  the decision ordered a release, rehearing, or expiration 
of any sentence not involving the expiration of a life sentence, and at 
least five years have passed since the Board's decision or any 
subsequent redetermination decision; or 

 (c)(i)  the decision set an original hearing for a homicide 
offense, pursuant to [Utah R. Admin. P.]Subsection R671-201-
1(3)(a); 
 (ii)  the original hearing was set more than [fifteen]15 years 
following the offender's arrival at the prison; and 
 (iii)  at least ten years have passed since the administrative 
review decision or any subsequent redetermination decision. 
 (4)  A redetermination request shall: 
 (a)  clearly and specifically state the reasons supporting the 
redetermination request; 
 (b)  include a current report detailing the offender's case 
action plan compliance, treatment participation and history, 
disciplinary history, and current risk assessment; and 
 (c)  be signed by the offender if not submitted by the 
Department. 
 (5)  If the request for redetermination is not submitted by 
the Department, the Board may request that the Department review 
the request, provide any updated institutional, medical, or other 
report requested by the Board, and make a recommendation 
regarding the request. 
 (6)  The Board may make a decision regarding a 
redetermination request with or without a hearing. 
 (7)  [If the Board denies]When the Board reaches a 
redetermination [request]decision, [the]that decision shall be 
accompanied by a brief statement or rationale for that decision[giving 
the reason for the denial]. 
 
KEY:  parole, inmates 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 15, 2015] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 30, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. VII, 
Sec. 12; 63G-3-201(2) and (3); 77-27-5; 77-27-9 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R907-63-2 Filing ID 
54161 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda Hull 801-

965-
4253 

lhull@utah.gov 
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Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R907-63-2.  Procedure to Collect for Damage to 
Structures and Highways 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Legislature amended Section 72-7-301 when it 
passed S.B. 113 during the 2021 General Session.  The 
amendment added text that allows the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to collect from a person who 
by any means willfully or negligently injures or damages 
any highway, highway equipment, or highway sign: The full 
cost to repair the damaged property or replace the 
damaged property with a replacement that is functionally 
equivalent to the property that was damaged.  The 
amendment also added a Subsection 72-7-301(5)(b), 
which states: "Except for the replacement of a damaged 
motor vehicle, the costs described in Subsection (5)(a) 
may not be reduced based on the depreciated value of the 
damaged property at the time the damage occurs."  The 
proposed changes to Section R907-63-2 reflect the 
Legislature's changes to Section 72-7-301. 
 
Additionally, the proposed change also allows the 
Department to wait for 120-days rather than the current 60-
days before sending an account to the office of State Debt 
Collection.  The Department has an exemption from the 
Division of Finance that allows it additional time to collect 
on these accounts. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The proposed changes will allow the Department to collect 
from a person who damages any highway, highway 
equipment, or highway sign the total cost to repair the 
damaged property or replace the damaged property with a 
functionally equivalent to the damaged property.  However, 
the proposed change does not allow the person 
responsible for causing the damage to reduce the amount 
by claiming depreciation of the damaged property. 
 
The proposed changes also allow the Department to 
attempt to collect the amount owed for 120-days rather 

than 60-days before transferring the matter to the office of 
State Debt Collection. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Department does not anticipate the proposed 
changes will affect the state's budget appreciably.  The 
changes reflect the amendments the Legislature made to 
Section 72-7-301 that clarify that section's purpose. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Department does not anticipate the proposed 
changes will affect local governments because this rule 
does not apply to them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The Department does not anticipate the proposed 
changes will generally affect small businesses' because 
the changes reflect the amendments the Legislature made 
to Section 72-7-301 that clarify that section's purpose. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Department does not anticipate the proposed 
changes will generally affect non-small businesses' 
because the changes reflect the amendments the 
Legislature made to Section 72-7-301 that clarify that 
section's purpose. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Department does not anticipate the proposed 
changes will generally impact persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because the changes reflect the 
amendments the Legislature made to Section 72-7-301 
that clarify that section's purpose. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The proposed changes will not cost impacted persons 
anything because the changes reflect the amendments the 
Legislature made to Section 72-7-301 that clarify that 
section's purpose. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
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The proposed changes will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses because the changes reflect the amendments 
the Legislature made to Section 72-7-301 that clarify that 
section's purpose.  Carlos M. Braceras, PE, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carrlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed 
and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-7-301   

 

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE, 
Executive Director 

Date: 11/23/2021 

 
R907.  Transportation, Administration. 
R907-63.  Structure Repair and Loss Recovery Procedure. 
R907-63-2.  Procedure to Collect for Damage to Structures and 
Highways. 
 (1)  Upon notification of damage to the Department's 
property, the Department [shall]will repair or replace damaged state 
structures and highway elements. 
 (2)  After the Department repairs or replaces damaged 
structures and highway elements under Subsection (1), the 
Department will invoice the owner of the vehicle or object causing 
the damage the total costs of repairing or replacing the damaged 
property. 
 (a)  If the person directly responsible for causing the 
damage does not own the vehicle or object causing the damage, the 
Department will invoice the person responsible for causing the 
damage the total costs of repairing or replacing the damaged property 
as well as the owner. 
 (b)  The owner and operator are jointly and severally liable 
under Subsection (2) for any damage caused to highway structures 
and elements by the operation or movement of the vehicle or object. 
 (3)  If a vehicle damages a state structure or highway 
element, the owner of the vehicle or object causing the damage or the 
person directly responsible for causing the damage must reimburse 
the Department for the total cost of repairing the damage.  Except for 
replacing a damaged motor vehicle, the costs described in Subsection 
(2) may not be reduced based on the depreciated value of the 
damaged property when the damage occurs. 
 (4)  If the Department does not receive a total amount 
invoiced in Subsection (2) within 120 days of the date of the invoice, 
the Department may pursue reimbursement by one of the following 
means: 
 (a)  The Department may pursue collection of a delinquent 
account under Sections 63A-3-301 through 63A-3-310, Accounts 
Receivable Collection. 
 (b)  The Department may tender the account to a collection 
agency for immediate collection. 
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 (5)  In cases where the full payment of an invoice will cause 
undue financial pressure, the owner of the vehicle or person 
responsible for the damage may arrange to make installment 
payments on the debt. 
[ (2)  All costs associated with the repair or replacement of 
the damaged property shall then be invoiced to the owner of the 
vehicle causing the damage, or to the person directly responsible for 
the damage. 
 (3)  If the damage is caused by a vehicle, the person 
responsible shall reimburse the Department for the full cost of 
repairing the damage. 
 (4)  If payment is not received by the Department within 60 
days of the date of the invoice, the Department may pursue payment 
by one of the following means: 
 (a)  UDOT may pursue collection of a delinquent account 
in accordance with Sections 63A-3-301 through 63A-3-310, 
Accounts Receivable Collection. 
 (b)  The account may be tendered to a collection agency for 
immediate collection. 
 (5)  In cases where undue financial pressure would be 
caused by full payment of an invoice, the owner of the vehicle or 
person responsible for the damage may arrange to make installment 
payments on the debt.] 
 
KEY:  bridges, damages, loss recovery, structures 
Date of Last Change:  2022[August 23, 2016] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 20, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-7-301; 
63A-3-301 through 63A-3-310 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R940-3 Filing ID 
54160 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda Hull 801-

965-
4253 

lhull@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R940-3.  State Infrastructure Bank Fund, Prioritization 
process, Procedures, and Standards for Making Loans or 
Providing Infrastructure Assistance 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The proposed changes will conform this rule to H.B.151, 
which passed in the 2021 General Session which added a 
new project type, "publicly owned infrastructure project," to 
the eligibility list. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
H.B. 151's definition of a public-owned infrastructure 
project "means a project to improve water or sewer 
infrastructure that is owned by a public entity."  The bill 
became law on 05/05/2021.  The proposed rule update will 
provide future flexibility by referencing the code section so 
that as the Legislature modifies eligible project types, this 
rule will automatically conform to the changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed changes alter the definition of "project" 
included in this rule to allow public entities to apply for 
loans from the State Infrastructure Bank (SIB) to construct 
water or sewer infrastructure projects.  The SIB generates 
money for loans and assistance from numerous sources, 
including federal grants and interest, and income 
generated by the fund.  Since SIB funds do not come from 
the state's budget, an increase in the amount of assistance 
and loans from the SIB the commission can approve will 
not impact the state's budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes alter the definition of "project" 
included in this rule to allow public entities to apply for 
loans from the SIB to construct water or sewer 
infrastructure projects.  A local government must apply for 
a loan or assistance from the SIB to be affected by the 
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proposed changes so the changes will not cause a fiscal 
impact on local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed changes will not have a fiscal impact on 
small businesses because this rule only applies to the 
Transportation Commission and public entities. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed changes will not have a fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses because this rule only applies to the 
Transportation Commission and public entities. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed changes will not have a fiscal impact on 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
this rule only applies to the Transportation Commission 
and public entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
These changes will not affect any person, only public 
entities, which are not persons. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This proposed rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Carlos M. Braceras, PE, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-2-202 Section 72-2-203  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/23/2021 
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R940.  Transportation Commission, Administration. 
R940-3.  State Infrastructure Bank Fund, Prioritization process, 
Procedures, and Standards for Making Loans or Providing 
Infrastructure Assistance. 
R940-3-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Authority to make this rule is by [Utah Code 
Subsection]Sections 72-2-202 and 72-2-203[(2)]. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures, 
standards, and a prioritization process the commission will follow to 
approve infrastructure loans and infrastructure assistance through the 
State Infrastructure Bank Fund created by Subsection 72-2-202(1) 
("SIB"). 
 
R940-3-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions stated in Section 72-2-201 define the 
same words as used in this rule. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Commission" means Transportation Commission 
created by Section 72-1-301. 
 (b)  "Department" means Department of Transportation 
created by Section 72-1-201. 
 (c)  "Public entity" means as the phrase is defined by 
Section 72-2-201.  A public entity is eligible to receive an 
infrastructure loan or assistance funded by the SIB. 
 [(d)  "Transportation project" means as the phrase is 
defined by Section 72-2-201.  A transportation project is eligible for 
funding by an infrastructure loan or assistance from the SIB.](d)  
"Project" means the same as Section 72-2-201 defines transportation 
project.  A project is eligible for funding by an infrastructure loan or 
assistance from the SIB. 
 
R940-3-3.  Procedures and Standards for an Infrastructure Loan 
or Assistance from the SIB. 
 (1)  Procedures. 
 (a)  A public entity must request an infrastructure loan or 
infrastructure assistance using an application form provided by the 
department. 
 (b)  The public entity must complete and submit the 
application completed according to the application instructions. 
 (c)  The public entity must state clearly if it is applying for 
a loan or assistance as defined by Subsection[s] 72-2-201(3) or 72-2-
201(2), respectively. 
 (d)  The application form with instructions is available on 
the department's website at udot.utah.gov/go/SIB. 
 (2)  Standards. 
 (a)  A loan from the SIB fund must bear interest at or above 
the market interest rate available to the state. 
 (b)  The commission will determine the interest rate for an 
infrastructure loan [will be determined ]by adding 0.5% to the rate 
for AAA Municipal General Obligation Bonds obtained from the 
state treasurer as of the date of the completed application. 
 (c)  The public entity must begin repaying the infrastructure 
loan no later than the completion date of the project or the date the 
public entity opens the facility to traffic in the case of a highway 
project.  Interest will accrue during the period between loan closing 
and the agreed upon estimated project completion date[,] and will be 
capitalized and added to the loan's principal balance[ of the loan]. 

 (d)  The repayment period for an infrastructure loan may 
not exceed the term identified in Title 72, Chapter 2, Part 2, State 
Infrastructure Bank Fund. 
 (e)  Loan documents must [indicate]state the execution date 
and repayment deadline date for the loan. 
 (f)  The public entity may pledge [all or a portion]any of a 
revenue source controlled by the public entity to repay[the repayment 
of] the loan. 
 (g)  The public entity must repay loans in monthly, 
quarterly, or yearly installments. 
 (h)  If the applicant does not fully execute the assistance or 
loan [is not fully executed ]within 180 days of the date the 
[application is approved by the commission]commission approves 
the application, the application will expire unless the [public 
entity]applicant requests[,] and the commission approves a 
continuation of the terms.  Continuations [will be]are limited to a 
maximum of 180 days each. 
 
R940-3-4.  Prioritizing Requests for an Infrastructure Loan[,] or 
Infrastructure Assistance. 
 (1)  Criteria.  The commission will follow a prioritization 
framework that may include the following criteria to evaluate and 
prioritize requests for a loan or assistance: 
 (a)  Availability of money in the fund; 
 (b)  evidence the project will encourage, enhance, or create 
economic benefits to the state or political subdivision; 
 (c)  the likelihood a loan or assistance will enable the 
project to proceed at an earlier date than would otherwise be possible; 
 (d)  the extent to which assistance will foster innovative 
public-private partnerships and attract private investment; 
 (e)  the project demonstrates that it provides a benefit to the 
state highway system, including safety or mobility improvements; 
 (f)  the [amount of ]proposed assistance amount as a 
percentage of the overall project costs with an emphasis on local and 
private participation; 
 (g)  the extent to which the project provides intermodal 
connectivity with public transportation, pedestrian, or nonmotorized 
transportation facilities; or 
 (h)  other provisions the commission considers appropriate. 
 (2)  Scoring.  The commission will apply a framework to 
determine the score it assigns to qualified projects for prioritization 
purposes.  This framework is located on the department's website[ at 
this address]: udot.utah.gov/go/SIB and is incorporated by reference. 
 
R940-3-5.  Commission Discretion. 
 The commission may approve a request for a loan or 
assistance ahead of another request with a higher prioritization score 
for good cause, as determined by the commission during a public 
meeting. 
 
KEY:  State Infrastructure Bank Fund, SIB loan, SIB assistance, 
SIB 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 23, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 14, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-2-203 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R614-1-4 Filing ID: 54150 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Occupational Safety and Health 
Room no.: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146650 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6650 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cameron Ruppe 801-

530-
6898 

cruppe@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
530-
6800 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R614-1-4.  Incorporation of Federal Standards 
 
3.  Effective Date: 
11/22/2021 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this emergency rule is to protect healthcare 
employees by adopting Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration's (OSHA) COVID-19 Healthcare 
Emergency Temporary Standard (ETS). 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?): 
OSHA issued an ETS to protect healthcare workers from 
occupational exposure to COVID-19 in settings where 
people with COVID-19 are reasonably expected to be 
present.  The ETS encompasses requirements for 
healthcare employers such as having a COVID-19 plan, 
promoting vaccination, medical management, disinfection 
procedures, face coverings, physical distancing, personal 
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protective equipment (PPE), etc. 
 
6. A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
x cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
x place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
OSHA has determined that COVID-19 places healthcare 
workers at risk across the United States.  OSHA issued the 
ETS to protect employees in healthcare workplaces.  In 
order for Utah to maintain its state-plan state status, it must 
be at least as effective as federal OSHA.  The reason for 
this rule is to enable the Utah Occupational Safety and 
Health (UOSH) Division's enforcement of OSHA's COVID-
19 Healthcare ETS and maintain its state-plan status.  This 
emergency rule cannot go through the regular rulemaking 
process because OSHA has determined that COVID-19 is 
an emergency issue in the healthcare industry and all 
state-plan states must adopt this ETS to remain at least as 
effective as OSHA. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
7.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is a cost anticipated to the state budget. 
 
Costs associated with the use of PPE, disinfecting, etc. are 
a normal part of public sector healthcare settings.  Costs 
are minimal in situations where employees are fully 
vaccinated, as the requirements for masking and physical 
barriers are removed.   
 
Costs associated with work removal are as follows: 
Employers with 10 or fewer employees on the date that the 
ETS becomes effective are not required to maintain pay 
for removed employees. 
 
Employers with fewer than 500 employees must pay the 
employee's regular pay, up to $1,400 per week, for the first 
two weeks that the employee is removed.  Beginning in the 
third week, if the employee's removal continues that long, 
the employer must pay two thirds of the same regular pay 
the employee would have received if working, up to $200 
a day (equivalent to $1,000 per week in most cases). 
 
Employers with 500 or more employees must pay the 
employee's salary up to $1,400 per week during the entire 
period of removal, until the employee meets the return to 
work criteria described below. 
 
Employers with more than 10 employees must also 
continue to provide the benefits to which the employee is 
normally entitled (e.g., employer-sponsored health 
insurance) during the removal period. 

 
B) Local governments: 

There is a cost anticipated to local governments. 
 
Costs associated with the use of PPE, disinfecting, etc. are 
a normal part of public sector healthcare settings.  Costs 
are minimal in situations where employees are fully 
vaccinated, as the requirements for masking and physical 
barriers are removed.   
 
Costs associated with work removal are as follows: 
 
Employers with 10 or fewer employees on the date that the 
ETS becomes effective are not required to maintain pay 
for removed employees. 
 
Employers with fewer than 500 employees must pay the 
employee's regular pay, up to $1,400 per week, for the first 
two weeks that the employee is removed.  Beginning in the 
third week, if the employee's removal continues that long, 
the employer must pay two thirds of the same regular pay 
the employee would have received if working, up to $200 
a day (equivalent to $1,000 per week in most cases). 
 
Employers with 500 or more employees must pay the 
employee's salary up to $1,400 per week during the entire 
period of removal, until the employee meets the return to 
work criteria described below. 
 
Employers with more than 10 employees must also 
continue to provide the benefits to which the employee is 
normally entitled (e.g., employer-sponsored health 
insurance) during the removal period. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There is a cost anticipated to small businesses. 
 
Costs associated with the use of PPE, disinfecting, etc. are 
a normal part of the healthcare industry.  Costs are minimal 
in situations where employees are fully vaccinated, as the 
requirements for masking and physical barriers are 
removed.   
 
Costs associated with work removal are as follows: 
 
Employers with 10 or fewer employees on the date that the 
ETS becomes effective are not required to maintain pay 
for removed employees. 
 
Employers with fewer than 500 employees must pay the 
employee's regular pay, up to $1,400 per week, for the first 
two weeks that the employee is removed.  Beginning in the 
third week, if the employee's removal continues that long, 
the employer must pay two thirds of the same regular pay 
the employee would have received if working, up to $200 
a day (equivalent to $1,000 per week in most cases). 
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Employers with more than 10 employees must also 
continue to provide the benefits to which the employee is 
normally entitled (e.g., employer-sponsored health 
insurance) during the removal period. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is a cost anticipated to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
 
Costs associated with the use of PPE, disinfecting, etc. are 
a normal part of the healthcare industry.  Costs are minimal 
in situations where employees are fully vaccinated, as the 
requirements for masking and physical barriers are 
removed. 
 
Costs associated with work removal are as follows: 
 
Employers with fewer than 500 employees must pay the 
employee's regular pay, up to $1,400 per week, for the first 
two weeks that the employee is removed.  Beginning in the 
third week, if the employee's removal continues that long, 
the employer must pay two thirds of the same regular pay 
the employee would have received if working, up to $200 
a day (equivalent to $1,000 per week in most cases). 
 
Employers with 500 or more employees must pay the 
employee's salary up to $1,400 per week during the entire 
period of removal, until the employee meets the return to 
work criteria described below. 
 
Employers with more than 10 employees must also 
continue to provide the benefits to which the employee is 
normally entitled (e.g., employer-sponsored health 
insurance) during the removal period. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no cost anticipated to affected persons. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
In order to ensure the standards adopted by UOSH are at 
least as effective as OSHA, and that healthcare 
employees are protected from workplace exposure to 
COVID-19, UOSH is moving to adopt this ETS.  In order to 
maintain Utah's state-plan status, UOSH is required to 
adopt this ETS from OSHA.  Exemptions from masking, 
distancing, etc. are available for healthcare employees 
that are fully vaccinated.  It is anticipated that many in the 
healthcare industry have already implemented similar 
requirements in their workplaces, so the impact should be 
minimal.  Jaceson R. Maughan, Commissioner 

 
 
Citation Information 
8.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 34A-6-104   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
 
9.  A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

29 CFR 1910.502 

Publisher Government Printing Office 

Date Issued June 21, 2021 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Second Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

29 CFR 1910.504 

Publisher Government Printing Office 

Date Issued June 21, 2021 

 
C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Third Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

29 CFR 1910.505 

Publisher Government Printing Office 

Date Issued June 21, 2021 

 
D) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Fourth Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

29 CFR 1910.509 

Publisher Government Printing Office 
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Date Issued June 21, 2021 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 11/22/2021 

 
R614.  Labor Commission, Occupational Safety and Health. 
R614-1.  General Provisions. 
R614-1-4.  Incorporation of Federal Standards. 
 A.  The following federal occupational safety and health 
standards are hereby incorporated: 
 1.  29 CFR 1904, July 1, 2020, is incorporated by reference, 
except 29 CFR 1904.36 and the workplace fatality, injury and illness 
reporting requirements found in 29 CFR 1904.1, 1904.2, 1904.7 and 
1904.39.  Workplace fatalities, injuries and illnesses shall be reported 
pursuant to the more specific Utah standards in subsection 34A-6-
301(3)(b)(ii) of the Utah OSH Act and UAC R614-1-5(B)(1). 
 2.  29 CFR 1908, July 1, 2015, is incorporated by reference. 
 3.  OSHA emergency temporary standard found in 29 CFR 
1910.502, 29 CFR 1910.504, 29 CFR 1910.505 and 29 CFR 
1910.509, of the June 21, 2021, edition through its expiration at 
midnight on December 21, 2021, are incorporated by reference. 
 [3]4.  29 CFR 1910.6 and 1910.21 through the end of part 
1910, of the July 1, 2020, edition are incorporated by reference. 
 [4]5.  29 CFR 1926.6 and 1926.20 through the end of part 
1926, of the July 1, 2020, edition are incorporated by reference. 
 
KEY:  safety 
Date of Last Change:  November 22, 2021 
Notice of Continuation:  October 19, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-6 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R634-4 Filing ID: 54154 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Administration 
Building: DNR Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kaelyn Anfinsen 801-

538-
7201 

kaelynanfinsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R634-4.  Health Reform – Health Insurance Coverage in 
State Contracts –Implementation 
 
3.  Effective Date: 
11/23/2021 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Due to confusion in filing at the agency level, the agency 
failed to file a five-year review and notice of continuation 
and the penalty was expiration of Rule R634-2.  The 
agency is filing this rule as an emergency rule to place the 
rule back into effect while a standard rule filing can be 
completed.  The previous rule was Rule R634-2 but 
because rule numbers cannot be reused, the rule number 
is now R634-4. 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?): 
This filing is to replace Rule R634-2, Health Reform – 
Health Insurance Coverage in State Contracts –
Implementation, which expired because the five-year 
review and notice of continuation was not filed by the 
deadline.  The rule number is changed to Rule R634-4 but 
the text is identical.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The notice of 
expiration of Rule R634-2 is under ID 51533 in this issue, 
December 15, 2021, of the Bulletin.) 
 
6. A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
 cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
X place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
This rule authorizes the agency to establish rules related 
to health insurance provisions in certain design and 
or/construction contracts and by not having an effective 
rule the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) would be 
in violation of Subsection 79-2-404(6), Contracting powers 
of department –Health insurance coverage. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
7.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This emergency rule filing places into effect the rule that 
had previously been effective without any additional 
changes.  Therefore, DNR has determined that this 
emergency rule does not create a cost or savings impact 
to the state budget or DNR's budget since the changes will 
not increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget. 
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B) Local governments: 

Since the proposed emergency filing makes no changes 
to the rule text that was previously effective, this filing does 
not create any direct cost or savings impact to local 
governments.  Nor are local governments indirectly 
impacted because this rule change does not create a 
situation requiring services from local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed emergency rule will not directly impact small 
businesses nor is there a service required of them. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed emergency rule will not directly impact non-
small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no cost compliance with the re-issuance of this 
rule because it is not being amended at this time. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of Natural 
Resources, Brian Steed, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
8.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 79-2-404   

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brian Steed, DNR 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/23/2021 

 
R634.  Natural Resources, Administration. 
R634-4.  Health Reform -- Health Insurance Coverage in State 
Contracts -- Implementation. 
R634-4-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to comply with the provisions of 
Section 79-2-404. 
 
R634-4-2.  Authority. 

 This rule is authorized under Subsection 79-2-404(6), which 
directs the Department of Natural Resources to make rules related to 
health insurance provisions in certain design and/or construction 
contracts. 
 
R634-4-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Except as otherwise stated in this rule, terms used in this 
rule are defined in Section 79-2-404. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Department" means the Department of Natural 
Resources created in Section 79-2-201. 
 (b)  "Employee(s)" means an "employee", "worker," or 
"operative" as defined in Section 34A-2-104 who: 
 (i)  works at least 30 hours per calendar week; and 
 (ii)  meets employer eligibility waiting requirements for 
health care insurance which may not exceed the first day of the calendar 
month following 60 days from the date of hire. 
 (c)  "Executive Director" means the executive director of the 
department who is appointed under Section 79-2-202, including, unless 
otherwise stated, the Director's duly authorized designee. 
 (d)  "State" means the State of Utah. 
 
R634-4-4.  Applicability of Rule. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Subsections R634-4-4(2) or R634-
4-4(3) below, Rule R634-4 applies to all design or construction contracts 
entered into by the Department, and 
 (a)  applies to a prime contractor if the prime contract is in the 
amount of $2,000,000 or greater at the original execution of the contract; 
and 
 (b)  applies to a subcontractor if the subcontract is in the 
amount of $1,000,000 or greater at the original execution of the contract. 
 (2)  Rule R634-4 does not apply if: 
 (a)  the application of Rule R634-4 jeopardizes the receipt of 
federal funds; 
 (b)  the contract is a sole source contract; or 
 (c)  the contract is an emergency procurement. 
 (3)  Rule R634-4 does not apply to a change order as defined 
in Section 63G-6a-103, or a modification to a contract, when the 
contract does not meet the initial threshold required by Subsection 
R634-4-4(1). 
 (4)  A person who intentionally uses change orders or contract 
modifications to circumvent the requirements of Subsection R634-4-
4(1)  is guilty of an infraction. 
 
R634-4-5.  Contractors and Subcontractors to Comply with Section 
79-2-404. 
 (1)  All contractors and subcontractors that are subject to the 
requirement of Section 79-2-404 shall comply with all the requirements, 
penalties and liabilities of Section 79-2-404. 
 (2)  If a subcontractor of the contractor is subject to Section 
79-2-404(2) or Section R634-4-4, the contractor shall: 
 (a)  place a requirement in the subcontract that the 
subcontractor shall obtain and maintain an offer of qualified health 
insurance coverage for the subcontractor's employees and the 
employees' dependents during the duration of the subcontract; and 
 (b)  certify to the director that the subcontractor has and will 
maintain an offer of qualified health insurance coverage for the 
subcontractor's employees and the employees' dependents during the 
duration of the prime contract. 
 
R634-4-6.  Not Basis for Protest or Suspend, Disrupt, or Terminate 
Design or Construction. 
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 (1)  The failure of a contractor or subcontractor to provide 
qualified health insurance coverage as required by Rule R634-4 or 
Section 79-2-404: 
 (a)  may not be the basis for a protest or other action from a 
prospective bidder, offeror, or contractor under Section 63G-6a-1603 or 
any other provision in Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code; 
and 
 (b)  may not be used by the procurement entity or a 
prospective bidder, offeror, or contractor as a basis for any action or suit 
that would suspend, disrupt or terminate the design or construction. 
 
R634-4-7.  Requirements and Procedures a Contractor Must 
Follow. 
 A contractor (including consultants and designers) must 
comply with the following requirements and procedures in order to 
demonstrate compliance with Section 79-2-404. 
 (1)  Demonstrating Compliance with Health Insurance 
Requirements.  A contractor (including design professional) shall 
demonstrate compliance with Subsection 79-2-404(5)(a) or (b) at the 
time of execution of each initial contract described in Subsection 79-2-
404(2). 
 (a)  The compliance is subject to an audit by the Department 
or the Office of Legislative Auditor General. 
 (b)  A contractor (including design professional) subject to 
Subsection 79-2-404(2) shall demonstrate to the executive director that 
the contractor has and will maintain an offer of qualified health 
insurance coverage for the contractor's employees and employees' 
dependents. 
 (c)  Such demonstration shall be a certification on the form 
provided by the Department.  The form shall also require compliance 
with Section R634-4-5(2) regarding subcontractors. 
 (d)  The actuarially equivalent determination required for the 
qualified health insurance coverage is met by the contractor if the 
contractor provides the Department with a written statement of actuarial 
equivalency attached to the certification, which is not more than one 
year old, regarding the contractor's offer of qualified health coverage 
from an actuary selected by the contractor or the contractor's insurer, or 
an underwriter who is responsible for developing the employer group's 
premium rates.  The Contractor is responsible for collecting the 
statements as required by law from any of the subcontractors at any tier 
that must do so. 
 (2)  For purposes of Rule R634-4-7, actuarially equivalency 
is achieved by meeting or exceeding the commercially equivalent 
benchmark for the qualified health insurance coverage identified in 
Subsection 79-2-404(1)(c) that is provided by the Department of Health, 
in accordance with Section 26-40-115(2). 
 (3)  The health insurance must be available upon the first day 
of the calendar month following sixty (60) days from the date of hire. 
 (4)  Any contract subject to R634-4 shall contain a provision 
requiring compliance with Rule R634-4 from the time of execution and 
throughout the duration of the contract. 
 (5)  Hearing and Penalties. 
 (a)  Hearing.  Any hearing for any penalty under Rule R634-
4 conducted by the Department shall be conducted in the same manner 
as any hearing required for a suspension or debarment. 
 (b)  Penalties that may be imposed by Department.  The 
penalties that may be imposed by the Department if a contractor, 
consultant, subcontractor or subconsultant, at any tier, intentionally 
violates the provisions of Section 79-2-404 or Rule R634-4 include: 
 (i)  a three-month suspension of the contractor or 
subcontractor from entering into future contracts with the State upon the 

first violation, regardless of which tier the contractor or subcontractor is 
involved with the future design and/or construction contract; 
 (ii)  a six-month suspension of the contractor or subcontractor 
from entering into future contracts with the State upon the second 
violation, regardless of which tier the contractor or subcontractor is 
involved with the future design and/or construction contract; 
 (iii)  an action for debarment of the contractor or 
subcontractor in accordance with Section 63G-6a-904 upon the third or 
subsequent violation; and 
 (iv)  monetary penalties which may not exceed 50 percent of 
the amount necessary to purchase qualified health insurance coverage 
for an employee and the dependents of an employee of the contractor or 
subcontractor who was not offered qualified health insurance coverage 
during the duration of the contract. 
 (c)(i)  In addition to the penalties imposed above, a contractor, 
consultant, subcontractor or subconsultant who intentionally violates the 
provisions of Section 79-2-404 shall be liable to the employee for health 
care costs that would have been covered by qualified health insurance 
coverage. 
 (ii)  An employer has an affirmative defense to a cause of 
action under Subsection R634-2-7(5)(c)(i) as provided in Subsection 79-
2-404(7)(a).  An employee has a private right of action only against the 
employee's employer to enforce the provision of Subsection 79-2-
404(7). 
 
R634-4-8.  Not Create any Contractual Relationship with any 
Subcontractor or Subconsultant. 
 Nothing in Rule R634-4 shall be construed as to create any 
contractual relationship whatsoever between the State or the Department 
with any subcontractor or subconsultant at any tier. 
 
KEY:  health insurance, contractors, contracts, contract 
requirements 
Date of Last Change:  November 23, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-2-404 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R990-200-5 Filing ID: 54147 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Housing and Community Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R990-200-5.  Criteria for Allocating Volume Cap 
 
3.  Effective Date: 
11/30/2021 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
An emergency rule change went into effect on 08/02/2021, 
which temporarily suspended Subsection R990-200-5(7).  
A rule amendment published in the November 15, 2021, 
issue of the Bulletin, proposed additional changes to 
Section R990-200-5.  When the current emergency rule 
expires on 11/30/2021, the old rule will go back into effect 
before the public comment period for the rule amendment 
ends.  Under the current rule, if a recipient of a volume cap 
allocation needs additional volume cap, it must first 
relinquish the volume cap it has already been awarded and 
submit a new application.  At that point, the previously 
allocated volume cap goes back in the fund and the 
recipient will be graded as a new applicant.  Depending on 
the number and score of the pending applications, there 
may not be enough available volume cap for the recipient 
to receive the additional volume cap needed, leaving the 
recipient not only without the additional volume cap, but 
without any volume cap at all.  There is, therefore, a risk 
that compliance with the current rule will impair or prevent 
the completion of worthy projects in the public interest.  
This emergency rule change allows the Private Activity 
Bond Review Board to award additional volume cap as 
appropriate, until the amended rule can be enacted after 
public comment.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R990-200 is under ID 54023 in the 
November 15, 2021, issue of the Bulletin.) 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?): 
This rule change eliminates the need for a recipient to 
relinquish a volume cap allocation before submitting an 
application for a larger allocation.  This rule change allows 
the Private Activity Bond Review Board to award additional 
volume cap as appropriate, without the need for the 
recipient to relinquish its initial allocation or complete a 
new application. 
 
6. A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
x cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
 place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 

Various recipients who have already been awarded a 
volume cap will need to request additional allocations at 
the 12/08/2021 meeting of the Bond Review Board, but the 
emergency rule rescission currently in place expires on 
11/30/2021.  If this emergency rule is not extended, those 
recipients would be required to relinquish their existing 
allocation before receiving the additional amount.  Failure 
to amend this rule on an emergency basis would therefore 
negatively affect the public welfare by resulting in the loss 
of significant housing developments designed to serve the 
area's low-income residents.  The emergency rule will be 
effective only until the effective date of the amended rule 
published in the November 15, 2021, Bulletin. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
7.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This emergency rule change is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on state revenues or expenditures.  There are 
no additional state employees or resources needed to 
oversee this rule change.  This rule change will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget.  This rule change does not change the current 
available bond cap. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This emergency rule change is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures because the program does not rely on local 
governments for funding, administration, or enforcement. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This emergency rule change may have a positive fiscal 
impact for a project that is able to receive additional 
funding with this rule change.  However, this rule change 
does not change the current available bond cap. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This emergency rule change may have a positive fiscal 
impact for a project that is able to receive additional 
funding with the rule change.  However, this rule change 
does not change the current available bond cap. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This emergency rule change is not expected to cause any 
compliance costs for affected persons because the 
change does not create any new administrative fees. 
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F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This emergency rule change will have a positive fiscal 
impact on businesses that qualify for additional funding but 
will not change the available bond cap.  Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
8.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
35A-8-2104 

  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/16/2021 

 
R990.  Workforce Services, Housing and Community 
Development. 
R990-200.  Private Activity Bonds. 
R990-200-5.  Criteria for Allocating Volume Cap. 
 (1)  Private activity bond volume cap allocations are made 
each calendar year based upon available volume cap. 
 (a)  The decision whether to allocate volume cap to an 
applicant shall be determined by the Board of Review, in its sole 
discretion. 
 (b)  Allocations are not made on a first-come-first-served 
basis. 
 (c)  Each complete application submitted before the deadline 
will be evaluated and scored in comparison with other applications for 
the same type of project use.  The weight each evaluation criteria is 
given is as identified on the score sheet approved by the Board of 
Review. 
 (d)  The Private Activity Bond program staff and consultants 
under contract with the Board of Review will evaluate and score each 
application. In the event demand for funding exceeds the available 
volume cap, applications will be numerically ranked for the purpose of 
allocation. 
 (e)  When considering multiple applications at a meeting, the 
Board of Review may choose to award each applicant an equal share, 
pro rata share, priority for multi-family housing or other classification, 
or other division of available volume cap. 
 (2)  When deciding to allocate volume cap to an applicant, 
the Board of Review shall consider the criteria outlined in Section 35A-
8-2105 and the following additional criteria: 
 (a)  timely submission of completed application; 
 (b)  timely payment of applicable fees; 
 (c)  applicant's experience in successfully completing 
projects utilizing private activity bonds; 
 (d)  project financing, including executed letters of intent for 
debt and equity funding; 
 (e)  project readiness, including required public entity 
approvals, site ownership, and architect and construction contracts; 
 (f)  timely response to any questions raised by the Board of 
Review and Private Activity Bond program staff; 
 (g)  status of project's financing at time of application; 

 (h)  appointment of bond counsel; 
 (i)  letter from bond counsel opining the project qualifies for 
private activity bonds; 
 (j)  appointment of investment banker or, if private 
placement, buyer of the bonds; 
 (k)  detailed commitment letters from financial entities 
involved; 
 (l)  ability to cause bonds to be issued within 12 months of 
allocation; 
 (m)  past history of forfeited allocation commitments; 
 (n)  length of tax-exempt bond amortization; and 
 (o)  other factors considered appropriate by the Board of 
Review. 
 (3)  Multi-Family Housing applicants must meet the criteria 
of the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Program administered by the 
Utah Housing Corporation.  In addition to the criteria in R990-200-
5(2), the Board of Review shall consider the following criteria when 
deciding to allocate volume cap to Multi-Family Housing applicants: 
 (a)  bond amount per unit; 
 (b)  bond amount per affordable unit; 
 (c)  the percentage, in relation to the group of applications 
currently being evaluated, of the private activity bond allocation being 
requested; 
 (d)  percentage of public financing, including the value of 
grants, loans, fee waivers, and concessions, but excluding housing tax 
credits; 
 (e)  total cost per unit and per unit square footage; 
 (f)  percentage of developer fee contributed to project; 
 (g)  percentage of affordable units; 
 (h)  percentage of special needs units; 
 (i)  cash flow per unit; 
 (j)  percentage of taxable bonds; 
 (k)  location, with preference for projects located in: 
 (i)  underserved areas, 
 (ii)  communities without the same type of projects, and 
 (iii)  difficult to develop areas as defined by HUD; 
 (l)  project characteristics, including: 
 (i)  day care, 
 (ii)  education center, 
 (iii)  mixed income projects, with both affordable and market 
rate units, and 
 (iv)  size of proposed project; 
 (m)  mitigation of environmental issues, including installing 
radon gas extraction fans or removing the source of radon; and 
 (n)  acquisition, rehabilitation, and remediation of buildings 
with Utah or federal historic designation, including removal of hazards 
and including appraisals and a relocation plan for current residents. 
 (4)  In addition to the criteria in R990-200-5(2), the Board of 
Review shall consider the following criteria when deciding to allocate 
volume cap to Manufacturing Facility, Redevelopment and Exempt 
Facilities applicants: 
 (a)  new full-time-equivalent job creation, including a list of 
new positions and wages, and excluding construction and other 
temporary jobs; 
 (b)  retention of jobs; 
 (c)  training and education of employees; 
 (d)  bond amount to permanent full-time-equivalent jobs 
ratio; 
 (e)  permanent full-time-equivalent jobs created or retained 
that provide above average wages when compared to other applicants' 
average wages and the community average wage; 
 (f)  demonstrated need for tax-exempt financing, including: 
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 (i)  projected cash flow for the first three years of operation, 
including supporting documentation, and 
 (ii)  explanation for selecting variable or fixed rates; 
 (g)  community support, including: 
 (i)  financial support, 
 (ii)  zoning approval, 
 (iii)  tax increment financing, and 
 (iv)  deferral of fees; 
 (h)  competitive costs for construction and equipment related 
expenses; and 
 (i)  ready-to-go status, including: 
 (i)  manufacturing facility zoned for use, 
 (ii)  proximity of infrastructure to site, 
 (iii)  need for special infrastructure, 
 (iv)  environmental study, if required by lender, 
 (v)  current title report and site plan of project, and 
 (vi)  building description. 
 (5)  Prior to considering an application, a Board of Review 
member shall disclose the substance of any communication the 
member has had outside of a public meeting with an applicant or other 
interested party regarding the project. 
 (6)  The allocation certificate issued for Multi-Family 
Housing volume cap shall restrict the occupancy of market rate rental 

units to families whose incomes do not exceed 150% of Area Median 
Income (AMI), adjusted for family size, for at least 51 years from the 
date on which at least 50% of the residential units in the project are first 
occupied. 
 (a)  Recipients and owners shall comply with any terms of 
the Certificate of Allocation, including any Additional Conditions 
approved by the Board of Review. 
 (b)  Recipients and owners shall submit documentation to 
Private Activity Bond program staff within 15 days after the issuance 
of bonds, and at other times upon request, to verify compliance with 
the terms of the Certificate of Allocation.[ 
 (7)  A recipient may not be awarded additional volume cap 
for a previously funded project.  A recipient may relinquish allocated 
volume cap and submit a new application for the total amount 
requested.] 
 
KEY:  allocation, private activity bond, volume cap 
Date of Last Change:  November 30, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-8-2104 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R17-9 Filing ID: 53483 

Effective Date: 11/17/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Archives and Records Service 
Building: State Archives 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kendra Yates 801-

531-
3856 

kendrayates@utah.gov 

Rebekkah Shaw 801-
531-
3851 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R17-9.  Electronic Participation at Meetings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Open and Public Meetings Act, Subsection 52-4-
207(2)(a), states that a "public body may not hold an 
electronic meeting unless the public body has adopted a 

resolution, rule, or ordinance governing the use of 
electronic meetings." 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division of Archives and Records Service (Division) 
has not received any written comments about this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The statute still requires that the Division has this rule in 
order to hold electronic meetings.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
The Division has identified some amendments to make to 
this rule and will be filing those at a later date. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams, 
Division Director 

Date: 11/15/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R21-3 Filing ID: 53507 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Debt Collection 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
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Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141031 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1031 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Allyson Branch 801-

597-
3523 

abranch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R21-30  Debt Collection Through Administrative Offset 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The statutory authority for this rule are the following 
statutes: Section 63A-3-310 and Subsection 63A-3-
504(2)(f). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule authorizes the Office of State Debt Collection to 
reduce or eliminate accounts receivable through 
administrative offset of tax overpayments, or state 
payments due to entities.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Allyson Branch, 
CPA 

Date: 12/01/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R25-20 Filing ID: 53492 

Effective Date: 11/30/2021 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 

Agency: Finance 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141031 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1031 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janica Gines 801-

957-
7727 

jmgines@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R25-20.  Indigent Defense Funds Board, Procedures for 
Electronic Meetings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule establishes procedures by which the board 
members may participate in electronic meetings including 
requirements regarding the posting of the agenda for the 
meeting, establishment of the anchor location, and 
methods by which participation can occur. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received in the last five 
years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The need for this rule still exists.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Janica Gines, 
Director 

Date: 11/30/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-6 Filing ID: 50233 

Effective Date: 11/24/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R152-6.  Administrative Procedures Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with Subsection 13-2-
5(1), which empowers the Division of Consumer 
Protection (Division) director to issue rules to administer 
and enforce statutes described by Section 13-2-1, and in 
accordance with Subsection 63G-4-202(1), which allows 
an agency to enact a rule to designate categories of 
administrative proceedings as informal. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division is unaware of any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule allows the Division to efficiently conduct informal 
adjudicative proceedings while also allowing for formal 
adjudicative proceedings when necessary.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Daniel Larsen, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-15 Filing ID: 50234 

Effective Date: 11/24/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R152-15.  Business Opportunity Disclosure Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with Sections 13-2-5 
and 13-15-3, which empower the division director to issue 
rules to administer and enforce Title 13, Chapter 15, 
Business Opportunity Disclosure Act, and with Section 13-
15-4.5, which empowers the Division of Consumer 
Protection (Division) to make rules regarding exemption 
filings. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division is unaware of any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule ensures that a filing made by a seller of a 
business opportunity in accordance with Sections 13-15-4 
or 13-15-4.5 includes necessary documentation and the 
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required filing fee.  This rule also informs regulated parties 
of when a disclosure provided to the Division must be 
amended.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Daniel Larsen, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-20 Filing ID: 50238 

Effective Date: 11/24/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R152-20.  New Motor Vehicle Warranties Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with Section 13-2-5, 
which empowers the Division of Consumer Protection 
(Division) director to promulgate rules to administer and 
enforce Title 13, Chapter 20, New Motor Vehicle 
Warranties Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division is unaware of any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule defines terms used by the New Motor Vehicle 
Warranties Act that are critical to effectively administering 
and enforcing the Act.  The definitions provide 
predictability to regulated parties and assist the Division in 
protecting consumers.  This rule also clarifies the 
procedure for repurchasing a leased, nonconforming 
motor vehicle and for replacing a nonconforming vehicle 
that is of a model that is no longer produced by a 
manufacturer.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Daniel Larsen, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-22 Filing ID: 50243 

Effective Date: 11/24/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R152-22.  Charitable Solicitations Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with: Section 13-2-5, 
which empowers the Division of Consumer Protection 
(Division) director to promulgate rules to administer and 
enforce Title 13, Chapter 22, Charitable Solicitations Act; 
Subsections 13-22-6(1)(b)(xvi) and 13-22-9(1)(b)(xiv), 
which allows the Division to require by rule information on 
an application for registration; Subsection 13-22-8(4), 
which allows the Division to require an organization that is 
exempt from registration to file a notice or renewal of a 
claim of exemption; and Subsection 13-22-22(2), which 
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allows the Division to require by rule certain terms in an 
agreement between a charitable organization and 
commercial co-venturer regarding a charitable sales 
promotion.  
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division is not aware of any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule assists the Division and regulated entities by 
establishing what is required to be submitted to the 
Division in an application for registration as a charitable 
organization, professional fundraiser, or fundraising 
counsel or consultant.  It also clarifies how organizations 
that have no financial history may comply with registration 
requirements.  This rule establishes how an organization 
may file a notice of a claim of exemption and allows the 
Division to charge a fee to administer claims of exemption.  
This rule also allows the Division flexibility in processing 
incomplete applications for registration, which allows the 
Division to work with applicants and avoid potentially 
unnecessary application denials.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Daniel Larsen, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-23 Filing ID: 50245 

Effective Date: 11/24/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R152-23.  Health Spa Services Protection Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with Subsection 13-2-
5(1), which empowers the Division of Consumer 
Protection (Division) director to promulgate rules to 
administer and enforce Title 13, Chapter 23, Health Spa 
Services Protection Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division is not aware of any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule assists the Division and regulated entities by 
establishing the uniform content of an application for 
registration and allows the Division to process those 
applications in an efficient manner.  This rule also 
establishes required terms in consumer contracts for 
health spa services that protect consumers and clarifies 
certain procedures when a consumer rescinds a contract 
for health spa services.  This rule establishes procedures 
for a health spa that closes normal operations for 10 or 
more business days, which allows the Division to protect 
consumers.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Division has submitted a proposed repeal and reenact 
of this rule due to H.B. 321 changes made during the 2021 
General Session.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
repeal and reenactment of Rule R152-23 is under ID 
54059 in the November 15, 2021, Bulletin). 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Daniel Larsen, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-42 Filing ID: 50241 

Effective Date: 11/24/2021 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R152-42.  Uniform Debt-Management Services Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with Section 13-2-5, 
which empowers the Division of Consumer Protection 
(Division) director to promulgate rules to administer and 
enforce Title 13, Chapter 42, Uniform Debt-Management 
Services Act (UDMSA), and with Subsections 13-42-
102(9)(c), 13-42-112(2), 13-42-112(2), 13-42-132(3), and 
13-42-132(6), which also grant the Division director (as 
"administrator") rulemaking authority. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division is not aware of any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule establishes a "base year" in accordance with the 
UDMSA in Section R152-442-6.  This rule also establishes 
the states in which registration satisfies the Division's 
registration requirements.  This rule also establishes the 
contents of registration applications, which allows the 
Division to efficiently process applications for registration 
and provides certainty to regulated entities.  This rule's 
provisions are either mandated by the UDMSA or assist 
the Division's administration and enforcement of the 
UDMSA.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Daniel Larsen, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-110 Filing ID: 53056 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-110.  General Requirements:  State Implementation 
Plan 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Rule R307-110 is authorized by Section 19-2-104.  Section 
19-2-104 gives the Utah Air Quality Board the power to 
promulgate rules "regarding the control, abatement, and 
prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air pollutants 
that may be emitted by an air pollutant source."  Rule 
R307-110 is the rule that incorporates Utah's State 
Implementation Plans into state law, as required by section 
110 of the Federal Clean Air Act.  State Implementation 
Plans contain provisions that help abate air pollution, set 
emission limits, and prevent air pollution for the purpose of 
attaining federal air quality standards.  Therefore, Rule 
R307-110 has been properly enacted under Section 19-2-
104. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Rule R307-110 has been amended 13 times since the last 
five-year review in 2017.  There have been hundreds of 
comments on how to improve the State Implementation 
Plans that this rule incorporates by reference.  However, 
there have been no comments opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-110 is required by the Federal Clean Air Act. 
Section 110 of the Clean Air Act requires states to develop 
State Implementation Plans that demonstrate how the 
state will meet federal air quality standards.  Rule R307-
110 is necessary because it incorporates Utah's State 
Implementation Plans into state law so that the plans can 
be enforced, and Utah can attain federal air quality 
standards.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-120 Filing ID: 50572 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-120.  General Requirements: Tax Exemption for Air 
Pollution Control Equipment 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-12-305 authorizes the Air Quality Board to 
make rules related to the procedures for evaluating and 
applying for certification for tax exempt status for pollution 
control equipment.  Rule R307-120 provides the process 
for evaluating and applying for certification for tax exempt 
status for pollution control equipment. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has had no comments or substantive 
amendments since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule articulates and implements a process to receive 
a tax exemption for specified types of pollution control 
equipment as required by statute.  The absence of critical 
comments since the last review period suggests that the 
current rule is acceptable.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-130 Filing ID: 50579 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

158 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2021, Vol. 2021, No. 24 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-130.  General Penalty Policy 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was enacted under Section 19-2-104.  Under 
Section 19-2-104, the Utah Air Quality Board is given the 
power to promulgate rules to prevent air pollution.  Rule 
R307-130 prevents air pollution by providing penalties for 
noncompliance with air quality rules, orders, or permits. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has had no written comments or substantive 
amendments since the last five-year review.  The Division 
of Air Quality has received suggestions for improving this 
rule that will be considered when this rule is next amended. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is needed to implement a penalty structure for 
violations, as established by Section 19-2-115.  This rule 
also establishes categories of violations, prescribing 
penalties that are reasonable and appropriate to the 
severity of the violation.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-135 Filing ID: 50578 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 

Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-135.  Enforcement Response Policy for Asbestos 
Hazard Emergency Response Act 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was enacted by the Utah Air Quality Board under 
the authority of Subsection 19-2-104(1)(d).  Subsection 
19-2-104(1)(d) allows the Utah Air Quality Board to 
promulgate rules implementing the federal Asbestos 
Hazard Emergency Response Act in Utah.  Subsections 
19-2-115(2)(b) and (c) authorize penalties for violations of 
rules adopted under Section 19-2-104 for implementation 
of the Toxic Substances Control Act, Subchapter II, 
Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response.  Rule R307-135 
sets forth the conditions for issuance of a notice of violation 
and the penalties to be assessed for non-compliance with 
the rule. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has had no written comments or substantive 
amendments since the last five-year review.   The Division 
of Air Quality has received suggestions for improving this 
rule that will be considered when this rule is next amended. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is needed to implement a penalty structure for 
violations of the Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response 
Act.  This rule establishes broad categories for violations 
and incentivizes compliance by communicating to 
potential violators how specific efforts on their part can 
increase or decrease the penalties assessed.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-320 Filing ID: 50612 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-320.  Ozone Maintenance Areas and Ogden City: 
Employer-Based Trip Reduction Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Rule R307-320 was enacted under the authority of 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(h), which allows the Air Quality 
Board to promulgate rules that create an employer-based 
trip reduction program in nonattainment areas. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received on this rule since the 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule helps Utah satisfy its obligations under Section 
110 of the Clean Air Act.  Section 110 requires states to 
develop implementation plans that demonstrate how they 
will comply with National Ambient Air Quality Standards.  
Rule R307-320 is a control strategy included in Utah's 
State Implementation Plan to reduce ambient ozone and 
its precursor emissions.  It is also a contingency measure 
for carbon monoxide.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-325 Filing ID: 50614 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-325.  Ozone Nonattainment and Maintenance 
Areas: General Requirements 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) authorizes the Air Quality 
Board to make rules "regarding the control, abatement, 
and prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air 
contaminants that may be emitted by any air contaminants 
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source."  Subsection 19-2-101(2) states, "It is the policy of 
this state and the purpose of this chapter to achieve and 
maintain levels of air quality which will protect human 
health and safety."  The Air Quality Board promulgated 
Rule R307- 325 under the authority found in Section 19-2-
104 in order to fulfill the purpose found in Section 19-2-101 
and to satisfy the requirements found in Section 110 and 
Part D of the Clean Air Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received on this rule since the 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by the Clean Air Act.  Section 110 and 
Part D of the Clean Air Act requires the  to develop a State 
Implementation Plan that will allow the state to attain 
certain federal air quality standards.  Without the state 
plan, the EPA would be required to impose a federal 
implementation plan, and the state could lose some of its 
ability to make its own policy decisions on how it will 
comply with federal air quality standards.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-326 Filing ID: 50615 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-326.  Ozone Nonattainment and Maintenance 
Areas: Control of Hydrocarbon Emissions in Petroleum 
Refineries 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Utah Air Quality Board enacted Rule R307-326 under 
the authority of Subsection 19- 2-104(1)(a).  Subsection 
19-2-104(1)(a) authorizes the Air Quality Board to make 
rules "regarding the control, abatement, and prevention of 
air pollution from all sources and the establishment of the 
maximum quantity of air contaminants that may be emitted 
by any air contaminants source."  Rule R307-326 does this 
by establishing reasonably available control technology for 
controlling hydrocarbon emissions from petroleum 
refineries located in ozone nonattainment and 
maintenance areas. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received on this rule since the 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under the state implementation plan 
for ozone, incorporated by reference under Section R307-
110- 13.  The plan is also required by Section 110 of the 
Clean Air Act.  Without the state plan, the EPA would be 
required to impose a Federal Implementation Plan.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-327 Filing ID: 50616 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-327.  Ozone Nonattainment and Maintenance 
Areas: Petroleum Liquid Storage 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) authorizes the Air Quality 
Board to make rules "regarding the control, abatement, 
and prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air 
contaminants that may be emitted by any air contaminants 
source."  Rule R307-327 requires petroleum refineries 
located within an ozone nonattainment area to have 
measures in place to reduce emissions of volatile organic 
compounds from their large liquid storage tanks.  Volatile 
organic compounds are a precursor to ozone formation. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received on this rule since the 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The rule is required under the state implementation plan 
for ozone, incorporated by reference under Section R307-

110-13.  The plan is also required by Section 110 of the 
Clean Air Act.  This rule is necessary for Utah's State 
Implementation Plan to meet federal ozone standards.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-328 Filing ID: 54020 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-328.  Gasoline Transfer and Storage 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) authorizes the Air Quality 
Board to make rules "regarding the control, abatement, 
and prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air 
contaminants that may be emitted by any air contaminants 
source."  Rule R307-328 does this by requiring the use of 
reasonably available control technology to capture 
gasoline vapors during the filling of gasoline vehicles and 
storage tanks in any ozone nonattainment or maintenance 
area including Utah and Weber Counties. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received on this rule since the 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under the state implementation plan 
for ozone, incorporated by reference under Section R307-
110-13.  The plan is also required by Section 110 of the 
Clean Air Act.  Without the state plan, the EPA would be 
required to impose a Federal Implementation Plan.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-335 Filing ID: 50621 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-335.  Degreasing 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) authorizes the Air Quality 
Board to make rules "regarding the control, abatement, 
and prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air 
contaminants that may be emitted by any air contaminants 
source."  Rule R307-335 does this by establishing 
reasonably available control technology for degreasing 
and solvent cleaning operations located in ozone and 
PM2.5 nonattainment or maintenance areas. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has been amended one time since the last five-
year review.  No comments were submitted during that 
rulemaking.  The Division of Air Quality did not receive any 
other written comments on this rule since the last five-year 
review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under the state implementation plan 
for ozone and PM2.5, incorporated by reference under 
Section R307-110-13.  The plan is required by Section 110 
of the Clean Air Act, and without this rule the EPA would 
have to write a Federal Implementation Plan. Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-341 Filing ID: 50624 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-341.  Ozone Nonattainment and Maintenance 
Areas:  Cutback Asphalt 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) authorizes the Air Quality 
Board to make rules "regarding the control, abatement, 
and prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air 
contaminants that may be emitted by any air contaminants 
source."  Rule R307-341 does this by establishing 
reasonably available control technology for the application 
of asphalt in any ozone nonattainment or maintenance 
areas. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division of Air Quality did not receive any written 
comments on this rule since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under the state implementation plan 
for ozone, incorporated by reference under Section R307-
110-13.  The plan is required by Section 110 of the Clean 
Air Act, and without this rule the EPA would have to write 
a Federal Implementation Plan.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-343 Filing ID: 50630 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-343.  Wood Furniture Manufacturing Operations 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) authorizes the Air Quality 
Board to make rules "regarding the control, abatement, 
and prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air 
contaminants that may be emitted by any air contaminants 
source."  Rule R307-343 does this by requiring that certain 
wood furniture manufacturers use coatings that are 
compliant with the Volatile Organic Compound (VOC's) 
content limits found in Section R307-343-4. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has been amended one time since the last five-
year review.  No comments were submitted during that 
rulemaking.  The Division of Air Quality did not receive any 
other written comments on this rule since the last five-year 
review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-343 limits the emissions of VOC's, a precursor 
to ozone and PM2.5, from wood furniture manufacturers in 
ozone and PM2.5 nonattainment and maintenance areas.  
This rule outlines emissions standards for wood furniture 
manufacturing operations and should be continued.  This 
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rule is part of a proactive strategy to ensure that Salt Lake, 
Utah, Box Elder, Tooele and Davis counties meet the 
ozone and PM2.5 24-Hour standards.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 11/03/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R392-510 Filing ID: 53813 

Effective Date: 11/16/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Environmental Services 
Room no.: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman 801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R392-510.  Utah Indoor Clean Air Act 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 26-1-30(2), Section 
26-15-12, and Title 26, Chapter 38.  This rule sets 
standards and requirements for smoking indoors, 
including requirements for Signage and Public 
Announcements. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is needed to set standards and requirements for 
smoking indoors, including requirements for Signage and 
Public Announcements.  The Department of Health 
received no comments in opposition to the continuation of 
this rule.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nathan 
Checketts, Interim 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 10/29/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R426-5 Filing ID: 52518 

Effective Date: 11/16/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Emergency Medical Services 
Room no.: 404 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2004 

Contact person(s):   
Name: Phone: Email: 
Guy Dansie 801-

560-
1544 

gdansie@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R426-5.  Emergency Medical Services Training, 
Endorsement, Certification, and Licensing Standards 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Rules are enacted under Section 26-8a-302 for the 
licensing of Emergency Medical Service Personnel.  The 
terms set forth in Rule R426-5 discuss the process for 
fulfilling the requirements. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received since the last five-
year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department of Health needs this rule since it provides 
the requirements for emergency service personnel to 
provide pre-hospital patient care.  No comments in 
opposition were received.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/17/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R512-311 Filing ID: 51248 

Effective Date: 12/01/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-311.  Out-of-Home Services 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 62A-4a-213 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services to establish and operate a psychotropic 
medication oversight panel for children in the custody of 
Child and Family Services. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division of Child and 
Family Services to establish and operate a psychotropic 
medication oversight panel for children in the custody of 
Child and Family Services to ensure that foster children are 
being prescribed psychotropic medication consistent with 
their needs.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive 
Director  

Date: 11/30/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R549-1 Filing ID: 51323 

Effective Date: 11/24/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Human Services 
Agency: Public Guardian (Office of) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 

Xia Erickson 
801-
538-
4304 

xlitz@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 
801-
538-
4225 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R549-1.  Eligibility and Services Priority 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Section 62A-14-105 and is 
required to establish procedures and standards for the 
determination of eligibility and establish services as 
required by Title 62A, Chapter 14. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required as it establishes the criteria for 
eligibility and services priority for the Office of Public 
Guardian.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/24/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-176 Filing ID: 51391 

Effective Date: 11/19/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-176.  Health Benefit Plan Enrollment 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 31A-2-201(3) authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-2-202(2) authorizes the 
insurance commissioner to prescribe forms for the 
Department of Insurance (Department) to use in collecting 
information.  This rule provides enrollment standards for 
carriers that provide health benefit plan coverage to 
individuals and small employers.  It also requires insurers 
to file a certificate with the Department that includes 
information about the individuals covered, the qualifying 
conditions, and the uninsurable count at the end of an 
enrollment. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has received no written comments 
regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule provides clarification for Title 31A, Chapter 30, 
regarding the federal Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act (HIPAA).  This rule provides standards 
that must be met for an insurer to be waived from the 
requirements of Title 31A, Chapter 30, and defines what 
constitutes meeting the enrollment cap.  It also addresses 
general requirements to make sure insurers treat health 
benefit applicants fairly.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/19/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-181 Filing ID: 51382 

Effective Date: 11/19/2021 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-181.  Yankee Bond Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-18-105(16) authorizes 
the insurance commissioner to specify an investment, 
besides those listed in Section 31A-18-105, that insurers 
can invest in.  This rule allows insurers to invest in Yankee 
bonds.  The reference in Section R590-181-1 is incorrect 
and will be corrected when this rule is amended in 
compliance with Executive Order No. 2021-12. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Due to the fact that some insurers are investing in Yankee 
bonds, this rule is necessary to provide guidelines that 
make sure the quality of the bond is high and does not take 
up a major share of the insurer's portfolio.  Without this 
rule, insurers would not be able to invest in Yankee bonds 
at all.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/19/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-182 Filing ID: 51384 

Effective Date: 11/19/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-182.  Risk Based Capital Instructions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-17-601(7) authorizes 
the insurance commissioner to adopt risk based capital 
(RBC) instructions to be used by licensed insurers and 
filed annually with the Department of Insurance 
(Department). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has received no written comments 
regarding this rule during the past five years. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule should not be continued.  Upon review, this rule 
merely offers citations to the relevant provisions of the 
Insurance Code.  The Insurance Code provides that RBC 
reports and instructions are important to ensure that Utah 
insurance companies report on the same basis as 
companies from other states.  Without this uniformity, cost 
to companies and to the state would increase significantly, 
which would also increase costs to Utah policyholders.  
However, because these provisions are already in state 
code and this rule provides no additional guidance or 
information, this rule should be repealed.  The Department 
will continue this rule for now and begin the repeal process 
immediately. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/19/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R600-2 Filing ID: 51478 

Effective Date: 11/18/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Hill 801-

530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R600-2.  Operations 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 34A-1-104 authorizes the Labor Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules necessary to administer the 
Workers' Compensation Ace, the Occupational Disease 
Act, the Antidiscrimination Act, and the Occupational 
Safety and Health Act.  Pursuant to that authority, and in 
order to provide for the orderly conduct of Commission 
business, the Commission has adopted Rule R600-2, 
which establishes the Commission's regular business 
hours. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five year review period. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As part of its duty to administer the various statutes 
identified above, the Commission is required to establish 
standards for conduct of Commission business, including 
rules for hours of business and filing of business 
documents.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 12/01/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R602-1 Filing ID: 53711 

Effective Date: 11/30/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room no.: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Buildingt 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Hill 801-

530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-1.  Office Record 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 34A-1-104 authorizes the Labor Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules and conduct adjudicative 
proceedings.  In order to administer an orderly system of 
adjudication, it is necessary for the Commission to set 
standards for computing filing deadlines and other time 
limits involved in the adjudicative process, and to set 
witness fees. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five-year review period. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule remains necessary to establish standards for 
computing time limits and setting witness fees in the 
Commission's adjudicative process.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 12/01/2021 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R602-2 Filing ID: 53751 

Effective Date: 11/30/2021 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room no.: 3rd Floor 

Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Hill 801-

530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-2.  Adjudication of Workers' Compensation and 
Occupational Disease Claims 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 34A-1-104 authorizes the Labor Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules and conduct adjudicative 
proceedings to resolve workers' compensation and 
occupational disease claims.  Sections 34A-1-104 and 
34A-2-802 also authorize the Commission to adopt rules 
to carry out those adjudicative functions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five-year review period. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As part of the Commission's continuing responsibility to 
administer a system for adjudication of workers' 
compensation and occupational disease claims, it is 
necessary for the Commission to establish procedures for 
pleadings and discovery, standards for use and 
compensation of medical panels, as well as standards for 
evaluating settlement agreements.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 12/01/2qc021 
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End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF  
FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R634-2 ID No. 51533 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R634-2.  Health Reform -- Health Insurance Coverage in 
State Contracts -- Implementation 
 
3.  Effective 
Date: 

11/23/2021 

4.  Summary: 

The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  Due to confusion in filing at the 
Department of Natural Resources, Administration 
(Agency) level, the Agency failed to file the five-year 
review and the penalty was expiration of this rule.  The 
Agency is filing an emergency rule to place it back into 
effect while a standard new rule filing can be completed.  
The emergency rule for Rule R634-4, Health Reform – 
Health Insurance Coverage in State Contracts –
Implementation, is effective as of 11/23/2021 and is under 
ID 54154, in this issue, December 15, 2021, of the Bulletin.  
The rule number is changed from R634-2 to R634-4 
because numbers cannot be reused.  However, the rule 
text is exactly the same.) 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R856-1 ID No. 52055 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Science Technology and Research 

Governing Authority (Utah) 
Agency: Administration 
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Street address: Not Applicable 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Not Applicable 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R856-1.  USTAR Technology Acceleration Program Grants 
 
3.  Effective 
Date: 

11/17/2021 

4.  Summary: 
The Utah Science Technology and Research Governing 
Authority (USTAR) was repealed by S.B. 95 in the 2020 
General Session.  Since there is no entity to repeal this 
rule and there is not a mechanism in the Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act that allows the Office of 
Administrative Rules (OAR) to remove this rule, OAR is 
letting it expire as the five-year review and notice of 
continuation comes due.  This rule has now expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R856-2 ID No. 52053 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Science Technology and Research 

Governing Authority (Utah) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: Not Applicable 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Not Applicable 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R856-2.  USTAR University-Industry Partnership Program 
Grants 
 

3.  Effective 
Date: 

11/17/2021 

4.  Summary: 
The Utah Science Technology and Research Governing 
Authority (USTAR) was repealed by S.B. 95 in the 2020 
General Session.  Since there is no entity to repeal this 
rule and there is not a mechanism in the Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act that allows the Office of 
Administrative Rules (OAR) to remove this rule, OAR is 
letting it expire as the five-year review and notice of 
continuation comes due.  This rule has now expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R856-3 ID No. 52061 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Science Technology and Research 

Governing Authority (Utah) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: Not Applicable 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Not Applicable 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R856-3.  USTAR University Technology Acceleration 
Grants 
 
3.  Effective 
Date: 

11/17/2021 

4.  Summary: 
The Utah Science Technology and Research Governing 
Authority (USTAR) was repealed by S.B. 95 in the 2020 
General Session.  Since there is no entity to repeal this 
rule and there is not a mechanism in the Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act that allows the Office of 
Administrative Rules (OAR) to remove this rule, OAR is 
letting it expire as the five-year review and notice of 
continuation comes due.  This rule has now expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 

 

 
End of the Notices of Notices of Five Year Expirations Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  53989  (Amendment)  R68-30:  Independent Cannabis 
Testing Laboratory 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/30/2021 
 
 
Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Administration 
No.  53938  (Amendment)  R82-1-102:  Definitions 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/01/2021 
 
No.  53939  (Amendment)  R82-1-304:  General 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/01/2021 
 
No.  53940  (Amendment)  R82-2-302:  Advertising, 
Promotion, and Listing of Products 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/01/2021 
 
No.  53941  (Amendment)  R82-2-306:  Operational 
Restrictions 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/01/2021 
 
No.  53942  (Amendment)  R82-2-308:  Consignment 
Inventory Package Agencies 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/01/2021 
 
No.  53943  (Amendment)  R82-3-102:  Violation Schedule 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/01/2021 
 

No.  53944  (Amendment)  R82-5-202:  Retail License 
Renewals 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/01/2021 
 
 
Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No.  53992  (New Rule)  R156-4a:  Utah Professionals Health 
Program Rule 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/23/2021 
 
No.  54001  (Amendment)  R156-37f:  Controlled Substance 
Database Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  53994  (Amendment)  R156-71:  Naturopathic Physician 
Practice Act Rule 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/23/2021 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  54024  (Amendment)  R277-318:  Teacher Salary 
Supplement Program 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  54025  (Amendment)  R277-421:  Out-of-State Tuition 
Reimbursement 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  54026  (Repeal)  R277-502:  Educator Licensing and 
Data Retention 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
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No.  54027  (Amendment)  R277-746:  Driver Education 
Programs for Utah Schools 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  54028  (Amendment)  R277-922:  Digital Teaching and 
Learning Grant Program 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 
No.  53891  (Repeal)  R307-121:  General Requirements: 
Clean Air and Efficient Vehicle Tax Credit 
Published:  09/15/2021 
Effective:  12/02/2021 
 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation 
No.  53919  (Amendment)  R313-16-290:  Inspection of 
Radiation Machines and Facilities 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/13/2021 
 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Waste 
Management 
No.  53912  (Amendment)  R315-260-10:  Definitions 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/13/2021 
 
No.  53913  (Amendment)  R315-261-9:  Requirements for 
Universal Waste 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/13/2021 
 
No.  53914  (Amendment)  R315-264-1:  General - Purpose, 
Scope and Applicability 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/13/2021 
 
No.  53915  (Amendment)  R315-265:  Interim Status 
Standards for Owners and Operators of Hazardous Waste 
Treatment, Storage, and Disposal Facilities 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  53916  (Amendment)  R315-268-1:  Land Disposal 
Restrictions - Purpose, Scope, and Applicability 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/13/2021 
 
No.  53917  (Amendment)  R315-270-1:  Hazardous Waste 
Permit Program -- Purpose and Scope of These Rules 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/13/2021 
 
No.  53918  (Amendment)  R315-273:  Standards for 
Universal Waste Management 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 

 
Government Operations 
Fleet Operations 
No.  53956  (Amendment)  R27-1:  Definitions 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/25/2021 
 
No.  53957  (Amendment)  R27-2:  Fleet Operations 
Adjudicative Proceedings 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/25/2021 
 
No.  53958  (Amendment)  R27-3:  Vehicle Use Standards 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/25/2021 
 
 
Governor 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  53996  (Amendment)  R357-13:  Hotel Convention 
Center Incentive 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  53997  (Amendment)  R357-15:  Enterprise Zone Tax 
Credit 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  53991  (Repeal)  R357-17:  Air Quality Incentive 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
 
Health 
Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental Services 
No.  53643  (New Rule)  R392-106:  Microenterprise Home 
Kitchen Sanitation 
Published:  07/15/2021 
Effective:  11/16/2021 
 
No.  53643  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R392-106:  
Microenterprise Home Kitchen Sanitation 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/16/2021 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  53952  (Amendment)  R414-1:  Services Available 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
No.  53953  (Amendment)  R414-10:  Physician Services 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
No.  53954  (Amendment)  R414-200:  Services Available 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
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Human Services 
Recovery Services 
No.  54004  (Repeal)  R527-302:  Income Withholding Fees 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  54005  (Amendment)  R527-378:  Withholding of Social 
Security Benefits 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  54016  (Repeal)  R527-928:  Lost Checks 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
Services for People with Disabilities 
No.  53937  (Amendment)  R539-10:  Short-Term Limited 
Waiting List Services 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  12/07/2021 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  53998  (Amendment)  R590-79:  Life Insurance 
Disclosure Rule 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  53999  (Amendment)  R590-83:  Unfair Discrimination on 
the Basis of Gender or Marital Status 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  53986  (Amendment)  R590-122:  Permissible Arbitration 
Provisions 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  53988  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-128:  Unfair 
Discrimination Based on the Failure to Maintain Automobile 
Insurance. (Revised.) 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  54018  (Amendment)  R590-140:  Reference Filings of 
Rate Service Organization Prospective Loss Costs 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  53987  (Amendment)  R590-144:  Commercial Aviation 
Insurance Exemption From Rate and Form Filing 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
No.  54000  (Amendment)  R590-161:  Income Replacement 
Insurance Policy Disclosure 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
 

Public Safety 
Driver License 
No.  54012  (Repeal and Reenact)  R708-2:  Commercial 
Driver Training Schools 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
No.  53990  (Amendment)  R708-45:  Renewal or Duplicate 
License for Utah Residents Temporarily Residing Out of State 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  11/22/2021 
 
Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal 
Identification 
No.  54003  (Amendment)  R722-300:  Conceal Firearm 
Permit and Instructor Rule 
Published:  11/01/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 
 
Tax Commission 
Administration 
No.  53926  (Amendment)  R861-1A-9:  State Board of 
Equalization Procedures Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 59-2-212, 59-2-1004, and 59-2-1006 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  01/01/2022 
 
Auditing 
No.  53924  (Amendment)  R865-20T-15:  Calculation of Tax 
on Alternative Nicotine Products Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Section 59-14-804 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
No.  53925  (Amendment)  R865-7H-1:  Environmental 
Assurance Fee for Retailers or Consumers Not Participating 
in the Environmental Assurance Program Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 19-6-410.5 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
Motor Vehicle 
No.  53923  (Amendment)  R873-22M-2:  Documentation 
Required and Procedures to Follow to Register or Title 
Certain Vehicles Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 41-1a-
104 and 41-1a-108 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
Property Tax 
No.  53920  (Amendment)  R884-24P-33:  2021 Personal 
Property Valuation Guides and Schedules 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  11/15/2021 
 
No.  53921  (Amendment)  R884-24P-37:  Separate Values of 
Land and Improvements Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 59-2-301 and 59-2-305 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  01/01/2022 
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No.  53922  (Amendment)  R884-24P-5:  Abatement or 
Deferral of Property Taxes of Indigent Persons Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-2-1107 through 59-2-1109 and 
59-2-1202(5) 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  01/01/2022 
 

No.  53995  (Amendment)  R884-24P-53:  2021 Valuation 
Guides for Valuation of Land Subject to the Farmland 
Assessment Act Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-
515. 
Published:  10/15/2021 
Effective:  12/09/2021 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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